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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

6 DE Reg. 1541-1542 (06/01/03)

Refers to Volume 6, pages 1541-1542 of the 
Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2003.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an 
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or 
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text 
of such proposals, together with copies of the 
existing regulation being adopted, amended or 
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the 
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the 
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the 
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the 
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of 
the agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will 
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, 
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal 
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice 
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
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evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received;  (4)  The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6) 
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

OCTOBER 1 SEPTEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

NOVEMBER 1 OCTOBER 15 4:30 P.M.

DECEMBER 1 NOVEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

JANUARY 1 DECEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

FEBRUARY 1 JANUARY 17 4:30 P.M.
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Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor; 
Sandra F. Clark, Administrative Specialist II; 
Kathleen Morris, Unit Operations Support 
Specialist; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of 
Regulations; Steve Engebretsen, Assistant 
Registrar; Victoria Schultes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Rhonda McGuigan, Administrative 
Specialist I; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative 
Librarian; Lisa Schieffert, Research Analyst; 
Judi Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Alice 
W. Stark, Legislative Attorney; Ted Segletes, 
Paralegal;  Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop 
Supervisor;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer;  Don 
Sellers, Printer.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
323 Certification Computer Science Teacher................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   247 (Prop.)
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368 Certification School Psychologist................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     41 (Prop.)
1501 Knowledge, Skills And Responsibility Based Supplements For Educators................. 8  DE Reg.     73 (Final)
1502 Educator Mentoring.............................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   347 (Final)
1505 Professional Growth Programs..................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     78 (Final)
1528 Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive.................................................................. 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1529 Foreign Language Teacher Secondary.......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1533 Foreign Language Teacher Elementary........................................................................ 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1537 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary........................................................................ 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)

1558 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary Middle Level..................................................... 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,
Section 10119 (29 Del.C. §10119)

Adoption of amendment to Non-Tidal Fishing 
Regulations Concerning Snakehead Fishes

Order No. 2004-F-0044

Authority

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. subsection 10119, The 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control is adopting an amendment to Non-Tidal Fishing 
Regulation 3308 (Formerly Regulation NT-7).  Fish 
Stocking Practices without prior notice or public hearing to 
prevent the introduction into Delaware waters of a 
potentially injurious exotic species of fish, the northern 
snakehead, Channa argus.  This emergency regulation 
would add live northern snakehead fish to the list of species 
for which it is unlawful to transport, purchase, possess or sell 
in Delaware without the written permission of the Director 
of the Division of Fish and Wildlife.

Reason For The Emergency Order:

Many states have taken action to ban the possession, 
purchase, sale or stocking of live northern snakehead fish, 
Channa argus, within their boundaries.  Two years ago the 
Maryland Department of Natural Resources attracted 
national news media attention because of its attempt to 
eradicate a breeding population of northern snakehead fishes 
from a pond in Crofton, MD.  Since then more than a dozen 
northern snakeheads have been caught recently in the tidal 
Potomac River, indicating that this exotic species may 
already be reproducing in the wild in Maryland and Virginia 
waters.  The northern snakehead is a exotic species native to 
Southeast Asia with the potential to displace native species 
and out compete them for food and space because it is an 
aggressive predator with high reproductive potential and the 
ability to move from one water body to another by wriggling 
along wet grass.   Some species of snakeheads are known to 
reach four ft. in length and all are very aggressive predators. 
The northern snakehead and other snakehead species have 
been imported to the United States by the aquarium and/or 
food trade and apparently are regarded by the Asian 
community in the US as a food fish.

The Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission issued a 
press release on July 23, 2004 that northern snakeheads were 

found in Meadow Lake within FDR Park near Philadelphia 
International Airport.  According to Dan Tredinnick, the 
Press Secretary for the PA Fish and Boat Commission, the 
Commission has concluded that there is no practical method 
for eradicating snakeheads in this system of ponds, tidal 
sloughs and embayments that connect with the Schuylkill 
and Delaware Rivers.   If the species becomes established in 
the lower Delaware River, it is very likely that it will take up 
residence in the Delaware portion of the Delaware River as 
well, where it then could enter the Christiana and 
Brandywine systems.  It is against PA Fish and Boat 
Commission regulations to possess any variety of live 
snakeheads.  The Maryland Department of Natural 
Resources recognizes 29 species of snakeheads of the 
Genera Channa and Parachanna.  Regulations banning 
these 29 species are scheduled for implementation 
September 13, 2004.  The US Fish and Wildlife Service 
added 28 species of the snakehead family Channidae to the 
list of injurious wildlife on October 4, 2002.  By this federal 
action no snakehead fishes may be imported into or 
transported into or between states and territories in the US 
(Federal Register vol. 67, No. 193, p. 62193-62204).

If the northern snakehead becomes established in 
Delaware waters it will have an unknown and possibly 
injurious impact on native and naturalized biota.  By acting 
quickly, the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control may be able to head off any 
purposeful or inadvertent releases of northern snakehead 
fishes in Delaware waters now, that there are known 
populations living in the wild in the neighboring states of 
MD, VA and PA that could serve as reservoirs for anyone so 
inclined.

Effective Date Of Order

This Emergency Order shall take effect at 12:01 a.m. on 
July 28, 2004 and shall remain in effect for 120 days.

Petition For Recommendations

The Department will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person for recommendations or 
revisions of this Order.  Petitions should be presented to the 
Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings 
Highway, Dover, Delaware, 19901. 

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, the 28th day of July, 2004 that the 
above referenced amendment to Non-Tidal Fishing 
Regulation 3308 (Formerly NT-7). Fishing Stocking 
Practices, copies of which are hereby attached, are adopted 
pursuant to 29 Del.C. subsection 10119 and supported by the 
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evidence contained herein.

John A. Hughes, Secretary
Department of  Natural Resources                                                                                 

and Environmental Control

3308 (Formerly NT-7) Fish Stocking Practices
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C.  §1304)

1.0  Stocking Fish Practices.
1.1 It shall be unlawful for any person to stock any 

species of fish into the non-tidal public waters of this State 
without the written permission of the Director. This 
regulation does not prohibit the stocking of private 
impoundments.

2.0  Transportation, Possession and Sale.
2.1 It shall be unlawful for any person to transport, 

purchase, possess or sell walking catfish (Clarius batrachus) 
or the white amur or grass carp (Ctenopharyngodon idella) 
or live northern snakehead fish (Channa argus) without the 
written permission of the Director.

3 DE Reg. 289 (8/1/99)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 

107 (31 Del.C. §107)

PUBLIC NOTICE

PLEASE NOTE:  THE AUGUST 2004 ISSUE CONTAINED AN 
ERROR IN THE FIRST PARAGRAPH OF REGULATION 5311 (8 
DE REG. 351).  THE TEXT DID NOT  REFLECT THE CHANGE 
FROM TEN (10) DAYS TO TWELVE (12) DAYS.  THE 
CORRECT VERSION FOLLOWS:

5311 Notification of Time and Place of Hearing
The time, date, and place of the hearing will be arranged 

so that the hearing is accessible to the appellant.  At least ten 
(10) 12 days before the hearing, advance written notice will 
be provided by mailing the notice to all parties involved to 
permit adequate preparation of the case.  An appellant may 
request less notice in order to expedite the scheduling of the 
hearing.  Notices to appellants are sent by certified mail. 
The notice will:

1) Advise the appellant or representative of the name, 
address, and phone number of the person to notify in the 
event it is not possible for the appellant to attend the 
scheduled hearing;

2) Stipulate that the hearing request will be dismissed 
if the appellant or his/her representative fails to appear for 
the hearing without good cause (i.e., death in family, 
personal illness, unexpected emergency);

3) Include the hearing procedures and any other 
information that would provide the appellant with an 
understanding of the proceedings that would contribute to 
the effective presentation of the household's case and will 
include fair hearing summary and documents filed for the 
hearing;

4) Explain that the appellant has the right to bring an 
attorney or other representative to his/her hearing;

5) Explain that the appellant may present any 
information that (s)he desires at the hearing;

6) Explain that the appellant or representative may 
examine the record prior to the hearing.

8 DE Reg. 351 (8/1/04)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text. 
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file 
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with 
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature 
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference 
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the 
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final 
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the 
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The 
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its 
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE 
SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF NURSING

24 DE Admin. Code 1900
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 1906(1) (24 Del.C. §1906(1))

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Nursing in accordance with 24 
Del.C. §1906(1) has proposed to promulgate Rules and 
Regulations related to Intravascular Therapy by Licensed 
Nurses.

These proposed rules and regulations which have been 
developed by the Board define intravascular therapy 
practices  for licensed nurses. Peripheral and central line 
management, including special procedures such as 
chemotherapy and epidural catheter management are 
included.

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, October 
13, 2004 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor Conference Room 
A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware.

Anyone desiring a copy of the proposed new section of 
the Rules and Regulations may obtain a copy from the 
Delaware Board of Nursing, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, 
Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE  19904, (302) 744-
4515 or (302) 744-4516.  Persons desiring to submit written 
comments on the revised rules and regulations may forward 
these comments to the above address.  The final date to 

receive written comments will be October 13, 2004.
The Delaware Board of Nursing proposes to add 

language regarding Intravascular Therapy to Section 7, 
Standards of Nursing Practice, within its Rules and 
Regulations.

7.0 Standards of Nursing Practice
7.1 Authority

“Standards of nursing practice” means those 
standards of practice adopted by the Board that interpret the 
legal definitions of nursing, as well as provide criteria 
against which violations of the law can be determined. Such 
standards of nursing practice shall not be used to directly or 
indirectly affect the employment practices and deployment 
of personnel by duly licensed or accredited hospitals and 
other duly licensed or accredited health care facilities and 
organizations. In addition, such standards shall not be 
assumed the only evidence in civil malpractice litigation, nor 
shall they be given a different weight than any other 
evidence.

7.2 Purpose
The purpose of standards is to establish minimal 

acceptable levels of safe practice for the Registered and 
Licensed Practical Nurse, and to serve as a guide for the 
Board to evaluate safe and effective nursing care.

7.3 Standards of Practice for the Registered and 
Licensed Practical Nurse

7.3.1 Standards related to the Registered Nurse.
7.3.1.1 The Registered Nurse shall conduct 

and document nursing assessments of the health status of 
individuals and groups by:

7.3.1.1.1 Collecting objective  and 
subjective data from observations, examinations, interviews 
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and written records in an accurate and timely manner. The 
data include but are not limited to:

7.3.1.1.1.1 Biophysical and 
emotional status and observed changes;

7.3.1.1.1.2 Growth and 
development;

7.3.1.1.1.3 Ethno-cultural, spiritual, 
socio-economic and ecological background;

7.3.1.1.1.4 Family health history;
7.3.1.1.1.5 Information collected by 

other health team members;
7.3.1.1.1.6 Ability to perform 

activities of daily living;
7.3.1.1.1.7 Consideration of client’s 

health goals;
7.3.1.1.1.8 Client knowledge and 

perception about health status and potential, or maintaining 
health status;

7.3.1.1.1.9 Available and accessible 
human and material resources;

7.3.1.1.1.10 Patterns of coping and 
interaction.

7.3.1.1.2 Sorting, selecting, reporting, 
and recording the data.

7.3.1.1.3 Analyzing data.
7.3.1.1.4 Validating, refining and 

modifying the data by using available resources including 
interactions with the client, family, significant others, and 
health team members.

7.3.1.1.5 Evaluating data.
7.3.1.2 Registered Nurses shall establish and 

document nursing diagnoses that serve as the basis for the 
strategy of care.

7.3.1.3 Registered Nurses shall develop 
strategies of care based on assessment and  nursing 
diagnoses. This includes, but is not limited to:

7.3.1.3.1 Prescribing nursing 
intervention(s) based on the nursing diagnosis.

7.3.1.3.2 Initiating nursing 
interventions through

7.3.1.3.2.1 Giving care.
7.3.1.3.2.2 Assisting with care.
7.3.1.3.2.3 Delegating care.

7.3.1.3.3 Identifying to the 
identification of priorities in the strategies of care.

7.3.1.3.4 Setting realistic and 
measurable goals for implementation.

7.3.1.3.5 Identifying measures to 
maintain comfort, to support human functions and responses, 
to maintain an environment conducive to well being, and to 
provide health teaching and counseling.

7.3.1.3.6 Supervising the caregiver to 
whom care is delegated.

7.3.1.4 Registered Nurses shall participate in 

the implementation of the strategy of care by:
7.3.1.4.1 Providing care for clients 

whose conditions are stabilized or predictable.
7.3.1.4.2 Providing care for clients 

whose conditions are critical and/or fluctuating, under the 
direction and supervision of a recognized authority.

7.3.1.4.3 Providing an environment 
conducive to safety and health.

7.3.1.4.4 Documenting nursing 
interventions and client outcomes.

7.3.1.4.5 Communicating nursing 
interventions and client outcomes to health team members.

7.3.1.5 Registered Nurses shall evaluate 
outcomes, which shall include the client, family, significant 
others and health team members.

7.3.1.5.1 Evaluation data shall be 
appropriately documented; and

7.3.1.5.1.1 Be communicated to the 
client, family, significant others and appropriate members of 
the health care team; and

7.3.1.5.1.2 Used  as a basis for 
modifying outcomes by reassessing client health status, 
modifying nursing diagnoses, revising strategies of care or 
prescribing changes in nursing interventions.

7.4 Standards of Practice for the Licensed Practical 
Nurse

7.4.1 Standards related to the Licensed Practical 
Nurse’s contributions to the nursing process.

7.4.1.1 The Licensed Practical Nurse shall 
contribute to and document nursing assessments of the 
health status of individuals and groups by:

7.4.1.1.1 Sorting, selecting, reporting, 
and recording the data.

7.4.1.1.2 Collecting objective and 
subjective data from observations, examinations, interview 
and written records in an accurate and timely manner. The 
data include but are not limited to:

7.4.1.1.2.1 Biophysical and 
emotional status and observed changes;

7.4.1.1.2.2 Growth and development;
7.4.1.1.2.3 Ethno-cultural, spiritual, 

socio-economic, and ecological background;
7.4.1.1.2.4 Family health history;
7.4.1.1.2.5 Information collected by 

other health team members;
7.4.1.1.2.6 Ability to perform 

activities of daily living;
7.4.1.1.2.7 Consideration of client’s 

health goals;
7.4.1.2 Licensed Practical Nurses shall 

participate in establishing and documenting nursing 
diagnoses that serve as the basis for the strategy of care.

7.4.1.3 Licensed Practical Nurses shall 
participate in developing strategies of care based on 
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assessment and nursing diagnoses.
7.4.1.3.1 Contributing to setting 

realistic and measurable goals for implementation.
7.4.1.3.2 Participating in identifying 

measures to maintain comfort, to support human functions 
and responses to maintain an environment conducive to 
well-being, and to provide health teaching and counseling.

7.4.1.3.3 Contributing to setting client 
priorities.

7.4.1.4 Licensed Practical Nurses shall 
participate in the implementation of the strategy of care by:

7.4.1.4.1 Providing care for clients 
whose conditions are stabilized or predictable.

7.4.1.4.2 Providing care for clients 
whose conditions are critical and/or fluctuating, under the 
directions and supervision of a recognized licensed authority.

7.4.1.4.3 Providing an environment 
conducive to safety and health.

7.4.1.4.4 Documenting nursing 
interventions and client outcomes.

7.4.1.4.5 Communicating nursing 
interventions and client outcomes to health team members.

7.4.1.5 Licensed Practical Nurses shall 
contribute to evaluating outcomes by appropriately 
documenting and communicating to the client, family, 
significant others and the health care team members.

7.5 Standards Related to the Registered and Licensed 
Practical Nurse’s Competencies and Responsibilities.

7.5.1 Registered and Licensed Practical Nurses 
shall:

7.5.1.1 Have knowledge of the statutes and 
regulations governing nursing and function within the legal 
boundaries of professional and practical nursing practice.

7.5.1.2 Accept responsibility for competent 
nursing practice.

7.5.1.3 Function as a member of the health 
team:

7.5.1.3.1 By collaborating with other 
members of the health team to provide optimum care, or

7.5.1.3.2 As an LPN under the 
direction and supervision of a recognized licensed authority.

7.5.1.4 Consult with nurses, other health team 
members and community agencies for continuity of care and 
seek guidance as necessary.

7.5.1.5 Obtain instruction and supervision as 
necessary when implementing nursing techniques.

7.5.1.6 Contribute to the formulation, 
interpreting, implementing and evaluating of the objectives 
and  policies related to professional and practical nursing 
practice within the employment setting.

7.5.1.7 Participate in  evaluating nurses 
through peer review.

7.5.1.8 Report unsafe nursing practice to the 
Board and unsafe practice conditions to recognized legal 

authorities.
7.5.1.9 Practice without discrimination as to 

age, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, national origin, or 
disability.

7.5.1.10 Respect the dignity and rights of 
clients regardless of social or economic status, personal 
attributes or nature of health problems.

7.5.1.11 Respect the client’s right to privacy by 
protecting confidentiality unless obligated by law to disclose 
the information.

7.5.1.12 Respect the property of clients, their 
families and significant others. In addition to the proceeding, 
the Registered Nurse shall:

7.5.1.13 Delegate to others only those nursing 
interventions that those persons are prepared or qualified to 
perform.

7.5.1.14 Supervise others to whom nursing 
interventions are delegated.

7.5.1.15 Retain professional accountability for 
care when delegating.

7.5.1.16 Teach safe practice to other health 
care workers as appropriate.

7.6 Dispensing
7.6.1 Definitions

7.6.1.1 “Dispensing” means providing 
medication according to an order of a practitioner duly 
licensed to prescribe medication.  The term shall include 
both the repackaging and labeling of medication from bulk 
to individual doses. 

7.6.1.2 “Prescription label” - a label affixed 
to every prescription or drug order which contains the 
following information at a minimum.

7.6.1.2.1 A unique number for that 
specific drug order.

7.6.1.2.2 The date the drug was 
dispensed.

7.6.1.2.3 The patient’s full name.
7.6.1.2.4 The  brand or established 

name and  manufacturer and  the strength of the drug to the 
extent it can be measured.

7.6.1.2.5 The practitioner’s directions 
as found on the prescription order.

7.6.1.2.6 The practitioner’s name.
7.6.1.2.7 The initials of the dispensing 

nurse.
7.6.1.2.8 The name and address of the 

facility or practitioner from which the drug is dispensed.
7.6.1.2.9 Expiration date.

7.6.1.3 “Standing order” - An order written 
by the practitioner which authorizes a designated registered 
nurse or nurses to dispense prescription drugs to his/her 
patients(s) according to the standards listed below.

7.6.2 Authority to Dispense
7.6.2.1 Registered Nurses may assume the 
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responsibility of dispensing as defined in the Nurse Practice 
Act.

7.6.2.2 Licensed Practice Nurses may assume 
the responsibility of dispensing as authorized by the Nurse 
Practice Act and defined in these Regulations, Section 
7.6.2.2.1., 7.6.2.2.2, and 7.6.2.2.3

7.6.2.2.1 Licensed Practical Nurses 
may provide to a patient pre-packaged medications in 
accordance with the order of a practitioner duly licensed to 
prescribe medication where such medications have been pre-
packaged by a person with lawful authority to dispense 
drugs.

7.6.2.2.2 Licensed Practical Nurses, 
per written order of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, advanced 
practice nurse, or other practitioner duly licensed to 
prescribe medication, may add the name of the client to a 
preprinted label on a pre-packaged medication.

7.6.2.2.3 Licensed Practical Nurses in 
a licensed methadone clinic may apply a preprinted label to a 
pre-packaged medication.

7.6.3 Standards for Dispensing
7.6.3.1 All licensed nurses engaged in 

dispensing shall adhere to these standards.
7.6.3.1.1 The medication must be 

prepackaged by a pharmaceutical company or prepared by a 
registered pharmacist.

7.6.3.1.2 The nurse shall be 
responsible for proper drug storage of the medication prior to 
dispensing.

7.6.3.1.3 The practitioner who 
originated the prescription or drug order must be on the 
premises or he/she or their designated coverage shall be 
available by telephone during the act of dispensing.

7.6.3.1.4 Once a drug has been 
dispensed it shall not be returned for reuse by another or the 
same patient in an institutional setting.

7.6.3.1.5 The nurse may not 
delegate any part of the dispensing function to any other 
individual who is not licensed to dispense.

7.6.3.1.6 The dispensing nurse 
must assure compliance to the state generic substitution laws 
when selecting the product to be dispensed.

7.6.3.1.7 The nurse-dispensed 
prescription may not be refillable; it requires the authority of 
the prescriber with each dispensing.

7.6.3.1.8 A usage review process 
must be established for the medicines dispensed to assure 
proper patient usage.

7.6.3.1.9 All dispensed drugs 
must be labeled as defined above and dispensed in proper 
safety closure containers that meet the standards established 
by the United States Pharmacopoeia for stability.

7.6.3.1.10 Record keeping must 
include the maintenance of the original written prescription 

of drug order for at least three years, allow retrospective 
review of accountability, and provide an audit trail.  All 
dispensing records must be maintained on site, and available 
for inspection by authorized agents of the Board of Health, 
Pharmacy, and Nursing.

7.6.3.1.11 The dispensing nurse 
shall assume the responsibility of patient counseling of drug 
effects, side-effects, desired outcome, precautions, proper 
storage, unique dosing criteria, drug interactions, and other 
pertinent data, and record evidence of patient education.

7.6.3.1.12 Conformance to 
paragraphs 6 through 11 are not necessary if the original 
prescription was dispensed by a pharmacist for that specific 
patient.

7.7 Delegation
7.7.1 Definitions

7.7.1.1 “Accountability” - The state of being 
accountable, answerable, or legally liable for actions and 
decisions, including supervision.

7.7.1.2 “Delegation” - Entrusting the 
performance of selected nursing duties to individuals 
qualified, competent and legally able to perform such duties 
while retaining the accountability for such act.

7.7.1.3 “Supervision” - The guidance by a 
registered nurse (RN) for the accomplishment of a function 
or activity.  The guidance consists of  the activities included 
in monitoring as well as establishing the initial direction, 
delegating, setting expectations, directing activities and 
courses of action, critical watching, overseeing, evaluating, 
and changing a course of action.

7.7.1.4 “Unlicensed Assistive Personnel” - 
Individuals not licensed to perform nursing tasks that are 
employed to assist in the delivery of client care.  The term 
“unlicensed assistive personnel” does not include members 
of the client’s immediate family, guardians, or friends; these 
individuals may perform incidental care of the sick in private 
homes without specific authority from a licensed nurse (as 
established in 24 Del.C. §1921(a)(4) of the Nurse Practice 
Act).

7.7.2 Conditions
7.7.2.1 The following conditions are relevant 

to delegation:
7.7.2.1.1 Only RNs  may delegate.
7.7.2.1.2 The RN must be 

knowledgeable regarding the unlicensed assistive 
personnel’s education and training and have opportunity to 
periodically verify the individual’s ability to perform the 
specific tasks.

7.7.2.1.3 The RN maintains 
accountability for determining the appropriateness of all 
delegated nursing duties and responsibility for the delivery 
of  safe and competent care.  Unlicensed assistive personnel 
may not reassign a delegated act.

7.7.3 Criteria
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7.7.3.1 The RN may delegate only tasks that 
are within the scope of sound professional nursing judgment 
to delegate.

7.7.3.2 Determination of appropriate factors 
include, but are not limited to:

7.7.3.2.1 stability of the client’s 
condition

7.7.3.2.2 educational background, 
skill level, or preparation of the individual

7.7.3.2.3 nature of the nursing act that 
meets the following:

7.7.3.2.3.1 task is performed 
frequently in the daily care of a client 

7.7.3.2.3.2 task is performed 
according to an established sequence of steps

7.7.3.2.3.3 task may be performed 
with a predictable outcome

7.7.3.2.3.4 task does not involve 
ongoing assessment, interpretation or decision making that 
cannot be logically separated from the task itself.

7.7.3.3 The RN must be readily available in 
person or by telecommunication.

7.7.4 Exclusions
7.7.4.1 The following activities require 

nursing knowledge, judgment, and skill and may not be 
delegated by the RN to an unlicensed assistive person. These 
exclusions do not apply to Advanced Practice Nurses.

7.7.4.2 Physical, psychological, and social 
assessment which requires professional nursing judgment, 
intervention, referral, or follow-up;

7.7.4.3 Development of nursing diagnosis 
and care goals;

7.7.4.4 Formulation of the plan of nursing 
care and evaluation of the effectiveness of the nursing care 
provided;

7.7.4.5 Specific tasks involved in the 
implementation of the plan of care which require nursing 
judgment, skill, or intervention, that include, but are not 
limited to: performance of sterile invasive procedures 
involving a wound or anatomical site; nasogastric, newly 
established gastrostomy and jejunostomy tube feeding; 
nasogastric, jejunostomy and gastrostomy tube insertion or 
removal; suprapubic catheter insertion and removal; 
(phlebotomy is not considered a sterile, invasive procedure);

7.7.4.6 Administration of medications, 
including prescription topical medications; and

7.7.4.7 Receiving or transmitting verbal 
orders.

1 DE Reg. 1888 (6/1/98)
6 DE Reg. 1195 (3/1/03)
7.8  Intravascular Therapy By Licensed Nurses

Intravascular therapy encompasses several 
components, some of which require primarily skill 
proficiency with a minimum of critical judgement.   Other 

aspects of intravascular therapy require skill proficiency and 
more importantly a high degree of knowledge, critical 
judgement and decision making to perform the function 
safely.

7.8.1 Definition Of Terms 
7.8.1.1 Vascular system - is composed of all 

peripheral and central veins and arteries.
7.8.1.2 Intravascular therapy (IV) - is the 

broad term including the administration of fluids and 
medications, blood and blood derivatives into an individual's 
vascular system.

7.8.1.3 Intravenous fluids - include solutions, 
vitamins, nutrient preparations, and commercial blood 
fractions designed to be administered into an individual's 
vascular system.   Whole blood and blood components, 
which are administered in the same manner, are considered 
intravenous fluids in this definition.

7.8.1.4 Intravenous and intra-arterial 
medications - are drugs administered into an individual's 
vascular system by any one of the following methods:

7.8.1.4.1 By way of infusion diluted in 
solution or suspended in fluid and administered over a 
specified time at a specified rate.

7.8.1.4.2 Through an established intra-
vascular needle or catheter (referred to as "IV push").

7.8.1.4.3 By venipuncture carried out 
for the sole purpose of administering the medication.   This 
method is referred to as direct medication injection (direct 
IV push).

7.8.1.5 Vascular access - Utilization of an 
established device or the introduction of a needle or catheter 
into an individual’s vascular system.

7.8.1.6 Venipuncture - Introduction of a 
needle or catheter into an individual's peripheral vein for the 
purpose(s) of withdrawing blood or establishing an infusion 
or administering medications.

7.8.1.7 Intravascular therapy maintenance - 
Monitoring of the therapy for changes in patient's condition, 
appropriate flow rate, equipment function, the hanging of 
additional fluid containers and the implementation of site 
care.

7.8.1.8 Termination of intravascular therapy - 
Cessation of the therapy either by withdrawing a needle or 
catheter from an individual’s vascular system or by 
discontinuing the infusion and maintaining the device as a 
reservoir.

7.8.1.9 Supervision - a registered nurse, 
licensed physician or dentist is physically present in the unit 
where the patient is being provided care, or within 
immediate electronic/telephone contact.

7.8.2 Conditions Of Performing Intravascular 
Therapy Procedures By Licensed Nurses

7.8.2.1 Intravascular therapy must be 
authorized by a written order from a state licensed and 
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authorized prescriber.
7.8.2.2 The performance of any procedures of 

intravascular therapy by a licensed practical nurse will be 
done under the supervision of a registered nurse, APN, or 
person licensed to practice medicine, surgery, or podiatry.

7.8.2.3 Admixed intravascular solutions 
documented and instituted by one licensed nurse and 
subsequently interrupted may be re-instituted by another 
licensed nurse after confirmation with the state licensed and 
authorized prescriber's order.

7.8.2.4 Admixed intravascular solutions 
documented and prepared by one licensed nurse may be 
initiated or continued by another licensed nurse after 
confirmation with the state licensed and authorized 
prescriber's order.

7.8.2.5 Intradermal or topical anesthetics may 
be used by the RN or LPN when initiating vascular access 
therapy in various situations or settings, provided there is an 
authorized prescriber’s order and organizational policy/
procedure to support use of these medications.  All RNs and 
LPNs must have documented educational preparation 
according to the employing agency’s policies and 
procedures.  Documented evidence must include both 
theoretical instruction including anatomy and physiology, 
pharmacology, nursing management and education of 
patients and demonstration of clinical proficiency in 
performance of the task.  

7.8.3 Functional Scope Of Responsibility For 
Intravascular Therapy Procedures

7.8.3.1 Registered Nurses bear the 
responsibility and accountability for their nursing practice 
under the license granted by the Board of Nursing and are 
permitted to perform the following:

7.8.3.1.1 Assessment of the patient 
and the prescribed intravascular therapy before, during and 
after the therapy is carried out.

7.8.3.1.2 Acceptance and 
confirmation of intravascular therapy order(s).

7.8.3.1.3 Calculation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate for intravascular therapy 
administration.

7.8.3.1.4 Confirmation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate for intravascular therapy 
administration.

7.8.3.1.5 Addition of prescribed 
medications in intravascular solution, labeling and 
documenting appropriately.

7.8.3.1.6 Start initial solution or add 
replacement fluids to an existing infusion as prescribed.

7.8.3.1.7 Vascular access for 
establishing an infusion or administering medications.

7.8.3.1.8 Administration of 
medications by "IV push".

7.8.3.1.9 Intravascular therapy 

maintenance.
7.8.3.1.10 Termination of intravascular 

therapy, including the removal of subclavian and PICC lines.
7.8.3.1.11 Access the vascular system 

for the purpose of the withdrawal of blood and to monitor the 
patient's condition before, during, and after the withdrawal 
of blood.

7.8.3.2 Licensed Practical Nurses bear the 
responsibility and accountability for their nursing practice 
under the license granted by the Board of Nursing and are 
permitted to perform the following for peripheral lines:

7.8.3.2.1 Acceptance of intravascular 
therapy order(s).

7.8.3.2.2 Calculation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate of intravascular medications 
prescribed.  This does not include titration.

7.8.3.2.3 Confirmation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate for intravascular therapy 
administration.

7.8.3.2.4 Addition of mediations in 
intravascular solutions, label and document appropriately.  

7.8.3.2.5 Venipuncture with needle 
device to establish access to the peripheral vascular system.

7.8.3.2.6 Start initial solution or add 
replacement fluids to an existing infusion as prescribed.

7.8.3.2.7 Intravascular therapy 
maintenance including the flushing of peripheral lines with 
Heparin and/or saline solution.

7.8.3.2.8 Termination of peripheral 
intravascular therapy.

7.8.3.2.9 Performance of venipuncture 
for the purpose of the withdrawal of blood and to monitor the 
patient's condition before, during and after the withdrawal of 
blood.

7.8.3.3 The Licensed Practical Nurse is 
permitted to perform the following procedures for central 
lines:

7.8.3.3.1 Acceptance of intravascular 
therapy order(s).

7.8.3.3.2 Calculation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate of intravascular medications 
prescribed.  This does not include titration.

7.8.3.3.3 Confirmation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate for intravascular therapy 
administration.

7.8.3.3.4 Addition of medications in 
intravascular solutions, label and document appropriately.

7.8.3.3.5 Intravascular therapy 
maintenance, including the flushing of central lines with 
Heparin and/or saline solution. 

7.8.3.3.6 Dressing and tubing changes, 
including PICC lines.

7.8.3.3.7 Addition of replacement 
fluids to an existing infusion as prescribed.
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7.8.4. Special Intravascular Procedures By 
Registered Nurses

7.8.4.1 Chemotherapy - Only intravascular 
routes are addressed in these rules.  Review of the Oncology 
Nursing Society’s current guidelines is recommended before 
the administration of anti-neoplastic agents.  

7.8.4.1.1 Definition of Terms
7.8.4.1.1.1 Cancer Chemotherapy - 

is the broad term including the administration of anti-
neoplastic agents into an individual's vascular system.

7.8.4.1.1.2 Anti-neoplastic agents - 
are those drugs which are administered with the intent to 
control neoplastic cell growth.

7.8.4.1.2 The Registered Nurse who 
administers cancer chemotherapy by the intravascular route 
must have documented educational preparation according to 
the employing agency's policies and procedures.

7.8.4.1.3 The Registered Nurse must 
have documented evidence of knowledge and skill in the 
following:

• Pharmacology of anti-
neoplastic agents

• Principles of drug handling and 
preparation

• Principles of administration
• Vascular access
• Side effects of chemotherapy 

on the nurse, patient, and family
7.8.4.2 Central Venous Access Via Peripheral 

Veins
7.8.4.2.1 Definition of Terms

7.8.4.2.1.1 Central venous access - 
is that entry into an individual's vascular system via the 
insertion of a catheter into a peripheral vein threaded through 
to the superior vena cava with placement confirmed by x-
ray.

7.8.4.2.2 The Registered Nurse who 
performs central venous access via peripheral veins must 
have documented educational preparation according to the 
employing agency's policies and procedures.

7.8.4.2.3 Documented evidence must 
include, but is not limited to, evidence of both theoretical 
instruction and clinical proficiency in performance of the 
task.

7.8.4.2.3.1 Theoretical instruction 
must include, but is not limited to, anatomy and physiology, 
pharmacology, nursing management, and education of 
patients as they relate to central venous access via peripheral 
veins.

7.8.4.2.3.2 A preceptor must 
supervise the learning experience and must document the 
Registered Nurse's competency in the performance of the 
procedure.

7.8.4.3 Pain Management Via Epidural 

Catheter
7.8.4.3.1 It is within the scope of 

practice of a Registered Nurse to instill analgesics (opiates)/
low dose anesthetics at analgesic levels into an existing 
catheter under the following conditions/exceptions:

7.8.4.3.1.1 The epidural catheter is 
in place.

7.8.4.3.1.2 The position of the 
epidural catheter was verified as correct by a physician at the 
time of insertion.

7.8.4.3.1.3 Bolus doses and/or 
continuous infusions, as pre-mixed by anesthesiologists, 
C.R.N.A.s, or pharmacists, of epidural analgesics/low does 
anesthetics at analgesic levels can be administered by the 
Registered Nurse only after the initial dose has been 
administered.  Changes in medication and/or dosage of the 
same medication are not defined as the initial dose.

7.8.4.3.1.4 Only analgesics 
(opiates)/low dose anesthetics at analgesic levels will be 
administered via this route for acute and chronic pain 
management.

7.8.4.3.1.5 The Registered Nurse 
must complete a course that includes, but is not limited to, a) 
anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, nursing management, 
assessment, and education of patients as they relate to 
epidural administration of opiates/low dose anesthetics at 
analgesic levels; b) a credentialed preceptor must supervise 
the learning experience and must document the Registered 
Nurse's clinical competency in the performance of the 
procedure.

7.8.4.3.1.6 The Registered Nurse 
may not insert or remove epidural catheters

8.0 Rules and Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Nursing as an Advanced Practice Nurse in the State of 
Delaware

8.1 Authority
These rules and regulations are adopted by the 

Delaware Board of Nursing  under the authority of the 
Delaware Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del.C. §§1902(d), 
1906(1), 1906(7).

8.2 Purpose
8.2.1 The general purpose of these rules and 

regulations is to assist in protecting and safeguarding the 
public by regulating the practice of the Advanced Practice 
Nurse.

8.3 Scope 
8.3.1 These rules and regulations govern the 

educational and experience requirements  and standards of 
practice for the Advanced Practice Nurse.  Prescribing 
medications and treatments independently is pursuant to the 
Rules and  Regulations promulgated by the Joint Practice 
Committee as defined in 24 Del.C. §1906(20). The 
Advanced Practice Nurse is responsible and accountable  for 
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her or his practice.  Nothing herein is deemed to limit the 
scope of  practice or prohibit a Registered Nurse from 
engaging in those activities that  constitute the practice of 
professional nursing and/or professional nursing in a 
specialty area.

8.4 Definitions
“Advanced Practice Nurse”as defined in 24

Del.C. §1902(d)(1).   Such a nurse will be given the title 
Advanced Practice Nurse by state licensure, and may use the 
title Advanced Practice Nurse within his/her specific 
specialty area.

“Audit” The verification of existence of a 
collaborative agreement for a minimum of 10% of the total 
number of licenses issued during a specified time period.

“Board”  The Delaware Board of Nursing
“Certified Nurse Midwife (C.N.M.)” A 

Registered Nurse who is a provider for normal maternity, 
newborn and well-woman gynecological care.  The CNM 
designation is received after  completing an accredited post-
basic nursing program in midwifery at schools of medicine, 
nursing or public health, and passing a certification 
examination administered by the ACNM Certification 
Council, Inc. or other nationally recognized, Board of 
Nursing approved certifying organization.

“Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist 
(C.R.N.A.)” A Registered Nurse who has graduated from a 
nurse anesthesia educational program accredited by the 
American Association of Nurse Anesthetists’ Council on 
Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational programs, 
and who is certified by the American Association of Nurse 
Anesthetists’ Council on Certification of Nurse Anesthetists 
or other nationally recognized, Board of Nursing approved 
certifying organization.

“Clinical Nurse Specialist (C.N.S.)” A Registered 
Nurse with advanced nursing educational preparation who 
functions in primary, secondary, and tertiary settings with 
individuals, families, groups, or communities.  The CNS 
designation is received after graduation from a Master’s 
degree program in a clinical nurse specialty or post Master’s 
certificate, such as gerontology, maternal-child, pediatrics, 
psych/mental health, etc.   The CNS must have national 
certification in the area of specialization at the advanced 
level if such a certification exists or as specified in 8.9.4.1 of 
these Rules and Regulations.  The certifying agency must 
meet the established criteria approved by the Delaware 
Board of Nursing.

“Clinical Nursing Specialty” a delimited focus of 
advanced nursing practice. Specialty areas can be identified 
in terms of population, setting, disease/pathology, type of 
care or type of problem.  Nursing administration does not 
qualify as a clinical nursing specialty.
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“Collaborative Agreement” Written verification 

of health care facility approved clinical privileges; or health 

care facility approved job description; or a written document 
that outlines the  process for consultation and referral 
between an Advanced Practice Nurse and a licensed 
physician, dentist, podiatrist, or  licensed Delaware health 
care delivery system.

“Guidelines/ Protocols” Suggested pathways to be 
followed by an Advanced Practice Nurse for  managing a 
particular medical problem. These guidelines/protocols  may 
be developed collaboratively by an Advanced Practice Nurse 
and a licensed physician, dentist or a  podiatrist, or licensed 
Delaware health  care delivery system.

“National Certification” That credential earned by 
a nurse who has met requirements of a  Board approved 
certifying agency.

The agencies so approved include but are not 
limited to:

• American Academy of Nurse 
Practitioners

• American Nurses Credentialing 
Center

• American Association of Nurse 
Anesthetists Council on Certification of Nurse 
Anesthetists

• American Association of Nurse 
Anesthetists Council on Recertification of Nurse 
Anesthetists

• National Certification Corporation for 
the Obstetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal  Nursing 
Specialties

• National Certification Board of 
Pediatric Nurse Practitioners and Nurses.

• ACNM Certification Council, Inc.
“Nurse Practitioner (N.P.)” A Registered Nurse 

with advanced nursing educational preparation who is a 
provider of primary healthcare in a variety of settings with a 
focus on a specific area of practice.  The NP designation is 
received after graduation from a Master’s program or from 
an accredited post-basic NP certificate program of at least 
one academic year in length in a nurse practitioner specialty 
such as acute care, adult, family, geriatric, pediatric, or 
women’s health, etc. The NP must have national certification 
in the area of specialization at the advanced level by a 
certifying agency which meets the established criteria 
approved by the Delaware Board of Nursing.

“Post Basic Program”
A combined didactic and clinical/preceptored 

program of at least one academic year of full time study in 
the area of advanced nursing practice with a minimum of 
400 clinical/preceptored hours.

The program must be one offered and 
administered by an approved health agency and/or institution 
of higher learning,

Post basic means a program taken after 
licensure is achieved.
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“Scope of Specialized Practice” That area of 
practice in which an Advanced Practice Nurse has a Master’s 
degree or a post-basic program certificate in a clinical 
nursing specialty with national certification.

“Supervision” Direction given by a licensed 
physician or Advanced Practice Nurse to an Advanced 
Practice Nurse practicing pursuant to a temporary permit. 
The  supervising physician or Advanced Practice Nurse must 
be periodically available at the site where care is provided, 
or available for immediate guidance.

8.5 Grandfathering Period
8.5.1 Any person holding a certificate of state 

licensure as an Advanced Practice Nurse that is valid on July 
8, 1994 shall be eligible for renewal of such licensure under 
the conditions and standards prescribed herein for renewal of 
licensure.

8.6 Standards for the Advanced Practice Nurse
8.6.1 Advanced Practice Nurses view clients 

and their health concerns from an integrated multi-system 
perspective.

8.6.2 Standards provide the practitioner with a 
framework within which to operate and with the means to 
evaluate his/her practice. In meeting the standards of 
practice of nursing in the advanced role, each practitioner, 
including but not limited to those listed in 8.6.2 of these 
Rules and Regulations:

8.6.2.1 Performs comprehensive assessments 
using appropriate physical and psychosocial parameters;

8.6.2.2 Develops comprehensive nursing care 
plans based on current theories and advanced clinical 
knowledge and expertise;

8.6.2.3 Initiates and applies clinical 
treatments based on expert knowledge and technical 
competency to client populations with problems ranging 
from health promotion to complex illness and for whom the 
Advanced Practice Nurse assumes primary care 
responsibilities. These treatments include, but are not limited 
to psychotherapy, administration of anesthesia, and vaginal 
deliveries;

8.6.2.4 Functions under established 
guidelines/protocols and/or accepted standards of care;

8.6.2.5 Uses the results of scientifically sound 
empirical research as a basis for nursing practice decisions;

8.6.2.6 Uses appropriate teaching/learning 
strategies to diagnose learning impediments;

8.6.2.7 Evaluates the quality of individual 
client care in accordance with quality assurance and other 
standards;

8.6.2.8 Reviews and revises guidelines/
protocols, as necessary;

8.6.2.9 Maintains an accurate written account 
of the progress of clients for whom primary care 
responsibilities are assumed;

8.6.2.10 Collaborates with members of a 

multi-disciplinary team toward the accomplishment of 
mutually established goals;

8.6.2.11 Pursues strategies to enhance access 
to and use of adequate health care services;

8.6.2.12 Maintains optimal advanced practice 
based on a continual process of review and evaluation of 
scientific theory, research findings and current practice;

8.6.2.13 Performs consultative services for 
clients referred by other members of the multi-disciplinary 
team; and

8.6.2.14 Establishes a collaborative agreement 
with a licensed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or licensed 
Delaware health care delivery system to facilitate 
consultation and/or referral as appropriate in the delivery of 
health care to clients.

8.6.3 In addition to these standards, each nurse 
certified in an area of specialization and recognized by the 
Board to practice as an Advanced  Practice Nurse is 
responsible for practice at the level and scope defined for 
that specialty certification by the agency which certified the 
nurse.

8.7 Generic Functions of the Advanced Practice Nurse 
Within the Specialized Scope of Practice include but are not 
limited to:

8.7.1 Eliciting detailed health history(s)
8.7.2 Defining nursing problem(s)
8.7.3 Performing physical examination(s)
8.7.4 Collecting and performing laboratory tests
8.7.5 Interpreting laboratory data
8.7.6 Initiating requests for essential laboratory 

procedures
8.7.7 Initiating requests for essential x-rays 
8.7.8 Screening patients to identify abnormal 

problems
8.7.9 Initiating referrals to appropriate resources 

and services as necessary
8.7.10 Initiating or modifying treatment and 

medications within established guidelines
8.7.11 Assessing and reporting changes in the 

health of individuals, families and communities
8.7.12 Providing health education through 

teaching and counseling
8.7.13 Planning and/or instituting health care 

programs in the community with other health care 
professionals and  the public

8.7.14 Delegating tasks appropriately
8.7.15 Prescribing medications and treatments 

independently pursuant to Rules and Regulations 
promulgated by the Joint Practice Committee as defined in 
24 Del.C. §1906(20).

8.7.16 Inserting and removing epidural catheters 
after specialized  training.

8.8 Criteria for Approval of Certification Agencies
8.8.1 A national certifying body which meets 
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the following criteria shall be recognized by the Board to 
satisfy 24 Del.C. §1902(d)(1).

8.8.2 The national certifying body:
8.8.2.1 Is national in the scope of its 

credentialing.
8.8.2.2 Has no requirement for an applicant to 

be a member of any organization.
8.8.2.3 Has educational requirements which 

are consistent with the requirements of  these rules.
8.8.2.4 Has an application process and 

credential review which includes documentation that the 
applicant’s education is in the advanced nursing practice 
category being certified, and that the applicant’s clinical 
practice is in the certification category.

8.8.2.5 Uses an examination as a basis for 
certification in the advanced nursing practice category which 
meets the following criteria:

8.8.2.5.1 The examination is based 
upon job analysis studies conducted using standard 
methodologies acceptable to the testing community;

8.8.2.5.2 The examination represents 
the knowledge, skills and abilities essential for the delivery 
of safe and effective advanced nursing care to the clients;

8.8.2.5.3 The examination content and 
its distribution are specified in a test plan  (blueprint), based 
on the job analysis study, that is available to examinees;

8.8.2.5.4 Examination items are 
reviewed for content validity, cultural sensitivity and correct 
scoring using an established mechanism, both before use and 
periodically;

8.8.2.5.5 Examinations are evaluated 
for psychometric performance;

8.8.2.5.6 The passing standard is 
established using acceptable psychometric methods, and is 
reevaluated periodically; and

8.8.2.5.7 Examination security is 
maintained through established procedures

8.8.2.6 Issues certification based upon 
passing the examination and meeting all other certification 
requirements.

8.8.2.7 Provides for periodic recertification 
which includes review of qualifications and continued 
competency.

8.8.2.8 Has mechanisms in place for 
communication to Boards of Nursing for timely verification 
of an individual’s certification status, changes in certification 
status, and changes in the certification program, including 
qualifications, test  plan and scope of practice.

8.8.2.9 Has an evaluation process to provide 
quality assurance in its certification program.

8.9 Application for Licensure to Practice as an 
Advanced Practice Nurse

8.9.1 Application for licensure as a Registered 
Nurse shall be made on forms supplied by the Board.

8.9.2 In addition, an application for licensure to 
practice as an Advanced Practice Nurse shall be made on 
forms supplied by the Board.

8.9.2.1 The APN applicant shall be required 
to furnish the name(s) of the licensed  physician, dentist, 
podiatrist, or licensed Delaware health care delivery system 
with whom a current collaborative agreement exists.

8.9.2.2 Notification of changes in the name of 
the licensed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or licensed 
Delaware health care delivery system shall be forwarded to 
the Board office.

8.9.3 Each application shall be returned to the 
Board office together with appropriate documentation and 
non-refundable fees.

8.9.4 A Registered Nurse meeting the practice 
requirement as listed in 8.11 and all other requirements set 
forth in these Rules and Regulations may be issued a license 
as an Advanced Practice Nurse in the specific area of 
specialization in which the nurse has been nationally 
certified at the advanced  level and/or has earned a Master’s 
degree in a clinical nursing specialty.

8.9.4.1 Clinical nurse specialists, whose 
subspecialty area can be categorized under a broad scope of 
nursing practice for which a Board-approved national 
certification examination exists, are required to pass this 
certification  examination to qualify for permanent licensure 
as an Advanced Practice Nurse.  This would include, but not 
be limited to medical-surgical and psychiatric-mental health 
nursing.  If a more specific post-graduate level certification 
examination that has Board of Nursing approval is available 
within the clinical nursing specialist’s subspecialty area at 
the time of licensure application, the applicant may 
substitute this examination for the broad-based clinical 
nursing  specialist certification examination.

8.9.4.2 Faculty members teaching in nursing 
education programs are not required to be licensed as 
Advanced Practice Nurses.  Those faculty members teaching 
in graduate level clinical courses may apply for licensure as 
Advanced Practice Nurses and utilize graduate level clinical 
teaching hours to fulfill the practice requirement as stated in 
8.11.2.1.

8.9.5 Renewal of licensure shall be on a date 
consistent with the current Registered Nurse renewal period. 
A renewal fee shall be paid.

8.9.6 The Board may refuse to issue, revoke, 
suspend or refuse to renew the license as an Advanced 
Practice Nurse or otherwise discipline an applicant or a 
practitioner who fails to meet the requirements for licensure 
as an Advanced  Practice Nurse or as a registered nurse, or 
who commits any disciplinary offense under the Nurse 
Practice Act, 24 Del.C. Ch. 19, or the Rules and Regulations 
promulgated pursuant thereto. All decisions regarding 
independent  practice and/or independent prescriptive 
authority are made by the Joint Practice Committee as 
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provided in 24 Del.C. §1906(20) - (22).
8.10 Temporary  Permit for Advanced Practice 

Nurse Licensure
8.10.1 A temporary permit to practice, pending 

Board approval for permanent licensure, may be issued 
provided that:

8.10.1.1 The individual applying has also 
applied for licensure to practice as a  Registered Nurse in 
Delaware, or

8.10.1.2 The individual applying holds a 
current license in Delaware, and

8.10.1.3 The individual submits proof of 
graduation from a nationally accredited or Board approved 
Master’s or certificate advanced practice  nursing program, 
and has passed the certification examination, or 

8.10.1.4 The individual is a graduate of a 
Master’s program in a clinical nursing specialty for which 
there is no certifying examination, and can show evidence of 
at least 1000 hours of clinical nursing practice within the 
past 24 months.

8.10.1.5 Application(s) and fee(s) are on 
file in the Board office.

8.10.2 A temporary permit to practice, under 
supervision only, may be issued at the discretion of the 
Executive Director provided that:

8.10.2.1 The individual meets the 
requirements in 8.10.1.1 or 8.10.1.2, and 8.10.1.5 and; 

8.10.2.2 The individual submits proof of 
graduation from a nationally accredited or Board approved 
Master’s or certificate advanced practice nurse program, 
and;

8.10.2.3 The individual submits proof of 
admission into the approved certifying agency’s examination 
or is seeking a temporary permit to practice under 
supervision to accrue the practice hours required to sit for the 
certifying examination or has accrued the required practice 
hours and is scheduled to take the first advanced certifying 
examination upon eligibility or is accruing the practice hours 
referred to in 8.10.2.4; or,

8.10.2.4 The individual meets 8.10.2.1 
and 8.10.2.2 hereinabove and is awaiting review by the 
certifying agency for eligibility to sit for the certifying 
examination.

8.10.3 If the certifying examination has been 
passed, the appropriate form must accompany the 
application.

8.10.4 A temporary permit may be issued:
8.10.4.1 For up to two years in three month 

periods.
8.10.4.2 At the discretion of the Executive 

Director.
8.10.5 A temporary permit will be withdrawn:

8.10.5.1 Upon failure to pass the first 
certifying examination

8.10.5.1.1 The applicant may petition 
the Board of Nursing to extend a temporary permit under 
supervision until results of the next available certification 
exam are available by furnishing the following information:

8.10.5.1.1.1 current employer 
reference,

8.10.5.1.1.2 supervision available,
8.10.5.1.1.3 job description,
8.10.5.1.1.4 letter outlining any 

extenuating circumstances,
8.10.5.1.1.5 any other information 

the Board of Nursing deems necessary.
8.10.5.2 For other reasons stipulated under 

temporary permits elsewhere in these Rules and Regulations.
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8.10.6 A lapsed temporary permit for designation 
is equivalent to a lapsed license and the same rules apply.

8.10.7 Failure of the certifying examination does 
not impact on the retention of the basic professional 
Registered Nurse licensure.

8.10.8 Any person practicing or holding oneself 
out as an Advanced Practice Nurse in any category without a 
Board authorized license in such category shall be 
considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the 
penalties provided for violations of the Law regulating the 
Practice of Nursing in Delaware, (24 Del.C. Ch. 19).

8.10.9 Endorsement of Advanced Practice Nurse 
designation from another state is processed the same as for 
licensure by endorsement, provided that the applicant meets 
the criteria for an Advanced Practice Nurse license in 
Delaware.

8.11 Maintenance of Licensure Status: 
Reinstatement

8.11.1 To maintain licensure, the Advanced 
Practice Nurse must meet the requirements for recertification 
as established by the certifying agency.

8.11.2 The Advanced Practice Nurse must have 
practiced a minimum of 1500 hours in  the past five years or 
no less than 600 hours in the past two years in the  area of 
specialization in which licensure has been granted.

8.11.2.1 Faculty members teaching in graduate 
level clinical courses may count a maximum of 500 didactic 
course contact hours in the past five years or 200  in the past 
two years and all hours of direct on-site clinical supervision 
of students to meet the practice requirement.

8.11.2.2 An Advanced Practice Nurse who 
does not meet the practice requirement may be issued a 
temporary  permit to practice under the supervision of a 
person licensed to practice medicine, surgery, dentistry, or 
advanced  practice nursing, as determined on an individual 
basis by the Board.

8.11.3 The Advanced Practice Nurse will be 
required to furnish the name(s) of the licensed physician, 
dentist, podiatrist, or licensed Delaware health care delivery 
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system with whom a current collaborative agreement exists.
8.11.4 Advanced Practice Nurses who fail to 

renew their licenses by February 28, May 31, or September 
30 of the renewal period shall be considered to have lapsed 
licenses.  After February 28, May 31, or September 30 of the 
current licensing period, any requests for reinstatement of a 
lapsed license shall be presented to the Board for  action.

8.11.5 To reinstate licensure status as an 
Advanced Practice Nurse, the requirements for 
recertification and 1500 hours of practice in the past five 
years or no less  than 600 hours in the past two years in the 
specialty area must be met or the  process described in 8.11.4 
followed.

8.11.6 An application for reinstatement of 
licensure must be filed and the appropriate fee paid.

8.12 Audit of Licensees
8.12.1 The Board may select licensees for audit 

two months prior to renewal in any biennium.  The Board 
shall notify the licensees that they are to be audited for 
compliance of having a collaborative agreement.

8.12.1.1 Upon receipt of such notice, the 
licensee must submit a copy of a current  collaborative 
agreement(s) within three weeks of receipt of the notice.

8.12.1.2 The Board shall notify the licensee of 
the results of the audit immediately  following the Board 
meeting at  which the audits are  reviewed.

8.12.1.3 An unsatisfactory audit shall result in 
Board action.

8.12.1.4 Failure to notify the Board of a 
change in mailing address will not absolve the licensee from 
audit requirements.

8.12.2 The Board may select licensees for audit 
throughout the biennium.

8.13 Exceptions to the Requirements to Practice
8.13.1 The requirements set forth in 8.9 shall not 

apply to a Registered Nurse  who is duly enrolled as a bona 
fide student in an approved  educational  program for 
Advanced Practice Nurses as long as the practice is confined 
to the educational requirements of the program and is under 
the direct supervision of a qualified instructor.

8.14 Definitions
8.14.1 Collaborative Agreement - Includes 

8.14.1.1 A true collegial agreement between 
two parties where mutual goal setting, access, authority, and 
responsibility for actions belong to individual parties and 
there is a conviction to the belief that this collaborative 
agreement will continue to enhance patient outcomes and

8.14.1.2 a written document that outlines the 
process for consultation and referral between an Advanced 
Practice Nurse and a duly licensed Delaware physician, 
dentist, podiatrist or licensed Delaware health care delivery 
system.  This document can include, but not be limited to, 
written verification of health care facility approved clinical 
privileges or a health care facility approved job description 

of the A.P.N.  If the agreement is with a licensed Delaware 
health care delivery system, the individual will have to show 
that the system will supply appropriate medical back-up for 
purposes of consultation and referral.

8.14.2 National Certification - That credential 
earned by an Advanced Practice Nurse who has met 
requirements of a Boardof Nursing approved certifying 
agency.

8.14.3 Pharmacology/Pharmacotherapeutics - 
refers to any course, program, or offering that would include, 
butnot be limited to, the identification of individual and 
classes of drugs, their indications and contraindications, their 
likelihood of success, their dosages, their side-effects and 
their interactions.  It also encompasses clinical judgement 
skills and decision making. These skills may be based on 
thorough interviewing, history taking, physical assessment, 
test selection and interpretation, patho-physiology, 
epidemiology, diagnostic reasoning, differentiation of 
conditions, treatment decisions, case evaluation and non-
pharmacologic interventions.

8.14.4 Prescription Order - includes the 
prescription date, the name of the patient, the name, address, 
area of specialization and business telephone number of the 
advanced practice nurse prescriber, the name, strength, 
quantity, directions for use, and number of refills of the drug 
product or device prescribed, and must bear the name and 
prescriber ID number of the advanced practice nurse 
prescriber, and when applicable, prescriber’s D.E.A. number 
and signature.  There must be lines provided to show 
whether the prescription must be dispensed as written or 
substitution is permitted.

8.15 Requirements for Initial Independent Practice/
prescriptive Authority

An APN who has not had independent prescriptive 
authority within the past two years in Delaware or any other 
jurisdiction who is applying for independent practice and/or 
independent prescriptive authority shall:

8.15.1 Be an Advanced Practice Nurse 
(APN)holding a current permanent license issued by the 
Board of Nursing (BON).  If the individual does not hold 
national certification, eligibility will be determined on a case 
by case basis.

8.15.2 Have completed a post basic advanced 
practice nursing program that meets the criteria as 
established in Section 4.7 of Article 7 of the Rules and 
Regulations of the Delaware Board of Nursing with 
documentation of academic courses in advanced health 
assessment, diagnosis and management of problems within 
the clinical specialty, advanced patho-physiology and 
advanced pharmacology/pharmacotherapeutics.  In the 
absence of transcript verification of the aforementioned 
courses, applicants shall show evidence of content 
integration through course descriptions, course syllabi, or 
correspondence from school officials. If the applicant cannot 
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produce the required documentation, such applicant may 
petition the Joint Practice Committee for consideration of 
documented equivalent independent prescriptive authority 
experience.

8.15.3 Submit a copy of the current collaborative 
agreement to the Joint Practice Committee (JPC).  The 
collaborative agreement(s) shall include arrangements for 
consultation, referral and/or hospitalization complementary 
to the area of the nurse's independent practice.

8.15.4 Show evidence of the equivalent of at least 
thirty hours of advanced pharmacology and 
pharmacotherapeutics related continuing education within 
the two years prior to application for independent practice 
and/or independent prescriptive authority.  This may be 
continuing education programs or a three credit, semester 
long graduate level course.  The thirty hours may also occur 
during the generic APN program as integrated content as 
long as this can be documented to the JPC.  All offerings will 
be reviewed and approved by the JPC.

8.15.5 Demonstrate how submitted continuing 
education offerings relate to pharmacology and therapeutics 
within their area of specialty.  This can be done by 
submitting the program titles to show content and dates 
attended.  If the JPC questions the relevance of the offerings, 
the applicant must have available program descriptions, and/ 
or learner objectives, and/or program outlines for submission 
to the JPC for their review and approval.

8.16 Requirements for Independent Practice/
prescriptive Authority by Endorsement

An APN who has had prescriptive authority in 
another jurisdiction who is applying for independent practice 
and/or independent prescriptive authority shall:

8.16.1 Show evidence of meeting 8.15.1 and 
8.15.3.

8.16.2 Show evidence of having current 
prescriptive authority in another jurisdiction.

8.16.3 Have no  encumbered APN designation(s) 
in any jurisdiction.

8.16.4 Show evidence of completion of a 
minimum of ten hours of JPC approved pharmacology/
pharmacotherapeutics related continuing education within 
the area of specialization and licensure within the past two 
years.

8.17 Application
8.17.1 Names and credentials of qualified 

applicants will be forwarded to the Joint Practice Committee 
for approval and then forwarded to the Board of Medical 
Practice for review and final approval.

8.18 Prescriptive Authority
8.18.1 APNs may prescribe, administer, and 

dispense legend medications including Schedule II - V 
controlled substances, (as defined in the Controlled 
Substance Act and labeled in compliance with 24 Del.C. 
§2536(C), parenteral medications, medical therapeutics, 

devices and diagnostics.
8.18.2 APNs will be assigned a provider 

identifier number as outlined by the Division of Professional 
Regulation.

8.18.3 Controlled Substances registration will be 
as follows:

8.18.3.1 APNs must register with the Drug 
Enforcement Agency and use such DEA number for 
controlled substance prescriptions.

8.18.3.2 APNs must register biennially with 
the Office of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs in accordance 
with 16 Del.C. §4732(a).

8.18.4 APNs may request and issue professional 
samples of legend, including schedule II-V controlled 
substances, and over-the-counter medications that must be 
labeled in compliance with 24 Del.C. §2536(C).

8.18.5 APNs may give verbal prescription orders.
8.19 Prescriptive Writing

8.19.1 All prescription orders will be written as 
defined by the Delaware Board of Pharmacy as defined in 
8.14.4.

8.20 Renewal
8.20.1 Maintain current APN licensure.
8.20.2 Maintain competency through a minimum 

of ten hours of JPC approved pharmacology/
pharmacotherapeutics related continuing education within 
the area of specialization and licensure per biennium.  The 
pharmacology/ pharmacotherapeutics content may be a 
separate course or integrated within other offerings.

8.21 Disciplinary Proceedings
8.21.1 Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1906(19)(c), the 

Joint Practice Committee is statutorily empowered, with the 
approval of the Board of Medical Practice, to grant 
independent practice and/or prescriptive authority to nurses 
who qualify for such authority.  The Joint Practice 
Committee is also empowered to restrict, suspend or revoke 
such authority also with the approval of the Board of 
Medical Practice.

8.21.2 Independent practice or prescriptive 
authority may be restricted, suspended or revoked where the 
nurse has been found to have committed unprofessional 
conduct in his or her independent practice or prescriptive 
authority or if his or her mental or physical faculties have 
changed or deteriorated in such a manner as to create an 
inability to practice or prescribe with reasonable skill or 
safety to patients.

8.21.3 Unprofessional conduct, for purposes of 
restriction, suspension or revocation of independent practice 
or prescriptive authority shall include but not be limited to:

8.21.3.1 The use or attempted use of any 
false, fraudulent or forged statement or document or use of 
any fraudulent, deceitful, dishonest or immoral practice in 
connection with any acquisition or use of independent 
practice or prescriptive authority;
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8.21.3.2 Conviction of a felony;
8.21.3.3 Any dishonorable or unethical 

conduct likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public;
8.21.3.4 Use, distribution or prescription 

of any drugs or medical devices other than for therapeutic or 
diagnostic purposes;

8.21.3.5 Misconduct, incompetence, or 
gross negligence in connection with independent or 
prescriptive practice;

8.21.3.6 Unjustified failure upon request 
to divulge information relevant to authorization or 
competence to independently practice or exercise 
prescriptive authority to the Executive Director of the Board 
of Nursing or to anyone designated by him or her to request 
such information.

8.21.3.7 The violation of the Nurse 
Practice Act or of an Order or Regulation of the Board of 
Nursing or the Board of Medical Practice related to 
independent practice or prescriptive authority.

8.21.3.8 Restriction, suspension, or 
revocation of independent practice or prescriptive authority 
granted by another licensing authority in any state, territory 
or federal agency.

8.21.4 Complaints concerning the use or misuse 
of independent practice or prescriptive authority received by 
the Division of Professional Regulation or the Board of 
Nursing shall be investigated in accordance with the 
provisions of Title 29, Section 8807 governing investigations 
by the Division of Professional Regulation.  As soon as 
convenience permits, the Board of Nursing shall assign an 
Investigating Board Member to assist with the investigation 
of the complaint.  The Investigating Board Member shall, 
whenever practical, be a member of the Joint Practice 
Committee.

8.21.5 Upon receipt of a formal complaint from 
the Office of the Attorney General seeking the revocation, 
suspension or restriction of independent practice or 
prescriptive authority, the Committee Chairperson shall 
promptly arrange for not less than a quorum of the 
Committee to convene for an evidentiary hearing concerning 
such complaint upon due notice to the licensee against whom 
the complaint has been filed.  Such notice shall comply with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act (29 Del. 
C. Ch. 101).

8.21.6 The hearing shall be conducted in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act  (29
Del.C. §101), and after the conclusion thereof, the Joint 
Practice Committee will promptly issue a written Decision 
and Order which shall be based upon the affirmative vote of 
a majority of the quorum hearing the case.

8.21.7 Any written Decision and Order of the 
Joint Practice Committee which imposes a restriction, 
suspension or revocation of independent practice or 
prescriptive authority shall not be effective prior to the 

approval of the Board of Medical Practice.
4 DE Reg. 296 (8/1/00)
5 DE Reg. 1606 (2/1/02)

* PLEASE NOTE: AS THE REST OF THE SECTIONS WERE 
NOT AMENDED THEY ARE NOT BEING PUBLISHED. A 
COMPLETE SET OF THE BOARD OF NURSING RULES AND 
REGULATIONS ARE AVAILABLE AT:

Board of Nursing

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK

24 DE Admin. Code 5300
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 5306(1) (24 Del.C. §5306(1))

PUBLIC NOTICE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 5306(1), the Delaware 
Board of Massage and Bodywork proposes to revise its rules 
and regulations. The proposed revisions implement changes 
to the rules necessary to conform to the statutory changes 
resulting from House Bill 208 as amended by House 
Amendment No. 1 and Senate Amendment No.1.  The 
revisions clarify the requirements of the change from a 100 
hour course to a 300 hour course for certification as a 
massage technician; the requirements for temporary massage 
technician certification; incorporate continuing education 
requirements for renewal of lapsed licenses; and outline the 
requirements for placing a license on inactive status.  In 
addition, the Board is proposing to revise the rules on 
continuing education to require that all continuing education 
must be pre-approved by the Board.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and 
Regulations on Thursday, October 7, 2004 at 2:00 p.m. in the 
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building, 
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.

Any written comments should be submitted to the Board 
in care of Caitlin Mears, Administrative Specialist, Division 
of Professional Regulation, at the above address. The final 
date to submit written comments shall be at the scheduled 
public hearing. 

This notice will be published in two newspapers of 
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the 
date of the hearing.

The proposed amendments are set forth below:

1.0 Definitions and General Definitions
1.1 The term "500 hours of supervised in-class study" 

as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5308(a)(1) shall mean that an 
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instructor has controlled and reviewed the applicant's 
education on the premises of a school or approved program 
of massage or bodywork therapy, and can document that the 
applicant has successfully completed a curriculum that is 
substantially the same as referenced in 24 Del.C. 
§5308(a)(1) and which includes hands-on technique and 
contraindications as they relate to massage and bodywork. 
More than one school or approved program of massage or 
bodywork therapy may be attended in order to accumulate 
the total 500 hour requirement.

1.2 The term a "100 300 - hour course of supervised in-
class study of massage" as referenced in 24 Del.C. 
§5309(a)(1) shall mean that an instructor has controlled and 
reviewed the applicant's education on the premises of a 
school or approved program of massage or bodywork 
therapy, and can document that the applicant has 
successfully completed a 100 300 hour course which 
includes hands-on technique and theory, and anatomy, 
physiology, and contraindications as they relate to massage 
and bodywork no less than sixty hours of anatomy and 
physiology, one hundred-forty hours of theory and technique 
and one hundred hours of elective courses in the field of 
massage therapy as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5309(a)(1).

1.2.1 The 100 300 hour course must be a unified 
introductory training program in massage and bodywork, 
including training in the subjects set forth in Rule 1.2 1.4. 
The entire 100 300 hour course must be taken at one school 
or approved program.  The Board may, upon request, waive 
the “single school” requirement for good cause or hardship, 
such as the closure of a school.

1.3 The term a “200 hour course of supervised in-class 
study of massage" as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5309(b) shall 
mean that an instructor has controlled and reviewed the 
applicant's education on the premises of a school or 
approved program of massage or bodywork therapy, and can 
document that the applicant has successfully completed a 
200 hour course which includes no less than fifty hours of 
anatomy and physiology, one hundred-ten hours of theory 
and technique, twenty- five hours of ethics, law, and 
contraindications and fifteen hours of elective courses in the 
field of massage therapy as referenced in 24 Del.C.
§5309(b).

1.3 4 The “practice of massage and bodywork” 
includes, but is not limited to, the following modalities:

Acupressure 
Chair Massage
Craniosacral Therapy
Deep Tissue Massage Therapy 
Healing Touch 
Joint Mobilization
Lymph Drainage Therapy
Manual Lymphatic Drainage
Massage Therapy 
Myofascial Release Therapy 

Neuromuscular Therapy
Orthobionomy
Process Acupressure
Reflexology
Rolfing
Shiatsu
Swedish Massage Therapy
Trager
Visceral Manipulation

1.4 5 The practice of the following modalities does 
not constitute the “practice of massage and bodywork”:

Alexander Technique
Aroma therapy
Feldenkrais 
Hellerwork
Polarity Therapy
Reiki
Shamanic Techniques
Therapeutic Touch

3 DE Reg. 1516 (5/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)

2.0 Filing of Application for Licensure as Massage/
Bodywork Therapist

2.1 A person seeking licensure as a massage/bodywork 
therapist must submit a completed application on a form 
prescribed by the Board to the Board office at the Division of 
Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware.  Each application 
must be accompanied by (1) a copy of a current certificate 
from a State certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
program as required by 24 Del.C. §5308(3); and (2) payment 
of the application fee established by the Division of 
Professional Regulation pursuant to 24 Del.C.  §5311.

2.2 In addition to the application and materials 
described in 2.1 of this Rule, an applicant for licensure as a 
massage/bodywork therapist shall have (1) each school or 
approved program of massage or bodywork where the 
applicant completed the hours of study required by 24 Del.C. 
§5308(a)(1) submit to the Board an official transcript or 
official documentation showing dates and total hours 
attended and a description of the curriculum completed; and 
(2) Assessment Systems, Incorporated or its predecessor, 
submit to the Board verification of the applicant's score on 
the written examination described in Rule 3.0 herein.

2.3 The Board shall not consider an application for 
licensure as a massage/bodywork therapist until all items 
specified in 2.1 and 2.2 of  this Rule are submitted to the 
Board's office.

2.3.1 The Board may, in its discretion, approve 
applications contingent on receipt of necessary 
documentation.  If the required documentation is not 
received within 120 days from the date when the application 
is first reviewed by the Board, the Board will propose to 
deny the application.
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2.3.2 If an application is complete in terms of 
required documents, but the candidate has not responded to a 
Board request for further information, explanation or 
clarification within 120 days of the Board’s request, the 
Board will vote on the application as it stands.

2.4 Renewal. Applicants for renewal of a massage/
bodywork therapist license shall submit a completed renewal 
form, renewal fee, proof of continuing education pursuant to 
Rule 6 7.0 and a copy of a current certificate from a State 
certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation program.  License 
holders shall be required to maintain current CPR 
certification throughout the biennial licensure period.

4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)

3.0 Examination
The Board designates the National Certification 

Examination administered by the National Certification 
Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork 
("NCBTMB") as the written examination to be taken by all 
persons applying for licensure as a massage/bodywork 
therapist.  The Board will accept as a passing score on the 
exam the passing score established by the NCBTMB.

4.0 Application for Certification as Massage Technician
4.1 A person seeking certification as a massage 

technician must submit a completed application on a form 
prescribed by the Board to the Board office at the Division of 
Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware.  Each application 
must be accompanied by (1) a copy of current certificate 
from a State certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
program as required by 24 Del.C. §5309(a)(2); and (2) 
payment of the application fee established by the Division of 
Professional Regulation pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5311.

4.2 In addition to the application and materials 
described in 4.1 of this Rule, an applicant for certification as 
a massage technician shall have the school or approved 
program of massage or bodywork therapy where the 
applicant completed the hours or study required by 24 Del.C. 
§5309(a)(1) submit to the Board an official transcript or 
official documentation showing dates and total hours 
attended and a description of the curriculum completed.

4.2.1 An applicant for a temporary massage 
technician certification, in addition to the application and 
materials described in 4.1 of this Rule, shall have the school 
or approved program of massage or bodywork therapy where 
the applicant completed the hours or study required by 24 
Del.C. §5309(b) submit to the Board an official transcript or 
official documentation showing dates and total hours 
attended and a description of the curriculum completed.

4.3 The Board shall not consider an application for 
certification as a massage technician until all items specified 
in 4.1 and 4.2 of  this Rule are submitted to the Board's 
office.

4.3.1 The Board may, in its discretion, approve 

applications contingent on receipt of necessary 
documentation.  If the required documentation is not 
received within 120 days from the date when the application 
is first reviewed by the Board, the Board will propose to 
deny the application.

4.3.2 If an application is complete in terms of 
required documents, but the candidate has not responded to a 
Board request for further information, explanation or 
clarification within 120 days of the Board’s request, the 
Board will vote on the application as it stands.

4.4 Renewal.  Applicants for renewal of a massage 
technician certificate shall submit a completed renewal form, 
renewal fee, proof of continuing education pursuant to Rule 
6.0 7.0 and a copy of a current certificate from a State 
certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation program.  Certificate 
holders shall be required to maintain current CPR 
certification throughout the biennial licensure period. 
Temporary massage technician certificates are valid for no 
more than one (1) year and may not be renewed or reissued 
pursuant to the provision of 24 Del.C. §5309(b).

3 DE Reg. 1516 (5/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)

5.0 Expired License or Certificate
An expired license as a massage/bodywork therapist or 

expired certificate as a massage technician, excluding 
temporary massage technician certificates, may be reinstated 
within one (1) year after expiration upon application and 
payment of the renewal fee plus a late fee as set by the 
Division of Professional Regulation, and submission of 
documentation demonstrating compliance with the 
continuing education requirements of Rule 7.0.

5 DE Reg. 827 (10/01/01)

6.0 Inactive Status
6.1 A licensee asking to have his or her license placed 

on inactive status must notify the Board of his/her intention 
to do so in writing prior to the expiration of his/her current 
license. Holders of temporary massage technician 
certificates are not eligible for inactive status.

6.2 A licensee on inactive status seeking to re-enter 
practice must notify the Board in writing of his/her intention, 
pay the appropriate fee, and provide the Board with 
documentation demonstrating compliance with the 
continuing education hours required by Rule 7.0.

6 7.0 Continuing Education
6 7.1 Hours required.  For license or certification 

periods beginning September 1, 20004 and thereafter, each 
massage/bodywork therapist shall complete twenty-four (24) 
hours of acceptable Board approved continuing education 
during each biennial licensing period, except as otherwise 
provided in these Rules and Regulations.  Each massage 
technician shall complete twelve (12) hours of acceptable 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 3, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 393
continuing education during each biennial licensing period, 
except as otherwise provided in these Rules and Regulations. 
Completion of the required continuing education is a 
condition of renewing a license or certificate.  Hours earned 
in a biennial licensing period in excess of those required for 
renewal may not be credited towards the hours required for 
renewal in any other licensing period.

6 7.1.1 Calculation of Hours.   For academic 
course work, correspondence courses or seminar/workshop 
instruction, one (1) hour of acceptable continuing education 
shall mean 50 minutes of actual instruction.  One (1) 
academic semester hour shall be equivalent to fifteen (15) 
continuing education hours; one (1) academic quarter hour 
shall be equivalent to ten (10) continuing education hours.

6 7.1.2 If during a licensing period an individual 
certified by the Board as a massage technician is issued a 
license as a massage and bodywork therapist, the continuing 
education requirement for that licensing period is as follows:

6 7.1.2.1 If the license is issued more than 
twelve (12) months prior to the next renewal date, the 
licensee shall complete twenty-four (24) hours of acceptable 
continuing education during the licensing period.

6 7.1.2.2 If the license is issued less than 
twelve (12) months prior to the next renewal date, the 
licensee shall complete twelve (12) hours of acceptable 
continuing education during the licensing period.

6 7.2 Proration.  Candidates for renewal who were 
first licensed or certified twelve (12) months or less before 
the date of renewal are exempt from the continuing 
education requirement for the period in which they were first 
licensed or certified.

6 7.3 Content.  
6 7.3.1 Except as provided in Rule 67.3.2, 

continuing education hours must contribute to the 
professional competency of the massage/bodywork therapist 
or massage technician within modalities constituting the 
practice of massage and bodywork.  Continuing education 
hours must maintain, improve or expand skills and 
knowledge obtained prior to licensure or certification, or 
develop new and relevant skills and knowledge.  For each 
biennial licensing period, massage therapists must complete 
at least eighteen of the required twenty-four hours of 
continuing education hours in supervised in-class hands-on 
study of the “practice of massage and bodywork” as defined 
in Rule 1.34.  For each biennial licensing period, massage 
technicians must complete at least nine of the required 
twelve hours of continuing education hours in supervised 
in-class hands-on study of the “practice of massage and 
bodywork” as defined in Rule 1.34.

6 7.3.2 For each biennial licensing period, 
massage therapists may complete (but are not required to 
complete) up to six hours of the required twenty-four hours 
of continuing education hours in any combination of the 
areas and methods listed in Rules 67.3.2.1 through 67.3.2.5. 

In each biennial licensing period, massage technicians may 
complete (but are not required to complete) up to three hours 
of the required twelve hours of continuing education hours in 
any combination of the areas and methods listed in Rules 6
7.3.2.1 through 6.3.2.5 7.3.2.6.

6 7.3.2.1 Courses in modalities such as are 
listed in Rule 1.45, which are modalities other than in the 
practice of massage and bodywork

6 7.3.2.2 Personal growth and 
self-improvement courses

6 7.3.2.3 Business Management Courses
6 7.3.2.4 Courses taught by 

correspondence or mail
6 7.3.2.5 Courses taught by video, 

teleconferencing, video conferencing or computer.
6 7.3.2.6 Courses in anatomy or 

physiology
6 7.4 Board approval. 

6.4.1 “Acceptable continuing education” shall 
include any continuing education programs meeting the 
requirements of Rule 6.3 and offered or approved by the 
following organizations:

6 7.4.1.1 NCBTMB
6 7.4.1.2 American Massage Therapy 

Association
6 7.4.1.3 Association of Oriental 

Bodywork Therapists of America
6 7.4.1.4 Association of Bodywork and 

Massage Practitioners
6 7.4.1.5 Delaware Nurses Association

6.4.2 7.4.1 Other All continuing education must 
be pre-approved by the Board. cContinuing education 
programs or providers may must apply for pre-approval of 
continuing education hours by submitting a written request 
to the Board which includes the program agenda, syllabus 
and time spent on each topic, the names and resumes of the 
presenters and the number of hours for which approval is 
requested. The Board reserves the right to approve less than 
the number of hours requested.

6.4.3 7.4.2 Self-directed activity:  The Board 
may, upon request, review and approve credit for self-
directed activities, including, but not limited to, teaching, 
research, preparation and/or presentation of professional 
papers and articles.  A licensee must obtain pre-approval of 
the Board prior to undertaking the self-directed activity in 
order to assure continuing education credit for the activity. 
Any self-directed activity submitted for approval must 
include a written proposal outlining the scope of the activity, 
the number of continuing education hours requested, the 
anticipated completion date(s), the role of the licensee in the 
case of multiple participants (e.g. research) and whether any 
part of the self-directed activity has ever been previously 
approved or submitted for credit by the same licensee. 

6.4.4 7.4.3 The Board may award additional 
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continuing education credits, on an hour for hour basis, to 
continuing education instructors for the first-time 
preparation and presentation of an approved continuing 
education course for other practitioners, to a maximum of 6 
additional hours. (e.g. an instructor presenting a 8 hour 
course for the first time may receive up to 6 additional credit 
hours for preparation of the course).  This provision remains 
subject to the  limitations of Rule 6 7.3.2.

6 7.5 Reporting.
6 7.5.1 For license or certification periods 

beginning September 1, 20004 and thereafter, each candidate 
for renewal shall submit a summary of  their continuing 
education hours, along with any supporting documentation 
requested by the Board, to the Board on or before May 31 of 
the year the license or certification expires.  No license or 
certification shall be renewed until the Board has approved 
the required continuing education hours or granted an 
extension of time for reasons of hardship. The Board’s 
approval of a candidate’s continuing education hours in a 
particular modality does not constitute approval of the 
candidate’s competence in, or practice of, that modality.

6 7.5.2 If a continuing education program has 
already been approved by the Board, the candidate for 
renewal must demonstrate, at the Board’s request, the actual 
completion of the continuing education hours by giving the 
Board a letter, certificate or other acceptable proof of 
attendance provided by the program sponsor.

6 5.3 If a continuing education program has not 
already been approved by the Board, the candidate for 
renewal must give the Board, at the Board’s request, all of 
the materials required in Rule 67.4.2 and demonstrate the 
actual completion of the continuing education hours by 
giving the Board a letter, certificate or other acceptable proof 
of attendance provided by the program sponsor.

6 7.6 Hardship.  A candidate for renewal may be 
granted an extension of time in which to complete 
continuing education hours upon a showing of unusual 
hardship.  “Hardship” may include, but is not limited to, 
disability, illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction and 
exceptional family responsibilities.  Requests for hardship 
consideration must be submitted to the Board in writing prior 
to the end of the licensing or certification period for which it 
is made.  If the Board does not have sufficient time to 
consider and approve a request for hardship extension prior 
to the expiration of the license, the license will lapse upon 
the expiration date and be reinstated upon completion of 
continuing education pursuant to the hardship exception. 
The licensee may not practice until reinstatement of the 
license.

7.7 Continuing Education Requirements for 
Reinstatement of a Lapsed License. Unless extended by the 
Board for hardship as defined in Rule 7.6, and subject to the 
one (1) year limitation set forth in Rule 5.0, a massage 
therapist applying for reinstatement of a lapsed license must 

provide to the Board adequate proof of the satisfactory 
completion of twenty-four (24) hours of Board approved 
continuing education within the immediately preceding two 
(2) year period prior to the date of application for 
reinstatement.  A massage technician applying for 
reinstatement of a lapsed license must provide to the Board 
adequate proof of the satisfactory completion of twelve (12) 
hours of Board approved continuing education within the 
immediately preceding two (2) year period prior to the date 
of application for reinstatement. Continuing education hours 
required for reinstatement of a lapsed license may not be 
credited towards the hours required for renewal in any other 
licensing period.

7.7.1 A massage therapist who has let his/her 
license lapse for more than one (1) year and is ineligible for 
reinstatement and therefore required to submit a new 
application shall not be permitted to circumvent continuing 
educations requirements.  The massage therapist must 
provide to the Board adequate proof of the satisfactory 
completion of twenty-four (24) hours of Board approved 
continuing education within the immediately preceding two 
(2) year period prior to the date of the new application.  A 
massage technician who has let his/her license lapse for 
more than one (1) year and is ineligible for reinstatement and 
therefore required to submit a new application shall not be 
permitted to circumvent continuing education requirements. 
The massage technician must provide to the Board adequate 
proof of the satisfactory completion of twelve (12) hours of 
Board approved continuing education within the 
immediately preceding two (2) year period prior to the date 
of the new application. Continuing education hours required 
to be filed with a new application may not be credited 
towards the hours required for renewal in any other licensing 
period.

7.8 Continuing Education Requirements for Licensees 
Returning from Inactive Status. Unless extended by the 
Board for hardship as defined in Rule 7.6, a massage 
therapist returning from inactive status must provide notice 
to the Board as set forth in Rule 6.2 and must provide to the 
Board adequate proof of the satisfactory completion of 
twenty-four (24) hours of Board approved continuing 
education within the immediately preceding two (2) year 
period prior to the date of the notice to return to active.  A 
massage technician returning from inactive status must 
provide notice to the Board as set forth in Rule 6.2 and must 
provide to the Board adequate proof of the satisfactory 
completion of twelve (12) hours of Board approved 
continuing education within the immediately preceding two 
(2) year period prior to the date of the notice to return to 
active status. Continuing education hours required to return 
to active status may not be credited towards the hours 
required for renewal in any other licensing period.

3 DE Reg. 1516 (5/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)
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4 DE Reg. 1944 (6/1/01)
5 DE Reg. 1409 (1/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 40 (7/1/03)

7 8.0 Scope of Practice
Licensed massage/bodywork therapist and certified 

massage technicians shall perform only the massage and 
bodywork activities and techniques for which they have been 
trained as stated in their certificates, diplomas or transcripts 
from the school or program of massage therapy where 
trained.

8 9.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically 
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

8 9.1 If the report is received by the chairperson of 
the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately 
notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her 
designate of the report. If the Director of Professional 
Regulation receives the report, he/she shall immediately 
notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that 
chairperson's designate or designates.

8 9.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that 
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of 
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and 
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the 
individual written information describing the Voluntary 
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter 
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

8 9.3 In order for the individual to participate in the 
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to 
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a 
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial 
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days 
following notification to the professional by the participating 
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).

8 9.4 A regulated professional with chemical 
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or 
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and 
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice 
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in 
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary, 
only if such action will not endanger the public health, 
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into 
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or 
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating 
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan 
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and 
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment 
programs may be operated by professional Committees and 
Associations or other similar professional groups with the 
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the 
chairperson of the participating Board.

8 9.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the participating 
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or 
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional 
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary 
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for 
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated 
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment 
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that 
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be 
activated an immediate investigation and institution of 
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in 
subsection (h) of this section.  

8 9.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a 
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which 
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

8 9.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a 
treatment program approved by the participating Board. 
Board approval shall not require that the regulated 
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and 
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies 
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated 
professional's progress.

8 9.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the 
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the 
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating 
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to 
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or 
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the 
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such 
person making such report will not be liable when such 
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

8 9.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in 
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any 
treatment information from anyone within the approved 
treatment program. 

8 9.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional 
to be personally responsible for all costs and charges 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and 
treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of 
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the 
regulated professional to cover administrative costs 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount 
of the fee imposed under this subparagraph shall 
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to 
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the 
proportional expenses incurred by the Division of 
Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board 
in addition to the administrative costs associated with the 
Voluntary Treatment Option.  

8 9.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional 
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment 
program shall be reported to the participating Board's 
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chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the 
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/ 
her designate by the treating professional who shall be 
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good 
faith and without malice.  

8 9.6.6 Compliance by the regulated professional 
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice 
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment 
Option.

8 9.7 The regulated professional's records of 
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not 
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public 
records open to public inspection. However, the participating 
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary 
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated 
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an 
issue.  

8 9.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/her 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in 
consultation with the treating professional at any time during 
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a 
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action 
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or 
safety.  

8 9.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated 
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon 
completion of the program.  

8 9.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to 
comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the 
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional 
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and 
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be 
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary 
proceedings as appropriate.  

8 9.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this 
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune 
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from 
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected 
if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

8 9.12 Any regulated professional who complies with 
all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment 
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless 
otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and 
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with 
the regulated professional shall include the potential for 
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may 
be disclosed.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 705

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 220 (14 Del.C. §220)

705 Training Camp and Special Duty in the National 
Guard and/or Reserves

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of The Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 

Admin. Code 705 Training Camp and Special Duty in the 
National Guard and/or Reserves in order to improve the 
language and to better reflect the intent of the statute.  

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses time off for 
school employees for service in the National Guard and 
Reserves not student achievement. 

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation addresses time off for school employees for 
service in the National Guard and Reserves not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 
amended regulation addresses time off for school employees 
for service in the National Guard and Reserves not health 
and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses time off for school employees for service in the 
National Guard and Reserves not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The amended regulation will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
amended regulation will not place any unnecessary reporting 
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
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placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.  

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There may be the 
additional cost of hiring a substitute for the person while on 
duty.

705 Training Camp and Special Duty in the National 
Guard and/or Reserves

1.0 Leave for Training Camp and Special Duty in the 
National Guard and/or Reserves

1.1 Any permanent and full-time employee who is a 
member of the National Guard or any reserve component of 
the Armed Forces of the United States and who is ordered to 
attend training camp or to perform special duty not in excess 
of fifteen (15) days in any calendar year shall be allowed 
leave with pay for attending such training sessions or 
performing such special duty. Leave for teachers shall apply 
only if the training is with the individual's unit.

1.2 Such military training or special duty leaves shall 
not be deducted from vacation leave or in any other way 
result in loss of privileges or compensation to said employee.

1.3 Employees called to temporary military training or 
special duty shall file a request for military leave with the 
secretary of the local board at least two weeks prior to their 
leave, along with a copy of the official orders summoning 
them to military service.

(See 29 Del.C. §5105 Leave of Absence for Military 
Service, Pension Right; Terms of Successor Appointees)

3 DE Reg. 631 (11/1/99)

705 Leave For Training Camp or Special Duty in the 
National Guard or the Military Reserves of the United 

States

1.0 Any permanent and full time employee shall be excused 
from work with pay to attend training camp or special duty 
on orders as a member of the military reserves of the United 

States or the National Guard, not to exceed fifteen (15) days 
or the equivalent hours as required by the Delaware Code, on 
a prorated basis in any calendar year. 

1.1 Such training or special duty leave shall not be 
deducted from their annual leave or in any other way result 
in loss of privileges or compensation to said employee.

1.2 Any permanent or full time employee shall file a 
request for military leave with their employer at least two 
weeks prior to their leave, along with a copy of their official 
orders.

3 DE Reg. 631 (11/1/99)

(Non-regulatory Note: See 29 Del.C. §5105 Leave of 
Absence for Military Service, Pension Right; Terms of 
Successor Appointees)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 706

706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Service in the 
Armed Forces

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of The Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 

Admin. Code 706 Credit for Experience for Full Time 
Service in the Armed Forces in order to clarify the language 
and to better reflect the intent of the statute.   

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses credit for 
military service for school employees not student 
achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation addresses credit for military service for school 
employees not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 
amended regulation addresses credit for military service for 
school employees not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses credit for military service for school employees 
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not students’ legal rights.
5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 

authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The amended regulation will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the amended 
regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  The cost to the 
State and to the local school boards of compliance with the 
amended regulation is the increased salary costs for the 
increased years of service.
706 Credit for Experience for Full-Time Service in the 
Armed Forces

706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Service in the 
Armed Forces

1.0 Credit for Experience for service in the armed forces 
shall count for full time active duty, not in excess of six (6) 
years in the Armed Services of the United States, provided 
that the individual became a teacher, principal, 
superintendent, or other administrative employee in 
Delaware within five (5) years after completion of a tour of 
duty or within five (5) years after his completion of a course 
of professional or vocational training, if such course was 
begun within five (5) years after completion of a tour of 
duty. Included in the six (6) years will be any instruction in 
Military Science given during years of enlistment.

1.1 Credit for service in the armed forces shall be 
calculated as follows: One year of experience shall be 
allowed for each year of service. For purposes of this 
section, 183 days in any calendar year shall constitute one 
year of experience, but not more than 1 year of experience 
may be credited for any 1 calendar year, except that a 
combined total of 91 days of service and employment in any 
of the positions identified above during any one school year 
will count as a year of experience.

(See 14 Del.C. §§1312(a) and 1327 Leave of Absence for 
Persons in Military Service).

706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Active Duty 
Service in the Armed Forces of the United States

1.0 Credit for Experience for full time active duty service, 
not in excess of six (6) years in the armed services of the 
United States, shall be granted provided the individual 
became a teacher, principal, superintendent, or other 
employee in a Delaware public school:

1.1 Within five (5) years after completion of a tour of 
duty; or 

1.2 Within five (5) years after completion of a course of 
professional or vocational training, if such course was begun 
within five (5) years after completion of the individual’s tour 
of duty.

2.0 Any instruction in Military Science given during years 
of enlistment shall be included in the six (6) years in the 
armed services of the United States. 

3.0 Credit for service in the armed forces of the United 
States shall be calculated as follows:

3.1 One year of experience shall be allowed for each 
creditable year of full time active duty service. 

3.2 In the case of a teacher, principal, superintendent or 
other administrative employee a combined total of ninety 
one (91) days of service and employment in any of these 
positions during any one school year will count as a year of 
experience.  

3.3 No more than one (1) year of experience may be 
credited for any one (1) calendar year.  

(Non-regulatory Note: See 14 Del.C. §1312(a) and §1327 
Leave of Absence for Persons in Military Service).
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 718

718 Health Examinations for School District Employees

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 

Admin. Code 718 Health Examinations for School District 
Employees in order to change the reference in the title and in 
1.0 to all employees of school districts, charter schools and 
alternative programs instead of school district employees. 
This regulation was previously advertised in the July 1, 
2004, Volume 8, Issue 1 of the Register of Regulations.  

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The regulation addresses physical examinations 
for employees of school districts, charter schools and 
alternative programs not student achievement.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education?  The regulation addresses 
physical examinations for school employees not equity 
issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The regulation 
addresses physical examinations for school employees 
which may impact on students’ health.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The regulation addresses physical 
examinations for school employees not students’ legal 
rights.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level?  The amended regulation will continue to 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 

will remain in the same entity.
8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 

impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended 
regulation will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies. 

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the amended regulation?  There is no less 
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the 
amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no 
additional cost to the State or to the local school boards of 
compliance with the regulation.

718 Health Examinations for School District Employees

1.0 At initial employment in a school district, all employees 
shall file, together with other employment credentials, a 
physician's certification that he or she is free from any 
medical condition which would prevent the applicant from 
performing the essential functions of the applicant’s job and 
which cannot be remedied through reasonable 
accommodations.

718 Health Examinations for Employees of School 
Districts, Charter Schools, and Alternative Programs

1.0 At initial employment, all employees of school districts, 
charter schools and alternative programs shall provide a 
physician's certification that he or she is free from any 
medical condition which would prevent the applicant from 
performing the essential functions of the applicant’s job and 
which cannot be remedied through reasonable 
accommodations.

Non regulatory note: See 14 Admin. Code 805 The School 
Health Tuberculosis Control Program for TB screening and 
testing.  Also, see 21 Del.C. §2708 and 14 DE Admin. Code
1105 for requirements for school bus drivers.
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 805

805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control 
Program

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation 

805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program. 
The amendments change the requirement for school staff and 
new school enterers concerning the Mantoux tuberculin skin 
test.

This regulation was advertised previously in the May 1, 
2004 Volume 7 Issue 11 and the July 1, 2004 Volume 8 Issue 
1 Register of Regulations 

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses TB testing not 
achievement standards.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education?  The amended regulation 
addresses TB testing not equity issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The amended 
regulation addresses TB testing which is a health and safety 
issue and the change from requiring a skin test to using a 
questionnaire is recommended by the Delaware Division of 
Public Health.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses TB testing not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
regulation will add the process of administering the 
questionnaire but will substantially reduce the amount of 
actual testing.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 

and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended 
regulation will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  No, there is not a less 
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the 
regulation than amending the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no 
additional cost to the local school boards of compliance with 
the amended regulation.

805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control 
Program

1.0 School Employees, Substitutes, Student Teachers, and 
Contract Employees - All school employees, substitutes, 
student teachers, and contract employees (including bus 
drivers) shall receive the Mantoux tuberculin skin test or 
show proof of being tested in the past 12 months during the 
first 15 working days of employment.

1.1 Present employees, substitutes, and contract 
employees shall show proof of Mantoux tuberculin skin test 
results to the district designee by October 15, every fifth year 
of employment.

1.2 Student teachers need not be retested if they move 
from district to district as part of their student teaching 
assignments.

2.0 Volunteers - Volunteers, those persons who give their 
time to help others for no monetary reward and who share 
the same air space with students and staff on a regularly 
scheduled basis, shall complete the Delaware Department of 
Education’s Health Questionnaire for Volunteers in Public 
Schools prior to their assignment. Should the volunteer 
answer affirmatively to any of the questions, he/she must 
provide proof of a Mantoux tuberculin skin test in the past 12 
months before beginning their assignment.

2.1 Volunteers shall complete the Delaware 
Department of Education’s Health Questionnaire for 
Volunteers in Public Schools every fifth year.

2.1.1The district designee(s) shall collect and 
monitor the volunteer questionnaires. These questionnaires 
will be stored in the School Nurse’s office in a confidential 
manner.
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3.0 Students - All new school enterers shall show proof of a 
Mantoux tuberculin skin test results within the past 12 
months or follow the recommendations of the American 
Academy of Pediatrics (AAP).  Health Care Providers must 
send documentation of the decisions. Multi- puncture skin 
tests will not be accepted. A school enterer is defined as any 
child between the ages of one year and 21 years entering or 
being admitted to a Delaware school district for the first 
time, including but not limited to, foreign exchange students, 
immigrants, students from other states and territories, and 
children entering from nonpublic schools.

3.1 School nurses shall record the results of the 
Mantoux tuberculin skin test in the School Health Record.

3.2 Tuberculin skin test requirements may be waived 
for children whose parent(s) or guardian(s) present a 
notarized document that tuberculin skin testing is against 
their religious beliefs.

4.0 Positive Reactors
4.1 Positive reactors (those currently identified and 

those with a history) need verification from a Health Care 
Provider or Division of Public Health indicating:

4.1.1 Skin test reaction recorded in millimeters.
4.1.2 Current disease status, i.e. contagious or 

non-contagious.
4.1.3 Current treatment, completion of 

preventive treatment for TB infection, or chemotherapy for 
TB disease.

4.1.4 Date when the individual may return to 
their school assignment without posing a risk to the school 
setting.

4.2 If documentation of the test is available, the known 
positive reactor need not have this tuberculin skin test but 
provide the above information related to disease status and 
treatment.

4.2.1 Verification from a Health Care Provider 
or Division of Public Health shall be required only once if 
treatment was completed successfully.

4.3 If documentation of the test is unavailable, the 
individual should be tested.   If the individual refuses to be 
skin tested again, the individual shall provide from a Health 
Care Provider or the Division of Public Health information 
related to disease status and treatment.

4.4 Updated information regarding disease status and 
treatment shall be provided to the district designee by 
October 15 every fifth year if treatment was previously 
contraindicated, incomplete or unknown.

See 1 DE Reg. 1971 (6/1/98)
See 3 DE Reg. 440 (9/1/99)

805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control 
Program

1.0 School Staff and Extended Services Personnel 
1.1 Definition 

“School Staff and Extended Services Personnel”
means all persons hired as full or part time employees in a 
public school who are receiving compensation to work 
directly with students and staff.  This includes, but is not 
limited to teachers, administrators, substitutes, contract 
employees, bus drivers and student teachers whether 
compensated or not.

1.2 Public school staff and extended services personnel 
shall provide the Mantoux tuberculin skin test results from a 
test administered within the past 12 months during the first 
15 working days of employment. 

1.2.1 Student teachers need not be retested if 
they move from district to district as part of their student 
teaching assignments.

1.3 Every fifth year, by October 15th, public school 
staff and extended services personnel shall complete the 
Department of Education TB Health Questionnaire for 
School Employees and the questionnaire responses shall be 
retained in the individual’s personnel file.

1.3.1 If a public school staff member or 
extended services personnel staff member answers 
affirmatively to any of the questions, he/she shall provide 
proof of Mantoux tuberculin skin test results from a test 
administered in the past 6 months by October 30th.

2.0 Volunteers
2.1 Definition:

“Volunteers” mean those persons who give their 
time to help others for no monetary reward and who share 
the same air space with public school students and staff on a 
regularly scheduled basis.

2.2 Volunteers shall complete the Delaware 
Department of Education’s Health Questionnaire for 
Volunteers in Public Schools prior to their assignment and 
every fifth year thereafter.

2.2.1 If the volunteer answers affirmatively to 
any of the questions, he/she must provide proof of Mantoux 
tuberculin skin test results from a test administered in the 
past 12 months before beginning his/her assignment.

2.3 Each public school (s) shall collect and monitor 
these questionnaires and store them in the School Nurse’s 
office in a confidential manner.

3.0 Students
3.1 Definition:

“New School Enterer” means any child between 
the ages of one year and twenty one (21) years entering or 
being admitted to a Delaware public school for the first time, 
including but not limited to, foreign exchange students, 
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immigrants, students from other states and territories, and 
children entering from nonpublic schools.  For purposes of 
this regulation, “new school enterer” shall also include any 
child who is re-enrolled in a Delaware public school 
following travel or residency of one month in a location or 
facility identified by the Delaware Division of Public Health 
as an area at risk for TB exposure.

3.2 All new public school enterers shall show proof of 
Mantoux tuberculin skin test results from a test administered 
within the past 12 months or the results of a TB risk 
assessment questionnaire.

3.2.1 Health Care Providers must send 
documentation of the test results or the risk assessment. 
Multi-puncture skin test results will not be accepted. 

3.2.2 Public school nurses who are trained in the 
use of the Department of Education TB Risk Assessment 
Questionnaire for Students may administer the questionnaire 
to parents, guardians or Relative Caregivers or to a school 
enterer who has reached the statutory age of majority (18) if 
the new enterer is in compliance with the other public school 
entry requirements for a current physical examination and 
up-to-date immunizations.

3.2.3 Public school nurses shall record the 
findings of the Department of Education TB Risk Assessment 
Questionnaire for Students and/or the results of the Mantoux 
tuberculin skin test in the School Health Record.

3.2.4 Tuberculin skin test requirements may be 
waived for public school children whose parent(s) or 
guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver(s) or a school enterer who 
has reached the statutory age of majority (18) presents a 
notarized document that tuberculin skin testing is against 
their religious beliefs.

4.0 Positive Reactors
4.1 Definition:

“Positive Reactor” means an individual currently 
identified as having TB or an individual with a history of 
TB. 

4.2 Positive Reactors need verification from a Health 
Care Provider or the Division of Public Health indicating 
the:

4.2.1 Skin test reaction recorded in millimeters;
4.2.2 Current disease status, i.e. contagious or 

non-contagious;
4.2.3 Current treatment, completion of 

preventive treatment for TB infection, or chemotherapy for 
TB disease and;

4.2.4 Date when the individual may return to 
their school assignment without posing a risk to the school 
setting.

4.3 If documentation of the test is available, the known 
positive reactor need not have this tuberculin skin test but 
provide the information in 4.2.2 through 4.2.4 related to 
disease status and treatment.

4.3.1 Verification from a Health Care Provider 
or Division of Public Health shall be required only once if 
treatment was completed successfully.

4.3.2 If documentation of the test is unavailable, 
the individual should be re-tested or re-assessed.  If the 
individual refuses to be skin tested again, the individual shall 
provide from a Health Care Provider or the Division of 
Public Health information related to disease status and 
treatment.

4.4 In the event the positive reactor shows any signs or 
symptoms of active TB infection, he/she must be excluded 
from school until all required medical verification is 
received by the school.

4.5 Updated information regarding disease status and 
treatment shall be provided to the public school by October 
15 every fifth year if treatment was previously 
contraindicated, incomplete or unknown.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 925

925 Children with Disabilities

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
925 Children with Disabilities.  Section 5.0, Individualized 
Education Program (IEP), would be amended to add new 
sections 5.3.2, 5.4.1 and 5.4.2.  The change in 5.3.2 requires 
including the Career Technical Teacher Coordinator in the 
IEP meeting when the student is in a Cooperative Education 
Program or a Diversified Occupations Program.  The 
changes in 5.4.1 and 5.4.2 address the use of the IEP forms.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses changes in the 
Individualized Education Program (IEP) which may 
contribute to improved student achievement. 

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation addresses changes in the Individualized Education 
Program (IEP) which may contribute to ensuring that all 
children receive an equitable education. 
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3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 
amended regulation addresses changes in the Individualized 
Education Program (IEP) which may contribute to ensuring 
that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected. 

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses changes in the Individualized Education Program 
(IEP)  which may contribute to ensuring that all students’ 
legal rights are protected. 

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The amended regulation will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
amended regulation will not place any unnecessary reporting 
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  The federal law requires the 
state to make regulations concerning students with 
disabilities.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There will be no 
additional cost to the State and to the local school boards of 
compliance with the regulation.

925 Children With Disabilities

5.0 Individualized Education Program (IEP)
An IEP shall be developed prior to delivery of services 

and within thirty (30) calendar days following the 
determination that a child is eligible for special education 
and related services.

5.1 Transition Between Grades or Levels:  During the 

annual review, the IEP team shall consider the needs of the 
child with a disability who is scheduled for a move. 
Communication with the staff of the receiving program shall 
occur to ensure that a child's transition between grades or 
levels does not endanger his/her receipt of a free appropriate 
public education.

5.2 IEP of Transferring Students with Disabilities
5.2.1 A child with a disability who transfers 

from one school district or other public agency educational 
program to another must be temporarily placed in an 
educational setting which appears to be most suited to the 
child's needs based on a decision mutually agreed upon by 
the parents and representative of the receiving school district 
or other public agency.

5.2.2 The request for, and the forwarding of, 
records shall be in accordance with 29 Del. C. Ch. 5.

5.2.3 A child's IEP from the sending school 
district or other public agency may be acceptable for 
temporary provision of special education services.  The 
agreement shall be documented by the signatures of a parent 
and the receiving principal on a temporary placement form 
or the cover page of the IEP.

5.2.4 A review of the IEP shall be instituted and 
completed within thirty (30) calendar days from the date of 
initial attendance of the child in the receiving agency, and 
sixty (60) calendar days for students transferring from out- 
of-state schools.  The receiving school is responsible for 
ensuring that all requirements concerning evaluation, IEP 
development, placement, and procedural safeguards shall be 
applied in determining the provision of special education and 
related services for transferring children.

5.3 IEP Team:  Participants at an IEP meeting shall be 
collectively identified as the IEP Team.

5.3.1 The agency representative must have the 
authority to commit agency resources and be able to ensure 
that whatever services are set out in the IEP will actually be 
provided.

5.3.2 When possible participation in a 
Cooperative Education Program or a Diversified 
Occupations Program is to be discussed, the Career 
Technical Teacher Coordinator shall attend the IEP meeting 
as per 14 DE Admin. Code 525.

5.3.2 5.3.3 The district shall notify parents of the 
IEP meeting no less than ten (10) business days prior to the 
meeting (unless mutually agreed otherwise) to ensure that 
they have the opportunity to attend, and no less than three (3) 
business days for removal due to disciplinary action. See 
12.0 Disciplinary Procedures.

5.4 Content of the Individualized Education Program: 
Each child who is determined to be eligible for special 
education and related services shall have a single IEP.

5.4.1 The Primary IEP form found in The 
Administrative Manual for Special Education Services 
(AMSES) (Appendix A) shall be used for students beginning 
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with preschool (age 3), until use of the Secondary IEP form. 
The Secondary IEP form found in The Administrative 
Manual for Special Education Services (AMSES) 
(Appendix A) shall be used beginning in the eighth grade, or 
earlier, if the IEP team agrees.  

5.4.2 The requirement that the local education 
agencies and other agencies use the forms found in The 
Administrative Manual for Special Education Services 
(AMSES) (Appendix A) does not prohibit or prevent an IEP 
team from including on an IEP any information, service or 
other notation the team determines necessary to provide Free 
Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) to any individual 
child with a disability.

5.4.1 5.4.3 The IEP shall designate whether or 
not it is necessary to place the child who is transported from 
school by bus into the charge of a parent or other authorized 
responsible person.

5.4.2 5.4.4 By the middle of the eighth grade, the 
IEP shall include plans to determine the child’s interests/ 
preferences, and to make application to high school and 
vocational education programs. Full transition services 
planning will apply by the end of the ninth grade or prior to 
the child’s 15th birthday, whichever comes first, unless 
determined appropriate at a younger age by the IEP T team.

5.5 Monitoring IEPs:  As part of the on-going 
responsibility for the monitoring and evaluation of programs 
to determine compliance with state and federal requirements, 
the school district and/or other public agency shall review 
the IEPs of children with disabilities to determine that their 
content is consistent with requirements of these regulations. 
Documentation of monitoring efforts shall be maintained by 
the school district and/or other public agencies.

5.6 Need for Extended School Year Services: Full 
consideration must be given to the educational needs of each 
child. The following factors are to be considered by the IEP 
team in making a decision that, without extended school year 
services over the summer months, the child would not 
receive a fFree aAppropriate pPublic eEducation (FAPE) 
during the regular school year.

5.6.1 Degree of Impairment:  The team should 
determine whether, without extended school year services, 
appropriate and meaningful progress on IEP goals and 
objectives will not be achieved, given the nature and/or 
severity of the child's disability.

5.6.2 Regression/recoupment:  Regression 
refers to a decline in skills specified on the IEP which results 
from an interruption in programming.  Recoupment period is 
the amount of time required to relearn the skills following 
the interruption.  In making a determination as to whether 
extended school year services are required, the team should 
consider that this criterion focuses on students who have a 
consistent pattern of substantial regression in critical skill 
areas and for whom the amount of time needed to relearn the 
skills becomes so significant as to preclude educational 

progress.  The team may utilize predictive data for children 
in their initial year of programming.

5.6.3 Breakthrough opportunities:  The team 
should determine whether, without extended school year 
services, the attainment of a nearly acquired critical skill 
would be significantly jeopardized over the summer break.

5.6.4 Vocational:  For children ages 16-20 
whose IEPs contain vocational/employment goals and 
objectives, the team should determine whether paid 
employment opportunities will be significantly jeopardized 
if training and job coaching are not provided during the 
summer break.

5.6.5 Other rare and unusual extenuating 
circumstances:  The team should determine whether any 
special or extenuating circumstances exist which justify 
provision of extended school year services to meet FAPE 
requirements.

5.6.6 Extended school year services are to be 
based on needs and goals/objectives found within the child's 
IEP of the school year, though activities may be different.

5.6.7 This regulation does not diminish a child's 
entitlement to participate, with or without accommodations, 
in summer school programs provided by local school 
districts.  Normally scheduled summer school programs may 
be an option for providing extended school year services if 
such programs can meet the individual needs of each child, 
per his/her IEP.

5.6.8 The decision of the setting for the delivery 
of extended school year services shall be an IEP team 
decision.  The team shall document that the Least Restrictive 
Environment (LRE) was considered in making a decision. 
Districts are not required to establish school programs for 
non-disabled students for the sole purpose of satisfying the 
LRE requirements for students receiving extended school 
year services.

5.6.9 Transportation shall be provided to 
students except for service provided in the home or hospital. 
Mileage reimbursement to the family may be used as a 
transportation option if the parent voluntarily transports the 
student.

5.6.10 Written notice shall be provided to parents 
advising them that extended school year services will be 
discussed at the IEP meeting.  The IEP team shall document 
that extended school year services were considered, and 
indicate the basis for a decision on the IEP.  In cases where 
parents do not attend the IEP meeting, they would be advised 
of the decision on extended school year services through the 
usual IEP follow-up procedures used by the district.

5.6.11 In cases where parents do not agree with 
the decision on extended school year services, the use of 
normal procedural safeguards shall be followed.  The 
process shall begin early enough to ensure settlement of the 
issue prior to the end of the school year.

3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)
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* PLEASE NOTE: AS THE REST OF THE SECTIONS WERE 
NOT AMENDED THEY ARE NOT BEING PUBLISHED. A 
COMPLETE SET OF THE REGULATIONS FOR CHILDREN 
WITH DISABILITIES ARE AVAILABLE AT:

http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title14/900/
925%20Children%20with%20Disabilities.shtml#TopOf
Page

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
14 DE Admin. Code 1554

1554 Standard Certificate Reading Specialist

Educational Impact Analysis
Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 1554 Standard Certificate Reading Specialist. 
The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of 
educational personnel, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a).  It is 
necessary to amend this regulation to clarify to which 
educators this regulation applies. 

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses student 
achievement by establishing standards for the issuance of a 
standard certificate to educators who have acquired the 
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a 
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a 
particular category of students to help ensure that students 
are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach 
students meet high standards and have acquired the 
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a 
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a 
particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The 
amended regulation addresses educator certification, not 
students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students' legal rights are respected? The amended regulation 
addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board 
and school level?   The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?   The 
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.  

7. Will decision making authority and accountability 
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the 
same entity?   The decision-making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests 
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with 
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the 
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with, 
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9.  Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the new regulation?  14 Del.C. requires that 
we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?   There 
is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance 
with the regulation.

1554 Standard Certificate Reading Specialist

1.0 Content:
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for 
Reading Specialist.  

2.0 Definitions:
The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
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holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Reading Specialist” means an educator who provides 
one-on-one or small group, diagnostic, prescriptive teaching 
of reading,  and includes, Title I reading teachers, reading 
resource teachers, Reading First teachers and coordinators, 
and individuals employed as building or district 
coordinators/Cadre of reading who work with teachers in 
reading and communication skills.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill, 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Reading Specialist to 
an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, 
or Advanced License; or Standard or Professional Status 
Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 
2003, and who meets the following requirements:

3.1 Degree
3.1.1 Graduating from an NCATE specialty 

organization recognized educator preparation program 
offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with 
a major in Reading; or

3.1.2 Graduating from a state approved educator 
preparation program offered by a regionally accredited 
college or university, with a major in Reading, where the 
state approval body employed the appropriate NCATE 
specialty organization standards; or

3.1.1 3.1.3Master's degree (or a Bachelor's degree 
plus 30 graduate credits) from a regionally accredited 
college or university and,

3.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
3.1.3.1 3.3.1 Minimum of 24 semester hour 

credits in graduate level reading courses covering the 
following content areas as specified below unless otherwise 
specified:

3.1.3.1.1 3.3.1.1 Language Development, , 
3 semester hours;

3.1.3.1.2 3.3.1.2 Methods in Process 
Writing/Language Arts, 3 semester hours; 

3.1.3.1.3 3.3.1.3 Assessment and 
Correction of Reading Difficulties, 6 semester hours;

3.1.3.1.4 3.3.1.4 Practicum in Reading to 
include application of assessment and correction strategies, 
parent involvement strategies, and experience in working as 
a reading resource person with staff, 6 semester hours;

3.1.3.1.5 3.3.1.5 Reading in the Content 
Areas, 3 semester hours;

3.1.3.1.6 3.3.1.6 Children's or Adolescent 
Literature Across the Curriculum, 3 semester hours; and

3.1.3.1.7 3.3.2 Minimum of three graduate 
semester hours from among the following: Seminar in 

Reading Research, Emergent Literacy, Teaching English as a 
Second Language or Children's or Adolescent Literature.

3.2 Experience
3.2.1 Minimum of three years of successful 

teaching experience with at least two years in the K-12 
classroom and,

3.3  Specialized Professional Preparation
3.3.1 Minimum of 21 semester hour credits in 

graduate level reading courses unless otherwise specified:
3.3.1.1 Language Development, graduate or 

undergraduate, 3 semester hours
3.3.1.2 Methods in Process Writing/Language 

Arts, 3 semester hours 
3.3.1.3 Assessment and Correction of 

Reading Difficulties, 6 semester hours.
3.3.1.4 Practicum in Reading to include 

application of assessment and correction strategies, parent 
involvement strategies, and experience in working as a 
reading resource person with staff, 3 semester hours.

3.3.1.5 Reading in the Content Areas, 
graduate or undergraduate, 3 semester hours.

3.3.1.6 Children's or Adolescent Literature 
Across the Curriculum, 3 semester hours. 

3.3.2 Minimum of three graduate semester 
hours from among the following: Seminar in Reading 
Research, Emergent Literacy, Teaching English as a Second 
Language or Children's or Adolescent Literature.

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 
only.  Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate as a 
Reading Specialist after that date must comply with the 
requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1516.  This 
regulation shall be effective immediately.  Notwithstanding 
this provision, Reading Specialists hired prior to July 1, 
2006, who do not currently meet the requirements set forth 
herein, but who hold an Initial, Continuing or Advanced 
License; or a Professional Status Certificate issued prior to 
August 31, 2003, may be issued a Standard Certificate as a 
Reading Specialist contingent on their completion of the 
requirements set forth herein within three (3) years of the 
effective date of this regulation or their date of employment 
in the position of Reading Specialist, whichever is later.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Chapter 5, Sections 11002, 11004 and 11006
(31 Del.C. §§11002, 11004 and 11006)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Child Care Subsidy Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding child care purchase of care policy, as it 
relates specifically to compensation, method of payment, 
and collection of fees.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program & 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O. 
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware by October 1st, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

Statutory Authority

• 42 USC §§9858-9858q, Child Care and 
Development Block Grant

• 31 Delaware Code, Ch 3, Subchapter VII, Child 
Day-Care Centers

The proposed rule will allow providers to charge DSS 
fee paying clients the difference between the DSS 
determined parent fee and the provider’s private fee. 
Providers will not be allowed to charge non-fee paying 
clients the difference.  

The proposed changes will also allow self-arrange 
parents whose provider does not have a subsidy slot 
available to opt to pay only the difference between the DSS 
rate and the provider’s private rate.  Thus eliminating the 4 
to 6 week wait for DSS client reimbursement. 

The proposed changes will be incorporated into the 

Division of Social Services Child Care Contract (Section IV, 
Method of Payment, and Collection of Fees, Paragraph J) 
and the Division of Social Services Child Care Certificate 
Provider Agreement and Registration Form (Section II, Fees, 
Paragraph C).

Implementation of the proposed provisions on 
November 10th, 2004 is contingent upon promulgation of 
this rule.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATIONS #04-16

REVISIONS:

11002.9 Definitions and Explanation Of Terms

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

AA. Income Limit - The maximum amount of gross 
income a family can receive to remain financially eligible for 
child care services.  Current income limit is 200 percent of 
the federal poverty level.

AB. Job Training - A program which either 
establishes or enhances a person's job skills.  Such training 
either leads to employment or allows a person to maintain 
employment already obtained.  Such training includes, but is 
not limited to:  Food Stamp Employment & Training 
contracted programs, JTPA sponsored training programs, 
recognized school vocational programs, and on-the-job 
training programs.

AC. Large Family Child Care Home - A place 
where licensed care is provided for more than six but less 
than twelve children.

AD. Legal Care - Care which is either licensed or 
exempt from licensing requirements.

AE. Parent - The child's natural mother, natural 
legal father, adoptive mother or father, or step-parent.

AF. Parental Choice - The right of parent/caretakers 
to choose from a broad range of child care providers, the 
type and location of child care.

AG. Protective Services - The supervision/
placement of a child by the Division of Family Services in 
order to monitor and prevent situations of abuse or neglect.

AH. Physical or Mental Incapacity - A 
dysfunctional condition which disrupts the child's normal 
development patterns during which the child cannot function 
without special care and supervision.  Such condition must 
be verified by either a doctor or other professional with the 
competence to do so.

AI. Reimbursement Rates - The maximum dollar 
amount the State will pay for child care services.

AJ. Relative - Grandparents, aunts, uncles, 
brothers, sisters, cousins, and any other relative as defined 
by TANF policy, as they are related to the child.
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AK. Residing With - Living in the home of the 
parent or caretaker.

AL. SSBG - Social Services Block Grant.  Under 
the CCMIS, this is Category 31 child care.

AM. Seamless Services - To the extent permitted by 
applicable laws, a family is able to retain the same provider 
regardless of the source of funding, and providers are able to 
provide services to children regardless of the basis for the 
family's eligibility for assistance or the source of payment.

AN. Self-Arranged Care - Child care which either 
parents or caretakers arrange on their own between 
themselves and providers.  In this instance, the parent/
caretakers choose to use a child care certificate, but the 
provider does not accept the State reimbursement rate for 
child care services.  DSS limits payment for self-arranged 
care to its regular provider rates.  Parent/Caretakers, in 
addition to any parent fee they pay, must also pay the 
difference between DSS’ reimbursement rates and the 
providers’ charge.    

AO. Self-Initiated - Clients who enter an education 
or training program on their own.  The education or training 
program must be comparable to a Food Stamp Employment 
& Training - TANF education or training component.  Self-
initiated clients must receive child care services if there is a 
child care need.

AP. Special Needs Child - A child under 18 years 
of age whose physical, emotional, or developmental needs 
require special care.  Both the need and care must be verified 
by a doctor or other professional with the competence to do 
so.

AQ. Special Needs Parent/Caretaker - An adult, 
who because of a special need, is unable on his/her own to 
care for children.  The need must be verified by a doctor or 
other professional with the competence to do so.

AR. Technical Eligibility - Parent/caretakers meet 
requirements, other than financial, to receive child care 
services based on need and category.

AS. Verification - Written or oral documentation, 
demonstrating either need for service or sources of income.

AT. Purchase of Care Plus (P.O.C. +) - Care option 
that allows providers to charge fee paying clients the 
difference between the DSS reimbursement rate up to the 
provider’s private fee for service. The provider receives DSS 
rate, the DSS determined parent fee and any  additional 
provider-determined co-pay.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11004.4.1 Explanation of Certificates
Use the following as a guide to explain the child care 

certificate package.
A. Parent/caretakers can use this package to select a 

child care provider of their choice. However, they must 
select care that is legal.  Legal care is care that is licensed or 

that is exempt from licensing requirements.
B. Licensed Care:  In Delaware, all family child care 

homes, group homes, and child care centers must have a 
license to operate.  Do not allow a parent to select an 
unlicensed family, group, or center child care provider.

C. License-exempt Care:  The following provider 
types are exempt from licensing requirements in Delaware:

1. persons who come into the child's own home to 
care for the parent/caretaker's child,

2. relatives who provide care in their home for the 
parent/caretaker's child;

3. public or private school care,
4. preschools and kindergarten care, and
5. before and after school care programs.
Though the above provider types are exempt from 

licensing requirements, they are still required to meet certain 
health and safety standards.  These standards are:

1. maintaining documentation of the child's 
immunization record,

2. safe and clean building premises,
3. providers and those 18 and older who live in 

the home where care is being provided must not have any 
record of child abuse or neglect (do not allow persons to 
provide care where there is a known record of abuse or 
neglect), and

4. relatives who provide care cannot be part of the 
welfare grant.

D. Once parent/caretakers know the appropriate 
provider to select, they also need to know how DSS will pay 
for the care provided.  DSS has established rates above 
which it will not pay (see Appendix II for current 
reimbursement rates).

Parent/caretakers will need to know these rates and 
whether or not the provider is willing to accept them.  If the 
provider is willing, the certificate will act just like a DSS 
contract and DSS will pay the provider directly less any 
child care fee.  If the provider is not willing, the parent/
caretaker will self-arrange care with the individual provider.

If the provider contracted purchase of care slots are 
full, the provider may offer the parent/caretaker the option of 
receiving service as a purchase of care plus client.  The 
provider then receives the regular DSS subsidy from the 
Division, the DSS determined parent fee and any additional 
fee determined by the provider from the parent/caretaker.

If the provider is not willing to accept purchase of 
care or purchase of care plus, the parent/caretaker will self-
arrange care with the individual provider.  The parent/
caretaker will pay the provider and submit an original receipt 
to DSS for reimbursement.  The parent/caretaker, however, 
will only receive reimbursement up to the DSS statewide 
limit. 

E. The provider will need to complete and return the 
original copy of the actual child care certificate before Case 
Managers can authorize care.  Relative and non-relative 
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providers will also complete and return the Child Abuse/
Neglect History Clearance Form or forms for all members 18 
and older living in the home.  If this form is not returned, 
discontinue care.  Other exempt providers will need to keep 
a completed child/abuse and criminal history declaration 
statement on file for each child care staff member. 

F. Service will not be delayed because of an 
incomplete child abuse clearance check, but remind parent/
caretakers that DSS will not pay for care if, after 
authorization, the check should reveal a history of abuse or 
neglect.

G. Allow parent/caretakers one month to use a 
certificate.  If the certificate is not used within that time, it no 
longer remains valid and the parent/caretakers will need to 
obtain a new certificate if they still wish to receive service.

H. The original copy of the child care certificate is 
completed and returned by the provider.  The certificate 
package provides instructions for completion.  The provider 
should keep a copy.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11004.7.2 Paying the Child Care Fee
Parent/caretakers will pay their child care fee directly to 

the child care provider.  This fee, in combination with what 
DSS pays the provider, represents the reimbursement limit 
DSS allows for child care services.  These limits are based 
on the child care type and the age of the child.  DSS either
has contracts with providers for these rates or providers 
agree to accept them as their rates which include purchase of 
care plus option.  If, however, providers do not accept these 
rates or the purchase of care plus option, parent/caretakers 
will self-arrange care directly with the provider.  In this 
instance, the parent/caretaker will not only pay their fee, but 
also the provider's full charge for care.  The parent/caretaker 
will submit an original receipt for reimbursement, at which 
time DSS will reimburse the parent/caretaker in an amount 
up to the statewide limits (see 11004.4.1 above), less the 
child care fee.

Parent/caretakers who fail to pay their child care fee or 
who fail to make arrangements to pay past fees owed will 
have their child care services terminated.  Providers are 
responsible for informing DSS of the parent/caretaker's 
failure to pay the fee.  Obtain such information in writing 
from providers whenever possible.  However, it is acceptable 
to obtain this information verbally if the following 
procedures are used.

A. Accept and document (e.g. note the date and 
time of the call/conversation and the information given in the 
case record) the information from the provider.

B. Request that the provider follow up this 
information in writing to the child care monitor in their 
county.

C. Send the Failure to Pay Child Care Fee Closing 

(CCMIS Notice 4060) to the parent/caretakers informing 
them that service will terminate due to non-payment of the 
fee unless arrangements are made with providers to pay past 
fees owed.

NOTE: Allow timely (10 days) and adequate notice.
D. Require parent/caretakers to submit 

information in writing which details the arrangements they 
made with providers to pay past fees owed.

Parent/caretakers whose child care case closes because 
of failure to pay child care fees cannot receive a new 
authorization for service until they satisfy or make 
arrangements to pay past fees owed.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11006.4.2 Fee Paying Clients
The client fee is based on the DSS scale according to the 

client's income.  The provider is responsible for collecting 
fees from their private and DSS fee-paying clients.  The 
provider must develop a fee collection policy that states the 
fees collected prior to or after delivery of service and the 
frequency of collection, such as weekly, biweekly, or 
monthly.  The provider's fee collection policy should be 
discussed with the parent/caretaker upon initial enrollment at 
the facility and should be reviewed periodically.

The provider must ensure that enrollment procedures 
include how the provider informs parent/caretakers of the 
availability of purchase of care slots for non-fee paying 
clients.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Section 607 (18 Del.C. §607)

Notice Of Public Hearing

Regulation 504 Continuing Education for Insurance 
Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants 

[Formerly Regulation 47]

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H. 
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING 
will be held on Tuesday, October 5, 2004, at 10:00 AM in the 
Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware 
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware. The hearing is to consider amending Regulation 
504 relating to Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, 
Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers.

The purpose for amending Regulation 504 is to change 
certain course requirements relating to continuing education 
for licensed producers, to modernize and streamline course 
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approval procedures, to change reciprocity guidelines to 
reflect changes in policy and law, and to make technical 
corrections and changes to the existing regulation.  The 
foregoing purposes are general in nature and do not include 
all specific changes to the existing regulation.  The proposed 
amendments are designed to incorporate the changes to 
continuing education standards for producers approved by 
the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.  A 
copy of the proposed regulation is on the Delaware 
Department of Insurance website at http://www.state.de.us/
inscom/   

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 19 
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited 
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or 
may be presented orally at the Hearing. Written comments, 
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed 
change to the regulation must be received by the Department 
of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Monday October 4, 
2004, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General 
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, telephone 
302.739.4251. 

Regulation 504 Continuing Education for Insurance 
Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants 

[Formerly Regulation 47]

1.0 Statutory Authority and Purpose
This Regulation is established and promulgated 

pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§314, 1726 1718 and 29 Del.C.
Ch.101.  

2.0 Purpose
The purpose of this Regulation is to establish 

requirements for insurance education and ethics for resident
insurance adjusters, public adjusters, producers, agents, 
brokers, surplus lines brokers and for standards for education 
providers and instructors in order to ensure a high level of 
professionalism for the benefit of Delaware consumers.
 
32.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this 
regulation, have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:

"Administrative record" means any document relating 
to course approval, course offerings, attendance, course 
completions or credits, and any other records required to be 
kept by the Delaware Insurance Code, and any rule or order 
of the Department.

"Audit" means Insurance Department activity to 
monitor the offering of courses or examinations, including 
visits to classrooms, test sites, and administrative offices 

where documentation of individual attendance and 
completion records and documentation of instructor 
credentials is maintained. Audit may include re-evaluating 
approved classroom course outlines, and self-study 
programs and distance learning programs based on current 
guidelines.

"Authorized representative" means the person 
designated by the entity as responsible for the timely filing 
of all required Department forms and documentation for 
courses and for the maintenance of necessary administrative 
records including but not limited to classes held, 
examinations monitored, instructor qualifications, and 
attendance records.

“Commissioner” means the Insurance Commissioner 
of the State of Delaware and/or such designee appointed by 
the Commissioner.

"Completion" when used in the context of:
• Self-Study, means a passing grade of 70% or 

better on the examination.
• Class, means attendance for the full amount 

of time approved for each course.
• Seminar means attendance for the full 

amount of time assigned for each workshop or break-
out session selected.

"Compliance date" means the 28th day of February of
the continuing education reporting period for which resident 
licensee continuing education or non-resident renewal is 
required. Each license biennium shall commence on March 
1st and end February 28th of the odd year period for non-
residents and the even year for residents even numbered 
years. Each biennial license shall commence on March 1st 
and end February 28th of even numbered years. 

"Contact person" means the person at the entity level 
with authority to transact business for the entity; through 
contracts, licenses, or other means, usually as the owner or 
corporate officer, and who designates the school official to 
represent the entity.

"Continuously licensed" means an uninterrupted 
license without lapse due to suspension, revocation, 
voluntary surrender, cancellation or non-renewal for a period 
of 12 months or greater.

"Course" shall means any class, self-study, or seminar 
or distance learning course for insurance producers, surplus 
lines brokers, adjuster and public adjustor licensees or other 
insurance professionals that producers, surplus lines brokers, 
adjuster and public adjustor licensees or other insurance 
professionals that has been approved by the Department for 
the purpose of complying with continuing education 
requirements.

"Credit hour (CEUs)” means one (1) unit of credit 
based on a classroom hour or approved hour of credit for a 
seminar or self-study program.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of 
Insurance.
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"Disciplinary action" means administrative action that 
has been taken against an individual or entity as a licensee or 
approved course provider, instructor, or school official for 
which probation, suspension, or revocation of any license 
(issued by this or any other state, country, or territory) or 
approved status has been ordered or consented to or for 
which a fine has been entered for a wrongdoing against a 
consumer or a licensee.

“Distance learning” or “Distance education” means 
instructional delivery that does not constrain the student to 
be physically present in the same location as the instructor. 
Distance education includes but is not limited to: audio, 
instructional television, videotape, teleconferencing, audio/
video conferencing, and computer conferencing, web based 
instruction, traditional self-study course(s) including CDs 
and DVDs as supplied materials and  any other planned 
learning that normally occurs in a different place from 
teaching and as a result requires special techniques of course 
design, special instructional techniques, special methods of 
communication by electronic and other technology, as well 
as special organizational and administrative arrangements 
approved by the Department.

"Entity sponsor" or “sponsor” means a natural 
person, firm, institution, partnership, company, corporation, 
or association offering, sponsoring, or providing courses 
approved by the Department in eligible continuing education 
subjects.

"Ethics credits" means the study of fiduciary 
responsibility, commingling of funds, payment and 
acceptance of commissions, unfair claims practices, 
professionalism, policy replacement consideration, handling 
or supervising the affairs or funds of another, and conflicts of 
interest and matters that deal with individual character and 
personal characteristics such as honesty, integrity and 
professionalism in the insurance industry.

"Hour" means sixty (60) minutes of class or seminar 
time, of which at least fifty (50) minutes must be instruction, 
with a maximum of ten minutes of break per hour all of 
which must be accounted for on the agenda or syllabus. For 
self-study courses, "hour" means fifty (50) sixty (60) 
minutes of time including reading and studying which would 
be necessary to successfully complete the final examination 
(actual exam time not included).  

"Initially Licensed" means the first insurance license 
issued an individual by this Department authorizing the 
transaction of insurance business in this state to which the 
continuing education requirement applies.

"Recognized association" means an insurance industry 
association established for at least 5 years.

"School official" means the person designated by the 
entity as responsible for the timely filing of all required 
Department forms and documentation for courses and for the 
maintenance of necessary administrative records including 
but not limited to classes held, examinations monitored, 

instructor qualifications, and attendance records.
"Syllabus" means an agenda showing the schedule of 

how a continuing education course is to be presented 
including time allotment to subject matter and including any 
meals and break times.

2 DE Reg. 122 (7/1/98)

43.0 Course Providers
43.1 Provider Approval. A provider who sponsors a 

continuing education course must be approved by the 
Commissioner Department and shall be operated by, 
including but not limited to, an authorized insurance 
company, a recognized insurance agents’ association, an 
insurance trade association, a self-insurance fund, a non-
profit educational institute, national provider, a member of a 
state Bar Association, an independent program of 
instruction, or an institution of higher learning. Application 
for entity approval shall be concurrent with application for 
course approval and shall be submitted on written forms or 
in an electronic format approved prescribed by the 
Commissioner Department. The Department may approve of 
or participate in reciprocal agreements relating to continuing 
education with the NAIC and/or its members.  In assessing a 
provider’s application for approval, the Commissioner
Department may consider, among other factors, whether the 
management of a provider, including officers, directors, or 
any other person who directly or indirectly controls the 
operation of the provider, fails to possess and demonstrate 
the competence, fitness and reputation deemed necessary to 
serve the provider in such position.

43.2 General Requirements and Responsibilities.
43.2.1 Providers shall maintain the records of 

each individual completing a course for three (3)4 years 
from the date of completion and shall send the Department a 
roster of those in attendance within thirty (30) days of the 
course completion date on forms or in electronic format 
prescribed by the Department upon request of the 
Commissioner submit a course roster list of course attendees 
which includes all information available on Form CE-4.

43.2.2 Providers shall notify the Producer Agent 
and Agency Licensing Education Section, within thirty (30) 
days of a change in their mailing address or administrative 
office address.

43.2.3 Course providers will provide each 
licensee successfully completing their program a Certificate 
of Completion /Course report form CE-4 in accordance with 
section 8.4. It must contain, at a minimum:

4.2.3.1 Licensee’s name
4.2.3.2 Social Security Number
4.2.3.3 Title of the educational activity
4.2.3.4 Delaware course number 
4.2.3.5 Delaware sponsor number
4.2.3.6 Number of CEUs earned
4.2.3.7 Authorized signature of school 
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official
for attendees’ records only after successful completion 

of the entire approved education course/activity. Entity 
Sponsors are required to distribute a Certificate of 
Completion to each licensee successfully completing the 
educational activity within thirty (30) calendar days.

43.2.4 Course providers shall obtain the 
Commissioner Department’s approval for each course 
offered.  No prior approval shall be required for any course 
offered through any NAIC sponsored reciprocal agreement 
but course credit under this regulation shall only be allowed 
for those subjects eligible for course credit in Delaware.  A 
Course Report Form CE-4 shall be completed and 
distributed to the licensee only after completion of the entire 
course. Entity Sponsors are required to distribute course 
report forms to each licensee successfully completing the 
educational activity within fifteen (15) calendar days.

43.2.5 No partial credit may be granted for any 
course unless an emergency arises. In case of an emergency, 
a written explanation shall be provided to the Commissioner
Department upon request.

43.2.6 Self-study courses shall contain an exam 
that shall be graded by the sponsor or an approved third 
party. No credit shall be given for a failing grade.

43.2.7 One Continuing Education Credit shall 
consist of fifty (50) minutes of qualifying classroom 
instruction.

43.2.8 Course Providers are responsible for the 
actions of their school officials, instructors, speakers and 
monitors.

43.2.9 Entity sponsors and instructors shall 
conduct themselves in a professional manner and may not 
misrepresent any course material or other information.

43.2.10 Educational activities are approved for a 
term of 3 years unless requested by the Commissioner to be 
resubmitted for approval.  Course approvals, once granted by 
the Department, shall remain valid until modified or 
terminated by the entity sponsor or Department.  Any 
changes or modifications to one or more courses by an entity 
sponsor shall not be valid until submitted to and approved by 
the Department in writing.  All courses approved for credit 
as of November 1, 2004 shall not be subject to re-approval 
under the provisions of this section.

43.2.11 No activity may be advertised as having 
been approved until the sponsor receives written notification 
from the Department. The use of "approval pending" is 
acceptable advertising.

45.0 Instructors
45.1 An entity sponsor shall certify to the 

Department that tThe  instructor shall possess one or more of 
the following qualifications:

45.1.1 A minimum of 3 years working experience 
in the subject matter being taught.

45.1.2 An approved professional designation in 
accordance with Section 9.3 from a recognized association.

451.3 A degree from an accredited school in the 
subject matter being taught.

45.1.4 Special expertise, such as employment 
with a governmental entity; or a documented history of 
research or study in the area.

45.1.5 An instructor who is a licensee shall 
receive two times the same number of continuing education 
credits granted to participants. The instructor may not 
receive additional credit for teaching the same course more 
than once in a biennium reporting period.

45.1.6 Instructors shawill have the authority and 
responsibility to deny credit to anyone who disrupts the class 
or is inattentive. Based on the course provider’s policies, 
refunds may be given. It will be a violation of this regulation 
for an instructor or school official to knowingly allow during 
the class, the activities of sleeping, reading of books, 
newspapers, or other non-course materials, use of a cellular 
phone, or to allow absence from class other than authorized 
breaks. Penalties will be assessed against participant, 
instructor, and school, as provided in this regulation. 
Approval of a course will constitute approval of submitted 
instructors. Course submissions must include a narrative 
biography of each instructor.

56.0 Commissioner Department’s Action upon 
Violation or Non-conformity by Course Provider or 
Instructor

If the Commissioner Department determines that a 
course provider or instructor has violated any provisions of 
this regulation, the Commissioner Department may 
withdraw approval of the entity sponsor or instructor or may 
order a monetary penalty or refund of course fees to 
licensees who attended the course, or both. The 
Commissioner Department may also refuse to approve 
courses conducted by specific sponsors or instructors if the 
Commissioner Department determines that past offerings by 
those entity sponsors or instructors have not been in 
compliance with insurance education laws, rules and 
regulations. The Commissioner Department or his/her 
designee(s) may perform course provider audits on all 
educational activity proposed to be available to licensees of 
this State. 

67.0 Appeals
67.1 Appeals shall be conducted in accordance with 

the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C.
Ch.101 and 18 Del. C. §§ 323-28. 

67.2 Providers may appeal to the Commissioner or 
Commissioner’s designee, from any adverse decision on 
their request concerning continuing education activity. 
Appeals shall be in writing and minimally contain:

67.2.1 A synopsis of the issue,
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 3, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 413
67.2.2 The basis for the appeal,
67.2.3 The name, address, and telephone number 

of a contact person,
67.2.4 A copy of the original course submission 

and supporting documents, and
67.2.5 A copy of any correspondence from the 

Continuing Education Advisory Council or the Insurance 
Department.

78.0 Required Forms.
7.1 Requests for entity sponsor approval shall be made 

to the Department on such forms as shall be authorized by 
the Department.

7.2 Requests for entity sponsor course approval shall be 
made to the Department on such forms as shall be authorized 
by the Department.

Course Providers shall apply for registration, course 
submission, repeat course submission and licensee 
certificate of completion (Delaware Course Report Form) on 
forms prescribed and approved by the Commissioner. The 
following forms apply unless or until revised by the 
Commissioner:

8.1 Request for entity sponsor approval shall be made 
on Department Form CE-1 (Attachment 1).

8.2 Request for entity sponsor course approval shall be 
made on Department Form CE-2 (Attachment 2).

8.3 Course providers shall submit a Form CE-3 to the 
Department not less than 7 days prior to the offering of any 
course that was previously approved by the Department for 
an unspecified date or is to be repeated. (Form CE-3 
Attachment 3)

8.4 Form CE-4 Course Report Form. Form CE-4 
contents may be submitted in an alternative format so long as 
prior approval is obtained.

8.5 Continuing Education Course Evaluation Form CE-
5. The Department may request licensees to complete course 
evaluation forms as a means of auditing a course and entity 
sponsor.

89.0 Licensee’s Responsibility.
89.1 Each licensee shall retain each original course 

completion certificate/course report form(s) CE-4 for a 
period of 3 years. The certificate of completion Form CE-4
may be required in the event of a discrepancy between the 
licensee’s records and the Department’s records. Each 
licensee may be subjected to a Department audit of 
continuing education requirements. Failure to comply with a 
Department audit may result in suspension of a licensee’s 
license. Each licensee will have thirty (30) days to produce 
such records upon request or audit by the Department
Pursuant to section 8.5, the Department may require a 
licensee to complete a course evaluation form.

89.2 General Requirements. Resident licensees and 
producers not otherwise exempted shall earn, at a minimum, 

the number of education credits described below.
89.2.1 Resident licensees required to fulfill 

continuing education requirements shall complete twenty-
four (240) credit hours of Department approved education 
subjects, four (4) of which shall be in ethics subjects during 
each biennium reporting period.  If the resident producer 
holds a health license and solicits long term care policies, as 
part of his/her biennial requirement, the producer must 
complete at least three (3) hours of training in Delaware long 
term care insurance that consists of product knowledge, 
laws, rules and regulations.

89.2.2 Resident adjusters, public adjusters 
Limited Representatives, Adjusters and Fraternal Agents 
shall be required to fulfill twelveten (120) credit hours of 
Department approved education subjects, four (4) of which 
shall be in ethics subjects during each biennium reporting 
period.

89.2.3 Resident licensees subject to this 
regulation shall file with the Department a copy of their 
completed course report forms. Course report form CE-4(s) 
must be received on or before March 20th following the 
preceding biennium compliance date. Failure to timely file 
will result in notice of suspension and fines under section 
10.0 of this regulation. 9.2.4 Resident licensees will receive 
a continuing education transcript at least ninety (90) days 
prior to the end of a license biennium by mail or by 
electronic access as the Department deems appropriate.  The 
licensee is responsible for reviewing the transcript for 
accuracy. To dispute the Department’s accounting, the 
licensee must submit a written exception thereto prior to the 
biennium deadline (February 28th of even years) and include 
a copy of the providers course completion certificate course 
report form CE-4.

89.2.45 The maximum number of carryover credits 
shall not exceed five (5)10 credits in a biennium reporting 
period. Carryover shall not apply to ethics credit 
requirements. Credits in excess of the mandatory 
requirements set forth in section 8.2.1 may be applied to the 
licensee’s general course requirements for those in excess of 
the March 1, 1997 through February 28, 1998 Continuing 
Education period. Thereafter, the maximum number of 
carryover credits shall not exceed 5 credits in a biennium 
reporting period. Carryover shall not apply to ethics credit 
requirements. Ethics credits in excess of the mandatory 
requirement may apply to non-ethics credit requirements.

9.2.6 Fulfillment of continuing education 
requirements includes completion of approved subject 
matter and ethics requirements during the biennium. 

9.2.7 No continuing education requirement shall 
apply to newly licensed individuals during the biennium in 
which such individuals are licensed. A total of 5 credits in 
excess of 20 credits earned may apply to carryover during 
the newly licensed biennium period.

89.3 Automatic credit. For experience aAn 
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individual continuously licensed for twenty-five (25) years 
or longer prior to the start of a biennium reporting period 
and/or who for holdsing a professional designation shall 
receive an automatic credit of twelveen (120) credits in each 
biennium. The Department shall maintain a list of approved 
professional designations Approved professional 
designations are the AAI, CEBS, CLU, CPCU, ChFC, 
FLMI, CFP, FSPA, CIC and RHU. Automatic credits may 
not be applied to satisfy the mandatory continuing education 
courses set forth in section 8.2.1 ethics credit requirements.

89.4 License reinstatement after suspension, or
revocation or cancellation. All resident and nonresident 
licensees whose licenses were canceled, suspended or 
revoked for a period of twelve (12) months or more shall 
first complete all licensing requirements under 18 Del.C.
§170621 including the retaking of all exams for the lines of 
authority under which the individual proposes to transact 
insurance.  Any licensee who is reinstated under the 
provisions of this subsection shall not be entitled to the 
waiver provided for in section 8.2.5.

89.5 Extension of time. For good cause shown, the 
Department Commissioner may grant an extension of time 
during which the requirements imposed by this regulation 
may be completed. The extension shall not exceed twelve 
(12) months. The extension will not alter the requirements or 
due date of the succeeding biennium period. "Good cause" 
includes disability, natural disaster, or other extenuating 
circumstances. Each request for extension of time shall be in 
writing from the licensee and shall include details and any 
documentation to support the request. Each request must be 
received by the CommissionerDepartment no less than thirty 
(30) days before the expiration of the biennium period. 

89.6 Waiver of Continuing Education 
Requirements. The requirements of this regulation may be 
waived in writing by the Department Commissioner for good 
cause shown. "Good cause" includes long-term illness or 
incapacity, serving full-time in the armed forces of the 
United States of America on active duty outside of the state 
of Delaware, and any other emergency situations deemed 
appropriate by the Department Commissioner. Request for 
waivers of continuing education requirements shall be made 
in writing and shall be submitted to the Department
Commissioner no later than thirty (30) days prior to the end 
of the biennium for which such waiver is requested. Those 
individuals serving full time in the armed forces of the 
United States of America on active duty outside of the State 
of Delaware shall notify the Department upon their return by 
supplying a copy of their activation orders as part of their 
application for a waiver.  Any waiver granted pursuant to 
this regulation shall be valid only for the biennium for which 
waiver application was made.

89.7 Sixty (60) days prior to the start of each 
biennium, the Department shall prepare and publish a list of 
those lines of insurance for which the producers are exempt 

from the requirements of section 8. Exemptions to 
continuing education requirements:

9.7.1 Agents licensed for the lines of title 
insurance or travel accident and baggage insurance.

9.7.2 Interim Agents. 
89.8 Resident adjusters licensed for the lines of 

Fidelity and Surety and/or Marine and Transportation are 
exempt from the provisions of section 8.2.2 of this 
regulation. Nonresident adjusters and public adjusters must 
meet the license requirements of their home state. 
Nonresident Agent, Broker, Consultant responsibilities.

9.8.1 Nonresident licensees shall file a home state 
letter of certification not more than ninety (90) days old 
when received by the Commissioner, which provides 
evidence of license status and compliance with continuing 
education requirements in his or her state of residence. The 
filing requirement for nonresidents shall be on odd years 
with a deadline date of February 28th every odd year 
beginning in year 1999. 

9.8.2 The Department will send renewal notices to 
all nonresident licensees at least ninety (90) days before the 
end of the biennium. Nonresidents may request a thirty (30) 
day extension to file for renewal provided it is in writing to 
the Commissioner at least thirty (30) days prior to the 
biennium deadline and shall provide evidence of seeking a 
home state letter of certification.

9.8.3 Nonresidents who fail to provide 
certification from home state under this regulation shall be 
subjected to the same penalties as a resident agent under this 
regulation pursuant to section 10.0.

9.9 Nonresident Adjusters responsibilities.
9.9.1 Nonresidents receiving a license in 

Delaware - no requirements for the biennium in which they 
are licensed.

9.9.2 Nonresident adjusters who must meet 
continuing education requirements established by the 
insurance department in their home state shall file a home 
state letter of certification not more than ninety (90) days old 
when received by the Commissioner, which provides 
evidence of license status and compliance with continuing 
education requirements in his or her state of residence. The 
filing requirement for nonresidents shall be on odd years. 
The first biennium for which nonresidents shall meet 
continuing education requirement begins on March 1, 1999 
and ends February 28, 2001.

9.9.3 Nonresidents who are not required to 
complete continuing education requirements in their home 
state are subject to the same continuing education 
requirements that a resident adjuster must complete in 
accordance with section 9.2.2 of this regulation.

9.9.4 Exemptions to Adjuster Continuing 
Education Requirements. Resident adjusters licensed for the 
lines of Fidelity and Surety and/or Marine and 
Transportation are exempt from the provisions of section 
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9.2.2 of this regulation. Nonresident adjusters licensed for 
the lines of Fidelity and Surety and/or Marine and 
Transportation shall file a home state letter of certification 
not more than ninety (90) days old when received by the 
Commissioner, which provides evidence of license status. 
The filing requirement for nonresidents shall be on odd 
years. The first biennium for which nonresidents shall meet 
continuing education requirements begins on March 1, 1999 
and ends February 28, 2001.

910.0 Penalty for Noncompliance.
910.1 Pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§334, 17132, and 

171834, any licensee who fails to complete the minimum 
requirements of this regulation, and who has not been 
granted an extension of time to comply under section 89.5 of 
this regulation and including a $2000.00 fine and suspension 
of license(s) for one year. Submission of false or fraudulent 
information shall result in an administrative penalty up to 
and including a $15,000.00 fine and permanent revocation of 
license.

910.2 Any appointment(s) of such licensee 
suspended for failure to comply with this regulation shall 
likewise be suspended by operation of law. Upon 
satisfactory completion of education requirements in arrears 
and payment of any administrative fine imposed within a 
period of twelve (12) months, all license(s) and 
appointments shall be reinstated unless or until the insurer 
notifies the Department Commissioner and licensee in 
writing of the insurer’s intent to terminate such appointment. 
If suspension is for a period of twelve (12) months or greater, 
the licensee is subjected to complying with 18 Del.C.
§170621 including the retaking of all examinations for 
line(s) of authority for which the individual licensee seeks a 
license that the individual proposes to transact insurance.

910.3 The Commissioner may, by Order based upon 
a reasonable belief that a violation of Title 18 occurred,
require any individual licensed under 18 Del.C. Ch. 17 based 
upon reasonable belief that a violation of Title 18 occurred,
to complete in addition to biennium insurance education 
requirements, approved continuing education course work to 
ensure the maintenance and improvement of a licensee’s 
insurance skills and knowledge.

101.0 Continuing Education Advisory Council 
10.1 The Council shall consist of fourteenten (104) 

licensees drawn from the professional organizations and the 
insurance industry in the State, 5 from the life and health 
field,  and 5 from the property and casualty field and four (4) 
from the claims settlement field.

101.21 One of the primary responsibilities of the 
Council shall be to review applications for course approvals 
and make recommendations to the Department
Commissioner regarding acceptance/ rejection and the 
number of CEUs to be granted if accepted.

101.32 The Council shall also advise the Department
Commissioner on matters of concern as they arise and 
provide liaison between the Department and the professional 
organizations.

101.43 Members shall serve a term of 2 years. Any 
member may be reappointed for successive terms. The 
committee shall meet every 2 months on the third Tuesday of 
the month or additionally as required. The members of the 
committee shall serve without pay and shall not be 
reimbursed for any expenses.

101.54 The Department’s decision with respect to any 
Entity Sponsor submission shall be final. All previously 
approved continuing education courses at the time this 
regulation becomes effective shall resubmit for approval 
within twelve months of the effective date of this regulation. 
Such courses must be resubmitted for approval within twelve 
(12) months of the effective date of this regulation.

11.5 The final decision on each Entity Sponsor 
submission shall be the Commissioner’s.

121.0 Separability
12.1 If any provision of this Regulation shall be held 

invalid, the remainder of the Regulation shall not be affected 
thereby.

132.0 Effective Date
13.1 This Regulation shall become effective March 

1, 1998 and shall remain in effect until rescinded. Prior to the 
aforementioned date the provisions of Regulation 504 
(Formerly Regulation 47) as last amended in 1987 shall 
remain in effect. The amendments to this Regulation shall 
become effective November 15, 2004. Any matters that are 
not merely procedural in nature arising prior to November 
15, 2004 shall be governed by the provisions of the prior 
version of this regulation in effect at the time the matter 
arose.

March 1, 1985
Amended June 6, 1986
Amended March 24, 1987 
Amended March 1, 1998
Amended _____, 2004
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text 
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold 
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language 
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in 
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials, 
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and 
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and 
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2) 
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being 
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, 
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the 
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations, 
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DELAWARE STATE FIRE 
PREVENTION COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,

Section 6603 (16 Del.C. §6603)

ORDER

The State Fire Prevention Commission (“the 
Commission”) held a properly noticed, public hearing on 
July 20, 2004 to receive comment on proposed additions, 
revisions, deletions and modifications to Commission 
Regulations.  (Attached to this Order as “Exhibit A “).  The 
attendance sheets and transcribed minutes of this hearing are 
attached to this Order as Exhibit “B” in lieu of a statement of 
the summary of the evidence.  There were no written 
comments received by the Commission.

Based upon the evidence received, the Commission 
finds tha following facts to be supported by the evidence:

1. There was no public comment concerning the 
following proposed regualtions:

Part I, Annex A
Part I, Annex B
Part II, Chapter 6
Part V, Chapter 1 - 5
Part VI, Chapter 3
Appendix E

2. Although the Commission held a hearing in the 

afternoon and in the evening, no public comment was 
received except for a brief explanation of the changes 
offered by the State Fire Marshal’s Office (Exhibit “C”).

THE LAW

The State Fire Prevention Commission’s rulemaking 
authority is provided by 16 Del.C. §6603, that states:

§6603. State Fire Prevention Commission -- 
Promulgation of regulations.

The State Fire Prevention Commission shall 
have the power to promulgate, amend and repeal 
regulations for the safeguarding of life and property 
from the hazards of fire and explosion. Such 
regulations, amendments or repealers shall be in 
accordance with standard safe practice as embodied 
in widely recognized standards of good practice for 
fire prevention and fire protection and shall have 
the force and effect of law in the several counties, 
cities and political subdivisions of the State. . . .

DECISION

The Commission hereby adopts the Regulations as 
proposed with the alterations and clarifications noted in this 
Order and a copy of the Regulations as adopted is attached to 
this Order.  The Commission relies upon its expertise in the 
area and the evidence prosented in the testimony of the State 
Fire Marshal’s Office.
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It is so Ordered this 17th day of August 2004.

STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION

Kenneth H. McMahon, Chairman
W. (Bill) Betts, Jr., Vice-Chairman
Carlton E. Carey, Sr.
Frances J. Dougherty
Robert Ricker
Daniel W. McGee
Jasper H. Lakey

AMEND PART I, ANNEX A AS FOLLOWS:

In two (2) places, correct misprinted edition date on 
currently adopted NFPA document as follows: 

551 2001Standard for Compressed and Liquefied Gases 
in portable Cylinders

551 1998Standard for Compressed and Liquefied Gases 
in portable Cylinders

AMEND PART I, ANNEX B AS FOLLOWS:

MODIFY NFPA 13, 2002,  Standard for the Installation 
of Sprinkler Systems.

Chapter 8, Installation Requirements.

8.16 System Attachments.
8.16.2 Arrangement.

8.16.2.4.6 Fire Department Connection
8.16.2 Fire Department Connection.

8.16.2.4  Arrangement

AMEND §8-16.2.4.6   8.16.2.4.6 by deleting the existing 
§8-16.2.4.6   8.16.2.4.6 and inserting a new section to read 
as follows:

MODIFY NFPA 13D, 2002, Standard for the Installation 
of Sprinkler Systems In One- And Two-Family Dwellings 
And Manufactured Homes.

Chapter 7, System Components.
7.6  Alarms.

AMEND §7.6, Alarms, by deleting the existing Exception 
and adding the following to §7.6:

The alarm shall be of sufficient intensity to sound an 
alarm at 15 dBA above ambient noise level inside the 
protected property.

AMEND §7.6, Alarms, by modifying text to read as 

follows:

Local waterflow alarms shall be provided on all sprinkler 
systems. The alarm shall be of sufficient intensity to sound an 
alarm at 15 dBA above ambient noise level throughout all 
indoor areas of the protected property.

AMEND Section numbers in NFPA 54, 2002, National 
Fuel Gas Code.

Chapter 9, Installation of Specific Equipment.
9.23 Room Heaters.

9-23.1 9.23.1 Prohibited Installations.  Unvented room 
heaters shall not be installed in bathrooms and bedrooms.  

AMEND Section numbers in NFPA 58, 2001, Liquefied 
Petroleum Gases Code.

Chapter 1, General Provisions.
1-4  1.4 Notification Of Installations.

AMEND §1-4.1  1.4.1 Stationary Installations, by 
deleting the existing section and inserting two new 
subsections to read as follows:

1-4.1.1* 1.4.1.1* Plans shall be submitted to the Office of 
State Fire Marshal for review and approval for the following 
liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) installations:

A-1-4.1.1 A.1.4.1.1 This section still requires the 
submission of plans for all LP Gas installations with an 
aggregate capacity of 1,000 gallons or more, and now 
requires the submission of plans for all portable cylinder 
exchange installations.
1-4.1.2* 1.4.1.2* Plans shall be submitted to the Office of 
State Fire Marshal for review and approval regarding 
liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) installations for all sites and 
locations where LPG is dispensed by a retail operation to the 
public, regardless of tank storage capacity.

A-1-4.1.2 A.1.4.1.2 Submission of plans for all LP Gas 
Installations where tanks are filled as a retail operation for 
the public.

Exception To 1-4.1 and 1-4-2.1.4.1 and 1.4.2:  One- and 
Two-Family Dwellings are not required to comply with these 
sections.

Chapter 3, Installation Of LP-Gas Systems.
3-10  3.10 Fire Protection.

ADD New §3-10.4  3.10.4:

3-10.4  3.10.4 Fire Protection At Bulk Plants.
3-10.4.1  3.10.4.1  Application.  This section regulating 

bulk plants applies to facilities whose primary purpose is to 
receive gas by tank car, tank truck, or piping, and distribute 
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the gas to the end user by use of portable container delivery, 
tank truck, or gas piping.

Exception No. 1:  §3-10.4  3.10.4 shall not apply to 
those facilities that fall within the definition of “REMOTE” 
with respect to location, as defined in §3-10.4.2  3.10.4.2. 
Under this exception, the requirements of §3-10.4.5
3.10.4.5, Water Supply for Fire Protection, are retained and 
required.

3-10.4.2   3.10.4.2 Definitions.
3-10.4.3  3.10.4.3*  Notwithstanding any provisions of 

this Section to the contrary, all LP-Gas facilities having 
storage containers with a combined aggregate water capacity 
of more than 18,000 gallons, where LP-Gas is transferred 
from railcar to tank storage, from railcar to vehicle, from 
tank storage to vehicle, from vehicle to vehicle, from tank 
storage to railcar, or from vehicle to tank storage, shall 
incorporate the following additional fire protection 
measures:

A-3-10.4.3  A.3.10.4.3 Total Product 
Containment System.  A total product containment system 
includes emergency internal and shutoff valves having 
remote and thermal capability and pull-away protection, 
such installation in accordance with standards and 
specifications of both the American Petroleum Institute 
(API) and NFPA 58.

3-10.4.4  3.10.4.4  No persons, other than the plant 
management or plant employees, shall have access to any 
bulk LP-Gas storage facility.

3-10.4.5  3.10.4.5  Water Supply For Fire Protection. 
Not withstanding the provisions of Part II, Chapter 6 of these 
Regulations, water supply for fire protection shall be 
provided as follows for all bulk LP-Gas storage facilities:

3-10.4.6  3.10.4.6  Fire Department Chief Officer.  
3-10.4.6.1  3.10.4.6.1  The Office of State Fire 

Marshal shall hand deliver to the Fire Department Chief 
Officer having jurisdiction a site plan and set of structural or 
building plans that have been submitted for review and 
approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal; the Fire 
Department Chief Officer shall sign when accepting the 
plans from the Office of State Fire Marshal.

3-10.4.6.2  3.10.4.6.2  Within ten working days of 
the Fire Department Chief Officer having received the plans 
and specifications as identified in §3-10.4.6.1  3.10.4.6.1 of 
this Regulation, the Fire Department Chief Officer shall 
respond in writing to the Office of State Fire Marshal and 
will provide the following information:

3-10.4.6.3  3.10.4.6.3  If the Fire Department Chief 
Officer does not respond within ten working days as required 
in 3-10.4.6.2  3.10.4.6.2 of this Regulation, the Office of State 
Fire Marshal will incorporate the necessary fire protection 
features consistent with generally accepted fire protection 
practices.

Chapter 4, LP-Gas Liquid Transfer.
4-2   4.2  Operational Safety.

4-2.2  4.2.2   Containers To Be Filled Or Evacuated.

AMEND §4-2.2.1 4.2.2.1 by deleting the existing §4-2.2.1
4.2.2.1 and inserting a new §4-2.2.1 4.2.2.1 to read as 
follows:

4-2.2.1 4.2.2.1*  Containers shall be filled only by the 
owner or upon the owner's authorization.

A-4-2.2.1 4.2.2.1 This modification retains the 
language of NFPA Pamphlet No. 58, 1989 Standard for the 
Storage and Handling of LP Gases.

(a) This requirement is in keeping with 16 
Del.C. §7702.

Chapter 5, Storage Of Portable Containers Awaiting Use, 
Resale, Or Exchange.
5-4.2  5.4.2 Protection Of Containers.

AMEND §5-4.2.2   5.4.2.2 by deleting §5-4.2.2   5.4.2.2 
and inserting a new  §5-4.2.2   5.4.2.2 to read as follows:

5-4.2.2* 5.4.2.2*  Protection against vehicle impact shall be 
provided by installing traffic/bumper posts, or other 
protection acceptable to the State Fire Marshal.

A-5-4.2.2 5.4.2.2 The intent of this requirement is 
to ensure the protection of the portable cylinders from 
vehicular damage and to emphasize that the standard curbs 
are not considered adequate protection.

AMEND Section numbers in NFPA 101, 2000, The Life 
Safety Code.

Chapter 9, Building Service and Fire Protection 
Equipment.
9-2   9.2 Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning.

AMEND §9-2.1, by adding a new §9-2.1.1, Unvented 
Fuel-Fired Heating Equipment, and renumber the 
following sections, to read as follows:

AMEND §9.2.1, by adding a new §9.2.1.1, Unvented 
Fuel-Fired Heating Equipment, to read as follows:

9.2.1 9.2.1 Air Conditioning, Heating, Ventilating 
Ductwork, and Related Equipment. 

9-2.1.1  9.2.1.1 Unvented fuel-fired heating equipment 
shall be prohibited in bathrooms and sleeping areas of all 
occupancies.  In all other areas, gas space heaters installed in 
compliance with NFPA 54, National Fuel Gas Code, as 
adopted and modified by these Regulations shall be 
permitted.
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Chapter 16, New Day Care Occupancies.
16-2  16.2 Means of Egress Requirements.

16-2.2 16.2.2 Means of Egress Components.
16-2.2.2  16.2.2.2 Doors.

AMEND §16-2.2.2.2, 16.2.2.2.2 Panic Hardware or Fire 
Exit Hardware, by deleting the existing §16-2.2.2.2
16.2.2.2.2, and inserting a new §16-2.2.2.2 16.2.2.2.2 to 
read as follows:

16-2.2.2.2 16.2.2.2.2 Panic Hardware Or Fire 
Exit Hardware.  Any door in a required means of egress 
from an area having an occupant load of 13 or more clients 
shall be permitted to be provided with a latch or lock only if 
the latch or lock is panic hardware or fire exit hardware.

16-3 16.3 Protection.
16-3.4 16.3.4 Detection, Alarm, and Communication 

Systems.

AMEND §16-3.4.4 16.3.4.4, Emergency Forces 
Notification, by deleting the existing §16-3.4.4 16.3.4.4
and inserting a new §16-3.4.4 16.3.4.4 to read as follows:

16-3.4.4 16.3.4.4 Emergency Forces Notification. 
Fire department notification shall be accomplished in 
accordance with §7.6.4 9.6.4.

Chapter 24, One- And Two-Family Dwellings.
24-1.1  24.1.1  Application.

AMEND §24-1.1  24.1.1, Application,  by deleting the 
existing §24-1.1.2 24.1.1.2 and inserting a new §24-1.1.2
24.1.1.2 to read as follows:

24-1.1.2 24.1.1.2 This Chapter shall not be utilized by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal during the plan review process, 
except when individual, specified sections are referenced by 
other Chapters of the Life Safety Code.

Chapter 26, Lodging Or Rooming Houses.
26-3 26.3  Protection.

26-3.3 26.3.3 Detection, Alarm, And Communication 
Systems.

AMEND §26-3.3 26.3.3, Detection Alarm, And 
Communication Systems, by adding a new Subsection to 
read as follows:

26-3.3.4  26.3.3.4 A corridor smoke detection system in 
accordance with §9-6 9.6 shall be installed in all lodging or 
rooming houses.

Chapter 30, New Apartment Buildings.
30-3.4  30.3.4  Detection, Alarm, and Communication 
Systems.
 
AMEND §30-3.4.1 30.3.4.1, General, by deleting §30-
3.4.1 30.3.4.1 and two exceptions, and inserting a new 
§30-3.4.1 30.3.4.1 and exception to read as follows:

30-3.4.1 30.3.4.1General.  All new apartment buildings 
shall be provided with a fire alarm system in accordance 
with §9-6 9.6,  except as modified by 30-3.4.2 through 30-
3.4.4 30.3.4.2 through 30.3.4.4

Exception:  Where each dwelling unit is separated from 
other contiguous dwelling units by fire barriers having a fire 
resistance rating of not less than one hour, and where each 
dwelling unit has either its own independent exit or its own 
independent stairway or ramp discharging at grade.

AMEND §30-3.4.4 30.3.4.4  Detection, by adding a new 
Subsection to read as follows:

30-3.4.4.1 30.3.4.4.1  A corridor smoke detection system in 
accordance with §9-6 9.6, shall be installed in all apartment 
buildings.

Chapter 32, New Residential Board And Care 
Occupancies.
32-2  32.2 Small Facilities.

AMEND §32-2  32.2, Small Facilities, by adding new 
Subsections to read as follows:

32-2.2.7  32.2.2.7 Emergency Lighting.
Emergency lighting shall be installed in accordance with §7-
9 7.9. 

32-2.2.8  32.2.2.8 Marking Of Means Of Egress.
Means of egress shall be marked in accordance with §7-10
7.10. 

32-2.2.9 32.2.2.9 Portable Fire Extinguishers.
Portable fire extinguishers shall be provided near hazardous 
areas in accordance with §9-7   9.7.

32-2.3.4 32.2.3.4 Detection, Alarm, and 
Communication Systems. 

AMEND §32-2.3.4  32.2.3.4, Detection, Alarm, and 
Communication Systems, by adding §32-2.3.4.4
32.2.3.4.4, Emergency Forces Notification, to read as 
follows:

32-2.3.4.4  32.2.3.4.4, Emergency Forces Notification. 
Fire department notification shall be accomplished in 
accordance with §9-6.4  9.6.4.

32-3  32.3  Large Facilities.
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32-3.3.4 32.3.3.4  Detection, Alarm, and Communication 
Systems.

AMEND §32-3.3.4.6 32.3.3.4.6, Fire Department 
Notification, by deleting the existing §32-3.3.4.6 32.3.3.4.6 
and inserting a new §32-3.3.4 32.3.3.4 to read as follows:

32-3.3.4.6 32.3.3.4.6 Fire Department Notification.  Fire 
department notification shall be accomplished in accordance 
with §9-6.4 9.6.4.

AMEND PART II, CHAPTER 6 AS FOLLOWS:

Delete A-6-1
6-1*  General.
A-6-1  The Standard for Fire Flow for Fire Protection has 
undergone extensive revisions including, but not limited to, 
the relocation of all definitions to Part I, Chapter 2; the 
partial elimination of some requirements; the changes in 
terminology for consistency throughout these Regulations; 
and the complete restructuring of the Fire Flow tables and 
their requirements.

Revise 6-1.4.1 and A-6-1.4.1 as follows:
6-1.4.1*  Residential sub-divisions, located with the 
jurisdiction of New Castle County, containing more than 
twenty-five (25) lots, or minimum aggregate side yard 
widths of less than thirty (30) feet.  These requirements are 
contained in §20-61 of New Castle County Code Chapter 40, 
Article 12, reproduced in Appendix A of this Regulation.

A-6-1.4.1  New Castle County Code §20-61 Water Supply:
(a) All proposed residential subdivisions containing 

more than twenty-five (25) lots, or minimum aggregate side 
yard widths of less than thirty (30) feet, shall provide a 
public or community water distribution system.  The design 
and installation of such public or community system shall be 
subject to the approval of the appropriate state agencies and 
the main sizes shall meet the requirements of the Office of 
the State Fire Marshal.

(b) Where the subdivider proposes that individual on-
site water supply systems be utilized within the subdivision, 
the subdivider shall either install such facilities or shall 
require (by deed restriction or otherwise) , as a condition of 
the sale of each lot or parcel within the subdivision, that the 
facilities shall be installed by the purchaser of such lot or 
parcel at the time that a principal building is constructed 
thereon, in accordance with appropriate state regulations.

(c) Where individual on-site water supply systems are 
to be utilized, each lot shall be of a size and shape to allow 
safe location of such a system.

(d)  Regulations governing on-site water supply 
systems are to be found in Appendix XII of this Chapter.  An 
on-site water supply system shall further require a permit 

from appropriate state agencies (Ord. No. 73-103, Sec. 5; 
Ord. No. 90-200, Sec. 2, 9-25-90)

A-6-1.4.1  New Castle County Code Chapter 40, Article 12, 
Sewer and Water Impact:

SECTION 40.12.210 WATER SERVICE
Each water supply company shall develop a method to 

determine water volumes and pressure in their systems. On-
site testing shall be used as the basis for determining the 
capacities in lines, pumps, storage and distribution facilities. 
The certification of adequate capacity of the water service 
shall be obtained by the developer from the water supplier.

SECTION 40.12.115 WATER SUPPLY
A. All proposed residential subdivisions containing 

more than twenty-five (25) lots or minimum aggregate side 
yard widths of less than thirty (30) feet shall provide a public 
or community water distribution system. The design and 
installation of such public or community system shall be 
subject to the approval of the appropriate State agencies, and 
the main sizes shall meet the requirements of the office of 
the State Fire Marshal. 

B. Where the subdivider proposes that individual on-site 
water supply systems be utilized within the subdivision, the 
subdivider shall either install such facilities or shall require, 
by deed restriction or otherwise, as a condition of the sale of 
each lot or parcel within the subdivision, that the facilities 
shall be installed by the purchaser of such lot or parcel at the 
time that a principal building is constructed thereon, in 
accordance with appropriate State requirements. Where 
individual on-site water supply systems are to be utilized, 
each lot shall be of a size and shape to allow safe location of 
such a system. An on-site water supply shall further require a 
permit from appropriate State agencies. 

Revise 6-1.4.2 and A-6-1.4.2 as follows:

6-1.4.2*  Fire hydrants, located within the jurisdiction of 
New Castle County.  These requirements are contained in 
§20-64 of the New Castle County Code Chapter 40, Article 
22, reproduced in Appendix A of this Regulation.

A-6-1.4.2  New Castle County Code §20-64 Fire Hydrants 
and Fire Lanes:

(a) Fire hydrants shall be installed within five hundred 
(500) feet of all houses, measured by way of accessible 
public thoroughfare, wherever a public or community water 
supply system is provided (as required by the National 
Association of Fire Underwriters), and within four hundred 
(400) feet of all commercial and industrial establishments, as 
approved by the State Fire Marshal.

(b) All fire hydrants shall be shown on record plans, 
with an indication of water main sizing connecting thereto.
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(c) The need for and location of fire lanes for 
multifamily and row or group residential, commercial, 
industrial, and institutional development will be determined 
by the State Fire Marshal in accordance with the guidelines 
contained in the publication “Standard for Compliance with 
New Castle County Ordinance 71-103”, published by the 
State Fire Marshal.  In applying such guidelines, a fire lane 
shall be deemed necessary only where reasonable and direct 
accessibility by fire apparatus cannot be made to at least one 
side of a structure from an all-weather hard surface, capable 
of bearing the weight of commonly used fire apparatus. 
Such fire lanes to be provided need not be paved with 
concrete, amesite or similar material, but may be surfaced in 
any suitable manner such as to provide an all-weather 
surface capable of performing the above function and shall 
be signed in such a fashion as to indicate the purpose and 
intent thereof and to prohibit parking thereon.

(d) In cases where equivalent fire protection is 
provided by appropriately sized standpipes, or similar 
arrangements the requirements of subsection (c) of this 
section shall not be applicable. (Ord. No. 73-103, Section 5; 
Ord. No. 88-168, Section 1, 1-10-89; Ord. No. 90-200, 
Section 1, 9-25-90).

A-6-1.4.2  New Castle County Code Chapter 40 Article 22, 
Drainage, Utilities, Septic Systems, Parking, Loading, and 
Lighting:

SECTION 40.22.430  FIRE HYDRANTS AND FIRE 
LANES.

A. Fire hydrants in subdivisions shall be installed within 
five hundred (500) feet of all houses, measured by way of 
accessible public thoroughfare, wherever a public or 
community water supply system is provided, as required by 
the National Association of Fire Underwriters, and within 
four hundred (400) feet of all commercial and industrial 
establishments, as approved by the State Fire Marshal.

B. All fire hydrants shall be shown on record plans, with 
an indication of water main sizing connecting thereto.

C. The need for and location of fire lanes for multi-
family and row or group residential, commercial, industrial 
and institutional development will be determined by the 
State Fire Marshal in accordance with the guidelines 
contained in the publication Standard for Compliance with 
New Castle County published by the State Fire Marshal. In 
applying such guidelines, a fire lane shall be deemed 
necessary only where reasonable and direct accessibility by 
fire apparatus cannot be made to at least one (1) side of a 
structure from an all-weather hard surface, capable of 
bearing the weight of commonly used fire apparatus. Such 
fire lanes to be provided need not be paved with concrete, 
amesite or similar material, but may be surfaced in any 
suitable manner such as to provide an all-weather surface 
capable of performing the function and shall be signed in 

such a fashion as to indicate the purpose and intent thereof 
and to prohibit parking thereon.

D. Where equivalent fire protection is provided by 
appropriately sized standpipes or similar arrangements, the 
requirements of subsection C of this Section shall not be 
applicable.

Rewrite Part II, Chapter 6, Section 6-4 as follows:

6-4*  Water Distribution Systems.
A-6-4  In the application of this regulation to 

developments of individual, detached, stand alone single 
family dwellings, the Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Division of Water Resources, in an 
attempt to have more public water systems installed in lieu 
of individual wells, has requested the State Fire Prevention 
Commission and the State Fire Marshal to accept the 
following:

The Office of State Fire Marshal and the State Fire 
Prevention Commission are most concerned about the 
necessity for providing adequate water supplies for fire 
fighting purposes.

The Office of State Fire Marshal and the State Fire 
Prevention Commission are not inclined, at this time, to 
change our current regulations dealing with fire flow or fire 
hydrant provisions.

The Office of State Fire Marshal will consider an 
application from individual developers on a case by case 
basis, in order to analyze the impact of such potential 
alternative methods on fire service needs.

The alternative methods discussed above will be linked 
to the DNREC regulations to accommodate subdivisions of 
less than fifty lots in addition to the requirement for 
installation of the fire protection infrastructure for 
subdivisions with over fifty lots, requiring the providing of 
the minimum fire flows and the installation of the fire 
hydrants, when construction begins on the fiftieth lot.

The alternative methods discussed herein will be 
applied in conjunction with the additional provision of the 
State Fire Prevention Regulations with respect to individual, 
detached, single family dwellings within the appropriate 
range of square footage.

The alternative methods discussed herein apply only to 
individual, detached single family dwellings.

The Office of State Fire Marshal has agreed in principle 
to this provision.  Our approach via this method is limited to 
those areas of the State where there is not an access to public 
water systems.

6-4.1  Where a water distribution system is required for 
stand alone/detached one- and two-family dwelling sites, the 
infrastructure for fire protection water shall be provided. 
The fire flow requirements shall take effect and be provided 
at the completion of the first fifty (50) lots and prior to the 
development of the fifty-first (51st) lot.
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6-4.2 The requirements of Fire Flow Table 1, with 
respect to the provisions of the Standard on Water Supplies 
for Suburban and Rural Fire Fighting, NFPA 1142, as 
adopted and/or modified by these Regulations, may be 
applied to subdivisions of 25 or less lots of detached one- 
and two-family dwellings, where central water is provided, 
but the requirement for water flow for fire protection is as 
follows:

1) The infrastructure for fire flow capability must 
be installed to accommodate the fire flow requirements when 
additional development occurs.

2) For subdivisions of more than 25 lots of 
detached one- and two-family dwellings, water flow for fire 
protection, pursuant to the applicable provisions of this 
Chapter, must be provided at the completion of the 50th lot, 
or the last lot to be built in the subdivision if less than 50 
lots.

6-4.3  The infrastructure for fire flow shall consist of 
properly listed and sized underground mains, stub ups for 
hydrants, and associated valves.  

6-4*  Water Distribution Systems.
6-4.1 Where water is available and a water distribution 

system is required for stand alone/detached one- and two 
family  dwelling sites, the infrastructure for fire protection 
water shall be provided.  The infrastructure for fire flow 
shall consist of properly listed and sized underground mains, 
stub ups for hydrants, and associated valves.  The fire 
hydrants shall be installed prior to the fire flow requirements 
taking effect.

6-4.1.1 For purposes of this Regulation, water for 
fire protection shall be considered “available” whenever any 
portion of a proposed project’s property or any portion of a 
proposed subdivision is situated within one thousand (1000) 
feet of any portion of a water supplier’s new or existing 
infrastructure that includes water supply piping of 4  inches 
or more in nominal internal diameter. This measurement 
shall be calculated by way of accessible public 
thoroughfare(s) from the proposed property or subdivision 
and may not necessarily be a radius.

6-4.1.2  In the event the project or subdivision is 
situated in a geographical area that has been authorized to be 
provided with water service by a supplier other than the 
water supplier whose infrastructure is within the specified 
distance, the State Fire Marshal, on a case by case basis, may 
re-evaluate the requirements of § 6-4.1.1.

6-4.2  The requirements of Fire Flow Table 1, with 
respect to the Standard on Water Supplies for Suburban and 

Rural Fire Fighting, NFPA 1142, as adopted and/or modified 
by these Regulations, may be applied to subdivisions of 25 
or less lots of  one and two family detached homes, where 
central water is provided. However, the requirement for 
water flow for fire protection shall be required when:

1)  Additional development creates a subdivision in 
excess of 25 lots of detached one or two family dwellings or

2) In the opinion of the State Fire Marshal the 
probability of additional development will occur in excess of 
25 lots of detached one or two family dwellings then the 
infrastructure for fire flow capability must be installed to 
accommodate the fire flow requirements.

6-4.3  The requirements of Fire Flow Table 2 shall take 
effect where water is available and be provided under the 
following circumstances:

1) For subdivisions of 50 or more lots of detached 
one and two family dwellings the water flow for fire 
protection shall be provided upon completion of the 50th lot, 
and prior to the development of the 51st lot.

2) For subdivisions of 26 through 49 lots of 
detached one and two family dwellings the water flow for 
fire protection shall be provided at the completion of the last 
lot to be built.

Amend Part II, Chapter 6, Section 6-5.3.3 by adding an 
exception to read as follows:

6-5.3.3  Dead end mains shall not exceed 600 feet in length 
for main sizes under 10 inches in diameter. 

Exception: Dead end mains exceeding 600 feet may be a 
minimum of 8 inches in diameter if an engineering analysis, 
acceptable to the Office of the State Fire Marshal, is 
submitted by a registered Professional Engineer 
demonstrating that the minimum flows and duration 
specified elsewhere in this Regulation are met or exceeded.

AMEND THE TEXT AT THE TOP OF THE FIRE 
FLOW TABLE 1 TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

Fire Flow Table 1*

The requirements of Fire Flow Table 1 apply to rural areas 
where public, private, or central water is not available and 
where specified elsewhere in these Regulations.

Occupancy Maximum 
Aggregate 
Gross Square 
Footage

Provide a fire 
alarm system 
per 6-3.1.4

Minimum 
Set Back 
from all 
property 
lines

Maximum 
Height

Exposure 
Hazard on 
the Same 
Property

Internal Fire 
Separation

Apply
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1 A fire alarm signaling system shall be provided.  See §6-
3.1.4.

AMEND THE TEXT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE FIRE 
FLOW TABLE 2 TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

Fire Flow Table 2

The requirements of Fire Flow Table 2 apply to areas where 
there is a public, private, or central water system.

One & Two – 
Family Detached 
Dwellings

10,000 no 15’
3 Stories 

35’ 10’+ n/a NFPA 1142

Multi-Family &
Other Residential 10,000 no 15’

3 Stories 
35’ 10’+ n/a NFPA 1142

Rowhouses & 
Townhouses 10,000 no 15’

3 Stories 
35’ 10’+

2-Hr rated 
wall NFPA 1142
Part I

Chapter 2

Assembly 5,000 no 15’
1 Story

15’ 10’+ n/a NFPA 1142

Assembly1 5,001 to 10,000 YES 15’
2 Stories

30’ 10’+ n/a NFPA 1142
Health Care
Business
Education

10,000
no
no
no

15’
2 Stories

30’ 10’+ n/a NFPA 1142

Storage
Industrial
Mercantile

5,000 no
no
no

15’
To be 

reviewed on 
an individual 

basis

15’+ n/a NFPA 1142

Storage1

Industrial1

Mercantile1

5,001 to 10,000 YES
YES
YES

25’
To be 

reviewed on 
an individual 

basis

15’+ n/a NFPA 1142

Mini-Storage 5,000 no 15’
2 Stories

30’ 15’+ n/a NFPA 1142

Mini-Storage
5,001 to 10,000

no 25’
2 Stories

30’ 15’+ n/a NFPA 1142

Occupancy

Maximum 
Aggregate 
Gross Square 
Footage

Internal Fire 
Separation Flow

Required
Hydrant
Spacing

One- and Two-Family 
Detached Dwellings * 10,000 n/a

500 GPM
20 PSI Residual Pressure

1 Hour Duration

1,000 feet on center

Other Residential* 10,000 n/a 1,000 GPM
20 PSI Residual Pressure

1 Hour Duration

800 feet on center

Rowhouses* & 
Townhouses*

10,000
2-Hr rated wall 

1,000 GPM
20 PSI Residual Pressure

1 Hour Duration

800 feet on center
Part I

Chapter 2
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*Sites in New Castle County are subject to the provisions of 
New Castle County Code Chapter 40 Article 5 Ordinance 
#90-200.  See §A-6-1.4.1 and §A-6-1.4.2. 

AMEND PART V, CHAPTER 1 AS FOLLOWS:

Amend Part V, Chapter 1, §1-1.8  by revising section  1-
1.8 to read as follows:

1-1.8 Reporting Of Fire Incidents.    Any fire brigade, 
department, or company shall report every fire all incidents to 
the State Fire Marshal on forms provided by in an electronic 
format acceptable to the State Fire Marshal within ten days 
after the end of the month in which the incident occurs. 

Amend Part V, Chapter 1, §1-2 by inserting new sections 
1-2.8 through 1-2.8.4 to read as follows:

1-2.8 Gated Communities
1-2.8.1 Fire Department access shall be provided to all 

otherwise inaccessible gated communities, subdivisions, 
developments, or property by any other name through the 
use of a system or device authorized by the local Fire Chief 
and approved by the State Fire Marshal’s Office.

1-2.8.2 The system or device required in 1-2.8.1 shall be 
located in an area accessible to the fire department as 
determined by the local Fire Chief and approved by the State 
Fire Marshal’s Office.

1-2.8.3 The owner and/or occupant of the property 
requiring fire department access as specified in 1-2.8.1 and 
1-2.8.2 shall maintain the approved system or device in strict 
accordance with the manufacturer's guidelines.

1-2.8.4 The owner and/or occupant of the property 
requiring fire department access shall not modify access in 
any manner that could prevent fire department access 
without obtaining prior approval from the State Fire 
Marshal’s Office. 

AMEND PART VI, CHAPTER 3, §3-4.1 BY REVISING 
THE WORDING TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

3-4.1* Smoke Detection Systems Required. All new 
apartment buildings shall be provided with an automatic 
smoke detection system in the interior corridors and/or 
hallways and/or stairways, in accordance with §7-6, except 
as modified by 18-3.4.2 through 18-3.4.4, of the Life Safety 
Code, NFPA 101, and the National Fire Alarm Code, NFPA 
72, as adopted and/or modified by these Regulations.

AMEND PART VI, CHAPTER 3, BY ADDING §3-4.4 
TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

3-4.4 Portable Fire Extinguishers. All apartment buildings 
shall be provided with portable fire extinguishers, placed as 
follows:

3-4.4.1 At least one extinguisher with a rating of at least 
2A-10BC shall be located on each stairway landing of every 
stairway common to two or more apartment units.

Exception: In lieu of the above, the owner may provide 
at least one extinguisher with a rating of at least 1A-10BC to 
each individual apartment unit. 

3-4.4.2 Each hazard area (such as laundry room, storage 
area, etc.) shall be provided with at least one extinguisher 
with a minimum rating of 2A-20BC.

AMEND PART VI, CHAPTER 3, §3-6.5 BY REVISING 
THE WORDING TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

3-6.5 Effective December 17, 1997, the owner of any 
complex, building or buildings, within 90 days from the 
effective date of the Regulation, shall have on file with the 
Office of State Fire Marshal, a corrective plan of action 
detailing the owner’s timetable for complying with the 
provisions of these Regulations. 

AMEND PART VI, CHAPTER 3, §3-6.7 BY REVISING 
THE WORDING TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

3-6.7  Any existing apartment buildings, multi-family 
dwellings, etc., shall have five years from the effective date 
of this Regulation to be in compliance. Effective July 1, 

Assembly
Health Care
Business
Education

10,000 n/a 1,000 GPM
20 PSI Residual Pressure

1 Hour Duration

800 feet on center

Storage
Industrial
Mercantile

10,000 n/a 1,500 GPM
20 PSI Residual Pressure

2 Hour Duration

800 feet on center

Mini-Storage 10,000 n/a 750 GPM
20 PSI Residual Pressure

1 Hour Duration

800 feet on center
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2002, all new and existing apartment buildings, multi-family 
dwellings, etc., shall comply with the provisions of these 
Regulations. 

AMEND APPENDIX E, BY ADDING THE 
FOLLOWING:

Fire Alarm Central Station, Remote Station, or 
Monitoring Service or Company License. The cost of an 
annual license for a Fire Alarm Central Station, Remote 
Station, or Monitoring Service or Company shall be $25.00.

Fire Alarm Signaling System Company License. The cost 
of an annual license for a Fire Alarm Signaling System 
Company shall be $25.00.

Fire Alarm Signaling System Certificate Holder. The cost 
of an annual certificate for a CERTIFICATE HOLDER of a 
Fire Alarm Signaling System Company shall be $25.00.

Fire Suppression System Company License. The cost of 
an annual license for a Fire Suppression System Company 
shall be $25.00.

Fire Suppression System Certificate Holder. The cost of 
an annual certificate for a CERTIFICATE HOLDER of a 
Fire Suppression System Company shall be $25.00.

AMEND APPENDIX E, "CERTIFICATES OF 
INSPECTION FOR FIRE ALARM SIGNALING 
SYSTEMS FEES." TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

(a)  Apartment or other multi-family dwellings:
(1)  Five (5) or less than five (5) buildings per complex: 

$25.00 per system for each fire alarm system;
(2)  more than five (5) buildings per complex: $15.00 

per system for each fire alarm system up to a maximum of 
twenty (20) buildings. Or a total of $300.00 per complex
Maximum fee per complex not to exceed $300 for fire alarm 
systems.

AMEND APPENDIX E, "CERTIFICATES OF 
INSPECTION FOR FIRE SUPPRESSION SYSTEMS 
FEES." TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

(b)  Apartment or other multi-family dwellings:
(1) Five (5) or less than five (5) buildings per complex: 

$25.00 per system for each fire suppression system;
(2) more than five (5) buildings per complex: $15.00 per 

system for each fire suppression system up to a maximum of 
twenty (20) buildings. Or a total of $300.00 per complex
Maximum fee per complex not to exceed $300 for fire 
suppression systems.

AMEND APPENDIX E, DETAILED FEE LIST, " FIRE 
ALARM CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION PER 
SYSTEM" TO READ AS FOLLOWS:
Exception: Apartment or other multi-family dwellings:

(1) Five (5) or less than five (5) buildings per complex: 
$25.00 per system for each fire alarm system;

(2) more than five (5) buildings per complex: $15.00 per 
system for each fire alarm system up to a maximum of 
twenty (20) buildings. Or a total of $300.00 per complex
Maximum fee per complex not to exceed $300 for fire alarm 
systems.

AMEND APPENDIX E, DETAILED FEE LIST, " FIRE 
SUPPRESSION CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION PER 
SYSTEM" TO READ AS FOLLOWS:
Exception: Apartment or other multi-family dwellings:

(1) Five (5) or less than five (5) buildings per complex: 
$25.00 per system for each fire suppression system;

(2) more than five (5) buildings per complex: $15.00 per 
system for each fire suppression system up to a maximum of 
twenty (20) buildings. Or a total of $300.00 per complex
Maximum fee per complex not to exceed $300 for fire 
suppression systems.

AMEND APPENDIX E, DETAILED FEE LIST BY 
ADDING THE FOLLOWING:
Fire Alarm Central Station, Remote
Station, or Monitoring Service or Company License - $25.00

In House Fire Alarm Signaling System License (per system) 
-  $100

In House Fire Suppression System License (per system) - 
$100

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 101

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 220 (14 Del.C. §220)

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

101 Delaware Student Testing Program

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 
State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
101 Delaware Student Testing Program in order to correct 
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section 9.2.4.2 as per the requirements of No Child Left 
Behind.  Section 9.2.4.2 has been amended to state that 
“students who are granted a special exemption shall be 
included in the participation rate calculation”.  This change 
aligns this regulation with 14 DE Admin Code 103.2.4. 
Amendments to this section of 14 DE Admin. Code 103 
were approved in May 2004.

Amendments were also made so that all references 
made to a student’s parent or guardian also includes a 
Relative Caregiver.  In 1.0 grade K was changed to grade 2 
and in 4.1.1 grades K and 1 were removed because they are 
no longer part of the State Assessment program.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on June 22, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No 
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 101 in order to bring the regulation in line 
with 14 DE Admin. Code 103 and to make technical 
corrections.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 101. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant 
to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 
101 hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five 
years from the effective date of this order as set forth in 
Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 101 amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 101 in the 
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on August 19, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 19th day of August 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff,  Secretary of Education

Approved this 19th day of August 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

101 Delaware Student Testing Program

1.0 Definition: 
The Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) shall 

include the assessments of all students in grades K 2-10 in 
the areas of reading, writing and mathematics and the 
assessments of all students in grades 4, 6, 8, and 11 in the 
areas of science and social studies. The DSTP shall also 
include the participation of Delaware students in the 
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) as 
determined by the Department of Education.  All districts 
and charter schools shall participate in all components of the 
DSTP including field test administrations.

1.1 All students in said grades shall be tested except 
that students with disabilities and students with limited 
English proficiency shall be tested according to the 
Department of Education’s Guidelines for the Inclusion of 
Students with Disabilities and Students with Limited English 
Proficiency, as the same, may from time to time be amended 
hereafter.

1.2 The Department of Education shall determine the 
dates upon which the DSTP will be administered, and will 
advise the school districts and charter schools of those dates. 

2.0 Levels of Performance:
There shall be five levels of student performance 

relative to the State Content Standards on the assessments 
administered to students in grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 in reading, 
mathematics and writing and to students in grades 4, 6, 8 and 
11 in social studies and science. In reading, writing and 
mathematics at grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 and science and social 
studies at grades 4, 6, 8 and 11 the cut points for Exceeds the 
Standard and Meets the Standard shall be determined by the 
Department of Education with the consent of the State Board 
of Education, using advice from a standard setting body. The 
standard setting body shall utilize a proven method for 
setting standards on test instruments that utilizes student 
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work in making the recommendation. Beginning with the 
2006 assessments, there shall be the same five levels of 
performance for students in grades 4, 6, 7 and 9 in reading, 
mathematics and writing. Said levels are defined and shall be 
determined as follows:

2.1 Distinguished Performance (Level 5): A student's 
performance in the tested domain is deemed exceptional. 
Students in this category show mastery of the Delaware 
Content Standards beyond what is expected of students 
performing at the top of the grade level. Student performance 
in this range is often exemplified by responses that indicate a 
willingness to go beyond the task, and could be classified as 
"exemplary."  The cut points for Distinguished Performance 
shall be determined by the Department of Education, with 
the consent of the State Board of Education.

2.2 Exceeds the Performance Standard (Level 4): A 
student's performance in the tested domain goes well beyond 
the fundamental skills and knowledge required for students 
to Meet the Performance Standard. Students in this category 
show mastery of the Delaware Content Standards beyond 
what is expected at the grade level. Student performance in 
this range is often exemplified by work that is of the quality 
to which all students should aspire, and could be classified as 
"very good”.  The cut points for Exceeds the Performance 
Standard shall be determined by the Department of 
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education.

2.3 Meets the Performance Standard (Level 3): A 
student's performance in the tested domain indicates an 
understanding of the fundamental skills and knowledge 
articulated in the Delaware Content Standards. Students in 
this category show mastery of the Delaware Content 
Standards at grade level. Student performance in this range 
can be classified as "good”.  The cut points for Meets the 
Performance Standard shall be determined by the 
Department of Education, with the consent of the State 
Board of Education.

2.4 Below the Performance Standard (Level 2): A 
student's performance in the tested domain shows a partial or 
incomplete understanding of the fundamental skills and 
knowledge articulated in the Delaware Content Standards. 
Students who are Below the Performance Standard may 
require additional instruction in order to succeed in further 
academic pursuits, and can be classified as academically 
“deficient”.  The cut points for Below the Performance 
Standard shall be determined by the Department of 
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education.

2.5 Well Below the Performance Standard (Level 1): A 
student's performance in the tested domain shows an 
incomplete and a clearly unsatisfactory understanding of the 
fundamental skills and knowledge articulated in the 
Delaware Content Standards. Students who are Well Below 
the Performance Standard have demonstrated broad 
deficiencies in terms of the standards indicating that they are 
poorly prepared to succeed in further academic pursuits and 

can be classified as “very deficient”.  The cut points for Well 
Below the Performance Standard shall be determined by the 
Department of Education, with the consent of the State 
Board of Education.

7 DE Reg. 51 (7/1/03)

3.0 Other Indicators of Student Performance
3.1 Local school districts and charter schools may 

consider other indicators of student performance relative to 
the state content standards pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(b) 
when determining the placement of students who score at 
Level 1 or Level II on a mandated retake of a portion of the 
DSTP.  Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(d)(2) and §153 (d)(12), 
local school districts and charter schools may also consider 
other indicators of student performance relative to the state 
content standards when determining if a student may 
advance to the next grade level without attending summer 
school.  The only other indicators of student performance 
that may be considered by a local school district or charter 
school are: student performance on district administered 
tests pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(e)(1); student performance 
on end-of-course assessments; student classroom work 
products and classroom grades supported by evidence of 
student work that demonstrates a student’s performance 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(a).

3.2 Any local school district or charter school planning 
to use other indicators of student performance shall submit 
the proposed indicators to the Department of Education by 
September 1st of each year.

3.2.1 Any such submission must include a 
demonstration of how an indicator of student performance 
aligns with and measures state content standards and the 
level of performance required to demonstrate performance 
equivalent to meeting state content standards.

3.2.2 Any proposed indicators of student 
performance must be approved by the Department of 
Education following consultation with the Student 
Assessment and Accountability Committee and the State 
Board of Education.

3.3 An academic review committee composed of 
educators in the student’s local school district or charter 
school may then determine if a student has demonstrated 
proficient performance relative to the state content standards 
using evidence from the other indicators of student 
performance as approved by the Department of Education.

3.3.1 The academic review committee shall be 
composed of two classroom teachers from the student’s 
tested grade, one classroom teacher from the grade to which 
the student may be promoted, one guidance counselor or 
other student support staff member and two school building 
administrators.

3.3.2 The supervisor of curriculum or 
instruction for the school district or charter school or his/ her 
designee shall chair the committee.
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3.3.3 Placement of students with disabilities 
who are eligible for special education and related services is 
determined by the student’s IEP team.

7 DE Reg. 325 (9/1/03)

4.0 Individual Improvement Plan (IIP)
4.1 The following students are required to have an 

Individual Improvement Plan:
Students who score below Level 3 Meets the 

Standard, on the reading portion of the 3rd, 5th or 8th grade 
Delaware Student Testing Program or the mathematics 
portion of the 8th grade Delaware Student Testing Program 
shall have an Individual Improvement Plan prepared by 
school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal or 
designee and a parent or legal guardian of the student. the 
student’s parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver.

4.1.1 Students assessed on the DSTP in grades 
K, 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, and 9 who are not progressing satisfactorily 
toward the standards or who score at Level 1 or Level 2 in 
reading shall have an Individual Improvement Plan prepared 
by school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal 
or designee and a parent or legal guardian of the student. 
Students assessed on the DSTP in grades 6, 7, and 9 who are 
not progressing satisfactorily toward the standards or who 
score at Level 1 or Level 2 in mathematics shall have an 
Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel 
and signed by the teacher(s), principal or designee and a 
parent or legal guardian of the student. the student’s parent, 
guardian or Relative Caregiver.

4.2 The Individual Improvement Plan shall be on a 
form adopted by the student’s school district or charter 
school. The IIP shall be placed in a student’s cumulative file 
and shall be updated based on the results of further 
assessments. Such assessments may include further DSTP 
results as well as local assessments, classroom observations 
or inventories. For students with an Individualized 
Education Program (IEP), the IEP shall serve as the 
Individual Improvement Plan (IIP).

4.3 The Individual Improvement Plan shall at a 
minimum identify a specific course of study for the student 
that the school will provide and the academic improvement 
activities that the student shall undertake to help the student 
progress towards meeting the standards. Academic 
improvement activities may include mandatory participation 
in summer school, extra instruction and/or mentoring 
programs.

4.4 Individual Improvement Plan shall be prepared by 
school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal or 
designee and the parent or legal guardian of the student. the 
student’s parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver who  A 
parent or the student’s legal guardian must sign and return a 
copy of the student’s Individual Improvement Plan to the 
student’s school by the end of the first marking period.

4.5 Disputes initiated by a student’s parent or legal 

guardian concerning the student’s IIP shall be decided by the 
academic review committee. Any dispute concerning the 
content of a student’s IEP is subject to resolution in 
conformity with the Regulations, Children with Disabilities.

7 DE Reg. 51 (7/1/03)

5.0 Summer school programs for students in grades 3, 5, 
and 8 as required pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153.

5.1 Summer school programs shall be provided by the 
student’s district of residence with the following exceptions:

5.1.1 Where a student attends another district as 
a result of school choice or attends a charter school the 
district of choice or charter school shall provide the summer 
school program.

5.1.2 Where by mutual agreement of both 
districts or a charter school and the parent or guardian of the 
student the student’s parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver 
another district provides services.

5.1.3 Where by mutual agreement of the 
student’s school district or a charter school and the student’s 
parent or guardian parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver, 
the parent or guardian the parent, guardian or Relative 
Caregiver arranges for summer school instruction to be 
provided outside the public school system. Under such 
conditions the parent or guardian the parent, guardian or 
Relative Caregiver shall be responsible for the cost of 
providing non-public school instruction unless the districts 
or the charter school and parents or guardian agree 
otherwise. Requirements for secondary testing shall be met.

5.1.4 Where a student has been offered 
admission into a vocational technical school district or 
charter school that district or charter school may provide 
summer school services.

6.0 High School Diploma Index As Derived from the 
10th Grade Assessments Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §152.

6.1 Students who graduate from a Delaware public high 
school, as members of the class of 2004 and beyond shall be 
subject to the diploma index as stated herein.

6.1.1 Beginning in 2002 for the graduating class 
of 2004, the Department shall calculate a diploma index 
based upon the student’s grade 10 Delaware Student Testing 
Program performance levels in reading, writing, and 
mathematics.

6.1.2 Beginning in 2005 for the graduating class 
of 2006, the Department shall calculate a diploma index 
based upon the student’s grade 10 Delaware Student Testing 
Program performance levels in reading, writing, 
mathematics and the grade 11 Delaware Student Testing 
Program performance levels in science and social studies.

6.2 A student may choose to participate in additional 
scheduled administrations of the DSTP in order to improve 
his/her diploma index. The highest earned performance level 
in each content area will be used in calculating the diploma 
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index.
6.3 The diploma index shall be calculated by 

multiplying the earned performance level in each content 
area by the assigned weight and summing the results.

6.3.1 Beginning with the year 2002, the 
assigned weights shall be .40 for reading, .40 for 
mathematics, and .20 for writing for the graduating class of 
2004 and 2005.

6.3.2 Beginning with the year 2005, the 
assigned weights shall be .20 for reading, .20 for 
mathematics, .20 for writing, .20 for science and .20 for 
social studies for the graduating class of 2006 and beyond. 

6.4 Students shall qualify for State of Delaware High 
School diplomas as follows:

6.4.1 A student shall be awarded a 
Distinguished State Diploma upon attainment of a diploma 
index greater than or equal to 4.0 provided that the student 
has attained a Performance Level 3 or higher in each content 
area and provided that the student has met all other 
requirements for graduation as established by the State and 
local districts or charter schools.

6.4.2 A student shall be awarded a Standard 
State Diploma upon attainment of a diploma index greater 
than or equal to 3.0 and provided that the student has met all 
other requirements for graduation as established by the State 
and local districts or charter schools. 

6.4.3 A student shall be awarded a Basic State 
Diploma upon attainment of a diploma index less than 3.0 
and provided that the student has met all other requirements 
for graduation as established by the State and local districts 
or charter schools.

6.5 Parent or Guardian Notification Parent, Guardian or 
Relative Caregiver Notification: Within 30 days of receiving 
student performance levels and/or diploma indices, school 
districts and charter schools shall provide written notice of 
the same and the consequences thereof to the student’s 
parent or legal guardian. the student’s parent, guardian or 
Relative Caregiver.

7 DE Reg. 51 (7/1/03)

7.0 Security and Confidentiality:
In order to assure uniform and secure procedures, the 

Delaware Student Testing Program shall be administered 
pursuant to the Delaware Student Testing Program 
Coordinators Handbook, as the same, may from time to time 
be amended hereafter.

7.1 Every district superintendent, district test 
coordinator, school principal, school test coordinator and test 
administrator shall sign the certification provided by the 
Department of Education regarding test security before, 
during and after test administration.

7.2 Violation of the security or confidentiality of any 
test required by the Delaware Code and the Regulations of 
the Department of Education shall be prohibited.

7.3 Procedures for maintaining the security and 
confidentiality of a test shall be specified in the appropriate 
test administration materials in 14 Del.C. §170 through 
§174.

7.4 Procedures for Reporting Security Breaches 
7.4.1 School Test Coordinators shall report any 

questionable situations to the District Test Coordinators 
immediately.

7.4.2 District Test Coordinators shall report all 
situations immediately to the State Director of Assessment 
and Analysis. 

7.4.2.1 Within 5 days of the incident the 
District Test Coordinator shall file a written report with the 
State Director of Assessment and Analysis that includes the 
sequence of events leading up to the situation, statements by 
everyone interviewed, and any action either disciplinary or 
procedural, taken by the district.

7.4.2.2 Following a review of the report by 
the State Director of Assessment and Analysis and the 
Associate Secretary of Education for Assessment and 
Accountability, an investigator from the State Department of 
Education will be assigned to verify the district report.

7.4.2.3 Within 10 days of the receipt of the 
report from the District Test Coordinator, the assigned 
investigator shall meet with the district personnel involved in 
the alleged violation. The meeting will be scheduled through 
the District Test Coordinator and the investigator shall be 
provided access to all parties involved and/or to any 
witnesses.

7.4.2.4 The investigator shall report the 
findings to the Associate Secretary for Assessment and 
Accountability. Following the review the Associate 
Secretary shall make a ruling describing any 
recommendations and or required actions. 

7.4.2.5 The ruling shall be delivered within 
10 days of the receipt of all reports and information and 
records shall be kept of all investigations.

8.0 Procedures for reviewing questions and response 
sheets from the Delaware Student Testing Program 
(DSTP)

8.1 School personnel, local school board members and 
the public may request to review the Delaware Student 
Testing Program (DSTP) questions. In order to review the 
DSTP questions individuals shall make a request in writing 
to the State Director of Assessment and Analysis for an 
appointment at the Department of Education. 

8.1.1 At the time of the appointment, the 
individual shall: provide proper identification upon arrival, 
sign a confidentiality document, remain with a Department 
of Education staff member while reviewing the test 
questions and take nothing out of the viewing area. 

8.1.2 The Department of Education’s 
responsibility is to do the following: schedule the review at a 
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mutually agreeable time, notify the local district that the 
review has been requested, review the procedures for 
looking at the DSTP questions, assist the individual(s) as 
requested and keep records of all reviews.

8.1.3 In cases where more than one individual is 
requesting to view the DSTP questions, the local school 
district shall send a representative to sit in on the review.

8.2 Parent/guardian(s) [The A] student’s parent, 
guardian or Relative Caregiver may request to view the test 
questions and [their that] student’s responses.  In order to 
review the DSTP questions and [their that] student’s 
responses, parents/ guardian(s) the student’s parent, guardian 
or Relative Caregiver shall make a request in writing to the 
State Director of Assessment and Analysis for an 
appointment at the Department of Education. The 
Department shall be allowed sufficient time to secure a copy 
of student responses from the test vendor.

8.2.1 At the time of the appointment, the 
individual shall: provide proper identification upon arrival, 
sign a confidentiality document, remain with a Department 
of Education staff member while reviewing the test 
questions and take nothing out of the viewing area. 

8.2.2 The Department of Education’s 
responsibility is to do the following: schedule the review at a 
mutually agreeable time, notify the local district that the 
review has been requested, review the procedures for 
looking at the DSTP questions, assist the individual(s) as 
requested and keep records of all reviews.

8.2.3 In the case of the stand-alone writing 
response, the parent/guardian(s) the student’s parent, 
guardian or Relative Caregiver may go to the local school 
district or charter school to view the test responses.

4 DE Reg. 464 (9/1/00)
5 DE Reg. 620 (9/1/01)

9.0 Invalidations and Special Exemptions 
9.1 Invalidations for students in grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 

for reading, writing and mathematics and grades 4,6,8 and 11 
for science and social studies: Invalidations are events or 
situations that occur during the administration of the DSTP 
assessments which may result in a statistically unreliable 
score report for a student. Invalidations may occur as a result 
of either: intentional student conduct, including but not 
limited to cheating and disruptive behavior; or unforeseen 
and uncontrollable events, including but not limited to onset 
of illness.

9.1.1 Reporting of situations that occur during 
testing.

9.1.1.1 The school building principal or 
designee shall notify the District Test Coordinator in writing 
within 24 hours of events or situations that the principal 
reasonably believes may result in an invalid score report for 
a student(s).

9.1.1.2 The District Test Coordinator shall 

notify the Department of Education staff person assigned to 
the district for test security purposes as soon as the 
Coordinator learns of events or situations which may result 
in invalidation(s). 

9.1.1.2.1 The District Test 
Coordinator shall submit a DSTP Incident Report Form 
within three business days of the events. Written reports 
from the building principal or designee and any staff must be 
included with the DSTP Incident Report Form.

9.1.1.3 The Director of Assessment for the 
Department of Education shall determine whether the 
reported events warrant invalidating a student(s) score and 
such decision shall be final.

9.1.1.3.1 If the Director determines 
that the events also warrant a security investigation the 
matter will be referred to the Department of Education staff 
person assigned to the district for test security purposes.

9.1.2 Consequences of invalidations.
9.1.2.1 Whenever the Director of Assessment 

for the Department of Education determines that a student’s 
assessment test score is invalid as a result of an intentional 
act of the student, the student will be assigned a performance 
level 1 (well below standard) for that assessment and will be 
subject to such consequences as may otherwise be imposed 
pursuant to law for students who score at performance level 
1 of the assessment; the assessment test score of any such 
student shall be reported and counted in the test scores of the 
student’s school for all purposes, including school and 
district accountability.

9.1.2.2 Whenever the Director of Assessment 
for the Department of Education determines that a student’s 
assessment test score is invalid as a result of an event which 
is unforseen and beyond the control of the student and if the 
student is unable to participate in a regularly scheduled test 
make-up, the student shall not be subject to any of the 
consequences as would otherwise be imposed pursuant to 
law; the assessment score of any such student shall not be 
reported or counted in the test scores of the student’s school 
for any purpose, including school and district accountability.

9.2 Special Exemptions for students in grades 3, 5, 8, 
and 10 for reading, writing and mathematics and grades 4, 6, 
8 and 11 for science and social studies: A special exemption 
may be available when a student’s short-term, physical or 
mental condition prevents the student from participating in 
the DSTP assessments even with accommodations, or when 
an emergency arising before the start of the test prevents the 
student’s participation.

9.2.1 Special exemptions for students who are 
tested according to the Department of Education’s 
Guidelines for Inclusion of Students with Disabilities and 
Students with Limited English Proficiency are also available 
as provided in the Guidelines.

9.2.2 Requests for special exemptions based on 
physical or mental condition.
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9.2.2.1 Special exemptions based on a 
student’s physical or mental condition may be available for 
students suffering from terminal illnesses or injuries or 
receiving extraordinary short-term medical treatment for 
either a physical or psychiatric condition. Requests for 
exemptions on these grounds shall be accompanied by a 
signed statement from the student’s treating physician 
which; describes the nature of the terminal condition or 
extraordinary treatment; confirms that the terminal condition 
or the extraordinary treatment arose more than 60 calendar 
days before the test administration for which the exemption 
is requested and has substantially prevented the student from 
accessing educational services since its inception ; and 
confirms that the condition or treatment is expected to be 
resolved or completed within 12 months of the test 
administration.

9.2.2.2 The District Test Coordinator shall 
submit a completed Request for Special Exemption Form to 
the Director of Assessment for the Department of Education 
at least 60 calendar days before the first day of testing. A 
copy of the physician’s statement required in the preceding 
subsection will accompany the request.

9.2.2.2.1 The Director of Assessment 
shall convene a review committee of not less than three 
Department of Education staff to review requests for special 
exemptions. The Director shall submit a recommendation on 
each request to the Associate Secretary for Assessment and 
Accountability.

9.2.2.2.2 The Associate Secretary 
shall decide whether a request for a special exemption based 
on physical or mental conditions should be granted. The 
Associate Secretary shall notify the District Test Coordinator 
of the decision. The Associate Secretary’s decision shall be 
final.

9.2.3 Request for special exemptions based on 
emergency.

9.2.3.1 Emergencies are unforeseen events or 
situations arising no more than 60 calendar days before the 
start of the test administration. They may include, but are not 
limited to, death in a student’s immediate family, childbirth, 
accidents, injuries and hospitalizations.

9.2.3.2 Special exemptions due to an 
emergency may be requested for the entire test or for one or 
more content areas, as the district determines appropriate.

9.2.3.3 The District Test Coordinator shall 
notify the Director of Assessment for the Department of 
Education as soon as the Coordinator learns of events or 
situations which may result in a request for a special 
exemption due to an emergency.

9.2.3.3.1 The District Test 
Coordinator shall submit a completed DSTP Request for 
Special Exemption Form to the Director of Assessment for 
the Department of Education within 7 calendar days of the 
last day for make up testing. Requests for exemptions on 

these grounds shall be accompanied by a signed statement 
from the student’s treating physician which describes the 
nature of the situation.

9.2.3.3.2 The Director of Assessment 
shall convene a review committee of not less than three 
Department of Education staff to review requests for special 
exemptions due to an emergency. The Director shall submit a 
recommendation on each request to the Associate Secretary 
for Assessment and Accountability.  

9.2.3.3.3 The Associate Secretary 
shall decide whether a request for a special exemption based 
on an emergency should be granted. The Associate Secretary 
shall notify the District Test Coordinator of the decision. 
The Associate Secretary’s decision shall be final.

9.2.4 Consequences of Special Exemptions.
9.2.4.1 Any special exemption granted by the 

Department of Education is limited to the testing period for 
which it was requested and does not carry forward to future 
test administrations.

9.2.4.2 Students who are granted a special 
exemption shall not be reported or counted in the school’s 
test scores for any purpose, including school and district 
accountability.  Students who are granted a special 
exemption shall be included in the participation rate 
calculation for school and district accountability pursuant to 
14 DE Admin Code 103.2.4 unless their medical condition 
prevents them from being in school during the testing period.

9.2.4.3 Students who are granted a special 
exemption shall not be subject to any of the student testing 
consequences for students in grades 3, 5, or 8 for the testing 
period to which the exemption applies.

5 DE Reg. 2215 (5/1/02)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 106, 107 & 108

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

I. Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 
State Board of Education to adopt 14 DE Admin. Code 106 
Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal 
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System (DPAS II), 107 Specialist Appraisal Process 
Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) and 108 
Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II).  The development of these 
regulations by the Department of Education was mandated in 
14 Del.C. §1270(b).  These regulations will replace the three 
existing regulations for the Delaware Performance Appraisal 
System (DPAS), 110 Teacher and Specialists Appraisal 
process, 112 Addendum to Teachers and Specialists 
Appraisal Process and 115 School level Administrator 
Appraisal Process on July 1, 2005.  The new regulations 106, 
107 and 108 have the specific component of student 
achievement as one of the evaluation criteria and they define 
a pattern of ineffectiveness for teachers, specialists and 
administrators.  The Administrator Appraisal Process 
Delaware Performance Appraisal System regulation 108 
includes all administrators.

These regulations were previously advertised in 
Delaware Register of Regulations on March 1, 2004 
(Volume 7 Issue 9) and on May 1, 2004 (Volume 7 Issue 11).

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on June 22, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. Comments 
were received from the State Council for Persons with 
Disabilities and The Governor’s Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Citizens. The comments and responses are as 
follows:

The Councils recommended that DOE substitute “or” 
for “and” since some persons may be either “licensed” or 
“certified”.  DOE has been implementing a new licensure 
and certification system regulated by the Professional 
Standards Board and the State Board of Education which 
requires most specialists to be both licensed and certified.

The Councils commented that the new proposal is less 
clear on the effective date of the pilot project.  The May 
version clarified that the pilot project was effective July 1, 
2004 which would atypically permit a teacher with a 
certificate for less than one year to be characterized as 
“experienced”.  The new proposal refers to the pilot project 
without a commencement date.  Reading §1.0 together with 
the synopsis to the regulations it is possible that the 
regulations will only apply to pilot projects initiated on or 
after July 1, 2005.  In any event, it is irregular to characterize 
a teacher with a certificate for less than 2 years as 
“experienced”.  Professional Status Certificates are no longer 
issued by the DOE as of August 1, 2003.  

The Councils recommended increasing the new teacher 
observation time.  The DOE effected no change.  Council 
also recommended a different rating system.  The DOE made 
some minor revisions to Section 106, §6.2.  The DOE 
chooses to pilot the process as written and then determine if 
a change in the length of new teacher observation time is 
necessary.  Data collected after the pilot will have to support 
any changes.

The Councils commented that he DOE may wish to 
reconsider §§5.2.5.1.2 and 5.2.5.1.3 in Sections 106 and 107. 
Literally, if students receive consistently high average scale 
scores, as juxtaposed to improving, the teacher would be 
penalized.  The DOE will evaluate the criteria after a pilot.

The printing error in section 107 §5.2.5.1.2 has been 
corrected.

The Councils commented that the administrator 
appraisal includes assessment of students based on race, 
gender, socio-economic status, and language proficiency. 
The teacher and specialist assessment standards include not 
only these characteristics, but “special education” status as 
well.  It would be logical to include “special education” 
within Section 108, §5.2.4.1.4.  The omission error has been 
corrected.

II.  Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to adopt 14 DE 
Admin. Code 106, 107 and 108 in order to comply with the 
requirements of 14 Del.C. §1270(b).

III.  Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to adopt 14 DE Admin. Code 106,107 and 
108.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del C. §122, 14 DE Admin. 
Code 106, 107 and 108 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” are 
hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C.
§122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 106, 107 and 108 hereby 
adopted shall be in effect for a period of five years from the 
effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 106, 107 and 108 
adopted hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B”, and said regulations shall be cited as 14 DE 
Admin. Code 106, 107 and 108 in the Administrative Code 
of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on August 19, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 19th day of August 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valarie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education
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Approved this 19th day of August 2004.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 The Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II) shall be effective for only those 
districts participating in the pilot of this process. 

1.1 For teachers participating in the pilot, any rating 
received on a Summative Evaluation conducted during the 
pilot period shall not be included in the determination of a 
pattern of ineffective teaching as defined in 7.0.

2.0 Definitions
“Announced Observation” shall consist of the Pre-

Observation Form and conference with the evaluator, an 
observation by the evaluator at an agreed upon date and 
time, and the associated formative conferences/reports.  The 
observation shall be of sufficient length, at least twenty (20) 
minutes, to analyze the lesson and assess performance.

“Board” shall mean a local board of education or 
charter school board of directors.

“Certified Evaluator” shall mean the individual, 
usually the supervisor of the teacher, who has successfully 
completed the evaluation training in accordance with 9.0.

“DPAS” shall mean the Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System in effect prior to [July 1, 2005 DPAS II].

“Experienced Teacher” shall mean a teacher who 
holds valid and current Continuing or Advanced License, or 
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to 
August 1, 2003.

“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that a teacher 
and evaluator mutually develop in accordance with section 
8.0.

“Novice Teacher” shall mean a teacher who holds a 
valid and current Initial License.

“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the 
teacher understands the concepts of the component and the 
teacher’s performance in that component is acceptable.  

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be used to qualify for a 
continuing license and shall be equivalent to the overall 
“Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on the 
Summative Evaluation.

“Summative Evaluation” shall be the rating process at 

the conclusion of the appraisal cycle.
“Technical Assistance Document” shall mean the 

manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 
procedures, specific details about the 5 components of 
evaluation and other relevant documents that assist in the 
appraisal process.

“Unannounced Observation” shall consist of an 
observation by the evaluator at a date and time that has not 
been previously arranged and the associated formative 
conferences/reports. The observation shall be of sufficient 
length, at least twenty (20) minutes, to analyze the lesson 
and assess performance.

“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean that 
the teacher does not understand the concepts of the 
component and the teacher’s performance in that component 
is not acceptable.

“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to 
the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

3.0 Appraisal Cycles
3.1 Experienced teachers who have earned a rating of 

“Effective” on their most recent Summative Evaluation shall 
receive a minimum of one (1) Announced Observation each 
year with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year 
period.  The minimum annual evaluation for an experienced 
teacher who has earned an effective rating, may be waived 
for the subsequent year but not for two (2) consecutive years. 
Up to one half of the experienced teachers in a building who 
received a rating of “Effective” or “Exemplary” on the most 
recent DPAS Performance Appraisal may have the annual 
Summative Evaluation waived.

3.2 Experienced teachers who have earned a rating of 
“Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most recent 
Summative Evaluation shall receive a minimum of one (1) 
Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  These teachers shall have an Improvement 
Plan which may require additional observations and other 
types of monitoring as outlined in the Technical Assistance 
Document.

3.3 Novice teachers shall receive a minimum of one (1) 
Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  Novice teachers who have earned a rating 
of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most 
recent Summative Evaluation shall have an Improvement 
Plan which may require additional observations or other 
types of monitoring as outlined in the Technical Assistance 
Document.

4.0 Technical Assistance Document
4.1 All districts and charter schools shall use the 

document entitled Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
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(DPAS) II Technical Assistance Document as developed by 
the Department of Education to assist in the implementation 
of the appraisal system.  The Technical Assistance 
Document shall be reviewed biannually by the State Board 
of Education.  Any recommendations for change shall be 
submitted to the Department of Education for consideration.

4.2 The Document shall contain, at a minimum, the 
following:

4.2.1 Specific details about each of the five (5) 
components listed in 5.1.

4.2.2 All forms or documents needed to 
complete the requirements of the appraisal process including 
Announced Observation, Unannounced Observation, 
Summative Evaluation, Improvement Plan and Challenge 
Form.

4.2.3 Specific procedures for observations, 
conferences, ratings, Summative Evaluation, Improvement 
Plan(s), and Challenges.

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following five (5) components shall be the 

basis upon which the performance of a teacher shall be 
evaluated by a certified evaluator:

5.1.1 Planning and Preparation
5.1.1.1 Selecting Instructional Goals: 

Teacher selects instructional goals that are aligned with the 
DE content standards and available DSTP/district/school/
program data. Goals are appropriate for the learners and 
reflect high expectations consistent with DSTP levels of 
performance.

5.1.1.2 Designing Coherent Instruction: 
Teacher plans for learning activities that align with the goals 
and supports student learning.  Instructional planning shows 
a structure and selection of materials and activities that 
support student learning relative to the DE content standards.

5.1.1.3 Demonstrating Knowledge of Content 
and Pedagogy:  Teacher shows his/her knowledge of content 
and how to teach it to a variety of learners.  The teacher’s 
plans include natural connections between content areas that 
deepen student learning.  The content that he/she teaches is 
aligned to the DE content standards.

5.1.1.4 Demonstrating Knowledge of 
Students:  Teacher shows an awareness of his/her knowledge 
of student developmental characteristics, approaches to 
learning, knowledge, skills, interests, cultural heritage, and 
DSTP performance levels.

5.1.2 Classroom Environment
5.1.2.1 Managing Classroom Procedures: 

Teacher has clearly defined procedures for managing 
learning time, transitions between learning events, and 
routine procedures that maximize learning time.

5.1.2.2 Managing Student Behavior:  Teacher 
establishes behavioral expectations and consequences and 
monitors student conduct. Teacher responds to student 

behavior in appropriate and effective ways to minimize 
disruptions.

5.1.2.3 Creating an Environment to Support 
Learning:  Teacher creates an atmosphere in which learning 
is valued. Teacher-student and student-student interactions 
show rapport that is grounded in mutual respect.

5.1.2.4 Organizing Physical Space:  Teacher 
organizes, allocates, and manages physical space to create a 
safe learning environment.  Teacher uses physical resources 
to contribute to effective instruction and make resources 
accessible to all students.

5.1.3 Instruction
5.1.3.1 Engaging Students in Learning: 

Content is appropriate, clear, and links to student knowledge 
and experience.   Content is aligned with the DE content 
standards and informed by the DSTP instructional needs 
comments.  Activities and assignments engage students in 
the exploration of the content.  Instructional materials are 
suitable to the instructional goals.  The instruction is 
coherent.

5.1.3.2 Demonstrating Flexibility and 
Responsiveness:  Teacher has a repertoire of instructional 
strategies and makes modifications to lessons as needed. 
Teacher differentiates instruction based on learner 
characteristics and DSTP instructional needs comments.

5.1.3.3 Communicating Clearly and 
Accurately:  Verbal and written communication is clear and 
appropriate to students’ age, background, and level of 
understanding.

5.1.3.4 Using Questioning and Discussion 
Techniques:  Questions are appropriate to the content and 
level of students’ understanding.  Teacher encourages 
students to pose their own questions and is responsive to 
student questions.  Teacher facilitates student-led 
discussions.

5.1.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.1.4.1 Communicating with Families: 

Teacher shares information about the school’s educational 
program, its alignment with the DE content standards, and 
expectations for student performance.  Teacher develops 
two-way communication with families about student 
progress, behavior, and personal needs or concerns.

5.1.4.2 Developing a Student Record System: 
Teacher keeps records of attendance, emergency contact 
information, personal information (such as: allergies, 
medications, accommodations), and behavior.  Shares 
relevant information with appropriate school personnel.

5.1.4.3 Growing and Developing 
Professionally:  Teacher participates in professional 
development to increase his/her knowledge of content and 
pedagogy.  Teacher chooses professional development that is 
aligned with the needs of the school/district/students.

5.1.4.4 Reflecting on Professional Practice: 
Teacher engages in reflective thinking as an individual, as a 
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team participant, or as a school/community member with the 
goal of improving instruction and learning.

5.1.5 Student Improvement
5.1.5.1 Showing Improvement on the DSTP: 

Teacher uses DSTP data analysis to inform classroom 
improvement, curriculum and instruction decisions.

5.1.5.2 Aligning Assessments to Learning 
Goals and DSTP:  Teacher creates dependable assessments 
and scoring criteria that accurately measure the learning 
goals based on the DE content standards and DSTP and 
classroom performance assessments and that yield data 
about student needs and progress relative to the content 
standards measured by the DSTP.

5.2 Each of the five (5) components shall be weighted 
equally and assigned a rating of Satisfactory or 
Unsatisfactory on the Summative Evaluation.

5.2.1 Planning and Preparation
5.2.1.1 A satisfactory rating for this 

component shall mean the teacher demonstrates acceptable 
performance by meeting at least 4 of the following 5 criteria:

5.2.1.1.1 Selects goals that are clear, 
reflect high expectations, are consistent with DSTP levels of 
performance, focus on learning, align with Delaware content 
standards and available DSTP/district/school/program data, 
and are suitable for the class.

5.2.1.1.2 Designs instruction that has a 
clearly defined structure, is appropriate for students, and 
matches the selected goals.

5.2.1.1.3 Chooses materials and 
activities that match the goals and engage students in 
learning.

5.2.1.1.4 Displays solid content and 
pedagogy knowledge and makes connections within the 
content area and with other content areas that deepen student 
learning.  Displays an understanding of prerequisite 
knowledge and anticipates student misconceptions.

5.2.1.1.5 Displays knowledge of 
student developmental characteristics, approaches to 
learning, knowledge, skills, interests, cultural heritage, and 
DSTP performance levels.

5.2.2 Classroom Environment
5.2.2.1 A satisfactory rating for this 

component shall mean the teacher demonstrates acceptable 
performance by meeting at least 8 of the following 11 
criteria:

5.2.2.1.1 Posts classroom procedures/
rules stated in student friendly terms.

5.2.2.1.2 Encourages students in 
assuming responsibility for following procedures.

5.2.2.1.3 Uses transitions 
appropriately to maximize learning time.

5.2.2.1.4 Posts behavioral 
expectations and consequences in student friendly terms.

5.2.2.1.5 Monitors and responds to 

behavior in effective ways that minimize disruptions.
5.2.2.1.6 Discusses classroom 

procedures/rules with students in ways that show shared 
valuing of procedures/rules.

5.2.2.1.7 Interacts with students and 
encourages student-student interactions in ways that show 
rapport and mutual respect.

5.2.2.1.8 Displays student work.
5.2.2.1.9 Organizes, allocates, and 

manages physical space in ways that create a safe learning 
environment.

5.2.2.1.10 Uses physical resources in 
ways that contribute to effective instruction.

5.2.2.1.11 Makes resources available to 
all students.

5.2.3 Instruction
5.2.3.1 A satisfactory rating for this 

component shall mean the teacher demonstrates acceptable 
performance by meeting at least 7 of the following 9 criteria:

5.2.3.1.1 Selects content that is 
aligned with the DE content standards, is appropriate, clear, 
and links to student knowledge and experience and the 
DSTP instructional needs comments.

5.2.3.1.2 Selects and designs activities 
and assignments that engage students in the exploration of 
the content.

5.2.3.1.3 Uses instructional materials 
that are suitable to the instructional goals.

5.2.3.1.4 Delivers coherent 
instruction.

5.2.3.1.5 Uses a repertoire of 
instructional strategies and makes adjustments to lessons as 
needed.

5.2.3.1.6 Differentiates instruction 
based on learner characteristics and DSTP instructional 
needs comments.

5.2.3.1.7 Communicates clearly in 
writing and verbally. Communicates in ways appropriate to 
students’ age, background, and level of understanding.

5.2.3.1.8 Asks questions that are 
appropriate to the content and level of students’ 
understanding.  Encourages students to pose their own 
questions and is responsive to student questions.

5.2.3.1.9 Facilitates student-led 
discussions.

5.2.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.2.4.1 A satisfactory rating for this 

component shall mean the teacher demonstrates acceptable 
performance by meeting at least 5 of the following 7 criteria:

5.2.4.1.1 Shares information, in a 
variety of ways, about the school’s educational program, its 
alignment with the DE content standards, and expectations 
for student performance.

5.2.4.1.2 Develops two-way 
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communication with families about student progress, 
behavior, and personal needs or concerns.

5.2.4.1.3 Responds to families in a 
timely and appropriate way.

5.2.4.1.4 Develops and maintains a 
record keeping system that is up-to-date, well-organized, 
accurate, and complete.

5.2.4.1.5 Shares relevant student 
information with appropriate school personnel.

5.2.4.1.6 Participates in professional 
development to increase knowledge of content and 
pedagogy. Chooses professional development that is clearly 
aligned with the needs of the school/district/and students.

5.2.4.1.7 Engages in reflective 
thinking as an individual, as a team participant, or school/
community member with the goal of improving instruction 
and learning.

5.2.5 Student Improvement
5.2.5.1 A satisfactory rating shall mean the 

teacher demonstrates acceptable performance in this 
component by meeting all of the criteria set forth below:

[5.2.5.1.1 The state progress 
determination pursuant to 14 DE Admin Code 103 5.0 
for the school in which the teacher teaches is Meets or 
Above Target.  If the State Progress Determination is 
Below Target, the teacher shall meet this requirement by 
meeting 5.2.5.1.2, 5.2.5.1.3, 5.2.5.1.4 and 5.2.5.1.5. The 
teacher provides evidence of a positive contribution ot 
the school’s State Progress Determination.]

5.2.5.1.2 For the aggregate group of 
students taught by the teacher for the previous two years the 
average scale scores on the DSTP in reading and math have 
increased, excluding those students pursuant to 14 Del.C
§1270(c).

5.2.5.1.3 The average scale score for 
the groups of students disaggregated by race/ethnicity, LEP, 
Special education and low income have increased for the 
previous two (2) years on the DSTP in reading and math, 
provided that there were a minimum of ten (10) students in a 
subgroup, excluding those students pursuant to 14 Del.C
§1270(c).  If there were [less fewer] than ten (10) students in 
a subgroup, the subgroup shall not be considered for these 
criteria.

5.2.5.1.4 The students currently being 
instructed in the teacher’s classroom in the aggregate have 
shown improvement on classroom based assessments, 
excluding those students pursuant to 14 Del.C §1270(c).

5.2.5.1.5 The students currently being 
instructed in the teacher’s classroom disaggregated by race/
ethnicity, LEP, special education and low income have 
shown improvement on classroom based assessments, 
provided that there were a minimum of five (5) students in a 
subgroup, excluding those students pursuant to 14 Del.C
§1270(c).  If there were [less fewer] than five (5) students in 

a subgroup, the subgroup shall not be considered for these 
criteria.

6.0 Summative Evaluation Ratings
6.1 The Summative Evaluation shall include ratings of 

Satisfactory or Unsatisfactory on each of the five (5) 
components pursuant to 5.0.

6.2 The Summative Evaluation shall also include one 
of three overall ratings: “Effective”, “Needs Improvement”, 
or “Ineffective”.

6.2.1 Effective shall mean that the teacher has 
received Satisfactory Component ratings in Component 5, 
Student Improvement and in at least three (3) of the other 
four (4) components of the appraisal criteria.

6.2.2 Needs Improvement shall mean that the 
teacher has received at least three (3) Satisfactory 
Component ratings out of the five (5) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.2.1 A teacher who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available 
for the current group of students the teacher is instructing.

6.2.3 Ineffective shall mean that the teacher has 
received three (3) or more Unsatisfactory Component ratings 
out of the five (5) components of the appraisal criteria.

6.2.3.1 A teacher who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available 
for the current group of students the teacher is instructing.

6.2.3.2 If the teacher’s overall Summative 
Evaluation rating is determined to be “Needs Improvement” 
for the third consecutive year, the rating shall be re-
categorized as Ineffective. 

7.0 A pattern of ineffective teaching shall be based on the 
most recent appraisal ratings of a teacher using the DPAS II 
process. Two consecutive ratings of Ineffective shall be 
deemed as a pattern of ineffective teaching.  The following 
appraisal ratings shall be determined to be a pattern of 
ineffective teaching:

Ineffective Ineffective
Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement
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8.0 Improvement Plan
8.1 An Improvement Plan shall be developed for a 

teacher who receives an overall rating of Needs 
Improvement or Ineffective on the Summative Evaluation or 
a rating of Unsatisfactory (Unsatisfactory Component 
Rating) on any component on the Summative Evaluation 
regardless of the overall rating.

8.1.1 An Improvement Plan shall also be 
developed if a teacher’s performance during an observed 
lesson is unsatisfactory.  This unsatisfactory performance 
shall be noted by the evaluator on the Formative Feedback 
form by typing “PERFORMANCE IS 
UNSATISFACTORY” and initialing the statement.

8.2 The Improvement Plan shall contain the following:
8.2.1 Identification of the specific deficiencies 

and recommended area(s) for growth;
8.2.2 Measurable goals for improving the 

deficiencies to satisfactory levels;
8.2.3 Specific professional development or 

activities to accomplish the goals;
8.2.4 Specific resources necessary to implement 

the plan, including but not limited to, opportunities for the 
teacher to work with curriculum specialist(s), subject-area 
specialist(s), instructional specialist(s) or others with 
relevant expertise;

8.2.5 Procedures and evidence that must be 
collected to determine that the goals of the plan were met;

8.2.6 Timeline for the plan, including 
intermediate check points to determine progress;

8.2.7 Procedures for determining satisfactory 
improvement.

8.3 The Improvement Plan shall be developed 
cooperatively by the teacher and evaluator.  If the plan 
cannot be cooperatively developed, the evaluator shall have 
the authority and responsibility to determine the plan as 
specified in 8.2 above.

8.4 The teacher shall be held accountable for the 
implementation and completion of the Improvement Plan.

8.5 Upon completion of the Improvement Plan, the 
teacher and evaluator shall sign the documentation that 
determines the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of 
the plan.

9.0 Evaluator Credentials
9.1 Evaluators shall have completed the DPAS II 

training as developed by the Department of Education. 
Evaluators shall receive a certificate of completion which is 
valid for five (5) years and is renewable upon completion of 
professional development focused on DPAS II as specified 
by the Department of Education.

9.2 The training for the certificate of completion shall 

include techniques of observation and conferencing, content 
and relationships of frameworks for teaching training and a 
thorough review of the Technical Assistance Document. 
Activities in which participants practice implementation of 
DPAS II procedures shall be included in the training.

9.3 The credentialing process shall be conducted by the 
Department of Education.

10.0 Challenge Process
10.1 A teacher may challenge any rating on the 

Summative Evaluation, either a Component Rating or the 
Overall Rating, or a teacher may challenge the conclusions 
of a lesson observation if the statement “PERFORMANCE 
IS UNSATISFACTORY” has been included on the 
Formative Feedback form by submitting additional 
information specific to the point of disagreement in writing 
within ten (10) working days of the date of the teacher’s 
receipt of the Summative Evaluation.  Such written response 
shall become part of the appraisal record and shall be 
attached to the Summative Evaluation.  All challenges 
together with the record shall be forwarded to the supervisor 
of the evaluator.

10.1.1 Within ten (10) working days of receiving 
the written challenge, the supervisor of the evaluator shall 
review the record which consists of the Pre-observation 
Form(s), the Formative Feedback Form(s), the Summative 
Evaluation and the written challenge, and issue a written 
decision. 

10.1.2 If the challenge is denied, the decision 
shall state the reasons for denial.

10.1.3 The decision of the supervisor of the 
evaluator shall be final.

107  Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 The Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II) shall be effective for only those 
districts participating in the pilot of this process.

1.1 For specialists participating in the pilot, any rating 
received on a Summative Evaluation conducted during the 
pilot period shall not be included in the determination of a 
pattern of ineffective practice as defined in 7.0.

1.2 Specialist shall mean a licensed and certificated 
staff person who is part of the school team and delivers 
professional services to students, teachers, staff and/or 
families. Specialists include but are not limited to guidance 
counselors, instructional support specialists, library media 
specialists, school psychologists, school nurses, student 
support specialists, and therapeutic services specialists.

2.0 Definitions
“Announced Observation” shall consist of the Pre-

Observation Form and conference with the evaluator, an 

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Ineffective
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observation by the evaluator at an agreed upon date and 
time, and the associated formative conferences/reports.  The 
observation for the specialist may be a collection of data 
over a specified period of time, up to four (4) weeks, or it 
may be an observation of sufficient length to gather 
appropriate data but not less than twenty (20) minutes.

“Board” shall mean a local board of education or a 
charter school board of directors.

“Certified Evaluator” shall mean the individual, 
usually the supervisor of the specialist, who has successfully 
completed the evaluation training in accordance with 9.0.

“DPAS” shall mean the Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System in effect prior to [July 1, 2005 DPAS II].

“Experienced Specialist” is a specialist who holds a 
valid and current Continuing or Advanced License, or 
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to 
August 1, 2003 or holds a valid and current license from 
their respective licensure body.

“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that a specialist 
and evaluator mutually develop in accordance with section 
8.0.

“Novice Specialist” is a specialist who holds a valid 
and current Initial License or holds a valid and current 
license from their respective licensure body and has less than 
three (3) years of experience as a specialist.

“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the 
specialist understands the concepts of the component and the 
specialist’s performance in that component is acceptable.

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be used to qualify for a 
continuing license and shall be equivalent to the overall 
“Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on the 
Summative Evaluation.

“Summative Evaluation” shall be the rating process at 
the conclusion of the appraisal cycle.

“Technical Assistance Document” shall mean the 
manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 
procedures, evaluation criteria and other relevant documents 
that assist in the appraisal process.

“Unannounced Observation” shall consist of an 
observation by the evaluator at a date and time that has not 
been previously arranged and the associated formative 
conferences/reports. The unannounced observation for the 
specialist may be an observation of sufficient length to 
gather appropriate data but not less than twenty (20) 
minutes.

“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean that 
the specialist does not understand the concepts of the 
component and the specialist’s performance in that 
component is not acceptable.

“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to 
the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

3.0 Appraisal Cycles
3.1 Experienced specialists who have earned a rating of 

“Effective” on their most recent Summative Evaluation shall 
receive a minimum of one (1) Announced Observation each 
year with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year 
period.  This minimum annual evaluation for an experienced 
specialist who has earned an effective rating may be waived 
for the subsequent year but not for two (2) consecutive years. 
Up to one half of the experienced specialists in a building 
who received a rating of “Effective” or “Exemplary” on the 
most recent DPAS Performance Appraisal Summative 
Evaluation may have the annual Summative Evaluation 
waived.

3.2 Experienced  specialists who have earned a rating 
of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most 
recent Summative Evaluation shall receive a minimum of 
one (1) Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  These specialists shall have an 
Improvement Plan which may require additional 
observations and other types of monitoring as outlined in the 
Technical Assistance Document.

3.3 Novice specialists shall receive a minimum of one 
(1) Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  Novice specialists who have earned a rating 
of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most 
recent Summative Evaluation shall have an Improvement 
Plan which may require additional observations or other 
types of monitoring as outlined in the Technical Assistance 
Document.

4.0 Technical Assistance Document
4.1  All districts and charter schools shall use the 

document entitled Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS) II Technical Assistance Document as developed by 
the Department of Education to assist in the implementation 
of the appraisal system.  The Technical Assistance 
Document shall be reviewed biannually by the State Board 
of Education.  Any recommendations for change shall be 
submitted to the Department of Education for consideration.

4.2 The Document shall contain, at a minimum, the 
following:

4.2.1 Specific details about each of the five (5) 
components listed in 5.1.

4.2.2 All forms or documents needed to 
complete the requirements of the appraisal process including 
Announced Observation, Unannounced Observation, 
Summative Evaluation, Improvement Plan and Challenge 
Form.

4.2.3 Specific procedures for observations, 
conferences, ratings, Summative Evaluation, Improvement 
Plan(s), and Challenges.
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5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following five (5) components shall be the 

basis upon which the performance of a specialist shall be 
evaluated by a certified evaluator:

5.1.1 Planning and Preparation
5.1.1.1 Designing Coherent Programs or 

Services:  Specialist designs activities and plans for services 
that support the needs of the students/clients/school/district.

5.1.1.2 Demonstrating Knowledge of Best 
Practice and Models of Delivery:  Specialist uses practices 
and models of delivery that are aligned with local and 
national standards.

5.1.1.3 Demonstrating Knowledge of 
Students/Clients:  Specialist shows knowledge of the needs 
and characteristics of the students/clients, including their 
approaches to leaning, knowledge, skills, and interests.

5.1.1.4 Demonstrating Knowledge of 
Resources:  Specialist selects appropriate resources, either 
within or outside of the school, that supports the goals of the 
program.

5.1.2 Professional Practice and Delivery of 
Services

5.1.2.1 Creating an Environment to Support 
Student/Client Needs: Specialist creates an environment in 
which student/client needs are identified and valued. 
Specialist/student/client interactions show rapport that is 
grounded in mutual respect.

5.1.2.2 Demonstrating Flexibility and 
Responsiveness:  Specialist has a repertoire of instructional 
or professional strategies and makes modifications to 
services based on needs of the students/clients.

5.1.2.3 Communicating Clearly and 
Accurately:  Verbal and written communication is clear and 
appropriate to students’/clients’ age, background, needs, or 
level of understanding.

5.1.2.4 Delivering Services to Students/
Clients:  Specialist is responsive to the identified needs of 
the students/clients and meets standards of professional 
practice.  The resources and materials are suitable and match 
the needs of the students/clients.  The delivery of service is 
coherent.

5.1.3 Professional Collaboration and 
Consultation

5.1.3.1 Collaborating with Others:  Specialist 
develops partnerships with school staff or external agencies 
to provide integrated services that meet student/client needs.

5.1.3.2 Serving as a Consultant to the School 
Community:  Specialist shares expertise with school staff to 
assist them in their work or to respond to school-wide issues, 
problems, or concerns.

5.1.3.3 Providing Resources and Access: 
Specialist provides school-based resources to appropriate 
staff/students/clients or gives information about the effective 
use of the resources.

5.1.3.4 Maintaining Standards of Professional 
Practice:  Specialist adheres to his/her professional standards 
of practice, including issues surrounding confidentiality.

5.1.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.1.4.1 Communicating with Families and 

School Staff:  Specialist shares information in a variety of 
ways about school programs available to students and 
families. Specialist develops two-way communication with 
school staff and families about student progress, behavior, 
personal needs, or concerns.

5.1.4.2 Developing a Record System: 
Specialist keeps student/client records relevant to their 
services and shares information with appropriate school 
personnel.

5.1.4.3 Growing and Developing 
Professionally:  Specialist participates in professional 
development to increase his/her knowledge of professional 
practice and delivery of service.  Specialist chooses 
professional development that is aligned with the needs of 
the school/district/students/clients.

5.1.4.4 Reflecting on Professional Practice: 
Specialist engages in reflective thinking as an individual, as 
a team participant, or as a school/community member with 
the goal of improving professional practice and delivery of 
service.

5.1.5 Student Improvement
5.1.5.1 Showing Improvement on the DSTP: 

Specialist uses DSTP data analysis to inform school 
improvement and program decisions and participates in 
school improvement work.

5.1.5.2 Using Assessments to Promote 
Student/Client Improvement: Specialist creates or uses 
dependable assessments that accurately measure student/
client needs, status, or performance and uses the assessment 
results to design services or programs to promote 
improvement.

5.2 Each of the five (5) components shall be weighted 
equally and assigned a rating of Satisfactory or 
Unsatisfactory on the Summative Evaluation.

5.2.1 Planning and Preparation
5.2.1.1 A satisfactory rating for this 

component shall mean the specialist demonstrates acceptable 
performance by meeting at least 3 of the following 4 criteria:

5.2.1.1.1 Consistently designs 
activities and plans for service that support the needs of the 
students/clients/ school/district.

5.2.1.1.2 Effectively uses practices 
and models of delivery that are aligned with local and 
national standards.

5.2.1.1.3 Shows a deep knowledge of 
the needs and characteristics of the students/clients and their 
approaches to learning, knowledge, skills, and interests.

5.2.1.1.4 Selects appropriate 
resources, either within or outside of the school, that support 
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the goals of the program.
5.2.2 Professional Practice and Delivery of 

Services
5.2.2.1 A satisfactory rating for this 

component shall mean the specialist demonstrates acceptable 
performance by meeting at least 5 of the following 7 criteria:

5.2.2.1.1 Creates an environment in 
which student/client needs are identified and valued.

5.2.2.1.2 Interacts with students/
clients in ways that show rapport and that is grounded in 
mutual respect.

5.2.2.1.3 Has an extensive repertoire 
of instructional or professional strategies and makes 
effective modifications to services based on needs of the 
students/clients.

5.2.2.1.4 Communicates clearly and 
appropriately with regard to students’/clients’ age, 
background, needs, or level of understanding.

5.2.2.1.5 Provides services that are 
responsive to the identified needs of the students/clients and 
meets standards of professional practice.

5.2.2.1.6 Selects resources and 
materials that are suitable and match the needs of the 
students/clients.

5.2.2.1.7 Delivers coherent services.
5.2.3 Professional Collaboration and 

Consultation
5.2.3.1 A satisfactory rating for this 

component shall mean the specialist demonstrates acceptable 
performance by meeting at least 4 of the following 5 criteria:

5.2.3.1.1 Develops partnerships with 
school staff or external agencies to provide integrated 
services that meet student/client needs.

5.2.3.1.2 Shares expertise with school 
staff to assist them in their work or responds to school-wide 
issues, problems, or concerns.

5.2.3.1.3 Provides school-based 
resources to appropriate staff/students/clients or gives 
appropriate information about the effective use of the 
resources.

5.2.3.1.4 Assists staff/students/clients 
in gaining access to resources outside of the school 
community that will meet identified needs.

5.2.3.1.5 Adheres to professional 
standards of practice, including issues surrounding 
confidentiality.

5.2.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.2.4.1 A satisfactory rating for this 

component shall mean the specialist demonstrates acceptable 
performance by meeting at least 5 of the following 7 criteria:

5.2.4.1.1 Shares information in a 
variety of ways about school programs available to students 
and families.

5.2.4.1.2 Develops two-way 

communication with school staff and families about student 
progress, behavior, personal needs, or concerns.

5.2.4.1.3 Keeps accurate and up-to-
date student/client records relevant to provided services.

5.2.4.1.4 Shares information with 
appropriate school personnel.

5.2.4.1.5Participates in professional 
development to increase knowledge of professional practice 
and delivery of service.

5.2.4.1.6 Chooses professional 
development that is aligned with the needs of the school/
district/ students/clients.

5.2.4.1.7 Engages in reflective 
thinking as an individual, as a team participant, or as a 
school/community member with the goal of improving 
professional practice and delivery of service.

5.2.5 Student Improvement
5.2.5.1 A satisfactory rating shall mean the 

specialist demonstrates acceptable performance in this 
component by meeting all of the criteria set forth below:

[5.2.5.1.1 The state progress 
determination pursuant to 14 DE Admin Code 103 5.0 
for the school in which the specialist serves is Meets or 
Above Target.  If the State Progress Determination is 
Below Target, the teacher shall meet this requirement by 
meeting 5.2.5.1.2, 5.2.5.1.3, 5.2.5.1.4. The specialist can 
demonstrate specific contributions to students and/or 
staff which contribute to improvement in the school or 
district’s State Progress Determination.]

5.2.5.1.2 The average scale score for 
the aggregate group of students served by the specialist for 
the previous two (2) years on the DSTP in reading and math 
have increased, excluding those students pursuant to 14 
Del.C. §1270(c).

5.2.5.1.3 The average scale score for 
the groups of students disaggregated by race/ethnicity, LEP, 
Special education and low income have increased for the 
previous two (2) years on the DSTP in reading and math, 
provided that there were a minimum of ten (10) students in a 
subgroup, excluding those students pursuant to [14 DE Code 
1270(c) 14 Del.C. §1270(c)].  If there were [less fewer] than 
ten (10) students in a subgroup, the subgroup shall not be 
considered for these criteria.

[5.2.5.1.4 The specialist can 
demonstrate specific contributions to students or staff 
which contribute to improved student achievement.]

6.0 Summative Evaluation Ratings
6.1 The Summative Evaluation shall include ratings of 

Satisfactory or Unsatisfactory on each of the five (5) 
components pursuant to 5.0.

6.2 The Summative Evaluation shall also include one 
of three overall ratings: “Effective”, “Needs Improvement” 
or “Ineffective”.
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6.2.1 Effective shall mean that the specialist has 
received Satisfactory Component ratings in Component 5, 
Student Improvement and in at least three (3) of the other 
four (4) components of the appraisal criteria.

6.2.2 Needs Improvement shall mean that the 
specialist has received at least three (3) Satisfactory 
Component ratings out of the five (5) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.2.1 A specialist who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available 
for the current group of students being served by the 
specialist.

6.2.3 Ineffective shall mean that the specialist 
has received three (3) or more Unsatisfactory Component 
ratings out of the five (5) components of the appraisal 
criteria.

6.2.3.1 A specialist who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available 
for the current group of students being served by the 
specialist.

6.2.3.2 If a specialist’s overall Summative 
Evaluation rating is determined to be “Needs Improvement” 
for the third consecutive year, the rating shall be re-
categorized as Ineffective.

7.0 A pattern of ineffective practice shall be based on the 
most recent appraisal ratings of a specialist using the DPAS 
II process.  Two consecutive ratings of Ineffective shall be 
deemed as a pattern of ineffective practice.  The following 
appraisal ratings shall be determined to be a pattern of 
ineffective practice:

8.0 Improvement Plan
8.1 An Improvement Plan shall be developed for a 

specialist who receives an overall rating of Needs 
Improvement or Ineffective on the Summative Evaluation or 
a rating of Unsatisfactory (Unsatisfactory Component 

Rating) on any component on the Summative Evaluation 
regardless of the overall rating.

8.1.1 An Improvement Plan shall also be 
developed if a specialist’s performance during an 
observation is unsatisfactory.  This unsatisfactory 
performance shall be noted by the evaluator on the 
Formative Feedback form by typing “PERFORMANCE IS 
UNSATISFACTORY” and initialing the statement.

8.2 The Improvement Plan shall contain the following:
8.2.1 Identification of the specific deficiencies 

and recommended area(s) for growth;
8.2.2 Measurable goals for improving the 

deficiencies to satisfactory levels;
8.2.3 Specific professional development or 

activities to accomplish the goals;
8.2.4 Specific resources necessary to implement 

the plan, including but not limited to, opportunities for the 
specialist to work with curriculum specialist(s), subject-area 
specialist(s), instructional specialist(s) or others with 
relevant expertise;

8.2.5 Procedures and evidence that must be 
collected to determine that the goals of the plan were met;

8.2.6 Timeline for the plan, including 
intermediate check points to determine progress;

8.2.7 Procedures for determining satisfactory 
improvement.

8.3 The Improvement Plan shall be developed 
cooperatively by the specialist and evaluator.  If the plan 
cannot be cooperatively developed, the evaluator shall have 
the authority and responsibility to determine the plan as 
specified in 8.2 above.

8.4 The specialist shall be held accountable for the 
implementation and completion of the Improvement Plan.

8.5 Upon completion of the Improvement Plan, the 
specialist and evaluator shall sign the documentation that 
determines the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of 
the plan.

9.0 Evaluator Credentials
9.1 Evaluators shall have completed the DPAS II 

training as developed by the Department of Education. 
Evaluators shall receive a certificate of completion which is 
valid for five (5) years and is renewable upon completion of 
professional development focused on DPAS II as specified 
by the Department of Education.

9.2 The training for the certificate of completion shall 
include techniques for observation and conferencing, content 
and relationships of frameworks for practice and a thorough 
review of the Technical Assistance Document.  Activities in 
which participants practice implementation of DPAS II 
procedures shall be included in the training.

9.3 The credentialing process shall be conducted by the 
Department of Education.
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10.0 Challenge Process
10.1 A specialist may challenge any rating on the 

Summative Evaluation, either a Component Rating or the 
Overall Rating, or a specialist may challenge the conclusions 
of an observation if the statement “PERFORMANCE IS 
UNSATISFACTORY” has been included on the Formative 
Feedback form by submitting additional information specific 
to the point of disagreement in writing within ten (10) 
working days of the date of the specialist’s receipt of the 
Summative Evaluation.  Such written response shall become 
part of the appraisal record and shall be attached to the 
Summative Evaluation.  All challenges together with the 
record  shall be forwarded to the supervisor of the evaluator.

10.1.1 Within ten (10) working days of receiving 
the written challenge, the supervisor of the evaluator shall 
review the record which consists of the Pre-observation 
Form(s) the Formative Feedback Form(s), the Summative 
Evaluation and the written challenge, and issue a written 
decision.

10.1.2 If the challenge is denied, the decision 
shall state the reasons for denial.

10.1.3 The decision of the supervisor of the 
evaluator shall be final.

108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware 
Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 The Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware 
Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) shall be effective 
for only those districts participating in the pilot of this 
process.

1.1 For administrators participating in the pilot, any 
rating received on a Summative Evaluation conducted 
during the pilot period shall not be included in the 
determination of a pattern of ineffective administration as 
defined in 7.0.

1.2 For purposes of this regulation, an administrator is 
a professional employee of a board in a supervisory capacity 
involving the oversight of an instructional program(s).

2.0 Definitions
“Board” shall mean the local board of education or 

charter school board of directors.
“Certified Evaluator”shall mean the individual, 

usually the supervisor of the administrator, who has 
successfully completed the evaluation training in accordance 
with 9.0.  A superintendent shall be evaluated by member(s) 
of the local school board of education who shall also have 
successfully completed the evaluation training in accordance 
with 9.0.

“DPAS”shall mean the Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System in effect prior to [July 1, 2005 DPAS II].

“Experienced Administrator” shall mean an 
administrator who has three (3) or more years of service as 

an administrator.
“Formative Process” shall consist of the Goal Setting 

Conference, self evaluation, a survey of staff that are 
supervised by the administrator, and formative conferences/
reports.

“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that an 
administrator and evaluator mutually develop in accordance 
with section 8.0.

“Inexperienced Administrator” shall mean an 
administrator who has less than three (3) years of service as 
an administrator.

“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the 
administrator understands the concepts of the component 
and the administrator’s performance in that component is 
acceptable.

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be used for to qualify 
for a continuing license and shall be equivalent to the overall 
“Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on the 
Summative Evaluation.

“Summative Evaluation” shall be the rating 
component at the conclusion of the appraisal cycle.

“Technical Assistance Document” shall mean the 
manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 
procedures, evaluation criteria and other relevant documents 
that assist in the appraisal process.

“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean  the 
administrator does not understand the concepts of the 
component and the administrator’s performance in that 
component is not acceptable.

“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to 
the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

3.0 Appraisal Cycles
3.1 Experienced administrators who have earned a 

rating of “Effective” on their most recent Summative 
Evaluation shall go through a minimum of one (1) Formative 
Process each year with a Summative Evaluation at the end of 
the one year period.  This minimum annual evaluation may 
be waived for the subsequent year but not for two (2) 
consecutive years.  Up to one half of the experienced 
administrators in a building who received a rating of 
“Effective” or “Exemplary” on the most recent Summative 
Evaluation may have the annual Summative Evaluation 
waived.

3.2 Experienced administrators who have earned a 
rating of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their 
most recent Summative Evaluation shall go through a 
minimum of two (2) Formative Process(es) with a 
Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year period. 
These administrators shall have an Improvement Plan which 
may require an administrator to go through additional 
Formative Process(es) or other types of monitoring as 
outlined in the Technical Assistance Document.
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3.3 Inexperienced administrators shall go through a 
minimum of two (2) Formative Process(es) with a 
Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year period. 
Inexperienced administrators who have earned a rating of 
“Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most recent 
Summative Evaluation shall have an Improvement Plan 
which may require an administrator go through additional 
Formative Process(es) or other types of monitoring as 
outlined in the Technical Assistance Document.

4.0 Technical Assistance Document
4.1 All districts and charter schools shall use the 

document entitled Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS) II Technical Assistance Document as developed by 
the Department of Education to assist in the implementation 
of the appraisal system.  The Technical Assistance 
Document shall be reviewed biannually by the State Board 
of Education.  Any recommendations for change shall be 
submitted to the Department of Education for consideration.

4.1.1 The Document shall contain at a minimum 
the following:

4.1.1.1 Specific details about each of the four 
(4) components pursuant to 5.0.

4.1.1.2 All forms or documents needed to 
complete the requirements of the appraisal process including 
the Formative Process, Summative Evaluation, Improvement 
Plan and Challenge Form.

4.1.1.3 Specific procedures for the Formative 
Process, conferences, ratings, Summative Evaluation, 
Improvement Plan(s), and Challenges.

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following four (4) components shall be the 

basis upon which the performance of an administrator shall 
be evaluated by a certified evaluator(s):

5.1.1 Assessment of Leader Standards:  This 
relates to the Delaware Standards for School Leaders as 
defined in 14 DE Admin Code 1594.

5.1.2 Assessment of Goals and Priorities: 
Professional goals that have been established based on a 
variety of data sources related to the need of the school or 
district administrator and his/her job responsibilities.

5.1.3 Assessment on the School or District 
Improvement Plan:  The various goals and objectives in the 
school or district improvement plan(s) and the contributions 
of the administrator in achieving those goals.

5.1.4 Assessment on Measures of Student 
Improvement:

5.1.4.1 Student improvement on the DSTP as 
determined by school or district accountability ratings, and 
student performance on the DSTP as reported in DSTP-OR.

5.1.4.2 Student learning on district-adopted 
norm and criterion-referenced assessments. Assessments 
selected by districts to measure quality and equity of student 

learning across all content areas.
5.1.4.3 Other measures of student 

performance that are used by teachers in the school are 
standards-based and DSTP-like.

5.2 Each of the four (4) components shall be equally 
weighted and assigned a rating of Satisfactory or 
Unsatisfactory on the Summative Evaluation.

5.2.1 Assessment of Leader Standards:
5.2.1.1 A satisfactory rating for this 

component shall mean the aggregated assessment on the 
Delaware Performance Appraisal System surveys from those 
individuals who the administrator supervises, the 
administrator himself/herself, and the supervisor reveal a 
pattern of proficient or accomplished skills on the Delaware 
Standards for School Leaders.

5.2.2 Assessment of Goals and Priorities:
5.2.2.1 There is adequate progress on the 

administrator’s professional goals.
5.2.3 Assessment on the School or District 

Improvement Plan:
5.2.3.1 There is growth in the goals and 

objectives in the school or district improvement plan.
5.2.4 Assessment on Measures of Student 

Improvement:
5.2.4.1 A satisfactory rating for this 

component shall mean the administrator demonstrates 
acceptable performance by meeting 5.2.4.1.1 and 5.2.4.1.2 
and by meeting at least 4 of the additional 5 criteria set forth 
below.

5.2.4.1.1 DSTP results show student 
performance has improved.

5.2.4.1.2 Based on the formula for 
obtaining the school accountability rating, there are 
consistent indicators of improvement in school 
accountability.

5.2.4.1.3 Makes progress on targets 
for student improvement on the DSTP.

5.2.4.1.4 There is improvement on 
goals established for the equitable distribution of learning 
outcomes based on race, gender, socio-economic status, 
[special education status] and language proficiency.

5.2.4.1.5 There is consistent evidence 
of improvement on district-adopted norm and criterion-
referenced assessments.

5.2.4.1.6 There is improvement in the 
percent of students who are meeting the targets for school or 
district accountability.

5.2.4.1.7 There is improvement on 
student attendance or graduation rates.

6.0 Summative Evaluation Ratings
6.1 The Summative Evaluation shall include ratings of 

Satisfactory or Unsatisfactory on each of the four (4) 
components pursuant to 5.0.
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6.2 The Summative Evaluation shall also include one 
of three overall ratings: “Effective”, “Needs Improvement” 
or “Ineffective”.

6.2.1 Effective shall mean that the administrator 
has received Satisfactory Component ratings in all four (4) 
components of the appraisal criteria.

6.2.2 Needs Improvement shall mean that the 
administrator has received one (1) Unsatisfactory 
Component rating out of the four (4) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.2.1 An administrator who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available.

6.2.3 Ineffective shall mean that the 
administrator has received two (2) or more Unsatisfactory 
Component ratings out of the four (4) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.3.1 An administrator who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available.

6.2.3.2 If an administrator’s overall 
Summative Evaluation rating is determined to be “Needs 
Improvement” for the third consecutive year, the rating shall 
be re-categorized as Ineffective.

7.0 A pattern of ineffective administrative performance 
shall be based on the most recent appraisal ratings of an 
administrator using the DPAS II process.  Two consecutive 
ratings of Ineffective shall be deemed as a pattern of 
ineffective administration.  The following appraisal ratings 
shall be determined to be a pattern of ineffective 
administration:

8.0 Improvement Plan
8.1 An Improvement Plan shall be developed for an 

administrator who receives an overall rating of Needs 
Improvement or Ineffective on the Summative Evaluation or 
a rating of Unsatisfactory (Unsatisfactory Component 
Rating) on any component on the Summative Evaluation 

regardless of the overall rating.
8.1.1 An Improvement Plan shall also be 

developed if an administrator’s performance during the 
Formative Process is unsatisfactory.  This unsatisfactory 
performance shall be noted by the evaluator(s) on the 
Formative Feedback form by typing “PERFORMANCE IS 
UNSATISFACTORY” and initialing the statement.

8.2 The Improvement Plan shall contain the following:
8.2.1 Identification of the specific deficiencies 

and recommended area(s) for growth;
8.2.2 Measurable goals for improving the 

deficiencies to satisfactory levels;
8.2.3 Specific professional development or 

activities to accomplish the goals;
8.2.4 Specific resources necessary to implement 

the plan, including but not limited to, opportunities for the 
administrator to work with curriculum specialist(s) or other 
administrator(s) with relevant experience;

8.2.5 Procedures and evidence that must be 
collected to determine that the goals of the plan were met;

8.2.6 Timeline for the plan, including 
intermediate check points to determine progress;

8.2.7 Procedures for determining satisfactory 
improvement.

8.3 The Improvement Plan shall be developed 
cooperatively by the administrator and evaluator.  If the plan 
cannot be cooperatively developed, the evaluator shall have 
the authority and responsibility to determine the plan as 
specified in 8.2 above.

8.4 The administrator shall be held accountable for the 
implementation and completion of the Improvement Plan.

8.5 Upon completion of the Improvement Plan, the 
administrator and evaluator(s) shall sign the documentation 
that determines the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion 
of the plan.

9.0 Evaluator(s) Credentials
9.1 Evaluators shall have completed the DPAS II 

training as developed by the Department of Education. 
Evaluators shall receive a certificate of completion which is 
valid for five (5) years and is renewable upon completion of 
professional development focused on DPAS II as specified 
by the Department of Education.

9.2 The training for the certificate of completion shall 
include techniques for observation and conferencing, content 
and relationships of ISLLC standards, and a thorough review 
of the Technical Assistance Document.  Activities in which 
participants practice implementation of DPAS II procedures 
shall be included in the training.

9.3 The credentialing process shall be conducted by the 
Department of Education.

10.0 Challenge Process
10.1 An administrator may challenge any rating on 
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the Summative Evaluation, either a Component Rating or the 
Overall Rating, or an administrator may challenge the 
conclusions of the Formative Process if the statement 
“PERFORMANCE IS UNSATISFACTORY” has been 
included on the Formative Feedback form by submitting 
additional information specific to the point of disagreement 
in writing within ten (10) working days of the date of 
administrator’s receipt of the Summative Evaluation.  Such 
written response shall become part of the appraisal record 
and shall be attached to the Summative Evaluation.  All 
challenges together with the record shall be forwarded to the 
supervisor of the evaluator.

10.1.1 Within ten (10) working days of receiving 
the written challenge, the supervisor of the evaluator shall 
review the record which consists of information from the 
Formative Process, the Summative Evaluation and the 
written challenge, and issue a written decision.

10.1.2 If the challenge is denied, the decision 
shall state the reasons for denial.

10.1.3 The decision of the supervisor of the 
evaluator shall be final.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 501

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

501 State Content Standards

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 
State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
501 State Content Standards by removing the reference to 
the Standards for Functional Life Skills Curriculum in 1.1 
because federal regulations no longer allow the use of 
separate functional standards that are aligned to academic 
content standards.  For the past five years, the Standards for 
Functional Life Skills Curriculum served as the foundation 
of the Delaware Alternative Portfolio Assessment (DAPA), 
an assessment system designed for students with the most 
significant cognitive disabilities. The No Child Left behind 
Act (NCLB) requires that all students be assessed on the 
same academic content standards.  In addition, the 1997 re-
authorization of IDEA mandates that students with 
disabilities have access to and make progress in the general 
curriculum.

The No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) allows students 
in the alternate assessment to have different access points to 
the academic content standards.  Existing performance 
indicators within the Delaware content standards do not 

adequately address the educational issues of all students who 
participate in the alternate assessment.  Therefore, it was 
necessary to develop Extended Performance Indicators 
(ExPIs), which are embedded functional skills within the 
academic content standards.  Unlike the DSTP, the DAPA-II 
may use off-grade PIs or ExPIs.  The Individual Education 
Plan (IEP) team will select which standards and 
corresponding performance indicators (PIs or ExPIs) may be 
used in the student’s IEP.  The IEP does not have to link to 
all standards.  The Extended Performance Indicators will not 
become part of the regulations but State Board of Education 
approval will be requested as was done in the case of the 
indicators in other content areas.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on June 22, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  Comments 
were received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with 
Disabilities.  The comments received from the Councils 
were primarily concerned either with the way the DAPA is 
used to assess children with the most significant disabilities, 
not to the changes in the Content Standards themselves or 
with the legal requirements that children with the most 
significant disabilities have access to the same curriculum as 
children without disabilities and that they be included in the 
assessment system used for all children.  The DOE has 
concluded that the current regulatory changes are necessary 
to comply with federal requirements in a manner that 
promotes quality programming and meaningful progress for 
children with significant disabilities. 

II. Findings Of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 501 in order to remove the reference to 
the Standards for Functional Life Skills Curriculum in 1.1 
because federal regulations no longer allow the use of 
separate functional standards that are aligned to academic 
content standards.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 501. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
501 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 501 hereby amended shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 501 amended hereby 
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shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 501 in the 
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C §122 on August 19, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 19th day of August 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff,  Secretary of Education

Approved this 19th day of August 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

501  State Content Standards

1.0 Instructional Programs
1.1 Instructional programs offered in the public schools 

of Delaware shall be in alignment with the appropriate 
content standards documents. These documents are: English 
Language Arts Curriculum Framework, Mathematics 
Curriculum Framework, Science Curriculum Framework, 
Social Studies Curriculum Framework, Health Education 
Curriculum Framework and Assessment, Physical Education 
Content Standards, Visual and Performing Arts Content 
Standards, Agriscience Curriculum Framework Content 
Standards, Business Finance and Marketing Education 
Curriculum Framework Content Standards, Foreign 
Language Curriculum Framework Content Standards, 
Technology Education Curriculum Framework Content 
Standards, and the Family and Consumer Sciences Content 
Standards and the Standards for Functional Life Skills 
Curriculum.

1.1.1 The content standards documents may 
from time to time hereafter be amended with the approval of 
the Secretary and the State Board of Education.

1.1.2 Integration of the content standards shall 
be provided for within and across the curricula.

1.1.3 Instructional materials and curricula 
content shall be kept current and consistent with the 
Guidelines for the Selection of Instructional Materials.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
14 DE Admin. Code 1509

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate 
Designation.  This regulation applies to designating new 
teachers who meet criteria developed by the Mid Atlantic 
Regional Teachers Project as Meritorious New Teacher 
Candidates.  This designation will be affixed to the new 
teacher’s Initial License, issued pursuant to 14 DE Admin. 
Code 1510.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on April 20, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No 
comments were received.  

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to adopt this 
regulation to comply with permit the issuance of the 
Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit 
“B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in 
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
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attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1509 of the Administrative 
Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

Approved By The Professional Standards Board the 5th

Day Of August, 2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Valerie Hoffman
Sharon Brittingham Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Norman Brown Leslie Holden
Edward Czerwinski Karen Schilling Ross
Karen Gordon Carol Vukelich
Barbara Grogg Gretchen Pikus
Bruce Harter Angela Dunmore

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 19th Day Of August, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation

1.0 Content.
1.1   This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a 

Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation to a 
candidate for an initial license who meets the criteria set 
forth by the Mid-Atlantic Regional Teachers Project., 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1210.

2.0 Definitions.
 2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 

holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation”
means a designation of excellence for new teachers which 
enables them to teach in Delaware, District of Columbia, 
Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Virginia.

“Met the Highest Standard” means achieved the 
highest grade or score awarded by the institution.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students”.

3.0 An applicant for an initial license who meets the 
requirements for an initial license and who also meets the 
criteria set forth by the Mid-Atlantic Regional Teachers 
Project shall have a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate 
Designation affixed to the Initial License, upon receipt of a 
recommendation from the candidate’s teacher preparation 
program that the candidate be awarded the designation of 
Meritorious New Teacher Candidate.

3.1 Criteria for the Meritorious New Teacher Candidate 
Designation are:

3.1.1 Verbal Skills:
3.1.1.1 Scores in the upper quartile of 

students nationally at the time the test was taken on the 
verbal portion of the SAT, ACT, or GRE.

3.1.2 Content Knowledge:
3.1.2.1 Elementary Education (Grades preK-

6):
3.1.2.1.1 A minimum 3.5 cumulative 

GPA in an undergraduate professional education program, or 
a minimum 3.7 cumulative GPA in a graduate professional 
education program; and

3.1.2.1.2 Scores in the upper quartile 
of students nationally at the time the test was taken in math, 
science, social studies, and English/language arts in the 
PRAXIS II Content Knowledge for Elementary Teachers test 
or Elementary Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and 
Assessment test.

3.1.2.2 Middle School Education (Grades 6 – 
8):

3.1.2.2.1 A minimum 3.5 cumulative 
GPA in an undergraduate academic major or a minimum 3.7 
cumulative GPA in a graduate program in the subject area in 
which a standard certificate is sought; and

3.1.2.2.2 Scores in the upper quartile 
of students nationally at the time the test was taken on the 
PRAXIS II test in the applicant’s specialty area.

3.1.2.3 Secondary Education (Grades 9 – 12):
3.1.2.3.1 A minimum 3.5 cumulative 

GPA in an  undergraduate academic major or a minimum 3.7 
cumulative GPA in a graduate program in the subject area in 
which a standard certificate is sought.
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3.1.2.3.2 Scores in the upper quartile 
of students nationally at the time the test was taken on the 
PRAXIS II test in the applicant’s specialty area.

3.1.3 Professional Preparation and 
Recommendation:

3.1.3.1 Completion of a state-approved 
teacher preparation program, of traditional or alternative 
format, with a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA in an 
undergraduate professional studies program, or a minimum 
3.7 cumulative GPA in a graduate professional education 
program.

3.1.3.2 Completion of a minimum of 400 
hours of supervised clinical experience, of which at least 300 
hours are directed instructional student teaching.  Clinical 
experience may occur within any state-approved model, 
including total immersion experiences as teachers of record.

3.1.3.3 Met the highest standard of both the 
university supervisor and the cooperating teacher on the 
institution’s formal student teacher or immersion component 
of the required clinical experience.

3.1.3.4 Met the highest standard on the 
institution’s professional preparation assessment.

3.1.3.5 Received a recommendation by the 
teacher preparation program that the candidate be awarded 
the designation of Meritorious New Teacher Candidate.

4.0 Applicants for initial licensure and the Meritorious New 
Teacher Candidate Designation who completed teacher 
preparation in Delaware will be given expedited 
consideration of their application a by the Delaware 
Department of Education.

5.0 A Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation 
issued to a licensee from one of the participating
jurisdictions who has less than three (3) years of teaching 
experience, shall be honored by the Department.  The 
applicant shall be issued a Delaware Initial License pursuant 
to 14 DE Admin. Code §1510 with a Meritorious New 
Teacher Candidate Designation and any Delaware Standard
Certificate for which the candidate qualifies.

6.0 This designation shall be valid for the duration of the 
individual’s Initial License.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
14 DE Admin. Code 1577

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1577 Standard Certificate – School Psychologist

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 368 Certification School Psychologist.  The 
regulation concerns the requirements for certification of 
educational personnel, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a).  It is 
necessary to amend this regulation to align it with current 
statute and regulations concerning licensing and certification 
of educators and to align it with standards set forth for school 
psychologists by the National Association of School 
Psychologists and the American Psychological Association. 
The regulation will be renumbered 1577 to reflect its 
movement to the Professional Standards Board section of the 
Department of Education regulations and will be renamed 
Standard Certificate - School Psychologist to make it 
consistent with the nomenclature of other Standard 
Certificate regulations.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on June 24, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  Written 
comment was received from the State Council for Persons 
with Disabilities, the Governor’s Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Children, and the Delaware Psychological 
Association objecting to an individual with only a bachelor’s 
degree being permitted to serve as a school psychologist, 
questioning the definition of “school setting”, and 
questioning the requirement for an internship in a school 
setting for a Delaware licensed psychologist.  The regulation 
does not permit a school psychologist to practice with only a 
bachelor’s degree.  The definition of school setting does not 
limit the setting for an internship to exclude hospitals, 
therapeutic residential settings, and the like.  A licensed 
clinical psychologist must have competencies in school 
curriculum and assessment and in strategies for modifying 
curriculum or the setting for students.  For this reason, an 
internship in a school setting is required for those clinical 
psychologists who cannot demonstrate those competencies. 
Written responses have been prepared for the organizations. 
In response to the comments received from the State Council 
for Persons with Disabilities and the Governors’ Advisory 
Council for Exceptional Children, a clarification in the 
definition of “school setting” has been made.  One minor 
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change recommended by the School Psychology department 
at the University of Delaware has been made.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to adopt this 
regulation to comply with permit the issuance of the 
Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit 
“B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in 
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1577 of the Administrative 
Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

Approved By The Professional Standards Board the 5th

Day Of August, 2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Valerie Hoffman
Sharon Brittingham Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Norman Brown Leslie Holden
Edward Czerwinski Karen Schilling Ross
Karen Gordon Carol Vukelich
Barbara Grogg Gretchen Pikus
Bruce Harter Angela Dunmore

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 19th Day Of August, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

368  Certification School Psychologist
Effective July 1,1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard 
License.

1.1 A graduate degree (Master's, Educational 
Specialist, Ph.D., Psy.D., or Ed.D. from an NCATE, 
NASDTEC, or American Psychological Association 
accredited school psychology program) that requires a 
minimum of 60 graduate semester hours consisting of course 
work, practica, and internship, or holds National School 
Psychology Certification granted by the National School 
Psychology Certification Board or, 

1.2 A minimum of 60 graduate semester hours 
(including at least a Master's degree from an accredited 
college) distributed as specified across the following eight 
categories of course work and experiences.  The course work 
experiences should provide evidence of the ability to 
acquire, integrate, and express factual and theoretical 
information, and the ability to make inferences, 
interpretations, and conclusions from conceptual and 
experimental research of applications in each of the skill 
areas represented by the categories below:

1.2.1 Nine graduate semester hours in 
psychological foundations covering the following skill areas: 
Child and Adolescent Development, Human Learning, Child 
Psychopathology, Human Exceptionalities, Social Bases of 
Behavior, Biological Bases of Behavior, Cultural Diversity.

1.2.2 Twelve graduate semester hours in 
assessment covering the administration and interpretation of 
assessments in each of the areas of Intelligence Testing, 
Personality Assessment, Behavioral Assessment; and 
Psycho-Educational Assessment.

1.2.3 Six graduate semester hours in research, 
design, statistics and measurement covering the areas of 
Research Design, Statistics, and Test and Measurement.

1.2.4 Nine graduate semester hours in 
intervention techniques covering the areas of Counseling, 
Consultation, Behavior Management; and Curriculum 
Development or Remedial/Special Education Techniques.

1.2.5 Six graduate semester hours in educational 
foundations covering the areas of Education of Exceptional 
Learners, Instruction and Remedial Techniques, 
Organization/Operation of Schools; and Foundations of 
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Education.
1.2.6 Three graduate semester hours in 

professional school psychology including the areas of 
History/Foundations of School Psychology, Related Legal/
Ethical Issues; and Professional Issues/Standards.

1.2.7 Three graduate semester hours of electives 
in psychology/related areas.

1.2.8 Twelve graduate semester hours of an 
iInternship.

1.2.8.1 Twelve hundred (1,200) clock hours -
100 clock hours per semester hour - of supervised, on-site 
field experience.  At least 600 clock hours (6 semester hours) 
of the internship must be served in a school setting under the 
supervision of a licensed or certified school psychologist. 
No more than 600 of the required clock hours may be 
completed in a non-school setting.  Supervision in a non-
school setting must be provided by personnel holding an 
appropriate credential for that setting.  The internship 
experience cannot begin until all other course requirements 
are completed and verified

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited Standard 
License (not renewable) 

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued   for a 
period not exceeding three years at the request of a Delaware 
Public School district to a person who meets the 
requirements listed below and who is employed as a School 
Psychologist to allow for the completion of the requirements 
for the professional License as listed in 1.0.

2.1.1 Master's (or more advanced) degree from 
an accredited college and,

2.1.2 Specific Requirements
2.1.2.1 Within nine semester hours of 

meeting course work as required in 1.2.1 through 1.2.7 and 
with a completed internship or related experience.

3.0 The following shall be required for a Temporary License 
(not renewable). 

3.1 The Temporary License may be issued for a period 
of one year at the request of a Delaware Public School 
District to a person who meets the requirements listed below, 
and who is employed as a School Psychologist to allow for 
the completion of the requirements for the Standard License 
as listed in 1.0.

3.1.1 Master's (or more advanced) degree from 
an accredited college and,

3.1.2 Specific Requirements
3.1.2.1 With the completion of all required 

course work, but not the required internship, one year of 
successful, full-time work experience under the supervision 
of an approved internship supervisor, in a position covered 
by this License, can be approved to satisfy the internship 
experience.

4.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include 
Standard, Limited Standard and Temporary.

1577 Standard Certificate – School Psychologist

1.0 Content.
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for 
School Psychologist.

2.0 Definitions.
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“Internship” means a supervised, culminating, 
comprehensive field experience, completed at or near, the 
end of formal training, through which school psychology 
candidates have the opportunity to integrate and apply 
professional knowledge and skills acquired in prior courses 
and practica, as well as to acquire new competencies 
consistent with training program goals.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“School Setting” means a setting in which
[educational services are provided to children the 
primary goal is the education of students] of diverse 
backgrounds, characteristics, abilities, disabilities, and needs 
[who are enrolled in grades pK-12. age birth through 20 
years inclusive, provided such setting is approved by the 
appropriate local governmental authority.]

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill, 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a Standard Certificate as a School Psychologist to 
an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, 
or Advanced License; or Standard or Professional Status 
Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 
2003, and who meets the following requirements:

3.1 A bachelor’s degree in any content area from a 
regionally accredited college or university; and

3.2 Completion of an organized graduate level program 
of study approved by the National Association of School 
Psychologists (NASP) or the American Psychological 
Association (APA) offered by a regionally accredited college 
or university titled “School Psychology”, consisting of a 
minimum of 60 graduate level credit hours, of which at least 
54 credits are exclusive of an internship; and

3.2.1 A supervised internship of no less than 
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1200 hours, completed at or near the end of the program, 
completed either full-time or half-time over a period of no 
more than two consecutive years, at least 600 hours of which 
must be in a school setting; or 

3.3 Completion of an organized graduate level program 
of study offered by a regionally accredited college or 
university titled “School Psychology”, consisting of a 
minimum of 60 graduate level credit hours, of which at least 
54 credits are exclusive of an internship; and

3.3.1 Evidence of substantial graduate-level 
preparation in the following areas.  Substantial preparation 
may be acquired through one or more courses devoted 
specifically to an area, or significant portions of one or more 
courses.  Candidates may be required to provide additional 
documentation to demonstrate such preparation.

3.3.1.1 Data-based Decision-Making and 
Accountability: Coursework and practicum/internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge and skills on the 
use of various models and methods of assessment that yield 
information for identifying strengths and needs, 
understanding problems, identifying disabilities, and 
measuring progress and accomplishments;

3.3.1.2 Consultation and Collaboration: 
Coursework and practicum/internship experiences that 
demonstrate knowledge of behavioral, mental health, 
collaborative, and/or other consultation models and methods 
and their application to planning and decision-making 
processes at the individual, group, and system levels;.

3.3.1.3 Effective Instruction and 
Development of Cognitive/Academic Skills: Coursework 
and practicum/internship experiences that demonstrate 
knowledge of human learning processes, techniques to 
assess these processes, and direct and indirect services 
applicable to the development of cognitive and academic 
skills.  Coursework in this area includes but is not limited to 
development of instructional interventions;.

3.3.1.4 Socialization and Development of 
Life Skills: Coursework and practicum/internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of human 
developmental processes, techniques to assess these 
processes, and direct and indirect services applicable to the 
development of behavioral, affective, adaptive, and social 
skills.  Coursework in this area includes behavioral 
assessment/intervention, and counseling;.

3.3.1.5 School and Systems Organization, 
Policy Development, and Climate: Coursework and 
practicum/internship experiences that demonstrate 
knowledge of policies and practices in general education, 
special education, and other educational and related services 
systems. Coursework in this area includes attention to the 
development of policies and practices that create and 
maintain safe, supportive, and effective learning 
environments for children and others;.

3.3.1.6 Prevention, Crisis Intervention, and 

Mental Health: Coursework and practicum/internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of human 
development and psychopathology and of associated 
biological, cultural, and social influences on human 
behavior. Coursework in this area includes promotion of 
student mental health and knowledge of crisis intervention 
procedures;

3.3.1.7 Home/School/Community 
Collaboration: Coursework and practicum/ internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of family systems, 
including family strengths and influences on student 
development, learning, and behavior; and of methods to 
involve families in education and service delivery;

3.3.1.8 Research and Program Evaluation: 
Coursework and practicum/ internship experiences that 
demonstrate knowledge of research, statistics, and 
evaluation methods.  Coursework in this area includes 
content related to evaluating research, translating research 
into practice, and understanding research design and 
statistics in sufficient depth to plan and conduct 
investigations and program evaluations for improvement of 
services;

3.3.1.9 School Psychology Practice and 
Development: Coursework and practicum/internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of the history and 
foundations of the profession of school psychology; of 
various service models and methods; of public policy 
development applicable to services to children and families; 
and of ethical, professional, and legal standards;

3.3.1.10 Student Diversity in Development and 
Learning: Coursework and practicum/internship experiences 
that demonstrate knowledge of individual differences, 
abilities, and disabilities and of the potential influence of 
biological, social, cultural, ethnic, experiential, 
socioeconomic, gender-related, and linguistic factors in 
development and learning; and

3.3.1.11 Information Technology: Coursework 
and practicum/internship experiences the demonstrate 
knowledge of information sources and technology relevant 
to their work, including the ability to access, evaluate, and 
utilize information sources and technology in ways that 
safeguard or enhance the quality of services; and

3.3.2 A supervised internship of no less than 
1200 hours, completed at or near the end of the program, 
completed either full-time or half-time over a period of no 
more than two consecutive years, at least 600 hours of which 
must be in a school setting; or

3.4 A valid certificate from the National School 
Psychology Certification Board (NCSP); or

3.5 A valid certificate in school psychology from 
another State Department of Education in the U.S.; or

3.6 A valid license as a psychologist issued by the 
Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists, and 

3.6.1 Evidence of substantial graduate-level 
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preparation in the following areas.  Substantial preparation 
may be acquired through one or more courses devoted 
specifically to an area, or significant portions of one or more 
courses.  Candidates may be required to provide additional 
documentation to demonstrate such preparation.

3.6.1.1 Data-based Decision-Making and 
Accountability:  Coursework and practicum/internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge and skills on the 
use of various models and methods of assessment that yield 
information for identifying strengths and needs, 
understanding problems, identifying disabilities, and 
measuring progress and accomplishments;

3.6.1.2 Consultation and Collaboration: 
Coursework and practicum/ internship experiences that 
demonstrate knowledge of behavioral, mental health, 
collaborative, and/or other consultation models and methods 
and of their application to planning and decision-making 
processes at the individual, group, and system levels;

3.6.1.3 Effective Instruction and 
Development of Cognitive/Academic Skills: Coursework 
and practicum/internship experiences that demonstrate 
knowledge of human learning processes, techniques to 
assess these processes, and direct and indirect services 
applicable to the development of cognitive and academic 
skills.  Coursework in this area includes development of 
instructional interventions;

3.6.1.4 Socialization and Development of 
Life Skills: Coursework and practicum/internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of human 
developmental processes, techniques to assess these 
processes, and direct and indirect services applicable to the 
development of behavioral, affective, adaptive, and social 
skills.  Coursework in this area includes behavioral 
assessment/intervention, and counseling;.

3.6.1.5 School and Systems Organization, 
Policy Development, and Climate: Coursework and 
practicum/internship experiences that demonstrate 
knowledge of policies and practices in general education, 
special education, and other educational and related services 
systems. Coursework in this area includes attention to the 
development of policies and practices that create and 
maintain safe, supportive, and effective learning 
environments for children and others;.

3.6.1.6 Prevention, Crisis Intervention, and 
Mental Health: Coursework and practicum/internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of human
development and psychopathology and of associated 
biological, cultural, and social influences on human 
behavior. Coursework in this area includes promotion of 
student mental health and knowledge of crisis intervention 
procedures;

3.6.1.7 Home/School/Community 
Collaboration: Coursework and practicum/internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of family systems, 

including family strengths and influences on student 
development, learning, and behavior; and of methods to 
involve families in education and service delivery;

3.6.1.8 Research and Program Evaluation: 
Coursework and practicum/internship experiences that 
demonstrate knowledge of research, statistics, and 
evaluation methods.  Coursework in this area includes 
content related to evaluating research, translating research 
into practice, and understanding research design and 
statistics in sufficient depth to plan and conduct 
investigations and program evaluations for improvement of 
services;

3.6.1.9 School Psychology Practice and 
Development: Coursework and practicum/internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of the history and 
foundations of the profession of school psychology; of 
various service models and methods; of public policy 
development applicable to services to children and families; 
and of ethical, professional, and legal standards;

3.6.1.10 Student Diversity in Development and 
Learning: Coursework and practicum/internship experiences 
that demonstrate knowledge of individual differences, 
abilities, and disabilities and of the potential influence of 
biological, social, cultural, ethnic, experiential, 
socioeconomic, gender-related, and linguistic factors in 
development and learning; and

3.6.1.11 Information Technology: Coursework 
and practicum/internship experiences the demonstrate 
knowledge of information sources and technology relevant 
to their work, including the ability to access, evaluate, and 
utilize information sources and technology in ways that 
safeguard or enhance the quality of services; and.

3.6.2 A supervised internship of no less than 
1200 hours, completed at or near the end of the program, 
completed either full-time or half-time over a period of no 
more than two consecutive years, at least 600 hours of which 
must be in a school setting. Applicants who meet all of the 
requirements above except 600 hours of internship in a 
school setting may complete the school-based internship 
requirements under an emergency certificate.

4.0 Internship.
4.1 An internship must be in an institution or agency 

approved by the DOE or the applicant’s graduate program.
The internship placement agency provides appropriate 
support for the internship experience including: 

4.1.1 A written agreement specifying the period 
of appointment and any terms of compensation; 

4.1.2 A schedule of appointments, expense 
reimbursement, a safe and secure work environment, 
adequate office space, and support services consistent with 
that afforded to school psychologists employed by the 
approved internship institution or agency;

4.1.3 Provision for participation in continuing 
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professional development activities; 
4.1.4 Rrelease time for internship supervision; 

and
4.1.5 A commitment to the internship as a 

diversified training experience.
4.2 An internship must be supervised by a certified 

school psychologist or state licensed psychologist who has a 
minimum of three (3) years experience as a practicing school 
psychologist and who has experienced an internship.

4.3 A licensed psychologist completing the school-
based portion of the internship may be employed as a school 
psychologist concurrent with completion of the internship. 
[A minimum of two (2) hours per week of supervision is 
required.]

5.0 Emergency Certificate
5.1 An Emergency Certificate for a School 

Psychologist may only be granted to a candidate who has 
completed all required course work and has been accepted 
into a school-based internship.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
 Section 122(3)(c) (16 Del.C. §122(3)(c))

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”) 
initiated proceedings to adopt State of Delaware 
Regulations for the Licensing and Registration of 
Operators of Public Water Supply Systems.  The DHSS 
proceedings to adopt regulations were initiated pursuant to 
29 Del.C. Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed by 16 
Del.C. 122 §(3)c.

On July 1, 2004 (Volume 8, Issue 1), DHSS published in 
the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice of proposed 
regulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10115.  It requested that 
written materials and suggestions from the public concerning 
the proposed regulations be delivered to DHSS by July 30, 
2004, or be presented at a public hearing on July 28, 2004, 
after which time DHSS would review information, factual 
evidence and public comment to the said proposed 
regulations.

Findings Of Fact:

No verbal comments were received during the public 

hearing and no written comments were received during the 
official public comment period.  The public comment period 
was open from July 1, 2004 through July 30, 2004. 
Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing Officer’s 
record.  The regulation has been reviewed and approved by 
the Delaware Attorney General’s office.

The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as 
set forth in the attached copy should be adopted in the best 
interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
State of Delaware Regulations for the Licensing and 
Registration of Operators of Public Water Supply Systems 
are adopted and shall become effective September 10, 2004, 
after publication of the final regulation in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations. 

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, 8/13/04

463 Licensing And Registration Of Operators Of Public 
Water Supply Systems

1.0 Purpose
It is the purpose of this regulation to protect the public 

health and to provide for the development and protection of 
the potable water supply systems of this State; to provide for 
the classification of public water systems; to require the 
licensing of operators of these systems; to provide 
procedures for such licensing and registration; to create an 
Advisory Council for Certification; to provide for reciprocal 
arrangements; and to prescribe penalties for violation of this 
regulation.

2.0 Definitions
“Acceptable Experience” means active, on-site charge 

and/or performance of operation of a treatment plant and/or 
distribution system of a public water supply and would include 
such activities as treatment plant startup and hands-on (in the 
field) operator training.  “Hands-on” means the applicant has 
been actually operating a water treatment plant and/or working 
on the distribution system, has performed routine tests, 
collected samples, completed operational reports, etc.  It 
means that the knowledge possessed was, at least in part, 
gathered from daily operating experience, not merely from 
textbook study.

“Advisory Council” means  Advisory Council for 
Certification of Public Water System Operators, as 
established by this regulation.

“Base Level License” means  a water treatment and/or 
distribution license in which the following information is 
covered:  general water system information; disinfection by 
hypochlorination; and distribution operation and 
maintenance for water supply systems having a flow of less 
than five hundred (500) gpm at twenty (20) psi.

“Circuit Rider” means a certified water operator who 
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operates and/or is the direct-responsible-charge (DRC) for 
more than one (1) public water system.

“Combined Treatment/Distribution System” means 
any water supply system which is composed of a water 
treatment facility as defined in “Water Supplier” together 
with a water distribution system as defined in this section.

“Continuing Education Unit (CEU)” means a 
measure of professional, educational training, where one (1) 
CEU is equal to ten (10) hours of classroom and/or 
laboratory training.

“Department” means Delaware Health and Social 
Services.

“Direct-Responsible-Charge (DRC)” means certified 
water system operator(s) assigned accountability for 
performance of active, on-site operational duties active daily 
technical direction and supervision or active daily 
accountability for process control decisions of a facility or a 
major segment of a facility that directly impacts public health 
or the environment.

“Director” means Director of the Division of Public 
Health or his/her duly authorized designee.

“Division” means Division of Public Health.
“Educational Contact Hour” means the amount of 

time spent at a water operators or water distribution 
operators training course, after initial certification, not 
including travel time or lodging time.  For purposes of these 
Regulations, the initial base certification course does not 
qualify as educational contact hours and one (1) hour of time 
spent in a training course is equal to one (1) educational 
contact hour.

“Endorsement” means any water treatment operation 
as listed in Section 5.2.1 which is over and above the base 
level license as defined in “Base Level Service” this section.

“Operator” means a licensed person who works in a 
water treatment facility and/or a water distribution system who 
may be a DRC or may work under a DRC. Means the 
individual who has responsibility for the operation of a water 
treatment plant or water distribution system and any individual 
who normally has charge of an operating shift, or who 
performs process control decisions including analytical 
control.

“Person” means any individual, partnership, firm, 
association, joint venture, public or private corporation, 
trust, state commission, Advisory Council, public or private 
institution, utility, cooperative, municipality or any other 
political subdivision of this State, or any other legal entity.

“Process Control Decision” means a decision that 
maintains or changes the water quality or quantity of a water 
system in a manner that may affect the public health or the 
environment.

“Public Water System” means a water supply system 
for the provision to the public of  water for human 
consumption through pipes or other constructed 
conveyances either directly from the user's free flowing 

outlet or indirectly by the water being used to manufacture 
ice, foods and beverages or that supplies water for potable or 
domestic purposes for consumption in more than three 
dwelling units, or furnishes water for potable or domestic 
purposes to employees, tenants, members, guests or the 
public at large in commercial offices, industrial areas, 
multiple dwellings or semi-public buildings, including, but 
without limitation, rooming and boarding houses, motels, 
tourist cabins, mobile home parks, restaurants, camps of all 
types, day and boarding schools, clubhouses, hospitals and 
other institutions, or offers any water for sale for potable or 
domestic purposes.  Public water systems are classified as 
follows:

"Community Water System (CWS)" means a 
public water system which serves at least fifteen (15) service 
connections used by year-round residents or regularly serves 
at least twenty-five (25) year-round residents;

"Non-Transient Non-Community Water System 
(NTNCWS)" means a public water system that is not a 
community water system and that regularly serves at least 
twenty-five (25) of the same persons over six (6) months per 
year;

"Non-Community Water System (NCWS)"
means a public water system which has at least fifteen (15) 
service connections or regularly serves an average of at least 
twenty-five (25) individuals daily at least sixty (60) days out 
of the year;

"Miscellaneous Public Water System (MPWS)"
means a public water system that is neither community, non-
community nor non-transient non-community.

“Secretary, Delaware Health and Social Services”
means the Administrator of the Department of Health and 
Social Services of the State of Delaware as defined in Title 
29, Section (b), Delaware Code or his/her duly authorized 
designee.

“Water Distribution System” means that portion of 
the water supply system in which water is stored and 
conveyed from a water treatment plant, groundwater well, or 
other supply point to the free-flowing outlet of the ultimate 
consumer.

“Water Supplier” means any person who owns, 
operates, or manages a public water system.

“Water Supply System” means the work and 
auxiliaries for collection, treatment, storage, and distribution 
of water from the source of supply to the free-flowing outlet 
of the ultimate consumer.

“Water Treatment” means any process which is meant 
to alter the physical, chemical or bacteriological quality of 
the water.

“Water Treatment Facility” means that portion of the 
water supply system which is meant to alter the physical, 
chemical, or bacteriological quality of the water being 
treated.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 3, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS 455
3.0 Advisory Council For Certification Of Public Water 
System Operators

3.1 An Advisory Council for Certification of Public 
Water System Operators shall be appointed by the Secretary, 
Delaware Health and Social Services to advise and assist the 
Secretary in the administration of this regulation. The 
Advisory Council shall hold at least quarterly meetings each 
calendar year and such special meetings as it deems 
necessary.

3.2 Membership:
3.2.1 The Advisory Council will consist of a 

minimum of nine (9) members and with the following 
representation:

3.2.1.1 one (1) member representing the 
Division of Public Health who shall serve as Advisory 
Council Secretary/Treasurer, responsible for maintaining all 
appropriate records and conducting the daily business of the 
Advisory Council.

3.2.1.2 three (3) members representing the 
general public 

3.2.1.3 two (2) representatives from local 
government agencies with managerial responsibility for 
water treatment and/or water distribution in a public water 
system with the following representation:

3.2.1.3.1 one (1) member representing 
a local government agency having a population greater than 
or equal to 10,001 and; 

3.2.1.3.2 one (1) member representing 
a local government agency having a population less than or 
equal to 10,000 

3.2.1.4 one (1) member representing business 
or industry 

3.2.1.5 one (1) member representing a public 
water utility.

3.2.1.6 one (1) member holding a valid water 
operator's license, or who is eligible to be licensed under this 
regulation.

3.2.2 Advisory Council members will serve a 
five (5) year term with the right to resign at their request or 
until such time as a re-appointment or a replacement 
appointment is made.

3.2.2.1 Initially one (1) member will be 
appointed for a term of one (1) year, one (1) for a term of two 
(2) years, two (2) for a term of three (3) years, two (2) for a 
term of four (4) years and two (2) for a term of five (5) years.

3.2.2.2 The Division representative will serve 
an unlimited term at the discretion of the Secretary.

3.2.3 Advisory Council appointees shall 
represent all counties of the State, with at least one (1) 
member each from New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties.

3.2.4 The Secretary may remove any member of 
the Advisory Council for misconduct, incapacity, or neglect 
of duty, and shall be the sole judge of the sufficiency of the 
case for removal.

3.2.5 The Secretary shall fill any vacancy.  Such 
an interim appointment shall be for the duration of the term.

3.3 Responsibility and Authority:
3.3.1 The Advisory Council, with the consent of 

the Secretary, shall establish such procedures and guidelines 
as may be necessary for the administration of this regulation. 
These procedures and guidelines shall include but not be 
limited to the following:

3.3.1.1 procedures for examination of 
candidates and the granting of licenses;

3.3.1.2 procedures for the renewal of 
licenses;

3.3.1.3 procedures for the suspension, 
revocation and failure to renew licenses;

3.3.1.4 guidelines for evaluating equivalency 
of training and examinations conducted by recognized 
agencies and institutions;

3.3.1.5 guidelines for evaluating equivalency 
of other licensing and certification programs for the purpose 
of according reciprocal treatment.

3.3.1.6 procedures for the collection and 
disbursement of fees.

3.3.2 The Advisory Council shall possess the 
necessary authority as delegated by the Secretary to carry out 
all activities required for the proper administration of this 
regulation.  Such authority includes:

3.3.2.1 the development of rules and 
regulations, to be adopted by the Secretary, concerning the 
licensing of operators of public water systems;

3.3.2.2 establishing the method of 
examination for each license applicant, including 
preparation, administration, and grading of examinations;

3.3.2.3 the recommendation to the Secretary 
regarding the issuance and renewal of licenses;

3.3.2.4 the recommendation of disciplinary 
sanctions to the Secretary on operators who violate Section 
10 of this regulation.

4.0 License Requirements For Public Supply Water 
Systems

4.1  Water Supply Treatment Facilities
4.1.1 Two years following the effective date of 

this regulation, any public water supply system treatment 
facility must be under the direct-responsible-charge of a 
person possessing a valid base level water operator's license, 
defined in Section 2.0 of these regulations, and all applicable 
endorsements, if any, for the treatment facility to be 
operated.

4.2 Water Supply Treatment Facility Operators
4.2.1 Two years following the effective date of 

this regulation, it shall be illegal for any person to be in a 
position of direct-responsible-charge (DRC) and/or operate 
any public water supply system treatment facility unless said 
person possesses a valid base level water operator's license 
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and applicable endorsements, if any, for the treatment 
facility to be operated.

4.3 Water Supply Distribution Systems
4.3.1 Two years following the effective date of 

this regulation, any public water distribution system, capable 
of producing greater than five hundred (500) gallons per 
minute (gpm) at twenty (20) pounds per square inch (psi), 
must be under the direct-responsible-charge of a person 
possessing a valid base level water operator's license and, at 
a minimum, a distribution endorsement.

4.4 Water Supply Distribution System Operators
4.4.1 Two years following the effective date of 

this regulation, it shall be illegal for any person to be in a 
position of direct-responsible charge (DRC) and/or operate 
any public water supply distribution system, capable of 
producing greater than five hundred (500) gallons per minute 
(gpm) at twenty (20) pounds per square inch (psi), unless 
said person possesses a valid base level water operator's 
license and, at a minimum, a distribution  endorsement.

4.5 Combined Treatment/Distribution Supply Systems
4.5.1 The license requirements stipulated in 4.1 

and 4.3 apply separately and equally to both the water supply 
treatment facility operator and the water supply distribution 
facility operator of a combined treatment/distribution supply 
system.

4.5.2 Any water supply treatment facility which 
is part of a combined public water treatment/distribution 
system must be under the direct-responsible-charge of a 
person possessing a valid base level water operator's license 
and all applicable endorsements, as defined by the Division, 
if any, for the treatment facility to be operated.

4.5.3 Any water supply distribution system 
which is part of a combined public water treatment/
distribution system and is capable of producing greater than 
five hundred (500) gpm at twenty (20) psi must be under the 
direct-responsible-charge of a person possessing a valid base 
level water operator's license and, at a minimum, a 
distribution endorsement.

4.5.4 The requirement of a distribution 
endorsement as stated in Section 4.5.3 may be waived if the 
owner can demonstrate to the Division that all distribution 
system operation and maintenance is contracted out to 
another licensed operator.

4.6 Notification to Division of Public Health
4.6.1 Within twenty-six (26) months of the 

effective date of this regulation, any owner of a public water 
supply system treatment facility, distribution system, or 
combined treatment/distribution system must provide to the 
Division a list of all persons in direct-responsible-charge and 
all operators who have been duly licensed under these 
regulations.  Further, the owner must notify the Division in 
writing of any additions, deletions, or other changes in the 
number of licensed direct-responsible-charges or operators
within thirty (30) days of such change.  The notification 

must include the name and license number of the new DRC.
4.7 Temporary Variance

4.7.1 A temporary variance from the license 
requirements provided in Sections 4.1,  4.3 and 4.5 of this 
regulation may be granted by the Secretary, upon 
recommendation by the Advisory Council, to the owner of a 
public water system treatment facility, distribution system, 
or combined treatment/distribution system, when it is 
demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Advisory Council that 
the owner has unexpectedly lost a licensed operator and/or is 
unable to hire a licensed operator in spite of good faith 
efforts. Such temporary variance may be issued with any 
special conditions or requirements deemed necessary to 
assure the protection of the public health.

4.7.2 Notification of the unexpected loss of a 
licensed operator must be sent to the Advisory Council by 
the owner within thirty (30) days pursuant to 4.6 of this 
regulation.  Application for a temporary variance must be 
made to the Advisory Council on forms provided by the 
Advisory Council no later than thirty (30) days following 
such initial notification.  After thorough review of the 
application and any other information required by the 
Advisory Council as being pertinent to the issuance of a 
temporary variance, the Advisory Council shall make a 
recommendation to the Secretary.  The Secretary notifies the 
applicant in writing of his/her decision to approve or deny 
the temporary variance.

4.7.3 A temporary variance shall be valid only 
for that facility or system for which issued, and for a period 
of time as specified by the Secretary, but which shall not 
exceed six (6) months.

4.7.4 Extension of Temporary Variance
4.7.4.1 When it is demonstrated to the 

satisfaction of the Secretary that the owner holding a 
temporary variance has continued to act in good faith in 
attempting to hire a licensed operator but is unable to do so, 
one (1) extension of the original variance may be granted at 
the discretion of the Secretary, upon recommendation by the 
Advisory Council, for a period of time not to exceed six (6) 
months.  Requests for an extension of a temporary variance 
must be made to the Advisory Council in writing no later 
than one (1) month prior to the expiration date of the original 
variance.

5.0 Classification Of Public Water Systems
5.1 The Division of Public Health shall classify all 

public water systems in accordance with the criteria hereby 
established.

5.2 Water Supply Facilities
5.2.1 Public water system supply facilities shall 

be classified according to the treatment process(es) it 
operates.  General treatment processes shall be grouped into 
categories hereby called endorsements.  Within each 
endorsement shall be specific unit processes, hereby called 
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endorsement sub-categories, see appendix A for a list of 
these endorsements and endorsement sub-categories.  The 
Division will specify which endorsements and endorsement 
sub-categories a public water system needs based upon the 
most recent sanitary survey conducted by the Division. The 
list of endorsements is as follows:

5.2.1.1 Disinfection
5.2.1.2 Chemical Feed
5.2.1.3 Filtration
5.2.1.4 Surface Water Operations
5.2.1.5 Other Specified Treatment
5.2.1.6 Distribution

5.2.2 The Advisory Council shall amend 
Appendix A as is necessitated by the creation of new 
treatment technologies.

5.2.3 In the event of an emergency, such as 
source water contamination, in which a treatment process is 
required to protect the public's immediate health and which 
the DRC and/or operator is currently not licensed for, an 
emergency endorsement may be added to the DRC's and/or 
operator's license provided that prior approval, by the 
Division, is granted.  This emergency endorsement shall be 
issued for a period not to exceed one (1) year, without the 
express written consent of the Secretary.  The operator must 
pass the appropriate endorsement test within the one-year 
period of the emergency endorsement.

6.0 License Classification And Operator Qualifications
6.1 License Classification

6.1.1 One (1) regular water supply operator 
license class is hereby established:

6.1.1.1 Base Level Water Supply Operator 
with all applicable endorsements as stated in Section 5.2.1.

6.1.2 Three (3) Two (2) specialty class licenses 
are also established:

6.1.2.1 Water Supply Operator-in-Training 
(OIT)

6.1.2.2 Circuit Rider
6.1.2.3.2 Grandfather Clause

6.2 Operator Qualifications
6.2.1 Base Level Water Supply Operator

6.2.1.1 High School Diploma or equivalent 
and one (1) year of acceptable operating experience, or;

6.2.1.2 Three (3) years of acceptable 
operating experience, and;

6.2.1.3 Successful completion of the base 
level written examination;

6.2.2 Water Treatment Operator-In-Training 
(OIT)

An operator who lacks either the education or 
experience requirements for a base level license may, with 
the approval of the Secretary, upon recommendation by the 
Advisory Council, and after successful completion of the 
base level written examination, receive an interim Operator-

in-Training (OIT) license, for a maximum of three (3) years, 
pending fulfillment of the regular license requirements.

6.2.3 Circuit Rider. To be classified qualify as a 
circuit rider, an operator must be able to meet the following 
criteria:

6.2.3.1 Must be certified for all endorsements 
required for the water systems for which he/she is in direct-
responsible-charge and/or operates.

6.2.3.2 Spend a recommended number of Shall 
make at least three (3) visits each week at each water system 
that provides any treatment and shall make at least one (1) visit 
each week for each system that has no treatment he/she is in 
direct-responsible-charge.  This number may be adjusted by 
the Advisory Council based upon a yearly review written 
request from the operator and/or owner of the water system 
with justification provided for making the change.

6.2.3.2.1 The number of visits spent 
each week at each water system must be documented on 
forms, provided approved by the Division, and submitted 
upon request.  Information that must be contained includes; 
name of water system, name of operator, date of visit, time 
of visit, activities performed (i.e., filled chlorine tank, 
adjusted feed rate, etc.)

6.2.3.2.2 For the purposes of this 
section, a DRC circuit rider must be available in the event of 
an emergency, but does not have to be on-site.

6.2.3.3 The distances between each water 
system shall be such that, in the event of an emergency, the 
circuit rider will be able to reach the water system within two 
(2) hours of first being notified of the emergency.

6.2.4 Grandfather Clause:  A valid, base level 
license and any applicable endorsements shall be issued by 
the Secretary, upon recommendation by the Advisory 
Council, to the individual(s) certified by the governing body 
or owner of a public water system to have been in 
responsible charge and/or operated a water facility on the 
effective date of this regulation, under the following criteria:

6.2.4.1 .the individual(s) can provide 
documentation to the Advisory Council attesting to the fact 
they have been in a position of Direct-Responsible-Charge 
and/or operated a water facility for at least five (5) years 
prior to the adoption date of these Regulations. , and

6.2.4.2 any application for a license pursuant 
to this section must be submitted on or before July 1, 2001.

6.2.5 A license and endorsement(s) granted 
under Section 6.2.4 of these Regulations shall not be 
transferable to another water system.

6.2.6 Acceptable Experience Requirement: An 
applicant for any endorsements or sub-endorsements must 
have at least one year of acceptable experience with the 
treatment process or distribution system in order to receive the 
endorsement on his/her license.  Applicants that take and pass 
the endorsement test may receive an Operator in Training 
license for up to one year in order to obtain the necessary 
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experience.

7.0 Licensing Procedures
7.1 Examinations

7.1.1 The Advisory Council or its authorized 
designee may enter into a contract with third party to 
prepare, administer and grade written examinations required 
for each category and classification of license.  A minimum 
score of seventy percent (70 %) shall be required to pass the 
examination.  Examinations are confidential and remain the 
property of the Advisory Council.  Due to unusual and 
extenuating circumstances, the Advisory Council may waive 
the requirements for the written examination, in which case 
an oral recorded examination shall be conducted and 
retained by the Advisory Council.

7.1.2 Schedule
7.1.2.1 Examinations shall be held at places 

and times designated by the Advisory Council, and shall be 
held at least semiannually.  Advance public announcement 
shall be made by the Advisory Council at least two (2) 
months prior to the scheduled examination date.

7.1.3 Applications
7.1.3.1 Candidates wishing to take any 

license examination must submit an application to the 
Advisory Council at least thirty (30) days prior to the 
announced date of the examination on forms provided by the 
Advisory Council.  No application form shall require a 
picture of the applicant, require information relating to 
citizenship, place of birth, or length of State residency, nor 
shall it require personal references

7.1.4 Application Review and Notification
7.1.4.1 The Advisory Council shall review all 

applications submitted and determine the eligibility of each 
candidate to sit for the particular examination applied for. 
Each candidate approved for examination shall be notified in 
writing by the Advisory Council of the time and place of the 
next examination for which the candidate is eligible.  Such 
notification shall be given at least two (2) weeks prior to the 
examination date. 

7.1.5 Fraudulent Applications
7.1.5.1 Where the Council has found to its 

satisfaction that an application has been fraudulent, or that 
false information has been intentionally supplied, it shall 
report its finding to the Attorney General for further action.

7.1.6 Eligibility
7.1.6.1 Approved applications for 

examination shall remain valid for one (1) year.  Any 
approved candidate who fails to appear for an examination 
during the one (1) year period following the first notification 
of eligibility must submit a new application for examination 
to the Advisory Council. 

7.1.6.2 Any applicant that fails to submit 
payment for their license within ninety (90) days of the first 
notification they passed the examination and are eligible for 

licensure must submit a new application to the Advisory 
Council and retake the exam.

7.1.7 Appeal of Rejected Applications and 
Failed Examinations

7.1.7.1 Where the application of a person has 
been refused or rejected, the applicant may appeal in writing, 
via certified mail, to the Secretary within thirty (30) days. 
Any applicant who failed the examination has the right to 
appeal before the Advisory Council.

7.1.8 Re-Examination
7.1.8.1 Any candidate who fails to pass an 

examination may apply for re-examination upon subsequent 
scheduled examination dates.  Candidates are permitted to sit 
for the same examination two (2) times per year.  If both 
examinations are failed, the candidate must wait one (1) year 
prior to re-examination.

7.2 Issuance of License
7.2.1 On satisfactory fulfillment of the 

requirements provided in this regulation, and providing 
proof of employment at a Delaware water system, the 
candidate shall be issued a suitable license by the Secretary
Director, upon recommendation by the Advisory Council. 
The license shall indicate all endorsements for which the 
operator is qualified, and the date of issuance and date of 
expiration.

7.3 Renewal of License
7.3.1 Licenses shall be renewed every two (2) 

years unless suspended, revoked for cause, or invalidated 
under 7.4.  The deadline renewal date shall be the month and 
day of the original license issuance. Application for renewal 
must be submitted to the Advisory Council on forms 
provided by the Advisory Council at least sixty (60) days 
prior to the deadline renewal date.

7.3.2 In addition to Section 7.3.1, all operators, 
including grandfathered operators, must receive an 
additional amount of training, as approved by the Advisory 
Council, every two (2) years in order to renew their licenses, 
as shown below.

7.3.2.1 Twenty (20) educational contact hours 
every two (2) years for operators who have endorsements on 
their licenses.

7.3.2.2 Twelve (12) educational contact hours 
every two (2) years for operators with a base level license.

7.3.3 Any license that has not been renewed in 
accordance with 7.301 and 7.302 shall be automatically 
invalidated.  Such expired license may be revalidated without 
examination upon payment of the appropriate fee and 
verification of completion of continuing education 
requirements within one (1) year from the expiration date. 
Licenses not reinstated within one (1) year shall submit a new 
application to the Advisory Council and may be required to sit 
for the appropriate written examination.

Note: Continuing education credits may be earned 
during the period of invalidation if the applicant is short of 
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the required number.  However, these credits will not carry 
over to the two-year term of the renewed license.

7.4 Denial of Renewal, Suspension, or Revocation of 
Licenses and Placement on Probation

7.4.1 The Secretary may suspend or revoke the 
license of an operator, after considering the 
recommendations of the Advisory Council, when it is found 
that the operator has practiced fraud or deception; that 
reasonable care, judgment, or the application of his 
knowledge or ability was not used in the performance of his 
duties; or that the operator is incompetent or unable to 
perform his duties properly.  Said recommendations to the 
Secretary by the Advisory Council shall be made upon the 
Advisory Council conducting a hearing in accordance with 
provisions established under these regulations.  Examples of 
actions which may result in denial of renewal, suspension or 
revocation of a license or placement on probation include, 
but are not limited to; failure to notify the Division of 
chemical overfeeds and other emergencies, failure to 
respond to an emergency, etc.

7.5 Fees
7.5.1 The fee schedule as authorized by 16

Del.C. 122(3)(c) and set forth below shall take effect on the 
effective date of this regulation.

7.5.1.1 Application for Initial Annual License 
$50.00. Biennial License $100

7.5.1.2 Application for Renewal of Annual 
License  $50.00.  Biennial License $100

7.5.2 All application fees are payable upon 
application notification by the Division that an applicant has 
been approved for licensure.

7.6 Reciprocity
7.6.1 A license of comparable classification 

may be issued without examination to any person who holds 
a certificate or license in any state, territory, or possession of 
the United States or any country, if in the judgment of the 
Secretary, the requirements under which the certification or 
license was issued do not conflict with the provisions of this 
regulation or any rules promulgated hereunder, and are of a 
standard not lower than that specified by this regulation.

8.0 Preemption
The provisions of these regulations preempt existing 

regulations of this State insofar as they relate to or conflict 
with the provisions of this regulation.

9.0 Severability
Each Section of this regulation and every part of each 

Section is an independent Section and part of a Section, and 
the holding of any Section or part thereof to be 
unconstitutional, void, or invalid for any cause does not 
affect the validity or constitutionality of any other Section or 
part thereof which shall continue valid and effective.

10.0 Disciplinary Procedures
10.1 Grounds for Discipline.  The conditions and 

actions of an applicant or licensed operator which may result 
in disciplinary action as set forth in 10.3 of this Section 
includes, but is not limited to, the  following list.  If after 
following the Disciplinary Procedures as stated in Section 
10.2, the Council finds that, after conducting an 
investigation and hearing an applicant or licensed operator:

10.1.1 Has acted fraudulently or with material 
deception in order to be certified; or

10.1.2 Has engaged in illegal, incompetent or 
negligent conduct in the provision of water system 
operation; or

10.1.3 Has as an operator or otherwise, in the 
practice of his or her profession, engaged in an act of 
consumer fraud or deception, or engaged in the restraint of 
competition, or participated in price-fixing activities; or

10.1.4 Has violated a lawful provision of this 
Section or any lawful rule or regulation established here 
under.

10.2 Disciplinary Procedures
10.2.1 Notice of Violation:  Whenever the 

Director has  reason to believe that a violation of any of these 
Regulations has occurred or is occurring, the Director shall 
notify the alleged violator and the Secretary. Such notice 
shall be in writing, may be sent by Certified Mail, or hand 
delivered, shall cite the Regulation or Regulations that are 
allegedly being violated, and shall state the facts which form 
the basis for believing that the violation has occurred or is 
occurring.

10.2.2 Investigation:  Whenever the Director
issues a Notice of Violation, an investigation shall be 
conducted to determine if the alleged violations have 
occurred or are occurring.  One Two members of the 
Advisory Council shall act as the investigator and shall 
report the findings of the investigation to the Advisory 
Council. Upon review of all the facts concerning the alleged 
violation(s), the Advisory Council will vote on 
recommended disciplinary sanction(s), as listed in Section 
3.0.  The investigative member of the Advisory Council will 
not vote on the  recommended disciplinary actions.  The 
Advisory Council shall report to the Secretary and the 
Director with the findings of fact and recommendations for 
disciplinary action.

10.2.3 Hearing Request:  Any operator who has 
received a Notice of Violation may submit a request for a 
hearing to the Director within 30 days via certified mail.  A 
hearing will be held within 180 days. 

10.3 Disciplinary Sanctions. Persons regulated 
under this Section who have been determined to be in 
violation of this Section may be subject to the following 
disciplinary actions: 

10.3.1 Issuance of a letter of reprimand
10.3.2 Placement on probationary status
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10.3.3 Imposition of a fine not to exceed $1,000 
for each offense

10.3.4 Suspension of License
10.3.5 Revocation of License

10.4 Renewal of License after Revocation: An 
operator that has had his/her license revoked by the Secretary 
and wishes to get their license back must submit a new 
application to the Advisory Council for consideration.  The 
application shall not be submitted for at least one year after the 
date of revocation.

11.0 Penalty Clause
11.1 Any person who neglects or fails to comply 

with this regulation shall be subject to penalty as provided  in 
16 Del.C.107122(3)(c).

APPENDIX A

Listed below are the general endorsement categories. 
Under each general category is a list of the endorsement sub-
categories (unit processes) associated with each general 
category.

A. Disinfection
1. Hypochlorination (Calcium or Sodium), powder or 

liquid
2. Gas Chlorination
3. Ozonation
4. Bromination
5. Iodine
6. Chloramines
7. Chlorine Dioxide
8. Ultraviolet Light

B. Chemical Feed
1. Lime - Soda Ash Addition
2. pH Adjustment
3. Inhibitor - bimetallic phosphate, 

hexametaphosphate, orthophosphate, polyphosphate
4. Sequestering
5. Permanganate
6. Peroxide
7. Fluoridation

C. Filtration
1. Activated Carbon, powder or granulated
2. Sand - Pressure, Rapid, Slow
3. Reverse Osmosis
4. Greensand
5. Activated Alumina
6. Ion Exchange
7. Cartridge
8. Diamateous Diatomaceous Earth
9. Ultrafiltration
10. Microfiltration

D. Surface Water Operations

1. Algae Control
2. Coagulation
3. Flocculation
4. Rapid Mix
5. Sedimentation
6. Sludge Treatment

E. Other Specified Treatment
1. Aeration - Cascade, Diffused, Packed Tower, Slat 

Tray or Spray
2. Dechlorination - using reducing agents,  sodium 

bisulfate, sodium  sulfide, or sulfur dioxide
3. Distillation
4. Bone Char
5. Electrodialysis

F. Distribution
1. Flow less than 500 gpm at 20 psi
2. Flow greater than 500 gpm at 20 psi

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Section 607 (18 Del.C. §607)
18 DE Admin. Code 607

ORDER

A public hearing was held on August 3, 2004 to receive 
comments on amendments to Regulation 607 relating to 
Delaware Defensive Driving Courses.  By my order of June 
21, Deputy Insurance Commissioner F.L. Peter Stone was 
appointed hearing officer to receive comments and 
testimony on the proposed amendments to the regulation. 
Public notice of the hearings and publication of proposed 
Regulation 607 in the Register of Regulations and two 
newspapers of general circulation was in conformity with 
Delaware law.  Fourteen persons attended the public hearing. 
Fifteen written submissions were accepted into the record 
which was kept open until August 6, 2004.  

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

Kathy S. Gravell, Esquire, a legal representative of the 
Department, presented oral testimony on behalf of the 
Department in support of the proposed changes to the 
regulation.  The most significant change to the regulation 
relates to the Department’s desire to authorize online courses 
in addition to the live classroom courses that are currently 
permitted under the regulation.    Other changes relate to the 
certification process, some changes to the required materials 
to be covered, the student identification process, deletion of 
the instructor evaluation forms and the certification of 
providers.
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 Virtually all of the oral and written comments related to 
the issue of permitting online courses.  The local direct 
contact classroom providers were generally opposed to the 
addition of online courses to those currently permitted under 
the regulation because of the lack of interaction between 
instructor and student.  The classroom providers also 
focused on the opportunity a student would have to either 
cheat on the number of required hours to take the course or 
the ease one would have to have another complete the online 
course in his or her stead.  The online providers testified that 
they conduct courses that qualify in many states and that 
they have developed protocols to reduce or eliminate fraud. 
For example, there are timers on the programs that do not 
allow a person to skip sections or go through sections too 
quickly, there are coded questions that pop up intermittently 
to test the taker to make sure someone else has not taken 
over for the student, and they have programs that force a 
student to repeat a section if a question is answered 
incorrectly or if there’s a failure to respond correctly to a 
request to confirm the student’s identify.  One point of 
agreement for all providers was that they had a shared goal 
of teaching safe driving techniques and believed that it was 
important that there be more safe drivers on Delaware’s 
roads.  

On specific issues like student identification, it was 
agreed that a government issued identification card is 
desirable.  The Department believes that a government 
issued photo identification card is sufficient to assure the 
identity of the person taking the course.  Even though 
classroom instructors should check a photo ID at the start of 
the course, the Department felt some latitude for the online 
courses was better noting that the process for obtaining the 
ID could be tailored by each provider.  In fact, one online 
provider does not give tests on the computer but contracts 
with a testing agency in the student’s local area to administer 
the test upon completion of the course.

One classroom instructor, William Alexander, noted that 
only 43% of the students could learn by reading material 
only and felt that it was a disservice to the purposes of the 
course to deny the student the verbal and tactile experience 
of the classroom, especially the give and take of discussions. 
The online providers noted that their courses have audio and 
visual stimulators in addition to the text material.  Mr. 
Alexander did suggest that persons who were taking the 
course because it was judicially required should not be 
permitted to take an online course.  The online providers 
discussed their commitment to interactive instruction 
through chat or toll free calling as well as their commitment 
to security measures to limit the opportunity to cheat by 
using online instruction.  

Findings Of Fact

The purpose for a public hearing on a proposed 

regulatory change is to determine the necessity for the 
change and whether the language proposed to effect that 
change needs to be changed or modified for purposes of 
clarity or efficiency.  Already extant in Regulation 607 is the 
authority of the Defensive Driving Committee to resolve the 
technical issues of compliance, assure the qualifications of 
the providers, reconcile and resolve technical issues relating 
to course materials and the like.  To the extent the written 
submissions and the testimony at the public hearing on the 
proposed changes dealt with such issues, as opposed to the 
more general issue of whether the changes proposed should 
be made, those comments can be considered by the 
Committee as part of its duties instead of a hearing officer 
under the Administrative Procedures Act.  The testimony for 
or against the approval of online courses reflected the 
interests of the advocates with the online providers and those 
who supplies course materials to them in favor of the change 
and the classroom course providers and their instructors 
opposed to the change.  The Department, which has no basis 
to favor one type of instructional method over another 
supports the proposed changes to the regulation.  The 
Department has provided an adequate basis for me to find 
that the proposed changes to the regulation should be 
approved without change.  Based on the record, I find that 
changes in technology have reduced or eliminated many of 
the problems alleged by the opponents to the proposed 
changes.  All of the online providers who testified or 
provided written submissions, have agreed to all of the same 
requirements that apply to classroom providers.  They have 
agreed to assure that their courses will meet the time 
requirements of the regulation and that they will also be 
tailored to provide the written and Delaware specific 
information required by the regulation.  They have agreed to 
have qualified staff available by phone or chat on a 24/7 
basis to meet the regulatory requirements.  I find merit in the 
testimony that some students learn better by reading and 
others learn better by lecture.  Expanding the provider base 
to allow students to utilize the instructional method best for 
them serves the goal upon which all providers agree, namely 
to provide the best information to the student to make the 
student a better driver. 

Questions relating to the details of how that is 
accomplished are appropriately left to the Committee.  I find 
that the Department is exclusively charged with the authority 
to designate the classes and to determine the qualifications of 
the instructors.  The proposed additions to the regulation are 
within the jurisdictional grant given to the Commissioner by 
the statute.  There is no basis to find that the approval of 
online courses would violate the laws of this State or that 
students should be denied this viable alternative to satisfy 
any judicial requirements they may have to take such a 
course.  As was noted in the testimony, the use of course 
credit to reduce one’s premium has and continues to be 
within the discretion of the insurance company and its 
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decision is independent of the determination of whether a 
student should be denied or allowed the opportunity to have 
the online option available.  

There were some comments and submissions that 
recommended changes to the proposed wording of the 
changes.  However, those changes are a matter of style and 
do not warrant a finding that the proposed changes should be 
altered from the form published on July 1, 2004.

Decision

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§311 and 2503, 
and the record in this docket, I adopt the FINAL REPORT 
AND RECOMMENDATION OF THE HEARING 
OFFICER dated August 9, 2004 and order that Regulation 
607 be amended as provided for in the notice published in 
the Delaware Register of Regulations 8 DE Reg. 62 (7/1/04).

I order that the proposed change shall become effective 
on September 15, 2004.

Donna Lee H. Williams
Insurance Commissioner

* PLEASE NOTE:  THE JULY 1, 2004 PUBLISHED VERSION 
OF THIS REGULATION AS A PROPOSED REGULATION 
APPEARING AT 8 DE REG. 62 (7/1/04) DID NOT REFLECT 
THE VERSION AS SUBMITTED FOR PUBLICATION WHICH IS 
THE OFFICIAL VERSION OF THE PROPOSED REGULATION. 
THE FINAL VERSION PRINTED BELOW IS IDENTICAL TO 
THE PROPOSED VERSION AS SUBMITTED TO THE 
REGISTRAR AS REQUIRED BY LAW.  THE REGISTRAR OF 
REGULATIONS REGRETS THE ERROR.  THE VERSION 
BELOW REPRESENTS THE FINAL VERSION OF THE 
REGULATION AS DULY AMENDED.

607 Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles 
and Motorcycles) [Formerly Regulation 37]

1.0 Purpose and Authority
The purpose of this Regulation is to provide a discount 

applicable to total premiums for persons who voluntarily 
attend and complete a Defensive Driving Course and to 
provide criteria for Defensive Driving Courses, Sponsors 
Providers and Instructors.  This Regulation is adopted 
pursuant to 18 Del.C. §314, and 18 Del.C. §2503 and 
promulgated in accordance with the procedures specified in 
the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.

2 DE Reg 989 (12/1/98)

2.0 Authority
This Regulation is adopted pursuant to 18 Del.C. §314, 

and 18 Del.C. §2503 and promulgated in accordance with 
the procedures specified in the Administrative Procedures 
Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.

2 DE Reg 989 (12/1/98)
2.0 Definitions

“Classroom courses” – for the purpose of this 
regulation means a defensive driving program conducted 
with students and instructors in a location common to all. 
These courses may include the use of audio or visual aides or 
materials.

“Committee” – for the purpose of this regulation means 
the Defensive Driving Credentials Committee.

“Department” – means the Delaware Insurance 
Department.

“On-line courses” – for the purpose of this regulation 
means instruction provided through the use of a computer 
including the use of CD roms or websites.

“Providers” – Corporate sponsor for any course as well 
as the individual who  signs the application for the course.

3.0 Minimum Requirements
A Defensive Driving Course Discount shall be applied 

to the total premiums for bodily injury liability coverage, 
property damage liability coverage, and personal injury 
protection coverage provided:

3.1 The automobile or motorcycle is individually 
owned or jointly owned by husband and wife or by members 
of the same household and is classified and rated as a private 
passenger automobile or motorcycle; and

3.2 The driver who customarily operates the 
automobile or motorcycle has a certificate certifying 
voluntary attendance and successful completion within the 
last 36 months from the date of application of a motor 
vehicle accident prevention course or motorcycle rider 
course, as appropriate, which is approved by the Insurance 
Commissioner.

2 DE Reg 989 (12/1/98)

4.0 Application
4.1 A 10% discount shall be applied with respect to the 

applicable premium(s) for each automobile or motorcycle 
insured under a policy if all operators named on the policy as 
insureds complete the course.  If fewer than all the operators 
covered as principal or occasional drivers complete the 
course, then the discount shall be a fraction of 10%.  The 
fraction shall be the number of operators completing the 
course, divided by the total number operators.  The discount 
shall begin at the inception date of the policy or the first 
renewal date following application by the insured and shall 
terminate at the policy expiration date subsequent to the 
expiration of three years since completion of the course.

4.2 An insured who has received a defensive driving 
discount as outlined in section 4.1 above may take a 
refresher defensive driving course within the ninety days 
prior to the three year expiration date thereof or within two 
years thereof to receive a 15% discount for an additional 
three year period as outlined in section 4.1  above. 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 3, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS 463
Discounts shall not overlap.  The discount may be applied as 
a multiplier or on an additive basis compatible with the 
rating system in use by the company.

2 DE Reg 989 (12/1/98)

5.0 Implementation
5.1 In the effective date of the Act, the discount shall be 

first applied to policies written to be effective on or after July 
14, 1982 (automobile), or July 19, 1990 (motorcycle), or 
with renewal dates on or after July 14, 1982 (automobile), or 
July 19, 1990 (motorcycle), if applied for by the insured, and 
shall remain in effect for a 3-year period from the effective 
date of such policies.

5.2 The discount may be applied as a multiplier or on 
an additive basis compatible with the rating system in use by 
the company.

5.3 All courses certified by this Department as of 
September 1, 2004 shall apply for re-certification under the 
provisions of section 7 of this regulation on or before 
January 1, 2005.  All courses not certified by this 
Department prior to September 1, 2004 shall apply for 
certification under the provisions of section 7 of this 
regulation.

6.0 Defensive Driving Course Credential Committee
6.1 The Commissioner hereby forms an entity known 

as the Defensive Driving Course Credential Committee 
("Committee"). In appointing Committee members, the 
Commissioner shall consider the following characteristics:

6.1.1 kKnowledge of principles of teaching and 
learning;

6.1.2 kKnowledge of safe driving principles; 
and

6.1.3 kKknowledge of Delaware Motor Vehicle 
laws;. and

6.1.4 To recommend approval of a course or 
applicant, the Committee shall require the course contains 
the following: any other relevant characteristics or 
experience.

6.2 The Committee shall be composed of five citizens 
of this State who are not employed by or have any financial 
interest in any course sponsor provider and who meet the 
standards set forth in sections 10.1.1 through 10.1.4.

6.3 Duties. The Committee shall:
6.3.1 Choose Elect its Chairmanperson and shall 

make recommendations to the Commissioner concerning the 
duties set forth herein;

6.3.2 Review and examine defensive driving 
course sponsors provider, instructors and prospective 
sponsors providers and instructors to its satisfaction. 
Recommend certification, denial of certification or de-
certification of a course sponsor provider or prospective 
sponsors provider and applicants.

6.3.3 Review and examine defensive driving 

courses and shall provide further occasional monitoring of
courses to ensure each course continues to meet the 
Committee’s minimum requirements, as outlined in this 
Regulation. The Committee may from time to time 
recommend amendments to course requirements 

6.3.4 Certify approved course sponsors
providers and individual instructors for a two year period so 
long as the course sponsor/instructor continues to meet the 
requirements of this Regulation; and

6.3.5 Conduct any other such activity 
reasonably related to the furtherance of its duties.

7.0 Certification Criteria for Defensive Driving 
Programs Aand Sponsors Providers
Each course sponsor provider shall:

7.1 Submit for approval written course description
instructor and student materials for any defensive driving 
course to be offered that minimally includes the following
elements listed in this section.: On-line courses shall provide 
free site access to a Committee member for purposes of 
verification of compliance.

7.1.1 The definition of defensive driving and the 
collision prevention formula theory serving as the basis for 
the course;

7.1.2 Vehicle safety devices, including the use 
of seat belts, child restraint devices and their proper use and 
relationship to a child’s age and size, including the correct 
placement of a child in a vehicle. Vehicle air bag systems 
shall be explained in detail with special attention to proper 
passenger seating and proper use of anti-lock braking 
systems and how they compare to standard braking systems; 

7.1.3 A discussion of driving situations as they 
relate to the condition of the driver, driver characteristics, 
use of alcohol and legal/illegal drugs, including a discussion 
of Delaware law on drinking and driving and the use of 
drugs;

7.1.4 A discussion of the five factors affecting 
driving driving defensively, being: the condition of the 
driver, the vehicle, the road, weather and lighting as they 
pertain to; and how they pertain to driving defensively, 
including, but not limited to:

7.1.4.1 The condition of the driver, the 
vehicle, the road, sun glare, weather and lighting;

7.1.4.2 Distractions such as use of cellular 
telephones while driving, adjusting radios, audio and video 
tapes and compact discs, talking with a passenger, reading 
and eating;

7.1.5 A discussion, including specific 
requirements of Delaware law where applicable, of specific
pertinent driving situations, including stopping distances, 
proper following distances, proper intersection driving, 
stopping at railroad crossings, right-of-way and traffic 
devices as well as situations involving passing and being 
passed and how to protect against head-on collisions; and 
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7.1.6 Consideration of the hazards and 
techniques of various driving situations such, as but not 
limited to, city, highway, expressway and rural driving, 
including but not limited to proper use of exit and entrance 
ramps, driving in parking lots and a discussion of Delaware 
law concerning school buses.

7.1.7 A discussion of aggressive driving 
including but not limited to identifying an aggressive driver 
and providing appropriate defensive driving techniques. 
Discussion shall also include identifying oneself as an 
aggressive driver and the appropriate manner to respond.

7.2 Require its instructors in classroom courses to 
present courses information in a manner consistent with the 
approved curriculum and otherwise in accordance with the 
standards set forth herein. 

7.3  Require on-line courses to provide toll free 
telephone lines staffed by knowledgeable customer service 
personnel who can assist with content based questions.

7.37.4 Require that each student receives a minimum 
of six hours of classroom or on-line time for the initial 
course and three hours of classroom or on-line time for the 
refresher advanced (renewal) course. Each classroom hour 
shall consist of not less than 50 minutes of instructional time 
devoted to the presentation of course curriculum.

7.5 Require that registration shall be completed prior to 
the beginning of any type of instruction and shall not be 
counted as instructional time.

7.47.6 Require its instructors in classroom courses to 
be in the classroom with the students during any and all 
periods of instructional time.

7.57.7 Require instructors in classroom courses to 
maintain an atmosphere appropriate for class-work.

7.8 Material required to be covered by this Regulation 
shall be discussed by the instructor in a classroom situation 
and be included as on screen information in an on-line 
course.

7.67.9 Supply students who complete a defensive 
driving course and who have presented a government issued 
photo identification with a certification of completion that 
includes, at a minimum, the name of the student, the date of 
the class, the name of the defensive driving course and the 
course sponsor’s authorized signature.

7.7 Require that each of its instructors request his or her 
students complete a standardized Course/Instructor 
Evaluation Form for not less than one-third of the courses
provided by each instructor and retain completed evaluation 
forms until the expiration of the certification period during 
which they are completed. The Course/Instructor Evaluation 
Form shall be in the manner and form prescribed by the 
Committee.

7.10 All courses shall provide all students with a 
copy of a letter provided by the Committee informing the 
student how to provide comment or file a complaint 
regarding a defensive driving course.  This letter shall be in 

hard copy form for classroom courses.  On-line courses shall 
place the letter with registration on-line and shall provide a 
hard copy with the certificate of completion.

7.87.11 Notify the Division of Motor Vehicles of each 
student’s successful completion of the course in the manner 
and form required by the Division. 

8.0 Complaints, De-certification, Suspension And 
Probationary Status

8.1 Complaints received by the Department of 
Insurance against course providers and/or instructors shall be 
directed to the Chairperson for the Committee.  The 
Chairperson shall forward the complaint, in writing or by 
electronic mail, to the provider and shall request a response. 
The provider shall respond in writing or by electronic mail 
within fifteen working days.  At the next meeting, the 
Committee shall determine whether the complaint is in an 
area over which it has the authority to take action or to make 
a recommendation.  The results shall be reported to the 
course provider in writing as soon as reasonably possible.

8.18.2 Course sponsors providers and instructors may 
be de-certified, placed on probation for not more than 90 
calendar days, or have certification suspended indefinitely 
upon a finding of the Committee that the course presented 
does not meet the criteria set forth in this Regulation. 
Investigations relating to issues of compliance shall be 
directed by the Committee.

8.28.3 Prior to de-certification, placement on 
probation or suspension of certification, the course sponsor
provider or/ instructor or both shall be notified, in writing, by 
the Committee. The course sponsor provider or/ instructor or 
both shall be given a reasonable opportunity to submit 
evidence of compliance in his or her defense.

8.38.4 A course sponsor provider or instructor who is 
placed on probationary status and does not show proof of 
compliance with the standards set forth herein within 90 
calendar days shall be subject to de-certification at the end of 
the probationary period. 

8.48.5 A course sponsor provider or/instructor or both
may be de-certified, suspended or placed on probation for 
the following:

8.4.18.5.1 Falsification of information on, or 
accompanying, the Application for Certification/Re-
certification;

8.4.28.5.2 Falsification of, or failure to keep and 
provide adequate student records and information as 
required herein; 

8.4.38.5.3 Falsification of, or failure to keep and 
provide adequate financial records and documents as 
required; and 

8.4.48.5.4 Failure to comply with any other 
standard set forth section in of this Regulation.

9.0 Appeal Procedures
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9.1 Within 10 business days after the date of written 
notification of certification denial, suspension, probation or 
de-certification, the course sponsor provider or/ instructor 
instructor or both may file an appeal requesting review of the 
action taken.

9.2 The appeal shall be addressed to the Committee, 
citing the reasons for the request, and accompanied by any 
other relevant substantiating information.

9.3 The Committee shall conduct all hearings pursuant 
to 29 Del. C., Ch.101 of the Delaware Code Annotated. 

10.0 Certification Process for Defensive Driving 
Instructors

10.1 Basic Requirements. Each instructor shall:
10.1.1 Be at least 18 years of age; 
10.1.2 Be a high school graduate or have a 

G.E.D.; 
10.1.3 Provide a certified copy of his or her 

driving record showing he or she Hholds a valid driver’s 
license with no more than [64] four (4) points, no 
suspensions or revocations in the past two years; and

10.1.4 Have no felony convictions during the past 
four years and no criminal convictions evidencing moral 
turpitude. The Committee reserves the right to require a 
criminal history background check of all applicants for an 
instructor’s certification.

10.2 The Committee may recommend that Basic 
Requirements sections 10.1.2 through 10.1.4 hereof be 
waived upon a finding that an instructor is qualified and fit to 
act as an instructor. 

10.3 Re-certification. Every two years each 
instructor shall:

10.3.1 Submit evidence that he or she has taught 
the certified course a minimum of 12 hours the previous 
calendar year;

10.3.2 Submit evidence that he or she attended an 
in-service update training seminar, or other training session, 
as provided by, or specified by, a certified defensive driving 
course sponsor; and 

10.3.3 Submit a form as prescribed by the 
Committee certifying that he or she continues to meet the 
requirements of an instructor as outlined in this Regulation.

10.3.4 Submit a certified copy of his or her 
driving record.

10.3.410.3.5 The above-described submissions 
shall be filed not later than January 31st of the year in which 
re-certification is desired. The Committee shall accept 
requests for re-certification not earlier than November 15th 
of the preceding year and make reasonable efforts to act on 
such requests within 30 days of receipt thereof.

11.0 Effective date Meetings
11.1 This act shall become effective on January 1of 

1999. The committee shall set a day and time for quarterly 

meetings.  Other meetings may be set as needed.
12.0 Effective Date

12.1 This act shall become effective on September 
115, 2004.

2 DE Reg 989 (12/1/98)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code,

Section 1501 (18 Del.C. §1501)
18 DE Admin. Code 1501

ORDER

A public hearing was held on August 3, 2004 to receive 
comments on an amendment to Section 12 of Regulation 
1501 relating to Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum 
Standards.  By my order of June 21, Deputy Insurance 
Commissioner F.L. Peter Stone was appointed hearing 
officer to receive comments and testimony on the proposed 
regulation.  Public notice of the hearings and publication of 
proposed Regulation 1501 in the Register of Regulations and 
two newspapers of general circulation was in conformity 
with Delaware law.  Two persons attended the public 
hearing, a representative of the Delaware Department of 
Insurance and a representative of BCBSD, Inc.  Written 
comments in support of the proposed change were received 
from Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council, the 
State Counsel for Persons with Disabilities and the 
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens and 
AmeriHealth.   A submission was also received from a trade 
group, America’s Health Insurance Plans (“AHIP”).    

Summary Of The Evidence And The Information 
Submitted

I have reviewed the FINAL REPORT AND 
RECOMMENDATION OF THE HEARING OFFICER 
dated August 9, 2004.  The written comments received 
supported the proposed change because it expanded the 
group of persons who would be eligible for guaranteed issue 
of health insurance that is primary to Medicare as well as the 
already existing guarantee for persons whose insurance is 
supplemental to Medicare.  The BCBSD representative 
requested clarification of the term “some or all” in the 
proposed language.  The Department responded that the 
language tracked the same provisions in other state’s 
corresponding regulations.  The Department also noted that 
the purpose was to reinstate the language that had been 
deleted when the regulation was last amended in 2002. 
AHIP’s comments were mostly neutral and raised the 
question of cost for consumers as a result of the broader base 
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of persons entitled to guaranteed issue insurance.  
 

Findings Of Fact

Upon review of the regulation as it existed prior to the 
2002 amendment, I find that the proposed language is 
identical to the phrase that had been deleted in the prior 
amendment.  This change would, in effect, bring Delaware 
back to where it was for ten years prior to the 2002 
amendment.  I also find that the proposed amendment does 
not conflict with the federal laws that apply to the State’s 
ability to enforce this regulation with this amendment.  In 
fact, most states, especially those in the Northeast Region of 
the National Association of Insurance Commissioners have 
this clause in their existing regulations.  While AHIP raised 
the issue of cost, it also acknowledged that it is likely that 
there will be relatively few individuals seeking the benefits 
provided by the new re-installed language.  I note that there 
was no opposition to the proposed change to the regulation. 

Decision

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§311 and 3403, 
and the record in this docket, I adopt the FINAL REPORT 
AND RECOMMENDATION OF THE HEARING 
OFFICER dated August 9, 2004 and order that Regulation 
1501 Section 12.2.1 be amended as provided for in the notice 
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations 8 DE 
Reg. 62 (7/1/04) as follows:

12.2.1 The individual is enrolled under an 
employee welfare benefit plan that provides health benefits 
that supplement the benefits under Medicare, and the plan 
terminates, or the plan ceases to provide all such 
supplemental health benefits to the individual.; or the 
individual is enrolled under an employee welfare benefit 
plan that is primary to Medicare and the plan terminates or 
the plan ceases to provide some or all health benefits to the 
individual because the individual leaves the plan. 

I further order that the proposed change shall become 
effective on September 15, 2004.

Donna Lee H. Williams
Insurance Commissioner

12.0  Guaranteed Issue for Eligible Persons
12.1 Guaranteed Issue

12.1.1 Eligible persons are those individuals 
described in section 12.2, who seek to enroll under the policy 
during the period specified in section 12.3, and who submit 
evidence of the date of termination or disenrollment with the 
application for a Medicare supplement policy.

12.1.2 With respect to eligible persons, an issuer 
shall not deny or condition the issuance or effectiveness of a 

Medicare supplement policy described in section 12.5 that is 
offered and is available for issuance to new enrollees by the 
issuer, shall not discriminate in the pricing of such a 
Medicare supplement policy because of health status, claims 
experience, receipt of health care, or medical condition, and 
shall not impose an exclusion of benefits based on a 
preexisting condition under such a Medicare supplement 
policy.

12.2 An eligible person is an individual described in 
any of the following paragraphs:

12.2.1 The individual is enrolled under an 
employee welfare benefit plan that provides health benefits 
that supplement the benefits under Medicare; and the plan 
terminates, or the plan ceases to provide all such 
supplemental health benefits to the individual; or the 
individual is enrolled under an employee welfare benefit 
plan that is primary to Medicare and the plan terminates or 
the plan ceases to provide some or all health benefits to the 
individual because the individual leaves the plan. 

12.2.2 The individual is enrolled with a 
Medicare+Choice organization under a Medicare+Choice 
plan under part C of Medicare, and any of the following 
circumstances apply, or the individual is 65 years of age and 
is enrolled with a Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly (PACE) provider under Section 1894 of the Social 
Security Act, and there are circumstances similar to those 
described below that would permit discontinuance of the 
individual’s enrollment with such provider if such individual 
were enrolled in a Medicare+Choice plan:

12.2.2.1 The certification of the 
organization or plan under this part has been terminated; or

12.2.2.2 The organization has terminated 
or otherwise discontinued providing the plan in the area in 
which the individual resides;

12.2.2.3 The individual is no longer 
eligible to elect the plan because of a change in the 
individual’s place of residence or other change in 
circumstances specified by the Secretary, but not including 
termination of the individual’s enrollment on the basis 
described in section 1851(g)(3)(B) of the federal Social 
Security Act (where the individual has not paid premiums on 
a timely basis or has engaged in disruptive behavior as 
specified in standards under section 1856), or the plan is 
terminated for all individuals within a residence area;

12.2.2.4 The individual demonstrates, in 
accordance with guidelines established by the Secretary, that

12.2.2.4.1 The organization offering the 
plan substantially violated a material provision of the 
organization’s contract under this part in relation to the 
individual, including the failure to provide an enrollee on a 
timely basis medically necessary care for which benefits are 
available under the plan or the failure to provide such 
covered care in accordance with applicable quality 
standards; or
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12.2.2.4.2 The organization, or agent or 
other entity acting on the organization’s behalf, materially 
misrepresented the plan’s provisions in marketing the plan to 
the individual; or

12.2.2.5 The individual meets such other 
exceptional conditions as the Secretary may provide.

12.2.3 The individual is enrolled with:
12.2.3.1 An eligible organization under a 

contract under section 1876 of the Social Security Act 
(Medicare Cost);

12.2.3.2 A similar organization operating 
under demonstration project authority, effective for periods 
before April 1, 1999;

12.2.3.3 An organization under an agreement 
under section 1833(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act 
(health care prepayment plan); or

12.2.3.4 An organization under a Medicare 
Select policy; and

12.2.3.5 The enrollment ceases under the same 
circumstances that would permit discontinuance of an 
individual’s election of coverage under section 12.2.2.

12.2.4 The individual is enrolled under a 
Medicare supplement policy and the enrollment ceases 
because:

12.2.4.1 Of the insolvency of the issuer or 
bankruptcy of the non-issuer organization or of other 
involuntary termination of coverage or enrollment under the 
policy;

12.2.4.2 The issuer of the policy substantially 
violated a material provision of the policy; or

12.2.4.3 The issuer, or an agent or other entity 
acting on the issuer’s behalf, materially misrepresented the 
policy’s provisions in marketing the policy to the individual;

12.2.5 Subsequent first time enrollment with 
Medicare+Choice

12.2.5.1  The individual was enrolled under a 
Medicare supplement policy and terminates enrollment and 
subsequently enrolls, for the first time, with any 
Medicare+Choice organization under a Medicare+Choice 
plan under part C of Medicare, any eligible organization 
under a contract under section 1876 of the Social Security 
Act (Medicare cost), any similar organization operating 
under demonstration project authority, any PACE provider 
under section 1894 of the Social Security Act, or a Medicare 
Select policy; and

12.2.5.2  The subsequent enrollment under 
subparagraph (a) is terminated by the enrollee during any 
period within the first twelve (12) months of such 
subsequent enrollment (during which the enrollee is 
permitted to terminate such subsequent enrollment under 
section 1851(e) of the federal Social Security Act); or

12.2.6 The individual, upon first becoming 
eligible for benefits under Part A of Medicare at age 65, 
enrolls in a Medicare+Choice plan under Part C of Medicare, 

or with a PACE provider under section 1894 of the social 
Security Act, and disenrolls from the plan or program by not 
later than twelve (12) months after the effective date of 
enrollment.

12.3 Guaranteed Issue Time Periods
12.3.1 In case of an individual described in 

section 12.2.1, the guaranteed issue period begins on the 
later of: 

12.3.1.1 the date the individual receives a 
notice of termination or cessation of all supplemental health 
benefits (or if a notice is not received, notice that a claim has 
been denied because of such a termination or cessation); or 

12.3.1.2  the date that the applicable coverage 
terminates or ceases and ends sixty-three (63) days 
thereafter;

12.3.2 In the case of an individual described in 
sections 12.2.2, 3, 5 or 6 whose enrollment is terminated 
involuntarily, the guaranteed issue period begins on the date 
that the individual receives a notice of termination and ends 
sixty-three (63) days after the date the applicable coverage is 
terminated; 

12.3.3 In the case of an individual described in 
section 12.2.4.1, the guaranteed issue period begins on the 
earlier of:

12.3.3.1  the date that the individual receives a 
notice of termination, a notice of the issuer’s bankruptcy or 
insolvency, or other such similar notice if any, and 

12.3.3.2  the date that the applicable coverage 
is terminated and ends on the date that is sixty-three (63) 
days after the date the coverage is terminated;

12.3.4 In the case of an individual described in 
sections 12.2.2, 4.2, 4.3, 5 or 6 who disenrolls voluntarily, 
the guaranteed issue period begins on the date that is sixty 
(60) days before the effective date of the disenrollment and 
ends on the date that is sixty-three (63) days after the 
effective date: and 

12.3.5 In the case of an individual described in 
12.2 but not described in the preceding provisions of this 
subsection, the guaranteed issue period begins on the 
effective date of disenrollment and ends on the date that is 
sixty-three (63) days after the effective date. 

12.4 Extended Medigap Access for Interrupted Trial 
Periods

12.4.1 In the case of an individual described in 
12.2.5. (or deemed to be so described, pursuant to this 
paragraph) whose enrollment with an organization or 
provider described in 12.2.5.1 is involuntarily terminated 
within the first twelve (12) months of enrollment, and who, 
without an intervening enrollment, enrolls with another such 
organization or provider, the subsequent enrollment shall be 
deemed to be an initial enrollment described in section 
12.2.5.

12.4.2 In the case of an individual described in 
section 12.2.6 (or deemed to be so described, pursuant to this 
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paragraph) whose enrollment with a plan or in a program 
described in section 12.2.6 is involuntarily terminated within 
the first twelve (12) months of enrollment, and who, without 
an intervening enrollment, enrolls in another such plan or 
program, the subsequent enrollment shall be deemed to be an 
initial enrollment described in section 12.2.6; and

12.4.3 For purposes of sections 12.2.5 and 6, no 
enrollment of an individual with an organization or provider 
described in section 12.2.5.1, or with a plan or in a program 
described in section 12.2.6, may be deemed to be an initial 
enrollment under this paragraph after the two-year period 
beginning on the date on which the individual first enrolled 
with such an organization, provider, plan or program.

12.5 Products to Which Eligible Persons are 
Entitled

The Medicare supplement policy to which 
eligible persons are entitled under:

12.5.1 Section 12.2.1, 2, 3, and 4 is a 
Medicare supplement policy which has a benefit package 
classified as Plan A, B, C, or F offered by any issuer.

12.5.2 Section 12.2.5 is the same Medicare 
supplement policy in which the individual was most recently 
previously enrolled, if available from the same issuer, or, if 
not so available, a policy described in section 12.5.1.

12.5.3 Section 12.2.6 shall include any 
Medicare supplement policy   offered by any issuer.

12.6 Notification Provisions
12.6.1 At the time of an event described in 

section 12.2 because of which an individual loses coverage 
or benefits due to the termination of a contract or agreement, 
policy, or plan, the organization that terminates the contract 
or agreement, the issuer terminating the policy, or the 
administrator of the plan being terminated, respectively, 
shall notify the individual of his or her rights under this 
section, and of the obligations of issuers of Medicare 
supplement policies under section 12.1. Such notice shall be 
communicated contemporaneously with the notification of 
termination.

12.6.2 At the time of an event described in 
section 12.2 because of which an individual ceases 
enrollment under a contract or agreement, policy, or plan, the 
organization that offers the contract or agreement, regardless 
of the basis for the cessation of enrollment, the issuer 
offering the policy, or the administrator of the plan, 
respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights 
under this section, and of the obligations of issuers of 
Medicare supplement policies under section 12.1.  Such 
notice shall be communicated within ten (10) working days 
of the issuer receiving notification of disenrollment.

7 DE Reg. 800 (12/1/02)

* PLEASE NOTE:  AS THE REST OF THE REGULATION WAS 
NOT AFFECTED, IT IS NOT BEING REPRODUCED HERE.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP & TRAINING

Statutory Authority:  19 Delaware Code,
Section 202(a) (19 Del.C. §202(a))

ORDER

The Council on Apprenticeship and Training received a 
letter dated June 2, 2004, from John J. Czerswinski, Business 
Manager, Local 74 Plumbers & Pipefitters, requesting a 
change in the ratio of journeymen to apprentice (3 to 1 
instead of the current 5 to 1) to provide more work 
opportunities for a larger apprenticeship class.  This letter 
prompted the Council to propose a change to the regulation 
and invite public comment.

A public hearing was held on August 3, 2004 to receive 
comments relating to a proposed change to Regulation 106.5 
Standards of Apprenticeship. The members of Council 
present recommended that the Secretary of Labor adopt the 
proposal as it was published in the Register of Regulations, 
Vol. 8, Issue 1  (July 1, 2004).

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

1. Edward J. Capodanno, President, Associated 
Builders and Contractors, Inc. sent a letter dated July 29, 
2004 in support of the proposal to reduce the apprenticeship 
ratio for plumbers from 5/1 to 3/1.  He indicated the playing 
field should be level; the ratio should apply to union and 
non-union contractors.  The ratio should not be superseded 
by a collective bargaining agreement.  He also thought the 
same ratio should apply to other trades to attract more 
individuals to the construction industry and facilitate 
enforcement by the Department of Labor.

Recommended Findings Of Fact With respect To The 
Evidence And Information 

1. The Council is persuaded that there is a need for the 
change in the ratio for plumbers/pipefitters to provide more 
work opportunities for apprentices.  

2. The new ratio of one apprentice for each three 
journeypersons will allow for adequate training and there 
will be employment opportunities for the increased number 
of plumbers/pipefitters who complete the apprenticeship 
program.

3. The ratio applies to union and non-union 
companies.  The ratio provided in a collective bargaining 
agreement can only prevail if the standard is not lower than 
that of the State.

4. The Council cannot expand the change to other 
trades without first noticing that change to allow for public 
comment.  
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Recommendation

The proposed change in the ratio for plumbers/
pipefitters is respectfully submitted to the Secretary of Labor 
for consideration with a recommendation for adoption this 
3rd day of August, 2004.

COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP AND TRAINING 
B. Eugene Battaglia
Patricia Creedon
Lewis Atkinson, Ed.D.
R. Jerald Craig
D. Robert Buccini
Edward J. Brady
David C. Harris

Decision And Effective Date

Having reviewed the record and adopted the 
recommendations of members of the Council on 
Apprenticeship and Training, the change to Regulation 106.5 
setting the ratio of journeypersons to apprentices in the 
plumbing/pipefitting trade at 3 to 1 is hereby made effective 
10 days following publication of the final regulation in the 
Register of Regulations.

Text And Citation 

The text of the Regulation 106.5 appears in the Register 
of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 1 (July 1, 2004). 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Harold E. Stafford, Secretary of Labor

106.5  Standards of Apprenticeship
The following standards are prescribed for a Program.
(A) The Program must include an organized, written 

plan delineating the terms and conditions of employment. 
The training and supervision of one or more Apprentices in 
an apprenticeable occupation must become the responsibility 
of the Sponsor who has undertaken to carry out the 
Apprentice’s training program.

(B) The standards must contain provisions concerning 
the following:

(1) The employment and training of the 
Apprentice in a skilled occupation;

(2) an equal opportunity pledge stating the 
recruitment, selection, employment and training of 
Apprentices during their apprenticeships shall be without 
discrimination based on: race, color, religion, national origin 
or sex.  When applicable, an affirmative action plan in 
accordance with the State’s requirements for federal 
purposes must be instituted;

(3) the existence of a term of apprenticeship, not 
less than one year or two thousand (2,000) hours consistent 
with training requirements as established by industry 
practice;

(4) an outline of the work processes in which the 
Apprentice will receive supervised work experience and on-
the-job training, and the allocation of the approximate time 
to be spent in each major process;

(5) provision for organized related and 
supplemental instruction in technical subjects related to the 
trade.  A minimum of one hundred forty-four (144) hours for 
each year of apprenticeship is required.  Such instruction 
may be given in a classroom, through trade, industrial or 
approved correspondence courses of equivalent value or in 
other forms approved by the State Department of Labor, 
Office of Apprenticeship & Training;

(6) a progressively increasing schedule of wage 
rates to be paid the Apprentice, consistent with the skill 
acquired which shall be expressed in percentages of the 
established Journeyperson’s hourly wage;

(7) Minimum Wage Progression for 1 through 7 
year Apprentice Program as follows:

1)  1 to 7 year programs
2)  starting pay must be at least minimum wage
3)  final period must be at least 85%

1 YEAR [OR] 2,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP 
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 85%

2 YEAR [OR] 4,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP 
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 51%
3rd 1,000 hours: 63%
4th 1,000 hours: 85%

3 YEAR [OR] 6,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP 
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 48%
3rd 1,000 hours: 57%
4th 1,000 hours: 65%
5th 1,000 hours: 74%
6th 1,000 hours: 85%

4 YEAR [OR] 8,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP 
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 46%
3rd 1,000 hours: 53%
4th 1,000 hours: 59%
5th 1,000 hours: 65%
6th 1,000 hours: 71%
7th 1,000 hours: 78%
8th 1,000 hours: 85%

5 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP 
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PROGRAM:
1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 45%
3rd 1,000 hours: 50%
4th 1,000 hours: 55%
5th 1,000 hours: 60%
6th 1,000 hours: 65%
7th 1,000 hours: 70%
8th 1,000 hours: 74%
9th 1,000 hours: 79%
10th 1,000 hours: 85%

6 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP 
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 44%
3rd 1,000 hours: 48%
4th 1,000 hours: 52%
5th 1,000 hours: 56%
6th 1,000 hours: 60%
7th 1,000 hours: 64%
8th 1,000 hours: 68%
9th 1,000 hours: 72%
10th 1,000 hours: 76%

    11th 1,000 hours: 81%
    12th 1,000 hours: 85%
7 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP 

PROGRAM:
1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 43%
3rd 1,000 hours: 47%
4th 1,000 hours: 50%
5th 1,000 hours: 54%
6th 1,000 hours: 57%
7th 1,000 hours: 61%
8th 1,000 hours: 64%
9th 1,000 hours: 68%
10th 1,000 hours: 71%
11th 1,000 hours: 74%
12th 1,000 hours: 78%
13th 1,000 hours: 81%
14th 1,000 hours: 85%

(8) that the entry Apprentice wage rate shall not be 
less than the minimum prescribed by State statute or by the 
Fair Labor Standards Act, where applicable;

(9) That the established Journeyperson’s hourly 
rate applicable among all participating Employers be stated 
in dollars and cents.  No Apprentice shall receive an hourly 
rate less than the percentage for the period in which he/she is 
serving applied to the established Journeyperson’s rate 
unless the Sponsor has documented the reason for same in 
the individual Apprentice’s progress report and has 
explained the reason for said action to the Apprentice and 
Registration Agency.

In no case other than sickness or injury on the 
part of the Apprentice, shall a Sponsor hold back an 
Apprentice’s progression more than one period or wage 
increment without the written consent of the Administrator;

(10) That the established Journeyperson’s rate 
provided for by the Standards be reviewed and/or adjusted 
annually.  Sponsors of Programs shall be required to give 
proof that all employees used in determining ratios of 
Apprentices to Journeypersons shall be receiving wages at 
least in the amount set for Journeypersons in their individual 
program standards, or are qualified to perform as Journey 
persons and must be paid at least the minimum 
journeyperson rate; 

(11) that the minimum hourly Apprentice wage rate 
paid during the last period of apprenticeship not be less than 
eighty-five (85) percent of the established Journeyperson 
wage rate. Wages covered by a collective bargaining 
agreement takes precedent over this section. However, 
wages may not be below the State’s required minimum 
progression.

(C) The Program must include a periodic review and 
evaluation of the Apprentice’s progress in job performance 
and related instruction, and the maintenance of appropriate 
progress records.

(D)  The ratio of Apprentices to Journeypersons should 
be consistent with proper supervision, training and 
continuity of employment or applicable provisions in 
collective bargaining agreements.
 (1) The ratio of Apprentices to Journeypersons 
shall be one Apprentice up to each five (5) Journeypersons 
employed by the prospective Sponsor unless a different 
ration based on an industry standard is contained in the 
signed Standards of Apprenticeship Agreement. 

(2) The following have been recognized to be the 
industry standard for the listed trades:

Ratio of Apprentice Journeypersons*
1 up to 4 Sheet Metal Worker
1 up to 4 Insulation Worker
1 up to 4 Asbestos Worker
1 up to 3 Industrial Maintenance Mechanic
1 up to 3 Plumbers/Pipefitters
1 up to 3 Electrician
1 up to 3 Precision Instrument Repairers
1 up to 3 Glaziers
1 up to 2 Roofers
1 up to 1 Sprinkler Fitters

* The ratio has no effect until the second apprentice 
is registered.  Only one Journeyperson is necessary in any 
trade for the first Apprentice.

(3) Exceptions.
a. If a collective bargaining agreement 

stipulates a ratio of Apprentices to Journeyperson, it shall 
prevail provided the Bargaining Ration is not lower than the 
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State standard.
b. A deviation from the established standard 

may be granted by the Administrator upon written request 
after considering the needs of the plant and/or trade with 
consideration for growth, the availability of relevant 
training, and the opportunity for employment of skilled 
workers following the completion of their training.  Such 
exception shall last no more than one year but may be 
renewed upon written request.

5 DE Reg. 204 (7/1/2001)
(E) At least forty (40) percent of all Apprentices 

registered must complete training. Apprentices who 
voluntarily terminate their apprenticeships or employment 
shall not be counted in reference to this section.  Programs 
with fewer than five (5) Apprentices shall not be required to 
comply with this part.

(F) A probationary period shall be in relation to the full 
apprenticeship term with full credit toward completion of 
apprenticeship.

(G) Adequate and safe equipment facilities for training 
and supervision and safety training for Apprentices on the 
job and in Related Instruction are required.

(H) The required minimum qualifications for persons 
entering an Apprentice Program as defined n Section 
106.2(C) must be met.

(I) Apprentices must sign an Agreement.  The 
Agreement shall directly, or by reference, incorporate the 
standards of the Program as part of the Agreement.

(J) Advance standing or credit up to 25% OJT hours of 
the particular trade term in question for previously acquired 
experience, training skills, or aptitude for all applicants 
equally, with commensurate wages for any accorded 
progression step may be granted.  The granting of a greater 
amount of credit shall be set at the discretion of the 
Administrator based on supportive documentation submitted 
by the Sponsor.  In no case shall more than one half of the 
particular trade term in question be granted unless the time in 
question has been spent in any state or federally registered 
program.

(K) Transfer of Employer’s training obligation through 
the sponsoring Committee if one exists and as warranted, to 
another Employer with consent of the Apprentice and the 
Committee or Program Sponsors, with full credit to the 
Apprentice for satisfactory time and training earned, may be 
afforded with written notice to, and approval of, the 
Registration Agency.

(L) These Standards shall contain a statement of 
assurance of qualified training personnel.

(M) There will be recognition for successful completion 
of apprenticeship evidenced by an appropriate certificate.

(N) These Standards shall contain proper identification 
of the Registration Agency, being the Department of Labor, 
Division of Employment & Training, Office of 
Apprenticeship & Training.

(O) There will be a provision for the Registration, 
Cancellation and Deregistration of the Program, and a 
requirement for the prompt submission of any modification 
or amendment thereto.

(P) There will be provisions for Registration of 
Agreements, modifications and amendments, notice to the 
Division of persons who have successfully completed 
Programs, and notice of Cancellations, suspensions and 
terminations of Agreements an causes therefore. 

(Q) There will be a provision giving authority for the 
termination of an Agreement during the probationary period 
by either party without stated cause.

(R) There will be provisions for not less than five (5) 
days notice to Apprentices of any proposed adverse action 
and cause therefore with stated opportunity to Apprentices 
during such period for corrective action.

(S) There will be provisions for a grievance procedure, 
and the name and address of the appropriate authority under 
the program to receive, process and make disposition of 
complaints.

(T) There will be provisions for recording and 
maintaining all records concerning apprenticeships as may 
be required by the State or Federal law.

(U) There will be provisions for a participating 
Employer’s Agreement.

(V) There will be funding formula providing for the 
equitable participation of each participating Employer in 
funding of a group Program where applicable.

(W) All Apprenticeship Standards must contain articles 
necessary to comply with federal laws, regulations and rules 
pertaining to apprenticeship.

(X) Programs and Standards of Employers and unions 
in other than the building and construction industry which 
jointly form a sponsoring entity on a multi-state basis and are 
registered pursuant to all requirements of this part by any 
recognized State apprenticeship agency shall be accorded 
Registration of approval reciprocity by the Delaware 
Department of Labor if such reciprocity is requested by the 
sponsoring entity.  However, reciprocity will not be granted 
in the Building and Construction industry based on Title 29 
CFR 29 Section 12(b) unless a “memorandum of 
understanding” has been signed by an individual state and 
the state of Delaware.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

* PLEASE NOTE:  AS THE REST OF THE REGULATION WAS 
NOT AFFECTED, IT IS NOT BEING REPRODUCED HERE.
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
OFFICE OF THE STATE BANKING 

COMMISSIONER
Statutory Authority:  5 Delaware Code, 

Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 708, 714 & 1113

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED REGULATION 708
AND NEW REGULATIONS 714 AND 1113

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 4th day of August, 
2004, that amended regulation 708 and new regulations 714 
and 1113 are adopted as regulations of the State Bank 
Commissioner.  Copies of amended regulation 708 and new 
regulations 714 and 1113 are attached hereto and 
incorporated herein by reference.  Amended regulation 708 
supersedes previous regulation 708.  The effective date of 
amended regulation 708 and new regulations 714 and 1113 is 
September 11, 2004, and each regulation is adopted by the 
State Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the 
Delaware Code.

Amended regulation 708 and new regulations 714 and 
1113 are adopted pursuant to the requirements of Chapter 11 
and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Notice of proposed amended regulation 708 and 
new regulations 714 and 1113 and their text were published 
in the July 1, 2004 issue of the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.  The Notice also was published in The News 
Journal and the Delaware State News on July 1, 2004, and 
was mailed to all persons who had made timely written 
requests to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner for 
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.  The 
Notice included, among other things, a summary of the 
proposed amended and new regulations, invited interested 
persons to submit written comments to the Office of the 
State Bank Commissioner on or before August 4, 2004, and 
stated that the proposed regulations were available for 
inspection at the Office of the State Bank Commissioner, that 
copies were available upon request, and that a public hearing 
would be held on August 4, 2004 at 10:00 a.m. at the Office 
of the State Bank Commissioner in Dover, Delaware.

2. No comments about the proposed amended and 
new regulations were received on or before August 4, 2004.

3. A public hearing was held on August 4, 2004 at 
10:00 a.m. regarding proposed amended regulation 708 and 
new regulations 714 and 1113.  The State Bank 
Commissioner, the Deputy Bank Commissioner for 
Supervisory Affairs and the Court Reporter attended the 
hearing.  No other person attended the hearing.  The State 
Bank Commissioner and the Deputy Bank Commissioner for 
Supervisory Affairs summarized the proposed regulations 
for the record.  No other comments were made or received at 

the hearing.
4. After review and consideration, the State Bank 

Commissioner hereby adopts amended regulation 708 and 
new regulations 714 and 1113 as proposed.

August 4, 2004 
Robert A. Glen, State Bank Commissioner

708 Establishment of a Branch Office by a Bank or Trust 
Company

5 Del.C. §770(a)

Formerly Regulation No.:  5.770.0009

1.0 Scope
1.1 This regulation establishes procedures for the filing 

of an application to establish a branch office of a bank or 
trust company pursuant to Section 770(a) of Title 5 of the 
Delaware Code and states the manner in which the State 
Bank Commissioner (the “Commissioner”) will review and 
act upon such applications.  An application to establish a 
mobile branch office pursuant to Section 770(c) of Title 5 is 
covered separately under Regulation No. 714.

2.0 Application
2.1 An application pursuant to Section 770(a) of Title 5 

of the Delaware Code shall be in writing; shall be submitted 
on such forms the Commissioner may designate from time-
to-time for that purpose, and shall include the following:

2.1.1 Name of applying bank or trust company.
2.1.2 Location of proposed branch office, 

including address.
2.1.3 Explanation of the necessity for the 

opening of the branch office.
2.1.3 2.1.4 The Name, address and phone number 

of the person(s) to whom inquiries may be directed.
2.2 The Commissioner may designate portions of the 

application as non-public and confidential.
2.3 The Commissioner will not deem any application to 

be filed until the Commissioner has determined that all of the 
information and documents required by the application have 
been provided, that the application has been properly 
executed, and that all fees have been paid.

3.0 Fee
The application shall be accompanied by a non-

refundable investigation fee of two hundred and fifty dollars 
($250.00).  Checks shall be made payable to the Office of the 
State Bank Commissioner.

4.0 Notice
4.1 Upon notification by the Commissioner that the 

application conforms to the requirements for applications 
pursuant to Section 770(a) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code
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and this regulation, the applicant shall cause a single notice 
of such application to be published in at least two Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation.  The notice shall provide 
a brief synopsis of the application and state that interested 
persons may present their views in writing to the Office of 
the State Bank Commissioner, and shall be in a form to be 
approved by the Commissioner before publication.

5.0 Additional Information, Investigation and Hearing
5.1 In addition to the documents filed in accordance 

with this regulation, the Commissioner at his has discretion 
may to require additional information, conduct an 
investigation, or hold a public hearing in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of 
the Delaware Code.

6.0 Decision
6.1 No earlier than 20 days after publication of the 

notice described in Section 4 of this regulation, the 
Commissioner shall issue a written order approving or 
disapproving the application.  In determining whether to 
approve the application, the Commissioner shall consider the 
convenience of the public of this State, and whether there is 
good and sufficient reason that the bank or trust company 
should have the branch office.

7.0 Certificate of Authority
7.1 A Certificate of Authority shall be issued by the 

Commissioner for each approved branch office.

8.0 Time to Open Approved Branch Office
8.1 Branch offices approved in accordance with 

Section 770(a) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code and this 
regulation shall open within one year of the date when the 
Commissioner issues the Certificate of Authority.  The 
Commissioner may upon review of the application for such 
branch office extend the initial opening date to a date greater 
than one year, if by his review he determines upon a 
determination that the proposed completion date will exceed 
one year.  In no such instance shall the initial opening date 
exceed the planned completion date by more than ninety (90) 
days.  Any Certificate of Authority issued by the 
Commissioner shall be void and of no effect at the expiration 
of the initial opening date prescribed on approval of the 
branch office unless the branch that office is actually opened 
for business.  Unavoidable delay in opening the branch 
office due to construction problems or controls or other 
matters beyond the control of the bank or trust company may 
be taken into consideration and the Commissioner may 
extend the Certificate of Authority for periods of six months 
in the event of such circumstances.

714 Establishment of a Mobile Branch Office by a Bank 
or Trust Company

5 Del.C. §770(c)

1.0 Scope
1.1 This regulation establishes procedures for the filing 

of an application to establish a mobile branch office of a 
bank or trust company pursuant to Section 770(c) of Title 5 
of the Delaware Code and states the manner in which the 
State Bank Commissioner (the “Commissioner”) will review 
and act upon such applications.  An application to establish a 
branch office pursuant to Section 770(a) of Title 5 that is not 
a mobile branch is covered separately under Regulation No. 
708.

2.0 Application
2.1 An application pursuant to Section 770(c) of Title 5 

of the Delaware Code shall be in writing; shall be submitted 
on such form as the Commissioner may designate from time-
to-time for that purpose, and shall include the following:

2.1.1 Name of applying bank or trust company.
2.1.2 The area in which the mobile branch office 

will operate.
2.1.3 The manner of operation of the mobile 

branch office.
2.1.4 An explanation of the necessity for the 

opening of the mobile branch office.
2.1.5 Name, address and phone number of the 

person(s) to whom inquiries may be directed.
2.2 The Commissioner may designate portions of the 

applications as non-public and confidential.
2.3 The Commissioner will not deem any application to 

be filed until the Commissioner has determined that all of the 
information and documents required by the application have 
been provided, that the application has been properly 
executed, and that all fees have been paid.

3.0 Fee
3.1 The application shall be accompanied by a non-

refundable investigation fee of two hundred and fifty dollars 
($250.00).  Checks shall be made payable to the Office of the 
State Bank Commissioner.

4.0 Notice
4.1 Upon notification by the Commissioner that the 

application conforms to the requirements for applications 
pursuant to Section 770(c) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code
and this regulation, the applicant shall cause a single notice 
of such application to be published in at least two Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation.  The notice shall provide 
a brief synopsis of the application and state that interested 
persons may present their views in writing to the Office of 
the State Bank Commissioner, and shall be in a form to be 
approved by the Commissioner before publication.
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5.0 Additional Information, Investigation and Hearing
5.1 In addition to the documents filed in accordance 

with this regulation, the Commissioner has discretion to 
require additional information, conduct an investigation, or 
hold a public hearing in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware 
Code.

6.0 Decision
6.1 No earlier than 20 days after publication of the 

notice described in Section 4 of this regulation, the 
Commissioner shall issue a written order approving or 
disapproving the application.  In determining whether to 
approve the application, the Commissioner shall consider the 
convenience of the public of this State, and whether there is 
good and sufficient reason that the bank or trust company 
should have the mobile branch office.

7.0 Certificate of Authority
7.1 A Certificate of Authority shall be issued by the 

Commissioner for each approved mobile branch office.

8.0 Time to Open Approved Mobile Branch Office
8.1 Mobile branch offices approved in accordance with 

Section 770(c) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code and this 
regulation shall open within one year of the date when the 
Commissioner issued the Certificate of Authority.  The 
Commissioner may upon review of the application for such 
mobile branch office extend the initial opening date to a date 
greater than one year upon a determination that the proposed 
completion date will exceed one year.  In no such instance 
shall the initial opening date exceed the planned completion 
date by more than ninety (90) days.  Any Certificate of 
Authority issued by the Commissioner shall be void and of 
no effect at the expiration of the initial opening date 
prescribed on approval of the mobile branch office unless the 
mobile branch is actually opened for business.  Unavoidable 
delay in opening the mobile branch office due to 
construction problems or other matters beyond the control of 
the bank or trust company may be taken into consideration 
and the Commissioner may extend the Certificate of 
Authority for periods of six months in the event of such 
circumstances.

9.0 Changes in Manner or Area of Operation 
9.1 A bank or trust company that is operating an 

approved mobile branch office shall notify the 
Commissioner, in writing, in advance of any change in the 
manner or area of operation of the mobile branch office. 
Any such change shall be deemed approved unless the 
Commissioner notifies the bank or trust company otherwise 
with 20 days of the Commissioner’s receipt of that notice. 
The Commissioner may decline to approve any of the 
changes, or may direct the bank or trust company to submit a 

new application in accordance with this regulation.

10.0 Operations Log
After the mobile branch begins operations, the bank or 

trust company operating that branch must maintain a log of 
operations, indicating the date, specific location, and a 
description of each stop (e.g., office, store, residence).

1113 Election by a Subsidiary Corporation of a Banking 
Organization or Trust Company to be Taxed in 

Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30

1.0 Qualifications for Election
Pursuant to 5 Del.C. §1101(e), a subsidiary corporation 

of a banking organization or trust company may elect to be 
taxed in accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30 if the 
subsidiary is not itself a banking organization or trust 
company, if the subsidiary is not described in §1902(b)(8) of 
Title 30, and if the subsidiary is not engaged in the sale, 
distribution, underwriting of, or dealing in, securities.

2.0 Effect
If a valid election is made, the electing subsidiary shall 

not be considered a subsidiary corporation of its parent 
banking organization or trust company for the purposes of 
Chapter 11 of Title 5, and the income of the electing 
subsidiary shall be excluded from the taxable income of its 
parent banking organization or trust company for the tax 
year involved.

3.0 Filing
An electing subsidiary shall make this election by filing 

the original of Form A under this regulation with the State 
Bank Commissioner; 555 E. Loockerman Street; Suite 210; 
Dover, DE, 19901 and a copy with the Delaware Division of 
Revenue; 820 N. French Street; Wilmington, DE 19801.

4.0 Reporting Requirements
Every year, an electing subsidiary shall file with the 

State Bank Commissioner on or before the date that its 
Delaware State Income Tax Return is due (1) Form B under 
this regulation, and (2) a copy of its Delaware State Income 
Return as filed with the Delaware Division of Revenue.

5.0 Termination of Election
An election under this regulation remains in effect until 

terminated.  An electing subsidiary may terminate its 
election by filing a notice to that effect with the State Bank 
Commissioner and the Delaware Division of Revenue.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 3, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS 475
FORM A
Election of a Subsidiary Corporation to be Taxed in 

Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30

The subsidiary corporation identified below hereby elects to 
be taxed in accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30 of the 
Delaware Code.

1. (a) Name and address of subsidiary corporation:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

(b) State of incorporation of subsidiary corporation: 
____________________

(c) Federal Employer Identification Number of 
subsidiary corporation: 
________________________________________________

2. (a) Name and principal place of business of subsidiary 
corporation’s parent banking organization or trust company:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

(b) Percentage of outstanding voting shares of 
subsidiary corporation owned by parent banking 
organization or trust company:  ___________________

3. Is the subsidiary corporation engaged in the sale, 
distribution, underwriting of, or dealing in, securities?
____ yes____ no

4. Are the activities of the subsidiary corporation within 
this state confined to the maintenance and management of its 
intangible investments or of the intangible investments of 
corporations or business trusts registered as investment 
companies under the Investment Company Act of 1940 as 
amended (15 USC 80a-1 et seq.) and the collection and 
distribution of the income from such investments or from 
tangible property physically located outside this State within 
the meaning of 30 Del.C. § 1902(b)(8)?    ____ yes____ no 

5. Is the subsidiary corporation a banking organization or 
trust company as defined by 5 Del.C. §101? ____ yes____ 
no

6. Describe the principal activities of the subsidiary 
corporation:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

7. Effective date of election:  ____________________
The undersigned hereby certifies that the undersigned is 

duly authorized on behalf of the subsidiary corporation to 

make an election to be taxed under 30 Del.C. Ch. 19 and that 
all statements herein are true and correct to the best of the 
undersign’s knowledge and belief.

________________________________________________                
Date Signature of President, Treasurer Title

or Other Proper Officer

_________________ ____________
Print Name  Phone No.

__________________________
__________________________
__________________________

  Print Address

Mail or deliver original completed form to:
Office of the State Bank Commissioner
555 E. Loockerman Street, Suite 210
Dover, DE  19901

Mail or deliver copy to:
Delaware Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street
Wilmington, DE  19801.

FORM B
Annual Report of a Subsidiary Corporation Electing to 

be Taxed in Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30

Tax Year  _________

1. (a) Name and address of subsidiary corporation:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

(b) Federal Employer Identification Number of 
subsidiary corporation:
________________________________________________

2. (a) Name and address of parent banking organization 
or trust company:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

(b) Percentage of outstanding voting shares of 
subsidiary corporation owned by parent banking 
organization or trust company: ___________________

3. Is the subsidiary corporation engaged in the sale, 
distribution, underwriting of, or dealing in, securities?
____ yes____ no
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4. Are the activities of the subsidiary corporation within 
this state confined to the maintenance and management of its 
intangible investments or of the intangible investments of 
corporations or business trusts registered as investment 
companies under the Investment Company Act of 1940 as 
amended (15 USC 80a-1 et seq.) and the collection and 
distribution of the income from such investments or from 
tangible property physically located outside this State within 
the meaning of 30 Del.C. § 1902(b)(8)? ____ yes____ no 

5. Is the subsidiary corporation a banking organization or 
trust company as defined by 5 Del.C. §101? ___ yes____ no

Attach copy of the subsidiary corporation’s Delaware 
Income Tax Return for the tax year listed above.

The undersigned hereby certifies that the undersigned is 
duly authorized on behalf of the subsidiary corporation to 
make this return and that all statements herein are true and 
correct to the best of the undersign’s knowledge and belief.

_____________________________________ _________
Date Signature of President, Treasurer Title

or Other Proper Officer

______________________ _________
Print Name Phone No.

__________________________
__________________________
__________________________

Print Address

Mail or deliver original completed form to:
Office of the State Bank Commissioner
555 E. Loockerman Street, Suite 210
Dover, DE  19901
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FIFTY-EIGHT

Re: For The Reestablishment Of The Juvenile
Justice Advisory Group

WHEREAS, our children are our State’s greatest asset, 
and we must be sensitive not only to their basic medical, 
educational and family needs, but we must also address 
those needs so as to minimize our children’s involvement 
with the criminal justice system; and

WHEREAS, if we are to reduce crime in the long run, 
then we must focus our attention on preventing the 
development of career criminals, that is, we must focus on 
our children and youth and devise methods to keep them out 
of the criminal justice system; and 

WHEREAS, the Juvenile Justice & Delinquency 
Prevention Act (42 USCS §5633 (2003)), as amended, 
requires the preparation and implementation of a state plan 
to coordinate human services to youth and their families in 
order to ensure effective delinquency prevention and 
treatment programs; and 

WHEREAS, the Juvenile Justice & Delinquency 
Prevention Act requires that such coordination of human 
services includes all agencies responsible for the delivery of 
such services as education, economic support, public health 
and social work, and includes those agencies which directly 
impact juvenile justice and delinquency prevention such as 
the police, courts and corrections; and 

WHEREAS, the Juvenile Justice & Delinquency 
Prevention Act, as amended, requires that the state plan 
provides for an Advisory Group which shall comprise of 
members with specialized knowledge and/or backgrounds, 
and which purpose is to exercise specific functions; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with the requirements of the 
Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention Act, the Juvenile 
Justice Advisory Group was reestablished by Executive 
Order Number Ten of Governor Castle, dated June 6, 1985, 
the Criminal Justice Council was designated by statute as the 
State planning agency solely responsible for supervising the 
preparation and administration of the Delaware plan required 
by the Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention Act, as 
amended; and 

WHEREAS, certain elected, appointed and public 
officials have specialized knowledge and/or backgrounds, 
and have traditionally been members of the Advisory Group;

NOW THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by 
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State 

of Delaware, do hereby order and declare as follows:
1. In accordance with the requirements of the Juvenile 

Justice & Delinquency Prevention Act (42 USCS §5633), as 
amended, the Juvenile Justice Advisory Group is hereby 
reestablished.

2. The Juvenile Justice Advisory Group shall:
a. Participate in the development and review of 

the State’s Juvenile Justice Plan prior to submission to the 
supervisory board for final action; 

b. Be afforded an opportunity to review and 
comment, not later than 30 days after submission to the 
Advisory Group, on all juvenile justice and delinquency 
prevention grant applications submitted to the Criminal 
Justice Council;

c. Advise the Criminal Justice Council of the 
needs of Delaware for an effective, comprehensive, 
coordinated approach to juvenile delinquency prevention 
and treatment, the improvement of the juvenile justice 
system, as well as provide for the coordination and 
maximum utilization of existing juvenile delinquency 
programs and other programs, such as education, health, and 
welfare within the State of Delaware, as they relate to 
delinquency prevention and treatment;

d. Make recommendations to the Criminal Justice 
Council and the General Assembly regarding the 
improvement and coordination of existing services, identify 
problems and needs of those existing services, develop new 
programs to meet the needs identified, and establish 
priorities in the juvenile justice area;

e. Provide advice in developing, maintaining and 
expanding delinquency prevention, to divert juveniles from 
the juvenile justice system and to provide community-based 
alternatives to juvenile detention and correctional facilities, 
including:

(1) Community-based programs and services 
for the prevention and treatment of juvenile delinquency 
through the development of foster-care and shelter-care 
homes, group homes, half-way houses, home-maker and 
home health services, and any other designated community-
based diagnostic, treatment or rehabilitative services;

(2) Community-based programs and services 
to work with parents and other family members and to 
provide family-centered counseling services to maintain and 
strengthen the family structure so that the juvenile may be 
retained in his or her home;

(3) Youth-service bureaus and other 
community-based programs to divert youth from the juvenile 
justice system or to support, counsel or provide work and 
recreational opportunities for delinquents and youth in 
danger of becoming delinquent;

(4) Comprehensive programs of drug and 
alcohol abuse education and rehabilitation and programs for 
the treatment and rehabilitation of drug-addicted youth and 
drug-dependent youth;
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(5) Specialized residential treatment programs 
for dependent-neglected youth who have complex behavior 
or emotional problems, or who have been victims of child 
abuse;

(6) Educational programs or supportive 
services designed to encourage delinquents and other youth 
to remain in elementary and secondary schools or in 
alternative learning institutions;

(7) Expanded use of probation and 
recruitment and training of probation officers, other 
professional and paraprofessional personnel and volunteers 
to work effectively with youth;

(8) Statewide programs using probation 
subsidies, other subsidies, or financial incentives that may 
include but are not limited to programs designed to:

(a) reduce the number of commitments of 
juveniles to any form of juvenile facility as a percentage of 
the State juvenile population;

(b) increase the use of non-secure 
community-based facilities as a percentage of total 
commitments to juvenile facilities; and 

(c) discourage the use of secure 
incarceration and detention.

f. Advise the Criminal Justice Council in the 
development of a State plan which shall monitor the criminal 
justice system to insure that dependent-neglected youth are 
not sent to correctional facilities;

g. Ensure that juveniles alleged to be or found to 
be delinquent shall not be confined, detained or incarcerated 
in adult jails, lock-ups or correctional facilities, except that 
contact incidental to admission and booking, unless that 
juvenile can be kept totally separate from adult inmates, 
including inmates trustees; and to ensure a policy is in effect 
which requires individuals who work with both, juvenile and 
adult inmates, in collocated facilities have been trained and 
certified to work with juveniles;

h. Provide advice to ensure that assistance will be 
available on an equitable basis to deal with all disadvantaged 
youth, including but not limited to females, minority youth, 
and mentally retarded and emotionally or physically 
handicapped youth; and

i. Consult and coordinate its activities with those 
agencies and non-profit organizations which directly impact 
juvenile justice and delinquency prevention in this State, 
including the Department of Services for Children, Youth 
and Their Families, the Family Court of Delaware, the 
Department of Justice, the Office of the Public Defender, and 
the Department of Public Safety.

3. The Juvenile Justice Advisory Group shall 
comprise between 15 and 33 members. A public citizen 
member of the Group shall be designated by the Governor to 
serve as Chairperson during the Governor’s pleasure. The 
remaining members of the Advisory Group shall be as 
follows:

a. The Attorney General;
b. The Public Defender;
c. The Chief Judge of the Family Court;
d. The Secretary of Education;
e. The Director of The Division of Youth and 

Rehabilitation Services;
f. The Director of The Division of Family 

Services;
g. Three (3) Delaware State Law Enforcement 

Officers appointed by the Governor and to serve at her 
pleasure; one (1) Officer is to be appointed from each 
County;

h. One (1) Wilmington Law Enforcement Officer 
appointed by the Governor and to serve at her pleasure;

i. The remaining members shall be appointed by 
the Governor in accordance with federal requirements and 
will serve during her pleasure.

4. All meetings of the Juvenile Justice Advisory 
Group shall be open to the public, and the dates, times and 
locations of such meetings shall be timely published in an 
appropriate manner.

5. Executive Order Number Ten, approved by 
Governor Castle and dated June 6, 1985, is hereby rescinded.

APPROVED THIS 19TH DAY OF JULY, 2004.

Ruth Ann Minner, Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 3, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2004



GOVERNOR’S APPOINTMENTS 479

BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Advisory Council on Planning Coordination Mr. Robert E. Buccini 7/19/2007

Advisory Council to the Division of Developmental Ms. Gloria A. Duffy 5/12/2006
Disabilities Services

Board of Architects Mr. James A. Tevebaugh 7/19/2007
Ms. Loretta M. Wootten 7/19/2007

Board of Chiropractic Michael P. Kelman, D.C. 7/19/2007

Board of Cosmetology & Barbering Ms. Marina T. Civarelli 7/23/2007
Ms. Madelyn M. Nellius 7/19/2007

Board of Massage and Bodywork Ms. Mary Jo Verdery 7/19/2007

Board of Medical Practice Mr. Leo J. Renzette 7/14/2007
James B. Salva, M.D. 7/14/2007

Board of Pharmacy Ms. Carolyn Calio 7/1/2007
Mr. Robb Carter 7/1/2007
Ms. Nancy E. Weldin 7/1/2007

Board of Physical Therapist Examiners Ms. Denise A. Smith 7/20/2007

Board of Plumbing Examiners Mr. Marvin C. Sharp 7/20/2007

Child Placement Review Board Executive Committee Ms. Barbara H. Blair 7/20/2007

Child Placement Review Board-New Castle Ms. Jennifer Copeland 7/20/2007
Ms. Kellie Fresolone 7/20/2007
Ms. Sylvia E. Galarza 7/20/2007
Ms. Joan C. Herman 7/20/2007
Ms. Karla B. Jensen 7/20/2007
Ms. Carolyn Karney 7/20/2007
Ms. Judith F. Melman 7/20/2007
Mr. Dana Newman 7/20/2007
Ms. Bonita E. Porter 7/20/2007
Ms. Jennifer Rumsey 7/20/2007
Ms. Robin Ryan 7/20/2007
Ms. Gertrude Jean Shipp 7/20/2007

Council on Archives Mr. John M. Clayton, Jr. 7/20/2007
Ms. Margaret R. Dunham 7/20/2007
Mr. Lewis Purnell 7/20/2007
Mr. Timothy A. Slavin 7/20/2007

Council on Boiler Safety Mr. Carl D. Kinney 7/15/2005

Council on Housing Mr. John L. Walker, Sr. 2/25/2005
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Council on Manufactured Housing Mr. Kenneth S. Clark, Sr. 7/19/2006
Mr. Stevan D. Class 7/19/2006
Ms. Marion F. Fetterman 7/19/2006
Mr. Brian E. McKinley 7/23/2006
Mr. Andrew C. Strine 7/19/2006

Council on Services for Aging and Adults with Ms. Dianne W. Bingham 7/19/2007
Physical Disabilities

Delaware Emergency Medical Services Oversight Mr. Robert J. Coyle, Jr. Pleasure of the
Council Governor

Mr. Joseph C. Schoell Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware Health Resources Board Mr. Thomas E. Mulhern 7/20/2007

Delaware Heritage Commission, Chair Mr. Richard B. Carter 2/7/2007

Delaware Heritage Commission Mr. James F. Cawley 7/20/2007
Ms. Christian D. Wright 7/20/2007

Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Authority Mr. Caron E. Thompson 6/30/2010

Delaware Open Space Council Mr. Louis W. Burton 7/19/2008
Mr. William E. Powers, Jr. 7/26/2008

Delaware State Arts Council Ms. Theda D. Blackwelder 7/19/2007
Mr. Timothy J. Clinch 7/19/2007
Mr. C. Lawler Rogers, Sr. 7/19/2007
Ms. Theresa M. Shipley 7/19/2007

Delaware State Boundary Commission Ms. Lisa A. Lloyd Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Charles A. Salkin Pleasure of the
Governor

Dover Housing Authority Mr. George M. Records, Jr. 7/26/2010

Family Court in Kent County, Associate Judge The Honorable William N. Nicholas 7/9/2016

Governor’s Council on Hispanic Affairs, Chair Mr. Fernando N. Guajardo Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Eli Oriol 7/20/2007
Ms. Yvette Santiago 7/20/2007

Governor’s Council on Lifestyles & Fitness Ms. Marianne B. Carter 7/20/2006
Ms. Debbie I. Chang, M.P.H. 7/20/2006
Mr. Alexander Peterson, III 7/20/2006
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Governor’s Task Force on School Libraries Ms. Sylvia M. Stevens Pleasure of the
Governor

Human Relations Commission Mr. Randal L. Perry 10/20/2004

Newark Housing Authority Ms. Shirley F. Anderson 7/26/2010

Outer Continental Shelf Policy Committee Mr. John H. Talley Pleasure of the
Governor

Recycling Public Advisory Council Mr. Paul R. Bickhart 7/20/2007

Riverfront Development Corporation, Board of Mr. Allen DeWalle Pleasure of the
Directors Governor

State Emergency Response Commission Mr. James Lee 4/20/2006

State Rehabilitation Advisory Council Mr. Bruce C. Crouch 2/24/2006

Worker’s Compensation Advisory Council Mr. Samuel E. Lathem 7/19/2007

Workforce Investment Board Mr. Fernando N. Guajardo Pleasure of the
Governor
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The Department of Education proposes to enter into 
three Interagency Agreements.  The Agreements are:

1. Interagency Agreement between the Department 
of Services for Children, Youth and Their 
Families, and the Exceptional Children and Early 
Childhood Education Group, Delaware 
Department of Education; Local Education 
Agencies; and Charter Schools Serving Children 
with Disabilities. 

2. Interagency Agreement between the Division of 
Developmental Disabilities Services, Department 
of Health and Social Services; Exceptional 
Children and Early Childhood Education Group, 
Delaware Department of Education; Local 
Education Agencies; and Charter Schools 
Serving Children with Disabilities. 

3. Interagency Agreement between the Division of 
Vocational Rehabilitation, Department of Labor; 
Exceptional Children and Early Childhood 
Education Group, Delaware Department of 
Education; Local Education Agencies; and 
Charter Schools Serving Children with 
Disabilities. 

The purpose of these agreements is to ensure the 
implementation of a free appropriate public education for 
children with disabilities who are placed in programs by the 
Divisions of DSCYF (Agreement 1) or are transitioning 
between school and adult services (Agreements 2 and 3). 
The Department has prepared and plans to enter into these 
Agreements as part of its general supervisory responsibility 
and obligation to ensure services under the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (20 U.S.C. §1412(a)(11) and 
1412(a)(12); 34CFR §300.142 and 300.600) and Chapter 31 
of Title 14 of the Delaware Code.  The Agreements outline 
the roles and responsibilities of the participating agencies.

The Department proposes to add regulations for a 
Primary and Secondary IEP and the participation of the 
Career Technical Teacher Coordinator in IEP meetings when 
students may participate in a cooperation education program 
or a diversified occupations program.  In addition, the 
Department proposes to delete the note regarding corporal 
punishment.  

The sixty day public comment period for these 
agreements and regulations extends from September 1, 2004 
through October 30, 2004.  Written comments should be 
forwarded to:

Dr. Martha Brooks, Director
Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Education

Group Delaware Department of Education
P.O. Box 1402
Dover, DE  19903

or
mbrooks@doe.k12.de.us

Two hearings to receive public comment are scheduled 
for:  

Thursday, September 28, 2004
Hodgson Technical High School
2575 Glasgow Avenue
Elevated Classroom – 2nd Floor
Newark, DE
7:00 p.m.

Thursday, September 30, 2004
Milford High School Auditorium
1019 North Walnut Street
Milford, DE
7:00 p.m.

I. Title of the Agreement

This Agreement shall be known as the Interagency 
Agreement between the Division of Developmental 
Disabilities Services, Department of Health and Social 
Services; Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Group, 
Delaware Department of Education; Local Education 
Agencies; and Charter Schools Serving Children with 
Disabilities.  34 CFR §300.142

II. Parties Involved and Their Authority to Provide 
Special Education and Transition Services [34 
CFR§300.142 (b)]

The parties to this Interagency Agreement are the 
Division of Developmental Disabilities Services (DDDS), 
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS); the 
Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Group, Delaware 
Department of Education (DDOE); Local Education 
Agencies (LEAs); and Charter Schools.  The Delaware 
Department of Education ensures that each educational 
program for children and youth with disabilities 
administered within the State, including each program 
administered by any other public agency, is under the 
general supervision and direction of the State Educational 
Agency (SEA), in accordance with the Federal Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), Chapter 31 of Title 
14 of the Delaware Code, and the State Administrative 
Manual for Special Education Services (AMSES).  The 
Division of Developmental Disabilities Services provides 
services to those individuals who have mental retardation or 
certain related disabilities specified by the Division in its 
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eligibility definition.  Persons participating in programs 
operated through DDDS do so under regulations, policies 
and procedures issued by DDDS.  This Agreement 
delineates responsibility for transition services provided to 
youth with disabilities.  It does not expand or alter DDDS’s 
responsibility for services to persons who are over the age of 
21 or otherwise ineligible for special education and related 
services.

III. Purpose of the Agreement

It is hereby agreed that the Division of Developmental 
Disabilities Services and the Delaware Department of 
Education are committed to transitioning eligible individuals 
from an education-based system to an adult services system 
in a programmatically sound manner, which denotes 
individual choice and promotes a continuum of services to 
the individual.  This Agreement is designed to facilitate the 
transition of all youth enrolled in LEAs or Charter Schools 
who are eligible for DDDS services.

The DDDS and the DDOE enter into this Agreement for 
the purpose of improving the quality and coordination of 
services for youth who meet DDDS eligibility criteria as 
they make the transition from school to the adult community 
in Delaware.  The transition population is herein defined as 
those youth with disabilities between the ages of 14 (or 
eighth grade, whichever comes first) and 21 inclusive, who 
are students enrolled in an LEA or Charter School who meet 
the DDDS eligibility criteria. 

This Agreement is between the DDDS, the DDOE, 
LEAs, and Charter Schools and is not intended to create any 
enforceable rights for youth or their parents or any agency 
not a party to this Agreement.

IV. Roles and Responsibilities of Each Agency, Including 
Access to Records and Transfer Procedures, 
Implementation, Dissemination and Training Activities, 
Funding Amounts, and Sources [34 CFR§300.142(a), (b) 
& (c)(2)]

Joint Responsibilities of the Division of 
Developmental Disabilities Services and the Delaware 
Department of Education

It is hereby agreed that the DDDS and DDOE, through a 
statewide interagency effort, shall:

1. Exchange information relevant to effective 
interagency delivery of services during and after 
the transition years.  Included in this information 
will be an Annual Transition Staff Listing of all 
transition contacts in DDDS, DDOE, LEA, and 
Charter Schools.

2. Provide data that will allow the DDDS to 
develop plans and budgets for post school day 

and residential services.
3. Provide assistance to LEA, Charter School, and 

DDDS staff in the implementation of this 
Agreement. 

4. Develop strategies to promote parent awareness 
of the transition process.

5. Review vocational assessment approaches to 
ensure that transition planning needs of youth 
with disabilities and the requirements of the 
participating agencies, including the Division of 
Vocational Rehabilitation, are met.

6. Develop an interagency tracking system to 
provide feedback to the schools and to aid 
effective long range planning for program 
development and improvement.

7. Collaborate with other Departments, Divisions, 
and agencies responsible for transition age youth 
so that all transition services are coordinated.

8. Appoint staff to the State Transition Advisory 
Council to monitor, plan, and implement 
activities to support the transition planning needs 
of students with disabilities.

9. Promote an individual student-centered approach 
to transition that includes timely and practical 
guidance on realistic choices and discrete steps 
toward achievement of vocational/day service 
goals.

10. Identify, plan, and fund joint inservice training, 
to include orientation for new DDDS and school 
transition personnel and ongoing training as 
needed for all staff.

11. Plan for students served through the Interagency 
Collaborative Team (ICT) who meet the DDDS 
eligibility criteria and who will require 
residential resources upon completion of their 
education.

Delaware Department of Education, LEA and 
Charter Schools, and the Division of Developmental 
Disabilities Services

The Department of Education has the overall 
responsibility to ensure that transition planning for students 
with disabilities is occurring in the State of Delaware and is 
in compliance with federal and State requirements. 

Transition planning is a necessary part of the 
Individualized Education Program (IEP) to prepare students 
with disabilities for independence in the community.  During 
a student's eighth grade year or at age 14, whichever occurs 
first, or before if the IEP Team determines appropriate, and 
continuing through high school graduation, or age 21, 
whichever occurs first, transition services planning is part of 
the IEP for each student receiving special education services. 
Every effort will be made to include the student and the 
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parent/guardian in the planning for individualized transition 
services.  Transition service planning serves as a guide to 
make the most effective use of those school years by 
addressing the following major life areas and individual 
characteristics:

1. Instruction.
2. Community experience.
3. Employment and other post-school objectives.
4. Daily living skills and functional vocational 

evaluation, as appropriate.
5. Aptitudes.
6. Interests.
7. Preferences.
8. Other (i.e., work history, job samples, learning 

styles, transportation needs, linkages to other 
adult service providers).

The Division of Developmental Disabilities Services, in 
collaboration with LEAS and Charter Schools, will assist in 
the process of transition services planning.

1. During the ninth grade year (or age 16, whichever 
comes first) information is shared with the parent/guardian 
of all youth with developmental disabilities on the following:

• Post-Secondary Options;
• Family Support Options;
• Residential Options;
• Day Service/Employment Options, including 

supported employment;
• Medical Resources, including Medicaid;
• Recreation resources;
• Advocacy resources;
• Transfer of Rights at Age of Majority and 

Guardianship Issues;
• Supplemental Security Income;
• Other, as appropriate for the individual family.

As part of the Individualized Education Program (IEP) 
process, a transition services plan is developed for each 
youth with a disability.

2. Each year, the DDDS, in cooperation with LEAs 
and Charter Schools, will review all students 16 years of age 
to determine those youth who most likely meet the eligibility 
requirements of DDDS.  DDDS will provide the schools 
with an initial indication concerning the probability that the 
individual will meet the Division’s eligibility requirements 
for services.

3. During the student’s ninth grade year, or age 16, 
whichever comes first, the DDDS Transition Coordinator/
Designee will be invited to attend the annual IEP meetings 
for all students who will most likely be eligible for DDDS 
services.  At that meeting, the DDDS intake process will be 
fully explained to the youth and parent. A Release of 

Information will be obtained prior to the IEP meeting for all 
students.  Access to, and transfer of, individual records will 
be carried out with the informed consent of the youth, parent 
or guardian, as appropriate, and in compliance with the 
Family Education Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), the 
Health Information Portability and Accountability Act 
(HIPAA), and the IDEA and State law and regulations.

4. The following identifies responsibility for the 
required referral information:

LEA/Charter School Responsibility:
• referral form;
• Social Security number;
• driver license, State ID card;
• current and valid psychological 

information required by DDDS eligibility 
criteria to include cognitive and adaptive 
behavior assessments;

• basic medical/nursing information;
• Medicaid status;
• Vocational Assessment, which includes:

   vocational strengths and weaknesses
   interests – likes and dislikes
   vocational training and employment    

experiences
• current IEP;
• current OT, PT, Speech reports, as 

appropriate;
• Behavior Management/Counseling 

reports, as appropriate; and
• other, as appropriate (i.e., transportation 

needs)
DDDS Responsibility

• Release of Information Form(s);
• Application;
• Client Profile;
• Additional Medical, if needed;
• SSI/SSDI status; and
• Other, as appropriate.

5. For those individuals and/or parent/guardians who 
decide to apply for services, the DDDS will complete the 
intake and eligibility process within 90 days of receipt of 
completed application materials, 45 days for Medicaid 
recipients.  Upon completion of an intake determination of 
eligibility, the student and parent/guardian shall be informed. 
At the time of intake, DDDS will ask whether the student 
and parent/guardian wishes to release the eligibility 
determination to the student’s school.  If consent to release 
the eligibility is given, DDDS will forward a copy of the 
eligibility to the student’s school.  For youth who are 
eligible, service needs, options and plans will be reviewed 
with the individual and family within 60 days of eligibility 
determination.
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6. If the intake process results in a determination that 
the youth is not eligible, the individual and parent/guardian 
will be notified, as will the youth’s school program if release 
of information is granted by the individual and parent/
guardian.  A description of the DDDS appeals process and 
recommendations for other service options will be provided 
to the individual and family/guardian.

7. Each year, the LEA/Charter School Transition 
Team, as defined in the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation 
(DVR)/Delaware Department of Education/Local Education 
Agency/Charter School Interagency Agreement, and 
including the DDDS representative, will meet to review all 
youth eligible for DDDS services who are about to enter 
their final year of school.  At these meetings, decisions will 
be made related to the employment status of all students. 
Those youth appropriate for DVR services will be identified 
at this meeting, and the DVR counselor will begin the intake 
process for those youth.  The DDDS representative will 
work closely with the DVR counselor concerning those 
youth who are eligible for services from both agencies so 
that appropriate sources of follow-up services can be 
identified.

8. A DDDS representative will attend the student’s 
IEP meeting during the final year in school.  The DDDS 
representative, in conjunction with the IEP team, will 
develop a transfer plan, which will be incorporated as an 
attachment to the IEP to specify the individual’s initial 
linkage with DDDS.

9. Adult services and supports may be initiated at any 
time during the final year of school or earlier with the mutual 
agreement of all parties.  If it is determined that adult 
services and supports should be initiated prior to the end of 
the school year, the school will be responsible for funding 
through August 31.  DDDS funding shall begin on 
September 1st.

10. Services and supports provided by DDDS are 
contingent upon funding availability based on DDDS 
established priorities.  DDDS will establish the array and 
extent of services available and the priority of individuals 
accessing services.

V. Procedures to Resolve Disputes Regarding Program 
and Fiscal Issues

This section establishes procedures for resolving 
interagency disputes between the parties to this agreement 
concerning the terms of the agreement, including disputes 
over interagency reimbursement and service coordination.

1. All attempts should be made to resolve disputes at 
the lowest operational level (at the School, School District, 
or DDDS office level).

2. When disputes cannot be resolved at the lowest 
operational level, they shall be referred, in writing, to the 

State Director of the Exceptional Children and Early 
Childhood Group, DDOE; to the State Director, Division of 
Developmental Disabilities (DDDS); and the Superintendent 
of the School District or CEO of the Charter School 
involved.  These individuals will review the situation and 
determine how the dispute should be resolved.  Their 
decision shall be shared, in writing, with the parties involved 
in the dispute within thirty days (30) of receipt of the 
request.

3. If the dispute cannot be resolved as described in 
V.2, the dispute shall be referred in writing to the Cabinet 
Secretary, DDOE; the Cabinet Secretary, Department of 
Health and Social Services (DHSS); and the President of the 
Chief School Officer’s Association.  The dispute shall be 
resolved by a majority vote of the Cabinet Secretaries and 
the President.  Further, any party disagreeing with the 
decision reached in step V.2 may submit a written request for 
review within thirty (30) days of the decision to the Cabinet 
Secretary, DDOE; the Cabinet Secretary, DHSS; and the 
President of the Chief School Officer’s Association, or other 
member of the Chief School Officer’s Association, outlining 
their specific disagreement with the decision.  The Cabinet 
Secretaries’ and the President’s decision shall be final and 
binding on all parties and shall be communicated, in writing, 
to all parties within thirty (30) days of referral of the matter 
to them or request for review.

4. This Interagency Agreement does not restrict or 
otherwise limit any additional rights or remedies any party 
may have under state or federal law, nor extend the rights or 
remedies of one party to the other.  This Interagency 
Agreement does not restrict or otherwise limit the Delaware 
Department of Education’s general supervision authority to 
ensure that the requirements of state and federal law 
concerning the education of children with disabilities are 
carried out.

VI. Agreement Review

This Agreement shall be effective immediately upon the 
written signature of all parties and shall remain in effect until 
a new Agreement is signed or is otherwise terminated in 
accordance with this Section.  This Agreement shall be 
reviewed annually by appropriate personnel from the 
Department of Education, the Department of Health and 
Social Services, Division of Developmental Disabilities, and 
the Local Education Agencies and Charter Schools.  Parties 
to this Agreement may request that all or part of it be 
renegotiated at any time, for good cause, upon the written 
request of any of the participating agencies.  This Agreement 
may be terminated by any party upon ninety (90) days 
written notice.
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SIGNATURE AND TITLE OF EACH AUTHORIZED 
AGENCY AND SCHOOL DISTRICT 

ADMINISTRATOR

Mrs. Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education
Department of Education

Mr. Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary
Department of Health and Social Services

Dr. Nancy J. Wilson, Associate State Secretary
Curriculum & Instructional Improvement
Department of Education

Ms. Marianne Smith, Director
Division of Developmental Disabilities Srv.
Department of Health and Social Services

Dr. Martha Brooks, State Director
Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Education
Department of Education

Mr. Tony J. Marchio, Superintendent
Appoquinimink School District

Dr. Harold Roberts, Superintendent
Caesar Rodney School District

Dr. Michael D. Thomas, Superintendent
Capital School District

Dr. George Meney, Superintendent
Colonial School District

Mrs. Lois M. Hobbs, Superintendent
Indian River School District

Dr. Bruce Harter, Superintendent
Brandywine School District

Dr. Dane A. Brandenberger, Superintendent
Cape Henlopen School District

Dr. Joseph Wise, Superintendent
Christina School District

Dr. George E. Stone, Superintendent
Delmar School District

Mr. Keith Duda, Superintendent
Laurel School District

Dr. Steve Godowski, Superintendent

New Castle County Vo-Tech School District

Dr. Robert Andrzejewski, Superintendent
Red Clay Consolidated School District

Mrs. Deborah D. Wicks, Superintendent
Smyrna School District

Dr. Kevin E. Carson, Superintendent
Woodbridge School District

Dr. Daniel Curry, Superintendent
Lake Forest School District

Dr. Robert D. Smith, III, Superintendent
Milford School District

Dr. Diane G. Sole, Superintendent
Polytech School District

Dr. Russell H. Knorr, Superintendent
Seaford School District

Dr. Patrick Savini, Superintendent
Sussex Technical School District

Charter Schools

Mr. Leonard Litzi
Academy of Dover Charter School

Mr. Allen Zipke
Campus Community Charter School

Mr. Ron Russo
Charter School of Wilmington

Mr. Will Robinson
East Side Charter School

Ms. Catherine Sielski
Kuumba Academy Charter School

Ms. Martha Clark
MOT Charter School

Ms. Linda M. Fleetwood
Positive Outcomes Charter School

Dr. Nancy Feichtl
Sussex Academy of Arts and Sciences

Mr. Charles Baldwin
Delaware Military Academy
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 3, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2004



GENERAL NOTICES 487
Mr. Charles Hughes
Thomas A. Edison Charter School

Mr. John Taylor
Marion T. Academy Charter School

Mr. Greg Meece
Newark Charter School

Ms. Audrey Erschen
Providence Creek Academy 
Charter School

Dr. Nancy Feichtl
Sussex Adacemy of Arts and Sciences

I. Title of the Agreement

This Agreement shall be known as the Interagency 
Agreement between the Division of Vocational 
Rehabilitation, Department of Labor; Exceptional Children 
& Early Childhood Education Group, Delaware Department 
of Education; Local Education Agencies; and Charter 
Schools Serving Children with Disabilities.   34 CFR 
§300.142

II. Parties Involved and Their Authority to Provide 
Special Education and Transition ServicInteragency 
Agreements between the Department of Education and 
other agencieses [34 CFR §300.142 (b)]

The parties to this Interagency Agreement are the 
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation (DVR), Department of 
Labor (DOL); the Exceptional Children and Early Childhood 
Education Group, Delaware Department of Education 
(DDOE); Local Education Agencies (LEAs); and Charter 
Schools.  The Department of Education ensures that each 
educational program for youth with disabilities administered 
within the State, including each program administered by 
any other public agency, is under the general supervision and 
direction of the State Educational Agency (SEA), in 
accordance with the Federal Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA), Chapter 31 of Title 14 of the 
Delaware Code and the State Administrative Manual for 
Special Education Services (AMSES).  The Division of 
Vocational Rehabilitation is authorized to provide transition 
services to youth with disabilities, ages 16-21, in accordance 
with transition requirements of the Rehabilitation Act of 
1973, as amended in the Workforce Investment Act of 1998, 
Public Law 105-220 and 34 CFR Part 361, State Vocational 
Rehabilitation Services Program; Final Rule.  The Local 
Education Agencies and Charter Schools carry the primary 
responsibility for the education of children and youth with 

disabilities enrolled in the school districts and Charter 
Schools, in accordance with the rules and regulations of the 
IDEA and the DDOE.  This Agreement is written 
specifically to delineate transition services provided to youth 
with disabilities.  For purposes of this Agreement, the term 
“youth with disabilities” means students ages 16 to 21, 
eligible to receive special education and related services as 
children with disabilities under the IDEA and implementing 
state law.  34 CFR, Part B  

III. Purpose of the Agreement

It is hereby agreed that the Division of Vocational 
Rehabilitation and the Delaware Department of Education 
are committed to transitioning individuals potentially 
eligible for DVR services from the receipt of educational 
services in school to the receipt of vocational rehabilitation 
services in a programmatically sound manner which reduces 
the disruption of services to the individual.  The involved 
agencies will work to ensure that youth with disabilities 
receive benefit from the transition services for which they 
are eligible.  Eligibility for DVR services is based on the 
documented presence of a physical or mental disability 
which constitutes or results in a substantial impediment to 
employment; and requires vocational rehabilitation services 
to prepare for, enter into, engage in, or retain gainful 
employment.

In general, the education and vocational training of 
students ages 3 to 21 who are eligible for special education 
and related services is the responsibility of the education 
system prior to graduation.  Although DVR maintains no 
absolute lower age limit for eligibility, vocational 
rehabilitation services are generally offered to youth 
between the ages of 16 and 21.  DVR will provide services 
for those students who are approaching, or are of working 
age (out-of-school) and who are determined by DVR to be 
eligible for services.  The agencies agree to work 
cooperatively to serve students as they move from one 
agency to the other.  The student may refuse the services 
from either agency; however, neither agency is obligated to 
duplicate the services offered by the responsible agency.

This Agreement is between the DVR and the DDOE, 
LEAs and Charter Schools and is not intended to create any 
enforceable rights for youth or their parents or any agency 
not a party to this Agreement.  This agreement does not 
diminish or alter any rights of, or obligations to, youth with 
disabilities under federal or state law.
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IV. Roles and Responsibilities of Each Agency, Including 
Access to Records and Transfer Procedures, 
Implementation, Dissemination and Training Activities, 
Funding Amounts, and Sources [34 CFR§300.142(a), (b) 
& (c)(2)]

Joint Responsibilities of the Division of Vocational 
Rehabilitation and the Delaware Department of 
Education

It is hereby agreed that the DVR and DDOE, through a 
statewide interagency effort, shall support the acquisition of 
vocational services and gainful employment by youth with 
disabilities by:

1. Exchanging information relevant to effective 
interagency delivery of services during and after 
the transition years.  Included in this information 
will be an Annual Transition Staff Listing of all 
transition contacts in DVR, DOE, the LEAs and 
Charter Schools, including school staff 
responsible for students with Section 504 plans.

2. Working with LEA and Charter School staff and 
DVR staff to implement this Agreement at the 
local level. 

3. Reviewing vocational assessment approaches to 
ensure that transition planning needs of youth 
with disabilities and the requirements of the 
participating agencies are met.

4. Collaborating with other departments, divisions, 
and agencies responsible for transition age youth, 
so that all transition services are coordinated.

5. Working in partnership to develop additional 
employment training options for youth with 
disabilities as an ongoing effort.

6. Identifying, planning and funding joint inservice 
training, to include orientation for new DVR and 
school transition personnel and ongoing training, 
as needed, for all staff.  

7. Developing and disseminating an Annual DVR/
DOE Transition Report that monitors outcome 
measures to evaluate and improve the 
effectiveness of transition services to youth with 
disabilities.

8. Appointing staff to the State Transition Advisory 
Council to monitor, plan, and implement 
activities to support the transition planning needs 
of youth with disabilities.

9. Identifying and addressing gaps in vocational 
services in an effort to meet the vocational needs 
of students while in school and upon leaving 
school.

10. Developing, implementing, and monitoring a 
plan of action to address the needs of youth with 
disabilities at high risk of dropping out of school.

11. Promoting an individualized, student-centered 
approach to transition that includes timely and 
practical guidance on realistic choices and 
discrete steps toward achievement of vocational 
goals.

Division of Vocational Rehabilitation

The goal of DVR is to ensure the provision of an 
appropriate program of vocational rehabilitation services for 
eligible transitioning youth with disabilities.  In order to 
meet this goal, DVR will:

1. Assign a DVR counselor to each high school 
program in a LEA, Charter School or other public 
agency operating educational programs.  DVR 
will assure that each counselor develops and 
maintains a regular schedule for their assigned 
high school programs.

2. Provide a list at least annually to the State 
Transition Council and the LEAs and Charter 
Schools, of all DVR counselors assigned to each 
high school program in the State. Each DVR 
counselor will meet at least annually with school 
administrators to review summary information on 
students served.

3. Provide necessary resources to support the DVR 
Counselor as an active member of the School 
Transition Team.

4. Support the DVR Counselor in a consultant role 
to school staff by:
a. maintaining a cooperative working 
relationship with DOE, LEAs, and schools to 
provide a supportive environment for 
Counselors;
b. developing and implementing, through 
approved service providers, additional vocational 
training programs and employment initiatives 
when needs are identified by the District 
Transition Team and agreed upon by DVR;
c. working with DOE and the school districts to 
address the needs of youth with disabilities at risk 
of dropping out of school;
d. providing outreach services to students in 
grades 9 - 12 who are identified as potential 
referrals to DVR as a result of secondary program 
planning.  Outreach includes, at a minimum, a 
description of the purpose of the vocational 
rehabilitation program, eligibility requirements, 
application procedures, and scope of services that 
may be provided to eligible individuals.

5. Work actively with school staff to complete the 
referral process and develop an Individualized 
Plan for Employment (IPE) that is coordinated 
with the student’s IEP for each eligible student 
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prior to the end of the student's last year in 
school.  The IPE will be developed in 
consideration of the student’s IEP, and 
coordinated with the IEP in terms of goals, 
objectives, and services identified in the IEP.

6. Ensure that DVR Counselors attend IEP 
transition service planning meetings for students 
identified and referred for services at the 
appropriate time(s) prior to school exit.

7. Ensure DVR Counselors attend the IEP meetings 
of students referred for services who are entering 
their final year in school.  DVR Counselors will 
coordinate their attendance at IEP meetings with 
the school staff in charge of transition planning.

8. Purchase assistive technology (AT) previously 
obtained by a school district for the use of a youth 
with disabilities.  In assessing the appropriateness 
of purchase, DVR on a case by case basis will 
consider the following factors: (a) vocational 
relevance of AT; (b) impediments to 
implementation of IPE without AT; (c) 
customization of AT; (d) remaining useful life of 
AT; (e) adequacy of AT in meeting client’s 
prospective needs; (f) replacement cost of AT 
from alternate sources; and (g) availability and 
benefits of purchasing different or alternative AT.

9. Place youth with disabilities in jobs based upon 
their personal interests, abilities, and preferences.

10. Ensure DVR Counselors, with assistance from 
school personnel, identify and maintain contact 
with the students who drop-out of school, 
whenever possible, and offer services, including 
adult educational services, to those who are 
eligible and interested.

11. Provide information to DOE and the LEAs and 
Charter Schools on the numbers of referrals and
status of all post-school students it serves.

Delaware Department of Education

The Delaware Department of Education has the overall 
responsibility to ensure that transition planning for youth 
with disabilities in the public education system is occurring 
in the State of Delaware and is in compliance with federal 
and State requirements. 

Transition planning is a necessary part of the 
Individualized Education Program (IEP) to prepare youth 
with disabilities for independence in the community.  During 
a student's eighth grade year or at age 14, whichever occurs 
first, or before if the IEP team determines appropriate, and 
continuing through high school graduation or age 21, 
whichever occurs first, transition services planning will 
become part of the IEP for each student receiving special 
education.  Every effort will be made to include the student 

and the parent/guardian in the planning for individualized 
transition services.  Transition service planning serves as a 
guide to make the most effective use of those school years by 
addressing the following major life areas and individual 
characteristics:

1. Instruction.
2. Community experience.
3. Employment and other post-school objectives.
4. Daily living skills and functional vocational 

evaluation, as appropriate.
5. Aptitudes.
6. Interests.
7. Preferences.
8. Other (i.e., work history, job samples, learning 

styles, transportation needs, linkages to other 
adult service providers).

LEAs and Charter Schools

A major goal of the LEAs and Charter Schools is to 
provide an effective secondary program of education for 
youth with disabilities and to ensure that they are linked in 
advance to appropriate adult services as they leave the 
school system.  In order to meet this goal, the LEAs and 
Charter Schools will:

1. Identify a Transition Team to oversee and 
facilitate the transition process for the district. 
The district will appoint a Transition Coordinator 
and other school staff to the Transition Team. 
The members of the Team should include:
• DVR Counselor(s);
• Guidance Counselor(s)/Educational 

Diagnostician(s);
• Parent Representative(s);
• Special Education Representative;
• Vocational Education Representative;
• Division of Developmental Disabilities 

Services Representative;
• Section 504 Representative;
• Others as determined by the respective 

LEAs and Charter Schools (i.e., Nurse, local 
employers, other agencies).

2. The Transition Team will:
a. ensure transition outreach efforts to youth 
with disabilities and their parents are timely and 
effective;
b. identify and address issues that adversely 
affect students’ transition planning needs;
c. provide input to the State Transition Council 
concerning the following:

i. training needs;
ii. factors adversely affecting transition on 

a regional and state-wide basis;
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iii. enrollment and outcome 
information on youth with disabilities;
d. serve as an information resource on 
transition to the LEAs, Charter Schools, students 
and their families;
e. coordinate, plan, and implement transition 
activities at the district and school level;
f. provide names, at least annually, of the LEA 
and Charter School’s assigned Transition 
Coordinator to the State Transition Council;
g. promote implementation of an overall 
transition system that is individualized, timely, 
effective, and consistent with State standards.

3. Invite DVR Counselors and other representatives 
of appropriate agencies to participate in District 
Transition Team planning meetings to develop, 
implement, and monitor the transition process.

4. Identify annually a district and school transition 
contact person and person responsible for Section 
504 plans for the assigned DVR counselor at 
each high school program.

5. Include the DVR Counselor in transition service 
planning for each student no later than the IEP 
meeting prior to his/her final year of school.

6. Identify locations in the school buildings for the 
DVR counselor to meet with students and staff 
during their regularly scheduled visits.

7. Maintain communication between the secondary 
program and parents about DVR services.

8. Ensure informed written consent for release of 
information is obtained from adult students or 
parents of minor students prior to sharing 
information with the DVR Counselor.  All 
sharing of student records will be in compliance 
with the Family Education Rights and Privacy 
Act (FERPA), the Health Information Portability 
and Accountability Act (HIPAA), the IDEA and 
State law and regulations.

9. Make referrals to appropriate adult service 
agencies based on individual needs of the 
student. Referrals to DVR should include youth 
with disabilities who could benefit from such 
services.

10. Collect and provide referral information to DVR 
Counselors that includes:
a. referral form;
b. signed Release of Information form;
c. Social Security number;
d. driver license, State ID card;
e. evaluation reports, which may include 
observations, other information from education 
officials, and psychological evaluations;
f. Academic Achievement test data;
g. substantiating medical information on youth 

with mental or physical disabilities, if available;
h. vocational evaluation(s);
i. copy of the IEP, which includes the 
transition planning component;
j. copy of high school transcript;
k. other information as determined through the 
Transition Team process (i.e., transportation 
needs).

11. Identify current assistive technology and make 
suggestions for anticipated vocationally relevant 
assistive technology.

12. School personnel, as part of the LEA and Charter 
School’s responsibility in the transition services 
planning process, will inform students and their 
parents of the availability of DVR services.  The 
interest of the student and parent or guardian in 
the referral to DVR will be determined and 
documented. 

13. The IEP Team will facilitate referrals to DVR.  A 
member of the school staff and the student will 
initiate the formal referral for services to DVR 
following the IEP Team’s determination that this 
would be a desirable and appropriate transition 
avenue.  DVR referrals are encouraged as early 
as the spring prior to the student’s last year in 
school.  Once a determination of eligibility is 
made by DVR, the student, parent or guardian, as 
appropriate, and the school shall be notified of 
the results.

V. Procedures to Resolve Disputes Regarding Program 
and Fiscal Issues

1. All attempts should be made to resolve disputes at 
the lowest operational level (at the School, School District 
and/or DVR office level).

2. When disputes cannot be resolved at the lowest 
operational level, they shall be referred, in writing, to the 
State Director of the Exceptional Children and Early 
Childhood Education Group, DDOE; to the State Director, 
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation, DOL; and the 
Superintendent of the School District or CEO of the Charter 
School involved.  These individuals will review the situation 
and determine how the dispute should be resolved.  Their 
decision shall be shared, in writing, with the parties involved 
in the dispute within thirty (30) days of receipt of the 
request.

3. If the dispute cannot be resolved as described in 
V.2, the dispute shall be referred in writing to the Cabinet 
Secretary, DDOE; the Cabinet Secretary, DOL; and the 
President of the Chief School Officer’s Association.  Further, 
any party disagreeing with the decision reached in step V.2 
may submit a written request for review within thirty (30) 
days of the decision to the Cabinet Secretary, DDOE; the 
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Cabinet Secretary, DOL; and the President of the Chief 
School Officer’s Association, or other member of the Chief 
School Officer’s Association, outlining their specific 
disagreement with the decision.  The Cabinet Secretaries’ 
and the President’s decision shall be final and binding on all 
parties and shall be communicated, in writing, to all parties 
within thirty (30) days of referral of the matter to them or 
request for review.

4. This Interagency Agreement does not restrict or 
otherwise limit any additional rights or remedies any party 
may have under state or federal law, nor extend the rights or 
remedies of one party to the other.  This Interagency 
Agreement does not restrict or otherwise limit the Delaware 
Department of Education’s general supervision authority to 
ensure that the requirements of state and federal law 
concerning the education of children with disabilities are 
carried out.

VI. Agreement Review

This Agreement shall be effective immediately upon the 
written signature of all parties and shall remain in effect until 
a new Agreement is signed or is otherwise terminated in 
accordance with this Section.  This Agreement shall be 
reviewed annually by appropriate personnel from the 
Department of Education, the Department of Labor, Division 
of Vocational Rehabilitation, and the Local Education 
Agencies and Charter Schools.  Parties to this Agreement 
may request that all or part of it be renegotiated at any time, 
for good cause, upon the written request of any of the 
participating agencies.  This Agreement may be terminated 
by any party upon ninety (90) days written notice.

SIGNATURE AND TITLE OF EACH AUTHORIZED 
AGENCY AND SCHOOL DISTRICT 

ADMINISTRATOR

Agency

Mrs. Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education
Department of Education

Dr. Nancy J. Wilson, Associate State Secretary
Curriculum & Instructional Improvement
Department of Education

Dr. Martha Brooks, State Director
Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Education
Department of Education

Mr. Harold E. Stafford, Secretary
Department of Labor

Ms. Andrea Guest, Director

Division for Vocational Rehabilitation
Department of Health and Social Services

School Districts

Mr. Tony J. Marchio, Superintendent
Appoquinimink School District

Dr. Harold Roberts, Superintendent
Caesar Rodney School District

Dr. Michael D. Thomas, Superintendent
Capital School District

Dr. George Meney, Superintendent
Colonial School District

Mrs. Lois M. Hobbs, Superintendent
Indian River School District

Mr. Keith Duda, Superintendent
Laurel School District

Dr. Bruce Harter, Superintendent
Brandywine School District

Dr. Dane A. Brandenberger, Superintendent
Cape Henlopen School District

Dr. Joseph Wise, Superintendent
Christina School District

Dr. George E. Stone, Superintendent
Delmar School District

Dr. Daniel Curry, Superintendent
Lake Forest School District

Dr. Robert D. Smith, III, Superintendent
Milford School District

Dr. Steve Godowski, Superintendent
New Castle County Vo-Tech School District

Dr. Robert Andrzejewski, Superintendent
Red Clay Consolidated School District

Mrs. Deborah D. Wicks, Superintendent
Smyrna School District

Dr. Kevin E. Carson, Superintendent
Woodbridge School District

Dr. Diane G. Sole, Superintendent
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Polytech School District

Dr. Russell H. Knorr, Superintendent
Seaford School District

Dr. Patrick Savini, Superintendent
Sussex Technical School District

Charter Schools

Mr. Leonard Litzi
Academy of Dover Charter School

Mr. Ron Russo
Charter School of Wilmington

Mr. Will Robinson
East Side Charter School

Ms. Catherine Sielski
Kuumba Academy Charter School

Ms. Martha Clark
MOT Charter School

Ms. Linda M. Fleetwood
Positive Outcomes Charter School

Mr. Allen Zipke
Campus Community Charter School

Mr. Charles Baldwin
Delaware Military Academy

Mr. Charles Hughes
Thomas A. Edison Charter School

Mr. John Taylor
Marion T. Academy Charter School

Mr. Greg Meece
Newark Charter School

Ms. Audrey Erschen
Providence Creek Academy 
Charter School

Dr. Nancy Feichtl
Sussex Academy of Arts and Sciences

I. Title of the Agreement

This Agreement shall be known as the Interagency 
Agreement between the Department of Services for 

Children, Youth and Their Families, and the Exceptional 
Children and Early Childhood Education Group, Delaware 
Department of Education; Local Educational Agencies; and 
Charter Schools Serving Children with Disabilities. 34 
CFR§300.142

II. Parties Involved and Their Authority to Provide 
Special Education and Related Services [34 
CFR§300.142(b)]

The parties to this Interagency Agreement are the 
Department of Services for Children, Youth and their 
Families (DSCYF); the Exceptional Children and Early 
Childhood Group, Delaware Department of Education 
(DDOE); Local Education Agencies (LEAs); and the Charter 
Schools. The DDOE ensures that each educational program 
for children with disabilities administered within the State, 
including each program administered by any other public 
agency, is under the general supervision and direction of the 
State Educational Agency (SEA), in accordance with the 
Federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 
Chapter 31 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code and the State 
Administrative Manual For Special Education Services 
(AMSES). The DSCYF is authorized to provide special 
education and related services, either directly or by 
contractual arrangement, for children with disabilities served 
in programs located in-state and out-of-state, in accordance 
with the regulations of the Department of Education. 

III. Purpose of the Agreement

The purpose of this Interagency Agreement is to ensure 
through a cooperative effort that (a) a free, appropriate, 
public education (FAPE) is provided to all children with 
disabilities who are served by the DSCYF in programs it 
directly provides, and in those programs provided through 
contractual arrangement, and (b) that all such programs are 
under the general supervision of the Department of 
Education.  The responsibilities of each agency are 
documented in this Agreement.

IV. Roles and Responsibilities of Each Agency, Including 
Access to Records and Transfer Procedures, 
Implementation, Dissemination and Training Activities, 
Funding Amounts, and Sources [34 CFR§300.142(a), (b), 
& (c)(2)]

Department of Services for Children, Youth and 
Their Families (DSCYF)

The DSCYF agrees to carry out the responsibilities 
listed below with regard to the operation of all educational 
programs for children with disabilities under its jurisdiction. 
Activities that discharge these responsibilities include, but 
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are not limited to the following.  DSCYF will:

1. Develop and maintain  policies and procedures 
by which applicable State and federal regulations 
relating to the education of children with 
disabilities are implemented for all programs 
under its jurisdiction that serve children with 
disabilities.   Policies and procedures must 
delineate:
a. conditions under which records may be 
accessed, confidentiality, and transfer 
procedures;
b. the specific procedures to be followed by 
DSCYF, DOE, LEAs, and Charter Schools in the 
coordination of special education services for 
children with disabilities, served in programs 
located in-state and out-of-state;
c. the responsibilities of DSCYF for the 
collection, maintenance, and dissemination of 
data essential (a) to the orderly transition of 
students into and out of programs, and (b) to the 
conduct of DOE monitoring activities.

2. Discharge its responsibilities to children with 
disabilities served in programs located in-state 
and out-of-state, through activities which shall 
include, but are not limited to the following:
a. for students served in out-of-state programs, 
ensuring that (a) vendors meet the special 
education requirements of the state in which the 
programs are located, and (b) that teachers and 
other related services personnel are qualified to 
serve children with disabilities in that state;
b. for students served in-state within contracted 
programs where special education services are 
provided directly by DSCYF or their vendors, 
ensuring that (a) DSCYF and their vendors meet 
the special education regulations of DOE, and (b) 
special education services are provided by 
teachers and related services personnel qualified 
to serve children with disabilities in Delaware;
c. maintaining for all vendors, files which 
include a contract specifying that (a) each student 
with a disability has an Individualized Education 
Program (IEP) that meets requirements of the 
IDEA and implementing state law and 
regulation; (b) special education and related 
services are provided in compliance with the 
requirements of the IDEA and implementing 
state law and regulation; (c) the IEP is reviewed 
and revised, as needed, within 30 calendar days 
of initial attendance of the child, and at least 
annually thereafter; and (d) in the absence of 
special education records, the vendor will 
develop a temporary IEP for a previously 

identified student, and schedule appropriate 
evaluation and/or IEP meetings, to be completed 
within 30 calendar days of initial attendance for 
in-state programs, and 60 calendar days of initial 
attendance for out-of-state programs;
d. notifying the LEA or Charter School contact 
person when it becomes known that a student 
will be admitted to a vendor-operated in-State or 
out-of-State facility.  Where special education 
services are provided by a vendor, DSCYF staff 
will request that the LEA or Charter School 
forward to DSCYF within ten business days, a 
copy of (a) the current IEP, (b) current Evaluation 
Report, and (c) the current psycho-educational 
evaluation. This documentation will be 
forwarded by DSCYF to the vendor at the time of 
admission;
e. notifying the LEA or Charter School at least 
ten business days in advance of a student's 
projected return from an out-of-state facility.

3. Facilitate the appointment of educational 
surrogate parents for children with disabilities, as 
may be required.

4. Maintain representation on the Partners' Council 
for Children with Disabilities (PCCD).

5. Participate in the provision of in-service, 
technical assistance and dissemination of 
relevant information to staff serving children 
with disabilities.

6. Participate in and conduct training activities with 
appropriate staff concerning this Agreement and 
its implementation.

7. Disseminate a memorandum from the Secretary, 
Department of Services for Children, Youth and 
Their Families (DSCYF), to appropriate staff 
regarding this Agreement, and specify its impact 
on agencies.

8. Request state funding annually and no later than 
December 31st sufficient for the provision of a 
free appropriate public education to children with 
disabilities served by DSCYF. 

9. Follow protocols established by DOE to satisfy 
the required federal reporting requirements 
including the December 1 federal count for those 
children with disabilities served in programs 
located in-state and out-of-state, and who may 
qualify for federal funds in accordance with the 
IDEA.

10. Develop and submit annually to DOE, proposals 
to supplement services to children with 
disabilities including, but not limited to the IDEA 
subgrant application.

11. In cooperation with the DOE, develop and 
implement additional Interagency Agreements, 
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as needed, with LEAS, Charter Schools, and 
other public and private agencies to ensure a free, 
appropriate public education for children with 
disabilities under the jurisdiction of DSCYF.

Compliance Monitoring and Program Approval 
(DSCYF)

DSCYF shall:

1. Ensure the participation of all special education 
programs serving children with disabilities that 
are operated directly or by contractual 
arrangement in the appropriate DOE monitoring 
activities, in order to assess and assure 
compliance with State and federal regulations 
relating to the education of children with 
disabilities.
a. In-state special education programs that are 
operated directly by DSCYF shall be included in 
the Continuous Improvement Compliance 
Monitoring System (CCMS) of the DOE.
b. In-state contracted programs providing 
educational services to children with disabilities 
must be included in the DOE review process for 
the Approval of Private Facilities.
c. For out-of state programs serving children 
with disabilities under contract with DSCYF, the 
agency shall maintain the following 
documentation: 

i. vendor approval to provide special 
education from the state in which the facility is 
located, and 

ii. vendor assurances that teachers and 
related service personnel are qualified to serve 
children with disabilities in the state in which the 
facility is located.

Department of Education (DOE)

DOE agrees to carry out the responsibilities listed 
below in line with its general supervisory responsibility 
for educational programs for children with disabilities, 
including those under the jurisdiction of DSCYF as 
defined in this Agreement.  

DOE shall:

1. Disseminate new or revised regulations and 
provide technical assistance and in-service 
training, as appropriate, to DSCYF on state and 
federal regulations pertaining to the education of 
children with disabilities.

2. Provide technical assistance relative to the 
development of the  policies and procedures of 
DSCYF.

3. Review and approve the policies and procedures 
by which applicable state and federal regulations 
relating to the education of children with 
disabilities are implemented for all programs 
under DSCYF jurisdiction that serve children 
with disabilities.

4. Review vendor files maintained by DSCYF for 
out of state vendors to confirm policies and 
procedures are in place to ensure compliance 
with the IDEA.  Copies of such reviews shall be 
forwarded to the DSCYF Supervisor of 
Educational Services and made available to 
LEAs and Charter Schools upon request. 
Reviews will be conducted:
a. within six months of signature of this 
agreement;
b. during the first year a new out-of-state 
vendor is approved;
c. every three years thereafter, or sooner if 
requested.

5. Conduct onsite reviews in conjunction with 
DSCYF as follows:
a. for in-state programs serving children with 
disabilities, the CCMS (four-year cycle) for state 
operated programs or the Approval of Private 
Facilities process (three-year cycle) for private 
vendors;
b. for out-of-State programs serving children 
with disabilities, co-visit with DSCYF staff, and 
LEA or Charter School representatives as 
appropriate, contracted sites, as conditions 
warrant, and according to staff and resources 
availability. Visits shall focus on the provision of 
FAPE by the vendor. The results of the visit shall 
be incorporated, where appropriate, in a report 
copied to the DSCYF Supervisor of Educational 
Services, the LEA or Charter School, and the 
vendor;
c. DOE shall include in the LEA's and Charter 
School CCMS monitoring procedures, methods 
to review a sample of files of DSCYF placed 
students.

6. Disseminate this Agreement, and provide 
training to the LEAs and Charter Schools and 
other appropriate staff on the implementation of 
this Agreement.  DOE and DSCYF will develop 
a training plan and timelines toward 
implementation within six months of signature of 
the Agreement.

7. Provide technical assistance to DSCYF and 
review and approve proposals for federal funds 
based upon the annual count of students served, 
to supplement services for children with 
disabilities, and to provide technical assistance to 
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obtain such funds.
8. Provide technical assistance to DSCYF in the 

development of Interagency Agreements, as 
needed, with school districts, Charter Schools 
and other public and private agencies to ensure a 
free, appropriate, public education for all children 
with disabilities under the jurisdiction of DSCYF.

9. Coordinate with DSCYF in the development of 
such additional policies and procedures as may 
be needed to ensure the provision of a FAPE for 
children with disabilities served by DSCYF.

Local Education Agencies and Charter Schools

Local Education Agencies (LEAs) and Charter Schools 
agree to carry out the activities listed below in line with their 
responsibility for educational services for children with 
disabilities identified as being the responsibility of that LEA 
or Charter School.  Such students include those under the 
jurisdiction of DSCYF as defined in this Agreement. 
Activities that discharge LEA and Charter School 
responsibilities include but are not limited to, the following. 
LEAs and Charter Schools will:

1. Identify a LEA or Charter School contact person 
to interface with appropriate DSCYF staff in the 
provision of a free, appropriate, public education 
(FAPE) for those children with disabilities for 
whom DSCYF provides special education 
services in programs located either in-state or 
out-of-state.

2. Forward student records to DSCYF within ten 
business days of DSCYF notification that a LEA 
or Charter School student will be admitted to a 
vendor-operated in-state or out-of-state facility. 
Records shall include (a) the current IEP, (b) the 
current Evaluation Report, and (c) the current 
psycho-educational evaluation.  LEA or Charter 
School contact information will accompany each 
record.

3. Review each student IEP within thirty days of 
receipt and advise the vendor of any issues 
related to the provision of a FAPE based upon the 
IEP.  Such review shall constitute a desk audit of 
the status of the individual student with regard to 
the provision of FAPE.  A copy of identified 
issues shall be sent to the DSCYF Supervisor of 
Educational Services.

4. Conduct in conjunction with DSCYF, onsite 
monitoring of their students in lieu of the desk 
audit described in the preceding paragraph.  Such 
visits shall be arranged with DSCYF and the 
vendor.  Copies of any reports resulting from the 
onsite monitoring shall be sent to the vendor, 
DOE, and the DSCYF Supervisor of Educational 

Services.
5. Cooperate in the development of plans for 

student transition back into a LEA or Charter 
School when advance notice of the student's 
impending return is provided to them at least ten 
business days prior to the projected return date.

6. Develop procedures for implementing the LEA 
and Charter School responsibilities described in 
this Agreement.

7. Participate in in-service training and technical 
assistance provided by DSCYF and DOE 
relevant to the provision of FAPE to children 
with disabilities covered by this Agreement.

V. Procedures to Resolve Disputes Regarding Program 
and Fiscal Issued [34 CFR §300.142(A)(3)]

1. All attempts should be made to resolve disputes at 
the program implementation level.

2. When disputes cannot be resolved at the lowest 
operational level, they shall be referred, in writing, to the 
State Director of the Exceptional Children and Early 
Childhood Education Group, DDOE; the Director of the 
Division of Management Support Services, DSCYF; and the 
Superintendent of the School District or CEO of the Charter 
School involved.  These individuals will review the situation 
and determine how the dispute should be resolved.  Their 
decision shall be shared, in writing, with the parties involved 
in the dispute within thirty (30) days of receipt of the 
request.

3. If the dispute cannot be resolved as described in 
V.2, the dispute shall be referred in writing to the Cabinet 
Secretary, DDOE; the Cabinet Secretary, DSCYF; and the 
President of the Chief School Officer's Association.  Further, 
any party to this Interagency Agreement disagreeing with the 
decision reached in step V.2 may submit a written request for 
review within thirty (30) days of the decision to the Cabinet 
Secretary, DDOE; the Cabinet Secretary, DSCYF and the 
President of the Chief School Officer's Association, or other 
member of the Chief School Officer's Association, outlining 
their specific disagreement with the decision.  The Cabinet 
Secretaries' and the President's decision shall be final and 
binding on all parties and shall be communicated, in writing, 
to all parties within thirty (30) days of referral of the matter 
to them or request for review.

4. This Interagency Agreement does not restrict or 
otherwise limit any additional rights or remedies any party 
may have under state or federal law, nor extend the rights or 
remedies of any party to the other. This Interagency 
Agreement does not restrict or otherwise limit the Delaware 
Department of Education's general supervisory authority to 
ensure that the requirements of state and federal law 
concerning the education of children with disabilities are 
carried out.
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VI. Agreement Review

This Agreement shall be effective immediately upon the 
written signatures of all parties and shall remain in effect 
until a new Agreement is signed or is otherwise terminated 
in accordance with this section.  This Agreement shall be 
reviewed annually by appropriate personnel from the 
Department of Education, the Department of Services for 
Children Youth and Their Families, and the Local Education 
Agencies and Charter Schools.  Parties to this Agreement 
may request that all or part of it be renegotiated at any time 
for good cause, upon the written request of any of the 
participating agencies.  This Agreement may be terminated 
by any party upon ninety (90) days written notice.
 
SIGNATURE AND TITLE OF EACH AUTHORIZED 

AGENCY AND SCHOOL DISTRICT 
ADMINISTRATOR

Agency

Mrs. Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education
Department of Education

Ms. Cari DeSantis, Secretary
Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their 
Families

Dr. Nancy J. Wilson, Associate State Secretary
Curriculum & Instructional Improvement
Department of Education

Dr. Martha Brooks, State Director
Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Education
Department of Education

School Districts

Mr. Tony J. Marchio, Superintendent
Appoquinimink School District

Dr. Bruce Harter, Superintendent
Brandywine School District

Dr. Harold Roberts, Superintendent
Caesar Rodney School District

Dr. Dane A. Brandenberger, Superintendent
Cape Henlopen School District

Dr. Michael D. Thomas, Superintendent
Capital School District

Dr. Joseph Wise, Superintendent
Christina School District

Dr. George Meney, Superintendent
Colonial School District

Dr. George E. Stone, Superintendent
Delmar School District

Mrs. Lois M. Hobbs, Superintendent
Indian River School District

Dr. Daniel Curry, Superintendent
Lake Forest School District

Mr. Keith Duda, Superintendent
Laurel School District

Dr. Robert D. Smith, III, Superintendent
Milford School District

Dr. Steve Godowski, Superintendent
New Castle County Vo-Tech School District

Dr. Diane G. Sole, Superintendent
Polytech School District

Dr. Robert Andrzejewski, Superintendent
Red Clay Consolidated School District

Dr. Russell H. Knorr, Superintendent
Seaford School District

Mrs. Deborah D. Wicks, Superintendent
Smyrna School District

Dr. Patrick Savini, Superintendent
Sussex Technical School District

Dr. Kevin E. Carson, Superintendent
Woodbridge School District

Charter Schools

Mr. Leonard Litzi
Academy of Dover Charter School

Mr. Allen Zipke
Campus Community Charter School

Mr. Ron Russo
Charter School of Wilmington

Mr. Charles Baldwin
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Delaware Military Academy

Mr. Will Robinson
East Side Charter School

Mr. Charles Hughes
Thomas A. Edison Charter School

Ms. Catherine Sielski
Kuumba Academy Charter School

Mr. John Taylor
Marion T. Academy Charter School

Ms. Martha Clark
MOT Charter School

Mr. Greg Meece
Newark Charter School

Ms. Linda M. Fleetwood
Positive Outcomes Charter School

Ms. Audrey Erschen
Providence Creek Academy 
Charter School

Dr. Nancy Feichtl
Sussex Academy of Arts and Sciences

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION

Delaware Coastal Management Program Policy Update

The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control’s (DNREC) Delaware Coastal
Management Program (DCMP) has completed the first
portion of the update of its enforceable policies, pursuant to
15 C.F.R. §923.84(b), incorporating changes occurring in
State statutes and Executive Orders since the Programs last
update in September 1998.  As dictated by the National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), the
DCMP must routinely update its policies to maintain the
authority to manage the coastal resources of Delaware and
evaluate federal activities, permits and plans to the
maximum extent to ensure practicable consistency by those
pursuing these actions.  

5.A.3. Coastal Waters Management
CMP Policies for Coastal Waters Management

(24) No permit for the activities identified above shall be
granted unless the activities are consistent with county and
municipal zoning regulations.
[Authority - 7 Delaware Code 6003(c) (1)]

5.A.4. Subaqueous Lands and Coastal Strip Management
CMP Policies for Subaqueous Lands and Coastal Strip
Management

(17)  Subaqueous lands within the boundaries of Delaware
constitute an important resource of the State and require
protection against uses or changes which may impair the
public interest in the use of tidal or navigable nontidal
waters. 
[Authority - 7 Delaware Code 7201].

5.B.2. Natural Areas Management
CMP Policies for Natural Areas Management

(16) The Office of State Planning Coordination shall
consider areas registered pursuant to policy number three
during the preparation or amendment of the statewide plan
designating critical areas pursuant to Title 29, Chapter 92 of
the Delaware Code. [Authority - Executive Order No. 43,
August 15, 1996; 29 Delaware Code 9201 and 9202(4)]

5.B.3. Flood Hazard Areas Management
CMP Policies for Flood Hazard Areas Management

(6) State agencies shall to the maximum extent possible
minimize the threat posed by flood hazards for the following
activities:  (1) the construction of state buildings, structures,
roads or other facilities; (2) the administration of grant or
loan programs involving such construction by other
governmental entities or private parties; (3) the transfer of
lands or other properties; and (4) programs which affect or
influence land development. 
[Authority - Executive Order Number 29, September 6,
1977, Executive Order Number 48, February 27, 1978 and
Executive Order Number 43, August 15, 1996; 29 Delaware
Code 9225]

5.C.1. Woodlands and Agricultural Lands Policies
CMP Woodlands Policies 

(2) The General Assembly finds and declares that the pine
and yellow-poplar forest resource of the State provides
significant recreational, aesthetic, wildlife and
environmental benefits as well as wood fiber essential to
commerce and industry for the citizens of the State.  The
General Assembly has also determined that the pine and
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hardwood forest resources are being harvested at a greater
rate than they are being replanted or reproduced and unless
measures are instituted to ensure that the forest resources are
sustained, this natural resource will be depleted to the
detriment of the citizens of the State.  It is, therefore, the
declared public policy of this State to preserve and protect
the pine and yellow-poplar forest resources of the State.
[Authority – 7 3 Delaware Code 2965 1051]

(3) No person shall commence a cutting operation unless
seed trees have been reserved pursuant to the natural
regeneration method set forth herein or pursuant to an
alternate management plan approved by the State Forester or
his designee.  This policy shall not apply to cutting
operations of timber from land being cleared for reservoirs,
military installations, agriculture, residential, ditch and
utility right-of-ways, industrial sites, railroads or to cutting
operations undertaken pursuant to a contract executed prior
to January 1, 1989.
[Authority – 7 3 Delaware Code 2967 1053 (a and b)]

(4) No person shall cut or permit to be cut any pine or
yellow-poplar tree or seedling required to be reserved for
reseeding or planted under a reforestation plan or perform
any act or permit any act to be performed which prevents
reseeding or reforestation of any area in which a cutting
operation has been conducted.
[Authority – 7 3 Delaware Code 2970 1056]

CMP Policies for Silviculture

(1) - The Forestry Administration shall provide for the
protection of the waters of the State from pollution by
sediment deposits resulting from silviculture activities as
provided in §2978 in Title 7 §1072 of Title 3.  Through the
adoption of subchapter VI, the State recognizes that water
quality protection techniques for silviculture practices are an
integral component of properly managed forests.  Further,
the State recognizes the positive benefits that properly
managed forest systems have on the environment, water
quality and quality of life in Delaware.
[Authority -7 3 Delaware Code 2977 1071]

(2) - Special orders can be issued if the Forestry
Administrator, or Forestry Administrator’s designee, finds
that any owner or operator is conducting any silviculture
activity in a manner which is causing or is likely to cause
alteration of physical, chemical or biological properties of
any state water, resulting from sediment deposition
presenting an imminent and substantial danger to (a) the
public health, safety, or welfare, or the health of animals, fish
or aquatic life; (b) a public water supply; or (c) recreational,
commercial, industrial, agricultural or other reasonable uses.
[Authority – 7 3 Delaware Code 2980 1073]

5.D.11 CMP Policies for Waste Disposal
CMP Policies for the Cleanup of Hazardous Substances

(5) Hazardous substance means: a. Any hazardous waste as
defined in Chapter 63 of Title 7;  b. Any hazardous substance
as defined in CERCLA; or c. Any substance determined by
the Secretary through regulation to present a risk to public
health or welfare or the environment if released into the
environment.
[Authority – 7 Delaware Code 9103 (9) (1)]
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DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE 
SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF NURSING

24 DE Admin. Code 1900

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Nursing in accordance with 24
Del.C. §1906(1) has proposed to promulgate Rules and
Regulations related to Intravascular Therapy by Licensed
Nurses.

These proposed rules and regulations which have been
developed by the Board define intravascular therapy
practices  for licensed nurses. Peripheral and central line
management, including special procedures such as
chemotherapy and epidural catheter management are
included.

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, October
13, 2004 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor Conference Room
A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware.

Anyone desiring a copy of the proposed new section of
the Rules and Regulations may obtain a copy from the
Delaware Board of Nursing, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard,
Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE  19904, (302) 744-
4515 or (302) 744-4516.  Persons desiring to submit written
comments on the revised rules and regulations may forward
these comments to the above address.  The final date to
receive written comments will be October 13, 2004.

The Delaware Board of Nursing proposes to add
language regarding Intravascular Therapy to Section 7,
Standards of Nursing Practice, within its Rules and
Regulations.

BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK
24 DE Admin. Code 5300

PUBLIC NOTICE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 5306(1), the Delaware
Board of Massage and Bodywork proposes to revise its rules
and regulations. The proposed revisions implement changes
to the rules necessary to conform to the statutory changes
resulting from House Bill 208 as amended by House
Amendment No. 1 and Senate Amendment No.1.  The
revisions clarify the requirements of the change from a 100
hour course to a 300 hour course for certification as a
massage technician; the requirements for temporary massage

technician certification; incorporate continuing education
requirements for renewal of lapsed licenses; and outline the
requirements for placing a license on inactive status.  In
addition, the Board is proposing to revise the rules on
continuing education to require that all continuing education
must be pre-approved by the Board.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Thursday, October 7, 2004 at 2:00 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.

Any written comments should be submitted to the Board
in care of Caitlin Mears, Administrative Specialist, Division
of Professional Regulation, at the above address. The final
date to submit written comments shall be at the scheduled
public hearing.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly
meeting on Thursday, September 16, 2004 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Child Care Subsidy Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding child care purchase of care policy, as it
relates specifically to compensation, method of payment,
and collection of fees.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O.
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware by October 1st, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
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of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

The proposed rule will allow providers to charge DSS
fee paying clients the difference between the DSS
determined parent fee and the provider’s private fee.
Providers will not be allowed to charge non-fee paying
clients the difference.  

The proposed changes will also allow self-arrange
parents whose provider does not have a subsidy slot
available to opt to pay only the difference between the DSS
rate and the provider’s private rate.  Thus eliminating the 4
to 6 week wait for DSS client reimbursement. 

The proposed changes will be incorporated into the
Division of Social Services Child Care Contract (Section IV,
Method of Payment, and Collection of Fees, Paragraph J)
and the Division of Social Services Child Care Certificate
Provider Agreement and Registration Form (Section II, Fees,
Paragraph C).

Implementation of the proposed provisions on
November 10th, 2004 is contingent upon promulgation of
this rule.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Notice Of Public Hearing

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H.
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING
will be held on Tuesday, October 5, 2004, at 10:00 AM in the
Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware. The hearing is to consider amending Regulation
504 relating to Continuing Education for Insurance Agents,
Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers.

The purpose for amending Regulation 504 is to change
certain course requirements relating to continuing education
for licensed producers, to modernize and streamline course
approval procedures, to change reciprocity guidelines to
reflect changes in policy and law, and to make technical
corrections and changes to the existing regulation.  The
foregoing purposes are general in nature and do not include
all specific changes to the existing regulation.  The proposed
amendments are designed to incorporate the changes to
continuing education standards for producers approved by
the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.  A
copy of the proposed regulation is on the Delaware
Department of Insurance website at http://www.state.de.us/
inscom/

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 18
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures

Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or
may be presented orally at the Hearing. Written comments,
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed
change to the regulation must be received by the Department
of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Monday October 4,
2004, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, telephone
302.739.4251.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on
Wednesday, September 1, 2004 at 9:30 a.m. at the
Commission’s offices, 25 State Police Drive, West Trenton,
New Jersey.  For more information contact Pamela M. Bush,
Esq., Commission Secretary and Assistant General Counsel,
at 609-883-9500 extension 203.
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