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The Delawa re Register of Regula tions is an of-
ficial State publ ication estab lished by authori ty of
69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is pub lished on the fi rst of
each month throughout the ye ar.

The Delawa re Register will publish any regula-
tions that are proposed to be adopted, amended or
repealed and any emergency  regula tions promu l-
gat ed.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the fo l lowing info rmat ion:

Governor’s Ex ecutive Orders

Governor’s  A ppointments

Attorney General’s Opinions in full tex t

Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices

Other documents considered to be in the
public interest.
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The Delawa re Register of Re gula tions is cited
by volume,  issue,  page number and dat e.  An
example w ould be:

1:1 Del. R. Del. R. Del. R. Del. R. Del. R. 35 - 37 (July 1, 1997) refers to
Volume 1, Issue 1, p ages 35 - 37 of the Delawa re
Register issued on Ju ly  1, 1997.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested
parties may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full
text of such proposals, together with copies of
the existing regulation being adopted, amended
or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in
the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of
this title.  The notice shall describe the nature of
the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority
of the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing,
of the place to which and the final date by which
such views may be submitted; or if at a public
hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.
If a public hearing is to be held, such public
hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days
following publication of notice of the proposal
in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing
will be held on the proposal, notice of the time,
date, place and a summary of the nature of the
proposal shall also be published in at least 2
Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have
made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of i ts regulation-making
proceedings.

A yearly subscription for the Delaware
Register of Regulations costs $80.00 per year
from July - June, for 12 issues.  Single copies
are available at a cost of $7.00 per issue,
including postage.  For more information
contact the Division of Research at 302-739-
4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

The opportunity for public comment shall
be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of Regulations.
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At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt
within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and
information submitted, together with summaries of
the evidence and information by subordinates, the
agency shall determine whether a regulation should
be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its
conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A
brief summary of the evidence and information
submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of
fact with respect to the evidence and information,
except where a rule of procedure is being adopted
or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation or to take no action and the
decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact
text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the
order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions
required by the law under which the agency has
authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a
quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than
10 days from the date the order adopting, amending
or repealing a regulation has been published in its
final form in the Register of Regulations, unless
such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an
emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action
in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be subject
to review until final agency action on the proposal
has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,
no judicial review of a regulation is available unless
a complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30
days of the day the agency order with respect to the
regulation was published in the Register of
Regulations.

INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING
   TIME

OCTOBER 1 SEPTEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

NOVEMBER 1 OCTOBER 15 4:30 P.M.

DECEMBER 1 NOVEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

JANUARY 1 DECEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

FEBUARY 1 JANUARY 15 4:30 P.M.
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               PREHOSPITAL TRAUMA TRIAGE SCHEME, ALS & BLS
  M.O.V.E. - Mechanism, Obvious Injury, Vital Signs, Extenuating Circumstances

·  Patient ejection from vehicle
·  Death in same vehicle compartment
·   Estimated extrication time >20 min.

         (heavy equipment)
· Falls from > 2 1/2 times the patient�s height

                  Appropriate for Air Medical Transport

Pelvic fractures        ·   Flail chest or other major chest injury
· Limb paralysis         ·   Amputation above wrist or ankle
· Penetrating injury to head, neck, torso, axilla, groin, or

       proximal extremities
· Major external hemmorhage
· Major burns*, trauma with burns, or inhalation injury
· More than 1 proximal long bone fracture (humerus or femur)
· AVPU Scale:  does not respond to voice

                                Appropriate for Air Medical Transport

·  Adult Glasgow Coma Score..........<13
·  Adult Respiratoratory Rate...........<10 or >30
·  Adult Systolic B/P.....................<90
·   Adult Heart Rate.......................<50 or >120

· Moderate risk mechanism of injury
-  High speed auto crash: speed >25 mph, auto deformity >20�, or inner intrusion >12�
-  Rollover with vehicle impact
-  Auto-pedestrian/auto-bicycle injury with significant impact
-  Motorcycle crash >20 mph or with separation of rider from bike

· Pre-existing conditions
-  Age <15 or >65
-  Pregnancy
-  Cardiac disease, respiratory disease
-  Other significant medical conditions- discuss with MC

· Required by patient condition in the judgement of the prehospital provider

IF IN DOUBT CONSULT MEDICAL CONTROL & CONSIDER TRANSPORT TO TRAUMA CENTER

MECHANISM

STEPS 1, 2, 3:
If any of these

conditions are present,
transport to

Trauma Center

NOTE:
Paitients with
unmanageable
airways:
transport to
the nearest
hospital.OBVIOUS INJURY

Appropriate
for

Air Medical
Transport

EXTENUATING CIRCUMSTANCES

VITAL SIGNS

NOTE:
If transport time
between
Trauma Centers
is relatively
equal transport
patient to the
higher level
Center

NOTE:
Patients with
Glasgow Coma
Score < 8 or
exhibiting new
onset paralysis
or paresis:
direct trans-
port to a
Trauma
Center with
neurosurgical
capabilitites.

STEP 4

If NO for all elements in Step 1, proceed to Step 2

STEP 3

STEP 2

STEP 1

If NO for all elements in Step 1 & 2 proceed to STEP 3

If NO for all elements in Step 1, 2, & 3 proceed to STEP 4

If YES to STEP 4:  Contact Medical Control &
consider transport to closest Trauma Center

If NO for all elements in STEPS 1, 2, 3 & 4:
Routine Transport

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES , Division of Public Health
Statutory Authority:  Title 16, Section 122(3)(c) of the Delaware Code.
The following chart should be inserted at 1:2 Del.R. 129 at the end of the section “AIR TRANSPORT GUIDELINES ”

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the emergency regulation being promulgated.  Italic type
indicates new text.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119, if an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or
welfare requires the adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C.
§10115, then the following rules shall apply:  (1)  The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing
or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that it finds practicable;  (2)  The order adopting, amending or repealing
a regulation shall state in writing the reasons for the agency’s determination that such emergency action is necessary;
(3)  the order effecting such action may be effective for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed
once for a period not exceeding 60 days;  (4)  When such an order is issued without any of the public procedures
otherwise required or authorized by Chapter 101 of Title 29, the agency shall state as part of the order that it will
receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or revision thereof; and
(5)  The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next issue of the
Register of Regulations.

BEFORE DELAWARE HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF REGULATION |
OF THE MEDICAID/MEDICAL |
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM |
CONTAINED IN DMAP |
SECTION 420 |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services has determined
that a detriment to the public welfare exists if revision of the
regulation contained in DMAP SECTION 420 is not imple-
mented without prior notice or hearing.  Failure to implement
will result in a delay in an increase in the amount of funds
that can be protected monthly in a personal needs account for
individuals residing in nursing facilities.  An  increase of six
dollars (from $36 to $42) was approved and funded by the
Delaware Legislature effective July 1, 1997.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISION:

The revised rule increases the amount to be protected
for the personal needs of a Medicaid client in a long-term

care facility from $36 to $42.  The wording of the policy is as
follows:

DMAP 420
1. Personal needs

a) $36.00 $42.00 per month of available income
is to be protected for the recipients direct personal needs, as
defined by Form MAP-64*

FINDING OF FACT:

The Department finds that this change should be made
in the best interest of the general public of the State of Dela-
ware. The Department will receive, consider, and respond to
petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or
revision thereof.

* Denotes modified regulation

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the pro-
posed revision to the regulation be adopted on an emer-
gency basis, without prior notice or hearing, and became
effective July 1, 1997.

8/1/97 Carmen R. Nazario
Date CARMEN R. NAZARIO

SECRETARY

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
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BEFORE DELAWARE HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF |
REGULATION |
CONTAINED IN |
 DSSM 8301.3 |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services has determined
that a threat to the public welfare exists if revision of
regulations contained in DSSM Section 8000 is not
implemented without prior notice or hearing.  Failure to
do so would tend to promote noncompliance with the
requirements of the A Better Chance program.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

8205.2 EXCEPTIONS

The family cap restrictions will not apply in the
following cases:

• to an additional child conceived or fathered as a
result of incest or sexual assault; or

• to  a child who does not reside with his or her
parent; or

• to a child that was conceived or fathered in a
month the assistance unit (i.e., the entire family)
was not receiving ABC.  *This does not apply in
a case that is closed due to sanctioning.*

8301.1.4 FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THE
CONTRACT AND THE IMPOSITION OF SANCTIONS

Failures to comply with *self-sufficiency requirements are
not treated as separate activity violations, but as one
component.  Accordingly, a person who quits employment
without good cause and is sanctioned 1/3, receives a 2/3
sanction for the second violation whether it is for a job

8301.3 BENEFIT REDUCTION FOR MULTIPLE
SANCTION TYPES

The sanctions for failure to meet Contract requirements
allow for the possibility of  multiple penalties to be
imposed at the same time.  The hierarchy is as follows:

1. *If in place, the one-third penalty for failing to
meet work and training requirements and the one-third
penalty for not cooperating with school or agency officials
to meet attendance requirements for dependent children
under the age of 16 is first imposed by DCIS.

2. If in place, the $68 sanction for 16 and over teens
who fail to meet school attendance requirements and an
additional $68 for their parents who do not cooperate to
remedy the situation is imposed next.

3. If in place, the $50 sanction for failure to meet
enhanced family functioning requirements is the last to
be imposed by DCIS.*

8304 *SELF-SUFFICIENCY REQUIREMENTS -
EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING, WORK,
AND COOPERATION TO ENSURE SCHOOL
ATTENDANCE BY DEPENDENTS UNDER
AGE 16

DSS expects employable adults to participate in either
employment or activities related to finding work (e.g.
employment and training activities) for AFDC benefits to
continue uninterrupted. Either an employable adult is
working or is participating in activit ies to secure
employment.  DSS also expects caretakers to cooperate
as necessary with school and other officials to ensure
satisfactory school attendance by dependent children under
age 16.  The failure of clients to maintain any of these
activities represent sanctionable offenses, which are
components of the self-sufficiency requirements.*

8304.1 REQUIREMENTS FOR *SELF-SUFFICIENCY*

*Parents are expected to cooperate with school officials
and other service providers in helping their child(ren)
maintain satisfactory attendance.  Penalties can be imposed
if parents do not cooperate.  Since parents with children
under age 16 are expected to exert more influence over
their children, and since early school attendance is so
important in moving children down the path to self-
sufficiency, this requirement is grouped with employment
and training and work requirements as part of the overall
self-sufficiency requirements, which invoke harsher

quit or noncompliance with employment and training
activities or cooperation to ensure compliance with school
attendance for dependent children under age 16.*

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dhss.htm


216

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 1997

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

penalties for noncompliance.  (See section 8305 for
requirements and sanctions related to cooperation to ensure
school attendance by children over the age of 16).*

8304.2 SANCTIONS FOR FAILING TO COMPLY
WITH*SELF-SUFFICIENCY REQUIREMENTS

Self-sufficiency requirements include those related to
employment and training, work, and cooperation with
officials to ensure satisfactory school attendance by
dependents under age 16.

The penalty for noncompliance with any of the self-
sufficiency* requirements be:

a) for the first offense, a 1/3 reduction in AFDC
b) for the second offense, a 2/3 reduction in AFDC
c) for the third offense, a loss of all cash benefits.

The penalty for individuals who quit their jobs without
good cause, but who comply with subsequent job search
requirements, will be:

a) for a first offense, a 1/3 reduction in AFDC, to be
imposed for a period of two months or until the individual
obtains a job of equal or higher pay.

b) for a second offense, a 2/3 reduction in AFDC, to
be imposed for a period of two months or until the
individual obtains a job of equal or higher pay.

c) for a third offense, a permanent loss of all cash
benefits.

The penalty for individuals who quit their jobs without
good cause and do not comply with subsequent job search
requirements will be loss of all cash benefits for two
months *or until the individual obtains a job of equal or
higher pay.

Contract Amount/Duration Increase/2 months
Requirement of Sanction if not Compliant

Employment 1/3 reduction for 2 months
& Training or until compliance

whichever is shorter for Yes
first offense; 2/3 reduction
for 2 months or until
compliance whichever is
shorter for second offense

Caretaker 1/3 reduction for 2 months
Cooperation or until compliance
to ensure School whichever is shorter; 2/3 Yes
Attendance for reduction for 2 months or
children under until compliance
16 years whichever is shorter for

second offense

Contract Amount/Duration Increase/2 months
Requirement of Sanction if not Compliant

Keeping a job If meeting job search
unless good requirements, 1/3 reduction
cause exists to for 2 months or until person No
quit the job enters a job of equal or

higher pay, whichever is
shorter; 2/3 reduction for
2 months or until enters a
job of equal or higher pay
whichever is shorter for
second offense

Keeping a job, If not meeting job search
unless good requirements, full loss of
cause exists to benefits until compliance N/A
quit the job of either meeting job

search requirements or
person enters a job of

equal or higher pay

Noncompliance with more than one of the self-sufficiency
requirements at a point in time will result in a one-third
benefit reduction for each sanction.

Example:  A person fails to attend the DOL orientation
and, prior to a cure, then fails to cooperate with officials
to ensure school attendance by his/her 14-year-old child.
The resulting sanctions would result in a 2/3 (1/3 + 1/3)
loss of cash benefits.*

8304.3 CURING THE SANCTION FOR SELF-
SUFFICIENCY REQUIREMENTS

Clients must keep appointments with Employment and
Training staff, complete the Employability Development
Plan and follow through with the recommendations of the
Employment and Training staff for a minimum period of
two weeks.//  Clients, unless indicated otherwise, must
participate in the work attachment model for a minimum
period of two weeks.

EXAMPLE:  A client fails to keep her initial appointment
with Employment and Training staff and is sanctioned .
In order to cure this sanction, the client must not only keep
her appointment with Employment and Training staff, but
must also keep her appointment with DOL staff and
follow through with her DOL activity for a minimum
period of two weeks before the sanction is considered
cured.
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8305.1 SANCTIONS FOR UNSATISFACTORY
SCHOOL ATTENDANCE

A. CHILDREN UNDER AGE 16, INCLUDING
TEEN PARENTS WHO ARE DEPENDENT
CHILDREN

The fiscal sanction for failure, without good cause, to meet
the school attendance requirements *for a child under 16
are the same as for other self-sufficiency requirements.
See Section 8304.2.*

* Denotes modification of or addition to regulation
//  Denotes deletion from existing regulation

FINDING OF FACT

The Department finds that these changes should be
made in the best interest of the general public of the State
of Delaware. The Department will receive, consider, and
respond to petitions by any interested person for the
reconsideration or revision thereof.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
revision to the regulation be adopted on an emergency
basis, without prior notice or hearing, and shall become
effective immediately.

8/1/97 Carmen R. Nazario

Date CARMEN R. NAZARIO
SECRETARY



218

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER  1, 1997

PROPOSED REGULATIONS

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates
new text.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons
may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;
The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
OFFICE OF THE STATE  BANK  COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority:  5 Delaware Code,
Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. 121(b))

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT OF
REGULATIONS OF THE STATE BANK

COMMISSIONER

Summary:

The State Bank Commissioner proposes to adopt
amended Regulation Nos. 5.1101(f).0001,
5.1101etal.0002, 5.1101etal.0003, 5.1101etal.0004,
5.1101etal.0005, 5.1101etal.0006, 5.1101etal.0007,
5.1105.0008, 5.1101etal.0009, 5.1101etal.0010 and
5.1101etal.0011.  Proposed revised Regulation
5.1101(f).0001 (“Election to be Treated for Tax Purposes
as a ‘Subsidiary Corporation’ of a Delaware Chartered
Banking Organization or Trust Company, National Bank
Having Its Principal Office in Delaware, or Out-of-State
Bank that Operates a Resulting Branch in Delaware”)
provides for certain corporations to elect to be treated as
“subsidiary corporations” of Delaware banks for purposes
of the bank franchise tax, and is being amended to permit

elections to be made under certain circumstances after April
1 of the tax year, and to require taxpayers to provide
information about elections on estimated franchise tax
reports.  Proposed revised Regulations 5.1101etal.0002
(“Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax”),
5.1101etal.0003 (“Estimated Franchise Tax Report”), and
5.1101etal.0004 (“Final Franchise Tax Report”), which are
applicable to most banks and trust companies (but not to
out-of-state federal savings banks or resulting branches of
out-of-state banks), are being amended to conform to
statutory changes in Senate Bill 483 (“SB483”), signed by
the Governor on July 11, 1996, Senate Bill 44 (“SB44”),
signed by the Governor on April 23, 1997, and House Bill
257, as amended (“HB257”), signed by the Governor on
July 23, 1997.  Proposed revised Regulations
5.1101etal.0005 (“Instructions for Preparation of Franchise
Tax for Federal Savings Banks Not Headquartered in this
State but Maintaining Branches in This State”),
5.1101etal.0006 (“Estimated Franchise Tax Report --
Federal Savings Banks Not Headquartered in Delaware”),
and 5.1101etal.0007 (“Final Franchise Tax Report -- Federal
Savings Banks Not Headquartered in Delaware”), which
are applicable to out-of-state federal savings banks with
Delaware branches, also are being amended to conform to
statutory changes in SB483, SB44 and HB257.  Proposed
revised Regulation 5.1105.0008 (Instructions for
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Calculation of Employment Tax Credits”) is being
amended to conform to SB483.  Proposed revised
Regulations 5.1101etal.0009 (“Instructions for Preparation
of Franchise Tax for Resulting Branches in this State of
Out-of-State Banks”), 5.1101etal.0010 (“Estimated
Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in this State
of Out-of-State Banks”), and 5.1101etal.0011 (“Final
Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in this State
of Out-of-State Banks”), which are applicable to resulting
branches in Delaware of out-of-state banks, are being
amended to conform to SB483, SB44 and HB257.
Proposed revised Regulations 5.1101(f).0001,
5.1101etal.0002, 5.1101etal.0003, 5.1101etal.0004,
5.1101etal.0005, 5.1101etal.0006, 5.1101etal.0007,
5.1105.0008, 5.1101etal.0009, 5.1101etal.0010 and
5.1101etal.0011 would be adopted by the State Bank
Commissioner on or after October 2, 1997.  Other
regulations issued by the State Bank Commissioner are
not affected by these proposed amendments.  These
regulations are issued by the State Bank Commissioner in
accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code.

Comments:

Copies of the proposed revised regulations are
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations.  Copies
also are on f i le in the Off ice of the State Bank
Commissioner, 555 E. Loockerman Street, Suite 210,
Dover, Delaware 19901, and will be available for
inspection during regular office hours.  Copies are
available upon request.

Interested parties are invited to comment or submit
written suggestions, data, briefs or other materials to the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner as to whether these
proposed regulations should be adopted, rejected or
modified.  Written material submitted will be available
for public inspection at the above address.  Comments must
be received by October 2, 1997.

Public Hearing:

A public hearing will be held on the proposed revised
regulations in the Second Floor Cabinet Room in the
Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware
19901, on Thursday, October 2, 1997 at 10:00 a.m.

This notice is issued pursuant to the requirements of
Subchapter III of Chapter 11 and Chapter 101 of Title 29
of the Delaware Code.

Regulation No.: 5.1101(f).0001
Proposed

ELECTION TO BE TREATED FOR TAX PURPOSES
AS A “SUBSIDIARY CORPORATION” OF A

DELAWARE CHARTERED BANKING
ORGANIZATION OR TRUST COMPANY,

NATIONAL BANK HAVING ITS PRINCIPAL
OFFICE IN DELAWARE, OR OUT-OF-STATE BANK

THAT OPERATES A RESULTING BRANCH IN
DELAWARE (5 Del. C.§1101(f))

A.  PURPOSE:   Pursuant to 5 Del. C. §1101(f), certain
corporations may elect to be treated as a “subsidiary
corporation” of a Delaware chartered banking organization
or trust company, a national bank having its principal
office in Delaware, or an out-of-state bank that operates a
resulting branch in Delaware.  If a valid election is made,
the electing corporation will be taxable on a consolidated
basis with its deemed parent Delaware chartered banking
organization or trust company, national bank having its
principal office in Delaware, or out-of-state bank that
operates a resulting branch in Delaware, and the electing
corporation wil l  be exempt from Delaware state
corporation income taxes and occupational license taxes
(as provided in 5 Del. C. §1109).

B.  WHO MAY ELECT:   A corporation may make the
election only if it meets the following two tests:

1.  Ownership test:   Eighty percent (80%) of the total
combined voting power of all classes of voting stock of
the electing corporation (“Electing Corporation”) is owned
by an out-of-state bank that operates a resulting branch in
Delaware or, directly or indirectly, by a bank holding
company (“Qualifying Entity”) that also, directly or
indirectly, owns all of the stock of a Delaware chartered
banking organization or trust company, a national bank
located in Delaware or an out-of-state bank that operates
a resulting branch in Delaware (“Deemed Parent”).  For
purposes of determining ownership of the voting power
of an Electing Corporation, non-voting stock convertible
into voting stock shall be treated as having been so
converted.

In order to determine if this test is met, Question 5
on the election form must be completed.  In Column A of
Question 5, list each class of stock or property right which
has voting rights or can be converted into stock with voting
rights.  In Column B, state the percentage of the Electing
Corporation’s total voting power of that particular class
of stock (assuming full conversion).  In Column C, state
the percentage of each respective class that the Qualifying

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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Entity owns.  If each figure in Column C is at least 80%,
then this first test is met and Column D need not be
completed.  If not, Column D should be calculated by
multiplying Column B times Column C.  The sum of the
figures in Column D must be at least equal to 80%.  The
ownership test must be met at all times during the taxable
year for which the election is made.

2.  Employment Test:   The Electing Corporation,
together with its affiliates (defined by 5 Del. C. §773(1)),
employs by or before the end of the taxable year following
the taxable year in which the election was made at least
200 persons in Delaware.

C.  WHERE TO FILE:   The original of the election form
must be filed with the State Bank Commissioner, 555 E.
Loockerman Street, Suite 210, Dover, Delaware  19901,
and a copy must be filed with the Delaware Division of
Revenue, 820 N. French Street, Wilmington, Delaware
19801.

D.  WHEN TO MAKE THE ELECTION:   The election
must be made and filed before the first day of the fourth
month of the Electing Corporation’s taxable year, except
that, (1) in the case of a corporation that is newly formed
or acquired by the Qualifying Entity, the election may be
made and filed within 90 days of such formation or
acquisition, and such later election shall not be subject to
the payment of any additional tax under 5 Del. C. §1104(c)
for underpayment of estimated tax or installment for
periods before the date of such election, and (2) with the
approval of the Commissioner, a later election may be
made, subject to the payment of any additional tax for
underpayment of estimated tax or installment as provided
in 5 Del. C. §1104(c) and applicable regulations of the
Commissioner.

E.  SUPPLEMENTAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS:
Once an election has been made under 5 Del. C. §1101(f)
for any Electing Corporation, and so long as the same
remains in effect, each Estimated Franchise Tax Report
under Regulation 5.1101etal.0003 or 5.1101etal.0010 and
each Final Franchise Tax Report under Regulation
5.1101etal.0004 or 5.1101etal.0011 filed by the Deemed
Parent shall indicate on the first page thereof the name of
each Electing Corporation whose income and expenses are
consolidated with that of the Deemed Parent.  In addition,
each such consolidated Report filed by the Deemed Parent
shall have attached to it separate Reports completed on an
individual non-consolidated basis for each Electing

Corporation (complete such attachments only to the extent
necessary to calculate estimated or final taxable income).

F.  TERMINATION OF ELECTION:   Once an election is
made, it remains in effect until terminated (a) by notice of
voluntary termination delivered to the State Bank
Commissioner, with a copy to the Delaware Division of
Revenue, at any time during the Electing Corporation’s
taxable year (which termination shall be effective as of
the first day of such taxable year), or (b) by failure to
meet the ownership test and the employment test
referenced in Section B.1 and B.2 hereof.  If either test is
first failed at any time during the first six months of any
taxable year, the termination shall relate back to the first
day of such taxable year.  If either test is failed at any
time during the second six months of any taxable year,
the termination shall relate forward to the first day of the
succeeding taxable year.  However, an Electing
Corporation shall have the allowable time period
referenced in Section B.2 initially to meet the employment
test.

If an election is terminated, the Deemed Parent shall
file an amended Estimated and/or Final Franchise Tax
Report for the year for which the election was originally
made, which Estimated and/or Final Franchise Tax Report
shall eliminate the income and expenses of the Electing
Corporation.  Any resulting reduction in bank franchise
taxes can be utilized by the Deemed Parent as credit
(without interest) against its future bank franchise tax
liability.

G.  TAXABLE YEAR:   The “taxable year” of an Electing
Corporation shall end on the same date as the taxable year
of the Deemed Parent (as determined for federal income
tax reporting purposes), unless a different taxable year is
approved by the State Bank Commissioner.

ELECTION TO BE TREATED AS A SUBSIDIARY
CORPORATION UNDER 5 DEL. C. §1101(f)

1. Name and Principal Place of Business of Electing
Corporation:

2. First day of Electing Corporation’s taxable year for
which election is made: ____________
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3. Name and Principal Place of Business of Qualifying
Entity (as defined in Section B.1 of this regulation).

4. Name and Principal Place of Business of Deemed
Parent (as defined in Section B.1 of this regulation):

5. Ownership of Voting Power of Electing Corporation
(See Section B.1 of this regulation):

       (A)            (B)   (C)               (D)
Class of Voting    Class’s Percentage    Percentage of   Weighted
Stock (including    of Corporation’s   Class Held by    Voting Power
property con-        Total Voting        Qualifying of Class Held
vertible into        Power Entity by Qualifying

voting stock) Entity

Total     100% Total

6. Does the Electing Corporation and its “affiliates” (as
defined by 5 Del. C. §773(1)) currently have 200 or more
Delaware employees? __________

7. If the answer to Question 6 is “No,” do you expect
the number of Delaware employees of the Electing
Corporation and its affiliates to be at least equal to 200 by
the end of the taxable year following the year of election?
_____________

The undersigned does hereby certify that the
undersigned is duly authorized on behalf of the Electing
Corporation to make an election to be treated as a
“subsidiary corporation” of the above-named Deemed
Parent for purposes of 5 Del. C.§1101 and that all
statements herein are true and correct to the best of the
undersigned’s knowledge and belief.

   Date Signature Title

Regulation No.:  5.1101etal.0002
Proposed

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PREPARATION OF
FRANCHISE TAX

(5 Del. C., Chapter 11)

I. This regulation applies to banking organizations and
trust companies, other than resulting branches in this State
of out-of-state banks or federal savings banks not
headquartered in this state but maintaining branches in
this State.  The estimated and final franchise tax reports
that accompany this regulation are found in regulations
5.1101etal.0003 and 5.1101etal.0004, respectively.
Regulations 5.1101etal.0005, 5.1101etal.0006 and
5.1101etal.0007 are applicable to federal savings banks
not headquartered in this State but maintaining branches
in this State.  Regulations 5.1101etal.0009,
5.1101etal.0010 and 5.1101etal.0011 are applicable to
resulting branches in this State of out-of-state banks.

II. Definitions

A. “Bank” means every bank and every corporation
conducting a banking business of any kind or plan whose
principal place of business is in this State, except a national
bank.

B. “Banking organization” means:
1. A bank or bank and trust company organized and

existing under the laws of this State;
2. A national bank, including a federal savings

bank, with its principal office in this State;
3. An Edge Act corporation organized pursuant to

§25(a) of the Federal Reserve Act, 12 U.S.C. §611 et seq.,
or a state chartered corporation exercising the powers
granted thereunto pursuant to an agreement with the Board
of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, and
maintaining an office in this State;

4. A federal branch or agency licensed pursuant to
§4 and §5 of the International Banking Act of 1978, 12
U.S.C. §3101 et seq., to maintain an office in this State;

5. A foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign
bank agency organized pursuant to Chapter 14 of Title 5;
or

6. A resulting branch in this State of an out-of-state
bank, or a branch office in this State of an out-of-state
bank.

C. “International Banking Transaction” shall mean any
of the following transactions, whether engaged in by a
banking organization, any foreign branch thereof
(established pursuant to 5 Del. C. §771 or federal law) or

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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any subsidiary corporation directly or indirectly owned
by any banking organization:

1. The financing of the exportation from, or the
importation into, the United States or between jurisdictions
abroad of tangible property or services;

2. The financing of the production, preparation,
storage or transportation of tangible personal property or
services which are identifiable as being directly and solely
for export from, or import into, the United States or
between jurisdictions abroad;

3. The financing of contracts, projects or activities
to be performed substantially abroad, except those
transactions secured by a mortgage, deed of trust or other
lien upon real property located in this State;

4. The receipt of deposits or borrowings or the
extensions of credit by an international banking facility,
except the loan or deposit of funds secured by mortgage,
deed of trust or other lien upon real property located in
this State;

5. The underwriting, distributing and dealing in debt
and equity securities outside of the United States and the
conduct of any activities permissible to a banking
organization described in subsection B.3 above, or any of
its subsidiaries, in connection with the transaction of
banking or other financial operations; or

6. The entering into foreign exchange trading or
hedging transactions in connection with the activities
described in paragraphs (1) through (5) above.

D. “International Banking Facility” means a set of asset
and liability accounts, segregated on the books of a
banking organization, that includes only international
banking facility deposits, borrowings and extensions of
credit.

E. “National Bank” means a banking association
organized under the authority of the United States and
having a principal place of business in this State.

F. “Net Operating Income Before Taxes” means the total
net interest income plus total non-interest income, minus
provision for loan and lease losses, provision for allocated
transfer r isk, and total non-interest expense, and
adjustments made for securities gains or losses and other
appropriate adjustments.

G. “Out-of-state bank” has the same meaning as in §795
of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, which is (i) a State bank,
as defined in the Federal Deposit Insurance Act, as
amended, at 12 U.S.C. §1813(a), that is not chartered under
Delaware law, or (ii) a national bank association created
under the National Bank Act (12 U.S.C. §21 et seq.) whose
organization certificate identifies an address outside
Delaware as the place at which its discount and deposit

operations are to be carried out.
H. “Resulting branch in this State of an out-of-state
bank” has the same meaning as in §1101(a) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code, which is a branch office in this State
of an out-of-state bank resulting from a merger as provided
in Subchapter VII of Chapter 7 of Title 5 of the Delaware
Code, and, in addition, a branch office in this State of an
out-of-state bank.

I. “Securities Business” means to engage in the sale,
distribution and underwriting of, and deal in, stocks,
bonds, debentures, notes or other securities.

J. “Trust Company” means a trust company or
corporation doing a trust company business which has a
principal place of business in this State.

III. Estimated Franchise Tax

A banking organization or trust company whose franchise
tax liability for the current year is estimated to exceed
$10,000 shall file an estimated franchise tax report with
the State Bank Commissioner and pay estimated franchise
tax:

A. 1. Filing.  The estimated franchise tax report
shall be filed with the State Bank Commissioner on the
first day of March of the current year.

2. Penalty for late filing.  A late filing penalty
shall be assessed against the taxpayer in the amount of
$25 for each day after the due date that the taxpayer fails
to file the estimated franchise tax report required above
in section III. A.1., unless the State Bank Commissioner
is satisfied that such failure was not willful.

B. Form.  The estimated franchise tax report shall
be in the form set out in Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0003;

C. Calculation of estimated tax.  The total estimated
annual franchise tax shall be calculated as follows:

1. The estimated net operating income before
taxes, which includes the income of any corporation
making an election as provided in Regulation No.
5.1101(f).0001;

2. Adjusted for any estimated income from an
insurance division or subsidiary;

3. Less any deductions set forth in 5 Del. C.
§1101;

4. Multiplied by .56 to arrive at estimated
taxable income;

5. The appropriate rate of taxation set forth in 5
Del. C. §1105 shall be applied;

6. The subtotal estimated annual franchise tax
shall be adjusted for tax credits applicable pursuant to 5
Del. C. §1105, which are calculated in accordance with
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Regulation No. 5.1105.0008.

7. The subtotal estimated annual franchise tax
shall be adjusted for Travelink tax credits calculated in
accordance with Department of Transportation Travelink
tax credit reporting requirements.

D. Payment of estimated tax.  The estimated tax
liability shall be due and payable as follows:

40% due on or before June 1 of the current
taxable year;

20% due on or before September 1 of the current
taxable year;

20% due on or before December 1 of the current
taxable year.

IV. Final Franchise Tax

A. 1. Filing.  The December 31 call report, verified
by oath, setting forth the net operating income of the
banking organization and the final franchise tax report,
setting forth the “taxable income” of the banking
organization or trust company, shall be filed with the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner on or before
January 30 each year; provided, however, that a banking
organization entitled to take an additional 15 days to
submit its Report of Condition and Income to the
appropriate federal bank supervisory authority shall file
the December 31 call report and the final franchise tax
report with the Office of the State Bank Commissioner on
or before February 15 of each year, except as otherwise
required by 5 Del. C. §904.

2. Penalty for late filing.  A late filing penalty
shall be assessed against the taxpayer in the amount of
$25 for each day after the due date that the taxpayer fails
to file the final franchise tax report required above in
subsection IV. A.1., unless the State Bank Commissioner
is satisfied that such failure was not willful.

B. Form.  The final franchise tax report shall be in
the form set out in Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0004.

C. Calculation of final tax.  The total final franchise
tax shall be calculated as follows:

1. The net operating income before taxes, which
includes the income of any corporation making an election
as provided in Regulation No. 5.1101(f).0001;

2. Adjusted for any income from an insurance
division or subsidiary;

3. Less any deduction set forth in 5 Del. C.
§1101;

4. Multiplied by .56 to arrive at “taxable
income”;

5. The appropriate rate of taxation set forth in 5
Del. C. §1105 shall be applied to the taxable income to

arrive at subtotal annual franchise tax;
6. The subtotal annual franchise tax shall be

adjusted for tax credits applicable pursuant to 5 Del. C.
§1105, which are calculated in accordance with Regulation
No. 5.1105.0008.

7. The subtotal annual franchise tax shall be
adjusted for Travelink tax credits calculated in accordance
with Department of Transportation Travelink tax credit
reporting requirements.

V. Payment of Final Franchise Tax

A. Taxes owed for the previous calendar year are
due and payable on or before March 1 of the following
year.  Checks or other forms of payment should be made
payable or directed to the State of Delaware.

B. The amount due and payable on or before March
1 for the previous calendar year shall be the final franchise
tax, less any estimated tax payments made for the taxable
year, plus any additional tax due to underpayment of
estimated franchise tax or installment.  If the final franchise
tax is not paid by March 1, a penalty for late payment of
the final franchise tax shall be assessed.

VI. Additional Tax Due to Underpayment of Estimated
Franchise Tax or Installment

A. In the case of any underpayment of estimated
franchise tax or installment of estimated tax required by
Chapter 11 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, there shall be
added to the tax for the taxable year an amount determined
at the rate of 0.05 percent per day upon the amount of the
underpayment for the period of the underpayment.  The
amount of the underpayment shall be the excess of:

1. The amount of the estimated franchise tax or
installment payment which would be required to be made
if the estimated tax were equal to 80 percent of the tax
shown on the final return for the taxable year, or if no
return were filed, 80 percent of the tax for such year, over;

2. The amount, if any, of the estimated tax or
installment paid on or before the last date prescribed for
payment.

B. The period of the underpayment shall run from
the date the estimated franchise tax or installment was
required to be paid to the earlier of the date when such
estimated tax or installment is paid or the date of the final
payment of tax for the year;

C. Notwithstanding the above, the addition to the
tax with respect to any underpayment of estimated
franchise tax or any installment shall not be imposed if
the total amount of all payments of estimated tax made on
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or before the last date prescribed for the payment thereof
equals or exceeds the amount which would have been
required to be paid on or before such date if the estimated
tax were the tax shown on the final return of the banking
organization or trust company for the preceding taxable
year; provided, however, that this paragraph C shall not
apply if the banking organization or trust company, or any
predecessor thereof, had taxable income of $200,000 or
more for any of the three taxable years immediately
preceding the taxable year involved.

VII . Penalty - Late Payment of Final Franchise Tax

In the case of a late payment of final franchise tax as
required by Chapter 11 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code,
there shall be added to the tax a penalty in an amount
determined at the rate of 0.05 percent per day until required
payment is made.

VIII.  Election to be l isted as a “Subsidiary
Corporation”

Any corporation which has elected to be treated as a
“subsidiary corporation” of a banking organization or trust
company pursuant to §1101(f) and filed with the State
Bank Commissioner the required election form in
accordance with Commissioner’s Regulation No.
5.1101(f).0001 shall provide (a) a tentative report of
income for the electing corporation covering estimated
bank franchise tax liability for the current income year to
be submitted in conjunction with the estimated franchise
tax report due March 1 for a banking organization or trust
company whose franchise tax liability for the current year
is estimated to exceed $10,000, and (b) a report of income
for the electing corporation as of December 31 of each
year to be submitted in conjunction with the final franchise
tax report due January 30 or February 15, as applicable.

Regulation No.:  5.1101etal.0003
Proposed

ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX REPORT
(5 Del. C., Chapter 11)

This report shall be completed by any banking organization
(other than a resulting branch in this State of an out-of-
state bank, as defined in § 1101(a) of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code) or trust company with an estimated tax
liability in excess of $10,000 in a given year.  The
completed report is to be filed in the Office of the State
Bank Commissioner on or before March 1 of the current
year.  Instructions for the preparation of this report are
found in Regulation 5.1101etal.0002.

Name of Banking Organization or Trust Company

Location

List corporation(s) electing under Section 1101(f) and
attach hereto separate reports of estimated income for each
Electing Corporation ( include Federal Employer
Identification number).

Rounded to the
nearest thousand $

1. Estimated net operating income
before taxes (including income of
Electing Corporations) __________

2. Less: Adjustment for
income from an insurance
division or subsidiary __________

3. Subtotal __________

4. Less:
(a) Net operating income before

taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the
United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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applicable Delaware law, which is
otherwise subject to income taxation
under Delaware law.

(b) Net operating income before
taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the
United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other
applicable Delaware law, which is
derived from business activities carried
on outside the State and subject to
income taxation under the laws of
another state, and that portion of net
operating income before taxes from any
such entity other than a Delaware-
chartered banking organization or a
national bank located in this State (as
defined in §801(5) of Title 5, Delaware
Code), which entity is a banking
organization and which is subject to
income taxation under the laws of
another state.  In no event shall the
amount of income excluded exceed 50%
of such subsidiary’s net operating income
before taxes in the case of a subsidiary
engaged in a securities business.

(c) Net operating income before
taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the
United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other
applicable Delaware law, which is
derived from business activities carried
on outside the State, which subsidiary,
foreign branch or other branch
established outside of Delaware is
subject to shares tax under the laws of
another state.  In no event shall the
income excluded exceed 50% of such
subsidiary’s net operating income before
taxes in the case of a subsidiary engaged
in a securities business.

(d) Net operating income before
taxes from any non-United States branch
office provided that at least 80%  of gross
income of such off ice constitutes

“income from sources without the United
States” as defined under §862(a) ofthe
Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as
amended, or any successor provisions
thereto.

(e) Gross income from international
banking transactions after subtracting
therefrom any expenses or deductions
attributable thereto.

(f) Gross income from international
banking facilities less any attributable
expenses or other deductions.

(g) Interest income from obligations
of volunteer fire companies.

(h) Any examination fee paid to the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner
pursuant to §127(a) of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code.

5. Total deductions (add lines 4(a)-(h))

6. Estimated total income before taxes
(subtract item 5 from item 3)

7. Estimated taxable income x .56
(calculated to nearest dollar)

8. Estimated subtotal annual franchise
tax liability (before tax credits)

Calculation Table:
First  $20,000,000 of item 7 at 8.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 7 at 6.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 7 at 4.7%
Next  $620,000,000 of item 7 at 2.7%
Amount of item 7 over $650,000,000 at

1.7%

Subtotal

9. Less: Total employment tax
credits (calculated in accordance with
Regulation No. 5.1105.0008, completed
worksheet attached hereto)
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10. Less: Travelink tax credits
(calculated in accordance with
Department of Transportation Travelink
tax credit report ing requirements,
completed worksheet attached hereto)

11. Estimated total annual franchise tax
liability (subtract items 9 & 10 from item
8)

$

12. Payment structure and dates  $ Amount

June 1 40% of estimate due
September 1 20% of estimate due
December 1 20% of estimate due
March 1 (of succeeding year)

Final payment

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this
report, including any accompanying schedules and
statements, has been prepared in conformance with the
appropriate instructions and is true and correct to the best
of my knowledge and belief.

Date Signature of President, Title
Treasurer or Other
Proper Officer

Print Name Phone No.

Print Address

Regulation No.:  5.1101etal.0004
Proposed

FINAL FRANCHISE TAX REPORT
(5 Del. C., Chapter 11)

This report shall be completed by all banking organizations
(other than resulting branches in this State of out-of-state
banks, as defined in § 1101(a) of Title 5 of the Delaware
Code) and trust companies and submitted to the Office of
the State Bank Commissioner on or before January 30;
provided, however, that a banking organization entitled
to take an additional 15 days to submit its Report of
Condition and Income to the appropriate federal bank
supervisory authority shall submit this report to the Office
of the State Bank Commissioner on or before February
15.  Income reported is for the previous calendar year.
Instructions for the preparation of this report are found in
Regulation 5.1101etal.0002.

Name of Banking Organization or Trust Company

Location

List corporation(s) electing under Section 1101(f) and
attach hereto separate reports of estimated income for each
Electing Corporation ( include Federal Employer
Identification number).

Rounded to the
nearest thousand $

1. Net operating income
before taxes (including income of
Electing Corporations) __________

2. Less: Adjustment for
income from an insurance
division or subsidiary (report of
income attached hereto). __________

3. Subtotal __________

4. Less:
(a) Net operating income before

taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the
United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other
applicable Delaware law, which is
otherwise subject to income taxation
under Delaware law.

(b) Net operating income before
taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the
United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other
applicable Delaware law, which is
derived from business activities carried
on outside the State and subject to
income taxation under the laws of
another state, and that portion of net
operating income before taxes from any
such entity other than a Delaware-
chartered banking organization or a
national bank located in this State (as
defined in §801(5) of Title 5, Delaware
Code), which entity is a banking
organization and which is subject to
income taxation under the laws of
another state.  In no event shall the
amount of income excluded exceed 50%
of such subsidiary’s net operating income
before taxes in the case of a subsidiary
engaged in a securities business.

(c) Net operating income before
taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the
United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other
applicable Delaware law, which is
derived from business activities carried
on outside the State, which subsidiary,
foreign branch or other branch
established outside of Delaware is
subject to shares tax under the laws of
another state.  In no event shall the
income excluded exceed 50% of such
subsidiary’s net operating income before

taxes in the case of a subsidiary engaged
in a securities business.

(d) Net operating income before
taxes from any non-United States branch
office provided that at least 80%  of gross
income of such off ice constitutes
“income from sources without the United
States” as defined under §862(a) of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as
amended, or any successor provisions
thereto.

(e) Gross income from international
banking transactions after subtracting
therefrom any expenses or deductions
attributable thereto.

(f) Gross income from international
banking facilities less any attributable
expenses or other deductions.

(g) Interest income from obligations
of volunteer fire companies.

(h) Any examination fee paid to the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner
pursuant to §127(a) of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code.

5. Total deductions (add lines 4(a)-(h))

6. Total income before taxes (subtract
item 5 from item 3)

7. Taxable income x .56
(calculated to nearest dollar)

8. Subtotal franchise tax l iabil i ty
(before tax credits)

Calculation Table:
First  $20,000,000 of item 7 at 8.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 7 at 6.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 7 at 4.7%
Next  $620,000,000 of item 7 at 2.7%
Amount of item 7 over $650,000,000 at

1.7%
Subtotal

9. Less: Total employment tax
credits (calculated in accordance with
Regulation No. 5.1105.0008, completed
worksheet attached hereto)
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10. Less: Travelink tax credits
(calculated in accordance with
Department of Transportation Travelink
tax credit report ing requirements,
completed worksheet attached hereto)

11. Total annual franchise tax liability
(subtract items 9 & 10 from item 8)

$

12. Less:  Estimated tax payments
a. June 1 payment
b. September 1 payment
c. December 1 payment
d. Total estimated tax

payments (add items
12a, 12b, and 12c)

13. March 1 final tax payment (subtract
item 12d from item 11)

14. Additional tax due to underpayment
of estimated franchise tax or installment
(if applicable)

15. Penalty for late payment of final
franchise tax (if applicable)

16. Total final tax payment (add items
13, 14 and 15)

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this
report, including any accompanying schedules and
statements, has been prepared in conformance with the
appropriate instructions and is true and correct to the best
of my knowledge and belief.

Date Signature of President, Title
Treasurer or Other
Proper Officer

Print Name Phone No.

Print Address

Regulation No.:  5.1101etal.0005
Proposed

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PREPARATION OF
FRANCHISE TAX FOR FEDERAL SAVINGS BANKS

NOT HEADQUARTERED IN THIS STATE BUT
MAINTAINING BRANCHES IN THIS STATE

(5 Del. C., Chapter 11)

I. This regulation applies only to federal savings banks
not headquartered in this State but maintaining branches
in this State.  The estimated and final franchise tax reports
that accompany this regulation are found in regulations
5.1101etal.0006 and 5.1101etal.0007, respectively.

II . Definitions
A. “Net operating income before taxes” means the

total net income calculated in accordance with Section VIII
of this Regulation, with adjustments made for securities
gains or losses and other appropriate adjustments.

III . Estimated Franchise Tax

A federal savings bank not headquartered in this State
whose franchise tax liability for the current year is
anticipated to exceed $10,000 shall file an estimated
franchise tax report with the State Bank Commissioner
and pay estimated franchise tax.

A. 1. Filing.  The estimated franchise tax report
shall be filed with the State Bank Commissioner on the
first day of March of the current year.

2. Penalty for late filing.  A late filing penalty
shall be assessed against the taxpayer in the amount of
$25 for each day after the due date that the taxpayer fails
to file the estimated franchise tax report required above
in section III.A.1., unless the State Bank Commissioner is
satisfied that such failure was not willful.

B. Form.  The estimated franchise tax report shall
be in the form set out in Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0006;

C. Calculation of estimated tax.  The total estimated
annual franchise tax shall be calculated as follows:

1. The estimated net operating income before
taxes of the branch or branches located in Delaware;

2. Less the interest income from obligations of
volunteer fire companies;

3. The appropriate rate of taxation set forth in 5
Del. C. §1105 shall be applied;

4. The subtotal estimated annual franchise tax
shall be adjusted for tax credits applicable pursuant to 5
Del. C. §1105, which are calculated in accordance with
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Regulation No. 5.1105.0008.

5. The subtotal estimated annual franchise tax
shall be adjusted for Travelink tax credits calculated in
accordance with Department of Transportation Travelink
tax credit reporting requirements.

D. Payment of estimated tax.  The estimated tax
liability shall be due and payable as follows:

40% due on or before June 1 of the current year;
20% due on or before September 1 of the current year;
20% due on or before December 1 of the current year.

IV. Final Franchise Tax
A. 1. Filing.  The December 31 call report, verified

by oath, setting forth the net operating income of the
Delaware branch or branches of the federal savings bank
not headquartered in this State and the final franchise tax
report shall be filed with the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner on or before January 30 each year;

2. Penalty for late filing.  A late filing penalty
shall be assessed against the taxpayer in the amount of
$25 for each day after the due date that the taxpayer fails
to file the final franchise tax report required above in
section IV. A.1., unless the State Bank Commissioner is
satisfied that such failure was not willful.

B. Form.  The final franchise tax report shall be in
the form set out in Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0007.

C. Calculation of final tax.  The total final franchise
tax shall be calculated as follows:

1. The net operating income before taxes of the
branch or branches located in Delaware;

2. Less the interest income from obligations of
volunteer fire companies;

3. The appropriate rate of taxation set forth in 5
Del. C. §1105 shall be applied;

4. The subtotal annual franchise tax shall be
adjusted for tax credits applicable pursuant to 5 Del. C.
§1105, which are calculated in accordance with Regulation
No. 5.1105.0008.

5. The subtotal annual franchise tax shall be
adjusted for Travelink tax credits calculated in accordance
with Department of Transportation Travelink tax credit
reporting requirements.

V. Payment of Final Franchise Tax
A. Taxes owed for the previous calendar year are due

and payable on or before March 1 of the following year.
Checks or other forms of payment should be made payable
or directed to the State of Delaware.

B. The amount due and payable on or before March
1 for the previous calendar year shall be the final franchise

tax, less any estimated tax payments made for the taxable
year, plus any additional tax due to underpayment of
estimated franchise tax or installment.  If the final franchise
tax is not paid by March 1, a penalty for late payment of
the final franchise tax shall be assessed.

VI. Additional Tax Due to Underpayment of Estimated
Franchise Tax or Installment

A. In the case of any underpayment of estimated
franchise tax or installment of estimated franchise tax
required by Chapter 11 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code,
there shall be added to the tax for the taxable year an
amount determined at the rate of 0.05 percent per day upon
the amount of the underpayment for the period of the
underpayment.  The amount of the underpayment shall be
the excess of:

1. The amount of the estimated franchise tax or
installment payment which would be required to be made
if the estimated tax were equal to 80 percent of the tax
shown on the final return for the taxable year, or if no
return were filed, 80 percent of the tax for such year, over;

2. The amount, if any, of the estimated tax or
installment paid on or before the last date prescribed for
payment.

B. The period of the underpayment shall run from
the date the estimated franchise tax or installment was
required to be paid to the earlier of the date when such
estimated tax or installment is paid or the date of the final
payment of tax for the year;

C. Notwithstanding the above, the addition to the tax
with respect to any underpayment of estimated franchise
tax or any installment shall not be imposed if the total
amount of all payments of estimated tax made on or before
the last date for the payment thereof equals or exceeds the
amount which would have been required to be paid on or
before such date if the estimated tax were the tax shown
on the final return of the federal savings bank not
headquartered in this State for the preceding taxable year;
provided, however, that this paragraph C shall not apply
if the federal savings bank not headquartered in this state,
or any predecessor thereof, had taxable income of
$200,000 or more for any of the three taxable years
immediately preceding the taxable year involved.

VII.Penalty - Late Payment of Estimated Franchise Tax
or Installment or Final Franchise Tax

In the case of a late payment of final franchise tax as
required by Chapter 11 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code,
there shall be added to the tax a penalty in an amount
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determined at the rate of 0.05 percent per day until required
payment is made.

VIII. Separate Accounting by Delaware Branches

A. Books and Records.  Each branch in this State of
a federal savings bank not headquartered in this State must
keep a separate set of books and records as if it were an
entity separate from the rest of the federal savings bank
that operates such Delaware branch.  These books and
records must reflect the following items attributable to the
Delaware branch:

1. Assets and the credit equivalent amounts of
off-balance sheet items used in computing the risk-based
capital ratio under 12 C.F.R. part 567;

2. Liabilities;
3. Income and gain;
4. Expense and loss.

B. Consolidation of Delaware Branches.  If a federal
savings bank not headquartered in this State operates more
than one Delaware branch, it may treat all Delaware
branches as a single separate entity for purposes of
computing the assets, liabilities, income, gain, expense,
and loss referred to above.

C. Determining Assets Attributable to a Delaware
Branch

1. General Principle of Asset Attribution.  The
general principle will be to attribute assets to a Delaware
branch if personnel at the Delaware branch actively and
materially participate in the solicitation, investigation,
negotiation, approval, or administration of an asset.

2. Loans and Finance Leases.  These assets will
be attributed to a Delaware branch if personnel at the
Delaware branch actively and materially participated in
the solicitation, investigation, negotiation, final approval,
or administration of a loan or financing lease.  Loans
include all types of loans, including credit and travel card
accounts receivable.

3. Stocks and Debt Securities.  These assets will
be attributed to a Delaware branch if personnel at the
Delaware branch actively and materially participated in
the acquisition of such assets.

4. Foreign Exchange Contracts and Futures
Options, Swaps, and Similar Assets. These assets will be
attributed to a Delaware branch if personnel at the
Delaware branch actively and materially participated in
the solicitation, investigation, negotiation, acquisition, or
administration of such assets.

5. Patents, Copyrights, Trademarks, and Similar
Intellectual Property.  These assets will be attributed to a

Delaware branch if personnel at the Delaware branch
actively and materially participated in the licensing of such
asset.

6. Currency.  U.S. and foreign currency will be
attributed to a Delaware branch if physically stored at the
Delaware branch.

7. Tangible Personal and Real Property.  These
assets (including bullion and other precious metals) will
be attributed to a Delaware branch if they are located at or
are part of the physical facility of a Delaware branch.

8. Other Business Assets.  Other business assets
will be attributed to a Delaware branch if personnel at the
Delaware branch actively and materially participated in
the acquisition of such assets.

9. Credit Equivalent Amounts of Regulatory
Off-Balance Sheet Items Taken Into Account in
Determining Risk-Based Capital Ratio.  These are the
credit equivalent amounts of off-balance sheet items
described in 12 C.F.R. part 567 not otherwise addressed
above (e.g., guarantees, standby letters of credit,
commercial letters of credit, risk participations, sale and
repurchase agreements and asset sales with recourse if not
already included on the balance sheet, forward agreements
to purchase assets, securities lent (if the lending federal
savings bank is exposed to risk of loss), bid and
performance bonds, commitments, revolving underwriting
facilities).  These assets will be attributed to a Delaware
branch if personnel at the Delaware branch actively and
materially participated in the solicitation, investigation,
negotiation, acquisition, or administration of such assets.

D. Liabilities Attributable to a Delaware Branch.

The liabilities attributable to a Delaware branch
shall be the deposits recorded on the books of the Delaware
branch plus any other legally enforceable obligations of
the Delaware branch recorded on the books of the
Delaware branch or the federal savings bank not
headquartered in this State.

E. Income of a Delaware Branch.

1. Income from Assets.  Income and gain from
assets (including fees from off-balance sheet items)
attributed to a Delaware branch in accordance with the
rules in subsection C above will be attributed to the
Delaware branch.

2. Income from Fees.  Fee income not attributed
to a Delaware branch in accordance with subsection 1
above will be attributed to the Delaware branch depending
on the type of fee income.

a. Fee income from letters of credit,
travelers checks, and money orders will be attributed to
the Delaware branch if the letters of credit, travelers
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checks, or money orders are issued by the Delaware
branch, except to the extent that subsection 1 above
requires otherwise.

b. Fee income from services (e.g., trustee
and custodian fees) will be attributed to the Delaware
branch if the services generating the fees are performed
by personnel at the Delaware branch.  If services are
performed both within and without Delaware, the fees from
such services must be allocated between Delaware and
other states based on the relative value of the services or
upon the time spent in rendering the services or on some
other reasonable basis.  The basis for allocation must be
disclosed and applied consistently from period to period.

F. Determining the Expenses of a Delaware Branch.

1. Interest.  The amount of interest expense of
a Delaware branch shall be the actual interest booked by
the Delaware branch, which should reflect market rates.

2. Direct Expenses of a Delaware Branch.
Expenses or other deductions that can be specifically
identified with the gross income, gains, losses, deductions,
assets, liabilities or other activities of the Delaware branch
are direct expenses of such Delaware branch.  Examples
of such expenses are payroll, rent, depreciation and
amortization of assets attributed to the Delaware branch,
some taxes, insurance, the cost of supplies and fees for
services rendered to the Delaware branch.

3. Indirect Expenses of a Delaware Branch.
Expenses or other deductions that cannot be specifically
identified with the gross income, gains, losses, deductions,
assets, liabilities, or other activities of a Delaware branch
must be allocated between the Delaware branch and the
rest of the federal savings bank operating the Delaware
branch.  If the federal savings bank makes such an
allocation on any reasonable basis, and applies such basis
consistently from period to period, the allocation likely
will be respected.  If the federal savings bank makes no
such allocation, such expenses could be allocated on the
basis of the ratio of assets of the Delaware branch to the
assets of the entire federal savings bank or based on the
ratio of gross income of the Delaware branch to gross
income of the entire federal savings bank.

Regulation No.:  5.1101etal.0006
Proposed

ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX REPORT
FEDERAL SAVINGS BANKS NOT

HEADQUARTERED IN DELAWARE
(5 Del. C., Chapter 11)

This report shall be completed by any federal savings
bank not headquartered in this State but maintaining
branches in this State with an estimated tax liability in
excess of $10,000 in any given year.  The completed report
is to be filed in the Office of the State Bank Commissioner
on or before March 1 of the current year.  Instructions for
the preparation of this report are found in Regulation
5.1101etal.0005.

Name of Federal Savings Bank

Location

Rounded to the
nearest thousand $

1. Estimated net operating income
before taxes

2. Less: Interest income from
obligations of volunteer fire companies

3. Estimated taxable income before
taxes (subtract item 2 from item 1)

4. Estimated subtotal annual franchise
tax liability (before tax credits)

Calculation Table:

First  $20,000,000 of item 3 at 8.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 3 at 6.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 3 at 4.7%
Next  $620,000,000 of item 3 at

2.7%
Amount of item 3 over $650,000,000

at 1.7%

Subtotal

5. Less: Total employment tax
credits (calculated in accordance with
Regulation No. 5.1105.0008, completed
worksheet attached hereto)

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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6. Less: Travelink tax credits
(calculated in accordance with
Department of Transportation Travelink
tax credit report ing requirements,
completed worksheet attached hereto)

7. Estimated total annual franchise tax
liabilit y (subtract items 5 and 6 from
item 4)

8. Payment Structure and Dates      $ Amount

June 1 40% of estimate due
September 1 20% of estimate due
December 1 20% of estimate due
March 1 (of succeeding year)

Final payment

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this
report, including any accompanying schedules and
statements, has been prepared in conformance with the
appropriate instructions and is true and correct to the best
of my knowledge and belief.

Date Signature of President,        Title
Treasurer or Other
Proper Officer

Print Name Phone No.

Print Address

Regulation No.:  5.1101etal.0007
Proposed

FINAL FRANCHISE TAX REPORT
FEDERAL SAVINGS BANKS NOT

HEADQUARTERED IN DELAWARE
(5 Del. C., Chapter 11)

This report shall be completed by any federal savings bank
not headquartered in this State but maintaining branches
in this State and submitted to the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner on or before January 30.  Income reported
is for the previous calendar year.  Instructions for the
preparation of this report are found in Regulation
5.1101etal.0005.

Name of Federal Savings Bank

Location

Rounded to the
nearest thousand $

1. Net Operating Income Before Taxes
verifiable by documentary evidence

2. Less:  Interest income from obligations
of volunteer fire companies

3. Taxable income before taxes (subtract
item 2 from item 1)

4.  Subtotal annual franchise tax liability
(before tax credits)

Calculation Table:
First  $20,000,000 of item 3 at 8.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 3 at 6.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 3 at 4.7%
Next  $620,000,000 of item 3 at 2.7%
Amount of item 3 over $650,000,000

at 1.7%

Subtotal

5. Less:  Total employment tax credits
(calculated in accordance with
Regulation No. 5.1105.0008, completed
worksheet attached hereto)

6. Less: Travelink tax credits (calculated
in accordance with Department of
Transportation Travelink tax credit

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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report ing requirements, completed
worksheet attached hereto)

7. Total annual franchise tax liability
(subtract items 5 and 6 from item 4)

8.  Less:  Estimated tax payments
a.  June 1 payment $
b.  September 1 payment
c.  December 1 payment
d.  Total estimated tax payments (add

items 8a, 8b and 8c)

9.  March 1 final tax payment (subtract
item 8d from item 7)

10.  Additional tax due to underpayment
of estimated  franchise tax or installment
(if applicable)

11.  Penalty for late payment of final
franchise tax (if applicable)

12.  Total final tax payment (add items
9, 10 and 11) $

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this report,
including any accompanying schedules and statements, has
been prepared in conformance with the appropriate
instructions and is true and correct to the best of my
knowledge and belief.

Date Signature of President, Title
Treasurer or Other
Proper Officer

Print Name Phone No.

Print Address

Regulation No.:  5.1105.0008
Proposed

INSTRUCTIONS FOR CALCULATION OF
EMPLOYMENT TAX CREDITS

(5 Del. C. §1105)

This regulation provides for the calculation of
employment tax credits for the years 1997 through 2001
for entities subject to the bank franchise tax.  These
employment tax credits are provided in Section 1105(d),
and subject to requirements in Sections 1105(e) and
1105(f), of Title 5 of the Delaware Code.

I. Definitions

A. “Base year” means calendar year 1996.

B. “Full-time employment” means employment of
any individual for at least 35 hours per week, not including
absences excused by reason of vacations, illness, holidays
or similar causes.

C. “Health care benefits” means financial protection
against the medical care cost arising from disease and
accidental bodily injury (for which the employer pays at
least 50%) for workers employed by the employer for a
continuous period of 6 months or more.

D. “New investment” includes (1) machinery, (2)
equipment and (3) the cost of land and improvements to
land, provided that the new investment is placed into
service within Delaware after December 1996 and was not
used by any person at any time within the one year period
ending on the date the taxpayer placed such property in
service in the conduct of the taxpayer’s business.  If the
new investment is leased or subleased by the taxpayer,
the amount of the new investment shall be deemed to be
eight times the net annual rent paid or incurred by the
taxpayer.  The net annual rent represents the gross rent
paid or incurred by the taxpayer during the taxable year,
less any gross rental income received by the taxpayer from
sublessees of any portion of the facility during the taxable
year.

E. “Qualif ied employee” means an employee
engaged in regular full-time employment, for whom the
taxpayer provides health care benefits, who has been
employed in Delaware by the taxpayer for a continuous
period of at least 6 months and who was not employed at
the same facility in substantially the same capacity by a
different employer during all or part of the base year.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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II. Employment Tax Credit

A tax credit for the current tax year shall be allowed
against the tax imposed under subsection 1105(a) of Title
5 of the Delaware Code.  The amount of the credit shall
be $400 for each new qualified employee in excess of 50
qualified employees above the number of employees
employed by the taxpayer in full-time employment during
the base year.

III. New Investment Required
The employment tax credit provided above may not

be claimed until the taxpayer has made new investments
of at least $15,000 per qualified employee in excess of
the numbers of employees employed by the taxpayer in
full-time employment during the base year.

IV. Annual Limit On Credit

The amount of the employment tax credit allowable
for the current tax year (including any credit carried
forward as provided below) shall not exceed 50 percent
of the amount of tax imposed on the taxpayer under Section
1105(a) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code for the current
tax year.

V. Applicable Years

The employment tax credit provided above may be
earned and applied only in tax years beginning after
December 31, 1996 and ending before January 1, 2002,
subject to the credit carryover described below.

VI. Credit Carryover

The amount of the employment tax credit for any
taxable year that is not allowable for such taxable year
solely as a result of the limitation described above in
Section IV shall be a credit carryover to each of the
succeeding 9 years in the manner described in Section
2011(f) of Title 30 of the Delaware Code.

VII. Calculation Worksheet

The employment tax credit provided above shall be
calculated on the accompanying Employment Tax Credit
Calculation Worksheet, which shall be submitted with the
taxpayer’s tax report.

EMPLOYMENT TAX CREDIT CALCULATION
WORKSHEET FOR YEARS 1997 - 2001

THE FOLLOWING ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
APPLY TO THE EMPLOYMENT TAX CREDIT:

• THE NUMBER OF QUALIFIED EMPLOYEES
MUST HAVE INCREASED BY AT LEAST 50 SINCE
BASE YEAR 1996.

• YOUR ORGANIZATION MUST HAVE MADE AT
LEAST $750,000 IN NEW INVESTMENTS WITHIN
DELAWARE AFTER 12/96.

A. EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENT
1.  TOTAL QUALIFIED EMPLOYEES

AT YEAR END
2.  LESS NUMBER OF FULL-TIME

EMPLOYEES WORKING DURING BASE
YEAR

3.  SUBTOTAL
4.  LESS MINIMUM NEW QUALIFIED

EMPLOYEE THRESHOLD (50)
5. MAXIMUM QUALIFIED

EMPLOYEES

B. REQUIRED INVESTMENT
6.  NEW INVESTMENT FROM 1/1/97

TO CURRENT TAX YEAR
7. LESS MINIMUM NEW

INVESTMENT FOR FIRST 50 EMPLOYEES  ($750,000)
8.  SUBTOTAL
9.  DIVIDED BY $15,000  (ROUNDED

DOWN TO THE NEXT LOWEST WHOLE
NUMBER)

10. ELIGIBLE QUALIFIED
EMPLOYEES (USE THE LESSER OF
LINE 5 OR 9)

C.CREDIT CALCULATION
11.  EMPLOYMENT TAX CREDIT FOR

CURRENT TAX YEAR ($400 X LINE
10)

12.   PRIOR YEARS’ TAX CREDIT
CARRYOVER (IF APPLICABLE)

13. TOTAL TAX CREDIT
AVAILABLE
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D. CREDIT ALLOWED

14.   CURRENT YEAR FRANCHISE
TAX LIABILITY PURSUANT TO
CHAPTER 11 OF TITLE 5

15.  MAXIMUM TAX CREDIT
ALLOWED (50% OF LINE 14)

E.  TOTAL TAX CREDIT TAKEN
(LESSER OF LINE 13 OR LINE 15)

Regulation No.:  5.1101etal.0009
Proposed

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PREPARATION OF
FRANCHISE TAX FOR RESULTING BRANCHES IN

THIS STATE OF OUT-OF-STATE BANKS
(5 Del. C., Chapter 11)

I. This regulation applies only to resulting branches in
this State of out-of-state banks.  The estimated and final
franchise tax reports that accompany this regulation are
found in regulations 5.1101etal.0010 and 5.1101etal.0011,
respectively.

II.  Definitions

A. “Bank” means every bank and every corporation
conducting a banking business of any kind or plan whose
principal place of business is in this State, except a national
bank.

B. “Banking organization” means:
1. A bank or bank and trust company organized

and existing under the laws of this State;
2. A national bank, including a federal savings

bank, with its principal office in this State;
3. An Edge Act corporation organized pursuant

to §25(a) of the Federal Reserve Act, 12 U.S.C. §611 et
seq., or a state chartered corporation exercising the powers
granted thereunto pursuant to an agreement with the Board
of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, and
maintaining an office in this State;

4. A federal branch or agency licensed pursuant
to §4 and §5 of the International Banking Act of 1978, 12
U.S.C. §3101 et seq., to maintain an office in this State;

5. A foreign bank limited purpose branch or
foreign bank agency organized pursuant to Chapter 14 of
Title 5; or

6. A resulting branch in this State of an out-of-
state bank, or a branch office in this State of an out-of-

state bank.

C. “International Banking Transaction” shall mean
any of the following transactions, whether engaged in by
a banking organization, any foreign branch thereof
(established pursuant to 5 Del. C. §771 or federal law) or
any subsidiary corporation directly or indirectly owned
by any banking organization:

1. The financing of the exportation from, or the
importation into, the United States or between jurisdictions
abroad of tangible property or services;

2. The financing of the production, preparation,
storage or transportation of tangible personal property or
services which are identifiable as being directly and solely
for export from, or import into, the United States or
between jurisdictions abroad;

3. The financing of contracts, projects or
activities to be performed substantially abroad, except
those transactions secured by a mortgage, deed of trust or
other lien upon real property located in this State;

4. The receipt of deposits or borrowings or the
extensions of credit by an international banking facility,
except the loan or deposit of funds secured by mortgage,
deed of trust or other lien upon real property located in
this State;

5. The underwriting, distributing and dealing
in debt and equity securities outside of the United States
and the conduct of any activities permissible to a banking
organization described in subsection B.3 above, or any of
its subsidiaries, in connection with the transaction of
banking or other financial operations; or

6. The entering into foreign exchange trading
or hedging transactions in connection with the activities
described in paragraphs (1) through (5) above.

D. “International Banking Facility” means a set of
asset and liability accounts, segregated on the books of a
banking organization, that includes only international
banking facility deposits, borrowings and extensions of
credit.

E. “National Bank” means a banking association
organized under the authority of the United States and
having a principal place of business in this State.

F. “Net Operating Income Before Taxes” means the
total net income calculated in accordance with Section IX
of this Regulation, with adjustments made for securities
gains or losses and other appropriate adjustments.

G. “Out-of-state bank” has the same meaning as in
§795 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, which is (i) a State
bank, as defined in the Federal Deposit Insurance Act, as
amended, at 12 U.S.C. §1813(a), that is not chartered under

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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Delaware law, or (ii) a national bank association created
under the National Bank Act (12 U.S.C. §21 et seq.) whose
organization certificate identifies an address outside
Delaware as the place at which its discount and deposit
operations are to be carried out.

H. “Resulting branch in this State of an out-of-state
bank” has the same meaning as in §1101(a) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code, which is a branch office in this State
of an out-of-state bank resulting from a merger as provided
in Subchapter VII of Chapter 7 of Title 5 of the Delaware
Code, and, in addition, a branch office in this State of an
out-of-state bank.

I. “Securities Business” means to engage in the sale,
distribution and underwriting of, and deal in, stocks,
bonds, debentures, notes or other securities.

J. “Trust Company” means a trust company or
corporation doing a trust company business which has a
principal place of business in this State.

III. Estimated Franchise Tax

A resulting branch or branches in this State of an out-of-
state bank whose franchise tax liability for the current year,
on a consolidated basis, is estimated to exceed $10,000
shall file an estimated franchise tax report with the State
Bank Commissioner and pay estimated tax.

A. 1. Filing.  The estimated franchise tax report
shall be filed with the State Bank Commissioner on the
first day of March of the current year.

2. Penalty for late filing.  A late filing penalty
shall be assessed against the taxpayer in the amount of
$25 for each day after the due date that the taxpayer fails
to file the estimated franchise tax report required above
in section III.A.1., unless the State Bank Commissioner is
satisfied that such failure was not willful.

B. Form.  The estimated franchise tax report shall
be in the form set out in Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0010;

C. Calculation of estimated tax.  The total estimated
annual franchise tax shall be calculated as follows:

1. The estimated net operating income before
taxes of the resulting branch or branches in this State of
the out-of-state bank, which includes the income of any
corporation making an election as provided in Regulation
No. 5.1101(f).0001;

2. Increased by the resulting branch imputed
capital addback for the preceding income year (calculated
in accordance with Section IV.C.2. of this Regulation).

3. Adjusted for any estimated income from an

insurance division or subsidiary;
4. Less any deductions set forth in 5 Del. C.

§1101;
5. Multiplied by .56 to arrive at estimated

taxable income;
6. The appropriate rate of taxation set forth in

5 Del. C. §1105 shall be applied;
7. The subtotal estimated annual franchise tax

shall be adjusted for tax credits applicable pursuant 5 Del.
C. §1105, which are calculated in accordance with
Regulation No. 5.1105.0008.

8. The subtotal estimated annual franchise tax
shall be adjusted for Travelink tax credits calculated in
accordance with Department of Transportation Travelink
tax credit reporting requirements.

D. Payment of estimated tax.  The estimated tax
liability shall be due and payable as follows:

40% due on or before June 1 of the current taxable
year;

20% due on or before September 1 of the current
taxable year;

20% due on or before December 1 of the current
taxable year.

IV. Final Franchise Tax

A. 1. Filing.  The December 31 call report, verified
by oath, setting forth the net operating income, on a
consolidated basis, of the resulting branch or branches in
this State of the out-of-state bank and the final franchise
tax report, setting forth the “taxable income”, on a
consolidated basis, of the resulting branch or branches in
this State of the out-of-state bank, shall be filed with the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner on or before
January 30 each year; provided, however, that a resulting
branch of an out-of-state bank that is entitled to take an
additional 15 days to submit its Report of Condition and
Income to the appropriate federal bank supervisory
authority shall file the December 31 call report and the
final franchise tax report with the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner on or before February 15 of each year.

2. Penalty for late filing.  A late filing penalty
shall be assessed against the taxpayer in the amount of
$25 for each day after the due date that the taxpayer fails
to file the final franchise tax report required above in
subsection IV.A.1., unless the State Bank Commissioner
is satisfied that such failure was not willful.

B. Form.  The final franchise tax report shall be in
the form set out in Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0011.

C. Calculation of final tax.  The total final franchise
tax shall be calculated as follows:
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1. The net operating income before taxes of the

resulting branch or branches in this State of the out-of-
state bank, which includes the income of any corporation
making an election as provided in Regulation No.
5.1101(f).0001;

2. Increased by the resulting branch imputed
capital addback, which is the product of the greater of the
products determined under subparagraphs (a) and (b) of
this subsection (2) and the average of the monthly short-
term applicable federal rates, as determined under
§1274(d) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as
amended (26 U.S.C. §1274(d)), or any successor
provisions thereto, and as published each month in the
Internal Revenue Bulletin, for the twelve-month period
preceding the date on which the resulting branch imputed
capital addback is being determined.

a. The product of (i) the deposits recorded
on the books of the resulting branch in this State, and (ii)
the minimum risk-based capital ratio (expressed as a
decimal fraction) that a resulting branch in this State would
be required to maintain, if it were a bank, in order to be
deemed “adequately capitalized” pursuant to 12 C.F.R.
Part 325.

b. The product of (i) the value of that
portion of the total risk-weighted assets (as defined in 12
C.F.R. Part 325) of the out-of-state bank operating the
resulting branch in this State that are attributable to such
resulting branch in accordance with section IX.C of this
regulation, and (ii) the minimum risk-based capital ratio
(expressed as a decimal fraction) that a resulting branch
in this State would be required to maintain, if it were a
bank, in order to be deemed ‘adequately capitalized’
pursuant to 12 C.F.R. Part 325.

3. Adjusted for any income from an insurance
division or subsidiary;

4. Less any deduction set forth in 5 Del. C.
§1101;

5. Multiplied by .56 to arrive at “taxable
income”;

6. The appropriate rate of taxation set forth in
5 Del. C. §1105 shall be applied to the taxable income to
arrive at subtotal annual franchise tax;

7. The subtotal annual franchise tax shall be
adjusted for tax credits pursuant to 5 Del.C. §1105, which
are calculated in accordance with Regulation No.
5.1105.0008.

8. The subtotal annual franchise tax shall be
adjusted for Travelink tax credits calculated in accordance
with Department of Transportation Travelink tax credit
reporting requirements.

V. Payment of Final Franchise Tax

A. Taxes owed for the previous calendar year are

due and payable on or before March 1 of the following
year.  Checks or other forms of payment should be made
payable or directed to the State of Delaware.

B. The amount due and payable on or before March
1 for the previous calendar year shall be the final franchise
tax, less any estimated tax payments made for the taxable
year, plus any additional tax due to underpayment of
estimated franchise tax or installment.  If the final franchise
tax is not paid by March 1, a penalty for late payment of
the final franchise tax shall be assessed.

VI. Additional Tax Due to Underpayment of Estimated
Franchise Tax or Installment

A. In the case of any underpayment of estimated
franchise tax or installment of estimated tax required by
Chapter 11 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, there shall be
added to the tax for the taxable year an amount determined
at the rate of 0.05 percent per day upon the amount of the
underpayment for the period of the underpayment.  The
amount of the underpayment shall be the excess of:

1. The amount of the estimated franchise tax
or installment payment which would be required to be
made if the estimated tax were equal to 80 percent of the
tax shown on the final return for the taxable year, or if no
return were filed, 80 percent of the tax for such year, over;

2. The amount, if any, of the estimated tax or
installment paid on or before the last date prescribed for
payment.

B. The period of the underpayment shall run from
the date the estimated franchise tax or installment was
required to be paid to the earlier of the date when such
estimated tax or installment is paid or the date of the final
payment of tax for the year;

C. Notwithstanding the above, the addition to the
tax with respect to any underpayment of estimated
franchise tax or any installment shall not be imposed if
the total amount of all payments of estimated tax made on
or before the last date prescribed for the payment thereof
equals or exceeds the amount which would have been
required to be paid on or before such date if the estimated
tax were the tax shown on the final return of the resulting
branch(es) of the out-of-state bank for the preceding
taxable year; provided, however, that this paragraph C
shall not apply if the out-of-state bank, or any predecessor
thereof, had taxable income of $200,000 or more for any
of the three taxable years immediately preceding the
taxable year involved.

D. Notwithstanding the above, the addition to the
tax with respect to any underpayment of estimated
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franchise tax or any installment shall not be imposed if
the addition is attributable to the difference between the
imputed capital addback for the current and preceding
income years.

VII. Penalty - Late Payment of Final Franchise Tax

In the case of a late payment of final franchise tax as
required by Chapter 11 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code,
there shall be added to the tax a penalty in an amount
determined at the rate of 0.05 percent per day until required
payment is made.

VIII. Election to be l isted as a “Subsidiary
Corporation”

Any corporation which has elected to be treated as a
“subsidiary corporation” of the resulting branch(es) of the
out-of-state bank pursuant to §1101(f) and filed with the
State Bank Commissioner the required election form in
accordance with Commissioner’s Regulation No.
5.1101(f).0001 shall provide (a) a tentative report of
income for the electing corporation covering estimated
bank franchise tax liability for the current income year to
be submitted in conjunction with the estimated franchise
tax report due March 1 for the resulting branch(es) of the
out-of-state bank whose franchise tax liability for the
current year is estimated to exceed $10,000, and (b) a
report of income for the electing corporation as of
December 31 of each year to be submitted in conjunction
with the Final Franchise Tax Report due January 30 or
February 15, as applicable.

IX. Separate Accounting by Resulting Branches

A. Books and Records.  Each resulting branch must
keep a separate set of books and records as if it were an
entity separate from the rest of the bank that operates such
resulting branch.  These books and records must reflect
the following items attributable to the resulting branch:

1. Assets and the credit equivalent amounts of
off-balance sheet items used in computing the risk-based
capital ratio under 12 C.F.R. part 325;

2. Liabilities;
3. Income and gain;
4. Expense and loss.

B. Consolidation of Delaware Branches.  If a bank
operates more than one resulting branch, it may treat all
resulting branches as a single separate entity for purposes
of computing the assets, liabilities, income, gain, expense,
and loss referred to above.

C. Determining Assets Attributable to a Resulting
Branch

1. General Principle of Asset Attribution.  The
general principle will be to attribute assets to a resulting
branch if personnel at the resulting branch actively and
materially participate in the solicitation, investigation,
negotiation, approval, or administration of an asset.

2. Loans and Finance Leases.  These assets will
be attributed to a resulting branch if personnel at the
resulting branch actively and materially participated in the
solicitation, investigation, negotiation, final approval, or
administration of a loan or financing lease.  Loans include
all types of loans, including credit and travel card accounts
receivable.

3. Stocks and Debt Securities.  These assets will
be attributed to a resulting branch if personnel at the
resulting branch actively and materially participated in the
acquisition of such assets.

4. Foreign Exchange Contracts and Futures,
Options, Swaps, and Similar Assets.  These assets will be
attributed to a resulting branch if personnel at the resulting
branch actively and materially participated in the
solicitation, investigation, negotiation, acquisition, or
administration of such assets.

5. Patents, Copyrights, Trademarks, and
Similar Intellectual Property.  These assets will be
attributed to a resulting branch if personnel at the resulting
branch actively and materially participated in the licensing
of such asset.

6. Currency.  U.S. and foreign currency will be
attributed to a resulting branch if physically stored at the
resulting branch.

7. Tangible Personal and Real Property.  These
assets (including bullion and other precious metals) will
be attributed to a resulting branch if they are located at or
are part of the physical facility of a resulting branch.

8. Other Business Assets.  Other business assets
will be attributed to a resulting branch if personnel at the
resulting branch actively and materially participated in the
acquisition of such assets.

9. Credit Equivalent Amounts of Regulatory
Off-Balance Sheet Items Taken Into Account in
Determining Risk-Based Capital Ratio.  These are the
credit equivalent amounts of off-balance sheet items
described in Appendix A to 12 C.F.R. part 325 (the
“Appendix”) not otherwise addressed above (e.g.,
guarantees, surety contracts, standby letters of credit,
commercial letters of credit, risk participations, sale and
repurchase agreements and asset sales with recourse if not
already included on the balance sheet, forward agreements
to purchase assets, securities lent (if the lending bank is
exposed to risk of loss), bid and performance bonds,
commitments, revolving underwriting facilities, note
issuance facilities described in the Appendix).  These
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assets will be attributed to a resulting branch if personnel
at the resulting branch actively and materially participated
in the solicitation, investigation, negotiation, acquisition,
or administration of such assets.

D. Liabilities Attributable to a Resulting Branch.
The liabilities attributable to a resulting branch shall be
the deposits recorded on the books of the resulting branch
plus any other legally enforceable obligations of the
resulting branch recorded on the books of the resulting
branch or its parent.

E. Income of a Resulting Branch.
1. Income from Assets.  Income and gain from

assets (including fees from off-balance sheet items)
attributed to a resulting branch in accordance with the rules
in section IX.C above will be attributed to the resulting
branch.

2. Income from Fees.  Fee income not attributed
to a resulting branch in accordance with 1. above will be
attributed to the resulting branch depending on the type
of fee income.

a. Fee income from letters of credit,
travelers checks, and money orders will be attributed to
the resulting branch if the letters of credit, travelers checks,
or money orders are issued by the resulting branch, except
to the extent that 1. requires otherwise.

b. Fee income from services (e.g., trustee
and custodian fees) will be attributed to the resulting
branch if the services generating the fees are performed
by personnel at the resulting branch.  If services are
performed both within and without Delaware, the fees from
such services must be allocated between Delaware and
other states based on the relative value of the services or
upon the time spent in rendering the services or on some
other reasonable basis.  The basis for allocation must be
disclosed and applied consistently from period to period.

F. Determining the Expenses of a Resulting Branch.
1. Interest.  The amount of interest expense of

a resulting branch shall be the actual interest booked by
the resulting branch, which should reflect market rates.

2. Direct Expenses of a Resulting Branch.
Expenses or other deductions that can be specifically
identified with the gross income, gains, losses, deductions,
assets, liabilities or other activities of the resulting branch
are direct expenses of such resulting branch.  Examples
of such expenses are payroll, rent, depreciation and
amortization of assets attributed to the resulting branch,
some taxes, insurance, the cost of supplies and fees for
services rendered to the resulting branch.

3. Indirect Expenses of a Resulting Branch.
Expenses or other deductions that cannot be specifically
identified with the gross income, gains, losses, deductions,

assets, liabilities, or other activities of a resulting branch
must be allocated between the resulting branch and the
rest of the bank operating the resulting branch.  If the bank
makes such an allocation on any reasonable basis, and
applies such basis consistently from period to period, the
allocation likely will be respected.  If the bank makes no
such allocation, such expenses could be allocated on the
basis of the ratio of assets of the resulting branch to the
assets of the entire bank or based on the ratio of gross
income of the resulting branch to gross income of the entire
bank.

Regulation No.:  5.1101etal.0010
Proposed

ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX REPORT FOR
RESULTING BRANCHES IN THIS STATE OF OUT-

OF-STATE BANKS
(5 Del. C., Chapter 11)

This report shall be completed by the resulting
branch(es) in this State of an out of state bank with an
estimated tax liability in excess of $10,000 in a given year.
The completed report is to be filed in the Office of the
State Bank Commissioner on or before March 1 of the
current year.  Instructions for the preparation of this report
are found in Regulation 5.1101etal.0009.

Name of Out-of-State Bank

Location

List corporation(s) electing under
Section 1101(f) and attach hereto
separate reports of estimated income for
each Electing Corporation (include
Federal Employer Identif ication
number).

Rounded to the
nearest thousand $

1. Estimated net operating income
before taxes ( including income of
Electing Corporations)

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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2. Plus: Resulting branch imputed
capital addback for the preceding income
year

3. Less: Adjustment for income from
an insurance division or subsidiary

4. Subtotal

5. Less:

(a) Net operating income before
taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the
United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other
applicable Delaware law, which is
otherwise subject to income taxation
under Delaware law.

(b) Net operating income before
taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States but outside of Delaware pursuant
to federal law or other applicable
Delaware law, which is derived and
subject to income taxation under the laws
of another state, and that portion of net
operating income before taxes from any
such entity other than a Delaware-
chartered banking organization or a
national bank located in this State (as
defined in §801(5)of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code), which entity is a
banking organization and which is
subject to income taxation under the laws
of another state.  In no event shall the
amount of income excluded exceed
50% of such subsidiary’s net operating
income before taxes in the case of a
subsidiary engaged in a securit ies
business.

(c) Net operating income before
taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the

United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other
applicable Delaware law, which is
derived from business activities carried
on outside the State, which subsidiary,
foreign bank or other branch established
outside of Delaware is subject to shares
tax under the laws of another state.  In
no event shall the income excluded
exceed 50% of such subsidiary’s net
operating income before taxes in the case
of a subsidiary engaged in a securities
business.

(d) Net operating income before
taxes from any non-United States branch
office provided that at least 80% of gross
income of such off ice constitutes
“income from sources without the United
States” as defined under §862(a) of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as
amended, or any successor provisions
thereto.

(e) Gross income from
international banking transactions after
subtracting therefrom any expenses or
deductions attributable thereto.

(f) Gross income from
international banking facilities less any
attr ibutable expenses or other
deductions.

(g) Interest income from
obligations of  volunteer fire companies.

(h) Any examination fee paid to the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner
pursuant to §127(a) of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code.

6. Total deductions (add lines 5(a)-(h))

7. Estimated total income before taxes
(subtract item 6 from item 4)

x .56
 8. Estimated taxable income
(calculated to nearest dollar)
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9. Estimated subtotal annual franchise
tax liability (before tax credits)

Calculation Table:

First  $20,000,000 of item 8 at 8.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 8 at 6.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 8 at 4.7%
Next  $620,000,000 of item 8 at

2.7%
Amount of i tem 8 over

$650,000,000 at 1.7%

Subtotal

10. Less:  Total employment tax credits
(calculated in  accordance with
Regulation No. 51105.0008, completed
worksheet attached hereto)

11. Less:  Travelink tax credits
(calculated in accordance with
Department of Transportation Travelink
tax credit reporting requirements)

12. Estimated total annual franchise tax
liability (subtract items 10 and 11 from
item 9) $

13. Payment structure and dates      $ Amount

June 1 40% of estimate due
September 1 20% of estimate due
December 1 20% of estimate due
March 1 (of succeeding year)

Final payment

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this
report, including any accompanying schedules and
statements, has been prepared in conformance with the
appropriate instructions and is true and correct to the best
of my knowledge and belief.

Date Signature of President, Title
Treasurer, or Other
Proper Officer

Print Name Phone No.

Print Address

Regulation No.:  5.1101etal.0011
Proposed

FINAL FRANCHISE TAX REPORT
FOR RESULTING BRANCHES IN THIS STATE

OF OUT-OF-STATE BANKS
(5 Del. C., Chapter 11)

This report shall be completed by all resulting
branch(es) in this state of out-of-state banks and submitted
to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner on or before
January 30; provided, however, that a resulting branch of
an out-of-state bank that is entitled to take an additional
15 days to submit its Report of Condition and Income to
the appropriate federal bank supervisory authority shall
submit this report to the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner on or before February 15.  Income reported
is for the previous calendar year.  Instructions for the
preparation of this report are found in Regulation
5.1101etal.0009.

Name of Out-of-State Bank

Location

List corporation(s) electing under
Section 1101(f) and attach hereto
separate reports of income for each
Electing Corporation (include Federal
Employer Identification number).

Rounded to the
nearest thousand $

1. Net operating income before taxes
(including income of Electing
Corporations)

2. Plus:  Resulting branch imputed
capital addback

3. Less:  Adjustment for income from
an insurance division or subsidiary
(report of income attached hereto).

4. Subtotal

5. Less:
(a) Net operating income before

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the
United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other
applicable Delaware law, which is
otherwise subject to income taxation
under Delaware law.

(b) Net operating income before
taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the
United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other
applicable Delaware law, which is
derived from business activities carried
on outside the State and subject to
income taxation under the laws of
another state, and that portion of net
operating income before taxes from any
such entity other than a Delaware-
chartered banking organization or a
national bank located in this State (as
defined in §801(5)of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code), which entity is a
banking organization and which is
subject to income taxation under the laws
of another state.  In no event shall the
amount of income e x c l u d e d
exceed 50% of such subsidiary’s net
operating income before taxes in the case
of a subsidiary engaged in a securities
business.

(c) Net operating income before
taxes verif iable by documentary
evidence from any subsidiary or foreign
branch established within the United
States pursuant to §771 of Title 5, or
other branch established within the
United States but outside of Delaware
pursuant to federal law or other
applicable Delaware law, which is
derived from business activities carried
on outside the State, which subsidiary,
foreign branch or other branch
established outside of Delaware is
subject to shares tax under the laws of
another state.  In no event shall the

income excluded exceed 50% of such
subsidiary’s net operating income before
taxes in the case of a subsidiary engaged
in a securities business.

(d) Net operating income before
taxes from any non-United States branch
office provided that  at least 80% of gross
income of such off ice constitutes
“income from sources without the United
States” as defined under §862(a) of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as
amended, or any successor provisions
thereto.

(e) Gross income from
international banking transactions after
subtracting therefrom any expenses or
deductions attributable thereto.

(f) Gross income from
international banking facilities less any
attr ibutable expenses or other
deductions.

(g) Interest income from
obligations of volunteer fire companies.

(h) Any examination fee paid to the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner
pursuant to §127(a) of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code.

6. Total deductions (add lines 5(a)-(h))

7. Total income before taxes (subtract
item 6 from item 4)

x .56
8. Taxable income (calculated to
nearest dollar)

9. Subtotal annual franchise tax
liability (before tax credits)

Calculation Table:

First  $20,000,000 of item 8 at 8.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 8 at 6.7%
Next   $ 5,000,000 of item 8 at 4.7%
Next  $620,000,000 of item 8 at

2.7%
Amount of i tem 8 over

$650,000,000 at 1.7%

Subtotal



243

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 1997

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
10. Less: Total employment tax
credits (calculated in  accordance with
Regulation No. 5.1105.0008,  completed
worksheet attached hereto)

11. Less: Travelink tax credits
(calculated in  accordance with
Department of Transportation Travelink
tax credit report ing requirements,
completed worksheet attached hereto)

12. Total annual franchise tax liability
(subtract items 10 and 11 from item 9) $

13. Less: Estimated tax payments
a.  June 1 payment $

b. September 1 payment

c.  December 1 payment
d. Total estimated tax payments

(add items 13a, 13b and 13c)

14. March 1 final tax payment (subtract
item 13d from item 12)

15. Additional tax due to underpayment
of estimated franchise tax or installment
(if applicable)

16. Penalty for late payment of final
franchise tax (if applicable)

17. Total final tax payment (add items
14, 15 and 16) $

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this
report, including any accompanying schedules and
statements, has been prepared in conformance with the
appropriate instructions and is true and correct to the best
of my knowledge and belief.

Date Signature of President, Title
Treasurer or Other
Proper Officer

Print Name Phone No.

Print Address

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION  OF REVENUE

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code
Section 4805(a) (29 Del.C. 4805(a))

DELAWARE STATE LOTTERY OFFICE

The Commission proposes these amendments pursuant
to 29 Del.C. sections 4805(a), 4805 (a)(24)(f), 4805(25)
and 29 Del.C. section 10115.  The proposed rules would
require employee organization seeking to represent video
lottery employees to register with the Lottery Office.  The
employee organization and its key employees would be
subject to a registration and background investigation
process.  The new rules would also promulgate procedures
for background investigations of new Lottery employees
in positions involving access to sales agents or video
lottery agents.  The proposed Rules will be considered by
the Lottery at a public hearing on September 23, 1997 at
3:00 p.m. at the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, Delaware.  Copies of the proposed rules may be
obtained from the Lottery Office.  Comments may be
submitted in writing to the Lottery Office on or before
4:00 p.m. on September 30, 1997 and/or in person at the
hearing.  The Lottery Office is located at 1575 McKee
Road, Suite 102, Dover, Delaware 19901 and the phone
number is (302)739-5291.

DELAWARE STATE LOTTERY OFFICE
VIDEO LOTTERY EMPLOYEE ORGANIZATION

AND LOTTERY EMPLOYEE REGULATIONS

1.0     Introduction

These regulations are authorized pursuant to section
4805 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code.  Video lottery
operations in the State of Delaware are strictly regulated
by the Delaware State Lottery Office through the powers
delegated to the Director of the Lottery pursuant to Title
29 of the Delaware Code.

2.0      Definitions

The following words shall be accorded these meanings
for purposes of these Regulations:

“Agency”  - the Delaware State Lottery Office created
pursuant to 29 Del. C. chapter 48.

“agent” or “licensed agent” or “licensed video lottery
agent”  -   any person licensed by the Director of the
Agency to conduct licensed video lottery operations.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/finance/finde.htm
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“applicant” - any person applying for a license authorized
under these regulations.

“background investigations” - the security, fitness, and
background checks conducted of an applicant.

“Director” - the Director of the Delaware State Lottery
Office as established by Title 29 of the Delaware Code.

“employee organization” - any organization that admits
or seeks to admit to membership employees of a Delaware
video lottery agent and which has a purpose the
representation of such employees in collective bargaining,
grievance representation, labor disputes, salaries, wages,
rates of pay, hours of employment, or conditions of work.

“key employee” - any officer and any employee of an
employee organization who has direct involvement with
or who exercises authority, discretion or influence in the
representation of employees of a Delaware video lottery
agent in collective bargaining, grievance representation,
labor disputes, salaries, wages, rates of pay, hours of
employment or conditions of work.

“licensee” - any person authorized by the Director to
participate in video lottery operations.

“Lottery” - the public gaming system or games established
and operated by the Delaware State Lottery Office.

“pension or welfare system maintained by an employee
organization” - means any pension or welfare system
created or established by an employee organization or one
or more of the trustees or one or more members of the
governing body of which is selected or appointed by the
employee organization.

“pension system” - any plan, fund or program which is
maintained by an employee organization, or by an
employee organization and an employer, to the extent that
by its express terms or as a result of surrounding
circumstances such plan, fund or program provides
retirement income to employees or results in a deferral of
income by employees for periods extending to the
termination of covered employment or beyond, regardless
of the method of calculating the contributions made to the
plan, the method of calculating the benefits under the plan
or the method of distributing benefits from the plan.

“person” - an individual, general partnership, limited
partnership, corporation or other legal entity.

“registrant” - any employee organization or key employee
applying for registration under these regulations.

“welfare system” - any plan, fund or program which is
maintained by an employee organization or by an
employee organization and an employer, to the extent that
such plan, fund or program was established or is
maintained for the purposes of providing for i ts
participants, or their beneficiaries, through the purchase
of insurance or otherwise, medical, surgical, or hospital
care or benefits, or benefits in the event of sickness,
accident, disability, death, or unemployment, or vacation
benefits, apprenticeship, or other training programs, or day
care centers, scholarship funds, or prepaid legal services,
or any other such benefit other than pension on retirement
or death, and insurance to provide such pensions.

“video lottery” - any lottery conducted with a video lottery
machine or linked video lottery machines with an
aggregate progression prize or prizes.

3.0  Registration of Employee Organizations

3.1 Any employee organization representing or
seeking to represent employees employed by a Delaware
video lottery agent shall register with the Director of the
Agency.  An employee organization shall be required to
file a registration application with the Agency within ten
(10) business days after it secures a signed authorization
card from any employee who is employed by a Delaware
video lottery agent.  Any registration statement filed by
an employee organization after the signature of an
authorization card but prior to the employee organization’s
petition for election shall not be subject to disclosure by
the Agency to any video lottery agent.

3.2 The employee organization shall register with the
Agency on registration forms supplied by the Agency.
Registration forms shall require the employee organization
to provide the following, without limitation:

(1) The name of the registrant as shown on its
charter or in its constitution;

(2) The current and former business addresses of
the registrant, including the address of any office where
matters pertaining to employees of a video lottery agent
will be conducted;

(3) The names of all persons principally involved
in the original creation of the employee organization;

(4) The name and address of: (i) all affiliates
which are either a parent body or any superior organization
with any right or ability to control, supervise, discipline
or set policy for this organization;  (ii)  all affiliates which
are chartered by the same parent body as this organization;
(iii)  all affiliates which are governed by the same
constitution or bylaws.

(5) The nature of the actual or probable
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involvement of any affiliate which represents or is seeking
to represent employees who are employed by a video
lottery agent, or which is involved or seeking to be
involved in the control or direction of such representation.

(6) Information on any pension or welfare system
maintained by the employee organization that hold any
direct financial interest in any video lottery agent or
technology provider.

(7) Disclosure of pension and welfare systems
maintained by the employee organization and the names
and titles of each officer or agent responsible for
management of the pension or welfare system.

(8) With respect to all employee organization
personnel:

(a) Full name, including any known alias or
nickname;

(b) Designation of all key labor employees
in the employee organization;

(c) Tit le or other designation in the
employee organization;

(d) A brief description of the duties and
activities of each individual;

(e) The business address and telephone
number of each individual; and,

(f) Annual compensation including salary,
allowances, and  other direct or indirect disbursements
(including  reimbursed expenses).

(9) Any other information the Director
determines is needed to determine the competence,
honesty, and integrity of the applicant as required by Title
29 of the Delaware Code.

(10) A written certification under oath in a
form signed by the local employee organization president
and secretary-treasurer, and chief official of the local
employee organization if his title is other than president
or secretary-treasurer, that the information contained on
the application is complete and accurate.

(11) A statement whether the employee
organization has ever been found by any court or
governmental agency to be unsuitable to represent
employees under a federal or state labor statute.

(12) A list of any litigation involving the
employee organization over the last five years.

(13) A Release Authorization directing all
courts, probation departments, selective service boards,
employers, educational institutions, financial and other
institutions and all governmental agencies to release any
and all information pertaining to the registrant as requested
by the Agency or the Delaware State Police.

(14) A waiver of liability as to the State and
its instrumentalities and agents for any damages resulting
to the registrant from any disclosure or publication of
information acquired during the investigation process.

3.3 To the extent, if any, that the information supplied
in the registration or otherwise supplied by the employee
organization or on the employee organization’s behalf,
becomes inaccurate or incomplete, the employee
organization shall so notify the Agency in writing as soon
as it is aware that the information is inaccurate or
incomplete, and shall at that time supply the information
necessary to correct the inaccuracy or incompleteness of
the information.

3.4 Upon request of the Agency, the employee
organization shall supplement the information provided
in the registration form as deemed necessary by the
Agency.

3.5 All registration statements filed under these
Regulations shall be valid for a one-year period and a
renewed registration form or an updated supplemental
registration form  must be filed annually.  The employee
organization filing the registration form is under a
continuing duty to promptly notify the Director of the
Agency of any changes in disclosed information.

4.0 Registration of Key Employees of Employee
Organizations

4.1   Any key employee of an employee organization
shall be required to register with the Agency at the same
time as the application for registration is filed under section
3.0 of these Regulations, or within thirty (30) days after
the date on which such individual is elected, appointed,
or hired, whichever is later.

4.2  The key employee shall register with the Agency
on registration forms supplied by the Agency.  Registration
forms shall require the key employee to provide the
following, without limitation:

(1) Name, including any aliases or nicknames;
(2) Title or position with the employee

organization;
(3) Date and place of birth;
(4) Physical description;
(5) Current address and residence history;
(6) Social security number;
(7) Cit izenship and, i f  applicable,

information concerning alien status;
(8) Telephone number at current place of

employment;
(9) Employment history, including al l

positions held with a labor organization, union or affiliate,
whether or not compensated;

(10) Excluding minor traffic offenses, a
detailed   description of the following areas of criminal
conduct, if any, including whether the crime involved is



246

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER  1, 1997

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
denominated a felony or a misdemeanor:

(i) Any convictions;
(ii) Any criminal offenses for which he was

charged, indicted or summoned to answer, but for which
he was  not convicted;

(iii) Any criminal offenses for which he
received a pardon;

(11) Whether he has ever been denied a
business, liquor, gaming, or professional license, or has
had such license revoked;

(12) Whether he has ever been found by any
court or governmental agency to be unsuitable to be
affiliated with a labor organization and if so, all details
relating thereto;

(13) Whether he has ever been subpoenaed as
a witness before any grand jury, legislative body,
administrative body, or crime commission and if so, all
details relating thereto.

(14) All key employee applicants will be
required to submit a complete set of fingerprints to the
Delaware State Bureau of Identification along with the
standard release information.

(15) Any other information the Director
determines is needed to determine the competence,
honesty, and integrity of the applicant as required by Title
29 of the Delaware Code.

(16) A written certification under oath by the
applicant that the information contained on the application
is complete and accurate.

(17) A Release Authorization directing all
courts, probation departments, selective service boards,
employers, educational institutions, financial and other
institutions and all governmental agencies to release any
and all information pertaining to the applicant as requested
by the Agency or the Delaware State Police.

(18) A waiver of liability as to the State and
its instrumentalities and agents for any damages resulting
to the applicant from any disclosure or publication of
information acquired during the investigation process.

4.3 To the extent, if any, that the information supplied
in the application form, or otherwise supplied by the
applicant, becomes inaccurate or incomplete, the applicant
shall so notify the Agency in writing as soon as it is aware
that the information is inaccurate or incomplete, and shall
at that time supply the information necessary to correct
the inaccuracy or incompleteness of the information.

4.4 Upon request of the Agency, the applicant shall
supplement the information provided in the application
form as deemed necessary by the Agency.

4.5 All  registrat ion forms f i led under these

Regulations shall be valid for a one-year period and a
renewed registration form or an updated supplemental
registration form must be filed annually.  The entity or
individual filing such form is under a continuing duty to
promptly notify the Director of any changes in disclosed
information.

5.0   Procedure for Review of Registration Applications

5.1 All registration statements filed under these
Regulations shall be valid for a one year period and a
renewed registration must be filed annually.  The entity
or individual filing such form is under a continuing duty
to promptly notify the Director of any changes in disclosed
information.  The Delaware State Police shall conduct all
background investigations required for by these
Regulations and 29 Del. C. section 4805(a)(24)(a).

5.2 All applications for registration shall be deemed
approved  unless the Director notifies the applicant within
sixty (60) days of his decision not to approve the
registration or unless extenuating circumstances require a
longer period, in which case the Director shall act with all
deliberate speed to complete the process.

5.3 The application for registration by an employee
organization or key employee of such employee
organization may be denied or registration revoked under
the following circumstances:

(i) If the employee organization or key employee
of such employee organization is in violation of standards
established under the Labor Management Reporting and
Disclosure Procedure Prohibition Against Persons Holding
Office, 29 U.S.C. section 504(a).

(ii) The applicant’s competence, honesty or
integrity pose a threat to the public interest of the State or
to the reputation of or effective regulation and control of
the video lottery based on the applicant’s associations or
by virtue of the fact that the applicant has been convicted
of a felony crime of moral turpitude or arrested for an
act constituting racketeering under 11 Del. C. section
1502(9)(a)(b)(2)(4-10) within ten (10) years prior to
applying for registration hereunder or at anytime
thereafter.  Any employee or employee organization
denied registration based on an arrest for an act
constituting racketeering under 11 Del. C. section
1502(9)(a)(b)(2)(4-10) may apply for reconsideration of
registration if subsequently acquitted or a nolle prosequi
is entered or the charge is otherwise dismissed.  In such
instances, the Lottery shall reconsider the applicant’s
registration based on the criteria set forth in these
Regulations and 29 Del. C. section 4805(a)(24).

(iii) The organization or individual has
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knowingly made or caused to be made any written
statement to any representative of the Agency or the
Delaware State Police or who has orally responded to an
official inquiry by the Agency, its employees or agents,
which was at the time and in light of circumstances under
which it was made false or misleading.

(iv) The organization or key employee
thereof holds or obtains a direct financial interest in any
video lottery agent, provided the employee organization
is provided a thirty (30) day period to divest of any such
direct financial interest.

5.4 Any employee organization may continue to
provide services to employees of a Delaware video lottery
agent during the review of the application process and the
appeal process, except where the employee organization
is found in violation of section 5.3(iv) of these Regulations
or there has been a previous violation of sections 5.3(i-
iii) of these Regulations by the employee organization
within the previous ten (10) years.

5.5 The failure of any key employee to satisfy the
requirements of sections 5.3(i-iv) of these Regulations may
constitute grounds for suspension of the registration of
the employee organization if the organization does not
remove the key employee from his or her duties as defined
in 29 Del. C. section 4803(j) and the definition of “key
employee” contained in section 2.0 of these Regulations.
The employee organization will be given a reasonable
opportunity to remove or replace any key employee found
to be in violation of sections 5.3(i-iv) of these Regulations.

5.6 In any case where the Director determines that a
registration of an employee organization or key employee
shall be denied or revoked, the Agency shall first give
written notice to the applicant or registrant of the intended
action, the reasons therefor, and the right to a hearing as
provided for in 29 Del. C. chapter 101.  The notice of the
intended denial, suspension, or revocation shall comply
with any applicable requirements of the Delaware
Administrative Procedures Act in 29 Del. C. sections
10133-10134 and, at a minimum, afford the applicant or
registrant  an opportunity for a hearing.

5.7 If the applicant or registrant desires a hearing, it
shall provide the Agency with a written statement within
ten days of receipt of the notice which contains the
following:

(1) A clear and concise assignment of each error
which the applicant or registrant alleges to have been
committed in the tentative determination to deny, suspend,
or revoke the registration.  Each assignment of error should
be listed in a separately numbered paragraph.

(2) A clear and concise statement of the facts on

which the applicant or registrant relies in support of each
assignment of error.

(3) A prayer setting forth the relief sought.
(4) The signature of the individual or an officer

of the employee organization authorized to request the
hearing.

(5) A verification by the person requesting the
hearing or counsel that the statements contained in the
statement are true.

5.8 The Secretary of Finance shall ,  within a
reasonable time, if requested by the Director, appoint a
hearing officer to determine whether the application for
registration should be denied, suspended, or revoked.  The
appointed hearing officer shall be bound to conduct all
hearings in conformance with the requirements of 29 Del.
C. section 10131.  Notice of the hearing shall be given at
least twenty (20) days before the date it is to be held.

5.9 The applicant or registrant may appear
individually, by legal counsel, or by any other duly
authorized representative.  In the absence of the registrant,
written evidence of a representative’s authority shall be
presented to the hearing officer in a form satisfactory to
the hearing officer.

5.10 The applicant or registrant or his duly
authorized representative, may with the approval of a
hearing officer waive the hearing and agree to submit the
case for decision on the record, with or without a written
brief.  Such a waiver or agreement shall be in writing and
placed on the record.

5.11 The applicant or registrant shall be given an
opportunity for argument within the time limits fixed by
the hearing officer following submission of the evidence.
The hearing officer, upon request of the licensee, may
accept briefs in lieu of argument.  The briefs shall be filed
within ten days after the hearing date or within such other
time as fixed by the hearing officer.

5.12 The Delaware Uniform Rules of Evidence
shall be in effect in all proceedings before the hearing
officer.  The hearing officer may exclude any evidence
which is irrelevant, unduly repetitious, or lacking a
substantial probative effect.

5.13 A record shall be made of all hearings and
all witnesses shall be sworn and subject to cross
examination.

5.14 Following the conclusion of the hearing and
within ten days of the receipt of the transcript thereof, or
within such other time as fixed by the hearing officer but
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in no event later than 45 days following the hearing, the
hearing officer shall prepare a final decision, including
his or her findings of fact and conclusions of law, and the
order signed by the hearing officer shall be final.  A copy
of said order shall be served upon the party requesting the
hearing or their attorney of record in person or by
registered or certified mail.

5.15 The hearing officer’s decision to deny an
application of registration or to suspend or revoke a
registration shall be appealable to the Superior Court under
the provisions of the Delaware Administrative Procedures
Act.

6.0 Lottery Employee Investigations

6.1 The Director shall  conduct employment
investigations for any person seeking employment with
the Agency for compensation for a position which has
direct access to lottery ticket sales agents, video lottery
agents, or vendors.

6.2 Applicants for Lottery positions in section 6.1 of
these Regulations will be required to submit a set of their
fingerprints to the State Bureau of Identification along with
a signed standard release.  The submitted fingerprints shall
be processed by the S.B.I. in order to provide the Director
with the individual’s entire federal and state criminal
history record.

6.3 Any applicant for a Lottery position in section
6.1 of these Regulations shall be required to submit an
application form to the Agency to allow the Director to
determine that the applicant does not pose a threat to the
public interest of the State of Delaware or the integrity of
the Lottery Office.  The application materials shall request,
without limitation:

(1) Name, including any al iases or
nicknames;

(2) Title or position to be applied for;
(3) Date and place of birth;
(4) Current address and residence history;
(5) Social security number;
(6) Cit izenship and, i f  applicable,

information concerning alien status;
(7) Telephone number;
(8) Employment and educational history.
(9) Qualifications for the position applied

for;
(10) Excluding minor traffic offenses, a

detailed description of the following areas of criminal
conduct, i f  any, including whether the crime is
denominated a felony or a misdemeanor:

(i) Any convictions;

(ii ) Any criminal offenses for which the
applicant was charged, indicted, or summoned to answer,
but for  which he was not convicted;

(iii ) Any criminal offense for which he
received a pardon;

Any other information the Director determines is
needed to determine the qualifications and fitness of the
applicant.

7.0    Severability

The sections and subsections of these rules and
regulations shall be deemed severable.  Should any section
or subsection be deemed by judicial opinion or legislative
enactment to be invalid, unconstitutional or in any manner
contrary to the laws of the State of Delaware, then such
opinion or enactment shall invalidate only that particular
section or subsection of these rules and regulations and
all other sections shall remain in full force and effect.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
DELAWARE  THOROUGHBRED RACING

COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code, Section
10103, 10128(m)(1), (3 Del.C. 10103,

10128(m)(1))

Proposed Rule Amendments

The Commission proposes these amendments pursuant
to 3 Del. C. sections 10103 and 10128(m)(1), and 29 Del.
C. section 10115.  The proposed revision to Rule 13.16
would extend the time period for an owner to claim horses
in a new race meet when the owner’s stable has been
previously eliminated due to claims.  The proposed
amendment to Rule 15.02(e) would allow for the use of
lasix in two year old horses after September 1st of the
race meet.  The amendment is intended to follow the
practice of the majority of surrounding states that permit
the use of lasix in two year old horses to control bleeding.
The proposed Rules will be considered by the Commission
at its next regularly scheduled meeting on September 23,
1997 at 11:00 a.m. at Delaware Park, Stanton, DE.  Copies
of the proposed rules may be obtained from the
Commission.  Comments may be submitted in writing to
the Commission office on or before 4:00 p.m. on
September 30, 1997 and/or in person at the hearing.  The
Commission Office is located at 2320 South DuPont
Highway, Dover, DE 19901 and the phone number is

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/deptagri.htm
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(302)739-4811.

13.14 Invalidation of Claim:

Claims which are not made in keeping with the Rules
shall be void.  The Stewards may, at any time in their
discretion, require any person filing a claim to furnish an
affidavit in writing that he is claiming in accordance with
these Rules.  The Stewards shall be the judges of the
validity of the claim and, if they feel that a “starter” was
nominated for the purpose of making its owner eligible to
claim, they may invalidate the claim.

13.15 Necessity to Record Lien:

Any person holding a lien of any kind against a horse
entered in a claiming race must record the same with the
Racing Secretary and/or Horsemen’s Bookkeeper at least
thirty (30) minutes before post time for that race. . If none
is so recorded, it shall be conclusively assumed, for
claiming purposes, that none exists.

13.16 Claiming Privileges -- Eliminated Stable:

An Owner whose stable has been completely eliminated
by claiming shall have the right to claim during the
remainder of the meeting at which his stable was
eliminated.  After claiming a horse under the conditions
of this Rule, the Owner shall be required to reinstate his
eligibility to claim before being eligible to make another
claim.

If a person’s stable shall be eliminated with thirty (30)
racing days or less remaining in the current racing season,
and such person is unable to replace the horse(s) lost via a
claim by the end of the racing season, such person may
apply to the Stewards for an additional thirty (30) racing
days of eligibility to claim in the new race meeting as long
as the person owns no other horses at the start of the next
race meeting.

13.17 Claim Embraces Horse’s Prior Engagements:

The engagements of a claimed horse pass automatically
with the horse to the claimant.

15.02     Bleeder Medication:

Notwithstanding anything in the Rules of Racing to the
contrary, the Stewards may permit the administration of
Furosemide (Lasix) to control epistaxis (bleeding) to
horses under the following conditions:

(a) A horse which, during a race or workout at a duly
licensed race track in this State or within the first hour

immediately following such a race or workout, is observed
by the Licensee’s Veterinarian or the Stewards to be
shedding blood from one or both nostrils or is found to
have bled internally. (An endoscopic examination of the
horse, in order to confirm bleeding, may be performed by
the practicing veterinarian in the presence of the Licensee’s
Veterinarian at the detention barn within one (1) hour of
workout or race.)

(b) A horse which has been certified as a bleeder in
another jurisdiction may be placed on the bleeder list
provided that the other jurisdiction qualified it as a bleeder
using criteria satisfactory to the Licensee’s Veterinarian
and the Stewards. it shall be the absolute responsibility of
the Trainer to report bleeders from other jurisdictions to
the Licensee’s veterinarian or Stewards on official forms
from that State prior to entry.

(c) The Licensee’s Veterinarian shall be responsible to
maintain an up-to-date “bleeder” list and the list shall be
available in the Racing Secretary’s office.

(d) A horse in the Bleeder Program shall be required to
be brought to a detention barn designated by the Licensee
and approved by the Commission not later than three and
one-half (3 1/2) hours before post time for the race in
which it is entered and shall remain in said detention barn
(in its assigned stall) until called to the paddock prior to
post time.  During the 3 1/2 hour period, the horse shall
be under the care and custody of a groom or caretaker
appointed by the Trainer.  The approved Furosemide
medication may be administered by a licensed practicing
veterinarian in the detention barn within three (3) hours
before post time.  The practicing veterinarian shall make
a report to the Stewards of the treatment on forms provided
by the Stewards on the same day of treatment.

(e) No 2-year-old horse will be acceptable for the
Bleeder Program until after September 1st of the race meet.

(f) A horse which bled for the first time shall not be
permitted to run for a period of ten (10) calendar days.  A
horse which bleeds a second time shall not be permitted
to run for sixty (60) calendar days. A horse which bleeds
a third time will be barred from further racing in the State
of Delaware.  A positive endoscopic examination shall be
classed as a first time bleeder.

Revised: 6/19/92.
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL

RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL
CONTROL

SHELLFISHERIES  ADVISORY COUNCIL

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 2804 (7 Del.C. 2804)

Brief Synopsis of the Subject Substance and Issue
The Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control, in consultat ion with the
Shellfisheries Advisory Council, proposes to amend
Shellfish Regulation No. S-48 CONCH MINIMUM SIZE
LIMITS, to increase the minimum size limit on channeled
conchs from 5 inches in length or 2 ¾ inches in diameter
to 6 inches in length or 3 1/8  inches in diameter with an
allowance of 5 conchs per 60 pound bushel to be less than
the minimum size or dimension.  The minimum size limits
on knobbed conchs would remain at 5 inches in length or
2 ¾ inches in diameter with no allowance for any under
sized knobbed conchs per any measure.  This change in
minimum size for channeled conchs will better conserve
their spawning stock and will provide  a higher yield per
recruit and price per pound.

Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
The Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control may reject or approve this
amendment.

Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act: 7 Del. C. §
2804.

List of other Regulations that may be impacted or affected
by this proposal. None.

Notes of Public Comment
Individuals may present their opinions and/or request

additional information by writing or visiting the Fisheries
Section, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE  19901 prior to
4:30 p.m. on October 10, 1997.  A public hearing on this
proposal will be held in the DNREC auditorium, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE  at 7:30 p.m. on Monday, October 6,
1997.

Proposed Amendment to Shellfish Regulation No. S-48

S-48 CONCH MINIMUM SIZE LIMITS

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any
channeled conch, Busycotypus  canaliculatum, that
measures less than six (6) inches in length or 3   inches in
diameter at the whorl.

(b)Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (a),
a person may possess no more than five (5) channeled
conchs per 60 pounds that are less than six (6) inches in
length or 3 1/8  inches in diameter at the whorl.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person to posses any
knobbed conch, Busycon carica, that measures less than
five (5) inches in length or 2 ¾ inches in diameter at the
whorl.

Existing Shellfish Regulation No. S-48

S-48 CONCH MINIMUM SIZE LIMITS

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any
channeled conch, Busycotypus canaliculatum, or knobbed
conch, Busycon carica, that measure less than 5 inches in
length or 2.75 inches in diameter at the whorl.

SHELLFISH REGULATIONS

The following regulations are pursuant to Title 7,
Delaware Code, Chapters 19, 21, 23, 24, 25, 27, and 28.
They are supplementary to new and revised shellfish laws.

S-1 DEFINITIONS:

1. “Commercial Shellfishing” - shall mean for any
person to possess those species of shellfish in excess of
the following quantities unless said person has a valid
receipt for all shellfish above these quantities; or as
otherwise provided by law or regulation:

(1)Oysters - one (1) bushel per vessel
(2)Blue Crabs - one (1) bushel per person
(3)Hard Clams - five hundred (500) clams per person
(4)Lobsters - two (2) lobsters per person

2. “Commercial Measure” - shall mean that unit of
measurement of a species of shellfish as described herein:

(1)Oysters - bushels
(2)Blue Crabs -bushels
(3)Clams - actual numbers or bushels
(4)Lobsters - actual numbers or pounds
(5)Blue Mussels - bushels or pounds

3. “A Person’s Intent to Sell Shellfisheries to Another”
- shall mean a person has in his possession a quantity of
that species of shellfish in excess of the quantity specified
under the definition of “Commercial Shellfishing” or this
same person advertises for sale, offers for sale or completes
the sale of any portion of that measure of shellfish to
another person.

4. “Delaware Bay”: - shall mean all those waters and

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/
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submerged lands under the jurisdiction of the State located
within an area bordered on the North by a straight line
drawn between Liston Point, Delaware and Hope Creek,
New Jersey and bordered on the South by a line drawn
from Cape May Inlet East Jetty Light to Cape May Harbor
Inlet Lighted Bell Buoy 2CM; thence to the northernmost
extremity of Cape Henlopen, but not including any
tributaries thereto.

5. “Delaware River” - shall mean all those waters and
submerged lands under the jurisdictions of the State
located within an area to the North of a straight line
connecting Liston Point, Delaware and Hope Creek, New
Jersey, but not including any tributaries thereto.

6. “Recreational Purposes” - shall  mean the
noncommercial use of shellfish that does not include the
sale, trade or barter of shellfish in quantities less than the
prescribed quantities for commercial shellfishing.

7a. “New Licensee” shall  mean for purposes of
interpreting § 1918(a), Chapter 19, Title 7, Delaware Code,
any person who has never been issued a commercial crab
pot license or any person who has not been issued a valid
commercial crab pot license by the Department before May
1, 1995 and annually thereafter when applying for the
renewal of such license.

7b. “New Licensee” shall  mean for purposes of
interpreting § 1918(b), Chapter 19, Title 7, Delaware Code,
any person who has never been issued a commercial crab
dredger’s license or any person who has not been issued a
valid crab dredger’s license by the Department before May
1, 1994 and then annually thereafter when applying for
the renewal of such license.”

8. “2 consecutive years, as it appears in §1918(c), 7
Del.C. shall mean any consecutive 24 month period.”

S-3 COMMERCIAL SHELLFISHING PROHIBITED ON
SUNDAY

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to engage
in commercial shellfishing on Sunday. (Exception. §1904,
7 Del.  C. has been amended so that crabs and conchs may
be taken on any Sunday and clams may be taken on any
Sunday between and including Memorial Day and Labor
Day.

S-5 TAKING SHELLFISH OTHER THAN OYSTERS,
CLAMS, LOBSTERS AND CRABS

(a) It shall be lawful for persons to take any
species of shellfish other than oysters, Crassostrea

virginica; clams, Mercenaria mercenaria; lobsters,
Hamarus americanus; and crabs, Callinectes sapidus from
the shellfish grounds under the jurisdiction of the State.
Oysters, clams, lobsters and crabs only maybe taken
according to the provisions of Chapters 19, 21, 23, 24,
and 25 of Title 7, Delaware Code.

(Note- Conchs only may be taken according to the
provisions of Chapter 28, 7. Del.  C.)

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person, unless
authorized to do so, to take shellfish, other than crabs and
lobsters, from natural oyster beds, the leased shellfish
grounds of other persons or those shellfish grounds closed
to shellfishing by order of the Department of Health and
Social Services.

S-7 NATURAL OYSTER BEDS - LOCATION

(a) Natural oyster beds shall mean those shellfish
grounds located to the North of the ‘East Line” in Delaware
Bay and River and shellfish grounds located upstream of
the entrances of all tributaries entering the Delaware River
and Delaware Bay under the jurisdiction of the State.

(b) The Department shall designate specific
natural oyster beds that will be open for taking seed oysters
on specific dates prior to April 1 in any given year.

S-9 OYSTERS - PUBLIC TONGING AREAS -
LOCATION

(a) Public tonging areas for oysters shall mean
those shellfish grounds located in the Delaware Bay
approximately two (2) miles Northeast of the Murderkill
River entrance to the Delaware Bay and more specifically
described as plotted on the Delaware Bay Chart No.
12304, 22nd edition, published by the National Oceanic
and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Department of
Commerce, Washington, D.C., November 1975 with Loran
C overprinted as follows:

CORNER LOCATION LORAN READING

1. Northwest Corner 9930-Y-52260.91
9930-Z-70042.54

2. Northeast Corner 9930-Y-52259.36
9930-Z-70043.20

3. Southwest Corner 9930-Y-52262.10
9930-Z-70043.80

4. Southeast Corner 9930-Y-52260.65
9930-Z-70043.95

S-11 OYSTERS - PUBLIC TONGING AREAS - SEASON
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(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest
oysters from the public tonging area located in the
Delaware Bay two (2) miles Northeast of the Murderkill
River entrance to the Delaware Bay at any time other than
September 1 through April 30 next ensuing for each year.

NOTE: It is unlawful for any person to harvest oysters
from any public tonging areas unless said person has a
valid public oyster tonger’s license.

S-13 OYSTERS - DAILY TAKE LIMITS - PUBLIC
TONGING AREA

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to take
more than fifteen(15) bushels of oysters in any one (l)
day from the oyster public tonging grounds.

S-15 HARD CLAMS - SEASON AND LIMITS FOR
COMMERCIAL CLAM TONG/RAKE LICENSE

(a) It shall be lawful for any person who has a
valid Commercial Clam Tong/Rake License to harvest hard
clams during permitted times on any date except Sunday.

(Exception- § 1904, 7 Del.  C. has been amended so that
clams may be taken on Sundays between and including
Memorial Day and Labor Day.)

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person who has a
valid Commercial Clam Tong/Rake License to harvest on
any one (1) day or possess at any time more than two
thousand five hundred (2,500) hard clams unless said
person has a valid receipt for clams in excess of two
thousand five hundred (2,500).

S-17 HARD CLAMS - SEASON AND LIMITS FOR
COMMERCIAL DREDGE CLAM LICENSE

(a) It shall be lawful for any person who has a
valid Commercial Dredge Clam License to take clams from
shellfish grounds, as permitted by law, at permitted times
on any date except Sunday.

(Exception - §1904, 7. Del.C. has been amended so that
clams may be taken on Sundays between and including
Memorial Day and Labor Day.)

(b) It shall be lawful for any person who has a
valid Commercial Dredge Clam License to harvest any
number of hard clams.

S-19 HARD CLAMS - METHOD OF TAKE, SEASON
AND LIMITS FOR NON-COMMERCIAL CLAMMING

PERMIT

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who has a
valid Non-Commercial Clamming Permit to attempt to
take, catch kill or reduce to possession any hard clams
with any device other than a hand-held rake with a head
no wider than fourteen (14) inches measured perpendicular
to the tines and a straight handle not in excess of seven
(7) feet in length.

(b) it shall be unlawful for any person who has a
valid Non-Commercial Clamming Permit to harvest hard
clams during the period between one-half hour after sunset
and one-half hour before sunrise next ensuing.

(c) it shall be unlawful for any person who has a
valid Non-Commercial Clamming Permit to harvest in any
one (1) day or possess at any time more than five hundred
(500) hard clams unless said person has a valid receipt for
clams in excess of five hundred (500).

(d) It shall be lawful for any person who has a
valid Non-Commercial Clamming Permit to harvest hard
clams on any date during the time period permitted.

S-21 HARD CLAMS - METHODS OF TAKE, SEASON
AND LIMITS FOR RECREATIONAL CLAMMING

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to attempt
to take, catch, kill or reduce to possession any hard clams
with a device other than a hand-held rake with a head no
wider than fourteen (14) inches measured perpendicular
to the tines and a straight handle not in excess of seven
(7) feet in length.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest
hard clams during the period between one-half hour after
sunset and one-half hour before sunrise next ensuing.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person who is a
resident of this State to harvest in any one (1) day or
possess at any time more than one hundred (100) clams
unless otherwise permitted to do so by license or permit
or said person has a valid receipt for all clams in excess of
one hundred (I 00).

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person who is a
non-resident of this State to harvest in any one (1) day or
possess at any time more than fifty (50) hard clams unless
otherwise permitted to do so by license or permit or said
person has a valid receipt for all clams in excess of fifty
(50).

(e) It shall be lawful for any person to harvest
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hard clams on any date during the time period permitted.

S-23 LOBSTERS - POT DESIGN

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to set, tend
or conduct shellfishing for lobsters with any pot or trap in
the waters under the jurisdiction of the State unless said
pot or trap has an escape vent, slot, or port of not less than
1 3/4" x 6" located in the parlor section of each pot or
trap.

S-25 L0BSTERS - POT, SEASON AND LIMITS FOR
COMMERCIAL LOBSTER POT LICENSE

(a) It shall be lawful for any person who has a
valid Commercial Lobster Pot License to harvest lobsters
in the waters under the jurisdiction of the State at any time
as permitted by law on any date except Sunday.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person who has a
valid Commercial Lobster Pot License to set, tend or use
in any manner in excess of fifty (50) lobster pots for the
taking of lobsters in the waters under the jurisdiction of
the State.

S-27 DREDGE RESTRICTIONS FOR TAKING
SHELLFISH

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to take or
attempt to take any shellfish with any device attached to a
vessel powered by sail or mechanical means in any waters
under the jurisdiction of the State of Delaware except in
the Delaware Bay and the territorial waters in the Atlantic
Ocean within three miles of the Delaware shoreline unless
otherwise permitted by law or by Departmental regulation.

S-29 CRAB POT NUMBER BUOYS AND VESSEL
PANEL COLOR CODE AND NUMBER
REQUIREMENTS

(a) The color code assigned by the Department
to a commercial crab pot licensee shall be displayed on
each buoy or buoys attached to the line of each crab pot
deployed in the water in the following order:

(1) The first color in the color code sequence
shall be on a buoy or buoys located the farthest from the
crab pot (top).

(2) The last color in the color code sequence shall
be on the buoy or buoys located the closest to the crab pot
(bottom).

(3) Any second or third color in the color code
sequence between the first and last colors shall be on a
buoy or buoys in the same top to bottom order as in the

color code sequence.

(b) Each color coded buoy attached to a line of a
commercial crab pot shall measure at least three (3) inches
by three (3) inches by three (3) inches except that a
separate buoy, located between the crab pot and color
coded buoy nearest the crab pot but no closer than five
(5) feet to the color coded buoy nearest the crab pot may
be of lesser dimensions.

(c) Each color in a color code shall cover a
contiguous area of at least 28 square inches on a buoy.

(d) Each color coded buoy shall be visible on the
water’s surface when the tide is slack and the wind is less
than ten (10) miles per hour.

(e) Each color coded buoy shall have its color or
colors recognizable at all times.

(f) The color code assigned by the Department to a
commercial crab pot licensee shall be displayed on the 2'
x 2' panel on the licensee’s vessel in a manner that when
viewed from either side of the vessel, the sequence of
colors shall be as follows relative to the vessel:

(1) The first color in the color code sequence
shall be on the panel in a vertical band closest to the stern
of the vessel.

(2) The last color in the color code shall be on
the panel in a vertical band closest to the bow of the vessel.

(3) Any second or third color in the color code
sequence between the first and last colors shall be on the
panel in vertical band(s) in the same stern to bow order as
assigned in the color code sequence.

(g) Each color coded panel shall be visible and
the color(s) shall be recognizable at all times while tending
crab  pots.

(h) Each color coded panel shall be displayed as
vertical bands on the panel such that each color covers a
contiguous area of equal size.  The panel shall not display
any color other than the colors in the assigned color code
except for a color used to indicate the crab pot number.

(i) A number shall be assigned by the Department to
each commercial crab pot license.

(j) The commercial crab pot licensee’s number
shall be displayed on the color coded panel on the
licensee’s vessel with at least three (3) inch high
contrasting colored Arabic numerals so that said number
shall be visible from either side of the vessel.
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(k) The commercial crab pot licensee’s number

shall be displayed on at least one color coded buoy attached
to each crab pot displayed in the water in at least one (1)
inch high Arabic numerals.  The number shall be painted
in a contrasting color, branded on or carved into the buoy.

S-33 NON-COMMERCIAL CRAB POTS: ILLEGAL
TAMPERING THEREOF

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person, other than
the rightful owner of a non-commercial crab pot whose
initials appear on the white float attached to said crab pot,
to lift, move, take or damage any non-commercial crab
pot or to take or attempt to take crabs from any non-
commercial crab pot.

S-35 COMMERCIAL CLAMMING: MORATORIUM ON
FORMERLY LEASED SHELLFISH GROUNDS

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person, including
former leaseholders, to take or attempt to take shellfish
by any means on formerly leased shellfish grounds in the
Indian River and bay as indicated on a Department map,
Document 40-05/78/02/2, and described as follows:

a. Elisha Cropper Plot 1 (310 acres)
Plot 2 (140 acres)
Plot 3 (100 acres)

b. John Satterfield Plot 6 (20 acres)
c. Linden Short Plot 8 (20 acres)
d. John Rogers Plot 28 (70 acres)

S-37 OYSTER VESSEL LICENSING FOR
TRANSPLANTING OYSTERS FORM NATURAL
OYSTER BEDS

(a) The owner of a vessel which was previously
licensed in Delaware to harvest and/or transplant oysters
from natural oyster beds or from leased shellfish ground
in Delaware Bay may directly apply to the Department
for a license for said vessel to harvest and/or transplant
oysters from the natural oyster beds or from leased
shellfish grounds within the jurisdiction of the State.

(b) The owner of a vessel which was not
previously licensed to harvest oysters in Delaware and is
to be used for transplanting oysters from natural oyster
beds in Delaware Bay to leased shellfish grounds in
Delaware Bay, must submit an application for said vessel
license to the Department that will first be reviewed by
the Council on Shellfisheries for their determination as to
whether or not:

(1) the legal and equitable owner is a Delaware
resident or a corporation whose principal place of business

is located within Delaware prior to January 1, 1990 or a
Delaware corporation incorporated after January 1, 1990
with its principal place of business in Delaware and whose
legal and equitable owners are Delaware residents; and,

(2) the profits for the operation of said vessel will
help to preserve and improve the Delaware shellfish
industry; and,

(3) the vessel to be l icensed wil l  remain
exclusively in Delaware’s shellfish industries for a period
of at least sixty (60) months.

Based upon these three criteria, the council on
Shell f isheries shall  then recommend approval or
disapproval for issuing an oyster harvesting license for
said vessel within ten (10) calendar days of receipt of the
application provided that there is no regularly scheduled
council meeting between the date of the application and
the beginning of the oyster transfer season.  The
Department, upon receiving a recommendation from the
Council on Shellfisheries, shall decide whether or not to
issue an oyster harvesting license for the vessel for the
forthcoming oyster transfer season.

(c) The owner of a vessel which was not
previously licensed to harvest and/or transplant oysters in
Delaware and said vessel is only to be used to harvest
oysters from leased shellfish grounds may directly apply
to the Department and receive a vessel license to harvest
oysters from leased shell f ish grounds within the
jurisdiction of the state.

S-41 SHELLFISHING GROWING AREAS CLOSED TO
HARVESTING CLAMS, MUSSELS AND OYSTERS

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest
or attempt to harvest any clams, mussels or oysters from
any shellfish growing area that is classified as prohibited,
conditionally approved but closed to harvesting shellfish
or otherwise not classified as a shellfish growing area as
established in regulations adopted by the Division of
Public Health of the Delaware Department of Health and
Social Services under authority of Title 16, Section 122(3)
(A), (B), (F), and (J) and currently in effect.

S-43 FAILURE TO TEND CRAB POTS

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who sets
a crab pot in the tidal waters of the State to fail to tend and
remove crabs from said pot at least once during every 72-
hour period.

S-45 DESCRIPTION OF BOUNDARIES DELINEATING
LEASABLE SHELLFISH GROUNDS
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(a) Shellfish grounds to be leased for protecting,

planting and harvesting shellfish in the State shall be
limited to the following area in Delaware Bay described
as follows:

Starting at a point on the “East Line” in Delaware at Loran-
C coordinates 27314.50/42894.25 and continuing due cast
to a point at Loran-C coordinates 27294.08/42895.60 and
then continuing south to a point at Loran-C coordinates
27270.80/42852.83 and then continuing southwest to a
point at Loran-C coordinates 27279.67/42837.42 and then
continuing west southwest to a point at Loran-C
coordinates 27281.31/42803.48 and then continuing west
to a point at Loran-C coordinates 27280.75/42795.50 and
then in a northerly direction on a line 1000" offshore,
coterminous with the existing shoreline to the point of
beginning on the ‘East Line”.

S-46 MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CRAB POTS
AUTHORIZED TO BE FISHED

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person with a
valid commercial crab pot license to fish, place or cause
to have placed in the waters of this State at any time more
than the number of crab pots for which said person’s
commercial crab pot license stipulates in accordance with
§2303, Chapter 23, Title 7, Delaware Code.

S-48 CONCH MINIMUM SIZE LIMITS

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess
any channeled conch, Busycotypus  canaliculatum, or
knobbed conch, Busycon carica that measures less than 5
six (6) inches in length or 2.75 3 1/8  inches in diameter at
the whorl.

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph
(a), a person may possess no more than five (5) channeled
conchsper 60 pounds that are less than six (6) inches in
length or 3   inches in diameter at the whorl.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person to posses
any knobbed conch, Busycon carica, that measures less
than five (5) inches in length or 2 ¾ inches in diameter at
the whorl.

S-50 DEFINITIONS

The following definitions shall apply to terms in
Chapter 27, Title 7, Delaware Code relative to horseshoe
crabs.

1) ‘Dispose of said crabs properly’ shall mean bury
on the beach, incorporate into soil as fertilizer or any other

method approved by the Department.
2) ‘Personal, non-commercial use’ shall mean to be

used as food, fertilizer or bait or otherwise properly
disposed without trading, bartering, or selling by one
individual to another, or without transporting, shipping,
or causing to be transported or shipped, out of the state.

3) ‘Collect’ shall mean to take live horseshoe crabs
by any means other than by dredge.

4) ‘Dredge’ shall mean to use any device to gather,
scrape, scoop, fish for or otherwise take bottom dwelling
horseshoe crabs.

S-51 SEASON’S AND AREA CLOSED TO
COLLECTING AND DREDGING HORSESHOE CRABS

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect
or dredge horseshoe crabs from any state or federal land
owned in fee simple or water within one thousand (1000)
feet, measured perpendicularly from the mean low
waterline, during the period beginning at 12:01 am on May
1 and continuing through midnight, June 7, except
authorized persons may collect horseshoe crabs on
Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from state owned
lands to the east of State Road 89. Provided, however,
any person that has been issued a valid scientific collecting
permit may collect horseshoe crabs at any time in any area
as specified in the permit.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to dredge
horseshoe crabs except from one’s own leased shellfish
grounds or with permission form the owner of leased
shellfish grounds in an area of Delaware Bay within the
boundaries that delineate leasable shellfish grounds and
described as follows:

Starting at a point on the “East Line” in Delaware at
Loran-C coordinates 27314.50/42894.25 and continuing
due east to a point at Loran-C coordinates 27294.08/
42895.60 and then 27270.80/42852.83 and then continuing
southwest to a point at Loran-C coordinates 27279.67/
42837.42 and then continuing west southwest to a point
at Loran-C coordinates 27281.31/42803.48 and then
continuing west to a point at Loran-C coordinates
27280.75/42795.50 and then in a northerly direction on a
line 1000' offshore, coterminous with the existing
shoreline to the point of beginning on the “East Line”.

 S-52 REQUIREMENT FOR COLLECTING
HORSESHOE CRABS FOR PERSONS UNDER 16

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person under the
age of sixteen (16) years to possess more than six (6)
horseshoe crabs unless accompanied by a person who has
been issued a valid horseshoe crab scientific collecting,
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commercial collecting or dredge permit.

S-53 NUMBER OF PERSONS ACCOMPANYING A
PERSON WITH A VALID, HORSESHOE CRAB
COLLECTING PERMIT

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person with a
valid horseshoe crab commercial collecting permit when
collecting horseshoe crabs to be assisted by more than
three (3) persons who are not required to have valid
horseshoe crab commercial collecting permits.

S-54 POSSESSION LIMIT OF HORSESHOE CRABS,
EXCEPTIONS

(a) Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be
unlawful for any person to possess more than six (6)
horseshoe crabs, except a person with a validated receipt
from a person with a valid horseshoe crab commercial
collecting or dredge permit for the number of horseshoe
crabs in said person’s possession.  A receipt shall contain
the name, address and signature of the supplier, the date
and the number of horseshoe crabs obtained.

(b) Any person who has been issued a valid
commercial eel fishing license by the Department is
exempt from the possession limit of six (6) horseshoe
crabs, provided said commercial eel fishing licensee has
submitted an annual report of his/her previous year’s
harvest of horseshoe crabs to the Department on forms
provided by the Department.  Said exemption also applies
to a commercial eel fisherman’s alternate while the
alternate is in the presence of the commercial eel
fisherman.  Any person who has been issued a commercial
eel fishing license (and such person’s Alternate while in
the presence of the licensee) may collect or dredge
horseshoe crabs without a horseshoe crab commercial
collecting or dredge permit, provided all horseshoe crabs
taken are for personal non-commercial use, as bait for the
licensee’s eel pots fished in this state.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122 (d) (14 Del.C. 122)

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C. SECTION 122(d)

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULA-
TION

This amendment is recommended to bring the Regula-
tions on School/Police Relations in line with the changes in
the Delaware Code.  The legislature amended 14 Del. C.,
Section 4112 entitled “Discipline Powers Reporting Require-
ment and Responsibilities of Superintendents, Principals, and
Teachers” by striking it in its entirety and substituting a new
Section 4112 entitled “Reporting School Crimes.”  This
amended section of the Code changes and clarifies some of
the reporting processes and procedures for specific criminal
offenses and also defines key terms used in the legislation.
The amendments to the Handbook for K-12 Education are
important in order to reflect the new amended code and to
eliminate references to the old code language and to unnec-
essary regulatory language.

The Handbook for K-12 Education is amended to include
eliminating Section I.B.1. Discipline Powers and Responsi-
bilities of Superintendents, parts a, b, c, and d, I.B.3. School/
Police Relations Policy and Guidelines and Appendix D
School/Police Relations Policy and Guidelines for School
Administrators.  Section 2 becomes Section 1, a new School
Police Relations becomes I.B.2.a, b, c, d, and e, and Sections
4. and 5. become Sections 3. and 4.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student achieve-
ment as measured against state achievement standards?  (If
so, how?  If not, why?)

This amendment directly addresses school climate
and severe discipline issues, not state achievement standards.
However, research supports the correlation between a posi-
tive school climate and an increase in academic achievement.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?  (If so, how?  If not, why?)

http://www.state.de.us/high-ed/intro.htm
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This amendment addresses the mandatory reporting of

serious disciplinary offenses in a fair and equitable manner
for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all students’
health and safety are adequately protected?  (If so, how?  If
not, why?)

This amendment clarifies and extends the reporting re-
quirements of disciplinary infractions as defined in the origi-
nal law known as H.B. 85.  This amendment is intended to
provide for the safety of all students and addresses the needs
of students who engage in serious disruptive behavior.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all students’
legal rights are respected?  (If so, how?  If not, why?)

Yes. The amendment continues to ensure that all students’
rights are respected in an equitable manner.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary author-
ity and flexibility of decision makers at the local board and
school level?  (If so, how?  If not, why?)

This amendment increases local district authority, but
does not change administrative accountability as defined in
the original regulations.  The amendment requires the report-
ing of additional criminal acts beyond the original regula-
tions, as mandated by Delaware Code.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision mak-
ers at the local board and school levels?  (If so, why?)

While the addition of criminal offenses that are required
to be reported has increased, the reporting instrument has been
significantly simplified.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?  (If not, why?)

This amendment focuses on reporting procedures and
continues to keep the decision making authority and account-
ability with the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?  (If inconsistent and/
or an impediment to other policies, why?)

This amendment, as with the original regulations, is not

an impediment to other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?  (If so, why is it appropriate
to adopt the amendment?)

No, the amendment is a response to changes in the Dela-
ware Code.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school boards
of compliance with the amendment?

This amendment does not add additional costs beyond
the existing requirements of the original regulations.

THIS PROPOSED AMENDMENT  OF AN EXISTING

REGULATION  WILL  BE PRESENTED TO THE STATE

BOARD OF EDUCATION  AT ITS MEETING  OF SEPTEMBER

18, 1997.

Handbook for K-12 Education

B. DISCIPLINE

1. DISCIPLINE POWERS AND RESPONSIBILITIES
OF SUPERINTENDENTS

b. Student violence; mandatory complaints.  In any
instance where a school employee reports to the superinten-
dent any assault or offensive touching (as prohibited in ¤601,
¤611-613 of Title 11) against such employee by a pupil, the
superintendent or his designee, after verifying the identity of
the pupil involved and the probable cause to believe that a
criminal charge is appropriate, without unreasonable delay
after the incident being reported, shall file such appropriate
charge against such pupil.  The superintendent or his desig-
nee shall also file a report of such incident with the State
Department of Public Instruction.  The obligations of the su-
perintendent as set forth in this subsection are mandatory,
and are not discretionary.

c. Student possession of weapons and unlawful
drugs; mandatory complaints.--In any instance where a school
employee reports to the superintendent any incident where a
pupil has on his person, or concealed among his possessions,
or placed elsewhere on the school premises any controlled
drug (as prohibited by Title 16), dangerous instrument or
deadly weapon (as prohibited by Title 11), the superinten-
dent or his designee, after verifying the identity of the pupil
involved and the probable cause to believe that a criminal
charge is appropriate, without unreasonable delay after the
incident being reported, shall report such incident to the po-
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lice department having jurisdiction over the offense.  The
superintendent or his designee shall also file a report of such
incident with the State Department of Public Instruction.  The
obligations of the superintendent as set forth in this subsec-
tion are mandatory, and are not discretionary.

d. Immunity from civil liability:  Review of crimi-
nal complaint.  A school employee, superintendent, or his
designee who in good faith provides information to police
and/or the State Department of Public Instruction under sub-
section (b) or (c) of this section shall not be held civilly liable
for providing such information.  Prior to lodging any crimi-
nal charges against a school employee, superintendent or his
designee who provides information to police and/or the State
Department of Public Instruction under subsection (b) or (c)
of this section, the Attorney General’s Office shall be con-
sulted to determine the appropriateness of the charges.  14
Del. C. 4114.

3. SCHOOL/POLICE RELATIONS POLICY AND
GUIDELINES

All local school districts must establish their own poli-
cies on school/police relations.  The local district policy must
be based on the policies and guidelines included in the State
Board of Education document, School/Police Relations Policy
and Guidelines for School Administrators, Appendix D.  (State
Board Approved October 1988, Revised June, 1993)

2. School/Police Relations

a. All local school districts must establish a policy
on school/police relations.  Each school district shall develop
a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between the district
board of education and each police department which pro-
vides police coverage to the district.  Each district’s MOA
shall be in a form substantially similar to the Model Memo-
randum of Agreement Between Board(s) of Education and
Law Enforcement Agencies in the State of Delaware (MMOA)
as approved by the Secretary of the Department of Education
(Secretary).  Section 6 of the MMOA must be included in
each district’s MOA verbatim. Districts shall submit a signed
copy of its current MOA to the Department of Education
(DOE).

b. Each school administrator involved in the stu-
dent disciplinary process shall complete DOE approved train-
ing in school/police relations and in student disciplinary mat-
ters in general and, thereafter, such additional training in those
areas as the DOE may from time to time prescribe.

c. Each school district shall, at the time of hiring
and at the beginning of each school year thereafter, advise
each school employee (as that term is defined in 14 Del. C.

Section 4112) of his/her duty to report school crimes and the
penalty for failure to so report.

d. The Superintendent of each school district, or
his/her designee, shall report to the DOE all school crimes
required to be reported pursuant to 14 Del. C. Section 4112
and any subsequent amendment thereto.  Such reports shall
be made on the Student Conduct Report (SCR) form to be
provided by the DOE and filed with the DOE within the time
prescribed by statute.

e. In addition to those school crimes required to
be reported pursuant to statute, the Superintendent of each
school district shall report to the DOE the following incidents
of student misconduct:

Pornography, exhibitionism, Fraud offenses
peeping

Criminal mischief Tampering with public
records

Evidence of organized gambling Computer/recorded
sounds offenses

Offenses involving school Disorderlyconduct/
property fighting

Felony theft offenses Offensive touching
(non-employee)

Forgery offenses Terroristic threatening
(non-employee)

Such reports shall be made on the SCR form to be pro-
vided by the DOE and filed with the DOE not later than five
working days following the incident of student misconduct.

APPENDIX D

SCHOOL/POLICE RELATIONS
POLICY AND GUIDELINES FOR SCHOOL ADMINIS-

TRATORS

Delaware State Board of Education
Approved:  June 23, 1993
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RELATIONSHIPS BETWEEN LOCAL SCHOOL
DISTRICTS AND LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES

Introduction

The school/police function is only as effective as the com-
munication and cooperation of the respective agencies and
all the various other agencies involved with the education,
safety and welfare of Delaware’s youth.  This belief has
evolved into a well structured and cooperative set of policies
and practices between and among the school/police agencies
in Delaware which have been compiled into this document
containing policy and guidelines for school/police relations.
The Model Memorandum of Agreement Between Board(s) of
Education and Law Enforcement Agencies in the State of
Delaware, included in the document, was developed through
the input of many highly experienced persons serving on the
Task Force for School/Police Relations, all of whom are in-
volved in the school/police function and represent many years
of experience.  It was first developed in 1968 and was revised
in 1972 and 1988.  In 1993, the policy elements of the docu-
ment were added.  This format, a memorandum of agreement,
has been identified by the Task Force as the single most ef-
fective means of prescribing a guide for statewide use on the
subject.

For law enforcement agencies to effectively serve the
school community, there must be some flexibility in the docu-
ments which provide a basis for the procedures in use in the
local school district.  However, in some areas it is felt that the
uniform establishment of statewide procedures are beneficial
to the child, the police authorities and school administration.

State Board Regulations

In order to ensure such uniformity, the State Board of Educa-
tion at its June 17, 1993 meeting established the following as
statewide regulations:

a. Section 6 of the Model Memorandum in this docu-
ment, in regard to Reporting Crimes, is enacted as policy,
and is mandated to be included, word for word, in each
district’s MOA(s) on school/police relations.

b. Each school district shall develop a memorandum
of agreement between the district board of education and each
department providing police coverage to the district.  The

MOA shall be established or reviewed, to incorporate State
Board policy and current local procedures for school/police
relations, by September 30, 1993.  A copy of each district’s
executed memoranda shall be submitted to the State Board of
Education by October 15, 1993.  Thereafter, such memoranda
shall be reviewed on a regularly established schedule enacted
by the district board of education, and be reviewed subse-
quent to any changes made to the Model Memorandum at the
State level.

c. A Special Task Force for School/Police Relations,
composed of representatives of the school districts, of the law
enforcement agencies which have responsibility for crimes
in the school environment, and of the Fire Marshal’s Office,
shall meet to review the contents of the Model Memorandum
at least every five years.  The Special Task Force shall make
recommendations for inservice training of school adminis-
trators involved in the student disciplinary process, as a result
of these changes to the Model Memorandum, and as a result
of all subsequent changes, if such training is deemed neces-
sary.

d. Each school administrator involved in the student
disciplinary process shall complete six hours of training in
school/police relations, including the training of administra-
tors as trainers of teachers in the above changes to the MOA
and in student disciplinary matters in general, by September
30, 1993.  The sessions shall be provided by the Department
of Public Instruction, in consultation with a committee of
members of the Special Task Force for School/Police Rela-
tions.  Sessions on school/police relations shall be made avail-
able on an annual basis thereafter, and school administrators
new to the student disciplinary process shall be required to
attend such training.

e. The Department of Public Instruction shall develop
the forms required by Section 6 of the Model Memorandum.
Those forms shall be used by the districts to report crimes
committed by students in the school environment in a timely
fashion.

f. Each district shall ensure that teachers are informed
at the time of hire and at the beginning of each school year
thereafter of their duty to report immediately to the principal
an act of violence as set out in 14 Del. C. 4112, i.e., assault
and extortion against a pupil, or an assault, offensive touch-
ing, terroristic threatening or extortion against a school em-
ployee, or weapons or unlawful drug offenses (see 14 Del. C.
4112(d) and (f), and of the penalties established in 4112(f).

MODEL MEMORANDUM OF AGREEMENT BE-
TWEEN THE BOARD(S) OF EDUCATION AND LAW

ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES IN THE STATE OF
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DELAWARE

1. The Board of Education of
and the following Law Enforcement Agency(ies):
hereby agree that the following practices and procedures shall
govern their relations.

2. All law enforcement agency officers performing law en-
forcement functions under this Agreement will be governed
by the provisions contained herein.

3. ARRESTS
a. When possible and appropriate, arrest by police

should be made during non-school hours and away from
school premises.

b. Arrest on school premises during school hours should
be undertaken in such a manner as to avoid embarrassment to
the pupil being arrested or to jeopardize the safety and wel-
fare of other pupils.

c. In the event of an apprehension during school hours,
the principal or designee should summon the student to his/
her office before surrendering the student.  Unless absolutely
essential, the officer should not appear in the classroom to
apprehend the student.

d. If the student is to be surrendered to the custody of
the police officer, the principal or designee should record the
name and organization of the officer, the time the officer leaves
the school, the destination (police station, detention facility,
or Family Court), and the offense for which the arrest was
made.  A substantial effort should be made by theprincipal or
designee to immediately inform the parent(s) or guardian(s)
of the student upon any contact by the police.  If the student is
arrested and removed from the premises before such contact
is made, the police and the principal or designee share a joint
responsibility for that contact.

4. QUESTIONING OR INTERROGATION BY POLICE
ON SCHOOL PREMISES

a. Police investigations involving the questioning or
interrogation of pupils should not be permitted on school pre-
mises unless in connection with a crime committed on school
premises or in connection with an investigation which, if not
immediately permitted, would compromise the success of that
investigation or endanger the lives or safety of the student or
other persons.  Questioning becomes interrogation when it
becomes accusatory in nature and is designed to elicit an ad-
mission of guilt from the suspected offender.  Law enforce-
ment officers must provide Miranda warnings, if the suspect
is being interrogated and is not free to leave.

b. The principal or designee should be present through-
out the questioning or interrogation, except in cases where
the investigation concerns a student who is the victim of physi-
cal or sexual abuse where a member of the student’s immedi-
ate family or household is suspected of being the perpetrator

of or a conspirator in such abuse and where the police inves-
tigator is a representative of a special unit trained to do such
interviews.

c. In any case, where a student is in custody and being
questioned regarding involvement in a criminal matter and
where the student’s Fifth Amendment protection against self-
incrimination may apply, the law enforcement officer should
consider the environment in which questioning takes place
and the ability of the student to discontinue the questioning.
Unless unreasonable to do so, the law enforcement officer
should notify the principal or his designee when such ques-
tioning becomes custodial in nature.  Questioning becomes
“custodial in nature” when a law enforcement officer is con-
ducting an interview and the party being interviewed is not
free to leave the presence of the officer.

d. Before the police commence the questioning or in-
terrogation of a minor on school premises, the principal should
contact the student’s parent(s) or guardian(s) to provide them
an opportunity to be present or consult an attorney.  Such
contact is particularly important in the case of students below
the high school level.  Questioning or interrogation without
such parental contact should only proceed where:

(1) The contact may endanger the safety of the stu-
dent or other persons.

(2) The contact would compromise the success of
the investigation because a member of the student’s immedi-
ate family or household is suspected of being a perpetrator or
conspirator or potential conspirator to a crime, or the delay
caused by lack of contact would compromise the success of
the investigation and a substantial effort has been made to
contact the student’s parent(s) or guardian(s) without success.

The police should ensure that the student is afforded
all constitutional rights due in such a situation.

e. School officials should request the arresting officer
to remove the student from the premises as soon as possible,
after the arrest is made.  In the absence of an arrest, school
officials should not authorize the removal of a student from
the school without the consent of the parent or guardian un-
less such contact would endanger the student or unreason-
ably compromise an investigation, or every reasonable effort
to notify the parent or guardian has failed, in which case, if
appropriate, the Division of Child Protective Services should
be notified.

5. SEARCHES AND SEIZURES
a. Law enforcement officers in reliance upon probable

cause that a crime is, has, or is about to be committed, may
search for evidence of that crime.  Whenever reasonable, a
search warrant, issued by a court of competent jurisdiction,
will be sought before a search is conducted.  As a general
policy, a school official will accompany the law enforcement
officer.  However, they will not participate in the actual search
unless specifically requested to do so by the police.

b. Efforts should be made by police and school admin14
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istrators to conduct searches in a manner which will mini-
mize disruption of the normal school routine and will mini-
mize embarrassment to pupils affected.

c. A frisk (pat-down) may be conducted by the police
where the officer has reason to believe that the person being
encountered is armed and presents a risk of injury to the of-
ficer or an innocent third party.

d. The principal or designee may, at any time, conduct
such searches as are essential to the security, discipline, and
sound administration of the particular school but are limited
as stated above whenever the search is in connection with a
police investigation.  The appropriate police agency will re-
spond to a request from a school official conducting an ad-
ministrative search when the official feels that the search might
reveal a violation of the law.

6. REPORTING CRIMES
a. School officials are charged with the responsibil-

ity to provide for the safety of students and for the secu-
rity of school property.  School officials shall report
promptly evidence of criminal offenses which occur in the
school environment, including incidents which occur on
or in connection with school buses.  Additionally, evidence
of those crimes which has occurred off school property
but which come to the attention of schoolauthorities should
be reported.  The Delaware Code requires mandatory re-
porting of the offenses listed in 14 Del. C., ¤4112; a sub-
stantial fine can be assessed against any superintendent,
principal or teacher who fails to make such a mandatory
report {¤4112(f)}.  The following list is not all inclusive
but, at a minimum, the following shall be reported to the
appropriate law enforcement agency:

(1) Evidence that suggests the commission of the
crimes of assault and extortion against pupil, or an as-
sault, offensive touching, terroristic threatening or extor-
tion against a school employee as defined in 11 Del. C.,
Ch. 5 {See 11 Del. C., 601, 611, 612, 613, 614, 621, and 846
(referring to 841); see also 14 Del. C., 4112(b) and (f)}.

(2) Evidence that suggests the commission of a
felony (See 11 Del. C., Ch. 5), for example:

Reckless Endangering Arson
Assault Offenses Criminal Mischief
Homicide Bombs, etc.
Unlawful sexual contact, Unlawful Imprison-
penetration or intercourse ment,

Kidnapping
Sexual exploitation of OffensesInvolving
Children, Pornography Concealed

Deadly or Destructive
Weapons

Promoting Prostitution Computer/Recorded
Burglary Sounds Offenses
Robbery Fraud Offenses
Felony Theft Offenses Forgery Offenses

Extortion Riot

(3) Evidence that suggests violations of the laws
concerning controlled substances and alcohol {See 16 Del.
C., Ch. 47 and 14 Del. C., 4112(c)}, for example:

Manufacture, delivery or Possession, use or
possession with intent to consumption of a
manufacture or deliver a controlled or counter
controlled substance or a feit substance or of
counterfeit controlled alcohol
substance Trafficking in mari
Possession, delivery, juana, cocaine, illegal
possession with intent to drugs,
deliver non controlled methamphetimines,
prescription drugs (not L.S.D., designer or
obtained with valid other drugs
prescription), including Unauthorized posses
steroids, etc. sion or delivery of

hypodermic syringe or
drug paraphernalia

(4) Evidence that suggests incest, sexual abuse
or the neglect or other abuse of children.  See 11 Del. C.,
Ch. 5, Subchapter II, Subpart D and Subchapter V; see
also 16 Del. C., Ch. 9 for required reporting by any “per-
son who knows or reasonably suspects child abuse or ne-
glect” to the Division of Child Protective Services.

(5) Evidence that suggests the use, possession or
sale of dangerous instruments or deadly weapons, e.g.,
knives, firearms, ammunition, explosives or blasting caps.
(See 14 Del. C. 4112(c) and 11 Del. C., Ch. 5, Subchapter
VII, Subpart E, and 1338.)

(6) Evidence that suggests morals offenses, e.g.,
pornography, exhibitionism, peeping, etc.  (See 11 Del. C.,
Ch. 5, Subchapter VII, Subparts B and C, and 820.)

(7) Evidence that suggests organized gambling.
(See 11 Del. C., Ch. 5, Subchapter VII, Subpart D.)

(8) Evidence that suggests an assault, offensive
touching, terroristic threatening or menacing of a school
employee.  {See 14 Del. C. 4112(b) and 11 Del. C., Ch. 5,
Subchapter II, Subpart A.}

(9) Evidence of offenses involving school prop-
erty, e.g., false fire alarms, telephone threats, computer
crimes, vandalism and criminal mischief; trespass, bur-
glary and theft; reckless driving and safety hazards.  (11
Del. C., Ch. 5)

(10) Reports of suspicious persons or unau-
thorized persons on or near school grounds or property,
or rumors, information or observations of gang rivalries
or activities.  These activities need not be reported to the
State Board of Education.

b. Reportable offenses should not include conduct
which has been traditionally treated as a matter of disci-
pline to be handled at the discretion of school administra
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tors.  Whenever an administrator is unsure about whether
a charge is appropriate, the applicable police authorities
should be consulted.  These reporting requirements shall
not apply to offenses committed between students enrolled
in grades kindergarten through third grade.

c. All conduct of a serious nature should be promptly
reported to the parent or guardian concerned.  Such per-
sons should not be contacted where the student is the vic-
tim and the parent/guardian is a perpetrator of or con-
spirator in the reportable incident; see section 4.d of this
Memorandum.

d. The school district superintendent or designee is
required to report to the State Department of Public In-
struction those incidents involving possession of weapons
and unlawful drugs, {14 Del. C. 4112(c)}, and incidents of
violence against pupils or school employees, {14 Del. C.
4112(b)}.  In addition, the superintendent, or designee shall
report to the State Department of Public Instruction all
incidents of student behavior as described in Section 6.a.
of this document.  The procedures for filing these reports
shall be as follows:

(1) When the building administrator has deter-
mined that there is probable cause to believe that a crimi-
nal charge is appropriate, the administrator shall imme-
diately report their incident to the appropriate local po-
lice agency and to the district superintendent or designee.

(2) The parent or guardian will be notified of the
action in accordance with Section 6.c. of this document, as
soon as is reasonably possible.

(3) Within 5 days after the original report to the
police, the superintendent or designee shall be in contact
with the police to determine whether and/or how charges
will be filed.

(4) The superintendent or designee shall com-
plete the “District Superintendent’s Student Conduct Re-
port” and submit it to the State Department of Public In-
struction within 5 days of the event precipitating the re-
port.  If the offense committed is one of assault and extor-
tion against pupil, or an assault, offensive touching, ter-
roristic threatening or extortion against a school employee
as defined in 11 Del. C. Ch. 5 {See 11 Del. C., 601, 611,
612, 613, 614, 621 and 846 (referring to 841); see also 14
Del. C. 4112(b) and (f)}, or involving weapons or drug of-
fenses as set out in 14 Del. C. 4112(c), a copy of the Report
also shall be submitted to the Youth Division of the Dela-
ware State Police.

(5) A short “Disposition Report” shall be sent to
the appropriate agencies to follow up on the Report listed
in (4) immediately above, if final disposition of the case
takes place after the “District Superintendent’s Student
Conduct Report” form is submitted.
All of Paragraph 6 in bold above is State Board regulation
and shall be included in all Memoranda of Agreement.

7. FILING OF CHARGES:
a. In any instance where a pupil, parent or guardian is

found to have committed an assault, offensive touching, ter-
roristic threatening or an extortion under 14 Del. C. 4112(b)
against a school employee, the superintendent or his desig-
nee shall, without unreasonable delay, file the appropriate
charge against the pupil, parent or guardian.

b. In all cases where a reportable offense has occurred,
other than those listed in subparagraph a., immediately above,
school officials should consult with police authorities to de-
termine who will file the appropriate charges.

8. SCHOOL DISTURBANCES
a. The request for police assistance in a crisis situation

requires special care because of the possibility of aggravat-
ing a situation.

(1) It is preferable that the principal or designee call
the police.  If a law enforcement officer is on the scene, it is
desirable that the decision to call for additional police sup-
port be reached in collaboration with that officer.

(2) No person other than the principal or designee,
the superintendent of the district or his designee, or the high-
est ranking police officer present and qualified, may request
the tactical deployment of police to a school.

(3) Police manpower called to a school should be
limited to that number which may reasonably be expected to
be required to deal with the situation.  This determination as
to the level of force required can best be made by the ranking
police officer on the scene, working jointly with the principal
or designee.

b. In general, plain clothes officers are preferable to
uniformed personnel in situations where student or faculty
sensitivity may crucially influence the success of the short-
term investigation required by the law enforcement agency.
These sensitive situations will include most investigations
where student informant must come forward, and most situa-
tions where inter-group tension may be intensified by the pres-
ence of uniformed officers.  It is recognized that in
manysituations it may be possible to specify whether uni-
formed or plain clothes officers will or shall make the initial
response to a routine school request, and for that reason, the
Board of Education must recognize that any policy govern-
ing the use of these different categories of police officers must
be flexible and that final authority rests with the police.

c. Tactical coordination between the principal or des-
ignee and police officers on the scene is a necessity.  During
any crisis situation, it will be the responsibility of the ranking
police officer on the scene to ensure that direct, secure, con-
tinuing communication with the principal or designee is main-
tained.

9. SCHOOL ATTENDANCE
a. The code of the State of Delaware requires manda-

tory school attendance between the ages of five and sixteen,
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Del. C. 2701.

b. School/Police Procedures in Attendance Cases:
(1) Normally, the school principal will refer atten-

dance cases to the visiting teacher.  Any court action against
the parents for violation of the compulsory attendance stat-
utes should be initiated by the school superintendent or his/
her designee in the Magistrate Court.

(2) Police should not be requested to apprehend a
student solely because the student is absent from school.

(3) A school-age student identified by a police of-
ficer as being off school property without official authoriza-
tion may be returned to his or her home school or may be
detained in accordance with 14 Del. C. 2713.

10. SIGNATURES

School District Law Enforcement Agency

Date

All appropriate agencies involved should be provided space
for signature and date.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 122 (d) (14 Del.C. 122)

The Department of Education recommends that Section
B.1.a. Discipline Powers and Responsibilities of Superinten-
dents, Parent Conferences, in the Handbook for K-12 Educa-
tion be repealed due to the enactment of a change in 14 Del.
C., Section 4112a.  Parent Conferences (Subpoena Powers)
found in 14 Del. C., Section 4112, Discipline Powers, Re-
porting Requirements of Superintendents, Principals and
Teachers.  This section has been amended by striking the sec-
tion in its entirety and adding a new Section 4122 entitled
Parent’s Failure to Attend School Conference with Superin-
tendent; Subpoena to Compel Attendance.

Since the regulation in Section B.1.a. of the Handbook for
K-12 Education was a restatement of the old 14 Del. C., Sec-
tion 4112, it must be repealed and it is not necessary to create
a new regulation to restate the requirements already delin-
eated in the new 14 Del. C., Section 4122.

Handbook for K-12 Education

B. DISCIPLINE

1. DISCIPLINE POWERS AND RESPONSIBILITIES
OF SUPERINTENDENTS

a.Parent Conferences.--The authority of the superin-
tendent of schools in each district shall include that of issuing
subpoenas as such may be required, in his opinion, to compel
the presence of a parent, parents or person having custody of
a child going to school in such school district or attendance
zone to discuss matters involving violations of school rules
and regulations by such child; provided, however, before the
issuance of such subpoena, the superintendent shall first sched-
ule a conference with such parent, parents or custodian of
such child at a time that does not conflict with the employ-
ment hours of such parent, parents or custodian of such child.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  Title 26, Section of the
Delaware Code (26 Del.C. §201)

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF |
THE INVESTIGATION |
AND ADOPTION OF |
RULES TO GOVERN |    PSC REGULATION
PAYPHONE SERVICES |     DOCKET NO. 12
WITHIN THE |
STATE OF DELAWARE |

NOTICE OF COMMENT PERIOD AND PUBLIC
HEARING ON PROPOSED RULES GOVERNING

PAYPHONE SERVICES

In 1985, the Delaware Public Service Commission (“PSC”)
adopted “Rules and Regulations Governing Service by Cus-
tomer Owned Coin-Operated Telephones” (“COCOT Rules”).
The COCOT Rules govern the manner, terms, and conditions
by which independent providers of coin-operated telephones
can attach their telephones to Bell Atlantic-Delaware , Inc.’s
public switched network.  The present COCOT Rules are re-
produced as Exhibit 1.

In the Telecommunications Act of 1996, Congress directed
the Federal Communications Commission (“FCC”) to pro-

http://www.state.de.us/high-ed/intro.htm
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/pubservc/delpsc.htm


264

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER  1, 1997

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
mulgate regulations to ensure fair compensation for all
payphone service providers (“PSPs”) and to ensure competi-
tive parity between independent PSPs and payphone services
provided by Bell operating companies.  47 U.S.C. § 276.  The
FCC has entered two orders implementing § 276.  See Imple-
mentation of the Pay Telephone Reclassification and Com-
pensation Provisions of the Telecommunications Act of 1996,
CC Dckt. No. 96-128, Report and Order, FCC 96-388 (rel.
Sept. 20, 1996); Order on Reconsideration, FCC 96-439 (rel.
Nov. 8, 1996).

In light of the enactment of § 276 and the entry of the two
FCC Orders, the Public Service Commission re-opened this
docket to investigate changes to its COCOT Rules.  By Order
No. 4525 (June 17, 1997), the PSC solicited comments on the
content of such changes.  The PSC Staff has now prepared
proposed new payphone service rules which would replace
the COCOT rules and govern all payphone service in Dela-
ware.  The text of Staff’s proposed rules is reproduced as
Exhibit 2.  Staff’s proposed rules differ from the present
COCOT rules in that the proposed rules:

(1) apply to all providers of payphone service, including
independent providers and telecommunications carriers;

(2)  provide for certification of providers by entity rather
than by each payphone;

(3) allow the local coin calling rate to determined by the
payphone service provider;

(4) re-define the information to be posted on payphones;
and

(5) impose annual reporting requirements.

The Commission has authority to issue such rules under 26
Del. C. § 209.

The PSC solicits written comments, suggestions, compila-
tions of data, briefs, or other written materials concerning
Staff’s proposed rules to govern payphone service.  Ten cop-
ies of such materials shall be filed with the PSC at its office
located at 1560 South DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware
19901.  Materials shall be filed on or before October 1, 1997.

In addition, the PSC’s duly appointed Hearing Examiner
will conduct a public hearing concerning Staff’s proposed
rules on Wednesday, September 24, 1997, beginning at 10:00
a.m. in the Gold Room, Goodstay Center, University of Dela-
ware, Wilmington Campus, 2600 Pennsylvania Avenue,
Wilmington, DE.  Persons may present comments, evidence,
and other materials at that public hearing.

The COCOT rules, Staff’s proposed rules, and the materi-
als submitted will be available for public inspection and copy-
ing at the PSC’s Dover office during normal business hours.
The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to participate
in these proceedings should contact the PSC to discuss any
auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate such review or
participation.  Such contact may be in person, by writing,
telephonically, by use of the Telecommunications Relay Ser-

vice, or otherwise.  The PSC’s toll-free telephone number is
(800) 282-8574.  Persons with questions concerning this ap-
plication may contact the PSC’s Public Information Officer
by either Text Telephone (“TT”) or by regular telephone at
(302) 739-4333 or by e-mail at mcarl@state.de.us.

EXHIBIT 1

DELAWARE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
RULES AND REGULATIONS GOVERNING SERVICE

PROVIDED BY CUSTOMER OWNED COIN-
OPERATED TELEPHONES

As amended through August 3, 1993

Rule 1
Whenever any person seeks to connect a customer-owned

pay or coin operated telephone instrument (COCOT) to the
Diamond State Telephone Company network in a location
which would be a public or semipublic pay or coin operated
service, if owned and operated by Diamond State Telephone
Company, then such proposed installation shall be deemed
for public use.

Rule 2
The owner or operator (whichever is the Diamond State

Telephone Company customer) of each COCOT installed for
public use which is capable of use in making or receiving
intrastate telephone calls, shall be deemed to be a public util-
ity under 26 Del. C. 102 and shall adhere to and abide by all
lawful tariff requirements of the Diamond State Telephone
Company.

Rule 3
In addition to compliance with Diamond State Telephone

Company tariff requirements, each such COCOT must:
(a) Be operated under a validly issued Certificate of

Public Convenience and Necessity from the Delaware Public
Service Commission, which must be issued prior to begin-
ning business (see attached application form).

(b) Provide access to local, intrastate toll and interstate
toll services, and permit calls using credit cards, collect calls,
calls billed to a third number, operator-handled emergency
calls, calls to all applicable emergency numbers, and calls to
toll free “800” and “950” numbers without charge and with-
out the use of a coin.

(c) Have a coin mechanism capable of accepting one or
more coins which is also capable of returning coins for un-
completed calls.

(d) Allow the completion of both local and long dis-
tance calls with not less than a three (3) minute time limit for
a local call.
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(e) Be installed and maintained in accordance with gen-

erally accepted telecommunications industry standards, ap-
plicable local codes, as well as the National Electric Code
and the National Electric Safety Code.  The Diamond State
Telephone Company shall supply a one-party standard mea-
sured service business line per COCOT instrument, terminat-
ing at the point defined by its tariff for business access lines.
When requested, the telephone company will provide inside
wire and a modular jack at prevailing rates.

(f) Be registered with the FCC or connected through
registered protective circuitry as required by FCC Regula-
tions, Part 68.

(g) Comply with state and federal laws regarding ac-
cessibility by disabled individuals and hearing aid compat-
ibility.

(h) Have conspicuously marked on or posted in close
proximity to it, the operating instructions, call pricing, emer-
gency numbers, procedure for receiving refunds, the telephone
number, name, and address to be contacted for customer com-
plaints and service difficulties, and the telephone number as-
signed to the instrument and the following legend:

“RATES FOR SOME TOLL CALLS WITHIN
DELAWARE MADE FROM THIS TELEPHONE
MAY EXCEED THE RATES FOR SIMILAR
CALLS MADE FROM COIN TELEPHONES OF
THE DIAMOND STATE TELEPHONE COM-
PANY.”

(i) Be equipped with an audible signaling device and
provide two-way (originating and terminating) calling capa-
bility, or provide one-way (originating only) calling capabil-
ity and, if desired, provided the type of caning capability is
conspicuously indicated on or in close proximity to the in-
strument.

(j) Be installed and maintained in such a manner as to
assure that privacy of use is not compromised through any
type of electrical or accoustical coupling device, extension
telephone, or similar instrument.

(k) Be installed upon a single standard measured ser-
vice business line provided by Diamond State Telephone
Company.

(l) Be installed by or with the written permission of the
owner of the location where the instrument is to be connected.

(m) Have all required state and local business licenses.
(n) Charge rates for local telephone calls which are no

higher than the rates charged under the effective Diamond
State Telephone Company tariff for local calls from a pay
telephone, except that a local call may be limited to three (3)
minutes.

(o)  Charge rates for intrastate toll calls which do not
exceed fifty (50) cents per minute.

Rule 4
The telephone company tariff shall state that any COCOT

service not meeting the requirements of Rules 1 through 3(n)
shall be subject to disconnection until such time as the COCOT
service in question meets these requirements.

Rule 5
All COCOTS which are place in outdoor locations avail-

able twenty-four (24) hours a day must face a paved area such
as a sidewalk or parking lot which is either flush with
thesurrounding surface or is wheelchair accessible by way of
a ramp or reasonable graduated incline.  If bumpers or posts
are installed to portect the COCOT, they must be fifty (50)
inches apart, thirty-six (36) inches high and abe a minimum
of six (6) inches and a maximum of nine (9) inches away
from the front edge of the COCOT enclosure.  This rule shall
apply to all installations after November 16, 1988.

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF PUBLIC
CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY TO RESELL
INTRASTATE TELEPHONE SERVICE USING A

PRIVATELY OWNED PAY OR COIN OPERATED
TELEPHONE FOR PUBLIC USE

1. Name and Address of Applicant (Must
be the same as the customer taking the dial
tone service from Diamond State Telephone
Company.

2. Make, Model, and Identification Num-
ber of the Customer owned Instrument.

3. Location of Proposed Installation (e.g.,
Northern wall of B&G Bar and Grill, Cor-
ner of North and South Streets, any town,
Delaware (zip).

4. Applicant’s Business Telephone Num-
ber.

5. Telephone Number of the Certificated
Instrument.

6. A description of the manner in which
the Applicant will assure service and/or
equipment maintenance.  Including name,
address, and telephone number of firm, if
appropriate.

7. List rates to be charged for each local
call and duration, if limited. Intrastate long
distance rates are also to be stated.



266

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 3, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER  1, 1997

PROPOSED REGULATIONS

8. Customer Account Number (to be pro-
vided by Diamond State Telephone Com-
pany to Applicant).

As Applicant for a Certificate of Public Convenience and
Necessity, I hereby certify and agree that my pay or coin op-
erated telephone complies and will be maintained in compli-
ance with the hereto attached rules of the Public Service Com-
mission and the applicable tariffs of the Diamond State Tele-
phone Company.

I understand that certification as a public utility to pro-
vide pay or coin operated telephone service to the public at
the location hereinabove described is nontransferable and may
be revoked by the Delaware Public Service Commission for
violation of Commission rules.

I further agree to notify the Commission in writing if for
any reason I cease to be responsible for the resale of intrast-
ate telephone service through the instrument described above.

Name of Applicant

By:
Date of Application:

9. Verification

STATE OF |
COUNTY OF |

Signed and sworn to (or affirmed) before me on
by

(name of applicant)

Signature of Notary
SEAL

Name of Notary (Printed or Typed)
(My Commission Expires: )

10. *Effective Date of Certificate

By: Robert J. Kennedy, III
Executive Director

*When this form is completed to include the effective
date, the Diamond State Telephone Company assigned cus-
tomer number and the signature of the Commission’s Execu-
tive Director, it shall constitute a Certificate of Public Conve-
nience and Necessity to provide intrastate telephone service
for public use through the instrument herein described.

This certificate shall be valid for a period of twelve (12)
months from the effective date.  Thereafter, it shall be re-
newed annually by request in writing, confirming the contin-
ued validity of the information of the original certificate.  Such
renewals may be granted in writing by the Executive Direc-
tor of the Commission.

EXHIBIT 2

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

REGULATIONS GOVERNING PAYPHONE SERVICE
PROVIDERS IN DELAWARE

(PROPOSED)

REGULATIONS GOVERNING PAYPHONE SERVICE
PROVIDERS IN DELAWARE

Section 1: Definitions

(a)  “Coin-implemented payphone” means a payphone
that requires the deposit of coins for calls other than those
calls which are:

(1) billed to another telephone or to a calling card;
(2)  911 or telephone relay service calls; or
(3) to toll free numbers, such as 800 or 888 num-

bers.
(b)  “Interexchange carriers” means telephone compa-

nies who provide long distance interstate and/or intrastate tele-
phone service.

(c)  “Payphone” means any telephone made available to
the public on a fee-per-call basis, independent of any other
commercial transaction, for the purpose of making telephone
calls, whether the telephone is coin-operated or is activated
either by calling collect or using a credit card.  The term
“payphone” includes both instrument-implemented and cen-
tral-office implemented telephones.

(d) “Payphone service provider” means a person or en-
tity that offers telephone service by payphone.  The term in-
cludes both independent owners or operators of payphones
and telecommunications carriers, including local exchange
carriers, who offer payphones.

(e)  “Semi-public payphone” means a payphone for
which the location provider is charged a recurring monthly
rate for payphone service.

Section 2: Certification of Payphone Service Providers

(a)  A person or entity providing intrastate payphone
service shall be deemed to be a public utility under 26 Del. C.
§ 102(2) and shall be governed by these regulations.

(b)  Except as permitted under paragraph (f) below, no
person or entity shall install or offer for service a payphone in
Delaware until that person or entity has received from the
Commission a Certificate of Public Convenience and Neces-
sity to provide payphone service.

(c)  Each applicant seeking a Certificate of Public Con-
venience and Necessity to provide payphone service shall
make application on a form prescribed by the Commission.
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Each applicant seeking certification to provide payphone ser-
vice shall supply the following:

(1)  the business name and address of the applicant;
(2)  the name and address of a contact person or

persons;
(3)  the telephone and facsimile numbers and the e-

mail address of the contact person;
(4)  a description of the manner the applicant will

assure service and equipment maintenance for the payphones,
including the name, address, and telephone number of the
person or entity providing such services if different from the
applicant;

(5)  a written statement affirming that the applicant
has the required state and local business licences;

(6)  a written statement affirming that the applicant
agrees to comply with all the provisions of these regulations;

(7)  the applicant’s signature and the title of the per-
son signing the application; and

(8)  the date of signature of the application.
(d)  A person or entity installing or offering for service a

payphone shall comply with the provisions of  47 C.F.R  Part
68 and any other order, rule, or regulation of the Federal Com-
munications Commission related to telephone service offered
from payphones , unless exempted from compliance by the
Federal Communications Commission.

(e)  If an applicant correctly completes and submits the
application, has complied with the requirements of the Fed-
eral Communications Commission, and has paid the required
application fee, the application shall, upon executionby the
Executive Director or the Chief of Technical Services, shall
be deemed approved and shall act as a Certificate of Public
Convenience and Necessity to provide payphone service
within Delaware.

(f)  Any person or entity providing payphone service on
the effective date of these regulations pursuant to a previ-
ously-granted Certificate of Public Convenience and Neces-
sity or pursuant to other legal authority may continue to pro-
vide such payphone service.  Such person or entity shall, within
ninety (90) days of the effective date of these regulations, file
with the Commission an application under paragraph (c) of
this section and the information required by paragraph (a) of
Section 3.

(g)  Each certificated payphone service provider shall
notify the Commission in writing within ten (10) days fol-
lowing the change of any information required by paragraph
(c) of this section.

(h)  Each certificated payphone service provider shall
provide written notice to the Commission ten (10) days prior
to the cessation of operations.

(i) The application fee for a Certificate of Public Conve-
nience and Necessity to provide payphone service is one hun-
dred dollars ($100).  Such application fee is waived for per-
sons or entities filing applications under paragraph (f) of this
section.

Section 3: Location Reporting
(a)  At the time of the application described in paragraph

(c) of Section 2, the applicant shall provide to the Commis-
sion in writing the following information for each payphone
to be installed and offered in Delaware:

(1)  the make, model, and identification number for
the payphone;

(2)  the telephone number for the payphone; and
(3)  the location of the payphone, described in suffi-

cient detail to allow the payphone to be located for purposes
of mapping and inspection.

(b)  If after certification, a payphone service provider
intends to install or offer an additional payphone, relocate an
existing payphone, or remove a existing payphone, the
payphone service provider shall, prior to such new installa-
tion, relocation, or removal, notify the Commission in writ-
ing.  Such written notification shall state:

(1)  the make, model, and identification number for
the additional, relocated, or removed payphone;

(2)  the telephone number for the additional, relo-
cated, or removed payphone; and

(3)  the location of the additional, relocated, or re-
moved payphone, described in sufficient detail to allow the
payphone to be located for purposes of mapping and inspec-
tion.

(c)  The Commission may also require the information
in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Section to be submitted in
electronic format.

(d)  A payphone service provider shall not install or of-
fer payphone where the installation or maintenance of the
payphone would violate any state or local law designed to
protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens.

Section 4: Payphone Equipment.
(a)  All payphones shall be of a type registered with the

Federal Communications Commission pursuant to 47 C.F.R.
Part 68, unless such payphone has been exempted under an
applicable order or ruling of the Federal Communications
Commission.  All payphones shall be installed in accordance
with generally accepted telecommunications industry stan-
dards, applicable local codes, and the National Electrical Code
and the National Electric Safety Code.

(b)  All payphones shall provide, at no charge to the
caller and without advance deposit of any coins:

(1)  dial tone;
(2)  access to 911, any other emergency number,

and an operator qualified to route emergency calls;
(3)  access to a number for reporting repairs or ser-

vice for the payphone; and
(4)  telecommunications relay service.

(c)  Providers of payphone service shall provide that each
payphone shall:

(1)  be equipped with an audible signaling device
and receive incoming calls at no charge, except that a
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payphone service provider may elect to bar the receipt of calls
by a payphone if the provider posts notice of such restriction;

(2)  except as provided in (d) and (e) of this Section,
provide access to the network by a dial 0 and a dial 1 capabil-
ity and/or 7-digit dialing;

(3)  permit dialing of subscriber “800” or “888” toll-
free numbers without the advance deposit of coins, except
those numbers that have been permissibly blocked from the
payphone;

(4)  provide, without the advance deposit of coins,
access to the caller’s desired  interexchange carrier or opera-
tor service provider by use of an “800,” “888,” or “950” ac-
cess toll-free call or by use of a carrier access code; and

(5)  permit calls using credit cards, collect calls, and
calls billed to a third party without  the advance deposit of
coins and be programmed so that collect and third party calls
cannot be billed to the payphone number, except, at the op-
tion of the payphone provider, in the case of semi-public
payphones;

(d)  Payphones provided for inmates shall not be required
to comply with (c)(1), (c)(2), (c)(3) or (c)(4) of this Section.

(e)  Coin-less payphones shall not be required to pro-
vide dial 1 capability;

(f)  Each payphone service provider shall post on near
the payphone, in plain view of callers:

(1)  relevant emergency numbers;
(2)  the rate, including any time increment, for a

local call;
(3)  the telephone number of the payphone;
(4)  the name, address, and toll-free number of the

payphone service provider or presubscribed operator service
provider;

(5)  a free phone number for maintenance and re-
pairs;

(6)  any restrictions in making or receiving calls,
and if the payphone does not accept incoming calls, a state-
ment to that effect;

(7)  the primary intrastate or intraLATA carrier and
the primary interstate or inter LATA carrier and toll-free tele-
phone numbers to call for the pre-subscribed carriers’ rate
information, along with a statement that the rates for opera-
tor-assisted calls are available upon request;

(8)  any other information necessary to facilitate
calls, refunds or repairs;

(9)  dialing instructions and the charges, if any, for
directory assistance; and

(10)  a statement that callers have the right to obtain
access to the toll carrier of their choice and may contact their
preferred carriers for information on how to access that
carrier’s service by use of the payphone.

(g)  A payphone service provider shall change the posted
information required by paragraph (f) of this Section within
thirty (30) days of any such change.

(h)  All coin-implemented payphones shall be shall be

equipped to accept nickels, dimes and quarters and to return
coins to the caller in the case of an incomplete call.

(i)  All payphones shall be installed and maintained in a
manner to assure the privacy of use is not compromised
through any type of electrical or acoustical coupling device,
extension telephone, or similar instrument.

(j)  All payphones shall comply with federal and state
laws and regulations regarding accessability by individuals
with disabilities and hearing aid compatibility.  Any payphone
which is placed in an outdoor location available twenty four
hours a day must face a paved area such as a sidewalk of
parking lot which is either flush with the surrounding surface
or is wheelchair accessible by way of a ramp or reasonably
graduated incline.  If bumpers or posts are installed to protect
the payphone, such posts or bumpers must be fifty (50) inches
apart, thirty-six (36) inches in height, and a minimum of six
(6) inches and a maximum of nine (9) inches from the front
of the payphone enclosure.

Section 5: Local Coin Call Rates
(a)  Payphone service providers need not file tariffs.  The

rate for local coin call for a payphone location may be deter-
mined by the payphone service provider.  A payphone ser-
vice provider may not charge for a local coin call or for direc-
tory assistance greater than the rate posted on the payphone.
A payphone service provider may not charge for an uncom-
pleted call.

(b)  The Commission may undertake remedial action if
it determines that market failures  have not allowed for mar-
ket-based local coin calling rates at specific payphone loca-
tions.

Section 6: Reporting.
(a)  Each payphone service provider shall file an annual

report with the Commission on or before March 31 of each
year.

(b)  Each payphone service provider shall provide in its
annual report the following information:

(1)  the name of the payphone service provider;
(2)   the address and telephone and facsimile num-

bers of the payphone service provider;
(3)  the total annual intrastate gross revenues from

payphone services for the immediately precedingcalendar
year;

(4) the total number of payphones which the pro-
vider maintains in service as of the end of its fiscal year; and

(5)  a signed and dated statement sworn to under
oath by an authorized representative of  the payphone service
provider as to the accuracy of the information contained in
the annual report.

(c)  A payphone service providers shall be assessed as a
public utility under the provisions of  26 Del. C. § 115.  A
payphone service provider shall submit the regulatory assess-
ment with the payphone service provider’s annual report.
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(d)  In addition to the annual report, each payphone ser-

vice provider shall submit to the Commission by March 31 of
each year, the following information:

(1)  a description of each location within Delaware,
where, during the preceding calendar ear, the local calling
rate charged by the payphone service provider exceeded fifty
cents for a call of less than three minutes duration; and

(2)  an affirmation by the payphone service provider
that each payphone installed and maintained by that provider
complies with all of these regulations, including the require-
ments of paragraphs (b), (c), and (f) of Section 4.

Section 7: Violations
(a)  If, after notice and an opportunity to be heard, the

Commission determines that good cause exists, it shall issue
an order to a payphone service provider :

(1)  revoking, suspending or modifying its Certifi-
cate of Public Convenience and Necessity;

(2)  imposing fines or penalties, or;
(3)  requiring reparation to a customer or affected

party; or
(4)  providing for such other relief as the Commis-

sion may reasonably require.
(b)  Good cause, pursuant to (a) above, shall include,

but is not be limited to, the following actions by a payphone
service provider:

(1)  violation of these regulations, including the in-
formation disclosure requirements;

(2)  conducting business in an unfair or deceptive
manner; or

(3)  actions which result in revocation of its regis-
tration by the Federal Communications Commission.

Section 7: Miscellaneous
These regulations shall become effective

on______________________.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates
new text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracked Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Braketed striken through]
indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence
and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed
and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information
submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule
of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and
the decision shall be supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation
of such regulation adopted, amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or
conclusions required by the law under which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum
of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
TIDAL  FINFIS H REGULATION  NO. 8

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code, Section
903(e)(2)(a) (7 Del.C. 903(e)(2)(a))

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE FOLLOWING
REGULATORY CHANGES WERE

INITIATED PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE
DATE OF THE CURRENT

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT
THE FOLLOWING IS PRESENTED

FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES
ONLY

In Re: Adoption of amendment to Tidal Finfish
Regulation No. 8 to facilitate commercial fishermen filling
their striped bass quotas.

Order No. 97-F-0024

ORDER

NATURE OF PROCEEDINGS

Pursuant to due notice, the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control proposed to amend
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 to do the following:

• To adjust the commercial fishing season dates for the
harvest of striped bass by hook and line and gill nets in the
fall to better account for the annual distribution of striped
bass in the Delaware Estuary.

• To adjust the percentage of the State commercial quota
of striped bass allotted to gill netters in order to improve
the probability of landing the total quota.

A public hearing was held on June 10, 1997 in Dover,

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/frames2.htm
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DE in front of Roy W. Miller, Fisheries Program Manager
for the Department and the Department’s designee to
receive evidence.  The Advisory Council on Tidal
Finfisheries discussed the proposed amendments on July
17, 1997 although a quorum was not present.

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE

Under the provisions of the Striped Bass Fishery
Management Plan, as amended, approved by the Atlantic
States Marine Fisheries Commission, each coastal state
from Maine to North Carolina is allocated an annual quota
in pounds for the commercial harvest of striped bass.  If
this quota is exceeded, the poundage in excess must be
subtracted from the next year’s commercial quota.  If the
quota is not attained, no poundage is added to the next
year’s commercial quota.  Delaware’s commercial
fishermen fail to land about 20% of their total quota.

At previous meetings of the Advisory Council on Tidal
Finfisheries, it was recommended the Department extend
the commercial seasons to allow hook and line fishermen
and gill net fishermen more opportunity to harvest their
individual allocations of striped bass in their fall fishing
seasons due to annual variations in the distribution of
striped bass in the Delaware Estuary relative to water
temperature and salinity.  In addition, the Division of Fish
and Wildlife recommended an increase of 5% to the
commercial gill net fishery with no penalty to the
commercial hook and line fishery.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Delaware’s commercial striped bass fishery is allotted
an annual quota by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission.  In return, this quota is allocated among
commercial fishermen so that each participant is assigned
a limited poundage of striped bass.  Commercial gill netters
and commercial hook and line fishermen, collectively,
have consistently failed to harvest the state’s quota by an
average of 20%.

Extending the seasons by starting the hook and line
fishing season a month earlier and the gill net season two
weeks earlier will afford fishermen more opportunity to
harvest their assigned allocations of striped bass without
any adverse impact on the resource.  Striped bass will leave
low salinity areas of the Delaware estuary sooner relative
to lower water temperatures.

In order to assign individuals their share of the annual
quota, 5 pounds has been used as the average weight of a
striped bass in order to figure the number of tags each
fisherman will receive.  The average weight of striped bass
now fluctuates with the market.  The 5 pound average
should be eliminated.  Calculations should be based on
the previous years average weight.

Any overage of the state’s quota for striped bass
landed for commercial purposes must be subtracted from
the following years quota assigned to the fishery that
causes the overage as stated in the Striped Bass Fishery
Management Plan, as amended.

No one provided any evidence that would substantiate
any adverse affects on the striped bass or to the fisheries
if the fall commercial striped bass fishing seasons are
opened earlier.

With the comments received regarding the earlier
openings of the fall commercial striped bass hook and line
season and gill netting season, the Department finds the
attached amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8
should be adopted in the public interest for the
conservation of striped bass.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, the 16th day of July, 1997 that
the above referenced amendments to Tidal Finfish
Regulation No. 8, a copy  of which is attached hereto, are
adopted pursuant to 7 Del.C., § 903(e)(2)(a) and shall
become effective 30 days from the date of this order.

Christophe A.G. Tulou,
Secretary Department of Natural
 Resources and Environmental Control

Under the authority of the provisions of 7 Del.C.,
Chapter 9 and to be consistent with the Striped Bass
Fishery Management Plan, as amended, adopted by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, amendments
to Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 are required to better
facilitate the allowable harvest of the annual commercial
quota of striped bass by the gill net fishery and the hook
and line fishery in Delaware.

Be it adopted by the Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control, amendments to Tidal Finfish
Regulation No. 8, STRIPED BASS COMMERCIAL
FISHING SEASONS; QUOTAS; TAGGING AND
REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.

Section 1. Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 in
paragraph (a) by striking the words “December 1 “ as they
appear in the third sentence thereof and substituting in
lieu thereof the words “November 15.”

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 in
paragraph (a) by striking the words “November 15” as
they appear in the last sentence thereof and substituting
in lieu thereof the words “November 1”
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Section 2. Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 in
paragraph (b) by striking the words “October 1” as they
appear in the second sentence thereof and substituting in
lieu thereof the words “September 1”

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 in
paragraph (b) by striking the words “September 15” as
they appear in the last sentence thereof and substituting
in lieu thereof the words “August 15.”

Section 3. Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 in
paragraph (d) by adding the words “November” between
the words “... gill net fishery in” and “December and the
striped bass...” in the first sentence.

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 in
paragraph (d) by striking the words “October” as they
appear in the first and forth sentences and substituting in
lieu thereof the word “September.”

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 in
paragraph (d) by striking the figure “90%” as it appears
in the forth sentence and substituting in lieu thereof the
figure “95%.”

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 in
paragraph (d) by adding the word “November” between
the words “...said remainder for the” and “December gill
net fishery” in the last sentence.

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 in
paragraph (d) after the period “.” in the last sentence by
adding a new sentence to read as follows: “Any overage
in landings of the commercial quota shall be subtracted
from the subsequent year’s commercial quota in proportion
to the appropriate fishery.”

Section 4. Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8 in
paragraph (g) by striking the words “five (5), five (5)
being” as they appear in the second sentence thereof.

Section 5. These amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation
No. 8 will not have a significant impact on the conservation
of striped bass.

Section 6. These amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation
No. 8 shall become effective 30 days after the order
implementing said amendments is signed by the Secretary.

The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control, in accordance with 7 Del. C. 903
(e) (2) (a) has adopted amendments to Tidal Finfish
Regulation No. 8, STRIPED BASS COMMERCIAL
FISHING SEASONS; QUOTAS; TAGGING AND
REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.  The changes are
summarized as follows:

• The commercial hook and line fishing season for
striped bass will begin on September 1 rather than October
1 and continue to 4:00 p.m. on December 31.

• Commercial hook and line fishermen must sign up
with the Division of Fish and Wildlife to participate in the
commercial hook and line fishery for striped bass by no
later than August 15.

• The commercial fall gill net season for striped bass
will begin on November 15 rather that December 1 and
continue to 4:00 p.m. on December 31.

• Commercial gill netters must sign up with the Division
of Fish and Wildlife to participate in the commercial fall
gill net fishery for striped bass by no later than November
1.

• The state’s quota for the commercial striped bass
fisheries will be allocated 95% to commercial gill netters
and 10% to commercial hook and line fishermen in order
to calculate individual shares.  Any overage of the state’s
quota will be subtracted from the next year’s quota in the
fishery responsible for the overage.

The above amendment shall become effective on
August 15, 1997.

A public hearing was held on June 16, 1997 at 7:30
p.m. in the DNREC auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover,
DE.

Anyone desiring a copy of the revised Tidal Finfish
Regulation No. 8 may obtain a copy from the Division of
Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901.

The final date to receive comments was June 24, 1997.

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 8,  STRIPED
BASS COMMERCIAL FISHING SEASONS;

QUOTAS; TAGGING AND REPORTING
REQUIREMENTS.

a) It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman using a gill net to take and reduce to possession
any striped bass at any time except when said commercial
food fisherman is authorized by the Department to
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participate in a commercial gill net fishery for striped bass
established herein.  A commercial food fisherman may
use a gill net to take and reduce to possession striped bass
during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on March 1 and
ending at 4:00 p.m. on April 30 next ensuing.  A
commercial food fisherman may use a gill net to take and
reduce to possession striped bass during the period
beginning at 12:01 a.m. on December 1 November 15 and
ending at 4:00 p.m. on December 31 next ensuing provided
at least two (2) percent of the commercial allocation of
striped bass for the gill net fishery, as determined by the
Department, was not landed in the March - April gill net
fishery.  In order for a commercial food  fisherman  to be
authorized by the Department to part icipate in a
commercial gill net fishery, said commercial food
fisherman shall have a valid food fishing equipment permit
for a gill net and shall register in writing with the
Department to participate in said fishery by February 15
for the March - April gill net fishery and by November 15
November 1 for the December gill net fishery.

b) It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman using a hook and line to take and reduce to
possession any striped bass at any time except when said
commercial food f isherman is authorized by the
Department to participate in a commercial hook and line
fishery for striped bass established herein.  A commercial
food fisherman may use a hook and line to take and reduce
to possession striped bass during the period beginning at
12:01 a.m. on October 1 September 1 and ending at 4:00
p.m. on December 31 next ensuing.  In order for a
commercial food fisherman to be authorized to participate
in the commercial hook and line fishery, said commercial
food f isherman shall register in writ ing with the
Department to participate in said fishery by September 15
August 15.

c) It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman using a hook and line, during the striped bass
hook and line fishery established for subsection (b) herein,
to take striped bass by means of a gill net or to have any
gill net on board or to otherwise have in possession on or
near his person any gill net.

d) The striped bass gill net fishery in March - April,
the striped bass gill net fishery in November - December
and the striped bass hook and line fishery in October
September - December shall be considered separate striped
bass fisheries.  Each participant in a striped bass fishery
shall be assigned an equal share of the total pounds of
striped bass allotted by the Department to that fishery.  A
share shall be determined by dividing the number of pre-
registered participants in that fishery into the total pounds
of striped bass allotted to that fishery by the Department.

The total pounds of striped bass allotted to each fishery
by the Department shall be as follows: 90% 95% of the
State’s commercial quota, as determined by the ASMFC,
for the March - April gill net fishery, 10% of the State’s
commercial quota for the October September - December
hook and line fishery and, provided that in excess of two
(2) % of the March - April gill net fishery allocation was
not landed, said remainder for the November - December
gill net fishery.  Any overage of the State’s commercial
quota will be subtracted from the next year’s commercial
quota proportionally to the appropriate fishery.

e) It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to land, during a striped bass fishing season,
more than the total pounds assigned by the Department to
said individual commercial food fisherman.

f) It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to possess any striped bass that does not have
locked into place through the mouth and gill a tag issued
to said commercial fisherman by the Department.  Said
tag shall be locked into place immediately after taking said
striped bass.

g) The Department shall issue tags to commercial
food f ishermen who register in writ ing with the
Department to participate in a striped bass fishery.  Each
participant shall initially be issued a quantity of  tags that
is to be determined by the Department by dividing said
participants assigned share in pounds by five (5); five (5)
being the estimated weight of a striped bass expected to
be landed.  If a commercial food fisherman needs
additional tags to fulfill his or her assigned share, the
Department shall issue additional tags after verifying the
balance of the share from reports submitted by an official
weigh station to the Department.

h) It shall be unlawful for a commercial food
fisherman who has been issued striped bass tags by  the
Department to transfer said tags to another person.

i) It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to apply a tag to a striped bass unless said tag
had been issued to said commercial food fisherman by the
Department.

j) It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to apply a tag to a striped bass if said tag had
previously been applied to another striped bass.

k) It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to sell, barter or trade any striped bass, to
attempt to sell, barter or trade any striped bass or to
transport, to have transported or to attempt to have
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transported any striped bass out of the state unless said
striped bass has been weighed and tagged by an official
weigh station.

l) The Department shall appoint individuals and
their agents as official weigh stations to weigh and tag all
stripedbass landed in a commercial striped bass fishery.
Official weigh stations shall be compensated by the
Department for each striped bass weighed and tagged.  An
official weigh station shall enter into an agreement with
the Department to maintain records and report on a regular
basis each commercial food fisherman’s daily landings of
striped bass weighed and tagged at said station.  The
Department shall provide official weigh stations with tags
to be applied to each striped bass weighed.

m) Each commercial food fisherman participating in
a striped bass fishery shall file an acceptable report with
the Department on forms provided by the Department on
all striped bass landed during said fishery.  Each report
shall be filed with the Department within 30 days after
the end date of each fishery.  All unused tags issued to a
commercial food fisherman shall be returned to the
Department with said report.  Failure to file an acceptable
report or failure to return all unused tags may disqualify
the commercial food fishermen from future striped bass
fisheries.

STATE PERSONNEL COMMISSION
M ERIT  EMPLOYEE  RELATIONS  BOARD

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,
Section, 5914, (29 Del.C. 5914)

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE FOLLOWING
REGULATORY CHANGES WERE

INITIATED PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE
DATE OF THE CURRENT

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT
THE FOLLOWING IS PRESENTED

FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES
ONLY

BEFORE THE MERIT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS
BOARD

OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF |
THE ADOPTION OF |  ORDER
RULES FOR PROCESSING |   ADOPTING
MAINTENANCE REVIEW |    RULES
REVIEW CLASSIFICATION |
APPEALS |

ORDER

AND NOW, this 19th day of June, 1997,
WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.  C § 5915, the Merit

Employee Relations Board (“Board”) is directed to hear
and consider appeals from maintenance review
classification determinations approved by the Director of
the State Personnel Office, the State Budget Director, and
Controller General; and,

WHEREAS, the Board has determined to adopt Rules
governing the filing and consideration of such appeals in
a manner consistent with the terms of 29 Del.  C § 5915;
and,

WHEREAS, the Board has the authority, pursuant to
29 Del.  C. § 10113 to adopt Rules of Practice and
Procedure without the necessity of a formal rulemaking.
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED:

1. That the attached Rules of Practice and Procedure
governing the processing of Appeals of Maintenance
Review Classif ication decisions before the Merit
Employee Relations Board are effective with the date of
this Order.

2. That the time requirements set forth in the
attached Rules are suggested and permissive except where
required by the provisions of 29 Del.C. § 5915 in which
event they are mandatory and may be jurisdictional.

3. That the Merit Employee Relations Board
reserves the jurisdiction and authority to modify such
Rules within its authority to do so when the interest of
justice so requires.

Katy K. Woo, Chairperson
Robert Burns, Vice-Chairperson
Walter Bowers, Member
Dallas Green, Member

Mailing Date: 6/26/97

Merit Employees Relations Board (MERB)
P.O. Box 1401, Tatnall Building, Ground Floor
Dover, DE 19903
(302) 739-6772

http://www.state.de.us/spo/main.htm
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CLASSIFICATION MAINTENANCE APPEAL

PROCEDURES FOR MERIT SYSTEM EMPLOYEES

1. The position incumbent is notified in writing of a
final classification decision and is given a copy of (a) the
classification specification for the new classification
assigned to the position, (b) Classification Maintenance
Appeal Procedures for Merit System Employees, (c) the
classification appeals form, and (d) the name of the
designated agency representative (normally the agency
personnel administrator or a high level personnel
professional, or if the agency does not have a personnel
professional, a high level agency manager).  The
classification decision may be appealed to MERB withing
thirty (30) calendar days from the notification to the
employee of the classification decision.

2. The designated agency representative should
within ten (10) calendar days offer to meet with the
employee(s) considering filing a classification appeal to
explain the process and answer questions about the appeals
process.  These meetings may be with individual
employees or with groups of employees.

3. Within thirty (30) calendar days from the date the
employee receives written notice of the final classification
decision from the designated agency representative, the
employee, who decides to appeal must complete the
employee portion of the appeals form (items 1-4), send a
copy of the appear to the designated agency representative,
and submit the appeal directly to MERB.

4. The Merit Employee Relations Board will forward
a copy of the employee’s appeal to the State Personnel
Office Classification Unit upon receipt.  Within ten (10)
calendar days from the receipt of the employee appeal to
MERB, the designated agency representative has the hiring
agency head or designee complete the agency’s portion
of the classification appeals form (items 5-7), and submit
the agency’s portion of the employee’s appeal form to the
Merit Employee Relations Board.

5. Within ten (10) calendar days after receipt of the
employee’s appeal, MERB notifies the agency head, the
designated agency representative, the employee, the
Director of the State Personnel Office, and the State
Personnel Classification Unit, in writing that the appeal
has been received and is assigned to an Independent
Reviewer.  The State provides access to all documentation
pertaining to the classification decision.

6. Within thirty (30) calendar days of assignment
of the appeal, the Independent Reviewer reviews the appeal
form as filed by, the employee and as completed by the

agency and any other relevant documentation that was used
in the classification decision provided by the State
Personnel Classification Unit.  The Independent Reviewer
may contact the employee and agency via the designated
agency representative, and/or the State Personnel
Classification Unit, to get additional information or
clarification.  Based on this review. the Independent
Reviewer shall prepare a written report of findings and
recommendations concerning the classification appeal and
shall submit it to MERB, the employee, the Director of
the State Personnel Office, and the Manager of the
Classification Unit.  In unusual circumstances, the Board
may authorize the Independent Reviewer an additional
thirty (30) calendar days to issue f indings and
recommendations to the parties.

When the Independent Reviewer makes his/her
findings and recommendations, he/she shall consider
whether:

(a) One or more major duties and responsibilities
and/or major knowledge, skills and abilities are not
included in the class specification;

(b) Another class specification is clearly a more
accurate description of the position.

7. Within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of
the Independent Reviewer’s f indings and
recommendations, the State Personnel Director and the
employee shall accept, deny, or ignore the findings
rendered by the Independent Reviewer and notify, in
writing, the Merit Employee Relations Board.

8. If the Independent Reviewer’s findings and
recommendations are accepted by the employee and the
Director, MERB is required to also accept the findings
and to so notify the parties.

9. If the Independent Reviewer’s findings are
rejected or ignored by the Director or employee within
thirty (30) calendar days after the Independent Reviewer’s
findings and recommendations, MERB has sixty (60)
calendar days to conduct a hearing.  At this same time,
the appeal file containing the PCQ/JAQ, the written
analysis by the Independent Reviewer, the interview record
(if applicable), and any other documentation provided by
the employee or agency and the State Personnel
Classification Unit is available for review by the employee
and the Director.  Parties may call the Merit Employee
Relations Board if he/she wishes to schedule a time to
review the file.

10. The employee or the Director may respond in
writing to the findings and recommendations of the
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Independent Reviewer.  Such written response, which may
include affidavits, should be filed with MERB, served upon
the opposing party, and provided to the Independent
Reviewer within thirty (30) days of the issuance of the
Independent Reviewer’s findings and not less than ten (10)
days prior to the scheduled hearing for oral argument.

11. The Independent Reviewer shall forward a
decision binder containing the appeal form completed by
the agency and the employee, and any pert inent
documentation from the State Personnel Classification
Unit’s classification maintenance review decision file, and
the written findings and recommendations by the
Independent Reviewer and any written responses thereto
and any other pertinent material to the members of MERB
not less than ten (10) calendar days prior to the scheduled
hearing for oral argument.

12. The Board shall hold a hearing at which all parties
may attend and have the opportunity to present brief oral
arguments.  The Independent Reviewer will summarize
the grounds for the appeal, the primary points made by
the parties, and his/her findings and recommendations
based on review of the facts.  The appellant will have the
opening argument (normally no more than 15 minutes)
followed by the Director (normally no more than 15
minutes), and the appellant may close (normally 5
minutes).  The Board may question the parties and the
Independent Reviewer as deemed necessary.

13. Within fifteen (15) calendar days of the hearing,
the Board shall render a final and binding decision
considering the following criteria:

(a) the findings of the Independent Reviewer:
(b) the Director’s initial determination;
(c) the Director’s response to the Independent

Reviewer’s findings;
(d) the employee’s response to the Independent

Reviewer’s findings;
(e) the oral argument;
(f) the consistency with other existing classified

positions of a similar nature;
(g) the minimization of the number of

classifications.

14. The Board shall notify the employee and the State
Personnel Director, in writing, of the Board’s decision.

ADOPTED BY THE BOARD:  JUNE 19, 1997

(Note that the following form is only a representation of the form

supplied by the Merit Employee Relations Board and is not official )

CLASSIFICATION MAINTENANCE REVIEW
STATE OF DELAWARE

EMPLOYEE APPEAL FORM

TO BE COMPLETED BY AGENCY PERSONNEL
SECTIONS

Position Number:  _____________________
Department/Division/Section:  ___________
Date Employee was Notified by Agency of Classification
Decision:  ____________________________
Date Appeal was Submitted by Employee:  _________
Name of Personnel Representative:  _______________

Title:_______ Phone No. ________ Fax. No. ________
Date Bargaining Unit Representative Notified of Appeal
(if applicable):  ______________________________

Note: The information in items 1-4 are to be completed
by the employee who is appealing the classification
decision.  Items 5-7 are to be completed by the Division
Director and/or the appropriate agency manager who is
knowledgeable of the duties and responsibilities of the
employee in this position.

TO BE COMPLETED BY EMPLOYEE
1.  Name:
Phone No.                                       Fax No.
Class Title:

(Former title)

(New title)
Date Employee was Notified by Agency of Classification
Decision:
Agency:

2. Grounds for classification appeal (See guidelines for
classification appeals to the Merit Employee Relations
Board)

A. One or more major duties and responsibilities
or major knowledge, skills and abilities are not included
in the class specification.

B. Another class specification is clearly a more
accurate description of the position.

3.A. If you checked 2(A) or 2(B) above, list the duties
and responsibilities that are assigned to your position that
are not included in the new class specification.
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3.B.If you checked 2(A) or 2(B) above, list the knowledge,
skills and abilities that are required for your position that
are not included in the new class specification. (Please
note: personal qualifications and job performance of
employees are not relevant factors in classifying positions.)

4.  Relief sought (check one of the following):

1. Revisions to class specification.
2. Reclassification of position to:

Name of Classification

(If No. 2 was checked, the requested class title must be
listed.)

TO BE COMPLETED BY AGENCY MANAGER OR
DIVISION DIRECTOR

5. Name of Manager:
Phone No.                            Fax No.
Title:

6. If the employee completed section 3(A), please verify
that each of the duties and responsibilities listed are
assigned to the position.  How long have these duties been
assigned to this position?  If possible, indicate the specific
date these duties were assigned.

If the employee completed section 3(B), please verify that
the knowledge, skills and abilities listed are required to
perform this job. (Please note: Personal qualifications and
job performance of employees are not relevant factors in
classifying positions.)

Employee Date

Immediate Supervisor Date

Division Director Date

Personnel Representative Date

cc: Agency Head
Designated Agency Representative

APPEAL FORM ADOPTED BY THE
MERIT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS BOARD
JUNE 19, 1997
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF AI R & W ASTE M ANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority:  Title 7, Chapter 63 of the
Delaware Code

(7 Del.C. Ch. 63 )

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE FOLLOWING
REGULATORY CHANGES WERE

INITIATED PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE
DATE OF THE CURRENT

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT
THE FOLLOWING IS PRESENTED FOR

INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY

Secretary’s Order No. 97-A-0022

Re:  Changes to the Delaware Regulations
Governing Hazardous Waste

Date of Issuance:  July 21, 1997

I. Background

On June 24, 1997, a public hearing was held in the DNREC
Auditorium at 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.  The
public hearing concerned amendments to the Delaware Regu-
lations Governing Hazardous Waste.  The public hearing was
noticed pursuant to 7 Del. C. Chapter 63 and the Department’s
Regulatory Development Policy.  Prior to the public hearing,
these proposed changes were the subject of two Regulatory
workshops.  The workshops were held on May 13, 1997, in
New Castle, and on May 21, 1997, in Dover.  The proposed
amendments are necessary in order for Delaware’s regula-
tions to mirror the federal regulations and must be adopted in
order for Delaware to maintain its Hazardous Waste Program
delegation from the U.S. EPA.

II. Findings

1.Proper notice was provided as required by law.
2.Absolutely no members of the public appeared at the

public hearing or submitted any written comments concern-
ing this proposed regulation.

3.These amendments are necessary in order for Delaware

to maintain its Hazardous Waste Program delegation from
the U.S. EPA.

III. Order

In view of the above findings, it is hereby ordered that the
attached changes to the Delaware Regulations Governing
Hazardous Waste be adopted and promulgated according to
the 7 Del. C. Chapters 60 and 63 and the Administrative Pro-
cedures Act.  Further, it is hereby ordered that the effective
date of the Regulatory changes shall be August 21, 1997.

V.Reasons

These amendments to the Delaware Regulations Govern-
ing Hazardous Waste will further the policies and purposes
of 7 Del. Code Chapter 63 and contribute to the protection of
human health and the environment.  The adoption of these
amendments enable Delaware to maintain equivalency with
the federal program and authorization of the Department’s
Hazardous Waste Management Program from the U.S. EPA.

                                                                 _________________________________
                                            Christophe A. G. Tulou,

Secretary

*  Due to the number of amendments to the Dela-
ware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste
it was not possible to publish the full text of the
regulations.  For more information contact the
Department of Natural Resources & Environ-
mental Control at (302) 739-4764 or the Division
of Research at (302) 739-7727.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FORTY-SIX

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE

RE: AMENDMENT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FORTY-SIX REGARDING THE
GOVERNOR’S TASK FORCE ON VIOLENT
CRIME

WHEREAS, the Attorney general’s Office has agreed
to provide legal advice and to otherwise work
cooperatively with The Governor’s Task Force on Violent
Crime; and

WHEREAS, sound and timely legal advice is crucial
to the ongoing success of The Governor’s Task Force on
Violent Crime; and

WHEREAS, coordinated investigations and
prosecutions will send a clear signal that state and local
law enforcement agencies are committed to reducing
violent crime.

NOW, THEREFORE, I Thomas R. Carper, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby declare and order that:

1. Executive Order Number Forty-Six is amended
by striking the text of paragraph number five and inserting
in lieu thereof the following:

“The task force shall be composed of officers from the
Delaware State Police, Probation and Parole Officers for
the Department of Correction, Probation and Parole
Officers for the Department of Services for Children,
Youth and their Families, a Deputy Attorney General
representing the Delaware Department of Justice, and such
others as the Governor shall direct to be deployed to assist
the task force.”

2. Copies of this amendment to Executive Order
Number forty-Six shall be distributed along with copies

of Executive Order Number Forty-Six.

Approved this 25th day of July, 1997.

/Thomas R. Carper
Governor

Attest:

/Ed Freel
Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FORTY-SIX

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE

RE: GOVERNOR’S TASK FORCE ON VIOLENT
CRIME

WHEREAS, the health and safety of our communities
and neighborhoods is of paramount importance to the
quality of life of Delawareans; and

WHEREAS, violent crime and drugs in our
neighborhoods greatly diminishes the quality of
l i fe in those communities and undermines public
confidence in government and community; and

WHEREAS, violent crime is on the rise in certain
areas of our State; and

WHEREAS, those areas of concentrated criminal
activity tax the resources of local law enforcement, making
it difficult for local law enforcement to respond in a
manner sufficient to address the problem; and

WHEREAS, the studies of many experts conclude that
a high percentage of violent crime is committed by a small
number of offenders who are already known to the criminal
justice system; and

WHEREAS, the studies of many experts conclude that
an aggressive, concentrated law enforcement effort in high
crime areas along with intense supervision of those persons

http://www.state.de.us/govern/governor/introgov.htm
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on probation and parole will help reduce violence, thereby
greatly benefiting the law-abiding citizens in those
communities; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware State Police often join
forces with local law enforcement in cooperative law
enforcement initiatives; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware State Police and the
Wilmington Police Department conducted one such
successful operation in 1996 called Operation Joint
Venture which resulted in one hundred and ninety-four
people arrested and three hundred and thirty felony drug
charges; and

WHEREAS, state probation and parole officers, both
juvenile and adult. are often charged
with monitoring the most dangerous offenders in our
community; and

WHEREAS, state probation and parole officers are
aware of each offenders’ probation conditions and are
afforded broader arrest powers than police officers; and

WHEREAS, state probation and parole officers
working together with local law enforcement agencies can
undertake a high impact initiative against offenders with
proven criminal tendencies; and

WHEREAS, Delaware has a proud tradition of
cooperation among our law enforcement agencies.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby declare and order that:

1. The Governor’s Task Force on Violent Crime is
hereby created to work in cooperation and conjunction
with local law enforcement agencies to provide support
and assistance to address violent crime in the most crime-
prone areas of our State.

2. Each mission of the Task Force shall be initiated
at the invitation of the relevant local
law enforcement agency and shall be preceded by a
thorough analysis of the crime problem at issue.

3. The Task Force, in conjunction with the Criminal
Justice Council, shall analyze such requests in terms of
the extent and nature of violent crime problems in a
particular area.

4. The Task Force shall  review and, where
appropriate, propose modifications of existing initiatives

so as to provide the most effective assistance to local
communities.

5. The Task Force shall be composed of officers
from the Delaware State Police, probation and parole
officers for the Department of Correction, probation and
parole officers for the Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families, a Deputy Attorney General
representing the Delaware Department of Justice, and such
others as the Governor shall direct to be deployed to assist
the Task Force.

6. The Governor shall appoint a commander of the
Task Force who will oversee the operations of the Task
Force working in coordination with local law enforcement
agencies.

Approved this 28th day of May, 1997.

/Thomas R. Carper
Governor

Attest:

/Ed Freel
Secretary of State
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BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE

APPOINTEE TERM OF
OFFICE

Cash Management Policy Board John C. Sargent 07/15/00

Vice-Chancellor of the Stephen P. Lamb 07/28/09
Court of Chancery

http://www.state.de.us/govern/governor/introgov.htm
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BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE
COMMISSION

OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
IMPLEMENTATION |
OF THE UNIVERSAL | PSC REGULATION
SERVICE | DOCKET NO. 48
PROVISIONS OF THE |
TELECOMMUNICATIONS |
ACT OF 1996 |
(OPENED AUGUST 12, 1997 |

ORDER NO.  4571

This 12th day of August, 1997, the Commission directs
and orders the following:

A. INTRODUCTION

1. In the Telecommunications Act of 1996 (“the Act”),1

Congress directed the Federal Communications Commission
(“FCC”) and the state utility commissions to take various steps
to establish explicit support mechanisms to ensure the delivery
of affordable telecommunications service to all Americans.
47 U.S.C. § 254.  Specifically, Congress directed the
Commission, in conjunction with the states, to devise methods
to ensure that “[c]onsumers in all regions of the Nation,
including low-income consumers and those in rural, insular,
and high cost areas . . . have access to telecommunications
and information services . . . at rates that are reasonably
comparable to rates charged for similar services in urban
areas.”  47 U.S.C. § 254(b)(3).  Congress further directed that
telecommunications and other advanced services be made
available, at discounted rates, to eligible schools and libraries
and, at equalized rates, to eligible rural health care providers.
47 U.S.C.  § 254(h).  To provide funding for such services,
Congress directed the creation of federal universal service
mechanisms.  47 U.S.C. § 254(b)(5), (d).  Under the Act, States
may also create complementary state universal service
programs and state support mechanisms.  47 U.S.C. § 254(f).

2. In May, 1997, the FCC released its Universal Service
Order (“USF Order”) implementing the various universal
service obligations imposed under § 254.  In the Matter of
Federal-State Joint Board on Universal Service, CC Dckt. No.
96-45, Report & Order, FCC 97-157 (rel. May 8, 1997).  Both
the USF Order and the Act itself impose on this state
Commission various obligations related to the implementation
of the federal universal service support programs and funding
mechanisms.  In Regulation Docket No. 47, this Commission
has undertaken the task necessary to allow
telecommunications carriers and other providers in this State

to receive federal support for the discounted services provided
to eligible schools and libraries.  The Commission now opens
this docket as a procedural vessel to be used to navigate
through the other universal service obligations which arise
under § 254 and the USF Order.  At some time, the
Commission may also investigate and determine in this docket
whether the Commission can, and should, implement any
complementary state universal service program with attendant
state funding.

3. This Order deals with three issues.  On one issue -
involving the submission of a state-specific cost study to the
FCC - the Commission now directs some immediate action
while ordering further investigation.  For the other two - which
deal with the possible implementation of Lifeline rates for
low-income customers and the determination of standards for
“essential telecommunications carriers” - the Commission
starts a process to allow final determinations by January 1,
1998.

B. STATE-SPECIFIC COST STUDIES AND MODEL
FOR HIGH COST SUPPORT

4. In the USF Order, the FCC determined that federal
universal support in high cost areas would be determined by
subtracting a national benchmark revenue amount from the
forward-looking cost of providing universal service, calculated
by using a forward-looking cost methodology.  USF Order at
¶¶ 223-26, 232.  The FCC is currently in the process of
attempting to adopt or construct a specific cost model platform
to be used by that agency.  However, in the USF Order, the
FCC invited the states to submit to the FCC the state’s own
forward-looking cost studies which, if approved, could then
be used to calculate the level of universal support available to
carriers in that state.  If approved by the FCC, the state-specific
cost study would govern support under both the federal
support mechanism and any complementary state mechanism.
USF Order at ¶¶ 206, 246, 248-54.  If a state chooses not to
submit a cost study, the FCC will determine costs and, hence,
the support levels for  that state according to the FCC’s
methodology.

5. In granting the states the option to submit  state-
specific cost studies, the FCC noted that a state might find it
beneficial to coordinate the methodologies it might use for
setting permanent prices for unbundled network elements and
those it might choose to determine universal support levels.
This coordination would, in the FCC’s view, reduce
duplication and diminish inefficient arbitrage opportunities
which might arise if inconsistencies arose due to the use of
differing methodologies.  USF Order at ¶¶ 247, 251.  A state
commission must notify the FCC of its decision to conduct a
state-specific cost study by August 15, 1997.  The study must
be filed by February 6, 1998.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/pubservc/delpsc.htm
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6. In the proceeding involving Bell Atlantic-Delaware,
Inc.’s (“BA-Del”)  submission of a “Statement of Generally
Available Terms and Conditions” (PSC Docket No. 96-324),
this Commission declined to adopt a specific cost model for
determining prices for unbundled network elements.
However, it did determine prices for various unbundled
network elements.  These prices, with an adjustment for the
allocation of common costs, were consistent with prices
generated by using a proprietary Bellcore costing model
sponsored by BA-Del, but with the use of specific inputs
determined by the Commission.  PSC Order No. 4542 (July
8, 1997).

7. The Commission is not now prepared to definitively
determine whether to submit a state-specific cost study to the
FCC and, if so, what should be the content of the underlying
cost methodology or model.  Instead, the Commission believes
that the Commission Staff should undertake further
investigation on those questions.  However, to avoid
foreclosing the option of using a state-specific cost study, the
Commission will direct the Executive Director to notify the
FCC that this Commission has elected to submit a state-
specific cost study, while reserving the authority to withdraw
such election if, upon later consideration, the Commission
determines that a state-specific study is neither necessary nor
appropriate.

8. Staff should explore all relevant issues surrounding
a state-specific cost study, including the need for a state-
specific model and the identification of one or more
appropriate cost models or methodologies.  Staff should also
investigate whether the Commission can, or should, use the
prices for unbundled elements as determined in PSC Docket
No. 96-324 as bases for determining costs for universal service
support.  Staff may conduct such investigation by soliciting
comments on any relevant issue, by convening workshops,
or by any other procedure likely to allow for input by interested
persons.   The Commission Staff shall endeavor to submit a
first report on the advisability of a state-specific cost study
and the possible cost methodology platforms by  September
19, 1997.

C. LIFELINE AND LINK-UP PROGRAMS FOR LOW-
INCOME CONSUMERS

9. Since 1985, the FCC has administered two programs
designed to increase subscribership by reducing charges for
certain services to low-income consumers.  The Lifeline
program reduces qualifying consumers’ monthly charges, and
the Link Up program provides federal support to reduce
eligible consumers’ initial connection charges by up to one-
half.  Under present rules, in order for a state to participate,
that state must  generate state funds to support a matching

state reduction in end-user charges.  In the past, this
Commission did not think participation in the Lifeline program
was necessary because of the high penetration level of
telephone service and the low dial-tone rates in this State.
The Commission also believed that the decision to participate
in such a program was a social policy decision which should
be made by the General Assembly.  The Commission did
approve participation in the Link-Up program.  See PSC Order
No. 3713 (Nov. 30, 1993) (PSC Dckt. No. 92-47).

10. In the USF Order, the FCC has modified, effective
January 1, 1998, the manner of providing Lifeline and Link
Up support.  Under the new program, a baseline of federal
Lifeline support in the amount of $3.50 (the amount of the
SLC charge) will be available for all eligible low-income
consumers without the need for any state participation.  USF
Order at ¶¶ 347-49.  In addition, if a state commission reduces
the amount paid by eligible low-income consumers for eligible
services by $1.75, federal Lifeline support in that amount will
be paid to a carrier providing Lifeline service to that customer.
This additional support is available from federal support
mechanisms without the need for the state to generate any
state funds.  USF Order at ¶ 351.  States may gain even more
federal Lifeline support if they make further reductions in
rates and generate state matching support amounts.  USF Order
at  § 352.  See 47 C.F.R. § 54.403(a).  Federal support is
available for the Link Up program without state involvement.
47 C.F.R. §§ 54.411, 54.413.

11. The Commission believes that, in light of the above-
described changes in the manner of providing funding for the
Lifeline program, the Commission should revisit the question
whether the Commission can, and should, develop Lifeline
rates, to be supported by federal universal service support,
for eligible low-income customers within this State.  The
Commission is concerned that if monies for such federal
mechanisms are to be collected from carriers serving
Delaware, it might be in this State’s interest to implement
such rates to allow carriers serving low-income customers in
this State to obtain a portion of such federal funds.

12. The Commission directs Staff (including counsel)
to explore whether the Commission can, and should, now
approve Lifelines rates for eligible low-income consumers so
that carriers in this state may receive the additional $1.75 from
the federal universal service support fund.  Staff should explore
the relevant legal and policy issues surrounding the
implementation of such Lifeline Rates by both BA-Del and
other competitive carriers.  In doing so, Staff may solicit
comments, convene  workshops, or proceed by any other
appropriate means which will allow interested persons the
opportunity to express their views.  Staff shall endeavor to
submit an initial report and recommendation by September
5, 1997.
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E. ELIGIBLE TELECOMMUNICATIONS CARRIERS

13. In most instances, federal universal service support
may only be distributed to  carriers designated as “eligible
telecommunications carriers.”  47 U.S.C. §§ 214(e)(1), 254(e).
To be eligible to be such a carrier, the carrier must provide all
services supported by federal support mechanisms in a
designated service area.  Eligible telecommunications carriers
must also advertise the availability of, and the charges for,
universal service elements using media of general distribution.
47 U.S.C. § 214(e)(1)(A)-(B).

14. Under the Act and the USF Order, this Commission
must designate the geographic parameters of the service area;
designate (on its own motion or upon request of carriers) one
or more essential telecommunications carriers for such service
area; and certify that such designated carriers are eligible to
receive federal universal service support.  47 U.S.C. §§
214(e)(2), (3); USF Order at ¶¶ 148, 184-85, 198.

15. The Commission directs the Commission Staff to
promptly begin an investigation into the number of potential
“eligible telecommunications carriers” that might receive
federal universal service support within this State.  Staff should
also promptly explore and investigate what criteria and
standards the Commission should adopt to govern the
designation of service areas and the designated carriers’
responsibility to provide notice of supported services.  Staff
should also explore the appropriate procedural methodology
to be followed when a carrier requests designation as an
essential carrier or when the Commission must appoint a
carrier in an unserved area.  Staff should endeavor to submit
its initial recommendation and report by September 19, 1997.

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:

1. That the Secretary shall cause a copy of this Order
to be transmitted to the Delaware Registrar of Regulations
for publication in the next available edition of the Delaware
Register.  The Secretary shall also cause a copy of this Order
to be mailed, by United States mail, to all parties on the Service
List in PSC Docket No. 96-324.

2. That the Executive Director shall, upon behalf of
the Commission, notify the Federal Communications
Commission by August 15, 1997, that this Commission has
elected to undertake the submission of a specific forward-
looking economic cost study for Delaware.  Such notice shall,
however, reserve to this Commission the opportunity to
withdraw that election at some later time.

3. That P. Clarkson Collins, Jr., Esquire, is appointed
Rate Counsel for the portion of this Order relating to the

election to submit a state-specific cost study.  Francis J.
Murphy, Jr., Esquire, is appointed Rate Counsel for the portion
of this Order relating to the creation of criteria and standards
to govern “essential telecommunications carriers.”

4. That the Commission Staff shall promptly undertake
the investigations and explorations as described in the body
of this Order.  The Staff shall endeavor to file its initial reports
and recommendations on or before the following dates:

State Specific Forward-Looking Cost Model -
September 19, 1997

Lifeline Rates - September 5, 1997
Eligible Telecommunications Carriers - September 19,

1997

Staff may conduct such investigations by soliciting comments
to particular questions or issues, convening workshops, or
undertaking any other appropriate procedure to allow for input
by interested persons.

5. That, if during the course of the investigations
undertaken above, Staff undertakes to formulate rules or
regulations which may require notice under the provisions of
the Administrative Procedures Act (29 Del. C. ch. 101) or the
Register of Regulation Act (29 Del. C. ch. 11), Staff is
delegated the authority to provide such required notice.

6. That the Commission will determine the course of
further proceedings in this docket after submission of the
above reports.  However, the Commission reserves the right
to modify the above schedule or format, on its own motion or
upon application of any interested person.

7. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may be
deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

/s/ Robert J. McMahon, Chairman
/s/ Joshua M. Twilley, Vice Chairman
/s/ Arnetta McRae, Commissioner
/s/ Donald J. Puglisi, Commissioner
/s/ John R. McClelland, Commissioner

ATTEST:

/s/ Linda A. Mills, Secretary

1  Pub. L. No. 104-104, 110 Stat. 56 to be codified at
various parts of 47 U.S.C.
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The State Bank Commissioner proposes to adopt amended
Regulation Nos. 5.1101(f).0001, 5.1101etal.0002,
5.1101etal.0003, 5.1101etal.0004, 5.1101etal.0005,
5.1101etal.0006, 5.1101etal.0007, 5.1105.0008,
5.1101etal.0009, 5.1101etal.0010 and 5.1101etal.0011.
Proposed revised Regulation 5.1101(f).0001 (“Election to
be Treated for Tax Purposes as a ‘Subsidiary Corporation’
of a Delaware Chartered Banking Organization or Trust
Company, National Bank Having Its Principal Office in
Delaware, or Out-of-State Bank that Operates a Resulting
Branch in Delaware”) provides for certain corporations
to elect to be treated as “subsidiary corporations” of
Delaware banks for purposes of the bank franchise tax,
and is being amended to permit elections to be made under
certain circumstances after April 1 of the tax year, and to
require taxpayers to provide information about elections
on estimated franchise tax reports.  Proposed revised
Regulations 5.1101etal.0002 (“Instructions for Preparation
of Franchise Tax”), 5.1101etal.0003 (“Estimated Franchise
Tax Report”), and 5.1101etal.0004 (“Final Franchise Tax
Report”), which are applicable to most banks and trust
companies (but not to out-of-state federal savings banks
or resulting branches of out-of-state banks), are being
amended to conform to statutory changes in Senate Bill
483 (“SB483”), signed by the Governor on July 11, 1996,
Senate Bill 44 (“SB44”), signed by the Governor on April
23, 1997, and House Bill 257, as amended (“HB257”),
signed by the Governor on July 23, 1997.  Proposed revised
Regulations 5.1101etal.0005 (“Instructions for Preparation
of Franchise Tax for Federal Savings Banks Not
Headquartered in this State but Maintaining Branches in
This State”), 5.1101etal.0006 (“Estimated Franchise Tax
Report -- Federal Savings Banks Not Headquartered in
Delaware”), and 5.1101etal.0007 (“Final Franchise Tax
Report -- Federal Savings Banks Not Headquartered in
Delaware”), which are applicable to out-of-state federal
savings banks with Delaware branches, also are being
amended to conform to statutory changes in SB483,
SB44and HB257.  Proposed revised Regulation
5.1105.0008 (Instructions for Calculation of Employment
Tax Credits”) is being amended to conform to SB483.

Proposed revised Regulations 5.1101etal.0009
(“Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax for
Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks”),
5.1101etal.0010 (“Estimated Franchise Tax Report for
Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks”),
and 5.1101etal.0011 (“Final Franchise Tax Report for
Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks”),
which are applicable to resulting
branches in Delaware of out-of-state banks, are being
amended to conform to SB483, SB44 and HB257.
Proposed revised Regulations 5.1101(f).0001,
5.1101etal.0002, 5.1101etal.0003, 5.1101etal.0004,
5.1101etal.0005, 5.1101etal.0006, 5.1101etal.0007,
5.1105.0008, 5.1101etal.0009, 5.1101etal.0010 and
5.1101etal.0011 would be adopted by the State Bank
Commissioner on or after October 2, 1997.  Other
regulations issued by the State Bank Commissioner are
not affected by these proposed amendments.  These
regulations are issued by the State Bank Commissioner in
accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code.

Comments:

Copies of the proposed revised regulations are
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations.  Copies
also are on f i le in the Off ice of the State Bank
Commissioner, 555 E. Loockerman Street, Suite 210,
Dover, Delaware 19901, and will be available for
inspection during regular office hours.  Copies are
available upon request.

Interested parties are invited to comment or submit
written suggestions, data, briefs or other materials to the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner as to whether these
proposed regulations should be adopted, rejected or
modified.  Written material submitted will be available
for public inspection at the above address.  Comments must
be received by October 2, 1997.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
OFFICE OF THE STATE  BANK  COMMISSIONER

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT OF
REGULATIONS OF THE STATE BANK

COMMISSIONER

A public hearing will be held on the
proposed revised regulations in the Second
Floor Cabinet Room in the Townsend
Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware
19901, on Thursday, October 2, 1997 at 10:00
a.m.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/bank/bank.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

DIVISION  OF REVENUE

DELAWARE STATE LOTTERY OFFICE

The Commission proposes these amendments
pursuant to 29 Del.C. sections 4805(a), 4805
(a)(24)(f), 4805(25) and 29 Del.C. section 10115.
The proposed rules would require employee
organization seeking to represent video lottery
employees to register with the Lottery Office.
The employee organization and its key employees
would be subject to a registration and background
investigation process.  The new rules would also
promulgate procedures for background
investigations of new Lottery employees in
positions involving access to sales agents or video
lottery agents.

The proposed Rules will be considered by
the Lottery at a public hearing on September
23, 1997 at 3:00 p.m. at the DNREC
Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover,
Delaware.  Copies of the proposed rules may
be obtained from the Lottery Office.
Comments may be submitted in writing to the
Lottery Office on or before 4:00 p.m. on
September 30, 1997 and/or in person at the
hearing.  The Lottery Office is located at 1575
McKee Road, Suite 102, Dover, Delaware 19901
and the phone number is (302)739-5291.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

DELAWARE  THOROUGHBRED RACING

COMMISSION

Proposed Rule Amendments

The Commission proposes these amendments
pursuant to 3 Del. C. sections 10103 and
10128(m)(1), and 29 Del.  C. section 10115.  The
proposed revision to Rule 13.16 would extend the
time period for an owner to claim horses in a new
race meet when the owner’s stable has been
previously eliminated due to claims.  The
proposed amendment to Rule 15.02(e) would
allow for the use of lasix in two year old horses
after September 1st of the race meet.  The
amendment is intended to follow the practice of
the majority of surrounding states that permit the
use of lasix in two year old horses to control
bleeding.

The proposed Rules will be considered by the
Commission at its next regularly scheduled
meeting on September 23, 1997 at 11:00 a.m.
at Delaware Park, Stanton, DE.  Copies of the
proposed rules may be obtained from the
Commission.  Comments may be submitted in
writing to the Commission office on or before
4:00 p.m. on September 30, 1997 and/or in
person at the hearing.  The Commission Office
is located at 2320 South DuPont Highway, Dover,
DE 19901 and the phone number is(302)739-
4811.

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/deptagri.htm
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/finance/finde.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL

SHELLFISHERIES  ADVISORY COUNCIL

The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control, in consultat ion with the
Shellfisheries Advisory Council, proposes to amend
Shellfish Regulation No. S-48 CONCH MINIMUM SIZE
LIMITS, to increase the minimum size limit on channeled
conchs from 5 inches in length or 2 ¾ inches in diameter
to 6 inches in length or 3 1/8  inches in diameter with an
allowance of 5 conchs per 60 pound bushel to be less than
the minimum size or dimension.  The minimum size limits
on knobbed conchs would remain at 5 inches in length or
2 ¾ inches in diameter with no allowance for any under
sized knobbed conchs per any measure.  This change in
minimum size for channeled conchs will better conserve
their spawning stock and will provide  a higher yield per
recruit and price per pound.

Individuals may present their opinions
and/or request additional information by
writing or visiting the Fisheries Section, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE  19901 prior to 4:30
p.m. on October 10, 1997.  A public hearing
on this proposal will be held in the DNREC
auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE  at
7:30 p.m. on Monday, October 6, 1997.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

STATE  BOARD OF EDUCATION  REGULAR  MONTHLY

MEETING  SEPTEMBER 18, 1997.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF |
THE INVESTIGATION |
AND ADOPTION OF |
RULES TO GOVERN |    PSC REGULATION
PAYPHONE SERVICES |     DOCKET NO. 12
WITHIN THE |
STATE OF DELAWARE |

NOTICE OF COMMENT PERIOD AND PUBLIC
HEARING ON PROPOSED RULES GOVERNING

PAYPHONE SERVICES

In 1985, the Delaware Public Service Commission (“PSC”)
adopted “Rules and Regulations Governing Service by Cus-
tomer Owned Coin-Operated Telephones” (“COCOT Rules”).
The COCOT Rules govern the manner, terms, and conditions
by which independent providers of coin-operated telephones
can attach their telephones to Bell Atlantic-Delaware , Inc.’s
public switched network.  The present COCOT Rules are re-
produced as Exhibit 1.

In the Telecommunications Act of 1996, Congress directed
the Federal Communications Commission (“FCC”) to pro-
mulgate regulations to ensure fair compensation for all
payphone service providers (“PSPs”) and to ensure competi-
tive parity between independent PSPs and payphone services
provided by Bell operating companies.  47 U.S.C. § 276.  The
FCC has entered two orders implementing § 276.  See Imple-
mentation of the Pay Telephone Reclassification and Com-
pensation Provisions of the Telecommunications Act of 1996,
CC Dckt. No. 96-128, Report and Order, FCC 96-388 (rel.
Sept. 20, 1996); Order on Reconsideration, FCC 96-439 (rel.
Nov. 8, 1996).

http://www.state.de.us/high-ed/intro.htm
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/pubservc/delpsc.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/
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In light of the enactment of § 276 and the entry of the
two FCC Orders, the Public Service Commission re-opened
this docket to investigate changes to its COCOT Rules.  By
Order No. 4525 (June 17, 1997), the PSC solicited com-
ments on the content of such changes.  The PSC Staff has
now prepared proposed new payphone service rules which
would replace the COCOT rules and govern all payphone
service in Delaware.  The text of Staff’s proposed rules is
reproduced as Exhibit 2.  Staff’s proposed rules differ from
the present COCOT rules in that the proposed rules:

(1) apply to all providers of payphone service, including
independent providers and telecommunications carriers;

(2)  provide for certification of providers by entity rather
than by each payphone;

(3) allow the local coin calling rate to determined by the
payphone service provider;

(4) re-define the information to be posted on payphones;
and

(5) impose annual reporting requirements.

The Commission has authority to issue such rules under 26
Del. C. § 209.

The PSC solicits written comments, suggestions, compila-
tions of data, briefs, or other written materials concerning
Staff’s proposed rules to govern payphone service.  Ten cop-
ies of such materials shall be filed with the PSC at its office
located at 1560 South DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware
19901.  Materials shall be filed on or before October 1, 1997.

In addition, the PSC’s duly appointed Hearing Examiner
will conduct a public hearing concerning Staff’s proposed
rules on Wednesday, September 24, 1997, beginning at 10:00
a.m. in the Gold Room, Goodstay Center, University of Dela-
ware, Wilmington Campus, 2600 Pennsylvania Avenue,
Wilmington, DE.  Persons may present comments, evidence,
and other materials at that public hearing.

The COCOT rules, Staff’s proposed rules, and the materi-
als submitted will be available for public inspection and copy-
ing at the PSC’s Dover office during normal business hours.
The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to participate
in these proceedings should contact the PSC to discuss any
auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate such review or
participation.  Such contact may be in person, by writing,
telephonically, by use of the Telecommunications Relay Ser-
vice, or otherwise.  The PSC’s toll-free telephone number is
(800) 282-8574.  Persons with questions concerning this ap-
plication may contact the PSC’s Public Information Officer
by either Text Telephone (“TT”) or by regular telephone at
(302) 739-4333 or by e-mail at mcarl@state.de.us.
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