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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is  an official State publication established by authority of  69 Del. 
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed 
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited  by volume, issue , p age number and  date. An example 
would be:

12 DE Reg. 761-775 (12/01/08)

Refers to Volume 12, pages 761-775 of the Delaware Register issued on December 1, 2008.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single 
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of 
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens an d othe r in terested p arties may p articipate in the pr ocess b y which a dministrative 
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability 
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, 
it shall file notice and full te xt of such p roposals, together with  copies o f the existing regulation being adopted, 
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the  Register of Regulations pursuant to § 1134 of this 
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, 
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to 
any oth er regulations th at ma y be impacted or  affected by the proposal, and shall st ate the manner in wh ich 
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be 
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such 
public he aring sha ll not be sched uled less than 20  days fo llowing publication of no tice o f the p roposal in  the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the prop osal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the n ature o f the p roposal shall a lso be  published in  at lea st 2  Delawa re newspapers o f g eneral 
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for 
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held  open fo r a minimum of 3 0 days af ter the  proposal is 
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed, 
of all written materials, upo n a ll the  testim onial a nd written e vidence and information sub mitted, toge ther with 
summaries o f the e vidence a nd information b y subordinates, the agency sha ll de termine whether a r egulation 
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief 
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt, 
amend or  repeal a r egulation or to  take no action  and the  decision shall be  supported by it s findings on  the 
evidence and infor mation received; ( 4) Th e exact te xt and citation of such re gulation ad opted, am ended or  
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which 
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days 
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in it s final form in the 
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court 
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or 
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.
When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be 
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in th e pr eceding section, n o judicial r eview o f a regulation is a vailable u nless a 
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was 
published in the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING TIME

December 1 November 16       4:30 p.m.
January 1 December 15       4:30 p.m.
February 1 January 15       4:30 p.m.
March 1 February 15       4:30 p.m.
April 1 March 15       4:30 p.m.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF

Deborah A.  Porter, In terim Supervisor; Judi Abbo tt, Administrative S pecialist I;  Jeffrey W . Hag ue, 
Registrar of  Regulations; Robert Lupo , Printer; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J. Messina,
Print Shop Supervisor; Kathleen Morris, Administrative S pecialist I; Debbie Puz zo, Research A nalyst; Don 
Sellers, Printer; Georgia Roman, Unit Operations Support Specialist; Victoria Schultes, Administrative Specialist 
II; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative Specialist II.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed in the 
preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that issue of 
the Register in wh ich the  regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with  (Prop.); Final 
regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations that 
have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Proposed Amendments to the Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and

Comprehensive Plan to Revise the Human Health Water Quality Criteria for PCBs
in the Delaware Estuary, etc.............................................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.  154(Prop.)

DELAWARE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY
501 Regulations of the Delaware Solid Waste Authority.......................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  326(Prop.)
502 Statewide Solid Waste Management Plan........................................................ ......  13 DE Reg.  333(Prop.)

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION REGULATIONS
Proposed Recommendations for 2009..................................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.      7(Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund

502 Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations, Sections 4.0, 9.0 & 14.013 DE Reg.  496(Final)
Division of Animal Health and Food Products Inspection

304 Exotic Animal Regulations ......................................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.      8(Prop.)
Harness Racing Commission

501 Harness Racing, Rule 7.0 Rules of the Race............................................. ......  13 DE Reg.    17(Prop.)
501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations, Sections 7.0 and 10.0 ............... ......  13 DE Reg.  336(Prop.)

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
Rule 14.20 Toe Grabs........................................................................................ ......  13 DE Reg.     6(Emer)

 13 DE Reg.  151(Emer)
Rule 11.0, Entries, Subscriptions, Delegations.................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.  343(Prop.)

 13 DE Reg.  497(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Office of the Secretary

202 Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Procedures......................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  252(Final)
260 General Administrative Review Procedures for the Child and Adult Care Food

Programs of the United States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA.. ......  13 DE Reg.  345(Prop.)
501 State Content Standards............................................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.  256(Final)
502 Alignment of Local School District Curricula to the State Content Standards...  13 DE Reg.  257(Final)
705 Leave for Training Camp or Special Duty in the National Guard or the Military

Reserves of the United States .................................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  348(Prop.)
706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Active Duty Service in the Armed Forces.. 13 DE Reg.  349(Prop.)
718 Health Examinations for Employees of School Districts, Charter Schools,

and Alternative Programs............................................................................ ......  13 DE Reg.  351(Prop.)
742 Compensation of School District and Charter School Personnel Under Federal

Projects....................................................................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  443(Prop.)
746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching..... ........................... ......  13 DE Reg.  445(Prop.)
852 Child Nutrition ............................................................................................ ......  13 DE Reg.  353(Prop.)
1105 School Transportation............................................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  449(Prop.)

Professional Standards Board
1507 Alternative Routes to Teacher Licensure and Certification Program........ ......  13 DE Reg.  354(Prop.)
1512 Issuance and Renewal of Advanced License........................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  359(Prop.)
1590 Delaware Administrator Standards........................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  362(Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
State Lottery Office

460 Sports Lottery Rules and Regulations......................................................... .....  13 DE Reg.    24(Prop.)
 13 DE Reg.  406(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance

1915(c) Home and Community-Based Services Waiver for the Elderly and 
Disabled ...................................................................................................... .....  13 DE Reg.    93(Final)

Diamond State Health Plan 1115 Demonstration Waiver .................................. .....  13 DE Reg.  370(Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 4.19-a, Page 3, Reimbursement

Methodology for Inpatient Hospital Services................................................ .....  13 DE Reg.  373(Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 4.19-b, Page 14, Reimbursement

Methodology for Medicaid Services ............................................................ .....  13 DE Reg.  375(Prop.)
Title XIX Reimbursement Methodology for Medicaid Services .......................... .....  13 DE Reg.  259(Final)
DSSM 17900 Medicaid for Workers with Disabilities ....................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  371(Prop.)

17908 Unearned Income Exclusion....................................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  371(Prop.)
17911 Financial Eligibility Determination............................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  371(Prop.)
17912 Retroactive Eligibility.................................................................. .....  13 DE Reg.  371(Prop.)
20800 Determining Eligibility for the Acute Care Program.................... .....  13 DE Reg.  263(Final)

Division of Social Services
DSSM 1006.6 Civil Rights Program and Public Relations................................ .....  13 DE Reg.     7(Prop.)

 13 DE Reg.  150(Err.)
 13 DE Reg.  407(Final)

2001.1 Redetermination: Eligibility Review Periods.............................. .....  13 DE Reg.  378(Prop.)
3017 Other CMR Elements................................................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  450(Prop.)
4002.2 Available Resources.................................................................. .....  13 DE Reg.  378(Prop.)
4002.5 Excluded Resources.................................................................. .....  13 DE Reg.  378(Prop.)
4002.6 Disposal of Real Property.......................................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  378(Prop.)
9032.3 Utility Expenses......................................................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  267(Final)
9032.8 (Reserved) ................................................................................ .....  13 DE Reg.  267(Final)
9032.9 Continuing Shelter Charges...................................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  267(Final)
9032.11 (Reserved)............................................................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  267(Final)
9038 Verification for Recertifications and Interim Changes................... .....  13 DE Reg.  267(Final)
11003.7.8 Special Needs Children........................................................ .....  13 DE Reg.    97(Final)
11006.4.1 Absent Day Policy................................................................. .....  13 DE Reg.  100(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
305 Actuarial Opinion and Memorandum Regulation............................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  102(Final)
607 Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles and Motorcycles) ......... ............  13 DE Reg.  158(Prop.)

 13 DE Reg.  498(Final)
1212 Valuation of Life Insurance Policies................................................................. .....  13 DE Reg.  152(Emer)

 13 DE Reg.  409(Final)
1215 Recognition of Preferred Mortality Tables for use in Determining Minimum

Reserve Liabilities.............................................................................................. .....  13 DE Reg.  153(Emer)
 13 DE Reg.  410(Final)

1501 Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards.................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  270(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Division of Securities

Part H Provisions Applicable to Broker-Dealers, Agents, Investment Advisers and
Investment Adviser Representatives § 800. Senior Specific Designations.. .....  13 DE Reg.   48(Prop.)

Rules and Regulations Pursuant to the Delaware Securities Act....................... .....  13 DE Reg.  381(Prop.)
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009



CUMULATIVE TABLES 557
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Division of Air and Waste Management

1101 Definitions and Administrative Principles.................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.  411(Final)
1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories, 

Section 10................................................................................ .....  ...... ......  13 DE Reg.  165(Prop.)
1142 Specific Emission Control Requirements.................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.  382(Prop.)
1146 Electric Generating Unit (EGU) Multi-Pollutant Regulation....................... ......  13 DE Reg.  499(Final)
1301 Regulations Governing Solid Waste, Sections 4.0, 6.0, 7.0 and 10.0...... ......  13 DE Reg.  185(Prop.)
1302 Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste................................................ ......  13 DE Reg.  452(Prop.)

Division of Fish and Wildlife
3512 Winter Flounder Size Limit; Possession Limit; Seasons........................... ......  13 DE Reg.  386(Prop.)
3711 Conch Minimum Size Limits (Formerly S-48)............................................ ......  13 DE Reg.  387(Prop.)
3904 Seasons.................................................................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  458(Prop.)

Division of Soil and Water Conservation
5103 Delaware Coastal Management Program Federal Consistency Policies

and Procedures..................................................................................... ..... ...... 13 DE Reg.  461(Prop.)
Division of Water Resources

7401 Surface Water Quality Standards ............................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.  217(Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Division of State Police

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies ....  13 DE Reg.  229(Prop.)
 13 DE Reg.  502(Final)

2300 Pawn Brokers, Secondhand Dealers and Scrap Metal Processors.......... ......  13 DE Reg.  462(Prop.)
2400 Board of Examiners of Constables........................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  388(Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Controlled Substance Advisory Committee

Uniform Controlled Substance Act Regulations........................................... .....   13 DE Reg.   281(Final)
Division of the Arts

1001 Assistance for the Development of the Arts Regulations.......................... ......  13 DE Reg.  231(Prop.)
Division of Professional Regulation

100 Gaming Control Board
101 Regulations Governing Bingo.............................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.    49(Prop.)

 13 DE Reg.  412(Final)
102 Regulations Governing Raffles............................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.  107(Final)
103 Regulations Governing Charitable Gambling Other Than Raffles     .. ......  13 DE Reg.  107(Final)
104 Regulations Governing No Limit Texas Hold’em Poker ....................... ......  13 DE Reg.    49(Prop.)

 13 DE Reg.  107(Final)
 13 DE Reg.  412(Final)

1000 Board of Pilot Commissioners.................................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.  464(Prop.)
 13 DE Reg.  503(Final)

1700 Board of Medical Practice......................................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  236(Prop.)
 13 DE Reg.  284(Final)

1790 Acupuncture Advisory Council.................................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.  237(Prop.)
2500 Board of Pharmacy................................................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.    57(Prop.)

 13 DE Reg.  506(Final)
2700 Board of Professional Land Surveyors, Sections 12.0 Minimum Technical

Standards for Licences and 15.0 Reciprocity Eligibility .... ......  ............. ......  13 DE Reg.  244(Prop.)
2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers........................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  123(Final)
3500 Board of Examiners of Psychologists....................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  124(Final)
3600 Board of Registration of Geologists.......................................................... ......  13 DE Reg.  390(Prop.)
3800 Committee on Dietetics/Nutrition ............................................................. ......  13 DE Reg.   79(Prop.)

 13 DE Reg.  414(Final)
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Office of the State Bank Commissioner
2101 Mortgage Loan Brokers Operating Regulations........................................ .....  13 DE Reg.  468(Prop.)
2201 Licensed Lenders Operating Regulations................................................. .....  13 DE Reg.  468(Prop.)
2401 Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing......................................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  468(Prop.)

Public Service Commission
PSC Regulation Docket No. 60: Integrated Resource Planning for the Provision of

Standard Offer Service by Delmarva Power & Light Company.................... .....  13 DE Reg.  395(Prop.)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 61: Adoption of Rules to Establish an Intrastate Gas

Pipeline Safety Compliance Program ......................................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  416(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division of Transportation Solutions

2402 Delaware Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices, Parts 2, 6, and 9.. .....  13 DE Reg.  418(Final)

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
Delaware Economic Development Office

402 Procedures Governing The Delaware Strategic Fund................................. .....  13 DE Reg.  489(Prop.)
Office of Management and Budget

Freedom of Information Act Policy and Procedures........................................... .....  13 DE Reg.  493(Prop.)

STATE EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COMMITTEE
2001 Group Health Care Insurance Eligibility and Coverage Rules......................... .....  13 DE Reg.  126(Final)
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new 
text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it 
shall file n otice an d fu ll text of such p roposals, tog ether with cop ies of the  exis ting regulation b eing a dopted, 
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the  Register of Regulations pursuant to § 1134 of this 
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, 
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to 
any oth er regulations th at ma y be impacted or  affected by the proposal, and shall st ate the manner in wh ich 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be 
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such 
public he aring sha ll not be sched uled less than 20  days fo llowing publication of no tice o f the p roposal in  the 
Register of Regulations.  If a public  hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the ti me, date, plac e and a 
summary of the n ature o f the p roposal shall a lso be  published in  at lea st 2  Delawa re newspapers o f g eneral 
circulation.   The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for 
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
DIVISION OF ANIMAL HEALTH AND FOOD PRODUCTS INSPECTION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 7202 (3 Del.C. §7202)
3 DE Admin. Code 304

304 Exotic Animal Regulations

PUBLIC NOTICE

The De laware Dep artment of Agriculture re -proposes these regulations in  a ccordance with the  Gen eral 
Assembly’s mandate to enforce Chapter 72 of Title 3 of the Delaware Code and to specify the means by which 
citizens of the State of Delaware may obtain a permit from the Delaware Department of Agriculture to possess, sell, 
or exhibit, exotic animals within the state.

An earlier version of these regulations was considered at a public hearing on February 20, 2009 at 10:00 a.m. 
at the Department of Agriculture Building, Secretary’s Conference Room. Public comments were received at that 
time leading to substantive changes. Those earlier comments led the Delaware Dep artment of Agriculture to r e-
promulgate the regulations and to solicit a dditional public commentary. The comment period ended on August 1, 
2009.

As a consequenc e of receiving s till additional comment s from the public the Delaware Department of 
Agriculture again proposes these regulations and solicits comments from the public. Any such comments should 
be submitted to the State Veterinarian, Heather Hirst, DVM at the Delaware Department of Agr iculture, 2320 S. 
DuPont Highwa y, Dover, DE 1 9901 o n o r before December 1, 20 09. Cop ies o f the p roposed r egulations are 
available on request.

304 Exotic Animal Regulations
1.0 Authority

These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the authority of Section 7202 of Title 3 of the Delaware 
Code.
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2.0 Purpose
These regulations  go vern the permitting process, possession, sale, rehabilit ation and exhibition of 
exotic animals, i.e., liv e wild mamm als, hybrids of wild mammals, an d liv e reptiles not native to or 
generally found in the State of Delaware. The State Veterinarian or her or his designee shall have the 
authority to administer these regulations and shall be solely responsible for making the determinations 
required herein.

3.0 Definitions
"Accurate Desc ription of  the Exot ic" m eans the  na me, location, age, g ender ( when visible or 
known), markings/color, tattoo, identification tag, microchip and/ or other distinguishing characteristics 
of the exotic together with the name and residence of the owner or custodian.
"Adopter" means a person who becomes an owner or custodian of an exotic animal.
"Animal Att ack Pro tocol" means a docum ent th at outlines an owne r's or  custodian's actio n pla n 
should the exotic animal bite, injure or attack a human or animal.
"Carnivore" means a flesh-eating mammal, which possesses teeth and claws ad apted for attacking 
and devouring prey.
"Class of  Exotic" m eans e ach of th e f ollowing groups co nstitute a  se parate an d dis tinct c lass: 
Carnivore, Herbivore, Hybrid of a wild animal, Omnivore, Primate and Reptile.
"Custodian" means a  per son who  possesses or car es for  an exotic an imal. A cu stodian has 
immediate charge and control of the exotic.
"Department" means the Delaware Department of Agriculture.
“DNREC” means the Delaware Department of Natural Resource and Environmental Control.
"Emergency Ev acuation Pla n" me ans a written  do cument that ou tlines the  action s the o wner or  
custodian plans to implement in an emergency or ordered departure in order to provide for the exotic's 
welfare and the public's health and safety.
"Exhibitor" means a person who displays exotic animals to the public.
"Exotic" means a live wild mammal , hybrid of a w ild mammal, and a live reptile  not nativ e to or 
generally found in Delaware. An exotic animal is ecologically foreign to Delaware.
"Herbivore" means a mammal that feeds exclusively on vegetable matter.
"Hybrid of  a wild mammal" mea ns a mammal whose p arents are different va rieties of the same 
species or belong to different but closely allied species, one parent being a wild mammal not native to 
or generally found in Delaware and the other parent being a domestic mammal native to or generally 
found in Delaware.
"Nuisance" means an act or the threat of an action that unreasonably interferes with the health, safety 
or property rights of the community at large.
"Omnivore" means an animal which eats any sort of food, both animal and vegetable in origin.
"Owner" means a  person who owns an exotic animal. An owner has or  ho lds the exotic an imal as 
property.
"Permit Holder " means an owne r or  custodian of an exotic an imal who ho lds an applicable exotic 
animal permit.
"Person" me ans an y ind ividual, p artnership, co rporation, tra de or  pr ofessional asso ciation, fir m, 
limited liability  comp any, joint v enture, association, trust, es tate or any  other legal entity , and any 
officer, member, shareholder, director, employee, agent or representative thereof.
"Pet" m eans a n exotic a nimal th at is kept for interest, comp anionship an d amu sement and is 
associated with a household.
"Primate" means a mammal that b elongs to the h ighest order o f mammals including monkeys and 
lemurs.
"Purchaser" mea ns a per son who  becomes an  owner of an exotic a nimal by excha nge of cash, 
goods, or animals. A “ Purchaser” a lso means a person who becomes an owner or  custodian of a n 
exotic by adoption.
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"Rehabilitator" means a person who restores an exotic an imal to good condition by providing short 
term care.
“Relocate” means to move an exotic from a rehabilitator, a zoo, an agency or the Department to a new 
rehabilitator, a different zoo, or another agency.
"Reptile" means any co ld-blooded ver tebrate of the  class Reptilia including tur tles, lizards, snakes, 
crocodilians and tuatara.
"Seller" means a person who is en gaged in  the sal e or  trade of exotic animals for cash, go ods, or  
animals. Wit h t he exception of a reha bilitator or a zoo,  a “ Seller” a lso m eans a person wh o offers 
exotics through gifting or adoption.
"Secretary" means the Secretary of the Delaware Department of Agriculture or his or her designee.
"State Veterinarian" means the State Veterinarian of the Delaware Department of Agriculture, or his or 
her designee.
"USDA" means the United States Department of Agriculture.
"Valid Identification" (Valid ID) means a ph oto identification such as a Delaware driver's license, a 
State of De laware Id entification card, or  a  Pa ssport tha t in cludes th e n ame a nd address of the  
purchaser of the exotic animal.
"Welfare" means that the owner or custodian provides for the health and well-being, and safeguards 
the physiological requirements, of the exotic animal.
"Zoo" means a park or institution accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA) (or its 
designated successor organization) where: exotics are primarily kept in cages or enclosures for people 
to come and see; exotics are exhibited outside of the park to the public for educational purposes; and 
exotics are bred and studied by scientists.

4.0 The State Veterinarian Powers; Duties
4.1 The State Veterinarian is r esponsible for  administering and  enforcing these r egulations. The  S tate 

Veterinarian has the power to grant, deny, or revoke permits to own or have custody of exotics in this 
state.

4.2 The State Veterinarian is vested with the power to designate agencies to seize and when warranted to 
humanely destroy an exotic if necessary to protect the public health, safety, or welfare and to protect 
the health of othe r animals. The State Veterinarian or his/her agent can h umanely destroy an exotic 
without first notifying the exotic animal's owner or custodian.

4.3 The S tate Veterinarian will designate a list of exotic  animals that are exempt fr om th e pe rmitting 
requirement (regulation 6.1). The State Veterinarian will review the list and may add or delete species 
when suggested by the public through the rule making process and with sufficient documentation for 
the requested species. Pur suant to 29 Del.C. §10119, the State Veterinarian may change the list o f 
exotic an imals tha t a re ex empt fr om th e p ermitting requirement at a ny time in  r esponse to cur rent 
animal and human health and safety concerns.

4.4 The State Veterinarian will designate exotic  animals in the H erbivore and R eptile C lasses that are 
prohibited from being bred by Sales Permit Holders (regulation 7.5.2.10). The State Veterinarian will 
review the l ist and may add or delete species prohibited from being bred when suggested by the 
public through the rule making process and with sufficient documentation for the requested species. 
Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119, the State Veterinarian m ay c hange t he list  o f exotic a nimals in the 
Herbivore and Reptile Classes that are prohibited from being bred at any time in response to current 
animal and human health and safety concerns.

4.5 The S tate V eterinarian is cha rged with preventing the  intro duction an d sp read o f contagious and 
infectious diseases into and within the domestic animal population of the state, therefore:

4.5.1 The State Veter inarian can p rohibit activities by any  Permit c lass if there is  a threat  to domes tic 
animals in the state.

4.5.2 The State Veterinarian can prohibit Accredited Zoo Permit and Sales Permit holders from breeding 
exotics if there is a threat to domestic animals in the state.
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4.6 The State Veterinarian or his/her agents must be  allowed access to the  exotics a nd to the premises 
that house exotics. 

4.7 The State Veterinarian will not issue Individual, Exhibitor or Sales permit s for gila monsters , beaded 
lizards or komodo dragons.

5.0 Information and Reporting requirements for exempt and permitted exotics
5.1 All sellers of reptiles must advise pu rchasers in w riting that most reptiles carry Salmonella bacteria, 

which can be a source of human infection. The seller must present written information to the purchaser 
on sanit ation me asures that can d ecrease the  tr ansmission of Salmonella from ca ptive re ptiles to 
humans.

5.1.1 Failure to inform the purchaser, adopter or custodian in wr iting of th e Salmonella risk posed by 
reptiles an d to  provide wr itten sa nitation measures th at can decr ease the tra nsmission of 
Salmonella constitutes an offense punishable under 3 Del.C. §7203.

5.2 It is the  d uty of all governmental a gencies, veterinarians, vet erinary technicians, per mit holders, 
rehabilitators, and owners or custodians of exotics to promptly report to the State Veterinarian and the 
Department any contagious, infectious or zoonotic disease, agent or organism infecting or carried by
an exotic animal.

5.2.1 Failure to promptly inform the State Veterinarian and the Department of any contagious, infectious 
or zo onotic disea se, age nt or or ganism infecting or ca rried by an exotic an imal constitutes a n 
offense punishable under 3 Del.C. §7203.

6.0 Permit Exemptions; Permit Requirements; Permit Prerequisites; Waivers
6.1 The following exotics are exempt from the permitting requirement of the Department:

6.1.1 Mammals: Chinc hillas, Degus, Fe rrets, Gerbils, Guinea pigs , Hamsters, Hedgehogs, Mice, 
Norway rats, Possums, Rabbits and Sugar gliders.

6.1.2 Reptiles: Anoles,  Agamas, Asian Water D ragons, Bas ilisks, Bearded dragons, Chameleons, 
Geckos, Iguanas, Skinks (except the five-lined skink), Swift lizards, and Tegus. 

6.1.3 Exempt exotics are subject to the regulations 1.0, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0, 5.0, 11.4.6, 12.0, and 14.2.2.
6.2 Unless specifically exempt from the permitting requirement as presented in regulation 6.1, all persons 

who would  own o r h ave cu stody o f an exotic animal mus t first obt ain a permit issued by  the 
Department. To obtain the r equired permit from the Department, the p rospective adopter, owner or  
custodian of an exotic animal must:

6.2.1 Provide the D epartment with satisfactory proof that the exotic animal will be confined within two 
enclosures, designated herein as primary and secondary.

6.2.1.1 The primary enclosure shall be a pen, cage or other structure where the exotic will be kept 
and which must be of sturdy and escape-proof construction. The primary enclosure must 
be consistent in size, structure, lighting, temperature control, and ventilation according to 
the welfare standards prescribed in the scientific literature or in the USDA regulations for 
the species being enclosed. The permit applicant is required to demonstrate knowledge of 
enclosure and welfare standards for the species under consideration with the application.

6.2.1.2 The secondary enclosure must be sufficient to  prevent the e xotic an imal from escaping 
from the property of the owner or custodian should it be set free or escape from its primary 
enclosure. The  second ary e nclosure m ust e nsure th ere w ill b e no  ph ysical c ontact 
between members of the public and the exotic. The secondary enclosure must prevent the 
exotic from escaping the premises if it is out of its primary enclosure.

6.2.1.3 The holder of an Acc redited Zoo, Exhibitor or Rehabilit ator permit issued in accordance 
with r egulations 7.2, 7 .3, and 7.4  may r equest in  writing  that the  S tate Veterinarian 
consider waiving the en closure requirements set forth in r egulations 6.2.1.1 and 6.2.1.2 
because the exotic animal has unique enclosure requirements.

6.2.1.4 Shared enclosures:
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6.2.1.4.1 Accredited Zoo Permit holders are allowed to breed exotic animals in all classes in the 
State of Delaware in accordance with Regulations 4.5.2 and 11.4.2; therefore exotics 
permitted by the Accredited Zoo Permit may share enclosures.

6.2.1.4.2 Sales Permit holders:
6.2.1.4.2.1 Sales Permit holders are a llowed to  breed exotic anim als in the  Herbivore and  

Reptile class in the State of Delaware in accordance with regulations 4.5.2, 7.5.2.10, 
and 11.4.5; therefore exotics in the Herbivore and Reptile classe s prohibited f rom 
being bred must not share enclosures unless they are sterile or unable to reproduce 
and th ose e xotics n ot includ ed in the  prohibited fr om be ing bre d list may  share 
enclosures.

6.2.1.4.2.2 Sales Pe rmit h olders ar e n ot pe rmitted to  br eed Ca rnivores, Hybrid s of Wild  
Mammals, Omn ivores or  Pr imates; hen ce sh ared en closures for these Cla sses of 
Exotics are only for sterile exotics or exotics unable to reproduce.

6.2.1.4.3 All other Permit Class holders are not permitted to breed exotic animals; hence shared 
enclosures are only for sterile exotics or exotics unable to reproduce.

6.2.2 Provide the Department with a copy of an emergency evacuation plan upon request.
6.2.3 Provide the Department with a copy of an animal attack protocol upon request.

6.3 To obtain the renewal of an exotic animal permit, exotic animal owners or custodians must confirm the 
ongoing e xistence of all the  requirements se t forth at r egulation 6.2 an d mu st, in ad dition, a llow 
Department designees access to inspect the premises where exotics are located to confirm the health 
and humane treatment of the exotic.

6.4 Any ex isting permits issued by th e Delaware Department of Agricu lture will bec ome void sixty (60) 
days after the effective date of these proposed regulations and must be renewed in accordance with 
regulations 6.3 and 9.0 at no additional cost to the owner or custodian.

6.5 If an exotic was pre viously considered by th e Department to be  exempt from the permitting process 
and does not appear in se ction 6.1, then  a pe rmit is required. The initial pe rmit fo r the “ no longer 
exempt” exotic must be in accordance with Regulation 8.0. If the initial permit is obtained within sixty 
(60) days after the effective date of these proposed regulations, there will be no additional cost for this 
initial permit.

7.0 Permit Classes
7.1 Individual Permit

7.1.1 When an exotic is kept as a pet, the owner or custodian of the exotic must apply to the Department 
for an Individual Permit on a form supplied by the Department. Individual Permits granted by the 
Department shall b ecome nu ll and  void whe n the  owne r or  custodia n tra nsfers own ership or  
custodianship of the exotic to another person. The ow ner or  custodian m ust obtain a se parate 
Individual Permit for  each exo tic an imal kep t as a p et. A ba ckground check o f an  owne r or  
custodian applying for an Individual Permit may be completed by the Department.

7.1.2 An Individual Pe rmit is n ot tra nsferable, is val id for  thr ee years, a nd must be  r enewed in  
accordance with regulation 9.1.

7.1.3 When the owner or custodian of an exotic holds an Individual Permit for that exotic and he or she 
transfers ownership through gifting or adoption then he or she is not considered to be a seller and 
is not required to have a Sales Permit.

7.2 Accredited Zoo Permit
7.2.1 All zoos in Delaware must obtain an Accredited Zoo Permit which is not transferable.
7.2.2 All zoos in Delaware must be  in ke eping with th e Asso ciation of Zoo s a nd Aqu ariums (AZA)  

accreditation process.
7.2.3 An Accredited Zoo Permit is not transferable, is valid for five (5) years and must be renewed in 

accordance with section 9.2.
7.3 Exhibitor Permit
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7.3.1 All owners or custodians (with the exception of permitted Accredited Zoos located in  Delaware) 
that wish to present exotic animals for public viewing must obtain an Exhibitor Permit.

7.3.2 An Exhibitor Permit is not transferable, is valid for the calendar year in which it was issued and 
must be renewed in accordance with regulation 9.3.

7.3.3 A background check of an owner or custodian applying for an Exhibitor Permit may be completed 
by the Department.

7.3.4 Exotic Animal Exhibitors Duties:
7.3.4.1 Notify the Department within the sixty (60) day period prior to exhibiting exotic animals in 

Delaware;
7.3.4.2 Provide the Department with an annual inventory which includes an Accurate Description 

of each exotic an imal to be  exhibited. The inventory does not need to include exempt
exotics (r egulation 6 .1). If changes to the  an nual inve ntory p reviously pr ovided to th e 
Department occur prior to exhibiting in Delaware then notify the Department by e-mail, fax 
or writing of the changed inventory by listing the addition or removal of each exotic animal;

7.3.4.3 Provide the Department with the dates of exhibition;
7.3.4.4 Provide the Department with a list of exhibition activities;
7.3.4.5 Provide the Department with a p ublic health and safety p lan, an animal attack protocol, 

and an animal health plan upon request;
7.3.4.6 Show proof of exotic animal permits or licenses from the state or states where the exhibitor 

is based to the Department upon request;
7.3.4.7 Provide valid health certificates upon request;
7.3.4.8 When app licable ha ve a valid  DE b usiness license an d pr ovide pr oof o f same u pon 

request; and
7.3.4.9 Provide proof of knowledge of exotics' health, safety and proper care upon request.

7.4 Rehabilitator Permit
7.4.1 The Rehabilitator Permit must be obtained from the Department by an owner or a custodian who 

provides short term care and rehabilitation of exotic animals.
7.4.2 The applicant for the Reh abilitator Permit mus t prov ide docu mentation that he  or she holds  a 

Wildlife Rehabilitator Permit from DNREC.
7.4.3 A Rehabilitator Permit is not tr ansferable, is  valid for three years and must be renew ed in 

accordance with regulation 9.4.
7.4.4 A backgr ound check of an owner  or custodia n applying for a  Reh abilitator Permit ma y b e 

completed by the Department.
7.4.5 Rehabilitator Permit Holder's Duties:

7.4.5.1 By December 31st of each calendar year the exotic animal Rehabilitator must:
7.4.5.1.1 Provide th e Dep artment with a yea rly inve ntory of  ev ery e xotic cu rrently be ing 

rehabilitated. The inventory does not need to include exempt exotics (regulation 6.1). 
The inventory must include an Accurate Description of each exotic;

7.4.5.1.2 Request in writing permission from the State Veterinarian or his/her designee for an 
extension of the exotic's rehabilitation time when the exotic is carried over from the 
prior year's inventory;

7.4.5.1.3 Identify each dead, adopted o r relocated exotic from the p rior year ’s invento ry and 
note whether exotic has been relocated in the State of Delaware or outside the State 
of Delaware;

7.4.5.1.4 Identify ea ch e xotic n ewly ac quired du ring t he ca lendar ye ar en ding on  De cember 
31st. The identification should include: an Accurate Description, a brief explanation of 
the re ason ea ch e xotic animal was a cquired or  b orn a nd note whe ther the newly, 
acquired exotic remains in th e yearly inventory, has died, has been adopted, or has 
been relocated in the State of Delaware or outside the State of Delaware; and
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7.4.5.1.5 Include the adopter's name, address and when available, telephone and e-mail.
7.4.5.2 Provide the Department with a public health and safety plan, an animal attack protocol, an 

emergency evacuation plan and  an animal health, proper care and rehabilitation plan 
upon request.

7.4.5.3 Be limited to a maximum of twenty (20) exotic animals per Class of Exotic unless a written 
request to exceed the maximum number is approved by the State Veterinarian within sixty 
(60) days of exceeding the maximum.

7.4.5.4 The rehabilit ator must require at the time of an ex otic's ad option that the adopter has 
obtained the appropriate class of Exotic Animal Permit from the Department.

7.4.5.5 The rehabilitator must verify at the time of the exotic's adoption that the adopter's name 
and address on a Valid Identification card is the same as noted on the appropriate class of 
Exotic Animal Permit presented.

7.4.5.6 Provide the adopter with written information regarding the exotic's enclosure, proper care, 
nutrition and welfare requirements.

7.4.5.7 The rehabilitator must inform the adopter that there may be county, city, local laws, rules 
and regulations that may govern or proscribe the possession of exotics in their area.

7.4.5.8 If the adopter resides out side the S tate of Delaware, the rehabilit ator must maintain a 
record of th e inter state tra nsfer of owne rship, in cluding ado pter's add ress; and the 
rehabilitator is responsible fo r notifying the approp riate st ate veterina rian's of fice or 
applicable state agency.

7.4.5.9 Keep a record of the adopter's name, address and when available, telephone and e-mail 
for three years.

7.4.6 Adopters of Rehabilitated Exotics ; Duties : When an adopter proposes to become an ow ner or 
custodian of an exotic that requires permitting by the Department the following conditions prior to 
becoming an owner/custodian must be met:

7.4.6.1 The adopter m ust o btain th e appropriate c lass o f E xotic An imal Permit fr om the 
Department prior to the time of the exotic's adoption.

7.4.6.2 The adopter must present to the rehabilitator at the time of the exotic's adoption a Valid ID 
with the same name and address that are on the Exotic Animal Permit.

7.5 Sales Permit
7.5.1 Owners o r c ustodians th at se ll exotics in Del aware or sell exotics from Delaw are to loc ations 

outside of Delaware must  obtain a Sales  Permit from the Department for  each Class o f Exotic 
sold.

7.5.1.1 A Sales Permit is not transferable, is valid for the calendar year in which it was issued and 
must be renewed in accordance with regulation 9.5.

7.5.1.2 Accredited Zoo Permit and R ehabilitator Permit holders are not required to hold a Sales 
Permit.

7.5.1.3 Exhibitor Permit holders engaged in the sale of exotics are required to hold a Sales Permit 
in accordance with regulations 7.5, 8.5, and 9.5.

7.5.1.4 With the exception stated in regulation 7.1.3, Individual Permit holders engaged in the sale 
of exotics or the breeding of exotics in the Herbivore or Reptile class are required to hold a 
Sales Permit in accordance with regulations 7.5, 8.5, and 9.5.

7.5.1.5 A ba ckground check of an owne r or  custodian app lying for a Sale s Per mit may be 
completed by the Department.

7.5.1.6 When applicable have a valid Delaware business license and provide proof of same upon 
request by the Department.

7.5.1.7 Notify the Department in writing by June 30 th each year of any exotic that was acqu ired, 
born or died since the  prior year’s (December 31st) inventory. This notification does not 
apply to exempt exotics (regulation 6.1).
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7.5.2 Seller's Duties- When an owner or custodian proposes to sell an exotic that requires permitting by 
the Department the following conditions of sale must be met:

7.5.2.1 The se ller mu st require at th e time of  the sa le th at the pu rchaser h as o btained the  
appropriate class of Exotic Animal Permit from the Department.

7.5.2.2 The seller must verify at the time of the sale that the purchaser's name and address on a 
Valid Identification c ard is the same as noted on the appropriate class of Exotic Animal 
Permit presented.

7.5.2.3 The se ller must p rovide th e p urchaser with wr itten in formation re garding th e e xotic's 
enclosure and welfare requirements.

7.5.2.4 The seller must no tify the purchaser that there may be county, city, and local laws, rules 
and regulations within the State of Delaware that may proscribe or govern the possession 
of exotics in their area.

7.5.2.5 The seller must notify the Department in writing of the purchaser's name and address, and 
when available, e-mail address or telephone number and an Accurate Description of the 
Exotic by the first of every month after the sale of an Exotic.

7.5.2.6 If the purchaser resides outside the State of Delaware, the seller must maintain a record of 
the interstate sale, including purchaser's address, and must notify the appropriate state 
veterinarian's office or applicable state agency.

7.5.2.7 A legible copy of the purchaser's sale record must be maintained by the seller for 3 years 
after the sale of the exotic animal.

7.5.2.8 The seller must attest in writing that all exotic animals put up for sale are in good health at 
the time of sale.

7.5.2.9 The seller of reptiles must be in keeping with regulation 5.1.
7.5.2.10 Sales permit holders are prohibited from breeding the following exotics in the Herbivore 

and Reptile classes:
7.5.2.10.1 Members of Herbivore class prohibited from breeding:

7.5.2.10.1.1 Herbivores whose average adult body weight of the species is g reater than 
thirty pounds; and

7.5.2.10.1.2 All rare and endangered species.
7.5.2.10.2 Members of Reptile class prohibited from breeding:

7.5.2.10.2.1 All members  of the Croc odilian group: Alligators, Caimans, Crocodiles, and 
Gharials;

7.5.2.10.2.2 All members of the Tuatara group;
7.5.2.10.2.3 All giant snakes when average adult body length of the species is larger than 

5 feet: Anacondas, Pythons and Boas;
7.5.2.10.2.4 All giant lizards: Monitors (Varanidae);
7.5.2.10.2.5 All giant tortoises: Aldabras and Galapagos; and
7.5.2.10.2.6 All rare and endangered species.

7.5.3 Purchaser's Duties. Whe n a purchaser proposes to become an owner or custodian of an exotic 
that requires permitting by the Department the following conditions prior to purchase must be met:

7.5.3.1 The pu rchaser must o btain the  ap propriate class of Exotic Animal Permit from the 
Department prior to the time of purchase.

7.5.3.2 The purchaser must present to the seller at the time of the sale a Valid ID with the same 
name and address that are on the Exotic Animal Permit.

8.0 Initial Permit Applications
8.1 Individual Permit. Initial applications must be filed with the Department prior to acquiring the exotic and 

prior to moving to reside in the State of Delaware with an exotic pet(s). Initial applications do not apply 
to exempt exotics (regulation 6.1).The State Veterinarian, for good causes shown, and upon written 
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request of the owner/custodian may grant an extension of time to apply for an initial permit. The pre-
purchase or pre-adoption fees required to obtain an Individual Permit for an exotic are non refundable.

8.2 Accredited Zoo Permit. Initial applications must be filed with the Department upon accreditation by the 
Association o f Z oos an d Aqu ariums, or it s success or a ssociation. A sin gle Accred ited Zo o Per mit 
covers every exotic an imal housed or kept at  the Zoo. The Accredited Zoo Permit application must 
include a current copy of the Zoo's on-going accreditation document and identify an inventory of every 
exotic animal by Accurate Description kept at the Zoo at the time of application. The inventory does not 
apply to exempt exotics (regulation 6.1).

8.3 Exhibitor Permit. Initial applications must be filed with the Department prior to exhibiting exotic animals 
in the State of Delaware. A single Exhibitor Permit covers every exotic animal housed or kept by the 
exhibitor. The application must include an inventory of ever y exotic an imal by Accur ate Descr iption 
kept at the time of application. The inventory does not apply to exempt exotics (regulation 6.1).

8.4 Rehabilitator Permit. Initial applications mus t be filed w ith the D epartment pr ior to rehabilit ating an 
exotic animal. A single Rehabilitator Permit covers  every ex otic animal housed or kept by  the 
rehabilitator.

8.5 Sales Permit. Initial applications mu st b e file d with  the De partment prior to th e sale of an y exotic 
animal and in accordance with regulation 7.5. Sales Permits must be obtained for each Class of exotic 
sold. If an exotic animal can be placed in more than one Class, the applicant need only apply for one 
class per exotic a nimal. The year ly Sales Permit request must include an  inventory of each exotic 
animal per  Class of Exotic animal id entified on th e Pe rmit App lication. Th e in ventory m ust identify 
every exotic an imal b y Accu rate Description of th e exotic stocked at th e business at th e ti me of 
application for the yearly Permit. This  yearly inventory does not a pply to exempt exotics (regulation 
6.1).

9.0 Permit Renewal
9.1 Individual Permits are valid for 3 years and must be renewed by March 31st of the fourth year.
9.2 Accredited Zoo permits are required to be renewed every fifth year by March 31st in keeping with the 

AZA a ccreditation sched ule. An u pdated in ventory must be sub mitted with ea ch pe rmit r enewal 
application.

9.3 Exhibitor Permits are required to be renewed as stipulated in regulations 9.3.1 and 9.3.2. An updated 
inventory must be submitted with each permit renewal application.

9.3.1 When a n Exhibito r is ba sed in  Dela ware or  ex hibits in  De laware o n a  custo mary basis ea ch 
calendar year, then the Exhibitor Permit holder must renew by December 31st of each year.

9.3.2 When an  Exh ibitor ex hibits in  Delaware sp oradically a nd no t e ach ca lendar yea r, th en th e 
Exhibitor Permit holder must renew within sixty (60) days prior to the initial exhibition. Such permits 
are only valid for the calendar year in which the permit was issued.

9.4 Rehabilitator Permits are valid for three years and renewal must occur by March 31st of the fourth 
year. The renewal applic ation must include proof of an active Wildlife Rehabilitator Permit iss ued by 
DNREC and an updated inventory.

9.5 Sales Permits for each class of exotic sold are required to be renewed on an annual basis and renewal 
must occur by December 31st of each year. An updated inventory must be submitted with each permit 
renewal application.

10.0 Possessing or Owning an Exotic Animal Without a Permit
10.1 When the Department determines that an owner or custodian of an exotic animal has not obtained the 

required pe rmit, or  ha s fa iled to  timely r enew a p ermit, the  De partment shall inform the o wner or  
custodian by mailing a letter to the owner or custodian's last known address of the legal requirement to 
obtain a p ermit. The owne r o r custodian will  th en ha ve te n ( 10) b usiness d ays fr om th e d ate the  
Department's le tter was maile d to o btain the required permit. The State V eterinarian ma y g rant 
additional time to o btain a pe rmit for good cause if p etitioned in writing  during the ten (10) business 
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days from the date the Department's letter. No permit will be issued if possession of an exotic animal is 
prohibited by other applicable statutes.

10.2 Failure to obtain a permit or to timely renew a pe rmit are grounds for the State Veterinarian to seize 
and dispose of the exotic without the administrative hearing contemplated by regulation 14.2 and/or to 
institute criminal proceedings in accordance with 3 Del.C. §7203.

11.0 Transporting; Permit Information Changes; Transfer of Ownership; Births and Deaths
11.1 If an exotic is to be moved from one location to another for any reason, the exotic shall be transported 

in a cage or other container that will be strong enough to prevent its escape while in transport, that will 
protect the  pub lic fr om physical con tact with the  exotic an d tha t m eets the  exotic's welfar e 
requirements.

11.2 All permit holders are required to notify the Department in writing within thirty (30) business days if they 
change their name, permanent address or other contact information and a failure to do so constitutes 
and offense punishable in accordance with 3 Del.C. §7203.

11.3 Transfer of Ownership or Custodianship
11.3.1 All permit holders are required to:

11.3.1.1 Keep written records of any change of ownership or custodianship of an exotic animal.
11.3.1.2 Make these records available to the Department immediately upon request.

11.3.2 Individual Permit holders that gift or adopt out an exotic in accordance with regulation 7.1.3 must 
notify the Department in writing within ten (10) days of the transfer of ownership or custody.

11.3.3 Rehabilitator Permit holders must be in keeping with regulation 7.4.
11.3.4 Sales Permit holders must be in keeping with regulations 7.5 and 8.5.
11.3.5 A fa ilure to  com ply wit h a ny o f th e d uties im posed by r egulation 1 1.3 co nstitutes a n of fense 

punishable in accordance with 3 Del.C. §7203.
11.4 Births and Deaths

11.4.1 Individual Permit holders must notify the Department of the birth(s) or death(s) of each exotic by 
the first of every month. 

11.4.1.1 In the instance of unplanned birth(s) of exotic(s), the Individual Permit holder must obtain a 
permit for each exotic in keeping with regulations 7.1 and 8.1.

11.4.1.2 If an exotic is pregnant when purchased and gives birth then the Individual Permit holder 
must obtain a permit for each exotic in keeping with regulations 7.1 and 8.1.

11.4.2 Accredited Zoo Permit holders may breed exotics in keeping regulation 4.5.2.
11.4.3 Exhibitor Permit holders who are based in Delaware must notify the Department of any birth(s) or 

death(s) of each exotic by the first of every month.
11.4.4 Rehabilitator Permit Holders must be in keeping with regulations 7.4.5.1.3, 7.4.5.1.4 and 9.4.
11.4.5 Sales Permit holders are limited to breeding the following classes: Reptile and Herbivore and must 

be in keeping with regulations 4.5.2, 7.5.1.7, 7.5.2.10, 8.5, and 9.5.
11.4.6 Exotics exempt from permitting in accordance with regulation 6.1:

11.4.6.1 May be bred; and
11.4.6.2 Births and deaths do not need to be reported to the Department. 

12.0 Nuisances Prohibited
No exotic, whether exempt from permitting in accordance with regulation 6.1 or requiring permitting in 
accordance with regulations 6.2 and 6.3 (i.e., exempt or not exempt), may become a nuisance. Any 
exotic, exempt or not exempt, that is an immediate threat and/or poses a risk of danger to the public 
may be su bject to  s eizure a nd destruction in  accordance with regulation 4 .2 a nd witho ut th e 
administrative hearing contemplated by regulation 14.2.
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13.0 Escape, Loss, and Release
When an exotic requiring permitting in accordance with these regulations escapes or is lo st from its 
enclosures, th e owner or cu stodian o f said e xotic must n otify t he D epartment and the appropriate 
animal control agency of the escape/loss as soon as possible but no later then three (3) days after first 
learning of the escape or loss. The owner or custodian of an escaped or lost exotic has a duty to offer 
assistance to r ecapture th e exotic and  must reimburse th e Dep artment for  any expe nses it in curs 
associated with recapturing the exotic including damage to persons, animals or property. It is unlawful 
to release an exotic requiring permitting in accordance with these regulations. If the Department is not 
notified by th e owner or  custodian of th e escape  or loss within  aforementioned th ree (3 ) days, the 
exotic shall be presumed to be released unlawfully. A failure to comply with this provision constitutes 
an offense punishable in accordance with 3 Del.C. §7203.

14.0 Permit Denials and Revocations; Administrative Hearings; Appeals
14.1 The State V eterinarian or h is/her designee ma y de ny or revoke an initia l a pplication, r enewal 

application, or a pe rmit for good cause. Reasons for denials or revocations may include, but are not 
limited to the following: a zoo los ing its accreditation; an exo tic animal biting, maiming, or injur ing a 
human; an exotic animal escaping from its enclosures; release of an exotic animal; failure to require 
and verify that a purchaser/adopter has ob tained the appropriate class o f Exotic An imal Permit from 
the Department prior to the time of purchase/adoption of the Exotic; failure to notify the Department of 
the t ransfer o r sale o f any exotic an imal; exotic an imals be ing b red or  reproducing by Permit class 
holders no t p ermitted to br eed exotics; failu re to notify the D epartment of t he b irth or  de ath of an  
exotic; fa ilure to keep copies of sales records for three years; failure to perform the duties stated in 
these regulations; failure to promptly report any contagious, infectious, or zoonotic disease, agent or 
organism concerns; pr ior an imal cruelty vio lations; and the  applicant/permit ho lder fails to maint ain 
enclosure, proper care, nutrition and welfare standards.

14.2 Administrative He aring: Th e o wner or  custo dian o f a n e xotic animal ma y appeal fr om the S tate 
Veterinarian's de terminations pu rsuant to  regulation 14.1 b y re questing an  Administrative Hea ring 
before the Secretary or his or her designee.

14.2.1 Whenever th e St ate Ve terinarian pr oposes to  re voke a p ermit or de ny an  app lication for a ny 
reason other than that the exotic poses an immediate and unreasonable risk of harm to the public, 
the Depa rtment shall first g ive written  notice to  t he pe rmit h older or  ap plicant o f th e St ate 
Veterinarian's determination. The written notice shall inform the permit holder or applicant that he 
or she has the right to challenge the determination and to request a hearing before the Secretary 
of the Department or his or her designee. A request for an administrative hearing must be made in 
writing and must be received by the Department within ten (10) business days of the date of the 
written notice to such permit holder or applicant; otherwise, the State Veterinarian's determination 
becomes final. The hearing shall be informal, and the technical rules of evidence shall not apply. 
The administrative hearing shall be scheduled by the Department as soon as practical, but in no 
event more than thirty (30) business days after receiving the written request for an administrative 
hearing.

14.2.2 Whenever the State Veterinarian determines that an exotic, whether exempt or not exempt, poses 
an immediate and unreasonable risk of harm to public health and safety or domestic animal health, 
the same exotic is subject to immediate seizure and possible destruction. In such circumstances 
no ad ministrative h earing is ava ilable to  th e applicant/permit ho lder or  owne r/custodian to  
challenge the State Veterinarian's determination.

14.2.3 Administrative hearings shall be recorded. The Secretary or his or her designee shall render his or 
her de cision in w riting to  all in terested pa rties with in sixty (6 0) d ays of  th e d ate of  th e 
administrative hearing.

14.3 Appeals shall be on the record to the Superior Court of the State of Delaware.
13 DE Reg. 8 (07/01/09) (Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 609

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

609 District and School Based Intervention Services

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend14 DE Admin. Code 609 District and School Based Intervention 

Services with only format changes a nd references to th e revised Children with Disabilities regulations . This 
regulation is p art o f the five-year re view cycle. The  Department re cognizes th e on- going wor k of the House 
Resolution 22  Task Force that is r eviewing laws and regulations re lated to sch ool disciplin e. The Dep artment 
intends to make revisions to this regulation based on the outcomes of this task force.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or 
before De cember 2, 2009 t o Su san Ha berstroh, Ed ucation Asso ciate, Re gulation Review , Dep artment of 
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the 
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievem ent as meas ured against state achievement 

standards? The regulation add resses services for  students whose  behavior disrupts the classroom se tting and 
creates distractions that impede the learning process which has an impact on student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help en sure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation 
addresses services for disruptive behavior not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety  are adequately protected? 
The regulation addresses disruptive student behavior which could be a safety issue.

4. Will the amended regulation help to  ensure that all stude nts’ legal rights are respected? The amended 
regulation addresses services for disruptive behavior not student’s legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level? The amended regulation will pr eserve the necessary  authority and flexibility of dec ision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation  place unnecessary reporting or admi nistrative requirem ents or mandates 
upon decision makers at the local board and sc hool levels? The amended regulation will not plac e unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority  and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed 
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated will 
remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational po licies, in p articular to state educational p olicies a ddressing a chievement in  the  cor e academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The regulation will be consistent with and not 
an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies 
addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method fo r ad dressing the  purpose of the  reg ulation? Th ere is no less 
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.
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10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no 
additional cost to the State and to the local school board of compliance with the regulation. 

609 District and School Based Intervention Services

1.0 Provision of Services
Each school district shall provide services for students whose behavior disrupts the classroom setting 
and creates distractions that impede the learning process, but who are not eligible for placement in an 
alternative program pursuant to  14  DE Ad min. Code 611. School d istricts may offer such s ervices 
based on the identified needs of the district and its individual schools, subject to the requirements of 
this regulation.

2.0 Application for Funding
2.1 Any school district requesting an incentive or supplemental grant to provide intervention services shall 

apply for such funds using the LEA Consolidated Application process provided by the Department of 
Education.

2.12 Any incentive or supplemental grant approved as part of the LEA Consolidated Application process 
shall be in the amount appropriated for that purpose by law.

3.0 Student Population to be Served
Services funded under this regulation may be provided to any student in grades K to 12, subject to the 
terms of the district’s approved LEA Consolidated Application. Notwithstanding any of the provisions to 
the c ontrary, students w ith disabilities  shall be s erved pursuant to the prov isions in 14  DE A dmin. 
Code 925.

4.0 School Based Intervention Programs
4.1 If a district, through its LEA Consolidated Application, provides a School Based Intervention Program 

as part of  the ser vices p rovided to  disruptive student s, such Program shall meet the following 
requirements:

4.12 A Sch ool Based  Intervention Prog ram sh all includ e both sho rt term an d long  term inter vention 
strategies. Such strategies may include character education, short or long term counseling to improve 
behavior which impacts educational performance, and methods to identify the need to refer students 
for additional services either within the  distr ict or to o ther agencies. The Pr ogram shall a lso include 
support services to provide a smooth transition for students who are returning to their regular school 
from a Consortium Discipline Alternative Program or from a Department of Services to Children, Youth 
and their Families (DSCYF) setting.

4.23 The decision  to pla ce a student in th e Sch ool Ba sed In tervention Pro gram sh all be  made by th e 
student’s Intervention Team. The  In tervention Team shall include the building principal or  assistant 
principal, school nurse, counselor , social worker (if the  student receives social work services), and a 
teacher familiar with the student. Other individuals, including parents, guardians or R elative 
Caregivers, may be invited as appropriate. 

4.34 When placing a student with disabilities in a Sc hool Based Intervention Pr ogram, the Intervention 
Team and a student’s IEP team may be the same as long as the membership of the Intervention Team 
also meets the requirements of 14 DE Admin. Code 925 922 to 929.

5.0 Evaluation of Services
Any local school district receiving a grant pursuant to this regulation shall submit an annual evaluation 
report on the effectiveness of its District and School Based Intervention Services. Such report shall be 
submitted as p art of the L EA Consolidated Ap plication pr ocess and  shall co nform to conte nt and  
format standards.
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 735

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

735 Standardized Financial Reporting

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 735 Standardized Financial Reporting to be 

in alignment with the additional requirements of House Substitute No. 1 to House Bill No. 119 of the 145th General 
Assembly. Th e Dep artment so licited co mments fr om the  district bu siness managers and charter dir ectors an d 
made changes based on their feedback. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or 
before De cember 2, 2009 t o Su san Ha berstroh, Ed ucation Asso ciate, Re gulation Review , Dep artment of 
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the 
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievem ent as meas ured against state achievement 

standards? This regulation has been revised to ensure uniformity and transparency on the financial documents of 
districts and charter schools and does not specifically address student achievement as  measured against state 
achievement standards. 

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? This regulation 
has been revised to ensure uniformity and transparency on the financial documents of districts and charter schools 
and does not specifically address students receiving an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected? 
This regulation has been revised to ensure uniformity and transparency on the financial documents of districts and 
charter schools and does not specifically address student health or safety. 

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? This regulation has 
been revised to ensure uniformity and transparency on the financial documents of districts and charter schools and 
does not specifically student legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and s chool leve l? The amended regula tion maintains the necess ary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level. 

6. Will the amended regulation  place unnecessary reporting or admi nistrative requirem ents or mandates 
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation should not place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels. 

7. Will the decision making authority  and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed 
in the same entity? The amended regulation does not change where decision making decisions are made. 

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational po licies, in p articular to state educational p olicies a ddressing a chievement in  the  cor e academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation is not an impediment 
to other state educational policies. 

9. Is there a le ss burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the r egulation? The Department has 
asked for feedback from the business managers and charter directors and believes there is not a less burdensome 
method for compliance with the legislation. 
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10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are 
no specific costs identified with compliance with the regulation. 

735 Standardized Financial Reporting and Transparency

1.0 Purpose
The p urpose of this r egulation is to o utline th e cr iteria an d p rocess for  the  r equired st andardized 
financial r eporting pursuant to  1 4 De l.C. § 122 (b)(11); an d th e un iformity an d tran sparency in  the 
financial recording and bookkeeping practices of the school districts and charter schools pursuant to 
14 Del.C., §§1508 and 1509.

2.0 Definitions
“Charter School” shall mean a charter school board established pursuant to Chapter 5 of Title 14 of 
the Delaware Code.
"Delaware Educational Statistics Report" shall mean the annual reports maintained by the Delaware 
Department of Education related to financial and pupil information.
"Delaware Financial Management System or (DFMS) " shall mean the S tate of Delaware's system 
for managing financial transactions.
“District” shall mean a r eorganized school district or vocational technical school district established 
pursuant to Chapter 10 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code.
"PHRST" shall mean the State of Delaware's payroll system.
"State of Delaware Online Checkbook" shall mean the State of Delaware's official online checkbook. 
The online chec kbook provides the ability to view p ayment information by  state agency, expenditure 
category, or vendor. The data are updated on a quarterly basis.

3.0 Standardized Financial Report
Standardized Financial Report shall mean the summary of the District’s or Charter School’s financial 
documentation provided in a format approved by the Department of Education that includes, but is not 
limited to, the District’ s or Char ter Sch ool’s m ost cu rrent exp enditure an d re venue b udgets. This 
documentation sh all in clude e ncumbrances, exp enditures, and r emaining balances b y categ ory as 
prescribed in th e approved format. Distr icts and Charter Schools shall indicate on the Standardized 
Financial Report whether the most current expenditure and revenue budgets are preliminary, amended 
or have been finalized by its approving entity.

4.0 Uniformity and Transparency in Financial Recording and Bookkeeping Practices
4.1 Each District and Charter School shall be required to use the following:

4.1.1 Delaware Fina ncial M anagement Syste m or  su ccessor ther eof fo r a ll fin ancial tr ansaction 
maintained in that system;

4.1.2 PHRST for payroll purposes; and
4.1.3 All other financial reporting formats or templates as provided by the Department of Education.

45.0 Reporting Requirements and Timelines
45.1 Effective February 1, 2008, eEach District and Charter school, no later than five (5) fifteen (15) working 

days after the  m ost recent District or  Ch arter School board m eeting, sha ll po st the most current 
Standardized F inancial Rep ort on it s web site. Provided further, the District or Cha rter Scho ol sha ll 
provide the preliminary or final Standardized Financial Report for the current past school year, no later 
than January September 1st of each year.

5.2 Each District and Charter school shall provide a link on it s website to the S tate of Delaware Online 
Checkbook.
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5.3 Each Distric t and Charter school shall provide a link on it s websit e to the Delaw are Educational 
Statistic Report.

11 DE Reg. 918 (01/01/08)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 736

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

736 Local School District and Charter School Citizen Budget Oversight Committees

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
New Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code by adding a new regulation 736 Citizen 

Budget Oversight Committees pursuant to the requirements of House Substitute No. 1 to House Bill No. 119 of the 
145th General Assemb ly. The Department so licited comments fr om the  district business managers and charter 
directors and made changes based on their feedback.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or 
before De cember 2, 2009 t o Su san Ha berstroh, Ed ucation Asso ciate, Re gulation Review , Dep artment of 
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the 
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievem ent as meas ured against state achievement 

standards? This re gulation e stablishes oversight co mmittees for  th e fina nces of district s an d char ter scho ols 
pursuant to le gislative action and does not specifically address student achievement as me asured against state 
achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? This regulation 
establishes oversight committees for the finances of districts and charter schools pursuant to legislative action and 
does not specifically students receiving an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety  are adequately protected? 
This re gulation establishes o versight comm ittees for the finances of d istricts a nd char ter sch ools pursuant to 
legislative action and does not specifically student health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all student s’ legal rights are res pected? This regulation 
establishes oversight committees for the finances of districts and charter schools pursuant to legislative action and 
does not specifically address students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level? This regulation establishes oversight committees for the finances of districts and charter 
schools. The authority and flexibility of the decision making at the local board or school levels are preserved.

6. Will the amended regulation  place unnecessary reporting or admi nistrative requirem ents or mandates 
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? This regulation establishes oversight committees for 
the finances of districts or char ter schools. It is no t intended th at unnecessary re porting or  administrative 
requirements are imposed upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.
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7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed 
in the s ame e ntity? T his re gulation establishes ov ersight co mmittees fo r t he f inances of  th e dis trict o r charter 
school. The financial decisions making authorities do not change with this new regulation.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational po licies, in p articular to state educational p olicies a ddressing a chievement in  the  cor e academic 
subjects of m athematics, scien ce, language ar ts and  so cial stud ies? Th is r egulation est ablishes over sight 
committees for the finances of the district or charter school and is not an impediment to the implementation of other 
state educational policies, in particular, those addressing achievement in the core academic subjects.

9. Is there a le ss burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the r egulation? The Department has 
asked for feedback from the business managers and charter directors and believes there is not a less burdensome 
method for compliance with the legislation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are 
no specific costs identified with compliance with the regulation. There may be minimum costs related to the actual 
meetings, notices and any reproduction of material costs.

736 Local School District and Charter School Citizen Budget Oversight Committees

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to outline procedures, criteria and responsibilities related to the local 
school district and charter school Citizen Budget Oversight Committees required pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
§1508. The Citizen Budget Oversight Committee is solely established to oversee the financial position 
of the local school district or charter school it is assigned to oversee. The local school board or charter 
school board shall ret ain all policy a nd decision-making authorities granted pursuant to  Dela ware 
Code.

2.0 Definitions
"Certificate of Completion" means the document provided by the Department of Education indicating 
the individual has attended and completed the Citizen Budget Oversight Committee training.
"Charter School" shall mean a school pursuant to 14 Del.C., Ch. 5.
"Local School District" shall mean a reorganized school district or vocational technical school district 
established pursuant to 14 Del.C., Ch. 10.
"Trainer" means an individual approved by the Secretary of Education to provide the Citi zen Budget 
Oversight Committee training.

3.0 Committee Members for Local School Districts
3.1 Each L ocal Sch ool District sh all be  required to  establish a Citiz en Budget Ov ersight Co mmittee 

(Committee) no later than June 1, 2010. The Committee shall have access either electronically or in 
hard copy format to financial documents and financial information the Local School District has in it s 
possession and that are relevant to the financial position of the district, with redactions permitted only 
to protect confidential personal information regarding students or employees.

3.2 The Committee shall have at least five (5) members with representation from parents, educators and 
taxpayers residing in the district. In a ddition, where possible, the Committee shall have at least two 
members with formal educational or vocational backgrounds amenable to oversight of school district 
financial statements.

3.3 Each Local School District may establish its own policy outlining the Committee application; application 
deadlines; selection committee criteria; length of term (minimum 2 years); and specific responsibilities 
of its members subject to Department of Education approval.

3.3.1 The Local School District shall submit its policy to the Department within ninety (90) calendar days 
of the e ffective day of th is regulation. The As sociate Se cretary f or F inance and Ser vices shall 
review the  pr oposed policy a nd make a d ecision within fifte en (1 5) wor k days to approve or  
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request revisions. The decision to approve or request revisions shall be based solely on whether 
the policy includes the following criteria:

3.3.1.1 The policy provides a public notification component for the request for Committee members;
3.3.1.2 The policy provides the District Selection Committee membership requirements;
3.3.1.3 The polic y provides  the public  with the ex pectations or res ponsibilities of serving on s uch 

committee;
3.3.1.4 The policy provides the process for selection of a Chairperson; and
3.3.1.5 The policy provides the membership term length.

3.3.2 If the Department does not approve the submitted policy, the Department shall provide comment 
on re visions wit hin fift een ( 15) work d ays of  receipt of the p roposed po licy. Th e L ocal Scho ol 
District may submit a revised policy. If the rev ised policy is not subsequently approved, the Local 
School District shall follow the Department p olicy. In a ddition, a Local Schoo l Distr ict may n ot 
resubmit a policy for approval more than one time during a fiscal year.

3.3.3 If the Local School District decides not to establish its own policy or if the policy is not approved by 
the Department, the Local School District shall be subject to the following process:

3.3.3.1 Use the  application form as developed and approved by the Department of Ed ucation that 
delineates standard application language and additional information that includes, but not 
limited to, the following:

3.3.3.1.1 Membership pursuant to 3.2;
3.3.3.1.2 Chairperson to be selected from the membership of the committee with a majority of 

vote;
3.3.3.1.3 Term len gth of two  (2 ) year s with o ption to h ave the  term exten ded base d on  the 

majority vote of th e existing me mbers of th e Comm ittee; h owever, a memb er may 
terminate his or her position upon written notice to the Chairperson; and

3.3.3.1.4 Experience and statement for reason for participation on the Committee.
3.3.3.2 Post the request for Committee members for at least fifteen (15) work days on its website and 

all school building main entrance doors;
3.3.3.3 Identify a Dis trict Selection Committee with a t least two educators from the district, one local 

school bo ard me mber, the  district’ s business manager o r su perintendent, a nd on e 
member of the local teacher’s union; and

3.3.3.4 Use the selection rubric developed and approved by the Department of Education.
3.4 Notwithstanding the ab ove, a Local Sch ool Distr ict with an est ablished citizen bud get over sight 

committee or similar type of citizen committee established for financial oversight may submit a request 
to the Associate Secre tary of Finance and Services for this established committee to be considered 
the Citizen Budget Oversight Committee pursuant to this regulation as long as the membership meets 
3.2 of this regulation. The request shall be made in writing and the Associate Secretary of Finance and 
Services shall respond within fifteen (15) work days whether to approve such established committee to 
meet the requirements of this regulation. New members shall be subject to the training pursuant to 5.1.

4.0 Committee Members for Charter Schools
4.1 Each Charter shall be required to establish its first Citizen Budget  Oversight Committee (Committee) 

no later  than June 1, 2010. The  Committee shall ha ve access eithe r electronically or  in hard copy 
format to financial documents and financial information the Charter School has in its possession and 
that ar e rele vant to the finan cial position of the district, with r edactions permitted only to  protect 
confidential personal information regarding students or employees.

4.2 The Committee shall have at least five (5) members with representation from educators and parents of 
students in th e sch ool an d re presentation fro m th e Department o f Edu cation. In  add ition, wh ere 
possible, the Committee shall have at lea st two me mbers with form al edu cational or vocationa l 
backgrounds amenable to oversight of school district financial statements.
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4.3 Each Char ter Schoo l ma y est ablish it s own p olicy o utlining the Comm ittee applicatio n; ap plication 
deadlines; selection committee criteria; length of term (minimum 2 years); and specific responsibilities 
of its members subject to Department of Education approval.

4.3.1 The Charter School shall submit its policy to the D epartment within ninety (90) calendar days of 
the effective day of this regulation. The Associate Secretary for Finance and Services shall review 
the pr oposed policy a nd make a d ecision within  fi fteen ( 15) wo rk da ys to ap prove o r r equest 
revisions. The decision to approve or request revisions shall be based solely on whether the policy 
includes the following criteria:

4.3.1.1 The policy provides a public notification component for the request for Committee members;
4.3.1.2 The policy provides the Charter School Selection Committee membership requirements;
4.3.1.3 The polic y provides  the public  wit h the expect ations or res ponsibilities of serving on s uch 

committee;
4.3.1.4 The policy provides the process for selection of a Chairperson; and
4.3.1.5 The policy provides the membership term length.

4.3.2 If the Department does not approve the submitted policy, the Department shall provide comment 
on revisions within f ifteen (15) work days of receipt of th e proposed policy. The Charter School 
may submit a revised policy. If the revised policy is not subsequently approved, the Charter School 
shall fo llow the De partment policy. In a ddition, a Char ter School may no t resubmit a po licy for  
approval more than one time during a fiscal year.

4.3.3 If the Charter School decides not to establish its own policy or if the policy is not approved by the 
Department, the Charter School shall be subject to the following process:

4.3.3.1 Use the  application form as d eveloped and approved by the Department of Edu cation that 
delineates standard application language and additional information that includes, but not 
limited to, the following:

4.3.3.1.1 Membership pursuant to 3.2;
4.3.3.1.2 Chairperson to be selected from the membership of the committee with a majority of 

vote;
4.3.3.1.3 Term len gth of two  (2 ) year s with o ption to h ave the ter m exten ded based  on  the 

majority vote of th e existing me mbers of th e Comm ittee; h owever, a memb er may 
terminate his or her position upon written notice to the Chairperson; and

4.3.3.1.4 Experience and statement for reason for participation on the Committee.
4.3.3.2 Post the request for Committee members for at least fifteen (15) work days on its website and 

all school building main entrance doors;
4.3.3.3 Identify a Charter School Select ion Committee with at lea st two ed ucators from the school, 

one Charter School board member, the Charter School Principal, and one teacher within 
the Charter School; and

4.3.3.4 Use the selection rubric developed and approved by the Department of Education.
4.4 Notwithstanding the above, a Charter School with an established citizen budget oversight committee 

or simila r type  of citize n committee established fo r financial oversight may submit a r equest to the  
Associate Secr etary of Fina nce a nd Se rvices for  th is established com mittee to b e con sidered the  
Citizen Budget Oversight Committee pursuant to this regulation as long as the membership meets 3.2 
of this r egulation. The request shall b e made in writing and the Associate Secretary of Fin ance and 
Services shall respond within fifteen (15) work days whether to approve such established committee to 
meet the requirements of this regulation. New members shall be subject to the training pursuant to 5.1.

5.0 Citizen Budget Oversight Committee Training
5.1 The Citize n Bud get Ove rsight Co mmittee T raining (T raining) means th e e ducational p rograms 

developed b y th e De partment of Ed ucation for the local sch ool dis trict an d ch arter sc hool Cit izen 
Budget Oversight Committee members. This Training shall, at a minimum, consist of two (2) hours and 
cover the following topics:

5.1.1 Overview of education budget process and timelines;
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5.1.2 Instruction in th e b asic rules of  budgeting, inc luding State of Del aware fun ds, loca l fun ds, and 
federal funds;

5.1.3 State Financial Management System; and
5.1.4 Reporting requirements.

6.0 District School Board and Charter School Board Financial Responsibility Training Requirement
Each member of a Citizen  Bu dget Over sight Co mmittee shall attend an d re ceive a Certificate of 
Completion for the Citizen Budget Oversight Committee training within one (1) year of application and 
subsequent ap pointment to a  Citizen Bu dget Ove rsight Co mmittee. Pro vided further, ad ditional 
training may be required from time to time as determined by the Department.

7.0 Schedule of School Board Financial Training
The Department shall annually publish a list of date(s) for Training. The Training shall be conducted by 
a Trainer as defined in this regulation.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 851

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

851 K to 12 Comprehensive Health Education Program

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

851 K to 12 Comprehensive Health Education Program. The regulation was amended for formatting purposes and 
also cla rification on n ecessary com ponents o f the  dist rict a nd ch arter schoo l hea lth ed ucation pr ograms. In 
addition, clarifies that charter schools are subject to these program requirements.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or 
before De cember 2, 2009 t o Su san Ha berstroh, Ed ucation Asso ciate, Re gulation Review , Dep artment of 
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the 
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievem ent as meas ured against state achievement 

standards? The  amended re gulation does not address student achievement as measured aga inst st ate 
achievement standards. It pertains to health education in grade levels.

2. Will the amended regulation help en sure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation 
addresses health education not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected? 
The regulation helps to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected with instruction in the 
areas of health, family life, and drug-free schools. The amendment also adds training in fire safety education and 
evidence-based tobacco, alcohol, drug, and interpersonal violence prevention program.
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4. Will the amended regulation help to  ensure that all student s' lega l rights are respected? The amended 
regulation addresses comprehensive health education not student's legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level? The amended regulation will pr eserve the necessary  authority and flexibility of dec ision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulati on place unnecessary repo rting or administrative requirements or  mandates 
upon decision makers at the local board and sc hool levels? The amended regulation will not plac e unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed 
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated will 
remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational po licies, in p articular to state educational p olicies a ddressing a chievement in  the  cor e academic 
subjects of mathematics, sc ience, language arts and social s tudies? The amended regulation will be consistent 
with an d no t a n impe diment to th e imp lementation of ot her st ate ed ucational po licies, in  p articular to  st ate 
educational policies addressing achievement in the  core academic subjects of m athematics, science, language 
arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method fo r ad dressing the  purpose of the  regulation? Th ere is no less 
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no 
additional cost to the State and to the local school board of compliance with the regulation.

851 K to 12 Comprehensive Health Education Program

1.0 Program Requirements
1.1 Each school district and charter school shall have a sequential, skill-based K to 12 Comprehensiv e 

Health Ed ucation Pr ogram based on the  Dela ware He alth Education S tandards th at e stablishes a 
foundation of understanding the relationship between personal behavior and health and shall include 
at a minimum the following:

1.1.1 Identification of a district level person to coordinate the district program and a coordinator in each 
building to assure compliance at the building lev el. Each charter school shall identify a person to 
coordinate the program for the charter school.

1.1.2 Appointment of persons such as teachers, parents, school nurses, community leaders, guidance 
counselors, law enforcement officers and others with expertise in the areas of health, family life  
and safe and drug free schools and communities to serve as members of the District Consolidated 
Application Planning Committee.

1.1.3 The use o f the  state con tent sta ndards for  hea lth edu cation for  gr ades K to 12  inclusive of  to 
address th e cor e concep ts: tobacco, a lcohol an d ot her drugs, injury prevention and sa fety, 
nutrition and, physical activity, fam ily life and sexuality, tobacco, emotional personal health and 
wellness, mental , personal and consumer health and community and environmental health with  
minimum hours of instruction as follows:

1.1.3.1 In g rades K to 4, a  min imum of thir ty (30) hours in  ea ch gr ade o f comprehensive health 
education and family life education of which ten (10) hours, in each grade, must address 
drug and alcohol education.

1.1.3.2 In grades 5 and 6, a minimum of thirty five (35) hours in each grade of comprehensive health 
education an d family life e ducation of which fif teen (1 5) hou rs, in e ach gr ade, must 
address drug and alcohol education.

1.1.3.3 In gr ades 7 and 8 , sep arate fr om other subject ar eas, a min imum of  si xty (60) ho urs of 
comprehensive health education of which fifteen (15) hours, in each grade, must address 
drug and alcohol education. If all of the 60 hours are provided in one year at grade 7 or 8, 
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an additional fif teen hours of drug and alcohol education must be provided in  the other 
grade.

1.1.3.4 In g rades 9  to 12 , one  ha lf (1/2) cre dit of com prehensive he alth e ducation is r equired for  
graduation of wh ich fif teen ( 15) hours of th is 1/2 credit cou rse must address d rug and 
alcohol education. This 1/2 cr edit course may be provided in the 9 th, 10th, 11th or 12th 
grade. In ea ch of th e r emaining th ree gr ades, fif teen (1 5) hou rs of dr ug and  alcoho l 
education must be provided for all students.

1.1.4 Inclusion of a comprehensive sexuality education and an HIV prevention program that stresses the 
benefits of abstinence from high risk behaviors.

1.1.5 Inclusion of the core concepts of nutrition and family life and sexuality implemented through Family 
and Consumer Science courses.

1.1.6 Inclusion of research-based fire safety education in grades kindergarten through grade 6.
1.1.7 Inclusion o f an evidence-based tob acco, alcoh ol, d rug a nd interpersonal viole nce prevention 

program.
1.6 1.1.8 An annual staff development plan that describes tThe use of effective instructional methods as 

demonstrated in sound research in the core concepts and skills inclusive of accessing information, 
self m anagement, a nalyzing inte rnal a nd external influen ces, inter personal communic ation, 
decision making and goal setting and advocacy.

1.7 1.1.9 A d escription o f the method(s) u sed to implement an d e valuate the effectiveness of th e 
program which shall b e r eported every thre e yea rs a s part of the Quality Revie w fo r Ensu ring 
School and Student Success in the District/School Success Plan.

3 DE Reg. 1073 (2/1/00)
8 DE Reg. 1012 (1/1/05)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

 DSSM: Food Supplement Program - Decennial Census 2010

In compliance w ith the State's Administrative Procedures Act (AP A -  Title 29, Chap ter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Se ction 512, Delaware Health and 
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend the Food Supplement Program policies 
in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) related to the 2010 Decennial Census.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program & 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 by November 30, 2009. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the pro posed regulation will be based upon the 
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed 
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposal amends the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding the income disregards utilized 
in the inc ome eligibility dete rmination proc ess. Currentl y, individuals eligible for the Food  Supplement Program 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dss/index.html


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 581
(FSP) are allowed disregards for cert ain types of income in the determinati on of their eligibility . The proposed 
change will add a disregard for income earned from temporary employment with the United States Census Bureau 
in comp leting the 2010 Decennial Census. In the  past, the Census Bureau has successfu lly recruited program 
participants to help fill these vacancies, and wishes to do the same for the upcoming 2010 Census.

Statutory Authority
Section 17(b)(1) of the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, Research, Demonstration and Evaluation

Background
The Food and Nutrition  Service (FNS)  has of fered States the opportunity to participate in a  demonstration 

project to exclude  ea rned incom e fro m tem porary employment in the  2 010 Decenn ial Census. The se 
demonstration projects are intended to help ease program administration by aligning the Su pplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP) policy with Medicaid policies.

Excluding the earned income of temporary census employees assists the Census Bureau with staff recruitment 
and retention while allowing in dividuals with limited or  no employment history to gain valuable work exper ience 
without a red uction in SNAP benefits. Similar dem onstration projects wer e co nducted for  the  19 90 and 2 000 
Census.

Summary of Proposal
DSSM 9059, In come Exclusion s: Foo d and Nu trition Se rvice ( FNS) has a greed to a llow the  exclusion  of 

temporary income from the United S tates Census Bureau for Dela ware's Food Supplement Program. The rule  
excludes th e ea rnings of te mporary census emp loyees fro m t he U. S. Ce nsus Bur eau fo r the 2 010 Ce nsus 
Demonstration Project. The project expires September 30, 2010. 

The amendments a re a lso proposed to upd ate the list of reservations under Part B,  item  # 17; and, delete 
repetitive text under item K. Energy Assistance.

9059 Income Exclusions

[273.9(c)]

Only the following items will be excluded from household income and no other income will be excluded:
A. Any gain or benefit which is not in the form of money payable directly to the household.

This in cludes in -kind benefits a nd cer tain ve ndor p ayments. In- kind b enefits ar e tho se fo r which no  
monetary payment is made on behalf of the household and includes meals, clothing, housing, or produce from a 
garden. A vendor payment is a money payment made on behalf of a household by a person or organization outside 
of the household directly to either the household's creditors or to a person or organization providing a service to the 
household. 

Payments made to a third party on behalf of the household are included or excluded as income as follows:
1. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) vendor payments. Rent or mortgage payments 

made to landlords or mortgages by HUD are excluded.
2. Vendor payments that are reimbursements. Reimbursements made in the form of ven dor payments 

are excluded on the same basis as reimbursements paid directly to the household as described in DSSM 9059 (E).

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

I. The cost of producing self-employment income (See DSSM 9074.4).

(Break in Continuity Within Section)
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PART B - AMERICAN INDIAN OR ALASKA NATIVE

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

17. P. L. 99-146, Section 6(b), 11/11/85 - Funds distributed per capita or held in trust for members of the 
Chippewas o f Lake Superior ar e excluded fr om income and r esources. Judgements we re awar ded in Docket s 
Numbered 18-S, 18-U, 18-C, and 18-T.

Dockets 18-S and 18-U are divided among the following reservations.
Michigan:

Keweenaw Bay Indian Community (L'Anse, Lac Vieux Desert, and Ontonagon Bands) Wisconsin:
Bad River Reservation
Lac du Flambeau Reservation
Lac Courte Oreilles Reservation
Sokaogon Chippewa Community
Red Cliff Reservation
St. Croix Reservation

Minnesota:
Fond du Lac Reservation
Grand Portage Reservation
Nett Lake Reservation (including Vermillion Lake and Deer Creek)
White Earth Reservation

Wisconsin:
• Bad River Reservation
• Lac du Flambeau Reservation
• Lac Courte Oreilles Reservation
• Sokaogon Chippewa Community
• Red Cliff Reservation
• St. Croix Reservation

Michigan:
• Keweenaw Bay Indian Community (L'Anse, Lac Vieux Desert, and Ontonagon Bands)

Minnesota:
• Fond du Lac Reservation
• Grand Portage Reservation
• Nett Lake Reservation (including Vermillion Lake and Deer Creek)
• White Earth Reservation

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

K. Energy Assistance as follows:
(a) Any payments or allowances made for the purpose of providing energy assistance under any Federal 

law other than Part  A of T itle IV of the S ocial Security Ac t, including utility reimbursements made by the 
Department of Housing and Urban Development and the rural Housing Service, or

(b) A one-time payment or allowance applied on an as needed basis and made under a Federal or State 
law for the costs of weatherizing or emergency repair or replacement of an unsafe or inoperative furnace or other 
heating or c ooling dev ice. A down p ayment followed by  a final p ayment upon completion of the work  will be 
considered a one-time payment for the purposes of this provision.
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Federal or State one-time assistance for weatherization or emergency repair or replacement of heating or 
cooling devices are also excluded as income.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

S. The earnings of temporary census workers from the Bureau of Census is not counted as income for food 
stamp purposes effective April 1, 2000 through December 31, 2000 excluded for the Census 2010 Demonstration 
Project. The project expires September 30, 2010.

*Please Not e:  As  the  res t of  th e se ctions we re no t ame nded, t hey are  not  being pu blished h ere. A 
complete copy of the proposed regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/proposed/13 DE Reg 580 11-01-09.htm

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 314 and 1111 (18 Del.C. §§314 and 1111)

18 DE Admin. Code 901

901 Arbitration of Automobile and Homeowners' Insurance Claims

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAREN WELDIN STEWART, CIR-ML hereby gives notice of in tent to adopt 
amendments to Dep artment o f Insurance Reg ulation 9 01 relating to Arbitration. T he d ocket nu mber for  this 
proposed amendment is 1278.

The purpose of the proposed amendment to regulation 901 is to update the existing regulation to conform to 
statutory chan ges relative to h ealth insurance ar bitration and to p rovide for  the  p ayment of leg al ser vices to  
prevailing consumers in a rbitration cases. The text of the proposed amendment is re produced in the November 
2009 edition  of th e Delaware Register of Regulations. The  text can a lso be viewed  at th e Delaware Insurance 
Commissioner’s we bsite at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/
ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person can 
file wr itten comments, su ggestions, br iefs, compilations o f data o r o ther ma terials concer ning the p roposed 
amendments. Any wr itten submission in response to this notice an d relevant to the proposed changes must be 
received by the De partment of In surance no  later  than 4:00  p.m., Mo nday De cember 7, 20 09, an d shou ld be  
addressed to Mitch  Crane, Esqu ire, Delaware Department o f Insurance, 841 Silver  Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 
19904, or sent by fax to 302.739.2021 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

901 Arbitration of Automobile and Homeowners' Insurance Claims

1.0 Purpose and Statutory Authority
1.1 The purpose of this Regu lation is to implement 18  Del.C. §331, Ch. 23, and 21 Del.C. §§2118 and 

2118B by establishing the procedures for the arbitration of certain claims for benefits available under 
automobile or homeowners' p olicies or  ag reements, and/or th ose st atutes. This Reg ulation is 
promulgated pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§311, 2312, and 29 Del.C., Ch. 101. This Regulation should not 
be construed to create any cause of action not otherwise existing at law.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

2.0 Insurer's Duty to Arbitrate
2.1 Every insurer providing coverage or  benefits in this State fo r automobile or  homeowners' insurance 

policies sha ll sub mit to arbitration of cover ed claims (as defined by 1 8 De l.C. §331 and 21 Del.C. 
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§§2118 an d 21 18B) b y th eir insur eds u nless it is e xempt fr om a rbitration by the Insu rance 
Commissioner.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

3.0 Exemption from Arbitration
3.1 Insurers requesting exemption from the duty to arbitrate under a homeowners' insurance policy shall 

submit to the Insurance Commissioner the following:
3.1.1 A request for exemption from arbitration;
3.1.2 Copies or description of policies or plans for which exemption is requested;
3.1.3 A detailed description of its internal review or appraisal procedures;
3.1.4 Copies of documents to be provided to the insured describing its internal procedures including a 

statement that the insurer will be bound by a decision favorable to the insured;
3.1.5 A certification by an officer of the insurer with binding authority that the procedures described will 

be followed in all cases , that the insurer will be bound by a dec ision favorable to the insured and 
that all documents submitted are true and accurate; and

3.1.6 Payment of a non-refundable fee of $75.00.
3.2 The Co mmissioner sh all exemp t a hom eowner insur er fro m a rbitration un der th is Regulation and 

continue such exemption as long a s the  in ternal a ppraisal o r review procedures sub mitted under 
section 3.1 contain the following minimum requirements:

3.2.1 The internal appraisal or arbitration procedure is performed by a panel of at least three individuals 
with both insured and insurer to select an equal number. Those selected by the parties shall select 
another member wh o sh all p reside over the  p anel. However, neither the  in surer's assigned 
adjuster nor his or her supervisor may participate on the panel nor anyone under that supervisor's 
control;

3.2.2 The insured or h is at torney is p ermitted to  submit evidence and examine the adverse evidence 
and to appear before the panel prior to the time the matter is to be decided;

3.2.3 The insured is permitted to be represented by counsel;
3.2.4 The insured is informed as to the right to appeal, if any, an adverse decision;
3.2.5 The insured will be provided with at least 10 business days notice of all steps in the procedure. 

The decision will be made by a majority of the panel and must be provided to the parties, in writing, 
signed by the majority with a brief explanation of the reasons for the decision; and

3.2.6 The insurer will maintain complete records of the above for a period of three years for inspection at 
any time during business hours by the Commissioner or the Insurance Department.

3.3 The Commission er may suspend, r evoke or  refu se to con tinue a ny exemption af ter notice and  a 
hearing establishing viola tion of the above. The exemption provided above is n ot e ffective until the 
application ha s b een filed , r eviewed an d ap proved by th e Com missioner. The  Commission er may 
request reports from insurers from time to time on the above reviews.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

4.0 Exclusion from Arbitration
4.1 The following claims shall not be subject to arbitration under this Regulation:

4.1.1 Claims for which there is no jurisdiction under 18 Del.C. §§331 and 21 Del.C. §§2118 and 2118B;
4.1.2 Claims for which there is no policy coverage in force;
4.1.3 Claims that are already pending before any court;
4.1.4 Claims that arise under an insurance policy from a jurisdiction other than Delaware; or
4.1.5 Claims which ar ise under a hom eowners' po licy or  plan which has bee n exemp ted by the 

Commissioner under section 3.0.
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4.2 The Arb itration Se cretary or  Panel is auth orized to  dismiss a ma tter up on r eceipt of infor mation 
sufficient to establish that the claim is excluded under section 4.1.1 and after notice and an opportunity 
to respond is provided the petitioner.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

5.0 General
5.1 These Arbitration Rules sha ll be  con sidered applicable to a ccidents, insu red e vents, or losses 

occurring wit hin the limits of  the State o f D elaware regarding firs t and th ird party p roperty and PIP 
claims and to first party claims in other states or territories of the United States or to foreign countries 
as set forth in the insurance policy.

5.2 In arbitration proceedings and practice, the claimant who initiates the proceeding by filing a request for 
arbitration of a co ntroverted claim or issue with the Insur ance Commissioner shall be known as the 
"claimant," and the company or companies against which claim or claims is asserted shall be known 
as "respondent(s)."

5.3 Requests for  a rbitration with r espect to ho meowners' insu rance cove rage shall be in writing and 
mailed to the Insurance Commissioner within 90 days from the date an offer of settlement or denial of 
coverage or liability has been made by an insurer.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

6.0 Notice and Manner of Service
6.1 Notice a nd manner of ser vice, except ser vice of the original pe tition, is  sufficient and c omplete if 

properly addressed, upon mailing the same with prepaid first class U.S. Postage.
6.2 Service of an original Petition shall be by Certified U.S. Postage and return receipt requested or hand 

delivery to the respondent and is complete upon receipt by addressee or an employee in respondent's 
place of business.

6.3 The parties must provide a brief statement verifying the service of all filed papers with the manner, date 
and address of service.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

7.0 When Arbitration May Be Commenced
7.1 Arbitration may be  commenced after the parties have attempted to resolve the matter informally and 

the Petitioner has provided the opposing party with all reasonably requested information in Petitioner's 
possession or provided the opposing party with an opportunity to obtain such information.

7.2 The Panel may dismiss without prejudice the matter if it f inds that the Petitioner has not attempted to 
resolve the matter informally or has failed to provide the opposing party with  reasonably requested 
information.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

8.0 Commencement of Arbitration
8.1 An arbitration will commence upon the filing of a Petition and three copies, in acceptable form with the 

Commissioner's Ar bitration Secr etary with the  supporting d ocuments or o ther e vidence attached 
thereto and payment of the proper fee. The petitioner shall at the same time send a copy of the same 
Petition and supporting documents to the insurer or insurer's representative and a statement verifying 
service under section 5.0. The Arbitration Secretary may return any non-conforming Petition.

8.2 Within 20 business days of receipt of the Petition, the responding insurer ("Respondent") shall file a 
Response with thr ee co pies, in a cceptable for m, with  th e Ar bitration Secr etary with  su pporting 
documents or other evidence attached and payment of the proper fee. The Respondent shall at the 
same time  se nd a cop y of th e same  Response an d supp orting do cuments to th e Petitione r or  
Petitioner's r epresentative and  a st atement ver ifying se rvice un der se ction 5.0 . Th e Arbitration 
Secretary may return any non-conforming Response.
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8.3 If the Respondent fails to file a Response in a  timely fashion, the Arbitration Secretary after verifying 
proper service and notice to the parties may assign the matter to the next scheduled Arbitration Panel 
for summary disposition. The Panel may determine the matter in the nature of a default judgment after 
establishing that the Petition  is pr operly sup ported a nd was pr operly ser ved on  Re spondent. Th e 
Arbitration Secretary or Panel may allow the re-opening of the matter to prevent a manifest injustice. A 
request fo r r e- op ening mu st b e ma de no la ter tha n 5  busin ess d ays af ter notice o f th e de fault 
judgment.

8.4 Upon the filing of a pro per Response, the Arbitration Secretary shall assign and schedule the matter 
for a hearing before an Arbitration Panel.

8.5 The Insurance Dep artment will provide the approved  form of Petition or R esponse as they  may  be 
amended from time to time. The Parties are free to produce and use their own copies of those forms.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

9.0 Arbitration Panels
9.1 The Commissioner shall es tablish two types of Arb itration Panels. There shall be Panels established 

for automobile insurance claims and homeowners' insurance claims.
9.2 Each Pa nel sh all con sist of th ree me mbers of su itable b ackgrounds or  exper ience or  as may b e 

specified by statute, to be selected by the Commissioner. No member may serve on a Panel in which 
his employer or client is a party. Each Panel shall have a presiding member who shall be appointed by 
the Commissioner.

9.2.1 In th e case of automobile cla ims, each P anel shall consist of at le ast one Dela ware licensed
attorney as a me mber an d the b alance of the memb ers sha ll be Dela ware licensed insu rance 
adjusters and/or appraiser as defined in 18 Del.C. §1702(c)

9.2.2 In the case of homeowners' claim, the Panel shall consist of individuals of suitable expertise in 
evaluating such claims and may include Delaware licensed property appraisers or adjusters. One 
member of the panel shall be a Delaware licensed attorney.

9.2.3 In the case of health insurance cla ims involving the cer tification of treatment or procedure, one 
member of the panel must be a licensed health care professional in the relevant area of dispute.

9.2.43 A decision by the a Panel requires concurrence by at least two of the Panel members. The written 
decision shall be signed by the panel chair and shall reflect the votes of the members.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

10.0 Arbitration Hearings
10.1 The arbitration hearing shall be scheduled and notice of the hearing shall be given the parties at least 

10 business days prior to th e hearing. Neither party is re quired to appear and may rely on the filed 
papers.

10.2 The purpose of Arbitration is an attempt to effect affect a prompt and inexpensive resolution of claims 
after reasonable attempts by the parties to resolve the matter informally. Arbitration hearings shall be 
conducted in keeping with that goal. The arbitration hearing is not a substitute for a civil trial. In accord, 
the Delaware Rules of Evidence do not apply and hearings are to be limited, to the maximum extent 
possible, to each p arty being given the  opportunity to explain their view of th e previously submitted 
evidence in support of the pleading and to answer questions by the Panel. If the Panel allows any brief 
testimony, the Panel shall allow brief cross examination or other response by the opposing party.

10.3 The Arbitration Panel may contact, with  the p arties' consent, individuals or  en tities i dentified in th e 
papers by telephone in or outside the parties' presence for information to resolve the matter.

10.4 The Panel is to consider the matter based on the submissions of the parties and information otherwise 
obtained by the Pan el. The  Panel sh all no t con sider any ma tter no t con tained in  th e or iginal or  
supplemental submissions of the parties which has not been provided the opposing party with at least 
5 business days notice, except claims of a continuing nature which are set out in the filed papers.

10.5 Claims for reasonable attorney fees under 21 Del.C. §2118B, shall only be granted by the arbitrators
upon the  petitioner proving th at the insur er a cted in "bad faith."  prevailing without an arbitrator’s 
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dissent in all cases. Bad faith is an intentional, reckless or malicious indifference to the duties owed an 
insured, not negligence, carelessness or inadvertence of any degree.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

11.0 Subrogation Arbitration
11.1 Subrogation arbitration between or among insurers pursuant to 21 Del.C. §2118 is not subject to this 

Regulation and shall continue to be conducted through Arbitration Forums, Inc., or its successor.
 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

12.0 Arbitration Fees
12.1 Each party to an arbitration shall tender and pay the following filing fees for arbitration.

12.1.1 $30.00 for Automobile Insurance Claims; and
12.1.2 $30.00 for Homeowners' Insurance Claims.

12.2 The filing fees are non-refundable and shall only be returned when a c laim is determined to be 
excluded from arbitration. The prevailing party at arbitration is normally entitled to recover shall recover
their paid filing fees as costs. However, the Panel may, for cause, award the filing fee as costs as may 
be equitable.

 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

13.0 Appeals
13.1 Appeals from an adverse decision of the Arbitration panel shall be taken to the Superior Court of the 

State of Delaware by filing a Notice of Appeal with the Arbitration Secretary.
13.2 The Notice of Appeal must be filed  within 90 days in the case of claims for homeowners' insurance 

claims and within 30 days in the case of automobile insurance claims.
13.3 All further filings and proceedi ngs shall be in accordance with the Superior C ourt Rules  of Civil 

Procedure.
 5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

14.0 Eff ective Date
14.1 This r egulation, as ame nded, shall r eplace e xisting Re gulations 10  and  10 A in  th eir en tirety. This 

regulation shall become on March 11, 2002. Any health claims commenced under this regulation prior 
to the ef fective date of Re gulation 11 shall b e resolved in accordance with the provisions of 73 Del. 
Laws Ch. 96. This amended regulation shall become effective on January 11, 2010.

5 DE Reg. 1746 (3/1/02)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 314 and 1111 (18 Del.C. §§314 and 1111)

18 DE Admin. Code 1305

PUBLIC NOTICE

1305 Loss Ratio Filing Procedures for Health Insurers and Health Service Corporations for Medical and 
Hospital Expense-incurred Insurance Policies and Group Plans

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAREN WELDIN STEWART, CIR-ML hereby gives notice of in tent to adopt 
proposed Department of Insurance Regulation 1305 relating to he alth insurers, health service corporations and 
managed care organizations. The docket number for this proposed amendment is 1277.
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The purpose of the proposed amendment to Regulation 1305 is to create procedures and time lines for all rate 
filings made by insurers. The text of  the proposed amendment is reproduced in the November 2009 edition of the 
Delaware Register of Regulations. The text can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance Commissioner's website 
at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person can 
file wr itten comments, su ggestions, br iefs, compilations of  data or  oth er m aterials co ncerning the pr oposed 
amendments. Any wr itten submission in response to this notice an d relevant to the proposed changes must be 
received by the De partment of In surance no  later  than 4:3 0 p.m., Mo nday De cember 7 , 20 09, an d sho uld b e 
addressed to Mitchell G. Crane, Esquire, Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver L ake Boulevard, Dover, 
DE 19904, or sent by fax to 302.739.2021 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us. 

1305 Loss Ratio Rate Filing Procedures for Health Insurers and Health Service Corporations for Medical 
and Hospital Expense-incurred Insurance Policies and Group Plans and Managed Care Organizations

1.0 Authority
This regulation is promulgated and adopted pursuant to 18 Del.C. §314 311, 18 Del.C. Ch. 25 and 29 
Del.C. Ch. 101.

2.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to establish a format procedure for all rate filings made by insurers
pursuant to 18 Del.C. §2506(c), including therein the specific manner of calculating and certifying the 
loss ratio. Insurers Are Reminded That There Is at Present (1991) a $25 per Filing Fee Imposed.

3.0 Scope
This regulation applies to insurers, and health service corporations, and managed care organizaiotns, 
as defined under “Health Benefit Plans” in 4.0 below, that deliver or  issue for del ivery medical and 
hospital expense-incurred insurance po licies and p lans for  which ra tes submitted a ffect 20 or  more
residents of this State. The regulation applies to individual policies and plans and all group policies and 
plans that cover 24 or fewer persons. Any insurer or health service corporation having more than one 
group policy or plan that affects 24 or fewer persons must make a separate filing for each group policy 
or plan. A s ingle filing by an insu rer or health servic e corporation that purports to be an aggregate 
representation of loss ratio information for two or  more group policies or  plans is precluded by this 
regulation.

4.0 Definitions
4.1 For purposes of this regulation:

"Carrier" mea ns a ny en tity that p rovides he alth in surance in  this st ate. For  the  pu rposes of this 
chapter, car rier in cludes an  insur ance company, he alth ser vice cor poration, health main tenance 
organization, and any o ther entity p roviding a pla n of health insurance or health benefits subject to 
state insurance regulation.
"Certificate form" means the form on which  the certificate is delivered or issued for delivery by the 
issuer.
“Collected Premium” means the amount of premium that is unadjusted to reflect any changes in the 
rate level (e.g. reported or actual premium).
"Commissioner" means the Insurance Commissioner of this State.
“Earned Premium” means the amount portion of the total premium for each year in the experience 
period on a collected basis that corresponds to the coverage provided during a given time period. 
“Experience Period” means the number of years over which the adequacy of the rates presently in 
effect are tested.
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"Health Benefit Plan" is an ind ividual plan or group health plan that provides, or  pays the cost of, 
medical car e, includ ing but no t lim ited to gr oup health pla ns, hea lth insur ance issue rs, hea lth 
maintenance organizations, managed care organizations and health service contractors, as well as 
any combination of them.
“Incurred Losses” means losses that are (1) paid losses, and (2) losses that are incurred but not yet 
reported to the insurance claimants.
“On-Level Factors” means factors that are used to correct collected premiums for each year in the 
experience period to the current level.
"Policy Form" means the form on which the policy is delivered or issued for delivery by the insurer.
“Protected and Reserve Incurred Losses” means losses on claims that are still open.
“Rate L evel Histo ry” means th e ac cumulation of ch anges in th e ra te level showing th e ove rall 
adjustment required to bring premiums to the current level.
"Supplemental Rat e Inf ormation" shall me an any ma nual or p lan of rates, st atistical pla n, 
classification system, minimum premium, policy fee, rating rule, rate-related underwriting rule and any 
other infor mation ne eded to  dete rmine the  ap plicable p remium for a n in dividual in sured an d n ot 
otherwise inconsistent with the purposes of this chapter, as prescribed by rule of the Commissioner.

5.0 Contents of Rate Revision Complete Filings
5.1 Each r ate revision filing  which inc ludes the following  shall include be pres umed a co mplete filing, 

subject to requests for time for review as the Commissioner may make:
5.1.1 General Information

5.1.1.1 Name of insurer and domiciliary state;
5.1.1.2 Policy form name and number;
5.1.1.3 Name Number of insured individuals or insured groups and number in group;
5.1.1.4 Name of insurer's officer who is in charge of the filing;
5.1.1.54Amount of rate increase/decrease requested;
5.1.1.65Date filing was made;
5.1.1.76Other state(s) that have approved or disapproved the filing; and
5.1.1.87A written, notarized certification of insurer's officer that the filing is made pursuant to applicable 

laws, regulations and subject to all penalties and that the statements made in the filing are 
true and correct.

5.1.2 Experienced Loss Ratio In addition to the information listed above, the Commissioner shall identify 
by bulletin or circular letter additional information required to be included in a complete filing.

5.1.2.1 Earned premium reported on an actual basis;
5.1.2.2 Rate level history over the applicable period of time;
5.1.2.3 On-level factors;
5.1.2.4 Incurred losses on an actual basis;
5.1.2.5 Projected and reserved incurred losses (1) projection data underlying incurred losses, and (2) 

reserve data underlying incurred losses; and
5.1.2.6 Projected experience loss ratio.

5.1.3 Expected Loss Ratio Underlying Proposed Rates
5.1.3.1 Underwriting ex penses (1 ) in curred co mmissions a s a  p ercentage o f wr itten p remium, (2 ) 

general administrative expe nse incur red as a p ercentage of ea rned a t pr esent level 
premium (3) claims a dministration expense incurred as a p ercentage of actual incurred 
losses, ( 4) Delaware pr emium t axes, lice nses an d f ees a s a p ercentage of  writ ten 
premium, (5) underwriting profit provision expressed as a percentage of earned premium; 
and

5.1.3.2 Expected loss ratio.
5.1.4 Investment Income
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5.1.4.1 Estimated investment ea rnings on u nearned p remium r eserves and on loss rese rves 
calculated as follows:

5.1.4.1.1 Unearned premium reserve
5.1.4.1.1.1 Direct earned premium for calendar year ended_______
5.1.4.1.1.2 Mean unearned premium reserve_______
5.1.4.1.1.3 Deduction for prepaid expenses

5.1.4.1.1.3.1 Commission and brokerage expense_______
5.1.4.1.1.3.2 Licenses and fees_______
5.1.4.1.1.3.3 50% of other acquisition expense_______
5.1.4.1.1.3.4 50% of company operating expense_______
5.1.4.1.1.3.5 Total_______

5.1.4.1.1.4 (2) x (3)= _______
5.1.4.1.1.5 Net subject to investment (2) - (4)_______

5.1.4.1.2 Delayed remission of premium (agents' balances)
5.1.4.1.2.1 Direct earned premium (A - 1)_______
5.1.4.1.2.2 Average agents' balance_______ 
5.1.4.1.2.3 Delayed remission (1) x (2)_______

5.1.4.1.3 Loss Reserve
5.1.4.1.3.1 Direct earned premium_______
5.1.4.1.3.2 Expected incurred losses excluding underwriting profit provision_______
5.1.4.1.3.3 Expected loss reserves_______

5.1.4.1.4 Net subject to investment
(A-5) - (B-3) + (C-3) =_______

5.1.4.1.5 Average rate of return_______
5.1.4.1.6 Investment earnings on net subject to investment(D) x (E) =_______
5.1.4.1.7 Average rate of return as a percent of direct earned premium (F) divided by (A -1)

_______
5.1.4.1.8 Average ra te of r eturn a s a p ercent of dir ect ea rned p remium af ter fede ral incom e 

taxes_______
5.1.5 Indicated r ate le vel change reflecting investment income as  a c redit ag ainst un derwriting pr ofit 

provision.

6.0 Review Procedures
6.1 Subject to the provisions o f this sectio n, n o policy form rates  s ubject to th is regulation shall be 

delivered or issued for delivery in this state, unless they have been filed with the Commissioner.
6.2 The Commissioner shall re view and approve, provide notice of  deficiencies or  disapprove the initi al 

filing within thirty (30) days of receipt. Any notic e of deficiencies or disapproval shall be in writing and 
based only on the specific provisions of t he applicable statutes, regulations or bulletins published by 
the Commissioner ha ving the  force an d ef fect o f la w in  this st ate an d cont ained in the  document 
created by the Commissioner pursuant to 5.0 of this section. The notice of deficiencies or disapproval 
shall contain sufficient detail for the filer to bring the policy  form rate  filing into comp liance, and shall 
cite the specific statutes, regulations or bulletins upon which the notice of deficiencies or disapproval is 
based.

6.3 No completed filing described in this section shall be effective unless filed with the Commissioner not 
less than thirty (30) days prior to the proposed effective date. Such a filing shall be deemed to meet the 
statutory requirements unless disapproved by the Commissioner within thirty (30) days of receipt of the 
filing. No such filings  shall be dis approved, except on the basis that the rates are inadequate, 
excessive or unfairly discriminatory.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 591
6.4 A filer may resubmit a rate filing th at corrects any deficie ncies or resubmit a di sapproved rate filing, 
and a  re vised cer tification, within thir ty ( 30) da ys of its receipt of the Commiss ioner's notic e of 
deficiencies or disapproval. Any filing not resubmitted within thirty  (30) day s of the notice of 
deficiencies shall be deemed withdrawn. Any disapproved rate filing form not resubmitted within thirty 
(30) days is disapproved.

6.5 At the end of the review period, the rate is deemed approved if the Commissioner has taken no action.
6.5.1 The Commis sioner shall review the resubmitted filing and certification,  and shall approve or 

disapprove it within thirty (30) days. Notice of deficiencies or disap proval shall be in wr iting and 
shall provide a detailed description of the reasons for the disapproval in sufficient detail for the filer 
to bring the rate filing in to compliance and shall cite the spec ific statutes, regulation, or bulletins 
upon which the disapproval is based. No further extensions of time may be taken unless the filer 
has introduced new provisions in the resubmission, in which case the Commissioner may extend 
the time for review by an additional thirty (30) days. At the end of the review period, the rate filing 
is deemed approved if the Commissioner has taken no action.

6.5.2 The Commissioner may not disapprove a resubmitted policy form rate filing for reasons other than 
those initially set forth in the original notice of deficiencies or disapproval sent pursuant to section 
6.0.

6.5.2.1 The Commissioner may dis approve a resubmitted rate filing fo r reasons other that thos e 
initially set forth in the origin al no tice of deficien cies o r disapproval se nt pu rsuant to  
section 6.0 if:

6.5.2.1.1 The filer has introduced new provisions in the resubmission.
6.5.2.1.2 There has been a change in st atutes, regulations or bulletins published in this st ate 

having the force and effect of law, or
6.5.2.1.3 There ha s be en reviewer er ror an d the wr itten disapproval fa ils to st ate a spe cific 

provision of ap plicable statute, regulation or bulletin published by the Commissioner 
having the ef fect of law in this st ate that  is nec essary to have the rate filing form 
conform to the requirements of law.

7.0 Minimum Loss Ratio Guarantee
7.1 In order to use the Minimum Loss  Ratio Guarantee (MLR G) the company must satisf y the credibility 

definition:
7.1.1 The annual earned premium volume in Delaware under the particular policy form must be greater 

than two million five hundred thousand ($2,500,000) dollars.
7.1.2 This amount will be increased each year by the greater of 6.0% and the average heal th care 

premium increase from the Annual Health Care Costs Study for Major Metropolitan Areas.
7.1.3 The MLRG shall not apply to closed blocks of business.

68.0 New Policy or Plan and Rate Revision Filings
68.1 With respect to a new form rate filings and rate revision filings, benefits shall be deemed reasonable in 

relation to premiums provided the anticipated loss ratio or the end of the third year is at least as great 
as shown in the following table:

Renewal Clause*

Type of Coverage OR CR GR NC

Medical Expense 605% 5560% 5560% 50%

Loss of Income and Other 60% 55605% 505% 45%
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9.0 Minimum Loss Ratio Guarantee Option
9.1 Notwithstanding the other provisions of this R egulation, premium rates may be used upon  filing with 

the Commissioner of a minimum loss  ratio guarantee. An ins urer may not elect to use the filing 
procedure in this section for a rate filing that does not contain the minimum loss ratio guarantee. If an 
insurer elects to use the filing procedure in this subsection for a rate filing, the insurer shall not use a 
filing of premium rates that does not provide a minimum loss ratio guarantee for that policy form or 
forms.

9.2 The minimum loss ratio shall be in writing and shall contain at least the following:
9.2.1 An actuarial memorandum specifying the expected loss ratio that complies with the standards as 

set forth in this subsection;
9.2.2 Detailed experience information concerning the rate filing;
9.2.3 A step- by-step de scription of the p rocess u sed to  develop the  expe rience lo ss r atio, in cluding 

demonstration with supporting data from the original policy rate filing;
9.2.4 A guarantee of a specific lifetime minimum loss ratio, that shall be greater than or equal to the loss 

ration in 8.0;
9.2.5 A guarantee that the actual Delaware loss ratio for the calendar year in which the new rates take 

effect, and for each year thereafter until new rates are filed, will meet or exceed the minimum loss 
ratio standards referred to in 9.2.4 of this paragraph, adjusted for duration; and

9.2.6 A guarantee that the actual Dela ware lifetime loss ratio shall meet or exceed the minimum loss 
ratio standards referred to in 9.2.4 of this paragraph.

9.3 The insurer shall refund or credit premiums in the amount necessary to bring the actual loss ratio up to 
the guaranteed minimum loss ratio.

9.4 A Delaware policyholder affected by the guaranteed minimum loss ratio shall receive a portion of the 
premium refund or credit relative to the premium paid by the policyholder. The refund or credit shall be 
made to all Delaware policyholders insured under the applicable policy form during the year at issue if 
the refund or credit would equal ten dollars ($10) or more per policy. The refund or credit shall include 
statutory interest until the date of payment. Payment shall be made not later than one hundred eighty 
(180) days after the end of the year at issue.

9.5 Premium re funds o f less than ten d ollars ($10) per insured shall b e aggregated by the insurer and 
deposited into the State Treasury.

9.6 A guarantee that the actual Delaware loss ratio results for the year at issue will be independently 
audited at the request of the Commissioner.

9.7 Notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection, an insurer may amend the rate filing forms used 
before the effective date of this regulation to provide for a minimum loss ratio guarantee allowed under 
this su bsection fo r p olicies issued, d elivered, o r re newed on  or  af ter the  e ffective d ate o f th is 
regulation.

10.0 Rates for Large Groups
10.1 Rates for groups of more than 50 persons (hereinafter "large groups") shall be made in accordance 

with 18 Del.C. Ch 25.
10.2 Each carrier issuing a policy to a la rge group shall establish and maintain a com plete record of the 

rates employed, rate manuals, classification plans and all related materials needed for the carrier to 
determine the rate developed for the policy.

10.3 The carrier's records shall be maintained in a manner that readily allows examination as the Insurance 
Commissioner may require.

For individual Medicare supplement policies , the anticip ated lifetime loss ratio must equal at  
least 65%. For  group Medicare supp lement policies, the anticipated loss ra tio must equal at 
least 75%.
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711.0 Effective Date of Regulation
This regulation shall become effective on May 30, 1991 January 11, 2010.

DELAWARE COUNCIL ON POLICE TRAINING

Statutory Authority: 11 Delaware Code, Section 8404(a)(5) (11 Del.C., §8404(a)(5))

801  Regulations of the Delaware Council on Police Training

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Council on Police Training (COPT), pursuant to 11 Del.C. §8404(a)(14) and 29 Del.C. §10115 of the
Administrative Procedures Act, gives notice that it shall hold a public hearing on November 23, 2009 at 9:00 a.m.,
in the second floor conference room of the Delaware State Police Training Academy, N. DuPont Highway, Dover,
Delaware 19903. 

The COPT will receive written comments or oral testimony from interested persons regarding amendments to
the following COPT Regulations: 3.0 (Minimum Standards for Initial Employment); 5.0 (Minimum Standards for
Training); 8.0 (Re-activation Requirements of Police Officers); 11.0 (Firearms Training); and 25.0 (Substance
Abuse Screen), and to adopt a new Regulation 26.0 (Electronic Control Device (ECD) Training). The final date for
interested persons to submit written comments shall be the date of the public hearing. Written comments should be
directed to Captain Ralph H. Davis, III, Director, Delaware State Police Training Academy, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE
19903-0430. 

Any person wishing to make written or oral comments who would like a copy of the proposed regulations may
contact the COPT at (302) 739-5903 or write to the above address.

801 Regulations of the Delaware Council on Police Training

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3.0 Minimum Standards for Initial Employment
3.1 The applicant shall complete an application, the format of which has been approved by the Council.

(See Section IV. Forms)

3.2 The applicant shall be a citizen of the United States.

3.3 The applicant shall have reached his/her 18th birthday as a seasonal officer and his/her 21st birthday
as a full time officer.

3.4 A licensed physician shall examine the applicant, at the expense of the employing agency, to
determine that he/she is physically fit for normal police duties. The following shall be met,

3.4.1 The applicant shall be free from any major impediment of the senses.

3.4.2 The applicant shall be examined by a licensed ophthalmologist or optometrist and shall possess
acuity of vision of not more than 20/200 correctable corrected to 20/20 in each eye. with soft
contact lenses. The applicant shall have the ability to distinguish between the colors of red, green,
and amber; and shall have no pathology of the eyes. Applicant shall also possess acceptable
depth perception.

3.4.3 The applicant shall possess normal hearing in both ears per current standards.

3.4.4 The applicant shall have no communicable diseases.
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3.4.5 The ap plicant sha ll ha ve no p hysical defor mities, wh ich wo uld be d etrimental to p roper 
performance of police duties.

3.4.6 The applicant must pass a drug-screening test prior to appointment or attendance at an approved 
police basic training Academy. The standards fo r such drug screening shall be adopted by th e 
agency see king to em ploy the a pplicant; a t a minimu m, th ese stand ards must pr ovide for  
confirmatory testing in the event of an initial positive finding. The cost of the drug screening test 
will be absorbed by the employing agency. Urine tests will be conducted for the following drugs:

3.4.6.1 Amphetamines (speed, uppers, meth)
3.4.6.2 Barbiturate (barbs, downers)
3.4.6.3 Benzodiazepines (tranquilizers, Valium)
3.4.6.4 Cannabidiol (THC, pot marijuana)
3.4.6.5 Cocaine (crack, snow)
3.4.6.6 Methaqualone (quaaludes, ludes)
3.4.6.7 Opiates (heroin, smack, morphine)
3.4.6.8 Phencyclidine (PCP)
3.4.6.9 Designer Drugs (ecstasy)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4.0 Notification of Employment Status
4.1 The Council required that the Administrator be notified by the Chief of Police, in writing, within 5 days 

of the employment or termination of any police officer under his/her command. (See Section IV. Forms)

5.0 Minimum Standards For Training
5.1 Police Basic Training Course

5.1.1 In order for training to be accepted by Council on Police Training the training must be instructed by 
Certified Instructors as set forth in II-12.

5.1.1.1 Each applicant for the position of police officer in the State of Delaware must satisfactorily 
complete the Police Basic Training Course as prescribed in 11 Delaware Code §8405(a)
(Amended 07/08/93) prior to being given or accepting an appointment as a police officer.

5.1.1.2 The Council on Police Training has certified six agencies as approved police basic training 
academies. Those agencies are: The Delaware State Police; New Castle County Police; 
Wilmington Department of Police; Newark Police Department; Dover Police Department; 
and Delaware River and Bay Authority Police Department.

5.1.1.3 As a condition of maintaining their status as an approved police basic training academy 
during the tr aining p eriod for applicants for ce rtification a s police of ficers, e ach scho ol 
must conduct a minimum of one random drug-screening test on each such applicant. The 
cost of conducting one test for drug samples pursuant to th is section for  each applicant 
undergoing training, including confirmatory testing in the event of an initial positive finding, 
shall be  p aid b y th e Co uncil. Th e dr ug scr eening mu st b e con ducted accord ing to 
standards adopted by the agency conducting the  school; these standards must include 
confirmatory testing as described above.

5.1.1.43 Any ar rest for criminal and/or tr affic of fense, th e Co uncil on  Polic e T raining sh ould be  
notified within 5 days.

5.1.1.54 Person must meet PT standards of the academy to which they will be attending.
5.2 Waiver of Equivalent Training – RECIPROCITY

5.2.1 The Council on  Police Training may waive the requirement of attending an a pproved Delaware 
Police Training Academy for those officers seeking Delaware certification of  training after having 
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completed equivalent training out-of-state, and hav ing met a ll training considered indigenous to 
Delaware.

5.2.2 The Chief of Police of the municipality seeking waiver of training obtained in Delaware must submit 
to Council an application for Exemption from Mandatory Training.   (See Section IV. Forms)

5.2.3 The a pplication m ust be co mpleted in it s e ntirety and  su bmitted to the  Administrator pr ior to  
appointment by the requesting agency. The officer must enclose a copy of the certificate of training 
from the police academy, which provided po lice bas ic tra ining. The o fficer must also e nclose a  
copy of the curriculum from that academy which must include: description of courses taught; hours 
assigned to each course; and, a brief synopsis of the material taught in each course.

5.2.4 The Administrator will examine the equivalent training records and make a comparison with the 
Delaware Mandatory Requirements. Any areas not meeting Delaware Standards will be required, 
prior to submission of the waiver application to Council for consideration

5.2.5 If an applicant has completed an out-of-state Academy but was not employed as a po lice officer 
for 5  yea rs immediately following g raduation, th at a pplicant mu st attend a  Dela ware has no t 
worked full ti me in law enforc ement dur ing the five yea rs immed iately pr ior to the  date of 
application, that Applicant must attend an approved Academy in its entirety. If the Council should 
determine that the ou t-of-state training was in the main, deficient, it may deny  the waiver in its 
totality and require attendance at an approved Delaware police training academy.

5.2.6 If an applicant, upon review of their training, needs to ta ke more than 40% or 200 hours of the 
minimum number of hours of training in the state of Delaware, then they must attend a Delaware 
approved Academy in its entirety.

5.3 Annual required training to maintain certification
5.3.1 Each police officer, certified by the Counc il, w ill be required to complete 16 hours of in-service 

career related training annually.
5.3.2 In a ddition to the a bove 16 hours, the officer must  also recert ify in C.P.R., AED , and First 

Responders recertification as noted in Section II-16

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

8.0 Re-activation Requirements of Police Officers
8.1 Inactive Status

8.1.1 Whenever a police officer required to be certified by the Council on Police Training retires, resigns, 
or otherwise voluntarily or involuntarily leaves his or her employing law enforcement agency, the 
chief of the employing agency shall advise the Administrator of the separation in writing within five 
(5) business days of the separation and identify the circumstances of the separation.

8.1.2 Upon r eceiving n otice o f a police office r’s se paration fro m la w en forcement e mployment, the  
Administrator sh all p lace that in dividual o n inactive status in  which status he or  she  is n ot 
authorized to exer cise the p owers of a police officer u ntil such time  as he  or  she  mee ts the  
requirements for re-activation.

8.1.3 The Administrator may re -activate the  individual’s certification upon writ ten application from the 
individual tha t he or  she  has accep ted another full-time police position with a  law enforcement 
agency whose training is regulated by the COPT and provided that the individual is not the subject 
of a de-certification proceeding pursuant to 29 Delaware Code §8404(4) and the individual meets 
all other criteria for re-activation which the Council has adopted in Regulation 8.2

8.2 Re-activation Requirements
8.2.1 If not employed on a pe rmanent basis for a pe riod of less than 12  months, an individual must 

complete all in -service requirements ma ndated b y the Cou ncil pu rsuant to 1 1 Del.C.  Section 
8404(a)(5) prior to recommencing employment.

8.2.2 If not employed on a permanent basis for  a  period o f greater than 12 months but less than 36 
months, an individual must satisfy all minimum standards for initial employment established by the 
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Council. These include, but are not limited to, the following An of ficer must satisfy the following 
minumum standards:

8.2.2.1 Medical background including:
8.2.2.1.1 Medical history / physical examination form
8.2.2.1.2 Physicians affidavit
8.2.2.1.3 Weight chart
8.2.2.1.4 Substance abuse screen

8.2.2.2 The r esults of  a v alidated p sychiatric / p sychological te st a nd in terview, in dicating 
competency to perform law enforcement duties.

8.2.2.3 Current cr iminal hist ory r ecord c heck, inc luding f ingerprints o btained fro m th e S tate 
Bureau of Investigations.

8.2.2.4 Background investiga tion. S tandardized form ( IV-14) which  co nsists of a m inimum 
checklist.

8.2.2.5 All tra ining r equirements pr escribed by the Co uncil, in cluding, bu t no t limited to First 
Responder and Firearms recertification.

8.2.2.6 Firearms training.
8.2.3 If not employed on a permanent basis for  a  period of greater than 36 months but less than 60 

months, an individual must satisfy all minimum standards for initial employment established by the 
Council. These include, but are not limited to, the following An of ficer must satisfy the following 
minumum standards:

8.2.3.1 Medical background including:
8.2.3.1.1 Medical history / physical examination form
8.2.3.1.2 Physicians affidavit
8.2.3.1.3 Weight chart
8.2.3.1.4 Substance abuse screen

8.2.3.2 The r esults of  a v alidated p sychiatric / p sychological te st a nd in terview, in dicating 
competency to perform law enforcement duties.

8.2.3.3 Current cr iminal hist ory r ecord c heck, inc luding f ingerprints o btained fro m th e S tate 
Bureau of Investigation.

8.2.3.4 Background investiga tion. S tandardized form ( IV-14) which  co nsists of a m inimum 
checklist.

8.2.3.5 First Responder recertification
8.2.3.6 Complete a Firearms basic certification course.
8.2.3.7 Complete an academy basic criminal procedures, criminal law and traffic law course.
8.2.3.8 Complete a ny o ther ac ademic re quirement im posed b y th e De laware S tate Po lice, 

Director of Training, following a review of the individuals training records.
8.2.4 If not employed on a permanent basis for a period of greater than 60 months, an individual must 

satisfy all requirement s imposed by the  Di rector of the  Delaware State Police Training Div ision 
following a review of the individual’s training history and after approval by the Council.

11 DE Reg. 180 (08/01/07)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11.0   Firearms Training
11.1 Firearms training defined:  Weapons training conducted at a facility  and by an instructor certified to 

teach such subjects by the Council on Police Training.
11.2 Duration and curricul um: The curriculum will include classroom lec tures on us e of force, safety, 

nomenclature, ca re of we apons, police com bat tactics a nd ma rksmanship. Rang e instru ction 
emphasizes the practical application of police weapons related to actual combat conditions. The range 
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officer of the involved training facility will attest to the qualifications of the respective officer. The officer 
must qualify with his departmental issued weapon.  The officer must attain 75% 80% of the possible 
score.

11.3 Depending on the number of persons being trained, and considering the amount of experience, or lack 
of experience the training populat ion has w ith firearms, the training period w ill vary in time, but will 
consist of at least but not limited to 5 days.

11.4 Non-Qualification: Shou ld an of ficer initially fail to q ualify, tha t pe rson wou ld be permitted one ( 1) 
additional opportunity to attain certification. Scheduling for the additional attempt will be conducted at 
the convenience of the firearms officer. Under no circumstances, will an officer be permitted to carry a 
firearm on  duty unless cer tified as per  th e r equirements o f Se ction 840 4 of the Cou ncil on  Police 
Training.

11.5 As authorized by 8404(a)(5): In order to retain certification, all police officers in the State of Delaware 
must receive recertification in firearms proficiency annually. The recertification must be conducted by a 
Council on Police Training certified firearms instructor.

11.6 A minimum of three (3) re-qualification shoots per year, scheduled on at least two (2) separate days, 
with a t least 9 0 d ays between sche duled sh oots r equired. Of these three, the re will be  on e ( 1) 
mandatory “low light” shoot.  Simulation is permitted and it may be combined with a daylight shoot.

11.7 Each training session shall consist of one minimum standards re-qualification course. An additional 50 
rounds shall be fired for proficiency training.  This is a total of 100 rounds per shoot as a minimum.

11.8 The Chief of Police shall forward to the Administrator, documentation of annual firearms recertification 
for ea ch of ficer u nder h is/her command within  90 days of the anniversary date  of initial fir earms 
certification.  (See Section IV. Forms)

11.9 All tr aining am munition sha ll be  co mparable to  issued ser vice a mmunition in p erformance 
specification. Service ammunition  sha ll be colle cted annually and  replaced with  new. The collected 
ammunition may be used for training.  All shooting is to be completed with authorized/issued weapons 
and equipment.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

25.0  Substance Abuse Screen 
25.1 Requirements

25.1.1 All applicants for police officers, who come under the requirements of the Mandatory Training Act 
(Title 11, Section 8401-8410) and as part of their pre-employment screening, will be required to 
submit to and successfully pass a pre-employment drug test.

25.1.2 A random drug test will be c onducted, by and at, the discretion of the Ac ademy staff sometime 
during their mandatory training period.

25.1.3 Urine tests will be conducted for the following:
25.1.3.1Amphetamines (speed, uppers, meth)
25.1.3.2Barbiturates (barbs, downers)
25.1.3.3Benzodiazepines (tranquilizers, valium)
25.1.3.4Cannabidiol (THC, pot, marijuana)
25.1.3.5Cocaine (crack, snow)
25.1.3.6Methaqualone (Quaaludes, ludes)
25.1.3.7Opiates (heroin, smack, morphine)
25.1.3.8Phencyclidine (PCP)
25.1.3.9Designer Drugs (Ecstacy)
25.1.3.10Steroids

25.2 How Costs will be Absorbed
25.2.1 Initial pre-employment test costs will be absorbed by the employing agency.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009



PROPOSED REGULATIONS598
25.2.2 Random test costs will be absorbed by the Council on Police Training.
25.3 Testing Locations

25.3.1 As approved by the Council or Administrator.
25.42 Policy Procedures

25.42.1 A pos itive test at the pre- employment stage will mean the applicant has not met minimum 
qualifications (r equirements) a s e stablished by  th e Council o n Police T raining, under Tit le 11, 
Section 84 04(a)(1), of  the Delaware Code , ther efore a pplicant wou ld no t b e elig ible for  
employment.

25.4.2 A positive test during th e training period will res ult in immedi ate dismissal from the participating 
academy and notification to the employing agency.

25.4.32.2A positive test will be considered valid when confirmed by a second test procedure performed on 
the original sample.

25.4.4 Any additional disciplinary action will be the responsibility of the employing agency.
25.4.52.3If a pa rticular drug listed ab ove is inc luded in a p rescription that ha s be en pr escribed b y a 

physician and the test results in a positive reading then the following will be applied.
25.4.52.3.1 A formal letter will be obt ained through the licensed physic ian that prescribed the drug, 

stating the reason(s) why th at particular drug was p rescribed. The physician must also 
state if the drug will affect someone from performing the duties of a police officer and if the 
particular person the medication is prescribed to is fit for duty.

26.0 Electronic Control Device (ECD) Training
26.1 Electronic Control Device defined: A weapon wh ich uses propelled wires or fixed con tact points to 

conduct energy to a subject, thereby affecting the sensory and motor nervous systems of the body.
26.2 Electronic Con trol Device tr aining: T raining co nducted b y a cer tified in structor h olding th e 

qualifications to provide training related to the use and deployment of Electronic Control Devices.
26.3 Duration and Curriculum: The curriculum will include classroom lectures on the use of force, safety , 

nomenclature, potential hazards, medical concerns, care of subjects following ECD activation, care of 
the ECD, and scenario bas ed application.  At a minimum, the follo wing training requirement s will be 
fulfilled before an officer may use or deploy an ECD:

26.3.1 Complete a minimum of six (6) hours of instruction under the guidance of an instructor certified to 
provide instruction in the use and deployment of the specific ECD.

26.3.2 Pass a wr itten exam ination wh ich te sts the student’s kn owledge regarding the use an d 
deployment of the specific ECD with a score of 80% or higher.

26.3.3 Pass a functional test and demonstrate ability to hit a target two (2) times within a ten (10) second 
time period from a distance of eight (8) to twelve (12) feet using a laser sight. A student who does 
not demons trate this ability  shoul d participate in aiming drills  and then be pe rmitted another 
attempt to pass the functional test.

26.4 Annual r ecertification is r ecommended by the Co uncil, h owever, the decision to recertify and th e 
frequency of recertification will be left to the discretion of the chief of each police department deploying 
an ECD.

10 DE Reg. 341 (08/01/06)
11 DE Reg. 176 (08/01/07)

*Please Note:  As  the  res t of  th e se ctions we re no t ame nded, t hey are  not  being pu blished h ere. A 
complete copy of the proposed regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/proposed/13 DE Reg 593 11-01-09.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

100 Delaware Gaming Control Board
Statutory Authority: 28 Delaware Code, Section 1122 (28 Del.C. §1122)

10 DE Admin. Code 101, 103 and 104

PUBLIC NOTICE

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulations

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Delaware Gaming Control Board will seek public comments on the issue of whether its current Rule 3.11, 

Rule 4.3 and Rule 4.6 in 10 DE Admin. Code 101, and Rule 3.1.6 and Rule 6.1 in 10 DE Admin. Code 103, and 
Rule 2.2 in 10 DE Admin. Code 104 should be amended. Proposed Rule 3.11 would make it clear that when bingo 
is conducted at a carnival, festival or similar occasion which lasts for s everal days, it will be considered a single 
event. Proposed Rule 4.3 relates to the age at which persons may play bingo and the age at which they may assist 
in co nducting the g ame. Pr oposed Ru le 4.6 a djusts the li mit fo r cookie jar  bingo games. Proposed Rule 3 .1.6 
conforms to recent legislation in deleting the former prohibition against paying workers at charitable gaming events. 
Proposed Rule 6.3 makes it clear that the limit on the amount of money which may be lost in one day under recent 
legislation applies to each licensed event, and a new limit does not apply after midnight at a single event. Proposed 
Rule 2.2 is designed to make it clear that a parent entity and its auxiliary may conduct a total of up to five (5) Texas 
Hold 'Em tournaments in one year in combination and the limit does not apply to each separately. The current rules 
contain language which is now inconsistent with Delaware law.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on 
December 1 to: Delaware Gaming Control Board. 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, 
DE 19904. A cop y of th ese regulations is availa ble from the above address or ma y be viewed at the Division of 
Professional Regulation business office at the same address. 

C. Summary of Proposal
1. Currently, Regulation 101, subsection 4.3 states that persons under the age of 18 may not play bingo if the 

prize to be awarded is money. A statute now states that no one under the age of 18 may participate in a game of 
bingo at all. The Board wishes to amend its rule to state that no one under 18 may play in any bingo game, and to 
make the rule conform to the statute.

2. Currently, Regulation 1 01, subse ction 4.6 st ates that coo kie jar  bingo ga mes ma y n ot exceed  $50 0. 
Recent legislation changed the statute setting such limit to now provide that the amount involved in a cookie jar 
bingo game shall be set by the Board. The Board wishes to set the limit at this time at $1,000. 

3. Currently, Regulation 103, subsection 3.1.6 states that payment of workers is prohibited. This is no longer 
true because of a change in the governing statute.

4. Recently enacted legislation provides that in charitable gambling other than bingo, there shall be no limit 
on the amount a person may bet or win, excep t that no  person may lose more than $150 in a  single day. Since 
charitable gambling events can be played until 1:00 a.m., the Board wishes to make it clear that this limit applies to 
each licensed event and a person who has lost $150 during an event shall not be permitted to gamble again after 
midnight. The Board proposes to adopt a new subsection (6.3) in Regulation 103 to make this clarification.

5. Recently en acted leg islation a llows a  sponsoring organization to hold  up to five  T exas Hold  'Em 
tournaments per year. A sponsoring organization is the organization which comes within section 170 of the United 
States Reven ue Co de under th e Dela ware S tate Constitu tion. Th erefore, a spo nsoring o rganization an d it s 
auxiliary cannot each hold five tournaments a year. 
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101 Regulations Governing Bingo

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3.0 Bingo Licenses
3.1 Upon receiving an application, the Board shall make an investigation of the merits of the application. 

The Board shall consider the impact of the approval of an y license application on existing licen sees 
within the applicant's geographical location prior to granting any new license. The Board may deny an 
application if it concludes that approval of the application would be detrimental to existing licensees.

3.2 The Board may issue a license only after it determines that:
3.2.1 The app licant is du ly qu alified to conduct games under th e Sta te Constitution, sta tutes, an d 

regulations.
3.2.2 The m embers o f t he a pplicant wh o in tend to  co nduct the  bing o ga mes ar e b ona fid e active 

members of  the ap plicant an d are pe rsons o f go od m oral ch aracter a nd have never be en 
convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude.

3.2.3 The bingo games are to be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the State Constitution, 
statutes, and regulations.

3.2.4 The proceeds are to be disposed of as provided in the State Constitution and statutes.
3.2.5 No salary, compensation or reward whatever will be paid or given to any member under whom the 

game is co nducted. If th e fin dings and d eterminations of  the Boa rd are to th e ef fect that the  
application is approved, the Secretary shall execute a license for the applicant.

3.3 The license shall be issued. The original thereof shall be transmitted to the applicant.
3.4 If the findings and determinations of the Commission are to the effect that the application is denied, the 

Secretary shall so notify the applicant by certified mail of the reasons for denial, and shall refund any 
application fees submitted.

3.5 In the event of a request for an amendment of a license, the request shall be promptly submitted to the 
Commission in wr iting, and shall contain the name of the  l icensee, license number, and a co ncise 
statement of the reasons for requested amendment. The Commission may grant or deny the request, 
in its discretion, and may require supporting proof from the licensee before making any determination. 
The Commission may require the payment of an additional license fee before granting the request. 
The licensee shall be no tified of the Commission's action by appropriate communication, so that th e 
licensee will not be unduly inconvenienced.

3.6 No license shall be effective for a period of more t an one year from the date it was issued.
3.7 No license shall be effective after the or ganization to which it wa s granted has become ineligible to 

conduct bingo under any provision of Article II, §17A of the Delaware Constitution.
3.8 No licens e s hall be ef fective af ter the voters  in  any Dis trict des ignated in  Article II, §17A of the 

Constitution have decided against bingo in a referendum held pursuant to that section and subchapter 
II of the Bingo Statute.

3.9 No bingo licensee licensed prior to July 14, 1998, shall conduct more than ten (10) bingo events in any 
calendar month and no bingo licensee licensed af ter the enactment of 71  Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 
1998) shall conduct more than one (1) bingo event per week. A bingo licensee who was licensed prior 
to July,14, 1998 whose license lapses for six (6) months or more due to non-renewal or suspension or 
any othe r r eason sha ll, upo n lice nsing thereafter, be  consid ered a  license e licen sed a fter th e 
enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998).

3.10 The license application shall contain a full and fair description of the prize and the appraised value of 
the prize. In lieu of submitting an appraisal, the applicant or licensee may submit the full retail value of 
the prize. In cases wher e the applicant or licensee purchases the p rize from a thir d party, the Board 
may require that the ap plicant or  licensee arrange for an independent appraisal of the value of the 
prize from a person licensed to render such appraisals, or if there is no person licensed to render such 
appraisals, from a person qualified to render such appraisals.
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3.11 When bingo is conducted in conjunction with a  carnival, festival, or similar event scheduled for more 
than one day, the game may be played up to every night of the event and shall be considered a single 
event for purposes of the rule allowing one event per week for those licensed after July 10, 1998 or ten 
events per month for those licensed before July 10, 1998.

2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)
3 DE Reg. 1692 (6/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 334 (8/1/00)
13 DE Reg. 412 (09/01/09)

4.0 Conduct of Bingo
4.1 The officers of a licensee shall designate a bona fide, active member to be in charge of and primarily 

responsible for  the conduct of the ga me of ch ance on each occasion. The member in char ge shall 
supervise al l activities on the o ccasions for wh ich he is in ch arge and sha ll be responsible for  the 
making of the required report thereof. The member in charge shall be familiar with the provisions of the 
Bingo Statute, and these rules and regulations.

4.2 The room where any game is be ing he ld, operated, o r conducted, o r where it is int ended that any 
game shall be held, operated, or conducted, or where it is intended that any equipment be used, shall 
at all times be open to inspection by the appropriate law enforcement officers and agents of the District 
in which the premises are situated, and to the Board and its agents and employees. Bingo games shall 
not be commenced p rior to 1 :30 p .m. and the operation of a fun ction shall be lim ited to six ho urs. 
Instant bingo is permitted during any event sponsored by the organization that is licensed to conduct it, 
regardless of the day or time.

4.3 No person under the age of eighteen (18) shall be permitted  may participate in any bingo game, the 
prize for which is money. No person under the age of 18 shall be permitted to participate in any instant 
bingo game. No person under the age of sixteen (16) shall participate in any game of bingo nor shall 
such person conduct or assist in the conduct of the playing of any game of bingo,  Persons between 
the age s of 16  th rough 18  may con duct or  assist in  cond ucting the  bin go gam e an d except th at 
persons no younger than persons over the age of fourteen (14) may act as waiters and waitresses in 
the handling of food or drinks at an occasion on which a licensee conducts bingo. 

4.4 No organization licensed prior to enactment of 71 Del. Law 444 (July 14, 1998), may hold, operate, or 
conduct bingo more often than ten (10) days in any calendar month. No bingo licensee licensed after 
the enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998) shall conduct more than one bingo event per week. 
A bingo licensee licensed prior to the enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998), whose license 
lapses for six (6) months or more due to nonrenewal or suspension or any other reason shall, upon 
licensing thereafter, be considered a licensee licensed after the enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 
14, 1998).

4.5 The Board and its duly authorized agents and employees may examine the books and records of any 
licensee, so far  as tho se bo oks a nd re cords r elate to a ny tr ansaction con nected with  th e h olding, 
operating, and con ducting of th e g ame of b ingo, an d may e xamine an y ma nager, officer, d irector, 
agent, member, employee, o r assistant of  the licensee under oath in  re lation to  the co nduct o f the  
game of bingo.

4.6 No prize in an amount or value greater than $250 shall be offered or given in any single game and the 
aggregate amount or value of all prizes offered or given in all games played on a single occasion shall 
not exceed $ 1,250. All winn ers sha ll be d etermined an d all p rizes shall b e awar ded in a ny game 
played on any occasion within the same calendar day as that u pon which the  game is played. The 
value of any promotional giveaways, which shall be no more than $500 per annum to be distributed at 
an organizational anniversary date and no more than three (3) hol iday dates per  year, shall no t be 
counted towards the dollar am ounts described in this sectio n. Howe ver, a  licen see m ay o ffer 
inducements, including but not limited to cookie-jar bingo games that do not exceed $500 $1,000 per 
game pe r night, fr ee refreshments, and free transportation o f players to and from b ingo events, to 
attract bingo players to the bingo event, provided that the fair market value of inducements is limited to 
15% of the total amount of all other prizes offered or given during the bingo event.
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4.7 Two or more organizations may not hold games of bingo at the same place on the same day. Unless a 
bingo licensee has been licensed prior to the enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998), only one 
licensed organization may ho ld bingo games in  a licensed organization's bu ilding during any give n 
week.

4.8 No alcoholic beverages shal l be  permitted in  the  room from the time the b ingo hall opens until the 
conclusion of the last bingo game of the occasion.

4.9 All games shall be conducted with equipment that is owned absolutely by the licensee or that is leased 
for fees not in excess of those allowable under the Schedule of Rental for leasing of equipment on file 
with the Board. Equipment shall include playing cards. If the licensee uses cards that are for more than 
one session of playing bingo, these cards should be identified as the property of the licensee.

4.10 All winners shall be determined and all prizes shall be awarded in any game played on any occasion 
within the same calendar day as that upon which the game is played.

4.11 When more than one player is foun d to be the winner on the call of the same number in the same 
game, the designated prize shall be divided equally as possible; and when division is not p ossible, 
substitute prizes, wh ose ag gregate va lue shall no t e xceed th at of th e d esignated pr ize, sh all be  
awarded; but such substitute prizes shall be of equal value to each other.

4.12 The equipment used in the playing of bingo and the method of play shall be such that each card shall 
have an  equal opportunity to  be a  winner. The objects drawn shall b e essentia lly equal as to size, 
shape, weight, and balance, and as to all other characteristics that may control their selection, and all 
shall be present in the receptacle before each game is begun. All numbers shall be announced so as 
to be visible or audible to all players present.

4.13 The p articular ar rangement of nu mbers re quired to  be cover ed in or der to win th e ga me shall b e 
clearly described and announced to the players immediately before each game is begun.

4.14 No arrangement of numbers shall be required to be covered in order to win the g ame other than the 
following:

4.14.1 one unspecified horizontal row;
4.14.2 one unspecified vertical row;
4.14.3 one unspecified full diagonal row;
4.14.4 one unspecified row (horizontal, vertical, or diagonal);
4.14.5 Two or more of the foregoing, forming a specified arrangement;
4.14.6 The entire card;
4.14.7 Four corners;
4.14.8 Eight spaces surrounding the free space.

4.15 Within the limits contained in 28 Del.C. §1132(b), alternate prizes may be offered depending upon the 
number of calls within which bingo is reached, provided the application for the bingo license and the 
license so specify.

4.16 Any pla yer sha ll be e ntitled to call for  a ver ification of all nu mbers dr awn at the  time a winne r is 
determined, and for a verification of the objects remaining in the receptacle and not yet drawn. The 
verification shall be made in the immediate presence of the member designated to be in charge on the 
occasion, but if such member is also the announcer, then in the immediate presence of an officer of the 
licensee.

4.17 No licensee shall conduct more than forty (40) games on a single occasion.
4.18 In the playing of bingo, no person who is not physically present in the room where the game is actually 

conducted shall be allowed to participate as a player in the game.
4.19 Within the limits contained in 28 Del.C. §1132(6), the prizes offered may be varied depending upon the 

number of people who attend the occasion, provided the application for bingo license and license so 
specify. If a licensee av ails itself of the prov isions of this rule, it must ann ounce at the b eginning of 
each game the number of people present and the prizes to be awarded.

4.20 The entire proceeds of the games of b ingo must be used solely for the promotion or achievement of 
the purposes of the licensee.
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4.21 Any local rules adopted by the licensee that affect the conduct of the players or the awarding of prizes 
shall be pro minently posted in at least four  location s with in th e ar ea wher e th e bin go ga mes are  
conducted.

4.22 The licensee shall be permitted to reserve seats within the area where the bingo games are conducted 
to p rovide for th e sp ecial needs of ha ndicapped persons, an d the licen see sh all en sure th at the 
remaining seats are made available to the players on an equal basis.

4.23 A licensee may charge an admission fee to a game event in any room or area in which a game is to be 
conducted. Th e ad mission fe e shal l entitle th e ga me pla yer ( a) to a card e nabling the player  to  
participate without additional charge in all regular games to be played under the license at the event, or 
(b) to free refreshments. Th e licensee m ay cha rge an additional fee to a game playe r fo r a single  
opportunity to participate in a special game to be played under license at the event.

4.24 No p erson shall conduct o r assist in  co nducting a ny game except a n active m ember o f the 
organization to which the license is issued.

4.25 No item of expense shall be incurred or paid in connection with the conduct of the game except shall 
be incurred or paid in connection with the conduct of the game except such as are bona fide items of a 
reasonable amount for merchandise furnished or services rendered which are reasonably necessary 
for the conduct of the game.

 2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)
 2 DE Reg. 1761 (4/1/99)
12 DE Reg. 357 (09/01/08)
13 DE Reg. 107 (07/01/09)
13 DE Reg. 412 (09/01/09)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

103 Regulations Governing Charitable Gambling Other Than Raffles

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3.0 Conduct of Games
3.1 Workers.

3.1.1 Member in Charge. Every Licensed Organization shall designate a bona fide, a ctive member of 
the licensee to be in charge of and primarily responsible for each Function. The member-in-charge 
shall have been a member in good standing of the Sponsoring Organization for at least two ( 2) 
years. The member-in-charge shall supervise all activities and be responsible for the conduct of all 
games d uring th e F unction of which he is in  ch arge, including the p reparation of a ny finan cial 
reports required by law or these regulations. The member-in-charge or his qualified designee shall 
be present on the premises continually during the Function and shall be familiar with the provisions 
of these Regulations, and the terms of the license.

3.1.2 List of Workers. A Spon soring Or ganization conducting a Fu nction sh all pr epare and ha ve 
available on the premises a list  of all pe rsons taking part in the management or operation of the 
Function. Such list shall be maintained as part of the licensees records of the Function and shall 
be made available to any member or agent of the Board or law enforcement officer.

3.1.3 Bona Fide Member. For the purposes of eligibility to participate in managing or otherwise assisting 
in the operation of a Function, a person is a b ona fide member of the  Sponsoring Organization 
only when he or she:

3.1.3.1 Has become a member prior to the commencement of the Function and such membership 
was n ot de pendent u pon, or in any wa y related to the  p ayment of con sideration to 
participate in, any gambling activity; and,
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3.1.3.2 Has held full and regular membership status in the Sponsoring Organization for a period of 
not less than three (3) consecutive months prior to the subject Function; and,

3.1.3.3 Has paid any re asonable initiation or admission fees for  membership, and/or any dues, 
consistent with the nature and purpose of the Sponsoring Organization and with the type 
of membership obtained and is not in arrears in payment of any such fees or dues; and,

3.1.3.4 Has met all other conditions required by the Sponsoring Organization for membership and 
in all respects is a member in good standing at the time of the subject Function; and,

3.1.3.5 Has met all of the standards set out above respecting his or her own organization, and he 
or she is a bona fide member of a bona fide charitable or bona fide nonprofit organization 
affiliated with or auxiliary to his or her Sponsoring Organization, or to which his or her own 
Sponsoring Organization is auxiliary; and,

3.1.3.6 Has met all of the standards set out above respecting his or her own organization, and this 
organization has prior to July 6, 19 84, assisted the S ponsoring Organization to con duct 
charitable gambling; and,

3.1.3.7 Has met a ll of the  st andards set ou t above r especting his o r h er own S ponsoring 
Organization, and this organization is assisting another similar Sponsoring Organization 
(i.e. fir e comp any a ssisting an other fire  company; fr aternal society assistin g an other 
fraternal so ciety; ch aritable, religious or  veter ans organization a ssisting another 
charitable, religious, or veterans organization) to conduct charitable gambling.

3.1.4 Identification Re quired. The m ember-in-charge and th ose a ssisting him  in an y ca pacity sh all 
possess and display identification.

3.1.5 Officer Re sponsible fo r Gr oss Rece ipts. T he Sponsoring Organization shall  du ly designate a n 
officer of said organization to be in full charge and primarily responsible for the proper accounting, 
use and disposition of a ll Gross Receipts. Such officer's name shall appear on the list required 
under §3.03(1)(b) and such officer shall be a person other than the person designated member-in-
charge pursuant to §3.03(l)(a).

3.1.6 Payment o f Wo rkers Pr ohibited. No  un reasonable co mmission, sala ry, co mpensation, r eward, 
recompense, reimbursement of e xpenses or gift or  other consideration sha ll be  pa id d irectly or  
indirectly, to any person for conducting or assisting in the conduct of any Function. Organizations 
may contract with third party vendors to conduct or assist  in conducting the Function, and may 
agree to pay reasonable compensation to the vendor.  No tip, gratuity or gift or other consideration 
shall be  given or accepted by any pe rson conducting or  assisting in th e conduct of  a Function 
either dir ectly or  ind irectly, and  on e or  mo re signs p rohibiting tipp ing s hall be  or  m ore s igns 
prohibiting tipping shall be prominently displayed in each playing area. No person shall solicit or 
receive any gift or donation or other consideration directly or indirectly on the premises during the 
conduct of a Fun ction. Nothing in  this sub section pr ohibits an y p erson from  sharing foo d an d 
beverages ma de availa ble at th e fu nctions, or th e co llection of b ar tips for  th e b enefit of th e 
Sponsoring Organization.

13 DE Reg. 107 (07/01/09)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

6.0 Operation of Games
6.1 House Rules. Prior to conducting a Function, each Licensed Organization shall develop a set of house 

rules which will govern the type, scope and manner of all games  to be conducted. Among other 
information, these r ules sha ll establish the  maxi mum amo unt of wage rs consistent with  these 
regulations which may be placed by persons participating in games. In addition, the rules shall prohibit 
the giving of anything of value to any person involved in the management or operation of the Function 
and prohibit anyone involved in the management or operation of the Function from accepting anything 
of value. A co py of the r ules shall be po sted conspicuously on the premises where the Function is 
being conducted at a ll times during the occasion, and a copy thereof shall be made available upon 
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request, to any law enforcement officer or agent of the Board. The maximum wager and a no tipping 
sign shall be displa yed at th e location  of ea ch game, so as to  be co nspicuous to those persons 
participating in said games. The rules for the individual games should be available on the premises for 
review upon request.

6.2 Monitoring of Poker Tables. An association which has obtained the proper license or permit to conduct 
poker shall assign one monitor during the playing of poker.

6.3 In charitable gambling other than bingo and Texas Hold 'Em, there shall be no limit on the amount a 
person may bet or win, except that no person may lose more than $150 in a single day or event. This 
limit applies to the entire event approved to begin on a certain day. If an event continues past midnight, 
no new limit shall a pply. Any pe rson who has lost $150 during the  event shall n ot be p ermitted to  
gamble again after midnight.

11 DE Reg. 516 (10/01/07)
12 DE Reg. 357 (09/01/08)
13 DE Reg. 107 (07/01/09)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

104 Regulations Governing Texas Hold’em Poker

1.0 Reports After the Function
1.1 Within 30 days of the last day of the function, the member-in-charge shall submit a report to the Board 

that includes all information required by 28 Del.C. §1140(a).
1.2 When no function is he ld on a date a  licensee is authorized to hold such a function, a report to that 

effect shall be filed with the Board.
1.3 If a licensee fails to timely file a report or if a report is not properly verified, no further license shall be 

issued to the licensee and any existing license shall be suspe nded until such time as the deficiency 
has been corrected.

2.0 Limitation of Texas Hold’em Tournaments
2.1 The Board interprets the phrase “with each tournament by the sponsoring organization to be held at 

least 70 d ays ap art” in  28  Del.C. §1827 to me an th at no  spon soring o rganization ma y conduct a  
subsequent tournament less than 70 days from the date of their immediately prior tournament.

2.2 A sponsoring organization and any auxiliary  seeking to hold a tournament w ith the s ponsoring 
organization's approval may hold up to a total of five tournaments per year. It is not permissible for a 
sponsoring organi zation to hold up to five tournament s and for an aux iliary to also hold up to fiv e 
tournaments per year.

12 DE Reg. 357 (9/01/08)
13 DE Reg. 107 (07/01/09)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

*Please Not e:  As  the  res t of  th e se ctions we re no t ame nded, t hey are  not  being pu blished h ere. A 
complete copy of the proposed regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/proposed/13 DE Reg 599 11-01-09.htm
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 2006(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2006(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 2000

PUBLIC NOTICE

2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2006(a)(1), the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice has proposed revisions to its 
rules and regulations. 

A public hearing will be held on January 6, 2010 at 4:45 p.m.  in the second floor conf erence room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a  copy of the  p roposed rules and regulations may ob tain a copy fr om the Boar d of 
Occupational Therapy Practice, 861 Silver  Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to su bmit 
written comm ents may for ward th ese to  the Board at th e a bove ad dress. The fina l da te to receive wr itten 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board proposes a new Rule 4.0, which addresses licensee competence to administer various treatment 
modalities. Pursuant to this amendment, at the request of the Board or a member of the public, a licensee will be 
required to provide documentation of training or education to demonstrate competence.

In addition, Rule 1.3.3 is amen ded to cla rify the parameters of an o ccupational therapist’s supervision of an 
occupational therapy assistant. Provisions are added pertaining to submission of applications for licensure. A new 
Rule 3.1.2.4 gives the Boa rd authority to conduct hearings and impose sanctions regarding licensees’ failure to 
comply with the Board’s continuing education requirements

Finally, the Board proposes minor typographical revisions and re-numbering of the rules to accommodate the 
addition of new rules.

The Board will c onsider promulgating the proposed rules and re gulations at its regularly scheduled meeting 
following the public hearing.

2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice

1.0 Supervision/consultation Requirements for Occupational Therapy Assistants
1.1 “Occupational t herapy as sistant” sh all m ean a person licensed  to  assist in the pr actice of 

occupational therapy under the supervision of an occupational therapist. 24 Del.C. §2002(4).
“Under the supervision of an oc cupational therapist” means the interactive process between the 
licensed occupational therapist and the occupational therapy assistant. It shall be more than a paper 
review or co-signature. The supervising occupational therapist is re sponsible for insuring the exten t, 
kind, and quality of the services rendered by the occupational therapy assistant.
The ph rase, “Under the  su pervision o f a n occup ational ther apist,” a s u sed in the  definitio n of 
occupational therapist assistant includes, but is not limited to the following requirements:

1.1.1 Communicating to th e occupational therapy assistant the results of pa tient/client evaluation and 
discussing the goals and program plan for the patient/client;

1.1.2 In a ccordance with  su pervision le vel and  app licable hea lth ca re, e ducational, pr ofessional an d 
institutional regulations , reeval uating the patient/client, r eviewing the d ocumentation, mod ifying 
the program plan if necessary and co-signing the plan.

1.1.3 Case management;
1.1.4 Determining program termination;
1.1.5 Providing information, instruction and assistance as needed;
1.1.6 Observing the occupational therapy assistant periodically; and
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009

http://dpr.delaware.gov/default.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 607
1.1.7 Preparing on a regular basis, but at least annually, a written appraisal of the occupational therapy 
assistant’s performance and discussion of that appraisal with the assistant.
The supervisor may assign to a comp etent occupational therapy assistant the administration of 
standardized tests, the performance of activities of da ily living evaluations and other elements of 
patient/client evaluation and reevaluation that do not require the professional judgment and skill of 
an occupational therapist.

1.2 Supervision for Occupational Therapy Assistants is defined as follows:
1.2.1 Direct Su pervision requires t he s upervising o ccupational th erapist to  be on  the pr emises and  

immediately available to provide aid, direction, and instruction while treatment is performed in any 
setting including home care. Occupational therapy assistants with experience of less than one (1) 
full year are required to have direct supervision.

1.2.2 Routine Supervision requires direct contact at least every two (2) weeks at the site of work, with 
interim supervision occurring by other methods, such as telephonic or written communication.

1.2.3 General Supervision requires at least monthly direct contact, with supervision available as needed 
by other methods.

1.3 Minimum supervision requirements:
1.3.1 Occupational therapy assistants with experience of less than one (1) full year are required to have 

direct supervision.
Occupational therapy assistants with experience greater than one (1) full year must be supervised 
under either direct, routine or general superv ision based upon skill and  experience in the field as 
determined by the supervising OT.

1.3.2 Supervising occupational therapists must have at least one (1) year clinical experience after they 
have received permanent licensure. 

1.3.3 An occupational therapist may supervise up to three (3) occupational therapy assistants but never 
more than two (2) occupational therapy assistants who are under direct supervision at the same 
time on any given day.

1.3.4 Levels o f supervision should be determined by the occupational therapist before the individuals 
enter into a su pervisor/supervisee relationship. T he chosen leve l of su pervision sh ould be  
reevaluated regularly for effectiveness.

1.3.5 Effective July 1, 2 009, the supervising occupational ther apist shall su bmit to the Board a  
completed Verification  of Occu pational T herapy Assistan t Supervision for m up on the  
commencement of supervision.

1.3.6 Effective July 1, 2009, the supervising occupational therapist shall immediately advise the Board in 
writing when he  or sh e is no  longer su pervising an o ccupational th erapy a ssistant and sha ll 
provide the Bo ard with  an  upd ated Ver ification of O ccupational T herapy As sistant Su pervision 
form.

1.3.7 Levels o f supervision should be determined by t he occupational therapist before the ind ividuals 
enter into a su pervisor/supervisee relationship. T he chosen leve l of su pervision sh ould be  
reevaluated regularly for effectiveness.

1.3.8 The supervising occupational therapist, in  collaboration w ith the occupational therapy assistant, 
shall maintain a written supervisory plan specifying the level of supervision and shall document the 
supervision of each occupational therapy assistant. Levels of supervision should be determined by 
the occupational therapist be fore the individuals en ter into a su pervisor/supervisee relationship. 
The chosen level of supervision should be reevaluated regularly for effectiveness. This plan shall 
be reviewed at least every six months or more frequently as demands of service changes.

1.3.9 A sup ervisor wh o is tem porarily un able to provide su pervision sh all arrange for substitute 
supervision by an occupational therapist licensed by the Board with at least one (1) year of clinical 
experience, as defined above, to provide supervision as specified by Rule 1.0 of these rules and 
regulations.

 2 DE Reg. 2040 (5/1/99)
12 DE Reg. 1232 (03/01/09)
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2.0 Licensure Procedures:
2.1 To apply for  an in itial license, in cluding relicensure a fter expiration, an applicant shall submit to  the  

Board:
2.1.1 A completed notarized application on the form approved by the Board;
2.1.2 Verification of a passing score on the NBCOT standardized exam submitted by the exam service 

or NBCOT;
2.1.2.1 If the date of application for licensure is more than three years fo llowing the successful 

completion of the NBCOT exam, the applicant shall submit proof of twenty (20) hours of 
continuing education in the two years preceding the application in accordance with Rule 
5.0 of these rules and regulations.

2.1.3 Official transcript and proof of successful completion of field work submitted by the school directly 
to the Board office;

2.1.4 Fee payable to the State of Delaware.
2.2 To apply for a reciprocal license, in addition to the requirements listed in 24 Del.C. §2011, an applicant 

shall submit the following to the Board:
2.2.1 A completed notarized application on the form approved by the Board;
2.2.2 Verification of a passing score on the NBCOT standardized exam submitted by the exam service 

or NBCOT;
2.2.3 Letter of verification good standing from any state in which the applicant is or has been licensed 

(the applicants is are responsible for forwarding the blank verification form to all states where they 
are now or ever have been licensed);

2.2.4 Fee payable to the State of Delaware.
2.3 Only completed application forms w ill be accepted. Any information submitted to  the Board is s ubject 

to verification.
2.34 To apply for renewal, an applicant shall submit:

2.34.1 A completed renewal application on the form approved by the Board. Beginning in 2006, lLicense 
renewal may be accomplished online at www.dpr.delaware.gov;

2.34.2 Renewal fee payable to the State of Delaware.
2.4.3 Evidence of completion of the required continuing education.

2.45 To apply for inactive status:
A licensee may, upon written request to the Board, have his/her license placed on inactive status if he/
she is not actively engaged in the practice of occupational therapy in the State.

2.56 To apply for reactivation of an inactive license, a licensee shall submit:
2.56.1 A letter requesting reactivation;
2.56.2 A completed application for renewal
2.56.3 Proof of co ntinuing education attained within the past two yea rs (20 contact hours). The twenty 

(20) hours must be in accordance with Rule 5.0 3.0 of these rules and regulations;
2.56.4 Fee payable to the State of Delaware.

2.67 To apply for reinstatement of an expired license, an applicant shall submit (within three (3) years of the 
expiration date):

2.67.1 A completed application for renewal;
2.67.2 Proof of co ntinuing education attained within the past two yea rs (20 contact hours). The twenty 

(20) hours must be in accordance with Rule 3.0 of these rules and regulations;
2.67.3 Licensure and late fee payable to the State of Delaware.
6 DE Reg. 1331 (4/1/03)
9 DE Reg. 1768 (5/1/06)
11 DE Reg. 926 (01/01/08)
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3.0 Continuing Education
3.1 Continuing Education Content Hours

3.1.1 Continuing education (CE) is required for license renewal and shall be completed by July 31st of 
each renewal even numbered year. 

3.1.1.1 Proof of continuing education is satisfied with an attestation by the licensee that he or she 
has satisfied the requirements of Rule 3.0;

3.1.1.2 Attestation may be completed electronically if the renewal is  accomplished online. In the 
alternative, paper renewal documents that contain the  attestation of comp letion can be  
submitted;

3.1.1.3 Licensees selected  fo r random a udit a re required to sup plement the  attest ation with  
attendance verification as provided in 3.1.2.

3.1.2 Random audits will be performed by the Board to ensure compliance with the CE requirement. 
3.1.2.1 The Board will notify licensees within sixty (60) days after July 31 of each biennial renewal 

period that they have been selected for audit.
3.1.2.2 Licensees selected for random audit shall be required to submit verification within ten (10) 

business days of receipt of notification of selection for audit.
3.1.2.3 Verification shall include such information necessary for the Board to assess whether the 

course or other activity meets the CE requirements in Section 3.0, which may include, but 
is not limited to, the information noted for each type of CE as set forth in Rule 3.3.

3.1.2.4 The Board shall r eview all do cumentation submitted b y licen sees pu rsuant to the 
continuing e ducation a udit. If the Bo ard determines that the licensee ha s met the  
continuing education requirements, his or  her license shall remain in effect. If the Bo ard 
determines that the licensee ha s no t m et th e co ntinuing education requirements, th e 
licensee shal l be n otified an d a h earing ma y be  held  pur suant to the Admin istrative 
Procedures Act. The hearing will be conducted to determine if there are any extenuating 
circumstances justifying  noncompliance with  the  continuing edu cation re quirements. 
Unjustified noncompliance with the continuing education requirements set forth in the se 
rules and regulations shall constitute a violation of 24 Del.C. §2015(a)(5) and the licensee 
may be subject to one or more of the disciplinary sanctions set forth in 24 Del.C. §2017.

3.1.3 Contact hours shall be prorated for new licensees in accordance with the following schedule:
3.1.3.1 *21 months up to and including 24 months remaining in the licens ing cycle requires 20 

hours
3.1.3.2 *16 months up  to a n includ ing 2 0 mon ths r emaining in th e licen sing cycle r equires 15  

hours
3.1.3.3 *11 months up to  and including 15 months remaining in  the licensing cycle requires 10 

hours
3.1.3.4 *10 months or less remaining in the licensing cycle - exempt

3.2 Definition of Acceptable Continuing Education Credits:
3.2.1 Activities m ust b e e arned in t wo (2 ) or m ore of th e six (6)  seven (7)  categories fo r con tinuing 

education beginning in section Rule 3.3.
3.3 Continuing Education Content:

3.3.1 Activities must be in a field of health and social services related to occupational therapy, must be 
related to a licensee’s current or anticipated roles and responsibilities in occupational therapy, and 
must dir ectly o r in directly ser ve to  pr otect the public b y enh ancing the lice nsee’s con tinuing 
competence.

3.3.2 Approval will be at the dis cretion of the Board. A licensee or continuing education provider may 
request pr ior ap proval b y the Bo ard b y submitting an outline o f the a ctivity at leas t six weeks
before it  is s cheduled. T he Board p re-approves continuing edu cation activitie s spon sored or  
approved by AOTA or offered by AOTA-approved providers as long as the content is not within the 
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exclusion in Rul e 5.5.1 3.5.1.1 for courses cover ing documentation for  r eimbursement or  other 
business matters.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4.0 Competence to Administer Treatment Modalities
Upon the request of the Board, or a member of the public, the licensee shall produce documentation 
demonstrating his or her competence to administer a particular treatment modality. Competence may 
be shown by documented professional education, such as continuing education, in-service training or 
accredited higher education programs. Determination of competence is at the discretion of the Board.

45.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent or Impaired Professionals
45.1 If the report is received by the chairperson of the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately 

notify the  Dire ctor of Pr ofessional Regu lation or  hi s/her de signate of the  re port. If the D irector of 
Professional Re gulation r eceives t he r eport, he /she sh all imm ediately notify the  ch airperson of the 
regulatory Board, or that chairperson's designate or designates.

45.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 
days of re ceipt of th e report, con tact the in dividual in qu estion and inform him/her in writin g of the 
report, provide the ind ividual written information describing the Voluntary Treatment Option, and give 
him/her the opportunity to enter the Voluntary Treatment Option.

45.3 In order for the individual to participate in the Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit 
to a  voluntary dr ug a nd alcohol scr eening a nd e valuation at a spe cified lab oratory or  he alth car e 
facility. This initial evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days following notification to the 
professional by the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s). 

45.4 A regulated professional with chemical dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or alcohol 
may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and continue to practice, subject to any limitations on 
practice th e p articipating Board ch airperson or t hat chair person's designate or  design ates or  the 
Director of the Division of Pr ofessional Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with th e 
treating professional, deem necessary, only if such action will not endanger the public health, welfare 
or safety, and the regulated professional enters into an agreement with  the Director of  Professional 
Regulation or his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating Board or tha t chairperson's 
designate for a treatment plan and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and complies 
with all te rms of that agreement. Treatment programs may be  operated by professional Committees 
and Associations or other similar professional groups with the approval of the Director of Professional 
Regulation and the chairperson of the participating Board.

45.5 Failure to cooperate fully  with the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or 
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate in regard to 
the Voluntary T reatment Op tion or  to com ply wi th th eir re quests for  evalu ations a nd scr eens may 
disqualify the r egulated professional from the p rovisions of th e Voluntary Treatment Option, and the 
participating Boar d cha irperson or  that chairperson's de signate or d esignates shall cause to b e 
activated an  imm ediate in vestigation and in stitution of  disciplinary pr oceedings, if ap propriate, as 
outlined in subsection 4.8 of this section.

45.6 The Voluntary T reatment Option may re quire a r egulated pro fessional to e nter into an a greement 
which includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:

45.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a treatment program approved by the participating Board. 
Board a pproval sh all no t r equire th at th e r egulated pr ofessional be  id entified to  th e Bo ard. 
Treatment an d evalu ation fu nctions m ust b e performed by  se parate a gencies to  as sure an  
unbiased assessment of the regulated professional's progress.

45.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the approved treatment program to report on the progress 
of the regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating Board or to that chairperson's 
designate or  designates or to the Dire ctor of th e Division  of Professional Regulation o r his/her  
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designate a t s uch in tervals as required by  th e chairperson o f the  par ticipating Board or  th at 
chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or 
his/her designate, and such person making such report will not be liable w hen such reports are 
made in good faith and without malice.

45.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in  accordance with app licable law, to the r elease of any 
treatment information from anyone within the approved treatment program.

45.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional to b e personally responsible for a ll costs a nd charges 
associated w ith th e Voluntary T reatment Option an d treatment pr ogram(s). In addition, the 
Division of Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated professional to 
cover administrative costs associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee 
imposed under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to 
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses incurred by 
the Division of Professional R egulation in its serv ices on  behalf of th e Board in ad dition to the 
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option.

45.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment 
program sh all be  reported to  th e par ticipating Board's ch airperson or  his/her  design ate or  
designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/ her designate by the 
treating professional who shall be immune from any liability for such  reporting made in good faith 
and without malice.

45.6.6 Compliance by th e regulated professional with a ny terms or  restrictions p laced on  professional 
practice as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment Option.

45.7 The regulated professional's records of participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not reflect 
disciplinary action and shall not be considered public records open to public inspection. However, the 
participating Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary sanction in any future matter in 
which the regulated professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an issue.

45.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/her designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with the treating professional at any 
time during the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a chemically dependent or impaired 
professional if such action is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or safety.

45.9 If practice is restricted, th e re gulated p rofessional ma y apply fo r unrestricted lice nsure upon 
completion of the program.

45.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the 
treatment program shall d isqualify th e re gulated p rofessional fro m th e pr ovisions of th e Voluntary 
Treatment Option, and the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an immediate 
investigation and disciplinary proceedings as appropriate.

45.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this section in good faith and without malice shall be immune from 
any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality 
protected if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter.

45.12 Any regulated professional who complies with all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment 
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise specified in a participating Board's 
rules and regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated professional shall 
include the potential for disclosure and specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

56.0 Crimes substantially related to practice of occupational therapy
56.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 

conceal or of solicitation to commit the following crimes, is deemed to be a crime substantially related 
to the  pr actice of  occ upational th erapy in  th e S tate o f Delaware witho ut regard to  the place  of 
conviction:

56.1.1 Unlawful harm to law enforcement or seeing eye dogs. 7 Del.C. §1717
56.1.2 Aggravated menacing. 11 Del.C. §602(b)
56.1.3 Reckless endangering. 11 Del.C. §604.
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56.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §605
56.1.5 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §606
56.1.6 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §612
56.1.7 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §613
56.1.8 Felony abuse of a sports official. 11 Del.C. §614
56.1.9 Assault by abuse of neglect. 11 Del.C. §615
56.1.10 Felony Terroristic threatening. 11 Del.C. §621
56.1.11 Unlawful administering drugs. 11 Del.C. §625
56.1.12 Unlawful administering controlled substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11 Del.C. 

§626
56.1.13 Vehicular assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §629
56.1.14 Criminally negligent homicide. 11 Del.C. §631
56.1.15 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632
56.1.16 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §633
56.1.17 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §634
56.1.18 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §635
56.1.19 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636
56.1.20 Sexual harassment. 11 Del.C. §763
56.1.21 Unlawful sexual contact in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §768
56.1.22 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §769
56.1.23 Rape in the fourth degree. 11 Del.C. §770
56.1.24 Rape in the third degree. 11 Del.C. §771
56.1.25 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §772
56.1.26 Rape in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §773
56.1.27 Sexual extortion. 11 Del.C. §776
56.1.28 Bestiality. 11 Del.C. §777
56.1.29 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 Del.C. §778
56.1.30 Dangerous crime against a child. 11 Del.C. §779
56.1.31 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §782
56.1.32 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §783
56.1.33 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §783A
56.1.34 Acts constituting coercion. 11 Del.C. §791
56.1.35 Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §825
56.1.36 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §826
56.1.37 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §831
56.1.38 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §832 
56.1.39 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §835
56.1.40 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §836
56.1.41 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846
56.1.42 Identity theft. 11 Del.C. §854
56.1.43 Felony forgery. 11 Del.C. §861
56.1.44 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C. §871
56.1.45 Felony unlawful use of a credit card. 11 Del.C. §903
56.1.46 Insurance fraud. 11 Del.C. §913
56.1.47 Health care fraud. 11 Del.C. §913A
56.1.48 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C. §1100
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56.1.49 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11 Del.C. §1102
56.1.50 Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person. 11 Del.C. §1105
56.1.51 Unlawfully dealing with a child. 11 Del.C. §1106
56.1.52 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C. §1108
56.1.53 Unlawful dealing in child pornography. 11 Del.C. §1109
56.1.54 Possession of child pornography. 11 Del.C. §1111
56.1.55 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school zones. 11 Del.C. §1112
56.1.56 Sexual solicitation of a child. 11 Del.C. §1112A
56.1.57 Terroristic threatening of public officials or public servants. 11 Del.C. §1240
56.1.58 Felony abetting the violation of driver’s license restrictions. 11 Del.C. §1249
56.1.59 Felony offenses against law enforcement animals. 11 Del.C. §1250
56.1.60 Felony hate crimes. 11 Del.C. §1304
56.1.61 Felony stalking. 11 Del.C. §1312A
56.1.62 Felony cruelty to animals. 11 Del.C. §1325
56.1.63 Felony maintaining a dangerous animal. 11 Del.C. §1327(a)
56.1.64 Felony violation of privacy. 11 Del.C. §1335(a)
56.1.65 Adulteration. 11 Del.C. §1339
56.1.66 Promoting prostitution in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §1352
56.1.67 Promoting prostitution in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §1353
56.1.68 Obscenity. 11 Del.C. §1361
56.1.69 Carrying a concealed deadly weapon. 11 Del.C. §1442
56.1.70 Felony unlawful dealing with a dangerous weapon. 11 Del.C. §1445(a)
56.1.71 Felony possession of a deadly weapon during the commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447
56.1.72 Possession of a firearm during a commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447A
56.1.73 Possession and purchase of deadly weapons by persons prohibited. 11 Del.C. §1448
56.1.74 Felony Possession of a weapon in a Safe School and Recreation Zone. 11 Del.C. §1457
56.1.75 Duty to report child abuse or neglect. 16 Del.C. §903
56.1.76 Abuse, neglect, mistreatment or financial exploitation of residents or patients in a nursing or similar 

facility. 16 Del.C. §1136
56.1.77 Felony falsification or destruction of records related to maintenance medical treatment. 16 Del.C. 

§2513
56.1.78 Manufacture, delivery or possession with intent to deliver schedule I or II narcotic drugs. 16 Del.C. 

§4751
56.1.79 Manufacture, delivery or possession with intent to deliver Schedule I, II, III, IV, or V non-narcotic 

drugs. 16 Del.C. §4752
56.1.80 Unlawful delivery or noncontrolled substances. 16 Del.C. §4752A.
56.1.81 Possession, consumption, or use of controlled substances. 16 Del.C. §4753.
56.1.82 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal drugs, methamphetamines, L.S.D., or designer drugs. 16 

Del.C. §4753A
56.1.83 Possession, consumption, or use of non-narcotic controlled substances classified in Schedule I, II, 

III, IV, or V. 16 Del.C. § 4754
56.1.84 Crimes related to controlled substances. 16 Del.C. §4756
56.1.85 Distribution of controlled substances to persons under 21 years of age. 16 Del.C. §4761
56.1.86 Distribution, delivery or possession of a controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property. 

16 Del.C. §4767
56.1.87 Distribution, delivery or p ossession of a cont rolled substance within 3 00 feet of pa rk, recreation 

area, church, synagogue or other place of worship. 16 Del.C. §4768
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56.1.88 Felony obtaining benefit under false representation. 31 Del.C. §1003
56.1.89 Felony falsification of reports, statements, or documents. 31 Del.C. §1004
56.1.90 Kickback schemes and solicitation. 31 Del.C. §1005
56.1.91 Conversion of benefit payment. 31 Del.C. §1006
56.1.92 Intentional abuse, neglect, mistreatment, or exploitation of an infirm adult. 31 Del.C. §3913

56.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of occupational therapy shall be deemed to include any 
crimes under any federal law, state law, or valid town, city or  county ordinance, that are substantially 
similar to the crimes identified in this rule.

8 DE Reg. 1449 (04/01/05)
9 DE Reg. 587 (10/01/05)
12 DE Reg. 1232 (03/01/09)

*Please Note:  As  the  res t of  th e se ctions we re no t ame nded, t hey are  not  being pu blished h ere. A 
complete copy of the proposed regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/proposed/13 DE Reg 606 11-01-09.htm

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

26 DE Admin. Code 3001

ORDER NO. 7652

This 22nd day of September, 2009, the Commission determines and Orders the following:

WHEREAS, the Commission has promulgated regulations entitled Regulations Governing Service Supplied by 

Electrical Corporations. See 26 DE Admin. Code 3001, et seq. (the “Regulations”);1 and
WHEREAS, included in the Regulations are certain rules pertaining to “net energy metering” (the “Net Energy 

Metering Rules”); and
WHEREAS, Senate Bill N o. 85 (“SB85”), enac ted into law on July 9, 2009, amended 26 Del.C. §1 014 to: 

eliminate a customer’s forfeiture of excess electric generation and allow customers to request payments from an 
electrical supplier for the va lue of excess generation; allow customers to retain ownership of “r enewable energy 
credits;” create a new provision for farm customers with respect to net energy metering; and increase the cap on 
customer net energy metering generation from 1% to 5% of an electric utility’s aggregated customer monthly peak 
demand for a given calendar year; and

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF RULES AND |
PROCEDURES TO IMPLEMENT THE PROVISIONS OF |
26 DEL. C. CH. 10 RELATING TO THE CREATION OF A |
COMPETITIVE MARKET FOR RETAIL ELECTRIC |  PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 49
SUPPLY SERVICE (OPENED APRIL 27, 1999; |
RE-OPENED JANUARY 7, 2003; RE-OPENED AUGUST |
21, 2007; RE-OPENED SEPTEMBER 22, 2009 |

1.  The Regulations have been amended several times since their original passage in 1999. See PSC Order 
Nos. 538 (Oct. 1, 1999), 7023 (Sept. 5, 2006), 7078 (Jan. 1, 2007), and 7435 (Sept. 2, 2008). 
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WHEREAS, the amendments to Section 1014 effected by SB85 require certain amendments to the Net Energy 
Metering Rules; and

WHEREAS Senate Bill 153 (“SB 153”), enacted into la w on September 21, 2 009, also amended 26 Del. C. 
§§1001 an d 1014 t o in cluding pr ovisions for th e inc lusion o f “v ehicle to  g rid,” or “V2 G”, resources in  st atutory 
provisions pertaining to net energy metering; and

WHEREAS, Commission Staff has proposed revisions to the Regulations that both effect the changes required 
by SB85 and SB153, as well as make certain other clarifications to the existing Regulations not related to those 
bills;

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS ORDER ED BY THE A FFIRMATIVE VOTE OF NOT FEWER THAN  TH REE 
COMMISSIONERS:

1. That this docket is reopened to consider further revisions to the Commission’s Rules for Certification and 
Regulation of Electric Corporations, adopted by PSC Order No. 5207 (Aug. 31, 1999) and revised from time to time 
(the “Regulations”). The proposed revisions are required by the recent amendments to Sections 1001 and 1014 of 
Title 26. A copy of the redlined version of the Regulations, showing proposed revisions, is appended as Exhibit “A” 
to this Order and a clean copy is appended hereto as Exhibit “B.”  

2. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10113 and 10115, the Acting Se cretary shall transmit to the Re gistrar of 
Regulations for publication in the November 2009 Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order; a copy of 
the redlined version of the Regulations (Exhibit “A”); a clean copy of the proposed amended regulations (Exhibit 
“B”); and a copy of a notice attached hereto as Exhibit “C.”  In addition, the Acting Secretary shall cause the notice 
attached as Exhibit “B”  to be  published in Th e News Journal and the Delaware St ate New s newspapers on or  
before September 30, 2009. The Acting Secretary shall include proof of such publication in the docket file before 
the public hearing in this matter. Further, the Acting Secretary shall serve (by regular mail or by electronic e-mail) a 
copy of such Notice on: (a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the State Energy Office; (c) Delmarva Power & 
Light Company; (d) all certificated electric suppliers; and (e) each person or entity who has made a timely request 
for advance notice of regulation-making proceedings.

3. That, pursuant to 29  Del.C. §§ 10115(a) a nd 1 0116, pe rsons o r entities ma y file written comm ents, 
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before December 1, 2009. Pursuant to 29 
Del. C. § 10117, the Commis sion will c onduct a public  hearing on the proposed re visions to the R egulations on 
December 8, 2009, 2009 beginning at 1:00 p.m. at the Commission’s office at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon 
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware.

4. That the Commission will defer for the time being referring this matter to a Hearing Examiner under 26 
Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C. §10116. Depending on what, if any, comments are received to the proposed revisions to 
the Regulations, the Commission may determine at a later time that it is necessary to appoint a Hearing Examiner.

5. That Joseph C. Handlon, Deputy Attorney General, is designated Staff Counsel for this matter.  
6. That, pursuant to  2 6 Del.C. §§114 and 1012(c )(2), all electric  supp liers and elec tric public utilities are 

hereby notified that they will be charged the costs incurred in connection with this proceeding under the provisions 
of 26 Del.C. §114(b)(1).

7. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may 
be deemed necessary or proper. 

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Dallas Winslow, Commissioner
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE-MAKING TO AMEND “NET ENERGY METERING” PROVISIONS OF 
ELECTRIC SUPPLIER RULES

TO: ALL RET AIL ELECTRIC SUPPLIERS IN D ELAWARE, ALL D ELAWARE RETAIL ELECTR IC 
CUSTOMERS WHO GENERATE ELECTRICITY AND OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS

Since 1999, Commiss ion-jurisdictional electric utilities and elec tric suppliers have b een obligated to permit 
residential an d smalle r comme rcial custome rs to  use lim ited cap acity g enerators (powered b y r enewable 
resources) to “net mete r” their electric production and consumption. See Rules for Certification and Regulation of 
Electric Corporations, a dopted by PSC Ord er No. 5 207 ( Aug. 31, 1999) and re vised from tim e to  time (th e 
“Regulations”).

In July and September 2009, certain sections of Title 26 pertaining to net energy metering and vehicle-to-grid 
(“V2G”) resources were enacted into law. The V2G provisions include certain electric vehicles qualifying as “Grid-
Integrated Electric Vehicles” in net energy metering. The other changes enacted by the recent legislation: eliminate 
a customer’s forfeiture of excess electric generation and allow customers to request payments from an electrical 
supplier for the valu e of excess generation; allow customers to retain ownership of “r enewable energy credits;” 
create a new provision for farm customers with respect to net energy metering; and increase the cap on customer 
net energy metering generation from 1%  to 5% of an electric utility ’s aggregated customer monthly peak demand 
for a given calendar year. 

To implement these statutory changes, the Commission now proposes changes to the “net metering” section 
and other sections o f the Regulations. You can review the proposed amendments at the  Commission’s office in 
Dover at the address below (and obtain copies for $0.25 per page), or visit the Commission’s website loca ted at 
http://depsc.delaware.gov, under PSC Order No. 7652 (Sept. 22, 2009). You can also review PSC Order No. 7652 
and the proposed amendments in the November 2009 issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations, available at 
http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/register.shtml.

The PSC now solicit s comments, sug gestions, comp ilations of da ta, br iefs, or  othe r written  mater ials 
concerning the proposed revisions to the Regulations. If you wish to file any such materials, you should submit an 
original and ten copies of such written documents on or before December 1, 2009. You should file such materials 
with the PSC at the following address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 49

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission. Such 
electronic cop y m ay b e f iled on  a  co py-capable CD -Rom dis k or  se nt as  an  a ttachment to  an  In ternet e- mail 
addressed to john.farber@state.de.us.

The Commission Hearing will consider the revisions to the Regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting on 
Tuesday, December 8, 2009 at 1:00  p.m. at the address for the Commission listed above. The C ommission will 
make its decision to adopt, re ject, or  adopt with modification, the proposed revisions to the Regulations on the 
basis o f a ny e vidence a nd in formation presented of r ecord in t his d ocket. The Commission is  authoriz ed to 
promulgate the proposed amendments under 26 Del.C. §§362 and 1014(d).

If you have questions about this proceeding, you can contact the Commission at 1-800-282-8574 (in Delaware 
only) or (302) 736-7500 ( text telephone available). You can a lso send inquiries by Inter net e-mail addressed to 

ATTEST:
Katie Rochester, Acting Secretary
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john.farber@state.de.us. If you are d isabled an d need a ssistance to b e a ble to  p articipate, p lease cont act the  
Commission to make arrangements for such assistance.

3001 Regulations Governing Service Supplied by Electrical Corporations
Effective: August 31, 1999

1.0 Definitions
“Affiliated Interest” means:

1. Any person or entity who owns directly, indirectly or through a chain of successive ownership, 
10% or more of the voting securities of the Applicant;
2. Any person or entity, 10% or more of whose voting securities are owned, directly or indirectly, 
by an affiliated interest as defined in 1 above; or
3. Any person or entity, 10% or more of whose voting securities are owned, directly or indirectly, 
by the Applicant.

"Aggregator" means any person or entity who contracts with an electric distribution company, electric 
supplier or PJM Interconnection (or its successor) to prov ide energy services, which facilitate battery 
storage systems for Grid-Integrated Electric Vehicles and related technologies.
“Ancillary Services”  me ans th ose ser vices that ar e necessary to supp ort the tr ansmission of 
capacity and energy from resources to loads while maintaining reliable operation of the system.
"Annualized Billing Period" - a period of 12 consecutive monthly billing periods.  A Customer's first 
Annualized Billing Period begins on the first day of the first full monthly billing period after which the 
Customer-Generator Facility is interconnected with the EDC and is ge nerating electricity. A customer 
may elect to change the end of the Annualized Billing Period on e time in order to better utilize ex cess 
generation. 
“Applicant” means an entity or person seeking to obtain an Electric Supplier Certificate.
“Broker” means an entity or person that acts as an agent or intermediary in the sale or purchase of, 
but that does not take title to, electricity for sale to Retail Electric Customers.
“Commission” means the Delaware Public Service Commission
“Cramming” means the practice of charging Customers for services that they have not ordered or 
have been sold in a deceptive manner such that the customer is not reasonably aware of the nature or 
price of the service for which he or she is being charged.
"Customer" or "Retail Electric Customer" - a purchaser of electricity for ultimate co nsumption and 
not for resale in D elaware, including the owner/op erator of any building or  facility, but not the 
occupants thereof, who purchases and supplies electricity to the occupants of such building or facility. 
"Customer-Generator Fa cility" mea ns eq uipment u sed by a  Cu stomer to  gen erate, man age, and  
monitor electricity. A Customer-Generator Facility, which typically includes an electric generator and/or 
an equipment package, shall:

• Satisfy all of the requirements of Section 8.2 General Provisions of this Rule;
• Meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the National Electrical 

Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, and Underwriters Laboratories to 
ensure that net metering customers meet applicable safety and performance standards; and

• Comply with the Electric Supplier's interconnection tariffs and operating guidelines.
“Delaware Electric Cooperative, Inc.” or “Cooperative” or “DEC”  or its successor(s).
“Delmarva Power & Light Company” or “Delmarva” or “DP&L” or its successor(s).
“Distribution Services”  me ans tho se services, in cluding meter ing, r elating to  th e de livery of 
electricity to a Retail Electric Customer through Distribution Facilities.
“Distribution Facilities” means electric facilities located in Delaware that are owned by a public utility 
that ope rate at vo ltages of 34,50 0 vo lts or  below and that are used to de liver electricity to Retail 
Electric Customers, up through and including the point of physic al connection w ith electric facilities 
owned by the Retail Electric Customer. 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009



PROPOSED REGULATIONS618
“Electric Distr ibution Company” or  “EDC” means a public utility owning and/or operating 
Transmission and/or Distribution Facilities in Delaware.
“Electric Supplier”  m eans an e ntity or p erson certified by th e Co mmission, includ ing mu nicipal 
corporations wh ich ch oose to  pr ovide electricity out side their munici pal limit s (exc ept to the extent 
provided prior to February 1, 1999), Broker, Marketer or other entity (including public utilities and their 
affiliates, e.g., Delmarva), that sells electricity to Retail Electric Customers, utilizing the Transmission 
and Distribution Facilities of an Electric Distribution Company. 
“Electric Supplier Certificate” or “ESC” means a certificate granted by the Commission to Electric 
Suppliers that have fulfilled the Commission’s certification requirements.
“Electric Supply Service” means the provision of electricity or electric generation service.
“Eligible Energy Resources” means the following energy sources located within the PJM region or 
imported into the PJM region and tracked through the PJM Market Settlement System:

• Solar energy technologies that employ solar radiation to produce electricity;
• Electricity derived from wind energy;
• Electricity derived from ocean energy including wave or tidal action, currents, or thermal differ-

ences;
• Geothermal energy technologies that generate electricity with a steam turbine, driven by hot 

water or steam extracted from geothermal reservoirs in the earth’s crust;
• Electricity generated by a fuel cell powered by Renewable Fuels;
• Electricity generated by the combustion of gas from the anaerobic digestion of organic mate-

rial;
• Electricity generated by a hydroelectric facility that has a maximum design capacity of 30 

megawatts or less from all generating units combined that meet appropriate environmental 
standards as determined by DNREC (see DNREC Regulation 7 DE Admin. Code 106, Envi-
ronmental Standards for Eligible Energy Resources);

• Electricity generated from the combustion of biomass that has been cultivated and harvested 
in a sustainable manner as determined by DNREC, and is not combusted to produce energy in 
a waste to energy facility or in an incinerator (see DNREC Regulation 7 DE Admin. Code 106, 
Environmental Standards for Eligible Energy Resources);

• Electricity generated by the combustion of methane gas captured from a landfill gas recovery 
system; provided, however, that:

• Increased production of landfill gas from production facilities in operation prior to Janu-
ary 1, 2004 demonstrates a net reduction in total air emissions compared to flaring 
and leakage;

• Increased utilization of landfill gas at electric generating facilities in operation prior to 
January 1, 2004 (i) is used to offset the consumption of coal, oil, or natural gas at 
those facilities, (ii) does not result in a reduction in the percentage of landfill gas in the 
facility’s average annual fuel mix when calculated using fuel mix measurements for 12 
out of any continuous 15 month period during which the electricity is generated, and 
(iii) causes no net increase in air emissions from the facility; and

• Facilities installed on or after January 1, 2004 meet or exceed 2004 Federal and State 
air emission standards, or the Federal and State air emission standards in place on 
the day the facilities are first put into operation, whichever is higher.

“FERC” means the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.
“GATS” m eans th e Ge neration Attr ibute T racking Syste m d eveloped by PJM -Environmental 
Information Services, Inc. (PJM-EIS).
“Generation Att ribute” me ans a  non-price cha racteristic of  the e lectrical en ergy outp ut of a 
Generation Unit includ ing, bu t not limited  to , the  Un it’s fue l type, g eographic loca tion, emissions, 
vintage, and RPS eligibility.
“Generation Unit” means a facility that converts a fuel or an energy resource into electric energy.
"Grid-Integrated Electric Vehicle" means a battery-run motor vehicle that has the ability for two-way 
power flow between the vehicle and the electric grid and the communications hardware and software 
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that allow for the ex ternal contr ol o f battery charging an d discharging by a n electric d istribution 
company, electric supplier, PJM Interconnection, or an aggregator.
“Marketer” means an entity or  person that purchases and takes title to e lectricity for  sale to Ret ail 
Electric customers.
"Net Metering" (or "Net Ener gy Metering") means a service to a Custome r whereby electric en ergy 
generated by t he Customer , through a Cust omer-Generator Facility  a nd delivered to the local 
distribution fac ilities of an Electric Supplier , may be us ed to of fset electric  energy  prov ided by the 
Electric Supplier to the Customer. 
“PJM Interconnection, LLC” or “PJM” means the Regional Transmission Organization (“RTO”) that 
is responsible for wholesale energy markets and the interstate transmission of energy throughout a 
multi-state area, or its successor organization.
“Residential Customer” means a Retail Electric Customer eligible to take Residential services under 
the Delmarv a Power or the Delaware Electric C ooperative’s t ariff, currently  on  f ile w ith the 
Commission.
“Renewable Energy Credit” or “REC” means a tradable instrument comprised of all the Generation 
Attributes equal to 1  megawatt-hour of electricity derived from Eligible Energy Resources and that is 
used to track an d ver ify co mpliance with the  pr ovisions of Delaware Public Servic e Commis sion 
Regulation Docket No. 56. A RE C does n ot in clude emission reduction cred its an d/or allo wances 
encumbered or used by a Generation Unit for compliance with local, state.or federal operating and/or 
air quality permits associated with the 1 megawatt-hour of electricity.
“Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard” or “RPS” refers to the Rules and Procedures to Implement 
the Renewable Energy Port folio Standard, Delaware Public Service Commiss ion Regulation Docket 
No. 56.
“Slamming” means the unauthorized enrollment of a customer without the customer’s permission or 
the unauthorized transfer of a customer to another Electric Supplier. 
“Small Commercial Customer” means a Retail Electric Customer taking service under DP&L’s tariff, 
currently on file with the Comm ission, Service Class ification “S mall General Serv ice-Non Demand 
Rate” or the Cooperative’s tariff, currently on file with the Commission, Service Classification “General 
Service.” However, for the purposes of these Rules, any Small Commercial Customer who has joined 
with an af filiated non-Small Commercial Customer or a non-R esidential Customer for the purpos e of 
contracting for  Electr ic Supply Ser vice shall be e xempt fr om the defin ition of a Small Com mercial 
Customer.
“Standard Of fer Serv ice” or “SOS” me ans th e pr ovision of Elec tric Supply Ser vice after th e 
Transition Per iod by a S tandard Offer Service Supplier to Custo mers who do not otherwise receive 
Electric Supply Service from an Electric Supplier.
“Standard Offer Service Supplier” or “SOSS” means an Elec tric Supplier that provides Standard 
Offer Servic e to Customer s within an Electric Dis tribution Co mpany’s service ter ritory a fter the  
Transition Period.
“State” means The State of Delaware.
“Telemarketing” me ans an y u nsolicited telep hone calls initiated b y, or  on be half of, an Electric 
Supplier to a Customer in order to market Electric Supply Service.
“Transition Period” means the period of time described in 26 Del.C. §1004, which: begins October 1, 
1999 and ends May 1, 2006 for Delmarva’s customers; and begins April 1, 2000 and ends March 31, 
2005 for all Cooperative customers.
“Transmission Facilities” means electric facilities located in Delaware and owned by a public utility 
that operate at volt ages above 34 ,500 volts and that  are used  to  transmit and de liver electricity to  
Customers ( including any Customers taking electric service under interruptible rate schedules as of 
December 31, 1998) up through and including the point of physical connection with electric facilities 
owned by the Customer.
“Transmission Services” means the delivery of electricity from supply sources through Transmission 
Facilities.
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(Break in Continuity of Sections)

8.0 Net Energy Metering
8.1 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings, unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Annualized Period" means a period of 12 consecutive monthly billing periods ending at the discretion of 
the Cu stomer, eith er De cember 31st or J uly 3 1st of each y ear or th e neares t billing cycle. A 
Customer-generator's first Annualized Period begins on the first day of the first full monthly billing 
period after which the Customer-generator's facility is interconnected and is generating electricity.

"Avoided Cost  of Wholesa le Po wer" means the a nnual aver age locati onal mar ginal pr ice (“LMP”) of 
energy in the applicable energy supplier’s transmission zone. This cost ( including the method of 
calculation) can be obtained through the Electric Supplier’s tariff as approved by the Commission.

"Customer-generator" means a residential, commercial, or industrial Customer that generates electricity 
on the Customer's side of the meter.

“Customer-generator F acility” mea ns the eq uipment used  by a  Customer-generator to gen erate, 
manage, and monitor electricity . A Customer-generator fa cility typically inc ludes an electric 
generator and/or an equipment package, as d efined herein (a lso referred to  as the “ generating 
facility” or “generator”).

“NEG” means Net Excess Generation.
"Net Metering" means a system of me tering electricity in which the Electric Supplier credits a Customer-

generator a t the full ap plicable retail rate by classification for  each kilowatt-hour produced by a 
renewable e nergy system installed on  the  Custom er-generator’s side of th e ele ctric re venue 
meter, up to the total amount of electricity used by that Customer during an Annualized Period. At 
the end of the An nualized Period, any r emaining credits are to be cr edited to the  Green Energy 
Fund at a rate equal to the Electric Supplier’s Avoided Cost of Wholesale Power.

8.21 General Provisions
8.1.1 Each Electric Su pplier providing Elec tric Supply Servic e to Re sidential and Non Residen tial 

Customers shall offer these Re tail Electric Cu stomers th e o ption of net en ergy mete ring Net 
Metering if a Retail Electric Customer generates electricity at the Customer’s premises, subject to 
all of the following requirements:

8.21.1 The Retail Electric Customer owns or and operates the electric generation facility; with a capacity 
that:

8.2.1.21.1 Will not exceed 25 kW per DP&L meter for Rresidential Customers;
8.1.1.2.1.3 Will not exceed 2 MW per DP&L meter for Nnon Rresidential Customers;
8.1.1.3 Will not exceed 100 kW per DP& L meter for farm c ustomers, as  thos e customers are 

described in Title 3, se ction 902(3); provided, however, that the De laware Energy Office 
may grant exceptions to this limitation in accordance with Title 26, section 1014(d)(1)b; 

8.21.1.4 Is intended primarily to offset all or part of the Customer's own electricity requirements;
8.21.1.5 Uses as it s primary source of fuel: so lar, wind, hydro, a fu el ce ll powered by renewable 

fuels, or gas from the anaerobic digestion of organic material;
8.21.1.6 Is inter connected an d op erated in  parallel wi th a n Electr ic Su pplier’s tran smission an d 

distribution facilities; and
8.21.1.7 Is not used by the Retail Electric Customer to supply electricity to property other than the 

Customer’s premises.
8.32 Net metering is the interconnection with Distribution Facilities shall be accomplished through a single 

meter at the Electric sSupplier’s expense, that runs forward and backward in or der to mea sure net 
energy flow during a billing period.

8.32.1 An additional meter or meters to monitor the flow of electricity in each direction may be installed 
with the con sent of th e net-metering Customer, at the expense of th e Electric Sup plier, and the 
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additional metering sha ll be used only to provid e the information necessary to acc urately bill or 
credit the Customer  purs uant to Sections 8.3 and/ or 8. 4 of  this Rule, or to collec t syst em 
performance information on the eligible technology for research purposes.

8.32.2 Where a la rger capacity meter  is r equired to se rve the Customer, or  a la rger capacity meter  is 
requested by the Customer, the Customer shall pay the Electric Supplier the difference between 
the larger capacity meter investment and the metering investment normally provided under the 
Customer's se rvice classification . If an add itional meter or mete rs are installed, the ne t energy 
metering calculation shall yield a result identical to that of a single meter.

8.2.3 If the existing electrical meter of a Customer is incapable of measuring the flow of electricity in two 
directions thr ough n o fault of the custome r, th e Electric Supplier s hall be r esponsible fo r all 
expenses involved in purchasing and installing such a meter.

8.43 If, during any billing period, a Retail Electric Customer’s facility generates Customer-Generator Facility 
produces more energy than that co nsumed by  the Customer , the Electric Supplier will credit the 
Customer in kilowatt-hours (kWh’s), valued at an amount per kilowatt-hour: (1) kWh equal to the sum 
of delivery ser vice cha rges an d su pply se rvice ch arges fo r Rresidential Cu stomers but do es not 
include the monthly Customer charge; and (2) the sum of the volumetric energy (kWh) components of 
the de livery ser vice char ges and sup ply ser vice charges for  n on Rresidential Cu stomers fo r any 
excess production of their generating facility that exceeds the Customer's on-site consumption of kWh 
in a billing period.

8.43.1 Excess kWh credits shall be credited to subsequent billing periods to  offset a Customer's 
consumption in those billing pe riods until all credits are used or until the end of the annualized 
billing period.

8.4.2 Any unused credits at the end of the 12-month period shall be forfeited to the Electric Supplier at 
the El ectric Su pplier’s Avoid ed Cost of Who lesale Po wer for  us e so lely to  aug ment existing  
funding for the Green Energy Fund.

8.3.2 At the end of the Annualized Billing Period, a Customer may request a payment from the Electric 
Supplier for any excess kW h credits. The payment shall be calculated by multiplying the excess 
kWh credits by the Customer's Supply Service Charges based on a weighted average of the first 
block o f th e summ er (June thr ough Sep tember) and winter Supply Serv ice Ch arges ( October 
through May) in effect at the end of the Customer's Annualized Billing Period and the preceding 11 
billing periods, excluding non-volumetric charges, such as the transmission capacity charge and/or 
demand charges. If such payment would be less than $25.00, the Electric Supplier may credit the 
Customer's account through monthly billing.

8.43.3 Any excess kWh credits sha ll no t reduce any fixed monthly Customer charges imposed by the 
Electric Supplier.

8.43.4 The Cu stomer-generator shall re tains ow nership of Renewable Energy Credits  (“REC”) RECs
associated with electric energy produced and consumed by th e Customer-generator. The RECs 
associated with NEG convey to the purchasing Electric Supplier.

8.43.5 Electric Suppliers shall provide net-metered Customers electric service at non-discriminatory rates 
that are identical, with respect to rate structure and monthly charges, to the rates that a Customer 
who is not nNet-mMetering wo uld be  ch arged. Elec tric Suppliers shall not ch arge a nNet-
mMetering Customer any stand-by fees or similar charges.

8.43.6 If a nNet mMetering Customer terminates its service with the electric provider (or switches electric 
providers), the e lectric provider Electric Distribution Company or ch anges Electr ic Supp lier, the  
Electric Supplier terminating service shall treat the end of service period as if it were the end of the 
Annualized Billing Period for any  excess kWh credits  at the electric provider’s Avo ided Cost of 
Wholesale Power.

8.43.7 If the total generating capacity of all Custome r-generation using net metering systems served by 
an electric utility exceeds 1 percent (15%) of th e capacity necessary to meet the electric utility's
Electric Supplier’s aggregated Customer monthly peak demand for a particular calendar year, the 
electric utility Electric Supplier may elect not to provide nNet mMetering services to any additional 
Customers-generators.
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8.54 Any r equirements n ecessary to pe rmit inter connected op erations b etween the  Retail Electric 
Customer’s generating fac ility Customer-Generator Facility  and the Ele ctric Supplier, and the cost s 
associated with such r equirements, shall be dealt with in a manner consistent with a st andard tariff 
filed with the Commission by the Electric Supplier. An Electric Supplier's interconnection rules shall be 
developed by using the Interstate Renewable Energy Council's (“IREC”) Model Interconnection Rules 
and best practices identified by the U.S. Department of Energy.

8.65 Each Electric Supplier shall submit an annual net-metering report to the Commission 90 days after the 
annualized billing period. The  end of the cale ndar ye ar. Su ch report s hall inc lude th e followin g 
information from the prior compliance previous calendar year:

8.65.1 The total number of Customer-gGenerator fFacilities;
8.65.2 The total estimated rated generating capacity of its net-metered Customer-generators;
8.65.3 The total estimated net kilowatt-hours received from Customer-generators; and
8.65.4 The total e stimated amount o f energy produced by Customer-generators, using a m ethodology 

approved by the Commission.
8.76 The Commission  shall per iodically r eview th e imp act o f ne t-metering rule s in this sectio n an d 

recommend changes or adjustments necessary for the economic health of utilities.
8.7 A re tail electric customer having on  its premises one or  more grid Gr id-Integrated Electric Vehicles 

shall be credited in kilowatt-hours (kWh)  for energy d ischarged to  the grid from the Grid- Integrated 
Electric Vehicle's battery at the same kWh rate that customer pays to charge the battery from the grid, 
as determined in Section 8.3 of this Rule. Excess kWh credits shall be handled in the same manner as 
Net Metering as described in Se ction 8.3 of this Rule. To qualify under this section of the Rule, the 
Grid-Integrated Electric Vehicle must meet the requirements in Sections 8.1.1.1., 8.1.1.2, and 8.1.1.6 
of this Rule. Connection and metering of Grid-Integrated Electric Vehicles shall be subject to the rules 
and regulations found in Sections 8.3, 8.4, and 8.5 of this Rule.

8.8 The Commission may adopt tariffs for regulated electric ut ilities that are not inc onsistent with Section 
8.7 of this Rule. Such tariffs may include rate and credit structures that var y from those set for th in 
Section 8.7 of this Rule, as long as alternative rate and credit structures are not inconsistent with the 
development of Grid-Integrated Electric Vehicles.

12 DE Reg. 518 (10/01/08)

*Please Note:  As  the  res t of  th e se ctions we re no t ame nded, t hey are  not  being pu blished h ere. A 
complete copy of the proposed regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/proposed/13 DE Reg 614 11-01-09.htm

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

26 DE Admin. Code 3008

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF RULES AND |
PROCEDURES TO IMPLEMENT THE RENEWABLE |
ENERGY PORTFOLIO STANDARDS ACT, 26 DEL.C. |
26 DEL.C. §§351-363, AS APPLIED TO RETAIL |  PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 56
ELECTRICITY SUPPLIERS (OPENED AUGUST 23, 2005; |
REOPENED SEPTEMBER 4, 2007; AUGUST 5, 2008; AND |
SEPTEMBER 22, 2009 |
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ORDER NO. 7653

AND NOW, this 22nd day of September, 2009:

WHEREAS, in 2 005 th e Gen eral Asse mbly an d the  Go vernor en acted the  “Ren ewable Ene rgy Portfolio 
Standards Act,”  26  Del.C. §§3 51-364 ( 2006 Su pp.) (the  “RPS Act” ), which required each electric s uppliers, 
beginning in 20 07, to  ann ually accumu late a po rtfolio of “renewable energy cr edits” eq uivalent to a spe cified 
percentage of its retail electric supply sales in Delaware; and 

WHEREAS 26 Del.C. §360(b) provides that unused renewable energy credits shall exist for three years from 
the date of their creation; and

WHEREAS, in 20 06, the Commission pr omulgated “Rules an d Pr ocedures to Im plement th e Re newable 
Energy Portfolio Standard” (the “RPS Rules”).  See Order No. 6931 (June 6, 2006);1 and  

WHEREAS the Commis sion has revised its RPS Rules from time to time to reflect amendments to th e RPS 
Act.  See PSC Order No. 7377 (Apr. 17, 2008); PSC Order No. 7494 (Dec. 16, 2008); and

WHEREAS, on July 8, 2009, the Governor of the State of Delaware signed into law Senate Bill No. 1 73, as 
amended by Senate Bill No. 1 (77 Del. Laws ch. 131) (July 8, 2009) (“SB 173”), which mostly  updated and clarified 
certain provisions of the Delaware Energy Act pertaining to Delaware’s Sustainable Energy Utility (the “SEU”); and

WHEREAS, SB 173 also amended Section 360 of the RPS Act by adding a subsection that tolls the three-year 
limit on the existence of renewable energy credits and solar renewable energy credits during any period that those 
credits are held by the SEU. See 26 Del.C. §360(c); and

WHEREAS, the Commission now proposes to update the RPS Rules to add a provision that reflects SB 173’s 
change to Section 36 0 referenced above and to add a definition of the SEU (a ttached as Exhibit “A” hereto is a 
copy of the RPS Rules with the proposed additions in black-line format); and

WHEREAS th e Comm ission belie ves th at th e pr oposed r evised r egulations should be p ublished in  the 
Delaware Register of Regulations to provide public notice of the rulemaking to develop final regulations; 

NOW, THER EFORE, IT IS HE REBY ORDE RED B Y TH E AFFIRMA TIVE VOTE OF NO FEWER  TH AN 
THREE COMMISSIONERS:

1. That, for the reasons set forth in the body of this Order, and pursuant to 26 Del.C. § 362 and 29 Del.C. § 
10115, the  Co mmission pro poses to  re vise it s “ Rules an d Pr ocedures to  Im plement the  Re newable En ergy 
Portfolio Standard,” originally adopted by PSC Order No. 6931 (June 6, 2006) and published at 10 DE Reg. 151-57
(the “RPS Rules”).  A co py of the RPS Rules in their current form as approved by the Commission in PSC Order 
No. 7494 (Dec. 16, 2008) is appended as Exhibit “B” to this Order.  The proposed revised RPS Rules are attached 
to this Order as Exhibit “A”.

2. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 and 10115(a), the Acting Secretary shall transmit to the  Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order, along with copies of the 
proposed and current RPS Rules (Exhibits “A” and “B”, respectively).  

3. That the Acting Secretary shall cause the Notice of Proposed Rule-Making, attached as Exhibit “C” to be 
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations.  In addition, the Secretary shall cause such Notice of Proposed 
Rule-Making to b e published in Th e News  Journal and the Dela ware St ate News  newspapers on October 28, 
2009.  The Acting Secretary shall include proof of such publication in the docket file before the public hearing in this 
matter.  Further, the Acting Secretary shall serve (by regular mail or by electronic e-mail) a copy of such Notice on: 
(a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the Delaware Energy Office; (c) Delmarva Power & Light Company; (d) 

1. The RPS Rules ( attached as Exhibit “B”) were formally published at 10 DE Reg. 151-157 (July 1, 20 06). 
Municipal electric utilities and the now self-regulated Delaware Electric Cooperative, Inc. can choose to be exempt 
from the RPS Act’s requirements by pursuing an alternative regime for supporting “renewable energy” resources. 
See 26 Del. C. §§ 353(a), 363.
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all certificated electric suppliers; and (e) each person or entity who has made a timely request for advance notice of 
regulation-making proceedings. 

4. That, pursuant to 29  Del.C. §§ 10115(a) and 1 0116, pe rsons o r entities ma y file written comm ents, 
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before December 1, 2009.  Pursuant to 
29 Del.C. §10117, the Commission will conduct a public hearing  on the proposed revis ions to the RPS Rules on 
December 8 , 2009 b eginning a t 1:00  P.M. a t the Co mmission’s o ffice a t 861 Silver  La ke Bou levard, Can non 
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware.

5. That the Commission will defer for the time being referring this matter to a Hearing Examiner under 26 
Del.C. § 502 and 29 Del.C. §10116.  Depending on what, if any, comments are received to the proposed revisions 
to the Regu lations, th e Commission  may determine at a la ter tim e th at it is necessary to  appoint a He aring 
Examiner.

6. That Joseph C. Handlon, Esquire, Deputy Attorney General, is designated Staff Counsel for this matter.
7. That, pursuant to  2 6 Del.C. §§114 and 1012(c )(2), all electric suppliers and elec tric public utilities are 

hereby notified that they will be charged the costs incurred in connection with this proceeding under the provisions 
of 26 Del.C. § 114(b)(1).

8. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may 
be deemed necessary or proper. 

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE-MAKING AMENDING “RULES AND PROCEDURES TO IMPLEMENT THE 
RENEWABLE ENERGY PORTFOLIO STANDARD” 

TO: ALL ELECTRIC SUPPLIERS, ELECTRIC UTILITIES, ELECTRIC GENERATORS USING RENEWABLE 
RESOURCES, AND OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS

Under the “Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards Act,” 2 6 Del.C. §§351-364 (2006 Supp.) (the “RPS Act” ), 
each electric supplier making retail electric sales in Delaware mu st, beginning in 2007, accumulate a portfolio of 
“renewable energy credits” equivalent to a specified percentage of its overall retail electric supply sales.  In 2006, 
the Pub lic Service Commission (“ PSC”) ad opted “ Rules and Procedures to  Implement th e Re newable Ener gy 
Portfolio Standard” (the  “RPS Rule s”).  See 10 DE Reg. 1 51-157 ( July 1, 20 06).   Th e RPS Rules h ave been 
amended twice in the interim to conform to subsequent amendments to the RPS Act.

On July 8, 2009, the Gov ernor of the State of Delaware signed into law Senate Bill N o. 173 as amended by 
Senate Bill No. 1 (77 Del. Laws ch. 131) (July 8, 2009) (“Senate Bill 173”), whic h updated and clarified cert ain 
provisions of the Delaware Energy Act pert aining to Delaware’s Sus tainable Energy Utility (the “SEU ”) and 
amended Section 360 of the RPS Act b y adding a subsection, that to lls the thre e-year limit on the existence of 
renewable energy credits and solar renewable energy credits during any period that those credits are held by the 
SEU.

The PSC n ow proposes to r evise the RPS Ru les to incorporate, and assure consistency with , the statutory 
changes made by Senate Bill 173.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Dallas Winslow, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Katie Rochester, Acting Secretary
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You can review PSC Order No. 7653 (Sept. 22, 2009) (the “Order”) and the proposed revised RPS Rules in the 
November 2009 issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations.  You can also review the Order and the proposed 
revised RPS Rules at the PSC’s Internet website located at http://depsc.delaware.gov.  If you wish to obtain written 
copies of the Order and proposed revised RPS Rules, please contact the PSC at (302) 736-7500.  Copies are 
$0.25 per page.  Payment is expected prior to copying (if you wish the copies to be mailed) or at the time the copies 
are retrieved (if you retrieve them in person).

The PSC now solicits comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials about the 
proposed revisions to its RPS Rules. If you wish to file an y such materials, you should submit an original and ten 
copies of such written documents on or before December 1, 2009.  You should file such materials with the PSC at 
the following address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 56

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission.  Such 
electronic co py m ay b e f iled on  a  co py-capable CD -Rom dis k or  se nt as  an  a ttachment to  an  In ternet e- mail 
addressed to katie.rochester@state.de.us.

The PSC will also conduct a public evidentiary hearing on the new proposed regulations on December 8, 2009 
at 1:00 P.M. at the PSC’s office at the address set forth above.   

Any individual with a disability desiring to participate in these proceedings or to review the filings should contact 
the PSC to discuss any auxiliary aids or s ervices needed.  The PSC S taff can also provide additional information 
about this docket.  The PSC’s toll-free telephone number within Delaware is 1-800-282-8574.  The PSC may be 
reached a t ( 302) 736 -7500 (in cluding text te lephone co mmunications).  Inqu iries m ay be sent to  th e PSC by 
Internet e-mail addressed to “pamela.knotts@state.de.us.” 

3008 Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard (Opened August 23, 
2005)

1.0 Definitions
1.1 The following words and terms, when used in th is Regulation, should ha ve the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

"Sustainable Energy Utility" ("SEU") is the nonprofit entity according to the provisions of 29 Del. C. § 
8059 that develops and coordinates programs for en ergy end-users in De laware for the pu rpose of 
promoting the sustainable use of energy in Delaware.

(Break in Continuity Within Sections)

3.0 Administration of RPS

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

3.3 Verification of Compliance with the RPS
3.3.1 Within 120 days of the end of a comp liance year, each Retail Electricity Supplier who has made 

sales to an End-use Customer in the State of Delaware must submit a completed Retail Electricity 
Supplier's Verification of Compliance with the Delaware Renewable En ergy Po rtfolio St andard 
Report (Report) which includes, but is not limited to, evidence of  the specified number of SRECs 
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and RECs required for that Compliance Year according to Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 and the Total 
Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product.

3.3.2 SRECs or RECs must have been created by PJM-EIS's GATS, or its successor at law or pursuant 
to Section 3.1.6.1 of this Regulation.

3.3.3 SRECs or  RECs , su bmitted for compliance with this Regu lation, m ay be  dated  no  ea rlier than 
three (3) years prior to the beginning of the current Compliance Year.

3.3.4 The three (3) year period referred to in 3.3.3 sh all be tolled during any period that a renewable 
energy credit or solar renewable energy credit is held by the SEU as defined in 29 Del.C. § 8059.

3.3.45 In lieu of standard means of compliance with the RPS, any Retail Electricity Supplier may pay into 
the Fund a SACP or ACP pu rsuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. §358 or as determined by the 
State Energy Coordinator of the Delaware Energy Office consistent with 26 Del.C. §354 (a).

3.3.56 The Commission Staff shall no tify any Retail Electricity Supplier of any compliance deficiencies 
within 165 days of the close of the cur rent Compliance Year. If the Retail Electricity Supplier is 
found to be deficient by the Commission Staff, the Retail Elec tricity Supplier shall be required to 
pay th e ap propriate ACP or  SACP, accor ding to  Sectio n 3 .3.4 of th is Re gulation. All su ch 
payments shall be  due within 30  days of no tification by the Commission Sta ff. Upon receipt of 
payment, the Retail Electricity Supplier shall be found to be in compliance for that given year.

3.3.67 All compliance payments, made by the Retail Electricity Supplier, shall be payable to the Delaware 
Green Energy Fund and sent to the Commission.

11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)
12 DE Reg. 1110 (02/01/09)

*Please Note:  As  the  res t of  th e se ctions we re no t ame nded, t hey are  not  being pu blished h ere. A 
complete copy of the proposed regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/proposed/13 DE Reg 622 11-01-09.htm

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF PLANNING AND POLICY

Statutory Authority: 17 Delaware Code Sections 131, 146 and 508; Chapters 1 and 5
(17 Del.C. §§131, 146, 508)

2 DE Admin. Code 2309

PUBLIC NOTICE

2309 Standards and Regulations for Subdivision Streets and State Highway Access

Statutory Authority
• 17 Delaware Code Chapter 1, Section 131
• 17 Delaware Code Chapter 1, Section 146
• 17 Delaware Code Chapter 5, Section 508

Background
The Delaware Department of Transportation through its Planning Division has developed proposed revisions to 

its regulations fo r access to  State-maintained roads and fo r p lanning, design, construction, and accep tance for 
maintenance o f subdivision str eets. This pr oposed re vision to th e S tandards and Re gulations fo r Subd ivision 
Streets and State Highway Access is the first revision to the regulations that were enacted in December of 2007. 
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These regulations define the requirements which apply to:
• New subdivisions and land development
• Changed or expanded subdivisions and land development
• Any new access to a State-maintained road
• Modifications to an existing access 
• Assessment of the impacts of traffic
• Off-site improvements

Attached to th is announcement is a summ ary of t he p roposed ch anges to  th e re gulations. In  add ition, 
proposed deletions are shown as stricken through text and proposed new language is shown as underlined text.

A public workshop will be held regarding these proposals on November 19, 2009 at the DelDOT Administration 
Building in the Farmington/Felton Room from 4:00 pm until 7:00 pm.

The Department will t ake written comm ents on the proposed changes to t he Regulations from November 1, 
2009 through December 17, 2009.

Any requests for copies of  the Regulations, or any questions or  comments regarding amendments to these 
Regulations should be directed to: 

Theodore Bishop, Assistant Director of Planning
Delaware Department of Transportation
PO Box 778
Dover, DE 19903
(302) 760-2122 (telephone)
(302) 739-2251 (fax)
theodore.bishop@state.de.us

2309 Standards and Regulations for Subdivision Streets and State Highway Access

Chapter 1 
• Requires all applications to be sent to the Subdivision Engineer instead of the local District.
• Removes paying the NPDES fee to DelDOT, applicants will pay fee to DNREC.

Chapter 2
2.2.5

• DelDOT can require a new TIS if conditions change in the study area. A revised TIS, a new TIS or an 
operational analysis may be required prior to issuing an Letter of No Objection.

2.3.2
• Area Wide Study fee changes from $5/trip to $10/trip. Payment of the fee in lieu of doing the TIS 

shifts from developer’s option to DelDOT’s option.
2.5.1

• Scoping Meeting Information Form – describes all of the information to be submitted to DelDOT. 
• Scoping Meeting describes the scope confirmation letter is only valid for 12 months or until con-

ditions change.
2.9.11.6

• Level of Service Analysis – Method of calculation peak hour factors is changed.
• Guidance is provided on calculation of heavy vehicle percentages specified.
• Default Base Saturation Flow Rates – specified by location.
• DelDOT will prepare Scoping Letters.
• Option B is a new process that has DelDOT performing the TIS using out consultant instead of the 

Applicant preparing the TIS.
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Chapter 3
3.4.1.1

• Defines minimum projected 10 year volumes as 20% greater than the existing volumes plus the site 
traffic.

Chapter 4
• Reduces the review time for plans from 45 working day to 30 working days. 

Chapter 5
• Change various minor details on design standards.
• Turn lane warrant charts are dependent on 10 year projected volume instead of current ADT.
• Changes reference to the MUTCD to the Delaware MUTCD.

Chapter 6
• Changes the security amount for entrances back to 150% from the old manual.
• Changes when the entrance construction should start.
• Change security amount on subdivision streets from 10% to 100%.

Chapter 7
• Deleted Entrance Apron Detail, Figure 7-4.

Appendix C
• Updated the Initial Stage and Construction Stage Fee Forms.
• Created an Area Wide Study Fee Calculation Form.

*Please Note: Due to th e size  of the proposed regulation, it  is not  being published here. A cop y of th e 
regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/proposed/13 DE Reg 626 11-01-09.htm
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new 
text added at the  time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text be ing deleted. 
[Bracketed Bold la nguage] ind icates text added at the time the final o rder was issu ed.  [Bracketed stricken 
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The op portunity for public comme nt shall be he ld ope n fo r a min imum of 30 da ys af ter the proposal is 
published in the Register of Regulations.  At th e conclusio n of all hearings and af ter re ceipt within  the time  
allowed of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and writ ten evidence and information submitted, together 
with summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation 
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief 
summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, 
amend or  repeal a re gulation o r to  take no action  and the d ecision sh all be  supported by it s findings on  the 
evidence an d information r eceived;  (4)  T he exact text and cit ation of such reg ulation ado pted, ame nded or  
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  ( 6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by th e law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date o f an order which ad opts, amends or repeals a re gulation shall be n ot less tha n 10 days 
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has bee n published in it s final form in the 
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 6603 (16 Del.C. §6603)

1 DE Admin. Code 700

ORDER

Nature of the Proceedings

The State Fire Prevention Commission (“the Commission”) held a properly noticed, public hearing on August 
18, 2009 to receive comment on proposed additions, revisions, deletions, modifications and reservations to the 
Commission Regu lations. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. § 10115, notice of the p roposed amendments to the  ru les and  
regulations was pu blished on July 1, 2 009, in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 13 , Is sue 12. In  
addition, the hearing notice was published in 2 newspapers of general circulation. The Commission deliberated on 
the public comment at its next regularly noticed and scheduled meeting on September 15, 2009.

Summary of the Evidence

1. The Comm ission re ceived o ne wri tten co mment from Ron G ahagan, Ass istant Ge neral C ounsel, Altria 
Client Services Inc., on behalf of Phillip Morris USA, Inc., suggesting multiple revisions to Chapter 1 under Section 
704 o f the proposed regulations re lated to  Reduced Ign ition Propensity Ciga rettes. The  submission included a  
marked up copy of the regulations with Mr. Gahagan’s proposed changes. Mr. Gahagan’s written submission was 
admitted as Commission Public Hearing Exhibit 1. 

2. The Commission received a brief overview of the proposed updates to the Regulations from Fire Marshal 
Grover P. Ingle. The pro posed amendment s stem f rom the three (3) year review cycle. The summary of  the 
proposed recommendations for 2009 is as follows:
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Part I
• Chapter 2: New Definitions and recommended changes from the High Rise Committee.
• Chapter 4: Revision on Limitations of Plan Review approvals and permits.
• ANNEX A: Recommendation to adopt the most recent editions of NFPA Codes and Standards that 

are presently adopted by the Regulation.
• ANNEX B: Recommendations to update the proper section and paragraph numbers from the 

adopted NFPA Codes and Standards that are presently amended by the Regulation, including NFPA 
1; which is being moved from Annex C to Annex B. 

Part II
• Chapter 3, 4, and 5: Proposed recommendations to the High Rise and Large Area building Chapters 

as proposed by the High Rise Committee.

Part III
• Chapter 3: Proposed recommendation to allow the use of reflective paint or reflective tape on 

hydrants.
• Chapters 4, 5, 6, 7: Proposed recommendation to allow a company, business, or person(s) exempt 

from Workers’ Compensation laws of the State (19 Del.C. Ch. 23 – Workers’ Compensation) be 
licensed by providing written documentation to the Office of the State Fire Marshal stating the 
exemption. 

• Chapter 5 and 7: Proposed recommendation to reflect the requirement in 16 Del.C. §6603(c) – to 
have a NICET – Level II – Inspection and Testing of Water-based Systems certification to be 
licensed to do testing and inspection on water based fire protection systems.

Part IV
• Chapter 1: Proposed Regulations addressing Fire Safe Cigarettes.

Part V
• Chapter 1: Proposed recommendations to the Gated Communities section.
• Chapter 5: Two public proposals submitted to revise the Fire Lane requirements.

Appendix E
• Defines the meaning of “apartment complex” 

3. Gil Moniz offered public comment in support of accepting the Fire Marshal’s recommendation to adopt the 
2008 electrical code. 

4. Ron Gahagan, Assistant General Counsel, Altria Client Services Inc., on behalf of Phillip Morris USA, Inc., 
offered public comment consistent with his written submission regarding proposed changes to Chapter 1 under 
Section 704 of the proposed regulations related to Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes.

5.  Michael Morton, a statistician with Altria Client Services Inc., on behalf of Phillip Morris USA, Inc., offered 
public co mment recommending that th e Co mmission not put a  spe cific test ing and sa mpling pr otocol in the 
regulations.

6. Ed Osienski offered public comment on behalf of Local 669 in regard to the NICET II qualifications.  Mr. 
Osienski stated that he represents 110 sprinkler installers in the State of Delaware.  He would like to have seen the 
law worded differently to give employers more time for testing periods. The current compliance date was July 1, 
2009. Mr. Osienski stated that he understood that issue would require a change to the law.

Findings of Fact

Based upon the evidence received, the Commission finds the following facts to be supported by the evidence:
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1. There was no pu blic comment p resented at the pu blic h earing in  o pposition to an y of th e proposed 
regulations with  the exception  of th e imple mentation of  regulations go verning Re duced Ignition Pro pensity 
Cigarettes, Chapter 1 under Section 704.

2. The Commission has no authority to extend by regulation the effective date for the NICET II requirements 
that became effective on July 1, 2009.

3. In written correspondence, and at the hearing, Ron Gahagan raised a number of suggestions to clarify the 
regulations governing Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes as proposed in Chapter 1 under  Section 704. The 
Commission also receiv ed statistical information fr om M r. Mo rton as to wh y it sh ould no t e stablish te sting and  
sampling protocols.

4. The Commission finds that the iss ues raised by Mr. Gahagan and Mr. Morton on behalf o f Altria  Client 
Services Inc., on behalf of Phillip Morris USA, Inc., should be referred back to the Fire Marshal for further review 
using his expertise in the subject matter before implementing Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes regulations. 
As a result, the Commission determined to delete the proposed regulations in Chapter 1 under Section 704 at this 
time. The Commission w ill res erve se ction and consider rep ublishing Reduc ed Ignition  Propensity Cigarette 
regulations at another public hearing to be held at a future date. 

The Law

The S tate Fir e Pre vention Com mission’s rulemaking authority is pr ovided by 16 Del.C. 6603 S tate F ire 
Commission Promulgation of Regulations:

“(a) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall have the power to promulgate, amend and repeal 
regulations for the safeguarding of life and property from the hazards of fire and explosion…”

Decision and Effective Date

The Comm ission he reby ado pts the a mendments to  the r egulations to  be e ffective 10  days following  
publication of this Order in the Register of Regulations. The Commission relies upon its expertise in this area and 
the evidence presented in the testimony and documents submitted.

Text and Citation

The Commission hereby adopts the Regulations as published in Register of Regulations, Vol. 13,  Issue 12, 
July 1, 20 09 with the alt erations to Se ction 70 4 noted in this Or der. A copy of the Re gulations as adopted is 
attached to this Order as Exhibit A.  

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of October 2009.

STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION

Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations
Summary of Proposed Recommendations for 2009

701 Administration and Enforcement

Marvin C. Sharp, Chairman Kenneth H. McMahon
Bob Ricker, Vice-Chairman Douglas S. Murray, Sr.
Willard (Bill) Betts David J. Roberts
Ron Marvel
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• Chapter 2: New Definitions and recommended changes from the High Rise Committee.
• Chapter 4: Revision on Limitations of Plan Review approvals and permits.
• ANNEX A: Recommendation to adopt the most recent editions of NFPA Codes and Standards that 

are presently adopted by the Regulation.
• ANNEX B: Recommendations to update the proper section and paragraph numbers from the 

adopted NFPA Codes and Standards that are presently amended by the Regulation, including NFPA 
1; which is being moved from Annex C to Annex B.

702 Fire Protection in Building Construction
• Chapter 3, 4, and 5: Proposed recommendations to the High Rise and Large Area building Chapters 

as proposed by the High Rise Committee.

703 Installation, Operation, Maintenance, Testing and Sales of Signalling Systems, Fire Protection Systems 
and Fire Extinguishers

• Chapter 3: Proposed recommendation to allow the use of reflective paint or reflective tape on 
hydrants.

• Chapters 4, 5, 6, 7: Proposed recommendation to allow a company, business, or person(s) exempt 
from Workers' Compensation laws of the State (19 Del.C. Chp. 23 - Workers' Compensation) be 
licensed by providing written documentation to the Office of the State Fire Marshal stating the 
exemption. 

• Chapter 5 and 7: Proposed recommendation to reflect the requirement in 16 Del.C. §6603(c) - to 
have a NICET - Level II - Inspection and Testing of Water-based Systems certification to be licensed 
to do testing and inspection on water based fire protection systems.

704 Hazardous Processes and Operations
• Chapter 1: Proposed Regulations addressing Fire Safe Cigarettes.

705 General Fire Safety
• Chapter 5: Two public proposals submitted to revise the Fire Lane requirements.

Appendix E
• Defines the meaning of "apartment complex" 

704 Hazardous Processes and Operations

Chapter 1 Fumigation or Thermal Insecticidal Fogging [Standard for] Reduced Ignition Propensity 
Cigarettes

This Chapter Has Been Reserved. [This Chapter Has Been Reserved.

1.0 General
1.1 Scope

1.1.1 This Chapter implements regulations for the Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes Law 
under 16 Del. C. Ch. 71A. Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes.

1.2 Purpose
1.2.1 The purpose of this regulation is to promulgate regulations as necessary to implement and 

administer 16 Del. C. Ch. 71A Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes, and; 
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1.2.2 To promulgate regulations to co nduct random inspections of wholesale dealers, agents, 
and retail dealers to ensure that only cigarettes complying with 16 Del. C. Ch. 71A are sold 
in the State. 

1.3 Application
1.3.1 This regulation shall apply to t hose operating in t he State of Delaware in man ufacturing, 

wholesaling, and/or retail sales of cigarettes. 
1.3.2 This regulation does not  apply to cigare ttes purchased outside of  the  State of  Delaware 

that are not offered for sale in the State. 

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The definitions foun d in this Chapt er sha ll be in add ition to the  definitions found in other 

sections of these Regulations and shall be inclusive for this Chapter only. 
“Agent”  Any person authorized by the State to purchase and affix tax stamps on packages of 
cigarettes.
“Cigarette”

• Any roll for smoking whether made wholly or  in p art o f tobacco or an y other sub-
stance, irrespective of size or shape and whether or not such tobacco or substance is 
flavored, a dulterated or mixe d wit h any ot her ingredient, the wr apper o r c over of  
which is made of paper or any other substance or material other than leaf tobacco; or

• Any roll for smoking wrapped in any substance containing tobacco which, because of 
its appearance the type of tobacco used in the filler or its packaging and labeling, is 
likely to be offered, or purchased by, consumers as a cigarette as described in para-
graph (2)a. of this section above.

“Manufacturer”
• Any entity which manufactures or otherwise produces cigarettes or causes cigarettes 

to be manufactured or produced anywhere that such manufacturer intends to be sold 
in this State, including cigarettes intended to be sold in the United States through an 
importer; OR

• The first purchaser anywhere that intends to resell in the United States cigarettes 
manufactured anywhere that the original manufacturer or maker does not intend to be 
sold in the United States; or

• Any entity that becomes a successor of an entity described in paragraph (a) or (b) of 
this section.

“Quality Control” and “ Quality Assurance Program ” The laboratory procedures implemented 
to ens ure tha t op erator bias s ystematic a nd non systematic me thodological errors an d 
equipment-related problems do not affect the results of the testing. This program ensures that 
the testing repeatability remains within the required repeatability values stated in 16 Del. C.§ 
7117(a)(6) for all test trials used to certify cigarettes in accordance with this Regulation and 16 
Del. C. Ch. 71A. 
“Repeatability” The range of values within which the repeat results of cigarette test trials from 
a single laboratory will fall 95 percent of the time.
“Retail Dealer” Any person other than a man ufacturer or wholesale dealer engaged in selling 
cigarettes or tobacco products.
“Sale” In addition to its usual meaning, any sale, transfer, exchange, theft, barter, gift or offer 
for sale and distribution, in any manner or by any means whatsoever.
“Sell” To sell or to offer or agree to do the same.
“State Fire Marshal” The Delaware State Fire Marshal or the State Fire Marshal's deputies.
“Wholesale Dealer” Any person who s ells cigarettes or tobacco products to retail dealers or 
other persons for purposes of resale, and any person who owns, op erates or maintains 1 o r 
more cigar ette or  tobacco produ ct vending machines in, a t or up on pre mises owned  or 
occupied by any other person. 
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3.0 Fundamental Requirements
3.1 Every cigarette brand s tyle so ld in t he State of  Delaware  mus t comply with th e Red uced 

Ignition Propensity Cigarettes law under 16 Del. C. Ch. 71A. 
3.2 Every cigarette offered for sa le in t he State o f De laware mus t exhibit p ackage markings 

indicating t hat t he c igarette has  bee n t ested a nd c ertified u nder the  requ irements of  th e 
Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes Law. (16 Del. C. Ch. 71A)

3.3 Every cigarette brand style must be certified by the State Fire Marshal prior to being offered for 
sale in Delaware.

3.3.1 Every cigarette brand style must be recertified by the State Fire Marshal every three years 
from the last date that the cigarette brand style was approved. 

4.0 Testing Method and Performance Standard
4.1 Cigarettes offered for sale in the State must comply with the testing method and performance 

standard defined in 16 Del. C. §7117. 
4.1.1 No cigarette may be so ld or offered for s ale in t his St ate or offered f or sale or  s old t o 

persons located in this State unless such cigarettes have been tested in accordance with 
the test method and meet performance standard specified in 16 Del. C. §7117. 

4.2 The Of fice of the  S tate Fire Mars hal will ce rtify and  register ciga rette brand s tyles tha t ar e 
permitted to be sold or off ered for sale in the State of Delaware after reviewing and approving 
the cigarette manufacturer's submission as outlined in 16 Del. C. §7118.

4.3 The Office of the State Fire Marshal will maintain a directory of cigarette brand styles that are 
permitted to be sold or offered for sale in the State. 

5.0 Package Markings
5.1 All packages containing reduced ignition propensity cigarettes shall be marked indicating that 

the cigarettes have been certified by the manufacturer in compliance of 16 Del. C. Ch. 71A. 
5.1.1 Prior to certification of any cigarette, a manufacturer shall present its proposed marking to 

the State Fire Marshal for approval. 
5.1.2 Upon receipt of t he request, the  State Fire Ma rshal or  State Fire Mar shal designee sha ll 

approve or disapprove the marking offered. 
5.2 Manufacturers requesting their markings to be approved must submit an exemplar to the Office 

of the State Fire Marshal for each brand style.

6.0 Enforcement
6.1 The Of fice of t he S tate Fire Mar shal is re sponsible t o administ er a nd mana ge t he Red uced 

Ignition Propensity Cigarettes Program.  
6.2 Enforcement of  the Redu ced Ignition Prope nsity Cigarettes progr am will be  coordinated 

through the Office of the State Fire Marshal.

7.0 Penalties
7.1 The State Fire Marshal shall assess all civil penalties as outlined in 16 Del. C. Ch. 71A.
7.2 All civil penalties will be paid within 30 days of assessment. 

8.0 Inspections
8.1 The Off ice of the State Fire M arshal will conduct random inspections of wholesale and retail 

businesses engaged in the selling of cigarettes in the State of Delaware to ensure compliance 
with this Chapter. 
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8.2 Random selections of cigarettes in random locations throughout the State that sell or offer for 
sale cigarettes will be purchased and sent to a third party independent testing facility selected 
by the State Fire Marshal. 

8.2.1 A total of 80 specific cigarettes from one cigarette brand style will be collected from various 
locations in the State selling or offering for sale that specific cigarette brand style.

8.2.2 A t otal of  4 0 specific cigarettes f rom o ne cigarette brand style will b e t ested by  a n 
independent accredited testing facility selected by the State Fire Marshal.

8.2.3 The remaining 40 specific c igarettes f rom one cigarette brand style will be h eld with the 
Office of the State Fire Marshal. 

8.3 Any cigarette brand style that fails the compliance test will be retested from the remaining 40 
specific cigarettes being held by the Office of the State Fire Marshal. 

8.3.1 The manu facturer s hall be no tified by t he Off ice of  the  Sta te F ire Mar shal of  th e initial 
compliance test failure. 

8.4 Any cigarette brand style that fails the second confirmation test will be decertified by the Office 
of the State Fire Marshal.

8.4.1 The manufacturer shall be  not ified by the Off ice of  the  State Fire M arshal of t he second 
failed test. The manufacturer will have no less than or no more than thirty calendar days to 
appeal the test results f rom the second test only. The  manufacturer may  not  appeal the 
results of the first test. 

8.4.2 The State Fire Marshal shall seek an injunction from the Attorney General's office for the 
removal of the decertified cigarette brand style from retail businesses selling or offering for 
sale the noncompliant cigarette brand style. 

8.5 The Office of the State Fire M arshal will confiscate all nonc ompliant cigarettes being sold o r 
offered for sale in the State. 

9.0 Certification Renewal
9.1 Every cigarette brand style must be certified by the State Fire Marshal every three years after 

the initial certification date on file with the Office of the State Fire Marshal. 
9.2 Certification tests conducted by the manufacturer or manufacturer's representative must have 

been successfully completed no more t han one year prior t o the certification renewal date of 
the specific cigarette brand style. 

9.2.1 Certification test data will not  be accepted if the test completion date is g reater than one 
year. 

9.3 A registration fee of $250 USD is required for each cigarette brand style certification.
9.3.1 Only dome stic che cks or money orde rs ma de p ayable t o t he St ate of  Delaware  will be  

accepted.

10.0 Statute
10.1 No re gulation promulga ted in  this Cha pter is inte nded to s upersede t he re quirements o f 16 

Del.C. Ch. 71A.]

*Please note that no other changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in 
the July 2009 issue of t he Register at page 7 (1 3 DE Reg. 7) . Therefore, the final regulation is no t being 
republished. A copy of the entire final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/final/13 DE Reg 629 11-01-09.htm
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009



FINAL REGULATIONS636
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 260

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

260 General Administrative Review Procedures for the Child and Adult Care Food Programs of the United 
States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secr etary of Ed ucation intends to r eadopt 14 DE Admin. Code 260 Ge neral Adm inistrative Review 
Procedures for the Child and Adult Food Programs of the United States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA 
without changes. This regulation is p art of the five-year review cycle. The regulation is in p lace pursuant to th e 
Child Nutrition and WIC Reauthorization Act of 2004, a reauthorization of the Richard B. Russell National School 
Lunch Act and the Child Nutrition Act of 1966.

Notice of the proposed regulation wa s pu blished in the News Journal an d th e Delaware State News on  
September 2, 2009, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. The Department did not receive comments on the 
amendments. 

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to readopt 14 DE Admin. Code 260 General Administ rative Review 
Procedures for the Child and Adult Care Food Programs of the United States Department of Agriculture as part of 
the five-year review cycle.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to readopt 14 DE Admin. Code 260 
General Admin istrative Review Pro cedures for  th e Child  and Adult Car e Fo od Prog rams of th e United  S tates 
Department of  Ag riculture. T herefore, pu rsuant to  1 4 Del.C. §122, 1 4 DE Ad min. Code 260 Ge neral 
Administrative Review Procedures for the Child and Adult Care Food Programs of the United States Department of 
Agriculture attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby readopted. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 
DE Admin. Code 260 General Administrative Review Procedures for the Child and Adult Care Food Programs of 
the United States Department of Agriculture hereby readopted shall be in effect for a period of five years from the 
effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 260 General Administrative Review Procedures for the Child and Adult Care 
Food Programs of the  United  States Department o f Agr iculture readopted hereby sha ll be  in  the  form attached 
hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 260 General Administrative Review 
Procedures for  the Child and Adult Care Food Programs of  the United States Department of  Agriculture in the  
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/


FINAL REGULATIONS 637
V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secr etary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on October 12, 
2009. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 12th day of October 2009.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Lillian M. Lowery, Ed. D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 12th day of October 2009

260 General Administrative Review Procedures for the Child and Adult Care Food Programs of the United 
States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA

*Please note that no changes were made to th e regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
September 2009 issue of the Register at page 345 (13 DE Reg. 345). Therefore, the final regulation is not 
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/final/13 DE Reg 636 11-01-09.htm

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 705

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

705 Leave for Training Camp or Special Duty in the National Guard or the Military Reserves of the United 
States

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code  705 Leave for Training Camp or Special 
Duty in the National Guard or the Military Reserves of the United States to add a citation to the non regulatory note 
and to revise to the appropriate formatting. This regulation was reviewed pursuant to the five year review cycle.

Notice of the  p roposed r egulation wa s published in  th e News Journal an d th e Delaware State News on  
September 2, 2009, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". The Department did not receive comments on the 
amendments.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secre tary finds th at it is ap propriate to ame nd 14  DE Admin. Code 705 Leave for Training Camp or  
Special Duty in the National Guard or the Military Reserves of the United States in order to add a citation to the non 
regulatory note and to revise to the appropriate formatting. This regulation was reviewed pursuant to the five year 
review cycle.
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III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 705 
Leave for T raining Camp or S pecial Duty  in the National Guard or the Milit ary Reserv es of the U nited States. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 705 Leave for Training Camp or Special Duty in the 
National Guard or the Milit ary Reserves of the U nited States attached hereto as  Exhibit "B" is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 705 Leave for Training Camp or Special Duty 
in the National Guard or the Military Reserves of the United States hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of 
five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14  DE Admin. Code  705 Leave for Training Camp or Special Duty in  the National Guard or the 
Military Reserves of the United States amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "B", an d 
said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 705 Leave for Training Camp or Special Duty in the National 
Guard or the Military Reserves of the United States in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Se cretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on October 12, 
2009. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 12th day of October 2009.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Lillian M. Lowery, Ed. D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 12th day of October 2009

705 Leave for Training Camp or Special Duty in the National Guard or the Military Reserves of the United 
States

1.0 Leave for Training or Special Duty
1.1 Any permanent and full time employee shall be excused from work with pay to attend training camp or 

special duty on orders as a member of the military reserves of the United States or the National Guard, 
not to e xceed fif teen ( 15) d ays or the e quivalent h ours as r equired b y the Delaware Code , on a 
prorated basis in any calendar year. 

1.1.1 Such training or special duty leave shall not be deducted from their annual leave or in any other 
way result in loss of privileges or compensation to said employee.

1.1.2 Any permanent or full time employee shall file a request for military leave with their employer at 
least two weeks prior to their leave, along with a copy of their official orders.

(Non regulatory Note: See 29  Del.C. §5105 Leave of Absenc e for Milit ary Service, Pension Right; T erms of 
Successor Appointees and 14 Del.C. §1327 Leave of Absence for Person in Military Service)

3 DE Reg. 631 (11/1/99)
8 DE Reg. 700 (11/1/04)
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 706

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Active Duty Service in the Armed Forces of the United States

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to  amend 14 DE Admin. Code 706 Credit for Exper ience for Full time 
Active Duty Ser vice in the Armed Forces of the United States to revise the formatting. There are no substantive 
changes to this regulation. This regulation was reviewed pursuant to the five-year review cycle. 

Notice of the  p roposed r egulation wa s published in  th e News Journal an d th e Delaware State News on  
September 2, 2009, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. The Department did not receive comments on the 
amendments. 

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 706 Credit for Experience for Full time 
Active Duty Service in the Arm ed Fo rces of the Un ited States in or der to  revise th e form atting. The re a re no  
substantive changes to this regulation. This regulation was reviewed pursuant to the five-year review cycle.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 706 
Credit for Experience for Full time Active Duty  Servic e in the Armed Forces  of th e United  S tates. T herefore, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 706 Credit for Experience for Full time Active Duty Service in the 
Armed Forces of the United States attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 
14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 706 Credit for Experience for Full time Active Duty Service in the Armed 
Forces of the United States hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of 
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text o f 14  DE Admin. Code  706 Credit for Experienc e for Full  time Active Duty Service in the Armed 
Forces of the United  S tates amended he reby shall be in  the fo rm attached her eto a s Exhibit “B”, an d sa id 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 706 Credit for Experience for Full time Active Duty Service in the 
Armed Forces of the United States in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secr etary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on October 12, 
2009. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 12th day of October 2009.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
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Lillian M. Lowery, Ed. D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 12th day of October 2009

706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Active Duty Service in the Armed Forces of the United States

1.0 Credit for Experience
1.1 Credit fo r Expe rience for full time  active d uty ser vice, not in excess  of  six (6) years in t he armed 

services o f the United States, shall be granted provided the individual became a teacher, p rincipal, 
superintendent, or other employee in a Delaware public school:

1.1.1 Within five (5) years after completion of a tour of duty; or 
1.1.2 Within five ( 5) years a fter comp letion of a cou rse of p rofessional o r voca tional tr aining, if su ch 

course was begun within five (5) years after completion of the individual’s tour of duty.

2.0 Instruction
Any instruction in Military Science given during years of enlistment shall be included in the six (6) years 
in the armed services of the United States.

3.0 Calculation of Service Time
3.1 Credit for service in the armed forces of the United States shall be calculated as follows:

3.1.1 One year of experience shall be allowed for each creditable year of full time active duty service.
3.1.2 In the case of a te acher, principal, superintendent or o ther administrative employee a combined 

total of ninety one (91) days of service and employment in any of these positions during any one 
school year will count as a year of experience.

3.1.3 No more than one (1) year of experience may be credited for any one (1) calendar year.

(Non regulatory Note: See 14 Del.C. §1312(a) and §1327 Leave of Absence for Persons in Military Service).
3 DE Reg. 631 (11/1/99)
8 DE Reg. 701 (11/1/04)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 718

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

718 Health Examinations for Employees of School Districts, Charter Schools, and Alternative Programs

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 718 Health Examinations for Employees of 
School Districts, Charter Schools, and Alte rnative Programs. There is a mino r formatting change for additional 
clarity and an amendment that requires medical information on employees to be maintained in accordance with 
any H ealth Insurance Port ability and Ac countability (HIPAA) requirement s a nd sep arated from the individual’s 
personnel file. 
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Notice of the  p roposed r egulation wa s published in  th e News Journal an d th e Delaware State News on  
September 2, 2009, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. The Department did not receive comments on the 
amendments.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secre tary find s tha t it is ap propriate to am end 14 DE Admi n. Co de 71 8 Health  Examinations for  
Employees of Schoo l Distr icts, Ch arter Scho ols, an d Alte rnative Pr ograms in or der to ch ange th e fo rmat fo r 
additional clar ity an d an a mendment that r equires medical in formation on  employees to be ma intained in 
accordance with any Health Insurance Portability and Accountability (HIPAA) requirements and separated from the 
individual’s personnel file. 

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 718 
Health Examinations for  Employees of School Districts, Charter Schools, and Alternative Programs. Therefore, 
pursuant t o 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 718 Health Examinations for Employees of School Districts, 
Charter Schools, and Alternative Programs a ttached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the  
provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code  718 Health Examinations for Employees of School Districts, 
Charter Schools, and Alternative Programs hereby amended shall be in ef fect for a period of five years from the 
effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 718 Health Examinations for Employees of School Districts, Charter Schools, 
and Alternative Programs amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation 
shall be cited a s 1 4 DE  Admin. C ode 71 8 Hea lth Exam inations fo r Emp loyees of Schoo l District s, Cha rter 
Schools, and Alternative Programs in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secr etary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on October 12, 
2009. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 12th day of October 2009.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Lillian M. Lowery, Ed. D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 12th day of October 2009

718 Health Examinations for Employees of School Districts, Charter Schools, and Alternative Programs

1.0 Required Physician’s Certification
At initial employment, all employees of school districts, charter schools and alternative programs shall 
provide a ph ysician's certification that he or  she is free (a) from any medical condition which would 
prevent the applicant from performing the essential functions of the applicant’s job and (b) free from 
any medical condition wh ich ca nnot be  remedied th rough reasonable acco mmodations. The  
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physician’s certification, along with any o ther medical information, shall be retained in an individual's 
file kept in ac cordance with any Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIP AA) 
requirement and separate from the individual’s personnel file.

Non regulatory note: See 14 Admin. Code 805 The School Health Tuberculosis Control Program for 
TB screening and testing. Also, see 21 Del.C. §2708 and 14 DE Admin. Code 1105 for requirements 
for school bus drivers.

3 DE Reg. 526 (10/1/99)
8 DE Reg. 702 (11/1/04)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b)

14 DE Admin. Code1507

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1507 Alternative Routes to Teacher Licensure and Certification Program

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education, 
seeks the con sent of the State Board o f Education to am end regulation 14 DE Admin. Code  1507 Alte rnative 
Routes to T eacher Lice nsure a nd Certification Program. With  cha nges by the  Ge neral Assembly in  14  Del.C.
§1260 during the spring of 2009, it was imperative to amend the regulation to reflect current language in Code. 

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the News Journal on Friday September 
4, 2009 and in the Delaware State News on Tuesday September 1, 2009 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. 
The no tice invited written comm ents. Co mments we re rece ived from  both the  Gover nor’s Adviso ry Coun cil for  
Exceptional Citiz ens and the S tate Co uncil for Persons w ith D isabilities. The c omments w ere t aken under 
consideration and non-substantive changes were made in the amended regulation.

II. Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find tha t it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it 
is appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto 
as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended 
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation
The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall 

be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1507 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.
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V. Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
THE 1st DAY OF OCTOBER, 2009

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION:
Lillian Lowery Ed.D., Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 20th DAY OF OCTOBER, 2009

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

1507 Alternative Routes to Teacher Licensure and Certification Program

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the Alternative Routes for Teacher Licensure and Certification Program, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1260 through 1264.

Kathleen Thomas, Chair Michael Casson

Joanne Christian Samtra Devard

Marilyn Dollard Karen Gordon

Cristy Greaves Lori Hudson

David Kohan Jill Lewandowski

Wendy Murray Gretchen Pikus

Whitney Price Karen Schilling-Ross

Shelley Rouser Juanita Wilson

Teri Quinn Gray Ph.D., President

Jorge Melendez, Vice President

G. Patrick Heffernan

Barbara Rutt

Dennis J. Savage

Terry Whittaker Ed.D.

James Wilson Ed.D.
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2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Coherent Major” means a major in an area appropriate to the instructional field.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
"Educator" means a per son licensed  and certified  by th e State under Ch apter 12 of 14 Del.C. to 
engage in th e practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in 
Delaware public schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by 
the Standards Board and approved by the State Board., but For purposes of 14 Del.C. Chapter 12, the, 
term 'educator' does not include substitute teachers.
"Emergency Certificate" means a certificate issued to an educator who holds a valid Delaware Initial, 
Continuing, or Adv anced License, but lack s necessary s kills and k nowledge to meet certification 
requirements in a specific content area a temporary credential issued pursuant to 14 DE Admin. Code 
1506 Emergency Certificate.
“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized State test of subject matter knowledge 
which measures knowledge in a specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.
“Examination of  Ge neral Knowle dge” me ans a st andardized te st which me asures general 
knowledge and essential skills in mathematics or quantitative and verbal skills, including reading and 
writing, such as  PRAXIS™ I, which for the purposes  of this regulation, means the S tate Basic Skills 
Test.
“Initial License” means the first l icense issued to an educator that allows an  educator to work in a 
position requiring a license in a Delaware public school.
“Major or Its Equivalent” means no fewer than thirty (30) credit hours in a content area.
“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware Department of Education.
“Standard Cert ificate” m eans a  cr edential issued t o v erify that an  e ducator ha s the p rescribed 
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a 
category of students.
“Standards Boa rd” means th e Pr ofessional Standards Board established pu rsuant to 14 Del.C. 
§1201.
“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
"Teach For  Ame rica" me ans the n ationally est ablished program con sisting of re cent co llege 
graduates and professionals of all academic majors and career interests who commit to a minimum of 
two (2) consecutive years of classroom teaching in either a low-income urban or rural public school.
"Teacher Residency Program" means a teacher preparation program meeting the minimum criteria 
of this regulation and  approved pursuant to this regulation and any De partment regulation. Such a 
program is typically sponsored by a regionally accredited college or university in partnership with one 
or mor e S tate Ed ucation Agencies and /or an  established Org anization/Foundation, where th e 
participant is paired with a mentor  and  veteran teacher in a classroom for  their initial sch ool year  
experience.

3.0 Alternative Routes to Teacher Licensure and Certification
3.1 Qualified Candidates meeting all conditions and seeking participation in the an Alternative Routes to 

Teacher Licensure and Certification program shall be issued an Initial License of no more than three 
(3) year s dur ation con ditioned o n con tinued e nrollment in the an Altern ative Rou tes for Teacher 
Licensure and Cer tification Pr ogram a nd an Eme rgency Certificate or c ertificates of n o m ore than 
three years duration.

3.2 Candidates must shall meet the following minimum qualifications:
3.2.1 Successfully completed one of the following education requirements:
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3.2.1.1 Hold a bachelor's de gree from a regionally accr edited college or un iversity in a coherent 
major, or it s equivalent, [which shall be no  less t han thirty (3 0) cred it hour s] in
appropriate to the instructional field they desire to will teach; or

3.2.1.2 Hold a  Bach elor's Deg ree from a regionally accredited college or u niversity in  a ny con tent 
area a nd a re enrolled in  the  Teach For Ame rica program and h ave completed all pre-
service requirements for such program; or 

3.2.1.3 Hold a  Bach elor's Deg ree from a regionally accredited college or u niversity in  a ny con tent 
area and are enrolled in an approved teacher residency program and have completed all 
pre-service requirements for such program; and

3.3 Pass an  ex amination of g eneral knowledge, such a s PRAXIS™ I, o r pr ovide an  acc eptable 
alternative to the PRAXIS™ I test scores, as set forth in 14  DE Admin. 1510, within the period of 
time from the date of hire to the end of the next consecutive fiscal year; and

3.4 Obtain acceptance into an approved alternative routes to licensure and certification program.
3.4.1 Notwithstanding an y other  provisions to the contrary, candidates e nrolled in  the Teach For 

America program shall not be limited to teaching in areas identified as cri tical curricular 
areas.

3.4.2 Notwithstanding an y other provisions to th e c ontrary, ca ndidates en rolled in an  approved 
teacher residency program shall not be lim ited to teaching in areas identified as c ritical 
curricular areas; and

3.5 Demonstrate the prescribed knowledge and skills for a particular content area by  completing the 
following:

3.5.1 Pass an examination of content knowledge, such as PRAXIS™ II, in the instructional field they 
desire to teach, if applicable and available, within the period of time from the date of hire to 
the end of the next fiscal year.

3.5.2 Notwithstanding an y other  provisions to the contrary, candidates e nrolled in  the Teach For 
America program shall, where applicable and available, have achieved a passing score on 
an e xamination of co ntent k nowledge, su ch as Praxis II, for the ar ea in wh ich su ch 
candidate will be teaching, prior to taking full responsibility for teaching a classroom; or

3.5.3 Notwithstanding an y othe r pr ovisions to th e co ntrary, can didates e nrolled in  a  tea cher 
residency program shall, where applicable and available, have achieved a passing score 
on an ex amination of content  knowledge, such as Praxis II, for t he area in which such 
candidate will be teaching, prior to taking full responsibility for teaching a classroom; and

3.6 Obtain an acceptable health clearance and an acceptable criminal background check clearance; 
and

3.7 Obtain a teaching position by one of the following:
3.7.1 Obtain and accep t an  offer of employment in a position that re quires lice nsure and  

certification.; or
3.7.2 In the case of a tea cher residency program, obtain and accept an o ffer for a po sition that if 

paid would require licensure and certification.

4.0 Components of the Program
4.1 The An Alter native Ro utes for  T eacher Licensure an d Cer tification Pr ogram shall consist of  be 

approved by the Secretary of Education and meet the following minimum criteria:
4.2 Incorporate one of the following prerequisite options:

4.2.1 A summer institute of [approximately no less than one hundred and twenty (120)] instructional 
(clock) hours completed by the candidate prior to the beginning of his/her teaching assignment. 
This includes an orientation to the policies, organization and curriculum of the employing school 
district or charter school, in structional strategies an d cla ssroom management an d ch ild or  
adolescent development.
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4.2.1.1 Candidates employed too late to participate in the su mmer institute will complete the 
practicum ex perience and seminars  on teaching during the first sc hool year and will 
participate in the summer institute following their first year of teaching.; or

4.2.2 A te acher ente ring a Delaware pub lic sch ool through the Tea ch For  America pr ogram shall 
complete the two hundred (200) hours of pre-service training provided by Teach for America; or

4.2.3 A teacher entering a Delaware public school through a teacher residency program shall complete 
a minim um of on e h undred a nd twe nty (120) h ours of pr e-service training provided by th e 
approved teacher residency program; and

4.3 A Require a one year, full time practicum experience which includes a period of intensive on-the-job 
mentoring and supervision beginning the first day in which the candidate assumes full responsibility for 
a classroom and continuing for a period of thirty (30) weeks.

4.4 Require Sseminars on teaching that provide Alternative Routes to Licensure and Certification teachers 
with approximately 200 instructional (clock) hours or equivalent professional development during the 
first year of their teaching assignment and during an intensive seminar the following summer. Content 
shall include curr iculum, stu dent de velopment and  learning, an d the classroom and  the school, as  
required in 14 Del.C. §1261.

4.5 Receive any required approvals under the Department's regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 290 Approval 
of Educator Preparation Programs.

5.0 Mentoring Support
Mentoring support shall be carried out in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1503. No mentor shall 
participate in any way in dec isions which might ha ve a  b earing on  the licensure, cer tification or  
employment of te achers p articipating in  the an Alter native Rou tes for  T eacher Lice nsure an d 
Certification Program.

6.0 Supervision and Evaluation
Teachers enrolled in the an Alternative Routes for Teacher Licensure and Certification Program shall 
be ob served and  fo rmally evaluated by a cer tified evalu ator using  the st ate ap proved e valuation 
system at least onc e during the first ten (10) we eks in  the  classr oom, an d a  min imum of two ( 2) 
additional times within the next twenty (20) weeks. Evaluations shall be no more than two (2) months 
apart.

7.0 Recommendation for Licensure and Certification
Upon completion of the an Alternative Routes for  Teacher L icensure and Certification Program, the 
certified evalu ator sh all pr epare a  summative eva luation re port for the tea cher p articipating in  the 
Program. The evaluation report shall include a recommendation as to whether or not a license shall be 
issued. The evaluation report and license recommendation shall be  submitted to the Department. A 
copy of the evaluation report and license recommendation should be issued to the candidate twenty 
(20) days before submission to the Department.

8.0 Issuance of License
If the evaluation report recommends approval of the candidate for licensure, provided the candidate is 
otherwise qualified, the Department shall issue an Initial License valid for the balance of the three (3) 
year term, if  the participant has co mpleted the Program in less than three (3) years, or a Con tinuing 
License, if the  three (3) year term of the Initial License has expired, and shall issue the appropriate 
Standard Certificate or Certificates.
Candidates who receive a recommendation of ‘disapproved’ shall not be issued an Initial 
License an d S tandard Ce rtificate by the De partment, an d ma y no t con tinue in  the an Alte rnative 
Routes for Licensure and Certification Program.
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9.0 Recommendation of “Disapproved”
Candidates who receive a recommendation of “disapproved” may petition the Department for approval 
of a dditional o pportunities to  p articipate in the an Alte rnative R outes f or T eacher L icensure a nd 
Certification Program. Within fifteen (15) days of receipt of the evaluation report and the certification 
recommendation, a ca ndidate disag reeing with the r ecommendation ma y submit to the  evalu ator 
written materials documenting the reasons that the  candidate believes a license should be awarded. 
The evaluator shall for ward all d ocumentation submitted by th e candidate, along with the evaluation 
report and recommendation concerning licensure and certification to the Secretary of Education. The 
Secretary or  his or  her  de signee shal l revie w the  evalu ation report, the  lice nsure an d cer tification 
recommendation, and any documentation supplied by the candidate and make a d etermination with 
respect to licensure and certification.

10.0 Right to a Hearing
A teacher p articipating in the an Alternative Routes fo r Teacher Licensure and Certification Program 
who is denied a license and certificate may appeal the decision, and is entitled to a full and fair hearing 
before the Standards Board. Hearings shall b e conducted in accor dance with the Standard Board’s 
Hearing Procedures and Rules.

11.0 Program Evaluation
Those responsible for Alternative Routes to Certification Programs approved by the Standards Board 
and the State Board shall develop a program evaluation process. The focus of the program evaluation 
must shall be to demonstrate the degree to which teachers who complete the program are effective in 
the classroom.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)

12.0 Other Approval of Alternative Routes Programs
The Secretary may approve fo r im plementation other Alternative R outes to  Teacher L icensure a nd 
Certification Programs, provided the programs meet the minimum criteria set fo rth in this regulation 
and in any applicable laws.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/01/03)
9 DE Reg. 971 (12/01/05)
Renumbered effective 6/1/07 - see Conversion Table

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b)

14 DE Admin. Code1512

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1512 Issuance and Renewal of Advanced License

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education, 
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 1512 Issuance and 
Renewal of Advanced License.  Upon review, the Board has amended a few sections of the regulation for clarity 
and accuracy, and to meet current formatting.
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Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the News Journal on Friday September 
4, 2009 and in the Delaware State News on Tuesday September 1, 2009 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. 
The not ice invited written comments.  Comments were received from both the  Governor’s Advisory Council for  
Exceptional C itizens and the State Counc il for Pers ons with D isabilities. It w as de termined that the proposed 
change was not necessary.

II. Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find tha t it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it 
is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto 
as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended 
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall 
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1512 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the da te this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
THE 1st DAY OF OCTOBER, 2009

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION:
Lillian Lowery Ed.D., Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 20th DAY OF OCTOBER , 2009
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Kathleen Thomas, Chair Michael Casson
Joanne Christian Samtra Devard
Marilyn Dollard Karen Gordon
Cristy Greaves Lori Hudson
David Kohan Jill Lewandowski
Wendy Murray Gretchen Pikus
Whitney Price Karen Schilling-Ross
Shelley Rouser Juanita Wilson

Teri Quinn Gray Ph.D., President
Jorge Melendez, Vice President
G. Patrick Heffernan
Barbara Rutt
Dennis J. Savage
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1512 Issuance and Renewal of Advanced License

1.0 Content
This regulation shall a pply to the  issu ance an d renewal of  an Ad vanced Lice nse for educators, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1213 and §1214.

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:
"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.
"Educator" means an employee paid under 14 Del.C. §1305 a person licensed and certified by the 
State un der 14 Del.C. Chap ter 1 2, to  eng age in the  practice o f instru ction, adm inistration or  other 
related professional support services in Delaware public schools, including charter schools, pursuant 
to rules and regulations promulgated by the  Standards Board and approved by the  State Board. For 
purposes of 14 Del.C. Chapter 12, the term 'educator' does not include substitute teachers.
"Exigent Circ umstances" means u nanticipated cir cumstance or  circumst ances be yond the  
educator's control, includ ing, but not limited to serious illness  of the educator  or a member of his/her 
immediate family, activation to activ e military duty, and other serious emergencies which necess itate 
the educator's temporarily leaving active service. The expiration of an educator's license before the 
end of the school year shall be considered an exigent circumstance, however the educator's license 
may only be extended to the end of that current school year.
"Immorality" means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected of 
an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator's effectiveness by reason of his or her 
unfitness or otherwise.
"Maintenance of Proficiency" means evidence of  valid renewal of  National Board for Professional 
Teaching Standards certification.
"National Board Certified Teacher" means an educator who holds National Board for Professional 
Teaching Standards certification.
"National Boar d Ce rtification" me ans cer tification of an e ducator b y the  Na tional Boar d for  
Professional Teaching Standards.
"Standards Board" means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104
Chapter 12.
"State" means State of Delaware.

3.0 Advanced License
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1213, the Department, upon receipt of the list of successful candidates 

provided annually by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, shall issue an Advanced 
License to a ny ed ucator who r eceives Natio nal Bo ard for  Pro fessional T eaching S tandards 
certification. An Advanced License is valid for up to 10 years unless extended pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
§1216 or revoked for cause, as defined in 14 Del.C. §1218.

3.2 The Dep artment shall issue, u pon ap plication, an Advanced Licen se to a n e ducator licen sed in  
another jurisdiction who provides verification of receipt of National Board certification.

3.3 The De partment shall not act on an  ap plication for licen sure if the applicant is under of ficial 
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, 
where th e a lleged con duct involves a llegations of immorality, mis conduct in  o ffice, incompetence, 
willful neglect of duty, disloyalty or falsific ation of credentials, until the applicant provides ev idence of 
the investigation's resolution.

Terry Whittaker Ed.D.
James Wilson Ed.D.
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3.2.1 "Immorality" means co nduct which is in consistent with th e rule s and principles o f mo rality 
expected of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator's effectiveness by 
reason of his or her unfitness.

4.0 RESERVED (For Equivalent Program)

5.0 Renewal of Advanced License
5.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1214, the Department shall renew an Advanced License, valid for an 

additional 10 years, to an educator who  has maintained proficiency through the  National Board for  
Professional Teaching Standards. Proficiency for National Board certification shall be deemed to have 
been maintained if the educator provides evidence of valid renewal of National Board for Professional 
Teaching Standards certification.

5.2 The Dep artment sh all r enew a n Advanced  License  upon rece ipt of a  list of successful Delaware 
candidates for renewal provided annually by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

5.3 An applicant who elects not to renew with the National Board for Professional Teaching standards or 
who fails to meet the recertification requirements set forth by the National Board will shall be issued a 
Continuing License.

6.0 Extension for Exigent Circumstances
The Dep artment may e xtend a n Ad vanced Licen se for a p eriod not to e xceed one year , exige nt 
circumstances warranting the necessity of such extension.

7.0 Leave of Absence
An educator m ay t ake a  lea ve of ab sence o f u p to thr ee year s with n o e ffect up on th e valid ity or  
expiration of the Advanced License.

8.0 Criminal Conviction History
An applicant sha ll disclose h is o r her crimin al con viction histor y u pon a pplication for  an  Advance d 
License, the renewal of an Advanced License, or upon the issuance of a Continuing License pursuant 
to section 5.2. Failure to disclose a criminal conviction history is grounds for denial or revocation of an 
advanced license or a Continuing License and criminal prosecution as specified in 14 Del.C. §1219.

6 DE Reg. 77 (7/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 956 (1/1/04)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b)

14 DE Admin. Code1590

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1590 Delaware Administrator Standards

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education, 
seeks the con sent of the S tate Board of Edu cation to am end reg ulation 14 DE A dmin. Cod e 15 90 Del aware 
Administrator Standards. The regulation concerns the nationally r ecognized standards that d escribe le adership 
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behaviors and skills established for Delaware school leaders, and serves as the foundation for the preparation and 
appraisal of school leaders. 

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the News Journal on Friday September 
4, 2009 and in the Delaware State News on Tuesday September 1, 2009 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. 
The notice invited written comments. No comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find tha t it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it 
is appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto 
as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended 
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall 
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1590 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 1st DAY OF OCTOBER, 2009

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION:

Lillian Lowery Ed.D., Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 20th DAY OF OCTOBER, 2009

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Kathleen Thomas, Chair Michael Casson
Joanne Christian Samtra Devard
Marilyn Dollard Karen Gordon
Cristy Greaves Lori Hudson
David Kohan Jill Lewandowski
Wendy Murray Gretchen Pikus
Whitney Price Karen Schilling-Ross
Shelley Rouser Juanita Wilson

Teri Quinn Gray Ph.D., President
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1590 Delaware Administrator Standards

*Please note that no changes were  made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
September 2009 issue of the Register at page 362 (13 DE Reg. 362). Therefore, the final regulation is not 
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/final/13 DE Reg 650 11-01-09.htm

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Ch. 5, §512 (31 Del.C., Ch. 5, §512)

ORDER

Diamond State Health Plan 1115 Demonstration Waiver

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Med icaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) 
initiated p roceedings to renew the  Diamo nd S tate He alth Pla n 1115 Demonstration W aiver. The  Dep artment’s 
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority 
as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the September 2009 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from 
the pub lic co ncerning the p roposed re gulations to b e pr oduced b y Se ptember 30 , 2 009 at which time th e 
Department would receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the 
regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The pr oposed provides no tice to the  pub lic tha t the Division of Med icaid an d Medical Assistance (DMMA)  
intends to submit an application to the  Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to renew D elaware’s 
Section 115 demonstration waiver, entitled “Diamond State Health Plan” for an additional three years. 

Statutory Authority
•42 U.S.C. §1315, Demonstration projects
•Social Security Act §1115, Demonstration projects

Jorge Melendez, Vice President
G. Patrick Heffernan
Barbara Rutt
Dennis J. Savage
Terry Whittaker Ed.D.
James Wilson Ed.D.
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Background
Under a wa iver of Section 1 115(a) of the Social Se curity Act, th e Diam ond S tate Health Plan (DSHP) 

implemented a mandatory Medicaid managed care demonstration program statewide on January 1, 1996. Using 
savings achieved under managed care, Delaware expanded Medicaid health coverage to a dditional low-income 
adults in the State with incomes less than 100% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). 

Goals of the DSHP are to improve and expand access to healthcare to more adults and children throughout the 
State, create and maintain a managed care delivery system emphasizing primary care, and to strive to control the 
growth of healthcare expenditures for the Medicaid population.

The current demonstration project #11-W-0063/4 is sche duled to e xpire on December 31, 2009. In order to 
continue the significant progress towards achieving the DSHP’s goals, Delaware is preparing a request to extend 
the DSHP for an additional three years from January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2012.

Summary of Proposal
The Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) plans to request federal approval for a three-year 

extension of its 1115 Demonstration Waiver Project, en titled “Diamond State He alth Plan” . As such, DM MA is 
announcing a thirty-day comment period on this request for extension. The application to renew documents how 
the State has met its goals of imp roving access to  services, expanding coverage to  add itional populations and 
substantially improving qualit y of care for eligible  individuals enrolled in the Diam ond Sate Health Plan (DSHP). 
The State intends to submit the waiver renewal with no changes to the DSHP during the renewal period. 

The pr ovisions o f this waiver  ar e subje ct to a pproval b y the  Ce nters for Me dicare an d Me dicaid Se rvices 
(CMS).

Fiscal Impact Statement
This waiver renewal maintains cost neutrality for each year in the three-year renewal period covering January 

1, 2 010 th rough De cember 3 1, 201 2. A fu nction of this waiver is to assur e that cover age of th e e xpanded 
population w ill be budget  neutral. In other word s, the cost of c overing this pop ulation, as well as the Medicaid 
eligible population, will be no more than if the DHSS had continued covering only its Medicaid population under the 
traditional fee-for-service program.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following endorsement.
SCPD endorses the proposal since this is essentially a “housekeeping” measure, and other states are actually 

“cutting back” on Medicaid programs not constrained by federal stimulus funds.
Agency Response: DMMA thanks the Council for their endorsement.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set for th in the September 2009 Register of Regulations 
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDE RED, that the proposed regulation to renew the Diamond State Health Plan 1115 
Demonstration Waiver through December 31, 2012 is adopted and shall be final effective November 10, 2009. 

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

*Please note that no changes were made to th e regulation as  originally proposed and published in the  
September 2009 issue of the Register at page 370 (13 DE Reg. 370). Therefore, the final regulation is not 
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/final/13 DE Reg 652 11-01-09.htm
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DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Medicaid for Workers with Disabilities

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) 
initiated proceedings to amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) related to the Medicaid for Workers 
with Disabilities Program. The D epartment's proceedings  to amend it s regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 
Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the September 2009 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from 
the pub lic co ncerning the p roposed re gulations to b e pr oduced b y Se ptember 30 , 2 009 at which time th e 
Department would receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the 
regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT

The proposed amends the Division of Social Ser vices Manual (DSSM) to update the r ules that describe the 
eligibility criteria for participation in the Medicaid for Workers with Disabilities (MWD) Program.

Statutory Authority
• 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) of the Social Security Act, Working disabled individuals who buy into Medicaid 

under TWWIIA (Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement Act of 1999) Basic Coverage 
Group; and,

• 1916(g) of the Social Security Act, Premiums - Working Disabled Individuals.

Summary of Proposed Amendment
• DSSM 17900, Medicaid for Workers with Disabilities provides a general description of the Medicaid 

for Workers with Disabilities (MWD) program. This revision changes the eligibility effective date from 
October 1, 2008 to October 1, 2009. 

• DSSM 17908, Unearned Income Exclusion updates what income is considered as well as what is 
excluded. Unearned income is excluded up to $956.00 per month for the individual.

• DSSM 17911, Financial Eligibility Determination updates the description of the income tests used to 
determine financial eligibility. 

• [DSSM 17912, Retroactive Eligibility provides that eligibility cannot be retroactive prior to October 1, 
2009.]

Fiscal Impact Statement
The projected estimate for Fiscal Year (FY) 2010 cost is $1.4 million total funds. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations summarized below.
First, DMMA proposes to revise the implementation date for the program. It was originally expected to become 

operational in Jun e, 2008. The final regulation adopted last Fall deferred the implementation date to October 1, 
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2008. Se e 1 2 DE Reg.  44 6, 45 0 ( October 1 , 2 008). Th e sum mary of th e la test p roposal n otes that b udget 
constraints have delayed implementation until October 1, 2009. Given the budget, some delay in implementation is 
understandable.

Second, the Councils had promoted adoption of a more liberal unearned income limit  last Fall. In response, 
DMMA changed the monthly earned income cap from $800 to $904 subject to annual increases based on the  
Social Security Administration Cost of Living Ad justment (COLA). See 12 DE Reg. 446, 452 (October 1, 2008). 
DMMA now proposes to raise the cap to  $956 in recognition of the 2009 COLA increase. This favors applicants. 
The COLA is not expected to change in 2011.

SCPD en dorses th e p roposed regulations sin ce th ey favor a pplicants or  are  ostensib ly ju stified by 
uncertainties about the FY 10 budget.

Agency Response: DMMA thanks the Council for their endorsement.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set for th in the September 2009 Register of Regulations 
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the implement ation of the Medicaid for Workers with Disabilities Program is adopted and shall 
be final effective November 10, 2009. 

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #09-38
REVISIONS:

17900  Medicaid for Workers with Disabilities

The Ticket to Work and  Work Incentives Improvement Act of 1999 established an optional ca tegorically needy 
eligibility group under Se ction 1902(a)(10) (A)(ii)(XV) of the Social Sec urity Act. This eligibility  group prov ides 
Medicaid coverage to certain employed individuals with disabilities. The rules in this section set forth the eligibility 
requirements under this group entitled Medicaid for Workers with Disabilities (MWD). The effective date for MWD is 
October 1, 2008 2009.

12 DE Reg. 446 (10/01/08)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

17908  Unearned Income Exclusion
Unearned income is excluded up to $904.00 956.00 per month for the individual. There is no $904.00 956.00

per month unearned income exclusion for a spouse who is not applying for MWD. This unearned income exclusion 
will be increased annually by the Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) announced by the SSA in the Federal Register.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

17911 Financial Eligibility Determination
There are two income tests used to determine financial eligibility:
1. If the monthly unearned income of the individual exceeds $904.00 956.00, the individual is ineligible.This 

unearned income limit will be increased annually by the Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) announced by the SSA 
in the Federal Register.
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2. Countable income must be at or below 275% of the Federal Poverty Level for the appropriate family size 
(individual or couple).

17912 Retroactive Eligibility
The individual may be found eligible for up to three months prior to the  month of application as described at 

DSSM 14920-14920.6 prov ided the premium requir ements under MWD  are met. Elig ibility cannot be retroactive 
prior to October 1, 2008 2009.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Reimbursement Methodology for Inpatient Hospital Services

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Div ision of Medicaid and Medical Assis tance (DMMA). 
The Department's proceedings to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to  revise the inpatient hospital outlier 
reimbursement methodology for were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as 
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the September 2009 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from 
the pub lic co ncerning the p roposed re gulations to b e pr oduced b y Se ptember 30 , 2 009 at which time th e 
Department would receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the 
regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT

The purpose o f this proposal is to  am end the  T itle XIX Medicaid State Pla n to revise the hospital outlier 
reimbursement methodology.

Statutory Authority
• 42 CFR §440.205, Public Notice of Changes in Statewide Methods and Standards for Setting Pay-

ment Rates;
• 42 CFR §447, Subpart C - Payment for Inpatient Hospital and Long-Term Care Facility Services

Summary of Proposed Amendment
The proposed amendment is intended to revise the calculation of high cost o utlier payments. Currently, high 

cost outliers w ill be identifi ed when the cost of the di scharge exceeds the threshold of three times  the hospit al 
operating ra te per  dischar ge. Ef fective Octob er 1, 200 9, the p roposal cha nges the thre shold to  fo ur times the 
hospital operating rate per discharge. The provisions of this amendment are subject to approval by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

Fiscal Impact Statement
The proposal will result in reduced spending of $4.9 million in total funds.
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SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE

The State Council for Persons w ith Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observa tions summarized below. 
DMMA has considered the comments and responds as follows:

The cur rent standards authorize a com pensation "add on" f or "h igh co st ou tliers" wh ose c ost o f d ischarge 
exceeds the threshold of 3 times the hospital operating cost per discharge. The "add on" is 79% of the difference 
between the outlier threshold and the total cost of the case.

The r evision wou ld au thorize a comp ensation "add  on " for  th ose who se co st of discha rge exceed s the 
threshold of 4 times the hospital operating cost per discharge.   The "add on" would also be reduced to 70% of the 
difference between the outlier threshold and the total cost of the case.   The combined effect of the revision would 
be to re duce compensation fo r ve ry expen sive Medicaid patients wh o may te nd to  be per sons with se vere 
disabilities.

St. Fr ancis Ho spital ha s pr esented testim ony in leg islative hearings con firming its pr ecarious finan cial 
circumstances. Other hospitals may a lso be  under financial stress.   The proposed regulation wou ld ostensibly 
reduce Medicaid reimbursement for "deep end" beneficiaries (who may tend to be persons with severe disabilities) 
which could adversely affect patient care. For example, the reduction in  compensation provides an incentive to  
hospitals to discharge earlier in the recovery process and/or exercise any discretion involving treatment in favor of 
"bare-bones" or minim ally ad equate services. For the se re asons, SCPD ha s rese rvations with th e proposed 
regulation. 

Agency Response: DMMA believes the revised outlier methodology will not adversely impact the quality of 
care to our Medicaid beneficiaries. We thank the Council for their comments. 

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set for th in the September 2009 Register of Regulations
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED , tha t th e pr oposed re gulation r egarding th e in patient ho spital o utlier 
reimbursement methodology for is adopted and shall be final effective November 10, 2009.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #09-40
REVISIONS:

ATTACHMENT 4.19-A 
PAGE 3

METHODS AN D ST ANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING P AYMENT RA TES - IN PATIENT HOSPIT AL CA RE 
(Continued)

Rate Se tting Meth ods -  De velopment o f Imp lementation Y ear Ope rating Rates, Up dates a nd Rebasing 
(Continued)

The implementation year rates will be updated in FY96 using published TEFRA inflation indices. Rates will be 
rebased using fiscal year 1994 claims and cost report data for implementation in State FY97.

Effective for admission dates on or after April 1, 2009, payment rates for inpatient hospital care will be adjusted 
to the rates that were in ef fect on  December 31, 2008. Futu re rate adjustments will be  suspended until further 
notice.
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Other Related Inpatient Reimbursement Policies
Outliers - High cost outliers will be identified when the cost of the discharge exceeds the threshold of three four

times the hospital operating rate per discharge. Outlier cases will be reimbursed at the discharge rate plus 79  70
percent of  the difference between the outlier th reshold and the total cost of the case. Costs of the case wil l be 
determined by applying the hospital-specific cost to charge ratio to the allowed charges reported on the claim for 
discharge.

Effective January 1, 2006, any provider with a high cost client case (outlier) will receive an interim payment; 
that is, a payment prior to the discharge of that patient when the charge amount reaches the designated level. An 
interim payment will be made for that inpatient stay when the client’s charges have reached twenty-five (25) times 
the general discharge rate of that facility, or when the client’s stay is greater than sixty (60) days. Additional interim 
payments will be made when either of  the outlier c onditions for an interim payment is met again. The interim 
payment amount is based on the current reimbursement methodology used to pay outliers. Upon the discharge of 
the client, the facility will receive the balance of the payment that would have been paid if the case were paid in full 
at the time of discharge.

6 DE Reg. 885 (1/1/03)
9 DE Reg. 783 (11/01/05)
13 DE Reg. 259 (8/1/09)

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Reimbursement Methodology for Medicaid Services

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA). 
The Dep artment’s proceedings to ame nd the  Title XIX Medicaid S tate Plan  to r evise th e re imbursement 
methodology for pharmaceutical services and renal dialysis facility services were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware 
Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the September 2009 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from 
the pub lic co ncerning the p roposed re gulations to b e pr oduced b y Se ptember 30 , 2 009 at which time th e 
Department would receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the 
regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT

The purpose an d e ffect o f this pr oposal is to  am end the Title XIX M edicaid S tate Plan  to r evise th e 
reimbursement methodology for certain provider services. 

Statutory Authority
• 42 CFR §440, Subpart A, Definitions; 
• 42 CFR §447.205, Public Notice of Changes in Statewide Methods and Standards for Setting Pay-

ment Rates; and,
• 42 CFR §447, Payments for Services.
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Background
In accordance with 42 CFR §447.205 and Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social Security Act, Delaware Health 

and Social Se rvices (DHSS), Division  of Medicaid and Me dicaid Assistance ( DMMA) is r equired to give  pu blic 
notice of any significant proposed change in its methods and standards for setting payment rates for services.

Summary of Proposed Amendments
Effective July 1 , 2009, DHSS/DMMA amends the a pplicable provisions of the T itle XIX M edicaid State Plan 

governing the reimbursement me thodology for certain se rvices. In accordance with 42  CFR §440.205, pu blic 
notice was published before the proposed effective date of the change on June 29, 2009 and June 30, 2009 in the 
two newspapers of  widest circulation in th e State, the News Journal (New Castle County, Kent County , Sussex 
County) and, the Delaware State News (Kent County).

The following significant changes are proposed:

1) Reimbursement Methodology for Pharmaceutical Services
Effective for da tes of se rvice on an d after July 1, 2009 and subject to payment at fee for service rates, 

DHSS, DMMA will implement a new reimbursement methodology for pharmaceutical services.

Community Pharmacies:
Effective for dates of service July 1, 20 09 and after, claims for drug ingredient costs reimbursed based on a  

percentage of th e Average Wholesale Price  (AWP) sh all b e r eimbursed at AWP m inus 1 5%. DMMA adjusted 
reimbursement to AWP minus 16% effective April 1, 2009. This change was one component of a comprehensive 
package of p rovider rate adjustments. DMMA asser ts that the April 1, 2009 ra te is suf ficient and supported by 
available data. However, DMMA is p roposing to increase the rate to AWP minus 15% in r esponse to comme nts 
received. Medicaid State Plan Attachment 4.19-b, Page 14 has been amended to reflect this change.

[Due to a  negotiated settlement, e ffective for dates o f ser vice Octobe r 1 4, 20 09 a nd after, c laims for d rug 
ingredient costs reimbursed based on a percentage of the Average Wholesale Price (AWP) shall be reimbursed at 
AWP minus 14.5%. Attachment 4.19-B, Page 14 has been amended to reflect this change at DMMA Final Order 
Regulation #09-41b.]

2) Reimbursement Methodology for Renal Dialysis Facility Services
Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2009 for "fee for service" claims, DHSS, DMMA will apply the 

payment methodology for renal dialysis facility services as follows:

Renal Dialysis Facility Services:
Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2009, renal dialysis facilities shall be paid using the lesser 

of the facility's usual and customary (U & C) charges or 100% of th e Medicare rate. Currentl y, DMMA p ays 
providers based on their U & C charges for each procedure and different providers can charge different rates for 
the s ame service. The purpose of this methodology is  to promote predict ability of p ayments, equity and 
consistency o f those payments a mong p roviders while maintaining access to qu ality care. The  Cen ters for  
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) may issue and require a Medicaid state plan preprint page to capture and 
implement the reimbursement methodology for Renal Dialysis Facility Services.

The provisions of this amendment are contingent upon approval of CMS. 

Fiscal Impact Statement
1) Community Pharmacies:

The change will result in an increase in annual aggregate expenditures (state and federal funds) of approximately 
$980,000 for Medicaid and $39,000 for the non-Medicaid programs for the 12 month period after implementation 
over wha t the pr ojected expenditures would have been based on the  re imbursement me thodology tha t was in  
effect immediately prior to July 1, 2009. The reimbursement methodology that was in place for the period April 1, 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009



FINAL REGULATIONS660
2009 - June 30, 2009 was expected to  generate savings  of $2.3 million wh ich will now  be reduc ed as specified 
above.

2) Renal Dialysis Facility Services:
The change will result in a decrease in annual aggregate expenditures (state and federal funds) of approx imately 
$460,000 for the 12 month period after implementation. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE

The State Council for Persons w ith Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observa tions summarized below. 
DMMA has considered each comment and responds as follows.

Renal Dialysis Reimbursement
Pursuant to the changes adopted in August, renal dialysis centers were to be reimbursed at 85% of charges 

[12 DE Reg. 1483 (June 1, 2009).  However, in adopting its final regulation, DMMA noted that it intended to revise 
the rate effective July 1, 2009 to the “lesser of the facilities” usual and customary (U & C) rate charges or 100% of 
the Medicare rate.” See commentary at 13  DE Reg. 259, 262 (August 1, 200 9). DMMA is now  follow ing up by 
formally proposing this change based on the following rationale:

Currently, DMMA pays providers based on their U&C charges for each procedure and different providers can 
charge dif ferent rates for the same se rvice. The purpose of th is methodology is to pr omote predic tability of 
payments, equity and consistency of those payments among providers while maintaining access to quality care.

SCPD endorses this approach.

Pharmacy Reimbursement
In June, DMMA proposed a 2% reduction in reimbursement rates for community pharmacy and non-traditional 

pharmacy drug ac quisition cos ts, i. e., fr om the aver age wholesale pr ice (AWP) min us 14 % an d 1 6%, to A WP 
minus 16% and 18% respectively. The dispensing rate of $3.65 remained unchanged. See 12 DE Reg. 1481, 1489 
(June 1, 2009).  This proposal led to a proposed withdrawal of Walgreens as a Delaware Medicaid provider and 
litigation against DMMA. See attached articles. DMMA then reached a compromise with Walgreens. See attached 
August 11, 2009 News Journal article and commentary at 13 DE Reg. 259, 262 (August 1, 2009). The compromise 
is to reduce community pharmacy rates to AWP minus 15% effective July 1, 2009. This change is now reflected in 
the September proposed regulation.  See 13 DE Reg. 375, 375-376 (September 1, 2009).

SCPD endorses th is compromise which reduces Medicaid costs while maint aining access to Walgreens by 
Medicaid beneficiaries. The August 11 article recites that Walgreens has traditionally served approximately half of 
the State’s Medicaid population.

Agency Response: DMMA thanks the Council for their endorsement.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set for th in the September 2009 Register of Regulations

should be adopted.
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation regarding the reimbursement methodologies for 

pharmaceutical services at AWP Minus 15% effective July 1, 2009 and AWP minus 14.5% effective October 14, 
2009 and renal dialysis facility services is adopted and shall be final effective November 10, 2009.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #09-41a
REVISION:
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
PAGE 14

State/Territory   DELAWARE

Reimbursement for Pharmaceuticals:

Overview
The Delaware Medical Assistance (DMAP) program will reimburse pharmaceuticals using the lower of 

• The usual and customary charge to the general public for the product,
• The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC) which is defined for both brand name and generic drugs as 

follows:
• For Traditional Pharmacies: AWP minus 16% 15% plus dispensing fee per prescription, effective for 

dates of service on or after April July 1, 2009
• [For Traditional Pharmacies: AWP minus 15% 14.5% plus dispensing fee per prescription, 

effective for dates of service on or after July 1 October 14, 2009]
• For Non-Traditional Pharmacies: AWP minus 18% plus dispensing fee per prescription, effective for 

dates of service on or after April  1, 2009
• A State-specific maximum allowable cost (DMAC) and, in some cases, the Federally defined Federal 

Upper Limit (FUL) prices plus a dispensing fee.

Entities that qualify for special purchasing under Section 602 of the Veterans Health Care Act of 1992, Public 
Health Service covered entities, selected disproportionate share hospitals and entities exempt from the Robinson-
Patman Price Discrimination Act of 1936 must charge the DMAP no more than an estimated acquisition cost (EAC) 
plus a professional dispensing fee. The EAC must be supported by invoice and payment documentation.

Dispensing Fee:
The dispensing fee ra te is $3.65. There is one dispensing fee per 30-day period unless the class of drugs is 

routinely prescribed for a limited number of days.

Definitions:
Delaware Maximum Allowable Cost (DMAC) - a maximum price set for reimbursement:

• for generics available from three (3) or more approved sources, or 
• when a single source product has Average Selling Prices provided by the manufacturer that indi-

cates the AWP is exaggerated, or 
• if a single provider agrees to a special price.

Any willing provider can dispense the product.
13 DE Reg. 259 (8/1/09)

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

2001.1 Redetermination: Eligibility Review Periods

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:
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Delaware Health and Soc ial Servic es ("D epartment") / Division of Social  Services initiated proceedings  to 
amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding redeterminations. The Department's proceedings 
to a mend it s r egulations wer e i nitiated pursuant to  29 Delaware Code  Sectio n 1 0114 and it s authority as 
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the September 2009 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from 
the pub lic co ncerning the p roposed re gulations to b e pr oduced b y Se ptember 30 , 2 009 at which time th e 
Department would receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the 
regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGE

The purpose of the  proposed change is to align cur rent case processing policy with Delaware's  Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) State Plan and the Food Supplement Program (FSP) recertification period.

Statutory Authority
• Social Security Act §402, Eligible States; State Plan
• 31 Del.C. §509, Continuing Eligibility 
• Delaware TANF State Plan, Redeterminations

Summary of Proposed Change
DSSM 2001.1, Redetermination: Elig ibility Review Periods: The proposed regulation inc reases the maximum 

redetermination period for General Assistance (GA) and TANF cash assistance from 11 months to 12 months.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE

No public comments were received.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set for th in the September 2009 Register of Regulations 

should be adopted.
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend redetermination policy in the Division 

of Social Services Manual (DSSM) to align current case processing policy with Delaware's Temporary Assistance 
for Needy Families (TANF) State Plan and the Food Supplement Program (FSP) recertification period.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #09-42
REVISION:

2001.1 Redetermination: Eligibility Review Periods
Eligibility periods means the period of  time within which a family shall be  is eligible to receive benefits. At the 

expiration of each eligibility period cash assistance benefits end. Further eligibility will be is established based upon 
a newly  completed application,  an interv iew and verificati on of information. Under no c ircumstance w ill benefits 
continue beyond the end of an eligibility  period without a new determination of eligibilit y. The first month of the 
eligibility period will be is the first month for which the household is eligible to participate.

A redetermination is due when the eligibility period is expiring. The recipient is required to must complete a 
new DSS a pplication for m an d e ither app ear for  an  inter view in pe rson or  ha ve a ma il-in ap plication with a 
telephone an interview. The interview may be in person or over the phone. When the client says he/she cannot get 
a requested document, the worker will assist the client him/her in obtaining an acceptable verification to establish 
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continuing eligibility. At that point, a new review period is given for eligible families.  A redetermination is complete 
when all  eligibility factors  ar e examined and a decis ion r egarding eligibility is reache d. The worker set s a new 
review period for eligible families. 

The eligibility review periods for cash assistance cases will normally be set at  not exceed 6 12 months. But iIf 
there is are also Food Stamps to review, the cash assistance eligibility period will be adju sted to come due at the 
same time as the Food Stamp review so that the family does not expe rience any undue hardship in the review 
process. That means, the cash assistance redetermination will be done at the same time as the open Food Stamp 
case because the eligibility period for the cash assistance case will be adjusted to the same date as the open Food 
Stamps certification period Benefit recertification.

If the re was no previously is no open Food Stamp Benefit case bu t there was is  an  open cash assistance 
group, the eligibility period of the new cash assistance group would have been is adjusted to come due at the same 
time as the existing cash assistance group.

Therefore, the eligibility review period will be at 6 months or when the Food Stamps assistance groups are due 
for review but no later than 11 months.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware He alth an d So cial Se rvices ("D epartment") / Division of Social  Servic es initia ted pro ceedings to  
amend the Division of Social Ser vices Manual (DSSM) r egarding resources. The Department's pr oceedings to  
amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed 
by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the September 2009 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from 
the pub lic co ncerning th e p roposed re gulations to b e pr oduced b y Se ptember 30 , 2 009 at which time the  
Department would receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the 
regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGE

The purpose of the proposed change is to increase the resource limit for Delaware's Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families (TANF) program from $1 ,000 to $10,000. Ex clude from the resource limit , value of automobiles 
owned by members of TANF and General Assistance (GA) households.

Statutory Authority
• Social Security Act §402, Eligible States; State Plan
• 31 Del.C §503, Eligibility for assistance; amount; method of payment
• Delaware TANF State Plan, Definition of Needy Families

Summary of Proposed Change
DSSM 4002.2, Available Resou rces; DSSM 4002.5, Excluded Resources; and, DSSM 40 02.6, Disposal of 

Real Property: The proposed regulations: 1) widens the availability of the TANF and GA  program to a larger 
number of low income families in Delaware; 2) allows TANF participants to accumulate assets thus improving their 
ability to maintain self-sufficiency at times of financial crisis/hardship and to decrease the likelihood of returning to 
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the TANF program; and, 3) reduces the administrative burden of researching and verifying automobile ownership 
and calculating automobile equity value.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES

The S tate Council for Pers ons w ith Disabilities  (SCPD) of fered the follo wing observ ations and 
recommendations summarized below. The Division of Social Services (DSS) has considered each comment and 
responds as follows.

First, DSS proposes to significantly increase the countable resource cap for the TANF program from $1,000 to 
$10,000. The rationale is to allow "TANF participants to accumulate assets thus improving their ability to maintain 
self-sufficiency a t times of fina ncial crisis/hardship and to decrease the  likelih ood o f returning to the TANF 
program". At 3 79. T his rationale fo r ex panding re source limits is co nsistent with SCPD Dec ember 19, 20 08 
commentary on  Foo d Supp lement Pr ogram re gulations pu blished at 12 DE R eg. 74 4 (De cember 1,  2008). In 
commenting on proposed expanded resource standards for the Food Supplement Program, the Council attached a 
publication containing the following rationale for expanding resource caps:

On a  bip artisan b asis, p olicymakers agree th at asse t development is important to helping low -income 
Americans transition out of poverty. Accumulating assets allows low-income individuals to mitigate material 
hardships during periods of unemployment or illness, suffer less of a decline in their living standard during 
retirement, or make investments in their own education or housing that increase their financial stability.

Second, DSS proposes to disregard the value of automobiles owned by members of the assistance household 
for both the TANF and GA programs. This is in contrast to the current standards which only exclude a percentage 
of the equity value of 1 automobile.

SCPD endorses the proposed regulations subject to the following two caveats.

A. If not well defined elsewhere in its regulations, DSS should consider adding a definition of "automobile". 
For example, is a truck or motorcycle included within the scope of an "automobile" for purposes of the re source 
regulation?

B. DSS is de leting the following sentence: "Farm vehicles that are used to produce income are excluded 
from co nsideration as a r esource." DSS sho uld consider retaining this se ntence. A tr actor, ba ckhoe, o r other 
vehicle used in farming may not be considered an "automobile". Therefore, it would be preferable to maintain the 
separate exclusion.

Agency Response: As suggested, DSS will add a definition of automobiles at DSSM 4002.5. We believe this 
new d efinition ad dresses yo ur co ncern th at th e te rm "a utomobile" co uld b e co nstrued t o e xclude tr ucks o r 
motorcycles and that vehicles used in farming and other income produc ing ventures which were previously 
excluded from the resource limit should remain excluded.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set for th in the September 2009 Register of Regulations 

should be adopted.
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the Division of 

Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates to financial responsibility regarding available and excluded resources 
is adopted and shall be final effective November 10, 2009.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #09-43
REVISIONS:
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4002.2 Available Resources
Any income or resource which a client actually has on h and fo r imme diate use is a n availa ble r esource. 

Examples are, cash on hand, checking accounts, any form of savings or bank accounts, State and Federal Income 
Tax Refunds.

Savings:
The special Edu cation an d Busine ss In vestment Acco unts ar e not co unted as availab le re sources unless 

withdrawals are made for non-approved purposes. See DSSM 4002.5 #14.
A family budget group is not eligible for cash assistance General Assistance if its available resources exceed 

$1,000.00.
A family budget group is not eligible for TANF if its available resources exceed $10,000.00.
Available resources must be documented in the case record.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4002.5 Excluded Resources
The equity value  of r eal and per sonal pr operty owned by a  family bu dget group cannot exceed  $1 ,000.00

$10,000.00 for TANF cases or $1, 000.00 for General Assistance cases. Resources excluded from the $1,000.00
resource limitation are:

1. The home which is the usual residence of the family budget group.
FOR DELAWARE'S TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE TO NEEDY FAMILIES PROGRAM 
2. Exclude the equity value of a p rimary automobile, up to the annually adjusted Food Stamp program's fair 

market value of vehicles which is excluded in determining the household resources. The excluded amount effective 
October 1996 is $4,650. The equity value is the dif ference between the au tomobile's fa ir market value and the 
amount s till ow ed for it. The equity value in ex cess of  $4,650.00 is counted towa rds the $1,000.00 res ource 
limitation. The entire equity value of other automobiles owned by the individual is counted as a resource.

NOTE:The fair market value of an  automobile is deter mined by f inding the car's trade in v alue in the NADA 
Used Car Guide. If the client disagrees with this valuation, he/she may obtain a statement of the car's value from a 
automobile dealer.

FOR GENERAL ASSISTANCE
One au tomobile, the equity va lue of wh ich doe s no t e xceed $1,50 0.00. The  equity va lue is the difference 

between the automobile's fair market value and the amount still owed on it. The equity value in excess of $1,500.00 
is counted towards the $1,000.00 resource limitation. The entire equity value of other automobiles owned by the  
individual is counted as a resource.

The increased value of a motor  vehicle spe cially equipped with de vices for the handicapped is not coun ted. 
Farm vehicles that are used to produce income are excluded from consideration as a resource.

2. Automobiles:
[An automobile is defined as any motorized vehicle used:

A. for transportation via public roadways or
B. to produce income.]

The automobiles owned by members of a cash assistance household are disregarded
3. One burial plot for each member of the assistance unit.
4. Bona fide funeral agreements (e.g., pre paid burial contracts) up to a total of $1,500.00 for each member of 

the budget group.
NOTE:If a funeral agreement valued in excess of $1,500.00 includes both prepaid burial expenses and a burial 

plot, the worker will require that the client provide an itemized statement of the estimated value of the plot and the 
expenses. The value of the burial plot is an excluded resource and will be considered separately from the value of 
the prepaid expenses.
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5. Basic maint enance it ems essential f or da y-to-day livin g such as clothes, fur niture, and other similarly 
essential items.

6. For a period not to exceed six months, real property that is not used as a residence (see DSSM 4002.6).
7. Tools and equipment necessary to produce income in a self employment enterprise, even if the owner is 

not engaged in business currently, but plans to continue it at a future date.
8. Federal major disaster and emerge ncy assistance prov ided to indi viduals and familie s and c omparable 

disaster assistance provided by State, local governments, and disaster assistance organizations under P.L. 100 
707.

"Emergency" means any occasion  or instance for which, in the determination of the President, Federal 
assistance is needed to supplement S tate and local efforts and c apabilities to save lives and to protect property 
and public health and safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in any part of the United States.

"Major Di saster" means any  natural catastrophe...which in the determinat ion of  the President  causes 
damage of suf ficient severity a nd ma gnitude to warr ant ma jor disast er assistance to supp lement th e ef forts of 
available resources of states, local governments, and disaster relief organizations in alleviating the damage, loss, 
hardship, or suffering caused thereby.

9. Restitution made to United States' citizens and permanent resident aliens of Japanese ancestry who were 
interned during World War II pursuant to Title I of P.L. 100 383.

10. Restitution made by any Aleut who was re located by authority of the United States from his or  her home 
village on the Pribilof Islands or the Aleutian Islands during World War II pursuant to Title II of P.L. 100 383.

11. Payments made from the Agent Orange Settlement Fund or any other fund established pursuant to the 
settlement in the In Re Agent Orange product liability litigation, M.D.L. No. 381 (E.D.N.Y.).

12. Earned Income Tax Credits (EITC), including Advance EITC.
Applicants:
Disregard as a resource EITC payments received in the month of application or in the month preceding the 

month of application. Any remaining EITC amounts received before this period are a resource.
Recipients:
Disregard as a resource for the m onth in which the EITC is r eceived and the following month. After this 

period, any remaining amounts are a resource.
13. Cash Value of Life Insurance Policies
14. The d esignated Ed ucation and  Busine ss Investmen t Accou nt (EBIA) is exclud ed u p to the  $5 ,000.00 

maximum. In addition to the current resource limit, Delaware's Temporary Assistance For Needy Families Program 
(TANF" and General Assistance (GA) Program families will be allowed to establish special Education and Business 
Investment Accounts (EBIA) of up to $5000.00, including interest.

Do not consider funds in such accounts as a resource for TANF, GA o r Food Stamp purposes. Withdrawals 
from such accounts must be for approved purposes. If funds are withdrawn for non-approved purposes, count the 
money as a resource in the month received. Approved reasons for withdrawal of funds for self-sufficiency needs 
include education expenses, employment start-up needs, entrepreneurship, and to purchase a vehicle or home. If 
staff are is unsure if the withdrawal meets an approved purpose, contact the policy unit for clarification.

Furthermore, a Saving for Education, Entrepreneurship and Downpayment (SEED) accounts is considered an 
EBIA account and is excluded up to the $5000.00 limit.

9 DE Reg. 1374 (03/01/06)

4002.6 Disposal of Real Property
Real property that is not used as a residence is excluded as a resource for a period not to exceed six months if 

the following conditions are met:
1. The family is ma king a good faith e ffort to sel l the property. This effort must be docum ented in the case 

record. Exa mples of accept able documentation includ e a cu rrent ne wspaper sales advertisement, or a  current 
sales contract with a real estate firm; and

2. The family signs Form 212, an agreement to dispose of the property and to repay the assistance received 
during the exemption period.
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The amount of assistance that must be repaid after the property is sold is determined as follows:
1. Compare the net proceeds of the sale plus the value of other countable resources available at the time the 

exemption period began to the $1,000 program resource limit.
2. If the amount is less than $1,000 for GA, or $10,000.00 for TANF, there is no overpayment.
3. If the amount is more than $1,000 the program resource limit, the amount of the proceeds that is in excess 

of $1,000 the resource limit is r ecovered as an overpayment. No te: The amount recovered cannot exceed the  
assistance that was r eceived. Any pr oceeds in  excess of the  amo unt to be  r ecovered are con sidered as an  
available resource to the family.

4. If th e pr operty is no t sold  with in six m onths, the assistance ca se mu st be  cl osed. All the a ssistance 
payments are overpayments.

5. If the as sistance case is closed for some other reason during the six month exemption period and the 
property has not been sold, all payments are overpayments.

NOTE:The e xemption pe riod r uns for  six cale ndar months. If the a ssistance ca se closes an d the  clie nt 
reapplies during this period, the exemption will continue for the remainder of the initial six month period.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DIVISION OF SECURITIES

Statutory Authority: 6 Delaware Code, Section 7325 (6 Del.C. §7325)

ORDER

Delaware Securities Act

On September 1, 2009, the Registrar of Regulations for the State of Delaware published a Notice of Proposed 
Revision to the Rules and Regulations Pursuant to the Delaware Securities Act (Rules and Regulations) which set 
forth a pro posal to make numerous changes to  the rules and regulations governing administrative p roceedings 
before th e Secur ities Co mmissioner for  the S tate of De laware an d to ad d a ne w Rule 800  to  the Ru les and  
Regulations. The new Rule 800 will govern the use of senior specific designations and certifications by persons (1) 
offering, selling or purchasing securities; or (2) providing advice as to the value of or the advisability of investing in, 
purchasing, or selling securities. The Securities Commissioner for  the State of Delaware, James B. Ropp , held 
open a comment period on the proposed regulation for a period of thirty days from the date of the publication of the 
notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations. The Commissioner received no comments regarding the proposed 
regulation.

Findings of Fact

The Commissioner hereby finds that the promulgation of the proposed regulation is in the public interest.

Decision Adopting the Proposed Regulation

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10118(b)(3), and based upon the finding that the proposed regulation is in the public 
interest, the Commissioner hereby adopts the proposed regulation in th e form attached hereto as Exhibit A. T he 
proposed regulation is ado pted pursuant to  the authority gr anted in  6 De l. C. § 7325 a nd shall b e e ffective 
December 1, 2009.

SO ORDERED this 2nd day of October, 2009.
James B. Ropp
Securities Commissioner
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Delaware Securities Act

*Please note that no changes were  made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
September 2009 issue of the Register at page 381 (13 DE Reg. 381). Therefore, the final regulation is not 
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/final/13 DE Reg 667 11-01-09.htm

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

7 DE Admin. Code 1138

Secretary’s Order No.: 2009-A-0036

Proposed Adoption of New Federal Area Source Standard into Regulation No. 1138 of the State of 
Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution: “Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 

Pollutants for Source Categories”, Section 10.0: Area Source Plating & Polishing Operations

Date of Issuance: October 13, 2009
Effective Date of the Amendment: November 11, 2009

I. Background:
A public hearing was held on Tuesday, August 25, 2009, at 6:00 p.m. at the Department of Natural Resources 

and Environmental Control (“DNREC ”, “Department”) Air Quality  Management Office, 715 Grantham Lane, New 
Castle, Delaware, to receive public comment on the proposed adoption of a new federal area source standard into 
Regulation 1138 of the State of Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution, “Emission Standards 
for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories”, Section 10.0: Area Source Plating and Polishing Operations. 
The new air toxics standard may impact any owner or operator of a facility that deposits metal coatings onto metal 
parts or products by either electroplating or electroless coating operations. The new standard also applies to the 
dry mechanical po lishing (or  gr inding) of these coated parts or  products. Typically, these metal coating and dry 
polishing operations provide a de corative f inish, a co rrosion-resistance f inish, or a  wear-resistance finish to th e 
parts or products.

Congress sought to reduce cancer and non-cancer health risks due to the exposure to hazardous air pollutants 
(“HAPs”) in the 1990 Amendments to the Clean Air Act. Under Section 112(k) – Area Source Program – Congress 
mandated that the EPA identify 30 or more HAPs that posed the greatest threat to public health in urban areas, and 
to identify the  a rea ( i.e., small) sour ces tha t emit a ny of th ose pollu tants. In Ju ly 2008, th e EPA pr omulgated 
another of these federal area source standards applicable to facilities in Delaware. This standard, found at 40 CFR, 
Part 63, Subpart WWWWWW, is applicable to a variety of electroplating and electroless plating processes and dry 
polishing operations.

This fe deral st andard a ddresses th e em issions of  five (5 ) he avy me tals: ca dmium, chromium, lead, 
manganese and nickel. Compounds of each of these metals, except manganese, have been classified as known or 
probable carcinogens. The systematic impacts of the various metal compounds differ; however, compounds of all 
of these metals can pose non-cancerous risks to the exposed public.

DNREC’s Air Quality Management Section’s planned adoption of the new air toxics standards w ill provide 
increased protection for Delawareans against a variety of potential adverse health effects that have been linked to 
long-term exposu re to the  compounds o f cad mium, chr omium, lead, ma nganese, a nd/or nickel. The  proposed 
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adoption will also bring Delaware’s air toxics regulatory program into closer alignment with the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency’s (“EPA”) National Emissions standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area or Small Sources.
The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to these promulgations, pursuant to 7 
Del.C., Chapter 60. No other Delaware regulations are affected by these proposals.

A few comments were received by the Department from members of the public regarding the aforementioned 
proposed promulgation, both prior to and at the time of the public hearing held on August 25, 2009. Throughout this 
promulgation process, the Department’s personnel provided answers to the public’s questions and comments in a 
thorough and timely manner. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law. Afterwards, Hearing 
Officer Lisa A. Vest prepared her Hearing Officer’s Report dated October 6, 2009, which is attached and expressly 
incorporated in to this Or der re garding this ma tter, an d sub mitted the sa me to the  Secre tary for  re view and  
consideration.

II. Findings:
The Department has provided a reasoned analysis and a sound basis in the record to support the issuance of 

the final adopted regulation proposed in this matter.   Moreover, the following findings and conclusions are entered 
at this time:

1. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law;
2. The Dep artment has ju risdiction un der it s st atutory aut hority to make a determination in this 

proceeding; 
3. The Department provided adequate public notice of the proceeding and the public hearing in a manner 

required by the law and regulations; 
4. The Department held a public hearing in a manner required by the law and regulations;
5. The Department considered all timely and relevant public comments in making its determination;
6. The Department has reviewed this  proposed amendment in the light of the Regulatory Flexibility  Act, 

and has determined it to be lawful, feasible and desirable, and that the revisions as proposed should be applied to 
all Delaware citizens and members of the regulated community equally in order to provide increased public health 
to Delaware’s citizens, as well as to provide greater consistency between current state air toxics standards and the 
recently promulgated federal standard on which this proposed amendment is based;

7. Adoption of this proposed ne w air toxics standard will prov ide increased protection for Delawareans 
against a variety of potential adverse health effects that have been linked to long-term exposure to the compounds 
of cadmium, chromium, lead, manganese and/or nickel;

8. The adoption of the aforemention ed new air toxic s st andard will also bring Delaw are’s air toxics 
regulatory program into clo ser align ment with th e U.S. EPA’s Nation al Emission s Standards fo r Hazardous Air  
Pollutants for Area or Small Sources;

9. DNREC’s pr oposed adoption of t he new Se ction 10 .0 in th e existing Regulation No . 1138 is m ore 
stringent than the federal rule, and provides additional “best operating practices”, including the requirement of the 
owner/operator of an af fected facility using a control system to (1) develop and implement a S tartup, Shutdown, 
and M alfunction plan ; to  (2)  cond uct daily mo nitoring of  co ntrol de vice(s); an d (3 ) m aintain r ecordkeeping to  
demonstrate proper operation and maintenance of the facility;

10. The Department has an adequate record for its decision, and no further public hearing is appropriate 
or necessary;

11. The Department’s proposed adoption of th e aforementioned ne w air to xics s tandard, Section 10.0: 
Area Source Plating and Polishing Operations, to Delawa re’s existing Reg ulation 1138, “Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories”, as pu blished in the Aug ust 1, 20 09 Delaware Register of 
Regulations, is ad equately supported, not arbitrary or capricious, and is con sistent with the  applicable laws and  
regulations. Consequently, it should be approved as a final regulation, which shall go  into effect ten days after its 
publication in the next available issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations; and

12. The Department shall submit the proposed regulation as a final regulation to the Delaware Register of 
Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and shall provide written notice to the persons affected by the 
Order.
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III. Order:
Based on  the record developed, as r eviewed in the  Hearing Of ficer’s Re port da ted Octob er 6, 20 09 an d 

expressly incorporated herein, it is hereby ordered that the proposed adoption of the aforementioned new air toxics 
standard, Section 10.0: Area Source Pla ting and Polishing Operations, to Delaware’s existing Regulation 1138, 
“Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories”, b e promulgated in  fina l for m in th e 
customary manner and established rule-making procedure required by law.

IV. Reasons:
The promulgation of the aforementioned new air standard to exis ting State of Delaw are Regulation 1138 will 

bring Delaware’ s air toxics regulatory pr ogram in to clos er alignment wit h th e U.S.  EPA’s Na tional Emissions 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollut ants f or Ar ea or  Small So urces. Th e p ublic, espe cially in the  vicin ity o f th e 
facilities af fected by this promulgation, will benefit from the reduction of heavy metal emission from these and 
future affected facilities. 

In developing this regulation, the Department has balanced the absolute environmental need for the State of 
Delaware to  adopt and p romulgate re gulations co ncerning th is matter with  th e impo rtant inter ests an d pu blic 
concerns surrounding the same, in furtherance of the policy, purposes and authority of 7 Del.C., Ch. 60.

Collin P. O’Mara
Secretary

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation 
is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/proposed/13 DE Reg 668 11-01-09.htm

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60, (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

7 DE Admin. Code 1142

Secretary's Order No. 2009-A-0038

Revision to Section 2 of 7 DE Admin Code 1142 Relating to NOX Control Technology for Industrial Heaters 
& Process Boilers at Petroleum Refineries 

Date of Issuance:  October 14, 2009
Effective Date:  November 11, 2009

Background

Under the authority granted to the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control 
("Secretary") un der 7 Del.C. §6006 a nd 2 9 Del.C. Chap ter 10 1, the Secretary enters this Order. This Or der 
concludes a pro cess to revise and repromulgate Section 2 of 7 DE Admin. Code  1142 relating to NOx contro l 
technology for industrial heaters and process boilers at petroleum refineries.
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Discussion

In July of 2007, Section 2 of 7 DE Admin. Code 1142 was adopted to reduce NOx emissions from industrial 
heaters and  pro cess b oilers at petroleum re fineries. The Pr emcor De laware City Refine ry owne d by V alero 
appealed DNREC's July 20 07 adoption of Reg ulation 1142. On or abo ut August 15, 2009, DNREC and  Valero 
finalized a settlement agreement where DNREC agreed to propose for adoption and receive public comment on 
the adoption of an agreed to version of the regulation. DNREC agreed to adopt the exact language set out in the 
settlement agreement un less comment fro m th e pu blic persuaded DNREC th at th ese chan ges shou ld no t be  
made. As set ou t in the  settlement agreement, the proposed version of the regulation is in tended to provide for 
Premcor to implement alternative pollution control projects for the purpose of achieving NOx emission reductions 
from boilers at the Delaware City Refinery . These re ductions in NOx emissions ar e intend ed to achie ve 
improvements in air quality.

Public Hearing

On September 30, 2009, a public hearing was held on the proposed Section 2 of 7 DE Admin. Code  11 42. 
Robert Haynes, a Hearing Officer, presided over the hearing at which public comment was taken.  A copy of the 
transcript of the public hearing is attached hereto as Exhibit A.   The Department submitted a copy of the notice of 
publication in the Delaware Register as DNREC Exhibit 1, a copy of which is also attached to this Order as Exhibit 
B. DNREC Exhibit 2 consisted of copies of the affidavits of publication for the News Journal, Sunday News Journal 
and the Delaware State News. A copy of the legal notice mailed to the Department's mailing list was submitted as 
DNREC Exhibit 3. DNRE C Exhibit 4 consisted of a copy  of the settlement agree ment between DN REC and 
Premcor. The DNREC representative noted that the proposed regulation does not impact any individuals or small 
businesses and so Delaware's Regulatory Flexibility Act did not apply to the proposed action. 

Robert Wojewodzki, the environmental manager at the  Premcor Delaware City Refine ry, attended the public 
hearing. He submitted a letter stating that significant changes at the Refinery were occurring and asking DNREC to 
reconsider a  greater NOx emissions lim it and to a djust the compliance schedule.   A re view of  th is short let ter 
indicates that Premcor's suggestions are not supported by sufficient documentation or justification to make any 
modifications to the proposed regulation at this time.   This letter was submitted into the hearing record as Premcor 

Exhibit 1.
Findings of Fact & Conclusions of Law 

1. A public hearing was held pursuant to 7 Del.C. §6006 and 29 Del.C. Chapter 101 on September 30, 2009, 
on the repromulgation and revision of Section 2 of 7 DE Admin. Code 1142. 

2. Proper notice o f the  hearing was provided as r equired by law. This Order describes the public hearing 
record. 

3. No members of the general public attended the hearing or submitted any comments. A representative of 
Valero on behalf o f Premcor's Delaware City Refine ry did  attend  and submitted a  lette r with com ments on the  
Department's pr oposed ac tion. T he su ggestions in Pre mcor's Exh ibit 1 we re not su pported by su fficient 
documentation to reasonably justify making any modifications to the proposed regulation at this time. 

4. The proposed revisions to the  regulation are intended to result in the  implementation of pollution control 
projects for the purpose of achieving improvements in air quality by reducing emissions of NOx from boilers at the 
Delaware City Refinery. 

5. The record as a  who le supports repromulgation an d revision of th e Re gulations as published in the 
Delaware Register of Regulations and as attached hereto as Exhibit B.
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Order

Based on  the record identified an d d iscussed in thi s Ord er, IT IS HEREB Y OR DERED that th e p roposed 
Section 2 of 7 DE Admin. Code 1142 is adopted in the form attached hereto as Exhibit B. 

Reasons

The record supports repromulgation and revision of Se ction 2  of 7  DE Admin. Code 1142. This action will 
resolve a p ending appeal of th e existing version of the regulation and is in tended to achieve reductions in NOx
emissions and air quality. Thus, the promulgation of Section 2 of 7 DE Admin. Code 1142 will further the policies 
and purposes of 7 Del.C. Chapter 60, which require DNREC to conserve and protect our air resources. 

Collin P. O'Mara
Secretary 

1142 Specific Emission Control Requirements

*Please note that no changes were  made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
September 2009 issue of the Register at page 3821 (13 DE Reg. 382). Therefore, the final regulation is not 
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/final/13 DE Reg 670 11-01-09.htm

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Section 903(e)(2)a.(3) (7 Del.C. §1903(e)(2)a.(3)

7 DE Admin. Code 3512

Secretary's Order No.: 2009-F-0039

Approving Final Delaware Regulation Amendments for 2009: 7 DE Admin. Code 3512: Winter Flounder

Date of Issuance:   October 15, 2009
Effective Date of the Amendment: November 11, 2009

I. Background:
A public hearing was held on Wednesday, September 30, 2009, at 6:00 p .m. at the Department o f Na tural 

Resources and Environmental Control ("DNREC", "Department"), 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware to receive 
comment on proposed am endments to the De laware T idal Fin fish Reg ulations for bo th Win ter Flounder and 
Knobbed Whelks (Conch). The purpose of the aforementioned proposed amendments to Dela ware Tidal Finfish 
Regulation No. 3512 for Winter Flounder is to bring Delaware into compliance with Addendum 1 to Amendment 1 
of the Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Inshore Stocks of Winter Flounder as administered by the Atlantic 
States M arine F isheries Com mission ("A SMFC"). T o e ffectuate this c ompliance, De laware must reduce it s 
recreational daily harvest limit to two winter  flounder per person per day, as well as capping the daily commercial 
harvest limit for any commercial fisherman at 50 pounds.

On May 4, 2009, the Winter Flounder Management Board approved Addendum 1 to the Inter state Fisheries 
Management Plan for in-shore stocks of winter flounder. This includes measures to achieve fishing mortality for the 
Gulf of Maine stock, and to rebuild the overfished southern New England Mid-Atlantic stocks to prevent excessive 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009

http://www.fw.delaware.gov/Pages/FWPortal.aspx


FINAL REGULATIONS 673
fishing ef forts from shif ting to st ate waters in response to federal management measures. Individual states are  
required to implement all measures in this addendum, in addition to continuing those contained in Addendum 1.

The southern New England Mid-Atlantic winter flounder stock is severely depleted. The proposed reduction in 
creel limit from the existing ten (10) fish limit to two (2) fish is estimated to reduce harvest throughout the region by 
46%, while still allowing for some directed fishing effort. Very few winter flounder are presently landed in Delaware 
by recreational fishermen. The proposed commercial rest rictions would limit c ommercial vessels to a maximum 
possession limit of  50 pounds of win ter flounder per tr ip. For Delaware fishermen, it should have no immediate 
impact, given the current levels of landings are very low. No other changes are proposed to the minimum size of 
winter flounder that may be taken during the open season, or to the allowable recreational harvest season. Winter 
flounder stocks taken in federal waters or those taken by commercial fishermen in possession of a federal permit 
are subject to the catch restrictions currently in place for federal waters.

The Department ha s th e st atutory ba sis an d legal authority to act with regard to the  p roposed r egulatory 
amendments con cerning Dela ware T idal Fin fish Reg ulation 3512 for Winter Flounder, pursuant to 7 Del.C. 
§§903(e)(2)(a).(3). No other Delaware regulations are affected by these proposals.

There were no comments received by the Department with regard to the proposed regulatory amendments to 
Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulation 3512 concerning winter flounder.

The Department provided proper notice of the hearing as required by law. Afterwards, Hearing Officer Lisa A. 
Vest prepared her Hearing Officer's Report dated October 9, 2009, which is attached and expressly incorporated 
into this Order regarding this matter, and submitted the same to the Secretary for review and consideration. 

II. Findings:
The Department has provided a reasoned analysis and a sound basis in the record to support the issuance of 

the final regulations proposed in th is matter. Moreover, the following findings and conclusions are entered at this 
time:

1. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law. 
2. The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to make a determination in this proceeding; 
3. The Department provided adequate public notice of the proceeding and the pu blic hearing in a man ner 

required by the law and regulations; 
4. The Department held a public hearing in a manner required by the law and regulations;
5. The Department considered all timely and relevant public comments in making its determination; 
6. Promulgation of the proposed amendments to Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulation 3512 (Winter Flounder) 

would bring Delaware into compliance with Addendum 1 to Amen dment 1 of the Inter state Fishery Management 
Plan for Inshore Stocks of Winter  Flounder as administered by the Atlan tic States Marine Fisheries Commission, 
which re presents the f ederal gu idelines for  th e man agement of winter  floun der, co nsistent with fed eral 
management plans and state jurisdiction;

7. Adoption of the proposed amendments to Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulation 3512 would reduce Delaware 
fishermen's recreational daily harvest limit to two (2) winter flounder per person per day, as well as cap the daily 
commercial harvest limit for any commercial fishermen at 50 pounds;

8. The aforementioned proposed amendments to Delaware's existing regulations concerning winter flounder 
are considered ne cessary, d ue to th e fact tha t So uthern Ne w Engla nd/Mid-Atlantic winter  flou nder stocks are 
considered to be overfished, and that overfishing is still occurring. Moreover, promulgati on of the proposed 
amendments will cause winter flounder stocks taken in federal waters, or those taken by commercial fishermen in 
possession of a federal permit, to be subject to the catch restrictions currently in place for federal waters;

9. The Department ha s re viewed bo th of th ese pr oposed r egulatory am endments in the light of the  
Regulatory Flexibility A ct, and believes the same to be lawful, feas ible and desirable, and that the 
recommendations as proposed should be applicable to all Delaware citizens equally;

10. The Dep artment's afor ementioned pr oposed am endments to Dela ware's r egulations con cerning winter  
flounder, as published in the September 1, 2009 Delaware Register of Regulations and as set forth in Attachment 
"A" of the aforementioned Hearing Officer's Report, are adequately supported, are not arbitrary or capricious, and 
are consistent with the applicable laws and regulations. Consequently, they should be approved as final regulatory 
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amendments, which shall go into effect ten days after their publication in the next available issue of the Delaware 
Register of Regulations;

11 The Department shall submit the p roposed regulations as fina l regulations to the Delaware Register of 
Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and shall provide written notice to the persons affected by the 
Order; and that

12. The Department has an adequate record for its decision, and no further public hearing is app ropriate or 
necessary.

III. Order:
Based on the r ecord develo ped, as re viewed in the He aring Officer's Report da ted Octobe r 9, 200 9 an d 

expressly incor porated her ein, it is h ereby or dered that the pr oposed am endments to Dela ware Tidal Finfish 
Regulation 3512: Win ter Flounder be pr omulgated in fina l form in the customa ry manner and  established rule-
making procedure required by law.

IV. Reasons:
The promulgation of the amendment s to Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulati on 3512: Winter Flounder will bring 

Delaware into co mpliance with fe deral guid elines for th e management o f th is sp ecies. It is incumbent u pon 
Delaware to be in compliance with ASMFC's plan, not only to avoid federal sanctions against Delaware and its 
fisheries, but to protect this  species with these conservation measures to ensure that winter flounder will c ontinue 
to be found in Delaware waters in the future. 

In developing this regulation, the Department has balanced the absolute environmental need for the State of 
Delaware to p romulgate r egulations concerning this matter with the  imp ortant in terests a nd public co ncerns 
surrounding the sa me, in fu rtherance of th e po licy, pu rposes, an d au thority of 7 Del.C. § 903(e)(2)(a).(3), 
§1902(a)(5), and §2804.

Collin P. O'Mara
Secretary

3512 Winter Flounder Size Limit; Possession Limit; Seasons

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any winter flounder, (Pseudopleuronectes americanus), 
that measure less than twelve (12) inches, total length.

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to have in possession more than ten (10) two (2)
winter flounder per day (a day being 24 hours) at or between the place where said winter flounder were 
caught and said recreational fisherman’s personal abode or temporary or transient place of lodging.

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to take and reduce to possession any winter flounder 
before 12:01 AM February 11 or after midnight April 10 in any given calendar year.

4.0 It shall be un lawful for any non-federally licensed commercial fishermen to harvest, land or possess 
more than 50 pounds of winter flounder per day. Federally licensed commercial fishermen are subject 
to current federal winter flounder harvest, landing, and possession limits.

8 DE Reg. 1718 (6/1/05)
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DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 1902(a)(5) and 2804

(7 Del.C. §§1902(a)(5) and 2804)
7 DE Admin. Code 3711

Secretary's Order No.: 2009-F-0039

Approving Final Delaware Regulation Amendments for 2009: 7 DE Admin. Code 3711: Knobbed Whelks 
(Conch)

Date of Issuance:   October 15, 2009
Effective Date of the Amendment: November 11, 2009

I. Background:
A public hearing was  held on Wednesday, Sep tember 30 , 2009, at  6:00 p.m. at  the Department of Natural 

Resources and Environm ental Control ("DN REC", "Department"), 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware to receive 
comment on proposed amendments to the Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulations for Knobbed Whelks (Conch). 

The Dep artment's proposed reg ulatory ame ndments to  ex isting Delaw are She llfish Regulation 3711 for 
Knobbed Whelks (Conchs) were an issue at the public hearing held on September 30, 2009 . The purpose of these 
proposed amendments is to establish a tolerance for undersize knobbed whelks (also known as knobbed conchs) 
in the dredge and pot commercial fisheries similar to the existing tolerance established in Regulation 3711, Section 
2.0, for the channeled or smooth whelks (conchs). The proposed amendments to this regulation would allow the 
retention of up to five  (5) und ersized kn obbed whelks pe r 60  pou nd b ag, or  basket, o f whelks per  day . The  
allowance of a few undersized knobbed whelks  during the course of normal harv esting operations  will be a 
convenience for harvesters who have to pay crews of widely varying experience to cull undersize conchs from the 
harvest. Additionally, such a tolerance is in re cognition of  the fact th at, occasionally, conc h shells are p artially 
broken of f either during or prior to harv esting. This proposed regulatory amendment will ease the burden of 
Department enforcement staff that must check the harvest for compliance with applicable minimum size limits.

The Department ha s th e st atutory ba sis an d legal authority to act with regard to the  p roposed r egulatory 
amendments concer ning Sh ellfish Reg ulation 37 11, pu rsuant to 7  Del.C. §1902(a)(5) an d § 2804. No other 
Delaware regulations are affected by these proposals.

Only one comment was received by the Department from the public regarding the proposed amendments to 
Shellfish Regulation 3711 (Knobbed Whelks), which was in support of this proposed promulgation.

The Department provided proper notice of the hearing as required by law. Afterwards, Hearing Officer Lisa A. 
Vest prepared her Hearing Officer's Report dated October 9, 2009, which is attached and expressly incorporated 
into this Order regarding this matter, and submitted the same to the Secretary for review and consideration. 

II. Findings:
The Department has provided a reasoned analysis and a sound basis in the record to support the issuance of 

the final regulations proposed in th is matter. Moreover, the following findings and conclusions are entered at this 
time:

1. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law. 
2. The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to make a determination in this proceeding; 
3. The Department provided adequate public notice of the proceeding and the pu blic hearing in a man ner 

required by the law and regulations; 
4. The Department held a public hearing in a manner required by the law and regulations;
5. The Department considered all timely and relevant public comments in making its determination; 
6. Promulgation of the p roposed ame ndments to Dela ware Shellfish Regulation  37 11 wil l est ablish a 

tolerance for undersized kn obbed whelks ( conchs) in  the  d redge a nd pot commercial fisheries simila r to the  
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existing to lerance e stablished in  Re gulation 3 711, Sect ion 2 .0, fo r the  ch anneled o r smoo th whelks (co nchs), 
namely, to allow the retention of up to five (5 ) undersized knobbed whelks per 60 pound bag or basket of whelks 
per day; 

7. The Department ha s re viewed bo th of th ese pr oposed r egulatory am endments in the light of th e 
Regulatory Flexibility Ac t, and believes the same to be lawful, feas ible and des irable, and that the 
recommendations as proposed should be applicable to all Delaware citizens equally;

8. The Department's aforementioned proposed amendments to Delaware's regulations concerning knobbed 
whelks (conchs), as published in  the  Sep tember 1 , 2009 Delaware Register of Regulations and  as set fo rth in 
Attachment "A"  of  th e aforementioned H earing Officer's Report, ar e ad equately supp orted, ar e no t ar bitrary or  
capricious, and are consistent with the applicable laws and regulations.  Consequently, they should be approved as 
final regulatory amendments, which shall go into effect ten days after their publication in the next available issue of 
the Delaware Register of Regulations;

9. The Department shall submit the p roposed regulations as fina l regulations to the Delaware Register of 
Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and shall provide written notice to the persons affected by the 
Order; and that

10. The Department has an adequate record for its decision, and no further public hearing is app ropriate or 
necessary.

III. Order:
Based on the r ecord develo ped, as re viewed in the He aring Officer's Report da ted Octobe r 9, 200 9 an d 

expressly incor porated he rein, it i s h ereby or dered that the  pr oposed a mendments to  Delawar e Sh ellfish 
Regulation 3711: Knobbed Whelk (Conch), be promulgated in final form in the customary manner and established 
rule-making procedure required by law.

IV. Reasons:
The promulgation of the amendment s to Delaware Shellfish Regulation  3711: Knobbed Whelks (Conchs) will 

establish a tolerance for undersized knobbed whelks, thereby lessening the burden on Department enforcement 
staff that must regularly check the harvest for compliance with applicable minimum size limits.

In developing this regulation, the Department has balanced the absolute environmental need for the State of 
Delaware to p romulgate r egulations concerning this matter with the  imp ortant in terests a nd public co ncerns 
surrounding the sa me, in fu rtherance of th e po licy, pu rposes, an d au thority of 7 Del.C. § 903(e)(2)(a).(3), 
§1902(a)(5), and §2804.

Collin P. O'Mara
Secretary

3711 Conch Minimum Size Limits

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §1912)
1.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any channeled conch, Busycotypus canaliculatum, that 

measures less than six (6) inches in length or 3 1/8 inches in diameter at the whorl.
2.0 Notwithstanding th e pro visions of p aragraph 1.0, a pe rson m ay p ossess no  mo re th an five  (5 ) 

channeled conchs per 60 pounds that are less than six (6) inches in length or 3 1/8 inches in diameter 
at the whorl.

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any knobbed conch, Busycon carica, that measures less 
than five 5 ¼ inches in 2007, 5 ½ inches in 2008, 5 ¾ inches in 2009, and six (6) inches in length in 
2010. Be ginning in 2010, the m inimum le ngth s hall remain 6 in ches th ereafter until chan ged by 
regulation. The minimum diameter at the whorl shall be no less than 3 inches in 2007, 3 ¼ inch es in 
2008, 3 ¼ inches in 2009 and 3 ½ inches in 2010 and shall remain 3 ½ inches thereafter until changed 
by regulation.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 13, ISSUE 5, SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2009



FINAL REGULATIONS 677
4.0 Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph 3.0, a person may possess no more than five (5) knobbed 
conchs per 60 pounds that are less than the allowable minimum length limit or the minimum diameter 
at the whorl.

1 DE Reg. 250 (9/1/97)
1 DE Reg. 835 (1/1/98)
10 DE Reg. 1034 (12/01/06)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

2400 BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF CONSTABLES
Statutory Authority: 10 Delaware Code, Chapter 27 (10 Del.C. Ch. 27)

ORDER

Pursuant to the Guide lines in 29  Del.C. Section 10118(a)(1)-(7), th e Bo ard of Exa miners o f C onstables 
("Board") h ereby issues this Order. F ollowing notice and a pub lic hearing on the pr oposed a doption of 
amendments to rule 1.0 Exper ience, and ru le 3.0 La w Enforcement Exemption, the Board makes th e following 
Findings and Conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Board did not receive written evidence or information pertaining to the proposed adoption.
2. The Board expressed its desire to adopt the amendment to a llow the Bo ard the authority to oversee all 

training for constables.

Findings of Fact

3. The public was given notice and the opportunity to provide the Board with comments, in writing and by oral 
testimony, on the proposed amendments.  The written comments and oral testimony received are described in  
paragraph 1.

4. The Board finds  that the adoption of this rule will allow the Board the authority to oversee all training for 
constables.

5. The Board finds that the adoption will have no adverse impact on the public.
6. The Board finds that the amendment is well written and describes its intent to adopt the rule to allow the 

Board the authority to oversee all training for constables.

Conclusion

7. The proposed rule was published by the Board in accord with the statutory duties and authority as set forth 
in 10 Del.C. Section 2701 et seq. and, in particular, 10 Del.C. Section 2702(b).

8. The Board deems this adoption necessary and expedient to the full a nd official performance of its duties 
under 10 Del.C. Section 2701 et. seq.

9. The Board concludes that the adoption of this rule will be in the best interests of the citizens of the State of 
Delaware.
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10. The Board therefore adopts this amendment pursuant to 10 Del.C. Section 2702(b) and guidelines of 29 
Del. C. Section 10118 of the Administrative Procedures Act. See, Strauss v. Silverman, Del. Supr., 399 A.2d 192 
(1979).

11. This ad opted ru le r eplaces in  it s en tirety an y fo rmer r ule or  r egulation he retofore pr omulgated b y th e 
Board.

12. The effective date of this Order shall be November 11, 2009.
13. Attached hereto and incorporated herein this order is the amended rule marked as exhibit A and executed 

simultaneously on the 11th day of November, 2009.

Colonel Robert Coupe, Chairman

APPROVED AS TO FORM:
Michael Tupman, Esquire
Deputy Attorney General
November 11, 2009

2400 Constables

1.0 Experience
1.1 A con stable must mee t th e min imum training st andards a s e stablished b y th e Council on Police 

Training Board.
Adopted 09/10/86
Amended 05/16/00
Amended 01/11/09

2.0 Appeal
2.1 Any applicant who is rejected for a commission as a constable may, within 30 days of such notice of 

rejection, submit a written notice of appeal.
2.2 A hearing date, to be determined  by the Board, will be convened to take relevant evidence on the 

appeal.
2.3 Such proceedings shall be conducted in accordance with the administrative procedures act (Title 29).
2.4 The Board decision, in writing, will be mailed to the applicant within ten working days after the hearing.

Adopted 09/10/86

3.0 Law Enforcement Exemption
3.1 Applicants, who were prior law enforcement officers in any jurisdiction and have been away from police 

work for not more than five (5) years, will be considered for commissions on a case-by-case basis.
3.2 Applicants, who have been law enforcement officers in the past but have been away from active law 

enforcement for more than  five (5) years, will be required to  t ake either the MMPI (Minnesot a 
Multiphasic Personality Inventory) or the PAI (Personal Assessment Inventory), under the conditions 
noted in Rule  4.0, a nd a [, equ ivalent to t he C.O.P.T. exa m to id entify we aknesses in th eir 
knowledge of  la w enf orcement comp rehensive, mult iple-choice ex amination] of th e minimum 
standards est ablished by the Board to id entify we aknesses in the ir kn owledge o f the  du ties o f a 
Constable. Once those shortcomings have been identified, the individual officer will be required to take 
the requisite training where the deficiency was noted.

Adopted 10/16/96
Amended 05/16/00
12 DE Reg. 977 (01/01/09)
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4.0 Employment
4.1 All applicants must submit written testimony from five (5) reputable citizens attesting to good character, 

integrity, and competency.
4.2 All applicants must submit to either the MMPI (Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory) or the PAI 

(Personal Asse ssment Inventory) eva luation performed by  a lice nsed psychologist wh o ha s 
knowledge of th e re quirements o f the d uties of  th e Const able p osition, that th e ap plicant is 
psychologically fit to function as a competent Constable.

4.3 All a pplicants shall be required to  subm it an application and their  fing erprints to  the Dir ector of 
Detective Licensing on the appropriate forms. The Director of the State Bureau of Identification shall 
set the processing fee.

4.4 No full-time police officer may apply for a commission as a constable.
4.5 All a pplicants se eking a ne w co mmission a s a c onstable sh all be  re quired to subm it a  $1 00.00 

application fee.
4.6 A $5 0.00 annual renewal fe e sh all b e re quired to ac company th e re newal ap plication each year 

thereafter.
4.7 A constable shall not be a  member or employee of an y Delaware law e nforcement organization, as 

defined by the council on Police Training, or a member or employee of a law enforcement organization 
of any other state or federal jurisdiction.

Adopted 05/16/00
12 DE Reg. 977 (01/01/09)

5.0 Firearm’s Policy
5.1 No person licensed under Title 24 Chapter 13 Sections 1315 & 1317 shall carry a firearm unless that 

person has fir st passed an  approved firearms course given by a  Board approved ce rtified firearms 
instructor, which shall include a minimum 40 hour course of instruction. Individuals licensed to carry a 
firearm must shoot a m inimum of three (3) qualifying shoots per year, scheduled on at least two (2) 
separate days, with a recommended 90 days between scheduled shoots. Of these three (3), there will 
be one (1) mandatory "low light" shoot. Simulation is permitted and it may be combined with a daylight 
shoot.

5.2 Firearms - approved type of weapons
5.2.1 9mm
5.2.2 .357
5.2.3 .38
5.2.4 .40

5.3 All weapons must be either a revolver or semi-automatic and must be double-action or double-action 
only and must be maintained to factory specifications.

5.4 Under no circ umstances will anyone be allowed to  carry any type of shotgun or rifle or any type of 
weapon that is not described herein.

5.5 All individuals must qualify with the same type of weapon that he/she will carry.
5.6 All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).
5.7 The minimum passing score is 80%. All licenses are valid for a period of one (1) year.

Adopted 05/20/02
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1700 Board of Medical Practice
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 1713(a)(12)

24 DE Admin. Code 1700

ORDER

1700 Board of Medical Practice

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was he ld on 
September 1, 2009 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of Medical Practice ( the “Board”) to receive 
comments regarding proposed amendments to the Boa rd’s Rules and Regulations; specifically, the a ddition of a 
new regulation 30 establishing a fee schedule for copies of patient records. 

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. § 10115, notice of the proposed amendments to the 
rules and regulations was initially published on February 1, 2009 in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 
12, Issue 8 and a hearing was held on March 10, 2009 where members of the public offered comment. The Board 
initially voted to adopt the regulations as proposed but, at their next regularly scheduled meeting, before finalizing 
the order, they determined to make substantive changes to the regulation. The revised proposal was republished 
on Aug ust 1 , 200 9 in  V olume 13 , Issue 2  of the Delaware Register of Regulations n oticing the  he aring for  
September 1, 2009.

Summary of The Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The following exhibits were made a part of the record:
• Board Exhibit 1: News Journal Affidavit of Publication.
• Board Exhibit 2: Delaware State News Affidavit of Publication.
• Board Exhibit 3: Correspondence from Michael J. Malkiewicz, Esquire, dated August 31, 2009, ask-

ing the Board to revise the regulation to provide that the fees cover not only a patient request but the 
request of the patient’s “representative”, e.g., law firm, as well.

• Board Exhibit 4: Correspondence from John S. Grady, Esquire dated August 28, 2009.1

2. The Board received public comment from John Grady, Esquire, Nitin Rao, and Joseph M. Parise, D.O.
3. John Grady, Esquire, st ated that he represents Social Security disability cl aimants and requests records 

from physicians on behalf of his client s. He was involved in the Bill directin g the Medical Board to es tablish a fee 
schedule and has worked on the issue for three years. He stated that there is a difference of opinion on what the 
fees should be, but added that he is fairly content with the regulation as currently drafted. He wanted to make sure 
that h e was r eading th e r egulation co rrectly a nd th at it  does n ot pr ovide fo r a  re trieval fe e to be  char ged. He 
believes that electronic records should actually cost less because they are transmitted by e-mail and  create a 
windfall for the doctor but added that this was an issue fo r another day. He stated that some doctors have turned 
requests for records into an industry and submitted that HIPPA requires a reasonable fee. 

Mr. Grady asked the Board to focus on his verbal comments and not his written letter which had an error in 
it regarding wha t he thought was a $ 2.50 per page cha rge. Mr. Grady concluded by stating that he  th inks the 
proposal is a reasonable compromise and added that he does not have an issue with also having to pay postage. 

4. Nitin Rao stated that the  Medical Society of Delaware supports the new proposal, finds i t to be fair and 
believes that it should be binding on patient requests for records.

1.  Mr. Grady’s letter is not summarized because he asked the Board to focus on his verbal comments rather than 
his letter.
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5. Joseph Par ise, D.O., st ated that he is comm enting as a physician and as a mem ber of the public. He  
believes the proposal as revised, without a cap, is fair. Sometimes requests can be hundreds of pages and it can 
take a long time to respond to the request properly. He also noted that some physicians honor requests without a 
fee and work with the patients.

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Board considered the written and verbal comments provided at the public hearing. The Board considered 
Mr. Malkiewicz’ written comment but finds  that the issue of what doctors charge lawyers for records is not before 
the Board. The law directed the Board to establish fees for patients obtaining their own records. The Board finds 
that the proposed regulation satisfies the mandate of House Bill 236 (codified at 24 Del.C. §1761).

The remaining public comment generally supported the proposed regulation as fair to the patient and to the 
physician. The phys ician and the patient still have an option to hav e the physician provide a summary in lieu of 
obtaining the actual records and to tailor the records requested to provide for continuity of care without the need to 
produce every record.

The Board’s regulation does not allow for a retrieval fee and charging a retrieval fee would violate the rule.

The Law

The Board’s rulemaking authority is provided by 24 Del.C. §1713(a)(12).

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts Regulation 30 as effective 10 days following publication of this Order in the Register 
of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of Regulation 30 remains as published in Register of Regulations, Vol. 13, Issue 2, on August 1, 2009 
without any modification.

SO ORDERED this 6th day of October, 2009.

BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE

1700 Board of Medical Practice

*Please note that no changes were made to th e regulation as  originally proposed and published in the  
August 2009 issue of the Register at page 236 (13 DE Reg. 236). Therefore, the final regulation is not being 
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/final/13 DE Reg 680 11-01-09.htm

Anthony M. Policastro, M.D., President Raymond L. Moore, Sr., Public Member, Vice-President
Oluseyi Senu-Oke, M.D., Secretary John Banks, Public Member
George Brown, Public Member Stephen Cooper, M.D.
Vance Daniels, Public Member Galicano Inguito, M.D.
Sharon Jones, Public Member Sophia Kotliar, M.D.
Vincent Lobo, D.O. Karl McIntosh, M.D.
Daryl Sharman, M.D.
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3600 Board of Registration of Geologists

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 3606 (24 Del.C. §3606)
24 DE Admin. Code 3600

3600 Board of Registration of Geologists

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was he ld on 
October 9, 2009 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of Geologists (the “Board”) to receive comments 
regarding the Board’s proposed amendments to the Board’s rules and regulations. The proposed amendments to 
Rule 2.2, subsection 2.2.1.3, clarify that an applicant for licensure by reciprocity must have an active license in the 
jurisdiction fr om which the  app licant is a pplying an d mu st ha ve actu ally worke d fo r a t le ast 2  ye ars in  the 
jurisdiction fr om w hich t hey are applying t o m eet th e st atutory r equirements for  l icensure. T he first p roposed 
amendment to Rule 6.0 deletes language in subsection 6.1 that provided for a waiver of continuing education for 
the first re newal pe riod a fter the co ntinuing education requirements wer e e nacted be cause it is no lon ger 
applicable. Fin ally, the  Boar d is p roposing to a mend Ru le 6.0  by ad ding ne w su bsections 6 .11 th rough 6.1 5 
clarifying the co ntinuing education audit process and the process for hearings for non-compliance, including the 
imposition of sanctions.

The proposed amendments to the regulations were published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 13, Issue 3,
on September 1, 2009. 

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written comments were received. No members of the public attended the hearing.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

1. The pub lic was given no tice and an op portunity to provide th e Bo ard with  com ments in writing and by 
testimony a t the  public hearing on the p roposed amendments to  the Board’s rules and regulations. The  Board 
received no written or verbal comments on the proposed amendments. 

2. The Boar d’s expe rience in reviewing app lications is  that th ere has bee n confus ion on the p art of the 
applicants as to requirements for application by reciprocity. The Board finds that the proposed amendments to the 
rules and regulations will c larify that an applicant for licensure by reciprocity must have  an a ctive license in th e 
jurisdiction fr om which the  app licant is a pplying an d mu st ha ve actu ally worke d fo r a t le ast 2  ye ars in  the 
jurisdiction from which they are applying to meet the statutory requirements for licensure. 

3. The Board finds that its recent audit of continuing education required for licensure renewal demonstrated 
that there is an outdated provision in rule 6.1 that should be deleted. In addition, the Board finds that the continuing 
education rules and regulations will be improved by clarifying the audit and hearing processes to provide direction 
to the licensees.

4. Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3 606 the Board has st atutory autho rity to pr omulgate rules an d re gulations 
clarifying specific statutory sections of its statute. The amendments to Ru le 2.2 Application-By Reciprocity clarify 
the provisions of 24 Del.C. §3609 with re gard to r eciprocity. The amendments to Rule 6.0 Continuing Education
clarify the provisions of 24 Del.C. § 3611 with regard to renewal of licensure.
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Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to its rules and regulations to be effective 10 days following publication 
of this order in the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the revised rules remains as published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 13, Issue 3, September 
1, 2009, as attached hereto as Exhibit A.

SO ORDERED this 9th day of October, 2009.

STATE BOARD OF GEOLOGISTS

William S. Schenck, President, Professional Member
Scott C. Blaier, Vice-President, Professional Member
Lorene Athey, Public Member
Patricia Ennis, Public Member
Amos Aiken, Public Member

3600 Board of Registration of Geologists

*Please note that no changes were made to th e regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
September 2009 issue of the Register at page 390 (13 DE Reg. 390). Therefore, the final regulation is not 
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/final/13 DE Reg 682 11-01-09.htm

STATE EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COMMITTEE
Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Sections 5210(4) and 9602(b)(4)

(29 Del.C. §§5210(4) and 9602(b)(4))
19 DE Admin. Code 2001

ORDER

Employees Eligible to Participate in the State Group Health Insurance Program Eligibility and Enrollment 
Rules

Effective on November 1, 2009, under the authority of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, Section 9602(b)(4), the 
State Employee Benefits Committee is amending the E ligibility and E nrollment Rules regarding the Employees 
Eligible to Participate in the State Group Health Insurance Program to read as provided below. These amended 
rules were prepared by the Statewide Benefits Office and have been approved by the  State Employee Benefits 
Committee with the consent of the State Employee Benefits Adv isory Council. The amended ru les are effective 
upon publication in the Register of Regulations in accordance with House Bill 2 90, Section 29 of the 145 General 
Assembly.
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2001 Group Health Care Insurance Eligibility and Coverage Rules

(Used to determine who may enroll. See "Cost of Cover age" to de termine the amount of State contributions, 
toward an employee's coverage.)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Cost Of Coverage
(Used to determine the amount of State Share contributed toward an employee's coverage and the 
amount of employee contributions required, if any.)

5.1 "Regular of ficers and employees" begin earning State Share contributions on the first of the month 
following three full months of employment. See Eligibility Table for specific information regarding State 
Share payments and employee payroll deductions for employees who elect coverage when eligible for 
State Share. 

5.2 Permanent p art-time, te mporary per diem and  contractual e mployees of the  Ge neral Assembly as 
described in Eligibility and Enrollment Rule 1.01 are eligible to participate in the State Plan, but are not 
eligible for State Share. Therefore, any such employee joining the State Plan must pay the full cost of 
the he alth plan sele cted. Payment mu st b e co llected b y the organization and for warded to th e 
Statewide Benefits Office by the first day of th e month for which the employee's coverage becomes 
effective. 

5.2.1 If an existing full time state employee takes a limited term position, State Share shall continue. 
5.2.2 Casual and seasonal employees and substitutes are not eligible to participate in the State Plan, 

nor are they eligible for State Share.
5.3 When a husband and wife are both permanent full time active employees, they shall earn State Share 

contributions in accordance with the following:
5.3.1 If they elect to enroll in two  individual contracts, the increment of cost of the options selected by 

the two employees which exceeds the cost of two First State Basic family plans, shall be deducted 
by OMB from salary, pension or disability payments.

5.3.2 If they elect to enroll in one employee and spouse or family contract, the increment of cost of the 
option selected by the employee that exceeds the cost of two First State Basic family plans, shall 
be deducted by OMB from salary, pension or disability payments.

5.4 When the spouse of an eligible employee is a retired State of Delaware employee receiving a monthly 
pension or a Dis ability Insurance Program (DIP) LTD beneficiary rece iving an LTD check, each may 
enroll as two individual contracts, employee and spouse contract or a family contract. The increment of 
cost of the option selected by the employee that exceeds the cost of two First State Basic family plans, 
shall be deducted by OMB from salary, pension or disability payments. (A notation should be made in 
the employee's file that the  spouse is a  State of  De laware Pensioner or DIP LTD beneficiary). The 
Pension Office should be notified when the active employee terminates State Service.

5.5 An eligible employee who elects to be covered prior to becoming eligible for State Share must pay the 
full cost of coverage, State Share and employee share, until State Share begins.

5.6 If a regular officer, employee, eligible pensioner, or beneficiary selects coverage under any plan other 
than the First State Basic Plan, the employee is responsible for paying the additional cost, if any, over 
and above the cost of the same coverage class (individual, employee & child, employee & spouse, or 
family) under the First State Basic plan.

5.7 A regular officer or employee or eligible pensioner who is eligible for the State Share contribution may 
not receive the cash equivalent in lieu of the coverage itself.

5.8 Health cover age pr emiums ar e colle cted on a lag  ba sis. (Exam ple: Jan uary co verage is p aid by 
deduction in the  second pay o f January plus deduction in the  fi rst pay o f February). Each a gency/
school district/sub group is r esponsible for reconciling premiums to ensure that proper payment has 
been remitted. Payments, other than those made through OMB's automated payroll system, a nd all 
adjustments must be submitted in a timely manner to the Statewide Benefits Office. The State Plan will 
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not be responsible for  payment of premiums and/or claims if a signed enrollment form/confirmation 
statement/waiver is not in the employee file.

5.9 An e ligible emp loyee wh o re turns from a n au thorized un paid le ave of ab sence is entitled  to  S tate 
Share payments upon return without fulfilling another three month waiting period. The employee must 
request enrollment by contacting their Human Resources Office within 30 days of return from leave of 
absence. S tate Sh are an d cover age ( if it ha s la psed) b egin o n th e da te of  re turn fr om le ave o f 
absence.

5.10 Any regular officer or employee or eligible pensioner who fails to make payment for his/her share of the 
cost of health coverage when he /she is elig ible to continue coverage and does not have  sufficient 
salary from which payment can be deducted will have coverage canceled on the first day of the month 
that a regular officer or employee or eligible pensioner fails to pay the required share for the coverage 
selected.

5.10.1 Family and Medical Leave Act (FML A) regulations provide that employees have a 3 0 day grace 
period for late premium payments. The employer's obligation to maintain health coverage ceases 
if an employee's premium payment is mo re than 30 days late. Benefit Representative or Human 
Resources Offices should continue the employee's health coverage for the 30 day period provided 
under FMLA. The Benefit Representative or Human Resources Offices can then do a retroactive 
cancellation if the required employee contribution was not paid by the end of the 30 day grace 
period.

5.11 An employee who has a break in active employment due to authorized leave of absence, suspension, 
termination or unauthorized leave of absence without pay for a full calendar month, shall not be eligible 
for State Share for that calendar month and any subsequent calendar month that the employee is in a 
non pay st atus for  th e e ntire cale ndar month. In the ca se of an  authorized lea ve of absen ce, an 
intermittent return to work or use of paid leave of less than five full days in one month, the employee 
shall not be entitled to State Share contributions. Full payment must be made for the month in order to 
retain coverage. U pon return, the employee is eligible for S tate Share without fulf illing another three 
month waiting period, provided the break was the result of any of the following:

5.11.1 an authorized leave of absence;
5.11.2 a suspension without pay;
5.11.3 termination or unauthorized leave of absence for a period less than 30 calendar days.

Coverage begins on the date of employee's return to work.
5.12 State Share will be paid for employees drawing Workers' Compensation, provided the employee is not 

eligible for  coverage from a subsequent employer. Such an employee must sub mit payment for the 
share of the coverage that would normally be deducted from his/her salary.

5.13 State Share will be paid for employees who are approved for Short Term and/or Long Term Disability 
through the State's DIP.

5.13.1 Employee's share o f premium sha ll be  d educted b y OMB fr om employee's salary or DIP LTD 
check.

5.13.2 Employees whose STD claims are in a pending status are entitled to receive State Share. If STD 
claim is denied, the employee is responsible for the State Share paid on h is/her behalf while the 
claim was in a pending status.

5.13.3. Employees who are appealing a STD termination and/or benefit denial are eligible to receive State 
Share. If the appeal results in a denial, the employee is responsible for the State Share paid on 
his/her behalf while the claim was in a pending appeal status. 

5.14 Any refund of State Share or employee share is subject to the following requirements:
5.14.1 An employee who has paid the State Share in order to insure continuation of health coverage and 

then later is found to have been eligible for receipt of Sta te Share, is to b e refunded the amount 
that was not paid by the State. The employee must make application fo r the refund within one 
calendar year of the date the employee paid the State Share to be refunded;

5.14.2 An employee who has paid the employee share then later is found to have been eligible for receipt 
of DSS is to  be r efunded the amount paid  fo r employee share fo r a p eriod no t to excee d one  
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calendar year. The employee seeking a refun d must make application for the refund within one 
year of the date the employee paid the employee share to be refunded;

5.14.3 An employee who has paid the employee share for an ineligible dependent (for example following 
a divorce, death or  exceed ing the dependent age lim its) is to be refunded the amount pa id for  
employee share for a period not to exceed 60 days, provided that the employee seeking a refund 
must make application for the refund within 60 days of the date the employee paid the employee 
share to be r efunded and further that the e mployee shall be liable for a ny amounts paid by the 
State Pla n on  beh alf of the  inelig ible dep endent un til th e em ployee pr ovides n otice to  the  
Statewide Benefits Office of the dependent's ineligibility;

5.14.4 If an  e mployee is terminated from employment a nd does n ot p ay the  em ployee sh are for  th e 
second half of the month in which terminated, coverage under the Plan is terminated as of the first 
of the month, any  claims  paid for that month w ill be rev ersed and a refund w ill be given, if 
employee makes request for refund within 60 days.

5.14.5 In any event, refunds of less than $1.00 will not be made.
5.15 Teachers who are granted a sabbatical leave of absence are eligible for State Share while they are on 

such leave. Also see Eligibility and Enrollment Rule 6.3.
5.16 All employees whose positions are involuntarily terminated after they h ave been employed for a full 

calendar year who return to full time State employment within 24 mo nths of their termination will be 
eligible for State Share without fulfilling another three month qualification period.

5.17 A temporary, casual, seasonal employee, or substitute who becomes a "Regular Officer or Employee" 
shall have his/her unbroken temporary, casual, seasonal, or limited term, provisional or permanent part 
time "Aggregate State Service" applied toward the  three month qualification period for State Share 
contributions. The "Aggregate State Service" must immediately precede becoming a "Regular Officer 
or Employee". The temporary, casual, seasonal employee, or substitute must have worked each pay 
cycle for the three months prior to hire eligibility for state share - or last three full months of the school 
year prior to September hire.

5.18 State Share sh all con tinue for  a "Re gular Officer or  Employee" who is temporarily appointed to  a 
position that results in a dual incumbency.

5.19 Any active employee who is also  receiving a survivor's pension through the State of De laware shall 
receive DSS. The increment of cost, which exceeds the cost of two First State Basic family plans, shall 
be deducted from employee's salary.

5.20 A regular officer or employee called to active duty with the National Guard or Reserve for other than 
training purposes shall continue to receive state share toward health insurance coverage for a period 
of up to two years. Employee's share must be remitted to Benefit Representative or Human Resources 
Office for further processing.

 6 DE Reg. 690 (11/1/02)
12 DE Reg. 986 (01/01/09)
13 DE Reg. 126 (07/01/09)

*Please Note:  As  the  res t of  th e se ctions we re no t ame nded, t hey are  not  being pu blished h ere. A 
complete copy of the proposed regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2009/final/13 DE Reg 683 11-01-09.htm
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER TWELVE

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS AND AGENCIES

RE: ASSURING OUR STATE GOVERNMENT CREATES AN OPEN AND SUPPORTIVE WORKPLACE FOR 
VICTIMS OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

WHEREAS, more than 16,000 criminal cases of domestic violence are reported in the State of Delaware every 
year; and 

WHEREAS, domestic viole nce causes ser ious em otional trauma a nd physical harm, so metimes including 
death; and 

WHEREAS, domestic v iolence can af fect al l i ndividuals, regardless o f race, income, or age, and occurs in 
every community in Delaware; and 

WHEREAS, the lasting effects of domestic violence are far-reaching and profound, and often include alcohol 
and drug abuse, homelessness a nd transiency, sep aration and d ivorce, in creased h ealth care  cost s, criminal 
proceedings, and problems in the workplace; and

WHEREAS, victims of domestic violence frequently lack economic self-sufficiency and face significant ongoing 
challenges to maintaining employment and promoting a healthy environment for families and children; and 

WHEREAS, all employers, including the State of Dela ware, are a critical p art of th e community response to 
domestic violence and can play an important role in assisting victims of domestic violence and their families; and 

WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of State government, its employees, and all Delawareans for the State to 
devote its energies to de feating domestic violence and mitigating its effects on victims, by , among other th ings, 
serving as a resource to assist victims in receiving helpful services and developing thoughtful and comprehensive 
human resources polices; and

WHEREAS, all State agencies should lead by  example and promote a coordinated co mmunity effort that will 
keep v ictims of domestic v iolence and their children safe and help perpetrators to acc ept responsibility for their 
actions;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JACK A. MARKELL, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of 
Delaware, do hereby DECLARE and ORDER that: 

1. Domestic violence of any type or magnitude is not tolerated by the State of Delaware. 
2. All executive br anch a gencies a re directed to crea te a su pportive wo rkplace fo r victims of domestic 

violence that encourages disclosure of domestic violence, ensures confidentiality for victims and their families, and 
promotes the availability of programs and resources to aid victims of domestic violence. 

3. The Human Resources Management Section of the Office of Management and Budget shall draft a state-
wide policy to address issues of domestic violence affecting employees of State agencies. That policy shall include 
reasonable guidelines, practices, procedures and protocols for State employees designed to mitigate the personal 
and e conomic e ffects of do mestic viole nce. The  policy shall not be inconsis tent with applicable federal and 
Delaware law, Merit Rules, and collective bargaining agreements. 

4. The po licy to b e pr epared by th e Huma n Resour ces Man agement Section sha ll prohibit discrimination 
against em ployees wh o are vic tims of  do mestic vio lence. In  developing the afo rementioned po licy, the  Human 
Resources Management Section shall consider, but is not limited to, the following: 

(i) Attendance and leave issues as they relate to domestic violence and related absences, 
(ii) Modifications to jo b assignments and schedules, and development of other reasonable work-related 

accommodations, 
(iii) Guidelines for managers and supervisors in addressing domestic violence incidents, 
(iv) A reporting standard that assures State employees who are witnesses to domes tic violence report it 

promptly, accurately and properly, 
(v) Promotion of available su pportive re sources for  victims, includi ng confide ntial he lp lines an d other  
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resources, 
(vi) Confidentiality policies applicable to domestic violence incidents, to the extent permitted by law, 

(vii) Protocols for employees who are perpetrators, and 
(viii) Training of managerial, security and other personnel to respond to domestic violence situations. 

5. The policies shall be developed in  consultation with the Dom estic V iolence Coor dinating Coun cil, th e 
Delaware Coalition Against Domestic Violence, ContactLifeline, the Domestic Violence Task Force of the Delaware 
Commission for Women, and the Victims' Rights Task Force.

6. All execu tive b ranch agencies sha ll adhere to th e domestic v iolence policies and shall d istribute those 
policies to existing and new employees. 

7. All executive branch agencies shall develop training on the policies related to domestic violence and the 
availability of resources to combat domestic violence.

8. This Order shall apply to all Cabinet Departments and Executive Agencies of the State. The members of 
the General Assembly and the Judiciary are also encouraged to adopt this Order. 

9. No provision of this Order is intended to o r shall create any individual right or legal cause of action that 
does not already exist under state or federal law. 

APPROVED this 5th day of October, 2009

Jack A. Markell,
Governor
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

Statutory Authority: 30 Delaware Code, Section 354 (30 Del.C. §354)

TECHNICAL INFORMATION MEMORANDUM 2009-02

DATE: July 26, 2009
SUBJECT: Legislation passed during the First Session of the 145th Delaware General Assembly.

During the First Session of Delaware’s 145th General Assembly, ending June 30, 2009, eleven (11) bills were 
enacted of inter est to or  having an  impact on Dela ware taxpayers and/or the state’s Division of Revenue. The 
subjects of these bills rang e from an increase in v arious tax rates to a Voluntary Compliance Initiative (HB268 w/
HA1).

Legislation significant to Delaware’s Division of Revenue has been summarized below and is divided into two 
categories for retrieval ease:

(I) Legislation directly affecting tax procedures and filing requirements for businesses and individuals in the 
upcoming year; and

(II) Legislation implementing broad policy changes or altering Division of Revenue processes with little to 
no effect on tax-filing requirements for the upcoming year.

Bills in their entirety may be viewed on the Delaware General Assembly website: www.legis.delaware.gov.

**************************

This memorandum is intended for general notification and explanation of recently enacted Delaware laws and 
should not be relied upon exclusively in a ny pending or future audit or judicial review of an individual taxpayer or 
transaction. Taxpayers are advised to consult the particular bill, the Delaware Code, or Delaware regulations in all 
matters conflicting with any part of this memorandum.

Taxpayers with general questions about the application of Delaware law and procedures may call the Division 
of Re venue H elp L ine at  (3 02) 57 7-8200, or  visit  th e D ivision's w ebsite a t [ www.revenue.delaware.gov] wh ere 
information about tax topics and links to phone numbers for other information may be found.

(I) Legislation directly affecting tax procedures and filing requirements for businesses and individuals in 
the upcoming year:

House Bill 138
Signed by Governor on 07/08/09

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 30 OF THE DELA WARE CODE RELA TING T O THE DELA WARE LAN D AND 
HISTORIC RESOURCES PROTECTION INCENTIVES ACT.

This bill extends the time period in the Delaware Land and Historic Resources P rotection Incentives Act for the 
allocation of tax credits authorized and capped therein.
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House Bill 191
Signed by Governor on 09/04/09

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 30 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO PERSONAL INCOME TAX.

This bill creates a tax check-off for Delaware taxpayers to designate contributions to the Delaware Chapter of the 
National Multiple Sclerosis Society Fund. The use of contribu tions will be restricted loc ally by the Delaware 
Chapter to benefit Delaware residents.

House Bill 211
Signed by Governor on 07/01/09

AN ACT T O AMEND CHAP TER 53, TITLE 30 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING T O THE  LEVY , 
COLLECTION AND USE OF TOBACCO PRODUCT TAX REVENUE.

This bill increases the tax on cigarettes from $1.15 to $1.60 per 20-cigarette pack. Section 1 increases the cigarette 
tax rate. Section 2 makes the cigarette tax effective for possession within the state after midnight July 31, 2009. It 
also imposes a “floor tax” on inventories of cigarettes and requires that the difference between the new tax and the 
old tax be paid on stamps purchased on or before midnight July 31, 2009, but not affixed to any cigarettes as of the 
effective date of this Act.

House Bill 228 as amended by House Amendments 1 and 2
Signed by Governor on 09/01/09

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 30 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO PERSONAL INCOME TAX.

This bill creates a tax check-off for Delaware taxpayers to designate contributions to the Delaware Ovarian Cancer 
Foundation Fund at the Delaware Community Foundation to be used for ovarian cancer research, with emphasis 
on early detection, education, and awareness.

House Substitute 1 for House Bill 260
Signed by Governor on 07/01/09

AN ACT T O AMEND TITLE 29 OF THE DELA WARE CODE RELATING TO TH E TAXATION OF LOTTER Y 
WINNINGS.

This Act eliminates the personal income tax exemption for Delaware lottery winnings. This Act shall be effective for 
tax years beginning after December 31, 2009.

House Substitute 1 for House Bill 264 as amended by House Amendment 2
Signed by Governor on 07/01/09

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 30 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO TAXES ON PERSONAL INCOME

This Act will increase by one percentage point the personal in come t ax rate for t axable inc ome in excess of 
$60,000. This Act shall be effective for tax years beginning after December 31, 2009. This Act shall sunset four (4) 
years from the effective date.
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House Substitute 1 for House Bill 268
Signed by Governor on 07/01/09

AN ACT T O AMEND CHAPTER 5, TITLE 30 OF THE DE LAWARE CODE RELATING TO PROCEDURE, 
ADMINISTRATION AND ENFORCEMENT.

Section 1 is intended to establish a Voluntary Compliance Initiative for eligible taxes administered by the Division of 
Revenue for a period running from September 1, 2009 through October 30, 2009. Any taxpayer who has a current 
outstanding liability for tax periods before January 1, 2009 and makes payment during the Initiative period or enters 
into a p ayment plan and mak es payment before June 30, 2010 w ill have penalty and intere st for late  filing the 
return waived. Any  non filer who files returns will hav e any tax, penalty and interes t for non filed returns for any 
period prior to January 1, 2004 waived. Section 2 is intended to remove the 50% limitation on the penalty for failure 
to file timely tax returns. Section 3 is intended to remove the 75% limitation on the penalty for any fraudulent tax 
returns. Sections 4, 5 and 6 change the period for which interest accrues on an amended refund to 46 days after 
the receipt of the amended tax return. Previously interested accrued 46 d ays after the original return was filed, 
which could have been three years earlier.

House Bill 287
Signed by Governor on 07/01/09

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLES 7 AND 30 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES 
AND FEES.

This Act establishes a business license for firms engaged in the business activity of crude oil lightering. The annual 
license fee is $100,000. Crude oil lightering operators would not be subject to the gross receipts tax. Section 1 of 
the Act establishes the annual business license fee for crude oil lightering operators. Section 2 of the Act exempts 
crude oil lightering operators from the gross receipts tax and revises out-of-date references. Section 3 directs that 
all license fees generated by this Act are deposited into the Hazardous Substance Cleanup Fund. This Act shall be 
effective for tax periods beginning after December 31, 2009.

House Bill 288
Signed by Governor on 07/01/09

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 30 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO PUBLIC UTILITY TAXES.

This Act adds direct-to-home satellite services to the public utility tax base and increases tax rates on public utilities 
other than cable television. This Act shall be effective for tax periods beginning after July 31, 2009.

House Bill 289 as amended by House Amendment 2
Signed by Governor on 07/01/09

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 7 AND TITLE 30 OF THE DELAWARE CODE AND CHAPTER 282, VOLUME 76 OF 
THE LAWS OF DELAWARE RELATING TO GROSS RECEIPTS TAXES.

This Act in creases certain General Fund business and occupational gross receipts tax rates. Sections 1  and 5  
through 19 of the Act set forth the specific gross receipts tax rate increases made by the Act. Sections 2, 3 and 4 of 
the Act correct outdated cross references to service business license categories for purposes of the Occupational 
License Taxes. Section 20  of th e Act eliminates a  sunset p rovision tha t would have au tomatically repealed the  
gross receipts tax rate increases that were enacted in 2008. Sections 21 and 22 of this Act directs that the first $1 
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million collected each year under the gross receipts tax surcharge on petroleum be deposited in the General Fund. 
Section 23 of the Act is a se verance provision. Section 24 of the Act provides that the rate increases made by 
Sections 1 and 5 through 19 of the Act are effective for taxable periods beginning after December 31, 2009, and, 
except for Se ctions 21 an d 22, that the  ot her se ctions of th e Act ar e e ffective up on en actment. This Act sh all 
sunset on e (4 ) ye ars fro m the effective date an d th e ra tes in ef fect imme diately pr ior to this Act shall be re-
imposed.

House Bill 291 as amended by House Amendments 1 and 4
Signed by Governor on 07/01/09

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLES 3, 12 AND 30 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO THE ESTATE TAX.

Sections 1, 2. and 3. of the Act decouple the Delaware estate tax on the estates of resident individuals from any 
repeal of the federal estate tax by referencing the federal law as it existed on January 1, 2001 as updated by other 
provisions of the federal estate tax laws with respect to the duty to file a r eturn and the calculation of the taxable 
estate in effect on the earlier of the date of the  decedent’s death or the date immediately preceding the effective 
date of the repeal of the federal estate tax. Section 4 of the Act decouples the Delaware estate tax on the estates of 
non-resident individuals from any repeal of th e federal estate tax by referencing the federal law as it e xisted on 
January 1, 2001 as updated by other provisions of the federal estate tax laws with respect to the duty to file a return 
and the calculation of th e taxable estate in ef fect on the  earlier of the d ate of the d ecedent’s death or  the date 
immediately preceding the effective date of the repeal of the federal estate tax. The estate tax for non-residents will 
be calculated in the s ame manner as the estate tax for residents, the sum of which will be reduced by the ratio of 
Delaware ta xable a ssets over t otal taxable a ssets. Sections 5, 6, an d 7, reinstate enforcement and procedural 
requirements that would sunset with the repeal of the federal estate tax, such as the duty to file a Delaware estate 
tax return, creation of a special lien for estate taxes, and the duty to file an affidavit in cases where a return need 
not have been fi led pu rsuant to the Inter nal Revenue C ode in  e ffect o n January 1, 2001 as updated by other  
provisions of the federal estate tax laws with respect to the duty to file a r eturn and the calculation of the taxable 
estate in effect on the earlier of the date of the  decedent’s death or the date immediately preceding the effective 
date of the repeal of the federal estate tax. Section 8 exempts from tax farm land participating in the Delaware 
Agricultural Lands Preservation Act program. This Act shall sunset four (4) years from the effective date.

Senate Bill 62
Signed by Governor on 07/09/09

AN ACT T O AMEND TITLE 30 OF THE D ELAWARE CODE RELATING TO DELAWARE PERSONAL INC OME 
TAX CHECKOFF PROGRAMS.

This Bill es tablishes a procedure to allow t axpayers to de signate a contribution to a newly established Delaware 
Children’s Fund. Money depos ited to the Fund will periodic ally be turned  ov er to the 21s t Century Fund for 
Delaware’s Children, Inc.

(II) Legislation implementing broad policy changes or altering Division of Revenue processes with little to 
no effect on tax-filing requirements for the upcoming year:

No legislation passed under section II.

Patrick Carter
Director of Revenue
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
DIVISION OF ANIMAL HEALTH AND FOOD PRODUCTS INSPECTION

PUBLIC NOTICE
304 Exotic Animal Regulations

The De laware Dep artment of Agriculture re -proposes these regulations in  a ccordance with the  Gen eral 
Assembly’s mandate to enforce Chapter 72 of Title 3 of the Delaware Code and to specify the means by which 
citizens of the State of Delaware may obtain a permit from the Delaware Department of Agriculture to possess, sell,
or exhibit, exotic animals within the state.

An earlier version of these regulations was considered at a public hearing on February 20, 2009 at 10:00 a.m. 
at the Department of Agriculture Building, Secretary’s Conference Room. Public comments were received at that 
time leading to substantive changes. Those earlier comments led the Delaware Dep artment of Agriculture to r e-
promulgate the regulations and to solicit a dditional public commentary. The comment period ended on August 1, 
2009.

As a consequenc e of receiving s till additional comment s from the public the Delaware Department of 
Agriculture again proposes these regulations and solicits comments from the public. Any such comments should 
be submitted to the State Veterinarian, Heather Hirst, DVM at the Delaware Department of Agr iculture, 2320 S. 
DuPont Highwa y, Dover, DE 1 9901 o n o r before December 1, 20 09. Cop ies o f the p roposed r egulations are 
available on request.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday, November 19, 2009 at 1:00 p.m. in the 
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

9059 Income Exclusions
PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Supplement Program - Decennial Census 2010

In compliance w ith the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - T itle 29, Chap ter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,  Section 512, Delaware Health and 
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend the Food Supplement Program policies 
in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) related to the 2010 Decennial Census.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program & 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 by November 30, 2009. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the pro posed regulation will be based upon the 
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed 
by other interested persons.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
901 Arbitration of Automobile and Homeowners' Insurance Claims

PUBLIC NOTICE

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAREN WELDIN STEWART, CIR-ML hereby gives notice of in tent to adopt 
amendments to  De partment of Insurance Regu lation 901  rela ting to Ar bitration.  The d ocket number fo r this 
proposed amendment is 1278.

The purpose of the proposed amendment to regulation 901 is to update the existing regulation to conform to 
statutory chan ges relative to h ealth insur ance ar bitration and to p rovide for  the  p ayment of leg al se rvices to 
prevailing consumers in a rbitration cases. The text of the proposed amendment is re produced in the November 
2009 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations.  The text can also be  viewed at the Delaware Insurance 
Commissioner’s we bsite a t: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/
ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the p roposed changes.  Any person 
can file  wr itten comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of  data or  other materials concerning the proposed 
amendments.  Any wr itten submission in response to this notice and relevant to th e proposed changes must be 
received by the De partment of In surance no  later  than 4:0 0 p.m., Mo nday De cember 7 , 20 09, an d sho uld b e 
addressed to Mitch Crane, Esqu ire, Delaware Department o f Insurance, 841 Silver  Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 
19904, or sent by fax to 302.739.2021 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
1305 Loss Ratio Filing Procedures for Health Insurers and Health Service Corporations for Medical and 

Hospital Expense-incurred Insurance Policies and Group Plans
PUBLIC NOTICE

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAR EN WELDIN STEWART, CIR-ML hereby gives notice of intent to ado pt 
proposed Department of Insurance Regulation 1305 relating to he alth insurers, health service corporations and 
managed care organizations. The docket number for this proposed amendment is 1277.

The purpose of the proposed amendment to Regulation 1305 is to create procedures and time lines for all rate 
filings made by insurers. The text of  the proposed amendment is reproduced in the November 2009 edition of the 
Delaware Register of Regulations. The text can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance Commissioner's website 
at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person can 
file wr itten comments, su ggestions, br iefs, compilations of  data or  oth er m aterials co ncerning the pr oposed 
amendments. Any wr itten submission in response to this notice an d relevant to the proposed changes must be 
received by the De partment of In surance no  later  than 4:3 0 p.m., Mo nday De cember 7 , 20 09, an d sho uld b e 
addressed to Mitchell G. Crane, Esquire, Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver L ake Boulevard, Dover, 
DE 19904, or sent by fax to 302.739.2021 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us. 

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
DELAWARE COUNCIL ON POLICE TRAINING

PUBLIC NOTICE
801 Delaware Council on Police Training

The Co uncil on Po lice Training (COPT), pursuant to  11 Del.C. §8 404(a)(14) and 29 Del.C. §1 0115 of th e 
Administrative Procedures Act, gives notice that it shall hold a public hearing on November 23, 2009 at 9:00 a.m., 
in the second floor conference room of the Delaware State Police Training Academy, N. DuPont Highway, Dover, 
Delaware 19903. 

The COPT will receive written comments or oral testimony from interested persons regarding amendments to 
the following COPT Regulations: 3.0 (Minimum Standards fo r Initial Emp loyment); 5.0  (M inimum Standards for  
Training); 8 .0 (Re -activation Requirements of Police Officers); 11.0 (F irearms T raining); and  25.0 (Substance 
Abuse Screen), and to adopt a new Regulation 26.0 (Electronic Control Device (ECD) Training). The final date for 
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interested persons to submit written comments shall be the date of the public hearing. Written comments should be 
directed to Captain Ralph H. Davis, III, Director, Delaware State Police Training Academy, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE 
19903-0430. 

Any person wishing to make written or oral comments who would like a copy of the proposed regulations may 
contact the COPT at (302) 739-5903 or write to the above address.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice
PUBLIC NOTICE

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2006(a)(1), the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice has proposed revisions to its 
rules and regulations.

A public hearing wil l be held on January 6, 2010 at 4:45 p.m. in the  second floor conference room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the  p roposed rules and regulations may ob tain a co py from the Board of 
Occupational Therapy Practice, 861 Silver  Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to su bmit 
written comm ents may for ward th ese to  the Board at th e a bove ad dress. The fina l da te to receive wr itten 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board proposes a new Rule 4.0, wh ich addresses licensee competence to administer various treatment 
modalities. Pursuant to this amendment, at the request of the Board or a member of the public, a licensee will be 
required to provide documentation of training or education to demonstrate competence.

In addition, Rule 1.3.3 is amended to clarify the parameters of an occup ational therapist’s supervision of an 
occupational therapy assistant. Provisions are added pertaining to submission of applications for licensure. A new 
Rule 3.1.2.4 gives the Boa rd authority to conduct hearings and impose sanctions regarding licensees’ failure to 
comply with the Board’s continuing education requirements

Finally, the Board proposes minor typographical revisions and re-numbering of the rules to accommodate the 
addition of new rules.

The Board will c onsider promulgating the proposed rules and re gulations at its regularly scheduled meeting 
following the public hearing.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
3001 Regulations Governing Service Supplied by Electrical Corporations

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Since 1999, Commiss ion-jurisdictional electric utilities and electric supplie rs have been obligated to permit 
residential an d sm aller comme rcial custome rs to  use lim ited cap acity g enerators (powered b y r enewable 
resources) to “net meter” their electric production and consumption.  See Rules for Certification and Regulation of 
Electric Corporations, a dopted by PSC Ord er No. 5 207 ( Aug. 31, 1999) and re vised from tim e to  time (the  
“Regulations”).

In July and September 2009, certain sections of Title 26 pertaining to net energy metering and vehicle-to-grid 
(“V2G”) resources were enacted into law.  The V2G provisions include certain electric vehicles qualifying as “Grid-
Integrated Electric Vehicles” in net energy metering. The other changes enacted by the recent legislation: eliminate 
a customer’s forfeiture of excess electric generation and allow customers to request payments from an electrical 
supplier for the valu e of excess generation; allow customers to retain ownership of “r enewable energy credits;” 
create a new provision for farm customers with respect to net energy metering; and increase the cap on customer 
net energy metering generation from 1%  to 5% of an electric utility ’s aggregated customer monthly peak demand 
for a given calendar year. 

To implement these statutory changes, the Commission now proposes changes to the “net metering” section 
and other sections of the Reg ulations.  You can review the proposed amendments at the Commission’s office in 
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Dover at the address below (and obtain copies for $0.25 per page), or visit the Commission’s website loca ted at 
http://depsc.delaware.gov, under PSC Order No. 7652 (Sept. 22, 2009).  You can also review PSC Order No. 7652 
and the proposed amendments in the November 2009 issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations, available at 
http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/register.shtml.

The PSC now solicit s comments, sug gestions, comp ilations of da ta, br iefs, or  othe r written  mater ials 
concerning the proposed revisions to the Regulations.  If you wish to file any such materials, you should submit an 
original and ten copies of such written documents on or before December 1, 2009.  You should file such materials 
with the PSC at the following address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 49

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission.  Such 
electronic cop y m ay b e f iled on  a  co py-capable CD -Rom dis k or  se nt as  an  a ttachment to  an  In ternet e- mail 
addressed to john.farber@state.de.us.

The Commission Hearing will consider the revisions to the Regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting on 
Tuesday, December 8, 2009 at 1:00 p.m. at the address for the C ommission listed above.  The Commiss ion will 
make its decision to adopt, re ject, or  adopt with modification, the proposed revisions to the Regulations on the 
basis o f a ny e vidence a nd in formation presented of r ecord in t his d ocket. The Commission is  authoriz ed to 
promulgate the proposed amendments under 26 Del.C. §§ 362 and 1014(d).

If you have questions about this proceeding, you can contact the Commission at 1-800-282-8574 (in Delaware 
only) or (302) 736-7500 (text te lephone available).  You can also send inquiries by Inter net e-mail addressed to 
john.farber@state.de.us.  If yo u are disab led and need assistance to  be ab le to p articipate, please contact the 
Commission to make arrangements for such assistance.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
3008 Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard

(Opened August 23, 2005)
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Under the “Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards Act,” 2 6 Del.C. §§351-364 (2006 Supp.) (the “RPS Act” ), 
each electric supplier making retail electric sales in Delaware mu st, beginning in 2007, accumulate a portfolio of 
“renewable energy credits” equivalent to a specified percentage of its overall retail electric supply sales.  In 2006, 
the Pub lic Service Commission (“ PSC”) ad opted “ Rules and Procedures to  Implement th e Re newable Ener gy 
Portfolio S tandard” (th e “RPS  Rules”).  See 10  DE R eg. 151-157 (July 1, 20 06). The  RPS Rule s h ave b een 
amended twice in the interim to conform to subsequent amendments to the RPS Act.

On July 8, 2009, the Gov ernor of the State of Delaware signed into law Senate Bill N o. 173 as amended by 
Senate Bill No. 1 (77 Del. Laws ch. 131) (July 8, 2009) (“Senate Bill 173”), whic h updated and clarified cert ain 
provisions of the Delaware Energy Act pert aining to Delaware’s Sus tainable Energy Utility (the “SEU ”) and 
amended Section 360 of the RPS Act b y adding a subsection, that to lls the thre e-year limit on the existence of 
renewable energy credits and solar renewable energy credits during any period that those credits are held by the 
SEU.

The PSC n ow proposes to r evise the RPS Ru les to incorporate, and assure consistency with , the statutory 
changes made by Senate Bill 173.  

You can review PSC Order No. 7653 (Sept. 22, 2009) (the “Order”) and the proposed revised RPS Rules in the 
November 2009 issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations.  You can also review the Order and the proposed 
revised RPS Rules at the PSC’s Internet website located at http://depsc.delaware.gov.  If you wish to obtain written 
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copies of the Order and proposed revised RPS Rules, please contact the PSC at (302) 736-7500.  Copies are 
$0.25 per page.  Payment is expected prior to copying (if you wish the copies to be mailed) or at the time the copies 
are retrieved (if you retrieve them in person).

The PSC now solicits comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials about the 
proposed revisions to its RPS Rules. If you wish to file an y such materials, you should submit an original and ten 
copies of such written documents on or before December 1, 2009.  You should file such materials with the PSC at 
the following address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 56

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission.  Such 
electronic co py m ay b e f iled on  a  co py-capable CD -Rom dis k or  se nt as  an  a ttachment to  an  In ternet e- mail 
addressed to katie.rochester@state.de.us.

The PSC will also conduct a public evidentiary hearing on the new proposed regulations on December 8, 2009 
at 1:00 P.M. at the PSC’s office at the address set forth above.   

Any individual with a disability desiring to participate in these proceedings or to review the filings should contact 
the PSC to discuss any auxiliary aids or s ervices needed.  The PSC S taff can also provide additional information 
about this docket.  The PSC’s toll-free telephone number within Delaware is 1-800-282-8574.  The PSC may be 
reached a t ( 302) 736 -7500 (in cluding text te lephone co mmunications).  Inqu iries m ay be sent to  th e PSC by 
Internet e-mail addressed to “pamela.knotts@state.de.us.” 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF PLANNING AND POLICY

2309 Standards and Regulations for Subdivision Streets and State Highway Access
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Department of Transportation through its Planning Division has developed proposed revisions to 
its regulations fo r access to  State-maintained roads and fo r p lanning, design, construction, and accep tance for  
maintenance of subd ivision stree ts.  This pr oposed re vision to the  Standards an d Reg ulations for Subdivision 
Streets and State Highway Access is the first revision to the regulations that were enacted in December of 2007. 

A public workshop will be held regarding these proposals on November 19, 2009 at the DelDOT Administration 
Building in the Farmington/Felton Room from 4:00 pm until 7:00 pm.

The Department will t ake written comm ents on the proposed changes to t he Regulations from November 1, 
2009 through December 17, 2009.

Any requests for copies of  the Regulations, or any questions or  comments regarding amendments to these 
Regulations should be directed to: 

Theodore Bishop, Assistant Director of Planning
Delaware Department of Transportation
PO Box 778
Dover, DE 19903
(302) 760-2122 (telephone)
(302) 739-2251 (fax)
theodore.bishop@state.de.us
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