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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

4 DE Reg. 769 - 775 (11/1/00)

Refers to Volume 4, pages 769 - 775 of the
Delaware Register issued on November 1, 2000.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
 DATE             DATE        TIME

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 15 4:30 P.M.

SEPTEMBER 1 AUGUST 15 4:30 P.M.

OCTOBER 1 SEPTEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Walter G. Feindt, Deputy Director; Judi
Abbott, Secretary; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar
of Regulations; Maryanne McGonegal, Research
Analyst; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative
Librarian; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop
Supervisor; Alex W. Mull, Assistant Registrar;
Deborah A. Porter, Administrative  Assistant;
Barbara Ryan, Public Information Clerk;
Victoria Schultes, Administrative Assistant; Ted
Segletes, Paralegal;  Don Sellers, Printer; Thom
Shiels, Legislative Attorney; Marguerite P.
Smith, Public Information Clerk; Alice W. Stark,
Legislative Attorney; Mary Jane Starkey, Senior
Secretary;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Rochelle
Yerkes, Senior Secretary.
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ATTORNEY GENERAL
Opinion No. 99-IB15, FOIA Complaint Against the City of Newark................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1317
Opinion No. 99-IB16, FOIA Complaint Against the Delaware Department of

Transportation & the City of Wilmington....................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1318
Opinion No. 99-IB17, FOIA Complaint Against the Town of Townsend............................. .......4  DE Reg. 1318
Opinion No. 00-IB01, Residency and Christina Board of Education.................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1319
Opinion No. 00-IB02, FOIA Complaint Against the Town of Bellafonte............................. .......4  DE Reg. 1320
Opinion No. 00-IB03, FOIA Complaint Against the Brandywine School District............... .......4  DE Reg. 1321
Opinion No. 00-IB04, Interpretation of 9 Del.C. Section 4104(c), Compensation of

President and Vice-President of Levy Court................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1321
Opinion No. 00-IB05, FOIA Complaint Against the Red Clay Consolidated

School District.... ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1323
Opinion No. 00-IB06, Felony Conviction Information and Voter Registration.................... .......4  DE Reg. 1324
Opinion No. 00-IB07, FOIA Complaints Against the Woodbridge School District ............. .......4  DE Reg. 1325
Opinion No. 00-IB08, FOIA Complaint Against the University of Delaware...................... .......4  DE Reg. 1328
Opinion No. 00-IB09, State of Delaware as a Party to an Equal Accommodation 

Complaint........... ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1330
Opinion No. 00-IB10 Capital School District Referendum................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1333
Opinion No. 00-IB11, Voting by Incompetent Persons......................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1335
Opinion No. 00-IB12, FOIA Complaints Against the Woodbridge Board of Education,

and the Raider Committee.............................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg. 1338
Opinion No. 00-IB13, Kent County Levy Court/Board of Assessment................................ .......4  DE Reg. 1341
Opinion No. 00-IB14, Executive Order No. 70S-10.............................................................. .......4  DE Reg. 1342
Opinion No. 00-IB15, Delaware State Housing Authority Application Procedures............. .......4  DE Reg. 1345
Opinion No. 00-IB16, Sheriff as a Police Officer.................................................................. .......4  DE Reg. 1347
Opinion No. 00-IB17, Burris-Rochford Education Plan Mailing.......................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1348
Opinion No. 00-IB18, FOIA Complaint Against the City of Newark................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1351
Opinion No. 00-IB19, FOIA Complaint Against the Woodbridge School District............... .......4  DE Reg. 1352
Opinion No. 00-IB20, Elderly Property Tax Relief and Education Expense Fund............... .......4  DE Reg. 1353

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
1997 Edition Part I, Annex A, 1997 Edition Part I, Annex B and 1997 Edition Part III,

Chapter 1, Operation, Maintenance and Testing of Fire Protection Systems................. .......4  DE Reg.   769  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1237  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES   (Title 24 Delaware Administrative Code)
Division of Professional Regulation

  100   Board of Accountancy......................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1380  (Prop.)
  200 Board of Landscape Architecture........................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   385  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1239  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1586  (Prop.)

  400 Gaming Control Board, Regulations Governing Bingo, Section 1.03 (10)......... .......4  DE Reg.   334  (Final)
  500 Board of Podiatry................................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   688  (Final)
  700 Board of Chiropractic.......................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1391  (Prop.)
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners............................................................................. .......4  DE Reg. 1213  (Prop.)

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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1600 Commission on Adult Entertainment Establishments......................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1068  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1493  (Final) 

1770 Board of Medical Practice, Respiratory Care Advisory Council......................... .......4  DE Reg.     14  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   699  (Final)

1900 Board of Nursing................................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   274  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   672  (Final)

Advance Practice Nurses, Independent Practice and/or
Independent Prescriptive Authority.................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   296  (Final)

Rule 6.10, Register of Nurses Licensed in Delaware.......................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1069  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1494  (Final)

2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry....................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   674  (Final)
2500 Board of Pharmacy

Reg. I, Pharmacist Licensure Requirements........................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   163  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   889  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1501  (Final)   

Reg. II Grounds for Disciplinary Proceeding...................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   163  (Final) 
4  DE Reg.   247  (Errata)

Reg. V, Dispensing........................................................................................ ......   .....4  DE Reg.       8  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   163  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   682  (Final)

Reg. VI, Pure Drug Regulations.......................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   890  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1502  (Final)

Reg. XV, Automated Pharmacy Systems............................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   605  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   890  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1502  (Final)

2600 Examining Board of Physical Therapists............................................................. .......4  DE Reg.     21  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   440  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1114  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   607  (Prop.)

2900 Real Estate Commission...................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   390  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   844  (Final)

Rule 5.2.... ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   457  (Final)
2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers...................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1074  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1504  (Final)
3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health........................................... .......4  DE Reg.   267  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   970  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1394  (Prop.)

3100 Board of Funeral Services.................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   157  (Final)
3500 Board of Examiners of Psychologists.................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   275  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   977  (Final)
3700 Board of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists, and 

Hearing Aid Dispensers 4  DE Reg. 1399  (Prop.)
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners........................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   892  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1591  (Prop.)
5100 Board of Cosmetology & Barbering.................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   329  (Final)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork........................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   771  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1245  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1411  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT  OF AGRICULTURE
Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Program.......................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     37  (Prop.)
Nutrient Management Certification Regulations............................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   609  (Prop.)

4 DE Reg.  1117  (Final)  
Nutrient Management, Regulations Governing the Processing of Complaints

of Violations. ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   612  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1121  (Final)

Harness Racing Commission
Amend Rules 3.2.8.3; 6.3.2; 7.6.6; 7.6.13; 7.6.14; 7.6.15; 8.3.5.4; and 8.4.3.5.10........ .......4  DE Reg.   336  (Final)  
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Claiming Races, Rule 6.3.3.13....................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   776  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1094  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1652  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1123  (Final)

Rules 6.3.3.13 and 8.3.5.9.4............................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   259  (Errata)
Testing ............. ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.       6  (Errata)

Plant Industries Section
Grain Inspection & Certification Regulations................................................................ .......4  DE Reg. 1597  (Prop.)

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
30 Rule Amendments..................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   173  (Final)
Rules 8.08, 10.07, 15.01.1(b), 15.01.2(d) and 15.02...................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   397  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1131  (Final)
Rule 15.02, Bleeder Medication..................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1415  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION,     (Title 14 Delaware Administrative Code)
101 Delaware Student Testing Program............................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.     69  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   464  (Final)
103 School Accountability for Academic Performance..................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   784  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1660  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1218  (Prop.)

  245 Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards Scholarship Program............................. .......4  DE Reg.   224  (Final)
250 Procedures Related to the Collection, Maintenance and

Disclosure of Student Data...................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   787  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1143  (Final)

255 Definitons Public & Private School............................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   897  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1251  (Final)

309 Middle Level Certification.......................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   995  (Final)
310 Speech/Language Pathologist..................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   184  (Final)
311 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary/Middle Level................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   408  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   851  (Final)
312 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish ) Secondary..................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   408  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   851  (Final)
391 Limited Standard Certification for Middle Level Mathematics and Science

and  Secondary Science Certificate for Middle Level Science................................ .......4  DE Reg.   222  (Final)
396 Private Business and Trade Schools............................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   614  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   986  (Final)
398 Degree Granting Institutions of Higher Education..................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   807  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1164  (Final)
401 Major Capital Improvement Programs........................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   898  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1599  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1252  (Final)

501 State Content Standards.............................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   343  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   407  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   853  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   901  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1421  (Prop.)

503     Instructional Program Requirements.......................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1421  (Prop.)
510 Computer Literacy Amendments to the Graduation Requirements, Repeal of........... .......4  DE Reg.   626  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   995  (Final)
511 Credit Requirements for High School Graduation ..................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   634  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   995  (Final)
522 Visual and Performing Arts......................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   634  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1421  (Rep.)
524 Physical Education ..................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   634  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1421  (Rep.)
525 Requirements for Vocational-Technical Education Programs..................................... .......4  DE Reg.   634  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1421  (Rep.)
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543 (Formerly 524) Physical Education, Reproposal........................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   903  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1102  (Prop.)

710 Teacher Workday ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   905  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1254  (Final)

716 Maintenance of Local School District Personnel Records.......................................... .......4  DE Reg.   635  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   989  (Final)

729 School Custodians ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   225  (Final)
804 Immunizations. ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1104  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1515  (Final)
885 Policy for the Safe Management & Disposal of Surplus Chemicals in the

Delaware Public School System.............................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   906  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1255  (Final)

920 Educational Programs for Students with Limited English Proficiency....................... .......4  DE Reg.     71  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   467  (Final)

925 Children with Disabilities............................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.     43  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   470  (Final)

930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound).......................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     75  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   344  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   381  (Errata)
4  DE Reg.   497  (Final)

1051 DSSAA, Senior High School Interscholastic Athletic Eligibility Rules..................... .......4  DE Reg.   185  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1602  (Prop.)

1052 DSSAA, Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic Athletic Eligibility Rules........ .......4  DE Reg.   185  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1619  (Prop.)

1101 Standards for School Buses......................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   637  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   995  (Final) 

Handbook for K-12 Education Sections II, III, and IV, Repeal of ............................. .......4 DE Reg.    626  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
Division of Revenue

Technical Memo. 2000-02, Duty to Report Sales of Cigarette Products
made by Non Participating Manufacturers.............................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   346  (Final)

Technical Memo. 2000-06, Form 1801AC, Application and Computation for
Delaware Land & Historic Resource Conservation Credit...................................... .......4  DE Reg.   823  (Prop.)

Technical Memo. 2001-01, No Sale of Land Conservation Credits .............................. .......4  DE Reg. 1634  (Prop.)
Office of the State Lottery

Delaware Lottery & Video Lottery, Introduction, Sections 13, 16, 18, 19 & 29............ .......4  DE Reg.     78  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   498  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Mental Retardation

Eligibility Criteria ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   228  (Final)
Division of Public Health

Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver Program..................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   349  (Final)
Control of Communicable and Other Disease Conditions.............................................. .......4  DE Reg. 1452  (Prop.)
Office of Drinking Water

Licensing & Registration of Operators of Public Water Supply Systems............... .......4  DE Reg.   825  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1517  (Final)

Plumbing Code ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1447  (Prop.)
Office of Emergency Medical Services

Advanced Life Support Interfacility Transport Regulations (ALS-IFT)................. .......4  DE Reg.   908  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1525  (Final)

Air Medical Ambulance Services............................................................................ .......4  DE Reg. 1465  (Prop.)
Delaware Early Defibrillation Program................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   412  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1543  (Final)
Office of Health Facilities Licensing & Certification

Application & Operation of Managed Care Organizations (MCO)........................ .......4  DE Reg. 1425  (Prop.)
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Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities
Establishment of Delegation of Power of Relative Caregivers to

Consent to Medical Treatment of Minors................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   263  (Emer.)
4  DE Reg.   283  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   599  (Emer.)
4  DE Reg.   656  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1014  (Final)

Establishment of Delegation of Power of Relative Caregivers to
Consent for Registering Minors for School............................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   264  (Emer.)

4  DE Reg.   284  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   600  (Emer.)
4  DE Reg.   657  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1016  (Final)

Division of Social Services
4004.6, Minor Student Earned Income........................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     89  (Prop.)
4004.6, Minor Student Earned Income - ABC and GA.................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   855  (Final)
4004.7, Minor Student Earned Income GA, Repeal of................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   855  (Repeal)
4005.3, Step-Parent Income in the ABC Program.......................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1222  (Prop.)
4006.1, Excluded Income............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
7002.1, Cash Assistance Overpayments......................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   922  (Prop.)
8030.1, Excluded Income............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
9042, Food Stamp Program, Categorically Eligible Households................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1486  (Prop.)
9059, Income Exclusions................................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
10004.3, Sanction Period and Penalty, 10004.3.1, Information Coordination............... .......4  DE Reg.     89  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   856  (Final)
11003.9.1, Countable Income......................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
14300, Citizenship and Alienage.................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     91  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   858  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   923  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1550  (Final)

14320.1, Medicaid Eligibility for Qualified Aliens........................................................ .......4  DE Reg.     92  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   859  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   924  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1551  (Final)

14320.3,  Medicaid Eligibility Not Based on Date of Entry into U.S............................ .......4  DE Reg.     92  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   859  (Final)

 14330.2, Eligibility for State Funded Benefits (Nonqualified Aliens)........................... .......4  DE Reg.     92  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   860  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   924  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1551  (Final)

14380, Documentation of Citizenship or Alien Status................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     93  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   860  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   382  (Errata)

14400, Acceptable Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, Repeal of......................................... .......4  DE Reg.     93  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   861  (Final)

14410, Acceptable Evidence of Qualified Alien Status................................................. .......4  DE Reg.     93  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   861  (Final)

14710, Income 4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
15120.1.2, Child Support Cooperation........................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     95  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   862   (Final)
16100.1.2, Initial Eligibility Determination.................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   383  (Emer.)

4  DE Reg.   418  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   857  (Final)

16250, Eligibility Determination.................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   384  (Emer.)
4  DE Reg.   418  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   858  (Final)

17170, Section 4913 Disabled Children......................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1487  (Prop.)
17800, Medical Assistance During Transition to Medicare........................................... .......4  DE Reg.   924  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1551  (Final)
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18100.3, Fair Hearings.................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     95  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   382  (Errata)
4  DE Reg.   862  (Final)

Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP), Eligibility Policy......................... .......4  DE Reg.     95  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   834  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1180  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1373  (Errata)

Prospective Reimbursement System for Long Term Care Facilities ............................. .......4  DE Reg. 1634  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Regulation 41, Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards.......................... .......4  DE Reg.   863  (Final)
Regulation 81, Prompt Payment of Settled Claims........................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   659  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Delaware Securities Act, Rules 700, 701, 710............................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   510  (Final)
Delaware Securities Act, Rule 508, Recognized Securities Manual.............................. .......4  DE Reg. 1184  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Delaware Prevailing Wage Regulation III.C.................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   419  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   838  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   863  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1186  (Final)

Council on Apprenticeship & Training
Delaware Apprenticeship and Training Law, Sections 106.9 & 106.10......................... .......4  DE Reg.   842  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1222  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Freedom of Information Act Regulations....................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   660  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1256  (Final)
Division of Air and Waste Management

Air Quality Management Section
2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent & New Castle Counties................................ .......4  DE Reg.   664  (Prop.)
Reg. No. 26, Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program................................... .......4  DE Reg.   925  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1261  (Final)
Reg. No. 30, Title V State Operating Permit Program............................................ .......4  DE Reg. 1018  (Final) 
Reg. No. 31, Low Enhanced Inspection & Maintenance Program Proposed

Sip Revision..................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   931  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1267  (Final)

Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for
Source Categories, Subparts M and N.............................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   286  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   707  (Final)
Reg. No. 39, NOx Budget Trading Program........................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   419  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1019  (Final)
Waste Management Section

Solid Waste Regulations.......................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   101  (Prop.)
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste............................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   514  (Final)

4  DE Reg. 1488  (Prop.)
Division of Fish and Wildlife

Shellfish, S-34, Non Commercial Crab Pot Design; Bycatch Reduction Device........... .......4  DE Reg. 1490  (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 4, Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons. .......4  DE Reg. 1106  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1553  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1642  (Prop.)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 7, Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions................... .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
4  DE Reg. 1107  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1554  (Final)
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Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 8, Striped Bass Commercial Fishing Seasons; Quotas;
Tagging and Reporting Requirements..................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1108  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1554  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. 9, Bluefish Possession Limits........................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1109  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1555  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. 10, Weakfish Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons.................... .......4  DE Reg. 1109  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1555  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 14, Spanish Mackrel Size Limit and Creel Limit...................... .......4  DE Reg. 1110  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1556  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 21, Scup Size Limit.................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1491  (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 23, Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits; Seasons;

Quotas ......... ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   602  (Emer.)
4  DE Reg. 1225  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1378  (Emer.)
4  DE Reg. 1492  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1665  (Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 24, Fish Pot Requirements......................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1110  (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 27, Spiny Dogfish, Closure of Fishery....................................... .......4  DE Reg.   603  (Emer.)

 4  DE Reg. 1492  (Prop.)
Division of Water Resources

Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution.................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   103  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies

Employment Notification............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   361  (Final)
Rules and Regulations.................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   864  (Final)

Division of Highway Safety
Policy Regulation 36, Driving Under the Influence Evaluation Program, Courses of

Instruction, Programs of Rehabilitation & Related Fees......................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1226  (Prop.)
Regulation A, Motor Carrier Safety Enforcement.......................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1229  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg. 1666  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES
Divison of Family Services

Regulations for Criminal History Record Checks for Child Care Persons .................... .......4  DE Reg. 1643  (Prop.)
Regulations for Entry onto & Expungement from the Central Child Abuse Registry... .......4  DE Reg. 1110  (Prop.) 

4  DE Reg. 1556  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Office of the State Banking Commissioner

Regulation No. 5.2202(b).0007, Exemption of Licensed Lenders ................................ .......4  DE Reg. 1648  (Prop.)
Regulation No. 5.761.0017, Incidental Powers ............................................................. .......4  DE Reg. 1650  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Toll Exemption Policy ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   294  (Prop.)
Traffic Calming Manual ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   105  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   528  (Final)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Appointments & Nominations............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   233 

4  DE Reg.   367
4  DE Reg.   580
4  DE Reg.   716
4  DE Reg.   868
4  DE Reg. 1041
4  DE Reg. 1192
4  DE Reg. 1316
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Executive Order No. 79, Relating to Community-based Alternatives
for Individuals with Disablities....................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   231 

Executive Order No. 80, Establishing the Council on Deaf and Hard
of Hearing Equality and other Related Matters.............................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   365

Executive Order No. 81, Relating to Statistical Analysis Center.......................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1040
Executive Order No. 82, Recycling....................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   866 
Executive Order No. 83, Relating to Equal Employment Opportunities............................... .......4  DE Reg. 1191
Executive Order No. 84, Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume

Cap for Calendar Year 2000............................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg. 1307
Executive Order No. 1, Relating to the Appointment of Cabinet Officials........................... .......4  DE Reg. 1307
Executive Order No. 2, Relating to the Creation of the Governor’s Information

Services Task Force ...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1308
Executive Order No. 3, Relating to the Creation of the Strategic Economic Council........... .......4  DE Reg. 1309
Executive Order No. 4, Relating to theJudicial Nominating Commission............................ .......4  DE Reg. 1310
Executive Order No. 5, Relating to DEFAC.......................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1312
Executive Order No. 6, Relating to the Creation of the Governor’s Foster Care Task Force.......4  DE Reg. 1313
Executive Order No. 7, Relating to the Department of Children, Youth and Their

 Families and at-risk Kids............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg. 1313
Executive Order No. 8, Relating to Ethics Requirements for Executive Branch Officials... .......4  DE Reg. 1314
Executive Order No. 9, Relating to the Electronic Government Steering Committee.......... .......4  DE Reg. 1316 
Executive Order No. 10, Prohibiting Discrimination in State Employment.......................... .......4  DE Reg. 1562
Executive Order No. 11, Violence Against Women Act Implementation Committee........... .......4  DE Reg. 1565
Executive Order No. 12, Amending Paragraph 2(q) of Executive Order No. 3, Relating

to the Creation of the Strategic Economic Council, Issued on January 5, 2001............. .......4  DE Reg. 1566
Executive Order No. 13, Ensuring that Persons Who Have Committed Felonies

Surrender Their Firearms................................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg. 1566 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Proposed Regulations Concerning Water Utilities Including the Commission’s

Jurisdiction to Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience and
Necessity Subject to the Jurisdiction of the PSC............................................................ .......4  DE Reg. 1230  (Prop.)

Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services...................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   516  (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 1902(a) (7 Del.C. §1902(a))

Adoption of an Emergency Amendment to Tidal Finfish 
Regulation No. 4, without notice of hearing, to reduce 

recreational landings of summer flounder in 2001.

Order No. 2001-F-0015

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119, The Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control is adopting an
amendment to Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4, SUMMER
FLOUNDER SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
SEASONS without prior notice or public hearing to further
reduce the recreational summer flounder landings in 2001.  7
Del.C. §903 authorizes the Department to adopt regulations
concerning species of finfish that spend part or all of their
life cycle within the tidal waters of this State; provided, that
such regulations are consistent with interstate fishery
management plans developed for the protection and
conservation of said finfish.  

REASON FOR EMERGENCY ORDER

The summer flounder fisheries are managed
cooperatively by the states, through the Atlantic States
Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC), and the federal

government, through the Mid Atlantic Fishery Management
Council (MAFMC), and the National Marine Fisheries
Service (NMFS).  The states, operating through the
ASMFC’s Management Board are required to develop and
implement measures that can reasonably be expected to
constrain their fisheries to their respective share of the
coastwide total allowable landings (TAL).

According to the Summer Flounder Fisheries
Management Plan (FMP), 40% of the TAL is dedicated to
recreational fishing and 60% to commercial fishing.  The
commercial fishery is closed when it reaches its annual
allotted share and consequently, the commercial fishery has
not been overfished.  On the other hand, the recreational
fishery is regulated by size, creel and seasons to control the
effort but to no avail.  The recreational TAL has been greatly
exceeded.  The recreational summer flounder landings are
determined by the Marine Recreational Fisheries Statistics
Survey conducted by the NMFS.  From 1996 to 1999, the
recreational fishery for summer flounder significantly
exceeded its target by 33%, 60%, 67% and 13%.  In 1999 it
decreased greatly from the previous three years but in 2000 it
increased by more than 100%.

In order to comply with a Court Order (NRDC et.al.,v
Daley) issued by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of
Columbia on April 25, 2000, NMFS implemented an
emergency rule on August 12, 2000, temporarily amending
the summer flounder FMP and its implementing regulations
and established a TAL of 17.91 million pounds for 2001.
The Court Order required the 2001 TAL be set at a level that
will achieve, with at least a 50 percent probability, the
biomass level that would have been achieved at the end of
2001 if the fishing mortality target had been met in 2001.
This biomass level is 148.8 million pounds.

The ASMFC, not bound by the Court Order, expanded

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the emergency regulation being promulgated.  Italic type  indicates new
text.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119, if an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires
the adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C. §10115, then the following
rules shall apply:  (1)  The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and
hearing that it finds practicable;  (2)  The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state in writing the reasons
for the agency’s determination that such emergency action is necessary;  (3)  the order effecting such action may be effective
for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed once for a period not exceeding 60 days;  (4)  When such an order
is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or authorized by Chapter 101 of Title 29, the agency shall
state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration
or revision thereof; and  (5)  The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next
issue of the Register of Regulations.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/FW/FW.htm
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the TAL to 20.5 million pounds in January, 2001, based on
the latest stock assessment information.  Under the
ASMFC’s TAL, Delaware adopted appropriate regulations
(Order No. 2001-F-0007) on March 10, 2001, that would
reduce recreational landings by 40% relative to average
1998–2000 landings necessary to achieve the 2001
recreational harvest limit. The NMFS argued the EEZ would
have to be closed to all summer flounder fishing to account
for the 2.59 million pounds difference in TAL’s to meet the
requirements of the Court Order.  On April 3, 2001, the
ASMFC agreed to lower its TAL to 17.91 million pounds to
avoid a closure in the EEZ.  Consequently, Delaware’s
required reduction in the recreational summer flounder
fishery for 2001 increased from 40% to 48%.  The ASMFC
also decided that any closure in the recreational fishery must
be no less than seven consecutive days; in effect, ruling out
Delaware’s current two day a week closure.

In order to meet the required reduction in recreational
landings of summer flounder, amendments to Tidal Finfish
Regulation No. 4 are necessary at this time to increase the
minimum size limit to 17 inches, decrease the creel limit to 5
fish per day and implement an open season for 102
consecutive days.  Other options with varying size limits,
creel limits and seasons to reduce landings 48% were
considered.  Most public opinions at previous public
hearings on summer flounder expressed a preference for the
smallest size limit, a creel limit no less than 4 and no closure
in the summer.  The 102 day season should open on May 26
(prior to Memorial Day) and end on September 4 (after
Labor Day) to avoid any closure in the summer.

The summer flounder is over fished according to the
definition of overfishing in the FMP.  Accordingly, the
Department has determined an imminent peril to the
recreational summer flounder fishery if the stock of summer
flounder continues to be overfished.  Amendments to Tidal
Finfish Regulation No.4 are necessary at this time to reduce
the recreational landings of summer flounder in 2001 by
48% relative to the average 1998-2000 landings necessary to
achieve the 2001 recreational harvest limit.  Failure to do so
immediately could result in a complete closure of the
summer flounder fishery in Delaware according to the
Atlantic Coastal Fishing Cooperative Management Act.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

This order shall take effect at 12:01 AM on April 12,
2001 and shall remain in effect for 120 days.

PETITIONS FOR RECOMMENDATIONS

The Department will receive, consider and respond to
petitions by any interested person for recommendations or
revision of this Order.  Petitions should be presented to the
Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings

Highway, Dover, DE 19901.  

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, the 6th day of April, 2001, that the
above referenced amendment to Tidal Finfish Regulation
No.4, a copy of which is hereby attached, is adopted
pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10119 and supported by the evidence
attached hereto.

It is further ordered, the Department shall receive public
testimony and evidence at a public hearing on May 1, 2001
to consider appropriate remedies to manage the summer
flounder recreational fishery consistent with the Summer
Flounder Fishery Management Plan approved by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.

Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Secretary, Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control.

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT TO:

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION 4. SUMMER
FLOUNDER SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS.

a) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
or any commercial hook and line fisherman to take and
reduce to possession or to land any summer flounder at any
time on each Monday and Tuesday during the period
beginning at 12:01 AM on January 1 and ending at midnight
on June 30 and at any time on each Monday during the
period beginning at 12:01 AM on July 1 and ending at
midnight on August 25 and at any time on each Monday and
Tuesday during the period beginning at 12:01 AM on August
26 and ending at midnight on December 31.  during the
period beginning at 12:01 AM on January 1 and continuing
through midnight on May 25 and during the period
beginning at 12:01 AM on September 5 and continuing
through midnight on December 31.

b) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to have in possession more than seven (7) five (5) summer
flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder
were caught and said recreational fisherman’s personal
abode or temporary or transient place of lodging.

c) It shall be unlawful for any person, other than
qualified persons as set forth in paragraph (f) of this
regulation, to possess any summer flounder that measure less
than sixteen (16) seventeen (17) inches between the tip of the
snout and the furthest tip of the tail.

d) It shall be unlawful for any person, while on board
a vessel, to have in possession any part of a summer flounder
that measures less than sixteen (16) seventeen (17) inches
between said part’s two most distant points unless said



EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 11, TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2001

1686

person also has in possession the head, backbone and tail
intact from which said part was removed.

e) Is omitted intentionally.
f) Notwithstanding the size limits and possession

limits in this regulation, a person may possess a summer
flounder that measures no less than fourteen (14) inches
between the tip of the snout and the furthest tip of the tail and
a quantity of summer flounder in excess of the possession
limit set forth in this regulation, provided said person has
one of the following:

1) A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the
date said summer flounder were received, the amount of said
summer flounder received and the name, address and
signature of the person who had landed said summer
flounder;

2) A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish
dealer who obtained said summer flounder; or

3) A bill of lading while transporting fresh or
frozen summer flounder.

g) Is omitted intentionally.
h) It shall be unlawful for any commercial

finfisherman to sell, trade and or barter or attempt to sell,
trade and or barter any summer flounder or part thereof that
is landed in this State by said commercial fisherman after a
date when the de minimis amount of commercial landings of
summer flounder is determined to have been landed in this
State by the Department.  The de minimis amount of summer
flounder shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota
as set forth in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management
Plan approved by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission. 

i) It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than
200 pounds of summer flounder in any one day in this State.

j) It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been
issued a commercial foodfishing license and fishes for
summer flounder with any food fishing equipment other than
a gill net, to have in possession more than seven (7) five (5)
summer flounder at or between the place where said summer
flounder were caught and said persons personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging.
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DELAWARE SOLID WASTE 
AUTHORITY

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Section 6403 (7 Del.C. §6403)

I.  Nature of Proceedings.
Pursuant to 7 Del.C. §6403, the Delaware Solid Waste

Authority (DSWA) proposes to amend the Regulations of
the Delaware Solid Waste Authority (hereafter DSWA
Regulations), adopted March, 1999; to revise its Differential
Disposal Fee Program (hereafter DDFP); and to revise the
Statewide Solid Waste Management Plan (hereafter
Statewide Plan).

The DSWA Regulations are currently in effect and
address the collection of solid waste in the State of
Delaware; the licensing of persons who collect or transport
solid waste; the use of DSWA facilities; recycling; transfer
stations; and review, enforcement and sanctions. The
revisions to the DSWA Regulations encompass, among
other things, modifications to some of the definitions;
clarification regarding equipment and equipment backup
capability of licensees; the content of licenses; reporting
requirements of licensees; disposal of solid waste under the
control of state governmental entities; designation of certain
waste as "special waste" that requires a particular procedure
for disposal; deletion of provisions regarding certain solid
waste products; and amended reporting requirements for the
operators of recycling facilities. The authority for the DSWA
Regulations is contained in 7 Del.C. Ch. 64, most notably
Section 6403. The authority to regulate solid waste under the
control of state governmental entities is derived in part
pursuant to 7 Del.C. §§6406, 6420, and 6422. Currently,

regulatory control proposed in the revisions is accomplished
by separate contracts with certain state governmental
entities, including municipalities. The revisions contemplate
that certain waste under the control of state governmental
entities be disposed of at DSWA facilities. In such case, the
DDFP would apply, and fee reductions or rebates would be
applicable. The issues addressed in the revisions to the
DSWA Regulations relate to better management and control
of solid waste disposal in the State. No other regulations are
impacted or affected by the proposal although there is an
obvious interrelatedness to the revisions to the DSWA
Regulations, the DDFP and the Statewide Plan.

The DDFP is established pursuant to 7 Del.C. §6403(k).
The current DDFP fixes a base rate for the disposal of solid
waste and establishes a rebate program for persons or entities
who enter a contract with DSWA to bring all their solid
waste to DSWA facilities. The revisions to the DDFP do not
change the base rate, but do increase the amount of the
rebate in certain respects and establish a new and lower rate
for the disposal of dry waste (defined in the DSWA
Regulations) delivered to designated facilities. The revisions
also contemplate the adjustment of the rates, within a
specified range, on 30 days notice to the public. Such
adjusted rates would not affect rates established by contract
with DSWA, in effect at the time of the adjustment, unless
the rate adjustment would result in a lower rate than
provided for by contract, in which case the lower rate would
prevail. The issues addressed by the revisions to the DDFP
include the implementation of a fair and equitable system for
allocating the costs of DSWA operations while assuring the
protection of environmental resources of the State. The
revisions to the DDFP do not impact other regulations,
although there is an obvious interrelatedness between it and

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.

Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nat ure
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.
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the DSWA Regulations and the Statewide Plan.
The authority for the adoption of the Statewide Plan,

and its amendment, is contained at 7 Del.C. §64030). The
current Statewide Plan explains certain background
information related to the Plan; describes current DSWA
facilities and programs; discusses projects of the DSWA;
addresses future directions; presents an options analysis;
considers facility siting and health and environmental issues;
and recommends certain plan initiatives. The revisions to the
Statewide Plan update the information in the current
Statewide Plan, in terms of project implementation and the
identification of future projects, and explains the need for
flexibility to structure a program which best meets the needs
of the State and protects the public health and environment.
The revisions also identify management options to include
the construction, acquisition and/or operation of transfer
stations/recycling centers/dry waste disposal facilities to
serve the resort areas of Sussex County, the greater Milford
area, the greater Dover area, and the greater Newark area.
Revisions also identify the establishment of a differential
pricing arrangement for the disposal of dry waste. The
revisions explain how the options may be implemented. The
issues addressed by the revisions to the Statewide Plan relate
to the short-term and long-range planning connected to
disposal of solid waste in the State. The revisions do not
affect other regulations, though they are related to the
DSWA Regulations and the DDFP.

II.  Public Hearing/Comment.
A Public Hearing on the above proposals will be held on

Thursday, May 24, 2001 at 10:00 A.M., at the Delaware
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (Auditorium), 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.
The DSWA will receive and consider oral or written input
provided at the hearing. DSWA will also accept and consider
any written materials submitted to it at DSWA, attn: Thomas
Houska, Delaware Solid Waste Authority, 1128 South
Bradford Street, Dover, Delaware. Such written materials
must be received by DSWA no later than 4:30 P.M., June 1,
2001. The entire text of the DSWA Regulations and the
DDFP are printed herein following this notice. The revision
to the Statewide Plan is solely in the form of a supplement
and such supplement is printed in its entirety below. The
complete Statewide Plan is approximately 300 pages long,
and may be reviewed at the above DSWA address.

Proposed amendments to the Regulations of Delaware 
Solid Waste Authority
(adopted March, 1999)

DRAFT DATE  April 11, 2001

I.  PURPOSE AND AUTHORIZATION
These Regulations * are adopted pursuant to the Act to

achieve the goals set forth therein.

II.  DEFINITIONS
"Act" means the Delaware Solid Waste Authority Act,

7 Del.C. Ch. 64.
"CEO" means Chief Executive Officer and Manager of

DSWA.
"Chairman" means the Director designated by the

Governor as chairman of DSWA in accordance with 7
Del.C. Section 6403(a).

"Department" means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control of the State of
Delaware.

"Directors" means the directors of DSWA holding
office in accordance with 7 Del.C. Section 6403.

"Dry Waste" means wastes including, but not limited
to construction and demolition waste not mixed with waste
that is other than dry waste, plastics, rubber, lumber, trees,
stumps, vegetative matter, asphalt pavement, asphaltic
products incidental to construction/demolition debris, or
other materials which have reduced potential for
environmental degradation and leachate production.

"DSWA" means the Delaware Solid Waste Authority,
an instrumentality of the State of Delaware, existing
pursuant to the Act.

"Hazardous Waste" means a solid waste, or
combination of solid wastes, which because of its quantity,
concentration, or physical, or chemical or infectious
characteristics may cause or significantly contribute to an
increase in mortality or an increase in serious irreversible, or
incapacitating irreversible illness, or poses a substantial
present or potential hazard to human health or the
environment when improperly treated, stored, transported or
disposed of, or otherwise managed. Without limitation,
included within this definition are those hazardous wastes
listed described in Sections 261.31, 261.32 and 261.33 of the
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste. and
those solid wastes which otherwise exhibit the
characteristics of a hazardous waste as defined in Part 261 of
the Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

"Industrial Process Solid Waste" means solid waste
produced by or resulting from industrial applications,
processes or operations and includes, by way of example and
not by way of limitation, sludges of chemical processes,
waste treatment plants, water supply treatment plants, and air
pollution control facilities and incinerator residues, but does
not include the solid waste generated at an industrial facility
which is comparable to municipal solid waste, such as
cafeteria waste, cardboard, paper and pallets, crates or other
containers constructed of and containing non-hazardous
combustible material.

* The Department also has promulgated regulations
pertaining to solid waste disposal.

"Junkyard" means an establishment or place of
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business which is maintained, operated or used for storing,
keeping, buying or selling junk or wrecked, scrapped, ruined
or dismantled motor vehicles or motor vehicle parts.

"Licensee" means a person holding a license issued by
DSWA pursuant to Article III of these Regulations.

"Municipality" means a county, city, town or other
public body of the State of Delaware.

"Permit" means the stickers which DSWA issues
under the License identifying the Licensee's account number
and a vehicle number, which shall be affixed to both sides of
the vehicle.

"Person" means any individual, partnership,
corporation, association, institution, cooperative enterprise,
municipality, commission, political subdivision, or other
duly established legal entity.

"Solid Waste" means any garbage, refuse, sludge from
a waste treatment plant, water supply treatment plant or
water air pollution control facility and other discarded
material, including solid, liquid, semi-solid or contained
gaseous material, resulting from industrial, commercial,
mining and agricultural operations, and from community
activities, but does not include solid or dissolved material in
domestic sewage, or solid or dissolved materials in irrigation
return flows or industrial discharges which are point sources
subject to permits under Section 402 of the Federa1 Water
Pollution Control Act, 7 Del. Code, Chapter 60 as  amended,
or source, special nuclear, or by-product materials defined
by the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, or materials
separated on-site by the generator thereof for further use,
service or value.

"DSWA Solid Waste Facility" means any landfill,
recycling project, including waste to energy projects,
collection station, transfer station, or other solid waste
processing or disposal facility of project operated by, on
behalf of, or under contract with DSWA. means any solid
waste disposal site, system or process and the operation
thereof, including but not limited to personnel, equipment
and buildings. Such facility includes any landfill, recycling
project, including waste to energy projects, collection
station, transfer station, or other solid waste processing or
disposal facility for projects operated by, on behalf of, or
under contract with DSWA.

"Special Solid Wastes" means those waste that require
extraordinary management. They include but are not limited
to abandoned automobiles, white goods, used tires, waste oil,
sludges, dead animals, agricultural and industrial wastes,
infectious waste, municipal ash, septic tank pumpings, and
sewage residues.

“Toxic Substance” means any chemical substance or
mixture that may present an unreasonable risk of injury to
health or the environment.

"Transfer Station" means any facility where quantities
of solid waste delivered by vehicle are consolidated or
aggregated for subsequent transfer by vehicle for processing,

recycling or disposal.

III.  COLLECTION AND LICENSING

3.01  No person shall collect, transport, and/or deliver solid
waste in the State of Delaware without first having obtained
a license from DSWA, provided, however, that:

a.  persons transporting and delivering solid waste that
they created on their premises resulting from their activities
shall not be required to obtain a license therefore; and

b.  persons collecting, transporting and/or delivering
solid waste in the course of their employment by a person
holding a license from DSWA shall not be required to
obtain a license therefore; and

c.  a license shall not be required for the collection,
transportation, or delivery exclusively of dry waste, leaves,
street and storm sewer cleaning materials, agricultural
wastes or those materials identified in paragraph 4.02 (a) -
(e) of these Regulations.

3.02  With respect to solid waste delivered to a DSWA Solid
Waste Facility, the CEO, based upon a determination of
threat to public health or welfare or other emergency, may
designate a specific Solid Waste Facility for use disposal of
such waste.

3.03 
a.  Each Licensee shall clearly display on both sides of

the vehicle:
i.  the license permit  stickers provided by DSWA

which is the property of DSWA and subject to cancellation,
suspension and/or revocation. The license permit  stickers
shall be legible at all times and shall be placed in an area of
high visibility to allow immediate identification by DSWA
Weighmasters and Compliance Officers. License permit
stickers shall be not be placed on fuel or hydraulic tanks or
reservoirs, or areas where the operation of mechanical parts
would impair the visibility of the permit stickers;

ii.  the Licensee's business name with letters at least
three (3) inches high and of a color that contrasts with the
color of the vehicle. No name other than the Licensee's
business name shall be displayed. A regularly used business
logo may also be displayed.

b.  Licensees shall maintain business offices and phone
numbers as follows:

i.  Licensees who collect on a yearly average 100
tons per month or more:

(a)  each Licensee shall maintain a manned
business office location or locations and designate a
representative in responsible charge thereof;

(b)  each Licensee shall provide his business
office street address in addition to a Post Office Box;

(c)  telephone coverage with a Delaware
telephone number listed in the appropriate Delaware
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Telephone Directory in the business name of the Licensee
shall be maintained by a responsible and authorized person
at the main office during normal business hours. Licensees
with main offices located outside of the State of Delaware
may utilize a call forwarding service so that a Delaware
telephone number may be dialed to reach an out-of-state
office. An answering machine shall not satisfy this; and 

(d)  notification regarding any change of
business location or telephone number shall be provided to
DSWA in writing at least fifteen (15) days prior to such
change.

ii.  Licensees who collect on a yearly average less
than 100 tons per month:

(a)  each Licensee shall provide a street address
in addition to a Post Office Box for the business office or
dwelling that is able to receive  correspondence. A Post
Office Box shall not satisfy this requirement;

(b)  telephone coverage with a Delaware
telephone number listed in the appropriate Delaware
Telephone Directory in the business name of the Licensee
shall be maintained by the Licensee during normal business
hours. Licensees with main offices located outside of the
State of Delaware may utilize a call forwarding service so
that a Delaware telephone number may be dialed to reach an
out-of-state office. An answering service may be utilized. An
answering machine shall not satisfy this requirement; and

(c)  notification regarding any change of
business location or telephone number shall be provided to
DSWA in writing at least fifteen (15) days prior to such
change.

3.04 
a.  Each Licensee shall maintain insurance at the

following minimum amounts:
i.  Automobile liability: $350,000 combined bodily

injury and property damage per occurrence;
ii.  General liability: bodily injury $300,000 per

occurrence; property damage: $100,000 per occurrence; and
iii.  Workman's Compensation as required by law.

b.  Each Licensee shall provide to DSWA new
certification of the coverages specified in subsection 3.04(a)
including a certification within ten (10) days of renewal.
Each such certification of insurance shall provide that
DSWA receive at least thirty (30) days advance notice of any
canceled, discontinued, or diminished coverage.

3.05 Each Licensee shall maintain collection vehicles to
comply with the following minimum requirements:

a.  Each collection vehicle body shall be maintained to
prevent fluids from discharging onto the surface of the
ground.

b.  Each collection vehicle body shall be capable of
being readily emptied.

c.  Each collection vehicle shall be kept in as much of a

sanitary condition as to control the presence of vectors.
d.  Containers, boxes, and other devices, excluding open

top trailers, referred to as roll-offs, used by Licensees for
collection of solid waste in excess of thirty (30) gallon
capacity shall be enclosed or covered to reduce fluid leakage
or collection of water.

e.  Each collection vehicle shall be equipped so that it
can be readily towed, and maintained in good operational
condition for safe and stable operation and/or navigation in
or about a Solid Waste Facility.

f.  Each collection vehicle used or proposed for use by
an applicant or Licensee and the contents of any collection
vehicle shall be subject at all times to inspection by DSWA.

g.  All roll-off containers used for collecting,
transporting and delivering of solid waste generated within
the State of Delaware shall display stickers issued by DSWA
near the bottom and front of both sides of each roll-off. Solid
waste described in Section 4.03 shall be exempt from this
requirement. 

3.06  Each Licensee shall comply with the following
requirements while collecting, transporting and/or delivering
solid waste.

a.  Solid waste shall not be processed, scavenged,
modified, or altered unless in compliance with applicable
laws and regulations.

b.  Solid waste in collection vehicles and/or containers
shall be suitably enclosed or covered to prevent littering or
spillage of solid waste or fluids.

c.  Solid waste shall not be stored in a collection vehicle
for more than twenty-four (24) hours unless the solid waste
is being delivered to a Solid Waste Facility and the facility is
closed for the entire day when the twenty four hour period
expires, in which case the collection vehicle may discharge
the solid waste at the facility on the next day that the facility
is open.

d.  Any spillage of solid waste shall be immediately
cleaned up and removed.

e.  No undue disturbance shall be caused in residential
areas as a result of collection operations.

3.07  All collection vehicles shall be owned in the name of
the Licensee or leased in the name of the Licensee. Upon
submission of an application for a first time license, each
applicant shall provide a copy of a valid motor vehicle
registration card for each collection vehicle. If the collection
vehicle is not owned by the applicant, a copy of a written
motor vehicle lease agreement shall also be submitted with
the application.

3.08  Each Licensee shall provide and continuously maintain
backup capability to allow for continued collection,
transportation, and/or delivery of solid waste in the event of
equipment breakdown. As a minimum each Licensee, except
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for municipalities with a written agreement with a licensed
collector another municipality for such backup, shall own
and/or lease, in the name of the licensee, at least two fully
and continuously operational collection vehicles of like
service, except for down time for routine maintenance

3.09 Only enclosed vehicles or vehicles capable of being
enclosed or covered to prevent any compactor type vehicles
or “roll-offs” with a cover sufficient to prevent any spillage
of, loss or littering of solid waste shall be used by Licensees
for collection, transportation, or delivery of solid waste,
except for vehicles utilized only to collect, transport or
deliver the solid wastes referenced in Section 4.02 (a-e) and
Section 4.03, infra, or oversized bulky waste, such as
couches and refrigerators. Such vehicles used for oversized
bulky waste shall not satisfy part or all of the Section 3.08
requirement that each Licensee own and/or lease at least two
fully and continuously operational vehicles. An exception to
the requirements of the first sentence of this section may be
authorized by the CEO or his designee in circumstances
where it is physically impossible to provide solid waste
collection services with such vehicles.

3.10 
a.  With the exception of any municipality, each

applicant for a license and each Licensee shall provide to
DSWA and maintain a bond under which the Licensee shall
be jointly and severally bound with a corporate surety
qualified to act in the Courts of Delaware to DSWA for
amounts due to DSWA for fees or charges for services. A
Bond or Surety is not required if the licensee pays at the time
of solid waste delivery.

b.  In lieu of corporate surety, the applicant or Licensee
may provide security for its bond by depositing with DSWA,
one of the following in an amount at least equal to the
amount of the bond:

i.  United States Treasury bonds, United States
Treasury notes, United States Treasury certificates of
indebtedness, or United States Treasury bills; or

ii.  bonds or notes of the State of Delaware; or
iii.  bonds of any political subdivision of the State

of Delaware; or
iv.  certificates of deposit or irrevocable letters of

credit from any state or national bank located within the
United States; or

v.  United States currency, or check for certified
funds from any state or national bank located within the
United States.

c.  The amount of the bond specified in paragraph 3.10
(a) shall be based upon the total solid waste tonnage charged
by the Licensee at a DSWA Solid Waste Facility during for
the month of November immediately preceding the license
year for which the license is issued in accordance with the
following schedule:

If the Licensee has expanded or acquired its business
since the preceding November, then the total tonnage for
November and Bond amount will be adjusted to account for
such increase. By reference to the accounts, business, or
assets acquired, an estimate will be made of what the charges
in November would have been if the Licensee had been
operating the newly acquired accounts, business, or assets at
that time.

3.11  Any person desiring to collect, transport, and/or deliver
solid waste in the State of Delaware shall submit a
completed application for license to DSWA on forms
provided by DSWA substantially in the form set forth in
Appendix Attachment "A" of these Regulations. DSWA
shall approve or deny license applications within thirty (30)
days of receipt of a completed application.

3.12  DSWA may require information to supplement that
requested in Appendix Attachment "A" in reviewing license
applications.

3.13  The license period shall be July 1 to June 30 annually.
Applications for license renewal shall be submitted to
DSWA at least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date.

3.14  Before any additional collection vehicle or substitute
collection vehicle is utilized for the collection,
transportation, and/or delivery of solid waste, the Licensee
shall submit to DSWA the following:

a.  The name, address and telephone number of the
owner of the vehicle.

b.  The state motor vehicle registration number.
c.  A description of chassis by year and manufacturer.
d.  A description of the body by year and manufacturer.
e.  The legal weight limit of the vehicle.
f.  The volume of the body of the vehicle in cubic yards.
g.  Evidence of the insurance coverage required by this

Article.

"TONNAGE CHARGED
FOR PRIOR
NOVEMBER"

AMOUNT OF BOND

Less than or equal to 750
tons

(minimum) $5,000

Greater than 750 tons but
less than or equal to 1,500
tons

$25,000

Greater than 1,500 tons $50,000

Each additional 1000 tons
over 1,500 tons 

$5,000
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3.15  Each license shall contain the following:
a.  Owners Name and/or trading name.
b.  Physical and/or mailing addresses.
b. A listing of all collection vehicles under the license.
c.  License period.
c. The location or locations for delivery of solid waste

for each collection vehicle.
d.  Authorized signature.
e. d.  Special license conditions regarding collection,

transportation, and/or delivery of solid waste, as specified by
DSWA.

3.16  Each license and/or collection vehicle may be
transferred subject to prior approval of DSWA. Except for a
municipality with a written agreement with a licensed
collector  another municipality for backup capacity, no
person shall be entitled to collect, transport and/or deliver
solid waste under another person's license.

3.17  Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in
these Regulations, a Licensee may operate a replacement
vehicle on a temporary basis for a period of fifteen (15) days;
provided further, that the licensee shall provide DSWA an
original signed letter on company letterhead providing the
information listed in Section 3.14 of these Regulations. An
original letter must be submitted for each day of operation
until DSWA license permits stickers are properly displayed
on the vehicle or the vehicle is removed from temporary
service. Letters must be taken to the weighstation of the
DSWA Solid Waste Facility.

3.18  No license shall be issued to any person who:
a.  has an account with DSWA that is past due in

accordance with DSWA policies or
b.  is obligated to file a report in accordance with

Section 8.02 of these Regulations and has not done so for the
immediately preceding calendar year.

3.19  Any person who first collects, transports, and/or
delivers solid waste within the State of Delaware, without
leaving first obtained a license under this Article, shall not
be issued a license under this Article, until the expiration of
one hundred twenty (120) days after the last day on which
such collection, transportation and delivery without a license
occurred, as determined by the CEO, or his designee.

3.20  Any Licensee who does not maintain his principal
place of business in Delaware shall designate an agent, by
name and street address (box number not acceptable), for
service of process within Delaware. The agent shall be either
an individual resident in Delaware or a corporation
authorized under Title 8 of the Delaware Code to transact
business in Delaware.

3.21  Before a license application is approved or denied,
DSWA shall determine whether the applicant is able and
reasonably certain to comply with these Regulations. Such
determination may take into account any relevant factors
including, but not limited to, the prior conduct of the
applicant or any person, as defined herein, who is employed
by or is otherwise associated with the applicant and may
significantly affect the applicant's performance as it is
related to the licensed activities. If the application is denied,
the determination shall be reduced to writing and include the
rationale for denial. Any person denied a license shall be
entitled to request a hearing on such determination before the
Directors of DSWA in accordance with paragraph 11.01(b)
hereof.

3.22  No license shall be issued to any person who:
a.  holds or has held a license from DSWA which has

been revoked;
b.  holds or has held a license from DSWA which has

been suspended, for such period as the license is suspended.
c.  holds or has held an interest in any Licensee whose

license from DSWA has been revoked;
d.  holds or has held an interest in any Licensee whose

license from DSWA has been suspended, for such period as
the license is suspended.

e.  owns, in whole or in part, solid waste operating
assets, including vehicles and routes, which were acquired
from a Licensee whose license from DSWA was revoked or
suspended and who acquired such assets from such Licensee
for less than fair market value. Applicants for a license may
be required to produce records and other information to
demonstrate that they comply with this paragraph before a
license will be issued.

3.23  A Licensee shall give written notice to DSWA at least
seven (7) days in advance of any of the following:

a.  sale or conveyance of a significant portion of its
assets;

b.  sale or conveyance of a significant portion of the
equity interest (e.g. stock) held in it;

c.  purchase or other acquisition of a significant portion
of the assets of another Licensee;

d.  purchase or other acquisition of a significant portion
of the equity interest in another Licensee. For purposes of
this paragraph, a significant portion shall mean one-half.
Fragmentation of a transfer into smaller portions shall not be
used to avoid the  requirements of this paragraph.

3.24  Each Licensee shall submit a report for the preceding
calendar year on February 1 of each year to DSWA stating,
with respect to any waste collected in the State of Delaware
and disposed of in the State of Delaware at a location other
than a DSWA Solid Waste Facility, the quantities and types
of waste disposed of, the names and address of the facility
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where it was disposed of, and any other information required
on a form to be supplied by DSWA (See Attachment C).

IV. USE OF DSWA SOLID WASTE FACILITIES

4.01
a. 

i.  All solid waste generated within the State of
Delaware shall be delivered to and disposed of at a Solid
Waste Facility or some other duly licensed or permitted
facility.

ii.  The owners and occupants of all lands,
buildings, and premises located within the State of
Delaware, and all of those acting for them or under contract
with them, shall use only Solid Waste Facilities or other duly
licensed or permitted facilities for the disposal of solid waste
generated within the State of Delaware. 

b. Subject to the provisions of Section 3.02 and 3.18 of
these Regulations, solid waste generated within the State of
Delaware shall be delivered to a Solid Waste Facility or
other duly licensed or permitted facility. 

b.  Persons delivering solid waste to a Solid Waste
Facility shall pay to DSWA the applicable fees and user
charges.

a.  Except as provided in Section 4.0l,b, Section 4.02,
Section 4.03, or as provided by contract, all solid waste
generated within the State of Delaware shall be delivered to
and disposed of at a DSWA Solid Waste Facility or some
other duly licensed or permitted facility. Whoever disposes
of such waste at a facility which is not a DSWA Solid Waste
Facility shall submit a report for the preceding calendar year
on February 1 of each year to DSWA stating the generators)
of the waste, type and quantity of material disposed and the
name of the facility and its address at which the waste was
disposed.

b.  Except as provided in Section 4.02, all solid waste
and dry waste that is generated by a municipality (defined to
include any county, city, town or other public body of the
State of Delaware, such as State agencies, instrumentalities,
school boards, and publicly supported institutions of higher
learning) shall be disposed of at a DSWA Solid Waste
Facility. All solid waste and dry waste that is collected or
transported by a municipality or pursuant to a contract or
other agreement with a municipality shall be disposed of at a
DSWA Solid Waste Facility. Any such contract or other
agreement between a municipality and any person shall so
provide, and indicate that DSWA is an intended third party
beneficiary of such contract or agreement.

c.  Persons delivering solid waste to a DSWA Solid
Waste Facility shall pay to DSWA the applicable fees, user
fees, or contract fees. If different types of waste are
commingled, the applicable fee shall be based on the type of
waste in the commingled waste which has the highest fee.

4.02  The following solid wastes shall not be delivered to a
DSWA Solid Waste Facility:

a.  Hazardous wastes
b.  Explosives
c.  Toxic substances
d.  Pathological and infectious wastes
e.  Radioactive wastes
f.  Solid wastes, as determined by the CEO or his

designee, which will, because of their quantity, physical
properties, or chemical composition, have an adverse effect
on the DSWA Solid Waste Facility, or the operation of the
DSWA Solid Waste Facility, or if an effective means of risk
and cost allocation cannot be achieved.

g.  Wastes which are prohibited by the DSWA Solid
Waste Facility(s) DNREC permit.

4.03  The following solid waste may but is not required to be
delivered to a DSWA Solid Waste Facility for disposal, but
need not be, upon payment of the appropriate fee or user
charge, provided that delivery of such solid waste is not
otherwise proscribed by Section 4.02:

a.  Agricultural waste generated on a farm.
b.  Dry waste, unless such delivery is required by

contract in which case it must be delivered to a DSWA Solid
Waste Facility.

c.  Tires.
d.  Non-hazardous waste resulting from emergency

clean-up actions of the Department.
e.  Industrial process solid waste exempted by Section

5.03 (b).
f. Asbestos.
g.  White goods.

4.04  In the event that an invoice generated from the
charging of fees or user charges at a DSWA Solid Waste
Facility is not paid in accordance with DSWA credit policies
the license may be revoked and/or the right to use DSWA
Solid Waste Facilities may be denied to the user. Before the
license revocation and/or denial of use, the user shall may
have a hearing before the Directors of DSWA, and the user
shall be given at least ten (10) days notice of the hearing.
Otherwise, the procedure for the hearing shall be as set forth
in paragraph 11 10.01 (b) (ii)-(v) of these Regulations.

V.  INDUSTRIAL PROCESS SPECIAL SOLID WASTE

5.01
a.  Any person causing or allowing industrial process

special solid waste to be delivered to any DSWA Solid
Waste Facility for disposal shall obtain the approval of
DSWA prior to commencement of such disposal; provided
however, that where more than one person is involved in the
generation and delivery of a particular industrial process
special solid waste, approval of DSWA obtained by one
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person shall be sufficient.
b.  In the event that there are any risks or additional

costs involved in accepting any industrial process special
solid wastes, the CEO may impose an industrial process
special solid waste disposal surcharge to compensate DSWA
for such risks and additional costs, including administrative
expenses and overhead. The following factors shall be
considered in determining the amount of such industrial
process special solid waste surcharge:

i.  Quantity of waste to be disposed of;
ii.  Degree of risk associated with such disposal;
iii.  Additional handling, processing and disposal

costs;
iv. Additional administrative expenses and

overhead;
v. Additional environmental protection controls

including monitoring.
c.  The industrial process special solid waste surcharge

shall be set by the CEO, without notice and public hearing
thereon, and may be done on a case by case basis. 

5.02  Any person causing or allowing industrial process
special solid waste to be delivered to a DSWA Solid Waste
Facility operated by or on behalf of DSWA shall be deemed
to have agreed to indemnify and hold harmless DSWA from
any liability arising from disposal of such industrial process
special solid waste and to have agreed to reimburse DSWA
for any costs reasonably incurred to protect against or reduce
any risk resulting therefrom; provided, however, such
person, if such person has not caused or allowed the delivery
of a hazardous substance within the meaning of the
Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation
Liability Act (CERCLA), as amended, 42 USC Section
9601, et.seq., shall not be liable under this subsection to
DSWA for harm or damage caused by the negligence of
DSWA.

5.03  It shall be the responsibility of each generator of
industrial process special solid waste, in addition to the
person collecting, transporting and delivering it, to obtain the
approval of DSWA for disposal of industrial process special
solid waste at the DSWA Solid Waste Facility and to assure
that such waste is delivered to the DSWA Solid Waste
Facility of DSWA for disposal. Such solid waste shall be
exempted from the requirement of disposal not be disposed
in a DSWA Solid Waste Facility if:

a.  DSWA refuses to approve the disposal of such waste
at a DSWA Solid Waste Facility; or

b.  the generator of such waste determines or agrees to
have such waste disposed of at another properly licensed or
permitted facility;

c.  the solid waste is described in Section 4.02 of Article
IV.

5.04  Any person aggrieved by a determination of the CEO
or his designee, under this Article or subsection 4.02(f) of
Article IV, may seek review thereof by the Directors of
DSWA in accordance with Section 6427 (f) of the Act, and
Section 10.01 of these Regulations.

VI. OTHER SOLID WASTE PROJECTS RESERVED

6.01 No person shall finance, acquire, license, construct,
maintain, operate, or use a solid waste disposal, processing,
or recycling project in the State of Delaware that is neither
owned nor operated by, on behalf of, or at the request of
DSWA.

6.02 No person shall cause or assist in the financing,
acquiring, licensing, constructing, maintaining, or operating
of a solid waste disposal, processing or recycling facility in
the State of Delaware, that is neither owned nor operated by,
on behalf of, at the request of DSWA.

6.03 This Article VI shall not apply to:
a. Projects dedicated exclusively to the disposal of dry

waste, hazardous waste, agricultural waste, explosive, toxic
substances, radioactive waste, or tires;

b.  Projects used exclusively as transfer stations;
c.  Recycle centers for source separated materials, such

as aluminum cans;
d.  Junkyards;
e.  Projects dedicated exclusively to the disposal of

industrial process solid waste that are lawfully permitted for
the disposal of such industrial solid waste.

f.  Projects dedicated exclusively to the disposal of solid
waste generated outside the State of Delaware. 

VII.  OPERATING IN A DSWA SOLID WASTE
FACILITY

7.01  All vehicles entering a DSWA Solid Waste Facility to
dispose of solid waste shall proceed to the appropriate scale.
Each vehicle shall come to a full stop before driving onto the
scale, for weighing in or for weighing out. Quick stopping or
starting on the scales will not be permitted. All personnel
must remain in the vehicle unless directed by the
Weighmaster to come to the scale bouse window. After
weighing, the vehicle must not leave the scales until
authorized to do so by the Weighmaster and must proceed to
the area designated for disposal of the quantity and type of
waste that is carried in the vehicle.

7.02  After weighing and at the direction of the
Weighmaster, each vehicle shall proceed to the area
designated. Spotters at the landfill face or on the tipping
floor shall direct the vehicles to a dumping location. At small
load facilities, waste shall be disposed only in the containers
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that have been provided. The contents of each vehicle shall
be discharged as quickly as possible and the vehicle shall
leave as directed by the operating contractor. Clean-up is
allowed only at designated locations. No roll-off boxes will
be dropped anywhere in a DSWA Solid Waste Facility
without the express approval from a DSWA representative.

7.03  Each vehicle operator shall exercise caution, due care,
and safe procedures in all operations at the DSWA Solid
Waste Facility. The speed limit on the facility roads is 25
miles per hour except where a lower speed limit is indicated.
Vehicle drivers who disregard the posted speed limits on a
DSWA Solid Waste Facility may be denied access to any
DSWA Solid Waste Facility. Vehicle operators shall follow
directions from the DSWA or its representative. Or the
operating contractor in all cases of emergency.

7.04 No hand sorting, picking over, or scavenging of solid
waste will be permitted at any time, without specific DSWA
approval.

7.05  All vehicle operators and other personnel proceed onto
the landfill at their own risk. DSWA shall not be liable for
acts or omissions of its contractors, persons using a DSWA
Solid Waste Facility, or other third persons in or about a
DSWA Solid Waste Facility.

7.06  Persons under the age of 18 are not allowed to enter
any Solid Waste Facility in waste collection and disposal
vehicles.

7.07  No loitering will be permitted in any DSWA Solid
Waste Facility.

7.08  DSWA reserves the right to redirect vehicles to
alternate locations within the DSWA Solid Waste Facility, if
for any reason in the opinion of DSWA's representative, the
original location cannot handle the load or type of material.

7.09  There shall be no smoking in any DSWA Solid Waste
Facility except in areas where smoking is expressly
permitted.

7.10  The Directors of DSWA from time to time may adopt
and post other rules for DSWA Solid Waste Disposal
Facilities. It is the responsibility of Licensees and other
persons using DSWA Solid Waste Facilities to familiarize
themselves with and to obey such rules.

7.11  Any vehicle that is immobile and obstructing facility
operations shall be moved to a nonconflicting area by
DSWA representatives after notifying the Licensee's driver.
The Licensee's driver will be given reasonable time to
contact his office either through radio or telephone. If the

blocking vehicle poses a safety or fire hazard, it will be
removed immediately after giving notice to the driver.
Licensee shall also give written instructions to drivers on
proper procedures for towing.

7.12  To prevent material from falling off vehicles and to
minimize litter, all open vehicles, including but not limited
to pick-up trucks, entering a DSWA Solid Waste Facility to
dispose solid waste shall be sufficiently secured through the
use of tarpaulins or ropes or netting or enclosures sufficient
to prevent the material from falling off the vehicles.

7.13  
a.  DSWA shall have the right to require unloading of

the contents of the vehicle hauling solid waste to any area on
a DSWA Solid Waste Facility for the purpose of inspection.

b.  If any prohibited wastes, hazardous wastes,
explosives, toxic substance, pathological and infectious
wastes, radioactive wastes are found, then the person
delivering such waste to a DSWA Solid Waste Facility shall
be subject to the sanctions that may be imposed under
Section 10.02  11.02 for violation of Section 4.02 and
sanctions for violation of other applicable laws and
regulations and that person shall be notified and given an
opportunity to remove properly all of the waste emptied
from the solid waste collection vehicle at his expense. If that
is not accomplished within four (4) hours of such notice,
which shall be either in person or by telephone, or, if the
person cannot be reached immediately, either in person or by
telephone, DSWA may proceed to arrange for removal and
proper disposal of the entire load and the person bringing
such material to the DSWA Solid Waste Facility shall be
liable to DSWA for all costs incurred by DSWA in arranging
for proper disposal, including, without limitation, DSWA's
out-of-pocket expenses, contractor's fees, disposal costs,
overhead supervisory costs, legal fees, testing costs, and
transportation costs.

VIII.  RECYCLING

8.01  The following definitions shall apply to this subarticle:
"Recycling Center" means a facility, established

pursuant to 7 Del.C. S6450 et seq., to receive recyclable
materials. The Recycling Center includes the recycling
containers marked for the specific recyclable materials
which are to be deposited therein and the area immediately
surrounding them necessary for the purposes of such
recycling centers. Recycling Centers shall be known as
'RECYCLE DELAWARE' Centers.

"Recyclable Materials" mean those materials which
have been source-separated by the generator thereof for
recycling. Source separated materials must remain separate
throughout the journey and are not to be re-combined for
transport.
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"Recycling" means the process by which solid waste is
transformed or converted into usable material(s) or
product(s).

"Recycler" means a person in the business of
collecting, transporting, and delivering recyclable materials.

8.02  All persons operating facilities within Delaware for the
purpose of recycling solid waste or recyclable materials
other than ‘RECYCLE DELAWARE’ Recycling Centers
shall file annually with DSWA, on forms prescribed by
DSWA, a report on the nature of the recycling activities
conducted, the quantity and type of materials recycled , and
the disposition of the materials recycled. Such reports will be
due on April 30 of each year and shall br for the immediately
preceding calendar year.

All persons operating facilities within Delaware for the
purpose of recycling solid waste or recyclable materials
other than `RECYCLE DELAWARE' and "Recycling
Centers" shall file with DSWA copies of any reports or other
written information related to the recycling facilities or
recycling activities that are filed with DNREC. Such reports
or written information shall be filed with DSWA when they
are filed or otherwise submitted to DNREC.

8.03  At a Recycling Center, no person shall:
a.  dispose of solid waste or litter;
b.  leave materials outside of recycling containers;
c.  deposit into a recycling container any material other

than the specific recyclable material for which the recycling
container is marked to receive;

d.  damage, deface, or abuse a recycling container;
e.  block or obstruct vehicles using or serving the

Recycling Center;
f.  loiter;
g.  scavenge any Recyclable Material; or
h.  deposit Recyclable Material that has been collected

from or by a Recycler.

8.04 Each container used for the collection of Recyclable
Material must be clearly marked to prevent normal trash
from being placed into the container, i.e. “RECYCLABLE
MATERIAL ONLY” - “NO TRASH”.

IX.  TRANSFER STATION REQUIREMENTS

9.01  Any person operating a transfer station for solid waste
within the State of Delaware shall;

a.  prepare daily and maintain (for minimum period of
three years after preparation) records of the solid waste
handled at the transfer station showing the source and final
disposition of such waste after removal from transfer station,
including address of such final disposition. The records to be
maintained shall be adequate to provide all information
required by the Transfer Station Monthly Solid Waste

Report, annexed hereto as Exhibit shown in Attachment B;
b.  submit the report required by paragraph 9.01 (a) of

these Regulations and verify the accuracy thereof to DS WA
on or before the twentieth (20th) day of the month following
the month for which the report is compiled. The report shall
be in the  form of the Transfer Station Monthly Solid Waste
Report, annexed hereto as Exhibit shown in Attachment B;

c.  make the records required to be maintained and
preserved by paragraph 9.01 (a) of these Regulations
available for inspection by representatives of DSWA during
normal business hours.

9.02  DSWA through its designated representatives shall
have the right to inspect the transfer station and solid waste
hauling vehicles entering and leaving the transfer station. 

X.  REVIEW, ENFORCEMENT AND SANCTIONS

10.01 
a.  Any person seeking a license or to have solid waste

disposed of at a DSWA Solid Waste Facility who has been
aggrieved by a determination of the CEO or his designee
under Section 3.19, 3.21, 4.02, 4.04, 5.01 (b) or 5.04 of these
Regulations may seek review thereof by the Directors of
DSWA by filing a request for review with the CEO within
fifteen (15) days of receipt of notice of such determination.
The hearing shall be held in accordance with the paragraph
of Section 10.01 (b) of these Regulations.

b.
i.  The person filing the request for review under

paragraph 10.01 (a) of these Regulations shall be provided
notice by registered mail at least fifteen (15) days before the
time set for the hearing. The person filing the request for the
hearing shall bear the burden of proof.

ii.  The person requesting the hearing may appear
personally and/or by counsel and may produce competent
evidence in his behalf. Upon the request of the person
requesting the hearing or the CEO, the Chairman of DSWA
shall issue subpoenas requiring the testimony of witnesses
and the production of books, records, or other documents
relevant to the material involved in such hearing.

iii.  All testimony at the hearing shall be given
under oath and the Chairman shall administer oaths and all
Directors shall be entitled to examine witnesses.

iv.  The hearing may be held as part of a regular
meeting or a special meeting of the Directors of DSWA.
Deliberation shall be held in executive session. 

v.  The decision of the Directors of DSWA shall be
announced at a public meeting and shall be forwarded to the
person requesting the hearing in written form by registered
mail.

10.02  Any person who violates a provision of these
Regulations shall be subject to the following sanctions:
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a.  If the violation has been committed, a civil penalty of
not less than One Hundred ($100) Dollars and not more than
Five Thousand ($5000) Dollars shall be assessed;

b.  If a violation continues for a number of days, each
day of such violation shall be considered a separate
violation;

c.  If the violation is continuous, or there is substantial
likelihood that it will reoccur, DSWA may seek a temporary
restraining order, a preliminary injunction or permanent
injunction;

d.  Any person holding a license issued by DSWA who
violates these Regulations shall be subject to revocation of
such license, or suspension of such license for such period as
determined by DSWA.

e.  DSWA personnel are empowered to issue written
notices of violations of these Regulations, without the need
to employ the sanctions set forth above.

10.03  Any person who violates a provision of these
Regulations may be prevented from entering a DSWA Solid
Waste Facility, as determined by the CEO or his designee,
until that person is in compliance with these Regulations.

DELAWARE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY
DIFFERENTIAL DISPOSAL FEE PROGRAM

The Delaware Solid Waste Authority ("Authority"),
pursuant to the provisions of 7 Del. C. Ch. 64, hereby adopts
the following program applicable to the fees for disposal of
solid waste at Authority facilities:

1.  The base rate for disposal of salid waste (exlcuding
special and industrial process solid waste) shall be $58.00
per ton. Except as provided in Paragraph 2 below, the rate
for disposal of solid waste and dry waste shall be $58.50 per
ton; provided however, the Manager of the Authority shall
be entitled upon thirty (30) days advance written notice to
reduce and adjust the disposal fee for dry waste at the
various Authority facilities to an amount which is no lower
than $30.00 per ton.

2.  For those persons, as hereinafter defined in
Paragraph 6, entering into a contract with the Authority to
bring all of their solid waste (excluding special and industrial
process solid waste) or dry waste which has been collected in
the State of Delaware to Authority facilities in accordance
with the terms of the contract, the rebates and rates set forth
shall be paid made available by the Authority subject to the
following:

a.  The contract term shall be from May 1, 1999 to
June 30, 2002, July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2002, or July 1, 2001
to June 30, 2002.  July 1, 2001 to June 30, 2005; July 1, 2002
to June 30, 2005; July 1, 2003 to June 30, 2005; or July 1,
2004 to June 30, 2005.

b.  A rebate of $10.00 shall be paid for each ton of
solid waste (excluding special and industrial process solid

waste) delivered to Authority facilities, other than the
Northern Solid Waste Facility located at Cherry Island in
Delaware, and for which the base rate disposal fee of $58.50
per ton has been paid to the Authority. A rebate of $13.50
shall be paid for each ton of solid waste or dry waste
delivered to the Northern Solid Waste Facility located at
Cherry Island in Delaware and for which the base rate
disposal fee of $58.50 per ton has been paid to the Authority.
The rebate shall be paid for the following periods in which
the solid waste (excluding special and industrial process
solid waste) has been delivered:

(i) May 1, 1999 through June 30, 1999 July 1,
2001 through June 30, 2002

(ii) July 1, 1999 through June 30, 2000 July 1,
2002 through June 30, 2003

(iii)  July 1, 2000 through June 30, 2001  July
1, 2003 through June 30, 2004

(iv)  July 1, 2001 through June 30, 2002  July
1, 2004 through June 30, 2005

c.  The rebate for the periods set forth in Paragraph
2(b) above shall be paid within forty-five (45) days after the
end of the applicable period or after full payment has been
made to the Authority by the person entitled to the rebate,
whichever is later, for the solid waste (excluding special and
industrial process solid waste) delivered during the
applicable period.

d. An additional rebate shall also be paid in the
event that the solid waste (excluding special and industrial
process solid waste) delivered to the Authority facilites
exceeds 800,000 tones for any of the following periods:

(i)   July 1, 1999 to June 30, 2000
(ii) July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2001
(iii) July 1, 2001 to June 30, 2002

For each ton of solid waste (excluding special and
industrial process solid waste) in excess of 800,000 tons paid
for at the base rate and delivered to Authority facilities
during each period identified immediately above, the
Authority shall set aside the sum of $8.50 per ton in a fund
which shall be divided among those persons entering into
contracts with the Authority.  Each such person shall be
entitled to a share of the fund based on the percentage of
solid waste (excluding special and industrial process solid
waste) which such person delivers to Authority facilities as a
part of the total of all solid waste (excluding special and
industrial process solid waste) delivered to Authority
facilities by all persons under contract with the Authority.
The additional rebate for the periods set forth in this
Paragraph 2(d) shall be paid within forty-five (45) days after
full payment has been made to the Authority by the persons
entitled to the rebate.

d.  The disposal fee for dry waste delivered to
designated solid waste facilities shall be $40.00 per ton.
Such designated facilities shall include the Central Solid
Waste Facility located at Sandtown in Delaware and the
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Southern Solid Waste Facility located at Jones Crossroads in
Delaware, but shall not include the Northern Solid Waste
Facility located at Cherry Island in Delaware. If the
Authority establishes a disposal fee for dry waste above
$40.00 per ton at any time during the term of the contract,
the $40.00 per ton disposal fee shall apply for the term of the
contract to those entering contracts. If the Authority
establishes a disposal fee for dry waste below $40.00 per ton
at any time during the term of the contract, those entering
contracts with the Authority shall be entitled to such lower
disposal fees while such disposal fees are in effect.

e.  In order to enter into the program, persons
delivering solid waste (excluding special and industrial
process solid waste) collected in the State of Delaware shall
execute contracts with the Authority (i) prior to May 1, 1999
for the contract term from the May 1, 1999 to June 30, 2002;
(ii) on or before June 30, 2000 for the contract term July 1,
2000 to June 30, 2002; and (iii) on or before June 30, 2001
for the contract term July 1, 2001 to June 30, 2002.

In order to enter into contracts under this
Paragraph 2, persons having active accounts with the
Authority and delivering solid waste or dry waste to an
Authority facility that was collected in the State of Delaware
shall execute contracts with the Authority (i) on or before
September 1, 2001 for the contract term from July 1, 2001 to
June 30, 2005, provided however, that for contracts executed
after July 1, 2001 but on or before September 1, 2001 the
effective date for participating in the Program shall be the
effective date of execution of the contract; (ii) on or before
June 30, 2002 for the contract term July 1, 2002 to June 30,
2005; (iii) on or before June 30, 2003 for the contract term
July 1, 2003 to June 30, 2005; and (iv) on or before June 30,
2004 for the contract term July 1, 2004 to June 30, 2005.

3.  Those persons not under contract with the Authority
shall be entitled to use the Authority facilities for disposal of
solid waste and dry waste collected in the State of Delaware,
subject to payment of such rate or rates established by the
Authority, and subject to compliance with the regulations
and requirements of the Authority and other applicable laws
and regulations.

4.  The contracts utilized to effectuate this Program shall
be uniform and shall be consistent with the operative
provisions of the program as set forth herein, and shall
contain such other terms and conditions deemed desirable
and acceptable to the Authority. Municipalities, political
subdivisions and governmental instrumentalities and entities
which are required to deliver to Authority facilities all their
solid waste and dry waste collected in the State of Delaware
shall be entitled to the full benefits of this Program.  The
contracts shall inure to the benefit of and be binding on the
persons, including their successors, assigns, parents,
subsidiaries, affiliates, partners, joint venturers, divisions,
contractors and subcontractors, and all other entities existing
or newly formed, controlled directly or indirectly by such

persons, through change in ownership or status by transfer of
assets or otherwise, and which engage in the collection and/
or transportation of solid waste (excluding special and
industrial process solid waste) and dry waste generated in the
State of Delaware.

5.  The This Program established by Paragraph 2, above,
shall be available to all persons having active accounts with
the Authority effective July 1, 2001. April 30, 1999 and who
have delivered to Authority facilities during the preceding
twelve (12) month period a total of at least fifty (50) tons of
solid waste (excluding special and industrial process solid
waste). For new accounts with the Authority opened after
May 1, 1999 July 1, 2001, persons establishing such
accounts shall be entitled to enter the program contracts with
the Authority provided:

(a)  the uniform contract referenced in Paragraph 4
herein is executed within sixty (60) days of the date the new
account is established;

(b)  the term of the contract extends to June 30, 2002
2005;

(c) the new account is with a new person, and not a
person having an account with the Authority as of March l,
1999 July 1, 2001; and

(d) the persons agree that the Program benefits (rebate
or reduced fee) do not come into effect until sixty (60) days
after the new account is established.

6. For purposes of this Program the term "person" is
defined to mean any individual, partnership, corporation,
association, institution, cooperative enterprise, municipality,
commission, political subdivision or other duly established
legal entity. The term "person" shall also include successors,
assigns, parents, subsidiaries, affiliates, partners, joint
venturers, divisions, contractors and subcontractors, and all
other entities existing or newly formed, controlled directly or
indirectly by the person, through change in ownership or
status by transfer of assets or otherwise.

7.  This program shall become effective on May 1, 1999
and continue until June 30, 2002.  For purposes of this
Program the term "dry waste" shall have the meaning as
defined in the REGULATIONS OF THE DELAWARE
SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY. For purposes of this
Program the term "solid waste" shall have the meaning as
defined in the REGULATIONS OF THE DELAWARE
SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY but shall not include dry
waste, or special or industrial process solid waste.

8. This Program shall become effective on July 1, 2001
and continue until June 30, 2005. For those persons who
have (i) prior to the adoption of this Program entered
Differential Disposal Fee contracts with the Authority and
(ii) who do not enter the Differential Disposal Fee contract
under this Program, the provisions of prior Program and
prior Differential Disposal Fee contract shall continue in full
force and effect.
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PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO THE
STATEWIDE SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT PLAN

INTRODUCTION
On March 25, 1999, the Delaware Solid Waste

Authority ("DSWA") adopted a limited Plan amendment in
conjunction with regulation changes to afford the DSWA
greater solid waste management program flexibility. The
management flexibility supplemented the existing Plan. The
DSWA is undertaking this limited Plan amendment in order
to provide for additional flexibilities. To the extent that there
is any inconsistency, this proposed Plan amendment
supercedes.

BACKGROUND
The DSWA has been directed by the Delaware General

Assembly to carry out specific statutory responsibilities
under 7 Delaware Code Chapter 64 (see appendix A of the
Plan as adopted May 1994). Some of those responsibilities
include:

1. That a statewide comprehensive program for
management, storage, collection, transportation, utilization,
processing and disposal of solid waste be established.

2. That a program for the maximum recovery and
reuse of materials and energy resources derived from solid
wastes be established.

3. That a program for protecting the land, air,
surface, and groundwater resources of the State from
depletion and degradation caused by improper disposal of
solid waste be established.

4. That a statewide solid waste management plan
be developed and implemented by DSWA.

In order to fulfill those responsibilities, the Delaware
General Assembly provided DSWA with statutory
capabilities. Some of those capabilities include:

1. Plan, design, construct, finance, manage, own,
operate and maintain solid waste management facilities.

2. The receipt, transfer, storage, transportation,
and handling of solid waste and development of support
facilities as deemed necessary by DSWA.

3. Being granted all powers necessary to fulfill
these purposes and to carry out assigned responsibilities.

4. Develop, implement and supervise a program
requiring all persons who haul, convey or transport any solid
waste to obtain a license from DSWA.

5. Charge reasonable fees for services.
6. Control, through regulation or otherwise, the

collection, transportation, storage and disposal of solid
waste, and sanction any person who violates a regulation or a
license condition.

7. Establishment of fees and charges for owners
and occupants of real estate to support budgeting needs.

8. Utilize private industry to the maximum extent
feasible to perform planning, design, management,

collection, construction, operation, manufacturing, and
marketing functions related to solid waste disposal and
resources recovery.

9. Assist in the development of industrial
enterprises based upon resources recovery, recycling, and
reuse.

10. Purchase, manage, lease or rent real and
personal property.

11. Do all things necessary for the performance of
its duties, the fulfillment of its obligations, the conduct of its
operations and the conduct of a comprehensive program for
solid waste disposal and resources recovery, and for solid
waste management services.

12. Make short and long range plans for the
storage, collection, transportation or processing and disposal
of solid wastes and recovered resources by the DSWA-
owned facilities.

13. Contract with municipal, county and regional
authorities, state agencies and persons to provide waste
management service in accordance with this chapter and to
plan, design, construct, manage, operate and maintain solid
waste disposal and processing facilities on their behalf.

14. Utilize private industry, by contract, to carry
out the business, design, operating, management, marketing,
planning and research and development functions of the
DSWA or the DSWA may determine that it is in the public
interest to adopt other courses of action.

15. Enter into a contract or contracts with any
municipality providing for or relating to the collection or
treatment and disposal of garbage, solid wastes and refuse
originating in the municipality and the cost and expense of
such collection or treatment and disposal.

The DSWA has, under its statutory provisions
implemented projects to meet the legislated mandate. Such
projects include:

Delaware Reclamation Project
Cherry Island Landfill Phases I - V
Intermediate Processing Center
Pigeon Point Transfer Station
Pinetree Corners Transfer Station
Sandtown Landfill Areas A - E
Jones Crossroads Landfill Cells 1 -3
Recycle Delaware Centers (120 locations)
Recyclables Marketing Program
Collection Stations (5 locations)
Household Hazardous Waste Collection
Public Education Program

DSWA by contract has participated as a customer in
private sector owned facilities such as Waste to Energy
projects and recycling centers.

The DSWA has identified several future projects to
continue to meet its legislative mandate. Such projects
include:
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Delaware Recycling Center / Materials Recovery
Facility

Central Solid Waste Management Center: Transfer
Station / Materials Recovery Facility

Southern Solid Waste Management Center: Transfer
Station / Materials Recovery Facility

Cherry Island Landfill Phase VI
Pine Tree Corners Transfers Station Expansion
Sandtown Landfill Areas F - H
Jones Crossroads Landfill Cells 4 -6
Statewide Site Development
Transportation Operations and Maintenance

Centers
The DSWA's enabling legislation establishes a

statewide solid waste management system which is unique.
The scope of the DSWA's responsibilities are broad and the
DSWA has implemented a program which not only meets
state needs, but which is regional in nature. To support the
DSWA's program, which has involved significant out of
state disposal of solid waste, the DSWA has chosen among
available management options, a statutorily authorized
method of directing the flow of certain solid waste generated
in the state to DSWA facilities.

Faced with constantly changing solid waste disposal
objectives and alternatives, the DSWA finds it necessary to
have available the maximum flexibility possible to structure
a program which best meets the needs of the citizens of the
state and protects the public health and the environment.
Accordingly the DSWA by this supplemental amendment to
the Plan identifies additional alternatives available to the
DSWA.

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT OPTIONS
In addition to the alternatives set forth in Chapter IV of

the Plan and the limited amendment adopted March 25,
1999, the DSWA shall have available the following solid
waste management options:

1. Construction, acquisition and/or operation of
Transfer Stations/Recycling Centers/Dry Waste Facilities to
serve the resort areas of Sussex County, the greater Milford
area, the greater Dover area, and the greater Newark area.

2. Establishment of differential pricing for the
separate management of dry waste, in accordance with §
6403 (k) of Title 7 Delaware Code.

The DSWA in implementing management options may
utilize DSWA staff or contract for services. The DSWA may
enter into short or long-term agreements under such terms
and conditions considered desirable by the DSWA. The
DSWA may set and modify the fees it charges in
implementing any of the management options. In selecting
and implementing options, alternatives and ancillary
program features, including the establishment and
modification of fees, the DSWA shall act through Resolution
of its Board of Directors.

*  PLEASE NOTE:  THREE FORMS: ATTACHMENT A, SOLID

WASTE COLLECTORS LICENSE;  ATTACHMENT B,
TRANSFER STATION MONTHLY SOLID WASTE REPORT;
AND ATTACHMENT C, SOLID WASTE HAULER REPORT

FOR WASTE GENERATED IN DELAWARE AND DELIVERED

AND/OR DISPOSED AT OTHER THAN DSWA FACILITY ARE

NOT BEING PRINTED.  COPIES ARE AVAILABLE ONLINE IN

PDF FORMAT OR BY CONTACTING THE REGISTRAR OF

REGULATIONS.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE

24 DE Admin. Code 200
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 

Section 205(a)(1) (24 Del. C. § 205(a)(1))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 205(a)(1), the Delaware
Board of Landscape Architecture proposes to revise its Rules
and Regulations.  The proposed amendments implement and
clarify the requirement that applicants seeking licensure
pursuant to 24 Del. C. Section 206(a)(1) graduate from an
approved or accredited college or university.  Similarly, the
proposed revisions clarify that applicants seeking licensure
pursuant to 24 Del. C. Section 206(a)(3) take their courses in
landscape architecture from an approved or accredited
college or university. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Tuesday, June 26, 2001 at 9:00 a.m., in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904. The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Gayle
Melvin at the above address.  The final date to submit
written comments shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed
Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the public
hearing should notify Gayle Melvin at the above address by
calling (302) 739-4522, extension 218.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

1.0 Filing of Applications for Written Examination
2.0 Filing of Applications for Reciprocity
3.0 Filing of Applications for Certificate

of Authorization

http://www.state.de.us/research/register/may2001/dswa.pdf
Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague
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4.0 Licenses
5.0 Seal  
6.0 Renewal of Licenses
7.0 Continuing Education as a Condition of

Biennial Renewal
8.0 Inactive Status
9.0 Disciplinary Proceedings and Hearings
10.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically

Dependent or Impaired Professionals

1.0  Filing of Applications for Written Examination
1.1  Persons seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del.C. §

206 shall submit an application for written examination on a
form prescribed by the Board to the Board’s office at the
Division of Professional Regulation (the “Division”) along
with the application fee established by the Division.
Applicants for written examination shall be filed in such
office of the Board no later than twelve (12) weeks prior to
the opening date of the examination.

1.2  Applicants seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del. C.
§ 206(a)(1) shall have graduated from a school or college of
landscape architecture approved or accredited by the
national Council of Landscape Architectural Registration
Boards, the American Society of Landscape Architects
Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board, or other
legitimate national association of landscape architects. 

1.3  For purposes of 24 Del. C. § 206(a)(3), courses in
landscape architecture shall have been taken at a school or
college of landscape architecture approved or accredited by
the national Council of Landscape Architectural Registration
Boards, the American Society of Landscape Architects
Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board, or other
legitimate national association of landscape architects.

1.2 1.4  Each applicant must submit documentary
evidence, as more fully described on the application form, to
show the Board that the applicant is clearly eligible to sit for
the examination under 24 Del.C. § 206.
  1.3 1.5  The Board shall not consider an application for
written examination until all items described in paragraphs
1.1 and 1.2 of this Rule have been submitted to the Board’s
office.
  1.4 1.6  The Board reserves the right to retain as a
permanent part of the application any or all documents
submitted.
  1.5 1.7 The examination shall be the Council of
Landscape Architectural Registration Board’s (“CLARB”)
current uniform national examination.  CLARB establishes a
passing score for each uniform national examination.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §§206, 207

2.0  Filing of Applications for Reciprocity
  2.1  Persons seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del.C. §
208, shall submit payment of the fee established by the
Division and an application on a form prescribed by the

Board which shall include proof of licensure and good
standing in each state or territory  of current licensure, and
on what basis the license was obtained therein, including the
date licensure was granted.  Letters of good standing must
also be provided for each state or jurisdiction in which the
applicant was ever previously licensed.

2.2  The Board shall not consider an application for
licensure by reciprocity until all items described in 24 Del.C.
§ 208 and paragraph 2.1 of this Rule have been submitted to
the Board’s office.

2.3  A passing exam score for purposes of reciprocity
shall be the passing score set by CLARB, or the passing
score accepted by the Delaware Board, for the year in which
the exam was taken.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §208.

3.0  Filing of Applications for Certificate of
Authorization

Corporations or partnerships seeking a certificate of
authorization pursuant to 24 Del. C. § 212 shall submit an
application on a form prescribed by the Board.  Such
application shall include the (a) names and addresses of all
officers and members of the corporation, or officers and
partners of the partnership, and (b) the name of a corporate
officer in the case of a corporation, or the name of a partner
in the case of a partnership, who is licensed to practice
landscape architecture in this State and who shall be
responsible for services in the practice of landscape
architecture on behalf of the corporation or partnership.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §212.

4.0  Licenses 
Only one license shall be issued to a licensed landscape

architect, except for a duplicate issued to replace a lost or
destroyed license.

5.0  Seal
5.1  Technical Requirements

5.1.1  For the purpose of signing and sealing
drawings, specifications, contract documents, plans, reports
and other documents (hereinafter collectively referred to as
“drawings”), each landscape architect shall provide him or
herself with an individual seal of design and size as approved
by the Board to be used as hereinafter directed on documents
prepared by him or her or under his/her direct supervision for
use in the State of Delaware.

5.1.2  The application of the seal impression or
rubber stamp to the first sheet of the bound sheets of the
drawings (with index of drawings included), title page of
specifications, and other drawings and contract documents
shall constitute the licensed landscape architect’s stamp.

5.1.3  The seal to be used by a licensee of the Board
shall be of the embossing type or a rubber stamp, and have
two (2) concentric circles.  The outside circle measures
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across the center 1 13/16 inches.  The inner circle shall
contain only the words “NO.”   and “State of Delaware.”  At
the bottom the words “Registered Landscape Architect”
reading counterclockwise, and at the top the name of the
licensee.

5.1.4  An impression of the seal is to be submitted
to the Board to be included in the licensee’s records.

5.2  Use of the Seal
5.2.1  A landscape architect shall not sign or seal

drawings unless they were prepared by him/her or under his/
her direct supervision.

5.2.2  “Supervision” for purposes of signing and/or
sealing drawings shall mean direct supervision, involving
responsible control over and detailed professional
knowledge of the contents of the drawings throughout their
preparation.  Reviewing, or reviewing and correcting,
drawings after they have been prepared by others does not
constitute the exercise of responsible control because the
reviewer has neither control over, nor detailed professional
knowledge of, the content of such drawings throughout their
preparation. 

  5.2.3  The seal appearing on any drawings shall be
prima facie evidence that said drawings were prepared by or
under the direct supervision of the individual who signed
and/or sealed the drawings.  Signing or sealing of drawings
prepared by another shall be a representation by the
registered landscape architect that he/she has detailed
professional knowledge of and  vouches for the contents of
the drawings.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §205(a)(1); 212(a).

6.0  Renewal of Licenses 
6.1  Each application for license renewal or request for

inactive status shall be submitted on or before the expiration
date of the current licensing period.  However, a practitioner
may still renew his or her license within 60 days following
the license renewal date upon payment of a late fee set by the
Division.  Upon the expiration of 60 days following the
license renewal date an unrenewed license shall be deemed
lapsed and the practitioner must reapply pursuant to the
terms of 24 Del.C. §210(b).

6.2  It shall be the responsibility of all licensees to keep
the Board and the Division informed of any change in name,
home or business address.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §210.

7.0  Continuing Education as a Condition of Biennial
Renewal

7.1  General Statement: Each licensee shall be required
to meet the continuing education requirements of these
guidelines for professional development as a condition for
license renewal.  Continuing education obtained by a
licensee should maintain, improve or expand skills and
knowledge obtained prior to initial licensure, or develop new

and relevant skills and knowledge.
  7.1.1  In order for a licensee to qualify for license

renewal as a landscape architect in Delaware, the licensee
must have completed 20 hours of continuing education
acceptable to the Board within the previous two years, or be
granted an extension by the Board for reasons of hardship.
Such continuing education shall be obtained by active
participation in courses, seminars, sessions, programs or
self-directed activities approved by the Board.

7.1.1.1  For purposes of seminar or classroom
continuing education, one hour of acceptable continuing
education shall mean 60 minutes of instruction.

7.1.2  To be acceptable for credit toward this
requirement, all courses, seminars, sessions, programs or
self-directed activities shall be submitted to the Board.  The
Board shall recommend any course, seminar, session or
program for continuing education credit that meets the
criteria in sub-paragraph 7.1.2.1 below.

7.1.2.1  Each course, seminar, session,
program, or self-directed activity to be recommended for
approval by the Board shall have a direct relationship to the
practice of landscape architecture as defined in the Delaware
Code and contain elements which will assist licensees to
provide for the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of
Delaware served by Delaware licensed landscape architects.

7.1.2.2  The Board shall meet at least once
during each calendar quarter of the year and act on each
course, seminar, session or program properly submitted for
its review.  Each program, or portion thereof, shall be either
recommended for approval, recommended for disapproval or
deferred for lack of information.  If deferred or disapproved,
the licensee will be notified and may be granted a period of
time in which to correct deficiencies.  The Board may also
seek verification of information submitted by the licensee.

7.1.3  Continuing Education courses offered or
sponsored by the following organizations will be
automatically deemed to qualify for continuing education
credit:

7.1.3.1  American Society of Landscape
Architects (National and local/chapter levels)

7.1.3.2  Council of Landscape Architectural
Registration

7.1.4  Erroneous or false information attested to by
the licensee shall constitute grounds for denial of license
renewal.

7.2  Effective Date: The Board shall commence
requiring continuing education as a condition of renewal of a
license for the license year commencing on February 1,
1995.  The licensee shall be required to successfully
complete twenty (20) hours of continuing education within
the previous two calendar years (example: February 1, 1993
through January 31, 1995).

7.3  For licensing periods beginning February 1, 1999
and thereafter, requests for approval of continuing education
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activity, along with the required supporting documentation,
shall be submitted to the Board on or before November 1 of
the year preceding the biennial renewal date of the licenses.
A license shall not be renewed until the Board has approved
twenty (20) hours of continuing education classes as
provided in Rule 7.1 or has granted an extension of time for
reasons of hardship.

7.4  Reporting: The licensee shall submit the following
documentation to the Board for each continuing education
activity completed:

A completed Continuing Education Reporting
Form

A syllabus, agenda, itinerary or brochure published
by the sponsor of the activity

A document showing proof of attendance (i.e.
certificate, a signed letter from the sponsor attesting to
attendance, report of passing test score).

7.4.1  Each licensee must retain copies of Board
approved continuing education reporting forms and all
supporting materials documenting proof of continuing
education compliance.  Licensees will be required to
complete a continuing education log form prior to license
renewal and to submit supporting materials upon request. 

7.5  Hardship: The Board will consider any reasonable
special request from individual licensees for continuing
education credits and procedures.  The Board may, in
individual cases involving physical disability, illness, or
extenuating circumstances, grant an extension, not to exceed
two (2) years, of time within which continuing education
requirements must be completed.  In cases of physical
disability or illness, the Board reserves the right to require a
letter from a physician attesting to the licensee’s physical
condition.  No extension of time shall be granted unless the
licensee submits a written request to the Board prior to the
expiration of the license.

7.6  Self-directed Activities: For renewal periods
beginning February 1, 2001, the following rules regarding
self-directed activity shall apply.  The Board will have the
authority to allow self-directed activities to fulfill the
continuing education requirements of the licensees.
However, these activities must result in a book draft,
published article, delivered paper, workshop, symposium, or
public address within the two (2) year reporting period.
Self-directed activities must advance the practitioner’s
knowledge of the field and be beyond the practitioner’s
normal work duties.  Instructors will not be granted CE
credit for studies customarily associated with their usual
university or college instruction teaching loads.

7.6.1  The Board may, upon request, review and
approve credit for self-directed activities in a given biennial
licensing period.  A licensee must obtain pre-approval of the
Board prior to undertaking the self-directed activity in order
to assure continuing education credit for the activity.  Any
self-directed activity submitted for approval must include a

written proposal outlining the scope of the activity, the
number of continuing education hours requested, the
anticipated completion date(s), the role of the licensee in the
case of multiple participants and whether any part of the self-
directed activity has ever been previously approved or
submitted for credit by the same licensee. Determination of
credit will be made by the Board upon review of the
completed final project.  

7.7  Exemptions: New licensees by way of uniform
national examination or by way of reciprocity shall be
exempt from the continuing education requirements set forth
herein for their first renewal period.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §205(12).

8.0  Inactive Status
8.1  A licensee may, upon written request to the Board,

place his/her license on inactive status.
8.2  A licensee who has been granted inactive status and

who wishes to re-enter the practice of landscape architecture,
shall submit a written request to the Board along with a pro-
rated renewal fee and proof of completion of twenty (20)
hours of continuing education during the period of inactive
status.

8.3  Licensees on inactive status shall renew their
inactive status by notification to the Division of Professional
Regulation at the time of biennial license renewal.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §210(c).

9.0  Disciplinary Proceedings and Hearings
9.1  Disciplinary proceedings against any  licensee may

be initiated by an aggrieved person by submitting a
complaint in writing to the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation as specified in 29 Del.C..
§8807(h)(1)-(3). 

9.1.1  A copy of the written complaint shall be
forwarded to the administrative assistant for the Board. At
the next regularly scheduled Board meeting, a contact person
for the Board shall be appointed and a copy of the written
complaint given to that person.

9.1.2  The contact person appointed by the Board
shall maintain strict confidentiality with respect to the
contents of the complaint and shall not discuss the matter
with other Board members or with the public.  The contact
person shall maintain contact with the investigator or deputy
attorney general assigned to the case regarding the progress
of the investigation.

9.1.3  In the instance when the case is being closed
by the Division, the contact person shall report the facts and
conclusions to the Board without revealing the identities of
the parties involved.  No vote of the Board is necessary to
close the case.

9.1.4  If a hearing before the Board has been
requested by the Deputy Attorney General, a copy of these
Rules and Regulations shall be provided to the respondent
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upon request.  The notice of hearing shall fully comply with
29 Del.C.. Sec. 10122 and 10131 pertaining to the
requirements of the notice of proceedings. All notices shall
be sent to the respondent’s address as reflected in the
Board’s records.

9.1.5  At any disciplinary hearing, the respondent
shall have the right to appear in person or be represented by
counsel, or both.  The Respondent shall have the right to
produce evidence and witnesses on his or her behalf and to
cross examine witnesses. The Respondent shall be entitled to
the issuance of subpoenas to compel the attendance of
witnesses and the production of documents on his or her
behalf.

9.1.6  No less than 10 days prior to the date set for a
disciplinary hearing, the Department of Justice and the
respondent shall submit to the Board and to each other, a list
of the witnesses they intend to call at the hearing. Witnesses
not listed shall be permitted to testify only upon a showing of
reasonable cause for such omission.

9.1.7  If the respondent fails to appear at a
disciplinary hearing after receiving the notice required by 29
Del.C. §10122 and 10131, the Board may proceed to hear
and determine the validity of the charges against the
respondent.

Statutory authority: 24 Del.C. §§213 and 215; 29 Del.C.
§§10111, 10122 and 10131

9.2  Hearing procedures
9.2.1  The Board may administer oaths, take

testimony, hear proofs and receive exhibits into evidence at
any hearing. All testimony at any hearing shall be under
oath.

9.2.2  Strict rules of evidence shall not apply.  All
evidence having probative value commonly accepted by
reasonably prudent people in the conduct of their affairs
shall be admitted.

9.2.3  An attorney representing a party in a hearing
or matter before the Board shall notify the  Board of the
representation in writing as soon as practicable.

9.2.4  Requests for postponements of any matter
scheduled before the Board shall be submitted to the Board’s
office in writing no less than three (3) days before the date
scheduled for the hearing. Absent a showing of exceptional
hardship, there shall be a maximum of one postponement
allowed to each party to any hearing.

9.2.5  A complaint shall be deemed to “have merit”
and the Board may impose disciplinary sanctions against the
licensee if a majority of the members of the Board find, by a
preponderance of the evidence, that the respondent has
committed the act(s) of which he or she is accused and that
those act(s) constitute grounds for discipline pursuant to 24
Del.C. §213.

Statutory authority: 24 Del.C. §§205(7)(8); 213, 214,
215.

10.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

10.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.  

10.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

10.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

10.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

10.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  
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10.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

10.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

10.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

10.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

10.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option. 

10.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

10.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

10.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public

records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.  

10.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

10.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

10.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

10.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

10.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

24 DE Admin. Code 1100
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 

Section 1105 (1) and (9) (24 Del.C. §§1105 (1) 
and (9))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 1105(1) and (9), the
Delaware Board of Dental Examiners proposes to revise
certain portions of its rules and regulations.  The proposed
revisions amend and clarify the continuing education
standards required for license renewal for dentists and dental
hygienists.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Thursday, June 21, 2001 at 6:00 p.m. in the
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Second Floor Conference Room A, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The Board will receive
and consider oral and written input on the proposed revisions
to the Rules and Regulations.  Any written comments should
be submitted to the Board in care of Gayle Franzolino at the
above address.  The final date to submit written comments
shall be at the public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a
copy of the proposed revisions to the Rules and Regulations
or to make comments at the public hearing should notify
Gayle Franzolino at the above address or by calling (302)
739-4522.

1.0 Supervision
2.0 Auxiliary Personnel
3.0 Prescriptions to Dental Technicians
4.0 Acupuncture
5.0 Supervision
6.0 Continuing Professional Education -

Dentists/Dental Hygienists
7.0 Anesthesia Regulations
8.0 National Board Examination Score
9.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent

or Impaired Professionals

1.0  Supervision: Definitions - There are 3 recognized
levels of supervision:

1.1  Direct Supervision - The dentist is present in the
office, personally examines the patient and specifically
authorized the work to be performed.  The dentist checks the
work before the patient leaves the office.

1.2  Indirect Supervision - A dentist is present in the
office and generally authorizes the work to be performed.
The dentist may examine the patient, either before or after
work is performed.  The dentist is available for consultation
during the patient visit.

1.3  General Supervision - A dentist may or may not be
present in the office while the work is performed. The dentist
authorizes the work to be performed.  Emergency care and
consultant services are provided by an "on-call" dentist not
present in the treatment facility, if the primary dentist is not
present.

1.4  Dental Technician - Any person not licensed to
practice dentistry in this State, engaged in the business of
constructing, altering, repairing or duplicating full dentures
("plates"), partial dentures, splints, orthodontic appliances,
fixed bridges or any other prosthetic appliances.

2.0  Auxiliary Personnel
2.1  Expanded Duties: A legally licensed and registered

dentist may delegate to competent dental auxiliary
personnel, those procedures for which the dentist exercises
direct supervision and full responsibility except as follows:

2.1.1  Those procedures which require professional
judgement and skill, such as diagnosis and treatment

planning, and the cutting of hard and/or soft tissues, or any
intra-oral procedure which would lead to the fabrication of
an appliance and/or restoration which, when received by the
patient, would come in direct contact with hard or soft tissue
and which could result in tissue irritation or injury.

2.1.2  Those procedures allocated by the Dental
Code to registered dental hygienists.

2.2  Interpretation of Regulation - Competency of the
dental auxiliary personnel must be determined by the
individual dentist in assigning specific duties.  The dentist is
given full responsibility in deciding the scope of work to be
allocated to the auxiliary personnel.

2.3  Training of Auxiliary Personnel - Adequate training
of dental auxiliary personnel will be the responsibility of the
dentist.

2.4  Assignment of Duties - Following are some of the
procedures that may be assigned to auxiliary personnel under
the conditions and provisions stated above:

Take and develop x-rays.  This involves
placing an x-ray film in the patient's mouth and exposing
that film.

Give and demonstrate home-care procedures to
the patient, including those procedures the patient is
expected to carry out in preventive care.

Placing a rubber dam.
Placing cotton rolls.
Taking impressions for study models.
Removal of excess cements from dental

restorations and appliances with hand instruments only.
Removal of temporary medicinal fillings or

packs under direct orders of the dentist.
2.5  Responsibilities - In summary, the Dental Board

places full responsibility for the work done by auxiliary
personnel directly upon the dentist.  Violations of the
regulations will be subject to penalties as spelled out in 24
Del.C. §1131(5).

3.0  Prescriptions to Dental Technicians
3.1  Written Prescriptions - Any dentist who uses the

services of a dental technician in this State shall furnish him/
her with a written prescription, which shall contain:

3.1.1  the name and address of the technician,
3.1.2  the patient's name and/or identification

number, 
3.1.3  the date on which the prescription was

written, 
3.1.4  a prescription of the work to be done, 
3.1.5  specification of the type and quality of

materials to be used and 
3.1.6  signature of the dentist and his/her license

number.
3.2  Record of Prescriptions - The dentist shall retain a

duplicate copy thereof for inspection by the Board or its
agent for a period of two years of the original.
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3.3  The Dental Technician as an Auxiliary - Dentists
employing a dental technician as an auxiliary within the
confines of his/her office, may elect to maintain the required
date of the prescription as an entry on the patient's record, in
lieu of duplicating the prescription form to the technician.

4.0  Acupuncture
 - is considered to be an experimental procedure to be

researched by qualified investigators, only in institutions
having a committee on human research, and only on patients
who have given written informed consent.

5.0  Supervision
5.1  Conditions Applicable to General Supervision - A

licensed dental hygienist, by virtue of having passed a
licensure examination and being duly licensed by the State,
is capable of performing those services allowed by law under
supervision, the following conditions shall exist:

5.2  Advance Notice to Patient - The patient is notified,
as soon as it is known, that the dentist will not be present,
and is given the option to reschedule to a time when the
dentist will be present in the office.

5.3  Dentist Review of Records - The dentist shall
review the treatment records of each patient prior to and
following the patient treatment.

5.4  Patient Contraindications - Patients for whom it is
medically or dentally contraindicated, will not be scheduled
when the dentist is not present.

5.5  Office Requirements - A second office employee
shall be present in the treatment facility at all times when
patient care is performed.  This is both for safety and
security reasons.

5.6  Practice in a Public Health Institution - A licensed
dental hygienist, per 24 Del.C. §1157(c), may operate under
the general direction of a dentist in an institution, provided
that all of the conditions of general supervision are met.

6.0  Continuing Professional Education - Dentists
All persons licensed to practice dentistry in the State of

Delaware shall be required to acquire 50 hours of continuing
professional education (CPE) credit and to successfully
complete a current course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation
(CPR) every two (2) years.  All dentists, upon initial
licensure in Delaware and prior to registration renewal in
Delaware in 1990, shall be given a written notice of these
CPE requirements.

6.1  Proof of successful completion of the requisite CPE
credits is required for registration renewal every two years.

6.2  Said CPE requirements shall become effective May
1, 1988. Proof of CPE credits must be submitted by March
1st of every  two (2) even years.

6.3  It shall be the responsibility of the candidate for re-
licensure to submit to the appropriate State of Delaware
agency Board of Dental Examiners, evidence of his/her

compliance with these requirements.  The Division of
Professional Regulation shall notify the candidate at least 30
days in advance of the need to renew his/her license, and
shall request that the candidate submit evidence of
compliance with the CPE requirements stated herein, along
with other fees and documents required.  However, failure to
be notified by such agency shall not relieve the licensee of
this obligation.

6.4  Of the 50-hour biennial requirement, a maximum of
ten (10) hours may be fulfilled by self study with or without
testing such as:

Not more than ten (10) hours of the fifty (50) hour
biennial CPE requirement may be satisfied by self-study
without testing from sources approved by the Board which
shall include but not be limited to:

6.4.1 reading of dental journals with or without
testing

6.4.21 Reading dental textbooks
6.4.32 Reading dental tape journals
6.4.43 Viewing and listening to dental audio-visual

materials.
6.4.5 mail-in testing scores.

6.5  The following is a suggested list of acceptable
categories from which these non-self study CPE
requirements can be obtained:

6.5.1  Meetings of (Scientific Portions Only):
6.5.1.1  American Dental Association
6.5.1.2  Delaware State Dental Society
6.5.1.3  Delaware Society of Dentistry for

Children
6.5.1.4  Academy of General Dentistry
6.5.1.5  Kent/Sussex Dental Society
6.5.1.6  American Dental Hygienists

Association its constituents and components
6.5.1.7  Other recognized dental specialty

societies
6.5.1.8  Other recognized state dental societies
6.5.1.9  Recognized regional or national dental

societies
6.5.1.10  Federal dental service meetings and

programs
6.5.1.11  Recognized study clubs
6.5.1.12  Meeting of other organizations as

may be approved by the Board
6.5  CPE credits may be granted upon proof of

successful completion of:
6.5.1  Scientific CPE programs or courses and/or

the scientific sessions of meetings sponsored or approved by:
6.5.1.1  American Dental Association, its

constituents and   components
6.5.1.2  American Dental Hygienists’

Association, its constituents and components
6.5.1.3  American Dental Assisting

Association, its constituents and components
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6.5.1.4  Recognized national, regional, state
and local dental and dental hygiene specialty organizations

6.5.1.5  Recognized dental and dental hygiene
study clubs

6.5.1.6  Accredited dental and dental hygiene
CPE programs offered by dental and dental hygiene schools.

6.5.1.7  Approved hospital programs.
6.5.1.8  Such other organizations and

associations as may be approved by the Board.
6.5.2Scientific CPE programs sponsored by:

6.5.2.1  American Dental Association
6.5.2.2  Delaware State Dental Society
6.5.2.3  Recognized dental associations
6.5.2.4 American Dental Hygienists

Association its constituents and components
6.5.2.5  Recognized special associations
6.5.2.6  Accredited dental college or university
6.5.2.7  Hospital
6.5.2.8  Federal dental services
6.5.2.9  Recognized study clubs
6.5.2.10 Recognized dentally-related

organizations
6.5.2.11 Other organizations as may be

approved by the Board
6.5.2  In addition to the maximum of ten (10 hours

of the CPE requirement which may be satisfied by self-study
without testing and certification, a maximum of twenty (20)
hours of the total CPE requirements may be fulfilled by self-
study with test and certificate of completion from bona fide
dental educational sources including but not limited to:

6.5.2.1  Dental journals
6.5.2.2  Dental textbooks
6.5.2.3  Dental video and audio tape

presentations
6.5.2.4  Dental mail-in courses
6.5.2.5  Dental courses presented on the

Internet
6.5.2.6  Dental lectures and courses presented

via electronic media including computer disks
Where CPE credits are not specified, one (1) hour of

credit will be given for each hour of scientific session
attended.

6.6  Special Provisions
6.6.1  A dentist, employed as a faculty member in a

recognized school of dentistry, dental hygiene, dental
assisting or any dentally-related field will be allowed not
more than ten (10) hours credit for teaching per year.

6.6.2  A dentist presenting a CPE course shall be
allowed the hours involved in preparation and presentation
on a one-time-per-course basis for a maximum of ten (10)
hours for the two-year period.

6.6.3  Table Clinics will be allowed, one (1) hour of
credit per hour of presentation for a maximum of two (2)
hours.

6.6.4  Twelve (12) hours of credit shall be allowed
for a scientific article published in a component or state
society journal. 25 hours of credit shall be allowed for a
scientific article published in a national journal or for a
published scientific textbook or a chapter therein.

6.6.5  Any public health dentally-related
presentation will be allowed one (1) hour of credit per hour
of participation for a maximum of two (2) hours for the two
year period.

6.6.6  Practice management, or personal self-
improvement and computer courses shall be limited to five
(5) hours a year for a total of ten (10) hours for the two (2)
year period.

6.6.7  The Board reserves the right to approve any
and all activities deemed appropriate for CPE credit. The
Board also reserves the right and is the final word to
disapprove any activities submitted for credit which it deems
inappropriate.

6.6.8  All dentists licensed to practice in Delaware
shall be given written notice of these CPE requirements
when receiving their initial license.

6.7  Exceptions
6.7.1  An exception will be granted to any dentist

who can demonstrate to the Board an acceptable cause as to
why he/she should be relieved of this obligation.
Exemptions will be granted only in unusual or extraordinary
circumstances.  Licensees must petition the Board for
exemptions.  Should the Board deny the request, the licensee
must complete the requirements.  Examples of
circumstances for which the Board might grant exemptions
include prolonged illness, extended absence from the
country, or the like.

6.7.2  An individual initially licensed by the Board
within the last 2 years shall meet the following schedule of
reporting CPE credits for license renewal:

6.7.2.1  If, as of March 1st of the year for
license renewal, the licensee has been licensed for less than 1
year, zero hours of CPE is required for license renewal; for
licensees who are 1 or more but less than 2 years from their
initial licensure, one-half of the required CPE must be
presented; for individuals 2 years or more from their initial
licensure, the full CPE requirement must be presented for
renewal.

6.8  Failure to Comply
When the Board deems someone to be deficient in

CPE requirements, the following procedure shall be
followed:

6.8.1  The licensee for renewal shall be notified by
the Division of Professional Regulation ("Division") by
certified mail that a deficiency exists. The deficiency shall
be specifically described by the Division.

6.8.2  The licensee's registration will not be
renewed until he/she submits proof that the described
deficiency has been corrected. Upon submission of
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satisfactory proof of correction of said deficiency, the
licensee shall be eligible for registration renewal.

6.9  Continuing Professional Education (CPE) - Dental
Hygienists

All persons licensed to practice dental hygiene in
the State of Delaware shall be required to acquire twenty-
four (24) hours of CPE credit and successfully complete a
current course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) every
two (2) years.  All dental hygienists, upon initial licensure
and prior to registration renewal in 1990, shall be given
written notice of these CPE requirements.

6.9.1  Proof of successful completion of the
requisite CPE credits is required for registration renewal
every two (2) years.

6.9.2  Said CPE requirements shall become
effective May 1, 1988.  Proof of CPE credits must be
submitted by March 1st of every two (2) even years.

6.9.3  Each hygienist shall be responsible for
submitting proof to the Division or its successor agency of
his/her compliance with these requirements.  The Division
shall notify each licensee at least 30 days in advance of the
license renewal deadline, and shall request that the licensee
submit evidence of compliance with the requirements stated
herein, along with other fees and documents required.
However, failure to be notified by such agency shall not
relieve the licensee from this obligation.

It shall be the responsibility of the candidate for re-
licensure to submit to the Board of Dental Examiners,
evidence of his/her compliance with these requirements.
The Division of Professional Regulation shall notify the
candidate at least 30 days in advance of the need to renew
his/her license, and shall request that the candidate submit
evidence of compliance with the CPE requirements state
herein, along with other fees and documents required.
However, failure to be notified by such agency shall not
relieve the licensee of this obligation.

6.9.4  CPE credits may be granted upon proof of
successful completion of programs including, but not limited
to, the following categories:

6.9.4.1 Scientific CPE programs or courses
and/or scientific sessions of meetings sponsored or approved
by:

6.9.4.1.1  American Dental Hygienists’
Association, its constituents and components.

6.9.4.1.2  American Dental Association,
its constituents and components

6.9.4.1.3  Accredited dental college,
university, community college or technical college

6.9.4.1.4  Delaware State Dental Society
6.9.4.1.5  Kent/Sussex Dental Society
6.9.4.1.6  Other organizations as may be

approved by the Board
6.9.4.1.3  American Dental Assisting

Association, its constituents, and components

6.9.4.1.4  Recognized national, regional,
state, and local dental and dental hygiene specialty societies

6.9.4.1.5  Recognized dental and dental
hygiene study clubs

6.9.4.1.6  Accredited dental and dental
hygiene schools

6.9.4.1.7  Approved hospital programs
6.9.4.1.8  Such other organizations and

associations as may be approved by the Board
6.9.4.2  Meeting of:  (Scientific session

portions only)
6.9.4.2.1  American Dental Hygienists

Association, its constituents and components
6.9.4.2.2  American Dental Association,

its constituents and components
6.9.4.2.3  Delaware Dental Assisting

Association
6.9.4.2.4  Delaware State Dental Society
6.9.4.2.5  Kent/Sussex Dental Society
6.9.4.2.6  Other organizations as may be

approved by the Board
6.9.4.2  A maximum of five (5) hours of the

total twenty-four (24) hour requirement may be satisfied by
self-study without testing from sources approved by the
Board which shall include but not be limited to:

6.9.4.2.1  Reading of dental or dental
hygiene journals

6.9.4.2.2  Reading dental or dental hygiene
textbooks

6.9.4.2.3  Viewing and listening to dental
or dental hygiene audio-visual materials

6.9.4.3  In addition to the maximum of five (5)
hours which may be satisfied by self-study without testing, a
maximum of ten (10) hours of the total twenty-four (24) hour
requirement may be fulfilled by self-study with test and
certificate of completion from bona fide dental hygiene
educational sources including but not limited to:

6.9.4.3.1  Dental or dental hygiene
journals

6.9.4.3.2  Dental or dental hygiene
textbooks

6.9.4.3.3  Dental or dental hygiene video
and audio tape presentations

6.9.4.3.4  Dental or dental hygiene mail-in
courses

6.9.4.3.5  Dental or dental hygiene courses
presented on the Internet

6.9.4.3.6  Dental or dental hygiene lectures
and courses presented via electronic media including
computer disks

Where CPE credits are not specified, one (1) hour of
CPE credit will be given for each hour of scientific session
attended.

The final approval of acceptable dental hygiene CPE
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credits shall be made by the Board of Dental Examiners in
consultation with the Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee.

6.10  Special Provisions
6.10.1  A dental hygienist, employed as a faculty

member in a recognized school of dentistry, dental hygiene
or dental assisting, will be allowed not more than five (5)
hours credit for teaching per year.

6.10.2  A dental hygienist presenting a CPE course
shall be allowed the hours involved in preparation and
presentation on a one-time-per-course basis for a maximum
of five (5) credits for the two-year period.

6.10.3  Table clinics will be allowed one (1) hour of
credit per hour of presentation for a maximum of two (2)
hours.

6.10.4  Twelve (12) hours of credit shall be granted
for a scientific article published in a component or state
society journal.  Twelve (12) hours of credit shall be allowed
for a scientific article published in a national journal or for a
published scientific textbook or a chapter therein.

6.10.5  A dental hygienist giving public education
instruction in a school will receive credit up to one (1) hour
per year.

6.10.6  Approved home-study courses will be
accepted for CPE credit, not to exceed five (5) hours of the
total 24 hour requirement.

Practice management or personal self-
improvement courses shall be limited to five (5) hours for
the two (2) year period.

6.10.6.1  Practice management, personal self-
improvement and computer courses shall be limited to 2.5
hours a year for a total of five(5) hours for the two year
period.

6.10.7  The Board reserves the right to approve any
and all activities deemed appropriate for CPE credit.  The
Board also reserves the right and is the final word to
disapprove any activities submitted for credit which it deems
inappropriate.

6.10.8  All dental hygienists licensed to practice in
Delaware shall be given written notice of these CPE
requirements when receiving their initial license.

6.11  Exceptions
6.11.1  An exception will be granted to any dental

hygienist who can demonstrate to the Board an acceptable
cause as to why he/she should be relieved of this obligation.
Exemptions will be granted only in unusual or extraordinary
circumstances.  Licensees must petition the Board for
exemptions.  Should the Board deny the request, the licensee
must complete the requirements.  Examples of
circumstances for which the Board might grant exemptions
include prolonged illness, extended absence from the
country, or the like.

6.11.2  An individual initially licensed by the Board
within the last 2 years shall meet the following schedule of
reporting CPE credits for license renewal:

6.11.2.1  If, as of March 1st of the year for
license renewal, the licensee has been licensed for less than 1
year, zero hours of CPE is required for license renewal; for
licensees who are 1 or more but less than 2 years from their
initial licensure, one-half of the required CPE must be
presented; for individuals 2 years or more from their initial
licensure, the full CPE requirement must be presented for
renewal.

6.12  Failure to Comply
When the Board deems someone to be deficient in

CPE requirements, the following procedure shall be
followed:

6.12.1  The licensee for registration renewal shall
be notified by the Division by certified mail that a deficiency
exists.  The deficiency shall be specifically described by the
Division.

6.12.2  The licensee's registration will not be
renewed until he/she submits proof that the described
deficiency has been corrected.  Upon submission of
satisfactory proof of correcting said deficiency, a licensee
shall be eligible for registration renewal.

Rule 6 revisions are/will be effective February and
April of 1997.

7.0  Anesthesia Regulations:
7.1  Definitions:

The following definitions are taken from the
Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of
Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry, American Dental
Association, Council on Dental Education (July 1993).
These terms refer to the extent of a drug’s depressant effect
upon the central nervous system and should not be confused
with the route by which the drug is administered.

7.1.1  Analgesia -- the diminution or elimination of
pain in the conscious patient.

7.1.2  Local Anesthesia -- the elimination of
sensations, especially pain, in one part of the body by the
topical application or regional injection of a drug.

7.1.3  Conscious Sedation -- a minimally depressed
level of consciousness that retains the patient’s ability to
independently and continuously maintain an airway and
respond appropriately to physical stimulation and verbal
command and that is produced by a pharmacologic or non-
pharmacologic method or a combination thereof.

In accord with this definition, the conscious
patient is also defined as “one who has intact protective
reflexes, including the ability to maintain an airway, and
who is capable of rational response to question or
command.”  The drugs and techniques used should carry a
margin  of safety wide enough to render unintended loss of
consciousness unlikely.

For purposes of these regulations, Conscious
Sedation Permits shall be divided into two classifications:

Restricted Permit I -- Conscious Sedation
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induced by parenteral or enteral or rectal routes.  This is not
to include the usual and customary pre-operative oral
sedation.

Restricted Permit II -- Conscious Sedation
induced by nitrous oxide inhalation.

7.1.4  Deep Sedation -- is a controlled state of
depressed consciousness accompanied by partial loss of
protective reflexes, including the inability to continually
maintain an airway independently and/or to respond
purposefully to verbal command, and is produced by a
pharmacologic or non-pharmacologic method or
combination thereof.

7.1.5  General Anesthesia -- is a controlled state of
unconsciousness accompanied by partial or complete loss of
protective reflexes, including inability to independently
maintain an airway and respond purposefully to physical
stimulation or verbal command, and is produced by a
pharmacologic or non-pharmacologic method or a
combination thereof.

The same level of advanced training is
necessary for the administration of both Deep Sedation and
General Anesthesia.

7.1.6  Adverse Occurrences -- any mortality or
other incident occurring in the out-patient facilities of such
dentist which results in temporary or permanent physical or
mental injury requiring hospitalization of said patient during,
or as a direct result of, the conscious sedation, or deep
sedation, or general anesthesia related thereto.

7.2  Conscious Sedation:
7.2.1  No dentist shall employ or use Conscious

Sedation, Restricted Permit I or Restricted Permit II, for
dental patients unless such dentist possesses a permit of
authorization issued by the Delaware State Board of Dental
Examiners. The dentist holding such a permit shall be
subject to review and such permit must be renewed
biennially.

7.2.2  In order to receive such a permit, the dentist
shall produce evidence showing that he or she:

7.2.2.1  For Restricted Permit I Conscious
Sedation:

7.2.2.1.1  Has completed a minimum of 60
hours of instruction, including management of at least 20
patients per participant (to achieve competency in this
technique).

7.2.2.1.2  Must be certified in CPR as
documented by the American Heart Association or the
American Red Cross.  Advanced Cardiac Life Support
Certification is encouraged.

7.2.2.1.3  Must also have a properly
equipped facility for the administration of Restricted Permit
I Conscious Sedation, staffed with a supervised team of
auxiliary personnel capable of reasonably handling
procedures, problems and emergencies incident thereto.
Adequacy of the facility and competence of the team is to be

determined by the Anesthesia Advisory Consultants
appointed by the Board.  A certified registered nurse
anesthetist may be utilized for Restricted Permit I Conscious
Sedation only if the dentist also possesses such a permit.
 7.2.3  A list of emergency drugs and equipment that
should be on hand would consist of the following:

7.2.3.1  Agents capable of treating:
7.2.3.1.1  hypotension and bradycardia
7.2.3.1.2  allergy/bronchospasm
7.2.3.1.3  seizures
7.2.3.1.4  narcotic-induced respiratory

depression (e.g., narcotic antagonists)
7.2.3.1.5  angina pectoris
7.2.3.1.6  adrenal insufficiency (e.g.,

steroids)
7.2.3.1.7  nausea

7.2.3.2  Equipment necessary to provide
artificial respiration and assist in airway maintenance.

7.2.3.3  Equipment necessary to establish an
intravenous infusion and to inject medications.

7.2.4  For Restricted Permit II Conscious Sedation:
7.2.4.1  Has completed a minimum of 14

instructional hours including supervised clinical experience
in managing patients (in a course required to achieve
competency in nitrous oxide inhalation sedation).

7.2.4.2  Must also show certification in cardio-
pulmonary resuscitation as certified by the American Heart
Association or the American Red Cross.

7.3  Deep Sedation and General Anesthesia
(Unrestricted Permit):

7.3.1  No dentist shall employ or use deep sedation
or general anesthesia for his/her dental patients unless such
dentist possesses a permit of authorization issued from the
Delaware State Board of Dental Examiners. This permit also
includes all Conscious Sedation techniques. The dentist
holding such a permit shall be subject to review and such
permit must be renewed biennially.

7.3.2  In order to receive such a permit, the dentist
must produce evidence showing that he/she:

7.3.2.1  Has completed a minimum of two
years of advanced training in anesthesiology and related
academic subjects (or its equivalent) beyond the
undergraduate dental school level in a training program as
described in Part II of the Guidelines for Teaching the
Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry  or,
is a Diplomat of the American Board of Oral and
Maxillofacial Surgeons, or has satisfactorily completed a
residency in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at an institution
approved by the Council of Dental Education, American
Dental Association, or is a fellow of the American Dental
Society of Anesthesiology, or employs or works in
conjunction with a trained M.D. or D.O. who is a member of
the anesthesiology staff of an accredited hospital, provided
that such anesthesiologist must remain on the premises of the
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dental facility until any patient given a general anesthetic or
deep sedation regains consciousness.  A certified registered
nurse anesthetist may be utilized for deep sedation or general
anesthesia only if the dentist also possesses an Unrestricted
Permit.

7.3.2.2  Has a properly equipped facility for the
administration of deep sedation and general anesthesia,
staffed with a supervised team of auxiliary personnel capable
of reasonably handling procedures, problems and
emergencies incident thereto.  Adequacy of the facility and
competence of the anesthesia team is determined by the
Anesthesia Advisory Committee Consultants appointed by
Delaware State Board of Dental Examiners.

7.3.2.3  And is certified in Advanced Cardiac
Life Support by the American Heart Association.

7.4  Facility and Staff Requirements:
7.4.1  Inspections:  Prior to the issuance of a permit

for Restricted Permit I (parenteral, enteral, or rectal
Conscious Sedation) or an Unrestricted Permit (Deep
Sedation or General Anesthesia), the Board shall require an
on site inspection of the facility, equipment and personnel to
determine if, in fact, the aforementioned requirements have
been met.  The evaluation shall be carried out in a manner
described by the Board.  The evaluation shall be carried out
by the Anesthesia Advisory Consultants appointed by the
Board.  Each office that the dentist utilizes for Restricted
Permit I Conscious Sedation or Deep Sedation or General
Anesthesia requires individual inspection and must meet the
requirements of that permit for which the dentist is applying.

7.4.2  Anesthesia Advisory Consultants:
7.4.2.1  The Board of Dental Examiners shall

appoint a team of Advisory Consultants and alternates who
will visit the facility concurrently to conduct the on-site
inspection and evaluation of the facilities, equipment and
personnel of a licensed dentist applying for written
authorization to administer or to employ another to
administer Restricted Permit I Conscious Sedation, or Deep
Sedation or General Anesthesia (Unrestricted Permit).  The
Advisory Consultants shall also aid the Board in the
adoption of criteria and standards relative to the regulation
and control of Conscious Sedation, Deep Sedation and
General Anesthesia. The Anesthesia Advisory Consultants
shall utilize the “Guidelines for the use of conscious
sedation, deep sedation and general anesthesia for Dentist”,
as approved by the American Dental Association in October
1996, or any current update thereof. If the applicant has been
satisfactorily evaluated by another similar organization (e.g.,
the Delaware Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
which uses the AAOMS Office Anesthesia Evaluation
Manual Standards), then the Board may accept this
evaluation and not require additional on-site evaluation.

7.4.2.2  If the results of the initial evaluation of
an applicant are deemed unsatisfactory, upon written request
of the applicant, a second evaluation shall be conducted by a

different team of consultants.
7.4.3  Re-evaluation:  The Board may at any time

re-evaluate credentials, facilities, equipment, personnel and
procedures of a licensed dentist who has previously received
a written authorization or permit from the Board to
determine if he/she is still qualified to have such written
authorization.  If the Board determines that the licensed
dentist is no longer qualified to have such written
authorization, it may revoke or refuse to renew such
authorization, after an opportunity for a hearing is given to
the licensed dentist.

7.5  Report of Adverse Occurrences:
7.5.1  All licensed dentists engaged in the practice

of dentistry in the State of Delaware must submit a complete
report within a period of thirty (30) days to the Delaware
State Board of Dental Examiners of any mortality or other
incident occurring in the out-patient facilities of such dentist
which results in temporary or permanent physical or mental
injury requiring hospitalization of said patient during, or as a
direct result of, the Conscious Sedation or Deep Sedation or
General Anesthesia related thereto.

7.5.2  Failure to comply with this rule when said
occurrence is related to the use of Conscious Sedation or
Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia may result in the loss
of such permit described above, and will be considered
unprofessional conduct.

7.6  Applications and Reapplications:
7.6.1  A dentist who desires to obtain a permit to

administer Conscious Sedation, Deep Sedation, or General
Anesthesia shall submit an application on the form provided
by the Board, pay the permit fee, and meet the requirements
for the permit described herein.

7.6.2  A dentist who desires to renew a permit shall
submit a renewal application on the form provided by the
Board and pay the permit renewal fee.  Re-inspection of the
facility, equipment, and staff shall not be necessary unless
new techniques or criteria arise, as determined by the Board
with the aid of the Anesthesia Advisory Committee.

7.6.3  A permit issued by the Board under these
regulations will expire at the same time as the permit
holder’s dental license and may be renewed biennially at the
same time as the dental license is renewed.

Rule 7 was revised on December 2, 1997, and went
into effect as of January 11, 1998.  (1 DE Reg. 852)

8.0  Certificate Requirement
An applicant for a license to practice dentistry shall

submit to the Board a Certificate issued by the National
Board of Dental Examiners showing he/she has completed
the National Board Examination with a score of at least 80
on each of Part I and Part 2 of the Examination.  (2/13/97).
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9.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

9.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.

9.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

9.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

9.4  A regulated professional with chemical dependency
or impairment due to addiction to drugs or alcohol may enter
into the Voluntary Treatment Option and continue to
practice, subject to any limitations on practice the
participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

9.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

9.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

9.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

9.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

9.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program.

9.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.  

9.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional that
failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment program
shall be reported to the participating Board's chairperson or
his/her designate or designates or to the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/ her designate by
the treating professional who shall be immune from any
liability for such reporting made in good faith and without
malice.  

9.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

9.7  The regulated professional's records of participation
in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not reflect
disciplinary action and shall not be considered public records
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open to public inspection. However, the participating Board
may consider such records in setting a disciplinary sanction
in any future matter in which the regulated professional's
chemical dependency or impairment is an issue.  

9.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.

9.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

9.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

9.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section in
good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

9.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

24 DE Admin. Code 3500
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 

Section 3506(a)(1)  (24 Del. C. § 3506(a)(1))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 3506(a)(1), the
Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists proposes to
revise its Rules and Regulations.  The proposed revisions
establish a regulation governing requests for postponement
of a matter that is scheduled to be heard by the Board.
Substantive changes include a requirement that a request for
postponement be in writing and submitted no less than three
business days prior to the date scheduled for the hearing.  In
addition, the proposed regulation establishes a maximum of

one postponement per party absent a showing of exceptional
circumstances.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Monday, June 4, 2001 at 9:00 a.m., in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904. The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Gayle
Franzolino at the above address.  The final date to submit
written comments shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed
Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the public
hearing should notify Gayle Franzolino at the above address
by calling (302) 739-4522, extension 220.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

Board of Examiners of Psychologists

1.0     General Rules and Regulations
2.0     Official Board Office
3.0     Meetings of the Board
4.0     Officers of the Board
5.0     Procedures for Licensure
6.0     Evaluation of Credentials
7.0     Supervised Experience
8.0     Failure to Pass Examination
9.0     Psychological Assistants
10.0   Continuing Education
11.0    Professional Conduct
12.0    Complaint Procedures
13.0    License Renewal
14.0    Procedures for Licensure Applicable to Full-Time
           Faculty Members in a Nationally Accredited 
           Doctoral Level Clinical Training Program in the
           State of Delaware
15.0    Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
           Dependent or Impaired Professionals
16.0    Hearings- Requests for Postponement

1.0  General Rules and Regulations
The Board of Examiners of Psychologists has been

established under the 24 Del.C. Ch. 35, and current
amendments to that Law.  Within the framework of the Law,
the Board has the responsibility for interpreting and
implementing the legal provisions and requirements of the
Law through the establishment of operating Rules and
Regulations.  The Board and the public may propose
changes in the Rules and Regulations in accordance with the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.
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2.0  Official Board Office
The official office of the Board of Examiners shall be in

Dover in the Division of Professional Regulation and all
correspondence must be addressed to this office in written
form before official action can be taken.  In addition, the
Division of Professional Regulation will provide an
Administrative Assistant who will take notes at Board
meetings, keep the records for the Board, and serve as a
liaison between the Board and members of the public who
have questions for the Board.  The Division of Professional
Regulation will also set fees to defray the cost of regulation.

3.0  Meetings of the Board
The Board will hold such meetings during the year as it

may deem necessary to review licensure applications and
psychological assistant applications, evaluate continuing
education, hold disciplinary hearings, or conduct other
Board business.  Either the President, or the majority of the
Board may call a Board meeting.  The Division of
Professional Regulation, Board members, and the public
shall be notified of the meeting agenda, time and location in
accordance with the Freedom of Information Act.

4.0  Officers of the Board
The Board elects its own officers at the first meeting of

each calendar year.  The President of the Board sets the
agendas of the meetings, chairs meetings, and represents the
Board at state regulatory meetings, the American
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards, and
other organizations that may interface with the Board unless
someone else is designated to attend in place of the
President.  The Vice President or Secretary acts for the
President in the President’s absence.  The Secretary of the
Board, in conjunction with the Administrative Assistant
from the Division of Professional Regulation, is responsible
for taking care of Board correspondence.

5.0  Procedures for Licensure
5.1  Application - Initial Licensure

An applicant who is applying for licensure as a
psychologist shall submit evidence showing that he/she
meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3508.  The applicant
must submit the following:

5.1.1  An application for licensure, which shall
include:

5.1.1.1  Academic credentials documented by
official transcripts showing completion of an educational
program meeting the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3508(a)(1).

5.1.1.2  Supervised experience documented by
having each supervisor complete a Supervisory Reference
Form.

5.1.1.3  Evidence that the applicant passed the
written “Examination for Professional Practice in
Psychology”, developed by the Association of State and

Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB), by achieving the
passing score recommended by the ASPPB at the time of the
application for licensure.  Candidates who are not licensed in
any other state must have passed the written examination
within five (5) years of application for licensure in
Delaware. Applicants who have not taken the examination
must submit all other required documents to the Board for
review prior to sitting for the examination.  Only  those
applicants the Board determines are otherwise eligible for
Delaware licensure shall be approved to sit for the
examination, subject to the administration policies and
procedures of the ASPPB.  After sitting for the examination,
applicants must supplement their application materials by
submitting evidence of their passing score as recommended
by the ASPPB. 

See 3 DE Reg 1067 (2/1/00)
5.1.1.4  Verification that the applicant has no

past or pending disciplinary proceedings.  [24 Del.C.
§3508(a)(4)]

5.1.1.5  The application shall not be considered
complete until all materials are received by the Board for
review at an officially scheduled meeting.  The applicant
will have twelve (12) months from the date of initial
submission of the application and fee to complete the
application process.

5.1.2  Completed certification form.  The applicant
will be notified, once his/her application is complete and
available for the Board’s review.  The certification form
must be submitted before any further action can be taken.

5.2  Application - By Reciprocity
An applicant who is applying for licensure as a

psychologist by reciprocity, as defined in 24 Del.C. §3511,
shall submit evidence that he/she meets the following
requirements:

5.2.1  An application for licensure, which shall
include:

5.2.1.1  Evidence that the applicant is licensed
or certified in another state and that the applicant has
practiced continuously, as a doctoral-level psychologist, in
good standing in that jurisdiction for two (2) years.

5.2.1.2  Evidence that the applicant passed the
written Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology
(EPPP).  The Board shall accept a score of 70% or better, or,
for examinations taken prior to 1992, the minimum passing
score accepted by the Delaware Board in the year the
examination was taken.

See 4 DE Reg. 979 (12/1/00)
5.2.2  Completed certification form.  The applicant

will be notified once his/her application is complete and
available for the Board’s review.  The certification form
must be submitted before any further action can be taken.

6.0  Evaluation of Credentials
6.1  Candidates for licensure as psychologists in the
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State of Delaware shall:
6.1.1  Have received a doctoral degree based on a

program of studies which is  psychological in content and
specifically designed to train and prepare psychologists.  The
doctoral degree must be from  a college or university,
accredited as required by 24 Del.C. §3508(a)(1) having a
graduate program which states its purpose to be the training
and preparation of psychologists Graduates of non-United
States (U.S.) degree programs will be required to have their
credentials evaluated by a credential evaluation service
approved by the National Association of Credential
Evaluation Services, to determine equivalency to the
accreditation requirements of §3508(a)(1) and equivalency
of psychological content and training.  The Board will
consider programs to be psychological in  content by the
criteria established by the joint designation project of the
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards and
the Council for the National Register of Health Service
Providers in Psychology, as follows:

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)
See 4 DE Reg. 980 (12/1/00)

6.1.1.1  Programs that are accredited by the
American Psychological Association are recognized as
meeting the definition of a professional psychology
program.  The criteria for accreditation serves as a model for
professional psychology training.

6.1.1.2  Or, all of the following criteria, (1)
through (9):

6.1.1.2.1  Training in professional
psychology is doctoral training offered in a regionally
accredited institution of higher education.

6.1.1.2.2  The program, wherever it may
be administratively housed,  must be clearly identified and
labeled as a psychology program.  Such program must
specify in pertinent institutional catalogues and brochures its
intent to educate and train professional psychologists.

6.1.1.2.3  The psychology program must
stand as a recognizable, coherent organizational entity
within the institution.

6.1.1.2.4  There must be a clear authority
and primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas
whether or not the program cuts across administrative lines.

6.1.1.2.5  The program must be an
integrated, organized sequence of study.

6.1.1.2.6  There must be an identifiable
psychology faculty and a psychologist responsible for the
program.

6.1.1.2.7  The program must include a
body of students who are matriculated in  that program for a
degree.

6.1.1.2.8  The program must include
supervised  practicum, internship,  field or laboratory
training appropriate to the practice of psychology.

6.1.1.2.9  The curriculum shall encompass

a minimum of three (3) academic years of full time graduate
study.  In addition to instruction in scientific and
professional ethics and standards research design and
methodology, statistics, and psychometrics, the  core
program shall require each student to demonstrate
competence in each of the following substantive content
areas.  This typically will be met by including a minimum of
three or more graduate semester hours (5 or more graduate
quarter hours) in each of these 4 substantive content areas:

6.1.1.2.9.1  Biological bases of
behavior:  Physiological psychology, comparative
psychology, neuropsychology, sensation and perception,
psychopharmacology.

6.1.1.2.9.2  Cognitive-affective bases
of behavior: Learning, thinking, motivation, emotion.

6.1.1.2.9.3  Social bases of behavior:
Social psychology, group processes, organizational and
systems theory.

6.1.1.2.9.4  Individual differences:
Personality theory, human development, abnormal
psychology.

6.1.1.3  In addition, all professional education
programs in psychology will include course requirements in
specialty areas.

6.2  Have had, after receiving the doctoral degree, at
least 2 years of supervised experience in psychological work
satisfactory to the Board; and

6.3  Have achieved the passing score on the written
standardized Examination for Professional Practice in
Psychology (EPPP) developed by the Association of State
and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) or its successor;
or

6.4  The Board will qualify for licensing without
examination any person who applies for licensure and who is
a Diplomate of the American Board of Professional
Psychology.  All such applicants must meet all other
requirements for licensure.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

7.0  Supervised Experience
The types of supervision pertinent to licensure as a

psychologist or registration as a psychological assistant are
comprised of three types of supervisory experiences:

7.1  Predoctoral internship supervision as required by
doctoral programs in psychology.  The predoctoral
internship consists of a minimum of 1,500 hours of actual
work experience completed in not less than 48 weeks, nor
more than 104 weeks.  At least 50% of the predoctoral
supervised experience must be in clinical services such as
treatment, consultation, assessment, and report writing, with
at least 25% of that time devoted to face-to-face direct
patient/client contact.  No more than 25% of time shall be
allocated for research.

7.2  Postdoctoral supervision is required for initial
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licensure as a psychologist. Postdoctoral experience must
consist of 3,000 hours of actual work experience.  This
experience is to be completed in not less than two years and
not more than three calendar years, save for those covered
under 24 Del.C. §3519(e).  For those individuals the accrual
of 3,000 hours of supervised postdoctoral experience must
take place within six calendar years from the time of hire.
There is to be one hour of face-to-face supervision for every
1-10 hours of clinical work.  This experience shall consist of
at least twenty-five percent and not more than sixty percent
of the time devoted to direct service per week in the area of
the applicant’s academic training. “Direct service” consists
of any activity defined as the practice of psychology or the
supervision of graduate students engaging in activities
defined as the practice of psychology. Not more than 25% of
this supervision can be done by other licensed mental health
professionals besides psychologists.  

The purpose of the postdoctoral supervision is to
train psychologists to practice at an independent level. This
experience should be an organized educational and training
program with explicit goals and a clear plan to meet those
goals.  There should be regular written evaluations based on
this program.  

7.3  Supervision of psychological assistants is required
at the frequency of one hour of face-to-face supervision for
every 1-10 hours of clinical work by the psychological
assistants, as required by Section 9 of the Rules and
Regulations.  An individual registered as a psychological
assistant may or may not be receiving supervision in pursuit
of independent licensure as a psychologist.

7.4  A psychologist providing either postdoctoral
supervision or supervision of psychological assistants must
have been in practice for two years post licensure in this or
any other state without having been subject to any
disciplinary actions.  He/she must provide 24-hour
availability to both the supervisee and the supervisee’s
clients, or ensure that adequate alternative coverage is
provided in the supervisor’s absence. The supervising
psychologist shall have sufficient knowledge of all clients
including face-to-face contact when necessary and must be
employed or under contract in the setting where the clinical
service takes place and the supervision must occur within
that setting.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

8.0  Failure to Pass Examination
Applicants may take the Examination for the

Professional Practice in Psychology as many times as they
choose. Intervals between testing will be determined by the
testing agency and the ASPPB.

9.0  Psychological Assistants
9.1  A psychological assistant is an individual who

meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. Section 3509(2a-2e).

This individual may be registered as a psychological
assistant in order to receive supervision to be eligible for
later licensure to practice independently as a psychologist
and/or for any other reason as recognized by law. 

9.2  Psychological assistants are supervised, directed,
and evaluated by a Delaware licensed psychologist who
assumes professional and legal responsibility for the services
provided.
  9.2.1  Any Delaware licensed psychologist who has
had a least two (2) years of experience following the
granting of licensure in this or in any other state may
supervise a maximum of seven (7) psychological assistants.  

9.2.2  It is the responsibility of the supervising
psychologist in conjunction with the psychological assistant
to diagnose and form treatment plans for patients seen by the
psychological assistant and to file such plan in the patient/
client’s chart.  

9.2.3  The patient/client must be informed that
services are being delivered by a psychological assistant and
that the licensed psychologist is responsible for the
treatment.
  9.2.4  The patient/client shall sign a statement of
informed consent attesting that he/she understands that the
services are being delivered by a psychological assistant and
that the licensed psychologist is ultimately responsible for
his/her treatment. This document shall include the
supervising psychologist’s name and the telephone number
where he/she can be reached.  One copy shall be filed with
the patient/client’s record and another given to the patient.  

9.3  The Delaware licensed psychologist is identified as
the legally and ethically responsible party in all advertising,
public announcements, and billings.  In addition, billings and
advertisements will clearly indicate that the service is being
provided by a psychological assistant.  All treatment and
evaluation reports prepared by the psychological assistant
must be signed by the psychologist and the psychological
assistant.

9.4  The Delaware licensed psychologist who accepts
the responsibility of using a psychological assistant shall
develop and maintain a current, written job description
delineating the range and type of duties, educational
practicum and clinical experience to be assigned to the
psychological assistant, limits of independent action,
emergency procedures for contacting the  supervising
psychologist, and the amount and type of supervision to be
provided.  This job description must be signed by the
psychologist and the psychological assistant and will be filed
in the Division of Professional Regulation, along with an
official copy of the psychological assistant’s college
transcript, and proof of a 450-hour clinical practicum
supervised by a licensed psychologist or by a faculty
member in a nationally accredited doctoral level clinical
training program in the State of Delaware who is actively
pursuing licensure.  The psychological assistant will also
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provide a statement under oath as outlined in 24 Del.C.
§3509(b1 - b3).
  9.5  The Board will then review credentials, job
description and supervisory arrangements, and if the
arrangements are acceptable, will inform the psychologist in
writing that the psychological assistant can begin work. No
psychological assistant shall begin work until the Board has
approved the application.  Registration for psychological
assistants expires biennially and continued performance of
the duties of a psychological assistant requires proof of
twenty (20) hours of continuing education and payment of
the renewal fee.

9.6  Supervision of the psychological assistant by the
Delaware licensed psychologist is to be a regular and formal
process.  It is required that the licensed psychologist and the
psychological assistant have weekly one-on-one, face-to-
face supervision with review of each case served by the
psychological assistant.  The supervising psychologist
should be familiar with each patient/client seen by the
psychological assistant and with the ongoing progress of
treatment. One hour of supervision for every ten hours, or
fraction thereof, of direct clinical work by the psychological
assistant is required as a minimum.  For example, if a
psychological assistant provides eight (8) hours of direct
clinical service, he or she must receive a minimum of one (1)
hour of supervision.  Likewise, a psychological assistant,
who has fifteen (15) hours of direct clinical contact, must
receive at least two (2) hours of supervision.  This
supervision must be documented in writing on patient
records.  In addition, the supervising psychologist shall
submit at the time of relicensure and at the termination of the
supervision relationship a supervision report on a form
provided by the Board which will become a part of the
public record.  It will contain information describing the date
and amount of supervision and any unscheduled supervisory
contact, as well as a brief assessment of the psychological
assistant’s functioning.  The Board will consider requests to
substitute group supervision for some portion of the one-to-
one, face-to-face supervision requirement.  A supervising
psychologist must petition the Board and show good cause
for this substitution.   If the supervising psychologist’s
request is granted, no more than five (5) psychological
assistants may meet with the supervising psychologist at one
time and there must be two (2) hours of group supervision in
place of every one (1) hour of individual supervision.  All
psychological assistants must have at least one (1) hour of
individual supervision per week. The Board reserves the
right to withdraw their permission for the substitution at any
time.  

9.7  Psychological Assistants are to work in the office of
the licensed psychologist so as to have regular and continued
supervision.  When the licensed psychologist is not in the
office, he or she is expected to provide clear contingency
plans for consultation for the psychological assistant.  It is

assumed that the psychologist will be available to the
psychological assistant under most circumstances; therefore,
arrangements in which the supervising psychologist is
employed full time elsewhere will not be approved, unless it
can be demonstrated that there will be adequate supervision
and contingency coverage of the psychological assistant.
Supervising psychologists will be expected to describe in
their application for the psychological assistant how much
supervision they will provide and how that supervision will
be provided.

9.8  Psychological assistants who work for agencies
must be supervised by a psychologist employed by or under
contract to the agency.  Supervision must occur on site, and
the agency must have clearly spelled out plans for providing
consultation and backup when the supervising psychologist
is not on site.  A psychological assistant, who provides
services that are under the direction of different
psychologists, must be registered as a psychological
assistant by all of the psychologists who are directly
supervising the clinical work.

9.9  When there is a complaint of incompetent,
improper, or unethical behavior on the part of the
psychological assistant, in addition to the disciplinary action
against the psychological assistant, disciplinary action may
be taken against the supervising psychologist for failing to
provide adequate supervision of the psychological assistant.
The Board reserves the right to suspend or revoke the
Delaware licensed psychologist's privilege of hiring a
psychological assistant when just cause has been established
through a formal hearing.  Violation of this regulation may
constitute cause for suspending or revoking the future
privilege of hiring a  psychological assistant.

9.10  Patients/clients are always the responsibility of the
supervising psychologist.  Termination or transfer plans
must be worked out with the approval of the supervising
psychologist.  A  psychological assistant will be considered
to be working for the supervising psychologist until the
Board of Examiners is notified in writing of the change in
arrangements.  The letter terminating a psychological
assistant arrangement must also specify when the
supervising psychologist is terminating the arrangement
because of concerns about the ethical or professional
behavior of the psychological assistant.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

10.0  Continuing Education
10.1  Psychologists must obtain 40 hours of continuing

education every two years in order to be eligible for renewal
of license.  Psychologists will be notified in January that
they may submit their documentation beginning March 1st.
Continuing education credit must be submitted for the period
of August 1st of the year of renewal to July 31st of the
second year.  Individuals licensed within the two year period
will be notified by the Board of the prorated amount to
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submit.
10.2  Psychological assistants must obtain 20 hours of

continuing education every two years for re-registration.
Psychological assistants may submit their documentation
beginning March 1st.  The appropriate period for credits to
be accrued is from August 1st of the year of renewal to July
31st of the second year.  Psychological assistants registered
within the two year period will be notified by the Board of
the prorated amount to submit.

10.3  Psychologists or psychological assistants who
have not submitted their material by July 31st  will be
allowed  to reapply for licensure or registration  until August
31st.  In the situation where the appropriate amount of
documentation has been submitted in a timely fashion and in
good faith and with reasonable expectation of renewal, but
has been found to be inadequate, the practitioner has 30 days
from the notification of inadequacy to submit valid
continuing education credit in the amount specified, or until
August 31st of that year, whichever is later.

Hardship.  An applicant for license renewal or
registered psychological assistant may be granted an
extension of time in which to complete continuing education
hours upon a showing of good cause.  “Good cause” may
include, but is not limited to, disability, illness, extended
absence from the jurisdiction and exceptional family
responsibilities.  Requests for hardship consideration must
be submitted to the Board in writing prior to the end of the
licensing period, along with payment of the appropriate
renewal fee.  No extension shall be granted for more than
120 days after the end of the licensing period.  A license
shall be renewed upon approval of the hardship extension by
the Board, but the license shall be subject o revocation if the
licensee does not complete the requisite continuing
education pursuant to the terms of the extension.

See 4 DE Reg. 983 (12/1/00)
10.4  It is the responsibility of the psychologist or

psychological assistant to file a record of his/her continuing
education.  Documentation of continuing education will
consist of letters/certificates of attendance from the
sponsoring entity.

10.5  The subject of the continuing education must
contribute directly to the professional competency of a
person licensed to practice as a psychologist or registered as
a psychological assistant.  The activity must have significant
intellectual or practical content and deal with psychological
techniques, issues or ethical standards relevant to the
practice of psychology.

10.6  Activities from APA-approved continuing
education sponsors will be automatically accepted.  The
following may be eligible:

10.6.1  Other programs which are not APA-
approved sponsors but where the material is relevant to
professional practice and provides the equivalent of APA-
defined credit.  An applicant must provide a brochure or

other documentation that supports the following criteria:
relevance, stated objectives, faculty and educational
objectives.  To document attendance and completion, a
certificate of attendance is required.  In these circumstances,
hours will be accrued on the basis of clock hours involved in
the training.

10.6.2  Graduate courses relevant to professional
practice taken for educational credit offered by a regionally
accredited academic institution of higher education.  Each
credit hour of a course is equivalent to 5 CE hours.

10.6.3  Teaching an undergraduate or graduate level
course in applied psychology at an accredited institution.
Teaching a 3 hour semester or quarter course is considered
the equivalent of 5 CE credits.  No more than 5 CE credits
may be completed in this manner for any renewal period and
can be submitted only for the first time that a course is
presented.  Appropriate documentation of teaching must
include the listing of the course in the school catalog and a
letter from the academic institution stating that the course
was taught.

10.6.4  Teaching of a workshop or conduction of a
seminar on a topic of pertinence to the practice of
psychology.  Credit earned for one day is a maximum of 2
credits, two days is a maximum of 3 credits, and three days
or more is a maximum of 5 credits.  However, credit can be
earned only once for teaching a particular seminar or
workshop and not be eligible for re-submission at any time.
Appropriate documentation is considered to be the brochure
and demonstration of the workshop being held by the
sponsoring entity.

10.6.5  Authorship, editing or reviewing of a
publication.  Credit may be earned only in the year of the
publication and is limited to the following:

10.6.5.1  Author of a book (maximum of 40 CE
hours)

10.6.5.2  Author of a book chapter or journal
article (maximum of 15 CE hours)

10.6.5.3  Editor of a book (maximum of 25 CE
hours)

10.6.5.4  Editor of or reviewer for a scientific
or professional journal recognized by the Board (maximum
25 CE hours)

10.6.5.5  Proof of the above (10.6.5.1 -
10.6.5.4) must include the submission of the work or
documentation of authorship by copy of title pages.
 10.6.6  Preparing and presenting a scientific or
professional paper or poster at a meeting of a professional or
scientific  organization.  Up to 2 hours may be claimed for a
poster presentation.  Up to 3 hours of credit may be claimed
for each hour of paper presentation, with a maximum of 8
CE hours per paper.  Listing within the program and
certificate letters of attendance at the meeting is appropriate
documentation for both a paper or poster presentation.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)
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10.7  The Board reserves the right to reject any CE
program, if it is outside the scope of the practice of
psychology.

10.8  The following will not be considered for credit:
service to organizations; attending business meetings of
professional organizations; business management or office
administration courses; group supervision; or case
conferences.  

11.0  Professional Conduct
Psychologists and psychological assistants may be

disciplined for violations of provisions of 24 Del.C. §3514.

12.0  Complaint Procedures
12.1  Complaints against psychologists and

psychological assistants will be investigated as provided by
29 Del.C. §8807 and all hearings shall be conducted in
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 29
Del.C. Chapter 101.

12.2  Complaints must be filed, in writing, with the
Division of Professional Regulation.

13.0  License Renewal
13.1  Renewal notices will be mailed to the current

address on file in the Board’s records in a timely fashion to
all psychologists and psychological assistants who are
currently licensed or registered.   It shall be the responsibility
of each psychologist and psychological assistant to advise
the Board, in writing, of a change of name or address.

13.2   Continuing education requirements must be
fulfilled as detailed in Section 10.0 of the Rules and
Regulations and submitted along with the established fee for
renewal to be approved.  The Board may, in its discretion,
grant a license renewal under the terms of a continuing
education hardship extension pursuant to rule 10.3 .  Should
any psychologist fail to renew or obtain a hardship extension
and continue to make representation as a licensed
psychologist beyond July 31st, that individual is practicing
without a license.  Should any psychological assistant fail to
renew or obtain a hardship extension and continue to make
representation as a registered psychological assistant beyond
July 31st, that individual is considered no longer to be
registered, and his/her supervising psychologist is in
violation of the law.

See 4 DE Reg. 984 (12/1/00)

14.0  Procedures for Licensure Applicable to Full Time
Faculty Members in a Nationally Accredited Doctoral
Level Clinical Training Program in the State of Delaware

14.1  University faculty employed full time in a
nationally accredited doctoral level clinical training program
in the State of Delaware, as specified in 24 Del.C. §3519(e),
who are not licensed, are subject to the following rules and
regulations:

14.1.1  Notification.  Such individuals must notify
the Board of Examiners of Psychologists no later than 30
days after the commencement of employment, indicating
employer, position and date employment began.  At that time
they will receive a copy of the statute and Rules and
Regulations which detail the exemption under which they
operate.

14.1.2  Professional Activities.  These individuals
may participate in activities defined by statute as the practice
of psychology (including the supervision of matriculated
graduate students) only within the context of a clinical
training program.  They may conduct any research and
teaching activities related to the activities of such a program.

14.1.3  Education.  Such individuals must have
completed the doctoral degree at the time employment
commences consistent with 24 Del.C. §3508(a).

14.1.4  Active Pursuit of Licensure.  Such
individuals are required to be in active pursuit of licensure
for a period not to exceed six (6) years.  The six year time
frame for the completion of licensure requirements
commences with the initial date of employment.  The six-
year time frame for individuals employed as of June 12,
1995 commenced on that date.

14.1.5  Supervision.  The supervised experience
required for licensure of such individuals is described in
Section 7.0 of the Rules and Regulations.  

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

15.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

15.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.

15.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

15.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

15.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
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continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

15.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

15.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

15.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

15.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

15.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

15.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to

be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.  

15.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

15.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

15.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.  

15.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

15.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

15.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

15.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
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reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

15.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

16.0 Hearings-Requests for Postponement
Requests for postponements of any matter scheduled

before the Board shall be submitted to the Board’s office in
writing no less than three (3) business days before the date
scheduled for the hearing.  Absent a showing of exceptional
circumstances, there shall be a maximum of one
postponement allowed to each party to any hearing.

APPENDIX A

“Professional psychology” refers to psychology as a
profession. The term is not intended in the more restrictive
sense of applied or practice areas of psychology since the
intent is for a generic designation system.

“Professional psychology” refers to psychology as a
profession. The term is not intended in the more restrictive
sense of applied or practice areas of psychology since the
intent is for a generic designation system.

6.1.1.2.1 refers to an institution with regional
accreditation in the United States, an institution with
provincial authorization in Canada, or in other countries, or
an institution that is accredited by a body which was deemed
by the ASPPB/National Register Joint Designation
Committee to be performing a function equivalent to U.S.
regional accrediting bodies.

In reference to “instruction in scientific and professional
ethics and standards” rule 6.1.1.2.9, it is understood that a
course of three or more graduate semester hours (five or
more graduate quarter hours) or its equivalent is highly
desirable; substantial instruction in these issues is required.

It is understood that rule 6.1.1.2.9 includes the
requirement of a minimum of one year’s residency at the
educational institution granting the doctoral degree.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 
Sections 3001A-3006A (16 Del.C. §§3001A-

3006A)

Training and Qualifications for Nursing Assistants and 
Certified Nursing Assistants

PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware Health & Social Services (DHSS), in

compliance with Senate Bill 20 passed in the 140th General
Assembly, has prepared draft regulations governing training
and qualifications for nursing assistants and certified nursing
assistants as required in Title 16 Del.C., Chapter 30A. 

These regulations address certified nursing assistant
training, the composition of the certified nursing assistant
training course and curriculum, the mandatory orientation
period and senior certified nursing assistant certification.
Public hearings will be held as follows:

Thursday, May 24, 2001, 10 am – noon
Springer Building Training Room
Herman Holloway Campus
Delaware Health & Social Services
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE

Thursday, May 31, 2001, 10 am - noon
Department of Natural Resources & Environmental

Control*
89 Kings Highway
Dover

[*Traveling on Rt. 1/Rt. 13 to Smyrna, stay on Rt. 1 to Exit
#104 for North Dover.  Take this exit south on Rt. 13,
passing the Rt. 8 intersection, to Lockerman Street. Turn
right onto Lockerman (at the Burger King). Go to the second
traffic light and turn right onto State Street, then make an
immediate right onto Kings Highway.  Go about 1 block and
it is the big, two-story, brick building on the right just after
the Merrill Lynch Building.  Enter through the double doors
at the front of the building.]

For clarifications or additional directions to either
location, please call Gina Loughery or Joan Reynolds at 577-
6661.

Written comments are also invited on these proposed
new regulations and should be sent to the following address:

Elise MacEwen
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

Such comments must be received by June 1, 2001.

The Regulations shown below, currently in place, are
being replaced in their entirety by the new ones being
submitted for publication on May 1, 2001.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dltc/dltchome.htm
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57.606  NURSE AIDE/NURSE ASSISTANT
REQUIREMENTS:

Each nurse aide/nurse assistant employed by any nursing
home either as contract/agency or facility staff as of October
1, 1990 shall be required to meet the following:

A.  Training/Testing
1.  Nurse aide/nurse assistant  shall complete a nurse

aide training course approved by the Delaware State Board
of Nursing and by the State Board of Health.

2.  Nurse aide/nurse assistant  is required to pass
competency evaluation test approved by the State of
Delaware.

3.  Employees of Delaware nursing homes shall by duly
certified within 4 months of employment.

4.  Contract aides must be certified prior to placement in
any nursing home.

B.  A nurse aide/nurse assistant who has not performed
nursing related services for pay for a continuous 24 month
period after completion of a training and testing program,
must complete and pass a new training and competency
evaluation (testing) program.

C.  A nurse aide/nurse assistant who has not been employed
in health care setting for three years will be required to meet
the requirements in Section (A) above.

D.  A nurse aide/nurse assistant trained and certified outside
the State of Delaware may be deemed qualified to meet the
Board of Health requirements based on a case by case review
and approval.

E.  Employees hired as nurse aide/nurse assistant who are
currently, enrolled in a nursing program and have
satisfactorily completed the fundamentals of nursing course
with a clinical component will be deemed to meet the
training and testing requirements.  These individuals will be
approved with submittal of a letter from their school of
nursing attesting to current enrollment status and satisfactory
course completion as described.

57.607  NURSE AIDE TRAINING PROGRAM
CURRICULUM

The following material identifies the minimum curriculum
content for nurse aides/nursing assistants being prepared to
work in nursing home facilities either as direct or contract
staff.

The curriculum content for the nurse aide training program .
must include material which will provide a basic level of
both knowledge and demonstratable skills for each

individual completing the program. The program must be a
minimum of 75 hours in length, divided equally between
skills training and classroom instruction. Additional hours
may be in either of these areas or both.

Programs may expand the curriculum content to provide
opportunities for nurse aides to be placed in settings where
nurse aides/nursing assistants are employed to perform basic
skills as.delegated by a licensed nurse in support of a
professional plan of care.

A.  THE NURSE AIDE ROLE AND FUNCTION

Key Concepts:
Introduces the characteristics of an effective nurse aide: .
personal attributes, onthejob conduct, appearance, grooming,
health and ethical behavior. Also presented are the
responsibilities of the nurse aide as a member of the patient
care team. Legal aspects of patient care and patient rights are
presented. Relevant Federal and State statutes are
referenced.

Competencies:

A.1  Function as a nurse aide within the legal and ethical
standards setforth by the profession of nursing.

A.1.1  Define the role and functions of the nurse aide
and provide awareness of the legal limitations of being a
nurse aide.

A.1.2  Recognize the responsibilities of the nurse aide as
a member of the health care team.

A.1.3  Identify the "chain of command" in the
organizational structure of the health care agency.

A.1.4  Maintain acceptable.personal hygiene and exhibit
appropriate dress practices.

A.1.5  Recognize the importance of punctuality and
commitment on the job.

A.1.6  Differentiate between ethical and unethical
behavior on the job.

A.2  Demonstrate behavior which maintains resident's and/or
client's rights.

A.2.1  Provide privacy and maintenance of
confidentiality.

A.2.2  Promote the resident's right to make personal
choices to accommodate individual needs.

A.2.3  Give assistance in resolving grievances.
A.2.4  Provide needed assistance in giving to and

participating in resident and family groups and other
activities.

A.2.5  Maintain care and security of resident's personal
possessions.

A.2.6  Provide care which maintains the residents free
from abuse, mistreatment or neglect and report any instances
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of such poor care to appropriate facility staff.
A.2.7 Maintain the resident's environment and care

through appropriate nurse aide behavior so as to minimize
the need for physical and chemical restraints.

B.  Environmental Needs of the Patient

Key Concepts:Introduces the nurse aide to the need to keep
patients safe from injury and infection in the longterm care
setting. The nurse aide is taught why and how to use
infection control and isolation techniques. Safety through
prevention of fires and accidents, and emergency procedures
for fire and other disasters are presented.

Competencies:
B.1  Apply the basic principles of infection control.

B.1.1  Identify how diseases are transmitted.
B.1.2  Demonstrate handwashing technique.
B.1.3  Perform basic cleaning, disinfecting, and

sterilizing tasks.
B.1.4  Demonstrate proper isolation and safety

techniques in care of infectious resident.

B.2  Assist with basic emergency procedures.
B.2.1  Follow safety and emergency procedures.
B.2.2  Identify safety measures that prevent accidents to

residents.
B.2.3  Recognize signs, when a resident is choking or

may have an obstructed airway.
B.2.4 Assist with clearing obstructed airway.
B.2.5  Call for help when encountering convulsive

disorders, loss of consciousness, shock, hemorrhage,and
assist the resident until professional help arrives.

B.2.6  Follow disaster procedures.
B.2.7  Report emergencies accurately and immediately.
B.2.8  Identify potential fire hazards.

B.3  Provide a safe, clean environment.
B.3.1  Identify the resident's need for a clean and

comfortable environment.
B.3.2 Report unsafe conditions.
B.3.3  Report pests.
B.3.4 Report nonfunctioning equipment.
B.3.5 Prepare soiled linen for laundry.
B.3.6   Clean and disinfect unit for admission or

following discharge.
B.3.7   Arrange furniture and equipment for the

resident's convenience.

C.  PSYCHOSOCIAL NEEDS OF THE PATIENT

Key Concepts:Focus is placed on the social, emotional,
recreational and religious needs of patients in a long term
care setting. It describes some of the physical, mental, and

emotional changes associated with aging and
institutionalization, and presents ways in which the nurse
aide may effectively communicate with patients and their
families.

Competencies:

C.1 Demonstrates appropriate and effective communication
skills.

C.1.1  Demonstrate effective verbal and nonverbal
communications in keeping with the nurse aide's role with
residents and their families.

C.1.2  Observe by using'the senses of sight, hearing,
touch and smell to report resident behavior to the licensed
nurse.

C.1.3  Document observations using appropriate terms.
C.1.4  Recognize the importance of maintaining the

patient's record.
C.1.5  Communicate with residents according to their

state of development.
C.2  Demonstrate basic skills by identifying the psychosocial
characteristics of the populations being served in the nursing
facility including persons with mental retardation, mental
illness and persons with dementia, Alzheimerfs disease and
related disorders.

C.2.1  Indicate the ways to meet the resident's basic
human needs for life and mental well being.

C.2.2  Modify his/her own behavior in response to
resident's behavior.

C.2.3  Identify developmental tasks associated with the
aging process.

C.2.4  Provide training in, and the opportunity for, self
care according to resident"s capabilities.

C.2.5  Demonstrate principles of behavior management
by reinforcing appropriate behavior and reducing or
eliminating inappropriate behavior.

C.2.6  Demonstrate skills supporting age appropriate
behavior by allowing the resident to make personal choices,
providing and reinforcing other behavior consistent with
resident's dignity.

C.2.7  Utilize resident's family as a source of emotional
support.

C.2.8  Recognize how age, illness and disability affect
sexuality.

D.  PHYSICAL NEEDS OF THE PATIENT

Key ConceptsPresents the basic skills which nurse use in the
physical care of patients. nurse aide will learn basic facts
about systems and what is needed to promote functioning.
The nurse aide will lear provide physical care to patients safe
to keep the patient clean, dry comfortable. The nurse aide
will also learn to make observations regarding patients and
to record and/or report observations. The nurse aide will
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learn to maintain range of motion while providing physical
care to patient. Introduction of the basics of range of motion
and its integration into routine personal care activities.

Competencies:
D.1  Apply the principles of basic nutrition in the preparation
and serving of meals.

D.1.1  List general principles of  basic nutrition.
D.1.2  Read the instructions for special diets.
D.1.3  Serve prepared foods as instructed.
D.1.4  Identify cultural variations in diet.

D.2  Recognize abnormal signs and symptoms of common
diseases and conditions. Examples are:

D.2.1  Upper respiratory infection – Report coughing,
sneezing, elevated temperatures, etc.

D.2.2  Diabetes  Report excessive thirst, frequent
urination, change in urine output and  drowsiness, excessive
perspiration and headache.

D.2.3 Urinary tract infection  Report frequent urination,
burning or pain on urination, change in color of urine, blood
or sediment in urine and strong odors.

D.2.4  Cardiovascular conditions – Report shortness of
breath, chest pain, blue color to lips, indigestion, sweating,
change in pulse, etc

D.2.5  Cerebral vascular conditions – Report dizziness,
changes in vision such as seeing double, etc., change in
blood pressure, numbness in any part of the body, or
inability to move arm or leg, etc.

D. 2.6  Skin conditions  Report break in skin,
discoloration such as redness, black and blue areas, rash,
itching, etc.

D.2.7 Gastrointestinal conditions – Report nausea,
vomiting, pain, inability to swallow, bowel movement
changes such as color, diarrhea, constipation.  (Continue to
list common diseases and conditions based on the population
being served.)

D.3  Provide personal care and basic nursing skills as
directed by the licensed nurse.

D.3.1  Provide for resident's privacy when providing
personal care.

D.3.2  Assist the resident to dress and undress.
D.3.3  Assist the resident with bathing and personal

grooming.
D.3.4  Observe and report condition of the skin.
D.3.5  Assist the resident with oral hygiene.
D.3.6  Administer oral hygiene for the unconscious

resident.
D.3.7  Demonstrate measures to prevent decubitus,

ulcers, i.e., positioning, turning, and applying heel and elbow
protectors.

D.3.8  Assist the resident in using the bathroom.
D.3.9  Assist the resident in using a bedside commode,

urinal and bedpan.
D.3.10  Demonstrate proper bed making procedures.
D.3.11  Feed residents oral table foods in an appropriate

manner.
D.3.12  Distribute nourishment and water.
D.3.13  Accurately measure and record:

a. intake and output
b. height and weight
c. T,P,R

D.3.14  Assist the resident with.shaving.
D.3.15  Shampoo and groom hair.
D.3.16  Provide basic care of toenails and fingernails if

appropriate.
D.3.17 Assist with catheter care.
D.3.18 Assist the professional nurse with a physical

examination.
D.3.19  Apply a nonsterile dressing.
D.3.20  Apply nonsterile compresses and soaks.
D.3.21  Apply cold and/or heat applications.

D.4  Demonstrate skills which incorporate principles of
restorative care under the direction of a licensed nurse.

D.4.1  Assist the resident in bowel and bladder training.
D.4.2  Assist the resident in activities of daily living and

encourage self help activities.
D.4.3  Assist the resident with ambulation aids, i.e.,

cane, quadcane, walker, crutches, wheelchair and transfer

aids, i.e.1 hydraulic lifts.
D.4.4  Perform range of motion exercise as instructed by

the physical therapist or the professional nurse.
D.4.5  Assist in care and use of prosthetic devices.
D.4.6  Assist the resident in proper use of body

mechanics.
D.4.7  Assist the resident with dangling, standing and

walking.
D.4.8  Demonstrate proper turning and/or positioning

both in bed and in a chair.
D.4.9  Demonstrate proper technique of transferring

resident from bed to chair.

D.5  One man cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) skills in
the checking of conscious and unconscious victims.

D.6  Provide care to resident when death is imminent.
D.6.1 Discuss own feelings and attitude about death.
D.6.2  Explain how culture and religion influence a

person's attitude toward death.
D.6.3  Discuss the stages of dying.
D.6.4  Recognize and report the common signs of

approaching death.
D.6.5  Provide care (if appropriate) to the resident's

body after death.
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57.608INSTRUCTORS
A.  Primary instructor As an individual responsible for
overall coordination and implementation of nurse aide
training program.

QUALIFICATIONS:
1.  RN licensure in the State of Delaware.
2.  Two (2) years nursing experience in caring for the

elderly and/or chronically ill of any age.
3.  For instructors without prior teaching experience:

a.  Successful completion of a "Train the Trainer"
program which provides preparation in teaching adult
learners principles of effective teaching and teaching
methodologies.

4.  Waiver of the Train the Trainer requirement is made
for those nurses who demonstrate at least one (1) year of
continuous teaching experience at the nursing assistant or
LPN or RN program level.

B.  Program Trainer (s) is the individual (s) who provide
assistance to primary instructors as resource personnel from
the health field.

QUALIFICATIONS:
1.  Trainers may include: registered nurses, licensed

practical nurses, pharmacists, dietitians, social workers,
physical or occupational therapists, environmental health
specialists, etc.

2.  One (1) year of current experience in caring for the
elderly and/or chronically ill of any age or have equivalent
experience.

3.  Trainers are to be licensed, registered and/or certified
in their field, where
applicable.

57.609  TRAINING FOR PRIMARY INSTRUCTORS

The approved instructors will develop into competent
trainers, possessing the necessary skills to train nursing
assistants to meet the established certification criteria. The
trainers will understand the roles. and responsibilities
associated with training. They will be able to design and
implement a training program, assess its value, and modify it
as needed. They will recognize the characteristics of adult
learners and create a training environment conducive to
effective learning.

A.  Training course outline shall include:
I.  Role of trainer.
II.  Communication techniques.
III.  Demonstration skills.
IV.  Teaching a process.
V.  Teaching techniques.
VI.  Training techniques.

VII.  Developing a formal training plan.

B.  Course Management Information
I.  Training time will consist of sixteen minimum hours.
II.  The instructor must have formal educational

preparation or experience with skills of adult learning.

SECTION 57.7  PERSONNEL/ADMINISTRATIVE

57.701  The administrator (s) shall be responsible for
complying with the regulations herein contained. In the
absence of the administrator, an employee shall be
authorized, in writing, to be in charge.
57.702  All administrators of nursing homes must be
licensed by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home
Administrators. Such administrators must be full time (40
hours per week) employees.

57.703  A staff of persons sufficient in number and
adequately trained to meet requirements for care shall be
employed. In addition to the staff engaged in the direct care
and treatment of patients, there must be sufficient personnel
to provide basic services; such as: food service, laundry,
housekeeping and plant maintenance.

57.704  No employee shall be less than sixteen (16) years of
age, unless they have been issued proper working papers.

57.705  The institution shall have written personnel policies
and procedures that adequately support sound patient care.
Personnel records are to be kept current and available for
each employee, and contain sufficient information to support
placement in the positions to which assigned.

57.706  Minimum requirements for employee physical
examination:

A.  Each person, including volunteers, who is involved
in the care of patients shall have a screening test for
tuberculosis as a prerequisite to employment. Either a
negative intradermal skin test or a chest xray showing no
evidence of active tuberculosis shall satisfy this requirement.

B.  A report of this test shall be on file at the facility of
employment.

57.707  No person having a communicable disease. shall be
permitted to give care or service. All reportable
communicable diseases shall be reported to the County
Health Officer.

SECTION 57.8  SERVICES TO PATIENTS

57.801  General Services:
A.  The skilled care nursing facility shall provide to all

patients the care deemed necessary for their comfort, safety,
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nutritional requirements and general wellbeing.
B.  The skilled care nursing facility shall have in effect a

written transfer agreement with one (1) or more hospitals
which provides the basis for effective working arrangements
under which inpatient hospital care, or other hospital
services, are available promptly to the facility's patients,
when needed.

C.  The skilled care nursing facility shall have a written
provision for promptly obtaining required laboratory, xray
and other diagnostic. services. These services may be
obtained from other facilities that are approved by the State
Board of Health.
57.802  Medical Services:

A.  All persons admitted to an institution (skilled care
nursing home) shall be under the care of a licensed
physician.

B.  All nursing homes shall arrange for one (1) or more
licensed physicians to be called in an emergency. Names and
phone numbers of these physicians must be posted at all
nurse's stations.

C.  All orders for medications, treatments, diets,
diagnostic services, etc. shall be in writing and signed by the
attending physician.

D.  All orders shall be renewed and signed by the
physician at least every thirty (30) days.

E.  A progress note shall be written and signed by the
physician on each visit.

PROPOSED REGULATIONS

CERTIFIED NURSING ASSISTANTS  
SECTION 1

A.  DEFINITIONS
Advanced Practice Nurse- shall mean an individual

whose education and licensure meet the criteria outlined in
24 Del., C. Chapter 19 and who is certified in at least one of
the following specialty areas:  (1) Adult nurse practitioner;
(2) Gerontological clinical nurse specialist; (3)
Gerontological nurse practitioner;  (4) Psychiatric/mental
health clinical nurse specialist; (5) Family nurse practitioner. 

Assisted Living Facility  – Assisted living facility is a
residential arrangement for fee licensed pursuant to 16 Del.
C., Chapter 11. 

Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) – a duly certified
individual under the supervision of a licensed nurse, who
provides care which does not require the judgment and skills
of a licensed nurse.  The care may include, but is not limited
to, the following: bathing, dressing, grooming, toileting,
ambulating, transferring and feeding, observing and
reporting the general well-being of the person(s) to whom
they are providing care.

Department – the Department of Health and Social
Services.

Division- the Division of Long Term Care Residents
Protection.

Intermediate Care Facility - Facility licensed pursuant
to 16 Del. C., Chapter 11 with a license designated for
intermediate care beds.

Licensed Nurse - shall mean a licensed practical nurse,
registered nurse and/or advanced practice nurse whose
education and licensure meet the criteria in 24 Del. C.,
Chapter 19.

Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) – a nurse who is
licensed as a practical nurse in the State of Delaware and
who may supervise LPNs, CNAs, NAs and other unlicensed
personnel.

Nursing Assistant (NA) – an individual who has
completed the requisite training to become a Certified
Nursing Assistant but is awaiting certification.

Nursing Services Direct Caregivers- those
individuals, as defined in 16 Del. C., Section 1161(e),
assigned to the direct care of nursing facility residents.

Nursing Supervisor- shall mean an advanced practice
nurse, registered nurse or licensed practical nurse (LPN)
with 5 years long-term care experience assigned to supervise
and evaluate nursing services direct caregivers. If an LPN
acts as the supervisor, this must be in accordance with the
nurse practice act, under which an LPN cannot supervise a
RN. 

Personal Care Services – those health-related services
that include general supervision of, and direct assistance to,
individuals in their activities of daily living.

Physician – a physician licensed to practice in the State
of Delaware.

Registered Nurse (RN) – a nurse who is a graduate of
an approved school of professional nursing and who is
licensed to practice in the State of Delaware.

Rehabilitation – the restoration or maintenance of an ill
or injured person to self-sufficiency at his or her highest
attainable level.

Resident – a person admitted to a nursing facility or
similar facility licensed pursuant to 16 Del. C., Chapter 11. 

Restraint – “physical restraints” are defined as any
manual method or physical or mechanical device, material or
equipment attached or adjacent to the resident’s body that
the individual cannot remove easily which restricts freedom
of movement or normal access to one’s body.  “Chemical
restraints” are defined as a psychopharmacologic drug that is
used for discipline or convenience and not required to treat
medical symptoms.  

Senior Certified Nursing Assistant – a Certified
Nursing Assistant who has met the  requirements and
training specified in Section 4 of these regulations.

Skilled Care Facility – Facility licensed pursuant to 16
Del. C., Chapter 11 with a license designated for skilled care
beds.   
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Student – a person enrolled in a course offering
certification as a CNA. 

Supervision – direct oversight and inspection of the act
of accomplishing a function or activity.

SECTION 2

NURSING ASSISTANT/CERTIFIED NURSING
ASSISTANT CERTIFICATION

Each Nursing Assistant/Certified Nursing Assistant
employed by any nursing facility either, as contract/agency
or facility staff shall be required to meet the following:

A.  GENERAL TRAINING REQUIREMENTS AND
COMPETENCY TEST

1.  An individual shall complete a nursing assistant
training course approved by the Delaware State Board of
Nursing and by the Department.

2. Nursing Assistant is required to pass a competency
test provided by the Department or by a contractor approved
by the Department.

3.  Nursing Assistants may attempt to take the
competency test a maximum of three (3) times in the two
year period following the completion of an approved training
program.  Nursing assistants who fail to obtain a passing
score after testing three times must repeat the CNA training
program before retaking the test. 

4.  Nursing Assistants shall take the competency test
within 30 days of completion of an approved training
program.  Nursing assistants who fail to obtain a passing
score may repeat the test two additional times, but must
obtain certification within 90 days of program completion. 

5.  A Certified Nursing Assistant who has not performed
nursing related services in a health care setting for a
continuous 24 month period after completion of a training
and testing program, must complete and pass a new training
course and competency test.

6. A Certified Nursing Assistant trained and certified
outside the State of Delaware may be deemed qualified to
meet the Department’s requirements based on a current
certificate from the jurisdiction where he/she presently
practices and verification that he/she is in good standing on
that state’s Registry.

7.  Employees hired as Nursing Assistants/Certified
Nursing Assistants who are currently enrolled in a nursing
program and have satisfactorily completed a Fundamentals/
Basic Nursing course with a clinical component will be
deemed to meet the training requirements. These individuals
will be approved to take the competency test upon
submission of a letter from their school of nursing attesting
to current enrollment status and satisfactory course
completion as described.

8.  For the purpose of calculating minimum staffing
levels as specified by the Department, any individual who

has completed all of the classroom training and half of the
clinical training in a facility sponsored training program may
be considered as a member of such facility’s staff, while
undergoing the last 37.5 hours of clinical training at such
facility.  

9. Certified Nursing Assistants must work a minimum
of 8 hours per quarter or 64 hours within two years of their
certification period in order to qualify for recertification.

B. CNA TRAINING PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS
1.  General. To obtain approval, the curriculum content

for the certified nursing assistant training programs shall
meet each of the following requirements:

a.  The curriculum shall include material that will
provide a basic level of both knowledge and demonstrable
skills for each individual completing the program.  

b.  The program shall be a minimum of 150 hours in
length, divided equally between clinical skills training and
classroom instruction, and including CPR certification.
Additional hours may be in either of these areas or both.

c.  All classroom instruction shall be completed
prior to students’ performing direct resident care.  Programs
shall maintain documentation of required skills that each
student has successfully demonstrated to the RN instructor.

d.  All programs shall develop policies and
procedures to support the effective operation of a nursing
assistant training program.  Programs shall develop and
implement systems to evaluate and monitor the quality and
achievement of goals and objectives for the program as well
as the trainees.

e.  Classroom ratios of student to instructor shall
not exceed 24:1.  Clinical and laboratory ratios of student to
instructor shall not exceed 8:1.

f.  The RN instructor shall directly supervise
students at all times during clinical instruction. Students
shall remain in visual contact with the RN instructor in the
clinical setting while performing any skills for which they
have not yet demonstrated and the program has documented
proficiency.

g.  The RN instructor shall maintain a physical
presence on the same unit at all times where the students are
engaged in clinical skills instruction.  If more than one unit is
utilized for clinical instruction, the program must have
additional RN’s to coincide with the number of units used.

h.  Programs must notify the Department in writing
when changes to the program or the program’s personnel are
made. Programs must notify the Department when major
substantive changes are made to the curriculum.

2.  Equipment.   All programs shall have available at a
minimum the following equipment:

a.  Audio/Visual
b.  Computers
c.  Calculators
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d.  Teaching Mannequin, Adult
e.  Hospital Bed
f.  Bedpan/Urinal
g.  Bedside commode
h.  Wheelchair
i.  Scale
j.  Overbed Table
k.  Sphygmomanometer
l.  Stethoscope
m.  Resident Gowns
n.  Thermometers, Glass and Electronic
o.  Crutches
p.  Canes (Variety)
q.  Walker
r.  Miscellaneous Supplies: i.e., Bandages,

Compresses, Heating Pad, Special Dressings, Hearing Aid,
Dentures, Toothbrushes, Razors, etc

s.  Foley Catheter Drainage Bag
t.  Hydraulic Lift
u.  Adaptive eating utensils/equipment
v.  Nasogastric and gastrostomy tubes

3.  Curriculum content.  The following material
identifies the minimum competencies that the curriculum
content shall develop. Nursing assistants being prepared to
work in skilled, intermediate, or assisted living facilities
either as direct or contract staff shall master each
competency.  All demonstrable competencies for each
student must be documented as mastered by the RN
instructor in order for a student to qualify as successfully
having completed that section of programming.

A.  THE NURSING ASSISTANT ROLE AND
FUNCTION

Key Concepts:Introduces the characteristics of an
effective nursing assistant: personal attributes, on-the-job
conduct, appearance, grooming, health and ethical behavior.
Also presented are the responsibilities of the nursing
assistant as a member of the resident care team.  Legal
aspects of resident care and resident rights are presented.
Relevant Federal and State statutes are also reviewed.

Competencies:
A.1.  Function as a nursing assistant within the standards
described below:

A.1.1  Define the role and functions of the nursing
assistant and provide awareness of the legal limitations of
being a nursing assistant.

A.1.2  Recognize the responsibilities of the nursing
assistant as a member of the health care team.  Understand
the relevant State and Federal regulations for long term care
and legalities of reporting and documenting incidents and
accidents.

A.1.3  Understand the role of Long Term Care

advocates, investigators and surveyors.
A.1.4  Identify the “chain of command” in the

organizational structure of the health care agency.
A.1.5  Maintain acceptable personal hygiene and exhibit

professional dress practices.
A.1.6  Recognize the importance of punctuality and

commitment to the job.
A.1.7  Differentiate between ethical and unethical

behavior on the job.
A.1.8  Understand the role, responsibility and functional

limitations of the nursing assistant.

A.2  Demonstrate behavior that maintains resident’s rights.
A.2.1  Provide privacy and maintenance of

confidentiality.
A.2.2  Promote the resident’s right to make personal

choices to accommodate individual needs.
A.2.3  Give assistance in resolving grievances.
A.2.4  Provide needed assistance in going to and

participating in resident and family groups and other
activities.

A.2.5  Maintain care and security of resident’s personal
possessions as per the resident’s desires, with particular
attention to dental, hearing and visual aids.  

A 2.6  Provide care which ensures that the residents are
free from abuse, mistreatment or neglect and report any
instances of such poor care to appropriate facility staff.
Discuss the psychological impact of abuse, neglect,
mistreatment, misappropriation of property of residents and/
or financial exploitation.

A.2.7  Maintain the resident’s environment and care
through appropriate nursing assistant behavior so as to keep
the residents free from physical and chemical restraints.

A.2.8  Discuss the potential negative outcomes of
physical restraints, including side rails.

A.2.9  Be familiar with the forms, processes and laws
that relate to advanced health care directives. 

B.  ENVIRONMENTAL NEEDS OF THE RESIDENT
Key Concepts: Introduces the nursing assistant to the

need to keep residents safe from  injury and infection in the
long-term care setting. The nursing assistant is taught why
and how to use infection control and isolation techniques.
Safety through prevention of fires and accidents, and
emergency procedures for fire and other disasters are
presented.

Competencies:
B.1  Apply the basic principles of infection control.

B.1.1  Identify how diseases are transmitted and
understand concepts of infection prevention.

B.1.2  Demonstrate proper hand washing technique.
B.1.3  Demonstrate appropriate aseptic techniques in the

performance of normal duties and understand the role of
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basic cleaning, disinfecting, and sterilization tasks.
B.1.4  Demonstrate proper isolation and safety

techniques in the care of the infectious resident and proper
handling and disposal of contaminated materials.

B.2  Assist with basic emergency procedures.
B.2.1  Follow safety and emergency procedures.
B.2.2  Identify safety measures that prevent accidents

and injuries to residents and staff.
B.2.3  Recognize signs when a resident is choking or

may have an obstructed airway.
B.2.4  Assist with clearing obstructed airway.
B.2.5  Call for help when encountering convulsive

disorders, loss of consciousness, shock, hemorrhage, and
assist the resident until professional help arrives.

B.2.6  Follow disaster procedures.
B.2.7  Report emergencies accurately and immediately.
B.2.8  Identify potential fire hazards.

B.3  Provide a safe, clean environment.
B.3.1  Identify the resident’s need for a clean and

comfortable environment.  Describe types of common
accidents in the nursing home and their preventative
measures. Be aware of the impact of environmental factors
on the resident in all areas including but not limited to light
and noise levels.

B.3.2  Report unsafe conditions to appropriate
supervisor.  Use the nurse call system effectively.

B.3.3  Report evidence of pests to appropriate
supervisory personnel.  

B.3.4  Report nonfunctioning equipment to appropriate
supervisory/charge personnel.

B.3.5  Prepare soiled linen for laundry.
B. 3.6  Insure that resident room has been cleaned and

disinfected for admission or 
following discharge.

B.3.7  Make arrangement of furniture and equipment for
the resident’s convenience and to keep environment safe.

C.  PSYCHOSOCIAL NEEDS OF THE RESIDENT
Key Concepts:Focus is placed on the diverse social,

emotional, recreational and spiritual needs of residents in a
long term care setting. The curriculum shall describe some
of the physical, mental, and emotional changes associated
with aging and institutionalization, and present ways in
which the nursing assistant may effectively communicate
with residents and their families.

Competencies:
C.1  Demonstrate basic skills by identifying the psychosocial
characteristics of the populations being served in the nursing
facility including persons with mental retardation, mental
illness and persons with dementia, Alzheimer’s disease,
developmental disabilities and other related disorders.

C.1.1  Indicate the ways to meet the resident’s basic
human needs for life and mental well being.

C.1.2  Modify his/her own behavior in response to
resident’s behavior.  Respect the resident’s beliefs
recognizing cultural differences in holidays, spirituality,
clothing, foods and medical treatments.

C.1.3  Identify methods to ensure that the resident may
fulfill his/her maximum potential within the normal aging
process.

C.1.4  Provide training in, and the opportunity for, self-
care according to the resident’s capabilities.

C.1.5  Demonstrate principles of behavior management
by reinforcing appropriate behavior and reducing or
eliminating inappropriate behavior.

C.1.6  Demonstrate skills supporting age-appropriate
behavior by allowing the resident to make personal choices,
providing and reinforcing other behavior consistent with
resident’s dignity.

C.1.7  Utilize resident’s family as a source of emotional
support and recognize the family’s need for emotional
support.

C.1.8  Recognize how age, illness and disability affect
memory, sexuality, mood and behavior, including
wandering.

C.1.9  Describe aggressive and wandering behavior;
recognize responsibility of staff related to wanderers and
aggressive residents.

C.1.10  Discuss how appropriate activities are beneficial
to residents with cognitive impairments.

C.1.11  Recognize and utilize augmentative
communication devices and methods of nonverbal
communication.
C.2  Demonstrate appropriate and effective communication
skills.

C.2.1  Demonstrate effective verbal and nonverbal
communications in keeping with the nursing assistant’s role
with residents, their families and staff.

C.2.2  Observe by using the senses of sight, hearing,
touch and smell to report resident behavior to the licensed
nurse.

C.2.3  Document observations using appropriate terms
and participate in the care planning process.

C.2.4  Recognize the importance of maintaining the
resident’s record accurately and completely.

C.2.5  Communicate with residents according to their
state of development.  Identify barriers to effective
communication. Recognize the importance of listening to
residents.

C.2.6  Participate in sensitivity training in order to
understand needs of residents with physical or cognitive
impairments.

D.  PHYSICAL NEEDS OF THE RESIDENT
Key Concepts:Presents the basic skills which nursing
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assistants use in the physical care of residents.  The nursing
assistant will learn basic facts about body systems and what
is needed to promote good functioning.  The nursing
assistant will learn to provide physical care to residents
safely and to keep the resident nourished, hydrated, clean,
dry and comfortable.  The nursing assistant will also learn to
make observations regarding residents and to record and/or
report observations.  The nursing assistant will learn to
appropriately provide range of motion while providing
physical care to the resident.

Introduction of the basics of range of motion and its
integration into routine personal care activities.

Competencies:
D.1  Apply the principles of basic nutrition in the preparation
and serving of meals.

D.1.1  Incorporate principles of nutrition and hydration
in assisting residents at meals.

D.1.2  Understand basic physiology of nutrition and
hydration.

D.1.3  Understand basic physiology of malnutrition and
dehydration.

D.1.4  Identify risk factors for poor nutritional status in
the elderly including but not limited to:

a)  compromised skin integrity
b)  underweight or overweight
c)  therapeutic or mechanically altered diet
d)  poor dental status
e)  drug-nutrient interactions
f)  acute/chronic disease
g)  depression or confusion
h)  decreased appetite

D.1.5  Recognize how the aging process affects
digestion.

D.1.6  Accurately calculate and document meal intake
and report inadequate intake or changes in normal intake.

D.1.7  Accurately calculate and document fluid intake
and report inadequate intake or changes in normal intake.

D.1.8  Recognize and report signs and symptoms of
malnutrition and dehydration.

D.1.9  Understand concepts of therapeutic diets
including dysphagia diets and the related risks associated
with dysphagia including aspiration and aspiration
pneumonia.

D.1.10  Incorporate food service principles into meal
delivery including:

a)  distributing meals as quickly as possible when
they arrive from the kitchen to maintain food temperature.

b)  assisting residents with meal set-up if needed
(i.e., opening packets or cartons, buttering bread if desired).

c)  serving meals to all residents seated together at
the same time.

d)  Offering appropriate substitutions if the
residents don’t like what they have received.

D.1.11  Utilize tray card or other mechanism to ensure
the resident is served his/her prescribed diet and identify
who to notify if a resident receives the wrong diet.

D.1.12  Demonstrate understanding of how to read
menus.

D.1.13  Assist residents who are unable to feed
themselves.

D.1.14  Demonstrate techniques for feeding someone
who:

a)  bites down on utensils
b)  can’t or won’t chew
c)  holds food in mouth
d)  pockets food in cheek
e)  has poor lip closure
f)  has missing or no teeth
g)  has ill fitting dentures
h)  has a protruding tongue or tongue thrust
i)  will not open mouth

D.1.15  Demonstrate proper positioning of residents at
mealtime.

D.1.16  Demonstrate skills for feeding residents who:
a)  are cognitively impaired
b)  have swallowing difficulty
c)  have sensory problems
d)  have physical deformities

D.1.17  Demonstrate positioning techniques for
residents who:

a)  have poor sitting balance
b)  must take meals in bed
c)  fall forward when seated
d)  lean to one side
e)  have poor neck control
f)  have physical deformities

D.1.18  Demonstrate use of assistive devices.
D.1.19  Identify signs and symptoms that

requirealerting a nurse, including;
a)  difficulty swallowing or chewing
b)  coughing when swallowing liquids
c)  refusal of meal
d)  choking on food or fluids
e)  excessive drooling
f)  vomiting while eating
g)  significant change in vital signs
h)  manifestations of pain

D.1.20  Incorporate principles of a pleasant dining
environment when assisting residents at mealtime including
ensuring adequate lighting and eliminating background noise

D.1.21  Demonstrate positive interaction with residents
recognizing individual resident needs.

D.1.22  Ensure residents are dressed appropriately.
D.1.23  Allow residents to eat at their own pace.
D.1.24  Encourage independence and assist as needed.
D.1.25  Recognize and report as appropriate the risk

factors and signs and symptoms of malnutrition, dehydration
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and fluid overload.
D.1.26  Accurately calculate and document intake and

output including meal percentages and fluids.

D.2  Demonstrate understanding of basic anatomy and
physiology in the following areas:

D.2.1  Respiratory system
D.2.2  Circulatory system
D.2.3  Digestive system
D.2.4  Urinary system
D.2.5  Musculoskeletal system
D.2.6  Endocrine system
D.2.7  Nervous system
D.2.8  Integumentary system
D.2.9  Sensory system
D.2.10  Reproductive system

D.3  Recognize abnormal signs and symptoms of common
illness and conditions.

Examples are:
D.3.1  Respiratory infection – Report coughing,

sneezing, elevated temperatures, etc.
D.3.2  Diabetes – Report excessive thirst, frequent

urination, change in urine output and drowsiness, excessive
perspiration and headache.  Understand the healing process
as it relates to diabetes.

D.3.3  Urinary tract infection – Report frequent
urination, burning or pain on urination, elevated
temperature, change in amount and color of urine, blood or
sediment in urine and strong odors.

D.3.4  Cardiovascular conditions – report shortness of
breath, chest pain, blue color to lips, indigestion, sweating,
change in pulse, edema of the feet or legs. 

D.3.5  Cerebral vascular conditions – Report dizziness,
changes in vision such as seeing double, etc., change in
blood pressure, numbness in any part of the body, or
inability to move arm or leg, etc.

D.3.6  Skin conditions – Report break in skin,
discoloration such as redness, black and blue areas, rash,
itching, etc.

D.3.7  Gastrointestinal conditions – Report nausea,
vomiting, pain, inability to swallow, bowel movement
changes such as color, diarrhea, and constipation.

D.3.8  Infectious Diseases.  

D.4  Provide personal care and basic nursing skills as
directed by the licensed nurse in the appropriate licensed
entity.

D.4.1  Provide for resident’s privacy and dignity when
providing personal care.

D.4.2  Assist the resident to dress and undress.
D.4.3  Assist the resident with bathing and personal

grooming.
D.4.4  Observe and report condition of the skin.
D.4.5  Assist the resident with oral hygiene, including

prosthetic devices.
D.4.6  Administer oral hygiene for the unconscious

resident.
D.4.7  Demonstrate measures to prevent decubitus

ulcers, i.e., positioning, turning, and applying heel and elbow
protectors.

D.4.8  Assist the resident in using the bathroom.
Understand consequences of not assisting resident to the
bathroom.

D.4.9  Assist the resident in using a bedside commode,
urinal and bedpan.

D.4.10  Demonstrate proper bed making procedures for
occupied and unoccupied beds.

D.4.11  Feed residents oral table foods in an appropriate
manner.  Demonstrate proper positioning of residents who
receive tube feeding.

D.4.12  Distribute nourishment and water.
D.4.13  Accurately measure and record with a variety of

commonly used devices:
a.  Blood pressure
b.  Height and weight
c.  Temperature, pulse, respiration

D.4.14  Prioritize resident care appropriately.
D.4.15  Assist the resident with shaving.
D.4.16  Shampoo and groom hair.
D.4.17  Provide basic care of toenails unless medically

contraindicated.
D.4.18  Provide basic care of fingernails unless

medically contraindicated.
D.4.19  Demonstrate proper catheter care.
D.4.20  Demonstrate proper perineal care.
D.4.21  Assist the professional nurse with a physical

examination.
D.4.22  Apply a non-sterile dressing properly.
D.4.23  Apply non-sterile compresses and soaks

properly and safely.
D.4.24  Apply cold and/or heat applications properly

and safely.
D.4.25  Demonstrate how to properly apply elastic

stockings.
D.4.26  Demonstrate proper application of physical

restraints including side rails.
D.4.27  Discuss the limitations and scope of duties of

the CNA.

D.5  Demonstrate skills which incorporate principles of
restorative care under the direction of a licensed nurse.

D.5.1  Assist the resident in bowel and bladder training.
D.5.2  Provide enemas within the scope of duties of the

nurse assistant.
D.5.3  Assist the resident in activities of daily living and

encourage self-help activities.
D.5.4  Assist the resident with ambulation aids, i.e.,

cane, quadcane, walker, crutches, wheelchair and transfer
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aids, i.e., hydraulic lifts.
D.5.5  Perform range of motion exercise as instructed by

the physical therapist or the professional nurse.
D.5.6  Assist in care and use of prosthetic devices.
D.5.7  Assist the resident while utilizing proper body

mechanics.
D.5.8  Assist the resident with dangling, standing and

walking.
D.5.9  Demonstrate proper turning and/or positioning

both in bed and in a chair, wheelchair, or other seating
device. 

D.5.10  Demonstrate proper technique of transferring
resident from low and high bed to chair, wheelchair, or other
seating device. 

D.6  Be certified in one-man cardiopulmonary resuscitation
(CPR), including knowledge of the Heimlich maneuver.

D.7  Provide care to resident when death is imminent.
D.7.1  Discuss own feelings and attitude about death.
D.7.2  Explain how culture and religion influence a

person’s attitude toward death.
D.7.3  Discuss the role of the CNA, the resident’s family

and significant others involved in the dying process.
D.7.4  Discuss the stages of death and dying and the role

of the nurse assistant.
D.7.5  Recognize and report the common signs of

approaching death.  Identify the provisions of the State
regulations pertaining to death with dignity.

D.7.6  Provide care, if appropriate, to the resident’s
body after death.

SECTION 3

MANDATORY ORIENTATION PERIOD FOR
NURSING ASSISTANTS AND CERTIFIED NURSING
ASSISTANTS EMPLOYED BY 

I. SKILLED AND INTERMEDIATE CARE
FACILITIES

(1)  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
A.  All Nursing Assistants hired to work in a skilled or

intermediate care facility, after completing 150 hours of
training, shall undergo a minimum of 80 hours of orientation
at least 40 of which shall be clinical.

B.  Any Nursing Assistant who has undergone 150
hours of training in a training program sponsored by the
facility where the assistant will be employed immediately
thereafter shall be required to complete additional facility
specific orientation of 40 hours in the same facility.

C.  All Certified Nursing Assistants hired to work in a
skilled or intermediate care facility shall undergo a minimum
of 80 hours of orientation; at least 40 of which shall be
clinical.

D. While undergoing orientation, Nursing Assistants
shall have direct physical contact with residents only while
under the visual observation of a Certified Nursing Assistant
or licensed nurse employed by the facility.

E.  Any Certified Nursing Assistant or Nursing
Assistant undergoing orientation may be considered a
facility employee for purposes of satisfying the minimum
facility staffing requirements.  

(2) ORIENTATION PROGRAM
REQUIREMENTS

A.  The mandatory orientation program shall include but
is not limited to a review and written instruction on the
following material by a licensed nurse:  

1.  Tour of the facility and assigned residents’
rooms

2.  Fire and disaster plans
3.  Emergency equipment and supplies
4.  Communication (including the facility chain of

command) and documentation requirements
5.  Process for reporting emergencies, change of

condition and shift report
6.  Operation of facility equipment and supplies,

including but not limited to scales, lifts, special beds and
tubs.

7.  Review of the plan of care for each assigned
resident including:

a.  ADL/personal care needs
b.  Nutrition, hydration and feeding techniques

and time schedules
c.  Bowel and bladder training programs
d.  Infection control procedures
e.  Safety needs

8.  Role and function of the CNA/NA
9.  Resident rights/abuse reporting
10.  Safety and body mechanics: transfer techniques
11.  Vital signs
12.  Psychosocial needs
13.  Facility policies and procedures

B.  The CNAs and NAs will satisfactorily demonstrate
competency in clinical skills including but not limited to:  

1.  Taking and recording vital signs
2.  Measuring and recording height and weight
3.  Handwashing and infection control techniques
4.  Caring for the residents’ environment
5.  Bathing and skin care
6.  Grooming and mouth care, including denture

care
7.  Dressing 
8.  Toileting, perineal and catheter care
9.  Assisting with eating and hydration
10.  Proper feeding techniques
11.  Positioning, turning and transfers
12.  Range of motion
13.  Bowel and bladder training
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14.  Care and use of prosthetic and orthotic devices
15.  Assisting with ambulation
16.  Measuring intake and output
17.  Use of elastic stockings, heel and ankle

protectors
18.  Bedmaking skills

II. ASSISTED LIVING FACILITIES
(1)  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
A.  Nursing Assistants hired to work in an assisted

living facility, after completing 150 hours of instruction,
shall undergo a minimum 64 hours of orientation, at least 24
of which shall be clinical.

B.    A Nursing Assistant who has undergone 150 hours
of training in a training program sponsored by the facility
where the assistant will be employed immediately thereafter,
shall be required to complete an additional 32 hours of
facility specific orientation in the same facility.

C.    Certified Nursing Assistants hired to work in an
assisted living facility shall undergo a minimum of 64 hours
of orientation at least 24 of which shall be clinical.

D.  While undergoing orientation, Nursing Assistants
shall have direct physical contact  with residents only while
under the visual observation of a Certified Nursing Assistant
or licensed nurse employed by the facility.

E.   Any Certified Nursing Assistant or Nursing
Assistant undergoing orientation may be considered a
facility employee for purposes of satisfying the minimum
facility staffing requirements as set forth by the Department.  

(2) ORIENTATION PROGRAM
REQUIREMENTS

A.  The mandatory orientation program shall include but
is not limited to a review and written instruction on the
following material by a licensed nurse:  

1.  Tour of the facility and assigned residents’
rooms

2.  Fire and disaster plans
3.  Emergency equipment and supplies
4.  Communication and documentation

requirements
5.  Process for reporting emergencies, change of

condition and shift report
6.  Operation of facility equipment and supplies,

including but not limited to scales, lifts, and wheelchairs.
7.  Review of the plan of care for each assigned

resident including:
a.  ADL/personal care needs
b.  Nutrition, hydration and feeding techniques

and time schedules
c.  Bowel and bladder training programs
d. Infection control procedures
e.  Safety needs

8.  Role and function of the CNA/NA
9.  Resident rights/abuse reporting

10.  Safety and body mechanics: transfer techniques
11.  Vital signs
12.  Psychosocial needs
13.  Facility policies and procedures

B.  The CNAs and NAs will satisfactorily demonstrate
competency in clinical skills including but not limited to:  

1.  Taking and recording vital signs
2.  Measuring and recording height and weight
3.  Handwashing and infection control techniques
4.  Caring for the residents’ environment
5.  Bathing and skin care
6.  Grooming and mouth care, including denture

care
7.  Dressing 
8.  Toileting, perineal and catheter care
9.  Assisting with eating and hydration
10.  Proper feeding techniques
11.  Positioning, turning and transfers
12.  Range of motion
13.  Bowel and bladder training
14.  Care and use of prosthetic and orthotic devices
15.  Assisting with ambulation
16.  Measuring intake and output
17.  Use of elastic stockings, heel and ankle

protectors
18.  Bedmaking skills

III.  TEMPORARY AGENCIES
(1)  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

A.  All Certified Nursing Assistants employed by
temporary agencies and placed in a facility in which they
have not worked within the previous six (6) months shall
undergo a minimum of two (2) hours of orientation prior to
beginning their first shift at the facility.

B.  Any Certified Nursing Assistant employed by a
temporary agency and undergoing orientation shall not be
considered a facility employee for purposes of satisfying the
minimum facility staffing requirements. 

C.  Nursing Assistants employed by a temporary agency
must be certified prior to placement in any nursing home.

(2)  ORIENTATION PROGRAM
REQUIREMENTS

A.  The mandatory orientation program shall include but
is not limited to a review and written instruction on the
following material by a licensed nurse:

1.  Tour of the facility and assigned residents’
rooms

2.  Fire and disaster plans
3.  Emergency equipment and supplies
4.  Communication and documentation

requirements
5.  Process for reporting emergencies, change of

condition and shift report
6.  Operation of facility equipment and supplies,
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including but not limited to scales, lifts, and wheelchairs.
7.  Review of the plan of care for each assigned

resident including:
a.  ADL/personal care needs
b.  Nutrition, hydration and feeding techniques

and time schedules
c.  Bowel and bladder training programs
d. Infection control procedures
e.  Safety needs

8.  Role and function of the CNA
9.  Resident rights/abuse reporting
10.  Safety and body mechanics: transfer techniques
11.  Vital signs
12.  Psychosocial needs
13.  Facility policies and procedures

SECTION 4

VOLUNTARY SENIOR CERTIFIED NURSING
ASSISTANT CERTIFICATION

1.  TRAINING REQUIREMENTS AND COMPETENCY
TEST

Any Certified Nursing Assistant may pursue
designation as a Senior Certified Nursing Assistant and shall
be so designated if such individual meets the following
minimum requirements:  

A.  Has been a Certified Nursing Assistant for a
minimum of three years;

B.  Has no negative findings on the nurse aide registry,
adult abuse and child abuse registries for the past three years;

C.  Has successfully completed an additional 50 hours
of advanced training in a program approved by the
Department and the Board of Nursing;

D.  Has passed a competency test provided by the
Department or by a contractor approved by the Department.

2.  VOLUNTARY SENIOR CNA CURRICULUM
The Senior CNA program must meet the same

requirements as those specified in Section 2 of these
regulations in terms of classroom ratios of students to
instructors.  

The Senior CNA curriculum must meet the following
minimum course content, which will provide an advanced
level of knowledge and demonstrable skills.  All
demonstrable competencies shall be documented by the RN
instructor.  

A.  LEADERSHIP TRAINING AND MENTORING
SKILLS

Key Concepts: Senior Certified Nursing Assistants will
learn how to teach new Nursing Assistants standards of care.
Senior CNAs will learn how to be a role model and preceptor
for new Nursing Assistants and CNAs.  Senior CNAs will

learn how to prepare assignments, conduct team meetings
and resolve conflicts.  

Competencies:  
A.1.  Function effectively as a team leader and mentor/

preceptor within the facility. 
A.1.1.  Define the role and functions of an effective

team leader and mentor.
A.1.2.  Identify principles of adult learning.
A.1.3.  Recognize various learning styles and

communication barriers.  
A.1.4.  Assess learner knowledge.
A.1.5.  Supervise, evaluate and act as a preceptor

for the Nursing Assistant and Certified Nursing Assistant
during orientation.  

A.1.6.  Demonstrate effective communication
techniques.  

A.1.7.  Recognize the importance of teamwork.
A.1.8.  Actively participate in resident care plan

and team meetings.  
A.1.9.  Identify strategies for conflict management.      
A.1.10.  Learn how to prepare assignments, assist

with scheduling and other administrative duties.

B.  DEMENTIA TRAINING
Key Concepts:  The senior CNA will gain greater

knowledge of Alzheimer’s Disease and related Dementias.
The senior CNA will gain the skills necessary to effectively
care for residents exhibiting signs and symptoms of
dementia. The senior CNA will act as a role model and
resource person for other CNAs. 

Competencies: 
B.1.  Demonstrate appropriate skills and techniques

necessary to provide care to residents exhibiting signs and
symptoms of dementia.  

B.1.1.  Recognize signs and symptoms of
Alzheimer’s Disease and related disorders.  

B.1.2.  Identify types of Dementias. 
B.1.3.  Discuss methods for managing difficult

behavior.
B.1.4.  Demonstrate effective communication

techniques.
B.1.5.  Recognize specific issues that arise in

providing care to persons with Alzheimer’s Disease and
other memory loss conditions and appropriate interventions
for dealing with these problems including but not limited to
agitation, combativeness, sundown syndrome, wandering. 

C.  ADVANCED GERIATRIC NURSING ASSISTANT
TRAINING

Key Concepts: (1) The senior CNA will gain greater
knowledge of anatomy and physiology with emphasis on the
effects of aging.  (2) The senior CNA will effectively carry
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out restorative nursing skills as specified in the resident’s
plan of care.  

Competencies:  
C.1.  Verbalize understanding of anatomy, physiology

and pathophysiology of common disorders of the elderly.  
C.1.1. Describe the effects of aging on the various

organs and systems within the body.   
C.1.2 Describe signs and symptoms of common

disorders
C.1.3. Describe the pathophysiology of common

disorders.
C.1.4. Identify measures to assist residents with

common medical problems, (e.g. promoting oxygenation in
residents with breathing problems.)

C.1.5. Observe, report and document condition
changes using appropriate medical terminology.

C.1.6.  Recognize basic medical emergencies and
how to respond appropriately.

Competencies:  
C.2.  Maintain or improve resident mobility and the

resident’s ability to perform activities of daily living.
Understand the reasons for rehabilitation (physiologically),
reasons for, and benefits of Restorative Nursing and be able
to demonstrate the same.  

C.2.1.  Assist the resident with exercise routine as
specified in their care plan.

C.2.2.  Carry out special rehabilitation procedures
as ordered including but not limited to working with the
visually impaired, special feeding skills/devices, splints,
ambulatory devices and prostheses.

C.2.3.  Identify ways to prevent contractures.
C.2.4.  Effectively communicate with the

Rehabilitation Department.  

SECTION 5

SENIOR CNA TRAINING PROGRAM
INSTRUCTORS

A.  The Primary Instructor is an individual responsible for
the overall coordination and implementation of the senior
certified nursing assistant training program.  The primary
instructor is present and available during clinical training.
The primary instructor and all those who serve as instructors
in the program must meet the following qualifications.

QUALIFICATIONS:
1.  RN licensure in the State of Delaware.
2.  Five (5) years nursing experience in caring for

the elderly or chronically ill of any age.
3.  Instructors shall demonstrate: 

a.  Successful completion of “Train-the-
Trainer” program which provides preparation in teaching

adult learners principles of effective teaching and teaching
methodologies and;

b.  Successful completion of a college level
course of at least one semester in length, that was related to
education and the principles of adult learning.

c.  Biennial update for Train-the-Trainer.
4.  Waiver of the Train the Trainer and the college

level education course requirement is made for those nurses
who demonstrate at least one (1) year of continuous teaching
experience at the nursing assistant or LPN or RN program
level prior to date of implementation of these regulations.

B.  Program Trainer(s) shall provide assistance to instructors
as resource personnel from the health field.  They may
provide limited assistance and instruction in the senior
certified nursing assistant program.  Senior CNAs are
excluded from conducting training.

QUALIFICATIONS:
Program trainers shall meet the following qualifications: 

1.  Trainers shall be: registered nurses, licensed
practical nurses, pharmacists, dietitians, social workers,
physical, speech or occupational therapists, environmental/
fire safety specialists, activity directors, or other licensed
health care professionals.

2.  One (1) year of current experience in caring for
the elderly or have equivalent experience.

3.  Trainers shall be licensed or certified in their
field, where applicable. 

SECTION 6 

TRAIN- THE- TRAINER PROGRAM
REQUIREMENTS

Each train-the-trainer program shall include the
following minimum requirements: 

A.  TRAINING COURSE CONTENT:
I.  Role of Trainer
II.  Communication techniques
III.  Demonstration skills
IV.  Teaching a process
V.  Teaching techniques
VI.  Training techniques
VII.  Developing a formal training plan

B.  COURSE MANAGEMENT INFORMATION
I.  Training time shall consist of sixteen minimum

hours
II. The train-the-trainer instructor must have

formal educational preparation or experience with skills of
adult learning.
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Delaware's Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid/
Medical Assistance Program is proposing to implement a
Medicaid State Plan change related to the reimbursement
methodology for Federally Qualified Health Centers
(FQHCs).  This change is made as a result of the Benefits
Improvement and Protection Act (BIPA) of 2000 that repeals
the reasonable cost-based reimbursement requirements for
FQHC services and instead requires payment for FQHCs
consistent with a new Prospective Payment System (PPS)
described in section 1902(aa) of the Social Security Act.
Under BIPA, the new Medicaid Prospective Payment
System takes effect on January 1, 2001.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle,
Delaware by May 31, 2001.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Revision

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Other Types of Care

Federally Qualified Health Centers
State Plan Amendment 4.19-b

Federally Qualified Health Centers are reimbursed
100% of their reasonable costs of providing health services
to Medicaid beneficiaries. The Health Care Financing
Administration (HCFA) requires that Federally Qualified
Health Centers (FQHCs) be reimbursed in compliance with
the Benefits Improvement and Protection Act (BIPA) of
2000. Effective January 1, 2001, Delaware will pay 100% of
reasonable cost based on an average of the Fiscal Year 1999
and 2000 audited cost report.

FQHCs are assigned a prospectively determined rate per

clinic visit based on actual costs reported on their audited
cost report from their most recent last fiscal year.  Since the
rates are calculated off of their cost reports, and they do not
correspond with the Federal Fiscal Year, they would span
more than one fiscal year.  Starting July 1, 2001, the
Medicare Economic Index will be used to inflate their rates.

Primary Care costs are separated from Administrative
and General costs for purposes of rate calculation.  The
Administrative and General component is capped at 40% of
the total cost.  Each cost component is inflated by the current
U.S. Consumer Price HCFA Medicare Economic Index.
The total inflated cost of the components is divided by the
number of patient visits to determine the prospective
reimbursement rate.  Costs reports submitted by FQHCs are
subject to audit by the State. 

Medicaid will ensure 100% cost payment regardless of
the payment mechanism.  

The rate year for FQHC services is July 1 through June
30.

__X__  The payment methodology for FQHCs will
conform to section 702 of the BIPA 2000 legislation.

__X__   The payment methodology for FQHCs will
conform to the BIPA 2000 requirements Prospective
Payment System.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Food Stamp
Program is proposing to implement a policy change to the
Division of Social Services Manual, Sections 7002.2,
7002.3, 7002.4, 7004.3, 7004.5, 7005. These changes are
from the Final Rule entitled, Recipient Claim Establishment
and Collections Standards, and published in the Federal
Register on July 6, 2000.  The regulations aim to improve
claims management in the Food Stamp Program and provide
flexibility in efforts to increase claims collections.  Some
changes were mandated by the Personal Responsibility and
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.htm
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submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by May 31, 2001.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

REVISION 

7002.2 Food Stamp Claims

A recipient food stamp claim is an amount owed because
benefits were overpaid or benefits were trafficked.
Trafficking is the buying or selling of coupons or benefit
cards for cash, or the exchange of firearms, ammunition,
explosives, or controlled substances for coupons.

The following are responsible for paying a claim:
• Each individual who was an adult member of the

household when the overpayment or trafficking
occurred;

• A sponsor of an alien household member is the
sponsor is at fault;

• A person connected to the household, such as an
authorized representative, who actually trafficks or
causes an overpayment or trafficking.

All adult household members are jointly and severally liable
for the value of any overissuance of benefits to the
household.  Establish a claim against any household that has
received more food stamp benefits than it is entitled to
receive or any household which contains an adult member
who was an adult member of another household that
received more food stamp benefits than it was entitled to
receive.

There are three types of claims: 
1)  Inadvertent Household Error (IHE) Claims – any

claim for an overpayment resulting from a misunderstanding
or unintended error on the part of the household.   Handle a
claim as an inadvertent household error claim if the
overissuance was caused by:

• A misunderstanding or unintended error on the part
of the household,

• misunderstanding or unintended error on the part of
a categorically eligible household provided a claim
can be calculated, based on a change in net income
and/or household size, or

• SSA action or failure to take action which resulted
in the household's categorical eligibility, provided a
claim can be calculated based on a change in net
income and/or household size. 

2)  Agency Administrative Error (AE) Claims – Any
claim for an overpayment caused by an action or failure to
take action by DSS.  Handle a claim as an administrative
error claim if the overissuance was caused by agency action
or failure to take action, or in the case of categorical
eligibility, an action by the Division which resulted in the
household's improper eligibility for cash assistance,
provided a claim can be calculated based on a change in net
income and/or household size.

3)  Intentional Program Violation (IPV) Claims – Any
claim for an overpayment or trafficking resulting from an
individual committing an IPV.  An IPV is defined in DSSM
2023.  Handle a claim as an intentional Program violation
claim only if an administrative disqualification hearing
official or a Court of appropriate jurisdiction has determined
that a household member committed an intentional Program
violation as defined in DSSM 2023.   Prior to the
determination of intentional Program violation, handle the
claim against the household as an inadvertent household
error claim.

7002.3  Criteria for Establishing Inadvertent Household
and Administrative Error Claims

Time frames
For IHE and AE claims, calculate a claim back to at

least twelve (12) months prior to when you became aware of
the overpayment.

For IPV claims, calculate the claim back to the month
the act of IPV first occurred.

For all claims, do not include any amounts that occurred
more than six years before you became aware of the
overpayment.

The agency must establish a claim before the last day of
the quarter following the quarter in which the overpayment
or trafficking incident was discovered.

90% of all claim referrals must be established or
disposed of according to the above time frame.

Establish a claim against any household that received an
overissuance due to an inadvertent household or
administrative error if the criteria established in this section
have been met. 

Take action on those claims for which twelve (12) months or
less have elapsed between the month an overissuance
occurred and the month the overissuance was discovered.

Circumstances that may result in a claim may include the
following:

A)  Inadvertent Household Errors

Instances of inadvertent household error which may result in
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a claim include, but are not limited to, the following:
1)  The household unintentionally failed to provide DSS

with the correct complete information;
2)  The household unintentionally failed to report to

DSS changes in its household circumstances;
3)  The household unintentionally received more

benefits than it was entitled to receive pending a fair hearing
decision because the household requested a continuation of
benefits based on the mistaken belief that it was entitled to
such benefits;

4)  The household was receiving food stamps solely
because of categorical eligibility and the household was
subsequently determined ineligible for PA and/or SSI at the
time they received it; or

5)  The SSA took an action or failed to take the
appropriate action, which resulted in the household
improperly receiving SSI;

B)  Agency Administrative Errors

Instances of administrative error which may result in a claim
include, but are not limited to, the following:

1)  DSS failed to take prompt action on a change
reported by the household;

2)  DSS incorrectly computed the household's income or
deductions, or otherwise assigned an incorrect allotment;

3)  DSS incorrectly issued to a household duplicate
benefits;

4)  DSS continued to provide a household a food stamp
allotment after its certification period had expired without
benefit of a reapplication determination; 

5)  DSS failed to provide a household a reduced level of
food stamp benefits because its Cash Assistance grant
changed; or

6)  DSS took an action or failed to take an appropriate
action, which resulted in the household improperly receiving
Cash Assistance.

Do not establish either an agency administrative error claim
or an inadvertent household error claim if an overissuance
occurred as a result of the following due to DSS failing to
ensure that a household fulfilled the following procedural
requirements:

• DSS failed to ensure that a household fulfilled the
following procedural requirements:

a)  Signed the application form,
b)  Completed the current work registration form, or
c)  Was certified in the correct project area.

C)  Intentional Program Violation Errors
A claim will be handled as a intentional Program and

violation claim only if an administrative disqualification
hearing official or a court of appropriate jurisdiction has
determined that a household member committed intentional

program violation as defined in Section 2023.  Prior to the
determination of intentional Program violation, the claim
against the household will be handled as an inadvertent
household error claim.

7002.4 Calculating Food Stamp Claims

For each month that a household received an overissuance
due to an inadvertent household or administrative error,
determine the correct amount of food stamp benefits the
household was entitled to receive.  The amount of the
inadvertent household or administrative error claim is based
on the amount of overissuance which occurred during the
twelve (12) months preceding the date the overissuance was
discovered.  In cases involving reported changes, determine
the month the overissuance initially occurred as follows:

A.  Claims not related to trafficking.

Inadvertent Household and Agency Error Claims
1)  If, due to an inadvertent error on the part of the

household, the household failed to report a change in its
circumstances within the required timeframes, the first
month affected by the household's failure to report is the first
month in which the change would have been effective had it
been timely reported.  However, in no event will DSS
determine as the first month in which the change would have
been effective any month later than two (2) months from the
month in which the change in household circumstances
occurred.

2)  If the household timely reported a change, but DSS
did not act within the required timeframes, the first month
affected by the Division's failure is the first month DSS
would have made the change effective had it timely acted.
However, in no event will the Division determine as the first
month in which the change would have been effective any
month later than two (2) months from the month in which the
change in household circumstances occurred.  If a notice of
adverse action was required, but was not provided, assume
for the purpose of calculating the claim, that the maximum
advance notice period as provided in DSSM 9006 would
have expired without the household requesting a fair
hearing.

3)  If the household received a larger allotment than it
was entitled to receive, establish a claim against the
household equal to the difference between the allotment the
household received and the allotment the household should
have received.  For categorically eligible households,
determine a claim only when it can be computed on the basis
of changed household net income and/or household size.  Do
not establish a claim if there was not a change in net income
and/or household size.

4)  When determining the amount of benefits the
household should have received, do not apply the 20%
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earned income disregard for any income not reported in a
timely manner after August 22, 1996.   For agency error
claims, apply the earned income deduction.

5)  With Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) systems,
reduce the overpayment amount by any EBT benefits
expunged from the household’s benefit account.  The
difference is the amount of the claim.

B.  Intentional Program Violation Claims
1)  For each month that a household received an

overissuance due to an act of intentional Program violation,
determine the correct amount of food stamp benefits, if any,
the household was entitled to receive.  The amount of
intentional Program violation claim is calculated back to the
month the act of intentional Program violation occurred,
regardless of the length of time that elapsed until the
determination of intentional Program violation was made.
However, do not include in the calculation any amount of
overissuance which occurred in a month more than six (6)
years from the date the overissuance was discovered.  

2)  If the household member is determined to have
committed Program violation by intentionally failing to
report a change in its household circumstances, the first
month affected by the household's failure to report is the
month in which the change would have been effective had it
been reported.  However, in no event will the Division
determine as the first month in which the change would have
been effective, any month later than two (2) months from the
month in which the changes in household circumstances
occurred.

3)  If the household received a larger allotment than it
was entitled to receive, establish a claim against the
household equal to the difference between the allotment the
household received and the allotment the household should
have received.

4)  When determining the amount of benefits the
household should have received, do not apply the 20%
earned income disregard for any income not reported in a
timely manner after August 22, 1996.

5)  With Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) systems,
reduce the overpayment amount by any EBT benefits
expunged from the household’s benefit account.  The
difference is the amount of the claim.

Offsetting
After calculating the amount of the inadvertent household or
administrative error claim, ARMS will offset the amount of
the claim against any amount which has not yet been
restored to the household in accordance with DSSM 9011
and DSSM 7002.1.  ARMS will then initiate collection
action for the remaining balance, if any.

Once the amount of the intentional Program violation claim
is established, ARMS will offset the claim against any

amount of lost benefits that have not yet been restored to the
household per DSSM 9011.

B.  Claims related to trafficking.

Claims due to trafficking-related offenses will be the amount
of the trafficked benefits.   The amount of the trafficked
benefit is determined by:

1)  The individual’s own admission;
2)  Adjudication; or
3)  The documentation that forms the basis for the

trafficking determination.

7004.3 Collection and Management of Collecting Food
Stamp Claims
DSS shall collect any overissuances of food stamps issued to
a household by:

a)  reducing the allotment of the household;
b)  withholding amounts from unemployment

compensation from a member of the household;
c)  recovering from Federal pay or a Federal income tax

refund;
d)  any other means;

unless DSS/ARMS determines can demonstrate that all of
the means listed above are not cost effective.

Cost effective determination:

DSS/ARMS can opt to not establish any claim if the claim
referral is $125 or less; unless the household is currently
participating or the claim has already been established or
discovered in a Quality Control review.

Criteria for initiating collection action on inadvertent
household and agency administrative error claims

1)  ARMS will initiate collection action (proper notice
should have been sent prior to submittal to ARMS, except
for food stamps) against the household on all inadvertent
household or agency administrative error claims unless the
claim is collected through offset or one of the following
conditions apply:

• The total amount of the claim is less than $125, and
the claim cannot be recovered by reducing the
household's allotment;

• Documentation can be provided which shows that
the household cannot be located.

2)  ARMS will postpone collection action on
inadvertent household error claims where an overissuance is
being referred for possible prosecution in Superior Court (or
an administrative disqualification hearing), and it is
determined collection action will prejudice the case.

Criteria for Initiating Collection Action of Intentional
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Program Violation Claims

If a household member is found to have committed
intentional Program violation (by an administrative
disqualification hearing officer or a Court of appropriate
jurisdiction), ARMS will initiate collection action against
the individual's household.  In addition, a personal contact
will be made, if possible.  

A claim will be handled as intentional Program violation
claim only if an administrative disqualification hearing
official or a court of appropriate jurisdiction has determined
that a household member committed intentional Program
violation as defined in DSSM 2023.  Prior to the
determination of intentional Program violation, the claim
against the household will be handled as an inadvertent
household error claim.

ARMS will initiate such collection action unless:
• The household has repaid the overissuance already;
• DSS or ARMS has documentation that the

household cannot be located; or
• It has been determined that collection action will

prejudice the case against a household member
referred for prosecution.

ARMS will initiate collection action for an unpaid or
partially paid claim even if collection action was previously
initiated against the household while the claim was being
handled as an inadvertent household error claim.  ARMS
will issue any benefit restorations when the amount of the
claim is lower than the amount repaid.

In cases where a household member was found guilty of
misrepresentation or fraud by a Court, the Deputy Attorney
General handling the case will request that the matter of
restitution and length of disqualification be brought before
the Court.

Initiating Collection on Claims

The Accounting Section of ARMS will initiate collection
action by providing the household a written demand letter.
The demand letters, including the demand letter sent
following a fair hearing decision which upheld the claim,
must include the following shall inform households that:

1)  The amount of the claim;
2)  The intent to collect from all adults in the household

when the overpayment occurred;
3)  The type (IPV, IHE, or AE) and reason for the claim;
4)  The time period of the claim;
5)  How the claim was calculated;
6)  The phone number to call for more information

about the claim;

7)  That, if the claim is not paid, it will be sent to other
collection agencies, who will various collection methods to
collect the claim;

8)  The opportunity to inspect and copy records related
to the claim;

9)  Unless the amount of the claim was established at a
fair hearing, the opportunity for a fair hearing on the
decision related to the claim.  The household will have 90
days to request a fair hearing;

10)  That if not paid, the claim will be referred to the
Federal government for federal collection action;

11)  That the household can make a written agreement
to repay the amount of the prior to it being referred for
Federal collection action; that is the claim becomes
delinquent, the household may be subject to additional
processing charges;

12)  That the State agency may reduce any part of the
claim if the agency believes that the household is not able to
repay the claim; 

13)  A due date or time frame to either repay or make
arrangements to repay the claim, unless the State agency is
to impose allotment reduction;

14)  If allotment reduction is to be imposed, the
percentages to be used and the effective date; and

15)  The due date or time frame for repayment must not
be later than 30 days after the date of the initial written
notification or demand letter.

1)  Unless the household responds to the demand letter
and elects a method of repayment or timely requests a fair
hearing and continued benefits, its allotment will be reduced;

2)  How the allotment reduction will affect the
household benefits;

3)  That if the household elects allotment reduction, the
reduction will begin with the first allotment issued after the
election, and;

4)  That if the household fails to make a election, or to
timely request a fair hearing and continued benefits, the
reduction will begin with the first allotment issued after the
demand letter and notice of adverse action is sent.

Action Against Households Which Fail to Respond

Participating households which have collection actions
initiated against them for repayment of an overissuance will
have their allotment reduced subsequent to the demand letter
and notice of adverse action being sent to the household. 

Repayment Agreements

Any repayment agreement for any claim must contain due
dates or time frames for the periodic submission of
payments. 
The agreement must specify that the household will be



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 11, TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2001

1742

subject to involuntary collection action(s) if the payment is
not received by the due date and the claim becomes
delinquent.

Determining delinquency

A claim must be considered delinquent if:
A.  The claim has not been paid by the due date and a

satisfactory payment arrangement has not been made; or
B.  A payment arrangement has been established and a

scheduled payment has not been made by the due date. The
date of the delinquency for a claim is the due date of the
missed installment payment.  The claim will remain
delinquent until payment is received in full, allotment
reduction is invoked, or the agency determines to either
resume or re-negotiate the repayment schedule.

A claim will not be considered delinquent if another claim
for the same household is currently being paid either through
an installment agreement or allotment reduction, and the
agency expects to begin collection on the claim once the
prior claim is settled.

A claim is not subject to the requirements for delinquent
debts if the agency is unable to determine delinquency status
because collection is coordinated through the court system.

Fair hearings and claims

A claim awaiting a fair hearing must not be considered
delinquent.

If the fair hearing official determines a claim does exist, the
agency will re-notify the client of the claim and establish a
new due date.

If the fair hearing official determines a claim does not exist,
the claim is terminated and written-off.

Methods of Collecting Food Stamp Payments

ARMS will collect payments for claims against households
as follows:  

1)  Lump Sum - If the household is financially able to
repay the claim at one time, ARMS will collect a lump sum
cash payment.  However, the household will not be required
to liquidate all of its resources to make this one lump sum
payment. If the household is financially unable to repay the
entire amount of the claim at one time and prefers to make a
lump sum cash payment as partial payment of the claim,
ARMS will accept this method of repayment.   If the
household chooses to make a lump sum payment of food
stamp coupons as full or partial repayment of the claim,
ARMS will accept this method of repayment. 

2)  Installments - ARMS may will negotiate a
repayment schedule with the household for repayment of any
amounts of the claim not repaid through a lump sum
payment.  Payments will be accepted by ARMS in regular
installments.  The household may use food stamp coupons as
full or partial repayment of any installment.  If the full claim
or remaining amount of the claim cannot be liquidated in
three (3) years, ARMS may compromise the claim by
reducing it to an amount that will allow the household to
repay the claim in three (3) years.  ARMS may use the full
amount of the claim (including any amount compromised) to
offset benefits in accordance with DSSM 9011.  

If the household fails to make a payment in accordance with
the established repayment schedule (either in a lesser amount
or no payment), ARMS will send the household a notice
explaining that no payment or an insufficient payment was
received.  The notice will inform the household that it may
contact ARMS to discuss renegotiations of the repayment
schedule.  The notice will also inform the household unless
the overdue payments are made, or ARMS is contacted to
discuss renegotiations of the repayment reschedule, the
allotment of a currently participating household against
which an agency administrative error, inadvertent household
error, or intentional Program violation claim has been
established may be reduced without a notice of adverse
action.

If the household responds to the notice, ARMS will take one
of the following actions as appropriate:

a)  If the household makes the overdue payments and
wishes to continue payments based on the previous schedule,
permit the household to do so;

b)  If the household requests renegotiations, and if
ARMS concurs with the request, negotiate a new repayment
schedule;

c)  If the household requests renegotiations of the
amount of its repayment schedule, but ARMS believes that
the household's economic circumstances have not changed
enough to warrant the requested settlement, ARMS may
continue renegotiations until a settlement can be reached.
ARMS may invoke allotment reduction against a currently
participating household for repayment of an administrative
error, inadvertent household error, or intentional Program
violation claim if a settlement cannot be reached.

ARMS may also invoke allotment reduction if such a
household responds by requesting renegotiations of the
amount of its repayment schedule but ARMS believes that
the household's economic circumstances have not changed
enough to warrant the requested settlement.  If the allotment
reduction is invoked, no notice of adverse action is required.

In cases where the household is currently participating in the
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Program and a repayment schedule is negotiated for
repayment of an agency administrative error, inadvertent
household error, or intentional Program violation claim,
ARMS will ensure that the negotiated amount to be repaid
each month through installment payments is not less than the
amount which could be recovered through allotment
reduction.  Once negotiated, the amount to be repaid each
month through installment payments will remain unchanged
regardless of subsequent changes in the household's monthly
allotment. However, both ARMS and the household have the
option to initiate renegotiations of the repayment schedule if
they believe that the household's economic circumstances
have changed enough to warrant such action.

3)  Allotment Reduction - DMS will collect payments
for agency administrative error claims, inadvertent
household error claims and intentional Program violation
claims from households currently participating in the
Program by reducing the household's food stamp allotment,
unless the claim is being regularly collected at a higher
amount or another household is already having it’s allotment
reduced for the same claim.  The amount of Food stamps to
be recovered each month through allotment reduction will be
determined as follows:

a)  Agency Administrative Error and Inadvertent
Household Error Claims - The amount of food stamps will
be the greater of ten (10) percent of the household's monthly
allotment, or $10 per month, unless the household agrees to a
higher amount.  Round all figures with amounts to the next
highest dollar.

b)  Intentional Program Violation Claims - The
amount of food stamps will be the greater of twenty (20)
percent of the household's monthly entitlement, or $10 $20
per month, unless the household agrees to a higher amount.
Round all figures with the next highest dollar.

c)  The provision for a $10 minimum benefit level
for households with one and two members only as described
in DSSM 9066 applies to the allotment prior to reduction.

d)  Do not reduce the initial allotment when the
household is first certified unless the household agrees to
this reduction.

e)  Do not use additional involuntary collection
methods against individuals in a household that is already
having it’s allotment reduced unless the additional payment
is irregular and unexpected such as a State tax refund or
lottery winnings offset.

f)  ARMS may collect using allotment reduction
from two separate household for the same claim. ARMS
must make sure that the recouped amounts do not exceed the
total amount of the claim.

g)  ARMS may continue to use any other collection
method against any individual who is not a current member
of the household that is undergoing allotment reduction as
long as the amounts collected to not exceed the total amount
of the claim.

The procedure for effecting an allotment reduction is as
follows:

1)  ARMS Accounting Section will enter the necessary
information into the DCIS system and call the grant
calculator to compute the monthly withholding amount.
DCIS will generate two (2) copies of the TD, a grant
calculator worksheet, and a client notice.

2)  ARMS will reinstate the DSS Pool code the
following day and post-audit the documents produced in
Step 1, making any corrections.  Unresolved discrepancies in
grant amount or case status that result when the allotment
reduction information is entered by ARMS will be
forwarded to the Pool for handling.  It is imperative that the
Pools review such cases promptly and respond to ARMS
prior to the next authorization date.

3)  Following the resolution of any problems, ARMS
will send the worker a copy of the client notice and a copy of
the TD.

4)  As a result of the data entry performed by ARMS,
allotment reduction information will appear on the DCIS file
even through periods of inactivity until the claim is satisfied.
Any cash payments made by the household will be entered
by ARMS, using the DCIS collections screen.

This action will be reflected in the balance figure shown in
Section 12.  A claims activity report generated by DCIS will
alert ARMS when an inactive case returns to active status.

During the time that a household's allotment is reduced to
recover an overissuance, DSS will be required to handle any
case maintenance required.  Changes to financial data
performed by the DCIS Grant Calculator will be governed
by the allotment reduction indicator.  The system will apply
the appropriate percentage reduction to the calculated
allotment whenever a change is made.  When the
recoupment balance falls below the monthly withholding
amount, the DCIS system will withhold the remaining
balance.  When the balance is reduced to zero, the system
will automatically cancel the recoupment feature.

4)  Benefits from EBT accounts.

ARMS must allow a household to pay its claim using
benefits from its EBT benefit account as follows:

a)  Collecting from active (or reactivated) EBT benefits
– the agency needs written permission or oral permission for
one-time reductions with the agency sending the household a
receipt of the transaction within ten (10) days.

The written permission must include:
1.  A statement that this collection activity is strictly

voluntary;
2.  The amount of the payment;
3.  The frequency of the payments;
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4.  The length (if any) of the agreement;
5.  A statement that the household may revoke this

agreement at any time.

b)  Collecting from stale EBT benefits – the agency
must mail or otherwise deliver tot he household written
notification that the agency intends to apply the benefits to
the outstanding claim and give the household at least ten (10)
days to notify the agency that it doesn’t want to use these
benefits to pay the claim.

c)  Making an adjustment with expunged EBT benefits –
the agency must adjust the amount of any claim by
subtracting any expunged amount from the EBT benefit
account and this can be done anytime.

5)  Offsetting
After calculating the amount of the inadvertent household or
administrative error claim, ARMS will offset the amount of
the claim against any amount which has not yet been
restored to the household in accordance with DSSM 9011
and DSSM 7002.1.  ARMS will then initiate collection
action for the remaining balance, if any.

Once the amount of the intentional Program violation claim
is established, ARMS will offset the claim against any
amount of lost benefits that have not yet been restored to the
household per DSSM 9011.

6)  Intercept of unemployment compensation benefits

The agency may intercept unemployment compensation
benefits for the collection of any claim as part as a
repayment agreement or by obtaining a court order.

7)  Public Service 

The value of a claim may be paid by the household
performing public service when authorized by a court.

8)  Other collection actions 

The agency may employ any other collection actions to
collect claims.  These actions include, but are not limited to,
referrals to collection agencies, state tax refund, lottery
offsets, wage garnishments, property liens, and small claims
court.

9)  Unspecified joint collections 

When an unspecified joint collection is received for a
combined public assistance/food stamp recipient claim, each
program must receive its pro rata share of the amount
collected.  An unspecified joint collection is when funds are
received by a household where there is both a public
assistance overpayment and a food stamp claim and the

household does not specify to which claim to apply the
funds.

7004.5  Acceptable forms of payment

ARMS may collect a claim by:
A.  Reducing benefits prior to issuance.  This includes

allotment reductions and offsets to restored benefits.
B.  Reducing benefits after issuance.  These are benefits

from electronic benefit transfer accounts.
C.  Accepting cash or any of its generally accepts

equivalents.  These equivalents include check, money order,
and credit or debit cards.

D.  Accepting paper food coupons.
E.  Conducting other offsets and intercepts like wage

garnishments and intercepts of various State payments.
F.  Requiring the household to perform public service

when ordered by a court
G.  Participating in the Treasury Offset Program.

7005 Suspending and Terminating and writing-off
Collection of claims

1)  Suspending collection of inadvertent household and
administrative error claims - Such a claim may be suspended
if no collection action was initiated because of conditions
specified in DSSM 7004.3.  If collection action was initiated
and at least one demand letter has been sent, further
collection action of an inadvertent household error claim
against a non-participating household or of any
administrative error claim may be suspended when:

a)  The household cannot be located; or
b)  The cost of further collection is likely to exceed the

amount that can be recovered.
2)  Suspecting Collection of Intentional Program

Violation Claims - ARMS may suspend collection action on
intentional Program violation claims at any time it has
documentation that the household cannot be located.  If
ARMS has sent at least one (1) demand letter for claims
under $100, at least two (2) demand letters for claims
between $100 and $400, and at least three (3) demand letters
for claims of more than $400, further collection action of any
intentional Program violation claim against a non-
participating household may be suspended when the cost of
further collection action is likely to exceed the amount that
can be recovered.

3)  Terminating Collection of Claims - A claim may be
determined uncollectible after it is held in suspense for three
(3) years.  ARMS may use a suspended or terminated claim
to offset benefits in accordance with DSSM 9011.

A terminated claim is a claim in which all collection action
has ceased.

A written-off claim is no longer considered a receivable
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subject to continued Federal and State agency reporting
requirements.

Claim termination policy is as follows:
A.  If the agency finds that the claim is invalid, the

agency must discharge the claim and reflect the event as a
balance adjustment rather than a termination unless it is
appropriate to pursue the overpayment as a different type of
claim, like as an IHE rather than an IPV claim.

B.  If all household members die, the agency must
terminate and write-off the claim unless the agency plans to
pursue the claim against the estate.

C.  If the claim balance is $25 or less and the claim has
been delinquent for 90 days or more, the agency must
terminate and write-off the claim unless other claims exist
against the household resulting in an aggregate claim total
greater than $25.

D.  If the agency determines it is not cost effective to
pursue the claim any further, the agency must terminate and
write-off the claim.

E.  If the claim is delinquent for three years or more, the
agency must terminate and write-off the claim unless the
agency plans to continue to pursue the claim through
Treasury’s Offset Program.

F.  If the household cannot be located, the agency may
terminate and write-off the claim.

G.  If a new collection method or a specific event such
as winning the lottery substantially increases the likelihood
of further collections, the agency may reinstate a terminated
and written-off claim.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Delaware's A Better Chance and General Assistance 

Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Delaware's
A Better Chance and General Assistance Programs is
proposing to implement policy changes to the following
sections of the Division of Social Services Manual: 2015 -
2019.  These changes relate to medical assistance eligibility
rules for cash assistance recipients.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by May 31, 2001.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

REVISION 

2015  Medicaid Eligibility for AFDC and GA Recipients

Medicaid is a medical assistance program available to needy
persons who meet the technical and financial eligibility
requirements of the program.  Persons automatically eligible
for Medicaid are:

1.  ABC recipients,
2.  ABC-Two-parent family recipients,
3.  GA recipients under the age of 19.

Each month the payee of a public assistance unit receives a
Medicaid Card for each Medicaid eligible unit member.  The
Medicaid cards are mailed in a mailer separate from the
monthly public assistance check.  It must be presented to the
medical service provider each time a medical service is
requested.

Medicaid normally pays for the following expenses provided
within the State of Delaware.

1.  Hospital care 
2.  X-rays and laboratory services  
3.  Physician and Specialist Services
4.  Prescription drugs and some over the counter drugs
5.  Home health services - including physical therapy,

occupational therapy and speech therapy.
6.  Podiatric Services 
7.  Long Term nursing home care
8.  Prenatal care and family planning services
9.  Children's health screening program
10.  Some medical equipment and supplies
11.  Eye exam's, eyeglasses, and dental care for children
12.  Dialysis.

Most medicaid recipients are now required to enroll in a
managed care organization and choose a primary physician
in order to receive benefits.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.htm


PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 11, TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2001

1746

2016  Other Persons Eligible for Medicaid
In addition to recipients of cash assistance, the

following groups of people are also eligible for Medicaid.
1.  Persons eligible for ABC, ABC-Two-parent

family program, and persons under age 19 eligible for GA,
but who do not receive a grant because their need for
assistance is less than $10.

2.  Pregnant women from the date of medical
verification of pregnancy if the pregnant woman's income
falls below the ABC income and resource Standard of Need
for two people.

If the pregnant woman lives with the father of her
child, the family's income must fall below the ABC standard
for three people.

3.  Children who are ineligible for ABC because of
income deemed to them in the step-parent budgeting
process.

4.  Children of minor parents who are ineligible for
ABC because of the deeming of grandparent or legal
guardian income.

Note:The minor parent in this situation is not Medicaid
eligible.

5.  Children who are ineligible for ABC because of
the mandatory inclusion in the assistance of unit of a sibling
with income.

6.  Legally admitted aliens who are ineligible
because of the deeming of sponsor income.

2017  Retroactive Medicaid
All ABC and ABC-Two-parent family applicants, and

GA applicants that are excluded from the Diamond State
Health Plan because they have other accessible managed
care coverage or medicare who claim unpaid medical bills
that were incurred any time in the period three (3) months
prior to the month of application are eligible for Medicaid in
the month the bill was incurred if:

1.  The applicant would have been eligible for
ABC, ABC-Two parent family program or GA in the month
that the bill was incurred; and

2.  The bill is for a medical service that Medicaid
covers; and

3.  The bill has not been placed with a collection
agency for payment; and

4.  The bill is not the responsibility of a third party;
and

5.  The provider of the medical services is a
participant in the Delaware Medicaid Program.

The intake worker will refer requests for payment
of such unpaid bills to the Medicaid Unit by forwarding a
copy of Form 402 and a TD that indicates the current status

of the case.  
 NOTE:  A family may be ineligible for assistance

in the month of application, but be eligible for retroactive
Medicaid coverage in an earlier month.  It is appropriate to
make referrals for retroactive Medicaid when it appears that
a family would have been eligible in a prior month even if
the family's current circumstances renders it ineligible for
assistance.

2018  Prospective Medicaid - Child Support
Any ABC recipient whose case is closed solely because

of an initial or increased child support payment may be
eligible for four (4) months of continued Medicaid
eligibility.

2019  Transitional Medicaid _ Employment
Recipients of ABC and ABC-UP are eligible for

continued Medicaid coverage when their public assistance
cases are closed if:

1.  The case is closed solely because of new
employment or an increase in income from current
employment, or loss of 30 or 1/3 disregard; and

2.  The family correctly received ABC in at least
three (3) months of the six (6) month period that precedes the
month that new employment or increased earnings began.

Eligible families can receive Transitional Medicaid
for a period not to exceed twelve (12) months.  Eligibility
begins in the month that the earned income exceeds the ABC
standard.

Proposed:

2015 Medical Assistance Eligibility for Cash Assistance
Recipients

Please refer to the following sections of DSSM 13000
Medical Assistance Program Overview 14000 Common
Eligibility, 15000 Family and Community Eligibility, and
16000 Federal Poverty Level Related Programs.

2016 Reserved
2017 Reserved
2018 Reserved
2019 Reserved
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Delaware's A Better Chance and General Assistance 

Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Delaware's
A Better Chance and General Assistance Programs is
proposing to implement policy changes to the following
sections of the Division of Social Services Manual: 3023.9
and 3023.9.1.  These changes relate to Delaware's A Better
Chance (DABC) and General Assistance (GA) rules for
overlapping eligibility and overlapping eligibility exception.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by May 31, 2001.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

NEW 

DSSM 3023.9 DABC and GA Overlapping Eligibility
People can only receive one cash assistance payment for

themselves at a time. This means that a person cannot be
open in more than one DCIS case nor can they be open in
more than one assistance group at the same time. 

This does not preclude a person moving in the same
month from a GA assistance group to a DABC assistance
group in the same month. Please see DSSM 3023.9.1 ABC
and GA Overlapping Eligibility Exception.

DSSM 3023.9.1  ABC and GA Overlapping Eligibility
Exception

An individual can receive a GA benefit and become
eligible for DABC in the same month. The individual is
entitled to the difference between the GA benefit received
and the DABC benefit. 

An example of this is when a pregnant woman receiving
GA has her baby and is opened in DABC. In this situation
the GA assistance group is closed for the mother after the
baby is born.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Delaware's Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid/
Medical Assistance Program is proposing to amend the
following Medicaid policies related to eligibility:
clarification about the Personal Responsibility and Work
Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) delinking of
Medicaid from Welfare; clarification about state residency;
clarification that adults in the expanded population are not
eligible for emergency services and labor and delivery only;
presumptively eligible pregnant women do not enroll in
managed care; clarification that Medicaid families must
cooperate with medical support not child (cash) support;
clarification about dependent care expenses; there is no post
partum extension for illegally residing pregnant alien
women; DSS is adding age limits between ages 16-50 to the
Family Planning extension.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle,
Delaware by May 31, 2001.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

REVISION 

13402  Delaware's A Better Chance Welfare Reform
Program

Before the passage of PRWORA, anyone receiving cash
assistance under AFDC was automatically entitled to
Medicaid. Under the new law, persons receiving assistance

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.htm
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under the block grant (TANF) are not automatically entitled
to Medicaid.  A new Medicaid eligibility group for low
income families with children is established at Section 1931
of the Social Security Act added by section 114 of
PRWORA.

Section 1931 also gives States more flexibility in
determining Medicaid eligibility.  This means that any
family eligible for and receiving cash assistance under A
Better Chance Welfare Reform Program is also eligible for
Medicaid under Section 1931.

13403  AFDC Applicants With A Budgeted Need Of Less
Than $10

Anyone who is otherwise eligible for ABC cash
assistance but does not receive cash because their need for
assistance is less than $10.00, is still eligible for Medicaid
under Section 1931.

14110.8.1  Prohibitions
A State cannot deny Medicaid eligibility:

a)  to an otherwise qualified resident of the State
because the individual's residence is not maintained
permanently or at a fixed address. 

b)  because of a durational residence requirement.
c)  to an institutionalized individual because the

individual did not establish residence in the community prior
to admission to an institution.

d)  or terminate a resident's Medicaid eligibility due
to temporary absence from the State if the person intends to
return when the purpose of the absence has been
accomplished, unless another State has determined that the
person is a resident there for purposes of Medicaid.

e)  or wait to approve Medicaid eligibility in
situations where the individual has moved to Delaware from
another State and the Medicaid case is still open in the
former State.  The individual is no longer a resident of the
former State and is ineligible in that State.  The case may not
be closed yet due to administrative processes.

14300  Citizenship and Alienage
The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity

Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA, P.L. 104-193)
enacted on August 22, 1996, significantly changed Medicaid
eligibility for individuals who are not citizens of the United
States. The legislation revised the categories of noncitizens
who may be determined eligible for Medicaid.  The
legislation identifies noncitizens as qualified aliens or
nonqualified aliens.  The term qualified refers to groups of
aliens whose members may establish Medicaid eligibility
under certain circumstances and subject to certain
limitations.  For specific groups of aliens identified as
nonqualified, eligibility is limited to the treatment of an
emergency medical condition as defined in this section.  

In State Fiscal Year 1998, (SFY 98), the Delaware

legislature appropriated STATE ONLY FUNDS to provide
coverage of full Medicaid benefits to legally residing
noncitizens who are ineligible for full Medicaid benefits
because of PRWORA.  Coverage for these aliens will be
provided on a fee for service basis and is subject to the
availability of state funding.  In the event state funding is
exhausted, the benefits will be reduced to coverage of
emergency services and labor and deliver only.  

Aliens who may be found eligible for full Medicaid
coverage using the state funds include legally residing
nonqualified aliens and qualified aliens subject to the 5 year
bar.  Illegally residing aliens and ineligible aliens ARE NOT
ELIGIBLE for full Medicaid coverage, but remain eligible
for emergency services and labor and delivery only.   

All applicants, whether aliens or citizens, must meet the
technical and financial eligibility criteria of a specific
eligibility group such as SSI related group, AFDC related
group, or poverty level related group.  Not every alien,
qualified or nonqualified, will be eligible for Medicaid,
emergency services and labor and delivery only, or the state
funded benefits. The adult expansion population, under the
1115 demonstration waiver entitled Diamond State Health
Plan, is not eligible for emergency services and labor and
delivery only or the state funded benefits.

Receipt of Medicaid benefits cannot be considered by
the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) when
making public charge determinations.  

14320.1  Medicaid Eligibility for Qualified Aliens
(PRWORA and/or State Funds)

Effective January 1, 1998, all qualified aliens,
regardless of the date of entry into the U.S., may be found
eligible for full Medicaid benefits.  This does NOT include
long term care services.  Legally residing nonqualified aliens
may be found eligible for Medicaid long term care services
upon residing in the United States for five years.  Certain
qualified aliens will be Medicaid eligible.  Other qualified
aliens will receive state funded benefits.  The adult
expansion population, under the 1115 demonstration waiver
entitled Diamond State Health Plan, is not eligible for
emergency services and labor and delivery only or the state
funded benefits.

14900  Enrollment in Managed Care
On May 17, 1995, Delaware received approval from the

Health Care Financing Administration for a Section 1115
Demonstration Waiver that is known as the Diamond State
Health Plan.  The basic idea behind this initiative is to use
managed care principles and a strong quality assurance
program to revamp the way health care is delivered to
Delaware's most vulnerable populations.  The Diamond
State Health Plan is designed to provide a basic set of health
care benefits to current Medicaid beneficiaries as well as
uninsured individuals in Delaware who have income at or



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 11, TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2001

1749

below 100% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL).  The
demonstration waiver will mainstream certain Medicaid
recipients into managed care to increase and improve access
to medical service while improving cost effectiveness and
slowing the rate of growth in health care costs.  

The majority of the Medicaid population receiving
noninstitutional services will be enrolled into the Diamond
State Health Plan.  Recipients in the cash assistance
programs (TANF/AFDC, SSI, and GA) as well as the
TANF/AFDC-related groups, SSI-related groups, and
poverty level groups will be included in the managed care
program.  The following individuals cannot enroll in
Diamond State Health Plan:

a)  Individuals entitled to or eligible to enroll in
Medicare

b)  Individuals residing in a nursing facility or
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded (ICF/MR)

c)  individuals covered under the home and
community based waivers

d)  non lawful and non qualified non citizens
(aliens) 

e)  individuals who have CHAMPUS
f)  presumptively eligible pregnant women

14950.6  Termination of Guaranteed Eligibility
The six-month period of eligibility terminates the

earliest of: the last day of the sixth month following the
effective date of enrollment in the DSHP or the last day of
the month in which the individual:

a)  dies
b)  moves out-of-state or is no longer a Delaware

resident
c)  becomes an inmate of a public institution
d)  requests termination of Medicaid eligibility and/

or managed care enrollment
e) fails to complete the final determination as a

presumptively eligible pregnant woman
e)  becomes eligible for long term care Medicaid
f)  becomes eligible for or entitled to Medicare
g)  becomes eligible for CHAMPUS
h)  becomes eligible for another comprehensive

medical managed care program administered by the
Delaware Medical Assistance Program

i)  is otherwise ineligible for the DSHP.

15110.1  Medicaid Eligibility
Before the passage of PRWORA, anyone receiving cash

assistance under AFDC was automatically entitled to
Medicaid. Under the new law, persons receiving assistance
under the block grant (TANF) are not automatically entitled
to Medicaid.  A new Medicaid eligibility group for low
income families with children is established at Section 1931
of the Social Security Act added by section 114 of
PRWORA.  These families will receive Medicaid if they

meet the AFDC eligibility criteria in effect as of 7/16/96.
The eligibility criteria for this new group is described in the
section, “Low Income Families with Children under Section
1931”.  

Section 1931 also gives States more flexibility in
determining Medicaid eligibility.  Delaware has used the
authority in Section 1931 to ensure that any family eligible
for and receiving cash assistance under A Better Chance is
also eligible for Medicaid under Section 1931 without
having to complete a separate Medicaid eligibility
determination.

Families who are eligible for Medicaid under Section
1931 may be receiving ABC cash assistance or may be
Medicaid only families.

15120.1.2  Child Medical Support Cooperation
Deprivation is not an eligibility requirement for this

group. If the child is deprived of parental support, a referral
to the Division of Child Support Enforcement for medical
support is required.

15200  Transitional Medicaid
The Family Support Act of 1988, PL 100-485,

mandated that effective April 1, 1990, states provide health
care coverage known as Transitional Medical Assistance for
up to twelve months for families who become ineligible for
AFDC due to increased earnings, increased hours of
employment, or loss of earned income disregards. 

The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), P.L. 104-193,
repealed the AFDC program and replaced it with a program
of block grants to states for Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families (TANF).  Delaware implemented its TANF
program, A Better Chance Welfare Reform Program (ABC),
on March 10, 1997.  

Prior to PRWORA, a family’s eligibility for
Transitional Medicaid was linked to receipt of AFDC.
Under PRWORA, a family’s eligibility for transitional
Medicaid is linked to receipt of Medicaid under Section
15120, “Low Income Families with Children under Section
1931”.  (See DSSM 15120 )

The eligibility group described in “Low Income
Families with Children under Section 1931”, will be referred
to as “receiving Medicaid under Section 1931” throughout
this section.  Any family eligible for and receiving ABC
benefits is also eligible for Medicaid under Section 1931 and
may be found eligible for Transitional Medicaid.  This
means references to “Medicaid under Section 1931” also
refers to families receiving ABC.

Delaware's welfare reform waiver, "A Better Chance
Welfare Reform Program" (ABC) includes a modification to
the length of the Transitional Medicaid period.  The ABC
waiver extends Transitional Medicaid benefits for up to 24
months.
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Families must meet the initial eligibility requirements
described in this section to receive the first 12 months of
coverage. Families can be eligible when their income
exceeds either 185% of the standard of need or the standard
of need.   The standard of need used is the same as the ABC
standard of need.   

To continue to receive Medicaid for the second 12
months, the family's gross earned income less child
dependent care costs must be at or below 185% FPL.
Dependent care costs are for the care of dependent children
or incapacitated persons living in the home.  Family income
will be budgeted prospectively.

15200.6.2.1  Good Cause for Terminating Employment
Good cause for terminating employment is:

1.  Circumstances beyond the individual's control
such as but not limited to illness, illness of another family
member requiring the wage earner's presence, a household
emergency, the unavailability of transportation, and the lack
of adequate child dependent care.

2.  Instances in which employment was unsuitable
such as:

• wages offered less than the Federal minimum wage, 
• employment on a piece-rate basis and the average

hourly yield the employee receives is less than the
Federal minimum wage, 

• unreasonable degree of risk to one's health and
safety, 

• the individual is physically or mentally unfit to
perform the employment as documented by medical
evidence or reliable information from other sources,

• the distance from the individual's house to place of
employment is unreasonable considering the
expected wage and the time and cost of commuting, 

• the working hours or nature of employment
interferes with the members religious observance,
convictions or beliefs.

3.  Discrimination by an employer based on age,
race, sex, disability, religious belief, national origin, or
political belief.

4.  Work demands or conditions that are
unreasonable such as working without being paid on
schedule.

5.  Acceptance of other employment or enrollment
at least half-time in a school, training program, or college.

6.  Resignations by persons under the age of 60 that
are recognized by the employer as retirement.

7.  Leaving a job in connection with patterns of
employment in which workers move from one employer to
another as in migrant farm labor or construction work.

15200.6.3  Limit on Gross Monthly Earnings
The family's gross monthly earnings (less the monthly

costs of necessary child dependent care) are at or below
185% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) and continue to be
at or below 185% FPL throughout the second 12-month
period. The FPL is effective each July for Transitional
Medicaid.

There are no limits on necessary child dependent care
costs.  Prospective budgeting is used to determine family
income. Do not add unearned income to earned income.
Count the earned income of all family members living in the
home who were members of the family unit the month the
family became ineligible for Medicaid under Section 1931
and any individual who would be included in the caretaker
relative's assistance unit if the family were now applying for
Medicaid under Section 1931.  

Exception: Do not count the earned income of a
dependent child, regardless of student status.

15200.8.2  Second 12-Month Period
Eligibility for Transitional Medicaid will be terminated

if:
• the family no longer has a child living in the home
• the caretaker relative is no longer employed and

good cause does not apply
• the family's monthly gross earned income minus

child dependent care costs exceeds 185% FPL.

We must explore eligibility for any other Medicaid
program before Transitional Medicaid is terminated.

16100.1.2  Initial Eligibility Determination
The two criteria for finding an applicant presumptively

eligible are:  a medically verified pregnancy and self-
reported family income at or below 185% of the Federal
Poverty Level.  Countable family income is determined
using the rules in this section including the $90 earned
income deduction and any self-reported child dependent care
expenses.  State residency is established for presumptive
eligibility by the applicant writing a home address on the
application that is a Delaware residence. 

Note:  Women who are nonqualified aliens or
illegally residing in the U.S. are not eligible for presumptive
Medicaid.

Verifications of all other factors of eligibility are
postponed.  Postponed verifications must be provided within
30 days from the date of receipt of the application.  Under
unusual circumstances, the deadline date for postponed
verifications may be extended.  The reason for the extension
must be documented in the case record.  The verifications
that were postponed are required to determine final
eligibility for Medicaid benefits.   Presumptive eligibility
continues until a final eligibility determination is completed.
If the required verifications are not provided, eligibility
under the presumptive period ends.

Pregnant women who are determined presumptively
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eligible are required to enroll in the Diamond State Health
Plan unless otherwise exempt.  

16230.1.4  Deductions from Earned Income
• $90 earned income deduction per month per earner 
• actual child care expenses up to $175 per month per

child for age two and older; up to $200 per child for
under age two.  Convert weekly amount to a
monthly amount.  The dependent child must be
related to the wage earner or must be included in
the budget unit in order to allow the child care
deduction.     

• actual monthly dependent care expenses for the
care of each dependent child or incapacitated adult
living in the same home.  Monthly dependent care
expenses cannot exceed $175 for each dependent
child age two and older and each incapacitated
adult and cannot exceed $200 for each dependent
child under age two.

• There is a special income disregard for pregnant
teens.  Exclude one-half of the gross parental
income (includes earned and unearned income) in
the eligibility determination for the pregnant teen.

16270.1  Postpartum Period
The postpartum period is a mandatory extension of

benefits for women who were determined eligible for
Medicaid in the month of birth or in a month prior to the
month of birth (while still pregnant). A woman cannot apply
and be found eligible for the postpartum period alone.  The
postpartum period is an extension of Medicaid coverage that
was provided because of pregnancy. Illegally residing aliens
are not eligible for the postpartum extension.

In most cases, a pregnant woman must apply in the
month of birth or in a month prior to the month of birth
(while still pregnant) in order to have Medicaid coverage for
the delivery and postpartum period.  This is because most
pregnant women are required to enroll in managed care and
are not eligible for retroactive Medicaid coverage.  A woman
who is excluded from managed care and therefore
potentially eligible for retroactive coverage, could apply up
to 3 months after the month of birth and be found eligible for
the delivery and postpartum period.  

If a pregnancy is terminated through miscarriage or a
federally funded abortion, the woman is still entitled to the
post-partum period.  If a mother delivers a child who dies a
few days after birth, she is still entitled to the post-partum
period. The deceased child must be added to the case
through DCIS to cover any bills he may have incurred
between birth and death.  Both birth and death verifications
are waived in this instance.  

If a pregnant woman plans to put her baby up for
adoption, she will receive the regular post-partum period.
The baby will also be eligible through the mother's post-

partum period.  The baby may then be eligible for Medicaid
under the Adoption Assistance Program. The adoption
agency should apply for Medicaid for the infant while the
child is awaiting an adoptive home.

The post-partum period is increased from 60 to 90 days
as part of the demonstration waiver under the Diamond State
Health Plan.  Effective 10/1/95 the post partum period
extends 90 days beginning on the last day of pregnancy.
Any woman whose post partum period ends 9/30/95 or later
will have the post partum period extended.  This means that
any woman who delivers on 8/1/95 or later will get 90 days
post partum.  

Medicaid eligibility related to the post partum extension
ends on the last day of the month in which the 90 day period
ends.

16500.1  Eligibility Requirements
Women may receive Family Planning services if they

meet the following conditions:
1.  are of childbearing age age 16 through age 50
2.  were receiving Medicaid but lost Medicaid

eligibility on or after 12/31/95 for non fraudulent reasons.
Females who lose eligibility as a QMB, SLMB, or QI or who
were eligible for emergency services and labor and delivery
only, are not eligible for the family planning extension.
Fraud is defined by Section 1128B of the Social Security
Act. The individual must be convicted of fraud by a court of
competent jurisdiction.

3.  continue to meet Delaware residency
requirements

4.  are not inmates of a public institution such as a
correctional facility or mental health institution

5.  for the second year of the extension, have
countable family income at or below 300% of the Federal
Poverty Level.  See Procedures for Implementation of
Eligibility Rules for income limits at 300% of the FPL.  

Family income will be determined using the
methodology of the Federal Poverty Level related programs.
Resources are not counted.

18100.2  Alien Status
The DHCP does not provide state-funded benefits to

qualified aliens subject to the 5 year PRWORA bar or to
legally residing nonqualified aliens.  The DHCP does not
provide coverage of emergency and labor and delivery
services to illegally residing and ineligible aliens.  Receipt of
or Delaware Healthy Children Program benefits cannot be
considered by the Immigration and Naturalization Service
(INS) when making public charge determinations.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, 

Section 311 (18 Del. C. 311)

The Delaware Insurance Department proposes a new
regulation that will govern the treatment of nonpublic
personal financial information about individuals by all
licensees of the Department of Insurance.  This proposed
regulation, in part, meets the requirements of Title V of the
Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public Law 106-102 (1999).

A public hearing will be held on the proposed regulation
on Tuesday, May 29, 2001 at 10:00 a.m. Hearing Room of
the Department of Insurance, Rodney Building, 841 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The Department
will receive and consider input in writing from any person on
the proposed regulation.  Any written comments should be
submitted to the Department in care of Michael J. Rich,
Deputy Attorney General, at the above address. The final
date to submit written comments shall be at the above
scheduled public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy
of the proposed regulation or to make comments at the
public hearing should notify Joan Zimmerman at the above
address by calling (302) 739-4251.  Under 18 Del. C. §
701(18), there will be a $16.00 charge for a photocopy of the
regulation.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

Regulation No. 84
Privacy of Consumer Financial and Health Information 

Regulation

Adopted and signed on       , 2001.
Effective July 11, 2001 

ARTICLE I. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Section 1.  Authority
This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority

granted by Sections 311 and 535 of Title 18, Delaware Code.

Section 2.  Purpose and Scope
A.  Purpose. This regulation governs the treatment of

nonpublic personal financial information about individuals
by all licensees of the state insurance department. This
regulation:

(1)  Requires a licensee to provide notice to
individuals about its privacy policies and practices;

(2)  Describes the conditions under which a licensee
may disclose nonpublic personal financial information about
individuals to affiliates and nonaffiliated third parties; and

(3)  Provides methods for individuals to prevent a

licensee from disclosing that information.
B.  Scope. This regulation applies to: 

Nonpublic personal financial information about
individuals who obtain or are claimants or beneficiaries of
products or services primarily for personal, family or
household purposes from licensees.  This regulation does not
apply to information about companies or about individuals
who obtain products or services for business, commercial or
agricultural purposes.

C.  Compliance.  A licensee domiciled in this state that
is in compliance with this regulation in a state that has not
enacted laws or regulations that meet the requirements of
Title V of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (PL 102-106) may
nonetheless be deemed to be in compliance with Title V of
the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act in such other state.

Section 3.  Rule of Construction
The examples in this regulation and the sample clauses

in Appendix A of this regulation are not exclusive.
Compliance with an example or use of a sample clause, to
the extent applicable, constitutes compliance with this
regulation.

Section 4.  Definitions

As used in this regulation, unless the context requires
otherwise:

A.  “Affiliate” means any company that controls, is
controlled by or is under common control with another
company.

B. (1)  “Clear and conspicuous” means that a notice is
reasonably understandable and designed to call attention to
the nature and significance of the information in the notice.

(2)  Examples.
(a)  Reasonably understandable. A licensee

makes its notice reasonably understandable if it:
(i)  Presents the information in the notice

in clear, concise sentences, paragraphs, and sections;
(ii)  Uses short explanatory sentences or

bullet lists whenever possible;
(iii)  Uses definite, concrete, everyday

words and active voice whenever possible;
(iv)  Avoids multiple negatives;
(v)  Avoids legal and highly technical

business terminology whenever possible; and
(vi)  Avoids explanations that are

imprecise and readily subject to different interpretations.
(b)  Designed to call attention. A licensee

designs its notice to call attention to the nature and
significance of the information in it if the licensee:

(i)  Uses a plain-language heading to call
attention to the notice;

(ii)  Uses a typeface and type size that is
easy to read;

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
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(iii)  Provides wide margins and ample
line spacing;

(iv)  Uses boldface or italics for key
words; and

(v)  In a form that combines the licensee’s
notice with other information, uses distinctive type size,
style, and graphic devices, such as shading or sidebars.

(c)  Notices on web sites. If a licensee provides
a notice on a web page, the licensee designs its notice to call
attention to the nature and significance of the information in
it if the licensee uses text or visual cues to encourage
scrolling down the page if necessary to view the entire notice
and ensure that other elements on the web site (such as text,
graphics, hyperlinks or sound) do not distract attention from
the notice, and the licensee either:

(i)  Places the notice on a screen that
consumers frequently access, such as a page on which
transactions are conducted; or

(ii)  Places a link on a screen that
consumers frequently access, such as a page on which
transactions are conducted, that connects directly to the
notice and is labeled appropriately to convey the importance,
nature and relevance of the notice.

C.  “Collect” means to obtain information that the
licensee organizes or can retrieve by the name of an
individual or by identifying number, symbol or other
identifying particular assigned to the individual, irrespective
of the source of the underlying information.

D.  “Commissioner” means the Insurance
Commissioner of Delaware.  

E.  “Company” means a corporation, limited liability
company, business trust, general or limited partnership,
association, sole proprietorship or similar organization.

F.  (1)  “Consumer” means an individual who seeks to
obtain, obtains or has obtained an insurance product or
service from a licensee that is to be used primarily for
personal, family or household purposes, and about whom the
licensee has nonpublic personal information, or that
individual’s legal representative.

(2)  Examples.
(a)  An individual who provides nonpublic

personal information to a licensee in connection with
obtaining or seeking to obtain financial, investment or
economic advisory services relating to an insurance product
or service is a consumer regardless of whether the licensee
establishes an ongoing advisory relationship.

(b)  An applicant for insurance prior to the
inception of insurance coverage is a licensee’s consumer.

(c)  An individual who is a consumer of
another financial institution is not a licensee’s consumer
solely because the licensee is acting as agent for, or provides
processing or other services to, that financial institution.

(d)  An individual is a licensee’s consumer if: 
(i)  (I)  the individual is a beneficiary of a

life insurance policy underwritten by the licensee; 
(II)  the individual is a claimant under

an insurance policy issued by the licensee; 
(III)  the individual is an insured or an

annuitant under an insurance policy or an annuity,
respectively, issued by the licensee; or

(IV)  the individual is a mortgagor of
a mortgage covered under a mortgage insurance policy; and

(ii)  the licensee discloses nonpublic
personal financial information about the individual to a
nonaffiliated third party other than as permitted under
Sections 14, 15 and 16 of this regulation.

(e)  Provided that the licensee provides the
initial, annual and revised notices under Sections 5, 6 and 9
of this regulation to the plan sponsor, group or blanket
insurance policyholder or group annuity contract holder,
workers’ compensation plan participant, and further
provided that the licensee does not disclose to a nonaffiliated
third party nonpublic personal financial information about
such an individual other than as permitted under Sections 14,
15 and 16 of this regulation, an individual is not the
consumer of the licensee solely because he or she is:

(i)  A participant or a beneficiary of an
employee benefit plan that the licensee administers or
sponsors or for which the licensee acts as a trustee, insurer or
fiduciary;

(ii)  Covered under a group or blanket
insurance policy or group annuity contract issued by the
licensee; or

(iii)  A beneficiary in a workers’
compensation plan.

(f)  (i)  The individuals described in
Subparagraph (e)(i) through (iii) of this Paragraph are
consumers of a licensee if the licensee does not meet all the
conditions of Subparagraph (e).

(ii)  In no event shall the individuals,
solely by virtue of the status described in Subparagraph (e)(i)
through (iii) above, be deemed to be customers for purposes
of this regulation.

(g)  An individual is not a licensee’s consumer
solely because he or she is a beneficiary of a trust for which
the licensee is a trustee.

(h)  An individual is not a licensee’s consumer
solely because he or she has designated the licensee as
trustee for a trust.

G.  “Consumer reporting agency” has the same meaning
as in Section 603(f) of the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act
(15 U.S.C. 1681a(f)).

H.  “Control” means:
(1)  Ownership, control or power to vote twenty-

five  percent (25%) or more of the outstanding shares of any
class of voting security of the company, directly or
indirectly, or acting through one or more other persons;
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(2)  Control in any manner over the election of a
majority of the directors, trustees or general partners (or
individuals exercising similar functions) of the company; or

(3)  The power to exercise, directly or indirectly, a
controlling influence over the management or policies of the
company, as the commissioner determines.

I.  “Customer” means a consumer who has a customer
relationship with a licensee.  

J.  (1)  “Customer relationship” means a continuing
relationship between a consumer and a licensee under which
the licensee provides one or more insurance products or
services to the consumer that are to be used primarily for
personal, family or household purposes.

(2)  Examples.
(a)  A consumer has a continuing relationship

with a licensee if:
(i)  The consumer is a current policyholder

of an insurance product issued by or through the licensee; or
(ii)  The consumer obtains financial,

investment or economic advisory services relating to an
insurance product or service from the licensee for a fee.

(b)  A consumer does not have a continuing
relationship with a licensee if:

(i)  The consumer applies for insurance but
does not purchase the insurance;

(ii)  The licensee sells the consumer airline
travel insurance in an isolated transaction;

(iii)  The individual is no longer a current
policyholder of an insurance product or no longer obtains
insurance services with or through the licensee;

(iv)  The consumer is a beneficiary or
claimant under a policy and has submitted a claim under a
policy choosing a settlement option involving an ongoing
relationship with the licensee;

(v)  The consumer is a beneficiary or a
claimant under a policy and has submitted a claim under that
policy choosing a lump sum settlement option;

(vi)  The customer’s policy is lapsed,
expired, or otherwise inactive or dormant under the
licensee’s business practices, and the licensee has not
communicated with the customer about the relationship for a
period of twelve (12) consecutive months, other than annual
privacy notices, material required by law or regulation,
communication at the direction of a state or federal
authority, or promotional materials; 

(vii)  The individual is an insured or an
annuitant under an insurance policy or annuity, respectively,
but is not the policyholder or owner of the insurance policy
or annuity;  or 

(viii)  For the purposes of this regulation,
the individual’s last known address according to the
licensee’s records is deemed invalid.  An address of record is
deemed invalid if mail sent to that address by the licensee
has been returned by the postal authorities as undeliverable

and if subsequent attempts by the licensee to obtain a current
valid address for the individual have been unsuccessful.

K.  (1)  “Financial institution” means any institution
the business of which is engaging in activities that are
financial in nature or incidental to such financial activities as
described in Section 4(k) of the Bank Holding Company Act
of 1956 (12 U.S.C. 1843(k)).

(2)  Financial institution does not include:
(i)  Any person or entity with respect to

any financial activity that is subject to the jurisdiction of the
Commodity Futures Trading Commission under the
Commodity Exchange Act (7 U.S.C. 1 et seq.);

(ii)  The Federal Agricultural Mortgage
Corporation or any entity charged and operating under the
Farm Credit Act of 1971 (12 U.S.C. 2001 et seq.);  or

(iii)  Institutions chartered by Congress
specifically to engage in securitizations, secondary market
sales (including sales of servicing rights) or similar
transactions related to a transaction of a consumer, as long as
the institutions do not sell or transfer nonpublic personal
information to a nonaffiliated third party.

L.  (1)  “Financial product or service” means any
product or service that a financial holding company could
offer by engaging in an activity that is financial in nature or
incidental to such a financial activity under Section 4(k) of
the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956 (12 U.S.C.
1843(k)).

(2)  Financial service includes a financial
institution’s evaluation or brokerage of information that the
financial institution collects in connection with a request or
an application from a consumer for a financial product or
service.

M.  (1)  “Insurance product or service” means any
product or service that is offered by a licensee pursuant to
the insurance laws of this state.

(2)  Insurance service includes a licensee's
evaluation, brokerage or distribution of information that the
licensee collects in connection with a request or an
application from a consumer for a insurance product or
service.

N.  (1)  “Licensee” means all licensed insurers,
producers and other persons licensed or required to be
licensed, or authorized or required to be authorized, or
registered or required to be registered pursuant to the
Insurance Law of this state, [and health maintenance
organizations holding a certificate of authority pursuant to
Section [insert section] of this state’s Public Health Law].  

(2)  (a)  A licensee is not subject to the notice
and opt out requirements for nonpublic personal financial
information set forth in Articles I, II, III and IV of this
regulation if the licensee is an employee, agent or other
representative of another licensee (“the principal”) and:

(i)  The principal otherwise complies
with, and provides the notices required by, the provisions of
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this regulation; and
(ii)  The licensee does not disclose

any nonpublic personal information to any person other than
the principal or its affiliates in a manner permitted by this
regulation.

(b)  Examples of  employee, agent or other
representative of a principal:

(i)  An insurance broker, public
adjuster or other licensee who is employed by another
insurance broker, public adjuster or other licensee;

(ii)  An independent adjuster adjusting
a claim or benefit on behalf of an insurer;

(iii)  An insurance agent of an insurer;
(iv)  An insurance broker that has

binding authority for an insurer; or
(v)  A sublicensee of a licensee,

whether or not the sublicensee is licensed in any other
capacity.

(3)  (a)  Subject to Subparagraph (b),
“licensee” shall also include an unauthorized insurer that
accepts business placed through a licensed excess lines
broker in this state, but only in regard to the excess lines
placements placed pursuant to the Delaware Insurance Code.

(b)  An excess lines broker or excess lines
insurer shall be deemed to be in compliance with the notice
and opt out requirements for nonpublic personal financial
information set forth in Articles I, II, III and IV of this
regulation provided:

(i)  The broker or insurer does not
disclose nonpublic personal information of a consumer or a
customer to nonaffiliated third parties for any purpose,
including joint servicing or marketing under Section 14 of
this regulation, except as permitted by Section 15 or 16 of
this regulation; and

(ii)  The broker or insurer delivers a
notice to the consumer at the time a customer relationship is
established on which the following is printed in 16-point
type:

PRIVACY NOTICE

“NEITHER THE U.S. BROKERS THAT
HANDLED THIS INSURANCE NOR THE INSURERS
THAT HAVE UNDERWRITTEN THIS INSURANCE
WILL DISCLOSE NONPUBLIC PERSONAL
INFORMATION CONCERNING THE BUYER TO
NONAFFILIATES OF THE BROKERS OR INSURERS
EXCEPT AS PERMITTED BY LAW.

O.  (1)  “Nonaffiliated third party” means any
person except:

(a)  A licensee’s affiliate; or
(b)  A person employed jointly by a licensee

and any company that is not the licensee’s affiliate (but
nonaffiliated third party includes the other company that

jointly employs the person).
(2)  Nonaffiliated third party includes any

company that is an affiliate solely by virtue of the direct or
indirect ownership or control of the company by the licensee
or its affiliate in conducting merchant banking or investment
banking activities of the type described in Section 4(k)(4)(H)
or insurance company investment activities of the type
described in Section 4(k)(4)(I) of the federal Bank Holding
Company Act (12 U.S.C. 1843(k)(4)(H) and (I)).

P.  “Nonpublic personal information” means
nonpublic personal financial information.

Q.  (1)  “Nonpublic personal financial information”
means:

(a)  Personally identifiable financial
information; and

(b)  Any list, description or other grouping of
consumers (and publicly available information pertaining to
them) that is derived using any personally identifiable
financial information that is not publicly available.

(2)  Nonpublic personal financial information
does not include:

(a)  Health information;
(b)  Publicly available information, except

as included on a list described in Subsection T(1)(b) of this
section; or

(c)  Any list, description or other grouping
of consumers (and publicly available information pertaining
to them) that is derived without using any personally
identifiable financial information that is not publicly
available.

(3)  Examples of lists.
(a)  Nonpublic personal financial

information includes any list of individuals’ names and street
addresses that is derived in whole or in part using personally
identifiable financial information that is not publicly
available, such as account numbers.

(b)  Nonpublic personal financial
information does not include any list of individuals’ names
and addresses that contains only publicly available
information, is not derived in whole or in part using
personally identifiable financial information that is not
publicly available, and is not disclosed in a manner that
indicates that any of the individuals on the list is a consumer
of a financial institution.

R.  (1)  “Personally identifiable financial
information” means any information:

(a)  A consumer provides to a licensee to obtain
an insurance product or service from the licensee;

(b)  About a consumer resulting from a
transaction involving an insurance product or service
between a licensee and a consumer; or

(c)  The licensee otherwise obtains about a
consumer in connection with providing  an insurance
product or service to that consumer.
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(2)  Examples.
(a)  Information included. Personally

identifiable financial information includes:
(i)  Information a consumer provides to a

licensee on an application to obtain an insurance product or
service;

(ii)  Account balance information and
payment history;

(iii)  The fact that an individual is or has
been one of the licensee’s customers or has obtained an
insurance product or service from the licensee;

(iv)  Any information about the licensee’s
consumer if it is disclosed in a manner that indicates that the
individual is or has been the licensee’s consumer;

(v)  Any information that a consumer
provides to a licensee or that the licensee or its agent
otherwise obtains in connection with collecting on a loan or
servicing a loan;

(vi)  Any information the licensee collects
through an Internet cookie (an information-collecting device
from a web server); and

(vii)  Information from a consumer report.
(b)  Information not included. Personally

identifiable financial information does not include:
(i)  Health information;
(ii)  A list of names and addresses of

customers of an entity that is not a financial institution; and
(iii)  Information that does not identify a

consumer, such as aggregate information or blind data that
does not contain personal identifiers such as account
numbers, names or addresses.

S.  (1)  “Publicly available information” means any
information that a licensee has a reasonable basis to believe
is lawfully made available to the general public from:

(a)  Federal, state or local government
records;

(b)  Widely distributed media; or
(c)  Disclosures to the general public that

are required to be made by federal, state or local law.
(2)  Reasonable basis. A licensee has a

reasonable basis to believe that information is lawfully made
available to the general public if the licensee has taken steps
to determine:

(a)  That the information is of the type that
is available to the general public; and

(b)  Whether an individual can direct that
the information not be made available to the general public
and, if so, that the licensee’s consumer has not done so.

(3) Examples.
(a)  Government records. Publicly

available information in government records includes
information in government real estate records and security
interest filings.

(b)  Widely distributed media. Publicly

available information from widely distributed media
includes information from a telephone book, a television or
radio program, a newspaper or a web site that is available to
the general public on an unrestricted basis. A web site is not
restricted merely because an Internet service provider or a
site operator requires a fee or a password, so long as access
is available to the general public.

(c)  Reasonable basis.
(i)  A licensee has a reasonable basis

to believe that mortgage information is lawfully made
available to the general public if the licensee has determined
that the information is of the type included on the public
record in the jurisdiction where the mortgage would be
recorded.

(ii)  A licensee has a reasonable basis
to believe that an individual’s telephone number is lawfully
made available to the general public if the licensee has
located the telephone number in the telephone book or the
consumer has informed you that the telephone number is not
unlisted.

ARTICLE II. PRIVACY AND OPT OUT NOTICES 
FOR FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Section 5.  Initial Privacy Notice to Consumers Required
A.  Initial notice requirement.  A licensee shall provide a

clear and conspicuous notice that accurately reflects its
privacy policies and practices to:

(1)  Customer.  An individual who becomes the
licensee’s customer, not later than when the licensee
establishes a customer relationship, except as provided in
Subsection E of this section; and

(2)  Consumer.  A consumer, before the licensee
discloses any nonpublic personal financial information about
the consumer to any nonaffiliated third party, if the licensee
makes a disclosure other than as authorized by Sections 15
and 16.

B.  When initial notice to a consumer is not required.  A
licensee is not required to provide an initial notice to a
consumer under Subsection A(2) of this section if:

(1)  The licensee does not disclose any nonpublic
personal financial information about the consumer to any
nonaffiliated third party, other than as authorized by
Sections 15 and 16, and  the licensee does not have a
customer relationship with the consumer; or 

(2)  A notice has been provided by an affiliated
licensee, as long as the notice clearly identifies all licensees
to whom the notice applies and is accurate with respect to the
licensee and the other institutions.

C.  When the licensee establishes a customer
relationship.

(1)  General rule.  A licensee establishes a customer
relationship at the time the licensee and the consumer enter
into a continuing relationship.
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(2)  Examples of establishing customer relationship.
A licensee establishes a customer relationship when the
consumer:

(a)  Becomes a policyholder of a licensee that
is an insurer when the insurer delivers an insurance policy or
contract to the consumer, or in the case of a licensee that is
an insurance producer or insurance broker, obtains insurance
through that licensee; or

(b)  Agrees to obtain financial, economic or
investment advisory services relating to insurance products
or services for a fee from the licensee.

D.  Existing customers.  When an existing customer
obtains a new insurance product or service from a licensee
that is to be used primarily for personal, family or household
purposes, the licensee satisfies the initial notice requirements
of Subsection A of this section as follows:

(1)  The licensee may provide a revised policy
notice, under Section 9, that covers the customer’s new
insurance product or service; or

(2)  If the initial, revised or annual notice that the
licensee most recently provided to that customer was
accurate with respect to the new insurance product or
service, the licensee does not need to provide a new privacy
notice under Subsection A of this section.

E.  Exceptions to allow subsequent delivery of notice.
(1)  A licensee may provide the initial notice

required by Subsection A(1) of this section within a
reasonable time after the licensee establishes a customer
relationship if:

(a)  Establishing the customer relationship is
not at the customer’s election; or

(b)  Providing notice not later than when the
licensee establishes a customer relationship would
substantially delay the customer’s transaction and the
customer agrees to receive the notice at a later time.

(2)  Examples of exceptions.
(a)  Not at customer’s election. Establishing a

customer relationship is not at the customer’s election if a
licensee acquires or is assigned a customer’s policy from
another financial institution or residual market mechanism
and the customer does not have a choice about the licensee’s
acquisition or assignment.

(b)  Substantial delay of customer’s
transaction. Providing notice not later than when a licensee
establishes a customer relationship would substantially delay
the customer’s transaction when the licensee and the
individual agree over the telephone to enter into a customer
relationship involving prompt delivery of the insurance
product or service.

(c)  No substantial delay of customer’s
transaction. Providing notice not later than when a licensee
establishes a customer relationship would not substantially
delay the customer’s transaction when the relationship is
initiated in person at the licensee’s office or through other

means by which the customer may view the notice, such as
on a web site.

F.  Delivery.  When a licensee is required to deliver an
initial privacy notice by this section, the licensee shall
deliver it according to Section 10.  If the licensee uses a
short-form initial notice for non-customers according to
Section 7D, the licensee may deliver its privacy notice
according to Section 7D(3).

Section 6.  Annual Privacy Notice to Customers Required
A.  (1)  General rule.  A licensee shall provide a clear

and conspicuous notice to customers that accurately reflect
its privacy policies and practices not less than annually
during the continuation of the customer relationship.
Annually means at least once in any period of twelve (12)
consecutive months during which that relationship exists.  A
licensee may define the twelve-consecutive-month period,
but the licensee shall apply it to the customer on a consistent
basis.

(2)  Example.  A licensee provides a notice
annually if it defines the twelve-consecutive-month period as
a calendar year and provides the annual notice to the
customer once in each calendar year following the calendar
year in which the licensee provided the initial notice. For
example, if a customer opens an account on any day of year
1, the licensee shall provide an annual notice to that
customer by December 31 of year 2.

B.  (1)  Termination of customer relationship.  A
licensee is not required to provide an annual notice to a
former customer.  A former customer is an individual with
whom a licensee no longer has a continuing relationship.

(2)  Examples.
(a)  A licensee no longer has a continuing

relationship with an individual if the individual no longer is a
current policyholder of an insurance product or no longer
obtains insurance services with or through the licensee. 

(b)  A licensee no longer has a continuing
relationship with an individual if the individual’s policy is
lapsed, expired or otherwise inactive or dormant under the
licensee’s business practices, and the licensee has not
communicated with the customer about the relationship for a
period of twelve (12) consecutive months, other than to
provide annual privacy notices, material required by law or
regulation, or promotional materials.

(c)  For the purposes of this regulation, a
licensee no longer has a continuing relationship with an
individual if the individual’s last known address according to
the licensee’s records is deemed invalid.  An address of
record is deemed invalid if mail sent to that address by the
licensee has been returned by the postal authorities as
undeliverable and if subsequent attempts by the licensee to
obtain a current valid address for the individual have been
unsuccessful.

(d)  A licensee no longer has a continuing
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relationship with a customer in the case of providing real
estate settlement services, at the time the customer
completes execution of all documents related to the real
estate closing, payment for those services has been received,
or the licensee has completed all of its responsibilities with
respect to the settlement, including filing documents on the
public record, whichever is later.

D.  Delivery.  When a licensee is required by this
section to deliver an annual privacy notice, the licensee shall
deliver it according to Section 10.

Section 7.  Information to be Included in Privacy Notices
A.  General rule. The initial, annual and revised privacy

notices that a licensee provides under Sections 5, 6 and 9
shall include each of the following items of information, in
addition to any other information the licensee wishes to
provide, that applies to the licensee and to the consumers to
whom the licensee sends its privacy notice:

(1)  The categories of nonpublic personal financial
information that the licensee collects;

(2)  The categories of nonpublic personal financial
information that the licensee discloses;

(3)  The categories of affiliates and nonaffiliated
third parties to whom the licensee discloses nonpublic
personal financial information, other than those parties to
whom the licensee discloses information under Sections 15
and 16;

(4)  The categories of nonpublic personal financial
information about the licensee’s former customers that the
licensee discloses and the categories of affiliates and
nonaffiliated third parties to whom the licensee discloses
nonpublic personal financial information about the
licensee’s former customers, other than those parties to
whom the licensee discloses information under Sections 15
and 16;

(5)  If a licensee discloses nonpublic personal
financial information to a nonaffiliated third party under
Section 14 (and no other exception in Sections 15 and 16
applies to that disclosure), a separate description of the
categories of information the licensee discloses and the
categories of third parties with whom the licensee has
contracted;

(6)  An explanation of the consumer’s right under
Section 11A to opt out of the disclosure of nonpublic
personal financial information to nonaffiliated third parties,
including the methods by which the consumer may exercise
that right at that time;

(7)  Any disclosures that the licensee makes under
Section 603(d)(2)(A)(iii) of the federal Fair Credit Reporting
Act (15 U.S.C. 1681a(d)(2)(A)(iii)) (that is, notices
regarding the ability to opt out of disclosures of information
among affiliates);

(8)  The licensee’s policies and practices with
respect to protecting the confidentiality and security of

nonpublic personal information; and
(9)  Any disclosure that the licensee makes under

Subsection B of this section.
B.  Description of parties subject to exceptions. If a

licensee discloses nonpublic personal financial information
as authorized under Sections 15 and 16, the licensee is not
required to list those exceptions in the initial or annual
privacy notices required by Sections 5 and 6.  When
describing the categories of parties to whom disclosure is
made, the licensee is required to state only that it makes
disclosures to other affiliated or nonaffiliated third parties, as
applicable, as permitted by law.

C.  Examples.
(1)  Categories of nonpublic personal financial

information that the licensee collects.  A licensee satisfies
the requirement to categorize the nonpublic personal
financial information it collects if the licensee categorizes it
according to the source of the information, as applicable:

(a)  Information from the consumer;
(b)  Information about the consumer’s

transactions with the licensee or its affiliates;
(c)  Information about the consumer’s

transactions with nonaffiliated third parties; and
(d)  Information from a consumer reporting

agency.
(2)  Categories of nonpublic personal financial

information a licensee discloses.
(a)  A licensee satisfies the requirement to

categorize nonpublic personal financial information it
discloses if the licensee categorizes the information
according to source, as described in Paragraph (1), as
applicable, and provides a few examples to illustrate the
types of information in each category. These might include: 

(i)  Information from the consumer,
including application information, such as assets and income
and identifying information, such as name, address and
social security number;

(ii)  Transaction information, such as
information about balances, payment history and parties to
the transaction; and

(iii)  Information from consumer reports,
such as a consumer’s creditworthiness and credit history. 

(b)  A licensee does not adequately categorize
the information that it discloses if the licensee uses only
general terms, such as transaction information about the
consumer.

(c)  If a licensee reserves the right to disclose
all of the nonpublic personal financial information about
consumers that it collects, the licensee may simply state that
fact without describing the categories or examples of
nonpublic personal information that the licensee discloses.

(3)  Categories of affiliates and nonaffiliated third
parties to whom the licensee discloses.  

(a)  A licensee satisfies the requirement to
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categorize the affiliates and nonaffiliated third parties to
which the licensee discloses nonpublic personal financial
information about consumers if the licensee identifies the
types of businesses in which they engage.  

(b)  Types of businesses may be described by
general terms only if the licensee uses a few illustrative
examples of significant lines of business.  For example, a
licensee may use the term financial products or services if it
includes appropriate examples of significant lines of
businesses, such as life insurer, automobile insurer,
consumer banking or securities brokerage.

(c)  A licensee also may categorize the
affiliates and nonaffiliated third parties to which it discloses
nonpublic personal financial information about consumers
using more detailed categories.

(4)  Disclosures under exception for service
providers and joint marketers.  If a licensee discloses
nonpublic personal financial information under the
exception in Section 14 to a nonaffiliated third party to
market products or services that it offers alone or jointly with
another financial institution, the licensee satisfies the
disclosure requirement of Subsection A(5) of this section if
it:

(a)  Lists the categories of nonpublic personal
financial information it discloses, using the same categories
and examples the licensee used to meet the requirements of
Subsection A(2) of this section, as applicable; and

(b)  States whether the third party is:
(i)  A service provider that performs

marketing services on the licensee’s behalf or on behalf of
the licensee and another financial institution; or

(ii)  A financial institution with whom the
licensee has a joint marketing agreement.

(5)  Simplified notices.  If a licensee does not
disclose, and does not wish to reserve the right to disclose,
nonpublic personal financial information about customers or
former customers to affiliates or nonaffiliated third parties
except as authorized under Sections 15 and 16, the licensee
may simply state that fact, in addition to the information it
shall provide under Subsections A(1), A(8), A(9), and
Subsection B of this section.

(6)  Confidentiality and security.  A licensee
describes its policies and practices with respect to protecting
the confidentiality and security of nonpublic personal
financial information if it does both of the following:

(a)  Describes in general terms who is
authorized to have access to the information; and

(b)  States whether the licensee has security
practices and procedures in place to ensure the
confidentiality of the information in accordance with the
licensee’s policy.  The licensee is not required to describe
technical information about the safeguards it uses.

D.  Short-form initial notice with opt out notice for non-
customers.

(1)  A licensee may satisfy the initial notice
requirements in Sections 5A(2) and 8C for a consumer who
is not a customer by providing a short-form initial notice at
the same time as the licensee delivers an opt out notice as
required in Section 8.

(2)  A short-form initial notice shall:
(a)  Be clear and conspicuous;
(b)  State that the licensee’s privacy notice is

available upon request; and
(c)  Explain a reasonable means by which the

consumer may obtain that notice.
(3)  The licensee shall deliver its short-form initial

notice according to Section 10.  The licensee is not required
to deliver its privacy notice with its short-form initial notice.
The licensee instead may simply provide the consumer a
reasonable means to obtain its privacy notice.  If a consumer
who receives the licensee’s short-form notice requests the
licensee’s privacy notice, the licensee shall deliver its
privacy notice according to Section 10.

(4)  Examples of obtaining privacy notice.  The
licensee provides a reasonable means by which a consumer
may obtain a copy of its privacy notice if the licensee:

(a)  Provides a toll-free telephone number that
the consumer may call to request the notice; or

(b)  For a consumer who conducts business in
person at the licensee’s office, maintains copies of the notice
on hand that the licensee provides to the consumer
immediately upon request.

E.  Future disclosures.  The licensee’s notice may
include:

(1)  Categories of nonpublic personal financial
information that the licensee reserves the right to disclose in
the future, but does not currently disclose; and

(2)  Categories of affiliates or nonaffiliated third
parties to whom the licensee reserves the right in the future
to disclose, but to whom the licensee does not currently
disclose, nonpublic personal financial information.

F.  Sample clauses.  Sample clauses illustrating some of
the notice content required by this section are included in
Appendix A of this regulation.

Section 8.  Form of Opt Out Notice to Consumers and
Opt Out Methods

A.  (1)  Form of opt out notice.  If a licensee is required
to provide an opt out notice under Section 11A, it shall
provide a clear and conspicuous notice to each of its
consumers that accurately explains the right to opt out under
that section.  The notice shall state:

(a)  That the licensee discloses or reserves the
right to disclose nonpublic personal financial information
about its consumer to a nonaffiliated third party;

(b)  That the consumer has the right to opt out
of that disclosure; and

(c)  A reasonable means by which the
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consumer may exercise the opt out right.
(2)  Examples.

(a)  Adequate opt out notice.  A licensee
provides adequate notice that the consumer can opt out of the
disclosure of nonpublic personal financial information to a
nonaffiliated third party if the licensee:

(i)  Identifies all of the categories of
nonpublic personal financial information that it discloses or
reserves the right to disclose, and all of the categories of
nonaffiliated third parties to which the licensee discloses the
information, as described in Section 7A(2) and (3), and
states that the consumer can opt out of the disclosure of that
information; and

(ii)  Identifies the insurance products or
services that the consumer obtains from the licensee, either
singly or jointly, to which the opt out direction would apply.

(b)  Reasonable opt out means.  A licensee
provides a reasonable means to exercise an opt out right if it:

(i)  Designates check-off boxes in a
prominent position on the relevant forms with the opt out
notice;

(ii)  Includes a reply form together with
the opt out notice;

(iii)  Provides an electronic means to opt
out, such as a form that can be sent via electronic mail or a
process at the licensee’s web site, if the consumer agrees to
the electronic delivery of information; or

(iv)  Provides a toll-free telephone number
that consumers may call to opt out.

(c)  Unreasonable opt out means.  A licensee
does not provide a reasonable means of opting out if:

(i)  The only means of opting out is for the
consumer to write his or her own letter to exercise that opt
out right; or

(ii)  The only means of opting out as
described in any notice subsequent to the initial notice is to
use a check-off box that the licensee provided with the initial
notice but did not include with the subsequent notice.

(d)  Specific opt out means.  A licensee may
require each consumer to opt out through a specific means,
as long as that means is reasonable for that consumer.

B.  Same form as initial notice permitted.  A licensee
may provide the opt out notice together with or on the same
written or electronic form as the initial notice the licensee
provides in accordance with Section 5.

C.  Initial notice required when opt out notice delivered
subsequent to initial notice.  If a licensee provides the opt out
notice later than required for the initial notice in accordance
with Section 5, the licensee shall also include a copy of the
initial notice with the opt out notice in writing or, if the
consumer agrees, electronically.

D.  Joint relationships.
(1)  If two (2) or more consumers jointly obtain an

insurance product or service from a licensee, the licensee

may provide a single opt out notice.  The licensee’s opt out
notice shall explain how the licensee will treat an opt out
direction by a joint consumer (as explained in Paragraph (5)
of this subsection).

(2)  Any of the joint consumers may exercise the
right to opt out.  The licensee may either:

(a)  Treat an opt out direction by a joint
consumer as applying to all of the associated joint
consumers; or

(b)  Permit each joint consumer to opt out
separately.

(3)  If a licensee permits each joint consumer to opt
out separately, the licensee shall permit one of the joint
consumers to opt out on behalf of all of the joint consumers.

(4)  A licensee may not require all joint consumers
to opt out before it implements any opt out direction.

(5)  Example. If John and Mary are both named
policyholders on a homeowner’s insurance policy issued by
a licensee and the licensee sends policy statements to John’s
address, the licensee may do any of the following, but it shall
explain in its opt out notice which opt out policy the licensee
will follow:

(a)  Send a single opt out notice to John’s
address, but the licensee shall accept an opt out direction
from either John or Mary.

(b)  Treat an opt out direction by either John or
Mary as applying to the entire policy.  If the licensee does so
and John opts out, the licensee may not require Mary to opt
out as well before implementing John’s opt out direction.

(c)  Permit John and Mary to make different
opt out directions.  If the licensee does so:

(i)  It shall permit John and Mary to opt
out for each other;

(ii)  If both opt out, the licensee shall
permit both of them to notify it in a single response (such as
on a form or through a telephone call); and

(iii)  If John opts out and Mary does not,
the licensee may only disclose nonpublic personal financial
information about Mary, but not about John and not about
John and Mary jointly.

E.  Time to comply with opt out.  A licensee shall
comply with a consumer’s opt out direction as soon as
reasonably practicable after the licensee receives it.

F.  Continuing right to opt out.  A consumer may
exercise the right to opt out at any time. 

G.  Duration of consumer’s opt out direction.
(1)  A consumer’s direction to opt out under this

section is effective until the consumer revokes it in writing
or, if the consumer agrees, electronically.

(2)  When a customer relationship terminates, the
customer’s opt out direction continues to apply to the
nonpublic personal financial information that the licensee
collected during or related to that relationship.  If the
individual subsequently establishes a new customer
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relationship with the licensee, the opt out direction that
applied to the former relationship does not apply to the new
relationship.

H.  Delivery.  When a licensee is required to deliver an
opt out notice by this section, the licensee shall deliver it
according to Section 10.

Section 9.  Revised Privacy Notices
A.  General rule.  Except as otherwise authorized in this

regulation, a licensee shall not, directly or through an
affiliate, disclose any nonpublic personal financial
information about a consumer to a nonaffiliated third party
other than as described in the initial notice that the licensee
provided to that consumer under Section 5, unless:

(1)  The licensee has provided to the consumer a
clear and conspicuous revised notice that accurately
describes its policies and practices;

(2)  The licensee has provided to the consumer a
new opt out notice;

(3)  The licensee has given the consumer a
reasonable opportunity, before the licensee discloses the
information to the nonaffiliated third party, to opt out of the
disclosure; and

(4)  The consumer does not opt out.
B.  Examples.

(1)  Except as otherwise permitted by Sections 14,
15 and 16, a licensee shall provide a revised notice before it:

(a)  Discloses a new category of nonpublic
personal financial information to any nonaffiliated third
party;

(b)  Discloses nonpublic personal financial
information to a new category of nonaffiliated third party; or

(c)  Discloses nonpublic personal financial
information about a former customer to a nonaffiliated third
party, if that former customer has not had the opportunity to
exercise an opt out right regarding that disclosure.

(2)  A revised notice is not required if the licensee
discloses nonpublic personal financial information to a new
nonaffiliated third party that the licensee adequately
described in its prior notice.

C.  Delivery.  When a licensee is required to deliver a
revised privacy notice by this section, the licensee shall
deliver it according to Section 10.

Section 10.  Delivery
A.  How to provide notices.  A licensee shall provide

any notices that this regulation requires so that each
consumer can reasonably be expected to receive actual
notice in writing or, if the consumer agrees, electronically.

B.  (1)  Examples of reasonable expectation of actual
notice.  A licensee may reasonably expect that a consumer
will receive actual notice if the licensee:

(a)  Hand-delivers a printed copy of the notice
to the consumer;

(b)  Mails a printed copy of the notice to the
last known address of the consumer separately, or in a
policy, billing or other written communication;

(c)  For a consumer who conducts transactions
electronically, posts the notice on the electronic site and
requires the consumer to acknowledge receipt of the notice
as a necessary step to obtaining a particular insurance
product or service;

(d)  For an isolated transaction with a
consumer, such as the licensee providing an insurance quote
or selling the consumer travel insurance, posts the notice and
requires the consumer to acknowledge receipt of the notice
as a necessary step to obtaining the particular insurance
product or service.

(2)  Examples of unreasonable expectation of actual
notice.  A licensee may not, however, reasonably expect that
a consumer will receive actual notice of its privacy policies
and practices if it:

(a)  Only posts a sign in its office or generally
publishes advertisements of its privacy policies and
practices; or

(b)  Sends the notice via electronic mail to a
consumer who does not obtain an insurance product or
service from the licensee electronically.

C.  Annual notices only.  A licensee may reasonably
expect that a customer will receive actual notice of the
licensee’s annual privacy notice if:

(1)  The customer uses the licensee’s web site to
access insurance products and services electronically and
agrees to receive notices at the web site and the licensee
posts its current privacy notice continuously in a clear and
conspicuous manner on the web site; or

(2)  The customer has requested that the licensee
refrain from sending any information regarding the customer
relationship, and the licensee’s current privacy notice
remains available to the customer upon request.

D.  Oral description of notice insufficient.  A licensee
may not provide any notice required by this regulation solely
by orally explaining the notice, either in person or over the
telephone.

E.  Retention or accessibility of notices for customers.
(1)  For customers only, a licensee shall provide the

initial notice required by Section 5A(1), the annual notice
required by Section 6A, and the revised notice required by
Section 9 so that the customer can retain them or obtain them
later in writing or, if the customer agrees, electronically.

(2)  Examples of retention or accessibility.  A
licensee provides a privacy notice to the customer so that the
customer can retain it or obtain it later if the licensee:

(a)  Hand-delivers a printed copy of the notice
to the customer;

(b)  Mails a printed copy of the notice to the
last known address of the customer; or

(c)  Makes its current privacy notice available
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on a web site (or a link to another web site) for the customer
who obtains  an insurance product or service electronically
and agrees to receive the notice at the web site.

F.  Joint notice with other financial institutions.  A
licensee may provide a joint notice from the licensee and one
or more of its affiliates or other financial institutions, as
identified in the notice, as long as the notice is accurate with
respect to the licensee and the other institutions.  A licensee
also may provide a notice on behalf of another financial
institution.

G.  Joint relationships.  If two (2) or more consumers
jointly obtain an insurance product or service from a
licensee, the licensee may satisfy the initial, annual and
revised notice requirements of Sections 5A, 6A and 9A,
respectively, by providing one notice to those consumers
jointly.

ARTICLE III. LIMITS ON DISCLOSURES OF 
FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Section 11.  Limits on Disclosure of Nonpublic Personal
Financial Information to Nonaffiliated Third Parties

A.  (1)  Conditions for disclosure.  Except as otherwise
authorized in this regulation, a licensee may not, directly or
through any affiliate, disclose any nonpublic personal
financial information about a consumer to a nonaffiliated
third party unless:

(a)  The licensee has provided to the consumer
an initial notice as required under Section 5;

(b)  The licensee has provided to the consumer
an opt out notice as required in Section 8;

(c)  The licensee has given the consumer a
reasonable opportunity, before it discloses the information to
the nonaffiliated third party, to opt out of the disclosure; and

(d)  The consumer does not opt out.
(2)  Opt out definition.  Opt out means a direction

by the consumer that the licensee not disclose nonpublic
personal financial information about that consumer to a
nonaffiliated third party, other than as permitted by Sections
14, 15 and 16.

(3)  Examples of reasonable opportunity to opt out.
A licensee provides a consumer with a reasonable
opportunity to opt out if:

(a)  By mail.  The licensee mails the notices
required in Paragraph (1) of this subsection to the consumer
and allows the consumer to opt out by mailing a form,
calling a toll-free telephone number or any other reasonable
means within thirty (30) days from the date the licensee
mailed the notices.

(b)  By electronic means.  A customer opens an
on-line account with a licensee and agrees to receive the
notices required in Paragraph (1) of this subsection
electronically, and the licensee allows the customer to opt

out by any reasonable means within thirty (30) days after the
date that the customer acknowledges receipt of the notices in
conjunction with opening the account.

(c)  Isolated transaction with consumer.  For an
isolated transaction such as providing the consumer with an
insurance quote, a licensee provides the consumer with a
reasonable opportunity to opt out if the licensee provides the
notices required in Paragraph (1) of this subsection at the
time of the transaction and requests that the consumer
decide, as a necessary part of the transaction, whether to opt
out before completing the transaction.

B.  Application of opt out to all consumers and all
nonpublic personal financial information.

(1)  A licensee shall comply with this section,
regardless of whether the licensee and the consumer have
established a customer relationship.

(2)  Unless a licensee complies with this section,
the licensee may not, directly or through any affiliate,
disclose any nonpublic personal financial information about
a consumer that the licensee has collected, regardless of
whether the licensee collected it before or after receiving the
direction to opt out from the consumer.

C.  Partial opt out.  A licensee may allow a consumer to
select certain nonpublic personal financial information or
certain nonaffiliated third parties with respect to which the
consumer wishes to opt out.

Section 12.  Limits on Redisclosure and Reuse of
Nonpublic Personal Financial Information

A.  (1)  Information the licensee receives under an
exception.  If a licensee receives nonpublic personal
financial information from a nonaffiliated financial
institution under an exception in Sections 15 or 16 of this
regulation, the licensee’s disclosure and use of that
information is limited as follows:

(a)  The licensee may disclose the information
to the affiliates of the financial institution from which the
licensee received the information;

(b)  The licensee may disclose the information
to its affiliates, but the licensee’s affiliates may, in turn,
disclose and use the information only to the extent that the
licensee may disclose and use the information; and

(c)  The licensee may disclose and use the
information pursuant to an exception in Sections 15 or 16 of
this regulation, in the ordinary course of business to carry
out the activity covered by the exception under which the
licensee received the information.

(2)  Example.  If a licensee receives information
from a nonaffiliated financial institution for claims
settlement purposes, the licensee may disclose the
information for fraud prevention, or in response to a properly
authorized subpoena.  The licensee may not disclose that
information to a third party for marketing purposes or use
that information for its own marketing purposes.
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B.  (1)  Information a licensee receives outside of an
exception.  If a licensee receives nonpublic personal
financial information from a nonaffiliated financial
institution other than under an exception in Sections 15 or 16
of this regulation, the licensee may disclose the information
only:

(a)  To the affiliates of the financial institution
from which the licensee received the information;

(b)  To its affiliates, but its affiliates may, in
turn, disclose the information only to the extent that the
licensee may disclose the information; and

(c)  To any other person, if the disclosure
would be lawful if made directly to that person by the
financial institution from which the licensee received the
information.

(2)  Example.  If a licensee obtains a customer list
from a nonaffiliated financial institution outside of the
exceptions in Sections 15 or 16:

(a)  The licensee may use that list for its own
purposes; and

(b)  The licensee may disclose that list to
another nonaffiliated third party only if the financial
institution from which the licensee purchased the list could
have lawfully disclosed the list to that third party.  That is,
the licensee may disclose the list in accordance with the
privacy policy of the financial institution from which the
licensee received the list, as limited by the opt out direction
of each consumer whose nonpublic personal financial
information the licensee intends to disclose, and the licensee
may disclose the list in accordance with an exception in
Sections 15 or 16, such as to the licensee’s attorneys or
accountants.

C.  Information a licensee discloses under an exception.
If a licensee discloses nonpublic personal financial
information to a nonaffiliated third party under an exception
in Sections 15 or 16 of this regulation, the third party may
disclose and use that information only as follows:

(1)  The third party may disclose the information to
the licensee’s affiliates;

(2)  The third party may disclose the information to
its affiliates, but its affiliates may, in turn, disclose and use
the information only to the extent that the third party may
disclose and use the information; and

(3)  The third party may disclose and use the
information pursuant to an exception in Sections 15 or 16 in
the ordinary course of business to carry out the activity
covered by the exception under which it received the
information.

D.  Information a licensee discloses outside of an
exception.  If a licensee discloses nonpublic personal
financial information to a nonaffiliated third party other than
under an exception in Sections 15 or 16 of this regulation,
the third party may disclose the information only:

(1)  To the licensee’s affiliates;

(2)  To the third party's affiliates, but the third
party's affiliates, in turn, may disclose the information only
to the extent the third party can disclose the information; and

(3)  To any other person, if the disclosure would be
lawful if the licensee made it directly to that person.

Section 13.  Limits on Sharing Account Number
Information for Marketing Purposes

A.  General prohibition on disclosure of account
numbers.  A licensee shall not, directly or through an
affiliate, disclose, other than to a consumer reporting agency,
a policy number or similar form of access number or access
code for a consumer’s policy or transaction account to any
nonaffiliated third party for use in telemarketing, direct mail
marketing or other marketing through electronic mail to the
consumer.

B.  Exceptions.  Subsection A of this section does not
apply if a licensee discloses a policy number or similar form
of access number or access code:

(1)  To the licensee’s service provider solely in
order to perform marketing for the licensee’s own products
or services, as long as the service provider is not authorized
to directly initiate charges to the account; 

(2)  To a licensee who is a producer solely in order
to perform marketing for the licensee’s own products or
services; or

(3)  To a participant in an affinity or similar
program where the participants in the program are identified
to the customer when the customer enters into the program.

C.  Examples.
(1)  Policy number.  A policy number, or similar

form of access number or access code, does not include a
number or code in an encrypted form, as long as the licensee
does not provide the recipient with a means to decode the
number or code.

(2)  Policy or transaction account.  For the purposes
of this section, a policy or transaction account is an account
other than a deposit account or a credit card account.  A
policy or transaction account does not include an account to
which third parties cannot initiate charges.

ARTICLE IV. EXCEPTIONS TO LIMITS ON 
DISCLOSURES OF FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Section 14.  Exception to Opt Out Requirements for
Disclosure of Nonpublic Personal Financial Information
for Service Providers and Joint Marketing

A.  General rule.
(1)  The opt out requirements in Sections 8 and 11

do not apply when a licensee provides nonpublic personal
financial information to a nonaffiliated third party to perform
services for the licensee or functions on the licensee’s
behalf, if the licensee:

(a)  Provides the initial notice in accordance
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with Section 5; and
(b)  Enters into a contractual agreement with

the third party that prohibits the third party from disclosing
or using the information other than to carry out the purposes
for which the licensee disclosed the information, including
use under an exception in Sections 15 or 16 in the ordinary
course of business to carry out those purposes.

(2)  Example.  If a licensee discloses nonpublic
personal financial information under this section to a
financial institution with which the licensee performs joint
marketing, the licensee's contractual agreement with that
institution meets the requirements of Paragraph (1)(b) of this
subsection if it prohibits the institution from disclosing or
using the nonpublic personal financial information except as
necessary to carry out the joint marketing or under an
exception in Sections 15 or 16 in the ordinary course of
business to carry out that joint marketing.

B.  Service may include joint marketing.  The services a
nonaffiliated third party performs for a licensee under
Subsection A of this section may include marketing of the
licensee’s own products or services or marketing of financial
products or services offered pursuant to joint agreements
between the licensee and one or more financial institutions.

C.  Definition of “joint agreement.”  For purposes of this
section, “joint agreement” means a written contract pursuant
to which a licensee and one or more financial institutions
jointly offer, endorse or sponsor a financial product or
service.

Section 15.  Exceptions to Notice and Opt Out
Requirements for Disclosure of Nonpublic Personal
Financial Information for Processing and Servicing
Transactions

A.  Exceptions for processing transactions at
consumer’s request.  The requirements for initial notice in
Section 5A(2), the opt out in Sections 8 and 11, and service
providers and joint marketing in Section 14 do not apply if
the licensee discloses nonpublic personal financial
information as necessary to effect, administer or enforce a
transaction that a consumer requests or authorizes, or in
connection with:

(1)  Servicing or processing an insurance product or
service that a consumer requests or authorizes;

(2)  Maintaining or servicing the consumer’s
account with a licensee, or with another entity as part of a
private label credit card program or other extension of credit
on behalf of such entity; 

(3)  A proposed or actual securitization, secondary
market sale (including sales of servicing rights) or similar
transaction related to a transaction of the consumer; or

(4)  Reinsurance or stop loss or excess loss
insurance.

B.  “Necessary to effect, administer or enforce a
transaction” means that the disclosure is:

(1)  Required, or is one of the lawful or appropriate
methods, to enforce the licensee’s rights or the rights of
other persons engaged in carrying out the financial
transaction or providing the product or service; or

(2)  Required, or is a usual, appropriate or
acceptable method:

(a)  To carry out the transaction or the product
or service business of which the transaction is a part, and
record, service or maintain the consumer’s account in the
ordinary course of providing the insurance product or
service;

(b)  To administer or service benefits or claims
relating to the transaction or the product or service business
of which it is a part;

(c)  To provide a confirmation, statement or
other record of the transaction, or information on the status
or value of the insurance product or service to the consumer
or the consumer’s agent or broker;

(d)  To accrue or recognize incentives or
bonuses associated with the transaction that are provided by
a licensee or any other party;

(e)  To underwrite insurance at the consumer’s
request or for any of the following purposes as they relate to
a consumer’s insurance: account administration, reporting,
investigating or preventing fraud or material
misrepresentation, processing premium payments,
processing insurance claims, administering insurance
benefits (including utilization review activities),
participating in research projects or as otherwise required or
specifically permitted by federal or state law; or

(f)  In connection with:
(i)  The authorization, settlement, billing,

processing, clearing, transferring, reconciling or collection
of amounts charged, debited or otherwise paid using a debit,
credit or other payment card, check or account number, or by
other payment means;

(ii)  The transfer of receivables, accounts
or interests therein; or

(iii)  The audit of debit, credit or other
payment information.

Section 16.  Other Exceptions to Notice and Opt Out
Requirements for Disclosure of Nonpublic Personal
Financial Information

A.  Exceptions to opt out requirements.  The
requirements for initial notice to consumers in Section
5A(2), the opt out in Sections 8 and 11, and service providers
and joint marketing in Section 14 do not apply when a
licensee discloses nonpublic personal financial information:

(1)  With the consent or at the direction of the
consumer, provided that the consumer has not revoked the
consent or direction;

(2)  (a)  To protect the confidentiality or security of
a licensee’s records pertaining to the consumer, service,
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product or transaction;
(b)  To protect against or prevent actual or

potential fraud or unauthorized transactions;
(c)  For required institutional risk control or for

resolving consumer disputes or inquiries;
(d)  To persons holding a legal or beneficial

interest relating to the consumer; or
(e)  To persons acting in a fiduciary or

representative capacity on behalf of the consumer;
(3)  To provide information to insurance rate

advisory organizations, guaranty funds or agencies, agencies
that are rating a licensee, persons that are assessing the
licensee’s compliance with industry standards, and the
licensee’s attorneys, accountants and auditors;

(4)  To the extent specifically permitted or required
under other provisions of law and in accordance with the
federal Right to Financial Privacy Act of 1978 (12 U.S.C.
3401 et seq.), to law enforcement agencies (including the
Federal Reserve Board, Office of the Comptroller of the
Currency, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Office of
Thrift Supervision, National Credit Union Administration,
the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Secretary of
the Treasury, with respect to 31 U.S.C. Chapter 53,
Subchapter II (Records and Reports on Monetary
Instruments and Transactions) and 12 U.S.C. Chapter 21
(Financial Recordkeeping), a state insurance authority, and
the Federal Trade Commission), self-regulatory
organizations or for an investigation on a matter related to
public safety;

(5)  (a)  To a consumer reporting agency in
accordance with the federal Fair Credit Reporting
Act (15 U.S.C. 1681 et seq.); or

(b)  From a consumer report reported by a
consumer reporting agency;

(6)  In connection with a proposed or actual sale,
merger, transfer or exchange of all or a portion of a business
or operating unit if the disclosure of nonpublic personal
financial information concerns solely consumers of the
business or unit; 

(7)  (a)  To comply with federal, state or local laws,
rules and other applicable legal requirements;

(b)  To comply with a properly authorized
civil, criminal or regulatory investigation, or subpoena or
summons by federal, state or local authorities; 

(c)  To respond to judicial process or
government regulatory authorities having jurisdiction over a
licensee for examination, compliance or other purposes as
authorized by law; or

(8)  For purposes related to the replacement of a
group benefit plan, a group health plan, a group welfare plan
or a workers’ compensation plan.

(9)  When the licensee is in liquidation or
receivership.

B.  Example of revocation of consent.  A consumer may

revoke consent by subsequently exercising the right to opt
out of future disclosures of nonpublic personal information
as permitted under Section 8F.

ARTICLE V. ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS

Section 17.  Protection of Fair Credit Reporting Act

Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to modify, limit
or supersede the operation of the federal Fair Credit
Reporting Act (15 U.S.C. 1681 et seq.), and no inference
shall be drawn on the basis of the provisions of this
regulation regarding whether information is transaction or
experience information under Section 603 of that Act.

Section 18.  Nondiscrimination
A.  A licensee shall not unfairly discriminate against any

consumer or customer because that consumer or customer
has opted out from the disclosure of his or her nonpublic
personal financial information pursuant to the provisions of
this regulation. 

B.  A licensee shall not unfairly discriminate against a
consumer or customer because that consumer or customer
has not granted authorization for the disclosure of his or her
nonpublic personal health information pursuant to the
provisions of this regulation.

Section 19.  Violation
Repeated failure to comply with this Regulation will be

grounds for investigation and enforcement as unfair
practices in the insurance business pursuant to Chapter 23,
Title 18, Delaware Code.

Section 20.  Severability
If any section or portion of a section of this regulation or

its applicability to any person or circumstance is held invalid
by a court, the remainder of the regulation or the
applicability of the provision to other persons or
circumstances shall not be affected.

Section 21.  Effective Date
A.  Effective date.  This regulation is effective as of July

11, 2001.
 B.  (1)  Notice requirement for consumers who are the
licensee’s customers on the compliance date. By November
1, 2001, a licensee shall provide an initial notice, as required
by Section 5, to consumers who are the licensee’s customers
on July 11, 2001.

(2)  Example.  A licensee provides an initial notice
to consumers who are its customers on November 1, 2001,
if, by the licensee has established a system for providing an
initial notice to all new customers and has mailed the initial
notice to all the licensee’s existing customers.

C.  Two-year grandfathering of service agreements.
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Until July 11, 2002, a contract that a licensee has entered
into with a nonaffiliated third party to perform services for
the licensee or functions on the licensee’s behalf satisfies the
provisions of Section 14A(1)(b) of this regulation, even if
the contract does not include a requirement that the third
party maintain the confidentiality of nonpublic personal
information, as long as the licensee entered into the
agreement on or before July 11, 2000.

APPENDIX A – SAMPLE CLAUSES

Licensees, including a group of financial holding company
affiliates that use a common privacy notice, may use the
following sample clauses, if the clause is accurate for each
institution that uses the notice.  (Note that disclosure of
certain information, such as assets, income and information
from a consumer reporting agency, may give rise to
obligations under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, such
as a requirement to permit a consumer to opt out of
disclosures to affiliates or designation as a consumer
reporting agency if disclosures are made to nonaffiliated
third parties.)

A-1–Categories of information a licensee collects (all
institutions)
A licensee may use this clause, as applicable, to meet the
requirement of Section 7A(1) to describe the categories of
nonpublic personal information the licensee collects.
Sample Clause A-1:
We collect nonpublic personal information about you from
the following sources:

• Information we receive from you on applications or
other forms;

• Information about your transactions with us, our
affiliates or others; and

• Information we receive from a consumer reporting
agency.

A-2–Categories of information a licensee discloses
(institutions that disclose outside of the exceptions)
A licensee may use one of these clauses, as applicable, to
meet the requirement of Section 7A(2) to describe the
categories of nonpublic personal information the licensee
discloses.  The licensee may use these clauses if it discloses
nonpublic personal information other than as permitted by
the exceptions in Sections 14, 15 and 16.
Sample Clause A-2, Alternative 1:
We may disclose the following kinds of nonpublic personal
information about you:

• Information we receive from you on applications or
other forms, such as [provide illustrative examples,
such as “your name, address, social security
number, assets, income, and beneficiaries”];

• Information about your transactions with us, our

affiliates or others, such as [provide illustrative
examples, such as “your policy coverage,
premiums, and payment history”]; and

• Information we receive from a consumer reporting
agency, such as [provide illustrative examples, such
as “your creditworthiness and credit history”].

Sample Clause A-2, Alternative 2:
We may disclose all of the information that we collect, as
described [describe location in the notice, such as “above” or
“below”].

A-3–Categories of information a licensee discloses and
parties to whom the licensee discloses (institutions that do
not disclose outside of the exceptions)
A licensee may use this clause, as applicable, to meet the
requirements of Sections 7A(2), (3), and (4) to describe the
categories of nonpublic personal information about
customers and former customers that the licensee discloses
and the categories of affiliates and nonaffiliated third parties
to whom the licensee discloses.  A licensee may use this
clause if the licensee does not disclose nonpublic personal
information to any party, other than as permitted by the
exceptions in Sections 15 and 16.
Sample Clause A-3:
We do not disclose any nonpublic personal information
about our customers or former customers to anyone, except
as permitted by law.

A-4–Categories of parties to whom a licensee discloses
(institutions that disclose outside of the exceptions)
A licensee may use this clause, as applicable, to meet the
requirement of Section 7A(3) to describe the categories of
affiliates and nonaffiliated third parties to whom the licensee
discloses nonpublic personal information.  This clause may
be used if the licensee discloses nonpublic personal
information other than as permitted by the exceptions in
Sections 14, 15 and 16, as well as when permitted by the
exceptions in Sections 15 and 16.
Sample Clause A-4:

We may disclose nonpublic personal information about you
to the following types of third parties:

• Financial service providers, such as [provide
illustrative examples, such as “life insurers,
automobile insurers, mortgage bankers, securities
broker-dealers, and insurance agents”];

• Non-financial companies, such as [provide
illustrative examples, such as “retailers, direct
marketers, airlines, and publishers”]; and

• Others, such as [provide illustrative examples, such
as “non-profit organizations”].

We may also disclose nonpublic personal information about
you to nonaffiliated third parties as permitted by law.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 11, TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2001

1767

A-5–Service provider/joint marketing exception
A licensee may use one of these clauses, as applicable, to
meet the requirements of Section 7A(5) related to the
exception for service providers and joint marketers in
Section 14.  If a licensee discloses nonpublic personal
information under this exception, the licensee shall describe
the categories of nonpublic personal information the licensee
discloses and the categories of third parties with which the
licensee has contracted.
Sample Clause A-5, Alternative 1:
We may disclose the following information to companies
that perform marketing services on our behalf or to other
financial institutions with which we have joint marketing
agreements:

• Information we receive from you on applications or
other forms, such as [provide illustrative examples,
such as “your name, address, social security
number, assets, income, and beneficiaries”];

• Information about your transactions with us, our
affiliates or others, such as [provide illustrative
examples, such as “your policy coverage, premium,
and payment history”]; and

• Information we receive from a consumer reporting
agency, such as [provide illustrative examples, such
as “your creditworthiness and credit history”].

Sample Clause A-5, Alternative 2:
We may disclose all of the information we collect, as
described [describe location in the notice, such as “above” or
“below”] to companies that perform marketing services on
our behalf or to other financial institutions with whom we
have joint marketing agreements.

A-6–Explanation of opt out right (institutions that disclose
outside of the exceptions)
A licensee may use this clause, as applicable, to meet the
requirement of Section 7A(6) to provide an explanation of
the consumer’s right to opt out of the disclosure of nonpublic
personal information to nonaffiliated third parties, including
the method(s) by which the consumer may exercise that
right.  The licensee may use this clause if the licensee
discloses nonpublic personal information other than as
permitted by the exceptions in Sections 14, 15 and 16.
Sample Clause A-6:
If you prefer that we not disclose nonpublic personal
information about you to nonaffiliated third parties, you may
opt out of those disclosures, that is, you may direct us not to
make those disclosures (other than disclosures permitted by
law).  If you wish to opt out of disclosures to nonaffiliated
third parties, you may [describe a reasonable means of
opting out, such as “call the following toll-free number:
(insert number)].

A-7–Confidentiality and security (all institutions)
A licensee may use this clause, as applicable, to meet the

requirement of Section 7A(8) to describe its policies and
practices with respect to protecting the confidentiality and
security of nonpublic personal information.
Sample Clause A-7:
We restrict access to nonpublic personal information about
you to [provide an appropriate description, such as “those
employees who need to know that information to provide
products or services to you”].  We maintain physical,
electronic, and procedural safeguards that comply with
federal regulations to guard your nonpublic personal
information.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT & TRAINING

COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP AND TRAINING

Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, 
Section 202(a) (19 Del. C. §202(a))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 19 Del.C.
§202(a), the Department of Labor has made proposed
modifications to Section 106.5(D)of the Rules and
Regulations Relating to Delaware Apprenticeship and
Training Law. The modification will clarify the ratios of
Apprentices to  Journeypersons applicable  in the various
trades.

The Council on Apprenticeship and Training will hold a
public hearing on June 12, 2001 at 10:00 a.m. at Buena Vista
State Conference Center, 661 South DuPont Highway, New
Castle, Delaware to receive and consider input from any
person on the proposed changes.  Written comment can be
submitted at any time prior to the hearing in care of Kevin
Calio at the Division of Employment & Training,
Department of Labor 4425 North Market Street, P.O. Box
9828, Wilmington, DE 19809-0828.  The Council will
determine its  recommendation to the Secretary of Labor at
its regular meeting following the public hearing. 

 In addition to publication in the Register of Regulations
and two newspapers of general circulation, copies of the
proposed regulation can be obtained from Kevin Calio by
calling (302)761-8121.

SEC. 106.5 Standards of Apprenticeship
(D) The ratio of Apprentices to Journeypersons should

be consistent with proper supervision, training and
continuity of employment or applicable provisions in
collective bargaining agreements. 

(1)  The ratio of Apprentices to Journeypersons
shall be one Apprentice up to each five (5) Journeypersons
employed by the prospective Sponsor unless a different ratio
based on an industry standard is contained in the signed
Standards of Apprenticeship Agreement. More restrictive

http://www.delawareworks.com/
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ratios will be granted upon request.  More liberal ratios may
be granted only after the requesting Sponsor has
demonstrated that the number of Apprentices to be trained
shall be in relation to:

(1) The needs of the plant and/or trade in the
community with consideration for growth and expansion:

(2) The facilities and personnel available for
training are adequate; and

(3) A reasonable opportunity that employment of
skilled workers on completions exists:
The following rations will be recognized as standard for the
trades of:

Apprentice    Up to     Journeyperson
Carpenter 1 5
Plumber/Pipefitter 1 5
Sheet Metal Worker 1 4
Insulation Worker 1 4
Electician 1 3

If a “collective bargaining agreement” exists and
stipulates a ration of Apprentices to Journeypersons, it shall
prevail.  Provided the Bargaining Ratio is not lower than the
State standard.

(2)  The following have been recognized to be the
industry standard for the listed trades:

Ratio of Apprentice to Journeypersons*
1 up to 4 Sheet Metal Worker
1 up to 4 Insulation Worker
1 up to 4 Asbestos Worker
1 up to 3 Industrial Maintenance Mechanic
1 up to 3 Electrician
1 up to 3 Precision Instrument Repairers
1 up to 3 Glaziers
1 up to 2 Roofers
1 up to 1 Sprinkler Fitters

* The ratio has no effect until the second apprentice is
registered.  Only one Journeyperson is necessary in any trade
for the first Apprentice. 

(3) Exceptions.
a.  If a collective bargaining agreement stipulates a

ratio of Apprentices to Journeyperson, it shall prevail
provided the Bargaining Ratio is not lower than the State
standard.

b.  A deviation from the established standard may
be granted by the Administrator upon written request after
considering the needs of the plant and/or trade with
consideration for growth, the availability of relevant
training, and the opportunity for employment of skilled
workers  following the completion of their training. Such
exception shall last no more than one year but may be
renewed upon written request.

OFFICE OF LABOR LAW ENFORCEMENT

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, 
Section 8503(7) (29 Del.C. §8503(7))

Pursuant to the authority granted to the Department of
Labor under 29 Del.C. §8503 (7), the Department is
proposing an amendment to regulations under 29 Del.C.
§6960, “Prevailing Wage Requirements”.  Pursuant to the
requirements of 29 Del.C. §10115(a),  Interested parties are
invited to present their views at the public hearing which is
scheduled as follows:

9:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 22, 2001
Department of Labor

4425 North Market Street
Wilmington, Delaware 19802

Third Floor, Industrial Affairs Conference Room 203

Interested parties can obtain copies of the proposed
amendments at no charge by contacting the Office of Labor
Law Enforcement at the above address, or by telephone at
(302) 761-8211.

III.  CONCEPTS AND DEFINITIONS
This section presents definitions and explanations to

provide a basic understanding of elements inherent in
collecting wage data and issuing wage determinations, and
enforcing prevailing rates.

A.  Activity Covered. 29 Del.C. §6960 applies to every
contract or aggregate of contracts relating to a public works
project in excess of $100,000 for now construction
(including painting or decorating) or $15,000 for alteration,
repair, renovation, rehabilitation, demolition or
reconstruction (including painting and decorating of building
or works) to which this State or any subdivision thereof is a
party and for which the State appropriated any part of the
funds and which requires or involves the employment of
mechanics and/or laborers.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
B.  "Building" or "Work".  The terms "building" or

"work" generally include construction activity as
distinguished from manufacturing, furnishing of materials,
or servicing and maintenance work.  The terms include
without limitation, buildings, structures, and improvements
of all types, such as bridges, dams, plants, highways,
parkways, streets, tunnels, sewers, mains, power lines,
pumping stations, heavy generators, railways, airports,
terminals, docks, piers, wharves, buoys, jetties, breakwaters,
levees, canals, dredging, shoring, rehabilitation and
reactivation of plants, scaffolding, drilling, blasting,
excavating, clearing, and landscaping.  The manufacture or

http://www.delawareworks.com/
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furnishing of materials, articles, supplies or equipment is not
a "building" or "work" within the meaning of the regulations
unless conducted at the site of such a building or work.

C.  Laborers and Mechanics.  The terms "laborer" and
"mechanic" includes at least those workers whose duties are
manual or physical in nature (including those workers who
use tools or who are performing the work of a trade), as
distinguished from mental or managerial.  The term
"laborer" or "mechanic" includes apprentices and Supportive
Service Program (SSP) trainees.  The term does not apply to
workers whose duties are primarily administrative,
executive, or clerical, rather than manual.  Persons employed
in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional
capacity are not deemed to be laborers or mechanics.
Working foremen who devote more than twenty (20) percent
of their time during a workweek to mechanic or laborer
duties are deemed to be laborers and mechanics for the time
so spent.

The terms "laborers" and "mechanics" do not apply
to watchmen, guards, dispatchers, or weighmasters.  The
following classifications of workers are recognized by the
Department:

Asbestos Workers
Boilermakers
Bricklayers
Carpenters
Cement Finishers
Electricians
Elevator Constructors
Glaziers
Insulator
Iron Workers
Laborers
Millwrights
Painters
Plasterers
Plumbers/Pipefitters/Steamfitters
Power Equipment Operators
Roofers
Roofer - Composition
Roofer - Shingle, Slate and Tile
Sheet Metal Workers
Soft Floor Layers
Sprinkler Fitters
Terrazzo/Marble/Tile Setters
Terrazzo/Marble/Tile Finishers
Truck Drivers

Definitions for each classification are contained in a
separate document entitled, “Classifications of Workers
Under Delaware’s Prevailing Wage Law.”  Workers shall be
classified by the Department of Labor with the advice of the
Prevailing Wage Advisory Council members.  Classification
determinations shall be recorded by the Department as they

are made and shall be published annually.
See 4 DE Reg. 1186 (1/1/01)

Laborers and mechanics are to be paid the
appropriate wage rates for the classification of work actually
performed, without regard to skill.

D.  Apprentices and Supportive Service Program
Trainees.

1.  Definitions.  As used in this section:
a.  The term "apprentice" means persons who

are indentured and employed in a bona fide apprenticeship
program and individually registered by the program sponsor
with the Delaware Department of Labor.

b.  The term "apprenticeship agreement" means
a written agreement between an apprentice and either his/her
employer or a joint apprenticeship committee which contains
the terms and conditions of the employment and training of
the apprentice.

c.  The term "apprenticeship program" means a
complete plan of terms and conditions for the employment
and training of apprentices.

d.  The term "Joint apprenticeship committee"
means a local committee equally representative of employers
and employees which has been established by a group of
employers with a bona fide bargaining agent or agents to
direct the training of apprentices with whom it has made
agreements.

e.  The term "SSP Trainee" or "trainee" means
a participant in the "Supportive Service Program" mandated
by the Federal Highway Administration for federally aided
state highway projects.

f.  The term "registration" means the approval
by the Department of Labor of an apprenticeship program or
agreement as meeting the basic standards adopted by the
Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training, United States
Department of Labor.  The term "registration" for SSP
Trainees means the individual registration of a participant in
a program which has received prior approval, evidenced by
formal certification by the U.S. Department of Labor,
Employment and Training Administration.

2.  Employment of Apprentices and SSP Trainees
on State Projects.

a.  Apprentices and SSP Trainees will be
permitted to work as such on State contracts in excess of
$100,000 for new construction or $15,000 for alteration,
repair, renovation, rehabilitation, demolition or
reconstruction only when they are registered with the
Department of Labor or an approved SSP Training Program.

b.  The mechanic's rate on all such State
contracts is that rate determined by the Department of Labor.
The percentage of the mechanic's rate that the registered
apprentice or SSP Trainee receives will be the percentage
that the apprentice or trainee qualifies for under the terms of
the individual's formal Apprenticeship/Trainee agreement.

c.  Any person employed at an apprentice or
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trainee wage rate who is not registered as above, shall be
paid the wage rate determined by the Department of Labor
for the classification of work (s)he actually performed.

d.  The ratio of apprentices to mechanics on the
site of any work covered by 29 Del.C. §6960 in any craft
classification may not be greater than the ratio permitted to
the contractor for the entire workforce under the registered
apprenticeship program.  Any apprentice performing work
on the job site in excess of the ratio permitted under the
registered program must be paid not less than the wage rate
that the applicable wage determination specifies for the work
(s)he actually performs.  Entitlement to mechanic's wages
shall be based upon seniority in the apprenticeship program
or (in the case of equal seniority) seniority on the job site.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
3.  Records.

a.  Every employer who employs an apprentice
or SSP trainee under this part must keep the records required
by Title 19, Delaware Code, Chapters 9 and 11, including
designation of apprentices or trainees on the payroll. In
addition, every employer who employs apprentices or SSP
trainees shall preserve the agreements under which the
individuals were employed.

b.  Every joint apprenticeship committee or
SSP Program sponsor shall keep a record of the cumulative
amount of work experience gained by the apprentice or
trainee.

c.  Every joint apprenticeship committee shall
keep a list of the employers to whom the apprentice was
assigned and the period of time (s)he worked for each.
Every SSP Program sponsor shall keep a list of the projects
to which the trainee was assigned and the period of time
(s)he worked on each.

d.  The records required by paragraphs (a), (b),
and (c) of this section shall be maintained and preserved for
at least three (3) years from the termination of the
apprenticeship or training period.  Such records shall be kept
safe and accessible at the place or places of employment or
at a central location where such records are customarily
maintained.  All records shall be available at any time for
inspection and copying by the Department of Labor.

E.  Working Foremen. 29 Del.C. §6960 does not apply
to (and therefore survey data are not collected for) workers
whose duties are primarily administrative, executive or
clerical, rather than manual.  However, working foremen
who devote more than twenty (20) percent of their time
during a workweek to mechanic or laborer duties are
laborers and mechanics for the time so spent and data will be
collected for the hours spent as laborers or mechanics.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
F.  Helpers.  Helper classifications are not recognized by

the Department of Labor.  All laborers and mechanics are to
be paid the appropriate wage rate for the classification of
work actually performed, without regard to skill.

G.  Construction Projects.  In the wage determination
process, the term "project" refers to construction activity as
distinguished from manufacturing, furnishing of materials,
or servicing and maintenance work away from the site of the
work and consists of all construction necessary to complete a
facility regardless of the number of contracts involved so
long as all contracts awarded are closely related in the
purpose, time and place.  For example, demolition or site
clearing work preparatory to construction is considered a
part of the project.

1.  Character Similar. 29 Del.C. §6960 requires the
predetermination of wage rates which are prevailing on
projects of a "character similar to the construction work." As
a general rule, the Department identifies projects by end use
type and classifies then into three major categories:

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
a.  Building Construction.  Building

construction generally is the construction of sheltered
enclosures with walk-in access for the purpose of housing
persons, machinery, equipment, or supplies.  It includes all
construction of such structures, the installation of utilities
and the installation of equipment, both above and below
grade level as well as incidental grading, utilities and paving.
Additionally, such structures need not be "habitable" to be
building construction.  The installation of heavy machinery
and/or equipment shall not change the project's character as a
building.  Examples: Alterations and additions to
nonresidential buildings; Apartment buildings (5 stories and
above); Arenas (enclosed); Auditoriums; Automobile
parking garages; Banks and financial buildings; Barracks;
Churches; Hospitals; Hotels; Industrial buildings;
Institutional buildings; Libraries; Mausoleums; Motels;
Museums; Nursing and convalescent facilities; Office
buildings; outpatient clinics; Passenger and freight terminal
buildings; Police stations; Post offices; City halls; civic
centers; Commercial buildings; Court houses; Detention
facilities; Dormitories; Farm buildings; Fire stations; Power
plants; Prefabricated buildings; Remodeling buildings;
Renovating buildings; Repairing buildings; Restaurants;
Schools; Service stations; Shopping centers; Stores; Subway
stations; Theaters; Warehouses; Water and sewage treatment
plants (building only).

b.  Heavy Construction.  Heavy projects are
those that are not properly classified as either "building" or
"highway".  Unlike these classifications, heavy construction
is not a homogeneous classification.  Examples of Heavy
construction: Antenna towers; Bridges (major bridges
designed for commercial navigation); Breakwaters; Caissons
(other than building or highway); Canals; Channels; Channel
cut-offs; Chemical complexes or facilities (other than
buildings); Cofferdams; Coke ovens; Dams; Demolition (not
incidental to construction); Dikes; Docks; Drainage projects;
Dredging projects; Electrification projects (outdoor); Flood
control projects; Industrial incinerators (other than building);
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Irrigation projects; Jetties; Kilns; Land drainage (not
incidental to other construction); Land leveling (not
incidental to other construction); Land reclamation; Levees;
Locks, Waterways; oil refineries; Pipe lines; Ponds;
Pumping stations (pre-fabricated drop-in units); Railroad
construction; Reservoirs; Revetments; Sewage collection
and disposal lines; Sewers (sanitary, storm, etc.); Shoreline
maintenance; Ski tows; Storage tanks; swimming pools
(outdoor); Subways (other than buildings); Tipples; Tunnels;
Unsheltered piers and wharves; Viaducts (other than
highway); Water mains; Waterway construction; Water
supply lines (not incidental to building); Water and sewage
treatment plants (other than buildings); Wells.

c.  Highway Construction.  Highway projects
include the construction, alteration or repair of roads, streets,
highways, runways, taxiways, alleys, trails, paths, parking
areas, greenway projects and other similar projects not
incidental to building or heavy construction.  Examples:
Alleys; Base courses; Bituminous treatments; Bridle paths;
Concrete pavement; Curbs; Excavation and embankment
(for road construction); Fencing (highway); Grade crossing
elimination (overpasses or underpasses); Parking lots;
Parkways; Resurfacing streets and highways; Roadbeds;
Roadways; Shoulders; Stabilizing courses; Storm sewers
incidental to road construction; Street Paving; Guard rails on
highway; Highway signs; Highway bridges (overpasses;
underpasses; grade separation); Medians; Surface courses;
Taxiways; Trails.

d.  Multiple Categories.  In some cases a
project includes construction items that in themselves
encompass different categories of construction.  Generally, a
project is considered mixed and a "multiple schedule" used if
the construction items are substantial in relation to project
cost, i.e. more than twenty (20) percent.  Only one schedule
is used if construction items are "incidental" in function to
the overall character of a project (e.g., paving of parking lots
or an access road on a building project), and if there is not a
substantial amount of construction in the second category.

2.  Site of Work.  A basic characteristic of the
construction industry is the continual shift in the site of
employment. 29 Del.C. §6960 provides that prevailing
wages are to be paid to "...all mechanics and laborers
employed directly upon the site of the work ..." (emphasis
added).  The site of the work is limited to the physical place
or places where the construction called for in the contract
will remain when work on it has been completed.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
H.  Prevailing Wage Rates.  Every contract and the

specifications for every contract to which section 6960
applies are required to contain a provision stating the
minimum wages to be paid various classes of laborers and
mechanics.  These rates are to be based upon the wages that
the Department of Labor determines to be prevailing for the
corresponding classes of laborers and mechanics employed

on projects of a character similar to the contract work in the
county in which the work is to be performed, as reported in
the Department's annual prevailing wage survey.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
The prevailing wage shall be the wage paid to a

majority of employees performing similar work as reported
in the Department's annual prevailing wage survey or, in the
absence of a majority, the weighted average wage paid to all
employees reported.

I.  Wages.  The term "wages" means the basic hourly
rate of pay plus fringe benefits as defined below.

J.  Fringe Benefits.  Fringe benefits may be considered
in determining whether an employer has met his/her
prevailing wage obligations.  As a general rule, any fringe
benefit may be considered as long as the employer is not
legally required to provide it.  Therefore, benefits such as
health, welfare or retirement benefits, vacation, holiday pay
or sick leave pay could be considered fringe benefits.
Employer payments for unemployment insurance, workers'
compensation, FICA, etc. (which are required by law) would
not be considered fringe benefits.

In order to be considered a valid fringe benefit,
payments must be made either in cash, or contributed to an
irrevocable escrow account at least once each month.
"Irrevocable" means that the benefit may not be forfeited.
However, a benefit plan can be considered by the
Department provided that payments to the plan are made
irrevocably by the employer, even though certain employees
may forfeit their individual rights to the benefits under
certain prescribed conditions. Thus, if payments are made by
the employer, and no return of those payments is possible,
the plan would be acceptable, even though individual
employees might not receive the benefits under certain
situations.  Benefits forfeited by such employees remain in
an escrow account for the use of the other employees.

The actual cost of the benefit to the employer is the
basis for evaluating the value of the fringe benefit.
Administration costs are not considered fringe benefits.

The cost of the benefits must be apportioned
between employment on both public and private projects.
Thus, the total value of the benefit would be divided by the
total amount of time worked.  This will result in benefit per
unit of time which would be equally applicable to public and
private employment projects.  Example: an employee works
two weeks (80 hours) on a public project and two weeks (80
hours) on a private project.  The employer pays $160 for the
employee's health insurance for the month.  The value of the
benefit is $1.00 per hour.  The employer is not permitted to
apply the entire premium to the public project alone.

K.  Peak Week.  In determining prevailing wages, the
Department utilizes a "peak week" survey concept to ensure
that wage and fringe benefit data obtained from employers
reflects for each classification, the payroll period during
which the greatest number of workers in each classification
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are used on a project.  The survey solicits the number of
employees and wages paid at each given rate during the peak
week.  The contractor or reporting organization selects the
week (between July 1 to December 31 of the previous year)
during which the greatest number of each classification of
laborers and mechanics was working.  Peak weeks may be
different for each classification of worker.

L.  Wage Determinations.  A "wage determination" is
the listing of wages (including fringe benefits) for each
classification of laborers and mechanics, which the
Administrator has determined to be prevailing in a given
county and type of construction.  Wage determinations are
issued annually.

M.  Maintenance Work.  To "maintain" means to
preserve or keep in an existing state or condition to prevent a
decline, lapse, or cessation from that state or condition.
Wages paid to workers performing maintenance work shall
not be used in determining prevailing wage rates.

N.  Area.  The term "area" in determining wage rates
under 29 Del.C. §6960 shall mean the county of the State in
which the work is to be performed.  The term "area" in
determining classifications of workers under 29 Del.C.
§6960 shall mean the State of Delaware.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
O.  Secretary.  "Secretary" means the Secretary of Labor

for the State of Delaware.
P.  Administrator.  "Administrator" means the

Administrator of the Office of Labor Law Enforcement for
the Delaware Department of Labor, Division of Industrial
Affairs.

Q.  Department.  "Department" means the Delaware
Department of Labor.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)

VI.  Issuing Wage Determinations.
A.  Publication of Preliminary Determination.

On or before February 15th of each year, the
Department shall publish a "Preliminary Determination of
Prevailing Wage Rates." In the event that February 15th falls
on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the Department
shall issue the preliminary results on the next Department
business day following February 15th.

B  Appeals.
From February 15th to February 25th, the

Administrator of the Office of Labor Law Enforcement will
consider protests and inquiries relating to the preliminary
results.  An interested person seeking review or
reconsideration of a wage determination must present a
request in writing accompanied by a statement with any
supporting data or other pertinent information.

Requests for reconsideration must be substantive
and specific in order to be considered by the Department.
For example: A request stating that, "the highway rates don't
look right", would not be considered substantive or specific.

However, a request stating that, "residential rates appear to
have been erroneously included for carpenters in New Castle
County Building Construction" would be considered
substantive and specific.

From February 25th to March 1st, the Department
will attempt to gather information necessary to resolve
objections and requests for reconsideration.  However, no
appeals, objections, or requests will be considered if
received by the Department after the February 25th deadline.
The Department will respond in writing to all interested
persons who submit a written request for review.

An appeal from the Administrator's decision must
be made in writing and received by the Secretary of Labor
within five calendar days from the date of the postmark on
the Administrator's decision.  The Secretary or his/her
designee shall render a final decision in writing.

C.  Issuance of Determination
On or before March 15th of each year, the

Department shall publish its annual "Prevailing Wage
Determination." The Determination shall be valid for a
period of one year or until subsequent rates or amendments
are issued by the Department.

Public agencies (covered by the provisions of 29
Del.C. §6960) are required to use the rates which are in
effect on the date of the publication of specifications for a
given project.  "Date of publication" means the date on
which the specifications are made available to interested
persons (as specified in the published bid notice).  In the
event that a contract is not executed within one hundred and
twenty (120) days from the earliest date the specifications
were published, the rates in effect at the time of the
execution of the contract shall be the applicable rates for the
project.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
D.  Post Determination Actions.  Wage determinations

will be modified only for the purpose of correcting errors.
Determinations will not be modified to include survey data
received after the close of the survey period.

1.  Amendment to Correct Errors of Inadvertence.
Amendments may be issued to correct

inadvertent errors in the written text of a wage
determination. The sole purpose is to correct wage schedules
so that the wage determination will accurately and fully
reflect the actual rates prevailing in the locality at the time
the wage determination-was issued.  Such amendments
(which may be issued at any time) are used to correct errors
due to transposition of rates and other clerical mistakes made
in processing the schedule; they are not used to correct errors
in judgment.  Contracts which have already been awarded
will not be affected by such amendments.  Amendments
issued more than ten (10) days prior to a bid opening must be
used. Amendments issued less than ten (10) days prior to a
bid opening may be disregarded.

2.  Amendment to Correct Errors in Survey Data.
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Amendments which affect the validity of a
wage determination may be issued to correct errors in rates
resulting from erroneous information submitted by survey
participants.

When the Department of Labor is notified in
writing that a survey participant has submitted erroneous
data (with regard to wages, fringe benefits, characterization
of project, classification of workers, or county in which the
work was performed), the Department shall determine the
validity of the data.  Corrections, if warranted, shall be made
in the form of amended determinations at the end of each
calendar quarter (beginning with the date the wage
determination was issued).  Contracts which have already
been awarded will not be affected by such amendments.
Amendments issued more than ten (10) days prior to a bid
opening must be used.  Amendments issued less than ten
days prior to a bid opening may be disregarded.

3.  Incorrect Wage Determinations: Before Contract
Award.

If notification is received from the Department
of Labor any time prior to the contract award that the bid
documents contain the wrong wage schedule, such schedule
or wage determination shall no longer be valid and may not
be used - without regard to whether the bid opening has
occurred.

If the bid documents contain no wage schedule,
it is the contractor's (or subcontractor's) responsibility to
contact the Department of Labor for the correct wage
schedule.  Such requests must be in writing.  Responses to
such requests will be in writing.  Any contractor or
subcontractor found using an incorrect wage schedule will
be required to pay the correct wages based upon the proper
classification of work as determined by the Department of
Labor.

4.  Lack of Valid Wage Determination: After
Contract Award.  If a contract is awarded without a wage
determination or awarded with an incorrect wage
determination, the contractor is responsible for the payment
of the appropriate prevailing wage rates as determined by the
Department of Labor.

5.  Additional Classifications.  Any class of laborers
or mechanics which is not listed in the applicable wage
determination but which is to be employed under the
contract is to be classified by the Department of Labor in
accordance with the procedures set forth in Part III, Section
C, of these regulations.

6.  Determination of Wages for Classifications for
Which No Rates Are Published.  Whenever a public project
requires the services of a laborer or mechanic for which no
rate has been published, the Department shall be notified in
writing and shall determine the worker classification (from
among the 21 24 classifications recognized by the
Department of Labor) and the rate to be paid.  The rate shall
be determined as follows:

a.  Using "Building Construction" rates as the
baseline rate in each county, the Department of Labor will
determine the relationship between the "Building
Construction" rates and the rates of the type of construction
for which the rate is sought.  To determine the relationship,
(which is to be expressed as a percentage), the Department
will use only those rates which were determined by data
received in the relevant survey.

b.  The Department will compare only those
classifications for which corresponding rates were
determined.

c.  The total of the corresponding rates will be
determined for each type of construction.  The Heavy or
Highway total will be divided into the Building rate to find
the percentage of the Heavy or Highway rate to the Building
rate.

d.  The Department of Labor will multiply the
Building rate for the requested classification of worker by
the percentage determined in "c" to establish the applicable
prevailing wage rate.

Hypothetical example:
A plumber's rate is needed for a New Castle

County project.  The Department of Labor has not published
a rate for this classification.

The Department of Labor will determine the
relationship between New Castle County Highway rates and
Building rates, comparing only corresponding rates which
were actually determined by the relevant survey (rates
carried forward from previous years due to lack of sufficient
data are not to be used).

N.C.C.  Building N.C.C. Highway
Bricklayers $19.65 $12.29
Carpenters    23.37   21.69
Cement Finishers       23.55   15.52
Laborers      3.62   10.60
Power Equipment Operator 22.94   15.77
Truck Drivers       15.15   13.75

  $118.28 $89.62

$89.62  ÷  118.28=75.77%
The plumber's rate for New Castle County Building

is $26.54. $26.54 x 75.77% = $20.11
The plumber's rate for New Castle County Highway

= $20. 11
The same method can be used between

corresponding types of construction when the Building
construction rates do not contain a rate for the requested
classification of worker; i.e., Heavy construction rates in
Sussex County can be compared with Heavy construction
rates in New Castle."
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

SURFACE WATER DISCHARGES SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 6010 (7 Del.C. 6010)

REGISTER NOTICE  

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN #  2001-11

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Regulations For Licensing Operators of Wastewater

Facilities

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control is proposing to revise its
Regulations For Licensing Operators of Wastewater
Facilities by withdrawing the current regulations and
replacing the current regulations with the proposed
regulations.  The changes to the regulations include updated
definitions, consistent use of terms, clearer language, and
recognition of new technology.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
No sunset date for the proposed regulations.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY
TO ACT:

7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60, Section 6023.

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:  

None.

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, June 27,

2001 beginning at 1:30 p.m. in the Delaware Tech, Terry
Campus Room 400B, Dover, DE

7. PREPARED BY:
Joseph F. Mulrooney, Program Manager I, Surface

Water Discharges Section, 302-739-5731

Section 1 - Authority and Purpose
1.01  Authority - These regulations are adopted by the
Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control, under and pursuant to, the
authorities set forth in 7 Del.C. Chapter 60, Section 6023.

1.02  Purpose - The purpose of these regulations is to protect
the public health and to conserve and protect the water
resources of the State; to provide for the classification of all
public and private (including industrial) wastewater
treatment facilities; to require the examination of operators
and licensing of their competency to operate, on-location,
such facilities; to create a Board of Certification; and to
provide for reciprocal licensing arrangements with other
states.

Section 2 - Definitions

2.01 Association of Boards of Certification For
Operating Personnel in Water and Wastewater Utilities
(ABC) - Means that organization which: serves as an
information center for certification activities; recommends
minimum standards and guidelines for classification of
Wastewater Facilities and certification of operators; aids in
the establishment of reciprocity between State Programs;
and assists authorities in establishing new certification
programs and updating existing ones.

2.02  Board - Means the State Board of Certification for
Operators of Wastewater Facilities.

2.03  Department - Means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control.

2.04  Direct Responsible Charge (DRC) - Means on-
location  accountability for, and on-location performance of,
active daily operation (including Technical Supervision,
Administrative Supervision,  or  Maintenance Supervision)
for a Wastewater Facility, an operating shift of a system or a
facility, or a major segment of a system or facility.

2.05  On-Site Wastewater Disposal System - Means a
Wastewater Facility permitted under Delaware’s
Regulations Governing the Design, Installation, and
Operation of On-site Wastewater Treatment and Disposal
Systems.

2.06  Operate - Means the actions necessary for the
effective performance of a Wastewater Facility or a major
segment of a system or facility.

2.07  Person - Means any individual, partnership, firm,
association, joint venture, public or private corporation,

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/Water/Water.htm
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trust, estate, commission, board, public or private institution,
utility, cooperative, municipality or any other political
subdivision of this State, any interstate body, or any other
legal entity.

2.08  Secretary - Means the Secretary of the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control or his/her
duly authorized designee.

2.09  Wastewater Facility (Facilities) - Means the system
of pipes, structures, equipment, or processes required to treat
any wastewater, and dispose of the effluent; including the
treatment, handling, and disposal of residuals and biosolids
related thereto.

2.10  Wastewater Operator - Means an individual, who at a
given time, through observation, interpretation, or decision,
operates a Wastewater Facility or a segment of a system or
facility.

Section 3 - State Board of Certification For Operators of
Wastewater Facilities

3.01  The Board shall be appointed by the Secretary to
advise and assist the Secretary in the administration of the
certification program.  The Board will consist of three (3)
members: One (1) member who is currently certified as a
Wastewater Operator or who is eligible to be licensed under
these regulations; one (1) member representing the
Department, who shall be responsible for maintaining
records; and one (1) member-at-large.  Board members will
serve three (3) year terms which will be staggered so that the
term of not more than one (1) member will expire in any
single year.

3.02  The Board, with the consent of the Secretary, shall
establish such procedures and guidelines as may be
necessary for the administration of these regulations, and
shall include at least the following provisions:

[a]  procedures for examination of applicants and
renewal of licenses

[b]  procedures for the suspension and revocation of
licenses

[c]  guidelines for evaluating equivalency of training
and examinations conducted by recognized agencies and
institutions

[d] guidelines for evaluating equivalency of other
certification and/or licensing programs for the purpose of
according reciprocal treatment

[e] procedures for establishing regularly scheduled
meetings

[f] procedures for evaluating continuing education
requirements, in accordance with Section 8.01(d)

[g] procedures for evaluating applications to operate

more than one (1) Wastewater Facility.

3.03  When taking action pursuant to these regulations, the
Board may consider generally applicable criteria and
guidelines developed by the Association of Boards of
Certification for Operating Personnel in Water and
Wastewater Utilities (ABC).

Section 4 - Licensing Requirements

4.01  Any Wastewater Facility (except those specifically
exempted by the Department), whether publicly or privately
owned, used or intended for use by the public or private
persons, shall be under the supervision of a Wastewater
Operator(s) in Direct Responsible Charge, whose
competency is licensed by the Secretary in a classification
corresponding to, or higher than, the classification of the
Wastewater Facility.

4.02  No person shall perform the duties of a Wastewater
Operator without obtaining a Delaware Wastewater
Operator’s License.

4.03  Any Wastewater Facility (except those specifically
exempted by the Department), whether publicly or privately
owned, used or intended for use by the public or private
persons, shall at all times have available, a Delaware
Licensed Wastewater Operator(s) capable of operating the
Wastewater Facility.

4.04  On or before January 31 of each year, any owner of a
Wastewater Facility whether publicly or privately owned,
used or intended for use by the public or private persons,
shall register with the Department and list the type of
facility, the average daily flow, and the name(s) of all
Wastewater Operators in Direct Responsible Charge (DRC).
Any personnel changes involving the operator(s) in Direct
Responsible Charge (DRC) shall be reported to the
Department within 30 days after the change.

4.05  On-Site Wastewater Disposal Systems with a design
flow less than 2,500 gallons, are exempt from the provisions
of these regulations.  Other Wastewater Facilities may be
granted exemption by the Department under Section 5.02.

4.06  All persons must be operating (or have written offer of
employment) at a Wastewater Facility in Delaware, in order
to be issued a Wastewater Operators License.

Section 5 - Classification of Wastewater Facilities

5.01  The Department shall classify Wastewater Facilities
which discharge into other wastewater systems, or to
receiving bodies of water, or on land surface or subsurface.
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The classification shall consider the skill, knowledge, and
experience required of an operator; and shall be in
accordance with the criteria hereby established.

5.02  Classification of Wastewater Facilities: Wastewater
Facilities shall be classified in one of four classes.  These
classifications shall be made in accordance with the Point
System established in accordance with the “State Board of
Certification Point System Classification of Wastewater
Facilities” (included as Table 1 of these regulations), and the
range of points for each class of facility as shown below:

Class I 11 - 30 Points
Class II 31 - 55 Points
Class III 56 - 75 Points
Class IV 76 Points or greater
Wastewater Facilities other than those with on-site

wastewater disposal systems, 
scoring fifteen (15) points or less, shall be exempt from the
requirements of Section 4.01 of these regulations, and the
owner shall be so notified by the Department. Wastewater
Facilities with on-site wastewater disposal systems only,
scoring ten (10) points or less, shall be exempt from the
requirements of these regulations (unless otherwise required
by the Department), and the owner shall be so notified by the
Department.

5.03  Any Wastewater Facility may be classified in a group
other than indicated by the general criteria after
determination by the Secretary.  The Secretary may consider
special features of design, characteristics or conditions of
flow, or use of the receiving waters or combination of such
conditions.  The owner of the facility shall be given due
notice of the Secretary’s tentative determinations, and any
comments shall be considered before making the final
determination.

5.04  The classification of any Wastewater Facility may be
changed at the discretion of the Secretary by reason of
changes in condition or circumstances on which the original
classification was predicated.  Due notice of any such
change shall be given to the owner of the Wastewater
Facility.

Section 6 - Operator Qualifications and Classifications

6.01  Applicants for Licensing shall be evaluated by the
Board as to education, experience, and knowledge.  Further,
applicants may be required to give evidence of good
character, dependability, interest in work, and other pertinent
characteristics in relation to responsible operations.
Applicants must pass the required written examination,
unless the Board determines that an alternate examination
format is necessary.

6.02  In evaluating an applicant’s qualifications, the Board
will be guided by the following:

[a] Experience requiring technical knowledge, and
whether or not Direct Responsible Charge (DRC) was
included.  In large plants where responsibility is divided,
operators of important divisions may be credited with having
Direct Responsible Charge, as long as the DRC designation
appears on the annual Section 4.04 submission. 

[b] Experience, to be acceptable, must be the result of
satisfactory accomplishment of work.  Evaluation may be
based on reports of the employers, or by state and local
agencies having appropriate responsibilities for supervising
systems and plants.

[c] Partial credit may be given for operating experience
in maintenance, laboratories, or other work involving water
or wastewater facilities.

[d] Where applicable, education may be substituted for
a portion of operating experience requirements as specified
below:

[i] Where education or training is substituted for
operating experience, it shall not exceed an amount which
would reduce the requirement of actual operating experience
to less than one year for Class I, or less than two years actual
operating experience for Classes II, III, and IV.

[ii] Education applied to the operating experience
requirement cannot also be applied to the education
requirement.

[iii] College Level education in engineering or
allied subjects, or equivalent, as approved by the Board, may
be substituted on a year for year basis for operating
experience (any Wastewater Facility Classification).

[iv] Specialized operator training courses,
correspondence courses, Seminars, workshops, etc., may be
substituted for operating experience on a case by case basis;
and the equivalency will be determined by the Board.

[e] Where applicable, operating experience may be
substituted for educational requirements as specified below:

[i] Operating experience applied to educational
requirement may not also be applied to the operating
experience requirement.

[ii] One year of Direct Responsible Charge
operating experience may be substituted on a year-for-year
basis for one year of college level education.

[f] Substitutions for formal education may be made as
follows:

[i] Specialized operator training courses,
correspondence courses, seminars, workshops, etc., may be
substituted for formal education on a case by case basis; and
the equivalency will be determined by the Board.

[ii] An acceptable High School Equivalency
Certificate (GED) may be used to substitute for a High
School Diploma.

[g] Additionally, the Board may be guided by special
circumstances, if appropriate.
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6.03  Wastewater Operators - Four (4) Classes of operators
are hereby established.  The qualifications are intended to
relate, as nearly as possible, to the corresponding
classifications for Wastewater Facilities.

Class IV
[1] A college degree or completion of four (4)

years in a standard curriculum in engineering or allied
subjects, plus

[2] Four (4) years of acceptable operating
experience in Wastewater Facilities of Class III or higher;
two years of which must have been in a position of Direct
Responsible Charge (DRC).

Class III
[1] High School Diploma and two (2) years of

approved college level education in engineering or allied
subjects, plus

[2] Four (4) years of acceptable operating
experience in Wastewater Facilities of Class II or higher;
two years of which must have been in a position of Direct
Responsible Charge (DRC).

Class II
[1] High School Diploma, plus
[2] Three (3) years of acceptable operating

experience in Wastewater Facilities of Class I or higher.
Class I

[1] High School Diploma, plus
[2] One (1) year of acceptable operating

experience.

6.04  Specialty License - where a Wastewater Facility is of a
highly unusual character, requiring skills and techniques
other than those indicated by the general criteria, the Board
may, with the consent of the Secretary, provide a Specialty
License to an operator.  Such Specialty License shall only be
valid for operating the specific Wastewater Facility for
which it is issued.  The requirements for a Specialty License
shall be determined by the Board on a case-by-case basis.

Section 7 - Examination

7.01  The Board, or its authorized designee, shall prepare
written examinations to be used in determining knowledge,
ability, and judgement of the operators.

7.02  Examinations shall be held at places and times as set by
the Board, with a suitable method of advance announcement
made by the Board.  Examinations shall be conducted at
least semi-annually.

7.03  Examinations shall be written, unless the Board
determines that an alternate format is necessary.  All
examinations will be graded by the Board, or by others
designated by the Board, and the applicant notified of the
outcome.  Papers will not be returned to the applicant.

However, a method will be provided to review the results
with a member of the Board or its authorized designee on
request by the applicant.

7.04  Separate examinations shall be prepared to cover each
class of operator, as established in Section 6.03.

7.05  Any person who has failed the written examination for
a particular operator class on three (3) consecutive
occasions, shall then satisfactorily complete an approved
educational examination review course prior to again being
considered to take that particular class of written
examination.

Section 8 - Licensing

8.01  Issuance of a License
[a] Upon satisfactory fulfillment of the requirements

provided herein, and based on the recommendation of the
Board, the Secretary may issue a suitable license to the
applicant.  This license will indicate the class for which the
operator has qualified.

[b] A license may be issued, without examination, in a
comparable classification, to any person who holds a current
valid certificate or license in any jurisdiction, if in the
judgement of the Board, the requirements under which the
person’s certification or license was issued, are of a standard
not lower than that specified by these regulations.

[c] A license shall be renewable every two years unless
revoked for cause, replaced by one of a higher grade, or
invalidated under subsection [d] below.

[d] An applicant for a license renewal shall submit with
the renewal application, proof that the applicant has in the
preceding two years, attended or satisfactorily completed a
minimum of twenty (20) classroom, seminar, or workshop
hours, relating to Wastewater Facility operations or
maintenance, that are sponsored by recognized government,
educational, or industrial groups, including equipment
manufacturers.

[e] An operator whose license is invalidated, may be
issued a new license of like classification, provided
appropriate proof of competency is presented to the Board.
Successful completion of a written examination shall be
required if the license has been invalidated for two (2) or
more years.

[f] Operator-In-Training License - An applicant who
desires to become licensed and does not meet the experience
or educational requirements may, with the approval of the
Board, receive an Operator-In-Training (OIT) license,
pending fulfillment of these requirements, providing the
appropriate examination has been successfully passed.  A
holder of an OIT license may, only with the
recommendation of the Board be allowed to be in Direct
Responsible Charge (in accordance with Section 4.01) of a
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Wastewater Facility on a temporary basis, until the
requirements are met; up to a maximum period of two years.

[g] Emergency License - An emergency license may be
issued, when it is demonstrated to the satisfaction of the
Secretary, that the owner is unable to hire a licensed operator
in spite of good faith efforts.  The applicant for an
Emergency License shall meet specific requirements as set
forth by the Board.  Such licenses may be issued with special
conditions or requirements deemed necessary to protect the
public health and the water resources of the State.  An
emergency license shall be valid only for that plant or system
for a period of one (1) year, and may be renewed for a
maximum of one (1) additional year, when extreme
extenuating circumstances are shown and concurred with by
the Board.

8.02  Suspension and Revocation of License - The Secretary
may suspend or revoke the license of an operator, after
considering the recommendation of the Board, when it is
found that the operator has practiced fraud or deception; that
reasonable care, judgement, or the application of knowledge
or ability, was not used in the performance of the operator’s
duties; or that the operator is incompetent or unable to
perform duties properly.  The Board shall act in accordance
with the procedures established under Section 3.02[b] of
these regulations, and shall hold a hearing before making its
recommendations.

8.03  Additional Persons Licensed - The Secretary may
determine, due to size of plant, shift operation, or other
influencing factors, that more than one (1) operator shall be
required to be in Direct Responsible Charge at a given
facility.

8.04  Additional Wastewater Facilities
[a] Application may be made to the Secretary to

operate more than one Wastewater Facility, and must
include justification and capabilities.  The Board will
evaluate the application in accordance with the procedures
established under Section 3.02[g].

[b] Any person considered in Direct Responsible
Charge of more than one (1) Wastewater Facility may be
required to be licensed in a classification higher than the
classification of those facilities in the operator’s charge.  The
degree of operator classification may be further increased
depending upon the total number of facilities under the
responsible charge of the operator.  The Board will
recommend, with the consent of the Secretary, the degree of
classification in accordance with these factors.

Section 9 - Fees

9.01  The fee schedule for wastewater operator applications,
examinations, and licenses, shall be established by the

General Assembly.

Section 10 - Prohibited Acts

10.01  It shall be unlawful:
[a] To operate any Wastewater Facility (except those

exempted under provisions of these regulations) unless the
person(s) in Direct Responsible Charge is (are) duly licensed
under the provisions of these regulations; and

[b] For any person to routinely perform the duties of an
operator without being duly licensed under the provisions of
these regulations.

Section 11 - Penalties

11.01  Any person who knowingly and willfully violates any
provision of these regulations shall be subject to
enforcement and penalties under 7 Del. C., Subsection 6005.

Section 12 - Reciprocity

12.01  Certification or licensing of operators by any State, as
determined by the Secretary, which accepts certifications
made or certification requirements determined to be
substantially equivalent to the requirements of these
regulations or any rules promulgated hereunder, shall be
recognized as valid and sufficient within the purview of
these regulations.

12.02  In making determination pursuant to subsection 12.01
of this section, the Secretary shall consult with the Board,
and may consider any generally applicable criteria and
guidelines developed by the Association of Boards of
Certification for Operating Personnel in Water and
Wastewater Utilities (ABC).

Section 13 - Repealer

13.01  The provisions of these regulations are intended to
supersede existing regulations of this State insofar as they
relate to the matters included in these regulations.

Section 14 - Severability

14.01  If any part of these regulations, or the application of
any part thereof, is held invalid or unconstitutional, the
application of such part to other persons or circumstances
and the remainder of these regulations shall not be affected
thereby, and shall be deemed valid and effective.

Section 15 - Department Contact Point

15.01  Division of Water Resources, Wastewater Board of
Certification Department of Natural Resources and
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Environmental Control, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
19901, Telephone: 302-739-5731

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, 

Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
ADOPTION OF RULES |
CONCERNING THE | 
IMPLEMENTATION OF 72 |
DEL. LAWS CH. 402 (2000) |
GRANTING THE | PSC REGULATION
THE COMMISSION THE |
JURISDICTION TO GRANT | DOCKET NO. 51
AND REVOKE THE |
CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC |
CONVENIENCE AND |
NECESSITY  FOR PUBLIC |
UTILITY WATER UTILITIES |
(FILED NOVEMBER 21, 2000)  |

ORDER NO. 5709

AND NOW, this 24th day of April, 2001, the
Commission having considered the statements of position
and evidence submitted to the Hearing Examiner, and the
Report of the Hearing Examiner dated April 9, 2001;

IT IS ORDERED THAT:
1.  As and for its summary of the evidence pursuant to

29 Del. C. § 10118(b)(1), the Commission incorporates by
reference the "Appearances", "Background", and "Summary
and Discussion" sections (sections I through III) of the
Report of the Hearing Examiner herein dated April 9, 2001.

2.  The Secretary of the Commission shall transmit to
the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware
Register the notice attached hereto as Exhibit “A” and the
proposed regulations as attached to the Hearing Examiner’s
Report as Exhibit “B.”  

3.  The Secretary of the Commission shall cause the
notice attached hereto as Exhibit "A" to be published in The
News Journal and Delaware State News newspapers on or
before April 26, 2001.

4.  The Secretary shall cause the notice attached hereto
as Exhibit "A" to be sent by U.S. Mail to all water utilities
currently operating under a CPCN in Delaware and all
persons who have made timely written requests for advance
notice of the Commission's regulation-making proceedings.  

5.  The public utilities regulated by the Commission are
notified that they may be charged for the cost of this

proceeding under 21 Del. C. § 114.
6.  Report of the Hearing Examiner.  The Commission

adopts the "Recommendations" (section IV) set forth in the
Report of the Hearing Examiner dated April 9, 2001 and the
Proposed Regulations attached as Exhibit "A" to the Report.
A copy of the Report of the Hearing Examiner with Exhibit
"A" is attached hereto as Exhibit "B".

7.  The Commission retains jurisdiction in this matter,
including the authority to make such further Orders as may
be just or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Robert J. McMahon, Chairman
Joshua M. Twilley, Vice Chairman
Arnetta McRae, Commissioner
Donald J. Puglisi, Commissioner
John R. McClelland, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

EXHIBIT "A"

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
ADOPTION OF RULES |
CONCERNING THE | 
IMPLEMENTATION OF 72 |
DEL. LAWS CH. 402 (2000) |
GRANTING THE | PSC REGULATION
THE COMMISSION THE |
JURISDICTION TO GRANT | DOCKET NO. 51
AND REVOKE THE |
CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC |
CONVENIENCE AND |
NECESSITY  FOR PUBLIC |
UTILITY WATER UTILITIES|
(FILED NOVEMBER 21, 2000)  |

NOTICE OF COMMENT PERIOD AND PUBLIC 
HEARING ON PROPOSED REGULATIONS 

CONCERNING WATER UTILITIES INCLUDING 
THE COMMISSION'S JURISDICTION TO GRANT 

AND REVOKE CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC 
CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY SUBJECT TO 
THE JURISDICTION OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE 

COMMISSION

The Delaware General Assembly has enacted legislation
that will make applications by water utilities for Certificates
of Public Convenience and Necessity ("CPCN") subject to
the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission (the
"Commission").  The new law is found at 72 Delaware Laws
Ch. 402.  Presently, water utilities file applications for
CPCNs with the Department of Natural Resources and

http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/index.html
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Environmental Control ("DNREC").  The transfer of
jurisdiction from DNREC to the Commission will become
effective July 1, 2001. In preparation for the transfer of
jurisdiction, the Commission is promulgating regulations
intended to govern certain practices and procedures before
the Commission relating to water utilities.  In addition,
certain of the regulations are being promulgated to comply
with the General Assembly's directive to the Commission in
72 Delaware Laws Ch. 402, section 6 – codified at 26 Del. C.
§ 203C(l) – that the Commission shall establish rules
governing the revocation of a CPCN held by a water utility.  

After receiving comments and a public hearing, the
Commission has promulgated thirteen proposed new
regulations to govern water utilities.  The first addresses the
scope of the regulations themselves.  The regulations are
intended to govern certain practices and procedures before
the Commission relating to water utilities.  The second
regulation contains definitions of terms used in the
regulations.  

Two regulations set forth requirements for an
application for a CPCN, including requirements for a new
water utility that has never before been awarded a CPCN.  A
related regulation addresses the review of a new CPCN
application by the Commission's Staff for compliance with
statutes, applicable Rules of the Commission, and the
regulations.  A second related regulation requires the
Commission to cooperate with DNREC, the State Fire
Marshal, the Department of Public Health and other
interested state, local, and federal authorities, when the
application for a CPCN is under review.  A third related
regulation affords the Commission discretion to waive the
filing requirements in the regulations.  

Three of the regulations address the notice to be given
landowners in the proposed service territory covered by a
water utility's CPCN application, and the time limits within
which affected landowners must object to the CPCN, elect to
opt-out from inclusion in the proposed service territory, and/
or request a public hearing.  One of the three regulations
governing notice contains a proposed statement to the
landowners that would have to be included in the notice sent
by a water utility applying for a CPCN.

Two of the new regulations are designed to govern
proceedings to suspend or revoke a CPCN, and identify the
factors that must be present for the Commission to make a
finding of good cause to suspend or revoke a CPCN.  

One of the regulations confirms that CPCN proceedings
before the Commission must be conducted in accordance
with applicable provisions of the Delaware Administrative
Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. Ch. 101, Subchapter III. 

The Commission has authority to promulgate the
regulations pursuant to 26 Del. C. § 209(a), 29 Del. C. §
10111 et seq., and 72 Delaware Laws Ch. 402.  

The Commission hereby solicits written comments,
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written

materials concerning the proposed regulations.  Ten (10)
copies of such materials shall be filed with the Commission
at its office located at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  All such
materials shall be filed with the Commission on or before
May 21, 2001. Persons who wish to participate in the
proceedings but who do not wish to file written materials are
asked to send a letter informing the Commission of their
intention to participate on or before May 21, 2001.  

In addition, the Commission will conduct a public
hearing concerning the proposed changes on June 5, 2001,
beginning at 1:00 PM.  The public hearing will be held at the
Commission's Dover office, located at the address set forth
in the preceding paragraph.  Interested persons may present
comments, evidence, testimony, and other materials at that
public hearing.  

The regulations and the materials submitted in
connection therewith will be available for public inspection
and copying at the Commission's Dover office during normal
business hours.  The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.  The
regulations will be available for review on the Commission's
website: www.state.de.us/delpsc. 

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to
participate in these proceedings should contact the
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed
to facilitate such review or participation.  Such contact may
be in person, by writing, telephonically, by use of the
Telecommunications Relay Service, or otherwise. The
Commission's toll-free telephone number is (800) 282-8574.
Persons with questions concerning this application may
contact the Commission's secretary, Karen J. Nickerson, by
either Text Telephone ("TT") or by regular telephone at
(302) 739-4333 or by e-mail at knickerson@state.de.us.

EXHIBIT  “B”

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
ADOPTION OF RULES |
CONCERNING THE | 
IMPLEMENTATION OF 72 |
DEL. LAWS CH. 402 (2000) |
GRANTING THE | PSC REGULATION
THE COMMISSION THE |
JURISDICTION TO GRANT | DOCKET NO. 51
AND REVOKE THE |
CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC |
CONVENIENCE AND |
NECESSITY  FOR PUBLIC |
UTILITY WATER UTILITIES|
(FILED NOVEMBER 21, 2000)  |
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PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 51

DATED: APRIL 9, 2001
G. ARTHUR PADMORE, HEARING EXAMINER

REPORT OF THE HEARING EXAMINER

G. Arthur Padmore, duly appointed Hearing Examiner
in this Docket pursuant to 26 Del. C. § 502 and 29 Del. C.
Ch. 101, by Commission Order No. 5646, dated January 30,
2001:

I.  APPEARANCES
On behalf of Artesian Water Company (“Artesian”):

MORRIS, NICHOLS, ARSHT & TUNNELL
BY:  MICHAEL HOUGHTON, ESQUIRE
JOSEPH A. DINUNZIO

On behalf of United Water Delaware (“UWD”):
BY:  NANCY J. TRUSHELL

On behalf of Tidewater Utilities, Inc. (“Tidewater”):
BY:  GERARD L. ESPOSITO

On behalf of the Division of Public Advocate (“DPA”):
BRIAN GALLAGHER 

On behalf of the Public Service Commission Staff
(“Staff”):

MURPHY SPADARO & LANDON
BY: FRANCIS J. MURPHY, ESQUIRE

II.  BACKGROUND
1.  During the course of 2000, the Delaware General

Assembly enacted legislation making applications by water
utilities for Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity
(“CPCN”) subject to the jurisdiction of the Public Service
Commission of Delaware (“the Commission”).  The new law
is found at 72 Del. Laws Ch. 402.  Currently in Delaware,
investor-owned water utilities file applications for CPCNs
with the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control (“DNREC”).  Transfer of
jurisdiction from DNREC to the Commission becomes
effective July 1, 2001.

2.  In preparation for the transfer of jurisdiction, the
Commission initiated this Rulemaking proceeding in order
to promulgate regulations to govern certain practices and
procedures before the Commission relating to water utilities.
In addition, certain of the regulations proposed for
promulgation are necessary to comply with the General
Assembly’s directive to the Commission, codified at 26
Del.C. §203(C)(1), requiring the Commission to establish
rules governing the revocation of a CPCN held by a water
utility.

3.  On January 30, 2001 the Commission considered the
proposed regulations prepared by Staff, the comments and
discussions at a workshop conducted on November 30, 2000,
and written comments received from interested parties. On
the same date, the Commission issued Order No. 5646 to
address matters raised by the new legislation. The
Commission’s Order also directed publication of notice and
circulation of the proposed regulations to all water utilities
currently operating under a CPCN in Delaware and all
persons who had made timely written requests for advance
notice of the Commission’s regulation-making proceedings.

4.  The Commission’s Order also designated this
Hearing Examiner to organize, classify, and summarize all
materials, evidence, and testimony filed in this docket, to
conduct public hearing(s), and to make proposed findings
and recommendations to the Commission concerning Staff's
proposed regulations on the basis of the materials, evidence,
and testimony submitted. The Hearing Examiner was also
authorized, in his discretion, to solicit additional comment
and to conduct, on due notice, such public hearing(s) as may
be required to develop further materials and evidence
concerning any later-submitted proposed regulations or
amendments thereto. Lastly, the Commission directed the
Hearing Examiner to submit a report in such time as to allow
the Commission to promulgate final regulations by July 1,
2001.

5.  In the public notice published for these proceedings

(Ex. 1),1 the Commission invited all interested persons and
the public to file written comments on the proposed
regulations on or before March 15, 2001.

6.  The following participants submitted written
comments: UDW (submission dated March 14, 2001) (Ex.
4), Artesian (submission dated March 15, 2001) (Ex. 2), and
Tidewater (submission dated March 15, 2001) (Ex. 3). No
other person filed written comments.

7.  On March 28, 2001, the Hearing Examiner
conducted a duly noticed (Ex. 1) public hearing in the
Commission’s Dover office to consider the comments and
the proposed regulations. Representatives of Artesian,

UWD, Tidewater, the DPA,2 and Staff were in attendance at
the hearing. No other person appeared or otherwise
participated in these proceedings.

8.  At the onset of the hearing, Staff Counsel requested

1.  References to the pre-filed direct testimony and other
exhibits introduced into this record will be cited as
“Ex. ___” or “Ex. __ at ___.” The transcript of the
proceedings will be referred to as “Tr. at ___.”

2. Although it filed no written comments, the DPA,
through Mr. Gallagher, fully participated in the informal
discussions and negotiations at the March 28, 2001
hearing.
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that the Hearing Examiner grant a “brief” adjournment to
afford the participants an opportunity to discuss their written
comments and to determine what compromises, if any, could
be reached among the participants. With my permission, the
hearing was adjourned for approximately two hours and
forty-five minutes while the participants met and discussed
the proposed regulations.

9.  When the hearing was reconvened, the participants
jointly recommended certain modifications to the proposed
regulations. With my approval, the participants agreed to
incorporate their recommendations into a revised form of
proposed regulations, which they proposed to submit for my
review.

10.  On April 5, 2001, the participants jointly submitted
the hereto attached revised regulations, along with a
proposed Report of the Hearing Examiner, most of which I
have incorporated herein. I have carefully considered the

entire record of this proceeding.1 Based thereon, I submit for
the Commission’s consideration this Report and the thereto
attached proposed regulations (Exhibit “A”).

III.  SUMMARY & DISCUSSION
11.  Section 10.103 (c)(7) Section 10.103 (c)(7) . The

participants agreed that the reference to “local” authorities
should be deleted, because matters related to water quality
are typically addressed at the state and federal level. Thus,
the reference to “local” authorities was unnecessary and
potentially confusing.

12.  Section 10.103(e)Section 10.103(e) .  As originally
promulgated, section 10.103(e) provided:

(e) after a completed application has been filed, the
Commission may require an applicant to furnish
additional information during the course of the
Staff investigation of an application.

The participants jointly proposed that this paragraph be
changed to read:

(e) After a completed application has been filed and
during the course of the Staff investigation of an
application, the Commission may require an
applicant to furnish additional information
specifically related to the statutory standards for
Commission review and consideration of an
application, including the provision of safe,
adequate and reliable water service.

The revised language is intended to clarify that the

materials requested by the Staff in its investigation should
relate to the statutory standards for Commission review and
consideration of a CPCN.

13.  Section 10.106.  Section 10.106 originally read:

(a) An applicant for a CPCN shall file a copy of the
application and supporting documentation with
DNREC, the State Fire Marshal, and DPH within
three days of filing the same with the Commission.
The Staff shall send written requests to DNREC,
the State Fire Marshal, and DPH soliciting
comments on each application. The Staff shall
coordinate and cooperate with DNREC, the State
Fire Marshal, and DPH during the process of
reviewing an application for a CPCN. The Staff
shall also coordinate and cooperate with other
interested state, local and federal authorities.

The participants jointly proposed adding the phrase
“required by Section 10.103(a)(5) and (6)” after the words
“supporting documentation” in the first sentence. The
purpose of the modification is to reduce the burden on the
applicant for a CPCN by relieving the applicant of the
obligation to file potentially voluminous documents with
DNREC, the State Fire Marshal and DPH that are not needed
for a review of the CPCN. Likewise, the change will reduce
the burden on the state agencies associated with maintaining
records related to CPCN applications.

14.  The participants agreed to delete the second
sentence in paragraph 10.106 and replace it with the
following language:
 

The Staff shall send written requests to DNREC,
the State Fire Marshal, and DPH soliciting
immediate written comment as to whether they are
aware of any matters indicating that the applicant
has been unwilling or unable to provide safe,
adequate and reliable drinking water service to
existing customers.

The revised proposal includes the phrase “soliciting
immediate written comment” to signify that state agencies
will be asked to comment on an application for a CPCN as
quickly as possible. In addition, the participants seek to
clarify that the comments sought from other state agencies
relate to whether “the applicant has been unwilling or unable
to provide safe, adequate, and reliable drinking water service
to existing customers” and not extraneous matters.

15.  Sections 10.107(b), 10.108(b), 10.109(a)Sections
10.107(b), 10.108(b), 10.109(a) . As originally promulgated,
section 10.107(b) required the applicant for a CPCN to send
written notice to all landowners not more than forty-five
days and not less than thirty days prior to the filing of the
application. The participants agreed that a change from

1.  At the conclusion of the March 28, 2001 hearing, the
record consisted of 4 exhibits and a 25-page verbatim
transcript of proceedings.
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“forty-five days” to “sixty days” was appropriate to enlarge
the period for filing the application after written notice is
sent to the landowners. The proposed change will give all
interested persons additional time to address the CPCN
application. The provisions of Sections 10.108(b) and
10.109(a) also require amendment to make them conform to
the revised time frame in section 10.107(b).

16.  Section 10.109(a) Section 10.109(a) . The
participants jointly proposed to add the following to
paragraph (1) of the notice set forth in Section 10.109(a):  

If you agree to the inclusion of your property in the
proposed service area, no action on your part is required.

The participants agreed that the addition of this
language to paragraph (1) of the minimum required notice
would help landowners better understand their options upon
receipt of the notice of an application for a CPCN.

17.  Section 10.110 Section 10.110 . The participants
agreed to delete Section 10.110 related to the imposition of
conditions on a CPCN. The deletion of this section is
without prejudice to the position of the Commission or any
party about the Commission’s authority to impose such
conditions. The participants agreed that it was unnecessary
to address this legal issue in the abstract and in the context of
a rulemaking proceeding.

18.  Section 10.111(a)(1). The participants agreed that
the word “material” should be inserted before the word
“non-compliance” in Section 10.111(a)(1) so that the
language of the regulation would track the language in 26
Del. C. §203 C (k)(1).

19. Section 10.112(b)Section 10.112(b). The
participants agreed that the words “pursuant to proceedings
conducted in accordance with subsection (a) above” should
be inserted after the words “Unless the Commission finds. . .
.” This amendment clarifies that proceedings to suspend or
revoke a CPCN must be conducted in accordance with the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C., Chapter 101,
Subchapter III.

20.  In addition, the participants agreed that the words “a
water utility” should be inserted at the beginning of Section
10.112(b)(ii).

21.  The participants’ remaining comments concerned
minor, non-substantive proofreading errors in the regulations
as originally promulgated. These errors have been corrected
in the revised regulations submitted with this report.

22.  I commend the participants, the state’s 3 largest
water utilities, the Division of the Public Advocate, and the
Commission Staff, for having voluntarily entered into
informal discussions and to have crafted the attached
proposed regulations for the Commission’s consideration.
The resulting regulations are, in my view, reflective of the
intent of the statute. Furthermore, I find the proposed
regulations to be balanced, reasonable, and in the public
interest. I, therefore, recommend to the Commission their
approval.

IV.   RECOMMENDATIONS
23.  In summary, and for the reasons discussed above, I

propose and recommend that the Commission adopt the
proposed regulations, attached hereto in final form as
Exhibit “A”, entitled Regulations Concerning Water
Utilities Including The Public Service Commission’s
Jurisdiction To Grant And Revoke Certificates Of Public
Convenience and Necessity.

Respectfully submitted,
G. Arthur Padmore, Senior Hearing Examiner

Dated:  April 9, 2001

EXHIBIT "A"

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
ADOPTION OF RULES |
CONCERNING THE | 
IMPLEMENTATION OF 72 |
DEL. LAWS CH. 402 (2000) |
GRANTING THE | PSC REGULATION
THE COMMISSION THE |
JURISDICTION TO GRANT | DOCKET NO. 51
AND REVOKE THE |
CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC |
CONVENIENCE AND |
NECESSITY  FOR PUBLIC |
UTILITY WATER UTILITIES|
(FILED NOVEMBER 21, 2000)  |

PROPOSED REGULATIONS CONCERNING WATER 
UTILITIES INCLUDING THE PUBLIC SERVICE 

COMMISSION'S JURISDICTION TO GRANT AND 
REVOKE CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC 

CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY

10.101  Scope of Regulations.
These regulations are intended to govern certain

practices and procedures before the Delaware Public Service
Commission relating to water utilities.

10.102  Definitions.
As used in these regulations:
"Commission" means the Delaware Public Service

Commission.  
"CPCN" means a Certificate of Public Convenience and

Necessity.
"DPH" means the Delaware Division of Public Health.
"DNREC" means the Delaware Department of Natural

Resources and Environmental Control.  
"Staff" means the Staff of the Delaware Public Service

Commission.
"Secretary" means the Secretary of the Delaware Public
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Service Commission.

10.103  Application for Certificate of Public Convenience
and Necessity.

(a)  An application for a Certificate of Public
Convenience and Necessity to begin the business of a water
utility or to extend or expand the business or operations of
any existing water utility shall be made in writing and filed
with the Commission.  The application shall include all
information and supporting documentation required by
statute, the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the
Commission, these regulations, and shall not be considered
complete until all such information and supporting
documentation has been filed with the Commission.  At the
time of filing, the application shall: 

(1)  Contain a statement explaining the reason(s)
why the Commission should grant the CPCN, and citations
to all statutory and regulatory authority upon which the
application is based, or upon which the applicant relies to
support the application; 

(2)  Clearly state the relief sought by the
application; 

(3)  State the name, address, telephone number, and
e-mail address (if any) of the person to be notified in the
event the Staff determines there are deficiencies in the
application; 

(4)  Contain the supporting documentation required
by 26 Del.C. § 203C, including evidence that all the
landowners of the proposed territory have been notified of
the application; 

(5)  Include a complete list of county tax map parcel
number(s) for the area covered by the application;

(6)  Include (along with a complete list of tax map
number(s)) corresponding names and addresses of property
owners and a copy of all tax map(s) for the area;   

(7)  For any proposed extension of service, contain
a certification by the applicant that the extension will satisfy
the provisions of 26 Del. C. § 403C, including the following:

(i)  The applicant is furnishing water to its
present customers or subscribers in this State in such fashion
that water pressure at every house supplied is at least 25
pounds at all times at the service connection; 

(ii)  The applicant shall furnish water to the
house or separate location of each new customer or
subscriber in this State at the pressure of at least 25 pounds at
each such location or house at all times at the service
connection while continuing also to supply each old
customer or subscriber at the pressure of at least 25 pounds
at each house at all times at the service connection;

(iii) The applicant is not subject to a finding by
the appropriate federal or state regulatory authority that it
has materially failed to comply with applicable safe drinking
water or water quality standards; and

(iv) The applicant is not subject to any Order

issued by the Commission finding that the company has
materially failed to provide adequate or proper safe water
services to existing customers; and  

(8)  For applications submitted under 26 Del. C. §
203C(e), include a statement indicating whether the
applicant has determined if a majority of the landowners of
the proposed territory to be served object to the issuance of a
CPCN to the applicant, and the documentation relied upon to
support the applicant's determination.  

(b)  If an application for a CPCN involves a water utility
project or service that requires the review, approval or
authorization of any other state or federal regulatory body,
including DNREC, the State Fire Marshal or DPH, the
application to the Commission shall so state and shall
include the following:

(1)  A statement of the current status of such
application;

(2)  If the application to the other regulatory body
or bodies has already been filed, a copy of any permit, order,
certificate, or other document issued by the regulatory body
relating thereto; and

(3)  If such an application or amendment thereof is
filed with another state or federal regulatory body or a
determination is made by any such regulatory body
subsequent to the date of filing the CPCN application with
the Commission, but prior to its determination, a copy of any
permit, order, certificate or other document that has been
issued relating thereto shall be filed with the Commission.

(c)  An applicant for a CPCN – other than a municipality
or other governmental subdivision – shall provide with the
application (if not presently on file with the Commission) the
following: 

(1)  A corporate history including dates of
incorporation, subsequent acquisitions and/or mergers;

(2)  A complete description of all relationships
between the applicant and its parent, subsidiaries, and
affiliates.  Furnish a chart or charts which depict(s) the inter-
company relationships; 

(3)  A map identifying all areas, including all
towns, cities, counties, and other government subdivisions to
which service is already provided; 

(4)  A statement identifying any significant element
of the application which, to the applicant's knowledge,
represents a departure from prior decisions of the
Commission;

(5)  Annual reports to stockholders for applicant, its
subsidiaries, and its parent for the last two years; 

(6)  The applicant's audited financial statements,
10K's, and all proxy material for the last two years; and 

(7)  Any reports submitted by the applicant within
the preceding twelve months to any state or federal
authorities in any proceedings wherein an issue has been
raised about the applicant's failure to comply with any
statute, regulation, rule, or order related to the provision of
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safe, adequate and reliable water service, including the water
quality of water provided to existing customers.

(d)  A municipality or other governmental subdivision
applying for a CPCN shall provide with the application (if
not presently on file with the Commission) the statement and
documents identified in subsections (c)(3), (4) and (7)
hereof.  

(e)  After a completed application has been filed and
during the course of the Staff investigation of an application,
the Commission may require an applicant to furnish
additional information specifically related to the statutory
standards for Commission review and consideration of an
application, including the provision of safe, adequate, and
reliable water service.  

(f)  Supporting documentation not filed with the
application must be made available for Staff inspection upon
request. 

10.104  Additional requirements for an application filed
by a new water utility.

(a)  If the applicant for a CPCN is a new water utility
that has not previously been awarded a CPCN in Delaware,
the application, in addition to meeting the requirements of
section 10.103, shall include the following:

(1)  Evidence that it possesses the financial,
operational, and managerial capacity to comply with all state
and federal safe drinking requirements and that it has, or will
procure, adequate supplies of water to meet demand, even in
drought conditions, by maintaining supply sufficient to meet
existing and reasonably anticipated future peak daily and
monthly demands;

(2)  A certified copy of the applicant's certificate of
incorporation;

(3)  Details of plant as to type, capacity, cost, status
of plant construction, construction schedule, and estimated
number of customers to be served; and

(4)  A map showing the location and size, in acres
or square feet, of the proposed territory, and the
composition, diameter, length, and location of pipes to be
initially installed.

(b)  If the applicant for a CPCN is a new water utility
that is an unincorporated proprietorship, the applicant shall
be subject to a rebuttal presumption that the applicant lacks
the financial, operational, and managerial capacity to comply
with the requirements for a CPCN.

10.105  Review of application; deficiencies in the
application.

(a)  The Staff shall review all CPCN applications for
compliance with applicable statutes and these regulations.
The Staff will, within twenty-one days after the date of
filing, specifically identify any deficiencies in the
application, and immediately request the Secretary to
promptly notify the applicant of the alleged deficiencies.

The applicant shall have thirty days from the date of the
receipt of the notice from the Secretary of the deficiencies in
the application to file a corrected or supplemental
application.  The Commission may, in its discretion, extend
the period to cure deficiencies in the application for an
additional thirty days.  

(b)  Only upon the applicant's filing of a corrected or
supplemental application correcting the deficiencies shall
such application be deemed completed and filed with the
Commission for purposes of the time limits for action by the
Commission under 26 Del. C. §203C(h).  In the event the
alleged deficiencies are not cured within the time provided
hereunder, Staff may move the Commission to reject the
utility's application for non-compliance with these
regulations.  

(c)  Nothing in this regulation shall prevent an applicant
from filing an application in draft form for Staff's informal
review and comment without prejudice, such informal
review and comment not to be unreasonably withheld by
Staff; nor shall this regulation affect or delay the filing date
of applications that comply with applicable statutes and
these regulations, or whose non-compliance is deemed
minor or immaterial by the Commission or its Staff.

10.106  Filing of application with DNREC, the State Fire
Marshal, and DPH; coordination and cooperation.

An applicant for a CPCN shall file a copy of the
application and the supporting documentation required by
section 10.103(a)(5) and (6) with DNREC, the State Fire
Marshal, and DPH within three days of filing the same with
the Commission. The Staff shall send written requests to
DNREC, the State Fire Marshal, and DPH soliciting
immediate written comment as to whether they are aware of
any matters indicating that the applicant has been unwilling
or unable to provide safe, adequate and reliable drinking
water service to existing customers.  The Staff shall
coordinate and cooperate with DNREC, the State Fire
Marshal, and DPH during the process of reviewing an
application for a CPCN.  The Staff shall also coordinate and
cooperate with other interested state, local, and federal
authorities.

10.107  Provision of notice to all landowners of the
proposed territory.

(a)  Pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C(d)(1)
and (e)(1), prior to filing the application with the
Commission, the applicant shall provide written notice to all
landowners of the proposed territory of the anticipated filing
of the application.   

(b)  The written notice required by 26 Del.C.
203C(d)(1) and (e)(1) shall be sent to all landowners of the
proposed territory not more than sixty days and not less than
thirty days prior to the filing of the application.  
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10.108  Landowners who object, opt-out, and/or request
a public hearing; time limits; extension of time.

(a)  In proceedings involving an application submitted
under 26 Del.C. §203C(e), any landowner whose property,
or any part thereof, is located within the proposed territory to
be served shall be permitted to (i) object to the issuance of
the CPCN; (ii) opt-out of inclusion in the territory; and/or
(iii) request a public hearing.  The applicant shall inform the
Commission of the name and address of all landowners who
notify the applicant of their objection to the issuance of the
CPCN, their intention to opt-out of inclusion in the territory,
and/or request a public hearing, and shall file with the
Commission any written notices received from such
landowners.  The Commission shall maintain records
identifying all landowners who have provided written notice
of their objection to the issuance of the CPCN, their
intention to opt-out of inclusion in the territory, and/or
request a public hearing, and shall make such records
available to the applicant. 

(b)  A landowner shall notify the Commission, in
writing, if the landowner (i) objects to the issuance of the
CPCN; (ii) intends to opt-out of inclusion in the territory;
and/or (iii) requests a public hearing.  The notice to the
Commission from the landowner must be filed with the
Commission within (i) sixty days from the date of the
landowner's receipt of a written notice from the water utility
that complies with applicable statutes and these regulations,
of the landowner's inclusion in the service territory; or (ii)
thirty days of the filing of the completed application,
whichever period is greater.  The Commission may, in the
exercise of its discretion, extend the time to object, opt-out,
and/or request a public hearing even though the period in
which to do so has expired.  The Commission shall accept
for filing written notices from landowners that were sent to
the applicant and transmitted by the applicant to the
Commission.

10.109  Notification to all landowners of the proposed
territory of their rights to object, opt-out, and/or request
a public hearing.  

(a)  Pursuant to 26 Del.C. §203C(e), and for the
purposes of notification to all landowners of the proposed
territory encompassed by the CPCN, the notice sent to the
landowners of the proposed territory must include, at a
minimum, the following statement:

"(1)  Pursuant to Title 26, §203C(e) of the Delaware
Code, an application for a Certificate of Public
Convenience and Necessity (CPCN) will be
submitted to the Delaware Public Service
Commission on or about {enter date of intended
submission}.  Your property has been included
within an area {enter name of your organization}
intends to serve with public water and we are

required to inform you of certain information.  The
area to be served is {provide a shorthand
description of the service area}.  If you agree to the
inclusion of your property in the proposed service
area, no action on your part is required.  
(2)  Pursuant to current law, you may file an
objection to receiving water service from {enter
name of your organization}.  Under Delaware law,
the Public Service Commission cannot grant a
CPCN to {enter name of your  organization} for the
proposed service area, including your property, if a
majority of the landowners in the proposed service
area object to the issuance of the CPCN.  If you
object to receiving water service from {enter the
name of your organization}, you must notify the
Commission, in writing, within sixty days of your
receipt of this notice or within thirty days of the
filing of the completed application for a CPCN,
whichever is greater.  
(3)  Pursuant to current law, you may also elect to
opt-out of inclusion in the proposed service area.
The term "opt-out" means that you decide that you
do not want to receive water service from {enter
name of your organization}, even if a majority of
the landowners in the proposed service area do elect
to receive water service from {enter name of your
organization}.  If you decide that you do not want
to receive water service from {enter name of your
organization} and instead wish to opt-out, you must
notify the Commission, in writing, within sixty
days of your receipt of this notice or within thirty
days of the filing of the completed application for a
CPCN, whichever is greater.  
(4)  You may also request a public hearing on this
matter.  A request for a public hearing must be
made in writing to the Commission within sixty
days of your receipt of this notice or within thirty
days of the filing of the completed application for a
CPCN, whichever is greater.  
(5)  The written notice of your decision to object to
the issuance of the CPCN, to opt-out of receiving
water service from {enter name of your
organization}, and/or your written request for a
public hearing, shall be sent to the Secretary of the
Delaware Public Service Commission at the
following address:

Secretary
Delaware Public Service Commission

{insert the address of the Secretary of the Delaware 
Public Service Commission}

(6)  Any written notice you send to the Commission
must include the description of the service area
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referred to in paragraph (1) above and the name of
the applicant so the Commission will be able to
identify the CPCN application to which your notice
is related.  
(7)  Questions regarding objections, opt-outs, and
hearings may be directed to: {enter the name or
title, and the address and telephone number of the
Commission's contact person(s)}."

(b) If a landowner sends a written notice directly to the
applicant, the applicant shall file the notice with the
Commission.   

10.110  Suspension or revocation of CPCN for good
cause. 

(a) Pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. § 203C(k)
and (l), the Commission may suspend or revoke a CPCN, or
a portion thereof, for good cause.  Good cause shall consist
of:

(1)  A finding by the Commission of material non-
compliance by the holder of a CPCN with any provisions of
Titles 7, 16, or 26 of the Delaware Code dealing with
obtaining water or providing water and water services to
customers, or any order or rule of the Commission relating to
the same; and

(2)  A finding by  he Commission that, to the extent
practicable, service to customers will remain uninterrupted
under an alternative water utility or a designated third party
capable of providing adequate water service, including a
trustee or  receiver appointed by the Delaware Court of
Chancery; and 

(3)  Either (i) a finding by the Commission that
there are certain methods to mitigate any financial
consequences to customers served by the utility subject to
suspension or revocation and the adoption of a plan to
implement those methods; or (ii) a finding by the
Commission that there are no practicable methods to
mitigate the financial consequences to customers.

(b) In addition to the factors required by section
10.110(a)(1), (2) and (3), the Commission may consider one
or more of the following factors in determining whether to
suspend or revoke a CPCN: 

(1)  Fraud, dishonesty, misrepresentation, self-
dealing, managerial dereliction, or gross mismanagement on
the part of the water utility; or

(2)  Criminal conduct on the part of the water
utility; or

(3)  Actual, threatened or impending insolvency of
the water utility; or

(4)  Persistent, serious, substantial violations of
statutes or regulations governing the water utility in addition
to any finding of non-compliance required by paragraph
(a)(1) above; or 

(5)  Failure or inability on the part of the water

utility to comply with an order of any other state or federal
regulatory body after the water utility has been notified of its
non-compliance and given an opportunity to achieve
compliance; or

(6)  Such other factors as the Commission deems
relevant to the determination to suspend or revoke a CPCN.

10.111  Proceedings to suspend or revoke a CPCN for
good cause.

(a)  Proceedings before the Commission to suspend or
revoke a CPCN for good cause shall be conducted in
accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch.
101, Subchapter III.

(b)  Unless the Commission finds, pursuant to
proceedings conducted in accordance with subsection (a)
above, that (i) the conduct of a water utility poses an
imminent threat to the health and safety of its customers; or
(ii) a water utility is unable to provide safe, adequate, and
reliable water service, the Commission will not suspend or
revoke a CPCN for good cause without first affording the
water utility a reasonable opportunity to correct the
conditions that are alleged to constitute the grounds for the
suspension or revocation of the CPCN.

10.112  Compliance with 29 Del. C. Ch. 101, Subchapter
III.

Proceedings before the Commission involving
Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity for water
utilities shall be conducted in accordance with the
procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, Subchapter III,
including any proceedings related to any findings under 26
Del. C. § 203C(f) that an applicant is unwilling or unable to
provide safe, adequate, and reliable water service to existing
customers, or is currently subject to such a Commission
finding.

10.113  Waiver of requirements of sections 10.103 and
10.104.

The Commission may, in the exercise of its discretion,
waive any of the requirements of sections 10.103 and 10.104
above.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS

24 DE Admin. Code 1400
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 

Sections 1406(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §§1406(a)(1))

ORDER

A Public Hearing was held to receive comments on
March 7, 2001 at the regularly scheduled meeting of the
Board of Electrical Examiners. During the meeting the
Board considered changes to its rules and regulations that
were  published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 4, Issue
8, February 1, 2001. Board members suggested changes to
Rules 13.2.4 and 14.2  that were not noticed.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND 
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

No written comments were received.  The verbal
comments are summarized below.

1. Robert Smith commented that Rules 10.0, 10.1.1,
and 10.1.2 were not clear.

2. Robert Keis disagreed with the changes to Rule 3.5.
He thought that would preclude a T2 licensee from
becoming a T1 if all of the experience had to be obtained

under the supervision of a T1 to qualify.  He thought the
knowledge that could be tested would be sufficient and that
any other provision was not fair. Mr. Keis also asked for
clarification about the 60 days in Rule 8.2.3 and the log in
Rule 8.5.  

3. Paul Buchhofer commented on Rule 15.3.  He
advised the Board that the testing company, Experior, was
not offering the exam necessary under the Rule because of
financial difficulties.  Individuals have been on a waiting list
for 3 months to be testified.

4. Austin F. Sutch advised the Board that some T1
licensees just do residential work. An applicant may not
have commercial experience just because the applicant
worked under a T1.

FINDINGS OF FACT WITH RESPECT TO THE 
EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION

1. The language in Rules 10.1.1 and 10.1.2 is from the
statute and the Board explained that the intent was to
distinguish between individuals who are employees of
corporations and those who are  employees of licensees.

2. The Board finds that the experience necessary for a
license as a master electrician (T1) should be obtained under
the supervision of a T1.  Requiring commercial and
industrial experience to qualify is not new but was in the old
statute as well. Twenty-four Del.C. §1408(a)(1) requires
experience “under the supervision of a licensed master
electrician;...”  In order to ensure safe and efficient services,
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it is necessary that an individual, who is to be licensed as a
master electrician, have had experience in commercial and
industrial work. The Board does not believe test results alone
are sufficient;  there must also be mechanical aptitude that
comes with experience.  The Board does not agree that this
requirement necessarily creates hardship.  If a limited
electrician (T2) continues to work under the supervision of a
T1, that person is acquiring the experience necessary to
advance to T1.  The hardship arises if a T2 goes into
business for himself or herself performing residential work
and is no longer performing supervised industrial or
commercial work.

3. With respect to Rule 8.2.3, the 60 day requirement
is only necessary for pre-approval.  If an application comes
in within the 60 days, it still can be given approval after the
course is offered.  Since the Board only meets once a month
it is necessary to present the curriculum well in advance to
insure that it can be on a Board agenda for pre-approval.
The logs required by new Rule 8.5 are being sent out with
the renewal material. 

4. The Board recognizes there may be some problem
with the testing service if Experior is not providing frequent
opportunities for exam. The statutory time periods for testing
cannot be changed by regulation.

5. The Board finds that the changes to Rules 13.2.4
and 14.2 suggested by members are non-substantive changes
that do not require republication. The changes make the rules
consistent with the enabling legislation.    

6. The term “professional” used to describe a member
who can act as a complaint officer in Rule 13.2.4 is to be
stricken.  The Board finds the qualifier  is more limiting than
the enabling statute.  A public member is capable of serving
as complaint officer.

7. Rule 14.2 related to installing a hot tub or
swimming pool is misleading because the scope is not
limited  to electrical work as it is under the statute. The
current rule is stricken and replaced as follows:

14.2 A homeowner shall not be permitted to install
his or her own internal wiring, electrical work or
equipment associated with a hot tub or a swimming
pool.

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

The Board of Electrical Examiners hereby adopts the
changes to the Rules and Regulations as provided herein  to
be effective 10 days following final publication in the
Register of Regulations. 

TEXT AND CITATION 

The text of the Rules and Regulations appears  in the
Register of Regulations, Vol. 4, Issue 7, February 1, 2001 as

modified by  the changes described above including deletion
of the word ‘professional’ in Rule 13.2.4 and the revision of
14.2 relating to the homeowners permit.

BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS     
Donald King, Vice President
Leroy James, Secretary
Anthony Szczuka
Kenneth Draper
William J. Carson
Shirley Good

Board of Electrical Examiners
Statutory Authority:(24 Del.C. 1406)

1.0    License required
2.0    Applications
3.0    Qualifications
4.0    Examinations
5.0    Fees
6.0    License and Insurance
7.0    Expiration and Renewal
8.0    Continuing Education
9.0    Loss of license holder
10.0  Exceptions
11.0  Reciprocity
12.0  Required Inspection
13.0  Organization of the Board
14.0  Homeowners Permits
15.0  Inspection agencies
16.0  Voluntary treatment option for chemically dependent

 or impaired professionals

1.0  License required.
1.1  No person shall perform electrical services or

represent themselves as qualified to perform electrical
services  without first having been duly licensed unless
specifically excepted by statute.  24 Del.C. §§1407, 1419

1.2  To perform “electrical services” or   “electrical
work” means to plan, estimate, layout, perform, or supervise
the installation, erection, or repair of any electrical
conductor, molding, duct, raceway, conduit, machinery,
apparatus, device, or fixture for the purpose of lighting,
heating, or power in or on any structure or for elevators,
swimming pools, hot tubs, electric signs, air conditioning,
heating, refrigeration, oil burners, and overhead and
underground primary distribution systems.

1.3  A license is not required for servicing equipment in
the fields of heating, air conditioning, refrigeration or
appliances.

2.0 Applications.
2.1  Applications may be obtained in person during

regular business hours  or by mail from the Division of
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Professional Regulation, Cannon Building, Ste. 203,  861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904-2467 .
Applications must be made in the name of the individual, not
a company. The Board shall approve the application form to
insure that it contains all of the information necessary to
satisfy the statutory requirements for licensure.

2.2  Applications which are incomplete shall be retained
for one year to allow an applicant the opportunity to
supplement the application.  After one year, incomplete
applications are destroyed.  Thereafter, an applicant must
resubmit a current application with the appropriate fee.

2.3  Applications approved for testing will be valid for
two years.  If the test isn’t taken, the application is destroyed.
Thereafter, an applicant must resubmit a current application
with the appropriate fee.

3.0  Qualifications.
3.1  Persons demonstrating the education and

experience qualifications set forth in 24 Del. C. §1408  may
be licensed as a master electrician, limited electrician, master
electrician special, or limited electrician special. 

3.2  An applicant shall submit proof of qualifications
verified by his or her  affidavit on a form approved by the
Board. Proof of experience requires either an employer’s
affidavit or a tax  form w-2, or tax Schedule C.  The required
experience and training must be completed  prior to taking
the licensure test.

3.3 Applicants relying on military training and
experience shall submit official documentation from the
supervising officials showing type and approximate hours of
work experience.  Other official military documentation that
reliably verifies military training and experience may be
accepted when supervisory officials are not available or
cannot be located.

3.4 The requirement of two years of technical training
under 24 Del.C.§ 1408 (a)(1)(c) can be met by successful
completion of two years of technical training related to
electrical technology in a vocational/technical high school or
by completion of 48 credit hours in technical training related
to electrical technology  at an accredited post-secondary
school. 

3.5  The experience necessary under 24 Del.C. §1408 to
qualify for a particular license must relate to the activity
authorized by such a license as defined in 24 Del.C.
§1402(10) - (13).

4.0  Examinations.
4.1  As a condition of licensure, applicants shall obtain a

grade of 75% on the Division-approved test. Only the
National Electrical Code Book can be used during the test as
a reference. Applicants should submit a completed
application with all necessary credentials for Board approval
at least 45 days before the test is given.  As long as the
credentials have been approved, a license may issue from the

Division of Professional Regulation upon proof of obtaining
a passing score on the test, proof of insurance, and payment
of the fee as provided herein.  A member of the State Board
of Electrical  Examiners will may attend the examination.
All scores will be presented to the Board at the first meeting
after the examination results are available.  The roster of
persons qualified for licensure will appear in the minutes.

4.2  Applicants who fail  two consecutive times with a
grade of less than 50% each time must wait one year before
retesting.

5.0  Fees
5.1   Fee information can be obtained from the Division

of Professional Regulation, Cannon Building Ste. 203, 861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904 -2467.

6.0  License and Insurance.
6.1  The license will be issued by the Division of

Professional Regulation to a qualified applicant upon receipt
of the required fee and proof of insurance.

6.2  Each licensee shall maintain general liability
insurance of at least $300,000.00.  Proof of said insurance
shall be submitted at the time of license issuance and each
renewal.

6.3 The insurance requirement is satisfied for a licensee
who is performing work as an employee as long as the
employer is insured for the risk on the work performed as
required under these regulations.  A licensee  who also
works independently from his or her employer  must
maintain separate insurance for that risk as provided under
these regulations.

7.0  Expiration and Renewal.
7.1  All licenses as master electrician or master

electrician special  expire on June 30, 2000 and even -
numbered years thereafter.  All licenses as limited electrician
or limited electrician special expire on June 30, 2001 and
odd - numbered years thereafter.  Beginning in  2002, all
licenses expire June 30 and biennially every two years
thereafter.

7.2  As a condition of renewal, each applicant must
show proof  of continuing education as required in the Rules
and Regulations.  Extra continuing education hours do not
carry over to the next licensing period. Renewal applications
will be audited by the Board for compliance with the
continuing education requirements.

7.3  A license is lapsed expired when a licensee has
failed to either complete the requirements for renewal or
obtain permission for  inactive status.  A licensee may
activate a lapsed an expired license within one year of the
date the renewal application was due by meeting all
requirements and paying an additional fee set by the
Division of Professional Regulation.

7.4    A licensee with a valid license may request in
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writing to be placed on inactive status. An inactive status can
be effective for up to two years and renewed biennially by
application to the Division upon proof of 10 hours of
continuing education.  Said license may be reactivated by the
Board  upon written request  which includes evidence of 10
hours of continuing education completed within the
preceding 2 years, proof of insurance, and payment of a
prorated fee to be computed by the Division of Professional
Regulation. 

7.5  A  licensee is not authorized to work as a licensed
electrician in this State during the period of lapse or inactive
status.

7.6 An individual whose license has expired for more
than one year must reapply as a new applicant.  Any prior
training and experience satisfies the requirements under 24
Del.C. §1408(a).   However, the applicant must take the
examination required by §1408(5) again and achieve a
passing score.

8.0  Continuing Education
8.1  Continuing education (CE) is required of all

licensees and proof shall be submitted to the Board by April
30 of any year after 2000 in which a license is to be renewed.
For example, if a license must be renewed June 30, 2001, the
proof of completion of CE  is due on April 30, 2001. A
licensee who has submitted CE hours that are not allowed
will be notified so that he or she may obtain replacement CE
before the June 30 expiration of the license.

8.2 Courses must be approved by the Board in order to
qualify as CE.  Licensees may contact the Administrative
Assistant of the Board at the Division of Professional
Regulation to determine whether particular courses have
been approved.

8.2.1 Courses shall be designed to maintain and
enhance the knowledge and skills of licensees related to
providing electrical services.

8.2.2 Sponsors or licensees can obtain Board
approval of courses at any time by completing a form
approved by the Board and including a course outline with
the number of classroom hours and name of the instructor.

8.2 8.2.3 Sponsors or licensees seeking pre-approval of
CE hours should submit the request as provided in 8.1.2 on a
form approved by the Board at least 60 days before the CE
course  is being offered.

8.2.4 Approval of CE automatically expires on
September 1, 2002 and every three years thereafter on each
September 1. A sponsor or licensee must reapply for
approval as provided in 8.2.1.

8.3  Licensees shall complete 10 hours of approved CE
during each renewal period with the following exceptions - a
person licensed less than one year does not need to complete
CE at the first renewal; a person licensed one year but less
than two years must submit 5 CE hours at the first renewal.
Beginning with the licensee’s  second renewal,  5 of the 10

CE hours required for renewal must be related to the
National Electrical Code.

8.4  The Board may consider a waiver of CE
requirements or acceptance of partial fulfillment based on
the Board’s review of a written request with supporting
documentation of hardship.

8.5   A log of CE on a form approved by the Board shall
be maintained and submitted. Documentation of the CE
should not be routinely sent with the log but must be retained
during the licensure period to be submitted if the renewal
application is selected for CE audit.  Random audits will be
performed by the Board to ensure compliance with the CE
requirements. Licensees selected for the random audit shall
submit attendance verification.

9.0  Loss of license holder
9.1  A procedure permitting  temporary practice after

loss of a licensee to avoid business interruption is provided
in 24 Del.C. §1418 and is necessary only where there is no
currently employed licensee to assume the duties of the
former license holder.

9.2  The notification must include documentation of the
business relationship with the former license holder.

10.0  Exceptions.
10.1  No license is required for performing electrical

work by the following persons or entities:
10.1.1  persons working under the supervision of a

Delaware licensed master or limited electrician;
10.1.2  persons under the supervision of a licensed

electrician who is the owner or full-time employee of a
company performing electrical work;

10.1.3  a professional engineer in a manufacturing
or industrial plant having six years experience in electrical
planning and design who is registered with the Board as the
person responsible for the plant repairs, maintenance, and
electrical additions;

10.1.4  the Department of Transportation, or a
contractor, for work performed by or under the supervision
of the Department for the installation erection, construction,
reconstruction and/or maintenance of drawbridges and
traffic control devices

10.1.5  persons working beyond the main breaker or
fuse of 200 amps or less in a structure used exclusively for
agriculture;

10.1.6  persons performing the work of any light or
power company, electric or steam railway company,
telegraph or telephone company when the work is part of the
plant or service used in rendering authorized service to the
public such as power delivery by an electric company.  This
exception ends at the point of service, termination box, or
demarcation point; 

10.1.7  a homeowner who has obtained a
homeowner’s permit  provided by law.
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11.0  Reciprocity
11.1  An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall

complete an application approved by the Board and cause a
certificate of good standing to be sent to the Board from the
licensing agencies of all jurisdictions where the applicant is
or has been licensed.  Upon request an applicant for
licensure under this provision must submit to the Board a
copy of reciprocal state’s current licensure requirements. If
the reciprocal state’s requirements are not substantially
similar to those of this State, as determined by the Board,
the applicant shall submit proof of practice for at least five
years after licensure. Proof or practice can be by an
employer’s affidavit, tax form w-2 , or tax Schedule C

12.0  Required Inspection.
12.1  Every licensee shall file for an inspection by a

licensed inspection agency no later than five working days
after the commencement of electrical work.  The inspection
agency shall complete the inspections no later than five
working days after the application has been received.  

12.2  Any professional engineer excepted from licensure
shall at least annually file with the Board a certificate of
inspection by a licensed inspection agency and a letter
stating that all repairs, maintenance, and additions to a
manufacturing or industrial plant meet the Standards of the
National Electrical Code.  The annual inspection should
include a representative sampling of the work performed by
the authority of the responsible professional engineer.

12.3  Any person performing electrical work on
agricultural structures excepted from licensure shall
nevertheless obtain a certificate of inspection from a licensed
inspection agency for new installations.

12.4  Any person authorized to perform work by a
homeowner’s permit shall obtain a final inspection by a
licensed inspection agency.

13.0  Organization of the Board
13.1  Election of Officers

Annually during the July meeting, the Board shall
elect officers to serve for a one year term from September 1-
August 31.

13.2  Duties of the Officers
13.2.1  President - The president shall preside at all

meetings, designate subordinates when provided by law,
sign correspondence on behalf of the Board, and perform
other functions inherent in the position.  In conducting
meetings or hearings, the President may limit or exclude
evidence as provided under the Administrative Procedures
Act unless overruled by a majority of the Board.

13.2.2  Vice President - The Vice President
assumes the duties and powers of the President when the
President is unavailable.

13.2.3  Secretary - The Secretary assumes the duties
and powers of the President when neither the President nor

the Vice President is available.
13.2.4 Complaint officer - The complaint officer

shall be a [professional] member who works with the
investigator of the Division of Professional Regulation when
complaints are investigated pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8807.
The complaint officer shall report to the Board when
complaints are closed and recuse himself or herself from
participating in disciplinary hearings involving matters that
have been reviewed in his or her capacity as complaint
officer.    

13.2.5  Education officer - The education officer
may review courses submitted for continuing education
approval and makes recommendations to the Board.

13.3  Meeting Minutes
The minutes of each meeting are taken by the

Administrative Assistant from the Division of Professional
Regulation and approved by the Board.

14.0  Homeowners Permits
14.1  The Division of Professional Regulation is

authorized to issue homeowners’ permits pursuant to an
application process approved by the Board. Generally
homeowner’s permits are not required for replacement in
kind but are required for new construction, renovation, and
any work that requires a building permit.

14.2  A homeowner shall not be permitted to install [his
or her own internal wiring, electrical work or equipment
assiciated with] a hot tub or a swimming pool.    

15.0  Inspection agencies
15.1  Inspection agencies shall be licensed in accord

with the provisions of 24 Del.C. §1421 in order to operate in
Delaware.  An application on a form  approved by the Board
must be  filed at the Division of Professional Regulation.
Licenses must be renewed annually on June 30 by
completing the renewal form and paying the fee determined
by the Division.

15.2  No inspection agency will be approved until it
produces proof of general liability insurance in the amount
of at least $1,000,000.00 and errors and omissions insurance
in the amount of at least $1,000,000.00.

15.3  Inspection agencies must submit, to the Division
of Professional Regulation, the names of its employees who
are inspectors and proof of compliance with the statutory
requirements for inspectors. Inspectors must have seven
years of experience in residential, commercial, or industrial
wiring.  Proof of experience shall be submitted by affidavit
of the named employer, a tax form w-2, or tax Schedule C.
The experience requirement for an inspector employed by an
approved inspection agency on July 20, 1999 is satisfied
with seven years of inspection experience. Each inspector
shall also submit a passing score for the Electrical one and
two family dwelling and the Electrical General examinations
within 18 months of employment and the Electrical Plan
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Review examination within 24 months of employment. For
inspectors employed by the inspection agency on July 20,
1999, the time for taking said examinations shall run from
the date these regulations become effective and not the date
first employed.

16.0  Voluntary treatment option for chemically
dependent or impaired professionals.

A voluntary treatment option is available for chemically
dependent or impaired professionals as provided in 29
Del.C. §8807 (n) who are reported to the Board or Division
using the following procedures:

16.1  If the report is received by the president of the
Board, that president shall immediately notify the Director
of Professional regulation or his/her designate of the report.
If the Director of Professional Regulation receives the
report, he/she shall immediately notify the president of the
Board, or that president’s designate or designates.

16.2  The president of the Board or that president’s
designate or designates shall, within seven (7) days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

16.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility.  This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within thirty (30) days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board president or that president’s designate(s).

16.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board president or that president’s
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the with the treating professional, deem
necessary, only if such action will not endanger the public
health, welfare or safety, and the regulated professional
enters into an agreement with the Director of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate and the president of the
Board or that president’s designate for a treatment plan and
progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement.  Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
President of the Board.  

16.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the Board president
or that president’s designate or designates or the Director of
the Division of Professional Regulation or his/ her designate

in regard to the Voluntary Treatment Option or to comply
with their requests for evaluations and screens may
disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of
the Voluntary Treatment Option and the Board president or
that president’s designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in 29
Del.C. §8807(h).

16.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to the following provisions:

16.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the Board.  Board approval
shall not require that the regulated professional be identified
to the Board. Treatment and evaluation functions must be
performed by separate agencies to assure an unbiased
assessment of the regulated professional’s progress.

16.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the president of the Board or to that
president’s designate or designates or to the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate at
such intervals as required by the president of the Board or
that president’s designate or designates or the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and
such person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.

16.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program.

16.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option.  The amount of the fee
imposed under this paragraph shall approximate and
reasonably reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses
of the Board, as well as the proportional expenses incurred
by the Division of Professional Regulation in its services on
behalf of the Board in addition to the administrative costs
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option.

16.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the Board’s president, or his/her
designate or designates or to the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate by the treating
professional who shall be immune from any liability for such
reporting made in good faith and without malice.

16.7  The regulated professional’s records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
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records open to public inspection.  However, the
participating Board may consider such records in setting a
disciplinary sanction in any future matter in which the
regulated professional’s chemical dependency or impairment
is an issue.

16.8  The Board’s president, his/her designate or
designates or the Direction of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with the
treating professional at any time during the Voluntary
Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a chemically
dependent or impaired professional if such action is deemed
necessary to protect the public health, welfare or safety.

16.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.

16.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an
immediate investigation and disciplinary proceedings as
appropriate.

16.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a non-disciplinary matter.

16.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

24 DE Admin. Code 3500
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Section 3506(a) (24 Del.C. §3506(a))

ORDER ADOPTING RULES AND REGULATIONS

AND NOW, this 2nd day of April, 2001, in accordance
with 29 Del.C. �10118 and for the reasons stated hereinafter,
the Board of Examiners of Psychologists of the State of
Delaware (hereinafter �the Board�) enters this Order
adopting amendments to Rules and Regulations.

I.  Nature of the Proceedings

Pursuant to the Board�s authority under 24 Del.C.
�3506(a)(1) and (a)(4), the Board proposed to revise its
existing Rules and Regulations to clarify the acceptable
passing score on the Examination for Professional Practice
in Psychology (the �EPPP�) for various exam

administrations, and to implement new computer based
testing procedures established by the Association of State
and Provincial Psychology Boards (the �ASPPB�).  Notice of
the public hearing to consider the proposed amendments to
the Rules and Regulations was published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations dated January 1, 2001, and two
Delaware newspapers of general circulation, in accordance
with 29 Del.C. �10115.  The public hearing was held on
February 5, 2001 at 9:00 a.m. in Dover, Delaware, as duly
noticed, and at which a quorum of the Board was present.
The Board deliberated and voted on the proposed revisions
to the Rules and Regulations.  This is the Board�s Decision
and Order ADOPTING the amendments to the Rules and
Regulations as proposed.

II.  Evidence and Information Submitted

The Board received no written comments in response to
the notice of intention to adopt the proposed revisions to the
Rules and Regulations.  No public comment was received at
the February 5, 2001 hearing.

III.  Findings of Fact and Conclusions

1.  The public was given notice of the proposed
amendments to the Rules and Regulations and offered an
adequate opportunity to provide the Board with comments.

2.  The proposed amendments to the Rules and
Regulations are necessary to clarify the acceptable passing
score on the EPPP examination for various exam
administrations, and to implement new computer based
testing procedures established by the ASPPB.  The proposed
amendments will assist applicants in understanding the
process applicable to the administration of the examination
required for licensure. 

3.  The Board concludes that it has statutory authority to
promulgate rules and regulations pursuant to 24 Del.C.
�3506(a)(1).  The Board further concludes that it has
statutory authority to adopt the administration, grading
procedures and passing score of the ASPPB under 24 Del.C.
�3506(a)(4).

4.  For the foregoing reasons, the Board concludes that it
is necessary to adopt amendments to its Rules and
Regulations, and that such amendments are in furtherance of
its objectives set forth in 24 Del.C. Chapter 35.

IV.  Decision and Order to Adopt Amendments

NOW, THEREFORE, by unanimous vote of a quorum
of the Board, IT IS ORDERED, that the Rules and
Regulations are approved and adopted in the exact text as set
forth in Exhibit A attached hereto.  The effective date of this
Order is ten (10) days from the date of its publication in the
Delaware Register of Regulations pursuant to 29 Del. C. �
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10118(g).

BY ORDER OF THE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF
PSYCHOLOGISTS

(As authenticated by a quorum of the Board)
Sharon L. Mitchell, Ph.D., President, Professional

Member
Constance Dancu, Ph.D., Vice President, Professional

Member
Peter B. Appel, Ph.D., Secretary, Professional Member
Bobby Benjamin, Public Member
Richard Lindale, Public Member
Shirley Reichelt, Public Member
Frank Szczuka, Public Member
William Ulmer, Jr., M.Ed., Professional Member
Edward S. Wilson, Ph.D., Professional Member

Board of Examiners of Psychologists

1.0     General Rules and Regulations
2.0     Official Board Office
3.0     Meetings of the Board
4.0     Officers of the Board
5.0     Procedures for Licensure
6.0     Evaluation of Credentials
7.0     Supervised Experience
8.0     Failure to Pass Examination
9.0     Psychological Assistants
10.0   Continuing Education
11.0   Professional Conduct
12.0   Complaint Procedures
13.0   License Renewal
14.0   Procedures for Licensure Applicable to Full-Time

  Faculty Members in a Nationally Accredited Doctoral
  Level Clinical Training Program in the
  State of Delaware.

15.0   Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
   Dependent or Impaired Professionals

1.0  General Rules and Regulations
The Board of Examiners of Psychologists has been

established under the 24 Del.C. Ch. 35, and current
amendments to that Law.  Within the framework of the Law,
the Board has the responsibility for interpreting and
implementing the legal provisions and requirements of the
Law through the establishment of operating Rules and
Regulations.  The Board and the public may propose
changes in the Rules and Regulations in accordance with the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.

2.0  Official Board Office
The official office of the Board of Examiners shall be in

Dover in the Division of Professional Regulation and all

correspondence must be addressed to this office in written
form before official action can be taken.  In addition, the
Division of Professional Regulation will provide an
Administrative Assistant who will take notes at Board
meetings, keep the records for the Board, and serve as a
liaison between the Board and members of the public who
have questions for the Board.  The Division of Professional
Regulation will also set fees to defray the cost of regulation.

3.0  Meetings of the Board
The Board will hold such meetings during the year as it

may deem necessary to review licensure applications and
psychological assistant applications, evaluate continuing
education, hold disciplinary hearings, or conduct other
Board business.  Either the President, or the majority of the
Board may call a Board meeting.  The Division of
Professional Regulation, Board members, and the public
shall be notified of the meeting agenda, time and location in
accordance with the Freedom of Information Act.

4.0  Officers of the Board
The Board elects its own officers at the first meeting of

each calendar year.  The President of the Board sets the
agendas of the meetings, chairs meetings, and represents the
Board at state regulatory meetings, the American
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards, and
other organizations that may interface with the Board unless
someone else is designated to attend in place of the
President.  The Vice President or Secretary acts for the
President in the President’s absence.  The Secretary of the
Board, in conjunction with the Administrative Assistant
from the Division of Professional Regulation, is responsible
for taking care of Board correspondence.

5.0  Procedures for Licensure
5.1  Application - Initial Licensure

An applicant who is applying for licensure as a
psychologist shall submit evidence showing that he/she
meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3508.  The applicant
must submit the following:

5.1.1  An application for licensure, which shall
include:

5.1.1.1  Academic credentials documented by
official transcripts showing completion of an educational
program meeting the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3508(a)(1).

5.1.1.2  Supervised experience documented by
having each supervisor complete a Supervisory Reference
Form.

5.1.1.3  Evidence that the applicant passed the
written “Examination for Professional Practice in
Psychology”, developed by the Association of State and
Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB), by achieving the
passing score recommended by the ASPPB at the time of the
application for licensure.  for that particular examination
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(computer or paper) administration.  Candidates who are not
licensed in any other state must have passed the written
examination within five (5) years of application for licensure
in Delaware. Applicants who have not taken the examination
must submit all other required documents to the Board for
review prior to sitting for the examination.  Only those
applicants the Board determines are otherwise eligible for
Delaware licensure shall be approved to sit for the
examination, subject to the administration policies and
procedures of the ASPPB.  After sitting for the examination,
applicants must supplement their application materials by
submitting evidence of their passing score as recommended
by the ASPPB. 

See 3 DE Reg 1067 (2/1/00)
5.1.1.4  Verification that the applicant has no

past or pending disciplinary proceedings.  [24 Del.C.
§3508(a)(4)]

5.1.1.5  The application shall not be considered
complete until all materials are received by the Board for
review at an officially scheduled meeting.  The applicant
will have twelve (12) months from the date of initial
submission of the application and fee to complete the
application process.

5.1.2  Completed certification form.  The applicant
will be notified, once his/her application is complete and
available for the Board’s review.  The certification form
must be submitted before any further action can be taken.

5.2  Application - By Reciprocity
An applicant who is applying for licensure as a

psychologist by reciprocity, as defined in 24 Del.C. §3511,
shall submit evidence that he/she meets the following
requirements:

5.2.1  An application for licensure, which shall
include:

5.2.1.1  Evidence that the applicant is licensed
or certified in another state and that the applicant has
practiced continuously, as a doctoral-level psychologist, in
good standing in that jurisdiction for two (2) years.

5.2.1.2  Evidence that the applicant passed the
written Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology
(EPPP).  The Board shall accept the passing score
recommended by the ASPPB for that particular examination
(computer or paper) administration. a score of 70% or better,
or, for examinations taken prior to 1992, the Board shall
accept either the ASPPB recommended passing score or the
minimum passing score accepted by the Delaware Board in
the year the examination was take, whichever was lower.

See 4 DE Reg. 979 (12/1/00)
5.2.2  Completed certification form.  The applicant

will be notified once his/her application is complete and
available for the Board’s review.  The certification form
must be submitted before any further action can be taken.

5.3 Computer Based Testing Procedures1

5.3.1 The EPPP will be offered by computerized
delivery beginning in 2001.  An applicant for examination
shall complete an application for computer based-testing,
available from the Board.

5.3.2 Once a candidate has been approved to sit for
the EPPP by the Board, the Board shall forward a notice of
approval to the examination service, which will then forward
instructions to the examination candidate.

5.3.3 It shall be the responsibility of the applicant to
schedule his or her EPPP administration with a test delivery
site purusant to the instructions given by the examination
service.

5.3.4 The examination service will forward test
results directly to the Board.  Test results will not be
available to the candidate at the testing center, nor will test
results be given over the phone.  

5.3.5 The Board shall notify the applicant of his or
her examination score, and pass/fail status upon receipt of
this information from the testing service.

5.3.6 If an applicant has been approved to sit for the
EPPP by a jurisdiction other than Delaware, it shall be the
responsibility of the applicant to arrange to have the score
transferred to the Delaware Board.

5.3.7 An applicant who fails the examination may
re-take the exam no sooner than 60 days after the prior
examination date.  An applicant may take the examination a
maximum of four (4) times in any 12 month period.
[24 Del. C. §§ 3506(a)(4).]

6.0  Evaluation of Credentials
6.1  Candidates for licensure as psychologists in the

State of Delaware shall:
6.1.1  Have received a doctoral degree based on a

program of studies which is  psychological in content and
specifically designed to train and prepare psychologists.  The
doctoral degree must be from  a college or university,
accredited as required by 24 Del.C. §3508(a)(1) having a
graduate program which states its purpose to be the training
and preparation of psychologists. Graduates of non-United
States (U.S.) degree programs will be required to have their
credentials evaluated by a credential evaluation service
approved by the National Association of Credential
Evaluation Services, to determine equivalency to the
accreditation requirements of §3508(a)(1) and equivalency
of psychological content and training.  The Board will
consider programs to be psychological in  content by the
criteria established by the joint designation project of the
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards and
the Council for the National Register of Health Service

1.  This rule shall take effect upon implementation of
the computer-based EPPP by ASPPB. The expected
implementation date is April 2001.
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Providers in Psychology, as follows:
See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)
See 4 DE Reg. 980 (12/1/00)

6.1.1.1  Programs that are accredited by the
American Psychological Association are recognized as
meeting the definition of a professional psychology
program.  The criteria for accreditation serves as a model for
professional psychology training.

6.1.1.2  Or, all of the following criteria, (1)
through (9):

6.1.1.2.1  Training in professional
psychology is doctoral training offered in a regionally
accredited institution of higher education.

6.1.1.2.2  The program, wherever it may
be administratively housed,  must be clearly identified and
labeled as a psychology program.  Such program must
specify in pertinent institutional catalogues and brochures its
intent to educate and train professional psychologists.

6.1.1.2.3  The psychology program must
stand as a recognizable, coherent organizational entity
within the institution.

6.1.1.2.4  There must be a clear authority
and primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas
whether or not the program cuts across administrative lines.

6.1.1.2.5  The program must be an
integrated, organized sequence of study.

6.1.1.2.6  There must be an identifiable
psychology faculty and a psychologist responsible for the
program.

6.1.1.2.7  The program must include a
body of students who are matriculated in  that program for a
degree.

6.1.1.2.8  The program must include
supervised  practicum, internship,  field or laboratory
training appropriate to the practice of psychology.

6.1.1.2.9  The curriculum shall encompass
a minimum of three (3) academic years of full time graduate
study.  In addition to instruction in scientific and
professional ethics and standards research design and
methodology, statistics, and psychometrics, the  core
program shall require each student to demonstrate
competence in each of the following substantive content
areas.  This typically will be met by including a minimum of
three or more graduate semester hours (5 or more graduate
quarter hours) in each of these 4 substantive content areas:

6.1.1.2.9.1  Biological bases of
behavior:  Physiological psychology, comparative
psychology, neuropsychology, sensation and perception,
psychopharmacology.

6.1.1.2.9.2  Cognitive-affective bases
of behavior: Learning, thinking, motivation, emotion.

6.1.1.2.9.3  Social bases of behavior:
Social psychology, group processes, organizational and
systems theory.

6.1.1.2.9.4  Individual differences:
Personality theory, human development, abnormal
psychology.

6.1.1.3  In addition, all professional education
programs in psychology will include course requirements in
specialty areas.

6.2  Have had, after receiving the doctoral degree, at
least 2 years of supervised experience in psychological work
satisfactory to the Board; and

6.3  Have achieved the passing score on the written
standardized Examination for Professional Practice in
Psychology (EPPP) developed by the Association of State
and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) or its successor;
or

6.4  The Board will qualify for licensing without
examination any person who applies for licensure and who is
a Diplomate of the American Board of Professional
Psychology.  All such applicants must meet all other
requirements for licensure.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

7.0  Supervised Experience
The types of supervision pertinent to licensure as a

psychologist or registration as a psychological assistant are
comprised of three types of supervisory experiences:

7.1  Predoctoral internship supervision as required by
doctoral programs in psychology.  The predoctoral
internship consists of a minimum of 1,500 hours of actual
work experience completed in not less than 48 weeks, nor
more than 104 weeks.  At least 50% of the predoctoral
supervised experience must be in clinical services such as
treatment, consultation, assessment, and report writing, with
at least 25% of that time devoted to face-to-face direct
patient/client contact.  No more than 25% of time shall be
allocated for research.

7.2  Postdoctoral supervision is required for initial
licensure as a psychologist. Postdoctoral experience must
consist of 3,000 hours of actual work experience.  This
experience is to be completed in not less than two years and
not more than three calendar years, save for those covered
under 24 Del.C. §3519(e).  For those individuals the accrual
of 3,000 hours of supervised postdoctoral experience must
take place within six calendar years from the time of hire.
There is to be one hour of face-to-face supervision for every
1-10 hours of clinical work.  This experience shall consist of
at least twenty-five percent and not more than sixty percent
of the time devoted to direct service per week in the area of
the applicant’s academic training. “Direct service” consists
of any activity defined as the practice of psychology or the
supervision of graduate students engaging in activities
defined as the practice of psychology. Not more than 25% of
this supervision can be done by other licensed mental health
professionals besides psychologists.  

The purpose of the postdoctoral supervision is to
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train psychologists to practice at an independent level. This
experience should be an organized educational and training
program with explicit goals and a clear plan to meet those
goals.  There should be regular written evaluations based on
this program.  

7.3  Supervision of psychological assistants is required
at the frequency of one hour of face-to-face supervision for
every 1-10 hours of clinical work by the psychological
assistants, as required by Section 9 of the Rules and
Regulations.  An individual registered as a psychological
assistant may or may not be receiving supervision in pursuit
of independent licensure as a psychologist.

7.4  A psychologist providing either postdoctoral
supervision or supervision of psychological assistants must
have been in practice for two years post licensure in this or
any other state without having been subject to any
disciplinary actions.  He/she must provide 24-hour
availability to both the supervisee and the supervisee’s
clients, or ensure that adequate alternative coverage is
provided in the supervisor’s absence. The supervising
psychologist shall have sufficient knowledge of all clients
including face-to-face contact when necessary and must be
employed or under contract in the setting where the clinical
service takes place and the supervision must occur within
that setting.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

8.0  Failure to Pass Examination
Applicants may take the Examination for the

Professional Practice in Psychology as many times as they
choose. Intervals between testing will be determined by the
testing agency and the ASPPB.

9.0  Psychological Assistants
9.1  A psychological assistant is an individual who

meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. Section 3509(2a-2e).
This individual may be registered as a psychological
assistant in order to receive supervision to be eligible for
later licensure to practice independently as a psychologist
and/or for any other reason as recognized by law. 

9.2  Psychological assistants are supervised, directed,
and evaluated by a Delaware licensed psychologist who
assumes professional and legal responsibility for the services
provided.
  9.2.1  Any Delaware licensed psychologist who has
had a least two (2) years of experience following the
granting of licensure in this or in any other state may
supervise a maximum of seven (7) psychological assistants.  

9.2.2  It is the responsibility of the supervising
psychologist in conjunction with the psychological assistant
to diagnose and form treatment plans for patients seen by the
psychological assistant and to file such plan in the patient/
client’s chart.  

9.2.3  The patient/client must be informed that

services are being delivered by a psychological assistant and
that the licensed psychologist is responsible for the
treatment.
  9.2.4  The patient/client shall sign a statement of
informed consent attesting that he/she understands that the
services are being delivered by a psychological assistant and
that the licensed psychologist is ultimately responsible for
his/her treatment. This document shall include the
supervising psychologist’s name and the telephone number
where he/she can be reached.  One copy shall be filed with
the patient/client’s record and another given to the patient.  

9.3  The Delaware licensed psychologist is identified as
the legally and ethically responsible party in all advertising,
public announcements, and billings.  In addition, billings and
advertisements will clearly indicate that the service is being
provided by a psychological assistant.  All treatment and
evaluation reports prepared by the psychological assistant
must be signed by the psychologist and the psychological
assistant.

9.4  The Delaware licensed psychologist who accepts
the responsibility of using a psychological assistant shall
develop and maintain a current, written job description
delineating the range and type of duties, educational
practicum and clinical experience to be assigned to the
psychological assistant, limits of independent action,
emergency procedures for contacting the  supervising
psychologist, and the amount and type of supervision to be
provided.  This job description must be signed by the
psychologist and the psychological assistant and will be filed
in the Division of Professional Regulation, along with an
official copy of the psychological assistant’s college
transcript, and proof of a 450-hour clinical practicum
supervised by a licensed psychologist or by a faculty
member in a nationally accredited doctoral level clinical
training program in the State of Delaware who is actively
pursuing licensure.  The psychological assistant will also
provide a statement under oath as outlined in 24 Del.C.
§3509(b1 - b3).
  9.5  The Board will then review credentials, job
description and supervisory arrangements, and if the
arrangements are acceptable, will inform the psychologist in
writing that the psychological assistant can begin work. No
psychological assistant shall begin work until the Board has
approved the application.  Registration for psychological
assistants expires biennially and continued performance of
the duties of a psychological assistant requires proof of
twenty (20) hours of continuing education and payment of
the renewal fee.

9.6  Supervision of the psychological assistant by the
Delaware licensed psychologist is to be a regular and formal
process.  It is required that the licensed psychologist and the
psychological assistant have weekly one-on-one, face-to-
face supervision with review of each case served by the
psychological assistant.  The supervising psychologist
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should be familiar with each patient/client seen by the
psychological assistant and with the ongoing progress of
treatment. One hour of supervision for every ten hours, or
fraction thereof, of direct clinical work by the psychological
assistant is required as a minimum.  For example, if a
psychological assistant provides eight (8) hours of direct
clinical service, he or she must receive a minimum of one (1)
hour of supervision.  Likewise, a psychological assistant,
who has fifteen (15) hours of direct clinical contact, must
receive at least two (2) hours of supervision.  This
supervision must be documented in writing on patient
records.  In addition, the supervising psychologist shall
submit at the time of relicensure and at the termination of the
supervision relationship a supervision report on a form
provided by the Board which will become a part of the
public record.  It will contain information describing the date
and amount of supervision and any unscheduled supervisory
contact, as well as a brief assessment of the psychological
assistant’s functioning.  The Board will consider requests to
substitute group supervision for some portion of the one-to-
one, face-to-face supervision requirement.  A supervising
psychologist must petition the Board and show good cause
for this substitution.   If the supervising psychologist’s
request is granted, no more than five (5) psychological
assistants may meet with the supervising psychologist at one
time and there must be two (2) hours of group supervision in
place of every one (1) hour of individual supervision.  All
psychological assistants must have at least one (1) hour of
individual supervision per week. The Board reserves the
right to withdraw their permission for the substitution at any
time.  

9.7  Psychological Assistants are to work in the office of
the licensed psychologist so as to have regular and continued
supervision.  When the licensed psychologist is not in the
office, he or she is expected to provide clear contingency
plans for consultation for the psychological assistant.  It is
assumed that the psychologist will be available to the
psychological assistant under most circumstances; therefore,
arrangements in which the supervising psychologist is
employed full time elsewhere will not be approved, unless it
can be demonstrated that there will be adequate supervision
and contingency coverage of the psychological assistant.
Supervising psychologists will be expected to describe in
their application for the psychological assistant how much
supervision they will provide and how that supervision will
be provided.

9.8  Psychological assistants who work for agencies
must be supervised by a psychologist employed by or under
contract to the agency.  Supervision must occur on site, and
the agency must have clearly spelled out plans for providing
consultation and backup when the supervising psychologist
is not on site.  A psychological assistant, who provides
services that are under the direction of different
psychologists, must be registered as a psychological

assistant by all of the psychologists who are directly
supervising the clinical work.

9.9  When there is a complaint of incompetent,
improper, or unethical behavior on the part of the
psychological assistant, in addition to the disciplinary action
against the psychological assistant, disciplinary action may
be taken against the supervising psychologist for failing to
provide adequate supervision of the psychological assistant.
The Board reserves the right to suspend or revoke the
Delaware licensed psychologist's privilege of hiring a
psychological assistant when just cause has been established
through a formal hearing.  Violation of this regulation may
constitute cause for suspending or revoking the future
privilege of hiring a  psychological assistant.

9.10  Patients/clients are always the responsibility of the
supervising psychologist.  Termination or transfer plans
must be worked out with the approval of the supervising
psychologist.  A  psychological assistant will be considered
to be working for the supervising psychologist until the
Board of Examiners is notified in writing of the change in
arrangements.  The letter terminating a psychological
assistant arrangement must also specify when the
supervising psychologist is terminating the arrangement
because of concerns about the ethical or professional
behavior of the psychological assistant.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

10.0  Continuing Education
10.1  Psychologists must obtain 40 hours of continuing

education every two years in order to be eligible for renewal
of license.  Psychologists will be notified in January that
they may submit their documentation beginning March 1st.
Continuing education credit must be submitted for the period
of August 1st of the year of renewal to July 31st of the
second year.  Individuals licensed within the two year period
will be notified by the Board of the prorated amount to
submit.

10.2  Psychological assistants must obtain 20 hours of
continuing education every two years for re-registration.
Psychological assistants may submit their documentation
beginning March 1st.  The appropriate period for credits to
be accrued is from August 1st of the year of renewal to July
31st of the second year.  Psychological assistants registered
within the two year period will be notified by the Board of
the prorated amount to submit.

10.3  Psychologists or psychological assistants who
have not submitted their material by July 31st  will be
allowed  to reapply for licensure or registration  until August
31st.  In the situation where the appropriate amount of
documentation has been submitted in a timely fashion and in
good faith and with reasonable expectation of renewal, but
has been found to be inadequate, the practitioner has 30 days
from the notification of inadequacy to submit valid
continuing education credit in the amount specified, or until
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August 31st of that year, whichever is later.
Hardship.  An applicant for license renewal or

registered psychological assistant may be granted an
extension of time in which to complete continuing education
hours upon a showing of good cause.  “Good cause” may
include, but is not limited to, disability, illness, extended
absence from the jurisdiction and exceptional family
responsibilities.  Requests for hardship consideration must
be submitted to the Board in writing prior to the end of the
licensing period, along with payment of the appropriate
renewal fee.  No extension shall be granted for more than
120 days after the end of the licensing period.  A license
shall be renewed upon approval of the hardship extension by
the Board, but the license shall be subject o revocation if the
licensee does not complete the requisite continuing
education pursuant to the terms of the extension.

See 4 DE Reg. 983 (12/1/00)
10.4  It is the responsibility of the psychologist or

psychological assistant to file a record of his/her continuing
education.  Documentation of continuing education will
consist of letters/certificates of attendance from the
sponsoring entity.

10.5  The subject of the continuing education must
contribute directly to the professional competency of a
person licensed to practice as a psychologist or registered as
a psychological assistant.  The activity must have significant
intellectual or practical content and deal with psychological
techniques, issues or ethical standards relevant to the
practice of psychology.

10.6  Activities from APA-approved continuing
education sponsors will be automatically accepted.  The
following may be eligible:

10.6.1  Other programs which are not APA-
approved sponsors but where the material is relevant to
professional practice and provides the equivalent of APA-
defined credit.  An applicant must provide a brochure or
other documentation that supports the following criteria:
relevance, stated objectives, faculty and educational
objectives.  To document attendance and completion, a
certificate of attendance is required.  In these circumstances,
hours will be accrued on the basis of clock hours involved in
the training.

10.6.2  Graduate courses relevant to professional
practice taken for educational credit offered by a regionally
accredited academic institution of higher education.  Each
credit hour of a course is equivalent to 5 CE hours.

10.6.3  Teaching an undergraduate or graduate level
course in applied psychology at an accredited institution.
Teaching a 3 hour semester or quarter course is considered
the equivalent of 5 CE credits.  No more than 5 CE credits
may be completed in this manner for any renewal period and
can be submitted only for the first time that a course is
presented.  Appropriate documentation of teaching must
include the listing of the course in the school catalog and a

letter from the academic institution stating that the course
was taught.

10.6.4  Teaching of a workshop or conduction of a
seminar on a topic of pertinence to the practice of
psychology.  Credit earned for one day is a maximum of 2
credits, two days is a maximum of 3 credits, and three days
or more is a maximum of 5 credits.  However, credit can be
earned only once for teaching a particular seminar or
workshop and not be eligible for re-submission at any time.
Appropriate documentation is considered to be the brochure
and demonstration of the workshop being held by the
sponsoring entity.

10.6.5  Authorship, editing or reviewing of a
publication.  Credit may be earned only in the year of the
publication and is limited to the following:

10.6.5.1  Author of a book (maximum of 40 CE
hours)

10.6.5.2  Author of a book chapter or journal
article (maximum of 15 CE hours)

10.6.5.3  Editor of a book (maximum of 25 CE
hours)

10.6.5.4  Editor of or reviewer for a scientific
or professional journal recognized by the Board (maximum
25 CE hours)

10.6.5.5  Proof of the above (10.6.5.1 -
10.6.5.4) must include the submission of the work or
documentation of authorship by copy of title pages.
 10.6.6  Preparing and presenting a scientific or
professional paper or poster at a meeting of a professional or
scientific  organization.  Up to 2 hours may be claimed for a
poster presentation.  Up to 3 hours of credit may be claimed
for each hour of paper presentation, with a maximum of 8
CE hours per paper.  Listing within the program and
certificate letters of attendance at the meeting is appropriate
documentation for both a paper or poster presentation.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)
10.7  The Board reserves the right to reject any CE

program, if it is outside the scope of the practice of
psychology.

10.8  The following will not be considered for credit:
service to organizations; attending business meetings of
professional organizations; business management or office
administration courses; group supervision; or case
conferences.  

11.0  Professional Conduct
Psychologists and psychological assistants may be

disciplined for violations of provisions of 24 Del.C. §3514.

12.0  Complaint Procedures
12.1  Complaints against psychologists and

psychological assistants will be investigated as provided by
29 Del.C. §8807 and all hearings shall be conducted in
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 29
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Del.C. Chapter 101.
12.2  Complaints must be filed, in writing, with the

Division of Professional Regulation.

13.0  License Renewal
13.1  Renewal notices will be mailed to the current

address on file in the Board’s records  in a timely fashion to
all psychologists and psychological assistants who are
currently licensed or registered.  It shall be the responsibility
of each psychologist and psychological assistant to advise
the Board, in writing, of a change of name or address.

13.2  Continuing education requirements must be
fulfilled as detailed in Section 10.0 of the Rules and
Regulations and submitted along with the established fee for
renewal to be approved.  The Board may, in its discretion,
grant a license renewal under the terms of a continuing
education hardship extension pursuant to rule 10.3    Should
any psychologist fail to renew or obtain a hardship
extension and continue to make representation as a licensed
psychologist beyond July 31st, that individual is practicing
without a license.  Should any psychological assistant fail to
renew or obtain a hardship extension and continue to make
representation as a registered psychological assistant beyond
July 31st, that individual is considered no longer to be
registered, and his/her supervising psychologist is in
violation of the law.

See 4 DE Reg. 984 (12/1/00)

14.0  Procedures for Licensure Applicable to Full Time
Faculty Members in a Nationally Accredited Doctoral
Level Clinical Training Program in the State of Delaware

14.1  University faculty employed full time in a
nationally accredited doctoral level clinical training program
in the State of Delaware, as specified in 24 Del.C. §3519(e),
who are not licensed, are subject to the following rules and
regulations:

14.1.1  Notification.  Such individuals must notify
the Board of Examiners of Psychologists no later than 30
days after the commencement of employment, indicating
employer, position and date employment began.  At that time
they will receive a copy of the statute and Rules and
Regulations which detail the exemption under which they
operate.

14.1.2  Professional Activities.  These individuals
may participate in activities defined by statute as the practice
of psychology (including the supervision of matriculated
graduate students) only within the context of a clinical
training program.  They may conduct any research and
teaching activities related to the activities of such a program.

14.1.3  Education.  Such individuals must have
completed the doctoral degree at the time employment
commences consistent with 24 Del.C. §3508(a).

14.1.4  Active Pursuit of Licensure.  Such
individuals are required to be in active pursuit of licensure

for a period not to exceed six (6) years.  The six year time
frame for the completion of licensure requirements
commences with the initial date of employment.  The six-
year time frame for individuals employed as of June 12,
1995 commenced on that date.

14.1.5  Supervision.  The supervised experience
required for licensure of such individuals is described in
Section 7.0 of the Rules and Regulations.  

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

15.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

15.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.

15.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

15.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

15.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

15.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
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designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

15.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

15.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

15.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

15.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

15.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.  

15.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/

her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

15.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

15.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.  

15.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

15.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

15.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

15.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

15.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

APPENDIX A

“Professional psychology” refers to psychology as a
profession. The term is not intended in the more restrictive
sense of applied or practice areas of psychology since the
intent is for a generic designation system.

“Professional psychology” refers to psychology as a
profession. The term is not intended in the more restrictive
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sense of applied or practice areas of psychology since the
intent is for a generic designation system.

6.1.1.2.1 refers to an institution with regional
accreditation in the United States, an institution with
provincial authorization in Canada, or in other countries, or
an institution that is accredited by a body which was deemed
by the ASPPB/National Register Joint Designation
Committee to be performing a function equivalent to U.S.
regional accrediting bodies.

In reference to “instruction in scientific and professional
ethics and standards” rule 6.1.1.2.9, it is understood that a
course of three or more graduate semester hours (five or
more graduate quarter hours) or its equivalent is highly
desirable; substantial instruction in these issues is required.

It is understood that rule 6.1.1.2.9 includes the
requirement of a minimum of one year’s residency at the
educational institution granting the doctoral degree.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF SPEECH/LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS, 
AUDIOLOGISTS & HEARING AID DISPENSERS

24 DE Admin. Code 3700
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,

Section 3706(a)(1) (24 Del.C. 3706(a)(1))

ORDER

A Public Hearing was held to receive comments on
April 11, 2001 at the regularly scheduled meeting of the
Board Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists, and
Hearing Aid Dispensers. During the meeting the Board
considered changes to its rules and regulations that were
published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 4, Issue 9,
March 1, 2001.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND 
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

There were no verbal comments.  The written comments
are summarized as follows:

Rita Mariani, Chairperson of the State Council for
Persons with Disabilities (SCPD), submitted a letter dated
March 29, 2001.  SCPD believes the presence of the
supervising professional during speech therapy in the
schools is a good idea to maintain the quality of the services
provided to students.  It supports allowing exceptions for
continuing education in extenuating circumstances,
including disability, and endorses the anti-discrimination
provision.

SCPD does have concerns about the standard language
in the Rule 10.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for
Chemically Dependent or Impaired Professionals. The

term “report” is not well-defined. The following language
was suggested for §10.1 - “If a credible written report of
illegal drug or alcohol abuse materially affecting
performance of professional duties is received, the
chairperson shall immediately notify the Director of
Professional Regulation or designee of the report.”
Alternatively, the word “may” could be substituted for
“shall” to give the Board some discretion if a report was not
credible.  SCPD believes  Rule 10.4 uses overbroad language
and cites examples. SCPD commented that drug dependency
is not inherently wrong.  A person with diabetes is dependent
on insulin, for example.  Finally, SCPD suggests the rules
may be inconsistent with federal regulations (42 C.F.R.
§§2.23, 2.31 and 2.32) to the extent that treatment records
may be used in disciplinary proceedings.

2.  Patricia L. Maichle, Chairperson of the Governor’s
Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC),
submitted a letter dated April 6, 2001.  The observations and
recommendations of GACEC are similar to those presented
by SCPD.  

FINDINGS OF FACT WITH RESPECT TO THE 
EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION

1. The comprehensive rule changes are necessary to
ensure that each rule implements or clarifies a specific
section of the statute that became effective February 4, 2000.

2. Rule 10.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for
Chemically Dependent or Impaired Professional was not
noticed for changes in this revision.  The commentators
correctly observed that it is a standardized rule for many of
the Title 24 Boards.

3. The following clerical changes should be made for
clarification:

Rule 1.1.1 -  The words  “after completion” and the
first two commas are omitted.

Rule 1.1.3  - The word “inquires” should read
“inquiries.”

Rule 2.6.3 -  The term “this section” in the next to
last sentence is replaced with “24 Del. C. § 3710.”

Rule 3.4.2 - The term “this section” in the next to
last sentence is replaced with “24 Del. C. § 3710.”

Rule 5.2.1 -  The word “of” in the first sentence is
replaced with the word “by.”

The Board finds that these changes are not substantive.

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

The Board of Speech/Language Pathologists,
Audiologists, and Hearing Aid Dispensers hereby adopts the
changes to the Rules and Regulations as provided herein  to
be effective 10 days following final publication in the
Register of Regulations. 
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TEXT AND CITATION 

The text of the Rules and Regulations is as it appears  in
the Register of Regulations, Vol. 4, Issue 8, March 1, 2001,
amended by the clerical changes.

BOARD OF SPEECH/LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS, 
AUDIOLOGISTS, AND HEARING AID DISPENSERS

Andrea Lipchak President
Kenneth Jones, Secretary
Gary Marencin
Frank Divita
Marilyn Karam
Carmetah Murray
Eric Smith

Date: April 11, 2001

Board of Examiners of Speech/Lagnuage Pathologists, 
Audiologist & Hearing Aid Dispensers

Statutory Authority: 24 Del. C. 3714(3) 3706(a)(1)

1.0 Division of Professional Regulation   
1.0 2.0 Licensure Requirements for Speech/Language

Pathologists and Audiologists
2.0 3.0 Licensure Requirements for Hearing Aid

Dispensers
4.0 Expired Licenses and Inactive Status
3.0 5.0 Requirements for Audiology Aids
4.0 6.0 Requirements for Speech Pathology Aids
7.0 Electronic Equipment
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1.0    Division of Professional Regulation
1.1  Responsibilities

1.1.1 All applications and other forms may be
obtained from and must be returned [after completion,] to
the Division of Professional Regulation, ATTN: SLP-AUD-
HAD, at 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Ste. 203, Dover, DE  19904-
2467 by mail or in person during regular business hours.

1.1.2  Fees required under the statute are to be made
payable to the State of Delaware and remitted to the Division
of Professional Regulation.  No license shall be issued until
all required fees are paid.

1.1.3 The Administrative Assistant assigned by the
Division of Professional Regulation performs support
functions for the Board and serves as the contact person for
the Board to receive inquiries.

1.0 2.0 Licensure Requirements for Speech-Language
Pathologists and Audiologists  

1.1 2.1 Education
1.1.1 2.1.1  To be eligible for a license as a  Speech/

Language Pathologist or Audiologist, the applicant  must
submit verification by an official transcript of completion of
at least a master's degree or its equivalent from an
educational institution recognized by the Board, from an
accredited college or university with major emphasis in
speech-language pathology, audiology, communication
disorders or speech-language and hearing science.

1.2 2.2 Clinical Practicum  
1.2.1 2.2.1 The Speech/Language Pathology and

Audiology applicant must have completed a minimum of
375 clock hours of supervised clinical practicum with major
emphasis in the professional area for which the license is
being sought.

1.2.2 2.2.2 A minimum of 250 clock hours in the
area of specialty of the supervised clinical practicum must
have been obtained at the graduate level.

1.3 2.3 Clinical Fellowship Year (CFY)  
1.3.1 2.3.1 The Speech/Language Pathology or

Audiology applicant must have the equivalent of nine (9)
months of full-time or eighteen (18) months of part time
(defined as 15-20 hours per week) supervised * CFY in the
major professional area in which the license is being sought.
The CFY must start after completion of the academic and
clinical practicum requirements.

* Supervision is defined as direct observation
consisting of 36 supervisory activities, including 18 one hour
on-site observations and 18 other monitoring activities.
(From Appendix E of Clinical Fellowship Year adopted
ASHA 1985)

1.3.2  A temporary license valid for only 1 year
from the date of issuance and non-renewable must be
obtained for fulfillment of the supervised CFY in Delaware.
An applicant for a temporary license must demonstrate that
he is or will be supervised by a person who holds a license in
the appropriate discipline. (See Section 6)

1.4 2.4  National Examination
1.4.1 2.4.1 The Speech/Language Pathology and

Audiology applicant must have completed and  passed the
appropriate national examination approved by the Division
of Professional Regulation for the area of specialty and
license with at least the minimum nationally recommended
score.  Scores must be sent directly from the testing service
to the Division of Professional Regulation.

1.4.2 2.4.2  A Speech/Language Pathology or
Audiology applicant with a temporary license is permitted to
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complete the appropriate national examination during the
period of the temporary license. The requirements in Section
4.1 must be completed prior to expiration of the temporary
license which is non-renewable.

2.4.3  Anyone who fails two examinations may not
be reexamined for a period of one year following the second
failure.  Prior to reexamination after a second failure, an
applicant must submit proof of additional course work and/
or clinical experience.

1.5  Reciprocity
1.5.1  A license will be granted to an applicant who

provides proof of a current license from those states with
equivalent standards for licensure. The applicant must
provide verification statement(s) or letter(s) of good standing
(active or inactive) from each state in which a license has
been issued.

1.5.2  A license will be granted to an applicant who
holds the current Certificate of Clinical Competence from
the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

1.6 2.5  Application Process-Temporary Licensure   
1.6.1 2.5.1 An applicant must complete an a

notarized application for temporary licensure.  Items which
must be provided to the Board office Division of
Professional Regulation include:

1.6.1.1 2.5.1.1  Official Transcript(s);
1.6.1.2 2.5.1.2 Documents verifying the

appropriate number and level of supervised clinical
practicum hours;

1.6.1.3 2.5.1.3  CFY plan on a form approved
by the Board  or letter of intent, signed by the licensed
professional who will provide the supervision;

1.6.1.4 2.5.1.4  payment of appropriate fees.
1.6.2 2.5.2 A temporary license is valid for one year

from the date of issuance and is not renewable may be
renewed  for one year  in extenuating circumstances upon
application to the Board.  Requests for Board consideration
of a renewal shall be made in writing and sent to the Division
of Professional Regulation 60 days prior to expiration.

1.7 2.6 Application Process -Permanent Licensure   
1.7.1 2.6.1 All Speech/Language Pathology and

Audiology applicants must complete the application on a
form approved by the Board and submit the appropriate fee.  

1.7.2 2.6.2 An applicant who has ASHA
Certification must comply with Section 1.7.1 2.6.1 and
submit a copy of current ASHA certification.  to facilitate
the issuance of a license(See Section 5)

1.7.3 2.6.3 An applicant who is currently licensed
in another state , the District of Columbia, or territory of the
United States whose standards for licensure are substantially
similar to those of this state which has equivalent standards
for licensure, must comply with Section 1.7.1 2.6.1 and
submit verification of licensure in good standing from all
jurisdictions where he or she is or has been licensed. proof of
the current license (copy of  license). Verification of the

license and a statement of good standing with active or
inactive status should be sent to the Board office.  Applicants
for reciprocal licensure from states not substantially similar
to this state shall provide proof of practice for a minimum of
five years after licensure in addition to meeting the other
qualifications in this [section. 24 Del.C. 3710] Verification
of practice should be by notarized letter from the
employer(s).

1.7.4 2.6.4 An applicant who has completed the
supervised  CFY in Delaware and has a current temporary
license, must submit the following documentation to the
Board office Division of Professional Regulation 30 days
prior to expiration of the temporary license:

1.7.4.1 2.6.4.1 proof of completion of the CFY,
1.7.4.2   completion of the appropriate national

examination (if taken during CFY period) with scores sent
directly to the Board office, and

1.7.4.3   any required items not received with
the earlier application for the temporary license.

2.6.4.2 national examination score unless
previously provided,

   2.6.4.3   licensure fee.
1.7.5  An applicant not included in 7.2, 7.3 and 7.4

above, must provide items to the Board office as required in
the application including:

1.7.5.1   official transcript(s),
1.7.5.2 documents verifying the appropriate

number and level of supervised clinical practicum 
1.7.5.3 National examination scores (sent

directly to the Board office),
1.7.5.4 verification of completion of the

required supervised CFY signed by a licensed professional
and notarized, and

1.7.5.3 verification of all current and expired
licenses held in any state with a statement of good standing
(active or inactive status).

2.0 3.0 Licensure Requirements for Hearing Aid
Dispensers

2.1 3.1  Education     
2.1.1 3.1.1 To be eligible for a license as a Hearing

Aid Dispenser, the applicant must submit verification of
high school diploma or its equivalent.

2.2  Clinical Practicum
2.2.1  The Hearing Aid Dispensing applicant is not

required to complete a practicum.
2.3 -  Supervised Professional Employment

2.3.1  A Hearing Aid Dispensing applicant applying
for a temporary license must be supervised *by a Hearing
Aid Dispenser licensed in Delaware.

* Supervision is defined as a minimum of 25%
direct on-site observations during the temporary licensure
period.

2.4 3.2 National Examination
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2.4.1 3.2.1 Hearing Aid Dispensing applicants must
have completed and passed the appropriate national
examination for the license approved by the Division of
Professional Regulation, in accordance with scores as
recommended by the national testing service, National
Institute for Hearing Instruments Studies (NIHIS), or its
successor.  or one selected by the Board to be equivalent.

3.2.2 Anyone who fails two examinations may not
be reexamined for a period of one year following the second
failure.  Prior to reexamination after a second failure, an
applicant must submit proof of course work and/or
supervised experience.

2.5 3.3 Application Process - Temporary Licensure  
2.5.1 3.3.1 An applicant must complete the

application for temporary licensure.  Items which must be
provided to the Division of Professional Regulation Board
office include:

2.5.1.1 3.3.1.1 verification of a high school
diploma or its equivalent,

2.5.1.2 3.3.1.2  payment of appropriate fees,
and

2.5.1.3 three letters of recommendation, and 
2.5.1.4 3.3.1.3  notarized signature of a

Delaware licensed sponsor stating a willingness to provide
direct supervision and training.  Direct supervision is defined
as a minimum of 25% direct on-site observations during the
temporary licensure period.

2.5.2 3.3.2 A temporary license is valid for one year
from date of issuance and is not renewable.  A temporary
license cannot be renewed for any reason. and may be
renewed for one year in extenuating circumstances upon
application to the Board.  Requests for Board consideration
of a renewal shall be made in writing and sent to the Division
of Professional Regulation 60 days prior to expiration.

2.5.3  Examination(s) for licensure  as a Hearing
Aid Dispenser are made available by the Board at least twice
yearly.  Successful completion of the national examination
(See 4.1 above) is required to become permanently licensed
and must be completed before the expiration of the
temporary license.

2.6 3.4 Application Process-Permanent Licensure
2.6.1 3.4.1 All Hearing Aid Dispensing applicants

must complete an application on a form approved by the
Board  and submit it with three letters of recommendation
and the appropriate fee to the Division of Professional
Regulation. the Board office.

2.6.2  Any Hearing Aid Dispensing applicant who
has been licensed in any state must provide verification of all
current and expired licenses held in any state with a
statement of good standing (active or inactive status).

2.6.3 3.4.2 A Hearing Aid Dispensing applicant
who is currently licensed in another state which has
equivalent standards for licensure , the District of Columbia,
or territory of the United States, whose standards for

licensure are substantially similar to those of this state, must
comply with 6.1 3.4.1 and submit verification of licensure in
good standing from all jurisdictions where he or she is or has
been licensed.  proof of the current license (copy of license).
Verification of the license and a statement of good standing
with active or inactive status should be sent to the Board
office.  Applicants for reciprocal licensure from states not
substantially similar to this state shall provide proof of
practice for a minimum of five years after licensure in
addition to meeting the other qualifications in this [section.
24 Del.C. 3710]  Verification of practice should be by
notarized letter from the employer(s).

2.6.4 3.4.3  It is the responsibility of the Hearing
Aid Dispensing applicant to contact the Board office 30 days
prior to expiration of the temporary license to insure that all
requirements for permanent licensure have been completed.
This may include:  Licensees holding temporary Hearing
Aid Dispensing licenses must submit a passing score on the
national examination described in3.2.1  and the required fee
to the Division of Professional Regulation to obtain a
permanent license.

2.6.4.1 completion of appropriate National
exam

 2.6.4.2 any required item not received
2.6.5  Any Hearing Aid Dispensing applicant not

included in 2.6.3 or 2.6.4 must follow the directions in
Section 5 above, completing an application for temporary
licensure and submitting it with

2.6.5.1   verification of high school diploma or
its equivalent,

2.6.5.2   national exam score,
2.6.5.3    three letters of recommendation, 
2.6.5.4   payment of the appropriate fees, and 
2.6.5.5 notarized signature of a Delaware

licensed sponsor who is willing to provide supervised
professional employment with training and direct
supervision (minimum of 25 % on site).

4.0 Expired Licenses and Inactive Status
4.1 Expired Licenses

4.1.1  A holder of an expired license may renew the
license within one year of the date the renewal was due by
fulfilling all of the renewal requirements and paying the late
fee established by the Division of Professional Regulation.

4.2 Inactive Status
4.2.1  A licensee may apply to the Board for

inactive status for up to five years. The license may be
reactivated upon application on a form approved by the
Board and proof of 20 CE’s completed within the preceding
24 months (30 CE’s for a triple license) as required by
Section 8.2.3, and paying the fee established by the Division
of Professional  Regulation.
3.0 5.0 Requirements for Audiology Aides

3.1  Education and Supervised Employment
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3.1.1 An Audiology Aide must have a minimum of
a high school diploma or its equivalent.  An Audiology Aide
assists a licensed audiologist in professional endeavors with
the audiologist's direct supervision.

3.2 5.1   Certification
3.2.1 5.1.1 Certification of the Audiology Aide

must be by the Council of Accreditation of Occupational
Hearing Conservationists, or its equivalent, with
documentation. The Audiology Aide must be registered with
the Board annually by the supervising, Delaware licensed
audiologist.   The supervising Delaware-licensed audiologist
must annually register each Audiology Aide using a form
approved by the Board.

5.2  Direct Supervision
5.2.1 An Audiology Aide assists a licensed

audiologist in professional activities with direct supervision
[of by] the audiologist.  Direct supervision requires the
presence of the supervising audiologist on the premises
when the aide is performing professional activities.

3.3 5.3 Duties of the Audiology Aide 
3.3.1 5.3.1 Duties of the Audiology Aide must be

specified by the supervising audiologist and may include the
following:

3.3.1.1 5.3.1.1 Accurate Air conduction pure
tone assessment and data recording.

3.3.1.2 5.3.1.2 Hearing screenings.
3.3.1.3 5.3.1.3 Assisting with conditioning

techniques.
3.3.1.4 5.3.1.4 Cursory otoscopy.
3.3.1.5 5.3.1.5 Basic hearing aid maintenance.
3.3.1.6 5.3.1.6 Routine instrument sterilization.
3.3.1.7 5.3.1.7 Biological and electroacoustic

assessment of the audiometer check.
3.3.1.8 Assist with electroacoustic assessment

of the audiometer.
3.3.1.9 5.3.1.8 Clerical support.
3.3.1.10 5.3.1.9 Participation with the

professional in research projects, in service training,  or
similar endeavors.

3.3.1.115.3.1.10 Other duties as may be
appropriately determined with training from and direct
supervision  of the Delaware licensed audiologist.

4.0 6.0 Requirements for Speech/Language Pathology
Aides

4.1 6.1 Education and Supervised Employment:
4.1.1 6.1.1 A Speech Pathology Aide must have a

minimum of a high school diploma or its equivalent. A
Speech Pathology Aide assists a licensed speech/language
pathologist in professional activities with direct supervision
by the speech/language pathologist.

4.1.2   The definition of direct supervision for
Speech/Language Pathology Aides shall be: "in any situation
where an aide is assisting with testing, and/or treatment,

direct supervision shall constitute presence of the speech
pathologist with the aide and the client at all times."

6.2  Direct Supervision
6.2.1 A Speech Pathology Aide assists a licensed

Speech/Language Pathologist  in professional activities with
direct supervision of the Speech Pathologist.  Direct
supervision requires the presence of the supervising Speech/
Language Pathologist at all times where an aide is assisting
with testing, and/or treatment.

6.3  Duties of the Speech/Language Pathology  Aide 
6.3.1 Duties of the Speech Pathology Aide must be

specified by the supervising Speech/Language Pathologist
and may include the following:

6.3.1.1 Assisting with testing or treatment.
6.3.1.2 Clerical support.
6.3.1.3 Client escort.
6.3.1.4 Preparation of therapeutic materials
6.3.1.5 Equipment maintenance. 
6.3.1.6 Participation with the professional in

research projects, in service training, or similar endeavors.
6.3.1.7 Other duties as may be appropriately

determined with training from and direct supervision of the
Delaware licensed Speech/Language Pathologist.

7.0 Electronic equipment
7.1 Standards

7.1.1 Calibration of electronic equipment used to
assess  hearing shall be performed by a certified professional
consistent with the standards set by the American National
Standards Institute (ANSI).

7.1.2  Every licensed Audiologist and Hearing Aid
Dispenser shall annually submit proof of calibration to the
Board.  Any Audiologist who does not have such equipment
may file an affidavit so stating on a form approved by the
Board.

5.0 8.0 Continuing Education For All Licensees:
Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists and

Hearing Aid Dispensers
5.1 8.1 Philosophy   

5.1.1 8.1.1 Continuing education is required by the
Delaware Board of Examiners to maintain professional
licensure in the fields of Speech/Language Pathology,
Audiology and Hearing Aid Dispensing. Continuing
education requirements arise from an awareness that these
fields are in a continual state of transition due to the
introduction of new philosophies and the refinement of
already existing knowledge.  Speech/Language Pathologists,
Audiologists and Hearing Aid Dispensers should continually
strive to update their clinical skills in an effort to deliver high
quality services.

5.1.2 8.1.2 The Delaware Board of Examiners is
keenly aware of existing educational opportunities in
Delaware and neighboring states and has established
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regulations which will provide continuing education credit
as effortlessly as possible while assuring quality instruction.
Credit will be given for participation in a variety of activities
which increase knowledge and enhance professional growth.

5.1.3 8.1.3 These regulations recognize the
financial and time limitations of Delaware's professionals
while assuring continued appropriate services to those
individuals who require them.

5.2 8.2 Continuing Education Hours and Definitions
5.2.1 8.2.1 One contact hour is abbreviated as CE

and is defined as 60 minutes of attendance/participation in an
approved continuing education activity unless otherwise
stated.(Therefore, credits and CEU's issued by various
organizations must be translated. e.g., 1.0 ASHA CEU = 10
CE's)

5.2.2 8.2.2 Continuing Education Time Frame: CE
requirements must be completed by April 30th of each
license renewal period. Each licensee has up to 24 months in
which to complete the minimum continuing education
requirements, that is from May 1 (of the current renewal
year)  to April 30 of the next renewal year. Licenses are
renewed in the odd numbered years. expire on July 31 of the
odd-numbered years.

5.2.3 8.2.3  The required number of continuing
education contact hours vary with certification and/or
professional status as outlined below:

5. 2.3.1 8.2.3.1  New License: If a license
would cover less than one year, the licensee is  not  required,
but is encouraged, to accrue continuing education hours.  If a
license would cover more than one year, but less than 2
years, the licensee is required to obtain 10 CE's or one-half
of the required total hours.

5.2.3.2 8.2.3.2 Single License: Individuals
retaining a license in one area of specialty must obtain a
minimum total of 20 CE's for each two-year license period.

5.2.3.3 8.2.3.3 Dual License: Individuals
retaining  licenses in two areas of specialty must obtain a
minimum total of 20 CE's for each two year license period,
with 10 CE's obtained in each area of licensure. One course
may be split between areas of licensure  to fulfill   multiple
continuing education requirements. Content must be shown
to be relevant to those areas.

5.2.3.4 8.2.3.4 Triple License: Individuals
retaining  licenses in three areas of specialty must obtain a
minimum of 30 CE's for each two-year license period, with
10 CE's obtained in each area of licensure. One course may
be split between areas of licensing to fulfill multiple
continuing education requirements. Content must be shown
to be relevant to those areas.

5.2.3.5 8.2.3.5 Temporary License: All
continuing education requirements will be waived for
temporary licensees; however, individuals are encouraged to
participate in continuing education activities during the
maximum one year period. their CFY period.

 5.2.3.6 8.2.3.6 Extenuating Circumstances:
The Board may consider awaiver of CE requirements or
acceptance of partial fulfillment based on the Board's review
a written request with supporting documentation.
Extenuating circumstances may include, but are not limited
to, disability, illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction,
and exceptional family responsibilities.

5.3 8.3 Suggested Activities for Obtaining CE's
5.3.1 8.3.1 Continuing education courses shall

focus on professional growth and the enhancement of
clinical skills and be recorded on the appropriate Board
form(s).  Verification is required and allows the licensee to
show the relevance of continuing education to professional
practice.

5.3.2 8.3.2 All continuing education activities
approved and sponsored by the American Speech, Language
and Hearing Association or other accredited related
professional associations, including study of professional
journals which grant ASHA CEU's. Verification is
required--photocopy acceptable.

5.3.3 8.3.3 All scientific and clinical sessions and
short courses of the American Speech, Language and
Hearing Association National Conventions or other
accredited related professional associations. Verification
required--photocopy of short course completion acceptable.
Agenda of sessions attended and time spent is required for
convention activities.

5.3.4 8.3.4 All Delaware Speech, Language and
Hearing Association (DSHA) sponsored activities,
including professional meetings. Verification of completion
required.

5.3.5 8.3.5 Delaware Department of Education
course offerings in areas related to the professions. (1/5
Delaware Department of Education (DDE) credit = 3 hours=
3 CE's) Verification required.

5.3.6 8.3.6 Professional study group and journal
group meetings recognized and monitored by the Delaware
Speech, Language and Hearing Association.  Verification
required including summary/agenda and time spent.

5.3.7 8.3.7 Professional course work for academic
credit in Speech/Language Pathology, Audiology or Hearing
Aid Dispensing. Verification of credits earned required.
Undergraduate and graduate level courses should be
submitted, using appropriate forms, for prior approval 45
days before the activity with course description, brochure,
and class schedule/ hours so that the licensee will know in
advance the number of CE's to be approved by the Board.
Verification of credits earned upon course completion along
with a course description should be submitted to the Board
for approval.  The course description may be submitted for
prior approval of the course.  (1 undergraduate credit =
minimum of 3 CE’s ; 1 graduate credit = minimum of 5
CE’s)

5.3.8 8.3.8 Professional presentations by licensee
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on professional required  topics. Verification, including
summary, time spent and verification from sponsor.  Credit
is given for each presentation only once during a licensure
period. (1 hour of presentation = 3  CE's)

5.3.9 8.3.9  Professional publication by licensee
within ASHA or related specialty journals.  Verification
required. Reprint of publication.

5.3.10 8.3.10 Other continuing education with
documentation of content and  hours attended.  A licensee
who wishes to be sure that an activity will be approved by
the Board may contact the Board office for information and
assistance.  request advance approval from the Board (See
Rule 4.1.3)

5.4 8.4 Continuing Education Checklist of
Responsibilities

5.4.1 8.4.1 All licensees shall:
5.4.1.1 8.4.1.1 obtain a Continuing Education

Record form
5.4.1.2 8.4.1.2 document completed

continuing education activities on Continuing Education
Record

5.4.1.3 8.4.1.3 obtain Advance a Board
Approval form and submit 45 days before the Board meeting
preceding the start of  a proposed activity for which prior
approval is required by the Board or preferred by    the
licensee if a licensee seeks advance approval and
determination of CE’s.

5.4.1.4 8.4.1.4 submit Non-Prior Approved
forms within 30 days of completion of activities, as
recommended by the Board, to facilitate accumulation of
CE's by licensees.  obtain a Board Approval form and submit
after completion of the CE activity for approval and
determination of CE’s.

5.4.1.5 8.4.1.5  mail  Continuing Education
Record to the Board office the Division of  Professional
Regulation  by April 30 May 1  of the renewal year.

5.4.1.6 8.4.1.6 retain photocopy of Continuing
Education Record for personal records.

5.4.2  All continuing education sponsors shall:
5.4.2.1 complete a Sponsor Request for

Activity Approval Form  and submit it 45 days before the
start of the proposed activity.

5.4.2.2 upon approval, be able to advertise the
activities as Delaware Licensure Board Approved for
continuing education with the   specific number of CE's
noted.

5.4.2.3 at the conclusion of the activity, verify
each attendee's participation by signing attendee's
Continuing Education Record and/or providing and signing
an individual certificate of attendance showing date and title
of activity, number of CE's and name of attendee.

5.4.2.4 submit attendance roster with copy of
Board Approval form to the Board.

5.5  Board Continuing Education Coordination

Any Board member may be designated to process
continuing education requests between scheduled meetings
and may 

5.5.1  review, approve or disapprove Sponsor
Requests.

5.5.2  review, approve or disapprove Non-Prior and
Prior Approval Requests from licensees.

5.6  Licensure Board Administrative Assistant
5.6.1  Receives and prepares for Board meeting and

forwards to designated Board member(s), all Sponsor
Requests, Prior and Non-Prior Approval forms.

5.6.2  Receives decision regarding request and
notifies person filing request.

5.6.3  Maintains file of course activities approved
for CE's during the current 24 months licensure period.

5.6.4  Receives Continuing Education Records
from licensees.  Checks for completeness and approved
documentation when appropriate.  Audits each licensee's
CE's annually and notifies Board of those in jeopardy  of not
completing requirements.

5.6.5 Maintains files holding original applications
and relevant documentation for the Board.

5.6.6  Receives Non-Prior Approved Activity forms
and forwards to Board member(s) for approval/disapproval.

6.0 Code of ethics for Speech-Language Pathologists and
Audiologists

6.1 - Preamble
6.1.1  The Preservation of the highest standards of

integrity and ethical principles is vital to the responsible
discharge of obligations in the professions of
speech-language pathology and audiology,  This Code of
Ethics sets forth the fundamental principles and rules
considered essential to this purpose.

6.1.2  Any action that violates the spirit and purpose
of this Code shall be considered unethical. Failure to specify
any particular responsibility or practice in this Code of
Ethics shall not be construed as denial of the existence of
such responsibilities or practices.

6.1.3 The fundamentals of ethical conduct are
described by Principles of Ethics and by Rules of Ethics as
they relate to responsibility to persons served, to the public,
and to the professions of speech-language pathology and
audiology.

6.1.4 Principles of Ethics, aspirational and
inspirational in nature, form the underlying moral basis for
the Code of Ethics. Individuals shall observe these principles
as professional activity.

6.1.5 Rules of Ethics are specific statements of
minimally acceptable professional conduct or of prohibitions
and are applicable to all individuals.

6.2  Principle of Ethics I
6.2.1 Individuals shall honor their responsibility to

hold paramount the welfare of persons they serve
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professionally.
6.2.2  Rules of Ethics

6.2.2.1 Individuals shall provide all services
competently.

6.2.2.2 Individuals shall use every resource,
including referral when appropriate, to ensure  that
high-quality service is provided.

6.2.2.3 Individuals shall not discriminate in the
delivery of professional services on the basis or race, sex,
age religion, national origin, sexual orientation, or
handicapping condition.

6.2.2.4 Individuals shall fully inform the
persons they serve of the nature and possible effects  of
services rendered and products dispensed.

6.2.2.5 Individuals shall evaluate the
effectiveness of services rendered and of products dispensed
and shall provide services or dispense products only when
benefit can reasonably be expected.

6.2.2.6 Individuals shall not guarantee the
results of any treatment or procedure, directly or by
implication; however, they may make a reasonable statement
of prognosis.

6.2.2.7 Individuals shall not evaluate or treat
speech, language, or hearing disorders solely by
correspondence.

6.2.2.8 Individuals shall maintain adequate
records of professional services rendered and products
dispensed and shall allow access to these records when
appropriately authorized.

6.2.2.9 Individuals shall not reveal, without
authorization, any professional or personal information
about the person served professionally, unless required by
law  to do so, or unless doing so is necessary to protect the
welfare of the person or of the community.

6.2.2.10 Individuals shall not charge for
services not rendered, nor shall the  misrepresent in any
fashion, services rendered or products dispensed.

6.2.2.11 Individuals shall use persons in
research or as subjects of teaching demonstrations only with
their informed consent.

6.2.2.12 Individuals shall withdraw from
professional practice when substance abuse or any emotional
or mental disability may adversely affect the quality of
services they render.

For purposes of this Code of Ethics,
misrepresentation includes any untrue statements or
statements that are likely to mislead.  It also includes the
failure to state any information that is material and that
ought, in fairness, to be considered.

6.3 - Principle of Ethics II
6.3.1 Individuals shall honor their responsibility to

achieve and maintain the highest level of  professional
competence.

6.3.2  Rules of Ethics

6.3.2.1. Individuals shall engage in the
provision of clinical services only when they hold the
appropriate Certificate of Clinical Competence or when they
are in the certification process and are supervised by an
individual who holds the appropriate Certificate of Clinical
Competence.

6.3.2.2. Individuals shall engage in only those
aspects of the professions that are within the scope of their
competence, considering their level of education, training,
and experience.

6.3.2.3. Individuals shall continue their
professional development throughout their careers.

6.3.2.4. Individuals shall delegate the provision
of clinical services only to persons who are certified or to
persons in the education or certification process who are
appropriately supervised. The provision of support services
may be delegated to persons who are neither certified nor in
the certification process only when a certificate holder
provides appropriate supervision.

6.3.2.5. Individuals shall prohibit any of their
professional staff from providing services that  exceed the
staff member's competence, considering the staff member's
level of education, training, and experience.

6.3.2.6. Individuals shall ensure that all
equipment used in the provision of services is in proper
working order and is properly calibrated.

6.4   Principle of Ethics III
6.4.1 Individuals shall honor their responsibility to

the public by promoting public understanding of the
professions, by supporting the development of services
designed to fulfill the unmet needs of the public, and by
providing accurate information in all communications
involving any aspect of the professions.

6.4.2  Rules of Ethics
6.4.2.1. Individuals shall not misrepresent their

credentials, competence, education, training, or experience.
6.4.2.2. Individuals shall not participate in

professional activities that constitute a  conflict of interest.
6.4.2.3. Individuals shall not misrepresent

diagnostic information, services rendered, or  products
dispensed or engage in any scheme or artifice to defraud in
connection with obtaining payment or reimbursement for
such services or products.

6.4.2.4. Individuals' statements to the public
shall provide accurate information about the nature and
management of communication disorders, about the
professions, and about professional services.

6.4.2.5. Individuals' statements to the
public(advertising, announcing, and marketing professional
services, reporting research results, and promoting
products)shall adhere to prevailing professional standards
and shall not contain misrepresentations.

6.5  Principle of Ethics IV
6.5.1 Individuals shall honor their responsibilities
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to the professions and their relationships with colleagues,
students and members of allied profession.  Individuals shall
uphold the dignity and autonomy of the professions,
maintain harmonious interprofessional and intraprofessional
relationships, and accept the professions' self-imposed
standards.

6.5.2  Rules of Ethics
6.5.2.1. Individuals shall prohibit anyone under

their supervision from engaging in any practice that violates
the Code of Ethics.

6.5.2.2. Individuals shall not engage in
dishonesty, fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or  any form of
conduct that adversely reflects on the professions or on the
individual's  fitness to serve persons professionally.

6.5.2.3. Individuals shall assign credit only to
those who have contributed to publication, presentation, or
product.  Credit shall be assigned in proportion to the
contribution and only with the contributor's consent.

6.5.2.4. Individuals' statements to colleagues
about professional services, research results, and products
shall adhere to prevailing professional standards and shall
contain no misrepresentations.

6.5.2.5. Iividuals shall not provide professional
services without exercising independent professional
judgment, regardless of referral source or prescription.

6.5.2.6. Individuals who have reason to believe
that the Code of Ethics has been violated shall inform the
Ethical Practice Board.

6.5.2.7. Individuals shall cooperate fully with
the Ethical Practice Board in its investigation and
adjudication of matters related to this Code of Ethics.

6.5.2.8. Individuals shall not discriminate in
their relationships with colleagues,  students and members of
allied professions on the basis of race, sex, age, religion,
national origin, sexual orientation, or handicapping
condition.

7.0Code of Ethics for Hearing Aid Dispensers
7.1 Code of Ethics

7.1.1  This is a Code of Ethics for those engaged in
the testing of human hearing, and in the selection,
counseling, fitting, dispensing and servicing of hearing
instruments.  This Code sets standards of professional
integrity and practice, including relationships with patients/
clients, colleagues and the general public.

7.1.2 Ethical principles are standards by which the
profession and individual Hearing Aid Dispensers determine
the propriety of their conduct.  Adherence to these standards
serve to assure public confidence in the integrity of the
services of Hearing Aid Dispensers in this profession. It is
incumbent on all Hearing Aid  Dispensers to abide by all
laws, or rules and regulations applicable to the dispensing of
hearing aids in Delaware.

7.1.3  Rules of Ethics

7.1.3.1 Individuals shall state only the true
facts in public announcements and advertising of hearing
aids and related products, and shall not, in any way, mislead
or misrepresent  in regard to their performance, appearance,
benefits, elements, and use.

7.1.3.2 Individuals shall provide thorough and
ethical consulting services when dispensing instruments,
including the appropriate testing and fitting suitable for the
patient/client's particular type of hearing loss.

7.1.3.3Individuals shall, at all times, provide
the best possible service to the hearing toward their deriving
the maximum benefit from their hearing instruments.

7.1.3.4 Idividuals shall constantly encourage
and support research, cooperating with medical and other
hearing health professionals and societies to employ the
maximum accumulation of scientific knowledge and
technical skills in the testing of human hearing for the
selection, fitting and maintenance of hearing instruments.

7.2   Conduct and Relationship with Patient/Client
7.2.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers engaged in the

practice of the testing of human hearing, and in the selection,
counseling, fitting, dispensing and servicing of hearing
instruments, shall hold paramount the welfare of the patient/
client.

7.3  Continuing Education
7.3.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers shall engage and

participate in continuing education during each year of
active practice in the best interest of the patient/client and
professional development.

7.4 - Referral
7.4.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers shall utilize all

resources available, including referral to other specialists as
needed.

7.5  Services Rendered
7.5.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers shall accept and seek

full responsibility for the exercise of  judgment within their
area of expertise. These services include the testing of
human hearing, and the selection, counseling, fitting,
dispensing and servicing of hearing instruments.

7.5.2 Hearing Aid Dispensers shall not guarantee
outstanding results from the use of hearing instruments,
products, services or counseling when such is not the case.
They shall exercise caution not to mislead persons to expect
results that cannot be predicted.

7.6   Confidential Aspects of Patient/Client Relations
7.6.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers shall hold in

professional confidence all information and  professional
records concerning a patient/client and use such data only for
the benefit of the patient/client or as the law demands.

7.7  Conduct in Regard to Colleagues and Hearing
Health Care Professions

7.7.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers shall keep the welfare
of the patient/client uppermost at all times. They shall avoid
personal invective directed toward professional colleagues
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or members of  hearing health care professions.  They shall
conduct themselves at all times in a manner which will
enhance the status of the profession. They shall be
supportive to individuals and organizations with whom they
are associated to their mutual benefit.  They shall not agree
to practice under terms or conditions which tend to interfere
with or impair the proper exercise of their professional
judgment and skill, which tend to cause a deterioration in the
quality of service, or which require consent to unethical
conduct.

7.8 - Maintenance of Records
7.8.1  Hearing Aid Dispensers shall initiate and

maintain records of service provided to patients/clients.  All
laws, or rules and regulations pertaining to keeping of
records shall be carefully observed.

7.9   Fees and Compensation
7.9.1  Hearing Aid Dispensers shall not participate

with other health professionals or any other person in
agreements to divide fees or to cause financial or  other
exploitation when rendering professional services.

7.10 -  Delay in Providing Services
7.10.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers shall not delay

furnishing care to patients/clients served professionally,
without just cause.

7.11  Discontinuance of Services
7.11.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers shall not

discontinue service to patients/clients without providing
reasonable notice of withdrawal, and satisfying all
contractual agreements.

7.12  Responsibility of The Profession and Colleagues
7.12.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers have the duty to

observe all laws, rules and regulations, applicable to the
dispensing of hearing aids, to uphold the dignity and honor
of the profession and to accept its ethical principles.  They
shall not engage in any activity that will bring discredit to the
profession and shall expose, without fear or favor, illegal or
unethical conduct in the profession.

7.12.2 In the event it appears that a Hearing Aid
Dispenser is in violation of this Code, fellow Hearing Aid
Dispensers are encouraged to report the circumstances to the
Board.

7.12.3 Hearing Aid Dispensers holding an
appointed position in the State or Provincial Chapter, shall
not use such a position for self-aggrandizement.

7.13   Advertising
7.13.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers who choose to

advertise services shall use only material  considered ethical
and complying with laws, or rules and regulations governing
advertising.

7.13.2 Hearing Aid Dispensers shall endorse the
following statement of principles that assures protection of
the hearing impaired and the public in general.

7.13.2.1  TRUTH-Advertising shall tell the
truth, and shall reveal significant facts, the concealment of

which would mislead the public, and shall not dispense any
product or part there of, representing that it is new, unused,
or rebuilt, when such is not the fact.

7.13.2.2  RESPONSIBILITY-Advertisers shall
be willing and able to provide  substantiation of claims
made.

7.13.2.3 TASTE AND DECENCY-
Advertising shall be free of statements, illustrations, or
implications which are offensive to good taste or public
decency.

7.13.2.4 DISPARAGEMENT- Advertising
shall offer merchandise or service on its merits, and shall
refrain from attacking competitors or disparaging their
products,      services or methods of doing business.

7.13.2.5 BAIT ADVERTISEMENT
-Advertising shall offer only merchandise or services which
are readily available for purchase during the advertised
period at the advertised price; it is unethical for any Hearing
Aid Dispenser to advertise a  particular   model or kind of
instrument to obtain prospects for the sale of a  different
model kind  of instrument than that advertised, or to imply a
relationship with a manufacturer or trade name that does not
exist.

7.13.2.6 GUARANTEES AND
WARRANTIES- Advertising of  guarantees and warranties
shall be explicit.  Advertising of any guarantee or warranty
shall  clearly and conspicuously disclose its nature and
extent, the manner in which the guarantor or warrantor will
perform, and the identity of the guarantor or warrantor.  It is
unethical to use, or cause to be used, any guarantee or
warranty which is false, misleading,  deceptive, or unfair
whether in respect to the quality, construction, serviceability,
performance, or method of manufacture of any industry
product, or in respect to the terms and conditions of refund
of purchase price thereof, or in any other respect.

7.14  Standards
7.14.1 Maintenance of high standards by all

Hearing Aid Dispensers is in the best interest of persons
served professionally, Hearing Aid Dispensers and the
profession.

7.14.1.l It shall be unethical for Hearing Aid
Dispensers to willfully and knowingly violate any law  or
rule or regulation applicable to the dispensing of hearing
aids.

7.14.1.2 It shall be unethical to use such terms or to
use any abbreviation of such terms as doctor, physician,
otologist, certified hearing aid audiologist, clinical
audiologist, medical audiologist, research audiologist,
industrial audiologist, when such is not the fact.

7.14.1.3  It shall be unethical to use any symbol or
depiction which connotes the medical profession.

7.14.1.4 It shall be unethical to use any terms that
may reasonably be said to confuse the public that a private
business practice has some relationship to a governmental or
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nonprofit medical, educational or research institution.
7.15  Discrimination

7.15.1 Hearing Aid Dispensers shall not
discriminate in the delivery of professional services   on  the
basis or race, national origin, religion, sex, age, marital
status, sexual orientation, or  handicapping condition.

9.0 Code of Ethics for Speech-Language Pathologists,
Audiologists, and Hearing Aid Dispensers

9.1 PREAMBLE.  The preservation of the highest
standards of conduct and integrity is vital to achieving the
statutory declaration of objectives in 24 Del. C. §3701.
Adopting a code of ethics by regulation puts licensees on
notice of the kinds of activity that violate the level of care
and protection to which the clients are entitled. The
provisions are not intended to be all-inclusive but rather they
should serve as examples of obligations that must be
satisfied to maintain minimum standards.

9.2  Standards of Professional Conduct
9.2.1 A licensee who violates the following

Standards of Professional Conduct may be guilty of illegal,
negligent, or incompetent practice and disciplined pursuant
to 24 Del. C. § 3715(a)(2).

9.2.1.1  Licensees shall provide all services
competently. Competent service refers to the use of
reasonable care and diligence ordinarily employed by
similarly licensed individuals.

 9.2.1.2  Licensees shall use every resource,
including referral, to provide quality service.

9.2.1.3  Licensees shall maintain reasonable
documentation of professional services rendered.

9.2.1.4  Licensees shall not evaluate or treat a
client with speech, language, or hearing disorders solely by
correspondence. Correspondence includes
telecommunication.

9.2.1.5 Licensees shall delegate responsibility
only to qualified individuals as permitted by law with
appropriate supervision. 

9.2.1.6 Licensees who have evidence that a
practitioner has violated the Code of Ethics or other law or
regulation shall present that information by complaint to the
Division of Professional Regulation for investigation.

9.3 Standards of Professional Integrity.
9.3.1 A licensee who violates the following

Standards of Professional Integrity may be guilty of
consumer fraud, deception, restraint of competition, or price-
fixing and disciplined pursuant to 24 Del. C.§ 3715(a)(6). 

9.3.1.1 Licensees shall not charge for services
not rendered nor misrepresent the services or products
dispensed.

9.3.1.2  Licensees shall inform clients of the
nature and possible effects of services. Care must be taken to
speak to a client in lay terms that he or she can understand.  

9.3.1.3  Licensees may use clients in research

or as subjects of teaching demonstrations only with their
informed consent. An informed consent must be explained
and written in lay terms..

9.3.1.4 Licensees shall inform clients in any
matter where there is or may be a conflict of interest.
Conflicts of interest may be  found when a client is steered to
a particular provider by one with an expectation of financial
gain (kickbacks) or a provider is involved in double dipping
by providing services in a private practice that he or she is
obligated to provide though public employment (double-
dipping).

9.3.1.5  Licensees shall make no guarantees of
the results of any product or procedure but may make a
reasonable statement of prognosis.

9.3.1.6 Licensees shall provide services or
dispense products only when benefits can reasonably be
expected.

9.3.1.7 Licensees shall not engage in
misrepresentation, dishonesty, fraud, or deceit.
Misrepresentation includes statements likely to mislead or an
omission of material information.

9.3.1.8 Licensees who advertise shall provide
information in a truthful  manner that is direct and not likely
to mislead the public.

9.3.2 A licensee who violates the following
Standards of Professional Integrity may be guilty of
misrepresentation, impersonation, or facilitating unlawful
practice and disciplined pursuant to 24 Del. C.§3715(a)(1).

9.3.2.1 Licensees shall accurately represent
any credentials, education, and experience  to the public. 

9.3.2.2 A licensee who has evidence that an
individual is practicing the profession without a license in
violation of 24 Del.C. §3707 has a duty to report that
information to the Division of Professional Regulation.

9.4 Miscellaneous Professional Standards
9.4.1 A licensee who violates the following

Professional Standards may be subject to disciplinary action
under 24 Del. C. §3715(a)(7)

9.4.1.1  Licensees shall respect the privacy of
clients and not reveal, written authorization, any professional
or personal information unless  required by law.

9.4.1.2  Licensees shall not discriminate on the
basis of race, sex, age, religion, national origin, sexual
orientation, or disability. 

9.4.1.3 Licensees shall offer services and
products on their merits and should refrain from making
disparaging comments about competing practitioners or their
services and  products.

8.0 10.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

10.1 8.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of
the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately
notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her
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designate of the report. If the Director of Professional
Regulation receives the report, he/she shall immediately
notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that
chairperson's designate or designates.

10.2 8.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

10.3 8.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

10.4 8.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

10.5 8.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

10.6 8.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require
a regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

10.6.1 8.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional
into a treatment program approved by the participating

Board. Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

10.6.2 8.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of
the approved treatment program to report on the progress of
the regulated professional to the chairperson of the
participating Board or to that chairperson's designate or
designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate at such intervals as required
by the chairperson of the participating Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and
such person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

10.6.3 8.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional,
in accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

10.6.4 8.6.4  Agreement by the regulated
professional to be personally responsible for all costs and
charges associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and
treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the
regulated professional to cover administrative costs
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The
amount of the fee imposed under this subparagraph shall
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the
proportional expenses incurred by the Division of
Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board
in addition to the administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option.  

10.6.5 8.6.5  Agreement by the regulated
professional that failure to satisfactorily progress in such
treatment program shall be reported to the participating
Board's chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/ her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

10.6.6 8.6.6  Compliance by the regulated
professional with any terms or restrictions placed on
professional practice as outlined in the agreement under the
Voluntary Treatment Option.

10.7 8.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.  
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10.8 8.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

10.9 8.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.  

10.10 8.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to
comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

10.11 8.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected
if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

10.12 8.12  Any regulated professional who complies
with all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless
otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with
the regulated professional shall include the potential for
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may
be disclosed.

BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK 
EXAMINERS

24 DE ADMIN. CODE 3900
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 

Sections 3906(1) and (7) (24 Del.C. 
§§3906(1)and(7))

ORDER ADOPTING RULES AND REGULATIONS

AND NOW, this 12th day of March, 2001, in
accordance with 29 Del.C. § 10118 and for the reasons stated
hereinafter, the Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners of
the State of Delaware (hereinafter “the Board”) enters this
Order adopting amendments to Rules and Regulations.

I.  Nature of the Proceedings

Pursuant to the Board’s authority under 24 Del.C.
§3906(1) and (4), the Board proposed to revise its existing
Rules and Regulations to clarify the continuing education

requirement for ethics credits, and to establish the time
frames for continuing education reporting periods and
biennial licensing periods.  Notice of the public hearing to
consider the proposed amendments to the Rules and
Regulations was published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations dated December 1, 2000, and in two Delaware
newspapers of general circulation, in accordance with 29
Del.C. § 10115.  The public hearing was held on January 22,
2001 at 9:30 a.m. in Dover, Delaware, as duly noticed, at
which a quorum of the Board was present.  The Board
deliberated and voted on the proposed revisions to the Rules
and Regulations.  This is the Board’s Decision and Order
ADOPTING the amendments to the Rules and Regulations
as proposed.

II.  Evidence and Information Submitted

The Board received written comment from Ms. Rita
Mariani, Chairperson, State Council for Persons with
Disabilities dated December 28, 2000.  Ms. Mariani noted
the proposed change in language of Rule 5.3 from “social
work ethics” to “ethics for mental health professionals” and
stated that the State Council for Persons with Disabilities
endorsed the proposed change.  No members of the public
attended the January 22, 2001 public hearing.

III.  Findings of Fact and Conclusions

1.  The public was given notice of the proposed
amendments to the Rules and Regulations and offered an
adequate opportunity to provide the Board with comments.
The Board received a written comment in support of the
proposed amendments.  A summary of the evidence is
contained in Section II.

2.  The proposed amendments to the Rules and
Regulations are necessary to clarify the continuing education
requirements for ethics credits and to establish the
continuing education reporting periods.  The amendments
will assist licensees in understanding their responsibilities
related to continuing education.  

3.  The Board concludes that it has statutory authority to
promulgate rules and regulations pursuant to 24 Del.C.
§3906(1).  The Board further concludes that it has statutory
authority to establish continuing education standards
required for license renewal under 24 Del.C. § 3906(7).

4.  For the foregoing reasons, the Board concludes that it
is necessary to adopt amendments to its Rules and
Regulations, and that such amendments are in furtherance of
its objectives set forth in 24 Del.C. Chapter 39.

IV.  Decision and Order to Adopt Amendments

NOW, THEREFORE, by unanimous vote of a quorum
of the Board, IT IS ORDERED, that the Rules and
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Regulations are approved and adopted in the exact text as set
forth in Exhibit A attached hereto.  The effective date of this
Order is ten (10) days from the date of its publication in the
Delaware Register of Regulations pursuant to 29 Del. C.
10118(g).

BY ORDER OF THE BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL 
WORK EXAMINERS

(as authenticated by a quorum of the Board)
Grace A. Pesikey, LCSW, President, Professional

Member
Maria M. Carroll, Ph.D., LCSW, V. Pres., Professional

Member
Charles E. Marvil, LCSW, Professional Member
Frances E. Pruitt, Public Member
Janet Tovo, LCSW, Professional Member
Thomas C. Tulley, Public Member, Public Member

1.0  Election of Officers and Responsibilities
2.0  Professional Supervision
3.0  Application and Examination
4.0  Renewal
5.0  Continuing Education
6.0  Inactive Status  (24 Del. C. §3911(c))
7.0  Ethics
8.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent

or Impaired Professionals

1.0  Election of Officers and Responsibilities
1.1  Officers shall be elected in September of each year,

for a one year term.  Special election to fill vacancies shall
be held upon notice and shall be only for the balance of the
original term.

1.2  Officers have the following responsibilities:
1.2.1  The President will preside at all meetings and

sign official documents on behalf of the Board.
1.2.2  The Vice-President will perform the duties of

the President when the latter is unavailable or unable to
perform the duties of the President.

1.2.3  The Secretary will preside over meetings in
the absence of the President and Vice-President.

2.0  Professional Supervision
2.1  Acceptable supervision shall be that amount of

personal oversight by the licensed professional that would be
considered usual and customary in the   profession consistent
with the applicant’s level of skill, education and experience,
but in any event should include the following activities, by
way of example and not by way of limitation:

2.1.1  Individual case reviews.
2.1.2  Evaluations of diagnosis and courses of

treatment.

2.1.3  Proper adherence to agency policy and
procedures.

2.2  The amount of supervisory contact shall be at least
one hour per week during  the supervised period.  This
contact must be on a one-to-one face-to-face basis.

2.3  The Board shall require submission of the following
information from the supervisor(s): supervisor’s name,
business address, license number, professional field and
State in which the license was granted during the period of
supervision; agency  in which the supervision took place (if
applicable); the number of qualifying practice hours toward
the statutory requirement; and the number of one-to-one
face-to-face supervisory hours.

2.4  A licensed Psychiatrist shall be defined as a
licensed Medical Doctor with a  specialty in psychiatry or a
licensed Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine with a  specialty in
psychiatry.

3.0  Application and Examination
3.1  Applications will be kept active and on file for two

(2) years.  If the applicant  fails to meet the licensure
requirements and/or pass the examination within two (2)
years, the application shall be deemed to have expired and
the applicant must reapply in the same manner as for initial
application, i.e., by submitting the application
documentation along with the proper fee to be eligible to sit
for the examination.

3.2  The Board will not review incomplete applications.
3.3  All signatures must be original on all forms.
3.4  The applicant shall have obtained the passing score

on the national clinical  examination approved by the
American Association of State Social Work Boards
(AASSWB).  The Board shall accept the passing grade as
determined  by the AASSWB.

3.5  Any applicant holding a degree from a program
outside the United States or its territories must provide the
Board with an educational credential evaluation from
International Consultants of Delaware, Inc., its successor, or
any other similar agency approved by the Board,
demonstrating that their training and degree are equivalent to
domestic accredited programs.  No application is considered
complete until the educational credential evaluation is
received by the Board.  (29 Del. C. § 3907(a)(1))

4.0  Renewal
4.1  The licensee’s failure to receive notices or letters

concerning renewal will not  relieve the licensee of the
responsibility to personally assure delivery of his/her
renewal application to the Board.

4.2  In order to be eligible for license renewal during the
first year after expiration, the practitioner shall be required to
meet all continuing education credits for continued
licensure, pay the licensure fee, and pay any late fee
established by the Division of Professional Regulation.  
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5.0  Continuing Education
5.1  Required Continuing Education Hours:

5.1.1  Hours Required.  All licensees must complete
forty-five (45) hours of continuing education during each
biennial license period.  For license periods beginning
January 1, 1999 and thereafter, documentation, as required
by Rule 5.4, of all continuing education hours must be
submitted to the Board for approval by October 31 of each
biennial license period.

5.1.2  Proration.  At the time of the initial license
renewal, some individuals will have been licensed for less
than two (2) years.  Therefore, for these individuals only, the
continuing education hours will be prorated as follows:

License Granted During FirstCredit Hours
Year Of Licensing PeriodRequired 

January 1 - June 30 35 hours
July 1 - December 31 25 hours

License Granted During SecondCredit Hours
Year Of Licensing PeriodRequired

January 1 - June 30 15 hours
July 1 - December 31 5 hours

5.1.3  Hardship.  A candidate for license renewal
may be granted an extension of time in which to complete
continuing education hours upon a showing of good cause.
“Good Cause” may include, but is not limited to, disability,
illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction and
exceptional family responsibilities.  Requests for hardship
consideration must be submitted to the Board in writing prior
to the end of the licensing period, along with payment of the
appropriate renewal fee.  No extension shall be granted for
more than 120 days after the end of the licensing period.  If
the Board does not have sufficient time to consider and
approve a request for hardship extension prior to the
expiration of the license, the license will lapse upon the
expiration date and be reinstated upon completion of
continuing education pursuant to the hardship exception.

See 2 DE Reg 775 (11/1/98)
5.2  Definition and Scope of Continuing Education:

5.2.1  Continuing Education is defined to mean
approved courses offered by colleges and universities,
televised and extension courses, independent study courses
which have a final exam or paper, workshops, seminars,
conferences and lectures oriented toward the enhancement of
clinical social work practice, values, skills and knowledge,
including self-directed activity and preparation of a first-
time clinical course as described herein.

5.2.1.1  Approved Courses shall be those
courses which: increase the clinical social worker (CSW)’s
knowledge about, skill in diagnosing and assessing, skill in
treating, and/or skill in preventing mental and emotional

disorders, developmental disabilities and substance abuse;
AND are instructed or presented by persons who have
received specialized graduate-level training in the subject, or
who have no less than two (2) years of practical application
or research experience pertaining to the subject.

5.2.1.2  Mental and Emotional Disorders,
Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse are those
disorders enumerated and described in the most current
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual including, but not limited
to, the V Codes and the Criteria Sets and Axes provided for
further study.   

5.2.1.3 Self-Directed Activity shall include
teaching, research, preparation and/or presentation of
professional papers and articles, and other activities
specifically approved by the Board.

5.2.2  Any program submitted for continuing
education hours must have been attended during the biennial
licensing period for which it is submitted.  Excess credits
may not be carried over to the next licensing period.  

5.2.3  An “hour” for purposes of continuing
education credit shall mean 60 minutes of instruction or
participation in an appropriate course or program. Meals and
breaks shall be excluded from credit.

5.2.4  The Board may, upon request, review and
approve credit for self-directed activities, to a maximum of
15 hours per biennial licensing period.  A licensee must
obtain pre-approval of the Board prior to undertaking the
self-directed activity in order to assure continuing education
credit for the activity.  Any self-directed activity submitted
for approval must include a written proposal outlining the
scope of the activity, the number of continuing education
hours requested, the anticipated completion date(s), the role
of the licensee in the case of multiple participants (e.g.
research) and whether any part of the self-directed activity
has ever been previously approved or submitted for credit by
the same licensee.

5.2.5  The Board may award a maximum of 5
continuing education hours for the first-time preparation and
presentation of a clinical social work course, in-service
training, workshop, or seminar.  A copy of the course
syllabus and verification that the course was presented is
required for Board approval.

5.3  Continuing Education Content Requirements:
During each biennial licensing period, licensees

shall complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing
education in Category I courses.  The remaining fifteen (15)
continuing education hours may be taken in Category II
courses.  At least three (3) of the 30 Category I hours shall be
consist of courses acceptable to the Board in the area of
social work ethics ethics for mental health professionals.

Category I:  Courses which have as their primary
focus and content the assessment, diagnosis, and
biopsychosocial (biological, psychological and social)
treatment of mental and emotional disorders, developmental
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disabilities, and/or substance abuse; courses which have as
their primary focus and content the ethical practice of social
work.

Category II:  Courses in any of the following areas
which are related to and increase the CSW’s knowledge of
mental and emotional disorders, developmental disabilities,
and/or substance abuse

•  research methods and findings;
•  psychology and sociology; 
•  human growth and development;
•  child and family constructs;
•  physical illness and health;
•  social action;
•  advocacy; 
•  human creativity;
•  spirituality
•  HIV
5.4 Continuing Education Reporting and

Documentation
5.4.1  Continuing Education Reporting Periods

Licenses are valid for 2 year periods, renewing
on January 31 of odd numbered years (e.g. January 31, 2001,
2003).  Continuing education reporting periods run from
October 31 to October 31 of the preceding two even-
numbered years (e.g. credits for the January 2001 license
renewal may be obtained between October 31, 1998 and
October 31, 2000).  The Board will allow credits obtained
between October 31 and January 31 to apply to either (but
not both) of the biennial licensing periods, at the licensee’s
discretion.

Beginning with the January 2003 license
renewal, all required continuing education should be
completed within the previous two year October to October
period (e.g. between October 31, 2000 and October 31, 2002
for January 2003 renewal).  The Board shall continue to have
the discretion, however, to grant extensions of time in which
to complete continuing education in cases of hardship,
pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3912 and Rule 5.1.3. 

5.4.2 5.4.1  In order to assure receipt of receive
continuing education credits, a licensee must complete and
submit the appropriate continuing education form provided
by the Division of Professional Regulation no later than

October 31st of the biennial licensing period.
5.4.3 5.4.2  In addition to the form, each licensee

must submit the following documentation as to each course
attended: a certificate of attendance or completion signed by
the presenter and attesting to the number of hours the
licensee attended; documentation identifying the date and
location of the course, the total number of CE hours attended
and the agenda, outline or brochure describing the course.
Originals or photocopies will be accepted and retained by the
Board.  The Board reserves its right to request additional
documentation, such as copies of program materials, to

verify CE compliance.
See 3 DE Reg 1680 (6/1/00)

6.0 Inactive Status  (24 Del. C. § 3911(c))
6.1  A licensee asking to have his/her license placed on

inactive status must notify the Board of his/her intention to
do so, in writing, prior to the expiration of his/her current
license.  Each subsequent request for extensions of inactive
status must be submitted to the Board in writing, before the
end of the immediately prior inactive period.

6.2  A licensee on inactive status must comply with Rule
5.0, "Continuing Education," for each period of inactivity.  A
licensee on inactive status seeking to re-enter practice must
notify the Board in writing of his/her intention, pay the
appropriate fee, and provide the Board with documentation
of any continuing education hours required by Rule 5.0.  

6.3  On written request and a showing of hardship, the
Board may grant additional time for completion of
continuing education requirements to licensees returning to
practice from inactive status. "Hardship" may include, but is
not limited to, disability, illness, extended absence from the
jurisdiction and exceptional family responsibilities.

See 2 DE Reg 775 (11/1/98)
See 3 DE Reg 1680 (6/1/00)

7.0  Ethics
7.1  Duties to Client

7.1.1  The LCSW’s primary responsibility is the
welfare of the client. 

7.1.2  In providing services, the LCSW must not
discriminate on the basis of age, sex, race, color, religion/
spirituality, national origin, handicap, political affiliation, or
sexual orientation.

7.1.3  When a client needs other community
services or resources, the LCSW has the responsibility to
assist the client in securing the appropriate services.

7.1.4  The LCSW should refer a client to other
service providers in the event that the LCSW cannot provide
the service requested.  In the case of a referral, no
commission, rebate or any other remuneration may be given
or received for referral of clients for professional services,
whether by an individual or an organization.

7.1.5  The LCSW must, in cases where professional
services are requested by a person already receiving
therapeutic assistance from another professional, clarify with
the client and the other professional the scope of services and
division of responsibility which each professional will
provide.

7.1.6  The LCSW must maintain appropriate
boundaries in his/her interactions with a client.  The LCSW
must not engage in sexual activity with a client.  The LCSW
must not treat a family member or close personal friend
where detached judgment or objectivity would be impaired.
Business, social or professional relationships with a client
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(outside of the counseling relationship) should be avoided,
where such relationships may influence or impair the
LCSW’s professional judgment.

7.2  Confidentiality/privileged Communications
7.2.1  The LCSW must safeguard the

confidentiality of information given by clients in the course
of client services. 

7.2.2  The LCSW must discuss with clients the
nature of and potential limits to confidentiality that may arise
in the course of therapeutic work. 

7.2.3  No LCSW or employee of such person may
disclose any confidential information they may have
acquired from persons consulting  them in their professional
capacity except under the following conditions:

7.2.3.1  With the written consent of the person
or persons (the guardian, in the case of a minor) or, in the
case of death or disability, of his/her personal representative,
or person authorized to sue, or the beneficiary of an
insurance policy on his/her life, health or physical condition,
or 

7.2.3.2  Where the communication reveals the
contemplation of a crime or harmful act.

7.2.3.3  When the person waives the privilege
by initiating formal charges against the LCSW.

7.2.3.4  When otherwise specifically required
by law or judicial order.

7.2.4  The disclosure of confidential information, as
permitted by Rule 7.2.3, is restricted to what is necessary,
relevant, verifiable and based on the recipients’ need to
know.  The LCSW should, provided it will not adversely
affect the client’s condition, inform the client about the
nature and scope of the information being disclosed, to
whom the information will be released and the purpose for
which it is sought.

7.3  Ethical Practice
7.3.1  The LCSW is responsible for confining his/

her practice to those areas in which he/she is legally
authorized and in which he/she is qualified to practice.
When necessary the LCSW should utilize the knowledge and
experience of members of other professions.

7.3.2  The LCSW is responsible for providing a
clear description of what the client may expect in the way of
scheduling services, fees and any other charges or reports

7.3.3  The LCSW, or any employee or supervisee of
the LCSW, must be accurately identified on any bill as the
person providing a particular service, and the fee charged the
client should be at the LCSW’s usual and customary rate.
Sliding fee scales are permissible.

7.3.4  An LCSW employed by an agency or clinic,
and also engaged in private practice, must conform to
contractual agreements with the employing facility.  He/She
must not solicit or accept a private fee or consideration of
any kind for providing a service to which the client is
entitled through the employing facility.

7.3.5  An LCSW having direct knowledge of a
colleague’s impairment, incompetence or unethical conduct
should take adequate measures to assist the colleague in
taking remedial action. In cases where the colleague does not
address the problem, or in any case in which the welfare of a
client appears to be in danger, the LCSW should report the
impairment, incompetence or unethical conduct to the
Board.

7.3.6  The Board has voted to adopt the Voluntary
Treatment Option, in accordance with 29 Del.C. §8807(n).

7.3.7  An LCSW should safeguard the welfare of
clients who willingly participate as research subjects.  The
LCSW must secure the informed consent of any research
participant and safeguard the participant’s interests and
rights.

7.3.8  In advertising his or her services, the LCSW
may use any information so long as it describes his/ her
credentials and the services provided accurately and without
misrepresentation. 

7.3.9  In the areas of computer and Internet
technology and non-established practice, the LCSW should
inform the client of risks involved.  The LCSW should
exercise careful judgment and should take responsible steps
(such as research, supervision, and training) to ensure the
competence of the work and the protection of the client.  All
precautions should be taken with computer-based
communications to ensure that no confidential information is
disseminated to the wrong individual and identities are
protected with respect to privacy.

7.4  Clinical Supervision
7.4.1  The LCSW should ensure that supervisees

inform clients of their status as interns, and of the
requirements of supervision (review of records, audiotaping,
videotaping, etc.).  The client shall sign a statement of
informed consent attesting that services are being delivered
by a supervisee and that the LCSW is ultimately responsible
for the services. This document shall include the supervising
LCSW’s name and the telephone number where he/she can
be reached.  One copy shall be filed with the client’s record
and another given to the client.  The LCSW must intervene
in any situation where the client seems to be at risk.  

7.4.2  The LCSW should inform the supervisee
about the process of supervision, including goals, case
management procedures, and agency or clinic policies.  

7.4.3  The LCSW must avoid any relationship with
a supervisee that may interfere with the supervisor’s
professional judgment or exploit the supervisee.

7.4.4  The LCSW must refrain from endorsing an
impaired supervisee when such impairment deems it
unlikely that the supervisee can provide adequate
professional services.

7.4.5  The LCSW must refrain from supervising in
areas outside his/her  realm of competence. Statutory
Authority: 24 Del.C. §§3901, 3906(1)(6)(9), 3913, 3915.
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See 3 DE Reg 1680 (6/1/00)

8.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

8.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.  

8.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

8.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

8.4  A regulated professional with chemical dependency
or impairment due to addiction to drugs or alcohol may enter
into the Voluntary Treatment Option and continue to
practice, subject to any limitations on practice the
participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

8.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of

disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

8.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

8.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  8.6.2  Consent to the treating
professional of the approved treatment program to report on
the progress of the regulated professional to the chairperson
of the participating Board or to that chairperson's designate
or designates or to the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate at such intervals
as required by the chairperson of the participating Board or
that chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of
the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate,
and such person making such report will not be liable when
such reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

8.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

8.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.  

8.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional that
failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment program
shall be reported to the participating Board's chairperson or
his/her designate or designates or to the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/ her designate by
the treating professional who shall be immune from any
liability for such reporting made in good faith and without
malice.  

8.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

8.7  The regulated professional's records of participation
in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not reflect
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disciplinary action and shall not be considered public records
open to public inspection. However, the participating Board
may consider such records in setting a disciplinary sanction
in any future matter in which the regulated professional's
chemical dependency or impairment is an issue.  

8.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

8.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

8.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

8.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section in
good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

8.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

See 3 DE Reg 1680 (6/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10103 (3 Del.C. 10103)

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. 10118 and 3 Del.C. 10103, the
Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission
(“Commission”) hereby issues this Order promulgating
proposed amendments to the Commission’s Rules.
Following notice of the proposed Rules, the Commission
makes the following findings and conclusions:

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION 

SUBMITTED

1.  The Commission posted public notice of the
proposed rule revisions in the March 1, 2001 Register of
Regulations and in the News-Journal and the Delaware
State News.  The proposal contained proposed changes to
the Commission’s existing Bleeder Medication rules in Rule
15.02.  The proposed rule amendments were as follows:

amend Rule 15.02 to add new subsection (g-i) to
provide for quantification of lasix.

2. The Commission accepted written comments from
the public on the proposed amendments from March 1, 2001
until April 3, 2001.  The Commission received no written
comments during this period.

FINDINGS OF FACT

3. The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Commission with comments in writing regarding
the proposed rule amendments.

4. Prior to proposing these amendments, the
Commission formed a subcommittee to study the issue of
lasix quantification.  The subcommittee was composed of
representatives from the Commission, the stewards, the
Commission’s chemist, and the horsemens’s association.
The proposed amendments to Rule 15.02(g-i) are based on
recommendations received from the subcommittee.  The
amendment to Rule 15.02(d) is essentially a technical
amendment to delete the specific term “detention barn” and
replace it with a more general term “area” where horses are
to be brought for administration of lasix.

CONCLUSIONS

5. The proposed rules were promulgated by the
Commission in accord with its statutory duties and authority
as set forth in 3 Del.C. 10103.  The Commission deems these
rules as proposed to be necessary for the effective
enforcement of 3 Del.C. Chapter 101 and for the full and
efficient performance of the duties thereunder.

6. The Commission concludes that the adoption of the
proposed rules are necessary and desirable to ensure the
integrity and security of thoroughbred racing in the State of
Delaware.

7. The Commission therefore adopts the following
rule amendments pursuant to 3 Del.C. 10103 and 29 Del.C.
10113:

Amendment to Rule 15.02(d)
Amendment to Rules 15.02(g)(h)(i)

These rules replace in their entirety the former
version of the Rules of the Delaware State Thoroughbred
Racing Commission.

8. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/About_Us/thorough.htm
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days from the publication of this order in the Register of
Regulations on May 1, 2001.  Attached hereto and
incorporated herein is the amended Rules marked as Exhibit
A and executed simultaneously this 4th day of April, 2001.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 4th day of April, 2001.

Bernard Daney, Chairman
Ducan Patterson, Commissioner
H. James Decker, Commissioner
Carolyn Wilson, Commissioner

PART 15 -- MEDICATION, TESTING PROCEDURES

15.01  Prohibition and Control of Medication:
It shall be the intent of these Rules to protect the

integrity of horse racing, to guard the health of the horse and
to safeguard the interests of the public and the racing
participants through the prohibition or control of all drugs
and medications or substances foreign to the natural horse.
In this context:

(a) No horse participating in a race shall carry in its
body any substance foreign to the natural horse, except as
hereinafter provided.

(b) No foreign substance shall be administered to a
horse (entered to race) by injection, oral administration,
rectal infusion or suppository, or by inhalation within
twenty-four (24) hours prior to the scheduled post time for
the first race, except as hereinafter provided.

(c) No person other than a veterinarian shall have in his
possession any equipment for hypodermic injection, any
substance for hypodermic administration or any foreign
substance which can be administered internally to a horse by
any route, except for an existing condition as prescribed by a
veterinarian.

(d) Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule 15.01(c)
above, any person may have in his possession within a race
track enclosure, any chemical or biological substance for use
on his own person, provided that, if such chemical substance
is prohibited from being dispensed by any Federal law or law
of this State without a prescription, he is in possession of
documentary evidence that a valid prescription for such
chemical or biological substance has been issued to him.

(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule 15.01(c)
above, any person may have in his possession within any
race track enclosure, any hypodermic syringe or needle for
the purpose of administering a chemical or biological
substance to himself, provided that he has notified the
Stewards:  (1) of his possession of such device; (2) of the
size of such device; and (3) of the chemical substance to be
administered by such device and has obtained written
permission for possession and use from the Stewards.

15.01.1  Definitions:
The following terms and words used in these Rules are

defined as:

(a) Hypodermic Injection shall mean any injection
into or under the skin or mucous, including intradermal
injection, subcutaneous injection, submucosal injection,
intramuscular injection, intravenous injection and
intraocular (intraconjunctival) injection.

(b) Foreign Substances shall mean all substances
except those which exist naturally in the untreated horse at
normal physiological concentration.

(c) Veterinarian shall mean a veterinary
practitioner authorized to practice at the race track.

(d) Horse includes all horses registered for racing
under the jurisdiction of the Commission and for the
purposes of these Rules shall mean stallion, colt, gelding,
ridgling, filly or mare.

(e) Chemist shall mean the Commission's chemist.
(f) Test Sample shall mean any body substance

including, but not limited to, blood or urine taken from a
horse under the supervision of the Licensee's Veterinarian
and in such manner as prescribed by the Commission for the
purpose of analysis.

(g) Race Day shall mean the 24-hour period prior
to the scheduled post time for the first race.

15.01.2  Foreign Substances:
No horse participating in a race shall carry in its body

any foreign substance except as provided in Rule 15.01.2(c):
(a) A finding by the chemist that a foreign substance is

present in the test sample shall be prima facie evidence that
such foreign substance was administered and carried in the
body of the horse while participating in a race.  Such a
finding shall also be taken as prima facie evidence that the
Trainer and agents responsible for the care or custody of the
horse has/have been negligent in the handling or care of the
horse.

(b) A finding by the chemist of a foreign substance or
an approved substance used in violation of Rule 15.01 in any
test sample of a horse participating in a race shall result in
the horse being disqualified from purse money or other
awards, except for purposes of pari-mutuel wagering which
shall in no way be affected.

(c) A foreign substance of accepted therapeutic value
may be administered as prescribed by a Veterinarian when
test levels and guidelines for its use have been established by
the Veterinary-Chemist Advisory Committee of the National
Association of State Racing Commissioners and approved
by the Commission.

(d) The only approved non-steroidal anti-inflammatory
drug (NSAID) that may be present in a horse's body while it
is participating in a race is phenylbutazone/
oxyphenobutazone in the level stated in subsection (e) or (f).
The presence of any other NSAID at any test level is
forbidden.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, the presence of
any NSAID at any test level is forbidden for a two-year old
horse.

Revised:  1/6/92.
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(e) The test level of phenylbutazone under this Rule
shall not be in excess of two point five (2.5) micrograms
(mcg) per milliliter (ml) of plasma without penalties in the
following format:

Micrograms per milliliterPenalties

0 to 2.5 No action
2.6 to 4.9 First Offense-$250.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9 Second Offense within 365

days - $500.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9 Third Offense within 365

days - $500.00 fine and/
or Suspension and/or
Loss of Purse

5.0 and Over Fine, Suspension, Loss of
Purse

(f) The test level for oxphenobutazone under this Rule
shall not be in excess of two (2) micrograms (mcg) per
milliliter (ml) of plasma.

Micrograms per milliliterPenalties

0 to 2.5 No action
2.6 to 4.9 First Offense-$250.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9 Second Offense within 365

days - $500.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9 Third Offense within 365

days - $500.00 fine and/
or Suspension and/or
Loss of Purse

5.0 and Over Fine, Suspension, Loss of
Purse

15.02  Bleeder Medication:
Notwithstanding anything in the Rules of Racing to the

contrary, the Stewards may permit the administration of
Furosemide (Lasix) to control epistaxis (bleeding) to horses
under the following conditions:

(a) A horse which, during a race or workout at a duly
licensed race track in this State or within the first hour
immediately following such a race or workout, is observed
by the Commission's Veterinarian or the Stewards to be
shedding blood from one or both nostrils or is found to have
bled internally.  (An endoscopic examination of the horse, in
order to confirm bleeding, may be performed by the
practicing veterinarian in the presence of the Commission's
Veterinarian at the detention barn within one (1) hour of
workout or race.)

(b) A horse which has been certified as a bleeder in
another jurisdiction may be placed on the bleeder list
provided that the other jurisdiction qualified it as a bleeder
using criteria satisfactory to the Commission's Veterinarian
and the Stewards.  It shall be the absolute responsibility of
the Trainer to report bleeders from other jurisdictions to the

Licensee's Veterinarian or Stewards on official forms from
that State prior to entry.

(c) The Commission's Veterinarian shall be responsible
to maintain an up-to-date "bleeder" list and the list shall be
available in the Racing Secretary's office.

4 DE Reg. 183 (7/1/00)
(d) A horse in the Bleeder Program shall be required to

be brought to a detention barn  an area designated by the
Licensee and approved by the Commission not later than
three and one-half (3 ½ ) hours before post time for the race
in which it is entered and shall remain in said detention barn
(in its assigned stall) until called to the paddock prior to post
time.  During the 3 ½ hour period, the horse shall be under
the care and custody of a groom or caretaker appointed by
the Trainer.  The approved Furosemide medication may be
administered by a licensed practicing veterinarian in the
detention barn within three (3) hours before post time.  The
practicing veterinarian shall make a report to the Stewards of
the treatment on forms provided by the Stewards on the same
day of treatment.

(e) (Deleted.)
(f) A horse which bled for the first time shall not be

permitted to run for a period of ten (10) calendar days.  A
horse which bleeds a second time shall not be permitted to
run for thirty (30) calendar days.  A horse which bleeds a
third time shall not be permitted to run for ninety (90) days.
A horse which bleeds a fourth time shall be barred from
further racing in the State of Delaware, except that if a
horse's fourth bleeding incident occurs within one year of the
first bleeding incident, then the horse shall not be barred but
shall not be permitted to run for one year.  If a horse has bled
three times but at least twelve months have passed since the
last bleeding incident, then if the horse bleeds for a fourth
time, the horse shall not be permitted to run for twelve (12)
months, and any further bleeding incidents will prevent the
horse from racing for another twelve (12) month period.  A
positive endoscopic examination shall be classed as a first
time bleeder.

Revised:  6/19/92.
(g) Dosage. Furosemide (Lasix) shall be administered

intravenously, or intramuscularly as permitted under
subsection (h) of this Rule, to horses in the Bleeder Program
by a licensed practicing veterinarian, who will administer
not more than 500 milligrams nor less than 100 milligrams,
subject to the following conditions: 

i. The dosage administered may not vary by more
than 250 milligrams from race to race without the permission
of the Commission Veterinarian.

(h) Restrictions. No one except a licensed practicing
veterinarian shall possess equipment or any substance for
injectable administration on the race track complex, and no
horse is to receive furosemide (lasix) in oral or intramuscular
form, except that the stewards may approve intramuscular
administration for a horse based on written documentation
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from the Commission veterinarian and the trainer's
veterinarian.

(i) Post-Race Quantification. As indicated by post-race
quantification, a horse may not carry in its body at the time
of the running of the race more than 100 nanograms of
furosemide (lasix) per milliliter of plasma in conjunction
with a urine that has a specific gravity of 1.010 or lower.

If post-race analysis indicates that the specific
gravity of a horse's urine is less than 1.010 and the
concentration of furosemide in the blood plasma is greater
than 100 nanograms per milliliter, the stewards shall take the
following action (for each horse):

A. If such overage is the first violation of this
rule for this horse, the trainer and/or attending veterinarian
shall be issued a warning and be required to participate in a
review of all pertinent Commission rules and subsequent
penalties at a time scheduled by the stewards. If the trainer
wishes to contest the overage, the trainer shall follow a
specific procedure under which all of the following
conditions must be met:

i) the horse in question must report to
the detention barn four hours prior to post time.

ii) the same handler/room must stay with
the horse at all times.

iii) a blood sample shall be taken by the
Commission veterinarian before the administration of
furosemide.

iv) the trainer's veterinarian must
administer furosemide at a dosage not to exceed 500
milligrams.

v) the Commission veterinarian must
witness the administration of furosemide.

vi) the horse must return to the detention
barn after the race for the taking of post-race blood and urine
testing by the Commission veterinarian or assistant, no
matter how the horse finishes in the race.

If, after all of the above conditions are
met, the post race tests reveal that the specific gravity of the
horse's urine is again below 1.010 and the concentration of
furosemide in the blood plasma is greater than 100
nanograms per milliliter of plasma, and the blood sample
taken in the detention barn before the administration of
furosemide tests negative for furosemide, the horse will be
placed on an "exempt" list and the first offense will be
removed, provided further that any horse on the "exempt"
list will be required to have all future prerace lasix
treatments administered pursuant to the procedure set forth
in items i) through vi) set forth above. Any horse that is
placed on the "exempt" list and later fails to follow the
prerace procedure for lasix administration set forth in items
i) through vi) above will be removed from the "exempt" list,
disqualified from the race, and subject to the penalties in
items B-D of this Rule for subsequent offenses.

B. If such overage is the second violation of

this rule for the same horse, the trainer and/or attending
veterinarian shall be fined a minimum of $100.00 and a
maximum of $500.00.

C. If such overage is the third violation of this
rule for the same horse, the trainer and/or attending
veterinarian shall be issued a minimum suspension of seven
(7) days and a maximum suspension of fifteen (15) days and
shall be fined a minimum of $100.00 and a maximum of
$1,000.00, and the stewards in their discretion may order
loss of purse as an additional penalty.

D. If such overage is the fourth violation for
the same horse, the trainer and/or attending veterinarian shall
be issued a suspension of fifteen (15) days to thirty (30)
days, and shall be fined $250.00 to $1,000.00, and the
stewards will order loss of purse as a mandatory penalty.

15.03  Responsibility for Prohibited Administration:
Any person found to have administered or authorized a

medication, drug or substance which caused or could have
caused a violation of Rules 15.01 or 15.02, or caused,
participated or attempted to participate in any way in such
administration, shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(a) The registered Trainer of a horse found to have
been administered a medication, drug or substance in
violation of Rules 15.01 or 15.02 shall bear the burden of
proof to show freedom from negligence in the exercise of a
high degree of care in safeguarding such horse from being
tampered with and, failing to prove such freedom from
negligence (or reliance on the professional ability of a
licensed Veterinarian), shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(b) The Assistant Trainer, groom, stable watchman or
any other person having the immediate care and custody of a
horse found to have been administered a medication, drug or
substance in violation of Rules 15.01 or 15.02, if found
negligent in guarding or protecting such horse from being
tampered with, shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(c) A licensed Veterinarian shall be responsible for any
medication, drug or substance that he administers, prescribes
or causes to be administered by his direction on a horse.  If
found to have made an error in type or quantity of same
administered and if in reliance upon the correctness thereof a
Trainer races such treated horse in violation of Rules 15.01
and 15.02, such licensed Veterinarian shall be subject to
disciplinary action.

15.04  Reports of Administration:
Before a licensed Veterinarian administers or prescribes

any drug or restricted substance for a horse, he shall
ascertain by reasonable inquiry whether the horse has been
entered to race at any track and, if the horse has been
entered, he shall not administer or prescribe any drug or
restricted substance within the time or manner restricted by
these Rules.

If, however, an emergency exists involving the life or
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health of the horse, he may proceed to treat or prescribe for
the horse but shall report the matter as promptly as
practicable to the State Veterinarian and Stewards.

(a) Any Veterinarian practicing at any Delaware race
track shall file a daily report with the Stewards and the Track
Veterinarian as to any medication prescribed or administered
or professional service performed.  This report shall be filed
in person or postmarked within a period of forty-eight (48)
hours from the time of treatment. Detection of any
unreported medication, drug or substance by the
Commission's Chemist in a pre-race or post-race test may be
grounds for disciplinary action against such Veterinarian.

(b) Such daily reports shall accurately reflect the
identity of the horse treated, diagnosis, time of treatment,
type and dosage of medication, drug or substance and
method of administration.

(c) Such daily reports shall remain confidential except
that the Commission's Veterinarian may compile general
data therefrom to assist the Commission in formulating
policies or rules and the Stewards may review the same in
investigating a possible violation of these rules.  See Rule
11.02(d) respecting a public list of horses declared to race on
medication.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)
(d) When making an entry, it shall be the duty of the

Trainer or his representative, as required by Rule 11.02(d),
to disclose and declare to the Racing Secretary or his
representative whether said horse will race on any
medication permitted by these rules.

15.05  Report Prior to Race of Cessation or Reduction of
Medication:

For any horse entered to run in a race, a timely report of
the elimination or reduction since its last race in the level of
Phenylbutazone and/or similar medications administered to
it at the time of such last race shall be made to the
Commission's Veterinarian by the horse's Owner, Trainer,
attending Veterinarian and/or any other person having
supervision over, or custody of, such horse.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)
Violation of this Rule will constitute grounds for

disciplinary action.

15.06  Bettors' Safeguard:
To help protect against inconsistent performances, a

horse which last raced after having been administered
Phenylbutazone and/or similar medication shall not be
permitted to race without having been administered the same
or similar medication at a comparable level, unless the
Commission's Veterinarian grants his prior, express approval
that such horse may race notwithstanding that the medication
program to which it was subjected at the time of its last race
has subsequently been eliminated or reduced.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)

Violation of any aspect of this Rule by an Owner,
Trainer, attending Veterinarian or any other person having
supervision or custody of the horse will constitute grounds
for disciplinary action as provided by these Rules.

15.07  Commission List:
As a guide to Owners, Trainers and Veterinarians, the

Commission may from time to time publish a list of
medications, shown by brand and generic names,
specifically prohibited for racing.  Such list shall not be
considered exclusive and medications shown thereon shall
be considered only as among those, along with others not so
listed, prohibited by general classification under Rule 15.01.

15.08  Detention Area:
Each Licensee may provide and maintain on its grounds

a fenced enclosure sufficient in size and facilities to
accommodate stabling of horses temporarily detained for the
taking of sample specimens for chemical testing; such
detention area shall be under the supervision and control of
the Commission's Veterinarian.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)

15.09  Horses to be Tested:
The Stewards may at any time order the taking of a

blood, urine, or saliva specimen for testing from any horse
entered.  Any Owner or Trainer may at any time request that
a specimen be taken from a horse he owns or trains by
Licensee's Veterinarian and be tested by Commission's
Chemist, provided the costs of such testing are borne by the
Owner or Trainer requesting such test.

15.10  Procedure for Taking Specimens:
(1)  Horses from which specimens are to be drawn shall

be taken to the detention area at the prescribed time and
remain there until released by the Commission veterinarian.
Only the owner, trainer, groom, or hotwalker of horses to be
tested shall be admitted to the detention area without
permission of the Commission veterinarian.

(2)  Stable equipment other than equipment necessary
for washing and cooling out a horse shall be prohibited in the
detention area.

(a)  Buckets and water shall be furnished by the
Commission veterinarian.

(b)  If a body brace is to be used, it shall be supplied
by the responsible trainer and administered only with the
permission and in the presence of the Commission
veterinarian.

(c)  Alicensed veterinarian shall attend a horse in
the detention area only in the presence of the Commission
veterinarian.

(3)  One of the following persons shall be present and
witness the taking of the specimen from a horse and so
signify in writing:
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(a)  The owner;
(b)  The responsible trainer who, in the case of a

claimed horse, shall be the person in whose name the horse
raced;  or

(c)  A stable representative designated by such
owner or trainer.

(4)   (a)  All urine containers shall be supplied by the
Commission laboratory and shall be sealed with the
laboratory security seal which shall not be broken, except in
the presence of the witness as provided by subsection (3) of
this section.

(b)  Blood vacutainers will also be supplied by the
Commission laboratory in sealed packages as received from
the manufacturer.

(5)  Samples taken from a horse, by the Commission
veterinarian or his assistant at the detention barn, shall be
collected and in double containers and designated as the
"primary" and "secondary" samples.

(a)  These samples shall be sealed with tamper-
proof tape and bear a portion of the multiple part
"identification tag" that has identical printed numbers only.
The other portion of the tag bearing the same printed
identification number shall be detached in the presence of
the witness.

(b)  The Commission veterinarian shall:
1.  Identify the horse from which the specimen

was taken.
2.  Document the race and day, verified by the

witness;  and
3.  Place the detached portions of the

identification tags in sealed envelope for delivery only to the
stewards.

(c)  After both portions of samples have been
identified in accordance with this section, the "primary"
sample shall be delivered to the official chemist designated
by the Commission.

(d)  The "secondary" sample shall remain in the
custody of the Commission veterinarian at the detention area
and urine samples shall be frozen and blood samples
refrigerated in a locked refrigerator/freezer.

(e)  The Commission veterinarian shall take every
precaution to ensure that neither the Commission chemist
nor any member of the laboratory staff shall know the
identity of the horse from which a specimen was taken prior
to the completion of all testing.

(f)  When the Commission chemist has reported
that the "primary" sample delivered contains no prohibited
drug, the "secondary" sample shall be properly disposed.

(g)  If after a horse remains a reasonable time in the
detention area and a specimen can not be taken from the
horse, the Commission veterinarian may permit the horse to
be returned to its barn and usual surroundings for the taking
of a specimen under the supervision of the Commission
veterinarian.

(h)  If one hundred (100) milliliters (ml.) or less of
urine is obtained, it will not be split, but will be considered
the "primary" sample and will be tested as other "primary"
samples.

(i)  Two (2) blood samples shall be collected in
twenty (20) milliliters vacutainers, one for the "primary" and
one for the "secondary" sample.

(j)  In the event of an initial finding of a prohibited
drug or in violation of these Rules & Regulations, the
Commission chemist shall notify the Commission, both
orally and in writing, and an oral notice shall be issued by
the Commission to the owner and trainer or other responsible
person no more than twenty-four (24) hours after the receipt
of the initial finding, unless extenuating circumstances
require a longer period, in which case the Commission shall
provide notice as soon as possible in order to allow for
testing of the "secondary" sample.

1.  If testing of the "secondary" sample is
desired, the owner, trainer, or other responsible person shall
so notify the Commission in writing within 48 hours after
notification of the initial positive test or within a reasonable
period of time established by the Commission after
consultation with the Commission chemist.  The reasonable
period is to be calculated to insure the integrity of the sample
and the preservation of the alleged illegal substance.

2.  Testing of the "secondary" samples shall be
performed at a referee laboratory selected by representatives
of the owner, trainer, or other responsible person from a list
of not less than two (2) laboratories approved by the
Commission.

(k)  The Commission shall bear the responsibility of
preparing and shipping the sample, and the cost of
preparation, shipping, and testing at the referee laboratory
shall be assumed by the person requesting the testing,
whether it be the owner, trainer, or other person charged.

1.  A Commission representative and the
owner, trainer, or other responsible person or a
representative of the persons notified under these Rules and
Regulations may be present at the time of the opening,
repackaging, and testing of the "secondary" sample to ensure
its identity and that the testing is satisfactorily performed.

2.  The referee laboratory shall be informed of
the initial findings of the Commission chemist prior to the
making the test.

3.  If the finding of the referee laboratory is
proven to be of sufficient reliability and does not confirm the
finding of the initial test performed by the Commission
chemist and in the absence of other independent proof of the
administration of a prohibited drug to the horse in question,
it shall be concluded that there is insubstantial evidence upon
which to charge anyone with a violation.

(l)  The Commission veterinarian shall be
responsible for safeguarding all specimens while in his
possession and shall cause the specimens to be delivered
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only to the Commission chemist as soon as the possible after
sealing, in a manner so as not to reveal the identity of a horse
from which the sample was taken.

(m)  If an Act of God, power failure, accident,
strike or other action beyond the control of the Commission
occurs, the results of the primary official test shall be
accepted as prima facie evidence.

15.11  Commission Chemist:
The Commission's Chemist, who shall be a member of

the Association of Official Racing Chemists, shall conduct
tests on specimens provided him in order to detect and
identify prohibited substances therein and report on such in
such a manner, and according to such procedures, as the
Commission from time to time may approve and/or
prescribe.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 
Section 122, 7906 (16 Del.C. 122, 7906)

ADOPTION OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE RULES 
AND REGULATIONS GOVERNING A DETAILED 

PLUMBING CODE

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”)
initiated proceedings to adopt Rules and Regulations
Governing the State of Delaware Regulations Governing a
Detailed Plumbing Code.  The DHSS’s proceedings to adopt
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed by 16 Delaware
Code, Chapter 79.

On March 1, 2001 (Volume 4, Issue 9), DHSS published
in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice of
proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115.  It requested that written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations be
delivered to DHSS by April 1, 2001, or be presented at a
public hearing on March 23, 2001, after which time DHSS
would review information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed regulations.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

No verbal comments were received during the public
hearing and no written comments were received during the
official public comment period.  The public comment period
was open from March 1, 2001 to April 1, 2001.  Verifying

documents are attached to the Hearing Officer’s record.  The
regulation has been reviewed and approved by the Delaware
Attorney General’s office.

The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as
set forth in the attached copy should be adopted in the best
interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the State of
Delaware proposed Rules And Regulations Governing a
Detailed Plumbing Code are adopted and shall become
effective May 11, 2001, after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

April 16, 2001, VINCENT P. MECONI, SECRETARY

* PLEASE NOTE:  THE TEXT OF THE FINAL REGULATION

“A DETAILED PLUMBING CODE” IS UNCHANGED FROM

THE PROPOSED REGULATION.  THEREFORE, THE REGULA-
TION IS NOT BEING REPRINTED.  PLEASE REFER TO 4 DE
REG. 1447 (03/01/01) FOR THE TEXT OF THE REGULATION.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Chapters 97, 98 (16 Del.C. Ch. 97, 98)

ADOPTION OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE RULES 
AND REGULATIONS GOVERNING AIR MEDICAL 

AMBULANCE SERVICES

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”)
initiated proceedings to adopt Rules and Regulations
Governing the State of Delaware Air Medical Ambulance
Services.  The DHSS’s proceedings to adopt regulations
were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Chapter 101
and authority as prescribed by 16 Delaware Code, Chapter
97 and Chapter 98.

On March 1, 2001 (Volume 4, Issue 9), DHSS published
in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice of
proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115.  It requested that written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations be
delivered to DHSS by March 31, 2001, or be presented at a
public hearing on March 26, 2000, after which time DHSS
would review information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed regulations.

Verbal and written comments were received and
evaluated.  The results of that evaluation are summarized in
the accompanying “Summary of Evidence.”

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dph/index.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dph/index.htm
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FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as
set forth in the attached copy should be adopted in the best
interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.

The proposed regulations include modifications from
those published in the March 1, 2001, Register of
Regulations, based on comments received during the public
notice period.  These modifications are deemed not to be
substantive in nature.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
Rules And Regulations Governing The State of Delaware
Air Medical Ambulance Services are adopted and shall
become effective May 11, 2001, after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations. 

April 16, 2001, VINCENT P. MECONI, SECRETARY

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE

STATE OF DELAWARE RULES AND 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING AIR MEDICAL 

AMBULANCE SERVICES

A public hearing was held on March 26, 2001, at 10:00
AM, in the conference room of the Delaware Office of
Emergency Medical Services (OEMS), Blue Hen Corporate
Center, Suite 4-H, 655 Bay Road, Dover, Delaware, before
David P. Walton, Hearing Officer, to discuss the proposed
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) Rules and
Regulations Governing Air Medical Ambulance Services.
The announcement regarding the public hearing was
advertised in the Delaware State News, the News Journal
and the Delaware Register of Regulations in accordance with
Delaware Law.  Ms. Mary Sue Jones from the Office of
Emergency Medical Services, Division of Public Health,
made the agency’s presentation.  Attendees were allowed
and encouraged to discuss and ask questions regarding all
sections of the proposed regulations.  Public testimony was
given at the public hearing and one letter was received
commenting on the proposed regulations during the
comment period.  That letter was from the Delaware
Healthcare Association. A second letter was received from
the Delaware Volunteer Firemen’s Association (DVFA).
The DVFA letter was dated (April 3, 2001) and received
after the public comment period ended (March 1 - March 31,
2001).  All public comments and the DHSS (Agency)
responses are as follows:

• A clarification question was asked about the
type of refresher training required by the regu-
lations.

Agency Response: According to the regulations

(Appendix A, C.1), 48 hours of continuing education related
to the job that is done in the aircraft must be completed every
two years.  Training will include topics specific to air
medical operations as well as any aspect of the clinical care
provided in this environment. 

• Definition/clarification of an “unusual circum-
stance” used for launching an aircraft other
than Delaware State Police for scene responses
(page 25, paragraph (d)).

Agency Response: The actual language in
paragraph (d) on page 25, “unusual conditions” was left as
originally written with the intent that the conditions
considered ‘unusual’ be defined through policy in a service
agreement developed between DSP, Division of Public
Health (DPH) and air medical ambulance services.  This
would permit an air medical ambulance service to be utilized
for prehospital service without DSP involvement on the
scene (for example when DSP is unavailable for
maintenance or are committed on another response).

As a result of this comment, paragraph (d) on page
25 of the regulation will be amended as follows for
clarification purposes.

The first sentence of paragraph (d) is amended to
read:

“Air medical ambulance services, other than DSP,
may engage in prehospital scene responses and
transports under certain unusual conditions that
will be defined in a service agreement with the
Division and DSP.” 

The last sentence of paragraph (d) is amended to
read:

“To perform prehospital scene responses and
transports, an air medical ambulance service
must have previously entered into a service
agreement with the Division and the Delaware State
Police.”

• Concern about the Delaware Paramedic Stand-
ing Orders being addressed on page 38, X.C, but
education to familiarize providers with the
Standing Orders is not addressed on page 46
(Educational Requirements).

Agency Response: The educational requirements in
Appendix A (page 45) are very generic in nature (i.e.
respiratory emergencies or toxicology).  Although not
specifically addressed, the opening paragraph of Appendix
A identifies state requirements and medical direction as an
initial education requirement for any air medical ambulance
service.  State requirements include Delaware standing
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orders/medical protocols.  In addition, an orientation to the
Delaware protocols would also be needed to pass a protocol
exam as part of an out of state paramedic gaining reciprocity
(for Delaware certification as an Advanced Life Support
provider).

• There was a concern that the language on page
25, paragraph (d) allows the county paramedic
service to request an air medical ambulance air-
craft.  This may be contradictory to the Fire
Chief’s Law, which states that the fire chief is
the incident commander at that scene.

Agency Response: The language on page 25,
paragraph (d) could be interpreted as contradictory to the
statute that identifies the fire chief as the incident
commander.  The contradiction between the statute and the
authority identified in the original regulation was identified
and addressed on page 25, paragraph (e) – “All requests for
air medical services, other than the DSP, must be initiated by
the emergency communications center responsible for
managing or coordinating Emergency Medical Services
resources in the county where the need for assistance exists.”

To clarify this paragraph, DHSS will delete the words
“…when requested by a county paramedic service.” in
paragraph (d), page 25.  Paragraph (d) is intended to identify
when a non-DSP service can be requested.  Paragraph (e),
page 25 is intended to state who the request should come
through (i.e. the communication center).  This change will
not conflict with the Fire Chief's statute.

• Will air medical transport based in other states
be required to meet Delaware’s certification
standards if they are transporting patients to
and from Delaware hospitals.  We would appre-
ciate clarification regarding this issue and would
support the inclusion of language in the regula-
tions that would require such certification.

Agency Response: Two areas of the regulations
address this concern.  In Section V (Staffing), A.2. a) (4)
(page 23) this is addressed stating that “The paramedic on
such missions (Interhospital/interfacility), must be a
Delaware certified paramedic, functioning in accordance
with the Board of Medical Practice Regulations.”
Additionally, the Advanced Life Support Interfacility
Transportation Regulations (03/01) apply to any ALS
transport service, including air ambulances, unless
specifically exempted in Section III (General Provisions) of
those regulations.  Therefore, the paramedics on the aircraft
will have met the same standards that are applied to the rest
of the paramedics functioning in the State.

If the question is in regard to air medical transport
programs rather than personnel needing to meet Delaware’s

certification standards, reference II.C., page 6:  “Air
ambulance services that provide transport (service) within
the state of Delaware, or interstate transport (services) that
originate in Delaware, shall be subject to all parts of these
regulations.”  The sentence may be clearer to understand
with the above notations.  The revisions to the existing
regulations had no intent to alter the previously existing
application to out-of-state programs flying into Delaware.
Both personnel and the air medical ambulance service will
be certified to operate in Delaware.

• It was recommended that language used in para-
graph (e) on page 25, specifically ‘emergency
communications center responsible for manag-
ing or coordinating Emergency Medical Services
resources in the county where the need for assis-
tance exists’ (be utilized in paragraph (d)).

Agency Response: By deleting the words “…when
requested by a county paramedic service.” in paragraph (d),
page 25, as a result of the previous comment, the concern
leading to this comment is no longer applicable.

• In paragraph (f) of page 25, it was recommended
that the words Advanced Life Support be
inserted into the proposed language:  “….by the
ground advanced life support emergency medi-
cal services….”

Agency Response: After careful review of this
comment and the intent of paragraph (f) on page 25, the
Office of Emergency Medical Services within the Division
of Public Health decided they could facilitate the completion
of this report electronically, by including it in the Emergency
Data Information Network (EDIN) system.

As a result of this comment, the words, "or
electronic" will be inserted into the first sentence of
paragraph (f), page 25, between the words “written” and
“report.” Making this change will facilitate the completion
of this report by the ground EMS service.

In addition to changes recommended in this Summary
of Evidence, minor grammatical corrections were made to
the draft regulations.

The public comment period was open from March 1,
2001 to March 31, 2001.

Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing
Officer’s record.  The regulation has been approved by the
Delaware Attorney General’s office and the Cabinet
Secretary of DHSS.
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REGULATIONS FOR AIR MEDICAL AMBULANCE 
SERVICES

Definitions

ABEM  American Board of Emergency Medicine

ABOEM  American Board of Osteopathic Emergency
Medicine

ACLS  (Advanced Cardiac Life Support) A syllabus and
certification of the American Heart Association (AHA).

AIRCRAFT TYPE Particular make and model of
helicopter or airplane.

AIR MEDICAL SERVICE  A company or entity of a
hospital or public service which provides air transportation
to patients requiring medical care. This term may be used
interchangeably with the term "air medical program"
throughout the document.

AIR MEDICAL PERSONNEL  Refers only to the patient
care personnel involved in an air medical transport.

AIR MEDICAL TEAM  Refers to the pilot(s) and patient
care personnel who are involved in an air medical transport.

ALS MISSION  The transport of a patient who receives care
during an interfacility or scene response commensurate with
the scope of practice of an EMT-Paramedic.

ALS PROVIDER  A certified provider of skills required for
advanced life support.

ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support)  A syllabus and
certification offered to physicians by the American College
of Surgeons.

BLS MISSION  The transport of a patient who receives care
during an interfacility or scene response that is
commensurate with the scope of practice of an EMT-B.

BLS PROVIDER  A certified provider of skills required for
basic life support.

BTLS (Basic Trauma Life Support) A syllabus offered by
the American College of Emergency Physicians to provide a
standard of care for the prehospital trauma victim.

CERTIFICATE Signifies a pilot level of competency, i.e.,
student, private, commercial. It can also refer to the type of
service a company is qualified to provide under Federal
Aviation Regulations.

CONSORTIUM PROGRAM  An air medical service
sponsored by more than one health care facility or entity.

CONTINUOUS QUALITY IMPROVEMENT (CQI)
CQI is a management strategy that integrates dedication to a
quality product into every aspect of the service; it brings
together a variety of personnel and management tools to
examine the sources of problems within the system. CQI
seeks to establish and remedy the root cause of problems by
identifying and correcting the system's errors, rather than
ascribing fault to individuals.

CONTROLLED AIR SPACE  Air space designated as
continental control area, terminal control area, or transition
area within which some or all aircraft may be subject to air
traffic control.

CRITICAL CARE MISSION  The transport of a patient
from an emergency department or critical care unit (or scene,
RW) who receives care commensurate with the scope of
practice of a physician or registered nurse.

CROSS COUNTRY (CC)  Generally when the destination
is greater than 25 nautical miles from the departure point or
as designated by a geographic boundary.

The DSP cross country is 25 nautical miles outside of
the state of Delaware.

DSP  Delaware State Police

ELECTIVE TRANSPORTS  Air medical transports that
may not be medically necessary but are done for patient or
physician preference; these often are fixed wing, prepaid
scheduled transports.

ELT (Emergency locator transmitter)  A radio transmitter
attached to the aircraft structure which is designed to locate a
downed aircraft without human action after an accident.

FAA  Federal Aviation Administration

FAR  Federal Aviation Regulation.

HEAD-STRIKE ENVELOPE  The volume of air space
which a person's head would potentially move through
during any abrupt aircraft motion.

HELIPAD  A small, designated area usually with a prepared
surface, on an airport, landing/take-off area, or apron/ramp
used for take-off, landing or parking helicopters.

HOT LOAD/UNLOAD  The loading or unloading of
patient(s) or equipment with rotors turning.
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IABP (Intra aortic balloon pump)  A cardiac assist
machine which can be retrofitted into some types of aircraft.

IFR  Instrument Flight Rules

INSTALLED EQUIPMENT  Includes all items or systems
on the aircraft at the time of certification and any items or
systems subsequently added to the aircraft with FAA
approval through a Supplemental Type Certificate (STC),
FAA Form 8110 or Form 337 action.

IMC  Instrument meteorological conditions.
INDEPENDENT PROGRAM  Referring to an air medical
service not sponsored by a hospital and operating under its
own FAA certificate.

INFECTION CONTROL  An approach to reducing the
risk of disease transmission to care takers, patients and
others

LOCAL Day-local: Less than 25 nautical miles from
departure point to destination point with generally the same
terrain elevation.

Night-Local: The urban area of the helicopter
base with enough illumination to maintain ground reference.

The DSP local is within the State of Delaware and
less than 25 nautical miles outside the State of Delaware.

MODALITIES  Treatment plans and equipment used in the
delivery of patient care.

PERSONNEL, SCHEDULED  Staff employed by the air
medical service with scheduled working hours during which
air medical transport is their primary responsibility.  This
includes those who take call for the primary purpose of being
available for air medical transport.

PERSONNEL, NON-SCHEDULED  Staff employed in
patient care roles by another department or facility who have
received the helicopter orientation and may  be utilized as a
second crew member, particularly during a specialty
transport

PHTLS  Prehospital Trauma Life Support: A course offered
by the American College of Surgeons to provide a standard
of care for the prehospital victim.

PIC  Pilot in command.

QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA)  QA is a process of
reviewing the quality of care delivered through the
examination of known or potential problems. It measures the
degree of compliance of the service’s personnel with
established standards.

SPECIALTY CARE MISSION  The transport of a patient
who requires care by professionals who can be added to the
regularly scheduled personnel.

SPECIALTY CARE PROVIDER  A provider of specialty
care, such as neonatal, pediatric, etc.

VFR  Visual Flight Rules.

I. Purpose
The purpose of these regulations is to provide minimum

standards for the operation of Air Medical Ambulance
Services in the State of Delaware. It is the further intent of
these regulations to ensure that patients are quickly and
safely served with a high standard of care and in a cost-
effective manner.

II. General Provisions
A. No person or agency (governmental or private) may

operate, conduct, maintain, advertise, engage in or profess to
engage in air ambulance services in Delaware unless the
agency or person holds a current valid certificate issued by
the Division of Public Health (the Division).

B. Air ambulance services will provide access to its
services without discrimination due to race, creed, sex, color,
age, religion, national origin, ancestry, or handicap
disability. Requests for service for those patients with a
potentially life threatening illness or injury, who require
rapid transportation, will be honored without prior inquiry as
to the patient’s ability to pay.

C. Air ambulance services based outside of Delaware
that provide intra or inter Delaware patient transfers
transport services within the state of Delaware, or interstate
transport services that originate in Delaware shall be subject
to all parts of these regulations, unless covered by mutual aid
agreements entered into with the Division of Public Health,
in conjunction with other applicable state laws.

D. All air ambulance services operated by hospitals
licensed by the Department of Health and Social Services
(the Department) will be subject to all parts of these
regulations. A permit will be issued to approve air
ambulance services operated by hospitals.

E. Pre-hospital scene works shall be conducted only
by air ambulance services owned and operated by the State
of Delaware, or private air ambulance services which have
entered into appropriate agreements to provide such pre-
hospital scene work with the Division of Public Health.

III. Application Process
A. An application for a certificate to operate an air

ambulance service may be obtained from the Division of
Public Health (the Division), Office of Paramedic
Administration Emergency Medical Services (the Office).
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An application for an original or renewal certificate shall be
submitted to the Office and shall include the following:

1. Name and address of the vendor of the
ambulance service or proposed air ambulance service and
the name and address under which the service will operate.

2. Name, address and FAA (Federal Aviation
Administration) certification number of the aircraft operator.

3. Submission of the air medical service’s
mission statement and scope of service to be provided.

4. Experience and qualifications of the applicant
to operate an air ambulance service.

5. Description of each aircraft to be used as an air
ambulance, including the make, model, year of manufacture,
registration number, name, monogram or other
distinguishing designation and FAA air worthiness
certification.

6. The geographical service area and the location
and description of the places from which the air ambulance
services is to operate.

7. Name, training, and qualifications of the air
ambulance medical director who is responsible for medical
care provided by the service.

8. Roster of medical personnel which includes
level of certification or licensure.

9. Roster of pilots including training and
qualifications.

10 Statement in which the applicant agrees to
provide patient specific data to the Division for EMS system
quality management program purposes.

11. Other information the Division deems
necessary and prescribes as part of the application.

B. Change of ownership of the air ambulance service
requires re-application for certification. An air ambulance
certificate holder shall file with the Division an application
for renewal of the air ambulance service certificate within 10
business days of acquisition of the service by the new owner.

IV. Certification Process
Within 30 days of receipt of an appropriately completed

application from the proposed air ambulance service, the
Office will notify the applicant in writing of the approval or
disapproval of the application.

A. Certification Approval
1. The Division will issue a certificate to operate

an air ambulance service after an on-site inspection and
review conducted by the Office indicates that the applicant’s
service is in compliance with these regulations and other
applicable laws.

2. No certificate to operate an air ambulance
service shall be issued unless the applicant satisfies the
Division that the certification requirements for the air
ambulance, medical supplies and equipment, as well as the
qualifications of medical and operating personnel, as
discussed herein, have been satisfied.

3. Certification will be granted only to services
that meet all Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR’s) specific
to the operations of the air medical service.

4. A certificate will be issued for three years from
the date of issue and will remain valid for that time period
unless revoked or suspended by the Division.

5. The current certificate shall be posted in a
conspicuous place in the air ambulance operations center and
on, or in, the aircraft where it is clearly visible.

B. Denial of Certification
1. If the Division determines that deficiencies

exist which warrant disapproval denial of the application,
written notice identifying the deficiencies will be given to
the applicant along with the disapproval notice the air
medical service shall be provided a list of these deficiencies
in writing.

2. The applicant shall have 30 days from receipt
of the disapproval notice in which to:

a) Respond to the Division with plans to
correct the deficiencies.

(1) After review of an acceptable plan,
the Division will conduct a re-inspection consistent with an
agreed upon time frame.

(2) If the Division is satisfied with the
results of the re-inspection, The Division will promptly issue
a certificate of approval. If the Division determines that
deficiencies still exist, the Division will give the applicant
written notice of disapproval, which shall identify
deficiencies. The applicant shall have 30 days from receipt
of the second refusal notice in which to appeal the decision
to the Secretary of the Department of Health and Social
Services (the Department) or his designee request a review
of their application and accompanying documents by the
Director of the Division of Public Health or their designee.

(a) If the result is a denial of
application, the applicant may not reapply for a period of six
(6) months.

or
(b) Appeal the decision to the

Secretary of the Department
C. Renewal

1. The Division will notify the air ambulance
service at least 90 days prior to the expiration date of the
certification.

2. 1. The service shall submit to the Division the
renewal application postmarked at least 60 days prior to the
expiration date of the certificate.

3. 2. The criteria for certification renewal is are the
same as the current requirements for original certification.

D. Inspections
1. The Division reserves the right to enter and

make inspections at least quarterly and shall conduct, at a
minimum, an annual inspection to ensure compliance with
these regulations. Additional inspections may be conducted



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 11, TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2001

1833

upon receipt of a complaint to the Division of Public Health
or if there is a reasonable belief that violations may exist.

2. Upon request of an agent of the Division
during regular business hours, or at other times when a
reasonable belief that violations of these regulations may
exist, a certificate holder shall produce for inspection, the air
ambulance, equipment, personnel and other such items as is
determined by the Division’s agent.

3. Within 30 days of the inspection, the air
ambulance service shall be nottified as to the result of the
inspection.

4 3. All records pertaining to the operation of the
air medical service must be retained for a minimum of two
(2) years.

E. Investigatory Procedures
1. Upon receipt of a written complaint describing

specific violations of these regulations the Division will:
a) Initiate an investigation of the specific

changes charges.
b) Notify the air ambulance service of the

charges and investigation procedures.
c) Conduct and develop a written report of

the investigation.
d. Notify the air ambulance service in writing

of the results of the investigation with a request for a written
response.

e. The Division will conduct an appropriate
follow-up investigation.

2. If the Division determines that these
regulations have been violated, the Division may suspend
certification for a period of up to 30 days. The Division may
revoke certification for repeated violations.

3. Upon suspension or revocation of an air
ambulance certificate, the service shall cease operations and
no person may permit or cause the service to continue.

4. The Division will provide public notification of
suspension, including length of suspension period or
revocation of an air ambulance service certificate.

F. Grounds for Suspension, Revocation or Refusal of
an Air Ambulance Certification

1. The Division may, in compliance with proper
administrative procedure as provided by law, suspend,
revoke or refuse to issue certificates for the following
reasons:

1. a) A serious violation of these regulations. A
serious violation is one  which that poses a significant threat
to the health and safety to  of the public.

2. b) Failure of the certified party or applicant
to submit a reasonable timetable plan to the Division to
correct deficiencies and violations cited by the Division by
the deadline requested by the Division.

(1) The plan must correct the deficiencies
within the timeframe specified by the Division.

3. c) The existence of a continuing pattern of

deficiencies or violations over a period of 3  three (3) or
more years.

4. d) Fraud or deceit in obtaining or attempting
to obtain certification.

5. e) Lending a certificate or borrowing or
using the certificate of another, or knowingly aiding or
abetting the improper granting of a certificate.

6. f) Incompetence, negligence or misconduct
in operating the air ambulance service or in providing
emergency medical services (EMS) to patients.

7. g) Failure to employ or contract for a
medical director responsible for the care provided by the air
ambulance service.

8. h) Failure to have appropriate medical
equipment and supplies required for certification.

9. i) Failure of the air ambulance service to
have an aircraft equipped in compliance with these
regulations.

10. j) Failure of the aircraft operator to
maintain required FAA certifications.

11. k) Failure to employ a sufficient number of
certified or licensed personnel to provide services during the
time frames identified in the application and approved
certification.

12. l) Failure of the air ambulance service to be
available during time periods specified upon in the approved
certification. Exceptions to this requirement include unsafe
weather conditions, commitment to another flight, grounding
due to maintenance or other reasons that would prevent
commitment to another flight, grounding due to maintenance
or other reasons that would prevent response. The air
medical service shall maintain a record of each failure to
respond to a request for service, and make the record
available upon request to the Division. Financial inability to
pay does not constitute sufficient grounds to deny response
for emergency air service.

13. m) Failure of an air ambulance service to
notify the Division of the change of ownership or aircraft
operation.

14. n)  Abuse or abandonment of a patient.
15. o) Unauthorized disclosure of medical or

other confidential information.
16. p) Willful preparation or filing of false

medical reports or records, or the inducement of another to
do so.

17. q)  Destruction of medical records.
18. r) Refusal to render EMS emergency

medical services because of a patient’s race, sex, creed,
national origin, sexual preference, age, handicap disability,
medical problem or financial inability to pay.

19. s) Misuse or misappropriation of drugs/
medications.

20. t) Failure to produce requested records for
inspection or to permit examination of equipment and
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facilities shall be grounds for suspension, revocation or
denial of certification provided, however, that not certificate
shall be suspended, revoked or denied for a period not to
exceed sixty days in the event that a dispute regarding the
production of such records exists and remains unresolved,
except that such suspension or revocation may occur within
the sixty day period if the Division determines that such
action is necessary to prevent a clear and immediate danger
to public health.

21. u) Other reasons as determined by the
Division which pose a significant threat to the health and
safety of the public.

2. If the Division determines that these
regulations have been violated, the Division may: 

a) Place the service on probation until the
deficiency is remedied and accepted by the Division. 

(1) This will include a timeframe and
method by which the service must demonstrate the
deficiency or violation rectified.

(2) If an air medical service is unable to
demonstrate that the deficiency or violation has been
rectified within the specified timeframe it must submit a
written progress report to the Director of Public Health
requesting a deadline extension.

(a) Failure to comply will result in
the ‘Probation’ status being changed to ‘Suspension’.

(b) Failure to correct the deficiencies
or violations within the extension period will result in
suspension of the certificate.

b) Suspend certification for a period of up to
30 days. 

(1) In circumstances where an alleged
violation poses an immediate threat to public health is being
investigated, the certification may be suspended during the
investigation.

(2) The Division must investigate the
violation and issue a written report containing the findings of
the investigation 

(a) The report must describe the
deficiencies or violations that must be corrected in order to
reinstate certification. 

(b) A hearing must be scheduled
within thirty (30) days of the date of suspension.

(3) Upon suspension or revocation of an
air ambulance certificate, the service shall cease operations
and no person may permit or cause the service to continue.

(4) The air medical service must correct
any deficiencies identified to be an immediate danger to
public health within the suspension period.

(a) All other deficiencies or
violations may be addressed in a correction plan submitted to
the Division.

(b) The status of the air medical
service certificate will be changed to ‘Provisional’ for

implementation of the corrective plan. 
c) Revoke certification.

(1) Violations or deficiencies that
resulted in a ‘Suspension’ status and have not been rectified
pursuant to the requirements of those sections will result in
the revocation of the air medical service’s certificate.

(2) A hearing will be scheduled within
thirty (30) days of the date of revocation.

d) Continue current certificate status.
e) The Division will provide public

notification of their decisions involving probation,
suspension-including the length of suspension period, or
revocation of an air ambulance service certificate.

G. Emergency Suspension
1. Where the complaint alleges a violation of these

regulations that constitute a serious and imminent threat to
the public safety, the Division may order immediate
suspension of the alleged violator’s certification. Upon such
emergency suspension, the Division shall promptly
investigate and issue a written report.

G. Reinstatement Process
1. When an air medical service has corrected a

problem that has resulted in suspension or revocation of their
certificate, it shall notify the Division of Public Health in
writing, requesting reinstatement.

2. Based on the recommendations of the Division,
a review will be arranged to verify resolution of the problem. 

3. Outcomes of the review will be:
a) Reinstatement of certification
b) Continuation of suspension or revocation.

H. Right of Appeal
Any air ambulance provider who’s application or

reapplication for certification has been denied or who’s
certification has been revoked or suspended may appeal to
the Secretary of the Department within thirty (30) days of
receipt of notice of such denial, suspension or revocation.
The Secretary or his designee will conduct a hearing on the
Division’s action. The Division’s actions shall not be
automatically stayed during the pendency of the appeal.Any
air ambulance provider who’s application or reapplication
for certification has been denied or who’s certification has
been revoked or suspended may appeal to the Secretary of
the Department within thirty (30) days of reciept of notice of
such denial, suspension or revocation. The Secretary or his
designee will conduct a hearing on the Division’s action.
The Division’s actions shall not be automatically stayed
during the pendency of the appeal.

1. Any air medical ambulance service that has
their certification revoked or suspended may appeal the
decision.

2. Written notification of the intent to appeal must
be received by the Director of Public Health within thirty
(30) days of receipt of notice of such denial, suspension or
revocation. 
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3. The Director or their designee will conduct a
hearing on the Division’s action.

4. Information pertinent to the case will be
presented by a member of the Division’s investigation
committee (or the Office of EMS) and a representative of the
air medical service.

5. The hearing panel will make a
recommendation to the Director that the decision stand, be
reversed, or modified.

a) Specific recommendation for modification
shall be outlined.

6. The Director of Public Health will make a
decision based on the hearing panel’s recommendations and
will provide written notification of the action to the air
medical service.

7. The Division’s action shall not be
automatically stayed during the pendency of the appeal.

I. Voluntary Discontinuation of Service
1. Certified Air Ambulance Services may not

voluntarily discontinue service until ninety (90) days after
the certificate holder notifies the Division in writing that the
service is to be discontinued.

2. The Air Ambulance Service shall notify the
Division in advance of anticipated temporary
discontinuation of service expected to last at least seven (7)
consecutive days.

V. Staffing
A. Air Medical Personnel Classifications

The aircraft, by virtue of medical staffing and retrofitting of
medical equipment, becomes a patient care unit specific to
the needs of the patient. Staffing shall be commensurate with
the mission statement and scope of care of the air medical
service.

1. Administrative Air Medical Staff
a) Medical Director

The Medical Director of the program is a
physician who is responsible for supervising and evaluating
the quality of medical care provided by the air medical
personnel.

(1) Credentials/Experience
(a) The Medical Director shall be

licensed and authorized to practice medicine in the state in
which the air medical service is based. The medical director
must have educational and clinical experiences in
Emergency Medicine as well as other areas of medicine that
are commensurate with the mission statement of the air
medical service (e.g., adult trauma, pediatrics, neonatal
transport, etc.). When specific missions fall outside the
scope of expertise of the medical director, specialty care
physicians must serve as consultants.

(b) The medical director shall be
experienced in both air and ground emergency medical
services (as appropriate to the mission statement) and be

familiar with the general concepts of appropriate utilization
of air medical services.

(c) Additionally, the medical director
shall have the following educational experiences as
appropriateto the mission statement and scope of care of the
air medical service:

(i) Certification by the
American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM), or
currency in Advanced Life Support (ACLS) according to
current standards of the American Heart Association and
currency in Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS)
according to the current standards of the American College
of Surgeons.

(ii) Specialty education
consistent with the mission statement of the air medical
service (e.g., Neonatal Resuscitation Certification Program,
Pediatric Advanced Life Support, etc. or equivalent
education in these areas).  Alternately, the medical directors
must have immediate access to specialty physicians as
consultants.

(iii) In-flight patient care
capabilities and limitations (e.g., assessment and invasive
procedures).

(iv) Infection control as it relates
to prehospital, aircraft and hospital environment.

(v) Stress recognition and
management.

(vi)   Altitude physiology/
stressors of flight.

(c) Additionally, the medical director
shall have  the following educational experiences as
appropriate to the mission statement and scope of care of the
air medical service:

(d) The Medical Director shall also
have education in the following areas:

(i) Specialty education
consistent with the mission statement of the air medical
service (e.g., Neonatal Resuscitation Certification Program,
Pediatric Advanced Life Support, etc. or equivalent
education in these areas). Alternately, the medical directors
must have immediate access to specialty physicians as
consultants.

(ii) In-flight patient care
capabilities and limitations (e.g., assessment and invasive
procedures).

(iii) Infection control as it relates
to prehospital, aircraft and hospital environment.

(iv) Stress recognition and
management.

(v) Altitude physiology/stressors
of flight.

(2) General Areas of Responsibility
(a) The medical director must be

actively involved in the quality assurance/continuous quality
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improvement (QA/CQI) program for the service.
(b) The medical director must be

involved in administrative decisions affecting medical care
for the service.

(c) The medical director must be
involved in training and continuing education of all air
medical personnel for the service.

(d) The medical director is must be
actively involved in the care of critically ill and/or injured
patients.

(e) The medical director must be
actively involved in orienting physicians providing on line
(in-flight) medical direction to the policies, procedures and
patient care protocols of the air medical service.

(f) When applicable, the medical
director or his designee sets cabin air pressure altitude limits,
for specific disease processes of the patient(s) (through
policies and procedures) and maximum altitudes, for specific
disease processes of the patient(s) for rotor wing transports.

b) Clinical Care Supervisor
The responsibility for supervision of patient care provided
by the various clinical care providers (e.g., EMT-B, EMT-P,
RN, etc.) will be the responsibility of the medical director,
unless the responsibilities are assigned to another
professional (flight nurse, flight physician, or flight
paramedic) who possesses the knowledge, experience and is
legally qualified to provide clinical supervision.

(1) Credentials/Experience
The clinical care supervisor must have

possess the following qualifications: 
(a) ABEM certified or currency in

CPR, ACLS, and ATLS for physicians.
(a) If the clinical care supervisor is a

Physician:
(i) ABEM, or ABOEM certified

or currency in CPR, ACLS, and Advanced Trauma Life
Support (ATLS).

(b) Currency in CPR, ACLS, and
Flight Nurses Advanced Trauma Courses (may audit ATLS
for nurses)

(b) If the clinical care supervisor is a
Registered Nurse:

(i) Currency in CPR, ACLS and
the Flight Nurse Advanced Trauma Course (FNATC).

(a) ATLS may be audited in
lieu of FNATC.

(c) Currency in SPR, ACLS, and
PHTLS or BTLS for paramedics

(c) If the clinical care supervisor is a
Paramedic: 

(i) Currency in CPR, ACLS,
and PHTLS or BTLS (Advanced).

(d) Current specialty education
consistent with the mission statement of the air medical

service (i.e., Neonatal Resuscitation Certification Program,
Pediatric Advanced Life Support, etc.).  Alternatively, the
clinical care supervisor must have immediate access to
specialty personnel as consultants.

(e) In-flight patient care limitations,
e.g., assessment and invasive procedures

(f) Infection control
(g) Stress recognition and

management
(h) Altitude physiology/stressors of

flight
(i.) Appropriate utilization of air

medical services
(j) Emergency Medical Services

(helicopter services)
(k) Hazardous materials scene

recognition and response (helicopter services)
(d) General Requirements regardless

of provider level:
(i) Current specialty education

consistent with the mission statement of the air medical
service (i.e., Neonatal Resuscitation Certification Program,
Pediatric Advanced Life Support, etc.). Alternatively, the
clinical care supervisor must have immediate access to
specialty personnel as consultants.

(ii) In-flight patient care
limitations, e.g., assessment and invasive procedures.

(iii) Infection control.
(iv) Stress recognition and

management.
(v) Altitude physiology/stressors

of flight.
(vi) Appropriate utilization of air

medical services.
(vii)Delaware Emergency

Medical Services system. 
(viii)Hazardous materials scene

recognition and response (helicopter services).
(2) General Areas of Responsibility

(a) The clinical supervisor is actively
involveds Active involvement in the flight program’s QA/
CQI program process.

(b) The clinical supervisor is actively
involved Active involvement in all administrative decisions
affecting patient care for the service.

(c) The clinical care supervisor is
actively involved Active involvement in hiring, training, and
continuing education of all non-physician air medical
personnel for the service.

(d) The clinical care supervisor is
actively involved Active involvement in the care of the
critically ill and/or injured patients.

(e) Ensuring adequate mechanisms
are in place for evaluating the clinical practice of the patient
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care providers.
2. Direct Care Providers

a) General
(1) The type of medical care providers

staffing each mission shall be directly related to the mission
type: advanced life support mission, specialty care mission
or basic life support mission.

(2) All medical care providers must have
current appropriate state licensure or certification which
legally shows allows them to function in their respective
professions.

(3) Initial and continuing education
requirements for all levels of medical care providers are
specified in Appendix A.

a) [b) Advanced Life Support (ALS) Mission
Providers

An Advanced Life Support (ALS)
mission is defined as the transport of a patient who
receives care during a prehospital or interfacility/
interhospital transport that is commensurate with the
scope of practice of a flight physician, flight nurse or
flight paramedic.]

(4) Interhospital/Interfacility Transports
(a) A minimum of two (2) air

medical team members are required to staff interhospital/
interfacility ALS missions. One of the air medical ALS
providers must be a member of the regular ALS staff of the
air medical ambulance service.

(b) All air medical team members
must be licensed, certified, or permitted according to the
appropriate state regulations with current re-licensing,
recertification, or re-permitting status.

(c) A qualified flight physician or
flight nurse must be designated as the primary care provider
during interfacility or interhospital transports.

(d) A flight paramedic or an
approved flight specialty care provider may serve as the
second ALS air medical team during an interfacility or
interhospital ALS mission.

(2) (i) The specialty care provider
must have expertise relative to the needs of the patient.

(3) (ii) The paramedic, on such
missions, must:

(a) Be a State of Delaware
certified paramedic, currently on duty with the Delaware
State Police paramedic service, or a paramedic on duty with
an out of state air medical ambulance service that is certified
to function in the State of Delaware.

(a) Be a State of Delaware
certified paramedic, functioning in accordance with the
Board of Medical Practice Regulations.

(b) Function according to
the statewide standard treatment protocol or under the
direction of an authorized medical control physician for that

service.
(c) One ALS air medical

care provider may be considered sufficient staff for ALS
missions, where the patient has been categorized and
documented as being stable, by the sending physician, and
requires ‘limited ALS care’.

(i) ‘Limited ALS care’
shall mean patient assess ment, monitoring and interventions
common to, and within the scope of practice of the
paramedic. Patients may require cardiac monitoring and/or
intravenous therapy (without medication additives).

(ii) An approved A
flight paramedic or RN may serve as the single care provider
for the transport of stable ALS patients who meet the criteria
as described below. established by the operation or agency
medical director.

(5) Prehospital Scene Responses
(a) Except as provided below, the

Delaware State Police (DSP) paramedic service is the only
primary air medical service authorized to engage in
prehospital scene responses and transports in the State of
Delaware.

(b) A DSP A DSP The flight
paramedic will function as the primary care provider during
all suchsuch scene response missions.

(b)  A flight paramedic must be a crew
member on all prehospital missions.

(i) The Aeromedical crew
assumes patient care responsibility at the time the patient is
secured on the aircraft. 

(c) Non-scheduled personnel may be
added as the second medical team member according to the
protocols of the air medical services as long as an orientation
has been conducted which includes in-flight treatment
protocols, general aircraft safety, emergency procedures,
operational policies, and infection control.

(d) Air medical ambulance services,
other than DSP, may engage in prehospital scene responses
and transports under certain unusual conditions [that will be
difined in a service agreement with the Division and DSP
. When when requested by a county paramedic service.]
The use of air medical ambulance services other than the
State Police must occur only in disaster situations or other
severe emergency situations where additional air medical
support is needed. [Such  To perform prehospital scene
responses and transports, an air medical ambulance]
service[s] must have previously entered into a service
reciprocity agreements with the Division and the Delaware
State Police.

(e) All requests for air medical
services, other than the DSP, must be initiated by the county
paramedic service emergency communications center
responsible for managing or coordinating Emergency
Medical Services resources in the county which where the
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need for assistance exists.
(f) The request and use of an air

medical ambulance service[s] other than the DSP for
prehospital services, requires the submission of a written [or
electronic] report by the ground EMS service that utilized
the air ambulance to the Office of Paramedic Administration
Emergency Medical Services, within 7 seven (7) days of the
request and/or response. The report must identify the
conditions and circumstances precipitating the request.

(i) The “Air Medical
Ambulance Service Use Report” (See Appendix D) shall be
used to communicate this information.

(g) All patient care services provided
by the air medical ambulance crew during a prehospital
scene response shall be documented using the Delaware
Emergency Data Information Network (EDIN).

(i) This shall be provided in
addition to any documentation that the service generates
internally.

(ii) The EDIN system is a secure
Internet based data management system.

(a) Access to an Internet
connection is necessary to provide the documentation
required by these regulations. 

a) [b) Advanced Life Support (ALS) Mission
Providers

An Advanced Life Support (ALS)
mission is defined as the transport of a patient who
receives care during a prehospital or interfacility/
interhospital transport that is commensurate with the
scope of practice of a flight physician, flight nurse or
flight paramedic.]

b  c) Specialty Care Mission Providers
(1) A specialty care mission is defined as

the transport of a patient requiring special patient care by one
or more professionals who must be added to the regularly
scheduled air medical team. Dedicated teams providing
specialty-oriented care (e.g., neonatal transport teams, IABP
transport teams) must follow the specific mission standards.

(2) The air medical team must, at a
minimum minimally consist of a specially trained physician
or registered nurse as the primary caregiver whose expertise
must be consistent with the needs of the patient.

(3) Specialty care missions require at
least two air medical team members while a patient(s) is on
board. Personnel shall be available for each transport within
a reasonable time determined by the service.

(4) All specialty team members must
have received a basic minimum orientation to the air medical
service which includes in-flight treatment protocols, general
aircraft safety and emergency procedures, operational
policies and infection control.

(5) Specialty care mission personnel must
be accompanied by at least one regularly scheduled air

medical staff member, of the air medical service, except
when independent, dedicated flight specialty teams are used.

(6) Specialty care personnel must be
educated in in-flight treatment modalities, altitude
physiology, general aircraft safety, and emergency
procedures.

c  d)  Basic Life Support Mission Providers
A Basic Life Support (BLS) mission is generally defined as
the transport of a patient who receives care during an
interfacility/interhospital transport that is commensurate
with the scope of practice of an Emergency Medical
Technician-Basic (EMT-B). In the State of Delaware, when
such care is provided in the air medical environment, it must
be assumed, at a minimum, by a flight Emergency Medical
Technician-Paramedic (EMT-P).

B. Pilot Personnel
1. There shall be a sufficient number of pilots

permanently assigned to the air medical service to provide
services approved by the Division of Public Health, and
which assures adequate crew rest as per FAA regulations.

2. All pilots must possess a commercial
rotorcraft-helicopter airman’s certificate.

3. Pilot in Command (PIC) must possess 2000
rotorcraft flight hours as PIC prior to assignment with an air
medical service or be currently employed by the Delaware
State Police (DSP) and have completed a DSP pilot training
program.

4. A planned structure program must be provided
for relief pilots, which at a minimum includes specific roles
and responsibilities, and familiarization with the region
served.

5. A lead pilot and designated safety officer must
be appointed by the FAR 135 certificate holder to insure
adherence to operational safety regulations for the program.
Adequate training and experience in air medical missions
management and evaluation skills must be possessed to carry
out these duties.

6. The pilot has the right to decline or abort any
portion of a mission if there is doubt as to the safety of the
mission.

7. The pilot shall meet education and experience
requirements as listed in Appendix A. 

a) Pilots employed by DSP must comply
with the requirements set by that agency.

C. General Staff Policies - Operational policies must
be present to address the following areas:

1. Medical Flight Personnel
a) Minimize duty-related fatigue
b) Hearing protection
c) Crash survivability

(1) Flame retardant clothing
(2) Seat belts/shoulder harnesses
(3) Head-strike protection
(4) Securement of on-board and carry-on
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medical equipment
d) Protective clothing and dress codes

relative to:
(1) Mission type
(2) Infection control

e) Universal infection control
f) Flight status during pregnancy
g) Flight status during acute illnesses

(especially respiratory ailments)
h) Flight status while taking medications that

may cause dizziness
i) Weight/height and/or lifting abilities if

appropriate
2. Pilot Personnel

a) Minimize duty-related fatigue
b) A policy of the certificate holder that

specifies higher weather minimums for new pilots for a time
frame based on the pilot’s experience, flight time, local
environment and personal adaptation. The time frame shall
be defined by an evaluation tool applied individually to each
new pilot. An evaluation tool applied individually to each
new pilot by the flight program shall define the time frame.

VI. AIRCRAFT REQUIREMENTS
A. Medical Considerations

1. The aircraft shall have an interior medical
configuration that is installed according to FAA criteria.
Minimum specifications are listed in APPENDIX B.

2. The aircraft must be configured in such a way
that the air medical personnel have access to the patient for
the initiation and/or maintenance of basic advanced life
support treatments.

3. The aircraft must be equipped with medical
equipment and supplies consistent with the mission
statement and scope of care. Minimum equipment and
supplies required are identified in APPENDIX B.

4. The aircraft design and configuration must not
compromise patient stability in either during loading,
unloading or in-flight operations.

a) The aircraft must have an entry that allows
loading and unloading without excessive movement of the
patient or compromise to monitoring systems, without
interfering with the pilot’s vision. The cockpit should be
capable of being shielded from light in the patient care area
during night operations.

b) The cockpit must be sufficiently isolated,
by protective barrier, to minimize distractions from the
patient care compartment.

c) The interior of the aircraft must be climate
controlled to prevent adverse effects upon the patient from
temperature extremes.

d) The avionics shall not interfere with the
functioning of medical equipment, nor shall the intravenous
lines, manual or mechanical ventilation.

e) Adequate interior lighting shall be
available to allow for patient care monitoring. Medical
equipment shall not interfere with the avionics.

B. Aircraft Equipment
1. The aircraft must be equipped with a 180

degree controllable searchlight of at least 400,000 candle
power for rotor-wing aircraft (RW).

2. Radio capabilities
a) Radios (as range permits) shall be capable

of transmitting and receiving communications from:
(1) Medical directiondirection control
(2) Flight operations center
(3) Air traffic control
(4) EMS and law enforcement agencies

(RW)
b) Pilot is The pilot must be able to control

and override radio transmissions from the cockpit in the
event of an emergency situation.

c) Flight team is The flight crew must be able
to communicate internally.

3. The aircraft must be equipped with a
functioning emergency locator transmitter (ELT) in
compliance with the applicable FAR’s Federal Aviation
Regulations (FARs).

4. A fire extinguisher must be accessible to air
medical personnel and pilot(s) in compliance with applicable
FARs.

C. Maintenance
Maintenance may be provided by an outside vendor

who is FAA and manufacturer certified. If an in-house
maintenance department is utilized, the following criteria
must be met:

1. Credentials/Experience
a) Lead mechanic must possess 2 years of

rotorcraft experience as a certified airframe and power plant
mechanic prior to assignment with an air medical service.

b) The mechanic must be factory schooled or
equivalent in an approved program, and FAR 135 qualified
to maintain the aircraft designated by the air medical service.

2. Training related to the interior modification of
the aircraft:

a) Shall prepare the mechanic for inspection
of the installation as well as the removal and reinstallation of
special medical equipment.

b) Supplemental training on service and
maintenance of medical oxygen systems and a policy as to
who maintains responsibility for refilling the medical
oxygen system.

3. Staffing of Mechanics
a) A single mechanic on duty or on call 24

hours a day shall be relieved from duty for a period of at
least 24 hours during any 7 seven (7) consecutive days, or
the equivalent thereof, within any 1 calendar month.

b) Back-up personnel shall be provided to the
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mechanic during periods of extensive scheduled or
unscheduled maintenance or inspection.  Complexity of the
aircraft and an increased number of flight hours may be
considerations for increased mechanic staffing.

c) A policy of the certificate holder shall be
in place that documents the disciplinary process for a
mechanic.

4. Maintenance Facilities
a) There must be a mechanism/procedure for

alerting flight and air medical personnel when the aircraft is
not air worthy.

b) A hangar or similar-type facility shall be
available for the mechanic to perform heavy maintenance.

VII. Visual Flight Rules (VFR) Weather Issues
A. VFR weather minimums shall be specified for day

and night local, and day and night cross country (CC).
B. The “local flying area” shall be determined by the

operator based upon the operating environment.
C. There is a system of obtaining pertinent weather

information.
1. The pilot in command (PIC) is responsible for

obtaining weather information according to policy which
shall address at a minimum:

a) Routine weather checks
b) Weather checks during marginal

conditions
c) Weather trending

2. Communication between pilots, medical
personnel, and communication specialists at shift change
regarding the most current and forecasted weather is part of a
formal briefing.

D. VFR “response” weather minimums:
Recommended minimums to begin a transport shall be no
less than:

E. Policies include provisions for patient care and
transport alternatives in the event that the aircraft must use
alternate landing facilities due to deteriorating weather.

F. Instrument flight rules, (IFR) Weather Issues –
When transitioning to an off-airport site after an instrument
approach, the following shall apply:

1. Local VFR weather minimums shall be
followed if within a defined local area and if the route and
off-airport site are familiar.

2. Cross-country VFR weather minimums shall
be followed if not in defined local area or if not familiar with

route and off-airport site.

VII.  VIII.  Helipad
A. Primary, receiving hospital(s) helipad(s) must be

marked (with a painted H or similar landing designation),
lighted for night operations, and be equipped with a device
to identify wind direction. In addition, there shall be:

1. Unobstructed approach according to the FAA
Advisory circular entitled Heliport Design Advisory
Circular, AC 150/5390-2.

2. Evidence of compliance with local, state, or
federal regulations including appropriate and adequate fire
retardant chemicals.

3. Documented on-going safety programs for
those responsible for loading and unloading patients or
working around the helicopter on the helipad.

4. Evidence of adequate security-A minimum of
one person to prevent bystanders from approaching the
helicopter as it lands or lifts off, or perimeter security such as
fencing, rooftop etc. A means must exist to monitor the
primary helipad if accessible to the public (e.g., through
direct visual monitoring or closed circuit TV).

5. There is limited distance from the helipad, (a
limited distance is defined as not requiring intermediary
transport of any type from the helipad to the receiving

facility*), to the hospital in order to minimize the affects
effects to the patient.

a) Patient monitoring shall continue without
interruption between the helipad and the hospital.

b) Emergent patient interventions can be
performed as needed between helipad and hearing protection
is provided for all personnel who assist with patient hot
loading and unloading.

*Facilities who are not currently in compliance
with this regulation will be provided an exemption period of
5 years (from the effective date of these regulations) in
which to relocate helipads.

6. Hearing protection is provided for provided for
worn by all personnel who assist with patient hot loading and
unloading.

B. Occasional or episodic use of helipad
Helipads used occasionally (at referring or

receiving hospitals) shall be reviewed annually by the air
medical service for:

1. Identification and removal of obstructions
2. Appropriate lighting (permanent or temporary

for night operations)
3. Helicopter ingress/egress limitations
4. Adequate security - a minimum of one person

to prevent bystanders from approaching the helicopter as it
lands or lifts off.

5. Evidence of safety programs (through review
of training program records) offered to personnel responsible

CONDITIONS CEILING VISIBILITY

DAY/LOCAL 500 ft. 1 mile

DAY/XcountryCC 1000 ft. 1 mile

NIGHT/LOCAL 800 ft. 2 miles

NIGHT/XcountryCC 1000 ft. 3 miles
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for operations at the landing site and availability of
appropriate fire retardant chemicals.

C. Temporary scene landings shall be secured
1. Perimeter lighting with handheld floodlights,

emergency vehicles or other lighting source to clearly
illuminate the designated landing area at night.

2. Free of overhead obstruction and ground
debris.

3. Appropriate in size to the type of the aircraft.
4. Safety programs must be provided to public

safety/law enforcement agencies to include:
a) Identifying and designating an appropriate

landing zone (LZ).
b) Helicopter safety.

5. Two-way communications between helicopter
and ground personnel.

IX.  COMMUNICATIONS
A. The flight crew or a communication specialist must

assume the responsibility of receiving and coordinating all
requests for the air medical service.

1. Should a communication specialist be
employed, training shall be commensurate with the scope of
responsibility of the communications center personnel and
include:

1. a) EMT-B certification or equivalent
knowledge and experience.

2. b) Knowledge of Federal Aviation
Regulations and Federal Communications Commission
regulations pertinent to the air medical service.

3. c) General safety rules and emergency
procedures pertinent to air medical transportation and flight
following procedures.

4. d) Navigation techniques/terminology and
understanding weather interpretation.

5. e) Types of radio frequency bands used in air
medical EMS.

6. f) Assistance with the materials response and
recognition procedure using appropriate reference materials.

B. Communication policies of the air medical service
must reflect:

1. Aircraft must communicate, when possible,
with ground units securing unprepared landing sites prior to
landing.

2. A readily accessible post incident/accident plan
must be part of the flight following protocol so that
appropriate search and rescue efforts may be initiated in the
event the aircraft is overdue, radio communication can not
be established nor location verified

a) Written post incident/accident plans are
easily identified and readily available.

b) Current phone numbers are easily
accessed.

c) An annual drill is conducted to exercise

the post incident/accident plan.
C. Continuous flight following must be monitored and

documented and shall consist of the following:
1. Initial coordination to include communication

and documentation of:
a) Time call received
b) Name and phone number of requesting

agency
c) Time aircraft departed
d) Pertinent LZ information
e) Number of persons on board
f) Amount of fuel on board
g) Estimated time of arrival (ETA)
h) Diagnosis or mechanism of injury
i) Referring and receiving physician and

facilities (for inter facility transports) as per policy of the air
medical service

j) Verification of acceptance of patient
2. Communications during mission shall also be

documented accordingly:
a). Direct or relayed communications to

communications center (while in flight) specifying locations
and ETAs, and deviations, if necessary.

b) Direct or relayed communications to
communications center specifying all take-off and landing
information.

c) Time between each communication:
(1) Time between each communication

shall not exceed 15 minutes while in flight (If an IFR or VFR
flight plan has been filed, may only be able to communicate
with air traffic control, (ATC).

(2) Time between communications shall
not exceed 45 minutes while on the ground.

(3) Alternate agencies are used to relay
communications when direct contact is not possible.

D. The Communications Center must contain the
following:

1. At least one dedicated phone line for the air
medical service.

2. A system for recording all incoming and
outgoing telephone and radio transmissions with time
recording and playback capabilities. Recordings are to be
kept for 30 days.

3. Capability to immediately notify air medical
team and on-line medical direction (through radio, pager,
telephone, etc.).

4. Back-up emergency power source for
communications equipment, or a policy delineating methods
for maintaining communications during power outages and
in disaster situations.

5. Communications policy and procedures
manual.
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X. EMS SYSTEM INTEGRATION
A. The air medical service shall be integrated with and

communicate with other public safety agencies, including
ground emergency service providers. This must include
participation in regional quality assurance reviews, regional
disaster planning and mass casualty incident drills ,(RW).

B. The air medical service must interface (through
telephone calls and outreach programs) with existing
communications centers, public safety and law enforcement
agencies, as well as with local off-line medical directors, as
appropriate for prehospital ALS missions.

C. The air medical service must ensure continuity of
care and expeditious treatment of patients by utilizing state
EMS medical protocols and procedures, whenever
applicable.

D. The air medical service shall facilitate integration
of all emergency services and transport modalities by
supporting joint continuing education programs and
operational procedures, such as for:

1. Hazardous materials recognition and response.
2. 1. Disaster response/triage.
3. 2. Interface of the air medical team with other

regional resources.
3. Safety program consisting of patient

preparation and personal safety around the aircraft to include
landing zone (LZ) designation for rotary wing services.

4. Patients considered appropriate for transport by
the air medical service.

E. The service shall promote a timely feedback to
referring agency, facility or physician about patient outcome
and treatment rendered before, during, and after transport
where appropriate.

F. The flight service shall provide a planned,
structured safety program must be provided to public safety/
law enforcement agencies and hospital personnel who
interface with the air medical service which includes:

1. Lz  Landing zone designation and preparation.
2. Personal safety in and around the helicopter for

all ground personnel.
3. Procedures for day/night operations, conducted

by the air medical team, specific to the aircraft:
a) High and low reconnaissance.
b) Communication and coordination with

ground personnel.
c) Approach and departure path selection.

Procedures for the pilot to ensure safety during ground
operations in the Lz landing zone with or without engines
running.

e) Procedure for the pilot to have ground
control during engine start and departure from a landing site.

G. Records are kept The service shall maintain records
of initial and recurrent training provided by the air medical
service of to prehospital, and referring and receiving ground
support personnel.

XI.  POST INCIDENT/ACCIDENT PLAN
A Post Incident/Accident Plan is shall be written and

understood by all program personnel and shall include at a
minimum:

A. List of personnel to notify in order of priority (for
communication specialist to activate) in the event of a
program incident/accident. Two major goals in activating a
notification list include:

1. Provide rapid rescue response.
2. Insure accurate information dissemination.

B. Preplanned time frame to activate the post incident/
accident plan for overdue aircraft.

C. Procedure to secure all documents and tape
recordings related to the particular incident/accident.

D. Procedure to deal with releasing information to the
press.

XII. PROFESSIONAL AND COMMUNITY
EDUCATION

A professional and community education program and/
or printed information with the target audience to be defined
by the air medical service shall include but not be limited to:

A. Hours of operation, phone number, and procedure
to access.

B. Capabilities of air medical personnel.
C. Type of aircraft and operational protocols specific

to type.
D. Service area for the aircraft.
E. Preparation and stabilization of the patient.
F. Safety program consisting of patient preparation

and personal safety around the aircraft to include landing
zone (LZ) designation for rotor wing services.

G. Patients considered appropriate for transport by the
air medical service, (Generally, an appropriate transport is
one which enhances patient outcome, safety or cost
effectiveness over other modes of transport).

XIII. INFECTION CONTROL
A. Policies and procedures addressing patient transport

issues involving communicable diseases, infectious
processes and health precautions for emergency personnel as
well as for patients must be current with the local standard of
practice, standards of OSHA and as published by the center
for Disease Control (CDC).

B. Policies and procedures must be written and readily
available to all personnel of the air medical service.

C. Additional medical and agency resources pertinent
to infection control must be identified and made available in
the policy manual to all air medical personnel.

D. Education programs will include the institution’s/
service’s infection control resources, programs, policies and
CDC recommendations. Policies and procedures will be
reviewed on an annual basis.
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E. Air medical personnel transporting patients must
practice preventative measures lessening the likelihood of
transmission of pathogens. Policies and procedures address:

1. Personnel health concerns including record of:
a) Physical exams.
b) Immunization history – air medical

personnel are encouraged to have tetanus and hepatitis B
immunization.

c) Verification of post-vaccination antibody
status, if immunized against hepatitis B.

d) Annual tuberculosis testing (purified
protein derivative).

e. Measles, mumps, rubella (MMR)
immunization.

2. Management of communicable diseases and
infection control in the transport environment is outlined in
policies:

a) Use of gloves, eye and mouth protection.
b) Sharps disposal container for

contaminated needles and collection container for soiled
disposable items on the aircraft.

c) Cleaning and disinfecting with appropriate
disinfectant of the patient cabin area, equipment, and
personnel’s soiled uniforms.

d) Mechanism for identifying those at risk for
exposure to an infectious disease.

e) A plan for communication between the air
medical service personnel, EMS providers, and hospital
when exposure is suspected/confirmed to include what
follow-up is necessary.

(1) Written notification shall go out in an
expedient manner.

(2) Follow-up is documented.
f) A policy for special provisions for

transporting infected or possibly infected victims.
g) Proper cleaning or sterilization of all

appropriate instruments or equipment.
h) Hand washing before and after each

patient.

XIV. QUALITY ASSURANCE/CONTINUOUS
QUALITY IMPROVEMENT

A. There is an established Quality Assurance/
Continuous Quality Improvement Program which provides
on-going monitoring and evaluation of the quality and
effectiveness of the air medical ambulance service.

B. The QA/CQI program shall be comprehensively
integrated, including activities related to patient care,
communications, aviation, operations and equipment
maintenance. The required elements and considerations of
the written QA/CQI plan are listed in APPENDIX C.

C. The Medical Director has the primary responsibility
for ensuring timely review of patient care activities and
issues, utilizing the medical record and pre-established

criteria. A committee consisting of the medical director
along with representatives of management, medical and non-
medical personnel should be considered as a mechanism for
ensuring initiation and continuation of QA/CQI program.

D. The air medical service has a policy and procedure
manual available to all personnel which is reviewed, at least,
annually for accuracy, completeness and currency.

E. The air medical service has established patient care
guidelines/standing orders which must be reviewed annually
(for content accuracy) by management, QA/CQI committee
members and the Medical Director.

F. The QA/CQI program must be closely linked with
risk management, so that concerns related through the risk
management program can be followed up through the
continuous quality improvement program.

XV. GENERAL POLICIES
A. There are well-defined lines of authority with a

clear reporting mechanism to upper level management.
B. Air medical personnel understand the

organizational structure and the chain of command.
C. A policy shall be in place that clearly explains the

air medical service’s disciplinary process for all levels of
staff.

D. Management policies encourage ongoing
communications between all levels and types of air medical
service personnel.

E. There are formal, periodic staff meetings for which
minutes are kept on file. There are defined methods for
disseminating information between meetings.

F. For public or private institutions and agencies that
contract with an aviation firm to provide air medical
services, there shall be a policy that specifies the lines of
authority between the medical management team and the
aviation management team.

G. Management sets guidelines for press related issues
and marketing activities.

1. Policies Relating to Patient Management
a) Management ensures, through policy, that

all transfers of patient care occur from a lower level of care
to an equal or higher level of care except for elective
transfers for patient convenience or returning a patient to a
referring facility.

b) A patient record shall be maintained on all
patients utilizing the services of an air medical ambulance.
The record shall be used to document care given during
transport, as well as all other relevant patient related factors,
such as status prior to, during at the end of transport.

c) A copy of the patient record will be left at
the receiving hospital to facilitate continuity of care. A copy
will be kept on file by the air medical ambulance service for
a period of time to include that of the statue of limitations.

d) The air medical ambulance services has
written policies and procedures which indicate what
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therapies can be performed without on-line medical
direction.

e) Inter facility transports require physician
referral/acceptance to ensure continuity of care and establish
patient care parameters during the transport. Patient transfer
protocols must comply with existing Federal requirements.

f) Management ensures an appropriate
utilization review process based on:

(1) Medical benefits to the patient:
(a) Timeliness of the transport as it

relates to the patient’s clinical status.
(b) Transport to an appropriate

receiving facility; an appropriate receiving facility may
include:

(i) A hospital or facility where
the patient has previously undergone specialized treatment
and where the patient’s previous medical records are located.

(ii) A facility at too great a
distance for ground transport.

(iii) A facility with a specialized
level of care not available in the referring hospital.

(c) Specialized air medical personnel
expertise available during transport that would otherwise not
be available.

(d) Safety of the transport
environment.

2. Cost of the transport:
a) A structured, periodic review of flights (to

determine transport appropriateness or that the mode of
transport enhances medical outcome, safety or cost
effectiveness over other modes of transport) performed at
least semi-annually and resulting in a written report.

b) Hospital or non-hospital based program
director/administrator is oriented to FAR’s FARs that are
pertinent to the air medical service.

3. Policies Pertaining to Safety
a) A Safety Committee shall meet at least

quarterly with written reports sent to management and kept
on file as dictated by policy. The responsibilities of the
safety committee may be assumed by the QA/CQI
committee.

b) Written variances relating to “safety”
issues will be addressed in Safety Committee meetings. The
committee will promote communications between air
medical personnel and pilots addressing safety practice,
concerns, issues and questions.

c) Recommendations for operational and
safety issues will be reviewed by management.

APPENDIX A - EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS
Initial education preparation and requirements will be

guided by each air medical ambulance service’s mission
statement, scope of care provided, levels of care providers,
state requirements and medical direction.

I. ALS, RN, MD and SPECIALTY CARE
PROVIDERS: Scheduled Crew

Prior to functioning as a provider in an air medical
service, all ALS and Specialty care personnel must present
documentation of having successfully completed an
education program that validates minimum knowledge levels
and skill competencies in the following identified areas:

A. Didactic Component that includes:
1. Advanced airway management
2. Altitude physiology; gas laws; stressors of

flight
3. Anatomy, physiology and assessment of the

adult, pediatric and neonatal patients
4. Oxygen therapy in the air medical environment
5. Mechanical ventilation and respiratory

physiology for adults, pediatric and neonatal patients as
appropriate to the mission statement and scope of care
provided by the air medical service.

6. Respiratory emergencies
7. Recognition and management of cardiac

emergencies including lethal dysrhythmias
8. Hemodynamic monitoring, pacemaker and

automatic implantable cardiac defibrillator (AICD)
management

9. Intra-aortic balloon pump, central lines, Swan
Ganz and arterial catheters, left and right ventricular devices
and extra corporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) when
applicable

10. Environmental emergencies
11. High risk obstetric emergencies (bleeding,

trauma, medical)
12. Neonatal emergencies (respiratory distress,

cardiac, surgical)
13. Pediatric emergencies (medical, trauma)
14. Infection control practices and procedures
15. Metabolic/endocrine emergencies
16. Adult trauma and burns
17. Stress recognition and management
18. Toxicology
19. Pharmacology
20. Disaster and triage management**
21. Survival training, if applicable
22. Hazardous materials scene recognition and

response**
23. Scene management/rescue/extrication**

B. Clinical Component that includes experiences in
providing:

1. Critical intensive care
2. Emergency care
3. Neonatal Intensive care
4. Obstetrics
5. Pediatric critical care
6. Prehospital care**
7. Invasive procedures (or mannequin equivalent)



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 11, TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2001

1845

for refreshing specific skills, i.e.: endotracheal intubation
*Refers to Inter hospital/inter facility ALS

providers only
** Refers to Prehospital ALS providers only.
NOTE:  Specialty Care Providers must have

included in their educational programs, additional content
material and skills specific for their specialty area.

C., Continuing Education
1. Documentation of each scheduled crew ALS,

RN, MD or Specialty care provider completion of a
minimum of 48 hours of air medical refresher/continuing
education every two years must be kept on file by the air
medical ambulance service and submitted to the Office
biennially.

2. Continuing education/staff development
programs, specific and appropriate to the mission statement
and scope of care of the air medical ambulance service, must
be provided.

3. Continuing education/staff development
programs must include reviews and/or updates of the
following areas:

a) Aviation-safety issues
b) Altitude physiology
c) Management of emergency/critical care

adults, pediatric and neonatal patients (medical and trauma)
d) Obstetrical emergencies
e) Invasive procedures labs
f) Stress Management
g) Infection control
h) Hazardous materials scene recognition and

response
i) Survival training, if applicable
j) Current certification must be maintained

in the following areas:
(1) CPR (Cardio-pulmonary

Resuscitation per guidelines of the American Heart
Association)

(2) ACLS*
(3) ATLS*/Flight Nurse Advanced

Trauma Course**/PHTLS*** (specific certification depends
on level of care provider)

(4) PALS
(5) Neonatal Resuscitation Course

(neonatal specialty care providers, only)
* Physicians must be either ABEM /ABOEM

or ACLS & ATLS certified
** Nurses may elect to audit ATLS
*** Paramedics may elect to be certified in

Basic Trauma Life Support (BTLS)

II. (Appendix A Section II did not exist)
II. Educational Requirements specific to the air medical
in-flight environment for all air medical providers.

**ALL AIR MEDICAL PROVIDERS**

A. Air medical patient transport considerations
(assessment, treatment, preparation, handling, equipment)

1. Day and night flying protocols
2. EMS communications
3. EMS systems
4. General aircraft safety annually to include:

a) aircraft evacuation procedures
b) communications during an emergency

situation and knowledge of emergency communication
frequencies

c) in-flight and ground fire suppression
procedures

d) in-flight emergency and emergency
landing procedures (e.g., position, oxygen, securing
equipment)

e) safety in and around aircraft including
FAA rules and regulations pertinent to safety for air medical
team members, patients, and lay individuals

f) specific capabilities, limitations and safety
measures for each aircraft used

g) use of emergency locator transmitter
(ELT)

5. Ground operations

IV. III. Pilot Training Requirements
A. Initial training shall, at a minimum, consist of:

1. Training in specific type of aircraft as follows:
a) Less than 100 hours in aircraft type

(1) Factory school or equivalent (ground
and flight)

(2) Twenty-five (25) hours as pilot in
command in aircraft type prior to EMS missions

(3) Five (5) hours as pilot in command or
at the controls prior to EMS missions

(4) Ten (10) hours as pilot in command or
at the controls prior to EMS missions if transitioning from a
single to a twin engine aircraft

b) Over 100 hours in aircraft type
(1) Part 135 check ride (for part Part 135

certificate holders)
(2) Five (5) hours local area orientation

2. Minimum requirements for area orientation
a) Five (5) hours area orientation of which

two hours must be at night as pilot in command or at the
controls prior to EMS missions

b) Training hours in aircraft type and area
orientation may be combined depending on the experience
and background of the pilot

3. Terrain and weather considerations specific to
the program’s geographic area

4. Instrument Meteorological conditions (IMC)
recovery procedures by reference to instruments

5. A structured orientation must be conducted for
relief pilots which at a minimum must include: roles,
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responsibilities, and familiarization with the region served
6. Orientation to the hospital or health care

system associated with the air medical service
7. Orientation to infection control, medical

systems installed on the aircraft and patient loading and
unloading procedures

8. Orientation to the EMS and public service
agencies unique to the specific coverage area

B. Quality assurance and competency must be ensured
through methodologies including monthly operational
reviews, ensuring pilot proficiency in both standard and
emergency procedures. Remediation must be implemented
as deficiencies are identified.

C. Annual recurrent training will minimally include:
1. Factory or equivalent refresher course
2. FAR Part 135 training requirements
3. IMC recovery procedures
4. Flight by reference to instruments

APPENDIX B - Aircraft and equipment 
The certificate holder must meet all Federal Aviation

Regulations specific to the operations of the air medical
ambulance service.

A. AIRCRAFT MEDICAL CONFIGURATION
STANDARDS

1. Air medical personnel assure that all medical
equipment is in working order through checklists.

2. All equipment (including specialized
equipment) and supplies must be secured according to
FAR’s.

3. Personnel must be in seatbelts (and shoulder
harnesses if installed) for all take-offs and landings
according to FAA regulations.

4. Patients are restrained with straps that must
comply with FAA regulations.

5. A policy must be in place to address refusal to
transport patients who may be considered a threat to the
safety of the flight and/or air medical personnel.

6. Patients under 60 pounds (27 kg), excluding
transport isolette patients, shall be provided with an
appropriately sized restraining device (for patient’s height
and weight) which is further secured by a locking device.

7. The pilot(s), flight controls, throttles (RW) and
radios are physically protected from an intended or
accidental interference by the patient, air medical personnel
or equipment and supplies.

8. A minimum of one stretcher shall be provided
that can be carried to the patient:

a) The stretcher and the means of securing it
for flight must be consistent with FARs.

b) The stretcher shall be large enough to
carry the 95th percentile adult American patient, full length
in the supine position (the 95th percentile adult American
male is 6 ft. and 212 lbs.).

c) The stretcher shall be sturdy and rigid
enough that it can support cardiopulmonary resuscitation. If
a backboard or equivalent device is required to achieve this,
such device will be readily available.

d) The head of the stretcher is capable of
being elevated at least 30 degrees for patient care and
comfort.

9. Medical oxygen system - oxygen is installed
according to FAA regulation and is capable of being shut off
from inside the aircraft. Medical personnel can determine if
oxygen is on by oxygen status using in-line pressure gauges
mounted in the patient care area.

10. Each gas outlet is clearly marked for
identification.

11. Supplemental lighting system will be installed
in the aircraft for use in situations in which standard lighting
is insufficient for patient care.

a) A self-contained lighting system powered
by a battery pack or a portable light with a battery source
must be available.

b) A means of protecting the cockpit from
light in the patient care area shall be provided for night
operations or use of red lighting (if not able to isolate the
patient care area) to restrict light intensity.

12. Electric power outlet (with a minimum of 750
voltage amperage capacity) is provided, 28 volt DC and/or
115 volt AC, with sufficient output to meet the requirements
of the complete specialized equipment package without
compromising the operation of any electrical aircraft
equipment.

13. No smoking signs are prominently displayed
inside the cabin.

14. The air medical personnel “head-strike
envelope” is clear of all obstructions.

B. ADDITIONAL OPERATIONAL POLICIES
There shall be specific policies and procedures

regarding aircraft operations and evidence of training in the
following areas:

1. Written patient loading and unloading
procedures.

2. Specific policies concerning circumstances for
hot loading or unloading if practiced.

3. Refueling policies for normal and emergency
situations: Refueling with the engine running, rotor turning,
and/or passengers on board is not recommended. However,
emergency situations of this type can arise. Specific and
rigid procedures should be developed by the operator to
handles these occurrences. Such “hot fueling” procedures
will be covered by the operator’s training program.
Refueling policies will address:

a) Refueling with engine(s) running or shut
down.

b) Refueling with air medical personnel or
patient(s) on board.
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4. Specific policy to address the combative
patient. Additional physical and/or chemical restraints
should be available and used for combative patients who
potentially endanger himself, the staff or the aircraft.

C. MEDICAL MANAGEMENT and EQUIPMENT
REQUIREMENTS

1. Airway Maintenance and Oxygen Delivery
a) Objectives:

(1) The ability to initiate and maintain an
airway with adequate ventilatory support for both adult and
pediatric patients must be present.

(2) Adequate amounts of oxygen must be
available for every mission.

(3) Oxygen flow can be stopped at or near
the oxygen source from within the aircraft.

(4) A variety of oxygen delivery devices
which are consistent with the scope of care must be present.

(5) The following indicators are must be
available to personnel while in flight:

(a) quantity of oxygen remaining in
the onboard oxygen supply system.

(b) measurement of oxygen liter flow
(6) There must be a back-up source of

oxygen (of sufficient quantity to get safely to the ground for
replacement) in the event the main system fails.

(7) Oxygen flow meters and outlets must
be padded, flush mounted, or so located to prevent injury to
personnel.

b) Required Equipment:
(1) Oral and nasopharyngeal airway

adjuncts
(2) Oxygen supplies, including PEEP

valves, appropriate for age and potential needs of patients
(3) Bag-Valve-Masks with oxygen

reservoirs (assorted sizes appropriate to age of patients)
(4) Suction equipment (installed and

portable) with appropriate suction tubes (sizes and types)
(5) Laryngoscope and tracheal intubation

equipment
(6) Chest decompression and

cricothyroidotomy equipment
(7) Pulse Oximeter
(8) Capnography (wave form)
(9) And all other equipment required to

comply with the Delaware Standard Treatment Protocols.
2. Intravenous Fluids

a) Objectives:
(1) Fluids and supplies must be readily

available.
(2) Hangers/hooks are available that

secure the IV solutions in place.
(3) All hooks are padded and/or flush

mounted to prevent injury to personnel.
(4) Glass IV containers are prohibited

unless explicitly required by medication administration
specifications.

b) Equipment:
A variety of IV solutions, tubing and

catheters which potentially may be needed must be carried.
3. Medications

a) Objectives:
(1) Medications must be easily

accessible.
(2) Controlled substances are to be

secured in a manner consistent with state laws.
(3) Medications are stored in such a

manner as to protect them from temperature extremes.
b) Equipment and Supplies:

(1) All services whose scope of service
include ALS and specialty care missions will carry ACLS
the drugs required to comply with current Delaware
Standard Treatment Protocols.

(2) Medications required by a specific
specialty care mission must be carried on board during the
mission.

(3) Appropriate medication
administration equipment must be present.

4. Cardiac Monitoring, Defibrillation and
External Pacing

a) Objectives:
(1) External cardiac pacing must be

available.
(2) Equipment must be secured and

positioned so that displays are clearly visible and usable to
the attending personnel.

(3) The aircraft must allow for in-flight,
‘effective’ CPR.

(a) ‘Effective’ is defined as CPR that
produces a compression pulse.

b) Equipment Required:
(1) Cardiac monitor/Defibrillator and

External Cardiac Pacer Pacemaker:
(2) Pediatrics paddles must be present if

appropriate to the scope of service.
(3) Extra power sources are available for

cardiac monitor, defibrillator and external pacer cardiac
pacemaker.

(4) Automatic blood pressure device

APPENDIX C – Quality Management
1. There is a The service or organization shall have a

written QA/CQI plan which includes the following
components:

a) Responsibility/assignment of accountability
b) Scope of care
c) Important aspects of care
d) Indicators
e) Thresholds for evaluation which are



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 11, TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2001

1848

appropriate to the individual service
f) Methodology

2. There will be regularly scheduled The service or
organization shall regularly hold QA/CQI meetings.

3. The service or organization’s monitoring and
evaluation process has shall have the following
characteristics:

a) Driven by important aspects of care identified
by the air medical service’s QA/CQI plan

b) Indicators and control thresholds are used to
objectively monitor the important aspects of care

c) Evidence of QA/CQI studies and evaluation in
compliance with written QA/CQI plan

d) Evidence of reporting QA/CQI activities
through established QA/CQI organizational structure

e) Evidence of on-going re-evaluation of action
plans until problem resolution occurs

4. Quarterly review shall monitor, at a minimum, the
following:

a) Reason for transport
b) Mechanism of injury or illness
c) Medical interventions performed or maintained

(1) Time of intervention consistently
documented

(2) Patient’s response to intervention
documented

(3) Appropriateness of interventions
performed or omission of needed interventions

d) Patient’s outcome (morbidity and mortality) at
the time of arrival at destination (including any change in
condition during flight)

e) Timeliness of the transport
f) Safety practices

(1) Safety issues may be handled through the
Safety Committee when a problem is identified.

(2) QA/CQI personnel may collect data and
refer to the Safety Committee for action and resolution.

g) Operational criteria to include at a minimum
the following quantity indicators:

(1) Number of aborted and canceled flights
due to weather

(2) Number of aborted and canceled flights
due to maintenance

(3) Number of aborted and canceled flights
resulting in the use of alternative modes of transport due to
patient condition.

5. Utilization appropriateness (RW) - the following
indicators may trigger a review of the EDIN record by the
Office of Emergency Medical Services, or their designate, to
determine the medical appropriateness of the transport,
based upon patients who are:

a) Who are discharged Discharged home directly
from the Emergency Department, or discharged within 24
hours of admission

b) Transported without an IV line or oxygen
c) In which cardiopulmonary arrest where CPR is

in progress at the referring location
d) Who are not Not transferred from a critical care

unit, emergency department, or other specialty care unit.
e) “Scheduled transports”
f) Air transported more than once for the same

illness or injury within 24 hours
g) Transported from the scene of an injury with a

trauma score of 15 or greater or fails to meeting area-specific
triage criteria for a critically injured trauma patient and fails
to meet the criteria outlined in the “Prehospital Trauma
Triage Scheme” in Section VI of the State Trauma System
Regulations. 

h) Transported interfacility, and the receiving
facility is not a higher level of care than the referring facility

i) Transported from the scene of an injury to any
hospital which was not the closest appropriate and available
trauma center (based on regional trauma plans, if present)

6. For both QA/CQI and utilization review programs,
there shall be evidence of actions taken in problem areas and
the evaluation of the effectiveness of that action.

Appendix D - Glossary
ABEM  American Board of Emergency Medicine
ABOEM  American Board of Osteopathic Emergency

Medicine
ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support)  A syllabus and

certification of the American Heart Association (AHA).
AIRCRAFT TYPE Particular make and model of

helicopter or airplane.
AIR MEDICAL SERVICE A company or entity of a

hospital or public service which provides air transportation
to patients requiring medical care. This term may be used
interchangeably with the term "air medical program"
throughout the document.

AIR MEDICAL PERSONNEL  Refers only to the
patient care personnel involved in an air medical transport.

AIR MEDICAL TEAM Refers to the pilot(s) and
patient care personnel who are involved in an air medical
transport.

ALS MISSION  The transport of a patient who receives
care during an interfacility or scene response commensurate
with the scope of practice of an EMT-Paramedic.

ALS PROVIDER  A certified provider of skills required
for advanced life support.

ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support)  A syllabus and
certification offered to physicians by the American College
of Surgeons.

BLS MISSION  The transport of a patient who receives
care during an interfacility or scene response that is
commensurate with the scope of practice of an EMT-B.

BLS PROVIDER  A certified provider of skills required
for basic life support.
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BTLS (Basic Trauma Life Support)  A syllabus offered
by the American College of Emergency Physicians to
provide a standard of care for the prehospital trauma victim.

CERTIFICATE  Signifies a pilot level of competency,
i.e., student, private, commercial. 

It can also refer to the type of service a company is
qualified to provide under Federal Aviation Regulations.

CONSORTIUM PROGRAM  An air medical service
sponsored by more than one health care facility or entity.

CONTINUOUS QUALITY IMPROVEMENT (CQI)
CQI is a management strategy that integrates dedication to a
quality product into every aspect of the service; it brings
together a variety of personnel and management tools to
examine the sources of problems within the system. CQI
seeks to establish and remedy the root cause of problems by
identifying and correcting the system's errors, rather than
ascribing fault to individuals.

CONTROLLED AIR SPACE Air space designated as
continental control area, terminal control area, or transition
area within which some or all aircraft may be subject to air
traffic control.

CRITICAL CARE MISSION  The transport of a patient
from an emergency department or critical care unit (or scene,
RW) who receives care commensurate with the scope of
practice of a physician or registered nurse.

CROSS COUNTRY (CC)  Generally when the
destination is greater than 25 nautical miles from the
departure point or as designated by a geographic boundary.

The DSP cross country is 25 nautical miles outside
of the state of Delaware.

DSP  Delaware State Police
ELECTIVE TRANSPORTS Air medical transports that

may not be medically necessary but are done for patient or
physician preference; these often are fixed wing, prepaid
scheduled transports.

ELT (Emergency locator transmitter) A radio
transmitter attached to the aircraft structure which is
designed to locate a downed aircraft without human action
after an accident.

FAA  Federal Aviation Administration
FAR  Federal Aviation Regulation.
HEAD-STRIKE ENVELOPE  The volume of air space

which a person's head would potentially move through
during any abrupt aircraft motion.
HELIPAD  A small, designated area usually with a prepared
surface, on an airport, landing/take-off area, or apron/ramp
used for take-off, landing or parking helicopters.

HOT LOAD/UNLOAD  The loading or unloading of
patient(s) or equipment with rotors turning.

IABP (Intra aortic balloon pump)  A cardiac assist
machine which can be retrofitted into some types of aircraft.

IFR  Instrument Flight Rules
INSTALLED EQUIPMENT  Includes all items or

systems on the aircraft at the time of certification and any

items or systems subsequently added to the aircraft with
FAA approval through a Supplemental Type Certificate
(STC), FAA Form 8110 or Form 337 action.

IMC  Instrument meteorological conditions.
INDEPENDENT PROGRAM  Referring to an air

medical service not sponsored by a hospital and operating
under its own FAA certificate.

INFECTION CONTROL  An approach to reducing the
risk of disease transmission to care takers, patients and
others

LOCAL Day-local: Less than 25 nautical miles from
departure point to destination point with generally the same
terrain elevation.

Night-Local: The urban area of the helicopter base
with enough illumination to maintain ground reference.

The DSP local is within the State of Delaware and
less than 25 nautical miles outside the State of Delaware.

MODALITIES  Treatment plans and equipment used in
the delivery of patient care.

PHTLS  Prehospital Trauma Life Support: A course
offered by the American College of Surgeons to provide a
standard of care for the prehospital victim.

PIC  Pilot in command.
QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA)  QA is a process of

reviewing the quality of care delivered through the
examination of known or potential problems. It measures the
degree of compliance of the service’s personnel with
established standards.

SPECIALTY CARE MISSION  The transport of a
patient who requires care by professionals who can be added
to the regularly scheduled personnel.

SPECIALTY CARE PROVIDER  A provider of
specialty care, such as neonatal, pediatric, etc.

VFR Visual Flight Rules.

APPENDIX D Air Medical Ambulance Service Use 
Report

Agency: ________ County (circle):  NewCastle Kent Sussex
Incident #:__________ Incident Date: _________________
Incident Location: _________________________________
Incident Type:  Medical Trauma Medical/Trauma Peds OB
Patient Priority:  1  2  3
Air Medical Service: _______________________________
Radio Designation: ________________________________
Responded From: _________________________________
DSP Available?    Y   N Reason not utilized or not available:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

ALS 10-8: ________  ALS 10-2: __________
Helo Request: _____  Helo 10-8: ______ Helo 10-2: _____

Circumstances
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(Briefly describe the factors or circumstances that
contributed to the use of this Air Medical Service)

Submitted by (print): _______________________________
Signature:  _______________________________________
Date: __________________

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Food Stamp Program

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS OF 
DELAWARE'S DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

MANUAL SECTIONS 9042, 9028.1, 2012

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services / Food
Stamp Program initiated proceedings to amend policies
related to the Division of Social Services Manual Sections
9042, 9028.1, 2012.  The first change states that households
applying for food stamps whose gross income is at or below
200 per cent of the Federal Poverty Level are categorically
eligible.  The second change moved joint application
processing language to a new section (from DSSM 9042 to
DSSM 9028.1). The third change clarifies the rule that
eligible individuals may receive benefits up to and including
the date of his/her death to include the Food Stamp and
Medicaid Programs.  The Department’s proceedings to
amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware
Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the March, 2001 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by
March 31, 2001 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the March, 2001 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed

regulations of the Food Stamp Program are adopted and shall
be final effective May 10, 2001.

April 16, 2001, Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS

REVISION

9042  ABC/GA and Categorically Eligible Households
[273.2(j)]
Notify households applying for ABC/GA of their right

to apply for food stamp benefits at the same time and permit
them to do so.  These households' food stamp eligibility and
benefit levels are to be based solely on food stamp eligibility
criteria.  However, any household in which all members are
recipients of ABC/GA and/or SSI benefits are to be
considered eligible for food stamps because of their ABC/
GA/SSI status in accordance with DSSM 9042.2 .

Recipients include individuals authorized to receive
ABC/GA and/or SSI benefits but who have not yet received
payment.  In addition, persons are considered recipients if
the ABC/GA or SSI benefits are suspended or recouped.
Persons entitled to ABC/GA benefits because the grant is
less than $10. are also considered ABC/GA recipients.

Households, whether jointly processed and/or eligible
because of their ABC/GA/SSI status will be certified in
accordance with the notice, procedural and timeliness
requirements of the food stamp regulations.

Households applying for food stamps whose gross
income is at or below 200 percent of the Federal poverty
level are categorically eligible unless specifically excluded
in DSSM 9042.2 or 9042.3.  The household is categorically
eligible because Delaware uses TANF funds to provide
pregnancy prevention information.  Reduction of out-of-

wedlock pregnancies is the 3rd purpose of the TANF
program.

The authorization to receive information and/or services
for pregnancy prevention is included on all applications for
food stamps as follows:

AUTHORIZATION FOR RECEIPT OF PREGNANCY
PREVENTION INFORMATION

You are authorized to receive pregnancy prevention
information.  If you wish to receive this information you can
call Planned Parenthood at 1-800-230-PLAN (7526).  If you
wish to get teen pregnancy prevention information, you may
also call the Alliance for Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention
at 1-800-499-WAIT (9248).  You can also call the Delaware
Helpline at 1-800-464-4357 for the Public Health Family
Planning clinic in your area.

9028.1  Joint Application Processing
Notify households applying for ABC/GA of their right

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.htm
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to apply for food stamp benefits at the same time and permit
them to do so.  These households' food stamp eligibility and
benefit levels are to be based solely on food stamp eligibility
criteria.  However, any household in which all members are
recipients of ABC/GA and/or SSI benefits are to be
considered eligible for food stamps because of their ABC/
GA/SSI status in accordance with DSSM 9042.2 .

Recipients include individuals authorized to receive
ABC/GA and/or SSI benefits but who have not yet received
payment.  In addition, persons are considered recipients if
the ABC/GA or SSI benefits are suspended or recouped.
Persons entitled to ABC/GA benefits because the grant is
less than $10. are also considered ABC/GA recipients.

Households, whether jointly processed and/or eligible
because of their ABC/GA/SSI status, will be certified in
accordance with the notice, procedural and timeliness
requirements of the food stamp regulations.

DSSM 2012  Deceased Cash Assistance Recipients
Eligible individuals may receive benefits up to and

including the date of his/her death.
For Cash Assistance:

If a recipient dies after midnight of the first day of
the month, but before he has received his grant or was unable
to endorse and cash it, the check may be returned to the
Payments Section, DMS.  There it will be marked "Payable
to the estate of" the recipient.  The name of the person
handling the estate will be designated as payee.  The check
will be sent to the person handling the estate.

For Food Stamps:
If the deceased recipient was the only household

member, the food stamp benefits are returned to the agency.
If the deceased recipient is the payee of the benefit

for a household, the remaining household members are
eligible for the benefit at the same level for the current
month, and if eligible due to ten day notice, for the next
month_s benefit.

For Medical Assistance:
Individuals may receive benefits up to and

including the date of his/her death.
For Long Term Care:

Institutions may receive vendor payment up to and
including the date of death.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services /
Medicaid Program initiated proceedings to add new policy
related to Section 4913 Disabled Children to the Division of
Social Services Manual Sections 17170 through 17170.6.
These are proposed eligibility rules for a mandatory
categorically needy eligibility group enacted under the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997.  Medicaid coverage is
continued for children who lost Supplemental Security
Income (SSI) payments (and automatic Medicaid) because
they did not meet the new definition of disability enacted
under the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996.

The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations
were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114
and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section
512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the March, 2001 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by
March 31, 2001 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the March, 2001 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed new
regulations of the Medicaid Program are adopted and shall
be final effective May 10, 2001.

April 16, 2001, Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS

17170 Section 4913 Disabled Children 
Section 4913 of The Balanced Budget Act (BBA)

provides that children who were receiving SSI payments on
August 22, 1996, and who but for the enactment of the new
disability definition under § 211(a) of the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Act of 1996
(PRWORA), would continue to be paid SSI, are mandatory
categorically eligible for Medicaid.  This provision is
effective for those children who lose their SSI payment on or
after July 1, 1997.

17170.1 Technical Eligibility 
The child must meet all of the following

requirements:

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.htm
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(a) The child was being paid SSI on August 22,
1996.  This includes children who, as of August 22, 1996,
were in current pay status, had received favorable or
partially favorable administrative decisions, or had a Zebley
appeal pending.

(b) The child's SSI payment stopped on or after
July 1, 1997.

(c) The decision to stop SSI payments was due to a
determination that the child does not meet the definition of
disability enacted on August 22, 1996, at § 211(a) of the
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996.

(d) The child would, except for the disability
determination described in (c), continue to be paid SSI.

A child, who was not receiving SSI on August
22, 1996, is not protected by Section 4913.  A child who
loses SSI after August 22, 1996, for a nondisability reason is
also not protected by Section 4913.  If either of these two
situations occur, a redetermination of Medicaid eligibility
for the child under another eligibility group will be done. 

17170.2 Disability Determination
The redetermination of disability will follow the

rules in 20 CFR 416.920-930 as in effect on April 1, 1996.  
17170.3 Continuing Disability Reviews

The rules in 20 CFR 416.990 as published on April
1, 1996, will be used with the following modifications to the
frequency of review:

(a) Review disability after, at most, 18 months if
medical improvement is expected.

(b) Review disability after, at most, 3 years if
disability is not permanent but medical improvement cannot
be predicted.

(c) Review disability after, at most, 7 years if
disability is permanent.

17170.4 Financial Eligibility
Follow the SSI income and resource standards and

methodologies.
17170.5 Continued Eligibility

Medicaid eligibility for children covered under this
provision continues until the earlier of:

(a) the child reaches age 18
(b) the child no longer meets the criteria of the SSI

program for payment of benefits (other than the post August
22, 1996, definition of disability for children).  A child who
ceases to meet the non-disability SSI eligibility criteria can
recover coverage under Section 4913 if the child again meets
the non-disability SSI criteria.  However, a determination
that the child is no longer disabled under the pre-PRWORA
disability criteria will permanently bar the child from
protected coverage under Section 4913.

(c) the child is not eligible under another Medicaid
eligibility group.

17170.6 Redetermination of Eligibility
A redetermination of the nondisability criteria is

required at least every 12 months.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP & TRAINING

Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code,
Section 202(a) (19 Del.C. §202(a))

ORDER

Public hearings were held on December 12, 2000 and
March 13, 2001 before the Council on Apprenticeship and
Training to receive comments relating to proposed changes
to Regulation 106.9 Deregistration of State Registered and
Regulation 106.10 Hearing. At the regularly scheduled on
March 13, 2001, the Council voted to recommend that the
Secretary of Labor adopt the proposal as it was published in
the Register of Regulations, Vol. 4, Issue 8 (February 1,
2001).

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND 
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

At the public hearing on December 12, 2000

1. Bill McCloskey, President, Building Trades, spoke in
support of the changes but recommend that the word “will”
should be substituted in 106.9(C) to may initiating the
proceedings mandatory.  He thought there should be a period
of deregistration such as three years.  In his view, a sponsor
has a special obligation of training and safety to the
apprenticeship as a parent and child.

2. Ed Capodanno of Associated Builders & Contractors
questioned the need for a change. He thought the term
“appears” in 106.9(B)  may be too vague.  He wondered if an
allegation of a violation from anyone would trigger
deregistration.

3.  Ken Adams of Pace Electric commented that he
wasn’t aware that the federal laws were implicated in
enforcement.    He was in favor of tightening up the
regulations.

RECOMMENDED FINDINGS OF FACT WITH 
RESPECT TO THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION

1. The Council believes that the term “will” should be
substituted for “may” to make the consequences of a
violation more certain.

2. The Council recognizes that it is up to the
Administrator to determine what “appears” to be a violation
that will trigger an investigation and possible action. The
Council believes that to protect the rights of the apprentice,
the time for response by the Sponsor  to a notice of violation

http://www.delawareworks.com/
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should be shortened to 10 days.
3. The Council agrees that a  recommendation for

involuntary deregistration should include a period during
which the Sponsor could not reapply with a program.  That
recommendation could be up to three years.

These recommendations are respectfully submitted to

the Secretary of Labor for consideration this 13th day of
March, 2001.

COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP AND TRAINING

Robert Buccini       Thomas Archie
Lewis Atkinson, Ed.D. James T. Clothier

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

Having reviewed the record of the Public Hearings and
adopted the recommendations of the Council on
Apprenticeship and Training,  the changes to Regulation
106.9 and 106.10 are hereby promulgated to be effective 10
days following publication of the final regulations in the
Register of Regulations.

TEXT AND CITATION 

The text of the Rules and Regulations appears in the
Register of Regulations, Vol. 4, Issue 8, February 1, 2001.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Harold E. Stafford, Secretary of Labor

Sec. 106.9 DEREGISTRATION OF STATE
REGISTERED PROGRAM

(A) Deregistration proceedings shall be undertaken
when the Program is not conducted, operated or
administered in accordance with the Registration standards
and the requirements of this chapter;

(B) Where it appears the Program is not being operated
in accordance with the Registered standards or with the
requirements of the chapter, the Administrator shall so notify
the Program Registrant in writing;

(C) The notice shall be sent by registered or certified
mail, return receipt requested, and shall state the
deficiency(s) or violation(s);

(D) It is declared to be the policy to this State to:
(1) deny the privilege of operation of a Program to

persons who, by their conduct and record, have
demonstrated their indifference to the aforementioned
policies; and

(2) discourage repetition of violations of rules and
regulations governing the operation of Registered
Apprenticeship Programs by individuals, Sponsors, or
Committees against the prescribed policies of the State, and

its political subdivisions, and to impose increased and added
deprivation of the privilege to operate Programs against
those who have been found in violation of these rules and
regulations;

(3) deregister a Program either upon the voluntary
action of the Registrant by a Request for cancellation of the
Registration, or upon notice by the State to the Registrant
stating cause, and instituting formal deregistration
proceedings in accordance with the provisions of this
chapter;

(4) at the request of Sponsor, permit the
Administrator to cancel the Registration of a Program by a
written acknowledgment of such request stating, but not
limited to, the following:

(a) that the Registration is canceled at
Sponsor’s request and giving the effective date of such
cancellation.

(b) that, within fifteen (15) working days of the
date of the acknowledgment, the Registrant must notify all
Apprentices of such Cancellation, the effective date, and that
such Cancellation automatically deprives the Apprentice of
his/her individual Registration.

(E) Any Sponsor who violates major provisions of the
rules repeatedly, as determined by the Administrator of
Apprenticeship and Training (three violations in any give
twelve month period), shall be sent a notice which shall
contain the violations and will inform the Sponsor that the
Program will be placed in a probationary status for the next
six (6) month period.  Any new major violations in this
period shall constitute cause for deregistration.   In such a
case, the Administrator shall notify the chairman of the
Apprenticeship and Training Council, who shall convene the
Council.

The Sponsor in question will be notified of said
meeting and may present whatever facts, witnesses, etc., the
Sponsor deems appropriate.  After said hearing, the Council
shall make a recommendation based on the facts presented to
the Secretary, as to whether the Program should be
deregistered.  The Secretary’s decision shall be final and
binding on the matter.

(F) Sponsors with fewer than three (3) violations shall
be sent a notice by registered or certified mail, return receipt
requested, stating that deficiencies for cause unless
corrective action is taken within thirty (30) days.  Upon
request by Registrant, the thirty (30) day period may be
extended for up to an additional thirty (30) day period.

(G) If the required action is not taken with the allotted
time, the Administrator shall send a notice to the Registrant
by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested,
stating the following:

(1) this notice is sent pursuant to this subsection;
(2) that certain deficiencies were called to the

Registrant’s attention and remedial action requested;
(3) based upon the stated cause and failure of
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remedy, the Program will be deregistered, unless within
fifteen (15) working days of receipt of this notice, the
Registrant requests a hearing;

(4) If a hearing is not requested by the Registrant,
the Program will automatically be deregistered.

(H) Every order of deregistration shall contain a
provision that the Registrant and State shall, within fifteen
(15) working days of the effective date of the order, notify
all registered Apprentices of the deregistration of the
Program, the effective date, and that such action
automatically deprives the Apprentice of his/her individual
Registration.

(A) It is the policy of this State to discourage violations
of the law or these rules and regulations by limiting or
revoking the privilege to operate programs when Sponsors
demonstrate an indifference to these requirements.

(B) Where it appears to the Administrator that a
program is not being operated in accordance with federal or
state law or these  rules and regulations, the Administrator
shall so notify the Sponsor in writing stating  the deficiency
and providing a period for corrective action not to exceed 10
days.  Such notice shall be sent by certified mail, return
receipt requested. The Sponsor shall respond in writing  to
the letter within 10 days of receipt.

(C) If the Sponsor fails to correct a deficiency after
notice by the Administrator under (B), deregistration
proceedings will  be undertaken.

1. Voluntary deregistration is available to a Sponsor
upon written request to the Administrator.  Within fifteen
(15) working days of the effective date of deregistration
demonstrated by the acknowledgment of  the Administrator,
the Sponsor must notify all Apprentices of such
deregistration, the effective date, and that the deregistration
automatically deprives the apprentice of his/her individual
registration.

2. Involuntary deregistration is initiated by the
Administrator as follows:

(a)  If the Sponsor fails to respond to the notice
of deficiency, the Administrator shall advise the Sponsor by
certified mail, return receipt requested,  that the program will
be recommended for deregistration unless within 10 days the
Sponsor requests a hearing.

(b)  If the response by the Sponsor to the notice
is insufficient to correct the deficiency,  the Administrator
shall so advise the sponsor by certified mail, return receipt
requested.  Said letter shall advise the Sponsor that the
program will be recommended for deregistration unless
within 10 days the Sponsor requests a hearing.

(c)  If no hearing is timely requested, the
Administrator will recommend deregistration to the
Secretary.   The decision of the Secretary is final and no
further appeal is provided.  The sponsor will be notified of
the effective date of deregistration.  In addition, a decision of

deregistration and its effective date will be mailed to all
Apprentices registered in the program.

(d) All recommendations for involuntary
deregistration as a result of violations of the Rules and
Regulations  will include a recommended period of
deregistration of up to three (3) years.

SEC. 106.10.  HEARING
(A) Within ten (10) working days of a request for a

hearing, the Administrator or his/her designee, shall give
reasonable notice of such hearing by registered mail, return
receipt requested, to the Registrant.  Such notice shall
include:

(1) the time and place of the hearing;
(2) a statement of the provisions of the chapter

pursuant to which the hearing is to be held;
(3) a statement of the cause for which the Program

may be deregistered and the purpose of the hearing.
(B) The chairman of the Council on Apprenticeship and

Training or his/her designee shall conduct the hearing, which
shall be informal in nature.  Each party shall have the right to
counsel, and the opportunity to present his/her case fully,
including cross-examination of witnesses as appropriate.

(C) The Administrator shall make every effort to
resolve the complaint and shall render an opinion within
ninety (90) days after receipt of the complaint, based upon
the record before him and an investigation, if necessary.  The
Administrator shall notify, in writing, all partied of his
decisions.  If any party is dissatisfied with or feels that they
have been treated unfairly by said decision, they may request
a hearing by the Apprenticeship and Training Council.
Those provisions of the hearing process that are applicable
shall be followed and Council shall make a determination on
the basis of the record and the proposed findings of the
Administrator.  This determination shall be subject to review
and approval by the Secretary, whose decision shall be final.

(A) A deregistration hearing will be scheduled before
the Council on Apprenticeship and Training within 45 days
of receipt of a timely request by the Sponsor.

(B) Notice shall be in accord with the provisions of the
Administrative Procedures Act.

(C) Each party shall have the right to present evidence,
to be represented by counsel, and to cross-examine
witnesses.

(D) A record from which a verbatim transcript can be
prepared shall be made of the hearing.  A party may request
a transcript at his or her expense.

(E) At the conclusion of the hearing, the Council will
determine, by a majority of the quorum, its recommendation
to the Secretary.

(F) The Council shall submit its recommended findings
of fact, conclusions of law, and decision to the Secretary.
Said recommendations may be authenticated by the



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 11, TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2001

1855

chairperson.
(G) The decision of the Secretary is final and no further

appeal is provided.  The decision will by sent by certified
mail  to the Sponsor.  In addition, a decision of deregistration
and its effective date will be mailed to all Apprentices
registered in the program.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 
(7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2001-A-0011
Proposed Revisions to the Delaware Regulations 

Governing Solid Waste

Date of Issuance:  March 27, 2001
Effective Date of the Revisions:  May 10, 2001

I. Background

On July 25, 2000, a public hearing was held in the
DNREC Auditorium in Dover to receive comment on the
Department’s proposed revisions to the Delaware
Regulations Governing Solid Waste.  Notice of the
proposed modifications and dates of the public workshop
and public hearing were first published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations, Vol. 3, Issue 10, on April 1, 2000.
Thereafter, a public workshop was held on May 10, 2000, to
explain the proposed changes.  As a result of the comments
received at the public workshop, the Solid and Hazardous
Waste Management Branch of the Division of Air and Waste
Management proposed modifications to the previously
noticed changes.  The revised proposed regulatory revisions
were published in the Delaware Register of Regulations,
Vol. 4, Issue 1, on July 1, 2000.

The aforementioned proposed revisions involve
numerous minor modifications to Delaware’s Regulations
Governing Solid Waste.  After the hearing, the Department
performed an evaluation of the evidence entered into the
record in this matter.  Thereafter, the Hearing Officer
prepared his report and recommendation in the form of a
memorandum to the Secretary dated March 6, 2001, and that
memorandum is expressly incorporated herein by reference.

II. Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the

Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated March 6, 2001, are
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III. Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed
revisions to the Delaware Regulations Governing Solid
Waste be promulgated and implemented in the manner and
form provided for by law pursuant to the changes proposed
prior to the hearing and as recommended in the Hearing
Officer’s memorandum.

IV. Reasons

Adopting these proposed revisions to the Delaware
Regulations Governing Solid will be beneficial to the State
of Delaware.  The Department’s Division of Air & Waste
Management has provided a sound basis for these revisions,
including reasoned responses to the various comments, and
has, where necessary, proposed minor changes to satisfy
DSWA concerns.  In addition, the implementation of these
regulatory revisions will further the policy and purposes of 7
Del.C., Chapter 60.

Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Secretary

MEMORANDUM

TO: Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Secretary
THROUGH: Robert R. Thompson, Hearing Officer
FROM: Lisa A. Vest, Paralegal
RE: Proposed Revisions to the Delaware

Regulations Governing Solid Waste
DATE: March 6, 2001

I. Background:
On July 25, 2000, a public hearing was held in the

DNREC Auditorium in Dover to receive comment on the
Department’s proposed revisions to the Delaware
Regulations Governing Solid Waste.  Notice of the
proposed modifications and dates of the public workshop
and public hearing were first published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations, Vol. 3, Issue 10, on April 1, 2000.
Thereafter, a public workshop was held on May 10, 2000, to
explain the proposed changes.  As a result of the comments
received at the public workshop, the Solid and Hazardous
Waste Management Branch of the Division of Air and Waste
Management proposed modifications to the previously
noticed changes.  The revised proposed regulatory revisions
were published in the Delaware Register of Regulations,
Vol. 4, Issue 1, on July 1, 2000.

The aforementioned proposed revisions involve
numerous minor modifications to Delaware’s Regulations

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
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Governing Solid Waste.  The following is a brief summary
of the changes being proposed by AWM at this time:

1. Section 2 (Scope and Applicability):
• Clarification of requirements applicable to agricul-

tural waste.
• Removal of composting and recycling from

“Exemptions” and relocation of same to a new sub-
section, “Composting and Recycling Approvals”.

2. Section 3 (Definitions):
• Definition of previously undefined terms.
• Deletion of terms no longer used in the regulations.
• Clarification of terms which are imprecise or

incomplete.

3. Section 4 (Permit Requirements and
Administrative Procedures:

• Addition of provision requiring all permittees to
comply with the conditions of their permits.

• Clarification of procedures for transferring a per-
mit.

• Increasing the notifications time for transfer of a
permit.

• Streamlining the procedure for approving the clo-
sure of a solid waste facility.

• Provision of greater consistency in permitting
requirements.

4. Section 5 (Sanitary Landfills):
• Prohibition of the acceptance of Conditionally

Exempt Small Quantity Generator Waste.

5. Section 7 (Transporters):
• Clarification of administrative requirements per-

taining to permit applications.
• Clarification of reporting and documentation

requirements.
• Prohibition of transporters who have been denied a

transporter permit from being listed as a subcon-
tractor or sub-lese on another transporter’s permit
for a period of one year after the expiration of
denial date.

• Provision of references to other sections of the reg-
ulations where applicable.

• Review financial assurance requirements to make
them consistent with federal requirements.

6. Section 10 (Transfer Stations):
• Removal of language referring to flow control at

Delaware Solid Waste Authority facilities.

7. Section 11, Part 1 (Infectious Waste):
• Reorganization of portions of this section to make

requirements more understandable.

• Referencing of other applicable sections of the reg-
ulations to minimize misunderstanding of require-
ments.

• Removal of the provision allowing a transporter to
complete a consolidated manifest for small quantity
infectious waste generators.

In addition to the above proposed revisions, the
Department is proposing the following changes throughout
the regulations:

• The changing of “Solid Waste Management
Branch” to “Solid and Hazardous Waste Manage-
ment Branch”.

• The elimination, where possible, of provisions
requiring compliance with regulations, standards,
or procedures not contained within this document
and potentially subject to change by entities other
than the DNREC Solid and Hazardous Waste Man-
agement Branch.

No one from the public attended the hearing, but written
comments were received at that time from Richard Watson
(representing the Delaware Solid Waste Authority) and
subsequently from Harvey & Harvey (a division of Waste
Management of Delaware, Inc.), all of which will be
addressed below.  The Solid & Hazardous Waste
Management Branch of the Department responded to the
comments from the Delaware Solid Waste Authority in a
response document attached to their memorandum to the
Hearing Officer, dated December 27, 2000.  Proper notice of
the hearing was provided as required by law.

II. Summary of Comments:
A. Exhibits:

The record contains four (4) exhibits from the
Department’s Solid and Hazardous Waste Management
Branch, which are as follows:

• Exhibit No. 1:  List of proposed revisions.
• Exhibit No. 2:  Complete text of the regulations,

with proposed revisions, as published in the Dela-
ware Register of Regulations, Vol. 4, Issue 1, on
July 1, 2000.

• Exhibit No. 3:  Legal notice for Public Hearing and
announcement of Public Workshop.

• Exhibit No. 4:  Attendance list for Public Work-
shop.

Additionally, the Delaware Solid Waste Authority
submitted written comments to the Department at the time of
the hearing, which were identified by the Hearing Officer as
“DSWA #1”.  Subsequent to the date of the hearing, the
Department also received a letter dated July 28, 2000 from
Harvey & Harvey, a Division of Waste Management of
Delaware, Inc.  Lastly, the Department prepared written
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responses to the Delaware Solid Waste Authority’s
comments, and attached this response document to their
memorandum addressed to the Hearing Officer dated
December 27, 2000

B. Comments:
As noted above, the Delaware Solid Waste

Authority (hereinafter referred to as “DSWA”) submitted
written comments on the Department’s proposed revisions to
the Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste.  These
comments, along with the Department’s written responses to
the same, are thoroughly addressed in the Department’s
response document attached to its memorandum to the
Hearing Officer dated December 27, 2000, which is attached
hereto.

The aforementioned proposed revisions involve
various modifications to Delaware’s Regulations Governing
Solid Waste.  These revisions, all of which are minor in
nature, are quite numerous, and are already set forth in detail
in the above noted document attached to the Department’s
memorandum dated December 27, 2000.  This attachment
also included the DSWA’s comments regarding the
Department’s proposed revisions, as well as the
Department’s response to the same.  Therefore, since the
Department’s response document is being attached to this
report, it is unnecessary to reiterate the same herein.

With respect to the Department’s responses to the
DSWA’s comments, there are only two responses that will
be addressed by this report.  First of all, on page one of the
Department’s responses attached to their memorandum of
December 27, 2000, under “Section 2:  Scope and
Applicability”, the Department is proposing to add the term,
“land application” to the agricultural waste exemption.  In its
comments regarding this revision, DSWA believes that a
definition for “land application” is needed.  The Department
agrees that the term “land application” should be defined,
however, they propose to take that action as part of the next
regulatory revision.  Secondly, on the final page of the
Department’s response document, DSWA suggests that the
Department should add another section to Section 6, which
concerns industrial landfills.  It is DSWA’s position that
industrial landfills have a potential for inadvertently
receiving hazardous waste, and therefore the Department
should have such a provision included within Section 6 of its
regulations.  In their response document, the Department
stated that they believe this suggestion merits consideration,
however, they propose to leave this matter for a future
regulatory revision.

The Department has subsequently clarified their
reasons for the decision to not revise the regulatory language
in both of the above matters at this time.   In both cases,
parties other than DSWA would be affected by any changes
that the Department was to make to the currently proposed
language.  Rather than make changes to their original

proposals based only on DSWA’s input, the Department
prefers to delay the changes until the same can be reworded
and put through the customary public notice process in
future regulatory revisions.

With respect to the letter subsequently received by
the Department from Harvey & Harvey dated July 28, 2000,
it states in pertinent part that this company supports the
Department’s proposal to delete the prohibition on
commingling solid waste generated outside of the State of
Delaware with solid waste generated in Delaware.  Harvey
& Harvey further points out that, since the DSWA has
dropped its flow control regulation in favor of a rebate
program, this regulation is no longer applicable. Thus, no
objections from any parties other than the DSWA
concerning the Department’s proposed revisions to
Delaware’s Regulations Governing Solid Waste exist within
the record that has been generated in this matter. 

III. Conclusions and Recommended Findings:
On the basis of the record developed in this matter, it

appears that the Solid & Hazardous Waste Management
Branch of the Department’s Division of Air & Waste
Management has provided a sound basis for the proposed
revisions to the Delaware Regulations Governing Solid
Waste, including reasoned responses to the various
comments and has, where necessary, proposed minor
changes to satisfy DSWA concerns.  Therefore, I
recommend that AWM’s suggested revisions be made and
that the proposed regulatory revisions be promulgated in
final form, in accordance with the customary and established
rule-making procedure required by law.  

In addition, I recommend issuing the attached
Secretary’s Order to effectuate this purpose and adopting the
Hearing Officer’s findings and conclusions as expressed
hereinabove.

Lisa A. Vest, Paralegal
Robert R. Thompson, Hearing Officer

SYNOPSIS OF REVISIONS TO REGULATIONS 
GOVERNING SOLID WASTE

Section 2:  Scope and Applicability
• Revise the agricultural waste exemption to include

land application (in addition to disposal) of agricul-
tural wastes.

• Move provisions pertaining to composting and
recycling approvals from "Exemptions" subsection
and place them in a new subsection, "Approvals".

Section 3:  Definitions
• Add definitions for the terms compost, compost-

ing, and composting facility.
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• Revise definitions of agricultural waste, bottom
ash, final cover, fly ash, Secretary, and vehicle.

• Delete the term limited transporter.

Section 4:  Permit Requirements and Administrative
Procedures

• Add a provision requiring permittees to abide by
the conditions of their permit.

• Provide that the cost of advertising a permit appli-
cation may (rather than shall) be borne by the appli-
cant.

• Clarify what is meant by timely application for per-
mit renewal.

• Revise procedures for transferring a permit, and
increase the notification time from 15 to 90 days.

• Change references to "Solid Waste Management
Branch" to read "Solid and Hazardous Waste Man-
agement Branch".

• Add a provision that third-party review of financial
assurance documentation may be conducted by pro-
fessionals other than Certified Public Accountants.

• Add a provision specifying that all information pro-
vided on a solid waste permit application is certi-
fied to be true, accurate, and complete by the
applicant's signature.

• Add provisions requiring the engineering report
submitted as part of an application for a resource
recovery facility or an infectious waste manage-
ment facility permit to be prepared and signed by a
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware.

• For thermal recovery facilities, revise wording per-
taining to the ash testing protocol.

• For transfer station submittal requirements, remove
the reference to a Coastal Zone Permit.

Section 5:  Sanitary Landfills
• For a natural liner, revise wording pertaining to test

methods to be used in hydraulic conductivity test-
ing.

• For ground water sampling and analysis, revise
wording pertaining to test methods.

• Revise the provision pertaining to regulated hazard-
ous waste that may not be disposed of at a sanitary
landfill in Delaware.

Section 6:  Industrial Landfills
• For a natural liner, revise wording pertaining to test

methods to be used in hydraulic conductivity test-
ing.

• For ground water sampling and analysis, revise
wording pertaining to test methods.

Section 7:  Transporters

• Revise the permit exemption for certain types of
solid waste generated on a farm to clarify that the
exemption applies only to farms located in Dela-
ware.

• Revise the annual reporting requirement, to require
reporting by weight only, and to require accurate
reporting.

• Add a provision to require that annual reports be
submitted once a year within 90 days after the end
of the calendar year.

• Add a provision to prohibit a transporter who has
been denied a transporter permit from becoming a
subcontractor under another transporter's permit for
a period of one-year.

• Revise financial responsibility requirements for
Infectious Waste Transporters and for Dry Waste
Only transporters, to make them consistent with
federal requirements.

Section 9:  Resource Recovery Facilities
• Revise provisions pertaining to closure of a facility,

to specify that the proposed closure activity will be
subject to public notice.

• Revise the procedure whereby the Department will
approve closure of a facility.

Section 10:  Transfer Stations
• Remove the provision prohibiting commingling of

solid waste generated in Delaware with solid waste
generated outside of Delaware.

• Revise provisions pertaining to closure of a facility,
to specify that the proposed closure activity will be
subject to public notice.

• Revise the procedure whereby the Department will
approve closure of a facility.

Section 11:  Special Wastes Management (Part 1 -
Infectious Waste)

• Remove the provision allowing a transporter to
complete a consolidated manifest for small quantity
infectious waste generators that he or she services.

• Add wording to clarify that transporters of infec-
tious waste must have obtained a transporter permit
from the Department.

• Move the provisions pertaining to annual reporting
requirements for generators and transporters of
infectious waste from Subsection P (Manifest
Requirements) to Subsection L (Recordkeeping and
Reporting Requirements).

 PLEASE NOTE THAT DUE TO SPACE CONSTRAINTS THE

TEXT OF THE PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE STATE OF

DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL REGULATIONS GOVERNING

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague
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THE CONTROL OF WATER POLLUTION ARE NOT BEING

PUBLISHED. THE FULL TEXT IS AVAILABLE FROM THE

REGISTRAR OR FROM THE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

WEBSITE AT HTTP://WWW.LEGIS.STATE.DE.US, IN THREE

FORMATS; PDF, HTML AND TEXT.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 1902(a) (7 Del.C. §1902(a))

ORDER

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION

Pursuant to due notice 4 DE Reg. 1490-1492 (03/01/
01), the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposed to amend Tidal Finfish
Regulation Nos. 21 and 23 and add a new Tidal Finfish
Regulation to adjust the recreational minimum size limit and
implement a daily creel limit on scup, adjust the commercial
fishing quarterly trip limits and quarterly closures as
determined by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission (ASMFC) and maintain the closure of the
commercial fishery for spiny dogfish.  It also proposed a
new shellfish regulation to require the use of bycatch
reduction devices in all recreational crab pots to minimize
the capture and subsequent drowning of diamond back
terrapins.  The tidal finfish regulations are required to remain
in compliance with fishery management plans adopted by
the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. The
Atlantic States Coastal Fisheries Cooperative Management
Act (1993) requires Atlantic coastal states to comply with
interstate fishery management plans adopted by the ASMFC.
The shellfish regulation is the result of four years of research
to conserve the diamond back terrapin.

A public workshop on the bycatch reduction device for
recreational crab pots was held on February 6, 2001.  A
public hearing was held on all the above proposed
regulations on March 27, 2001.

FINDINGS OF FACT

I find the following facts from testimony and evidence
presented:

• §903, 7 Del. C. authorizes the Department to pro-
mulgate tidal finfish regulations that are consistent
with interstate fishery management plans.

• §1902, 7 Del. C. authorizes the Department to pro-
mulgate shellfish regulations to provide for the
preservation and improvement of the shellfish
resources of the state.

SCUP

• The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
adopted measures that require states to the south of
New Jersey to implement and enforce a minimum
size limit on scup of 8 inches and a daily creel limit
of 50 scup in order to reduce the coastwide landings
of scup by 33%.

BLACK SEA BASS

• The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
adjusts the quarterly trip limits for commercial fish-
ermen for black sea bass.

• The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
may close the black sea bass fishery for the remain-
der of any quarter when the quarterly quota is
landed.

SPINY DOGFISH

• The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
requires coastal states to maintain the emergency
closure of the commercial fishery for spiny dogfish
until such time the commission adopts a fishery
management plan for the spiny dogfish or the fish-
ery recovers.

BLUE CRAB – DIAMOND BACK TERRAPIN

• The population of diamond back terrapins is on a
decline.

• Diamond back terrapins are captured and drown in
crab pots.

• Bycatch reduction devices, placed in the funnel
entrances to crab pots, can reduce the capture of
diamond back terrapins and not adversely affect the
catch of crabs

• The optimum size of a bycatch reduction device in
Delaware for reducing the catch of diamond back
terrapins is no more that 1.75 inches in height x
4.75 inches in height.

• Diamond back terrapins congregate near the shore
in shallow water and in tidal tributaries where only
recreational crab pots are authorized to be used.

CONCLUSION

I have reached the following conclusion:
The Department should adopt tidal finfish regulations to

comply with the requirements of the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission relative to recreational scup minimum
size limits and creel limits, quarterly trip limits and closure

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/FW/FW.htm
Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

Jeff Hague

http://www.state.de.us/research/register/may2001/solidwaste.pdf
http://www.state.de.us/research/register/may2001/solidwaste.htm
http://www.state.de.us/research/register/may2001/solidwaste.txt
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of the black sea bass fishery and the emergency closure of
the spring dogfish fishery in state waters.  It should also
adopt a shellfish regulation requiring the use of bycatch
reduction devices in recreational crab pots in order to reduce
the fishing mortality of diamond back terrapins.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered this 6th day of April in the year 2001
that amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation Nos. 21 and 23,
new Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 27 and new Shellfish
Regulation No. S-34, copies of which are attached hereto,
are adopted pursuant to 7 Del.C. §1902 and are supported by
the Department’s findings of evidence and testimony
received.  This Order shall become effective on May 10,
2001.

Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Secretary, Department of
Natural Resources and  Environmental Control

Shellfish Regulation

S–34  NON COMMERCIAL CRAB POT DESIGN;
BYCATCH REDUCTION DEVICE

a) It shall be unlawful for the owner of any non-
commercial crab pot to place said crab pot in the tidal waters
of this State unless said crab pot has a bycatch reduction
device securely attached in each entrance such that each crab
entering said crab pot must pass through the bycatch
reduction device.  A bycatch reduction device shall mean a
metal or plastic rigid rectangle that measures no more than
1.75 inches by 4.75 inches.

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION 21.  SCUP SIZE
LIMIT.

a) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to have in possession any scup, Stenotomus chrysops, that
measures less than seven (7) eight (8) inches, total length.

b) It shall be unlawful for any person who has been
issued a commercial food fishing license by the Department
to possess any scup that measures less than nine (9) inches,
total length.

c) It shall be unlawful for any commercial
finfisherman to sell, trade or barter or attempt to sell, trade or
barter any scup or part thereof that is landed in this State by
said commercial finfisherman after a date when the de
minimis amount of commercial landings of scup is
determined to have been landed in this State by the
Department.  The de minimis amount of scup shall be 0.1%
of the coast wide commercial quota as set forth in the Scup
Fishery Management Plan approved by the Atlantic States
Marine Fisheries commission.

d) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to have in possession more than 50 scup at or between the

place where said scup were caught and said recreational
fisherman’s personal abode or temporary or transient place
of lodging.

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 23 BLACK SEA
BASS SIZE LIMIT; TRIP LIMITS; SEASONS;
QUOTAS

a) It shall be unlawful for any person to have in
possession any black sea bass Centropritis striata that
measures less than ten (10) inches, total length.

b) Is omitted intentionally.
c) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess on

board a vessel at any time or to land after one trip more than
the following quantities quantity of black sea bass during the
quarter listed. determined by the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission for any quarter.

First Quarter (January, February and March) -
9,000 pounds.

Second Quarter (April, May and June) –
3,000 pounds.

Third Quarter (July, August and September) –
2,000 pounds.

Fourth Quarter (October, November and
December) – 3,000 pounds.

The Department shall notify each individual
licensed in Delaware to land black sea bass for commercial
purposes of the quarterly trip limits established by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.  One trip shall
mean the time between a vessel leaving its home port and the
next time said vessel returns to any port in Delaware.

d) It shall be unlawful for any person to fish for black
sea bass for commercial  purposes or to land any black sea
bass for commercial purposes during any quarter indicated in
subsection (c) after the date in said quarter that the National
Marine Fisheries Services Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission determines that quarter’s quota is filled.  The
Department shall notify each individual licensed in
Delaware to land black sea bass for commercial purposes of
any closure when a quarterly quota is filled. 

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 27, SPINY
DOGFISH; CLOSURE OF FISHERY

a) It shall be unlawful for any commercial fisherman
to harvest, land or possess any spiny dogfish, Squalus
acanthias.
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FOURTEEN

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS
AND AGENCIES

RE: DEVELOPMENT OF LIVABLE DELAWARE
IMPLEMENTATION PLANS

WHEREAS, Delaware has a well deserved reputation as
an ideal place to live, work, raise a family, and enjoy
recreational activities;

WHEREAS, our natural resources, sound economy,
opportunities for personal and business success, and overall
quality of life will add almost 190,000 additional
Delawareans by the year 2020, a growth rate faster than any
northeastern state;

WHEREAS, Delawareans are concerned that the quality
of place in our state is threatened by sprawl, traffic
congestion, loss of farmland and open space, diminished air
and water quality, and a shortage of affordable housing;

WHEREAS, residential, transportation and employment
patterns can have direct impacts on the means by which we
move about the State and attainment of Delaware's air
quality goals and the protection of public health;

WHEREAS, haphazard sprawl and unplanned growth
create an inefficient demand for public infrastructure,
services and facilities that all Delaware taxpayers must
finance, no matter where they live;

WHEREAS, the Cabinet Committee on State Planning
Issues has undertaken an extensive process of analyzing long
term growth trends, soliciting public opinion, and
considering the implications of expected growth throughout
the State over the next 25 years, and has approved a
comprehensive set of goals and strategies set forth in
"Shaping Delaware's Future: Managing Growth in 21S`
Century Delaware, Strategies for State Policies and
Spending" to guide Delaware's overall development and to
ensure efficient, rational and cost-effective investments in
necessary infrastructure;

WHEREAS, those development goals are restated
herein:

• Direct investment and future development to existing
communities, urban concentrations, and growth areas.

• Protect important farmlands and critical natural resource
areas.

• Improve housing quality, variety and affordability for all
income groups.

• Ensure objective measurement of long-term community

effects of land use policies and infrastructure
investments.

• Streamline regulatory processes and provide flexible
incentives and disincentives to encourage development in
desired areas.

• Encourage redevelopment and improve the livability of
existing communities and urban areas, and guide new
employment into underutilized commercial and industrial
sites.

• Provide high quality employment opportunities for
citizens with various skill levels to retain and attract a
diverse economic base.

• Protect the state's water supplies, open spaces, farmlands
and communities by encouraging revitalization of
existing water and wastewater systems and the
construction of new systems.

• Promote mobility for people and goods through a
balanced system of transportation options.

• Improve access to educational opportunities, health care
and human services for all Delawareans

• Coordinate public policy planning and decisions among
state, counties and municipalities.

WHEREAS, these planning goals provide an
opportunity to promote sustainability of our economic and
ecological growth and will maintain and enhance the
qualities that make Delaware a unique place to live;

WHEREAS, the State must provide leadership and set
an example by bringing its policies, programs, regulations
and expenditures in line with the approved goals and
strategies, and must play a major role in encouraging growth
in areas that we've agreed are appropriate to accept it;

WHEREAS, my State of the State Address of January
25, 2001, calls for the development of "Livable Delaware"
principles to keep sprawl in check, reduce traffic congestion,
strengthen our towns and cities, improve our environment
and protect our roads, schools and other infrastructure;

NOW, THEREFORE I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware,

hereby declare and order on this 22nd  day of March, 2001:

1.  As part of Livable Delaware, the Office of State
Planning Coordination shall immediately make available to
all State departments and agencies a copy of the "Shaping
Delaware's Future" report and the adopted state development
goals, along with instructions for preparing the
implementation response called for herein;

2.  All State departments and agencies shall, no later
than August 31, 2001, complete and submit an
implementation plan for these development goals and
strategies which:

(a) Identifies all Department programs, policies and
actions which are impacted by or can be used to support the
state development goals and strategies;

(b) Identifies administrative, organizational,

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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regulatory, or statutory actions to be taken, including those
already taken or underway, to ensure compliance and
consistency with the state development goals and strategies;

(c)  Identifies existing laws, programs, policies and
actions that impede implementation of the development
goals and strategies;

(d)  Identifies how capital and budget planning will
be used to implement the State investment strategies;

(e)  Identifies essential legislative actions needed to
ensure that state agency authorities and programs are
consistent with and support the development goals and
strategies;

(f)  Sets forth an action plan, schedule for
undertaking such actions, and proposes measures to gauge
progress toward achieving the State development goals and
investment strategies.

3.  No later than October 31, 2001, the Cabinet
Committee on State Planning Issues shall review and
provide comments to the agencies and Office of State
Planning Coordination on the implementation responses
required in this Executive Order.

APPROVED this 28th day of March 2001

Ruth Ann Minner, Governor

Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, 

Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. 209(a))

IN THE MATTER OF THE INFORMAL  |
ADOPTION OF GUIDELINES TO |
GOVERN NEGOTIATIONS, |
MEDIATION, AND APPROVAL |
OF AGREEMENTS |  PSC DOCKET
CONDUCTED PURSUANT TO THE |  NO. 96-172
TELECOMMUNICATIONS ACT |
OF 1996, PUBLIC LAW 104-104 |
(ADOPTED JULY 23, 1996) ) |

ORDER NO. 5683

This 27th day of March, 2001, the Commission
determines and Orders the following:

A. BACKGROUND

1. In July 1996, this Commission adopted “Guidelines
for Negotiations, Mediation, Arbitration, and Approval of
Agreements Between Local Exchange Telecommunications
Carriers.”  See PSC Order No. 4245 (July 23, 1996) (the
“Guidelines”).  The impetus for the Guidelines was the-then
recent enactment of the Telecommunications Act of 1996,
with its use of interconnection agreements as the vehicles to
open the local exchange telecommunications market to
competition.  See   47 U.S.C. §§ 251 & 252.  The purpose of
these Guidelines was to provide a procedural map which the
incumbent local exchange carrier, competitive local
exchange carriers (“CLECs”), and the Commission could
follow in implementing that new regime.  As such, the
Guidelines attempt to provide a “soup to nuts” menu of
procedural rules to be applied in the negotiation, mediation,
arbitration, and review processes envisioned by section 252.
Since 1996, this Commission has reviewed and approved a
large number of interconnection agreements negotiated
between the incumbent carrier and its new competitors.  Far
less frequently, the Commission has been asked to arbitrate
disputed terms and approve, or reject, the resulting contract
with its partially arbitrated and partially negotiated terms.
By this Order, the Commission makes minor revisions to
two of the Guidelines.  The revisions change the means of
disseminating notice that the Commission has begun a
proceeding to review a negotiated or arbitrated
interconnection agreement.

B. REVISIONS TO NOTICE PROCEDURES IN
GUIDELINE 31 (NEGOTIATED AGREEMENTS)

2. In original Guideline 31, the Commission set forth

a procedure for carriers to notify potentially interested
persons when the carriers submitted a negotiated
interconnection agreement for Commission approval.
Currently, Guideline 31 requires the submitting carriers to
publish notice of such filing in a newspaper, provide notice
by facsimile and mail to each entity included on the service
list in PSC Regulation Docket No. 45, and to send, by
facsimile and mail, a notice to all entities holding certificates
to provide local exchange telecommunications services
within this State.  The notices inform interested persons and
entities of the opportunity to file (within twenty days)
comments expressing their views about whether the
agreement should be approved or rejected.

3. Staff reports that the manner of providing notice
dictated by Guideline 31 has now become burdensome to
submitting carriers.  There has been, and continues to be, a
steady flow of negotiated interconnection agreements
submitted for review.  At the same time, the number of
carriers that hold certificates to provide local exchange
service has grown, and also continues to increase.
Consequently, with the filing of each new agreement, the
submitting carriers must not only bear the still relatively-
high cost of newspaper publication but also send more and
more notices, first by facsimile and then by mail, to CLECs.
And, on the other side, experience over the last four years
suggests some reason to doubt whether the notice procedures
dictated by Guideline 31 remain an effective means to solicit
input to help the Commission in its review of such
negotiated contracts.  First, several of the participants
included on the service list in PSC Regulation Docket No. 45
have receded from being active “players” in the current
Delaware local exchange telecommunications market.  And,
more importantly, in almost every proceeding involving the
submission of a negotiated agreement, Staff has been the
only entity to submit comments.  Despite the receipt of direct
notice, in almost all instances, neither the entities
participating in PSC Regulation Docket No. 45 nor other
certificated CLECs have seen the need to file comments.
This history of silence is one factor that must be weighed
against continuing a process which requires submitting
carriers to expend more and more time, and resources, in
sending apparently mostly-unheeded notices.

4. Because of the above experiences, the Commission
has now decided to revise the manner of broadcasting notice
under Guideline 31.  The Commission will no longer require
the submitting carriers to publish a notice in a newspaper and
to also send, by facsimile and mail, direct notices to a large
number of entities.  Rather, Guideline 31 is now changed to
allow, in most instances, the Commission Staff to post the
required notice on the Commission’s Internet website.
Unless the Commission Staff directs additional
dissemination, the submitted carriers will not be obligated to
provide any further notice.  The Commission believes that
this procedure of Internet website posting may be just as

http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/index.html
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effective in providing notice than the procedures for notice
required by present Guideline 31.  First, the large number of
CLECs with administrative offices in other states may find it
easier to monitor filings in Delaware by consulting an
Internet website than being forced to search for notices in the
legal classified section of a local newspaper.  Second,
entities large and small might find it more convenient to
keep abreast of filings by periodically reviewing a website
rather than being forced to remain alert for form written
notices which might remain hidden in a pile of undistributed
facsimiles or mail.  In fact, if an entity is really interested in
monitoring what agreements have been submitted in
Delaware, it can easily set up an internal procedure to simply
review each week the notices posted on the Commission’s
Internet website.

5. This website-only posting method of providing
notice will be applicable only in the cases of: (a) a negotiated
interconnection agreement submitted for approval; and (b)
an agreement submitted for filing after being adopted or
constructed under the “pick and choose” provisions of 47
U.S.C. § 252(i) and 47 C.F.R.  §51.809.  In addition, the new
Guideline 31 empowers the Commission Staff to require the
submitting carriers to undertake other, additional forms of
dissemination (including newspaper publication of direct
notice to certain persons, entities, or carriers) if Staff
believes that, in the context of the particular application,
wider dissemination is needed to ensure that interested
persons or entities have an opportunity to comment.

6. The new Guideline 31 will read as set forth in
Exhibit “A.”

C. REVISIONS TO NOTICE PROCEDURES IN
GUIDELINE 38
(ARBITRATED AGREEMENTS)

7. Guideline 38 provides directions to a submitting
carrier concerning the notice it must provide when a carrier
seeks to have the Commission approve an agreement
derived, in whole or in part, from arbitration.  To a large
extent, the method of providing notice under Guideline 38
tracks the procedures set forth in Guideline 31.  The
Commission now makes a slight revision to Guideline 38.
The change deletes the requirement that notice be provided
to the entities included on the service list in PSC Regulation
Docket No. 45.  As explained above, the Commission doubts
whether the entities on that list continue to reflect those
carriers actually interested in the Delaware local exchange
market. Instead, the Commission will replace that
requirement with one which directs that the form of notice
required by Guideline 38 be posted on the Commission’s
Internet website.  While making this particular substitution,
the Commission will not, at this time, alter the other
requirements for providing notice and, hence, will not move
in the arbitrated agreement context to a website-only notice.

So far, arbitrated agreements have been  the exception in the
interconnection agreement regime.  Given the small number
of such proceedings, it would not appear burdensome to
continue to require the present notice procedures, with the
substitution noted above.  Moreover, under the procedure
crafted by the Guidelines, the Commission does not directly
enter the underlying arbitration award.  Rather, the
Commission considers the substantive terms of the
arbitrator’s decision when it sits to approve or reject the
resulting arbitrated agreement.  In such proceeding, it is
important that the widest variety of interests be afforded the
opportunity to comment within very short time frames.
Given that, the Commission - at least for now - believes that
more extensive notice procedures set forth in Guideline 38
should be retained for arbitrated agreements.

8. The new Guideline 38 will read as set forth in
Exhibit “A.”

D. ADOPTION OF THE PROCEDURAL CHANGES
WITH OPPORTUNITY FOR RECONSIDERATION

9. The Commission has been granted the authority to
promulgate procedural rules for implementing the
interconnection agreement process created by 47 U.S.C.
§§ 251 & 252.  See 26 Del. C. § 703(4).  In addition, in
promulgating such rules, the Commission need not adhere to
the formal publication and comment requirements of the
Administrative Procedures Act.  See 26 Del. C. § 703(4).
See also 29 Del. C. §§ 10113(b)(2) (rules of practice used by
agency exempted from procedural requirements and may be
adopted informally).  In 1996, the Commission solicited
comments from interested persons on proposed drafts before
adopting the final version of the Guidelines.  In this matter,
the Commission decides, given the nature of the
modifications being made, to follow a differing course.  The
Commission will adopt the proposed changes to Guidelines
31 and 38 now, but defer the effective date of such changes
until May 10, 2001.  Until April 20, 2001, any interested
person or entity may file comments about the proposed
changes.  If, in light of those submissions, the Commission
determines that it took a wrong turn in making the changes,
then the Commission can, prior to the effective date, revoke
this Order and reconsider the revisions.  On the other hand, if
no comments are received, or if the comments do not call
into question the revisions, then the revised Guidelines 31
and 38 will become effective on May 10, 2001, without any
further action by the Commission.

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:

1. That Guidelines 31 and 38 of the Commission’s
“Guidelines for Negotiations, Mediation, Arbitration, and
Approval of Agreements Between Local Exchange
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Telecommunications Carriers” (adopted in PSC Order No.
4245 (July 23, 1996), are hereby revised and amended to
read as set forth in Exhibit “A.”  Such revisions shall become
effective May 10, 2001, unless the Commission, before such
date, determines to rescind this Order and reconsider the
revisions.

2. That the Secretary shall forthwith send, by United
States mail, a copy of this Order to Verizon Delaware Inc.,
and to the next ten largest entities holding Certificates of
Public Convenience and Necessity to provide local exchange
telecommunications services in this State.  Those ten entities
shall be determined by reference to the gross intrastate
revenues reported on the last-filed annual report required by
26 Del. C. § 115.  In addition, the Secretary shall post a copy
of this Order on the Commission’s Internet website with a
prominent notice indicating that the Commission has revised
Guidelines 31 and 38 of its Guidelines for reviewing
interconnection agreements under 47 U.S.C. § 252(e).

3. That any interested person or entity may file
comments concerning the revisions set forth in Exhibit “A.”
Such comments must be filed with the Commission at its
Dover office on, or before, Friday, April 20, 2001.  The
Commission specifically reserves the right to reconsider the
right to rescind the adoption of these revised Guidelines and
reconsider the adoption of the revisions in light of the
comments received.  In the absence of any Order rescinding
this Order and setting the revisions for reconsideration, the
revisions set forth in Exhibit “A” will become effective on
May 10, 2001.

4. Unless the Commission shall rescind the adoption
of this Order, the Secretary shall send a copy of this Order to
the Delaware Registrar of Regulations for publication in the
May, 2001 volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

5. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may
be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Robert J. McMahon, Chairman
Joshua M. Twilley, Vice Chairman
Arnetta McRae, Commissioner
Donald J. Puglisi, Commissioner
John R. McClelland, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

E X H I B I T  “A”
REVISIONS TO

“GUIDELINES FOR NEGOTIATIONS, MEDIATION, 
ARBITRATION, AND APPROVAL OF 

AGREEMENTS BETWEEN LOCAL EXCHANGE 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS CARRIERS”

. . .

31. Within ten days after the filing of the agreement,
the Commission shall provide  notice of the filing of the
agreement.  Such notice shall indicate that any person may
file with the Commission and serve upon the submitting
carriers by a date certain, twenty days after publication of the
notice, comments (with supporting documentation)
concerning approval or rejection of the agreement.  Such
notice shall be posted on the Commission’s Internet website
to be accessed through a home page heading entitled “Public
Notices of Telecommunications Interconnection Agreements
Submitted for Approval.”  The notice to the submitted
agreement shall be maintained on the Commission’s website
for thirty days.  The Commission Staff, at its discretion, may
direct the submitted carriers to disseminate such notice by
other, additional means, such as by newspaper publication or
by direct transmission, by facsimile, courier, or mail, to
particular entities or persons.

. . .
38. On the same day of the filing of the agreement, the

carriers shall give notice of the filing of the agreement.  Such
notice shall inform interested parties that they may file with
the Commission written comments accompanied with
supporting documentation concerning the agreement within
ten days after the date of the public notice.  The notice shall
also include the date, time, and place, when the Commission
will conduct a public proceeding to approve or reject the
tendered agreement.  Such notice shall be: (1) published in a
newspaper of state-wide circulation; and (2) sent by
facsimile and United States mail to each other entity that
then holds a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity
to provide local exchange telecommunications service in
Delaware.  In addition, on the same date, the Commission
shall post the notice on the Commission’s Internet website to
be accessed through a hearing on the home page entitled
“Public Notices of Telecommunications Interconnection
Agreements Submitted for Approval.”  The notice for the
agreement shall be maintained on the Commission’s website
for twenty days.
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DELAWARE SOLID WASTE 
AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 7 Del.C. §6403, the Delaware Solid Waste
Authority (DSWA) proposes to amend the Regulations of
the Delaware Solid Waste Authority (hereafter DSWA
Regulations)(hereafter DSWA Regulations), adopted March,
1999; to revise its Differential Disposal Fee Program
(hereafter DDFP); and to revise the Statewide Solid Waste
Management Plan (hereafter Statewide Plan).

A Public Hearing on the above proposals will be held on
Thursday, May 24, 2001 at 10:00 A.M., at the Delaware
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (Auditorium), 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.
The DSWA will receive and consider oral or written input
provided at the hearing. DSWA will also accept and consider
any written materials submitted to it at DSWA, attn: Thomas
Houska, Delaware Solid Waste Authority, 1128 South
Bradford Street, Dover, Delaware. Such written materials
must be received by DSWA no later than 4:30 P.M., June 1,
2001. The entire text of the DSWA Regulations and the
DDFP are printed herein following this notice. The revision
to the Statewide Plan is solely in the form of a supplement
and such supplement is printed in its entirety below. The
complete Statewide Plan is approximately 300 pages long,
and may be reviewed at the above DSWA address.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 205(a)(1), the Delaware
Board of Landscape Architecture proposes to revise its Rules
and Regulations.  The proposed amendments implement and
clarify the requirement that applicants seeking licensure
pursuant to 24 Del. C. Section 206(a)(1) graduate from an
approved or accredited college or university.  Similarly, the
proposed revisions clarify that applicants seeking licensure
pursuant to 24 Del. C. Section 206(a)(3) take their courses in
landscape architecture from an approved or accredited
college or university. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Tuesday, June 26, 2001 at 9:00 a.m., in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904. The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Gayle
Melvin at the above address.  The final date to submit

written comments shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed
Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the public
hearing should notify Gayle Melvin at the above address by
calling (302) 739-4522, extension 218.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 1105(1) and (9), the
Delaware Board of Dental Examiners proposes to revise
certain portions of its rules and regulations.  The proposed
revisions amend and clarify the continuing education
standards required for license renewal for dentists and dental
hygienists.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Thursday, June 21, 2001 at 6:00 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The Board will receive
and consider oral and written input on the proposed revisions
to the Rules and Regulations.  Any written comments should
be submitted to the Board in care of Gayle Franzolino at the
above address.  The final date to submit written comments
shall be at the public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a
copy of the proposed revisions to the Rules and Regulations
or to make comments at the public hearing should notify
Gayle Franzolino at the above address or by calling (302)
739-4522.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 3506(a)(1), the
Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists proposes to
revise its Rules and Regulations.  The proposed revisions
establish a regulation governing requests for postponement
of a matter that is scheduled to be heard by the Board.
Substantive changes include a requirement that a request for
postponement be in writing and submitted no less than three
business days prior to the date scheduled for the hearing.  In
addition, the proposed regulation establishes a maximum of
one postponement per party absent a showing of exceptional
circumstances.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Monday, June 4, 2001 at 9:00 a.m., in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,

http://www.dswa.com/
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861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904. The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Gayle
Franzolino at the above address.  The final date to submit
written comments shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed
Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the public
hearing should notify Gayle Franzolino at the above address
by calling (302) 739-4522, extension 220.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE

Training and Qualifications for Nursing Assistants and 
Certified Nursing Assistants

PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware Health & Social Services (DHSS), in

compliance with Senate Bill 20 passed in the 140th General
Assembly, has prepared draft regulations governing training
and qualifications for nursing assistants and certified nursing
assistants as required in Title 16 Del.C., Chapter 30A. 

These regulations address certified nursing assistant
training, the composition of the certified nursing assistant
training course and curriculum, the mandatory orientation
period and senior certified nursing assistant certification.
Public hearings will be held as follows:

Thursday, May 24, 2001, 10 am – noon
Springer Building Training Room
Herman Holloway Campus
Delaware Health & Social Services
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE

Thursday, May 31, 2001, 10 am - noon
Department of Natural Resources & Environmental

Control*
89 Kings Highway
Dover

[*Traveling on Rt. 1/Rt. 13 to Smyrna, stay on Rt. 1 to Exit
#104 for North Dover.  Take this exit south on Rt. 13,
passing the Rt. 8 intersection, to Lockerman Street. Turn
right onto Lockerman (at the Burger King). Go to the second
traffic light and turn right onto State Street, then make an
immediate right onto Kings Highway.  Go about 1 block and

it is the big, two-story, brick building on the right just after
the Merrill Lynch Building.  Enter through the double doors
at the front of the building.]

For clarifications or additional directions to either
location, please call Gina Loughery or Joan Reynolds at 577-
6661.

Written comments are also invited on these proposed
new regulations and should be sent to the following address:

Elise MacEwen
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

Such comments must be received by June 1, 2001.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware's Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid/
Medical Assistance Program is proposing to implement a
Medicaid State Plan change related to the reimbursement
methodology for Federally Qualified Health Centers
(FQHCs).  This change is made as a result of the Benefits
Improvement and Protection Act (BIPA) of 2000 that repeals
the reasonable cost-based reimbursement requirements for
FQHC services and instead requires payment for FQHCs
consistent with a new Prospective Payment System (PPS)
described in section 1902(aa) of the Social Security Act.
Under BIPA, the new Medicaid Prospective Payment
System takes effect on January 1, 2001.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle,
Delaware by May 31, 2001.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dltc/dltchome.htm
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Food Stamp
Program is proposing to implement a policy change to the
Division of Social Services Manual, Sections 7002.2,
7002.3, 7002.4, 7004.3, 7004.5, 7005. These changes are
from the Final Rule entitled, Recipient Claim Establishment
and Collections Standards, and published in the Federal
Register on July 6, 2000.  The regulations aim to improve
claims management in the Food Stamp Program and provide
flexibility in efforts to increase claims collections.  Some
changes were mandated by the Personal Responsibility and
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by May 31, 2001.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware's A Better Chance and General Assistance 
Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Delaware's
A Better Chance and General Assistance Programs is
proposing to implement policy changes to the following
sections of the Division of Social Services Manual: 2015 -
2019.  These changes relate to medical assistance eligibility
rules for cash assistance recipients.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must

submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by May 31, 2001.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware's A Better Chance and General Assistance 
Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Delaware's
A Better Chance and General Assistance Programs is
proposing to implement policy changes to the following
sections of the Division of Social Services Manual: 3023.9
and 3023.9.1.  These changes relate to Delaware's A Better
Chance (DABC) and General Assistance (GA) rules for
overlapping eligibility and overlapping eligibility exception.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by May 31, 2001.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

The Delaware Insurance Department proposes a new
regulation that will govern the treatment of nonpublic
personal financial information about individuals by all
licensees of the Department of Insurance.  This proposed
regulation, in part, meets the requirements of Title V of the
Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public Law 106-102 (1999).

A public hearing will be held on the proposed regulation

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.htm


CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING NOTICES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 11, TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2001

1869

on Tuesday, May 29, 2001 at 10:00 a.m. Hearing Room of
the Department of Insurance, Rodney Building, 841 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The Department
will receive and consider input in writing from any person on
the proposed regulation.  Any written comments should be
submitted to the Department in care of Michael J. Rich,
Deputy Attorney General, at the above address. The final
date to submit written comments shall be at the above
scheduled public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy
of the proposed regulation or to make comments at the
public hearing should notify Joan Zimmerman at the above
address by calling (302) 739-4251.  Under 18 Del. C. §
701(18), there will be a $16.00 charge for a photocopy of the
regulation.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT & TRAINING

COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP AND TRAINING

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 19 Del.C.
§202(a), the Department of Labor has made proposed
modifications to Section 106.5(D)of the Rules and
Regulations Relating to Delaware Apprenticeship and
Training Law. The modification will clarify the ratios of
Apprentices to  Journeypersons applicable  in the various
trades.

The Council on Apprenticeship and Training will hold a
public hearing on June 12, 2001 at 10:00 a.m. at Buena Vista
State Conference Center, 661 South DuPont Highway, New
Castle, Delaware to receive and consider input from any
person on the proposed changes.  Written comment can be
submitted at any time prior to the hearing in care of Kevin
Calio at the Division of Employment & Training,
Department of Labor 4425 North Market Street, P.O. Box
9828, Wilmington, DE 19809-0828.  The Council will
determine its  recommendation to the Secretary of Labor at
its regular meeting following the public hearing. 

 In addition to publication in the Register of Regulations
and two newspapers of general circulation, copies of the
proposed regulation can be obtained from Kevin Calio by
calling (302)761-8121.

OFFICE OF LABOR LAW ENFORCEMENT

Pursuant to the authority granted to the Department of
Labor under 29 Del.C. §8503 (7), the Department is
proposing an amendment to regulations under 29 Del.C.

§6960, “Prevailing Wage Requirements”.  Pursuant to the
requirements of 29 Del.C. §10115(a),  Interested parties are
invited to present their views at the public hearing which is
scheduled as follows:

9:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 22, 2001
Department of Labor

4425 North Market Street
Wilmington, Delaware 19802

Third Floor, Industrial Affairs Conference Room 203

Interested parties can obtain copies of the proposed
amendments at no charge by contacting the Office of Labor
Law Enforcement at the above address, or by telephone at
(302) 761-8211.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Adoption of an Emergency Amendment to Tidal Finfish 
Regulation No. 4, without notice of hearing, to reduce 

recreational landings of summer flounder in 2001.

Order No. 2001-F-0015

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119, The Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control is adopting an
amendment to Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4, SUMMER
FLOUNDER SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
SEASONS without prior notice or public hearing to further
reduce the recreational summer flounder landings in 2001.  7
Del.C. §903 authorizes the Department to adopt regulations
concerning species of finfish that spend part or all of their
life cycle within the tidal waters of this State; provided, that
such regulations are consistent with interstate fishery
management plans developed for the protection and
conservation of said finfish.  

The Department will receive, consider and respond to
petitions by any interested person for recommendations or
revision of this Order.  Petitions should be presented to the
Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE 19901.  

It is further ordered, the Department shall receive public
testimony and evidence at a public hearing on May 1, 2001
to consider appropriate remedies to manage the summer
flounder recreational fishery consistent with the Summer
Flounder Fishery Management Plan approved by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.

http://www.delawareworks.com/
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/FW/FW.htm
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DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

SURFACE WATER DISCHARGES SECTION
REGISTER NOTICE, SAN #  2001-11

TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Regulations For Licensing Operators of Wastewater

Facilities

BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control is proposing to revise its
Regulations For Licensing Operators of Wastewater
Facilities by withdrawing the current regulations and
replacing the current regulations with the proposed
regulations.  The changes to the regulations include updated
definitions, consistent use of terms, clearer language, and
recognition of new technology.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, June 27,

2001 beginning at 1:30 p.m. in the Delaware Tech, Terry
Campus Room 400B, Dover, DE

PREPARED BY:
Joseph F. Mulrooney, Program Manager I, Surface

Water Discharges Section, 302-739-5731

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In The Matter Of The Adoption Of Rules Concerning
The Implementation Of 72 Del. Laws Ch. 402 (2000) 

Granting The Commission The Jurisdiction To Grant 
And Revoke The CertificatesOf Public Convenience And 

Necessity For Public Utility Water Utilities (Filed 
November 21, 2000)

PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 51

The Commission hereby solicits written comments,
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written
materials concerning the proposed regulations.  Ten (10)
copies of such materials shall be filed with the Commission
at its office located at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  All such
materials shall be filed with the Commission on or before
May 21, 2001. Persons who wish to participate in the
proceedings but who do not wish to file written materials are
asked to send a letter informing the Commission of their
intention to participate on or before M ay21, 2001.  

In addition, the Commission will conduct a public

hearing concerning the proposed changes on June 5, 2001,
beginning at 1:00 PM.  The public hearing will be held at the
Commission's Dover office, located at the address set forth
in the preceding paragraph.  Interested persons may present
comments, evidence, testimony, and other materials at that
public hearing.  

The regulations and the materials submitted in
connection therewith will be available for public inspection
and copying at the Commission's Dover office during normal
business hours.  The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.  The
regulations will be available for review on the Commission's
website: www.state.de.us/delpsc. 

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to
participate in these proceedings should contact the
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed
to facilitate such review or participation.  Such contact may
be in person, by writing, telephonically, by use of the
Telecommunications Relay Service, or otherwise. The
Commission's toll-free telephone number is (800) 282-8574.
Persons with questions concerning this application may
contact the Commission's secretary, Karen J. Nickerson, by
either Text Telephone ("TT") or by regular telephone at
(302) 739-4333 or by e-mail at knickerson@state.de.us.

http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/index.html
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/Water/Water.htm
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Visit The Delaware General 
Assembly On The Web! 

  The General Assembly Website features:

• Current legislative information
• Information on both the Senate and House of Representatives
• Access the Delaware Code
• Access to the Delaware Register of Regulations
• Information on the legislative process
• Various reports and publications

The General Assembly Website is located at:
http://www.legis.state.de.us
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LEGISLATIVE BILL SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES

Order Form  (please print or type)

NAME ________________________________  ADDRESS __________________________________

ORGANIZATION _______________________     CITY _________________   FAX ______________

PHONE _____________      STATE ___________   ZIP _____________    EMAIL ________________

Please check the specific service(s) to which you wish to subscribe :

                    SERVICES                                                                                                       ANNUAL COST
One copy of all legislation introduced:

_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $100.00
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