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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

6 DE Reg. 1541-1542 (06/01/03)

Refers to Volume 6, pages 1541-1542 of the
Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2003.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PHARMACY

24 DE Admin. Code 2500
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 

Section 2509 (24 Del. C. 2509)

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
§2509, the Delaware Board of Pharmacy (Board)  proposes
to modify Regulation  11.0  as it relates to emergency use
medication, labeling, consultant pharmacist duties, and drug
disposal in nursing homes.  The changes to Regulation 11
were made in response to public comment from an earlier
proposal that was not enacted.

A public hearing will be held on October 8, 2003  at
10:00 a.m. in the Jesse Cooper Building, Room 309 (third
floor conference room), Federal and Water Streets, Dover,
DE 19901. Written comments can be submitted at any time
prior to the public hearing in care of David Dryden,
Executive Director, at the above address.   In addition to
publication in the Register of Regulations and two
newspapers of general circulation, copies of the proposed
regulation can be obtained  by calling (302)739-4798.

PROPOSED CHANGES

11.0 Pharmaceutical Services in Nursing Homes
11.1 Definition:  A nursing home is an institution

licensed by the State Board of Health Division of Public
Health that provides permanent facilities that include in-

patient beds and medical services, including continuous
nursing services, to provide treatment for patients who do
not currently require continuous hospital services.  Rest -
Residential and Assisted Living  beds in licensed nursing
homes are exempt from this regulation.  They are considered
under Health Care Facilities.

11.2 General Requirements
11.2.1 Each administrator facility shall provide

within the facility, a cabinet or medication carts for
individual patient medications prescriptions.  These storage
units shall be of sufficient size and located where easily
accessible.  They shall be locked when not in use and the key
and/or code for  for the lock of the storage unit shall be
carried by or be accessible only to registered nurses, licensed
practical nurses or pharmacists. Controlled substances
storage shall be in compliance with State and Federal
statutes and regulations.

11.2.2 All bleaches, detergents, disinfectants, and
external preparations so labeled shall be kept in a separate
locked cabinet, compartment, or room apart from medicines,
drugs or foods. Internal medications must be stored
separately from external medications.

11.2.3 Adequate refrigeration (36° to 46°
Fahrenheit) must be used to store medications requiring
refrigeration. Medications requiring refrigeration must be
stored within the USP/NF refrigeration temperature range of
36 to 46 degrees Fahrenheit. 

11.2.4 Medications which require room
temperature storage must be maintained at either USP/NF
ranges of 59 to 86 degrees Fahrenheit or the manufacturer's
labeled range.

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.
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11.2.5 No persons except properly authorized
licensed personnel shall handle or administer medications
"caution legend drugs" from individual prescriptions.

11.2.6 Schedule II substances shall be secured
under two locks in securely, fixed boxes or drawers in the
medication storage area, medication cart, interim or
emergency use medication supplies. These are to be kept
separate from non-controlled medications.  There shall be
accountability procedures for all Schedule II substances
present.

11.2.7 There shall be accountability procedures
for all controlled substances present. There shall be readily
retrievable records maintained showing the receipt and
disposition of all controlled substances.  These records must
be maintained for 2 years.

11.3 Stock Medication Emergency Use Medications
11.3.1  Non-legend medications:

11.3.1.1 A minimal amount of non-legend
drugs may be kept as stock supply.

11.3.1.2 If accountabilities for individual
patients are found to be inadequate upon inspection, then the
stock non-legend medications may be subject to limitations.

11.3.2 Legend medications - Emergency, IV, and
Anaphylactic supplies

11.3.2.1 Certain legend medications for
emergency use may be stocked by the nursing home subject
to Board approval.

11.3.2.2 Emergency use medications are those
which may be required to meet the immediate therapeutic
needs of patients and which are not available from any other
authorized source in sufficient time to prevent risk or harm
to patients by delay resulting from obtaining such drugs from
other sources.

11.3.2.3 IV's and vaccines must be submitted
on an IV interim stock list.

11.3.2.4 Only one IV box may be maintained
at the facility, unless an exemption is granted by the Board.
The number of Anaphylaxis or Emergency boxes must also
be submitted for Board approval.

11.3.2.5 If there is no specific accountability
procedure at the facility for needles and syringes then these
must be submitted on an IV or emergency box list for
approval. These are legend items in the State of Delaware.

11.3.3 Legend medications - Interim supply
The criteria for legend interim medications

requiring Board approval are as follows:
11.3.3.1 The interim supply may consist of

medications selected from the following categories:
11.3.3.1.1 antibiotics
11.3.3.1.2 pain medications
11.3.3.1.3 antidiarrheal
11.3.3.1.4 cold/cough/antihistamines
11.3.3.1.5 antiemetics
11.3.3.1.6 antihypertensive

11.3.3.1.7 anticonvulsants
11.3.3.1.8 antidiabetic agents
11.3.3.1.9 cardiovascular drugs
11.3.3.1.10 respiratory/bronchodilators
11.3.3.1.11 sedatives/hypnotics
11.3.3.1.12 anticoagulants
11.3.3.1.13 H2 antagonists

11.3.3.2 The pharmacy, medical, and
nursing staff committee may select a maximum quantity of 6
dosage units for items present in this supply.

11.3.3.3 There can be no more than a total
of 60 legend items present in this interim supply.

11.3.3.4 Only one interim box may be
maintained at the facility, unless an exemption is granted by
the Board.  A request for an additional box or supply must be
submitted to the Executive Secretary of the Board for
approval.

11.3.1 Emergency use medications are those
which may be required to meet the immediate therapeutic
needs of patients, as determined by the prescriber, and which
are not available from any other authorized source in
sufficient time to prevent risk or harm to patients by delay
resulting from obtaining such drugs from other sources.

11.3.2 It is the responsibility of the facility and
provider pharmacy to determine the supply of emergency
use medication that are to be stocked as well as documenting
their locations within the facility.  A list of current contents
must be attached to the medication supply.

11.3.3 Accountability for emergency use
medications.

11.3.3.1 The pharmacy provider must be
contacted within 24 hours after medication is used from the
supply and the pharmacy must restock the supply within a
reasonable time to prevent harm to patients.

11.3.3.2 The provider pharmacy is
responsible for the accuracy of all emergency use
medications at the time of the filling of the medication.  This
check must also include any medication that became
available when the medication is accessed.  Records
documenting use of an emergency medication must be kept
for a minimum of 2 years at the provider pharmacy and must
be readily available for inspection by the Board.

11.3.3.3 Failure to comply with these
procedures can result in the suspension or denial of the use
of emergency use medications.

11.3.3.4 Violations of accountability
procedures for emergency use medications may result in
review proceedings before the Board.

11.3.4 Approved lists for legend drug boxes
There must be an accountability procedure at the facility for
needles and syringes.

11.3.4.1 The most current approved
signed list or lists for each box must be maintained in the
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pharmacy, attached to the box or boxes in the facility, and
shall become part of the Policy and Procedures manual.

11.3.4.2 When additions or deletions are made,
then a complete revised list must be submitted for Board
approval.

11.3.5 Accountability for legend stock usage
11.3.5.1 The pharmacy provider must be

contacted within 24 hours after medication is used from the
supply.  The pharmacist shall review the records of new or
changed orders to assure appropriateness.  These records
must indicate the patient name, location, name of
medication, strength, quantity removed, date, time and
nurses' signature.

11.3.5.2 Failure to comply with all aspects and
intent of these procedures outlined can result in the
revocation, suspension, or denial of the privilege of having
controlled substances present in these supplies.

11.3.5.3 Continuous violations of
accountability procedures for the non controlled legend
medications may result in review proceedings before the
Board of Pharmacy.

11.4  Return Medication Procedures
11.4.1 All unused portions of any patient's

discontinued prescription medication shall be immediately
isolated. Non-controlled medication shall be destroyed or
and returned to the pharmacist or provider pharmacy
supplying pharmaceutical services within 72 hours with the
appropriate notation of such returns for disposal disposition.
The notation shall include the date, quantity, and name and
strength of the medication.

11.4.2 Medications for hospitalized patients must
be isolated, and may be held until the patient’s return or
permanent discharge.

11.4.2  11.4.3 Destruction of discontinued
controlled patient medication and discharged or deceased
patient's controlled medication may be jointly performed by
the consultant pharmacist or provider pharmacist with a
designated nurse witness if shall be jointly performed by two
authorized licensed personnel within 72 hours of the
discontinuation of the medication or discharge of the patient.
A record of the destruction must be signed by both parties
and kept at the facility for 2 years.

11.5  Labeling
11.5.1 Labels on controlled substances must

show the actual refill date and amount of medication
dispensed.

11.5.2 If a unit dose system is used, then the
provider pharmacy must maintain prescription records
required by State and Federal law in addition to  a readily
retrievable record of the actual refills, amount dispensed and
accountability of the amounts used.

11.5.3 A pharmacy providing prescriptions for
inpatient use in a nursing home may label the prescription,

"to be administered according to current physician's orders"
provided that:

11.5.3.1 The MAR accurately reflects the
prescriber's current orders.

11.5.3.2 The pharmacy is informed of any
change in directions  within twenty-four (24) hours and
promptly records the change on the patient's profile.
Prescriptions for leave of absence or discharge must be
labeled in compliance with 24 Del.C. §2536.

11.5.4 A change in a medication order that
involves a direction change must be communicated to the
pharmacy within 24 hours, and the labeling on medication
currently in the facility may be handled in the following
ways:

11.5.4.1 A licensed nurse or pharmacist may
apply an accessory label to the medication which denotes
that there has been a direction change.

11.5.4.2 A label(s) with new directions may be
requested from the pharmacy and applied to the current
medication supply by a licensed nurse or pharmacist.

11.6  Duties of Consultant Pharmacist (CP)
11.6.1 A consultant pharmacist (CP) to a nursing

home in the State of Delaware must be licensed to practice
pharmacy in the State of Delaware.  The consultant
pharmacist shall be responsible for the general supervision
of the nursing home pharmaceutical services and the direct
supervision of registered pharmacy interns, who may assist
in chart reviews.  Supervision of chart reviews by a
pharmacy intern must be documented by the supervising
pharmacist.

11.6.2 The consultant pharmacist shall provide
the administrator of a nursing home with a statement
indicating those minimum professional services that will be
provided.  This statement shall be incorporated into the
nursing home Pharmacy  Policy and Procedure Manual.

11.6.3 When a pharmacist becomes the
consultant to a nursing home, he or she The consultant
pharmacist must notify the Board in writing within ten days
of the starting date starting as a consultant in the State. The
Delaware State Board of Pharmacy shall be notified in
writing within ten days by the consultant pharmacist of
termination of said services.

11.6.3.1 If the consultant pharmacist has not
served in that position in the State of Delaware, he/she must
appear before the Board for an interview within ninety days
after assuming that position.

11.6.4 The consultant pharmacist shall be
responsible for written policies and procedures which shall
include, but not be limited to:

11.6.4.1 Procedures for administering the
services outlined in the statement of proposed services.

11.6.4.2 Policies governing practitioner
medication orders, medication errors, automatic stop orders,
medications for patient discharge and leave of absence.
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11.6.4.3 Policies and procedures necessary to
insure the safe use, administration, control and
accountability of all drugs through out the nursing home in
compliance with State and Federal laws.

11.6.4.4 Policies and procedures outlining the
destruction of wastage for all controlled medications.

11.6.4.5 Policies governing appropriate
storage of medications, an effective drug recall procedure
and labeling of all prescription drugs and biologicals in
accordance with State and Federal requirements.  For
registered out-of-state providers an additional labeling
requirement is having the toll-free telephone number on the
prescription labels.

11.6.4.6 Policies and procedures governing
patient drug regimen review, which shall include procedures
for reporting irregularities, and documenting that such
reviews have been performed.  The provider pharmacy is to
receive copies of all practitioners’ orders to be reviewed with
the information on the patient profiles.

11.6.4 The CP shall be responsible for the
development of written policies and procedures which shall
include, but not be limited to:

11.6.4.1 Procedures for administering the
services outlined in the statement of proposed services.

11.6.4.2 Policies governing physician
medication orders; automatic stop orders; medications for
patient discharge and leave of absence emergency;
medication orders.

11.6.4.3 Policies and procedures necessary to
insure the safe use, administration, control and
accountability of all drugs throughout the nursing home in
compliance with Federal and State laws.

11.6.4.4 Policies and procedures outlining the
return or destruction on site of wastage for all controlled
substances.

11.6.4.5 Policies governing appropriate
storage of medications, an effective drug recall procedure,
and labeling of all prescription drugs and biologicals in
accordance with Federal and State requirements.  For
registered out-of-state providers an additional labeling
requirement is having their toll-free telephone number on the
prescription labels.

11.6.4.6 Policies and procedures governing
patient drug regimen reviews, which shall include
procedures for reporting irregularities, and documenting that
such reviews have been performed.  The provider pharmacy
is to receive copies of all physicians' orders to be reviewed
with the information on the patient profiles.

11.6.5 If the nursing home has a pharmacy or
quality related committee Pharmacy and Therapeutics
Committee or Quality Assurance or Assessment Committee,
the consultant pharmacist  CP shall serve on that committee.

11.6.6 The consultant pharmacist or designated
pharmacy staff shall make inspections of each nursing

station and related drug storage areas at least monthly.   A
pharmacy support person may assist with inspection under
the direct supervision of a pharmacist.  Nursing station
inspections must include, but are not limited to the following
: (1) Documentation of medication storage area(s) (59 to 86
Fahrenheit) and refrigerator temperatures (36 to 46 degrees
Fahrenheit), (2) documentation of security of all drugs (e.g.
medication room cabinets, carts, Board approved drug
boxes),(3) proper labeling, including any accessory or
cautionary instructions, (4) proper expiration  dates, (5)
cleanliness,(6) accountability of all medication and (7)
interim, emergency, IV, anaphylactic boxes or kits are
properly maintained.  A copy of these inspection reports
must be maintained at the facility.

11.6.6.1 Nursing station inspections must
include, but are not limited to, documentation of the
following:

11.6.6.1.1 medication storage area(s)
(59 to 86 degrees Fahrenheit) and refrigerator temperatures
(36 to 46 degrees Fahrenheit);

11.6.6.1.2 security of all drugs;
11.6.6.1.3 proper labeling, including

any accessory or cautionary instructions;
11.6.6.1.4 proper expiration dating;
11.6.6.1.5 cleanliness;
11.6.6.1.6 emergency use medication

supplies are properly maintained.
11.6.6.2 A copy of these inspection reports

must be maintained at the facility for two years.
11.6.7 The consultant pharmacist shall review the

drug regimen of each patient monthly at the facility.  Each
patient's chart will be reviewed at the facility.
Documentation of the review is accomplished in the
following manner:

11.6.7.1 If the pharmacist determines that
there are no irregularities in the patient's drug regimen, he/
she must note in the patient's chart that he/she  has reviewed
the drug regimen, found no irregularities, and sign and date
this notation.  This documentation must remain on the
patients' charts for a minimum of 12 months.

11.6.7.2 If the pharmacist determines that
there are irregularities, he/she must prepare a drug regimen
review report summary which includes any pertinent
information such as the patient's diagnosis(es), the drug
regimen, any pertinent laboratory findings, dietary
considerations, etc., and his/her recommendations for
improving the drug therapy of the patient. This written
recommendation shall be forwarded to the attending
practitioner, with the original documentation maintained in
the patient chart.  The written summaries must be maintained
in the facility.  A copy must be sent to the Medical Director,
attending physician, Administrator and the Director of
Nursing.
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11.6.7.3 Nursing unit inspections and a
summary report of patient drug regimen reviews must be
submitted to the Director of Nursing and the Administrator
monthly.

11.6.8 The consultant pharmacist is responsible
for the accountability of all medications. A random sample
will be done monthly to identify overages or shortages of
any medications. Documentation will be made of
irregularities and will include date of audit, patient
identification, a listing of overages or shortages, and an
explanation if known.  A plan for correction will be included
in the documentation where appropriate.  Documentation
will be maintained for a period of 12 months at the facility.

11.6.9  1.6.8 The consultant pharmacist CP shall be
responsible for providing information to the nursing home
staff, as may be appropriate or required, to ensure safety,
understanding and compliance with policies and procedures
pertaining to pharmacy-related activities and concerns.

11.6.10  11.6.9 The consultant pharmacist CP
shall assume all other responsibilities required of a
consultant pharmacist CP as set forth in any State or Federal
or State statutes or regulations as enacted or amended or may
be enacted or amended.

Notwithstanding this Regulation, nothing in the
Regulation shall render a practice unlawful which is required
by Federal regulation.

* PLEASE NOTE:  AS THE REST OF THE SECTIONS WERE
NOT AMENDED THEY ARE NOT BEING PUBLISHED.  A
COMPLETE SET OF THE BOARD OF PHARMACY
REGULATIONS ARE AVAILABLE AT:

http://www.state.de.us/research/profreg/Frame.htm

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  26 Delaware Code,

Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

ORDER NO.  6217

This 22nd day of July, 2003, the Commission
determines and Orders the following:

1. In PSC Order No 5704 (April 24, 2001), this
Commission proposed to adopt “Electric Service Reliability
and Quality Standards” to establish additional reliability
standards for Commission-regulated electric utilities and
electric distribution companies.1  In that Order, the

Commission directed the publication of these proposed
regulations and assigned to a Hearing Examiner the tasks of
reviewing comments, conducting public hearings, and
preparing a Report with his recommendations concerning the
proposed regulations.  The proposed regulations were
published in 4 DE Reg. 1929 (June 1, 2001).

2. The Commission, in Order No. 5704, also
established a procedural schedule that contemplated
expedited consideration of the proposed regulations.
However, later, in PSC Order No. 5766 (July 24, 2001), the
Commission (acting on Staff's recommendation) withdrew
that earlier schedule in light of the then-pending proceedings
in PSC Dckt. No. 01-194 involving the merger of Delmarva
Power & Light Company ("DP&L").

3. Several entities filed comments in response to the
originally proposed regulations, including the Division of
the Public Advocate, DP&L, the Delaware Electric
Cooperative, Inc., and the Delaware Energy Users’ Group, a
group of industrial customers located within DP&L’s service
territory.  As a result of extensive discussions among the
participants, a consensus was reached that resulted in the
Staff offering revisions to the original proposed regulations.
After circulation among the participants, these revised
proposed regulations were submitted to the Hearing
Examiner on June 6, 2003.  No participant filed comments
with the Hearing Examiner opposing Staff’s revised
proposed regulations. 

4. In a June 27, 2003 letter, the Hearing Examiner
transmitted the revised proposed regulations to the Executive
Director and all participants with his recommendation that
the Commission now embrace Staff’s revised rules as
proposed regulations to be published and considered in
accord with rule-making procedures in the Administrative
Procedures Act ("APA").  29 Del.C. §§1132-33 & 10115-
10118. The Hearing Examiner indicated that the revised
proposed regulations should be subject to publication and
another round of comment and hearing because Staff’s
revisions reflected "substantive changes in the proposal as a
result of public comments, evidence, and information."  29
Del.C. §10118(c) (2002 Supp.). The Hearing Examiner also
commented that he considered Staff’s revisions to be
reasonable, particularly since the revised regulations reflect
a consensus reached by the participants after extensive
negotiations, numerous comments, and a contested hearing
held on April 28, 2003. The Hearing Examiner suggested
that publication of revised proposed regulations at this time -
prior to him submitting a Report based on the present
administrative record – would avoid additional delay and
ultimately expedite the consideration of this matter.

5. The Commission agrees that it is appropriate for it
to now propose to adopt Staff’s revised proposed regulations
and have those revised regulations published for comment
and hearing under the APA’s rule-making procedures.  These
revised proposed regulations (Exhibit A to this Order) will

1. The original formulation of these regulations will
be referred to as the “proposed regulations.” Staff’s
later revisions will be called the “revised proposed
regulations.” 

http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/index.html
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supersede the proposed regulations previously proffered in
PSC Order No. 5704.  In following this course, the
Commission relies on the Staff’s summary of the content of
the revised proposed rules, as set forth in the Supplemental
Comments filed by Staff on June 6, 2003, as well as the
Hearing Examiner's recommendation that we should now
proceed to publication, comments, and a hearing on Staff’s
revised proposed rules in order to allow for Commission
consideration at the earliest possible time.

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:

1. That the regulations entitled “Electric Service
Reliability and Quality Standards” proposed for adoption in
PSC Order No. 5704 (April 24, 2001), and published in 4 DE
Register 1129 (June 1, 2001), are hereby withdrawn.

2. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§209 & 1002(a)(1),
the Commission hereby, under the provisions of 29 Del.C.
§§10115-10118, proposes to adopt for electric public utilities
and electric distribution companies the rules and regulations
entitled “Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards”
as set forth in Exhibit A to this Order.

3. That the Secretary shall promptly forward a copy of
this Order, with the proposed regulations set forth in Exhibit
A, to the Delaware Registrar for publication in the next
appropriate edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations.  In addition, the Secretary shall also promptly
forward to the Delaware Registrar a copy of the public notice
attached as Exhibit B to this Order for similar publication in
the next appropriate Delaware Register of Regulations.
Third, the Secretary shall, before September 1, 2003, cause
the public notice set forth in Exhibit B to be published in the
legal classified sections of The News Journal and the
Delaware State News newspapers, in two column format
outlined in black.  Fourth, the Secretary shall send, by
United States mail, a copy of this Order, with attached
exhibits, to each person or entity that has previously filed
comments or otherwise participated in this docket.  Fifth, the
Secretary shall send a copy of this Order, with attached
exhibits, by United States mail, to the Division of the Public
Advocate and each person or entity that has previously
requested advance notice of this Commission’s regulation-
making proceedings.  Finally, the Secretary shall post a copy
of this Order, with all exhibits, on the Commission’s Internet
website under an appropriate heading indicating that the
Commission is proposing to adopt additional reliability
regulations and solicits comments on its proposal.

4. That the previously designated Hearing Examiner,
Robert P. Haynes, shall conduct a public hearing on the
proposed regulations on September 22, 2003.  After such
hearing and the close of the comment period as set forth in
Exhibit B, Hearing Examiner Haynes shall file a Report
organizing, classifying, and summarizing the administrative
record in this matter along with his recommendations
concerning the materials and the proposed regulations.

Hearing Examiner Haynes shall submit such Report at a time
to allow for its consideration by the Commission by
December 1, 2003.  Hearing Examiner Haynes is delegated
the power to request additional comments and conduct
additional hearings (after appropriate notice), if he deems
such additional procedures necessary or appropriate.

5.) The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may
be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

E X H I B I T  A
STATE OF DELAWARE

Delaware Public Service Commission
Electric Service Reliability

and Quality Standards

A. Purpose and Scope
1.) Reliable electric service is of great importance to

the Delaware Public Service Commission (“Commission”),
because it is an essential service to the citizens of Delaware.
These regulations, in support of 26 Del. C., § 1002, set forth
reliability standards and reporting requirements needed to
assure the continued reliability and quality of electric service
being delivered to Delaware customers and are applicable to
all Delaware Electric Distribution Companies (“EDCs”).

2.) Nothing in these regulations relieves any utility
from compliance with any requirement set forth under any
other regulation, statute or order.  These regulations are in
addition to those required under PSC Docket No. 58, Order
No. 103, Regulations Governing Service Supplied by
Electrical Utilities.

3.) Each EDC shall maintain the reliability of its
distribution services and shall implement procedures to
require all electric suppliers to deliver energy to the EDC at
locations and in amounts which are adequate to meet each
electric supplier's obligations to its customers.  26 Del.C.
§1008.

4.) These regulations require the maintenance and
retention of reliability data and the reporting of reliability
objectives, planned actions and projects, programs, load
studies and actual resulting performance on an annual basis,
including major events as specified in section K.

5.) EDCs are responsible for maintaining the reliability
of electric service to all their customers in the state of
Delaware.  Pursuant to this requirement, EDCs may be
subject to penalties as described in Section M.
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6.) EDCs are encouraged to explore the use of proven
state of the art technology, to promote cost effective electric
service reliability improvements.

B. Definitions
The following words and terms, as used in these

regulations, shall have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Acceptable reliability level” is defined as the
maximum acceptable limit of the System Average
Interruption Frequency Index (“SAIFI”), the Customer
Average Interruption Duration Index (“CAIDI”) and the
Forced Outage Rate as specified in Section D.

“ALM” means Active Load Management in accordance
with Article 1, Schedule 5.2 of PJM’s Reliability Assurance
Agreement (RAA).

“Availability” means the measure of time a generating
unit, transmission line, or other facility is capable of
providing service, whether or not it actually is in service.

“Beginning restoration” includes the essential or
required analysis of an interruption, the dispatching of an
individual or crew to an affected area, and their arrival at the
work site to begin the restoration process (normally inclusive
of dispatch and response times).

“Benchmark” means the standard service measure of
SAIFI, CAIDI and Forced Outage Rate as set forth in these
regulations.

“Capacity” means the rated continuous load-carrying
ability, expressed in megawatts (“MW”) or megavolt-
amperes (“MVA”) of generation, transmission, or other
electrical equipment.

“Capacity Emergency Transfer Objective
(‘CETO’)” means the amount of megawatt capacity that an
area or sub area must be able to import during localized
capacity emergency conditions such that the probability of
loss of load due to insufficient tie capability is not greater
than one day in 10 years.

“Capacity Emergency Transfer Limit (‘CETL’)”
means the amount of megawatts that can actually be
imported into the area or sub area during localized capacity
emergency conditions.

“Constrained hours of operation” means the hours of
electric system operation during which time there are limits,
transfer constraints or contingencies on the delivery system
that require off-cost dispatch of generating facilities located
within the PJM DPL Zone. In measuring compliance to
standard, total constrained hours will exclude “major events”
and forced generator outages.

“Contingency” means the unexpected failure or outage
of a system component, such as a generator, transmission
line, circuit breaker, switch, or other electrical element.  A
contingency may also include multiple components, which
are related by situations leading to simultaneous component
outages.

“Corrective action” means the maintenance, repair, or
replacement of an EDC’s utility system components and
structures to allow them to function at an acceptable level of
reliability.

“Corrective maintenance” means the unplanned
maintenance work required to restore delivery facilities to a
normal operating condition that allows them to function at an
acceptable level of reliability.

“Customer Average Interruption Duration Index
(‘CAIDI’)” represents the average time in minutes required
to restore service to those customers that experienced
sustained interruptions during the reporting period.  CAIDI
is defined as follows:

CAIDI = Sum of all Sustained Customer Interruption
Durations per Reporting Period

divided by
the Total Number of Sustained Customer Interruptions
per Reporting Period

“Delivery Facilities” means the EDC’s physical plant
used to provide electric energy to Delaware retail customers,
normally inclusive of distribution and transmission facilities.

“Dispatch time” is the elapsed time between receipt of
a customer call and the dispatch of a service resource to
address the customer’s issue as tracked by the OMS.

“Distribution feeder” or “feeder” means a three-phase
set of conductors emanating from a substation circuit breaker
serving customers in a defined local distribution area.  This
includes three-phase, two-phase and single-phase branches
that are normally isolated at all endpoints.

"Distribution facilities" means electric facilities
located in Delaware that are owned by a public utility that
operate at voltages of 34,500 volts or below and that are used
to deliver electricity to customers, up through and including
the point of physical connection with electric facilities
owned by the customer.

“Electric Distribution Company” or “EDC” means a
public utility owning and/or operating transmission and/or
distribution facilities in this state.

“Electric distribution system” means that portion of
an electric system, that delivers electric energy from
transformation points on the transmission system to points of
connection at the customers’ premises.

“Electric service” means the supply, transmission, and
distribution of electric energy as provided by an electric
distribution company.

“Forced outage” means the removal from service
availability of a generating unit, transmission line, or other
facility for emergency reasons or a condition in which the
equipment is unavailable due to unanticipated failure.2 

2. North American Electric Reliability Council –
“Glossary of Terms”, August 1996
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“Forced outage rate” means the hours a generating
unit, transmission line, or other facility is removed from
service, divided by the sum of the hours it is removed from
service plus the total number of hours the facility was
connected to the electricity system expressed as a percent.3

Multiple momentary forced outages on the same
transmission line in the span of a single minute shall be
treated as a single forced outage with the duration of one
minute.  When the operation of a transmission circuit is
restored following a forced outage and the transmission line
remains operational for a period exceeding one minute or
more, followed by another forced outage, then these should
be counted as two forced outages.  Multiple forced outages
occurring as a result of a single event should be handled as
multiple forced outages only if subsequent operation of the
transmission line between events exceeds one minute.
Otherwise they shall be considered one continuous forced
outage.4

“Interruption” means the loss of electric service to one
or more customers.  It is the result of one or more component
outages, depending on system configuration or other events.
See “outage” and “major event.”  The types of interruption
include momentary event, sustained and scheduled. 

“Interruption, duration” means the period (measured
in minutes) from the initiation of an interruption of electric
service to a customer until such service has been restored to
that customer.  An interruption may require step restoration
tracking to provide reliable index calculations.

“Interruption, momentary event” means an
interruption of electric service to one or more customers, of
which the duration is less than or equal to 5 minutes.  This
definition includes all reclosing operations, which occur
within five minutes of the first interruption.  For example, if
a recloser or breaker operates two, three, or four times and
then holds within five minutes, the event shall be considered
one momentary event interruption.

“Interruption, scheduled” means an interruption of
electric service that results when one or more components
are deliberately taken out of service at a selected time,
usually for the purposes of preventative maintenance, repair
or construction.  Scheduled interruptions, where attempts
have been made to notify customers in advance, shall not be
included in the SAIFI, CAIDI, or Forced Outage Rate
calculations.

“Interruption, sustained” means an interruption of
electric service to one or more customers that is not
classified as a momentary event interruption and which is
longer than five minutes in duration.

“Interrupting device” means a device, capable of
being reclosed, whose purpose includes interrupting fault
currents, isolating faulted components, disconnecting loads
and restoring service.  These devices can be manual,
automatic, or motor operated.  Examples include
transmission and distribution breakers, line reclosers, motor
operated switches, fuses or other devices.

“Major Event” means an event consistent with the
I.E.E.E.1366, Guide For Electric Power Distribution
Reliability Indices standard as approved and as may change
over time.  For purposes of this regulation, changes shall be
considered to be in effect beginning January 1 of the first
calendar year after the changed standard is adopted by the
I.E.E.E.  Major event interruptions shall be excluded from
the EDC’s SAIFI, CAIDI and Forced Outage Rate
calculations for comparison to reliability benchmarks.
Interruption data for major events shall be collected, and
reported according to the reporting requirements outlined in
Section K.

“Mid Atlantic Area Council (‘MAAC’)” means a
regional council of the North American Electric Reliability
Council (“NERC”), or successor organization, that is
responsible for Mid Atlantic operational policies and
reliability planning standards applicable to PJM and local
electric distribution company members.

“North American Electric Reliability Council
(‘NERC’)” means the national organization responsible for
operational policies and reliability planning standards
applicable to national system operations and electric
distribution companies, or their successor organizations.

“Outage” means the state of a component when it is not
available to perform its intended function due to some event
directly associated with that component.  An outage may or
may not cause an interruption of electric service to
customers, depending on system configuration. 

“Outage management system (‘OMS’)” means a
software operating system that provides database
information to effectively manage service interruptions and
minimize customer outage times.

“Pre-restructuring” refers to the five-year time frame
prior to Delaware’s adoption of 26 Del. C., Chapter 10,
Electric Utility Restructuring Statute.

“PJM Interconnection, L.L.C. (‘PJM’)” means the
independent system operator that is responsible for mid-
Atlantic region wholesale energy markets and the interstate
transmission of energy, or it’s successor organization.

“Power quality” means the characteristics of electric
power received by the customer, with the exception of
sustained interruptions and momentary event interruptions.
Characteristics of electric power that detract from its quality
include waveform irregularities and voltage variations—
either prolonged or transient.  Power quality problems shall
include, but are not limited to, disturbances such as high or
low voltage, voltage spikes or transients, flicker and voltage

3.  North American Electric Reliability Council –
“Glossary of Terms”, August 1996

4. Draft CAISO Transmission Control Agreement,
Appendix C, ISO Maintenance Standards
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sags, surges and short-time overvoltages, as well as
harmonics and noise.

“Preventive maintenance” means the planned
maintenance, usually performed to preclude forced or
unplanned outages, and which allows delivery facilities to
continue functioning at an acceptable level of reliability.

“Reliability” means the degree of performance of the
elements of the bulk electric system that results in electricity
being delivered to customers within accepted standards and
in the amount desired.  Reliability may be measured by the
frequency, duration, and magnitude of adverse effects on the
electric supply.  Electric system reliability can be addressed
by considering two basic and functional aspects of the
electric system – Adequacy and Security.

Adequacy - The ability of the electric system to
supply the aggregate electrical demand and energy
requirements of customers at all times, taking into account
scheduled and reasonably expected unscheduled outages of
system elements.

Security - The ability of the electric system to
withstand sudden disturbances such as electric short circuits
or unanticipated loss of system elements.5

As applied to distribution facilities, reliability is
further described as the degree to which safe, proper and
adequate electric service is supplied to customers without
interruption.

“Repair time” is the elapsed time from the arrival of
the service resource at the identified problem site to the
correction of the customer’s original concern as tracked by
the OMS.

“Response time” is the elapsed time from dispatch of
service resource to the arrival of the service resource at the
identified problem site as tracked by the OMS.

“Step restoration” means the restoration of service to
blocks of customers in an area until the entire area or circuit
is restored.

“Sum of all Sustained Customer Interruption
Durations” means the summation of the restoration time (in
minutes) for each event times the number of interrupted
customers for each step restoration of each interruption event
during the reporting period.

“System Average Interruption Frequency Index
(‘SAIFI’)” represents the average frequency of sustained
interruptions per customer during the reporting period.
SAIFI is defined as:

SAIFI = Total Number of Sustained Customer Interrup-
tions per Reporting Period

divided by the
Total Number of Customers Served per Reporting Period

“Total Number of Sustained Customer
Interruptions” means the sum of the number of interrupted
customers for each interruption event during the reporting
period.  Customers who experienced multiple interruptions
during the reporting period are counted for each interruption
event the customer experienced during the reporting period.

“Total Number of Customers Served” means the
number of customers provided with electric service by the
distribution facility for which a reliability index is being
calculated on the last day of the time period for which the
reliability index is being calculated.  This number should
exclude all street lighting (dusk-to-dawn lighting, municipal
street lighting, traffic lights) and sales to other electric
utilities.

"Transmission facilities" means electric facilities
located in Delaware and owned by a public utility that
operate at voltages above 34,500 volts and that are used to
transmit and deliver electricity to customers (including any
customers taking electric service under interruptible rate
schedules as of December 31, 1998) up through and
including the point of physical connection with electric
facilities owned by the customer.

C. Electric Service Reliability and Quality
1.) Each EDC shall provide reliable electric service

that is consistent with pre-restructuring service levels as
identified in Section D. and complies with 26 Del. C., §
1002.

2.) Each EDC shall install, operate, and maintain its
delivery facilities in conformity with the requirements of the
National Electrical Safety Code and the operating policies
and standards of NERC, MAAC and PJM, or their successor
organizations.

3.) Each EDC shall have targeted objectives, programs
and/or procedures and forecast load studies, designed to help
maintain the acceptable reliability level for its delivery
facilities and, where appropriate, to improve performance.

4.) Each EDC, in accordance with Section I., shall
submit to the Commission, on or before March 31 of each
year, a Planning and Studies Report identifying its current
year’s annual objectives, planned actions and projects,
programs, and forecast studies that serve to maintain
reliability and quality of service at an acceptable reliability
level.

5.) Each EDC, in accordance with Section J., shall
submit to the Commission, on or before April 30 of each
year, a Performance Report that assesses the achievement of
the previous year’s objectives, planned actions, projects and
programs, and assesses the relative accuracy of forecast
studies and previous years performance measures with
respect to benchmarks.
D. Reliability and Quality Performance Benchmarks

1.) The measurement of reliability and quality
performance shall be based on annual SAIFI, CAIDI and

5. ERC definition - NERC’s Reliability Assessment 
2001–2010, dated October 16, 2001.
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Forced Outage Rate measures for each EDC.  SAIFI and
CAIDI calculations shall include all Delaware customer
outages, excluding major events, and shall be reported by its
distribution, substation and transmission components.  The
Forced Outage Rate shall be based on system transmission
circuit and power transformer performance, excluding major
events and scheduled interruptions.

2.) Each EDC shall maintain their electric service
reliability and quality performance measures within the
benchmark standard of this Section D., paragraph 3).  SAIFI,
CAIDI and Forced Outage Rate performance shall be
measured each calendar year.  Annual SAIFI and CAIDI
performance equal to or better than the acceptable reliability
level meets the standard of this regulation.  Annual Forced
Outage Rate performance shall be averaged with the prior
two years performance for comparison to standard.  Three-
year average Forced Outage Rate performance equal to or
better than the acceptable reliability level meets the standard
of this regulation.  When performance does not meet the
acceptable reliability level, further review and analysis are
required.  The EDC may be subject to penalties as defined in
Section M and subsequent corrective actions may be
required.

3.) For the EDCs, the interim electric service reliability
and quality performance benchmarks are established as
follows:

a)  The system SAIFI benchmark standard, which is
based on pre-restructuring levels of performance and
adjusted to reflect 1.75 standard deviation of data variability
and the transition to an OMS system shall be as follows:

i)   Delaware Electric Cooperative SAIFI shall
be 4.6 interruptions; and

ii)  Conectiv SAIFI shall be 2.3 interruptions.
b)  The system CAIDI benchmark, which is based

on pre-restructuring levels of performance and adjusted to
reflect 1.75 standard deviation of data variability and the
transition to an OMS system shall be as follows:

i)   Delaware Electric Cooperative CAIDI shall
be 173 minutes; and

ii)  Conectiv CAIDI shall be 141 minutes.
c)   The Forced Outage Rate benchmark standard

shall be one percent.
4.) The electric service reliability and quality

benchmarks, as defined in Section D., paragraph 3), are
established as interim standards for 2003, 2004 and 2005,
subject to further review.  Each EDC shall track and report
its annual performance and three-year average performance
against benchmark standards in accordance with Section J.

5.) Prior to 2006, or as requested by the Commission,
the Commission Staff, in conjunction with all interested
parties, shall review the current interim regulations,
benchmark standards and actual EDC performance.
Subsequent to the review, the Staff shall make
recommendation for final regulations and benchmark

standards to the Commission for consideration as final
regulations.

E. Reliability and Quality Performance Objectives 
1.) Each EDC shall establish electric service reliability

and quality performance objectives for the forthcoming year.
Objectives shall include:

a.) Anticipated performance measures designed to
maintain reliable electric distribution service with a
description of any planned actions to achieve target
objectives;

b.) Anticipated performance measures designed to
maintain transmission circuits and power transformers with a
description of any planned actions to achieve target
objectives; and

c.) Annual corrective and preventive maintenance
program hours anticipated on Delaware transmission
circuits, distribution circuits and substation equipment.

2.) Performance objective measures shall be
established to support the maintenance of electric reliability
performance.  Performance objectives shall be representative
of expected performance, taking into consideration
anticipated new construction projects, quality and
maintenance programs, planned actions and any resource or
time limitations.

F. Power Quality Program
1.) Each EDC shall maintain a power quality program

with clearly stated objectives and procedures designed to
respond promptly to customer reports of power quality
concerns.

2.) Each EDC shall consider power quality concerns in
the design, construction and maintenance of its transmission
and distribution power delivery system components to
mitigate, using reasonable measures, power quality
disturbances that adversely affect customers’ equipment.

3.) Each EDC shall maintain records of customer
power quality concerns and EDC response.  These records
shall be made available to the Commission Staff upon
request with 30 days notice.

G. Inspection and Maintenance Program
1.) Each EDC shall have an inspection and

maintenance program designed to maintain delivery
facilities performance at an acceptable reliability level.  The
program shall be based on industry codes, national electric
industry practices, manufacturer’s recommendations, sound
engineering judgment and past experience.

2.) Each EDC shall maintain records of inspection and
maintenance activities.  These records shall be made
available to Commission Staff upon request with 30 days
notice.
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H. Delivery Facility Studies
1.) Each EDC shall perform system load studies to

identify and examine potential distribution circuit overloads,
distribution substation and distribution substation supply
circuit single contingencies and all transmission system
single and double contingencies as specified by NERC,
MAAC and PJM requirements.  Double contingency
analysis should include supply service contingencies that
may cause overloads or outages on the EDC’s system.  The
EDC shall identify all projects or corrective actions that are
planned to mitigate reliability loading issues identified in the
study.

2.) Delivery facility planning studies will be performed
annually under a 50/50 weather normalized peak load
condition with single and/or double contingencies, as
specified by NERC, MAAC and PJM planning
requirements, to identify required projects or corrective
actions.  A supplementary sensitivity study shall be
performed under a 90/10 weather normalized peak load to
identify projects or corrective actions that may be needed at
increased 90/10 loading levels.  All increased loads above
normal 50/50 study parameters shall assume a power factor
of .85.  All MW and MVAR bus loads in the studies will be
adjusted by a uniform percentage to achieve the loading
corresponding to the 90/10 forecast.  For each study
resulting in a thermal overload or an out-of-range voltage
level, the study shall be performed again after the
implementation of Active Load Management (ALM),
system switching or reconfiguration.

3.) Each EDC shall perform the electric delivery
facility system planning studies as described herein in the
fall of each year (year a) for the upcoming summer period
(year b) and for the summer period two years later (year c).
The planning studies will include all delivery facility
enhancements planned to be in-service during the applicable
summer peak and shall identify those delivery facilities that
are anticipated to be overloaded during the peak demand
period.

I. Planning and Studies Report
1.) By March 31 of each year, each EDC shall submit a

report to the Commission identifying current reliability
objectives, planned actions and projects, programs and load
studies designed to maintain the electric service reliability
and quality of the delivery facilities.

2.) The report shall include the following information:
a.) Objective targets in support of reliable electric

service and descriptions of planned actions to achieve the
objectives;

b.) Description and estimated cost of capital
projects planned to mitigate loading or contingent
conditions; 

c.) The EDC’s power quality program and any
amendments as required in Section F;

d.) The EDC’s inspection and maintenance
program, any amendments as required in Section    and any
specific actions aimed at reducing outage causes or Forced
Outage Rates;

e.) Delivery facility study reports, as described in
Section H., to include at a minimum the information for both
year b and year c as specified in Section H, paragraph 3),
with specific findings as follows:

i.) For each thermal overload detected by
both the 50/50 and 90/10 study, provide the overloaded
system element, the normal and emergency ratings of the
overloaded element, the percentage loading on the
overloaded element and the percent overload on the element
(both before and after the implementation of ALM or other
corrective action), and a description of the delivery facility
enhancement anticipated to eliminate the thermal overload
(including the cost of the enhancement); and

ii.) For each out-of-range voltage level
detected by both the 50/50 and 90/10 study, provide the
system element that experiences the out-of-range voltage,
the out-of-range voltage level (both before and after
implementation of ALM or other corrective action), a
description of the delivery enhancement anticipated to
eliminate the out-of-range voltage (including the cost of the
enhancement), a listing of the circuits that would experience
an outage due to automatic load-shedding as a result of the
out-of-range voltage;

f.) Summaries of all recent delivery facility
planning studies and network capability studies (including
CETO and CETL results) performed for any delivery
facilities owned by the utility; and

g.) Summaries of any changes to reliability related
requirements, standards and procedures at PJM, MAAC,
NERC or the EDC.

J. Annual Performance Report
1) By April 30 of each year, each EDC shall submit an

annual Performance Report, summarizing the actual electric
service reliability results.  The report shall include the EDC’s
average three-year performance results, actual year-end
performance measure results and an assessment of the
results/effectiveness of the reliability objectives, planned
actions and projects, programs, and load studies in achieving
an acceptable reliability level.

2)  Delivery facilities year-end performance measures,
as established in section D., paragraph 1), shall be reported
as follows:

a.) SAIFI, and CAIDI measures:
i) Current year and three-year average

reflecting Delaware performance, classified by
distribution, substation and transmission components; and

ii) Current year for each feeder circuit
providing service to Delaware customers, regardless of state
origin.
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b.) Forced Outage Rate measures:
i.) Current year and three-year average for

the EDC’s DPL Zone transmission system, classified by
circuits and power transformers; and

ii.) Current year for each transmission line
and power transformer that provides energy to Delaware
customers, regardless of state location.

3)  The Performance Report shall identify 2% of
distribution feeders or 10 feeders, whichever is more,
serving at least one Delaware customer, that are identified by
the utility as having the poorest reliability.  The EDC shall
identify the method used to determine the feeders with
poorest reliability and shall indicate any planned corrective
actions to improve feeder performance and target dates for
completion or explain why no action is required.  The EDC
shall ensure that feeders, identified as having the poorest
reliability, shall not appear in any three consecutive
Performance Reports without initiated corrective action.

4)  For 2003, 2004 and 2005, the performance report
shall include annual and 1999 base line information that
provides the Commission with the ability to assess the
EDC’s efforts to maintain reliable electric service to all
customers in the state of Delaware.  Such reporting shall
include the following items:

a.)  Current year and 1999 base year expenditures,
labor resource hours, and activity  measures for each capital
and/or maintenance program designed to support the
maintenance of reliable electric service, to include:

i) Transmission and distribution tree
trimming;

ii.) Transmission and distribution preventive
maintenance;

iii.) Transmission and distribution corrective
maintenance;

iv.) Transmission and distribution capital
infrastructure improvements; and

v.) Process, practice or material
improvements.

b.)  Current year OMS and 1999 base year data to
include:

i.) Number of outages by outage type;
ii.) Number of outages by outage cause;
iii.) Total number of customers at year end;
iv.) Total number of customers that

experienced an outage; and 
v.) Total customer minutes of outage time.

c.) Current year and 1999 base year customer
satisfaction or other measures the EDC believes are
indicative of reliability performance.

d.)  Current year and three-year constrained hours
of operation within PJM’s DPL Zone by cause.

5)  The Performance Report shall include a summary of
each major event for which data was excluded, and an

assessment of the measurable impact on reported
performance measures.

6)  In the event that an EDC’s reliability performance
measure does not meet an acceptable liability level for the
calendar year, the Performance Report shall include the
following:

a.)  For not meeting SAIFI, an analysis of the
customer service interruption causes for all delivery facilities
that significantly contributed to not meeting the benchmark;

b.) For not meeting CAIDI, an analysis of the
duration of service interruptions for all delivery facilities by
dispatch, response and repair times that significantly
contributed to not meeting the benchmark;

c.)  For not meeting Forced Outage Rate, an
analysis of significant outages by cause;

d.) A description of any corrective actions that are
planned by the EDC and the target dates by which the
corrective action shall be completed; and

e.)  If no corrective actions are planned, an
explanation shall be provided.

7)  The Performance Report shall include copies of
current procedures identifying methods the EDC uses to
ensure the electric supplier delivery of energy to the EDC at
locations and in amounts which are adequate to meet each
electric supplier’s obligation to its customers.

8)  The Performance Report shall include certification
by an officer of the EDC of the data and analysis and that
necessary projects, maintenance programs and other actions
are being performed and adequately funded by the Company
as addressed in its annual plans.

K. Major Event Report
1) Each EDC shall notify the Commission of major

events as soon as practical, but not more than 36 hours after
the onset of a major event.

2) The EDC shall, within 15 business days after the
end of a major event, submit a written report to the
Commission, which shall include the following:

a.) The date and time when the EDC’s major event
control center opened and closed;

b.)  The total number of customers out-of-service
over the course of the major event;

c.)  The date and time when the last customer
affected by a major event was restored;

d.) The total number of trouble locations by facility
classification;

e.)  The time at which the mutual aid and non-
company contractor crews were requested,
 arrived for duty and were released, and the mutual aid and
non-contractor response(s) to the request(s) for assistance;
and

f.)  A timeline profile of the number of company
line crews, mutual aid crews, non-company contractor line
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and tree crews working on restoration activities during the
duration of the major event.

L. Prompt Restoration of Outages
1) EDCs shall begin the restoration of service to an

affected service area within two hours of notification by two
or more customers of any loss of electric service.  In
situations where it is not practical to respond within two
hours to a reported interruption (safety reasons,
inaccessibility, multiple simultaneous interruptions, storms
or other system emergencies), the EDC shall respond as soon
as the situation permits.

2) Each EDC shall strive to restore service as quickly
and as safely as possible at all times; however, the
requirement to begin restoration within two hours of
notification shall not apply to EDCs during major events.

3) Each EDC shall monitor dispatch, response and
repair times for customer outages.  In the event that average
annual dispatch, response or repair performance times
exceed the EDC’s expected levels for the calendar year, the
EDC shall include the following in its annual performance
report.

a).  An analysis of the factors which caused the
unexpected performance; and

b.)  A description of any corrective actions planned
by the EDC to meet expected   performance  levels.

4)  Each EDC shall have outage response procedures
that place the highest priority on responding to emergency
situations for which prompt restoration is essential to public
safety.  These procedures should include recognition of
priority requests that may come from police, fire, rescue,
authorized emergency service providers or public facility
operators.

M. Penalties and Other Remedies
1)  Private or investor owned utilities, operating in

Delaware under the regulations of the Commission, are
subject to penalties and other remedial actions for failure to
comply with Commission regulations requiring
informational reports and performance at an acceptable
reliability level.

a.) Pursuant to 26 Del.C., §§ 205(a) and 217,
penalties for violations of report submission requirements set
out in Sections I., J. and K. of these regulations or penalties
for violations of benchmark standards in Section D of these
regulations, may be assessed as follows:

i.)  For failure to submit complete required
reports on the due date set by rule, the EDC may be liable for
penalties for each day beyond the due date that the report is
not submitted, as provided in the Delaware statute, provided;
however, that upon timely written request to the
Commission, demonstrating the need for an extension of
time, the due date for submitting required reports may be
extended by the Commission for good cause shown.

ii.) For failure to have objectives, programs
and plans designed to maintain reliable    electric service or
for the willful misrepresentation of fact and/or intentional
inaccuracies in any submitted report or for violation of any
performance standard requirement of these regulations, an
EDC may be liable for penalties or mandatory corrective
actions as allowed by the Delaware statute, with the
following limitation.  Penalties for violation of any
performance standard may be applied only after the
Commission has established final regulations or if the
Commission determines that the EDC willfully and
intentionally took actions that resulted in failure to meet a
standard during the interim period.

b.)  The Commission shall be responsible for
assessing any penalty under this section, consistent with
Delaware law.  In determining the amount of the penalty, or
the amount agreed upon in compromise, the Commission
may consider aggravating and mitigating circumstances
including: the nature and gravity of the violation; the degree
of the EDC’s culpability and history of prior violations; and
any good faith effort on the part of the EDC in attempting to
achieve compliance.  Nothing in this section relieves any
private or investor owned utility from compliance or
penalties, that may be assessed due to non-compliance with
any requirement set forth under any other regulation, statute
or order.

2)  Cooperatives operating in Delaware under the
regulations of the Commission are subject to remedial action
penalties for failure to comply with Commission regulations
requiring informational reports and performance at an
acceptable reliability level.  Due to the particular ownership
structure, cooperatives are exempt from the financial
penalties of this section, unless otherwise determined by the
Commission or as otherwise stated herein.  Nothing in these
regulations relieves any cooperative from compliance or
penalties, that may be assessed due to non-compliance with
any requirement set forth under any other regulation, statute
or order.

a.)  Remedial action penalties for violations of
report submission requirements set out in Sections I., J. and
K. of these regulations or for violations of performance
standards in Section D of these regulations, may be assessed
as follows:

i)  For failure to submit required reports on the
due date set by rule, the cooperative  shall notify their
customers of the delinquency, the reason for such
delinquency, and the time frame in which the cooperative
will comply with all reporting requirements; however, that
upon timely written request to the Commission
demonstrating the need for an extension of time, the due date
for submitting required reports may be extended by the
Commission for good cause shown.

ii)  For failure to have objectives, programs and
plans designed to maintain reliable e   electric service or for
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the willful misrepresentation of fact and/or intentional
inaccuracies in any submitted report or for violation of any
performance standard requirement of these regulations, a
cooperative may be liable for mandatory corrective actions
and customer notifications as directed by the Commission.

b.)  Cooperatives shall provide all reports by
required due dates and shall correct electric service
reliability and quality deficiencies expeditiously in order to
maintain an acceptable reliability level.  The Commission
may impose financial penalties for repeated failures to meet
regulation requirements, consistent with Delaware statute.

3)  Upon failure of any EDC to meet performance
benchmark standards, the EDC shall report monthly, or over
such other period of time that the Commission shall establish
by order, the latest performance indices, until such time as
performance meets the acceptable reliability level.

4) Each EDC not meeting performance benchmark
standards as required by Section D., shall inform its
customers, in writing, of plans to improve electric service
reliability and quality in writing by July 1 of the year
following any year in which its performance does not meet
an acceptable reliability level.

5) Each violation of any reporting rule or performance
standard of these regulations shall constitute a single,
separate and distinct violation for that particular day.  Each
day during which a violation continues shall constitute an
additional, separate and distinct violation.  Provided,
however, that a violation of a performance measure shall not
be deemed to be a violation per customer, whether affected
or otherwise, but shall constitute a single Delaware-wide
violation for the day.

6) Penalty assessments are payable as provided by
Delaware statute.

N. Outage Management System (OMS)
1) Each EDC shall implement an OMS as described in

this section by January 1, 2003.
2) The OMS, at a minimum, shall consist of an outage

assessment software program, integrated with a geographic
information system that permits an EDC to effectively
manage outage events and restore customer service in a
timely manner.

3) The OMS should permit the EDC to:
a.)  Group customers who are out of service to the

most probable interrupting device that operated;
b.) Associate customers with distribution

facilities;
c.) Generate street maps indicating EDC outage

locations;
d.) Improve the management of resources during a

storm;
e.) Improve the accuracy of identifying the

number of customers without electric service;

f.) Improve the ability to estimate expected
restoration times;

g.) Accurately identify the number and when
customers were restored; and

h.) Effectively support the dispatch of crews and/
or service personnel.

O. Reporting Specifications and Implementation
1) Planning and Studies Reports, Performance Reports

and Major Event Reports provided under these regulations
are subject to annual review and audit by the Commission.
The EDC must maintain sufficient records to permit a review
and confirmation of material contained in all required
reports.

2) Reports shall be submitted as an original and 4
copies, except that in lieu of paper reporting, information
may be submitted electronically to the Secretary, Delaware
Public Service Commission, with certification of
authenticity by an officer of the corporation.

3) Each EDC may request that information, required
under these regulations, be classified as confidential,
proprietary and/or privileged material.  The EDC must attest
that such information is not subject to inspection by the
public or other parties without execution of an appropriate
proprietary agreement.  Each EDC requesting such treatment
of information is also obligated to file an additional copy of
the information, excluding the confidential or proprietary
information.  The Commission, in accordance with Rule 11,
Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Delaware Public
Service Commission, effective May 10, 1999, will treat such
information as “confidential, not for public release” upon
receipt of a properly filed request.  Any dispute over the
confidential treatment of information shall be resolved by
the Commission, designated Presiding Officer or Hearing
Examiner.

4) These regulations are placed in effect as interim
regulations effective 2003 through 2005, or until such time
as the Commission adopts final regulations.

E X H I B I T  B

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
CONSIDERATION OF RULES, |
STANDARDS, AND INDICES |   PSC REGULATION
TO ENSURE RELIABLE |   DOCKET NO. 50
ELECTRICAL SERVICE BY |
ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION |
COMPANIES (OPENDED |
SEPTEMBER 26, 2000) |
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SOLICITATION OF COMMENTS AND NOTICE OF 
PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED “ELECTRIC 

SERVICE RELIABILITY AND QUALITY SERVICE” 
REGULATIONS

The Public Service Commission (“the Commission”)
initiated this proceeding to consider the need for, and the
scope of, rules and regulations to ensure that Delaware
consumers continue to receive reliable electrical service in
their homes and businesses. 

The Commission initially proposed in PSC Order No.
5704 (April 24, 2001) to adopt particular “Electric Service
Reliability and Quality Standards.” Those proposed
regulations were previously published in 4 DE Reg. 1929
(June 1, 2001).

As a result of the comments and evidence received since
the publication of those originally proposed regulations, the
Commission, in PSC Order No. 6217 (July 22, 2003),
decided to now propose for adoption revised “Electric
Service Reliability and Quality Standards.”  These revised
proposed regulations supersede those proposed earlier in
PSC Order No. 5704.

In summary, the revised proposed “Electric Service
Reliability and Quality Standards” adopt additional
reliability requirements for electric utilities and electric
distribution companies subject to the jurisdiction of the
Commission based on a uniform methodology for measuring
reliability. The revised proposed regulations include
requirements for data maintenance, record retention, and
service interruption information, and establish interim
standards to measure the reliability of the service provided.
These revised proposed regulations also set forth
requirements for the implementation and scope of outage
management systems, prescribe record reporting parameters,
and require utilities and electric distribution companies to
maintain reliable service to their customers in an efficient,
sufficient, and adequate manner.

You may review the proposed revised regulations in the
September, 2003 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations.  You may also review the proposed regulations
at the Commission’s Internet website located at
“www.state.de.us/delpsc.” Copies of the proposed revised
regulations can be obtained from the Commission during
normal business hours at its Dover office at the address set
out below.  The fee for such copies is $0.25 per page.

The Commission has the authority to adopt the proposed
regulations under 26 Del.C. §§209(a) and 1002(a)(1).

The Commission now solicits from any person or entity
written comments, suggestions, and compilations of data,
briefs, or other written materials concerning the proposed
regulations.  Ten (10) copies of such materials shall be filed
with the Commission at the following address:

Public Service Commission

Attention: Regulation Dckt. No. 50
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, DE 19904.

All such materials must be filed with the Commission
on or before October 3, 2003. All persons or entities
currently involved in the proceedings do not need to file
comments and all previously filed evidence will be
considered. Direct notice of further proceedings will only be
sent to current participants, persons or entities who now file
comments, and non-commenting persons or entities who file
a notice of an intent to participate. 

The Commission will also hold a public hearing on the
proposed regulations beginning 10:00 AM on September 22,
2003.  Such hearing will be held at the Commission’s office
in Dover at the address set forth above. 

All materials submitted in this proceeding are available
for inspection and copying during normal business hours at
the Commission’s Dover office.  The fee for copying is
$0.25 per page.

If you are disabled and wish to participate in, or review,
these proceedings, you should contact the Commission to
discuss any auxiliary aids or services you might need. You
may contact the Commission in writing, by telephone
(including text telephone), by Internet e-mail, or in person. If
you have questions about this matter, you can call the
Commission by using its toll-free telephone number (in
Delaware): 1-800-282-8574.  You may also call the
Commission at (302) 739-4247 or by Text Telephone at
(302) 739-4333.  You can also send your inquiries by
Internet e-mail addressed to robert.howatt@state.de.us.
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 255

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §255)

EDUCATION IMPACT ANALYSIS
PURSUANT TO

14 DEL. C. Section 122(d)

255 Definitions of Public School and Private School

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation

255 Definitions of Public School and Private School to
reflect the changes made to the Delaware Code as defined in
Title 14 § 2703A, resulting from Senate Bill 103, by adding
the definition of a non-public school.  The title of the
regulation will also be changed to read Definitions of Public
School, Private School and Non-public School.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation defines non-public
school but does not address student achievement issues.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulation defines non-public schools but does not address
equitable education issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation defines non-public schools but does not
address health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
defines non-public schools but does not address students’
legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level?  The amended regulation will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be

placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation?  The amended
regulation is necessary to correctly reflect the intent of the
state statute.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no
additional cost to the State and to the local school boards.

255 Definitions of Public School, and Private School
and Non-public School

1.0 Public School – A public school shall mean a
school or Charter School having any or all of grades
kindergarten through twelve, supported primarily from
public funds and under the supervision of public school
administrators. It also shall include the agencies of states and
cities which administer the public funds.

2.0   Private School – A private school shall mean a
school having any or all of grades kindergarten through
twelve, operating under a board of trustees and maintaining a
faculty and plant which are properly supervised and shall be
interpreted further to include an accredited and/or approved
college or university.

3.0 Non-public School - A non-public school shall
mean a private school as that term is defined in paragraph
2.0 of this regulation or any homeschool defined in 14
Del.C. §2703A.

See 4 DE Reg. 1251 (2/1/01)

EDUCATION IMPACT ANALYSIS
PURSUANT TO

14 DEL. C. Section 122(d)

901 Education of Homeless Children and Youth

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation

901 Education of Homeless Children and Youth in order to
be consistent with the provisions of the McKinney-Vento
Homeless Education Assistance Improvement Act, of 2001,
that ensures educational rights and protections for children
and youth experiencing homelessness.  The regulation
repeats the definition of “Homeless Children and Youths”
from the federal statute and includes a process for dispute
resolution concerning school selection or enrollment issues
as required by the federal statute.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation addresses the dispute
resolution process for school selection or enrollment issues
for Homeless Children and Youth which could be related to
student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulation addresses the dispute resolution process for
school selection or enrollment issues for Homeless Children
and Youth which could be related to equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation addresses the dispute resolution process
for school selection or enrollment issues for Homeless
Children and Youth which could be related to health and
safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
addresses the dispute resolution process for school selection
or enrollment issues for Homeless Children and Youth which
may help to protect these students’ rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level?  The amended regulation will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level until resolution of
the dispute goes to the Secretary of Education.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation requires that the local school districts
and charter schools make every effort possible to resolve the
dispute at the local level.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the dispute remain at the
local level until it is appealed to the Secretary of Education
for resolution.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation is consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation?  The federal statute
requires the state to have a process for resolving disputes
concerning this issue.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There may be
additional transportation costs associated with the
amendment to the regulation.

901  Education of Homeless Children and Youth

Consistent with the provisions of the Stewart B.
McKinney Homeless Assistance Act, 42 USC, the Secretary
with the consent of the State Board of Education adopts the
following regulations on assistance to homeless children and
youth:

1.0 The term "homeless" or "homeless individual" shall
include:

1.1 An individual who lacks a fixed, regular, and
adequate nighttime residence; and

1.2 An individual who has a primary nighttime
residence that is:

1.2.1 A supervised publicly or privately
operated shelter designed to provide temporary living
accommodations (including welfare hotels, congregate
shelters, and transitional housing for the mentally disabled);

1.2.2 An institution that provides a
temporary residence for individuals intended to be
institutionalized; or

1.2.3 A public or private place not designed
for, or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation
for human beings;

1.2.4 But does not include any individual
imprisoned or otherwise detained pursuant to an Act of
Congress or a State law.

2.0 A homeless individual shall be eligible for
assistance if the individual complies with state or federal
income eligibility requirements applicable to assistance to
the homeless.

3.0 All local school districts, in cooperation with each
other, shall assure that each child of a homeless individual
and each homeless youth have access to a free, appropriate,
public education which would be provided to the children of
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a resident of the State, consistent with school attendance
laws.

4.0 After consultation with the parent or guardian of a
homeless child, the homeless youth, and/or the applicable
social worker, the local school district in which a homeless
child or youth resides, as defined in section 1.0 of this policy
the new school district, shall determine whether the
homeless child or youth shall:

4.1 Be enrolled in the appropriate school in the
attendance area of the school district in which the homeless
child or youth resides; or

4.2 Be provided a free appropriate public
education program with services comparable to services
offered to other students in the district, in the shelter or other
temporary living accommodation; or

4.3 Continue his/her education in the home school
serving the attendance area of residence in the district of
origin for the remainder of the school year.

4.3.1 Such a determination shall be made
consistent with the homeless child's or youth's best interests,
and, where necessary, shall be made in consultation with and
with the cooperation of, the homeless child's or youth's
district of origin.

5.0 School bus transportation shall be provided
consistent with those services offered other students in the
State. To that end, school districts shall provide
transportation:

5.1 Where it is determined that the homeless child
or youth will attend school in the new school district;

5.1.1 Through regularly scheduled school
transportation, to the appropriate school serving the
attendance area of the new school district in which the
homeless child or youth resides.

5.2 Where it is determined that the homeless child
or youth will remain in the home school serving the
attendance area of residence in the district of origin:

5.2.1 Through regularly scheduled school
transportation, from the nearest bus stop to the student's
temporary residence, in the attendance area of the district of
origin, to the home school.

6.0 School districts shall ensure that policies
concerning immunization, guardianship and birth certificates
do not create barriers to the school enrollment of homeless
children and youth.  To that end, school districts shall:

6.1 Assist homeless children and youth in meeting
the immunization requirements;

6.2 Assist homeless children and youth in matters
concerning guardianship;

6.3 Assist homeless children and youth in
obtaining birth records as needed; and

6.4 Keep documentation of efforts made by the
district in this regard in each student's file.

7.0 School districts shall ensure that the school records
of each homeless child or youth shall:

7.1 Be maintained so that such records are
available within ten (10) school days to the new school
district;

7.2 When there is a request for such records, be
transferred in a speedy fashion, employing the use of
couriers, if necessary;

7.3 When such records cannot be provided with
sufficient speed to ensure continuity of programming, be
supplemented by telephonic communication regarding the
appropriate placement of and programming for the homeless
child or youth.

7.3.1 All shelters and other regularly
established temporary living accommodations shall be
provided, by the school district in which they are located,
signature forms for the release of such information by the
district of origin.  Couriers should be used to expedite the
delivery of such forms to the district of origin.

7.3.2 All such exchanges of records shall be
done in a manner which is consistent with the Procedures for
the Collection, Maintenance and Disclosure of Student Data.

8.0 Each homeless child shall be provided services
comparable to services offered to other students in the school
selected according to the provisions of 4.0, including
educational services for which the child meets the eligibility
criteria, such as compensatory educational programs for the
disadvantaged, and educational programs for the
disadvantaged, and educational programs for students with
disabilities and for students with limited English proficiency;
programs in vocational education; programs for the gifted
and talented; and school meals programs.

9.0 Dispute resolution shall be through the applicable
local boards of education, appealable to the State Board of
Education pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 1058.

10.0 One person shall be designated by each school
district to coordinate services to homeless children and
youth, and each district shall report the name of that person
to the Department of Education, Office of Coordinator of
Education of the Homeless, at the beginning of each fiscal
year.

See 1 DE Reg. 963 (1/1/98)

1.0 Purpose:  Consistent with the provisions of the
McKinney-Ventro Homeless Education Assistance
Improvement Act, as amended by the No Child Left Behind
Act of 2001 (42 U.S.C. §11431 et. seq.), the intent of this
regulation is to ensure the educational rights and protections
for children and youth experiencing homelessness.

2.0 Definitions:  The following words and terms, when
used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Homeless Children and Youths” as defined by
the provisions of the 42 U.S.C. §11434a(2), means
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individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime
residence (within the meaning of 42 U.S.C. §11302(a)(1));
and includes:

Children and youths who are sharing the
housing of other persons due to loss of housing, economic
hardship or similar reason; are living in motels, hotels, trailer
parks, or camping grounds due to lack of alternative
adequate accommodations; are living in emergency or
transitional shelters; are abandoned in hospitals; or are
awaiting foster care placement;

Children and youths who have a primary
nighttime residence that is in a private or public place not
designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping
accommodation for human beings (within the meaning of 42
U.S.C. §11302(a)(2)(C));

Children and youths who are living in cars,
parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard
housing, bus or train stations, or similar settings; and

Migratory children (as such term is defined in
section 6399 of Title 20, the Elementary and Secondary
Education Act of 1965) who qualify as homeless because the
children are living in circumstances described above.

“LEA Homeless Liaison” means the Local
Educational Liaison for Homeless Children and Youths
designated under 42 U.S.C. §11432(g)(1)(J)(ii).

“Secretary” means the Secretary of Education.
“State Coordinator” means the Delaware

Coordinator for Education of Homeless Children and Youths
designated under 42 U.S.C. §11432(d)(3).

“Unaccompanied Youth” as defined by the
provisions of 42 U.S.C. §11434a(6) includes a youth not in
the company of a parent or guardian.

3.0 Federal Regulations:  Local school districts shall
comply with the provisions of the McKinney-Ventro
Homeless Education Assistance Improvement Act, as
amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (42
U.S.C. §11431 et. seq.) and any regulations issued pursuant
thereto.

4.0 Procedures for the Resolution of Disputes
Concerning the Educational Placement of Homeless
Children and Youths

4.1 If a dispute arises over school selection or
enrollment, the local school district must immediately enroll
the homeless student in either the school of origin (as
defined in 42 U.S.C. 11432 (g) (3) (G) ) or the school that
non-homeless students who live in the attendance area in
which the homeless student is actually living are eligible to
attend, whichever is sought by the parent, guardian or
homeless youth, pending resolution of the dispute.

4.2 The local school shall provide the parent,
guardian or homeless youth with a written notice of the
school’s decision regarding school selection or enrollment.
The notice shall include:

4.2.1 A written explanation of the school’s
decision regarding school selection or enrollment;

4.2.2 Contact information for the LEA
Homeless Liaison and State Coordinator, with a brief
description of their roles;

4.2.3 A simple, detachable form that
parents, guardians, or homeless youth can complete and turn
in to the school to initiate the dispute resolution process;

4.2.4 Instructions as to how to dispute the
school’s decision at the district level;

4.2.5 Notice of the right to enroll
immediately in the school of choice pending resolution of
the dispute;

4.2.6 Notice that immediate enrollment
includes full participation in all school activities for which
the student is eligible;

4.2.7 Notice of the right to appeal to the
State if the district-level resolution is not satisfactory; and

4.2.8 Time lines for resolving district and
State level appeals.

4.3 District Level Dispute Resolution Process
4.3.1 Local school districts shall develop a

dispute resolution process at the district level.  The dispute
resolution process shall be as informal and accessible as
possible, but shall allow for impartial and complete review.
Parents, guardians, and homeless youth shall be able to
initiate the dispute resolution process directly at the school
they choose or the school district or LEA Homeless
Liaison’s office.

4.3.2 Within ten (10) calendar days of the
initiation of the district level dispute resolution process; the
school district shall inform the parties in writing of its
determination, along with notice of the right to appeal to the
State if the district level resolution is not satisfactory.

4.4 Inter-district Resolution Process
4.4.1 When inter-district issues arise,

representatives from all involved school districts, the State
Coordinator, or his or her designee, and the parent(s),
guardian(s) or unaccompanied youth shall meet within ten
(10) calendar days of the initiation of the dispute process to
attempt to resolve the dispute.

4.4.2 The State Coordinator’s role is to
facilitate the meeting.

4.4.3 If the parties are unable to resolve the
inter-district dispute, it shall be referred to the Secretary
within ten (10) calendar days of the meeting.  Subsection
4.5.4 through 4.5.9 shall govern the review official’s
determination.  The review official shall consider the entire
record of the dispute, including any written statements
submitted and shall make a determination based on the
child’s or youth’s best interest, as defined in 42 U.S.C.
§11432(g)(3).

4.5 State Level Dispute Resolution Process
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4.51 The State-level dispute resolution
process is available for appeals from district-level decisions
and inter-district disputes.  Appeals may be filed by parents,
guardians, homeless youths or school districts.  Appeals filed
by a local school shall not be accepted.

4.5.2 To initiate the State-level dispute
resolution process, the appellant must file a written notice of
appeal with the Secretary no later than ten (10) calendar days
after receiving written notification of the district level or
inter-district decision.  The notice of appeal shall state with
specificity the grounds of the appeal, and shall be signed by
the appellant.  Where the appeal is being initiated by a
school district, the superintendent of the district must sign
the notice of appeal. 

4.5.3 A copy of the notice of appeal shall be
delivered by hand or certified mail to all other parties to the
proceeding at the time it is sent to the Secretary.  A copy of
any other paper or document filed with the Secretary or
review official shall, at the time of filing, also be provided to
all other parties to the proceeding.  

4.5.4 Upon receipt of a notice of appeal, the
Secretary or his/her designee, shall within five (5) calendar
days decide whether to hear the appeal or assign it to an
independent and impartial review official and shall so advise
the parties.

4.5.5 The local district shall file a certified
record of the district or inter-district level dispute proceeding
with the Secretary or review official within five (5) calendar
days of the date the Secretary notifies the parties that an
appeal has been filed.  The record shall contain any written
decision, any written minutes of the meeting(s) at which the
disputed action was taken, all exhibits or documentation
presented at the district or inter-district level dispute
proceeding, and any other evidence relied on by the
District(s) in making its (their) decision. 

4.5.6 Appeals are limited to the record.  The
parties may support their positions in written statements
limited to matters in the existing record.  In order to be
considered, written statements must be filed with the review
official no later than twenty (20) calendar days after the
appeal is filed.  

4.5.7 The review official shall consider the
entire record of the dispute, including any written statements
submitted in reaching his or her decision.  The review
official shall overturn the district or inter-district decision
only if he or she decides that the district’s decision was not
supported by substantial evidence or was arbitrary or
capacious.

4.5.8 Within thirty (30) calendar days of the
receipt of the notice of appeal, the review official shall
inform the parties of his or her determination.

4.5.9 The determination of the review
official shall be final and is not subject to further appeal.

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del. C. 
Section 122 (D)

347 Certification Library/Media Specialist

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, in cooperation and

collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks the
approval of the State Board of Education to amend
regulation 347 Certification Librarian/Media Specialist.  It is
necessary to amend this regulation to comply with changes
in statute regarding the licensure and certification of
educators.  The amended regulation is aligned with national
standards for library media specialists.  The amended
regulation will be renumbered to reflect its movement to the
Professional Standards Board portion of the Department of
Education regulations.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation addresses student
achievement by establishing standards for library media
specialists.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation helps to ensure that all library media specialists
employed by school districts meet high standards of
performance.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation addresses the certification requirements
for library media specialists, not students’ health and safety
issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected? The amended regulation
addresses the certification requirements for library media
specialists, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
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same entity?  The decision-making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration and
cooperation with the Department of Education, and with the
consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del. C. requires
that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the new regulation?  There is no
additional cost to local school boards for compliance with
the regulation.

347 Certification Librarian/Media Specialist (Effective
July 1, 1993)

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard
License.

1.1 Bachelor's degree from an accredited college
and,

1.2 Professional Education
1.2.1 15 semester hours of coursework in

professional education to include Human Development and
Methods of Teaching or,

1.2.2 A valid Standard Delaware teaching
license and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Completion of a Bachelor's degree in

an approved (NCATE/NASDTEC) program in School
Library Science or,

1.3.2 Completion of a Master's degree in an
approved (NCATE/ NASDTEC/American Library
Association) program in School Library Science or,

1.3.3 A minimum of 27 semester hours in
Library/Media Education covering the following areas:
Foundations in Library Services/Library Trends, Reference
Sources, Literature for Children, Literature for Adolescents,
Evaluation, Selection, Acquisition of Resources/ Production
of Teacher Resources, Cataloging and Classification,
Organization and Administration of Library/Media
Programs and Services, Technology in the Library (including
microcomputer word processing, and on-line/CD-ROM

technology), Instructional Design/Curriculum Development
for the School Library and, 

1.3.3.1 Completion of a Practicum of 12
or more semester hours in a School Library (with experience
at both the elementary and secondary levels) or,

1.3.3.2 One year of successful, full-time
experience as a School Librarian/Media Specialist, and 6
additional semester hours in Library Science from the areas
specified in 1.3.3.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The limited Standard license may be issued for
a period of up to three years at the request of a Delaware
public school district to a person who meets the requirements
listed below, and who is employed as a School Librarian/
Media Specialist to allow for the completion of the
requirements for the Standard License as specified in 1.0.
The Limited Standard License can be extended for 3 years
(at the request of a school district) upon completion and
verification of 12 additional semester hours of the
coursework specified above in 1.3.3.

2.1.1 Requirements of 1.1 and 1.2 and,
2.1.2 A minimum of 3 years of successful,

full-time work experience at the level (elementary, middle,
secondary) of assignment and 

2.1.3 A minimum of 6 semester hours in
Library Science selected from 1.3.3.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position
include Standard and Limited Standard.

1547 Standard Certificate – Library/Media Specialist

1.0 Content:  This regulation shall apply to the
requirements for a standard certificate, 
pursuant to 14 Del. C. §1220 (a), for Library/Media
Specialist.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when
used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is used.

“Standard certificate” means a credential issued
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge,
skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del. C. §1220 (a), the
Department shall issue a standard certificate as a Library/
Media Specialist to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware
initial, continuing, or advanced license; or standard or
professional status certificate issued by the Department prior
to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:
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3.1 Bachelor's degree in any content area from a
regionally accredited college/university; and,

3.2 Completion of a Master’s degree from a
regionally accredited college/university in an American
Library Association (ALA) approved program in School
Library/Media; or,

3.3 Master’s degree from a regionally accredited
college/university in any other content area, including a
general Media Library Specialist (MLS) degree, and
completion of a program  in School Library/Media approved
by the Department pursuant to 14 DE Admin. Code 399
which meets ALA Standards.

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del. C. 
Section 122 (D)

380 Certification School Nurse

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, in cooperation and

collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks the
approval of the State Board of Education to amend
regulation 380 Certification School Nurse.  It is necessary to
amend this regulation to comply with changes in statute
regarding the licensure and certification of educators.  The
amended regulation will be renumbered to reflect its
movement to the Professional Standards Board portion of the
Department of Education regulations.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation addresses student
achievement by establishing standards for school nurses.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation helps to ensure that all school nurses employed by
school districts meet high standards of performance.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation addresses the certification requirements
for school nurses, not students’ health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected? The amended regulation
addresses the certification requirements for school nurses,
not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the

necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?  The decision-making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration and
cooperation with the Department of Education, and with the
consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del. C. requires
that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the new regulation?  There is no
additional cost to local school boards for compliance with
the regulation.

380 Certification School Nurse (Effective July 1, 1993)

1.0 The following shall be the requirements for the
Standard License

1.1 Bachelor's degree in Education, Nursing,
Health Education, Allied Health, Psychology, Counseling or
School Nursing from an accredited college/university; and,

1.2 Registered Nurse, State of Delaware (true copy
of current license required) and,

1.3 Three years clinical nursing experience and,
1.4 Specialized professional preparation:

1.4.1 A one-semester college/university
level course in each of the following areas: Human Behavior
and Development, Exceptional Children and Sociology.

1.4.2 One course in each area below
(university/college level, or Department of Education
approved in-service courses for nurses): Community of
Public Health, Counseling and Guidance, School Nursing,
Physical Assessment, Health Education, Testing/Screening
of the School Age Child.
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2.0 Maintenance of License (Renewal)
2.1 During the 5-year life of the Standard License,

75 clock hours (5 semester hours) of continuing education
shall be required, as specified below:

2.1.1 All courses must relate to the field of
school nursing.

2.1.2 Six clock hours of CPR training is
required within the 75-clock hour requirement.

2.1.3 If content is appropriate, 5 semester
hours (5 SH x 15 clock hours/SH = 75 clock hours) of
university or college credit, or 3 semester hours (45 clock
hours) and 30 clock hours of in-service may be used to meet
the 75 clock hours;

2.1.4 All in-service courses taken shall be
DOE approved courses for Nurses;

2.1.5 Other types of continuing education
courses require prior approval from the Office of
Certification;

2.1.6 Evidence of the 75 clock hours of
coursework must be maintained by the individual and
submitted to the Office of Certification at the expiration of
the Standard License. Failure to meet the appropriate clock
hour requirement will result in the issuance of a Limited
Standard License.

3.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

3.1 The limited Standard License may be issued
for a period of three years at the request of a Delaware public
school district by the local district superintendent to a person
who meets the requirements listed below, and who is
employed as a school nurse to allow for the completion of
the requirements for the Standard License as in 1.0.

3.1.1 Registered Nurse, State of Delaware
(true copy of current license) and,

3.1.2 Three years clinical nursing
experience and,

3.1.3 Specific agreement to complete the
requirements specified in 1.1 and 1.4 within the three-year
life of this License.

4.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position
include Standard and Limited Standard.

1580 Standard Certificate -- School Nurse
1.0 Content:  This regulation shall apply to the

requirements for a standard certificate for school nurses,
pursuant to 14 Del. C., §1220 (a).

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when
used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who
holds a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del. C.,
Chapter 12, and includes teachers and administrators, and as

otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board pursuant to 14 Del. C., § 1203, but does not include
substitute teachers.  For the purposes of this regulation,
school nurses are considered educators.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is used.

“Standard certificate” means a credential issued
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge,
skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional
Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del. C., § 1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education
of the State pursuant to 14 Del. C., § 104.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del. C., §1220 (a), the
Department shall issue a standard certificate as a school
nurse to a nurse who holds a valid Delaware initial,
continuing, or advanced license; or a limited standard,
standard or professional status certificate issued by the
Department prior to August 31, 2003 and who meets the
following requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree in Nursing or School
Nursing from an accredited college/university; and,

3.2 Current  RN license, recognized by the DE
Board of Nursing; and,

3.3 A minimum of three years clinical nursing
experience; and

3.4 Valid and current certification in CPR.
4.0 Induction Requirements

4.1 Pursuant to 14 DE Admin. Code 1510, 4.2 and
1511., 3.0, during the term of the initial license as an
educator, a school nurse must complete 90 clock hours of
training consisting of school nursing, health education,
testing/screening, counseling and guidance, and introduction
to exceptional children.  Failure to meet this requirement
will result in the denial of a continuing license. (See DE
Admin. Code 1511, 3.0).

5.0 Revocation
5.1 A standard certificate; or a limited standard,

standard or professional status certificate as a school nurse
issued prior to August 31, 2003 may be revoked in
accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1514 for:

5.1.1 Making a materially false or misleading
statement in a certificate application; or

5.1.2  Revocation of a license issued under 14
Del. C., Chapter 12; or

5.1.3 Failure to maintain a current license as a
registered nurse in the State of Delaware; or

5.1.4 Failure to maintain valid and current
certification in CPR.
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Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant
To 14 Del. C. Section 122(D)

1510 Issuance Of Initial License

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation

and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks
the approval of the State Board of Education to amend
regulation 1510 Issuance of Initial License.  This regulation
applies to the issuance of an initial license as established by
14 Del. C. §1210.  The amendment to this regulation is
necessary to clarify the provision of H.B. 68, which allows
91 days of long term teaching experience at one assignment
to be used to fulfill the requirement for student teaching. 

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation concerns educator
licensure, not student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulation helps ensure that all educators demonstrate high
standards for the issuance of an initial license.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The
amended regulation addresses educator licensure, not
students’ health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
addresses educator licensure, not students’ legal rights.

5 Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?   The amended regulation will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?   The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity? The decision-making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the new regulation?  14 Del. C. requires that
we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the new regulation?   There is no
additional cost to local school boards for compliance with
the regulation.

1510 Issuance of Initial License
1.0 Content:  This regulation shall apply to the issuance

of an initial license for educators, pursuant to 14 Del. C. §
1210.

2.0 Definitions:  The following words and terms, when
used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Alternative Routes to Licensure and
Certification” means programs approved by the Department
of Education to certify or license candidates who hold
bachelors degrees with appropriate to the instructional field
they desire to teach, but who did not complete a regionally
accredited educator preparation program.

“Composite score” means a total of an applicant’s
scores on all three (3) subtests of Praxis I which is equal to,
or greater than, the sum of the pasing scores on the three
subtests.

“Date of hire” means the effective date of
employment by a school district, charter school, or other
employing authority.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who
holds a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del. C.,
Chapter 12, and includes teachers and administrators, and as
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board, pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1203, but does not include
substitute teachers.

“Examination of general knowledge” means a
standardized test which measures general knowledge and
essential skills in mathematics or quantitative and verbal
skills, including reading and writing.

“Exigent circumstances” means unanticipated
circumstances or circumstances beyond the educator’s
control, including, but not limited to, expiration of a license
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during the school year, serious illness of the educator or a
member of his/her immediate family, activation to active
military duty, and other serious emergencies which
necessitate the educator’s temporarily leaving active service.

“Jurisdiction” means a state, territory or country.
“License” means a credential which authorizes the

holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

“Mentoring” means activities prescribed by the
Department and/or other employing authority in which a
holder of an initial license must engage during the three-year
term of the initial license.

“Novice applicant” means an applicant who has
not previously held an initial license in Delaware.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge,
skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students. 

“Standards Board” means the Professional
Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education
of the State pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 104.

“Student teaching program” means a placement
within a National Association of State Directors of Teacher
Education and Certification or National Council for the
Accreditation of Teacher Education approved program
offered by a college or university, or such alternatives as
deemed appropriate to the program, such as supervised
internships or other field based experience recognized as a
required component of the regionally accredited educator
preparation program. For the purposes of this regulation,
student teaching program also means one year of teaching
experience within the last year consisting of a minimum of
91 days of long term teaching experience at one assignment
during which regular evaluations were conducted,
evidencing at least satisfactory performance..

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del. C. § 1210, the
Department shall issue an  initial license to a novice
applicant who submits evidence of (1) receipt of a bachelors
degree from a regionally accredited 4-year college or
university; (2) completion of a student teaching program, or
one year of teaching experience consisting of a minimum of
91 days of long term teaching experience at one assignment
in the area for which a certificate is sought, or enrollment in
an Alternative Routes to Licensure and Certification
program, and (3) a passing score on an examination of
general knowledge, such as PRAXIS I, or such other
alternative as may be established by the Standards Board,
with the approval of the State Board. For the purposes of this
regulation, a bachelor’s degree for a trades and industry
teacher shall be two (2) years of college or technical training,
plus six (6) years of trade experience.  An initial license shall
also be issued to an applicant currently licensed as an
educator in another jurisdiction with less than three years of

teaching experience or to an applicant who previously held a
valid Delaware standard or professional status certificate
who has been out of the profession for more than three years.
In addition to an initial license, applicants must also apply
for a standard certificate in the particular area, subject, or
category in which they wish to be employed, and must verify
that they possess the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or
education to practice in that area, subject, or category. (See
14 DE Admin. Code 1516). 

3.1 An applicant for an initial license shall submit
the application form, official transcripts, and official scores
on an examination of general knowledge to the Department.

3.1.1 Official transcripts shall be forwarded
directly from the issuing institution or by the applicant in an
unopened, unaltered envelope.

3.2 Examination of General Knowledge
Requirements

3.2.1 An applicant seeking initial licensure
in Delaware shall provide the Department with official test
scores for one or more of the following tests of essential
skills in reading, writing and mathematics: the PRAXIS I
Tests or such alternatives as set forth in 3.2.4 below.

3.2.2 Scores of Examinations of General
Knowledge. 

3.2.2.1 The following minimum passing
scores are required in the areas of reading, writing and
mathematics for each of the examinations of essential skills.

3.2.2.1.1 Pre-professional Skills
Test Taken between 7/1/83 and 10/22/93: reading - 175,
mathematics - 175, writing - 172.

3.2.2.1.2 PRAXIS I - Paper and
Pencil Tests (Tests taken on 10/23/93 and thereafter) and
computerized pre-professional skills tests taken 1/1/02 and
thereafter: reading - 175, mathematics - 174, writing - 173. 

3.2.2.1.3 PRAXIS I - Computer
Based Tests (Tests taken on10/23/93 and thereafter): reading
- 322, mathematics - 319, writing - 319. 

3.2.3 Individuals holding Delaware
certificates issued prior to July 1, 1983 are exempt from the
testing requirements.

3.2.4 Acceptable alternatives to the
PRAXIS I test scores include:

3.2.4.1 Scores from the California Test of
Basic Skills (CTBS) shall be accepted in lieu of PPST/
PRAXIS I scores if the test was taken as a condition of
meeting certification or licensure requirements in that state
and the scores total 123, with a minimum of at least 37 in
each category.

3.2.4.2 Scholastic Aptitude Tests (SAT)
taken after 4/1/95 and presented for exemption must meet
the scores set forth below due to a re-centering of the SAT.

3.2.4.2.1 A minimum score of
520 on the SAT Mathematics taken prior to 4/1/95, and a
minimum score of 540 on the SAT Mathematics test taken
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thereafter will be accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I
Mathematics requirement. 

3.2.4.2.2 A minimum score of
480 on the SAT Verbal test taken prior to 4/1/95, and a
minimum score of 560 on the SAT verbal test taken
thereafter will be accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I
reading requirement.

3.2.4.3 Graduate Record Examination
(GRE) scores presented for exemption must meet the scores
set forth below.

3.2.4.3.1 A minimum score of
490 on the Graduate Record Examination (GRE) Verbal test
will be accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I reading
requirement.

3.2.4.3.2 A minimum score of
540 on the Graduate Record Examination (GRE)
Quantitative test will be accepted as fulfillment of the
PRAXIS I mathematics requirement.

3.2.4.4 National Teacher Examination
(NTE) Core Battery Communications Skills with a minimum
score of 670 will be accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I
writing requirement.

3.2.5 Any Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)
scores, Graduate Records Exam (GRE) scores or NTE
Communication Skills scores intended to be used as an
exemption for the PPST/PRAXIS I, shall be submitted
within the same timeline as that required for PRAXIS I and
scores must pre-date the employment date.

3.2.6 Timeline for Examination of General
Knowledge.

3.2.6.1 An applicant for an initial license
must pass PRAXIS I or an approved alternative within the
period of time from the date of hire to the end of the next,
consecutive fiscal year.  If proof of passage of Praxis I is not
provided by the end of the next consdecutive fiscal year, the
initial license shall be suspended.  Notwithstanding the
foregoing, the superintendent of the employing school
district or charter school or other employing authority may
submit to the Secretary of Education a written request for a
one-year extension.  The request must document the
effectiveness of the applicant. 

3.2.6.1.1 An applicant for an
initial license who does not achieve a passing score on
PRAXIS I, but whose score on PRAXIS I is within 2 points
of the passing score on the reading, writing, or mathematics
section of PRAXIS I may use a composite score to meet the
requirements of passage.  Notwithstanding the use of a
composite score, an applicant who seeks to teach in the
secondary content areas of mathematics or English/language
arts must meet the passing score in that content area.

3.2.6.2 An applicant in a vocational trade
and industry area must pass PRAXIS I or an approved
alternative within six (6) years of the date of employment or
before the expiration of the initial license, whichever is later.

3.2.7 There is no limit on the number of
times an individual may take the PPST/PRAXIS I.  Once
passed, a section need not be taken again.

3.2.7.1 Passing scores in each area
(reading, writing, mathematics) may be attained in any
testing format.

3.2.8 Submission of Scores of Examination
of General Knowledge.

3.2.8.1 Test scores shall be official and
sent directly from Educational Testing Service or other test
vendor to the Department.

3.2.8.2 Unopened, unaltered envelopes
containing PPST/PRAXIS I scores, or scores of acceptable
alternatives,  sent to the individual may be accepted as
official. The Department shall determine whether the scores
as presented are acceptable.

3.2.8.3 Direct verification from another
State Department of Education shall be considered as
official.  An original of the grade form shall be forwarded
directly from the other State Department to the Department.
This method will be accepted only when official test scores
from Educational Testing Service are not available.

4.0 An initial license is valid for three (3) years, unless
revoked, and may not be renewed.  Notwithstanding the
foregoing, an initial license issued to an applicant in a
vocational trade and industry area is valid for up to six (6)
years to provide time for completion of specified college
level course work required for certification.

4.1 An initial license issued to an applicant who is
not currently employed by a school district, charter school,
or other employing authority shall be inactive until such time
as an applicant is employed by a public school district or
charter school.  Once employed, the initial license shall be in
effect for three (3) years from the date of hire until the last
day of the month of issuance three (3) years later, except in
the case of the vocational and trade industry areas which
shall expire on the last day of the month of issuance six (6)
years later.

4.2 During the term of the initial license, license
holders are required to participate in mentoring and other
prescribed professional development activities offered by the
Department and by the school district or charter school or
other employing authority in which they are employed.

5.0 Applicants with Foreign Credentials.
5.1 Applicants graduating from foreign institutions

shall provide an analysis of the degree equivalency, along
with all other required application materials, which shall be
reviewed by the Department. 

6.0 The Department may extend an initial license for a
period not to exceed one (1) year, exigent circumstances
warranting the necessity of such extension.

6.1 A license holder whose license expires during
the school year may have the initial license extended until
the last day of the fiscal year upon a request from the district
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superintendent, charter school administrator, or other
employing authority.  This extension shall be considered an
exigent circumstances and shall not exceed one (1) year in
length.

7.0 An educator may take a leave of absence of up to
three (3) years with no effect upon the validity or expiration
of the initial license.

8.0 An applicant shall disclose his or her criminal
conviction history upon application for an initial license.
Failure to disclose a criminal conviction history is grounds
for denial or revocation of an initial license as specified in 14
Del. Code, § 1219.

9.0  This regulation shall apply to all requests for
issuance of an initial license, except as specifically
addressed herein. 

9.1 Educators whose applications for certification
in Delaware were received prior to August 31, 2003,  and
whose applications and credentials have been reviewed by
the Department and resulted in the issuance of an evaluation
or prescription letter shall be required to meet the General
Regulations for Certification of Professional Public School
Personnel and the Specific Regulations as adopted for
certification effective July 1, 1993. 

9.2 Educators employed on a Limited Standard
Certificate or a Temporary Certificate issued prior to August
31, 2003  shall continue on that certificate until the
requirements specified are met or the certificate expires,
whichever comes first.   In no case shall a Limited Standard
or Temporary Certificate be valid after July 1, 2008.

10.0 The Secretary of Education may, at the request
of the superintendent of a local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority, review
licensure credentials on an individual basis and grant a
license to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for initial license, but whose effectiveness is
documented by the local school district, charter school, or
other employing authority.

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del. C. 
Section 122 (D)

1514 Revocation Of Licenses

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, in cooperation and

collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks the
approval of the State Board of Education to amend
regulation 1514 Revocation of Licenses.  It is necessary to
amend this regulation to include educators who hold limited

standard, standard, or professional status certificates issued
prior to August 31, 2003 who have not yet been issued
continuing or advanced licenses under the revised licensure
and certification regulations.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation addresses the revocation
of educators’ licenses and certificates, not student
achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation addresses the revocation of educators’ licenses
and certificates, not student achievement.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation addresses the revocation of licenses and
certificates of educators which helps to protect students’
health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected? The amended regulation
addresses the revocation of licenses and certificates of
educators, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?  The decision-making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration and
cooperation with the Department of Education, and with the
consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.
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9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del. C. requires
that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the new regulation?  There is no
additional cost to local school boards for compliance with
the regulation.

1514 Revocation of Licenses

1.0 Content: This regulation shall apply to the
revocation of an initial license, continuing license and/or
advanced license; or a limited standard, standard or
professional status certificate issued prior to August 31,
2003 for educators, pursuant to 14 Del.C. § 1218.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when
used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Advanced license” means a license issued as part
of the three-tiered licensure system set forth in 14 Del. C.
§1213 and 1214.

“Continuing license” means a license issued as
part of the three-tiered license system set forth in 14 Del.C.
§1211 and 1212.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Dismissal” means (1) dismissal by a school board
or board of directors where the license or certificate holder is
employed by a public school district or a charter school for
immorality, misconduct in office, incompetency, willful
neglect of duty or disloyalty; or (2) the license or certificate
holder’s voluntary resignation of employment in the face of
disciplinary action for immorality; or (3) the license or
certificate holder’s conviction of a crime which is evidence
of immorality.

“Educator” means a public school employee who
holds a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del.C.
Chapter 12, and includes teachers and administrators, and as
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203, but does not include
substitute teachers.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent
with the rules and principles of morality expected of an
educator and may reasonably be found to impair an
educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness or
otherwise.

“Initial license” means a license issued as part of
the three-tiered licensure system set forth in 14 Del.C.
§1210.

“License holder” or “licensee” means any
individual who holds an initial license, continuing license
and/or advanced license, and until a continuing license is
issued, a limited standard, standard, or professional status
certificate.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware
Department of Education.

“Standards Board” means the Professional
Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205.

“State” means the State of Delaware.
3.0 An initial, continuing or advanced license; or a

limited standard, standard, or professional status certificate
issued prior to August 31, 2003 may be revoked upon the
dismissal of the license holder for immorality, misconduct in
office, incompetency, willful neglect of duty or disloyalty,
and must be revoked upon a finding that the license or
certificate holder made a materially false or misleading
statement in his or her license or certificate application.

3.1 Revocation Requested by a School District or
Charter School.

3.1.1 When any license or certificate holder
is dismissed by a school board, or board of directors, or other
employing authority for immorality, the board making such a
determination pursuant to 14 Del.C. shall, upon final
decision, give written notice to the Secretary of its desire to
request the revocation of that individual’s license.

3.1.2 When any license or certificate holder
is dismissed by a school board or board of directors or other
employing authority for misconduct in office, incompetence,
willful neglect of duty or disloyalty, the board making such a
determination pursuant to 14 Del.C. may, upon final
decision, give written notice to the Secretary of its desire to
request the revocation of that individual’s license.

3.1.3 When a license or certificate holder
employed by a school board or board of directors or other
employing authority voluntarily resigns in the face of
disciplinary action for immorality and an investigation has
been initiated by the school board or board of directors, or
other employing authority, the board shall, upon accepting
the resignation, give written notice to the Secretary.

3.1.4 Upon receipt of written notification
from the school board or board of directors or other
employing authority, the Secretary shall give written notice
to the license or certificate holder of the intended revocation
and the reasons therefore.  The notice of revocation shall be
sent by certified mail and shall give notice that a full and fair
hearing may be requested before the Standards Board within
thirty (30) days.  Hearings shall be conducted in accordance
with the Standard Board’s Hearing Procedures and Rules.

3.1.5 If the licensee fails to request a formal
hearing before the Standards Board within thirty (30) days of
the notice of revocation, the Secretary shall send written
notification by certified mail to the individual revoking his/
her license.

3.2 Revocation by the Secretary of Education
3.2.1 The Secretary may initiate

proceedings to revoke a license or certificate holder’s license
or certificate when she/he has good reason to believe that
any of the following circumstances exist:
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3.2.1.1 The license or certificate holder
has been convicted of a crime which is evidence of
immorality;

3.2.1.2 The license or certificate holder
who is not employed by a public school district or charter
school or other employing authority has voluntarily resigned
his/her employment in the face of an open investigation for
immorality; or

3.2.1.3 The license or certificate holder
has had a certificate or license revoked in another state for
immorality, misconduct in office, incompetency, willful
neglect of duty or disloyalty or falsification of credentials.

3.2.2 The Secretary shall give written
notice to the license or certificate holder of the intended
revocation and the reasons therefor.  The notice of
revocation shall be sent by certified mail and shall give
notice that a full and fair hearing may be requested before
the Standards Board within thirty (30) days.  Hearings shall
be conducted in accordance with the Standard Board’s
Hearing Procedures and Rules.

3.2.3 If the licensee fails to request a formal
hearing before the Standards Board within thirty (30) days of
the notice of revocation, the Secretary shall send written
notification by certified mail to the individual revoking his/
her license or certificate.

4.0 Duty of License or Certificate Holder to Report.
4.1 Notwithstanding any other provisions stated

herein, a license or certificate holder shall send written
notification to the Secretary within thirty (30) days of the
happening of any of the following events:

4.1.1 The license or certificate holder is
dismissed by a school board, board of directors, or other
employing authority for immorality;

4.1.2 The license or certificate holder
voluntarily resigns employment in the face of disciplinary
action for immorality and/or an open investigation for
immorality;

4.1.3 The license or certificate holder is
convicted of a crime which is evidence of immorality; or

4.1.4 The license or certificate holder has
had a certificate or license revoked in another state for
immorality, misconduct in office, incompetency, willful
neglect of duty, disloyality or falsification of credentials.

4.2 The failure of the license or certificate holder
to report any of the above events to the Secretary of
Education shall be grounds for revoking a license or
certificate.

5.0 When a license or certificate is revoked, all
certificates held by the license or certificate holder shall be
revoked.  Educators are entitled to a full and fair hearing
before the Professional Standards Board.  Hearings shall be
conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C. SECTION 122(d)

1516 STANDARD CERTIFICATE
 
A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation
and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend
regulation 1516 Standard Certificate from the Regulations of
the Department of Education.  The regulation concerns the
requirements for certification of educational personnel.  It is
necessary to amend this regulation due to changes in statute.

Changes in statute in 2000 and again in 2003
necessitated major changes in the licensure and certification
system for educators.  All educators must have an initial,
continuing, or advanced license, as well as a standard
certificate, which delineates the area in which an educator
may practice.  A standard certificate is issued to an educator
who holds a license and who has acquired the prescribed
knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular
area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular
category of students.  Educators who have graduated from an
educator preparation program offered by a Delaware higher
education institution approved by the Department, who have
achieved a passing score on a PRAXIS II examination, who
have obtained National Board for Professional Teaching
Standards certification, or who hold a current and valid
certificate from another state in the area in which the
standard certificate is sought are granted a standard
certificate.  

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation addresses student
achievement by establishing standards for the issuance of a
standard certificate to educators whohave acquired the
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a
particular category of students to help ensure that students
are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach
students meet high standards and have acquired the
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a
particular category of students.
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3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The
amended regulation addresses educator certification, not
students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected? The amended regulation
addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?   The amended regulation will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?   The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.  

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity? The decision-making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the new regulation?  14 Del. C. requires that
we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?   There
is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance
with the regulation.

1516 Standard Certificate

1.0 Content: This regulation shall apply to the issuance
of a standard certificate, pursuant to 14 Del. C. ' 1220 (a).

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when
used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

ACertified@ means holding a certificate in a specific
content area at designated grade levels.

ACertification@ means the issuance of a certificate,
which may occur regardless of a recipient=s assignment or
employment status.

ADepartment@ means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who
holds a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del.C.,
Chapter 12, and includes teachers, specialists, and
administrators, and as otherwise defined by the Standards
Board and the State Board pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203, but
does not include substitute teachers.

AExamination of content knowledge@ means a
standardized test which measures knowledge in a specific
content area.

ALicense@ means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

AStandard Certificate@ means a credential issued
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge,
skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students. 

AStandards Board@ means the Professional
Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. '1201.

AState Board@ means the State Board of Education
of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. '104.

3.0 The Department shall issue a standard certificate to
an educator who holds a valid Delaware initial, continuing,
or advanced license or limited standard, standard, or
professional status certificate who has acquired the
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a
particular category of students, or has graduated from a
Delaware approved program, or holds a valid and current
certificate in the area requested from another state.
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

3.1  An educator may document the acquisition of
the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice
in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct
a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Submitting evidence of having
graduated from a Delaware approved educator preparation
program; or

3.1.2 Holding a valid and current certificate
from another state; or

3.1.3 Achieving a passing score on an
examination of content knowledge, such as PRAXIS II.  The
section is subject to the establishment of passing scores for
PRAXIS II examinations by the Department, and their
approval by the Professional Standards Board, with
concurrence from the State Board of Education; or

3.1.3.1 National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards in the area, subject, or category in which
the standard certificate is to be issued will be accepted in lieu
of a passing score on PRAXIS II.
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3.1.3.2 In areas, subjects or categories
where an examination of content knowledge is neither
available nor applicable, the applicant must meet the
requirements set forth in the relevant Department regulation
governing the issuance of a standard certificate in the area
for which a standard certificate is sought.

3.0 The Department shall issue a standard certificate to
an educator who holds a valid Delaware initial, continuing or
advanced license; or limited standard, standard, or
professional status certificate issued prior to August 31,
2003, who has:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/
or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of
students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a standard certificate is
requested; or

3.1.2 Meeting the requirements set forth in
the relevant Department or Standards Board regulation
governing the issuance of a standard certificate in the area
for which a standard certificate is sought; or

3.2 Graduating from an educator preparation
program offered by a Delaware higher education institution
approved by the Department pursuant to 14 DE Admin.
Code 399, with a major in the area of the standard certificate
requested; or

3.3 Achieving a passing score on a Praxis II
examination in the area requested.  This section is subject to
the establishment of passing scores for Praxis II
examinations by the Department and their approval by the
Standards Board, with concurrence from the State Board; or

3.4 Holding a valid and current certificate from
another state in the area for which a standard certificate is
sought.

3.4.1 A “valid and current certificate from
another state” means a current full or permanent certificate
or license issued by another state.  It does not include
temporary, emergency or expired certificates or licenses
issued from another state.

4.0 An applicant for a standard certificate shall submit
evidence of (1) receipt of a bachelors degree from a
regionally accredited 4-year college or university; (2)
official transcripts and, if applicable, official scores on the
PRAXIS II examination or a notarized copy of the National
Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate.  If
applied for simultaneously with application for an initial
license, the applicant shall provide all required
documentation for that application in addition to the
documentation cited above.

4.0 Educators may hold certificates in more than one
area. 

4.0  5.0 An applicant for a standard certificate shall
submit evidence of (1) receipt of a bachelors degree from a
regionally accredited 4-year college or university; (2)
official transcripts and, if applicable, official scores on the
Praxis II examination, or evidence of passage a notarized
copy of the National Board for Professional Teaching
Standards Certificate, or an official copy of the out-of-state
license or certification, if applicable.  If applied for
simultaneously with application for an initial license, the
applicant shall provide all required documentation for that
application in addition to the documentation cited above.  

5.0  6.0 If an applicant holds a valid initial, continuing,
or advanced Delaware license; or a limited standard,
standard or professional status certificate issued prior to
August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional standard
certificates, only that documentation necessary to
demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education required for the additional standard
certificate requested is required.

6.0  7.0 This regulation shall apply to all requests for
issuance of a standard certificate, except as specifically
addressed herein.  Educators holding a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon
the expiration of their current professional status certificate
or standard certificate.  The Standard Certificate for each
area in which they held a Professional Status Certificate or a
Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing
License.  The Department shall also recognize a limited
standard certificate or temporary certificate issued prior to
August 31, 2003, provided that the educator successfully
completes the requirements set forth in the evaluation letter
received with the limited standard or temporary certificate.
Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of
the limited standard or temporary certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2009.

7.0  8.0 A standard certificate is valid regardless of the
assignment or employment status of the holder of a
certificate or certificates, and is not subject to renewal.  It
shall be revoked in the event the educator’s initial,
continuing, or advanced license or limited standard,
standard, or professional status certificate is revoked in
accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator is
entitled to a full and fair hearing before the Professional
Standards Board.  Hearings shall be conducted in accordance
with the Standards Board’s Hearing Procedures and Rules.

8.0  9.0 The Secretary of Education may, upon the
written request of the superintendent of a local school district
or charter school administrator or other employing authority,
review credentials submitted in application for a standard
certificate on an individual basis and grant a standard
certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a standard certificate, but whose
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effectiveness is documented by the local school district or
charter school administrator or other employing authority.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code, 
Sections 4805(a) & 10115 (29 Del.C. §§4805(a) & 

10115)

The Lottery issues this proposed rule amendment
pursuant to 29 Del. C. §4805(a) and 29 Del. C. §10115.  The
Lottery will accept written comments from September 1,
2003 through September 30, 2003.  The Lottery will hold a
public hearing on the proposed rule amendment on October
2, 2003 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room at
the Delaware Lottery Office, 1575 McKee Road, Suite 102,
Dover, DE 19904-1903.  Written comments should be
submitted to Brian Peters, Delaware Lottery Office, at the
same above-listed address.  The Lottery proposes to amend
Rule (30)(6a) pertaining to permitted exemptions to clarify
that retailers or license applicants may apply for an
exemption to the standards of accessibility in the rule.  

30.0  Non-Discrimination on the Basis of Disability in
Delaware Lottery Programs

(1) Definitions
a) “Accessible” means complying with the

technical requirements found in the ADA Accessibility
Guidelines (ADAAG).

b) “Accessible Route” means a continuous
unobstructed path connecting all accessible elements and
spaces of a building or facility. Interior accessible routes
may include corridors, floors, ramps, elevators, lifts, and
clear floor space at fixtures.  Exterior accessible routes may
include parking access aisles, curb ramps, crosswalks at
vehicular ways, walks, ramps, and lifts.

c) “ADA” means the Americans with Disabilities
Act (42 United States Code. §§12101-12213 and 47 United
States Code §225 and §611).

d) “Director” means the Director of the State
Lottery Office.

e) “Entrance” means any access point to a
building or portion of a building or facility used for the
purpose of entering.  An entrance includes the approach
walk the vertical access leading to the entrance platform, the
entrance platform itself, vestibules if provided, the entry
door(s) or gate(s), and the hardware of the entry door(s) or
gate(s).

f) “Facility” means all or any portion of
buildings, structures, site improvements, complexes,

equipment, roads, walks, passageways, parking lots, or other
real or personal property located on a site.

g) “Lottery Program” means on-line and instant
games offered to the public through retailer licensees.

h) “Lottery” or “State Lottery Office” means
the lottery established by the Delaware State Lottery Law,
Chapter 348, Volume 59, of the Laws of Delaware.

i) “Lottery Retailer” or “Retailer” means a
business entity housed in a specific retail facility that is
under license with the Delaware Lottery to provide lottery
related services.

 j) “Inspection Report” means a completed
survey of the retailer or applicant facility that identifies
barriers to program accessibility, if any and suggest possible
solutions.

k) “Service Site” means an area within a lottery
retailer facility where a customer can purchase a lottery
related product.  This is usually the cashier’s station.
qualified historic building or facility that is listed in or is
eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places
under the National Historic Preservation Act or is designated
as historic under State or Local law.

l) “Technically Infeasible” means, with respect
to an alteration of a building or a facility, that it has little
likelihood of being accomplished because existing structural
conditions would require removing or altering a load-bearing
member which is an essential part of the structural frame;  or
because other existing or site constraints prohibit
modification or addition of elements, spaces, or features
which are in full and strict compliance with the minimum
requirements for new construction and which are necessary
to provide accessibility. 

(2) Purpose
a) The Americans with Disabilities Act (P.L. 101-

336, U.S.C. §§ 12131-12134), known as the ADA, prohibits
discrimination on the basis of disability in the delivery of
programs offered by entities of state or local government.
The purpose of this regulation is to ensure that the Delaware
Lottery is in compliance with the ADA by ensuring that
people with disabilities have access to Delaware Lottery
programs.

b) In defining the scope or extent of any duty
imposed by these regulations including compliance with the
standard of accessibility defined in paragraph 3(b), higher or
more comprehensive obligations established by otherwise
applicable federal, state or local enactment may be
considered.

(3) General Requirements
a) Prohibition of discrimination.  No lottery

retailer shall discriminate against any individual on the basis
of a disability in the full and equal enjoyment of lottery
related goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, or
accommodations of any lottery licensed facility.

http://lottery.state.de.us/
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b) Standard of accessibility.  Each Retailer is
required to meet a standard of accessibility that enables
people with disabilities, including those who use
wheelchairs, to enter the lottery licensed facility and
participate in the lottery program.  An accessible route must
be provided comprised of the following accessible elements:

1) Parking if parking is provided to the
general public;

2) Exterior route connecting parking (or a
public way if no parking is provided) to an accessible
entrance;

3) Entrance;
4) Interior Route connecting the entrance to a

service site.
c) Each element shall meet the design standards

set forth in the ADA Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG)
published in the Federal Register on July 26, 1991.

(4) New License Applicants
a) License applicants.  The State Lottery Office

shall inspect the site of applicants for compliance with this
regulation prior to granting a license.  The State Lottery
Office will not grant a license to an applicant who is not in
compliance with this regulation.

b) Inspection reports.  The State Lottery Office,
prior to granting a license, shall provide lottery applicants
with an Inspection Report that shall identify barrier removal
actions, if any, necessary to provide program accessibility.
The identified actions must be completed prior to the
granting of a license.

(5) Current Retailers
a) The State Lottery Office shall inspect the site

of each lottery retailer for compliance with this regulation.
b) Inspection reports . The State Lottery Office

shall provide to all current retailers an Inspection Report that
shall identify barrier removal actions necessary to provide
program accessibility.  The identified actions must be
competed within 90 days of receipt of the Inspection Report.

c) Extensions.  The Director may grant an
extension of up to 90 days to allow a current retailer to
complete barrier removal actions identified in the Inspection
Report.

(i) Any request for an extension must be in
writing, and shall include specific reasons for an extension
and supporting documentation.

(ii) The Director shall grant an extension only
upon showing of good cause.

(6) Permitted exemptions
a) The following exemptions to the requirements

of this rule may be granted by the Director.  The Director
shall review the circumstances and supporting
documentation provided by the retailer or applicant to
determine if the retailer’s request for an exemption should be
granted.  The Director shall determine the type and scope of
documentation to be required for each exemption

classification.  All decisions made by the Director shall be
final; any retailer whose request for an exemption is denied
by the Director shall be required to satisfy the requirements
of this rule as a condition for maintaining its eligibility for a
Lottery retailer contract.

b) Historic properties.  To the extent a historic
building is exempt under federal law, and if barrier removal
would threaten or destroy the historic significance of the
structure, this rule shall not apply to a qualified historic
building or facility that is listed in or is eligible for listing in
the National Register of Historic Places under the National
Historic Preservation Act or is designated as historic under
State or Local law.

c) Legal impediment to barrier removal.  Any
law, act, ordinance, state regulation, ruling or decision which
prohibits the lottery retailer from removing a structural
impediment or from making a required improvement to the
facility may be the basis for an exemption to this rule.  A
lottery retailer requesting an exemption for a legal
impediment will not be required to formally seek a zoning
variance to establish such impediment, but will be required
to document that they have applied for and have been
refused whatever permit(s) are necessary to remove the
identified barrier(s).

d) Landlord refusal.  An exemption may be
granted based on the refusal of a landlord to grant permission
to a Lottery retailer to make improvements required by the
Lottery under this rule or based on the refusal of a landlord
to pay for improvements required by the Lottery under this
rule. The exemption shall only apply to the retailer’s current
term, and does not include any possible renewal periods
under the lease.  To request such an exemption, the retailer
must submit documentation to the Director that the retailer
requested the Landlord’s permission and financial
participation to make the required structural improvements,
that such request was denied by the landlord, and the reasons
for the denial.  In making a decision on the exemption
request, the Director shall take into consideration, but not be
limited to, the sufficiency of the reasons provided by the
landlord for denying the retailer’s request.

e) Undue financial hardship. A limited exemption
may be granted if a retailer can demonstrate that the cost of
removing a structural barrier or of making the required
structural modification(s) to the retailer’s facility is an undo
financial hardship in that the cost of making such a change(s)
exceeds 25% of the retailer’s compensation from the Lottery
for the prior calendar year (An annualized sales figure based
upon the retailer’s most current 13-week sales period shall
be used for those retailer locations with less than a full year’s
history of sales.) Under the terms of this limited exemption,
a retailer would be required to annually make those
improvements and modifications that can be financed within
an amount that is approximately equal to 25% of the total
compensation earned from the Lottery in the prior calendar
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year.  This requirement would continue on a year-to-year
basis until all the improvements and modifications required
by this rule have been completed.  A retailer shall provide all
supporting documentation requested by the Director to
substantiate the, cost estimates of making the required
improvements to the retailer’s location.

f) Technical Infeasibility.  A permanent
exemption may be granted if a retailer can demonstrate that
the removal of architectural barriers identified in the
inspection report is not possible due to technical
infeasibility.  If such a claim is made, the Lottery may have
the barrier removal action evaluated by a person
knowledgeable in accessibility codes and construction to
determine the merits of the claim.

g) Alternative methods.  Where an exemption is
granted in accordance with the provisions of this sub-
chapter, the lottery retailer shall make the lottery related
goods and services available through alternative methods.
Examples of alternative methods include, but are not limited
to:

1) Providing curb service;
2) Directing by signage to the nearest

accessible lottery retailer.
(7) Complaints Relating to Non-Accessibility

a) An aggrieved party may file an accessibility
complaint with the Lottery Director or designee for review.
Complaints must be in writing and, where possible,
submitted on an ADA complaint form.  As soon as practical,
but not later than 30 days after the filing of a complaint, each
complaint will be investigated.  After the completion of the
investigation, if the agency determines that the lottery
retailer is not in compliance with this regulation, a letter of
non-compliance will be issued to the lottery retailer with a
copy to the complainant.  If the lottery retailer is determined
to be in compliance, a letter so stating will be mailed to the
retailer and complainant.  Regardless of whether a complaint
has been filed, the agency will issue a letter of
noncompliance within 30 days after the completion of an
onsite inspection of the lottery retailer facility if the agency
determines that the lottery retailer is not in compliance with
this regulation.

b) If the letter of non-compliance shows
deficiencies in the accessibility of the retailer facility, the
lottery retailer shall submit a plan to the agency within 30
days of the issuance of the letter of non-compliance. The
plan shall describe in detail how the lottery retailer will
achieve compliance with this regulation.  Compliance shall
be accomplished within 90 days of the letter of non-
compliance.  The Lottery may, upon request, grant the
lottery retailer additional time to submit the plan for good
cause.

c) Within 20 days of the submission of the plan to
the agency, the Lottery shall notify the lottery retailer of the
agency’s acceptance or rejection of the plan.  If the plan is

rejected, the notification shall contain the reasons for
rejection of the plan and the corrections needed to make the
plan acceptable to the Lottery.  If the retailer agrees to make
the required corrections, the Lottery shall accept the plan as
modified.

d) If a retailer fails to submit a plan within 30
days of issuance of the letter of noncompliance and has not
requested an extension of time to submit a plan, the Lottery
may proceed to initiate termination proceedings.

e) If approved, the plan must be completely
implemented within 60 days of the agency’s notice of
approval.  The Lottery may, upon request, grant the lottery
retailer additional time for good cause.  Notice of any
extension will also be sent to the complainant, if applicable.
Any such extension will commence immediately upon
expiration of the first 60 day period.

f) If the corrective action taken by the lottery
retailer corrects the deficiencies specified in the letter of
noncompliance as originally issued or as later revised or
reissued or if the onsite inspection of the lottery retailer
facility reveals compliance with this regulation, the Lottery
will issue a notice of compliance.  Until this notice is issued,
a complaint will be considered pending.

g) Failure to make the identified modifications in
compliance with the accessibility standards and within the
required time period will result in the initiation of
proceedings to suspend or revoke the lottery license by the
agency.

h) A license will be suspended if the Lottery
determines that the lottery retailer has made significant
progress toward correcting deficiencies listed in the
compliance report, but has not completed implementation of
the approved compliance plan.  If the Lottery determines that
the lottery retailer has not made a good faith effort to correct
the deficiencies listed in the compliance report, this inaction
will result in the revocation of the lottery license for that
lottery licensed facility.

i) While proceedings to suspend or revoke a
lottery retailer’s license are pending pursuant to this
regulation, and until a notice of compliance is issued
pursuant to subsection (c) of this section, the Lottery shall
withhold incentive payments from the lottery retailer.  In
addition, if a license is revoked pursuant to this regulation,
and incentive payments and other privileges have been
withheld from the affected retailer pending review of the
complaint, the lottery retailer forfeits any claim to such
incentive payments or other privileges.

(8) Request for Hearings
a) If the Lottery proposes the denial of an

application for a license or the suspension or revocation of a
lottery retailer’s license pursuant to this regulation, the
agency shall give the applicant or lottery retailer written
notice of the time and place of the administrative hearing not
later than 30 days before the date of the hearing.
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b) All relevant rules of evidence and time limits
established in these rules shall apply to hearings conducted
under this regulation.

(9) Non-Exclusivity of Remedies
a) Remedies established by these regulations are

not intended to supplant, restrict or otherwise impair resort
to remedies otherwise available under law, including those
authorized by the ADA and Del. Code Ann., title 6, ch. 45
(1993).

See 3 DE Reg. 951 (1/1/00)  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 

Section 7406 (16 Del.C. §7406)

These regulations, “Regulation for the Certification of
Radiation Technologists/Technicians,” replace by revision
the current "Regulation for the Certification of Radiation
Technologists/Technicians" previously adopted on February
27, 1989 and most recently amended July 11, 2002.

The amendments to these regulations define
certification requirements for technicians and technologists
operating radiation machines, or administering radioactive
materials in the healing arts in Delaware.

Notice Of Public Hearing

The Authority on Radiation Protection will hold a
public hearing to discuss the proposed changes to the
Regulation for the Certification of Radiation Technologists/
Technicians.  This public hearing will be held on Monday,
September 22, 2003, at 5:00 pm in the Pritchett Conference
Room, Delaware Hospital for the Chronically Ill on DuPont
Highway, in Smyrna, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations along with a listing
of substantial changes are available for review by contacting:

Office of Radiation Control
Jesse Cooper Building
P.O. Box 637
Federal and Water Streets
Dover, Delaware 19903
Telephone: (302) 744-4546

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700
by close of business Friday, September 19, 2003.  Anyone
wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to, on

in lieu of, oral testimony should submit such comments by
close of business September 30, 2003 to:

David Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, DE 19903-0637

Proposed Regulation for the Certification or Radiation 
Technologists/Technicians

This Regulation is approved by the Authority on
Radiation Protection on June 13, 2002, pursuant to 16 Del.
C. §7406(c).  Radiation Technologists/Technicians are
"users of ionizing radiation" and, therefore, subject to
certification by the Authority on Radiation Protection.  This
Regulation is effective July 11, 2002.

SECTION I FINDINGS

The Authority hereby finds and declares that the citizens
of the State of Delaware are entitled to the maximum
protection practicable from the harmful effects of excessive
and improper exposure to ionizing radiation; that the
protection can be increased by requiring appropriate
education and training of individuals operating medical and
dental equipment and sources emitting ionizing radiation;
and that it is therefore necessary to establish certification
standards in radiation protection principles for these
operators and to provide for their appropriate examination
and certification.

See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SECTION II TITLE OF REGULATION

This regulation shall be known as the "Radiation
Technologist/Technician Certification Regulation".

See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SECTION III SEVERABILITY

If any provision or application of any provision of these
Regulations is held invalid, that invalidity shall not affect
other provisions or applications of these Regulations.

See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SECTION IV DEFINITIONS

As used in this regulation:

A. “Agency” means the administrative agent of the
Authority on Radiation Protection; i.e., the Office of
Radiation Control, Division of Public Health, Department of
Health and Social Services.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dph/index.htm
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B. “ARRT: American Registry of Radiologic
Technologists.” A national certifying body that credentials
through a national test graduates of JRCERT approved
radiologic technology programs.  The ARRT also provides
the State Limited Scope Licensing Examination to be used
by individuals who do not meet the national registry
requirements.

C. “Authority” means the Authority on Radiation
Protection as specified by 16 Del. C. §7404.

D. “CCI: Cardiovascular Credentialing
International.” A national certifying body that credentials
technologists in invasive cardiovascular procedures.

D E. "Certificate" means a document issued by the
Agency recognizing the successful completion of an
Authority approved Certification Exam. The "Certificate"
allows for the practice of radiation technology as specified
by the level of examination the individual has passed. Other
credentials include "Temporary".

1. Temporary - means a certificate issued by the
Agency as a temporary authorization to practice Radiation
Technology to any applicant who has complied with the
provisions of this regulation and is scheduled for the next
available examination.

E.  F. "Certification Examination" means any
examination satisfactory to the Authority that is used to
determine the competency of Radiation Technologists/
Technicians in the "principles and practice of radiation
protection".

F.  G. “CIS:  Cardiovascular Invasive Procedure
Specialist” means any individual, other than a licensed
practitioner who has trained to perform procedures in a
catheterization lab or special procedures lab that require the
use of radiation.

G.  H. “CODA”: Commission on Dental
Accreditation.

G.  I. "Dental Assistant" means an individual, other
than a "Licensed Practitioner", who applies radiation to
humans for diagnostic purposes in dentistry.

H.  J. “DANB:  Dental Assisting National Board”
which provides national registration for dental assistants.  

I.  K. "Fee" means the money [see schedule A] an
individual must pay: 

1. to apply for and to take the certification
examination

2. for recertification - to reinstate an expired
certificate

3. for renewal - to renew a valid certificate
J.  L. “JRCERT:  Joint Review Committee on

Education in Radiologic Technology”
M. JRCECT:  Joint Review Committee on

Education in Cardiovascular Technology
K.  N. "Licensed Practitioner" means an individual

licensed to practice medicine, dentistry, dental hygiene,
podiatry, chiropractic, or osteopathy in this State.

L. O. "Medical Radiographer" means an
individual, other than a Licensed Practitioner, who exposes
humans to ionizing radiation for diagnostic purposes in
medicine, podiatry, chiropractic, or osteopathy.

M.  P. “NMTCB:  Nuclear Medicine Technologist
Certification Board” which provides national certification
of Nuclear Medicine Technologists.

N.  Q. "Nuclear Medicine Technologist" means an
individual, other than a Licensed Practitioner, who uses
radiopharmaceutical agents on humans for diagnostic and/or
therapeutic purposes.

O.  R. "Radiation Technician" means any
individual who has not graduated from an approved program
in radiation technology, but has passed an Authority
approved examination.

P.  S. "Radiation Technologist" means any
individual who has successfully completed a JRCERT
approved program in radiation technology and/or has passed
a national certification examination in his/her field of
specialization.

Q.  T. "Radiation Technology" means the use of a
radioactive substance or equipment emitting ionizing
radiation on humans for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes.

R.  U. "Radiation Therapist" means an individual,
other than a Licensed Practitioner, who exposes humans to
ionizing radiation for therapeutic purposes.

S.  V. "Source of Radiation" means a radioactive
material, or any device or equipment emitting or capable of
producing ionizing radiation.

T.  W. "User of Ionizing Radiation" means an
individual who supervises the application of ionizing
radiation and/or applies ionizing radiation to human beings
for diagnostic, therapeutic and/or research purposes (16 Del.
C. §7403(9)).

See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SECTION V LEGAL TITLES

No individual, other than a Licensed Practitioner or
Certified Radiation Technologist/Technician, shall use a
Source of Radiation on humans for diagnostic, therapeutic
and/or research purposes.

A. The Authority shall establish certification
requirements for Radiation Technologists/Technicians; i.e.,
Dental Assistant, Medical Radiographer, Nuclear Medicine
Technologist, and Radiation Therapist.  Individuals holding
these certificates shall be recognized by such title(s).

B. Any individual certified under this regulation is
authorized to use a source of radiation on humans for
diagnostic or therapeutic purposes under the supervision of a
Licensed Practitioner, and in accordance with the Delaware
Radiation Control Regulations.
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C. Holders of a certificate (legal title) under this
regulation shall display the official certificate or a verified
copy in each place of regular employment.

See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SECTION VI CREDENTIALING PROCESS

A. Classification of Credentials
1. Certificate (Section VII A)
2. Temporary Certificate (Section VII B)

B. Application
1. The Agency shall accept an application for

credentialing from any Radiation Technologist/Technician
who is at least 18 years of age or who is currently enrolled in
and attending an educational program in radiation
technology and who pays a non-refundable application and
examination fee (if applicable) established by rule of the
Authority. 

2. One or more booklets on basic radiation
protection and terminology, examination specifications, and
requirements for certification and examination shall be
prepared and distributed under the supervision of the
Authority on Radiation Protection in consultation with
appropriate professional associations (see Schedule B).
Upon acceptance of the application and examination fee, a
copy of the booklet shall be sent to all applicants. 

3. The application shall be valid for a period of
six (6) months.

C. Examinations
1. The examination process shall be administered

by the Authority on Radiation Protection or its designee, the
ARRT (American Registry of Radiologic Technologists), the
CCI (Cardiovascular Credentialing International) or
Experior Assessments, Inc.  The fee for examination shall
accompany the application request.

2. The Authority may accept, in lieu of an
examination, a current credential by a recognized national
voluntary credentialing body, (See Schedule C) issued on the
basis of an examination consistent with the requirements
established by the Authority, provided that the radiation
protection standards to which that body adheres are at least
as stringent as those established by the Authority.

3. An examinee who fails to pass the certification
examination may be re-examined, provided the prescribed
application and examination fees for each re-examination are
paid.

See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SECTION VII ISSUING CREDENTIALS

A. The Agency may issue a Certificate or Temporary
Certificate to each applicant who has successfully met the
requirements under Section VI, Subsection B, and has paid
the prescribed fees. Furthermore, the Certificate shall be

issued on verifying that the applicant has passed a
certification examination acceptable to the Authority [see
C.1. and C.2. above].  The initial Certificate shall expire
after a period of four (4) years from date of issue.
Certificates based on national credentials will automatically
terminate if the national credentials are permitted to lapse.

B. Temporary Certificate.  The Agency may issue a
Temporary Certificate to any person whose certification or
re-certification may be pending and when issuance is
justified by special circumstances.  A Temporary Certificate
may be issued if the Agency finds that it will not violate the
purpose of this regulation or endanger the public health and
safety.  A Temporary Certificate shall grant the same rights
as the credential for which the applicant is awaiting
examination.  Such credential may not be renewed by the
Agency without the approval of the Authority and only for
just cause.

The Temporary Certificate shall expire:
1. on the date of notification of the results of the

certification examination; or,
2. on the certification examination date if the

applicant does not take the examination; or,
3. in any case, after a maximum of 365 days from

the date of issue.
C. A valid certificate may be renewed by the Agency

for a period of four (4) years upon payment of a renewal fee
(see Schedule A) established by the Authority.

1. Applicants for renewal of certificates based on
national credentials must provide proof that the national
credentials are currently valid.

D. A Radiation Technologist/Technician whose
certificate has lapsed for a period of less than 180 days shall
apply for re-certification provided that he/she presents
evidence of having previously passed a Certification
Examination approved by the Authority and pays the
re-certification fee 

A Radiation Technologist/Technician whose
certificate has lapsed for more than 180 days shall:

1. Apply for re-certification
2. Apply to take the appropriate certification

examination or show proof of  currently valid national
credentials

3. Pay the re-certification and re-examination fees
A radiation technologist/technician who has

allowed his/her certificate to expire shall not expose humans
to ionizing radiation until and unless he/she is re-certified  .

See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SECTION VIII LIMITATIONS OF CREDENTIALS

A. Nothing in the provisions of this regulation relating
to Radiation Technology shall limit, enlarge, or affect the
practice of Licensed Practitioners herein defined.
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B. The requirement for certification shall not apply to
a resident physician, dentist, dental hygienist or to a student
enrolled in and attending a school or college of medicine,
osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, dentistry, or radiation
technology who applies ionizing radiation to humans in such
an educational program while under the supervision of a
certified Radiation Technologist.

C. A certificate, registration or license issued by
another state will not be accepted as a valid equivalent
Radiation Technologist/Technician certification by the
Authority.

See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SECTION IX  APPEALS, ENFORCEMENTS AND
PENALTIES

A. OFFENSES
The following is a list of offenses which are

grounds for disciplinary actions of a certified Radiation
Technologist or certified Radiation Technician and are the
basis for refusal of an application for certification:

The certificate holder or applicant:
1. has been found guilty of fraud or deceit in

procuring or attempting to procure a certificate to practice
radiation technology; or

2. has been convicted of a felony; or
3. has been convicted of a crime involving moral

turpitude or gross immorality; or
4. is unfit or incompetent by reason of gross

negligence; or
5. is addicted to the use of habit-forming drugs

and not currently under treatment for the addiction; or
6.  has a physical or mental condition that

prohibits the certificate holder from performing the essential
functions of the practice authorized by the certificate; or 

7. has a certificate to practice as a registered
technologist that has been suspended or revoked in any
jurisdiction; or

8. is guilty of unprofessional conduct, or the
willful neglect of a patient.

B. DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS
The Authority on Radiation Protection may impose

any of the following sanctions singly or in combination
when it finds a certificate holder or an applicant is guilty of
any offense described in Section A:

1. Permanently revoke a certificate to practice
2. Suspend a certificate until the certificate holder

provides proof that the conditions in response to which the
suspension was issued no longer exist.

3. Censure a certificate 
4. Issue a letter of reprimand
5. Refuse a certificate (Applicant)
6. Refuse to renew a certificate

C. PROCEDURE
1. THE AUTHORITY

a. The Agency may, upon complaint or upon
its own initiative, investigate whether a certificate holder or
applicant has engaged in activities specified in this section as
grounds for disciplinary action.    The Agency shall file a
complaint with the Authority seeking to impose sanctions
against the alleged violator.

b. The Authority shall notify the alleged
violator of the complaint and offer the alleged violator the
opportunity for a hearing, which must be requested within 30
days of the date of notification.  If the alleged violator does
not timely request a hearing, the proposed sanctions shall
become final.   If the alleged violator makes a timely request
for a hearing, the Authority shall schedule the hearing and
give the alleged violator at least 15 days notice prior to the
date fixed for the hearing.

c. In all proceedings herein:
1) The alleged violator may be

represented by counsel who shall have the right of
examination and cross-examination.

2) The alleged violator and the Agency
may subpoena witnesses. Subpoenas shall be issued by the
Chairman or Vice Chairman of the Authority upon written
request.

3) Testimony before the Authority shall
be under oath.  Any member of the Authority shall have
power to administer oaths for this purpose.

4) A stenographic record of the hearing
shall be made by a qualified court reporter.  At the request
and expense of either party such record shall be transcribed
with a copy to the other party.

5) The decision of the Authority shall be
based upon a preponderance of  the evidence.  If the charges
are supported by such evidence, the Authority may refuse to
issue, or may revoke or may suspend a certificate, or
otherwise discipline a certificate holder as outlined in these
regulations.

6) The decision of the Authority will be
sent to the alleged violator by certified mail.

7) Any final order of the Authority may
be appealed to the Superior Court.

8) All findings of the original action,
hearing, appeal and conclusions will be held in file at the
Agency.

9) The Agency shall notify the employer
of the alleged violator of any final order of the Authority
regarding any action taken against the certification of that
employee by registered, return receipt mail.

D. JUDICIAL REVIEW BY SUPERIOR COURT
Any final order entered in any proceeding by the

Authority shall be subject to judicial review by the Delaware
Superior Court per 16 Del. C. §7412(c).

E. UNLAWFUL PRACTICE OF RADIATION
TECHNOLOGY
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No person shall practice or offer to practice
radiation technology or claim to be a registered or certified
radiation worker in Delaware, or shall use any title,
abbreviation, sign, card, or device to indicate that such
person is certified pursuant to this regulation unless such
person is actually certified by the Authority on Radiation
Protection.

See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SCHEDULE A
Credential Fees

See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SCHEDULE B

Delaware Professional Associations
Dental Assistants Association
Dental Hygienists Association
Medical Society of Delaware
Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologists Section
Delaware Society of Radiology Professionals
Dental Society of Delaware
See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SCHEDULE C

List Of National Credentialing Organizations Acceptable
For Delaware Certification

1. American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
2 Dental Assisting National Board
3 Nuclear Medicine Technologist Certification Board
4. Cardiovascular Credentialing International (CCI)
See 6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,

 Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Program and Title 

XIX Medicaid State Plan

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code), 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority
of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107,
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of
Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program is
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Provider
Manual and the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to revise and
clarify the criteria and reimbursement methodology for
Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care services. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by September 30, 2003.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #03-33a
PROVIDER MANUAL REVISIONS:

822 Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care (PPEC)
Provider Specific Policy

1.0 Overview
1.1 General Information

1.1.1 Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care
(PPEC) is a package of comprehensive nursing, nutritional
assessment, developmental assessment, speech, physical and
occupational therapy services provided in an outpatient
setting, as ordered by an attending physician. These services
are provided no more than twelve hours per day, five days
per week.

1.1.2 The Center for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS) approval of PPEC as an EPSDT-related
treatment service was obtained in May 1990 for services
provided on or after October 1, 1989.

1.1.3 PPEC services are primarily provided for
infants and children ages 0-36 months old, who are severely
disabled and require a level of care consistent with an acute
care in-patient hospitalization, a skilled nursing facility, or

Certificate
Category

Application Examination Renewal

Dental
Assisting

Included in
examination
fee per testing
organization

Per Testing
Organization

$10.00 for 4
years

Medical
Radiation
Technician

$10.00 Per Testing
Organization

$10.00 for 4
years

Medical
Radiation 
Technologist

$10.00 Per National
Board

$10.00 for 4
years

Nuclear
Medicine

$10.00 Per National
Board

$10.00 for 4
years

Radiation
Therapy

$10.00 Per National
Board

$10.00 for 4
years

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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private duty nursing being authorized for continuous 8 hour
shifts.

1.1.4 PPEC services are provided as an
alternative to more expensive institutionalization or as an
alternative to community/home care for children who are
determined to be in medical need of services.

1.1.5 PPEC services may be provided when
parent(s) are employed and required medical care is not
available in home or daycare.  Hours of employment must be
documented.  Documented parental inability to care for
child, or an inability to access needed medical care will be
considered in determining eligibility for PPEC services.

1.2 Service Limitations
1.2.1 PPEC services are generally limited to

eligible recipients who are under age 3.
1.2.2 Special exceptions for children age 3-5

with cognitive impairments can only be considered after a
thorough Individual Education Plan (IEP) has been
completed by the Department of Education and confirming
documentation from the school district that an appropriate
facility with required services is not available.

1.2.3 Special exceptions for children age, who
are cognitively intact and age eligible for school services (as
determined and documented by the school district, child
watch, or other appropriate authority are not eligible for the
3-21 year old program) will be considered for PPEC
services.

1.2.4 Before and after school services are not
PPEC level services. When medical documentation
demonstrates a need for continuous nursing supervision the
child and family will be evaluated on a case by case review.
If continuous nursing supervision is required, it may be paid
for under the Level I eligibility criteria with hourly rate
(TBD).

1.2.5 Admission to PPEC for observational
purposes will not be approved or reimbursed by Delaware
Medical Program (DMAP).

1.2.6 Admission to the PPEC for skilled
assessment and monitoring will only be considered short
term (less than 2-4 weeks) under limited special
circumstances.  Appropriate circumstances may include:

A. Skilled assessment and monitoring is
needed on a continuous basis (8 hours or greater) and cannot
be accomplished by intermittent nursing visits or visits to the
physicians' office.

B. Continuous clinic/health data is required
to treat an unstable condition, i.e., frequent adjustments to
the treatment plan as a result of the monitoring such as
medication titration.

C. The child is frequently admitted to acute care
or emergency care and an effective treatment plan has not
been developed in an alternative setting/care level.

1.2.7 PPEC services are not covered for children
over age 6.

2.0 Qualified Providers
2.1 Standards

2.1.1 State licensing standards have been
established specifically relating to PPEC Centers (PPECCs).
To participate in the Delaware Medical Assistance Program
DMAP, an entity must be professionally licensed as a
PPECC by the State’s Office of Health Facilities, Licensing
and Certification.

3.0 Services
3.1 Limitations Request for Services

3.1.1 All Prior authorization of PPEC services
must be prior authorized. will be required. Each request is
reviewed on an individual basis, using policies established
by the DMAP, including billing and documentation of billing
all primary insurance. (Refer to the Services Requiring Prior
Authorization section in the General Policy for details) Two
pieces of documentation will be needed to authorize these
services. These are:

3.2 Special Physician Documentation Requirements
3.1.1.1 3.2.1 A letter from The attending

practitioner shall request a referral to evaluate for payment
of PPEC services by submitting a letter to the Medical
Evaluation Team (MET) that documents: physician
containing the following information:

3.1.1.1.1 Name of patient
3.1.1.1.2 Patient’s Medicaid ID number
3.1.1.1.3 Date of birth

3.2.1.1 Patient's name
3.2.1.2 Medicaid ID number
3.2.1.3 Date of birth
3.1.1.1.4  3.2.1.4 Detailed medical history

that documents the need for PPEC services
3.1.1.1.5  3.2.1.5 Documentation that the

child would require inpatient hospital or nursing home care
in the absence of PPEC services

3.1.1.1.6  3.2.1.6 Estimated amount and
duration of required services, (e.g., the number of days per
week and the number of weeks/months, the patient is
expected to need these services.

3.1.1.1.7  3.2.1.7 If home health services
or private duty nurse services are ordered concurrently with
PPEC, medical justification for the combination of services
is required

3.1.1.1.8  3.2.1.8 The doctor may
recommend the name and address of the PPEC organization
who will provide the care

3.1.1.2 A letter from the PPEC providing the
following information:

3.1.1.2.1 Name of patient
3.1.1.2.2 Patient’s Medicaid ID

number
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3.1.1.2.3 Evaluation of the expected
level of care needed including the scoring sheet used to
determine level of care

3.1.1.3 Requests for prior authorization must
be sent to:

Division of Social Services
Robscott Building
Medicaid Prior Authorization Unit
153 Chestnut Hill Road
Newark, DE 19713

3.2 Parental Documentation Requirements
3.2.1 Parents shall provide documentation that

the child is severely disabled, meeting Delaware's Children's
Community Alternative Disability Program eligibility
requirements or child is disabled under the Social Security
Administration regulations.  If parents do not have access to
needed documentation, the parents must sign a medical
release to obtain medical documentation deemed necessary
by MET to determine medical eligibility.  Failure to do so
will result in denial of PPEC services.

3.2.2 Parents shall provide a copy of the most
recent Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP) if completed
and available for children age 0 up to age 3.  For children age
3-5, parents shall provide an IEP when appropriate.  Parents
must sign a release for MET to obtain information.

3.3 Prior Authorization Addresses
3.3.1 All information for prior authorization

must be sent (letter or fax) to one of the following addresses:
Division of Social Services
Medical Evaluation Team
Robscott Bldg., Suite 3A
153 Chestnut Hill Road
Newark, DE 19713
Fax Number: (302) 368-6977 

Or
Georgetown State Service Center
546 S.Bedford St.
Georgetown, DE 19947
Fax Number: (302) 856-5517

3.3 3.4 Service Levels
3.4.1 DMAP's Medical Evaluation Team will

evaluate the child and complete a PPEC Scoring sheet to
determine the reimbursable PPEC level of care.  (Refer to
Appendix A)

3.2.13.4.2 Levels of care are determined by the
intensity of the child’s daily needs. A  scoring system to
document these needs has been developed by the DMAP in
consultation with the PPEC providers. This The scoring
system, illustrated in Appendix A, is used to assign the level
of care.

3.2.3 The DMAP recognizes as a reimbursable
medical service four of the five established levels of care.
Level 1 is not currently a reimbursable service, and has no

corresponding procedure code. Procedure/Revenue codes for
covered services are found in Appendix B.

3.4.3 Level I Eligibility criteria:
Child is not eligible at Level 2 or higher

level; and
The child has a medical condition() that

prevents him/her from being accepted by traditional day
care; and

The service is prescribed by a physician;
and

There is no parent or legal guardian
available to care for the child.

3.4.4 The Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care
Reimbursement Sheet will not be used for Level I Eligibles.

3.4.5 The DMAP recognizes as a reimbursable
medical service three established levels of care.  Procedure/
Revenue codes for covered services are found in Appendix
C.

3.4.6 See DMAP General Policy  Manual for
Provider Appeal Procedures.

4.0 Reimbursement
4.1 Methodology

4.1.1 PPEC providers are reimbursed a
proportion of their charges, to be determined by the DMAP.
prospective rate representing their reasonable costs and the
acuity level of the client.

4.1.2 PPEC providers will not be reimbursed for
Level I service if they fail to submit a valid annual Statement
of Reimbursable Costs (Cost Report).

4.2 Acuity Levels
4.2.1 Clients served by PPEC providers will be

assigned levels of acuity according to the resources required
for their care.  Reimbursement rates will reflect the various
acuity levels.

4.3 Units of Services
4.3.1 Per Diem:PPEC reimbursement may be in

daily units (per diem), if the client requires a full day (8-12
hours) of service.

4.3.2 Per Diem - Half Day: PPEC
reimbursement rates may be paid in half day units (per
diem), if the client requires a minimum of 4 consecutive
hours of service.

4.3.3 Hourly rates (TBD)
4.4 Sliding Fee Scale

4.4.1 To determine percentage of cost of care
paid by parents refer to Appendix D (To Be Determined).
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DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #03-33b
STATE PLAN REVISIONS:

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 7

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers
(PPECCs) will be reimbursed at a negotiated range of daily
rates depending on the level of care needed by each child.
Existing rates cannot be increased except on an annual basis
after approval from the State agency.  The State agency will
limit approved increases to the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) medical care inflator appropriate
for the service.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,

 Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

PUBLIC NOTICE
TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to renew Delaware's eligibility status for the
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program
provided for in the enactment of the Personal Responsibility
and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996
(PRWORA), (P.L. 104-193).  The entire plan and all
attachments are available upon request via mail or fax.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by September 30, 2003.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGES

• Clears up ambiguous language regarding Delaware
as a waiver state.

• Added citation and effective date to the Transitional
Medicaid language.

• Adds Financial Management Training and financial
as an allowable work activity.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION Rev#03-31
Delaware State Plan For TANF

This new State Plan is submitted to renew Delaware's
eligibility status for the Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families (TANF) program provided for in the enactment of
the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), (P.L. 104-193).

Delaware has been operating its TANF program under
Section 1115 waivers from the Social Security Act, as
approved on December 12, 1995, and amended on
September 27, 1996. 

The current authorization of the TANF waiver[s]
terminated on September 30, 2002.  TANF is authorized to
continue through December 31, 2002. Delaware has
prepared this State Plan renewal with much unknown
information.  Enactment of either the House or Senate
Finance Committee Reauthorization Bill would make many
changes in TANF, but Delaware cannot build such changes
into this Plan without knowing which of the many
conflicting provisions will prevail.  In addition, one
provision that Delaware has reviewed with particular interest
is the authority provided to states by Section 711 of the
Senate Finance Bill, to continue to operate TANF using
section 1115 waiver provisions.  Enactment of this proposal
would permit Delaware to continue to operate TANF using
the Delaware provisions that DHSS agreed were inconsistent
with TANF based on our 1999 Waiver Inconsistency
Certification. 

Although our rate of caseload decline has flattened
somewhat recently due to the economic downturn, we are
certain that this temporary slow-down will be short-lived.
Delaware's TANF program requires immediate work from
caretakers in time-limited families; those who cannot secure
unsubsidized employment immediately are placed in a Work
for Your Welfare component.  

Since the Senate Bill would permit our waivers to
continue, and Delaware is unable at this time to plan what
alternative provisions might be required by enactment of
reauthorization legislation, we have opted to continue
operating Delaware's TANF program as is currently
designed with minor changes to be in compliance with
certain TANF requirements.  In making this decision,
Delaware has carefully considered any potential risks to our
ability to meet TANF participation rates and have formulated
contingency plans that will ensure we avoid participation
rate penalties. Delaware's contingency plans include the
potential for temporary movement of some families who are
performing work services that would not count as
participation under current TANF rules, into segregated or

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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separate state programs using maintenance of effort (MOE)
funding. 

The current short-term reauthorization of TANF leaves
much unknown about the future of the program, and
Delaware is unwilling to make major changes to our TANF
program without full knowledge of new federal
requirements. Enactment of either the House or Senate
Finance Committee Reauthorization Bill would make many
changes in TANF, but Delaware cannot build such changes
into this Plan without knowing which of the many
conflicting provisions will prevail. 

Delaware's TANF program requires immediate work
from caretakers in time-limited families; those who cannot
secure unsubsidized employment immediately are placed in
a Work for Your Welfare component.  

Since Delaware is unable at this time to plan what
alternative provisions might be required by enactment of
long-term reauthorization legislation, we have opted to
continue operating Delaware's TANF program as it is
currently designed with minor changes to be in compliance
with certain TANF requirements. 

Delaware is plans to closely watching the progress of
federal TANF reauthorization and to will submit any needed
Amendments to this State Plan as quickly as possible after
new legislative requirements become known. 

Goals, Results And Public Involvement

Goals
The goal of Delaware's TANF Program is to provide a

welfare system based on a philosophy of mutual
responsibility.  In working toward that goal, the State will
strive to place individuals in private or public sector
unsubsidized employment that enables them to enter and
maintain meaningful jobs and interrupts the
intergenerational welfare dependency cycle.  To that end,
TANF creates positive incentives for families to become
employed, and expects families to accept responsibility to
become self-supporting. 

Five key principles form the foundation of TANF:
1. Work should pay more than welfare.
2. Welfare recipients must exercise personal

responsibility in exchange for benefits.
3. Welfare should be transitional, not a way of life.
4. Both parents are responsible for supporting their

children; and
5. The formation and maintenance of two-parent

families should be encouraged,  and teenage pregnancy and
unwed motherhood should be discouraged.

Involvement of Local Governments, the Public, and
Private Sector Organizations

Welfare Reform in Delaware has a long history of active
involvement and partnership between and among state and

local governments and the private sector.  Over a multi-year
period, Delaware has engaged government, the public and
the private sector in dialog about the welfare system and
ways to change it.

Since its introduction in January of 1995, in the form of
a waiver request, all sectors have had the opportunity to
influence Delaware's welfare reform program in a series of
public meetings and forums.

A collaborative partnership among the Department of
Health and Social Services (DHSS), Department of Labor
(DOL), and the Delaware Economic Development Office
(DEDO) worked to develop Delaware's original TANF
program; and the Delaware Transit Corp (DTC) has joined
these components in planning any changes required.

From 1995 to the present, the TANF collaborative team
has involved other stakeholders in a number of ways.
Community partner involvement runs the gambit from
support letters for TANF-related grants, to participating in
the resultant project planning and implementation, to
membership on an initiative's advisory/oversight council.
Partnerships include the City of Wilmington's HOPE VI
subsidized housing project; the Delaware Ecumenical
Council on Children and Families' rural outreach project; the
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation's employment efforts
with people with disabilities; the National Corps/VISTA
welfare-to-work mentoring program; and the Division of
Substance Abuse and Mental Health's Youth Offender Re-
entry initiative.  Presentations on TANF are ongoing by
request to the various Section 8 and Public Housing entities;
to non-profits such as the First State Community Action
Agency and the Latin American Community Center; and to
local churches, healthcare centers, childcare providers,
schools and youth centers (e.g., Boys & Girls Club).

The Social Services Advisory Council, consisting of
educators, health professionals, religious leaders,
representatives of community-based organizations,
advocates, and government leaders, all appointed by the
Governor, continues to provide advice on improving the
delivery of Delaware's social programs.  In addition, the
Division of Social Services has regularly conducted focus
groups with clients in all counties of the States, most
recently in 2000 and 2001. 

The requirement for a 45-day public comment period
was accomplished by making the plan available for public
review and comment through the following means:

• The State Plan was published in the Delaware Reg-
ister on October 1, 2002;

• The State Plan was published on the Delaware web
site at http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dhss.htm on Sep-
tember 15, 2002; and

• Stakeholder groups as represented by the Social
Services Advisory Council, the TANF Employer
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Committee, and TANF program contractors were
provided with individual copies of the Plan.

Delaware is proud to say that the administration
addressed and continues to build on the themes the public
identified not only in TANF but in many other areas of
public policy that support low income families, including the
Administration’s economic development, education, and
family policies.  A brief summary of where public policies
intersect with welfare system change include:

• easing transition from welfare to work by:
• passing through to TANF recipients a portion

of the child support collected
•. enhancing child support collection strategies and

achieving record child support collections
• changing the way the welfare system budgets

income so that families go off assistance only
after achieving income at 75 percent of the fed-
eral poverty level

• increasing Delaware's investment in child care
so that there is no subsidized child care waiting
list for eligible working families with income
up to 200% of the federal poverty level

• Increasing the income threshold below which
individuals are not required to file personal
income tax returns to $15,449 for married cou-
ples and $9,399 for single individuals; increas-
ing the personal credit from $100 to $110; and
reducing the tax rate for all individuals, other
than the top tax bracket, by .4 percentage
points

• increasing the State minimum wage to $6.15 an
hour as of September, 2000. 

• ensuring access to health care for Delaware families
through:
• providing Medicaid coverage to uninsured

adults as well as all children in families with
income at or below 100 percent of the federal
poverty level

• providing medical coverage for uninsured chil-
dren in families with income up to 200% of the
federal poverty level, through the Delaware
Healthy Children Program (DHCP)

• providing transitional Medicaid for two years
for families with children who exit welfare, at
incomes up to 185% of poverty.

• improving education for children by:
• expanding access to the Early Childhood Edu-

cation Program (ECAP)
• providing extra instructional time for low-

achieving students
• operating the Parents as Teachers program

statewide

• operating the Mentoring for Students program
for students who need an adult role model

• implementing a comprehensive program to
ensure safe, disciplined schools

• raising academic standards and graduation
requirements and pushing for school choice
and charter schools

• recruiting, through the Delaware Economic Devel-
opment Office (DEDO), new companies and main-
taining existing employers with good jobs that
provide career opportunities

• strengthening Delaware's families by:
• helping many thousands of welfare recipients

go to work, and providing continuing support
to working families

• initiating voluntary paternity establishment
• providing transportation support for job seek-

ers and new workers 
• establishing more effective welfare to work

programs with a work first approach to
employment and training services, while pro-
viding opportunities for educational advance-
ment

• enabling families with both parents to receive
benefits and services

• participating with community-based organiza-
tions and the faith community to support tar-
geted, fragile populations.

• discouraging teen pregnancy through the Alli-
ance on Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention

• extending home visits to all first time parents
following a child’s birth

• cracking down on domestic violence to protect
vulnerable women and children

• enforcing the Sexual Predator Act to protect
vulnerable youth and prevent teen pregnancy.

Results to be Measured and Methods for Measuring
Progress

Delaware has committed to evaluate its welfare system.
The State has a multi-year contract with Abt Associates to
evaluate TANF.  We continued to measure:

• the number of individuals working;
• the number of individuals sanctioned;
• the caseload size; and
• the number of months of receipt of  TANF.

Recent reports by the evaluator include:
• The ABC Evaluation - A Better Chance for Welfare

Recipients? What the Public Thinks, March, 1999;
• The ABC Evaluation - Enrollment of Families in

Delaware's A Better Chance Program: A Report on
the First Three Years, March, 1999
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• The ABC Evaluation - Carrying and Using the
Stick: Financial Sanctions in Delaware's A Better
Chance Program, May, 1999.

• Will Welfare Reform Influence Marriage and Fertil-
ity?  Early Evidence from the ABC Demonstration,
June, 1999.

• The ABC Evaluation - Verifying School Attendance
of Welfare Recipients’ Children, June 2000

• The ABC Evaluation – Impacts of Welfare Reform
on Child Maltreatment, August 2000

• A report, Turning the Corner -- ABC at 4 Years,
November 2000

• The DABC Evaluation How Have They Fared?
Outcomes After Four Years for the Earliest DABC
Clients, August 2001

• The DABC Evaluation Institutional Aspects of Wel-
fare Reform in Delaware, August 2001 

These reports can be located at
http:\\www.abtassoc.com/reports/welfare-download.html.
Note that at one time, Delaware's TANF program was known
as A Better Chance or ABC.  

Delaware is also one of four states participating in a
Welfare Reform and Family Formation research project
designed to provide an increased understanding of how
changes in welfare policies have affected childbearing,
marriage, and other family structure factors.  Abt Associates
is teaming with a University of California research team in
analyzing random assignment data collected in Delaware.

Ensuring Accountability
TANF is administered by the Division of Social

Services (DSS), State of Delaware Department of Health and
Social Services.  While DHSS is the lead agency, program
administration is accomplished through a partnership of
DSS, Department of Labor (DOL), Delaware Economic
Development Office (DEDO), and the Delaware Transit
Corp (DTC).

Delaware completed a massive automation
enhancement effort, to incorporate new technology in a
complete redesign of DCIS.   DCIS II is a large-scale, client/
server, interactive eligibility determination and benefit
issuance system.  DCIS II automates: client registration,
application entry, eligibility determination, benefit
calculation, benefit issuance and work programs for more
than 100 variations of cash, Medicaid and food stamp
programs, administered by the Delaware Division of Social
Services.  DCIS II provides automated program support and
supports the information needs at the state and local office
level.  DCIS II also incorporates program changes required
by P.L. 104-193.

The most recent enhancements to DCIS II provide for
on-line real-time communications between DSS workers and
Employment Connection contractors.  DSS now provides

automated referral of non-exempted individuals to
contractors, contractor staff are now able to send automated
alerts to DSS workers, and contractors and DSS workers are
able to share case notes about participants.  In addition,
contractors now directly enter hours of work participation
into the system, facilitating the computation of grants for
Work for Your Welfare participants. 

Delaware is participating in the income and eligibility
verification system (IEVS) required by section 1137 of the
Social Security Act.

In addition, the State operates a fraud control program
and will disqualify individuals found to have committed an
intentional program violation based on findings of
administrative disqualification hearings and findings of
prosecution or court actions.  Delaware has adopted the
penalties for intentional program violations used by the Food
Stamp Program; 12 months for the first offense and 24
months for a second instance.  An individual committing a
third offense is permanently disqualified. 

Needy Families

Definition of Needy Families
For program purposes, needy families are a child and or

child(ren) and caretaker relatives whose combined income
and financial resources are not equal to or higher than the
standards established by the State.  The following sections
describe these standards and how they are applied to
applicants and recipients.

Income and Resource Rules for Determining Need
For purposes of determining need Delaware will

continue to utilize the already established income and
resource rules of the TANF program.  The following specific
features of Delaware's TANF program shall continue to
apply:

• The equity value of a primary automobile up to
$4,650 is excluded in determining the household
resources.

• The cash value of a life insurance policy will be
excluded.

• In addition to the current resource limit, families
will be allowed to establish Special Education and
Business Investment Accounts (SEBIA) of up to
$5,000.00, including interest.
• Families will contribute directly to their

SEBIAs.
• Funds in such accounts will not be considered

as a resource. Withdrawals from such accounts
must be for approved purposes, as defined in
TANF.  If funds are withdrawn for non-
approved purposes, the money will be counted
as a resource in the month received.  Approved
reasons for withdrawal of funds for self-suffi-
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ciency needs include, but are not limited to:
dependent care expenses, security deposit for
an apartment or house, or vehicle repair costs. 

• Financial Assistance received from school grants,
scholarships, vocational rehabilitation payments,
JTPA payments, educational loans, and other loans
that are expected to be repaid will not be counted as
income for TANF program purposes.  Also, other
financial assistance received that is intended for
books, tuition, or other self-sufficiency expenses
will be excluded. 

• Earnings of dependent children, regardless of stu-
dent status, will be disregarded in determining the
family’s eligibility and the amount of TANF bene-
fits.

• A one-time bonus payment of $50.00 will be paid
from TANF funds to eligible teens who graduate
from high school by age 19.  This bonus, which will
be paid directly to the high school graduate, will be
disregarded as income.

Income Tests to Determine Eligibility
There are two income tests to determine financial

eligibility.  The first test is a gross income test, and the
second is a net income test.  

• Comparing the family’s income to 185% of the
applicable standard of need is the gross income test.
Both applicants and recipients must pass this
income test. 

• The other income test compares a family’s income,
after applying certain disregards, to the applicable
standard.  This is a net income test.
• For applicants, defined as families who have

not received assistance in at least one of the
four months immediately preceding the appli-
cation, the net income is compared to the pay-
ment standard.  

• For recipients, defined as families who have
received assistance in at least one of the four
months preceding the application or are current
recipients, the net income is compared to the
standard of need.  

• A family’s income must be less than the gross
and net income limits to be financially eligible
for TANF.  Once eligibility is established, the
grant amount is determined.

• Gross income is the total of the earned and
unearned income. 
• Wages and self-employment income are

examples of earned income.  
• Social Security benefits, child support, and

stepparent income are examples of
unearned income. Stepparent income will

be included if the child’s natural parent
lives in the home. 

Exhibit 1 contains the calculation steps for TANF applicants.

Exhibit 1: Determining Applicant Eligibility for TANF 
Benefits

Step 1) The gross income will be compared to 185% of
the applicable TANF standard of need.  Assistance will be
denied if the income exceeds 185% of the applicable TANF
standard of need.

Step 2) the standard work deduction ($90.00) and child
care expenses will be subtracted from each wage earner’s
earnings.  The applicant’s net earned income will be added to
unearned income to determine the net family income.  The
net income will be compared to the payment standard.
Assistance will be denied if the income exceeds the payment
standard.

If the income is less than the payment standard;

Step 3) The standard work deduction ($90.00), child
care, and the 30 plus 1/3 disregard (if applicable) will be
subtracted from each earner’s earned income.  This net
earned income will be added to the unearned income to
calculate the family’s net income.  The net income will be
subtracted from the applicable standard of need to obtain the
deficit.  The deficit will be multiplied by 50%; the number
calculated is the remainder.  The grant is either the remainder
or the payment standard whichever is less.

Exhibit 2 provides the calculations for TANF recipients.

Exhibit 2: Determining Recipient Eligibility for TANF 
Benefits

Step 1) The gross income will be compared to 185% of
the applicable TANF standard of need.  Assistance will be
denied if the income exceeds 185% of the applicable TANF
standard of need;

Step 2) The standard work deduction ($90.00), child
care, and the 30 plus 1/3 disregard (if applicable) will be
subtracted from each earner’s earned income.  The net
earned income will be added to unearned income to calculate
the family’s net income.  Assistance will be denied if the
income exceeds the standard of need.  

If the income is less than the standard of need;

Step 3) The net income will be subtracted from the
applicable standard of need; the number calculated is the
deficit.  The deficit will be multiplied by 50%; the number
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calculated is the remainder.  The grant is either the remainder
or the payment standard whichever is less.

The TANF standards apply to all benefits and services
provided to needy families except for Emergency
Assistance, discussed on page twelve (12) and Attachment
A; child care, described on pages three (3), twelve (12), and
twenty-four (24). Delaware has established separate need
standards for these programs.

Fill-the-Gap Budgeting
Fill the Gap budgeting will be used for recipient

families to determine continued eligibility and the amount of
TANF benefits, so that families can retain more of their
income.  By having a standard of need which is greater than
the payment standard a “gap” is created.  The difference
between the family’s income and the need standard is called
the deficit.  The state pays a percentage of the deficit up to a
maximum benefit level or payment standard.

• Three standards will be used in financial eligibility
calculations: 185% of the standard of need, the
need standard and the payment standard.  185% of
the standard of need will be used in the gross
income test.  

• The standard of need used is 75% of the Federal
Poverty level.  This includes allowances for food,
clothes, utilities, personal items, and household
supplies.

Diversion Assistance Program
Delaware operates a Diversion Assistance program

intended to help a family through a financial problem that
jeopardizes employment and which, if not solved, could
result in the family needing regular ongoing assistance.  The
Diversion Assistance payment will not exceed $1,500 or the
financial need resulting from the crisis, whichever is less.
Diversion Assistance, which is available to both applicant
and recipient families, is not a supplement to regular
assistance but is in place of it.

Eligibility requirements for Diversion Assistance are as
follows:

• the parent must be living with his/her natural or
adopted children;

• the family has not received a Diversion Assistance
payment in the past 12 months;

• the Diversion Assistance amount will alleviate the
crisis;

• the parent is currently employed but having a prob-
lem which jeopardizes the employment or has been
promised a job but needs help in order to accept the
job;

• the family’s income would qualify the family for
TANF as a recipient household.  (When calculating
eligibility for Diversion Assistance the family is

given the $30 plus 1/3 disregard, if applicable and
the family’s net income is compared to the Standard
of Need.);

• the family’s resources would qualify for TANF.

The Diversion Assistance payment may be used for
items and/or services such as but not limited to:

• transportation (such as vehicle repairs, tires, insur-
ance, driver’s license fee, gas);

• clothing such as uniforms or other specialized
clothing and footwear or other employment-related
apparel;

• tools and equipment;
• medical expenses not covered by Medicaid (e.g.

eye glasses);
• union dues, special fees, licenses or certificates;
• up-front costs of employment such as agency fees

and testing fees;
• unpaid child care expenses which, if they remain

unpaid, preclude the provision of future child care;
• relocation expenses for verified employment in

another county or state.  These expenses may
include moving equipment rental, gas, and lodging
for the days of the move and the first month’s rent,
rental and utility deposit.

Diversion Assistance payments will be made to a third
party vendor, not the parent. When the parent receives
Diversion assistance (s)he agrees to forego TANF cash
assistance as follows:

• $0 through $500.99 for 1 month;
• $501 through $1,000.99 for 2 months;
• $1,001 through $1,500 for 3 months.

The once a year limitation on Diversion Assistance and
the period of ineligibility can be eliminated when good cause
exists.  Good cause exists when circumstances beyond the
client’s control make re-application for Diversion Assistance
for TANF necessary.  Examples of good cause are the
employer lays off the parent or a serious illness forces the
parent to stop working.

The family is eligible for TANF related Medicaid in the
month in which the Diversion Assistance payment is made.
The family would remain eligible for Section 1931 Medicaid
(TANF related Medicaid) until the family’s income exceeds
the Standard of Need.  If the family’s income exceeds the
standard of need because of increased earnings or loss of the
$30 plus 1/3 disregard and the parent is working, the family
may be eligible for Transitional Medicaid.   

Diversion Assistance does not count as income in the
child care programs, and families receiving Diversion
Assistance may also be eligible to receive child care under
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Delaware's working poor child care program if their income
does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty level.
Receipt of Diversion Assistance would not bar receipt of
Food Stamp benefits, and Food Stamp applications will be
actively solicited from individuals requesting diversion
assistance.

Diversion Assistance does not count against the time
limit on receipt of assistance.

The family will not have to assign child support to the
state.  Child support received by the parent or the Division of
Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) will belong to the
family.  DCSE will not use child support to offset or
reimburse the Diversion Assistance.

Diversion Assistance is not intended to replace TANF’s
Emergency Assistance Program or Supportive Services
payments, which will continue.  The TANF Emergency
Assistance Program provides identical benefits that were
provided under Delaware's State Plan in effect on August 21,
1996. (See Attachment A)  Rather, Diversion Assistance
expands the opportunities to access as well as the value of
services to support employment.

Eligibility For Assistance Under The TANF Program

Conditions of Eligibility
If the income tests described above are met, a family

will be eligible to receive TANF assistance subject to the
following conditions.

Relationship/Living Arrangements
A child must be living in the home of any relative by

blood, marriage, or adoption who is within the fifth degree of
kinship to the dependent child or of the spouse of any person
named in the above group even though the marriage is
terminated by death or divorce.

The caretaker of a teen parent who is not a parent must
demonstrate valid circumstances why the teen is not living
with a parent and must agree to be a party to the Contract of
Mutual Responsibility and fulfill the same responsibilities
thereunder as a parent.

Fugitive Felons; Individuals Convicted of Drug Related
Felonies

Fugitive felons and parole violators are ineligible for
TANF assistance.  In addition, as of August 22, 1996,
individuals convicted of drug related felonies are
permanently barred from the date of conviction.

Family Cap Provision
No additional cash benefits will be issued due to the

birth of a child, if the birth occurs more than ten (10)
calendar months after the date of application for benefits
under TANF. 

The family cap will not apply: 

• when the additional child was conceived as a result
of incest or sexual assault,

• to children who do not reside with their parents
• to children born prior to the period identified above

who return or enter the household
• to a child that was conceived in a month the assis-

tance unit (i.e. the entire family) was not receiving
TANF, but this does not apply in cases that close
due to being sanctioned.  

The family cap will apply to children who are the
firstborn of minors included in a TANF grant, except that the
family cap does not apply to firstborn children of minors
where the child was born prior to March 1997, the date that
Delaware began its TANF program.

The additional child(ren) is included in the standard of
need for purposes of determining eligibility; and the income
and resources of the child, including child support, is
included in determining the family’s income and resources.
However, the child(ren) is not included in determining the
payment standard for the family.

• The additional child(ren) is considered a recipient
for all other purposes, including categorical Medic-
aid coverage, TANF child care, and Food Stamp
benefits.

• Child support received for capped children is
passed directly through to the family.

Denial of Benefits to Babies Born and Residing with
Unmarried Teen Parents.

Cash assistance is not provided to babies born on and
after January 1, 1999 to unmarried minor teen parents.  This
applies to both applicants and recipients.  For all other
purposes, these babies will be considered TANF recipients.
They may also be eligible to receive Food Stamps, Medicaid
and child care as well as vouchers for the baby’s needs.  This
provision applies as long as the teen parent resides in the
home with the baby, is unmarried or less than eighteen (18)
years of age.

Denial of Benefits for Fraudulent Misrepresentation to
Obtain Assistance in Two States

Any individual who misrepresents residence to receive
TANF, Medicaid, or Food Stamp benefits in two states shall
be subject to a ten-year bar if convicted in a state or federal
court.

Treatment of Eligible Non-Citizens
Qualified non-citizens who enter the United States

before August 22, 1996 shall be eligible to receive the same
benefits and services and shall be subject to the same
conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients.
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Qualified aliens entering the United States on or after
August 22, 1996, who are exempt from benefit restrictions as
specified in Federal law, are eligible to receive the same
benefits and services and shall be subject to the same
conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients.

Qualified non-citizens who enter the United States on or
after August 22, 1996 are, after five years, eligible to receive
the same benefits and services and shall be subject to the
same conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients. 

Program Type
Depending on circumstances, families are placed in

either the Time-Limited TANF program or the Non Time-
limited TANF program. 

Delaware's Time-Limited TANF Program has a work
first approach. Participants are expected to meet immediate
work requirements in order to receive benefits. 

Effective October 1, 1998, Delaware began funding its
two- parent program with state only funds.  The eligibility
requirements, services and benefits for this state funded two-
parent program are the same as the single parent Time-
Limited program

Time-limits for Delaware's Time-Limited TANF
Program and the interactions between time-limits and work
requirements are described in the sections entitled, Work:
Time Limits and Work, and TANF Benefits to Needy
Families: Time Limits.  

Families with the following status will receive benefits
in the Non Time-limited program:

• Families that the agency has determined are unem-
ployable, either because a parent is too physically
or mentally disabled to work in an unsubsidized
work setting or because the parent is needed in the
home to care for a child or another adult disabled to
that extent;

• Families headed by a non-needy, non-parent care-
taker;

• Families headed by a non-eligible non-citizen par-
ent who is not eligible to receive TANF benefits.

• Families where the agency has determined that the
adult caretaker is temporarily unemployable, and

• Families in which the adult files a claim or has a
claim being adjudicated for SSI or disability insur-
ance under OASDI.  In this case, the family must
sign an agreement to repay cash benefits received
under the Non Time-limited TANF program from
the proceeds of the first SSI/DI check received.
The amount repaid will not exceed the amount of
the retroactive SSI/DI benefit.

Contract of Mutual Responsibility requirements
and sanctions for noncompliance apply to families in the
Non Time-limited TANF program.

Contract of Mutual Responsibility
The caretaker of children in the TANF program enters

into a Contract of Mutual Responsibility with the Division of
Social Services (DSS) of the Department of Health and
Social Services (DHSS).  Applicants and recipients have a
face-to-face interview.  During this interview, the DSS
worker explains to the recipient the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility (CMR) and those elements specific to the
client.  

The Contract lists the responsibilities of the family and
the supports the State will provide.  The family’s
responsibilities include, but are not limited to: employment-
related activities, school attendance and immunization
requirements for children, family planning, parenting
education classes, and substance abuse treatment
requirements.  The State provides supports to families
including but not limited to: employment-related activities,
training activities, child care, Medicaid, and other services
identified during the development of the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.   

The Contract is designed to be individualized to the
specific needs and situation of each family.  Therefore, the
exact requirements within the Contract may vary from
family to family.  This document can be revised as the needs
and the situation of the family evolve.

Services related to these CMR requirements will be
available to the participant. If the services specified in the
CMR are not reasonably available to the individual, the
participant will not be sanctioned for failure to comply and
the Contract will be modified to reflect that the service is
currently unavailable.  

It is mandatory that all caretakers enter into a Contract
of Mutual Responsibility.  Contracts are completed for
families in the Time Limited TANF Program and the Non
Time-limited TANF program as well as for teen parents.
Both caretakers in an assistance unit and non-needy
caretaker payees are required to develop and comply with
CMRs.   Other family members within the assistance unit
may be required to comply with provisions of the Contract,
and are subject to sanction for non-compliance. 

If the caretaker is a non-needy caretaker relative, the
individual would not be required to participate in
employment-related activities but will be required to
participate in other Contract activities.

If a caretaker objects to certain aspects of the Contract,
the caretaker needs to present these objections up front, at
the time of the initial Contract.  If good cause can be
demonstrated, the Contract can be amended to rectify the
objections.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2003

288

When staff has reason to believe that the family needs
other services to become employed or to increase work hours
and wages, these services will be identified and specified in
the Contract of Mutual responsibility.

The fiscal sanction for not cooperating, without good
cause, in development of the Contract will be an initial
$50.00 reduction in benefits.  This reduction will increase
each month by $50.00, either until there is compliance or the
case is closed.  The sanction will end with demonstrated
compliance. 

Individuals from Another State
All families meeting the status eligibility requirements

set forth above shall be eligible for TANF benefits using
Delaware rules, regardless of how long they have been
residents of the State.

Statewideness
All definitions and determinations of need shall be

applied on a statewide basis.

Protection of Privacy of Assisted Families
31 Delaware Code, Chapter 11, Section 1101 provides

that public assistance information and records may be used
only for purposes directly connected with the administration
of public assistance programs.  Thus, all information
gathered regarding individuals for public assistance purposes
is considered confidential and will be safeguarded by DSS.
By safeguarding public assistance information, DSS protects
its clients from being identified as a special group based on
financial needs and protects their right to privacy.

  General information regarding expenditures, numbers
of clients served, and other statistical information is a matter
of public record and may be made available to any interested
party.  Other than the exceptions noted below, DSS will not
release any information regarding a particular individual
without the individual’s written consent.

• DSS Financial Services Regional Operations Man-
agers have the authority to disclose the address of a
recipient to a Federal, State or local law enforce-
ment officer at the officer’s request if the officer
furnishes the agency with the name of the recipient
and notifies the agency that the recipient:
• is fleeing to avoid prosecution; or 
• is a fleeing felon (or in the case of New Jersey

is fleeing from conviction of a high misde-
meanor); or 

• is violating a condition of probation or parole;
or;

• has information that is necessary for the officer
to conduct his or her official duties; and

• the location or apprehension of the recipient is
within such official duties.

• If a law enforcement officer requests information
that does not meet the guidelines indicated above, a
subpoena from a court of law is required before the
information can be released.

• DSS is required to report to the Division of Family
Services in situations where it believes a home is
unsuitable because of neglect, abuse or exploitation
of a child.
• A Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA)

is given permission to inspect and/or copy any
records relating to the child and his or her fam-
ily guardian without their consent.  The CASA
has the authority to interview all parties having
significant information relating to the child.
The CASA must also be notified of any staff-
ing, investigations or proceedings regarding
the child, so that they may participate and rep-
resent the child.
• If information is released under the proce-

dures applying to CASA, pertinent details
of the reasons for the release shall be doc-
umented and written notification of this
release shall be sent to the last known
address of the individual to whom the
record refers.

• DSS has the authority to disclose information con-
cerning applicants and recipients provided it per-
tains to:
1 An investigation, prosecution, or criminal or

civil proceeding conducted in connection with public
assistance programs.

2 the administration of any other Federal or
federally assisted program which provides assistance, in
cash or in kind, or services, directly to individuals on the
basis of need.  The agency must assure DSS that such
information will remain confidential and will be used only to
pursue services for the individual. Other means tested
programs include the Supplemental Security Income
Program, School Lunch and Breakfast Program, the Energy
Assistance Program, and the Low Income Housing Program.

• Other agencies (such as Family and Children Ser-
vices of Delaware, Inc. Catholic Social Services,
Legal Aid, etc.) must provide written permission
from the recipient before public assistance informa-
tion may be released.

• Other governmental agencies may obtain lists of
recipients from DSS if the information will be used
to perform services for DSS, and the agency can
assure DSS that the lists will remain confidential.

APPEALS PROCESS

DSS will provide timely and adequate notice for actions
taken which affect eligibility or benefit level.  Adequate
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notice means a written notice that includes a statement of
what action the agency intends to take, the reasons for the
intended agency action, the specific regulations supporting
such action, explanation of the individual’s right to request a
fair hearing, and the circumstances under which assistance
may be continued if a hearing is requested.  

 Timely notice means a notice which is mailed no later
than 10 days before the date of action (i.e. 10 days before the
intended change would be effective).  When DSS learns of
facts indicating that assistance should be discontinued,
suspended, terminated, or reduced because of the probable
fraud of the recipient, and, where possible, such facts have
been verified through secondary sources, notice of a grant
adjustment is timely if mailed at least five days before the
action would become effective.

An opportunity for a hearing will be granted to any
applicant who requests a hearing because his/her claim for
assistance is denied or is not acted upon with reasonable
promptness and to any applicant or recipient who is
aggrieved by any Agency action.

To be considered by the Agency, a request for a hearing
must be a clear expression in writing by the appellant or his/
her representative to the effect that (s)he wants the
opportunity to present his/her case to higher authority. The
freedom to make such a request will not be limited or
interfered with in any way and the Division will assist the
appellant in submitting and processing his/her request. A
hearing need not be granted when either State or Federal law
requires automatic grant adjustments for classes of
recipients, unless the reason for an individual appeal is
incorrect grant computation.

WORK 

Goals for Work 
Delaware's TANF program is based on the belief that

assistance provided is transitional and should not become a
way of life.  The State maintains that the way for persons to
avoid dependency on welfare is for them to find and
maintain employment.  Thus the primary goal of TANF is to
help recipients find private sector work and to help them
keep such work by providing them with necessary supports.

To assist families in attaining and maintaining
employment, the State will engage the efforts of the
Departments of Health and Social Services, Labor and
Economic Development and Delaware's private sector to
provide job readiness and placement opportunities, health
and child care, the EITC, and family services.  In turn, TANF
recipients who have the capacity to work will be required to
accept work, to keep their children in school, to cooperate
with child support, to bear the costs of additional children
they conceive while on welfare, and to leave the welfare
rolls after a defined time period.

State Agencies Involved
Delaware Health & Social Services, Labor, and

Economic Development have a unique partnership.  All
three agencies are responsible for moving welfare clients to
work.  These three agencies have collaborated in developing
Delaware's TANF program, in public information, in
implementation, and continue to collaborate in managing the
initiative.

The Delaware Transit Corporation (DTC) in the
Department of Transportation has joined the TANF
collaborative team, and has assisted to develop a statewide
transportation system plan for TANF, using vans and other
vehicle sources. 

Minutes for the TANF collaboration team for the
previous six months are included as Attachment B. 

In May 2001, the Business Planning Committee, a
subcommittee of the TANF collaborative team that deals
with transportation initiatives, sponsored a transportation
forum in each of the three counties .The purpose of the
forums was to bring together businessmen, community
leaders and other stake holders to develop and advance
innovative, non-traditional solutions to varying
transportation problems faced by each county. 

Transportation forum highlights were a panel discussion
by the lead agencies that shared some "points of pride" in the
program and gaps and needs in transportation, Best Practices
Ideas and Transportation Information, Employer
Recognition of Innovative Success Solutions and brain-
storming sessions to identify transportation issues and to
gather ideas for further development.  Each forum was
designed to highlight transportation problems that were
county specific.  Sussex County Government, represented by
the Sussex County Administrator, was particularly effective
in explaining the population growth, the economic growth
and the problems created by their largely rural area. 

As a result of the forums, the Business Planning
Committee has been able to identify some cross-cutting
themes statewide as well as county specific. They have also
been able to identify ideas that need further development and
which will be used as the Committee continues to find
innovative solutions to transportation problems.  One over-
riding theme from the forums was the lack of knowledge of
the current transportation options available.  This has led to
the production of a transportation video which highlights all
the options available to assist individuals as they move from
dependency to self-sufficiency.

Another special partnership is that between the Division
of Social Services and the Division of Child Support
Enforcement.  Both agencies are part of Delaware Health
and Social Services.  This close linkage has enabled them to
partner throughout TANF development and implementation.
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Involvement of Community, Education, Business,
Religious, Local Government and Non-Profit
Organizations to Provide Work

As noted in the discussion on page 2, every sector has
been actively involved in the development of Delaware's
TANF program and continues to be involved.

A TANF Employer Committee, consisting of
representatives of both the public and private sector, assists
in placing welfare recipients in unsubsidized jobs and
provides advice on direction, policy, and implementation of
welfare-to-work efforts.  This committee was established
through HB 251.  A major accomplishment of the Employer
Committee in conjunction with DEDO and the Department
of Education was the development of a program, Career Soft
Skills Essentials for employers, which is now posted on the
internet at www.delawareworkforce.com.  The committee
regularly advises the collaborative team about TANF
employment issues.  Minutes of committee meetings for the
prior year are included as Attachment C. 

To further promote employer interest in hiring TANF
recipients, the Departments of Labor and Economic
Development meet with members of the business
community at regularly scheduled events like monthly
Chamber of Commerce meetings as well as at special events.
For example, to roll out Career Soft Skills Essentials, DEDO
hosted two conferences to link employers with trainers.

The Social Services Advisory Council is established by
executive order.  The Governor appoints council members to
advise the directors of both the Division of Social Services
and the Division of Child Support Enforcement on matters
related to public assistance and child support services.
Council members represent the community, advocates, non-
profit providers, educators, and interested citizens. 

DSS and DCSE management regularly meets with the
Social Services Advisory Council to discuss TANF and other
Social Services and Child Support programs.  Minutes of
Social Services Advisory Council meetings for February,
March, and April, 2002, along with information on current
Council members, are attached.  The Council and DSS will
resume regular monthly meetings after the summer.
(Attachment D)

Client specific focus groups were also conducted by the
Director of DSS in 2000 and 2001.  The 2000 focus groups,
held in different locations throughout the state from May
through November, asked recipients a series of questions
about the TANF program, to ascertain their knowledge of
various program requirements, and their experiences
obtaining assistance from DSS workers and contractors.  The
2001 client focus groups were held from June through
October.  They asked a series of questions about client work
and sanction experiences, and ascertained information about
specific services that had been of assistance and obstacles
that clients had to overcome to obtain and retain
employment. (Attachment E)  

Based on these focus groups, there seemed to be a solid
majority opinion that people understood the rules, that
sanctions are appropriate, and that some people do need a
push to get motivated to get back into the job market.
However, clients did wish for more flexibility for individual
circumstances, and requested more assistance with
transportation and in juggling schedules so that program
requirements could be met.

Special interest groups such as One Church, One Family
and New Pathways have chosen to focus their resources on
welfare families and provided mentoring support to welfare
families.

Role of Public and Private Contractors in Delivery of
Services

Delaware has contracted with private for-profit and non-
profit providers and the local community college network to
provide job readiness, job placement and retention services
to welfare clients since 1986.  These contractual
arrangements continue under TANF.  Contractors include
community and faith-based social services agencies and
organizations offering specialized services.

A number of community providers across the state
provide academic remediation to TANF recipients.

Who Must Participate
All adult caretakers and other adults in the time-limited

assistance unit who are not exempt must participate in TANF
employment and training related activities.  The two
exemptions are:  1) a parent caring for a child under 13
weeks of age; and  2) an individual determined
unemployable by a health care professional.

Teen parents are required to attend elementary,
secondary, post-secondary, vocational, or training school,
participate in a GED program or work. 

Services to Move Families to Work
Delaware's goal is to place the adult recipient in

unsubsidized employment as quickly as possible.  To
accomplish this goal, the current menu of services includes:

• Work readiness/Life skills 
• Job search/Job placement
• Job retention
• Work Experience/OJT
• Education, including vocational education, as

described in SB 101, effective July 2, 1999
• Provide financial management training. 

Non-exempt TANF participants will participate in the
job search program, consisting of job readiness classes and
supervised job search activity.  Unsuccessful job search
participants can be placed in another job search sequence or
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another work-related activity such as an alternative work
experience, OJT, remediation or a skills training program.

Clients must keep appointments with Employment and
Training staff, cooperate in the development of the
employment activities included in their Contract of Mutual
Responsibility, and participate in employment and training
activities.  The penalty for non-compliance with any of the
above client responsibilities will be subject to sanctions as
described in “Sanctions:  Failure to Comply with the
Contract and Imposition of Sanctions” on page 29.

Work
Until January 1, 2000, one-parent families in the Time-

Limited Temporary Program were required to immediately
engage in meaningful job search and comply with conditions
set forth in their Contract of Mutual Responsibility including
work, education, and training activities. Failure to comply
with the work requirements resulted in the imposition of an
employment and training sanction. Recipients who were
unable to locate private sector jobs despite good faith efforts
to do so, were eligible to receive Work For Your Welfare
payments, for participating in a workfare job, for a
maximum of two more years.

Effective January 1, 2000, families initially applying for
or reapplying for benefits can only receive benefits if they
are employed or immediately participate in a Work For Your
Welfare position. Failure to comply with the work
requirements contained in their Contract of Mutual
Responsibility results in the imposition of an employment
and training sanction.

Single parent households are required to participate in
Work for Your Welfare up to 30 hours per week, determined
by dividing TANF and Food Stamp benefits by the minimum
wage.  If the hours determined by dividing the grants by the
minimum wage exceed 30 hours per week, participants are
to complete no more than 30 hours maximum participation
hours.  In addition to participating in Work For Your
Welfare, individuals must participate in 10 hours of job
search, education or a vocational activity per week. 

Participants who fail to complete the hours required by
dividing their grant by the minimum wage will have their
grant adjusted.  For each hour not worked, participants will
have the grant adjusted downward by the amount of the
minimum hourly wage. Participants who fail to complete the
10 hours of job search, education or a vocational activity per
week are subject to employment and training sanctions.

In two parent households, one parent must participate in
Work For Your Welfare and the second parent must
participate in a work-related activity, including child care.
The requirements for parents in two-parent households are
unchanged.

The January 1, 2000 change in the work requirements
for one-parent families means that, to receive Time-Limited
TANF benefits in Delaware, both one-parent and two-parent

families must either be employed or participate in a Work
For Your Welfare position with supplementary activities as
required.  Delaware's requirement for immediate work
activities exceeds the federal TANF mandate. 

An individual enrolled in the TANF Time-Limited
Program who, in accordance with the requirements in their
Contract of Mutual Responsibility, participates in
unsubsidized employment of at least twenty hours per week
is not required to participate in Work for Your Welfare.
Individuals participating in a combination of such
employment and education of at least twenty (20) hours per
week are also not required to participate in Work For Your
Welfare. TANF Contracts of Mutual Responsibility are
designed to fit individual circumstances. It is possible for an
individual enrolled in the TANF Time-Limited Program who
is engaged in at least twenty (20) hours of combined work
and allowable education activities to meet work
requirements, if their Contract of Mutual Responsibility
contains such an activity agreement.

Time limits for Delaware's Time-Limited TANF
Program are described in the section entitled, TANF Benefits
to Needy Families: Time Limits.

Protecting Current Workers from Displacement
Regarding the Work for Your Welfare program, DSS

conforms to Section (a)(5) of the Federal Unemployment
Tax Act which requires that a job offered cannot be available
as a result of a strike or labor dispute, that the job cannot
require the employee to join or prohibit the employee from
joining a labor organization, and that program participants
are not used to displace regular workers.

In addition DSS ensures that no participants, including
but not limited to those placed in either a Work For Your
Welfare placement or a community work experience
program, displace regular paid employees of any of the
organizations providing either the placement or the
community work experience.  Such assurance complies with
State law contained in 31 Delaware Code, Chapter 9, Section
905(b).  This assurance also complies with Section 407(f) of
TANF, which requires that DSS will not use federal funds
under TANF to place individuals in a work activity when:

• any individual is on a layoff from the same or a sub-
stantially equivalent job;

• the employer has terminated any regular employee
or otherwise caused an involuntary reduction of its
workforce in order to fill the vacancy created with
an adult receiving TANF benefits.

In addition, DSS has established a grievance procedure,
in conformance with Section 407(f)(3) of TANF, for
resolving complaints for any alleged violation of
nondisplacement requirements.  Employees or their
representatives who believe that their jobs are being
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displaced or infringed upon shall present their complaint to
the employment contractor with authority over the
placement.   If the contractor is unable to resolve the
problem within 15 days, the employee or representative may
file a formal grievance in writing to the DSS Director’s
Office, who will hear a formal grievance.  The employee will
have an opportunity to: present their grievance on the record;
present evidence; bring witnesses and cross examine
witnesses; be represented by counsel; and receive a written
decision.

Grievance hearings will be scheduled within thirty
calendar days of receipt of the formal grievance, and a
written decision will be issued within 30 days of the hearing.
If either party is dissatisfied with the State’s written decision,
they may appeal the decision to the U.S. Department of
Labor within 20 days of receipt of the written decision.  The
procedures for appeal, which must be sent to the Office of
Administrative Law Judges, in the U.S. Department of
Labor, will be provided in writing with the decision.

Supportive Services
Delaware recognizes the importance of available child

care in helping recipients participate in work-related
activities, and securing and retaining unsubsidized
employment.  To that end, the financial resources provided
for child care have been significantly increased from the
FY95 child care funding level to the current request for
funding.

Supportive Services, such as child care, and TANF
provided assistance with other work-related expenses, such
as eye examinations and corrective lenses, dental, and
physicals not covered by Medicaid, transportation, fees,
training, and work-related equipment, uniforms, shoes, and
supplies will be available where possible. Services are
provided by voucher or directly. In addition, TANF will, on a
case by case basis, pay fees to purchase certificates, licenses,
or testing needed to obtain employment. Medical services
are not part of these supportive services. DSS will determine
when such services are necessary for a TANF recipient to
participate.  The services shall include:

• Support provided by contractors to retain employ-
ment for one (1) year

• Health care for Delaware citizens through:
• providing Medicaid coverage to uninsured

adults with income at or below 100 percent of
the federal poverty level 

• providing medical coverage for uninsured chil-
dren in families with income up to 200% of the
federal poverty level, through the Delaware
Healthy Children program

• providing transitional Medicaid via 1931d pro-
gram effective October 1, 2002, for two years
for families with children who exit welfare, at
incomes up to 185% of poverty.  

• Subsidized child care for families who leave TANF
to go to work for a period of two years, as long as
family income remains below 200 percent of the
federal poverty level.  In addition, to help individu-
als retain unsubsidized employment beyond two (2)
years, Delaware also provides subsidized child care
to other low income working families until the fam-
ily’s income exceeds 200 percent of the federal
poverty level.

• Job search programs and other assistance from the
Department of Labor to find a job; and

• ongoing job retention assistance.

Additional Targeted Support

Family Development Profile
The Family Development Profile is used by Delaware to

identify possible social, familial, and emotional barriers to
self-sufficiency, insofar as they impact an individual’s ability
to obtain and retain employment.   Participants who
complete the Profile answer questions about their self-
esteem and health, and relationships with family members
and other individuals.  The Profile is currently being
enhanced to provide the capacity to identify mental health
problems.

DSS workers report that the Profile frequently surfaces
major domestic issues which participants need to resolve.
By utilizing the Profile, workers are able to refer participants
for assistance in resolving domestic violence and other abuse
situations.  Further efforts to assist individuals to resolve
domestic violence and other abuse situations are described in
a later section: PARENTAL RESPONSIBILITY: Addressing
Problems of Statutory Rape and Domestic Violence.  

Substance Abuse
As part of the application and redetermination

processes, workers ask clients a series of questions, called
the CAGE questions, to identify substance abusers for
referral to appropriate services.  Through the Bridge
Program and referrals to DSAMH, Delaware's TANF
program offers assessment and non-medical treatment
services for all substance abusers identified through this and
other methods. DSAMH and Medicaid will ensure that if
medical treatment services are needed they are paid from
other than TANF funds.

Supporting Teens 
Delaware is targeting youth by providing special

services.  Through the Department of Education, Delaware
provides a family literacy program which includes parenting
skills training and other services to teen parents and their
children to prevent repeat pregnancies. 

Beginning with FY 1999 funds were allocated for
Delaware's Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiative, Teen
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Hope, to support activities for at-risk teens in six School
Based Health Centers (SBHCs) and one community site.
The program, utilizing the Transtheoretical Behavior Change
Model, helps youth develop skills to make better sexual and
health related decisions.  Initial programs have been very
successful.  In addition, wellness centers located in 27 high
schools provide medical, health and counseling services to
high school students.

Several other initiatives are being operated.  The
AmeriCorp Grant partnership grant with DHSS as lead was
awarded in 1999.  Under this grant, Planned Parenthood is
managing an effort to have AmeriCorp members provide a
responsible adult presence and a structured environment for
youth to learn, as a strategy to prevent teen pregnancy, in the
lives of at-risk teens in selected target areas.  The Abstinence
Education Grant currently provides mini-grants to agencies
providing skills building community programs for teens.

Delaware has undertaken, through an Alliance on
Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention (AAPP), a grassroots
community and media outreach campaign to convince
teenagers to postpone sexual activity and to avoid becoming
or making someone else pregnant.  AAPP works directly
with parents in this initiative to improve communication
between parents and children around sexuality and
pregnancy prevention.  In addition, AAPP provides
preventive education and distributes information on
preventing teen pregnancy, utilizing a number of kinds of
interventions.  For example, two full-time community
educators visit schools, community centers, churches, and
camps; and provide workshops/training to parents and
children around sexuality and teen pregnancy prevention.
AAPP also maintains a resource center for the community
and lends or gives away brochures, videos, curriculum,
posters, books, and other communications about teen
pregnancy prevention and sexuality. 

The Wise Guys initiative is an adolescent male
responsibility program that uses an established Wise Guys
curriculum over a ten-week period.  The program, operating
in six high school based health centers, promotes character
development and prevention of adolescent pregnancy by
teaching young males self-responsibility in several areas. 

Delaware's teen pregnancy prevention campaign also
uses billboards to convey the message, and statewide
conferences to provide assistance implementing prevention
activities.
       Delaware's TANF program provides a positive incentive
to teenagers to graduate high school by age 19 by awarding a
one-time $50 bonus. Additionally, TANF requires teenage
mothers currently on welfare to live with their parent(s) or a
responsible adult, stay in school, immunize their children
and participate in parenting education.

Services to teens are also discussed in the Section
entitled Parental Responsibility Efforts to Reduce Out-Of-
Wedlock Births.

Delivery of Services Across State
Delivery of services will be consistent across the State. 

TANF BENEFITS TO NEEDY FAMILIES

Computing the Benefit
Eligibility will be determined prospectively.  After

establishing eligibility, benefits will be computed
prospectively.  Income per time period will be converted to a
monthly income figure by utilizing the following conversion
factors:

Weekly 4.33
Bi-weekly 2.16
Semi-monthly 2.00

Example:  Given a weekly income of $85, multiply by
4.33 to arrive at a monthly income of $368.05.

The benefit amount will be determined by using
prospective budgeting and the best estimate of earned and
unearned income for the assistance unit.  The payment will
not be changed until the next eligibility determination,
unless the recipient reports a change that would result in an
increase in the benefit or there is a significant change in
circumstances as defined below.

A significant change is defined as any of the following:

• change in household size; 
• new source of employment;
• loss of unsubsidized employment or a change in

employment status from full time to part time
which was beyond the recipient’s control; 

• an increase of forty (40) hours or more in unsubsi-
dized employment per month; 

• receipt of a new source of unearned income; or
• increases or decreases in existing sources of

unearned income totaling $50.00 or more per
month.

The recipient needs to verify all changes in
circumstances.

Example:  An applicant applies in May.  The applicant is
employed.  The applicant is working 20 hours per week and
earns $5.65 per hour.  The best estimate of wages is
calculated by multiplying 20 hours times $5.65 ($113.00 per
week), then multiplying the weekly figure by 4.33 to
determine the monthly income of $485.90.

Redeterminations
At least one redetermination is required every six (6)

months.  TANF emphasizes work and work related activity.
Mandating face-to-face redeterminations might undermine
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that goal.  Therefore, mail-in redeterminations, with a
telephone interview are used as an option to encourage
recipients to continue participating in employment and
training activities or to keep working.

When a redetermination is due, the recipient must
complete a new DSS application form (FORM 100).  A
redetermination is complete when all eligibility factors are
examined and a decision regarding continuing eligibility is
reached.

The assistance case will be closed if a recipient fails,
without good cause, to complete the redetermination review.
Likewise, the assistance case of a recipient who fails,
without good cause, to provide requested information
necessary to establish continued eligibility will be closed.

As part of the verification process for continuing
eligibility, the person will provide verification that s/he has
carried out the elements of the individual Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.  

Time Limits
Under TANF, cash benefits are time-limited for

households headed by employable adults age 18 or older
who are included in the grant. Prior to January 1, 2000,
Delaware limited receipt of TANF, for families in the Time-
Limited Program, to twenty-four (24) cumulative months.
During the time-limited period, employable adults received
full benefits if they met the requirements of their Contract of
Mutual Responsibility, including employment-related
activities.

After the first 24 month cumulative period ended,
families headed by employable adults could continue to
receive cash benefits for an additional 24 cumulative months
only as long as the adults participated in a Work For Your
Welfare work experience program or they were working and
family income was below the need standard of 75 percent of
the Federal Poverty Level. 

Effective January 1, 2000 the time limit for receipt of
TANF cash benefits is thirty-six (36) cumulative months.

During the time-limited period, employable adult
recipients receive full cash benefits only as long as they meet
the requirements of their Contract of Mutual Responsibility,
including participation in employment-related activities. The
ultimate goal of this time-limited period is to support the
employable adult’s search for and placement in an
unsubsidized job.  Time limits will not apply when
Delaware's unemployment rate substantially exceeds the
national average or is greater than 7.5 percent.

Individuals found eligible for TANF prior to January 1,
2000 will still have a forty-eight (48) month time limit even
if they reapply for benefits on or after January 1, 2000.

DSS will track the time remaining before a family’s
time limits expire and notify families on a quarterly basis of
the time they have remaining before the time limits expire.
At least two (2) months prior to the end of the 36 or 48

cumulative months in which a family has received
assistance, DSS will remind the family that assistance will
end and notify the family of the right to apply for an
extension. 

Extensions will be provided only to those families who
can demonstrate that:

• the agency substantially failed to provide the ser-
vices specified in the individual’s Contract of
Mutual Responsibility; the related extension will
correspond to the time period for which services
were not provided; or

• despite their best efforts to find and keep employ-
ment, no suitable unsubsidized employment was
available in the local economy to the employable
adult caretaker; the maximum extension under such
circumstances will be 12 months.

Extensions may also be granted where other unique
circumstances exist.  Extensions will not be granted if the
adult caretaker received and rejected offers of employment,
quit a job without good cause, or was fired for cause or if the
adult caretaker did not make a good faith effort to comply
with the terms of the Contract of Mutual Responsibility. 

Retroactively, starting October 1, 1995, Delaware
exempted months in which a person worked twenty hours or
more per from counting toward the Delaware lifetime time
limit when the countable income of the family is below the
need standard.  So that families who have not reached the
State’s 36/48 month time limit won’t reach the Federal 60
month time limit, benefits for these families are provided
under a segregated program using State MOE funding,
beginning October 1, 1999.  However, both the federal and
Delaware time clocks continue to run for individuals who
meet their work participation requirements by participating,
as permitted under the waiver, in a combination of
employment and education for at least twenty (20) hours a
week; and for individuals who meet their work participation
requirements by participating in education for at least twenty
(20) hours a week.

After the time limit has been reached, benefits will be
provided to families who have been granted an extension
only for a maximum period of 12 months and only in the
Work For Your Welfare component. Thus, for Time-Limited
families, unless the caretaker is employed at least twenty
(20) hours per week, the maximum period for receipt of
benefits to families enrolled in the Time-Limited TANF
Program will be sixty (60) cumulative months for families
with a forty-eight (48) cumulative time limit and forty-eight
(48) months for families with a thirty-six (36) month time
limit. 
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Sanctions:  Failure to Comply with the Contract and the
Imposition of Sanctions

The Contract of Mutual Responsibility encompasses
three broad categories of requirements: 1) enhanced family
functioning; 2) self-sufficiency; and 3) teen responsibility
requirements.

1 Enhanced family functioning requirements of the
Contract include, but are not limited to, acquiring family
planning information and attending parenting education
sessions, ensuring that children are immunized, and
participating in substance abuse assessment and treatment.
Sanction for non-compliance with these requirements is an
initial $50 which will increase by $50 every month until
there is compliance with the requirement.  The initial $50
reduction will be imposed whether the family fails to comply
with one, or more than one requirement.  Clients will have to
comply with all requirements before the sanction can end.

2 Self-sufficiency requirements of the Contract of
Mutual Responsibility are employment and training, work-
related activities, and ensuring school attendance
requirements for dependent children under age 16.  

• The sanction for non-compliance with these
requirements is a 1/3 reduction of the benefit for the
first occurrence, 2/3 reduction for the second occur-
rence and a total and permanent loss of the benefit
for the third occurrence for work related activities.
A third occurrence of the penalty for a child under
16 not attending school is loss of all cash benefits
but is curable when the parent demonstrates com-
pliance.  The duration of the first and second sanc-
tions will each be two months or until the person
complies.  If, at the end of the two month period,
there is no demonstrated compliance, the sanction
will increase to the next level.

• Clients will have to demonstrate compliance with
all self-sufficiency requirements before all benefits
are restored.

• For the purpose of determining that the individual’s
failure to comply has ended, the individual must
participate in the activity to which s/he was previ-
ously assigned, or an activity designed by the
Employment and Training provider to lead to full
participation, for a period of up to two weeks before
ending the sanction.

• The penalty for individuals who quit their jobs
without good cause and do not comply with subse-
quent job search requirements will be loss of all
cash benefits.  The penalty for individuals who quit
their jobs without good cause, but who comply with
subsequent job search requirements, will be:
• for a first offense, a 1/3 reduction in TANF, to

be imposed for a period of two months;

• for a second offense, a 2/3 reduction in TANF,
to be imposed for a period of two months;

• for a third offense, a permanent loss of all cash
benefits.

• For dependent children under age 16, including teen
parents, the sanction will not be imposed if the par-
ent of the teen is working with school officials or
other agencies to remediate the situation.

3) Teen responsibility requirements include
maintaining satisfactory school attendance, or participation
in alternative activities such as training or employment, for
dependent children 16 years of age and older.  The sanction
for non-compliance with these requirements is to remove the
needs of the teen from the TANF benefit and to remove the
needs of the caretaker if the caretaker does not work to
remedy the situation. Complying with the requirements ends
the sanction.

Failing to comply with both the enhanced family
functioning and self-sufficiency requirements will result in
combined penalties.  For example, both a $50 reduction and
a 1/3 reduction to the benefit could be assessed for first
failures to comply in two areas.  Demonstrated compliance
will not excuse penalties for the period of noncompliance.
Sanctions will be imposed for the full period of
noncompliance. 

Benefit Delivery: Direct Payments and Vouchers
Currently, Delaware uses check issuance as the payment

method for TANF.
Delaware directly pays for center-based child care

authorized for TANF participants, where the center agrees to
accept the Delaware child care reimbursement rate.  Some
caretakers, however, receive vouchers to self-arrange and
pay for their child care.  Delaware will reimburse these
caretakers, up to the rates published in the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) plan, for the cost of child care
provided by licensed and license-exempt child care
providers.

STAFF TRAINING

TANF training has been incorporated into the Cash
Grant training which is required for all new financial
services staff.  APHSA training has now been incorporated
into Interviewing and Coaching training which is required
for all new staff.

PARENTAL RESPONSIBILITY

Adults and minor parent(s) are required to comply with
parenting expectations outlined in the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.
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Cooperation with Child Support Enforcement
Participants in TANF must cooperate with the Division

of Child Support Enforcement as a condition of eligibility.
In addition, all families are required to provide sufficient
information to permit Delaware to obtain child support on
behalf of the family.  Exceptions can be made when the
caretaker demonstrates that pursuit of child support would
create a danger to the caretaker or the child(ren).  It is the
responsibility of the client to provide documentation to
verify such a good cause claim.

Failure of a caretaker, without good cause, to cooperate
with and provide information to the DCSE to permit the
State to pursue the collection of child support on behalf of
dependent children will result in a full family sanction, until
compliance.  Applicants who fail to provide information so
that Delaware may pursue child support collections will be
denied.  To cure the child support sanction, the caretaker will
provide sufficient information to permit Delaware to pursue
child support collections on behalf of the needy children in
the family.

When a child lives with both the natural father and the
mother but paternity has not been legally established, the
parents will be referred to the Division of Child Support
Enforcement (DCSE) for a voluntary acknowledgment of
paternity.  If the alleged father is unwilling to complete the
voluntary acknowledgment of paternity, DSS will consider
the child deprived of the care and support of his/her father.
The case will be referred to DCSE for follow up on
establishing paternity.

When a child lives with the natural father but paternity
has not been legally established, the father will complete a
declaration of natural relationship document and will
provide acceptable verification of relationship.

When a child lives with a relative of the natural father
but paternity has not been legally established, the relative
must complete a declaration of natural relationship
document and provide acceptable verification of
relationship.

In Delaware, DCSE determines non-cooperation with
child support requirements.  In addition, effective January 1,
1999 DCSE began making the determination of good cause.

Distribution of Child Support Collections to TANF
Recipients

Delaware, a fill-the-gap state in 1975, uses fill-the-gap
to make sure that families do not experience a net loss of
income due to the State retaining Child Support paid by
absent parents.  A portion of Child Support payments is not
counted in calculating the grant.

Efforts to Reduce Out-of Wedlock Births
Delaware believes that the number of out-of-wedlock

births to teens must be reduced significantly to eliminate
poverty and dependency.  A study by Doble Research

Associates commissioned by the Governor’s Family
Council, in June, 1998, concluded that Delaware's efforts to
reduce teen pregnancy, including establishing more after-
school program, strongly enforcing child-support
enforcement and the Sexual Predator Act, and making teen
mothers ineligible for cash assistance, are solidly supported
by public opinion.   We are undertaking a number of
statewide initiatives to reduce adolescent pregnancy.  Many
of these initiatives are being coordinated through the
activities of the Alliance for Adolescent Pregnancy
Prevention (AAPP).  Ventures include the provision of
adolescent health services through school-based health
centers and improving teen utilization of our family planning
centers.

The AAPP is a statewide public and private partnership
charged with the development and implementation of a
comprehensive plan to prevent adolescent pregnancy in
Delaware.  The organizational structure of the Alliance
includes a 12 member advisory board appointed by the
Governor and a statewide membership of over 200 schools,
agencies, organizations, churches, and individuals concerned
with teen pregnancy.  Staff and program support for the
Alliance is provided through a contract from the Division of
Public Health (DPH) to Christiana Care.

Since its inception, the AAPP has awarded mini-grants
to non-profit youth organizations to provide community
based teen pregnancy programs; implemented a statewide
media campaign to increase community awareness; and
worked with existing coalitions to establish teen pregnancy
prevention programs.  AAAP plans and activities include:

• statewide leadership to develop a visible, viable
structure for mobilizing resources needed to impact
the problem;

• data development to develop a methodology to
monitor rates in real time;

• public relations efforts to increase community
awareness and involvement; and

• identifying barriers to teen utilization of family
planning services and developing solutions

The Division of Public Health has the lead
responsibility in Delaware to implement initiatives to reduce
teen pregnancy.  Using the strategies and recommendations
presented by AAPP, DPH activities include school based
health centers, family planning clinics, parenting education,
and the peer leadership program.  The “teen friendly”
services provided at Department of Public Health Units
located at State Service Centers have resulted in a significant
increase in use.  In addition, all clients seen in Sexually
Transmitted Disease Clinic sites receive counseling on
family planning, as well as pregnancy prevention supplies.

Based on a report by Adolescent Health Survey
Research (AHSR), which used a survey and focus groups
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with youth and their parents conducted early in 1999 to
identify top strategies in pregnancy prevention, Delaware
implemented a number of initiatives to prevent subsequent
births, including:

• Smart Start, an enhanced prenatal program that
attempts to decrease low birth weight babies, infant
mortality, and maternal mortality, through social
service, nutritional, and nursing support to at-risk
pregnant women;

• Placing information on our combined Food Stamp/
cash assistance/MA applications for the following
telephone numbers: Planned Parenthood, AAPP
and Delaware Helpline, to obtain information on
pregnancy prevention/family planning.

In addition, family planning and reproductive health
services are provided to adults in eight public health
locations in Delaware; and similar services are provided to
adults by Planned Parenthood of Delaware in five locations
in the state.  Minority populations are targeted through
family planning and reproductive health services available at
three Federally Qualified Health Centers in Delaware; and
family planning and reproductive health services are
available to Delaware State University students through the
DSU health center.

These Delaware initiatives to reduce out-of-wedlock
births are complemented and strengthened by the policies of
TANF which:

• Require adults and minor parent(s) to obtain family
planning information from the provider of their
choice; 

• Provide for a fiscal sanction of an initial $50 reduc-
tion in benefits for failure, without good cause, to
obtain family planning information.  This reduction
will increase each month by $50.00, either until
there is compliance or the case is closed.  The sanc-
tion will end when the adult and/or minor parent(s)
obtains the family planning information at the pro-
vider of their choice;

• Eliminate benefit increases for children conceived
while a caretaker is receiving TANF, and apply this
family cap to children who are the firstborn of
minors included in a TANF grant where the chil-
dren are born after March 1, 1997; and

• Treat two parent families the same as single parent
families. 

Initiatives to Promote Two-Parent Families
To provide broad-based support for working families,

Delaware was one of the first States to recognize that the
special eligibility requirements that applied to two-parent
families contributed both to the non-formation and the break
up of two-parent households.  The six-quarter work history

requirement was particularly responsible for non-marriage of
teen parents, who had not yet worked enough to meet this
qualification.  The denial of benefits to two-parent families if
one of the parents was working at least 100 hours a month
also contributed to the low work rate of two-parent families
which were receiving AFDC. 

When Delaware eliminated these special deprivation
requirements as part of our welfare reform waiver, the
numbers of two-parent families receiving TANF soared, and
we believe that, without the TANF change, many of these
households would have applied for and been found eligible
for benefits as single mother families.  These never formed
two-parent households would have had profound effects on
the ability of the family to exit welfare and on the future
success of the children.  We have found that the average
length of stay on TANF is much lower for two-parent
families, reflecting the greater incidence of retained
employment when two adults are able to engage in work and
share child care duties.

Delaware has always allowed taxpayers to file
separately and applied the progressive rate structure to each
spouse’s income separately, which avoided most tax
increases resulting from marriage.  However, a marriage
penalty could still result from uneven standard deduction
amounts.  By increasing the standard deduction amount for
married taxpayers to exactly twice the single standard
deduction beginning January 1, 2000, enactment of HB 411
has effectively eliminated the income tax “marriage penalty”
in the State of Delaware

Addressing Problems of Statutory Rape and Domestic
Violence

Statutory Rape
The Sexual Predator Act of 1996 imposes more severe

criminal sanctions on adult males who are significantly older
than their victims and holds them financially accountable
when children are born as a result of violations of this law.

The legislation requires a cooperative agreement as part
of a multi-faceted effort to combat teenage pregnancy and
reform welfare.  Specifically, the law requires the Attorney
General’s Office, the Department of Health and Social
Services, the Department of Services to Children Youth and
Their Families, the Department of Public Instruction and law
enforcement agencies statewide to establish a cooperative
agreement specifying the various roles of the agencies
involved.   The Memorandum of Understanding establishing
the cooperative agreement, executed on December 10, 1996,
and SB346 are provided as Attachment F.

Victims of Domestic Violence
As required under the optional Certification of

Standards and Procedures to Ensure that a State Will Screen
for and Identify Domestic Violence, DSS will refer
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identified victims of domestic violence to appropriate
services such as shelters and counseling and to Family
Court.  Under the Protection from Abuse Act (PFA), 10
Delaware Code, Chapter 9, Sections 1041-1048
(Attachment G), Family Court has the power and authority
to expeditiously adjudicate all matters related to domestic
violence including court ordered restraints, custody, property
and financial resources.

Through this strong domestic violence Law, Delaware is
clearly committed to assisting victims of domestic violence
overcome circumstances which put them in physical,
emotional and/or financial jeopardy; and to assist them is
seeking redress and a safe environment for themselves and
their families.  The Law is a strong deterrent to domestic
violence, according to a study by the National Center for
State Courts, released on December 2, 1996.  The study
reported that 86 percent of those who sought protection
under the Law, which permits individuals in danger of
serious physical abuse to obtain a protection order, were no
longer being physically abused.

 In addition, using our Family Development Profile,
caseworkers ask a series of screening questions designed to
identify victims of domestic violence.  (See Attachment H)
So that we are certain that workers can use this tool to
effectively identify domestic violence issues, beginning
1998 all staff members at each of Delaware's 14 field sites
receive a full day of Domestic Violence Training, focused on
the impact of domestic violence on clients and their ability to
abide by the conditions of the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.  As part of this training, staff learn how to
recognize and assist women who are victims of domestic
violence.  DSS has continued this training on an ongoing
basis and now provides the training not only to field staff but
to all staff.

We believe that our methodology of resolving domestic
violence situations as quickly as possible, as provided for
under a strong statute, is the most appropriate and best
course of action to assist current victims and to prevent
future violence where possible.

Delaware certifies that the Family Development Profile
establishes a procedure that screens for domestic violence
and that, pursuant to a determination of good cause, program
requirements may be waived if it is determined that
compliance would make it more difficult for individuals to
escape violence.  However, decisions to waive compliance
with TANF requirements will be made on an individual, case
by case basis, and will not endorse an individual’s failure to
behave proactively to ameliorate destructive domestic
violence situations.   For our program to work, domestic
violence victims must take actions to recover their lives,
using the relief provided by the domestic violence statute
and the other resources Delaware makes available.

TRIBES

Delaware has no federally recognized tribes.

ADMINISTRATION

Structure of Agency
The Department of Health and Social Services is the

cabinet level agency designated by the State as responsible
for Delaware's public assistance programs as allowed under
Title IV-A of the Social Security Act.  Within the
Department, the Division of Social Services administers
these programs.  (Organizational chart included as
Attachment I to State Plan.)

Administrative Spending
Delaware will comply with federal requirements.

Compliance With Participation Rates
In order that federal TANF funds are spent in

accordance with the law (P.L. 104-193), Delaware will
ensure compliance with the mandatory work and
participation rate provisions of the law (as modified by this
State Plan which includes our previously approved waivers,
described in the Waiver Inconsistency Certification,
submitted to the U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services on September 27, 1999.)

Delaware intends to meet the participation rate
requirements set forth in the TANF legislation.  If the waiver
is extended, as is proposed by the reauthorization legislation
approved by the Senate Finance Committee, we will
continue to operate in accordance with participation
requirements in the waiver.  If the waiver is not extended we
will makes necessary changes to ensure that we meet federal
participation mandates. In either situation, Delaware will
ensure that federal TANF funds are expended for groups of
TANF clients engaged in work, using federally acceptable
work activities.

Maintenance of Effort 
Delaware is aware of and intends to fully comply with

the requirements of the law (P.L. 104-193) to maintain a
prescribed level of historic state expenditures.  Delaware
will ensure that expenditures of state funds for benefits and
services (“Qualified State Expenditures” as defined in the
law) for TANF participants (either in the Part A federally
funded program or non-Part A state funded program) who
are TANF eligibles will equal or exceed the required annual
spending level.

Delaware has opted to continue the issuance of child
support disregard and child support supplemental payments
to TANF clients under our fill-the-gap waiver.  Delaware
considers these payments to be “cash assistance” to eligible
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families and therefore to be within the definition of
“Qualified State Expenditures”. 

Financial eligibility criteria for MOE-funded assistance
or services are the same as for other TANF assistance or
services, except that MOE claimed for child care under the
provisions of section 263.3 will follow the financial
eligibility criteria established in the CCDF State Plan and
associated State regulations.

Implementation Date and Plan Submittal Date
The plan is submitted for certification of completeness

on October 1, 2002.  The implementation date for the
provisions of this plan is October 1, 2002.  Any subsequent
amendments to this Plan will be indicated by amending the
page of the Plan that describes the program or function being
changed.

See 6 DE Reg. 442 (10/1/02)

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,

 Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program 

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services /
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program is proposing to
amend the policy of the Food Stamp Program in the Division
of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates to
rehabilitated drug felons.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by September 30, 2003.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Change

The State of Delaware is electing to opt out under 21
U.S.C. §862a so that rehabilitated drug felons can receive

food stamp benefits if they are participating in, completed, or
certified out of a drug treatment program approved by
Delaware Health and Social Services, as follows:

• Individuals convicted of a drug felony for distribu-
tion (trafficking) of a controlled substance continue
to be permanently barred from receiving food
stamps.

• Individuals convicted of a drug felony for the pos-
session or use of a controlled substance can receive
food stamps if they have met certain conditions
including substance abuse treatment.

These individuals will be required to submit to quarterly
random drug testing with a clean drug test result to continue
to participate in the food stamp program.

Citation: 142nd General Assembly - House Bill 263,
Eligibility for Food Stamp Program

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #03-32

REVISIONS:

2027  Disqualification of Individuals Convicted of Drug
Related Offenses

For Cash Assistance:
Individuals convicted under Federal or State law of any

offense which is classified as a felony that has the element of
possession, use or distribution of controlled substances shall
not be eligible for cash assistance or benefits under the food
stamp program.

This provision does not apply to individuals convicted
of such offenses which occurred prior to August 22, 1996,
the date of enactment of The Personal Responsibility and
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996.

For Cash Assistance:

Determine income, resources, and deductions according
to DSSM 4003.2 if the individual is a parent payee.  Exclude
the income and resources of the individual if the person is a
non-parent payee.

For Food Stamps:
Individuals convicted under Federal or State law of any

offense which is classified as a felony that has the element of
distribution of controlled substances shall not be eligible for
benefits under the food stamp program.

Individuals convicted under Federal or State law of any
offense which is classified as a felony that has the element of
possession or use of controlled substances shall not be

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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eligible for benefits under the food stamp program unless
they meet the following conditions:

1. Is currently participating in a substance abuse
treatment program approved 
by DHSS; or

2. Is currently enrolled in a substance abuse
treatment program approved by DHSS subject to a waiting
list to receive available treatment, and the individual remains
enrolled in the treatment program and enters the treatment
program at the first available opportunity; or

3. Has satisfactorily completed a substance abuse
program approved by DHSS; or

4. Is determined by a treatment provider licensee
by DHSS not to need substance abuse treatment according to
DHSS’ guidelines; and 

5. Is complying with, or has already complied
with all obligations imposed by the Court, including any
substance abuse treatment obligations.

Individuals who regain eligibility for food stamps due to
meeting the above conditions will be required to submit to
quarterly random drug testing at the individual's own cost.

Individuals who return a clean drug test result free of
controlled substances will continue to be eligible to get food
stamps, if otherwise eligible.

Individuals who return an unclean drug test result,
which shows the use of controlled substances, will be
disqualified from receiving food stamps for one year.  

Individuals who fail to return a drug test result will be
ineligible to receive food stamps until a clean drug test result
is provided.

The period of ineligibility will remain in effect until the
end of the one year.  The individual must return a clean drug
test result free of controlled substances before getting
benefits again.

Such ineligible individuals will not be considered part
of the household except that the income and resources of
such individuals shall be considered to be income and
resources of the household.

Determine the income, resources and deductions of
these disqualified individuals according to 9076.1.
Intentional Program Violation, Felony Drug Conviction or
Fleeing Felon Disqualifications, or Work Requirement
Sanctions.

This provision does not apply to individuals convicted
of such offenses that occurred prior to August 22, 1996, the
date of enactment of The Personal Responsibility and Work
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18 DE Admin. Code 1406

Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code, 
Sections 311, 2304(16), and 2312 (18 Del.C. §§ 

311, 2304(16) and 2312)

Notice Of Public Hearing

Insurance Commissioner Donna Lee H. Williams
hereby gives notice that a public hearing will be held on
Thursday September 25, 2003, at 10:00 a.m. in the
Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware. The hearing is to consider Proposed Regulation
1406 relating to the licensing and regulation of third party
administrators.

The purpose for promulgating Regulation 1406 is to
comply with 74 Del. Laws Ch. 157 which became law on
July 15, 2003 requiring the Delaware Insurance Department
to enact regulations governing the licensure and regulation
of third party administrators doing business in Delaware. 

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited from any
interested party. Comments may be in writing or may be
presented orally at the Hearing. Written comments must be
received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30
p.m., Thursday, October 2, 2003, and should be addressed to
Deputy Attorney General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
DE 19904. 

Regulation 1406 Third Party Administrators

Contents
1.0 Scope and Authority
2.0 Definitions
3.0 Requirement for Written Agreement
4.0 Payment to Administrator
5.0 Maintenance of Information
6.0 Approval of Advertising
7.0 Responsibilities of the Insurer
8.0 Premium Collection and Payment of Claims
9.0 Compensation to the Administrator
10.0 Notice to Covered Individuals; Disclosure of

Charges and Fees
11.0 Delivery of Materials to Covered Individuals
12.0 Home State Certificate of Authority/License
13.0 Registration Requirement
14.0 Nonresident Administrator Certificate of Authority
15.0 Annual Report, Fees and Expenses
16.0 Grounds for Denial, Suspension or Revocation of

Certificate of Authority

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
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17.0 Fees
18.0 Severability
19.0 Effective Date

1.0 Scope and Authority
This Regulation is adopted by the Commissioner

pursuant to the authority granted by 18 Del. C. §§ 102, 74
Del. Laws Ch. 157, and promulgated in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, Title 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101.

2.0 Definitions
For purposes of this Regulation:
2.1 “Administrator” or “third party administrator”

or “TPA” means a person 
2.1.1 who directly or indirectly

underwrites, collects charges or premiums from, or denies,
modifies, adjusts or settles claims on residents of this state in
connection with health and/or pharmacy benefits coverage
offered or provided by an insurer, except any of the
following:

2.1.1.1 An employer, or a wholly owned
direct or indirect subsidiary of an employer, on behalf of its
employees or the employees of one or more subsidiaries or
affiliated corporations of such employer; 

2.1.1.2 A union on behalf of its members; 
2.1.1.3 An insurer that is authorized to

transact insurance in this state pursuant to Title 18;
2.1.1.4 An insurance producer licensed to sell

health and/or pharmacy benefits coverage in this state,
whose activities are limited exclusively to the sale of
insurance;

2.1.1.5 A creditor on behalf of its debtors
with respect to insurance covering a debt between the
creditor and its debtors;

2.1.1.6 A trust and its trustees, agents and
employees acting pursuant to such trust established in
conformity with 29 U.S.C. Section 186;

2.1.1.7 A trust exempt from taxation under
Section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, its trustees and
employees acting pursuant to such trust, or a custodian and
the custodian’s agents or employees acting pursuant to a
custodian account which meets the requirements of Section
401(f) of the Internal Revenue Code;

2.1.1.8 A credit union or a financial
institution that is subject to supervision or examination by
federal or state banking authorities, or a mortgage lender, to
the extent they collect and remit premiums to licensed
insurance producers or to limited lines producers or
authorized insurers in connection with loan payments;

2.1.1.9 A credit card issuing company that
advances for and collects insurance premiums or charges
from its credit card holders who have authorized collection;

2.1.1.10 A person who adjusts or settles claims
in the normal course of that person’s practice or employment
as an attorney at law and who does not collect charges or
premiums in connection with health and/or pharmacy health
benefits coverage;

2.1.1.11 An adjuster licensed by this state
whose activities are limited to adjustment of claims;

2.1.1.12 A person licensed as a managing
general agent in this state, whose activities are limited
exclusively to the scope of activities conveyed under such
license;

2.1.1.13 An administrator who is affiliated
with an insurer and who only performs the contractual duties
(between the administrator and the insurer) of an
administrator for the direct and assumed insurance business
of the affiliated insurer. The insurer is responsible for the
acts of the administrator and is responsible for providing all
of the administrator’s books and records to the insurance
Commissioner, upon a request from the insurance
Commissioner. For purposes of this paragraph, “insurer”
shall have the same meaning as set forth in section 2.8 of this
regulation; or

2.1.1.14 A person, firm or entity whose
business is solely limited to the payment of money, claims or
bills at the direction of an insurer and who does not adjust or
settle claims on residents of this state in connection with
health coverage offered or provided by an insurer.

2.2 “Affiliate or affiliated” means an entity or person
who directly or indirectly through one or more
intermediaries, controls or is controlled by, or is under
common control with, a specified entity or person.

2.3 “Commissioner” means the Insurance
Commissioner of Delaware.

2.4 “Control” (including the terms “controlling,”
“controlled by” and “under common control with”)
means the possession, direct or indirect, of the power to
direct or cause the direction of the management and policies
of a person, whether through the ownership of voting
securities, by contract other than a commercial contract for
goods or nonmanagement services, or otherwise, unless the
power is the result of an official position with or corporate
office held by the person. Control shall be presumed to exist
if any person, directly or indirectly, owns, controls, holds
with the power to vote, or holds proxies representing, ten
percent (10%) or more of the voting securities of any other
person. This presumption may be rebutted by a showing
made in the manner provided by 18 Del. C. Chapter 50 that
control does not exist in fact. The Commissioner may
determine, after furnishing all persons in interest notice and
opportunity to be heard and making specific findings of fact
to support the determination, that control exists in fact,
notwithstanding the absence of a presumption to that effect.

2.5 “GAAP” means United States generally accepted
accounting principles consistently applied.
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2.6 “Home state” means the District of Columbia and
any state or territory of the United States in which an
administrator is incorporated, or maintains its principal place
of business. If neither the state in which the administrator is
incorporated, nor the state in which it maintains its principal
place of business has adopted this Regulation, or a
substantially similar law governing administrators, the
administrator may declare another state, in which it conducts
business, to be its “home state.”

2.7 “Insurance producer” means a person who sells,
solicits or negotiates a contract of insurance as those terms
are defined in this Regulation.

2.8 “Insurer” means a person undertaking to provide
health and/or pharmacy benefits coverage or self-funded
coverage under a governmental plan or church plan in this
state. For the purposes of this Regulation, insurer includes an
employer, a licensed insurance company, a prepaid hospital
or medical care plan, a health maintenance organization, a
managed care organization, a health service corporation, a
pharmacy benefits manager or a multiple employer welfare
arrangements (MEWAs).

2.9 “Negotiate” means the act of conferring directly
with or offering advice directly to a purchaser or prospective
purchaser of a particular contract of insurance concerning
any of the substantive benefits, terms or conditions of the
contract, provided that the person engaged in that act either
sells insurance or obtains insurance from insurers for
purchasers.

2.10 “Nonresident administrator” means a person
who is applying for licensure or is licensed in any state other
than the administrator’s home state.

2.11 “Person” means an individual or a business
entity.

2.12 “Sell” means to exchange a contract of
insurance by any means, for money or its equivalent, on
behalf of an insurance company.

2.13 “Solicit” means attempting to sell insurance or
asking or urging a person to apply for a particular kind of
insurance from a particular company.

2.14 “Underwrites” or “underwriting” means, but
is not limited to, the acceptance of employer or individual
applications for coverage of individuals in accordance with
the written rules of the insurer or self-funded plan; the
overall planning and coordinating of a benefits program.

2.15 “Uniform Application” means the current
version of the NAIC Uniform Application for Third Party
Administrators.

3.0 Requirement for Written Agreement
3.1 No administrator shall act as such without a written

agreement between the administrator and the insurer, and the
written agreement shall be retained as part of the official
records of both the insurer and the administrator for the
duration of the agreement and for five (5) years thereafter.

The agreement shall contain all provisions required by this
statute, except insofar as those requirements do not apply to
the functions performed by the administrator.

3.2 The written agreement shall include a statement of
duties that the administrator is expected to perform on behalf
of the insurer and the lines, classes or types of insurance for
which the administrator is to be authorized to administer.
The agreement shall make provision with respect to
underwriting or other standards pertaining to the business
underwritten by the insurer.

3.3 The insurer or administrator may, with written
notice, terminate the written agreement for cause as provided
in the agreement. The insurer may suspend the underwriting
authority of the administrator during the pendency of any
dispute regarding the cause for termination of the written
agreement. The insurer shall fulfill any lawful obligations
with respect to policies affected by the written agreement,
regardless of any dispute between the insurer and the
administrator.

4.0 Payment to Administrator
If an insurer utilizes the services of an administrator, the

payment to the administrator of any premiums or charges for
insurance by or on behalf of the insured party shall be
deemed to have been received by the insurer, and the
payment of return premiums or claim payments forwarded
by the insurer to the administrator shall not be deemed to
have been paid to the insured party or claimant until the
payments are received by the insured party or claimant.
Nothing in this section limits any right of the insurer against
the administrator resulting from the failure of the
administrator to make payments to the insurer, insured
parties or claimants.

5.0 Maintenance of Information
5.1 An administrator shall maintain and make available

to the insurer complete books and records of all transactions
performed on behalf of the insurer. The books and records
shall be maintained in accordance with prudent standards of
insurance record keeping and shall be maintained for a
period of not less than five (5) years from the date of their
creation.

5.2 The Commissioner shall have access to books and
records maintained by an administrator for the purposes of
examination, audit and inspection. Any documents,
materials or other information in the possession or control of
the Commissioner that are furnished by an administrator,
insurer, insurance producer or an employee or agent thereof
acting on behalf of the administrator, insurer or insurance
producer, or obtained by the Commissioner in an
investigation shall be confidential by law, shall not be
subject to the provisions of 29 Del. C. Chapter 100, shall not
be not subject to subpoena, and shall not be subject to
discovery or admissible in evidence in any private civil
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action. However, the Commissioner is authorized to use such
documents, materials or other information in the furtherance
of any regulatory or legal action brought as a part of the
Commissioner’s official duties, in which case the rules of the
court having jurisdiction over the case shall govern the
production and admissibility of such documents.

5.3 Neither the Commissioner nor any person who
received documents, materials or other information while
acting under the authority of the Commissioner shall be
permitted or required to testify in any private civil action
concerning any confidential documents, materials, or
information subject to § 5.2.

5.4 In order to assist in the performance of his or her
duties, the Commissioner: 

5.4.1 May share documents, materials or other
information, including the confidential and privileged
documents, materials or information subject to § 5.2 with
other state, federal and international regulatory agencies,
with the National Association of Insurance Commissioners,
its affiliates or subsidiaries and with state, federal and
international law enforcement authorities, provided that the
recipient agrees to maintain the confidentiality and
privileged status of the document, material or other
information; and

5.4.2 May receive documents, materials or
information, including otherwise confidential and privileged
documents, materials or information, from the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners, its affiliates or
subsidiaries, and from regulatory and law enforcement
officials of other foreign or domestic jurisdictions, and shall
maintain as confidential or privileged any document,
material or information received with notice or the
understanding that it is confidential or privileged under the
laws of the jurisdiction that is the source of the document,
material or information.

5.5 No waiver of any applicable privilege or claim of
confidentiality in the documents, materials or information
shall occur as a result of disclosure to the Commissioner
under this section or as a result of sharing as authorized in §
5.4.

5.6 Nothing in this Regulation shall prohibit the
Commissioner from releasing final, adjudicated actions
including for cause terminations that are open to public
inspection pursuant to 29 Del. C. Chapter 100 to a database
or other clearinghouse service maintained by the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners, its affiliates or
subsidiaries.

5.7 The insurer shall own the records generated by the
administrator pertaining to the insurer; however, the
administrator shall retain the right to continuing access to
books and records to permit the administrator to fulfill all of
its contractual obligations to insured parties, claimants, and
the insurer.

5.8 In the event the insurer and the administrator cancel
their agreement; notwithstanding the provisions of § 5.1, the
administrator may, by written agreement with the insurer,
transfer all records to a new administrator rather than retain
them for five (5) years. In such cases, the new administrator
shall acknowledge, in writing, that it is responsible for
retaining the records of the prior administrator as required in
§ 5.1.

6.0 Approval of Advertising
An administrator may use only advertising pertaining to

the business underwritten by an insurer that has been
approved in writing by the insurer in advance of its use.

7.0 Responsibilities of the Insurer
7.1 If an insurer utilizes the services of an

administrator, the insurer shall be responsible for
determining the benefits, premium rates, underwriting
criteria and claims payment procedures applicable to the
coverage and for securing reinsurance, if any. The rules
pertaining to these matters shall be provided, in writing, by
the insurer to the administrator. The responsibilities of the
administrator as to any of these matters shall be set forth in
the written agreement between the administrator and the
insurer.

7.2 It is the sole responsibility of the insurer to provide
for competent administration of its programs.

7.3 In cases where an administrator administers
benefits for more than one hundred certificate holders on
behalf of an insurer, the insurer shall, at least semiannually,
conduct a review of the operations of the administrator. At
least one such review shall be an on-site audit of the
operations of the administrator.

7.4 For purposes of this section, “insurer” means a
licensed insurance company, prepaid hospital or medical
care plan, a health maintenance organization or a multiple
employer welfare arrangements (MEWAs).

8.0 Premium Collection and Payment of Claims
8.1 All insurance charges or premiums collected by an

administrator on behalf of or for an insurer, and the return of
premiums received from that insurer, shall be held by the
administrator in a fiduciary capacity. The funds shall be
immediately remitted to the person entitled to them or shall
be deposited promptly in a fiduciary account established and
maintained by the administrator in a federally or state
insured financial institution. The written agreement between
the administrator and the insurer shall provide for the
administrator to periodically render an accounting to the
insurer detailing all transactions performed by the
administrator pertaining to the business underwritten by the
insurer.

8.2 If charges or premiums deposited in a fiduciary
account have been collected on behalf of or for one or more
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insurers, the administrator shall keep records clearly
recording the deposits in and withdrawals from the account
on behalf of each insurer. The administrator shall keep
copies of all the records and, upon request of an insurer, shall
furnish the insurer with copies of the records pertaining to
the deposits and withdrawals.

8.3 The administrator shall not pay any claim by
withdrawals from a fiduciary account in which premiums or
charges are deposited. Withdrawals from the account shall
be made as provided in the written agreement between the
administrator and the insurer. The written agreement shall
address, but not be limited to, the following:

8.3.1 Remittance to an insurer entitled to
remittance;

8.3.2 Deposit in an account maintained in the
name of the insurer;

8.3.3 Transfer to and deposit in a claims-paying
account, with claims to be paid as provided for in § 8.4;

8.3.4 Payment to a group policyholder for
remittance to the insurer entitled to such remittance;

8.3.5 Payment to the administrator of its
commissions, fees or charges; and

8.3.6 Remittance of return premium to the
person or persons entitled to such return premium.

8.4 All claims paid by the administrator from funds
collected on behalf of or for an insurer shall be paid only on
drafts or checks of and as authorized by the insurer.

9.0 Compensation to the Administrator
9.1 An administrator shall not enter into an agreement

or understanding with an insurer in which the effect is to
make the amount of the administrator’s commissions, fees,
or charges contingent upon savings effected in the
adjustment, settlement and payment of losses covered by the
insurer’s obligations. This provision shall not prohibit an
administrator from receiving performance-based
compensation for providing hospital or other auditing
services.

9.2 This section shall not prevent the compensation of
an administrator from being based on premiums or charges
collected or the number of claims paid or processed.

10.0 Notice to Covered Individuals; Disclosure of
Charges and Fees

10.1 When the services of an administrator are
utilized, the administrator shall provide a written notice
approved by the insurer to covered individuals advising them
of the identity of, and relationship among, the administrator,
the policyholder and the insurer.

10.2 When an administrator collects funds, the
reason for collection of each item shall be identified to the
insured party and each item shall be shown separately from
any premium. Additional charges may not be made for

services to the extent the services have been paid for by the
insurer.

10.3 The administrator shall disclose to the insurer
all charges, fees and commissions received from all services
in connection with the provision of administrative services
for the insurer, including any fees or commissions paid by
insurers providing reinsurance. 

11.0 Delivery of Materials to Covered Individuals
Any policies, certificates, booklets, termination notices

or other written communications delivered by the insurer to
the administrator for delivery to insured parties or covered
individuals shall be delivered by the administrator promptly
after receipt of instructions from the insurer to deliver them.

12.0 Home State Certificate of Authority/License
12.1 A person shall apply to be an administrator in

its home state, upon the Uniform Application and shall
receive a certificate of authority or license from the
Commissioner of its home state, prior to performing any
function of an administrator in this state.

12.2 The Uniform Application shall include or be
accompanied by the following information and documents:

12.2.1 All basic organizational documents of the
applicant, including any articles of incorporation, articles of
association, partnership agreement, trade name certificate,
trust agreement, shareholder agreement and other applicable
documents and all amendments to such documents;

12.2.2 The bylaws, rules, regulations or similar
documents regulating the internal affairs of the applicant;

12.2.3 NAIC Biographical Affidavit for the
individuals who are responsible for the conduct of affairs of
the applicant; including all members of the board of
directors, board of trustees, executive committee or other
governing board or committee; the principal officers in the
case of a corporation or the partners or members in the case
of a partnership, association or limited liability company;
any shareholders or member holding directly or indirectly
ten percent (10%) or more of the voting stock, voting
securities or voting interest of the applicant; and any other
person who exercises control or influence over the affairs of
the applicant;The bylaws, rules, regulations or similar
documents regulating the internal affairs of the applicant;

12.2.4 Audited annual financial statements or
reports for the two (2) most recent fiscal years that prove that
the applicant has a positive net worth. If the applicant has
been in existence for less than two (2) fiscal years, the
Uniform Application shall include financial statements or
reports, certified by an officer of the applicant and prepared
in accordance with GAAP, for any completed fiscal years,
and for any month during the current fiscal year for which
such financial statements or reports have been completed.
An audited financial/annual report prepared on a
consolidated basis shall include a columnar consolidating or
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combining worksheet that shall be filed with the report and
include the following: a) amounts shown on the consolidated
audited financial report shall be shown on the worksheet; b)
amounts for each entity shall be stated separately, and c)
explanations of consolidating and eliminating entries shall
be included. The applicant shall also include such other
information as the Commissioner may require in order to
review the current financial condition of the applicant;

12.2.5 A statement describing the business plan
including information on staffing levels and activities
proposed in this state and nationwide. The plan shall provide
details setting forth the applicant’s capability for providing a
sufficient number of experienced and qualified personnel in
the areas of claims processing, record keeping and
underwriting; and

12.2.6 Such other pertinent information as may
be required by the Commissioner.

12.3 An administrator licensed or applying for
licensure under this section shall make available for
inspection by the Commissioner copies of all contracts with
insurers or other persons utilizing the services of the
administrator.

12.4 An administrator licensed or applying for
licensure under this section shall produce its accounts,
records and files for examination, and make its officers
available to give information with respect to its affairs, as
often as reasonably required by the Commissioner.

12.5 The Commissioner may refuse to issue a
certificate of authority or license if the Commissioner
determines that the administrator, or any individual
responsible for the conduct of affairs of the administrator is
not competent, trustworthy, financially responsible or of
good personal and business reputation, or has had an
insurance or an administrator certificate of authority or
license denied or revoked for cause by any jurisdiction, or if
the Commissioner determines that any of the grounds set
forth in § 15 exists with respect to the administrator.

12.6 A certificate of authority or license issued
under this section shall remain valid, unless surrendered,
suspended or revoked by the Commissioner, for so long as
the administrator continues in business in this state and
remains in compliance with this Regulation.

12.7 An administrator licensed or applying for
licensure under this section shall immediately notify the
Commissioner of any material change in its ownership,
control, or other fact or circumstance affecting its
qualification for a certificate of authority or license in this
state. The Commissioner shall report any such changes to the
national producer database or its successor.

12.8 An administrator licensed or applying for a
home state certificate of authority/license that administers or
will administer governmental or church self-insured plans in
its home state or any other state shall maintain a surety bond
for the use and benefit of the home state Commissioner and

the insurance regulatory authority of any additional state in
which the administrator is authorized to conduct business
and cover individuals and persons who have remitted
premiums or insurance charges or other monies to the
administrator in the course of the administrator’s business in
the greater of the following amounts:

12.8.1 $100,000; or
12.8.2 Ten percent (10%) of the aggregate total

amount of self-funded coverage under church plans or
governmental plans handled in the administrator’s home
state and all additional states in which the administrator is
authorized to conduct business.

13.0 Registration Requirement
A person who directly or indirectly underwrites, collects

or charges premiums from, or adjusts or settles claims on
residents of this state, in connection with health and/or
pharmacy benefits coverage provided by a self-funded plan
other than a governmental or church plan shall register with
the Commissioner annually, verifying its status as herein
described.

14.0 Nonresident Administrator Certificate of
Authority

14.1 Unless an administrator has obtained a home
state certificate of authority or license in this state under §
12, any administrator who performs administrator duties in
this state shall obtain a nonresident administrator certificate
of authority or license in accordance with this section by
filing with the Commissioner the Uniform Application,
accompanied by a letter of certification. In lieu of requiring
an administrator to file a letter of certification with the
Uniform Application, the Commissioner may verify the
nonresident administrator’s home state certificate of
authority or license status through an electronic database
maintained by the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners, its affiliates or subsidiaries.

14.2 An administrator shall not be eligible for a
Nonresident Administrator certificate of authority or license
under this section if it does not hold a certificate of authority
as a resident in a home state that has adopted this Regulation
or a substantially similar law governing administrators.

14.3 Except as provided in §§ 14.2 and 14.8, the
Commissioner shall issue to the administrator a nonresident
administrator certificate of authority or license promptly
upon receipt of a complete application.

14.4 Unless notified by the Commissioner that the
Commissioner is able to verify the nonresident
administrator’s home state certificate of authority or license
status through an electronic database maintained by the
National Association of Insurance Commissioners, its
affiliates or subsidiaries, each nonresident administrator
shall annually file a statement that its home state
administrator certificate of authority or license remains in
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force and has not been revoked or suspended by its home
state during the preceding year. 

14.5 At the time of filing the statement required
under § 14.4 or, if the Commissioner has notified the
nonresident administrator that the Commissioner is able to
verify the nonresident administrator’s home state certificate
of authority or license status through an electronic database,
on an annual date determined by the Commissioner, the
nonresident administrator shall pay a filing fee as required
by the Commissioner.

14.6 An administrator licensed or applying for
licensure under this section shall produce its accounts,
records and files for examination, and make its officers
available to give information with respect to its affairs, as
often as reasonably required by the Commissioner.

14.7 A nonresident administrator is not required to
hold a nonresident administrator certificate of authority or
license in this state if the administrator’s duties in this state
are limited to the administration of a group policy or plan of
insurance and no more than a total of 100 lives for all plan
residents in this state.

14.8 The Commissioner may refuse to issue a
nonresident administrator certificate of authority or license,
or delay the issuance of a nonresident administrator
certificate of authority or license, if the Commissioner
determines that, due to events or information obtained
subsequent to the home state’s licensure of the administrator,
the nonresident administrator cannot satisfy the requirements
of this Regulation, or that grounds exist for the home state’s
revocation or suspension of the administrator’s home state
certificate of authority or license. In such an event, the
Commissioner shall give written notice of its determination
to the Commissioner of the home state, and the
Commissioner may delay the issuance of a nonresident
administrator certificate of authority to the nonresident
administrator until such time, if at all, that the Commissioner
determines that the administrator can satisfy the
requirements of this Regulation and that no grounds exist for
the home state’s revocation or suspension of the
administrator’s home state certificate of authority or license.

15.0 Annual Report, Fees and Expenses
15.1 Each administrator licensed under § 12 shall

file an annual report for the preceding calendar year with the
Commissioner on or before July 1 of each year, or within
such extension of time as the Commissioner for good cause
may grant. The annual report shall include an audited
financial statement performed by an independent certified
public accountant. The report shall be in the form and
contain such matters as the Commissioner prescribes and
shall be verified by at least two officers of the administrator.  
An audited financial/annual report prepared on a
consolidated basis shall include a columnar consolidating or

combining worksheet that shall be filed with the report and
include the following: 

15.1.1 amounts shown on the consolidated
audited financial report shall be shown on the worksheet;

15.1.2 amounts for each entity shall be stated
separately, and 

15.1.3 explanations of consolidating and
eliminating entries shall be included. 

15.2 The annual report shall include the complete
names and addresses of all insurers with which the
administrator had agreements during the preceding fiscal
year.

15.3 At the time of filing its annual report, the
administrator shall pay a filing fee as set by § 17.

15.4 The Commissioner shall review the most
recently filed annual report of each administrator on or
before September 1 of each year. Upon completion of its
review, the Commissioner shall either:

15.4.1 Issue a certification to the administrator
that the annual report shows that the administrator has a
positive net worth as evidenced by audited financial
statements and is currently licensed and in good standing, or
noting any deficiencies found in that annual report and
financial statements; or

15.4.2 Update any electronic database maintained
by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, its
affiliates or subsidiaries, indicating that the annual report
shows that the administrator has a positive net worth as
evidenced by audited financial statements and is in
compliance with existing law, or noting any deficiencies
found in the annual report.

15.5 An administrator shall be subject to assessment
for all fees, costs, experts and related expenditures with
respect to any examination, arbitration or enforcement action
undertaken by the Commissioner pursuant to Title 18.

16.0 Grounds for Denial, Suspension or Revocation
of Certificate of Authority

16.1 The certificate of authority or license of an
administrator shall be denied, suspended or revoked if the
Commissioner finds that the administrator: 

16.1.1 Is in an unsound financial condition;
16.1.2 Is using such methods or practices in the

conduct of its business so as to render its further transaction
of business in this state hazardous or injurious to insured
persons or the public; or

16.1.3 Has failed to pay any judgment rendered
against it in this state within sixty days after the judgment
has become final.

16.2 The Commissioner may deny, suspend or
revoke the certificate of authority or license of an
administrator if the Commissioner finds that the
administrator:
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16.2.1 Has violated any lawful rule or order of
the Commissioner or any applicable law of this state;

16.2.2 Has refused to be examined or to produce
its accounts, records and files for examination, or if any
individual responsible for the conduct of affairs of the
administrator, including members of the board of directors,
board of trustees, executive committee or other governing
board or committee; the principal officers in the case of a
corporation or the partners or members in the case of a
partnership, association or limited liability company; any
shareholder or member holding directly or indirectly ten
percent (10%) or more of the voting stock, voting securities
or voting interest of the administrator; and any other person
who exercises control or influence over the affairs of the
administrator; has refused to give information with respect to
its affairs or has refused to perform any other legal
obligation as to an examination, when required by the
Commissioner;

16.2.3 Has, without just cause, refused to pay
clean claims or perform services arising under its contracts
or has, without just cause, caused covered individuals to
accept less than the amount due them or caused covered
individuals to employ attorneys or bring suit against the
administrator to secure full payment or settlement of such
claims;

16.2.4 At any time fails to meet any qualification
for which issuance of the certificate could have been refused
had the failure then existed and been known to the
Commissioner;

16.2.5 Or any of the individuals responsible for
the conduct of its affairs, including members of the board of
directors, board of trustees, executive committee or other
governing board or committee; the principal officers in the
case of a corporation or the partners or members in the case
of a partnership, association or limited liability company;
any shareholder or member holding directly or indirectly ten
percent (10%) or more of its voting stock, voting securities
or voting interest; and any other person who exercises
control or influence over its affairs; has been convicted of, or
has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, a felony
without regard to whether adjudication was withheld;

16.2.6 Is under suspension or revocation in
another state; or

16.2.7 Has failed to timely file its annual report
pursuant to § 15, if a resident administrator, or its statement
and filing fee, as applicable, pursuant to §§ 14.4 and 14.5, if
a nonresident administrator.

16.3 The Commissioner may, in his or her discretion
and without advance notice or hearing, immediately suspend
the certificate of authority or license of an administrator if
the Commissioner finds that one or more of the following
circumstances exist:

16.3.1 The administrator is insolvent or impaired;

16.3.2 A proceeding for receivership,
conservatorship, rehabilitation or other delinquency
proceeding regarding the administrator has been commenced
in any state; or

16.3.3 The financial condition or business
practices of the administrator otherwise pose an imminent
threat to the public health, safety or welfare of the residents
of this state. 

16.4 If the Commissioner finds that one or more
grounds exist for the suspension or revocation of a certificate
of authority issued under this part, the Commissioner may, in
lieu of suspension or revocation, impose a fine upon the
administrator.

17.0 Fees
17.1 The following fees shall be applicable for

filings and matters arising under this Regulation:
For filing application for

initial certificate of
authority in Delaware
or for the registration
of a foreign home state
certificate including all
documents submitted
as part of such application 500.00

Issuance of a certificate of authority$100.00
Reinstatement $100.00
Amendment of certificate $100.00
Duplicate or replacement certificate$500.00

17.2 For any other fee, cost or charge, the provisions
of 18 Del. C. § 701 are incorporated by reference and are
applicable to matters arising under this Regulation.

17.3 The provisions of 18 Del. C. Chapter 3 shall be
applicable to examinations required by this Regulation.

18.0 Severability
If any section or portion of a section of this Regulation

or its applicability to any person or circumstance is held
invalid by a court, the remainder of this Regulation or the
applicability of the provision to other persons or
circumstances shall not be affected.

19.0 Effective Date
This Regulation shall become effective on January 1,

2004.

Adopted this ______day of _____________, 2003
Donna Lee H. Williams, Commissioner
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL 

CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
 Sections §915(e), (k), and (n); §1920 (7 Del.C. 

§§915(e), (k), and (n), 1920)

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Tidal Finfish Regulations, Shellfish Regulations.

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

To create a new Tidal Finfish Regulation 3565 and a
new Shellfish Regulation S-76 that establish procedures for
conducting the first lottery and subsequent lotteries of
available commercial gill net permits and authorization for
commercial hook and line permits (Tidal Finfish Regulation
3565), and commercial crab dredge, conch pot, and conch
dredge licenses (Shellfish Regulation S-76).  It is proposed
that the first lottery for available licenses be held on January
2, 2004 and subsequent lotteries will be held the first
working day in January of each year thereafter, as long as
one or more licenses are available.  Participants in the
lotteries shall include current participants in the apprentice
program who have completed the required and properly
documented 150 days of commercial fishing activities over
no less than a 2-year period dating from the specific date the
applicant signed up as an apprentice, according to the
provisions of §915(e), (k), and (n); and §1920, 7 Delaware
Code.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
N/A

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY
TO ACT:

7 Del. C. §915(e), (k), & (n); §1920

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

N/A

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, or calling
or visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and
Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901,
(302)739-3441.  A public hearing on this proposed
amendment and new regulation will be held at the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control Auditorium 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30

PM on October 1, 2003.  The record will remain open for
written or e-mail comments to roy.miller@state.de.us until
4:30 PM on October 6, 2003.

Tidal Finfish Regulation 3565, License Lotteries For
Apprentices.
     The first lottery for available commercial gill net permits
and authorization for commercial hook and line permits shall
be held on January 2, 2004; with subsequent lotteries to be
held annually the first working day in January of each year,
as long as one or more licenses are available.  Participants in
the lotteries shall include current participants in the
apprentice program who have completed the required and
properly documented 150 days of commercial fishing
activities over no less than a 2-year period dating from the
specific date the applicant filed their application with the
Department as an apprentice, according to the provisions of
7 Del.C. §915(e), (k), and (n)

Shellfish Regulation 3709.
The first lottery for available commercial crab dredge,

conch pot, and conch dredge licenses shall be held on
January 2, 2004; with subsequent lotteries to be held
annually the first working day in January of each year, as
long as one or more   licenses are available.  Participants in
the lotteries shall include current participants in the
apprentice program who have completed the required and
properly documented 150 days of commercial fishing
activities over no less than a 2-year period dating  from the
specific date the applicant filed their application with the
Department as an apprentice, according to the provisions of
7 Del.C. §1920

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/FW/FW.htm
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PHARMACY

24 DE Admin. Code 2500
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 2509 (24 Del.C. §2509)

A Public Hearing was held to receive comments on June
11, 2003 at a  scheduled meeting of the State Board of
Pharmacy. The Board considered proposed changes to
Regulations 1.0  and 3.0  as published in the Register of
Regulations, Vol. 6, Issue 11, May 1, 2003.

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

There were no verbal comments.  The Board received
one written comment related to the changes proposed to Rule
3.0.

Rita Landgraf, Director, State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) in her letter dated May 29, 2003
expressed her concern that there may be times of power
failure or other disruption of web access that would leave a
pharmacist without reference material if reference books
were no longer required.  She suggested requiring back up
material such as a CD-ROM or offering  a menu from which
a pharmacist could select appropriate texts to provide more
flexibility.

Findings Of Fact With Respect To The Evidence And 
Information Submitted

 1. The changes as proposed will give a pharmacy the
ability to take advantage of technology to reduce the paper in
the pharmacy and select reference material appropriate for
the nature of the practice.  If there is an interruption of power
affecting computer access, prescriptions cannot be filled in
any event.  

The Board expects pharmacists to maintain the
reference material necessary for the safe and efficient
practice of pharmacy.  If there is a pharmacy that does not
have access to sufficient material, it will be discovered in the
routine inspections.

2. There is a change from the published version of
Regulation 1.1.1.  The word “Foundation” should be deleted
from the final sentence.  The Board finds this is a non-
substantive change to correctly identify NABP.

Decision And Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulations 1.0
and 3.0 as amended to be effective 10 days following
publication on this order in the Register of Regulations.

Text And Citation 

The text of the revised rules remains as  published in
Register of  Regulations, Vol. 6, Issue 11, May 1, 2003 after
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deleting the word “Foundation” in Regulation 1.1.1.

SO ORDERED this 22nd day of July, 2003.

STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY
John E. Murphy, R.Ph., President
Yvonne Brown, R.Ph., Vice President
Daniel Hauser, Pharm. D.
Joseph F. Gula, R. Ph., J.D
Nancy Weldin, Public Member
Carolyn Calio, Public Member
Karen J. Dey, R.Ph.

1.0 Pharmacist Licensure Requirements
1.1 Examination Requirements

1.1.1 In order to be eligible for examination for
licensure, an applicant must have graduated from an
approved school or college of pharmacy provide proof of
completion of all requirements for graduation from an
approved school or college.  An approved school or college
of pharmacy is an institution which has established standards
in its undergraduate degree program which are at least
equivalent to the minimum standards for accreditation
established by the American Council on Pharmaceutical
Education.  Provided, however, that graduates of schools or
colleges of pharmacy located outside of the United States,
which have not established standards in their respective
undergraduate degree programs which are at least equivalent
to the minimum standards for accreditation established by
the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education , shall
be deemed eligible for examination for licensure by
providing evidence satisfactory to the Board of Pharmacy of
graduation from such school or college and by successfully
passing an equivalency examination recognized by the
Board of Pharmacy.  Certification by the National
Association of Boards of Pharmacy [Foundation] (NABP)
Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee
(FPGEC) meets the equivalency examination requirement.

1.1.2 Candidates must obtain a passing grade of
75 as determined by the National Association of Boards of
Pharmacy (NABP)  on the North American Pharmacist
Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) and the Multistate
Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination for Delaware (MPJE)
Examination to be eligible for a license to practice.  A
candidate must take an examination within 365 days of the
determination of eligibility by the Board. The Secretary will
supply the grades obtained to the candidate upon receipt of a
written request from that person.  In addition, candidates
must take and obtain a passing grade of 75 on a
Jurisprudence Examination.  

1.1.3 The Board will re-confirm the eligibility
of an applicant who fails the NAPLEX. Any applicant who
fails the examination The applicant shall be entitled to take a

re-examination at least ninety-one (91) days following the
date of the failure. If an applicant has failed the examination
three times, he/she shall be eligible to re-take the
examination NAPLEX, provided that he/she produces
evidence of working full-time as an intern for a period of six
months between examinations or has attended an accredited
college of pharmacy as a registered student for a minimum
of one semester consisting of 12 credits during the interim.
A certification of satisfactory completion of such work shall
be furnished by the Dean of the College or the preceptor as
the case may be.  The applicant may continue to sit for the
Examination at its regularly scheduled time in the next
succeeding years, provided the applicant has fulfilled the
requirement for internship or course of study required herein
between each examination.

1.1.4 Three failures of the Jurisprudence
Examination requires three months of internship or one
semester college course of Jurisprudence prior to the
applicant being eligible to re-take the Jurisprudence
examination. The Board will re-confirm the eligibility of an
applicant who fails the MPJE. The applicant  shall be
entitled to  re-take the MJPE at least thirty-one (31) days
following the date of the failure.  If an applicant has failed
the examination three times, he or she shall be eligible to re-
take the examination, provided that he or she produces
evidence of working full-time as an intern for a period of
three  months or has completed a one semester college
course on jurisprudence. 

1.2 Practical Experience Requirements
1.2.1 An applicant for registration as an intern

must submit an application for registration of Internship after
entering the first professional year of college of pharmacy
which includes an “Affidavit of Class Standing” and
“Affidavit of Preceptor.”  This application must be obtained
from the Board of Pharmacy.  If the applicant is a graduate of
a foreign pharmacy school, he/she must produce evidence
that he/she has passed an equivalency examination by the
Board.

1.2.2 Persons who register as interns in the State
of Delaware shall, in accordance with the requirements of 24
Del.C. §2515, complete not less than 1500 hours of Board
approved practical experience under the supervision of a
licensed pharmacist.  The total 1500 hours of internship may
be acquired in the community or hospital settings.  A
minimum of 1000 hours shall be obtained in the community
or hospital settings.  The remaining 500 hours may be
obtained in other recognized fields of practice, e.g.:
Industrial Pharmacist, Drug Information Pharmacist,
Military Pharmacist, Mail Order Pharmacist, HMO
Pharmacist, Consultant Pharmacist (Nursing Home,
Infusion, Medicaid DUR, Etc.), Home Health Care
Pharmacist (may include Durable Medical Equipment, etc.),
Nuclear Pharmacist, Compliance Pharmacist, Government
Pharmacist, Clinical Pharmacist, Contracted Pharmacy
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Services.
1.2.3 The hours accrued during the College of

Pharmacy Practical Experience Program may be applied to
the 1500 hours total.  These hours shall be recorded on the
College Practical Experience Affidavit supplied by the
Board.  Additional practical experience acquired in the State
of Delaware must be submitted to the Board on the Affidavit
of intern Experience form provided by the Board of
Pharmacy Office.  Practical experience acquired in another
State is acceptable if the State Board in which the applicant
acquired the hours submits a letter of certification, or if the
applicant’s preceptor completes the Delaware State Board of
Pharmacy’s Affidavit of Intern Experience form.  Applicants
who have not completed all the practical experience
requirements, but who have graduated from an accredited
college or have been certified by the NABP Foreign
Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee are eligible to
take the examination. However, applicants will not be fully
licensed until all the requirements of the Statutes and
Regulations are completed.

1.2.4 Practical experience must be acquired
under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist known as a
Preceptor.  The Preceptor must be a pharmacist licensed in
this State or any other State and must have a minimum of
two years of pharmacy practice.  The Preceptor must certify
that the intern has successfully completed all the
requirements outlined in the Responsibilities of the Intern
professional assessment form.

1.2.5 An intern must notify the Board of
Pharmacy in writing within ten (10) days of a change of
preceptor.  A change of preceptor affidavit must be
completed and filed with the Board.

1.3 Continuing Education Requirements
1.3.1 A pharmacist must acquire 3.0 C.E.U.'s

(30 hours) per biennial licensure period.  No carry over of
credit from one registration period to another period is
permitted.

1.3.2 Hardship - Hardship exemptions may be
granted by the Board of Pharmacy upon receipt of evidence
that the individual was unable to complete the requirements
due to circumstances beyond his control.

1.3.3 Criteria for Hardship Exemption as
Recommended by the Board of Pharmacy:

1.3.3.1 Applicant must notify the Board in
writing concerning the nature of the hardship and the time
needed for an extension.  In case of medical disability, a
letter from the physician with supporting documentation to
corroborate the condition and the length of time of extension
needed.

1.3.3.2 The Board of Pharmacy will review
requests. 

1.3.3.3 The Board will notify the registrant of
its decision.

1.3.4 Persons who are newly licensed after the

registration period begins, must complete continuing
education units proportional to the total number of
continuing education units required for the biennial licensure
renewal.  (1.25 hours/per month).

1.4 Continuing Professional Educational Programs
1.4.1 Topics of Study

Topics of study shall be subject matter
designed to maintain and enhance the contemporary practice
of pharmacy.

1.4.2 Approved Provider 
1.4.2.1 Any provider approved by ACPE.
1.4.2.2 In-state organization which meets

criteria approved by the Board.
1.4.3 Application for Delaware State Provider

1.4.3.1 Any in-state organization may apply
to the Board on forms provided by the Board for initial
qualification as an approved provider. The Board shall
accept or reject any such application by written notice to
such organization within 60 days after receipt of its
application. If an organization is approved, the Board will
issue a certificate or other notification of qualification to it,
which approval shall be effective for a period of two years
and shall be renewable upon the fulfillment of all
requirements for renewal as set forth by the Board.

1.4.3.2 The Board may revoke or suspend an
approval of a provider or refuse to renew such approval if the
provider fails to maintain the standards and specifications
required. The Board shall serve written notice on the
provider by mail or personal delivery at its address as shown
on its most current application specifying the reason for
suspension, revocation, or failure to renew.  The provider so
affected shall, upon written request to the Board within ten
days after service of the notice, be granted a prompt hearing
before the Board at which time it will be permitted to
introduce matters in person, or by its counsel, to defend itself
against such revocation, suspension, or failure to renew, in
accordance with the provisions set forth in the State's
Administrative Procedures Act.

1.4.4 Criteria for Approval of Delaware State
Providers.  Only applicants who are located within the State
of Delaware are eligible.  Such Continuing Education
providers shall provide evidence of ability to meet the
following criteria or approval as a Continuing
Pharmaceutical Education Provider.  Other persons must
apply through ACPE for approval or be acceptable to other
Boards of Pharmacy that certify continuing education for
relicensure. 

1.4.4.1 Administration and Organization
1.4.4.1.1 The person who is in charge

of making sure that the program meets the quality standards
must have a background in the administration of education
programs.

1.4.4.1.2 There shall be an identifiable
person or persons charged with the responsibility of
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2003



FINAL REGULATIONS312
administering the continuing pharmaceutical education
program.

1.4.4.1.3 Such personnel shall be
qualified for such responsibilities by virtue of experience
and background.

1.4.4.1.4 If an approved provider
presents programs in co-sponsorship with other
non-approved provider(s),  the approved provider has the
total responsibility for assurance of quality of that program.
If more than one approved provider co-sponsors a program,
they have the joint responsibility for assuring quality.

1.4.4.1.5 Administrative
Requirements include:

1.4.4.1.5.1 The development of
promotional materials which state:

1.4.4.1.5.1.1 Educational
objectives.

1.4.4.1.5.1.2 The target audience.
1.4.4.1.5.1.3 The time schedule

of the activities.
1.4.4.1.5.1.4 Cost to the

participant/covered items.
1.4.4.1.5.1.5 Amount of C.E.

credit which will be awarded.
1.4.4.1.5.1.6 Credentials of the

faculty, presenters, and speakers.
1.4.4.1.5.1.7 Self-evaluation

instruments.
1.4.4.1.5.2 Compliance with a

quantitative measure for C.E. credit.
1.4.4.1.5.2.1 The number of

C.E.U.'s to be awarded for successful completion shall be
determined by the provider and reported in the promotional
materials.

1.4.4.1.5.2.2 In cases where the
participants' physical presence is required, C.E. credit will
only be awarded for that portion of the program which
concerns itself with the lecture(s), evaluation and question
and answer segments.

1.4.4.1.5.2.3 The measure of
credit shall be a fifty-minute contact hour. In the case of
other programs such as home study courses, the amount of
credit awarded shall be determined by assessing the amount
of time the activity would require for completion by the
participant if delivered in a more formal and structured
format.

1.4.4.1.5.2.4 The provider must
provide the Board upon request with appropriate records of
successful participation in previous continuing education
activities.

1.4.4.1.5.2.5 The provider must
present to the participant a form or certificate as
documentation of the completion of the program.  The form
must be at least 4" x 6" and no larger than 8 1/2" x 11".  That

certificate must show the name, address, and license number
of the participant, the name of the provider, the title and date
of the program, the number of credits earned, and an
authorized signature from the provider.

1.4.4.2 Program Faculty.  The selection of
program faculty must be based upon proved competency in
the subject matter and an ability to communicate in order to
achieve a learning experience.

1.4.4.3 Program Content Development
1.4.4.3.1 Such programs shall involve

effective advance planning. A statement of educational goals
and/or behaviors must be included in promotional materials.
Such objectives and goals must be measurable and
accessible to evaluation.  In determining program content,
providers shall involve appropriate members of the intended
audience in order to satisfy the educational needs of the
participants.  All programs of approved providers should
pertain to the general areas of professional pharmacy
practices which should include, but not be limited to:

1.4.4.3.1.1 The social, economic,
behavioral, and legal aspects of health care,

1.4.4.3.1.2 the properties and
actions of drugs and drug dosage forms,

1.4.4.3.1.3 the etiology,
characteristics, therapeutics and prevention of the disease
state,

1.4.4.3.1.4 pharmaceutical
monitoring and management of patients.

1.4.4.3.2 All ancillary teaching tools
shall be suitable and appropriate to the topic.

1.4.4.3.3 All materials shall be
updated periodically to include up-to-date-practice setting.

1.4.4.3.4 It is the responsibility of the
provider to be sure that the programs are continuously
upgraded to meet educational objectives of the Practice of
Pharmacy. The needs of the pharmacist participant must be
considered in choosing the method of delivery. Innovation in
presentations is encouraged within the limits of budget
resources and facilities. Whatever method of delivery is
used, it must include the participation of the pharmacist as
much as possible within the program, i.e. questions and
answers, workshops, etc.

1.4.4.4 Facilities.  The facilities shall be
adequate for the size of the audience, properly equipped (all
appropriate audio/-visual media materials), well lighted and
ventilated to induce a proper learning experience.

1.4.4.5 Evaluation.  Effective evaluation of
programs is essential and is the responsibility of both the
provider and participant.

1.4.4.5.1 Participant - Some
evaluation mechanisms must be developed by the provider to
allow the participant to assess his/her own achievement per
the program.

1.4.4.5.2 Provider evaluation - a
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provider shall also develop an instrument for the use of the
participant in evaluating the effectiveness of the program
including the level of fulfillment of stated objectives.

1.4.5 Criteria for Awarding Continuing
Education Credits.  Individual programs must meet the
criteria for provider approval in order to be considered.  In
those cases where the provider is not an ACPE provider, nor
a Board of Pharmacy approved provider, a registrant may
complete an application provided by the Board for approval
of individual programs.

1.4.5.1 In order to receive full credit for
non-ACPE approved programs of one-to-two hour lengths,
evidence of a post test must be presented.  An automatic
25% deduction if no post test presented.

1.4.5.2 In order to receive full credit for non
ACPE approved programs of three or more hours in length,
evidence of a pre and post test must be presented. Automatic
25% deduction if no pre and post test presented.

1.4.5.3 Credit will be assigned only for the
core content of the program which explicitly relates to the
contemporary practice of Pharmacy.

1.4.5.4 A maximum of 2 credit hours will be
awarded for First Aid, attendance at a Board of Pharmacy
meeting and CPR/BCLS courses one time only per
registration period.

1.4.5.5 Credit for Instructors of Continuing
Education

1.4.5.5.1 Any pharmacist whose
primary responsibility is not the education of health
professionals, who leads, instructs or lectures to groups of
nurses, physicians, pharmacists or others on pharmacy
related topics in organized continuing education or inservice
programs, shall be granted continuing education credit for
such time expended during actual presentation, upon
adequate documentation to the Delaware Board of
Pharmacy.

1.4.5.5.2 Any pharmacist whose
primary responsibility is the education of health
professionals shall be granted continuing education credit
only for time expended in leading, instructing, or lecturing to
groups of physicians, pharmacists, nurses or others on
pharmacy related topics outside his/her formal course
responsibilities (that is, lectures or instructions must be
prepared specifically for each program) in a learning
institution.

1.4.5.5.3 Credit for presentations of
in-service training programs or other lectures shall be
granted only for topics meeting the criteria for continuing
pharmacy education, and shall be granted only once for any
given program or lecture.  (Any topic completely revised
would be eligible for consideration.)

1.4.5.5.4 A maximum of 6 hours (0.6
C.E.U.'s) in this category may be applied toward fulfilling
the total biennial continuing education requirements.

1.4.5.6 Credit for On the Job Training:
1.4.5.6.1 The Board of Pharmacy does

not as a general rule encourage the submission of "on the job
training" for fulfilling the continuing education
requirements.  All programs meeting this definition shall be
reviewed on an individual basis.

1.4.5.6.2 All programs that are
submitted for credit must meet the criteria for continuing
pharmacy education.

1.4.5.6.3 No credit shall be awarded
for programs required by an employer for continued
employment of the employee.  (Examples OSHA training,
Infection Control Education required by JCAHO.)

1.4.5.6.4 A maximum of 4 hours (0.4
C.E.U.'s) in this category may be applied toward fulfilling
the total biennial continuing education requirements.

1.5 The Verification of Continuing Education - A
pharmacist shall complete the required continuing education
and submit the signed renewal form with appropriate fees to
the Board of Pharmacy.  A pharmacist shall retain the
supporting documentation, such as certification of
completion for a minimum of six years.   The Board will
randomly audit the documentation of at least 10% of
licensed pharmacists every biennial term.  Supporting
documentation may be requested for up to six years.
Pharmacists who were not selected for audit do not send
supporting documentation to the Board.  Submitting a false
documentation may constitute grounds for discipline under
24 Del.C. §2518 (a) (1).

1.6 Re-Entry - A pharmacist may have his/her license
reinstated by completing the following requirements:

1.6.1 Payment of any back fees;
1.6.2 Successfully obtaining a grade of 75 on an

examination on the Practice of Pharmacy if the pharmacist
has not practiced in three years;

1.6.3 Submission of evidence of completion of
at least 20 hours of approved C.E. from the date of
application for reinstatement if the pharmacist has practiced
within the last three years.

1.7 Reciprocal Requirements
1.7.1 The Board will accept an applicant for

reciprocity provided that his practical pharmacy experience
and his experience with in the practice after licensure is at
least equivalent to the practical pharmacy experience
required by the Delaware Board. An applicant  for licensure
by reciprocity shall be of good moral character and shall: 

1.7.1.1 submit proof that he or she was
qualified for licensure in Delaware at the time of initial
licensure by examination;

1.7.1.2 submit proof of licensure in good
standing from each state where he or she is or  has been
licensed; and

1.7.1.3 obtain a passing score on the MPJE on
the laws applicable in this State as provided in Regulation
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1.1.
1.7.2 Candidates for reciprocity licensure,

except those who have been licensed by examination within
the last year, must have practice as a registered pharmacist
for at least one year during the last three years or shall be
required to pass the Board of Pharmacy’s Practice of
Pharmacy examination or an examination deemed equivalent
by the Board and obtained a minimum grade of 75 percent.

1.7.3 1.7.2 Reciprocity applicants who took
examinations after June 1, 1979, must have passed the
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy standard
examination NAPLEX or an examination deemed equivalent
by the Board and obtained scores required for applicants for
licensure by examination.

1.7.4 All reciprocal applicants must take a
written jurisprudence examination and obtain a minimum
grade of 75 percent.  Jurisprudence examination will be
given at such times as determined by the Board.  In order to
be eligible to take the jurisprudence examination, all
necessary paperwork must be completed and received by the
Board office at least 10 days prior to the next scheduled
examination.

1.7.5 1.7.3 Applicants who are licensed by
reciprocity must begin accruing continuing education units
at a rate of 1.25 hours/month beginning with the month of
licensure.

Regulation 1.2 revised 10/11/96
Regulation 1.3.2 revised 2/6/97
Regulation 1.3.2 deleted, 1.3.3.1 amended, 1.4 amended

Effective date 10/11/98
See 1 DE Reg. 1965 (6/1/98)
See 2 DE Reg. 683 (10/1/98)
See 4 DE Reg. 163 (7/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg. 1501 (3/1/01)
See 6 DE Reg. 488 (10/1/02)

3.0 Pharmacy Requirements
3.1 Pharmacist in Charge 

3.1.1 Application for permit to operate a
pharmacy in the State of Delaware must be on a form
approved by the Board.  The form shall include the statement
to be signed by the pharmacist in charge, "I understand that I
am responsible for conducting and managing the
prescription department in compliance with applicable State
and Federal laws."

3.1.2 The Board interprets the responsibilities of
the Pharmacist-in-Charge to include, but not be limited to the
following:

3.1.2.1 Maintain necessary pharmaceutical
equipment and reference texts in accordance with the State
Board of Pharmacy requirements.

3.1.2.2 Maintain records required by the
Uniform Controlled Substances Act and other relevant State
and Federal regulations.

3.1.2.3 Maintain proper security of particular
pharmacy operation during and after normal business hours.

3.1.2.4 Establish procedures within operation
that maintain standard of practice as it relates to the
dispensing of pharmaceuticals.  These procedures shall
include proper supervision of supportive personnel and
delegation of authority to another pharmacist when not on
duty.

3.1.2.5 The pharmacist on duty is directly
responsible for his own actions.

3.1.2.6 Notify the Board of Pharmacy in
writing within 10 days of termination as
pharmacist-in-charge.

3.2 Owner's Affidavit.  The owner or owners and, in the
case of a corporation, an authorized official of the
corporation must present an affidavit properly notarized
containing the statement, "I hereby swear or affirm that the
foregoing statements are correct and do hereby agree to
abide by the pharmacy laws of the State of Delaware and to
all rules and regulations of the Delaware State Board of
Pharmacy."  The Board must be notified within 10 days of
change of ownership.

3.3 Equipment and Reference Materials.  Each
pharmacy shall have the following equipment and current
edition of the following texts: maintain a library of the latest
edition and supplements of current reference sources (either
hard copy or electronically accessible) appropriate to the
individual pharmacy practice and to the care of the patients
served.  The reference sources must:

3.3.1 References:
3.3.1.1 Delaware Laws and Regulations

governing Pharmacy. Provide information on the therapeutic
use, dosing, pharmacology, adverse effects, and interactions
of drugs dispensed to patient. 

3.3.1.2 Federal Regulations covering the
Food and Drug Act, and Controlled Substances Act (If
available in another text, purchase is not necessary Provide
information helpful in the counseling of patients on the use
of drugs dispensed. 

3.3.1.3 USP-DI (All volumes and
supplements). Enable the pharmacist to properly compound
medicines within accepted standards of pharmacy practice. 

3.3.1.4 Include a listing of therapeutic
equivalents for drugs dispensed.

One (minimum) of the following texts
from each category:

3.3.1.4.1Drug Interactions
3.3.1.4.1.1Facts and Comparisons

Drug Interactions  (Metaphor)
3.3.1.4.1.2 Hansten’s Drug

Interactions
3.3.1.4.1.4 AphI Evaluation of Drug

Interactions
3.3.1.4.2 Drug Information:
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3.3.1.4.2.1 Facts and Comparisons
3.3.1.4.2.2 American Hospital

Formulary Service
3.3.1.4.2.3 Pharmindex

3.3.1.5 Include current Delaware and federal
laws and regulations governing pharmacy and controlled
substances.

3.3.1.6 Provide any other information
necessary to the safe and effective practice of pharmacy for
the specific practice setting.

3.3.2 Equipment:
3.3.2.1 Prescription Scale, Class A
            Set of metric weights if a balance is used
3.3.2.2 Graduates, (must be glass) Metric 

One of Each:
 30 ml
 60 ml

125 ml
500 ml
(or Set with both metric and Apothecary

Graduations may be used)
3.3.2.3 Mortars and Pestles

1 8 ounce glass
1 8 ounce wedgewood

3.3.2.4 Filter Paper
3.3.2.4 Prescription/physician Order Files
3.3.2.5 Two Spatulas
3.3.2.6 One Glass Funnel
3.3.2.7 One Glass Stirring Rod
3.3.2.8 Ointment Slab or Papers
3.3.2.9 Purified Water

Each Pharmacy shall have such additional
equipment as is necessary to perform a specific procedure.

All equipment must be clean and must be
maintained in such a manner that allows the pharmacist to
accurately weigh, measure and compound ingredients.

3.4 Physical Facilities.  Have sufficient size, space,
sanitation, and environmental control for adequate
distribution, dispensing and storage of drugs and devices.
Such facilities shall include:

3.4.1 A dispensing area of adequate size and
space for proper compounding, dispensing and storage of
drugs and devices, to ensure the safety and well being of the
public and pharmacy personnel.

3.4.2 Sufficient environmental control, i.e.
lighting, ventilation, heating and cooling to maintain the
integrity of drugs and devices.  The area in which drugs and
devices are stored shall be accurately monitored using
control devices to maintain room temperature between 59×
and 86× Fahrenheit.

3.4.3 The pharmacy department or prescription
area must contain a sink with hot and cold running water.  It
must be large enough to accommodate the equipment
required by the Board so that the utensils can be properly

washed and sanitized.
3.4.4 Suitable refrigeration with appropriate

monitoring device.  Refrigerators and freezers (where
required) will be maintained at the USP/NF range:  

Refrigerator - 36× to 46× Fahrenheit
Freezer - plus 4× to minus 14× Fahrenheit.
A sign with letters not less than 3/4" in height

in the vicinity of the prescription department visible to the
public which shows the name of the pharmacists employed
at that pharmacy or the name of the pharmacist on duty.

3.5 Building Standards.  An application to operate a
new pharmacy must include (3) copies of blueprints drawn
to scale of the proposed prescription department.  The
blueprints must include the following:

3.5.1 The requirements listed in §2534(F)(1)
through (4).  

3.5.2 A view of the partition surrounding the
prescription department showing a five (5) foot height
requirement measured from the floor.  A section or sections
totaling a maximum of twelve (12) ft. in length and at least
three (3) ft. in height will be acceptable in all situations.  The
area(s) must be secured to the five (5) ft. level when the
pharmacist or designated responsible person is not in the
pharmacy department.

3.5.3 A partitioned area which assures patient
privacy will be provided to facilitate counseling.  This area
must afford the patient privacy from auditory detection by
any unauthorized person or persons.  The minimum
requirement would be a 9 square foot partitioned area.

3.5.4 The blueprints shall include the location of
the sink, all doors, storage room, approved Schedule II
controlled substance safe or cabinet, and the method of
securing the prescription department from floor to ceiling,
when the prescription department is closed and the
remainder of the store is open.

3.5.5 The blueprints must include the type of
alarm system to be installed, and the name, address and
phone number of alarm provider.  The alarm system, as
required by Regulation 5 of the Delaware Controlled
Substance Act, must be reviewed and approved for
compliance by the Office of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.

3.5.6 The above requirements shall also apply
for any remodeling or change of location of the prescription
department.  The pharmacist-in-charge or applicant for
permit must submit the blueprint requirements to the
Delaware Board of Pharmacy and the Office of Narcotics
and Dangerous Drugs prior to any construction and at least
15 days prior to the next scheduled Board of Pharmacy
meeting for its review.

3.6 Security.  When the pharmacist is off duty and the
operation is open for business, the pharmacy department
shall be physically or  electronically secured from floor to
ceiling.  The partitioned off section required by 24 Del.C.
§2534 must be five feet high measured from the floor. A
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conspicuous sign with letters not less than three inches in
height, reading "PRESCRIPTION LABORATORY
TEMPORARILY CLOSED, NO PROFESSIONAL
SERVICES RENDERED," or words of similar import, must
be posted in the front section of the operation or in front of
the prescription area, room or partitioned off section where it
can be seen by the public.

3.7 Board Interview.  Applicants for permit to operate a
pharmacy in the State of Delaware must appear before the
Board for an interview.  The owner or authorized official
must be present in addition to the pharmacist-in-charge.
Whenever there is a change of pharmacist-in-charge, if that
person has never held that position in the State of Delaware,
he/she must appear before the Board for an interview within
ninety days after assuming the position.

Regulation 3.5.2 revised 6/16/97
Regulation 3.5.6 revised Effective date 10/11/98
See 2 DE Reg. 683 (10/1/98)
See 6 DE Reg. 488 (10/1/02)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10103 (3 Del.C. §10103)

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 3 Del.C. §10103, the
Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission issues this
Order adopting proposed amendments to the Commission
Rules.  Following notice and a public hearing held on June
30, 2003 on the proposed Rule amendments, the
Commission makes the following findings and conclusions: 

Summary Of Evidence

1. The Commission posted public notice of the
proposed amendments in the June 1, 2003 Register of
Regulations and in the Delaware Capital Review and the
Delaware State News.  The proposed amendments to the
Commission's Rules are as follows:

i) amend Rule 1.28 to clarify the definition of
"Meeting" to include all race dates approved by the
Commission under 3 Del.C. §10122(c);

ii) amend Rule 3.02(a) to clarify that the authority
of the Stewards at the Meeting shall be during the period as
required by the Commission;  and 

iii) amend Rule 19.01(d) to provide that one
steward may hold a hearing during emergencies or during
periods when there is no live racing.  

2. The Commission held a public hearing on June 30,

2003 and received no public comments.  The Commission
received no written comments from the public during the
month of June, 2003.

Findings Of Fact And Conclusions

3. The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Commission with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments
to the Commission's Regulations.

4. The Commission finds that the proposed
amendments to the Commission Regulations are necessary
for the agency to achieve its statutory duty to regulate
thoroughbred racing under 3 Del.C. §10103.  The
Commission concludes that the proposed amendments to the
Regulations should be adopted in the proposed form.  The
Commission adopts the proposed amendments to
Commission Rules 1.28, 3.02(a), and 19.01(d).  

5. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the publication of this order in the next issue of
the Register of Regulations.  A copy of the enacted
Regulation amendments is attached as Exhibit #1 to this
Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 21st day of July, 2003.
Bernard Daney, Chairman
Duncan Patterson, Commissioner
Carolyn Wilson, Commissioner

Part 1 -- Definitions and Interpretations

In the context of these Rules of Racing, the following
words and phrases shall be construed as having the following
special meanings:

1.01  Added money:  
Cash, exclusive of trophy or other award, added by the

Licensee to stakes fee paid by subscribers to form the total
purse for a stakes race.

1.02  Age:
The number of years since a horse was foaled, reckoned

as if such horse were foaled on January 1 of the year in
which such horse was foaled.

1.03  Arrears:
All sums due by any permittee or registrant as reflected

by his account with the Licensee or the Horsemen's
Bookkeeper, including subscriptions, jockey fees,
forfeitures, and any default incident to these rules.

1.04  Authorized Agent:
Any person currently registered as an agent for a

registered-owner principal by virtue of a notarized
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appointment of agency properly and fully lodged with the
Licensee.

1.05  Betting Interest:
A single horse, or more than one horse joined as a

"mutuel entry" or joined in the "mutuel field", on which a
single pari-mutuel wager may be placed.

1.06  Bleeder:
Any horse known to have bled from its nostrils during a

workout or race or is found to have bled internally by
endoscopic examination.  See Rule 15.02, Paragraph (a).

1.07  Breeder:
Owner of the dam of a horse at the time such horse was

foaled.  A horse is "bred" at the place of its foaling.

1.08  Claiming Race:
Any race in which the ownership of every horse running

therein may be transferred in conformity with these Rules.

1.09  Closing:
Time published by the Licensee after which entries for a

race will not be accepted.

1.10  Commission:
The Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission.

"Commissioner" is a member of the Commission.

1.11  Day:
Any 24-hour period beginning at 12:01 a.m. and ending

at midnight.  "Racing Day" is a day on which races are
conducted.  "Calendar Days" are those consecutive days
counted irrespective of number of "Racing Days."

1.12  Declaration:
Withdrawal of a horse entered in a race prior to time of

closing of entries therefor in conformance with these Rules.

1.13  Disciplinary Action:
That action taken by the Stewards, by the Licensee, or

by the Commission, for a Rule violation; it can include
suspension, revocation, voidance of a permit, authorization
or registration, ejection or exclusion from the Licensee's
grounds, or assessment of a forfeiture, or reprimand, or any
combination thereof.

1.14  Disqualification:
An order of the Stewards revising the order of finish of a

race.

1.15  Entry:
The act of nominating a horse for a race in conformance

with these Rules.  See "Mutuel Entry".

1.16  Equipment:
Accoutrements, other than ordinary saddle, girth, pad,

saddle cloth, and bridle carried by a horse, include whip,
blinkers, tongue strap, muzzle, hood, noseband, bit, shadow
roll, martingale, breast plate, bandages, boots, and racing
plates or shoes.

1.17  Exhibition Race:
A race between horses of diverse ownership for which a

purse is offered by the Licensee, but on which no pari-
mutuel wagering is permitted.

1.18  Field or Mutuel Field:
A single betting interest involving more than one horse

which is formed when the number of horses starting a race
exceeds the numbering capacity of the totalizator and where
all horses of a higher number are grouped in the "mutuel
field".

1.19  Forfeit:
Money due by a permittee, registrant or other person to

whom these Rules apply because of an error, fault, neglect of
duty, breach of contract, or alternative order of the Stewards.

1.20  Handicap Race:
A race in which the weights to be carried by the horses

therein are assigned by the Licensee's Handicapper with the
intent of equalizing the chances of winning for all horses
entered.  A "free handicap" is a handicap for which no
nominating fee is required to be weighted, but an entrance
and/or starting fee may be required for starting therein.

1.21  Horse:
Any Thoroughbred, whether mare, gelding, colt or filly,

which is registered as such with the Jockey Club in
Lexington, Kentucky, or, for Steeplechase racing purposes,
by the National Steeplechase Association in Fair Hill,
Maryland and any Arabian whether mare, gelding, colt or
filly which is registered as such with the Arabian Horse
Registry of America, Inc. in Westminster, Colorado and for
which an Identification Supplement has been issued.

In these rules of racing, unless otherwise noted, the use
of the word "Thoroughbred" shall likewise apply to Arabian
horses.

1.22  Ineligible:
A horse or person not qualified, not permitted, or not

authorized under these Rules or conditions of a race to
participate in a specified racing activity.

1.23  Jockey:
A rider currently authorized to ride in races as a Jockey,

or Apprentice Jockey, or Amateur Jockey, or a provisional
Jockey permitted by the Stewards to ride in two races prior
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to applying for a permit.

1.24  Lessee:
A registered Owner whose interest in a horse is a

leasehold.

1.25  Licensee:
Any person, or persons, or corporation, licensed by the

Commission to conduct a recognized race meeting at a
particular racetrack within this State.  When used herein, the
word refers to that Licensee of the racetrack at which any
matter or thing calling for the application of these Rules
arises or occurs.

1.26  Maiden:
With respect to flat races, a horse which has never won a

flat race at a recognized meeting in any country; a "maiden"
which was disqualified after finishing first remains a
"maiden"; race conditions referring to "maidens" shall be
interpreted as meaning "maidens" at the time of starting.

In flat races a horse is still a maiden though a winner of
a steeplechase or hurdle race, and in steeplechase and hurdle
races a horse is still a maiden though a winner on the flat.

1.27  Match Race:
A race between two horses for which no other horses are

eligible.

1.28  Meeting:
The entire period of consecutive days, exclusive of dark

days, granted by the Commission to a Licensee for the
conduct of racing, beginning at 12:01 a.m. of the first racing
day and extending through a period ending at 11:59 p.m.
after the last scheduled race on the last day, which includes
all race dates approved by the Commission under 3 Del. C.
§10122(c) including racing dates limited exclusively to the
receiving and accepting of wagers or bets on electronically
televised simulcasts.  See "Recognized Meeting".

Rule 1.28 Rev. March 1976.

1.29  Month:
A calendar month.

1.30  Mutuel Entry:
A single betting interest involving two or more horses

entered in the same race and joined for pari-mutual purposes
because of common ties as to ownership so that a wager on
one horse joined in a "mutuel entry" is a wager on all horses
joined in the same "mutuel entry".

Rule 1.30 Rev. July 1977.

1.31  Mutuel Field:
See "Field".

1.32  Nominator:
The person in whose name a horse is entered for a race.

1.33  Owner:
Any person who holds, in whole or in part, any right,

title, or interest in a horse, or any lessee of a horse, who has
been duly registered and approved by Licensee as a person
responsible for such horse.

1.34  Permittee:
Any person authorized by or registered with and

approved by Licensee to participate in any designated way in
racing at the location where Licensee is authorized to
conduct a racing meet.  See "Registrant".

1.35  Place:
When used in the context of a single position in the

order of finish in a race, "Place" means second; when used in
the context of a pari-mutuel wagering, a "Place" wager is one
involving a payoff on a betting interest which finished first
or second in a race; when used in the context of multiple
positions in the order of finish in a race, "Place or Placing"
means finishing first, or second, or third.  See "Unplaced".

1.36  Post:
The starting point of a race.

1.37  Post Position:
The relative place assigned to each horse, numbered

from the inner rail across the track at the starting line, from
which each horse is to start a race.

1.38  Post Time:
The advertised moment scheduled for the arrival of all

horses at the starting point for a race.

1.39  Prize:
The combined total of any cash, plate, purse, premium,

stake, trophy, reward or object of value awarded to the
Owners of horses according to order of finish in a race.  No
race shall be authorized or permitted for a purse, stake or
reward of less than $700.00, except in the event of a split
race, in which case the purse, stake or reward shall be
equally divided.

1.40  Purse:
The gross cash portion of the prize for which a race is

run.

1.41  Purse Race:
Any race for which entries close less than 72 hours prior

to its running, and for which Owners of horses entered are
not required by its conditions to contribute money toward its
purse.
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1.42  Race:
A running contest between horses, ridden by Jockeys,

over a prescribed course, at a recognized meeting, during
regular racing hours, for a prize.

1.43  Racing Official:
Any person appointed and designated as such, and

authorized to perform the duties prescribed, by the Licensee
of any race meeting authorized by the Commission.

1.44  Recognized Meeting:
Any meeting with regularly scheduled races for horses

on the flat or over jumps, licensed by and conducted under
rules promulgated by a governmental body, including any
such authority which has reciprocal relations with the Jockey
Club of Lexington, Kentucky, whose race records can be
provided to a Licensee by the Jockey Club and any such
authority which has reciprocal relations with the American
Horse Registry of America, Inc. in Westminster, Colorado.

1.45  Registrant:
Synonymous with "Permittee".

1.46  Registration Certificate:
A document issued by the Jockey Club of Kentucky

certifying as to the name, age, color, sex, pedigree and
breeder of a horse as registered by number with the Jockey
Club, shall be deemed to refer also to the document known
as a "racing permit" issued by the Jockey Club in lieu of a
"registration certificate" when a horse is recognized as a
Thoroughbred for racing purposes in the United States, but is
not recognized as a Thoroughbred for breeding purposes
insofar as registering its progeny with the Jockey Club.

1.46(a) Reward: Any non-monetary prize, as defined in
Rule 1.39, with a monetary value in excess of $2,500.00, as
determined by the fair market value of the prize, given to
competitors in a race as an incentive to win, place or show.

The fair market value of any prize shall be determined
by the commission.  Evidence of fair market value shall
include purchase price and resale value.

Rule 1.46(a) adopted 11/30/94.

1.47  Rules:
When used in the plural, shall be deemed to mean all

current "Rules" promulgated by the Commission; when used
in the singular, shall be deemed to be confined to the
numbered "Rule", and subparagraphs thereof, wherein such
mention is made.

1.48  Rulings:
All determinations, decisions, or orders of the Stewards

duly issued in writing and posted.
Rule 1.48 Rev. March 1976.

1.49  Scratch:
Withdrawal of a horse entered for a race after time of

closing of entries therefor in conformance with these Rules.

1.50  Scratch Time:
Time set by Licensee's Racing Secretary as a deadline

for horsemen to indicate their desire to scratch out of a race.

1.51  Specimen:
Sample of blood, urine or saliva taken or drawn from a

horse for chemical testing.

1.52  Stakes:
All fees paid by subscribers to an added-money or

stakes race for nominating, eligibility, entrance, or starting,
as may be required by the conditions of such race, such fees
to be included in the purse.

1.53  Stakes Race:
A race which closes more than 72 hours in advance of

its running and for which subscribers contribute money
towards its purse.

1.54  Starters:
When referring to a horse -- a horse in a race when the

starting-gate doors open in front of it at the moment the
Starter (a Racing Official) dispatches the horses for a race.

1.55  Stewards:
Duly appointed Racing Officials with powers and duties

as provided by these Rules.

1.56  Subscription:
Nomination or entry of a horse in a stakes race.

1.57  Thoroughbred Racing:
The conduct of running contests between horses, each of

which is registered with the Jockey Club in Lexington,
Kentucky and certified as having a Thoroughbred pedigree,
or which is registered and certified by any other authority
recognized by the commission, and each of which is ridden
by a Jockey, under the auspices of an appropriate
governmental regulatory body which has jurisdiction over
such.

1.57(a) Trophy or Plate:  For the purpose of calculating
a prize or reward, a perpetual trophy or plate shall have no
monetary value.

No trophy or plate shall be considered a reward, as
defined by these rules and 3 Del. C §10121 and 10141(c),
unless the trophy or plate has a monetary value exceeding
$2,500.00.

The fair value market of any trophy or plate shall be
determined by the commission.  Evidence of fair market
value shall include purchase price and resale value.
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Rule 1.57(a) adopted 11/30/94.

1.58  Unplaced:
Not among the first three horses finishing a race.

1.59  Walkover:
A race in which the only starter or all starters represent a

single ownership.

1.60  Weigh In:
Presentation of a Jockey to the Clerk of Scales for

weighing after a race.
Rule 1.57 Rev. March 1974.

1.61  Weigh Out:
Presentation of a Jockey to the Clerk of Scales for

weighing prior to a race.

1.62  Weight for Age:
A standard assignment of pounds to be carried by horses

in races at specified distances during specified months of the
year, scaled according to the age of the horse, as set out
hereinafter in these Rules.

1.63  Workout:
A training exercise of a horse on the training or main

track of a Licensee during which such horse is timed for
speed over a specified distance.

1.64  Year:
Twelve consecutive months beginning with January and

ending with December.

1.65  Mandatory Safety Equipment:  Helmets and Vests
The helmets and vests that are to be worn while riding

astride a horse or pony at any time, for any reason, while on
the grounds of a racetrack that comes under the jurisdiction
of the Delaware Racing Commission.

Rule 1.65 adopted 11/30/94.

PART 3  --  STEWARDS

3.01  Qualifications for Stewards:
No person shall qualify for appointment or approval as a

Steward unless:
(a) In addition to any minimum qualifications

promulgated by the Commission, all applicants for the
position of Steward must be certified by a national
organization approved by the Commission.  An applicant for
the position of steward must also have been previously
employed as a steward, patrol judge, clerk of scales or other
racing official at a thoroughbred racing meeting for a period
of not less than forty-five days during three of the last five
years, or have at least five years of experience as a licensed

jockey who has not less than one year as a licensed racing
official at a thoroughbred racing meeting or have ten years of
experience as a licensed thoroughbred trainer who has
served not less than one year as a licensed racing official at a
thoroughbred racing meeting.

(b) He is a person of good moral character and
unblemished reputation.

See 2 DE Reg. 2042 (5/1/99)

3.02  Appointment of Stewards:
There shall be three Stewards at each race meeting, each

of whom shall be appointed by the Commission.  If required
by the Commission, biographical data setting out the
experience and qualifications of the nominees shall be
provided to the Commission by the Licensee.  No Steward
shall serve until approved by the Commission.

(a) Stewards shall serve from one minute after
midnight on the day before the first racing day until one
minute before midnight on the day after the last racing day of
the race meeting for which they are appointed;  provided, in
the event a dispute or controversy arises during a race
meeting which is not settled at the conclusion of the race
meeting, then the power of the Stewards shall be extended
over the period necessary to resolve the matter, or until the
matter is referred or appealed to the Commission; during the
period of the Meeting as required by the Commission 

(b) Stewards may be replaced by the Commission at
any time for failure to perform their duties properly and
diligently;

(c) In the event that during a racing meet a Steward
becomes ill, resigns, or is unable to serve for any reason,
then the remaining Stewards, after obtaining approval of the
Commission, shall nominate a successor or temporary
Steward to the Commission for approval.  In emergencies, a
single Commissioner by telephone may approve
appointment of a successor Steward.

See 4 DE Reg. 174 (7/1/00)

3.03  General Powers of the Stewards
The Stewards shall exercise immediate supervision,

control and regulation of racing at the race meeting for
which they are appointed.  By way of illustration and
without in any way limiting them, the powers of the
Stewards shall include:

(a) Authority over all horses and all persons (except
members of the Commission and its representatives, and
except Licensee's management personnel and staff) on
Licensee's grounds during a race meeting as to all matters
relating to racing;

(b) To determine all questions, disputes, protests,
complaints, or objections concerning racing (as
distinguished from Licensee's business operations and
affairs) which arise during a race meeting, and to enforce
such determinations.  All three Stewards shall be on
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Licensee's grounds before post time for the first race until
conclusion of the last race.  Except for good cause, all three
Stewards shall be present in the Stewards' stand during the
running of each race;

(c) It is preferred but not required that at least one
Steward, or a designated representative of the Stewards, be
present in the paddock at least 20 minutes before each race
and remain there until the horses leave for the starting gate,
to observe the conduct of all persons in and around the
paddock and to inspect, with the Paddock Judge and
Commission's Veterinarian, all horses for fitness;

(d) When requested by the Commission, to review all
applications for registrations or permits to participate in
racing, and, if requested by the Commission, to administer,
or cause to be administered by technically qualified persons,
standard examinations to all first-time applicants to be
registered as or receive a permit to be a Trainer, Jockey,
Apprentice Jockey, Veterinarian, Dental Technician, or
Farrier, and, when requested, make recommendations as to
the qualifications of all applicants for registrations or permits
to participate in racing;

(e) When requested by the Commission, to review all
licenses, registration certificates, and all contracts, papers,
and other documents pertaining to the sale or ownership of a
horse, payment of purse money, Jockey and Apprentice
Jockey contracts, appointments of agents, adoptions of
racing colors or stable name, and advise upon the eligibility
and appropriateness thereof for participation in racing in
Delaware;

(f) To call for proof of eligibility of a horse or person
to participate in a race if such is in question, and in the
absence of sufficient proof to establish eligibility, the
Stewards may rule such horse or person ineligible;

(g) To review stall applications and advise Licensee of
undesirable persons, if any, among Owners and Trainers
applying for stalls, and provide the Licensee with
information pertaining to such undesirable persons;

(h) To supervise the taking of entries and receive all
declarations and scratches, and determine all questions
arising and pertaining to same.  The Stewards may in their
discretion refuse the entry of any horse by any person or
refuse to permit a declaration or scratch, or may limit entries
in any way.  Upon suspicion of fraud or misconduct, the
Stewards may excuse a horse or replace any Jockey or
Trainer, or Racing Official other than a Steward;

(i) All other powers enumerated in these Rules,
together with such other powers as are necessary to promote
and maintain stringent standards for honesty, integrity, and
propriety for Thoroughbred Racing in Delaware.

See 4 DE Reg. 174 (7/1/00)

3.04  Duties and Responsibilities of Stewards:
In addition to the duties and responsibilities necessary

and pertinent to the general supervision, control and

regulation of race meetings, and without limiting the
authority of the Stewards to perform the same and other
duties enumerated in these Rules, the Stewards shall have the
following specific duties and responsibilities:

(a) To take cognizance of all misconduct or Rule
infractions irrespective of whether complained of; to cause
investigations to be made of all instances of possible Rule
infractions; and to take such action as the Stewards may
deem necessary to prevent a Rule infraction;

(b) At least one Steward, or his designated
representative, shall be on Licensee's grounds from scratch
time (or if not a racing day, when entries are first taken) until
entries are closed.  At least one Steward shall be present for
the regular showing of racing films or video tapes.

(c) To suspend or revoke the registration or permit of a
participant in racing, or eject or exclude from Licensee's
grounds or any part thereof any person, whether a registrant
or permittee or not, upon reasonable belief that a violation of
these Rules has or is about to occur;

(d) To interpret and enforce these Rules, and to
determine all questions pertaining to a racing matter not
specifically covered by these Rules in conformity with
justice and the customs of the turf;

(e) To issue decisions or rulings pertaining to racing
which shall, if the Stewards deem proper, vary any
arrangement for the conduct of a race meeting, to include
without limiting thereby, postponing a race, or canceling a
race, ruling a race run as "no contest", or the like;

(f) To request and receive assistance from the
Commission, Racing Officials, members of the
Thoroughbred Racing Protective Bureau, track security
police, state or local police, in the investigation of possible
Rule infractions;

(g) To conduct hearings on all questions concerning
racing matters;

(h) In the event a regularly named Jockey or Trainer or
Racing Official other than a Steward is unable for any reason
to perform, the Stewards may select a substitute therefor.

(i) To see that all pari-mutuel betting machines are
locked not later than the commencement of the race; to cause
the "Inquiry" sign to be posted on the infield odds board as
promptly as possible after the horses have crossed the finish
line in a race if any doubt is held by a Steward or Patrol
Judge as to the fairness of the running of such race; to cause
the "Objection" sign to be posted on the infield odds board
upon the lodging of same; to cause the "Official" sign to be
posted on the infield odds board after determining the
official order of finish for purposes of pari-mutuel payoff;

(j) To review the patrol films or video tapes of each
day's races before commencement of the successive day's
races, and to draw up a list of riders (including all
Apprentice Jockeys) whom the Stewards feel should review
such films for instructional purposes and cause same to be
posted in the Jockey's Room; the Patrol Judges shall assist in
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making up the film list and attend all film showings
whenever their other duties permit;

(k) To maintain a daily log, reporting all actions taken
by the Stewards on all controversies which arise during the
day, such report to show name of track, date, weather, track
conditions, claims, results of blood, saliva or urine tests to
the extent available, rulings issued, and any other
circumstances or condition regarded as unusual, such reports
to be signed by all Stewards participating in such action and
filed within 24 hours at such place as the Commission may
designate;

(l) To make periodic inspections of the barn area and
check track security; to make occasional, informal visits to
the Jockeys' Room and observe weighing out and check
security; such inspections and observations so made shall be
noted in the Stewards' Report;

(m) To maintain a Minute Book which shall contain a
detailed written record of all questions, disputes, protests,
complaints or objections brought to the attention of the
Stewards, summary of interviews taken thereon, reports of
investigations thereon, together with rulings issued thereon;
if a ruling is not unanimous, the dissenting Steward shall
record his or her reasons for such dissent; such Stewards'
Minute Book shall be available to the Commission for
inspection at all times, but shall not be open to public
inspection;

(n) When requested to do so, the Stewards shall submit
to the Commission a written report setting out the condition
of the meeting and Licensee's grounds, together with any
recommendation for the improvement thereof which they
may deem appropriate.

(o) To impose fines upon any corporation, association
or person participating in any Thoroughbred horse race meet
at which pari-mutual wagering is conducted, other than as a
patron, and whether licensed or not by the Commission, for a
violation of any provision of 3 Del. C. chapter 101 or these
Rules and Regulations.

The Stewards may not impose a fine in excess of
$2500.00.  If it is at any time deemed appropriate that a
larger fine should be imposed, the Stewards shall so
recommend to the Commission and shall refer the matter at
hand forthwith to the Commission.  The Stewards shall have
the power to refer any matter before them to the Commission
at any time if it appears proper because of the complexity,
severity, uniqueness or extent of the activities involved or
likely to be involved.  Included within these powers is the
authority to impose partial sanctions, such as a conditional
limitation on any person's use of facilities or of the
enclosure.

(p) In suspensions of jockeys for any offense other than
an offense involving fraud, the:

1. Effective date of the suspension is determined
at the discretion of the stewards; and

2. Jockeys serving a suspension of ten days or

less are permitted to ride in a designated race during the
period of a suspension if the:

(a) Race is a stakes race with a purse of
$25,000 or more;

(b) Jockey is named not later than at the time
set for the close of entries for the race; and

(c) Jockey agrees to serve an additional day of
suspension in place of the day in which the jockey rides in a
designated race.

Revised 10/20/93
Revised 5/26/93

PART 19 -- HEARINGS, REVIEWS AND APPEALS

19.01  Procedure Before Stewards:
(a) Before holding any Stewards' hearing provided for

under these Rules, notice in writing must be given to any
party charged with a violation, other than a routine riding
offense occurring in a race, unless such notice is waived in
writing by the person charged.

(b) The notice required by the preceding subsection
shall include:

1. Identification of the specific Rule or Rules
involved, the infraction for which he is charged and a brief
statement of the facts supporting such charge.

2. The time and place of hearing.
3. The statement that the party charged may be

represented by legal counsel or by a representative of any
racing trade organization of which he is a member.

(c) All Stewards' hearings shall be closed and the
Stewards shall cause no public announcement to be made
concerning a matter under investigation until the conclusion
of the hearing and the party charged has been notified of the
decision.

(d) The hearing shall be conducted by no less than two
of the Stewards in such a manner as to ascertain and
determine the substantial rights of the parties involved and
shall not be bound by technical rules of procedure and
evidence. In emergencies during the live racing meet or
during periods when there is no live racing, a hearing may be
conducted by only one Steward.

(e) All testimony at such hearings shall be given under
oath.  A record shall be made of the hearing, either by use of
a tape recorder or by court reporter's transcript, or otherwise,
if funds for such are made available from any source.  The
Stewards will not be required to receive testimony under
oath in cases where their ruling is based upon a review of the
video tapes of a race.

(f) If, at the conclusion of their hearing, the Stewards
find that a Rule has been violated, they promptly shall issue
a written ruling which sets forth the name of every person
charged with a violation, the Rule violated, their finding as
to the violation of such Rule and the penalty affixed.  Copies
of such rulings shall be delivered to each party in interest and
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2003



FINAL REGULATIONS 323
to the Commission and the Licensee, and posted in the
Racing Secretary's office.

19.02  Review and Appeal:
Any party who is penalized by any order or ruling of the

Stewards may apply to the Commission for a review of such
Stewards' order or ruling.

19.03  Application for Review:
An application to the Commission for the review of a

Steward's order or ruling must be made within forty-eight
(48) hours after such order or ruling is issued by written or
oral notice and shall:

(a) Be in writing and addressed to the Commission’s
Administrator of Racing, accompanied by a filing fee in the
amount of $250;

(b) Contain the signature of the applicant and the
address to which notices may be mailed to applicant;

(c) Set forth the order or ruling requested to be
reviewed and the date thereof;

(d) Succinctly set forth the reasons for making such
application;

(e) Request a hearing;
(f) Briefly set forth the relief sought; and
(g) Provide assurance to the Commission that all

expenses occasioned by the appeal will be borne by the
applicant; and

(h)   Contain a sworn, notarized statement that the
applicant has a good faith belief that the appeal is
meritorious and is not taken merely to delay the penalty
imposed by the stewards.

See 3 DE Reg. 1542 (5/1/00)

19.04  Disposition of Review Application:
After consideration of any such application for review,

the Commission may grant the application, defer it or reject
it.  The applicant shall be advised of the Commission's
disposition of his application for review.

19.05  Commission Hearing:
If the Commission grants any such application for

review, before holding any hearing thereon, it shall:
(a) Give written notice forthwith to the applicant and

all other necessary parties personally or by mail, including:
1. Time and place of such hearing as designated

by the Commission Chairman, but such time shall not be less
than five (5) days and no more than thirty (30) days after
service of notice unless at the request of a party and in order
to provide a fair hearing.

2. Except to applicant, a copy of the application
for review.

(b) The Commission may request the Attorney General
to appoint a special prosecutor to carry the burden of proof
showing a Rule violation if the matter involves a Rule

violation and requires a proceeding of an adversary nature,
such prosecutor being an attorney who has had no prior
participation in the matter on review.

The Commission may request the Attorney General, or a
member of his staff other than the special prosecutor, to
serve as law officer for the Commission to assist the
presiding officer in rendering decisions of a judicial nature.

(c) The Commission shall permit all parties that so
desire to be represented by counsel and, to the extent it
deems necessary or appropriate, shall permit all parties to
respond and present evidence and argument on all issues
involved.

(d) The Commission may issue, under the hand of its
Chairman and the seal of the Commission, subpoenas for the
attendance of witnesses and the production of books, papers
and documents, before the Commission, and may administer
oaths or affirmations to the witnesses whenever, in the
judgment of the Commission, it may be necessary for the
effectual discharge of its duties.

If any person refuses to obey any subpoena or to testify
or produce any books, papers or documents, then any
Commissioner may apply to the Superior Court of the county
in which he or the Commission may be sitting and,
thereupon, the Court shall issue its subpoena requiring the
person to appear and to testify or produce any books, papers
or documents.

Whoever fails to obey or refuses to obey a subpoena of
the Superior Court shall be guilty of contempt of court and
shall be punished accordingly.

False swearing on the part of any witness shall be
deemed perjury and shall be punished as such.

(e) All tape recordings or stenographic recordings
taken and transcriptions made of the hearing or any part
thereof shall be paid for by such parties as request that such a
tape or stenographic record be made of the hearing, except
that additional transcripts thereof shall be paid for by the
person desiring such copies.

(f) The Commission may exclude evidence that is
irrelevant, immaterial or unduly repetitious and may admit
evidence that would be inadmissible under the Civil Rules of
Procedure but is evidence of the type commonly relied upon
by reasonably prudent men in the conduct of their affairs.

(g) All or part of the evidence may be received in
written form if the interest of the appearing parties will not
be substantially prejudiced thereby.

(h) The Commission may take official notice of
technical facts or customs or procedures common to racing.

(i) The Commission may make an informal disposition
of the matter by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order
or default.

(j) Upon conclusion of the hearing, the Commission
shall take the matter under advisement, shall render a
decision as promptly as possible and shall issue a ruling in
final adjudication of the matter.  Such ruling shall set forth
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the name of every person charged with a Rule violation; the
Rule number and pertinent parts of the Rule alleged to have
been violated; a separate statement of reasons for the
decision; and penalties fixed by the Commission, if any.
Copies of such ruling shall be delivered to each party in
interest, posted in the Racing Secretary's office of the
Licensee where the matter arose and forwarded to the
national office of the National Association of State Racing
Commissioners.

(k) The Commission, for just cause, may refund the
filing fee to the applicant.

Added:  9/27/94

19.06  Continuances:
(a) All applications for a continuance of a scheduled

hearing shall be in writing, shall set forth the reasons
therefor and shall be filed with the Commission’s
Administrator of Racing after giving notice of such
application by mail or otherwise to all parties or their
attorneys, including counsel for the stewards.  The
Commission will not consider any continuance request from
counsel for an appellant unless counsel has filed a written
entry of appearance with the Commission.  For attorneys
who are not members of the Delaware bar, those attorneys
must comply with the provisions of Delaware Supreme
Court Rule 72 for admission pro hac vice before the
Commission.  The Commission will not consider any
continuance request from attorneys who are not members of
the Delaware bar unless and until that attorney has been
formally admitted under Delaware Supreme Court Rule 72
as the attorney of record for the appellant. 

(b) When application is made for continuance of a
cause because of the illness of an applicant, witness or
counsel, such application shall be accompanied by a medical
certificate attesting to such illness and inability.

(c) An application for continuance of any hearing must
be received by the Commission at least ninety-six (96) hours
prior to the time fixed for the hearing.  An application
received by the Commission within the 96-hour period will
not be granted except for extraordinary reasons.  The
Commission will not consider any request for a continuance
absent evidence of good cause for the request.  A failure by
an appellant to take reasonable action to retain counsel shall
not be considered good cause for a continuance.

(d) If the Commission approves the application for
continuance, it shall, concurrently with such postponement,
set a date for the continued hearing.

See 3 DE Reg. 1542 (5/1/00)

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 

Section 10103 (3 Del.C. §10103)

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(4) and 3 Del.C.
§10103, the Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission
(“the Commission”) hereby issues this Order adopting an
amendment to Commission Rule 13.05.  The Commission
makes the following findings and conclusions:

1.  On March 11, 2002, the Commission adopted an
amendment to Rule 13.05 which enacted a new provision to
the Commission's claiming rules.  The new Rule 13.05 as
enacted provides that a claimed horse may not race for
twenty days after being claimed in a race.  The title of the
rule however still contains the former title of the former
1995 version of the Rule which is "13.05 Thirty Day
Prohibition-Racing Claimed Horse".

2.  The Commission by motion at its July 15, 2003
meeting moved to correct the title of Rule 13.05 to properly
reflect the provisions of Rule 13.05.  This is a nonsubstantive
change to correct a technical error which is exempt from the
normal notice and publication requirements of the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. §10115.  

3.  The Commission concludes that the title to Rule
13.05 shall be changed to: Rule 13.05 Twenty Day
Prohibition-Sale of Claimed Horse.

4.  This Order will be published in the next issue of the
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 21st day of July, 2003

Bernard Daney, Chairman
Duncan Patterson, Commissioner
Carolyn Wilson, Commissioner

13.05  Thirty Day Prohibition -- Racing Claimed Horse:
Twenty Day Prohibition-Sale of Claimed Horse.

A claimed horse shall not run for twenty days after
being claimed in a race in which the determining eligibility
price is less than twenty-five percent more than the price for
which the horse was claimed.  The day claimed shall not
count but the following calendar day shall be the first day,
and the horse shall be entitled to enter whenever necessary
so that it may start on the twenty-first day calendar following
the claim.  This provision shall not apply to starter
handicaps, allowance and starter allowance races.

See 5 DE Reg. 1710 (3/1/02)
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 101

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. § 101)

Regulatory Implementing Order

101 Delaware Student Testing Program

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. § 10113(b)(5) and 14 Del. C.
§153(d)(2)and 153(d)(12), the Secretary of Education seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to adopt an
amendment to regulation 101 Delaware Student Testing
Program Section 3.1.  The amendment reflects the changes
made to 14 Del.C. 153(d)(2) and 153 (d)(12) by the passage
of Senate Bill 141 by the 142nd General Assembly on June
10, 2003 and signed by the Governor on July 15, 2003.  The
bill as signed amended the Delaware Code relating to the use
of other indicators prior to requiring students to attend
mandatory summer school.  The following statement has
been added to section 3.1, Pursuant to14 Del.C. 153(d)(2)
and 153 (d)(12), local school districts and charter schools
may also consider other indicators of student performance
relative to the state content standards when determining if a
student may advance to the next grade level without
attending summer school.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to reflect the change in statute.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reason, the Secretary concludes that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del. C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit
“A” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.
C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in effect
for a period of five years from the effective date of this order
as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “A”, and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code § 101 in the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122 on August 21, 2003.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of August 2003.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st  day of August, 2003

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT A

101  Delaware Student Testing Program

1.0 Definition: The Delaware Student Testing Program
(DSTP) shall include the assessments of all students in
grades K-10 in the areas of reading, writing and mathematics
and the assessments of all students in grades 4, 6, 8, and 11
in the areas of science and social studies.  The DSTP shall
also include the participation of Delaware students in the
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) as
determined by the Department of Education.  All districts
and charter schools shall participate in all components of the
DSTP including field test administrations.

1.1 All students in said grades shall be tested except
that students with disabilities and students with limited
English proficiency shall be tested according to the
Department of Education’s Guidelines for the Inclusion of
Students with Disabilities and Students with Limited English
Proficiency, as the same, may from time to time be amended
hereafter.

1.2 The Department of Education shall determine the
dates upon which the DSTP will be administered, and will
advise the school districts and charter schools of those dates.  

2.0 Levels of Performance: There shall be five levels of
student performance relative to the State Content Standards
on the assessments administered to students in grades 3, 5, 8
and 10 in reading, mathematics and writing and to students
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in grades 4, 6, 8 and 11 in social studies and science.  In
reading, writing and mathematics at grades 3, 5, 8 and 10
and science and social studies at grades 4, 6, 8 and 11 the cut
points for Exceeds the Standard and Meets the Standard shall
be determined by the Department of Education with the
consent of the State Board of Education, using advice from a
standard setting body.  The standard setting body shall utilize
a proven method for setting standards on test instruments
that utilizes student work in making the recommendation.
Beginning with the 2006 assessments, there shall be the
same five levels of performance for students in grades 4, 6, 7
and 9 in reading, mathematics and writing.  Said levels are
defined and shall be determined as follows:

2.1 Distinguished Performance (Level 5):  A student's
performance in the tested domain is deemed exceptional.
Students in this category show mastery of the Delaware
Content Standards beyond what is expected of students
performing at the top of the grade level.  Student
performance in this range is often exemplified by responses
that indicate a willingness to go beyond the task, and could
be classified as "exemplary." The cut points for
Distinguished Performance shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education.

2.2 Exceeds the Performance Standard (Level 4):  A
student's performance in the tested domain goes well beyond
the fundamental skills and knowledge required for students
to Meet the Performance Standard.  Students in this category
show mastery of the Delaware Content Standards beyond
what is expected at the grade level.  Student performance in
this range is often exemplified by work that is of the quality
to which all students should aspire, and could be classified as
"very good."  The cut points for Exceeds the Performance
Standard shall be determined by the Department of
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education.

2.3 Meets the Performance Standard (Level 3):  A
student's performance in the tested domain indicates an
understanding of the fundamental skills and knowledge
articulated in the Delaware Content Standards.  Students in
this category show mastery of the Delaware Content
Standards at grade level.  Student performance in this range
can be classified as "good."  The cut points for Meets the
Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education.

2.4 Below the Performance Standard (Level 2):  A
student's performance in the tested domain shows a partial or
incomplete understanding of the fundamental skills and
knowledge articulated in the Delaware Content Standards.
Students who are Below the Performance Standard may
require additional instruction in order to succeed in further
academic pursuits, and can be classified as academically
“deficient.” The cut points for Below the Performance
Standard shall be determined by the Department of

Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education.
2.5 Well Below the Performance Standard (Level 1):  A

student's performance in the tested domain shows an
incomplete and a clearly unsatisfactory understanding of the
fundamental skills and knowledge articulated in the
Delaware Content Standards. Students who are Well Below
the Performance Standard have demonstrated broad
deficiencies in terms of the standards indicating that they are
poorly prepared to succeed in further academic pursuits and
can be classified as “very deficient.”  The cut points for Well
Below the Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education.

3.0 Other Indicators of Student Performance
3.1 Local school districts and charter schools may

consider other indicators of student performance relative to
the state content standards pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(b)
when determining the placement of students who score at
Level 1 or Level II on a mandated retake of a portion of the
DSTP.  Pursuant to14 Del.C. 153(d)(2) and 153 (d)(12),
local school districts and charter schools may also consider
other indicators of student performance relative to the state
content standards when determining if a student may
advance to the next grade level without attending summer
school.  The only other indicators of student performance
that may be considered by a local school district or charter
school are: student performance on district administered
tests pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(e)(1); student performance
on end-of-course assessments; student classroom work
products and classroom grades supported by evidence of
student work that demonstrates a student’s performance
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(a).

3.2 Any local school district or charter school planning
to use other indicators of student performance shall submit
the proposed indicators to the Department of Education by
September 1st of each year

3.2.1 Any such submission must include a
demonstration of how an indicator of student performance
aligns with and measures state content standards and the
level of performance required to demonstrate performance
equivalent to meeting state content standards.

3.2.2 Any proposed indicators of student
performance must be approved by the Department of
Education following consultation with the Student
Assessment and Accountability Committee and the State
Board of Education.

3.3 An academic review committee composed of
educators in the student’s local school district or charter
school may then determine if a student has demonstrated
proficient performance relative to the state content standards
using evidence from the other indicators of student
performance as approved by the Department of Education.

3.3.1 The academic review committee shall be
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composed of two classroom teachers from the student’s
tested grade, one classroom teacher from the grade to which
the student may be promoted, one guidance counselor or
other student support staff member and two school building
administrators.

3.3.2 The supervisor of curriculum or
instruction for the school district or charter school or his/ her
designee shall chair the committee.

3.3.3 Placement of students with disabilities
who are eligible for special education and related services is
determined by the student’s IEP team.

4.0 Individual Improvement Plan (IIP)
4.1 The following students are required to have an

Individual Improvement Plan: Students who score below
Level 3 Meets the Standard, on the reading portion of the 3rd,
5th or 8th grade Delaware Student Testing Program or the
mathematics portion of the 8th grade Delaware Student
Testing Program shall have an Individual Improvement Plan
prepared by school personnel and signed by the teacher(s),
principal or designee and a parent or legal guardian of the
student.   

4.1.1 Students assessed on the DSTP in grades
K, 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, and 9 who are not progressing satisfactorily
toward the standards or who score at Level 1 or Level 2 in
reading shall have an Individual Improvement Plan prepared
by school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal
or designee and a parent or legal guardian of the student.
Students assessed on the DSTP in grades 6, 7, and 9 who are
not progressing satisfactorily toward the standards or who
score at Level 1 or Level 2 in mathematics shall have an
Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel
and signed by the teacher(s), principal or designee and a
parent or legal guardian of the student.

4.2 The Individual Improvement Plan shall be on a
form adopted by the student’s school district or charter
school.  The IIP shall be placed in a student’s cumulative file
and shall be updated based on the results of further
assessments.  Such assessments may include further DSTP
results as well as local assessments, classroom observations
or inventories.  For students with an Individualized
Education Program (IEP), the IEP shall serve as the
Individual Improvement Plan (IIP).

4.3 The Individual Improvement Plan shall at a
minimum identify a specific course of study for the student
that the school will provide and the academic improvement
activities that the student shall undertake to help the student
progress towards meeting the standards.  Academic
improvement activities may include mandatory participation
in summer school, extra instruction and/or mentoring
programs.

4.4 Individual Improvement Plan shall be prepared by
school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal or

designee and the parent or legal guardian of the student.  A
parent or the student’s legal guardian must sign and return a
copy of the student’s Individual Improvement Plan to the
student’s school by the end of the first marking period.

4.5 Disputes initiated by a student’s parent or legal
guardian concerning the student’s IIP shall be decided by the
academic review committee. Any dispute concerning the
content of a student’s IEP is subject to resolution in
conformity with the Regulations, Children with Disabilities.

5.0 Summer school programs for students in grades 3, 5,
and 8 as required pursuant to 14 Del.C. § 153.

5.1 Summer school programs shall be provided by the
student’s district of residence with the following exceptions:

5.1.1Where a student attends another district as a
result of school choice or attends a charter school the district
of choice or charter school shall provide the summer school
program.

5.1.2 Where by mutual agreement of both
districts or a charter school and the parent or guardian of the
student another district provides services.

5.1.3 Where by mutual agreement of the
student’s school district or a charter school and the student’s
parent or guardian, the parent or guardian arranges for
summer school instruction to be provided outside the public
school system.  Under such conditions the parent or guardian
shall  be responsible for the cost of providing non-public
school instruction unless the districts or the charter school
and parents or guardian agree otherwise. Requirements for
secondary testing shall be met.

5.1.4 Where a student has been offered
admission into a vocational technical school district or
charter school that district or charter school may provide
summer school services.

6.0 High School Diploma Index As Derived from the 10th

Grade Assessments Pursuant to 14 Del.C. § 152.
6.1 Students who graduate from a Delaware public high

school, as members of the class of 2004 and beyond shall be
subject to the diploma index as stated herein.

6.1.1 Beginning in 2002 for the graduating class
of 2004, the Department shall calculate a diploma index
based upon the student’s grade 10 Delaware Student Testing
Program performance levels in reading, writing, and
mathematics.

6.1.2 Beginning in 2005 for the graduating class
of 2006, the Department shall calculate a diploma index
based upon the student’s grade 10 Delaware Student Testing
Program performance levels in reading, writing,
mathematics and the grade 11 Delaware Student Testing
Program performance levels in science and social studies.

6.2 A student may choose to participate in additional
scheduled administrations of the DSTP in order to improve
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his/her diploma index.  The highest earned performance
level in each content area will be used in calculating the
diploma index.

6.3 The diploma index shall be calculated by
multiplying the earned performance level in each content
area by the assigned weight and summing the results.

6.3.1 Beginning with the year 2002, the
assigned weights shall be .40 for reading, .40 for
mathematics, and .20 for writing for the graduating class of
2004 and 2005.

6.3.2 Beginning with the year 2005, the
assigned weights shall be .20 for reading, .20 for
mathematics, .20 for writing, .20 for science and .20 for
social studies for the graduating class of 2006 and beyond. 

6.4 Students shall qualify for State of Delaware High
School diplomas as follows:

6.4.1 A student shall be awarded a
Distinguished State Diploma upon attainment of a diploma
index greater than or equal to 4.0 provided that the student
has attained a Performance Level 3 or higher in each content
area and provided that the student has met all other
requirements for graduation as established by the State and
local districts or charter schools.

6.4.2 A student shall be awarded a Standard
State Diploma upon attainment of a diploma index greater
than or equal to 3.0 and provided that the student has met all
other requirements for graduation as established by the State
and local districts or charter schools. 

6.4.3 A student shall be awarded a Basic State
Diploma upon attainment of a diploma index less than 3.0
and provided that the student has met all other requirements
for graduation as established by the State and local districts
or charter schools.

6.5 Parent or Guardian Notification: Within 30 days of
receiving student performance levels and/or diploma indices,
school districts and charter schools shall provide written
notice of the same and the consequences thereof to the
student’s parent or legal guardian.  

7.0 Security and Confidentiality:  In order to assure uniform
and secure procedures, the Delaware Student Testing
Program shall be administered pursuant to the Delaware
Student Testing Program Coordinators Handbook, as the
same, may from time to time be amended hereafter.

7.1 Every district superintendent, district test
coordinator, school principal, school test coordinator and test
administrator shall sign the certification provided by the
Department of Education regarding test security before,
during and after test administration.

7.2 Violation of the security or confidentiality of any
test required by the Delaware Code and the Regulations of
the Department of Education shall be prohibited.

7.3 Procedures for maintaining the security and
confidentiality of a test shall be specified in the appropriate

test administration materials in 14 Del.C. §170 through
§174.

7.4 Procedures for Reporting Security Breaches 
7.4.1 School Test Coordinators shall report any

questionable situations to the District Test Coordinators
immediately.

7.4.2 District Test Coordinators shall report all
situations immediately to the State Director of Assessment
and Analysis. 

7.4.2.1 Within 5 days of the incident the
District Test Coordinator shall file a written report with the
State Director of Assessment and Analysis that includes the
sequence of events leading up to the situation, statements by
everyone interviewed, and any action either disciplinary or
procedural, taken by the district.

7.4.2.2 Following a review of the report by
the State Director of Assessment and Analysis and the
Associate Secretary of Education for Assessment and
Accountability, an investigator from the State Department of
Education will be assigned to verify the district report.

7.4.2.3 Within 10 days of the receipt of the
report from the District Test Coordinator, the assigned
investigator shall meet with the district personnel involved in
the alleged violation. The meeting will be scheduled through
the District Test Coordinator and the investigator shall be
provided access to all parties involved and/or to any
witnesses.

7.4.2.4 The investigator shall report the
findings to the Associate Secretary for Assessment and
Accountability.  Following the review the Associate
Secretary shall make a ruling describing any
recommendations and or required actions. 

7.4.2.5 The ruling shall be delivered within
10 days of the receipt of all reports and information and
records shall be kept of all investigations.

8.0 Procedures for reviewing questions and response sheets
from the Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP)  

8.1 School personnel, local school board members and
the public may request to review the Delaware Student
Testing Program (DSTP) questions.  In order to review the
DSTP questions individuals shall make a request in writing
to the State Director of Assessment and Analysis for an
appointment at the Department of Education. 

8.1.1 At the time of the appointment, the
individual shall: provide proper identification upon arrival,
sign a confidentiality document, remain with a Department
of Education staff member while reviewing the test
questions and take nothing out of the viewing area. 

8.1.2 The Department of Education’s
responsibility is to do the following: schedule the review at a
mutually agreeable time, notify the local district that the
review has been requested, review the procedures for
looking at the DSTP questions, assist the individual(s) as
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requested and keep records of all reviews.
8.1.3 In cases where more than one individual is

requesting to view the DSTP questions, the local school
district shall send a representative to sit in on the review.

8.2 Parent/guardian(s) may request to view the test
questions and their student’s  responses.  In order to review
the DSTP questions and their student’s responses parents/
guardian(s) shall make a request in writing to the State
Director of Assessment and Analysis for an appointment at
the Department of Education.  The Department shall be
allowed sufficient time to secure a copy of student responses
from the test vendor.

8.2.1 At the time of the appointment, the
individual shall: provide proper identification upon arrival,
sign a confidentiality document, remain with a Department
of Education staff member while reviewing the test
questions and take nothing out of the viewing area. 

8.2.2 The Department of Education’s
responsibility is to do the following: schedule the review at a
mutually agreeable time, notify the local district that the
review has been requested, review the procedures for
looking at the DSTP questions, assist the individual(s) as
requested and keep records of all reviews.

8.2.3 In the case of the stand-alone writing
response, the parent/guardian(s) may go to the local school
district or charter school to view the test responses.

9.0 Invalidations and Special Exemptions 
9.1 Invalidations for students in grades 3, 5, 8 and 10

for reading, writing and mathematics and grades 4, 6, 8 and
11 for science and social studies: Invalidations are events or
situations that occur during the administration of the DSTP
assessments which may result in a statistically unreliable
score report for a student. Invalidations may occur as a result
of either: intentional student conduct, including but not
limited to cheating and disruptive behavior; or unforeseen
and uncontrollable events, including but not limited to onset
of illness.

9.1.1 Reporting of situations that occur during
testing.

9.1.1.1 The school building principal or
designee shall notify the District Test Coordinator in writing
within 24 hours of events or situations that the principal
reasonably believes may result in an invalid score report for
a student(s).

9.1.1.2 The District Test Coordinator shall
notify the Department of Education staff person assigned to
the district for test security purposes as soon as the
Coordinator learns of events or situations which may result
in invalidation(s). 

9.1.1.2.1 The District Test
Coordinator shall submit a DSTP Incident Report Form
within three business days of the events. Written reports
from the building principal or designee and any staff must be

included with the DSTP Incident Report Form.
9.1.1.3 The Director of Assessment for the

Department of Education shall determine whether the
reported events warrant invalidating a student(s) score and
such decision shall be final.

9.1.1.3.1 If the Director determines
that the events also warrant a security investigation the
matter will be referred to the Department of Education staff
person assigned to the district for test security purposes.

9.1.2 Consequences of invalidations.
9.1.2.1 Whenever the Director of Assessment

for the Department of Education determines that a student’s
assessment test score is invalid as a result of an intentional
act of the student, the student will be assigned a performance
level 1 (well below standard) for that assessment and will be
subject to such consequences as may otherwise be imposed
pursuant to law for students who score at performance level
1 of the assessment; the assessment test score of any such
student shall be reported and counted in the test scores of the
student’s school for all purposes, including school and
district accountability.

9.1.2.2 Whenever the Director of Assessment
for the Department of Education determines that a student’s
assessment test score is invalid as a result of an event which
is unforeseen and beyond the control of the student and if the
student is unable to participate in a regularly scheduled test
make-up, the student shall not be subject to any of the
consequences as would otherwise be imposed pursuant to
law; the assessment score of any such student shall not be
reported or counted in the test scores of the student’s school
for any purpose, including school and district accountability.

9.2 Special Exemptions for students in grades 3, 5, 8,
and 10 for reading, writing and mathematics and grades 4, 6,
8 and 11 for science and social studies: A special exemption
may be available when a student’s short-term, physical or
mental condition prevents the student from participating in
the DSTP assessments even with accommodations, or when
an emergency arising before the start of the test prevents the
student’s participation.

9.2.1 Special exemptions for students who are
tested according to the Department of Education’s
Guidelines for Inclusion of Students with Disabilities and
Students with Limited English Proficiency are also available
as provided in the Guidelines.

9.2.2 Requests for special exemptions based on
physical or mental condition.

9.2.2.1 Special exemptions based on a
student’s physical or mental condition may be available for
students suffering from terminal illnesses or injuries or
receiving extraordinary short-term medical treatment for
either a physical or psychiatric condition. Requests for
exemptions on these grounds shall be accompanied by a
signed statement from the student’s treating physician
which; describes the nature of the terminal condition or
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extraordinary treatment; confirms that the terminal condition
or the extraordinary treatment arose more than 60 calendar
days before the test administration for which the exemption
is requested and has substantially prevented the student from
accessing educational services since its inception ; and
confirms that the condition or treatment is expected to be
resolved or completed within 12 months of the test
administration.

9.2.2.2 The District Test Coordinator shall
submit a completed Request for Special Exemption Form to
the Director of Assessment for the Department of Education
at least 60 calendar days before the first day of testing. A
copy of the physician’s statement required in the preceding
subsection will accompany the request.

9.2.2.2.1 The Director of Assessment
shall convene a review committee of not less than three
Department of Education  staff to review requests for special
exemptions. The Director shall submit a recommendation on
each request to the Associate Secretary for Assessment and
Accountability.

9.2.2.2.2 The Associate Secretary
shall decide whether a request for a special exemption based
on physical or mental conditions should be granted. The
Associate Secretary shall notify the District Test Coordinator
of the decision.  The Associate Secretary’s decision shall be
final.

9.2.3 Request for special exemptions based on
emergency.

9.2.3.1 Emergencies are unforeseen events or
situations arising no more than 60 calendar days before the
start of the test administration. They may include, but are not
limited to, death in a student’s immediate family, childbirth,
accidents, injuries and hospitalizations.

9.2.3.2 Special exemptions due to an
emergency may be requested for the entire test or for one or
more content areas, as the district determines appropriate.

9.2.3.3 The District Test Coordinator shall
notify the Director of Assessment for the Department of
Education as soon as the Coordinator learns of events or
situations which may result in a request for a special
exemption due to an emergency.

9.2.3.3.1 The District Test
Coordinator shall submit a completed DSTP Request for
Special Exemption Form to the Director of Assessment for
the Department of Education  within 7 calendar days of the
last day for make up testing. Requests for exemptions on
these grounds shall be accompanied by a signed statement
from the student’s treating physician which describes the
nature of the situation.

9.2.3.3.2 The Director of Assessment
shall convene a review committee of not less than three
Department of Education staff to review requests for special
exemptions due to an emergency. The Director shall submit a
recommendation on each request to the Associate Secretary

for Assessment and Accountability.   
9.2.3.3.3 The Associate Secretary

shall decide whether a request for a special exemption based
on an emergency should be granted. The Associate Secretary
shall notify the District Test Coordinator of the decision.
The Associate Secretary’s decision shall be final.

9.2.4 Consequences of Special Exemptions.
9.2.4.1 Any special exemption granted by the

Department of Education is limited to the testing period for
which it was requested and does not carry forward to future
test administrations.

9.2.4.2 Students who are granted a special
exemption shall not be reported or counted in the school’s
test scores for any purpose, including school and district
accountability.

9.2.4.3 Students who are granted a special
exemption shall not be subject to any of the student testing
consequences for students in grades 3, 5, or 8 for the testing
period to which the exemption applies.

See 4 DE Reg. 464 9/1/00
See 5 DE Reg. 620 (9/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg. 2115 (5/1/02) 

Regulatory Implementing Order

215 Strategic Planning

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to repeal regulation
215 Strategic Planning.  The regulation directs the local
school districts to maintain a strategic planning process. The
local school districts have the authority to administer and
supervise their schools under the Delaware Code in Chapter
10 which includes establishing policies on strategic
planning.  In addition, the districts are required by numerous
state and federal laws to produce planning documents.  The
Department of Education does not need to regulate the
planning processes of the local school districts.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on June 18,
2003, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”  No
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to repeal this
regulation because the planning process is within the
authority of the local school districts as per 14 Del. C.
Chapter 10.
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III. Decision to repeal the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to repeal the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del. C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit
“B” is hereby repealed.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation repealed hereby shall be in the
form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation 14
DE Admin. Code § 215 shall be removed from the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122 on August 6, 2003.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 6th day of August 2003.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

215  Strategic Planning

1.0  Each school district shall maintain a multi-year strategic
planning process to serve as the foundation for all other
required plans and grant applications and for the purpose of
assuring and monitoring continuous program improvement
and student achievement.

See 2 DE Reg. 961 (12/1/98)

Regulatory Implementing Order

610  Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems 
Component  (14 Del.C.  Section 1604 of Chapter 16 

Comprehensive School Discipline Improvement Program 
August 1998)

I. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation

The Secretary of Education intends to re-adopt
regulation 610 Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems
Component  (14 Del.C. Section 1604 of Chapter 16
Comprehensive School Discipline Improvement Program
August 1998).  The regulation is due for action as per the
regulation review cycle and although adjustments need to be
made to the regulation, the regulation is being recommended

for re-adoption until the needed research is completed and
the adjustments can be made.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on June 18,
2003, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A” Comments
were received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for
Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities.  The comments received on regulation 610
concerning Sections 1.0 and 8.0 are currently being reviewed
along with the data collected relevant to the amendments that
are planned immediately following the re-adoption of the
regulation.

II. Findings Of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to re-adopt this
regulation since is due for action as per the regulation review
cycle and although adjustments need to be made to the
regulation, the regulation is being re-adoption until the
needed research is completed and the adjustments can be
made.

III. Decision to re-adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to re-adopt the regulation.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del. C. Chapter 16, the regulation attached
hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby re-adopted.  Pursuant to the
provision of 14 Del. C. §122(e), the regulation hereby re-
adopted shall be in effect for a period of five years from the
effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation re-adopted hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §610 in the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. Chapter 16 on August 6,
2003.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 6th day of August 2003.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education
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610  Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems 
Component  (14 Del.C.  Section 1604 of Chapter 16 

Comprehensive School Discipline Improvement Program 
August 1998)

1.0 Population to be Served:  Except as otherwise
provided herein, all students who are expelled by a local
school district or are in danger of being expelled shall be
placed in the alternative program unless the student is
expelled for an offense equivalent to a violation of one of the
following:  11 Del.C. §613 (Assault in the First Degree); or
11 Del.C. §1457 (Possession of a Weapon in a Safe School
and Recreation Zone); or 11 Del.C. §802 (Arson in the
Second Degree); or 11 Del.C. §803 (Arson in the First
Degree); or 11 Del.C. §771 (Unlawful Sexual Penetration in
the Second Degree); or 11 Del.C. §772 (Unlawful Sexual
Penetration in the First Degree); or 11 Del.C. §773
(Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in the Third Degree); or 11
Del.C. §774 (Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in the Second
Degree); or 11 Del.C. §775 (Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in
the First Degree); or 16 Del.C. §4753A (Trafficking
Marijuana, Cocaine, Illegal Drugs or Methamphetamine).

2.0 Non-referral of Students:  In any case in which an
expelled student is not referred to an alternative program, the
decision of the local school district to expel shall state with
specificity the reason for non-referral and the evidence in
support thereof.

3.0 Informing the Legal Guardian:  Districts shall inform
the legal guardian of students for whom expulsion is being
considered or who are expelled of the alternative education
options that are then currently available to the students.
These options shall include but not be limited to the
alternative program, GED programs, James H. Groves High
School and others.

4.0 Age/Grade Level to be Served:  Eligible students shall
be primarily those who are enrolled in grades 6 through 12,
however students in lower grades may also be served
through these funds.

5.0 Placement in Alternative Programs:  Each district
shall establish an Alternative Placement Team to review
each case and prescribe the appropriate placement for each
student. The Placement Team, in concert with the
Alternative Program staff, shall design an Individual Service
Plan (ISP) for each student that will include educational
goals, behavioral goals, and services needed by both the
student and his/her family.  The ISP shall include a tentative
re-entry/transition plan.  The Alternative Placement Team
shall be composed of a representative of the Alternative
Program staff; a district level coordinator who will be
designated by the superintendent; the building level

principal, assistant principal or other person as appropriate;
student’s custodial adult; guidance counselor and/or school
social worker; representatives from DSCYF such as Youth
Rehabilitation Service or other worker with whom the family
is involved as appropriate.  Other school, alternative
program, or agency personnel may be invited as needed and
determined by the Placement Team.  Students who are being
placed in the Alternative Program as a transition from
DSCYF facilities will have an ISP developed in concert with
the DSCYF facility team, the Alternative Placement Team,
and the student’s custodial adult.  If students from either a
school district or DSCYF facility are students with
disabilities, appropriate special education staff shall be
included in placement considerations.  The Alternative
Placement Team and the IEP Team may be the same.

6.0 September 30 Enrollment Count:  A student enrolled
in an Alternative Program may be counted in the regular
school enrollment count.  If enrolled the previous year in a
special education program in the reporting school, the
student may continue to be reported for the same level of
special education service as was received the previous year.
If enrolled the previous year in a vocational program in the
reporting school, the student may be reported as enrolled in
the next vocational course in the program series.

7.0 Alternative Program Setting:  The Alternative
Program setting shall be apart from the regular school
setting, however, a part of a school building may be used for
these programs so long as the students do not interact with
the regular school population or use any school facility at the
same time as the regular school population.  Use of other
agency facilities (Boys and Girls Club, YMCA, YWCA,
etc.) is encouraged.  Settings shall meet safety regulations
for student occupancy as outlined in Delaware Code.

8.0 Alternative Program Design:  The Alternative
Program shall include an educational program designed to
maintain and improve skills at least in core academic areas
such as English/language arts, mathematics, science, and
social studies that will allow students to re-enter the regular
school program with a reasonable chance and expectation for
success.  Every effort shall be made to provide courses
comparable to the regular school setting for each student.
Opportunities for academic acceleration will also be
provided.  The academic program should focus on applied
learning activities that encourage students’ active
participation in the learning process as opposed to work
sheets and other “seat oriented” drill exercises.  Credit for
work accomplished in the Alternative Program setting shall
be automatically transferred to the regular school.  Included
in the academic core studies should be study skills, test
taking strategies, and academic confidence building.
Counseling and other services shall be delivered on-site for
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students.

9.0 Staffing:  Instructional staff shall include at least two
certified teachers in the major academic subject areas who
can provide the lead for academic instruction and at least two
instructional/service aides.  Priority should be given to hiring
staff who are qualified to teach special education.

10.0 Students With Disabilities:  Notwithstanding any
of the provisions to the contrary, students with disabilities
shall be served pursuant to the provisions of Regulation 925,
Children with Disabilities. 

See 2 DE Reg. 374 (9/1/98)

Regulatory Implementing Order

878 School District Compliance With the Gun Free 
School Act

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation
878 School District Compliance with the Gun Free School
Act.  The title has been changed by removing the words
“School District” to reflect that charter schools must also
comply with this regulation.  The number has been changed
to 603 placing the regulation in the Discipline section (600)
of the Regulations of the Department of Education rather
than in the Health and Safety section (800) since the focus of
the regulation is the penalties for gun possession.  The
amended version of the regulation still requires school
districts to have a Gun Free Schools policy implementing the
Gun Free Schools Act (20 USC § 7175) but the policy now
also includes charter schools. The amended regulation
continues to contain reporting requirements but the specific
content of those requirements has been updated to reflect the
language of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on June 18,
2003, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”  Comments
were received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for
Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities.  

The reference number for the Federal statute pointed out
in regulation 878 has been corrected and the Department
carefully considered the concern that Section 3.0 of the
proposed regulation is under inclusive because it mentions
only the IDEA, and does not specifically refer to the Section
504 of the Rehabilitation Act.  The Department respectfully
disagrees. 

The Gun-Free Schools Act does not mention the
Rehabilitation Act or any of the other federal laws which

protect persons with disabilities from unlawful
discrimination. Instead, the GFSA only specifically requires
that the GFSA be construed consistent with the IDEA. (20
U.S.C. Section 7151(c).  The proposed regulation reflects
this requirement. 

Also, the federal regulations implementing Section 504
for preschool, elementary and secondary education programs
apply to programs and recipients that receive or benefit from
federal financial assistance. (34 C.F.R. Section 104.31).
Department regulation 225 already prohibits discrimination
on the basis of disability in these programs. It is unnecessary
to repeat the prohibition in each Department regulation.
Section 504 and the federal policy statements do not require
the state educational agencies to repeat the Section 504
regulations in its own regulations. Instead, compliance with
Section 504 falls primarily on the local agencies. 

The proposed regulation fulfills the Department's duties
under federal law and aligns exactly with the approach taken
by Congress in the Gun-Free Schools Act. Accordingly, it
will be adopted as originally proposed (except for correcting
the citation error).

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation in order to comply with the language of the No
Child Left Behind Act of 2001 and to add Charter Schools to
the regulation.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of
14 Del. C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code § 603 in the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122 on August 6, 2003.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.
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IT IS SO ORDERED the 6th day of August 2003.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

878  School District Compliance With Gun-Free Schools 
Act

The Gun-Free Schools Act was enacted on March 31,
1994, as part of the Goals 2000: Educate America Act.  The
Gun-Free Schools Act amends the current Elementary and
Secondary Education Act of 1965 (20 USC 2701 et seg)
ESEA.

1.0  Each school district requesting assistance under the
Elementary and Secondary Education Act shall, according to
the Federal Statute:

1.1  Have a written policy requiring the expulsion from
school of not less than one year of any student who brings a
weapon (see Section 921 of Title 18, US Code) to a school
under the jurisdiction of the district.  Modification to the
expulsion requirement may be made on a case-by-case basis.

1.2  Submit by June 1 (annually) to the Department of
Education an assurance that the required policy is in effect.
This requirement can be met by submitting a copy of the
District Code of Conduct with the requested policy included.

1.3  Submit to the Department of Education:
1.3.1  Description of the circumstances of each and

every expulsion imposed under the policy through the
reporting requirements for 16 Del.C. §4112, Reporting
School Crimes.

1.3.2  Annual report of all expulsions imposed
under this policy through the annual suspension and
expulsion reporting system.

2.0  Each school district requesting assistance under the
ESEA shall develop and submit to the Department of
Education (beginning in December, 1994), for review and
approval, a written policy which includes the following at a
minimum:

2.1  The use of the following definition in the district
policy:  The term weapon as used in the Gun-Free Act means
a firearm as defined in Section 921 of Title 18, United States
Code.

2.2  Expulsion from school of not less than one year for
any student who brings a weapon (firearm) to a school under
the jurisdiction of the district.

2.3  An outline of the modification process that may be
used on a case-by-case basis.

2.4  A statement that the policy shall apply to all
students; except for students with disabilities, the federal law
will be followed and a determination will be made prior to
any discipline or change of placement in connection with the
policy as to whether or not the violation of the firearm policy

was due to the student's handicapping condition.
2.5  A system of notification of each student and his/her

parent/guardian/ custodial adult at the beginning of the
school year, and whenever a student enters or re-enters the
school during the school year of the policy.

See 1 DE Reg. 1976 (6/1/98)

603  Compliance with the Gun-Free Schools Act

1.0 Each school district and charter school requesting
assistance under the Elementary and Secondary Education
Act (ESEA) shall have a written policy implementing the
Gun Free Schools Act [(20 USC §4141) (20 USC § 7151)]
and 11 Del.C. §1457(j) or its successor statute. At a
minimum, the policy must contain the following elements:

1.1 A student who is determined to have brought a
firearm to school, or to have possessed a firearm at school,
shall be expelled for not less than one year. 

1.2 Modification to the expulsion requirement may be
made on a case-by-case basis. Any modification to the
expulsion requirement must be made in writing. 

1.3 The definition of “firearm” shall be the same as the
meaning given to the term in 18 USC §921(a).

2.0 Each school district and charter school requesting
assistance under the ESEA shall submit the following to the
Department by June 1 each year, in such form as the
Department requires:

2.1 An assurance that its policies comply with this
regulation and with 11 Del.C. §1457(j) or its successor
statute.

2.2 Descriptions of the expulsions imposed under 11
Del.C. §1457(j) or its successor statute and under the policy
implemented in accord with this regulation.

3.0 Nothing in this regulation shall alter a district or charter
school’s duties pursuant to the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services (DSS) initiated proceedings to
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amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it
relates to food stamp benefits to certain qualified aliens.
These mandatory provisions must be implemented on
October 1, 2003, in accordance with Title IV of the Farm
Security and Rural Investment Act of 2002.  The
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the July 2003 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by July
31, 2003 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary Of Proposed Change

Restores food stamp eligibility to qualified aliens who
are under the age of eighteen (18) regardless of their date of
entry and who are otherwise eligible.  Current law requires
them to have been in the country on August 22, 1996.

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response 

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD)
offered the following comment:

SCPD endorses the amendment since Federal law
apparently mandates it and access to sufficient
nourishment is correlated with health.

Agency Response: DSS thanks you for the endorsement.

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the July 2003 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the policy of the Food Stamp Program
as it relates to certain qualified aliens is adopted and shall be
final effective September 10, 2003.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 8/15/03 

DSS Final Order Regulation #03-28
DSSM 9007.1  Citizenship And Alien Status

Household members meeting citizenship or alien status
requirements.

The following residents of the United States are eligible
to participate in the Food Stamp Program without limitations
based on their citizenship/alienage status:

1. Persons born in the 50 states and the District of
Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Islands, and the
Northern Mariana Islands. Children born outside the United
States are citizens if at least one of the parents is a citizen;

2. Naturalized citizens or a United States non-
citizen national (person born in an outlaying possession of
the United States, like American Samoa or Sawin’s Island, or
whose parents are U.S. non-citizen nationals;

3. Individuals who are:
(A) An American Indian born in Canada who

possesses at least 50 per centum of blood of the American
Indian race to whom the provisions of section 289 of the
Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) apply;

(B) A member of an Indian tribe as defined in
section 4(e) of the Indian Self-Determination and Education
Assistance Act which is recognized as eligible for the special
programs and services provided by the U. S. to Indians
because of their status as Indians;

(C) Lawfully residing in the U. S. and was a
member of a Hmong or Highland Laotian tribe at the time
that the tribe rendered assistance to U. S. personnel by taking
part in a military or rescue operation during the Vietnam era
beginning August 5, 1964, and ending May 7, 1975;

(i) The spouse or surviving spouse of
such Hmong or Highland Laotian who is deceased, or

(ii) An unmarried dependent child of such
Hmong or Highland Laotian who is under the age of 22; an
unmarried child under the age of 18 or if a full-time student
under the age of 22 of such a deceased Hmong or Highland
Laotian provided that the child was dependent upon him or
her at the time of his or her death; or an unmarried disabled
child age 18 or older if the child was disabled and dependent
prior to the child’s 18th birthday.

4. Individuals who are eligible indefinitely due to
being:

(A) lawfully admitted for permanent residence
(LPR) who can be credited with 40 quarters of work as
determined under Title II of the Social Security Act,
including qualifying quarters of work not covered by Title II
of the Social Security Act, based on the sum of: quarters the
alien worked; quarters credited from the work of a parent of
the alien before the alien became 18 (including quarters
worked before the alien was born or adopted); and quarters
credited from the work of a spouse of an alien during their
marriage if they are still married or the spouse is deceased.
A spouse cannot get credit for quarters of coverage of a
spouse when the couple divorces before a determination of
eligibility is made.  If a determination of eligibility has been
made based on the quarters of coverage of a spouse, and the
couple later divorces, the alien’s eligibility continues until
the next recertification.  At that time, eligibility is
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determined without crediting the alien with the former
spouse’s quarters of coverage.  (Beginning January 1, 1997,
any quarter in which the alien received any Federal means-
tested benefits does not count as a qualifying quarter.  A
parent’s or spouse’s quarter is not creditable if the parent or
spouse received any Federal means-tested benefits or
actually received food stamps in that quarter.  If an alien
earns the 40th quarter of coverage before applying for food
stamps or any other Federal means-tested benefit in that
same quarter, all that quarter toward the 40 qualifying
quarters total.);

(B) lawfully in US on 8/22/96 and is now
under 18 years of age;

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services (DSS) initiated proceedings to
amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM).
DSS is proposing to amend the its Food Stamp Program as it
relates to anticipating income and reporting changes.  These
mandatory provisions will be implemented on October 1,
2003.  The Department’s proceedings to amend its
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the July 2003 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by July
31, 2003 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

No comments were received during the public comment
period.

Summary Of Proposed Changes 

• DSSM 9038 – Requires verification of changes in
income when the change is greater than $50 in stead
of the current $25.  Removes language about actual
utilities since DSS does not use actual utilities in
food stamps anymore.

• DSSM 9063.3 – Allows States to average the
income of households with fluctuating income
without the household opting to have its income
averaged.  Clarifies that conversion of income is
not averaging of income.

• DSSM 9085 – Six-month reporting is now known
as simplified reporting. Changes the reporting
threshold of $25 per month to $50 per month for
regular change reporting households.  Adds a
sentence about changes in the sources of income.
For reportable changes in income, allows the
change to be reported within 10 days of the date
when the household receives its first payment.

• DSSM 9085.2 – clarifies that action is to be taken
on a change that is anticipated to continue into the
month after the month the change is reported.

Citations: 

• 7 CFR §§273.10 and 273.12
• Federal Register, Volume 68, Number 82, Food

Stamp Program: Anticipating Income and
Reporting Changes by FNS/USDA, effective May
29, 2003 and, must be implemented by November
1, 2003.

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the July 2003 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Food Stamp Program policy as it
relates to anticipating income and reporting changes is
adopted and shall be final effective September 10, 2003.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 8/15/03 

DSS Final Order Regulations #03-29
DSSM 9038 Verification Subsequent to Initial 

Certification

[273.2(f)(8)]

A. Recertification - Verify a change in income or actual
utility expenses if the source has changed or the amount has
changed by more than $25 $50.  Previously unreported
medical expenses and total recurring medical expenses
which have changed by more than $25 shall also be verified
at recertification.  Do not verify income if the source has not
changed and if the amount is unchanged or has changed by
$25 $50 or less unless the information is incomplete,
inaccurate or inconsistent.  Do not verify total medical
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expenses or actual utility expenses claimed by households
which are unchanged or have changed by $25 or less, unless
the information is incomplete, inaccurate or inconsistent.

Verify any changes in the legal obligation to pay child
support, the obligated amount, and the amount of actual
payments made to non household members for households
eligible for the child support deduction.  Verify unchanged
child support payments only if questionable.

Verify newly obtained Social Security Numbers at
recertification according to procedures outlined in DSSM
9032.5.

Other information which has changed may be verified at
recertification.  Do not verify unchanged information unless
the information is incomplete, inaccurate or inconsistent.

B. Changes - Changes reported during the certification
period are subject to the same verification procedures as
apply at initial certification, except that we shall not verify
changes in income if the source has not changed and if the
amount has changed by $25  $50 or less, unless the
information is incomplete, inaccurate or inconsistent.  Do
not verify total medical expenses, or actual utility expenses
unless the information is incomplete, inaccurate or
inconsistent.

For individuals who are satisfying the ABAWD work
requirements by working, by combining work and
participation in a work program, or by participating in a
work or workfare program that is not operated or supervised
by the State, the individuals’ work hours shall be verified.

9063.3 Income Averaging
[273.10(c)(3)]

Households, except destitute households and PA
households subject to a monthly reporting requirement, may
elect to have income averaged.

Do not average income for a destitute household since
averaging would result in assigning to the month of
application income from future periods which is not
available to the destitute household for its current food
needs.

To average income, use the household's anticipation of
income fluctuations over the certification periods.  The
number of months used to arrive at the average income need
not be the same as the number of months in the certification
period.  For example, if fluctuating income for the past 30
days and the month of application are known and, with
reasonable certainty, are representative of the income
fluctuations anticipated for the coming months, the income
from the two (2) known months may be averaged and
projected over a certification period of longer than two (2)
months.

Income may be averaged when the household has
fluctuating income.  When averaging income, use the

household’s anticipation of monthly income fluctuations
over the certification period.  Averages are recalculated at
recertification and when changes in income are reported.

Conversion of income received weekly or biweekly
according to DSSM 9063.2 is not averaging income. 

Households which, by contract or by self-employment,
derive their annual income in a period of time shorter than
one (1) year will have that income averaged over a 12-month
period, provided the income from the contract is not received
on an hourly or piecework basis.  These households may
include school employees, share croppers, farmers and other
self-employed households.  However, these provisions do
not apply to migrant or seasonal farmworkers.  The
procedures for averaging self-employed income are
described in DSSM 9075.  Contract income which is not the
household's annual income and is not paid on an hourly or
piecework basis shall be prorated over the period the income
is intended to cover.

For food stamp purposes, a contract employee is one
that has an agreement with an employer to work a certain
length of time or perform a specific job.  It may be either a
written contract or an implied contract.  Acceptable
verification would be a statement from the employer or a
written document, such as a copy of the contract or
agreement, that shows the terms of employment.

The following shows an example of contract and hourly
work:

A teacher's aid works 10 months of the year for
$9.16 per hour and 6 hours per day.  She does not
sign a "contract" but it is implied that she will be
"rehired" for the following school year.  She will be
considered a contract employee whose income
must be annualized.

An employee who is paid hourly is one that is paid
based on the number of hours he works when there is no
established work schedule such as a handyman who does
odd jobs around the school.

Earned and unearned educational income, after
allowable exclusions, shall be averaged over the period
which it is intended to cover.  Income shall be counted either
in the month it is received, or in the month the household
anticipates receiving it or receiving the first installment
payment, although it is still prorated over the period it is
intended to cover.

9085 Reporting Changes
[273.12]

Certified food stamp households are required to report
the following changes in circumstances:

Six-Month Simplified Reporting Requirements
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The following reporting requirements are for all
households except those households where all members are
elderly or disabled without earned income, homeless, or
migrant or seasonal farmworkers:

• Households are required to only report income
changes when the monthly income exceeds 130
percent of the poverty income guideline for the
household size that existed at the time of
certification or recertification.

• When a household's monthly income exceeds the
130 percent of the poverty income guideline, the
household is required to report that change within
ten days after the end of the month that the
household determines the income is over the 130
percent amount.

• Households will not have to report any changes in
the household composition, residence and resulting
changes in shelter costs, acquisition of non-
excluded licensed vehicles, when liquid resources
exceed $2000. and changes in the legal child
support obligation.

Additional reporting requirement for ABAWD
individuals:

• Adults living in a home without any minor children
who are getting food stamps because they are
working over 20 hours a week, must report when
they start working less than 20 hours per week.

Reporting requirements for households not eligible for
the six-month simplified reporting requirements above:

• Changes in the sources of or in the amount of gross
unearned income of more than $25 $50, except
changes in the public assistance grants. Since DSS
has prior knowledge of all changes in the public
assistance grants, action shall be taken on the DSS
information.  Changes reported in person or by
telephone are to be acted upon in the same manner
as those reported on the change report form;

• A change in the source of income, including
starting or stopping a job or changing jobs, if the
change in employment causes a change in income.

• All changes in household composition, such as the
addition or loss of a household member;

• Changes in residence and the resulting changes in
shelter costs;

• The acquisition of a licensed vehicle not fully
excludable under DSSM 9051 (for non-
categorically eligible households);

• When cash on hand, stocks, bonds, and money in a
bank account or savings institution reach or exceed

a total of $2,000 (for non-categorically eligible
households); 

• Changes in the legal obligation to pay child
support; and

• Changes in work hours that bring an ABAWD
individual below 20 hours per week, averaged
monthly.

Certified households must report changes within ten
(10) days of the date the change becomes known to the
household.

For reportable changes of income, households must
report the change within 10 days of the date the household
receives its first payment.

An applying household must report all changes related
to its food stamp eligibility and benefits at the certification
interview.  Changes, as provided in this Section, which occur
after the interview but before the date of the notice of
eligibility, must be reported by the household within ten (10)
days of the date of the notice.

Only the reporting requirements in this Section and no
other reporting requirements can be imposed by the
Division.

9085.2 DSS Responsibilities: Action on Changes
[273.12(c)]

Take prompt action on all changes to determine if the
changes affect the household's eligibility or allotment.  Even
if there is no change in the allotment, document reported
changes in the case file, provide another change report form
to the household, notify the household of the effect of the
change, if any, on its benefits.  Document the date of receipt
of the report form or the date a change is reported by phone
or in person.  If a household reports a change in income
which is expected to continue for a least one month beyond
the month in which the change is reported, act on the change
according to DSSM 9085.3 and 9085.4.  If DSS fails to take
action on a change within the time limits specified in DSSM
9085.3, restore the lost benefits.

PA households have the same reporting requirements as
any other food stamp household and shall use the change
report form.  PA households who report changes to their
workers for PA purposes will be considered to have reported
the change for food stamp purposes as well.
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services (DSS) initiated proceedings to
amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM).
DSS is proposing to amend the policy of the Transitional
Medicaid Program. The Department’s proceedings to amend
its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the July 2003 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by July
31, 2003 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

No comments were received during the public comment
period.

Summary Of Proposed Change - DSSM 15120.2 And 
15200

This rule amendment corrects language in the recently
revised regulations related to transitional coverage. The
revised regulations were originally adopted on May 10, 2003
in order to continue Medicaid coverage absent a TANF
waiver for families that lose coverage because of earnings.

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the July 2003 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Transitional Medicaid Program
policy is adopted and shall be final effective September 10,
2003.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 8/15/03 

DSS Final Order Regulations #03-30

15120.2  Financial Eligibility
TANF rules on income standards and methodologies

(disregards, exclusions, allocations) apply to Section 1931
Medicaid except as provided in this section.

For Section 1931 Medicaid, there are two income tests
to determine financial eligibility.  The first test is a gross
income test and the second is a net income test.  For the
gross income test, compare the family's gross income to
185% of the applicable standard of need.  For the net income
test, compare the family's net income to the applicable
standard of need.  

Financial eligibility for both applicant and recipient
families will be calculated using the 30 and 1/3 disregard if
applicable.  This disregard allows the deduction of $30 plus
1/3 of the remaining earned income after the standard
allowance for work connected expenses is subtracted.  

The $30 plus 1/3 disregard is applied to earned income
for four (4) consecutive months.  If Medicaid under Section
1931 or employment ends before the fourth month, the
earner is eligible for the disregard for four (4) additional
months upon reapplication or re-employment.  

When an earner's wages are so low ($90 or less in the
month) that the income is zero before any part of the $30
plus 1/3 disregard can be applied, that month does not count
as one of the four (4) consecutive months and the earner is
eligible for the disregard for four (4) additional months.

After the $30 plus 1/3 disregard has been applied for
four (4) consecutive months, the 1/3 disregard is removed
from the budget.  The $30 disregard continues to be
deducted from earned income for eight (8) consecutive
months.  The $30 disregard is not repeated if an individual
stops working or 1931 Medicaid ends before the completion
of the eight (8) consecutive months.  If 1931 Medicaid ends
and the family reapplies, the $30 disregard from earned
income is continued until the end of the original eight (8)
consecutive months.

Unlike the $30 plus 1/3 disregard which is dependent
upon the family having sufficient earned income and being
1931 Medicaid recipients, the $30 disregard is for a specific
time period.  This time period begins when the $30 plus 1/3
disregard ends and is not dependent upon the family having
earned income or 1931 Medicaid.  

When an earner has received the $30 and 1/3 disregard
in four (4) consecutive months and the $30 deduction has
been available for eight (8) consecutive additional months,
neither disregard can be applied to earned income until the
individual has not received the 30 and 1/3 disregard
Medicaid under Section 1931 for twelve (12) consecutive
months.

All earned income is disregarded for the second and
third months of eligibility.

All earned income is disregarded for recipients for 12
months after employment causes ineligibility.

Any diversion assistance provided does not count as
income.

Resources are not counted for Medicaid under Section
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1931. 

15200  Transitional Medicaid
The Family Support Act of 1988, PL 100-485,

mandated that effective April 1, 1990, states provide health
care coverage known as Transitional Medical Assistance for
up to twelve months for families who become ineligible for
AFDC due to increased earnings, increased hours of
employment, or loss of earned income disregards. 

The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), P.L. 104-193,
repealed the AFDC program and replaced it with a program
of block grants to states for Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families (TANF).  Delaware implemented its TANF
program, Delaware’s A Better Chance Welfare Reform
Program (DABC), on March 10, 1997.  

Prior to PRWORA, a family’s eligibility for Transitional
Medicaid was linked to receipt of AFDC.  Under PRWORA,
a family’s eligibility for transitional Medicaid is linked to
receipt of Medicaid under Section 15120, "Low Income
Families with Children under Section 1931".

The eligibility group described in "Low Income
Families with Children under Section 1931", will be referred
to as "receiving Medicaid under Section 1931" throughout
this section.

Delaware's welfare reform waiver, "Delaware’s A Better
Chance Welfare Reform Program" (DABC) included a
modification to the length of the Transitional Medicaid
period.  The DABC waiver extended Transitional Medicaid
benefits for up to 24 months.  This waiver expired on
September 30, 2002.  DSS will use the option under Section
1931(b)(2)(C) of the Social Security Act to disregard all
earned income for 12 months after employment causes
ineligibility for a family under Section 1931.  (See DSSM
15120.2.)  

Effective October 1, 2002, Transitional Medicaid
coverage extends for up to one year.  The year is divided into
two periods of six months each.  Families who establish
eligibility for Transitional Medicaid prior to October 1,
2002, may be eligible for up to 24 months of Transitional
Medicaid.  These are families who establish eligibility for
Transitional Medicaid under the DABC waiver authority.
Families who establish eligibility for Transitional Medicaid
on or after October 1, 2002, may be eligible for up to 12
months of Transitional Medicaid.

Families must meet the initial eligibility requirements
described in this section to receive the first six months of
coverage.  Families can be eligible when their income
exceeds either 185% of the standard of need or the standard
of need.

To continue to receive Medicaid for the second six
months, the family's gross earned income less dependent
care costs must be at or below 185% FPL.  Dependent care
costs are for the care of dependent children or incapacitated

persons living in the home.  Family income will be budgeted
prospectively.

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR 
CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR 

FAMILIES
DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Chapter 9 (16 Del.C. Ch. 9)

ORDER

Nature of the Proceedings:

The Delaware Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families, Division of Family Services
requested public comment on “Regulations Pursuant to 16
Del. C. Ch. 9 for Designation of Substantiated Acts of Abuse
or Neglect to Child Protection Levels and for Classifying
Unsubstantiated Cases of Abuse or Neglect in the Division
of Family Services’ Internal Information System.”
Legislation regarding the Child Protection Registry
(formerly known as the Central Child Abuse Registry) was
signed into law by Governor Ruth Ann Minner on July 22,
2002.

The Child Protection Registry is a database of
information about persons the Division of Family Services
substantiated to have committed child abuse or neglect.  The
statute assigns individuals who are substantiated for child
abuse or neglect to one of four levels for a specific number
of years.  The levels also address who may be reported out to
child care, health care, and public school employers for
employment purposes.  In addition, the statute mandates that
all appeals be heard in Family Court instead of by private
attorneys contracted by the Division of Family Services.
Under the revised Regulations, the Division of Family
Services will classify unsubstantiated cases on its internal
system utilizing two categories: Unsubstantiated – No
Evidence and Unsubstantiated with Concern.  Finally, the
statute required that the Division of Family Services
“develop regulations that assess the risk of future harm to
children from acts of abuse or neglect and designate Child
Protection Levels.”

A request for public comment on the proposed
Regulations was placed in the Legal Notices Classified
Sections of the News Journal and Delaware State News on
November 27, 2002 and December 1, 2002.  The comments
had to be postmarked by December 30, 2002.  Written
comments were received via electronic mail, regular mail,
and fax to Linda M. Shannon, Program Manager, Intake and
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Investigation, Division of Family Services.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted:

Six written comment documents were provided by the
State Council for Persons with Disabilities (2), the Delaware
Developmental Disabilities Council, Community Legal Aid
Society, Inc., the Christian Science Committee on
Publication for the State of Delaware, and Grassroots
Citizens for Delaware.  

Issue 1: The State Council for Persons with
Disabilities, the Delaware Developmental Disabilities
Council, and Community Legal Aid Society, Inc. took issue
with most of the categories listed under Section 7.0 Child
Protection Level I.  Specifically, the concerns focused on
labeling incarceration, mental incapacitation, relative
placement, non-relative placement, physical incapacitation,
runaway, and uncontrollable behavior as incidents of abuse
and neglect.  It was further felt that persons could be
discriminated against based on the disabilities of mental or
physical incapacitation.

Issue 2: The State Council for Persons with
Disabilities and the Delaware Developmental Disabilities
Council recommended that Section 8.0 numbers be
sequenced correctly.

Issue 3: The State Council for Persons with
Disabilities and the Delaware Developmental Disabilities
Council stated Section 8.1.2 “Other Physical Abuse” seems
overly broad because there is no observable injury.

Issue 4: The State Council for Persons with
Disabilities and the Delaware Developmental Disabilities
Council stated 8.1.6 “Lack of Supervision, ages 7-11” seems
overly broad because a parent taking a nap in the same room
while an 11 year old watches television is guilty of Level II
child abuse/neglect.

Issue 5: The State Council for Persons with
Disabilities and the Delaware Developmental Disabilities
Council stated that the use of the word “odd” in Section 9.1.2
“Bizarre Treatment” to describe behavior toward a child was
somewhat overly broad.  They suggested that extreme or
significantly disproportionate to the precipitating event or
outlandish be used instead.

Issue 6: The State Council for Persons with
Disabilities and the Delaware Developmental Disabilities
Council recommended that Section 9.1.7  “Lock In/Out, ages
7-11” consider using deliberately or non-accidentally or
intentionally prior to locks so that locking a door by mistake
does not equate with child abuse/neglect.  In addition, it was
recommended that such conduct be categorized in different
Levels based on more discrete age groups since the risk is
higher to an infant, for example, than to an 11 year old.

Issue 7: The State Council for Persons with
Disabilities and the Delaware Developmental Disabilities
Council advocated that the Regulations include the concept

of parent/caretaker inaction or failure to protect.  An
example would be a parent/caretaker who stands by idly
while someone hurts his or her child.

Issue 8: Grassroots Citizens for Children
recommended that “choking” and “use of a deadly weapon”
in Level II “Other Physical Abuse” be placed in Level III
“Bizarre Treatment.”

Issue 9: The Christian Science Committee on
Publication stated that Level III “Other Medical Neglect”
and Level IV “Life-Threatening Medical Neglect” did not
recognize accommodations for parents to provide treatment
by spiritual means.

Summary Of Findings Of Fact With Agency Response:

Issue 1: Incarceration, mental incapacitation, non-
relative placement, physical incapacitation, relative
placement, runaway, and uncontrollable behavior are
findings related to incidents of dependency.  Dependency
findings have never been entered on the Registry and will
not be entered on the Registry in the future.  Therefore, these
findings were classified as Level I in the proposed
Regulations because Level I case findings are not entered on
the Registry.  Nevertheless, to eliminate confusion about the
dependency findings, the Division will delete dependency
findings from the Regulations and add them to the Division’s
Policy and User Manuals.  Finally, all findings in the
Division’s internal database (FACTS) related to adolescent
issues (e.g., runaway, uncontrollable behavior) were
removed as a finding effective February 1, 2003.  

Issue 2: Section 8.0 was renumbered.
Issues 3 – 9 will require substantive changes and will

require further public comment.

DECISION/ORDER:

The Department finds that the changes made in response
to the comments received during the public comment period
do not substantially change the nature of the Regulations.
Thus, the Regulations, as set forth in the attached version,
should be issued, in the best interest of the general public of
the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the
Regulations governing the Child Protection Registry are
adopted, as herein revised, and shall become effective no
less than ten days after publication of the final Regulations in
the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Cari DeSantis, Secretary
August 13, 2003
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Regulations Pursuant To 16 Del.C. Ch. 9 For Designation 
Of Substantiated Acts Of Abuse Or Neglect To Child 

Protection Levels And For Classifying Unsubstantiated 
Cases Of Abuse Or Neglect In The Division Of Family 

Services’ Internal Information System.

1.0  Legal Authorization
The legal authority for these regulations is found in the

Delaware Code: Title 16, Chapter 9.

2.0 Purpose
The purpose of these regulations is (1) to develop

regulations that assess the risk of future harm to children
from acts of abuse or neglect and to designate each such act
of abuse or neglect to a Child Protection Level, pursuant to
16 Del.C. §923; and (2) to develop regulations for
classifying unsubstantiated cases of abuse or neglect within
the Division of Family Services’ internal information
system, pursuant to 16 Del.C. §924.

3.0 Date of Implementation
These regulations become effective [February 1, 2003.

no less than ten days after publication.]
4.0 Applicability

These regulations apply to acts of abuse or neglect that
are alleged to have  occurred on or after February 1, 2003;
and to the designation to Child Protection Levels of each
case substantiated for abuse or neglect that was placed on the
Central Registry (also known as the Central Child Abuse
Registry, the Child Abuse Registry, and the Central Abuse
Registry) between August 1, 1994 and February 1, 2003. 

5.0 Definition
“Parent/caretaker” means those responsible for the

care, custody, and control of the child as that term is defined
in §902 of Title 16 of the Delaware Code. 

6.0 Assessment of the Risk of Future Harm and
Designation of Child Protection Levels

6.1 During an investigation of an incident of abuse or
neglect, the Division of Family Services shall be guided by
16 Del.C. §906 (b).

6.2 A person who has been substantiated for abuse or
neglect must be entered on the Child Protection Registry at
one of four designated Child Protection Levels related to the
risk of future harm to children arising from the incident
under investigation or for which a person has been
substantiated.

7.0   Child Protection Level I 
7.1 The following incidents of abuse or neglect shall

be deemed to present a low risk of future harm to children
and shall be designated to Child Protection Level I:

7.1.1 “Educational Neglect” means failure by a

parent/caretaker to follow through with Court-ordered
activity for the child after conviction in Court for “Failure to
Send Child to School.”

7.1.2 “Emotional Neglect” means mild to
moderate and/or isolated incidents of isolating/shunning,
rejecting, or ignoring a child.

[7.1.3 “Incarceration” means a parent/
caretaker of a child is unable to provide for the basic
needs of the child because they are being detained in a
correctional facility.

7.1.4 “Mental Incapacitation” means a
parent/caretaker of a child has a medically diagnosed
mental condition that renders them unable to meet the
basic needs of the child.

7.1.5 “Non-Relative Placement” means a
child whose needs are being met by a non-relative/non-
family member, through no neglect or fault of the parent/
caretaker.

7.1.6 “Parent Child Conflict” means
unresolved conflict between a parent/caretaker and a
child over rules, expectations, and responsibilities.

7.1.7 “Physical Incapacitation” means a
parent/caretaker of a child has a medically diagnosed
physical condition that prevents them from meeting the
basic needs of the child.

7.1.8 “Relative Placement” means a child
whose needs are being met by a relative or family as
those terms are defined in 10 Del.C. §901, through no
neglect or fault of the parent/caretaker.

7.1.9 “Runaway” means a child is absent
without the permission of the parent/caretaker.

7.1.10 “Uncontrollable Behavior” means a
child is unwilling to abide by rules and boundaries set by
the parent/caretaker.]

7.2 Conviction of any of the following crimes when
based on the same incident of abuse or neglect as alleged in
the Notice of Intent to Substantiate shall be deemed to
present a low risk of future harm to children and shall be
designated Child Protection Level I:

7.2.1 violation of compulsory school attendance
requirements or truancy

7.3 An incident of abuse or neglect containing the
elements of any crime or offense listed or described in 7.2.1
without regard to the institution or result of criminal or
delinquency proceedings based on such incident.

8.0 Child Protection Level II
8.1 The following incidents of abuse or neglect shall be

deemed to present a moderate risk of future harm to children
and shall be designated Child Protection Level II:

8.1.1 “Bruises, cuts and lacerations not
requiring intervention by a medical professional” means
injury caused by a parent/caretaker to the body tissue of a
child causing discoloration, but without breaking the skin
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(bruise) or an injury which causes an open wound (cut/
laceration) of a child over the age of six months. The injuries
did not require medical treatment beyond medical
examination.

8.1.2 “Emotional Abuse” includes, but is not
limited to, behaviors by a parent/caretaker toward a child
such as ridiculing, demeaning, making derogatory remarks,
cursing, or threatening to inflict physical or emotional harm.

8.1.3 “Lack of Supervision, ages 7 – 11”
means the parent/caretaker of a child is not providing
immediate care, thereby ensuring the well-being and safety
for the child, who is unable to care for him/herself or
respond appropriately to an emergency.  These are incidents
in which the parent/caretaker is physically present, but is not
attending to the child due to behaviors such as sleeping or
intoxication.

8.1.4 “Lock In/Out, ages 12 – 17” occurs when
a parent/caretaker locks a child  in a confined area such as a
bedroom, closet, and car or locks the child out of the home.  

8.1.5 “Moderate Physical Neglect” means
failure by a parent/caretaker of a child to provide for the
basic needs (e.g., food, clothing, shelter) of the child, for no
apparent financial reason, and this failure decreases the
child’s safety or general well-being.

8.1.6 “Other Physical Abuse” means actions
prohibited by Delaware Code such as punching, kicking,
biting, pulling hair, pushing/shoving, choking, and use of a
deadly weapon by a parent/caretaker of a child which have
not resulted in observable injury to the child.

8.1.7 “Severe Emotional Neglect” includes
behaviors by a parent/caretaker such as chronically isolating/
shunning, rejecting, or ignoring a child.  Child witnessing of
domestic violence is also included at this level.

8.1.8 “Verbal Innuendo” means inappropriate
sexualized statements to a child by a parent/caretaker
intended to entice or alarm.

8.2 Conviction of any of the following crimes when
based on the same incident of abuse or neglect as alleged in
the Notice of Intent to Substantiate shall be deemed to
present a moderate risk of future harm to children and shall
be designated Child Protection Level II:

8.2.1 interference with custody or
8.2.2 indecent exposure in the second degree.

8.3 An incident of abuse or neglect containing the
elements of any crime or offense listed or described in 8.2.1
or 8.2.2 without regard to the institution or result of criminal
or delinquency proceedings based on such incident.

9.0 Child Protection Level III
9.1 The following incidents of abuse or neglect shall be

deemed to present a high risk of future harm to children and
shall be designated Child Protection Level III:

9.1.1 “Abandonment, ages 13 – 17” means the
parent/caretaker fails to assume or refuses to assume

responsibility or to provide basic care for a child on a daily
basis.   The basic care consists of food, clothing, shelter,
medical care, reasonable and consistent financial support,
and the maintenance of regular communication/contact
between the parent/caretaker and child.

9.1.2 “Bizarre Treatment” means behavior
toward a child by a parent/caretaker that is odd, extreme, or
significantly disproportionate to the precipitating event
initiated by the child, or would not be perceived as a logical
consequence by a  reasonable person.  

9.1.3 “Bruises, cuts, lacerations requiring
intervention by a medical professional” means injury
caused by a parent/caretaker to the body tissue of a child
causing discoloration, but without breaking the skin (bruise)
or an open wound (cut/laceration) necessitating medical
treatment beyond medical examination.  All children under
the age of six months are included at this level, regardless of
the need for medical treatment beyond medical examination.
Current evidence of historical injuries (perhaps appearing on
an x-ray) that would have required medical treatment at the
time of the injuries, but which do not necessitate current
treatment, also require a finding at this level.

9.1.4 “Child, Ages 7 – 11, Left Alone” means a
child who is unable to care for him/herself, or to respond to
an emergency, has not been left in the care of anyone by the
parent/caretaker.

9.1.5 “Dislocation/Sprain” means a medically
diagnosed displacement of a bone or injury to a ligament or
muscle caused by a parent/caretaker.

9.1.6 “Lack of Supervision, Age 6 and
Younger” means the parent/caretaker is not providing
immediate care, ensuring well-being and safety, for a child
who is unable to care for him/herself or respond
appropriately to an emergency.  These are incidents in which
the parent/caretaker is physically present, but is not
attending to the child due to behaviors such as sleeping or
intoxication.

9.1.7 “Lock In/Out, ages 0 – 11” occurs when a
parent/caretaker locks a child  in a confined area such as the
bedroom, closet, and car or locks the child out of the home.

9.1.8 “Malnutrition” means a medically
diagnosed condition of poor nourishment of a child resulting
from insufficient food or an improper diet caused by a
parent/caretaker.

9.1.9 “Non-Organic Failure to Thrive” means
medically diagnosed Failure to Thrive that is documented as
life-threatening.

9.1.10 “Other Medical Neglect” means failure
by a parent/caretaker to obtain  proper or necessary medical
care, but the medical care is not life-threatening.

9.1.11 “Serious Physical Neglect” means failure
by the parent/caretaker of a child to provide for the basic
needs (e.g., food, clothing, shelter) of the child, for no
apparent financial reason, and this failure could result in
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bodily harm or death.  
9.2 Conviction of any of the following crimes when

based on the same incident of abuse or neglect as alleged in
the Notice of Intent to Substantiate shall be deemed to
present a high risk of future harm to children and shall be
designated Child Protection Level III:

9.2.1 abandonment of a child,
9.2.2 assault in the third degree,
9.2.3 indecent exposure in the first degree,
9.2.4 menacing,
9.2.5 misdemeanor endangering the welfare of a

child or an incompetent person.
9.2.6 offensive touching,
9.2.7 reckless endangering,
9.2.8 sexual harassment,
9.2.9 terroristic threatening,
9.2.10 unlawful administration of drugs or

controlled substances, or
9.2.11 unlawful imprisonment,

9.3 An incident of abuse or neglect containing the
elements of any crime or offense listed or described in 9.2.1 -
9.2.11 without regard to the institution or result of criminal
or delinquency proceedings based on such incident.

10.0 Child Protection Level IV           
10.1 The following incidents of abuse or neglect

shall be deemed to present the highest risk of future harm to
children and shall be designated Child Protection Level IV:

10.1.1 “Abandonment 0 – 12” means the parent/
caretaker fails to assume or refuses to assume responsibility
or to provide basic care for a child on a daily basis.   The
basic care consists of food, clothing, shelter, medical care,
reasonable and consistent financial support, and the
maintenance of regular communication/contact between the
parent/caretaker and child.  This finding does not include the
voluntary surrender of a baby pursuant to the Safe Arms for
Baby Act.

10.1.2 “Anal Intercourse” means penetration of
the anus of a child by parent/caretaker for reasons other than
appropriate medical diagnosis/treatment such as using a
rectal thermometer or giving a child an enema or
suppository.  The penetrating object could be the parent/
caretaker’s tongue, penis or fingers, or might involve
inanimate objects such as crayons or pencils.

10.1.3 “Blunt Force Trauma” means serious or
life-threatening bruises, cuts, lacerations caused by a parent/
caretaker that require medical treatment beyond medical
examination.

10.1.4 “Bone Fracture” means a medically
diagnosed break or crack in a bone or cartilage caused by a
parent/caretaker.

10.1.5 “Burn/Scald” means a medically
diagnosed injury intentionally or recklessly inflicted by the
parent/caretaker to a child by contacting the child’s skin/hair

to a flame, hot object, hot liquid, electrical source, or a
chemical source.

10.1.6 “Child, Aged 6 or Younger, Left Alone”
means a child who is unable to care for him/herself, or to
respond to an emergency, has not been left in the care of
anyone by the parent/caretaker.

10.1.7 “Death” means a child’s loss of life due to
abuse or neglect by parent/caretaker.

10.1.8 “Driving Under the Influence (DUI)”
means incidents documented by law enforcement of a
parent/caretaker driving a vehicle under the influence of
alcohol or drugs with a child present.

10.1.9 “Exploitation” occurs when a parent/
caretaker behaves unethically toward a child, using the
parent’s/caretaker’s position of power to solicit sexual acts in
an attempt to obtain some type of sexual gratification.  This
category includes situations in which a parent/caretaker
prostitutes a child or knowingly permits a child to be “used”
by another party, regardless of whether the parent/caretaker
receives sexual gratification or other compensation (money,
drugs) or no compensation at all.

10.1.10 "Head Trauma” means a medically
diagnosed serious or life-threatening injury inflicted by a
parent/caretaker to a child’s face or head.

10.1.11 “Inappropriate Touching” means
intentional touching of the breasts, abdomen, genital area,
inner thighs or buttocks by a parent/caretaker for the sexual
gratification of the parent/caretaker. The parent/caretaker
and child may be clothed or unclothed and this finding is
also appropriate in cases in which the parent/caretaker has
asked the child to touch them.  This category does not
include touching by the parent/caretaker necessary to
provide routine hygienic care such as bathing or to
administer medications such as a menthol rub for a chest
cold.

10.1.12 “Internal Injury” means a medically
diagnosed serious injury within the abdominal or chest area
inflicted by a parent/caretaker.

10.1.13 “Life-Threatening Medical Neglect”
means a parent’s/caretaker’s failure to obtain medical care
for a child has resulted in permanent functional impairment
attributable to neglect.  Medical diagnosis is necessary to
support this finding.  This category also includes failure by a
parent/caretaker to use equipment such as an apnea monitor
or respirator, to provide medications for health problems
such as diabetes or asthma, or to practice therapies in the
home for a child such as suctioning of the airway as directed
by a physician for the purpose of preventing death and
sustaining life.

10.1.14 “Operating a Vessel or Boat Under the
Influence (BUI)” means incidents documented by law
enforcement of a parent/caretaker driving a vessel or boat
under the influence of alcohol or drugs with a child present.

10.1.15 “Oral Intercourse” means oral (mouth) –
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genital (penis, vagina) contact between a parent/caretaker
and a child.

10.1.16 “Other Sexual Abuse” means sexually
inappropriate behavior between a parent/caretaker and a
child which is not included in 10.1.2, 10.1.9, 10.1.11,
10.1.15, 10.1.18 and 10.1.22.

10.1.17 “Poisoning” means a parent/caretaker
non-accidentally over-medicates or causes a child to ingest
alcohol, drugs (legal/illegal) not prescribed for that child, or
other toxic substances, resulting in significant and/or
enduring functional impairment.

10.1.18 “Pornography” means production or
possession of visual material (e.g., pictures, films, video) by
a parent/caretaker depicting a child engaged in a sexual act
or a simulation of such an act.  The visual material involves
sexualized content, as opposed to “naked baby” pictures.

10.1.19 “Puncture/Stab” means a parent/
caretaker inflicts injury, piercing the child’s body with a
pointed object, which requires medical treatment beyond
medical examination.

10.1.20 ”Shaken Baby” means a medically
diagnosed condition in which violent shaking of an infant by
a parent/caretaker has resulted in subdural hematomas
(blood clots on the surface of the brain), and/or retinal
hemorrhages (bleeding behind the eyes), causing serious and
permanent brain damage.  

10.1.21 “Suffocation” means a parent/caretaker
deliberately interferes with child’s ability to breathe, by
strangling, smothering or otherwise depriving the child of
oxygen.

10.1.22 “Vaginal Intercourse” occurs when a
parent/caretaker of a female child penetrates the child’s
vagina with a penis, fingers, or with an inanimate object; or
when a parent/caretaker manipulates a child of either sex to
penetrate the parent’s/caretaker’s vagina.

10.2 Conviction of any of the following crimes
when based on the same incident  of abuse or neglect as
alleged in the Notice of Intent to Substantiate shall be
deemed to present the highest risk of future harm to children
and shall be designated Child Protection Level 4:

10.2.1 assault in the first degree,
10.2.2 assault in the second degree,
10.2.3 bestiality,
10.2.4 coercion,
10.2.5 continuous sexual abuse of a child,
10.2.6 criminally negligent homicide,
10.2.7 dangerous crime against a child,
10.2.8 dealing in children,
10.2.9 felony endangering the welfare of a

child or an incompetent person,
10.2.10 incest,
10.2.11 kidnapping,
10.2.12 manslaughter,
10.2.13 murder,

10.2.14 murder by abuse or neglect,
10.2.15 possession of child pornography,
10.2.16 promoting suicide.
10.2.17 rape,
10.2.18 sexual exploitation of a child,
10.2.19 sexual extortion,
10.2.20 sexual solicitation of a child,
10.2.21 unlawful dealing with a child,
10.2.22 unlawfully dealing in child

pornography,
10.2.23 unlawful sexual contact,
10.2.24 vehicular assault, or
10.2.25 vehicular homicide,

10.3 An incident of abuse or neglect containing the
elements of any crime or offense listed or described in 10.2.1
- 10.2.25 without regard to the institution or result of
criminal or delinquency proceedings based on such incident.

11.0 Unsubstantiated Investigations
11.1 If the Division determines from its

investigation [not there is not a preponderance of
evidence] to substantiate the person for abuse or neglect, the
person may not be entered on the Child Protection Registry
for that reported incident.  The Division shall indicate in its
internal information system that the incident is
unsubstantiated, and so notify the person in writing.

11.2 If the Division determines from its
investigation that there is no credible  evidence to
substantiate the person for abuse or neglect for that incident,
the internal information system will indicate that the finding
is “Unsubstantiated – No Evidence.”

11.3 If the Division determines from its
investigation that substantiation proceedings for that incident
of abuse or neglect are not warranted or justified, but that
there are reasons for concern, the internal information
system will indicate that the finding is “Unsubstantiated with
Concern.”

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 

Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2003-A-0046

RE: Proposed “Delaware 1999 Milestone Compliance
Demonstration” For the 1-hour National
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Ambient Air Quality Standard Of
Ground-Level Ozone

Date of Issuance:  August 11, 2003
Effective Date: September 11, 2003 

I. Background

On Thursday, June 26, 2003, at approximately 6:25
p.m., a public hearing was begun in the DNREC Auditorium
at 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.  The purpose of this
hearing was to receive public comment on the proposed
1999 Milestone Compliance Demonstration as specified
above.  After the hearing, the Department performed an
evaluation of the evidence entered into the record in this
matter.  Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared his report
and recommendation in the form of a Hearing Officer’s
Report to the Secretary dated July 22, 2003, and that Hearing
Officer’s report is expressly incorporated herein by
reference.  

II. Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the
Hearing Officer’s Report dated July 22, 2003, are expressly
incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the findings
and conclusions of the Secretary.

III. Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed
Delaware 1999 Milestone Demonstration planning
document be promulgated in the manner and form provided
for by law.

IV. Reasons

The proposal documents Delaware’s progression
towards the improvement of air quality in the State while
maintaining consistency with applicable Federal
requirements, in furtherance of the policies and purposes of
7 Del.C. Chapter 60.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

Delaware 1999 Milestone Complinace Demonstration 
For Kent And New Castle Counties

Demonstrating Adequate Progress toward Attainment of 
the 1-Hour 

National Ambient Air Quality Standard
for Ground-Level Ozone

Submitted to:
US Environmental Protection Agency

By

Delaware Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control

June 2003

Acronym List

AQM Air Quality Management Section of DNREC 
CAAA Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 
CMSA Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area 
CO Carbon Monoxide 
DAWM Division of Air and Waste Management of

DNREC
DelDOT Delaware Department of Transportation
DNREC Delaware Department of Natural Resources

and Environmental Control
EID Emission Inventory Development
EPA United States Environmental Protection

Agency 
FMVCP Federal Motor Vehicle Control Program 
HPMS Highway Performance Monitoring System 
I/M Inspection and Maintenance 
LEV Low Emission Vehicle
NAA Nonattainment Area
NAAQS National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
NLEV National Low Emission Vehicle
NOx Oxides of Nitrogen 
OAQPS Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards

of EPA
OTAG Ozone Transport Assessment Group
OTC Ozone Transport Commission
OTR Ozone Transport Region
PCP Planning and Community Protection Branch of

DNREC
PEI Periodic Emission Inventory
PERC Perchloroethylene 
RACT Reasonably Available Control Technology 
RPP Rate-of-Progress Plan 
RVP Reid Vapor Pressure 
SCC Source Classification Code 
SIC Standard Industrial Classification 
SIP State Implementation Plan 
TPD Tons per day
TPY Tons per year
VHB Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc. 
VOC Volatile Organic Compound 
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Summary

Under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990
(CAAA), Kent and New Castle Counties in Delaware are
classified as severe nonattainment areas with respect to the
1-hour ozone standard. This document addresses Delaware's
1999 milestone year compliance demonstration regarding
progress toward attainment of the 1-hour National Ambient
Air Quality Standard for the ground-level ozone.  

Under Sections 182(b)(1) and 182(d) of CAAA,
Delaware is required (1) by 1996 to achieve a 15% reduction
in emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from its
1990 level in the two nonattainment counties, (2) by 1999 to
achieve an additional 9% reduction in emissions of either
VOCs or oxides of nitrogen (NOx) from the 1990 levels.
Under these requirements, the 1999 target levels of VOC and
NOx emissions for the two nonattainment counties have
been determined to be 110.21 tons per day (TPD) and 148.96
TPD, respectively.  To achieve these targets, Delaware
implemented numerous control measures over a large variety
of VOC and NOx emission sources from 1990 to 1999.
Delaware's 1999 periodic emission inventory (PEI), which
has been recently compiled, shows that the 1999 inventoried
VOC and NOx emissions in Kent and New Castle Counties
are 88.69 TPD and 117.68 TPD, respectively. These
inventoried VOC and NOx emissions are significantly lower
than the required targets levels. Thus, Delaware
demonstrates herein that its 1999 milestone for complying
with VOC and NOx emission reductions has been
successfully met.      

1. Introduction
1.1  Background

The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA)
set forth National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS)
for six air pollutants that pose public health risks and
environmental threats. Delaware exceeds the standard for
only one of these pollutants, i.e., the ground-level ozone.
High levels of ozone can harm the respiratory system and
cause breathing problems, throat irritation, coughing, chest
pains, and greater susceptibility to respiratory infection.
Children, the elderly and individuals with respiratory
diseases are especially vulnerable to the threat of ozone.
Even healthy individuals can be harmed if they attempt
strenuous activity on days with high ozone levels.  High
levels of ozone also cause serious damage to forests and
agricultural crops, resulting in economic losses to logging
and farming operations. 

The CAAA classifies five nonattainment areas
(NAA) that exceed the 1-hour ozone NAAQS based on the
severity of the pollution problem.  In the order of increasing
severity, they are marginal, moderate, serious, severe, and
extreme.  According to Section 181 of CAAA, attainment
dates for individual areas depend on their nonattainment
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designations. The Philadelphia Consolidated Metropolitan
Statistical Area (CMSA) is classified as a severe
nonattainment area (Figure 1), which has an attainment date
of 2005.  As shown in Figure 1, Kent and New Castle
Counties in Delaware fall within the Philadelphia CMSA.
Thus, these two counties are subject to all requirements set
forth for the severe ozone nonattainment class.  All
discussions and data presented in this document apply only
to Kent and New Castle Counties.

Generally, ground level ozone is not directly
emitted to the atmosphere, but formed in the lower
atmosphere by photochemical reactions mainly between
volatile organic compounds (VOC) and nitrogen oxides
(NOx) in the presence of sunlight.  Thus, VOC and NOx are
defined as two major ozone precursors.  In order to reduce
ozone concentrations in the ambient air, the CAAA requires
all ozone nonattainment areas to achieve specific reductions
in anthropogenic VOC emissions and/or NOx emissions
over several specified periods of years until the ozone
standard is attained.  This requirement for periodic emission
reductions is termed as “rate of progress” toward the
attainment of the 1-hour ozone standard (Reference 1).  

Under Section 182(d) of CAAA, Delaware is
required to develop and submit a State Implementation Plans
(SIP) revision to the United States Environmental Protection
Agency  (EPA) for each of the milestone years of 1996,
1999, 2002 and 2005.   In these plans, Delaware has to show
that, by adopting and implementing adequate control
measures, it can achieve adequate rate-of-progress
reductions in VOC and/or NOx emissions for its severe
ozone nonattainment area, i.e., Kent and New Castle
Counties.  Since these state implementation plans construct
the path of Delaware's rate of progress toward the attainment
of ozone standard, they are termed as Delaware's Rate-of-
Progress Plans (RPPs).

Under Section 182(a) of the CAAA, Delaware is
required to develop comprehensive emission inventories of
ozone precursors for 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002 and 2005 to
monitor actual VOC and NOx emissions from its
nonattainment areas along the path of rate of progress.
These emission  inventories   are   termed  as  Delaware's
periodic  emission  inventories  (PEIs).    Under Sections
182(a) and 182(g) of the CAAA, Delaware is required to use
these periodic emission inventories (except the 1993 PEI) to
demonstrate whether Delaware meets its required emission
reductions as specified in its rate-of-progress plans in
individual milestone years. This demonstrating process is
termed as milestone compliance demonstration (Reference
1).  

Figure 1.  Philadelphia Consolidated Metropolitan 
Statistical Area (CMSA) Nonattainment Area.1

This document is to demonstrate Delaware 1999
milestone year compliance with adequate progress in
emission reductions toward attainment of the 1-hour ozone
NAAQS as required by the CAAA.  The document is
hereafter referred to as “Delaware 1999 Milestone
Compliance Demonstration.”

1.2  Responsibilities
The agency with direct responsibility for preparing

and submitting this document is the Delaware Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC),
Division of Air and Waste Management (DAWM), Air
Quality Management Section (AQM), under the direction of
Ali Mirzakhalili, Program Administrator.  The Delaware
Department of Transportation (DelDOT), in conjunction
with its consulting firm Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc.
(VHB), Watertown, MA, is responsible for performing the
work associated with the on-road mobile source emissions
included in this document. 

The working responsibility for Delaware’s air
quality management planning falls within the Planning and
Community Protection (PCP) Branch of AQM Section,

1. This map is adopted from Major CO, NO2 and VOC
Sources in the 25-Mile Boundary Around Ozone Nonattain-
ment Areas, Volume 1: Classified Ozone Nonattainment
Area,EPA/4-92-005a, U.S. Environment  Protection Agency,
Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, Office of Air
and Radiation, Research Triangle Park , NC, February, 1992.
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DAWM of DNREC, under the management of Raymond H.
Malenfant, Program Manager.  Ronald A. Amirikian,
Planning Supervisor of the PCP Branch, is the project
manager of this document.  Frank F. Gao, Environmental
Engineer of Airshed Assessment and Improvement Program
in the PCP Branch, is the project leader and principal author
of this document.  Questions or comments regarding this
document should be addressed to R. Amirikian or F. Gao,
(302)739-4791, AQM, 156 South State Street, Dover, DE
19901.  

2. Submittal and Summary of Delaware State
Implementation Plans

2.1  Delaware 1990 Base Year Emission Inventory 
Section 182(a)(1) of CAAA requires each state with

ozone nonattainment areas to develop a comprehensive 1990
emission inventory for ozone precursors for its
nonattainment areas.  The emission inventory must be
submitted as a state implementation plan (SIP) revision to
EPA for approval.  This "1990 base year emission inventory"
is used as the basis for a state to develop its rate-of-progress
plans and control strategies toward attainment of the 1-hour
ozone standard.  Delaware’s 1990 base year emission
inventory was submitted to the EPA in May 1994, and
approved by EPA in March 1996 (Reference 2, hereafter
referred to as the 1990 Base Year Inventory).  A summary
document of the 1990 Base Year Emission Inventory is
provided in Appendix A of this document.

The 1990 Base Year Inventory is categorized by
five source sectors, i.e., point, stationary area, off-road
mobile,  on-road mobile and biogenic source sectors
(Appendix A).  Since volatile organic compounds (VOC),
nitrogen oxides (NOx) and carbon monoxide (CO) are
precursors forming the ground level ozone, their emissions
from these source sectors in 1990 are inventoried and
reported in the 1990 Base Year Inventory.  Because the
contribution of CO to ozone formation is considered
insignificant and Delaware does not contain any CO
nonattainment area, the CO component of the 1990 Base
Year Inventory is not included in Delaware's rate-of-progress
planning for attainment of ozone standard. A summary of
VOC and NOx emissions by county in the 1990 Base Year
Inventory is presented in Table 1.  The unit of emissions
reported in Table 1 is tons per day (TPD) in the peak ozone
season.  The peak ozone season in Delaware is defined as
from June 1 through August 31. 

 Table 1. Summary of VOC and NOx Emissions (in TPD) 
in 1990 Base Year Inventory*

  *Data obtained from Delaware 1990 Base Year Emission
Inventory (Reference 2).
  ** Biogenic NOx emissions are assumed to be negligible. 

2.2  Delaware 1996 and 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plans
Under Sections 182(b)(1) and 182(d), Delaware is

required to develop a rate-of-progress plan (as a SIP
revision) for the period from 1990 to 1996.  This plan must
describe how Delaware could achieve an actual VOC
emission reduction of at least 15% of its 1990 VOC emission
level, and thus is termed as the Delaware 1996 Rate-of-
Progress Plan or 15% Rate-of-Progress Plan (RPP).
Delaware developed the 1996 RPP and submitted it to EPA
for approval in February 1995 (Reference 3, hereafter
referred to as the 1996 RPP).  A summary of the 1996 RPP is
provided in Appendix B of this document.

In addition to the 15% VOC emission reduction,
Section 182(d) of CAAA requires Delaware to submit a rate-
of-progress plan, as a SIP revision, that will lead to VOC
and/or NOx emission reductions of at least 3% per year
between 1996 and 1999.  These rate-of-progress emission
reductions are based on the states’ 1990 emission levels.
This SIP revision for achieving VOC/NOx emission
reductions in the 1997-1999 period is termed as “Delaware
1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan (RPP)” (Reference 4, hereafter
referred to as the 1999 RPP). Delaware submitted the 1999
RPP to EPA for approval in December 1997, and amended
the plan in June 1999.  A summary of the 1999 RPP is
provided in Appendix C of this document.

In the 1999 RPP, Delaware first established VOC

Kent New Castle Total NAA

Source 
Sector VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Point 
Sources 3.24 6.13 27.08 85.77 30.32 91.90

Stationary 
Area 

Sources
12.97 1.20 34.75 5.40 47.72 6.60

Off-Road 
Mobile 
Sources

3.49 7.89 16.67 18.78 20.17 26.67

On-Road 
Mobile 
Sources

13.07 10.62 35.28 27.06 48.35 37.68

Biogenic 
Sources** 32.46 0.00 17.51 0.00 49.97 0.00

Total 
Emission

s
65.23 25.84 131.30 137.00 196.53 162.85
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2003



FINAL REGULATIONS350
and NOx emission targets for the milestone year of 1999 to
meet the rate-of-progress requirements specified in the
CAAA.  Delaware then presented relevant control measures
being promulgated before the peak ozone season of 1999,
and demonstrated that through these control measures the
required VOC and NOx emission targets could be met in
1999.  This subsection presents a brief discussion of the
major contents of the 1999 RPP. 

2.2.1  Delaware 1999 VOC and NOx Emission
Targets

The rate-of-progress reductions in VOC and
NOx emissions for the period of 1990 to 1999 are estimated
from the 1990 baseline level.  Before the 1999 VOC and
NOx emission targets can be calculated, the 1990 base year
emissions must be adjusted. First, Section 182(b)(1)(B)
defines the baseline emissions as the total actual VOC
emissions from all anthropogenic sources in the
nonattainment areas.  Thus, the 1990 Base Year Inventory
VOC emissions in Table 1 must be modified to exclude
emissions from biogenic sources and sources outside the
nonattainment areas.  In addition, emissions of
perchloroethylene (PERC) were included in the 1990 Base
Year Inventory because it was originally classified by EPA
as a photochemically reactive VOC contributing to the
formation of ozone.  After Delaware’s 1990 Base Year
Inventory was compiled,  EPA reclassified PERC as
photochemically non-reactive. Therefore, PERC emissions
need to be subtracted from the 1990 Base Year Inventory.
The biogenic VOC emissions in the 1990 Base Year
Inventory are 32.460 TPD and 17.510 TPD for Kent and
New Castle Counties, respectively (Table 1).  The PERC
emissions in Kent County are 0.188 TPD, all from the area
source sector.  For New Castle County, the PERC emissions
are 0.140 TPD from the point source sector and 0.388 TPD
from the area source sector.  Details of determination of the
PERC emissions can be found in Appendix A of Reference
4.  After this modification, the total 1990 VOC and NOx
baseline emissions are 145.84 TPD and 162.85 TPD,
respectively. 

The second adjustment is for the on-road
mobile source sector.  According to Section 182(b)(1)(D) of
CAAA, emission reductions resulted from the Federal Motor
Vehicle Control Program (FMVCP) and Reid Vapor Pressure
(RVP) regulations promulgated prior to 1990 are not
creditable for achieving the rate-of-progress emission
reductions in the 1999 RPP.  Therefore, the 1990 baseline
VOC and NOx emissions must be adjusted by removing the
VOC and NOx emission reductions expected from FMVCP
and RVP.  Details of the adjustments are provided in Part 1 of
Delaware 1999 RPP (Reference 4).  Fro VOC emissions, the
FMVCP/RVP adjustments for Kent and New Castle
Counties are 3.48 TPD and 8.02 TPD, respectively.  For
NOx emissions, the FMVCP/RVP adjustments for Kent and
New Castle Counties are 1.46 TPD and 2.49 TPD,

respectively.  The results after these adjustments are the
1990 Baseline Emissions Adjusted to 1999, which are the
basis for calculating the required rate-of-progress emission
reductions and the emission targets for the milestone year
1999.  The adjustments and results are summarized in Table
2.

Table 2. Delaware 1990 Baseline and Adjusted Baseline 
Inventory 

According to EPA’s Guidance on the Post-1996 Rate-of-
Progress Plan and the Attainment Demonstration (Reference
5), the following equation should be used for calculating
emission targets for the milestone year of 1999: 

  (1)

where ET1999  = emission target for milestone year 1999,
ET1996 = emission target for milestone year 1996, ER1990-

1999 = emission reduction based on the 1990 baseline
adjusted to 1999 (in Table 2), and FT1996-1999 = fleet
turnover correction from 1996 to 1999. The fleet turnover
correction accounts for the emission reductions from the
gradual replacement of older pre-control vehicles by newer
vehicles with the control required by the CAAA. These fleet
turnover reductions cannot be used for achieving rate-of-
progress emission targets (Reference 5).  Therefore, the
emission reductions due to any fleet turnover during the
post-1996 milestone periods are not creditable for the
corresponding milestone year.  

Details of using Eq. (1) to calculate the 1999 rate-of-
progress VOC and NOx emission targets have been provided

Kent New Castle Total NAA

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

1990 Base 
Year 65.23 25.84 131.30 137.00 196.53 162.85

Biogenic/
PERC 

Adjustmen
ts

32.65 0.00 18.04 0.00 50.69 0.00

1990 
Baselines 32.58 25.84 113.26 137.00 145.84 162.85

FHMV/
RVP 

Adjustmen
ts

3.48 1.46 8.02 2.49 11.50 3.95

1990 
Baselines 

adjusted to 
1999

29.10 24.38 105.24 134.51 134.34 158.90

199919961999199019961999 −− −−= FTERETET
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in Delaware 1999 RPP, as amended in June 1999 (Reference
4). The emission targets of 1999 for the entire Delaware
nonattainment area are 110.21 TPD and 148.96 TPD for
VOC and NOx, respectively. 

2.2.2  Control Measures and Expected VOC/NOx
Emissions in 1999 RPP

To meet the 1999 VOC and NOx emission
targets determined in the previous subsection, Delaware has
proposed numerous control measures in its 1999 RPP.  The
control measures include federal mandatory rules and
Delaware's regulations to be promulgated prior to the peak
ozone season of 1999 (Reference 4).   These rules and
regulations cover a large variety of VOC and NOx emission
sources in all baseline source sectors.  A list of the control
measures, along with their implementation dates, is given in
Table 3.  Detailed descriptions of individual rules and
regulations have been presented in Delaware 1999 RPP, as
amended in June 1999 (Reference 4), and Delaware
Regulations Governing Control of Air Pollution (Reference
6).  

 Table 3. Control Measures Proposed in Delaware's 1999 
RPP

In the 1999 RPP, Delaware also projects the 1999 VOC
and NOx emissions in the peak ozone season assuming all
control measures listed in Table 3 could be implemented as
expected.  The projections are termed as "control strategy
projections" and conducted following the methods and
procedures specified in EPA's guidance documents
(References 7, 8 and 9).  In the projection calculations,

Control Measures and 
Regulations Creditability

Effective 
Date

Point Source Controls

RACT "Catch-Ups" in Kent 
County:

     Solvent Metal Cleaning Creditable 31-May-95

     Surface Coating of Metal 
Furniture Creditable 31-May-95

     Leaks from Synthetic Organic 
Chemical, Creditable 31-May-95

        Polymer, and Resin 
Manufact. Equip.

New RACT Regulations:

     Bulk Gasoline Marine Tank 
Vessel Loading Facilities Creditable 31-Dec-95

     SOCMI Reactor Processes 
and Distillation Operations Creditable 01-Apr-96

     Batch Processing Operations Creditable 01-Apr-96

     Offset Lithography      Creditable 01-Apr-96

     Aerospace Coatings Creditable 01-Apr-96

     Industrial Cleaning Solvents Creditable 29-Nov-94

     Non-CTG RACT   Creditable  31-May-95

     Delaware NOx RACT   Creditable  31-May-95

Regional NOx Control OTC 
MOU Creditable 01-May-99

Federal Benzene Waste Rule Creditable
Spring 
1995

Sanitary Landfills Creditable 09-Oct-93

Irreversible Process Changes Creditable 01-Jan-96

Stationary Area Source 
Controls

RACT "Catch-Ups" in Kent 
County:

     Solvent Metal Cleaning Creditable 31-May-95

     Cutback Asphalt                         Creditable   31-May-95

New RACT Regulations:

     Stage I Vapor Recovery-
Gasoline Dispensing Facilities Creditable 15-Nov-94

     Emulsified Asphalt Creditable 31-May-95

     Motor Vehicle Refinishing Creditable 01-Apr-96

     Offset Lithography Creditable 01-Apr-96

     Aerospace Coatings   Creditable  01-Apr-96

     Stage II Vapor Recovery Creditable 15-Nov-94

     Open Burning Creditable 08-Feb-95

Off-Road Mobile Source 
Controls

Reformulated Fuel Creditable 01-Jan-95

New Emission Standards

     Spark Ignition Engines Creditable
Court-

Ordered

     Compression Ignition 
Engines Creditable

Court-
Ordered

     Marine Engines Creditable
Court-

Ordered

On-Road Mobile Source 
Controls

FMVCP and RVP Noncreditable Pre-1990

Tier I Vehicle Emissions 
Standards Creditable

Model Year 
1994

  a. Basic I/M for Kent County Creditable 01-Jan-91

  b. ATP and Pressure Test for 
Kent Creditable 01-Jan-95

ATP and Pressure Test for New 
Castle Creditable 01-Jan-95

Reformulated Fuel Creditable 01-Jan-95
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factors such as growth, control efficiency, rule effectiveness,
and rule penetration, are considered and incorporated
whenever appropriate for point sources, stationary area
sources and non-road mobile sources.  Emission projections
for on-road mobile sources are conducted using EPA's
MOBILE5a software.  Details of the control strategy
projections are presented in the 1999 RPP (Reference 4).  A
summary of the 1999 VOC and NOx control strategy
emission projections is given in Table 4.  

 Table 4. Delaware 1999 Control Strategy Projections for 
VOC and NOx Emissions (TPD)

As shown in Table 4, the total VOC and NOx emissions
projected for 1999 in Delaware's nonattainment area (Kent
and New Castle Counties) are 110.21 TPD and 143.98 TPD,
respectively.  The VOC projection is equal to the emission
target, while the NOx projection is lower than the target
(148.96 TPD).  Therefore, the 1999 RPP concludes that its
proposed control measures are adequate and enough for
Delaware to meet CAAA’s rate-of-progress requirements on
VOC and NOx emission reductions in the milestone year of
1999.

2.3  Delaware 1993, 1996 and 1999 Periodic Emission
Inventories

Under Section 182(a) of the CAAA, Delaware is
required to compile comprehensive periodic emission
inventories of ozone precursors for 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002
and 2005.  The emission data in these periodic inventories
are either reported directly by individual sources (e.g., point
sources such as industrial facilities), or calculated from the
subject year activity data obtained from relevant sources or
other agencies (e.g., area sources).  These periodic emission
inventories cover all sources included in Delaware 1990
Base Year Emission Inventory.  Delaware’s 1993 periodic
emission inventory (PEI) was submitted to EPA as a SIP

revision in January 1998 (Reference 10). A summary of the
1993 PEI is provided in Appendix D of this document.
Delaware's 1996 PEI was completed and submitted to EPA
in November 1999 (Reference 11). A summary of the 1996
PEI is provided in Appendix E of this document.
Delaware’s1999 PEI was completed and its summary was
submitted to EPA in June 2002. 

Emissions in the periodic emission inventories are
reported in tons per year (TPY) and in tons per day (TPD) in
the peak ozone season.  For the purpose of this document,
only daily emissions (TPD) are needed.  A summary of the
1993, 1996, and 1999 PEIs is presented in Table 5. In the
next section, the 1999 emission data in Table 5 will be used
to conduct the 1999 milestone compliance demonstration.

 Table 5. Summary of Delaware's 1993, 1996 and 1999 
Periodic Emission Inventories (TPD)

2.4  Delaware 1996 Milestone Compliance
Demonstration

As mentioned earlier, under Sections 182(d) of
CAAA, Delaware was required to achieve in 1996 an actual
VOC emission reduction of at least 15% from its 1990 VOC
emission level.  After Delaware finished its 1996 PEI in
November 1999, Delaware developed its 1996 milestone
compliance demonstration SIP in February 2000, in which
Delaware demonstrated that its 1996 VOC emission target
was successfully met (Reference 12). A copy of the 1996
Milestone Demonstration is provided in Appendix F of this
document.  The main results of the 1996 demonstration
document are presented in Table 6.  As indicated in Table 6,
the 1996 PEI VOC emission is 101.87 TPD, which is 12.0%
lower than the 1996 VOC emission target required by
CAAA. Therefore, the 1996 compliance with the rate-of-
progress emission reduction requirement is successfully

Kent New Castle Total NAA

Source 
Sector VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Point 
Sources 1.28 5.03 21.33 67.06 22.61 72.09

Stationary 
Area 
Sources 10.25 0.96 28.00 4.72

38.25 5.68

Off-Road 
Mobile 
Sources 3.44 8.27 15.87 19.17

19.31 27.43

On-Road 
Mobile 
Sources 7.55 10.27 22.49 28.51

30.04 38.78

Total 
Emissions 22.51 24.52 87.69 119.46 110.21 143.98

1993 PEI 1996 PEI 1999 PEI

Source 
Sector VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Point 
Sources 27.77 95.57 14.98 44.48 13.01 50.50

Stationary 
Area 
Sources

47.02 9.18 32.21 5.33 24.09 6.67

Off-Road 
Mobile 
Sources

20.50 26.80 21.08 27.03 20.76 23.23

On-Road 
Mobile 
Sources

40.51 41.25 33.61 44.72 30.83 37.28

TOTAL 
EMISSIO
NS

135.80 172.80 101.87 121.55 88.69 117.68
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demonstrated. 

 Table 6. 1996 Milestone Compliance Demonstration 
Results*

 *Data obtained from Reference 12.

3. Delaware 1999 Milestone Compliance Demonstration
3.1  Milestone Compliance Demonstration

In the 1999 RPP, Delaware determined that the
1999 targets of VOC and NOx emissions for its
nonattainment area (i.e., Kent and New Castle Counties)
were 110.21 TPD and 148.96 TPD, respectively, in the peak
ozone season.  The 1999 RPP also assessed that, through
implementing necessary emission control measures
proposed therein, these emission targets could be achieved.
In the 1999 PEI, Delaware has shown that the actual total
VOC and NOx emissions in 1999 are 88.69 TPD and 117.68
TPD, respectively, in the peak ozone season.  The 1999
emission targets and the 1999 PEI actual emissions are
summarized in Table 7.  As indicated in Table 7, both actual
VOC and NOx emissions in the 1999 PEI are lower than the
required emission targets. Therefore, Delaware demonstrates
herein that its 1999 milestone compliance for VOC and NOx
emission reductions under CAAA’s rate-of-progress
requirements has been successfully met.  
 Table 7. Milestone Compliance Demonstration for 1999

  *(1999 PEI – 1999 Target)/1999 Target

4.  Documentation
APPENDIX A. Summary of Delaware's 1990 Base Year

Emission Inventory
APPENDIX B. Summary of Delaware's 1996 (15%)

Rate-of-Progress Plan 
APPENDIX C. Summary of Delaware's 1999 Rate-of-

Progress Plan and Its amendments APPENDIX D. Summary
of Delaware's 1993 Periodic Emission Inventory

APPENDIX E. Summary of Delaware's 1996 Periodic

Emission Inventory
APPENDIX F. Delaware's 1996 Milestone Compliance

Demonstration

(Hard copies of these appendixes are available upon request.
Written requests should be addressed to Mr. R. Amirikian,
Planning Supervisor, PCP-AQM-DAWM, DNREC, 156
South State Street, Dover, DE 19901, or at e-mail address:
ronald.amirikian@state.de.us. The documents can be also
obtained from DNREC’s website at http://
www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/aqm_page/aqm_nets.htm.).

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 

Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2003-A-0047

RE: Proposed Revision to the State Implementation
Plan (SIP) Entitled “Amendments to Delaware
Phase II Attainment Demonstration” For the
1-hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard
Of Ground-Level Ozone

Date of Issuance:  August 11, 2003
Effective Date of the SIP Revision:  September 11, 2003

I.  Background

On Thursday, June 26, 2003, at approximately 6:15
p.m., a public hearing was begun in the DNREC Auditorium
at 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.  The purpose of this
hearing was to receive public comment on the proposed
revisions to the State Implementation Plan (SIP) as specified
above.  After the hearing, the Department performed an
evaluation of the evidence entered into the record in this
matter.  Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared his report
and recommendation in the form of a Hearing Officer’s
Report to the Secretary dated July 22, 2003, and that Hearing
Officer’s report is expressly incorporated herein by
reference.  

II.  Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the
Hearing Officer’s Report dated July 22, 2003, are expressly
incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the findings
and conclusions of the Secretary.

1996 
Required 1996 Control 1996 PEI

Emission 
(TPD)

Emission 
Target

Strategy 
Projection

Actual 
Emission

VOC 115.81 115.37 101.87

1999 Required 1999 PEI
PEI vs. 
Target*

Emission 
(TPD)

Emission 
Target

Actual 
Emission

Lower(-)/
Higher(+)

VOC 110.21 88.69 -19.5%

NOx 148.96 117.68 -21.0%
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III.  Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed
revision to the State Implementation Plan (SIP) for the
Attainment of the National Air Quality Standard for Ground-
Level Ozone be promulgated in the manner and form
provided for by law.

IV.  Reasons

The proposed revision to Delaware’s State
Implementation Plan will contribute to the improvement of
air quality in the State while maintaining consistency with
applicable Federal requirements, in furtherance of the
policies and purposes of 7 Del.C. Chapter 60.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

AMENDMENTS TO
Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration For The 

Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton
Ozone Non-Attainment Area

Including A
Revision of the 2005 Mobile Source Emission Budgets 

Using MOBILE6
Submitted To

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
By

Delaware Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control Dover, Delaware

June 2003
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December 2000.

6. Delaware 1999 Milestone Compliance
Demonstration for Kent and New Castle Counties:
Demonstrating Adequate Progress toward Attainment of the
1-Hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard for Ground-
Level Ozone, Delaware Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, as proposed
in June 2003.

7. 64 FR 70444, December 16, 1999; Approval and
Promulgation of Air Quality Implementation Plans;
Delaware; One-hour Ozone Attainment Demonstration for
the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton Ozone Nonattainment
Area; proposed rule.

8. 66 FR 54598, October 29, 2001; Approval and
Promulgation of Air Quality Implementation Plans;
Delaware; Post-1996 Rate-of-Progress Plans and One-hour
Ozone Attainment Demonstration for the Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Trenton Ozone Nonattainment Area; final rule.

9. Memorandum: Clarification of Policy Guidance for
MOBILE6 SIPs in Mid-Course Review Areas, from T. Helms
and L. Cook, Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards,
US EPA, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, February,
2003.

1. Introduction
Under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA,

Reference 1), Kent and New Castle Counties in Delaware
are classified as severe nonattainment areas with respect to
the 1-hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard
(NAAQS) for ground-level ozone.  The CAAA requires
Delaware to submit to the US Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) a State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision to
demonstrate that the 1-hour ozone standard can be attained
in 2005 in these two counties with necessary and adequate
control measures for VOC and NOx emission sources.  That
SIP revision, entitled “Delaware Phase II Attainment
Demonstration for Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton Ozone
Nonattainment Area,” was originally submitted to EPA in
May 1998, and amended three times thereafter (Reference
2). 

One requirement of EPA for a state’s attainment
demonstration SIP revision is to set up on-road motor
vehicle VOC and NOx emission budgets for use in
transportation conformity analysis in that state.  In its
amendments to the Phase II Attainment Demonstration SIP
in January 2000, Delaware set up these two budgets for 2005
using EPA’s MOBILE5b model and including MOBILE5-
based Tier 2 benefits.  In its amendments to the Phase II
Attainment Demonstration SIP in December 2000, Delaware
committed that it would revise the budgets within one year
after the release of the then-anticipated MOBILE6 model.  In
January 2002, EPA officially released the MOBILE6 model.
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The document proposed herein is to use MOBILE6
model to revise the on-road motor vehicle VOC and NOx
emission budgets in Delaware Phase II Attainment
Demonstration SIP, as amended in January 2000 (Reference
2). The agency with direct responsibility for preparing and
submitting this document is the Delaware Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC),
Division of Air and Waste Management, Air Quality
Management Section (AQM), under the direction of Ali
Mirzakhalili, Program Administrator.  The working
responsibility for this document falls within the Planning and
Community Protection (PCP) Branch of AQM, under the
management of Raymond H. Malenfant, Program Manager
II, and Ron Amirikian, Planning Supervisor.  The following
staff members of PCP are responsible for the preparation of
this document:

Frank Gao, Ph.D., P.E., Environmental Engineer
Principal Author and Project Leader

Philip Wheeler, MRP, Environmental Planner
Lead person for MOBILE6 modeling

Comments and/or questions regarding this document
should be addressed to F. Gao at (302)323-4542, e-mail
Frank.Gao@state.de.us, or P. Wheeler at (302)739-4791, e-
mail Philip.Wheeler@state.de.us, Air Quality Management
Section, DAWM-DNREC, 156 South State Street, Dover,
DE 19901.

2. Requirements from EPA on Use of MOBILE6 Model
In January 2002, EPA officially released the MOBILE6

model for states to use in their ozone SIP revisions and
transportation conformity analysis.  In a policy guidance
regarding the use of MOBILE6 model (Reference 3), EPA
requires that, if a state used MOBILE5-based Tier 2 benefits
when it determined its previous on-road motor vehicle
emission budgets, the state must revise those budgets within
one year after MOBILE6 is released, and submit the revised
budgets to EPA as a SIP revision.  Since Delaware used the
MOBILE5-based Tier 2 benefits in its last mobile budget
SIP submittal, Delaware needs to meet this requirement
upon the MOBILE6 release (See also References 7 and 8).

According to the same guidance, Delaware can revise its
motor vehicle emission budgets using MOBILE6 without
revising the entire Phase II Attainment Demonstration SIP or
completing additional modeling, if Delaware can satisfy the
following two criteria: (1) the SIP continues to demonstrate
attainment when the MOBILE6 is used to estimate motor
vehicle emissions and to set up new emission budgets, and
(2) the growth and control strategy assumptions for
stationary sources and non-road mobile sources continue to
be valid to maintain the overall conclusions of the SIP.

Delaware has decided not to revise the entire Phase II

Attainment Demonstration SIP and not to conduct additional
modeling.  The second criterion above can be satisfied by the
following two documents:  (1) Delaware 1996 Milestone
Demonstration for Kent and New Castle Counties
(Reference 4), and (2) Delaware 1999 Milestone
Compliance Demonstration for Kent and New Castle
Counties (Reference 6).  In these two documents, Delaware
has successfully demonstrated that the overall emissions of
VOC and/or NOx in the 1996 and 1999 Periodical Emission
Inventories are below the rate-of-progress emission targets
for these two milestone years, which indicates continuous
adequate progress toward the attainment of the 1-hour ozone
standard in 2005.

In the following sections of this document, Delaware
will show that EPA’s first criterion will be satisfied by
demonstrating that the MOBILE6 estimates of motor vehicle
emissions are equal to or lower than the previous MOBILE5
estimates for the attainment year of 2005, and that the
percentage changes in on-road motor vehicle emissions
when using MOBILE6 are the same or higher than the
percentage changes calculated using MOBILE5.

3. MOBILE6 Estimates of On-Road Mobile Source
Emissions

The MOBILE6 modeling has been conducted in-house
cooperatively by staff members of DNREC Air Quality
Management Section and DelDOT Division of Planning.
The modeling includes all control measures specified in
Delaware’s 2005 Rate-of-Progress Plan (Reference 5). Using
the emission factors generated by MOBILE6 and the latest
planning assumption (i.e., the 2002 vehicle registration data,
VMT/speed data) currently available to the responsible
agencies (DNREC and DelDOT), the MOBILE6-based
motor vehicle emissions can be calculated.  A detailed
summary of MOBILE6-based emission estimates is
presented in Appendix A of this document. The MOBILE6
model input files, output files, the emission factors generated
by MOBILE6, and the emission calculations are provided in
Appendix B of this document. The MOBILE6 estimates of
on-road motor vehicle emissions in the attainment year 2005
are summarized in Table 1.

Table 1. MOBILE6 Estimates of On-Road Motor Vehicle 
Emissions in 2005.

 *NAA: Non-Attainment Area.

Attainment 
Year Kent County New Castle County Total NAA*

2005 VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Emissions (TPD) 5.14 8.42 15.08 21.28 20.22 29.70
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4. Comparison of MOBILE6-Based Estimates and
MOBILE5-Based Estimates

The MOBILE5-based estimates of on-road motor
vehicle emissions in 2005 are presented in Table 2.  These
estimates are also the on-road motor vehicle emission
budgets as specified in Delaware’s Phase II Attainment
Demonstration SIP, as amended in January 2000 (Reference
2).  Details of how Delaware conducted MOBILE5
modeling work and obtained these estimates are provided in
Delaware’s 2005 Rate-of-Progress Plan (Reference 5).

Table 2. MOBILE5 Estimates of On-Road Motor Vehicle 
Emissions in 2005.

*NAA: Non-Attainment Area.
** Estimates based on emission factors generated by
MOBILE5b model.

Comparison of MOBILE6-based estimates and
MOBILE5-based estimates can be made through the
following steps.

(1) For the total non-attainment area (NAA), the
MOBILE6-based VOC emission is 0.62 TPD higher than the
MOBILE5-based VOC emission (20.22 – 19.60 = +0.62
TPD), while the MOBILE6-based NOx emission is 1.13
TPD lower than the MOBILE5-based NOx emission (29.70
– 30.83 = - 1.13 TPD). 

(2) Delaware’s 1990 baseline VOC and NOx
emissions, as adjusted to the attainment year of 2005 using
MOBILE6 model, are 128.46 TPD and 152.83 TPD,
respectively (Appendix A).  The ratio of VOC to NOx
baseline emissions is

VOC : NOx = 128.46 : 152.83 = 1 :  1.19

Using the above VOC-to-NOx emission ratio, the 0.62
TPD VOC emission increase due to using MOBILE6 is
equivalent to a 0.74 TPD NOx emission increase (0.62 x
1.19 = 0.74 TPD). This equivalent NOx emission increase is
smaller than the 1.13 TPD NOx emission decrease as
indicated in (1) above.

The above comparison indicates that in the attainment
year of 2005, the new MOBILE6 estimates are lower than
the MOBILE5 estimates previously presented in Delaware’s
Phase II Attainment Demonstration SIP, as amended in
January 2000 (Reference 2).  

In February 2003, EPA issued a memorandum that
provided additional clarifying guidance on how to
demonstrate attainment when using MOBILE6-based

estimates to replace MOBILE5-based estimates (Reference
9).  According to this latest clarifying guidance, Delaware
should compare the percentage changes in the on-road
mobile source emissions between the 1990 base year and the
attainment year of 2005.  If the percentage changes in the on-
road emissions when using MOBILE6 are the same or higher
than the percentage changes based on MOBILE5, a shortfall
is not indicated and Delaware’s attainment demonstration
SIP continues to demonstrate attainment. 

The above-mentioned comparison is accomplished and
summarized in Table 3. The MOBILE6 estimates in Table 3
are obtained from Appendix A of this document, while the
MOBILE5 estimates are obtained from Delaware 2005 Rate-
of-Progress Plan (Reference 5).  As indicated in Table 3, the
percentage changes in the on-road mobile emissions using
MOBILE6 are 62.6% and 26.2% for VOC and NOx,
respectively. The percentage changes using MOBILE5 are
58.3% and 18.1% for VOC and NOx, respectively.  It is clear
that percentage changes in both VOC and NOx emissions in
the mobile sector are higher when using MOBILE6 than
using MOBILE5, which indicates that Delaware continues to
demonstrate attainment.  Therefore, the first criterion
specified in EPA’s MOBILE6 guidance document
(Reference 3) is satisfied.  As mentioned in Section 2 of this
document, the second criterion has been satisfied as well.

Table 3. Comparison of Percentage Changes in On-Road 
Mobile Emissions.

5. New MOBILE6-Based Motor Vehicle Emission
Budgets

Since the two criteria specified in EPA’s MOBILE6
guidance document (Reference 3) are satisfied, Delaware
has decided to set the new MOBILE6-based estimates to be
the new on-road motor vehicle emission budgets for Kent
and New Castle Counties in the attainment year of 2005, as

Attainment 
Year

Kent County New
Castle

County Total NAA*

2005 VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Emission (TPD) 4.84 7.91 14.76 22.92 19.60 30.83

Kent County
New

Castle County Total NAA

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx
MOBILE6 
Estimates

1990 Base Year 11.84 9.24 42.16 31.03 54.00 40.27
2005 Attainment 
Year 5.14 8.42 15.08 21.28 20.22 29.70

% reduction 56.6% 8.9% 64.2% 31.4% 62.6% 26.2%

MOBILE5b 
Estimates

1990 Base Year 12.89 10.62 34.07 27.04 46.96 37.66
2005 Attainment 
Year 4.839 7.905 14.76 22.92 19.60 30.83

% reduction 62.5% 25.6% 56.7% 15.2% 58.3% 18.1%
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presented in Table 4.  After EPA determines that mobile
budgets established by this SIP revision are adequate, these
budgets shall be used to determine the conformity of
transportation plans and programs to the SIP (References 3,
7 and 8).

Table 4. New MOBILE6-Based Motor Vehicle Emission 
Budgets for 2005.

* Non-attainment area.

Appendixes
Appendix A: Summary of MOBILE6-Based Emission

Estimates

Notes:
*  MOBILE6-based 1990 Baseline All Sector Adjusted to
2005 = 

MOBILE5-based 1990 Baseline All Sector
Adjusted to 2005 –

MOBILE5-based 1990 Baseline Mobile Sector
Adjusted to 2005 +

MOBILE6-based 1990 Baseline Mobile Sector
Adjusted to 2005 where MOBILE5-based data are obtained
from Delaware 2005 Rate-of-Progress Plan (Reference 5).
** The 2005 emissions with controls are calculated using the
2002 vehicle registration data, daily Vehicle Miles Traveled

(VMT) and speeds of vehicles on the FHWA Functional
Classes of Highways (as the latest planning assumptions
currently available to DNREC and DelDOT).

Appendix B: MOBILE6 Input/Output Files and 
Emission Calculations

Due to the large volumes of the input and output files,
hard and/or electric copies will be available only upon
request. Written request should be addressed to Phil Wheeler
at Philip.Wheeler@state.de.us  or AQM-DNREC, 156 South
State Street, Dover, DE 19901.

Attainment 
Year Kent County New Castle County Total NAA*

2005 VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Budgets (TPD) 5.14 8.42 15.08 21.28 20.22 29.70

Inventory Title
Kent County

New 
CastleCounty

Total NAA
VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

1990 Base Year 
Mobile Sector 11.84 9.24 42.16 31.03 54.00 40.27
1990 Baseline Mobile 
Sector

Adjusted to 1996 10.80 8.68 28.63 23.17 39.42 31.85
Adjusted to 1999 9.51 7.98 24.20 21.40 33.71 29.38
Adjusted to 2002 8.69 7.67 24.40 20.94 33.09 28.62
Adjusted to 2005 7.90 7.32 23.07 20.34 30.97 27.66

1990 Baseline All 
Sectors

 Adjusted to 2005* 128.46 152.83
Emissions with 
controls    

1996 9.77 9.08 26.65 23.66 36.42 32.74
1999 8.56 8.42 24.14 22.03 32.69 30.45
2002 7.00 7.89 16.88 18.94 23.87 26.83

2005** 5.14 8.42 15.08 21.28 20.22 29.70
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER
EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FORTY-SIX

RE: THE DELAWARE HOMELAND SECURITY 
COUNCIL

WHEREAS, on September 11, 2001, the United States
was attacked by a foreign enemy intent on weakening its
national infrastructure, institutions, and resolve through the
application of terrorism; and

WHEREAS, the magnitude and nature of the
September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, the anthrax crisis, and
national alerts have led governors to initiate unprecedented
efforts to implement comprehensive state-based strategies to
prevent, prepare for, respond to, and recover from terrorist
attacks; and

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware, through the efforts
of numerous persons representing private, municipal, county,
state and federal agencies, has upgraded the Delaware
Emergency Operations Plan; and

WHEREAS, homeland security is the prevention,
preemption, and deterrence of, and defense against,
aggression targeted at U.S. territory, sovereignty, domestic
population, and infrastructure as well as the management of
the consequences of such aggression and other domestic
emergencies; and

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware is committed to
protecting the lives and property of citizens and visitors to
our state; and

WHEREAS, a new Department of Safety and
Homeland Security has been formed to help protect the lives
and property of citizens and visitors to the State of Delaware;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, BY
THE POWER VESTED IN ME AS GOVERNOR OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE, HEREBY DECLARE AND
ORDER THAT:

1. The Delaware Homeland Security Council
(hereinafter, "the Council") is hereby created.

2. The Council shall be composed of the following
members:

a. The Secretary of the Department of Safety and
Homeland Security, who shall serve as chair;

b. The Governor's Homeland Security Advisor;

c. The Adjutant General of the National Guard;
d. The Chief Information Officer;
e. The Director of Public Health; °
f. The Director of the Delaware Emergency

Management Agency;
g. The Director of the Division of Motor 

Vehicles;
h. The Superintendent of the Delaware State 

Police;
i. The Chair of the Public Health Emergency

Planning Commission;
j. The Executive Secretary of the Delaware

Volunteer Firemen's Association;
k. The Chair of the Delaware Police Chiefs'

Council;
1. A federal representative for Homeland 

Security, who shall be appointed by the
Governor; and

m. Other representatives of local, county and
emergency organizations as recommended by
the Council and appointed by the Governor.

3. The purpose of the Council shall be to provide
advice, counsel and assistance to the Secretary of Safety and
Homeland Security and, the Governor's Homeland Security
Advisor concerning:

a. The prevention, detection, preparation for,
protection against, response to, and recovery
from terrorist threats or attacks;

b. The exchange of intelligence and information
concerning homeland security;

c. Interoperability of equipment and
technologies;

d. The comprehensive state strategy to address
terrorism;

e. The dissemination of information to the public
and other state entities concerning homeland
security;

f. Interaction and coordination between the
Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security and
other executive agencies;

g. Completion of any plans relating to homeland
security which are not specifically assigned to
another entity by statutory or executive order;
and

h. Other matters of homeland security as
determined by the Secretary of Safety and
Homeland Security or the Governor's
Homeland Security Advisor.

4. The Council shall meet at the Secretary of Safety
and Homeland Security's direction. The Secretary of Safety
and Homeland Security, in concert with the Governor's
Homeland Security Advisor, shall be responsible for
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determining the agenda of the Council meetings. For
administrative purposes the Council will be located within
the Department of Safety and Homeland Security, which
shall provide staff support to the Council.

Approved this 22nd day of July, 2003

Ruth Ann Minner, 
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor
Secretary of State
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Advisory Council on Tidal Finfisheries, Chair Mr. William D. Seamans 6/30/2008

Board of Parole Mr. Joe F. Garcia 6/16/2005
Mr. James F. Jestice 6/30/2007
Mr. George H. Williamson, III 6/30/2007

Council on Correction Ms. Nona J. Cunane 6/12/2006

Council on Transportation Mr. Lee J. Beetschen 7/9/2006

Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Appeals Mr. J. Edwin James Pleasure of the
Commission Governor

Delaware Commission on Veterans’ Affairs Mr. Jesse E. Kitson 10/23/2005

Delaware Harness Racing Commission Mr. George P. Staats 4/22/2007

Delaware Health Care Commission Joseph A. Lieberman, M.D. 6/13/2007

Diamond State Port Corporation, Board of Directors Mr. J. Brian Murphy 6/30/2006

Environmental Appeals Board Stanley Tocker, Ph.D. 6/30/2006
Ms. Kathryn J. Way 6/30/2006

Family Court, Commissioner Ms. Jennifer Mayo 6/12/2007

Justice of the Peace The Honorable Harvey D. Leighty 7/10/2009
The Honorable John C. Martin 7/17/2009

Kent County Board of Elections Ms. Mary Jane Behrens 6/30/2007
Mr. David E. Burke 6/30/2007
Ms. Mable K. Glanden 6/30/2007
Ms. Sally J. Verma 6/30/2007

New Castle County Board of Elections Mr. Ross E. Austin 6/30/2007
Mr. Edmund S. Krzyzanowski 6/30/2007
Mr. James A. Sterling, III 6/30/2007
Ms. Marilyn P. Whittington 6/30/2007

Professional Standards Board Ms. Sharon L. Brittingham 6/30/2006
Mr.  Heath B. Chasanov 6/30/2006
Mr. Edward J. Czerwinski 6/30/2006
Ms. Karen P. Gordon 6/30/2006
Ms. Barbara Grogg 6/30/2006
Bruce Harter, Ph.D. 6/30/2006
Mr. Leslie E. Holden 6/30/2006
Ms. Carla Z. Lawson 6/29/2004
Ms. Karen M. Schilling-Ross 7/8/2003
Carol Vukelich, Ph.D. 6/30/2006
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Ms. Geraldine Ann Magee Williams 6/30/2006
Public Integrity Commission Ms. Marla L. Tocker 6/30/2010

State Board of Education Mr. Richard M. Farmer 6/30/2009
Mr. Dennis J. Savage 6/30/2009

State Employee’s Charitable Campaign Steering Ms. Jennifer L. Garey Pleasure of the
Committee Governor

Statewide Labor Management Committee Mr. James R. Morris Pleasure of the
Governor

Sussex County Board of Elections Ms. Deborah B. Burris 6/30/2007
Mr. Vaughn L. Callaway 6/30/2007
Ms. Elizabeth D. Elliott 6/30/2007
Mr. Gerald W. Pepper 6/30/2007

Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board Reverend H. Milton Cole, Jr. 5/1/2009
Mr. George D. Dryden 5/1/2009
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The Department of Education proposes to enter into two
Interagency Agreements.  The Agreements are:

1. Interagency Agreement between the Division for
the Visually Impaired, Delaware Department of
Health and Social Services, and the Exceptional
Children and Early Childhood Education Group,
Delaware Department of Education, Local
Educational Agencies/Charter Schools Serving
Children with Visual Impairments. 

2. Interagency Agreement Between the Exceptional
Children and Early Childhood Education Group,
Delaware Department of Education and the
Christina School District as the Administering
District for the Statewide Program for Children
with Autism.

The purpose of these agreements is to ensure the
implementation of a free appropriate public education for
children with disabilities who are classified as blind or
visually impaired (Agreement 1) or autistic (Agreement 2).
The Department has prepared and plans to enter into these
Agreements as part of its general supervisory responsibility
and obligation to ensure services under the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act (20 U.S.C. §§1412(a)(11) and
1412(a)(12); 34 CFR §§300.142 and 300.600) and Chapter
31 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code. The Agreements
outline the roles and responsibilities of the participating
agencies.

The sixty day public comment period for these
agreements extends from September 1, 2003 through
October 30, 2003.  Written comments should be forwarded
to:

Dr. Martha Brooks, Director
Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Education
Group
Delaware Department of Education
P.O. Box 1402
Dover, DE  19903

or
mbrooks@doe.k12.de.us

Two hearings to receive public comment are scheduled
for:  

Thursday, October 9, 2003, 7:00 p.m.
William Penn High School Auditorium
713 East Basin Road
New Castle, DE  19720
Thursday, October 16, 2003, 7:00 p.m.

Polytech High School Adult Education Building 
Room 516
823 Walnut Shade Road
Woodside, DE  19980

I. Title of the Agreement

Interagency Agreement between the Division for the
Visually Impaired, Delaware Department of Health and
Social Services, and the Exceptional Children and Early
Childhood Education Group, Delaware Department of
Education, Local Educational Agencies/Charter Schools
Serving Children with Visual Impairments.  34
CFR§300.142 

II. Parties involved and their authority to provide
special education and related services 34
CFR§300.142(b)

The agencies involved in this Interagency Agreement
are the Division for the Visually Impaired (DVI),
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS), the
Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Group, Delaware
Department of Education (DDOE), the Local Education
Agencies (LEAs), and Charter Schools. The DDOE ensures
that each educational program for students with disabilities
administered within the State, including each program
administered by any other public agency, is under the
general supervision and direction of the State Educational
Agency (SEA), in accordance with the Federal Individuals
with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the State
Administrative Manual For Special Education Services
(AMSES). The DVI is authorized to provide related services
to children and youth with visual impairments, age of birth
to 21, in accordance with the rules and regulations of the
DDOE and Delaware Law. The Local Education Agencies
(LEAs) and Charter Schools carry the primary responsibility
for the education of children and youth with visual
impairments who are enrolled in their school districts/
Charter Schools, in accordance with the rules and
regulations of the IDEA and the DDOE. This Agreement is
written specifically to delineate services provided to children
and youth with visual impairments.

III. Purpose of the Agreement
The purpose of this Interagency Agreement is to ensure

through a cooperative effort, that a free, appropriate public
education is provided to all children and youth with visual
impairments who are served by the DVI, the LEAs, and
Charter Schools under the general supervision and direction
of the DDOE.  The eligibility criterion for children with
visual impairments refers to those definitions contained in
AMSES and the DVI State Rehabilitation Plan.  The roles
and responsibilities of each agency are documented in this
Agreement which shall become effective under the
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2003

http://www.doe.state.de.us/


GENERAL NOTICES 363
following conditions:

• When either DVI, an LEA/Charter school, or a sub-
contracted agency provides educational services to
a child or youth with a visual impairment or,

• When a child or youth with a visual impairment is
identified as eligible to either DVI or an LEA/Char-
ter school.

IV. Roles and responsibilities of each Agency, including
access to records and transfer procedures,
implementation, dissemination and training activities,
funding amounts, and sources [34 CFR§300.142(a), (b) &
(c)(2)]

Division for the Visually Impaired
The DVI agrees to the following for infant and toddler

programs and for pre-school, elementary, and secondary
educational and transitional programs for children and youth
with visual impairments under its jurisdiction. The scope of
educational and rehabilitation services offered by DVI is
influenced by federal and state enactments, funding levels,
and eligibility criteria. Services provided by DVI include,
but are not limited to, assistive technology, consultant
services, diagnostic and regularly prescribed
ophthalmologic, optometric, and low vision examinations
and aids, itinerant teacher services, orientation and mobility
training, specialized equipment, and vocational services.
Any services that cannot be provided by DVI, due to lack of
funding or other uncontrollable circumstances, are the
responsibility of the student's school district of residence or,
the responsibility of a participating Charter school or agency
in accordance with the child’s IEP. The DVI assures that
services to children and youth with visual impairments shall
be provided in accordance with the DVI Vocational
Rehabilitation State Plan. Situations in which services may
not be available include (a) a certified professional person
not available for the position, (b) DVI’s budget limitations,
or, (c) a State mandated "spending freeze." When services
cannot be rendered according to a student's IEP, a meeting
will be called between the DVI and the LEA/Charter school
staffs within three (3) weeks from notification that such
service(s) is, are not available in order to determine
alternative strategies for providing services.

DVI will:
1. Serve all educational programs for children and

youth with visual impairments in compliance with the
Federal IDEA, the State regulations as defined in the
AMSES and the DVI Vocational Rehabilitation State Plan.

2. Develop policies in accordance with the AMSES,
which shall include access to records and transfer
procedures.

3. Participate in the Partners Council for Children
with Disabilities (PCCD) of DDOE and in the provision of

in-service, technical assistance and dissemination of relevant
information to staff serving children and youth with visual
impairments. A representative of DVI will serve on the
PCCD committee.

4. Conduct training activities with appropriate staff
members concerning this Agreement and its implementation
and provide the necessary training to appropriate staff, in
cooperation with DDOE, which delineates the specific
procedure to be followed by DVI, DDOE, and LEA/Charter
Schools in the coordination of educational programs,
placement, and the appointment of educational surrogate
parents for children and youth with visual impairments who
are receiving cooperative services from those agencies.

5. Request State funding on an annual basis sufficient
for the provision of those components of a free appropriate
public education for children and youth with visual
impairments for whom the DVI is responsible. Develop and
submit annual proposals for federal funds to supplement
services for children and youth with visual impairments,
which funds include, but are not limited to IDEA-Part B.

6. Provide consultant services, upon request, to those
districts that house a State supported resource room for
children and youth with visual impairments. Those
consultant services include, but are not limited to,
programming, in-service training, ordering of equipment,
program evaluation, and coordination of inclusive
placements in the least restrictive environment.

7. Provide consultant services to all school districts
and Charter Schools when Unique Alternative Services
(including private placement) are being considered or
provided for a child with a visual impairment.

8. Provide itinerant teacher, consultant, orientation/
mobility, family, child, and vocational counseling services to
all children who meet the eligibility criteria as a visually
impaired student.  Actual services provided are defined by
the child’s IEP.

9. Provide funding for diagnostic and regularly
prescribed ophthalmological, optometrical, or low vision
examinations and purchase the prescribed glasses or low
vision aids, if the family cannot afford them, and if the
services are not covered by private insurance or Medicaid.
“.a public agency may access a parent’s private insurance
proceeds only if the parent provides informed consent
consistent with 34 CFR§300.500(b)(1).”  The use of a
parent's private insurance shall not be requested for the
provision of services, as part of the free, appropriate public
education for each child and youth with a visual impairment,
if such use would cause an increase in the cost of premiums
or if the lifetime benefits of the policy would be reduced, or
if the parent would be required to pay a deductible.

10. Administer the Annual Quota funds provided by the
American Printing House for the Blind, and purchase and
maintain all textbooks and equipment purchased for children
and youth with visual impairments under these accounts.
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The Annual Quota funds are based on an annual student
count.

11. Develop and implement additional interagency
agreements, as needed, with school districts, Charter Schools
and other public agencies to ensure a free, appropriate public
education for children and youth with visual impairments
under the jurisdiction of DVI, in cooperation with DDOE.

12. Provide specialized equipment, textbooks and
materials for children and youth with visual impairments to
the extent that DVI budget constraints allow and to maintain
the Instructional Materials Center (IMC), coordinate
volunteer Brailling, and research the availability of all
Braille and alternate media educational materials.

13. Provide in-service training for all LEA/Charter
Schools personnel, as needed or requested, in visual
impairment, and special programming for children and youth
with visual impairments.

14. Plan transition services which are related to a child
or youth with a visual impairment, beginning at age 14 or the
9th grade, whichever comes first. A vocational rehabilitation
counselor will work with the child’s IEP Team and itinerant
teacher to develop a transition plan for secondary level
programming and post school services.

15. Keep lines of communication open with LEAs/
Charter Schools and disseminate procedures for keeping
lines of communication open.

16. Actively participate in the development and
revision of IEPs for children and youth with visual
impairments.

17. Participate in the Continuous Improvement
Compliance Monitoring System (CCMS) with the DDOE in
order to assess and assure compliance with the IDEA and the
AMSES.

Delaware Department of Education
The DDOE shall ensure that services for children and

youth with visual impairments shall be provided in
accordance with the IDEA, State regulation as defined in the
AMSES and the DVI Vocational Rehabilitation State Plan.

DDOE will: 
1. Disseminate and provide technical assistance to

DVI and LEA/Charter Schools on the rules and regulations
pertaining to the education of children and youth with visual
impairments contained in the IDEA and AMSES.

2. Provide technical assistance to DVI and review the
DVI Vocational Rehabilitation State Plan, in accordance
with the AMSES.

3. Ensure participation of appropriate representatives
of DVI in the Partners Council for Children with Disabilities
(PCCD) and in the coordination of activities for the
provision of in-service, pre-service, technical assistance, and
dissemination of relevant information to DVI staff.

4. Conduct training activities with appropriate staff
concerning this Agreement and its implementation, in

cooperation with DVI, which delineates specific procedures
to be followed by DVI, DDOE, and LEA/Charter school
personnel in the coordination of educational programming,
placement, and the appointment of educational surrogate
parents for children and youth with visual impairments who
are receiving cooperative services from those agencies.

5. Provide technical assistance to DVI and review and
approve proposals for federal funds based upon the annual
count of students served, to supplement services for children
and youth with visual impairments, and to provide technical
assistance to obtain such funds.

6. Coordinate in consultation with DVI the
development of county level agreements to define process
and procedures for use of the county visually impaired
resource rooms.

7. Provide technical assistance to DVI in the
development of additional interagency agreements, as
needed, with school districts, Charter Schools, and other
public and private agencies.

8. Coordinate with DVI and LEA/Charter Schools in
the development of policies and procedures designed to
ensure the provision of a free, appropriate public education
for children and youth with visual impairments served by
DVI.

9. Include in the CCMS monitoring procedures,
methods to review a sample of files of DVI-DDOE placed
students with visual impairments.

LEAs and Charter Schools
LEAs and Charter Schools will:
1. Provide special education services to children and

youth with visual impairments in compliance with the IDEA,
the AMSES, and other State and federal rules and
regulations that apply in providing a free and appropriate
public education in the least restrictive environment.

2. Include appropriate staff from the DVI in the IEP
process for children and youth with visual impairments.

3. Provide appropriate facilities and mobility
equipment for DVI itinerant staff to work with LEA children
and youth with visual impairments.

4. Collaborate with DVI to enable all LEA employees
who work with children and youth with visual impairments
to have the opportunity to attend approved in-service
programs operated by DVI or DDOE.

5. Provide for children and youth with visual
impairments all required related services, equipment, and
textbooks which cannot be provided by DVI or other
agencies, in accordance with the IEP.

6. Designate an individual in each building in which
there are children and youth with visual impairments to
assist DVI each spring through summer, to determine what
book(s) for each student will be needed in Braille or alternate
media for the next school year.

7. Coordinate and implement the IEP process for
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children and youth with visual impairments in the same
manner as other special education students.

8. Notify appropriate DVI staff of IEP and related
meetings with 10 days notice.

9. Ensure that resource room aides become certified as
Braille transcribers through the Library of Congress within 2
years of hiring date as required by Delaware Law [14 Del. C.
§206(d)].

10. Notify DVI, by August 1 of each school year with
tentative class schedules (to give sufficient time prior to the
beginning of the school year) for the orientation and mobility
skill training of children and youth with visual impairments.

Joint Roles and Responsibilities of the Delaware
Department of Education and the Division for the
Visually Impaired

The DDOE and the DVI agree to:
1. Request funding for jointly operated programs on

an annual basis sufficient for the provision of a free
appropriate public education for children and youth with
visual impairments served in collaborative programs.

2. Seek federal funding to supplement services for
children and youth with visual impairments including, but
not limited to, America's Schools Act (ASA)-Title I (H),
Carl Perkins Vocational Technical Education Act-Title II
(CPVTEA) & IDEA-B.

3. Coordinate the development of policies and
procedures necessary to ensure the provision of appropriate
services and compliance with federal and State rules and
regulations.

4. Coordinate legislative activities that impact
children and youth with visual impairments; specifically, to
propose amendments to the Delaware Code to further
delineate responsibilities of DVI and DDOE and to propose
improvements in funding and policy.

5. Share responsibility for the planning and provision
of transition services for students who will be moving
between the educational system and DVI, other adult service
providers, and the community.

6. Maintain funding and staff levels sufficient to meet
agreed upon commitments.

7. Cooperate in the development of new programs and
in the revisions of existing programs.

8. Review and revise certification requirements for
teachers of children and youth with visual impairments.

9. Ensure participation of representatives of DVI, if
appropriate, in the CCMS when monitoring resource rooms
for children with visual impairments.

10. Ensure participation of appropriate representatives
of DVI, in the Unique Alternative process of children and
youth with visual impairments.

V. Procedures to Resolve Disputes Regarding Program
and Fiscal Issues [34 CFR§300.142(A)(3)]

The Procedures for resolving disputes between any of
the parties to this Interagency Agreement shall be as follows:

1. All attempts should be made to resolve disputes at
the program implementation level.

2. When disputes cannot be resolved at the program
implementation level, they shall be referred, in writing, to
The State Director of the Exceptional Children and Early
Childhood Education Group, DDOE; the State Director of
the Division for the Visually Impaired, DHSS; and the
Superintendent of the School District/CEO of the Charter
School involved. These individuals will review the situation
and determine how the dispute should be resolved. Their
decision shall be shared, in writing, with the parties involved
in the dispute within thirty (30) days of receipt of the
request.

3. If the dispute cannot be resolved as described in #2,
the dispute shall be referred in writing to the Cabinet
Secretary, DDOE; the Cabinet Secretary, DHSS; and the
President of the Chief School Officers Association. Further,
any party to this Interagency Agreement disagreeing with the
decision reached in step #2 may submit a written request for
review within thirty (30) days of the decision to the Cabinet
Secretary, DDOE; the Cabinet Secretary, DHSS; and the
President’ of the Chief School Officers Association,
outlining their specific disagreement with the decision. The
Cabinet Secretaries’ and the President’s decision shall be
final and binding on all parties and shall be communicated,
in writing, to all parties within thirty (30) days of referral of
the matter to them or request for review.

4. This Interagency Agreement does not restrict or
otherwise limit any additional rights or remedies any party
may have under state or federal law, nor extend the rights or
remedies of one party to the other.  This Interagency
Agreement does not restrict or otherwise limit the Delaware
Department of Education’s general supervision authority to
ensure that the requirements of state and federal law
concerning the education of children with disabilities are
carried out.

VI. Agreement Review
This ongoing Agreement shall be effective immediately

upon the written signatures of all parties and shall remain in
effect until a new agreement is signed. This Agreement shall
be reviewed annually by appropriate personnel from each
agency and shall be reauthorized at least every five (5) years
by the Department of Education, the Department of Health
and Social Services, and the Local Education Agencies/
Charter Schools. Renegotiation of any portion of this
Agreement may occur at any time, for good cause, upon the
written request of any of the participating agencies. This
agreement may be terminated by any party upon ninety (90)
days written notice.
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GLOSSARY/INTERAGENCY AGREEMENT

Consultant Services for Visually Impaired Students:
Consultant services refer to that sharing of extended

expertise that can be provided by the DVI staff. Consultation
services may be specific to an individual child or to visually
impaired students in general.  For example, this expertise can
be extended but not limited to regular classroom teachers,
administrators, personnel staff, and school nurses. Inservice
training can be provided as requested.

Diagnostic and Regularly Prescribed Ophthalmological,
Optometric, and Low Vision Examinations and Aids:

These services refer to the medical and low vision eye
care necessary for children and youth with visual
impairments to function visually as effectively as possible,
and to maintain eye health. These measures do not include
exotic and extremely expensive low vision aids, nor do they
include vision training, as it relates to learning disabilities or
visual perception.

Itinerant Teacher/Services for visually Impaired
Students:

DVI's Itinerant teachers travel to wherever children and
youth with visual impairments attend school (or the home, in
the case of an infant) and teach those skills specific to the
visual impairment. The itinerant teachers also provide
consultation in adaptations to visual impairment to regular
classroom teachers and staff.  Itinerant services generally do
not exceed 3-5 hours/week for each child with the
philosophy being that children who need more hours of
services may be more appropriately served in a resource
room for the visually impaired.

Related Educational Services Specific to Visually
Impaired Students:

Related educational services refer to those educational
services provided by DVI that are specifically related to the
visual impairment. The intent is that the DVI educational
staff will provide instruction in those skills that are designed
to teach the student to utilize any remaining vision to the
greatest extent possible, to use specialized skills such as
Bbraille reading, and to adapt the educational environment
so as to minimize the disability of low vision. Such
specialized skills include, but are not limited to, Bbraille,
typing, computer, orientation/mobility, use of low vision
aids, and the optacon. Related educational services also refer
to the provision of Bbraille, large print, taped textbooks and
materials.
Resource Room for Visually Impaired Students:

A resource room is a room in a school that is set aside
for academic support for visually impaired students and is
staffed by a certified VI teacher.  Delaware law establishes
three visually impaired resource rooms – one in each county.

They are currently located in Colonial School District (New
Castle County), Caesar Rodney School District (Kent
County), and Indian River School District (Sussex County).
[14 Del. C. Section 1703(d)]

Specialized Equipment for Visually Impaired Students:
Specialized equipment for the children and youth with

visual impairments can mean everything from a Bbraille
watch to a Kurzweil reading machine. DVI will provide
specialized equipment to the extent of its budget, as long as
the equipment is agreed upon as appropriate in the IEP.

Vocational Services for Visually Impaired Students: 
 Vocational services refers to those vocational, or
prevocational assessments, counseling, and training
specifically designed for children and youth with visual
impairments and provided in a cooperative effort between
DVI teachers and child/youth counselors counsel and LEA
staff. 

SIGNATURE AND TITLE OF EACH AUTHORIZED
SCHOOL DISTRICT & AGENCY ADMINISTRATOR 

Mrs. Valerie A. WoodruffMr. Vincent P. Meconi
Secretary of EducationSecretary
Department of EducationDept. of Health & Social Services

Dr. Nancy J. Wilson
Associate State Secretary
Curriculum & Instructional Improvement
Department of Education

Mr. Robert T. Goodhart
Deputy Director
Division for the Visually Impaired
Department of Health and Social Services

Dr. Martha Brooks, State Director
Exceptional Children and Early
Childhood Education
Department of Education

Mr. Tony J. Marchio, Superintendent
Appoquinimink School District
Dr. Bruce Harter, Superintendent
Brandywine School District

Dr. David E. Robinson, Superintendent
Caesar Rodney School District

Dr. Dane A. Brandenberger, Superintendent
Cape Henlopen School District
Dr. Michael D. Thomas, Superintendent
Capital School District
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Dr. Joseph Wise, Superintendent
Christina School District
Dr. George Meney, Superintendent
Colonial School District

Dr. George E. Stone, Superintendent
Delmar School District

Mrs. Lois M. Hobbs, Superintendent
Indian River School District

Dr. Diane G. Sole, Superintendent
Polytech School District

Dr. Daniel Curry, Superintendent
Lake Forest School District

Mr. Keith Duda, Superintendent
Laurel School District

Dr. Robert D. Smith, III, Superintendent
Milford School District

Dr. Steve Godowski, Superintendent
New Castle County Vo-Tech School District
Dr. Robert Andrzejewski, Superintendent
Red Clay Consolidated School District

Dr. Russell H. Knorr, Superintendent
Seaford School District

Mrs. Deborah D. Wicks, Superintendent
Smyrna School District

Dr. George L. Frunzi, Superintendent
Sussex Technical School District

Dr. Kevin E. Carson, Superintendent
Woodbridge School District

Ms. Ruby Coppadge
Academy of Dover Charter School

Ms. Gloria Homer
Campus Community Charter School

Mr. Raymond Seigfried
Charter School of Wilmington
Mr. Will Robinson
Delaware Military Academy

Ms. Saundra Johnson
East Side Charter School

Ms. Raye Jones Avery
Kuumba Academy Charter School

Reverend Clifford Johnson
Marion T. Academy Charter School

Mr. Kevin Hensley
MOT Charter School

Mr. Gary Fredericks
Newark Charter School

Mr. Pierre Stevens
Positive Outcomes Charter School

Ms. Jennifer Meekins
Providence Creek Academy

Ms. Maribeth Dockety
Sussex Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Nikki Castle
Thomas A. Edison Charter School

I. Title of the Agreement
Interagency Agreement Between the Exceptional

Children and Early Childhood Education Group, Delaware
Department of Education and the Christina School District
as the Administering District for the Statewide Program for
Children with Autism.

II. Parties involved and their authority to provide
special education and related services

The agencies involved in this Interagency Agreement
are the Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Education
Group, Delaware Department of Education, and the
Christina School District as the Administering District for
the Statewide Program for Children with Autism.  The
Department of Education ensures that each educational
program for students with disabilities administered within
the State, including programs administered by any other
public agency, is under the general supervision and direction
of the State Educational Agency (SEA), in accordance with
the Federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) and the State Administrative Manual for Special
Education Services (AMSES).  The Christina School
District, under the terms of this agreement, is authorized to
provide the services outlined in this agreement to children
and youth with autism, ages birth to 21, in accordance with
the rules and regulations of the Delaware Department of
Education and Delaware Law.  The three County Consortia
programs, local education agencies (LEAs), and charter
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schools carry the primary responsibility for the education of
children and youth with autism who are enrolled in their
school districts/charter schools, in accordance with the rules
and regulations of the IDEA and the DDOE.  This
Agreement is written specifically to delineate services
provided to children and youth with autism through the
Statewide Program for Children with Autism.

III. Purpose of the Agreement
The purpose of this agreement is to define those services

offered through the Statewide Program that are available to
students with autism served in approved programs across the
State in LEAs and charter schools.  The roles and
responsibilities of each agency are documented in this
Agreement, which shall become effective upon signature of
the parties.

IV. Roles and responsibilities of each Agency, including
access to records and record transfer procedures,
program implementation, dissemination, training
activities, funding amounts, and sources

Christina School District
The Christina School District shall maintain the Office

of the Director of the Statewide Program for Children with
Autism.  The Office of the Director will:

1. Maintain the Statewide Parent Advisory Committee
as per AMSES 21.4.

2. Maintain the Peer Review Committee as per
AMSES 21.5.

3. Maintain the Human Rights Committee as per
AMSES 21.6.

4. Maintain the Statewide Monitoring Review Board
as per AMSES 21.2 and Section 1332 (f) of Title 14 of the
Delaware Code..

5. Direct and manage the Residential Program for
Children with Autism.

a. Develop and implement criteria and procedures
for accessing services offered through the residential
program.  Assure all approved programs serving students
with autism understand how to access residential services;

b. Oversee the hiring, training and supervision of
staff in the residential facilities;

c. Establish a separate funding line for the
residential program;

d. Oversee the budget for the residential program,
including development of the annual budget; and

e. Develop and implement a system to cover
tuition for all aspects of the residential program.  Tuition for
excess costs (all costs beyond State allocations) will be
charged to the district of residence of the child and be based
on time actually spent in the residential program.

6. Direct and manage the Respite Care Program for
Children with Autism.

a. Maintain the procedures for accessing respite
care services across all approved programs serving students
with autism.  

b. Maintain the list of qualified respite care
providers.

c. Establish a separate funding line for respite
services.

d. Oversee the budget for respite services,
including development of the annual budget.

e. Process all payments for respite services.
f. Develop and implement a system to cover

tuition for all aspects of the respite care system.  Tuition for
respite care costs will be charged to the district of residence
of the child and be based on time actually used.  

7. Coordinate Professional Development.
a. Serve as a liaison to Delaware Institutions of

Higher Education to maintain the content of courses required
for certification of teachers of children with autism.

b. Conduct a biennial needs assessment of
training needs of staff and parents of children with autism.
This needs assessment will include data from the Monitoring
Review Board, as well as staff and parent input.  

c. Coordinate the provision of a minimum of two
in-service days of training each year for staff serving
children with autism.

d. In collaboration with representatives from each
of the approved programs, develop and implement new
teacher orientation and training modules.

e. Develop and implement a system (to include
state, federal, and local tuition funds) to financially support
the provision of professional development and technical
assistance to all approved programs serving children with
autism in the State.

f. Serve as a member of the Partners’ Council for
Children with Disabilities.

8. Develop, implement and maintain a plan to recruit
teachers and related services personnel in collaboration with
program coordinators and personnel directors in the LEAs/
Charter Schools with approved programs serving students
with autism.

9. Provide data for reporting and program
accountability as requested by the DDOE.

10. Oversee the budget of the Office of the Director,
including the development of an annual budget in
consultation with the DDOE..

Delaware Department of Education
Through the Exceptional Children and Early Childhood

Education Group the Department will:
1. Coordinate the Development of Guidelines for

Research Based Best Practices for the Education of Children
with Autism.

2. Maintain regulations required in order to implement
the IDEA and State Law related to programs for children
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with autism.
3. Work with Delaware Institutions of Higher

Education to ensure courses required for certification of
teachers of children with autism are available.  

4. Work with the Professional Standards Board to
maintain the requirements for licensure and certification for
teachers of children with autism.  

5. Review and take action as appropriate on the
Annual Report of the Statewide Monitoring Review Board. 

6. Monitor programs serving children with autism
through the Comprehensive Continuous Improvement
Monitoring System (CCMS).

7. Provide a liaison to the Statewide Monitoring
Review Board.

8. Develop and maintain the consultant contracts with
the Peer Review Committee members subject to availability
of funds.

9. Provide access to the DDOE data base relative to
students classified as Autistic and staff working with these
students in all school districts and charter schools as
permitted by state and federal laws governing personal
privacy and the confidentiality of education records.

V. PROCEDURES TO RESOLVE DISPUTES
REGARDING PROGRAM AND FISCAL ISSUES [34
CFR§§300.142(a)(3) and 300.600(b)]

The procedures for resolving disputes between any of
the parties to this Interagency Agreement shall be as follows:

1. All attempts should be made to resolve disputes at
the program implementation level.

2. When disputes cannot be resolved at the program
implementation level, they shall be referred, in writing, to
the State Director of the Exceptional Children and Early
Childhood Education Group, DDOE; and the Director of the
Statewide Program. These individuals will review the
situation and determine how the dispute should be resolved.
Their decision shall be shared, in writing, with the parties
involved in the dispute within thirty (30) days of receipt of
the request.

3. If the dispute cannot be resolved as described in #2,
the State Director of the ECECEG and the Director of the
Statewide Program shall refer the dispute in writing to the
Secretary of the DDOE; and the Superintendent of Christina
School District, Administering Agency for the Statewide
Program. Further, any party to this Interagency Agreement
disagreeing with the decision reached in step #2 may submit
a written request for review within thirty (30) days of the
decision to the Secretary of the DDOE; outlining their
specific disagreement with the decision. The Secretary’s and
the Superintendent’s decision shall be final and binding on
all parties and shall be communicated, in writing, to all
parties within thirty (30) days of referral of the matter to
them or request for review.

4. This Interagency Agreement does not restrict or

otherwise limit any additional rights or remedies either party
may have under state or federal law, nor extend the rights or
remedies of one party to the other.  This Interagency
Agreement does not restrict or otherwise limit the
Department’s general supervision authority to ensure that the
requirements of state and federal law concerning the
education of children with disabilities are carried out.

VI. Agreement Review
This ongoing Agreement shall be effective immediately

upon the written signatures of all parties and shall remain in
effect until a new agreement is signed or this agreement is
otherwise terminated in accordance with this paragraph.
This Agreement shall be reviewed annually by appropriate
personnel from each agency and shall be reauthorized at
least every five (5) years by the Department of Education
and the Christina School District as the Administering
Agency for the Statewide Program. Renegotiation of any
portion of this Agreement may occur at any time, for good
cause, upon the written request of any of the participating
agencies. This agreement may be terminated by any party
upon ninety (90) days written notice to the other party.

Signatories:

Mrs. Valerie A. Woodruff
Secretary of Education
Department of Education

Dr. Martha Brooks, State Director
Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Education
Department of Education

Dr. Joseph Wise
Superintendent
Christina School District

Ms. Sally Farr
Supervisor, Special Education 
Christina School. District

Dr. Peter Doehring
Director, Delaware Autism Program
Christina School District
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Forms And Rates Bulletin No.  26

Credit Scoring Filing Requirements

Issued:  August 22, 2003

To: All Insurance Companies And Other Regulated 
Entities

From: Donna Lee H. Williams, Insurance Commissioner
State Of Delaware Insurance Department

I.  Purpose

The purpose of this bulletin is to assist insurers in
complying with the newly issued Regulation No. 906.
Regulation No. 906 was adopted by the Commissioner
pursuant to the authority granted by 18 Del. C. §§ 311, 2501,
2304(15)(c), and 2312, and promulgated in accordance with
the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, Title 29 Del.
C. Chapter 101.

II.  General Propositions 

Regulation No. 906 requires that each insurer proposing
to use an insurance score as part of its rating or underwriting
criteria shall file with the Commissioner such supporting
models, algorithms, actuarial and statistical data and reports
sufficient to permit the Commissioner to determine proper
compliance with said Regulation.

No insurer shall implement credit scoring for rate
making or underwriting purposes without first having
obtained the approval of the Commissioner as part of a rate
filing under 18 Del. C. Chapter 25.  Policies and renewal
notices issued on or before the effective date of Regulation
No. 906 in which credit information was used in the
underwriting or rating of the policy shall be deemed valid for
the term thereof but not for any renewal thereunder in the
absence of compliance with said regulation.

Confidentiality
Any document, report, model or other supporting

information filed with the Commissioner, irrespective of the
format or media in which it is contained, shall be considered
proprietary or trade secret and subject to the confidentiality
provisions of 18 Del. C. § 321(g) and/or, upon the request of
the insurer or owner of the document, 29 Del C. 10002(d)(2).
Where an insurer or third party is required to file proprietary
or trade secret insurance scoring algorithms, models etc., the
insurer or third party may elect to segregate such documents
from the remainder of its rate filing by filing such documents

separately in a sealed envelope or container.

III. Filing Guidance

Algorithms, Models, Actuarial and Statistical Data
Filings will be reviewed to ensure that at least the

following three elements are included: (1) the manner in
which Credit Score is derived; (2) the statistical relevance of
the Credit Score to risk; and (3) the rules for application of
Credit Score in the underwriting or rating process.  With
regard to (1) and (2) above, the insurer should indicate which
of the following three categories applies:

Independent Derivation of Credit Score /
Independent Statistical Model; or

Third-Party Derivation of Credit Score / Third-
Party Statistical Model; or

Third-Party Derivation of Credit Score /
Independent Statistical Model.

Independent Derivation of Credit Score / Independent
Statistical Model

Insurers who elect to use an independently-developed
model shall file supporting information as specified in
Regulation No. 906.

Third-Party Derivation of Credit Score / Third-Party
Statistical Model

Insurers using algorithms and statistical models etc.
developed by a third party contractor (e.g. Fair-Isaac,
ChoicePoint, etc.) without modification are not required to
file supporting information for the algorithms/models, but
are required to identify the third party and the name of the
proposed algorithms/models.  Insurers using algorithms and
statistical models developed by a third party contractor
where the algorithms/models have been modified are
required to identify the third party and the name of the
proposed algorithms/models, and are required to file
supporting information for the modifications in accordance
with Regulation No. 906.  Any other statistical data and/or
reports unique to the insurer must be filed in accordance with
Regulation No. 906.   

Third-Party Derivation of Credit Score / Independent
Statistical Model

Insurers using only the Credit Score algorithms
developed by a third party vendor without modification are
not required to file supporting information for the Credit
Score algorithms, but are required to identify the third party
and the name of the proposed Credit Score algorithm.
Insurers using Credit Score algorithms developed by a third
party contractor where the Credit Score algorithms have
been modified are required to identify the third party and the
name of the proposed Credit Score algorithm, and are
required to file supporting information for the modifications
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in accordance with Regulation No. 906.  The supporting
statistical data and/or reports independently developed by
the insurer must be filed in accordance with Regulation No.
906. 

Duties of Third-Party Vendors
Third party vendors must file with the Delaware

Insurance Department their Credit Score algorithms.  Any
new algorithms or changes to filed algorithms must be filed
with the Delaware Insurance Department. 

Additional Duties of Insurers
Insurers should clearly state the rules of application of

the credit score in its underwriting or rating process, and
should further relate such rules to the modeled statistical
relevance to risk in accordance with Regulation No. 906.

Regulation Compliance
Insurers found in non-compliance with Regulation No.

906 will have sixty days to remediate and make a corrective
filing to the Department.  After sixty days, the insurers will
be disallowed from using credit scoring on new business and
renewals until such time as the insurer’s filing(s) have come
into compliance with Regulation No. 906.  

Filing extensions will be considered on a case-by-case
basis. 

Transmittal Headers
All insurers must provide specific references in the

required Transmittal Headers to be filed with rate and form
filings.  In particular, under “Filing Description” (on page 2
of 2 of the Transmittal Header), the insurer should state
whether the Credit Score algorithms are derived from a third
party without modification, with modification, or are
independently derived.  The insurer should also state
whether the models demonstrating statistical relevance to
risk are provided by a third party or are independently
derived.  Whenever third party information is used, the
insurer must identify the third party and the names of any
models referenced in the filing.  

Confidentiality
All insurers making filings whereby models/algorithms

are required should stamp those documents “Confidential or
Proprietary” to better assist the Department in filing
maintenance.

Filing Fees
Insurers making new automobile and homeowners

filings and insurers making changes to automobile and
homeowners rate filings as a result of Regulation 906 must
pay a filing fee in accordance with 18 Del. C. § 702.
Insurers with rate filings already “filed” with the
Department, and not making any changes as a result of

Regulation 906, will not be subject to 18 Del. C. § 702,
unless it is determined after review that the “filed” rate filing
must be amended. 

Cost of Review
The cost to review filed algorithms, statistical reports

etc., by the Department’s outside actuaries will be borne by
the insurer.  

The contact person at the Delaware Insurance
Department is Mr. Darryl Reese.  The mailing address is
Delaware Insurance Department, 841 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904-2465.  

Donna Lee H. Williams, Insurance Commissioner
August 22, 2003
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PHARMACY

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
§2509, the Delaware Board of Pharmacy (Board)  proposes
to modify Regulation  11.0  as it relates to emergency use
medication, labeling, consultant pharmacist duties, and drug
disposal in nursing homes.  The changes to Regulation 11
were made in response to public comment from an earlier
proposal that was not enacted.

A public hearing will be held on   October 8, 2003  at
10:00 a.m. in the Jesse Cooper Building, Room309 (third
floor conference room), Federal and Water Streets, Dover,
DE 19901. Written comments can be submitted at any time
prior to the public hearing in care of David Dryden,
Executive Director, at the above address.   In addition to
publication in the Register of Regulations and two
newspapers of general circulation, copies of the proposed
regulation can be obtained  by calling (302)739-4798.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards

The previously designated Hearing Examiner, Robert P.
Haynes, shall conduct a public hearing on the proposed
regulations on September 22, 2003.  After such hearing and
the close of the comment period as set forth in Exhibit B,
Hearing Examiner Haynes shall file a Report organizing,
classifying, and summarizing the administrative record in
this matter along with his recommendations concerning the
materials and the proposed regulations.  Hearing Examiner
Haynes shall submit such Report at a time to allow for its
consideration by the Commission by December 1, 2003.
Hearing Examiner Haynes is delegated the power to request
additional comments and conduct additional hearings (after
appropriate notice), if he deems such additional procedures
necessary or appropriate.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly
meeting on Thursday, September 18, 2003 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY

The Lottery issues this proposed rule amendment
pursuant to 29 Del. C. §4805(a) and 29 Del. C. §10115.  The
Lottery will accept written comments from September 1,
2003 through September 30, 2003.  The Lottery will hold a
public hearing on the proposed rule amendment on October
2, 2003 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room at
the Delaware Lottery Office, 1575 McKee Road, Suite 102,
Dover, DE 19904-1903.  Written comments should be
submitted to Brian Peters, Delaware Lottery Office, at the
same above-listed address.  The Lottery proposes to amend
Rule (30)(6a) pertaining to permitted exemptions to clarify
that retailers or license applicants may apply for an
exemption to the standards of accessibility in the rule.  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Notice Of Public Hearing

The Authority on Radiation Protection will hold a
public hearing to discuss the proposed changes to the
Regulation for the Certification of Radiation Technologists/
Technicians.  This public hearing will be held on Monday,
September 22, 2003, at 5:00 pm in the Pritchett Conference
Room, Delaware Hospital for the Chronically Ill on DuPont
Highway, in Smyrna, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations along with a listing
of substantial changes are available for review by contacting:

Office of Radiation Control
Jesse Cooper Building
P.O. Box 637
Federal and Water Streets
Dover, Delaware 19903
Telephone: (302) 744-4546

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700
by close of business Friday, September 19, 2003.  Anyone
wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to, on
in lieu of, oral testimony should submit such comments by
close of business September 30, 2003 to:

David Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, DE 19903-0637
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

PUBLIC NOTICE

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Program and Title 
XIX Medicaid State Plan

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code), 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority
of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107,
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of
Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program is
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Provider
Manual and the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to revise and
clarify the criteria and reimbursement methodology for
Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care services. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by September 30, 2003.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

PUBLIC NOTICE

TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES  

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to renew Delaware's eligibility status for the
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program
provided for in the enactment of the Personal Responsibility
and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996
(PRWORA), (P.L. 104-193).  The entire plan and all
attachments are available upon request via mail or fax.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by September 30, 2003.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program 

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services /
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program is proposing to
amend the policy of the Food Stamp Program in the Division
of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates to
rehabilitated drug felons.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by September 30, 2003.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Notice Of Public Hearing

Insurance Commissioner Donna Lee H. Williams
hereby gives notice that a public hearing will be held on
Thursday September 25, 2003, at 10:00 a.m. in the
Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware. The hearing is to consider Proposed Regulation
1406 relating to the licensing and regulation of third party
administrators.

The purpose for promulgating Regulation 1406 is to
comply with 74 Del. Laws Ch. 157 which became law on
July 15, 2003 requiring the Delaware Insurance Department
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to enact regulations governing the licensure and regulation
of third party administrators doing business in Delaware. 

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited from any
interested party. Comments may be in writing or may be
presented orally at the Hearing. Written comments must be
received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30
p.m., Thursday, October 2, 2003, and should be addressed to
Deputy Attorney General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
DE 19904. 

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL 

CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Tidal Finfish Regulations, Shellfish Regulations.

BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

To create a new Tidal Finfish Regulation 3565 and a
new Shellfish Regulation S-76 that establish procedures for
conducting the first lottery and subsequent lotteries of
available commercial gill net permits and authorization for
commercial hook and line permits (Tidal Finfish Regulation
3565), and commercial crab dredge, conch pot, and conch
dredge licenses (Shellfish Regulation S-76).  It is proposed
that the first lottery for available licenses be held on January
2, 2004 and subsequent lotteries will be held the first
working day in January of each year thereafter, as long as
one or more licenses are available.  Participants in the
lotteries shall include current participants in the apprentice
program who have completed the required and properly
documented 150 days of commercial fishing activities over
no less than a 2-year period dating from the specific date the
applicant signed up as an apprentice, according to the
provisions of §915(e), (k), and (n); and §1920, 7 Delaware
Code.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, or calling
or visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and
Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901,
(302)739-3441.  A public hearing on this proposed
amendment and new regulation will be held at the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control Auditorium 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30

PM on October 1, 2003.  The record will remain open for
written or e-mail comments to roy.miller@state.de.us until
4:30 PM on October 6, 2003.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

25 STATE POLICE DRIVE
P.O. BOX 7360

WEST TRENTON, NJ 08628-0360

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on
Wednesday, September 3, 2003 in West Trenton, New Jersey.
For more information contact Pamela M. Bush, Esq.,
Commission Secretary and Assistant General Council, at
(609) 883-9500 ext. 203.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

25 STATE POLICE DRIVE
P.O. BOX 7360

WEST TRENTON, NJ 08628-0360

REGISTER NOTICE

Clean Water Act Section 303(d):  Notice of Availability of 
4 Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs), Informational 

Meetings and Public Hearing  

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues
The United States Environmental Protection Agency

(USEPA) proposes to establish total maximum daily loads for
polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) in the Delaware River Zones
2 through 5 (from Trenton, New Jersey to the head of Delaware
Bay).  Technical development and interstate coordination
necessary to support the TMDLs for PCBs in the Delaware
River have been provided by the Delaware River Basin
Commission.  Adoption of the TMDLs will implement the
requirements of the USEPA’s Water Quality Planning and
Management regulations (40 CFR 130) to establish TMDLs.

Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
N/A

Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act (33

U.S.C. 1251 et seq.)
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List of Other Regulations that may be Impacted or
Affected by the Proposal:

Notice Of Public Comment:
This notice announces the date of availability for

comment on the basis and background document explaining
the background and calculations for 4 total maximum daily
loads for polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) in Delaware
River Zones 2 through 5 (from Trenton, New Jersey to the
head of Delaware Bay).  This notice also announces three
informational meetings and a single public hearing on the
proposed adoption of the TMDLs by the U.S. EPA, jointly
with the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control (DNREC), the New Jersey
Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP), the
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
(PADEP), and the Delaware River Basic Commission
(DRBC).

A draft report, including the basis and background
document for the TMDLs and calculations for the TMDLs,
will be published on the DRBC web site, http://www.drbc.net,
on or before September 15, 2003.

The dates and locations of the three information meetings
are: September 22, 2003 from 7:00–9:00 p.m. at the Carvel
State Office Building, 820 North French Street, 2nd Floor,
Wilmington, Delaware; September 24, 2003, in the public
hearing room at the offices of the NJDEP, 401 East State Street
in Trenton, New Jersey, and September 25, 2003 from 7:00-
9:00 p.m. at the PADEP Southeast Regional Office, Lee Park,
Hearing Room, 555 North Lane, Conshohocken, Pennsylvania.
The informational meeting will begin with a presentation by
representatives of DNREC, USEPA, and the DRBC.  The
presentation will be followed by a question and answer
session that will not be conducted as part of the record.

The public hearing on the TMDLs will be held on October
16, 2003, from 7:00-9:00 p.m. at the Independence Visitor
Center, Independence Ballroom, 2nd Floor, One North
Independence Mall West (6th & Market Streets) in
Philadelphia.  Comments for the record will be accepted at
the public hearing, but no agency responses will be offered at
that time.  Written comments will be accepted through
October 21, 2003 and should be submitted electronically to
berlin.lenka@epamail.epa.gov or by mail to Lenka Berlin,
Office of Watersheds (3WP10), USEPA, 1650 Arch Street,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103-2029.

EPA will review all data and information submitted
during the comment period and will revise the TMDLs as
appropriate.  A written response document will be prepared
prior to final EPA action.For further information contact:
Susan Schulz, EPA Region 2, at 212-637-3829; Mary Kuo,
EPA Region 3, at 215-814-5721; or Pamela Bush, DRBC, at
609-883-9500 x 203.
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