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Pursuant to 24 Del.C. § 2906(a)(1), the Delaware Real Estate Commission ("Commission") has proposed revisions to
its rules and regulations.

On December 1, 2019, proposed revisions to the rules and regulations were published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations, Volume 23, Issue 6. Specifically, the Commission's proposed regulations included a new subsection 8.5 which
set forth requirements for real estate "teams." New Section 9.0 addressed the scope of permissible activities under the
property management licensure exemption. Revisions to the new Section 12.0, Renewal of Licenses, shortened the late
renewal period from 60 to 30 days and clarified that the late renewal period is not an extension of the deadline to complete
continuing education. Requirements for licensure reinstatement were amended. As set forth in the new subsection 14.13,
new licensees would be required to complete twelve hours of education designed to assist individuals new to the real
estate profession. Those twelve hours were to be completed within 90 days after the date of initial licensure and would not
count towards the continuing education required for license renewal. New licensees would also be required to complete the
continuing education applicable to all licensees pursuant to the pro-ration schedule. Finally, as set forth in the new
subsection 14.6.7, a minimum fine of $250 would be imposed for a finding of unjustified noncompliance with continuing
education requirements, and a minimum fine of $1,000 would be imposed for a second finding of unjustified
noncompliance.

A public hearing was held on January 9, 2020. The Commission deliberated on February 13, 2020, and based on those
deliberations, made substantive revisions to the proposed rules and regulations. Pursuant to a Public Notice published in
the March 1, 2020 Register of Regulations, Vol. 23, Issue 9, the Commission struck the rules and regulations as proposed
in the December 1, 2019 Register of Regulations and proposed further revisions. A hearing was scheduled for April 9,
2020. However, due to the State of Emergency related to COVID-19, the hearing was canceled.

The revised rules and regulations, as set forth in the March 1, 2020 Register of Regulations, are attached hereto as
Exhibit A. Any person wishing to submit written suggestions, testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning the
proposed rules and regulations should submit such comments no later than August 31, 2020 to:

Danielle Cross, Administrative Specialist III
Delaware Real Estate Commission
Delaware Division of Professional Regulation
Cannon Building, Suite 203
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Dover, Delaware 19904
Email: danielle.cross@delaware.gov
Fax: (302) 739-2711

2900 Real Estate Commission

1.0 Introduction
1.1 Authority [24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1)]

1.1.1 Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1), the Delaware Real Estate Commission is authorized and empowered
and hereby adopts these Rules and Regulations.

1.1.2 Pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, the Commission reserves the right to
make any amendments, modifications or additions to the Rules and Regulations that, in its discretion, are
necessary or desirable.

1.1.3 The Commission reserves the right to grant exceptions to the requirements of the Rules and Regulations
upon a showing of good cause by the party requesting such exception, provided such exception is not
inconsistent with the requirements of 24 Del.C. Ch. 29.



1.1.4 The Commission's Rules and Regulations are available on the Division of Professional Regulation's
website, www.dpr.delaware.gov.

1.2 Applicability
1.2.1 The Commission's Rules and Regulations are applicable to all current Licensees and to all applicants for

licensure.
1.3 Broker's Responsibilities [24 Del.C. §§2902(a)(2), 2902(a)(11), 2919(d)]

1.3.1 It is the responsibility of the employing Broker to insure that his or her the Broker’s Licensees comply with
the Commission's Rules and Regulations. Every Broker is responsible for making certain that all of his or
her the Broker’s Salespersons and Associate Brokers are currently licensed, make timely application for
license renewal, and meet the Commission's continuing education requirements. The Broker shall co-sign
continuing education logs and shall maintain copies of continuing education certificates for his or her the
Broker’s Salespersons and Associate Brokers for at least three years after the conclusion of each renewal
period. A Broker's failure to meet these responsibilities may result in a civil fine against the Broker of up to
$1,000.00 per violation.

1.3.2 A Broker's failure to satisfy the requirements set forth in subsection 1.3.1 may result in disciplinary action
and possible disciplinary sanctions pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2914.

1.3.21.3.3 Each office location shall be under the direction of a Broker, who shall provide complete and adequate
supervision of that office. A Broker shall apply for and obtain a license in his or her the Broker’s name for
each office and for each branch office. An application for an additional license shall state the location of the
branch office and the name of the Designated On-Site Supervisor, who shall be a Delaware Licensee and
who shall be in charge of managing the branch office on a full time basis. For new office applications
submitted after February 3, 2012, pursuant Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §2919(d), the Designated On-Site
Supervisor shall be a Licensee with a minimum of five (5) years of continuous Real Estate Services
experience, which shall be documented on the office application.

1.3.31.3.4 Where an unforeseen event, such as a resignation or termination from employment, death,
emergency, illness, call to military service or training, or a sanction imposed by the Commission, causes or
necessitates the removal of the sole licensed Broker in an office, a written request shall be submitted to the
Division of Professional Regulation for substitution of another Broker for said office on a temporary basis.

1.3.41.3.5 The employment of a Designated On-Site Supervisor, sales manager, administrative manager, trainer,
or other similar administrator shall not relieve the Broker of the responsibilities contained and defined in
these Rules and Regulations.

1.3.51.3.6 The failure of any Licensee to comply with the provisions of 24 Del.C. Ch. 29 and the Commission's
Rules and Regulations may also result in disciplinary action against his or her the Broker's license.

1.4 Exemptions [24 Del.C. §2901(e)(4)]
1.4.1 Pursuant 24 Del.C. §2901(e)(4), Auctioneers are exempt from the Commission's licensing law, as the term

"Auctioneer" is defined in 30 Del.C. §2301(a)(3): "every person engaged in the business of crying sales of
real or personal property on behalf of others for profit."

1.4.1.1 For the purpose of the Auctioneer exemption set forth in 24 Del.C. §2901(e)(4), the "business of
crying sales of real or personal property" shall mean the public event or sale occurring on an
advertised date, when an auctioneer engages in the act of crying or calling for, the recognition of,
and the acceptance of bids where the sale price of the property offered is determined by the
increasing of competitive bids until the highest accepted bidder becomes the purchaser. The
exemption shall only apply to the day of the auction.

1.4.1.1.1 Rule Subsection 1.4.1.1 does not prohibit an Auctioneer from advertising the auction prior to
the date of the event.

1.4.1.2 Notwithstanding the Auctioneer exemption set forth in 24 Del.C. §2901(e)(4), a Licensee acting or
providing service under this exemption, may be subject to discipline for violation of 24 Del.C.
§2912.

1.4.1.3 In the event the property is sold by the broker, either before or after the auction date, the
Auctioneer may be paid compensation from the sale of the property according to the terms of the
written cooperation agreement, where an Auctioneer is actively engaged by written agreement
with an owner of real property to sell real property at auction.

1.5 Change of address. A Licensee shall notify the Commission of any change of address from that registered with
the Commission. Such notice shall be sent to the Commission by certified mail not later than 30 days following
the change of address. A Licensee’s failure to notify the Commission of a change in address will not excuse
the Licensee from continuing education audit requirements, including possible sanctions for non-compliance.

http://www.dpr.delaware.gov


1.5 Duty to update address. Licensees must provide the Division of Professional Regulation with any change of
address from that registered with the Division. Any change in address must be reported to the Division within
thirty days of such change. All notifications and correspondence pertaining to a Licensee’s license that are
sent through the mail will be sent only to the most recent address provided by the Licensee. The failure to
provide the Division with a current address will not operate to excuse any duty or responsibility of the Licensee
and confirmed delivery to the most recent address provided by the Licensee will be considered proper notice.

15 DE Reg. 1185 (02/01/12)
18 DE Reg. 789 (04/01/15)
20 DE Reg. 653 (02/01/17)

2.0 Requirements for Obtaining a Salesperson's License [24 Del.C. §2907]
2.1 The Commission shall consider any Salesperson applicant who meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. §2907(b)

and the requirements of this Rule Section:
2.12.1.1Has successfully completed the accredited Salesperson pre-licensing course through an approved course

provider, as set forth in the Commission's Real Estate Education Guidelines.
2.22.1.2Has passed in no more than 3 attempts, both the general and State portions of the Salesperson real estate

examination, through the approved professional testing service. An applicant shall retake the Salesperson
pre-licensing course if the applicant is unable to pass the applicable portion or portions of the examination
in 3 or less attempts.

2.2.1 The applicant shall obtain an original licensure application from the Division of Professional Regulation's
website, www.dpr.delaware.gov, for use in making application for licensure.

2.2.2 An applicant shall retake the Salesperson pre-licensing course if the applicant is unable to pass the
applicable portion(s) of the examination in 3 or less attempts.

2.32.1.3 Has submitted the applied for licensure application within 12 months of completing the Salesperson
pre-licensing course. If the application is not submitted applicant does not apply for licensure within 12
months of completing the Salesperson pre-licensing course, the applicant shall submit proof of completion
of continuing education, pro-rated pursuant to the pro-ration requirements of Rule 13.2.2 subsection 14.3.

2.3.12.2 The licensure application shall be complete and notarized and include the following:
2.3.1.12.2.1 A copy of the original school certificate(s) certificate or certificates provided at course completion

by the approved course provider(s) provider or providers.
2.3.1.22.2.2 If the applicant is currently licensed in another jurisdiction, or has ever been licensed in another

jurisdiction, a licensure history provided by each licensing jurisdiction dated within 30 days of the
application.

2.3.1.32.2.3 Written acceptance by a sponsoring Broker.
2.4 Applicants should refer to the Commission website for information on approved pre-licensing courses, course

providers, fees, the professional testing service and testing application instructions. http://dpr.delaware.gov/
boards/realestate/index.shtml.

5 DE Reg. 1387 (01/01/02)
15 DE Reg. 1185 (02/01/12)
16 DE Reg. 99 (07/01/12)

3.0 Requirements for Obtaining an Associate Broker's License [24 Del.C. §2907]
3.1 The Commission shall consider any Associate Broker applicant who meets the requirements of 24 Del.C.

§2907(c) and the requirements of this Rule Section:
3.13.1.1 Has been actively licensed in Delaware or another jurisdiction for 5 continuous years immediately

preceding application. Licensure shall be considered continuous even where the license has been
renewed late, as long as the late renewal occurs within 30 days of the expiration date.

3.1.1 Licensure shall be considered continuous even where the license has been renewed late, as long as the
late renewal occurs within 60 days of the expiration date.

3.23.1.2 Has successfully completed the accredited Broker pre-licensing course through an approved course
provider as set forth in the Commission's Real Estate Education Guidelines. If the applicant is actively
licensed as a Broker in another jurisdiction, Broker pre-licensing course hours completed in that jurisdiction
may be used towards the course hour requirement.

3.2.1 If the applicant is actively licensed as a Broker in another jurisdiction, Broker pre-licensing course hours
completed in that jurisdiction may be used towards the course hour requirement.



3.33.1.3 Has passed in no more than 3 attempts, both the general and State portions of the Broker real estate
examination through the approved professional testing service. An applicant shall retake the Broker pre-
licensing course if the applicant is unable to pass the applicable portion or portions of the examination in 3
or less attempts.

3.3.1 The applicant shall obtain an original licensure application from the Division of Professional Regulation's
website, www.dpr.delaware.gov, for use in making application for licensure.

3.3.2 An applicant shall retake the Broker pre-licensing course if the applicant is unable to pass the applicable
portion(s) of the examination in 3 or less attempts.

3.43.1.4 Has submitted the application applied for licensure within 12 months of completing the Broker pre-
licensing course. Pre-licensing courses included in Rule subsection 3.2.1 are exempt from this 12 month
requirement. If the application is not submitted applicant does not submit the application within 12 months
of completing the Broker pre-licensing course, the applicant shall submit proof of completion of continuing
education, pro-rated pursuant to the pro-ration requirements of Rule 13.2.2 subsection 14.3.

3.4.13.2  The licensure application shall be complete and notarized and include the following:
3.4.1.13.2.1 A copy of the original school certificate(s) certificate or certificates provided at course completion

by the approved course provider(s) provider or providers.
3.4.1.23.2.2 If the applicant is currently licensed in another jurisdiction, or has ever been licensed in another

jurisdiction, licensure history provided by each licensing jurisdiction dated within 30 days of the application.
3.4.1.33.2.3 Written acceptance by a sponsoring Broker.

3.4.1.4 The Guaranty Fund fee shall not be required if the applicant has already paid the fee when
obtaining their Salesperson license.

3.4.1.53.2.4 A list of at least thirty sale or lease transactions completed by the applicant in a licensed capacity
within the 5 years immediately preceding application. Upon approval of the Commission, the thirty
transactions may include real estate services performed for an employer, while licensed, during the 5
years immediately preceding application. If the applicant, as a designated agent or team leader, has
directly supervised licensees who completed the transactions, then the transactions completed by those
supervised licensees may be a part of this list. The list of transactions shall be signed by the Broker(s)
Broker or Brokers who supervised the transactions.

3.4.1.5.13.2.4.1 The list shall contain the sale or lease completion date, property address, purchaser/
lessee name, seller/lessor name, specify if completed by the applicant or designated agent
subordinates and be signed by the applicant.

3.4.1.5.23.2.4.2 Time share and property management transactions are not considered as eligible sale or
lease transactions.

3.53.3 Applications shall include the applicable fees as described in 24 Del.C. §2907(g) as a financial prerequisite for
licensure. The Guaranty Fund fee shall not be required if the applicant has already paid the fee when obtaining
their Salesperson license.

3.6 Applicants should refer to the Commission website for information on approved pre-licensing courses, course
providers, fees, the professional testing service and testing application instructions.    http://dpr.delaware.gov/
boards/realestate/index.shtml.

4 DE Reg. 846 (11/01/00)
5 DE Reg. 1387 (01/01/02)
15 DE Reg. 1185 (02/01/12)
16 DE Reg. 99 (07/01/12)

4.0 Requirements for Obtaining a Broker's License [24 Del.C. §2907]
4.1 The Commission shall consider the application for a Broker license provided the applicant meets all of the

requirements of 24 Del.C. §2907(d), Rule Section 3.0, and:
4.14.1.1 Submits evidence that the applicant has been actively engaged in the practice of Real Estate Services,

either as a licensed Salesperson or licensed Associate Broker for 3 years immediately preceding
application.

4.24.1.2 Submits a completed Application Applies for a Real Estate Office Permit along with the fees as set
forth in 24 Del.C. §2907(g).

4.34.2 An application shall include evidence to support that the Broker applicant has complied with, and will continue
to comply with, the Escrow Account provisions set forth in 24 Del.C. §2923(a) and Rule Section 6.0.

4.44.3 The Broker shall attest that he or she the Broker is responsible for the day to day management and supervision
of the office, as set forth in 24 Del.C. §2907(d).



4.54.4 If applying to be a replacement Broker for an established real estate office, the Broker shall submit with the
application a letter signed by the current Broker naming the applicant as the replacement Broker. If the
replacement Broker cannot supply a letter signed by the current Broker, the replacement Broker shall submit a
letter of explanation.

5 DE Reg. 1387 (01/01/02)
15 DE Reg. 1185 (02/01/12)

5.0 Requirements for Obtaining a Reciprocal License [24 Del.C. §2909]
5.1 Each applicant for a reciprocal license shall submit a complete and notarized application and the application

fee.
5.25.1 In addition to meeting the requirements set forth in 29 Del.C. §2909(b), a Salesperson applicant who is

seeking licensure pursuant to §2909(b)(1) shall provide a list of at least twenty sale or lease transactions
completed by the applicant in a licensed capacity within the 3 years immediately preceding application. Upon
approval of the Commission, the twenty transactions may include real estate services performed for an
employer, while licensed, during the 3 years immediately preceding application. If the applicant, as a
designated agent or team leader, has directly supervised licensees who completed the transactions, then the
transactions completed by those supervised licensees may be a part of this list. The list of transactions shall be
signed by the Broker(s) Broker or Brokers who supervised the transactions.

5.2.15.1.1 The list shall contain the sale or lease completion date, property address, purchaser/lessee name,
seller/lessor name, specify if completed by the applicant or designated agent subordinates and be signed
by the applicant.

5.2.25.1.2 Time share and property management transactions are not considered as eligible sale or lease
transactions.

5.35.2 In addition to meeting the requirements set forth in 29 Del.C. §2909(c), an Associate Broker applicant shall
provide a list of at least thirty sale or lease transactions completed by the applicant in a licensed capacity within
the 5 years immediately preceding application. Upon approval of the Commission, the thirty transactions may
include real estate services performed for an employer, while licensed, during the 5 years immediately
preceding application. If the applicant, as a designated agent or team leader, has directly supervised licensees
who completed the transactions, then the transactions completed by those supervised licensees may be a part
of this list. The list of transactions shall be signed by the Broker(s) Broker or Brokers who supervised the
transactions.

5.3.15.2.1 The list shall contain the sale or lease completion date, property address, purchaser/lessee name,
seller/lessor name, specify if completed by the applicant or a designated agent subordinate and be signed
by the applicant.

5.3.25.2.2 Time share and property management transactions are not considered as eligible sale or lease
transactions.

5.45.3 In addition to meeting the requirements set forth in 29 Del.C. §2909(d), a Broker applicant shall also meet the
requirements of Rules 4.3 and 5.3 subsections 4.2 and 5.2.

5 DE Reg. 1070 (11/01/01)
4 DE Reg. 457 (09/01/00)
15 DE Reg. 1185 (02/01/12)

6.0 Escrow Accounts [24 Del.C. §2923]
6.1 When the real estate transaction is a non-recurring residential rental agreement of one hundred twenty (120)

days or less, the Broker may, in accordance with written authorization from his or her the Broker’s principal,
transfer from the escrow account a management fee and an amount specified up to a stated dollar amount for
authorized repairs or cleaning expenses. Any amounts transferred in accordance with this subsection shall be
reconciled and reflected in a written full accounting.

6.2 Unless agreed to in writing by the parties, a Licensee shall not accept, as a good faith or earnest money
deposit in connection with a real estate transaction, a photocopy, facsimile, or other copy of a personal check
or draft, nor shall a Licensee accept as a good faith or earnest money deposit a check or draft that is
postdated.

6.3 A Broker shall maintain in his or her the Broker’s office, or have available electronically in his or her the
Broker’s office, a complete record of all moneys received or escrowed on real estate transactions, including the
sources of the money, the date of receipt, depository, and date of deposit; and when a transaction has been
completed, the final disposition of the moneys. The records shall clearly show the amount of the Broker's
personal funds in escrow at all times. Such records shall be retained for at least 3 years.



6.4 An Escrow Account shall be opened and maintained by the Broker in a bank with an office located in Delaware
in order to receive and maintain a valid license.

6.5 The brokerage name on the escrow account shall match the brokerage name on the license, including terms
such as “d/b/a”.

6.56.6 Interest accruing on money held in escrow belongs to the owner(s) owner or owners of the funds unless
otherwise stated in the agreement of sale or lease.

15 DE Reg. 1185 (02/01/12)

7.0 Transfer of Licensees
7.1 All Licensees who transfer to another office, or Brokers who open their own offices, but who were associated

previously with another Broker, shall present submit a completed Change Form to the Commission signed by
the individual Broker with whom they were formerly associated, before the license will be transferred. 

7.2 The Commission reserves the right to waive the requirement of Rule subsection 7.1 upon a determination of
good cause.

7.3 All Brokers who move the physical location of their office shall notify the Commission in writing at least 30
days, or as soon as practical, prior to such move by filing submitting a new office application.

5 DE Reg. 1387 (01/01/02)
15 DE Reg. 1185 (02/01/12)

8.0 Business Relationships and Practices [24 Del.C. Chapter 29, Subchapter II]
8.1 Written Listing Agreements [24 Del.C. §2930(a)]

8.1.1 Listing Agreements for the sale, lease or exchange of real property, whether exclusive or open non-
exclusive, shall be in writing and shall be signed by the seller, owner, Broker or Broker's designee.

8.2 Buyer Agency Agreements [24 Del.C. §2930(a)]
8.2.1 Exclusive buyer agency agreements, or buyer agency agreements that obligate the buyer to pay the

Broker, shall be in writing and signed by the buyer.
8.3 Cooperation agreements between Brokers and Auctioneers shall be in writing and signed by both parties.
8.4 Copy of agreements

8.4.1 Every party to a listing agreement, agreement of sale, written buyer agency agreement, cooperation
agreement between a Broker and Auctioneer or lease shall be furnished with an a copy when the party
signs or initials it and a fully executed copy of such agreement or agreements after all parties have signed
it. It shall be the responsibility of the Licensee to deliver an the fully executed copy of the agreements to
the principals within a reasonable length of time after execution by all parties. Copies may be in paper or
electronic format.

8.5 Real Estate Teams
8.5.1 “Team” means two or more Licensees who represent themselves to the public as being part of one entity.
8.5.2 Team Names

8.5.2.1 The word “team” or the word “group” or the word “associates” must be included in the Team name.
8.5.2.2 The Team name may not include terms which suggest that the Team is a separate Brokerage

Organization, such as “Realty”, “Real Estate”, “Realtors”, “Company”, “Corporation”, “Corp.”,
“Inc.”, “LLC”, “LP”, or “LLP”.

8.5.3 Broker supervision
8.5.3.1 Team members must:

8.5.3.1.1 Work under the direct supervision of the same Broker in the same primary or branch office;
and

8.5.3.1.2 Conduct all real estate activity from the primary or branch office where their individual licenses
are displayed.

8.5.3.2 The Team’s Broker is responsible for the real estate activities of Team members under such
Broker’s supervision.

8.5.3.3 A broker must maintain a current list of Teams and Team members and provide such information
upon demand to the Commission or a member of the public.

8.58.6 Advertising [24 Del.C. §§2906(a)(1), 2912(a)]
8.5.18.6.1 The purpose of the advertising rules is to protect the general public and to prohibit misrepresentation

and false, misleading, untrue or deceptive advertising practices by Licensees.



8.5.2 "Advertise" or "advertising" shall mean a Licensee's use of Internet electronic communication, print, or
other media, business cards, signs and billboards to publish information to promote a Real Estate Services
provider or the sale or lease of real estate. Internet electronic communication shall include, but is not
limited to, websites, social networks, e-mail, e-mail discussion groups and bulletin boards.

8.6.2 “Advertising” means the use of any written, visual, printed, or electronically generated advertisement by a
real estate Licensee or any other person on behalf of a real estate Licensee including, but not limited to
any correspondence, mailing, newsletter, brochure, business card, for sale or for lease signage or sign
rider, billboards, promotional items, automobile signage, telephone directory listing, radio and television
broadcasts, telephone solicitation and electronic media to include emails, text messaging, public blogs,
podcasts, social media networking websites or internet displays.

8.5.38.6.3 A Licensee who violates the advertising rules may be in violation of one or more of the provisions set
forth in 24 Del.C. §2912(a) and subject to the disciplinary sanctions set forth in 24 Del.C. §2914.

8.5.48.6.4 A Licensee shall not knowingly use, publish or disseminate misrepresentations or any false,
misleading, untrue or deceptive advertising in any manner.

8.5.58.6.5 Disclosure
8.5.5.18.6.5.1 Any Licensee who advertises real property personally owned or real property in which the

Licensee has any ownership interest shall include in the advertisement that he or she the Licensee
is the owner of said property, and that he or she the Licensee is a real estate licensee Licensee.
This Rule subsection does not apply to signs.

8.5.5.28.6.5.2 Any Licensee who advertises an offer to purchase real property shall include in the
advertisement that he or she the Licenses is a real estate Licensee.

8.5.5.38.6.5.3 Any Licensee who advertises any real property for sale, lease, exchange, or transfer that is
listed with a Broker shall include in legible print in the advertisement the complete Brokerage
Organization name that has been registered with the Commission, and Brokerage Organization
phone number registered by the Broker with the Commission for that office location. Effective six
months after the effective date of this Regulation, the advertisement shall prominently display the
Brokerage Organization name and phone number in greater size and visibility than the Licensee’s
name, except that online advertisements shall comply with this subsection no later 60 days after
the effective date of this Regulation. Nothing contained herein shall preclude the listing of
additional licensee names and/or team or Team names or phone numbers. All such advertising
shall also contain language or abbreviations that clearly identify each phone number listed;
examples include, but are not limited to: "Office"; "Home"; "Res."; and "Cell".

8.6.5.4 Effective six months after the effective date of this Regulation, team advertising shall prominently
display the name of the supervising broker’s brokerage organization adjacent to the team name in
greater size and visibility than the team name, except that online team advertising shall comply
with this subsection no later than 60 days after the effective date of this Regulation.

8.5.5.48.6.5.5 All advertisements for personal promotion of Licensees shall include the complete Brokerage
Organization name that has been registered with the Commission, and office phone number
registered by the Broker with the Commission for that office location.

8.5.5.58.6.5.6 In the case of Internet electronic communication advertising, the disclosures required in Rule
8.5.5.3 subsection 8.6.5.3 shall be included in every viewable page or message and may be made
by link to a full disclosure. In addition, the disclosures shall include the city and state in which the
Broker's main office is located and the Broker's jurisdiction of licensure.

8.5.5.68.6.5.7 A Licensee advertising for sale for an exempted party under 24 Del.C. §2901, where an
unlicensed salesperson conducts on-site sales, shall disclose in any advertising that: "On-site
unlicensed salespeople represent the seller only."

8.5.68.6.6 The publisher of advertising provided by a Licensee pursuant to agreement between the publisher and
the licensee is not subject to discipline under these Rules.

8.68.7 Office Permits [24 Del.C. §2919]
8.6.18.7.1 For each office location, the Broker shall submit an application and applicable fee apply for an office

permit. The application shall include a telephone number, and, as applicable, a fax number, e-mail address
and web address.

8.6.28.7.2 At each office location, the Broker shall place, in a conspicuous location, a permanent sign indicating
the name under which the office is registered with the Commission.

8.6.38.7.3 Prior to commencing business, an office located in a private home shall be approved by the
Commission and have a separate entrance.



8.6.48.7.4 Licensees may interact by electronic means with other licensees or members of the public from places
other than an approved office location.

8.6.58.7.5 Brokerage Organizations may share facilities approved by the Commission with other businesses,
such as insurance, banking, Auctioneers or others that the Commission shall deem compatible.

8.78.8 Compensation and Inducements [24 Del.C. §2930]
8.7.18.8.1 Licensees cannot use commissions or income received from commissions as rebates or

compensation paid to or given to non-licensed persons, partnerships or corporations as inducements to do
or secure business, or as a finder's fee, unless those fees are paid pursuant to a written cooperation or
affiliation agreement signed by all parties as permitted under this Chapter 29 of Title 24 of the Delaware
Code and these Rules and Regulations. A Broker may pay compensation to a retired or terminated
Licensee which was earned while the Licensee had an active license. A Broker may pay compensation to
the estate of a deceased Licensee which was earned while the Licensee had an active license.

8.7.28.8.2 This Rule subsection does not prohibit a Licensee from giving a rebate or discount or any other thing of
value directly to the purchaser or seller of real estate.

8.7.38.8.3 A Licensee has an affirmative obligation to make timely disclosure, in writing, to his or her the
Licensee’s principal of any rebate or discount that may be made to the other party.

8.7.48.8.4 Licensees shall not accept compensation from more than one party to a transaction, even if permitted
by law, without timely disclosure to all parties to the transaction.

8.7.58.8.5 When acting as agent, a Licensee shall not accept any commission, rebate, or profit on expenditures
made for his or her the Licensee’s principal without the principal's knowledge and informed consent.

8.7.68.8.6 A Licensee may pay a referral fee to a person licensed as a real estate broker in another jurisdiction.
8.7.78.8.7 A licensed salesperson or broker from another jurisdiction may represent a client as a buyer or tenant

in a transaction involving a Delaware property if the licensee affiliates with a Delaware Licensee, provided
that one of the following requirements is met: the property is not predominantly 1-4 family residential, the
licensee from another jurisdiction affiliates with a Delaware Licensee and agrees, in writing, as to the
responsibilities of each broker and agrees, in writing, as to the terms of compensation, if any. The
Delaware Licensee, and the Licensee’s Broker, where the Licensee is a Salesperson or Associate Broker,
shall be responsible for the out-of-state licensee’s compliance with the Commission’s Practice Act, 24
Del.C. Chapter 29, and rules and regulations.

8.7.7.1 For 1-4 family residential property, all of the showings and negotiations are performed by the
Delaware Licensee, with the licensee from another jurisdiction participating in discussions with the
client as the client requests, in writing, with terms of compensation, if any, in writing; or

8.7.7.2 For property that is not predominantly 1-4 family residential, the licensee from another jurisdiction
affiliates with a Delaware Licensee and agrees, in writing, as to the responsibilities of each broker
and agrees, in writing, as to the terms of compensation, if any.
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9.0 Exemption for Provider of Property Management Services [24 Del.C. §2901(e)(5); 24 Del.C. 2902(a)(18)]
9.1 An individual performing property management services, in exchange for a fee, commission, compensation or

other valuable consideration, shall be exempt from licensure only if the individual performs the following limited
duties:

9.1.1 Maintenance.
9.1.2 Clerical or administrative support.
9.1.3 Collects or accepts rents or security deposits which are made payable to the owner or real estate

brokerage.
9.1.4 Exhibits or shows residential rental units to prospective tenants, except that if the unit has been advertised

to the public by a brokerage, only a brokerage employee or real estate licensee may show the unit.
9.1.5 Furnishes published information.
9.1.6 Supplies applications and leases.
9.1.7 Receives applications and leases for submission to the owner or brokerage for approval.

9.2 To be exempt from the licensure requirement, as provided in subsection 9.1, the individual performing property
management services may not perform the following activities:

9.2.1 Negotiate or draft contracts or lease agreements.



9.2.2 Vary or deviate from the rental price or other terms and conditions previously established by the owner or
broker when supplying information concerning the rental of property to a prospective tenant.

9.2.3 Approve applications or lease agreements, or settle or arrange the terms and conditions of a lease on
behalf of the owner or broker.

9.2.4 Offer inducements to prospective tenants unless they are previously advertised or prearranged with the
owner or broker.

9.2.5 Interpret or provide an opinion concerning the terms or conditions of a lease agreement.
9.2.6 Indicate to the public that the individual is in a position of authority with the ultimate managerial

responsibility for the rental property.

9.010.0 Disclosure
9.110.1 A Licensee who is the owner, the prospective purchaser, lessor or lessee or who has any personal interest in a

transaction, shall disclose his or her the Licensee’s status as a Licensee to all persons with whom he or she
the Licensee is transacting such business, prior to the execution of any agreements and shall include on the
agreement such status.

9.210.2 Any Licensee advertising real estate for sale stating in such advertisement, "If we cannot sell your home, we
will buy your home", or words to that effect, shall disclose in the original listing agreement at the time he or she
the Licensee obtains the signature on the listing agreement, the price he will pay for the property if no sales
agreement is executed during the term of the listing. Said Licensee shall have no more than sixty (60) days to
purchase and settle for the subject property upon expiration of the original listing or any extension thereof.

9.310.3 A written confirmation of the agency relationship shall be included in the agreement for the real estate
transaction regardless of whether the relationship is a statutory agency relationship or a common law agency
relationship.

9.410.4 Consumer Information Statement ("CIS") [24 Del.C. §2938(b)]
9.4.110.4.1 The Commission shall approve a CIS which will be available on its website for use by Licensees. The

Commission may also approved approve alternative CIS's, which also will be posted on its website. Any
changes to a CIS shall be approved by a quorum of the Commission.

9.510.5 Common Law Agency Relationships [24 Del.C. §2932]
9.5.110.5.1 When acting as a common law agent, the disclosure as to whom the Licensee represents shall be

made at the first substantive contact to each party to the negotiation or transaction. In all cases such
disclosure shall be made prior to the presentation of an offer to purchase.

9.5.210.5.2 A written confirmation of disclosure in the agreement shall be worded as follows:
9.5.2.110.5.2.1 With respect to agent for seller: "This Broker, any cooperating Broker, and any Associate

Broker or Salesperson working with either, are representing the seller's interest and have fiduciary
responsibilities to the seller, but are obligated to treat all parties with honesty. The Broker, any
cooperating Broker, and any Associate Broker or Salesperson working with either, without
breaching the fiduciary responsibilities to the seller, may, among other services, provide a potential
purchaser with information about the attributes of properties and available financing, show
properties, and assist in preparing an offer to purchase. The Broker, any cooperating Broker, and
any Associate Broker or Salesperson working with either, also have the duty to respond accurately
and honestly to a potential purchaser's questions and disclose material facts about properties,
submit promptly all offers to purchase and offer properties without unlawful discrimination."

9.5.2.210.5.2.2 With respect to agent for buyer: "This Broker, and any Associate Broker or Salesperson
working for this Broker, is representing the buyer's interests and has fiduciary responsibilities to
the buyer, but is obligated to treat all parties with honesty. The Broker, and any Associate Broker or
Salesperson working for the Broker, without breaching the fiduciary responsibilities to the buyer,
may, among other services, provide a seller with information about the transaction. The Broker,
and any Associate Broker or Salesperson working for the Broker, also has the duty to respond
accurately and honestly to a seller's questions and disclose material facts about the transaction,
submit promptly all offers to purchase through proper procedures, and serve without unlawful
discrimination."

9.5.2.310.5.2.3 In the case of a transaction involving a lease in excess of 120 days, substitute the term
"lessor" for the term "seller", substitute the term "lessee" for the terms "buyer" and "purchaser",
and substitute the term "lease" for "purchase" as they appear above.

9.610.6 If a property is the subject of an agreement of sale or lease but being left on the market for backup offers, or is
the subject of an agreement of sale or lease which contains a right of first refusal clause, the existence of such



agreement shall be disclosed in writing by the listing Broker to any individual who makes an appointment to
see inquires about such property at the time such appointment initial inquiry is made.

9.710.7 Seller's Disclosure of Real Property Condition Report ("Condition Report") [6 Del.C. Ch. 25]
9.7.110.7.1 Licensees shall obtain a Condition Report from the seller of residential property prior to accepting

a written listing agreement and shall make the Condition Report available to any buyer. The
Condition Report shall be completed by the seller on the form approved by the Commission.
Licensees shall provide the seller's most recent Condition Report to a buyer before the buyer
enters into an agreement of sale and make the Condition Report a part of any agreement of sale.

9.7.1.110.7.2 For any residential property that is being offered for sale and which has not yet been issued a
certificate of occupancy, the Condition Report approved by the Commission for New Construction
shall be used in place of the standard Condition Report.   If a certificate of occupancy is received
by a seller prior to entering into an agreement of sale, then the Licensee shall obtain the standard
Condition Report from the seller and make it available to any prospective buyer.

9.7.1.210.7.3 Exempt Property Certification. A Condition Report shall not be required from a seller of
residential property if the seller meets one of the exemptions contained in the Seller's Disclosure
of Real Property Condition Report and Radon Disclosure Exempt Property Certification. Licensees
shall obtain a certification in lieu of the Condition Report and Radon Disclosure prior to accepting a
written listing agreement and shall make the certification readily available to any prospective
buyer. Licensees shall provide the certification to a buyer before the buyer enters into an
agreement of sale and make the certification a part of any agreement of sale.

9.810.8 Radon Disclosure [6 Del.C. §2572A]
9.8.110.8.1 Licensees shall obtain a Radon Disclosure from the seller of residential property prior to accepting a

written listing agreement, unless the property qualifies for exemption as outlined in 9.7.1.2 subsection
10.7.1.2, and shall make the Radon Disclosure readily available to any prospective buyer. Licensees shall
provide the seller's most recent Radon Disclosure along with a copy of "Radon Rights, Risks and Remedy
for the Home Buyer" to a buyer before the buyer enters into an agreement of sale and make the Radon
Disclosure a part of any agreement of sale.

15 DE Reg. 1185 (02/01/12)

10.011.0 Open Houses [24 Del. C. §2901(a)]
10.111.1 For any property listed with a Broker for sale, lease or exchange, only a Licensee shall be permitted to host

or staff an open house or otherwise show a listed property. That Licensee may be assisted by non-licensed
persons provided a Licensee is on site. This Rule Section shall not prohibit a seller from showing their own
house.

10.211.2 For new construction, subdivision, or development listed with a Broker for sale, lease or exchange, a
Licensee shall always be on site when the site is open to the general public, except where a builder and/or or
developer has hired a non-licensed person who is under the direct supervision of said builder and/or or
developer for the purpose of staffing said project.
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11.012.0 Renewal of Licenses [24 Del.C. §2910]
11.112.1 All licenses shall be renewed biennially. Licenses shall expire on April 30 of each even numbered year. A

Licensee who fails to renew a license before the expiration date may renew on a late basis for a period not to
exceed sixty days with submission of a late fee. The failure of the Commission to give, or the failure of the
Licensee to receive, notice of the expiration date of a license shall not prevent the license from becoming
invalid after its expiration date.

11.212.2 As a condition of renewal, all Licensees shall be required to satisfy the continuing education requirements
set forth in Rule 13.0 Section 14.0 and pay the renewal fee.

12.3 Effective the renewal period beginning May 1, 2022, a Licensee who fails to renew a license before the
expiration date may renew on a late basis for a period not to exceed thirty days with submission of a late fee.

12.3.1 The thirty date late renewal period is not an extension of time to complete the continuing education
required pursuant to Section 14.0.

12.3.2 A licensee shall satisfy the continuing education requirements, set forth in Section 14.0, within the two year
renewal period, which ends on April 30 of even numbered years.

11.312.4 A Licensee shall not practice Real Estate Services after a license has expired.
11.412.5 License renewal shall be completed online at www.dpr.delaware.gov.

http://www.dpr.delaware.gov
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12.013.0 Reinstatement of Licenses; application after revocation; inactive status [24 Del.C. §§2910, 2921]
12.1 A license expired for more than sixty days shall be reinstated only after the Licensee pays the necessary fees

and passes any examinations required by the Commission and provides proof of completion of the required
continuing education. If the Licensee fails to apply for renewal within 6 months of the expiration date, the
Licensee shall be required to take the state portion of the examination. If the Licensee fails to apply for renewal
before the next renewal period commences (two years), the Licensee shall be required to pass both the state
and the general portions of the examination.

12.2 No person whose license has been revoked will be considered for the issuance of a new license for a period of
at least two (2) years from the date of the revocation of the license. Such person shall then fulfill the following
requirements: he or she shall attend and pass the applicable real estate course for Salespersons or Brokers;
take and pass the Commission's applicable examination for Salespersons or Brokers; and any other criteria
established by the Commission. Nothing above shall be construed to allow anyone to take the course for the
purpose of licensing until after the waiting period of two (2) years. Nothing contained herein shall require the
Commission to issue a new license upon completion of the above mentioned requirements, as the
Commission retains the right to deny any such application. Where a person's license has been permanently
revoked by the Commission, the person is not eligible for issuance of a new license at any time.

12.3 Subsection 12.2 does not apply to a Licensee whose license has been permanently revoked.
13.1 Reinstatement

13.1.1 Effective the renewal period beginning May 1, 2022, a license expired for more than thirty days but less
than six months shall be reinstated if the licensee pays the required late fees and completes the seven
modules of continuing education required by Section 14.0.

13.1.2 Effective the renewal period beginning May 1, 2022, a license expired for six months or more but less than
two years shall be reinstated if the Licensee pays the required late fees, completes the Delaware pre-
licensing law course and passes the state portion of the licensing examination.

13.1.3 Effective the renewal period beginning May 1, 2022, a license expired for two years or more shall be
reinstated if the Licensee pays the required late fees, completes the seven modules of continuing
education required by Section 14.0, and:

13.1.3.1 If the license has been expired for two years or more and the licensee has not been actively
licensed and practicing in another state for at least one of the two years immediately prior to
making application for reinstatement, the licensee shall also complete the applicable real estate
course for Salespersons or Brokers and pass both the state and general portions of the
examination.

13.1.3.2 If the license has been expired for two years or more and the licensee has been actively licensed
and practicing in another state for at least one of the two years immediately prior to making
application for reinstatement, the licensee shall only be required to pass the state portion of the
examination.

13.2 A person whose license has been revoked, but not permanently revoked, shall not be considered for the
issuance of a new license for a period of at least two (2) years from the date of the revocation of the license.
Prior to making application, such person shall re-take and pass the applicable real estate course for
Salespersons or Brokers and re-take and pass the Commission's applicable examination for Salespersons or
Brokers. Nothing contained herein shall require the Commission to issue a new license upon completion of the
above mentioned requirements, as the Commission retains the right to deny any such application. Where a
person's license has been permanently revoked by the Commission, the person is not eligible for issuance of a
new license at any time.

13.3 Inactive Status
13.3.1 Any Licensee, upon request, may be placed in an inactive status for an unlimited amount of time.
13.3.2 The Licensee may reactivate the license after meeting all of the following requirements:

13.3.2.1 Provide the Commission with notification that the Licensee intends to reactivate the license.
13.3.2.2 Satisfy all the continuing education requirements for each renewal period that the license was

inactive.
13.3.2.3 Pay the biennial registration fees, for such time as the license has been inactive.
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13.014.0 Continuing Education, New Licensee Education [24 Del.C. §§2909(a)(7), 2910(d)]
13.1 Licensees shall meet the following CE requirements:

13.1.1 During each licensure renewal period, Licensees shall complete the following twenty-one (21) hours of CE:
14.1 Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

14.1.1 Purpose.The CE requirement is intended to maintain Licensees' professional competence in the practice
of real estate.

14.1.2 Licensees must complete 21 acceptable CE hours in the following 7 Modules during the previous licensure
period in order to renew their licenses:

13.1.1.114.1.2.1 Three (3) hours in agency and fair housing (Module 1).
13.1.1.214.1.2.2 Three (3) hours in professional standards (Module 2).
13.1.1.314.1.2.3 Three (3) hours in real estate documents (Module 3).
13.1.1.414.1.2.4 Three (3) hours in office management (Module 4).
13.1.1.514.1.2.5 Three (3) hours in legislative issues (Module 5).
13.1.1.614.1.2.6 Three (3) hours in practices of real estate (Module 6).
13.1.1.714.1.2.7 Three (3) hours in elective courses (Module 7).

13.1.2 New Salesperson Licensees, other than new Salesperson Licensees previously licensed in another state,
shall complete the following twelve (12) hours of CE during the first twelve months of licensure. These
twelve (12) hours of CE will be applied to the total amount of required CE hours pursuant to the pro-ration
schedule in Rule 13.2:

13.1.2.1 Three (3) hours in professional standards.
13.1.2.2 Three (3) hours in agreement of sale and buyer representation.
13.1.2.3 Three (3) hours in real estate documents and seller representation.
13.1.2.4 Three (3) hours in real estate professionalism.

13.1.314.1.3 Courses approved for Modules 1 – 6 automatically qualify for credit for Module 7. Students are not
required to submit a separate application for Module 7 approval for courses in Modules 1 – 6. This Rule
subsection does not apply to out-of-state courses.

13.214.2 Proration. CE hours shall be prorated in accordance with the following schedule:
13.2.1 For new Salesperson Licensees, other than new Salesperson Licensees previously licensed in another

state:
13.2.1.1 No continuing education is required for fewer than six months of licensure.
13.2.1.2 Six (6) hours of continuing education are required after at least six months but less than twelve

months of licensure. The required six hours shall consist of two different modules, as set forth in
Rule 13.1.1.

13.2.1.3 The twelve (12) hours of continuing education set forth in Rule 13.1.2 are required after at least
twelve months but less than eighteen months of licensure.

13.2.1.4 Eighteen (18) hours of continuing education are required after at least eighteen months but less
than twenty-four months of licensure. The required eighteen hours shall include the twelve (12)
hours of continuing education set forth in Rule 13.1.2 and two of the following modules: Modules 1,
5, or 6.

13.2.1.5 Twenty-one (21) hours of continuing education are required after twenty-four months of licensure,
consisting of: the twelve (12) hours of CE set forth in Rule 13.1.2, three (3) hours in agency and
fair housing (Module 1), three (3) hours in legislative issues (Module 5) and three (3) hours in
practices of real estate (Module 6).

13.2.2 For all new Salesperson, Associate Broker and Broker Licensees, who were licensed through reciprocity:
13.2.2.114.2.1 No continuing education is required for fewer than six months of licensure. licensure, except that

new licensees must meet the requirements set forth in subsection 14.13.
13.2.2.214.2.2 Six (6) hours of continuing education are required after at least six months but less than twelve

months of licensure. The required six hours shall consist of two different modules, as set forth in Rule
13.1.1 subsection 14.1.2.

13.2.2.314.2.3 Twelve (12) hours of continuing education are required after at least twelve months but less than
eighteen months of licensure. The required twelve hours shall consist of four different modules, as set forth
in Rule 13.1.1 subsection 14.1.2.

13.2.2.414.2.4 Eighteen (18) hours of continuing education are required after at least eighteen months but less
than twenty-four months of licensure. The required eighteen hours shall consist of six different modules, as
set forth in Rule 13.1.1 subsection 14.1.2.



13.2.2.514.2.5 Twenty-one (21) hours of continuing education are required after twenty-four months of licensure,
as set forth in Rule 13.1.1 subsection 14.1.2.

13.2.314.3 For persons who have successfully completed either the broker or salesperson pre-licensing course but
who have not yet made application:

13.2.3.114.3.1 Twelve (12) hours of continuing education are required more than twelve months but less than
eighteen months after course completion. The required twelve hours shall consist of four different
modules, as set forth in Rule 13.1.1 subsection 14.1.2.

13.2.3.214.3.2 Twenty-one (21) hours of continuing education are required more than eighteen months but less
than twenty-four months after course completion, in compliance with the requirements of Rule 13.1.1
subsection 14.1.2.

13.2.3.314.3.3 For more than twenty-four months after course completion, twenty-one (21) hours of CE are
required for each biennial renewal period, in compliance with the requirements of Rule 13.1.1 subsection
14.1.2.

13.314.4 At the time of renewal, the Licensee shall attest to completion of the required CE. Attestation shall be
completed electronically.

13.3.114.5 The Licensee's attestation as to completion of CE does not relieve the Broker of his or her the Broker’s
duty to ensure that the Licensee has completed the required CE during the licensure renewal period. Each
Broker shall maintain copies of CE certificates for his or her the Broker’s Salespersons and Associate Brokers
for at least three years after the conclusion of each renewal period.

14.6 Audits
13.3.214.6.1 Licensees selected for random audit are required to supplement the attestation with attendance

verification as provided in Rule 13.3.6 subsection 14.6.5.
13.3.314.6.2 Random audits shall be performed by the Commission to ensure compliance with the CE

requirements. 
13.3.414.6.3 The Commission shall notify Licensees within sixty (60) days after June 30 May 31 of each

biennial renewal period that they have been selected for audit.
13.3.514.6.4 Licensees selected for random audit shall be required to submit verification within twenty (20)

business days of receipt of notification of selection for audit. Audit notices sent to Salespeople and
Associate Broker licensees shall also be sent to that licensee’s current Broker, where applicable.

13.3.614.6.5 Verification shall include the continuing education log, co-signed by the Licensee’s broker, where
applicable, and such information necessary for the Commission to assess whether the course meets the
CE requirements in Rule 13.0 Section 14.0. While course brochures may be used to verify CE hours, they
are not considered to be acceptable proof for use of verification of course attendance. Verification shall
include the official certificate of completion, as provided by the course provider.

13.3.714.6.6 The Commission shall review all documentation submitted by Licensees pursuant to the
continuing education audit. If the Commission determines that the Licensee has met the continuing
education requirements, his or her the Licensee's license shall remain in effect. If the Commission
determines that the Licensee has not met the continuing education requirements, the Licensee shall be
notified and a hearing may be held pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Procedures Act. The hearing
will be conducted to determine if there are any extenuating circumstances justifying noncompliance with
the continuing education requirements. Unjustified noncompliance with the continuing education
requirements set forth in these Rules and Regulations shall constitute a violation of 24 Del.C. §2912(a)(9)
and the Licensee may be subject to one or more of the disciplinary sanctions set forth in 24 Del.C. §2914.

14.6.7 Sanctions for Unjustified Noncompliance. The minimum penalty for the first finding of unjustified
noncompliance shall be a $250.00 monetary penalty, and any of the additional penalties specified in 24
Del.C. §2914. The minimum penalty for the second finding of unjustified noncompliance shall be a $1,000
monetary penalty, and any of the additional penalties specified in 24 Del.C. §2914.

13.3.814.6.8 Licensees who renew their licenses under the late renewal provision shall be audited for CE
completion. These Licensees shall submit documents that evidence satisfactory completion of their CE
requirements for the prior licensure period.

13.3.9 A Licensee’s failure to notify the Commission of a change in address, as required by subsection 1.5, will
not excuse the Licensee from continuing education audit requirements, including possible sanctions for
non-compliance.

13.4 Definition of Acceptable Continuing Education Credits:
13.4.114.7 All CE activities shall be pre-approved by the Commission, pursuant to the Commission's Real Estate

Education Guidelines.



13.4.2 Activities shall be a minimum of one (1) hour and delivered in one (1) hour increments.
13.514.8 The Commission may waive or postpone all or part of the continuing education requirements of these

Rules and Regulations if a Licensee submits a written request for a waiver and provides evidence to the
satisfaction of the Commission of an illness, injury, financial hardship, family hardship, or other similar
extenuating circumstance which precluded the Licensee's completion of the requirements. Application for
waiver or postponement shall be made in writing to the Commission and shall be received by the Commission
no later than 60 days prior to the biennial license renewal date.

13.614.9 The Commission may shall appoint a committee an Education Committee to assist in the Commission's
educational objectives.

13.714.10 Members of the Real Estate Commission who attend at least eighty percent (80%) of Commission
meetings during a biennial licensure period may receive one hour of CE for each Commission meeting
attended and said hour may be applied to any CE required for licensure renewal.

13.814.11 Completion of broker’s licensing course.
13.8.114.11.1 Delaware broker’s licensing course: Upon successful completion of an approved Delaware

broker’s licensing course, a licensee shall receive 21 hours of continuing education credit. These 21 hours
shall satisfy the continuing education requirements (Modules 1 – 7) for the biennial licensing period in
which the course was completed. The course provider shall provide the licensee with a certificate stating
that Modules 1 – 7 have been satisfied upon successful completion of the broker’s licensing course. This
Rule shall be retroactive for all licensees who have successfully completed the broker’s licensing course
after May 1, 2012.

13.8.214.11.2 Out-of-state broker’s licensing course: Upon successful completion of a broker’s licensing course
in a state outside of Delaware, consisting of at least 99 hours of education, a licensee shall receive 18
hours of continuing education credit, satisfying Modules 1 – 4 and 6 – 7, for the biennial licensing period in
which the course was completed. This Rule shall be retroactive for all licensees who have successfully
completed the broker’s licensing course after May 1, 2012.

13.914.12 Advanced Courses.
14.12.1 Licensees successfully completing a minimum of 6 hours of a National Accreditation Program during a

licensure renewal period and receiving a nationally recognized designation or providing proof of
successfully completing a section towards a nationally recognized designation may submit pursuant to 7.2
for six (6) credit hours to satisfy Modules 6 and 7. The instructor shall be considered an approved
instructor.

14.12.2 A Licensee may submit for review and approval a request for up to 3 continuing education credits for
advanced courses, such as, but not limited to, college courses and certifications by the National
Association of Realtors. Such credits may satisfy Modules 6 or 7.

14.12.3 After a minimum of 3 renewal cycles, a Licensee may submit for review and approval a request for up to 18
continuing education credits for advanced courses, such as, but not limited to, college courses and
certifications by the National Association of Realtors. Such credits may satisfy any continuing education
module, other than Module 5.

14.13 New Licensees.
14.13.1 Effective the renewal period beginning May 1, 2022, in addition to meeting the continuing education

requirements set forth in Section 14.0, all newly licensed individuals, other than individuals licensed by
reciprocity, shall also complete the following twelve hours of continuing education, specifically for new
licensees, no later than 90 days after the date of issuance of the individual’s license:

14.13.1.1 Three (3) hours in professional standards for new licensees.
14.13.1.2 Three (3) hours in agreement of sale and buyer representation for new licensees.
14.13.1.3 Three (3) hours in real estate documents and seller representation for new licensees.
14.13.1.4 Three (3) hours in real estate professionalism for new licensees.

14.13.2 The twelve hours of required continuing education for new licensees shall be in addition to the continuing
education required for licensure renewal and shall be included in the biennial continuing education audit
referenced in subsection 14.6.
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14.015.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent or Impaired Professionals
14.115.1 If the report is received by the chairperson of the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately

notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her the chairperson’s designate of the report. If the Director
of Professional Regulation receives the report, he/she the Director shall immediately notify the chairperson of
the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's designate or designates.

14.215.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days
of receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary Treatment Option, and give him/her the individual in
question the opportunity to enter the Voluntary Treatment Option.

14.315.3 In order for the individual to participate in the Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she the individual shall agree
to submit to a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a specified laboratory or health care
facility. This initial evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days following notification to the
professional by the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s) designate or designates.

14.415.4 A regulated professional with chemical dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or alcohol may
enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice the
participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her the chairperson’s designate may, in consultation with the treating
professional, deem necessary, only if such action will not endanger the public health, welfare or safety, and the
regulated professional enters into an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her the
chairperson’s designate and the chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's designate for a
treatment plan and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and complies with all terms of that
agreement. Treatment programs may be operated by professional Committees and Associations or other
similar professional groups with the approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the chairperson of
the participating Board.

14.515.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her the chairperson’s designate in
regard to the Voluntary Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for evaluations and screens may
disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and the
participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be activated an
immediate investigation and institution of disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in section 15.8.

14.615.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:

14.6.115.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies to assure an unbiased assessment of the
regulated professional's progress.

14.6.215.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the approved treatment program to report on the progress
of the regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating Board or to that chairperson's
designate or designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her the
chairperson’s designate at such intervals as required by the chairperson of the participating Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her
the chairperson’s designate, and such person making such report will not be liable when such reports are
made in good faith and without malice.

14.6.315.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved treatment program.

14.6.415.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional to be personally responsible for all costs and charges
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment program(s) program or programs. In
addition, the Division of Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated professional
to cover administrative costs associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee
imposed under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to defray
the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses incurred by the Division of
Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board in addition to the administrative costs
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option.

14.6.515.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's chairperson or his/her the chairperson’s designate or
designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/ her the chairperson’s
designate by the treating professional who shall be immune from any liability for such reporting made in
good faith and without malice.



14.6.615.6.6 Compliance by the regulated professional with any terms or restrictions placed on professional
practice as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment Option.

14.6.715.6.7 The regulated professional's records of participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public records open to public inspection. However,
the participating Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary sanction in any future matter in
which the regulated professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an issue.

14.6.815.6.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/her the chairperson’s designate or designates or the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her the chairperson’s designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the
practice of a chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action is deemed necessary to protect
the public health, welfare or safety.

14.6.915.6.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.

14.6.1015.6.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in
the treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an immediate
investigation and disciplinary proceedings as appropriate.

14.6.1115.6.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this section in good faith and without malice shall be immune
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such reports, and shall have his/her the
chairperson’s confidentiality protected if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter.

14.6.1215.6.12 Any regulated professional who complies with all of the terms and completes the Voluntary
Treatment Option shall have his/her the regulated professional’s confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with
the regulated professional shall include the potential for disclosure and specify those to whom such
information may be disclosed.

15 DE Reg. 1185 (02/01/12)

15.016.0 Crimes Substantially Related to the Practice of Real Estate Services [24 Del.C. §2906(c)]
15.116.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or conviction of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to

commit or conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following crimes, is deemed to be substantially related
to the practice of Real Estate Services in the State of Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

15.1.116.1.1 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §604
15.1.216.1.2 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §605
15.1.316.1.3 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §606
15.1.416.1.4 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §612
15.1.516.1.5 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §613.
15.1.616.1.6 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second degree; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §633
15.1.716.1.7 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first degree; class A felony. 11 Del.C. §634
15.1.816.1.8 Murder in the second degree; class A felony. 11 Del.C. §635
15.1.916.1.9 Murder in the first degree; class A felony. 11 Del.C. §636
15.1.1016.1.10 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree; class D felony. 11 Del.C. §769
15.1.1116.1.11 Rape in the fourth degree; class C felony. 11 Del.C. §770
15.1.1216.1.12 Rape in the third degree; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §771
15.1.1316.1.13 Rape in the second degree; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §772
15.1.1416.1.14 Rape in the first degree; class A felony. 11 Del.C. §773
15.1.1516.1.15 Continuous sexual abuse of a child; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §778776
15.1.1616.1.16 Dangerous crime against a child; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §779777
15.1.1716.1.17 Kidnapping in the first degree; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §783A
15.1.1816.1.18 Arson in the second degree; class D felony. 11 Del.C. §802
15.1.1916.1.19 Arson in the first degree; class C felony. 11 Del.C. §803
15.1.2016.1.20 Burglary in the second degree; class D felony. 11 Del.C. §825
15.1.2116.1.21 Burglary in the first degree; class C felony; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §826
15.1.22 Home invasion; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §826A.
15.1.2316.1.22 Robbery in the first degree; class B. 11 Del.C. §832



15.1.24 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §835
15.1.25 Carjacking in the first degree; class C felony; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §836
15.1.2616.1.23Theft; class D or G felony; class F felony; class D felony; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §841
16.1.24 Theft of a motor vehicle; class G felony. 11 Del.C. §841A
16.1.25 Theft; Organized retail crime; class E felony. 11 Del.C. §841B
16.1.26 Possession or theft of a prescription form or a pad. 11 Del.C. §841C
15.1.2716.1.27 Theft; lost or mislaid property; mistaken delivery. 11 Del.C. §842
15.1.2816.1.28 Theft; false pretense. 11 Del.C. §843
15.1.2916.1.29 Theft; false promise. 11 Del.C. §844
15.1.3016.1.30 Theft of services. 11 Del.C. §845
15.1.3116.1.31 Extortion; class E felony. 11 Del.C. §846
15.1.3216.1.32 Misapplication of property; class G felony. 11 Del.C. §848
15.1.3316.1.33 Receiving stolen property. 11 Del.C. §851
15.1.3416.1.34 Theft of rented property; class G felony. 11 Del.C. §849
15.1.3516.1.35 Identity theft; class E felony; class D felony. 11 Del.C. §854
15.1.3616.1.36 Forgery; class F felony; class G felony. 11 Del.C. §861
15.1.3716.1.37 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C. §871
15.1.3816.1.38 Tampering with public records in the first degree; class E felony. 11 Del.C. §876
15.1.3916.1.39 Offering a false instrument for filing. 11 Del.C. §877
15.1.4016.1.40 Issuing a false certificate; class G felony. 11 Del.C. §878 
15.1.4116.1.41 Defrauding secured creditors. 11 Del.C. §891
15.1.4216.1.42 Fraud in insolvency. 11 Del.C. §892
15.1.4316.1.43 Interference with levied-upon property. 11 Del.C. §893
15.1.4416.1.44 Issuing a bad check; felony. 11 Del.C. §900
15.1.4516.1.45 Unlawful use of credit payment card; felony. 11 Del.C. §903
15.1.4616.1.46 Reencoder and scanning devices. 11 Del.C. §903A
15.1.4716.1.47 Deceptive business practices. 11 Del.C. §906
15.1.4816.1.48 Securing execution of documents by deception. 11 Del.C. §909
15.1.4916.1.49 Debt adjusting. 11 Del.C. §910
15.1.5016.1.50 Fraudulent conveyance of public lands; class G felony. 11 Del.C. §911
15.1.5116.1.51 Fraudulent receipt of public lands; class G felony. 11 Del.C. §912
15.1.5216.1.52 Insurance fraud; class G felony. 11 Del.C. §913
15.1.5316.1.53 Home improvement fraud; class B felony; class D felony; class F felony; class G felony. 11 Del.C.

§916
15.1.5416.1.54 New home construction fraud; class C felony, class F felony, class B felony; class D felony; class

G felony. 11 Del.C. §917
15.1.5516.1.55 Dealing in children; class E felony. 11 Del.C. §11001100A
15.1.5616.1.56 Endangering the welfare of a child; class E or G felony. 11 Del.C. §11001102
15.1.5716.1.57 Sexual exploitation of a child; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §1108.
15.1.5816.1.58 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography; class D class B felony. 11 Del.C. §1109
15.1.5916.1.59 Possession of child pornography; class F felony. 11 Del.C. §1111
15.1.6016.1.60 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school zones. 11 Del.C. §1112
15.1.6116.1.61 Sexual solicitation of a child; class C felony; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §1112A
15.1.6216.1.62 Perjury in the second degree; class F felony. 11 Del.C. § 1222
15.1.6316.1.63 Perjury in the first degree; class D felony. 11 Del.C. §1223
15.1.6416.1.64 Making a false written statement. 11 Del.C. §1233
15.1.6516.1.65 Hate crimes; class G felony, class F felony, class E felony, class D felony, class C felony, class B

felony, class A felony. 11 Del.C. §1304
16.1.66 Stalking; felony.11 Del.C. §1312
16.1.67 Violation of privacy; felony. 11 Del.C. §1335
15.1.6616.1.68 Bombs, incendiary devices, Molotov cocktails and explosive devices. 11 Del.C. §1338
15.1.6716.1.69 Carrying a concealed deadly weapon. 11 Del.C. §1442



15.1.6816.1.70 Possessing a destructive weapon; class E felony. 11 Del.C. §1444
15.1.6916.1.71 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous weapon; felony. 11 Del.C. §1445
15.1.7016.1.72 Possession of a deadly weapon during commission of a felony; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §1447
15.1.7116.1.73 Possession of a firearm during commission of a felony; class B felony. 11 Del.C. §1447A
15.1.7216.1.74 Removing a firearm from the possession of a law enforcement officer; class C felony. 11 Del.C.

§1458
15.1.7316.1.75 Organized Crime and Racketeering, Class B Felony. 11 Del.C. §1504
15.1.7416.1.76 Abuse of patient or resident in nursing home; Class D class C felony; Class class G felony; Class

class A felony. 16 Del.C. §1136(a)
15.1.7516.1.77 Financial exploitation of residents or patients; felony. 16 Del.C. §1136(b)1136(c)
15.1.7616.1.78 Drug dealing - aggravated or possession; class B felony. 16 Del.C. §4752
15.1.7716.1.79 Drug dealing - aggravated or possession; class C felony; class E felony. 16 Del.C. §4753
15.1.78 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal drugs, methamphetamines, Lysergic Acid Diethylamide

(L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA). 16 Del.C. §4753A
16.1.80 Drug dealing; class D felony. 16 Del.C. §4754
16.1.81 Drug possession; class G felony. 16 Del.C. §4756
16.1.82 Maintaining a drug property; class F felony. 16 Del.C. §4760
15.1.7916.1.83 Any offense under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, Title 16 of the Delaware Code, in

violation of the aggravating factors in 16 Del.C. §4751A
15.1.8016.1.84 Third or more conviction for driving a vehicle while under the influence or with a prohibited alcohol

or drug content; felony. 21 Del.C. §4177(a); 21 Del.C. §4177(d)(3)-(7)
15.1.8116.1.85 Attempt to evade or defeat tax. 30 Del.C. §571
15.1.8216.1.86 Failure to collect or pay over tax. 30 Del.C. §572
15.1.8316.1.87 Failure to file return, supply information or pay tax. 30 Del.C. §573
15.1.8416.1.88 Fraud and false statements. 30 Del.C. §574
15.1.8516.1.89 Violations of the Securities Act. 6 Del.C. Ch. 73
15.1.8616.1.90 Financial exploitation of infirm adult an adult who is impaired; felony. 31 Del.C. §3913
15.1.8716.1.91 Prohibited trade practices against infirm a person with a disability or elderly. 6 Del.C. §2581
15.1.8816.1.92 Prohibition of intimidation [under the Fair Housing Act]; felony. 6 Del.C. 9 6 Del.C. §4619
15.1.8916.1.93 Knowing or reckless abuse or exploitation of an infirm adult who is impaired; class C felony; Class

class D felony; Class class E felony; Class class G felony; Class class A felony. 31 Del.C. §3913
15.216.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of Real Estate Services shall be deemed to include any crimes

under any federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county ordinance, that are substantially similar to the
crimes identified in this Rule Section.
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