gistrar of Regulations,

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
STATE BUREAU OF IDENTIFICATION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 1305(b)(1) (24 Del.C. §1305(b)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 1300

PROPOSED
PUBLIC NOTICE

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies

Purpose: In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code)
and under the authority of Title 24 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 13, Section 1305(b)(1), the Board of Examiners of
Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies proposes to adopt regulations to allow the use of canines by licensed
security guards for the detection of firearms and controlled substances.

Written Comments: The Delaware Department of Safety and Homeland Security, State Bureau of Identification will
receive written comments, suggestions, briefs or other written material until the close of business, 4:30 p.m., December 1,
2023. Written comments shall be submitted via e-mail to Frank.Kaleta@delaware.gov or via the USPS to Frank Kaleta, 600
South Bay Rd. Suite 1, Dover DE 19901.

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies

1.0 Eirearm’s Firearms Policy

1.1 Section 1.0 shall apply only to individuals licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13, while such individuals are acting in
the performance of their duties as an armed security guard or armed armored car guard.
1.2 No individual licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall carry a firearm unless that individual has first passed an

approved firearms course of instruction and an initial qualification administered by an approved firearms
instructor. The course of instruction shall include a minimum 40 hours of training. The Professional Licensing
Section may waive the 40 hour training requirement depending upon the applicant's professional credentials,
training andfor or work experience (i.e. prior law enforcement). If waived, they the applicant must show
proficiency and qualify a day and low light shoot with an approved firearms instructor. The initial qualification
course shall be used to fulfill one day and one low light requirement during the first year; however an additional
day shoot must be completed at least 90 days after the date of initial certification, within the calendar year.

1.3 In order to open carry a firearm while in the performance of their duties, individuals licensed to carry a firearm
under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 must shoot a minimum of three qualifying shoots per calendar year, scheduled on at
least two separate days, with a minimum 90 days between scheduled day shoots. Of these three, there will be
one mandatory “low light” shoot which may be combined with a day shoot. Two day shoots shall not be
completed on the same date. These qualifying shoots will be administered by an approved firearms instructor.

1.3.1  An individual not meeting the minimum qualifications set forth in subsection 1.3 may have their firearms
license suspended until such time that they meet the minimum three qualifying shoots within the calendar

year.
1.4 Only the handguns with the following calibers are permitted:

141  9mm;

142 357,

143 .38;

1.4.4 40;

145 45;0r

146 .357 SIG.

1.5 All weapons must be either a revolver or semi-automatic and must be double-action or double-action only and
must be maintained to factory specifications.

1.6 Under no circumstances will anyone under this Section be allowed to carry any type of weapon that is not
described herein.

1.7 All individuals must meet the minimum qualifications set forth in subsection 1.3 with the same make/model/
caliber of weapon that he/she the individual will carry.

1.8 All ammunition must be factory fresh (no re-loads).


mailto:Frank.Kaleta@delaware.gov

2.0

3.0

1.9
1.10

The minimum passing score is 80%.

Private investigative, private security, and armored car agencies shall be held responsible for monitoring all
firearm certification or recertification for their employees for compliance with promulgated rules and
regulations.

All firearms licenses, armed security guard and armed armored car guard, are valid for a period of one year.
Private investigative, private security, and armored car agencies must provide the Professional Licensing
Section with documentation that employees are compliant with firearm certification and recertification

requirements of Section 1.0 by January 15" of each year for the previous calendar year.

If an individual requests to carry a different approved weapon, while in the performance of their the individual's
duties as an armed security guard or armed armored car guard, other than the one on file with the Professional
Licensing Section, hefshe the individual must have approval from the Director of Professional Licensing after
providing documentation by their the individual's respective agency demonstrating that they the individual
successfully passed a day and lowlight qualification shoot with their the new weapon. Upon approval, the
individual can begin to carry the new weapon and the prior qualification of a different weapon will become void.
Another day shoot with the new weapon must take place after 90 days, during the same calendar year.
Individuals will only be authorized to carry the weapon they last qualified with and provided proof of
qualification to the Professional Licensing Section.

1.12.1 An individual may not change weapons after September 30t of the current calendar year, without prior

1.13

approval of the Director of Professional Licensing, after submitting a request to the Professional Licensing
Section. If approval is granted, the individual must be certified and their the individual's agency must
provide documentation demonstrating that the individual successfully passed a day and low light
qualification shoot with their the new weapon to the Professional Licensing Section prior to carrying the
weapon.

Firearms Instructors providing instruction under Section 1.0;

1.13.1 Firearms instructors must be certified by the National Rifle Association as a Law Enforcement Instructor or

1.13.2

through a law enforcement training and standards commission (i.e. C.O.P.T.). Certification by another
professional firearms training institution as a "certified law enforcement firearms Instructor" must be
approved by the Board. Instructors approved by the Board through another professional firearms training
institution will have reciprocity approval with any other Board under Department of Safety and Homeland
Security, Division of State Police, Professional Licensing Section.

Firearms instructors are restricted to teaching and qualifying individuals according to the type of firearm
matching their certification. (For example, a certified handgun instructor may only instruct and qualify
individuals with the handgun.)

1.13.3 All firearms instructors must be approved by the Professional Licensing Section before they are authorized

to instruct or qualify licensed individuals.
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4.0

3.1

3.2

3.3

4.1

4.2

The Board only approves security guards and armored car guards registered in 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 to carry law
enforcement style batons, inflammatory agent sprays, chemical sprays and handcuffs. The carrying of these
weapons/items is only authorized after the security guard/armored car guard completes the appropriate
training program with a certified instructor as required by the manufacture of the weapon/item. It shall be the
security guard/armored car guard's responsibility to maintain certification and requalification with the weapon/
item consistent with manufacturer standards.

3.1.1  Under no circumstances would a person be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item, unless first

approved by the Director.

3.1.2 Any person registered in 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 who, upon inspection, fails to provide a valid certification for any

of the above weapons, if carried in performance of their duties, will be subject to disciplinary actions
consistent with the law.

It shall be the responsibility of all Class B, C & D agencies to record and maintain said records on an

employee's qualifications with any approved weapon(s)/item(s) carried in performance of that employee’s
duties under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13.

3.2.1  These records are subject to review and audit by the Section as prescribed in 24 Del.C. Ch. 13.
3.2.2 Any agency licensed in 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 who, upon inspection, fails to provide a valid certification for any

employee found to be carrying any of the above weapons/items in the performance of their duties, will be
subject to disciplinary actions consistent with the law.
The Board shall have the right to deny any certification or re-certification from an instructor or training program
that is deemed to be not within generally accepted practices for the weapon/item. Any denial may be appealed
by submitting a request to the Professional Licensing Section and addressing the Board of Examiners.

Adopted 11/04/94
13 DE Reg. 502 (10/01/09)
15 DE Reg. 1181 (02/01/12)
18 DE Reg. 154 (08/01/14)
22 DE Reg. 69 (07/01/18)

Training Requirements

Each person licensed as a security guard under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall successfully complete a training
program approved by the Board, and any sueh additional training as the Board deems appropriate.
Satisfactory completion of the training program shall be certified by mandatory testing with a passing grade of
75%. The test will be administered by a Board approved training/testing facility.

4.1.1 The required training shall include;—but—neot-be-limitedto; instruction in rules and regulations, legal

requirements and limitations, use of force, ethics, emergency services, diversity, communication, asset
protection, and terrorism. The Board, in its discretion, may require such additional topics as it finds
necessary.

4.1.2 Individuals engaged in any violation of academic integrity which is validated by the testing facility will be

required to repeat the testing process and incur any additional costs involved. If a subsequent violation of
the academic standard is discovered and validated by the testing facility, the individual will be barred from
taking any further tests and their license or application will be denied/suspended. No provision of this
Section will exclude the individual from a due process hearing before the Board, if requested.

4.1.3 Individuals may complete the training with either a Board approved training facility or the agency that

employs them. The employer must hold either a Class B or Class C agency license.

Certified instructors must be employed by a Board approved training facility or a Class B or C agency providing
the training. All instructors' certifications will be pursuant to subsection 4.2.1.

4.2.1 Instructors for the training program must be certified by a Board approved training facility by completing an

Instructor Certification Course. This course will be developed by an approved training/testing facility with
collaboration from the Professional Licensing Section, and approved by the Board. An instructors test shall
be mandatory with a passing grade of 75%. If this test is failed, the instructor shall re-take the course and
the test until receiving a passing grade before being certified. Instructors who were approved by rules set
by previous versions of this Section would remain eligible to instruct as long as they retake the Instructor
Certification Course administered by the Board approved facility by January 1, 2021.

4.2.2 In order to remain certified, instructors must take a refresher course offered by a Board approved training

facility every five years or sooner as the Board may require. The refresher course will contain updates to
the training curriculum and testing materials previously approved by the board.



4.2.3 The approved training facility shall provide the Professional Licensing Section with the names and test
scores of all instructors certified. This information will be forwarded to the Board.

4.2.4 An instructors instructor’s approval may be suspended or revoked as deemed necessary by the Board.

4.3 The Professional Licensing Section shall have the authority to require regular reports on training from
licensees and employers, and shall report to the Board on compliance with this Section.

4.4 Training and test certifications shall be submitted with each new or renewal application, and the training shall
be completed no more than one year prior to submission of the application.

11 DE Reg. 810 (12/01/07)
15 DE Reg. 875 (12/01/11)
17 DE Reg. 860 (02/01/14)
18 DE Reg. 468 (12/01/14)
20 DE Reg. 470 (12/01/16)
22 DE Reg. 407 (11/01/18)
24 DE Reg. 179 (08/01/20)

Use Of Animals

T  ani . hibited:

51 The use of animals is prohibited. except for a canine to be used solely for the detection of firearms.
ammunition, or controlled substances.

5.2 Any private security agency licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 wishing to use a canine, shall use a Delaware
licensed security guard as the canine handler.

53 Both the canine and the security guard must have completed a training program consistent with the detection
of all items listed. All certifications/re-certifications must be on file with the private security agency and
available within 72 hours to the Professional Licensing Section for inspection.

54 The Board of Examiners shall review and approve or deny the request by a private security agency licensed
under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 to use a canine as outlined in subsection 5.1 of this regulation.

55 The Director of Professional Licensing shall have the authority to investigate any violation or complaint
regarding the use of a canine. The Director may, without notice, issue a suspension of the use of a canine at a
job site upon finding that an emergency exists that requires immediate action to protect the health and safety of
the public. The suspension shall be effective immediately. The Professional Licensing Section shall be
responsible for issuing a final written report to the Board at the conclusion of its investigation.
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Criminal Offenses

6.1 In addition to those qualifications set forth in 24 Del.C. Ch. 13, no person required to be licensed under this
chapter shall be issued a license, if that person has been convicted of Assault Il within the last three (3) years.
6.2 For the purposes of 24 Del.C. Ch. 13, the Director of the Professional Licensing Section may deny an

application, suspend, or revoke a license if the applicant or licensee has been convicted of a misdemeanor
crime involving moral turpitude. A misdemeanor crime involving moral turpitude includes, but is not limited to,
the following crimes in the Delaware Code (or similar crimes under the laws of other jurisdictions):

6.2.1 Title 11 Crimes and Criminal Procedures Ch. 5 Specific Offenses:
6.2.1.1 §763 Sexual harassment;
6.2.1.2 §764 Indecent exposure in the second degree;
6.2.1.3 §765 Indecent exposure in the first degree;
6.2.1.4 §766 Incest;
6.2.1.5 §767 Unlawful sexual contact in the third degree;
6.2.1.6 §781 Unlawful imprisonment in the second degree;
6.2.1.7 §840 Shoplifting;
6.2.1.8 §861 Forgery;
6.2.1.9 §871 Falsifying Business Records
6.2.1.10  §881 Bribery
6.2.1.11 §907 Criminal Impersonation



7.0

8.0

6.3

6.4

71

7.2

8.1

6.2.1.12 §1101 Abandonment of a Child;
6.2.1.13  §1102 Endangering the Welfare of a Child;
6.2.1.14  §1105 Crime Against a Vulnerable Adult;
6.2.1.15  §1106 Unlawfully Dealing with a Child;
6.2.1.16  §1107 Endangering Children;
6.2.1.17  §1245 Falsely Reporting an Incident;
6.2.1.18  §1341 Lewdness;
6.2.1.19 §1342 Prostitution;
6.2.1.20  §1343 Patronizing a Prostitute; and
6.2.1.21 §1355 Permitting Prostitution

6.2.2 Title 16 Health and Safety Ch. 11 Nursing Facilities and Similar Facilities:
6.2.2.1 §1136 Violations.

6.2.3 Title 31 Welfare Ch. 39 Adult Protective Services:
6.2.3.1 §3913 Violations.

Anyone applying for licensure under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall not be issued a license if they have any pending
criminal charge(s) for any crimes listed in this Chapter.

The Director of the Professional Licensing Section may suspend anyone licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 who
has been arrested and that arrest could result in the conviction of any misdemeanor or felony as described in
this Chapter.
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Employment Notification

Anyone applying for licensure/registration under this chapter may be rejected without refund, or have their
license revoked, for knowingly omitting any criminal history, other material information or to make a false
statement on their application.
Employers Responsibility
7.2.1 A licensed private security agency, after investigation, shall notify the Professional Licensing Section, in
writing, of any terminated employees. This information is to be included in the next monthly roster report
following the termination.

7.2.2 A licensed private security agency shall report to the Professional Licensing Section, in writing, the

following:
7.2.21 The name of any employee arrested;
7.2.2.2 The name of any employee admitted to any mental hospital ward, mental institution or sanitarium;
or
7.2.2.3 The name of any employee disabled from carrying, owning, or possession a gun by action of

federal or state statute-andior statute, or court order, including bond orders and protection from
abuse orders.
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Private Investigators

The identification card will bear the employer’s name. Upon termination of employment, the identification card
is no longer valid. If seeking employment with another licensed agency, the Private Investigator must be re-
registered with the new employer and a new identification card will be issued as in the previous procedure.



9.0

10.0

8.1.1 If a Private Investigator is employed by more than one agency, the Private Investigator must register the

8.2

other employer’s name with the State Bureau of Identification (SBI). A new identification card will be issued
for each new agency.
An approved Private Investigator may be employed by any number of licensed private investigative agencies
on a concurrent basis. The Private Investigator will adhere to the rules governing multiple employments by the
private investigative agencies they are employed by.
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License Holder

9.1
9.2

A qualified license holder must be an owner/partner/corporate officer of the agency requesting licensure.

Law enforcement qualification shall be at a minimum of three years’ experience not to include the training
academy attendance.
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10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals, Vehicular Markings

No person licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall wear or display any uniform, patch, badge, seal, vehicle and
the markings, letterhead, business card, advertisement, or other form of publication unless first approved by
the Board of Examiners.

The use of “patrol” and/or “officer” shall first be proceeded by the word “security”. Under no circumstances shall
any item contain the seal or crest of the State of Delaware, any state of the United States, the seal or crest of
any county or local subdivision, or any facsimile of the aforementioned seals or crests.

No such items will be approved by the Board if the item will mislead the public by confusing the licensee and/or
his/her employees with official law enforcement agencies and/or personnel.

All uniforms displaying a patch must contain an approved patch that is not generic in nature. The patch must
have the name of the agency printed on it.

Vehicle Identification

10.5.1 No vehicle utilized for purposes covered by 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall have an appearance that creates a

reasonable likelihood of confusion with a police vehicle used by the Delaware State Police or a law
enforcement agency of any state or governmental subdivision. The Board of Examiners shall have
discretion to review the appearance of vehicles, and to make comparisons with known law enforcement
vehicles, in order to enforce this Rule.

10.5.2 In the event that a vehicle is not approved by the Board of Examiners pursuant to this Rule, the Board may

indicate what changes to the vehicle appearance would be sufficient to satisfy the standard and criteria set
forth above.

10.5.3 Auxiliary lights on vehicles, used for patrol, shall be amber and/or clear only. Use of sirens is prohibited.
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Personnel Rosters and Job Assignments

11.1

Anyone licensed as a private security agency (Class B or C) under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall submit an
alphabetical personnel roster and a job site list to the Professional Licensing Section by the tenth of every
month. Anyone licensed as a private investigative agency (Class A) or armored car agency (Class D), under 24



Del.C. Ch. 13, shall submit an alphabetical personnel roster to the Professional Licensing Section by the tenth
of January, April, July and October. Class A rosters only need to use the position code for the License Holder
and Compliance Agent. Class D rosters must specify an individual that only has a yellow card, the License
Holder and Compliance Agent.

11.1.1 Alphabetical, by last name, personnel rosters shall include the full name, DOB, race, sex, expiration date,
and position code of each individual inreuremploy employed by any agency governed by this regulation.

For example:
Henry, John F. 05/23/43 B M 05/23/00 PI
Montgomery, Frank G.  07/24/55 B M 06/30/99 LH
Smith, Mark A. 01/25/60 W M 01/25/99 SG
White, Helen E. 03/17/71 B F 03/17/00 FA
Workman, Henry K. 08/15/60 W M 08/15/99 CA

SG  Security Guard

FA Firearms Guard

Pl Private Investigator
LH License Holder

CA  Compliance Agent

11.2  Job site lists shall include the name, address, location, and hours of coverage. Employees shall not be listed
on the job sites. For example:

The DuPont Industry
Barley Mill Road
2200 - 0600 Hours, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday

11.3  Rosters shall be submitted as required in subsection 11.1 regardless of the number of employees working in
the State of Delaware.
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12.0 Record Book; Right of Inspection

13.0

12.1  All agencies licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch.13 shall keep and maintain at their place of business, at all times, a
book that shall contain the names and positions of all employees along with the location that each employee is
assigned to work. This book shall contain all current personnel information and at all times shall be current and
up-to-date to include a copy of the current identification card, if applicable the following: list of weapons/items
each employee is qualified to carry, the certification/expiration dates, scores, and a current copy of the
mandatory security guard training and test certification.

12.2  The Professional Licensing Section has the right to inspect any security guard at any time they are on their
respective post. The office of any private investigative agency, private security agency, or armored car agency
may be inspected during normal working hours without notice.
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Licensing Fees
13.1 Class A License - Private Investigative Agency
13.1.1 In-State - $300



13.2

13.3

13.4

13.1.2 Out-of-State - $500

13.1.3 $10,000 Surety Bond - Minimum one year

13.1.4 Sole Proprietorship - $250
13.1.41 $5,000 Surety Bond - Minimum one year

13.1.5 $1,000,000 Liability Insurance per occurrence
Class B License - Private Security Agency

13.2.1 In-State - $300

13.2.2 Out-of-State - $500

13.2.3 $10,000 Surety Bond - Minimum one year

13.2.4 $1,000,000 Liability Insurance per occurrence
Class C License - Private Investigative & Private Security Agency

13.3.1 In-State - $500

13.3.2 Out-of-State - $800

13.3.3 $15,000 Surety Bond - Minimum one year

13.3.4 $1,000,000 Liability Insurance per occurrence
Class D License - Armored Car Agency License

13.4.1 In-State - $300

13.4.2 Out-of-State - $500

13.4.3 $10,000 Surety Bond - Minimum one year

13.4.4 $1,000,000 Liability Insurance per occurrence

13.5
13.6

All licenses will expire 2 years from the last day of the month they are approved for licensure.

All new agency licensures must be approved by the Board. Standard renewals, with no changes, may be
approved by the Professional Licensing Section, with notification to the Board. Any agency having a change in

License Holder must be approved by the Board.

Adopted 11/04/94
Adopted 04/23/98
3 DE Reg. 960 (01/01/00)
4 DE Reg. 361 (08/01/00)
6 DE Reg. 637 (11/01/02)

18 DE Reg.
18 DE Reg.
18 DE Reg.
19 DE Reg.

7 DE Reg. 1375 (03/01/04) 20 DE Reg.
8 DE Reg. 325 (08/01/04) 20 DE Reg.
10 DE Reg. 1445 (03/01/07) 21 DE Reg.
11 DE Reg. 810 (12/01/07) 21 DE Reg.
13 DE Reg. 502 (10/01/09) 22 DE Reg.
14 DE Reg. 1395 (06/01/11) 22 DE Reg.
15 DE Reg. 875 (12/01/11) 23 DE Reg.
15 DE Reg. 1181 (02/01/12) 24 DE Reg.
15 DE Reg. 1617 (05/01/12) 27 DE Reg.
17 DE Reg. 860 (02/01/14)

154 (08/01/14)
468 (12/01/14)
648 (02/01/15)
202 (09/01/15)
470 (12/01/16)
990 (06/01/17)
732 (03/01/18)
901 (05/01/18)
69 (07/01/18)

407 (11/01/18)
469 (12/01/19)
179 (08/01/20)

320 (11/01/23) (Prop.)



		2023-11-01T11:08:38-0400
	State of Delaware




