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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example
would be:

13 DE Reg. 24-47 (07/01/09)

Refers to Volume 13, pages 24-47 of the Delaware Register issued on July 1, 2009.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.
When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT PROGRAM

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 2221 (3 Del.C. §2221)
3 DE Admin. Code 1201

PUBLIC NOTICE

1201 Nutrient Management Certification Regulations

1. Title of the Regulations:
1201 Nutrient Management Certification Regulations. These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the 

authority provided by 3 Del.C., Ch. 22, §2221 and 3 DE Admin. Code 1201

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
Nutrient Management Certification Regulation Amendments: Certification by the Delaware Nutrient 

Management Program, 2320 S. Dupont Hwy., Dover, DE 19901, is required (3 Del.C. §2201 - 2290) for all who 
apply fertilizer and/or animal manure greater than 10 acres or who manage animals greater than 8,000 pounds of 
live animal weight. The proposed changes to the certification regulations establish nutrient handling requirements 
for certain nutrient handlers. The proposed regulatory amendments address field staging and stockpiling of poultry 
manure.

Comments on the proposed changes will be accepted from October 1, 2010 until October 31, 2010. Any 
comments should be provided to the Nutrient Management Program office located at 2320 S. Dupont Hwy., Dover, 
DE 19901, ATTN: Mark Davis

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
The revised regulations are being amended to clarify the Delaware Nutrient Management Commission’s and 

the Delaware Department of Agriculture’s regulatory position related to the temporary outdoor storage of manure. 
The amended regulations will also now be aligned with the new confined animal feeding operation regulations.

Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new 
text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it 
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, 
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, 
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to 
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be 
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such 
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general 
circulation.   The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for 
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

http://dda.delaware.gov/nutrients/index.shtml
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4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
3 Del.C. §2221

5. Other Regulations That May be Affected by the Proposal:
None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
The proposed regulations are posted on the Delaware Department of Agriculture website 

(www.dda.delaware.gov) Hard copies of the proposed regulations may be obtained from the Delaware Department 
of Agriculture. Comments may be submitted in writing and/or e-mail to the Mark Davis, (mark.davis@state.de.us), 
at the Delaware Department of Agriculture, on or before October 31, 2010. A public hearing on these regulations 
will NOT be held unless the Secretary of Agriculture and the Delaware Nutrient Management Commission (in 
accordance with 3 Del.C., Section 2221) receive a request within 30 days from this notice, or if the Secretary 
determines that a public hearing is in the public interest. A request for a hearing shall be in writing and shall state 
the nature of the issues to be raised at the hearing. It must show familiarity with the proposal and a reasoned 
statement of the proposed regulations impact. It is requested that written comments, or requests for a hearing be 
addressed to: 

Mark Davis

Department of Agriculture

2320 South DuPont Highway

Dover, DE 19901

Mark.davis@state.de.us

7. Prepared By:
Mark Davis          302.698.4503          September 15, 2010
mark.davis@state.de.us

Regulatory Flexibility Act Analysis: for Proposed Certification Regulations for Outdoor Staging and 
Stockpiling of Manure

September 2010

Regulatory Action: 
The Delaware Nutrient Management Commission is proposing to adopt new regulations, which will establish 

requirements regarding the handling of manure. The purpose of these regulations is to reduce pollution from farms 
where poultry, swine, beef cattle, dairy cattle and horses are raised. Such farms are known as Animal Feeding 
Operations (AFO).  AFO’s can be substantial contributors to the pollution of the State’s waterways if manure and 
other waste products are not properly managed. The actions proposed by the Commission are necessary to 
achieve Delaware’s water quality goals and to comply with US Environmental Protection Agency directives.

Background on the Proposed Regulation
Part 122, Sub Section 122 and 412 of the Clean Water Act requires States to develop regulations governing 

the discharge of nutrients from farms into nearby waterways. Farms (AFOs) identified to have such discharges are 
required to obtain a National Pollutant Discharge System (NPDES) permit known as a Concentrated Animal 
Feeding Operation (CAFO) permit. The Delaware Nutrient Management Commission (Commission) will enforce 
these proposed regulations. The proposed regulations are required in order to keep our “at least equal to” status 
with USEPA. Failure to do so may result in federal enforcement action against Delaware farmers and the withdraw 
of the Delaware’s delegated authority to administer the NPDES CAFO program.

Regulatory Flexibility Act Considerations
1. Nature and cost of reporting.

In order to assess and track implementation efforts to reduce the loads of nutrients reaching the waters of 
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the State and to ensure compliance with these Regulations, the Commission is requiring farmers to maintain 
nutrient handling records (including location and length of time manure is staged or stockpiled). Farmers must also 
file an annual report. These reports detail nutrient application rates to crop land during the preceding crop year as 
well as crop yields (which indicate nutrient removal). The 1999 Delaware Nutrient Management Law already 
requires such annual reports. These proposed regulations do not have additional record keeping requirements, but 
state agencies have obligated to provide technical assistance to help meet any additional burden placed on 
farmers by these requirements. Therefore there will be minimal cost to farmers due to these proposed regulations.

2. Nature and cost of required measures or investment.
In order to protect and improve water quality, these Regulations will require farmers to implement specific 

time limits as to when and where uncovered manure can be placed on the farm. This will help prevent nutrient 
laden storm-water from leaving their farms. There are approximately 1,400 farm operations in the state with 
livestock. There also are approximately 600 farms that raise crops only. There is extensive cost share funding for 
BMP’s that assist farmers in managing the staging and stockpiling of manure. The State provides over $450,000 
annually to provide farmers with nutrient management plans. The State and Federal Government provide $849,870 
annually to assist in the relocation of manure from areas, which may have an overabundance of nutrients to areas 
with nutrient deficiencies. In addition the Federal government plans to provide additional funding to help all 
agricultural producers in the Chesapeake Bay watershed to implement additional BMPs to achieve more stringent 
water quality standards. Farmers will also need to practice proper manure handling on their farms. Technical 
assistance to achieve this is already available from the Department of Agriculture, The University of Delaware 
Cooperative Extension and NRCS. 

3. The nature and cost of legal, consulting and accounting services.
There are no requirements in the proposed Regulations that would necessitate a need for legal and/or 

accounting services, however, in order to improve water quality, these Regulations may result in farmers needing 
to secure consulting services. Such technical assistance can be obtained from NRCS, The Delaware Department 
of Agriculture, and the University of Delaware Cooperative Extension at no cost to the farmer. The Commission/
State provides cost share funds for the writing of nutrient management plans (NMPs). In 2010, over $450, 000 of 
state funds were provided to producers to offset the cost of drafting NMPs.

4. The ability of the entity to absorb or recover the added costs without suffering economic harm and without 
adversely affecting competition in the marketplace. 

These Regulations are based on solid environmental science, but also take into consideration and 
accommodate a variety of factors, including the ability of farmers to absorb or recover any added costs without 
suffering economic harm and without adversely affecting competition in the marketplace.  As indicated above there 
is extensive cost share assistance from both State and Federal sources to implement any BMPs that might be 
required to better handle a farm’s manure. Additionally technical guidance is available at no cost from a variety of 
sources. It is also important to note that EPA requires the proposed regulations. Similar regulations are being or 
have been implemented nation-wide. If Delaware does not adopt and implement said regulations, then EPA may 
implement and enforce similar federally based regulations in Delaware.

5. The added cost to the Department if exemptions or lesser requirements were promulgated.
The actions proposed in these Regulations are necessary to achieve water quality goals therefore any 

lessening would adversely affect the health and well being of people, animals, and plants living within the State. 
Failure to implement these regulations could lead to enforcement action by EPA against both the State and 
Delaware Farmers. This could include fines and the withholding of grants and other funding resources. 

6. The impact on the public interest of exempting or setting lesser requirements of compliance.
The actions proposed in these Regulations are necessary to achieve water quality goals, which will benefit 

the health and well being of people, animals, and plants living within the State. If the exemptions and lesser 
requirements are allowed, there will be less assurance that water quality standards will be achieved, which may 
result in increased occurrences of excessive macro algae growth (sea lettuce and other species), phytoplankton 
blooms (some potentially toxic), large daily swings in dissolved oxygen levels, loss of submerged aquatic 
vegetation, reduced populations of fish, shellfish, and other aquatic life, and fish kills. Such environmental 
degradation threatens the future of the Waters of the State and their significant natural, ecological, and recreational 
resources. This in turn may result in an adverse impact to the economy of the State.

7. What accommodations, if any, have been made in the regulations to address individual or small business 
concerns identified above?

These Regulations will require monitoring to ensure compliance. Commission staff already performs such 
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monitoring. In most situations reporting requirements are already required under the 1999 Delaware Nutrient 
Management Law. In addition, the NM Commission with the help of state and federal agency staff, and University 
of Delaware staff will provide written guidance through State Technical Standards to assist the regulated 
community with compliance.

As stated previously, these proposed Regulations may require additional measures and investment in 
order to protect and improve water quality; however, there is extensive federal and state cost share assistance 
available to meet the terms of these Regulations. In addition, the proposed Regulations do not create a need for 
legal and/or accounting services, while they may result in farmers securing consulting services; there is cost share 
available to cover such costs, which has been outlined previously in this document.

1201 Nutrient Management Certification Regulations

PREAMBLE

These regulations have been developed pursuant to 3 Del.C. Ch. 22. That statute established the Delaware 
Nutrient Management Commission and authorized the Commission to develop, review, approve, and enforce 
nutrient management regulations, including regulations governing the certification of persons who conduct certain 
activities that involve the generation or application of nutrients to lands or water, or who are involved in providing 
advice or consultation regarding such application of nutrients. These regulations were developed by the 
Commission and the Delaware Department of Agriculture. They are adopted with the guidance, advice, and 
consent of the Commission.

1.0 Authority

These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the authority provided by 3 Del.C., Ch. 22, §2221.

2.0 Purpose

The purpose of these regulations is to establish certification requirements for certain generators or 
handlers of nutrients, or who engage in advising or consulting with others regarding the formulation, 
application, or scheduling of nutrients within the State of Delaware.

3.0 Definitions

For purposes of these regulations, the following words or terms shall have the meanings as indicated:

"Animal Feeding Operation" or "AFO" means any area or facility where animals have been, are, or 
will be stabled or confined and fed or maintained for a total of 45 days or more in any 12 month period.  

"Animal Unit" shall be as defined by the United States Department of Agriculture Natural Resources 
Conservation Service, and is approximately 1,000 lbs. "average" live body weight.

"Applicant" means any person seeking a certificate from the Commission.

“Application Area” means land under the control of a person, whether it is owned, licensed, or leased, 
which manure, litter or fertilizer may be applied.

"Apply, Applying", or any derivation of the word "apply", as it relates to the application of nutrients, 
means the human controlled mechanical conveyance of nutrients to land for the purpose of applying 
organic and/or inorganic nutrients.

“Certification" means the recognition by the Commission that a person has met the qualification 
standards established by the Commission and has been issued a written certificate authorizing such 
person to perform certain functions specified in these regulations.

"Commercial Nutrient Handler" means a person who applies organic or inorganic nutrients to lands 
or waters in the State as a component of a commercial or agricultural business in exchange for a fee or 
service charge.
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"Commercial Processor" means any individual, partnership, corporation, association or other 
business unit that controls, through contracts, vertical integration or other means, several stages of 
production and marketing of any agricultural commodity.

"Commission" or "DNMC" means the Delaware Nutrient Management Commission.

"Credit" represents a unit of measuring education for certification as defined by the Commission and 
is dependent upon such factors as curricula intensity and class time.

"Direct Supervision" refers to actions by a person who is certified with the State Nutrient 
Management Program and directs individuals within the same organization/company in applying 
nutrients. Direct supervisors hold responsibility for nutrient application actions for those under his/her 
supervision.

“Fertilizer” means any synthetic or carbon based substance that is added to the soil to supply one or 
more plant nutrients.

“Frozen” relates to frozen ground and is the top 2-inches of surface area receiving nutrients where the 
moisture has changed to ice for a period of 72 consecutive hours or a condition where any ice 
formation below the 2-inch zone restricts the natural flow of moisture through the soil profile.

“Manure” means fecal and urinary defecations of livestock and poultry; may include but is not limited 
to spilled feed, bedding, soil, and compost if commingled with manure.

"Nutrient Consultant" means a person who is engaged in the activities of advising or consulting with 
another person who is required to have a certificate under these regulations, regarding the formulation, 
application, or scheduling of organic or inorganic nutrients within the State. Provided, however, any 
employee of any federal, State or local government agency or the University of Delaware, or other 
organization duly recognized by the Commission for such purpose, who provides advice or 
consultation in his/her capacity as such an employee, without compensation, shall not be deemed to 
be a nutrient consultant unless such advice and consultation constitutes a direct and substantial part of 
a nutrient management plan developed pursuant to these regulations.

"Nutrient Generator" means a person who owns or operates a facility within the State that produces 
organic or inorganic nutrients.

"Nutrient Management Plan" or "plan" means a plan by a certified nutrient consultant to manage the 
amount, placement, timing, and application of nutrients in order to reduce nutrient loss or runoff and to 
maintain the productivity of soil when growing agricultural commodities and turfgrass.

“Nutrients" means nitrogen, nitrate, phosphorus, organic matter, and any other elements necessary 
for or helpful to plant growth.

"Person" means any individual, partnership, association, fiduciary, or corporation or any organized 
group of persons, whether incorporated or not.

"Private Nutrient Handler" means a person in the State who applies organic or inorganic nutrients to 
lands or waters he/she owns, leases, or otherwise controls.

“Production Area” means that part of an AFO that includes the “animal confinement area”, the 
“manure storage area”, the raw materials storage area and the “waste containment areas”, egg 
washing or processing facility and any area used in the storage, handling, treatment or disposal of 
mortalities. The Production Area should be defined in the operation’s Nutrient Management Plan.

"Program Administrator" or "Nutrient Management Program Administrator" means the exempt 
employee of the Delaware Department of Agriculture who is responsible for the operation of the State 
Nutrient Management Program.

"Secretary" means the Secretary of the Delaware Department of Agriculture or his/her designee.

“State Nutrient Management Program" or "SNMP" means all the nutrient management program 
elements developed by the Commission, whether or not reduced to rules or regulations.

“Stockpiling” means the temporary location of manure piles in the production area for no more than 
14 days unless the manure/litter is located under cover in an approved Manure Storage Structure. 
Stockpiling must be conducted and positioned in accordance with State Technical Standards.

“Temporary Field Staging” means the location of manure for 90 days or less prior to its application 
within the application area and is considered a part of the application process. Temporary Field 
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Staging criteria and performance standards are further described in State Technical Standards. In 
addition, staging must be performed in accordance with site specific Nutrient Management Plans.

10 DE Reg. 1794 (06/01/07)

4.0 Certification Categories And Activities Requiring Certification

4.1 No later than January 1, 2004, any person who engages in any of the following activities must have the 
applicable certificate or certificates required by and issued pursuant to these regulations, as follows:

4.1.1 Nutrient generator certification - A nutrient generator who owns or operates any animal feeding 
operation in excess of eight animal units must have a nutrient generator certificate.

4.1.2 Private nutrient handler certification - A private nutrient handler who, on an annual basis, applies 
nutrients to 10 acres or greater of land or waters owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by such 
handler must have a private nutrient handler certificate.

4.1.3 Commercial nutrient handler certification - A commercial nutrient handler who, on an annual basis, 
applies nutrients to 10 acres or greater of land or waters of the state must have a commercial 
nutrient handler certificate.

4.1.4 Nutrient consultant certification - A nutrient consultant who is engaged in the provision of nutrient 
management advice or the formulation of a nutrient management plan or in nutrient management 
planning as it relates to the application or disposal of nutrients at or from a specific site in the State 
of Delaware must have a nutrient consultant certificate.

4.2 These certification requirements shall not apply to individuals who perform services under the direct 
supervision of a certified person, provided that the certified person assures that such individuals act in 
accordance with the standards or practices which the certified person would follow if such person 
performed the service. Nor shall the certification requirements of this section apply to persons who 
utilize a person certified under these regulations to conduct the activities identified in this section, 
provided that such persons do not engage in any of the activities themselves and the certified person 
is certified at the time the activities are undertaken.

4.3 Conditional certifications may be issued for any reason specified by the Commission and shall be 
issued for periods not to exceed one year.

5.0 Certification Requirements

5.1 Any person who seeks a certification shall file with the Commission an application on a form provided 
by the Commission, along with the application fee. The minimum requirements for the certifications 
follow.

5.2 Nutrient generator certificates - To obtain a nutrient generator certificate, the applicant must take and 
successfully complete at least 6 credits of educational course work as approved by the Commission or 
Program Administrator. Proof of such completion of course work shall be submitted with the 
application.

5.3 Private nutrient handler - To obtain a private nutrient handler certificate, the applicant must take and 
successfully complete at least 9 credits of educational course work as approved by the Commission or 
Program Administrator. Proof of such completion of course work shall be submitted with the 
application.

5.4 Commercial nutrient handler - To obtain a commercial nutrient handler certificate the following criteria 
must be satisfied:

5.4.1 The applicant must take and successfully complete at least 12 credits of educational course work 
as approved by the Commission or Program Administrator. Proof of such completion of course 
work shall be submitted with the application.

5.4.2 The applicant must pass a written test approved by the Commission.

5.5 Nutrient consultant - To obtain a nutrient consultant certificate the following criteria must be satisfied:
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5.5.1 The applicant must take and successfully complete at least 12 credits of educational course work 
as approved by the Commission or Program Administrator. Proof of such completion of course 
work shall be submitted with the application.

5.5.2 The applicant must pass a written test approved by the Commission.

6.0 Nutrient Handling Requirements

6.1 As required by 3 Del.C §2201 et.al, Nitrogen and Phosphorus fertilizers shall be applied according to 
an approved Nutrient Management plan.

6.2 For land areas not required to have a Nutrient Management plan, applications of Nitrogen and 
Phosphorus fertilizers by anyone holding a commercial nutrient handler or nutrient consultant 
certification, or anyone required to be certified at said level pursuant to 3 Del.C. §2242 and section 4.0 
herein, are prohibited when one of the following conditions exist:

6.2.1 The surface area of application is impervious such as sidewalks, roads and other paved areas and 
the misdirected fertilizer is not removed on the same day of application;

6.2.2 The surface area is covered by snow or frozen; or

6.2.3 The date of application is between December 7 and February 15.

6.3 Nutrient Storage and Staging Requirements

6.3.1 For any person required to develop and implement a nutrient management plan and who stores, 
handles, or stages any manure in any area that may be exposed to rainfall, the following 
requirements must be met.

6.3.2 Any outdoor storage of manure within the production areas, or staging within the application areas 
must be the result of exhausting manure storage structure space available by the nutrient 
generator or nutrient applicator of such manure.   Stockpiling must be performed in accordance 
with State Technical Standards.

6.3.3 Any outdoor stockpiling of poultry manure within the production area or any area other than the 
application area will be limited to 14 days without a cover.

6.3.4 Any outdoor temporary field staging of poultry manure within the application area will be limited to 
90 days.

6.3.4.1 Authorization for exceeding the 90 day time period may be granted on a case by case 
situation if approved by the nutrient consultant and reported to the nutrient management 
program administrator. Please refer to State Technical Standards.

6.3.5 In order to prevent discharges of pollutants to surface waters, any outdoor staging of poultry 
manure within the application area shall be handled according to the following:

6.3.5.1 The manure must be at least 6 feet high and in a conical cross section shape; and

6.3.5.2 Poultry litter manure shall not consist of more than 5% crust out material; and

6.3.5.3 The selection of the staging site must consider the highest, most practical site possible 
and shall not use the same site more than once every two years (unless allowable under 
conditions as described in the State Technical Standards). Refer to State Technical 
Standards; and

6.3.5.4 The staging site must be located at least 100 feet from a public road, 100 feet from any 
surface water and 200 feet from any residence not located on the property; and 

6.3.5.5 The staging site must be at least 200 feet from a domestic well and 300 feet from a public 
water supply well; and

6.3.5.6 Post litter removal treatment must include the removal of all litter and the top 1-2 inches of 
topsoil if the topsoil is co-mingled with the litter to prevent nutrient loads; and

6.3.5.7 A production crop or vegetative cover crop must be established and maintained at the 
staging site as soon as practical following post removal treatment.

10 DE Reg. 1794 (06/01/07)
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7.0 Reciprocity

7.1 Notwithstanding the requirements of Section 5.0, supra, any person may obtain a certificate under 
these regulations if all the following requirements are satisfied.

7.2 The applicant must submit an application for the applicable certificate on a form provided by the 
Commission, along with the application fee.

7.3 The applicant must have a valid certificate or equivalent authorization, such as a license for the 
certificated activity, from another state or organization that requires qualifications at least as rigorous 
as those required under these regulations and approved by the Commission.

7.4 The applicant must pass a test approved by the Commission related to specific Delaware Nutrient 
Management requirements. The Commission may in its sole discretion waive this test requirement.

10 DE Reg. 1794 (06/01/07)

8.0 Continuing Education

8.1 After a certificate is issued, the certificate holder must take and successfully complete continuing 
education courses approved by the Commission or Program Administrator in accordance with the 
following:

8.1.1 Nutrient generator - 6 credits of continuing education in each three-year period following the 
issuance of the certification.

8.1.2 Private nutrient handlers - 6 credits of continuing education in each three-year period following the 
issuance of the certification.

8.1.3 Commercial nutrient handlers - 6 credits of continuing education in each three-year period 
following the issuance of the certification.

8.1.4 Nutrient consultants - 5 credits of continuing education each year following the issuance of the 
certification.

8.2 Failure to satisfy the continuing education requirements may result in the revocation of a certificate or 
non-renewal of the certificate.

8.3 Any dispute regarding continuing education credits may be directed to the Commission which will 
determine whether a hearing is necessary to resolve the dispute.

9 DE Reg. 966 (12/01/05)

10 DE Reg. 1794 (06/01/07)

9.0 Duration Of Certificates And Certification Fees

9.1 Certificates normally will be issued and renewed for periods of three years for nutrient generators, 
private nutrient handlers, and commercial nutrient handlers. Certified nutrient consultants will be 
issued and renewed certifications annually.

9.2 Certificate fees are due with the application. The fee for a one-year certificate issued to nutrient 
consultants shall be $100.00. The certificate fee for commercial nutrient handlers for a three-year 
certificate shall be $150.00.

9.3 No fee will be charged for certification of a nutrient generator or a private nutrient handler. 

10 DE Reg. 1794 (06/01/07)

10.0 Suspensions, Modifications, And Revocations

10.1 The Commission may, after notice and opportunity for hearing, suspend, modify, or revoke any 
certificate where the Commission has reasonable grounds to believe that the certificate holder is 
responsible for violations of the nutrient management statute (Title 3, Chapter 22, of the Delaware 
Code) or Commission regulations. The Commission shall furnish the person accused of a violation 
with notice of the time and place of the hearing, which notice shall be served personally or by 
registered mail directly to such person's place of business or last known address with postage fully 
paid no sooner than 10 days but within 21 days of the time fixed for the hearing.
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10 DE Reg. 1794 (06/01/07)

11.0 Certification Renewals

11.1 At least 60 days before the expiration of a certificate, the certificate holder shall file an application with 
the Commission for renewal of the certificate, along with the certification fee.

11.2 Nutrient consultants must file with the application and fee evidence that the consultant prepared at 
least one nutrient management plan during the preceding three-year period. If no such plan was 
prepared, the certificate shall not be renewed.

11.3 The certificate holders must also supply with the application and renewal fee evidence that they have 
complied with the continuing education and record keeping and reporting requirements contained in 
these regulations.

11.4 Absent good cause for failure to timely file an application for renewal in compliance with these 
requirements, the certificate holder must reapply for the certificate in the same manner required for the 
issuance of the original certificate.

11.5 Decisions to refuse renewal of a certificate shall be final and conclusive unless appealed to the 
Commission pursuant to Section 2262, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code.

10 DE Reg. 1794 (06/01/07)

12.0 Appeals To The Secretary

All decisions of the Commission under this regulation shall be final and conclusive unless appealed to 
the Secretary pursuant to Section 2263, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code. Provided, however, that 
the denial of a certificate pursuant to Sections 2243 or 2245, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code shall 
first be appealed to the Commission which shall hold a hearing.

10 DE Reg. 1794 (06/01/07)

13.0 Record Keeping.

13.1 Nutrient generators shall record and keep the following available for inspection by the Secretary or the 
Commission:

13.1.1 A contemporaneously recorded log that contains the dates, approximate quantities, locations, and 
disposition (stored, shipped, etc.) of nutrients that are applied to land or transported from land 
owned, leased or otherwise controlled by the Nutrient Generator.

13.1.2 A copy of any applicable nutrient management plan.

13.2 Private nutrient handlers shall record and keep the following available for inspection by the Secretary 
or the Commission:

13.2.1 A contemporaneously recorded log showing the dates, locations, approximate quantities, acreage 
and methods of nutrient application.

13.2.2 A copy of any applicable nutrient management plan.

13.3 Commercial nutrient handlers shall prepare and keep available for inspection by the Secretary or the 
Commission, a contemporaneously recorded log showing the dates, locations, approximate quantities, 
acreage, and methods of nutrient application.

13.4 Nutrient consultants shall prepare and/or keep available for inspection by the Secretary or the 
Commission, copies of any written materials prepared by the nutrient consultants or at their direction 
that establish how nutrients are to be managed at specific sites within Delaware, such as nutrient 
management plans.

13.5 The information required in this section shall be kept and maintained for a period of 6 years.

10 DE Reg. 1794 (06/01/07)

14.0 Effective Date.

These regulations shall become effective on January 10, 2001 December 11, 2010
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 4 DE Reg. 1117 (01/01/01)

10 DE Reg. 1794 (06/01/07)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 225

PUBLIC NOTICE

225 Prohibition of Discrimination

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 225 Prohibition of Discrimination. The 

amendment includes the addition of the language to be consistent with Executive Order 8. The Executive Order 
continues the Governor’s Council on Equal Employment Opportunity, directs state agencies to pursue equal 
employment and promotional opportunity for all state employees and applicants, and includes a strong recruitment 
and retention component. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or 
before November 4, 2010 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of 
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the 
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement 

standards? The regulation is related to the prohibition of discrimination for employment.
2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation is 

related to the prohibition of discrimination for employment.
3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected? 

The regulation is related to the prohibition of discrimination for employment.
4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The regulation is 

related to the prohibition of discrimination for employment.
5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 

board and school level? The regulation is related to the prohibition of discrimination for employment and preserves 
the necessary authority and flexibility for decision making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates 
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The regulation is related to the prohibition of 
discrimination for employment and does not place unnecessary reporting or administrative or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed 
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability does not change. 

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The regulation is related to the prohibition of 
discrimination and in not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies. 

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less 

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.
10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are 

no additional costs to the State or to the local school boards for compliance with the regulation. 

225 Prohibition of Discrimination

1.0 Prohibition of Discrimination

No person in the State of Delaware shall on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, 
sexual orientation, genetic information, marital status, disability, age or Vietnam Era veteran’s status 
be unlawfully excluded from participation in, denied the benefits of, or subjected to discrimination 
under any program or activity receiving approval or financial assistance from or through the Delaware 
Department of Education.

2 DE Reg. 1246 (01/01/99)
7 DE Reg. 1177 (03/01/04)
9 DE Reg. 1069 (01/01/06)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 505

PUBLIC NOTICE

505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 
505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas to provide additional information related to the World 
Languages credit requirement that goes into effect for the Class of 2015 (freshmen 2011-2012). The regulation 
requiring the 2 credits in World languages was originally scheduled to go into effect for the Class of 2013. This was 
revised in January 2009 making the requirement effective for the Class of 2015. The recommendations of the Task 
Force on World Languages were taken into consideration in the proposed amendments. The definition of World 
Language includes American Sign Language. This was a recommendation of the Task Force and is also required 

by legislation, pursuant to HB 345 of the 145th General Assembly.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or 
before November 4, 2010 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of 
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the 
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria 

1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards? The amended regulation provides additional information related to the credit requirements for World 
Languages that takes effect for the Class of 2015.

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended 
regulation provides additional information related to the credit requirements for World Languages that takes effect 
for the Class of 2015. The amendments will help ensure all students receive an equitable education as there are 
options provided for meeting the requirement.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected? 
The regulation is related to credit requirements and does not address the health and safety of students.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended 
regulation provides additional information related to the credit requirements for World Languages that takes effect 
for the Class of 2015 and does not specifically address the legal rights of students. 

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level? The amended regulation provides additional information related to the credit requirements 
for World Languages that takes effect for the Class of 2015 and preserves the necessary authority and flexibility of 
decision making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates 
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed 
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability does not change because of the 
amendments. 

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with 
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? The is not a less 
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? The 
requirement for the additional credits for graduation has been in the regulation for several years. District and 
charter schools may need to make adjustments to staffing to fulfill the requirement.

505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas

1.0 Definitions:

"Career Pathway" means the three (3) credits of pre planned and sequential courses required for 
graduation designed to develop knowledge and skills in a particular career or academic area. The 
Career Pathway shall be included in the Student Success Plan.

“Core Course Credit” means a credit in an English Language Arts, Mathematics, Science or Social 
Studies course.

"Credit" means the acquisition of skills and knowledge at a satisfactory level as determined by the 
district and charter school boards through 135 hours (a Carnegie Unit) of actual classroom instruction 
or through locally approved options contained in Section 8.0.

"Credit for Computer Literacy" means credit granted toward graduation at any point when the 
student can demonstrate competency in the required skill areas either through an integrated approach, 
a specific course, or a demonstration of accumulated knowledge over the student's educational career. 

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.

"English Language Arts" means those components of reading, writing and oral communication that 
are included in the State Content Standards for high school English Language Arts as required in 14 
DE Admin. Code 501.

"Health Education" means those components that are included in the State Content Standards for 
high school health education as required in 14 DE Admin. Code 501.

"High School" means grades 9 through 12.
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"Mathematics" means those components of number sense, algebra, geometry, statistics and 
probability combined with problem solving, reasoning, communicating, and making connections that 
are included in the State Content Standards for high school mathematics as required in 14 DE Admin. 
Code 501 either through integrated courses or in courses titles such as Algebra I, Algebra II, 
Geometry, Trigonometry. Pre-Calculus, Calculus, Discrete Mathematics, Statistics, and Probability.

“Novice-high proficiency level” means the novice-high level of proficiency of certain skills and 
knowledge as defined by the American Council for the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL).

"Physical Education" means those components that are included in the State Content Standards for 
high school physical education as required in 14 DE Admin. Code 501.

"Science" means those components of the nature of science which include inquiry, materials and their 
properties, energy and its effects, Earth in space, Earth's dynamic systems, life processes, diversity 
and continuity of living things, and ecology that are included in the State Content Standards for high 
school science as required in 14 DE Admin. Code 501 either through integrated courses or in course 
titles such as Earth Science, Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

"Social Studies" means those components of civics, economics, geography, and history that are 
included the State Content Standards for high school social studies as required in 14 DE Admin. Code
501 either through integrated courses or in course titles such as United States History, World History, 
Geography, Economics, and Civics.

“Student Success Plan (SSP)” means a plan encompassing a minimum of five years including one 
year beyond high school developed and updated at least annually by the student, the student’s 
advisor, at least one other staff member and the student’s parent(s) guardian(s) or relative caregiver. 
The student’s plan includes courses needed in preparation for immediate entry into the work force or 
opportunities in post secondary education. The plan also includes the support services necessary for 
the student to graduate from high school. An additional year of high school may be an option for 
inclusion in the Student Success Plan.

“Support Services” means those educational interventions such as tutoring; extra time before 
school, in school, or after school; summer school, an extra year(s) of high school or any other strategy 
to provide student educational assistance.

"World Languages" RESERVED means any language other than English that is used by peoples 
around the world for communicating information and ideas and transmitting its culture(s), including 
American Sign Language (ASL), Latin and Ancient Greek.

10 DE Reg. 1802 (06/01/07)

12 DE Reg. 934 (01/01/09)

2.0 Current Graduation Requirements

2.1 A public school student shall be granted a State of Delaware Diploma when such student has 
successfully completed a minimum of twenty two credits in order to graduate including: 4 credits in 
English Language Arts, 3 credits in mathematics, 3 credits in science, 3 credits in social studies, 1 
credit in physical education, 1/2 credit in health, 1 credit in computer literacy, 3 credits in a Career 
Pathway, and 3 1/2 credits in elective courses.

10 DE Reg. 1802 (06/01/07)

3.0 Graduation Requirements Beginning with the Class of 2011 (Freshman Class of 2007-2008)

3.1 Beginning with the graduating class of 2011, a public school student shall be granted a State of 
Delaware Diploma when such student has successfully completed a minimum of twenty two (22) 
credits in order to graduate including: four (4) credits in English Language Arts, four (4) credits in 
Mathematics; three (3) credits in Science, three (3) credits in Social Studies, one (1) credit in physical 
education, one half (1/2) credit in health education, three (3) credits in a Career Pathway, and three 
and one half (3 ½) credits in elective courses.

3.1.1 Students shall complete mathematics course work that includes no less than the equivalent of the 
traditional requirements of Geometry, Algebra I and Algebra II courses.
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3.1.2 Scientific investigations related to the State Science Standards shall be included in all three 
science course requirements.

3.1.3 During the senior year students shall maintain a credit load each semester that earns them at least 
a majority of credits that could be taken that semester including one (1) of the four credits required 
in Mathematics.

3.1.3.1 Senior year credits shall include regular high school course offerings, the options available 
in 8.0 or a combination of both.

3.1.3.1.1 Options for the senior year in 3.1.3.1 that the districts and charter schools provide 
shall be submitted to the Department with a copy to the office of the State Board of 
Education for review.

4.0 Monitoring Student Progress (Personalizing the High School Experience)

4.1 Beginning with the 2007-2008 school year, every eighth and ninth grade student shall have a Student 
Success Plan (SSP) developed by the student, the student's advisor, at least one other school staff 
member and the student's parent(s), guardian(s) or relative caregiver. Each school year thereafter a 
grade shall be added so that by the 2011-2012 school year, every student in grades 8 through 12 shall 
have a Student Success Plan. [For a student with an Individualized Education Program (IEP) the 
Student Success Plan (SSP) shall also incorporate the other aspects of the transition plan required by 
14 DE Admin. Code 925.]

4.2 Each local school district and charter school shall establish a process for developing Student Success 
Plans that includes:

4.2.1 Actively monitoring student progress, on an ongoing basis and, at a minimum, by the end of each 
marking period in those courses required for graduation,

4.2.2 Providing support services if a student is failing or in danger of failing courses required for 
graduation, and

4.2.3 Annual updating of the Student Success plans by the student, the student's advisor, at least one 
other staff member and the student's parent(s) guardian(s) or relative caregiver] and others as 
appropriate.

4.2.4 Following the guidelines for Career and Technical Education (CTE) programs of study outlined in 
the CTE State Plan.

4.2.5 Reviewing each student’s transcript at the end of the first and second year of high school to 
determine if the student is on track to graduate based on the following criteria:

4.2.5.1 At the end of the first year of high school the student has earned at least three (3) core 
course credits and two (2) other course credits for a total of five (5) course credits; and

4.2.5.2 At the end of the second year of high school the student has earned at least six (6) core 
course credits and four (4) other course credits for a total of ten (10) course credits.

4.2.5.3 For a student with an Individualized Education Program (IEP), on track to graduate shall 
be consistent with 4.2.5.1 and 4.2.5.2 unless otherwise determined by the student’s IEP 
Team.

10 DE Reg. 1802 (06/01/07)

12 DE Reg. 934 (01/01/09)

5.0 Credit Requirements Beginning with the Graduation Class of 2015 (Freshman Class of 2011-2012)

5.1 Beginning with the graduating class of 2015, a public school student shall be granted a State of 
Delaware Diploma when such student has successfully completed a minimum of twenty four (24) 
credits in order to graduate including: four (4) credits in English Language Arts, four (4) credits in 
Mathematics, three (3) credits in Science, three (3) credits in Social Studies, two (2) credits in a World 
Language, one (1) credit in physical education, one half (1/2) credit in health education, three (3) 
credits in a Career Pathway, and three and one half (3 ½) credits in elective courses.
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5.2 World Language (RESERVED) Students may fulfill the two (2) credit World language requirement by 
either:

5.2.1 Earning a minimum of two (2) World Language credits in the same language or,

5.2.2 Demonstrating Novice-high or higher proficiency level on a nationally recognized assessment of 
language proficiency, except English, in the skill areas of speaking, reading and writing, that uses 
the levels of proficiency as identified by the American Council for the Teaching of Foreign 
Language, or as approved for use by the Delaware Department of Education.

10 DE Reg. 1802 (06/01/07)

12 DE Reg. 934 (01/01/09)

6.0 Career Pathway

6.1 Local school districts and charter school boards shall establish policies concerning the purpose, 
content, development, and approval of Career Pathways.

10 DE Reg. 1802 (06/01/07)

7.0 Additional Credit Requirements

7.1 District and charter school boards may establish additional credit requirements for graduation above 
the minimum number of credits required by the Department.

10 DE Reg. 1802 (06/01/07)

8.0  Options for Awarding Credit Toward High School Graduation

8.1 District and charter school boards are authorized to award credit toward high school graduation for the 
following activities, on the condition that the activities incorporate any applicable state content 
standards. Before awarding credit for any of the following activities, the districts and charter school 
boards shall have adopted a policy approving the activity for credit and establishing any specific 
conditions for the award of credit for the activity. Such policy shall be applicable to each school within 
the district or each charter high school.

8.1.1 Courses taken at or through an accredited community college, two or four year college.

8.1.2 Voluntary community service as defined in 14 Del.C. §§8901A and 8902A.

8.1.3 Supervised work experience in the school and the community which meets the educational 
objectives or special career interest of the individual student.

8.1.4 Independent study.

8.1.5 Correspondence Courses.

8.1.6 Distance learning courses. These courses may be delivered by the teacher to the learner in real 
time, online or by video.

8.1.7 High school courses taken while in the middle school in conjunction with an articulated agreement 
between the district middle school and the district high school(s). Such credit shall also transfer to 
a high school in another district or to a charter school.

8.1.8 Course credit transferred from another high school.

8.1.9 Course credit earned through summer or evening school classes, as a member of the military 
service or as part of the James H. Groves Adult High School.

8.1.10 Tutoring programs taught by a teacher certified in the subject being taught.

8.1.11 Course credit awarded by agencies or instrumentalities of the state other than public schools 
which provide educational services to students. A description of the program provided to the 
student, grades given, and the number of clock hours of instruction or a demonstration of 
competency must be provided to the school district or charter school prior to receipt of credit.
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9.0 High School Diplomas and the Certificate of Performance

9.1 A State sanctioned diploma shall be granted to students who meet the state and local district or charter 
school requirements for graduation pursuant to 14 Del.C. §152.

9.2 A State sanctioned Certificate of Performance shall be granted to students who meet the requirements 
of 14 Del.C. §152.

9.3 Diplomas from one school year shall not be issued after December 31 of the next school year.

9.4 Duplicate diplomas or certificates of performance will not be issued, but legitimate requests for 
validation of the diploma or the certificate of performance will be satisfied through a letter of 
certification. Requests for diploma information from graduates of Delaware high schools should be 
directed to the high school the student was attending at the time of graduation. If the school does not 
have the records then the student should contact the Department in Dover for a notarized letter of 
certification that contains the name of the applicant, the name of the school, the date of graduation, 
and the diploma registry number (if available).

9.5 State High School Diploma for World War II Veterans Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §159

9.5.1 “World War II Veteran” means any veteran who performed wartime service between December 7, 
1941 and December 31, 1946. If the veteran was in the service on December 31, 1946, 
continuous service before July 16, 1947 is considered World War II.

9.5.2 The Department shall provide a high school diploma to any World War II veteran who: 

9.5.2.1 Left a Delaware high school prior to graduation in order to serve in the armed forces of the 
United States.

9.5.2.2 Did not receive a high school diploma, or received a G.E.D., as a consequence of such 
service and,

9.5.2.3 Was discharged from the armed forces under honorable circumstances.

9.5.3 The diploma may also be awarded posthumously if the deceased veteran meets the qualifications 
in 9.5.2.1 through 9.5.2.3.

9.5.4 Applications for this high school diploma shall be made on forms designated by the Department 
and the Delaware Commission of Veterans Affairs and shall have a copy of the candidate’s 
honorable discharge papers attached to the application.

4 DE Reg. 995 (12/01/00)

5 DE Reg. 625 (09/01/01)

7 DE Reg. 1344 (04/01/04)

10 DE Reg. 547 (09/01/06)

12 DE Reg. 934 (01/01/09)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 746

PUBLIC NOTICE

746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required

Amendment to Existing Regulation

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 746 Criminal Background Check for 
Student Teaching for implementation of the process.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or 
before November 4, 2010 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of 
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the 
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria

1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards? The regulation is related to student teacher criminal background checks and does not specifically 
address state achievement standards. 

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation is 
related to student teacher criminal background checks and does not specifically address students receiving an 
equitable education. 

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected? 
The regulation ensures that all student teachers are subjected to the same criminal record screening. 

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The regulation is 
related to student teacher criminal background checks and does not specifically address students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level? The amendment preserves the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level. 

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates 
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amendment does not place unnecessary reporting 
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed 
in the same entity? The amendment does not change the decision making authority or accountability. 

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendment is not an impediment to the 
implementation of other state educational policies. 

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less 
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are 
no costs to the State or to the local school boards for compliance with the amendment. 

746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching

This regulation shall apply to candidates for a Student Teaching Assignment in a Delaware public school. Refer 
to 14 DE Admin. Code 745 Criminal Background Check for Public School Related Employment for the 
requirements and procedures related to criminal background checks for public school related employment in a 
Delaware public school.

1.0 Definitions

“Higher Education Institution” means the Delaware college or university that has a teacher 
preparation program that places candidates into Student Teaching Positions in a Delaware public 
school district or charter school.

“Student Teaching Position” means a structured, supervised learning experience for a student in a 
teacher education program in which the student teacher practices the skills being learned in the 
teacher education program and gradually assumes increased responsibility for instruction, classroom 
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management, and other related duties for a class of students in a local school district or charter school. 
These skills are practiced under the direct supervision of the certified teacher who has official 
responsibility for the class.

2.0 Criminal Background Check Requirements and Procedures for Student Teaching Position 
Candidates

2.1 Effective January 1, 2011, any candidate for a Student Teaching Position in a public school district or 
charter school shall be required to have a criminal background check as prescribed through this 
regulation.

2.2 The higher education institution where candidates for Student Teaching Positions are enrolled shall 
require all candidates to complete a Release for Criminal Background Check Information form 
approved by the Department of Education as a part of the assignment process for a Student Teaching 
Position in a Delaware public school district or charter school.

2.3 The candidate for a Student Teaching Position in a Delaware public school district or charter school 
shall be subject to the following procedures:

2.3.1 After notification by the higher education institution that he/she is a candidate for a Student 
Teaching Position, the candidate shall present him/herself to State Bureau of Identification 
personnel at one of the Delaware State Police Troops that processes such criminal background 
checks or at an on site appointment arranged by the higher education institution.

2.3.2 The candidate shall cooperate in all respects with this criminal background check process, or his/
her application cannot be accepted. On completion of the procedure, the candidate will be given a 
Verification Form of Processing by the State Bureau of Identification, which may be shown to the 
candidate’s placing higher education institution as proof that the candidate has completed the 
procedure. The candidate should retain the Verification Form of Processing for his/her records.

2.3.3 The candidate shall request the State Bureau of Identification send original versions of the criminal 
background check to both the candidate and higher education institution.

2.3.3.1 Provided further, a candidate attending a private Delaware Higher Education Institution 
shall provide a copy of his/her state and federal criminal history record, certified by the 
State Bureau of Identification, to the designated person at the placing private Delaware 
Higher Education Institution.

2.4 All costs associated with obtaining a criminal background check shall be paid for by the person 
seeking a student teaching position placement.

12 DE Reg. 1306 (04/01/09)

13 DE Reg. 843 (12/01/09)

3.0 Procedures for Higher Education Institutions, Public School Districts and Charter Schools for the 
Determination of Suitability for Candidates in Student Teaching Positions.

3.1 The higher education institution where the candidate is enrolled and that was sent an original copy of 
the completed criminal background check shall make the initial determination for suitability for student 
teaching placement. The criteria for determining the suitability for student teaching placement shall be 
at the discretion of the higher education institution and may vary among the various higher education 
institutions in Delaware.

3.1.1 If a determination is made to deny a candidate placement into a student teaching position based 
upon the higher education institution’s review of the criminal history, the higher education 
institution may provide for an appeal process.

3.2 Upon the initial determination for suitability for the candidate to be placed in a public school, the higher 
education institution liaison responsible for overseeing Student Teaching Position placements shall 
confirm the receipt of the original complete criminal background check and send a copy of such to the 
district superintendent or charter school director of the Delaware school district or charter school 
considering the person as a candidate for a Student Teaching Position.

3.3 Each school district and charter school shall make the final determination of suitability for placement of 
a candidate in a Student Teaching Position in its school.
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3.3.1 Each school district and charter school shall establish the process and criteria for determining 
suitability for placement of a candidate in a Student Teaching Position in its school(s).

3.3.2 The criteria for determining the suitability and subsequent placement of a candidate in a student 
teaching position may vary among the districts and charter schools. In addition, a school district or 
charter school may have criteria for student teaching placement that differs from the criteria for 
public school employment.

3.3.3 The school district or charter school shall provide the candidate’s higher education institution the 
decision to place or deny a candidate in a Student Teaching Position placement in writing.

3.4 Candidates for student teaching may have criminal background checks from other states accepted, if 
all of the following conditions are met;

3.4.1 The criminal background check shall have been conducted within the previous twelve (12) months 
and include a federal criminal background check;

3.4.2 The criminal background check shall be sent directly from the criminal background check agency 
in the other state to the higher education institution;

3.4.3 The out of state candidate shall sign a release to allow the higher education institution receiving 
the out of state criminal background check and the reference to confirm their receipt, disclose their 
contents and forward them, subject to the same disclosure regulations that apply to Delaware 
criminal background checks.

4.0 Procedures for Maintaining Criminal Background Check Information

4.1 All information and records pertaining to criminal background checks and this regulation shall be 
maintained in a confidential manner including, but not limited to, the following:

4.1.1 Access to criminal background check records, letters of reference accompanying out of state 
criminal background checks, and determination of suitability shall be limited to the higher 
education institution officer responsible for student teacher assignments and one person 
designated to assist in the processing of criminal background checks; and the district 
superintendent or charter school director and the district or charter school chief personnel officer 
responsible for the determination of suitability in the placing district or charter school. These 
persons shall be required to sign an agreement to keep such information confidential and employ 
proper precautions to insure that interoffice communications remain confidential;

4.1.2 All such records shall be kept in locked, fireproof cabinets;

4.1.3 No information from such records shall be released without the signed approval of and the 
appropriate signed release of the candidate or person placed in a Student Teaching Position.

4.2 The higher education institution may dispose of the criminal background check in a secure manner no 
earlier than six (6) months after the student graduates from the higher education institution.

5.0 Penalties

The higher education institution officer responsible for student teacher assignments shall report to the 
appropriate police authorities evidence of any person who knowingly provides false, incomplete or 
inaccurate criminal history information or who otherwise knowingly violates this regulation.

6.0 Subsequent Criminal History Information

6.1 Subsequent criminal history on a person in a Student Teaching Position may be sent by the State 
Bureau of Identification to the higher education institution.

6.2 The higher education institution where the candidate is enrolled shall be required to send any 
subsequent criminal history information received to the school district or charter school where the 
candidate is engaged in student teaching activities.

6.3 The district or charter school where the person is in a Student Teaching Position may consider any 
subsequent criminal history received for the person's continued suitability for the Student Teaching 
Position.
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12 DE Reg. 329 (09/01/08)

12 DE Reg. 1306 (04/01/09)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 930

PUBLIC NOTICE

930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound)

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound) 
for formatting purposes as well as clarification. The regulation was reviewed pursuant to the five year cycle.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or 
before November 4, 2010 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of 
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the 
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria

1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards? The amendments did not substantively change the current regulation and were for clarification and 
formatting purposes only. 

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The 
amendments did not substantively change the current regulation and were for clarification and formatting purposes 
only. 

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected? 
The amendments did not substantively change the current regulation and were for clarification and formatting 
purposes only. 

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amendments 
did not substantively change the current regulation and were for clarification and formatting purposes only. 

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level? The amendments did not substantively change the current regulation and were for 
clarification and formatting purposes only. 

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates 
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amendments did not substantively change the 
current regulation and were for clarification and formatting purposes only. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed 
in the same entity? The amendments did not substantively change the current regulation and were for clarification 
and formatting purposes only. 

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic 

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendments did not substantively 
change the current regulation and were for clarification and formatting purposes only. 

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? The amendments did not 
substantively change the current regulation and were for clarification and formatting purposes only. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? The 
amendments did not substantively change the current regulation and were for clarification and formatting purposes 
only. 

930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound)

1.0 Definition

“Supportive Instruction” is an alternative educational program provided at home, in a hospital or at a 
related site for a students temporarily at home or hospitalized for a sudden illness, injury, episodic flare 
up of a chronic condition or accident considered to be of a temporary nature.

1.1 Procedures for eligibility shall be limited to appropriate certification that the student cannot attend 
school.

1.2 Services for children with disabilities as defined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 
(IDEA) (20 U.S.C 1400 et.seq), and its regulations (34 CFR parts 300 and 301), 14 Del.C., Ch. 31, and 
the State Department of Education's regulations on Children with Disabilities (14 DE Admin. Code 922 
through 929) shall be provided according to the Administrative Manual: Special Education Services, in 
accordance with these laws and shall be processed under the district's special education authority. 
Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a district from providing supportive instruction to children with 
disabilities in a manner consistent with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the 
Administrative Manual and its regulations, 14 Del.C., Chapter 31, and the Department of Education's 
regulations on Children with Disabilities.

1.3 Nothing in this regulation shall alter a district's duties under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 
1973 or the Americans with Disabilities Act to students who are qualified individuals with disabilities. 
Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a district from providing supportive instruction to such students.

2.0 Eligibility

2.1 A student enrolled in a school district is eligible for supportive instruction when the school district
receives the required certification that an accident, injury, sudden illness or episodic flare up of a 
chronic condition will prevent the student from attending school for at least ten (10) school days.

2.1.1 A physician must certify absences due to a medical condition.

2.1.2 Absences due to severe adjustment problems must be certified by a psychologist or psychiatrist 
and confirmed through a staff conference.

2.1.3 A physician must certify absences due to pregnancy complicated by illness or other abnormal 
conditions.

2.1.3.1 Students do A student does not qualify for supportive instruction for normal pregnancies 
unless there are complications.

2.1.3.2 Students A student who remain enrolled in school are is eligible for supportive instruction 
during a postpartum period not to exceed six weeks. Postpartum absences must be 
certified by a physician.

2.4 Supportive instruction can be requested as an in school transitional program that follows a period of 
supportive instruction that was provided outside of the school setting. If the supportive instruction is 
provided as an in school transitional program, it must be approved through a staff conference.

9 DE Reg. 402 (9/1/05)
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3.0 Implementation

3.1 Supportive instruction for a students shall begin as soon as the documentation required by 2.0 is 
received. Supportive instruction may continue upon the return to school setting only in those 
exceptional cases where it is determined that a student needs a transitional program to guarantee a 
successful return to the school program as delineated in setting in accordance with 2.4.

3.1.1 Supportive instruction shall adhere to the extent possible to the student's school curriculum and 
shall make full use of the available technology in order to facilitate the instruction.

3.1.1.1 The school shall provide a minimum of 3 hours of supportive instruction each week of eligibility 
for students a K to 5th grade student, and a minimum of five hours each week of eligibility 
for students a 6 to 12th grade student. There is no minimum for in school transition.

3.1.1.2 Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a school district school from providing additional hours 
of supportive instruction to an eligible students from either its Academic Excellence 
allotment or other available funding sources.

3.1.2 Summer instruction is permitted for a student who is otherwise eligible for supportive instruction 
and, as determined by the student's teachers and principal, needs the instruction to complete 
course work or to maintain a level of instruction in order to continue in a school program setting the 
following school year.

4 DE Reg. 344 (8/1/00)

4 DE Reg. 497 (9/1/00)

9 DE Reg. 402 (9/1/05)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1517

PUBLIC NOTICE

1517 Permits Predicators

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter Of Regulation

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education, 
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 1517 Permits 
Paraeducators. It is necessary to amend this regulation in order to facilitate proper and current formatting trends, 
and to update renewal options. This regulation sets forth the requirements for a Paraeducator Permit.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on 
Monday, November 1, 2010 to Mr. Charlie Michels, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards Board, 
The Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available from 
the above address or may be viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.

C. Impact Criteria

1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for the issuance of 
a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice 

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students to help ensure that 
students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended 
regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have acquired the 
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to 
instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected? 
The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended 
regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local 
board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates 
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in 
the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests 
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with the consent of 
the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation will be consistent 
with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to state 
educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language 
arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del.C.
requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted regulation? 
There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1517 Permits Paraeducators Permit

1.0 Content

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(a) this regulation shall apply to the qualifications required of Title I 
Paraeducators, Instructional Paraeducators, and Service Paraeducators employed, either full time or 
part time, in support positions in public schools.

This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Paraeducator Permit, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(a). 
This Permit is required of Title I Paraeducators, Instructional Paraeducators, and Service 
Paraeducators employed, either full time or part time in support positions in public schools. This Permit 
is required of all Paraeducators, regardless of employment date.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Associate's or Higher Degree” means that the degree is conferred by a regionally accredited 
institution of higher education or by a distance education institution that is regionally or nationally
accredited through an agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education, or any other accrediting 
agency the Delaware Secretary of Education deems within his or her discretion, to be reliable or 
equivalent to a regional accrediting agency.
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“Completed at Least 2 Years of Study at an Institution of Higher Education” means the 
satisfactory completion of a minimum of sixty (60) semester hours of instruction at a regionally 
accredited institution of higher education or by a distance education institution that is regionally or 
nationally accredited through an agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education, or any other 
accrediting agency the Delaware Secretary of Education deems within his or her discretion, to be 
reliable or equivalent to a regional accrediting agency, in general or educational studies, including 
reading, writing, and mathematics content and pedagogy, unless the institution of higher education 
defines two (2) years of full time study as the successful completion of a minimum of forty-eight (48)
semester hours, and provides documentation of such definition.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected 
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or 
her unfitness or otherwise.

“Instructional Paraeducator” means a public school employee who provides one-on-one or small 
group instruction; assists with classroom management or individual student behavior; provides 
assistance in a computer laboratory; provides support in a library or media center; assists in training 
and support with functional skill activities, such as personal care or assistive technology; or provides 
instructional services to students under the direct supervision of a teacher. Instructional Paraeducators 
are those working with regular education students and students with disabilities in schools other than 
Title I schoolwide schools or with students not receiving Title I services in Title I targeted assistance 
schools.

“Paraeducator”, as used herein, means a paraprofessional, as it is used in 14 Del.C. §1205. 
Paraeducators are not "educators" within the meaning of 14 Del.C. §1202 (64).

“Permit” means a document issued by the Department that verifies an individual's qualifications and 
training to serve as a Title I, Instructional or Service Paraeducator.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware Department of Education.

“Service Paraeducator” means a public school employee who provides support services other than 
instructional assistance to students, but does not include bus aides (See 14 DE Admin. Code 1105).

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board of the State of Delaware as established 
in response to 14 Del.C. §1205. 

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State of Delaware established in response 
to 14 Del.C. §104.

“Title I Paraeducator” means a public school employee who provides one on one or small group 
instruction; assists with classroom management; provides assistance in a computer laboratory; 
provides support in a library or media center; or provides instructional services to students under the 
direct supervision of a teacher. Additionally, Title I Paraeducators are all Instructional Paraeducators 
who work with regular students and children with disabilities in Title I schoolwide schools and all Title I 
Paraeducators who work with children receiving Title I services in Title I targeted assistance schools, 
except those whose duties are limited to acting as a translator or as a home school liaison.

9 DE Reg. 139 (7/1/05)

3.0 Title I Paraeducators

3.1 A Title I Paraeducator must hold a Title I Paraeducator Permit. In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1205(a), 
the Department shall issue a Title I Paraeducator Permit to an applicant who has met the following:

3.1 The Department shall issue a Permit to a Title I Paraeducator applicant who submits evidence to his/
her district, charter school, or other employing authority of:

3.1.1 cCompletion of at least two (2) years of study in general or educational studies at an institution of 
higher education; or

3.1.2 rReceipt of an associate's or higher degree; or
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3.1.3 evidence Completion of a high school diploma or its recognized equivalent, and a passing score 
on a rigorous assessment of knowledge of, and the ability to assist in, the instruction in reading, 
writing, and mathematics.

3.1.3.1 Assessments which are accepted as providing evidence of knowledge and ability to assist 
in the instruction in reading, writing, and mathematics include:

3.1.3.1.1 Para Pro assessment with a qualifying score of 459 or higher.

3.1.3.1.2 Accuplacer Test, if taken before April 1, 2003, with the following qualifying scores:

3.1.3.1.2.1 Mathematics: greater than or equal to a total right score of 94 on arithmetic.

3.1.3.1.2.2 English: greater than or equal to a total right score of 87.

3.1.3.1.2.3 Reading: greater than or equal to a total right score of 78.

3.1.3.1.32 Such alternative as may be established by the Standards Board, with the approval of 
the State Board.; and

3.1.4 Submits sufficient verifiable evidence of qualifications to the Department.

3.2 Pursuant to the provisions of the No Child Left Behind Act, Title I Paraeducators hired after January 8, 
2002 must meet the requirements set forth in 3.1 immediately.

3.3 Notwithstanding the above, and pursuant to the provisions of the No Child Left Behind Act, Title I 
paraeducators hired before January 8, 2002 must hold a high school diploma or its recognized 
equivalent and shall have until June 30, 2006 to meet the requirements of 3.1.

3.3.1 Accordingly, Title I paraeducators hired before January 8, 2002 who do not meet the requirements 
set forth in 3.1 above, with the exception of the high school diploma or its recognized equivalent, 
shall be issued a Title I paraeducator permit which shall expire on June 30, 2006 unless evidence 
of meeting the requirements set forth in 3.1 above is provided prior thereto. If such evidence is 
provided to the Department prior to June 30, 2006 the permit shall expire five years from the date 
of issuance and may be renewed pursuant to 5.0.

3.42 Application Procedures.

3.42.1 The district, charter school, or other employing authority shall submit the approved application 
form, official transcripts or official scores on an assessment of knowledge of, and the ability to 
assist in, the instruction in reading, writing, and mathematics, to the Department on behalf of the 
applicant. The district, charter school or other employing authority shall certify as part of the 
application form that the applicant, in their opinion, meets the requirements of Section 3.0.

3.42.1.1 Official transcripts shall be forwarded directly from the issuing institution or by the 
applicant in an unopened, unaltered envelope to the district, charter school or other 
employing authority.

3.42.1.2 Test scores shall be official and sent directly from Educational Testing Service or other test 
vendor to the district, charter school or other employing authority. Unopened, unaltered 
envelopes containing test scores sent to an individual may be accepted as official. The 
Department shall determine whether the scores, as presented, are acceptable.

3.2.2 Unemployed applicants shall submit sufficient verifiable evidence of qualifications to the 
Department.

9 DE Reg. 232 (8/1/05)

4.0 Instructional Paraeducators and Service Paraeducators

4.1 All Instructional Paraeducators and Service Paraeducators Must Hold the Appropriate Permit in 
accordance with 14 Del.C. §1205(a).

4.2 The Department shall issue a Permit to an Instructional Paraeducator applicant or a Service 
Paraeducator applicant for whom the district, charter school, or other employing authority has 
submitted a Department approved application form and who provides evidence of a high school 
diploma or its recognized equivalent.

4.1 Notwithstanding the above, instructional paraeducators and service paraeducators hired before 
February 11, 2004 and who do not have a high school diploma may be issued the applicable permit 
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which shall expire June 30, 2006 unless evidence of a high school diploma or its recognized equivalent 
is provided prior thereto. If such evidence is provided prior to June 30, 2006 the permit shall expire five 
years from the date of issuance and may be renewed pursuant to section 5.0.

9 DE Reg. 232 (8/1/05)

5.0 Validity

5.1 Unless stated otherwise herein, a Title I, Instructional, or Service Paraeducator Permit shall be valid for 
five (5) years from the Date of Issuance.

5.2 The Department shall renew a Paraeducator Permit, valid for an additional five (5) years, to a 
Paraeducator whose school district, charter school, or other employing authority provides evidence to 
the Department of successful completion of a minimum of fifteen (15) clock hours of professional 
development.

5.13 Fifteen (15) clock hours of professional development is required to be completed during the term of 
validity of the Paraeducator Permit.

6.0 Options for Renewal

5.2 6.1 Options for Renewal: are listed in Sections 6.2 and 6.3. These following professional development 
activities are approved options for the renewal of a Paraeducator Permit. Unless otherwise stated, 
there is no limit to the number of hours that may be taken in any of the options listed below:

6.2 Options listed in Section 6.2 shall be valid for paraeducators holding a Permit whose expiration date 
does not exceed December 19, 2015.

56.2.1 College credit completed at a regionally accredited college or university with a grade of "C" or 
better or a "P" in a pass or fail course (One [1] semester hour equals fifteen [15] clock hours).

56.2.2 Planned school professional development day (maximum six (6) clock hours per day).

56.2.3 Professional conference, workshop, institute, or academy that contributes to the participant's 
knowledge, competence, performance, or effectiveness as a paraeducator (verified clock hours 
actively involved in workshop or conference sessions).

56.2.4 Participation on a school, district, or state sponsored committee which has as its focus curriculum, 
instruction, or school or district improvement (verified clock hours of service or experience).

6.3 Educators holding a Paraeducator Permit whose expiration date does not exceed December 10, 2015 
may also use the Paraeducator Permit renewal options listed in Section 6.3.

6.3.1 College courses taken at a regionally accredited College or University. College or University Credit 
shall be taken for credit and the educator shall attain a grade of "C" or better in the course, or a "P" 
in Pass / Fail course. [One (1) semester hour equals fifteen (15) clock hours.]

6.3.2 Professional development programs targeting curriculum, instruction, assessment, school climate, 
or other identified need.

6.3.3 A Committee, Professional Learning Community (PLC), Conference, Workshop, Institute or 
Academy that contribute to the participant's knowledge and skills, competence, performance or 
effectiveness in education that are directly connected to the school, district or charter school’s 
Success Plan or State initiative. This option includes workshops offered by districts or other 
employing authorities either as part of a professional development day or during after school 
hours.

6.4 Options listed in Section 6.2 for the renewal of a Paraeducator Permit shall expire on December 10, 
2015.

6.5 Educators either receiving their original Paraeducator Permit after December 11, 2010 or upon 
renewing their Paraeducator Permit on or after December 11, 2010 shall use the options listed in 
Section 6.3.
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67.0 Criminal Conviction History

7.1 An applicant shall disclose his or her criminal conviction history upon application for any Paraeducator 
Permit.

7.2 Failure to disclose a criminal conviction history is grounds for denial or revocation of a Paraeducator 
Permit as specified in 14 Del.C. §1219.

78.0 Denial and Revocation

8.1 A Paraeducator Permit may be denied an applicant upon a finding that an applicant has failed to meet 
the requirements set forth herein or is unfit to be issued a permit in the State.

8.2 A Paraeducator Permit may be revoked upon the dismissal of the permit holder for immorality, 
misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty or disloyalty, and must be revoked upon a 
finding that the permit holder made a materially false or misleading statement in his or her permit 
application.

8.3 A Paraeducator whose Permit has been denied or revoked may file a request for a hearing with the 
Secretary within ten (10) days of receipt of the notice of denial or revocation.

8.3.1 The Secretary’s decision shall be final.

5 DE Reg. 856 (10/1/01)

7 DE Reg. 1006 (2/1/04)

8 DE Reg. 1141 (2/1/05)

9 DE Reg. 139 (7/1/05)

9 DE Reg. 232 (8/1/05)

Renumbered effective 6/1/07 - see Conversion Table

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1583

PUBLIC NOTICE

1583 School Psychologist

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education, 
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 1583 School 
Psychologist.   Amendments include limiting issuance of the Standard Certificate to applicants who have completed 
an organized graduate level program of study approved by the NASP or APA, a valid NCSP Certificate from the 
NASP or a valid and current license or certificate from another state in school psychology. This regulation sets forth 
the requirements for a School Psychologist.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on 
Monday, November 1, 2010 to Mr. Charlie Michels, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards Board, 
The Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available from 
the above address or may be viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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C. Impact Criteria

1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for the issuance of 
a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice 
in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students to help ensure that 
students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended 
regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have acquired the 
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to 
instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected? 
The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended 
regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local 
board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates 
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels. 

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in 
the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests 
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with the consent of 
the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation will be consistent 
with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to state 
educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language 
arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del.C. 
requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted regulation? 
There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1583 School Psychologist

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
§1220(a), for School Psychologist. This certification is required for all School Psychologists providing 
services to children within the Delaware public school system.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard 
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by 
reference.

2.0 Definitions

2.1 The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent 
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

2.2 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:
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“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.

“Internship” means a supervised, culminating, comprehensive field experience, completed at or 
near, the end of formal training, through which school psychology candidates have the opportunity 
to integrate and apply professional knowledge and skills acquired in prior courses and practica, as 
well as to acquire new competencies consistent with training program goals.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the 
license is issued.

“School Setting” means a setting in which educational services are provided to children of 
diverse backgrounds, characteristics, abilities, disabilities, and needs age birth through 20 years 
inclusive, provided such setting is approved by the appropriate local governmental authority.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed 
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a 
category of students.

3.0 Standard Certificate

In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a School 
Psychologist to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or 
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and 
who meets the following requirements:

3.1 A bachelor’s degree in any content area from a regionally accredited college or university; and

3.2 An organized graduate level program of study approved by the National Association of School 
Psychologists (NASP) or the American Psychological Association (APA) offered by a regionally 
accredited college or university titled “School Psychology”, consisting of a minimum of 60 graduate 
level credit hours, of which at least 54 credits are exclusive of an internship; and

3.2.1 A supervised internship of no less than 1200 hours, completed at or near the end of the program, 
completed either full time or half time over a period of no more than two consecutive years, at least 
600 hours of which must be in a school setting; or

3.3 Completion of an organized graduate level program of study offered by a regionally accredited college 
or university titled “School Psychology”, consisting of a minimum of 60 graduate level credit hours, of 
which at least 54 credits are exclusive of an internship; and

3.3.1 Evidence of substantial graduate level preparation in the following areas.  Substantial preparation 
may be acquired through one or more courses devoted specifically to an area, or significant 
portions of one or more courses. Candidates may be required to provide additional documentation 
to demonstrate such preparation.

3.3.1.1 Data based Decision Making and Accountability: Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge and skills on the use of various models and 
methods of assessment that yield information for identifying strengths and needs, 
understanding problems, identifying disabilities, and measuring progress and 
accomplishments;

3.3.1.2 Consultation and Collaboration: Coursework and Practicum or Internship experiences that 
demonstrate knowledge of behavioral, mental health, collaborative, or other consultation 
models and methods and their application to planning and decision making processes at 
the individual, group, and system levels;

3.3.1.3 Effective Instruction and Development of Cognitive and Academic Skills: Coursework and 
practicum or internship experiences that demonstrate knowledge of human learning 
processes, techniques to assess these processes, and direct and indirect services 
applicable to the development of cognitive and academic skills. Coursework in this area 
includes but is not limited to development of instructional interventions;

3.3.1.4 Socialization and Development of Life Skills: Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of human developmental processes, techniques 
to assess these processes, and direct and indirect services applicable to the development 
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of behavioral, affective, adaptive, and social skills. Coursework in this area includes 
behavioral assessment or intervention, and counseling;

3.3.1.5 School and Systems Organization, Policy Development, and Climate: Coursework and 
practicum or internship experiences that demonstrate knowledge of policies and practices 
in general education, special education, and other educational and related services 
systems. Coursework in this area includes attention to the development of policies and 
practices that create and maintain safe, supportive, and effective learning environments 
for children and others;

3.3.1.6 Prevention, Crisis Intervention, and Mental Health: Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of human development and psychopathology 
and of associated biological, cultural, and social influences on human behavior. 
Coursework in this area includes promotion of student mental health and knowledge of 
crisis intervention procedures;

3.3.1.7 Home, School and Community Collaboration: Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of family systems, including family strengths 
and influences on student development, learning, and behavior; and of methods to involve 
families in education and service delivery;

3.3.1.8 Research and Program Evaluation: Coursework and practicum or internship experiences that 
demonstrate knowledge of research, statistics, and evaluation methods. Coursework in 
this area includes content related to evaluating research, translating research into 
practice, and understanding research design and statistics in sufficient depth to plan and 
conduct investigations and program evaluations for improvement of services;

3.3.1.9 School Psychology Practice and Development: Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of the history and foundations of the profession 
of school psychology; of various service models and methods; of public policy 
development applicable to services to children and families; and of ethical, professional, 
and legal standards;

3.3.1.10Student Diversity in Development and Learning: Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of individual differences, abilities, and 
disabilities and of the potential influence of biological, social, cultural, ethnic, experiential, 
socioeconomic, gender related, and linguistic factors in development and learning; and

3.3.1.11Information Technology: Coursework and practicum or internship experiences the 
demonstrate knowledge of information sources and technology relevant to their work, 
including the ability to access, evaluate, and utilize information sources and technology in 
ways that safeguard or enhance the quality of services; and

3.3.2 A supervised internship of no less than 1200 hours, completed at or near the end of the program, 
completed either full time or half time over a period of no more than two consecutive years, at least 
600 hours of which must be in a school setting; or

3.4 A valid certificate from the National School Psychology Certification Board (NCSP); or

3.5 A valid certificate in school psychology from another State Department of Education in the U.S.; or

3.6 A valid license as a psychologist issued by the Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists, and 

3.6.1 Evidence of substantial graduate level preparation in the following areas. Substantial preparation 
may be acquired through one or more courses devoted specifically to an area, or significant 
portions of one or more courses. Candidates may be required to provide additional documentation 
to demonstrate such preparation.

3.6.1.1 Data based Decision Making and Accountability:  Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge and skills on the use of various models and 
methods of assessment that yield information for identifying strengths and needs, 
understanding problems, identifying disabilities, and measuring progress and 
accomplishments;
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3.6.1.2 Consultation and Collaboration: Coursework and practicum or internship experiences that 
demonstrate knowledge of behavioral, mental health, collaborative, and other consultation 
models and methods and their application to planning and decision making processes at 
the individual, group, and system levels;

3.6.1.3 Effective Instruction and Development of Cognitive Academic Skills: Coursework and 
practicum or internship experiences that demonstrate knowledge of human learning 
processes, techniques to assess these processes, and direct and indirect services 
applicable to the development of cognitive and academic skills. Coursework in this area 
includes development of instructional interventions;

3.6.1.4 Socialization and Development of Life Skills: Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of human developmental processes, techniques 
to assess these processes, and direct and indirect services applicable to the development 
of behavioral, affective, adaptive, and social skills. Coursework in this area includes 
behavioral assessment or intervention, and counseling;

3.6.1.5 School and Systems Organization, Policy Development, and Climate: Coursework and 
practicum or internship experiences that demonstrate knowledge of policies and practices 
in general education, special education, and other educational and related services 
systems. Coursework in this area includes attention to the development of policies and 
practices that create and maintain safe, supportive, and effective learning environments 
for children and others;.

3.6.1.6 Prevention, Crisis Intervention, and Mental Health: Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of human development and psychopathology 
and of associated biological, cultural, and social influences on human behavior. 
Coursework in this area includes promotion of student mental health and knowledge of 
crisis intervention procedures;

3.6.1.7 Home, School and Community Collaboration: Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of family systems, including family strengths 
and influences on student development, learning, and behavior; and of methods to involve 
families in education and service delivery;

3.6.1.8 Research and Program Evaluation: Coursework and practicum/internship experiences that 
demonstrate knowledge of research, statistics, and evaluation methods. Coursework in 
this area includes content related to evaluating research, translating research into 
practice, and understanding research design and statistics in sufficient depth to plan and 
conduct investigations and program evaluations for improvement of services;

3.6.1.9 School Psychology Practice and Development: Coursework and practicum or internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of the history and foundations of the profession 
of school psychology; of various service models and methods; of public policy 
development applicable to services to children and families; and of ethical, professional, 
and legal standards;

3.6.1.10Student Diversity in Development and Learning: Coursework and practicum/internship 
experiences that demonstrate knowledge of individual differences, abilities, and 
disabilities and of the potential influence of biological, social, cultural, ethnic, experiential, 
socioeconomic, gender related, and linguistic factors in development and learning; and

3.6.1.11Information Technology: Coursework and practicum or internship experiences the 
demonstrate knowledge of information sources and technology relevant to their work, 
including the ability to access, evaluate, and utilize information sources and technology in 
ways that safeguard or enhance the quality of services; and

3.6.2 A supervised internship of no less than 1200 hours, completed at or near the end of the program, 
completed either full time or half time over a period of no more than two consecutive years, at least 
600 hours of which must be in a school setting. Applicants who meet all of the requirements above 
except 600 hours of internship in a school setting may complete the school based internship 
requirements under an emergency certificate.
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3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a School 
Psychologist to an educator who has met the following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or Standard or Professional 
Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and,

3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including 
any subsequent amendment or revision thereto; and

3.1.3 Has satisfied the additional requirements in this regulation.

4.0 Additional Requirements

4.1 An educator shall also have satisfied at least one (1) of the following additional education and 
internship requirement Options:

4.1.1 NASP or APA School Psychology Degree:

4.1.1.1 Has successfully completed an organized graduate level program of study in “School 
Psychology” offered by a regionally accredited college or university and approved by the 
National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) or the American Psychological 
Association (APA), culminating in a Masters with an additional Educational Specialist 
(Ed.S.) degree or a Doctoral degree in School Psychology; and

4.1.1.2 Has successfully completed a supervised internship

4.1.2 NCSP Certificate:

4.1.2.1 Holds a valid Nationally Certified School Psychologist (NCSP) Certificate from the 
National Association of School Psychologists (NASP).

4.1.3 License or certificate from other state: 

4.1.3.1 Holds a valid and current license or certificate from another state in school psychology.

45.0 Internship

4.1 An internship must be in an institution or agency approved by the DOE or the applicant’s graduate 
program. The internship placement agency provides appropriate support for the internship experience 
including:

4.1.1 A written agreement specifying the period of appointment and any terms of compensation; 

4.1.2 A schedule of appointments, expense reimbursement, a safe and secure work environment, 
adequate office space, and support services consistent with that afforded to school psychologists 
employed by the approved internship institution or agency;

4.1.3 Provision for participation in continuing professional development activities; 

4.1.4 Release time for internship supervision; and

4.1.5 A commitment to the internship as a diversified training experience.

4.2 An internship must be supervised by a certified school psychologist or state licensed psychologist who 
has a minimum of three (3) years experience as a practicing school psychologist and who has
experienced an internship.

4.3 A censed psychologist completing the school based portion of the internship may be employed as a 
school psychologist concurrent with completion of the internship. A minimum of two (2) hours per week 
of supervision is required.

56.0 Emergency Certificate

5.1 An Emergency Certificate for a School Psychologist may only be granted to a candidate who has 
completed all required course work and has been accepted into a school based internship is not 
available.

8 DE Reg. 448 (09/01/04)

Renumbered effective 6/1/07 - see Conversion Table
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512  (31 Del.C., §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) Provider Specific Policy Manual

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Division
of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Durable Medical Equipment.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by October 31, 2010.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this proposal is to amend the Delaware Medical Assistance Provider (DMAP) Manuals
regarding the ownership of certain Durable Medical Equipment (DME). 

 

Statutory Authority

• 42 CFR §414.202, Definitions (DME)
• 42 CFR §440.70(b)(3), Home Health services
• 42 CFR §440.230, Sufficiency of amount, duration, and scope

Background

The Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) covers medically necessary durable medical supplies and
equipment, under the Durable Medical Equipment (DME) program, which meet program guidelines when
prescribed by a physician. 

The Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA), in collaboration with the University of Delaware,
Center for Disabilities Studies (CDS), is interested in developing a durable medical equipment retrieval program.
Such a program would enable high-quality products such as wheelchairs, scooters, and communication devices to
be refurbished and made available to a new customer when no longer needed by the original beneficiary. Similar
programs have been implemented in other states, demonstrating both fiscal and environmental advantages.

Current DMMA policy assigns ownership of equipment purchased by DMMA to the client. The proposed
revision would assign ownership of certain specified DME to DMMA. When the equipment is no longer needed, it
will be recovered by CDS. CDS will assess and refurbish, if appropriate. A new customer service component will
also be established to periodically evaluate the effectiveness of equipment in meeting the needs of the beneficiary.
DMMA customers will also have the option of accepting refurbished equipment, when available, at a reduced cost
to the state. 

Summary of Proposal

The DME provider manual is revised to establish a policy of ownership for certain purchased durable medical
equipment. This rule revision will allow certain durable medical equipment purchased by DMMA to remain the
property of the DMMA to be used by for the benefit of the Medicaid recipient until it is no longer medically

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/
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necessary. At such time as the item is no longer medically necessary, DMMA may retrieve the durable medical 
equipment product if it is determined to be administratively and fiscally prudent. 

This rule will allow DMMA to establish a durable medical equipment retrieval program and meet the needs of 
Delawareans who do not have access to durable medical equipment and ultimately reducing the amount of 
uncompensated care provided by DMAP healthcare providers. This rule promulgation is the first step in 
establishing procedures necessary to implement a durable medical equipment retrieval program.

Fiscal Impact Statement

This revision imposes no increase in cost on the General Fund.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #10-41

REVISION:

DELAWARE MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) Provider Specific Policy Manual

3.5 Purchase Versus Rental

3.5.4 If purchase is the only option (such as for a custom-made wheelchair), or is determined to be the 
most cost effective method of providing the equipment, the equipment will become the property of 
the client after the DMAP reimbursement is made. Items specified below, purchased by DMMA 
shall be the property of DMMA. Other equipment purchased by DMMA will become the property of 
the client after the DMAP reimbursement is made.

• Augmentative Communication Devices
• Bath Benches
• Bi-Paps
• C-Paps
• Car Seats
• Commodes
• Feeder Seats
• Feeding Pumps
• Gait Trainers
• Hospital Beds and Hospital Bed Accessories
• Nebulizers
• Oxygen Concentrators
• Patient Lifts
• Quad Canes
• Scooters
• Shower Chairs
• Standers
• Strollers
• Walkers
• Wheelchairs and Wheelchair Accessories



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 4, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2010

246

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 2602 (16 Del.C., §2602)

PUBLIC NOTICE

4459A Regulations for the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act

The Health Systems Protection Section, under the Division of Public Health is proposing Regulations 
Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act for Children Between the Ages of 22 and 26 Months of 
Age. On July 15, 2010, the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act was signed into law. Prior to this Act the 
State of Delaware required lead poisoning screening for children at 12 months of age. Because many children are 
not yet sufficiently mobile prior to 12 months of age to have full exposure to potential lead hazards in their 
environments, it has become common practice in other states to test some children at higher risk for lead exposure 
at 24 months of age as well. The Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act requires that the Division pass 
regulations to enforce compliance according to the provisions of Chapter 26, Title 16 of the Delaware Code
relating to Lead Based Paint Hazards. On October 1, 2010, the Division plans to publish as proposed regulations 
governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act and hold them out for public comment per Delaware law.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Health Systems Protection Section, under the Division of Public Health, Department of Health and Social 
Services, will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed Delaware Regulations governing the Childhood Lead 
Poisoning Prevention Act.

Currently, the State of Delaware requires lead poisoning screening for children at 12 months of age. The 
Childhood Poisoning Prevention Act requires a formal screening process be developed so that children at high risk 
for lead exposure can receive an additional screening test at 24 months of age, while children at lower risk will 
continue to receive only the currently required screening at 12 months of age. The Division of Public Health plans 
to promulgate regulations governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act that address a new blood lead 
screening, record retention protocol, and the requirements of compliance, enforcement, and penalties for violators. 

The public hearing will be held on October 22, 2010, at 10:00 a.m. in the First Floor Conference Room, located 
in the Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the October 1, 2010 edition of the Delaware 
Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Office of Health 
Systems Protection at (302) 744-4705.

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at this hearing should contact Ms. Deborah Harvey at 
(302) 744-4700 by October 20, 2010. Anyone wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to or in lieu of 
oral testimony should submit such comments by November 1, 2010 to:

Deborah Harvey, Hearing Officer

Division of Public Health

417 Federal Street

Dover, DE 19901

Fax (302) 739-6659

4459A Regulations Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act for Children Between the 
Ages of 22 and 26 Months of Age

1.0 General Provisions.

1.1 Preamble.

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html
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1.1.1 These regulations are adopted by the Secretary of Delaware Health and Social Services pursuant 
to 16 Del.C., §122(3)(t) and § 2602. These regulations establish standards for blood lead testing of 
children between 22 and 26 months of age who are at high risk of lead poisoning. These 
regulations also establish a record retention policy, enforcement modalities and penalties for 
violators.

2.0 Definitions.

For purposes of this chapter, the following definitions shall apply:

“Blood lead registry” means the database maintained by the Department that includes the results of 
all blood lead testing reported to the Department.

“Blood lead testing” means taking a capillary or venous sample of blood for point of care testing 
using a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act of 1988 (CLIA) licensed or waived test or sending it to a 
laboratory to determine the level of lead in the blood.

“Capillary” means a blood sample taken from the finger or heel for lead analysis.

“Division” means the Delaware Division of Public Health.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services.

“Health care provider” means the individual that generally provides medical care to a child including, 
but not limited to, a physician, a physician’s assistant or a nurse.

“High risk” means a child between the ages of 22 and 26 months who meets any of the following 
conditions:

• Is suspected by a parent or a health care provider to be at risk for lead exposure or to exhibit 
the symptoms of lead poisoning.

• Has a sibling or frequent playmate with lead poisoning.
• Is a recent immigrant, refugee, or foreign adoptee.
• Has a household member who uses traditional, folk, or ethnic remedies or cosmetics or who 

routinely eats food imported informally (e.g., by a family member) from abroad.
• Lives in or regularly visits a house or day care center (including out buildings) built before 

1978.
• Lives with an adult whose job or hobby involves exposure to lead (e.g. construction, welding, 

pottery, mechanic, jeweler, plumber, renovator, firing range enthusiast, stained glass maker). 
• Lives near an active lead smelter, battery recycling plant, or other industry likely to release 

lead.
• Lives in, attends day care in, or visits any of the following zip code areas at least 6 hours a 

week or 60 hours a year:
• 197XX: 01, 02, 03, 06, 09, 11, 13, 20, 33
• 198XX: 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 08, 09, 10
• 199XX: 01, 04, 33, 34, 38, 39, 40, 41, 43, 45, 46, 47, 50, 52, 53, 56, 58, 60, 62, 63, 66, 

68, 71, 73, 75, 77.

“Laboratory” means a laboratory certified to perform either waived or non-waived blood lead analysis 
according to the federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act of 1988 (CLIA).

“Low Risk” means a child between the ages of 22 and 26 months who does not meet any of the 
conditions listed in the definition for “High Risk”.

“Venous” means a blood sample taken from a vein in the arm for lead analysis.

3.0 Requirement.

The health care provider of a child between the ages of 22 and 26 months shall determine if said child 
is at high risk of lead poisoning. If the child is determined to be at high risk, the health care provider 
shall perform or cause to be performed a blood lead test.
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4.0 Applicability.

4.1 The blood lead testing requirement specified in these regulations applies to all children 22 to 26 
months of age except those determined not to be at high risk.

4.2 Blood lead testing is not required on a child between the ages of 22 and 26 months when said child is 
determined by the health care provider to be at low risk for elevated blood lead levels. If a health care 
provider determines that a child is low risk, the health care provider will keep the completed risk 
assessment questionnaire (with all “NO” responses) in the child’s chart for at least three years.

5.0 Religious exemption.

A religious exemption may be granted to a child if the blood lead testing conflicts with a genuine and 
sincere religious belief and not a belief based merely on philosophical, scientific, moral, personal, or 
medical opposition to blood lead testing. A certificate of blood lead testing exemption for religious 
reasons shall be signed and dated by the child’s parent or guardian, notarized, and kept in the child’s 
medical chart.

6.0 Time line for valid blood lead testing.

To be valid, a blood lead test shall be performed, as required by these regulations, on a child after 
completion of a risk assessment questionnaire when the child is between the ages of 22 and 26 
months. Children that test with blood lead levels above the level of concern established by the Centers 
for Disease Control (“CDC”), which is currently10 µg/dl, will have venous confirmation by a laboratory 
prior to intervention.

7.0 Documentation.

7.1 A health care provider and a laboratory performing a blood lead test required by these regulations shall 
ensure that the results of the blood lead test are reported to the Division.

7.2 Proof of blood lead testing will be verified through the Blood Lead Registry and by auditing a child’s 
medical charts.

8.0 Records.

A completed risk assessment questionnaire, including the determination of the child’s risk of lead 
poisoning, shall be maintained in a child’s medical chart for at least three years. The Division will 
conduct scheduled and impromptu chart audits to monitor compliance.

9.0 Severability.

If any provision or application of any provision of these regulations is held invalid, that invalidity shall 
not affect the validity of other provisions or applications of these regulations.

10.0 Penalty.

Violators are subject to sanctions pursuant to 16 Del.C., §107 for each violation of the requirements 
established in these regulations.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 314 & 1111 (18 Del.C. §§313, 1111)

PUBLIC NOTICE

506 Crop Insurance Adjusters and Producers

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAREN WELDIN STEWART, CIR-ML hereby gives notice of intent to adopt 
Department of Insurance Regulation 506 relating to Crop Producers and Adjusters. The docket number for this 
proposed amendment is 1456.   

The purpose of the proposed Regulation 506 is to delineate licensing and continuing education requirements 
for producers and adjusters specifically for Crop Insurance. The text of the proposed amendment is reproduced in 
the October 2010 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The text can also be viewed at the Delaware 
Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/
ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person can 
file written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed 
amendments. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed changes must be 
received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:00 p.m., Monday, November 1, 2010, and should be 
addressed to Mitch Crane, Esquire, Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 
19904, or sent by fax to 302.736.7979 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

506 Crop Insurance Adjusters and Producers

1.0 Purpose

1.1 The purpose of this Chapter is to provide rules to assist the Commissioner in administering the laws 
relating to the licensure and regulation of crop insurance producers and adjusters, as provided for in 
18 Del.C. Chapter 17 et. seq.

1.2 This regulation should not be viewed as replacing any other or additional statutory requirements not 
explicitly included in this regulation.

2.0 Scope

This regulation applies to all persons acting as crop insurance adjusters or producers in this state. The 
crop insurance producer and adjuster licenses to be issued by the Commissioner.

3.0 Definitions

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Delaware Insurance Department.

"Crop" means and includes any agricultural product, including livestock, nursery product, tree and 
product from a tree, as well as anything insured by the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation under a 
crop insurance program.

 “Crop insurance adjuster” means any person, who, for compensation or any other thing of value, 
does any of the following:

• Acts or aids in investigating, verifying, substantiating, estimating, appraising, determining, 
presenting, and discussing the value of the claim, and/or effectuating the resolution of a 
claim for loss or damage covered by an insurance contract that insures crops;

• Advertises for employment as an adjuster of claims arising under insurance contracts that 
insure crops or solicits business or represents to the public to be a crop insurance adjuster 
of insurance claims, for losses or damages arising out of policies of insurance that insure 
crops; or

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/
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• Directly or indirectly solicits business, investigates or adjusts losses, or advises an insured 
about claims for losses or damages arising out of policies of insurance that insure crops, 
when doing any of the foregoing for or on behalf of another person engaged in the business 
of adjusting losses or damages covered by an insurance policy that insures crops, for the 
insured.

"Department" means the Department of Insurance;

“NAIC” means the National Association of Insurance Commissioners;

"Person" means a natural person;

“Producer” means any person required to be licensed under the laws of this State to sell, solicit, or 
negotiate contracts of insurance authorized within the scope of said license.

"Risk Management Agency" means that agency of the United States Department of Agriculture 
acting on behalf of the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation to administer federal crop insurance 
programs.

4.0 Qualification for the Issuance of a License

A person shall apply for and receive from the Commissioner a multi-peril crop insurance adjuster and/
or producer license to operate as a multi-peril crop insurance producer or adjuster in this State. All 
applications for licensure shall be in accordance with the requirements of 18 Del.C., §§1706 and 1707 
(1).

5.0 Examination Requirements

5.1 All individuals applying for a multi-peril crop insurance adjuster license are required to pass the Risk 
Management Agency-approved Proficiency test for multi-peril crop insurance adjusters.

5.2 All individuals applying for a multi-crop insurance producer license shall be required pass a written 
examination as required by 18 Del.C., §1705.

5.3 The Commissioner may enter into a contract with a testing organization for the examination of 
applicants for a license as a multi-peril crop insurance producer or adjuster. Such contract may provide 
that the testing organization shall:

5.3.1 Assume responsibility for the administration and grading of the examination; and

5.3.2 Charge and collect from each applicant the fee for administering the examination.

6.0 Continuing Education Requirement

6.1 An individual, who holds a multi-peril crop insurance license shall satisfactorily complete a minimum of 
twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education credits. The education required by this section shall be 
in addition to any other continuing education requirements required for other professional licenses held 
by the individuals licensed under Chapter 17 of the Delaware Code.

6.2 Only continuing education courses approved by the Commissioner shall be used to satisfy the 
continuing education requirement of Paragraph 6.1.

7.0 Effective Date

This Regulation shall take effect 10 days after execution of an Order by the Commissioner and its 
publication in the Register of Regulations or January 1, 2011, whichever shall occur last.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 314 & 1111 (18 Del.C. §§313, 1111)

PUBLIC NOTICE

507 Workers’ Compensation Insurance Adjusters

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAREN WELDIN STEWART, CIR-ML hereby gives notice of intent to adopt 
Department of Insurance Regulation 507 relating to Workers Compensation Adjusters. The docket number for this 
proposed amendment is 1457.

The purpose of the proposed Regulation 507 is to delineate licensing and continuing education requirements 
for adjusters specifically for Workers’ Compensation Insurance. The text of the proposed amendment is 
reproduced in the October 2010 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The text can also be viewed at 
the Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/
ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person can 
file written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed 
amendments. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed changes must be 
received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:00 p.m., Monday, November 1, 2010, and should be 
addressed to Mitch Crane, Esquire, Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 
19904, or sent by fax to 302.736.7979 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

507 Workers’ Compensation Insurance Adjusters

1.0 Purpose

1.1 The purpose of this Chapter is to provide rules to assist the Commissioner in administering the laws 
relating to the licensure and regulation of Workers’ Compensation insurance adjusters, as provided for 
in 18 Del.C. Chapter 17 et. seq.

1.2 This regulation should not be viewed as replacing any other or additional statutory requirements not 
explicitly included in this regulation.

2.0 Scope

This regulation applies to all persons acting as Workers’ Compensation insurance adjusters in this 
state. The Workers’ Compensation Insurance adjuster license is to be issued by the Commissioner.

3.0 Definitions. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Delaware Insurance Department.

"Department" means the Department of Insurance;

“NAIC” means the National Association of Insurance Commissioners;

"Person" means a natural person;

“Workers Compensation insurance adjuster” means any person, who, as an independent 
contractor, or on behalf of an independent contractor, insurer or self-insurer, producer or managing 
general agent, investigates and/or negotiates settlement of workers’ compensation claims arising 
under insurance contracts.

4.0 Qualification for the Issuance of a License.

A person shall apply for and receive from the Commissioner a Workers Compensation insurance 
adjuster license to operate as a workers compensation adjuster in this State. All applications for 
licensure shall be in accordance with the requirements of 18 Del.C. §§1706 and 1707(1).

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/
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5.0 Examination Requirements.

5.1 All individuals applying for a workers compensation insurance adjuster license are required to pass the 
approved proficiency test for workers compensation insurance adjusters.

5.2 The Commissioner may enter into a contract with a testing organization for the examination of 
applicants for a license as a workers compensation insurance adjuster. Such contract may provide that 
the testing organization shall:

5.2.1 Assume responsibility for the administration and grading of the examination; and

5.2.2 Charge and collect from each applicant the fee for administering the examination.

6.0 Continuing Education Requirement.

6.1 An individual, who holds a workers compensation insurance adjuster license shall satisfactorily 
complete a minimum of twelve (12) hours of continuing education credits, three (3) of which shall be in 
ethics subjects, during each biennium reporting period. The education required by this section shall be 
in addition to any other continuing education requirements required for other professional licenses held 
by the individuals licensed under Chapter 17 of the Delaware Code.

6.2 Only continuing education courses approved by the Commissioner shall be used to satisfy the 
continuing education requirement of Paragraph 6.1.

7.0 Effective Date

This Regulation shall take effect 10 days after execution of an Order by the Commissioner and its 
publication in the Register of Regulations or January 1, 2011, whichever shall occur last.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
FRAUD AND CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

CONSUMER PROTECTION UNIT

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 2521 (29 Del.C. §2521)

PUBLIC NOTICE

103 Consumer Protection Unit Administrative Enforcement Proceedings

The Attorney General in accordance with 29 Del.C. §2521 has proposed to adopt rules and regulations for 
administrative enforcement of the consumer protection statutes.

A public hearing will be held at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, November 3, 2010, in the Attorney General’s 

conference room on the 6th floor of the Carvel State Office Building, 820 N. French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801, 
where members of the public may offer comments.  Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Consumer Protection Unit of the Department of Justice at Carvel State 

Office Building, 5th floor, 820 N. French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801. Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Director of the Consumer Protection Unit at the above address.  The final date 
to submit written comments will be at the public hearing.

103 Consumer Protection Unit Administrative Enforcement Proceedings

1.0 Construction of rules of practice and procedure.

1.1 Unless otherwise provided, these Rules of Practice govern Consumer Protection Unit (“CPU”) 
administrative proceedings brought under 29 Del.C. § 2523.

http://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/office/divisions.shtml
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1.2 For purposes of these rules: (1) any term in the singular includes the plural, and any term in the plural 
includes the singular, if such use would be appropriate; and (2) any use of a masculine, feminine, or 
neuter gender encompasses such other genders as would be appropriate.

2.0 Appearance and practice in administrative proceedings.

2.1 Representing oneself. In any proceeding, an individual may appear on his or her own behalf.

2.2 Attorneys. In any proceeding, a person may be represented by an attorney at law admitted to practice 
before the Supreme Court of the State of Delaware. Attorneys who are not so admitted must apply for 
admission pro hac vice through Rule 2.3 below.

2.3 Appearance pro hac vice. Pursuant to Rule 72(a) of the Delaware Supreme Court Rules, attorneys 
who are not members of the Delaware Bar may be admitted pro hac vice in a proceeding in the 
discretion of the administrative hearing officer upon written motion by a member of the Delaware Bar 
who maintains an office in this State for the practice of law ("Delaware Counsel"). Pursuant to 
Delaware Supreme Court Rule 72(c), Delaware Counsel for any party shall appear in the matter for 
which admission pro hac vice is filed and shall sign or receive service of all notices, orders, pleadings 
or other papers filed in the matter and shall attend all proceedings before the hearing officer, unless 
excused by the hearing officer.

2.4 Designation of address for service; notice of appearance; withdrawal.

2.4.1 Representing oneself. When an individual first makes any filing or otherwise appears on his or her 
own behalf before a hearing officer in a proceeding, he or she shall file with the hearing officer or 
otherwise state on the record, and keep current, an address at which any notice or other written 
communication required to be served upon him or her or furnished to him or her may be sent and 
a telephone number where he or she may be reached during business hours.

2.4.2 Attorneys. When an attorney first makes any filing or otherwise appears in a representative 
capacity before a hearing officer in a proceeding, he or she shall file with the hearing officer, and 
keep current, a written notice of appearance stating the name of the proceeding; the attorney's 
name, bar identification number, business address, telephone number, and electronic mail 
address; and the name and address of the person or persons represented.

2.4.3 Withdrawal. Withdrawal by any attorney shall be permitted only by written order of the hearing 
officer. A motion seeking leave to withdraw shall state with specificity the reason for such 
withdrawal.

3.0 Appointment of a hearing officer.

3.1 The Attorney General shall designate a Deputy Attorney General outside the Fraud and Consumer 
Protection Division to act as the hearing officer in a particular CPU administrative case or indefinitely 
until the authority is transferred. If no hearing officer has been designated, a Deputy Attorney General 
in the CPU initiating a complaint shall proceed in accordance with Rule 12.1 below.

3.2 This authority of the Attorney General to name a hearing officer may be delegated to any Deputy 
Attorney General outside the Fraud and Consumer Protection Division.

4.0 Disqualification and recusal of administrative hearing officer.

4.1 Notice of disqualification. If at any time a hearing officer believes himself or herself to be disqualified 
from considering a matter, the hearing officer shall issue a notice stating that he or she is withdrawing 
from the matter and setting forth the reasons therefor.

4.2 Motion for withdrawal. Any party who has a reasonable, good faith basis to believe that a hearing 
officer has a personal bias, or is otherwise disqualified from hearing a case, may make a motion to the 
hearing officer that the hearing officer withdraw. The motion shall be accompanied by an affidavit 
setting forth in detail the facts alleged to constitute grounds for disqualification. If the hearing officer 
finds himself or herself not biased or otherwise disqualified, he or she shall so rule and shall continue 
to preside over the proceeding.
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5.0 Ex parte communications.

5.1 No party to a proceeding, or counsel to or representative of a party to a proceeding, shall make or 
knowingly cause to be made an ex parte communication relevant to the merits of that proceeding to 
the administrative hearing officer.

5.2 No administrative hearing officer with respect to a proceeding shall make or knowingly cause to be 
made to a party to that proceeding, or counsel to a party to that proceeding, an ex parte
communication relevant to the merits of that proceeding.

6.0 Motions.

6.1 Generally. Unless made during a hearing or conference, a motion shall be in writing, shall state with 
particularity the grounds therefor, shall set forth the relief or order sought, and shall be accompanied 
by a written brief of the points and authorities relied upon. All written motions shall be served in 
accordance with Rule 7.0, be filed in accordance with Rule 8.0, meet the requirements of Rule 9.0, and 
be signed in accordance with Rule 10.0. The hearing officer may order that an oral motion be 
submitted in writing. No oral argument shall be heard on any motion unless the hearing officer 
otherwise directs.

6.2 Opposing and reply briefs. Briefs in opposition to a motion shall be served and filed within 10 days 
after service of the motion. Reply briefs shall be served and filed within three days after service of the 
opposition.

6.3 Length limitation. A brief in support of or opposition to a motion shall not exceed 10 pages, exclusive of 
pages containing any table of contents, table of authorities, and/or addendum. Requests for leave to 
file briefs in excess of 10 pages are disfavored.

7.0 Service of papers by parties.

7.1 Service initiating a proceeding. At the outset of an administrative proceeding, the complaint and any 
accompanying papers shall be served on each respondent by certified mail, return receipt requested, 
and by United States first class mail at the respondent’s last known address. The return of a return 
receipt signed by the respondent is not required for service to be effective.

7.2 Service of all other filings.

7.2.1 When required. In every administrative proceeding, each paper, including each notice of 
appearance, written motion, brief, or other written communication, shall be served upon each party 
in the proceeding in accordance with the provisions of this section.

7.2.2 Upon a person represented by counsel. Whenever service is required to be made upon a person 
represented by counsel who has filed a notice of appearance pursuant to Rule 2.0, service shall 
be made pursuant to paragraph 7.2.3 of this section upon counsel, unless service upon the person 
represented is ordered by the hearing officer.

7.2.3 How made. Service shall be made by delivering a copy of the filing.  “Delivering” means:

7.2.3.1 Personal service by handing a copy to the person required to be served; or leaving a copy 
at the person's office with a clerk or other person in charge thereof, or, if there is no one in 
charge, leaving it in a conspicuous place therein; or, if the office is closed, or the person to 
be served has no office, leaving it at the person's dwelling house or usual place of abode 
with some person of suitable age and discretion then residing therein;

7.2.3.2 Mailing the papers through the U.S. Postal Service by first class, registered, or certified 
mail or Express Mail delivery addressed to the person;

7.2.3.3 Sending the papers through a commercial courier service or express delivery service; or

7.2.3.4 Transmitting the papers by facsimile machine or electronic mail transmission where the 
following conditions are met:

7.2.3.4.1 The persons serving each other by facsimile transmission or electronic mail 
transmission have agreed to do so in a writing, and
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7.2.3.4.2 Receipt of each document served is confirmed electronically or by a manually signed 
receipt.

7.2.4 When service is complete. Personal service, service by U.S. Postal Express Mail or service by 
commercial courier or express delivery service is complete upon delivery. Service by mail is 
complete upon mailing. Service by facsimile or electronic mail transmission is complete upon 
confirmation of transmission.

8.0 Filing of papers with the hearing officer: procedures.

8.1 When to file. All papers required to be served by a party upon any person shall be filed with the hearing 
officer at the time of service. Papers required to be filed with the hearing officer must be received 
within the time limit, if any, for such filings.

8.2 Where to file. Filing of papers shall be made by filing the original papers with the hearing officer.

8.3 To whom to direct the filing. All motions, objections, applications or other filings made during a 
proceeding shall be directed to and decided by the hearing officer.

8.4 Certificate of service. Papers filed with the hearing officer shall be accompanied by a certificate stating 
the name of the person or persons served, the date of service, the method of service and the mailing 
address, facsimile telephone number, or electronic mail address to which service was made, if not 
made in person.

9.0 Filing of papers: form.

9.1 Specifications. Papers filed in connection with any administrative proceeding shall:

9.1.1 Be on one grade of unglazed white paper measuring 8-1/2 x 11 inches, except that, to the extent 
that the reduction of larger documents would render them illegible, such documents may be filed 
on larger paper;

9.1.2 Be typewritten or printed in either ten or twelve-point typeface or otherwise reproduced by a 
process that produces permanent and plainly legible copies;

9.1.3 Include at the head of the paper, or on a title page, the title of the proceeding, the names of the 
parties, the subject of the particular paper or pleading, and the file number assigned to the 
proceeding;

9.1.4 Be paginated with all margins at least one inch wide;

9.1.5 Be double-spaced, with single-spaced footnotes and single-spaced indented quotations; and

9.1.6 Be stapled, clipped or otherwise fastened in the upper left corner.

9.2 Signature required. All papers must be dated and signed as provided in Rule 10.0.

9.3 Suitability for record keeping. Documents which, in the opinion of the hearing officer, are not suitable 
for computer scanning or microfilming may be rejected.

10.0 Filing of papers: signature requirement and effect.

10.1 General requirements. Every filing of a party represented by counsel shall be signed by Delaware 
Counsel of record in his or her name and shall state that counsel's bar identification number, business 
address, electronic mail address, and telephone number. A party who acts as his or her own counsel 
shall sign his or her individual name and state his or her address and telephone number on every filing.

10.2 Effect of signature.

10.2.1 The signature of counsel or a party shall constitute a certification that:

10.2.1.1 the person signing the filing has read the filing;

10.2.1.2 to the best of his or her knowledge, information and belief, formed after reasonable inquiry, 
the filing is well grounded in fact and is warranted by existing law or a good faith argument 
for the extension, modification, or reversal of existing law; and

10.2.1.3 the filing is not made for any improper purpose, such as to harass or to cause 
unnecessary delay or needless increase in the cost of adjudication.
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10.2.2 If a filing is not signed, the hearing officer shall strike the filing, unless it is signed promptly after the 
omission is called to the attention of the person making the filing.

11.0 Computation of time.

11.1 Computation.  In computing any period of time prescribed in or allowed by these Rules of Practice or 
by order of the hearing officer, the day of the act, event or default from which the designated period of 
time begins to run shall not be included. The last day of the period so computed shall be included 
unless it is a Saturday, Sunday or State legal holiday in which event the period runs until the end of the 
next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday or State legal holiday. Unless otherwise specified, intermediate 
Saturdays, Sundays and State legal holidays shall be excluded from the computation when the period 
of time prescribed or allowed is 10 days or less, not including any additional time allowed for service by 
mail in paragraph 11.2 of this section. If on the day a filing is to be made, weather or other conditions 
have caused the designated filing location to close, the filing deadline shall be extended to the end of 
the next day that is neither a Saturday, Sunday nor State legal holiday.

11.2 Additional time for service by mail. If service is made by mail, three days shall be added to the 
prescribed period for response.

12.0 Complaints: general and summary proceedings.

12.1 General. If the Director or a Deputy Attorney General acting under his or her authority believes that 
any person is violating or has violated any provision of the statutes the CPU is charged to enforce, or 
any rule or regulation thereunder, the CPU may issue a complaint as provided herein. The service and 
filing of the complaint constitutes the commencement of the administrative proceeding. If no hearing 
officer has been generally designated, the Director or the Deputy Attorney General filing the complaint 
shall give notice to the Attorney General, Chief Deputy Attorney General, or the State Solicitor 
requesting the appointment of a hearing officer for the proceeding.

12.2 Summary proceedings. See Rule 25.1.3 for procedure in summary proceedings.

13.0 Complaints: form and content.

13.1 Each complaint shall be in writing and signed by a Deputy Attorney General. The complaint shall 
specify in reasonable detail the conduct alleged to constitute the violation and the statutory provision, 
rule or regulation the respondent is alleged to be violating or to have violated.

13.2 If the complaint consists of several claims, each claim shall be stated separately.

14.0 Complaints: amendment and withdrawal.

14.1 At any time prior to the filing of a responsive pleading or the commencement of a hearing (whichever is 
earlier), the Deputy Attorney General who initiated the proceeding may amend the complaint. After the 
filing of a responsive pleading or the commencement of a hearing, upon motion by the Deputy Attorney 
General who initiated the proceeding, the hearing officer may permit amendment of a complaint.

14.2 At any time prior to the filing of a responsive pleading or the commencement of a hearing (whichever is 
earlier), the Deputy Attorney General who initiated the proceeding may withdraw the complaint. Such 
withdrawal shall be without prejudice to refiling, and the Deputy Attorney General who initiated the 
proceeding shall be permitted to file a complaint based on allegations concerning the same facts and 
circumstances that are set forth in the withdrawn complaint. The Deputy Attorney General who initiated 
the proceeding may withdraw the complaint after the filing of a responsive pleading or commencement 
of a hearing, and in the absence of a motion the withdrawal shall be without prejudice; however, upon 
motion of the respondent, the hearing officer, after considering the facts and circumstances of the 
withdrawal, shall determine whether the withdrawal shall be with prejudice.

15.0 Answers to complaints.

15.1 Form, service, notice. Pursuant to Rule 7.2, each respondent named in a complaint shall serve an 
answer to the complaint on the Deputy Attorney General who initiated the proceeding, all other parties, 
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and the hearing officer within 20 days after service of the complaint on such respondent. The hearing 
officer may extend such period for good cause.

15.2 Content, affirmative defenses. Unless otherwise ordered by the hearing officer, an answer shall 
specifically admit, deny, or state that the respondent does not have and is unable to obtain sufficient 
information to admit or deny each allegation in the complaint. When a respondent intends to deny only 
part of an allegation, the respondent shall specify so much of it as is admitted and deny only the 
remainder. A statement of lack of information shall be deemed a denial. Any allegation not denied shall 
be deemed admitted. Any affirmative defense shall be asserted in the answer.

15.3 Amendments to answer. Upon a motion by a respondent, the hearing officer may permit an answer to 
be amended.

15.4 Extension of time to answer amended complaint. If a complaint is amended pursuant to Rule 14.0, the 
time for filing an answer or amended answer shall be extended to 20 days after service of the 
amended complaint.

15.5 Failure to answer; default. If the respondent does not file an answer within the time required, the 
hearing officer shall send a second notice to such respondent requiring an answer within 10 days after 
service of the second notice, or within such longer period as the hearing officer in his or her discretion 
may order. The failure of the respondent to answer shall not prevent the hearing officer, in the exercise 
of his or her discretion, from scheduling a hearing.

16.0 Scheduling a hearing.

16.1 Hearing officer order requiring hearing. Upon the filing of a complaint, the hearing officer should 
promptly schedule a hearing to be held between 40 and 60 days after the date the complaint was filed. 
See Rule 25.1.3 for hearing procedures in summary proceedings.

16.2 Notice of hearing. Upon scheduling a hearing, the hearing officer shall issue a notice stating the date, 
time and place of the hearing, and shall serve such notice on the parties.

17.0 Pre-hearing conferences.

17.1 Purpose of conferences. The purpose of pre-hearing conferences includes, but is not limited to:

17.1.1 Expediting the disposition of the proceeding;

17.1.2 Establishing early and continuing control of the proceeding by the hearing officer; and

17.1.3 Improving the quality of the hearing through more thorough preparation.

17.2 Procedure. On his or her own motion or at the request of a party, the hearing officer may, in his or her 
discretion, direct counsel or any party to meet for an initial, final or other prehearing conference. Such 
conferences may be held with or without the hearing officer present as the hearing officer deems 
appropriate. Where such a conference is held outside the presence of the hearing officer, the hearing 
officer shall be advised promptly by the parties of any agreements reached. Such conferences also 
may be held with one or more persons participating by telephone or other remote means.

17.3 Subjects to be discussed. At a pre-hearing conference consideration may be given and action taken 
with respect to any or all of the following:

17.3.1 Simplification and clarification of the issues;

17.3.2 Exchange of witness and exhibit lists and copies of exhibits;

17.3.3 Stipulations, admissions of fact, and stipulations concerning the contents, authenticity or 
admissibility into evidence of documents;

17.3.4 Matters of which official notice may be taken;

17.3.5 The schedule for exchanging prehearing motions or briefs, if any;

17.3.6 The method of service for papers;

17.3.7 Summary disposition of any or all issues;

17.3.8 Settlement of any or all claims;

17.3.9 Determination of hearing dates;
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17.3.10 Amendments to the complaint or answers thereto; and

17.3.11 Such other matters as may aid in the orderly and expeditious disposition of the proceeding.

17.4 Pre-hearing orders. At or following the conclusion of any conference held pursuant to this section, the 
hearing officer shall enter a ruling or order which recites the agreements reached and any procedural 
determinations made by the hearing officer.

18.0 Pre-hearing submissions.

18.1 Submissions generally. In connection with the pre-hearing conference, the hearing officer, on his or her 
own motion or at the request of a party, may order any party to furnish such information as deemed 
appropriate, including any or all of the following:

18.1.1 An outline or narrative summary of the party’s case or defense;

18.1.2 The legal theories upon which the party will rely;

18.1.3 Copies and a list of documents that the party intends to introduce at the hearing; and

18.1.4 A list of witnesses who will testify on the party’s behalf, including the witnesses’ names, 
occupations, addresses and a brief summary of their expected testimony.

18.2 Expert witnesses. Each party who intends to call an expert witness shall submit, in addition to the 
information required by paragraph 18.1.4 of this section, a curriculum vitae or statement of the expert's 
qualifications and a written summary of the expert’s opinions on the topic of the intended testimony. 
The hearing officer may in his or her discretion order an expert witness to produce a listing of other 
proceedings in which the expert has given expert testimony and a list of publications authored or co-
authored by the expert.

18.3 Timing of production. The hearing officer may modify the time limits for production of evidence set by 
these rules.

19.0 Administrative hearings.

19.1 Hearings. Hearings for the purpose of taking evidence shall be held upon order of the hearing officer. 
Except for summary proceedings, hearings should generally be scheduled not less than 40 days nor 
more than 60 days after the issuance of a complaint.

19.1.1 All hearings shall be conducted in a fair, impartial, expeditious and orderly manner.

19.1.2 All hearings, except ex parte applications for a summary order, shall open to the public.

19.2 Continuance. Any motion for a continuance of the hearing date shall be filed as far in advance of the 
hearing date as practicable. Motions must be for good cause and state with specificity the reason for 
the continuance request. Any motion for a continuance filed within 10 days of a scheduled hearing is 
disfavored and will be denied in the absence of extraordinary circumstances.

19.3 Exchange of evidence and witness list. Unless otherwise ordered by the hearing officer, no later than 
20 calendar days prior to the date of the hearing the CPU shall submit to each respondent and to the 
hearing officer copies of all documentary evidence and the names of the witnesses the CPU intends to 
present in its case-in-chief at the hearing. Unless otherwise ordered, no later than 10 calendar days 
prior to the date of the hearing each respondent shall submit to the CPU and to the hearing officer all 
documentary evidence and the names of the witnesses the respondent intends to present at the 
hearing. If a party intends to use the testimony of an expert witness, that party shall include as part of 
its documentary production a curriculum vitae or statement of the expert's qualifications and a written 
summary of the expert’s opinions on the topic of the intended testimony.

19.4 Hearing procedure. In the hearing, each party is entitled to present its case or defense by oral or 
documentary evidence, to submit rebuttal evidence, and to conduct such cross-examination as, in the 
discretion of the hearing officer, may be required for a full and true disclosure of the facts.

19.5 Testimony. Witnesses shall testify under oath or affirmation. The oath or affirmation may be 
administered by a Deputy Attorney General, court reporter, notary public or any other officer 
authorized to administer oaths and affirmations under Delaware law.
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20.0 Evidence.

20.1 Admissibility. The hearing officer shall receive relevant evidence and may exclude all evidence that is 
irrelevant, immaterial or unduly repetitious.

20.1.1 The hearing officer may make reference to and be guided by the Delaware Uniform Rules of 
Evidence. Notwithstanding those rules, the hearing officer may admit any evidence that 
reasonable and prudent individuals would commonly accept in the conduct of their affairs, and 
give probative effect to that evidence. 

20.1.2 Evidence may not be excluded solely on the ground that it is hearsay.

20.2 Objections. Objections to the admission or exclusion of evidence must be made on the record and 
shall be in short form, stating the grounds relied upon. Exceptions to any ruling thereon by the hearing 
officer need not be noted at the time of the ruling.

20.3 Offers of proof. Whenever evidence is excluded from the record, the party offering such evidence may 
make an offer of proof, which shall be included in the record.

21.0 Proposed findings of fact, conclusions of law, and post-hearing briefs.

21.1 At the discretion of the hearing officer, the parties may be ordered to file proposed findings of fact and 
conclusions of law, or post-hearing briefs, or both. The hearing officer may order that such proposed 
findings and conclusions be filed together with, or as part of, post-hearing briefs.

21.2 Proposed findings of fact or other statements of fact in briefs shall be supported by specific references 
to the record.

21.3 In any case in which the hearing officer has ordered the filing of proposed findings of fact and 
conclusions of law, or post-hearing briefs, the hearing officer shall, after consultation with the parties, 
prescribe the period within which proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law and/or post-hearing 
briefs are to be filed. Such period shall be reasonable under all the circumstances but the total period 
allowed for the filing of post-hearing submissions shall not exceed 30 days after the conclusion of the 
hearing unless the hearing officer permits a different period and sets forth in an order the reasons why 
a longer period is necessary.

21.4 Unless the hearing officer orders otherwise, no post-hearing submission shall exceed 25 pages, 
exclusive of cover sheets, tables of contents and tables of authorities.

22.0 Final decision after a hearing.

22.1 In any administrative proceeding in which a hearing is held, the hearing officer shall issue a final 
written decision. Such decisions should generally be issued within 60 days after the last day of the 
hearing or the filing of any post-hearing submission, whichever is later. The decision shall include:

22.1.1 A brief summary of the evidence;

22.1.2 Findings of fact based on the evidence;

22.1.3 Conclusions of law; and

22.1.4 A statement of any sanctions, where applicable.

22.2 The hearing officer may order any remedy authorized by 29 Del.C. §2524.

23.0 Failure to appear at hearing.

A party’s failure to appear at a hearing that has been duly noticed shall not be cause to continue the 
hearing. If the hearing officer so orders, the hearing shall proceed in the party’s absence, which shall 
be noted in the record.

24.0 Disruptive conduct.

If a party, counsel to a party or witness engages in conduct in violation of an order of the hearing 
officer, or other disruptive conduct during an administrative proceeding, the hearing officer may impose 
non-monetary sanctions therefor, including the issuance of an order: (i) excluding the party and/or his 
or her counsel from any further participation in the proceeding; (ii) striking pleadings or evidence from 
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the record; (iii) providing that certain facts shall be taken to be established for purposes of the 
proceeding; or (iv) providing for such other relief as is just and equitable under the circumstances.

25.0 Cease and desist orders; summary proceedings.

25.1 Cease and desist orders may be issued by agreement, administrative order, or summary 
administrative order.

25.1.1 By agreement. Where it appears to the Director that a person has engaged in, is engaging in, or is 
about to engage in a practice declared unlawful by any provision of the statutes the CPU is charged to 
enforce, or any rule or regulation thereunder, the Director may enter into a written agreement with that 
person and issue a cease and desist order ordering the immediate discontinuance of that practice. 
Consistent with the agreement, the order may also order any relief or remedy authorized under any 
statute enforced by the CPU. A cease and desist order by agreement may be issued in the absence of 
a complaint initiating an administrative or civil action, or it may be issued in connection with the 
settlement of an administrative or civil action.

25.1.2 By administrative order. Upon the finding of a violation of any provision of the statutes the CPU is 
charged to enforce, or any rule or regulation thereunder, the administrative hearing officer may 
issue a cease and desist order. The prohibited conduct in the order should be reasonably related 
to the conduct constituting the violation.

25.1.3 By summary administrative order. Where the Director, in his or her discretion, perceives an 
immediate threat to the public interest as a result of a violation of any provision of the statutes the 
CPU is charged to enforce, or any rule or regulation thereunder, the Director may issue a 
summary cease and desist order ordering an immediate discontinuance of the unlawful practice 
identified in the order.

25.1.3.1 Before issuing the summary order, the Director or his or her designee shall attempt to 
obtain voluntary compliance from the alleged violator by telephone call or letter. A failure 
to comply with any aspect of the request for voluntary compliance shall be deemed non-
compliance with the request. Any person who is the subject of a summary order shall 
promptly be given notice of that order and of the reasons therefor.

25.1.3.2 A complaint detailing the specific allegations against the alleged violator shall accompany 
any summary cease and desist order served upon the alleged violator. The complaint and 
summary cease and desist order shall be served upon the alleged violator by first class 
and certified mail to the alleged violator’s last known address. Service shall be deemed 
effective upon mailing.

25.1.3.3 A hearing shall be scheduled by the Director or his or her designee at the time of the 
issuance of the complaint and summary cease and desist order. The CPU shall provide a 
hearing on the charges in the complaint within 10 days after the issuance of the complaint 
and the cease and desist order.

25.1.3.4 A written opinion and order, containing findings of fact and conclusions of law, shall issue 
within 10 days after the close of the hearing.

25.1.3.5 If no hearing has been provided within 10 days after the issuance of the summary cease 
and desist order, the order shall expire at the end of the tenth day after it was issued 
unless the alleged violator waives his or her right to a prompt hearing. If there is a hearing 
but no decision is issued within 10 days after the close of the hearing, the summary cease 
and desist order shall expire at the end of the tenth day after the close of the hearing. An 
order that has expired in accordance with the restrictions of this subparagraph may not be 
reissued as a summary order.

25.1.3.6 The order issued after the hearing may provide for any administrative remedy contained in 
29 Del.C. § 2524.

25.1.3.7 Any person who willfully violates a cease and desist order may be sanctioned as provided 
in 29 Del.C. § 2524(b) or § 2526.
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26.0 Appeals.

26.1 In any administrative proceeding, any person aggrieved by a final order of the hearing officer may file 
an appeal to the Superior Court no later than 30 days after the date of the order, as provided in 29 
Del.C. §2523(d). A copy of the notice of appeal shall be promptly filed with the hearing officer in the 
administrative proceeding.

26.2 Upon the filing of an appeal to the Superior Court, the administrative record shall be filed with the Court 
in accordance with Superior Court Civil Rule 72.

26.3 Any party that files an appeal to the Superior Court shall be responsible for filing with the Court in a 
timely manner the transcript of that portion of the administrative proceedings in which error allegedly 
occurred. Each party on appeal shall bear his, her or its own costs of transcription.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL AFFAIRS

Office of Labor Law Enforcement
Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, Section 3511(e) (19 Del.C. §3511(e))

19 DE Admin.Code 1327

PUBLIC NOTICE

1327 Notice of Independent Contractor or Exempt Person Status

The Delaware Department of Labor, Division of Industrial Affairs, Office of Labor Law Enforcement gives notice 
that it has created a form for employer to complete which contains guidelines of the notice required to be provided 
to an individual of their classification as either an independent contractor or an exempt person.  The Office of Labor 
Law Enforcement will receive written public comment as to the notice form beginning Friday, October 1, 2010 and 
ending on Thursday, October 31, 2010, at the Delaware Department of Labor, 225 Corporate Blvd., Suite 104, 
Newark, Delaware 19702.

The Office of Labor Law Enforcement proposes to adopt the Notice of Independent Contractor or Exempt 
Person Status form as presented in this notice.  The proposed form is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.  Copies are available at the Department of Labor, Division of Industrial Affairs, 225 Corporate Blvd., 
Suite 104, Newark, DE 19702.  A copy can be obtained by contacting Francis Chudzik, Supervisor in the Office of 
Labor Law Enforcement at (302) 451-3401.  Persons may submit written comment to the Office of Labor Law 
Enforcement c/o Francis Chudzik at the address and for the time period set forth above.

1327 Notice of Independent Contractor or Exempt Person Status

The classification of an individual as an independent contractor or exempt employee has significant 
implications.  19  Del.C. § 3503 sets forth the acts which are prohibited.  Specifically that:

(a) An employer shall not improperly classify an individual who performs work for remuneration provided 
by an employer as an independent contractor. 

(b) An employer has improperly classified an individual when an employer-employee relationship exists, 
as determined in subsection (c) of this section, but the employer has not classified the individual as an 
employee. 

(c) An "employer-employee" relationship shall be presumed to exist when work is performed by an 
individual for remuneration paid by an employer, unless to the satisfaction of the Department the 
employer demonstrates that the individual is an exempt person or independent contractor. 

(d) A person shall not knowingly incorporate or form, or assist in the incorporation or formation of, a 
corporation, partnership, limited liability corporation, or other entity, or pay or collect a fee for use of a 

http://www.delawareworks.com/industrialaffairs/welcome.shtml
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foreign or domestic corporation, partnership, limited liability corporation, or other entity for the purpose 
of facilitating, or evading detection of, a violation of this section. 

(e) A person shall not knowingly conspire with, aid and abet, assist, advise, or facilitate an employer with 
the intent of violating the provisions of this chapter.

Further, in the event that any employer is found to violate 19 Del.C. §3503, the penalties for such violation are 
set forth in 19 Del.C. §3505, which states in pertinent part that: 

(a) Any employer who violates or fails to comply with §3503 of this title or any regulation published 
thereunder shall be deemed in violation of §3503 of this title, and shall be subject to a civil penalty of 
not less than $1,000, and not more than $5,000, for each such violation. Each employee who is not 
properly classified in violation of §3503 of this title shall be considered a separate violation for 
purposes of this section. 

Additionally, the failure to provide this written notice shall be Evidence of a knowing violation by the employer of 
19 Del.C. §3503 and the employer shall be liable for an administrative penalty of $500 for each individual that the 
employer failed to notify.

I, ___________________________ (individual) have read and understood the prohibitions as set forth above.

I, _______________________________ (employer) have read and understood the prohibitions and penalties 
as set forth above.

Having read and understood the foregoing, _________________________ (individual) is classified as:

(1) an Independent Contractor  

or Exempt Person  

 [MUST CHECK ONE BOX] for all purposes with respect to the individual's work on the 
_______________________ (name of project).

__________________________ (individual) began work on __________________________ (name of 
project) as a ___________________________________ (trade), on or about ____________________ (date). A 
copy of this notice was completed when ____________________ (individual) began work on the project and a 
copy has been provided to the individual and a copy will be kept by the employer.

__________________________________________

Name of Employer

________________________________________________________________

Authorized Employer Signature Date

__________________________________________________________________

Authorized Employer Print Name and position with Employer

________________________________________________________________

Independent Contractor/Exempt Person Signature Date 
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)
7 DE Admin. Code 1125, 1130

1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review & 1130 Title V State Operating Permit Program
REGISTER NOTICE SAN #2010-19

1. Title of the Regulations:

Amend 7 DE Admin. Code 1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review and 1130 Title V State Operating 
Permit Program.

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:

     The Department proposes to revise Section 3.0 “Prevention of Significant Deterioration of Air Quality “(PSD) of 
7 DE Admin. Code 1125, and Section 2.0 “Definitions” of 7 DE Admin. Code 1130 to clarify how air permitting 
requirements apply to greenhouse gas emissions. The Departments proposal is based on an Environmental 
Protection Agency rule, 75 FR 31514 Prevention of Significant Deterioration and Title V Greenhouse Gas Tailoring 
Rule (June 3, 2010).

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:

None.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority To Act:

7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the Proposal: 

None.

6. Notice of Public Comment:

The Department will hold a public hearing on these proposed amendments on Thursday, October 28, 2010 
beginning at 6:00pm in the Richardson and Robbins Building auditorium, located at 89 King’s Highway in Dover. 
Interested persons may submit comments in writing to Ronald A. Amirikian, Division of Air Quality, 655 South Bay 
Road, Suite 5N, Dover, DE 19901 and/or statements and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at 
the public hearing. 

7. Prepared By:

Ronald A. Amirikian (302-739-9409)                                                                                                                

September 2, 2010

Proposed Amendments to 7 DE Admin Code 1125 and 1130

Regulatory Flexibility Act Compliance Form

Background:

Regulation of greenhouse gases (GHG) under the CAA was established by a Supreme Court decision and 
subsequent actions by EPA. These amendments are required to clarify how Delaware’s existing permitting 
requirements apply to sources emitting certain GHGs under Delaware prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) 

http://www.awm.delaware.gov/Pages/default.aspx
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and Title V operating permit programs.  These amendments are based on  75 FR 31514 (June 3, 2010), also 
known as the Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Tailoring rule.  To avoid permitting GHG sources emitting above the existing 
standard threshold levels of 100 and 250 tons per year, which would include a very high number of mostly 
combustion sources never before permitted, the Tailoring Rule sets higher threshold levels for greenhouse gases. 
These higher thresholds will help ensure that small businesses will not be impacted.  Currently, we believe there 
will be no more than about 20 sources, already permitted under Title V for non-GHG pollutant emissions, that will 
remain impacted after these revisions to 7 DE Admin. Code 1125 and 1130.

Potential areas for consideration:

1)  The nature of any reports and the estimated cost of their preparation by individuals and/or small business 
which would be required to comply with the new rule:  None.  The revisions are to  raise the air permitting 
thresholds relative to GHG emissions, which will help ensure small businesses will not be subject to PSD and Title 
V permitting requirements.

2)  The nature and estimated costs of other measures or investments that would be required by individuals 
and/or small businesses in complying with the rule: None.

3)  The nature and estimated cost of any legal, consulting and accounting services which individuals and/or 
small businesses would incur in complying with the rule: None.

4) The ability of individuals and/or small businesses to absorb the costs estimated under questions 1, 2 and 3 
of this form without suffering economic harm and without adversely affecting competition in the marketplace: N/A

5) The additional cost, if any, to the agency of administering or enforcing a rule which exempts or sets lesser 
standards for compliance by individuals and/or small business: N/A. The purpose of this revision is to raise the 
existing air permitting thresholds relative to GHG emission, which will ensure individuals and small businesses will 
remain exempt from PSD and Title V permitting requirements.

6) The impact on the public interest of exempting or setting lesser standards of compliance for individuals and/
or small businesses. N/A. The purpose of this revision is to raise the existing air permitting thresholds relative to 
GHG emission, which will ensure individuals and small businesses will remain exempt from PSD and Title V 
permitting requirements.

7)   What accommodations, if any, have been made in the regulations to address individual or small business 
concerns identified above? The threshold limits for permitting GHG pollutant under the PSD and Title V programs is 
being proposed to be significantly increased to avoid the need to permit small businesses. 

1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review

1130 Title V State Operating Permit Program

*Please Note: Due to the size of these proposed regulations, they are not being published here. A copy of 
both regulations is available at:

1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review & 1130 Title V State Operating Permit Program

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)
7 DE Admin. Code 1140

REGISTER NOTICE SAN # 2009-33

1140 Delaware’s National Low Emission Vehicle (NLEV) Regulation

1. Title of the Regulation:

Regulation 1140 – Delaware Low Emission Vehicle Program

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2010/proposed/14 DE Reg 263 10-01-10.htm
http://www.awm.delaware.gov/Pages/default.aspx
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2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:

The provisions of this regulation establish in Delaware a LEV program, which incorporates the requirements of 
the California LEV program. 

The LEV program shall apply to all model year 2013 and subsequent motor vehicles that are passenger cars 
and light-duty trucks subject to the California LEV program and delivered for sale in Delaware on or after January 
1, 2013. 

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:

None.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:

7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 and the Federal Clean Air Act, section 177 (42 U.S.C. § 7507), which allows 
states to establish more stringent motor vehicle standards than the Federal program by implementing the California 
program.

5.   Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the Proposal:

None.

6. Notice of Public Comment:

Statements and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at a public hearing to be held on Friday, 
October 22, 2010 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in DNREC’s R & R Building auditorium, Dover, DE. Interested parties may 
submit comments in writing to:

Kristoffer Gontkovsky

DNREC Division of Air Quality

BHCC 655 South Bay Road Suite 5N

Dover, DE 19901

7. Prepared By: 

Kristoffer Gontkovsky

DNREC Division of Air Quality

BHCC 655 South Bay Road Suite 5N

Dover, DE 19901

Ph:(302)739-9402 x9960 Fax:(302)739-3106

kristoffer.gontkovsky@state.de.us

August 31, 2010

Regulatory Flexibility Act Analysis

Regulatory Action

The Department is proposing to implement Regulation 1140 that would affect vehicle manufacturers, dealers, 
and any other person who transfers vehicles within DE. The proposed regulation would replace the Federal Tier 2 
program in Delaware beginning with MY 2013, and as a result, only California certified vehicles can be legally sold 

in Delaware after January 1st of 2013. Considerable benefits to human health and the environment will be realized 
under this program in the long term. A significant portion of particulate emissions, ozone-forming emissions, and 
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airborne cancer risks come from vehicle emissions. The primary goal of this proposal is to reduce the emissions of 
ozone precursors, particulates, toxic air pollutants and greenhouse gas emissions.

Conclusions

After thorough consideration of the proposed implementation of Regulation 1140 under the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 104, (Act), the Department concludes the following:

• After considering the impact on small business, as discussed below, there is no reason to exempt or to 
lessen the requirements by implementing Regulation 1140 for individuals or small businesses.

• That the Department’s proposed implementation of Regulation 1140, when compared to EPA’s national 
Tier 2 standard, 
• Will not add to the reporting requirements, compared to the federal notification and reporting require-

ments;
• Will not create a need for any legal, consulting, or accounting services;
• Will not create any competitive disadvantages;
• Will not drastically alter the operating cost for the Department compared to maintaining the less strin-

gent national rule; and 
• Will reduce the public’s potential cancer and non-cancer health risks through the reduction of air pol-

lutant emissions.

Background

• The purpose of the Act is “to establish as a principle of regulatory policy that regulatory and reporting 
requirements fit the scale of those being regulated, that fewer, simpler requirements be made of individ-
uals and small businesses and that to achieve these ends agencies be empowered and encouraged to 
issue regulations which apply differently to individuals and small businesses than to larger businesses.”

• In making the consideration for qualifying small business entities, the Department must consider the fol-
lowing:
• The nature of the reports and cost of their preparation;
• The nature and cost of required measures or investment;
• The nature and cost of legal, consulting and accounting services;
• The ability of the entity to absorb or recover the added costs without suffering economic harm and 

without adversely affecting competition in the marketplace;
• The added cost to the Department if exemptions or lesser requirements were promulgated; and
• The impact on the public interest of exempting or setting lesser requirements of compliance.

Considerations

1. The nature of the reports and cost of their preparation. Currently, vehicle manufactures either report to EPA or 
CARB and the corresponding state if a LEV program is implemented.    

Reporting requirements for manufactures under the federal program: 

• Total Deliveries.
• Fleet-wide NOx average.
• Durability demonstration (if requested).
• Emission standards testing including: tailpipe emissions, on-board diagnostic requirements, and evapo-

rative emission standards (if requested).

Proposed Regulation 1140 reporting requirements for manufacturers:

• Total Deliveries in DE.
• Fleet-wide NMOG average.
• Durability demonstration (if requested).
• Emission standards testing including: tailpipe emissions, on-board diagnostic requirements, and 

evaporative emission standards (if requested).
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2. The nature and cost of required measures or investment. As both the federal program and California programs 
have evolved over the past two decades, the programs have become strikingly similar. Emission limits for both 
(including GHGs) have tightened to current levels that essentially mirror each other. However, the federal program 
contains three less stringent vehicle categories that are not acceptable under the LEV program.

Required measures

Vehicle manufacturers already produce “California certified” vehicles for our region. When extensive research 
was conducted with local dealers, the highest percentage of non-CARB vehicles available on a lot was less than 
ten percentage. The majority of dealers had zero, one, or two vehicles (larger trucks) that did not have a CARB 
certification

Required investment

Since vehicle manufactures already produce LEV cars on a regional basis, no additional investment will be 
necessary if DE implements Regulation 1140. With over 20 states and Washington D.C. already participating in the 
LEV program, vehicle manufacturers are well prepared for DE to implement a LEV program.

3. The nature and cost of legal, consulting and accounting services. There are no requirements in proposed 
Regulation 1140 that would necessitate a need for legal, consulting or accounting services. Therefore, there are no 
added costs for these services.

4. The ability of the entity to absorb or recover the added costs without suffering economic harm and without 
adversely affecting competition in the marketplace.

• Vehicle manufacturers affected by proposed Regulation 1140 are subject to the requirements of the Cal 
LEV equivalent already established by surrounding states that comprise the North East Region (New 
England States, NY, PA, MD, NJ). Vehicles are not individually manufactured specifically for DE.

• As the requirements of proposed Regulation 1140 apply equally to all regulated sources, the Department 
does not anticipate any source to have a competitive advantage over the other sources.

5. The added cost to the Department if exemptions or lesser requirements were promulgated.

• Due to the “third wheel” clause stipulated by the CAA, no such exemptions or lesser requirements divert-
ing from Cal LEV requirements can be promulgated. 

6. The impact on the public interest of exempting or setting lesser requirements of compliance.

• Were the Department to continue with the Federal Tier 2 program requirements rather than proposed 
Regulation 1140, the public would potentially experience greater exposure to vehicle emissions. 
• The exposure to higher concentrations of vehicle emissions (VOCs, NOx, and PM) could lead to 

increased incidences of cancer, primarily manifested in lung tumors. 
• Long term exposure to higher concentrations of vehicle emission could also lead to other non-carci-

nogenic health impacts. These health impacts range from decreased lung function and increased 
respiratory symptoms to serious indicators of respiratory morbidity.

1140 Delaware’s National Low Emission Vehicle (NLEV) Regulation

*Please Note: Due to the size of this proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the 
regulation is available at:

1140 Delaware’s National Low Emission Vehicle (NLEV) Regulation

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2010/proposed/14 DE Reg 264 10-01-10.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

700 BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Sections 706(a)(1) and (10)
(24 Del.C. §706(a)(1) and (10))

24 DE Admin. Code 700

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Chiropractic, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §706(a)(1), proposes to revise their rules and 
regulations. The proposed revisions to the rules are an attempt to better organize and clearly establish the 
standards governing licensed chiropractors in the State of Delaware.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on November 4, 2010 at 09:00 a.m., Second 
Floor Conference Room B, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments should be 
sent to Nancy Fields, Administrator of the Delaware Board of Chiropractic, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., 
Dover, DE 19904.

700 Board of Chiropractic

1.0 Chiropractic Defined; Limitations of Chiropractic License

An adjunctive procedure not otherwise prohibited by Chapter 7 which aids and or assists the 
chiropractor in providing chiropractic care and includes by way of example and is not limited to:

Acupuncture Procedures

Physiological Therapeutics

Diet and Nutritional Programs

Rehabilitation/Exercise Programs

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)

2.0 Officers; Meetings; Quorum

The Board will hold elections for the offices of President and Secretary at the regularly scheduled meeting in 
October of each year or as soon thereafter as practical. Vacancies occurring in an office shall be filled for the 
remainder of the term in the month following the vacancy or as soon thereafter as is practical.

2.0 Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

2.1 Completion of the required continuing education (CE) hours is a prerequisite for renewing a license. 
Licensees shall complete 24 hours of approved CE during each biennial licensing period, except as 
otherwise provided in these regulations for new licensees.

2.1.1 The deadline for completion of all required CE hours is the license renewal deadline, unless 
extended or waived pursuant to regulation 2.3. CE hours must be completed and approved by the 
Board before applying for renewal.

2.1.2 CE hours must be completed within the biennial licensure period for which they are being applied. 
Only six CE hours can be carried over into a subsequent licensure period.

2.1.3 The same course shall not count more than once during a single licensing period. For courses 
completed multiple times in one licensing period, credit shall only be given for the first course 
completion.

2.1.4 Licensees shall retain their CE course attendance documentation for at least two years after the 
renewal deadline.

http://dpr.delaware.gov/default.shtml
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2.1.5 At least 3 of the credit hours required for renewal must contain ethics, recordkeeping, or risk 
management.

2.1.6 Only 50% of the required CE can be taken online or home study which includes video replay, 
video- or tele-conference, correspondence, or mail.

2.1.7 Only courses co-sponsored by accredited Chiropractic colleges, national or states organizations 
are presumptively approved so long as the course relates to the field of Chiropractic. Excepted 
from this presumptive approval are courses in practice management subjects.

2.1.8 The subject matter of all Continuing Education must contribute directly to the competency of a 
person licensed to practice as a Chiropractor. The activity must have a significant intellectual or 
practical content and deal with chiropractic techniques, issues or ethical standards relevant to the 
practice of chiropractic.

2.2 New Licensee Exception:

2.2.1 At the time of the initial license renewal, some individuals will have been licensed for less than two 
(2) years. For these individuals only, the continuing education hours will be pro-rated based on 
when the license was issued. 

2.2.1.1 If the new license was issued during the first year of the renewal period, July 1 – 
December 31 of the odd year, the licensee must complete 24 CE hours.

2.2.1.2 If the new license was issued during the first year of the renewal period, January 1 – June 
30 of the even year, the licensee must complete 18 CE hours.

2.2.1.3 If the new license was issued during the second year of the renewal period, July 1 – 
December 31 of the even year, the licensee must complete 12 CE hours.

2.2.1.4 If the new license was issued during the second year of the renewal period, January 1 – 
June 30 of the odd year, the licensee must complete 24 CE hours.

2.3 Hardship. For good cause, the Board may grant extensions of the CE deadline or may grant waivers of 
the CE requirements. Good cause includes, but is not limited to disability, serious illness, extended 
absence from the country, exceptional family responsibilities, or unique personal hardship that is not 
the result of professional negligence or inadvertence. Requests for hardship extensions or waivers 
must be submitted to the Board in writing before the end of the licensing period for which the request is 
sought.

2.4 Board approval for Continuing Education (CE) Courses

2.4.1 CE courses that are presented by a Chiropractic college accredited by the Council on Chiropractic 
Education (CCE) and are related to the practice of Chiropractic are approved, except courses on 
practice management or law other than Delaware law. These colleges and organizations do not 
have to submit Continuing Education Approval forms. It is the provider’s responsibility to post and 
advertise their CE courses available.

2.4.2 In order for licensees to receive credit for CE courses not sponsored by a Chiropractic college 
accredited by the CCE or presented by any other national or state Chiropractic organization, the 
course must be approved by the Board before the deadline for submission of a licensee’s renewal 
application.

2.4.2.1 CE course participants and providers may apply for pre-approval of courses by submitting 
a written request for approval that must include a program agenda, a syllabus indicating 
the time spent on each topic, the names and resumes of the presenters, and the number 
of CE hours requested. The Board may approve less than the number of hours requested.

2.5 Board approval of a licensee’s CE hours in a specialty area is not a Board endorsement of the 
licensee’s competence to practice that specialty.

3.0 Certification

Certification in any nationally recognized specialty for a licensee requires a minimum of 100 or more hours of 
certified training beyond and in addition to any courses or training received toward a degree of Doctor of 
Chiropractic. Certification in any nationally recognized chiropractic specialty or technique requires that the licensee 
shall have completed all requirements for recognition as a practitioner of such chiropractic specialty or technique 
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by the American Chiropractic Association, the International Chiropractic Association, or any Board approved 
nationally recognized certification body.

11 DE Reg. 348 (09/01/07)

3.0 Renewal Requirements

3.1 The biennial licenses granted by the Board shall automatically terminate on June 30th of each even 
numbered year or on such other date as is specified by the Division of Professional Regulation. It is the 
responsibility of the licensee to file a renewal application with the Board. The failure of the Board to 
notify a licensee of his/her expiration date does not in any way relieve the licensee of the requirements 
of filing a renewal application with the Board. A licensee who fails to renew a license before the 
expiration date may renew on a late basis for a period not to exceed sixty days; however, it is illegal to 
practice Chiropractic in the State of Delaware beyond the expiration date. Licensees who do not renew 
their license within sixty days of the expiration date must reapply under the licensure requirements of a 
new licensee and have 24 credits of continued education from the previous licensing period

3.2 Verification of CE hours shall be by attestation. Attestation shall be completed electronically if the 
renewal is accomplished online. Alternatively, the attestation of completion may be submitted by paper 
renewal forms. Requests for paper renewal forms must be directed to the Division.

3.3 Post-Renewal Audit. The Board will conduct random audits of renewal applications to ensure the 
veracity of attestations and compliance with the renewal requirements. Licensees selected for the 
random audit shall submit CE course attendance verification in the form of a certificate of attendance 
or completion that must be signed by the course presenter or by a designated official of the sponsoring 
organization. Licensees found to be deficient or found to have falsely attested may be subject to 
disciplinary proceedings and may have their license suspended or revoked. All licensees renewing 
during the late renewal period shall be audited.

4.0 Continuing Education

4.1 Continuing Education for New Licensees:

4.1.1 At the time of the initial license renewal, some individuals will have been licensed for less than two 
(2) years. Therefore, for these individuals only, the continuing education hours will be pro-rated as 
follows:

4.2 Continuing Education for Licensees other than new licensees:

4.2.1 Unless otherwise excused by the Board for good cause such as illness, extended absence from 
the country, or unique personal hardship which is not the result of professional negligence or 
inadvertence, all Chiropractors seeking renewal more than two (2) years from initial licensure or 
reinstatement of a lapsed license must attest to the satisfactory completion of twenty four (24) 
credit hours of Board approved continuing education within the immediately preceding two (2) year 
period. Effective July 1, 2006, of the required twenty four (24) credit hours of Board approved 
continuing education, a maximum of twelve (12) credit hours may be fulfilled by participating in 
online courses.

License Granted During First Year: Credit Hours Required:

July 1 - December 31 24 hours

January 1 - June 30 18 hours

License Granted During Second Year: Credit Hours Required:

July 1 - December 31 12 hours

January 1 - June 30 0 hours
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4.2.1.1 Attestation may be completed electronically if the renewal is accomplished online. In the 
alternative, paper renewal documents that contain the attestation of completion may be 
submitted;

4.2.2 Attestation of continuing education shall be submitted to the Division of Professional Regulation, 

Dover, Delaware, no later than June 30th of the reporting year and shall be received every two (2) 

years after such date. Continuing education completed before june 30th of the reporting year shall 
not be carried over to the next renewal period. The Board has the right to conduct an audit of the 
proof of continuing education submitted by licensees.

4.2.2.1 All licensees shall maintain documentation of continuing education during the licensure 
period to be submitted if their renewal application is selected for audit. Random audits will 
be performed by the Board to ensure compliance with the continuing education 
requirement. Licensees selected for the random audit shall submit the log and attendance 
verification.

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)

8 DE Reg. 1586 (5/1/05)

9 DE Reg. 1766 (5/1/06)

10 DE Reg. 146 (7/1/06)

5.2 4.0 Inactive Status and or Termination of Practice.

4.1 Any licensee who seeks to be placed on inactive status or who is terminating his or her practice in this 
State or who is leaving this State and is not transferring his or her records to another chiropractor shall 
notify the Board in writing and notify all patients treated within the last three (3) years by publication in 
a newspaper of general circulation throughout the State of Delaware and offer to make the patients 
records available to the patient or his or her duly authorized representative. Except in an emergency 
situation where as much notice as is reasonably possible shall be given, the notice by publication shall 
be made at least ninety (90) days prior to termination of the practice or leaving the State and must be 
published at least 3 times over this ninety (90) day period and must explain how a patient can procure 
his or her patient records. All patients who have not requested their records thirty (30) days prior to the 
termination of the licensee's practice or the licensee leaving the State shall be notified by first class 
mail by the licensee to permit patients to procure their records. Any patient records that have not been 
procured within 7 years after the licensee terminates his or her practice or leaves the State may be 
permanently disposed of in a manner that ensures confidentiality of the records.

4.2 In order to reactivate an inactive license, the licensee must make a written request to the Board, 
submit 24 continuing education hours, and pay the renewal fee before the expiration date of the 
inactive status. If the written request to become active is not received before the expiration date, the 
licensee will have to reapply and meet the requirements of a new applicant regardless of the way they 
were originally licensed.

5.0 Issuance of License; Renewal; Inactive Status; Reinstatements; Retention of Patient Records

5.1 The Biennial licenses granted by the Board shall automatically terminate on June 30th of each even 
numbered year or on such other date as is specified by the Division of Professional Regulation. It is the 
responsibility of the licensee to file a renewal application with the Board. The failure of the Board to 
notify a licensee of his/her expiration date does not in any way relieve the licensee of the requirements 
of filing a renewal application with the Board. A licensee who fails to renew a license before the 
expiration date may renew on a late basis for a period not to exceed one (1) year. Licenses renewal 
may be accomplished online at http://dpr.delaware.gov.

5.3 5.0 Retention of Patient Records.

5.1 Patient records must be retained by the Chiropractor or arrangements made for the maintenance and 
retention of patient records for seven (7) years from the date of the last treatment.
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5.4 5.2 Whenever a patient changes from the care of one Chiropractor to another Chiropractor and upon the 
request of either the new Chiropractor or the patient the previous Chiropractor (a) may charge for the 
reasonable expenses of copying the patient's records and upon receiving payment for such expenses, 
shall transfer the patient's records to the new Chiropractor, or (b) if there is no copying charge, shall 
transfer the records of the patient to the new Chiropractor, within a reasonable time frame. 
Alternatively, if the patient and new Chiropractor agree, the Chiropractor may forward to the new 
Chiropractor a summary of the patient's records in lieu of the entire record at no charge to the patient. 
If a patient changes care from one Chiropractor to another Chiropractor, and fails to notify the previous 
Chiropractor or leaves the care of the previous Chiropractor for a period of 7 years from the date of the 
last treatment and fails to notify the previous Chiropractor, or fails to request the transfer of records to 
the new Chiropractor, then the previous Chiropractor shall maintain said records for a period of 7 years 
from the date of last treatment, after which time the records may be permanently disposed of in a 
manner that ensures confidentiality of the records.

5.5 5.3 This rule shall not apply to a Chiropractor who has seen or treated a patient on referral from another
Chiropractor and who has provided a record of the diagnosis or treatment to another chiropractor, 
hospital or agency which has provided treatment for the patient.

5.6 5.4 A Chiropractor or the personal representative of the estate of a Chiropractor who disposes of patient 
records in accordance with the provisions of this rule is not liable for any direct or indirect loss suffered 
as a result of the disposal of a patient's records.

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)

5 DE Reg. 270 (9/1/01)

7 DE Reg. 36 (7/1/03)

10 DE Reg. 146 (7/1/06)

6.0 Grounds for Discipline

6.1 Unprofessional Conduct in Advertising. Any Licensee who advertises or holds out to the public that he 
or she is a specialist in any specific chiropractic or adjunctive procedure without having a valid current 
certification as having special training and/or certification in such procedure or procedures from a 
recognized certification body is guilty of unprofessional conduct.

6.2 Examples of Unprofessional Conduct in Advertising and Promotional Practices. The following 
advertising and promotional practices are deemed to be misleading, false, deceptive, dishonorable 
and/or unethical and shall constitute unprofessional conduct by a licensee:

6.2.1 The use of testimonials without written permission of that doctor’s patient.

6.2.2 Offering free or discounted examinations unless all charges associated with such examinations, 
including all x-ray fees and charges, are conspicuously set out in writing at the time of and in 
conjunction with such offer and unless such examinations are offered regardless of the availability 
of insurance coverage of any recommended subsequent treatment.

6.2.3 The use of unjustified or exaggerated claims, promises or statements which guarantee or strongly 
imply cure or successful treatment or are otherwise false, fraudulent, deceptive, or misleading.

6.2.4 Willful failure to identify licensee as a Doctor of Chiropractic, Chiropractor or Chiropractic 
Physician.

6.3 Unprofessional conduct with Patient, Employees, or Co-workers. Sexual misconduct in violation of a 
statute of the State of Delaware or any State or Commonwealth where such conduct takes place, 
involving a licensee and a patient, employee or co-worker shall be deemed to be unprofessional 
conduct.

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)

5 DE Reg. 270 (9/1/01)
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7.0 License to Practice Consulting

A Chiropractor licensed elsewhere in another state, but not licensed in the State of Delaware may only
practice chiropractic within the State of Delaware only in consultation with a duly Delaware licensed 
Chiropractor for not more than ten (10) consultations in any twelve (12) month period. The, which 
consultations shall be limited to examination, recommendation, or testimony in litigation. The Delaware 
licensed Chiropractor must inform the Board that a consulting Chiropractor is consulting with them and
inform the Board of the terms of the consulting agreement.

8.0 Voluntary Treatment Option

Any member of the public or a licensee may make a written report, signed by the complainant, of chemical 
dependency or impairment affecting any person regulated by the Board pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8807(n).

8.1 If the report is received by the chairperson of the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately 
notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate of the report. If the Director of 
Professional Regulation receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the chairperson of the 
regulatory Board, or that chairperson's designate or designates.

8.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 
days of receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and inform him/her in writing of the 
report, provide the individual written information describing the Voluntary Treatment Option, and give 
him/her the opportunity to enter the Voluntary Treatment Option. 

8.3 In order for the individual to participate in the Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit 
to a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a specified laboratory or health care 
facility. This initial evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days following notification to the 
professional by the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s). 

8.4 A regulated professional with chemical dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or alcohol 
may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and continue to practice, subject to any limitations on 
practice the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or designates or the 
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with the 
treating professional, deem necessary, only if such action will not endanger the public health, welfare 
or safety, and the regulated professional enters into an agreement with the Director of Professional 
Regulation or his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's 
designate for a treatment plan and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and complies 
with all terms of that agreement. Treatment programs may be operated by professional Committees 
and Associations or other similar professional groups with the approval of the Director of Professional 
Regulation and the chairperson of the participating Board.

8.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or 
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate in regard to 
the Voluntary Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for evaluations and screens may 
disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and the 
participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be 
activated an immediate investigation and institution of disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as 
outlined in section 8.8. 

8.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a regulated professional to enter into an agreement 
which includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions: 

8.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a treatment program approved by the participating Board. 
Board approval shall not require that the regulated professional be identified to the Board. 
Treatment and evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies to assure an 
unbiased assessment of the regulated professional's progress. 

8.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the approved treatment program to report on the progress 
of the regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating Board or to that chairperson's 
designate or designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her 
designate at such intervals as required by the chairperson of the participating Board or that 
chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or 
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his/her designate, and such person making such report will not be liable when such reports are 
made in good faith and without malice. 

8.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in accordance with applicable law, to the release of any 
treatment information from anyone within the approved treatment program.

8.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional to be personally responsible for all costs and charges 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment program(s). In addition, the 
Division of Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated professional to 
cover administrative costs associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee 
imposed under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to 
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses incurred by 
the Division of Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board in addition to the 
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. 

8.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment 
program shall be reported to the participating Board's chairperson or his/her designate or 
designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/ her designate by the 
treating professional who shall be immune from any liability for such reporting made in good faith 
and without malice. 

8.6.6 Compliance by the regulated professional with any terms or restrictions placed on professional 
practice as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment Option.

8.7 The regulated professional's records of participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not reflect 
disciplinary action and shall not be considered public records open to public inspection. However, the 
participating Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary sanction in any future matter in 
which the regulated professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an issue. 

8.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/her designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with the treating professional at any 
time during the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a chemically dependent or impaired 
professional if such action is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or safety. 

8.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon 
completion of the program. 

8.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the 
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary 
Treatment Option, and the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an immediate 
investigation and disciplinary proceedings as appropriate. 

8.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this section in good faith and without malice shall be immune from 
any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality 
protected if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

8.12 Any regulated professional who complies with all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment 
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise specified in a participating Board's 
rules and regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated professional shall 
include the potential for disclosure and specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)

9.0 Crimes Substantially Related to the Practice of Chiropractic

9.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to 
the practice of chiropractic in the State of Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

9.1.1 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632.

9.1.2 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §634.

9.1.3 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §635.

9.1.4 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
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9.1.5 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §772.

9.1.6 Rape in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §773.

9.1.7 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 Del.C. §778.

9.1.8 Dangerous crime against a child. 11 Del.C. §779.

9.1.9 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C. §1108.

9.1.10 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 11 Del.C. §1109.

9.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of chiropractic shall be deemed to include any crimes 
under any federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county ordinance, that are substantially similar to 
the crimes identified in this rule.

8 DE Reg. 997 (1/1/05)

9.1 The Board finds that for purposes of licensing, renewal, reinstatement and discipline, the conviction of 
any of the following crimes, or of the attempt to commit or a conspiracy to commit or conceal the 
following crimes or substantially similar crimes in another state or jurisdiction, is deemed to be 
substantially related to the practice of Chiropractic in the State of Delaware without regard to the place 
of conviction:

9.2 For the purposes of this section the following definitions shall apply:

“Conviction” means a verdict of guilty by whether entered by a judge or jury, or a plea of guilty or a 
plea of nolo contendere or other similar plea such as a “Robinson” or “Alford” plea unless the individual 
has been discharged under §4218 of Title 11 of the Delaware Code (probation before judgment) or 
under §1024 of Title 10 (domestic violence diversion program) or by §4764 of Title 16 (first offenders 
controlled substances diversion program).

“Jurisdiction” [Substantially similar crimes in another State or Jurisdiction] including all crimes 
prohibited by or punishable under Title 18 of the United Stated Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.) such as, but 
not limited to, Federal Health Care offenses.

9.3 Any crime which involves the use of physical force or violence toward or upon the person of another 
and shall include by way of example and not of limitation the following crimes set forth in Title 11 of the 
Delaware Code Annotated:

Assaults and Related Offenses

9.3.1 §601. Offensive touching;

9.3.2 §602. Menacing;

9.3.3 §603. Reckless endangering in the second degree;

9.3.4 §604. Reckless endangering in the first degree;

9.3.5 §605. Abuse of a pregnant female in the second degree;

9.3.6 §606. Abuse of a pregnant female in the first degree;

9.3.7 §611. Assault in the third degree;

9.3.8 §612. Assault in the second degree;

9.3.9 §613. Assault in the first degree;

9.3.10 §614. Assault on a sports official.

9.3.11 §615. Assault by abuse or neglect;

9.3.12 §621. Terroristic threatening;

9.3.13 §625. Unlawfully administering drugs;

9.3.14 §626. Unlawfully administering controlled substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs;

9.3.15 §629. Vehicular assault in the first degree;

9.3.16 §630. Vehicular homicide in the second degree;

9.3.17 §630A. Vehicular homicide in the first degree;

9.3.18 §631. Criminally negligent homicide;

9.3.19 §632. Manslaughter;

9.3.20 §633. Murder by abuse or neglect in the second degree;
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9.3.21 §634. Murder by abuse or neglect in the first degree;

9.3.22 §635. Murder in the second degree;

9.3.23 §636. Murder in the first degree;

9.3.24 §645. Promoting suicide.

Abortion and Related Offenses

9.3.25 §651. Abortion;

9.3.26 §653. Issuing abortional articles.

Sexual Offenses

9.3.27 §763. Sexual harassment;

9.3.28 §765. Indecent exposure in the first degree;

9.3.29 §766. Incest;

9.3.30 §767. Unlawful sexual contact in the third degree;

9.3.31 §768. Unlawful sexual contact in the second degree;

9.3.32 §769. Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree;

9.3.33 §770. Rape in the fourth degree;

9.3.34 §771. Rape in the third degree;

9.3.35 §772. Rape in the second degree;

9.3.36 §773. Rape in the first degree;

9.3.37 §776. Sexual extortion;

9.3.38 §777. Bestiality;

9.3.39 §778. Continuous sexual abuse of a child;

9.3.40 §780. Female genital mutilation.

Kidnapping and Related Offenses

9.3.41 §781. Unlawful imprisonment in the second degree;

9.3.42 §782. Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree;

9.3.43 §783. Kidnapping in the second degree;

9.3.44 §783A. Kidnapping in the first degree;

9.3.45 §785. Interference with custody;

Coercion

9.3.46 §791. Acts constituting coercion;

9.4 Any crime which involves dishonesty or false, fraudulent or aberrant behavior and shall include by way 
of example and not of limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the Delaware Code 
Annotated:

Arson and Related Offenses

9.4.1 §801. Arson in the third degree;

9.4.2 §802. Arson in the second degree;

9.4.3 §803. Arson in the first degree;

Criminal Trespass and Burglary

9.4.4 §820. Trespassing with intent to peer or peep into a window or door of another;

9.4.5 §824. Burglary in the third degree;

9.4.6 §825. Burglary in the second degree;

9.4.7 §826. Burglary in the first degree;

9.4.8 §828. Possession of burglar’s tools or instruments facilitating theft;

Robbery

9.4.9 §831. Robbery in the second degree;

9.4.10 §832. Robbery in the first degree.
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9.4.11 §835. Carjacking in the second degree;

9.4.12 §836. Carjacking in the first degree;

Theft and Related Offenses

9.4.13 §840. Shoplifting; class G felony;

9.4.14 §840A. Use of illegitimate retail sales receipt or Universal Product Code Label.

9.4.15 §841. Theft;

9.4.16 §842. Theft; lost or mislaid property; mistaken delivery.

9.4.17 §843. Theft; false pretense.

9.4.18 §844. Theft; false promise.

9.4.19 §845. Theft of services.

9.4.20 §846. Extortion;

9.4.21 §848. Misapplication of property;

9.4.22 §849. Theft of rented property;

9.4.23 §850. Use, possession, manufacture, distribution and sale of unlawful telecommunication and 
access devices.

9.4.24 §851. Receiving stolen property;

9.4.25 §854. Identity theft;

9.4.26 §860. Possession of shoplifter’s tools or instruments facilitating theft;

Forgery and Related Offenses

9.4.27 §861. Forgery; class F felony;

9.4.28 §862. Possession of forgery devices;

Offenses Involving Falsification of Records

9.4.29 §871. Falsifying business records;

9.4.30 §872. Falsifying business records;

9.4.31 §873. Tampering with public records in the second degree;

9.4.32 §876. Tampering with public records in the first degree;

9.4.33 §877. Offering a false instrument for filing;

9.4.34 §878. Issuing a false certificate;

Bribery Not Involving Public Servants

9.4.35 §881. Bribery;

9.4.36 §882. Bribe receiving;

Frauds on Creditors

Other Frauds and Cheats

9.4.37 §900. Issuing a bad check;

9.4.38 §903. Unlawful use of credit card;

9.4.39 §903A. Reencoder and scanning devices;

9.4.40 §906. Deceptive business practices;

9.4.41 §907. Criminal impersonation;

9.4.42 §907A. Criminal impersonation, accident related;

9.4.43 §907B. Criminal impersonation of a police officer;

9.4.44 §909. Securing execution of documents by deception;

9.4.45 §911. Fraudulent conveyance of public lands;

9.4.46 §912. Fraudulent receipt of public lands;

9.4.47 §913. Insurance fraud;

9.4.48 §913A. Health care fraud;

Computer Related Offenses
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9.4.49 §933. Theft of computer services.

9.4.50 §934. Interruption of computer services.

9.4.51 §938. Failure to promptly cease electronic communication upon request.

Offenses Relating to Marriage

9.4.52 §1001. Bigamy;

9.4.53 §1003. Bigamous marriage contracted outside the State.

9.5 Any crime which involves misuse or abuse of children or animals and shall include by way of example 
and not of limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the Delaware Code Annotated:

Child Welfare; Sexual Offenses, Animal Offenses

9.5.1 §1100. Dealing in children;

9.5.2 §1101. Abandonment of child;

9.5.3 §1102. Endangering the welfare of a child;

9.5.4 §1105. Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person;

9.5.5 §1106. Unlawfully dealing with a child;

9.5.6 §1107. Endangering children;

9.5.7 §1108. Sexual exploitation of a child;

9.5.8 §1109. Unlawfully dealing in child pornography;

9.5.9 §1111. Possession of child pornography;

9.5.10 §1112. Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school zones.

9.5.11 §1112A. Sexual solicitation of a child;

9.5.12 §1113. Criminal non-support and aggravated criminal non-support.

9.5.13 §1117. Notice;

9.5.14 §1325. Cruelty to animals;

9.5.15 §1326. Animals; fighting and baiting prohibited (Felony only);

9.6 Any crime which involves offenses against the public order the commission of which may tend to bring 
discredit upon the profession and which are thus substantially related to one’s fitness to practice such 
profession and shall include by way of example and not of limitation the following crimes listed in Title 
11 of the Delaware Code Annotated:

Bribery and Improper Influence

9.6.1 §1201. Bribery;

9.6.2 §1203. Receiving a bribe;

Perjury and related offenses

9.6.3 §1221. Perjury in the third degree;

9.6.4 §1222. Perjury in the second degree;

9.6.5 §1223. Perjury in the first degree;

9.6.6 §1233. Making a false written statement;

9.6.7 §1239. Wearing a disguise during the commission of a felony;

9.6.8 §1240. Terroristic threatening of public officials or public servants;

9.6.9 §1243. Obstructing fire-fighting operations;

9.6.10 §1244. Hindering prosecution;

9.6.11 §1245. Falsely reporting an incident;

9.6.12 §1249. Abetting the violation of driver’s license restrictions;

9.6.13 §1250. Offenses against law-enforcement animals;

9.6.14 §1254. Assault in a detention facility (Felony only)

9.6.15 §1257A. Use of an animal to avoid capture (Felony only);

9.6.16 §1259. Sexual relations in detention facility;

Offenses Relating to Judicial and Similar Proceedings
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9.6.17 §1261. Bribing a witness;

9.6.18 §1262. Bribe receiving by a witness;

9.6.19 §1263. Tampering with a witness;

9.6.20 §1263A. Interfering with child witness.

9.6.21 §1264. Bribing a juror;

9.6.22 §1265. Bribe receiving by a juror;

9.6.23 §1266. Tampering with a juror;

9.6.24 §1267. Misconduct by a juror;

9.6.25 §1269. Tampering with physical evidence;

9.6.26 §1271A. Criminal contempt of a domestic violence protective order;

9.6.27 §1273. Unlawful grand jury disclosure.

9.7 Any crime which involves offenses against a public health order and decency which may tend to bring 
discredit upon the profession, specifically including the below listed crimes from Title 11 of the 
Delaware Code Annotated which evidence a lack of appropriate concern for the safety and well being 
of another person or persons in general or sufficiently flawed judgment to call into question the 
individuals ability to make health care decisions or advise upon health care related matters for other 
individuals.

Disorderly Conduct and Related Offenses

9.7.1 §1302. Riot;

9.7.2 §1304. Hate crimes;

9.7.3 §1311. Harassment;

9.7.4 §1312. Aggravated harassment;

9.7.5 §1312A. Stalking;

9.7.6 §1313. Malicious interference with emergency communications;

9.7.7 §1335. Violation of privacy (Felony only);

9.7.8 §1338. Bombs, incendiary devices, Molotov cocktails and explosive devices;

9.7.9 §1339. Adulteration;

Offenses Involving Public Indecency

9.7.10 §1342. Prostitution;

9.7.11 §1343. Patronizing a prostitute prohibited.

9.7.12 §1351. Promoting prostitution in the third degree;

9.7.13 §1352. Promoting prostitution in the second degree;

9.7.14 §1353. Promoting prostitution in the first degree;

9.7.15 §1355. Permitting prostitution;

Obscenity

9.7.16 §1361. Obscenity; acts constituting;

9.7.17 §1365. Obscene literature harmful to minors;

9.8 Any crime which involves the illegal possession or the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or other addictive 
substances and those non-addictive substances with a substantial capacity to impair reason or 
judgment and shall include by way of example and not of limitation the following crimes listed in 
Chapter 47 of Title 16 of the Delaware Code Annotated:

9.8.1 §4751. Prohibited acts A;

9.8.2 §4752. Prohibited acts B;

9.8.3 §4752A.Unlawful delivery of noncontrolled substance.

9.8.4 §4753. Prohibited acts C.

9.8.5 §4753A.Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal drugs, methamphetamines, L.S.D., or designer 
drugs.
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9.8.6 §4754. Prohibited acts D;

9.8.7 §4754A.Possession and delivery of noncontrolled prescription drug.

9.8.8 §4755. Prohibited acts E;

9.8.9 §4756. Prohibited acts;

9.8.10 §4757. Hypodermic syringe or needle; delivering or possessing; disposal; exceptions;

9.8.11 §4761. Distribution to persons under 21 years of age;

9.8.12 §4761A. Purchase of drugs from minors;

9.8.13 §4767. Distribution, delivery, or possession of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school 
property;

9.8.14 §4768. Distribution, delivery or possession of controlled substance in or within 300 feet of park, 
recreation area, church, synagogue or other place of worship.

9.9 Any crime which involves the misuse or illegal possession or sale of a deadly weapon or dangerous 
instrument and shall include by way of example and not of limitation the following crimes listed in Title 
11 of the Delaware Code Annotated:

Offenses Involving Deadly Weapons and Dangerous Instruments

9.9.1 §1442. Carrying a concealed deadly weapon;

9.9.2 §1443. Carrying a concealed dangerous instrument;

9.9.3 §1444. Possessing a destructive weapon;

9.9.4 §1445. Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous weapon;

9.9.5 §1447. Possession of a deadly weapon during commission of a felony;

9.9.6 §1447A. Possession of a firearm during commission of a felony;

9.9.7 §1448. Possession and purchase of deadly weapons by persons prohibited;

9.9.8 §1448A. Criminal history record checks for sales or firearms;

9.9.9 §1449. Wearing body armor during commission of felony;

9.9.10 §1450. Receiving a stolen firearm;

9.9.11 §1451. Theft of a firearm;

9.9.12 §1452. Unlawfully dealing with knuckles-combination knife;

9.9.13 §1454. Giving a firearm to person prohibited;

9.9.14 §1455. Engaging in a firearms transaction on behalf of another;

9.9.15 §1456. Unlawfully permitting a minor access to a firearm;

9.9.16 §1457. Possession of a weapon in a Safe School and Recreation Zone;

9.9.17 §1458. Removing a firearm from the possession of a law enforcement officer;

9.9.18 §1459. Possession of a weapon with a removed, obliterated or altered serial number;

Offenses Involving Drug Paraphernalia

9.9.19 §4774. Penalties.

Offenses Involving Organized Crime and Racketeering

9.9.20 §1504. Criminal Penalties for Organized Crime & Racketeering

Offenses Involving Intimidation of Victims or Witnesses

9.9.21 §3532. Acts of Intimidation: Class E felony

9.9.22 §3533. Aggravated act of intimidation, Class D felony

Other Crimes

9.9.23 §3532. Act of intimidation;

9.9.24 §3533. Aggravated act of intimidation;

9.9.25 §3534. Attempt to intimidate;

9.9.26 §8523. Penalties [for violation of reporting provision re: SBI];

9.9.27 Title 21 §2118A. Unlawful possession or manufacture of proof of insurance;

9.9.28 §2133. Penalties; jurisdiction of justices of the peace.
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9.9.29 §2315. False statements;

9.9.30 §2620. False statements; incorrect or incomplete information;

9.9.31 §2752. False statements;

9.9.32 §2760. Duplication, reproduction, altering, or counterfeiting of driver’s licenses or identification 
cards.

9.9.33 Title 23 §2302. Operation of a vessel or boat while under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or 
drugs (Felony only);

9.9.34 §4177. Driving a vehicle while under the influence or with a prohibited alcohol content; evidence; 
arrests; and penalties (Felony only).

9.9.35 §4177M. Operating a commercial motor vehicle with a prohibited blood alcohol concentration or 
while impaired by drugs (Felony only);

9.9.36 §4202. Duty of driver involved in accident resulting in injury or death to any person;

9.9.37 §6704. Receiving or transferring stolen vehicle;

9.9.38 Title 30 §571. Attempt to evade or defeat tax;

9.9.39 §572. Failure to collect or pay over tax;

9.9.40 §573. Failure to file return, supply information or pay tax;

9.9.41 §574. Fraud and false statements;

9.9.42 §3913. Welfare violations [knowing or reckless abuse of an infirm adult]

9.10 Any crime which is a violation of Title 24, Chapter 7 as it may be amended from time to time.

9.11 The Board reserves the jurisdiction and authority to modify this regulation as necessary and if it 
becomes necessary to either add or delete crimes including such additions as may be required on an 
emergency basis under 29 Del.C. §10119 to address imminent peril to the public health, safety or 
welfare. The Board also specifically reserves the jurisdiction to review any crime committed by an 
applicant for licensure as a chiropractor and to determine whether to waive the disqualification under 
24 Del.C. §707(a)(5).

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

5200 BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 5204(1) (24 Del.C. §5204(1)) 
24 DE Admin. Code 5200

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5206(1), proposes 
to revise their rules and regulations. The proposed revisions to the rules are an attempt to better organize and 
clearly establish the standards governing licensed nursing home administrators in the State of Delaware.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on November 9, 2010 at 2:00 p.m., in the 
Second Floor Conference Room B, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments 
should be sent to Michele Urbaniak, Administrator of the Delaware Board of Nursing Home Administrators, Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904.

5200 Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators

*Please Note: Due to the size of this proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the 
regulation is available at:

5200 Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2010/proposed/14 DE Reg 281 10-01-10.htm
http://dpr.delaware.gov/default.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 4, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2010

282

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))
26 DE Admin. Code 3001

ORDER NO. 7832

This 7th day of September, 2010, the Commission determines and Orders the following:

WHEREAS, the Commission has promulgated regulations entitled Regulations Governing Service Supplied by 

Electrical Corporations. See 26 DE Admin. Code §3001, et seq. (the “Regulations”);1 and

WHEREAS, included in the Regulations are certain rules pertaining to “net energy metering” (the “Net Energy 
Metering Rules”); and

WHEREAS, on July 28, 2010, Senate Bill No. 267, as amended by Senate Amendment No. 1 (“SB267”), was 
enacted into law; and

WHEREAS, SB267 amends 26 Del.C. §§1001 and 1014, mostly to provide electric customers the opportunity 
to aggregate individual meters for the purpose of allocating net metering credits to electricity accounts other than 
the account hosting an energy generating facility. SB267 also provides community choice aggregation provisions 
for community-owned energy generating facilities that are established by a group of customers. Recognizing that 
not all customers own properties that are favorable for energy generating facilities, the community-owned net 
metering provisions of SB267 will allow a group of customers to invest and participate in distributed renewable 
energy facilities; and 

WHEREAS, the amendments to Sections 1001 and 1014 effected by SB267 require certain amendments to 
the Net Energy Metering Rules; and

WHEREAS, Commission Staff has proposed revisions to the Regulations that effect the changes required by 
SB267, as well as make certain other clarifications to the existing Regulations not related to those bills;

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED BY THE AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF

NOT FEWER THAN THREE COMMISSIONERS:

1. That this docket is reopened to consider further revisions to the Commission’s Rules For Certification And 
Regulation Of Electric Suppliers, adopted by PSC Order No. 5207 (Aug. 31, 1999) and revised from time to time 
(the “Regulations”). The proposed revisions are required by the recent amendments to Sections 1001 and 1014 of 
Title 26. A copy of the Regulations, showing in red-line the proposed revisions, is appended as Exhibit “A” to this 
Order.

2. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10113 and 10115, the Commission Secretary shall transmit to the Registrar 
of Regulations for publication in the October 2010 Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order; a copy of 
the Regulations, showing the proposed changes; and a copy of a notice attached hereto as Exhibit “B.” In addition, 

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF RULES AND |

PROCEDURES TO IMPLEMENT THE PROVISIONS OF |

26 DEL. C. CH. 10 RELATING TO THE CREATION OF A |

COMPETITIVE MARKET FOR RETAIL ELECTRIC |  PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 49

SUPPLY SERVICE (OPENED APRIL 27, 1999; |

RE-OPENED JANUARY 7, 2003; RE-OPENED AUGUST |

21, 2007; RE-OPENED SEPTEMBER 22, 2009; |

RE-OPENED SEPTEMBER 7, 2010

1.  The Regulations have been amended several times since their original passage in 1999. See PSC Order Nos. 
538 (Oct. 1, 1999), 7023 (Sept. 5, 2006), 7078 (Jan. 1, 2007), and 7435 (Sept. 2, 2008). 

http://depsc.delaware.gov/default.shtml
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the Secretary shall cause the notice attached as Exhibit “B” to be published in The News Journal and the Delaware 
State News newspapers on or before September 30, 2010. The Secretary shall include proof of such publication in 
the docket file before the public hearing in this matter. Further, the Secretary shall serve (by regular mail or by 
electronic e-mail) a copy of such Notice on: (a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the State Energy Office; (c) 
Delmarva Power & Light Company; (d) all certificated electric suppliers; and (e) each person or entity who has 
made a timely request for advance notice of regulation-making proceedings.

3. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10115(a) and 10116, persons or entities may file written comments, 
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before October 31, 2010. Pursuant to 29 
Del.C. §10117, the Commission will conduct a public hearing on the proposed revisions to the Regulations on 
December 7, 2010, beginning at 1:00 p.m. at the Commission’s office at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon 
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware.

4. That the Commission will defer for the time being referring this matter to a Hearing Examiner under 26 
Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C. §10116. Depending on what, if any, comments are received to the proposed revisions to 
the Regulations, the Commission may determine at a later time that it is necessary to appoint a Hearing Examiner.

5. That at such time as these regulations are approved in an order as final by the Commission, tariffs in 
compliance with the final regulations as approved by the Commission shall be filed by Delmarva Power & Light 
Company within 45 days of such a final order. 

6. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§114 and 1012(c)(2), all electric suppliers and electric public utilities are 
hereby notified that they will be charged the costs incurred in connection with this proceeding under the provisions 
of 26 Del.C. §114(b)(1).

7. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may 
be deemed necessary or proper.

3001 Regulations Governing Service Supplied by Electrical Corporations
Effective: August 31, 1999

*Please Note: Due to the size of this proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the 
regulation is available at:

3001 Regulations Governing Service Supplied by Electrical Corporations

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Arnetta McRae, Chair

Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner

Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner

Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner

Dallas Winslow, Commissioner

ATTEST:

Alisa Carrow Bentley, Secretary

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2010/proposed/14 DE Reg 282 10-01-10.htm
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))
26 DE Admin. Code 3008

ORDER NO. 7834

AND NOW, this 7th day of September, 2010:

WHEREAS, in 2005 the General Assembly and the Governor enacted the “Renewable Energy Portfolio 
Standards Act,” 26 Del. C. §§351-364 (2006 Supp.) (the “RPS Act”), which required each electric supplier, 
beginning in 2007, to annually accumulate a portfolio of “renewable energy credits”, or “RECs” equivalent to a 
specified percentage of its retail electric supply sales in Delaware; and 

WHEREAS, in 2006, the Commission promulgated “Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable 
Energy Portfolio Standard” (the “RPS Rules”).  See Order No. 6931 (June 6, 2006); and  

WHEREAS, the Commission has revised its RPS Rules from time to time to reflect amendments to the RPS 
Act.  See, e.g., PSC Order Nos. 7377 (Apr. 17, 2008), 7494 (Dec. 16, 2008), and 7699 (Dec. 8, 2009); and

WHEREAS, on July 28, 2010, Senate Substitute No. 1 for Senate Bill No. 119 (77 Del. Laws ch. 451) (July 28, 
2009) was signed into law, which adds several new sections to the RPS Act and amends numerous other sections; 
and

WHEREAS, the recently enacted law, among other things:

• Modifies the minimum percentages of sales that must be from eligible energy resources and solar 
photovoltaics and extends the period for the minimum standard from 2019 to 2025.

• Establishes a mechanism for a freeze of the minimum requirements under certain circumstances.
• Provides for credits toward the minimum requirements where solar and wind installations are sited in 

Delaware, as long as a certain percentage of the equipment used in the installation is manufactured 
in Delaware, and where facilities are constructed or installed with a certain percentage of Delaware 
workers.

• Increases the amount of solar alternative compliance payments.
• Provides the State Energy Coordinator with the authority to review the reasonableness of alternative 

compliance payments and solar alternative compliance payments. 
• Establishes a Renewable Energy Taskforce to review trading mechanisms and other structures to 

support growth of renewable trading markets in Delaware.  
• Explicitly provides the Commission with the authority to promulgate rules and regulations with 

respect to certain of the above-noted amendments to the RPS Act.

WHEREAS, the Commission now proposes to update the RPS Rules to reflect the amendments to the RPS 
Act (attached as Exhibit “A” hereto is a copy of the RPS Rules with the proposed additions in black-line format); 
and

WHEREAS, the Commission also takes this opportunity to make other, mostly non-substantive, changes to the 
RPS Rules; and

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF RULES AND 
PROCEDURES TO IMPLEMENT THE RENEWABLE 
ENERGY PORTFOLIO STANDARDS ACT, 26 DEL. C. 
§§ 351-363, AS APPLIED TO RETAIL ELECTRICITY 
SUPPLIERS (OPENED AUGUST 23, 2005; 
REOPENED SEPTEMBER 4, 2007; AUGUST 5, 2008; 
AND SEPTEMBER 22, 2009; September 7, 2010)

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 56

http://depsc.delaware.gov/default.shtml
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WHEREAS the Commission believes that the proposed revised regulations should be published in the 
Delaware Register of Regulations to provide public notice of the rulemaking to develop final regulations; 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED BY THE AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF 

NO FEWER THAN THREE COMMISSIONERS:

1. That, for the reasons set forth in the body of this Order, and pursuant to 26 Del.C. §362 and 29 Del.C. 
§10115, the Commission proposes to revise its “Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy 
Portfolio Standard,” originally adopted by PSC Order No. 6931 (June 6, 2006) and published at 10 DE Reg. 151-57 
(the “RPS Rules”).  A copy of the proposed revised RPS Rules is attached to this Order as Exhibit “A”.

2. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 and 10115(a), the  Secretary shall transmit to the Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order, along with copies of the 
proposed revised RPS Rules (Exhibit “A”) and the Notice of Proposed Rule-Making, attached as Exhibit “B.”  The 
Secretary shall also cause such Notice of Proposed Rule-Making to be published in The News Journal and the 
Delaware State News newspapers on or before October 1, 2010. The Secretary shall include proof of such 
publication in the docket file before the public hearing in this matter.  Further, the Secretary shall serve (by regular 
mail or by electronic e-mail) a copy of such Notice on: (a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the Delaware 
Energy Office; (c) Delmarva Power & Light Company; (d) all certificated electric suppliers and rural electric 
cooperatives; and (e) each person or entity who has made a timely request for advance notice of regulation-
making proceedings. 

3. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10115(a) and 10116, persons or entities may file written comments, 
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before October 31, 2010.  Pursuant to 29 
Del.C. §10117, the Commission will conduct a public hearing on the proposed revisions to the RPS Rules on 
November 18, 2010 beginning at 1:00 P.M. at the Commission’s office at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon 
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware.

4. That the Commission will defer for the time being referring this matter to a Hearing Examiner under 26 
Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C. §10116.  Depending on what, if any, comments are received to the proposed revisions 
to the Regulations, the Commission may determine at a later time that it is necessary to appoint a Hearing 
Examiner.

5. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§114 and 1012(c)(2), all electric suppliers and electric public utilities are 
hereby notified that they will be charged the costs incurred in connection with this proceeding under the provisions 
of 26 Del.C. §114(b)(1).

6. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may 
be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Arnetta McRae, Chair

Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner

Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner

Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner

Dallas Winslow, Commissioner

ATTEST:

Alisa Carrow Bentley, Secretary
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3008 Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard
(Opened August 23, 2005)

1.0 Definitions

1.1 The following words and terms, when used in this Regulation, should have the following meanings 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Alternative Compliance Payment" or "ACP" means a payment of a certain dollar amount per 
megawatt hour, which a Retail Electricity Supplier may submit in lieu of supplying the minimum 
percentage of RECs required under Section 3.3.4 of this Regulation.

"Commission" means the Delaware Public Service Commission.

"Compliance Year" means the calendar year beginning with June 1 and ending with May 31 of the 
following year, for which a Retail Electricity Supplier must demonstrate that it has met the requirements 
of this Regulation.

"Customer-Sited Generation" means a Generation Unit that is interconnected on the End-Use 
Customer's side of the retail electricity meter in such a manner that it displaces all or part of the 
metered consumption of the End-Use Customer.

"DNREC" means Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.

"Eligible Energy Resources" means the following energy sources located within the PJM region or 
imported into the PJM region and tracked through the PJM Market Settlement System:

Solar Photovoltaic Energy Resources means solar photovoltaic or solar thermal energy 
technologies that employ solar radiation to produce electricity or to displace electricity use;

Electricity derived from wind energy;

Electricity derived from ocean energy including wave or tidal action, currents, or thermal 
differences;

Geothermal energy technologies that generate electricity with a steam turbine, driven by hot water 
or steam extracted from geothermal reservoirs in the earth's crust;

Electricity generated by a fuel cell powered by Renewable Fuels;

Electricity generated by the combustion of gas from the anaerobic digestion of organic material;

Electricity generated by a hydroelectric facility that has a maximum design capacity of 30 
megawatts or less from all generating units combined that meet appropriate environmental 
standards as determined by DNREC (see DNREC Regulation's Secretary's Order No. 2006-W-
0027);

Electricity generated from the combustion of biomass that has been cultivated and harvested in a 
sustainable manner as determined by DNREC, and is not combusted to produce energy in a 
waste to energy facility or in an incinerator (see DNREC Regulation's Secretary's Order No. 2006-
W-0027);

Electricity generated by the combustion of methane gas captured from a landfill gas recovery 
system; provided, however, that:

Increased production of landfill gas from production facilities in operation prior to January 
1, 2004 demonstrates a net reduction in total air emissions compared to flaring and 
leakage;

Increased utilization of landfill gas at electric generating facilities in operation prior to 
January 1, 2004 (i) is used to offset the consumption of coal, oil, or natural gas at those 
facilities, (ii) does not result in a reduction in the percentage of landfill gas in the facility's 
average annual fuel mix when calculated using fuel mix measurements for 12 out of any 
continuous 15 month period during which the electricity is generated, and (iii) causes no 
net increase in air emissions from the facility; and

Facilities installed on or after January 1, 2004 meet or exceed 2004 Federal and State air 
emission standards, or the Federal and State air emission standards in place on the day 
the facilities are first put into operation, whichever is higher.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 4, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2010

287

"End-Use Customer" means a person or entity in Delaware that purchases electrical energy at retail 
prices from a Retail Electricity Supplier.

"Fund" means the Delaware Green Energy Fund.

"GATS" means the Generation Attribute Tracking System developed by PJM-Environmental 
Information Services, Inc. (PJM-EIS).

"Generation Attribute" means a non-price characteristic of the electrical energy output of a 
Generation Unit including, but not limited to, the Unit's fuel type, geographic location, emissions, 
vintage, and RPS eligibility.

"Generation Unit" means a facility that converts a fuel or an energy resource into electrical energy.

"Industrial Customer" means an End-Use Customer with a North American Industry Classification 
System (NAICS) Manufacturing Sector Code.

"Municipal Electric Company" means a public corporation created by contract between 2 or more 
municipalities pursuant to provisions of Title 22, Chapter 13 of the Delaware Code and the electric 
utilities that are municipally owned within the State of Delaware.

"New Renewable Generation Resources" means Eligible Energy Resources first going into 
commercial operation after December 31, 1997.

"Peak Demand" shall have the same meaning as and be determined consistently with how such term 
or a similar term is defined and determined in the applicable utility's tariff then in effect and approved 
by the Commission. For customers with more than one account, the peak demands shall be 
aggregated for all accounts. The calculation will be applied in the current year based on the Peak 
Demand, as defined above, in the prior year.

"PJM" or "PJM Interconnection" means the regional transmission organization (RTO) that 
coordinates the movement of wholesale electricity in the PJM region, or its successors at law.

"PJM region" means the area within which the movement of wholesale electricity is coordinated by 
PJM Interconnection. The PJM region is as described in the Amended and Restated Operating 
Agreement of PJM.

"Renewable Energy Credit" ("REC") means a tradable instrument comprised of all the Generation 
Attributes equal to 1 megawatt-hour of electricity derived from Eligible Energy Resources and that is 
used to track and verify compliance with the provisions of this Regulation. A REC does not include 
emission reduction credits and/or allowances encumbered or used by a Generation Unit for 
compliance with local, state, or federal operating and/or air quality permits associated with the 1 
megawatt-hour of electricity.

"Renewable fuel" means a fuel that is derived from Eligible Energy Resources. This term does not 
include a fossil fuel or a waste product from a fossil fuel source.

"RPS" and "Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard" means the percentage of electricity sales at 
retail in the State that is to be derived from Eligible Energy Resources.

"Retail Electricity Product" means an electrical energy offering that is distinguished by its Generation 
Attributes only and that is offered for sale by a Retail Electricity Supplier to End-Use Customers. 
Multiple electrical energy offerings with the same Generation Attributes may be considered a single 
Retail Electricity Product.

"Retail Electricity Supplier" means a person or entity that sells electrical energy to End-Use 
Customers in Delaware, including, but not limited to, non-regulated power producers, electric utility 
distribution companies supplying standard offer, default service, or any successor service to End-Use 
Customers. A Retail Electricity Supplier does not include a Municipal Electric Company for the 
purposes of this Regulation.

"Rural Electric Cooperative" means a non-stock, non-profit, membership corporation organized 
pursuant to the Federal "Rural Electrification Act of 1936" and operated under the cooperative form of 
ownership.

"Solar Alternative Compliance Payment" or "SACP" means a payment of a certain dollar amount per 
megawatt-hour, which a Retail Electricity Supplier or Municipal Electric Supplier may submit in lieu of 
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supplying the Minimum Percentage from Solar Photovoltaic required under Section 3.3.4 of this 
Regulation.

"Sustainable Energy Utility" ("SEU") is the nonprofit entity according to the provisions of 29 Del.C. 
§8059 that develops and coordinates programs for energy end-users in Delaware for the purpose of 
promoting the sustainable use of energy in Delaware.

"Solar Renewable Energy Credit" or "SREC" means a tradable instrument that is equal to 1 
megawatt-hour of retail electricity sales in the State that is derived from Solar Photovoltaic Energy 
Resources and that is used to track and verify compliance with the provisions of this Regulation.

"Total Retail Sales" means retail sales of electricity within the State of Delaware exclusive of sales to 
any Industrial Customer with a Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts.

11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)

13 DE Reg. 952 (01/01/10)

2.0 Purpose and Scope

2.1 The benefits of electricity from renewable energy resources accrue to the public at large, and electric 
suppliers and consumers share an obligation to develop a minimum level of these resources in the 
electric supply portfolio of the State. The purpose of this Regulation, in support of 26 Del.C., §351 - 
363, is to set forth the rules for governing the RPS.

2.2 This Regulation shall apply to all retail electricity sales in the State of Delaware except for retail 
electricity sales of Municipal Electric Companies and retail electricity sales to any Industrial Customer 
with a Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts.

2.2.1 An Industrial Customer with Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts may elect to have their 
load exempt from this Regulation provided that they meet the definitions found in Section 1.1 and:

2.2.1.1 submit a notice to the Commission's Staff including, but not limited to, Name and Address 
of Industrial Customer, and NAICS Code and load for each account;

2.2.1.1.1 the Commission's Staff shall, within thirty (30) days of receipt of the notice, provide to 
the Industrial Customer an acknowledgement of the status, exempt or non-exempt, of 
the Industrial Customer and;

2.2.1.2 submit the Commission's Staff acknowledgement referenced in Section 2.2.1.1.1 of this 
Regulation to their Retail Electricity Supplier.

2.2.2 For an End-Use Customer with multiple accounts totaling in excess of 1,500 kilowatts within an 
applicable utility's service territory and served by a single Retail Electricity Supplier, to have their 
load exempt, the aggregate of their accounts with an NAICS Manufacturing Sector Code must 
have a Peak Demand of at least 751 kilowatts and they must follow the procedure found in Section 
2.2.1.

2.3 Any Rural Electric Cooperative that is opted-out of Commission regulation by its membership pursuant 
to 26 Del.C. §223 of the Delaware Code shall, for all purposes of administering and applying this 
Regulation, be treated as a Municipal Electric Company during any period of time the Rural Electric 
Cooperative is exempt from Commission regulation.

2.4 A Rural Electric Cooperative may elect to be exempt from the requirements of this Regulation provided 
that, on or before June 1, 2006, they:

2.4.1 submit a written notice to the Delaware General Assembly;

2.4.2 submit a written notice to the Commission;

2.4.3 alert their End-Use Customers with notices inserted in two (2) consecutive electricity bills;

2.4.4 offer their End-Use Customers a voluntary program for purchasing renewable energy under 
competitive rates; and

2.4.5 either contribute to the Delaware Green Energy Fund at levels commensurate with other Retail 
Electricity Suppliers or create an independent fund separate from the Delaware Green Energy 
Fund to be used in support of energy efficiency technologies, renewable energy technologies, or 



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 4, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2010

289

demand side management programs, into which they make payments of $0.178 for each 
megawatt-hour they sell, transmit, or distribute in the State.

11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)

3.0 Administration of RPS

3.1 Certifying Eligible Energy Resources:

3.1.1 The Commission through its Staff will certify Generation Units as Eligible Energy Resources based 
on the definition of Eligible Energy Resources found in Section 1.1 of this Regulation.

3.1.2 Any Generation Unit seeking certification as an Eligible Energy Resource must submit an 
Application for Certification as an Eligible Energy Resource Under the Delaware Renewable 
Energy Portfolio Standard (Application) to the Commission. This may include Customer-Sited 
Generation or a Generation Unit owned or operated by a Municipal Electric Company.

3.1.3 Commission Staff will review the Application and will notify the applicant of its approval as an 
Eligible Energy Resource or of any deficiencies in their Application within 30 days of receipt. The 
applicant will have the opportunity to revise their submission, if appropriate.

3.1.4 If Commission Staff finds the Generation Unit to be in compliance with Sections 1.0 and 3.0 of this 
Regulation, as well as any other applicable Delaware statute; Commission Staff will issue a State 
of Delaware Certification Number.

3.1.5 Upon receipt of the State of Delaware Certification Number, a Generation Unit will be deemed an 
Eligible Energy Resource.

3.1.6 Upon designation as an Eligible Energy Resource, the Generation Unit's owner shall be entitled to 
one (1) Renewable Energy Credit (REC) for each mega-watt hour of energy derived from Eligible 
Energy Resources other than Solar Photovoltaic Energy Resources. Upon designation as an 
Eligible Energy Resource, the owner of a Generation Unit employing Solar Photovoltaic Energy 
Resources shall be entitled to one (1) Solar Renewable Energy Credit (SREC) for each mega-watt 
hour of energy derived from Solar Photovoltaic Energy Resource. SRECs and RECs will be 
created and supplied by the PJM-EIS GATS, or its successor at law. Eligible Energy Resources 
are subject to applicable PJM-EIS GATS rules and shall pay applicable PJM-EIS GATS fees.

3.1.6.1 However, if in the future, the Commission finds that PJM-EIS's GATS is not applicable or 
not suited to meet the needs or requirements of the RPS, the Commission may establish 
or participate in another renewable energy tracking system.

3.1.7 RECs or SRECs created by Eligible Energy Resources on or after June 1, 2006 shall be valid to 
meet retail electricity supplier requirements, subject to Section 3.2.3 of this Regulation.

3.1.7.1 If a Generation Unit is deemed an Eligible Energy Resource under Section 3.1 and the 
Eligible Energy Resource's GATS account continues to be maintained in good standing, 
the Eligible Energy Resource may achieve a Delaware designation for RECs or SRECs 
recorded with PJM-EIS's GATS for the calendar year being traded in GATS at the time of 
the Commission Staff's approval of the Eligible Energy Resource, but no earlier than June 
1, 2006.

3.1.8 An Eligible Energy Resource will remain certified unless substantive changes are made to its 
operational characteristics. Substantive changes include, but are not limited to changes in fuel 
type, fuel mix and generator type. An Eligible Energy Resource making substantive changes to its 
operational characteristics shall notify the Commission of such changes at least 30 days prior to 
the effective date of such changes. At such time, the Generation Unit shall submit a revised 
Application, which shall be subject to the process laid out in Section 3.1 of this Regulation.

3.1.9 RECs or SRECs created by an Eligible Energy Resource shall remain valid for compliance, 
subject to Section 3.2.3 and Section 3.3.3 of this Regulation, even if that Eligible Energy Resource 
is subsequently decertified for eligibility.

3.2 Compliance with RPS

3.2.1 The Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product sold to End-Use Customers by a Retail 
Electricity Supplier during any given Compliance Year shall include a minimum percentage of 
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electrical energy sales from Eligible Energy Resources and Solar Photovoltaics as shown in 
Schedule 1. Any portion of a Retail Electric Supplier's renewable energy supply portfolio for 2007, 
2008 and 2009 Compliance Years that is acquired under wholesale renewable energy supply 
entered into pursuant to the 2005 or 2006 Delaware Standard Offer Services ("SOS") auctions 
shall be subject to the provisions of this Regulation as shown in Schedule 2 below that were in 
effect on the date of the 2005 or 2006 SOS auction.

SCHEDULE 1

Compliance Year (beginning June 
1st)

Cumulative Minimum Percentage  
from Solar Photovoltaics Energy 

Resources

Minimum Cumulative Percentage 

from Eligible Energy Resourcesa

a.Minimum Cumulative Percentage from Eligible Energy Resources includes the Minimum Cumulative 
Percentage from Solar Photovoltaics.

2007 2.0%

2008 0.011% 3.0%

2009 0.014% 4.0%

2010 0.018% 5.5%

2011 0.048% 7.0%

2012 0.099% 8.5%

2013 0.201% 10.0%

2014 0.354% 11.5%

2015 0.559% 13.0%

2016 0.803% 14.5%

2017 1.112% 16.0%

2018 1.547% 18.0%

2019 2.005% 20.0%

SCHEDULE 2

Compliance Year (beginning June 
1st)

 Minimum Cumulative Percentage  
from Solar Photovoltaics Energy 

Resources

Minimum Cumulative Percentage 

from Eligible Energy Resourcesa

a.Minimum Cumulative Percentage from Eligible Energy Resources includes the Minimum Cumulative Per-
centage from Solar Photovoltaics

2007 1.00%

2008 0.011% 1.50%

2009 0.014% 2.00%

2010 0.018% 5.00%

2011 0.048% 7.00%

2012 0.099% 8.50%

2013 0.201% 10.00%

2014 0.354% 11.50%

2015 0.559% 13.0%

2016 0.803% 14.5%

2017 1.112% 16.00%

2018 1.547% 18.00%

2019 2.005% 20.00%
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3.2.2 A Retail Electricity Supplier's compliance with Schedule 1 shall be based on accumulating RECs 
and SRECs equivalent to the current Compliance Year's Cumulative Minimum Percentage of Total 
Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product sold to End-Use Customers and subject to Section 

3.2.3 and, where appropriate, Commission regulations.1 Such RECs shall be filed annually with 
the Commission within 120 days following the completion of the Compliance Year.

3.2.3 Each Retail Electricity Supplier can provide no more than 1% of each Compliance Year's Total 
Retail Sales from Eligible Energy Resources operational before December 31, 1997. The 
remainder of each year's retail sales, up to the required amount as specified in Section 3.2.1 of 
this Regulation must come from New Renewable Generation resources. In Compliance Year 2020 
and for each Compliance Year thereafter, all Eligible Energy Resources used to meet the 
cumulative minimum percentage requirements set by the Commission rules shall be New 
Renewable Generation Resources.

3.2.4 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall not use RECs used to satisfy another state's renewable energy 
portfolio requirements for compliance with Schedule 1. A Retail Electricity Supplier may sell or 
transfer any RECs or SRECs not required to meet this Regulation.

3.2.5 On or after June 1, 2006, Eligible Energy Resources may create and accumulate RECs or SRECs 
for the purposes of calculating compliance with the RPS.

3.2.6 Aggregate generation from small Eligible Energy Resources, 100 kilowatts of capacity or less, may 
be used to meet the requirements of Schedule 1 or Schedule 2, provided that the generators or 
their agents, on an annual basis, document the level of generation, as recorded by appropriate 
metering.

3.2.7 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive 300% credit toward meeting the Minimum Cumulative 
Percentage from Eligible Energy Resources of Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 of the RPS for energy 
derived from the following sources installed on or before December 31, 2014:

3.2.7.1 Customer-Sited solar photovoltaic physically located in Delaware; or

3.2.7.2 A fuel cell powered by Renewable Fuels.

3.2.8 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive 150% credit toward meeting the RPS for wind energy 
installations sited in Delaware on or before December 31, 2012.

3.2.9 A Commission regulated electric company shall receive 350% credit toward meeting the 
Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards established for energy derived from off-shore wind energy 
installations sited off the Delaware coast on or before May 31, 2017.

3.2.9.1 To be entitled to 350% credit, contracts for energy and renewable energy credits from such 
off-shore wind energy installations must be executed by Commission regulated electric 
companies prior to commencement of construction of such installations.

3.2.9.2 Commission regulated electric companies shall be entitled to such multiple credits for the 
life of contracts for renewable energy credits from off-shore wind installations executed 
pursuant to section 3.2.9.

3.2.10 A Retail Electricity Supplier or a Rural Electric Cooperative shall receive an additional 10% credit 
toward meeting the RPS for solar or wind energy installations sited in Delaware provided that a 
minimum of 50% of the cost of the renewable energy equipment, inclusive of mounting 
components, are manufactured in Delaware.

3.2.11 A Retail Electricity Supplier or a Rural Electric Cooperative shall receive an additional 10% credit 
toward meeting the RPS for solar or wind energy installations sited in Delaware provided that the 
facility is constructed and/or installed with a minimum of 75% in-state workforce.

1. The Commission understands the legislation to mean that the Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity 
Product sold to End-Use Customers during a given Compliance Year shall include a minimum percentage of 
SRECs and RECs determined by the current Cumulative Minimum Percentage as defined in Schedule 1 or 
Schedule 2. The Commission shall, in another proceeding, further define how SRECs and RECs from Green 
Power products, as that term is defined in Commission Docket Number 49, are to be tracked and utilized for 
compliance in the RPS.
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3.2.102 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive credit toward meeting the RPS for electricity derived from 
the fraction of eligible landfill gas, biomass or biogas combined with other fuels (for a Rural Electric 
Cooperative the Eligible Energy Resource must be sited in Delaware).

3.2.113 Cumulative minimum percentage requirements of Eligible Energy Resources and Solar 
Photovoltaic Resources shall be established by Commission rules for Compliance Year 2020 2026
and each subsequent year. In no case shall the minimum percentages established by Commission 
rules be lower than those required for Compliance Year 2019 2025 in Schedule 1 or Schedule 2. 
Each of the rules setting such minimum percentage shall be adopted at least two years prior to the 
minimum percentage being required.

3.2.124 Beginning in Compliance Year 2010, and in each Compliance Year thereafter, the Commission 
may review the status of Schedule 1 and Schedule 2 and report to the legislature on the status of 
the pace of the scheduled percentage increases toward the goal of 20 25%. If the Commission 
concludes at this time that the schedule either needs to be accelerated or decelerated, it may also 
make recommendations to the General Assembly for legislative changes to the RPS.

3.2.135 Beginning in Compliance Year 2014, and in each Compliance Year thereafter, the Commission 
may, in the event of circumstances specified in this subsection and after conducting hearings, 
accelerate or slow the scheduled percentage increases towards meeting the goal of 20 25%. The 
Commission may only slow the increases if the Commission finds that at least 30% of RPS 
compliance has been met through the ACP or SACP for three (3) consecutive years, despite 
adequate planning by the Retail Electricity Suppliers. The Commission may only accelerate the 
scheduled percentage increases after finding that the average price for RECs and SRECs eligible 
for RPS compliance has, for two (2) consecutive years, been below a predetermined market-
based price threshold to be established by the Commission. The Commission shall establish the 
predetermined market-based price threshold in consultation with the Delaware Energy Office. 
Rules that would alter the percentage targets shall be promulgated at least two years before the 
percentage change takes effect. In no event shall the Commission reduce the percentage target 
below any level reached to that point.

3.2.16 The minimum percentages from Eligible Energy Resources and Solar Photovoltaic Energy 
Resources as shown in Schedule 1 may be frozen for Commission-regulated electric companies 
as authorized by, and pursuant to, 26 Del.C. §354(i)-(j).  For a freeze to occur, the Delaware 
Energy Office must determine that the cost of complying with the requirements of this Regulation 
exceeds, for Solar Photovoltaic Energy Resources, 1%, and for Eligible Energy Resources, 3%, of 
the total retail cost of electricity for Commission-regulated electric companies during the same 
compliance year.  The total cost of compliance shall include the costs associated with any 
ratepayer funded state renewable energy rebate program, REC and SREC purchases, and ACPs 
and SACPs.

3.2.16.1 Once frozen, the minimum cumulative requirements shall remain at the percentage for the 
compliance year in which the freeze was instituted.

3.2.16.2 The freeze may be lifted only upon a finding by the State Energy Coordinator, in 
consultation with the Commission, that the total cost of compliance can reasonably be 
expected to be under the 1% or 3% threshold, as applicable.

3.2.17 The Renewable Energy Taskforce shall be formed for the purpose of making recommendations 
about the establishment of trading mechanisms and other structures to support the growth of 
renewable energy markets in Delaware according to 26 Del.C. §360 (d).

3.3 Verification of Compliance with the RPS

3.3.1 Within 120 days of the end of a compliance year, each Retail Electricity Supplier who has made 
sales to an End-use Customer in the State of Delaware must submit a completed Retail Electricity 
Supplier's Verification of Compliance with the Delaware Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard 
Report (Report) which includes, but is not limited to, evidence of the specified number of SRECs 
and RECs required for that Compliance Year according to Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 and the Total 
Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product.
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3.3.2 SRECs or RECs must have been created by PJM-EIS's GATS, or its successor at law or pursuant 
to Section 3.1.6.1 of this Regulation.

3.3.3 SRECs or RECs, submitted for compliance with this Regulation, may be dated no earlier than 
three (3) years prior to the beginning of the current Compliance Year.

3.3.4 The three (3) year period referred to in 3.3.3 shall be tolled during any period that a renewable 
energy credit or solar renewable energy credit is held by the SEU as defined in 29 Del.C. §8059.

3.3.5 In lieu of standard means of compliance with the RPS, any Retail Electricity Supplier may pay into 
the Fund a SACP or ACP pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. §358 or as determined by the 
State Energy Coordinator of the Delaware Energy Office consistent with 26 Del.C. §354 (a).

3.3.6 The Commission Staff shall notify any Retail Electricity Supplier of any compliance deficiencies 
within 165 days of the close of the current Compliance Year. If the Retail Electricity Supplier is 
found to be deficient by the Commission Staff, the Retail Electricity Supplier shall be required to 
pay the appropriate ACP or SACP, according to Section 3.3.4 of this Regulation. All such 
payments shall be due within 30 days of notification by the Commission Staff. Upon receipt of 
payment, the Retail Electricity Supplier shall be found to be in compliance for that given year.

3.3.7 All compliance payments, made by the Retail Electricity Supplier, shall be payable to the Delaware 
Green Energy Fund and sent to the Commission.

11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)

12 DE Reg. 1110 (02/01/09)

13 DE Reg. 952 (01/01/10)

4.0 Recovery of Costs

4.1 A Retail Electricity Supplier may recover, through a non-bypassable surcharge on its supply portion of 
the bill, actual dollar for dollar costs incurred in complying with the State of Delaware's RPS, except 
that any compliance fee assessed pursuant to Section 3.3.4 and its subsections of these Rules and 
Regulation shall be recoverable only to the extent authorized by Section 4.2 of this Regulation.

4.2 A Retail Electricity Supplier may recover any ACP or SACP if the payment of an ACP or SACP is the 
least cost measure to ratepayers as compared to the purchase of RECs and SRECs to comply with the 
RPS; or if there are insufficient RECs and SRECs available for the Retail Electricity Supplier to comply 
with the RPS.

4.3 Any cost recovered under this section shall be disclosed to customers at least annually on inserts 
accompanying customer bills.

4.4 Special provisions for customers of Public Service Commission regulated electric companies.  All costs 
arising out of contracts entered into by a Commission regulated electric company pursuant to 26
Del.C. §1007 (d) shall be distributed among the entire Delaware customer base of such companies 
through an adjustable non-bypassable charge which shall be established by the Commission.  Such 
costs shall be recovered if incurred as a result of such contracts unless, after Commission review, any 
such costs are determined by the Commission to have been incurred in bad faith, are the product of 
waste or out of an abuse of discretion, or in violation of law.

11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)

12 DE Reg. 1110 (02/01/09)

5.0 Other General Rules 

5.1 Under Delaware's Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. ch. 100, all information filed with the 
Commission is considered of public record unless it contains "trade secrets and commercial or 
financial information obtained from a person which is of a privileged or confidential nature." 29 Del.C. 
§10002(d)(2). To qualify as a non-public record under this exemption, materials received by the 
Commission must be clearly and conspicuously marked on the title page and on every page containing 
the sensitive information as "proprietary" or "confidential" or words of similar effect. The Commission 
shall presumptively deem all information so designated to be exempt from public record status. 
However, upon receipt of a request for access to information designated proprietary or confidential, the 
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Commission may review the appropriateness of such designation and may determine to release the 
information requested. Prior to such release, the Commission shall provide the entity that submitted 
the information with reasonable notice and an opportunity to show why the information should not be 
released.

5.2 Any End-Use Customer, Retail Electricity Supplier, Eligible Energy Resource, potential Eligible Energy 
Resource or other interested party to which this Regulation may apply may file a complaint with the 
Commission pursuant to the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Delaware Public Service 
Commission.

5.3 The failure to comply with this Regulation may result in penalties, including monetary assessments, 
suspension or revocation of eligibility as an Eligible Energy Resource, or other sanction as determined 
by the Commission consistent with 26 Del.C., §205(a), §217, and §1019.

10 DE Reg. 151 (07/01/06)

11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time
allowed of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together
with summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1511

1511 Issuance and Renewal of Continuing License

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and consultation with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1511 Issuance and Renewal of
Continuing License.  This regulation requires a minor amendment to clarify requirements for educators with expired
Continuing Licenses.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware
State News on April 1, 2010 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No
written comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.
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III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto
as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1511 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 5TH DAY OF AUGUST, 2010

IT IS SO ORDERED the 16th day of September, 2010.

Department of Education

Lillian M. Lowery, Ed. D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 16th day of September, 2010

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

1511 Issuance and Renewal of Continuing License

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4.0 Educators with Expired Delaware Licenses applying for their Original Continuing License

4.1 Delaware Certificates issued prior to July 2, 2001
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4.1.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1215, the Department may issue an original Continuing License to
qualified educator who holds a Delaware certificate issued by an education certifying board prior to
July 13, 1971 or who previously held a valid Delaware Standard or Professional Status certificate
that has expired

4.1.1.1 As a condition of maintaining the original Continuing License, the educator shall
successfully complete [the first a] year of the Department's an approved mentoring
program required of educators on an Initial License within their first year of employment.

4.1.1.1.1 Upon request by the applicant and employing authority, the Department may extend
the time to complete the approved mentoring program for a period of up to one (1)
year upon a showing of exigent circumstances.

4.1.1.1.2 Failure to successfully complete the approved mentoring program shall result in the
suspension of the License. If the Continuing License expires during the term of the
suspension, the educator must apply for an Initial License and meet the requirements
in effect at the time of the application.

4.1.1.2 The educator shall be entitled to notice and the right to a hearing as provided in Section
12.

4.2 Application Procedures and Requirements

4.2 1 The educator shall make application to the Department on a Department approved form and
provide evidence of previous Delaware certification.

4.2.2 The educator shall provide evidence that all other requirements have been successfully met.

4.2.3 Incomplete applications shall not be processed.

4.2.3.1 The Department shall send notice of the incomplete application. The applicant shall be
responsible for maintaining current contact information with the Department.

4.2.3.2 Notification of an incomplete application shall also be sent to the applicant's employing
authority.

4.3 A Continuing License is valid for five (5) years unless extended pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1216 or
revoked or suspended for cause, as defined in 14 Del.C. §1218 or suspended for failure to meet the
other conditions of maintaining a License.

6 DE Reg. 518 (10/1/02)

7 DE Reg. 197 (8/1/03)

10 DE Reg. 97 (7/1/06)

13 DE Reg. 1084 (02/01/10)

5.0 Renewal of a Continuing License

5.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1212, the Department shall renew a Continuing License, valid for an
additional five (5) years, to a qualified educator who has fulfilled the ninety (90) clock hour requirement
for professional development and other requirements of this regulation. At least one half of the
required hours [forty-five (45) hours every five (5) years] for educators shall be in activities that relate
to the educator's work with students or staff. Satisfactory evidence of such completion, as set forth in
Section 15 or Section 16, shall be submitted to the Department with the application for renewal. The
ninety (90) clock hours of professional development shall have taken place during the term of the
Continuing License.

5.2 Renewal of Expired Delaware Continuing License

5.2.1 The Department may issue a Continuing License to a qualified educator who previously held a
Delaware Continuing License that expired not more than five years before the renewal application,
with the following conditions:

5.2.1.1 Prior to renewal of the License, the educator shall provide to the Department evidence of
successfully completing ninety (90) clock hours of professional development during the
five (5) years preceding application, pursuant to Section 7.
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5.2.1.2 If the educator has been out of the profession for less than three (3) years since the
expiration of the Continuing License, the educator shall, within the first year of
employment, successfully complete an approved mentoring program which focuses on
current best practices in curriculum, instruction and assessment and aligned to state and
national standards.

5.2.1.2.1 Failure to successfully complete the approved mentoring program shall result in the
suspension of the License.

5.2.1.13If the educator has been out of the profession for more than three (3) years since the
expiration of the Continuing License, the educator shall, within the first year of
employment, successfully complete a Department approved mentoring program which
focuses on current best practices in curriculum, instruction and assessment and aligned to
state and national standards [the first a] year of an approved mentoring program required
of educators on an Initial License.

5.2.1.3.1 Failure to successfully complete the approved mentoring program shall result in the
suspension of the License.

5.2.1.2 Prior to renewal of the License, the educator shall provide to the Department evidence of
successfully completing ninety (90) clock hours of professional development during the
last five (5) years, pursuant to Section 7.

5.2.1.34 A Continuing License is valid for five (5) years unless extended pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1216 or revoked or suspended for cause, as defined in 14 Del.C. §1218 or suspended
for failure to meet the other conditions of maintaining a License.

5.2.2 The Department may not reissue a Continuing License to an educator who previously held a valid
Continuing License which expired more than five (5) years prior to application for renewal.

5.2.2.1 The educator shall apply for an Initial License and meet the requirements in effect at the time
of the application.

5.3 Professional Development Options for Relicensure are listed in Section 15 and Section 16.

5.4 Documentation of Clock Hours for Relicensure

5.4.1 For renewal of the Continuing License, educators may complete and document clock hours for the
variety of activities described under relicensure options. When college or university courses are
used to fulfill the requirements, the following equivalencies shall be used: one (1) semester hour
equals fifteen (15) clock hours, one (1) quarter hour equals ten (10) clock hours, one (1) CEU
equals ten (10) clock hours. To be documented for clock hours, activities shall meet the criteria set
forth in the regulations and shall be appropriately verified and applied for. Professional
development activities that are part of a DPAS assistance or improvement plan may be used to
satisfy this requirement. Individuals, schools or school districts, or other agencies organizing or
conducting professional development activities which may be used for fulfilling the requirements
for renewal of a license are responsible for providing documentation of participation to all
participants. Each educator is responsible for obtaining any necessary approvals, as set forth in
Section 14 and in Section 15, from his or her employer before participating in a professional
development activity. An employer may not impose additional activity requirements on the award
of clock hours towards renewal of a Continuing License.

5.4.2 Criteria for determining if activities are acceptable for clock hour credit for an educator include the
following:

5.4.2.1 The activity enhances the knowledge and skills in the educator's job or contributes to his/
her school or profession.

5.4.2.2 The activity meets one of the relicensure options.

5.4.2.3 The activity addresses one of the standards for the educator's area of the profession.

5.4.2.4 The activity is completed during the term of the educator's current Continuing License.

5.4.2.5 The activity addresses specific Professional Educator Standards.

5.4.2.6 Participation in, or completion of, the activity can be documented.
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5.5 The Relicensure Application, Activity Documentation Form, and, where required, original or official
documents shall be used to verify activities for renewal of a Continuing License. Official transcripts or
original grade slips are required documentation for successful completion of college courses.

5.6 For applicants who change positions (grade levels, content areas, areas of supervisory responsibility,
etc.) during the five (5) year term of a Continuing License, clock hours documented shall have been
appropriate to the educator's position at the time the clock hours were completed.

5.7 The Department shall have the responsibility to verify clock hours for applicants that are not currently
employed by a Delaware employing authority or those employed in another jurisdiction and wish to
renew their Continuing License. The Department may require that the applicant submit verifying
documentation.

6 DE Reg. 518 (10/1/02)

7 DE Reg. 197 (08/01/03)

7 DE Reg. 1350 (04/01/04)

10 DE Reg. 97 (07/01/06)

13 DE Reg. 1084 (02/01/10)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the April 2010 issue of the Register at page 1267 (13 DE Reg. 1267). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1511 Issuance and Renewal of Continuing License

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1521

1521 Elementary Teacher

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and consultation with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Elementary Teacher. It is
necessary to amend this regulation in order to facilitate proper and current formatting trends. There are no changes
in certification requirements. This regulation sets forth the requirements for an Elementary Teacher.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware
State News on August 2, 2010 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. The notice invited written comments. No
comments were received.

II. Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.
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III. Decision to Amend The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto
as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 2ND DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2010

IT IS SO ORDERED the 16th day of September, 2010.

Department of Education

Lillian M. Lowery, Ed. D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 16th day of September, 2010

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

1521 Elementary Teacher

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1220(a), for Elementary Teacher (Grades K to 6).
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7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

7 DE Reg. 1747 (6/1/04)

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient’s
assignment or employment status.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.

“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage
in the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in
Delaware public schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated
by the Standards Board and approved by the State Board. The term ‘educator’ does not include
substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in
a specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits
or an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as
part of a degree program or apart from it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a
professional development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality
expected of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by
reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and
departments of education in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense
Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New Zealand, and British Columbia, which are
responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national
accrediting body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S.
Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students. 

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.

“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or
permanent certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency
or expired certificates or licenses issued from another state.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

7 DE Reg. 1747 (6/1/04)

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

3.0 Standard Certificate
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The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Elementary Teacher to an educator who holds
a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the
following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area, subject, or
category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program or
from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the
appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally
accredited college or university, with a major or its equivalent in Elementary Education; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation
programs as the Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content area
and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory
completion of fifteen (15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their
area of certification, of which at least six (6) credits or their equivalent must focus on pedagogy,
selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing school district or charter school which
is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established
by the Standards Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State
Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Elementary Education; 

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or
certifications, where the alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office,
incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty or falsification of credentials, until the applicant
provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

7 DE Reg. 1747 (6/1/04)

4.0 Multiple Certificates

Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

5.0 Application Requirements

An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:

5.1 Official transcripts; and

5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or

5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if
applicable; or

5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
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5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all
required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders

If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard,
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional
Standard Certificates, only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education required for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

7.0 Effect of Regulation

This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically
addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued
on or before August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current
Professional Status Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which
they held a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing
License or the Advanced License. The Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate
issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the educator successfully completes the requirements
set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard Certificate. Requirements must be
completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case later than
December 31, 2008.

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate

A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a
certificate or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s
Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status
Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1514. An educator whose license or
certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before the Professional Standards Board.
Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing Procedures and
Rules.

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

9.0 Secretary of Education Review

The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school
district or charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in
application for a Standard Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an
applicant who otherwise does not meet the requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose
effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter school administrator or other
employing authority.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

7 DE Reg. 1747 (6/1/04)

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

Renumbered effective 6/1/07 - see Conversion Table

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a),
for Elementary Teacher. This certification is required for grades K to 6.
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1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

2.0 Definitions

The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

3.0 Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an
Elementary Teacher to an educator who has met the following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Standard or Professional
Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and,

3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including
any subsequent amendment or revision thereto.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

7 DE Reg. 1747 (6/1/04)

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

Renumbered effective 6/1/07 - see Conversion Table

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Chapter 5, §512
(31 Del.C., Ch. 5, §512)

DSSM: 3000 Technical Eligibility for Cash Assistance and 4000 Financial Responsibility

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to
amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding the General Assistance (GA) and Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) programs. The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code
Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the August 2010 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the
public concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by August 31, 2010 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGES

The proposal described below amends policies in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
Delaware’s General Assistance (GA) and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) programs. The impact
of the proposed changes will be that children living in the home of a non-relative custodian or legal guardian will be
technically eligible for the TANF program. These children will no longer be eligible to receive benefits through the
GA program. 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 4, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2010

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dss/index.html


FINAL REGULATIONS 305
Statutory Authority

• 42 U.S.C. § 601(a)(1), Purpose, Increase flexibility of States 
• 31 Del.C. §503(d), Eligibility for assistance; amount; method of payment – Aid to Families with Dependent 

Children;
• 31 Del.C. §505(1), Categories of Assistance - Aid to Families with Dependent Children;
• 31 Del.C. §505(2), Categories of Assistance - General Assistance;
• 31 Del.C. §512(1), Administration;
• 10 Del.C. §901(3), (6) and (12), Definitions – Care, Custody and Control; Custodian; Family

Summary of Proposed Changes

Children in the care of a non-relative adult will no longer receive cash assistance through the General
Assistance program. These children will be eligible for cash assistance through the TANF program. The TANF
program establishes additional expectations for the caregivers in these families including parenting classes,
cooperation with child support, child immunizations, and child school attendance requirements. Caretakers in these
families may also access the work support programs available to needy caretakers. This change supports the
goals of both family self-sufficiency and increased family functioning.

The proposed changes affect the following policy sections:

DSSM 3000, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) – Definition

DSSM 3000.4, TANF and State Only Foster Care3004, Specified Relationship;

DSSM 3004.1, Living in the Home

DSSM 3010, Participation and Cooperation in Developing CMR

DSSM 3018, General Assistance (GA)

DSSM 3021, Unrelated Children;

DSSM 3022, Ineligibility Due to Family Cap

DSSM 3027, Age as a Condition of Eligibility;

DSSM 3027.2, Minor Parents;

DSSM 3028.1, Mandatory Composition of Assistance Units;

DSSM 3028.2, Optional Composition of Assistance Units;

DSSM 4001, Family Budget Group;

DSSM 4001.1, Examples to Illustrate Rules Regarding Budget Groups;

DSSM 4004.3, Earned Income Disregards in GA;

DSSM 4007.1, Standards of Need/Payment Standard – GA; and 

DSSM 4009, Determining Financial Eligibility and Grant Amounts in GA.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES

The Division of Social Services (DSS) received two comments from the public regarding this regulation. One
from an individual and the other from the State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD). 

First Comment

DSS has considered the comment and responds as follows.

With all due respect, it is a very bad idea to go down that road of allowing morals that some connect with
religion and which are not requirements of the law to be “encouraged” by the same people who are giving out the
assistance.It is already a demeaning adventure to apply for assistance as it is and if the worker begins to start
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“preaching” to the client about how much better it might be if she were married, there is no way of predicting how
that may be received or whether such action may discourage people from coming back for assistance for
themselves and their children – assistance that they really need. We are trying to drive them away by turning the
process into one that resembles an attempt to convert applicants to one or another religious belief system. There is
no law against being single, and many people are perfectly capable of becoming self-sufficient without being
further demeaned in such a way as this. I would view comments of this type as the highly invasive and rude having
grown up as a teen in the 70s and the feminist movement and feeling as though it would be an insult to say that just
because I needed a little help now that I couldn’t become self-sufficient later without getting a man to help me do it.
Other women may even have worse reactions than that to this sort of intrusive behavior.

There is NO GOOD REASON for the workers who are giving out benefits to say anything at all about the
marital arrangements of the parents since that is way too personal and well out of the realm of necessary
information that an individual should have to give in order to get the tiny bit of money she is going to get to tide her
over.

Just the opinion of someone who assumes that you are not TRYING to drive people who are not Christian or
other “marriage before sex” religions OUT of the process or otherwise make them feel as though they should feel
guilty for needing help. We all need a little help once in a while, and the tiny bit of help that one gets from TANF
cannot possibly be considered enough to warrant excessively intrusive statements that could alienate people from
moral backgrounds that do NOT put (legal) marriage before sex so high on the list. Not everyone thinks the same
way as Christians do. Please stop expecting all of us to do so. It’s insulting.

Agency Response: Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I understand your concern that TANF policy
might promote the view that 2-parent families are more valued than single parent families. The policy section you
referenced is not being changed. The referenced policy section has been in place since the late nineties following
the enactment of Federal welfare reform. The change to the existing policy allows children being cared for by a
non-relative to receive TANF; previously these families were not eligible for TANF and could only participate in the
General Assistance program. 

Here is a little background on the existing policy. The focus on encouraging 2-parent families has 3 desired
impacts. One is to reduce the rate of out of wedlock pregnancies, particularly among teens. The second as you
noted is to improve the potential financial stability of families. And lastly, the goal is to promote the opportunity for
children to be raised by both parents. 

I appreciate your concern that these goals could potentially be in conflict with the best path for a particular
family. While the goal is to create programming that will promote the formation of 2-parent families the Division of
Social Services (DSS) respects the decisions and choices that parents make for their families. Ultimately, the
Division is most interested in helping families, no matter their makeup, to move toward self-sufficiency. The TANF
program does attempt to provide the supports specific to the needs of the families it works with. For example within
TANF, there is a 2-parent family program that tries to support the choices these parents make in terms of parenting,
work, and economic self sufficiency. Similarly, the TANF program actively screens for domestic violence issues and
waives program requirements for individuals who are in, or escaping, a home where domestic violence exists. I
hope this provides you assurance that the policy is not intended to shame single parents or direct single parents
into marriage. But as I noted, I understand your concern and appreciate your reservations. 

Second Comment

In addition, the State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations and
recommendations summarized below. DSS has considered each comment and responds as follows.

According to the “Summary of Proposed Changes”, the impact will be that children living in the home of a non-
relative custodian or legal guardian will be technically eligible for the TANF program. These children will no longer
be eligible to receive benefits through the GA program. SCPD has the following observations.

First, there are positive aspects to the change. SCPD has been informally advised that the effect of switching
an eligible child from a GA to a TANF grant would be to increase the monetary benefit from $123.00 to $201.00.
This amounts to a benefit increase of more than 60%. Approximately 300 children would be affected. Moreover, the
TANF standards (Section 3010) require the caretaker to enter into a Contract of Mutual Responsibility which
prompts child immunization and regular school attendance. Finally, the TANF caretaker becomes eligible to
participate in work support programs. See Summary of Proposed Changes at 14 DE Reg. At 91-92.
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Second, there are some potentially negative aspects to the change. TANF imposes sanctions (§3009.1) on
caretakers who fail to meet the benchmarks in the Contract of Mutual Responsibility which can amount to total
elimination of benefits. The GA program is less prescriptive in imposition of beneficiary obligations. Unlike TANF,
there are no equivalent requirements for participating in parenting classes, cooperation with child support, and
ensuring child immunization and school attendance. 

Third, §3004 should be revised. 

A. The existing section contains an introductory sentence defining “relatives” which incorporates a bulleted
list of “relatives”. The new section retains the bulleted list but no introductory sentence (e.g. “(a) relative is defined
as follows”). The result is a list of qualifying “relative” standards with no context. See, e.g., analogous references in
§3004 (e.g. “(a) guardian is defined as”; “a custodian...is defined as”). 

B. The definition of “relative” could be enhanced by including a reference to an adult relative caregiver with a
valid Caregiver Authorization form on record with the child’s public school pursuant to Title 14 Del.C. §202.   

C. The definition of “guardian” is odd. For example, it only contemplates appointment of a guardian by the
Family Court. The Court of Chancery has concurrent jurisdiction to appoint guardians of minors. See Title 12
Del.C. §3902. Moreover, it characterizes persons authorized by DFS to exercise custody and care of a child as a
“guardian”. This is a distortion of law. Apart from the Court of Chancery, only the Family Court has the authority to
appoint a “guardian” of a minor. See Title 10 Del.C. §925(16). SCPD is not aware of any statute which grants the
DSCYF the authority to appoint a guardian. Finally, DFS is only one of multiple agencies which may delegate care
of children to adults. See, e.g., Title 10 Del.C. §1009. 

Fourth, in §3004.1, first sentence, DSS may wish to delete the reference to “parent’s” since it is redundant. The
definition of “caretaker” in §3001 ostensibly covers both parents and non-parents.

In summary, SCPD has the following recommendations. 

A. DSS should consider some technical amendments based on Pars. 3 and 4 above. 

Agency Response: DSS responds as follows to your recommendations: 

1) SCPD suggested a heading be added to the bulleted text that defines a relative. The suggested text was
added.

2) SCPD suggested that relative status be verified by the submittal of the caregiver authorization form on
record at the child’s public school. This document is one of a variety of documents which may be presented by the
relative to verify their relationship to the child. Adding the suggested text would limit the relative’s ability to provide
other verification which may be more readily available. At this time it has been decided not to limit verification of
relationship to the caregiver authorization form.

3) SCPD commented that the definition of guardian was “odd”, and suggested some revisions. Based on the
feedback received by you and others the text defining guardian has been replaced with the following:

For the purposes of the TANF program a guardian is defined as: 

• An adult providing an appropriate supportive living arrangement who has been appointed as guard-
ian of the child(ren) in his/her care by an authorized court, or

• an adult who has received the consent and approval to exercise the day-to-day care, custody, and
control of the child(ren) in his/her care by the Delaware Division of Family Services or any agency or
court licensed or authorized to place children in a nonrelated home.

However, the Council suggested the word “parent’s” be removed from the first sentence of policy 3004.1. The
decision was made not to remove the word.

B. DSS should consider whether caretakers could be given the option of applying for GA or TANF on a
qualifying child’s behalf. As illustrated in §4001.1, deleted Illustration #5, a caretaker and child can currently qualify
as separate GA assistance units. There may be circumstances in which the caretaker views the TANF
requirements as unduly onerous. If an option cannot be authorized, SCPD endorses the regulation given the
significant increase in financial benefit to most eligible caretakers and children. 

Agency Response: It is the decision of DSS not to allow this option.
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FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the August 2010 Register of Regulations
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding the Delaware General Assistance and TANF Programs is adopted and shall be final effective
October 10, 2010.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATIONS #10-42

REVISIONS:

3000 Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) - Definition
TANF is a cash assistance program for minor children who are needy as determined by Division standards and

who are:

Living in the home of a parent, guardian, custodian, or specified relative.

Purpose of Delaware's Welfare Reform Plan, TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES

TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES is Delaware's plan to transform its welfare system. The
State and the family have mutual responsibilities. The State will create positive incentives for the family to become
self-sufficient. The family must accept responsibility to become self-sufficient and self-supporting. There are five
key principles that form the plan's foundation. They are:

1. WORK SHOULD PAY MORE THAN WELFARE;

2. WELFARE RECIPIENTS MUST EXERCISE PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY IN EXCHANGE FOR
BENEFITS; 

3. WELFARE SHOULD BE TRANSITIONAL, NOT A WAY OF LIFE;

4. BOTH PARENTS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR SUPPORTING THEIR CHILDREN; and

5. THE FORMATION AND MAINTENANCE OF TWO-PARENT FAMILIES SHOULD BE
ENCOURAGED, AND TEENAGE PREGNANCY AND UNWED MOTHERHOOD SHOULD BE DISCOURAGED.

The purpose of the following policies is to outline the manner in which the Division of Social Services intends to
carry out this vision of its welfare reform plan. 

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3000.4 TANF and State Only Foster Care

If a child is living with a minor parent and the minor parent receives State Only Foster Care payments, the child
may receive cash assistance. The minor parent cannot be included in the cash assistance program.

The minor parent may be a TANF payee if she cares for the child and is capable of handling funds. Contact the
minor parent's Child Protective Services worker for this determination.

If someone other than the minor parent cares for the child or if the minor parent is not capable of handling
funds, an adult in the household may be payee. If the adult meets the definition of a "specified relative" (Social
Services Manual Section 3004), that adult may receive TANF for the child. If the adult does not meet the definition
of a "specified relative," that adult may receive GA for the child.

The minor parent is not included in the TANF grant and the State Only Foster Care payment is not considered
income to the child.
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(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3004 Specified Relationship Caretakers in TANF Families

Relationship

To be eligible for TANF, a child must be living in the home of one of the following relatives:

Assistance is provided to needy families. A family is one or more children living with a specified relative,
guardian, or custodian (adult acting in loco parentis).

[Specified relative is defined as:]

• Any relative by blood, marriage, or adoption who is within the fifth degree of kinship to the dependent 
child. The degree of relationship is as follows: a parent (1st degree), grandparent (2nd degree), sibling 
(2nd degree), great-grandparent (3rd degree), uncle or aunt (3rd degree), nephew or niece (3rd 
degree), great-great-grandparent (4th degree), great-uncle or aunt (4th degree), first cousin (4th 
degree), great-great-great-grandparent (5th degree), great-great uncle or aunt (5th degree), or a first 
cousin once removed (5th degree).

• Any other persons named in the above groups whose relationship to one of the child's parents is 
established by legal adoption; 

• The spouse of any person named in the above groups even though the marriage terminated by death 
or divorce.

[A guardian is defined as:

An adult providing an appropriate supportive living arrangement who has been authorized by the
Delaware Division of Family Services or the Family Court of Delaware to exercise the day-to-day care,
custody, and control of the child(ren) in his/her care.

For the purposes of the TANF program a guardian is defined as:

• An adult providing an appropriate supportive living arrangement who has been appointed as
guardian of the child(ren) in his/her care by an authorized court, or

• an adult who has received the consent and approval to exercise the day-to-day care, custody,
and control of the child(ren) in his/her care by the Delaware Division of Family Services or
any agency or court licensed or authorized to place children in a nonrelated home.]

A custodian or an adult acting in loco parentis ("in the place of a parent") is defined as:

An adult who provides an appropriate supportive living arrangement for the child(ren) in his/her care, and who has:

• intentionally taken over the duties of a parent and is responsible for exercising the day-to-day care,
custody, and control of the child(ren),

• accepted the legal responsibility of caring for the child,
• been referred to the Delaware Division of Family Services for purposes of determining suitability of

the adult to act in loco parentis and the dependency of the child(ren).

[Custodians Adults acting in loco parentis] are required to acknowledge their acceptance of the legal
responsibility for the child(ren) in their care and their intentional acceptance of the day-to-day care, custody, and
control of the child(ren) in their care. This acknowledgement must be in writing and on a Division of Social Services
approved form. 

The Division of Family Services [(DFS)], within the Department of Services for Children, Youth, and Their
Families [DSCYF] must approve the living arrangement of a custodian and the children they are caring for by the
next redetermination. If [the custodial relationship verification of consent and approval by DFS] is not
[approved provided] by the next redetermination, TANF payments should be stopped.

Paternity Establishment:

When a child lives with both the natural father and the mother but paternity has not been legally established,
refer the parents to the Division of Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) for a voluntary acknowledgement of
paternity. If the alleged father is unwilling to complete the voluntary acknowledgement of paternity, DSS will
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consider the child deprived of the care and support of his/her father. Refer the case to DCSE for follow-up on
establishing paternity.

When a child lives with the natural father, but paternity has not been legally established, have the father
complete a declaration of natural relationship document. Obtain one additional document from the documents
listed below to support the natural father's claim of relationship.

• Social Security Administration records;
• Hospital, clinic, or Public Health Records;
• Department of Services to Children, Youth, and Their Families records;
• Census Bureau records;
• Income Tax records specifying the relationship;
• Insurance policies which specify the relationship;
• Military or veterans records which specify the relationship Statement from a minister, priest, or rabbi;
• Family bible, Baptismal Certificate or other family records (such as wills, deeds), written in ink and not 

altered which specify the relationship;
• Statement of physician or midwife who attended the birth and remembers the names of the people 

involved;
• Other government or local agency records, newspaper records, or local histories which specify the 

relationship;
• A Declaration of Natural Relationship signed by the mother or other maternal relative; 
• If none of the above documents are available, a declaration of Natural Relationship signed by a knowl-

edgeable person. 

When a child lives with a relative of the natural father, but paternity has not been legally established, have the
relative complete a Declaration of Natural Relationship document. Obtain one additional document from the
documents listed above to support the relative's claim of relationship.

3004.1 Living in the home

The parent's or relative's caretaker’s statement that the child is living in the home must be verified at the time of
application and at each subsequent redetermination.

A home is defined as the family setting where the child and the caretaker relative reside. The home exists as
long as the relative is the responsible caretaker even if the child or the relative caretaker is temporarily absent (See
DSSM 3023.4, 3023.5, and 3023.6).

The child is considered living with the relative caretaker even if the child is under the jurisdiction of the court
(e.g., receiving probation services or protective supervision) or legal custody is held by an agency, as long as the
child continues to live at home.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3010 Participation and Cooperation in Developing CMR

It is mandatory that the caretaker enter into a Contract of Mutual Responsibility. The Contract applies to those
families in the Time Limited Program and Children's Program, as well as to teen parents. Other family members
within the assistance unit may be subject to compliance with provisions of the Contract, even if the caretaker is a
non-needy caretaker relative payee. 

If the caretaker is a non-needy caretaker relative, the individual would not be required to participate in
employment-related activities, but may be required to participate in other Contract activities. 

The caretaker may object to certain aspects of the Contract. The caretaker needs to present any objections up
front, at the time of the initial Contract or upon Contract revision. DSS retains the ultimate decision making
authority as to what elements are put into the Contract of Mutual Responsibility. 

DSS expects clients to cooperate in the development of the Contract of Mutual Responsibility. Certain aspects
of the Contract, such as, but not limited, to participation in employment-related activities, meeting school
attendance requirements and immunization, cannot be amended. However, even though certain aspects cannot be
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amended, this does not imply that caretakers cannot discuss and/or negotiate Contract requirements. Further, this
is not to imply that such discussion and/or negotiation is non-cooperation. To the extent possible, each caretaker
should be able to mutually develop her/his Contract. DSS is to give caretakers the opportunity to understand the
Contract and its requirements, as well as to discuss the Contract with persons outside the DSS office. Reasons for
requesting such an outside review of the Contract include, but are not limited to, language barriers, developmental
disabilities, or to seek legal or other counsel. Caretakers therefore, should be granted their requests to remove
proposed Contracts from the DSS office in order to review it with another person. This should not be considered
non-cooperation.

Negotiating elements of the CMR can mean that aspects of the CMR are waived. On a case by case basis,
elements of the CMR can be waived if good cause exists. If the particular circumstances of a family warrant
waiving elements of the CMR it is to be justified and properly documented in the case record.

See Administrative Notice A-10-99 DFS/DSS Procedures.

For example: a parent's only child is terminally ill. It is reasonable to determine that a parent would want to
spend as much time with the child as possible. Therefore, waiving school attendance requirements and parenting
education requirements are reasonable. Document the child's illness and the reason for the waiving of the CMR
requirements in the case record.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3018 General Assistance (GA)

General Assistance is a State funded cash assistance program available to families and unemployable
individuals who meet the financial eligibility requirements of the program and who are ineligible for TANF and SSI
with the following exception:

A child's caretaker relative, who is otherwise eligible for GA and who is not the child's parent, may choose to
receive GA instead of TANF.

EXAMPLE: A woman with no income is unemployable and is the caretaker of a seven year old niece. The
woman may choose to receive GA for herself and be payee only for the TANF grant for her niece, or she may be
included in the TANF unit with her niece.

Married or unmarried couples living with their children as a family unit that are not eligible for TANF or TANF-
UP are technically eligible for GA.

EXAMPLE: A couple lives with their children as a unit. Both parents are healthy and unemployed. Neither
parent meets work quarter requirements for TANF-UP. The family is technically eligible to receive GA.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3021 Unrelated Children RESERVED

A needy child (one whose income is less than the GA Standard of Need), who lives with an unrelated adult
caretaker, is technically eligible for General Assistance. The caretaker is payee for the child's grant and may be
included in the GA budget group if he/she is also needy and meets at least one of the conditions specified in DSSM
3019.

In such cases, DSS will document the child's presence in the home and the reason that the child is not living
with his/her parents. The possibility of financial support from the parents is also investigated.

In all such cases, the DFS will be notified of the child's placement so a study of the home can be made.

3022 Ineligibility Due to Family Cap RESERVED

A needy child, who is ineligible for TANF cash benefits due to the Family Cap provision of Delaware's
Temporary Assistance To Needy Families, is not technically eligible for GA.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)
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3027 Age as a Condition of Eligibility

For purposes of determining eligibility for cash grants, persons 18 years old and over are considered adults.

Persons under age 18 are considered children. An individual is not eligible for General Assistance as a child
the month of his/her birthday. If such children are General Assistance recipients, they will be removed from the
assistance unit that last day of the month prior to the month of their 18th birthday.

An individual is not eligible for TANF as a child the month of his/her 18th birthday if their birthdate is the 1st day
of the month. If such children are TANF recipients, they will be removed from the assistance unit the last day of the
month prior to the month of their 18th birthday.

An individual is eligible for TANF as the child the month of his/her 18th birthday if their birthday is the 2nd - 31st
day of the month. If such children are TANF recipients, they will be removed from the assistance unit effective the
last day of the month he/she turns 18. 

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3027.2 Minor Parents

An unmarried parent, under the age of 18, and the dependent child(ren) in his or her care is to reside in the
household of a parent, legal guardian, custodian, other adult relative, or in an adult supervised supportive living
arrangement to receive TANF benefits. 

Emancipated minors are considered adults for the purpose of establishing eligibility for assistance.  An eligible
emancipated minor may receive an assistance grant in his/her own name.

Emancipation must be documented in the case record.  Acceptable documentation includes:

1) Court records; or

2) The minor's valid marriage license; or

3) Written statements from the Division of Family Services verifying the minor's emancipation.  

If the minor parent and his or her children reside in an adult supervised supportive living arrangement, the
Division of Family Services, within the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families, must
approve the living arrangement by the next redetermination. If the adult supervised supportive living arrangement
is not approved by the next redetermination, TANF payments should be stopped.

Assistance is to be provided in the form of a protective payment to the minor parent's parent, legal guardian,
other adult relative, or adult in the supervised supportive living arrangement.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3028.1  Mandatory Composition of Assistance Units

In TANF, the assistance unit will always include:

1. The dependent child; and

2. The dependent child's blood related or adoptive siblings who are under 18 and who are also
dependent children; and

3. The dependent child's natural or adoptive parent(s).  If both parents live in the home, both parents
must be included in the unit regardless of the parents' marital status.  In a case where paternity has not
been legally established, the putative father must acknowledge paternity as a condition of eligibility.

Note: In 2 and 3 above, the child or parent must also reside in the home and be otherwise eligible.  Examples
of persons who are not otherwise eligible include, but are not limited to SSI recipients, and the Employment and
Training Program sanctioned individuals.  

EXAMPLE: A grandmother has day to day care and control of her minor grandchild and is receiving TANF for
herself and the child. The child's mother moves into the home, but the grandmother retains custody and continues
to act as the child's caretaker. Since, according to TANF regulations, a parent is a mandatory member of the
assistance unit, the mother must be added. If the mother has income, the income must be budgeted. The
grandmother may remain in the unit because TANF regulations allow for the inclusion of a needy caretaker relative.
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EXAMPLE: In TANF, where children who live in the home include the caretaker's own children and a child who
is related in some other manner (e.g., niece or nephew), establish two assistance units. One will include the
caretaker and his/her children, and the other will include the other related child with the caretaker as payee only.
When more than one such child lives in the home, each child will be placed in a separate assistance unit unless the
children must be considered together as specified in 1 and 2 above.

EXAMPLE:    In GA, establish a separate assistance unit for an unrelated child living in the home of a family
that is also eligible to receive a grant. When more than one such child resides in the home, each child will be
placed in a separate assistance unit. However, children who are siblings are always considered together and will
be placed in the same assistance unit.

EXAMPLE:   In GA, establish a separate assistance unit for an unrelated child and the adult caretaker who is
also eligible to receive GA on their own. For instance, the adult caretaker is age 55 or older. Establish two separate
GA assistance units; one for the caretaker and one for the child. (See DSSM 4001)

9 DE Reg. 1979 (06/01/06)

3028.2 Optional Composition of Assistance Units

1. In TANF the dependent child, and if residing in the home and otherwise eligible, the child's blood related or
adoptive minor siblings, and the child's natural or adoptive parent(s) must be included in the unit. When both
parents of the dependent child are in the home, both parents must be included in the unit regardless of their marital
status. In a case where paternity has not been legally established, the putative father must acknowledge paternity
as a condition of eligibility.

A non-parent needy caretaker relative may be included in the unit if the caretaker so chooses.

The needy legal spouse of a caretaker relative may be included in the unit only if the caretaker is the
natural or adoptive parent of the child(ren), and the caretaker is incapacitated or is the principal wage earner and
qualifies as an unemployed parent.

2. In TANF married couple cases, where each adult has children from previous relationships that are eligible
for TANF, include the family in one TANF unit. If the couple has children in common who are also eligible for TANF,
include these children in the unit also.

3. In TANF married or unmarried couple cases where each adult has children from previous relationships
who are eligible for TANF, they have the option of being in one assistance unit or two separate assistance units. If
the unit fails financially, a separate assistance unit may be established for the child(ren) of the previous
relationships.

For example, a couple each have a child from previous relationships. Initially, we place all the family
members into one TANF assistance unit. Income from the male partner's job makes the family ineligible for TANF.
We have the option of placing the female partner and her child from a previous relationship into a TANF assistance
unit. In this scenario, if the couple were married, a step-parent situation would exist. If the couple were not married,
eligibility is based solely on the information from the female partner and her child.

4. When a couple, married or unmarried, has a child in common and each partner has a child from a previous
relationship, the couple, the child in common, and the other children will initially be placed in one TANF assistance
unit. The siblings keep this as one assistance unit.

Example: A couple each have a child from previous relationships and they have a child in common.
Initially, we place all the family members into one TANF assistance unit. Income from the male partner's job makes
the family ineligible for TANF. We have the option of placing the female partner and her child from a previous
relationship into a TANF assistance unit. In this case if the couple were married, a step-parent situation would exist.
If the couple were not married, eligibility is based solely on the information from the female partner and her child.

5. A pregnant woman, with no other children, may receive TANF beginning on the first day of the month that
her child is expected to be born, if the woman meets all other technical and financial eligibility requirements, and
her expected due date has been verified by a physician. The child is added to the unit, and a supplemental grant is
effective the date of its birth if the birth is reported within five (5) days. If the birth is not reported within five (5) days,
the child is added to the unit and the grant is effective as of the date of the report. The child's father, if he is
otherwise eligible, is also added using these guidelines. Procedures for completing supplemental applications for
newborns are outlined in DSSM 2000.6.
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(See DSSM 4010 for Budgeting instructions)

A pregnant woman who plans to place her child for adoption is eligible for TANF beginning the 1st day of
the month her child is due, assuming she meets all other eligibility requirements. If she still plans to terminate her
parental rights after the child is born, the child cannot be added to the assistance unit and the child is not eligible for
Medicaid. In this instance, the TANF case is closed at the end of the month that the birth occurs.

6. If a child receiving SSI is the only child in the home, the child's caretaker relative can receive TANF if the
child is deprived of parental care. The caretaker's needy legal spouse can receive TANF if the caretaker is the
child's natural or adoptive parent and the caretaker is incapacitated or qualifies as an unemployed parent.

7. For GA eligible adults, include the adult. The adult's spouse or UMP is also included if the spouse or
partner also meets a condition of unemployability.

8. For children eligible for GA who are living with a non relative caretaker, include the child. The caretaker
may also be included if the child is under six and the caretaker is needy.

98. A woman who has a verified pregnancy and receives a GA check the month she delivers her child is
eligible for TANF that month for herself and her child if she reports the birth to DSS, and she meets all other TANF
technical and financial eligibility requirements.

The TANF grant is effective the date of the child's birth if the birth is reported within five (5) days.

The TANF grant is effective the date of the report if the birth is not reported within five (5) days.

If the pregnancy had not been verified, the TANF grant is effective the date the birth is verified.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4001 Family Budget Group

Assume there is no income.

Family budget group is the total number of persons whose needs and income are budgeted together. This will
always include the following:

1. Married couples if they live together and are both eligible for a grant.

2. Unmarried couples who live together as husband and wife and are both eligible for a grant.

NOTE: In GA, couples will be considered as living together as husband and wife if:

a. They say they are married, even if the marriage cannot be verified, or

b. They are recognized as husband and wife in the community, or

c. One partner uses the other's last name, or

d. They state they intend to marry, or

e. They jointly hold resources.

3. Parents and their eligible children.

Family budget groups will consist of more than one assistance unit when all budget group members
are not placed in the same assistance unit. In those instances, the need standard for the family cannot exceed the
TANF need standard for the budget group size as specified in Section 4007.2. (See DSSM 3028 for a definition of
an assistance unit)

In households that include a caretaker, the caretaker's children and other children that are the
caretaker's responsibility, the caretaker's needs and income and those of his/her children are always budgeted
together. The needs and income of any other children in the home will be considered separately. In these
situations, the separate budget groups can be combined to form a single family budget group only when the
following conditions are met:

A. Assistance would be denied to any of the recipients by maintaining separate budget groups.

B. The caretaker understands the implications of combining the budget groups (i.e., lower assistance
payments) and chooses to have his/her needs and income and those of his/her children considered with the needs
and income of any other children in the home.
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4. A needy caretaker caring for an unrelated child under the age of six (6) who is needed in the home to
care for the child because no one else is available can receive General Assistance (GA) for him/her self and the
child in two assistance units but one budget group. SEE DSSM 3028.

5. A caretaker caring for an unrelated child may be able to receive GA for the child in one assistance unit
while receiving GA for him/her self as well, in a separate assistance unit as long as one condition in DSSM 3019,
other than #4 is met. They would be in two separate budget groups.

4001.1 Examples to Illustrate Rules Regarding Budget Groups.

1. Mr. and Mrs. Brown apply for assistance for themselves, their two (2) children, and Mrs. Brown's niece. Mr.
Brown is ill and unable to work. (Refer to A-18-99 for more details)

Mr. and Mrs. Brown are eligible for TANF and are placed in one budget group with their two (2) children.
Mrs. Brown's niece is eligible for TANF and is placed in another budget group with Mrs. Brown as payee. The
Browns with their children receive an TANF grant for four (4) people. Mrs. Brown's niece receives a TANF grant for
one (l) person.

2. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson are applying for themselves, their child, and an unrelated child that lives in their
home. 

Mr. and Mrs. Johnson and their child are eligible for TANF and are placed in one budget group. The
unrelated child is eligible for GA and placed in a separate budget group. The Johnson's will receive a TANF grant
for three (3) people and the unrelated child will receive a GA grant for one (l) person.

3. Mrs. Jones is divorced and is applying for herself, her daughter, a niece, and an unrelated child.

Mrs. Jones and her child are eligible for TANF and are placed in one budget group. The niece is eligible for
TANF and placed in another budget group. The unrelated child is eligible for GA and is in a third budget group.

4.2. Ms. Lord is applying for herself, her child and her niece and nephew who are sister and brother.

Ms. Lord and her child are eligible for TANF and are in one budget group. Ms. Lord's niece and
nephew are eligible for TANF and placed in another budget group.

5. Mr. Smith is caring for a three year old child for whom he is not related. Mr. Smith is needy. Someone is
needed in the home to care for the child but there is no one else available.

Mr. Smith and the child could each receive GA in separate assistance units. They would be in one budget
group capped by the GA size for two (2) people.

6. Mrs. Robinson is caring for a child for whom she is not related. Mrs. Robinson is fifty-five (55) years of age. 

Mrs. Robinson and the child could each receive GA in separate assistance units. They would be two (2)
separate budget groups.

NOTE: When income is included in any of the above situations, it is possible that some of the recipients would
be denied by maintaining separate budget groups, but all recipients could remain eligible if the groups are
combined. In those situations the budget groups can be combined if the caretaker so chooses.

(Refer to Administrative Notice A-18-99 for more details.)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4004.3 Earned Income Disregards in GA

The following disregards are deducted from gross earned income in the GA budgeting process. Disregards are
applied to each earner's wages.

1. Standard allowance for work connected expenses    $50.

2. Dependent care expenses as paid up to $160 per month for each child who resides in the home and
receives GA.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)
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4007.1 Standards of Need/Payment Standard - GA

This policy applies to all General Assistance applicants and recipients.

1. The Payment Standard is equal to the Standard of Need.

2. The Division of Social Services determines the Standard of Need.

3. The Division of Social Services may establish different Standards of Need for children and adults.

4. The Division of Social Services will issue an administrative notice detailing Standard of Need changes
at least 30 days prior to an implementation of a Standard of Need change.

54. The Division of Social Services will issue an administrative notice annually detailing the current
Standard of Need.

13 DE Reg. 1333 (04/01/10)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4009 Determining Financial Eligibility and Grant Amounts in GA

Follow the steps listed below to determine financial eligibility and grant amounts in the GA program. Refer to
DSSM 4004.3 for information regarding GA earned income disregards.

1. Subtract $50.00 from earned income.

2. Subtract payment for dependent care from earned income.

3. Compare the sum of remaining earned income plus other income to the applicable GA standard. Deny
assistance if income exceeds the standard.

43. If income is less than the standard, subtract income from the applicable GA standard to determine the
grant amount. Round remainders by dropping the cents.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 311 & 7105 (18 Del.C. §§311, 7105)

18 DE Admin. Code 1404

1404 Long-Term Care Insurance

ORDER

Proposed amendments to Regulation 1404 relating to Long-Term Care Insurance was published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations on August 1, 2010.  The comment period remained open until September 7,
2010.  There was no public hearing on proposed amendments to Regulation 1404. Public notice of the proposed
amended Regulation 1404 in the Register of Regulations was in conformity with Delaware law.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Comments were received from the State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) and from America’s
Health Insurance Plans (AHIP).  While the major purpose of the proposed amendments are to prohibit post-claim
underwriting in long-term care insurance, SCPD did not comment on those proposed changes.  SCPD directed its
comments to suggested changes in the original Regulation 1404, not the proposed amendments.   While the
comments are well reasoned and valid, they are directed to updating, modernizing the substantial part of the
existing regulation not being amended.  What the Department of Insurance advertised as proposed amendments to
the regulation is the only subject open for comment.  SCPD’s observation are well taken and will be considered for
future changes to the regulation.
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ACLI wrote to express support for the proposed amendment’s rescission sections.  The ACLI suggested that
rather than incorporate some sections of the Model Regulation adopted by the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners (NAIC) the Delaware Department of Insurance should adopt the Model Regulation whole.  The
Department has chosen to adopt sections of the Model Regulation that it feels are needed in this State.  The ACLI
pointed out errors in terminology that were not changed throughout the document, including the change from the
use of “agent” to that of “Producer”.  Those non-substantive changes are made in the final document.  The ACLI
also noted sections of the Model Language that should be adopted in the future for purposes of clarity.  That advice
will be seriously considered in future updates.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on Delaware law and the record in this docket, I make the following findings of fact:

The requirements of the proposed amendments to Regulation 1404 best serve the interests of the public and of
insurers and comply with Delaware law. 

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§314, 1111 and 29 Del.C. §§10113-10118 and the record in this docket,
I hereby adopt amended Regulation 1404 as may more fully and at large appear in the version attached hereto to
be effective on October 11, 2010. 

TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the proposed Regulation 1404 last appeared in the Register of Regulations Vol. 14, Issue 2, pages
92-93.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 8th day of September 2010. 

Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML

Insurance Commissioner

1404 Long-Term Care Insurance

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

1404 Long-Term Care Insurance
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 4, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2010

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2010/final/14 DE Reg 316 10-01-10.htm


FINAL REGULATIONS318
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
FRAUD AND CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

Statutory Authority: 6 Delaware Code, Section 2432A(h) (6 Del.C., §2432A(h))

102 Debt Management Services

ORDER

A public hearing was held to receive comments related to the Delaware Uniform Debt Management Services
Act authorized under 6 Del.C., §2432A(h). Notice was provided as required under the Administrative Proceedings
Act in the Register of Regulations at 14 DE Reg. 93-102 (08/1/2010) as well as in the News Journal and Delaware
State News on August 19, 2010 and August 6, 2010, respectively. 29 Del.C., §10115. In addition, notice was
mailed to licensees and posted on the Consumer Protection web page.

The Director of Consumer Protection conducted the public hearing held at 10 a.m. on September 9, 2010 in

the Carvel State Office Building, 6th floor, 820 N. French St., Wilmington, DE 19801.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

No written or verbal comment was received.

RECOMMENDED FINDINGS OF FACT

The proposed rules clarify the procedures used in order to efficiently manage licensure applications and
implement administrative enforcement. The changes are needed to protect the public though effective licensing
and enforcement. There was no objection the proposals.

RECOMMENDED ACTION

After considering the provisions in the Delaware Uniform Debt Management Services Act including the
mandate for uniformity of application in 6 Del.C., §2438A and without public objection, it is the recommendation of
the Director of Consumer Protection that the Attorney General make the proposed findings and adopt the proposed
rules as published pursuant to his authority in 6 Del.C., §2432A(h) as published.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Ian R. McConnel

Director of Consumer Protection

Date: September 9, 2010

ORDER AND EFECTIVE DATE

After review of the law and the recommendation of the Director of Consumer Protection, I hereby adopt the
recommended Findings of Facts and the Rules as proposed in 14 DE Reg. 93-102 (8/1/2010) to become effective
October 11, 2010.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Joseph R. Biden III

Attorney General

Date: September 15, 2010
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102 Debt Management Services

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
August 2010 issue of the Register at page 93 (14 DE Reg. 93). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

102 Debt Management Services

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60; (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)
7 DE Admin. Code 1124

Secretary’s Order No.: 2010-A-0030

7 DE Admin. Code 1124, Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions: Section 11.0, “Mobile 
Equipment Repair and Refinishing”

Date of Issuance: September 17, 2010

Effective Date of the Amendment: October 11, 2010

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”) the following findings, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking proceeding.

Background and Procedural History

This Order considers proposed regulation amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1124, Control of Volatile
Organic Compound Emissions: Section 11.0, “Mobile Equipment Repair and Refinishing”.  The purpose of these
proposed amendments is to conform to a new model rule developed by the Ozone Transport Commission (OTC).
The other OTC states are in the process of adopting a similar regulation.  This proposed revision to Delaware’s
existing Regulation No. 1124 reduces the volatile organic compound (VOC) contents of currently regulated
coatings, regulates additional coating categories, requires the use of coating application equipment that provides
for high transfer efficiency, and requires that surface cleaning solvent contain no more than 25 grams of VOC per
liter.

The Department’s Division of Air Quality commenced the regulatory development process with Start Action
Notice 2009-34.  The Department published the proposed regulatory amendments in the May 1, 2010 Delaware
Register of Regulations and held a public hearing on June 10, 2010. The Department’s presiding hearing officer,
Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated September 9, 2010 (Report). The Report recommends
certain findings and the adoption of the proposed Amendments as attached to the Report as Appendix A.

Findings and Discussion

I find that the proposed Amendments are well-supported by the record developed by the Department, and
adopt the Report to the extent it is consistent with this Order.   The Department’s experts developed the record and
drafted the proposed Amendments. The Department received public comments, as noted in the Report, and
considered and responded to all timely and relevant public comments in making its determination.
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I find that the Department’s experts in the Division of Air Quality fully developed the record to support adoption
of these Amendments.   With the adoption of these regulatory amendments, Delaware will conform to a new model
rule developed by the Ozone Transport Commission (OTC), and will mirror the other OTC states who are in the
process of adopting similar regulations as well.

In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are entered:

1.) The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to issue an Order adopting these proposed
Amendments as final;

2.) The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed Amendments, and provided the public
with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed Amendments, including at a public hearing; 

3.) The Department held a public hearing on June 10, 2010 on the proposed Amendments in order to consider
public comments before making any final decision, and fully considered and responded to all timely and relevant
comments received from the regulated community concerning this matter;

4) The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its recommended record and the recommended
Amendments as set forth in Appendix A, are adopted to provide additional reasons and findings for this Order;  

5.) The recommended Amendments do not reflect any substantive changes from the proposed regulation
Amendments as published in the May 1, 2010, Delaware Register of Regulations; 

6.) The recommended Amendments should be adopted as final regulation Amendments because (1)
Delaware will be enabled to conform to a new model rule developed by the Ozone Transport Commission (OTC);
(2) the Department’s revisions to Section 11.0 of 7 DE Admin. Code 1124 will reduce the volatile organic
compound (VOC) contents of currently regulated coatings, regulate additional coating categories, require the use
of coating application equipment that provides for high transfer efficiency, and require that surface cleaning solvent
contain no more than 25 grams of VOC per liter; and (3) the regulation amendments are well supported by
documents in the record; and that

7.) The Department shall submit this Order approving the final regulation to the Delaware Register of
Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the law and regulation
require and the Department determines is appropriate. 

Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

1124 Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1124 Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60; (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)
7 DE Admin. Code 1138

Secretary’s Order No.: 2010-A-0028 and 2010-A-0029

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories
Date of Issuance:  September 17, 2010

Effective Date of the Amendment: October 11, 2010

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”) the following findings, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking proceeding.
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Background and Procedural History

This Order considers the proposed regulatory amendment to 7 DE Admin. Code 1138, Emission Standards for
Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories, Section 13.0, “Area Source Methylene Chloride Paint Stripping
Operations” and Section 15.0, “Area Source Motor Vehicle or Mobile Equipment Surface Coating Operations”. The
proposed new Section 13.0 will affect facilities that perform paint stripping operations using chemical strippers that
contain methylene chloride. The proposed new Section 15.0 will affect motor vehicle (auto-body shops) or mobile
equipment surface coating operations that spray-apply coatings which contain any compounds of cadmium,
chromium, lead, manganese or nickel. This proposed new section is based upon a federal rule that the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) promulgated at 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart HHHHHH as well as existing
requirements in similar area source standards found throughout Regulation 1138. It should be noted that this
proposed amendment does not apply to non-motor vehicle or non-mobile equipment surface coating operations, as
the Department addressed these sources with the adoption of Section 14 of Regulation 1138 in april 2010.

The purpose of this proposed regulatory action is to provide increased protection for Delaware citizens against
potential adverse health effects linked to a long-term exposure to methylene chloride. Additionally, methylene
chloride is classified as probable human carcinogens by the EPA.

The Department’s Division of Air Quality (DAQ) commenced the regulatory development process with Start
Action Notices 2009-08 and 2009-17. The Department published the proposed regulatory amendment in the May
1, 2010 Delaware Register of Regulation and held a public hearing on June 10, 2010. The Department’s presiding
hearing officer, Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated September 9, 2010 (Report). The Report
recommends certain findings and the adoption of the proposed Amendment as attached to the Report as Appendix
A.

Findings and Discussion

I find that the proposed Amendment is well-supported by the record developed by the Department, and adopt
the Report to the extent it is consistent with this Order.   The Department’s expert developed the record and drafted
the proposed Amendment. Throughout the entire regulatory development process regarding this promulgation, the
Department received public comments from the regulated community, as noted in the Report, and considered and
responded to all timely and relevant public comments in making its determination.

I find that the Department’s DAQ expert fully developed the record to support adoption of this Amendment.
With the adoption of the regulation amendment to 7 DE Admin. Code 1138, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants for Source Categories, Section 13.0, “Area Source Methylene Chloride Paint Stripping Operations” and
Section 15.0, “Area source Motor Vehicle or Mobile Equipment Surface Coating Operations”, Delaware will be able
to mirror the recently issued federal rule promulgated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) at 40
CFR Part 63, Subpart HHHHHH and provide increased protection for Delaware citizens against potential adverse
health effects linked to a long-term exposure to methylene chloride, cadmium, chromium, lead, manganese, or
nickel compounds, which are classified as a probable human carcinogens by the EPA. 

In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are entered:

1.) The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to issue an Order adopting this proposed
Amendment as final;

2.) The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed Amendment, and provided the public
with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed Amendment, including at a public hearing; 

3.) The Department held a public hearing on June 10, 2010 on the proposed Amendment in order to consider
public comments before making any final decision, and fully considered and responded to all timely and relevant
comments received from the regulated community concerning this matter;

4) The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its recommended record and the recommended
Amendment as set forth in Appendix A, are adopted to provide additional reasons and findings for this Order;

5.) The recommended Amendment does not reflect any substantive change from the proposed regulation
Amendment as published in the May 1, 2010, Delaware Register of Regulations; 
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6.) The recommended Amendment should be adopted as final regulation Amendment because Delaware will
then be enabled to (1) mirror the recently issued federal rule promulgated by the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) at 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart HHHHHH; and (2) provide increased protection for Delaware citizens
against potential adverse health effects linked to a long-term exposure to methylene chloride, cadmium, chromium,
lead, manganese, or nickel compounds, which are classified as a probable human carcinogen by the EPA.
Moreover, the regulation amendment is well supported by documents in the record; and 

7.) The Department shall submit this Order approving the final regulation to the Delaware Register of
Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the law and regulation
require and the Department determines is appropriate.

Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

Section Title Related federal rule at 
40 CFR Part 63

Table of Contents

1.0 Overview

2.0 Reserved

3.0 General Provisions Subpart A

4.0 Requirements for Case-By-Case Control Technology Determinations for
Major Sources

Subpart B

5.0 Perchloroethylene Air Emission Standards for Dry Cleaning Facilities Subpart M

6.0 Emission Standards for Chromium Emissions From Hard and Decorative
Chromium Electroplating and Chromium Anodizing Tanks

Subpart N

7.0 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Industrial Process
Cooling Towers

Subpart Q

8.0 Emission Standards for Halogenated Solvent Cleaning Subpart T

9.0 Emission Standards for Hospital Ethylene Oxide Sterilizers Subpart WWWWW

10.0 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Source Plating
and Polishing Operations

Subpart WWWWWW

11.0 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Source Lead
Acid Battery Manufacturing Plants

Subpart PPPPPP

12.0 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Secondary Aluminum
Production

Subpart RRR

13.0 Reserved Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area
Source Paint Stripping Operations

Subpart HHHHHH

14.0 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Source
Miscellaneous Parts or Products Surface Coating Operations

Subpart HHHHHH

15.0 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Source Motor
Vehicle or Mobile Equipment Surface Coating Operations

Subpart HHHHHH
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER TWENTY

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS AND AGENCIES

RE: MORE EFFECTIVELY UTILIZING INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES TO DRIVE COST
SAVINGS IN STATE GOVERNMENT

WHEREAS, as Governor, I am committed to making State government more efficient and cost-effective;

WHEREAS, every Department and Agency within the Executive Branch (collectively, "Executive Branch
Agencies") and the services they provide should be integrated as an enterprise, working together to support
Delaware citizens as one organization with overall goals and objectives;

WHEREAS, information technology ("IT") is fundamental to many aspects of state government including
strengthening economic development, expanding education opportunities and providing the most efficient delivery
of services to the citizens of Delaware;

WHEREAS, historically the State's IT resources have been largely decentralized, in part, due to the concern
from agencies that their needs would not be met by a more consolidated or centralized approach;

WHEREAS, consolidating the State's information technology operations and services must not result in
diminished IT service and capacity for Executive Branch Agencies that deliver important services to Delaware
citizens;

WHEREAS, consolidating the State's information technology operations and services will allow the State to
leverage investments, combine data collection, develop shared applications, accelerate the use of electronic
forms, use enterprise-wide licensing software, and create other efficiencies; and

WHEREAS, by reducing redundancy, improving service delivery, and reducing IT costs, consolidation of the
State's information technology resources will provide enhanced and more cost-effective services to Delaware's
citizens.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JACK A. MARKELL, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby DECLARE and ORDER that:

1. The Department of Technology and Information ("DTI") shall conduct a detailed review of each
Executive Branch Agency ("Agency"), in collaboration with each Agency, for the purposes of evaluating
opportunities to consolidate the State's IT services and operations. Any consolidation shall be subject to federal or
state law and shall otherwise provide for on-site and functional support of unique Agency applications, combining
technology infrastructure for shared use and maximum efficiency while ensuring the continued support of business
functions and processes. To help ensure that consolidating the State's information technology operations and
services does not result in diminished IT service and capacity for Agencies that deliver important services to
Delaware citizens, a Memorandum of Understanding between DTI and
each Agency shall be developed which enumerates the expectations and performance measures related to IT
services for that Agency.

2. Information technology resources to be considered for consolidation include, but are not limited to,
data centers, infrastructure, hardware, project management, telecommunications, web development, application
development, help desk services, information security, and database administration. The consideration for
consolidation will be based on several factors including, federal and state law, statewide cost savings, efficiency
increases, and

http://governor.delaware.gov/orders/index.shtml
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best practices.
3. In conjunction with the Office of Management and Budget, DTI shall conduct an analysis of all

technology-related expenditures for the purpose of centralizing IT funding for services identified for consolidation.
This centralization of funding evaluation shall consider all available funding sources including those outside the
State's General Fund.

4. In close consultation with the other Agencies, DTI shall develop a set of policies and procedures
designed to manage external IT vendors, consultants, and contractors, including the development of a state-wide
rate card.

5. To help maximize efficiencies and improve the quality of IT related purchases, any information
technology related purchase in excess of $10,000 shall be sent to DTI prior to issuance of a purchase order or
execution of a contract. In addition, DTI shall be consulted regarding the use of contractual resources for
information technology initiatives and support in excess of $50,000 prior to the work commencing.

6. The Department of Technology and Information shall provide written status reports on consolidation to
the Technology Investment Council and the Governor's Office on a regular basis. After DTI enters into a
Memorandum of Understanding with an Agency, the status reports will also be provided to the affected Cabinet
Secretaries for review and response.

7. No provision of this Order shall be intended to create any individual right or legal cause of action,
which does not currently exist under State or Federal law.

APPROVED this 27th day of August, 2010
Jack Markell
Governor

14 DE Reg. 323 (10/01/10)
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

PUBLIC NOTICE

Personal Finance Content Standards Adoption

On September 16, 2010, the Secretary of Education with the consent of the State Board of Education adopted
Personal Finance Content Standards for students in grades 9-12. The Personal Finance Content Standards are
attached in Exhibit B.

Notice of the proposed new content standards was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State
News on July 28, 2010 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A. The Department received 20 comments, with a
majority of the comments supporting the new content standards. Further information on the adoption may be found
in the September 16, 2010 State Board of Education minutes. 

Exhibit B
PERSONAL FINANCE

Limited financial resources compel responsible individuals to make decisions by weighing the benefits against
the opportunity cost of each alternative. All financial decisions have short, intermediate and long term
consequences. A citizen that lives within his or her income has more control over his or her life while expanding
choices. Individuals engage in savings and investing to achieve short, intermediate, and long term financial goals.
Having the knowledge and skills to understand and evaluate various types of goods and services, and how to pay
for them, can help prevent or limit financial loss.

Personal Finance Standard One
[Financial Planning and Decision-Making]

An individual’s goals affect how they value the benefits and costs of alternative choices. A financial plan is a
strategy to accomplish an individual’s or household’s financial goals that will change as an individual’s or
household’s situation changes. Effective financial plans incorporate the possibility of unexpected expenditures.

9-12a: Students will apply problem-solving strategies and cost benefit analysis to assess the consequences
of financial decisions.

9-12b: Students will create an overall financial plan for spending and saving in order to achieve personal
goals. 

Personal Finance Standard Two 
[Money Management]

When purchasing goods and services, individuals must choose among payment options to maximize benefits.
Prudent individuals limit borrowing based on their ability to repay. 

9-12a: Students will analyze the benefits and costs of various payment options while applying the mechanics
of money management.

9-12b: Students will examine how ability to pay and personal credit history influences an individual’s financial
opportunities and choices. 

Personal Finance Standard Three
[Saving and Investing]

Every savings and investment decision has a trade-off in terms of giving up goods and services today. Savings
options and investments vary in their potential risks, liquidity, and rate of return. Individuals and households invest
by purchasing assets that may earn income and/or appreciate in value over time. 

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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9-12a: Students will demonstrate that personal savings and investment compound over time and contribute to
meeting financial goals.

9-12b: Students will evaluate the costs and benefits of major savings and investing options.

Personal Finance Standard Four
[Risk Protection]

Risks are associated with life and unplanned events can have serious or catastrophic financial consequences
over which an individual may have little control. A citizen with the knowledge and skills to evaluate financial
products can prevent or limit loss.

9-12a: Students will understand how to evaluate financial products and services to minimize financial risks. 

9-12b: Students will analyze how state and federal laws and regulations protect consumers. 
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT PROGRAM

1201 Nutrient Management Certification Regulations
PUBLIC NOTICE

Nutrient Management Certification Regulation Amendments: Certification by the Delaware Nutrient
Management Program, 2320 S. Dupont Hwy., Dover, DE 19901, is required (3 Del.C. §2201 - 2290) for all who
apply fertilizer and/or animal manure greater than 10 acres or who manage animals greater than 8,000 pounds of
live animal weight. The proposed changes to the certification regulations establish nutrient handling requirements
for certain nutrient handlers. The proposed regulatory amendments address field staging and stockpiling of poultry
manure.

Comments on the proposed changes will be accepted from October 1, 2010 until October 31, 2010. Any
comments should be provided to the Nutrient Management Program office located at 2320 S. Dupont Hwy., Dover,
DE 19901, ATTN: Mark Davis

The revised regulations are being amended to clarify the Delaware Nutrient Management Commission’s and
the Delaware Department of Agriculture’s regulatory position related to the temporary outdoor storage of manure.
The amended regulations will also now be aligned with the new confined animal feeding operation regulations.

The proposed regulations are posted on the Delaware Department of Agriculture website
(www.dda.delaware.gov) Hard copies of the proposed regulations may be obtained from the Delaware Department
of Agriculture. Comments may be submitted in writing and/or e-mail to the Mark Davis, (mark.davis@state.de.us),
at the Delaware Department of Agriculture, on or before October 31, 2010. A public hearing on these regulations
will NOT be held unless the Secretary of Agriculture and the Delaware Nutrient Management Commission (in
accordance with 3 Del.C., Section 2221) receive a request within 30 days from this notice, or if the Secretary
determines that a public hearing is in the public interest.  A request for a hearing shall be in writing and shall state
the nature of the issues to be raised at the hearing.  It must show familiarity with the proposal and a reasoned
statement of the proposed regulations impact.  It is requested that written comments, or requests for a hearing be
addressed to: 

Mark Davis

Department of Agriculture

2320 South DuPont Highway

Dover, DE 19901

Mark.davis@state.de.us

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 1:00 p.m. in
the Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) Provider Specific Policy Manual
PUBLIC NOTICE

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Division
of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Durable Medical Equipment.

http://dda.delaware.gov/nutrients/index.shtml
http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/
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Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by October 31, 2010.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
4459A Regulations for the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Health Systems Protection Section, under the Division of Public Health, Department of Health and Social
Services, will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed Delaware Regulations governing the Childhood Lead
Poisoning Prevention Act.

Currently, the State of Delaware requires lead poisoning screening for children at 12 months of age. The
Childhood Poisoning Prevention Act requires a formal screening process be developed so that children at high risk
for lead exposure can receive an additional screening test at 24 months of age, while children at lower risk will
continue to receive only the currently required screening at 12 months of age.  The Division of Public Health plans
to promulgate regulations governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act that address a new blood lead
screening, record retention protocol, and the requirements of compliance, enforcement, and penalties for violators.  

The public hearing will be held on October 22, 2010, at 10:00 a.m. in the First Floor Conference Room, located
in the Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the October 1, 2010 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Office of Health
Systems Protection at (302) 744-4705.

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at this hearing should contact Ms. Deborah Harvey at
(302) 744-4700 by October 20, 2010.  Anyone wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to or in lieu of
oral testimony should submit such comments by November 1, 2010 to:

Deborah Harvey, Hearing Officer

Division of Public Health

417 Federal Street

Dover, DE 19901

Fax (302) 739-6659

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
506 Crop Insurance Adjusters and Producers

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAREN WELDIN STEWART, CIR-ML hereby gives notice of intent to adopt
Department of Insurance Regulation 506 relating to Crop Producers and Adjusters.  The docket number for this
proposed amendment is 1456.

The purpose of the proposed Regulation 506 is to to delineate licensing and continuing education
requirements for producers and adjusters specifically for Crop Insurance.  The text of the proposed amendment is
reproduced in the October 2010 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations.  The text can also be viewed at
the Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/
ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html
http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/
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The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes.  Any person
can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed
amendments.  Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed changes must be
received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:00 p.m., Monday, November 1, 2010, and should be
addressed to Mitch Crane, Esquire, Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE
19904, or sent by fax to 302.736.7979 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
507 Workers’ Compensation Insurance Adjusters

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAREN WELDIN STEWART, CIR-ML hereby gives notice of intent to adopt
Department of Insurance Regulation 507 relating to Workers Compensation Adjusters.  The docket number for this
proposed amendment is 1457.

The purpose of the proposed Regulation 507 is to delineate licensing and continuing education requirements
for adjusters specifically for Workers’ Compensation Insurance.  The text of the proposed amendment is
reproduced in the October 2010 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations.  The text can also be viewed at
the Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/
ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes.  Any person
can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed
amendments.  Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed changes must be
received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:00 p.m., Monday, November 1, 2010, and should be
addressed to Mitch Crane, Esquire, Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE
19904, or sent by fax to 302.736.7979 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
FRAUD AND CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

CONSUMER PROTECTION UNIT
103 CPU Administrative Enforcement Proceedings

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Attorney General in accordance with 29 Del.C. §2521 has proposed to adopt rules and regulations for
administrative enforcement of the consumer protection statutes.

A public hearing will be held at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, November 3, 2010, in the Attorney General’s

conference room on the 6th floor of the Carvel State Office Building, 820 N. French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801,
where members of the public may offer comments.  Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Consumer Protection Unit of the Department of Justice at Carvel State

Office Building, 5th floor, 820 N. French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801. Persons wishing to submit written
comments may forward these to the Director of the Consumer Protection Unit at the above address.  The final date
to submit written comments will be at the public hearing.

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/
http://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/office/divisions.shtml
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL AFFAIRS

Office of Labor Law Enforcement
1327 Notice of Independent Contractor or Exempt Person Status

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Department of Labor, Division of Industrial Affairs, Office of Labor Law Enforcement gives notice
that it has created a form for employer to complete which contains guidelines of the notice required to be provided
to an individual of their classification as either an independent contractor or an exempt person.  The Office of Labor
Law Enforcement will receive written public comment as to the notice form beginning Friday, October 1, 2010 and
ending on Thursday, October 31, 2010, at the Delaware Department of Labor, 225 Corporate Blvd., Suite 104,
Newark, Delaware 19702.

The Office of Labor Law Enforcement proposes to adopt the Notice of Independent Contractor or Exempt
Person Status form as presented in this notice.  The proposed form is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.  Copies are available at the Department of Labor, Division of Industrial Affairs, 225 Corporate Blvd.,
Suite 104, Newark, DE 19702.  A copy can be obtained by contacting Francis Chudzik, Supervisor in the Office of
Labor Law Enforcement at (302) 451-3401.  Persons may submit written comment to the Office of Labor Law
Enforcement c/o Francis Chudzik at the address and for the time period set forth above.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review

1130 Title V State Operating Permit Program
PUBLIC NOTICE

     The Department proposes to revise Section 3.0 “Prevention of Significant Deterioration of Air Quality “(PSD) of
7 DE Admin. Code 1125, and Section 2.0 “Definitions” of 7 DE Admin. Code 1130 to clarify how air permitting
requirements apply to greenhouse gas emissions. The Departments proposal is based on an Environmental
Protection Agency rule, 75 FR 31514 Prevention of Significant Deterioration and Title V Greenhouse Gas Tailoring
Rule (June 3, 2010).

The Department will hold a public hearing on these proposed amendments on Thursday, October 28, 2010
beginning at 6:00pm in the Richardson and Robbins Building auditorium, located at 89 King’s Highway in Dover.
Interested persons may submit comments in writing to Ronald A. Amirikian, Division of Air Quality, 655 South Bay
Road, Suite 5N, Dover, DE 19901 and/or statements and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at
the public hearing.

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
1140 Delaware Low Emission Vehicle Program

PUBLIC NOTICE

The provisions of this regulation establish in Delaware a LEV program, which incorporates the requirements of
the California LEV program. 

The LEV program shall apply to all model year 2013 and subsequent motor vehicles that are passenger cars
and light-duty trucks subject to the California LEV program and delivered for sale in Delaware on or after January
1, 2013. 

Statements and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at a public hearing to be held on Friday,
October 22, 2010 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in DNREC’s R & R Building auditorium, Dover, DE.  Interested parties
may submit comments in writing to:

http://www.delawareworks.com/industrialaffairs/welcome.shtml
http://www.awm.delaware.gov/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.awm.delaware.gov/Pages/default.aspx
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Kristoffer Gontkovsky

DNREC Division of Air Quality

BHCC 655 South Bay Road Suite 5N

Dover, DE 19901

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

700 Board of Chiropractic
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Chiropractic, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §706(a)(1), proposes to revise their rules and
regulations. The proposed revisions to the rules are an attempt to better organize and clearly establish the
standards governing licensed chiropractors in the State of Delaware.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on November 4, 2010 at 09:00 a.m., Second
Floor Conference Room B, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904.  Written comments should
be sent to Nancy Fields, Administrator of the Delaware Board of Chiropractic, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Blvd., Dover, DE 19904.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
5200 Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5206(1), proposes
to revise their rules and regulations.  The proposed revisions to the rules are an attempt to better organize and
clearly establish the standards governing licensed nursing home administrators in the State of Delaware.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on November 9, 2010 at 2:00 p.m., in the
Second Floor Conference Room B, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904.  Written comments
should be sent to Michele Urbaniak, Administrator of the Delaware Board of Nursing Home Administrators, Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
3001 Regulations Governing Service Supplied by Electrical Corporations

PUBLIC NOTICE

That this docket is reopened to consider further revisions to the Commission’s Rules For Certification And
Regulation Of Electric Suppliers, adopted by PSC Order No. 5207 (Aug. 31, 1999) and revised from time to time
(the “Regulations”). The proposed revisions are required by the recent amendments to Sections 1001 and 1014 of
Title 26. A copy of the Regulations, showing in red-line the proposed revisions, is appended as Exhibit “A” to this
Order.

That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10113 and 10115, the Commission Secretary shall transmit to the Registrar of
Regulations for publication in the October 2010 Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order; a copy of
the Regulations, showing the proposed changes; and a copy of a notice attached hereto as Exhibit “B.” In addition,
the Secretary shall cause the notice attached as Exhibit “B” to be published in The News Journal and the Delaware
State News newspapers on or before September 30, 2010. The Secretary shall include proof of such publication in
the docket file before the public hearing in this matter. Further, the Secretary shall serve (by regular mail or by
electronic e-mail) a copy of such Notice on: (a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the State Energy Office; (c)
Delmarva Power & Light Company; (d) all certificated electric suppliers; and (e) each person or entity who has
made a timely request for advance notice of regulation-making proceedings.

http://dpr.delaware.gov/default.shtml
http://dpr.delaware.gov/default.shtml
http://depsc.delaware.gov/default.shtml
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That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10115(a) and 10116, persons or entities may file written comments, suggestions,
compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before October 31, 2010. Pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§10117, the Commission will conduct a public hearing on the proposed revisions to the Regulations on December
7, 2010, beginning at 1:00 p.m. at the Commission’s office at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite
100, Dover, Delaware.

That the Commission will defer for the time being referring this matter to a Hearing Examiner under 26 Del.C.
§502 and 29 Del.C. §10116. Depending on what, if any, comments are received to the proposed revisions to the
Regulations, the Commission may determine at a later time that it is necessary to appoint a Hearing Examiner.

That at such time as these regulations are approved in an order as final by the Commission, tariffs in
compliance with the final regulations as approved by the Commission shall be filed by Delmarva Power & Light
Company within 45 days of such a final order. 

That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§114 and 1012(c)(2), all electric suppliers and electric public utilities are hereby
notified that they will be charged the costs incurred in connection with this proceeding under the provisions of 26
Del.C. §114(b)(1).

The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may be
deemed necessary or proper.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
3008 Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Public Service Commission proposes to revise its “Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable
Energy Portfolio Standard,” originally adopted by PSC Order No. 6931 (June 6, 2006) and published at 10 DE Reg.
151-57 (the “RPS Rules”). 

That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 and 10115(a), the  Secretary shall transmit to the Registrar of Regulations
for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order, along with copies of the proposed
revised RPS Rules (Exhibit “A”) and the Notice of Proposed Rule-Making, attached as Exhibit “B.”  The Secretary
shall also cause such Notice of Proposed Rule-Making to be published in The News Journal and the Delaware
State News newspapers on or before October 1, 2010. The Secretary shall include proof of such publication in the
docket file before the public hearing in this matter. Further, the Secretary shall serve (by regular mail or by
electronic e-mail) a copy of such Notice on: (a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the Delaware Energy Office;
(c) Delmarva Power & Light Company; (d) all certificated electric suppliers and rural electric cooperatives; and (e)
each person or entity who has made a timely request for advance notice of regulation-making proceedings. 

That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10115(a) and 10116, persons or entities may file written comments, suggestions,
compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before October 31, 2010.  Pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§10117, the Commission will conduct a public hearing on the proposed revisions to the RPS Rules on November
18, 2010 beginning at 1:00 P.M. at the Commission’s office at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite
100, Dover, Delaware.

That the Commission will defer for the time being referring this matter to a Hearing Examiner under 26 Del.C.
§502 and 29 Del.C. §10116.  Depending on what, if any, comments are received to the proposed revisions to the
Regulations, the Commission may determine at a later time that it is necessary to appoint a Hearing Examiner.

That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§114 and 1012(c)(2), all electric suppliers and electric public utilities are hereby
notified that they will be charged the costs incurred in connection with this proceeding under the provisions of 26
Del.C. §114(b)(1).

The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may be
deemed necessary or proper.

http://depsc.delaware.gov/default.shtml
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