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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

3 DE Reg. 737 - 742 (12/1/99)

Refers to Volume 3, pages 737 - 742 of the
Delaware Register issued on December 1, 1999.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-739-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
 DATE             DATE        TIME

SEPTEMBER 1 AUGUST 15 4:30 P.M.

OCTOBER 1 SEPTEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

NOVEMBER 1 OCTOBER 15 4:30 P.M.

DECEMBER 1 NOVEMBER15 4:30 P.M.

JANUARY 1 DECEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

William S. Montgomery, Director,
Division of Research; Walter G. Feindt, Deputy
Director; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of
Regulations; Maryanne McGonegal, Research
Analyst; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative
Librarian; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop
Supervisor; Alex W. Mull, Assistant Registrar;
Deborah A. Porter, Administrative Secretary;
Virginia L. Potts, Administrative  Assistant;
Barbara Ryan, Public Information Clerk; Ted
Segletes, Paralegal;  Don Sellers, Printer; Thom
Shiels, Legislative Attorney; Marguerite P.
Smith, Public Information Clerk; Alice W. Stark,
Legislative Attorney; Mary Jane Starkey, Senior
Secretary;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Rochelle
Yerkes, Senior Secretary.



TABLE OF CONTENTS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 3, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2000

376

Cumulative Tables................................................. ....... 378

ERRATA

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Supportive Instruction (Homebound).................... ....... 381

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

14380 Documentation of Citizenship or
Alien Status.................................................... ....... 382

18100.3 Fair Hearings........................................... ....... 382

EMERGENCY

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

16100.1.2 Initial Eligibility Determination........... ....... 383
16250 Eligibility Determination............................ ....... 384

PROPOSED

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Board of Landscape Architecture.......................... ....... 385
Real Estate Commission........................................ ....... 390

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Thoroughbred Racing Commission, Rules 8.08,
10.07, 15.01.1(b), 15.01.2(d) and 15.02......... ....... 397

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

State Content Standards........................................ ....... 407
Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary/Middle Level &

Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary......... ....... 408

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES

Delaware Early Defibrillation Program................. ......  412

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

16100.1.2 Initial Eligibility Determination............ ......  418
16250 Eligibility Determination............................ ......  418

DEPARTMENT OF  LABOR
OFFICE OF LABOR LAW ENFORCEMENT

Delaware Prevailing Wage Regulation III.C......... ......  419

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Regulation No. 39, NOx Budget Trading Program .....  419

FINAL

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Examining Board of Physical Therapists............... ......  440
Real Estate Commission, Rule 5.2......................... ......  457

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Delaware Student Testing Program....................... ......  464
Educational Programs for Children with Limited

English Proficiency......................................... ......  467
Children with Disabilities...................................... ......  470
Supportive Instruction (Homebound).................... ......  497

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

STATE LOTTERY OFFICE

Delaware Lottery & Video Lottery, Introduction,
Sections 13, 16, 18, 19 & 20.................................. ......  498

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
http://www.doe.state.de.us/
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/
http://www.doe.state.de.us/
http://www.state.de.us/finance/index.htm
http://www.delawareworks.com/


TABLE OF CONTENTS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 3, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2000

377

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Delaware Securities Act, Rules 700, 701, 710...... ....... 510

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANGEMENT

HAZARDOUS WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste............. ....... 514

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications

Services ......................................................... ....... 516

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF PLANNING & POLICY

Traffic Calming Manual........................................ ....... 528

GOVERNOR

Appointments........................................................ ....... 580

GENERAL NOTICES

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Delaware Plan for Meeting the Nitrogen Oxide
(NOx) Budget Requirements Contained
in the EPA NOx SIP Call............................... ....... 583

CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING 
NOTICES

Board of Landscape Architecture, Notice of
Public Hearing................................................ ......  588

Real Estate Commission, Notice of
Public Hearing................................................ ......  588

Thoroughbred Racing Commission, Notice of
Public Hearing................................................ ......  588

State Board of Education, Notice of Monthly
Meeting.......................................................... ......  588

DHSS,  Div. of Public Health, Notice of
Public Hearing................................................ ......  588

DHSS, Div. of Social Services, Notice of 
Public Comment Period.................................. ......  589

Department of Labor, Notice of Public Hearing.... ......  589
DNREC, Regulation No. 39, NOX Budget Trading

Program., Notice of Public Hearing............... ......  589
Delaware River Basin Commission, Notice of

Public Hearing................................................ ......  590

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/
http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/index.html
http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/
http://www.state.de.us/securities/
http://www.deldot.net/


CUMULATIVE TABLES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 3, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2000

378

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
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Rules 6.3.3.13 and 8.3.5.9.4.................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   259  (Errata)
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

*  PLEASE NOTE:  IN THE AUGUST 2000 ISSUE OF THE

REGISTER AT PAGE 344 THE INCORRECT VERSION OF THE

FINAL REGULATION WAS PROVIDED.  THE CORRECTED

VERSION FOLLOWS.  THE WORDS “EACH WEEK” IN

SECTION 3.1.1 SHOULD NOT HAVE APPEARED.

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER
SUPPORTIVE INSTRUCTION (HOMEBOUND)

Supportive Instruction (Homebound)

1.0 Definition:  Supportive instruction is an alternative
educational program provided at home, in a hospital or at a
related site for students temporarily at home or hospitalized
for a sudden illness, injury, episodic flare up of a chronic
condition or accident considered to be of a temporary nature.

1.1 Procedures for eligibility shall be limited to
appropriate certification that the student cannot attend
school.

1.2 Services for children with disabilities as defined in
the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) and the State
Department of Education’s regulations on Children with
Disabilities shall be provided according to the
Administrative Manual: Special Education Services, and
shall be processed under the district's special education
authority.  Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a district
from providing supportive instruction to children with
disabilities in a manner consistent with the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the Administrative
Manual.

1.3 Nothing in this regulation shall alter a district’s
duties under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or
the Americans with Disabilities Act to students who are
qualified individuals with disabilities.  Nothing in this
regulation shall prevent a district from providing supportive
instruction to such students.

2.0 Eligibility:  A student enrolled in a school district is
eligible for supportive instruction when the school receives
the required certification that an accident, injury, sudden
illness or episodic flareup of a chronic condition will prevent
the student from attending school for at least ten (10) school
days.

2.1 A physician must certify absences due to a medical
condition.

2.2 Absences due to severe adjustment problems must
be certified by a psychologist or psychiatrist and confirmed
through a staff conference.

2.3 A physician must certify absences due to pregnancy

complicated by illness or other abnormal conditions.
2.3.1Students do not qualify for supportive

instruction for normal pregnancies unless there are
complications.

2.3.2 Students who remain enrolled in school are
eligible for supportive instruction during a postpartum
period not to exceed six weeks.  Postpartum absences must
be certified by a physician.

2.4 When the request for supportive instruction is for
transitional in-school programs immediately following
supportive instruction provided outside school, the request
must be certified through a staff conference.

3.0 Implementation:  Supportive instruction for students
shall begin as soon as the certification required by 2.0 is
received and may continue upon return to school only in
those exceptional cases where it is determined that the
student needs a transitional program to guarantee a
successful return to the school program as in 2.4.

3.1 Supportive instruction shall adhere to the extent
possible to the student’s school curriculum and shall make
full use of the available technology in order to facilitate the
instruction.

3.1.1 The school shall provide a minimum of 3
hours of supportive instruction of eligibility for students K-
5th grade, and a minimum of five hours of eligibility for
students 6-12th grade. There is no minimum for in-school
transition.

3.1.2 Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a
school district from providing additional hours of supportive
instruction to eligible students from either its Academic
Excellence allotment or other available funding sources.

3.2 Summer instruction is permitted for a student who
is otherwise eligible for supportive instruction and as
determined by the student's teachers and principal, needs the
instruction to complete course work or to maintain a level of
instruction in order to continue in a school program the
following school year.

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

* PLEASE NOTE:  THE FOLLOWING REGULATION WAS

ORIGIANLLY PUBLISHED IN THE JULY 2000 ISSUE OF THE

REGISTER.  THERE WERE SEVERAL ERRORS IN THAT

VERSION.  IN SECTION 14380, THE FOURTH PARAGRAPH

DID NOT HAVE CERTAIN LANGUAGE STRICKEN.  SECTION

18100.3 SHOULD HAVE BEEN STRICKEN IN ITS ENTIRTY.
THE CORRECT VERSION FOLLOWS.

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

14380 Documentation of Citizenship or Alien Status
Applicants must provide documentation of citizenship

qualified alien status or lawful alien status.  All noncitizens
who declare they are qualified aliens or in lawful alien
status, must provide INS documents to establish immigration
status. Examples of acceptable documentation for U.S.
citizens, qualified aliens and lawful alien status are given in
this section. 

If the applicant will not provide evidence of citizenship
or alien status and does not allege qualified or lawful alien
status, the application is not denied, but an eligibility
determination is completed for coverage of labor and
delivery and emergency services only.  

As required by §1137(d)(4) of the Social Security Act,
Medicaid will be provided to individuals who meet all other
nonimmigration Medicaid eligibility requirements, pending
verification of immigration status.  We will provide
Medicaid to an otherwise eligible individual who has
presented INS documents showing qualified or lawful alien
status, pending verification of the document.  

For noncitizen applicants who declare they are qualified
or lawful aliens or for individuals who declare citizenship
but have no documentation, we must allow the individual a
reasonable opportunity to produce evidence of immigration
or citizenship status.  We will give the individual 30 days
from the date of the receipt of application to produce an INS
document or documentation of citizenship.  If the individual
meets all other eligibility requirements except for this
documentation, we will provide Medicaid during this 30 day
period.

If the applicant provides an expired INS document or
has no documentation regarding his or her immigration
status, refer the individual to the local INS district office to
obtain evidence of status.  As noted previously, Medicaid
coverage is provided for a 30 day period pending verification
of alien status.  If the applicant can provide an alien

registration number, follow the secondary verification
procedures outlined below under Section 14390 -
“Verification of Immigration Alien Status".  

18100.3  Fair Hearings
Applicants and recipients do not maintain a right to a

fair hearing.  The rules at DSSM 5000 Fair Hearing Practice
and Procedures do not apply to DHCP.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS |
OF THE MEDICAID/MEDICAL |
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM CONTAINED |
IN DSSM 16100.1.2 AND 16250 |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) has determined that a threat to the
public welfare exists if revision of regulations contained in
DSSM Sections 16100.1.2 and 16250 are not implemented
without prior notice or hearing.  Failure to do so would
jeopardize Delaware's intent to increase the income limit
from 185% to 200% of the Federal Poverty Limit for
pregnant women and infants.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

(revisions underlined):

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that these changes should be
made in the best interest of the general public of the State of
Delaware.  The Department will receive, consider, and
respond to petitions by any interested person for the
reconsideration or revision thereof.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
revision to the regulation be adopted on an emergency basis
without prior notice or hearing, and shall become effective
immediately.

August 14, 2000
Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.,  Secretary

REVISION:

16100.1.2  Initial Eligibility Determination
The two criteria for finding an applicant presumptively

eligible are: a medically verified pregnancy and effective no
later than November 1, 2000 self-reported family income at
or below 185% 200% of the Federal Poverty Level.
Countable family income is determined using the rules in
this section including the $90 earned income deduction and
any self-reported child care expenses.  State residency is
established for presumptive eligibility by the applicant
writing a home address on the application that is a Delaware
residence. 

Note:  Women who are nonqualified aliens or illegally
residing in the U.S. are not eligible for presumptive
Medicaid.

Verifications of all other factors of eligibility are
postponed.  Postponed verifications must be provided within
30 days from the date of receipt of the application.  Under
unusual circumstances, the deadline date for postponed
verifications may be extended.  The reason for the extension
must be documented in the case record.  The verifications
that were postponed are required to determine final
eligibility for Medicaid benefits. Presumptive eligibility

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the emergency regulation being promulgated.  Italic type  indicates new
text.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119, if an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires
the adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C. §10115, then the following
rules shall apply:  (1)  The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and
hearing that it finds practicable;  (2)  The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state in writing the reasons
for the agency’s determination that such emergency action is necessary;  (3)  the order effecting such action may be effective
for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed once for a period not exceeding 60 days;  (4)  When such an order
is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or authorized by Chapter 101 of Title 29, the agency shall
state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration
or revision thereof; and  (5)  The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next
issue of the Register of Regulations.
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continues until a final eligibility determination is completed.
If the required verifications are not provided, eligibility
under the presumptive period ends.

Pregnant women who are determined presumptively
eligible are required to enroll in the Diamond State Health
Plan unless otherwise exempt.  

16250  Eligibility Determination
After applying appropriate disregards to income,

compare the countable family income to the income
eligibility standard for the budget unit size.
     

• Pregnant women and children up to age 1 must 
have family income effective no later than Noverm-
ber 1, 2000 at or below 185% 200% of poverty.  
Pregnant women count as 2 family members. 

• Children age 1 and up to age 6 must have family 
income at or below 133% of poverty.

• Children age 6 and up to age 19 must have family 
income at or below 100% of poverty.

• Uninsured adults must have family income at or 
below 100% of poverty.

• Women eligible for family planning must have 
family income at or below 300% of poverty during 
the second year of the extension.

*  Effective no later than November 1, 2000.

Family
Size

Annual
Income

Monthly
Income

Monthly
Income

Monthly
Income

Monthly
Income

100% FPL 100% FPL
Ages 6– 18,
Adults

133% FPL
Ages 1 –5

185% FPL
Pregnant
Women and
Infants

200% FPL
Pregnant
Women and
Infants*

1 $8,240 $687 $914 $1,271 $1,374

2 11,060 922 1,206 1,706 $1,844

3 13,880 1,157 1,539 2,140 2,314

4 16,700 1,392 1,851 2,575 2,784

5 19,520 1,627 2,164 3,010 3,254

6 22,340 1,862 2,477 3,445 3,724

7 25,160 2,097 2,789 3,879 4,194

8 27,980 2,332 3,102 4,314 4,604

9 30,800 2,567 3,414 4,747 5,134

10 33,620 2,802 3,727 5,184 5,604
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Section 205(1) (24 Del.C. §205(1))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 205(1), the Delaware
Board of Landscape Architecture proposes to revise its rules
and regulations.  Substantive changes to the regulations
include clarification of the passing examination score;
addition of rules regarding use of the seal on drawings and
other documents; clarification of license renewal and
inactive status procedural requirements; deletion of
provisions regarding death or retirement; provisions for pre-
approval of certain self-directed continuing education
activities; and addition of procedural rules pertaining to
disciplinary matters and hearings before the Board.  In
addition, material which unnecessarily duplicates the
statutes or other rules and regulations has been stricken.  The
existing rules and regulations have been re-ordered and re-
numbered.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Thursday, November 9, 2000 at 9:30 a.m., in
the Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware,
19904.  The Board will receive and consider input in writing
from any person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.
Any written comments should be submitted to the Board in
care of Gayle Melvin at the above address.  The final date to

submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the
public hearing should notify Gayle Melvin at the above
address or by calling (302) 739-4522, extension 218.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

Proposed Revisions to Rules and Regulations

1.0   Filing of Applications for Written Examination
2.0   Filing of Applications for Reciprocity
3.0   Filing of Applications for Certificate of Authorization
4.0   Licenses
5.0   Seal  
6.0   Renewal of Licenses
7.0   Continuing Education as a Condition of Biennial

 Renewal
8.0   Inactive Status
9.0   Disciplinary Proceedings and Hearings
10.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent

 or Impaired Professionals

1.0  Filing of Applications for Written Examination
1.1 Persons seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del. C. §

206 shall submit an application for written examination on a
form prescribed by the Board to the Board’s office at the
Division of Professional Regulation (the “Division”) along
with the application fee established by the Division.
Applicants for written examination shall be filed in such
office of the Board no later than twelve (12) weeks prior to
the opening date of the examination.

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.

Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nat ure
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 3, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2000

386

  1.2 Each applicant must submit documentary evidence,
as more fully described on the application form, to show the
Board that the applicant is clearly eligible to sit for the
examination under 24 Del. C. § 206.
  1.3 The Board shall not consider an application for
written examination until all items described in paragraphs
1.1 and 1.2 of this Rule have been submitted to the Board’s
office.
  1.4 The Board reserves the right to retain as a
permanent part of the application any or all documents
submitted.  which shall be properly marked for identification
and ownership.  Original documents may be replaced by
photostated copies of such documents at the request and
expense of the applicant.
  1.5 The examination shall be the Council of Landscape
Architectural Registration Board’s (“CLARB”) current
uniform national examination.  CLARB establishes a
passing score for each uniform national examination.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del. C. §§206, 207

2.0  Filing of Applications for Reciprocity
  2.1  Persons seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del. C. §
208, shall submit payment of the reciprocity fee established
by the Division and an application on a form prescribed by
the Board which shall include proof of licensure and good
standing in each state or territory  of current licensure, and
on what basis the license was obtained therein, including the
date licensure was granted.  Letters of good standing must
also be provided for each state or jurisdiction in which the
applicant was ever previously licensed.

2.2  The Board shall not consider an application for
licensure by reciprocity until all items described in 24 Del.
C. § 208 and paragraph 2.1 of this Rule have been submitted
to the Board’s office.

2.3  A passing exam score for purposes of reciprocity
shall be the passing score set by CLARB, or the passing
score accepted by the Delaware Board, for the year in which
the exam was taken.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del. C. §208.

3.0  Filing of Applications for Certificate of
Authorization

Corporations or partnerships seeking a certificate of
authorization pursuant to 24 Del. C. § 212 shall submit an
application on a form prescribed by the Board.  Such
application shall include the (a) names and addresses of all
officers and members of the corporation, or officers and
partners of the partnership, and (b) the name of an corporate
officer or member in the case of a corporation, or the name
of an officer or  partner in the case of a partnership, who is
licensed to practice landscape architecture in this State and
who shall be in responsible charge of responsible for
services in the practice of landscape architecture through on
behalf of the corporation or partnership.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del. C. §212.

4.0  Licenses 
Only one license shall be issued to a licensed landscape

architect, except for a duplicate issued to replace a lost or
destroyed license.

5.  Administration (Seal)

5.0  Seal
5.1  Technical Requirements

5.1.1  For the purpose of signing and sealing the
drawings, specifications, and contract documents, plans,
reports and other documents (hereinafter collectively
referred to as “drawings”), each landscape architect shall
provide him or herself with an individual seal of design and
size as approved by the Board to be used as hereinafter
directed on documents prepared by him or her or under his/
her direct supervision for use in the State of Delaware.

5.1.2  The application of the seal impression or
rubber stamp to the first sheet of the bound sheets of the
drawings (with index of drawings included), title page of
specifications, and other drawings and contract documents
shall constitute the licensed landscape architect’s stamp.

5.1.3  The seal to be used by a licensee of the Board
shall be of the embossing type or a rubber stamp, and have
two (2) concentric circles.  The outside circle measures
across the center 1 13/16 inches.  The inner circle shall
contain only the words “NO.”   and “State of Delaware.”  At
the bottom the words “Registered Landscape Architect”
reading counterclockwise, and at the top the name of the
licensee.

5.1.4  An impression of the seal is to be submitted
to the Board to be included in the licensee’s records.

5.2  Use of the Seal
5.2.1  A landscape architect shall not sign or seal

drawings unless they were prepared by him/her or under his/
her direct supervision.

5.2.2    “Supervision” for purposes of signing and/
or sealing drawings shall mean direct supervision, involving
responsible control over and detailed professional
knowledge of the contents of the drawings throughout their
preparation.  Reviewing, or reviewing and correcting,
drawings after they have been prepared by others does not
constitute the exercise of responsible control because the
reviewer has neither control over, nor detailed professional
knowledge of, the content of such drawings throughout their
preparation. 

  5.2.3  The seal appearing on any drawings shall be
prima facie evidence that said drawings were prepared by or
under the direct supervision of the individual who signed
and/or sealed the drawings.  Signing or sealing of drawings
prepared by another shall be a representation by the
registered landscape architect that he/she has detailed
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professional knowledge of and  vouches for the contents of
the drawings.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del. C. §205(a)(1); 212(a).

6.0  Late Renewal of Licenses 
6.1  Each application for license renewal or request for

inactive status shall be submitted on or before the expiration
date of the current licensing period.  However, a practitioner
may still renew his or her license within 60 days following
the license renewal date upon payment of a late fee set by the
Division.  Upon the expiration of 60 days following the
license renewal date an unrenewed license shall be deemed
lapsed and the practitioner must reapply pursuant to the
terms of 24 Del.C. §210(b).   Except on a showing of
exceptional hardship, there shall be no extension of time for
license renewals for practitioners who fail to renew their
licenses on or before the renewal date.  “Exceptional
hardship” includes, but is not limited to, disability and
illness.  The Board reserves the right to require a letter from
a physician attesting to the licensee’s physical condition
when the hardship request is based on disability or illness.

6.2  It shall be the responsibility of all licensees to keep
the Board and the Division informed of any change in name,
home or business address.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del. C. §210.

7.0  Death or Retirement 
Where the names of deceased, retired, or inactive

partners or firm members are used in firm names or
otherwise listed on the letterhead, their dates of death or
retirement shall be indicated.

7.0  Continuing Education as a Condition of Biennial
Renewal

7.1  General Statement: Each licensee shall be required
to meet the continuing education requirements of these
guidelines for professional development as a condition for
license renewal.  Continuing education obtained by a
licensee should maintain, improve or expand skills and
knowledge obtained prior to initial licensure, or develop new
and relevant skills and knowledge.

  7.1.1  In order for a licensee to qualify for license
renewal as a landscape architect in Delaware, the licensee
must have completed 20 hours of continuing education
acceptable to the Board within the previous two years, or be
granted an extension by the Board for reasons of hardship.
Such continuing education shall be obtained by active
participation in courses, seminars, sessions, programs or
self-directed activities approved by the Board.

7.1.1.1  For purposes of seminar or classroom
continuing education, one hour of acceptable continuing
education shall mean 60 minutes of instruction.

7.1.2  To be acceptable for credit toward this
requirement, all courses, seminars, sessions, programs or

self-directed activities shall be submitted to the Board.  The
Board shall recommend any course, seminar, session or
program for continuing education credit that meets the
criteria in sub-paragraph 7.1.2.1 below.

7.1.2.1  Each course, seminar, session,
program, or self-directed activity to be recommended for
approval by the Board shall have a direct relationship to the
practice of landscape architecture as defined in the Delaware
Code and contain elements which will enhance assist
licensees to provide for the health, safety and welfare of the
citizens of Delaware served by Delaware licensed landscape
architects.

7.1.2.2  The Board shall meet at least once
during each calendar quarter of the year and act on each
course, seminar, session or program properly submitted for
its review.  Each program, or portion thereof, shall be either
recommended for approval, recommended for disapproval or
deferred for lack of information.  If deferred or disapproved,
the licensee will be notified and may be granted a period of
time in which to correct deficiencies.  The Board may also
seek verification of information submitted by the licensee.

7.1.3  Continuing Education courses offered or
sponsored by the following organizations will be
automatically deemed to qualify for continuing education
credit:

7.1.3.1  American Society of Landscape
Architects (National and local/chapter levels)

7.1.3.2  Council of Landscape Architectural
Registration

7.1.4  Erroneous or false information attested to by
the licensee shall constitute grounds for denial of license
renewal.

7.2  Effective Date: The Board shall commence
requiring continuing education as a condition of renewal of a
license for the license year commencing on February 1,
1995.  The licensee shall be required to successfully
complete twenty (20) hours of continuing education within
the previous two calendar years (example: February 1, 1993
through January 31, 1995).

7.3  For licensing periods beginning February 1, 1999
and thereafter, requests for approval of continuing education
activity, along with the required supporting documentation,
shall be submitted to the Board on or before November 1 of
the year preceding the biennial renewal date of the licenses.
A license shall not be renewed until the Board has approved
twenty (20) hours of continuing education classes as
provided in Rule 7.1 or has granted an extension of time for
reasons of hardship.

7.4  Reporting: The licensee shall submit the following
documentation to the Board for each continuing education
activity completed:

• A completed Continuing Education Reporting
Form

• A syllabus, agenda, itinerary or brochure
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published by the sponsor of the activity
• A document showing proof of attendance (i.e.

certificate, a signed letter from the sponsor attesting
to attendance, report of passing test score). from the
college/university).

7.4.1  Each licensee must retain copies of Board
approved continuing education reporting forms and all
supporting materials documenting proof of continuing
education compliance.  Licensees will be required to
complete a continuing education log form prior to license
renewal and to submit supporting materials upon request. 

7.5  Special Request Hardship: The Board will consider
any reasonable special request from individual licensees for
continuing education credits and procedures.  The Board
may, in individual cases involving physical disability,
illness, or extenuating circumstances, grant an extension, not
to exceed two (2) years, of time within which continuing
education requirements must be completed.  In cases of
physical disability or illness, the Board reserves the right to
require a letter from a physician attesting to the licensee’s
physical condition.  No extension of time shall be granted
unless the licensee submits a written request to the Board
prior to the expiration of the license.

7.6  Self-directed Activities: For renewal periods
beginning February 1, 2001, the following rules regarding
self-directed activity shall apply.  The Board will have the
authority to allow self-directed activities to fulfill the
continuing education requirements of the licensees.
However, these activities must result in a book draft,
published article, delivered paper, workshop, symposium, or
public address within the two (2) year reporting period.
Self-directed activities must advance the practitioner’s
knowledge of the field and be beyond the practitioner’s
normal work duties.  Instructors may not include  will not be
granted CE credit for studies customarily associated with
their usual university or college instruction teaching loads.

7.6.1  The Board may, upon request, review and
approve credit for self-directed activities in a given biennial
licensing period.  A licensee must obtain pre-approval of the
Board prior to undertaking the self-directed activity in order
to assure continuing education credit for the activity.  Any
self-directed activity submitted for approval must include a
written proposal outlining the scope of the activity, the
number of continuing education hours requested, the
anticipated completion date(s), the role of the licensee in the
case of multiple participants and whether any part of the self-
directed activity has ever been previously approved or
submitted for credit by the same licensee. Determination of
credit will be made by the Board upon review of the
completed final project.  

7.7  Exemptions: New licensees by way of uniform
national examination or by way of reciprocity shall be
exempt from the continuing education requirements set forth

herein for their first renewal period.
Statutory Authority: 24 Del. C. §205(12).

8.0  Inactive Status
8.1  A licensee may, upon written request to the Board,

place his/her license on inactive status.
8.2  A licensee who has been granted inactive status and

who wishes to re-enter the practice of landscape architecture,
shall submit a written request to the Board along with a pro-
rated renewal fee and proof of completion of twenty (20)
hours of continuing education during the period of inactive
status.

8.3  Licensees on inactive status shall renew their
inactive status by notification to the Division of Professional
Regulation at the time of biennial license renewal.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del. C. §210(c).

9.0  Disciplinary Proceedings and Hearings
9.1  Disciplinary proceedings against any  licensee may

be initiated by an aggrieved person by submitting a
complaint in writing to the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation as specified in 29 Del. C.
§8807(h)(1)-(3). 

9.1.1  A copy of the written complaint shall be
forwarded to the administrative assistant for the Board. At
the next regularly scheduled Board meeting, a contact person
for the Board shall be appointed and a copy of the written
complaint given to that person.

9.1.2  The contact person appointed by the Board
shall maintain strict confidentiality with respect to the
contents of the complaint and shall not discuss the matter
with other Board members or with the public.  The contact
person shall maintain contact with the investigator or deputy
attorney general assigned to the case regarding the progress
of the investigation.

9.1.3  In the instance when the case is being closed
by the Division, the contact person shall report the facts and
conclusions to the Board without revealing the identities of
the parties involved.  No vote of the Board is necessary to
close the case.

9.1.4  If a hearing before the Board has been
requested by the Deputy Attorney General, a copy of these
Rules and Regulations shall be provided to the respondent
upon request.  The notice of hearing shall fully comply with
29 Del. C. Sec. 10122 and 10131 pertaining to the
requirements of the notice of proceedings. All notices shall
be sent to the respondent’s address as reflected in the
Board’s records.

9.1.5  At any disciplinary hearing, the respondent
shall have the right to appear in person or be represented by
counsel, or both.  The Respondent shall have the right to
produce evidence and witnesses on his or her behalf and to
cross examine witnesses. The Respondent shall be entitled to
the issuance of subpoenas to compel the attendance of
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witnesses and the production of documents on his or her
behalf.

9.1.6  No less than 10 days prior to the date set for a
disciplinary hearing, the Department of Justice and the
respondent shall submit to the Board and to each other, a list
of the witnesses they intend to call at the hearing. Witnesses
not listed shall be permitted to testify only upon a showing of
reasonable cause for such omission.

9.1.7  If the respondent fails to appear at a
disciplinary hearing after receiving the notice required by 29
Del.C. §10122 and 10131, the Board may proceed to hear
and determine the validity of the charges against the
respondent.

Statutory authority: 24 Del.C. §§213 and 215; 29 Del.C.
§§10111, 10122 and 10131

9.2  Hearing procedures
9.2.1  The Board may administer oaths, take

testimony, hear proofs and receive exhibits into evidence at
any hearing. All testimony at any hearing shall be under
oath.

9.2.2  Strict rules of evidence shall not apply.  All
evidence having probative value commonly accepted by
reasonably prudent people in the conduct of their affairs
shall be admitted.

9.2.3  An attorney representing a party in a hearing
or matter before the Board shall notify the  Board of the
representation in writing as soon as practicable.

9.2.4  Requests for postponements of any matter
scheduled before the Board shall be submitted to the Board’s
office in writing no less than three (3) days before the date
scheduled for the hearing. Absent a showing of exceptional
hardship, there shall be a maximum of one postponement
allowed to each party to any hearing.

9.2.5  A complaint shall be deemed to “have merit”
and the Board may impose disciplinary sanctions against the
licensee if a majority of the members of the Board find, by a
preponderance of the evidence, that the respondent has
committed the act(s) of which he or she is accused and that
those act(s) constitute grounds for discipline pursuant to 24
Del.C. §213.

Statutory authority: 24 Del.C. §§205(7)(8); 213, 214,
215.

10.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

10.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.  

10.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of

receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

10.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

10.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

10.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

10.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

10.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

10.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
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approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

10.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program.

10.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.  

10.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

10.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

10.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.  

10.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action

is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

10.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

10.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

10.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

10.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Section 2905 (24 Del.C. §2905)

The Delaware Real Estate Commission, in accordance
with 24 Delaware Code §2905(a)(1) and 29 Delaware Code
§10115 of the Administrative Procedures Act, hereby gives
notice that it shall hold a public hearing on October 12, 2000
at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor Conference Room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware.  

The Commission shall receive input in writing or by
oral testimony from interested persons regarding the
following revision of the Rules and Regulations: Rule 3.2.1.
(Experience).  After the first sentence add:  If the licensee
fails to renew his or her license by the expiration date but
then makes an application for reinstatement within sixty (60)
days of the expiration of the license and the Commission
otherwise approves the application for reinstatement, the
five-years' continuity will not be broken. 

The final date for interested persons to submit views in
writing or orally shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to make oral or written comments
or who would like a copy of the proposed change may
contact the Commission office at 302-739-4522, extension
219, or write to the Delaware Real Estate Commission, 861
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Silver Lake Boulevard Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904-2467.  

1.0    Introduction
2.0    Requirements for Obtaining a Salesperson's License
3.0    Requirements for Obtaining a Real Estate Broker's

  License
4.0    Reciprocal Licenses
5.0    Escrow Accounts
6.0    Transfer of Broker or Salesperson
7.0    Business Transactions and Practices
8.0    Renewal of Licenses
9.0    Availability of Rules and Regulations
10.0  Disclosure
11.0  Hearings
12.0  Inducements
13.0  Necessity of License
14.0  Out of State Land Sales Applications
15.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically

  Dependent or Impaired Professionals

1.0  Introduction
1.1  Authority

1.1.1  Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2905, the Delaware
Real Estate Commission is authorized and empowered and
hereby adopts the rules and regulations contained herein.

1.1.2  The Commission reserves the right to make
any amendments, modifications or additions hereto, that, in
its discretion are necessary or desirable.

1.1.3  The Commission reserves the right to grant
exceptions to the requirements of the rules and regulations
contained herein upon a showing of good cause by the party
requesting such exception, provided such exception is not
inconsistent with the requirements of 24 Del.C. Ch. 29.

1.2  Applicability
1.2.1  The rules and regulations contained herein,

and any amendments, modifications or additions hereto are
applicable to all persons presently licensed as real estate
brokers or real estate salespersons, and to all persons who
apply for such licenses.

1.3  Responsibility
1.3.1  It is the responsibility of the employing

broker to insure that the rules and regulations of the
Commission are complied with by licensees. Every broker is
responsible for making certain that all of his or her sales
agents are currently licensed, and that their agents make
timely application for license renewal. A broker's failure to
meet that responsibility may result in a civil fine against the
broker of up to $ 1,000.00 per agent.

1.3.2  Each office location shall be under the
direction of a broker of record, who shall provide complete
and adequate supervision of that office. A broker serving as
broker of record for more than one office location within the
State shall apply for and obtain an additional license in his
name at each branch office. The application for such

additional license shall state the location of the branch office
and the name of a real estate broker or salesperson licensed
in this State who shall be in charge of managing the branch
office on a full time basis.

A broker shall not serve as broker of record unless
said broker has been actively engaged in the practice of real
estate, either as a licensed salesperson or a licensed broker,
for the preceding three (3) years.

Where an unforeseen event, such as a resignation or
termination from employment, death, emergency, illness,
call to military service or training, or a sanction imposed by
the Commission causes or necessitates the removal of the
sole licensed broker in an office, arrangements may be made
with the Commission for another broker to serve as broker of
record for said office on a temporary basis.

The employment of a sales manager, administrative
manager, trainer, or other similar administrator shall not
relieve the broker of record of the responsibilities contained
and defined herein.

1.3.3  The failure of any licensee to comply with the
Real Estate Licensing Act and the rules and regulations of
the Commission may result in disciplinary action in the form
of a reprimand, civil penalty, suspension or revocation of the
broker's and/or salesperson's license.

2.0  Requirements for Obtaining a Salesperson's License
The Commission shall consider any applicant who has

successfully completed the following:
2.1  Course

2.1.1  The Commission shall consider any applicant
who has successfully completed an accredited course in Real
Estate Practice.

2.1.2  Effective May 1, 1978, all real estate courses
shall be limited to thirty-five (35) students in each class. This
applies to both day and night courses. All other regulations
regarding real estate courses are issued under the
“Guidelines for Fulfilling the Delaware Real Estate
Education Requirements”. The Commission reserves the
right to grant exception to this limitation.

2.2  Examination
2.2.1  Within twelve (12) months of completing an

accredited course, the applicant must make application to the
Commission by submitting a score report showing
successful completion of the examination required by the
Commission. The applicant must forward all necessary
documentation to the Commission to be considered for
licensure.

2.2.2  An applicant may sit for the examination a
maximum of three (3) times after successful completion of
an approved course in real estate practice. If an applicant
fails to pass the examination after three (3) attempts at such,
the applicant shall be required to retake and successfully
complete an approved course in real estate practice before
being permitted to sit for the examination again.
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2.3  Ability to conduct business
2.3.1  The Commission reserves the right to reject

an applicant based on his or her inability to transact real
estate business in a competent manner or if it determines that
the applicant lacks a reputation for honesty, truthfulness and
fair dealings.

2.3.2  The minimum age at which a salesperson's
license can be issued is eighteen (18).

2.4  Fees
The Commission shall not consider an application for a

salesperson's license unless such application is submitted
with evidence of payment of the following fees:

2.4.1  Salesperson's application fee established by
the Division of Professional Regulation pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§8807(d).

3.0  Requirements for Obtaining a Real Estate Broker's
License

The Commission shall consider the application of any
person for a broker's license upon completion of the
following:

3.1  Course
3.1.1  The Commission shall consider the

application of any person for a license after said applicant
has successfully completed an accredited course.

3.1.2  Effective May 1, 1978, all courses shall be
limited to thirty-five (35) students in each class.

3.2  Experience
3.2.1  A salesperson must hold an active license in

the real estate profession for five (5) continuous years
immediately preceding application for a broker's license. If
the licensee fails to renew his or her license by the expiration
date but then makes an application for reinstatement within
sixty (60) days of the expiration of the license and the
Commission otherwise approves the application for
reinstatement, the five-years' continuity will not be broken.

3.2.2  The applicant shall submit to the Commission
a list of at least thirty (30) sales or other qualified
transactions, showing dates, location, purchaser's name and
seller's name. These sales must have been made by the
applicant within the previous five (5) years through the
general brokerage business and not as a representative of a
builder, developer, and/or subdivider.  Transactions
involving time-shares, leases, or property management are
not qualified transactions for purposes of obtaining a real
estate broker's license. The Commission reserves the right to
waive any of the above requirements, upon evidence that the
applicant possesses sufficient experience in the real estate
business or demonstrates collateral experience to the
Commission.

3.2.3  The list of thirty (30) sales or other qualified
transactions and/or the variety of the licensee's experience
must be approved by the Commission.

3.3  Examination

3.3.1  Within twelve (12) months of completing an
accredited course, the applicant must submit a score report
showing successful completion of the examination required
by the Commission and submit all necessary documentation
including the credit report required by Paragraph E of this
rule to the Commission to be considered for licensure.

3.4  Ability to conduct business
3.4.1  The Commission reserves the right to reject

an applicant based on his or her ability to transact real estate
business in a competent manner or if it determines that the
applicant lacks experience, a reputation for honesty,
truthfulness and fair dealings.

3.4.2  The minimum age at which a person can be
issued a broker's license is twenty-three (23).

3.5  Credit Report
3.5.1  Each applicant shall submit a credit report

from an approved credit reporting agency, which report shall
be made directly to the Commission.

3.6  Fees
The Commission shall not consider an application

for a broker's license unless such application is submitted
with evidence of payment of the following fees:

3.6.1  Broker's application fee established by the
Division of Professional Regulation pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§8807(d).

4.0  Reciprocal Licenses
4.1  Requirements

4.1.1  A non-resident of this State who is duly
licensed as a broker in another state and who is actually
engaged in the business of real estate in the other state may
be issued a non-resident broker's license under 24 Del.C.
§2909(a).

4.1.2  A non-resident salesperson who is duly
licensed as a salesperson in another state and who is actually
engaged in the business of real estate in the other state may
be issued a non-resident salesperson's license provided such
non-resident salesperson is employed by a broker holding a
broker's license issued by the Commission.

4.1.3  The Commission, at its discretion, may issue
a non-resident broker's or salesperson's license without the
course and examination required by Rules 2.2 or 3.3
provided the non-resident broker or salesperson passed an
equivalent course and examination in his/her resident state
and provided that such other state extends the same privilege
to Delaware real estate licensees.

5.0  Escrow Accounts
5.1  All moneys received by a broker as agent for his

principal in a real estate transaction shall be deposited within
three (3) banking days after a contract of sale or lease has
been signed by both parties, in a separate escrow account so
designated, and remain there until settlement or termination
of the transaction at which time the broker shall make a full
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accounting thereof to his or her principal.
5.2  All moneys received by a salesperson in connection

with a real estate transaction shall be immediately delivered
to the appropriate broker. A licensee shall not accept, as a
good faith or earnest money deposit in connection with a real
estate transaction, a photocopy, facsimile, or other copy of a
personal check or draft, nor shall a licensee accept as a good
faith or earnest money deposit a check or draft that is
postdated.

5.3  A broker shall not co-mingle money or any other
property entrusted to him with his money or property, except
that a broker may maintain up to $100.00 of his/her own
funds in the escrow account to cover bank service charges
and to maintain the minimum balance necessary to avoid the
account being closed.

5.4  A broker shall maintain in his office a complete
record of all moneys received or escrowed on real estate
transactions, including the sources of the money, the date of
receipt, depository, and date of deposit; and when a
transaction has been completed, the final disposition of the
moneys.  The records shall clearly show the amount of the
broker's personal funds in escrow at all times.

5.5  An escrow account must be opened by the broker in
a bank with an office located in Delaware in order to receive,
maintain or renew a valid license.

5.6  The Commission may summarily suspend the
license of any broker who fails to comply with 5.4, who fails
to promptly account for any funds held in escrow, or who
fails to produce all records, books, and accounts of such
funds upon demand. The suspension shall continue until
such time as the licensee appears for a hearing and furnishes
evidence of compliance with the Rules and Regulations of
the Commission.

5.7  Interest accruing on money held in escrow belongs
to the owner of the funds unless otherwise stated in the
contract of sale or lease.

6.0  Transfer of Broker or Salesperson
6.1  All licensees who transfer to another office, or

brokers who open their own offices, but who were associated
previously with another broker or company, must present a
completed transfer form to the Commission signed by the
individual broker or company with whom they were
formerly associated, before the broker's or salesperson's
license will be transferred.  In addition all brokers who are
non-resident licensees must also provide a current certificate
of licensure.

6.2  The Commission reserves the right to waive this
requirement upon a determination of good cause.

6.3  All brokers of record who move the physical
location of their office shall notify the Commission in
writing at least 30 days, or as soon as practical, prior to such
move by filing a new office application.

7.0  Business Transactions and Practices
7.1  Written Listing Agreements

7.1.1  Listing Agreements for the rental, sale, lease
or exchange of real property, whether exclusive, co-
exclusive or open shall be in writing and shall be signed by
the seller or owner.

7.2  Copy of agreements
7.2.1  Every party to a listing agreement, agreement

of purchase and sale, or lease shall be furnished with an
executed copy of such contract or contracts.  It shall be the
responsibility of the licensee to deliver an executed copy of
the agreements to the principals within a reasonable length
of time after execution.

7.3  Advertising
7.3.1  Any licensee who advertises, on signs,

newspapers or any other media, property personally owned
and/or property in which a licensee has any ownership
interest, and said property is not listed with a broker, must
include in the advertisement that he/she is the owner of said
property and that he/she is a real estate licensee.

7.3.2  Any licensee who advertises in newspapers
or any other media, property personally owned and/or
property in which the licensee has any ownership interest,
and said property is listed with a broker, must include in the
advertisement the name of the broker under whom he/she is
licensed, that he/she is the owner of said property, and that
he/she is a real estate licensee. This subsection does not
apply to signs.

7.3.3  Any licensee who advertises, by signs,
newspaper, or any other media, any property for sale, lease,
exchange, or transfer that is listed with a broker must include
in the advertisement the name of the broker under whom the
licensee is licensed.

7.3.4  All advertisements for personal promotion of
licensees must include the name of the company under
whom the licensee is licensed.

7.4  Separate Office
7.4.1  Applicants for broker's licenses and those

presently licensed must maintain separate offices in which to
conduct the real estate business. Nothing contained herein,
however, shall preclude said persons from sharing facilities
with such other businesses as insurance, banking, or others
that the Commission shall deem compatible.

7.4.2  Where the office is located in a private home,
said office must have a separate entrance and must be
approved by the Commission. The broker must place a
permanent sign indicating the name under which the office is
licensed, in a conspicuous location.

7.5  Compensation
7.5.1  Licensees shall not accept compensation

from more than one party to a transaction, even if permitted
by law, without timely disclosure to all parties to the
transaction.

7.5.2  When acting as agent, a licensee shall not
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accept any commission, rebate, or profit on expenditures
made for his principal-owner without the principal's
knowledge and informed consent.

7.6  Duty to Cooperate
7.6.1  Brokers and salespersons shall cooperate

with all other brokers and salespersons involved in a
transaction except when cooperation is not in the client's best
interest.  The obligation to cooperate does not include the
obligation to share commissions or to otherwise compensate
another broker or salesperson.

8.0  Renewal of Licenses
8.1  Renewal Required by Expiration Date on License

8.1.1  In order to qualify for license renewal as a
real estate salesperson or broker in Delaware, a licensee shall
have completed 15 hours of continuing education within the
two year period immediately preceding the renewal. The
broker of record for the licensee seeking renewal shall
certify to the Commission, on a form supplied by the
Commission, that the licensee has complied with the
necessary continuing education requirements. This
certification form shall be submitted by the licensee together
with his/her renewal application and renewal fee. The broker
of record shall retain for a period of one (1) year, the
documents supporting his/her certification that the licensee
has complied with the continuing education requirement. A
licensee who has not paid the fees and/or met the
requirements for the renewal of his or her license by the
expiration date shown thereon, shall not list, sell, lease or
negotiate for others after such date.

8.2  Delinquency Fee
8.2.1  If a licensee fails to renew his or her license

prior to the expiration date shown thereon, he or she shall be
required to pay the full license fee and an additional
delinquency fee equal to one half of the license fee. If a
licensee fails to renew his or her license within 60 days of
the expiration date shown thereon, the license shall be
cancelled.

8.2.2  Failure to receive notice of renewal by a
licensee shall not constitute a reason for reinstatement.

8.3  Reinstatement of License
8.3.1  A cancelled license shall be reinstated only

after the licensee pays the necessary fees, including the
delinquency fee, and passes any examinations required by
the Commission.  If the licensee fails to apply for renewal
within 6 months of the cancellation date, the licensee shall
be required to take the state portion of the examination. If the
licensee fails to apply for renewal before the next renewal
period commences (two years), the licensee shall be required
to pass both the state and the national portions of the
examination.

8.3.2  No person whose license has been revoked
will be considered for the issuance of a new license for a
period of at least two (2) years from the date of the

revocation of the license.  Such person shall then fulfill the
following requirements: he or she shall attend and pass the
real estate course for salespersons; take and pass the
Commission's examination for salespersons; and any other
criteria established by the Commission. Nothing above shall
be construed to allow anyone to take the course for the
purpose of licensing until after the waiting period of two (2)
years.  Nothing contained herein shall require the
Commission to issue a new license upon completion of the
above mentioned requirements, as the Commission retains
the right to deny any such application.

9.0  Availability of Rules and Regulations
9.1  Fee Charge for Primers

9.1.1  Since licensees are required to conform to the
Commission's Rules and Regulations and the Laws of the
State of Delaware, these Rules and Regulations shall be
made available to licensees without charge. However, in
order to help defray the cost of printing, students in the real
estate courses and other interested parties may be required to
pay such fee as stipulated by the Division of Professional
Regulation for the booklet or printed material.

10.0  Disclosure
10.1  A licensee who is the owner, the prospective

purchaser, lessor or lessee or who has any personal interest
in a transaction, must disclose his or her status as a licensee
to all persons with whom he or she is transacting such
business, prior to the execution of any agreements and shall
include on the agreement such status.

10.2  Any licensee advertising real estate for sale stating
in such advertisement, “If we cannot sell your home, we will
buy your home”, or words to that effect, shall disclose in the
original listing contract at the time he or she obtains the
signature on the listing contract, the price he will pay for the
property if no sales contract is executed during the term of
the listing. Said licensee shall have no more than sixty (60)
days to purchase and settle for the subject property upon
expiration of the original listing or any extension thereof.

10.3  A licensee who has direct contact with a potential
purchaser or seller shall disclose in writing whom he/she
represents in any real estate negotiation or transaction. The
disclosure as to whom the licensee represents should be
made at the 1st substantive contact to each party to the
negotiation or transaction.  In all cases such disclosure must
be made prior to the presentation of an offer to purchase.  A
written confirmation of disclosure shall also be included in
the contract for the real estate transaction.

10.3.1  The written confirmation of disclosure in
the contract shall be worded as follows:

10.3.1.1  With respect to agent for seller: “This
broker, any cooperating broker, and any salesperson working
with either, are representing the seller's interest and have
fiduciary responsibilities to the seller, but are obligated to
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treat all parties with honesty. The broker, any cooperating
broker, and any salesperson working with either, without
breaching the fiduciary responsibilities to the seller, may,
among other services, provide a potential purchaser with
information about the attributes of properties and available
financing, show properties, and assist in preparing an offer to
purchase. The broker, any cooperating broker, and any
salesperson working with either, also have the duty to
respond accurately and honestly to a potential purchaser's
questions and disclose material facts about properties,
submit promptly all offers to purchase and offer properties
without unlawful discrimination.”

10.3.1.2  With respect to agent for buyer: “This
broker, and any salesperson working for this broker, is
representing the buyer's interests and has fiduciary
responsibilities to the buyer, but is obligated to treat all
parties with honesty. The broker, and any salesperson
working for the broker, without breaching the fiduciary
responsibilities to the buyer, may, among other services,
provide a seller with information about the transaction.  The
broker, and any salesperson working for the broker, also has
the duty to respond accurately and honestly to a seller's
questions and disclose material facts about the transaction,
submit promptly all offers to purchase through proper
procedures, and serve without unlawful discrimination.”

10.3.1.3  In the case of a transaction involving
a lease in excess of 120 days, substitute the term “lessor” for
the term “seller”, substitute the term “lessee” for the terms
“buyer” and “purchaser”, and substitute the term “lease” for
“purchase” as they appear above.

10.4  If a property is the subject of an agreement of sale
but being left on the market for backup offers, or is the
subject of an agreement of sale which contains a right of first
refusal clause, the existence of such agreement must be
disclosed by the listing broker to any individual who makes
an appointment to see such property at the time such
appointment is made.

11.0  Hearings
11.1  When a complaint is filed with the Commission

against a licensee, the status of the broker of record in that
office shall not change.

11.2  There shall be a maximum of one (1)
postponement for each side allowed on any hearing which
has been scheduled by the Commission. If any of the parties
are absent from a scheduled hearing, the Commission
reserves the right to act based upon the evidence presented.

12.0  Inducements
12.1  Real Estate licensees cannot use commissions or

income received from commissions as rebates or
compensation paid to or given to Non-licensed Persons,
partnerships or corporations as inducements to do or secure
business, or as a finder's fee.

12.2  This Rule does not prohibit a real estate broker or
salesperson from giving a rebate or discount or any other
thing of value directly to the purchaser or seller of real
estate. The real estate broker or salesperson, however, must
be licensed as a resident or non-resident licensee by the
Commission under the laws of the State of Delaware.

12.3  A real estate broker or salesperson has an
affirmative obligation to make timely disclosure, in writing,
to his or her principal of any rebate or discount that may be
made to the buyer.

13.0  Necessity of License
13.1  For any property listed with a broker for sale, lease

or exchange, only a licensee shall be permitted to host or
staff an open house or otherwise show a listed property. That
licensee may be assisted by non-licensed persons provided a
licensee is on site. This subsection shall not prohibit a seller
from showing their own house.

13.2  For new construction, subdivision, or development
listed with a broker for sale, lease or exchange, a licensee
shall always be on site when the site is open to the general
public, except where a builder and/or developer has hired a
non-licensed person who is under the direct supervision of
said builder and/or developer for the purpose of staffing said
project.

14.0  Out of State Land Sales Applications
14.1  All applications for registration of an out of state

land sale must include the following:
14.1.1  A completed license application on the form

provided by the Commission.
14.1.2  A $100 filing fee made payable to the State

of Delaware.
14.1.3  A valid Business License issued by the State

of Delaware, Division of Revenue.
14.1.4  A signed Appointment and Agreement

designating the Delaware Secretary of State as the
applicant's registered agent for service of process.  The form
of Appointment and Agreement shall be provided by the
Commission.  In the case of an applicant which is a
Delaware corporation, the Commission may, in lieu of the
foregoing Appointment and Agreement, accept a current
certificate of good standing from the Delaware Secretary of
State and a letter identifying the applicant's registered agent
in the State of Delaware.

14.1.5  The name and address of the applicant's
resident broker in Delaware and a completed Consent of
Broker form provided by the Commission. Designation of a
resident broker is required for all registrations regardless of
whether sales will occur in Delaware.

14.1.6  A bond on the form provided by the
Commission in an amount equal to ten (10) times the amount
of the required deposit.

14.1.7  Copies of any agreements or contracts to be
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utilized in transactions completed pursuant to the
registration.

14.2  Each registration of an out of state land sale must
be renewed on an annual basis.  Each application for renewal
must include the items identified in sub-sections 14.1.2
through 14.1.4 of Rule 14.0  above and a statement
indicating whether there are any material changes to
information provided in the initial registration.  Material
changes may include, but are not limited to, the change of
the applicant's resident broker in Delaware; any changes to
the partners, officers and directors' disclosure form included
with the initial application; and any changes in the condition
of title.

14.3  If, subsequent to the approval of an out of state
land sales registration, the applicant adds any new lots or
units or the like to the development, then the applicant must,
within thirty days, amend its registration to include this
material change.  A new registration statement is not
required, and the amount of the bond will remain the same.

15.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

15.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.

15.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

15.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

15.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or

his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

15.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

15.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

15.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

15.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

15.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

15.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
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participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.  

15.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

15.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

15.6.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.

15.6.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/
her designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

15.6.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.  

15.6.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to
comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

15.6.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected
if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

15.6.12  Any regulated professional who complies
with all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless
otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with
the regulated professional shall include the potential for

disclosure and specify those to whom such information may
be disclosed.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10103 (3 Del.C. 10103)

The Commission will receive written public comment
from September 1, 2000 through September 30, 2000.
Written comments should be sent to John Wayne,
Administrator of Racing, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover,
DE 19901. The Commission will conduct a public hearing
on the proposed rules on September 27, 2000 at 9:30 a.m. at
Delaware Park, 777 Delaware Park Blvd., Stanton DE.
Copies of the proposed rules can be obtained from the
Commission office at the above address. 

Part 8 -- Jockeys and Apprentice Jockeys

8.01  Probationary Mounts:  
Any person desiring to participate at Licensee's

premises as a rider and who never previously has ridden in a
race may be permitted to ride in two races before applying
for a permit as a Jockey or Apprentice Jockey, provided,
however:

(a)  Such person has had at least one year of service with
a racing stable and currently holds a permit issued by the
Commission for a recognized activity in racing;

4 DE Reg. 181 (7/1/00)
(b)  A registered Trainer certifies in writing to the

Stewards that such person has demonstrated sufficient
horsemanship to be permitted such probationary mounts;

(c)  The Starter has schooled such person in breaking
from the starting gate with other horses and approves such
person as being capable of starting a horse properly from the
starting gate in a race;

(d)  The Stewards, in their sole discretion, are satisfied
that such person intends to become a licensed Jockey,
possesses the physical ability and has demonstrated
sufficient horsemanship to ride in a race without
jeopardizing the safety of horses or other riders in such race.
No such person shall be permitted to ride in any such
probationary race without the prior approval of the Stewards.

8.02  Qualification for Permit:  
In addition to satisfying the requirements applicable to

Permittees, et al., imposed by Part 2 of these Rules, in order
to be eligible to have an authorization or permit issued to
him as a Jockey or Apprentice Jockey, a person also:

(a)  Must be an individual 16 years of age or older;
(b)  Must utilize in his or her application his or her legal

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm


PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 3, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2000

398

name only so that such may be listed in the daily race
program;

(c)  Must have served at least one year with a racing
stable;

(d)  Must have ridden in at least two races; and
(e)  Must, when required by the Stewards, provide a

medical affidavit certifying he or she is physically and
mentally capable of performing the activities and duties of a
Jockey.

8.03  Amateur or Provisional Jockey:
An amateur wishing to ride in races on even terms with

professional riders, but without accepting fees or gratuities
therefor, must be approved by the Stewards as to
competency of horsemanship, may be granted a Jockey's
authorization or permit, and such amateur status must be
duly noted on the daily race program.  A registered Owner or
registered Trainer, upon approval by the Stewards, may be
issued a provisional Jockey's authorization or permit to ride
his or her own horse or horse registered in his or her care as
Trainer.

8.04  Apprentice Allowance:
An apprentice jockey may claim the following weight

allowances in all overnight races except stakes and
handicaps:

(a)  A ten pound allowance beginning with the first
mount and continuing until the apprentice has ridden five
winners.

(b)  A seven pound allowance until the apprentice has
ridden an additional 35 winners.

(c)  If an apprentice has ridden a total of 40 winners
prior to the end of a period of one year from the date of
riding his or her fifth winner, he or she shall have an
allowance of five pounds until the end of that year.

(d)  If after one year from the date of the fifth winning
mount, the apprentice jockey has not ridden 40 winners, the
applicable weight allowance shall continue for more than
one year or until the 40th winner, whichever comes first. An
apprentice may in no event claim a weight allowance for
more than two years from the date of the fifth winning
mount, unless an extension has been granted pursuant to this
Rule.

(e)  After the completion of the weight allowances as
defined in this Rule, a contracted apprentice may for one
year claim three pounds when riding horses owned or trained
by his or her original contract employer, provided his or her
contract has not been transferred or sold since his or her first
winner.  Such original contract employer shall be deemed
the party to the contract who was the employer at the time of
the apprentice jockey's first winner.

(f)  An apprentice jockey may enter into a contract with
a registered owner or registered trainer qualified under Rule
8.05 for a period not to exceed five years.  Such contracts

must be approved by the stewards and filed with the licensee
or its registrar.  Such contracts shall be binding in all
respects on the signers thereof.  An apprentice who is not
contracted may be given an apprentice jockey certificate on a
form furnished by the licensee or its registrar.

(g)  After the completion of the weight allowances
defined in this Rule, such rider must obtain a jockey license
before accepting subsequent mounts.

(h)  The Commission may extend the weight allowance
of an apprentice jockey when, in the discretion of the
Commission, an apprentice jockey is unable to continue
riding due to:

(1)  Physical disablement or illness;
(2)  Military service;
(3)  Attendance in an institution of secondary or

higher education;
(4)  Restriction on racing;
(5)  Other valid reasons.

(i)  To qualify for an extension, an apprentice jockey
shall have been rendered unable to ride for a period of not
less than seven (7) consecutive days during the period in
which the apprentice was entitled to an apprentice weight
allowance.  Under exceptional circumstances, total days lost
collectively will be given consideration.

(j)  The Commission currently licensing apprentice
jockeys shall have the authority to grant an extension to an
eligible applicant, but only after the apprentice has produced
documentation verifying time lost as defined by this Rule.

(k)  An apprentice may petition one of the jurisdictions
in which he or she is licensed and riding for an extension of
the time for claiming apprentice weight allowances, and the
apprentice shall be bound by the decision of the jurisdiction
so petitioned.

Revised 10/31/96.

8.05  Rider Contracts:  
All contracts between an employer or Trainer and

employee rider are subject to the rules of racing.  All riding
contracts for terms longer than 30 days, as well as any
amendments thereto, or cancellations or transfer thereof,
must be in writing with the signatures of the parties thereto
notarized, be approved by the Stewards and filed with
Licensee or his Registrar.  The Stewards may approve a
riding contract and permit parties thereto to participate in
racing at Licensee's premises if they find that:

(a)  The contract employer is a registered Owner or
registered Trainer who owns or trains at least three horses
eligible to race at the time of execution of such contract;

(b)  The contract employer possesses such character,
ability, facilities and financial responsibility as may be
conducive to the development of a competent race rider;

(c)  Such contracts for Apprentice Jockeys provide for
fair remuneration, adequate medical care and an option
equally available to both employer and Apprentice Jockey to
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cancel such contract after two years from the date of
execution.

8.06  Restrictions as to Contract Riders:
No rider may:
(a)  Ride any horse not owned or trained by his or her

contract employer in a race against a horse owned or trained
by his or her contract employer;

(b)  Ride or agree to ride any horse in a race without the
consent of his or her contract employer;

(c)  Share any money earned from riding with his or her
contract employer;

(d)  Repealed: 10/31/96.

8.07  Calls and Engagements:
Any rider not so prohibited by prior contract may agree

to give first or second call on his or her race-riding services
to any registered Owner or Trainer.  Such agreements, if for
terms of more than 30 days, must be in writing, approved by
the Stewards and filed with the Licensee or its Registrar.
Any rider employed by a racing stable on a regular salaried
basis may not ride against the stable which so employs him
or her.  No Owner or Trainer shall employ or engage a rider
to prevent him or her from riding another horse.

8.08  Jockey Fee:
The fee to a Jockey in all races shall be, in the absence

of special agreement, as follows:

Purse     Winning       Second     Third   Losing 
      Mount       Mount      Mount    Mount

$5,000 to   10% of Win $65       $50   $40 $45
9,900 Purse

$10,000 to  10% of Win    5% 5%   $45 $50
14,900 Purse

$15,000 to  10% of Win    5% 5%   $50 $55
24,900 Purse

$25,000 to   10% of Win     5% 5%   $60 $65
49,900 Purse

$50,000 to    10% of Win     5% 5%    $75 $80
99,900 Purse

100,000 10% of Win     5% 5%  $100 $105
and up Purse

A jockey fee shall be considered earned by a rider when
he or she is weighed out by the Clerk of Scales, except when:

(a)  A rider does not weigh out and ride in a race for
which he or she has been engaged because an Owner or
Trainer engaged more than one rider for the same race;  in

such case, the Owner or Trainer shall pay an appropriate fee
to each rider engaged for such race.

(b)  Such rider capable of riding elects to take himself or
herself off the mount, without, in the opinion of the
Stewards, proper cause therefor.

(c)  Such rider is replaced by the Stewards with a
substitute rider for a reason other than a physical injury
suffered by such rider during the time between weighing out
and start of the race.

8.09  Duty to Fulfill Engagements:
Every rider shall fulfill his or her duly scheduled riding

engagements unless excused by the Stewards.  No rider shall
be forced to ride a horse he or she believes to be unsound nor
over a racing strip he or she believes to be unsafe, but if the
Stewards find a rider's refusal to fulfill a riding engagement
is based on a personal belief unwarranted by the facts and
circumstances, such rider may be subject to disciplinary
action.

8.10  Presence in Jockey Room:
Each rider who has been engaged to ride in a race shall

be physically present in the Jockey room no later than one
hour prior to post time for the first race on the day he or she
is scheduled to ride, unless excused by the Stewards or the
Clerk of Scales and, upon arrival, shall report to the Clerk of
Scales his or her engagements.  In the event a rider fails for
any reason to arrive in the Jockey room prior to one hour
before post time of a race in which he or she is scheduled to
ride, the Clerk of Scales shall so advise the Stewards who
thereupon may name a substitute rider, in which case they
shall cause an announcement to be made of any such rider
substitution prior to the opening of wagering on such race.

(a)  Each rider reporting to the Jockey room shall remain
in the Jockey room until he or she has fulfilled all his riding
engagements for the day, except to ride in a race or to view
the running of a race from a location approved by the
Stewards.  Such rider shall have no contact or
communication with any person outside the Jockey room
other than an Owner or Trainer for whom he or she is riding,
or a racing official, or a representative of Licensee, until
such rider has fulfilled all his or her riding engagements for
the day.

(b)  Licensee shall take measures designed to exclude
from the Jockey room all persons, except riders scheduled to
ride on the day's program, Valets, authorized attendants,
Racing Officials, representatives of Licensee and persons
having special permission from the Stewards to enter the
Jockey room.

(c)  Any rider intending to discontinue riding at a race
meeting prior to its conclusion shall so notify the stewards
not later than after fulfilling his or her final riding
engagement of the day he or she intends to depart.
8.11  Weighing Out:
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Each rider engaged to ride in a race shall report to the
Clerk of Scales for weighing out not more than one hour and
not less than 15 minutes before post time for each race in
which he or she is engaged to ride and to report their weight
and overweight, if any, at a time designated by the Stewards.

(a)  No rider shall pass the scale with more than one
pound overweight, without the consent of the Owner or
Trainer of the horse he or she is engaged to ride.  In no event
shall a rider pass the scale with more than five pounds
overweight.

(b)  No horse shall be disqualified because of
overweight carried.

(c)  Whip, blinkers, number cloth, bridle and rider's
safety helmet and rider's safety vest (with a minimum British
rating of #5) shall not be included in a rider's weight.

Revised:  10/20/93

8.12  Wagering:
No rider shall place a wager, or cause a wager to be

placed on his behalf, or accept any ticket or winnings from a
wager on any race, except on his or her own mount to win, or
a combination wager on his or her own mount to win, place
and show, and except through the Owner or Trainer of the
horse he or she is riding.  Such Owner or Trainer placing
wagers for his rider shall maintain a precise and complete
record of all such wagers and such record shall be available
for examination by the Stewards at all times.

8.13  Attire:
Upon leaving the Jockey room to ride in any race, each

rider shall be neat and clean in appearance and wear the
traditional Jockey costume with all jacket buttons and
catches fastened.  Except with the approval of the Stewards,
each Jockey shall wear the cap and jacket racing colors
registered in the name of the Owner of the horse he or she is
to ride, white or light breeches, top boots, safety helmet
approved by the Commission, safety vest approved by the
Commission and a number on his or her right shoulder
corresponding to his or her mount's number as shown on the
saddle cloth and daily race program.  The Clerk of Scales
and attending Valet shall be held jointly responsible with a
rider for his or her neat and clean appearance and proper
attire.

Revised:  10/20/93

8.14  Viewing Films or Tapes of Race
Every rider shall be responsible for checking the film

list posted by the Stewards in the Jockey room the day after
riding in a race, the posting of same to be considered as
notice to all riders whose names are listed thereon to present
themselves at the time designated by the Stewards to view
the patrol films or video tape of races.  Any rider may be
accompanied by a representative of the Jockey organization
of which he or she is a member in viewing such films or,

with the Stewards' permission, be represented at such
viewing by his or her designated representatives.

Part 10 -- Horses

10.01  Registration required:
  No horse may be entered or raced in the State unless
duly registered and named in the registry office of the Jockey
Club in New York and unless the registration certificate or
racing permit issued by the Jockey Club for such horse is on
file with the Racing Secretary except that, for good cause,
the Stewards, in their discretion, may waive this requirement
if the horse is otherwise correctly identified to their
satisfaction.

For steeplechase racing only, a Certificate for Racing
Purposes Only issued by the National Steeplechase and Hunt
Association in New York can be acceptable within the
meaning of this paragraph.

10.02  Ringers Prohibited:  
No horse may be entered or raced in this state

designated by a name other than the name under which such
horse is currently registered with the Jockey Club in New
York or with any other authority recognized by the
Commission. In the event a horse's name is changed by the
Jockey Club, or any other authority recognized by the
Commission, such horse's former name shall be shown
parenthetically in the daily race program the first three times
such horse races after such name change.

(a)  No person shall at any time cause or permit the
correct identity of a horse to be concealed or altered nor shall
any person refuse to reveal the correct identity of a horse he
owns, or which is in his care, to a Racing Official.

(b)  No horse shall race in this State without a legible lip
tattoo number applied by agents of the Thoroughbred Racing
and Protective Bureau, except that for good cause the
Stewards, in their discretion, may waive this requirement if
the horse is otherwise correctly identified to the Stewards'
satisfaction.  The Stewards shall require that a horse without
a lip tattoo number be lip tattooed within a reasonably
practical time.

(c)  No horse may be entered or raced in this State if
previously involved in a "ringer" case if:  (1) a person having
control of such horse knowingly entered or raced such horse
while designated by a name other than the name under which
such horse was registered with the Jockey Club or any other
authority recognized by the Commission; or (2) such person
having control of such horse participated in or assisted in the
entry or racing of some other horse under the name
registered as belonging to such horse in question.

10.03  Denerving:  
Any horse on which a neurectomy has been performed

shall have such fact designated on its registration certificate
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or racing permit.  It shall be the joint responsibility of the
practicing veterinarian who performed the operation and the
Trainer of such denerved horse to insure that such fact is
designated on the registration certificate or racing permit.

(a)  Any horse whose ulnar, radial or median nerve has
been either blocked or removed (known as high nerved), or
whose volar or plantar nerve has been blocked or removed,
unilaterally or bilaterally, shall not be entered or raced in this
State.

(b)  Any horse which has had a posterior digital
neurectomy (known as low nerved) may be permitted to race
provided such denerving has been reported by the Trainer to
the Stewards and such horse has been approved for racing by
the Commission's Veterinarian prior to being entered for a
race.

4 DE Reg. 182 (7/1/00)
(c)  In the event a horse races in violation of this Rule

and participates in the purse distribution, then no protest
thereon will be considered unless submitted in writing to the
Stewards within 48 hours after such race.

(d)  In the event a horse races in violation of this Rule
and is claimed, then no protest thereon will be considered
unless the successful claimant submits such protest in
writing within 48 hours requesting that his claim be voided.
Should the claim be voided, the horse shall be returned to the
Owner who started such horse in such race and the claim
price shall be returned to the claimant.

(e)  A list of all denerved horses shall be posted in the
Racing Secretary's Office.  No person shall report a horse as
having a neurectomy when in fact such horse has not.

10.04  Bleeders:  
Any horse known to have bled from its nostrils during a

race or workout may not be entered or raced without the
prior approval for racing by the Commission's Veterinarian.
A horse which bled for the first time shall not be permitted to
run for a period of ten (10) calendar days.  A horse which
bleeds a second time shall not be permitted to run for thirty
(30) calendar days.  A horse which bleeds a third time shall
not be permitted to run for ninety (90) days.  A horse which
bleeds a fourth time shall be barred from further racing in the
State of Delaware, except that if a horse's fourth bleeding
incident occurs within one year of the first bleeding incident,
then the horse shall not be barred but shall not be permitted
to run for one year.  If a horse has bled three times but at
least twelve months have passed since the last bleeding
incident, then if the horse bleeds for a fourth time, the horse
shall not be permitted to run for twelve (12) months, and any
further bleeding incidents will prevent the horse from racing
for another twelve (12) month period.  (A positive
endoscopic examination shall be classed as a first time
bleeder).  See Rule 15.02 Bleeder Medication.

4 DE Reg. 182 (7/1/00)

10.05  Health Certificate Required:
  Licensee, within its discretion, may require a health
certificate from an accredited, practicing veterinarian of any
horse stabled or to be stabled on its grounds.

10.06  Workouts:  
No horse may be schooled in the paddock or taken onto

a track on Licensee's grounds for training or workout, other
than during normal training hours as posted by Licensee,
without the special permission of the Stewards.

10.07  Removal from Licensee’s Grounds/Postmortem
Examination

(a)  No dead or sick horse may be removed from
Licensee’s grounds without the prior approval of the
Commission’s Veterinarian.

4 DE Reg. 182 (7/1/00)
(b)  The Commission may conduct a postmortem

examination of any horse that is injured in this jurisdiction
while in training or in competition and that subsequently
expires or is destroyed.  In proceeding with a postmortem
examination, the Commission or its designee shall
coordinate with the trainer and/or owner to determine and
address any insurance requirements.

(c)  The Commission may conduct a postmortem
examination of any horse that expires while housed on a
licensee’s grounds within this jurisdiction.  Trainers and
owners shall be required to comply with such action as a
condition of licensure.

(d)  The Commission may take possession of the horse
upon death for postmortem examination.  The Commission
may submit blood, urine, other bodily fluid specimens or
other tissue specimens collected during a postmortem
examination for testing by the Commission-selected
laboratory or its designee.  Upon completion of the
postmortem examination, the carcass may be returned to the
owner or disposed of at the owner’s option.

(e)  The presence of a prohibited substance in a horse,
found by the official laboratory or its designee in a bodily
fluid specimen collected during the postmortem examination
of a horse, which breaks down during a race constitutes a
violation of these rules.

(f)  The cost of Commission-ordered postmortem
examinations, testing and disposal will be borne by the
Commission. 

10.08  Serviceable for Racing:  
No horse may be entered or raced that:
(a)  is not in serviceable, sound racing condition.  The

Stewards may, at any time, cause a horse on Licensee's
grounds to be examined by a qualified person.

(b)  is posted on a Veterinarian's list or Steward's list or
is suspended in any racing jurisdiction;

(c)  has been administered any drug, medication or
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substance foreign to the natural horse in violation of these
Rules;

(d)  is blind or has seriously impaired vision in both
eyes;

(e)  is not correctly identified to the satisfaction of the
Stewards;

(f)  is owned wholly or in part by, or is trained by, an
ineligible person.

10.09  Equipment:  
Whips or blinkers must be used consistently on a horse

or not at all.  Permission to change any equipment used on a
horse in its last previous start must be obtained from the
Stewards.  A horse's tongue may be tied down for a race with
a clean bandage or gauze.  A horse's bridle may weigh no
more than two pounds.  War bridles are prohibited.  No horse
may race in ordinary training shoes.  Bar shoes may be used
for racing only with the permission of the Stewards.

Use on a horse either in a race or workout of any
goading device, chain, electrical or mechanical device or
appliance, other than the ordinary whip, which could be used
to alter the speed of such horse is prohibited, except that
spurs may be used in jumping races and, with the permission
of the Stewards, during workouts.

No whip shall be used that weighs more than one pound
or is longer than 30 inches with one popper; no stingers or
projections extending through the hole of a popper or any
metal part on a whip shall be permitted.

Indiscriminate or brutal use of an ordinary whip on a
horse, as determined by the Stewards in their sole discretion,
is prohibited.

10.10  Sex Alteration:  
Any alteration in the sex of a horse must be reported by

such horse's Trainer to the Racing Secretary promptly, and
the Racing Secretary shall note same on such horse's
registration certificate.

Rule 10.01 and 10.02 Rev. March 1976.

Part 15 -- Medication, Testing Procedures

15.01  Prohibition and Control of Medication:
  It shall be the intent of these Rules to protect the
integrity of horse racing, to guard the health of the horse and
to safeguard the interests of the public and the racing
participants through the prohibition or control of all drugs
and medications or substances foreign to the natural horse.
In this context:

(a)  No horse participating in a race shall carry in its
body any substance foreign to the natural horse, except as
hereinafter provided.

(b)  No foreign substance shall be administered to a
horse (entered to race) by injection, oral administration,
rectal infusion or suppository, or by inhalation within

twenty-four (24) hours prior to the scheduled post time for
the first race, except as hereinafter provided.

(c)  No person other than a veterinarian shall have in his
possession any equipment for hypodermic injection, any
substance for hypodermic administration or any foreign
substance which can be administered internally to a horse by
any route, except for an existing condition as prescribed by a
veterinarian.

(d)  Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule 15.01(c)
above, any person may have in his possession within a race
track enclosure, any chemical or biological substance for use
on his own person, provided that, if such chemical substance
is prohibited from being dispensed by any Federal law or law
of this State without a prescription, he is in possession of
documentary evidence that a valid prescription for such
chemical or biological substance has been issued to him.

(e)  Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule 15.01(c)
above, any person may have in his possession within any
race track enclosure, any hypodermic syringe or needle for
the purpose of administering a chemical or biological
substance to himself, provided that he has notified the
Stewards:  (1) of his possession of such device; (2) of the
size of such device; and (3) of the chemical substance to be
administered by such device and has obtained written
permission for possession and use from the Stewards.

15.01.1  Definitions:
  The following terms and words used in these Rules

are defined as:
(a)  Hypodermic Injection shall mean any injection

into or under the skin or mucous, including intradermal
injection, subcutaneous injection, submucosal injection,
intramuscular injection, intravenous injection and
intraocular (intraconjunctival) injection.

(b)  Foreign Substances shall mean all substances
except those which exist naturally in the untreated horse at
normal physiological concentration, and shall also include
substances foreign to a horse at levels that cause interference
with testing procedures.

(c)  Veterinarian shall mean a veterinary
practitioner authorized to practice at the race track.

(d)  Horse includes all horses registered for racing
under the jurisdiction of the Commission and for the
purposes of these Rules shall mean stallion, colt, gelding,
ridgling, filly or mare.

(e)  Chemist shall mean the Commission's chemist.
(f)  Test Sample shall mean any body substance

including, but not limited to, blood or urine taken from a
horse under the supervision of the Licensee's Veterinarian
and in such manner as prescribed by the Commission for the
purpose of analysis.

(g)  Race Day shall mean the 24-hour period prior
to the scheduled post time for the first race.

15.01.2  Foreign Substances:  
No horse participating in a race shall carry in its
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body any foreign substance except as provided in Rule
15.01.2(c):

(a)  A finding by the chemist that a foreign
substance is present in the test sample shall be prima facie
evidence that such foreign substance was administered and
carried in the body of the horse while participating in a race.
Such a finding shall also be taken as prima facie evidence
that the Trainer and agents responsible for the care or
custody of the horse has/have been negligent in the handling
or care of the horse.

(b)  A finding by the chemist of a foreign substance
or an approved substance used in violation of Rule 15.01 in
any test sample of a horse participating in a race shall result
in the horse being disqualified from purse money or other
awards, except for purposes of pari-mutuel wagering which
shall in no way be affected.

(c)  A foreign substance of accepted therapeutic
value may be administered as prescribed by a Veterinarian
when test levels and guidelines for its use have been
established by the Veterinary-Chemist Advisory Committee
of the National Association of State Racing Commissioners
and approved by the Commission.

(d)  The only approved non-steroidal anti-
inflammatory drug (NSAID) that may be present in a horse's
body while it is participating in a race is phenylbutazone/
oxyphenobutazone in the level stated in subsection (e) or (f).
The presence of any other NSAID at any test level is
forbidden.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, the presence of
any NSAID at any test level is forbidden for a two-year old
horse.

Revised:  1/6/92.
(e)  The test level of phenylbutazone under this

Rule shall not be in excess of two point five (2.5)
micrograms (mcg) per milliliter (ml) of plasma without
penalties in the following format:

Micrograms per milliliter Penalties
0 to 2.5 No action
2.6 to 4.9 First Offense

$250.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9 Second Offense

  within 365 days -
  $500.00 fine

2.6 to 4.9 Third Offense
  within 365 days -
  $500.00 fine and/
 or Suspension and
 or Loss of Purse

5.0 and Over Fine, Suspension,
  Loss of Purse

(f)  The test level for oxphenobutazone under this
Rule shall not be in excess of two (2) micrograms (mcg) per
milliliter (ml) of plasma.

Micrograms per milliliter Penalties
0 to 2.5 No action
2.6 to 4.9 First Offense

  $250.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9 Second Offense

  within 365 days -
  $500.00 fine

2.6 to 4.9 Third Offense
  within 365 days -
  $500.00 fine and/
  or Suspension and/
  or Loss of Purse

5.0 and Over Fine, Suspension, 
  Loss of Purse

15.02  Bleeder Medication:  
Notwithstanding anything in the Rules of Racing to the

contrary, the Stewards may permit the administration of
Furosemide (Lasix) to control epistaxis (bleeding) to horses
under the following conditions:

(a)  A horse which, during a race or workout at a duly
licensed race track in this State or within the first hour
immediately following such a race or workout, is observed
by the Commission's Veterinarian or the Stewards to be
shedding blood from one or both nostrils or is found to have
bled internally.  (An endoscopic examination of the horse, in
order to confirm bleeding, may be performed by the
practicing veterinarian in the presence of the Commission's
Veterinarian at the detention barn within one (1) hour of
workout or race.)

(b)  A horse which has been certified as a bleeder in
another jurisdiction may be placed on the bleeder list
provided that the other jurisdiction qualified it as a bleeder
using criteria satisfactory to the Commission's Veterinarian
and the Stewards.  It shall be the absolute responsibility of
the Trainer to report bleeders from other jurisdictions to the
Licensee's Veterinarian or Stewards on official forms from
that State prior to entry.

(c)  The Commission's Veterinarian shall be responsible
to maintain an up-to-date "bleeder" list and the list shall be
available in the Racing Secretary's office.

(d)  A horse in the Bleeder Program shall be required to
be brought to a detention barn an area designated by the
Licensee and approved by the Commission not later than
three and one-half (3 1/2) hours before post time for the race
in which it is entered and shall remain in said detention barn
(in its assigned stall) until called to the paddock prior to post
time.  During the 3 1/2 hour period, the horse shall be under
the care and custody of a groom or caretaker appointed by
the Trainer.  The approved furosemide medication may be
administered by a licensed practicing veterinarian in the
detention barn within three (3) hours before post time.  The
practicing veterinarian shall make a report to the Stewards of
the treatment on forms provided by the Stewards on the same
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day of treatment. 
(e)  (Deleted.)
(f)  A horse which bled for the first time shall not be

permitted to run for a period of ten (10) calendar days. A
horse which bleeds a second time shall not be permitted to
run for thirty (30) calendar days.  A horse which bleeds a
third time shall not be permitted to run for ninety (90) days.
A horse which bleeds a fourth time shall be barred from
further racing in the State of Delaware, except that if a
horse's fourth bleeding incident occurs within one year of the
first bleeding incident, then the horse shall not be barred but
shall not be permitted to run for one year.  If a horse has bled
three times but at least twelve months have passed since the
last bleeding incident, then if the horse bleeds for a fourth
time, the horse shall not be permitted to run for twelve (12)
months, and any further bleeding incidents will prevent the
horse from racing for another twelve (12) month period.  A
positive endoscopic examination shall be classed as a first
time bleeder.

Revised:  6/19/92.
(g)  Dosage.  Furosemide (Lasix) shall be administered

intravenously to horses in the Bleeder Program by a licensed
practicing veterinarian, who will administer not more than
500 milligrams nor less than 100 milligrams, subject to the
following conditions:

i.  A horse may receive an intramuscular
administration of furosemide if the Commission
Veterinarian determines that the horse cannot receive an
intravenous administration of furosemide and gives
permission for an intramuscular administration;

ii.  A horse may receive up to 750 milligrams of
furosemide if the Commission Veterinarian grants
permission for a dosage greater than 500 milligrams; 

iii.  The dosage administered may not vary by more
than 250 milligrams from race to race without the permission
of the Commission Veterinarian.

(h)  Restrictions.  No one except a licensed practicing
veterinarian shall possess equipment or any substance for
injectable administration on the race track complex, and no
horse is to receive furosemide (lasix) in oral form.

(i)  Post-Race Quantification.  As indicated by post-race
quantification, a horse may not carry in its body at the time
of the running of the race more than 100 nanograms of
furosemide (lasix) per milliliter of plasma in conjunction
with a urine that has a specific gravity of 1.010 or lower,
unless the dosage of furosemide (lasix):

i.  Was administered intramuscularly as provided in
Rule 15.02(g)(i); or

ii.  Exceeded 500 milligrams as provided in Rule
15.02(g)(ii).

If post-race quantification indicates that a horse
carried in its body at the time of the running of the race more
than 100 nanograms of furosemide per milliliter of plasma in
conjunction with a urine that has a specific gravity of 1.010

or lower, and provided that the dosage of furosemide was not
administered intramuscularly as provided in Rule 15.02(g)(i)
or exceeded 500 milligrams as provided in Rule 15.02(g)(ii),
then a penalty shall be imposed as follows:

a.  If such overage is the first violation of this
rule within a twelve month period-up to a $250 fine and loss
of purse.

b.  If such overage is the second violation of
this rule within a twelve month period-up to a $1,000 fine
and loss of purse.

c.  If such overage is the third violation of this
rule within a twelve month period-up to a $1,000 fine, up to
a fifteen day suspension, and loss of purse.

d.  If the overage caused interference with the
testing procedures, then the penalty for such overage will be
up to a $1,000 fine, a suspension of from 15 to 50 days, and
loss of purse. 

4 DE Reg. 183 (7/1/00)

15.03  Responsibility for Prohibited Administration:  
Any person found to have administered or authorized a

medication, drug or substance which caused or could have
caused a violation of Rules 15.01 or 15.02, or caused,
participated or attempted to participate in any way in such
administration, shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(a)  The registered Trainer of a horse found to have been
administered a medication, drug or substance in violation of
Rules 15.01 or 15.02 shall bear the burden of proof to show
freedom from negligence in the exercise of a high degree of
care in safeguarding such horse from being tampered with
and, failing to prove such freedom from negligence (or
reliance on the professional ability of a licensed
Veterinarian), shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(b)  The Assistant Trainer, groom, stable watchman or
any other person having the immediate care and custody of a
horse found to have been administered a medication, drug or
substance in violation of Rules 15.01 or 15.02, if found
negligent in guarding or protecting such horse from being
tampered with, shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(c)  A licensed Veterinarian shall be responsible for any
medication, drug or substance that he administers, prescribes
or causes to be administered by his direction on a horse.  If
found to have made an error in type or quantity of same
administered and if in reliance upon the correctness thereof a
Trainer races such treated horse in violation of Rules 15.01
and 15.02, such licensed Veterinarian shall be subject to
disciplinary action.

15.04  Reports of Administration:  
Before a licensed Veterinarian administers or prescribes

any drug or restricted substance for a horse, he shall
ascertain by reasonable inquiry whether the horse has been
entered to race at any track and, if the horse has been
entered, he shall not administer or prescribe any drug or
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restricted substance within the time or manner restricted by
these Rules.

If, however, an emergency exists involving the life or
health of the horse, he may proceed to treat or prescribe for
the horse but shall report the matter as promptly as
practicable to the State Veterinarian and Stewards.

(a)  Any Veterinarian practicing at any Delaware race
track shall file a daily report with the Stewards and the Track
Veterinarian as to any medication prescribed or administered
or professional service performed.  This report shall be filed
in person or postmarked within a period of forty-eight (48)
hours from the time of treatment.  Detection of any
unreported medication, drug or substance by the
Commission's Chemist in a pre-race or post-race test may be
grounds for disciplinary action against such Veterinarian.

(b)  Such daily reports shall accurately reflect the
identity of the horse treated, diagnosis, time of treatment,
type and dosage of medication, drug or substance and
method of administration.

(c)  Such daily reports shall remain confidential except
that the Commission's Veterinarian may compile general
data therefrom to assist the Commission in formulating
policies or rules and the Stewards may review the same in
investigating a possible violation of these rules.  See Rule
11.02(d) respecting a public list of horses declared to race on
medication.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)
(d)  When making an entry, it shall be the duty of the

Trainer or his representative, as required by Rule 11.02(d),
to disclose and declare to the Racing Secretary or his
representative whether said horse will race on any
medication permitted by these rules.

15.05  Report Prior to Race of Cessation or Reduction of
Medication:
  For any horse entered to run in a race, a timely report of
the elimination or reduction since its last race in the level of
Phenylbutazone and/or similar medications administered to
it at the time of such last race shall be made to the
Commission's Veterinarian by the horse's Owner, Trainer,
attending Veterinarian and/or any other person having
supervision over, or custody of, such horse.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)
Violation of this Rule will constitute grounds for

disciplinary action.

15.06  Bettors' Safeguard:  
To help protect against inconsistent performances, a

horse which last raced after having been administered
Phenylbutazone and/or similar medication shall not be
permitted to race without having been administered the same
or similar medication at a comparable level, unless the
Commission's Veterinarian grants his prior, express approval
that such horse may race notwithstanding that the medication

program to which it was subjected at the time of its last race
has subsequently been eliminated or reduced.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)
Violation of any aspect of this Rule by an Owner,

Trainer, attending Veterinarian or any other person having
supervision or custody of the horse will constitute grounds
for disciplinary action as provided by these Rules.

15.07  Commission List:  
As a guide to Owners, Trainers and Veterinarians, the

Commission may from time to time publish a list of
medications, shown by brand and generic names,
specifically prohibited for racing.  Such list shall not be
considered exclusive and medications shown thereon shall
be considered only as among those, along with others not so
listed, prohibited by general classification under Rule 15.01.

15.08  Detention Area:  
Each Licensee may provide and maintain on its grounds

a fenced enclosure sufficient in size and facilities to
accommodate stabling of horses temporarily detained for the
taking of sample specimens for chemical testing; such
detention area shall be under the supervision and control of
the Commission's Veterinarian.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)

15.09  Horses to be Tested:
  The Stewards may at any time order the taking of a
blood, urine, or saliva specimen for testing from any horse
entered.  Any Owner or Trainer may at any time request that
a specimen be taken from a horse he owns or trains by
Licensee's Veterinarian and be tested by Commission's
Chemist, provided the costs of such testing are borne by the
Owner or Trainer requesting such test.

15.10  Procedure for Taking Specimens:  
(1)  Horses from which specimens are to be drawn shall

be taken to the detention area at the prescribed time and
remain there until released by the Commission veterinarian.
Only the owner, trainer, groom, or hotwalker of horses to be
tested shall be admitted to the detention area without
permission of the Commission veterinarian.

(2)  Stable equipment other than equipment necessary
for washing and cooling out a horse shall be prohibited in the
detention area.

(a)  Buckets and water shall be furnished by the
Commission veterinarian.

(b)  If a body brace is to be used, it shall be supplied
by the responsible trainer and administered only with the
permission and in the presence of the Commission
veterinarian.

(c)  Alicensed veterinarian shall attend a horse in
the detention area only in the presence of the Commission
veterinarian.
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(3)  One of the following persons shall be present and
witness the taking of the specimen from a horse and so
signify in writing:

(a)  The owner;
(b)  The responsible trainer who, in the case of a

claimed horse, shall be the person in whose name the horse
raced;  or

(c)  A stable representative designated by such
owner or trainer.

(4)   (a)  All urine containers shall be supplied by the
Commission laboratory and shall be sealed with the
laboratory security seal which shall not be broken, except in
the presence of the witness as provided by subsection (3) of
this section.

(b)  Blood vacutainers will also be supplied by the
Commission laboratory in sealed packages as received from
the manufacturer.

(5)  Samples taken from a horse, by the Commission
veterinarian or his assistant at the detention barn, shall be
collected and in double containers and designated as the
"primary" and "secondary" samples.

(a)  These samples shall be sealed with tamper-
proof tape and bear a portion of the multiple part
"identification tag" that has identical printed numbers only.
The other portion of the tag bearing the same printed
identification number shall be detached in the presence of
the witness.

(b)  The Commission veterinarian shall:
1.  Identify the horse from which the specimen

was taken.
2.  Document the race and day, verified by the

witness;  and
3.  Place the detached portions of the

identification tags in sealed envelope for delivery only to the
stewards.

(c)  After both portions of samples have been
identified in accordance with this section, the "primary"
sample shall be delivered to the official chemist designated
by the Commission.

(d)  The "secondary" sample shall remain in the
custody of the Commission veterinarian at the detention area
and urine samples shall be frozen and blood samples
refrigerated in a locked refrigerator/freezer.

(e)  The Commission veterinarian shall take every
precaution to ensure that neither the Commission chemist
nor any member of the laboratory staff shall know the
identity of the horse from which a specimen was taken prior
to the completion of all testing.

(f)  When the Commission chemist has reported
that the "primary" sample delivered contains no prohibited
drug, the "secondary" sample shall be properly disposed.

(g)  If after a horse remains a reasonable time in the
detention area and a specimen can not be taken from the
horse, the Commission veterinarian may permit the horse to

be returned to its barn and usual surroundings for the taking
of a specimen under the supervision of the Commission
veterinarian.

(h)  If one hundred (100) milliliters (ml.) or less of
urine is obtained, it will not be split, but will be considered
the "primary" sample and will be tested as other "primary"
samples.

(i)  Two (2) blood samples shall be collected in
twenty (20) milliliters vacutainers, one for the "primary" and
one for the "secondary" sample.

(j)  In the event of an initial finding of a prohibited
drug or in violation of these Rules & Regulations, the
Commission chemist shall notify the Commission, both
orally and in writing, and an oral notice shall be issued by
the Commission to the owner and trainer or other responsible
person no more than twenty-four (24) hours after the receipt
of the initial finding, unless extenuating circumstances
require a longer period, in which case the Commission shall
provide notice as soon as possible in order to allow for
testing of the "secondary" sample.

1.  If testing of the "secondary" sample is
desired, the owner, trainer, or other responsible person shall
so notify the Commission in writing within 48 hours after
notification of the initial positive test or within a reasonable
period of time established by the Commission after
consultation with the Commission chemist.  The reasonable
period is to be calculated to insure the integrity of the sample
and the preservation of the alleged illegal substance.

2.  Testing of the "secondary" samples shall be
performed at a referee laboratory selected by representatives
of the owner, trainer, or other responsible person from a list
of not less than two (2) laboratories approved by the
Commission.

(k)  The Commission shall bear the responsibility of
preparing and shipping the sample, and the cost of
preparation, shipping, and testing at the referee laboratory
shall be assumed by the person requesting the testing,
whether it be the owner, trainer, or other person charged.

1.  A Commission representative and the
owner, trainer, or other responsible person or a
representative of the persons notified under these Rules and
Regulations may be present at the time of the opening,
repackaging, and testing of the "secondary" sample to ensure
its identity and that the testing is satisfactorily performed.

2.  The referee laboratory shall be informed of
the initial findings of the Commission chemist prior to the
making the test.

3.  If the finding of the referee laboratory is
proven to be of sufficient reliability and does not confirm the
finding of the initial test performed by the Commission
chemist and in the absence of other independent proof of the
administration of a prohibited drug to the horse in question,
it shall be concluded that there is insubstantial evidence upon
which to charge anyone with a violation.
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(l)  The Commission veterinarian shall be
responsible for safeguarding all specimens while in his
possession and shall cause the specimens to be delivered
only to the Commission chemist as soon as the possible after
sealing, in a manner so as not to reveal the identity of a horse
from which the sample was taken.

(m)  If an Act of God, power failure, accident,
strike or other action beyond the control of the Commission
occurs, the results of the primary official test shall be
accepted as prima facie evidence.

15.11  Commission Chemist:  
The Commission's Chemist, who shall be a member of

the Association of Official Racing Chemists, shall conduct
tests on specimens provided him in order to detect and
identify prohibited substances therein and report on such in
such a manner, and according to such procedures, as the
Commission from time to time may approve and/or
prescribe.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant  to 14 Del. C., 
Section 122(d)

State Content Standards
 
A.  Type of Regulatory Action Requested

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B.  Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the approval of the

State Board of Education to amend the regulation, State
Content Standards found in the Regulations of the
Department of Education by adding the content standards for
health and wellness education entitled Delaware Health
Education Curriculum Framework and Assessment as
recommended for approval by the Secretary and approved at
the State Board of Education’s meeting on August 17, 2000.
In addition to adding the tenth set of content standards to this
regulation, the words “each charter school” were added to
1.1 and 1.5. The change in 1.1 requires charter schools to
align their instructional programs in English Language Arts,
mathematics, science and social studies with the state
content standards in these areas.  In 1.5 the change requires
charter schools to provide instructional programs for
students for whom a functional life skills curriculum is
appropriate and align the instructional program with the
document Standards for Functional Life Skills Curriculum.

C.  Impact Criteria

1.  Will the amended regulation help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation addresses achievement in the
health and wellness area and achievement issues in charter
schools.

2.  Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses the state content
standards, not equity issues.

3.  Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation addresses the state content
standards, not health and safety issues.

4.  Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses the state content
standards, not students’ legal rights.

5.  Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6.  Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7.  Will decision-making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision-making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8.  Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will be consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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studies.

9.  Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the
purpose of the regulation?

The amendment was required in order to add a new area
to the State Content Standards regulation and to clarify the
responsibilities of charter schools.

10.  What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?

There is no additional cost to the state and to the local
boards of education.

501 State Content Standards

1.0  State Content Standards
1.1  Each local school district and each charter school

shall provide instructional programs in mathematics, English
language arts, science and social studies for all students in
grades K-12, except for those students for whom a functional
lifestyle curriculum is appropriate.  The instructional
programs shall be in alignment with the documents
Mathematics Curriculum Framework, English Language
Arts Curriculum Framework, Science Curriculum
Framework and Social Studies Curriculum Framework as
the same may from time to time hereafter be amended with
the approval of the Secretary and the State Board of
Education.

1.2  Each local school district shall provide instructional
programs in the visual and performing arts for all students in
grades K-8 except for those students for whom a functional
life skills curriculum is appropriate.  The instructional
program shall be in alignment with the document Visual and
Performing Arts Content Standards as the same may from
time to time hereafter be amended with the approval of the
Secretary and the State Board of Education.

1.3  Each local school district shall provide instructional
programs in technology education for all students in grades
5-8 except for those students for whom a functional life
skills curriculum is appropriate.  The instructional program
shall be in alignment with the document Technology
Education Curriculum Framework Content Standards as the
same may from time to time hereafter be amended with the
approval of the Secretary and the State Board of Education.

1.4  Each local school district shall provide instructional
programs in health and wellness education for all students in
grades K-12.  The instructional programs shall be in
alignment with the document Delaware Health Education
Curriculum Framework and Assessment as the same may
from time to time be amended with the approval of the
Secretary and the State Board of Education.

1.4 1.5  Each local school district and each charter
school shall provide instructional programs for students for
whom a functional life skills curriculum is appropriate.  The

instructional program shall be in alignment with the
document Standards for Functional Life Skills Curriculum
as the same may from time to time hereafter be amended
with the approval of the Secretary and the State Board of
Education.

1.5 1.6  Each local school district that provides
additional instructional programs for students in any area of
agriscience, business finance and marketing education,
foreign language, visual and performing arts and technology
education shall align these areas with the applicable state
content standards.  These program areas shall be in
alignment with the documents Agriscience Curriculum
Framework Content Standards, Business Finance and
Marketing Education Curriculum Framework Content
Standards, Foreign Language Curriculum Framework
Content Standards, Visual and Performing Arts Content
Standards, and the Technology Education Curriculum
Framework Content Standards as the same may from time to
time hereafter be amended with the approval of the Secretary
and the State Board of Education.

1.6 1.7  Each local school district shall provide for the
integration of content areas within and across the curricula.

1.7 1.8  Each local school district shall keep
instructional materials and curricula content current and
consistent with the Guidelines for the Selection of
Instructional Materials.

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del. C., 
Section 122(d)

Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary/Middle Level and 
Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary

* PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A REPROPOSAL.

A.  Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulations

B.  Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the approval of the

State Board of Education to amend the regulations for
certification as a Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary/
Middle Level and as a Bilingual Teacher (Spanish)
Secondary. The purpose of the amendment is to allow
persons who are native Spanish speakers to become
candidates for certification without taking Spanish courses.
It will also guarantee ability to communicate in English.
Sections 2.1.1.2 and 2.1.2 reflect these changes.  The
regulation was also changed to fit the revised format of
Department of Education regulations.

C.  Impact Criteria
1.  Will the amended regulations help improve student
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achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulations do address certification
requirements that can have an impact on student
achievement.

2.  Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulations address certification
requirements, not equitable education except that bilingual
education teachers do assist in the delivery of equitable
education for all students.

3.  Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulations address certification
requirements, not health and safety issues.

4.  Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulations address certification
requirements, not students’ legal rights.

5.  Will the amended regulations preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulations will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

6.  Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulations will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7.  Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subjects to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8.  Will the amended regulations be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulations will be consistent with and not
impediments to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9.  Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the
purpose of the regulations?

Certification requirements must be addressed through
regulation.

10.  What is the cost to the state and to the local school

boards of compliance with the regulations?
There is no additional cost to the state and to the local

school boards for compliance with these regulations.

SECONDARY TEACHER BILINGUAL

Required in grades 9-12, valid in grades 5-8 in a middle level
school.
I. Requirements for the Standard License

A. Bachelor's degree from an accredited college; and
B. Professional Education

1. Completion of a teacher preparation program
in secondary education bilingual in the language area of
assignment and the subject area of assignment;
-OR-

2. Completion of a major in the subject area of
assignment; and

a. Minimum of 21 semester hours in the
language area of assignment at or above the intermediate
level;
-OR-

Demonstrated fluency in the language area of
assignment as determined by a DOE approved proficiency
test;
-AND-

b. Three semester hours in Teaching English as a
Second Language;
-AND-

c. Knowledge of the target group's culture as
demonstrated by:

Three semester hours credit in the culture of
the target group;
-OR-

Significant personal connection with the target
community such as formative or work experience;
-OR-

An appropriate workshop approved by the Department
of Education in the target group's culture;
-AND-

d. Bilingual student teaching in a secondary
school program in the language area of assignment.

II. Requirements for the Limited Standard License (not
renewable)

Issued for a period of three years at the request of a
Delaware public school district to a person who meets the
requirements listed below and who is employed as a
bilingual secondary teacher to allow for the completion of
the requirements of the standard License as listed under
Section I. above.

A. Requirements of I. A. above; and
B. Specialized Professional Preparation

Coursework as required in I. B. 2a, b, and c.
(Student teaching may be satisfied by one year of
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satisfactory teaching experience in a secondary bilingual
school program in the language area of assignment.)
****

LICENSES ISSUED FOR THIS POSITION
Standard See above.
Limited StandardSee above.

Effective May 20, 1994

Delaware
State Department of Education
Certification of Professional Public School Personnel

Primary/middle Level Teacher - Bilingual

Required in grades K-4, and middle level grades 5-8.

I.  Requirements for the Standard License
A.  Bachelor's degree from an accredited college; and
B.  General Education

Satisfactory completion of the Bachelor's degree;
and

C.  Professional Education
1.  Completion of a teacher education program in

primary/middle level bilingual education in the language
area of assignment
-OR-

2.  Completion of the required course work in a
teacher education program in primary or middle level
education; and

a.  Minimum of 15 semester hours in the
language area of assignment at or above the intermediate
level (300);
-OR-

Demonstrated fluency in the language area of
assignment as determined by the NTE (score at or above
fiftieth percentile)
-AND-

b.  3 semester hours in Teaching English as a
Second Language

3 semester hours Second Language
Testing
-AND-

c. Knowledge of the target group's culture as
demonstrated by:

Three semester hours credit in the culture
of the target group
- OR-

Documented personal interaction with the
target community, e.g., study abroad, work experience,
formative experience.

d. Bilingual student teaching in the area of
assignment

-OR-
Student teaching at K-8 level; and
One year of approved full-time successful

experience teaching in a primary/middle level bilingual
program
II. Requirements for the Limited Standard License (not
renewable)

Issued for a period of three years at the request of a
Delaware public school district to a person who meets the
requirements listed below and who is employed as a
bilingual elementary teacher to allow for the completion of
the requirements of the standard License as listed under
Section I. above.

A.  Requirements of I. A. and I. B. above; and
B.  Specialized Professional Preparation

Requirements as specified in I. C. 2a, b, and c.
****

LICENSES FOR THIS POSITION
Standard See above
Limited StandardSee above

311 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary/Middle Level
 
1.0  To qualify for a Standard License to teach in K-8
Bilingual Education Programs a candidate shall have a
Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college and
have completed a teacher education program in elementary,
primary or middle level (grade configurations K-8) bilingual
education in the language area of Spanish.

2.0  If the candidate does not meet the requirements in 1.0
the following shall apply:

2.1  Complete the required coursework in a teacher
education program in elementary, primary or middle level
(grade configurations K-8) regular education plus provide
the following:

2.1.1  Verification of language proficiency in
Spanish as demonstrated by one of the two options below:

2.1.1.1  Completion of a minimum of 15
semester hours from a regionally accredited college in the
language area of Spanish.  This coursework shall be at or
above the intermediate level; and Demonstration of oral
proficiency in the language area of Spanish by scoring 165
on the PRAXIS II Test Module:  Productive Language
(0192); or

2.1.1.2  Demonstration of content knowledge
and oral proficiency in the language area of Spanish by
meeting the appropriate qualifying scores on the PRAXIS II
Test Modules as follows:

159 on Spanish:  Content and Knowledge
(0191) and

165 on Spanish:  Productive Language
(0192); and
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2.1.2  Demonstration of English speaking ability,
when English is not the first language, by scoring 50 on the
TOEFL:  Test of Spoken English (TSE) and

2.1.3  In addition to 2.1.1 and 2.1.2 all candidates
must meet the following requirements:

2.1.3.1  Completion of coursework as
indicated:

2.1.3.1.1  3 semester hours Methods of
Teaching English as a Second Language;

2.1.3.1.2  3 semester hours Second
Language Testing;

2.1.3.1.3  3 semester hours Remedial
Reading (English); or

3 semester hours Remedial Reading
(Spanish); and

2.1.3.2  Verification of knowledge of the
Spanish culture as demonstrated by:

2.1.3.2.1  A three (3) semester hour course
in Spanish culture; or

Documentation of personal
interaction with the target community via study abroad,
work experience, formative experience, etc.; and

2.1.3.3  Completion of a clinical experience in
a bilingual setting in grades K-8; or

Upon the completion of all requirements
in 2.0, verification of one year of prior approved, full-time,
successful, experience teaching in a primary, intermediate,
or middle level bilingual Spanish program, “in lieu of
student teaching.”

3.0  To qualify for a Limited Standard (2 year certificate) the
candidate shall have a bachelor’s degree from a regionally
accredited college and be eligible to hold an elementary,
primary or middle level certificate (K-8 configuration) in
regular education.

3.1  A person needing 6 semester hours of intermediate
Spanish shall complete all appropriate Spanish coursework
(15 semester hours) and the test of oral Language
proficiency PRAXIS I (0192) Test Module(s) within the two
years of the Limited Standard.  If English Speaking ability
must be demonstrated, the TOEFL Test of Spoken English
(TSE) would need to be completed within this same two-
year period.

3.2  A person needing to demonstrate only language
proficiency shall demonstrate such within the two years of
the Limited Standard.  Language proficiency shall be
demonstrated via the PRAXIS II Test Module(s) #0191 and
#0192 and the TOEFL Test of Spoken English (TSE) if
English is the second language.

3.3  Once the requirements in 2.1.1 and 2.1.2 have been
met, a Limited Standard may be issued for one additional
year in order to complete the requirements in 2.1.3.

312 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary

1.0  To qualify for a Standard License to teach in Secondary
Bilingual Education Programs a candidate shall have a
Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college and
have completed a teacher education program in bilingual
education at the secondary level (grades 7-12) in the
language area of Spanish.

2.0  If the candidate does not meet the requirements in 1.0
the following shall apply:

2.1  Complete the required coursework in a teacher
education program at the secondary level (grades 7-12) in a
content area such as biology, English or special education
plus the following:

2.1.1  Verification of language proficiency in
Spanish as demonstrated by one of the two options below:

2.1.1.1  Completion of a minimum of 15
semester hours from a regionally accredited college in the
language area of Spanish.  This coursework shall be at or
above the intermediate level; and

Demonstration of oral proficiency in the language
area of Spanish by scoring 165 on the PRAXIS II Test
Module:  Productive Language (0192); or

2.1.1.2  Demonstration of content knowledge
and oral proficiency in the language area of Spanish by
meeting the appropriate qualifying scores on the PRAXIS II
Test Modules as follows:

159 on Spanish:  Content and Knowledge
(0191) and

165 on Spanish:  Productive Language
(0192); and

2.1.2  Demonstration of English speaking ability,
when English is not the first language, by scoring 50 on the
TOEFL:  Test of Spoken English (TSE) and

2.1.3  In addition to 2.1.1 and 2.1.2 all candidates
must meet the following requirements:

2.1.3.1  Completion of coursework as
indicated:

2.1.3.1.1  3 semester hours Methods of
Teaching English as a Second Language;

2.1.3.1.2  3 semester hours Second
Language Testing;

2.1.3.1.3  3 semester hours Remedial
Reading (English); or

3 semester hours Remedial Reading
(Spanish); and

2.1.3.2  Verification of knowledge of the
Spanish culture as demonstrated by:

2.1.3.2.1  A three (3) semester hour course
in Spanish culture; or

Documentation of personal
interaction with the target community via study abroad,
work experience, formative experience, etc.; and
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2.1.3.3  Completion of a clinical experience in
a bilingual setting in grades 7-12; or

Upon the completion of all requirements
in 2.0, verification of one year of prior approved, full-time,
successful, experience teaching in a secondary level
bilingual Spanish program, “in lieu of student teaching.”

3.0  To qualify for a Limited Standard (2 year certificate) the
candidate shall have a bachelor’s degree from a regionally
accredited college and be eligible to hold a secondary
certificate in the content area to which they are assigned to
teach bilingual students (math, science, special education,
social studies, etc.)

3.1  A person needing 6 semester hours of intermediate
Spanish shall complete all appropriate Spanish coursework
(15 semester hours) and the test of oral Language
proficiency PRAXIS I Test Module #0192 within the two
years of the Limited Standard.  If English Speaking ability
must be demonstrated, the TOEFL Test of Spoken English
(TSE) would need to be completed within this same two-
year period.

3.2  A person needing to demonstrate only language
proficiency shall demonstrate such within the two years of
the Limited Standard.  Language proficiency shall be
demonstrated via the PRAXIS II Test Module(s) #0191 and
#0192 and the TOEFL Test of Spoken English (TSE) if
English is the second language.

3.3  Once the requirements in 2.1.1 and 2.1.2 have been
met, a Limited Standard may be issued for one additional
year in order to complete the requirements in 2.1.3.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 
Section 9705  (16 Del.C. §9705)

The Office of Emergency Medical Services, Division of
Public Health of Delaware of Health and Social Services,
will hold a public hearing to discuss proposed Delaware
Early Defibrillation Program Regulations. These proposed
regulations describe the certification of providers and
provider agencies to obtain and operate an automatic
external defibrillator (AED). The Early Defibrillation
Program Regulations apply to any individual, public or
private agency that seeks to acquire an AED.

This public hearing will be held September 25, 2000 at
9:00 AM in Room 309, Jesse S. Cooper Building, Federal
and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulation are available for

review by calling :
Office of Emergency Medical Services
Blue Hen Corporate Center, Suite 4-H
655 Bay Road, Dover, Delaware 19901
Telephone: (302) 739-4710

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact Ms. Sonya Voshell at (302) 739-
4710 by September 22, 2000. Anyone wishing to submit
written comments as a supplement to, on in lieu of oral
testimony should submit such comments by September 30,
2000 to:

David Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, DE 19901

Delaware Early Defibrillation Program

1.0  Purpose
1.1  This regulation establishes:

1.1.1  The criteria for training and right to practice
of emergency responders to administer automatic external
cardiac defibrillation in an out-of-hospital environment;

1.1.2  Standards identified by the State Emergency
Medical Services Medical Director for certification of Early
Defibrillation Services through the Office of Emergency
Medical Services; and,

1.1.3  Procedures to assure equipment and training
standardization, quality assurance and improvement and
uniform data collection.

2.0  Authority
2.1  This regulation is written and promulgated by the

Delaware Department of Health and Social Services,
pursuant to 16 DelCode, Chapter 97.05. 

3.0  Definitions
ABEM: American Board of Emergency Medicine
ACLS: Advanced Cardiac Life Support
Board: The Delaware State Board of Medical Practice
CPR:  Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation
Certification: Recognition by the Office of Emergency

Medical Services that an agency, organization or business
has met the requirements to provide Early Defibrillation
services.

Defibrillation:  The administration of electrical impulses
to the heart to stop and/or convert ventricular fibrillation or
pulseless ventricular tachycardia into a viable rhythm.

Department:  The Department of Health and Social
Services.

Division:  The Division of Public Health
EMS: Emergency Medical Services
Early Defibrillation Provider: A member or employee of

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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an Early Defibrillation Service who has completed training
in SAED operation and use under the requirements set forth
in this regulation. 

Early Defibrillation Service: Any agency, organization
or company, certified as such by the State Office Of
Emergency Medical Services, that employs or retains
providers who have completed an SAED training program to
use semi-automatic defibrillation equipment.

FDA:  Federal Food and Drug Administration.
First Responder Team: An organized group of

individuals within a corporation, business or agency
designated by that agency to respond to emergency
situations.

Medical Control: Physician direction, through
protocols, supervision and quality control of Early
Defibrillation Services and/or Providers by the State Office
Of Emergency Medical Services Medical Director.

Office or OEMS: The State Office of Emergency
Medical Services.

Protocol: Currently approved and accepted procedures
describing specific steps a provider must follow in assessing
and treating a patient.

Renewal: Periodic training and demonstration of
competence in the application and use of semi-automatic
defibrillation equipment.

Right to Practice: An Early Defibrillation Provider is
granted the right to practice as such by the State EMS
Medical Director upon the completion of an approved initial
or renewal SAED training course and when functioning as a
member of an approved Early Defibrillation Service. The
right to practice can be suspended or revoked by the State
EMS Medical Director.

SAED:  Semi-Automatic External Defibrillator. A
device capable of, (1) analyzing a cardiac rhythm, (2)
determining the need for defibrillation, (3) automatically
charging, and, (4) advising a provider to deliver a
defibrillation electrical impulse.

Service Coordinator: A designated appointee from an
Early Defibrillation Service responsible for administration of
the Early Defibrillation Program for their respective Service.

Service Director: President, Chief Executive Officer or
any other individual who is administratively responsible for
a corporation, business or agency.

State Coordinator: An individual appointed by the
Director, State Office of Emergency Medical Services to
administer the Early Defibrillation Program at the State
level.

State Medical Director: The State Office of Emergency
Medical Services Medical Director, who provides medical
control, supervision, and quality control for the Early
Defibrillation Program.

Training /Certifying Agency/Center: Any training
facility, approved by the State Medical Director, that
engages in the training of Early Defibrillation Providers in

accordance with the requirements set forth in this regulation. 
Ventricular Fibrillation: A lethal disturbance in the

normal rhythm of the heart characterized by rapid, irregular
and ineffective twitching of the lower chambers, or
ventricles, of the heart.

Ventricular Tachycardia: A potentially lethal
dysrhythmia originating in the ventricles of the heart.  A
pulse may or may not be present.

4.0  General Provisions
4.1  This regulation applies to any organization or

individuals participating in the Delaware Early Defibrillation
Program.

4.2  Early Defibrillation Services shall not allow any
individual who does not meet the requirements established in
this regulation to operate SAED equipment.

4.3  The OEMS, or it's designee, shall retain the right to
inspect any Early Defibrillation Service's defibrillation
equipment and any records or documentation associated with
the Early Defibrillation Program.

4.4  Automatic External Defibrillators are classified as
medical devices by the Board.

4.5  SAED manufacturers, their representatives or
agents are required to notify the OEMS of the sale and
placement of an AED within the State of Delaware.

4.6  The OEMS will be responsible for notifying the
jurisdictional public safety answering point of the placement
of an SAED within the boundaries of their jurisdiction.

5.0  Eligibility
5.1  Any agency, organization or business, within the

State of Delaware, routinely providing Basic Life Support
services, First Responder services or maintains an organized
First Responder Team on the premises, is eligible to become
an Early Defibrillation Service.

5.2  Any agency, organization or business from another
state providing Basic Life Support services, First Responder
Services or maintains an organized First Responder Team on
the premises routinely operating within the State of
Delaware, is eligible to become an Early Defibrillation
Service as approved by the State Emergency Medical
Services Medical Director.

6.0  Medical Direction
6.1  Program Medical Director

6.1.1  The Early Defibrillation Program shall be
under medical supervision of the State EMS Medical
Director or his/her designee.

6.1.2  The State EMS Medical Director shall be
responsible for:

6.1.2.1  Overseeing medical and training
operations for the program;

6.1.2.2  Approve the appointment of personnel
responsible for medical supervision and training of early
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defibrillation providers;
6.1.2.3  Approve SAED training courses for

instructors and instructor-trainers.
6.1.2.4  Approve initial training and renewal

courses for program providers; 
6.1.2.5  Establish and assure compliance with

Quality Assurance/Quality Improvement (QA/QI) policies,
practices and procedures

6.1.2.6 Establish Early Defibrillation Program
medical protocols.

6.1.3  The Medical Director is granted the authority
to suspend or revoke an Early Defibrillation Provider's right
to practice with cause.

7.0  Early Defibrillation Service Requirements
7.1  Agencies, corporations or businesses desiring to

provide Early Defibrillation Services must make application
to the OEMS prior to implementation of the program.

7.2  Information to be provided with the application
package shall include:

7.2.1  OEMS approved application;
7.2.2  Other information as required by the OEMS.

7.3  Upon approval, Early Defibrillation Services will
be issued a certificate with a unique service identification
number by the OEMS.

7.3.1  The copy of the certificate must be displayed
in the immediate proximity of each SAED held by the Early
Defibrillation Provider agency.

7.4  Triennial Re-certification
7.4.1  Application for re-certification as an Early

Defibrillation Service must be filed every three (3) years
with the OEMS on forms prescribed and issued by the
Office.

7.4.1.1  The OEMS shall be responsible for
issuing applications for re-certification to the Early
Defibrillation Services within 90 days of certification
expiration date.

7.5  Responsibility of the Service.
7.5.1  The Service shall:

7.5.1.1  Appoint a Service Coordinator to act as
a liaison between the Service and the State Coordinator;

7.5.1.2  Services must notify the OEMS of
changes of any information contained in the original
application within 14 days of the changes. This includes
changes in the Service Coordinator or changes in equipment
or operational procedure.

7.5.1.3  Ensure defibrillators used by the
service are of the type specified by this regulation.

7.5.1.4  The Service shall supply appropriate
resources to providers to assure the capability to comply
with the reporting procedures required under this regulation.

7.6  Service De-certification
7.6.1  The State EMS Medical Director may

decertify an Early Defibrillation Service if the Service:

7.6.1.1  Fails to comply with this regulation,
or;

7.6.1.2  Ceases to provide emergency response
service.

7.7  Service Re-certification
7.7.1  The State EMS Medical Director may grant

re-certification as an Early Defibrillation Service to an
agency provided such agency re-applies for certification
under the procedure for initial certification as outlined in this
section.

8.0  State Coordinator Responsibilities
8.1  The OEMS Director will appoint the State

Coordinator.
8.2  The State Coordinator shall:

8.2.1  Be responsible for administration and
oversight of the Early Defibrillation Program.

8.2.2  Establish Early Defibrillation Program
regulations and administrative policies and ensure their
enforcement.

8.2.3  Review and evaluate written reports from
Service Coordinators pertinent to data collection, statistical
analysis and make recommendations for program
improvement.

8.2.4  On a quarterly basis, submit summary reports
to the OEMS Director which shall include:

8.2.4.1  Summary of data collected pertinent to
patient age, sex, percentage of  patients the SAED
determined defibrillation was indicated and patient outcome;

8.2.4.2  Variances received pertinent to
regulations/policies and/or protocols utilized by providers,
services or administration;

8.2.4.3  Documented equipment malfunctions,
and;

8.2.4.4  Recommendations for modifications to
the program and/or administrative regulations and policies.

8.2.5  On an annual basis, submit a program report
to the OEMS Director, which shall include:

8.2.5.1  Information required in Section 8.2.4,
and;

8.2.5.2  Report of the programs medical
director.

8.2.6  In cooperation with the State EMS Medical
Director and Service Coordinators, the State Coordinator
shall:

8.2.6.1  Ensure the Early Defibrillation
Program is in compliance with this regulation;

8.2.6.2  Establish QA/QI evaluation policies
for the program and ensure said policies are enforced;

8.2.6.3  Ensure compliance with the findings
and recommendations of the QA/QI program;

8.2.6.4  Immediately notify the State EMS
Medical Director and the Service Coordinator if the
competency of a provider puts the safety and welfare of the



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 3, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2000

415

public at risk.
8.2.7  Act as a liaison between the OEMS and the

recognized training agencies, Training Centers, services,
providers and medical facilities.

9.0  Service Coordinator
9.1  The Service Coordinator will be appointed by the

Service Director and shall:
9.1.1  Successfully completed an SAED training

course;
9.1.2  Ensure all patient data reports are forwarded

to the State Coordinator within 72 hours;
9.1.3  Assure that patient data reports are left at the

receiving medical facility emergency department in a timely
manner but no longer than 10 hours after the delivery of the
patient to the facility;

9.1.4  Act as a liaison with the State Coordinator;
9.1.5  Assure that Early Defibrillation Providers

receive appropriate training in:
9.1.5.1  The use and maintenance of the

agency's SAED;
9.1.5.2  SAED program data collection, report

writing and quality improvement.
9.1.6  Oversee training operations for the agency

and maintain organizational training reports;
9.1.7  Annually submit training records with a list

of all providers in the organization to the State Coordinator
no later than January 30;

9.1.8  Ensure SAED equipment is maintained
according to manufacturer and protocol specifications.

9.1.9  Ensure service compliance with this
regulation;

9.1.10  Provide continuing education opportunities
annually for Early Defibrillation Providers;

9.1.11 Verify credentials of personnel functioning
as an early defibrillation provider within the agency
represented;  

9.1.12  Review each use of the AED;
9.1.13  Provide recommendations to the State

Coordinator for improvements to the program.

10.0  Early Defibrillation Provider Requirements
10.1  Guidelines for the validation of credentials of

Early Defibrillation Providers are established by the Board
of Medical Practice.

10.2  Permission to participate as an Early Defibrillation
Provider is approved by the Service Coordinator. 

10.3  Individuals requesting validation as an Early
Defibrillation Provider shall:

10.3.1  Be at least 16 years of age at time of
application;

10.3.2  Apply for SAED training through an SAED
training agency recognized by the OEMS;

10.3.3  Present evidence to the Service Coordinator

of satisfactory completion of an approved SAED training
program.

10.4  Each Early Defibrillation Provider is responsible
for:

10.4.1  Maintaining employment or membership
with an approved Early Defibrillation Service;

10.4.2  Complete an approved SAED renewal
training program a minimum of every twenty-four (24)
months;

10.4.3  Participate in continuing education
programs as outlined in this regulation.

10.5  Each Early Defibrillation Provider shall meet the
following performance responsibilities.

10.5.1  Ensure duties are performed in accordance
with the protocols established by the State Emergency
Medical Services Medical Director;

10.5.2  Collect all data pertinent to patient care;
10.5.3 Complete required documentation of

provider intervention in all cases of SAED use. 
10.5.4  Leave a completed data report of SAED use

with the patient care report at the time of delivery to the
receiving medical facility or within 10 hours thereof.

11.0  Early Defibrillation Provider Training
Requirements

11.1  Program Supervision
11.1.1  Direction and supervision of an SAED

training program will be managed by a training agency
recognized by the OEMS and shall:

11.1.1.1  Ensure training programs comply
with the requirements of this regulation;

11.1.1.2  Approve/disapprove program
instructor qualification criteria;

11.1.1.3  Review criteria used to determine
successful completion of the SAED training program;

11.1.1.4  Issue course completion cards to
individuals who have successfully completed the training
program.

11.2  Instructor Requirements.
11.2.1  Initial training and renewal courses shall be

conducted by instructors who meet the following minimum
standards for approval as SAED instructors and to maintain
instructor status:

11.2.1.1  Are approved by a training agency
recognized by the OEMS;

11.2.1.2  Are CPR Instructors as authorized by
the training agency;

11.2.1.3  Have prior teaching experience in
out-of-hospital emergency care;

11.2.1.4  Have successfully completed an
SAED instructor training program approved by the State
EMS Medical Director;

11.2.1.5  Have instructor participation in a
minimum of two (2) SAED training courses per calendar
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year.
11.3  SAED Training Curriculum.

11.3.1  The SAED training curriculum shall include
at a minimum, basic theory and practice in the following
subject areas:

11.3.1.1  Introduction to early defibrillation;
11.3.1.2  Patient assessment and evaluation;
11.3.1.3  Cardiac anatomy and physiology;
11.3.1.4  Cardiac defibrillation and program

protocols;
11.3.1.5  CPR and its relationship to

defibrillation;
11.3.1.6  Skills practice;
11.3.1.7  Practical skills demonstration.

11.3.2  SAED training curricula must be submitted
to the OEMS for approval by the State EMS Medical
Director.

11.4  Instructor administrative requirements.
11.4.1 At the completion of each course the

instructor  shall:
11.4.1.1  Sign the class roster verifying student

demonstration of skills;
11.4.1.2  Submit to the appropriate Service

Coordinator for retention:
11.4.1.2.1  A record of the class roster;
11.4.1.2.2  A list of students successfully

completing the course;
11.4.1.2.3  A record of student

performance.
11.5  Training Sites

11.5.1  Early Defibrillation initial, renewal and
continuing education courses will be scheduled by the
Service at a site appropriate for training and coordinated
with an approved training center.

11.6  Continuing Education
11.6.1  Each Early Defibrillation Service shall

provide continuing education on an annual basis.
11.6.2  Continuing education may consist of, but is

not limited to:
11.6.2.1  Case reviews;
11.6.2.2  CPR renewal as necessary;
11.6.2.3  Provider demonstration of competent

performance in the protocols and equipment in a simulated
cardiac arrest situation;

11.6.2.4  Review of documentation and SAED
equipment features;

11.6.2.5  Additional training as required by the
Service or State EMS Medical Director. 

11.6.3  Continuing education shall be no less than 2
hours annually.

12.0  Provider Right to Practice
12.1  Early defibrillation providers trained under the

provisions outlined in Section 11 and affiliated with a

recognized Early Defibrillation Service per Section 7 receive
the right to practice as an Early Defibrillation provider under
the Medical Direction provisions of Section 6.

12.2  The State EMS Medical Director may propose to
suspend or revoke the right to practice of an Early
Defibrillation Provider with cause.

12.3 The State EMS Medical Director must provide the
provider with prior written notice of the proposed action and
the opportunity for a hearing if the Medical Director deems:

12.3.1  The provider did not meet the eligibility
requirements as outlined in this regulation;

12.3.2  The right to practice was obtained through
error or fraud;

12.3.3  Provisions of this regulation were violated;
12.3.4  The Early Defibrillation Provider has

engaged in conduct detrimental to the health or safety of a
patient or to members of the general public during a period
of emergency care or transport.

12.4  Emergency Suspension of the Right to Practice
12.4.1  The State EMS Medical Director may

summarily suspend a provider's right to practice when there
is a risk of serious harm or death if a provider retains his
right to practice.  

12.4.2  The State Coordinator may recommend to
the State EMS Medical Director to suspend a provider's right
to practice for a period not to exceed sixty (60) days.

12.4.3  The OEMS shall:
12.4.3.1  Provide written notice to the provider

of the suspension which will:
12.4.3.1.1  Outline proposed additional

action or actions and;
12.4.3.1.2  Contain a written notice of the

right to request a hearing.
12.4.3.2  Conduct an investigation coordinated

with the Service Coordinator.
12.4.3.3  Provide the opportunity for a prompt

hearing on the summary suspension.
12.5  Provider Right to a Hearing

12.5.1  In the event the State EMS Medical Director
proposes to suspend or revoke a provider's right to practice,
the applicant or provider may request a hearing, in writing,
to the OEMS within ten (10) days after date of notice.

12.5.2  The OEMS shall:
12.5.2.1  Schedule a hearing no later than

twenty (20) working days after receiving a request for
hearing. 

12.5.2.1.1  The hearing committee shall be
comprised of the State Paramedic Administrator, a county
EMS Medical Director from a county other than one in
which the provider works, the State Coordinator and a
Service Coordinator;  

12.5.2.1.2  The State Paramedic
Administrator will preside over the hearing;

12.5.2.1.3  The Service Coordinator will
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be from a service other than the provider's.
12.5.2.2  Issue a final decision, in writing to the

provider, within ten (10) working days after the hearing.

13.0  Defibrillation Equipment
13.1  Defibrillator Model

13.1.1  Defibrillators acceptable for use in the State
of Delaware will:

13.1.1.1  Be FDA approved;
13.1.1.2  Be of the semi-automatic type

requiring provider intervention to initiate a defibrillation
shock;

13.1.1.3  Be capable of automatically
collecting data;

13.1.1.4  Be capable of producing a printed
summary report as approved by the State EMS Medical
Director.

13.1.2  Defibrillators must be approved by the State
EMS Medical Director prior to purchase.

13.1.3  SAED's utilizing alternate waveform
technologies are approved for use provided that the
treatment algorithm has been approved by the FDA.

13.2  Defibrillator Modifications
13.2.1  No modifications are to be made to

defibrillation equipment, by a provider or the service, which
results in:

13.2.1.1  Deviation from the original
manufacturer's specifications;

13.2.1.2  Deviation from Early Defibrillation
Program protocols. 

13.2.2  Protocol changes may only be authorized by
the State EMS Medical Director.

13.2.3  Necessary defibrillator modifications shall
be coordinated by the Service Coordinator.

13.3  Defibrillator Preventative Maintenance/Repairs
13.3.1  All components of the defibrillator and

integrated data recording system shall be inspected by a
qualified service technician at least one (1) time per calendar
year or as recommended by the manufacturer to ensure:

13.3.1.1  The equipment meets original
manufacturer's specifications, and;

13.3.1.2  The equipment maintains the
currently approved program protocols.

13.3.2  The battery and data recording systems of
the SAED shall be maintained and replaced in accordance
with manufacturer's specifications.

13.3.3  All maintenance and repairs shall be
performed by a qualified service technician recognized by
the manufacturer.

13.3.4  Early Defibrillation Services shall maintain
written records of all maintenance, repairs and inspections
performed on defibrillation equipment.

13.4   Defibrillator Pre-hospital Use
13.4.1  In the event any non-EMS/Fire or police

service provider agency employs a SAED, the local 911/
emergency response system must be immediately activated.

13.4.2  During pre-hospital use of SAED
equipment, the following guidelines will be used:

13.4.2.1  Providers may use only self-adhering
electrodes or pads with the SAED;

13.4.2.2  Monitoring electrodes or pads shall
be attached to the patient, and;

13.4.2.3  The integrated data recording system
shall be in operation;

13.4.2.4  Data recording will begin upon initial
application of the SAED and may not be terminated until:

13.4.2.4.1  The patient is disconnected
from the SAED either by service providers upon
spontaneous return of patient cardiac function, or;

13.4.2.4.2  The patient is disconnected by
paramedics or hospital personnel during transfer to a cardiac
monitor.

13.5  Financial Responsibility
13.5.1  Purchase of SAED units, electrodes or pads,

data collection hardware/software, and any required
inspections, repairs or replacement parts shall be the sole
responsibility of the service. 

Appendix
The Delaware Early Defibrillation Program Regulations

Early Defibrillation Program Protocols

1.0  The protocols are designed under which the early
defibrillation provider may administer defibrillation as a
component of their emergency care to the cardiac arrest
victim.  Voice contact with an on-line medical control
physician is not required for certified personnel to
implement this protocol.

2.0  This protocol is specific to the type of defibrillator used
in the program.

3.0  The provider standing orders are as follows:
3.1  The indication for the application and/or use of the

SAED is cardiac arrest.
3.2  Assess the scene for safety.  Also assess the

surroundings for a possible cause of the arrest.
3.3  Establish that cardiac arrest has occurred.  Before

the SAED can be attached, the patient must be:
3.3.1  Unresponsive;
3.3.2  Pulseless; and
3.3.3  Apneic

3.4 Begin resuscitation efforts, including
Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR). Make certain that
911 has been called.

3.5  Connect the patient to the SAED.  Do not delay for
the purpose of placing adjunct airway devices or mechanical
CPR devices.
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3.6  Stop CPR, clear away from the patient, and initiate
analysis of the patient's cardiac rhythm.  If the SAED
determines that defibrillation is indicated, the unit shall
automatically charge to 200 joules and prompt the provider
to deliver the shock.  It is the provider's responsibility to
assure that all individuals are clear from the patient prior to
delivery of the counter-shock.

NOTE: Different energy levels are acceptable in AED's
using alternate waveform technology providing the AED and
treatment algorithm have been approved by the FDA.

3.7  Immediately re-analyze the RHYTHM, and if
indicated, deliver a second counter-shock at 300 joules.

3.8  Again, re-analyze the RHYTHM, and if indicated,
deliver a third counter-shock at 360 joules.

3.9  If no pulse is present, perform CPR for one (1)
minute. At the end of one minute check for a pulse, and if no
pulse, re-analyze the RHYTHM and, if indicated, defibrillate
at 360 joules.

3.10  Immediately re-analyze the RHYTHM, and if
indicated, deliver a second counter-shock at 360 joules.

3.11  Immediately re-analyze the RHYTHM, and if
indicated, deliver a third counter-shock at 360 joules.

3.12  If no pulse is present, continue CPR.
3.13  If a paramedic unit has not yet arrived on the

scene, transport to the closest appropriate medical receiving
facility should commence without delay. Contact medical
control while en route for additional orders, such as
additional countershocks.

3.14  For non-EMS SAED providers, continue CPR and
repeat rhythm analysis and shock sequence until EMS
arrives. Re-contact the 911 center to assure that help is on
the way.

3.15  Complete the data management form.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its Medicaid Manual to increase the
income limit from 185% to 200% of the Federal Poverty
Limit for pregnant women and infants.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written

materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 September 30, 2000.

Revision:

16100.1.2   Initial Eligibility Determination
The two criteria for finding an applicant presumptively

eligible are: a medically verified pregnancy and effective no
later than November 1, 2000 self-reported family income at
or below 185% 200% of the Federal Poverty Level.
Countable family income is determined using the rules in
this section including the $90 earned income deduction and
any self-reported child care expenses.  State residency is
established for presumptive eligibility by the applicant
writing a home address on the application that is a Delaware
residence. 

Note:  Women who are nonqualified aliens or illegally
residing in the U.S. are not eligible for presumptive
Medicaid.

Verifications of all other factors of eligibility are
postponed.  Postponed verifications must be provided within
30 days from the date of receipt of the application.  Under
unusual circumstances, the deadline date for postponed
verifications may be extended.  The reason for the extension
must be documented in the case record.  The verifications
that were postponed are required to determine final
eligibility for Medicaid benefits.   Presumptive eligibility
continues until a final eligibility determination is completed.
If the required verifications are not provided, eligibility
under the presumptive period ends.

Pregnant women who are determined presumptively
eligible are required to enroll in the Diamond State Health
Plan unless otherwise exempt.  

16250  Eligibility Determination
After applying appropriate disregards to income,

compare the countable family income to the income
eligibility standard for the budget unit size.     

Pregnant women and children up to age 1 must have
family income effective no later than November 1, 2000 at
or below 185% 200% of poverty.  Pregnant women count as
2 family members.   

Children age 1 and up to age 6 must have family income
at or below 133% of poverty.

Children age 6 and up to age 19 must have family
income at or below 100% of poverty.

Uninsured adults must have family income at or below
100% of poverty.

Women eligible for family planning must have family
income at or below 300% of poverty during the second year
of the extension.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
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*Effective no later than November 1, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
OFFICE OF LABOR LAW ENFORCEMENT

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, 
Section 8503(7) (29 Del.C. §8503(7))

Interested parties are invited to present their views at the
public hearings which are scheduled as follows:

9:00 a.m., Thursday, September 21, 2000
Delaware Department of Labor 
4425 North Market Street
Wilmington, Delaware  19802
First Floor, Room 049
1:30 p.m., Thursday, September 21, 2000
Delaware Department of Labor, Milford Office 
13 S.W. Front Street, Suite 101
Milford, Delaware  19963
Hearing Room

Interested parties can obtain copies of the proposed
amendment at no charge by contacting the Office of Labor
Law Enforcement at the above address, or by telephone at
(302) 761-8209. 

Proposed Amendment to Delaware’s Prevailing Wage 
Regulations

Amend Delaware Prevailing Wage Regulation III.C., by
striking the third paragraph in its entirety and substituting

with the following: 
Definitions for each classification are contained in a

separate document entitled, “Classifications of Workers
Under Delaware’s Prevailing Wage Law.”  Workers
performing tasks not listed in the Department’s definitions
(but performed by mechanics and laborers on public
projects) shall be classified by the Department of Labor with
the advice of the Prevailing Wage Advisory Council
members.  Classification determinations shall be recorded by
the Department as they are made and shall be published
annually.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

* PLEASE NOTE:  THIS IS A REPROPOASL.  THE

REGULATION WAS ORIGINALLY PROPOSED IN 3 DE REG.
129 (7/1/99)

1. Title of the Regulations:  
Regulation No. 39, NOX Budget Trading Program.

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Department is proposing to establish Delaware’s

participation in the NOX Budget Trading Program.  The
NOX Budget Trading Program is a multi-state NOX emission

cap and trade program, established pursuant to Title 40, Part
96 of the Code of Federal Regulations.  The goals of this
regulation are to 1) improve air quality, 2) encourage NOX

reductions in Delaware, 3) help to satisfy rate of progress
requirements under Section 182(c) of the federal Clean Air
Act, and 4) help to satisfy Delaware’s obligations under
Section 110(a)(2)(D) of the CAA to not contribute to other
state’s non-attainment.  This regulation establishes a follow-
on program to the program that was established by
Regulation No. 37, NOX Budget Program, which ends with
the end of the 2002 NOX control period.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:  
None.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:  
7 Del. C., Chapter 60.  

Family
Size

Annual
Income

Monthly
Income

Monthly
Income

Monthly
Income

Monthly
Income

100% FPL 100% FPL
Ages 6 – 18,
Adults

133%
FPL
Ages 1 –5

185% FPL
Pregnant
Women and
Infants

200% FPL
Pregnant
Women and
Infants*

1 $8,240 $687 $914 $1,271 $1,374

2 11,060 922 1,206 1,706 $1,844

3 13,880 1,157 1,539 2,140 2,314

4 16,700 1,392 1,851 2,575 2,784

5 19,520 1,627 2,164 3,010 3,254

6 22,340 1,862 2,477 3,445 3,724

7 25,160 2,097 2,789 3,879 4,194

8 27,980 2,332 3,102 4,314 4,604

9 30,800 2,567 3,414 4,747 5,134

10 33,620 2,802 3,727 5,184 5,604

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/
http://www.delawareworks.com/
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5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the
Proposal:  

Regulation No. 37, NOX Budget Program, of the State
of Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution.”

6. Notice of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on proposed Regulation

No. 39 on September 26, 2000 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the
DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE.
Comments on this proposal may either be made at the
hearing, or submitted to the Department in writing not later
than the close of business, September 30, 2000.

7. Prepared by:  
Ronald A. Amirikian/(302)323-4542/August 7, 2000

Regulation No. 39 - Nitrogen Oxides (NOX) Budget 
Trading Program

Proposed Regulation
August 7, 2000

Section 1 - Purpose
a.  This regulation establishes Delaware's participation

in the NOX Budget Trading Program.  The NOX Budget
Trading Program is a multi-state NOX emissions cap and
trade program, established pursuant to Title 40, Part 96 of
the Code of Federal Regulations (40 CFR Part 96) and 40
CFR Part 51.121.  Its purpose is to reduce emissions of the
ozone precursor NOX.

b.  The goals of this regulation are to 1) improve air
quality, 2) encourage NOX reductions in Delaware, 3) help
to satisfy rate of progress requirements under Section 182(c)
of the CAA, and 4) help to satisfy Delaware's obligations
under Section 110(a)(2)(D) of the CAA to not contribute to
other states' non-attainment.  The Department believes that,
considering the regional nature of ozone nonattainment and
the phenomena of ozone and ozone precursor transport,
participation in the NOX Budget Trading Program provides
for an effective means to meet these goals, and an
economical alternative to traditional command and control
type regulations.

c.  This regulation establishes general, administrative,
permitting, monitoring, compliance, penalty and opt-in
provisions, that are consistent with 40 CFR Part 96, and
allow the transfer of NOX allowances for compliance with
any NOX Budget unit that is covered by this regulation or by
the regulation of any other state participating in the NOX
Budget Trading Program.

d.  This regulation establishes a follow-on program to
the program established by Regulation No. 37, NOX Budget
Program, of the State of Delaware "Regulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution."   The program established by
Regulation No. 37 ends with the end of the 2002 NOX

control period.

Section 2 - Emission Limitation
a.  Each NOX Budget unit shall hold in its compliance

account and/or its overdraft account, as of the NOX
allowance transfer deadline of each control period, a
quantity of NOX allowances available for deduction that is
equal to or greater than the total NOX emissions from that
NOX Budget unit for that control period. 

b.  Each NOX Budget unit shall be subject to the
requirements of Section 2(a) of this regulation starting on the
later of May 1, 2003 or the date the unit commences
operation.

Section 3 - Applicability
a.  This regulation applies to:

1.  Any unit located within the State of Delaware
that:

i.  Serves a generator with a nameplate capacity
of 15 megawatts electrical (MWe), or greater; or

ii.  Is not a unit under Section 3(a)(1)(i) of this
regulation and that has a maximum design heat input
capacity of 250 million British Thermal Units per hour
(MMBTU/hr), or greater; or

2.  Any unit located in the State of Delaware that is
issued a final NOX Budget permit under Section 14 of this
regulation; or

3.  Any person that establishes a general account
pursuant to Section 15 of this regulation. 

b.  Once any unit becomes a NOX Budget unit, it shall
remain subject to all of the requirements of this regulation,
except as follows:

1.  For any NOX Budget unit that is retired, the
NOX authorized account representative may submit to the
Department, with a copy to the Administrator, a statement
indicating that unit is retired and that it shall comply with all
of the provisions of Section 3(b) of this regulation.  

2.  Upon receipt of the submission under Section
3(b)(1) of this regulation, the Department shall amend or
cancel, as applicable, the unit's NOX Budget permit.

3.  Except as provided for in Section 3(b)(7) of this
regulation, an exemption from the requirements of this
regulation shall be in effect on and after the date any
submission is made pursuant to Section 3(b)(1) of this
regulation.

4.  The unit shall not emit any NOX while the
exemption is in effect.

5.  The NOX authorized account representative of
the unit:

i.  Shall comply with all of the requirements of
this regulation concerning all periods for which the
exemption is not in effect, even if such requirements arise, or
must be complied with, after the exemption takes effect.

ii.  Shall, except as provided for in Section
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3(b)(5)(iii) of this regulation, comply with all of the
requirements of this regulation except for the requirements
of Sections 2, 7, 8 and 11 through 15 of this regulation.

iii.  May, at his option and provided the unit
does not receive an annual allocation under Appendix "A" of
this regulation, request that the Administrator close the NOX
Budget units compliance account and establish and transfer
any remaining allowances to a new general account for the
owner and operator of the NOX Budget source.  The NOX
authorized account representative for the NOX Budget
source shall become the NOX authorized account
representative for that general account, and shall comply
with all of the requirements of this regulation except for the
requirements of Sections 2, 6, 7, 8, and 11 through 14 of this
regulation.

6.  For any unit identified in Section 3(a)(1) that
receives an annual allocation under Appendix "A" of this
regulation, that unit shall continue to receive that allocation
as provided for in Section (c) of Appendix "A" of this
regulation.  Any unit identified in Section 3(a)(2) shall not
receive an allocation under Section 14(f) of this regulation
while the exemption is in effect.

7.  If any unit exempted under Section 3(b) of this
regulation is ever reactivated, upon reactivation, for the
purposes of applying the requirements of Section 8 of this
regulation, the unit shall be treated as a new unit that
commences operation or commences commercial operation
on the first date on which the unit resumes operation.  Prior
to commencing operations, the NOX authorized account
representative shall secure or amend, as applicable, a NOX
Budget permit.

Section 4 - Definitions

The terms used in this regulation shall have the meanings set
forth in this section.

a.  Administrator means the Administrator of the United
States Environmental Protection Agency or the
Administrator's duly authorized representative.

b.  Allocate or allocation means the determination by the
Department or the Administrator of the number of NOX
allowances to be initially credited to a NOX Budget unit.

c.  Allowance means a NOX allowance described in
Section 5(a)(2) through 5(a)(4) of this regulation.

d.  Automated data acquisition and handling system
means that component of the continuous emission
monitoring system, or other emissions monitoring system
approved for use pursuant to Section 8 of this regulation,
designed to interpret and convert individual output signals
from pollutant concentration monitors, flow monitors,
diluent gas monitors, and other component parts of the
monitoring system to produce a continuous record of the
measured parameters in the measurement units required by
Section 8 of this regulation. 

e.  CAA means the Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 7401, et
seq., as amended by Pub. L. No. 101-549 (November 15,
1990).

f.  Commence commercial operation means, with regard
to a unit that serves a generator, to have begun to produce
steam, gas, or other heated medium used to generate
electricity for sale or use, including test generation.  

1.  Except as provided in Section 3(b)(7) of this
regulation, for a unit that is a NOX Budget unit under
Section 3(a)(1)(i) of this regulation on the date the unit
commences commercial operation, such date shall remain
the unit's date of commencement of commercial operation
even if the unit is subsequently modified, reconstructed, or
repowered.  

2.  Except as provided in Section 3(b)(7) or Section
14 of this regulation, for a unit that is not a NOX Budget unit
on the date the unit commences commercial operation, the
date the unit becomes a NOX Budget unit shall be the unit's
date of commencement of commercial operation.  

g.  Commence operation means to have begun any
mechanical, chemical, or electronic process, including, with
regard to a unit, start-up of a unit's combustion chamber.  

1.  Except as provided in Section 3(b)(7) of this
regulation, for a unit that is a NOX Budget unit under
Sections 3(a)(1) of this regulation on the date the unit
commences operation, such date shall remain the unit's date
of commencement of operation even if the unit is
subsequently modified, reconstructed, or repowered.  

2.  Except as provided in Section 3(b)(7) or Section
14 of this regulation, for a unit that is not a NOX Budget unit
on the date the unit commences operation, the date the unit
becomes a NOX Budget unit shall be the unit's date of
commencement of operation.

h.  Common stack means a single flue through which
emissions from two or more pieces of equipment are
exhausted.  

i.  Compliance account means a NATS account,
established by the Administrator for a NOX Budget unit
pursuant to Section 9 of this regulation, in which any
allocation for the NOX Budget unit is initially recorded and
in which are held NOX allowances available for deduction
by the NOX Budget unit for a control period for the purpose
of meeting the NOX Budget unit's NOX Budget emissions
limitation.

j.  Continuous emission monitoring system (CEMS)
means the equipment required pursuant to Section 8 of this
regulation used to sample, analyze, measure, and provide, by
readings taken at least once every 15 minutes of the
measured parameters, a permanent record of NOX
emissions, expressed in pounds of NOX per hour.  The
following systems are component parts included, to the
extent required by Section 8 of this regulation, in a
continuous emission monitoring system: 

1.  Flow monitor;
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2.  NOX pollutant concentration monitors;
3.  Diluent gas monitor (O2 or CO2);
4.  A continuous moisture monitor; and
5. An automated data acquisition and handling

system.
k.  Control period means the period beginning May 1 of

a year and ending on September 30 of that same year,
inclusive.

l.  Deducted, Deduction, or Deduct NOX Allowance
means the permanent withdrawal of NOX allowances by the
Administrator from a NATS compliance account or
overdraft account, under Section 12 of this regulation, to
account for the number of tons of NOX emissions from a
NOX Budget unit for a control period, quantified in
accordance with Section 8 of this regulation, or for any other
allowance surrender obligation of this regulation.

m. Department means the State of Delaware Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.

n.  Emissions means air pollutants exhausted from a unit
or source into the atmosphere, as measured, recorded, and
reported to the Administrator by the NOX authorized
account representative and as determined by the
Administrator in accordance with Section 8 of this
regulation.  

o.  Excess emissions means any tonnage of NOX
emitted by a NOX Budget unit during a control period that
exceeds that unit's NOX Budget emissions limitation.

p.  General account means a NATS account, established
in accordance with Section 15 of this regulation, that is
neither a compliance account nor an overdraft account.

q.  Generator means a device that produces electricity.
r.  Heat input means the product (in MMBTU/time) of

the gross calorific value of the fuel (in MMBTU/lb) and the
fuel feed rate into a combustion device (in lb of fuel/time), or
as calculated by any other method approved by the
Department and the Administrator, as measured, recorded,
and reported to the Administrator by the NOX authorized
account representative and as determined by the
Administrator in accordance with Section 8 of this
regulation, and does not include the heat derived from
preheated combustion air, recirculated flue gases, or exhaust
from other sources.

s.  Hold NOX allowances or NOX allowances held
means the NOX allowances recorded by the Administrator,
or submitted to the Administrator for recordation in a NATS
account in accordance with Sections 9 or 10.

t.  Life-of-the-unit, firm power contractual arrangement
means a unit participation power sales agreement under
which a utility or industrial customer reserves, or is entitled
to receive, a specified amount or percentage of nameplate
capacity and associated energy from any specified unit and
pays its proportional amount of such unit's total costs,
pursuant to a contract:

1.  For the life of the unit; or

2.  For a cumulative term of no less than 30 years,
including contracts that permit an election for early
termination; or

3.  For a period equal to or greater than 25 years or
70 percent of the economic useful life of the unit determined
as of the time the unit is built, with option rights to purchase
or release some portion of the nameplate capacity and
associated energy generated by the unit at the end of the
period.

u.  Maximum design heat input means the ability of a
unit to combust a stated maximum amount of fuel per hour
on a steady state basis, as determined by the physical design
and physical characteristics of the unit.

v.  Monitoring system means any monitoring system
that meets the requirements of Section 8 of this regulation,
including a continuous emission monitoring system, an
excepted monitoring system, or an alternative monitoring
system.

w.  Nameplate capacity means the maximum electrical
generating output (in MWe) that a generator can sustain over
a specified period of time when not restricted by seasonal or
other deratings as measured in accordance with the United
States Department of Energy standards.

x.  NATS means NOX Allowance Tracking System; the
system by which the Administrator records any allocation,
deduction, or transfer of any NOX allowances under the
NOX Budget Trading Program.

y.  NATS account means a compliance, overdraft, or
general account in the NATS, established by the
Administrator, for purposes of recording any allocation and
holding, transferring, or deducting any NOX allowances.

z.  NOX allowance transfer deadline means midnight of
November 30 or, if November 30 is a weekend or federal
holiday, midnight of the first business day thereafter and is
the deadline by which NOX allowances must be submitted
for recordation in a NOX Budget units compliance account
or overdraft account, in order to meet the unit's NOX Budget
emissions limitation for the control period immediately
preceding such deadline.

aa.  NOX authorized account representative means:
1.  For a NOX Budget source, the natural person

who is authorized by the owners and operators of that source
and all NOX Budget units at that source, in accordance with
Section 6 of this regulation, to represent and legally bind
each owner and operator in matters pertaining to the NOX
Budget Trading Program. 

2.  For a general account, the natural person who is
authorized, in accordance with Section 15 of this regulation,
to transfer or otherwise dispose of NOX allowances held in
the general account.  

3.  Except where used in Sections 6 and 15 of this
regulation, the term NOX authorized account representative
shall be construed to include any alternate NOX authorized
account representative.
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bb.  NOX Budget emissions limitation means the
limitation described in Section 2(a) of this regulation.

cc.  NOX Budget permit means the permit described in
Section 7 and Section 14 of this regulation. 

dd.  NOX Budget source means a source that includes
one or more NOX Budget unit(s).

ee.  NOX Budget Trading Program means the program
described in Section 1(a) of this regulation.

ff.  NOX Budget unit means any unit described in
Sections 3(a)(1) or 3(a)(2) of this regulation.

gg.  Operator means any person who operates, controls,
or supervises a NOX Budget unit, a NOX Budget source, or
a unit for which an application for a NOX Budget permit
under Section 14 of this regulation is submitted and not
denied or withdrawn and shall include, but not be limited to,
any holding company, utility system, or plant manager of
such a unit or source.

hh.  Opt-in unit means a unit described in Section
3(a)(2) of this regulation.

ii.  Overdraft account means the NATS account,
established by the Administrator under Section 9(a)(1) of
this regulation, for each NOX Budget source where there are
two or more NOX Budget units.

jj.  Owner means any of the following persons:
1.  Any holder of any portion of the legal or

equitable title in a NOX Budget unit or in a unit for which an
application for a NOX Budget permit under Section 14 of
this regulation is submitted and not denied or withdrawn; or

2. Any holder of a leasehold interest in a NOX
Budget unit or in a unit for which an application for a NOX
Budget permit under Section 14 of this regulation is
submitted and not denied or withdrawn; or

3.  Any purchaser of power from a NOX Budget
unit or from a unit for which an application for a NOX
Budget permit under Section 14 of this regulation is
submitted and not denied or withdrawn under a
life-of-the-unit, firm power contractual arrangement.
However, unless expressly provided for in a leasehold
agreement, owner shall not include a passive lessor, or a
person who has an equitable interest through such lessor,
whose rental payments are not based, either directly or
indirectly, upon the revenues or income from the NOX
Budget unit or the unit for which an application for a NOX
Budget permit under Section 14 of this regulation is
submitted and not denied or withdrawn; or

4.  With respect to any general account, any person
who has an ownership interest with respect to the NOX
allowances held in the general account and who is subject to
the binding agreement for the NOX authorized account
representative to represent that person's ownership interest
with respect to NOX allowances.

kk.  Receive or receipt of means, when referring to the
Department or the Administrator, to come into possession of
a document, information, or correspondence (whether sent in

writing or by authorized electronic transmission), as
indicated in an official correspondence log, or by a notation
made on the document, information, or correspondence, by
the Department or the Administrator in the regular course of
business.

ll.  Recordation, record, or recorded means, with regard
to any NOX allowance, the movement of that NOX
allowance by the Administrator from one NATS account to
another, for purposes of allocation, transfer, or deduction.

mm.  Source means any governmental, institutional,
commercial, or industrial structure, installation, plant,
building, or facility that emits or has the potential to emit any
regulated air pollutant under the CAA.  

nn.  State trading program budget means the total
number of NOX tons apportioned to all NOX Budget units in
a given State, in accordance with the NOX Budget Trading
Program, for use in a given control period.

oo.  Submit means to send or transmit a document,
information, or correspondence to the person specified in
accordance with the applicable regulation:

1.  In person;
2.  By United States Postal Service; or
3.  By other means of dispatch or transmission or

delivery.
Compliance with any "submission," "service," or

"mailing" deadline shall be determined by the date of
dispatch, transmission, or mailing and not the date of receipt.

pp.  Ton or tonnage means any "short ton" (i.e., 2,000
pounds).  For the purpose of determining compliance with
the NOX Budget emissions limitation, total tons for a control
period shall be calculated as the sum of all recorded hourly
emissions (or the tonnage equivalent of the recorded hourly
emissions rates) in accordance with Section 8 of this
regulation, with any remaining fraction of a ton equal to or
greater than 0.50 ton deemed to equal one ton and any
fraction of a ton less than 0.50 ton deemed to equal zero tons.  

qq.  Unit means any of the following fossil fuel-fired
combustion operations:  boiler, indirect heat exchanger,
combustion turbine, or combined cycle system.  For the
purposes of this definition:

1.  Fossil fuel means natural gas, petroleum, coal, or
any form of solid, liquid, or gaseous fuel derived from such
material.

2.  Fossil fuel-fired means,
A.  The combustion of fossil fuel, alone or in

combination with any other fuel, where fossil fuel actually
combusted comprises more than 50 percent of the annual
heat input on a BTU basis during any year starting in 1990
or, if a unit had no heat input starting in 1990, during the last
year of operation of the unit prior to 1990; or

B.  The combustion of fossil fuel, alone or in
combination with any other fuel, where fossil fuel is
projected to comprise more than 50 percent of the annual
heat input on a BTU basis during any year; provided that the
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unit shall be "fossil fuel-fired" as of the date, during such
year, on which the unit begins combusting fossil fuel.

3.  Boiler means an enclosed fossil or other
fuel-fired combustion device used to produce heat and to
transfer heat to recirculating water, steam, or other medium.

4.  Indirect heat exchanger means combustion
equipment in which the flame and/or products of combustion
are separated from any contact with the principal material in
the process by metallic or refractory walls, which includes,
but is not limited to, steam boilers, vaporizers, melting pots,
heat exchangers, column reboilers, fractioning column feed
preheaters, and fuel-fired reactors such as steam
hydrocarbon reformer heaters and pyrolysis heaters.

5.  Combustion turbine means an enclosed fossil or
other fuel-fired device that is comprised of a compressor, a
combustor, and a turbine, and in which the flue gas resulting
from the combustion of fuel in the combustor passes through
the turbine, rotating the turbine.

6.  Combined cycle system means a system
comprised of one or more combustion turbines, heat
recovery steam generators, and steam turbines configured to
improve overall efficiency of electricity generation or steam
production.

Section 5 - General Provisions
a.  Allocations and NOX Allowances.

1.  An allocation may be made only by the
Department in accordance with Appendix "A", Appendix
"B", and Section 14(f) of this regulation, or by the
Administrator as provided for in Appendix "A" of this
regulation.

2.  A NOX allowance is a limited authorization, by
the Department and the Administrator, to emit up to one ton
of NOX during the control period of a specified year or of
any year thereafter, in accordance with the NOX Budget
Trading Program.  No provision of the NOX Budget Trading
Program, the NOX Budget permit application, the NOX
Budget permit, or an exemption under Section 3(b) of this
regulation, and no provision of law shall be construed to
limit the authority of the United States or the State of
Delaware to terminate or limit such authorization.

3.  NOX allowances shall be held in, deducted
from, or transferred among NATS accounts in accordance
with Sections 9, 10, 12 and 13 of this regulation.  Any NOX
allowance that is held in a NATS account shall remain in
such NATS account unless and until that NOX allowance is
deducted, transferred, or terminated.

4.  A NOX allowance does not constitute a property
right.

b.  Record Keeping.  Except as provided for below, the
NOX authorized account representative of each NOX
Budget source shall keep on site at that source each of the
following documents for, at a minimum, a period of 5 years
from the date that document is created.  This period of time

may be extended for cause at any time prior to the end of that
5-year period upon written notification from either the
Department or the Administrator.

1.  The account certificate of representation
submitted pursuant to Section 6 of this regulation, and all
documents that demonstrate the truth of the statements in
that account certificate of representation. The certificate and
documents shall be retained on site at the source beyond that
5-year period until they are superseded by the submission of
a new account certificate of representation.

2.  The NOX Budget permit application submitted
pursuant to Section 7 of this regulation, and all documents
used to complete that application.  The application and
documents shall be retained on site at the source beyond that
5-year period until they are superseded by the submission of
a new application.

3.  All emissions monitoring information pursuant
to Section 8 of this regulation, except that to the extent
Section 8 of this regulation provides for a 3-year period, that
3-year period shall apply.

4.  Copies of any report, compliance certification,
and any other submission or record made or required under
the NOX Budget Trading Program.

5.  Records demonstrating that any unit exempted
under Section 3(b) of this regulation is retired.  The owner(s)
and operator(s) of that unit bears the burden of proof that the
unit is retired.

c.  Computation of Time.  Unless otherwise stated:
1.  Any time period scheduled to begin on the

occurrence of an act or event shall begin on the day that act
or event occurs.

2.  Any time period scheduled to begin before the
occurrence of an act or event shall begin not later than the
day before that act or event occurs.

3.  If the final day of any time period falls on a
weekend or a State of Delaware or Federal holiday, that time
period shall be extended to the next business day.

d.  Liability.
1.  Each NOX Budget source and each NOX

Budget unit shall comply with all of the requirements of the
NOX Budget Trading Program and any applicable NOX
Budget permit.

2.  No permit revision shall excuse any violation of
the requirements of the NOX Budget Trading Program that
occurs prior to the date that revision takes effect.

3. i.  Any provision of the NOX Budget Trading
Program that applies to a NOX Budget source (including a
provision applicable to the NOX authorized account
representative of that NOX Budget source) shall also apply
to the owners and operators of that source and of the NOX
Budget units at that source.

ii.  Any provision of the NOX Budget Trading
Program that applies to a NOX Budget unit (including a
provision applicable to the NOX authorized account
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representative of that NOX Budget unit) shall also apply to
the owners and operators of that unit.  

iii.  Except with regard to the requirements
applicable to units with a common stack under Section 8 of
this regulation, the owners and operators and the NOX
authorized account representative of one NOX Budget unit
shall not be liable for any violation by any other NOX
Budget unit of which they are not owners or operators or the
NOX authorized account representative and that is located at
a source of which they are not owners or operators or the
NOX authorized account representative.

4.  No provision of the NOX Budget Trading
Program, a NOX Budget permit application, a NOX Budget
permit, or an exemption under Section 3(b) of this regulation
shall be construed to exempt or exclude the owners and
operators and, to the extent applicable, the NOX authorized
account representative of a NOX Budget source or NOX
Budget unit from compliance with any other applicable State
or Federal requirement.

5.  Any person who knowingly violates any
requirement or prohibition of the NOX Budget Trading
Program, a NOX Budget permit, or an exemption under
Section 3(b) of this regulation shall be subject to
enforcement pursuant to applicable State or Federal law.

6.  Any person who knowingly makes a false
material statement in any record, submission, or report under
the NOX Budget Trading Program shall be subject to
criminal enforcement pursuant to the applicable State or
Federal law.

Section 6 - NOX Authorized Account Representative for
NOX Budget Sources

a.  On or before the later of November 1, 2001 or the
date 18 months before the date on which any NOX Budget
unit commences operation, the NOX authorized account
representative and any alternate NOX authorized account
representative of any NOX Budget source shall submit to the
Administrator, with a copy to the Department, a complete
account certificate of representation.  Such account
certificate of representation:

1.  Shall designate one and only one NOX
authorized account representative, and may designate one
and only one alternate NOX authorized account
representative.  Such NOX authorized account
representative and any alternate NOX authorized account
representative shall be selected by an agreement between the
owners and operators of the source and all NOX Budget
units at that source, binding on such owners and operators.
Such agreement shall include a procedure for authorizing
any alternate NOX authorized account representative to act
in lieu of the NOX authorized account representative.

2.  Shall include all of the following information in
a format specified by the Administrator:

i.  Identification of the NOX Budget source and

each NOX Budget unit at that source for which the account
certificate of representation is submitted.

ii.  The name, mailing address, e-mail address
(if any), telephone number, and facsimile transmission
number (if any) of the NOX authorized account
representative and any alternate NOX authorized account
representative.

iii.  A list of the owners and operators of the
NOX Budget source and of each NOX Budget unit at the
source.

iv.  The following certification statement by
the NOX authorized account representative and any alternate
NOX authorized account representative:  "I certify that I was
selected as the NOX authorized account representative or
alternate NOX authorized account representative, as
applicable, by an agreement binding on the owners and
operators of the NOX Budget source and each NOX Budget
unit at the source.  I certify that I have all the necessary
authority to carry out my duties and responsibilities under
the NOX Budget Trading Program on behalf of the owners
and operators of the NOX Budget source and of each NOX
Budget unit at the source and that each such owner and
operator shall be fully bound by my representations, actions,
inactions, or submissions and by any decision or order issued
to me by the Department, the Administrator, or a court
regarding the source or unit."

v.  The signature of the NOX authorized
account representative and any alternate NOX authorized
account representative, and the date(s) the account certificate
of representation was signed.

3.  Shall not include, unless otherwise required by
the Department or the Administrator, documents of
agreement referred to in the account certificate of
representation.  If submitted, neither the Department nor the
Administrator shall be under any obligation to review or
evaluate the sufficiency of such documents.

b.  Upon receipt by the Administrator of a complete
account certificate of representation under Section 6(a) of
this regulation:

1.  The NOX authorized account representative of
the source shall represent and, by his or her representations,
actions, inactions, or submissions, legally bind each owner
and operator of the NOX Budget source represented and
each NOX Budget unit at that source in all matters pertaining
to the NOX Budget Trading Program, notwithstanding any
agreement between the NOX authorized account
representative and such owners and operators.  The owners
and operators shall be bound by any decision or order issued
to the NOX authorized account representative by the
Department, the Administrator, or a court regarding the
source or unit.

2.  Any representation, action, inaction, or
submission by the alternate NOX authorized account
representative shall be deemed to be a representation, action,
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inaction, or submission by the NOX authorized account
representative.

3.  The Department and the Administrator shall rely
on the account certificate of representation submitted
pursuant to Section 6(a) of this regulation unless and until
the Administrator receives a superseding complete account
certificate of representation changing the NOX authorized
account representative or alternate NOX authorized account
representative.  Notwithstanding any such change, all
representations, actions, inactions, and submissions by the
previous NOX authorized account representative or alternate
NOX authorized account representative prior to the time and
date when the Administrator receives the superseding
account certificate of representation shall be binding on the
new NOX authorized account representative and alternate
NOX authorized account representative and the owners and
operators of the NOX Budget source and the NOX Budget
units at the source.

4.  Except as provided in Section 6(b)(3) of this
regulation, no objection or other communication submitted
to the Department or the Administrator concerning the
authorization, or any representation, action, inaction, or
submission of the NOX authorized account representative or
the alternate NOX authorized account representative shall
affect any representation, action, inaction, or submission of
the NOX authorized account representative or the alternate
NOX authorized account representative, or the finality of
any decision or order by the Department or the
Administrator under the NOX Budget Trading Program.

5.  Neither the Department nor the Administrator
shall adjudicate any private legal dispute concerning the
authorization or any representation, action, inaction, or
submission of any NOX authorized account representative or
the alternate NOX authorized account representative.

c.  Changes in the owners and operators.
1.  Within 30 days following any change in the

owner(s) and operator(s) of a NOX Budget source or a NOX
Budget unit at that source, including the addition of a new
owner or operator, the NOX authorized account
representative or the alternate NOX authorized account
representative shall submit to the Administrator, with a copy
to the Department, a revised account certificate of
representation amending the list of owners and operators to
include that change.

2.  In the event a new owner or operator of a NOX
Budget source or a NOX Budget unit is not included in the
list of owners and operators submitted in the account
certificate of representation, such new owner or operator
shall be deemed to be subject to and bound by the account
certificate of representation, the representations, actions,
inactions, and submissions of the NOX authorized account
representative and any alternate NOX authorized account
representative of the source or unit, and the decisions,
orders, actions, and inaction's of the Department or the

Administrator, as if the new owner or operator were included
in such list.

d.  Submissions/Certifications.  
1.  The NOX authorized account representative or

the alternate NOX authorized account representative shall
sign and certify all submissions under the NOX Budget
trading program with the following certification statement:
"I am authorized to make this submission on behalf of the
owners and operators of the NOX Budget sources or NOX
Budget units for which the submission is made.  I certify
under penalty of law that I have personally examined, and
am familiar with, the statements and information submitted
in this document and all its attachments. Based on my
inquiry of those individuals with primary responsibility for
obtaining the information, I certify that the statements and
information are to the best of my knowledge and belief true,
accurate, and complete.  I am aware that there are significant
penalties for submitting false statements and information or
omitting required statements and information, including the
possibility of fine or imprisonment."

2.  The Department and the Administrator shall
accept or act on any submission made under the NOX
Budget Trading program only if that submission has been
made, signed, and certified in accordance with Section
6(d)(1) of this regulation.

Section 7 - Permits
a.  Except as provided for in Section 3(b) of this

regulation, on and after May 1, 2002 each NOX Budget unit
shall be covered by a NOX Budget permit.  Such NOX
Budget permit shall be a complete and segregable portion of,
and made federally enforceable by, the permit issued
pursuant to:

1.  For any NOX Budget unit required to be covered
by a Regulation No. 30 permit, Regulation No. 30 of the
State of Delaware "Regulations Governing the Control of
Air Pollution."

2.  For any NOX Budget unit not required to be
covered by a Regulation No. 30 permit, Regulation No. 2 of
the State of Delaware "Regulations Governing the Control of
Air Pollution."

b.  On or before the later of November 1, 2001, or the
date 18 months before the date on which any NOX Budget
unit commences operation, the NOX authorized account
representative of each NOX Budget source shall submit to
the Department:

1.  A complete NOX Budget permit application that
includes, at a minimum, all of the following information:

i.  Identification of the NOX Budget source,
including the plant name and the ORIS (Office of Regulatory
Information Systems) or facility code assigned to the source
by the Energy Information Administration of the United
States Department of Energy, if applicable;

ii.  Identification of each NOX Budget unit at
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that NOX Budget source; and
iii.  Identification of each applicable

requirement of this regulation, to include the requirements of
Sections 2(a), 5(a)(2), 5(a)(3), 5(b), 5(d), 6(d), 8(b), 8(c) and
10 of this regulation. 

2.  In a timely manner, any supplemental
information that the Department determines is necessary in
order to review a NOX Budget permit application and/or
issue or deny any NOX Budget permit(s).

c.  Each NOX Budget permit issued by the Department:
1.  Shall specify the information submitted under

Section 7(b)(1) of this regulation, as approved by the
Department.

2.  Shall be deemed to incorporate automatically the
definitions of terms under Section 4 of this regulation.  Upon
recordation by the Administrator, every allocation, transfer,
or deduction of a NOX allowance to or from a NOX Budget
unit's compliance account or the overdraft account of the
source where the unit is located shall be deemed to amend
automatically, and become a part of the associated NOX
Budget permit by operation of law without any further
review.

d.  Any initial, revised, or renewed NOX Budget permit
shall become effective upon issuance by the Department of
the corresponding Regulation No. 2 or Regulation No. 30
permit, as applicable, that administers that NOX Budget
permit.

Section 8 - Monitoring and Reporting
a.  The emissions measurements recorded and reported

in accordance with Section 8 of this regulation shall be used
to determine compliance by any NOX Budget unit with its
NOX Budget emissions limitation.

b.  Each NOX Budget unit shall:
1.  Comply with all of the requirements of Subpart

H of 40 CFR Part 75 (7/1/99 edition), and all of the
requirements of this regulation. 

2.  Monitor and record heat input at the unit level
utilizing the procedures set forth in 40 CFR Part 75 (7/1/99
edition).

c.  For the purpose of complying with the requirements
of this regulation and Subpart H of 40 CFR Part 75, the
definitions in Section 4 of this regulation and in 40 CFR 72.2
(7/1/99 edition) shall apply, except the terms "affected unit,"
"designated representative," and "continuous emission
monitoring system" in 40 CFR Part 75 shall be replaced with
"NOX Budget unit," "NOX authorized account
representative," and "continuous emission monitoring
system," respectively, as defined in Section 4 of this
regulation.  

d.  The compliance deadlines referred to in 40 CFR Part
75.70(b) shall be as follows:

1.  Monitoring systems shall be installed and
certification tests shall be completed, pursuant to the

requirements of Subpart H of 40 CFR Part 75, not later than:
i.  For any NOX Budget unit identified in

Sections 3(a)(1) of this regulation that commences operation
before January 1, 2002, May 1, 2002.

ii.  For any NOX Budget unit not covered by
Section 8(d)(1)(i) of this regulation, the later of the
following dates: 

A.  May 1, 2002; or
B.  The earlier of:

1.  180 days after the date on which
that unit commences operation or

2.  For any unit identified in Section
3(a)(1)(i) of this regulation, 90 days after the date on which
that unit commences commercial operation.

C.  For any NOX Budget unit that reports
on a control season basis under 40 CFR 75.74(b)(2), where
the applicable deadline under Section 8(d)(1)(ii)(B) of this
regulation does not occur during a control period, May 1
immediately following the date determined in accordance
with Section 8(d)(1)(ii)(B) of this regulation.

2.  For any NOX Budget unit with a new stack or
flue for which construction is completed after the applicable
deadline under Section 8(d)(1) or 14(c) of this regulation:

i.  90 days after the date on which emissions
first exit to the atmosphere through the new stack or flue, or

ii.  If that unit reports on a control season basis
under 40 CFR 75.74(b)(2) and the applicable deadline under
Section 8(d)(2)(i) of this regulation does not occur during the
control period, May 1 immediately following the applicable
deadline in Section 8(d)(2)(i) of this regulation.

3.  Data shall be recorded and reported on and after
the date specified in Section 8(d)(1) of this regulation.  The
provisions of 40 CFR 75.70(g), concerning the reporting of
data prior to initial certification, shall apply from the date
and hour that any unit starts operating until all required
certification tests are successfully completed.

e.  The requirements of 40 CFR Part 75.70(d)(1),
concerning initial certification and recertification
procedures, shall be expanded to include the following
additional requirements:  

1.  If, prior to January 1, 1998, the Administrator
approved a petition under 40 CFR 75.17(a) or (b) for
apportioning the NOX emission rate measured in a common
stack or a petition under 40 CFR 75.66 for an alternative to a
requirement in 40 CFR 75.17 of this chapter, the NOX
authorized account representative shall resubmit the petition
to the Administrator under 40 CFR 75.70(h)(1) and (2) to
determine if the approval applies under the NOX Budget
Trading Program.

2.  The NOX authorized account representative of
each unit applying to monitor using an alternative
monitoring system under Subpart E of 40 CFR Part 75 shall
apply for certification to the Department prior to use of the
system under the NOX Budget Trading Program.  The NOX
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authorized account representative shall comply with the
notification and application requirements for certification, or
for recertification following a replacement, modification or
change, according to the procedures in Section 8(f) of this
regulation.

f.  Except as otherwise specified in Section 8(g) of this
regulation (pertaining to the low mass emissions excepted
methodology under 40 CFR 75.19), the initial certification
and recertification procedures referred to in 40 CFR Part
75.70(d)(2) shall be as follows.

1.  Each monitoring system required by Subpart H
of 40 CFR Part 75 (which includes the automated data
acquisition and handling system) shall complete all of the
initial certification testing required under 40 CFR 75.20 not
later than the deadlines specified in Section 8(d) of this
regulation.  In addition, whenever the owner or operator
installs a monitoring system in order to meet the
requirements of this regulation in a location where no such
monitoring system was previously installed, initial
certification according to 40 CFR 75.20 is required.

2.  Whenever the owner or operator makes a
replacement, modification, or change in a certified
monitoring system that the Administrator or the Department
determines significantly affects the ability of the system to
accurately measure or record NOX mass emissions or heat
input or to meet the requirements of 40 CFR 75.21 or
Appendix B to 40 CFR Part 75, the owner or operator shall
recertify the monitoring system according to 40 CFR
75.20(b).  Furthermore, whenever the owner or operator
makes a replacement, modification, or change to the flue gas
handling system or the unit's operation that the
Administrator or the Department determines to significantly
change the flow or concentration profile, the owner or
operator shall recertify the continuous emission monitoring
system according to 40 CFR 75.20(b).  Examples of changes
that require recertification include:  replacement of the
analyzer, change in location or orientation of the sampling
probe or site, or the changing of flow-rate-monitor
polynomial coefficients.

3.  Certification approval process for initial
certifications and recertification.

i.  The NOX authorized account representative
shall submit to the Department, with a copy to the EPA
Region III Office, a written notice of the dates of
certification testing in accordance with the requirements of
40 CFR Part 75.61.  If the unit is not subject to an Acid Rain
emissions limitation, the notification is required to be sent
only to the Department. 

ii.  The NOX authorized account representative
shall submit to the Department not later than 45 days after
completing all initial certification or recertification tests a
complete certification application for each monitoring
system required under Subpart H of 40 CFR Part 75.  Such
certification application shall be considered complete if it

includes all of the information specified in 40 CFR 75.63.
Any alternative monitoring system under Subpart E of 40
CFR Part 75 shall also be subject to the procedures of 40
CFR 75.20(f).

iii.  Except for units using the low mass
emission excepted methodology under 40 CFR 75.19, a
monitor shall be provisionally certified upon successful
completion of the certification procedures of Section
8(f)(3)(i) and (ii) of this regulation.  A provisionally certified
monitor may be used under the NOX Budget Trading
Program for a period not to exceed 120 days after receipt by
the Department of the complete certification application for
the monitoring system or component thereof under Section
8(f)(3)(ii) of this regulation.  Data measured and recorded by
the provisionally certified monitoring system or component
thereof, in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR Part
75, will be considered valid quality-assured data (retroactive
to the date and time of provisional certification), provided
that the Department does not invalidate the provisional
certification by issuing a notice of disapproval of
certification status under Section 8(f)(iv)(C) of this
regulation.

iv.  The Department shall issue a written notice
of approval or disapproval of the certification application to
the NOX authorized account representative within 120 days
of receipt of the complete certification application under
Section 8(f)(3)(ii) of this regulation.  In the event the
Department does not issue such a notice within such 120-day
period, each monitoring system that meets the applicable
performance requirements of 40 CFR Part 75 and that is
included in the certification application shall be deemed
certified for use under the NOX Budget Trading Program.

A.  If the certification application is
complete and shows that each monitoring system meets the
applicable performance requirements of 40 CFR Part 75,
then the Department shall issue a written notice of approval
of the certification application within 120 days of receipt.

B.  If the certification application is not
complete, then the Department shall issue a written notice of
incompleteness that sets a reasonable date by which the
NOX authorized account representative must submit the
additional information required to complete the certification
application.  If the NOX authorized account representative
does not comply with the notice of incompleteness by the
specified date, then the Department may issue a notice of
disapproval under Section 8(f)(3)(iv)(C) of this regulation.

C.  If the certification application shows
that any monitoring system or component thereof does not
meet the performance requirements of this regulation, or if
the certification application is incomplete and the
requirement for disapproval under Section 8(f)(3)(iv)(B) of
this regulation has been met, the Department may issue a
written notice of disapproval of the certification application.  

v.  If the Department issues a notice of
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disapproval of a certification application under either
Section 8(f)(3)(iv)(C) of this regulation or a notice of
disapproval of certification status under Section 8(j) of this
regulation, then the following shall apply to each monitoring
system or component thereof which is disapproved for initial
certification:

A.  Upon issuance of such notice of
disapproval, the provisional certification is invalidated and
the data measured and recorded by each uncertified
monitoring system or component thereof shall not be
considered valid quality-assured data beginning with the
date and hour of provisional certification.

B.  The owner or operator shall substitute
the following values for any hour (or fraction of an hour)
during which the unit combusts any fuel during the period of
invalid data, beginning with the date and hour of provisional
certification and continuing until the time, date, and hour
specified under 40 CFR 75.20(a)(5)(i).

1.  For units using or intending to
monitor for NOX emission rate and heat input or for units
using the low mass emission excepted methodology under
40 CFR 75.19, the maximum potential NOX emission rate
and the maximum potential hourly heat input of the unit.  

Maximum potential NOX emission
rate means the emission rate of NOX (in lb/MMBTU)
calculated in accordance with section 3 of appendix F of 40
CFR Part 75, using the maximum potential NOX
concentration as defined in section 2 of appendix A of 40
CFR Part 75, and either the maximum O2 concentration (in
percent O2) or the minimum CO2 concentration (in percent
CO2), under all operating conditions of the unit except for
unit start up, shutdown, and upsets.  

Maximum potential hourly heat input
means an hourly heat input used for reporting purposes when
a unit lacks certified monitors to report heat input.  If the unit
intends to use Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 to report heat
input, this value should be calculated, in accordance with 40
CFR Part 75, using the maximum fuel flow rate and the
maximum gross calorific value.  If the unit intends to use a
flow monitor and a diluent gas monitor, this value should be
reported, in accordance with 40 CFR Part 75, using the
maximum potential flowrate and either the maximum CO2
concentration (in percent CO2) or the minimum O2
concentration (in percent O2).  

2.  For units intending to monitor for
NOX mass emissions using a NOX pollutant concentration
monitor and a flow monitor, the maximum potential
concentration of NOX and the maximum potential flow rate
of the unit under Section 2.1 of Appendix A of 40 CFR Part
75.

C. The NOX authorized account
representative shall submit a notification of certification
retest dates and a new certification application in accordance
with Sections 8(f)(3)(i) and 8(f)(3)(ii) of this regulation; and

D.  The owner or operator shall repeat all
certification tests or other requirements that were failed by
the monitoring system, as indicated in the Department's
notice of disapproval, no later than 30 unit operating days
after the date of issuance of the notice of disapproval.  A
Unit operating day means a calendar day in which a unit
combusts any fuel.

g.  The initial certification and recertification procedures
referred to in 40 CFR Part 75.70(d)(2) for any gas-fired or
oil-fired unit using the low mass emissions excepted
methodology under 40 CFR 75.19, and not subject to an acid
rain limitation, shall be those applicable certification and
recertification requirements of 40 CFR 75.19 and Section
8(f) of this regulation, except that the excepted methodology
shall be deemed provisionally certified for use under the
NOX Budget Trading Program, as of the following dates:

1.  For a unit that does not have monitoring
equipment initially certified or recertified for the NOX
Budget Trading Program as of the date on which the NOX
authorized account representative submits the certification
application under 40 CFR 75.19 for that unit, starting on the
date of such submission until the completion of the period
for the Department's review.

2.  For a unit that has monitoring equipment
initially certified or recertified for the NOX Budget Trading
Program as of the date on which the NOX  authorized
account representative submits the certification application
under 40 CFR 75.19 for that unit and that reports data on an
annual basis under 40 CFR 75.74(b)(2), starting January 1 of
the year after the year of such submission until the
completion of  the period for the Department's review.

3.  For a unit that has monitoring equipment
initially certified or recertified for the NOX Budget Trading
Program as of the date on which the NOX Authorized
Account Representative submits the certification application
under 40 CFR 75.19 for that unit and that reports on a
control season basis under 40 CFR 75.74(b)(2), starting May
1 of the control period after the year of such submission until
the completion of the period for the Administrator's review.

h.  Approval by the Department is required for approval
of any alternative requirement under 40 CFR part
75.70(h)(3)(ii).

i.  The NOX authorized account representative shall
submit quarterly reports required by 40 CFR Part 75.73(f)
beginning with:

1.  For any unit that commences operation prior to
May 1, 2002, the earlier of the calendar quarter that includes
the date of initial provisional certification under Section
8(f)(3)(iii) of this regulation or, if the certification tests are
not completed by May 1, 2002, the partial calendar quarter
from May 1, 2002 through June 30, 2002.  Data shall be
recorded and reported from the earlier of the date and hour
corresponding to the date and hour of provisional
certification or the first hour on May 1, 2002.
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2.  Except as provided for in Section 8(i)(3) of this
regulation, for any unit that commenced operation on or after
May 1, 2002, the calendar quarter in which the unit
commences operation.  Data shall be reported from the date
and hour corresponding to when the unit commenced
operation.  

3.  For any unit that is subject to ozone season
monitoring requirements under 40 CFR 75.74(b)(2), and that
commenced operation after September 30, 2002, and that did
not commence operations during a control period, the earlier
of the calendar quarter that includes the date of initial
provisional certification under Section 8(f)(3)(iii) of this
regulation or, if the certification tests are not completed by
May 1 immediately following the date that the unit
commenced operation, May 1 immediately following the
date the unit commenced operation.  Data shall be reported
from the earlier of the date and hour corresponding to the
date and hour of provisional certification or the first hour of
May 1 immediately following the date that the unit
commenced operation.

j.  Whenever both an audit of a monitoring system and a
review of the initial certification or recertification
application reveal that any system or component should not
have been certified or recertified because it did not meet a
particular performance specification or other requirement
under 40 CFR 75.70(d) or any other applicable provision of
40 CFR Part 75, both at the time of the initial certification or
recertification application submission and at the time of the
audit, the Department may issue a notice of disapproval of
the certification status of such system or component.  For the
purposes of this paragraph, an audit shall be either a field
audit or an audit of any information submitted to the
Department or the Administrator.  By issuing the notice of
disapproval, the Department revokes prospectively the
certification status of the system or component.  The data
measured and recorded by the system or component shall not
be considered valid quality-assured data from the date of
issuance of the notification of the revoked certification status
until the date and time that the owner or operator completes
subsequently approved initial certification or recertification
tests.  The owner or operator shall follow the initial
certification or recertification procedures in 40 CFR Part
75.70(d) for each disapproved system.

Section 9 - NATS
a.  Establishment of NATS Accounts.

1.  Upon receipt of a complete account certificate of
representation pursuant to Section 6(a) of this regulation, the
Administrator shall establish a compliance account for each
NOX Budget unit identified in that account certificate of
representation, and an overdraft account for each such NOX
Budget source that includes two or more NOX Budget units. 

2.  Upon receipt of a complete application to
establish a general account pursuant to Section 15 of this

regulation, the Administrator shall establish a general
account for the person(s) for whom the application is
submitted.

3.  The Administrator shall assign a unique
identifying account number to each account established
under Sections 9(a)(1) or 9(a)(2) of this regulation, and a
unique identifying number to each associated NOX
authorized account representative.

b.  Recordation of Allocations and Deductions.
1.  The Administrator shall record allocations for

the 2003, 2004, and 2005 control periods, pursuant to
Section (d)(1) of Appendix "A" and Section (c) of Appendix
"B" of this regulation.   The Administrator shall record any
allocations for the 2003 control period  pursuant to Section
14(f)(2) of this regulation.

2.  Each year, starting in 2003, the Administrator
shall:

i.  Record in the appropriate compliance
account or overdraft account all deductions made pursuant to
Section 12 and 13 of this regulation.

ii.  After recording any deductions pursuant to
Section 9(b)(2)(i) of this regulation:

A.  Record allocations pursuant to Section
(d)(2) of Appendix "A" of this regulation.

B.  Record allocations pursuant to Sections
14(f)(2) of this regulation.

3.  When recording any allocation, the
Administrator shall assign to the corresponding NOX
allowance a unique identification serial number that includes
digits identifying the year for which that NOX allowance is
allocated.

c.  Banking.
1.  After recording any deductions pursuant to

Section 9(b)(2)(i) of this regulation, the Administrator shall
designate, as a "banked" NOX allowance, any NOX
allowance that was eligible for deduction and that remains in
any compliance account, overdraft account, or general
account

2.  Each year, starting in 2004, after completing the
designation of banked NOX allowances under Section
9(c)(1) of this regulation and before May 1 of that year, the
Administrator shall determine the extent to which any
banked NOX allowance may be used for compliance in the
impending control period, as follows:

i.  The Administrator shall determine the total
number of banked NOX allowances held in all of the NOX
Budget Trading program's compliance accounts, overdraft
accounts, and general accounts.  

ii.  The Administrator shall determine the sum
of the State trading program budgets for the impending
control period of all of the States participating in the NOX
Budget trading program. 

iii.  The Administrator shall determine the
result of dividing the number determined under Section
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9(c)(2)(i) of this regulation by the number determined under
Section 9(c)(2)(ii) of this regulation.

3.  If the number determined under Section
9(c)(2)(iii) of this regulation is equal to or less than 0.10,
then any banked NOX allowance may be deducted for
compliance in accordance with Sections 12 and 13 of this
regulation

4.  If the number determined under Section
9(c)(2)(iii) of this regulation is greater than 0.10, then:

i.  The Administrator shall determine the
following ratio:  0.10 multiplied by the number determined
under Section 9(c)(2)(ii) of this regulation and divided by the
number determined under Section 9(c)(2)(i) of this
regulation. 

ii.  The Administrator shall, in implementing
the provisions of  Sections 12(b) and 13(a) of this regulation
for the impending control period, multiply the number of
banked NOX allowances in each compliance account or
overdraft account by the ratio calculated under Section
9(c)(4)(i) of this regulation.  The resulting product is the
number of banked NOX allowances in the account that may
be deducted for compliance in accordance with Sections 12
and 13 of this regulation.  Any banked NOX allowances in
excess of the resulting product may be deducted for
compliance in accordance with Sections 12 and 13 of this
regulation, except that, if any such NOX allowance is
deducted, two such NOX allowances shall be deducted for
each one NOX allowance required under Sections 12 and 13
of this regulation.

d.  The Administrator may, at his/her sole discretion and
on his/her own motion, correct any error in any NATS
account.  Within 10 business days of making any such
correction, the Administrator shall notify the NOX
authorized account representative of the affected account of
any correction made.

Section 10 - NOX Allowance Transfers
a.  The NOX authorized account representative seeking

recordation of a NOX allowance transfer shall submit to the
Administrator a transfer request that includes all of the
following information in a format specified by the
Administrator:

1.  The account number of both the transferor and
transferee accounts;

2.  The serial number of each NOX allowance to be
transferred; and

3.  The printed name and signature of the NOX
authorized account representative of the transferor account,
and the date the transfer request was signed.

b.  Provided that the transfer request meets the
requirements of Section 10(a) of this regulation, and the
transferor account holds each NOX allowance identified by
serial number in the transfer request, the Administrator shall

record the NOX allowance transfer by moving each NOX
allowance from the transferor account to the transferee
account as specified by the request. 

1.  Any NOX allowance transfer request that is
submitted for recordation after a NOX allowance transfer
deadline, and that includes any NOX allowance that was
allocated for a control period prior to or the same as the
control period associated with that NOX allowance transfer
deadline, shall be recorded after the recordation of
allocations under Section 9(b)(2) of this regulation for that
control period.

2.  Any transfer request not identified in Section
10(b)(1) of this regulation shall be recorded within 5
business days of receiving such request.

3.  Within 5 business days of recordation of any
NOX allowance transfer, the Administrator shall notify the
NOX authorized account representatives of both accounts
subject to the transfer that the transfer was recorded.

c.  Where a NOX allowance transfer request fails to
meet the requirements of Section 10(b) of this regulation, the
Administrator shall not record that transfer.  

1.  Within 10 business days of receipt of such a
request, the Administrator shall notify the NOX authorized
account representatives of both the transferor and transferee
accounts of the reason(s) why the transfer was not recorded.

2.  Nothing in this regulation shall preclude the
correction and resubmission of a NOX allowance transfer
request following notification under Section 10(c)(1) of this
regulation.

Section 11 - Compliance Certification
a.  Not later than November 30 of each year, starting in

2003, the NOX authorized account representative of each
NOX Budget source shall submit to the Department and the
Administrator a compliance certification report that covers
the control period for that year.  Such report shall include all
of the following information in a format specified by the
Administrator:

1.  Identification of the NOX Budget source and
each NOX Budget unit at that source.

2.  At the NOX authorized account representative's
option, for units sharing a common stack and having NOX
emissions that are not monitored separately or apportioned in
accordance with Section 8 of this regulation, the percentage
of the number of tons of NOX emissions from the common
stack to be attributed to each unit, for application under
Section 12(b)(2)(i) of this regulation.

3.  At the NOX authorized account representative's
option, the serial numbers of the NOX allowances that are to
be deducted from each NOX Budget unit's compliance
account, for application under Sections 12(b)(2)(i) and/or
13(a)(1) of this regulation.

4.  Certification by the NOX authorized account
representative of, based on reasonable inquiry of those



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 3, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2000

432

persons with primary responsibility for operating the source
and the NOX Budget units at the source in compliance with
the NOX Budget Trading Program, whether each NOX
Budget unit for which the compliance certification is
submitted was operated during the calendar year covered by
the report in compliance with the requirements of the NOX
Budget Trading Program applicable to that unit, including:

i.  Whether the unit was operated in
compliance with its NOX Budget emissions limitation;

ii.  Whether the monitoring plan that governs
the unit has been maintained to reflect the actual operation
and monitoring of the unit, and contains all information
necessary to attribute NOX emissions to the unit, in
accordance with Section 8 of this regulation;

iii.  Whether all the NOX emissions from the
unit, or a group of units (including the unit) using a common
stack, were monitored or accounted for through the missing
data procedures and reported in the quarterly monitoring
reports, including whether conditional data were reported in
the quarterly reports in accordance with Section 8 of this
regulation.  If conditional data were reported, the NOX
authorized account representative shall indicate whether the
status of all conditional data has been resolved and all
necessary quarterly report resubmission's have been made;

iv.  Whether the facts that form the basis for
certification under Section 8 of this regulation of each
monitor at the unit or a group of units (including the unit)
using a common stack, or for using an excepted monitoring
method or alternative monitoring method approved under
Section 8 of this regulation, if any, has changed; and

v.  If a change is required to be reported under
Section 11(a)(4)(iv) of this regulation, specify the nature of
the change, the reason for the change, when the change
occurred, and how the unit's compliance status was
determined subsequent to the change, including what
method was used to determine emissions when a change
mandated the need for monitor recertification.

b.  The Department or the Administrator may review
and conduct independent audits concerning any compliance
certification or any other submission under the NOX Budget
Trading Program and make appropriate adjustments of the
information in the compliance certifications or other
submissions.

c.  The Administrator may deduct NOX allowances
from or transfer NOX allowances to a unit's compliance
account or a source's overdraft account based on the
information in the compliance certifications or other
submissions, as adjusted under Section 11(b) of this
regulation.

Section 12 - End-of-Season Reconciliation
a.  A NOX allowance is available to be deducted for

compliance with a unit's NOX Budget emissions limitation
for a particular control period only if that NOX allowance:

1.  Was allocated for that control period or for a
control period in a prior year; and

2.  Is held in that unit's compliance account or its
associated overdraft account, as of the NOX allowance
transfer deadline for that control period; or

3.  Is transferred into that unit's compliance account
or its associated overdraft account by a NOX allowance
transfer request that was correctly submitted for recordation
under Section 10 of this regulation on or before the NOX
allowance transfer deadline associated with that control
period.

b.  For each control period, following the recordation of
NOX Allowance transfer requests that were submitted for
recordation under Section 10 of this regulation on or before
the associated NOX allowance transfer deadline, the
Administrator shall deduct NOX allowances that meet the
requirements of Section 12(a) of this regulation from each
NOX Budget unit's account(s):

1.  Until the number of NOX allowances deducted
equals the number of tons of NOX emissions from that unit
for that control period.  

2.  In the case of units sharing a common stack and
having emissions that are not separately monitored or
apportioned under Section 8 of this regulation, the
Administrator shall deduct NOX allowances for each such
unit until the number of NOX allowances deducted equals:

i.  Where the NOX authorized account
representative identified a percentage pursuant to Section
11(a)(2) of this regulation, that percentage of the number of
tons of NOX emissions from the common stack, or, 

ii.  If no percentage is identified, an equal
percentage for each such unit.

3.  Where there are not sufficient NOX allowances
available under section 12(b)(1) and 12(b)(2) of this
regulation, until no more NOX allowances that meet the
requirements of Section 12(a) of this regulation remain
available for deduction.

c.  The particular allowances that the Administrator
shall delete shall be:

1. Where the NOX authorized account
representative identified by serial number the NOX
allowances to be deducted pursuant to Section 11(a)(3) of
this regulation, the Administrator shall deduct those
particular allowances.

2.  In the absence of an identification or in the case
of a partial identification of NOX allowances by serial
number, the Administrator shall deduct NOX allowances:

i.  From the compliance account on a first-in,
first-out (FIFO) accounting basis in the following order:

A.  Those NOX allowances that were
allocated for that control period to that unit;

B.  Those NOX allowances that were
allocated for that control period to any unit and transferred
and recorded in that unit's account, in order of their date of
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recordation;
C.  Those NOX allowances that were

allocated for a prior control period to that unit; and
D.  Those NOX allowances that were

allocated for a prior control period to any unit and
transferred and recorded in that unit's account, in order of
their date of recordation.

ii.  Only after all NOX allowances that meet
the requirements of Section 12(a) of this regulation have
been deducted from the compliance account, from the
overdraft account.  In deducting allowances for units at the
source from the overdraft account, the Administrator shall
begin with the NOX Budget unit having the compliance
account with the lowest NATS account number and end with
the NOX Budget unit having the compliance account with
the highest NATS account number (with account numbers
sorted beginning with the left-most character and ending
with the right-most character and the letter characters
assigned values in alphabetical order and less than all
numeric characters).

Section 13 - Failure to Meet Compliance Requirements
a.  For each unit under Section 12(b)(3) of this

regulation, the Administrator shall deduct from that unit's
compliance account or the associated overdraft account a
number of NOX allowances equal to three (3) times the
number of that unit's excess emissions.

1.  Where the NOX authorized account
representative identified by serial number the NOX
allowances to be deducted pursuant to Section 11(a)(3) of
this regulation, the Administrator shall deduct those
particular allowances.

2.  In the absence of an identification by serial
number, or in the case of a partial identification, the
Administrator shall deduct NOX allowances that were
allocated for any control period after the control period in
which the unit has excess emissions, until the requirement of
Section 13(a) of this regulation is satisfied.

3.  If the compliance account or overdraft account
does not contain sufficient NOX allowances, the
Administrator shall deduct NOX allowances, regardless of
the control period for which they were allocated, whenever
NOX allowances are recorded in either account, until the
requirement of Section 13(a) of this regulation is satisfied.

b.  Any deduction required under Section 13(a) of this
regulation shall not affect the liability of the owners and
operators of the NOX Budget unit for any fine, penalty, or
assessment, or their obligation to comply with any other
remedy, for the same violation, as ordered under the CAA or
applicable State law or regulation. The following guidelines
shall be followed in assessing fines, penalties or other
obligations:

1.  For purposes of determining the number of days
of violation, if a NOX Budget unit has excess emissions for a

control period, each day in the control period (153 days)
constitutes a day in violation unless the owners and operators
of the unit demonstrate that a lesser number of days should
be considered.

2.  Each ton of excess emissions is a separate
violation. 

Section 14 - Individual Unit Opt-Ins
a.  Any unit located in Delaware that meets all of the

following provisions may voluntarily opt into the NOX
Budget Trading program by submitting to the Department an
opt-in application. 

1.  The unit is not a NOX Budget unit identified in
Sections 3(a)(1) of this regulation; and

2.  The unit is not exempted under Section 3(b) of
this regulation; and

3.  The unit can meet the emissions monitoring and
reporting requirements of Section 8 of this regulation; and 

4.  The unit has documented heat input for more
than 876 hours in the 6 months immediately preceding the
submission of an application for an initial NOX Budget
permit under Section 14(b) of this regulation.

b.  Each unit identified in Sections 14(a) of this
regulation shall submit:

1.  To the Department and the Administrator a
complete account certificate of representation that meets all
of the requirements of Section 6 of this regulation.  

2.  To the Department a complete NOX Budget
permit application that meets all of the requirements of
Section 7(b) of this regulation, with the following additional
certification statement(s) made by the NOX authorized
account representative:

i.  "I certify that each unit for which this permit
application is submitted under Section 14 of Regulation No.
39 is not a NOX Budget unit under Sections 3(a)(1) of
Regulation No. 39, is not covered by a retired unit exemption
under Section 3(b) of Regulation No. 39 that is in effect"

ii.  For any application for an initial NOX
Budget permit, "I certify that the unit meets the requirements
of Section 14(a)(4) of Regulation No. 39."

3.  To the Department a monitoring plan in
accordance with Section 8 of this regulation.

c.  The Department shall determine, on an interim basis,
the sufficiency of the monitoring plan submitted pursuant to
Section 14(b)(3) of this regulation.  A monitoring plan is
sufficient, for purposes of this interim review, if the plan
appears to contain information demonstrating that the NOX
emissions rate and heat input of the unit are monitored and
reported in accordance with Section 8 of this regulation.  A
determination of sufficiency shall not be construed as
acceptance or approval of the unit's monitoring plan.

1.  If the Department determines that the unit's
monitoring plan is sufficient the NOX authorized account
representative shall:
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i.  Install and certify all monitoring systems
required under Section 8 of this regulation, pursuant to
Section 8 of this regulation.

ii.  Monitor and report the NOX emissions rate
and the heat input of the unit in accordance with Section 8 of
this regulation for one full control period during which the
percent monitoring data availability is not less than 90
percent and during which the unit is in full compliance with
all applicable State or Federal emissions or emissions-related
requirements.  Solely for purposes of applying the
requirements of the prior sentence, the unit shall be treated
as a "NOX Budget unit" prior to issuance of a NOX Budget
permit covering the unit.

iii.  Based on the information monitored and
reported under Section 14(c)(1)(ii) of this regulation, submit
to the Department the unit's baseline heat input calculated as
the unit's total heat input (in MMBTU) for the control
period, and the unit's baseline NOX emissions rate
calculated as the unit's total NOX mass emissions (in lb) for
the control period divided by the unit's baseline heat input. 

2.  If the Department determines that the unit's
monitoring plan is not sufficient the Department shall
disapprove the opt-in application.

d.  After receipt of the baseline heat input and the
baseline NOX emissions rate for the unit under Section
14(c)(1)(iii) of this regulation:

1.  The Department shall issue a draft NOX Budget
permit on the NOX authorized account representative of the
unit.  Such permit shall meet all of the requirements of
Section 7(c) of this regulation.

2.  Within 20 days after the issuance of the draft
NOX Budget permit, the NOX authorized account
representative of the unit shall either withdrawal its
application or submit to the Department a confirmation of
the intention to opt in the unit.  The Department shall treat
any failure to make a timely submission as a withdrawal of
the NOX Budget permit application.

3.  For units where the NOX authorized account
representative confirms the intention to opt in the unit, and
after considering any comments received on the draft permit,
the Department shall issue a final NOX Budget permit
pursuant to Regulation No. 2 or Regulation No. 30, as
applicable.  The unit shall be a NOX Budget unit upon
issuance of the NOX Budget permit, and shall be subject to
all of the requirements of this regulation.

e.  Notwithstanding Sections 14(a) through 14(d) of this
regulation, at any time before the issuance of a final NOX
Budget permit:

1.  The NOX Budget Opt-in application may be
withdrawn.

2.  If the Department determines that the unit does
not qualify as an Opt-in unit, the Department shall deny the
request to opt-in to the NOX Budget Trading Program.  

f.  Allocations to opt-in units.

1.  Under no circumstances shall any allocation to
any unit under Section 14(f) of this regulation necessitate
adjustments to the allocation to any other NOX Budget Unit.

2.  By April 1 immediately before the first control
period for which any NOX Budget permit becomes
effective, and April 1 of each year thereafter, the Department
shall submit to the Administrator an allocation for the next
control period in accordance with Section 14(f)(3) of this
regulation.

3.  Except as provided for in Section 3(b)(6) of this
regulation (pertaining to retired units), each Opt-in unit shall
receive an annual allocation calculated as follows:

i.  The Department shall determine the heat
input (in MMBTU) as the lesser of:

A.  The Opt-in unit's baseline heat input
determined pursuant to Section 14(c)(1)(ii) of this
regulation; or 

B.  The Opt-in unit's heat input for the
control period in the year prior to the year of the control
period for which the NOX allocations are being calculated,
as determined in accordance with Section 8 of this
regulation. 

ii.  The Department shall allocate NOX
allowances to the Opt-in unit in an amount equaling the heat
input (in MMBTU) determined under Section 14(f)(3)(i) of
this regulation multiplied by the lesser of:

A.  The Opt-in unit's baseline NOX
emissions rate (in lb/MMBTU) calculated pursuant to
Section 14(c)(1)(ii) of this regulation; or

B.  The lowest NOX emissions limitation
(in terms of lb/MMBTU) that is applicable during the control
period to the Opt-in unit under State or Federal law or
regulation, regardless of the averaging period to which the
emissions limitation applies.

g.  In the event that a Opt-in unit becomes a NOX
Budget unit under Sections 3(a)(1) of this regulation due to
modification, reconstruction, or any other reason:

1.  The NOX authorized account representative
shall, not later than 30 days after such change in the Opt-in
unit's regulatory status, notify in writing the Department and
the Administrator of such change in the Opt-in unit's
regulatory status.  This provision is in addition to, and does
not exempt or exclude any other State of Federal
requirement, including any requirement to secure or amend
any construction or operation permit under Regulation No. 2,
25, or 30 of the State of Delaware "Regulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution." 

2.  The Administrator shall deduct from the NOX
Budget unit's compliance account, or the associated
overdraft account, NOX allowances equal in number to and
allocated for the same or a prior control period as:

i.  Any NOX allowances allocated to the NOX
Budget unit under Section 14(g) of this regulation for any
control period after the last control period during which the
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unit's NOX Budget permit was effective; and
ii.  If the effective date the NOX Budget unit

becomes subject to Section 14(g) of this regulation is during
a control period, the NOX allowances allocated to the NOX
Budget unit under Section 14(f) of this regulation for that
control period multiplied by the ratio of the number of days
remaining in the control period, starting with the date the
NOX Budget unit becomes subject to Section 14(g) of this
regulation, divided by 153.

iii.  If the compliance account or overdraft
account does not contain sufficient NOX allowances, the
Administrator shall deduct the required number of NOX
allowances, regardless of the control period for which they
were allocated, whenever NOX allowances are recorded in
either account.

Section 15 - General Accounts
a.  Any person may apply to open a general account for

the purpose of holding and transferring NOX allowances by
submitting to the Administrator an application to establish a
general account.  Such application:

1.  Shall designate one and only one NOX
authorized account representative, and may designate one
and only one alternate NOX authorized account
representative.  Such NOX authorized account
representative and any alternate NOX authorized account
representative shall be selected by an agreement between all
of the persons who have an ownership interest with respect
to allowances held in the general account, that is binding on
such persons.  Such agreement shall include a procedure for
authorizing any alternate NOX authorized account
representative to act in lieu of the NOX authorized account
representative.

2.  Shall include all of the following information in
a format specified by the Administrator:

i.  At the option of the NOX authorized account
representative, the organization name and the type of
organization;

ii.  The name, mailing address, e-mail address
(if any), telephone number, and facsimile transmission
number (if any) of the NOX authorized account
representative and any alternate NOX authorized account
representative.

iii.  A list of all persons subject to a binding
agreement for the NOX authorized account representative or
any alternate NOX authorized account representative to
represent their ownership interest with respect to the
allowances held in the general account.

iv.  The following certification statement by
the NOX authorized account representative and any alternate
NOX authorized account representative:  "I certify that I was
selected as the NOX authorized account representative or the
alternate NOX authorized account representative, as
applicable, by an agreement that is binding on all persons

who have an ownership interest with respect to allowances
held in the general account.  I certify that I have all the
necessary authority to carry out my duties and
responsibilities under the NOX Budget Trading Program on
behalf of such persons and that each such person shall be
fully bound by my representations, actions, inactions, or
submissions and by any order or decision issued to me by the
Administrator or a court regarding the general account."

v.  The signature of the NOX authorized
account representative and any alternate NOX authorized
account representative, and the date(s) the account certificate
of representation was signed.

3.  Shall not include, unless otherwise required by
the Administrator, documents of agreement referred to in the
application to establish a general account.  If submitted, the
Administrator shall not be under any obligation to review or
evaluate the sufficiency of such documents.

b.  Upon receipt by the Administrator of a complete
application for a general account under Section 15(a) of this
regulation:

1.  The NOX authorized account representative for
the general account shall represent and, by his or her
representations, actions, inactions, or submissions, legally
bind each person who has an ownership interest with respect
to NOX allowances held in the general account in all matters
pertaining to the NOX Budget Trading Program, not
withstanding any agreement between the NOX authorized
account representative and such person.  Any such person
shall be bound by any order or decision issued to the NOX
authorized account representative by the Administrator or a
court regarding the general account

2.  Any representation, action, inaction, or
submission by the alternate NOX authorized account
representative shall be deemed to be a representation, action,
inaction, or submission by the NOX authorized account
representative.

3.  The Administrator shall rely on the application
submitted pursuant to Section 15(a) of this regulation unless
and until the Administrator receives a superseding complete
application for a general account changing the NOX
authorized account representative or alternate NOX
authorized account representative.  Notwithstanding any
such change, all representations, actions, inactions, and
submissions by the previous NOX authorized account
representative or alternate NOX authorized account
representative prior to the time and date when the
Administrator receives the superseding application for a
general account shall be binding on the new NOX authorized
account representative and alternate NOX authorized
account representative and the persons with an ownership
interest with respect to the allowances in the general
account.

4.  Except as provided in Section 15(b)(3) of this
regulation, no objection or other communication submitted
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to the Administrator concerning the authorization, or any
representation, action, inaction, or submission of the NOX
authorized account representative or the alternate NOX
authorized account representative for a general account shall
affect any representation, action, inaction, or submission of
the NOX authorized account representative or the alternate
NOX authorized account representative, or the finality of
any decision or order by the Administrator under the NOX
Budget Trading Program.

5.  The Administrator will not adjudicate any
private legal dispute concerning the authorization or any
representation, action, inaction, or submission of any NOX
authorized account representative or the alternate NOX
authorized account representative for a general account.

c.  Changes in Persons having Ownership Interest in any
General Account.

1.  Within 30 days following any change in the
persons having an ownership interest with respect to NOX
allowances in the general account, including the addition of
persons, the NOX authorized account representative or any
alternate NOX authorized account representative shall
submit a revision to the application for a general account
amending the list of persons having an ownership interest
with respect to the NOX allowances in the general account to
include the change. 

2.  In the event a new person having an ownership
interest with respect to NOX allowances in the general
account is not included in the list of such persons in the
account certificate of representation, such new person shall
be deemed to be subject to and bound by the account
certificate of representation, the representation, actions,
inactions, and submissions of the NOX authorized account
representative and any alternate NOx authorized account
representative of the source or unit, and the decisions,
orders, actions, and inactions of the Administrator, as if the
new person were included in such list. 

d.  Submissions/Certifications.  
1.  The NOX authorized account representative or

the alternate NOX authorized account representative shall
sign and certify all submissions under the NOX Budget
trading program with the following certification statement:
"I am authorized to make this submission on behalf of the
persons having an ownership interest with respect to the
NOx allowances held in the general account. I certify under
penalty of law that I have personally examined, and am
familiar with, the statements and information submitted in
this document and all its attachments. Based on my inquiry
of those individuals with primary responsibility for obtaining
the information, I certify that the statements and information
are to the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate,
and complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties
for submitting false statements and information or omitting
required statements and information, including the
possibility of fine or imprisonment."

2.  The Administrator shall accept or act on any
submission made under the NOX Budget Trading program
only if that submission has been made, signed, and certified
in accordance with Section 15(d)(1) of this regulation.

e.  Closing of general accounts.
1.  The NOX authorized account representative of a

general account may instruct the Administrator to close the
account by submitting a statement requesting deletion of the
account from the NATS and by correctly submitting for
recordation under Section 10 of this regulation a request to
transfer all NOX allowances held in the account to one or
more other NATS accounts. 

2.  If a general account shows no activity for a
period of a year or more and does not contain any NOX
allowances, the Administrator may notify the NOX
authorized account representative for the account that the
account will be closed and deleted from the NATS following
20 business days after the notice is sent.  The account will be
closed after the 20-day period unless before the end of the
20-day period the Administrator receives a correctly
submitted transfer of NOX allowances into the account
under Section 10 of this regulation or a statement submitted
by the NOX authorized account representative
demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Administrator good
cause as to why the account should not be closed.

Appendix "A"

Allowance Allocations to NOX Budget Units under 
Section 3(a)(1)(i) and 3(a)(1)(ii) of Regulation No. 39

a.  The State trading program budget allocated by the
Department to NOX Budget units identified in Section
3(a)(1) of Regulation No. 39 shall equal 5,227 tons of NOX
emissions for each NOX control period, beginning with the
year 2003 control period.  Table 1 of this Appendix "A"
identifies the NOX Budget units that receive an allocation,
and the size of that allocation.  NOX Budget units identified
in Section 3(a)(1) of Regulation No. 39 that are not
identified in Table 1 do not receive an allocation.  

b.  Individual unit allocations identified in Table 1 of
this Appendix "A" were determined as follows:

1.  The unit's base heat input was determined as the
average of the units two highest heat inputs for May through
September of any of the four years 1995, 1996, 1997, and
1998.   Where a unit had heat input during May through
September in only one of the years 1995 though 1998, and
had zero heat input during May through September of the
other three years, that units base heat input was determined
as the heat input during the non zero year.

2.  The unit's base heat input determined in Section
(b)(1) of this Appendix "A" was multiplied by a NOX
emissions rate factor, and divided by 2000 lb/ton..  NOX
emissions rate factor's used were:
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i.  For any unit that serves a generator with a
nameplate capacity of 15 MWe or greater, but less than 25
MWe, the unit's actual average 1996 ozone season NOX
emission rate, in lb/MMBTU.

ii.  For any unit that serves a generator with a
nameplate capacity of 25 MWe or greater, 0.15 lb/MMBTU.

iii.  For any unit that does not serve a
generator, 0.l7 lb/MMBTU.

3.  The tonnage determined in Section (b)(2) of this
Appendix "A" for all subject units were added together.

4.  For each subject unit, the tonnage determined in
Section (b)(2) of this Appendix "A" was divided by the
tonnage determined in Section (b)(3) of this Appendix "A".

5.  The allocation to each subject unit was
determined as the product of the factor determined in Section
(b)(4) of this Appendix "A" and the state trading program
budget identified in Section (a) of this Appendix "A",
rounded to the nearest whole ton.

c.  Any NOX Budget unit that receives an allocation
under this Appendix "A" shall continue to receive that
allocation for each control period unless and until such time
as the Department revises this Appendix "A" pursuant to 7
Del. C., Chapter 60, and submits that revision to the
Administrator as a revision to Delaware's State
Implementation Plan.

d.  Timing requirements for allocations.
1.  No later than sixty (60) days after the effective

date of Regulation No. 39, the Department shall submit to
the Administrator allocations in accordance with this
Appendix "A" for the 2003, 2004, and 2005 control periods.

2.  By April 1, 2003 and April 1 of each year

thereafter, the Department shall submit to the Administrator
allocations in accordance with this Appendix "A" for the
control period in the year that is three years after the year of
the applicable deadline for submission under Section (d)(2)
of Appendix "A".  If the Department fails to submit to the
Administrator the allocations in accordance with this Section
(d)(2), the Administrator shall allocate, for the applicable
control period, the same number of allocations as were
allocated for the preceding control period.

Table 1 - Individual Unit Allocations

1995 1996 1997 1998 NOx
Heat Input Heat Input Heat Input Heat Input Emission Rate

OPERATOR PLANT UNIT (MMBTU) (MMBTU) (MMBTU) (MMBTU) (lb/MMBTU) Allocation

D-FD MCKEE RUN 1 0 50446 87701 100459 0.368 19
D-FD MCKEE RUN 2 386706 59928 94926 128866 0.368 53
D-FD MCKEE RUN 3 1336784 957093 975350 1479802 0.15 119
D-FD VAN SANT 1 61900 45590 51702 93782 0.15 7

FIRST STATE FIRST STATE 127 642482 331239 802817 703689 0.614 259
CONECTIV CHRISTIANA SUB 11 54550 15889 36385 56658 0.15 5
CONECTIV CHRISTIANA SUB 14 54067 18804 30481 78256 0.15 6
CONECTIV DELAWARE CITY 10 10962 3389 14401 1721 0.698 5
CONECTIV EDGE MOOR 3 2620203 2545577 2930860 2409740 0.15 234
CONECTIV EDGE MOOR 4 3716664 4772838 4069197 4731992 0.15 400
CONECTIV EDGE MOOR 5 6395496 6634821 5502246 7638136 0.15 601
CONECTIV EDGE MOOR 10 12039 7550 8953 4330 0.698 4
CONECTIV MADISON STREET 10 8239 9830 5787 5328 0.698 4
CONECTIV WEST SUBSTATION 10 21026 5094 11599 16191 0.698 7
CONECTIV HAY ROAD 1 2841727 2563987 1491606 1665519 0.15 227
CONECTIV HAY ROAD 2 2229278 2877121 831204 1829101 0.15 215
CONECTIV HAY ROAD 3 596599 2684517 1343486 1684822 0.15 184

MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 2 1022582 1248427 1298731 1286865 0.17 123
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 105 0 661482 939273 1100754 0.17 97
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 12 1563456 1364509 1401081 1501642 0.17 146
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 19 158563 215049 0 0 0.17 18
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 34 1008710 1177668 1263378 1151553 0.17 116
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 67 492647 1120816 1465546 1960436 0.15 144
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 68 1827653 1834264 1963920 1577947 0.15 160
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 69 1878837 1865021 1891042 1660522 0.15 159
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 70 1825849 1933117 1905578 1806235 0.15 162
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 72 1249817 0 0 0 0.17 119
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY 74 1340710 1340142 1507433 1524650 0.17 145
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY CT 0 0 0 0 0.15 0
MOTIVA DELAWARE CITY CT 0 0 0 0 0.15 0

CONECTIV INDIAN RIVER 1 2346108 1891753 1862828 2095177 0.15 187
CONECTIV INDIAN RIVER 2 1738093 2176161 2226615 2371839 0.15 193
CONECTIV INDIAN RIVER 3 3789624 3827660 4216963 4520919 0.15 368
CONECTIV INDIAN RIVER 4 8304494 8250941 6635691 8975537 0.15 727
CONECTIV INDIAN RIVER 10 29472 11931 28745 43603 0.698 14

Total 5227
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Appendix "B"

Regulation No. 37 - Regulation No. 39 Program 
Transition

a.  Individual Unit Opt-ins.  The Department may
require any unit that is an opt-in unit under Regulation No.
37 of Delaware's "Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution" to be an opt-in unit under Section 14 of
Regulation No. 39 of Delaware's "Regulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution."

b.  Penalties.  For any NOX Budget unit under
Regulation No. 37 of Delaware's "Regulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution" that has excess emissions
following the year 2002 control period, the Administrator
shall deduct from the unit's compliance account or the
overdraft account of the source where the unit is located a
number of NOX allowances, allocated for the 2003 or
subsequent control periods, equal to three times the number
of the unit's excess emissions in the 2002 control period.

c.  Regulation No. 37 transition allocation.  Any
Delaware source that holds, in its Regulation No. 37
compliance account, NOX allowances that were allocated
for the year 2000, 2001, or 2002 control periods under the
OTC NOX Budget program (i.e., Regulation No. 37 of
Delaware's "Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution") and that were not used or required to be used for
compliance with the requirements of Regulation No. 37 for
the 2002 or prior control period,  may be eligible for a
special, one-time "transition allocation."

1.  An application for a transition allocation under
Section (c) of this Appendix "B" shall be submitted to the
Department no later than March 1, 2003, and shall include
all of the following information:

i.  Identification of the affected NOX Budget
source and NOX Budget unit;

ii.  Identification of the quantity of NOX
allowances remaining in the unit's Regulation No. 37
compliance account as of February 1, 2003;

iii.  Identification by serial number of all NOX
allowances remaining in the unit's Regulation No. 37
compliance account as of February 1, 2003; and

iv.  Certification by the NOX authorized
account representative consistent with Section 6(d) of
Regulation No. 39.

2.  Not later than April 1, 2003, the Department
shall approve or deny any request received under Section
(c)(1) of this Appendix "B".

i.  For any request that is approved, the
Department shall notify the NOX authorized account
representative, and shall submit to the Administrator an
allocation to the NOX Budget unit's compliance account in
accordance with the provisions of Section (c)(3) of  this
Appendix "B".

ii.  For any request that is not accurate or

submitted in accordance with Section (c)(1) of  this
Appendix "B", the Department shall notify the NOX
authorized account representative that the request is denied,
including the reason(s) for any denial.

3.  Any NOX authorized account representative
whose request is approved under Section (c)(2)(i) of this
Appendix "B" shall receive a transition allocation as follows:

i.  If the total number of allocations requested,
and as approved by the Department, totaled among all
Delaware NOX Budget units is 168 or less the Department
shall allocate to each subject unit their requested allocation.

ii.  If the total number of allocations requested,
and as approved by the Department, totaled among all
Delaware NOX Budget units is greater than 168, the
Department shall allocate to each subject unit according to
the following formula:

Unit's allocation = [(Unit's requested and approved
allocation)/ (Total number of requested and
approved allocations among all Delaware sources)]
X (168)

where: "Unit's requested and approved allocation"
is the number allocations requested by the unit's
NOX authorized account representative and
approved by the Department in accordance Section
(c)(2)(i) of this Appendix "B".

"Total number of requested and approved
allocations among all Delaware sources" is the sum
total of all allocations requested in accordance with
Section (c)(1) of this Appendix "B", and approved
by the Department in accordance with Section
(c)(2)(i) of this Appendix "B", among all Delaware
sources..

"Unit's allocation" shall be whole number, with all
fractional allocations rounded down to the next
whole number.

4.  No later than May 1, 2003, the Department shall
submit to the Administrator for recordation the allocations
determined under Section (c) of this Appendix "B". 

5.  Allocations recorded under Section (c)(4) of this
Appendix "B" may be deducted for compliance under
Section 12 of this regulation for the control periods in 2003
or 2004.  The Administrator shall deduct as retired any NOX
allowance that is recorded under Section (c)(4) of this
Appendix "B" and is not deducted for compliance in
accordance with Section 12 Regulation No. 39 for the 2003
or 2004 control period.

6.  NOX allowances recorded under Section (c)(4)
of this Appendix "B" shall be treated as banked allowances
in 2004.
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d.  To provide for the transition from the program
established under Regulation No. 37 to the program
established under this Regulation No. 39; for any NOX
Budget unit that is subject to both Regulation No. 37 and
Regulation No. 39, the Department may allow that unit to
comply with any requirement of Regulation No. 39 in lieu of
any substantially equivalent requirement of Regulation No.
37.  Such requirements may include, but are not limited to
permitting, record keeping, monitoring, and reporting
requirements.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

STATE EXAMINING BOARD OF PHYSICAL 
THERAPISTS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Section 2604 (24 Del.C. §2604)

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted
Written Comments

The Delaware Physical Therapy Association submitted
written comments addressing the proposed rules and
regulations.  The written comments were contained in a
letter dated August 3, 2000, signed by Erik Van Doorne,
P.T., President of the Delaware Physical Therapy
Association.  The letter was received by the Division of
Professional Regulation on August 7, 2000, and is attached
herein as “Exhibit A.”  The following is a summary of the
proposed changes mentioned in the letter:

1.  A recommendation was made to clarify the provision
in Section 1.1.3 of the Rules and Regulations that says, “A
prescription accompanying a patient must not be
substantially modified without documented consultation
with the referring practitioner.”  The letter suggested that
this provision be clarified in regards to prescriptions which
may be satisfied by generic means.  The letter also suggested
that prescriptions which simply state “evaluate and treat” be

clarified in regards to this provision.  
2.   A recommendation was made to reclassify the

references to direct supervision in Sections 1.2.2, 1.2.3,
1.2.5, and 1.2.7 into several other classes of supervision.
The letter suggested that a physical therapist not be allowed
to supervise more than 2 people at a time.  A suggestion was
also made to include aides and students into any supervision
ratio. 

3.  A recommendation was made that certain skilled
treatment interventions not be allowed to be performed by
certain physical therapy aides as permitted under Sections
5.1.1., 5.1.3, 5.1.8, and 5.1.10.  The letter also suggested that
support personnel not be allowed to perform ambulation and
transfers.

4.  A recommendation was made not to remove the
requirement that CEU be completed from various categories.
Mr. Everett Fitzgerald, P.T., submitted written comments
addressing the proposed rules and regulations.  The written
comments were contained in a letter dated August 3, 2000,
signed by Everett Fitzgerald, P.T., Clinical Manager at
Christiana Care Health Services.  The letter was received by
the Division of Professional Regulation on August 9, 2000,
and is attached herein as “Exhibit B.”  The following is a
summary of the proposed changes mentioned in the letter:

1.  A recommendation was made to consider
whether Advanced Practice Nurses are included with those
practitioners who have the authority to prescribe physical
therapy in Section 1.1.3.

2. A recommendation was made to include the
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following in the Board’s rules and regulations: professions
which are represented in the Board, the frequency of Board
elections, the nomination procedure for Board candidates,
the experience required of Board candidates, and the time
and place Board meeting notices are posted for public
review. 

Mr. Joseph A. Lucca, P.T., Ph. D., submitted written
comments addressing the proposed rules and regulations.
The written comments were contained in a letter dated
August 14, 2000, signed by Joseph A. Lucca, P.T., Ph. D.,
Associate Professor at the University of Delaware.  The
letter was received by the Division of Professional
Regulation on August 14, 2000, and is attached herein as
“Exhibit C.”  Dr. Lucca suggested that “sharp wound
debridement and manipulation techniques” be added to the
list of prohibited activities for Physical Therapy Assistants in
Section 3.0 of the Rules and Regulations.  Dr. Lucca
explained that these treatments are among the most
sophisticated tools used by physical therapists and that they
require a great deal of training.

Sworn Testimony

Mr. Erik Van Doorne, P.T., offered testimony consistent
with his written comments.

Ms. Kathy Ciolek, P.T.,  offered testimony that a
supervision ratio including aides and students be established.
Ms. Ciolek asked that the Board prescribe a definite number
of persons that Physical Therapists were allowed to
supervise in order to provide guidance to practitioners.  Ms.
Ciolek also suggested that the phrase “direct supervision” in
Sections in 1.2 not apply to all Physical Therapist Assistants,
Athletic Trainers, and support personnel.  Ms. Ciolek
suggested  that different levels of supervision be correlated
to the different persons to which they apply. 

Mr. Joseph Lucca, P.T., Ph. D., offered testimony
consistent with his written comments.  Mr. Lucca later
withdrew his suggestion that sharp wound debridement be
included in Section 3.0.

Findings of Fact

1.  Pursuant to 24 Del. C. § 2604(1), the Delaware State
Examining Board of Physical Therapists (the "Board")
proposed to revise to its rules and regulations as more
specifically set forth in the Hearing Notice which is attached
hereto as Exhibit "D" and incorporated herein.

2.  Pursuant to 29 Del. C. § 10115, notice was given to
the public that a hearing would be held on August 15, 2000,
at 6:00 p.m. in the Second Floor Conference Room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware to consider the proposed revision.  Notice was
posted in two Delaware newspapers of general circulation as
more specifically set forth in the affidavits which are

attached hereto as Exhibits "E" and “F” and incorporated
herein.

3.  The notice invited the public to submit written
comments regarding the proposed revision.

4.  A hearing was held on August 15, 2000, at which a
quorum of the State Examining Board of Physical Therapists
was present.

5.  The Board finds that the suggested changes to
Section 1.1.3 are unnecessary as the Board is not charged
with determining those persons who have prescriptive
authority under Delaware Law.  The Board finds the
suggested amendments concerning Board composition and
procedures are already described in 24 Del. C. Chapter 26.

6.  The Board finds that the suggested change to Section
3.0 concerning Physical Therapy Assistants is unnecessary.
The Board finds that the performance of manipulations
would be in conflict with current provisions of 24 Del. C. §
2602 and Section 3.0 of the Rules and Regulations.

7.  The Board finds it unnecessary to further clarify
prescriptions which state “generic may be substituted” and
“evaluate and treat”.  The Board finds that those
prescriptions should be interpreted as stated. 

8.  The Board finds that the current ratio of supervision
and the definitions of “direct supervision” in the Rules and
Regulations to be adequate for the protection of the public.

9.  The Board finds that infrared and ultrasound are
treatments that can be performed by support personnel.

10.  The Board finds it unnecessary to adopt the
suggested limitations on each category of continuing
education. 11.  The State Examining Board of Physical
Therapists finds the proposed revisions serve to implement
or clarify specific sections of 24 Del. C. Chapter 26 .

Text and Citation

The text of the Rules and Regulations hereby
promulgated are as it appeared in the Delaware Register of
Regulations, Vol. 4,  Issue 1 (July 1, 2000).  The  text is
attached hereto in “Exhibit D” with the changes noted.

Decision

After consideration of the verbal and written comments
received, the Board has decided to change Sections 1.5.21,
5.1.1, and 5.1.3 of the Proposed Rules and Regulations.  The
proposed changes to these Sections will be published in the
Register of Regulations and the Board will proceed to a
public hearing in accordance with the Delaware
Administrative Procedures Act.  The remainder of the
Proposed Rules and Regulations have been passed by the
Board.

NOW, THEREFORE, based on the State Examining
Board of Physical Therapists’ authority to formulate rules
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and regulations pursuant to 24 Del. C. § 2604(1), it is the
decision of the State Examining Board of Physical
Therapists to adopt the proposed revision of its rules and
with the exception of Sections 1.5.21, 5.1.1, and 5.1.3.  A
copy of the rules and regulations is attached hereto as
Exhibit "D" and incorporated herein.  Such regulations shall
be effective ten days after the date this Order is published in
its final form in the Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this ______ day of August, 2000.   

Delaware State Examining Board Of Physical Therapists

Phillip N. Barkins, President
Carolyn Cotter, Vice-President
Tara J. Manal, Secretary
Phyllis Collins
Lynn M. Doherty
Faith K. Hannagan
Roger Hunt
Danna Levy
Kathy Watson

ATTEST:
Susan Miccio, Administrative Assistant to the Board

This is to certify that the above and foregoing is a true
and correct copy of the Order of the Delaware State
Examining Board of Physical Therapists in the Matter of
Adoption of Regulations.

1.0     Scope and Objectives
2.0     Definitions
3.0     Board
4.0     Physical Therapists
5.0     Physical Therapist Assistants
6.0     Athletic Trainers
7.0     Physical Therapy Aides
8.0     Admission to Practice:  License by Examination
9.0     Continuing Education Units
10.0   Admission to Practice:  License by Reciprocity
11.0   Temporary Licensure
12.0   Foreign Trained Applicant for Licensure
13.0   Reactivation of Licensure
14.0   Disciplinary Action
15.0   Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically

Dependent or Impaired Professionals

1.0  Scope and Objectives
Under 24 Del.C. Ch. 26 (The Practice Act), a State

Examining Board of Physical Therapists is created to meet
the following objectives:

1.1  to protect the general public,
1.2  to maintain minimum standards of practitioner

competency, and
1.3  to maintain certain standards in the delivery of

service to the public.
The Board regulates the practice of Physical Therapists

(PTs), Physical Therapist Assistants (PTAs) and Athletic
Trainers (ATs) in the State of Delaware.

2.0  Definitions
2.1  The definition of “Physical Therapy” by Delaware

Law is provided by the Practice Act, 24 Del.C. §2602(1).
Physical Therapy includes the performance and
interpretation of tests and measurements of bodily function
as an aid in the examination, evaluation or treatment of any
human conditions.  Physical therapy does not include the
practice of Athletic Training as defined in 24 Del.C. §2602.

2.2  Physical Therapist or PT means a person who is
licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 26 to practice Physical
Therapy.

2.3  Consultation
2.3.1  Consultation in direct access.  A physician

must be consulted if a patient is still receiving physical
therapy after 30 calendar days have lapsed from the date of
the initial assessment.  This consultation must be
documented and could take place at any time during the
initial thirty day period.  The consultation can be made by
telephone, fax, in writing, or in person.  There is nothing in
these rules and regulations or in the Physical Therapy Law
that limits the number of consultations the physical therapist
can make on the patient’s behalf.  The consult should be with
the patient’s personal physician.  If the patient does not have
a personal physician, the physical therapist is to offer the
patient at least three physicians from which to choose.  The
referral to a physician after the initial thirty day period must
not be in conflict with 24 Del.C. §2616(a)(8) of this chapter
which deals with referral for profit.  If no physician consult
has been made in this initial thirty day period then treatment
must be terminated.  A patient is not to receive physical
therapy from the same practitioner, for the original
complaint, during the 6 months following discharge unless
he or she has a physician referral.

2.3.2  Consultation with written prescription from a
physician, dentist, podiatrist, or chiropractor.  A prescription
accompanying a patient must not be substantially modified
without documented consultation with the referring
practitioner.  The consultation can be made by telephone,
fax, in writing, or in person.

2.4  Direct supervision in connection with a PT
practicing under a temporary license means:

2.4.1  a licensed PT supervisor shall be on the
premises when the individual with a temporary license is
practicing and 

2.4.2  evaluations and progress notes written by the
individual with a temporary license shall be co-signed by the
licensed PT supervisor.
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2.5  Physical Therapist Assistant or PTA means a person
who is licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 26 to assist licensed
Physical Therapists.

2.6  Supervision
2.6.1  Direct supervision in relation to a PTA with

less than one (1) year experience means a PT shall be on the
premises at all times and see each patient.

2.6.2  Direct supervision in relation to a PTA with
one (1) year or more experience means that a PTA must
receive on-site, face to face supervision at least once every
fifth treatment day or once every three weeks, whichever
occurs first.  The supervising PT must have at least one (1)
year clinical experience.  The PT must be available and
accessible by telecommunications to the PTA during all
working hours of the PTA.

2.6.3  The PT is responsible for the actions of the
PTA when under his/her supervision.  All supervision must
be documented.

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)
2.7  The definition of “Athletic Training” by Delaware

Law is provided by the Practice Act, 24 Del.C. §2602(4).
Athletic Training means and includes:

2.7.1  prevention of athletic injuries,
2.7.2  recognition and evaluation of athletic

injuries,
2.7.3  management, treatment, and disposition of

athletic injuries,
2.7.4  rehabilitation of athletic injuries,
2.7.5  organization and administration of athletic

training programs, and
2.7.6  education and counseling of athletes

regarding a program(s) of athletic training.
2.7.7  Athletic Training shall also include

prevention, conditioning, and reconditioning of non-athletic
injuries as defined by law and in regulation by the Board.

2.8  Athletic Trainer or AT means a person who is
licensed under Ch. 26 and is defined by the Practice Act 24
Del.C. §2602(5).

2.9  Direct supervision in connection with an AT means
a PT shall be on the premises at all times in a clinical setting
and see every patient.

2.10  On site or on premises, in connection with
supervision of a PTA or AT, means that the PTA or AT must
be in the same physical building as the supervising PT.  On
site or on premises does not refer to attached buildings.

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)
2.11  Physical Therapy Aide or aide or technician

means a person who performs certain routine, designated
physical therapy tasks under the direct supervision of a
licensed physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.
There shall be documented evidence of sufficient inservice
training to assure safe performance of the duties assigned to
the aide. 

2.12  Direct supervision in connection with an aide

means a licensed physical therapist or physical therapist
assistant shall be personally present and immediately
available within the treatment area to give aid, direction, and
instruction when procedures are performed.

2.13  Unprofessional Conduct.  A Physical Therapist,
PTA, or AT whose behavior fails to conform to legal
standards and accepted standards of their profession, and
who thus may adversely affect the health and welfare of the
public, may be found guilty of unprofessional conduct.  Such
unprofessional conduct shall include, but not be limited to,
the following:

2.13.1  Assuming duties within the practice of
physical therapy or athletic training without adequate
preparation or supervision or when competency has not been
maintained.

2.13.2  The PT who knowingly allows a PTA to
perform prohibited activities may be guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

2.13.3  The PTA who knowingly performs
prohibited activities may be guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)
2.13.4  Performing new physical therapy or athletic

training techniques or procedures without proper education
and practice or without proper supervision.

2.13.5  Failing to take appropriate action or to
follow policies and procedures in the practice situation
designed to safeguard the patient.  

2.13.6  Inaccurate recording, falsifying, or altering
a patient or facility record.

2.13.7  Committing any act of verbal, physical,
mental or sexual abuse of patients.

2.13.8  Assigning untrained persons to perform
functions which are detrimental to patient safety, for which
they are not adequately trained or supervised, or which are
not authorized under these rules and regulations.

2.13.9  Failing to supervise individuals to whom
physical therapy tasks have been delegated.

2.13.10  Failing to safeguard the patient’s dignity
and right to privacy in providing services regardless of race,
color, creed and status.

2.13.11  Violating the confidentiality of
information concerning the patient.

2.13.12  Failing to take appropriate action in
safeguarding the patient from incompetent health care
practice.

2.13.13  Practicing physical therapy as a PT or PTA
or athletic training as a trainer when unfit to perform
procedures or unable to make decisions because of physical,
psychological, or mental impairment.

2.13.14  Practicing as a PT, PTA or AT when
physical or mental ability to practice is impaired by alcohol
or drugs.

2.13.15  Diverting drugs, supplies or property of a
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patient or a facility.
2.13.16  Practicing physical therapy or athletic

training as a PT or AT and/or practicing under the
supervision of a PT as a PTA or AT when a license has
expired.

2.13.17  Allowing another person to use his license.
2.13.18  Resorting to fraud, misrepresentation, or

deceit in taking the licensing examination or obtaining a
license as a PT, PTA or AT.

2.13.19  Impersonating any applicant or acting as
proxy for the applicant in a PT, PTA, or AT licensing
examination.

2.13.20  Continues to treat a patient, who initiated
treatment without a formal referral, for longer than thirty
days without a physician consult.

2.13.21  Modifies a treatment prescription without
consulting referring physician.

2.13.22  Failing to comply with the mandatory
continuing education requirements of 24 Del.C. §2606(a)(4)
and section 9.0 of these rules and regulations.

2.14  Examination means the approved examination (see
section 8.3).

3.0  The State Examining Board of Physical Therapists
3.1  The Board shall consist of nine members who shall

be residents of Delaware and who shall be appointed by the
Governor.  A list of professional nominees shall be
submitted to the Governor by the President of the Delaware
Chapter of the American Physical Therapy Association
(APTA).  Each of the four PT Board members shall be a
licensed PT, have a least three years experience immediately
preceding his appointment, and be actively engaged in
Physical Therapy during his/her incumbency.  Three
members shall be consumers, one shall be a registered PTA
and one shall be a registered AT.

3.2  The Board shall be composed of a Chairperson,
Vice-Chairperson, Secretary, and six members.  Elections
shall be held annually.

3.3  Each member of the Board shall receive
compensation for each day actually engaged in the discharge
of his duties.  The compensation shall be a reasonable
amount based on the time spent on work pertaining to the
affairs of the Board in accordance with the limitations
imposed by the State.

3.4  The Board shall have the authority to review, revise,
adopt and administer the rules and regulations in accordance
with the Administrative Procedures Act, and shall have the
authority to perform the following:

3.4.1  Approval of qualified applicants for
examination and for reciprocity.

3.4.2  Issuance of licenses and registrations through
the Division of Professional Regulation to Applicants who
are qualified under these rules and regulations.

3.4.3  Refer to the Division of Professional

Regulation and assist in the investigation of individuals who
are charged with violation of legal, moral, or ethical
propriety.  The Board may refuse to grant or may revoke a
PT, PTA or AT license if the PT, PTA or AT:

3.4.3.1  has been found to misuse drugs or
alcohol;

3.4.3.2  has been convicted of a state or federal
law related to the use, sale or possession of drugs;

3.4.3.3  has obtained or attempted to obtain a
license by fraud or material misrepresentation; 

3.4.3.4  is guilty of any act derogatory to the
standing and ethics of the profession of Physical Therapy or
athletic training;

3.4.3.5  is unable to practice as a competent
PTA, AT or Physical Therapist because of a physical or
mental condition;

3.4.3.6  is guilty of unprofessional conduct;
3.4.3.7  otherwise violates 24 Del.C. Ch. 26.

3.5  The Administrative Assistant provided to the Board
by the Division of Professional Regulation shall maintain the
meeting records and a register of current valid licenses
which shall be available for public examination. The
Administrative Assistant shall also keep other records
pertinent to the operation of the Board.

3.6  Communication with the Delaware Chapter of the
APTA.  The Chairperson shall represent the Board at the
Chapter’s official meeting.  The AT member shall represent
the Board at NATA’s official meeting.

3.7  Performance of all other necessary acts consistent
with the Law to administer these rules and regulations and
enforce 24 Del.C. Ch. 26.

3.8  Specific duties of the officers:
3.8.1  The Chairperson:

3.8.1.1  Shall call meetings of the Board at
lease twice a year.  A majority of the Board shall have the
authority to call a meeting.

3.8.1.2  Shall arrange for the location of the
examination and appoint a proctor with the approval of the
Division of Professional Regulation.

3.8.1.3  Shall represent the Board in all official
functions and act as Board spokesperson.

3.8.2  The Vice-Chairperson:
3.8.2.1  Shall substitute for the Chairperson

during the officer’s absence.
3.8.2.2  Shall maintain a file on amendments to

the regulations.
3.8.2.3  Shall receive information (in

conjunction with the Administrative Assistant).
3.8.3  The Secretary:

3.8.3.1  Shall perform clerical duties of
processing applications, requesting required information for
reciprocity and administering the examinations.

3.8.3.2  Shall maintain a liaison with the
Division of Professional Regulation, which provides
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services of printing, mailing and record keeping.
3.8.3.3  Shall receive information from the

applicant for granting a license for the applicant.
3.8.3.4  Shall compile the Board’s decisions

and take action on the decisions as the Board requests.
3.8.3.5  Shall be responsible together with the

Division of Professional Regulation for the preparation,
communication, and distribution of official forms used in the
operations of the Board.

3.8.3.6  Shall arrange reviews of foreign-
trained applicants.

4.0  Physical Therapists
The Physical Therapy license issued to qualified

professionals does permit them to treat any person.

5.0  Physical Therapist Assistants
The PTA may treat patients only under the direction of a

PT as defined in Section 2.2.  The PTA may perform
physical therapy procedures and related tasks that have been
selected and delegated by the supervising PT.  The PTA may
administer treatment with therapeutic exercise, massage,
mechanical devices, and therapeutic agents that use the
properties of air, water, electricity, sound or light.  The PTA
may make minor modifications to treatment plans within the
predetermined plan of care, assist the PT with evaluations,
and document treatment progress.  The ability of the PTA to
perform the selected and delegated tasks shall be assessed by
the supervising PT.  The PTA shall not perform
interpretation of referrals, physical therapy evaluation and
reevaluation, major modification of the treatment plan, final
discharge of the patient, or therapeutic techniques beyond
the skill and knowledge of the PTA or without proper
supervision.

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)

6.0  Athletic Trainers
6.1  The athletic trainer functioning in the non-clinical

setting may evaluate, treat, and provide appropriate first aid
to injuries incurred by the athlete during participation in or
training for scholastic, professional, or sanctioned amateur
athletic activities.  All treatments for injuries to athletes
require a physician’s referral, except for minor sprains,
strains, and contusions, first aid excluded.  Evaluation and/or
treatment by the athletic trainer to supportive staff,
spectators, and other persons other than the athlete shall be
limited to first aid.  An athletic trainer functioning in a
clinical setting may use therapeutic exercises and modalities
such as heat, cold, light, air, massage, water, sound, and
electricity, for the treatment of musculoskeletal injuries.  The
athletic trainer may also provide first aid in the clinical
setting.  All treatment by the athletic trainer in a clinical
setting must be performed while under the direct, on-site
supervision of a physical therapist.  The AT may make

minor modifications to treatment plans within the
predetermined plan of care, assist the PT with evaluations,
and document treatment progress.  The ability of the AT to
perform the selected and delegated tasks shall be assessed by
the supervising AT.  The athletic trainer in a clinical setting
may not independently initiate, modify, or discharge a
patient’s program.

6.2  The PT who knowingly allows an AT to perform
prohibited activities may be guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

6.3  At no time may a PT supervise more than 2 PTAs, 2
ATs or 1 PTA and 1 AT.  A PT may only supervise 1 PTA
off site.  ATs must be supervised on site.  

7.0  PT Aides
7.1 Treatments which may be performed by aides under

direct supervision are:
7.1.1  gait practice and ambulation
7.1.2  functional activities
7.1.3  transfers
7.1.4  routine follow-up of specific exercises
7.1.5  hot or cold packs
7.1.6  whirlpool/Hubbard tank
7.1.7  contrast bath
7.1.8  infrared
7.1.9  paraffin bath
7.1.10  developmental stimulation
7.1.11  ultra sound

7.2  Exceptions - An aide may perform:
7.2.1  non-treatment related activities, such as

secretarial, clerical, and housekeeping duties without direct
supervision,

7.2.2  patient related activities that do not involve
treatment, including transporting patients, undressing and
dressing patients, and applying assistive and supportive
devices without direct supervision, and

7.2.3  set up and preparation of patients requiring
treatment using PT modalities.

7.3  Prohibited Activities - An aide may not perform:
7.3.1  evaluation, or
7.3.2  treatments other than those listed in Section

7.1.
7.4  The PT or PTA who knowingly allows a PT aide to

perform prohibited activities may be guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

7.5  An aide who violates these regulations shall be
considered by the Board to be practicing in violation of the
Practice Act.

8.0  Admission to Practice:  License by Examination
8.1  Applications, copies of the rules and regulations,

and copies of the Practice Act are available from the
Division of Professional Regulation.

8.2  Applicants for PT or PTA licensure shall not be
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admitted to the examination without the submission of the
following documents four weeks prior to the examination
date:

8.2.1  Professional Qualifications - proof of
graduation (official transcript) from an educational program
for the PT or PTA which is accredited by the appropriate
accrediting agency as set forth in the Practice Act. If the
applicant graduated from a school prior to 1936, the school
shall have been approved by the APTA at the time of
graduation.

8.2.2  A fee in check or money order payable to the
State of Delaware.

8.2.3  A completed application form.
8.3  Any United States citizen  taking the PT or PTA

exam must show legal proof of identity, such as a driver’s
license or passport.  The proof of identity must have a
picture and signature.  The Board may use the PT and PTA
examination endorsed by the APTA, the Federation of State
Boards of Physical Therapy or National Athletic Trainers
Association.  AT candidates must pass the Certification
Examination endorsed by National Athletic Trainers’
Association (NATA).  Uniform national test dates will be
used if available.

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)
8.4  All applicants for licensure as a PT or PTA must

successfully pass the examination described in Section 8.3 in
order to become eligible for licensure. The Board will adopt
the criterion-referenced passing point recommended by the
Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy.  The
passing  point shall be set to equal a scaled score of 600
based on a scale ranging from 200 to 800.  All sections of the
examination shall be passed.  In case of failure, the applicant
may take a second examination after submitting the
applicable fee.  Only sections failed must be repeated.  The
second examination shall be taken after six months and
within two years from the date of the first examination.  If
the applicant fails any subsequent examination, the applicant
must show satisfactory proof to the Board that he/she has
taken Board approved corrective action (e.g. refresher
course) before being allowed to take the examination again.

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)
8.5  Applicants for licensure as an AT must submit to

the Board the following:
8.5.1  Professional Qualifications - proof of

graduation (official transcript) from an educational program
accredited by the appropriate accrediting agency.

8.5.2  A passing grade on the Professional
Certification Examination as determined by the National
Athletic Trainers Association (NATA).

8.5.3  All sections of the examination shall be
passed.

8.5.4  A check or money order made payable to the
State of Delaware, as noted on the application form.

8.5.5  The completed application form.

8.6  Licenses shall expire biennially on every odd
numbered year.  The following items shall be submitted
upon application for renewal:

8.6.1  completed renewal application form
8.6.2  applicable fee, and
8.6.3  for individuals seeking relicensure, evidence

of continuing education courses as provided by Section 9.

9.0  Mandatory Continuing Education Units (CEU’s)
9.1  Three CEU’s are required for every biennial license

renewal for Physical Therapists, Physical Therapist
Assistants, and Athletic Trainers.  The  Continuing
Education Unit Activity Record (CEUAR) credits shall be
received at the Division of Professional Regulation, Dover,
Delaware, no later than November 1st every even numbered
year and shall be received every 2 years after such date.

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)
9.2  Individuals shall maintain the following items in

order to receive credit for CEU’s:
9.2.1  name of applicant seeking renewal
9.2.2  license classification (PT, PTA, AT)
9.2.3  license number of applicant 
9.2.4  proof of attendance at CEU course
9.2.5  date of CEU course
9.2.6  instructor(s) of CEU course
9.2.7  sponsor of CEU course
9.2.8  title of CEU course
9.2.9  number of hours of CEU course

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)
9.3  Continuing Education Regulations, 24 Del.C.

§2607.  Licenses shall expire biennially on January 1st and
may be renewed upon submission of a renewal application
provided by the Board and payment of a renewal fee along
with evidence of continuing education courses as may be
required by the rules and regulations set forth by the Board.
Each licensed Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist
Assistant and Athletic Trainer is responsible for continuing
his/her education so that professional skills are maintained in
accordance with the advancement of the profession.  The
purpose of this is to help Physical Therapists, Physical
Therapist Assistants and Athletic Trainers become more
efficient in achieving their objectives.

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)
9.3.1  For a licensee to renew a license,

documentation of three continuing education units over the
two year period immediately preceding application are
required for renewal.  CEU requirements shall be prorated
for new licensees if application is made by examination
only.  If the license is granted during the six month period
shown below, the following will be required for renewal:

Odd Numbered YearEven Numbered Year
1/1-  6/30   2.5 CEUs1/1-  6/30   1.5 CEUs
7/1-12/31   2.0 CEUs7/1-12/31     .5 CEUs
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Applicants who are issued licenses via
endorsements will be required to complete the full
requirements for continuing education units prior to the next
renewal time.

9.3.2  One CEU will be given for every 10 hours of
an approved continuing education course.  (1 contact hour =
.1 CEU).  Each course must include topics relevant to the
field of health care as it pertains to Physical Therapy or
Athletic Training.   Approval of CEU’s shall be within the
discretion of the State Examining Board of Physical
Therapists.  Continuing education units that have been
previously approved during the current licensing period by
another agency such as a national governing body or a fellow
state licensing board shall be acceptable to the Examining
Board for the State of Delaware as appropriate CEU’s.  Any
sponsors or licensees wishing to receive prior written
approval of CEU courses from the Examining Board must
complete a CEU Application Form.  CEU requirements may
not be carried over from one biennial period to the next one.

9.3.3  At the time of license renewal, the
appropriate forms will be supplied by the Board.  Proof of
attendance shall be enclosed by the licensee when requested
by the Board.  While course brochures may be used to verify
contact hours, they are not considered to be acceptable proof
for use of verification of course attendance.   The CEUAR
must be received by the Board no later than 60 days prior to
license expiration.  All licensees must complete and submit
to the Board the CEUAR.  If randomly selected, the licensee
must submit documentation of the CEU’s.  All questionable
CEUAR’s will be re-evaluated.

9.3.4  In the event a licensee shall fail to complete
the required credits at the end of the applicable period, the
Board may withhold issuance of a permanent license unless
the CEUAR required by Section 9.3.3 is accompanied by a
specific plan for making up the deficiency of necessary
credits  within 120 days after the date the CEUAR is signed
by the licensee.  The plan shall be deemed accepted by the
Board unless within  60 days after the receipt of the CEUAR
the Board notifies the licensee to the contrary.  Full
completion of the licensee’s plan shall be reported by
CEUAR not later than 15 days following the end of the 120
day period.  Failure to complete the specific plan within the
120 day period may result in the Board suspending the
license issued, following a hearing pursuant to the
Administrative Procedures Act,  for unprofessional conduct
as defined by Section 2.13.22.

9.3.5  The Board has the power to waive any part of
the entire CEU requirement.  Exemptions to the CEU
requirement may be granted due to prolonged illness or other
incapacity.  Application for exemption shall be made in
writing to the Board by the applicant for renewal and must
be received by the Board no later than November 1st of the
end of the respective CEU term.

9.3.6  CEU’s may be earned through Board

approved courses in colleges and universities, extension
courses, independent study courses, workshops, seminars,
conferences, lectures, videotapes, professional presentations
and publications, and inservices oriented toward the
enhancement of their respective professional’s practice.
CEU programs shall be conducted under responsible
sponsorship, capable direction and qualified instruction.  The
program may include staff development activities of
agencies and cross-disciplinary offerings.  

9.3.7  Examples of acceptable continuing education
which may be approved by the Board fall under the
following categories:

9.3.7.1  professional meetings*.  To include:
national, state, chapter (not to exceed 2.0 CEU’s)

9.3.7.2  seminars/workshops* (not to exceed
2.5 CEU’s)

9.3.7.3  university/college courses
1.0 CEU for semester
0.8 CEU for trimester
0.7 CEU for quarter

9.3.7.4  staff/faculty inservices*  (not to exceed
.5 CEU’s)

9.3.7.5  passing of licensing examination (1.5
CEU’s)

9.3.7.6  first time presentation of professionally
oriented course/lecture* (0.3 CEU/hour, not to exceed .6
CEU’s per presentation, not to exceed 1.2 total)

9.3.7.7  original publication in peer reviewed
publication (.3 CEU’s)

9.3.7.8  original publication in non-peer
reviewed publication (.1 CEU’s)

9.3.7.9  approved self studies* (not to exceed
1.0 CEU) including:
• videotapes, if:
• there is a sponsoring agency
• there is a facilitator or program
official present 
• the program official is not the only
attendee
• correspondence course, if a
sponsoring agency provides a certificate of completion 

9.3.7.10  holding of an office, to include:
• executive officer’s position for the
national or state professional associations (President Vice
President, Secretary, Treasurer)
• member, Examining Board of
Physical Therapy (.3 CEU’s)

9.3.7.11  acting as the direct clinical instructor
providing supervision to a PT, PTA or  AT student officially
enrolled in an accredited institution during an internship (40
contact hours = .1 CEU, not to exceed .5 CEU’s)

*  The Board will determine the appropriate number of
contact hours.

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)
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10.0  Admission to Practice, Licensure/Registration by
Reciprocity :

Definition - The granting of a license or registration to
an applicant who meets all the requirements set forth in this
section and who holds a valid current license/registration in
another state, territory, or the District of Columbia.

10.1  The reciprocity applicant shall submit the
documentation listed in sections 8.2 or 8.5.

10.2  The reciprocity applicant shall submit proof that
he/she is currently licensed or registered as a PT, PTA or AT
by a regulatory body of another state, territory or the District
of Columbia, including a copy of his valid current license/
registration issued by such regulatory body; and that the
standards for licensure or registration by such regulatory
body were substantially equivalent to the standards for
licensure in Delaware at the time of the applicant’s licensure.
An applicant shall be deemed to have satisfied this Section
upon evidence satisfactory to the Board that he has complied
with the standards set forth below:

10.2.1  The PT or PTA applicant has passed the
examination in the state, territory, or the District of
Columbia in which he/she was initially licensed/registered.
The passing score shall be 1.5 standard deviation below the
national norm for those PTs and PTAs having taken the
examination prior to 1990.  For the AT candidate, the
passing score shall be that which was established at time of
examination.  All sections of the examination shall be
passed.  The reciprocity applicant shall supply his/her
examination scores to the Board.  The applicant may obtain
his/her scores from the regulatory body of the state, territory,
or the District of Columbia in which he/she was currently
licensed/registered or from the Interstate Reporting Service
(IRS).  From PT applicants who were licensed/registered by
a state, territory, or the District of Columbia only prior to
1963, the Board shall accept the following:

10.2.1.1  Professional Examination Service-
American Physical Therapy Association (PES-APTA)
examination scores with a passing grade of 1.5 standard
deviation below the national norm on all sections, or

10.2.1.2  other examining mechanisms which
in the judgment of the Board were substantially equal to the
mechanisms of the State of Delaware at the time of
examination.

10.3  The AT seeking reciprocity shall meet all criteria
in section 8.5.

11.0  Temporary Licensure (four situations)
11.1  PT and PTA applicants waiting to take the

examination.  The Board may issue a temporary license to
applicants who have submitted to the Board the documents
listed in section 8.2 and section 8.5 respectively who have
been determined by the Board to be eligible to take the
examination.  The Board shall accept a letter signed by the
applicant’s school official stating that the applicant has

completed all requirements for graduation; provided,
however, that the applicant shall submit to the Board an
official transcript as soon as it becomes available.  Such
applicants may practice only under the direct supervision of
a licensed Physical Therapist.  The license shall remain
effective for two months after the examination date.  It shall
automatically expire upon notice to the applicant of his/her
failure to pass the license examination.  After the applicable
fee and written application have been submitted, the Board
may renew the temporary license if the applicant is eligible
to retake the examination.  The temporary license of an
applicant who has passed the examination may be extended
at the discretion of the Board chair or other officer, upon a
showing of extenuating circumstances pending the next
scheduled Board meeting.

11.2  Applicants requesting reciprocity as a PT, PTA,
and AT.  The Board may issue a temporary license to an
applicant upon the applicant’s compliance with all
requirements listed in sections 8.2 and 8.5, provided that
submission of the applicant’s examination scores shall not be
required.  The temporary license shall not be renewable.  The
temporary licensee may practice only under the direct
supervision of an applicable licensed professional.

11.3  Applicants engaged in a Special Project.  The
Board may issue a temporary license to applicants practicing
in the State on a temporary basis in order to:

11.3.1  assist in a medical emergency, or
11.3.2  engage in a special project or teaching

assignment, provided that the applicant complies with the
requirements of sections 8.2 or 8.5.  The temporary license
may remain in effect for a maximum of one year from the
date of issuance.  It may be renewed once.

11.3.3  An AT certified by NATA, or licensed by
the State where the professional is employed may practice
athletic training in Delaware, if he/she is in Delaware with a
visiting team, or an athlete, and only in a non-clinical setting.

11.4  Applicants who have failed to complete the CEU
requirements.  The Board may issue a provisional license to
a PT, PTA or AT who has failed to complete his CEU
requirement in a timely fashion for good cause but is
otherwise eligible for relicensure.  The provisional license is
not renewable.

12.0  Foreign Trained Applicant for Licensure
12.1  Applicants for licensure who are graduates of a

PT, PTA school or AT program located in a foreign country
shall complete all of the following requirements before being
admitted to the examination.

12.1.1  The applicant shall submit proof satisfactory
to the Board of graduation from an education program
appropriate to their profession in a foreign country.  Each
foreign applicant must demonstrate that they have met the
minimum education requirements as presented by the
Federation of State Boards.  See addendum.  The applicant
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shall arrange and pay for a credential evaluation of such
foreign school’s program to be completed by one of three
independent agencies:

International Educational Research Foundation, Inc.
P.O. Box 66940
Los Angeles, CA  90066

International Consultants of Delaware, Inc.
109 Barksdale Professional Center
Newark, DE  19711

Educational Credential Evaluators, Inc.
P.O. Box 92970
Milwaukee, WI  53202-0970
See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)

12.1.2  The applicant shall complete the
requirements of sections 8.2 or 8.5.

12.1.3  The applicant shall pass the examination
described in sections 8.3 and 8.4.

13.0  The Board Shall Keep an Inactive Register.
13.1  Any person who has been registered in the State

and is neither residing within the State nor actively engaged
in the practice of physical therapy in the State may at their
request be placed on the inactive register.  The Board may
reactivate an inactive license upon receipt of the following:

13.1.1  a written request for reactivation;
13.1.2  the applicant for licensure as a PT, PTA or

AT that has been actively engaged in the practice for the past
five years.  The applicant for registration as a PTA has been
actively engaged in the assistance of a licensed PT for the
past five years.  If the applicant for licensure/registration has
not met this condition, the following requirements shall be
completed:

13.1.2.1  he/she shall work under the direct
supervision of a PT/AT  in Delaware for a minimum of six
months.  The supervising PT/AT shall certify to the
completion of the six month applicant’s clinical competence
on forms supplied by the Board;

13.1.3  applicable renewal fee;
13.1.4  notice of intent to resume practice of

Physical Therapy in Delaware, and
13.1.5  proof of completion of 1.5 CEUs during the

previous 12 months.

14.0  Disciplinary Action Shall Be Taken According to 29
Del.C. Ch.  88

15.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

15.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify

the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.  15.2  The chairperson of the
regulatory Board or that chairperson's designate or
designates shall, within 7 days of receipt of the report,
contact the individual in question and inform him/her in
writing of the report, provide the individual written
information describing the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
give him/her the opportunity to enter the Voluntary
Treatment Option.  

15.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

15.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

15.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

15.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

15.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
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treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

15.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

15.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

15.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.

15.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

15.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

15.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an

issue.  
15.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her

designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

15.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

15.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

15.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

15.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

1.0   Definitions
2.0   Board
3.0   Physical Therapist Assistants
4.0   Athletic Trainers
5.0   Support Personnel
6.0   Qualifications of Applicant
7.0   Mandatory Continuing Education Units
8.0   Admission to Practice:  License by Reciprocity
9.0    Temporary Licensure
10.0  Foreign Trained Applicant for Licensure
11.0  Reactivation and Reinstatement
12.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically

Dependent or Impaired Professionals

1.0  DEFINITIONS
1.1  Consultation (24 Del. C. § 2612)

1.1.1 Consultation in direct access.  A physician
must be consulted if a patient is still receiving physical
therapy after 30 calendar days have lapsed from the date of
the initial assessment.  This consultation must be
documented and could take place at any time during the
initial thirty day period.  The consultation can be made by
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telephone, fax, in writing, or in person.  There is nothing in
these rules and regulations or in the Physical Therapy Law
that limits the number of consultations the Physical
Therapist can make on the patient’s behalf.  The consult
should be with the patient’s personal physician.  If the
patient does not have a personal physician, the Physical
Therapist is to offer the patient at least three physicians from
which to choose.  The referral to a physician after the initial
thirty day period must not be in conflict with 24 Del. C. §
2616 (a)(8) which deals with referral for profit.  If no
physician consult has been made in this initial thirty day
period, treatment must be terminated and no treatment may
be resumed without a physician consult. 

1.1.2  Consultation with written prescription from a
physician, dentist, podiatrist, or chiropractor.  A prescription
accompanying a patient must not be substantially modified
without documented consultation with the referring
practitioner.  The consultation can be made by telephone,
fax, in writing, or in person.

1.2  Direct Supervision (24 Del. C. § 2611 (a))
1.2.1  Direct supervision in connection with a

Physical Therapist practicing under a temporary license
means:

1.2.1.1  a licensed Physical Therapist
supervisor shall be on the premises when the individual with
a temporary license is practicing and 

1.2.1.2  evaluations and progress notes written
by the individual with a temporary license shall be co-signed
by the licensed Physical Therapist supervisor.

1.2.2  Direct supervision in relation to a Physical
Therapist Assistant with less than one (1) year experience
means a Physical Therapist shall be on the premises at all
times and see each patient.

1.2.3  Direct supervision in relation to a Physical
Therapist Assistant with one (1) year or more experience
means that a Physical Therapist Assistant must receive on-
site, face to face supervision at least once every fifth
treatment day or once every three weeks, whichever occurs
first.  The supervising Physical Therapist must have at least
one (1) year clinical experience.  The Physical Therapist
must be available and accessible by telecommunications to
the Physical Therapist Assistant during all working hours of
the Physical Therapist Assistant.

1.2.4  The Physical Therapist is responsible for the
actions of the Physical Therapist Assistant when under his/
her supervision. All supervision must be documented.

1.2.5  Direct supervision in connection with an
Athletic Trainer means a Physical Therapist shall be on the
premises at all times in a clinical setting and see every
patient.

1.2.6  At no time may a Physical Therapist
supervise more than 2 Physical Therapist Assistants, 2
Athletic Trainers or 1 Physical Therapist Assistant and 1
Athletic Trainer.  A Physical Therapist may only supervise 1

Physical Therapist Assistant off site.  Athletic Trainers must
be supervised on site.

1.2.7  Direct supervision in connection with support
personnel means a licensed Physical Therapist or Physical
Therapist Assistant shall be personally present and
immediately available within the treatment area to give aid,
direction, and instruction when procedures are performed.

1.3 On site or on premises (24 Del. C. § 2602 (5)), in
connection with supervision of a Physical Therapist
Assistant or Athletic Trainer, means that the Physical
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer must be in the same
physical building as the supervising Physical Therapist.  On
site or on premises does not refer to attached buildings.

1.4  Support personnel (24 Del.C. § 2615) means a
person(s) who performs certain routine, designated physical
therapy tasks under the direct supervision of a licensed
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant.  There
shall be documented evidence of sufficient in-service
training to assure safe performance of the duties assigned to
the support personnel.

1.5 Unprofessional Conduct (24 Del.C. § 2616 (7)).
Unprofessional conduct shall include departure from or the
failure to conform to the minimal standards of acceptable
and prevailing physical therapy practice or athletic training
practice, in which proceeding actual injury to a patient need
not be established. 24 Del.C. § 2616 (7).  Such
unprofessional conduct shall include, but not be limited to,
the following:

1.5.1 - Assuming duties within the practice of
physical therapy or athletic training without adequate
preparation or supervision or when competency has not been
maintained.

1.5.2 - The Physical Therapist who knowingly
allows a Physical Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer to
perform prohibited activities is guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

1.5.3 - The Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist
Assistant, or Athletic Trainer who knowingly performs
prohibited activities is guilty of unprofessional conduct.

1.5.4 - The Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist
Assistant who knowingly allows support personnel to
perform prohibited activities is guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

1.5.5 - Performing new physical therapy or athletic
training techniques or procedures without proper education
and practice or without proper supervision.

1.5.6 - Failing to take appropriate action or to
follow policies and procedures in the practice situation
designed to safeguard the patient.

1.5.7 - Inaccurately recording, falsifying, or altering
a patient or facility record.

1.5.8 - Committing any act of verbal, physical,
mental or sexual abuse of patients.

1.5.9 - Assigning untrained persons to perform
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functions which are detrimental to patient safety, for which
they are not adequately trained or supervised, or which are
not authorized under these rules and regulations.

1.5.10 - Failing to supervise individuals to whom
physical therapy tasks have been delegated.

1.5.11 -  Failing to safeguard the patient’s dignity
and right to privacy in providing services regardless of race,
color, creed and status.

1.5.12 - Violating the confidentiality of information
concerning the patient.

1.5.13 - Failing to take appropriate action in
safeguarding the patient from incompetent health care
practice.

1.5.14 - Practicing physical therapy as a Physical
Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant or athletic training
as an Athletic Trainer when unfit to perform procedures or
unable to make decisions because of physical, psychological,
or mental impairment.

1.5.15 - Practicing as a Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer when physical or
mental ability to practice is impaired by alcohol or drugs.

1.5.16 -  Diverting drugs, supplies or property of a
patient or a facility.

1.5.17 - Allowing another person to use his/her
license.

1.5.18 - Resorting to fraud, misrepresentation, or
deceit in taking the licensing examination or obtaining a
license as a Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant
or Athletic Trainer.

1.5.19 - Impersonating any applicant or acting as
proxy for the applicant in a Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant, or Athletic Trainer licensing
examination.

1.5.20 - Continuing to treat a patient, who initiated
treatment without a formal referral, for longer than thirty
days without a physician consult.

[1.5.21 - Modifying a treatment prescription
without consulting the referring physician.]

1.5.22 - Failing to comply with the mandatory
continuing education requirements of 24 Del. C. § 2607 (a)
and Section 7 of these rules and regulations.

2.0  BOARD
2.1  Specific duties of the officers:

2.1.1  The Chairperson:
2.1.1.1  Shall call meetings of the Board at

least twice a year.
2.1.1.2  Shall represent the Board in all official

functions and act as Board spokesperson.
2.1.2  The Vice-Chairperson:

2.1.2.1  Shall substitute for the Chairperson
during the officer’s absence.

2.1.3  The Secretary:
2.1.3.1  Shall preside when the Chairperson

and Vice-Chairperson are absent.

3.0  PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANTS (24 Del.C.
§ 2602 (3))

The Physical Therapist Assistant may treat patients only
under the direction of a Physical Therapist as defined in
Sections 1.2.2 and 1.2.3.  The Physical Therapist Assistant
may perform physical therapy procedures and related tasks
that have been selected and delegated by the supervising
Physical Therapist.  The Physical Therapist Assistant may
administer treatment with therapeutic exercise, massage,
mechanical devices, and therapeutic agents that use the
properties of air, water, electricity, sound or light.  The
Physical Therapist Assistant may make minor modifications
to treatment plans within the predetermined plan of care,
assist the Physical Therapist with evaluations, and document
treatment progress.  The ability of the Physical Therapist
Assistant to perform the selected and delegated tasks shall be
assessed by the supervising Physical Therapist.  The
Physical Therapist Assistant shall not perform interpretation
of referrals, physical therapy evaluation and reevaluation,
major modification of the treatment plan, final discharge of
the patient, or therapeutic techniques beyond the skill and
knowledge of the Physical Therapist Assistant or without
proper supervision.

4.0  ATHLETIC TRAINERS (24 Del. C. § 2602)
The Athletic Trainer in a clinical setting - 24 Del. C. §

2602 (5)).
The Athletic Trainer in a nonclinical setting - 24 Del. C.

§ 2602(5)).

5.0  SUPPORT PERSONNEL (24 Del. C. § 2615)
5.1 Treatments which may be performed by support

personnel under direct supervision are:
[5.1.1  gait training and ambulation]
5.1.2  functional activities
[5.1.3  transfer training]
5.1.4  routine follow-up of specific exercises
5.1.5  hot or cold packs
5.1.6  whirlpool/Hubbard tank
5.1.7  contrast bath
5.1.8  infrared
5.1.9  paraffin bath
5.1.10  ultra sound

5.2  Exceptions - A support person may perform:
5.2.1  patient related activities that do not involve

treatment, including transporting patients, undressing and
dressing patients, and applying assistive and supportive
devices without direct supervision, and

5.2.2  set up and preparation of patients requiring
treatment using Physical Therapist modalities.

5.3  Prohibited Activities - support personnel may not
perform:
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5.3.1  evaluation, or
5.3.2  treatments other than those listed in Section

5.1.

6.0  QUALIFICATIONS OF APPLICANT (24 Del.C. §
2606)

6.1  Applications, copies of the rules and regulations,
and copies of the Practice Act are available from the
Division of Professional Regulation.

6.2  Applicants for Physical Therapist or Physical
Therapist Assistant licensure shall not be admitted to the
examination without the submission of the following
documents:

6.2.1  Professional Qualifications - proof of
graduation (official transcript) from an educational program
for the Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant
which is accredited by the appropriate accrediting agency as
set forth in the Practice Act. 

6.2.2  A fee in check or money order payable to the
State of Delaware.

6.2.3  A completed application form.
6.3  The Board may use the Physical Therapist and

Physical Therapist Assistant examination endorsed by the
Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy and the
APTA, respectively. 

6.4  All applicants for licensure as a Physical Therapist
or Physical Therapist Assistant must successfully pass the
examination described in Section 6.3 in order to become
eligible for licensure. The Board will adopt the criterion-
referenced passing point recommended by the Federation of
State Boards of Physical Therapy. 

6.5  Applicants for licensure as an Athletic Trainer must
submit to the Board the following:

6.5.1  Professional Qualifications - proof of
graduation (official transcript) from an educational program
described in 24 Del. C. § 2606(a)(1), whether an accredited
program or National Athletic Trainers Association Board of
Certification (NATA BOC) internship.

6.5.2  Official letter of Athletic Trainer certification
from NATABOC.

6.5.3  A check or money order made payable to the
State of Delaware.

6.5.4  The completed application form.
6.6  Licenses shall expire biennially on every odd

numbered year.  The following items shall be submitted
upon application for renewal:

6.6.1  completed renewal application form,
6.6.2  applicable fee, and
6.6.3  for individuals seeking renewal, evidence of

continuing education courses as provided by Section 7.

7.0  MANDATORY CONTINUING EDUCATION
UNITS (CEU’s) (24 Del. C. §2607 (a))

7.1  Three CEU’s are required for every biennial license

renewal for Physical Therapists, Physical Therapist
Assistants, and Athletic Trainers.  The  Continuing
Education Unit Activity Record (CEUAR) credits shall be
received at the Division of Professional Regulation, Dover,

Delaware, no later than November 30th of every even
numbered year and shall be received every 2 years after such
date.

7.2  Individuals shall maintain the following items in
order to receive credit for CEU’s:

7.2.1  name of applicant seeking renewal
7.2.2 license classification (Physical Therapist,

Physical Therapist Assistant, Athletic Trainer)
7.2.3  license number of applicant
7.2.4  proof of attendance at CEU course
7.2.5  date of CEU course
7.2.6  instructor(s) of CEU course
7.2.7  sponsor of CEU course
7.2.8  title of CEU course
7.2.9  number of hours of CEU course

7.3  Continuing Education Regulations, (24 Del. C. §
2607 (a)).  Each licensed Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant and Athletic Trainer is responsible for
continuing his/her education so that professional skills are
maintained in accordance with the advancement of the
profession.  The purpose of this is to help Physical
Therapists, Physical Therapist Assistants, and Athletic
Trainers become more efficient in achieving their objectives.

7.3.1  For a licensee to renew a license, the licensee
must complete three continuing education units over the two

year period immediately preceding November 30th of each

even year.  CEU’s completed before November 30th of the
even year shall not be carried over to the next renewal
period.  Any continuing education completed in the
December or January preceding renewal will apply to the
next renewal period. CEU requirements shall be prorated for
new licensees.  If the license is granted during the six month
period shown below, the following will be required for
renewal:

Odd Numbered Year            Even Numbered Year
1/1-  6/30   2.5 CEUs             1/1-  6/30   1.5 CEUs
7/1-12/31   2.0 CEUs            7/1-12/31     .5 CEUs
7.3.2  One CEU will be given for every 10 hours of

an approved continuing education course.  (1 contact hour =
.1 CEU).  Each course must include topics relevant to the
field of health care as it pertains to Physical Therapy or
Athletic Training.   Approval of CEU’s shall be within the
discretion of the State Examining Board of Physical
Therapists.  Continuing education units that have been
previously approved during the current licensing period by
another agency such as a national governing body or a fellow
state licensing board shall be acceptable to the Examining
Board for the State of Delaware as appropriate CEU’s.  Any
sponsors or licensees wishing to receive prior written
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approval of CEU courses from the Examining Board must
complete a CEU Application Form.  CEU’s may not be
carried over from one biennial period to the next one.

7.3.3  At the time of license renewal, the
appropriate forms will be supplied by the Board.  Proof of
attendance shall be enclosed by the licensee when requested
by the Board.  While course brochures may be used to verify
contact hours, they are not considered to be acceptable proof
for use of verification of course attendance.  All licensees
must complete and submit to the Board the CEUAR.  If
randomly selected, the licensee must submit documentation

of the CEU’s.  The CEUAR is due November 30th of the
even year.  All questionable CEUAR’s will be re-evaluated.

7.3.4  In the event a licensee shall fail to complete
the required credits by November 30, 2000, the Board may
withhold issuance of a permanent license unless the CEUAR
required by Section 7.3.3 is accompanied by a specific plan
for making up the deficiency of necessary credits by March
31, 2001.  The plan shall be deemed accepted by the Board
unless within  60 days after the receipt of the CEUAR the
Board notifies the licensee to the contrary.  Full completion
of the licensee’s plan shall be reported by CEUAR not later
April 15, 2001.  Failure to complete the specific plan may
result in the Board suspending the license issued, following a
hearing pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, for
unprofessional conduct as defined by Section 1.5.22. This
provision no longer applies effective with the 2003 renewal.

7.3.5  The Board has the power to waive any part of
the entire CEU requirement.  Exemptions to the CEU
requirement may be granted due to prolonged illness or other
incapacity.  Application for exemption shall be made in
writing to the Board by the applicant for renewal and must

be received by the Board no later than November 30 th of the
end of the respective CEU term.

7.3.6  CEU’s may be earned through Board
approved courses in colleges and universities, extension
courses, independent study courses, workshops, seminars,
conferences, lectures, videotapes, professional presentations
and publications, and in-services oriented toward the
enhancement of their respective professional’s practice.
CEU programs shall be conducted under responsible
sponsorship, capable direction and qualified instruction.  The
program may include staff development activities of
agencies and cross-disciplinary offerings.

7.3.7  The following are examples of acceptable
continuing education which the Board may approve. The
Board will determine the appropriate number of contact
hours for these categories of continuing education, subject to
any limitation shown below.

7.3.7.1  professional meetings including
national, state, chapter, and state board meetings

7.3.7.2  seminars/workshops
7.3.7.3  staff/faculty in-services

7.3.7.4  first time presentation of professionally
oriented course/lecture (0.3 CEU/hour per presentation)

7.3.7.5  approved self studies including:
- videotapes, if:
-there is a sponsoring agency
-there is a facilitator or program official

present 
-the program official is not the only

attendee
- correspondence course, if a sponsoring

agency provides a certificate of completion
7.3.8  The following are also examples of

acceptable continuing education in
the amount of CEU’s shown.

7.3.8.1  university/college courses:
1.0 CEU for semester
0.8 CEU for trimester
0.7 CEU for quarter

7.3.8.2  passing of licensing examination (1.5
CEU’s)

7.3.8.3  original publication in peer reviewed
publication (0.3 CEU)

7.3.8.4  original publication in non-peer
reviewed publication (0.1 CEU)

7.3.8.5  holding of an office (0.3 CEU), to
include:

- executive officer’s position for the
national or state professional associations (President, Vice-
President, Secretary, Treasurer) 

- member, Examining Board of Physical
Therapists

7.3.8.6  acting as the direct clinical instructor
providing  supervision to a Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer student  officially
enrolled in an accredited institution during an internship (40
contact hours = 0.1 CEU)

8.0  ADMISSION TO PRACTICE, LICENSURE BY
RECIPROCITY (24 Del. C. § 2610)

Definition - The granting of a license to an applicant
who meets all the requirements set forth in this section and
24 Del. C. § 2610.

8.1  The reciprocity applicant shall submit the
documentation listed in rules 6.2 or 6.5.

8.2  An applicant shall be deemed to have satisfied this
section upon evidence satisfactory to the Board that he/she
has complied with the standards set forth below:

8.2.1  The Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist
Assistant applicant has passed the examination in the state,
territory, or the District of Columbia in which he/she was
originally licensed/registered.  The passing score shall be 1.5
standard deviation below the national norm for those
Physical Therapists and Physical Therapist Assistants having
taken the examination prior to 1990.
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8.2.2  All Physical Therapist/Physical Therapy
Assistant reciprocity applicants shall supply his/her
examination scores to the Board.  The applicant may obtain
his/her scores from the regulatory body of the state, territory,
or the District of Columbia in which he/she was originally
licensed/registered or from the FSBPT Score Transfer
Service. From Physical Therapist applicants who were
licensed/registered by a state, territory, or the District of
Columbia only prior to 1963, the Board shall accept the
following:

8.2.2.1 - Professional Examination Service-
American Physical Therapy Association (PES-APTA)
examination scores with a passing grade of 1.5 standard
deviation below the national norm on all sections, or

8.2.2.2 - other examining mechanisms which in
the judgment of the Board were substantially equal to the
mechanisms of the State of Delaware at the time of
examination.

8.2.3  For the Athletic Trainer candidate, the
passing score shall be that which was established at time of
examination.  All sections of the examination shall be
passed.  The reciprocity applicant shall supply his/her
examination scores to the Board.

9.0  TEMPORARY LICENSURE (24 Del. C. § 2611)
9.1  The Board may issue a temporary license to all

applicants who have submitted to the Board the documents
listed in Rule 6.2 and Rule 6.5, respectively, and who have
been determined to be eligible to take the examination.  The
Board shall accept a letter signed by the Physical Therapist
or Physical Therapist Assistant applicant’s school official
stating that the applicant has completed all requirements for
graduation;  provided, however, that the applicant shall
submit to the Board an official transcript as soon as it
becomes available.  The Board will determine the Physical
Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant applicant’s
eligibility to take the examination.  In the case of Athletic
Trainer applicants for temporary license, a letter from
NATA stating the applicant’s eligibility to take the NATA
examination will be required.  All applicants may practice
only under the direct supervision of a licensed Physical
Therapist.  The license shall remain effective for 90 days
from the date of approval.  It shall automatically expire upon
notice to the applicant of his/her failure to pass the license
examination.  After the applicable fee and written
application have been submitted, the Board may renew the
temporary license if the applicant is eligible to retake the
examination.  The temporary license of an applicant may be
extended at the discretion of the Board chair or other officer,
upon a showing of extenuating circumstances pending the
next scheduled Board meeting.

9.2  Applicants requesting reciprocity as a Physical
Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant, and Athletic
Trainer.  The Board may issue a temporary license to an

applicant upon the applicant’s submission of letters of good
standing from all jurisdictions in which the applicant is or
has ever been licensed.  The temporary licensee may practice
only under the direct supervision of an applicable licensed
professional.

9.3  Applicants engaged in a special project, teaching
assignment, or medical emergency as described in 24 Del. C.
§ 2611 (b) must submit letters of good standing from all
jurisdictions in which the applicant is or has ever been
licensed.

10.0 FOREIGN TRAINED APPLICANT FOR
LICENSURE  (24 Del. C. § 2606 (b))

10.1  Applicants for licensure who are graduates of a
Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant school or
Athletic Trainer program located in a foreign country shall
complete all of the following requirements before being
admitted to the examination.

10.1.1 - The applicant shall submit proof
satisfactory to the Board of graduation from an education
program appropriate to their profession in a foreign country.
Each foreign applicant must demonstrate that they have met
the minimum education requirements as presented by the
Federation of State Boards in the Course Work Evaluation
Tool for Persons Who Received Their Physical Therapy
Education Outside the United States. The applicant shall
arrange and pay for a credential evaluation of such foreign
school’s program to be completed by one of four
independent agencies:

International Educational Research Foundation, Inc.
P.O. Box 66940
Los Angeles, CA  90066

International Consultants of Delaware, Inc.
109 Barksdale Professional Center
Newark, DE  19711

Educational Credential Evaluators, Inc.
P.O. Box 92970
Milwaukee, WI  53202-0970

Foreign Credentialing Commission for Physical
Therapists

P.O. Box 25827
Alexandria VA  22313-9998

10.1.2  The applicant shall complete the
requirements of rules 6.2 or 6.5.

10.1.3  The applicant shall pass the examination
described in rules 6.3 and 6.4.

11.0  REACTIVATION AND REINSTATEMENT  (24
Del. C. § 2607)

11.1  Any person who has been registered in the State
and is neither residing within the State nor actively engaged
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in the practice of physical therapy in the State may at their
request be placed on the inactive register for the remainder
of the biennial licensure period.  Subsequent requests for
extensions of inactive status should be submitted biennially.
The Board may reactivate an inactive license if the Physical
Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer:

11.1.1  files a written request for reactivation;
11.1.2  has been actively engaged in the practice for

the past five years.  If the licensee has not met this condition,
the following requirements shall be completed:

11.1.2.1 - The Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant, or Athletic Trainer working in a clinical
setting shall work under the direct supervision of a Physical
Therapist/Athletic Trainer in Delaware for a minimum of six
months.

11.1.2.2 - The Athletic Trainer working in a
nonclinical setting shall work under the direct supervision of
an Athletic Trainer in Delaware for a minimum of six
months.

11.1.2.3 - At the end of the period, the
supervising Physical Therapist/Athletic Trainer shall certify
to the applicant’s clinical competence on forms supplied by
the Board;

11.1.3  submits proof of completion of 1.5 CEU’s
during the previous 12 months.

11.2  Provided reinstatement is requested within 5 years
of the expiration date, the Board may reinstate the license of
a Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant, or
Athletic Trainer who allowed their license to lapse without
requesting placement on the inactive register if the Physical
Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant, or Athletic Trainer:

11.2.1  completes a form supplied by the Board
11.2.2  provides proof of completion of 3.0 CEU’s

during the previous 24 months
11.3  If the license has been expired over five years, the

Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant/Athletic
Trainer must file a new application.

12.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

12.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.

12.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

12.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

12.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

12.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

12.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

12.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

12.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
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chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

12.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

12.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.

12.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

12.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

12.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.  

12.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

12.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

12.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

12.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

12.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Section 2905 (24 Del.C. §2905)

Order

WHEREAS, pursuant to 24 Del. C. §2905, the
Delaware Real Estate Commission (the “Commission”)
proposed to adopt amendments to its rules and regulations as
more specifically set forth in the Hearing Notice which is
attached hereto as Exhibit “A” and incorporated herein; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 19 Del. C. §10115, notice was
given to the public that a hearing would be held on August
10, 2000 at 9:00 a.m. in Dover, Delaware to consider the
proposed amendments; and

WHEREAS, the notice invited the public to submit
comments orally or in writing regarding the proposed
amendments; and

WHEREAS, a hearing was held on August 10, 2000 at
which a quorum of the Commission was present; and

WHEREAS, there were no written or oral comments
from the public; and

WHEREAS, the Commission finds the proposed
amendments serve to clarify its rules and regulations and to
ensure that its rules and regulations are in compliance with
the Commission’s enabling statute;

NOW, THEREFORE, based on the Commission’s
authority to adopt and revise rules and regulations pursuant
to 24 Del. C. §2905, it is the decision of the Commission to
adopt the proposed amendments to its rules and regulations,
a copy of which are attached hereto as Exhibit “B” and
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incorporated herein.  Such regulations shall be effective ten
days after the date this Order is published in its final form in
the Register of Regulations

IT IS SO ORDERED this 10th day of August, 2000.

Delaware Real Estate Commission

Anne K. Baker, Chair
Marvin R. Sachs, Member
John R. Giles, Member
Mary B. Parker, Member
Herbert W. Dayton, Member
James D. McGinnis, Member
Marcia Shihadeh, Member
Judy L. Bennett, Member

Exhibit “A”
Notice of Public Hearing

The Delaware Real Estate Commission, in accordance
with 24 Delaware Code §2905(a)(1) and 29 Delaware Code
§10115 of the Administrative Procedures Act, hereby gives
notice that it shall hold a public hearing on August 10, 2000
at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor Conference Room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware.

The Commission shall receive input in writing or by
oral testimony from interested persons regarding the
following revision of the Rules and Regulations: Rule 5.2
(Escrow Accounts).  Add sentence specifying that a licensee
shall not accept, as a good faith or earnest money deposit in
connection with a real estate transaction, a photocopy,
facsimile, or other copy of a personal check or draft, nor
shall a licensee accept as a good faith or earnest money
deposit a check or draft that is postdated.

The final date for interested persons to submit views in
writing or orally shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to make oral or written comments
or who would like a copy of the proposed change may
contact the Commission office at 302-739-4522, extension
219, or write to the Delaware Real Estate Commission, 861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904-2467.

1.0    Introduction
2.0    Requirements for Obtaining a Salesperson's License
3.0    Requirements for Obtaining a Real Estate Broker's

License
4.0    Reciprocal Licenses
5.0    Escrow Accounts
6.0    Transfer of Broker or Salesperson
7.0    Business Transactions and Practices
8.0    Renewal of Licenses

9.0    Availability of Rules and Regulations
10.0  Disclosure
11.0  Hearings
12.0  Inducements
13.0  Necessity of License
14.0  Out of State Land Sales Applications
15.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically

Dependent or Impaired Professionals

1.0  Introduction
1.1  Authority

1.1.1  Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2905, the Delaware
Real Estate Commission is authorized and empowered and
hereby adopts the rules and regulations contained herein.

1.1.2  The Commission reserves the right to make
any amendments, modifications or additions hereto, that, in
its discretion are necessary or desirable.

1.1.3  The Commission reserves the right to grant
exceptions to the requirements of the rules and regulations
contained herein upon a showing of good cause by the party
requesting such exception, provided such exception is not
inconsistent with the requirements of 24 Del.C. Ch. 29.

1.2  Applicability
1.2.1  The rules and regulations contained herein,

and any amendments, modifications or additions hereto are
applicable to all persons presently licensed as real estate
brokers or real estate salespersons, and to all persons who
apply for such licenses.

1.3  Responsibility
1.3.1  It is the responsibility of the employing

broker to insure that the rules and regulations of the
Commission are complied with by licensees. Every broker is
responsible for making certain that all of his or her sales
agents are currently licensed, and that their agents make
timely application for license renewal. A broker's failure to
meet that responsibility may result in a civil fine against the
broker of up to $ 1,000.00 per agent.

1.3.2  Each office location shall be under the
direction of a broker of record, who shall provide complete
and adequate supervision of that office. A broker serving as
broker of record for more than one office location within the
State shall apply for and obtain an additional license in his
name at each branch office. The application for such
additional license shall state the location of the branch office
and the name of a real estate broker or salesperson licensed
in this State who shall be in charge of managing the branch
office on a full time basis.

A broker shall not serve as broker of record unless
said broker has been actively engaged in the practice of real
estate, either as a licensed salesperson or a licensed broker,
for the preceding three (3) years.

Where an unforeseen event, such as a resignation or
termination from employment, death, emergency, illness,
call to military service or training, or a sanction imposed by
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the Commission causes or necessitates the removal of the
sole licensed broker in an office, arrangements may be made
with the Commission for another broker to serve as broker of
record for said office on a temporary basis.

The employment of a sales manager, administrative
manager, trainer, or other similar administrator shall not
relieve the broker of record of the responsibilities contained
and defined herein.

1.1.3  The failure of any licensee to comply with the
Real Estate Licensing Act and the rules and regulations of
the Commission may result in disciplinary action in the form
of a reprimand, civil penalty, suspension or revocation of the
broker's and/or salesperson's license.

2.0  Requirements for Obtaining a Salesperson's License
The Commission shall consider any applicant who has

successfully completed the following:
2.1  Course

2.1.1  The Commission shall consider any applicant
who has successfully completed an accredited course in Real
Estate Practice.

2.1.2  Effective May 1, 1978, all real estate courses
shall be limited to thirty-five (35) students in each class. This
applies to both day and night courses. All other regulations
regarding real estate courses are issued under the
“Guidelines for Fulfilling the Delaware Real Estate
Education Requirements”. The Commission reserves the
right to grant exception to this limitation.

2.2  Examination
2.2.1  Within twelve (12) months of completing an

accredited course, the applicant must make application to the
Commission by submitting a score report showing
successful completion of the examination required by the
Commission. The applicant must forward all necessary
documentation to the Commission to be considered for
licensure.

2.2.2  An applicant may sit for the examination a
maximum of three (3) times after successful completion of
an approved course in real estate practice. If an applicant
fails to pass the examination after three (3) attempts at such,
the applicant shall be required to retake and successfully
complete an approved course in real estate practice before
being permitted to sit for the examination again.

2.3  Ability to conduct business
2.3.1  The Commission reserves the right to reject

an applicant based on his or her inability to transact real
estate business in a competent manner or if it determines that
the applicant lacks a reputation for honesty, truthfulness and
fair dealings.

2.3.2  The minimum age at which a salesperson's
license can be issued is eighteen (18).

2.4  Fees
The Commission shall not consider an application

for a salesperson's license unless such application is

submitted with evidence of payment of the following fees:
2.4.1  Salesperson's application fee established by

the Division of Professional Regulation pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§8807(d).

3.0  Requirements for Obtaining a Real Estate Broker's
License

The Commission shall consider the application of any
person for a broker's license upon completion of the
following:

3.1  Course
3.1.1  The Commission shall consider the

application of any person for a license after said applicant
has successfully completed an accredited course.

3.1.2  Effective May 1, 1978, all courses shall be
limited to thirty-five (35) students in each class.

3.2  Experience
3.2.1  A salesperson must hold an active license in

the real estate profession for five (5) continuous years
immediately preceding application for a broker's license.

3.2.2  The applicant shall submit to the Commission
a list of at least thirty (30) sales or other qualified
transactions, showing dates, location, purchaser's name and
seller's name. These sales must have been made by the
applicant within the previous five (5) years through the
general brokerage business and not as a representative of a
builder, developer, and/or subdivider.  Transactions
involving time-shares, leases, or property management are
not qualified transactions for purposes of obtaining a real
estate broker's license. The Commission reserves the right to
waive any of the above requirements, upon evidence that the
applicant possesses sufficient experience in the real estate
business or demonstrates collateral experience to the
Commission.

3.2.3  The list of thirty (30) sales or other qualified
transactions and/or the variety of the licensee's experience
must be approved by the Commission.

3.3  Examination
3.3.1  Within twelve (12) months of completing an

accredited course, the applicant must submit a score report
showing successful completion of the examination required
by the Commission and submit all necessary documentation
including the credit report required by Paragraph E of this
rule to the Commission to be considered for licensure.

3.4  Ability to conduct business
3.4.1  The Commission reserves the right to reject

an applicant based on his or her ability to transact real estate
business in a competent manner or if it determines that the
applicant lacks experience, a reputation for honesty,
truthfulness and fair dealings.

3.4.2  The minimum age at which a person can be
issued a broker's license is twenty-three (23).

3.5  Credit Report
3.5.1  Each applicant shall submit a credit report
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from an approved credit reporting agency, which report shall
be made directly to the Commission.

3.6  Fees
The Commission shall not consider an application

for a broker's license unless such application is submitted
with evidence of payment of the following fees:

3.6.1  Broker's application fee established by the
Division of Professional Regulation pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§8807(d).

4.0  Reciprocal Licenses
4.1  Requirements

4.1.1  A non-resident of this State who is duly
licensed as a broker in another state and who is actually
engaged in the business of real estate in the other state may
be issued a nonresident broker's license under 24 Del.C.
§2909(a).

4.1.2  A non- resident salesperson who is duly
licensed as a salesperson in another state and who is actually
engaged in the business of real estate in the other state may
be issued a non-resident salesperson's license provided such
non-resident salesperson is employed by a broker holding a
broker's license issued by the Commission.

4.1.3  The Commission, at its discretion, may issue
a non-resident broker's or salesperson's license without the
course and examination required by Rules 2.2 or 3.3
provided the non-resident broker or salesperson passed an
equivalent course and examination in his/her resident state
and provided that such other state extends the same privilege
to Delaware real estate licensees.

5.0  Escrow Accounts
5.1  All moneys received by a broker as agent for his

principal in a real estate transaction shall be deposited within
three (3) banking days after a contract of sale or lease has
been signed by both parties, in a separate escrow account so
designated, and remain there until settlement or termination
of the transaction at which time the broker shall make a full
accounting thereof to his or her principal.

5.2  All moneys received by a salesperson in connection
with a real estate transaction shall be immediately delivered
to the appropriate broker. A licensee shall not accept, as a
good faith or earnest money deposit in connection with a real
estate transaction, a photocopy, facsimile, or other copy of a
personal check or draft, nor shall a licensee accept as a good
faith or earnest money deposit a check or draft that is
postdated.

5.3  A broker shall not co-mingle money or any other
property entrusted to him with his money or property, except
that a broker may maintain up to $100.00 of his/her own
funds in the escrow account to cover bank service charges
and to maintain the minimum balance necessary to avoid the
account being closed.

5.4  A broker shall maintain in his office a complete

record of all moneys received or escrowed on real estate
transactions, including the sources of the money, the date of
receipt, depository, and date of deposit; and when a
transaction has been completed, the final disposition of the
moneys.  The records shall clearly show the amount of the
broker's personal funds in escrow at all times.

5.5  An escrow account must be opened by the broker in
a bank with an office located in Delaware in order to receive,
maintain or renew a valid license.

5.6  The Commission may summarily suspend the
license of any broker who fails to comply with 5.4, who fails
to promptly account for any funds held in escrow, or who
fails to produce all records, books, and accounts of such
funds upon demand. The suspension shall continue until
such time as the licensee appears for a hearing and furnishes
evidence of compliance with the Rules and Regulations of
the Commission.

5.7  Interest accruing on money held in escrow belongs
to the owner of the funds unless otherwise stated in the
contract of sale or lease.

6.0  Transfer of Broker or Salesperson
6.1  All licensees who transfer to another office, or

brokers who open their own offices, but who were associated
previously with another broker or company, must present a
completed transfer form to the Commission signed by the
individual broker or company with whom they were
formerly associated, before the broker's or salesperson's
license will be transferred.  In addition all brokers who are
non-resident licensees must also provide a current certificate
of licensure.

6.2  The Commission reserves the right to waive this
requirement upon a determination of good cause.

6.3  All brokers of record who move the physical
location of their office shall notify the Commission in
writing at least 30 days, or as soon as practical, prior to such
move by filing a new office application.

7.0  Business Transactions and Practices
7.1  Written Listing Agreements

7.1.1  Listing Agreements for the rental, sale, lease
or exchange of real property, whether exclusive, co-
exclusive or open shall be in writing and shall be signed by
the seller or owner.

7.2  Copy of agreements
7.2.1  Every party to a listing agreement, agreement

of purchase and sale, or lease shall be furnished with an
executed copy of such contract or contracts.  It shall be the
responsibility of the licensee to deliver an executed copy of
the agreements to the principals within a reasonable length
of time after execution.

7.3  Advertising
7.3.1  Any licensee who advertises, on signs,

newspapers or any other media, property personally owned
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and/or property in which a licensee has any ownership
interest, and said property is not listed with a broker, must
include in the advertisement that he/she is the owner of said
property and that he/she is a real estate licensee.

7.3.2  Any licensee who advertises in newspapers
or any other media, property personally owned and/or
property in which the licensee has any ownership interest,
and said property is listed with a broker, must include in the
advertisement the name of the -broker under whom he/she is
licensed, that he/she is the owner of said property, and that
he/she is a real estate licensee. This subsection does not
apply to signs.

7.3.3  Any licensee who advertises, by signs,
newspaper, or any other media, any property for sale, lease,
exchange, or transfer that is listed with a broker must include
in the advertisement the name of the broker under whom the
licensee is licensed.

7.3.4  All advertisements for personal promotion of
licensees must include the name of the company under
whom the licensee is licensed.

7.4  Separate Office
7.4.1  Applicants for broker's licenses and those

presently licensed must maintain separate offices in which to
conduct the real estate business. Nothing contained herein,
however, shall preclude said persons from sharing facilities
with such other businesses as insurance, banking, or others
that the Commission shall deem compatible.

7.4.2  Where the office is located in a private home,
said office must have a separate entrance and must be
approved by the Commission. The broker must place a
permanent sign indicating the name under which the office is
licensed, in a conspicuous location.

7.5  Compensation
7.5.1  Licensees shall not accept compensation

from more than one party to a transaction, even if permitted
by law, without timely disclosure to all parties to the
transaction.

7.5.2  When acting as agent, a licensee shall not
accept any commission, rebate, or profit on expenditures
made for his principal-owner without the principal's
knowledge and informed consent.

7.6  Duty to Cooperate
7.6.1  Brokers and salespersons shall cooperate

with all other brokers and salespersons involved in a
transaction except when cooperation is not in the client's best
interest.  The obligation to cooperate does not include the
obligation to share commissions or to otherwise compensate
another broker or salesperson.

8.0  Renewal of Licenses
8.1  Renewal Required by Expiration Date on License

8.1.1  In order to qualify for license renewal as a
real estate salesperson or broker in Delaware, a licensee shall
have completed 15 hours of continuing education within the

two year period immediately preceding the renewal. The
broker of record for the licensee seeking renewal shall
certify to the Commission, on a form supplied by the
Commission, that the licensee has complied with the
necessary continuing education requirements. This
certification form shall be submitted by the licensee together
with his/her renewal application and renewal fee. The broker
of record shall retain for a period of one (1) year, the
documents supporting his/her certification that the licensee
has complied with the continuing education requirement. A
licensee who has not paid the fees and/or met the
requirements for the renewal of his or her license by the
expiration date shown thereon, shall not list, sell, lease or
negotiate for others after such date.

8.2  Delinquency Fee
8.2.1  If a licensee fails to renew his or her license

prior to the expiration date shown thereon, he or she shall be
required to pay the full license fee and an additional
delinquency fee equal to one half of the license fee. If a
licensee fails to renew his or her license within 60 days of
the expiration date shown thereon, the license shall be
cancelled.

8.2.2  Failure to receive notice of renewal by a
licensee shall not constitute a reason for reinstatement.

8.3  Reinstatement of License
8.3.1  A cancelled license shall be reinstated only

after the licensee pays the necessary fees, including the
delinquency fee, and passes any examinations required by
the Commission.  If the licensee fails to apply for renewal
within 6 months of the cancellation date, the licensee shall
be required to take the state portion of the examination. If the
licensee fails to apply for renewal before the next renewal
period commences (two years), the licensee shall be required
to pass both the state and the national portions of the
examination.

8.3.2  No person whose license has been revoked
will be considered for the issuance of a new license for a
period of at least two (2) years from the date of the
revocation of the license.  Such person shall then fulfill the
following requirements: he or she shall attend and pass the
real estate course for salespersons; take and pass the
Commission's examination for salespersons; and any other
criteria established by the Commission. Nothing above shall
be construed to allow anyone to take the course for the
purpose of licensing until after the waiting period of two (2)
years.  Nothing contained herein shall require the
Commission to issue a new license upon completion of the
above mentioned requirements, as the Commission retains
the right to deny any such application.

9.0  Availability of Rules and Regulations
9.1  Fee Charge for Primers

9.1.1  Since licensees are required to conform to the
Commission's Rules and Regulations and the Laws of the
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State of Delaware, these Rules and Regulations shall be
made available to licensees without charge. However, in
order to help defray the cost of printing, students in the real
estate courses and other interested parties may be required to
pay such fee as stipulated by the Division of Professional
Regulation for the booklet or printed material.

10.0  Disclosure
10.1  A licensee who is the owner, the prospective

purchaser, lessor or lessee or who has any personal interest
in a transaction, must disclose his or her status as a licensee
to all persons with whom he or she is transacting such
business, prior to the execution of any agreements and shall
include on the agreement such status.

10.2  Any licensee advertising real estate for sale stating
in such advertisement, “If we cannot sell your home, we will
buy your home”, or words to that effect, shall disclose in the
original listing contract at the time he or she obtains the
signature on the listing contract, the price he will pay for the
property if no sales contract is executed during the term of
the listing. Said licensee shall have no more than sixty (60)
days to purchase and settle for the subject property upon
expiration of the original listing or any extension thereof.

10.3  A licensee who has direct contact with a potential
purchaser or seller shall disclose in writing whom he/she
represents in any real estate negotiation or transaction. The
disclosure as to whom the licensee represents should be
made at the 1st substantive contact to each party to the
negotiation or transaction.  In all cases such disclosure must
be made prior to the presentation of an offer to purchase.  A
written confirmation of disclosure shall also be included in
the contract for the real estate transaction.

10.3.1  The written confirmation of disclosure in
the contract shall be worded as follows:

10.3.1.1  With respect to agent for seller: “This
broker, any cooperating broker, and any salesperson working
with either, are representing the seller's interest and have
fiduciary responsibilities to the seller, but are obligated to
treat all parties with honesty. The broker, any cooperating
broker, and any salesperson working with either, without
breaching the fiduciary responsibilities to the seller, may,
among other services, provide a potential purchaser with
information about the attributes of properties and available
financing, show properties, and assist in preparing an offer to
purchase. The broker, any cooperating broker, and any
salesperson working with either, also have the duty to
respond accurately and honestly to a potential purchaser's
questions and disclose material facts about properties,
submit promptly all offers to purchase and offer properties
without unlawful discrimination.”

10.3.1.2  With respect to agent for buyer: “This
broker, and any salesperson working for this broker, is
representing the buyer's interests and has fiduciary
responsibilities to the buyer, but is obligated to treat all

parties with honesty. The broker, and any salesperson
working for the broker, without breaching the fiduciary
responsibilities to the buyer, may, among other services,
provide a seller with information about the transaction.  The
broker, and any salesperson working for the broker, also has
the duty to respond accurately and honestly to a seller's
questions and disclose material facts about the transaction,
submit promptly all offers to purchase through proper
procedures, and serve without unlawful discrimination.”

10.3.1.3  In the case of a transaction involving
a lease in excess of 120 days, substitute the term “lessor” for
the term “seller”, substitute the term “lessee” for the terms
“buyer” and “purchaser”, and substitute the term “lease” for
“purchase” as they appear above.

10.4  If a property is the subject of an agreement of sale
but being left on the market for backup offers, or is the
subject of an agreement of sale which contains a right of first
refusal clause, the existence of such agreement must be
disclosed by the listing broker to any individual who makes
an appointment to see such property at the time such
appointment is made.

11.0  Hearings
11.1  When a complaint is filed with the Commission

against a licensee, the status of the broker of record in that
office shall not change.

11.2  There shall be a maximum of one (1)
postponement for each side allowed on any hearing which
has been scheduled by the Commission. If any of the parties
are absent from a scheduled hearing, the Commission
reserves the right to act based upon the evidence presented.

12.0  Inducements
12.1  Real Estate licensees cannot use commissions or

income received from commissions as rebates or
compensation paid to or given to Non-licensed Persons,
partnerships or corporations as inducements to do or secure
business, or as a finder's fee.

12.2  This Rule does not prohibit a real estate broker or
salesperson from giving a rebate or discount or any other
thing of value directly to the purchaser or seller of real
estate. The real estate broker or salesperson, however, must
be licensed as a resident or non-resident licensee by the
Commission under the laws of the State of Delaware.

12.3  A real estate broker or salesperson has an
affirmative obligation to make timely disclosure, in writing,
to his or her principal of any rebate or discount that may be
made to the buyer.

13.0  Necessity of License
13.1  For any property listed with a broker for sale, lease

or exchange, only a licensee shall be permitted to host or
staff an open house or otherwise show a listed property. That
licensee may be assisted by non-licensed persons provided a
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licensee is on site. This subsection shall not prohibit a seller
from showing their own house.

13.2  For new construction, subdivision, or development
listed with a broker for sale, lease or exchange, a licensee
shall always be on site when the site is open to the general
public, except where a builder and/or developer has hired a
non-licensed person who is under the direct supervision of
said builder and/or developer for the purpose of staffing said
project.

14.0  Out of State Land Sales Applications
14.1  All applications for registration of an out of state

land sale must include the following:
14.1.1  A completed license application on the form

provided by the Commission.
14.1.2  A $100 filing fee made payable to the State

of Delaware.
14.1.3  A valid Business License issued by the State

of Delaware, Division of Revenue.
14.1.4  A signed Appointment and Agreement

designating the Delaware Secretary of State as the
applicant's registered agent for service of process.  The form
of Appointment and Agreement shall be provided by the
Commission.  In the case of an applicant which is a
Delaware corporation, the Commission may, in lieu of the
foregoing Appointment and Agreement, accept a current
certificate of good standing from the Delaware Secretary of
State and a letter identifying the applicant's registered agent
in the State of Delaware.

14.1.5  The name and address of the applicant's
resident broker in Delaware and a completed Consent of
Broker form provided by the Commission. Designation of a
resident broker is required for all registrations regardless of
whether sales will occur in Delaware.

14.1.6  A bond on the form provided by the
Commission in an amount equal to ten (10) times the amount
of the required deposit.

14.1.7  Copies of any agreements or contracts to be
utilized in transactions completed pursuant to the
registration.

14.2  Each registration of an out of state land sale must
be renewed on an annual basis.  Each application for renewal
must include the items identified in sub-sections 14.1.2
through 14.1.4 of Rule 14.0  above and a statement
indicating whether there are any material changes to
information provided in the initial registration.  Material
changes may include, but are not limited to, the change of
the applicant's resident broker in Delaware; any changes to
the partners, officers and directors' disclosure form included
with the initial application; and any changes in the condition
of title.

14.3  If, subsequent to the approval of an out of state
land sales registration, the applicant adds any new lots or
units or the like to the development, then the applicant must,

within thirty days, amend its registration to include this
material change.  A new registration statement is not
required, and the amount of the bond will remain the same.

15.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

15.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.

15.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

15.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

15.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

15.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
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chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

15.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

15.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

15.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

15.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

15.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.  

15.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

15.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment

Option.
15.6.7  The regulated professional's records of

participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.

15.6.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/
her designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

15.6.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.  

15.6.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to
comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

15.6.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected
if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

15.6.12  Any regulated professional who complies
with all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless
otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with
the regulated professional shall include the potential for
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may
be disclosed.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

Regulatory Implementing Order
Delaware Student Testing Program

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the approval of the
State Board of Education to amend the Regulations

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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Delaware Student Testing Program by adding a new Section
4.0 Individual Improvement Plan (IIP).  The amendment
defines when the use of the IIP is appropriate, what it shall
include and how the IIP is prepared and approved.  The IIP
shall be on a form adopted by each school district.  

Notice of the proposed amendment was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on June 21,
2000, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  A letter from
DSEA suggested that the regulation distinguish between
disputes over a student’s IIP generated by a parent or by
district staff.  A second addition to 4.2 concerning disputes
over IEPs was recommended in a letter from the State
Council for Persons with Disabilities.  Both suggestions
were adopted.

II.  Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend these
regulations because the IIP found in 14 Del. C., Section 153
requires clarifying regulations.

III.  Decision to Amend the Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to amend the regulations.  Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del. C. Section 122, the regulations attached hereto as
Exhibit B are hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of
14 Del. C. Section 122(e), the regulations hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective
date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the regulations amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. Section 122, in open session
at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on August
17, 2000. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 17th day of August, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 17th day of August, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

101  Delaware Student Testing Program

1.0  General:  Assessments created pursuant to the Delaware
Student Testing Program shall be administered annually, on
dates specified by the Secretary of Education, to students in
grades 3, 5, 8, and 10, in the content areas of reading,
mathematics and writing and to students in grades 4, 6, 8 and
11 in the content areas of social studies and science.  All
students in said grades shall be tested except that students
with disabilities and students with limited English
proficiency shall be tested according to the Department of
Education’s Guidelines for the Inclusion of Students with
Disabilities and Students with Limited English Proficiency,
as the same, may from time to time be amended hereafter.

2.0  Security and Confidentiality:  In order to assure uniform
and secure procedures, the Delaware Student Testing
Program shall be administered pursuant to the Delaware
Student Testing Program Coordinators Handbook, as the
same, may from time to time be amended hereafter.

2.1  Every district superintendent, district test
coordinator, school principal, school test coordinator and test
administrator shall sign the affidavit provided by the
Department of Education regarding test security before,
during and after test administration.

2.2  Violation of the security or confidentiality of any
test required by the Delaware Code and the regulations of
the Department of Education shall be prohibited.

2.3  Procedures for maintaining the security and
confidentiality of a test shall be specified in the appropriate
test administration materials.  Conduct that violates the
security or confidentiality of a test is defined as any
departure from the test administration procedures established
by the Department of Education.  Conduct of this nature
shall include, without limitation, the following acts and
omissions:

2.3.1  duplicating secure examination materials;
2.3.2  disclosing the contents of any portion of a

secure test;
2.3.3  providing, suggesting, or indicating to an

examinee a response or answer to a secure test item or
prompt;

2.3.4  changing or altering a response or answer of
an examinee to a secure test item or prompt;
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2.3.5  aiding or assisting an examinee with a
response or answer to a secure test item or prompt;

2.3.6  encouraging or assisting an individual to
engage in the conduct described above;

2.3.7  failing to report to an appropriate authority
that an individual has engaged in conduct outlined above;

3.0  Levels of Performance:  There shall be five levels of
student performance relative to the State Content Standards
on the assessments administered pursuant to the Delaware
Student Testing Program.  Said levels are defined and shall
be determined as follows:

3.1  Distinguished Performance (Level 5):  A student's
performance in the tested domain is deemed exceptional.
Students in this category show mastery of the Delaware
Content Standards beyond what is expected of students
performing at the top of the grade level.  Student
performance in this range is often exemplified by responses
that indicate a willingness to go beyond the task, and could
be classified as "exemplary."  The cut points for
Distinguished Performance shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education, using test data and the results from the
Standard Setting process.

3.2  Exceeds the Performance Standard (Level 4):  A
student's performance in the tested domain goes well beyond
the fundamental skills and knowledge required for students
to Meet the Performance Standard.  Students in this category
show mastery of the Delaware Content Standards beyond
what is expected at the grade level.  Student performance in
this range is often exemplified by work that is of the quality
to which all students should aspire, and could be classified as
"very good."  The cut points for Exceeds the Performance
Standard shall be determined by the Department of
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education,
using advice from a standard setting body.  The standard
setting body shall utilize a proven method for setting
standards on test instruments that utilizes student work in
making the recommendation.

3.3  Meets the Performance Standard (Level 3):  A
student's performance in the tested domain indicates an
understanding of the fundamental skills and knowledge
articulated in the Delaware Content Standards.  Students in
this category show mastery of the Delaware Content
Standards at grade level.  Student performance in this range
can be classified as "good."  The cut points for Meets the
Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education, using advice from a standard setting
body.  The standard setting body shall utilize a proven
method for setting standards on test instruments that utilizes
student work in making the recommendation.

3.4  Below the Performance Standard (Level 2):  A
student's performance in the tested domain shows a partial or

incomplete understanding of the fundamental skills and
knowledge articulated in the Delaware Content Standards.
Students who are Below the Performance Standard may
require additional instruction in order to succeed in further
academic pursuits, and can be classified as academically
“deficient.”  The cut points for Below the Performance
Standard shall be determined by the Department of
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education,
using test data and the results from the Standard Setting
process.  Students at the upper end of this level are to be
further sub-classified as Near the Performance Standard.
Students who are Near the Performance Standard are those
whose performance on the fundamental skills and
knowledge articulated in the Delaware Content Standards is
not yet sufficient to Meet the Performance Standard, but the
student is near the threshold in relation to the Meets the
Performance Standard category.  The threshold for Near the
Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education, using an error of measurement
determined by the test data and the results from the standard
setting process.

3.5  Well Below the Performance Standard (Level 1):  A
student's performance in the tested domain shows an
incomplete and a clearly unsatisfactory understanding of the
fundamental skills and knowledge articulated in the
Delaware Content Standards.  Students who are Well Below
the Performance Standard have demonstrated broad
deficiencies in terms of the standards indicating that they are
poorly prepared to succeed in further academic pursuits and
can be classified as “very deficient.”  The cut points for Well
Below the Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education, using test data and the results from the
Standard Setting process.

4.0  Individual Improvement Plan (IIP)
4.1  Beginning with the Spring 2000 DSTP results,

students who score below Level 3 Meets the Standard, on the

reading portion of the 3rd, 5th or 8th grade Delaware Student

Testing Program or the mathematics portion of the 8th grade
Delaware Student Testing Program shall have an Individual
Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel and signed
by the teacher(s), principal or designee and a parent or legal
guardian of the student.

4.1.1  The Individual Improvement Plan shall be on
a form adopted by the student’s school district.  The IIP shall
be placed in a student’s cumulative file and shall be updated
based on the results of further assessments.  Such
assessments may include further DSTP results as well as
local assessments, classroom observations or inventories.
For students with an Individualized Education Program
(IEP), the IEP shall serve as the Individual Improvement
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Plan (IIP).
4.1.2  The Individual Improvement Plan shall at a

minimum identify a specific course of study for the student
that the school will provide and the academic improvement
activities that the student shall undertake to help the student
progress towards meeting the standards.  Academic
improvement activities may include mandatory participation
in summer school, extra instruction and/or mentoring
programs.

4.1.3  The Individual Improvement Plan shall be
prepared by school personnel and signed by the teacher(s),
principal or designee and the parent or legal guardian of the
student.  A parent or the student’s legal guardian must sign
and return a copy of the student’s Individual Improvement
Plan to the student’s school by the end of the first marking
period.

4.2 [Disputes initiated by a student’s parent or legal
guardian concerning the student’s IIP shall be decided
by the school district’s superintendent.  Disputes among
school and/or district staff concerning a student’s IIP
shall be settled through the school district’s normal
procedures for resolving similar internal disagreements.]
Any dispute concerning the content of a student’s [IEP  IIP
shall be decided by the school district’s superintendent or
designee] [is subject to resolution in conformity with the
Regulations, Children with Disabilities.]

Regulatory Implementing Order
Educational Programs for Children with Limited 

English Proficiency

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the
State Board of Education to amend the regulations
Educational Programs for Students with Limited English
Proficiency, Pages A-16 – A-18 in the Handbook for K-12
Education.  The amended regulations are substantially
changed and provide specific directions to local school
districts as to the services that they must provide to students
with limited English proficiency.  The regulations define a
student with limited English proficiency, provide an
identification procedure, define a program for these students
and set forth a reclassification procedure.  The regulations
also give directions for monitoring student progress,
program evaluation, and reports for DOE and
communication with language minority parents or guardians.
The regulations also state that language minority students are
to be a part of the Delaware State Testing Program (DSTP).

Notice of the proposed regulations was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on June 21,
2000 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the

newspaper advertisements.

II.  Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend these
regulations because they needed to be amended in order to
more accurately reflect the requirements of the Federal
Office of Civil Rights and to better reflect the nature of the
programs in Delaware.

III.  Decision to Amend the Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to amend the regulations.  Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del. C. Section 122, the regulations attached hereto as
Exhibit B are hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of
14 Del. C. Section 122(e), the regulations hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective
date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the regulations amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. Section 122, in open session
at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on August
17, 2000. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 17th day of August, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 17th day of August, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith
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920  Educational Programs for Students with Limited 
English Proficiency

1.0  General.  Each district shall identify upon enrollment
every student with limited English proficiency, and each
district shall make available to every student who has been
determined to be eligible for limited English proficiency
services a program of instruction until such time as the
student becomes fully proficient in English in accordance
with 5.0 below.

2.0  Student with Limited English Proficiency Defined.  For
the purpose of this section, a student with limited English
proficiency is one who, by reason of foreign birth or
ancestry, speaks a language other than English, and either
comprehends, speaks, reads or writes little or no English, or
who has been identified as a pupil of limited English
proficiency by a valid English language proficiency
assessment approved by the Department of Education for use
statewide.

3.0  Determination of Eligibility for Limited English
Proficiency Programs.  Each school district shall implement
a system for the timely and reliable identification of students
with limited English proficiency and determination of such
students’ eligibility for limited English proficiency
programs.  This system shall include a home language
survey and an assessment of English language proficiency.

3.1  A home language survey or the questions contained
in the survey shall be administered as part of the registration
process for all registering students and shall elicit from the
student’s parent or guardian the student’s first acquired
language and the language(s) spoken in the student’s home.

3.2  Any student for whom a language other than
English is reported on the home language survey as the
student’s first acquired language or as a language used in the
student's home shall be administered an English language
proficiency assessment.  Such assessment shall be conducted
in conformance with the following standards:

3.2.1  the assessment shall be based on a
standardized instrument, validated for this purpose and
approved by the Department of Education for use statewide;

3.2.2 the assessment shall measure English
proficiency in reading, writing, speaking and oral
comprehension, except that reading and writing proficiency
will generally not be assessed for students below grade 2;

3.2.3  the assessment shall be conducted by
qualified personnel trained in the administration of the
assessment instrument;

3.2.4  the assessment shall be conducted as soon as
practicable, but not later than 25 school days after
enrollment.

3.3  Any student who achieves a score on the English
language proficiency assessment that is lower than the

eligibility cut-off score in reading, writing, or oral English
established by the Department of Education shall be entitled
to a program of instruction for students with limited English
proficiency.  Reading and writing proficiency will not be
considered for students below grade 2.

3.4  For each student enrolled in the 2000-2001 school
year, each district shall conduct a home language survey, to
the extent practicable, of every enrolled student as in 3.1
and, as applicable pursuant to 3.2, an English language
proficiency assessment in accordance with 3.2.1 through
3.2.3.  Beginning with the 2000-2001 school year, each
district shall conduct such a home language survey, and as
appropriate, an English language proficiency assessment of
every new student at the time of enrollment in a school.

4.0  Specially Designed Program.  Each enrolled student
who is eligible for services pursuant to 3.3 above, shall be
provided with a program of instruction for students with
limited English proficiency.

4.1  A program of instruction for students with limited
English proficiency shall include: formal instruction in
English language development; and instruction in academic
subjects which is designed to provide students with limited
English proficiency with access to the District’s curriculum.

4.2  In selecting program(s), each district may choose
from a variety of programs that are research-based and best
practice in the education of limited English proficient
students. Beginning with the 2001-2002 school year,
programs of instruction for students with limited English
proficiency are to be reviewed by the Department of
Education.  Such programs include bilingual programs as
well as programs that are delivered exclusively in English.

4.2.1  Bilingual programs shall include:
4.2.1.1  standards-based instruction for

students with limited English proficiency, using the
student’s native language and English;

4.2.1.2  instruction in reading and writing in
the student’s native language; and

4.2.1.3  English as a second language
instruction.

4.2.2  Programs delivered exclusively in English
shall include:

4.2.2.1  standards-based instruction for
students with limited English proficiency, using English in a
manner that takes into account the student’s level of English
proficiency;

4.2.2.2  instruction which builds on the
language skills and academic subject knowledge the student
has acquired in his or her native language; and

4.2.2.3  English as a second language
instruction.

4.2.3  Programs shall be implemented consistent
with the goal[s] of prompt acquisition of full English
proficiency. [4.2.4] Programs shall include instruction in
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academic subjects which is equivalent in scope to the
instruction that is provided to students who are not limited in
English proficiency.

4.2.[4 5]  Instruction shall be delivered by teachers
who meet Department of Education certification
requirements and who are trained in the delivery of
instruction to students with limited English proficiency.

4.2.[5 6]  Where a bilingual program is offered, the
parent or guardian of an eligible student may opt for the
eligible student to be served in a program for students with
limited English proficiency carried out exclusively in
English.

5.0  Reclassification Procedures.  At least once each school
year, each eligible student shall be considered for
reclassification as a fully English proficient student who no
longer needs a program for students with limited English
proficiency.

5.1  Reclassification shall include an assessment of
English proficiency in accordance with the standards in 3.2.1
- 3.2.4 above.

5.2  Any student who achieves a score on the English
language proficiency assessment which is lower than the
eligibility cut-off score in reading, writing, or oral English
established by the Department of Education shall be
regarded as a student with limited English proficiency and
shall continue to be eligible for a program of instruction for
students with limited English proficiency.  Reading and
writing proficiency will not be considered for students below
grade 2.

5.3  Any student who achieves a score on the English
language proficiency assessment at or above the eligibility
cut-off score in reading, writing, and oral English established
by the Department of Education shall be reclassified as fully
English proficient and considered ineligible for a program of
instruction for students with limited English proficiency.
Reading and writing proficiency will not be considered for
students below grade 2.

5.4  Before removing any student from a program for
students with limited English proficiency, the district shall
assess the student’s level of performance in academic subject
areas. Any reclassified student found to have incurred
academic deficits while in the program for students with
limited English proficiency shall be provided with
supplemental instructional services in the relevant subject
areas.

6.0  Monitoring Performance of Ineligible and Reclassified
Students.  For at least two school years following the
determination of ineligibility or reclassification, a district
shall monitor the academic performance of each student who
has been:  assessed pursuant to 3.2 above and found
ineligible for a program; or reclassified as fully English
proficient pursuant to 5.3 above. Students who experience

academic performance problems during this period shall,
based on further assessment, be considered for entry/reentry
into a program of instruction for students with limited
English proficiency and shall be provided with supplemental
instructional services as necessary and appropriate.

7.0  Program Evaluation.  Each district shall prepare an
annual evaluation of its program(s) for students with limited
English proficiency.  Such evaluation shall be available for
review upon request and shall be submitted to the
Department of Education beginning with the 2001-2002
school year.  This evaluation may be part of the district’s
annual evaluation required for other district programs.  At a
minimum, this program evaluation shall:

7.1  consider the validity of the assessment processes
carried out pursuant to 3.2 and 3.3, and 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, and 5.4
above, in terms of predicting student success in the regular
instructional program;

7.2  consider the effectiveness of each program of
instruction for students with limited English proficiency in
achieving the goal[s] and standards in 4.2. above; and

7.3  describe any modifications that have been proposed
or implemented, based on the evaluation data.

8.0  Student Information Reports.  Each district shall provide
the Department of Education annually with the language
background, the current English proficiency level of each
LEP student enrolled in the district, and the type of program
in which the LEP student receives services, and related
information.  Such reporting shall take place in a manner
prescribed by the Department of Education.  A district shall
provide such other information as the Department of
Education may request, in order to assure adherence to this
regulation.

9.0  Communications with Language Minority Parents/
Guardians.  Each district shall ensure that communications
with parents/guardians, including notices of eligibility for a
program for students with limited English proficiency,
notices about the student’s educational performance and
progress in such programs, and school information that is
made available to other parents/guardians, are provided to
each language minority parent/guardian in a language the
parent/guardian can understand to the extent practicable.

10.0  Accountability.  Students with limited English
proficiency and students reclassified as fully English
proficient shall be included in the Delaware Student Testing
Program (DSTP). Alternative assessment measures may be
used as provided in Department of Education guidelines,
including the Guidelines for the Inclusion of Students with
Disabilities and Students with Limited English Proficiency,
as the same may, from time to time, be amended hereafter.

10.1  Differential analysis of the results of the DSTP and
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any alternative assessment measures shall be conducted on
the performance of students with limited English proficiency
and students reclassified as fully English proficient.  Such
data shall be made available with other accountability data
for each district and the state as a whole.

10.2  The Department of Education and each district
shall ensure that consequences and benefits under
Delaware’s system of statewide accountability are dispensed
in a manner that is equitable to students with limited English
proficiency and students reclassified as fully English
proficient.  This shall be based on assessments which
accurately measure the student’s performance in the area
being assessed and are reflective of the curriculum which
was delivered to the student.

Regulatory Implementing Order
Children with Disabilities

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

At its April 20, 2000 and May 18, 2000 meetings, the
State Board of Education consented to the adoption of
regulations on Children with Disabilities.  The Secretary of
Education now seeks the Board’s consent to further amend
these regulations.  As with the changes approved in April
and May, the primary purpose of the proposed amendments
is to assure compliance with the 1997 amendments to the
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (“IDEA”) and its
federal implementing regulations.  If adopted, the proposed
regulations will be incorporated in the Department’s
technical assistance document, the Administrative Manual
for Special Education Services (“AMSES”), along with the
regulations previously approved by the Board.

The currently proposed revisions address:  (1) referrals
by a school’s instructional support team to have a student
evaluated for eligibility for special education and related
services;  (2) time frames for completing the initial eligibility
evaluation; and  (3) the eligibility criteria for learning
disabilities.  Versions of these regulations have previously
been proposed and received considerable public comment.
The Department revised the regulations on the basis of the
comments received.  The current proposals have also
received public comment, as detailed below.

The Secretary also proposes to eliminate the State
Committee for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.  The
Department initially published regulations that would have
continued the State Committee.  As a result of public
comments, the Secretary concluded that the State Committee
no longer serves a useful purpose under the amended IDEA.
(See May 18, 2000 Regulatory Implementing Order for
Children with Disabilities.) The Department published
notice of its intention to eliminate the State Committee and
received no comments in response to this proposal.

Notice of the currently proposed amendments, including
information on submitting formal comments, was published
in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on June
21, 2000 in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A.  The
proposed regulations also appeared in the Delaware Register
of Regulations on July 1, 2000, at 4 DE Reg. 43-69 (July 1,
2000) and were distributed to the Chief School Officers and
the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens in
June 2000.

A public hearing on the proposed regulations was held
on August 9, 2000.  Comments received at the public hearing
were consistent with the written comments discussed below. 

II.  Findings of Facts

The Department received comments from the State
Council for Persons with Disabilities (“SCPD”) (two
Memorandums dated July 28, 2000), from the Director of
Special Education for Appoquinimink School District (letter
received August 9, 2000) and from the Governor’s Advisory
Council for Exceptional Citizens (“GACEC”)(letter dated
August 11, 2000).

The SCPD and the GACEC comments express similar
concerns.  First, both suggest that the proposed regulations
allow the districts too much time to complete an initial
evaluation and determine whether a child is eligible for
special education and related services.

The federal regulations do not provide a specific time
line in which such an evaluation must be conducted.  The
federal Office of Special Education Programs has noted that
the determination should be done within a “reasonable
time.”  With limited exceptions, the federal regulations
require that parental consent be obtained before conducting

an initial evaluation.1 
As initially proposed, regulation Section 3.0 would have

required districts to complete the evaluation and determine
eligibility within 90 calendar days of referral.  The current
proposal requires eligibility to be determined within the
shorter of 45 school days or 90 calendar days; the time frame
begins when the district receives the parent’s consent to
evaluate.  These changes reduce the amount of time
originally proposed for eligibility determinations, while
accounting for the difficulties in conducting evaluations
during the summer recess.  The Department believes that
these proposed time frames are reasonable in light of the
information that must be collected during the evaluation
process and the importance of the evaluation in crafting an
appropriate educational program.  Also, it is consistent with
the federal regulations to begin measuring time when
parental consent is received, given that consent is required
for evaluation.

1. 34 CFR §300.507.
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Secondly, the GACEC and the SCPD are concerned that
the instructional support team (“IST”) process proposed in
regulation Section 2.3.2 will further delay the evaluation
process. The Department proposed the creation of the IST
largely to assure that children experiencing learning or
behavior problems receive the benefit of team intervention
and that multiple instructional strategies are considered for
these children.  The proposed regulations also help
standardize the referral processes being used by the districts.

The Department notes that the federal regulations
prevent a child from being eligible for special education and
related services if the determinant factor for eligibility is lack

of instruction in reading or math.1   In most cases, the
information collected by the IST will be required as part of
an evaluation for special education eligibility.  To help
assure that the IST process is not used to delay evaluations,
the currently proposed regulations require that parents be
notified, and their consent to evaluation be solicited, within
10 days of when the IST determines that an evaluation for
special education services is necessary.  Because regulation
Section 2.3.3 allows a parent to initiate a referral for a
special education evaluation at any time, the requirement of
parental notification protects the integrity of the referral
process and allows parents to control the start of the time line
for determining eligibility.

The SCPD and GACEC’s comments did, however,
highlight the need to clarify that parental notification must
be concurrent with the IST’s referral to the appropriate
district staff person.  Thus, the Department has added the
word “concurrently” to the second sentence of proposed
regulation Section 2.3.2.  The comments also have caused
the Department to add language at the end of Section 2.3.2 to
clarify that while a district may return a referral to the IST
for missing but required information, this return does not
delay or toll the time for parental notification.  The
Department believes these clarifications also answer the
questions posed in Appoquinimink School District’s
comments.

The SCPD and GACEC also are concerned that the
proposed eligibility criteria for children with learning
disabilities mandate the use of correlation tables to assess
discrepancies between achievement and ability.  The federal
regulations require that a child have a “severe discrepancy
between achievement and intellectual ability” in one of

seven areas to qualify as learning disabled.2  The  correlation
tables establish the standard against which the team
determines whether there is a “severe discrepancy.” 

The Department believes that the correlation tables
contemplate and allow for the exercise of professional
judgment in the selection and use of the assessment

instruments. Consequently, they allow the team to exercise
its discretion and judgment while maintaining a meaningful
standard of eligibility.  The Department also notes that while
the current regulations contain a discretionary exception to
the use of the tables, the exception is seldom used, i.e.,
nearly all children eligible for special education as learning
disabled have been qualified on the basis of the tables,
suggesting that the tables are both reliable and
comprehensive.

Finally, the comments received from Appoquinimink
School District have caused the Department to insert a
reference to the instructional support team in proposed
regulation Section 4.8.  This addition clarifies that the IST
fulfills the “formative intervention process” required in the
learning disability criteria.

In summary, the Secretary of Education finds that it is
necessary to further amend these regulations because of the
1997 revisions to the IDEA and the 1999 federal adoption of
the IDEA implementing regulations. As discussed above, the
Secretary also finds that the proposed regulations, with the
minor clarifications identified, are consistent with the federal
requirements and with Chapter 31 of Title 14 of the
Delaware Code.

III.  Decision to Amend the Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary of Education
concludes that it is necessary to amend the Department’s
regulations on Children with Disabilities.  Therefore,
pursuant to Chapter 31 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code, the
regulations attached hereto as Exhibit B are adopted.
Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the
amended regulations shall be in effect for a period of not
more than five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V., below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the adopted regulations shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit B and shall become part of the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

These actions were taken by the Secretary pursuant to
14 Del.C. Chapter 31 in open session at the State Board’s
regularly scheduled meeting on August 17, 2000.  The
effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the
date the Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 17th day of August, 2000.
1.  34 CFR §300.534(b).
2.  34 CFR §300.541(a)(2).
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education
Approved this 17th day of August, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

925  Children with Disabilities

1.0  Adoption and Incorporation of Federal Regulations
1.1  The federal regulations adopted pursuant to the

Individuals with Disabilities Act Amendments of 1997,
effective May 11, 1999 and located at 34 CFR Parts 300 and
303, are adopted and incorporated as part of these
Regulations.

1.2  These Regulations implement, complement and
supplement the federal regulations and Chapter 31 of Title
14 of the Delaware Code (with the exception of Subchapter
IV) and are designed and intended to insure compliance with
applicable state and federal law.  To the extent these
Regulations conflict with the federal regulations, the federal
regulations shall prevail.

1.3  These Regulations are arranged to correspond to the
order of the federal regulations and shall be read in
conjunction with the parallel provisions of the federal
regulations, as illustrated by the Administrative Manual for
Special Education Services (adopted February 2000),
available at the Department of Education.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

2.0  Identification of Children with Disabilities
2.1  Child Find:  Each school district and any other

public agency responsible for the education of children with
disabilities shall identify, locate and evaluate or reevaluate
all children with disabilities residing within the confines of
that district or other public agency, including children in
private schools.

2.2  Health Screening:  Health, hearing, vision, and
orthopedic screening shall be conducted as specified in The
Regulations of the Department of Education, 800.2, 800.3,
800.4, and 800.5 for Health Examinations and Hearing,
Vision and Orthopedic Screening].

2.3  Referral to Instructional Support Team:  Referral to
the school's instructional support team is a process whereby
teachers enlist the help of the team to assist in the
identification of potential instructional strategies or solutions
for learning and behavior problems.  The instructional
support team process may or may not lead to referral for

initial evaluation to determine eligibility and possible need
for special education services.  Documentation of the
process should be comprehensive (including baseline and
outcome data) and include strategies such as:  curriculum
based assessment, systematic observation, functional
assessment, current health information and analyses of
instructional variables.

2.3.1  Each district or other public agency shall
adopt and implement procedures which provide for the
referral of children to an instructional support team.  All
such referrals shall be specified in writing.

2.3.2  When the instructional support team
determines the child should be evaluated to determine
eligibility and possible need for special education services,
the recommendation will be forwarded to the appropriate
staff member within 10 school days.  The parent shall be
notified within 10 days of the determination by the
instructional support team that a child should be evaluated to
determine eligibility and need for special education services.
The notification shall include a request for parental consent
for initial evaluation, which complies with section 300.505
of the federal regulations (see Procedural Safeguards,
section 14.0). Referrals for an individual child that do not
contain all required documentation, including the evidence
as described in 2.3, may be returned to the instructional
support team with a request for the required information.
When the instructional support team determines the child
should be evaluated to determine eligibility and possible
need for special education services, the recommendation will
be forwarded to the appropriate staff member within 10
school days.  [Concurrently, the] parent shall be notified
within 10 days of the determination by the instructional
support team that a child should be evaluated to determine
eligibility and need for special education services.  The
notification shall include a request for parental consent for
initial evaluation, which complies with section 300.505 of
the federal regulations (see Procedural Safeguards, section
14.0).  Referrals for an individual child that do not contain
all required documentation, including the evidence as
described in 2.3, may be returned to the instructional support
team with a request for the required information [, but a
return to the instructional support team shall not delay
parental notification and request for consent for initial
evaluation.]

2.3.3  A parent may initiate a referral at any time for
an initial evaluation to determine whether or not there is a
need for special education services.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

3.0  Procedures for Evaluation and Determination of
Eligibility

3.1  Reserved - Initial Evaluation Initial evaluation:
Informed written parental consent shall be obtained before
conducting an initial evaluation and the meeting to
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determine eligibility shall occur within 45 school days, or 90
calendar days whichever is shorter, of the receipt of consent
for the initial evaluation, unless additional time is agreed
upon.

3.2  Evaluation Procedures
3.2.1  Qualified Evaluation Specialists

3.2.1.1  A qualified evaluation specialist is a
person who has met State approval or recognized
certification, licensing, registration, or other comparable
requirements which apply to the area in which he or she is
providing student evaluation services.

3.2.2  Eligibility decisions may including (1)
historical information and (2) evaluation data which are no
more than two years old.

3.2.3  Each initial evaluation shall be completed in
a manner which precludes undue delay in the evaluation of
students.

3.2.4  The Evaluation Report shall document the
IEP team’s discussion of the eligibility determination
including, where appropriate, the additional requirements for
students with a learning disability.

3.3  Procedures for Determining Eligibility and
Placement

3.3.1  Children who have an articulation
impairment as their only presenting disability may not need a
complete battery of assessments.  However, a qualified
speech-language pathologist shall evaluate each child who
has a speech or language impairment using procedures that
are appropriate for the diagnosis and appraisal of speech and
language impairments.

3.3.2  Written Report:  The Evaluation Report shall
document the IEP team’s discussion of the child’s continued
eligibility, including, where appropriate, the additional
requirements for students with a learning disability.

3.3.3  Cognitive Ability:  For cases in which
continued eligibility for special education services is
dependent upon level of cognitive ability or discrepancies
between ability and achievement such as learning disability
and mental disability, the IEP team shall ensure that the
eligibility decision is based on reliable and valid individual
assessment data.  For children identified prior to age 7, a
second individual evaluation shall occur after the child’s 7th
birthday, and be at least one year apart from the earlier
evaluation.  The results of these two evaluations shall lead to
substantially similar conclusions about the child’s level of
cognitive ability or discrepancy between ability and
achievement, if applicable.

3.3.4  Delaware Student Testing Program
Participation:  The IEP team shall determine the
participation of a child with a disability in the Delaware
Student Testing Program in conformity with the guidelines
set forth in the Delaware Student Testing Program,
Guidelines for the Inclusion of Students with Disabilities and
Students with Limited English Proficiency.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

4.0  Eligibility for Services
4.1  Age of Eligibility:  Programs shall be provided for

children with disabilities in age ranges as set out in
accordance with Chapters 31 and 17 of Title 14 of the
Delaware Code and other age ranges as provided for by
State and/or federal legislation.

4.1.1  The age of eligibility for special education
and related services for children identified as having a
hearing impairment, visual impairment, deaf- blindness, or
autism, shall be from birth through 20 years, inclusive.

4.1.2  The age of eligibility for children identified
as having preschool speech delay shall be from the third
birthday up to, but not including, the fifth birthday.

4.1.3  The age of eligibility for children identified
as having speech and/or language impairment shall be from
the fifth birthday through twenty years, inclusive; provided,
however, that children attaining the minimum age by August
31 of the school year shall also be eligible.  These children
receive a free appropriate public education as preschool
speech delayed upon reaching their third birthday.

4.1.4  The age of eligibility for children identified
as having a developmental delay shall be from the third
birthday up to, but not including, the fourth birthday.

4.1.5  The age of eligibility for children identified
as having a physical impairment, trainable mental disability,
traumatic brain injury, or severe mental disability shall be
from the third birthday through 20 years inclusive; provided,
however, that students in these categories attaining the
minimum age by August 31 of the school year shall also be
eligible.

4.1.6  The age of eligibility for children identified
as having emotional disturbance, educable mental disability,
or learning disability shall be from the fourth birthday
through 20 years inclusive; provided, however, that children
in these categories attaining the minimum age by August 31
of the school year shall also be eligible.  These children
receive a free appropriate public education as
developmentally delayed upon reaching their third birthday.

4.1.7  Children in special education who attain age
21 after August 31 may continue their placement until the
end of the school year including appropriate summer
services through August 31.

4.2  Definitions and General Eligibility/Exit Criteria
4.2.1  Eligibility Criteria - General:  A child shall be

considered eligible to receive special education and related
services, and to be counted in the appropriate section of the
unit funding system noted in 14 Delaware Code, Ch. 17,
Section 1703, when such eligibility and the nature of the
disabling condition are determined by an IEP team.
Eligibility and the nature of the condition shall be based
upon consideration of the results of individual child
evaluation data obtained from reports and observations and
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the definitions and criteria delineated in these regulations.
Eligibility for classification under any one or more
categories shall include documentation of the educational
impact of the disability.  Documentation of eligibility shall
include an evaluation report from a qualified evaluation
specialist.  Eligibility for classification under any one or
more categories shall include, but shall not be limited to, an
evaluation report from the evaluation specialist designated
under the eligibility criteria for each disability.

4.2.2  Exit Criteria - General:  A child ceases to be
eligible for special education and related services when the
IEP team determines that special education is no longer
needed for the child to benefit from his or her educational
program or the child graduates with a high school diploma.
In making the determination, the team shall consider:

4.2.2.1  Eligibility criteria;
4.2.2.2  Data-based and/or documented

measures of educational progress; and
4.2.2.3  Other relevant information

4.3  Eligibility Criteria for Autism:  An IEP team shall
review evidence for the following behavioral manifestations:

4.3.1  The presence of an impairment of verbal and
nonverbal communication skills including the absence of
speech or the presence of unusual speech features, and a
combination of the following:

4.3.1.1  Impairment in reciprocal social
orientation/interaction;

4.3.1.2  Extreme resistance to change and/or
control;

4.3.1.3  Preoccupation with objects and/ or
inappropriate use of objects; and/or

4.3.1.4  Unusual motor patterns, including, but
not limited to, self-stimulation and self- injurious behavior.

4.3.2  Identification of autism shall be documented
through an evaluation by either a licensed psychologist, a
certified school psychologist, a qualified physician, or a
qualified psychiatrist.  Determination of the condition of
autism and eligibility for special education shall be made by
an IEP team.

4.3.3  Age of Eligibility:  The age of eligibility for
children identified under this definition shall be from birth
through 20 years, inclusive.

4.4  Eligibility Criteria for Developmental Delay:  A
developmental delay is a term applied to a young child, who
exhibits a significant delay in one or more of the following
developmental domains: cognitive, communication
(expressive and/or receptive), physical (gross motor and/or
fine motor), social/emotional functioning, and adaptive
behavior.  A developmental delay shall not be primarily the
result of a significant visual or hearing impairment.

4.4.1  In order for an IEP team to determine
eligibility for special education services, under the
Developmental Delay category, the following is required:

4.4.1.1  Standardized test scores of 1.5 or more

standard deviations below the mean in two or more of the
following developmental domains: cognitive,
communication (expressive and/or receptive), physical
(gross and/or fine), social/emotional functioning or adaptive
behavior; or

4.4.1.2  Standardized test scores of 2.0 or more
standard deviations below the mean in any one of the
developmental domains listed above; or

4.4.1.3  Professional judgment of the IEP team
that is based on the multiple sources of information used in
the assessment process and with justification documented in
writing in the evaluation report.

4.4.2  Age of Eligibility:  The age of eligibility for
classification under the developmental delay classification is
from the third birth date until the fourth birth date.

4.5  Eligibility Criteria for Deaf Blind:  An IEP team
shall consider the following in making a determination that a
child has a deaf-blind condition:

4.5.1  A qualified physician or licensed audiologist
shall document that a child has a hearing loss so severe that
he or she cannot effectively process linguistic information
through hearing, with or without the use of a hearing aid.
Such documentation shall be based upon a formal
observation or procedure; and a licensed ophthalmologist or
optometrist shall document that a child has a best, corrected
visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye, or a
peripheral field so contracted that the widest lateral field of
vision subtends less than 20 degrees; and

4.5.2  An IEP team shall consider the
documentation of auditory and visual impairment in addition
to other information relevant to the child’s condition in
determining eligibility for special education under the above
definition.

4.5.3  Classification as a child who is deaf- blind
shall be made by the IEP team after consideration of the
above eligibility criteria.

4.5.4  Age of Eligibility:  The age of eligibility for
children identified under this definition shall be from birth
through 20 years, inclusive.

4.6  Eligibility Criteria for Emotional Disturbance:  The
IEP team shall consider documentation of the manifestation
of the clusters or patterns of behavior associated with
emotional disturbance and documentation from multiple
assessment procedures.  Such procedures shall include, but
not be limited to, an evaluation by either a licensed or
certified school psychologist, or a licensed psychiatrist,
classroom observations by teacher(s) and at least one other
member of the IEP team, a review of records, standardized
rating scales, and child interviews.

4.6.1  The documentation shall show that the
identified behaviors have existed over a long period of time
and to a marked degree, and:

4.6.2  Adversely affect educational performance.
This means that the child's emotions and behaviors directly
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interfere with educational performance.  It also means that
such interference cannot primarily be explained by
intellectual, sensory, cultural, or health factors, or by
substance abuse; and

4.6.2.1  Are situationally inappropriate for the
child's age.  This refers to recurrent behaviors that clearly
deviate from behaviors normally expected of other students
of similar age under similar circumstances.  That is, the
student's characteristic behaviors are sufficiently distinct
from those of his or her peer groups; or

4.6.2.2  Preclude personal adjustment or the
establishment and maintenance of interpersonal
relationships.  This means that the child exhibits a general
pervasive mood of unhappiness or depression and/or is
unable to enter into age-appropriate relationships with peers,
teachers and others; and

4.6.3  The age of eligibility for children identified
under this definition shall be from the fourth birthday
through 20 years, inclusive.

4.7  Eligibility Criteria for Hearing Impairment
4.7.1  A qualified physician or licensed audiologist

shall document that a child has a hearing loss such that it
makes difficult or impossible the processing of linguistic
information through hearing, with or without amplification.
Such documentation shall be based upon a formal
observation or procedure; and

4.7.2  The IEP team shall consider the
documentation of hearing impairment in addition to other
information relevant to the child’s condition in determining
eligibility for special education under the above definition.

4.7.3  The age of eligibility of children identified
under this definition shall be from birth through 20 years,
inclusive.

4.8  Reserved - Eligibility Criteria for Learning
Disability Eligibility Criteria for Learning Disability:  In
order for an IEP team to determine eligibility for special
education services under the learning disability category, the
following is required:

4.8.1 Written documentation for the formative
intervention process used with the student [(see section 2.3,
“Referral to Instructional Support Team,” above)]. The
documentation shall include a clear statement of the
student’s presenting problem(s); summary of diagnostic data
collected and the sources of that data; and summary of
interventions implemented to resolve the presenting
problem(s) and the effects of the interventions; and

4.8.2 A comprehensive psychological assessment to
evaluate the student’s reasoning and cognitive processes in
order to rule out mental retardation and emotional
disturbance, and

4.8.3 A severe discrepancy between achievement
and intellectual ability in one or more of the following areas:
oral expression, listening comprehension, written
expression, basic reading skills, reading comprehension,

mathematics calculation or mathematics reasoning, based on
correlation tables approved by the Department of Education.

4.8.4 The age of eligibility for students identified
under this definition shall be from the fourth birthday
through 20 years inclusive.

4.9  Mental Disability:  The degree of mental disability
is defined as follows:  Educable Mental Disability (EMD) -
I.Q. 50-70, +5 points;  Trainable Mental Disability (TMD) -
I.Q. 35-50, +5 points;  Severe Mental Disability (SMD) -
I.Q. below 35.

4.9.1  Eligibility Criteria for Mental Disability:  The
IEP team shall consider both the level of intellectual
functioning and effectiveness of adaptive behavior, as
measured by a licensed or certified school psychologist, in
determining that a child has a mental disability and the
degree of mental disability.

4.9.2  The age of eligibility for children identified
under the TMD, and SMD definition shall be from the third
birthday through 20 years, inclusive.  Children identified
under the EMD definition shall be from the fourth birthday
through 20 years inclusive.  These children may be served at
age 3 as having a developmental delay.

4.10  Eligibility Criteria for Physical Impairments:
Eligibility criteria for physical impairments include
examples of orthopedic disabilities, but are not limited to:
traumatic brain injury, cerebral palsy, muscular dystrophy,
spina bifida, juvenile rheumatoid arthritis, amputation,
arthrogryposis, or contractures caused by fractures or burns.
Examples of health impairments include, but are not limited
to:  cancer, burns, asthma, heart conditions, sickle cell
anemia, hemophilia, epilepsy, HIV/AIDS or medical
fragility.

4.10.1  A qualified physician shall document that a
child has a physical impairment in order to be considered for
special education and related services under the above
definition.

4.10.2  The IEP team shall consider the child’s need
for special education and related services if the physical
impairment substantially limits one or more major activities
of daily living and the student has:

4.10.2.1  Muscular or neuromuscular
disability(ies) which significantly limit(s) the ability to
communicate, move about, sit or manipulate the materials
required for learning; or

4.10.2.2  Skeletal deformities or other
abnormalities which affect ambulation, posture and/or body
use necessary for performing school work; or

4.10.2.3  Similar disabilities which result in
reduced efficiency in school work because of temporary or
chronic lack of strength, vitality, or alertness.

4.10.3  Determination by the IEP team of eligibility
for services shall be based upon data obtained from:

4.10.3.1  Medical records documenting the
physical impairment are required, and current medical
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prescriptions such as O.T./P.T., medication, catheterization,
tube feeding shall be included if available;

4.10.3.2  Results from specialist team
screening using appropriate measures which identify
educational and related service needs, as well as
environmental adjustments necessary.  The team shall
include, but not necessarily be limited to, an educator and
physical or occupational therapist; and

4.10.3.3  Prior program or school records if
available; and when determined necessary, a speech/
language evaluation, adaptive behavior scale, vision or
hearing screening, social history, and/or psychological
evaluation.

4.10.4  Age of Eligibility:  The age of eligibility for
children under this definition shall be from the third birthday
through 20 years, inclusive.

4.11  Speech and/or Language Impairment Eligibility
Criteria:  In determining eligibility under the Speech and/or
Language classification, the IEP team shall consider the
results of an evaluation conducted by a licensed Speech-
Language Pathologist which identifies one or more of the
following conditions:  an articulation disorder, a language
disorder, dysfluent speech; and/or a voice disorder.

4.11.1  The age of eligibility for children identified
under this definition shall be from the fifth birthday through
20 years, inclusive, except where speech and/or language
therapy is provided as a related service.  In the latter
instance, the age of eligibility shall correspond with that of
the identified primary disability condition.

4.12  Eligibility Criteria for Traumatic Brain Injury:  A
qualified physician must document that a child has a
traumatic brain injury in order to be considered for special
education and related services under the above definition.

4.12.1  The IEP team shall consider the child’s need
for special education and related services if the traumatic
brain injury substantially limits one or more major activities
of daily living.

4.12.2  The age of eligibility for children under this
definition shall be from the third birthday through 20 years,
inclusive.

4.13  Visual Impairment Eligibility Criteria
4.13.1  Legally Blind shall be defined as a visual

acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with best correction,
or a peripheral field so contracted that the widest diameter of
such field subtends less than 20 degrees.

4.13.2  Partially Sighted shall be defined as a visual
acuity between 20/70 and 20/200 in the better eye after best
correction, or a disease of the eye or visual system that
seriously affects visual function directly, not perceptually.  A
visual impairment may be accompanied by one or more
additional disabilities, but does not include visual-perceptual
or visual-motor dysfunction resulting solely from a learning
disability.

4.13.3  A licensed ophthalmologist or optometrist

shall document that a child has a best, corrected visual acuity
of 20/200 or less in the better eye, or a peripheral field so
contracted that the widest diameter of such field subtends
less than 20 degrees, legally blind, or a visual acuity of 20/70
or less in the better eye after all correction, partially sighted.

4.13.4  The IEP team shall consider the
documentation of visual impairment in addition to other
information relevant to the child’s condition in determining
eligibility for special education under the above definition.

4.13.5  The age of eligibility for children identified
under this definition shall be from birth through 20 years,
inclusive.

4.14  Eligibility Criteria for Preschool Speech Delay (3
and 4 year olds only)

4.14.1  A speech disability is defined as a
communication disorder/delay involving articulation, voice
quality, and/or speech fluency to such a degree that it
interferes with a child’s overall communicative
performance.

4.14.2  In order to determine a significant delay or
disorder in this area, the child shall receive a speech and
language evaluation conducted by a licensed Speech and
Language Pathologist.

4.14.2.1  A speech and language evaluation
shall include assessment of articulation, receptive language
and expressive language as measured by a standardized/
norm-based instrument.  It is strongly recommended that the
evaluation include clinical observations and/or an
assessment of oral motor functioning, voice quality and
speech fluency.  Results of the evaluation may identify a
significant delay or disorder in one or more of the following
areas:

4.14.2.1.1  articulation errors of sounds
that are considered to be developmentally appropriate for the
child’s age as measured by an articulation test,

4.14.2.1.2  conversational speech that is
not developmentally appropriate for the child’s age as
measured by a speech and language pathologist,

4.14.2.1.3  oral motor involvement which
may affect the development of normal articulation,

4.14.2.1.4  Speech Fluency, or
4.14.2.1.5  Voice Quality

4.14.3  Results of the evaluation may indicate a
significant delay in receptive and/or expressive language
which warrants further evaluation.  In this event, the child is
to be referred for a multidisciplinary evaluation to determine
if he/she meets the eligibility criteria for developmental
delay.

4.14.4  The age of eligibility for preschool children
identified under this definition shall be from the third birth
date until the fifth birth date.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

5.0  Individualized Education Program (IEP):  An IEP shall
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be developed prior to delivery of services and within thirty
(30) calendar days following the determination that a child is
eligible for special education and related services.

5.1  Transition Between Grades or Levels:  During the
annual review, the IEP team shall consider the needs of the
child with a disability who is scheduled for a move.
Communication with the staff of the receiving program shall
occur to ensure that a child’s transition between grades or
levels does not endanger his/her receipt of a free appropriate
public education.

5.2  IEP of Transferring Students with Disabilities
5.2.1  A child with a disability who transfers from

one school district or other public agency educational
program to another must be temporarily placed in an
educational setting which appears to be most suited to the
child’s needs based on a decision mutually agreed upon by
the parents and representative of the receiving school district
or other public agency.

5.2.2  The request for, and the forwarding of,
records shall be in accordance with 29 Delaware Code,
Chapter 5.

5.2.3  A child’s IEP from the sending school district
or other public agency may be acceptable for temporary
provision of special education services.  The agreement shall
be documented by the signatures of a parent and the
receiving principal on a temporary placement form or the
cover page of the IEP.

5.2.4  A review of the IEP shall be instituted and
completed within thirty (30) calendar days from the date of
initial attendance of the child in the receiving agency, and
sixty (60) calendar days for students transferring from out-
of-state schools.  The receiving school is responsible for
ensuring that all requirements concerning evaluation, IEP
development, placement, and procedural safeguards shall be
applied in determining the provision of special education and
related services for transferring children.

5.3  IEP Team:  Participants at an IEP meeting shall be
collectively identified as the IEP Team.

5.3.1  The agency representative must have the
authority to commit agency resources and be able to ensure
that whatever services are set out in the IEP will actually be
provided.

5.3.2  The district shall notify parents of the IEP
meeting no less than ten (10) business days prior to the
meeting (unless mutually agreed otherwise) to ensure that
they have the opportunity to attend, and no less than three (3)
business days for removal due to disciplinary action.  See
12.0 Disciplinary Procedures.

5.4  Content of the Individualized Education Program:
Each child who is determined to be eligible for special
education and related services shall have a single IEP.

5.4.1  The IEP shall designate whether or not it is
necessary to place the child who is transported from school
by bus into the charge of a parent or other authorized

responsible person.
5.4.2  By the middle of the eighth grade, the IEP

shall include plans to determine the child’s interests/
preferences, and to make application to high school and
vocational education programs.  Full transition services
planning will apply by the end of the ninth grade or prior to
the child’s 15th birthday, whichever comes first, unless
determined appropriate at a younger age by the IEP Team.

5.5  Monitoring IEPs:  As part of the on-going
responsibility for the monitoring and evaluation of programs
to determine compliance with state and federal requirements,
the school district and/or other public agency shall review
the IEPs of children with disabilities to determine that their
content is consistent with requirements of these regulations.
Documentation of monitoring efforts shall be maintained by
the school district and/or other public agencies.

5.6  Need for Extended School Year Services:  Full
consideration must be given to the educational needs of each
child.  The following factors are to be considered by the IEP
team in making a decision that, without extended school year
services over the summer months, the child would not
receive a free appropriate public education (FAPE) during
the regular school year.

5.6.1  Degree of Impairment:  The team should
determine whether, without extended school year services,
appropriate and meaningful progress on IEP goals and
objectives will not be achieved, given the nature and/or
severity of the child’s disability.

5.6.2  Regression/recoupment:  Regression refers to
a decline in skills specified on the IEP which results from an
interruption in programming.  Recoupment period is the
amount of time required to relearn the skills following the
interruption.  In making a determination as to whether
extended school year services are required, the team should
consider that this criterion focuses on students who have a
consistent pattern of substantial regression in critical skill
areas and for whom the amount of time needed to relearn the
skills becomes so significant as to preclude educational
progress.  The team may utilize predictive data for children
in their initial year of programming.

5.6.3  Breakthrough opportunities:  The team
should determine whether, without extended school year
services, the attainment of a nearly acquired critical skill
would be significantly jeopardized over the summer break.

5.6.4  Vocational:  For children ages 16-20 whose
IEPs contain vocational/employment goals and objectives,
the team should determine whether paid employment
opportunities will be significantly jeopardized if training and
job coaching are not provided during the summer break.

5.6.5  Other rare and unusual extenuating
circumstances:  The team should determine whether any
special or extenuating circumstances exist which justify
provision of extended school year services to meet FAPE
requirements.
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5.6.6  Extended school year services are to be based
on needs and goals/objectives found within the child’s IEP
of the school year, though activities may be different.

5.6.7  This regulation does not diminish a child’s
entitlement to participate, with or without accommodations,
in summer school programs provided by local school
districts. Normally scheduled summer school programs may
be an option for providing extended school year services if
such programs can meet the individual needs of each child,
per his/her IEP.

5.6.8  The decision of the setting for the delivery of
extended school year services shall be an IEP team decision.
The team shall document that the Least Restrictive
Environment (LRE) was considered in making a decision.
Districts are not required to establish school programs for
non-disabled students for the sole purpose of satisfying the
LRE requirements for students receiving extended school
year services.

5.6.9  Transportation shall be provided to students
except for service provided in the home or hospital.  Mileage
reimbursement to the family may be used as a transportation
option if the parent voluntarily transports the student.

5.6.10  Written notice shall be provided to parents
advising them that extended school year services will be
discussed at the IEP meeting.  The IEP team shall document
that extended school year services were considered, and
indicate the basis for a decision on the IEP. In cases where
parents do not attend the IEP meeting, they would be advised
of the decision on extended school year services through the
usual IEP follow-up procedures used by the district.

5.6.11  In cases where parents do not agree with the
decision on extended school year services, the use of normal
procedural safeguards shall be followed.  The process shall
begin early enough to ensure settlement of the issue prior to
the end of the school year.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

6.0  Least Restrictive Environment is operationalized in
terms of the degree of interaction between children with and
without disabilities.  The decision about placement within
the least restrictive environment is made following the
writing of the IEP and is directly related to the child’s needs
and identified services documented in the IEP.  Settings in
which services can be provided include:

6.1  Regulation Education Class:  Children with
disabilities receive special education and related services
outside the regular classroom for less than 21 percent of the
school day.  This may include children with disabilities
placed in:

6.1.1  regular class with special education/ related
services provided within regular classes,

6.1.2  regular class with instruction within the
regular class and with special education/related services
provided outsiDE Reg.ular classes, or

6.1.3  regular class with special education services
provided in resource rooms.

6.2  Resource Class:  Children with disabilities
receiving special education and related services outside the
regular classroom for at least 21 percent but no more than 60
percent of the school day.  This may include children and
youth placed in:

6.2.1  resource rooms with special education/
related services provided within the resource room, or

6.2.2  resource rooms with part-time instruction in a
regular class.

6.3  Self-Contained Class:  Children with disabilities
receiving special education and related services outside the
regular classroom for more than 60 percent of the school
day.  This does not include children who received education
programs in public or private separate day or residential
facilities.  This may include children and youth placed in:

6.3.1  self-contained special classrooms with part-
time instruction in a regular class.

6.3.2  self-contained special classrooms with full-
time special education instruction on a regular school
campus.

6.4  Public Separate Day School:  Children with
disabilities receive special education and related services for
greater than 50 percent of the school day in public separate
facilities.  This may include children and youth placed in:

6.4.1  public day schools for children with
disabilities, or

6.4.2  public day schools for children with
disabilities for a portion of the school day (greater than 50
percent) and in regular school buildings for the remainder of
the school day.

6.5  Private Separate Day School:  Children with
disabilities receive special education and related services, at
public expense, for greater than 50 percent of the school day
in private separate facilities.  This may include children and
youth placed in private day schools for students with
disabilities.

6.6  Public Residential Placement:  Children with
disabilities receiving special education and related services
for greater than 50 percent of the school day in public
residential facilities. This may include children and youth
placed in

6.6.1  public residential schools for children with
disabilities, or

6.6.2  public residential schools for children with
disabilities for a portion of the school day (greater than 50
percent) and in separate day schools or regular school
buildings for the remainder of the school day.

6.7  Private Residential Facilities:  Children with
disabilities receive special education and related services, at
public expense, for greater than 50 percent of the school day
in private residential facilities.  This may include children
and youth placed in:
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6.7.1  private residential schools for children with
disabilities, or

6.7.2  private residential schools for students with
disabilities for a portion of the school day (greater than 50
percent) and in separate day schools or regular school
buildings for the remainder of the school day.

6.8  Homebound/Hospital Placement:  Supportive
Instruction (Homebound Instruction) is supportive
instruction in an alternative program provided at home,
hospital or related site for children suffering from an illness
or injury.  For other disabled children it may be the level of
service which assures a free, appropriate public education.

6.8.1  Where the child with a disability is a danger
to himself or to herself, or is so disruptive that his or her
behavior substantially interferes with the learning of other
students in the class, the IEP team may provide the child
with supportive instruction and related services at home in
lieu of the child’s present educational placement.

6.8.2  Services provided under these conditions
shall be considered a change in placement on an emergency
basis and shall require IEP team documentation that such
placement is both necessary and temporary and is consistent
with requirements for the provision of a free, appropriate
public education.

6.8.3  In instances of parental objection to such
home instruction, due process provisions apply.

6.8.4  To be eligible for supportive instruction and
related services, the following criteria shall be met:

6.8.4.1  The child shall be identified as
disabled and in need of special education and/or related
services and enrolled in the school district or other public
educational program; and

6.8.4.2  If absence is due to medical condition,
be documented by a physician’s statement where absence
will be for two weeks or longer; or

6.8.4.3  If absence is due to severe adjustment
problem, be documented by an IEP team that includes a
licensed or certified school psychologist or psychiatrist, and
that such placement is both necessary and temporary; or if
for transitional in-school program, be documented by the
IEP team that it is necessary for an orderly return to the
educational program.

6.8.5  IEPs specifying supportive instruction
services shall be reviewed at intervals determined by the IEP
team, sufficient to ensure appropriateness of instruction and
continued placement.

6.8.6  Supportive instruction, related services and
necessary materials shall be made available as soon as
possible, but in no case longer than 30 days following the
IEP meeting. Such instruction and related services may
continue upon return to school when it is determined by the
IEP team that the child needs a transitional program to
facilitate his or her return to the school program.

6.9  Least Restrictive Environment Placement

Decisions:  The school district shall ensure that when a child
with a disability is placed, a chronologically age-appropriate
placement is provided.

6.9.1  An educational placement deemed
appropriate by a child's IEP team shall not be denied merely
because of the category of the child's disability,
configuration of the existing service/support delivery
system, availability of educational or related services,
availability of space, or curriculum content or methods of
curriculum delivery.

6.9.2  A change in placement requiring an IEP team
meeting occurs when the district proposes to initiate or
change the placement of the child.  This includes a change
in:

6.9.2.1  The amount of time of regular, special
education and/or related services; or

6.9.2.2  The settings as identified in 6.1 – 6.8
above.

6.9.3  A change of placement does not include a
change of teachers when the same services are being
provided, a change in the scheduled of service delivery, or
routine movement within a feeder pattern, i.e., grade level
changes.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

7.0  Vocational Education:  When appropriate to individual
needs of the children, as determined by the IEP team, each
school district or other public agency responsible for the
education of a child with a disability shall provide vocational
education programs for such children in the Least Restrictive
Environment.

7.1  Children with disabilities will be provided with
equal access to recruitment, enrollment and placement
activities.

7.2  Children with disabilities will be provided with
equal access to the full range of vocational programs
available to all students including occupational specific
courses of study, cooperative education, apprenticeship
programs and to the extent practicable, comprehensive
career guidance and counseling services.

7.3  In addition to the vocational program, each school
district or other public agency shall ensure the following
supplementary services are provided to children with
disabilities:

7.3.1  Codification of curriculum, equipment and
facilities as needed;

7.3.2  Supportive personnel;
7.3.3  Instructional aids and devices;
7.3.4  Guidance, counseling and career

development staff who are associated with the provision of
such special services;

7.3.5  Counseling services designed to facilitate the
transition from school to post-school employment and career
opportunities.  Carl D. Perkins Vocational & Technical
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Education Act of 1998.
7.3.6  Regular vocational programs with supportive

services as identified by the IEP team; and
7.3.7  Special education vocational programs.

7.4  Each school district or other public agency must
provide assurances that they will assist in fulfilling the
transitional service requirement as defined in Individuals
with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

7.5  Each school district or other public agency shall
ensure the provision of an appropriate vocational education,
including access to Career Pathways, as determined by the
IEP team through the availability of a continuum of
vocational education placements.  The continuum of
placements includes, but is not limited to:

7.5.1  Regular vocational programs with no
supportive services;

7.5.2  Regular vocational programs with supportive
services as identified by the IEP team;

7.5.3  Special education vocational programs;
7.5.4  Self-contained vocational programs; and
7.5.5  Community based job training programs.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

8.0  Facilities, Equipment and Materials:  All facilities which
house programs for children with disabilities must meet the
standards approved by the State Board of Education with
regard to space, health, fire, safety, and barrier-free
regulations.

8.1  All instructional or treatment programs for children
with disabilities shall provide appropriate materials and
equipment for implementation of individualized education
programs.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

9.0  Length of School Day:  The minimum length of the
instructional school day for a child with a disability in
Kindergarten through grade twelve shall be the same as it is
for non-disabled children in those grades.  The minimum
length of the school day for disabled pre-Kindergarten
children shall approximate that of non-disabled pre-
Kindergarten children, except in a program for the hearing
impaired in which the parent is involved in the educational
program.  In such a program, the school and the parent
together shall determine the schedule for the five (5) hours
per week minimum instruction.  Provision of fewer hours of
instructional time than required by the above standards is
authorized only in unusual circumstances where a child is
medically unable to endure the required length of school
day, and then only by IEP committee decision after
disclosure of the above standards to the child’s parents/
guardian.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

10.0  Compulsory Attendance:  Compulsory attendance will

be in accordance with 14 Del. C., Section 2703 and 2706,
and shall apply to students with disabilities between the ages
of 5 and 16. Attendance of children with disabilities under or
over the compulsory school attendance age range, 14 Del.
C., Section 2702, shall be determined by the IEP conference
and subject to the eligibility criteria and appeal procedures
provided in these rules and regulations by the Department of
Education.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

11.0  Transportation:  Transportation of all children to and
from school is provided under 14 Del. C., Ch. 29, and when
special transportation needs are indicated in a child’s IEP,
transportation becomes a “related service.”

11.1  Travel to and from school and between schools,
including required specialized equipment, shall be at State
expense when such travel and/or specialized equipment
requirements are specified on the child’s IEP and it is
necessary for the implementation of the child’s IEP; and

11.2  Travel arrangements are to be made in
consultation with the local transportation representative
when unusual requirements are indicated.

11.3  Transportation provided to accommodate a related
service shall be at local school district or other public agency
expense.  Transportation incidental to the disabled child’s
educational program shall not be at State expense, including,
but not limited to work study arrangements; cooperative
work arrangements; and extracurricular activities.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

12.0  Discipline Procedures
12.1  Documentation, including the reasons for the

action, must be made for any removal for more than 10 days.
In addition to the removals identified in CFR Section
300.519, the following removals shall constitute a change in
placement:

12.1.1  in-school removals for more than 10 days.
If it deprives a child from (1) meeting the goals set out in the
IEP, (2) progressing in the general curriculum - though in
another setting, and (3) receiving those services and
modifications described in the IEP; and

12.1.2  removals from transportation, if it results in
the child’s absence from school for more than 10 days.

12.2  Expedited Due Process Hearings
12.2.1  An expedited due process hearing shall be

conducted by a single, impartial hearing officer appointed by
the Department of Education from the attorney members of
its Registry of Impartial Hearing Officers, and shall result in
a decision within 45 days of the receipt of the request for a
hearing.

12.2.2  Procedural rules for an expedited due
process hearing shall differ from those for a regular due
process hearing as follows:

12.2.2.1  Any party to a hearing has the right to
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prohibit the introduction of any evidence at the hearing that
has not been disclosed to that party at least two (2) business
days before the hearing.

12.2.2.2  At least two (2) business days prior to
the hearing, each party shall disclose to all other parties all
evaluations completed by that date and recommendations
based on the offering party’s evaluations that the party
intends to use at the hearing.

12.2.2.2.1  The hearing officer may bar
any party that fails to comply with this subsection from
introducing the relevant evaluation or recommendation at the
hearing without the consent of the other party.

12.3  Corporal Punishment:  Prior to any proposed
administration of corporal punishment to a child with a
disability, a determination by the child’s IEP team shall be
made as to whether or not the misconduct prompting the
proposed corporal punishment is related to, or a
manifestation of, the child’s disability.

12.3.1  The misconduct is related to, or a
manifestation of, the child’s disability, any discipline shall
be in accordance with the child’s IEP.

12.3.2  The misconduct is not related to, or a
manifestation of the child’s disability, corporal punishment
may be administered in accordance with the same State and
other provisions as applied to non-disabled children in the
school district or other public agency.

12.4  Written Notice:  The school district or other public
agency shall ensure that the parents/guardian of each child
with disabilities receive written notice of the rules and
regulations applicable to such children with respect to
discipline, suspension, expulsion, exclusion as a treatment
procedure, and corporal punishment at the beginning of each
school year or upon entry into a special education program
during the school year.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

13.0  Educational Surrogate Parent:  An “Educational
Surrogate Parent”, hereinafter referred to as “Surrogate
Parent”, is defined as an individual appointed to represent a
child who receives, or may be in need of, special education
in all educational decision-making pertaining to the
identification, evaluation, and educational placement of the
student and the provision of a free appropriate public
education to the child.

13.1  A surrogate parent shall be appointed by the
Department of Education to represent a child in all matters
pertaining to the identification, evaluation, educational
placement and the provision of a free appropriate public
education when any one of the following situations exist:

13.1.1  a parent cannot be identified;
13.1.2  after reasonable efforts, the whereabouts of

the parent cannot be discovered.  Reasonable efforts include,
but are not limited to, telephone calls, letters, certified letter
with return receipt or visit to the parents’ last know address;

13.1.3  parental rights have been terminated, and
legal responsibility has not been granted by a court of law to
an individual, not to include a state agency, and the child has
not been adopted; or

13.1.4  the child’s parent has consented voluntarily,
in writing, to the appointment of an educational surrogate
parent.  Such consent is revocable by the parent at any time
by written notice to the Department of Education.

13.2  A surrogate parent is not required for a child who
receives, or may be in need of, special education when the
child is living in the home of a relative who agrees to act in
the place of the parent.

13.3  An otherwise eligible child between the ages of 18
and 21 shall continue to be entitled to the services of a
surrogate parent.  Such child, however, who has not been
declared incompetent by a court of law retains the right to
make his/her own educational decisions.  This right to make
decisions is extended to include:

13.3.1  the right of access to a surrogate parent who
shall act as an advisor to the student;

13.3.2  the right to refuse the appointment of a
surrogate parent;

13.3.3  the right to participate in the selection of a
surrogate parent; and

13.3.4  the right to terminate the services of a duly
appointed surrogate parent.

13.3.5  To exercise any of the above rights, the
child shall, upon notification of eligibility for services of a
surrogate parent, declare his/her intentions in writing.

13.4  Nomination and Candidacy of Surrogate Parent:
The Department of Education shall be notified in writing of
the names of potential surrogate parents by anyone having
knowledge of the person’s willingness to serve.

13.5  Screening of Potential Surrogate Parents:  Each
potential surrogate parent shall be screened by the
Department of Education, in consultation with school
districts, to determine that he/she meets candidacy
requirements.

13.6 To serve as a surrogate parent, each candidate
shall:

13.6.1  be at least 18 years of age;
13.6.2  be a legal resident of the United States;
13.6.3  be competent to represent the child;
13.6.4  not be an employee of a district or other

public or private agency responsible for, or involved in, the
education or care of the child (a person is not an employee of
a district or agency solely because he/she is paid by the
district or agency to serve as a surrogate parent).  Foster
parents are not considered employees for purposes of this
requirement.

13.6.5  have no interest that conflicts with the
interest of the child he/she may represent (such
determination is made on a case-by-case basis).  In general, a
person would have a conflict of interest if she/she were in a
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position that might restrict or bias his/her ability to advocate
for all of the services required to ensure a free appropriate
public education for the child.

13.6.6  receive instruction about State and federal
laws and regulations, due process procedures, disability
conditions and the availability of programs and services for
students with disabilities, as provided by the Department of
Education; and

13.6.7  be able to converse in the primary
communication mode used by the child, whenever possible.

13.7  Training for Surrogate Parents:  Initial training for
surrogate parents shall be provided by the Department of
Education.  Such training sessions shall be conducted at least
annually.

13.7.1  The Department of Education shall issue a
Certificate of Training to qualified persons who complete the
required surrogate parent training.

13.7.2  The Department of Education shall notify
districts and the Department of Services for Children, Youth
and Their Families of persons who are certified as surrogate
parents.

13.7.3  Follow-up training shall be provided by the
Department of Education.

13.8  Appointment of Surrogate Parents:  Each district
shall be responsible for having procedures to locate and refer
eligible children.  Any person or entity, however, may
identify a child believed to require a surrogate parent.
Referral shall be made on the designated form to the
Department of Education with a copy sent to the supervisor
of special education in the district in which the child will
receive or is receiving special education.

13.8.1  The Department of Education shall
determine the child’s eligibility for a surrogate parent.

13.8.2  The Department of Education staff person
responsible for surrogate parents or his/her designee shall
recommend to the Department of Education a certified
surrogate parent to represent the student after consultation,
as appropriate, with the local school district regarding the
match of the surrogate parent to a particular child.

13.8.3  The Department of Education shall notify,
in writing, the district and/or referring agency/person of the
appointment.

13.8.4  A person may be appointed to serve as a
surrogate parent for more than one child to the extent that
such appointment is consistent with effective representation
of the children.  In no event shall one person be appointed as
a surrogate parent for more than four children.

13.9  Responsibilities of Surrogate Parent:  Each person
assigned as a surrogate parent shall represent the child in all
education decision-making processes concerning that child
by:

13.9.1  becoming thoroughly acquainted with the
child’s educational history and other information contained
in school records and reports relating to the child’s

educational needs;
13.9.2  granting or denying permission for initial

evaluation or placement, and safeguarding the
confidentiality of all records and information pertaining to
the child to comply with State and federal regulations,
including the use of discretion when sharing information
with appropriate people for the purpose of furthering the
interests of the child;

13.9.3  participating in the development of an IEP
for the child;

13.9.4  reviewing and evaluating special education
programs pertaining to the child and other such programs as
may be available;

13.9.5  initiating mediation, complaint, hearing, or
appeal procedures when necessary regarding the
identification, evaluation, or educational placement of the
child, and seeking qualified legal assistance when such
assistance is in the best interest of the child; and

13.9.6  taking part in training provided to become
familiar with the State and federal laws and regulations, due
process procedures regarding the education of children with
disabilities, information about disabilities, and the
availability of programs and services for such children.

13.10  The term of service of the surrogate parent shall
be the length of time which the surrogate parent is willing to
serve; or the length of time the child requires a surrogate
parent; or so long as the qualifications to serve and the
performance of duties as a surrogate parent are met.

13.11  Termination of Services of a Surrogate Parent:  If
the surrogate parent wishes to terminate his/her service in
that capacity, he/she shall notify the Department of
Education, in writing, at least thirty days prior to termination
of such services.

13.11.1  The Department of Education shall
determine whether each surrogate parent’s appointment shall
continue or be terminated.  Termination shall be justified
based only on material failure of the surrogate parent to
discharge his/her duties or maintain confidentiality. The
surrogate parent shall be given notice of a decision to
terminate and shall have an opportunity to respond.

13.12  Compensation for Services as a Surrogate Parent:
Surrogate parents shall be reimbursed by the Department of
Education for all reasonable and necessary expenses
incurred in performance of duties.  Reasonable and
necessary expenses include, but are not limited to:

13.12.1  mileage for attendance at meetings
concerning the child being represented; and

13.12.2  long-distance telephone calls to the school
in which the child is being served; and

13.12.3  photocopying of the child’s records.
13.13  Liability of the Surrogate Parent:  A person

appointed as a surrogate parent shall not be held liable for
actions taken in good faith on behalf of the child in
protecting the special education rights of the child.
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See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

14.0  Procedural Safeguards
14.1  The district may require advance notice when

parents or guardians wish to visit a proposed educational
program.

14.2  Written notice must be given to parents of children
with disabilities no less than ten (10) business days unless
waived by agreement of both parties.  In cases involving a
change of placement for disciplinary removal, written notice
must be provided no less than three (3) business days.

14.3  Documentation of attempts to notify the parents/
guardian, by the district or any other public agency, shall be
maintained.

14.4  Mediation of other disputes between the school
and the parents/guardian as to the child’s education program
shall be offered at the discretion of the Department of
Education.

14.4.1  The process shall use an impartial, trained
individual to assist the parties in working out acceptable
solutions in an informed, non-adversarial context.

14.4.2  Parents may be accompanied and advised by
individuals of their choice.

14.4.3  The district shall ensure the attendance of a
representative with authority to make decisions and commit
resources to agreed upon services.

14.4.4  If an agreement is reached as part of the
mediation process, it is considered an educational record,
which may be released at the parent's discretion.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

15.0  Due Process Procedures
15.1  Initiation of Hearing Procedures:  A request for a

Due Process Hearing shall be made in writing to the
Secretary of Education.

15.2  Legal Services:  The Secretary of Education’s
response to the request for a hearing shall include a
statement regarding free or low cost legal services.

15.3  The attorney member shall act as chairperson for
the Due Process Hearing Panel, shall preside at all hearings,
and shall write the final decision of the Due Process Hearing
Panel. Any decision must have the concurrence of two
members of the due Process Hearing Panel.  In those cases
where the chairperson holds a minority opinion, the educator
member shall write the decision.  Any member holding a
minority opinion may write a separate report, which shall be
attached to the decision.

15.4  Registry of Impartial Hearing Officers:  The
Department of Education shall keep a list of persons who
may serve as hearing officers.

15.5  The hearing shall be scheduled by the chairperson
of the Due Process Hearing Panel.

15.6  Any party to a hearing has the right to prohibit the
introduction at the hearing of testimony of any witness

whose identity has not been disclosed to the parties at least 5
business days before the hearing.

15.7  The parents/guardian shall have the right to
receive a written decision which includes the following
parts:  statement of issues; summary of the proceedings;
summary of evidence; findings of facts; conclusions of law;
and summary of the issues on which the parties have
prevailed.

15.8  The impartial Due Process Hearing Panel shall
reach a final decision, and the chairperson shall record the
vote of each panelist.  The chairperson shall forward a copy
of its final decision to the parties, and to the Department of
Education.

15.9  The Department of Education shall forward the
decision, with all personally identifiable information deleted,
to the chairperson of the Governor’s Advisory Council for
Exceptional Citizens, and make those findings and decisions
available to the public by placing legal notice annually in
newspapers of sufficient circulation in each of the three
Delaware counties, that this information may be obtained
through the Department of Education.

15.10  The chairperson of the Panel shall establish a
timeline for the hearing process.  In granting specific
extensions, the chairperson shall ensure that the petitioner’s
right to redress is in no way diminished or unnecessarily
delayed.

15.11  Non-Exclusivity of Remedies:  The remedies
identified in this section should not be viewed as exclusive.
In certain contexts, other remedies created by law or local
district practice may be available.

15.12  Non-Compliance:  When the finding indicates
non-compliance, the following procedures shall be followed:

15.12.1  The agency shall be presented with the
findings and a time frame for corrective action specified by
the Department of Education.

15.12.1.1  If the agency agrees with the
findings and completes a specified corrective action within a
time frame specified by the Department of Education,
follow-up activities by the Department of Education will be
conducted to verify full compliance.

15.12.1.2  A report of the findings will be
prepared and sent to the Chief Administrative Officer of the
agency and to the State Secretary of Education and the
complainant.

15.13  Compliance:  When the findings reveal full
compliance, no further action shall be taken.

15.14  Any complainant under this section shall file the
complaint in writing with the Department of Education, P.
O. Box 1402, Dover, DE 19903, and shall include in the
complaint the following:

15.14.1  the name of the agency against which the
complaint is filed;

15.14.2  a statement that the agency has violated a
requirement of the Individuals with Disabilities Education
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Act (IDEA) and/or the provisions of this Manual;
15.14.3  the facts on which the statement is based;
15.14.4  the time frame in which the incident(s)

occurred;
15.14.5  a description of the attempts made to

resolve the issue(s) prior to filing this action; and
15.14.6  name, address, phone number(s) of

individual(s) filing the complaint and the legal
representative, if any, or of individuals representing a public
agency or private organization filing a complaint.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

16.0  Confidentiality of Student Records
16.1  Parental Refusal to Release Records:  In the event

that a parent refuses to provide consent before personally
identifiable information is disclosed to anyone other than
officials of the district or State Department of Education, the
parent shall be advised in writing that the district has either:

16.1.1  Recognized that refusal and will not forward
the records; or the district will exercise its option to request
an impartial due process hearing in order to effect the release
of records.  In the event that the district elects to seek a due
process hearing, the district shall send the parent a copy of
the Special Education:  Parents’ Guide to Rights and
Services and a copy of parents’ due process rights as
delineated in this Manual.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

17.0  High School Graduation
17.1  Continuing their Education:  Students with

disabilities who are unable to meet the requirements for a
diploma shall be given the option to complete those
requirements by continuing their education, at district
expense, until their 21st birthday.

17.2  Graduation Process:  Regardless of the document
received at graduation by the student, whether a diploma or a
certificate of performance, the student shall not be
discriminated against during the graduation ceremonies.
Specifically, a student with disabilities shall be allowed to
participate in graduation exercises without reference to his/
her disability, educational placement or the type of
document conferred.

See 3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)

18.0  Interagency/Special Programs
18.1  Interagency and Least Restrictive Environment:

When it is determined by the IEP team, in making the
placement decision, that a child’s educational needs cannot
be met appropriately in the child’s district of residence,
inter-district or interagency programs shall be considered
within least restrictive environment requirements.

18.2  Interagency Agreements:  A written Interagency
Agreement shall be developed between or among the local
school districts or agencies when special education and

related services for children with disabilities are provided in
whole, or in part, by a district or districts other than the
district of residence.

18.2.1  The agreement may be initiated by the
district, agency or the Department of Education (DOE).

18.2.2  The Department of Education (DOE) shall
be a party to the agreement when the services are provided
through a special school or program approved by the State
Board of Education.

18.2.3  Each Interagency Agreement shall include
the:

18.2.3.1  Title of the agreement;
18.2.3.2  Parties involved and their authority to

provide special education and related services;
18.2.3.3  Purpose of the agreement;
18.2.3.4  Roles and responsibilities of each

agency, including access to records and record transfer
procedures, program implementation, dissemination,
training activities, funding amounts and sources;

18.2.3.5  End dates and Reauthorization
schedule;

18.2.3.6  Procedures to resolve disputes
regarding program and fiscal issues; and

18.2.3.7  Signature and title of each party’s
authorized administrator.

18.3  Responsibility for Placement in Interagency
Programs

18.3.1  For initial placement, the child’s district of
residence shall be responsible for identification, evaluation,
and placement procedures including:

18.3.1.1  Setting the date, time, and place of all
meetings;

18.3.1.2  Chairing, designating, or agreeing
upon a chairperson for all meetings;

18.3.1.3  Communicating the name of the child
to be discussed; the date and place of meeting to individuals
involved; and

18.3.1.4 Communicating recommendations of
staffing to all appropriate staff.

18.3.2  When it is suspected the child’s need for
special education can only be met in an inter-district/
interagency program, then an IEP meeting shall be arranged
by the district of residence.  The following procedures for an
IEP meeting shall be followed:

18.3.2.1  Representatives of the inter-district/
interagency program shall participate in the IEP meeting.

18.3.2.2  A representative of The district of
residence shall be a member of the child’s IEP team.

18.3.2.3  Arrangements for all evaluation and
diagnosis, whether initial or reevaluation, shall be the
responsibility of the child’s district of residence.

See 3 DE Reg. 1709 (6/1/00)

19.0  Special Programs for Children with a Visual



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 3, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2000

485

Impairment:  Services provided to the children with visual
impairments by the Department of Education, the local
school districts and the Division for the Visually Impaired
shall be implemented through an interagency agreement.

See 3 DE Reg. 1709 (6/1/00)

20.0  Special Programs for the Children who are Deafblind:
The Margaret S. Sterck School, Delaware School for the
Deaf (DSD), located in the Christina School District, shall
have administrative responsibility for providing services to
the deafblind program.

20.1  The Director and Coordinator of the Deafblind
Program shall establish a program management committee
in consultation with the Department of Education.  Complete
minutes of the committee meetings shall be sent to the State
Department of Education.

See 3 DE Reg. 1709 (6/1/00)

21.0  Special Programs for Children with Autism:
21.1  Definitions of terms applicable only to special

programs for children with autism.
21.1.1  “Behavior Management Procedure” means

any procedure used to modify the rate or form of a target
behavior.

21.1.2  “Behavior Management Target” means any
child’s behavior that either causes or is likely to cause (a)
injury to the child (e.g., self-abuse), (b) injury to another
person (e.g., aggression), (c) damage to property, (d) a
significant reduction in the child’s actual or anticipated rate
of learning (e.g., self-stimulation, non-compliance, etc.) or
(e) a significant reduction in the societal acceptability of a
child (e.g., public masturbation, public disrobing, etc.).

21.1.3  “Emergency Intervention Procedure” means
any procedure used to modify episodic dangerous behavior
(e.g., self-injurious behaviors, physical aggression property
destruction) identified in a behavioral intervention plan.

21.1.4  “Ethical Use” means the application of a
procedure in a manner that is consistent with current
community values and protects all of a child’s rights.

21.1.5  “Informed Consent” means knowing and
voluntary consent by the parent(s), based upon a thorough
explanation by the program staff member supervising the
individualized Behavior Management procedure, of the
nature of the procedure, the possible alternative procedures,
the expected behavior outcomes, the possible side effects
(positive and negative), the risks and discomforts that may
be involved, and the right to revoke the Procedure at any
time.

21.1.6  Least Restrictive Procedure means that
behavior management procedure which is the least intrusive
into, and least disruptive of, the child’s life, and that
represents the least departure from normal patterns of living
that can be effective in meeting the child’s educational
needs.

21.1.7  School means any public school or program
(special education or otherwise), which has enrolled a child
classified with autism.

21.1.8  Accepted Clinical Practice means any
behavior management procedure or treatment, the
effectiveness of which has received clear empirical support
as documented by publication in peer-reviewed journals or
similar professional literature.

21.2  Reserved.
21.3  A Parent Advisory Committee (PAC) shall be

established by each local education agency operating a
center for the Delaware Autistic Program.

21.3.1  The function of the PAC shall be to advise
the local education agency on matters pertaining to the local
center.

21.3.2  Each PAC shall meet no less than four times
each year and must be representative of the age groups of
children with autism served by the local center.

21.3.3  When a local education agency operates a
residential program, at least one member of the PAC shall be
a parent of a child with autism served in the residential
program associated with that center.

21.4  A Statewide Parent Advisory Committee (SPAC)
shall be established whose membership shall consist of one
representative elected annually from each local education
agency PAC.

21.4.1  The SPAC shall meet no less than four times
each year with the Director of DAP advising on matters
pertaining to the program.

21.4.2  The establishment of bylaws for the SPAC
shall be by vote of all of its eligible members.

21.4.3  A current statewide membership list shall be
provided to all parents.

21.4.4  Reimbursement for travel expenses shall be
available to members of the Statewide Parent Advisory
Committee (SPAC).

21.5  A Peer Review Committee (PRC) shall be
established by the Director of the Delaware Autism Program
(DAP) and the Department of Education in consultation with
the Statewide Monitoring Review Board (SMRB).

21.5.1  Purpose:  The purpose of the PRC shall be
to review, in light of accepted clinical practice, the
professional and clinical issues involved in the use of
behavior management procedures to ensure their appropriate
use by the staff of a school district serving children with
autism.

21.5.2  Composition:  The PRC shall consist of
three to five members who shall be competent,
knowledgeable professionals with at least three years of
post-doctoral experience in the theory and ethical application
of behavior management procedures.  Membership shall be
external to the Delaware Autism Program (DAP), the
Department of Education, any Delaware school district, and
any other State agency or department, excluding State
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institutions of higher education.  Members shall not belong
to any in-State committee, council, board or program that
deals directly with children with autism.

21.5.3  Operation:  The PRC shall elect a
chairperson and shall adopt a set of rules to guide its
operation.  A copy of these rules shall be provided to the
Department of Education and the Director of the DAP.

21.5.4 Peer Review Committee (PRC)
Responsibilities

21.5.4.1  The PRC shall meet at least every
three months to review those behavior management
procedures requiring after-the-fact examination.  (See
Section 21.7.1)

21.5.4.1.1  A quorum shall consist of a
majority of the Committee.

21.5.4.1.2  The PRC chairperson shall
announce the dates of review at least one month prior to the
review date.

21.5.4.2  The PRC shall meet at least six (6)
times per year to review procedures requiring prior, case-by-
case review that have been granted interim or on-going
approval. The monthly review shall continue until said
procedure has been discontinued or the PRC votes
otherwise.  This review may be held jointly with HRC.

21.5.4.3  The PRC chairperson shall invite staff
members of DAP responsible for implementation of
behavior management procedures, the Director of DAP, or
any other individual (e.g., a consultant to ensure expertise in
a specific behavior management procedure under review) to
participate as needed in a non-voting capacity.

21.5.4.4  The PRC shall provide technical
assistance when requested by the Program Director to
develop a behavior management procedure for children
engaged in behaviors that pose a significant health risk to the
child or others, a significant risk of damage to property, and/
or a significant reduction of learning.

21.5.4.5  The PRC shall review and evaluate
the training and supervision for the staff that will carry out
all behavior management procedures requiring prior,
individual review and may evaluate the training of staff
carrying out procedures requiring after-the- fact review.

21.5.4.5.1  The PRC shall provide the
Program Director with written comments and
recommendations concerning the findings of this review.

21.5.4.6  The PRC shall keep written minutes
of all its meetings and shall submit them to the Director of
DAP, the Department of Education and the HRC
chairperson.

21.5.4.6.1  These minutes shall be
submitted within two weeks of each meeting.

21.5.4.6.2  An oral summary of the PRC
recommendations shall be made within twenty-four hours
following the PRC meeting to the Director of DAP and the
HRC chairperson.

21.6  A Human Rights Committee (HRC) shall be
established by the Director of the DAP and the Department
of Education in consultation with the Statewide Autistic
Program Monitoring Review Board.

21.6.1  Purpose:  The purpose of the HRC shall be
to review the ethical and children rights issues involved in
the use of behavior management procedures to ensure their
humane and proper application.

21.6.2  Composition:  The HRC shall consist of five
to ten members representing various occupations, who are
not employees or relatives of children enrolled in the DAP,
who are not employees of the Department of Education, and
who are not members of any in-State organization, agency,
or program that deals directly with children with autism. No
member of the HRC shall be a member of the PRC.

21.6.3  Operation:  The HRC shall elect a
chairperson and shall adopt a set of rules to guide its
operation.  A copy of these rules shall be provided to the
Department of Education and the Director of the DAP.

21.6.4  Human Rights Committee Responsibilities
21.6.4.1  Whenever a school proposed to use a

behavior management procedure requiring review prior to
implementation, the HRC shall meet and review the
proposed use of the behavior management procedure.  This
review shall occur within seven days after the PRC
chairperson informs the HRC chairperson of PRC’s
recommendations.

21.6.4.1.1  A quorum shall consist of a
majority of the Committee.

21.6.4.1.2  This review, however, may be
held jointly with the PRC.

21.6.4.2  The HRC chairperson shall invite
staff members who are responsible for the implementation of
behavior management procedures, the Director of DAP, or
any other individual (e.g., consultant, parent) to participate
as needed in a non-voting capacity.

21.6.4.3  The HRC shall develop a written
form to be used to ensure that informed parental consent is
obtained before implementation of specified behavior
management procedures.

21.6.4.4  The HRC shall keep written minutes
of all its meetings and shall submit them to the Director of
DAP, the Director, Exceptional Children Group, and the
PRC chairperson.

21.6.4.4.1  These minutes shall be
submitted within two weeks of each meeting.

21.6.4.4.2  An oral summary of the HRC
recommendations shall be made within twenty-four hours
following the HRC meeting to the Director of DAP and the
PRC chairperson.

21.7  Joint responsibilities of the Peer Review and
Human Rights Committees are as follows:

21.7.1  Issue a written statement indicating which
behavior management procedure(s) shall be recommended
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for use:
21.7.1.1  Without further PRC/HRC review

during the year approved;
21.7.1.2  Without a case-by-case PRC/HRC

review but with after-the-fact review (timelines to be
established by the PRC); or

21.7.1.3  Only with prior case-by-case PRC
and HRC (before-the-fact) review;

21.7.2  Recommend written modifications, if
necessary, of behavior management procedures along with
accompanying rationale;

21.7.3  Review a school’s proposed Emergency
Intervention Procedures for children with autism and issue a
written statement indicating which Emergency Intervention
Procedures shall be recommended:

21.7.3.1  For use without after-the-fact
reporting to the PRC/HRC; or

21.7.3.2  For use with after-the-fact reporting
to the PRC/HRC;

21.7.4  Issue an advisory, not mandatory, statement
presenting a recommended hierarchy of reviewed behavior
management procedures according to the Least Restrictive
Procedure principle.

21.7.4.1  Notice shall be given to parents of
children with autism in the program of the availability upon
request, and at no cost to parents, of copies of the reviewed
behavior management procedures.

21.7.4.2  A copy shall also be forwarded to the
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens.

21.7.5  The PRC chairperson, in cooperation with
the HRC chairperson, shall announce the joint PRC/ HRC
annual review at least one month prior to the review date.

21.7.5.1  At the discretion of either
chairperson, Committees may meet jointly or separately to
conduct before-the-fact and after-the-fact reviews.

21.7.6  Approve, before-the-fact, the housing of
children under age twelve with a child over age sixteen in a
community-based residential program for children with
autism operated by a school district designated and approved
by the Secretary of Education as the administering agency
for the DAP.

21.7.7  Review, within 30 days of the granting of
interim approval, any request by a school for the immediate
implementation of a behavior management procedure
requiring prior, case-by-case review.

21.7.7.1  Immediate implementation of a
proposed procedure may occur after the Program Director
has obtained unanimous interim approval from one PRC
member and two HRC members.

21.7.7.2  Proposed prior review procedures not
requiring immediate implementation shall be submitted by a
school directly to PRC and HRC chairperson to be reviewed
within two weeks of submission of the proposal.

21.7.8  Have access to the educational records of

any child with autism for purposes of 21.5.1 and 21.6.1 of
this section.

21.7.8.1  A quorum of a joint meeting shall
consist of a majority of combined membership.

21.7.9  Submit written Procedural Descriptions for
Behavior Management and Emergency Interventions

21.7.9.1  Prior to utilizing a behavior
management procedure or an emergency intervention
procedure for a particular child with autism, a school shall
submit written procedural descriptions for at least annual
joint review by the PRC and HRC.

21.7.9.1.1  The annual date of review shall
be announced by the HRC chairperson at least one month
prior to the review date.

21.7.9.1.2  The school shall submit written
procedural descriptions at least two weeks prior to the joint
annual review date to the PRC and HRC chairpersons.

21.7.9.1.3  The written descriptions shall
contain information determined by PRC and HRC and set
forth in their operating rules.

22 1.7.9.1.4  PRC and HRC may request
pertinent information needed for the completion of reviews.

21.7.9.2  After reviewing each behavior
management and emergency procedure, the PRC and HRC
shall indicate what kind of review each procedure requires
(annual, after-the-fact, or prior case-by-case review).  A
school serving children with autism shall then submit
proposals in accordance with PRC/HRC recommendations.

21.7.9.3  Behavior management and
emergency intervention procedures that require annual
review only may then be implemented by a school without
further PRC/HRC review until the next annual joint review.
A school shall require that the use of these procedures be
indicated in a child’s IEP.

21.7.9.4  Behavior management and
emergency intervention procedures that require after-the-fact
review only shall be used by a school without case-by-case
review, but shall be reported after the fact to the PRC by
dates specified by the Committee chairperson.

21.7.9.4.1  The school shall submit written
records as set forth in PRC and HRC operating rules, or any
other relevant information requested by either Committee, to
the PRC chairperson at least one week prior to the review
date.

21.7.9.5  Behavior management procedures
that require prior case-by-case review shall be submitted to
the PRC and HRC for joint review prior to implementation.

21.7.9.5.1  If the PRC and HRC decide not
to review the case jointly, the PRC shall first review the
proposal.

21.7.9.5.2 The proposal shall contain
information determined by PRC and HRC and set forth in
their operating rules.

21.7.9.5.3 Recommendations and rationale
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for the decision shall be provided whenever the PRC fails to
recommend use of a proposed procedure.

21.7.9.6 Following the PRC recommendation
(or following joint PRC/HRC approval), written informed
parental consent shall be obtained by the school.

21.7.9.6.1 If an interim consent is obtained
by telephone, then two witnesses to the content of the
conversation shall sign a form certifying that the parent(s)
gave informed consent. The school must then obtain written
verification of this consent from the parent(s).

21.7.9.6.2 Parents may withdraw consent
at any time; if said withdrawal is done verbally in person or
by telephone, the parent shall provide written verification of
withdrawal within 10 days of the initial notice.

21.7.9.7 Whenever the PRC and HRC choose
not to meet jointly, the information provided by a school
shall be submitted to the HRC along with the PRC’s
recommendations.

21.7.9.7.1  Recommendations and
rationale for the decision shall be provided whenever the
HRC fails to recommend the use of a proposed procedure.

21.7.9.7.2  Whenever a proposal is
recommended for implementation, an IEP objective shall be
developed relating to the behavior management target and
the proposed procedure.

21.7.9.8  Whenever the PRC or HRC fail to
recommend or modify the proposed procedure, the parent(s)
shall be notified by the school.

21.7.9.8.1  If the procedure is to be
modified, informed written consent shall be obtained from
the parents.

21.7.9.9  The school staff responsible for
implementing the behavior management procedure shall
provide written reports to the PRC and HRC, summarizing
the records (which shall be kept on a daily basis) on the use
and results obtained by implementing the procedure.

21.7.9.9.1  Records shall be kept in an
objective, quantitative form, permitting easy evaluation of
child data.

21.7.9.9.2  The PRC and HRC shall have
unrestricted access to all data, records, and reports relating to
the behavior management procedures used.

21.7.9.10  Any behavior management or
emergency intervention procedure that is developed by a
school after the joint annual review date for a particular
school year shall be submitted to the PRC and HRC
chairpersons for joint review prior to any implementation of
the new procedure, unless interim approval has been
recommended as described in 21.7.7.

21.8  Private facilities serving autistic children shall
have Peer Review and Human Rights Committee policies as
follows:

21.8.1  Private facilities serving children with
autism located in Delaware shall have Peer Review

Committee and Human Rights Committee policies that
comply with DELACARE standards (requirements for
Residential Child Care Facilities, Department of Services for
Children, Youth and their Families).

21.8.2  Private facilities serving Delaware children
with autism located in other states shall comply with the Peer
Review Committee and Human Rights Committee policies
used by the state in which the facility is located.

21.8.2.1  Said policies shall be reviewed by
Delaware’s Department of Education to determine that they
grant protection substantially equivalent to that provided by
Delaware for children prior to any recommendation of
approval for private placement by the State Board of
Education.

21.8.3  Private facilities serving Delaware children
with autism located in states which have no Peer Review
Committee and Human Rights Committee policies shall
have written Peer Review and Human Rights Committee
policies that shall be reviewed by Delaware’s Department of
Education in consultation with Delaware’s PRC, to
determine that they grant protection substantially equivalent
to that provided by Delaware for children, prior to any
recommendation of approval for private placement by the
Secretary of Education.

21.8.4  Private facilities serving Delaware children
with autism located in states which require substituted
judgment or other court order for the use of aversive or
related restrictive procedures, and which have obtained such
an order for each Delaware child, shall be deemed to have
met the peer review and human rights requirements of this
section.

21.9  Whenever psychotropic medication has been
prescribed by a physician and appears to affect adversely the
educational program of a child with autism, the
administrator of the center shall contact the parent and
request a medication review with the parent and physician.

21.10  Appropriate liaison with the Department of
Health and Social Services and other agencies shall be
established by the Director of DAP and the Department of
Education.

See 3 DE Reg. 1709 (6/1/00)

22.0  Students in Need of Unique Educational Alternatives
22.1  Unique Educational Alternative support shall be

available for those children with disabilities who have needs
that cannot be addressed through the existing resources/
programs of the State.  Unique Educational Alternatives
include, but are not limited to, private residential placements
and private day programs.

22.1.1  The Secretary of Education shall approve
children for Unique Educational Alternative support and the
type of Unique Educational Alternative Support to be
provided when such support is necessary to provide special
education and related services to a child with a disability.
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22.1.2  If the Unique Educational Alternative is a
private residential or private day placement, the Secretary of
Education shall approve the designation of each child
eligible for private placement and the private school or
facility in which the approved child is to be enrolled.

22.1.3  Such approval of unique educational
alternatives shall be for no more than a one-year period,
ending no later than August 31 of the year in which the child
is to be enrolled.

22.2  To the extent authorized by the General Assembly
in the Budget Act, the Department of Education shall
convene the Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT) to
review the expenditures for placements of students in need
of Unique Educational Alternatives.

22.2.1  The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
membership shall consist of:

22.2.1.1 Division Director, Division of Child
Mental Health Services, DSCYF;

22.2.1.2  Division Director, Family Services of
DSCYF;

22.2.1.3  Division Director, Division of Youth
Rehabilitation Services of DSCYF;

22.2.1.4  Division Director, Division of Mental
Retardation of DHSS;

22.2.1.5  Division Director, Division of
Alcoholism, Drug Abuse and Mental Health, DHSS;

22.2.1.6  Director of the Office of the Budget,
or designee;

22.2.1.7  Controller General or designee;
22.2.1.8  Director, Exceptional Children’s

Group, Department of Education (DOE), who will serve as
Chair;

22.2.1.9  Associate Secretary, Curriculum &
Instructional Improvement, Department of Education
(DOE).

22.2.2  A Director shall be assigned to the
Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT) and may designate
staff to be their  representative on the Interagency
Collaborative Team (ICT) only if these designated
representatives are empowered to act on behalf of the
Division Director, including commitment of Division
resources, for a full fiscal year.

22.2.3  The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
shall invite to its meetings:  a representative of a responsible
school district for the case under consideration, the parents
of the child, and other persons the team believes can
contribute to their deliberations.

22.2.4  The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
shall:

22.2.4.1  Review existing assessments of new
referrals;

22.2.4.2  Prescribe, if required, additional
assessments for new referrals;

22.2.4.3  Review proposed treatment plans of

new referrals;
22.2.4.4  Recommend alternatives for

treatment plans of new referrals;
22.2.4.5  Coordinate interagency delivery of

services;
22.2.4.6  Review at least annually, current

Unique Educational Alternatives for the appropriateness of
treatment plans and transition planning;

22.2.4.7  If appropriate, designate a Primary
Case Manager for the purpose of coordination of service
agencies;

22.2.4.8  If appropriate, designate agencies to
be involved in collaborative monitoring of individual cases.

22.2.5  The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
shall ensure that state costs incurred as the result of a Team
recommendation or assessment of a child currently funded
from the Unique Educational Alternatives appropriation for
this purpose in the Budget Act will be covered from the
existing appropriation.

22.2.5.1  New referrals will be assessed in the
interagency manner described above.

22.2.5.2  The Interagency Collaborative Team
(ICT) may accept and review cases initiated by other
agencies, but in all cases, the school district of residence
must be involved in the review.

22.2.5.3  Cases reviewed by the Interagency
Collaborative Team (ICT) will employ Unique Educational
Alternatives funding to cover state costs to the extent
determined appropriate by the Interagency Collaborative
Team.

22.2.5.4  Other agencies may recognize a
portion of the responsibility for the treatment of these
children if determined appropriate by the Team.  Funds may
be transferred upon the approval of the Budget Director and
the Controller General.

22.2.6  The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
shall report on its activities to the Governor, Budget
Director, President Pro-Tempore, Speaker of the House and
the Controller General by February 15 of each year.  The
report shall address the status of items addressed in the
previous February ICT Annual Report.

22.3  Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT) Review
Criteria

22.3.1  The Interagency Collaborative Team (ITC)
shall recommend to the Secretary of Education action on
referrals for approval of Unique Educational Alternatives
based on the following criteria:

22.3.1.1  A school district or other public
agency support/program is either not available or is not
adequate.

22.3.1.2  The school district certifies that the
school district cannot meet the needs of the child with
existing resources and/or program.

22.4  Procedures for Districts Seeking to Place Students
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in Unique Educational Alternative Settings
22.4.1  The responsible district and fiscal agency

for a child seeking Unique Educational Alternative support
shall be the child’s district of residence.  The district is
responsible for inviting the parent, and, if appropriate, the
student, to the ICT meeting.

22.4.2  The chairperson of the Interagency
Collaborative Team shall be contacted by the district special
education supervisor or designee as soon as the district has
reason to believe Unique Educational Alternative support
may be needed.

22.4.3  The IEP team that includes district level
representation shall meet and determine if the child’s need
for special education and related services can be met within
the existing resources/programs available to the district.

22.4.3.1  Representatives of all agencies
involved with the child shall be invited to attend this
meeting.

22.4.4  The district shall submit an application to
the Chair of the ICT at least five business days before the
meeting if it is determined that the child’s needs for special
education and related services as delineated on the child’s
IEP cannot be met through existing resources/programs.

22.4.5  The application will include:
22.4.5.1  Current and other relevant assessment

information;
22.4.5.2  A historical summary of all

placements and/or major interventions and support services
that have been provided to the student;

22.4.5.3  A current IEP;
22.4.5.4  A concise statement of the needs that

cannot be addressed through existing recourses or programs;
22.4.5.5  A list of all agencies and resources

that are currently supporting the child and the family; and
22.4.5.6  An Interagency Release of

Information Form.
22.5  Procedures for the ICT

22.5.1  The ICT shall review the application at its
next monthly meeting.

22.5.2  Parents and representatives of all involved
agencies shall be invited to participate in the meeting.

22.5.3  Recommendations of the Interagency
Collaborative Team shall be shared in writing with the
school district, parents and other agency staff involved with
the case within five business days.  The ICT may:

22.5.3.1  Request additional information before
making a final recommendation.  This may include the
involvement of additional agencies, additional assessments
and/or review of additional programs/resources that the local
team had not considered;

22.5.3.2  Request for additional information
shall be sent to the school district, parents, and other agency
staff involved in the case within five business days of the
meeting and as soon as the additional information is

available, the case shall be brought back to the ICT for
further review.

22.5.3.3  Recommend approval and agree that
the child has needs that cannot be addressed through existing
programs/resources.  The local team may then develop the
specifics of the Unique Educational Alternative support; or

22.5.3.4  Recommend rejection and ask the
local team to use existing programs/resources to meet the
educational needs of the children.

22.5.4  Final recommendations of the ITC shall be
shared in writing with the school district, parents and other
agency staff involved in the case within five business days.

22.5.4.1  If the recommendation is for
approval, the local team shall develop the specifics,
including costs, of the Unique Educational Alternative.

22.5.4.2  The final plan, with costs, shall be
submitted to the Chair of the ICT.

22.5.4.3  The Chair shall submit the
recommendations for approval to the Secretary of Education.

22.5.4.4  A recommendation for rejection shall
be submitted by the Chair of the ICT to the Secretary of
Education for final action.

22.5.4.5  The parent, district superintendent,
the special education supervisor, and the director of any
other involved agency shall be notified in writing by the
Secretary of Education, following the action.

22.6  Financial Aid for Unique Educational Alternatives
22.6.1  Financial aid for children approved for

Unique Educational Alternative support by the Secretary of
Education, other than private residential or day schools, shall
include only those costs that are not covered by an existing
funding line.

22.6.1.1  The Department of Education shall
pay 85% of the Unique Educational costs and the local
school district will pay 15% of the costs unless waivers for
the local school district are recommended by the Interagency
Collaborative Team (ICT).

22.6.2  Financial aid for children with disabilities
approved for private placement by the Department of
Education shall include maintenance, transportation and
tuition.

22.6.2.1  The Department of Education shall
pay 85% of the private placement costs and the local school
district shall pay 15% of the private placement costs.

22.6.2.2  The amount authorized for payment
shall be the amounts charged by the private school or facility
for tuition or program costs, transportation and maintenance,
in accordance with the definitions in the Delaware Code.

22.7  Independent Placements by School District or
Agency:  A school district or other public agency may
independently place a child with a disability in a private or
public school or facility and provide the tuition from
appropriate school district or other agency funds without
Department of Education approval.
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22.7.1  Such an independent placement in a private
or public out-of-state facility using local funds must,
nonetheless, be certified as a program meeting the applicable
standards of the host state.

22.8  School District/Agency Responsibility for Private
Placements:  When a school district or other public agency
responsible for the education of children with disabilities is
unable to provide an appropriate program, the district or
other public agency may refer the student for consideration
of a unique educational alternative, including a private
placement.

22.8.1  District Certification and Documentation
22.8.1.1  The local school district certification

that the child is eligible for private placement and the
statement pertaining to the lack of an appropriate program
shall be forwarded on the designated forms to the
Department of Education for review by the Interagency
Collaborative Team (ICT) prior to action by the Secretary of
Education.

22.8.1.2  Documentation shall accompany each
application describing the nature and severity of the child’s
disabling condition(s).

22.8.1.3  Such documentation shall include
report(s) of the appropriate specialist(s), depending upon the
nature of the child’s disability.

22.8.1.4  Additional documentation will be
requested, if needed, in order to make a recommendation as
to the child’s eligibility for private placement or the
appropriateness of the requested placement.

22.9  Responsibility for Individualized Education
Program

22.9.1  The district or any other public agency shall
develop the initial Individualized Education Program for
each child with a disability referred for approval for
placement that is in a private school or facility.

22.9.2  The district or other public agency shall
ensure that a representative of the private school or facility
attends the meeting.  If a representative of the private school
cannot attend the meeting, the district shall use other
methods to ensure participation by the private school or
facility, including individual or conference telephone calls.

22.9.3  After a child with a disability enters a
private school or facility; any meetings to review and revise
the child’s IEP may be initiated and conducted by the private
school or facility at the discretion of the district or any other
public agency.

22.9.4  If the private school or facility initiates and
conducts these meetings, the district or any other public
agency shall ensure that the parents and a district or any
other public agency representative are involved in any
decision about the child’s IEP and agree to any proposed
changes in the program before those changes are
implemented.

22.9.5  District of Residence:  The referring district

and fiscal agency for a child in private placement is the
child’s district of residence.

22.9.6  Responsibility for Compliance:  Primary
responsibility for compliance with State and federal
regulations shall remain with the school district or other
public agency responsible for the education of the child,
even if a private school or facility implements a child’s IEP.

22.10  State Responsibility for Private School
Accountability:  In implementing State and federal
regulations governing accountability for and to private
programs, the Department of Education shall have the
authority to:

22.10.1  Monitor compliance through procedures
such as written reports, on-site visits and parent
questionnaires.

22.10.2  Develop regulations that define the
standards by which private schools and facilities may be
approved to serve children with disabilities, and a schedule
for reevaluation.

22.10.3  Disseminate copies of applicable standards
to each private program to which a public agency has
referred or placed a child with disability.

22.10.4  Provide an opportunity for those private
schools or facilities to participate in the development and
revision of State standards which apply to them.

See 3 DE Reg. 1709 (6/1/00)

23.0  General Supervision of Education for Children with
Disabilities:  The Department of Education (DOE) shall
ensure that each educational program for children with
disabilities administered within the State, including each
program administered by any other public agency, is under
the general supervision of the persons responsible for
educational programs for children with disabilities in the
State educational agency; and meets education standards of
the State educational agency.

23.1  Documentation of Department of Education
(DOE) activity in meeting its responsibilities shall be
maintained in a manner consistent with effective
management procedures.  Such documentation shall include,
but not be limited to, issues pertaining to:

23.1.1 General Supervision, Cooperative
Agreements, Complaint/Due Process Procedures,
Compliance Monitoring, Project Coordination, Program
Evaluation, Comprehensive System of Personnel
Development, Dissemination; and Finance/Administration.

23.2  The Department of Education (DOE) shall,
through its Comprehensive Compliance Monitoring System,
ensure that each public agency develops and implements an
IEP for each of its children with disabilities.

23.3  The Department of Education (DOE) shall
distribute regulations, sample documents and letters of
notification to all agencies (public and non-public) providing
services to children with disabilities.
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23.4  Nothing in the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act, as amended, or in these regulations shall be
construed by any party as permitting any agency of the State
to reduce medical or other assistance under, or alter the
eligibility requirements of, programs funded in whole or in
part through Title V (Maternal and Child Health) or Title
XIX (Medicaid) of the Social Security Act, with respect to
the provision of a free appropriate public education for
children with disabilities within the State.

23.5  Compliance Monitoring:  The Department of
Education (DOE) shall fulfill a minimum of six
administrative responsibilities regarding monitoring of
programs for children with disabilities.  These
responsibilities are:

23.5.1  Adoption and use of policies and procedures
to exercise general supervision over all educational
programs for children with disabilities within the State.

23.5.2  Adoption and use of a method to
continuously collect and analyze information sufficient to
determine compliance of sub-grantees and other agencies
providing services to children with disabilities within the
State, and agencies providing services to Delaware children
with disabilities in other states, with applicable State and
federal program operation requirements.

23.5.3  Adoption and use of a method by which the
Department of Education (DOE) formally directs that each
deficiency identified in program operations be corrected by
the appropriate agency.

23.5.4  Adoption and use of a method by which the
Department of Education (DOE) enforces State and federal
legal obligations by requiring written assurances of
compliance with such obligations as a condition of a grant or
contract; and imposition of appropriate sanctions when a
public agency fails or refuses to correct a deficiency.  If,
after giving reasonable notice and an opportunity for a
hearing, the Department of Education (DOE) determines that
a local school district or other public agency has failed to
comply with any requirement in the Administrative Manual
for Special Education Services, the Department of Education
(DOE) shall:

23.5.4.1  Make no further payments to the
district or agency until the Department of Education (DOE)
is satisfied that there is no longer any failure to comply with
the requirement; or

23.5.4.2  Consider its decision in its review of
any application made by the district or agency for IDEA- B
payments;

23.5.4.3  Or both.
23.5.5  Any school district or other public agency

receiving a notice from the Department of Education under
23.5.4 is subject to public notice provisions as required
under 34 CFR 300.196.

23.5.6  If, through its regular monitoring
procedures, complaints, hearing results or other sources of

information, there is evidence that the district or agency is
making special education placements that are inconsistent
with 34 CFR 300.550 (Least Restrictive Environment) or
federal regulations, the Department of Education shall
review the district or agency’s justification for its action and
shall assist the district or agency in planning and
implementing any necessary corrective action.

23.6  Scope of Department of Education Compliant
Monitoring Authority

23.6.1  The Department of Education, acting on
behalf of the State Board of Education, shall have the
authority to conduct monitoring, including collection and
use of both off-site and on-site information.

23.6.2  The State Secretary of Education shall have
the authority to compel the correction of deficiencies
identified in program operations.

23.6.3  The State Secretary of Education shall have
the authority to enforce legal obligations.

23.6.4  Department of Education standards relative
to special education and related services shall be applicable
to, and binding upon, all education programs for children
with disabilities administered within the State.

23.7  The Department of Education Methods of
Monitoring shall include:

23.7.1  Written monitoring procedures which cover
all aspects of State and federal requirements and which are
uniformly applied to all public agencies;

23.7.2  Identification of deficiencies in program
operations by collecting, analyzing, and verifying
information sufficient to make determinations of
compliance/non-compliance with State and federal
requirements;

23.7.3  Determination of whether or not each
educational program for children with disabilities
administered within the State, including private schools in
which these children are placed by public agencies, meets
educational standards of the Department of Education, the
requirements of IDEA, Part B, and where applicable, of
Educational General Administrative Requirements
(EDGAR).

23.7.4  Use of other information provided to the
Department of Education through complaints, hearings and
court decisions, evaluation and performance reports, and
other formally submitted documents to determine if agencies
and programs are in need of specific compliance
interventions;

23.7.5  Monitoring the implementation of any
compliance agreement and the investigation of the
implementation of any orders resulting from the resolution
of complaints filed with the Department of Education against
the agency being monitored;

23.7.6  Use of off-site review, on-site review, letters
of inquiry, and follow-up or verification of specific
activities;
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23.7.7  Written documentation of each monitoring
activity through correspondence and reports;

23.7.8  Specification of a reasonable period of time
to complete the analysis of information collected for
monitoring or evaluation purposes to identify deficiencies of
a program or public agency in meeting State and federal
requirements and report such deficiencies to the public
agency; and, where applicable, of Educational General
Administrative requirements (EDGAR);

23.7.9  Specification of a reasonable period of time
for reaching a determination that a deficiency in program
operations exists, and for notifying the agency in writing if
required;

23.7.10  Requirement of a written notice (for
example, monitoring report, letter of findings) that:

23.7.10.1  Describes each corrective action
which must be taken, including a reasonable time frame for
submission of a corrective action plan;

23.7.10.2  Requires that the corrective action
plan provide for:  the immediate discontinuance of the
violation; the prevention of the occurrence of any future
violation; documentation of the initiation and completion of
actions to achieve current and future compliance; the
timeframe for achieving full compliance; and the description
of actions the agency must take to remedy the identified
areas of non-compliance.

23.7.11  Specification of a reasonable period of
time after receiving a corrective action plan from an agency
in which the Department of Education shall determine
whether the corrective action plan meets each of the
requirements or if additional information is required from
the agency;

23.7.12  Specification of a reasonable period of
time from the date of the original written notice, in which the
Department of Education shall determine that:

23.7.12.1  The agency has submitted an
acceptable corrective action plan which complies fully with
all of the requirements; or

23.7.12.2  Reasonable efforts have not resulted
in voluntary compliance.

23.7.13  That a school district or other public
agency be given reasonable notice and an opportunity for a
hearing with respect to an identified deficiency.

23.7.13.1  If the school district or other public
agency declines a hearing, the Department of Education
shall reach a final decision of compliance or non-
compliance within ten (10) days.

23.7.13.2  If the Department of Education
conducts a hearing, the Department of Education shall reach
a final decision of compliance or non-compliance within
thirty (30) days after the conclusion of the hearing; or

23.7.13.3  If the Department of Education
reaches a final decision of non-compliance (i.e., the school
district or other public agency has violated State or federal

requirements); the Department of Education shall:
23.7.13.3.1  Make no further payments

under Part B to the school district or other public agency
until the school district or other public agency submits an
acceptable corrective action plan;

23.7.13.3.2  Disapprove any pending
school district or other public agency Part B local
application, when appropriate;

23.7.13.3.3  Seek recovery of funds, and
impose any other sanctions authorized by law.

23.8   Comprehensive System of Personnel
Development:  The Department of Education shall provide
opportunities for all public and private institutions of higher
education, and other agencies and organizations, including
representatives of individuals with disabilities, parent, and
other advocacy organizations in the State which have an
interest in the education of children with disabilities, to
participate fully in the development, review, and annual
updating of the Comprehensive System of Personnel
Development.

23.8.1  The Department of Education shall conduct
an annual needs assessment to determine if a sufficient
number of qualified personnel are available in the State, and
to determine the training needs of personnel relative to the
implementation of federal and State requirements for
programs for children with disabilities.

23.8.2  The results of the annual needs assessment
shall be used in planning and providing personnel
development programs.

23.8.3  The Department of Education shall
implement a Comprehensive System of Personnel
Development which includes:

23.8.3.1  The inservice and preservice training
of general and special education instruction, related services,
and support personnel.  Such training shall include training
and technical assistance for ensuring that teachers and
administrators in all public agencies are fully informed of
their responsibilities in implementing the least restrictive
environment requirements and other requirements for special
education and related services;

23.8.3.2  Procedures to ensure that all
personnel necessary to carry out the provision of special
education and related services are qualified and that
activities sufficient to carry out the personnel development
plan are scheduled;

23.8.3.3  Procedures for acquiring and
disseminating to teachers and administrators of programs for
children with disabilities significant information derived
from educational research, demonstration, and similar
projects, and for adopting, where appropriate, promising
educational practices and materials.

23.8.4  On-going inservice training programs shall
be available to all personnel who are engaged in the
education of children with disabilities.
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23.8.4.1  These programs shall include:  (1) use
of incentives which ensure participation by teachers, such as
released time, payment for participation, options for
academic credit, salary step credit, certification renewal,
new instructional materials, and/or updating professional
skills; (2) involvement of local staff; and (3) use of
innovative practices which have been found to be effective.

23.8.5  The Department of Education shall
coordinate and facilitate efforts among the Department of
Education, districts and agencies, including institutions of
higher education and professional associations, to recruit,
prepare, and retain qualified personnel, including personnel
from minority backgrounds, and personnel with disabilities.

23.8.6  The Department of Education shall
coordinate with each district, agency and/or institution of
higher education all responsibilities relative to the gathering
of data, training, recruitment and retention as delineated in
34 CFR 300.380.

23.8.7  The Department of Education shall
disseminate copies of statutes, regulations, and standards
applicable to programs for children with disabilities to each
local education agency, institution, the GACEC and
organization responsible for carrying out the programs.

23.8.7.1  Such dissemination includes each
private school and facility to which a public agency has
referred a child with a disability.

23.8.7.2  The Department of Education shall
disseminate information on significant knowledge derived
from educational research and other sources, promising
practices, materials, and technology, proven effective
through research and demonstration which may be of
assistance to LEAs and other agencies in the improvement of
education and related services for children with disabilities.

23.8.7.3  The Department of Education shall be
responsible for the following dissemination activities:

23.8.7.3.1  Notice of any changes in
statutes, regulations, or standards applicable to programs for
children with disabilities shall be issued in writing, with
copies to the head of each school district or other public
agency, to each supervisor of programs for children with
disabilities and to institutions of higher education;

23.8.7.3.2  Regular meetings, at least
quarterly, of LEA and other agency supervisors of special
education programs;

23.8.7.3.3  Learning Resource System
publications relative to current issues and promising
practices.

23.9  Finance/Administration
23.9.1  Child Count Procedures:  The Department

of Education shall specify in writing the procedures and
forms used to conduct the annual count of children served.
Such procedures and forms shall conform to 34 CFR
300.750 through 300.755 and written instructions received
from the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative

Services (OSERS).
23.9.2  Administration of Funds:  Funds for the

education of children with disabilities shall be administered
pursuant to Title 14 of the Delaware Code.

23.9.3  Review of LEA Application:  The
Department of Education shall develop and use a review
sheet to document that all required IDEA-B, EDGAR, and
State statutes and regulations have been applied to the
review and approval of each LEA Application.

23.9.3.1  Each LEA shall be notified in writing,
using a standard format of the status of its Application, i.e.,
approved, not approved, and any conditions which must be
met in order for the Application to be approved.

23.9.3.2  All amendments to an LEA
Application shall be reviewed and approved using the same
requirements and procedures used for an initial Application.

23.9.3.3   In the event that the Department of
Education and the LEA cannot negotiate and effect an
approved LEA Application, the Department of Education
shall notify the LEA in writing of its right to a hearing and
the procedures for obtaining a hearing.

23.9.3.4  If, after a hearing, the district or
agency application is found to be unapprovable, the district
or agency may appeal this finding to the Secretary, U. S.
Department of Education.  The applicant shall file a notice of
the appeal with the Secretary within 20 days after the
applicant has been notified by the Department of Education
of the results of the hearing.

23.9.3.5  The State shall make available at
reasonable times and places to each applicant all records of
the agency pertaining to any review or appeal the applicant is
conducting under this section, including records of other
applicants.

23.9.3.6  An applicant from a district or agency
shall include the following information:

23.9.3.6.1  A description of how the
applicant will meet the federal requirements for participation
of children enrolled in private schools.

23.9.3.6.2  The numbers of children
enrolled in private schools which have been identified as
eligible for benefits under the program.

23.9.3.6.3  The basis the applicant used to
select the children.

23.9.3.6.4  The manner and extent to
which the applicant complied with Education Department
General Administrative Regulations (EDGAR, January 1,
1996, USDE).

23.9.3.6.5  The places and times the
children will receive benefits under the program.

23.9.3.6.6  The difference, if any, between
the program benefits the applicant will provide to public and
private school children, and the reasons for the differences.

23.9.4  Recovery of Funds for Misclassified
Children:  A State audit shall be conducted during the month
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of October to ascertain that units awarded on September 30
are in full operation on or prior to that date with evidence of
services being provided.  If, during the audit of State units
for the education of children with disabilities, it is
discovered that a child has been erroneously classified, this
discrepancy will be made known to the local education
agency and will also be reported to the proper persons at the
Department of Education.

23.9.4.1  The specific procedures used in order
to authenticate the count of children will be found in the
Monitor’s Handbook for the September Audit and Site
Monitoring.

23.9.4.2  The local education agency will be
notified that its Part B grant award has been reduced by an
amount equal to that fiscal year’s per child allocation for
each child determined to have been misclassified.

23.9.4.3  Should discovery of misclassification
occur at a time other than during the audit of State units,
such as in the fourth quarter of the Grant, the following
year’s Grant Award shall be reduced accordingly.  The task
of identifying children who have been misclassified shall not
only during the September 30 audit of State units, but during
all other IDEA monitoring and evaluation on-site visits as
well.

23.10  Other SEA Responsibilities
23.10.1  Ensure Adequate Evaluation:  As a means

of ensuring adequate evaluation of the effectiveness of the
policies and procedures relative to child identification shall:

23.10.1.1  Incorporate within its
Comprehensive Compliance Monitoring System process a
series of questions about the Childfind activities which will
be asked of special and regular education teachers,
administrators, related services personnel, Part H personnel
and other public agencies;

23.10.1.2  Systematically review each LEA’s
application for federal funds to ensure that it contains a
complete description of the LEA’s child identification
process;

23.10.1.3  Annually review the child count data
to determine trends and anomalies in the types and numbers
of children identified.

See 3 DE Reg. 1709 (6/1/00)

24.0  Funding Issues for Children with Disabilities
24.1  Reimbursement under the Unit System:  Eligibility

of the local education agencies to receive reimbursement
under the unit system is contingent upon:

24.1.1  The proper identification of children with
disabilities in accordance with Title 14 of the Delaware
Code and Sections 2.0, 3.0, and 4.0 of these regulations; and

24.1.2  A State Department of Education audit to
document the child count for units awarded on September
30, and to document the availability of current and complete
IEPs for children included in the count.

24.2  Aide Positions for Services to Children with
Disabilities (as authorized under 14 Del. C., Section 1324).

24.2.1  All paraprofessionals in such positions shall
work under the supervision of teachers.

24.2.2  The following positions may be authorized:
24.2.2.1  Trainable Mental Disability Unit:

One classroom teacher, or in lieu of a teacher, two aides may
be employed, as long as the number of aides does not exceed
the number of teachers in any given special school.  Such
teachers or aides who work during the eleventh and twelfth
months shall be paid for two hundred twenty-two (222) days.

24.2.2.2  Severe Mental Disability Unit:  One
classroom teacher and one classroom aide may be employed
per unit in any given special school.  In lieu of the teacher,
two additional aides may be employed as long as the number
of aides does not exceed the number of teachers in any given
school by a 2 to 1 ratio.  Such teachers or aides who work
during the eleventh and twelfth months shall be paid for two
hundred twenty-two (222) days.

24.2.2.3  Autism Unit:  One teacher and one
aide may be employed per unit.  Such teachers or aides who
work during the eleventh and twelfth months shall be paid
for two hundred twenty-two (222) days.

24.2.2.4  Physical Impairment Unit:  One
classroom teacher and either one aide or attendant may be
employed per unit in any given special school.

24.2.2.5  Hearing Impairment Unit:  One
classroom teacher and one aide per primary unit, one
classroom teacher and one aide for other units (grades 4-12),
and one clerk-aide for the parent-child program may be
employed in any given special school.

24.2.2.6  Deaf/Blindness Unit:  One classroom
teacher and one classroom aide may be employed per unit. In
lieu of the teacher, two additional aides may be employed as
long as the number of aides does not exceed the number of
teachers in any given school by a 2 to 1 ratio.  Such teachers
or aides who work during the eleventh and twelfth months
shall be paid for two hundred and twenty-two (222) days.

24.2.2.7  Intensive Learning Center Unit:  One
classroom teacher, or in lieu of a teacher, two aides, may be
employed as long as the number of aides does not exceed the
number of teachers in any center, and that all aides work
under the direct supervision of teachers.

24.2.3  The use and ratio of aides to teachers shall
be dependent upon the rationale developed by the agency.

24.3  School Nurses (as authorized by 14 Del. C.,
Section 1310)

24.3.1  A nurse shall be employed for eight (8) or
more units of children with autism, physical impairment,
trainable mental disability, severe mental disability, or a
combination thereof, and for hearing impairment as per
regular district formula, i.e., 40:1.  Such units shall be
subtracted from the district’s total units so that they are not
counted twice.
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24.4  Other Positions for Services to Children with
Disabilities

24.4.1  Any special school with an enrollment of
ten (10) or more units may employ a secretary (12 months)
and proportional secretarial services for less than 10 units.
Such units must be subtracted from the district’s total units
so that they are not counted twice.

24.4.2  Custodial services shall be provided upon
the regular custodial formula with consideration given for
residence hall care.

24.4.3  An instructional media specialist shall be
assigned to the school for the hearing impaired when there is
a minimum of ten (10) units.

24.4.4  A budget item shall be provided for
contractual services in order to give to a school for hearing
impaired the appropriate services in such fields as, but not
limited to, speech pathology, school psychology, social
work, and guidance counseling.

24.4.5  Whenever the State Board of Education
designates a particular school district to serve as
administrator for the statewide program for deaf/blind
pupils, that district may employ as a statewide coordinator at
the principal’s rank and salary, a principal for eight (8) or
more such units of deaf/blind children.  If a principal is
assigned responsibility for such a program for fewer than
eight (8) units, the support for the assignment shall be in the
same ratio as the number of authorized units is to eight (8)
units.

See 3 DE Reg. 1709 (6/1/00)

25.0  Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens.  The
Governor shall appoint an advisory council to act in an
advisory capacity to the Department of Education, the State
Board of Education and other state agencies on the needs of
exceptional citizens.  The General Assembly shall provide
for the maintenance of the council.  The council shall also
serve in the capacity of the advisory panel as required by PL
94-142 (20 U.S.C. Section 1400 et seq.).  (14 Del. C. 195,
Section 3108; 51 Del. Laws. C. 287, Section 3; 61 Del.
Laws, 190, Section 7; 71 Del. Laws, c. 180, Section 147.)

25.1  An annual report prepared by the Governor’s
Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens shall be made
available to the public in a manner consistent with other
public reporting requirements.

25.1.1  The annual report shall be reviewed by
the Department of Education and the Department’s response
shall be sent to the Governor’s Advisory Council.

25.2  All Advisory Panel meetings and agenda
items shall be publicly announced prior to the meeting, and
meetings must be open to the public.

25.3  The State shall reimburse the Panel for
reasonable and necessary expenses for attending meetings
and performing duties.  The State may use Part B funds for
this purpose.

Administrative Manual:  Programs for Exceptional Children

I.G.8.SPECIAL PROGRAMS FOR THE HEARING
IMPAIRED

a.  The State Committee for the Hearing Impaired shall
be established by the Director of the Delaware Programs for
the Hearing Impaired and the Deaf/Blind in conjunction with
the Team Leader of the Exceptional Children Team.  The
Committee shall consist of the following:

Audiologist:Sterck School for the Hearing Impaired
Coordinator:Statewide Services for the Hearing

Impaired
Director:Delaware Programs for the Hearing Impaired
Principal:Sterck School for the Hearing Impaired
Program Director:Speech and Hearing Services,

Division of Public Health
Psychologist(s):Sterck School for the Hearing Impaired
Representative(s):Public and Private Agencies (based

upon the meeting agenda)
Representative(s):Local Education Agency (based upon

the meeting agenda)
Representative(s):Public/Community
Specialist(s):Professionals skilled in specific, pertinent

areas (based upon the meeting agenda)
Education Associate:Exceptional Children Programs

(responsible for the Programs for the Hearing Impaired)

b.  The Chairperson of the Committee shall be the
Director of the Delaware Programs for the Hearing Impaired
and the Deaf/Blind whose leadership role includes efforts
toward Committee consensus.

c.  Decisions of the Committee shall be determined by a
majority vote of the members present if a consensus is
unattainable.

d.  The Chairperson shall set the time and place for
meetings, which should be scheduled monthly, contingent
upon agenda items.

e.  The Committee shall provide a means for
determining eligibility, program development, and
coordination that is unique for the low incidence group of
students with disabilities whose major disability is hearing
impairment.

f.  Specific responsibilities shall include:
(1)  reviewing the status of all hearing impaired

students in Delaware at the time of initial identification, and
periodically as determined by the Committee;

(2)  recommending appropriate services and/or
programs necessary for hearing impaired students in
Delaware;

(3)  assisting local educational agencies and
appropriate agencies in implementing State Committee
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recommendations; and
(4)  developing and reviewing (annually) for

dissemination, policies, and procedures for the conduct of
the Committee.

g.  The Committee shall discharge its responsibilities in
accordance with P.L. 101-476 (IDEA) and appropriate
sections of this Manual.

h.  Complete minutes of the Committee meetings shall
be sent to the Team Leader of the Exceptional Children
Team.

i.  A copy of pertinent portions of the review and
recommendations pertaining to the identification, evaluation,
and educational program and placement of each student and
the provision for a free, appropriate public education to such
students shall be sent to the appropriate parents and school
district or agency.

Regulatory Implementing Order
Supportive Instruction (Homebound)

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the approval of the
State Board of Education to amend the regulation Supportive
Instruction (Homebound) found in the Regulations of the
Department of Education.  The amendment corrects the
oversight in Section 3.1.1 (on minimum hours) by adding
that it is a weekly minimum.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on June 21,
2000, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements.

II.  Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend this
regulation because the frequency of allowable services
needed to be clarified.

III.  Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del. C. Section 122, the regulations attached hereto as
Exhibit B is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of
14 Del. C. Section 122(e), the regulations hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective
date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in

the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order
The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the

Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. Section 122, in open session
at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on August
17, 2000. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 17th day of August, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education
Approved this 17th day of August, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

930  Supportive Instruction (Homebound)

1.0  Definition:  Supportive instruction is an alternative
educational program provided at home, in a hospital or at a
related site for students temporarily at home or hospitalized
for a sudden illness, injury, episodic flare up of a chronic
condition or accident considered to be of a temporary nature.

1.1  Procedures for eligibility shall be limited to
appropriate certification that the student cannot attend
school.

1.2  Services for children with disabilities as defined in
the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) and the State
Department of Education’s regulations on Children with
Disabilities shall be provided according to the
Administrative Manual: Special Education Services, and
shall be processed under the district's special education
authority.  Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a district
from providing supportive instruction to children with
disabilities in a manner consistent with the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the Administrative
Manual.

1.3  Nothing in this regulation shall alter a district’s
duties under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or
the Americans with Disabilities Act to students who are
qualified individuals with disabilities.  Nothing in this
regulation shall prevent a district from providing supportive
instruction to such students.
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2.0  Eligibility:  A student enrolled in a school district is
eligible for supportive instruction when the school receives
the required certification that an accident, injury, sudden
illness or episodic flareup of a chronic condition will prevent
the student from attending school for at least ten (10) school
days.

2.1  A physician must certify absences due to a medical
condition.

2.2  Absences due to severe adjustment problems must
be certified by a psychologist or psychiatrist and confirmed
through a staff conference.

2.3  A physician must certify absences due to pregnancy
complicated by illness or other abnormal conditions.

2.3.1  Students do not qualify for supportive
instruction for normal pregnancies unless there are
complications.

2.3.2  Students who remain enrolled in school are
eligible for supportive instruction during a postpartum
period not to exceed six weeks.  Postpartum absences must
be certified by a physician.

2.4  When the request for supportive instruction is for
transitional in-school programs immediately following
supportive instruction provided outside school, the request
must be certified through a staff conference.

3.0  Implementation:  Supportive instruction for students
shall begin as soon as the certification required by 2.0 is
received and may continue upon return to school only in
those exceptional cases where it is determined that the
student needs a transitional program to guarantee a
successful return to the school program as in 2.4.

3.1  Supportive instruction shall adhere to the extent
possible to the student’s school curriculum and shall make
full use of the available technology in order to facilitate the
instruction.

3.1.1  The school shall provide a minimum of 3
hours of supportive instruction each week of eligibility for
students K-5th grade, and a minimum of five hours each
week of eligibility for students 6-12th grade.  There is no
minimum for in-school transition.

3.1.2  Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a
school district from providing additional hours of supportive
instruction to eligible students from either its Academic
Excellence allotment or other available funding sources.

3.2  Summer instruction is permitted for a student who
is otherwise eligible for supportive instruction and as
determined by the student's teachers and principal, needs the
instruction to complete course work or to maintain a level of
instruction in order to continue in a school program the
following school year.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

DELAWARE STATE LOTTERY OFFICE

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, 
Section 4805(a) (29 Del.C. §4805(a))

Order

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10118 and 29 Del. C. §4805(a),
the Delaware State Lottery Office hereby issues this Order
promulgating proposed Rules for the administration of the
Delaware lottery and video lottery.  Following notice in the
Register of Regulations, the Lottery makes the following
findings and conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1.  The Lottery posted public notice of the proposed rule
revisions in the July 1, 2000 Register of Regulations.  The
proposal contained eight amendments to the Lottery’s Rules
and Regulations and the Video Lottery Regulations.  The
proposed amendments to the Lottery Rules and Regulations
are as follows:  1)amend the Introduction to provide for the
statutory distribution of gross sales to the General Fund, and
delete the current reference to agent commissions;  2)amend
Section 13(c)(d) to provide that no employee of an instant
ticket supplier or on-line games computer system can
purchase Lottery tickets;  3)amend Section 16(c) to delete
the redundant language “featuring the revised prize
structure”;  4)amend Section 18(a) to provide that prizes are
claimed at the agent’s locations or the Division of Revenue,
and that prizes greater than $5,000 must be claimed at the
Lottery Office;  5)amend Section 18(e) to clarify that all
winning tickets must be validated and that all tickets are void
if altered, torn, misprinted, illegible, or damaged unless the
Director is satisfied the ticket is genuine;  6)amend section
19 to clarify that the Lottery will make payment to the
person who signs the back of the ticket unless there is a
conflict with the information on the claim form;  7)amend
section 29 to clarify the process for the submission of
fingerprinting information from retailer license applicants.
The proposed amendments to the Video Lottery Regulations
are as follows:  1)enact a new section 14.1 through 14.10 to
set forth the procedures used by the Lottery and the
Delaware State Police for the fingerprinting of licensees and
employees;  2)amend the existing section 14.0 to be
renumbered as 15.0. 

2.  The Lottery permitted the public to submit written
comments from July 1, 2000 through July 30, 2000.  The
Lottery received no written comments regarding the
proposed rules. 

http://www.state.de.us/finance/index.htm
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Findings of Fact

3.  The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide written comments to the Lottery.  The Lottery
received no public comments.  

4.  The proposed amendments are essentially technical
amendments that clarify the existing rules for consistency
with existing Lottery procedures. 

Conclusions

5.  The proposed rules were promulgated by the Lottery
in accord with its statutory duties and authority as set forth in
29 Del. C. §4805(a).  The Lottery deems these rules as
proposed to be necessary and desirable for the efficient and
economical operation of the Lottery and Video Lottery under
29 Del. C. §4805(a). 6.  The Lottery concludes that the
adoption of the proposed rules would be in the best interests
of the citizens of the State of Delaware and necessary to
establish and administer the Delaware Lottery and Video
Lottery.  

7.  The Lottery therefore adopts the proposed rules in
the form published in the Register of Regulations on July 1,
2000. 

8.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the publication of this order in the Registrar of
Regulations on September 1, 2000.   

IT IS SO ORDERED this 4th day of August, 2000.

Wayne Lemons, Director, Delaware State Lottery
Office

Delaware State Lottery Rules and Regulations

Introduction
The Delaware State Lottery (“Lottery”) was established

by the enactment of Chapter 348, Volume 59, of the Laws of
Delaware.  This chapter created the State Lottery Office
(“Lottery Office”) and the position of Director of the State
Lottery Office (“Director”).

The Lottery Law, 29 Delaware Code, Chapter 48,
directs the Secretary of Finance to appoint, with written
approval of the Governor, a Director of the State Lottery
Office.

All monies received from the sale of lottery tickets are
accounted for to the State Treasurer and receipts are placed
into a special account known as the State Lottery Fund.

At least forty-five percent (45%) of gross sales is
distributed as prizes to the holders of winning tickets. Not
less than thirty percent (30%) of gross sales is paid to the
State of Delaware General Fund.  Five percent (5%) may be
paid to Agents as sales commissions.  The remaining twenty
percent (20%) shall pay Lottery operating expenses with any

unused portion of this amount reverting to the State General
Fund.

The following regulations are adopted pursuant to the
State Lottery Law, 29 Delaware Code Chapter 48, the
provisions of which are hereby incorporated by reference.
These regulations apply to the operations of the lottery
system established under title 29, chapter 48, except for
video lottery operations.  Video lottery operations will
continue to be administered pursuant to the Video Lottery
Regulations previously issued by the Director on December
31, 1994, and any subsequent amendments.

The Lottery Office is located at McKee Business Park,
Suite 102, 1575 McKee Road, Dover, DE 19904-1903.
Copies of these regulations can be obtained from the Lottery
Office.  The Lottery’s phone number is (302)739-5291.

(1) Definitions
(a)  “Act” or “Law” means the Delaware State Lottery

Law, Chapter 348, Volume    59, of the Laws of Delaware, as
may be amended from time to time.

(b)  “Office” or “Lottery Office” means the State
Lottery Office created in the Act.

(c)  “Bank” means and includes all banks, banking
associations, and trust companies organized under the
authority of this State or the United State whose principal
place of business is within the State.

(d)  “Director” means the Director of the State Lottery
Office or Acting Director as stipulated in the Act.

(e)  “Licensee” or “Agent” means a person who has
been licensed to sell lottery tickets.

(f)  “Lottery” or “State Lottery” means the lottery
established and operated pursuant to the Act.

(g)  “Lottery Property” means and includes but is not
limited to any Agent’s License, unsold tickets, forms,
promotional materials or any other tool issued to the agent
by the State Lottery Office for the purpose of selling tickets.

(h)  “Person” means and includes an individual,
association, corporation, club, trust, estate, society,
company, joint stock company, receiver, trustee, assignee,
referee, or any other person acting in a fiduciary or
representative capacity, whether appointed by a court or
otherwise, and any combination of individuals. “Person”
shall also mean and include all departments, commissions,
agencies, and instrumentalities of the State, including
counties and municipalities and agencies and
instrumentalities thereof.

(i)  “Regulations” means the regulations promulgated by
the Lottery Office for the operation of the lottery.

(j)  “Ticket” means a lottery ticket issued by the State
Lottery Office for sale to the general public.

(2) Director
The Director shall have the power, duties and

responsibilities as set out in the enabling legislation, Chapter
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348, Volume 59, Laws of Delaware, and any subsequent
amendments.

(3) Licensing of Agents
(a)  Application

Any person interested in obtaining a license as an
Agent must first file an “Application for Lottery Sales
Agent’s License” with the Director of the State Lottery
Office.  The applications, as well as other documents
submitted to the Lottery on behalf of the applicant for
purposes of determining the qualifications of the applicant,
shall be sworn to or affirmed before a notary public, or
designated Lottery employee.

(b)  Eligibility for License
No license as an Agent to sell lottery tickets shall be

issued to any person to engage in business primarily as a
lottery sales Agent.  Before issuing such license, the Director
shall consider such factors, including but not limited to:

1.  The financial responsibility and security of the
person and his business activity.  The applicant must be
willing to grant to the Lottery the right to perform a routine
credit check such as any other supplier might require before
extending credit.  He or she must also be willing to grant to
the Lottery the right to perform a security investigation to
include the release of any criminal history by the State
Bureau of Identification and the Federal Bureau of
Identification.

2.  The honesty and integrity of the applicant.
3.  The accessibility of his place of business or

activity to the public.
4.  The sufficiency of existing licensees to serve the

public convenience.
5.  The volume of expected sales.
6.  The veracity of the information supplied in the

“Application for Lottery Sales Agent’s License.”
7.  The results of the applicant’s state and federal

criminal history record check.
8.  The extent to which the applicant is known to

associate with persons of nefarious backgrounds or
disreputable character such that the association could
adversely affect the general credibility, security, integrity,
honesty, fairness, or reputation of the Lottery.

(c)  Ineligibility of Minors
No person under the age of twenty-one (21) shall be

licensed as an Agent.  Nothing herein shall be construed to
mean an employee must be twenty-one (21) to sell tickets
within the licensed establishment.

(d)  Issuance of License
1.  The Director shall, in accordance with the

provisions of the Act and these Regulations, license such
persons as Agents to sell lottery tickets who, as in his option,
will best serve the public convenience and promote the sale
of tickets.

2.  The issuance of a license shall signify agreement

by the agent to abide by all provisions of the Lottery
regulations.

3.  An Agent’s license shall be reviewed annually
on or about the anniversary date of the original permanent
issue.

4.  The Director reserves the right to require a
surety bond from every licensed Agent in such amount
consistent with his determination of the financial stability of
said Agent so as to avoid any monetary loss to the State
because of the Agent’s activities in the sale of lottery tickets.

(e)  License to be Displayed
1.  Every Agent shall prominently display his

license in an area visible to the general public.
2.  In addition, the Agent decal shall be mounted on

a prominent public window of the Agent’s premises.
3.  The Agent shall maintain and display all

promotional material in conjunction with ticket sales in
accordance with instructions issued by the Lottery Office.

(f)  Sale of Lottery Tickets at Specific
Locations Licensed and Nontransferability
1.  The sale of lottery tickets shall be made only

pursuant to a lottery Agent’s license at a specific location
named therein.

2.  No other sales shall be permitted, except as
provided in the Act or these Regulations.

(g)  Sale and/or Transfer of Ownership of Specific
Licensed Locations

1.  All licensed agents are required to notify the
Lottery Office of a pending sale of a specific licensed
location.  This requirement of notice includes ownership
change in corporations as well as individual ownership
change affecting a specific licensed location.  No license
may be transferred, assigned, or pledged as collateral. All
licenses to sell Lottery tickets are nontransferable.

2.  Any change in ownership of a specific licensed
location requires a new Agent Application process. Change
of ownership does not automatically guarantee the granting
of a License to the new ownership.  In the event of the death
of a licensee, the Lottery will suspend operations at the
Agent’s location if and until a new Agent Application is
approved for that location.

(h)  Liability of Lottery Office and State of Delaware
It is agreed by the Agent that he shall hold the

Lottery Office, all Lottery employees, and the State of
Delaware harmless from any liability arising in connection
with conducting lottery ticket sales.

(4) Revocation of Licenses
(a)  The license is evidence of an agency revocable at

will by the Director.  The Director may revoke without
notice or a hearing, the license of any Agent who violates the
Act or any rule or regulation promulgated pursuant to the
Act.  However, if the Director does revoke a license without
notice and an opportunity for a hearing, the Director shall by
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appropriate notice afford the person whose license has been
revoked an opportunity for a hearing within thirty (30) days
after the revocation order has been issued.  The notice shall
also specify the intended reasons for the revocation.  As a
result of any such hearing, the Director may confirm his
action revoking the license or he may order the restoration of
such license.

An Agent’s license may be suspended, revoked, or
its renewal rejected for any one or more of the following
reasons:

1.  Whenever the Agent knowingly uses false or
misleading information in obtaining the license.

2.  Whenever the Agent violates any of the
provisions of the State Lottery Law or any regulations,
directives, or instructions promulgated or issued thereunder.

3.  Whenever the Agent’s business address is
changed.

4.  Whenever the Agent does not display lottery
point-of-sale material in a manner which is readily seen by
and available to the public, including failure to make tickets
available at points-of-sale within the licensed premises
which the Director determines are necessary to the interest of
the public and the lottery.

5.  Whenever a Agent commits an act which
seriously impairs his reputation for honesty and integrity.

6.  Whenever the Agent has been convicted of a
crime.

7.  Whenever the Agent has been found guilty of
any fraud or misrepresentation in any connection.

8.  Whenever the Agent’s experience, character,
and general fitness are such that his participation as a lottery
sales Agent is inconsistent with the public interest,
convenience and necessity, or the security of the Lottery
operations.

9.  Whenever the Agent is delinquent in making
required accounting or fails to pay weekly all monies owed
to the State.

10.  Whenever the Agent fails to take reasonable
security precautions with regard to the handling of lottery
tickets and other materials.

11.  Whenever the Agent sells a lottery ticket for an
amount less than or greater than its stated price.

12.  Whenever the Agent fails to report information
required by these regulations.
Whenever the Agent sells lottery tickets to known third-
party ticket resalers or enters computer-generated betting
slips from third-party ticket resalers for the sale of lottery
tickets.

(b)  Procedure for Revocation or Rejection of Renewal
of License

1.  The Director may, for any of the reasons stated
above, revoke or reject the renewal of an Agent’s license.

2.  Immediately upon notice of revocation or
rejection of renewal of an Agent’s license, said Agent shall

suspend the sale of all lottery tickets and shall forthwith
comply with the provisions of these Regulations for
procedures upon suspension of license, unless otherwise
notified by the Director.

(5) Procedure Upon Suspension or Revocation of
License

(a)  The license of any Agent may be temporarily
suspended by the Director without prior notice, or having a
hearing, pending further investigation, settlement of
delinquent account, or prosecution.

(b)  Upon suspension or revocation of an Agent’s
license for any reason whatsoever, the Agent shall meet with
the Director or his designee on a date set by the Director for
the purpose of rendering his final lottery accounting.  This
date shall be not more than seven (7) days from the date the
notice of suspension or revocation was received by the
Agent.  Upon the Agent’s failure to meet with the Director or
his designee on or before the date set by the Director, the
Director may take steps to impose such penalties and to
enforce the powers of his Office against the delinquent
Agent, his agents, or representatives, as may be provided by
law and these Regulations.

(c)  Upon receipt of notice of suspension, revocation, or
rejection, the Agent may within fourteen (14) days of receipt
of said notice make written request to the Director for a
hearing to show cause why his license should not be
revoked.  The written request must contain:

(1)  A clear and concise assignment of each error
which the licensee alleges to have been committed in the
tentative determination to suspend or revoke the license.
Each assignment of error should be listed in a separately
numbered paragraph.

(2)  A clear and concise statement of the facts on
which the licensee relies in support of each assignment of
error.

(3)  A prayer setting forth the relief sought.
(4)  The signature of the licensee or an officer

authorized to request the hearing.
(5)  A verification by the licensee or counsel for the

licensee that the statements contained in the petition are true.
The Director shall provide an opportunity for the

petitioner to be heard within thirty (30) days of receipt of the
request for a hearing.

(d)  The Director may appoint a hearing officer within a
reasonable time for the purpose of hearing suspension or
revocation cases.  Said officer shall hear the case, and within
thirty (30) days of the conclusion of said hearing, submit to
the Director with a copy to the parties of record, a
recommended report.  Said report shall contain findings of
facts and conclusions of law to support a recommendation to
support the revocation, suspension, or rejection, or to
support the relicensing of the Agent involved.  The parties of
record upon receipt of their copy of the recommended report
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shall have ten (10) days in which to file exceptions,
objections and replies to the Director.  The Director, within
fourteen (14) days, will advise the Agent of his final
decision.  The Director’s decision shall be final.

(e)  The licensee may appear individually, by legal
counsel, or by any other duly authorized representative.  In
the absence of the licensee, written evidence of a
representative’s authority shall be presented to the hearing
officer in a form satisfactory to the hearing officer.

(f)  The licensee or his duly authorized representative,
may, with the approval of a hearing officer, waive the
hearing and agree to submit the case for decision on the
record, with or without a written brief.  Such a waiver or
agreement shall be in writing and placed in the record.

(g)  The licensee shall be given the opportunity for
argument within the time limits fixed by the hearing officer
following submission of the evidence.  The hearing officer,
upon request of licensee, may accept briefs in lieu of
argument.  The briefs shall be filed within ten days after the
hearing date or within such time as fixed by the hearing
officer.

(h)  The hearing officer may admit any relevant
evidence, except that he shall observe the rules of privilege
recognized by law.  The hearing officer may exclude any
evidence which is irrelevant, unduly repetitious, or lacking a
substantial probative effect.

(i)  A record shall be made of all hearings and all
witnesses shall be sworn and subject to cross examination.

(6) Erroneous or Mutilated Tickets
Unless the Director is satisfied that a mutilated lottery

ticket is genuine, no credit or prize will be issued to the
holder of said ticket.  Tickets misprinted due to machine
error shall be returned to the Lottery and the Agent’s account
shall be credited.  If a ticket misprinted due to machine error
(as determined by Lottery internal procedures) has been
sold, the ticket holder shall be reimbursed for the cost of the
ticket.  Such tickets shall not be eligible for any prize.  The
Director may require Agents to comply with such directives
as he deems necessary for erroneous or mutilated tickets
received by an Agent.

(7) Agent’s Compensation
All licensed Agents shall be entitled to a commission of

a percentage of the price of each ticket sold by them as
provided by the Director.  In addition, each Agent shall be
entitled to such bonus(es) as may be deemed desirable by the
Director.

(8)  Special Agent Licensing
The Director may license special lottery Agents, subject

to such conditions or limitations as the Director may deem
prudent and which is consistent with the laws of the State of
Delaware and these Regulations.  These limitations or

conditions may include, but are not limited to:
(a)  Length of license period.
(b)  Hours or day of sale.
(c)  Location of sale.
(d)  Specific persons who are allowed to sell lottery

tickets.
(e)  Specific sporting, charitable, social, or other special

events where lottery tickets may be sold if in conformity
with law.

Special licensed Agents will be subject to these Regulations.

(9) Obligations of Licensed Retailers
Each Agent accepts and assumes the following

obligations and responsibilities when he accepts a license to
sell lottery tickets:

(a)  Each agent shall deposit all proceeds resulting from
his sales of lottery tickets into a specified lottery bank
account. 

(b)  Each Agent should make available at all lawful
times during his normal business hours lottery tickets for
sale to the public in the place of business designated in the
license.

(c)  Each Agent shall abide by the law, these
Regulations and all other directives or instructions issued by
the Director.

(d)  Each Agent grants to the Lottery Office, and its
Agents and representatives, an irrevocable license to enter
upon the premises listed as location(s) on the Agent’s license
in which tickets may be sold or any other location under the
control of the Agent where the Director may have good
cause to believe lottery materials or tickets are stored or kept
in order to inspect said lottery property and the premises.

(e)  All property given to an Agent remains the property
of the Lottery Office, and upon demand, the Agent agrees to
deliver forthwith same to the Director.

(f)  All books and records pertaining to the Agent’s
lottery activities shall be made available for inspection and/
or audit at reasonable hours, upon demand, to the Director.

(g)  No Agent shall advertise or otherwise display
advertising in any part of the Agent’s licensed location
which may be considered derogatory or adverse to the
operation or dignity of the Lottery and the Agent shall
remove same forthwith if requested by the Director or his
representative.

(h)  Each licensee shall accept full responsibility for the
acts and conduct of his employees, agents and
representatives in connection with all activities of the
Lottery Office, and shall hold the Lottery harmless.

(i)  Each Agent is required to sell a minimum number of
tickets as determined by the Director.

(j)  Each Agent is required to make available official
game rules applying to any specific game to any player
desiring to inspect same.



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 3, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2000

503

(k)  Each Agent shall report promptly any violation or
any facts or circumstances that may result in a violation of
these regulations, or in a violation of State or Federal law,
excluding violations concerning motor vehicle laws.

(l)  Each Agent shall conduct lottery operations in a
manner that does not pose a threat to the public, health,
safety, or welfare of the citizens of Delaware, or reflect
adversely on the security or integrity of the lottery.

(10)  Lottery Accounts
(a)  The Director may, in his discretion, require any or

all lottery sales Agents to deposit to the credit of the State
Lottery Fund, in banks designated by the Director, all
monies received by such Agents from the sale of Lottery
tickets, and to file with the Director or his designated agent,
reports of their receipts and transactions in the sale of lottery
tickets in such form and containing such information as he
may require.

(b)  The Director may make such arrangements for any
person, including a bank, to perform such functions,
activities, or services in connection with the operation of the
Lottery as he may deem advisable pursuant to the Act and
these Regulations, and such functions, activities, and
services of such person.

(c)  All deposits shall be secured in accordance with
applicable State and Federal laws.

(11)  Lottery Tickets
(a)  Lottery tickets shall be prepared for sale and

allocated to the Agent by the Lottery Office.
(b)  Tickets which are not accounted for by an Agent on

the settlement date and within the time period designated by
the Director, regardless of the reason, shall be deemed sold
to the Agent.

(c)  The Lottery office shall not be responsible for lost,
stolen, or mutilated tickets after sale of same to the public.

(12) Sale of Tickets – Limitations
No person may sell a ticket for less than or greater than

its stated price.  Any such ticket shall be considered an
illegal ticket and shall not be validated by the Lottery.  No
Lottery sales Agent shall sell a ticket to a known third party
ticket resaler or enter computer-generated betting slips from
a third-party resaler for the sale of  Lottery tickets.  No
person other than a duly licensed Lottery sales Agent or his
employee may sell lottery tickets except that nothing in this
section shall be construed to prevent a person who may
lawfully make such a purchase from making a gift of lottery
tickets to another.  An Agent shall not sell a ticket away from
locations listed in his license.

(13)  Purchasing Restrictions
(a)  No ticket or share in any Delaware Lottery game

shall be purchased by, and no prize be paid to an employee

of the Lottery Office or any member of their immediate
households.  This restriction shall also prohibit the purchase
of any lottery ticket for a game in which the Delaware
Lottery is joint participant.

(b)  No ticket or share in games where winners are
determined by drawings, shall be purchased by, and no prize
shall be paid to an employee of Lottery contractors,
subcontractors or vendors, or any Lottery contract employee,
that has any duty or responsibility associated with the
Lottery’s drawings, or game operations.

(c)  No Lottery instant game ticket shall be purchased
and no prize shall be paid to any Lottery instant ticket
supplier employee.

(d)  No Lottery on-line games ticket shall be purchased
and no prize shall be paid to an employee of the Lottery’s
on-line games computer system supplier.

(e)  All ticket sales shall be final and an Agent is not to
accept ticket returns except as otherwise provided in these
Regulations or with the approval of the Director.

(f)  No ticket or share shall be sold to any person under
the age of (18), but this shall not be deemed to prohibit the
purchase of a ticket or share for the purpose of making a gift
by a person 18 years of age or older to a person less than that
age.  Any Agent who knowingly sells or offers to sell a
lottery ticket to any person under the age of 18 shall be
subject to the penalties as provided in the Act.

(14)  Types of Lotteries
The Lottery Office reserves the right to institute any

type of lottery game as is allowable under the Act any time it
is deemed in the best interest of the State.

Rules and regulations concerning individual games will
be promulgated by the Director as required.

(15)  Manner of Random Selection
(a)  The dates, times, and locations for each Lottery

drawing shall be determined by the Director.
(b)  The lottery events shall be open to the public with

no admission charge.
(c)  The manner of winning number selections shall be

defined for each game in the rules for that game. 

(16)  Determination of Prize Winners
(a)  The Director shall adopt a prize structure for each

type of lottery game administered by him and shall, from
time to time, review and, if advisable, revise said prize
structure.

(b)  The pertinent prize structure shall become a part of
the rules of each game offered by the State Lottery.

(c)  Any prize structure adopted by the Director and any
revisions thereof shall take effect on the date announced by
the Director, provided, however, that no revision of the prize
structure may take effect after the initiated time for sale of
tickets for the winner determination in the game featuring
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the revised prize structure.

(17)  Notification of Prize Winners
As soon as practicable after each drawing, each Agent

shall, at each location for which a license has been issued,
post in a prominent and conspicuous part of his business
location in full view of the public, the winning lottery
numbers.  The winning weekly lottery numbers shall remain
posted until the next weekly lottery makes new numbers
available to be posted.  Each Agent shall fully cooperate to
give the public exposure and type of display of the winning
lottery numbers in his location as may be requested by the
Director.

(18)  Procedure for Claiming Prizes
The following shall be the procedure by which prizes

may be claimed and paid from the State Lottery Fund:
(a)  Place of Claims: - All cash prizes under an amount

defined by the Director may be claimed through a duly
authorized claim center, which may be but is not limited to
an Agent’s licensed location or at the offices of the Division
of Revenue.  All larger cash prizes greater than $5000 must
be claimed by mail or in person at the Lottery Office
Headquarters.

(b)  Claim Forms – Each prize ticket winner may be
required to complete a claim form and or to sign the winning
ticket or both at the discretion of the Director.  If the prize
ticket owner is a minor or a person unable to complete the
required form(s), then said minor or person shall have his
guardian, conservator, adult member of his household, or
other proper representative complete the claim form in his
stead.  If the Director determines that the person who
completed the claim form on behalf of the owner is not the
proper person to claim the prize on behalf of the owner, the
Director may require a new claim form completed by a
person to claim the true owner’s prize.  The claim form shall
be in such form as the Director may, from time to time, deem
necessary and proper to protect the Agency and the public
interest.

(c)  Listing Winning Tickets – Each Agent will be
provided with a list containing winning lottery numbers for
prior weeks.

(d)  Lottery Verification – The Agent shall review the
winning ticket and must be assured that the ticket is a proper
winner and is signed by the claimant.  The Agent shall
validate the winning ticket and pay to the winner the amount
of winnings up to the limit set by the Director.  Should the
Agent have any questions about the validity of  a winning
ticket, the ticket must be turned in to the Lottery office for
payment.

(e)  Lottery Validation – All winning tickets over an
amount defined by the Director and paid by Agents in the
field will be validated.  A winning ticket must not be
counterfeit in whole or in part and must be presented by a

person authorized to play the Lottery.  In the event it is
determined that a prize was paid by an Agent on a ticket
which was not a winner, for any reason, the person signing
the ticket will be contacted, advised of the error and will be
required to reimburse the Lottery for said payment.  If an
Agent pays any claim, which was not a winner and the
holder of the ticket fails to reimburse the Lottery or cannot
be located, the Agent will be held responsible for the
improper payment.  All winning tickets submitted on a claim
form to the Lottery Office for payment shall be validated.  In
the event that a ticket is determined to be invalid, the
Director will notify the claimant that said ticket is invalid
and no prize will be paid.  All tickets will be considered void
if altered, torn, misprinted, illegible or damaged unless the
Director is satisfied that the ticket is genuine.  If it is
determined that a ticket contains a manufacturing defect
which makes said ticket appear to be a winner when in fact it
is not, the bearer shall have the right to expect
reimbursement for the full purchase price of said ticket, but
shall not be awarded any prize.

(f)  Appeal by Claimant – If a claimant is aggrieved by
the Director’s denial of his claim or a prize, he may request
an informal hearing with the Director to discuss his
grievances and a reconsideration of his claim by the
Director.  If the Director concludes that there is meritorious
basis for the claimant’s complaint, he may revise his prior
decision.  The decision of the Director shall be final.

(g)  Duration of Ticket Redeemability – A winning on-
line ticket will be redeemable for a period of twelve (12)
calendar months from the Drawing Date of the lottery for
which it was purchased.  A winning instant scratch game
ticket will be redeemable for a period of twelve (12) calendar
months from the announced end of that game’s sales.  Prizes
not collected within that period revert to the State Lottery
Fund of the Delaware State Lottery in order to fulfill the
statutory prize requirement.

The Director reserves the right to offer special prizes
above and beyond the normal prize structure. These prizes
may be only redeemable for a specific period after which no
prize will be awarded.  These special situations will be
clearly detailed in announcements to the public providing
ample time for claims.

The Director may establish and modify procedures by
which prizes may be claimed and paid by authorized Agents.

(19)  Ownership of Lottery Tickets
Until such time as a name is imprinted or placed upon

the rear portion of the lottery ticket in an area designated for
“name”, a lottery ticket which has been sold shall be owned
by the physical possessor of said ticket.  Unsold tickets
remain the property of the Lottery Office.  When a name is
placed on the rear of said ticket in the place designated
therefor, the person(s) whose name(s) appear in that area
shall be the owner(s) of said ticket and shall be entitled to
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any prize attributed thereto.  Notwithstanding any name(s)
submitted on a claim form Unless there is a conflict between
the information on the claim form and the signature(s) on the
back of the ticket, the Lottery Office shall make payment to
the name(s) appearing on the back of the ticket in the space
designated therefor, provided if more than one name appears
on the rear of the lottery ticket, one of those persons whose
name appears thereon may be designated to receive
payment.  This may be done by indicating on the claim form
and by the signature on the claim form of all persons whose
names appear on the rear of the ticket.  The person(s)
appearing for payment shall be the same as those whose
name(s) that which appears on the rear portion of the lottery
ticket in the space designated.

(20)  Prize Rights Unassignable
No right of any person to a prize drawn shall be

assignable, except that payment of any prize drawn may be
paid to the designated Beneficiary(ies) of a deceased prize
winner, and except that any person pursuant to an
appropriate judicial order may be paid the prize to which the
winner is entitled.  The Director shall be discharged of all
liability upon payment of a prize pursuant to this section.

(21)  Payment of Prizes to Persons Under 18 Years of Age
If the person entitled to a prize for any winning ticket is

under the age of eighteen (18) years, and such prize is less
that $5,000.00, the Director may direct payment of the prize
by delivery to an adult member of the minor’s family or a
guardian of the minor of a check or draft payable to the order
of the minor.  If the person entitled to a prize on any winning
ticket is under the age of eighteen (18) years, and the prize is
$5,000 or more, the Director may direct payment to the
minor by depositing the amount of the prize in a bank to the
credit of an adult member of the minor’s family or a
guardian of the minor as a custodian in accordance with
Delaware Law and for the purpose of this section the term
“adult member of minor’s family,” “guardian of minor,” and
“bank” shall have the same meaning as in the Uniform Gifts
to Minors Act, as applicable in Delaware.  The Director shall
be discharged of all liability upon payment of a prize to a
minor pursuant to this section.

(22)  Prizes Payable After Death or Disability of Owner
All prizes or a portion thereof which remain unpaid at

the time of the prize winner’s death shall be payable to the
prize winner’s designated beneficiary(ies).  The payment to
the designated beneficiary(ies) of the deceased owner of any
prize winnings by the Lottery Office shall absolve the
Lottery Office and its Agents of any further liability for
payment of said prize winnings.  The Lottery Office need not
look to the payment of the prize winning beyond the payee
thereof.  Under no circumstances will the payment of prize
money be accelerated beyond its normal dates of payment by

the Lottery Office.  The Director reserves the right to
petition any court of competent jurisdiction to request a
determination for the payments of any prize winnings,
including those winnings which are or may become due to
the designated beneficary(ies) of a deceased owner or an
owner under a disability because of, but not limited to,
underage, mental deficiency, physical or mental incapacity.
If the legatee(s) or heir(s) of a deceased owner entitled to
prize winnings obtain an order from a court of competent
jurisdiction directing payments due and to become due from
the Lottery Office to be paid directly to said legatee(s) or
heir(s) or otherwise directs the Lottery Office to make
payments to another in the event of an owner’s disability or
otherwise, the Lottery Office shall pay the prize winnings
accordingly.

(23)  Payment of Prizes
(a)  All prizes shall be paid within a reasonable time

after they are awarded and after the claims are verified by the
Director.  For each prize requiring annual payments, all
payments after the first payment shall be made on the
anniversary date of the first payment in accordance with the
type of prize awarded.  The Director may, at any time, delay
any payment in order to review a change of circumstances
relative to the prize awarded, the payee, the claim, or any
other matter that may have come to his attention.  All
delayed payments will be brought up to date immediately
upon the Director’s confirmation and continue to be paid on
each original anniversary date thereafter.

(b)  For Grand Prizes in the Lottery’s Powerball game,
those prizes shall be paid at the election of the player made
no later than 60 days after the player becomes entitled to the
prize with either a per winner annuity or cash payment.  If
the payment election is not made at the time of purchase and
is not made by the player within 60 days after the player
becomes entitled to the prize, then the prize shall be paid as
an annuity prize. An election for an annuity payment made
by a player before ticket purchase or by system default or
design may be changed to a cash payment at the election of
the player until the expiration of 60 days after the player
becomes entitled to the prize.  The election to take the cash
payment may be made at the time of the prize claim or
within 60 days after the player becomes entitled to the prize.
An election made after the winner becomes entitled to the
prize is final and cannot be revoked, withdrawn, or otherwise
changed.  Shares of the Grand Prize shall be determined by
dividing the cash available in the Grand Prize pool equally
among all winners of the Grand Prize.  Winner(s) who
elected a cash payment shall be paid their share(s) in a single
cash payment.  The annuitized option prize shall be
determined in accordance with the rules and procedures
approved by the Multi-State Lottery Association, of which
the Delaware Lottery is a participating member.  Neither the
Multi-State Lottery Association nor the member lotteries
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including the Delaware Lottery shall be responsible or liable
for changes in the advertised or estimated annuity prize
amount and the actual amount purchased after the prize
payment method is actually known to the Multi-State Lottery
Association.  In certain instances announced by the Multi-
State Lottery Association Product Group, the Grand Prize
shall be a guaranteed amount and shall be determined
pursuant to MUSL rules and procedures.  If individual shares
of the cash held to fund an annuity is less than $250,000, the
MUSL Product Group, in its sole discretion, may elect to pay
the winners their share of the cash held in the Grand Prize
pool.  All annuitized prizes shall be paid annually in twenty-
five equal payments with the initial payment being made in
cash, to be followed by twenty-four payments funded by the
annuity.

(24)  Discharge of State Lottery Upon Payment
The State of Delaware, its Agents, officers, employees

and representatives, the Lottery Office, its Director, Agents,
officers, employees and representatives, shall be discharged
of all liability upon payment of a prize or any one installment
thereof to the holder of any winning lottery ticket or in
accordance with the information set forth on the claim form
supplied by the Director.  If there is a conflict between the
information on the winning lottery ticket and the information
on the claim form, the Lottery Office may rely on the claim
form after the ticket has been validated as a winning ticket
and, in so doing, it will be relieved of all responsibility and
liability in the payment of a prize in accordance with the
information set forth therein.  The Lottery Office’s decision
and judgment in respect to the determination of a winning
ticket or of any other dispute arising from payment or
awarding of prizes shall be final and binding upon all
participants in the Lottery unless otherwise provided by law
or these regulations.  In the event a question arises relative to
the winning ticket, a claim form, the payment, or the
awarding of any prize, the Lottery Office may deposit the
prize winnings into an escrow fund until it determines the
controversy and reaches a decision, or it may petition a court
of competent jurisdiction for instructions and a resolution of
the controversy.

(25)  Declaratory Rulings by the Lottery Office
On petition of any interested person, the Director may

issue a declaratory ruling with respect to the applicability to
any person, property or state of facts of any rule or statute
enforceable by it, or the Director may refer such matters to
the State Attorney General for such disposition.
In the case of any matter concerning which a Declaratory
ruling is brought for appeal, the petitioner may be
represented by an attorney.

(26)  Postponement of Drawings
The Director may postpone any drawing to a certain

time and publicize the same if he finds, in his sole discretion,
that such postponement will serve the public interest and
protect the public interest.

(27)  Amendments
The Director may amend, modify, or otherwise change

these Regulations upon full compliance with law; said
amendments, modifications or changes shall become as
effective and applicable to Lottery business and
administration as if part of the original Regulations.

(28)  Freedom of Information Requests

I. PURPOSE
The purpose of this section is to prescribe regulations

for the inspection and copying of public records by any
citizen of the State of Delaware, held by the Delaware State
Lottery Office, pursuant to 29 Del. C. Chapter 100 (the
“Act”).

II. AVAILABILITY OF RECORDS
1. Requirement of Citizenry

A.  Persons other than citizens of Delaware are not
entitled to the public review of records pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 100.

B.  The requester shall submit proof of Delaware
citizenship to the Lottery.  The Lottery may require
verification of any information provided concerning
citizenry before considering the request to provide access to
public records.  If the requester does not submit the
verification upon the request of the Lottery Office, the
request shall be denied.

C.  The Lottery Office reserves the right to deny
access to anyone other than the requester.

D.  The Lottery Office shall consider a requester
submitting any of the following a citizen of Delaware for
purposes of these Regulations:

(1)  The requester’s current residential or
business address is within the State of Delaware

(2)  A copy of a current Delaware driver’s
license of the individual requesting the documents;

(3)  A copy of Certification of Incorporation or
the corporate identification number if the requester is a
corporation of the State of Delaware; or

(4)  A copy of the requester’s Delaware voter
registration card.

2. Department Record Review
Public records may be examined by the requester

after the records have been located and reviewed by the
Lottery Office to exclude records that are not public pursuant
to the Act and these Regulations.

III. EXEMPTIONS
Documents determined by the Lottery Office not to be
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public pursuant to 29 Del. C. section 10002(d) will not be
available for examination or public review.

IV. RECORD REQUEST AND RESPONSE
PROCEDURES

1. Form of Request
A.  All requests for access to records pursuant to the

Act and these Regulations shall be made in writing.  Except
for subpoena duces tecum or other such requests for
production, all envelopes containing the request and the
letter itself shall both clearly indicate that the subject is a
Freedom of Information Act request.

B.  All requests for access to records shall
adequately describe the record sought in sufficient detail to
enable the Lottery Office to locate the record with
reasonable effort.  The application request shall contain the
name of the person making the request, the name and
address of the person to whom the request is made, the
purpose for the request and the planned use of the records, a
reasonable description of the records requested, including
the name, subject matter, number and date where possible.
Requests that lack sufficient detail to enable the Lottery
Office to identify records responsive to the request may be
denied.

C.  All written applications for access to records
shall be acknowledged within fifteen (15) working days.  If
access to the records is granted, the materials will be
provided in a reasonable time period by taking into
consideration such factors as the specificity of the request,
the amount of research or time required to retrieve the
records, and the extent or scope of the request.

D.  If the records are in active use or in storage and
therefore, are not available at the time a request for same is
made, the Lottery Office will so inform the individual and
will provide access to the records as expeditiously as they
may be made available.

2. Time and Place for Examination
The public may examine public records which are

available, by appointment, at the offices of the State Lottery
Office between the hours of 9:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. on
Monday through Friday, excluding state holidays.

(a)  No individual shall remove the originals of the
copies of any records from the Lottery Office without
written permission of the Lottery Office’s custodian of the
records.

(b)  The Lottery Office will provide reasonable
facilities for conducting the inspection of the records.

(c)  The Lottery Office will supervise the conduct
of the inspection in order to protect the records and to
prevent the disruption of the essential functions of the
Office.

The Lottery Office will be under no duty or
obligation to furnish copies of records by mail and may
require the individual requesting the records to inspect said

records prior to furnishing copies if a request for access is
voluminous, or too general, or both.  If copies of the
requested records are to be furnished by mail, however, the
fee as determined by section V of these regulations and the
mailing costs shall be collected before the copies are
forwarded to the individual requesting same.

3. Reproduction of Documents
A.  Public records may be reproduced and copies

may be provided to the requester in accordance with Section
V of these regulations.

B.  When the Lottery Office determines that a
request for reproduction is unduly burdensome, the Lottery
Office may, in its discretion:

(1)  Arrange for a commercial facility to make
the reproductions at the expense of the requester; or 

(2)  Make any other arrangements for
reproduction that are suitable to the Lottery Office.

C.  When a request for reproduction is made that
exceeds 100 photocopied pages, the Lottery Office may
require the requester to provide, at the requestor’s expense
personnel and equipment to make the reproductions.

V. FEES
A.  The cost of photocopying public records shall be .50

per photocopied page and the associated costs of delivery.
B.  Where it is anticipated that the fee chargeable

pursuant to this section will exceed twenty-five dollars
($25.00) and the person making the request has not indicated
in advance a willingness to pay such a fee, that person shall
be promptly informed of the amount of the anticipated fee or
such portion thereof as can be readily estimated.  The notice
shall afford and so advise the person of the opportunity to
confer with the Lottery Office for the purpose of
reformulating the request so as to meet that person’s needs at
a reduced cost.

C.  The Lottery Office reserves the right to refuse access
to requesters who have an outstanding balance for
photocopies owed to the Lottery Office.

D.  Payment of fees pursuant to this section shall be
made in cash, U.S. money order, business check, or by
certified bank check payable to the Delaware State Lottery
Office.

(29)  Fingerprinting Procedures

I.  State Bureau of Identification
1.  The applicant or licensee will contact the State

Bureau of Identification through the toll free telephone
number 1-800-778-9000 to make arrangements for
fingerprint processing.

2.  A fee of ($49.00 as of June 13, 1995) is required for
state and federal processing of fingerprint cards and criminal
history records, payment shall be made in the form of
certified check or money order payable to the Delaware State
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Police.  The fee is set by the State Bureau of Identifications
and payment is to be made directly to that agency.

3.  Applicants must complete fingerprint cards with the
necessary personal information to sign the waiver form to
release criminal history record information to the Director.
At the time of the processing, the applicant must show proof
of identification to complete the criminal history request.

4.  Certified copies of the criminal history will be
forwarded to the applicant and Director of the Lottery, with a
copy available to the applicant upon request.

5.  A Verification Form of Processing will be completed
by Delaware State Police personnel and provided to the
applicant.

6.  The State Bureau of Identification shall act as the
intermediary for the receipt of the federal criminal history
record checks performed by the Federal Bureau of
Identification.  The State Bureau of Identification shall
forward the results of these federal record checks to the
attention of the Lottery Director in a confidential manner.

II.  Lottery Office
A.  Determination of Suitability and Appeal Process

1.  A person subject to 29 Del. C. §4807A shall
have the opportunity to respond to the Lottery Director
regarding any information obtained prior to a determination
of suitability for licensure. Such a response shall be made
within ten (10) working days of the person’s receipt of the
criminal background information from the State Bureau of
Identification.  The determination of suitability for licensure
shall be made by the Lottery pursuant to the factors listed in
29 Del. C. §4807A in regard to an applicant’s criminal
history. The Lottery will also consider the factors contained
in 29 Del. C. chapter 48 and the Lottery Regulations in
considering agent applications for licensure.

2.  The Lottery shall communicate the results of the
determination of suitability in writing, within thirty (30)
days of the receipt of the person’s response to the criminal
history information, unless extenuating circumstances
require a longer period.  If a determination is made to deny a
person licensure, the person shall have an opportunity to
appeal for reconsideration as set out below.

a.  Appeal shall be initiated by a person
notified that he/she is being denied a license pursuant to 29
Del. C. section 4807A and in compliance with Section 5(c)
of these Regulations by submitting a letter of appeal to the
Lottery Director within ten (10) working days of the receipt
of the written notice.

b.  The appeal shall be reviewed by the Lottery
Director and the person shall be given the right to be heard
by the Director or the Director’s designee within ten (10)
working days of the receipt of letter of appeal, unless
extenuating circumstances require a longer period.

c.  A written decision shall be rendered by the
Director or the Director’s designee within thirty (30)

working days of the hearing, unless extenuating
circumstances require a longer period.  All decisions made
by the Lottery under this appeal procedure are final.

B. Confidentiality
1.  All records pertaining to criminal background

checks, pursuant to 29 Del. C. §4807A and copies of
suitability determinations of applicants for licensure, shall be
maintained in a confidential manner, including, but not
limited to, the following:

a.  Access to criminal background check
records, and letters of reference accompanying out-of-state
criminal background checks, and determinations of
suitability of applicants shall be limited to the Director and
designated personnel;

b.  All such records shall be kept in locked,
fireproof cabinets;

c.  No information from such records shall be
released without the signed approval of and appropriate
signed release of the applicant.

C. Subsequent Criminal History Information
1.  Subsequent criminal history shall be sent by the

State Bureau of Identification to the Director of the Lottery
and shall be used by the Lottery in making a determination
about the person’s continued suitability as a licensee.

Delaware State Video Lottery Regulations

14.0  Fingerprinting Procedure
14.1.  The license applicant, licensee, or video lottery

agent or technology provider employee will contact the State
Bureau of Identification or the Delaware State Police Video
Lottery Enforcement Unit to make arrangements for
fingerprint processing.

14.2.  A fee is required to be paid for state and federal
processing of fingerprint cards and criminal history records.
The fee is set by the State Bureau of Identification and
payment is to be made directly to that agency.

14.3.  Applicants must complete fingerprint cards with
the necessary personal information to sign the waiver form
to release criminal history record information to the Director
or the Video Lottery Enforcement Unit.  At the time of the
processing, the applicant must show proof of identification
to complete the criminal history request.

14.4.  Certified copies of the criminal history record will
be forwarded to the Director of the Lottery or the Video
Lottery Enforcement Unit.  The Lottery Director or Video
Lottery Enforcement Unit will forward copies of the
criminal history to license applicants or licensees.  For
employees of video lottery agents or technology providers,
the Director or the Video Lottery Enforcement Unit will
forward copies of the employee’s criminal history to the
employer’s designated contact person upon request.

14.5.   The State Bureau of Identification shall act as the
intermediary for the receipt of the federal criminal history
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record checks performed by the Federal Bureau of
Identification.  The State Bureau of Identification shall
forward the results of these federal record checks to the
attention of the Lottery Director and/or the Video Lottery
Enforcement Unit in a confidential manner.

14.6.   A person subject to 29 Del. C. §4807A shall have
the opportunity to respond to the Lottery Director regarding
any information obtained prior to a determination of
suitability for licensure.  Such a response shall be made
within (10) working days of the person’s receipt of the
criminal background information from the State Bureau of
Identification.

The determination of suitability for licensure shall be
made by the Lottery pursuant to the factors listed in 29 Del.
C. §4807A regarding an applicant’s criminal history.  The
Lottery will also consider the factors contained in 29 Del. C.
chapter 48 and these Video Lottery Regulations in
considering applications for licensure.  The Lottery will
consider the truthfulness of the applicant, licensee, or
employee in disclosing their criminal history.  Under 29 Del.
C. §4805(a)(16)(17), the Lottery Director shall consider the
background of key employees or video lottery operations
employees in order to determine if the person’s reputation,
habits, and associations pose a threat to the public interest of
the State or to the reputation of or effective regulation and
control of the video lottery.  It is specifically provided,
pursuant to 29 Del. C. §4805(a)(16)(17), that any person
convicted of any felony, a crime involving gambling, or a
crime of moral turpitude within 10 years prior to applying
for a license or at any time thereafter shall be deemed unfit.
The Director may determine whether the licensing standards
of another state are comprehensive, thorough and provide
similar adequate safeguards and, if so, may in the Director’s
discretion, license an applicant already licensed in such state
without the necessity of a full application and background
check.  The Delaware State Police shall conduct the security,
fitness, and background checks required by
§4805(a)(16)(17) and the Video Lottery Regulations.  

14.7.  The Lottery shall communicate the results of the
determination of suitability in writing, to the license
applicant or licensee within thirty (30) days of receipt of the
criminal history information, unless extenuating
circumstances require a longer period.  If a determination is
made to deny a person licensure, the person shall have an
opportunity to appeal for reconsideration as set out below.

(1)  Appeal shall be initiated by a person notified
that he/she is being denied a license pursuant to 29 Del. C.
§4807A and Video Lottery Regulation 13.3 by submitting a
request for a hearing to the Director within ten (10) working
days of the receipt of the written notice.

(2)  The appeal shall be reviewed by the Lottery
Director and the person shall be given the right to be heard
by the Director or the Director’s designee within thirty (30)
working days of the receipt of letter of appeal, unless

extenuating circumstances require a longer period.  Any
hearing will be pursuant to the procedures in the Video
Lottery Regulations 13.5-13.11, whichever is applicable.

(3)  A written decision shall be rendered by the
Director or the Director’s designee within thirty (30)
working days of the hearing unless extenuating
circumstances require a longer period.  All decisions made
by the Lottery under this appeal procedure are final.

14.8  The Lottery or the Video Lottery Enforcement
Unit will communicate the results of suitability in writing
regarding an employee to either the video lottery agent or
technology provider employing said individual.  The Lottery
will provide a copy of the criminal history record to the
employee upon request.

14.9  All records pertaining to criminal background
checks, pursuant to 29 Del. C. §4807A and copies of
suitability determinations of applicants for licensure, shall be
maintained in a confidential manner, including, but not
limited to, the following:

(1)  Access to criminal background check records,
and letters of reference accompanying out-of-state criminal
background checks, and determinations of suitability of
applicants shall be limited to the Director and designated
personnel;

(2)  All such records shall be kept in locked,
fireproof cabinets;

(3)  No information from such records shall be
released without the signed release of the applicant.

14.10  Subsequent criminal history shall be sent by the
State Bureau of Identification to the Director of the Lottery
and/or the Video Lottery Enforcement Unit.  This
subsequent criminal history information shall be used by the
Lottery and the Video Lottery Enforcement Unit in making a
determination about the person’s continued suitability as a
licensee or employee of a video lottery agent.  The licensee
or employee shall notify the Video Lottery Enforcement
Unit within twenty-four (24) hours of any change in his
criminal history information.

15.0 14.0  Severability
The sections and subsections of these rules and

regulations shall be deemed severable.  Should any section
or subsection be deemed by judicial opinion or legislative
enactment to be invalid, unconstitutional or in any manner
contrary to the laws of the State of Delaware, then such
opinion or enactment shall invalidate only that particular
section or subsection of these rules and regulations and all
other sections shall remain in full force and effect.
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DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DELAWARE SECURITIES ACT

Statutory Authority:  6 Delaware Code,
Sections 7313, 7314 and 7325
(6 Del.C. 7313, 7314 & 7325)

ADOPTION OF RULES AND |
REGULATIONS PURSUANT |
TO THE DELAWARE SECURITIES | August 17, 2000
ACT AMENDING RULES 700-701 |
AND ADDING RULE 710 |

ORDER ADOPTING AND |
AMENDING RULES 700, 701 AND |
710 OF THE RULES AND |
REGULATIONS PURSUANT |
TO THE DELAWARE SECURITIES ACT |

On April 1, 2000, the Securities Commissioner issued
for notice and comment proposed rules and regulations
pursuant to the Delaware Securities Act.  The proposed rules
and regulations were thereafter filed, together with the
required notice, with the Registrar for publication on or
about April 1, 2000, in the Register of Regulations pursuant
to 29 Del.C. §10154.  The proposed amendments modify
existing Rules 700 and 701, and add a new Rule 710, all
relating to registration requirements for investment advisers
and investment adviser representatives.  The proposed rules
and regulations were held open for public comment until
April 30, 2000, and information was submitted to the
Securities Commissioner during that comment period.  

WHEREFORE, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118, upon
consideration of the information submitted to the Securities
Commissioner and all prior proceedings had herein, 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the following shall
constitute the required summary of evidence and information
submitted; the summary of findings of fact with respect to
the evidence and information submitted; and Order to adopt
the proposed rules and regulations as set forth herein.

A. SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE
AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The following organizations submitted comments to the
Securities Commissioner on the proposed rules and
regulations:

1. Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards
2. Financial Planning Association
3. Investment Counsel Association of America
4. Investment Company Institute

Copies of the comment letters are on file with the
Securities Division and are available for public inspection.

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(1), the comments are
summarized below.

1. Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards
The Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards

(“CFPBS”) supplied the following comments on the
proposed rules and regulations:

First, the CFPBS recommended a change to
proposed rule 710, to correct the name of the certifying
organization which has since been changed from
“International Board of Standards and Practices for Certified
Financial Planners, Inc.” to “Certified Financial Planner
Board of Standards, Inc.”

Second, with regard to the proposal to amend Rules
700 and 701, the CFPBS found the proposed changes to be
beneficial, in that they provide for a waiver of the
examination requirements for persons holding the CFP
designation.  In its letter, the CFPBS discussed the rigorous
and lofty standards required for the CFP designation, and
CFPBS believes that the waiver of the exam requirement for
those holding the CFP designation “allows both government
agencies and financial planning professionals to lower their
administrative costs [resulting in] a benefit to taxpayers,
consumers and financial planning professionals.”

2. Financial Planning Association
The Financial Planning Association (“FPA”)

offered the following comments on the proposed rules and
regulations.  In general, the FPA was pleased with the
proposed amendments.  It did, however, offer two “minor
revisions” to the proposed amendments.  First, the proposed
amendments require the filing of a paper affidavit showing
compliance with the examination requirement, or basis for
waiver of the requirement.  The FPA reasons that with the
advent of the Investment Adviser Registration Depository
(“IARD”), which is scheduled to come “on line” in the fall
of 2000, compliance with the proposed rule could be
accomplished “on line,” eliminating the need for this
additional affidavit.  The FPA suggested a “sunset”
provision in the proposed regulations eliminating the need to
file a hard copy once the IARD becomes operational.

The second concern involves the proposed
affidavit.  The FPA recommends a change of the proposed
language in paragraph five of the affidavit requiring that, to
obtain relief by way of the “grandfather” provision, the
investment adviser must be registered in any U.S.
jurisdiction on July 1, 2000 “and for two consecutive years
prior to that date,” and recommends substitution of  the
language “or within two years prior to the date of
application.”

3. Investment Counsel Association of America
The Investment Counsel Association of America

(“ICAA”) submitted the following comments on the
proposed rule changes for our consideration.  The ICAA said
it was pleased that Delaware had decided to adopt the
NASAA model rule for the implementation of the new

http://www.state.de.us/securities/
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Series 65/66 exams.  Like the FPA, however, the ICAA
noted that the anticipated operational date for the IARD is
sometime in the fall of 2000. The ICAA recommends
elimination of the paper affidavit once the IARD is
operational.

4. Investment Company Institute
The Investment Company Institute (“ICI”) offered

the following comments regarding the proposed
amendments to the rules and regulations.  The ICI supported
adoption of the proposed rules.  Specifically, it said:

We were very pleased, in particular, to see that
Rule 710 is entirely consistent with the
examination rule recommended by the North
American Securities Administrators
Association (“NASAA”).  We commend you
and your staff for ensuring that the examination
requirements of your state will be uniform with
the vast majority of other states that, too, have
adopted the NASAA model.
The ICI did note a concern that the affidavit

requirement might conflict with the federal legislation titled
“National Securities Markets Improvement Act of 1996”
(“NSMIA”).  At the time of its response, the ICI had not
been able to review an actual copy of an affidavit, so its
concerns were not more specific.  Upon further review,
subsequent to receipt of the form affidavit, the ICI, through
its representative Tamara K. Reed, stated that it was no
longer concerned about potential conflicts between the
proposed affidavit requirement and NSMIA.

B. SUMMARY OF FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(2), the following
is a brief summary of the Securities Commissioner’s
findings of fact with respect to the proposed adoption of
Rule 710 and the amendments to Rules 700 and 701:

a. Adoption of the NASAA model rule for
implementation of the new Series 65/66 exam will bring
Delaware into conformity with the vast majority of the states
that also have adopted the model rule in its entirety, or have
adopted a substantially similar rule.

b. Adoption of the proposed rule changes will
allow Delaware to continue to utilize the standardized exams
for investment adviser representatives currently
administered by the NASD to ensure a minimum standard of
knowledge and competency for investment advisers and
investment adviser representatives under Delaware’s
regulatory control.

c. Continuation of uniform standard testing,
pursuant to the NASAA model, will benefit the Delaware
Securities Division, the financial services providers, and the
citizens of the State of Delaware.

2. The following are specific findings by the
Commissioner relating to comments of interested parties

who responded to notice of the proposed rule making.
a. Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards

Rule 710 should reflect the proper name of this
certifying agency with regard to the rule’s discussion of the
CFP designation and the rule will be amended to reflect the
proper current name of the organization “Certified Financial
Planner Board of Standards, Inc.”  With regard to CFPBS
concern about the necessity of filing a paper affidavit to
show compliance with the new rule, in light of the
anticipated implementation of the Web IARD, it is the
finding and conclusion of the Commissioner that it is
prudent to utilize the proposed affidavit until such time as
the Web IARD System is operational and the applicant is
able to submit all required information by use of that system.
It is also not clear at this time whether some investment
advisers and investment adviser representatives may decide
to continue to register by traditional methods, as opposed to
by computer.  Once the Commissioner is satisfied that all
required information can be supplied electronically, an
amendment to the rule deleting the affidavit requirement will
be reviewed and reconsidered for those utilizing the Web
IARD for registration purposes.  

b. Financial Planning Association
FPA’s first issue regarding a “sunset”

provision for the paper compliance affidavit is discussed in
the preceding paragraph and that paragraph adequately
addresses the FPA’s concerns.  With regard to the FPA’s
proposal seeking to modify  the language of the compliance
affidavit, the Commissioner finds that FPA’s  proposed
change in the affidavit language is inconsistent with the
intended purpose of the proposed regulations, and declines
to adopt  the FPA’s proposed language.

c. Investment Council Association of America
The affidavit requirement has been discussed

above, and the same findings and conclusions apply here.
d. Investment Company Institute

As stated previously, the ICI has withdrawn its
concern regarding potential conflicts between the proposed
affidavit requirement and NSMIA.  Consequently, no
specific finding is required 

C. ORDER ADOPTING
RULES AND REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118, upon consideration of the
information submitted to the Securities Commissioner, and
based on the findings of fact with respect to the information
submitted, it is hereby ordered as follows:

(1) Section 700 of the Rules and Regulations Pursuant
to the Delaware Securities Act is stricken in its entirety and
the following new section is inserted in lieu thereof:

“§700     Registration of Investment Advisers
(a)  A person applying for a license as an investment
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adviser in Delaware shall make application for such license
on Form ADV (Uniform Application for Investment Adviser
Registration under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940).
Amendments to such application shall also be made on Form
ADV.

(b)  The applicant shall file the following items with the
Commissioner:  (i) the application on Form ADV; (ii) the fee
required by Section 7314 of the Act; (iii) a balance sheet
prepared in accordance with Schedule G of Form ADV; (iv)
a list of all investment adviser representatives employed by
the investment adviser; (v) proof of compliance with Rule
710 by filing an Investment Adviser Affidavit available at
http://www.state.de.us/securities or by contacting the
Division of Securities; and (vi) such other information as the
Commissioner may reasonably require.

(c)  Registration expires at the end of the calendar year.
Any investment adviser may renew its registration by filing
with the Commissioner an updated Form ADV, together
with the fee required by Section 7314 of the Act and a list of
all investment adviser representatives employed by the
investment adviser.

(d)  Every investment adviser must have at least one
investment adviser representative registered with the
Commissioner to obtain or to maintain its license as an
investment adviser.”

(2) Section 701 of the Rules and Regulations Pursuant
to the Delaware Securities Act is stricken in its entirety and
the following new section is inserted in lieu thereof:

“§701     Registration of Investment Adviser
Representatives

(a)  A person applying for a license as an investment
adviser representative in Delaware shall make application
for such license on Form U-4 (Uniform Application for
Securities Industry Registration or Transfer).  Amendments
to such application shall also be made on Form U-4.

(b)  The applicant shall file the following items with the
Commissioner: (i) the application on Form U-4; (ii) the fee
required by Section 7314 of the Act; (iii) proof of
compliance with Rule 710 by filing an Investment Adviser
Representative Affidavit available at http://www.state.de.us/
securities or by contacting the Division of Securities; and
(iv) such other information as the Commissioner may
reasonably require. 

(c)  Registration expires at the end of the calendar year.
Any investment adviser  representative may renew his or her
registration by filing with the Commissioner a letter of intent
to renew and the fee required by Section 7314 of the Act.”

(3) The following new section is added to the Rules and
Regulations Pursuant to the Delaware Securities Act:

“§ 710     Examination Requirements
(a)  Examination Requirements.  An individual applying

to be registered as an investment adviser or investment
adviser representative under the Act shall provide the
Commissioner with proof of obtaining a passing score on
one of the following examinations:

(1)  The Uniform Investment Adviser Law
Examination (Series 65 examination); or

(2)  The General Securities Representative
Examination (Series 7 examination) and the Uniform
Combined State Law Examination (Series 66 examination).

(b)  Grandfathering.
(1)  Any individual who is registered as an

investment adviser or investment adviser representative in
any jurisdiction in the United States on the effective date of
this Rule shall not be required to satisfy the examination
requirements for continued registration, except that the
Commissioner may require additional examinations for any
individual found to have violated any state or federal
securities law.

(2)  An individual who has not been registered in
any jurisdiction for a period of two (2) years shall be
required to comply with the examinations requirements for
this Rule.

(c)  Waivers.  The examination shall not apply to an
individual who currently holds one of the following
professional designations:

(1)  Certified Financial Planner (CFP) awarded by
the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc.

(2)  Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC)
awarded by the American College, Bryn Mawr,
Pennsylvania;

(3)  Personal Financial Specialist (PFS) awarded by
the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants;

(4)  Charted Financial Analyst (CFA) awarded by
the Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts;

(5)  Chartered Investment Counselor (CIC)
awarded by the Investment Counsel Association of America,
Inc.; or

(6)  Such other professional designation as the
Commissioner may by rule or order recognize.

(d)  The Commissioner reserves the power to waive the
exam requirements upon good cause shown.”

(4) These amended rules, as they will appear in printed
form in the “Rules and Regulations Pursuant to the Delaware
Securities Act” pamphlet, available to the public free of
charge, are attached hereto as exhibit “A.”

(5) The changes to the Rules and Regulations Pursuant
to the Delaware Securities Act as set forth herein are made
pursuant to the authority granted in 6 Del.C. §§ 7314(b)(4)
and 7325(b) and shall become effective ten days after
publication of this Order in the Register of Regulations
pursuant to 29 Del.C. § 10118.
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SO ORDERED this 17th day of August, 2000.

James B. Ropp
Securities Commissioner

Part G.  Investment Advisers and Investment Adviser
Representatives

§700 Registration of Investment Advisors

(a) A person applying for a license as an investment
adviser in Delaware shall make application for such license
on Form ADV (Uniform Application for Investment Adviser
Registration under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940).
Amendments to such application shall also be made on Form
ADV.

(b) The applicant shall file the following items with the
Commissioner:  (i) the application on Form ADV; (ii) the fee
required by Section 7314 of the Act; (iii) a balance sheet
prepared in accordance with Schedule G of Form ADV; (iv)
a list of all investment adviser representatives employed by
the investment adviser;  (v) such other information as the
Commissioner may reasonably require proof of compliance
with Rule 710 by filing an Investment Adviser Affidavit
available at http://www.state.de.us/securities or by
contacting the Division of Securities; and (vi) such other
information as the Commissioner may reasonably require.

(c) Registration expires at the end of the calendar year.
Any investment adviser may renew its registration by filing
with the Commissioner an updated Form ADV, together
with the fee required by Section 7314 of the Act and a list of
all investment adviser representatives employed by the
investment adviser.

(d) Every investment adviser must have at least one
investment adviser representative registered with the
Commissioner to obtain or to maintain its license as an
investment adviser.

§701 Registration of Investment Adviser
Representatives

(a) A person applying for a license as an investment
adviser representative in Delaware shall make application
for such license on Form U-4 (Uniform Application for
Securities Industry Registration or Transfer).  Amendments
to such application shall also be made on Form U-4.

(b) The applicant shall file the following items with the
Commissioner: (i) the application on Form U-4; (ii) the fee
required by Section 7314 of the Act; (iii) a certification that
the applicant has successfully completed the Uniform
Investment Adviser Law Examination (Series 65 or 66)
administered by the NASD proof of compliance with Rule
710 by filing an Investment Adviser Representative
Affidavit available at http://www.state.de.us/securities or by

contacting the Division of Securities; and (iv) such other
information as the Commissioner may reasonably require.
The Commissioner may waive the exam requirements upon
good cause shown.

(c) Good cause for waiver of the exam requirement of
subsection (b)(iii) of this Rule shall include holding a
credential designated by the Commissioner by rule or order,
so long as the individual is in good standing with the
organization that issued the credential.  Such credentials
shall include the designation Certified Financial Planner
awarded by the Certified Financial Planner Board of
Standards.

(d)  (c)  Registration expires at the end of the calendar
year.  Any investment adviser representative may renew his
or her registration by filing with the Commissioner a letter of
intent to renew and the fee required by Section 7314 of the
Act.

§ 710 Examination Requirements

(a) Examination Requirements.  An individual
applying to be registered as an investment adviser or
investment adviser representative under the Act shall
provide the Commissioner with proof of obtaining a passing
score on one of the following examinations:

(1) The Uniform Investment Adviser Law
Examination (Series 65 examination); or

(2) The General Securities Representative
Examination (Series 7 examination) and the Uniform
Combined State Law Examination (Series 66 examination).

(b) Grandfathering.
(1) Any individual who is registered as an

investment adviser or investment adviser representative in
any jurisdiction in the United States on the effective date of
this Rule shall not be required to satisfy the examination
requirements for continued registration, except that the
Commissioner may require additional examinations for any
individual found to have violated any state or federal
securities law.

(2) An individual who has not been registered in
any jurisdiction for a period of two (2) years shall be
required to comply with the examinations requirements for
this Rule.

(c) Waivers.  The examination shall not apply to an
individual who currently holds one of the following
professional designations:

(1) Certified Financial Planner (CFP) awarded by
the [International Board of Standards and Practices for
Certified Financial Planners, Inc.; Certified Financial
Planner Board of Standards, Inc.]

(2) Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC)
awarded by the American College, Bryn Mawr,
Pennsylvania;

(3) Personal Financial Specialist (PFS) awarded by
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the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants;
(4) Charted Financial Analyst (CFA) awarded by

the Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts;
(5) Chartered Investment Counselor (CIC)

awarded by the Investment Counsel Association of America,
Inc.; or

(6) Such other professional designation as the
Commissioner may by rule or order recognize.

(d) The Commissioner reserves the power to waive the
exam requirements upon good cause shown.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

HAZARDOUS WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapters 
60 and 63 ( 7 Del.C. Ch. 60, 63)

Secretary’s Order No.  2000-A-0029

Re:  Proposed 2000 Amendments to the Regulations 
Governing Hazardous Waste

Date of Issuance: June 2, 2000
Effective Date of the Amendments:  October 1, 2000

I. Background

On Tuesday, May 9, 2000, at approximately 7:0 0p.m., a
public hearing was held in the DNREC Auditorium at 89
Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.  The purpose of this
hearing was to receive public comment on proposed
amendments to the Regulations Governing Hazardous
Waste.  After the hearing, the Hearing Officer prepared his
report and recommendation in the form of a memorandum to
the Secretary dated May 31, 2000, and that memorandum is
expressly incorporated herein by reference.  

II. Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the
Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated May 31, 2000, are
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.  

III. Order

In view of the above, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that
the amendments to the Regulations Governing Hazardous
Waste as proposed at the public hearing be adopted in the

manner and form provided for by law.

IV. Reasons

Adopting the proposed amendments to the Regulations
Governing Hazardous Waste will further the policies and
purposes of 7 Del.C. Chapters 60 and 63, it will provide for
appropriate regulation of hazardous waste, which is
necessary to protect public health, welfare and the
environment in Delaware.

Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Secretary

2000 AMENDMENTS TO
DELAWARE REGULATIONS GOVERNING

HAZARDOUS WASTE

SUMMARY

This summary presents a brief description of the 2000
amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing
Hazardous Waste (DRGHW), and a list of those sections
generally affected by the amendments.  This summary is
being provided solely for the convenience of the reader.

These changes incorporate certain Federal RCRA
amendments into Delaware’s hazardous waste management
program.  The State is required to adopt these amendments
in order to maintain its RCRA program delegation and
remain current with the Federal hazardous waste program.  

The State is also making miscellaneous changes to the
existing regulations for the purpose of correcting errors and
to add consistency or clarification to the existing regulations.
Some amendments are being made to the existing
regulations in order to improve or enhance the performance
of the hazardous waste management program.

The regulatory amendments in this package are listed
below and organized by the promulgating Federal Register
notice.  For additional information please contact the
Hazardous Waste Management Branch at (302) 739-3689. 

1. Title: Hazardous Remediation Waste
Requirements (HWIR-Media)

Federal Register Reference:63 FR 65874-65947
Federal Promulgation Date:November 30, 1998

Summary: This rule streamlines permitting for treatment,
storage and disposal of remediation wastes managed at
cleanup sites.  The new requirements:  1) make permits
faster and easier to obtain,  2) provide that obtaining these
permits will not subject the owner/operator to facility-wide
corrective action at remediation-only facilities, and 3) allow
the use of Remediation Action Plans (RAPs) as an
alternative to traditional RCRA hazardous waste permits.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/
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This rule also finalizes regulations regarding use of staging
piles during cleanup and providing an exclusion for dredged
materials managed under appropriate Clean Water Act or
Marine Protection Research and Sanctuaries Act permits.

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include:

260.10, 261.4(g), 264.1(j), 264.73(b), 264.101(d),
264.552(a), 264.553(a), 264.554, 265.1(b), 268.2(c),
268.50(g), 122.2, 122.11(d), 122.42 Appendix I, 122.70,
122.73(a), 122 Subpart H.

2. Title: Universal Waste Rule (Hazardous Waste
Management System; Modification of the
Hazardous Waste Recycling Regulatory
Program)

Federal Register Reference:63 FR 71225-71230
Federal Promulgation Date:December 24, 1998

Summary: This rule corrects EPA errors that appeared in
the May 11, 1995 Federal Register, Universal Waste Rule
(60 FR 25492).  No new regulatory requirements are created
with this rule; instead it, (1) makes three corrections to
regulations governing the management of spent lead-acid
batteries that are reclaimed, (2) corrects the definition of a
small quantity universal waste handler, and (3) clarifies the
export requirements which apply to destination facilities,
when the facilities act as universal waste handlers. 

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include:  266.80(a) and (b), 273.6.

3. Title: Petroleum Refining Process Wastes
Leachate Exemption

Federal Register Reference:64 FR 6806
Federal Promulgation Date:February 11, 1999

Summary:  From the definition of hazardous waste, this rule
temporarily defers landfill leachate and landfill gas
condensate derived from previously disposed wastes that
now meet the listing descriptions of one or more of the
recently added petroleum refinery wastes (K169, K170,
K171, and K172).  This exemption applies to landfill
leachate and gas condensate subject to regulation under the
Clean Water Act.   The exempted leachate may not
ordinarily be managed in surface impoundments or
otherwise placed on the land after February 13, 2001, except
for the purpose of providing storage under temporary or
emergency conditions. 

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include:  261.4(b)(15).

4. Title: Land Disposal Restrictions Phase IV
Technical Corrections and Clarification to
Treatment Standards

Federal Register Reference:64 FR 25408-25417
Federal Promulgation Date:May 11, 1999

Summary: This rule clarifies and/or makes technical
corrections to the following five final rules that were
promulgated by EPA and adopted by DNREC in 1998 and
1999:

(1) Regulations promulgating Land Disposal
Restrictions (LDR) treatment standards for wood preserving
wastes, as well as reducing the paperwork burden for
complying with LDRs;

(2) Regulations promulgating LDR treatment standards
for metal-bearing wastes, as well as amending the LDR
treatment standards for soil contaminated with hazardous
waste, and amending the definition of which secondary
materials from mineral processing are considered to be
wastes subject to the LDRs;

(3) An administrative stay of the metal-bearing waste
treatment standards as they apply to zinc micronutrient
fertilizers;

(4) An emergency revision of the LDR treatment
standards for hazardous wastes from the production of
carbamate wastes; and, 

(5) Revised treatment standards for spent aluminum
potliners from primary aluminum production. 

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include: 

261.2(c) and (e), 261.4(a), 262.34(d), 268.2(h), 268.7(a)
and (b), 268.9(d), 268.40(i) and (j), 268.40/Table, 268.48(a),
268.49(c).

5. Title: Test Procedures for the Analysis of Oil and
Grease and Non-Polar Material

Federal Register Reference:64 FR 26315-26327
Federal Promulgation Date:May 14, 1999

Summary:  This rule approves use of EPA Method 1664,
Revision A: N-Hexane Extractable Material (HEM; Oil and
Grease) and Silica Gel Treated N-Hexane Extractable
Material (SGT-HEM; Non-polar Material) by Extraction and
Gravimetry (hereafter Method 1664) for use in EPA's Clean
Water Act (CWA) programs, and incorporates Method 1664
by reference for use in EPA's Resource Conservation and
Recovery Act (RCRA) programs. The rule also deletes
Method 9070 and adds revised Method 9071B as Update
IIIA to the Third Edition of the EPA-approved test methods
manual SW-846.  EPA has taken these actions as a part of
the Agency’s effort to reduce dependency on use of
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chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) to protect Earth's ozone layer
and to meet the CFC phaseout agreed to in the Montreal
Protocol and required by the Clean Air Act Amendments of
1990.

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include:

260.11(a)(11), 260.11(a)(16).

6. Title: Universal Waste Rule:  Specific Provisions
for Hazardous Waste Lamps

Federal Register Reference:64 FR 36466-36490
Federal Promulgation Date:July 6, 1999

Summary: With this rule, DNREC adds spent hazardous
waste lamps to the list of universal wastes.  Handlers of
universal wastes are subject to less stringent standards for
storing, transporting, and collecting these wastes.  The
streamlined universal waste management requirements
under Part 273 should lead to better management of spent
lamps and will facilitate compliance with hazardous waste
requirements.

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include:

260.10, 261.9(b)-(d), 264.1(g)(11), 265.1(c)(14),
268.1(f)(2)-(4), 122.1(c)(2)(viii), 273.1(a), 273.2(a)&(b),
273.3(a), 273.4(a), 273.5(a)-(c), 273.6, 273.7, 273.8(a)&(b),
273.9, 273.10, 273.13(d), 273.14(e), 273.30,
273.32(b)(4)&(5), 273.33(d), 273.34(e), 273.50, 273.60(a),
273.81(a). 

7. Miscellaneous Changes:  Miscellaneous changes will
be made to the Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous
Waste to correct errors and inconsistencies in the
regulations.  In some cases, changes will be made to enhance
the performance of the State’s hazardous waste management
program.  

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include but are not limited to:

Part 260, a Statement of Authority is being added
indicating that enforcement may also occur under 7 Del.C.,
Chapter 60 authority.  Other changes being proposed affect
§§261.3(c) & (d), 264.1(g)(2), 264.13, 265.13, 268
Appendix VIII, and 273.32(a)(1).

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, 

Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. 209(a))

In the Matter of the Sale, Resale, |
And Other Provisions of Intrastate |
Telecommunications Services | PSC Regulation
(Opened May 1, 1984; Reopened |      Docket No. 10
November 17, 1998) |

In the Matter of the Development of |
Regulations for the Facilitation of |
Competitive Entry into the Telecom- | PSC Regulation
Munications Local Exchange Service |     Docket No. 45
Market   (Opened November 21, 1995; |
Reopened November 17, 1998) |

Findings, Opinion & Order No. 5521 
Summary of Proceedings

The Commission initiated this consolidated proceeding
on November 17, 1998, by PSC Order No. 4949, reopening
two earlier proceedings captioned, respectively, In the
Matter of the Sale, Resale, and Other Provisions of Intrastate
Telecommunications Services, PSC Regulation Docket No.
10 and In the Matter of the Development of Regulations for
the Facilitation of Competitive Entry into the
Telecommunications Local Exchange Service Market, PSC
Regulation Docket No. 45.  The Commission reopened these
dockets to consider amendment of the rules promulgated
therein (the “Docket 10 and 45 Rules”) for the purposes of
harmonizing their provisions with each other and with the
Commission’s other regulations and governing law,
lessening the regulatory burdens on regulated
telecommunications carriers as well as on the Commission,
and reflecting the changing regulatory environment.

The Commission arranged for the publication of notice
of the proceeding and of the text of Staff’s proposed
amendments to the Docket 10 and Docket 45 Rules as well as
the text of those Rules in their current form, in the Register
of Regulations as required by 29 Del. C. §§ 1133 and 10115
and also arranged for publication of legal notice of the
proceeding in The News Journal and Delaware State News
newspapers in accordance with 29 Del. C.  § 10115.  The
Commission designated a Hearing Examiner who received
comments and suggestions for further or differing proposed
revisions to the Rules and who conducted public hearings on
the proposed amendments, at which participants were given
the opportunity to present evidence and comments, cross
examine witnesses, and make further arguments.  At this
stage of the proceedings, Conectiv Communications, Inc.
(“CCI”), the Division of Public Advocate (“DPA”),
Telecommunications Resellers Association (“TRA”),

http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/index.html
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Hyperion Telecommunications, Inc.  (“Hyperion”), Sprint
Communications Company, LP (“Sprint”), MCIMetro
Access Transmission Corporation and MCIMetro Access
Transmission, LLC (“MCI”), Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc.,

(“BA-Del”)1,  AT&T Communications of Delaware, Inc.
(“AT&T”) and the Commission Staff  (“Staff”) submitted
written comments and/or participated in the hearings

On September 7, 1999, the Hearing Examiner issued a
Report to the Commission recommending the Commission
adopt certain proposed amendments to the Docket 10 and 45
Rules.  The Commission considered the Hearing Examiner’s
Report at its October 26, 1999 public meeting.  On
November 16, 1999, the Commission entered PSC Order
No. 5277 remanding the proceeding to the Hearing
Examiner to consider consolidation of the Docket 10 and
Docket 45 Rules and further revisions in light of specific
policies identified by the Commission, and directed the
Hearing Examiner to allow further opportunity for comment
by participants.

On November 18, 1999, the Commission Staff
submitted proposed consolidated Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Service governing competitive
provision of both intrastate and local exchange service to the
Hearing Examiner.  Thereafter, BA-Del, Sprint, AT&T and
CCI submitted written comments concerning them.  The
Hearing Examiner conducted a public hearing on January 6,
2000 to consider argument on the Rules and comments
thereto and to supplement the record with the latest filings.
At the conclusion of the hearing, the Hearing Examiner
closed the record which then consisted of 29 exhibits and
308 pages of transcripts of hearings.  Staff and AT&T also
submitted post-hearing letters arguing legal positions which
the Hearing Examiner considered.

On January 26, 2000, the Hearing Examiner issued a
second Report to the Commission recommending that the
Commission adopt consolidated Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Service and proposing such
recommended Rules.  Thereafter, the Commission afforded
the participants an opportunity to submit written exceptions
to the Report and Recommendations of the Hearing
Examiner.  Staff, the DPA, CCI, Sprint, AT&T and BA-Del
all filed exceptions.  The Commission considered the
Hearing Examiner’s Report, the Hearing Examiner’s
Proposed Rules and the exceptions of the participants at its
public meeting of February 28, 2000.

Upon deliberation, the Commission by Order No. 5391,
issued March 28, 2000, determined to repeal the present
Docket 10 and 45 Rules in their entirety and to adopt the
Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services as
proposed by the Hearing Examiner with certain

modifications and revisions approved by the Commission.
The Commission further determined that the Rules for the
Provision of Telecommunications Services, as approved by
the Commission differed in substantive nature from the
proposed revised Docket 10 and 45 Rules earlier published in
the Register of Regulations, pursuant to Order No. 4949.
Accordingly, notice of  (1) the Commission’s intent to repeal
the Docket 10 and 45 Rules in their entirety,  (2) its proposal
to adopt consolidated Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services, (3) its withdrawal of the
previously published proposed revised Docket 10 and 45
Rules were published in the Register of Regulations, as were
the (1) text of the current Docket 10 and 45 Rules and (2) the
Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services, all
as required by 29 Del. C. § 1133 and 1115.  The Commission
also arranged for publication of legal notice of the
proceeding in The News Journal and Delaware State News
newspapers in accordance with 29 Del. C. § 10155.

Following publication of these notices, the Commission
received further written comment from BA-Del, AT&T and
the Association of Communications Enterprises
(“ASCENT”), (formerly TRA).  On August 1, 2000, the
Commission held a duly noticed public hearing to consider
final adoption of the Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services.  No member of the public
attended.  Following deliberations, the Commission by
unanimous vote of the three Commissioners participating,
determined to adopt the “Rules for the Provisions of
Telecommunications Services” attached hereto as Exhibit A.

On August 2, 2000, the Governor signed Senate Bill No.
396, amending Title 26 of the Delaware Code to add a new
subchapter 3 governing changes in customer selection of
telecommunications service providers.  This subchapter
authorizes the Commission to promulgate regulations
governing the implementation of customer preferred carrier
change orders and preferred carrier freezes.  The
Commission adopts Part B of the Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services in furtherance of the authority
granted it by the new statute. 

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted and 
Findings of Fact

The Hearing Examiner summarized the evidence and
information submitted and recommended findings based
thereon.  The Commission adopts as its own and
incorporates by reference herein the summary of evidence
and information submitted and the findings as set out by the
Hearing Examiner in his Report of January 26, 2000, except
as specifically noted herein.

Rule 1:  Definitions
BA-Del and the DPA proposed certain changes to the

text of Rule 1, to eliminate surplus language and to clarify
1. Effective August 1, 2000, BA-Del changed its 

name to Verizon Delaware Inc.
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coverage of the Rule.  The Commission does not accept BA-
Del’s proposal to revise Rule 1(b) to define  “Carrier” to
mean “any person or entity offering to the public
telecommunications service that originates and terminates
within the State of Delaware.”  The phrase “originates or
terminates,” employed by the Hearing Examiner, is not
ambiguous and is preferable.  (5-0)  However, the
Commission approves certain changes urged by the DPA
and BA-Del to Rules 1(b)(iv), (j) and (m) to eliminate
surplus language and foster consistency. (5-0)  

Rule 3:  Application and Conflict With Other Rules,
Regulations, Tariffs and/or Pricelists

Both AT&T and BA-Del proposed alternate language to
Rule 3(a) concerning application of the Rules for the
Provision of Telecommunications Service to BA-Del, the
Incumbent Local Exchange Carrier (“ILEC”).  The
Commission agrees that AT&T’s proposed language is
preferable to that recommended by the Hearing Examiner.
(5-0).

The DPA proposed a new Rule 3(c) governing
applicability of the Rules to payphone providers.  The
Commission finds that the Rules as adopted unambiguously
exclude payphone service providers from coverage and
hence rejects the DPA proposal.  (5-0)  However, the
Commission adopts certain clarifications proposed by BA-
Del to Rules 3(e) and (g).(5-).

Rule 4 : Certification
The Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule 4(h),

concerning filing of initial tariffs and price lists, allows Staff
to require an applicant to provide cost data demonstrating
that rates are reasonably expected to cover the incremental
cost of offering the service, upon an investigation into unjust
and unreasonable pricing practices.  Staff proposes alternate
text to Rule 4(h) which would allow it to obtain cost data
from an applicant at any time, upon written request.  Staff
argued that such a provision is a safeguard against predatory
pricing practices.  The carriers, other than BA-Del, opposed
Staff’s position.  The Commission agrees with these carriers
and the Hearing Examiner.  The Commission rejects Staff’s
proposed modification to Rule 4(h).  (4-1, McMahon
opposed).

BA-Del pointed out that in Rule 4(a), as well as in other
parts of his recommended Rules the Hearing Examiner uses
the phrase “tariffs and price lists,” not “tariffs or price lists.”
BA-Del urged that the phrase “tariffs or price lists” is more
consistent with the Commission’s intent and should be used
consistently throughout the Rules.  The Commission agrees
(5-0).  

Rule 5: New Options or Offerings; Changes to Existing
Rates, Prices or Terms and Conditions

BA-Del took exception to the Hearing Examiner’s

recommended Rule 5(a) which provides that a Carrier
offering a new telecommunications service option or
offering must provide ten days prior notice to the
Commission. BA-Del recommended the Rule be revised to
require twenty day notice, consistent with the 20-day notice
statutorily required of Carriers who elect coverage under the
Telecommunications Technology Investment Act (“TTIA”)
(as BA-Del has done).  Staff and the remaining Carriers
opposed BA-Del’s position.  These parties argued that the
twenty day period applicable to BA-Del allows the
Commission’s Staff to accomplish the administrative review
the TTIA requires upon receipt of a filing.  Staff is not
required to perform a similar level of review concerning the
filings of competitive Carriers.  The Commission rejects
BA-Del’s proposal adopted Rule 5(a) as recommended by
the Hearing Examiner. (5-0).

The Hearing Examiner’s recommended Rule 5(b)
imposed varying notice periods for revisions to existing
tariffs or price lists depending upon whether the Carrier
proposed to increase or decrease prices.  He recommended
that price decreases be allowed to go into effect upon three
days notice but that implementation of price increases
require twenty day notice to the Commission as well as
mailed notice to all customers affected.  The DPA supported
the Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule 5(b).  Prior to
issuance of the Hearing Examiner’s Report, no participant in
the proceeding had urged adoption of differentiated notice
periods for price increases as opposed to price decreases.
Staff and AT&T urged that it would be inappropriate to
adopt the Hearing Examiner’s proposal on the current
record.  The Commission agrees and rejects the Hearing
Examiner’s proposal.  The Commission adopts Staff’s
proposal that Carriers be required to provide three days
notice to the Commission for all revisions to filed tariffs or
price lists.  (4-1, Twilley opposed).

Staff argued that Rule 5(d) (Investigation of Filings)
should enunciate a pricing standard requiring that a Carrier’s
rates be accompanied by a statement that the rates are
intended to generate sufficient revenue to cover the
incremental cost of offering the service.  The Commission
rejected this proposal, consistent with its determination
concerning Rule 4(h).  Further, Rule 5(d) as adopted has
been modified to employ the language as Rule 4(h).  (5-0).

Staff also took exception to the Hearing Examiner’s
recommended Rule 5(e) governing special contracts.  Staff
proposed language requiring any Carrier entering a special
(i.e., off-tariff or price list) contract with a customer be
required to demonstrate affirmatively to the Commission
that actual competition exists for the contract and that rates
under the contract would at least equal incremental cost.
The Commission rejects Staff’s position, consistent with its
earlier determination.  (4-1, McMahon opposed).
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Rule 7: Abandonment or Discontinuation of Service
Staff proposed alternate language to the Hearing

Examiner’s recommended Rule 7 which it argued was
ambiguous.  Bell Atlantic and AT&T supported the Staff’s
recommendation.  The Commission adopts the language
proposed by Staff.  (5-0).

Rule 8:  Services to be Provided by CLECs Providing
Voice Telephone Service

Staff proposed clarification of Rule 8, listing minimum
services to be provided by CLECs.  The Commission
approves Staff’s recommended language.  In addition, the
DPA proposed amending subparagraph 8(f) to include
directory de-listing as a required minimum service.  Staff
argued that de-listing appears to be a less essential service
than directory listing and that its provision need not be
mandated.  The Commission adopts Staff’s position.  (5-0).  

Rule 9:  Resale Prohibitions
The DPA recommended revising the Hearing

Examiner’s proposed language regarding cross-class selling
and other restrictions on resale.  The Commission finds that
the language proposed by the Hearing Examiner is
sufficiently clear.  (5-0).  

Rule 14: Applicability
As recommended by AT&T, the Commission inserts

Rule 14 governing applicability of the Part B Rules (5-0).

Rule 15: Verification of Orders for Telecommunications
Services

The Commission corrects the typographical errors
contained in the Hearing Examiner’s recommended rules, as
pointed out by BA-Del.  (5-0).

Rule 19: Customer Protection
Rule 19(b) addresses steps a Carrier must take to resolve

a customer’s complaint concerning an unauthorized change
in the customer’s preferred Carrier.   BA-Del suggested
modification to allow a Carrier to notify customers orally
(not only in writing) of the customer’s right to file a
complaint with the Commission. The Hearing Examiner
adopts BA-Del’s position.  (5-0).

Rule 19(d) (Refunds and Penalties), as proposed by the
Hearing Examiner authorizes the Commission, to require a
Carrier to refund or void all customer charges resulting from
an unauthorized change in preferred Carriers, in the
Commission’s discretion, following appropriate
administrative process.  AT&T, Sprint and BA-Del all took
exception to this provision.  BA-Del argued that the
“customer absolution” period (i.e., the refund period) should
be limited to 30 days.  AT&T and Sprint proposed alternate
language which would likewise limit the absolution period to
30 days except where the Commission determines the

circumstances warrant a longer refund period.  These parties
argued that the Federal Communications Commission
(“FCC”), in its  proceeding for the promulgation of policies
and rules concerning unauthorized changes of consumer’s
long distance carriers (CC Docket No. 94-129) favored an
absolution period limited to 30 days.  Staff and the DPA
supported the Hearing Examiner’s Rule.  Staff asserted that
the FCC’s Rule, in its then current version, did not prohibit
refund to the customers for a period of longer than 30 days in
appropriate circumstances.  The Commission concludes that
the text proposed by AT&T is not significantly different
from the Hearing Examiner’s recommended language.
Accordingly, the Commission adopts Rule 19(d) as proposed
by the Hearing Examiner.  (5-0)

Subsequent to the Commission’s consideration of the
Hearing Examiner’s Report and recommended Rules for the
Provision of Telecommunications Services, BA-Del
submitted additional comments requesting revision to Rule
18(e)(ii) which it claimed would facilitate the
implementation of a voice response unit (“VRU”) for
implementation and lifting of preferred carrier freezes by
customers.  AT&T filed responsive comments and proposed
an additional changes to Rule 19 authorizing creation of an
independent third party administrator to govern slamming
and cramming disputes. In the alternative, AT&T requested
the Commission to open a new docket to explore creation of
an independent third party administrator.

ASCENT submitted written comments opposing the
bonding requirements of Rule 4 and suggesting certain
“guiding principles” for the adjudication of slamming
complaints.

The Commission considered these comments at its
public hearing of August 1, 2000.  The Commission deems it
to be in the public interest to finally adopt the Rules it
previously approved on March 28, without modification that
could require further republication and additional
administrative process.  The Commission recognizes that the
telecommunications industry is experiencing rapid change
and that these Rules may require revision in the foreseeable
future to accommodate changed circumstances. (5-0)

AND NOW, this 15th day of August, 2000, IT IS
HEREBY ORDERED that:

1.  The Commission adopts the Rules for the Provision
of Telecommunications Services the exact text and citation of
which are attached hereto as Exhibit A.  (3-0)

2.  The Commission repeals the “Rules for the Provision
of Competitive Intrastate Telecommunications Services”
adopted by PSC Order 3283 (June 18, 1991) entered In the
Matter of the Sale, Resale and Other Provisions of Intrastate
Telecommunications Services, PSC Regulation Docket No.
10 and the “Interim Rules Governing Competition in the
Market for Local Telecommunications Services” adopted by
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PSC Order 4468 (April 8, 1997) issued In the Matter of the
Development of Regulations for the Facilitation of
Competitive Entry into the Telecommunications Local
Exchange Market, PSC Regulation Docket No. 45. (3-0)

3.  The Secretary shall transmit this Order, together with
the exact text of the Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Service to the Registrar of Regulations
for Publication on September 1, 2000.

4.  The effective date of this Order shall be the later of
September 10, 2000 or ten days after the date of publication
in the Registrar of Regulations of the final text of the Rules
for the Provision of Telecommunications Services.

5.  The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further orders in this matter as may be
deemed necessary or proper by Order of the Commission.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Robert J. McMahon, Chairman
Joshua M. Twilley, Vice Chairman
Arnetta McRae, Commissioner
Donald J. Puglisi, Commissioner
John R. McClelland, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

Public Service Commission of Delaware Rules for the 
Provision of Telecommunications Services

Part A
Certification and Regulation of Carriers

Rule 1. Definitions.
(a)  Rules shall mean these Rules, including PARTS A

and B, governing the provision of telecommunications
services in Delaware.

(b)  Carrier shall mean any person or entity offering to
the public Telecommunications service that originates or
terminates within the State of Delaware.  The term "Carrier"
does not include:

(i)  any political subdivision, public or private
institution of higher education or municipal corporation of
this State or operated by their lessees or operating agents that
provides telephone service for the sole use of such political
subdivision, public or private institution of higher learning
or municipal corporation;

(ii)  a company that provides telecommunications
services solely to itself and its affiliates or members or
between points in the same building, or between closely
located buildings which are affiliated through substantial
common ownership and does not offer such services to the
available general public;

(iii)  providers of domestic public land mobile radio
service provided by cellular technology excluded from the

Commission’s jurisdiction under 26 Del. C. § 202(c); and
(iv)  Payphone service providers regulated by this

Commission under Rules promulgated in Regulation Docket
No. 12.  

(c)  CPCN shall mean a Certificate of Public
Convenience and Necessity issued by the Commission.

(d)  Commission shall mean the Public Service
Commission of Delaware.

(e)  Competitive Local Exchange Carrier ("CLEC")
shall mean a Carrier, other than the Incumbent Local
Exchange Carrier, offering and/or providing local
telecommunications exchange services within the State of
Delaware.

(f)  Incumbent Local Exchange Carrier ("ILEC")  shall
mean in Delaware Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc., and any
successor thereto.
 (g)  Facilities-based Carrier shall mean a Local
Exchange Carrier that directly owns, controls, operates, or
manages plant and equipment through which it provides
local exchange services to consumers within the local
exchange portion of the public switched network.

(h)  Local Exchange Carrier ("LEC") shall mean a
Carrier offering and/or providing local telecommunications
exchange services (i.e., CLECs and ILECs); including both
facilities-based and non-facilities-based Carriers.

(i)  Local Telecommunications Exchange Service shall
mean non-toll, intrastate Telecommunications Services
provided over a Local Exchange Carrier’s network,
including, but not limited to, exchange access services and
basic local services.

(j)  Resale shall mean the sale to an end user of any
telecommunications service purchased from another Carrier.

(k)  Telecommunications shall mean the transmission,
between or among points specified by the user, of
information of the user’s choosing, without change in the
form and content of the information as sent and received.

(l)  Telecommunications Service shall mean the offering
of telecommunications for a fee directly to the public within
the State of Delaware (originating or terminating within the
State, without regard to how the Carrier decides to route the
traffic), or to such classes of users as to be effectively
available to the public, regardless of the facilities used.
"Telecommunications Service" does not include:

(i)  the rent, sale, lease, or exchange for other value
received, of customer premises equipment, except for
specialized terminal equipment as defined in 48 U.S.C. §
610(g);

(ii)  telephone or telecommunications answering
services, paging services, and physical pickup and delivery
incidental to the provision of information transmitted
through electronic or electromagnetic media, including light
transmission;

(iii)  The one-way distribution of entertainment
services or informational services with no more than
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incidental customer interaction required for selection of such
entertainment or information services; and

(iv)  Telecommunications service provided by
either primary cellular technology or by domestic public
land mobile radio service, even in the event that such
transmission originates or terminates in a wireline telephone.

Rule 2. Applicability.
These Rules shall apply to all Carriers, as defined by

these Rules, and shall be construed consistently with Rule 3
of these Rules.

Rule 3. Application of and Conflict With Other Rules,
Regulations, Tariffs and/or Price Lists.

(a)  The ILEC.
(i)  The ILEC will remain subject to the

Telecommunications Technology [Investment] Act (TTIA),
26 Del. C. sub. Ch. VII-A, and any implementing regulations
promulgated by the Commission during the term of its
election thereunder.  During such term, the ILEC shall not be
subject to the requirements of these Part A. Rules; and

(ii)  The ILEC has Carrier of last resort obligations
in its service territory.

(b)  Telephone Service Quality Regulations (Docket No.
20).
All Carriers shall provide telephone service in accordance
with the Telephone Service Quality Regulations the
Commission adopted in PSC Regulation Docket No. 20, by
Order No. 3232 (January 15, 1991) as such may from time to
time be amended, except to the extent these Rules impose
obligations or grant privileges inconsistent therewith.

(c)  Negotiation and Mediation Guidelines.
All Carriers must abide by the Commission’s Guidelines for
Negotiations, Mediation, Arbitration and Approval of
Agreements between Local Exchange Telecommunications
Carriers (Order No. 4245).

(d)  Rules of Practice and Procedure
The practice and procedure governing any proceedings
required or authorized by these Rules shall be as set forth by
the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure adopted
in PSC Docket No. 99-9, by Order No. 5057 (April 6, 1999)
as the same may be hereafter from time to time amended.

(e)  Other Rules and Statutes.
These Rules shall prevail over any inconsistent requirements
imposed by prior Order or regulation of the Commission,
except for Rule 3(a) preceding and where expressly
authorized by a Commission Order granting a waiver. All
Carriers remain subject to any and all applicable provisions
of state and federal law.

(f)  Tariffs or Price Lists.
To the extent that a tariff or price list of any Carrier is
inconsistent with these Rules, then, and in that event, these
Rules shall control, subject to Rule 3(a) preceding, unless
where expressly authorized by a Commission Order granting

a waiver.

Rule 4.  Certification.
(a)  Certification Requirement.  

No  person or entity shall offer public intrastate or local
exchange telecommunications service within the State of
Delaware without first obtaining from the Commission a
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity authorizing
such service.  A Carrier offering telecommunications service
within the State of Delaware without a CPCN duly issued by
this Commission is acting unlawfully and shall immediately
cease offering such service until a CPCN is granted.

(b)  Application. 
An applicant for a CPCN shall file with the Commission an
original and ten (10) copies of an Application for Certificate
of Public Convenience and Necessity, together with the
statutory filing fee set forth in 26 Del. C. § 114, as the same
may from time to time be amended.  Such application shall
contain all the information and exhibits hereinafter required
and may contain such additional information as the applicant
deems appropriate to demonstrate to the Commission that it
possesses the technical, financial and operational ability to
adequately serve the public and that the public convenience
and necessity requires or will require the operation of such
business.

(c)  Notice.  
The applicant shall serve a notice of the filing of such an
application upon the Public Advocate, and to such other
entities as may be required by the Commission. The
applicant shall provide public notice of the filing of the
application in two (2) newspapers having general circulation
throughout the county or counties where service is to be
offered in a form to be prescribed by the Commission.

(d)  Business License and Registered Agent.
An applicant shall demonstrate that it is legally authorized
and qualified to do business in the State of Delaware,
including that it has received authorization to do business
issued by the Secretary of State.  An applicant shall provide
the name, address, and telephone number of its Delaware
Resident Agent.  Following certification, all Carriers shall
promptly notify the Commission in writing of changes of
Resident Agent or the name, address, or telephone number
thereof.

(e)  Identification and Billing of Intrastate and Interstate
Traffic.  
An applicant shall be required to set forth an effective plan
for identifying and billing intrastate versus interstate traffic,
and shall pay the appropriate LEC for access at the LEC’s
prevailing access charge rates. If adequate means of
categorizing traffic as interstate versus intrastate are not or
cannot be developed, then, for purposes of determining the
access charge to be paid to the LEC for such undetermined
traffic, the traffic shall be deemed to be of the jurisdiction
having the higher access charges and billed at the higher



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 3, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2000

522

access charges.
(f)  Bonds.

(i)  Applicants with assets under $250,000.
An applicant with total assets less than

$250,000 must post a $10,000 performance bond with
Delaware surety and renew such bond annually until the
Carrier’s assets exceed $250,000.

(ii)  Carriers requiring deposits, or any form of
payment in advance for service.

No Carrier shall require its customers in
Delaware to pay a deposit or pay or otherwise provide any
security or advance as a condition of service unless that
Carrier first has filed with the Commission a bond, issued by
a corporate surety licensed to do business in Delaware,
guaranteeing the repayment of all customer deposits and
advances upon the termination of service.  The bond need
not be filed with the application, but no CPCN will be issued
until such bond is filed with the Commission.  The amount
of the bond shall be the greater of: (A) 150% of the projected
balance of deposits and advances at the end of three years of
operation; or (B) $50,000.  If at any time the actual amount
of deposits and advances held by a Carrier exceeds the bond,
then the Carrier promptly shall file with the Commission a
bond with surety to comply with the requirement of the
preceding sentence.  A Carrier may petition for waiver of the
bond requirement three years from the date the certificate
was issued and such waiver will be granted upon a
demonstration of an adequate operating history and financial
resources to insure the repayment to customers of any
advance payments or deposits held.

(g)  Minimum Financial Requirements for LECs.
(i)  Any applicant for certification as a facilities-

based CLEC shall demonstrate in its application that it
possesses a minimum of $100,000 of cash or cash
equivalent, reasonably liquid and readily available;

(ii)  Any applicant for certification to do business as
a non-facilities-based CLEC shall demonstrate in its
application that it possesses a minimum of $25,000 of cash
or cash equivalent, reasonably liquid and readily available;

(iii)  Any applicant that has profitable interstate
operations or operations in other states may meet the
minimum financial requirements of subparagraphs (i) and
(ii) above by submitting an audited balance sheet and income
statement demonstrating sufficient cash flow to meet the
above requirements; and

(iv)  An applicant may demonstrate cash or cash
equivalent by the following:

(A)  Cash or cash equivalent, including
cashier’s check, sight draft, performance bond proceeds, or
traveler’s checks;

(B)  Certificate of deposit or other liquid
deposit, with a reputable bank or other financial institution;

(C)  Preferred stock proceeds or other
corporate shareholder equity, provided that use is restricted

to maintenance of working capital for a period of at least
twelve (12) months beyond certification of the applicant by
the Commission;

(D)  Letter of credit, issued by a reputable bank
or other financial institution, irrevocable for a period of at
least (12) months beyond certification of the applicant by the
Commission;

(E)  Line of credit, issued by a reputable bank
or other financial institution, irrevocable for a period of at
least twelve (12) months beyond certification of the
applicant by the Commission;

(F)  Loan, issued by a qualified subsidiary,
affiliate of applicant, or a qualified corporation holding a
controlling interest in the applicant, irrevocable for a period
of at least  twelve (12) months beyond certification of the
applicant by the Commission, and payable on an interest-
only basis for the same period;

(G)  Guarantee, issued by a corporation,
copartnership, or other person or association, irrevocable for
a period of at least twelve (12) months beyond certification
of the applicant by the Commission;

(H)  Guarantee, issued by a qualified
subsidiary, affiliate of the applicant, or a qualified
corporation holding controlling interests in the applicant
irrevocable for a period of at least twelve (12) months
beyond the certification of the applicant by the Commission.

(h)  Initial Tariffs or Price Lists.
An applicant shall file proposed initial rates, prices, rules,
regulations, terms and conditions of service specifically
adopted for the State of Delaware.  Upon an investigation
into unjust and unreasonable pricing practices, the
Commission Staff may require the applicant to provide cost
data demonstrating that rates are reasonably expected to
cover the incremental cost of offering the service.  Copies of
the applicant’s rates and terms and condition of service in
other jurisdictions must be provided to the Commission upon
request.  Any applicant’s tariff or price lists must include at a
minimum specific policies regarding:

(i)  customer deposits and advances; 
(ii)  prompt reconciliation of customer billing

problems and complaints; and 
(iii)  timely correction of service problems.

(i)  Demonstration of Fitness.  
An applicant shall be required to demonstrate to the
Commission its financial, operational, and technical ability
to render service within the State of Delaware. Such
demonstration shall include, but is not limited to, the
following:

(i)  The applicant’s certified financial statements
current within twelve (12) months of the filing, and, where
applicable, the most recent annual report to shareholders and
SEC Form 10-K;

(ii)  A brief narrative description of the applicant’s
proposed operations in Delaware, any present operations in
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all other states, and states for which service applications are
pending;

(iii)  A description of the relevant operations
experience of applicant’s personnel principally responsible
for the proposed Delaware operations; 

(iv)  A specific description of the applicant’s
engineering and technical expertise showing its
qualifications to provide the intended service, including the
names, addresses, and qualifications of the officers,
directors, and technical or engineering personnel or
contractors who will be operating and/or maintaining the
equipment to be used to provide such service; and

(v)  A description, including location, of the
applicant’s facilities that the applicant will use to provide the
proposed service in the next three years. Upon written
request of the Commission Staff, the applicant shall provide
a one year construction, maintenance, engineering, and
financial plan for all services intended to be provided within
the State of Delaware with a technical description of the
equipment which will be used to provide such service.

Rule 5.  New Options or Offerings; Changes to Existing
Rates, Prices or Terms and Conditions. 

(a)  Notice Required for New Service Options and
Offerings.

No Carrier shall offer new telecommunication
service options or offerings except ten (10) days after filing
with the Commission the proposed tariff or price list.

(b)  Notice Required to Revise Existing Tariff or Price
List.
No Carrier shall revise an existing tariff or price list except
three (3) days after filing with the Commission the proposed
tariff or price list.

(c)  Service of Notice.
A Carrier filing a new service or changes to an existing
service pursuant to this Rule shall serve the filing on: 

(i)  the Public Advocate; and 
(ii)  all interested persons that submit a written

request to the Commission to receive such notice.
A Carrier shall file with the Commission a certificate of

service as part of its notice requirement.  To the extent that
any such documents contain information claimed to be
proprietary and interested persons have submitted a written
request for notice, but have not executed an appropriate
proprietary agreement, the Carrier shall provide an
expurgated version of the notice to such parties.

(d)  Investigation of Filings.
A filing made pursuant to this rule shall not preclude the
Commission or its Staff from an informal or formal
investigation into the filing in order to protect fair
competition, including requiring the Carrier to provide cost
data demonstrating that rates are reasonably expected to
cover the incremental cost of offering the service.  

(e)  Special Contracts

A Carrier shall file under this rule all contracts with a
customer to the extent the contract changes the terms or
conditions generally offered to the public in the carrier’s
tariff or price list on file with the Commission.

Rule 6. Discrimination Prohibited. 
No Carrier shall unreasonably discriminate among

persons requesting a service within the State of Delaware.
Any finding of unreasonable discrimination shall be grounds
for suspension or revocation of the Certificate of Public
Convenience and Necessity granted by the Commission, as
well as the imposition of monetary and other penalties
pursuant to  26Del. C. §§ 217 and 218.

Rule 7.  Abandonment or Discontinuation of Service.
A Carrier may abandon or discontinue service, in whole

or in part, in accordance with the terms of 26 Del. C. §
203A(c). The Carrier shall provide notice of its application
to discontinue or abandon service to its customers
subscribing to such service and to the Division of Public
Advocate.  Such notice shall describe the options available
to the customers. The Carrier’s application to abandon or
discontinue a service shall contain proposed provision for
payment of all relevant outstanding liabilities (deposits and
advance payments), if any, to customers within the State of
Delaware.

Rule 8.  Services to be Provided By CLECs Providing
Voice Telephone Service.

Any CLEC providing voice telephone service shall
offer, at a minimum, the following telecommunication
services to its customers:

(a)  access to the public switched network;
(b)  dial tone line services;
(c)  local usage services;
(d)  access to all available long distance Carriers;
(e)  TouchTone services;
(f)  White page listing;
(g)  Access to 911 enhanced emergency system;
(h)  Local directory assistance service;
(i)  Access to telecommunications relay service.

Rule 9.   Resale Prohibitions.
(a)  Cross-Class Selling.

A Carrier that by tariff or price list makes a service available
only to residential customers or a limited class of residential
customers may prohibit the purchaser from offering such
services to classes of customers that are not eligible for such
services from the providing Carrier.

(b)  Other.
With respect to any restrictions on resale other than cross-
class selling as described in paragraph (a) above, a Carrier
may impose a restriction only if the Commission determines
that the restriction is reasonable and nondiscriminatory.
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Rule 10.  Reports to the Commission.
(a)  Annual and Periodic Reports.

All Carriers shall file with the Commission an Annual
Report as described below and such other reports or
information as the Commission may from time to time
require to fulfill its statutory obligations. The Annual Report
shall include standard financial reports (balance sheet,
statement of operations, supporting schedules, etc.).  This
report shall also include:

(i)  the same after-the-fact information that
management is provided concerning the measurement of
performance provided in Delaware;

(ii)  the information used to determine Delaware
income tax liability;

(iii)  financial and operating information for the
smallest management unit that includes Delaware;

(iv)  intrastate revenues (net of uncollectible) by
service category;

(v)  intrastate access and billing and collection cost
by service category;

(vi)  total number of customers by service category;
(vii)  total intrastate minutes of use by service

category;
(viii)  total intrastate number of calls by service

category;
(ix)  a description of service offered;
(x)  a description of each complaint received by

service category (in the form of a single Complaints Log);
and

(xi)  verification of deposits, customer advances,
the bond requirement and the bond with surety, where
applicable.

(b)  Accounting System.
All Carriers shall use an accounting system in accordance
with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles or such
other uniform system of accounts previously approved in
writing by the Chief of Technical Services of the
Commission.

(c)  Attestation.
All Carriers shall file all reports required by these Rules with
a sworn statement by the person under whose direction the
report was prepared, that the information provided in the
report is true and correct to the best of the person’s
knowledge and belief.

(d)  Time for Filing.
All periodic reports to be filed with this Commission must be
received on or before the following due dates, unless
otherwise specified herein, or unless good cause is
demonstrated by the Carrier:

i.  Annual Report:  one hundred twenty (120) days
after the end of the reported period; and

ii.  Special and additional reports: as may be
prescribed by the Commission unless good cause to the
contrary is demonstrated.

Rule 11.  Enforcement.
(a)  Commission Oversight.

The Commission shall have the authority and the discretion
to take such action, upon complaint, motion, or formal or
informal investigation, to remedy any alleged violations of
these Rules.  The Commission shall have available to it all
remedies and enforcement powers bestowed by statute and
consistent with due process.

(b)  Violation and Penalties.
Failure of a Carrier to comply with any provision of these
Rules may result in the suspension or revocation of its
CPCN, and/or of the imposition of monetary or other
penalties as authorized by 26 Del. C. §§ 217 and 218.

(c)  Proceedings. 
Upon application by any person affected, including the
Division of the Public Advocate or another Carrier, or upon
its own motion, the Commission may conduct a proceeding
to determine whether a Carrier has violated any provision of
these Rules.  Such proceedings shall be conducted according
to the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure.

(d)  Investigations. 
For the purpose of determining whether it is necessary or
advisable to commence a proceeding, the Commission or its
Staff may, at any time, investigate whether a Carrier is in
compliance with these Rules.  Upon request, the Carrier shall
provide to the Commission or its Staff sufficient information
to demonstrate its compliance or noncompliance with the
Rules, including such data as shall demonstrate that the
Carriers’ services are provided at rates that generate
sufficient revenue to cover the incremental cost of offering
that service.

(e)  Customer Complaints as Ground for Proceeding or
Investigation.
The Commission may hold a proceeding to determine
whether to suspend or revoke the certificate of, or otherwise
penalize any Carrier for reason of customer complaints.  The
Commission may investigate any customer complaints
received.

Rule  12.  Waiver of Rules Upon Petition.
A Carrier may petition the Commission for waiver of a Rule
or Rules on a temporary or permanent basis by
demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Commission that a
waiver is in the public interest or for other good cause,
including unreasonable hardship or burden.   The Carrier
shall comply with all Rules until the petition for waiver has
been granted.
 

Part B
Customer Election Of Preferred Carrier

Rule 13.  Additional Definitions.
For purposes of this PART B, in addition to the

Definitions set forth by PART A, the following definitions
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shall apply:
(a)  Submitting Carrier shall mean a Carrier that:  (i)

requests on the behalf of a customer that the customer’s
telecommunications Carrier be changed; and (ii) seeks to
provide retail services to an end user customer.  A Carrier
may be treated as a Submitting Carrier, however, if it is
responsible for any unreasonable delays in the submission of
Carrier change requests or for the submission of
unauthorized Carrier change requests, including fraudulent
authorizations.

(b)  Executing Carrier shall mean a Carrier that effects a
request that a customer’s telecommunications Carrier be
changed.  A Carrier may be treated as an executing Carrier,
however, if it is responsible for any unreasonable delays in
the execution of unauthorized Carrier changes, including
fraudulent authorizations.

(c)  Preferred Carrier shall mean the Carrier providing
service to the customer at the time of the adoption of these
Rules, or such Carrier as the customer thereafter designates
as the customer’s Preferred Carrier. 
Preferred Carrier Change Order shall mean generally any
order changing a customer’s designated Carrier for local
exchange service, intraLATA intrastate toll service or both.

Rule 14.  Applicability.
Any Carrier offering intrastate and/or local exchange

service for public use within the State of Delaware,
including the ILEC, Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc., shall be
subject to the provisions of these Part B Rules.

Rule 15.  Verification of Orders for Telecommunications
Service.

No Carrier shall submit a Preferred Carrier Change
Order unless and until the Order has been first confirmed in
accordance with one of the following procedures:

(a)  The Carrier has obtained the customer’s written
authorization in a form that meets the requirements of Rule
16; or 

(b)  The Carrier has obtained the customer’s electronic
authorization to submit the Preferred Carrier Change Order.
Such authorization must be placed from the telephone
number(s) on which the Preferred Carrier is to be changed
and must confirm the information required in Rule 16(e).
Carriers electing to confirm sales electronically shall
establish one or more toll-free telephone numbers
exclusively for that purpose.  Calls to the number(s) will
connect a customer to a voice response unit, or similar
mechanism that records the required information regarding
the Preferred Carrier change, including automatically
recording the originating automatic numbering
identification; or

(c)  An appropriately qualified independent third party
has obtained the customer’s oral authorization to submit the
Preferred Carrier Change Order that confirms and includes

appropriate verification data (e.g., the customer’s date of
birth or social security number).  The independent third party
must: (1) not be owned, managed, controlled, or directed by
the Carrier or the Carrier’s marketing agent; (2) must not
have any financial incentive to confirm Preferred Carrier
Change Orders for the Carrier or the Carrier’s marketing
agent; and (3) must operate in a location physically separate
from the Carrier or the Carrier’s marketing agent.  The
content of the verification must include clear and
conspicuous confirmation that the customer has authorized a
Preferred Carrier change.

Rule 16.  Letter of Agency Form and Content.
(a)  A Carrier may use a letter of agency to obtain

written authorization and/or verification of a customer’s
request to change his or her Preferred Carrier selection.  A
letter of agency that does not conform with this Rule is
invalid.

(b)  The letter of agency shall be a separate document
(or an easily separable document) containing only the
authorizing language described in paragraph (e) of this Rule
having the sole purpose of authorizing a Carrier to initiate a
Preferred Carrier change.  The letter of agency must be
signed and dated by the customer to the telephone line(s)
requesting the Preferred Carrier change.

(c)  The letter of agency shall not be combined on the
same document with inducements of any kind.

(d)  Notwithstanding paragraphs (b) and (c), a letter of
agency authorizing a preferred Carrier selection affecting the
customer’s intrastate service provider only, may be
combined with checks that contain only the required letter of
agency as prescribed above together with the necessary
information to make the check a negotiable instrument.
Such a letter of agency check shall not contain any
promotional language or material. Such a letter of agency
check shall contain in easily readable, boldface type on the
front of the check, a notice that the customer is authorizing a
Preferred Carrier change by signing the check.  The letter of
agency language shall be placed near the signature line on
the back of the check.

(e)  At a minimum, the letter of agency must be printed
with a type of sufficient size and readable type to be clearly
legible and must contain clear and unambiguous language
that confirms:

(i)  The customer’s billing name and address and
each telephone number to be covered by the Preferred
Carrier change order; 

(ii)  The decision to change the Preferred Carrier
from the current Carrier to the soliciting Carrier;

(iii)  That the customer designates the Submitting
Carrier to act as the customer’s agent for the Preferred
Carrier change;

(iv)  That the customer understands that only one
Carrier may be designated as the customer’s local exchange
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or intrastate Carrier for any one telephone number; and
(v)  That the customer understands that any

Preferred Carrier selection the customer chooses may
involve a charge to the customer for changing the customer’s
Preferred Carrier.

(f)  Any Carrier designated in a letter of agency as a
Preferred Carrier must be the Carrier directly setting the
rates for the customer.

(g)  Letters of agency shall not suggest or require that a
customer take some action in order to retain the customer’s
current telecommunications Carrier.

(h)  If any portion of a letter of agency is translated into
another language, then all portions of the letter of agency
must be translated into that language.  Every letter of agency
must be translated into the same language as any
promotional materials, oral descriptions, or instructions
provided with the letter of agency.

Rule 17.  Submission and Execution of Changes in
Customer Carrier Selections.

(a)  A Submitting Carrier shall maintain and preserve
records of verification of customer authorization for a
minimum period of two years after obtaining such
verification.

(b)  An Executing Carrier shall not verify the
submission of a change in customer’s selection of a provider
of telecommunications service received from a Submitting
Carrier.  An Executing Carrier shall promptly execute,
without an unreasonable delay, any changes that have been
verified and submitted by a Submitting Carrier.

(c)  Where a Carrier provides more than one type of
telecommunications service (e.g., local exchange,
intraLATA/intrastate toll, interLATA/interstate toll, and
international toll), that Carrier must obtain separate
authorization from the customer for each service sold,
although the authorizations may be made within the same
solicitation. Each authorization must be verified separately
from any other authorization obtained in the same
solicitation. Each authorization must be verified in
accordance with the verification procedures prescribed in
these Rules.

Rule 18.  Preferred Carrier Freezes.
(a)  A Preferred Carrier freeze prevents a change in a

customer’s Preferred Carrier selection unless the customer
has given the Carrier from which the freeze was requested
his or her express consent.  All Carriers who offer Preferred
Carrier freezes must comply with the provisions of this Rule.

(b)  All Local Exchange Carriers that offer Preferred
Carrier freezes shall offer freezes on a nondiscriminatory
basis to all customers, regardless of the customer’s Carrier
selections.

(c)  Preferred Carrier freeze procedures, including any
solicitation, must clearly distinguish among

telecommunications services (e.g., local exchange,
intraLATA/intrastate toll, interLATA/interstate toll, and
international toll) subject to a Preferred Carrier freeze.  The
Carrier offering the freeze must obtain separate authorization
for each service for which a Preferred Carrier freeze is
requested.

(d)  All Carrier-provided solicitation and other materials
regarding Preferred Carrier freezes must include:

(i)  An explanation, in clear and neutral language,
of what a Preferred Carrier freeze is and what services may
be subject to a freeze;

(ii)  A description of the specific procedures
necessary to lift a Preferred Carrier freeze; and explanation
that these steps are in addition to the Commission’s
verification rules for changing a customer’s Preferred
Carrier selections; and an explanation that the customer will
be unable to make a change in Carrier selection unless he or
she lifts the freeze; and 

(iii)  An explanation of any charges associated with
the Preferred Carrier freeze.

(e)  No Carrier shall implement a Preferred Carrier
freeze unless the customer’s request to impose a freeze has
first been confirmed in accordance with one of the following
procedures:

(i)  The Local Exchange Carrier has obtained the
customer’s written and signed authorization in a form that
meets the requirements of these Rules; or 

(ii)  The Local Exchange Carrier has obtained the
customer’s electronic authorization, placed from the
telephone number(s) on which the Preferred Carrier freeze is
to imposed, to impose a Preferred Carrier freeze.  The
electronic authorization should confirm appropriate
verification data (e.g. the customer’s date of birth or social
security number) and the information required in these
Rules. Carriers electing to confirm Preferred Carrier freeze
orders electronically shall establish one or more toll-free
telephone numbers exclusively for that purpose.  Calls to the
number(s) will connect a customer to a voice response unit,
or similar mechanism that records the required information
regarding the Preferred Carrier freeze request, including
automatically recording the originating automatic number
identification; or

(iii)  An appropriately qualified independent third
party has obtained the customer’s oral authorization to
submit the Preferred Carrier freeze and confirmed that
appropriate verification data (e.g. the customer’s date of
birth or social security number) and the information required
in these Rules.  The independent third party must: (A) not be
owned, managed, or directly controlled by the Carrier or the
Carrier’s marketing agent; (B) must not have any financial
incentive to confirm Preferred Carrier freeze requests for the
Carrier or the Carrier’s marketing agent; and (C) must
operate in a location physically separate from the Carrier or
the Carrier’s marketing agent.  The content of the
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verification must include clear and conspicuous
confirmation that the customer has authorized a Preferred
Carrier freeze.

(f)  A Carrier may accept a customer’s written and
signed authorization to impose a freeze on his or her
Preferred Carrier selection.  A written authorization that
does not conform to this Rule is invalid and may not be used
to impose a Preferred Carrier freeze.

(i)  The written authorization shall comply with
these Rules concerning the form and content for letters of
agency.

(ii)  At a minimum, the written authorization must
be printed with a readable type of sufficient size to be clearly
legible and must contain clear and unambiguous language
that confirms:

(A)  The customer’s billing name and address
and the telephone number(s) to be covered by the Preferred
Carrier freeze;

(B)  The decision to place a Preferred Carrier
freeze on the telephone number(s) and particular service(s).
The authorization must contain a separate statement for each
service to be frozen;

(C)  That the customer understands that she or
he will be unable to make a change in Carrier selection
unless she or he lifts the Preferred Carrier freeze; and 

(D)  That the customer understands that any
Preferred Carrier freeze may involve a charge to the
customer.

(g)  All Carriers who offer Preferred Carrier freezes
must, at a minimum, offer customers the following
procedures for lifting a Preferred Carrier freeze:

(i)  A Local Exchange Carrier administering a
Preferred Carrier freeze must accept a customer’s written
and signed authorization stating her or his intent to lift a
Preferred Carrier freeze; and

(ii)  A Local Exchange Carrier administering a
Preferred Carrier freeze must accept a customer’s oral
authorization stating her or his intent to lift a Preferred
Carrier freeze and must offer a mechanism that allows a
submitting Carrier to conduct a three-way conference with
the Carrier administering the freeze and the customer in
order to lift a freeze.  When engaged in oral authorization to
lift a Preferred Carrier freeze, the Carrier administering the
freeze shall confirm appropriate verification data (e.g., the
customer’s date of birth or social security number) and the
customer’s intent to lift the particular freeze.

Rule 19.  Customer Protection.
(a)  Procedures To Be Followed By The Customer.

A customer who believes his or her Carrier or Carriers have
been changed, without the customer’s authorization, and/or
that the customer has been billed for charges not authorized
by the customer, should first attempt to resolve the matter
with the Carrier or Carriers responsible for the unauthorized

changes and/or charges. If the customer is not satisfied with
the resolution offered by the Carrier, the customer may file a
complaint with the Commission.

(b)  Procedures To Be Followed By Carriers.
A Carrier who is informed by a customer that the customer
believes the Carrier has caused or allowed a change in the
customer’s Carrier without the customer’s authorization, or
that the Carrier has caused or allowed the customer to be
billed for charges not authorized by the customer shall
attempt to resolve the complaint promptly and in good faith.
If the customer and Carrier are not able to resolve the
complaint, then the Carrier shall inform the customer orally
or in writing of the right to file a complaint with the
Commission and shall provide the customer with the
Commission’s address and telephone number.

(c)  Carriers to Maintain Record of Complaints.
Each Carrier shall maintain a record of the complaints
received by it alleging that the Carrier has caused or allowed
a customer’s Carrier to be changed without the customer’s
authorization or has caused or allowed the customer to be
billed for charges not authorized by the customer.  The
Carrier shall maintain the record of each complaint for a
period of two years following initial notification of the
complaint.  Upon request by the Commission or its staff, a
Carrier shall furnish a copy of its complaint records and such
other information as the Commission Staff may require.  A
Carrier’s complaint records shall include at least the
following information:

(i)  name, address, and telephone number of
complainant and the date and manner received by the
Carrier; and

(ii)  a chronological summary of the dispute and its
current status, including any resolution and date of
resolution.

(d)  Refund and Penalties
In the event the Commission determines that a

Carrier has caused a customer’s Carrier for a service to be
changed without the customer’s authorization obtained in
exact compliance with these Rules, or has caused the
customer to be billed for charges imposed without exact
compliance with these Rules, then the Commission may
require the Carrier to promptly refund or void to the
customer any charges the Carrier has caused to be billed as a
result of the unauthorized change or charge, and/or any other
remedies available for violation of these Rules as allowed by
law.
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BOARD/COMMISSION        TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE          OFFICE

Board of Alcoholism, Drug Abuse and Ms. Wanda G. Bassano 07/19/03
Mental Health

Board of Dental Examiners Dr. Martin W. Scanlon 08/15/03
Dr. Thomas W. Mercer, D.M.D. 08/15/03

Board of Cosmetology & Barbering Mr. Kevin J. Castaldi 07/19/03

Board of Pension Trustees Mr. Robert W. Allen 07/03/04
Ms. Jan M. King 07/03/04

Cash Management Policy Board Mr. David F. Marvin 07/03/03
Mr. Harold L. Slatcher 07/03/03

Coastal Zone Industrial Control Board Mr. Pallather M. Subramanian 07/05/05

Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Mr. Kenneth W. Edwards, Chairman Pleasure of the
Commission Governor

Mr. Frank G. Sullivan 07/15/00
The Honorable William C. Torbert, Jr. 01/31/03

Delaware Arts Council Ms. Charlesa Lowell 06/30/03

Delaware Commission of Veterans Affairs Mr. Richard M. Magner 08/08/04

Delaware Economic And Financial Advisory Mr. Jeffrey W. Bullock Pleasure of the
Council Governor

Delaware Heritage Commission Dr. James R. Soles 03/30/03

Delaware Humanities Council Dr. Joseph E. Johnson, Jr. 08/08/03
Ms. Megan T. Mantzavinos 08/08/03

Delaware Natural Areas Advisory Council Mr. Peter S. Martin 07/05/04
Mr. Michael E. Riska 07/05/04

Delaware Nutrient Management Commission Mr. Richard W. Sterling 08/04/02

Diamond State Port Board of Directors Mr. Douglas B. Catts 05/13/01
Mr. Samuel E. Lathem 07/03/03
Mr. Leonard W. Quill 07/03/03

Downtown Dover Development Corporation Ms. Roberta G. Geir Pleasure of the
Governor

Justice of the Peace for New Castle County Ms. Linda M. Gray 07/21/04
Ms. Marilyn Letts 07/10/04

Kent County Board of Elections Ms. Mable K. Glanden 05/17/03

Merit Employee Relations Board Ms. Brenda Phillips, Chairperson 07/08/01

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE

Neighborhood Assistance Act Advisory The Reverend Chris A. Dolley Pleasure of the
Council Governor

Ms. Bernice Edwards Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Anne Farley Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Helen Groft Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Terri Hasson Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Raheemah Jabbar-Bey Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Lillian Jones Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Gonzalo Martinez Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Joseph L. Mastin Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Emily G. Morris Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Roger Pryor Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Bryan Reardon Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. William Satterfield Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Edmund R.White, Sr. Pleasure of the
Governor

Professional Standards Board Mr. Charles T. Michels, Chairperson 06/29/04

Public Assessment and Accountability Mr. Bert Freeman Pleasure of the
Advisory Committee Governor

Public Employment Relations Board Mr. R. Robert Currie, Jr. 03/29/01
Ms. Elizabeth D. Maron, Esq. 06/29/01

Purchase of Products and Services for Ms. Julie Fedele 08/08/04
the Blind and Other Severely 
Handicapped Individuals

Sewell C. Biggs Collection Dr. John Ritchie Garrison, Ph.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Superior Court of New Castle County The Honorable Susan C. Del Pesco, 06/30/12
  Associate Judge

Supreme Court of the State of Delaware The Honorable Myron T. Steele 07/28/12
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BOARD/COMMISSION        TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE          OFFICE

Tax Appeals Board Ms. Regina C. Dudziec 07/03/03
Ms. Joanne M. Winters 07/05/03

Violent Crimes Compensation Board Mr. Thomas Castaldi 07/05/03

Water Supply Coordinating Council Mr. Robert Appleby Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Bruce Burcat Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Carole Collier Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Pleasure of the
  Chairperson Governor
Mr. Joseph Dombrowski Pleasure of the

Governor
Mr. Dan Dunkle Pleasure of the

Governor
Ms. Lorraine Fleming Pleasure of the

Governor
Mr. Thomas Gordon Pleasure of the

Governor
Mr. Mark J. Headd Pleasure of the

Governor
Mr. Charles Jenner Pleasure of the

Governor
Mr. Anthony Langley Pleasure of the

Governor
Ms. Naomi McCafferty Pleasure of the

Governor
Mr. Spiros Mantzavinos Pleasure of the

Governor
Mr. John P. Mulhern, Jr. Pleasure of the

Governor
Mr. Kash Srinivasan Pleasure of the

Governor
Mr. Paul S. Stead Pleasure of the

Governor
Ms. Patricia A. Stowell Pleasure of the

Governor
The Honorable Pleasure of the
John F. Tarburton Governor
Ms. Dian Taylor Pleasure of the

Governor
Dr. Ulder J. Tillman Pleasure of the

Governor

Workforce Investment Board Ms. Patricia M. DiEmido Pleasure of the
Governor   
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DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF 
NATURAL RESOURCES & 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

1. Title Of The Regulations:
Delaware Plan for Meeting the Nitrogen Oxide  (NOx)

Budget Requirements Contained in the EPA NOx SIP Call
(non-regulatory plan)

2.  Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
States, including Delaware, that are part of the

Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton  non-attainment area for
the 1-hour ozone national ambient air quality standard
(NAAQS) were unable to make their required attainment
demonstrations without relying on a reduction in NOx
emissions transported into the area from areas upwind of the
non-attainment area.  Likewise, non-attainment areas
downwind of the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton area
were unable to demonstrate attainment without reductions in
transported NOx emissions from states in the Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Trenton non-attainment area, such as Delaware.
Because of this pollution transport problem, from 1995 to
1997 EPA and the states sponsored an ozone transport study
involving most of the eastern United States.  The study
group was called the Ozone Transport Assessment Group
(OTAG).  As a result of the study, in 1997 EPA issued a
NOx SIP Call requiring revisions of the State
Implementation Plans (SIPs) of 22 eastern states plus the
District of Columbia.  Delaware is one of the states that must
comply by reducing and holding NOx emissions to the level
specified for Delaware in the NOx SIP Call.

3.  Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
None

4.  Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
• 7 Del. C, Chapter 60, Section 6010

• Section 110 of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990

• NOx SIP Call final rule (63 FR 57356)

5.  Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The
Proposal:  

The Delaware NOx SIP Call Plan is non-regulatory, and
is dependent upon Delaware Air Quality Regulation No.39,
the Nitrogen Oxides Budget Trading Program, for
implementation of the necessary emission reductions.

6.  Notice Of Public Comment:
Public Hearing scheduled for September 26, 6:00 PM in

the DNREC Auditorium of the Richardson & Robbins

Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware

7.  Prepared By:
Alfred R. Deramo, Project Leader (302)739-4791July

19, 2000

Final Draft

Delaware Plan for Meeting the Nitrogen Oxide (NOx) 
Budget Requirements Contained in the

EPA NOx Sip Call

Prepared For:
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

August, 2000

Executive Summary

This document constitutes a revision to the Delaware
State Implementation Plan (SIP) for attainment of the
National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for
ground-level ozone.  It sets forth Delaware’s plan for
meeting its obligations under Section 110(a)(2)(D) of the
Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) to reduce
emissions transported to downwind ozone non-attainment
areas.  Under the authority of Section 110, the United States
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) promulgated a rule
entitled “Finding of Significant Contribution and
Rulemaking for Certain States in the Ozone Transport
Assessment Group Region for Purposes of Reducing
Regional Transport of Ozone” (63 FR 57397).  This rule,
along with its technical amendments, is commonly referred
to as the “NOx SIP Call”.  Delaware is one of the states that
must comply with the NOx SIP Call.  The NOx SIP Call sets
a statewide NOx emissions budget for Delaware of 22,861
tons over the five-month summer control period from May 1
through September 30.  That budget must be met for the year
2007 and beyond.  Delaware will meet this budget through
the promulgation and implementation of  “Regulation No. 39
– Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) Budget Trading Program” of the
Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution. 

Regulation No. 39 assigns NOx budget allocations to
electric generating units (EGU’s) with nameplate capacities
of 15 megawatts electrical (Mwe) or greater, non-electric
generating units (non-EGU’s) with maximum design heat
input capacities of 250 million British Thermal Units per
hour (MMBTU/hr) or greater, and any units that voluntarily
opt in to the program.  Any unit subject to Regulation No. 39
must comply by the later of May 1, 2003 or the date the unit
commences operation.  All units in the program can
participate in an inter-state trading program that allows for
the selling, purchasing, or banking of excess emission
reductions in order to facilitate compliance with the overall

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/
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NOx budget.

Responsible Personnel

This document was produced in the Planning &
Community Protection (PCP) Branch of the Air Quality
Management (AQM) Section of the Division of Air & Waste
Management (DAWM) of the Delaware Department of
Natural Resources & Environmental Control (DNREC).
Department officials and responsible personnel are:

Nicholas A. Di Pasquale, DNREC Secretary
Denise Ferguson-Southard, DAWM Director
Darryl D. Tyler, AQM Program Administrator
Raymond H. Malenfant, PCP Branch Manager
Alfred R. Deramo, Planner and Principal Author

Department officials responsible for Regulation No. 39 are:

Robert J. Taggart, Branch Manager – Engineering &
Compliance

Ronald A. Amirikian, Group Manager – Regulation
Development

1.0  Introduction
1.1  Background

Ground-level ozone is a pollutant formed when
nitrogen oxides (NOx) and volatile organic compounds
(VOC) react in heat and sunlight.  Ozone is a toxic chemical
that causes respiratory illness, eye irritation and plant
damage.

States, including Delaware, that are part of the
Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton non-attainment area for
the 1-hour ground-level ozone National Ambient Air Quality
Standard (NAAQS) have been unable to make their required
attainment demonstrations without relying on a reduction in
pollution transported into the area from areas upwind of the
non-attainment area.  Likewise, ozone non-attainment areas
downwind of the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton non-
attainment area have been unable to demonstrate attainment
without reductions in transported NOx emissions from states
such as Delaware in the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton
non-attainment area.

Because of this pollution transport problem, a
group called the Ozone Transport Assessment Group
(OTAG) was formed as a partnership between the United
States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the
Environmental Council of States (ECOS) and various
industry and environmental groups.  ECOS is a national
organization of environmental commissioners with members
from fifty states and territories.  OTAG membership
included representatives of 37 eastern states plus the District
of Columbia.  The goal of this partnership was to perform a
detailed scientific study of the ozone transport problem and
propose efficient and cost-effective solutions.  OTAG’s

study focused on the eastern United States, where the ozone
transport phenomenon is especially significant.  OTAG was
formed in 1995 and concluded its work in early 1997.  

The OTAG study found that the main driver of the
ozone transport problem is the transport of NOx emissions.
As a result of the OTAG findings, on September 24, 1998,
EPA finalized a rule entitled, “Finding of Significant
Contribution and Rulemaking for Certain States in the
Ozone Transport Assessment Group Region for Purposes of
Reducing Regional Transport of Ozone” (63 FR 57396).
This rule, along with its later technical amendments, has
come to be known as the “NOx SIP Call”.  Originally the
NOx SIP Call required 23 jurisdictions (i.e., 22 OTAG states
plus the District of Columbia) to submit State
Implementation Plan (SIP) revisions that address the
regional transport of ground-level ozone.   The original 23
jurisdictions were Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, District
of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky,
Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North
Carolina, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania,
Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia,
Wisconsin, and West Virginia. However, a March 3, 2000
ruling by the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals had the effect of
eliminating Wisconsin, Georgia and Missouri from the
original group, leaving the final SIP Call limited to the
remaining 20 jurisdictions. The purpose of the NOx SIP Call
is to require the 20 jurisdictions to reduce NOx emissions,
thereby reducing NOx transport into downwind non-
attainment areas.  

1.2  The Problem
Nitrogen oxides are a class of compounds made of

nitrogen and oxygen in varying percentages. Nitrogen
dioxide (NO2) is the most common and prevalent component
of nitrogen oxide emissions.  NOx is emitted from high
temperature combustion processes.  Sources include motor
vehicles, fossil fuel electric generators, and other industrial,
commercial and residential sources that burn fuels.  In 1997,
over 23 million tons of nitrogen oxides were emitted into the
air in the United States.  An important characteristic of NOx
emissions is that they can be transported long distances and
cause problems far from the original emissions sources.
Some of the possible problems of NOx transport include acid
rain, greenhouse effect, regional haze, formation of toxic
chemicals, and eutrophication of waterways due to nitrogen
deposition.  In particular, transported NOx emissions
interfere with the ability of downwind states to attain or
maintain the ozone NAAQS.  The Plan herein addresses this
immediate non-attainment problem.

1.3  The Solution
The NOx SIP Call does not mandate NOx

reductions from specific sources in specific jurisdictions.
Rather, it sets an overall NOx emission limit, known as a
NOx budget, for each jurisdiction, and allows each
jurisdiction to determine its preferred way of reducing
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emissions to the level of its budget.  The jurisdiction can
choose to reduce emissions from one or any combination of
the four NOx emission source sectors, i.e., point sources,
stationary area sources, on-road mobile sources, and off-road
mobile sources.  The budget is a five-month budget that must
be met for the period from May 1 through September 30 of
each year, beginning with 2007. 

As part of developing a cost-effective strategy, EPA
developed a model, market-based emissions trading program
(40 CFR 96) that states may use to provide more flexibility
in controlling NOx emissions.  The program allows
controlled sources that exceed their emissions reduction
requirements, or that achieve the required reductions ahead
of schedule, to bank ‘credits’, or sell them to other sources
that cannot meet their limits.  Conversely, sources that have
difficulty meeting their emission reduction requirements can
purchase NOx credits to ensure compliance.  EPA allows
this trading program to be used as part of a jurisdiction’s
plan to comply with the NOx SIP Call budget.

EPA anticipates that the full implementation of the
NOx SIP Call will reduce total NOx emissions by an average
of 28 percent over the control region, will remove
approximately 1.2 million tons of NOx from the air, and will
enable impacted non-attainment areas to attain the 1 hour
ozone NAAQS.

2.0  the NOx Budget Plan
2.1  Synopsis

EPA, through the its final “Technical Amendment
to the Finding of Significant Contribution and Rulemaking
for Certain States for Purposes of Reducing Regional
Transport of Ozone” (effective April 3, 2000), assigned
Delaware a statewide NOx emissions budget of 22,861 tons/
season.  Delaware plans to meet this budget by: 1.) holding
to EPA’s 2007 base NOx emission inventory projections for
the source sectors of stationary area sources, on-road mobile
sources and off-road mobile sources, and 2.) reducing point
source electric generating unit (EGU) and non-electric
generating unit (non-EGU) emissions from EPA’s 2007 base
NOx emissions projections through the promulgation and
implementation of the proposed “Regulation No. 39 –
Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) Budget Trading Program” of the
Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution.

2.2 Derivation of Budget
In order to derive a statewide total 2007 NOx

budget, EPA first applied growth factors to the baseline
emission inventories for each source sector (i.e., EGU, non-
EGU, stationary area, on-road mobile and off-road mobile),
thereby forecasting the emissions to 2007.  These projected
inventories are called 2007 base inventories.  The 2007 base
inventories reflect existing controls, and controls required to
be implemented by 2007.  For the stationary area, on-road
mobile and off-road mobile source sectors, the 2007 base

inventories become the 2007 sector budgets.  This is because
EPA applied no additional controls to those sectors in
deriving the total 2007 budget.  

The situation for point sources is different.  Point
sources are divided into two sectors, i.e., EGUs and non-
EGUs.  For the EGU and non-EGU sectors, the 2007 budgets
are derived from the 2007 base inventories by applying
additional controls to those sectors.  This was done by
assuming an EGU control level of 0.15 pounds of NOx per
million BTU (lb/mmBTU) on units rated at 25 megawatts
(Mw) or more, and a non-EGU control level of 60% for
boilers and turbines with maximum rated heat inputs of 250
mmBTU/hr or more.

After the budgets for all of the source sectors were
derived, they were summed to derive the total statewide
2007 NOx emissions budget.  This total budget is the budget
to which the state must adhere. 

The procedures for deriving the base and budget
numbers are described in the EPA document, Development
of Emission Budget Inventories For Regional Transport
NOx SIP Call Technical Amendment Version (A-96-56:X-
B-11), December, 1999.  EPA revised the baseline and
budget numbers several times, and released the final
numbers in the April 3, 2000 rule entitled, “Technical
Amendment to the Finding of Significant Contribution and
Rulemaking for certain States for Purposes of Reducing
Regional Transport of Ozone.”  Delaware reviewed the
procedures and baseline inventory numbers for each source
sector, and agrees with EPA’s final baseline and budget
numbers.  The final baseline and budget numbers are given
in Table 1.

Table 1
Final Base Inventory and Budget Numbers

2.3  Delaware’s Strategy
The NOx SIP Call requires that the 20 jurisdictions

each hold to their respective total budgets, but it allows
jurisdictions the flexibility to meet that budget through any
choice of NOx controls affecting any source sectors.  In

SOURCE
SECTORS 2007

BASE
(tons/
season)

2007
BUDGET
(tons/
season)

REDUCTION
(tons/season)

REDUCT
ION
(%)

EGUs 5,838 5,250 588 10

Non-EGUs 2,821 2,473 348 12

Stationary Area 1,129 1,129 0 0

On-Road
Mobile

8,358 8,358 0 0

Off-Road
Mobile

5,651 5,651 0 0

Total 23,797 22,861 936 4
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other words, the state does not have to adhere to the budgets
for the individual source sectors, as long as the total budget
is met.  Delaware’s strategy for meeting the total statewide
2007 budget of 22,861 is twofold.

First, the State anticipates full implementation of
the control measures that were included by EPA in
developing the 2007 base inventories for each source sector.
As previously discussed, the base inventories are equal to the
budgets for the stationary area, on-road mobile and off-road
mobile source sectors.  Delaware will therefore comply with
the budgets for these three sectors by holding to their base
inventories.

Second, the State will promulgate and implement
“Regulation No.39 – Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) Budget Trading
Program” in order to achieve the reductions in the EGU and
non-EGU sectors as reflected in the EPA-derived budgets for
those sectors.  Regulation No. 39 will result in a reduction in
the EGU and non-EGU sector base inventories that is equal
to or greater than that used by EPA to calculate the budgets
for those sectors. Therefore, Regulation No. 39 guarantees
that the EGU and non-EGU sectors will stay at or below
their sector budgets of 5,250 tons and 2,473 tons of NOx per
5-month season, respectively.  Regulation No. 39 holds each
EGU with a nameplate capacity of 25 Mwe or greater to an
allocation that is determined by multiplying each unit’s heat
base heat capacity by a NOx emissions rate factor of 0.15 lb/
MMBTU.  Each non-EGU with a maximum design heat
input capacity of 250 MMBTU/hr or greater is held to an
allocation that is determined by multiplying each unit’s base
heat input by a NOx emissions rate factor of 0.17 lb/
MMBTU, as recommended in EPA’s model rule (40 CFR,
Part 96).  In addition, Regulation No. 39 goes beyond the
NOx SIP Call by requiring that every EGU and process
heater with a design capacity between 15 and 25 Mwe be
held to an allocation.  That allocation is determined by
multiplying each unit’s base heat input by the unit’s actual
average 1996 ozone season NOx emission rate.  Therefore,
as a group, sources between 15 and 25 Mwe are not allowed
to grow beyond their 1996 levels.  All allocations can be
found in Table 1 of Appendix A of Regulation No. 39.  All
units subject to Regulation No. 39 must comply by May 1,
2003 or the date the unit commences operation, whichever is
later. 

The controls considered by EPA in development of
the base inventories are listed in Table 2 for each source
sector.

Table 2
2007 Base Inventory Controls

All of the base inventories and budgets are listed in
Table 1.  For purposes of the NOx SIP Call, Delaware
accepts EPA’s 2007 base inventories and budgets for all

SOURCE
SECTOR

CONTROL MEASURE IMPLEMENTATION
MECHANISM

EGUs Title IV Controls State Reg. No. 36 (adopts 40
CFR, Parts72 through 78 by
reference)

Prevention of Significant
Deterioration

State Reg. No. 25

New Source Performance
Standards

State Reg. No. 20

OTC MOU Phase II State Reg. No. 37

NOx RACT State Reg. No. 12

New Source Review (LAER) State Reg. No. 25

Non-EGUs Prevention  of Significant
 Deterioration

State Reg. No. 25

OTC MOU Phase II State Reg. No. 37

New Source Performance
Standards

State Reg. No. 20

New Source Review (LAER) State Reg. No. 25

NOx RACT State Reg. No. 12

Stationary
Area

N/A N/A

On-Road
 Mobile National Low Emission

Vehicle Stds.
State Reg. No. 40/Federal
rule

Reformulated Gasoline (RFG
II)

Federal Rule

Low Enhanced Inspection  &
Maint.

State Reg. No. 31

Clean Fuel Fleets State Reg. No. 40 (substitute
rule)

Heavy Duty Vehicle
Standards

Federal Rule

Off-Road 
Mobile Phase II Small Engine

Standards
Federal Rule

Marine Engine Standards Federal Rule

Non-road Heavy Duty (50 hp
or more)
Engine Standards – Phase I

Federal Rule

Non-road Diesel Engine
Standards – Phases 2 and 3

Federal Rule

Reformulated Gasoline (RFG
II)

Federal Rule

On-board Vapor Recovery Federal Rule

Locomotive Standards Federal Rule
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source sectors, and will implement the NOx SIP call as
described above. By meeting the budgets for each source
sector, Delaware will meet the statewide total statewide
2007 N0x budget of 22,861 tons/season.

2.4  Reporting Requirements
In order to track compliance with the NOx SIP call,

each jurisdiction must perform the following three types of
emission inventory reporting:

(1)  Annual Reporting.  The state must report to
EPA emissions data from the NOx sources within the state
for which the state has adopted control measures specifically
for the purpose of meeting the 2007 NOx budget. This
includes any measures that differ from the measures
included by EPA in the derivation of the 2007 base
inventories. For Delaware, these sources will be all EGU and
non-EGU sources covered by Regulation No. 39.  The
annual reporting requirements for these sources can be
satisfied by meeting the monitoring and reporting
requirements of subpart H of 40 CFR part 75.  Regulation
No. 39 requires that these monitoring and reporting
requirements be met.  Annual reporting is to begin with the
data for emissions occurring in the year 2003, and must
cover emissions for the 5-month compliance season.

(2)  Triennial Reporting.  For the year 2002 and
every third year thereafter, the state must develop and submit
an emission inventory covering NOx emissions from all
sources within the state.  Emissions must cover the 5-month
compliance season.

(3)  Year 2007 Reporting.  In order to determine
compliance with the 2007 budget, a separate 2007 NOx
emission inventory must be developed and submitted.  This
inventory must cover emissions from the 5-month
compliance season for all NOx sources.  The 2007 inventory
is a separate requirement because the year 2007 does not fall
on the triennial reporting schedule.

States must submit data for a required year no later
than 12 months after the end of the calendar year for which
the data are collected.  States are required to report emissions
data in an electronic format.
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 205(1), the Delaware
Board of Landscape Architecture proposes to revise its rules
and regulations.  Substantive changes to the regulations
include clarification of the passing examination score;
addition of rules regarding use of the seal on drawings and
other documents; clarification of license renewal and
inactive status procedural requirements; deletion of
provisions regarding death or retirement; provisions for pre-
approval of certain self-directed continuing education
activities; and addition of procedural rules pertaining to
disciplinary matters and hearings before the Board.  In
addition, material which unnecessarily duplicates the
statutes or other rules and regulations has been stricken.  The
existing rules and regulations have been re-ordered and re-
numbered.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Thursday, November 9, 2000 at 9:30 a.m., in
the Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware,
19904.  The Board will receive and consider input in writing
from any person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.
Any written comments should be submitted to the Board in
care of Gayle Melvin at the above address.  The final date to
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the
public hearing should notify Gayle Melvin at the above
address or by calling (302) 739-4522, extension 218.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Notice of Public Hearing

The Delaware Real Estate Commission, in accordance
with 24 Delaware Code §2905(a)(1) and 29 Delaware Code
§10115 of the Administrative Procedures Act, hereby gives
notice that it shall hold a public hearing on October 12, 2000
at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor Conference Room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware.  

The Commission shall receive input in writing or by

oral testimony from interested persons regarding the
following revision of the Rules and Regulations: Rule 3.2.1.
(Experience).  After the first sentence add:  If the licensee
fails to renew his or her license by the expiration date but
then makes an application for reinstatement within sixty (60)
days of the expiration of the license and the Commission
otherwise approves the application for reinstatement, the
five-years' continuity will not be broken. 

The final date for interested persons to submit views in
writing or orally shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to make oral or written comments
or who would like a copy of the proposed change may
contact the Commission office at 302-739-4522, extension
219, or write to the Delaware Real Estate Commission, 861
Silver Lake Boulevard Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904-2467.  

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

The Commission will receive written public comment
from September 1, 2000 through September 30, 2000.
Written comments should be sent to John Wayne,
Administrator of Racing, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover,
DE 19901. The Commission will conduct a public hearing
on the proposed rules on September 27, 2000 at 9:30 a.m. at
Delaware Park, 777 Delaware Park Blvd., Stanton DE.
Copies of the proposed rules can be obtained from the
Commission office at the above address. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its
monthly meeting on Tuesday, September 12, 2000
at 1 p.m. in the Townsend Building, Dover,
Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES

Notice of Public Hearing

The Office of Emergency Medical Services, Division of
Public Health of Delaware of Health and Social Services,
will hold a public hearing to discuss proposed Delaware

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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Early Defibrillation Program Regulations. These proposed
regulations describe the certification of providers and
provider agencies to obtain and operate an automatic
external defibrillator (AED). The Early Defibrillation
Program Regulations apply to any individual, public or
private agency that seeks to acquire an AED.

This public hearing will be held September 25, 2000 at
9:00 AM in Room 309, Jesse S. Cooper Building, Federal
and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulation are available for
review by calling :

Office of Emergency Medical Services
Blue Hen Corporate Center, Suite 4-H
655 Bay Road, Dover, Delaware 19901
Telephone: (302) 739-4710

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact Ms. Sonya Voshell at (302) 739-
4710 by September 22, 2000. Anyone wishing to submit
written comments as a supplement to, on in lieu of oral
testimony should submit such comments by September 30,
2000 to:

David Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, DE 19901

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Public Notice
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its Medicaid Manual to increase the
income limit from 185% to 200% of the Federal Poverty
Limit for pregnant women and infants.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 September 30, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
OFFICE OF LABOR LAW ENFORCEMENT

Notice of Public Hearings

Interested parties are invited to present their views at the
public hearings which are scheduled as follows:

9:00 a.m., Thursday, September 21, 2000
Delaware Department of Labor 
4425 North Market Street
Wilmington, Delaware  19802
First Floor, Room 049

1:30 p.m., Thursday, September 21, 2000
Delaware Department of Labor, Milford Office 
13 S.W. Front Street, Suite 101
Milford, Delaware  19963
Hearing Room

Interested parties can obtain copies of the proposed
amendment at no charge by contacting the Office of Labor
Law Enforcement at the above address, or by telephone at
(302) 761-8209. 

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Title of the Regulations:  
Regulation No. 39, NOX Budget Trading Program.

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Department is proposing to establish Delaware’s

participation in the NOX Budget Trading Program.  The

NOX Budget Trading Program is a multi-state NOX emission
cap and trade program, established pursuant to Title 40, Part
96 of the Code of Federal Regulations.  The goals of this
regulation are to 1) improve air quality, 2) encourage NOX

reductions in Delaware, 3) help to satisfy rate of progress
requirements under Section 182(c) of the federal Clean Air
Act, and 4) help to satisfy Delaware’s obligations under
Section 110(a)(2)(D) of the CAA to not contribute to other
state’s non-attainment.  This regulation establishes a follow-
on program to the program that was established by
Regulation No. 37, NOX Budget Program, which ends with

the end of the 2002 NOX control period.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/
http://www.delawareworks.com/
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Possible Terms of the Agency Action:  
None.

Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:  
7 Del. C., Chapter 60.  

Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the
Proposal:  

Regulation No. 37, NOX Budget Program, of the State
of Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution.”

Notice of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on proposed Regulation

No. 39 on September 26, 2000 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the
DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE.
Comments on this proposal may either be made at the
hearing, or submitted to the Department in writing not later
than the close of business, September 30, 2000.

Prepared by:  
Ronald A. Amirikian/(302)323-4542/August 7, 2000

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN
COMMISSION

P.O. Box 7360 West Trenton

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on
Thursday, September 28, 2000, in Wilmington, Delaware.
For more information contact Pamela M. Bush at (609) 883-
9500 extention 203.
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