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INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF
REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an of-
ficial State publication established by authority of
69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of
each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regula-
tions that are proposed to be adopted, amended or
repealed and any emergency regulations promul-
gated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the
following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders

• Governor’s Appointments

• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text

• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices

• Other documents considered to be in the
public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

1:1 Del. R. 35 - 37 (July 1, 1997) refers to
Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 35 - 37 of the Delaware
Register issued on July 1, 1997.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested
parties may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full
text of such proposals, together with copies of
the existing regulation being adopted, amended
or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in
the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of
this title.  The notice shall describe the nature of
the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority
of the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing,
of the place to which and the final date by which
such views may be submitted; or if at a public
hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.
If a public hearing is to be held, such public
hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days
following publication of notice of the proposal
in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing
will be held on the proposal, notice of the time,
date, place and a summary of the nature of the
proposal shall also be published in at least 2
Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have
made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of i ts regulation-making
proceedings.

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$100.00  from January - December.  Single
copies are available at a cost of $9.00 per issue,
including postage.  For more information
contact the Division of Research at 302-739-
4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

The opportunity for public comment shall
be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of Regulations.
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CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE
DATES FOR THE DELAWARE

REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt
within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and
information submitted, together with summaries of
the evidence and information by subordinates, the
agency shall determine whether a regulation should
be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its
conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A
brief summary of the evidence and information
submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of
fact with respect to the evidence and information,
except where a rule of procedure is being adopted
or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation or to take no action and the
decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact
text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the
order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions
required by the law under which the agency has
authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a
quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than
10 days from the date the order adopting, amending
or repealing a regulation has been published in its
final form in the Register of Regulations, unless
such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an
emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action
in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be subject
to review until final agency action on the proposal
has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,
no judicial review of a regulation is available unless
a complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30
days of the day the agency order with respect to the
regulation was published in the Register of
Regulations.

INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING
   TIME

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY  15 4:30 P.M.

SEPTEMBER 1 AUGUST 15 4:30 P.M.

OCTOBER 1 SEPTEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or
repealed in the preceding issues of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation
to that issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are
designated with (Prop.);  final regulations are designated with (Final);  Emergency regulations
are designated with (Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).

Attorney General’s Office
Opinion No. 97-IB01, FOIA Complaint against the Town of Laurel ............................... 1:1   Del.R.     74
Opinion No. 97-IB02, FOIA Inquiry .................................................................................... 1:1   Del.R.     75
Opinion No. 97-IB03, FOIA Complaint against Woodbridge

 School District ................................................................................................................ 1:1   Del.R.     76
Opinion No. 97-IB04, Access to DELJIS ............................................................................ 1:1   Del.R.     77
Opinion No. 97-IB05, FOIA Complaint against the Town of Laurel ............................... 1:1   Del.R.     79
Opinion No. 97-IB06, FOIA Complaint Against Appoquinimink School District .......... 1:9   Del.R. 1438
Opinion No. 97-IB07, FOIA Complaint Against Colonial School District ...................... 1:9   Del.R. 1441
Opinion No. 97-IB08, FOIA Complaint Against Sussex County ...................................... 1:9   Del.R. 1442
Opinion No. 97-IB09, Status of Public Member of the Board of Medical Practice ........ 1:9   Del.R. 1443
Opinion No. 97-IB10, Criminal History Information Relating to Child Care

Personnel and foster And Adoptive Parents................................................................. 1:9   Del.R. 1445
Opinion No. 97-IB11, Effect of Pending Criminal Charges On the Licensing

of Veterinarians............................................................................................................... 1:9   Del.R. 1446
Opinion No. 97-IB12, Twenty-four Del.C. §3519(e)- Exemption of Licensure ............. 1:9   Del.R. 1451
Opinion No. 97-IB13, FOIA Complaint Against City of Lewes ....................................... 1:9   Del.R. 1452
Opinion No. 97-IB14, FOIA Complaint Against Red Clay Consolidated School

District Board of Education ........................................................................................... 1:9   Del.R. 1456
Opinion No. 97-IB15, FOIA Complaint Against Caesar Rodney School District ........... 1:9   Del.R. 1461
Opinion No. 97-IB16, Twenty-four Del.C. §3520.............................................................. 1:9   Del.R. 1463
Opinion No. 97-IB17, FOIA Complaint Against City of New Castle............................... 1:9   Del.R. 1464
Opinion No. 97-IB18, FOIA Complaint Against Town of Bridgeville ............................ 1:9   Del.R. 1466
Opinion No. 97-IB19, FOIA Complaint Against Milford City Council ........................... 1:9   Del.R. 1467
Opinion No. 97-IB20,FOIA Complaint Against Cape Henlopen School District ........... 1:9   Del.R. 1469
Opinion No. 97-IB21, Mailing of Absentee Ballots ........................................................... 1:9   Del.R. 1470
Opinion No. 97-IB22, FOIA Complaint Against City of Wilmington.............................. 1:9   Del.R. 1471
Opinion No. 97-IB23, FOIA Complaint Against Woodbridge School District ............... 1:9   Del.R. 1473

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
1997 State Fire Prevention Regulations............................................................................... 1:2   Del.R.  197 (Final)
Ambulance Service Regulations ........................................................................................... 1:1   Del.R.    35 (Prop.)

Department of Administrative Services
Division of Professional Regulation

Board of Chiropractic ..................................................................................................... 1:1   Del.R.     45 (Final)
Board of Dental Examiners............................................................................................ 1:5   Del.R.   543 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   852 (Final)
Board of Electrical Examiners....................................................................................... 1:7   Del.R.   795 (Prop.)
Board of Examiners in Optometry ................................................................................ 1:7   Del.R.   820 (Prop.)

1:10 Del.R. 1494 (Prop.)
Board of Examiners of Psychologists........................................................................... 1:8   Del.R. 1009 (Prop.)
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Board of Funeral Services..............................................................................................1:10 Del.R. 1500 (Prop.)
Board of Nursing, Advanced Practice Nurse...............................................................1:1   Del.R.     15 (Prop.)
Board of Nursing.............................................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   146 (Final)
Board of Pharmacy.........................................................................................................1:4   Del.R.   428 (Prop.)
Board of Physical Therapy.............................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   101 (Prop.)

1:6   Del.R.   714 (Final)
Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health...................................................1:9   Del.R.  1308 (Prop.)
Board of Veterinary Medicine.......................................................................................1:7   Del.R.   805 (Prop.)

 1:10 Del.R. 1573 (Final)
Nursing Home Administrators.......................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   141 (Final)
Council on Real Estate Appraisers................................................................................1:8   Del.R. 1172 (Prop.)
Real Estate Commission.................................................................................................1:8   Del.R. 1015 (Prop.)
Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council...............................................................1:8   Del.R. 1022 (Prop.)

Department of Agriculture
Aquaculture Regulations.......................................................................................................1:4   Del.R.  309 (Prop.)
Delaware Harness Racing Commission...............................................................................1:2   Del.R.    92 (Prop.)

1:5   Del.R.  498 (Final)
1:5   Del.R.  541 (Prop.)

Whips & Blood Gases.....................................................................................................1:7   Del.R.  921 (Final)
Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission.....................................................................1:2   Del.R.  100 (Prop.)

1:3   Del.R.  248 (Prop.)
1:5   Del.R.  508 (Final)
1:6   Del.R.  649 (Prop.)
1:6   Del.R.  713 (Final)

Bleeder Program..............................................................................................................1:8   Del.C. 1183 (Final)
Claimed Horses...............................................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1312 (Prop.)

Department of Education
Accident Reporting................................................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1312 (Prop.)
Administration of Non-Traditional Remedies.....................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1328 (Prop.)
Agriscience Education Framework.......................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   154 (Final)
Daily Log ................................................................................................................................ 1:9   Del.R. 1313 (Prop.)
Delaware Administrator Standards.......................................................................................1:6   Del.R.   650 (Prop.)

1:8   Del.R. 1184 (Final)
Delaware Emergency Treatment Card.................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1317 (Prop.)
Delaware School Health Record Card..................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1319 (Prop.)
Delaware Teaching Standards...............................................................................................1:6   Del.R.   654 (Prop.)

1:8   Del.R. 1188 (Final)
Driver Education....................................................................................................................1:5   Del.R.   559 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   964 (Final)
DSSAA Requirements...........................................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   172 (Final)
Education of Homeless Children & Youth..........................................................................1:5   Del.R.   556 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   962 (Final)
Extended Illness.....................................................................................................................1:10 Del.R. 1510 (Prop.)
Foreign Language Content Standards..................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   156 (Final)
Glossary of Terms, Manual for Certification of Professional

School Personnel.............................................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   158 (Final)
Guidelines for Approval of School Improvement Grants..................................................1:7   Del.R.   815 (Prop.)

1:9   Del.R. 1400 (Final)
Guidelines for the Administration of Non-Prescription Drugs..........................................1:9   Del.R. 1326 (Prop.)
Guidelines for the Schoold Districts to Comply with the Gun Free Schools Act............1:10 Del.R. 1511 (Prop.)
Hearing Screening Procedures..............................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1321 (Prop.)
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High School Diploma & the Record of Performance.........................................................1:5   Del.R.   554 (Prop.)
1:7   Del.R.   960 (Final)

Immunization Rules of the State Board of Education........................................................1:9   Del.R. 1324 (Prop.)
Interscholastic Athletics........................................................................................................1:4   Del.R.   361 (Prop.)

1:6   Del.R.   724 (Final)
Manual for Certification of Professional School Personnel...............................................1:2   Del.R.   163 (Final)
Membership in Fraternities & Sororities.............................................................................1:4   Del.R.   363 (Prop.)

1:6   Del.R.   723 (Final)
Orthopedic Screening............................................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1329 (Prop.)
Parental Request to have Prescription Medications Administered in Schools.................1:9   Del.R. 1331 (Prop.)
Physical Examinations...........................................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1332 (Prop.)
Policy for Providing Education to Students with HIV Infection.......................................1:9   Del.R. 1323 (Prop.)
Policy for School Districts on the Possession, Use & Distribution of Drugs & Alcohol 1:9   Del.R. 1314 (Prop.)
Policy on the School Nurse & the Handicapped Child & Policy for Providing Care

to the Child with Special Health Needs........................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1334 (Prop.)
Regulations on School/Police Relations..............................................................................1:3   Del.R.   256 (Prop.)

1:5   Del.R.   510 (Final)
Repeal of certain parts of section V, Vocational Technical

Education Programs........................................................................................................1:6   Del.R.   664 (Rep.)
1:8   Del.R. 1199 (Final)

Repeal of certain regulations concerning Student Activities.............................................1:4   Del.R.   365 (Rep.)
1:6   Del.R.   726 (Final)

Repeal of Minimum-Maximum Program Assignment, Experimentation
and Modification.............................................................................................................1:7   Del.R.   817 (Rep.)

Repeal of Regulation for Minors Consent to Diagnostic Procedures...............................1:10 Del.R. 1513 (Rep.)
Repeal of Regulation for Reporting Cases of Child Abuse or Neglect.............................1:10 Del.R. 1513 (Rep.)
Repeal of six Regulations that are in the Delaware Code..................................................1:7   Del.R.   817 (Rep.)

1:9   Del.R. 1396 (Final)
Repeal of Section B.1.a, Discipline Powers & Responsibilities

of Superintendents..........................................................................................................1:3   Del.R.   263 (Rep.)
1:5   Del.R.   517 (Final)

Repeal of three regulations....................................................................................................1:8   Del.R. 1029 (Prop.)
Requirements for Vocational Technical Education Programs...........................................1:6   Del.R.   662 (Prop.)

1:8   Del.R. 1196 (Final)
Satellite School Agreements.................................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   170 (Final)
School Bus Regulations.........................................................................................................1:2   Del.R.     87 (Prop.)

1:5   Del.R.   473 (Final)
Smoking Regulations.............................................................................................................1:8   Del.R. 1029 (Prop.)
State Content Standards.........................................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   151 (Final)
The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program....................................................1:9   Del.R. 1336 (Prop.)
Vision Screening....................................................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1338 (Prop.)
Visual & Performing Arts Content Standards.....................................................................1:2   Del.R.     90 (Prop.)

1:6   Del.R.   729 (Final)
Visual & Performing Arts Graduation Requirements.........................................................1:2   Del.R.     88 (Prop.)

Department of Finance
Div. of Revenue, Delaware State Lottery Office,

Background Investigation Requirements for Lottery Employees..............................1:8   Del.R. 1032 (Prop.)
Video Lottery Employee Organization and Lottery Employee

Regulations......................................................................................................................1:3   Del.R.   243 (Prop.)
1:8   Del.R. 1202 (Final)
 1:10 Del.R. 1575 (Final)

Regulations dealing with Americans with Disabilities Act........................................1:7   Del.R.   826 (Prop.)
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1:9   Del.R. 1341 (Prop.)

Technical Information Memo. 97-6.....................................................................................1:6   Del.R.   712 (Prop.)
Technical Memo. 98-1, Check Boxes..................................................................................1:8   Del.R. 1033 (Prop.)

Department of Health & Social Services
Division of Public Health,

Adult Day Care Facilities, Regulations........................................................................1:10 Del.R. 1521 (Prop.)
Licensing & Registration of Operators of Public Water  Supply Systems................1:1   Del.R.     28 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   932 (Final)
Plumbing Code Regulations...........................................................................................1:7   Del.R.   830 (Final)
Practice of Midwifery, Rules & Regulations...............................................................1:9   Del.R. 1349 (Prop.)
Public Pools.....................................................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   174 (Final)
Trauma System Rules.....................................................................................................1:2   Del.R.   110 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   891 (Final)
Prehospital Trauma Triage Scheme, ALS & BLS (Errata).........................................1:3   Del.R.   213 (Prop.)

Division of Services for Aging & Adults with Physical Disabilities
Adult Abuse Registry.....................................................................................................1:7   Del.R.   803 (Prop.)

1:9   Del.R. 1405 (Final)
Division of Social Services

A Better Chance/Food Stamp Program.........................................................................1:10 Del.R. 1514 (Prop.)
Amendments to Medicaid Provider Manuals, General Policy Manual,
     Long-Term Care Provider Manual, and others.......................................................1:8   Del.R. 1035  (Prop.)

1:10 Del.R. 1577 (Final)
Ambulance Provider Policy Manual, Criteria for Non-Emergency
     Ambulance Transportation for Medicaid Clients in a
     Nursing Facility.........................................................................................................1:4   Del.R.   394 (Prop.)

1:8   Del.R. 1214 (Final)
Assisted Living Agencies, Regulations for..................................................................1:4   Del.R.   300 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   951 (Final)
Dental Reimbursement...................................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1307 (Emer.)
DHS revision of Public Law 104-193, the Personal Responsibility and Work
     Opportunity Reconciliation Act, Se. 403, 8 USC 1613, the 1993 Mickey Leland
      Childhood Hunger Relief Act, the Food, Agriculture, Conservation and Trade
     Act Amendments of 1991Public Law 104-203, Title 38, USC,
     and DSSM Sec. 4006 & 4012...................................................................................1:4   Del.R.   313 (Prop.)

1:9   Del.R. 1401 (Final)
DMAP, Amendments to Medicaid Eligibility Policy Manual....................................1:8   Del.R. 1058 (Prop.)

1:10 Del.R. 1600 (Final)
DMAP Sec. 301.25, Composition of Budget Unit.......................................................1:10 Del.R. 1532 (Prop.)
DMAP Sec. 410.15, Vehicles........................................................................................1:4   Del.R.   368 (Prop.)

1:8   Del.R. 1211 (Final)
DMAP Sec. 420 Personal Needs Allowance................................................................1:4   Del.R.   369 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   921 (Final)
1:8   Del.R. 1212 (Final)

DSSM Section 8000, A Better Chance Program..........................................................1:4   Del.R.   297 (Prop.)
Durable Medical Equipment Manual............................................................................1:5   Del.R.   563 (Prop.)

1:8   Del.R. 1213 (Final)
Inpatient Hospital Provider Manual..............................................................................1:4   Del.R.   370 (Prop.)
Long-Term Care Provider Manual, Billing of Third Party Payer..............................1:4   Del.R.   394 (Prop.)
Long-Term Care Provider Manual, Criteria for Non-Emergency Ambulance
     Transportation for Medicaid Clients in a Nursing Facility...................................1:4   Del.R.   394 (Prop.)
Medicaid Outpatient Hospital Provider Specific Manual...........................................1:10 Del.R. 1516 (Prop.)
Outpatient Hospital Provider Manual...........................................................................1:4   Del.R.   383 (Prop.)
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Revision of Regulation of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program Contained in
     DMAP Sec. 420.........................................................................................................1:3   Del.R.   214 (Emer.)

1:7   Del.R.   858 (Final)
Revision of Regulation Contained in DSSM 8201......................................................1:5   Del.R.   456 (Emer.)

1:6   Del.R.   711 (Prop.)
Revision of Regulation Contained in DSSM 8301.3...................................................1:3   Del.R.   215 (Emer.)
Revision of Regulation DSSM 8205.2, 8304 & 8305.................................................1:6   Del.R.   709 (Prop.)
Revision of Regulation Contained in DSSM 9910, Simplified Food Stamp
     Workfare.....................................................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1303 (Emer.)
Simplified Food Stamp Program, ABC Benefits.........................................................1:9   Del.R. 1347 (Prop.)
Surety Bonds, Requirement for Home Health Agencies.............................................1:9   Del.R. 1346 (Prop.)

Department of Justice, Delaware Securities Act.........................................................................1:8   Del.R. 1078 (Prop.)

Department of Labor
Div. of Employment & Training Apprenticeship Programs..............................................1:1   Del.R.     21 (Prop.)

Governor’s Advisory Council on Apprenticeship & Training...................................1:8   Del.R. 1116 (Prop.)
Division of Industrial Affairs

Prevailing Wage Regulations.........................................................................................1:5   Del.R.   519 (Prop.)
Procedures of Equal Employment Review Board........................................................1:5   Del.R.   537 (Prop.)

1:8   Del.R. 1215 (Final)
Industrial Accident Board.....................................................................................................1:5   Del.R.   548 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   938 (Final)
Proposed Amendments, Rules 8, 9, 30 & 31................................................................ 1:8   Del.R. 1153 (Prop.)

1:10 Del.R. 1621 (Final)

Special Employment Practices relating to Health Care & Child Care Facilities &
Adult Abuse Registry Check..........................................................................................1:5   Del.R.   533 (Prop.)

1:8   Del.R. 1216 (Final)
1:9   Del.R. 1269 (Errata)

Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Division of Air & Waste Management

Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste....................................................................1:3   Del.R.   278 (Final)
Regulation 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Polluntants for
     Source Categories...................................................................................................... 1:9   Del.R. 1373 (Prop.)

1:10 Del.R. 1534 (Prop.)
Division of Air & Waste Management, Air Quality Management Section,

Development of the Phase II Ozone Attainment Demonstration for Kent &
     New Castle Counties as a Revision to the State Implementation Plan.................1:10 Del.R. 1538 (Prop.)
NO

x
 Budget Program......................................................................................................1:5   Del.R.   564 (Prop.)

1:8   Del.R. 1220 (Final)
1:9   Del.R. 1275 (Errata)

Regulation No. 2.............................................................................................................1:1   Del.R.     48 (Final)
Reg. No. 20, Sec. No. 28, Standards for Performance for Municipal
      Solid Waste Landfills...............................................................................................1:4   Del.R.   330 (Prop.)

1:10 Del.R. 1653 (Final)
Transportation Conformity Regulation No. 32............................................................1:8   Del.R. 1125 (Prop.)

1:10 Del.R. 1625 (Final)
Division of Fish & Wildlife,

Boating Regulations........................................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1357 (Prop.)
Shellfish Reg., Horseshoe Crab.....................................................................................1:7   Del.R.   807 (Prop.)

1:9   Del.R. 1411 (Final)
Shellfish Reg. No. S-41, Growing Areas Closed to Harvesting  Clams,
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Mussels & Oysters...................................................................................................1:4   Del.R.   354 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   835 (Final)
Shellfish Regulation No. S-48. Conch Minimum Size Limits....................................1:3   Del.R.   250 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   835 (Final)

Shellfish Reg. No. 55, Crab Trotlines & S-56, Crab Traps........................................1:4   Del.R.   354 (Prop.)
1:7   Del.R.   837 (Final)

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4, Summer Flounder..................................................... 1:9   Del.R. 1351 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8......................................................................................1:3   Del.R.   270 (Final)
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 10, Weakfish.................................................................. 1:9   Del.R. 1353 (Prop.)

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 12, Atlantic Sturgeon....................................................1:7   Del.R.   787 (Prop.)
1:10 Del.R. 1655 (Final)

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 22, Tautog...................................................................... 1:9   Del.R. 1354 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 24, Black Sea Bass........................................................ 1:9   Del.R. 1356 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 25 for Atlantic Shark....................................................1:4   Del.R.   345 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   844 (Final)
1:8   Del.R. 1005 (Errata)

Div. of Water Resources, Regulations for Licensing Operators
of Wastewater Facilities.................................................................................................1:4   Del.R.   323 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   924 (Final)
Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution.....................................................1:4   Del.R.   395 (Prop.)

Department of Public Safety
Delaware State Police, Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private

Security Agents...............................................................................................................1:10 Del.R. 1570 (Prop.)

Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families
Division of Family Services

Licensing Requirements for Residential Child Care Facilities and
     Day Treatment Programs..........................................................................................1:6   Del.R.   668 (Prop.)
Office of Child Care Licensing, Child Abuse Registry...............................................1:7   Del.R.   801 (Prop.)

Department of State, Office of the State Bank Commissioner
Regulation No. 5.1101(f).0001, Election to be treated for tax purposes as a

“Subsidiary corporation” of a Delaware chartered banking organization or
trust company, national bank having its principal office in Delaware, or
out-of-state bank that operates a resulting branch in Delaware.................................1:3   Del.R.   219 (Prop.)

1:5   Del.R.   474 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0002, Instructions for preparation of Franchise Tax Report 1:3   Del.R.   221 (Prop.)

1:5   Del.R.   476 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0003, Estimated Franchise Tax Report..................................1:3   Del.R.   224 (Prop.)

1:5   Del.R.   479 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0004, Final Franchise Tax Report..........................................1:3   Del.R.   226 (Prop.)

maintaining branches in this State.................................................................................1:3   Del.R.   228 (Prop.)
1:5   Del.R.   481 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0005, Instructions for preparation ofFranchise Tax for
 Federal  Savings Banks not headquartered in this state but maintaining
 branches in this state......................................................................................................1:3   Del.R.   228 (Prop.)

1:5   Del.R.   483 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0006, Estimated Franchise Tax Report Federal

Savings Banks not headquartered in Delaware............................................................1:3   Del.R.   231 (Prop.)
1:5   Del.R.   486 (Final)
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Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0007, Final Franchise Tax Report Federal
Savings Banks not headquartered in Delaware............................................................1:3   Del.R.   232 (Prop.)

1:5   Del.R.   487 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1101.etal.0008, Instructions for calculation of Employment

Tax Credits......................................................................................................................1:3   Del.R.   233 (Prop.)
1:5   Del.R.   488 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0009, Instructions for preparation ofFranchise Tax for
 Resulting Branches in this state of out-of-state banks...............................................1:3   Del.R.   235 (Prop.)

1:5   Del.R.   490 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0010, Estimated Franchise Tax Report for

Resulting Branches in this state of out-of-state banks................................................1:3   Del.R.   239 (Prop.)
1:5   Del.R.   494 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0011, Final Franchise Tax Report for Resulting
Branches in this state for out-of-state banks................................................................1:3   Del.R.   241 (Prop.)

1:5   Del.R.   496 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.131.0002, Procedures Governing the Creation &

Existence of an Interim Bank.........................................................................................1:5   Del.R.   592 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 5.2111(b).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume................................1:7   Del.R.   812 (Prop.)

1:9   Del.R. 1415 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2111/2210/2906.0006, Report of Delaware Assests.............................1:7   Del.R.   815 (Prop.)

1:9   Del.R. 1418 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2210(e).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume.................................1:7   Del.R.   813 (Prop.)

1:9   Del.R. 1416 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2318.0001, Report of Delaware Sale of Checks, Drafts,

and Money Orders Volume............................................................................................1:7   Del.R.   813 (Prop.)
1:9   Del.R. 1416 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2906(e).0003, Report of Delaware Loan Volume
Motor Vehicle Installment Contracts............................................................................1:7   Del.R.   814 (Prop.)

1:9   Del.R. 1417 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.701/774.0001, Procedures for applications to form a

bank, bank & trust company or limited purpose trust company
pursuant to Chapter 7 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code..............................................1:5   Del.R.   595 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   862 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.761.0017, Incidental Powers...................................................................1:5   Del.R.   597 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   865 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.770.0009, establishment of a branch office by a bank

or trust company..............................................................................................................1:5   Del.R.   598 (Prop.)
1:7   Del.R.   866 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.771.0005, Procedures governing applications to open
branch offices outside the State of Delaware...............................................................1:5   Del.R.   599 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   867 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.795etal.0016, Merger with out-of-state banks......................................1:5   Del.R.   601 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   869 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.833.0004, Application by an out-of-state savings institution, out-of-

state savings & loan holding company or out-of-state bank holding company to
acquire a Delaware savings bank or Delaware savings & loan holding company ... 1:5   Del.R.   602 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   870 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.844.0009, Application by an out-of-state bank holding

company to acquire a Delaware bank or bank holding company...............................1:5   Del.R.   605 (Prop.)
1:7   Del.R.   873 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.777.0002, Application for a certificate of public convenience &
advantage for a limited purpose trust company pursuant to subchapter V of
 Chapter 7 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code.................................................................1:5   Del.R.   609 (Prop.)

1:7   Del.R.   877 (Final)
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Department of Transportation

Aeronautical Regulations......................................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1383 (Prop.)

Governor’s Office
Amendment to Executive Order No. 46...............................................................................1:3   Del.R.   279
Appointments & Nominations..............................................................................................1:1   Del.R.     68

1:2   Del.R.   200
1:3   Del.R.   281
1:4   Del.R.   438
1:5   Del.R.   623
1:6   Del.R.   740
1:7   Del.R.   970
1:8   Del.R. 1248
1:9   Del.R. 1437
1:10 Del.R. 1657

Executive Order No. 45, Employee & Labor - Management Relations
in State Government.......................................................................................................1:1   Del.R.     63

Executive Order No. 46, Governor’s Task Force on Violent Crime.................................1:1   Del.R.     64
Amendment to Executive Order No. 46........................................................................1:3   Del.R.   279

Executive Order No. 47, Executive Committee of the Workforce
Development Council.....................................................................................................1:1   Del.R.     65

Executive Order No. 49, Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume Cap for
Calenday Year 1997 & Initial Suballocation of State Private Activity Bond
Volume Cap for Calendar Year 1998............................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1432

Executive Order No. 50, Establishing the Education Salary Schedule Improvement
Committee........................................................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1433

Executive Order No. 51, Establishment of Recommendations on the Coin Design for
the Delaware Quarter Dollar Commemorative Coin...................................................1:9   Del.R. 1434

Insurance Department,
Regulation No. 47..................................................................................................................1:8   Del.R. 1155 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 63..................................................................................................................1:8   Del.R. 1160 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 75, Written Notice by Insurers of  Payment of Third Party Claims.......1:5   Del.R.   591 (Prop.)

1:9   Del.R. 1408 (Final)

Public Service Commission
Regulation Docket No. 12, Notice of Investigation & Formulation of Rules

Concerning Pay Phone Services....................................................................................1:1   Del.R.      5 (Prop.)
Regulation Docket No. 12, Investigation & Adoption of Rules to  Govern

 Payphone Services within the State of Delaware.......................................................1:3   Del.R.   263 (Prop.)
1:6   Del.R.   730 (Final)

Regulation Docket No. 46, Tack One..................................................................................1:9   Del.R. 1418 (Final)
Regulation Docket No. 47, Notice of Proposed Rule making Concerning

Intrastate Discounts for Schools & Libraries...............................................................1:1   Del.R.       9 (Prop.)
1:2   Del.R.   139 (Final)

Regulation Docket No. 47, Promulgation of Rules Regarding the Discounts for
Intrastate Telecommunications & Information Services Provided
to Schools & Libraries....................................................................................................1:5   Del.R.    462 (Final)

State Personnel Commission
Merit Employee Relations Board Regulations....................................................................1:3   Del.R.   274 (Final)

Violent Crimes Compensation Board..........................................................................................1:8   Del.R. 1161 (Prop.)
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The proposed regulatory change for the Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies in the
April 1998 issue, page 1570 of the Register, was erroneously listed under the Department of Administrative Services.
The Board is under the authority of the Department of Public Safety, Delaware State Police.

The Final Regulation entry in the April 1998 issue of the Register, for the DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

& ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT, Regulation No. 32  Transportation Conformity of
the Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution contained an error on pages 1626 and 1652.  The
Table of Contents on page 1626 lists two Section 25’s.  The second entry, “Section 25. . .  Enforceability of design
concept and scope and project-level mitigation and control measures”, should be Section 26.  On page 1652, the citation
for Section 25, should read Section 26.

The Final Regulation entry for the DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL DIVISION

OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT, Regulation No. 37 (NOx Budget Program) in the April 1998 issue of the Register

contained several incorrect numbers on page 1301 in  Appendix “A”.  The correct numbers are contained in the
following Appendix “A”.  For the full text of the Final Regulation please refer to 1:9 Del.R.  1275.

NOX BUDGET PROGRAM  ---  APPENDIX “A”

COMPANY
FACILITY and
PLANT POINT

OTC IDENTIFIED
ALLOWANCES

EXCEPTIONAL
 CIRCUMSTANCES

ALLOWANCES

RESERVE
ALLOWANCES

FINAL
ALLOWANCES SOURCE TYPE

DELMARVA POWER Christiana Sub 001
Christiana Sub 002
Delaware City 002
Edge Moor 001
Edge Moor 002
Edge Moor 003
Edge Moor 004
Hay Road 001
Hay Road 002
Hay Road 3*

Indian River 001
Indian River 002
Indian River 003
Indian River 004
Indian River 10**
Madison Str. 001
West Sub 001

6
6
1
1

241
345
621

49
34
-0-

340
397

834***
1,652

-0-
-0-

2

-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
28
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-

1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1

-0-
1
1
1
2
1
1
1

7
7
2
2

242
346
650

50
35
-0-

341
398
835

1,654
2
1
3

Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75

Part 75
Part 75
Part 75

Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75

Part 75
Part 75
Part 75
Part 75
Part 75

Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75

DFD Operating
Services

McKee Run 001
McKee Run 002
McKee Run 003
VanSant 1*

72***
44***

184
-0-

-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-

1
1
2

-0-

73
45

186
-0-

Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75

Part 75
Part 75

FIRST STATE Co-Gen 1** -0- -0- 2 203 Non-Part 75
STAR ENTERPRISE Delaware City 006****

Delaware City 019
Delaware City 034
Delaware City 067
Delaware City 068
Delaware City 069
Delaware City 070
Delaware City 072
Delaware City 074
Delaware City 105

-0-
20
70
93

206
227
214
-0-

117
-0-

-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-
-0-

1
1
1
1
1
1
2

-0-
1

-0-

105
21
71
94

207
228
216
-0-

118
-0-

Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75
Non-Part 75

TOTAL 5,776 28 32 6,142

NOTES:   (*)  These Units did not start operation until after 1990.
   (**) Units operated in the 1990 NOx control period but were not included in the “1990 OTC Baseline Emissions Inventory”.
  (***) OTC MOU allowances corrected from “1990 OTC Baseline Emissions Inventory” due to use of incorrect RACT factor.

 (****) OTC MOU allowances corrected from “1990 OTC Baseline Emissions Inventory” due to incorrect reporting of 1990 fuel use information.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates
new text.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons
may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;
The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

DELAWARE STATE FIRE
PREVENTION COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Section 6603 (16 Del.C. 6603)

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will
hold a hearing pursuant to 16 Del. C. §6603 and 29 Del. C.
Ch., 101 on May 26, 1998 at 7:00 p.m. in Room 5 of the
Delaware State Fire School at the Delaware Fire Service
Center, 1461 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware.  The
Commission is proposing to adopt the following:

Minimum Requirements for Dispatch Centers to
include utilities, fire protection, emergency lighting
power, staffing, qualifications, operating practices,
records, equipment and operations, dispatching system
and radio devices and computer aided dispatching
systems.

Persons may view the proposed Requirements between the
hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, at
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, Delaware
State Fire School, Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463

Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware, 19904.

Persons may present their views in writing by mailing their
views to the Commission at the above address prior to the
hearing, and the Commission will consider those responses
received before 7:00 p.m. on May 26, 1998, or by offering
testimony at the Public Hearing.  If the number of persons
desiring to testify at the Public Hearing is large, the amount
of time allotted to each speaker will be limited.  There will be
a reasonable fee charged for copies of the proposed changes.

Minimum Requirements for Dispatch Center

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, Ambulance
Service Regulation addresses Communication Requirements
for Dispatch Centers.  Section E- Communication
Requirements, Dispatch Centers #1 states Dispatch Center for
both Primary and Secondary Ambulance Service Providers
shall meet the criteria of NFPA 1221 as amended by the
Commission.

The following is the minimum requirement acceptable to
meet this section.

http://www.state.de.us/dvfa/html/commission.html
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I. Fundamentals

The System shall be under the control of a responsible
jurisdiction.

II. General Requirements
Availability of an alternate facility must exist.
The Center met local building codes at time of

construction.
The Center has a secured entry system.
The Center has restroom facilities.

III. Utilities
Climate Control must be available.

IV. Fire Protection
Fire Extinguishers provided in accordance with codes.
Meets State Codes at time of construction.

V. Emergency Lighting
Emergency Lighting required.

VI. Power
Two power sources provided.
Meets Electrical Code at time of construction.
Storage battery available.

VII. Staffing
Jurisdictions receiving more than 600 or more alarms per

year, shall have at least one operator on duty.
A supervisor shall be on duty if three or more operators

are working.
Operators shall be on duty and capable of operating the

system.

VIII. Qualifications
Operators shall be in good health.
Operators shall be familiar with fire service operations.
Operators shall have a working knowledge of the overall

EMS System.

IX. Operating Practices
Calls shall be recorded and tabulated.
Answering Agency shall be able to transfer calls directly,

instead of relaying the information to an operator.
A status indication system of all units shall be readily

available.
An audible warning or alerting signal, typically a

distinctive tone(s) shall proceed any alarm transmitted by
voice.

A report of important operations summary statistics shall
be prepared annually.

X. Records
Complete records, sufficient to ensure reliable operations

of all alarms system functions shall be maintained.

XI. Directory Listing
A specific telephone number shall be assigned for

emergency service with a separate number assigned for normal
business.

XII. Equipment and Operations
At least one telephone line shall be assigned for

emergency calls.
At least one telephone line should be assigned for business

calls.
In cases where the communications center is not the

primary answering agency for emergency calls, the answering
agency shall transfer the call directly to the emergency
operator and remain on the line until assured the transfer is
effected.

A voice recording facility shall be provided for each
operator.  Calls received by the telephone shall be recorded
automatically and the receiving equipment shall be provided
with capability of instant playback.

XIII. Dispatching System
All devices and equipment constructed and installed shall

be suitable for which they were intended.
All system shall be installed in accordance with

established practices.
All System shall pass an acceptance test in the presence

of the authorized representative of the purchaser and of the
authority having jurisdiction.

XIV. Miscellaneous Radio Devices
Where radio home alerting receiving hand held units,

pocket pagers and similar radio devices are used to receive
alarms or are used on the Emergency scene they shall:

Be manufactured for the environment.
Be capable of one hand operation.
Shall not be placed into transmit mode except by

operator on amechanically guarded switch.
Indicate audibly before the battery is incapable of

operating thepager for alerting purposes.

XV.Computer Aided Dispatching Systems
CAD Systems shall meet the demands of the authority

having jurisdiction at the time of installation.
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION  OF REVENUE

OFFICE OF THE STATE  LOTTERY

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,
Section 4805(a) (29 Del.C. 4805(a))

The proposed regulations are amendments to the Lottery’s
existing Video Lottery Regulations.  The Lottery proposes
these amendments pursuant to 29 Del. C. section 4805(a).

The proposed amendments to Regulations 2.0, 3.1, 3.8,
3.12, 3.13, 4.2, 4.9, 5.1, 5.11, 6.0, 6.34, 7.0, 7.2, 7.3, 7.6, 7.8,
7.9, 8.0, 8.5, and 13.1 to make the regulations consistent with
recently enacted legislation in 71 Del. Laws 253.  The
proposed amendments would add the legislative definition of
“video lottery operations employees” to the regulations.  The
proposed regulations would also delete the existing provisions
for agent license renewal based on the new lottery legislation.
The Lottery proposes new regulations 13.12, 13.13, and 13.14
to be consistent with the provisions in the new legislation for
enforcement of the Lottery statute.

Proposed regulation 5.1 allows a single technology
provider to supply no more than 65% of video lottery machines
at a single agent’s sight.  Proposed regulations 7.2 and 7.3
raise the maximum bet limit to $25.00 per game.  Proposed
regulation 7.6  clarifies the procedures for voiding bets by
underage players.  Proposed regulations 7.8 and 7.9 limit the
time period for redemption of jackpots to one hundred and
eighty days.

The Lottery will accept written public comments from
May 1, 1998 to May 31, 1998.  A public hearing will also be
conducted at the DNREC Building, Main Auditorium, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, on May 20, 1998 at 3:00 p.m.  The
Lottery’s phone number is (302)739-5291.  Please contact
me if you have any questions about this matter or require any
additional information.

Proposed Regulations
2.0  Definitions

The following words shall be accorded these meanings:

“video lottery operations employee” - an individual
employee, person or agent of an applicant or licensee who is
responsible for the security of video lottery machines, or
responsible for handling video lottery machine proceeds, or
is otherwise employed in a position that allows direct access
to the internal workings of video lottery machines.

3.0  Licensing of Agents;  Business Plans

3.1.  Any applicant desiring to obtain a license to act as
an agent shall apply to the agency on forms specified by the
Director from time to time.  Application forms shall require
the applicant to provide the following, without limitation:

(1)  The applicant’s legal name, form of entity (e.g.,
general or limited partnership, corporation), the names,
addresses, employer identification or social security numbers
(if applicable) and dates of birth (if applicable) of its directors,
officers, partners, owners, and key employees, and video
lottery operations employees.

(3)  With respect to any persons named in subparagraph
(1) that are not individuals, the names, addresses, social
security numbers, and birth dates of all individuals who are
directors, officers, owners, partners, or key employees, or
video lottery operations employees of any such persons.

(6)  The names, if any, and addresses, social security
numbers, and dates of birth of any person who is or was a
director, officer, owner, partner, or key employee, or video
lottery operations employee of the applicant who has been or
was charged with or convicted of a felony, a crime involving
gambling, or a crime of moral turpitude.

3.8  The Director shall weigh the following factors in his
or her evaluation of the application:

(2)  The criminal background, if any, of the applicant, or
any of its officers, directors, partners, owners, and key
employees, and video lottery operations employees.  No
license shall be issued to any applicant if any of the persons
identified in this subsection have been convicted, within 10
years prior to the filing of the application, of any felony, a
crime of moral turpitude or a crime involving gambling.

(9)  Whether the person, or any of its officers, directors,
partners, owners, or key employees, or video lottery operations
employees are known to associate with persons of nefarious
backgrounds or disreputable character such that the association
could adversely affect the general credibility, security,
integrity, honesty, fairness or reputation of the Lottery.

3.12  At least 180 days prior to the expiration of any
license, the agent may apply for renewal os such license.  The
renewal application, if complete, shall be deemed approved
if not acted upon by the agency within 100 days of its receipt.

3.13  If the Director proposes to deny a license application
or application for renewal of the license and the agency is
subject to the requirements contained in subchapter IV of 29
Del. C. chapter 101, the agency shall first give written notice

http://www.state.de.us/lottery/index.htm
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to the applicant or licensee of the intended action, the reasons
therefor, and the right to a hearing as provided for in 29 Del.
C. chapter 101.

4.0  Licensing of Technology Providers

4.2  Each person desiring to obtain a license from the
agency as a technology provider for video lottery games shall
submit a license application on a form specified and supplied
by the agency.  The license application shall, among other
things:

(2)  Require the applicant to supply specified information
and documents related to the applicant’s fitness and the
background of its owners, partners, directors, officers, key
employees, and video lottery operations employees, including
but not limited to copies of financial statements, tax returns,
insurance policies, and lists of creditors.

(5)  Require the applicant to disclose whether the
applicant, or any of its present or former officers, directors,
owners, partners, or key employees, or video lottery operations
employees, is or has been the subject of an investigation in
another jurisdiction, the nature of the investigation, and the
outcome, if any, of such investigation.

(7)  Require the applicant to disclose its legal name, form
of entity (e.g., general or limited partnership, corporation),
the names, addresses, social security numbers and dates of
birth of its directors, officers, partners, owners, and key
employees, and video lottery operations employees.

4.9.  In evaluating applications, the Director shall
consider:

(2)  Any past conduct of the applicant, or any of its present
or former officers, directors, partners, owners, or key
employees, or video lottery operations employees which may
adversely reflect upon the applicant, the nature of the conduct,
the time that has passed since the conduct, the frequency of
the conduct and any extenuating circumstances that affect or
reduce the impact of the conduct or otherwise reflect upon
the applicant’s fitness for the license.  No license shall be
issued to any applicant if any of the persons identified in this
subsection have been convicted, within ten years prior to the
filing of the application, of any felony, a crime of moral
turpitude or a crime involving gambling.

(5)  The association of the applicant, or any of its officers,
directors, owners, partners, or key employees, or video lottery
operations employees with persons of known criminal
background or persons of disreputable character, that may
adversely affect the general credibility, security, integrity,
honesty, fairness or reputation of video lottery operations.

5.0  Technology Providers:  Contracts;  Requirements;
Duties

5.1  The Director shall, pursuant to the procedures set
forth in section 6922 6924  of Title 29 of the Delaware Code,
enter into contracts with licensed technology providers as he
or she shall determine to be appropriate, pursuant to which
the technology providers shall furnish by sale or lease to the
State video lottery machines in such numbers and for such
video games as the Director shall approve from time to time
as necessary for the efficient and economical operation of the
lottery, or convenience of the players, and in accordance with
the agents’ business plans as approved and amended by the
Director.  No single technology provider shall supply more
than 50% 65% of the total number of video lottery machines
at the premises of any agent.  No more than   500 1,000 video
lottery machines shall be located within the confines of an
agent’s premises unless the Director approves up to an
additional 500 1,000 machines or other number approved by
the Director as permitted by law.

5.11  The following duties are required of all licensed
technology providers, without limitation:

(13)  It shall be the ongoing duty of the technology
provider licensee to notify the Director of any change in
officers, partners, directors, key employees, video lottery
operations employees, or owners.  These individuals shall also
be subject to a background investigation.  The failure of any
of the above-mentioned individuals to satisfy a background
investigation may constitute “cause” for the suspension or
revocation of the technology provider’s license.

6.0  Agents:  Duties

The following duties are required of all licensed agents:

6.34  Notify the Director on a continuing basis of any
change in officers, partners, directors, key employees, video
lottery operations employees, and owners.  Such persons will
also be subject to a background investigation.  The failure of
any of the above-mentioned persons to satisfy a background
investigation may constitute “cause” for the suspension or
revocation of the video lottery agent’s license, provided that
an agency is first given a reasonable opportunity to remove
or replace such person if the agent was unaware of such
“cause” prior to the background investigation.

7.0  Game Requirements

7.2  Video games shall be based on bills, coins, tokens or
credits, worth between $.05 and $5 $25.00 each, in conformity
with approved business plans as amended.
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7.3  The Director, in his or her discretion, may authorize

extended play features from time to time to which the
maximum wager limit of $5 $25.00 shall not apply.

7.6  Each player shall be at least twenty-one (21) years
of age.  In the event an underage player attempts to claim s
prize, the video lottery agent should treat the play of the game
as void and the underage player shall not be entitled to any
prize won or a refund of amounts bet.

7.8  Credit slips may be redeemed by a player at the
designated place on the premises where the video game issuing
the credit slip is located during the one (1) year one hundred
and eighty (180) day redeeming period commencing on the
date the credit slip was issued.

7.9  No credit slip shall be redeemed more than one (1)
year one hundred and eighty (180) days from the date of
issuance.  No jackpot from a coin-in/coin-out machine shall
be redeemed more than one hundred and eighty (180) days
from the date on which the jackpot occurred.  Funds reserved
for the payment of a credit slip or expired unclaimed jackpot
shall be treated as net proceeds if unredeemed one (1) year
and one (1) day one hundred and eighty one (181) days from
the date of issuance of the credit slip or occurrence of the
winning jackpot.  The one hundred and eighty day redemption
policy in this regulation shall be prominently displayed on
the premises of the video lottery agent.

8.0  Accounting and Distribution Procedures

8.5  The net proceeds of the video lottery operations shall
be remitted daily or weekly to the agency at the discretion of
the Lottery Director  through the electronic transfer of funds
to an EFT account segregated and held in trust for the agency.
To the extent, if any, that such daily or weekly remission
cannot be achieved due to the unavailability of bank services,
the remission shall be made on the first day that such services
are available.  Agents shall furnish to the agency all
information and bank authorizations required to facilitate the
timely transfer of monies to the State lottery fund.  Agents
shall provide the agency thirty (30) days advance notice of
any proposed account changes in order to assure the
uninterrupted electronic transfer of funds.

13.0  Enforcement

13.1  The license of a video lottery agent or technology
provider may be suspended or revoked for the following
reasons:

(3)  For cause, such as, but not limited to falsifying any
application for license or report to the agency;  failure to report
information required by the regulations;  the material violation

of the regulations;  or any conduct by the licensee, or any of
its owners, officers, directors, partners, or key employees, or
video lottery operations employees, which undermines the
public confidence in the video lottery system or serves the
interest of organized gambling or crime and criminals in any
manner.  A license may be revoked for an unintentional
violation of any Federal, State or local law, rule or regulation
provided that the violation is not cured within a reasonable
time as determined by the Director, or a longer period where
the video lottery agent has made diligent efforts to cure.  For
purposes of this provision, the licensee is deemed to be familiar
with all provisions of these regulations and unintentional
violations shall not include violations which the agent or
technology provider asserts are unintentional because of lack
of awareness of these regulations.  Likewise, for purposes of
this provision, diligent efforts to cure shall not constitute a
defense to a suspension or revocation of the license arising
out of reasons contained in section 13.1(1) or (2) or in
situations where the violation would not have occurred had
the licensee exercised diligent efforts to comply with the
requirements when they were first applicable.

13.12  Whoever violates the Lottery chapter 29 Del. C.
chapter 48, or any Lottery rule or regulation duly promulgated
thereunder, or any condition of a license issued pursuant to
29 Del. C. section 4805, or any Administrative Order issued
pursuant to Lottery statutes or Regulations shall be punishable
as follows:

(i)  If the violation has been completed, by a civil penalty
imposed by Superior Court, which by 29 Del. C. section 4823
shall have jurisdiction of civil penalty actions brought pursuant
to this section, of not less than $1000 nor more than $10,000
for each completed violation.  Each day of a continued
violation shall be considered as a separate violation if, on each
such day, the violator has knowledge of the facts constituting
the violation and knows or should know that such facts
constitute or may constitute a violation.  Lack of knowledge
regarding such facts or violation shall not be a defense to a
continued violation with respect to the first day of its
occurrence.

(ii)  If the violation is continuing or there is a substantial
likelihood that it will reoccur, the Director may also seek a
temporary restraining order, preliminary injunction, or
permanent injunction in the Court of Chancery, which shall
have jurisdiction of an action for such relief.

(iii)  In his discretion, the Director may impose an
administrative penalty of not more than $1,000 for each
violation.  Each day of continued violation shall be considered
as a separate violation if the violator has knowledge of the
facts constituting the violation and knows or should know
that such facts constitute or may constitute a violation.  Lack
of knowledge regarding such facts or violations shall not be a
defense to a continued violation with respect to the first day
of its occurrence.  Prior to the assessment of an administrative
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penalty, written notice of the Director’s proposal to impose
such penalty shall be given to the violator, and the violator
shall have 30 days from receipt of such notice to request a
public hearing.  Any public hearing, if requested, shall be
held prior to the imposition of the penalty and shall be
governed by section 10125 of Title 29.  If no hearing is timely
requested, the proposed penalty shall become final and shall
be paid no later than 60 days from receipt of the notice of
proposed penalty.  Assessment of an administrative penalty
shall take into account the circumstances, nature, and gravity
of the violation, as well as any prior history of violations, the
degree of culpability, the economic benefit to the violator
resulting from the violation, any economic loss to the State,
and such other matters as justice may require.  In the event of
nonpayment of an administrative penalty within 30 days after
all legal appeal rights have been waived or otherwise
exhausted, a civil action may be brought by the Director in
Superior Court for the collection of the penalty, and for
interest, from the date payment was due, attorneys’ fees and
other legal costs and expenses.  The validity or amount of
such administrative penalty shall not be subject to review in
an action to collect the penalty.  Any penalty imposed after a
public hearing is held pursuant to this subsection shall be
appealable to Superior Court, and such appeal shall be
governed by section 10142 of Title 29.

(iv)  In his discretion, the Director may endeavor to obtain
compliance with requirements of the Lottery chapter, 29 Del.
C. chapter 48, by written Administrative Order.  Such order
shall be provided to the responsible party, shall specify the
complaint, and propose a time for correction of the violation.
it may also provide an opportunity for a public hearing at
which the Director shall hear and consider any submission
relevant to the violation, corrective action, or the deadline for
correcting the violation.

13.13  The Director shall enforce chapter 48, of 29
Delaware Code and any rules, regulations, or Administrative
Orders issued thereunder.

13.14  Any interest, costs or expenses collected by the
Lottery under actions instituted by 29 Del. C. section 4823 or
these regulations shall be appropriated to the State Lottery
Office to carry out the purposes of 29 Del. Code chapter 48.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512)

Delaware Health and Social Services is considering
revising certain regulations contained in DSSM section
3002.7.  The Department will receive comments and consider
whether or not to adopt or modify the proposed regulations.

The proposed regulations:

· Remove the possibility that an employable caretaker
whose 48-month A Better Chance time limit has expired may
re-apply for benefits after a family has not received assistance
for 96 consecutive months.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Division of Social Services, P.O.
Box 906, New Castle, DE, by May 31, 1998.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt
the proposed regulations will be based upon the results of
Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration
of the written materials filed by other interested persons.

· the adult caretaker did not make a good faith effort
to comply with the terms of the CONTRACT OF MUTUAL
RESPONSIBILITY.

The responsibility rests with the adult caretaker to
demonstrate substantiality.  It is not enough for the adult
caretaker to simply make a claim that the agency failed in its
effort to provide the services specified under the Contract of
Mutual Responsibility.  The adult caretaker must present the
reasons for the claim and show how the agency failed to
provide these services.

3002.7 Re-Application after the Time Limit

Assistance will be denied to employable caretakers
reapplying for benefits after the 48 cumulative month time
limit, unless:

· the family has not received assistance for 96
consecutive months

or

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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· the caretaker proves that grounds exist for an extension.

Benefits will be provided to these families only in the
pay-after-performance component, for a maximum of 12
cumulative months.  DSS will conduct an assessment and
notice the family prior to termination of benefits (See section
3002).

Families headed by unemployable caretakers can receive
assistance under the Children’s Program.

3003 Children’s Program - Non Time limited Program

A BETTER CHANCE creates a non-time-limited
program for certain families, referred to as the Children’s
Program.  Families with the following status will receive
benefits in the Children’s Program:

· Families that the agency has determined are
unemployable and unable to achieve self-sufficiency, either
because a parent is too physically or mentally disabled to work
in an unsubsidized work setting or because the parent is needed
in the home to care for a child or another adult disabled to
that extent; or

· Families headed by a non-needy, non-parent
caretaker; or

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State’s Administrative Procedures
Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
with 42CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of
the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 505, the Delaware
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division
of Social Services / Medicaid Program is amending its durable
medical equipment, EPSDT, and practitioner provider
manuals.

Comments, written suggestions, compilations of data,
testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning this
change must be received by mail no later than June 1, 1998,
at the Medicaid Administrative Office, Lewis Bldg., Herman
M. Holloway, Sr. Health & Social Services Campus, 1901 N.
DuPont Hwy., New Castle, DE  19720, attention Thelma

Mayer.  Materials filed thereafter will not be considered except
where good cause for lateness is demonstrated.  Copies of all
written submissions filed with the Medicaid office will be
available for public inspection in the Medicaid Administrative
Office at the address given above.  Please call (302) 577-
4880, extension 131, for an appointment if you wish to review
the materials.  Individuals with disabilities who wish to
participate in these proceedings, or review the materials
submitted, should contact the Division to discuss auxiliary
aids or services needed to facilitate such review or
participation.  Such contact may be in person, in writing or
by telephone by using the Telecommunications Relay Service,
or otherwise.

REVISIONS:

Durable Medical Equipment Provider Specific Policy Manual

I. DEFINITION AND OVERVIEW

III . CRITERIA FOR COVERAGE

Powered Air Flotation Fluidized Bed/Mattress

Incontinence Products

Coverage for Recipients age 4 Years and Over

Incontinence products for recipients age four years and older
may be covered by the DMAP when prescribed by a physician
as medically necessary for the treatment of incontinence
related to a diagnosed condition.  Treatment of incontinence
aims to control the condition through bladder or bowel
retaining, or other behavior management techniques, diet
modification, drug therapy, and possibly surgery.  All
reasonable attempts at control treatment are expected to be
made.

The DMAP may cover disposable incontinence products for
recipients age four years and over.  The DME supplier must
maintain the physician’s prescription for an incontinent
product in their client files and the prescription must be
renewed every six months.

The physician must prescribe the most appropriate type of
incontinence products for the recipient and the DME supplier
must dispense the least costly appropriate product of that type.
Physicians are expected to prescribe an accurate daily
allowance, and DME suppliers are cautioned not to routinely
dispense the Medicaid maximum allowance of eight units per
day unless medically necessary,

The DMAP considers the following types on incontinent

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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products suitable for recipients who have incontinence:
diapers/briefs, incontinent undergarments, guards, pads or
liners.  Medicaid recognizes that some patients may require
two types of incontinent products to meet their needs, but the
daily combined usage of both is not to exceed the expected
daily allowance of eight units per day.

The DME supplier must use the locally assigned procedure
code WW798 - Disposable Incontinence Products - Medically
Necessary - For Ages Over 4 Years.  Billing must include a
description of the product dispensed, manufacturer’s name,
and product number.  The supplier must use locally assigned
procedure code WW800 or WW801, depending on the age of
the recipient, when reusable incontinent products are
prescribed for the treatment of incontinence.

The DMAP does not cover menstruation sanitary supplies,
nor additional incontinent supplies for menstruation.  Further,
Medicaid will not cover Pull-up disposable training pants as
they are not viewed as an appropriate treatment for
incontinence and do not represent the least costly appropriate
alternative health service available.  Disposable incontinent
supplies are not to be dispensed under HCPCS procedure code
A5149 (incontinence/ostomy supply, miscellaneous).

Coverage of Diapers for Children Under 4 Years of Age

Individual consideration may be given for the coverage of
disposable diapers for those children under four years of age
when the use is outside the normal range (the DMAP considers
eight diapers per day to be normal usage).  A letter from the
attending practitioner must be submitted to the Medical
Review Team detailing medical necessity.  The letter must
address the child’s diagnosis, the effects of the condition, the
duration of the condition, the functional level of the child, the
number of diapers used per day, why the excessive number is
medically necessary, and if attempted, the results of toilet
training.  Authorization is required for the coverage of diapers
for children under four years of age.  If the service is approved,
the DME provider will be required to submit a CMN using
the locally assigned procedure code WW799.

Exceeded Units

The DMAP has established an upper limit on medically
necessary incontinence products for recipients age four years
and over.  This limit (8 per day) represents the maximum
usage and will be waived only in extraordinary circumstances.
If the recipient’s need exceeds the limit, the DME supplier is
required to submit a letter from the attending practitioner
documenting the recipient’s diagnosis, why the excessive
number is medically necessary, the total number of
incontinence products needed, and the period of time for which
the approval is being requested.  The letter will be returned to

the DME provider if these requirements are not met.

VI. EPSDT PROGRAM SPECIFIC POLICY

Non-Covered Services

Diapers

Diapers routinely used for children under 4 years of age are
not covered.  Refer to Equipment Specific Coverage Criteria
for Diapers Section III, Criteria for Coverage, Incontinence
Products, for a description of requirements for coverage of
diapers under age four (4).specific coverage exceptions.

Pull-Up Disposable Training Pants

Pull-Up disposable training pants are not an appropriate
treatment for incontinence and do not represent the least costly
appropriate alternative health service available.  Therefore,
they are considered to be a non-covered service.  If
incontinence products are required during a lengthy training
period we will continue our policy of covering diapers during
toilet training when it is medically necessary.

The DMAP does not generally cover incontinence liners,
diaper doublers, sanitary pads, etc.

Diapers

The DMAP may reimburse DME suppliers for disposable
diapers for eligible recipients four years of age and older.
Disposable diapers for children age four and above are covered
when prescribed by a physician as medically necessary for
the treatment of incontinence related to a diagnosed condition.

Individual consideration will be given for the coverage of
disposable diapers for those children under four years of age
when the use is outside the normal range (the DMAP considers
8 diapers per day to be normal usage).  A letter from the
attending practitioner must be submitted to the EPSDT
Medical Review Team detailing medical necessity.  The letter
must address the child’s diagnosis, the effects of the condition,
the duration of the condition, the functional level of the child,
the number of diapers used per day, why the excessive number
is medically necessary, and if attempted, the results of toilet
training.  Prior authorization is required for the coverage of
diapers for children under four years of age.  If the service is
approved, the DME provider will be required to submit a CMN
using the local HCPCS code WW799.

The DMAP has established an upper limit on medically
necessary disposable diapers for children over four years of
age.  This limit (8 per day) represents the maximum usage
and will be waived only in extraordinary circumstances.  If
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the patient’s need exceeds the limit, the DME supplier is
required to submit a letter from the attending practitioner
documenting the patient’s diagnosis, why the excessive
number is medically necessary, the total number of diapers
needed, and the period of time for which the approval is being
requested.  The letter will be returned to the DME provider if
these requirements are not met.

Equipment Specific Coverage Criteria

Biliblanket Phototherapy Blanket

The DMAP will cover biliblankets phototherapy blankets to
treat abnormal bilirubin levels in newborns.  The DME
provider should use code WW802 WW839 when requesting
authorization for the biliblanket.phototherapy blanket.  The
EPSDT Medical Review Team may authorize the rental of a
biliblanket Rental may be authorized for up to, but not to
exceed, 9 7 days.  The DME provider must attach a letter of
medical necessity from the attending practitioner to the CMN.
The letter must include all bilirubin laboratory data. The DME
provider may only bill for days the unit was in use and must
attach all bilirubin laboratory data to the CMN.  A separate
physician’s letter of medical necessity will be required when
use exceeds the 7 day limit.

Augmentative Communication Devices

The DMAP may cover augmentative communication devices
that are medically necessary for individuals under the age of
21 through the EPSDT program.  The DME provider is
required to attach a letter of medical necessity from the
attending practitioner to the CMN.  In addition, supportive
documentation, as appropriate, must address the following
areas:

• Full evaluation by an expert examiner (such as a
Speech-Language Pathologist).

• Full school speech-language evaluation.

• School IEP.

• Trial assessment with the requested device.

• Comparison to other devices not selected.

The DME provider is further required to attach the catalog
literature or manufacturer’s invoice for the requested device
to the CMN.  This literature must document the cost to the
provider for the device.

Orthotics/Prosthetics

The DMAP may cover orthotics/prosthetics for children under
the age of 21 through the EPSDT program.  Requests for these
items require prior authorization with a CMN. and a
practitioner’s letter of medical necessity. It is important that

the supplier include ICD-9 CM diagnosis(es) that are relevant
to the procedure codes being authorized on the CMN.

The DME provider must request prior authorization by using
HCPCS procedure codes that begin with “L” followed by four
(4) digits.  The DME provider must not re-define the procedure
and must use a code that describes the exact item dispensed.
If the use of a miscellaneous code is necessary, the provider
must include a description of the device and itemized
explanation of all charges.

The replacement of an orthotic or prosthetic, due to growth,
requires documentation of  the previous and current
measurements and a full explanation that all possible
adjustments have been made. The supplier may be requested
to submit documentation of measurements and/or adjustments
for replacement of an orthotic or prosthetic due to growth.

Enuresis Alarm

The DMAP will cover enuresis alarms for children over age
four years.  This bed-wetting alarm requires prior authorization
and a letter of medical necessity from the attending
practitioner. with the CMN. The supplier must include the
appropriate ICD-9 CM diagnosis code(s) on the CMN  When
requesting authorization for the enuresis alarm the supplier is
required to use the locally assigned code WW838.  The
following information must be documented in the
practitioner’s letter of medical necessity:

• Physical findings in relation to nocturnal enuresis.

• Effects of any behavior modification programs.

• Effects of any medication therapy, if applicable.

Mic-Key Skin Level Gastrostomy Kit

This kit must be prior authorized with a CMN. and a letter of
medical necessity is required from the attending practitioner.
When requesting prior authorization for this kit the provider
must use code WW800 848 on the CMN.  Code WW800 849
may also be used when additional supplies, such as the Secur-
Lok extension set (12” length), is needed. must be used when
requesting adapters for skin level gastrostomy kits (the request
is limited to 5 adapters per month).   If approved, the DMAP
will cover up to, but not exceed, 5 adapters per month.  When
requesting other additional supplies needed with the skin level
gastrostomy kit code WW800 must be used.  Approval for
additional supplies will not be given prior to the dates of
service.  The CMN submitted to the DMAP for an
authorization number must be signed by the attending
practitioner.

VII AUGMENTATIVE & ALTERNATIVE
COMMUNICATION DEVICES & SERVICES
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A. SCOPE OF COVERAGE

Augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) devices
are defined as electronic or non-electronic aids, devices, or
systems that assist a Medicaid beneficiary to overcome or
ameliorate (reduce to the maximum degree possible) the
communication limitations that preclude or interfere with
meaningful participation in current and projected daily
activities.  Meaningful participation means effective and
efficient communication of messages which takes into account
the beneficiary’s preferences.  Examples of AAC devices
include:

• communication boards or books;

• electrolarynxes;

• speech amplifiers; and

•  electronic devices that produce speech and/or
written output.

AAC devices include devices that are constructed for use as
communication devices as well as systems that may include a
computer, when an important use of the computer will be as
the beneficiary’s communication device.  AAC devices also
include related components and accessories, including
software programs, symbol sets, overlays, mounting devices,
switches, cables and connectors, auditory, visual, and tactile
output devices, and necessary supplies, such as rechargeable
batteries.

AAC services are treatment to assist Medicaid beneficiaries
in meeting the full range of their communication needs.  AAC
services are within the scope of practice of speech-language
pathologists.  The goal of AAC services will be accomplished
by:

• developing and improving expressive
communication and/or language comprehension skills and
abilities that may be adversely affected by e.g., congenital or
developmental disabilities;

•  maintaining and protecting beneficiaries’ existing
expressive communication and/or language comprehension
skills and abilities from loss or deterioration due to e.g.,
progressive impairments and disabilities; and

• restoring beneficiaries’ expressive communication
and/or language comprehension skills and abilities damaged
or lost due to e.g., diseases, disability, or traumatic injury.

The scope of AAC services includes diagnostic, screening,
preventive, and corrective service provided by or under the
direction of a speech-language pathologist.  Specific activities
include evaluation for, recommendation of, design, set-up-
customization and training related to the use of AAC devices.

Settings in Which AAC Services May be Provided

AAC services are covered under multiple Medicaid categories,
including, but not limited to:

• an individual’s home as part of home health services,
which includes supplies, equipment, and appliances suitable
for use in the home;

• inpatient hospital services;

• out-patient hospital services;

• nursing facility services; and

• intermediate care facilities for persons with mental
retardation, developmental disabilities and related condition.

Because all AAC devices are customized to overcome or
ameliorate each beneficiary’s communication limitations, and
are for the sole and exclusive use of a single beneficiary, the
cost of AAC devices for residents of nursing facilities and/or
ICF/MR-DD facilities is not included in the facility’s “per
diem” or daily rate for that beneficiary.

Treatment Plan & Physician Endorsement of Medical
Necessity Required

Assessment is necessary prior to the development of the
treatment plan and physician endorsement.  For detailed
information refer to Section B, Assessment, Data Reporting
and Procedural Requirements.

A speech-language pathology treatment plan is required for
all requests for DMAP funding for AAC devices and AAC
services.  Other health professionals, as appropriate, may
participate in the development of the treatment plan.  The
treatment plan must be prepared by a speech by a speech-
language pathologist who:

• has a certificate of clinical competence from the
American Speech-Language-Association;

• has completed the equivalent educational
requirements and work experience necessary for the
certificate; or

• has completed the academic program and is acquiring
supervised work experience to qualify for the certificate.

A physician must document endorsement of such plan through
either completion of a DMAP approved form or letter of
medical necessity.  For individuals enrolled in a managed care
plan, the endorsing physician must be the primary care
physician.

The AAC devices and AAC services must be an integral part
of the treatment plan.  The treatment plan must address each
beneficiary’s unique communication abilities and the
expressive communication or receptive (language
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comprehension) limitations that preclude or interfere with
meaningful participation in current and projected daily
activities.  It must:

• conform to the scope of coverage stated in this policy;

• be based on the evaluation criteria and data reporting
requirements stated in this policy;

• satisfy the medical need criteria stated in the policy;
and

• indicate that the beneficiary has demonstrated
potential to benefit from AAC devices and/or services at a
basic and reasonable level.

Eligible Individuals

AAC services will be provided to beneficiaries with significant
expressive communication or receptive (language
comprehension) impairments: beneficiaries who currently lack
adequate functional communication skills and abilities through
gestures, speech and/or writing.  These impairments include
but are not limited to: apraxia of speech, dysarthria, and
cognitive communication disabilities.

Trial Use Periods for AAC Devices

A trial use period for AAC devices is not required but may be
recommended by the speech-language pathologist who
conducts the AAC evaluation as described in Section C,
Review Criteria of this policy.  The results of trial use periods
are often instructive in determining the most appropriate AAC
intervention, and thus are preferred.  If the results of the
assessment are clinically inconclusive, Medicaid may require
a trial use period.

Medicaid authorization for rental of AAC device(s) will be
approved for trial use periods when the speech-language
pathologist prepares a request consistent with the requirements
as described in the Trial Use Period Request section of this
policy.  The reasons for a trial use period request include, but
are not limited to: the characteristics of the beneficiary’s
communication limitations; lack of familiarity with a specific
AAC device; and concern that the beneficiary has not had
sufficient experience with the requested device to permit
determination of the device’s appropriateness.

Trial Use Period Request

If a speech-language pathologist or Medicaid seeks a trial use
period, a plan for this period must be developed by the speech-
language pathologist that includes:

• the duration of the trial period;

• description of the speech-language pathologist’s
qualifications that satisfy Medicaid’s provider participation

requirements;
• description of the speech-language pathologist’s

AAC services training and experience (and the AAC services
experience of all other professionals, as appropriate) involved
in the assessments of the beneficiary’s functioning and
communication limitations;

• beneficiary identifying information, such as name,
Medical Assistance ID#, date of the assessment, medical
diagnosis (primary, secondary, tertiary), and significant
medical history;

•  the AAC device(s) to be examined during the trial
period, including all the necessary components (e.g., mounting
device, software, switches or access control mechanism);

• description of the AAC devices assessment
components, such as vocabulary requirements,
representational system(s), display organization and features,
rate enhancement techniques, message characteristics, speech
synthesis, printed output, display characteristics, feedback,
auditory and visual output, access techniques and strategies,
and portability and durability concerns, if any.

• the identification of the service provider(s), e.g.,
speech-language pathologists, educators, residential providers,
etc. who will assist the beneficiary in learning and using the
AAC device(s) during the trial period;

•  the identification of the AAC service provider(s)
who will assess the trial period; and

• the data collection schedule and the evaluation
criteria, specific to the beneficiary, that will be used to
determine the success or failure of the trial period.

Trial use period proposals must request Medicaid funding for
rental of, or otherwise state the source of all necessary
components of the AAC devices, including AAC services
provider(s) who will assist the beneficiary during the trial use
period.

Trial periods may be extended and/or different AAC devices
provided, when requested by the speech-language pathologist
responsible for evaluating the trial use period.

Trial Use Period Results

Results of trial use periods must be submitted with a prior
approval request.  The results must include the following:

• identification of the requested AAC devices
including all required components, accessories, peripheral
devices, supplies, and the device vendor;

•  identification of the beneficiary’s and
communications partner’s AAC devices preference, if any;

• justification stating why the recommended AAC
device (including description of the significant characteristics
and features) is better able to overcome or ameliorate the
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communicate limitations that preclude or interfere with the
beneficiary’s meaningful participation in current and projected
daily activities, as compared to the other AAC devices
considered; and

•  justification stating why the recommended AAC
device (including description of the significant characteristics
and features) is the least costly, equally effective alternative
form of treatment to overcome or ameliorate the
communication limitations that preclude or interfere with the
beneficiary’s meaningful participation in current and projected
daily activities.

Purchase or Rental

The speech-language pathologist is required to estimate
whether it is more cost effective to rent or purchase the
requested AAC device.  In addition to price, material factors
in determining cost effectiveness include availability, expected
useful life, upgradability, and warranty availability, and terms.
The determination to rent or purchase will be based upon cost
effectiveness and must also take into account the comparative
delay in providing the device to the beneficiary.  No AAC
device will be denied approval solely because it is not available
for rental.

AAC devices purchased by the Medicaid program become
the property of the beneficiary.

Repair and Replacement

AAC Device(s) Repair

Medicaid will pay for repair to keep AAC device(s),
accessories and other system components (“devices”) in
working condition.  Repair will be covered for the anticipated
useful lifetime of the device(s), and for as long thereafter as
the device(s) continue to be the appropriate treatment for the
beneficiary.  Medicaid payment for repair will include
diagnostic testing of the device, parts, labor and shipping,
when not otherwise available without charge pursuant to a
manufacturer’s warranty.

Medicaid AAC device repair will be subject to the following
procedure:

• When a device ceases to function properly, the
beneficiary, a person acting on behalf of a beneficiary, or
Medicaid staff will notify the device manufacturer or the
manufacturer’s designee for the purpose of repair, and follow
the manufacturer’s or designee’s instructions to send the
device for assessment.

•  When a device is received by the manufacturer or
manufacturer’s designee for the purpose of repair, the
manufacturer or designee will conduct an assessment of the

device to determine whether it can be repaired, and if so,
prepare a written estimate of the diagnostics, parts, labor,
shipping, and total cost of the repair, as well as the
effectiveness (i.e., estimated durability) of the repair.

If Medicaid was the original payment source for the device,
the manufacturer or manufacturer’s designee for the purpose
of repair will:

• repair the device if the total cost of the repair is less
than or equal to $300.00; or

•  notify the beneficiary or the person acting on the
beneficiary’s behalf that the total cost of the (non-battery)
repair, including shipping, will be greater than $300.00, and
that prior approval must first be obtained before the repair
can proceed.  When the repair is completed, the manufacturer
or representative for the purpose of repair will return the repair
device to the beneficiary.

If Medicaid was not the original payment source for the device,
the manufacturer or manufacturer’s designee for the purpose
of repair will notify the beneficiary or the person acting on
the beneficiary’s behalf of the repair cost and that prior
approval must first be obtained before the repair can proceed.

If the manufacturer or manufacturer’s designee for repair
concludes the device is not able to be repaired, written notice
will be provided to the beneficiary or person acting on the
beneficiary’s behalf that prior approval must be sought to
replace the device.

Procedure for Repair or Replacement of AAC Device Batteries

If the assessment conducted by the manufacturer or
manufacturer’s designee for repair identifies the device battery
as the malfunctioning or non-functioning part, the following
procedure will be followed;

• repair of the battery will occur independent of the
$300.00 period approval threshold; and

•  independent of whether Medicaid was the original
payment source for the device, or replacement of the battery
will occur without the need of prior approval.

Repair or replacement of an AAC device battery will be
performed, and the device returned to the beneficiary, or
person acting on the beneficiary’s behalf, as soon as possible.

Rental of AAC Device During Assessment, Repair and/or
Replacement Period

When the manufacturer or manufacturer’s designee receives
notification from the beneficiary or a person acting on the
beneficiary’s behalf that an AAC device is malfunctioning or
non-functioning, and is being returned for assessment, the
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manufacturer is authorized to provide the beneficiary, on a
rental basis, an AAC device during the assessment, repair and/
or replacement period.  The rental period is authorized to
continue without regard to the need for prior approval for the
repair and/or replacement of the beneficiary’s AAC device.
Rental of an AAC device during the assessment, repair and/
or replacement period is not limited to devices for which
Medicaid was the original payment source.

AAC Device Repairs Greater Than $300.00 and AAC Device
Replacement

Requests for prior approval for AAC device repairs greater
than $300.00 and for AAC device replacements must be
accompanied by the following information:

• description of the speech-language pathologist’s
AAC services training and experience (and the AAC services
experience of all other professionals, as appropriate) involved
in the assessments of the beneficiary’s functioning and
communication limitations; and

•  beneficiary identifying information, such as name,
Medical Assistance ID#, date of the assessment, medical
diagnosis (primary, secondary, tertiary), and significant
medical history.

The speech-language pathologist also must report whether
there have been any significant changes in any of the subject
areas identified in the Required Assessment & Data Reporting
section of this policy.  The information must include the items
specifically listed in the Sensory Status, Postural, Mobility &
Motor Status, Current Speed, Language & Expressive
Communication Status, Communication Needs Inventory,
Summary of Communication Limitations, AAC Devices
Assessment Components, and the Treatment Plan and Follow-
Up sections and whether the device remains the speech -
language pathologist’s recommendation for beneficiary’s use.

AAC Devises Replacement or Modification

Modification or replacement of AC devices will be covered
by Medicaid subject to the following limitations:

• All modification or replacement requests will require
prior approval;

• Prior approval request for replacement AAC devices
may be submitted for identical or different devices;

•  Requests for prior approval for replacement of
identical AAC devices must explain how replacement is more
cost-effective than repair of current device(s).  Data must be
provided about age, repair history (frequency, duration and
cost), and repair projections (estimated durability of repairs).

• Requests for prior approval for modification or
replacement of AAC devices with different devices due to

changed circumstances may be submitted at any time and must
include the following additional information:

1. a significant change has occurred in the
beneficiary’s expressive communication impairments and/or
receptive communication limitations.  Modification or
replacement requests due to changed individual circumstance
must be supported y a new assessment of communication
limitations; or

2. although there has been no significant change
in the beneficiary’s communication limitations, there has been
a significant change in the characteristics, features or abilities
of available AAC devices (i.e., a technological change) that
will overcome or permit a significant further amelioration of
the beneficiary’s communication limitations as compared to
the current AAC device.  A detailed description of all AAC
device changes and the purpose of the changes must be
provided.  In assessing such requests, Medicaid will place
particular emphasis on whether the existing device reasonably
achieves its purpose.

• requests for prior approval for replacement of AAC
devices due to loss or damage (either for identical devices or
different devices) must include additional information
including a complete explanation of the cause of the loss or
damage, and a plan to prevent the recurrence of the loss or
damage.

B. ASSESSMENT, DATA REPORTING AND
PROCEDURAL REQUIREMENTS

Role Of The Speech-Language Pathologist

An assessment of individual functioning and communication
limitations that preclude or interfere with meaningful
participation in current and projected daily activities is
required for Medicaid funding for AAC devices and AAC
services. The assessment must provide the information detailed
in the Required Assessment & Data Reporting section of this
chapter.  It must be completed by a speech-language
pathologist (with input from other health professionals, e.g.,
occupational therapists and rehabilitation engineers).

Prior Approval

All requests for AAC device(s):
• require prior approval;

•  require physician endorsement consistent with the
definition of AAC as discussed in section A, Scope of
Coverage;

• must include a sign-off by the beneficiary, guardian
or similar representative as well as the vendor; and

•  repairs that are greater than $300.00, and requests
for modification or replacement of AAC devices require prior
approval.
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Required Assessment & Data Reporting

The following data are required to be submitted in support of
a prior approval request for AAC devices:

Speech-Language Pathologist Identifying Information
• Description of the speech-language pathologist’s

qualifications that satisfy the requirements in this policy.
•  Description of the speech-language pathologist’s

AAC services training and experience (and the AAC services
experience of all other professionals, as appropriate) involved
in the assessments of the beneficiary’s functioning and
communication limitations.
Beneficiary Information
1) Identifying Information:

• Name

• Medical Assistance ID number

• Date of the Assessment

• Medical diagnosis (primary, secondary, tertiary)

• Significant medical history
2) Sensory Status:

• Vision

•  Hearing

• Description of how vision, hearing, tactile and/or
receptive communication impairments or disabilities affect
expressive communication
3) Postural, Mobility & Motor Status:

• Motor status

•  Optimal positioning

• Integration of mobility with AAC devices

• Beneficiary’s access methods (and options) for AAC
devices
4) Current Speech, Language & Expressive Communication
Status

• Identification and description of the beneficiary’s
expressive or receptive (language comprehension)
communication impairment diagnosis

• Speech skills and prognosis

• Language skills and prognosis

• Communication behaviors and interaction skills (i.e.,
styples and patterns)

• Indication of past treatment, if any

• Description of current communication strategies,
including use of an AAC device, if any
5) Communication Needs Inventory

• Description of beneficiary’s current and projected
(e.g., within 2 years) communication needs

• Communication partners and tasks, including

partners’ communication abilities limitations, if any
• Communication environments and constraints which

affect AAC device selection and/or features (e.g., verbal and/
or visual output and/or feedback; distance communication
needs)
6) Summary of Communication Limitations

• Description of the communication limitations that
preclude or interfere with meaningful participation in current
and projected daily activities (i.e., why the beneficiary’s
current communication skills and behaviors prevent
meaningful participation in the beneficiary’s current and
projected daily activities)
7) AAC Devices Assessment Components

• Vocabulary requirements

• Representational system(s)

• Display organization and features

• Rate enhancement techniques

• Message characteristics, speech synthesis, printed
output, display characteristics, feedback, auditory and visual
output

• Access techniques and strategies

• Portability and durability concerns, if any
8) Identification of AAC Devices Considered for
Beneficiary

• Identification of the significant characteristics and
features of the AAC devices considered for the beneficiary

• Identification of the cost of the AAC devices
considered for the beneficiary (including all required
components, accessories, peripherals, and supplies, as
appropriate)
9) AAC Device Recommendation

• Identification of the requested AAC devices
including all required components, accessories, peripheral
devices, supplies, and the device vendor

• Identification of the beneficiary’s and
communication partner’s AAC devices preference, if any

• Justification stating why the recommended AAC
device (including description of the significant characteristics
and features) is better able to overcome or ameliorate the
communication limitations that preclude or interfere with the
beneficiary’s meaningful participation in current and projected
daily activities, as compared to the other AAC devices
considered

• Justification stating why the recommended AAC
device (including description of the significant characteristics
and features) is the least costly, equally effective alternative
form of treatment to overcome or ameliorate the
communication limitations that preclude or interfere with the
beneficiary’s meaningful participation in current and projected
daily activities
10) Treatment Plan & Follow Up
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• Description of short term communication goals

• Description of long term communication goals

• Assessment criteria to measure beneficiary’s
progress toward achieving short and long term communication
goals

• Description of amount, duration and scope of the
AAC services required for the beneficiary to achieve short
and long term communication goals

•  Schedule of data collection

• Identification and experience of AAC services
provider responsible for training (these services providers may
include, e.g.: occupational therapists, rehabilitation engineers,
the beneficiary’s parents, teachers and other services
providers)

C. REVIEW CRITERIA

Medicaid funding for AAC devices will be approved when
the devices are established to be medically necessary and the
least costly, equally effective, alternative form of treatment
to overcome or ameliorate the communication limitations that
preclude or interfere with the beneficiary’s meaningful
participation in current and projected daily activities.

Medical Necessity

The medical need for AAC devices and services must be
established by a speech-language pathologist (and other health
professionals, as appropriate) according to the evaluation and
data reporting criteria stated in section B, Required Assessment
and Data Reporting, and be supported by a physician’s
completion of a DSS-approved form or letter of medical
necessity.

In general, medical necessity is established when the requested
device or service meets the criteria of the DSS-approved
medical necessity standard.  See Appendix H in the General
Policy for the DSS-approved medical necessity standard.

Subject to these criteria, assessment of “medical necessity”
for AAC devices and services will be guided by the following
specific standards:

Medical Need Criteria for AAC Devices

Medical need will be established for beneficiaries:
• who have a diagnosis of a significant expressive or

receptive (language comprehension) communication
impairment or disability;

• whose impairment or disability either temporarily
or permanently causes communication limitations that
preclude or interfere with the beneficiary’s meaningful

participation in current and projected daily activities;
• who have had a speech-language pathologist (and

other health professionals, as appropriate) who:
1) perform an assessment and submit a report

pursuant to the criteria set forth in section B, Required
Assessment and Data Reporting;

2) recommend speech-language pathology
treatment in the form of AAC devices and AAC services; and

3) prepare a speech-language pathology treatment
plan that describes the specific components of the AAC
devices and the required amount, duration and scope of the
AAC services that will overcome or ameliorate
communication limitations that preclude or interfere with the
beneficiary’s meaningful participation in current and projected
daily activities.

• whose requested AAC devices and AAC services
constitute the least costly, equally effective form of treatment
that will overcome or ameliorate communication limitations
that preclude or interfere with the beneficiary’s meaningful
participation in current and projected daily activities.

General Principles Governing Medical Need Determination
• The cause of the beneficiary’s impairment or

disability (e.g., congenital, developmental, or acquired) or the
beneficiary’s age at the onset of the impairment or disability
may be relevant considerations I the determination of medical
need.

• Whether a beneficiary’s daily activities,
communication partners and communication environments
are related to or intersect with other benefits and/or services
programs (e.g., school, early intervention services, adult
services programs, employment) does not preclude a
determination that the beneficiary has a medical need for AAC
devices and AAC services.

• No cognitive, language, literacy, prior treatment, or
other similar pre-requisites must be satisfied by a beneficiary
in advance of a request for AAC devices and AAC services.

• The unavailability of an AAC devices, component
or accessory for rental will not serve as the basis for denying
a prior approval request for that device, component or
accessory.  The prior approval request must document the
manner in which a comparable device may be substituted for
assessment purposes in the event that a trial period is required.

• The unavailability of a warranty for an AAC device
or other component or accessory will not serve as the basis
for denying a prior approval request for that device, component
or accessory, although Medicaid encourages providers to
consider the availability of a reasonable warranty as a factor
within the device selection process.

Additional Information Needed - Request for Peer Review
• When the medical need for an AAC device cannot
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be established pursuant to the criteria stated in the Medical
Need Criteria for AAC Devices in this section, based on the
information submitted in support of a prior approval request,
Medicaid will determine and take the following steps:

1) if information required by the Medical Need
Criteria for AAC Devices in this section is not included in the
prior approval request, then Medicaid will make contact
directly with the speech-language pathologist who conducted
the assessment for the beneficiary, identify the specific
additional information that is needed, and request that the
additional information be submitted; and/or

2) if an interpretation is required of information in
the prior approval request, then Medicaid will seek the advice
of speech-language pathologist(s) with extensive AAC
experience recommend to Medicaid by the American Speech-
Language & Hearing Association (ASHA), the United States
Society for Augmentative & Alternative Communication
(USSAAC) and/or RESNA, who will provide the required
information

• Requested additional information and/or
interpretations must be produced as soon as practicable but in
no event more than 21 working days from the date of the
request.

• Requests for additional information and/or requests
for interpretations of information submitted will be made prior
to issuance of any denial of a prior approval request.

Time Limits and Notice for Decision Making
• Review of prior approval request required by the

Medical Need Criteria for AAC Devices in this section will
be completed within a reasonable amount of time (in most
cases no longer than 60 days).  If review has not been
completed within 45 days, the beneficiary, guardian, or similar
representative will be notified of the status of the pending
application.

• Requests for additional information and/or request
for interpretations will be made as soon as the need is
identified.

•  Decisions on prior approval requests that are not
timely issued may entitle the beneficiary to pursue an appeal.

• Written notice of decisions to deny prior approval
or to approve a funding request with or without modifications
will be provided directly to the beneficiary and vendor.
Written notice will be provided to other persons, as
appropriate.

D. GLOSSARY

Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC)
AAC approaches support, enhance, or augment the
communication of individuals who are not independent
communicators in all situations.  An individual’s AAC system

should not be a single technique, device, or strategy, but rather
an array of techniques, devices and strategies from which the
individual chooses in order to effectively address the demands
of a given communication opportunity.

AAC Devices
Electronic or non-electronic aids, devices or systems that assist
a beneficiary to overcome or ameliorate (to the maximum
degree possible) the communication limitations that preclude
or interfere with meaningful participation in current and
projected daily activities.  Examples of AAC devices include:
communication boards or books, electrolarynxes, speech
amplifiers, and electronic devices that produce speech and/or
written output.  AAC devices include devices that are
constructed for use as communication devices as well as
systems that may include a computer, when an important use
of the computer will be as the beneficiary’s communication
device.  AAC devices also include related components and
accessories, including software program, symbol sets,
overlays, mounting devices, switches, cables and connectors,
auditory, visual., and tactile output devices, and necessary
supplies, such as rechargeable batteries.

AAC Services
Treatment to assist beneficiaries in meeting the full range of
their communication needs.  The scope of AAC services
includes diagnostic, screening, preventive, and corrective
services provided by or under the direction of a speech-
language pathologist.  Specific activities include evaluation
for, recommendation of, design, sup-up, customization,
programming, and training related to the use of AAC devices.

Beneficiary’s Preferences
The means and mode of message transmission a beneficiary
prefers to use in a given communication interaction.

Current and Projected Daily Activities
The activities of daily living in which the individual now
participates and in which it is anticipated the individual will
participate when the individual’s communication limitations
have been overcome or ameliorated via the application of AAC
approaches.

Expressive Communication Limitations
Difficulties in language production via any expressive
communication modality (speech, writing, sign language,
gesture, facial expression, graphic symbol selection).

Meaningful Participation
Effective and efficient communication of messages, taking
into account the beneficiary’s preferences regarding means
and mode of transmission.

Receptive Communication Limitations
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Difficulties in language understanding via any communication
modality (speech, writing, sign language, gesture, facial
expression, graphic symbol selection).

EPSDT Provider Specific Policy Manual

II. QUALIFIED PROVIDERS

Providers of EPSDT services could include the State’s health
department, pediatricians, family practitioners and other
private practicing physicians, therapy service providers,
providers of specialized supplies and equipment, health
maintenance organizations, prepaid health plans, community/
migrant health centers, private dentists, and other agencies
that are routinely involved with a child’s physical and mental
health needs.

IV. CONTENTS/DESCRIPTION OF SERVICES

EPSDT Special Needs Dental Program include dental services
provided by private dentists who are enrolled with the DMAP
and are paid directly for dental services when provided to
“special needs” children who meet the following eligibility
criteria:

Special Needs Eligibility Criteria

Medicaid eligible children who have been diagnosed by their
primary care provider with one or more of the following
medical conditions may be treated by a dentist who is enrolled
with the DMAP without prior approval by the DPH Dental
Clinic:

• Autism

• Bleeding Disorders

• Craniofacial Anomalies

• Oral/Maxillofacial Trauma (requiring immediate
service)

•  Serious Emotional/Behavioral Disorders*

• Severe Chronic Illness (respiratory, cardiac, renal,
gastrointestinal)

• Severe Orthopedic Disorders/Wheelchair-bound

• Spinal Bifida

• Baby Bottle Syndrome

• Cancer

• HIV Infection

• Mental Retardation

• Seizure Disorders

*When the diagnosed condition requires general anesthesia
sedation, restraints, or other similar measures which preclude
treatment in a DPH clinic setting.

All other Medicaid eligible children must first be evaluated
by the DPH Dental Clinic before referral and treatment by a
private dentist can be approved (except for orthodontics; see
“Orthodontics” entry).  This means that otherwise healthy
children who need services which cannot be provided by DPH
must still be referred to a private dentist by DPH.

Covered Services

For eligible children meeting the criteria, or for otherwise
healthy children who need services which cannot be provided
in the DPH Dental Clinic (and for whom a referral has been
made by DPH), the DMAP will cover medically necessary
dental services for the relief of pain and infections, restoration
of teeth, and maintenance of dental health.  Covered services
include:

• Examinations

• Prophylactics

• Fluoride treatments

• Permanent and temporary fillings

• Extractions

• Pulpotomies

• Endodontics

• In-office sedation

• Stainless steel crowns

• Oral surgery

• Periodontics

• Prosthodontics

• Emergency services

• Adjunctive services

Orthodontics

Orthodontics is a covered services under the DMAPs EPSDT
Program for children under age twenty-one (21) years who
have been diagnosed with a “handicapping” or “crippling”
malocclusion.  However, all orthodontic care must still be
referred by and approved by the DPH dental clinic.  Payment
of orthodontic services will continue to be managed by the
DPH through its Special Dental Program.

Provider Enrollment

To be eligible for payment by the DMAP under the Special
Needs Dental Program, dental providers must enroll and
contract with the State of Delaware Department of Health
and Social Services.

Billing and Reimbursement
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All dental services must be billed on a HCFA-1500 claim
form and must be submitted directly to EDS, the Medicaid
fiscal agent.  Claims must be submitted within one year of the
date of service to be considered for payment.

See Appendix A for the local HCPCS procedure code used
by the DMAP for billing Special Needs Dental service.

When billing for Special Needs Dental service the place of
service “3” (doctor’s office) and the type of service “9” (other
medical service) must be entered in the appropriate block on
the claim form.

All services provided during a dental visit should be totaled
and charged on one claim line corresponding to the dental
procedure code given in Appendix A.  Do not itemize each
individual charge for a client’s service.  Dental services will
be reimbursed at a negotiated rate.

Third Party Liability

Medicaid is the payer of last resort. When a Medicaid client
carries dental insurance coverage, that plan must be billed
before Medicaid.  A copy of the insurance voucher,
explanation of benefits, or denial statement must be attached
to the dental claim and any third party payment must be
indicated in the appropriate field on the claim.

EPSDT Dental Program

Dental services are covered by the DMAP for children under
age 21 through the EPSDT program.  While dental services
continue to be provided through the DPH dental clinics, private
dentists may enroll with the DMAP to help create broader
access to dental care.

Under this dental policy there are minimal program
requirements.  An enrolled dental provider may treat any
Medicaid eligible child and will be paid directly by the DMAP.
The EPSDT dental program does not require prior
authorization for services and does not require prior approval
by DPH.

This EPSDT Dental Program incorporates the previous
“Special Needs Dental Program” and provides general
guidelines for the treatment of all Medicaid eligible children
whether or not they have special needs.  For those Medicaid
clients who are “special needs” children, these guidelines
dictate the requirements for the provision of dental care.

Eligibility Criteria

Children under age 21 who are currently covered by the
DMAP (Medicaid), are eligible to receive medically necessary

dental services.  Eligible children need not have been evaluated
and referred by the DPH Dental Clinics to be treated by dental
providers enrolled in the DMAP.  Clients aged 21 or older are
not eligible for dental services under Medicaid; billings for
clients 21 and older will be denied as non-covered services.

Covered Services

Medicaid covers medically necessary dental services in
appropriate care settings for the relief of pain and infections,
restoration of teeth, and maintenance of dental health.  Covered
services include:

Examinations Prosthodontics
Endodontics Sealants
Prophylactics In-office Sedation
Oral Surgery Permanent and temporary fillings
Radiographs Periodontics
Extractions Fluoride Treatments
Pulpotomies Adjunctive Services (treatment of
dental pain, anesthesia, drug
management, etc.)

Orthodontics

Orthodontics is a covered service under Medicaid’s EPSDT
Dental Program for children under age 21 who have been
diagnosed with a “handicapping” or “crippling” malocclusion.
However, all orthodontic care must still be referred by and
prior approved by the DPH dental clinics.  Payment of
orthodontic services will continue to be managed by the DPH
through its Special Dental Program.

Billing and Reimbursement

A locally assigned HCPCS procedure code is required for
billing dental services provided to Medicaid eligible children.
The locally assigned HCPCS procedure code, definition, unit
of service definition, service limitations, prior authorization
requirement, rate, place and type of service codes, and
diagnosis codes are found in Appendix A.

When billing for EPSDT dental services the type of service
“9” (Other Medical Service) and the appropriate place of
service (as listed below) must be entered in the proper block
on the claim form.

Place of Service:

1 - Inpatient HospitalC - Residential Treatment Center
2 - Outpatient Hospital D - Specialized Treatment Facility
3 - Doctor’s Office G - Emergency Room
4 - Patient’s Home J - Clinic
7 - Nursing Home
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When billing for EPSDT dental services the diagnosis code
“521” (Disorder of Tooth Development and Eruption) must
be entered in the proper block on the claim form.

All services provided during a dental visit should be totaled
and charged on one claim line corresponding to the dental
HCPCS procedure code from Appendix A.  One unit of service
covers all charges incurred during the visit.  Do not itemize
each individual charge for a client’s service on the claim form.
However, you should maintain office records or files showing
each individual service and charge for review purposes.

Dental services will be reimbursed at a pre-determined rate
set by the State.

Third Party Liability

Medicaid is the payer of last resort.  When a Medicaid client
carries dental insurance coverage, that plan must be billed
before Medicaid.  A copy of the insurance voucher,
explanation of benefits, or denial statement must be attached
to the dental claim, and any third party payment must be
indicated in the appropriate field on the claim.  Medicaid will
coordinate benefits and pay any balance due up to its fee.

The managed care organizations contracted by the State to
provide medical care to Medicaid clients do not provide dental
coverage under the Diamond State Health Plan.

Medicaid Card

The provider should check the recipient’s Medicaid card for
current eligibility before every service (cards are generally
good for the whole month).  Dental care is not a covered
benefit for all Medicaid clients even if they have a Medicaid
card. Clients aged 21 and older are not covered.

Freedom of Choice of Provider

Clients are permitted free choice of providers.  If a dental
provider decides not to bill Medicaid for a service, the provider
must advise the client prior to the delivery of service that the
client will be responsible for the bill.  The client then retains
the right to decide to be treated and to pay for the service
personally or to seek another dental provider who will accept
the Medicaid payment.

Medicaid Payment

Medicaid payment is considered payment in full.  Therefore,
dental providers may not charge clients for balances not
covered by Medicaid, and may not charge clients for services
and reimburse them once Medicaid pays the claim.  However,

providers may bill a client when Medicaid denies a claim
because the client is not eligible on the date of service, when
the service is a non-covered benefit in the Medicaid Program
(example. age 21 or older, cosmetic care, etc.), or when missed
appointments are usually charged to patients and the Medicaid
client was informed prior to the appointment that missed
appointments are considered “not covered” by Medicaid.

Confidentiality

Client information may only be used for purposes directly
related to the administration of the Medicaid Program.  Client
information may not be made public and lists of Medicaid
clients may not be made and distributed to others.  See the
Medicaid Provider Contract for further details.

Specialized Supplies and Equipment  Further information on
coverage of equipment for children under age 21 is available
in the EPSDT and  Augmentative and Alternative
Communication Devices and Services sections of the Durable
Medical Equipment Provider Manual.

Practitioner Provider Specific Policy Manual

IX. SPECIFIC CRITERIA FOR ORAL SURGEONS

Dental services, including the extraction of teeth, are restricted
to recipients under twenty-one [21] (through age 20) years of
age and are generally must be provided by the Division of
Public Health (DPH Dental Clinics  Referrals to private
dentists are made by DPH when the scope of work required
cannot be provided by the clinic.  Dental services which cannot
be provided by DPH may only be rendered by a private dentist/
oral surgeon following an evaluation and referral by DPH.

Dental services are also provided by private dentist through
the EPSDT Dental Program.  Eligible children do not need to
be evaluated or referred by the DPH dental clinic to be treated
by dental providers enrolled with the DMAP in the EPSDT
Dental Program.

Services that are authorized by DPH must be billed directly
to DPH not the DMAP.

Dental procedures for recipients age 21 and over are not
covered in any setting.

********End of Manual Revisions********
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311, 2304(16) & 2312
(18 Del.C. 311, 2304(16), 2312)

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H.
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING
will be held on Thursday, May 28, 1998 at 10:00 a.m. in the
Main Conference Room of the Delaware Department of
Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware.  This
Hearing is to consider implementation of Regulation No. 80
(Proposed) entitled “STANDARDS FOR PROMPT, FAIR
AND EQUITABLE SETTLEMENT OF CLAIMS FOR
HEALTH CARE SERVICES”.

The purpose of the Regulation is to establish standards
that will ensure that health insurers pay claims to policyholders
and providers in a timely manner.

The Hearing will be conducted in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter
101.  Comments are being solicited by any interested party.
Comments may be in writing or may be presented orally at
the Hearing.  Written comments must be received by the
Department of Insurance no later than Friday, May 22, 1998,
and should be addressed to Michael W. Teichman, Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
DE 19904.  Those wishing to testify or give an oral statement
must notify Michael W. Teichman at (302)739-4251, Ext. 171
no later than Friday, May 22, 1998.

REGULATION NUMBER  80 (PROPOSED)
STANDARDS FOR PROMPT, FAIR AND EQUITABLE

SETTLEMENT OF CLAIMS FOR HEALTH CARE
SERVICES

Sections

1. Authority
2. Definitions
3. Scope
4. Purpose
5. Prompt payment
6. General business practice
7. Penalty
8. Effective date

Section  1. Authority

This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner pursuant
to 18 Del. C. §§ 311, 2304(16), and 2312.  It is promulgated
in accordance with 29 Del. C. Chapter 101.

Section  2. Definitions

For the purpose of this regulation, the following
definitions shall apply:

a. Health Insurer - health insurance companies, health
maintenance organizations, health service corporations and
any other entity providing a plan of health insurance or benefits
subject to state insurance regulation;

b. Health Care Provider - any entity or individual
licensed, certified or otherwise permitted by law to provide
health care in the ordinary course of business, practice or
profession;

c. Policyholder - a person covered under such policy
or a representative designated by such person and entitled to
make claims on his or her behalf.

Section  3. Scope

This regulation shall apply to all health insurers as defined
in Section 2 above, and shall apply to all contracts for
insurance issued by these entities.

Section  4. Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to ensure that health
insurers pay claims to policyholders and health care providers
in a timely manner.  This regulation will establish standards
for both determining promptness in settling claims and
determining the existence of a general business practice for
failing to promptly settle such claims under 18 Del. C.  §
2304(16).

Section  5. Prompt payment of claims

a. A health insurer shall pay a claim to a policyholder
or covered person, or make payment to a health care provider
within 45 days of receipt of a claim or bill for services.

b. Paragraph “a.” of this section shall not apply in the
following cases:

(1) Where the obligation to pay a claim is not
reasonably clear.

(2) There exists a reasonable basis supported by
specific information, available for review by the Department,
that such claim was submitted fraudulently.

c. In those cases covered by subparagraph b(1) above,
a carrier shall pay any undisputed portion of the claim in
accordance with paragraph “a.” of this section and shall notify
the policyholder, covered person or health care provider in
writing within thirty days of the receipt of the claim:

(1) that such carrier is not obligated to pay the claim
or make the medical payment, stating the specific reasons

http://www.state.de.us/govern/elecoffl/inscom.htm
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why it is not liable; or

(2) to request all additional information needed to
determine liability to pay the claim or make the healthcare
payment.

Upon receipt of the information provided in subparagraph
c(2) above, or of an appeal of a claim or bill for health care
services denied pursuant to subparagraph c(1), a health insurer
shall comply with paragraph “a.” of this section.

Section 6. General business practice

a. Within a 36 month period, three instances of a health
insurer’s failure to pay a claim or bill for services promptly,
as defined in section 5 above, shall give rise to a rebuttable
presumption that the insurer is in violation of 18 Del. C. §
2304(16)(f).

b. The 36 month period established in paragraph “a.”
above shall be measured based upon the date the complaints
are received at the Department.  Each claim or bill, or portion
of a claim or bill, pertaining to a single medical treatment or
procedure provided to an individual policyholder that is
processed in violation of this regulation shall constitute an
“instance” as described in paragraph “a.” above.

Section  7. Penalties

In addition to the imposition of penalties in accordance
with 18 Del. C. § 2312(b), any health insurer that fails to
adhere to the standards contained in this regulation shall be
required to pay to the health care provider or claimant, in full
settlement of the claim or bill for health care services, the
amount of the claim or bill plus interest at the maximum rate
allowable to lenders under 6 Del. C. 2301(a).  This interest
shall be computed from the date the claim or bill for services
first became due.

Section  8. Causes of Action and Defenses

This regulation shall not create a cause of action for any
person or entity, other than the Delaware Insurance
Commissioner, against a health insurer or its representative
based upon a violation of 18 Del. C. § 2304(16).  In the same
manner, nothing in this regulation shall establish a defense
for any party to any cause of action based upon a violation of
18 Del. C. § 2304(16).

Section  9. Effective date

This regulation shall become effective 120 days from the
date signed by the Commissioner.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF AIR & W ASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALIT Y MANAGEMENT  SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 6010 (7 Del.C. 6010)

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Motor Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance -Regulation

26, 31, and 33

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

Regulation 26 is proposed to be changed by elimination
of those requirements pertaining only to New Castle and Kent
Counties, with the resulting regulation after changes pertaining
only to Sussex County. Additions to Regulation 26 are
underlined and deletions are in strikeout.  For completeness,
new Regulation No.  31 (proposed as part of this package)
will entirely replace the New Castle and Kent County
requirements of current Regulations No.26 and No.33, with
the latter being eliminated completely. The proposed
Regulation 31 adds various administrative and operational
requirements contained in the federal regulation.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:  N/A

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

7 Del. C., Section 6010
Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:  None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:

Public Hearing: May 21,1998, 6 PM,  Richardson and Robbins
Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover Delaware,

7. PREPARED BY:
Philip Wheeler 739-4791
April 9, 1998

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/air_wste.htm
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REGULATION NO. 31

LOW ENHANCED INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE
PROGRAM

Proposed SIP Revision

DRAFT         DRAFT

This document contains predecisional material
Do NOT Cite or Quote

Prepared by the
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control
Division of Air and Waste Management

Air Quality Management Section

April 15, 1998
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2 4 Low enhanced I/M performance standard.
3 5 Network type and program evaluation.
4 7 Adequate tools and resources.
5 7 Test frequency and convenience.
6 8 Vehicle coverage.
7 10 Test procedures and standards.
8 13 Test equipment.
9 14 Quality control.
10 14 Waivers and compliance via diagnostic inspection.
11 16 Motorist compliance enforcement.
12 18 Motorist compliance enforcement program

oversight.
13 18 Quality assurance.
14 18 Enforcement against operators and motor vehicle

technicians.
15 19 Data collection.
16 19 Data analysis and reporting.
17 19 Motor vehicle technician training and certification
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21 21 On-road testing..
22 21 Implementation deadlines.

* PLEASE NOTE THAT  THE ABOVE PAGE NUMBERS REFER TO THE

ORIGINAL  DOCUMENT , NOT THE REGISTER.

Appendices to Regulation No. 31

Appendix 1 (d) Commitment to Extend the I/M Program
to the Attainment Date Letter from Secretary Tulou to EPA
Regional Administrator, W. Michael McCabe

Appendix 3 (a)(6) Exhaust Emission Limits According to
Model Year.
Appendix 5 (a) Sections from Delaware Criminal and Traffic
Law Manual
Appendix 6 (a) Division Of Motor Vehicles Policy on Out of
State Renewals
Appendix 7 (a) Idle Test Procedure
Appendix 7 (a) (5) Vehicle Emission Repair Report Form
Appendix 7(a) (8) Evaporative System Integrity (Pressure)
Test
Appendix 10 (a) Emission Repair Technician Certification
Process
Appendix 11(a) Systems Requirement Document –
Registration Denial
Appendix 14 (a) Enforcement against operators and motor
vehicle technicians.

* Agreement between State of Delaware Department of
Public Safety Motor Vehicle Division and Council 81 of the
American Federation of State, County and Municipal
Employees, Section 8, Disciplinary Action.

* State of Delaware Merit Rules

Note: The appendix number refers to the section number
in Regulation 31.

To adopt a new regulation, Regulation No. 31 - Low enhanced
Inspection and Maintenance Program, as follows:

Notes on the content of the regulation beginning on the
next page:

* The preparation of this document used the Federal
I/M Rule from 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S as the
framework.  All portions of that Rule are addressed
in either Regulation No. 31, which follows, or the
Plan for Implementation, a separate document.  This
procedure is consistent with the Introduction to the
Checklist for Completing the Inspection/
Maintenance SIP, dated March 1993, prepared by
the US EPA, Office of Air and Radiation.

* PFI means the Plan for Implementation document
prepared separately from the regulation describing
the process to be used to implement the regulation
and the LEIM program, i.e. program documentation
or technical support document.

* Appendices are included as part of this regulation,
however these should not be confused with the
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appendices that are part of the PFI

Other Notes:
* This regulation supersedes existing Regulation No.

26 - Inspection and Maintenance Program, for the
areas of New Castle and Kent Counties.  A separate
action is being taken concurrently to amend
Regulation 26 to apply only to Sussex County.

* Under each section title,  the related section from
the Federal I/M Rule, 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S is
given in italics.

Low enhanced Inspection and Maintenance Program
Regulation No. 31

Section 1 - Applicability. [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.350]

(a) This program shall be known as the “Low enhanced
Inspection and Maintenance Program” or “LEIM Program”,
and shall be identified as such in the balance of this regulation.

(b) This regulation shall apply to New Castle and Kent
Counties.

(c) This regulation shall apply to all vehicles registered in
the following postal ZIP codes:

19701 19702  19703  19706 19707 19708 19709 19710  19711
19712  19713  19714 19715  19716  19717  19718  19720
19730 19731 19732  19733  19734 19735 19936 19703 19938
19800  19801  19802  19803 19804 1980519806 19807 19808
19809  19810  19850  19890  19894  19896  19897  19898
19899  19901  19902 19903  19904  19934  19936 19938
19942  19943  19946  19952  19953 19954  19955 19960
19961  19962   19963* 19964   19977  19979  19980

* Note: If vehicles registered in Sussex County and with
this ZIP code, this  regulation is not  applicable.

(d) The legal authority for implementation of the LEIM
Program is contained in 7 Del.C. Chapter 60, §6010(a).
Appendix 1 (d) contains the letter from the State of Delaware,
Secretary of the Department to EPA Regional Administrator,
W. Michael McCabe committing to continue the I/M program
through the enforcement of this regulation out to the attainment
year and remain in effect until the applicable area is
redesignated to attainment status and a Maintenance Plan is
approved by the EPA.  7 Del. C. Chapter 60, §6010(a) does
not have a sunset date.

(e) Requirements after attainment.
This LEIM program shall remain in effect if the area is
redesignated to attainment status, until approval of a
Maintenance Plan, under Section 175A of the Clean Air Act,

which demonstrates that the area can maintain the relevant
standard for the maintenance period (10 years) without benefit
of the emission reductions attributable to the continuation of
the LEIM program.

(f) Definitions

Alternative Fuel Vehicle: Any vehicle capable of
operating on one or more fuels, none of which are gasoline,
and which is subject to emission testing to the same stringency
as a similar gasoline fueled vehicle.

Certified Repair Technician: Automotive repair
technician certified jointly by the College (or other training
agencies or training companies approved by the Department)
and the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control and the Division of Motor Vehicles as having passed
a recognized course in emission repair. (See Appendix 10
(a))

Certified Manufacturer Repair Technician:
Automotive repair technician certified by the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control and the
Division of Motor Vehicles, as trained in doing emission
repairs on vehicles of a specific manufacturer. (See Appendix
10 (a))

College:The Delaware Technical and Community
College

Compliance Rate: The percentage of vehicles out of
the total number required to be inspected in any given year
that have completed the inspection process to the point of
receiving a final certificate of compliance or a waiver.

Director: The Director of the Division of Motor
Vehicles in the Department of Public Safety.

Division: The Division of Motor Vehicles in the
Department of Public Safety of the State of Delaware.

Department: The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control of the State of Delaware.

Emissions: Products of combustion and fuel
evaporation discharged into the atmosphere from the tailpipe,
fuel system or any emission control component of a motor
vehicle.

Emissions Inspection Area: The emissions inspection
area shall constitute the entire counties of New Castle and
Kent.

Emissions Standard(s): The maximum
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concentration of hydrocarbons (HC), carbon monoxide (CO)
or oxides of nitrogen (NOX), or any combination thereof,
allowed in the emissions from a motor vehicle as established
by the Secretary, as described in this regulation.

Failed Motor Vehicle:Any motor vehicle which does not
comply with applicable exhaust emission standards,
evaporative system function check requirements and emission
control device inspection requirements during the initial test
or any retest.

Flexible Fuel Vehicle:Any vehicle capable of operating
on more than one fuel type, one of which includes gasoline,
which must be tested to program standards for gasoline.  This
is in contrast to alternative fuel vehicles.

Going Concern: An individual or business with a
primary, full time interest in the repair of motor vehicles.

GPM: Grams per mile (grams of emissions per mile of
travel).

Manufacturer’s Gross Vehicle Weight:The vehicle
gross weight as designated by the manufacturer as the total
weight of the vehicle and its maximum allowable load.

Model Year: The year of manufacture of a vehicle as
designated by the manufacturer, or the model year designation
assigned by the Division to a vehicle constructed by other
than the original manufacturer.

Motor Vehicle: Includes every vehicle, as defined in
21 Del. Code, Section 101, which is self-propelled, except
farm tractors, off-highway vehicles, motorcycles and mopeds.

Motor Vehicle Technician: A person who has completed
an approved emissions inspection equipment training program
and is employed or under contract with the State of Delaware.

New Motor Vehicle: A motor vehicle of the current or
preceding model year that has never been previously titled or
registered in this or any other jurisdiction and whose
ownership document remains as a manufacturer’s certificate
of origin, unregistered vehicle title.

Official Inspection Station: All official Motor Vehicle
Inspection Stations located in New Castle and Kent counties,
operated by, or under the auspices of, the Division.

Operator: An employee or contractor of the State of
Delaware performing any function related to motor vehicle
inspections in the State.

Performance Standard: The complete matrix of emission

factors derived from the analysis of the model program as
defined in 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S, by using EPA’s
computerized Mobile5a emission factor model.  This matrix
of emission factors is dependent upon various speeds,
pollutants and evaluation years.

PFI:The Plan for Implementation of Regulation No. 31,
which can be also considered to be the technical support
document for that regulation.

Reasonable Cost:The actual cost of parts and labor
which is necessary to cause the failed motor vehicle to comply
with applicable emissions standards or which contributes
towards compliance.  It shall not include the cost of those
repairs determined by the Division to be necessary due to the
alteration or removal of any part of the emission control system
of the motor vehicle, or due to any damage resulting from the
use of improper fuel in the failed motor vehicle.

Registration Fraud: Any attempt by a vehicle owner
or operator to circumvent the requirements to properly and
legally register any motor vehicle in the State of Delaware.

Secretary: The Secretary of the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control.

Stringency Rate: The tailpipe emission test failure rate
expected in an I/M program among pre-1981 model year
passenger cars or pre-1984 light-duty trucks.

Vehicle Type: EPA classification of motor vehicles by
weight class which includes the terms light duty and heavy
duty vehicle.

Waiver: An exemption issued to a motor vehicle that
cannot comply with the applicable exhaust emissions standard
and cannot be repaired for a reasonable cost.

Waiver Rate:The number of vehicles receiving waivers
expressed as a percentage of vehicles failing the initial exhaust
emission test.

Section 2 -Low Enhanced I/M performance standard.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.351 ]

[ Performance evaluation and equivalent program
determination is contained in the PFI Section 2 (a)]
(a) On-road testing:

The performance standard shall include on-road
testing of at least 0.5% of the subject vehicle population, or
20,000 vehicles whichever is less, as a supplement to the
periodic inspection required in paragraph (a) of this section.
The requirements are contained in Section 21 of this
regulation.
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(b) On-board diagnostics (OBD): [RESERVED]
(c) Modeling requirements:

[ Requirements can be found in the PFI Section 2 (a)]

Section 3 - Network type and program evaluation.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.353 ]

(a) The LEIM Program shall be a test-only, centralized
system operated in New Castle andKent Counties by the
State of Delaware’s Division of Motor Vehicles.

(1) Network type:
Centralized testing.

(2) Start date:
January 1, 1995

(3) Test frequency:
Biennial testing.

(4) Model year coverage:
Idle test of all covered vehicles: Model years 1968

and newer for light duty vehicles and model years 1970 and
newer for light duty trucks.

(5) Vehicle type coverage:
Light duty vehicles, and light duty trucks, rated up

to 8,500 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR).
(6) Exhaust emission test type:

Idle test of all covered vehicles according to the
requirements found in Appendix 7 (a).

(7) Emission standards:
 (Emissions limits according to model year may be

found in Appendix 3 (a) (7))
Maximum exhaust dilution measured as no less than

6% CO plus carbon dioxide (CO
2
) on all tested vehicles (as

described in Appendix B of the EPA Rule).
(8) Emission control device inspections:

Visual inspection of the catalyst on all 1975 and later
model year vehicles with the exception of new motor vehicles
registered in Delaware.

(9) Evaporative system function checks:
Evaporative system integrity (pressure) test on 1975

and later model year vehicles with the exception of the five
most recent model years.

(10)Stringency:
A 20% emission test failure rate among pre-1981

model year vehicles.
(11)  Waiver rate:

A 3%  rate, as a percentage of failed vehicles.
(12)Compliance rate:

A 96% compliance rate.
(13)Evaluation date:

Low enhanced I/M program areas subject to the
provisions of this paragraph shall be shown to obtain the same
or lower emission levels as the model program described in
this paragraph by 2000 for ozone nonattainment areas and
2001 for CO nonattainment areas, and for severe and extreme

ozone nonattainment areas, on each applicable milestone and
attainment deadline, thereafter.  Milestones for NOX shall be
the same as for ozone..

(b) On-board diagnostics (OBD):
[Reserved]

(c) Modeling requirements:

[Modeling requirements may be found in Reg. 31, Section
2]

(d)  Program Evaluation
(1) Program evaluation shall be used in determining

actual emission reductions achieved from the LEIM program
for the purposes of satisfying the requirements of sections
182(g)(1) and 182(g)(2) of the Clean Air Act, relating to
reductions in emissions and compliance demonstration.

(2) Transient mass emission test procedure  [Reserved].

[Additional requirements can be found in the PFI, Section
3]

Section 4 - Adequate tools and resources.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.354 ]

[Requirements can be found in  the PFI, Section 4 ]

Section 5 - Test frequency and convenience.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.355 ]

(a) The LEIM Program shall be operated on a biennial
frequency, which requires an inspection of each subject
vehicle at least once every two years, regardless of any change
in vehicle status, at an official inspection station.  New vehicles
must be presented for LEIM program testing not more than
36 months after initial titling.

(b) This system of inspections and registration renewals
allows the additional benefit of coupling both enforcement
systems together.  Local, County and State police shall
continue to enforce registration requirements, which shall
require inspection in order to come into compliance.
Violations of registration provisions and the resulting penalties
are found in the Delaware Criminal and Traffic Law Manual,
Title 21, Chapter 21.  One 60 day extension shall be available
to allow testing and repair.(See Appendix 5 (a))

(c) Stations shall be open to the public at hours designed for
maximum public convenience.  These hours shall equal a
minimum of 42 hours per week.  Stations shall remain open
continuously through the designated hours, and every vehicle
presented for inspection during these hours shall receive a
test prior to the daily closing of the station.  Testing hours
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shall be Monday and Tuesday: 8:00 am to 4:30 pm,
Wednesday: 12 noon to 8 pm, Thursday and Friday 8:00 am
to 4:30 pm. These hours may be subject to change by the
State. Official inspection stations shall adhere to regular,
extended testing hours and shall test any subject vehicle
presented for a test during its test period.

[ Further requirements may be found in the PFI, Section
5]

Section 6 - Vehicle coverage.  [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S
§51.356]

(a) Subject Vehicles
The LEIM program is based on coverage of all 1968 and later
model year, gasoline powered, light duty vehicles and 1970
and later model year light duty trucks up to 8,500 pounds
GVWR. The following is the complete description of the
LEIM program adopted based on the equivalency evaluation
in the PFI, Section 3.

Vehicles registered or required to be registered within the
emission inspection area, and fleets primarily operated within
the emissions inspection area boundaries and belonging to
the covered model years and vehicle classes comprise the
subject vehicles, which are as follows: (See Appendix 6 (a)
for DMV Out of State Renewals)

(1) All vehicles titled/registered in Delaware from model
year 1968 light duty vehicles and 1970 and later model year
light duty trucks and whose vehicle type are subject to the
applicable test schedule.

(2) All subject fleet vehicles shall be inspected at an
official inspection station.

(3) Subject vehicles which are registered in the program
area but are primarily operated in another LEIM area shall be
tested, either in the area of primary operation, or in the area
of registration.  Alternate schedules may be established to
permit convenient testing of these vehicles (e.g., vehicles
belonging to students away at college should be rescheduled
for testing during a visit home).

(4) Vehicles which are operated on Federal installations
located within an emission inspection shall be tested,
regardless of whether the vehicles are registered in the
emission inspection jurisdiction.  This requirement applies to
all employee-owned or leased vehicles (including vehicles
owned, leased, or operated by civilian and military personnel
on Federal installations) as well as agency-owned or operated
vehicles, except tactical military vehicles, operated on the
installation.  This requirement shall not apply to visiting
agency, employee, or military personnel vehicles as long as
such visits do not exceed 60 calendar days per year.  In areas
without test fees collected in the lane, arrangements shall be
made by the installation with the LEIM program for

reimbursement of the costs of tests provided for agency
vehicles, at the discretion of the Director.  The installation
manager shall provide documentation of proof of compliance
to the Director.  The documentation shall include a list of
subject vehicles and shall be updated periodically, as
determined by the Director, but no less frequently than each
inspection cycle.  The installation shall use one of the
following methods to establish proof of compliance:

(i) Presentation of a valid certificate of compliance
from the LEIM program, from any other LEIM program at
least as stringent as the LEIM program described herein, or
from any program deemed acceptable by the Director.

(ii) Presentation of proof of vehicle registration
within the geographic area covered by the LEIM program,
except for any Inspection and Maintenance program whose
enforcement is not through registration denial.

(iii) Another method approved by the Director.
(5) Vehicles powered solely by a “clean fuel” such as

compressed natural gas, propane, alcohol and similar non-
gasoline fuels shall be required to report for inspection to the
same emission levels as gasoline powered cars until standards
for clean fuel vehicles become available and are adopted by
the State.

(6) Vehicles able to be powered by more than one fuel,
such as compressed natural gas and/or gasoline, must be tested
and pass emissions standards for all fuels when such standards
have become adopted by the Department..

(b) Exemptions
The following motor vehicles are exempt from the provisions
of this regulation:

(1) Vehicles manufactured and registered as Kit Cars
(2) Tactical military vehicles used exclusively for

military field operations.
(3) All motor vehicles with a manufacturer’s gross

vehicle weight over 8,500  pounds.
(4) All motorcycles and mopeds
(5) All vehicles powered solely by electricity generated

from solar cells and/or stored in batteries.
(6) Non-road sources, or vehicles not operated on public

roads
(7) Vehicles powered solely by Diesel fuel.

(c) Any exemption from inspection requirements issued to a
vehicle under this Section shall not have an expiration date
and shall expire only upon a change in the vehicle status for
which the exemption was initially granted.

(d) Fleet owners are required to have all non-exempted
vehicles under their control inspected at an official inspection
station during regular station hours.

(e) Vehicles shall be pre-inspected prior to the emission
inspection, and shall be prohibited from testing should any
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unsafe conditions be found.  These unsafe conditions include,
but are not limited to significant exhaust leaks, and significant
fluid leaks.  The Division and the Department shall not be
responsible for major vehicle component failures during the
test, of parts which were deficient or excessively worn prior
to the start of the test.

Section 7 -Test procedures and standards.
[40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.357 ]

(a) Test procedure requirements. (The test procedure use to
perform this test shall conform to the requirements shown in
Appendix 7 (a)).

(1) Initial tests (i.e., those occurring for the first time in
a test cycle) shall be performed without repair or adjustment
at the inspection facility, prior to the test, except as provided
in paragraph (a)(10)(i) of this section.

(2) An official test, once initiated, shall be performed in
its entirety regardless of intermediate outcomes except in the
case of invalid test condition or unsafe conditions.

(3) Tests involving measurement shall be performed
with equipment that has been calibrated according to the
quality control procedures contained in the PFI Appendix 9
(a) (1).

(4) Vehicles shall be rejected from testing, as covered
in this section, if the exhaust system is missing or leaking, or
if the vehicle is in an unsafe condition for testing.

(5) After an initial failure of any portion of any emission
test in the LEIM program, all vehicles shall be retested without
repairs being  performed.  This retest shall be indicated on the
records as the second chance test. After failure of the second
chance test, prior to any subsequent retests, proof of
appropriate repairs must be submitted indicating the type of
repairs and parts installed (if any).  This shall be done by
completing the “Vehicle Emissions Repair Report Form”
(Appendix 7 (a) (5) which will be distributed to anyone failing
the emissions test.)

(6) Idle testing using BAR 90 emission analyzers
(analyzers that have been certified by the California Bureau
of Automotive Repair) shall be performed on all 1968 through
current (minus three years) model year vehicles in New Castle
and Kent Counties.

(7) Emission control device inspection.
Visual emission control device checks shall be performed
through direct observation or through indirect observation
using a mirror.  These inspections shall include a determination
as to whether each subject device is present.

(8) Evaporative System Integrity Test. Vehicles shall fail
the evaporative system integrity test(s) if the system(s) cannot
maintain the equivalent pressure of eight inches of water using
USEPA approved fast pass methodology.  Additionally,
vehicles shall fail evaporative system integrity testing if the
canister is missing or obviously disconnected, the hoses are
crimped off, or the fuel cap is missing. Evaporative system

integrity test procedure  is found in See Appendix 7(a) (8) .
(9) On-board diagnostic checks.
[Reserved]

(b) Test standards
(1) Emissions standards.
HC, CO, CO+CO

2
 (or CO

2
 alone), emission standards

shall be applicable to all vehicles subject to the LEIM program
and repairs shall be required for failure of any standard
regardless of the attainment status of the area.

(i) Steady-state short tests.
Appropriate model program standards shall be used

in idle testing of vehicles from model years 1968 light duty
vehicles and model years 1970 light duty trucks and newer.

(2) Visual equipment inspection standards performed by
the Motor Vehicle Technician.

(i) Vehicles shall fail visual inspections of subject
emission control devices if such devices are part of the original
certified configuration and are found to be missing, modified,
disconnected, or improperly connected.

(3) On-board diagnostics test standards.
[Reserved].

(c) Applicability.
In general, section 203(a)(3)(A) of the Clean Air Act prohibits
altering a vehicle’s configuration such that it changes from a
certified to a non-certified configuration.  In the inspection
process, vehicles that have been altered from their original
certified configuration are to be tested by the Motor Vehicle
Technician in the same manner as other subject vehicles.

(1) Vehicles with engines of a model year older than
the chassis model year shall be required to pass the standards
commensurate with the chassis model year.

(2) Vehicles that have been switched from an engine of
one fuel type to another fuel type that is subject to the LEIM
program (e.g., from a diesel engine to a gasoline engine) shall
be subject to the test procedures and standards for the current
fuel type, and to the requirements of paragraph (d)(1) of this
section.

(3) Vehicles that are switched to a fuel type for which
there is no certified configuration shall be tested according to
the most stringent emission standards established for that
vehicle type and model year.  Emission control device
requirements may be waived if the Division determines that
the alternatively fueled vehicle configuration would meet the
new vehicle standards for that model year without such
devices.

(4) Vehicles converted to run on alternate fuels,
frequently called a dual-fuel vehicle, shall be tested and
required to pass the most stringent standard for each fuel type.

(5) Mixing vehicle classes (e.g., light-duty with heavy-
duty) and certification types (e.g., California with Federal)
within a single vehicle configuration shall be considered
tampering.
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Section 8 - Test equipment.   [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S
§51.358 ]
Computerized test systems are required for performing any
measurement on subject vehicles.

(a) Performance features of computerized test systems.
[ Requirements may be found in  the PFI, Section 8 ]

Section 9 - Quality control.   [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S
§51.359]

Quality control measures are designed to insure that emission
measurement equipment is calibrated and maintained properly,
and that inspection, calibration records, and control charts
are accurately created, recorded and maintained.

(a) General requirements.
[ Requirements can be found in the PFI Section 9 (a)]

(b) [ Requirements can be found in the PFI Section 9 (b)]

(c) Document security.
[ Requirements may be found in the PFI, Section 9 (c)]

Section 10 - Waivers and compliance via diagnostic
inspection.

[40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.360 ]

(a) Waiver issuance criteria.
(1) Motorists shall expend a reasonable cost, as defined

in Section 1 of this Regulation in order to qualify for a waiver.
Effective January 1, 1997 for vehicles registered in New Castle
County and July 1, 1997 for vehicles registered in Kent
County, in order to qualify for waiver repairs on any 1981 or
later model year vehicle shall be performed by a certified repair
technician or a certified manufacturer repair technician, as
defined in Section 1 of this regulation, and must have been
appropriate to correct the emission failure.  Repairs of primary
emission control components may be performed by non-
technicians (e.g., owners) to apply toward the waiver limit.
The waiver would apply to the cost of parts for the repair or
replacement of the following list of emission control
component systems: Air induction system (air filter, oxygen
sensor), catalytic converter system (convertor, preheat
catalyst), thermal reactor, EGR system (valve, passage/hose,
sensor) PCV System, air injection system (air pump, check
valve), ignition system  (distributor, ignition wires, coil, spark
plugs).  The cost of any hoses, gaskets, belts, clamps, brackets
or other emission accessories directly associated with these
components may also be applied to the waiver limit.

(2) Any available warranty coverage shall be used to
obtain needed repairs before expenditures can be counted

towards the cost limits in paragraphs (a)(3) and (a)(4) of this
Section.  The operator of a vehicle within the statutory age
and mileage coverage under section 207(b) of the Clean Air
Act shall present a written denial of warranty coverage from
the manufacturer or authorized dealer for this provision to be
waived for approved tests applicable to the vehicle.

(3) Receipts shall be submitted for review to further
verify that qualifying repairs were performed.

(4) A minimum expenditure for repairs  of $75 for pre-
81 model year vehicles or a minimum expenditure  of $200
for 1981 model year and newer vehicles shall be spent in order
to qualify for a waiver.  The minimum repair cost for  1981
and newer vehicles shall increase to $450 starting January 1,
2000. For each subsequent year,  the $450 minimum
expenditure shall be adjusted in January of that year by the
percentage, if any, by which the Consumer Price Index for
the preceding calendar year differs from the Consumer Price
Index for 1989.

(5) The issuance of a waiver applies only to those vehicles
failing an exhaust emission tests.  No waivers are granted to
vehicles failing the evaporative emission integrity test.

(6) Waivers shall be issued by the Division Director only
after:

(i) a vehicle has failed a retest for only the exhaust
emissions portions of the program, performed after all
qualifying repairs have been completed;

(ii) and a minimum of 10% improvement (reduction)
in hydrocarbons (HC) and carbon monoxide (CO) has resulted
from those repairs. This requirement (Section 10 (a) (6) (ii))
will cease to be  in effect starting January 1, 2000.

(7) Qualifying repairs include repairs of primary
emission control components performed within 90 days of
the test date.

(8) Waivers issued pursuant to this regulation are valid
until the date of current registration expiration.

(9) Waivers will not be issued to vehicles for tampering-
related repairs.  The cost of tampering-related repairs shall
not be applicable to the minimum expenditure in paragraph
(a)(3) of this section.  The Director will issue exemptions for
tampering-related repairs if it can be verified that the part in
question or one similar to it is no longer available for sale

(b) Compliance via diagnostic inspection.
Vehicles subject to an emission test at the cutpoints shown in
Appendix 3 (a)(6) of Regulation 31 may be issued a certificate
of compliance without meeting the prescribed emission
cutpoints, if, after failing a retest on emissions, a complete,
documented physical and functional diagnosis and inspection
performed by a Delaware Certified Emission  Repair
Technician shows that no additional emission-related repairs
are needed.

(c) Quality control of waiver issuance.
[Requirements may be found in the PFI,  Section 10 (c) ]
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(d) (1) In order to meet the requirements of the EPA Rule,
the State commits to maintaining a waiver rate equal to or
less than 3% of the failed vehicles.

(2) The Secretary shall take corrective action to lower
the waiver rate should the actual rate reported to EPA be above
3%.

(3) Actions to achieve the 3% waiver rate, if required,
shall include measures such as not issuing waivers on vehicles
less than 6 years old, raising minimum expenditure rates, and
limiting waivers to once every four years.  If the waiver rate
cannot be lowered to levels committed to in the SIP, or if the
State chooses not to implement measures to do so, then the
Secretary shall revise the I/M emission reduction projections
in the SIP and shall implement other LEIM program changes
needed to ensure the performance standard is met.

Section 11 - Motorist compliance enforcement.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.361 ]

(a) Registration denial.
Registration denial enforcement (See Appendix 11(a), the
Systems Requirement Document for the Registration Denial
process) is defined as rejecting an application for initial
registration or re-registration of a used vehicle (i.e., a vehicle
being registered after the initial retail sale and associated
registration) unless the vehicle has complied with the LEIM
program requirement prior to granting the application. This
enforcement is the express responsibility of the Division with
the assistance of police agencies for on road inspection and
verification. The law governing the registration of motor
vehicles is found in the Delaware Criminal and Traffic Law
Manual, Title 21, Chapter 21.  Pursuant to section 207(g)(3)
of the Act, nothing in this section shall be construed to require
that new vehicles shall receive emission testing prior to initial
retail sale.  In designing its enforcement program, the Director
shall:

(1) Provide an external, readily visible means of
determining vehicle compliance with the registration
requirement to facilitate enforcement of the LEIM program.
This shall be in the form of a window sticker and tag sticker
which clearly indicate the vehicles compliance status and next
inspection date;

(2) Adopt a schedule of biennial testing that clearly
determines when a vehicle shall have to be inspected to comply
prior to (re)registration;

(3) Design a registration denial system which features
the electronic transfer of information from the inspection lanes
to the Division’s Data Base, and monitors the following
information:

(i) Expiration date of the registration;
(ii) Unambiguous vehicle identification

information; and
(iii) Whether the vehicle received either a waiver or

a certificate of compliance, and;
(iv) The Division’s unique windshield certificate

identification number to verify authenticity; and
(v) The Division shall finally check the inspection

data base to ensure all program requirements have been met
before issuing a vehicle registration.

(4) Ensure that evidence of testing is available and
checked for validity at the time of a new registration of a used
vehicle or registration renewal.

(5) Prevent owners or lessors from avoiding testing
through manipulation of the title or registration system;  title
transfers do not re-start the clock on the inspection cycle.

(6) Limit and track the use of time extensions of the
registration requirement to only one 60 day extension per
vehicle to prevent repeated extensions.

(b) Legal Authority: [Requirements may be found in the PFI,
Section 11 (b) ]

(c) (1) (i) Owners of subject vehicles must provide valid
proof of having received a passing test or a waiver to the
Director’s representative in order to receive registration from
the Division.

(ii) State and local enforcement branches, such as
police agencies, as part of this program, shall cite motorist
who do not visibly display evidence of compliance with the
registration and inspection requirements.

(iii) Fleet and all other registered applicable vehicle
compliance shall be assured through the regular enforcement
mechanisms concurrent with registration renewal, on-road
testing and parking lot observation.  Fleets shall be inspected
at official inspection stations.

(iv) Federal fleet compliance shall be assured
through the cooperation of the federal fleet managers as well
as also being subject to regular enforcement operations of the
Division.

Section 12 - Motorist compliance enforcement program
oversight.

[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.362 ]
 [Requirements may be found in the  PFI, Section 12]

Section 13 - Quality assurance.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.363 ]

[ Requirements may be found in the PFI, Section 13]

Section 14 - Enforcement against operators and motor vehicle
technicians.

[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.364 ]

(a) Imposition of penalties
The State of Delaware shall continue to operate the LEIM
program using State of Delaware Employees for all functions.
Should enforcement actions be required for violations of



1708

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 11, FRIDAY, MAY 1, 1998

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
program requirements, the Agreement between State of
Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle
Division and Council 81 of the American Federation of State,
County and Municipal Employees, Section 8, Disciplinary
Action, and, the State of Delaware Merit Rules, shall be
adhered to in all matters.  Applicable provisions of these
documents are found in Appendix 14 (a).

(b) Legal authority.
(1) The Director shall have the authority to temporarily

suspend station motor vehicle technicians’ certificates
immediately upon finding a violation or upon finding the
Motor Vehicle Technician administered emission tests with
equipment which had a known failure and that directly affects
emission reduction benefits, in accordance with the Agreement
between State of Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor
Vehicle Division and Council 81 of the American Federation
of State, County and Municipal Employees, Section 8
Disciplinary Action.

(2) The Director shall have the authority to impose
disciplinary action against the station manager or the motor
vehicle technician, even if the manager had no direct
knowledge of the violation but was found to be careless in
oversight of motor vehicle technicians or has a history of
violations, in accordance with the Agreement between State
of Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle
Division and Council 81 of the American Federation of State,
County and Municipal Employees, and the State of Delaware
Merit Rules.  The lane manager shall be held fully responsible
for performance of the motor vehicle technician in the course
of duty.

(c) Recordkeeping.
[ Requirements can be found in the PFI, Section 14 (c) ]

Section 15 - Data collection.   [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S
§51.365]
[ Requirements may be found in the PFI,  Section 15 ]

Section 16 - Data analysis and reporting.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.366 ]

[ Requirements may be found in  the PFI, Section 16 ]

Section 17 - Motor vehicle technician training and
certification.

[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.367 ]

Section 18 - Public information and consumer protection.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.368 ]

[ Requirements may be found in the PFI, Section 18 ]

Section 19 - Improving repair effectiveness.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.369 ]

[ Additional requirements may be found in the PFI, Section
19]

(1) A prerequisite for a retest shall be a completed repair
form that indicates which repairs were performed. (See Section
7 (a) (5) of this Regulation)

Section 20 - Compliance with recall notices.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.370 ]
[Reserved]

Section 21 - On-road testing.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.371]

(a) Periodic random Delaware registered vehicle pullovers
on Delaware highways will occur without prior notice to the
public for on-road vehicle exhaust emission testing.

(b) Vehicles identified by the on-road testing portion of the
LEIM program shall be notified of the requirement for an
out-of-cycle emission retest , and shall have 30 days from the
date of the notice to appear for inspection.  Vehicles not
appearing for a retest shall be out of compliance, and be liable
for penalties under Title 21 of  Delaware Criminal and Traffic
Law Manual and the Division will take action to suspend the
vehicle registration.

[ Additional requirements may be found in the PFI, Section
21 ]

Section 22 - Implementation deadlines.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.373 ]

All requirements related to the LEIM program shall be
effective ten days after the Secretary’s order has been signed
and published in the State Register.  This regulation supersedes
the existing Regulation Numbers 26 and 33 for Kent and New
Castle Counties effective ten days after the Secretary’s order
has been signed and published in the State Register.

PLAN FOR IMPLEMENTATION
Regulation No. 31

LOW ENHANCED INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE
PROGRAM

Proposed SIP Revision

     DRAFT         DRAFT

Prepared by the
Division of Air and Waste Management

Air Quality Management Section
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control
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Appendix 4  (a)  LEIM Program Dedicated Funding
Statute.

Appendix 4 (b) LEIM Program - Personnel Allocation
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Appendix 5 (a) Citation of authority in Delaware Code
(DMV) that  enables the program to a biennial test frequency

Appendix 8 (a) Idle Test Equipment Specifications
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Note: The appendix number refers to the section number in
the PFI

To adopt a Plan for Implementation (PFI) of Regulation No.
31 - Enhanced Inspection and Maintenance Program, as
follows:

Notes on the content of the PFI beginning on the next page:
* The preparation of this document used the Federal

I/M Rule from 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S as the
framework.  All portions of that Rule are addressed
in either the PFI, which follows, or Regulation No.
31, a separate document.  This procedure is consistent
with the Introduction to the Checklist for Completing
the Inspection/Maintenance SIP, dated March 1993,
prepared by the US EPA, Office of Air and Radiation.

* Regulation No. 31 means the new regulation which
is a separate document prepared from this PFI which
describes the regulatory requirements to implement
the LEIM program.

* Appendices are included as part of this PFI, however
these should not be confused with the appendices
that are part of the regulation.

* Under each section title,  the related section from
the Federal I/M Rule, 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S is
given in italics.

Low Enhanced Inspection and Maintenance Program Plan for
Implementation (PFI)

Section 1 - Applicability. [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.350]

This program shall be known as the “Low Enhanced
Inspection and Maintenance Program” or the “LEIM
Program”, and shall be identified as such in the balance of
this document.



1710

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 11, FRIDAY, MAY 1, 1998

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
Enhanced programs are required in serious or worse ozone
nonattainment areas, depending upon population and
nonattainment classification or design value.  The
determination of whether an area  has a “Low Enhanced” or a
“High Enhanced” program depends on the emission reductions
required for the area.  If minimal reductions are needed to
meet the Rate of Progress Plan/Attainment requirements, the
“Low Enhanced” program is acceptable, otherwise the “High
Enhanced” program must be adopted and implemented.

The following analysis first portrays the tests of the EPA Rule,
first for classification and population criteria and then for
extent of area of coverage. For both analyses, various criteria
are used to determine applicability. Following each criteria is
an analysis which identifies the areas of Delaware where each
criteria may or may not apply.  The rule language is shown in
italics.

(a) Nonattainment area classification and population criteria.
(1) States or areas within an ozone transport region shall

implement enhanced I/M programs in any metropolitan
statistical area (MSA), or portion of an MSA, within the state
or area with a 1990 population of 100,000 or more as defined
by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) regardless
of the area’s attainment classification.  In the case of a multi-
state MSA, enhanced I/M shall be implemented in all ozone
transport region portions if the sum of these portions has a
population of 100,000 or more, irrespective of the population
of the portion in the individual ozone transport region state
or area.

Applicability:  This criteria includes New Castle and Kent
Counties.

This criteria excludes Sussex County due to no
1990 MSA.

(2) Apart from those areas described in paragraph (a)(1)
of this section, any area classified as serious or worse ozone
nonattainment, or as moderate or serious CO nonattainment
with a design value greater than 12.7 ppm, and having a 1980
Bureau of Census-defined (Census-defined) urbanized area
population of 200,000 or more, shall implement enhanced I/
M in the 1990 Census-defined urbanized area.

Applicability: This criteria includes New Castle and
Kent Counties.

This criteria excludes Sussex County,
with a classification of Marginal.

(3) Any area classified, as of November 5, 1992, as
marginal ozone nonattainment or moderate CO nonattainment
with a design value of 12.7 ppm or less shall continue
operating I/M programs that were part of an approved State
Implementation Plan (SIP) as of November 15, 1990, and
shall update those programs as necessary to meet the basic I/
M program requirements of this subpart.  Any such area

required by the Clean Air Act, as in effect prior to November
15, 1990, as interpreted in EPA guidance, to have an I/M
program shall also implement a basic I/M program.  Serious,
severe and extreme ozone areas and CO areas over 12.7 ppm
shall also continue operating existing I/M programs and shall
upgrade such programs, as appropriate, pursuant to this
subpart.

Applicability: This criteria does not apply to New
Castle or Kent Counties since they are required to adopt
enhanced I/M.

This criteria does not apply to Sussex
since the SIP Revision to include that county in the statewide
basic I/M program was not adopted by EPA by November
15, 1990.

(4) Any area classified as moderate ozone
nonattainment, and not required to implement enhanced I/M
under paragraph (a)(1) of this section,  shall implement basic
I/M in any 1990 Census-defined urbanized area in the
nonattainment area.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no
Delaware counties since no counties are classified as
Moderate.

(5) Any area outside an ozone transport region classified
as serious or worse ozone nonattainment, or moderate or
serious CO nonattainment with a design value greater than
12.7 ppm, and having a 1990 Census-defined urbanized area
population of less than 200,000 shall implement basic I/M in
the 1990 Census-defined urbanized area.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no
Delaware counties since no counties are outside the ozone
transport region.

(6) If the boundaries of a moderate ozone nonattainment
area are changed pursuant to section 107(d)(4)(A)(i)-(ii) of
the Clean Air Act, such that the area includes additional
urbanized areas, then a basic I/M program shall be
implemented in the newly included 1990 Census-defined
urbanized areas.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no
Delaware counties since no counties are classified as
Moderate.

(7) If the boundaries of a serious or worse ozone
nonattainment area or of a moderate or serious CO
nonattainment area with a design value greater than 12.7
ppm are changed any time after enactment pursuant to section
107(d)(4)(A) such that the area includes additional urbanized
areas, then an enhanced I/M program shall be implemented
in the newly included 1990 Census-defined urbanized areas,
if the 1980 Census-defined urban area population is 200,000
or more.  If such a newly included area has a 1980 Census-
defined population of less than 200,000, then a basic I/M
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program shall be implemented in the 1990 Census-defined
urbanized area.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no Delaware
counties since no counties (other than Kent) have urbanized
areas.

(8) If a marginal ozone nonattainment area, not required
to implement enhanced I/M under paragraph (a)(1) of this
section, is reclassified to moderate, a basic I/M program shall
be implemented in the 1990 Census-defined urbanized area(s)
in the nonattainment area.  If the area is reclassified to serious
or worse, an enhanced I/M program shall be implemented in
the 1990 Census-defined urbanized area, if the 1980 Census-
defined urban area population is 200,000 or more.  If less
than 200,000, a basic I/M program shall be implemented in
the 1990 Census-defined urbanized area(s) in the
nonattainment area.

Applicability: This criteria could only apply to Sussex,
however data does not demonstrate that Sussex should be
reclassified to Moderate nonattainment.

(9) If a moderate ozone or CO nonattainment area is
reclassified to serious or worse, an enhanced I/M program
shall be implemented in the 1990 Census-defined urbanized
area, if the 1980 Census-defined urban area population is
200,000 or more.  In the case of ozone areas reclassified as
serious or worse, if the 1980 Census-defined population of
the urbanized area is less than 200,000, a basic I/M program
shall be implemented in the 1990 Census-defined urbanized
area(s) in the nonattainment area.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no Delaware
counties since no counties are classified as Moderate.

(b) Extent of area coverage.
(1) In an ozone transport region, the program shall

entirely cover all counties within subject MSAs or subject
portions of MSAs, as defined by OMB in 1990, except largely
rural counties having a population density of less than 200
persons per square mile based on the 1990 Census can be
excluded provided that at least 50% of the MSA population is
included in the program.  This provision does not preclude
the voluntary inclusion of portions of an excluded rural county.
Non-urbanized islands not connected to the mainland by
roads, bridges, or tunnels may be excluded without regard to
population.

Applicability: This criteria does not apply to New
Castle or Kent Counties since they are already classified as
Severe.

This criteria does not apply to Sussex
since there are no MSAs in Sussex.

(2) Outside of ozone transport regions, programs shall
nominally cover at least the entire urbanized area, based on
the 1990 census.  Exclusion of some urban population is
allowed as long as an equal number of non-urban residents

of the MSA containing the subject urbanized area are included
to compensate for the exclusion.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no
Delaware counties since no counties are outside the ozone
transport region.

(3) Emission reduction benefits from expanding
coverage beyond the minimum required urban area
boundaries can be applied toward the reasonable further
progress requirements or can be used for offsets, provided
the covered vehicles are operated in the nonattainment area,
but not toward the enhanced I/M performance standard
requirement.

Applicability: Delaware does not plan to include
credits from vehicles registered in Sussex and operated in Kent
or New Castle due to the tentative nature of this analysis.

(4) In multi-state urbanized areas outside of ozone
transport regions, I/M is required in those states in the subject
multi-state area that have an urban area population of 50,000
or more, as defined by the Bureau of Census in 1990.  In a
multi-state urbanized area with a population of 200,000 or
more that is required under paragraph (a) of this section to
implement enhanced I/M, any state with a portion of the
urbanized area having a 1990 Census-defined population of
50,000 or more shall implement an enhanced program.  The
other coverage requirements in   paragraph (b) of this section
shall apply in multi-state areas as well.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no Delaware
counties since no counties are outside the ozone transport
region.

The conclusion of this analysis is that
New Castle and Kent Counties are subject to the LEIM
program requirements.

(c) Requirements after attainment.
[ This requirement is included in Regulation 31, Section 1
(e)]

(d) Definitions:  (Note: Definitions are found in
Regulation 31).

Section 2 - Low Enhanced I/M performance standard. [40
CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.351]

(a) The LEIM programs will be designed and implemented
to meet or exceed a minimum performance standard, which
is expressed as emission levels in area-wide average grams
per mile (gpm), achieved from highway mobile sources as a
result of the LEIM program.  The performance standard was
established using the following LEIM program inputs and
local characteristics, such as vehicle mix and local fuel
controls. The Delaware LEIM program inputs can be found
in Appendix 2 (b).
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(1) Network type:

Centralized testing.
(2) Start date:

January 1, 1995
(3) Test frequency:

Annual testing.
(4) Model year coverage:

Testing of 1968 and newer vehicles.
(5) Vehicle type coverage:

Light duty vehicles, and light duty trucks, rated up
to 8,500 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR).

(6) Exhaust emission test type:
Idle test of all covered vehicles.  (As described in

appendix B of Subpart S of 40 CFR 51.
(7) Emission standards:

Those specified in 40 CFR Part 85, Subpart W.
Emission standards for 1981 and newer vehicles of 1.2% CO,
and 220 ppm HC for the idle test (as described in Appendix B
of the EPA Rule); and

Maximum exhaust dilution measured as no less than
6% CO plus carbon dioxide (CO

2
) on all tested vehicles (as

described in Appendix B of the EPA Rule).
(8) Emission control device inspections:

Visual inspection of the positive crankcase
ventilation valve on all 1968 through 1971 model year
vehicles, inclusive, and of the exhaust gas recirculation valve
on all 1972 and newer model year vehicles.

(9) Evaporative system function checks: none
(10)Stringency:

A 20% emission test failure rate among pre-1981
model year vehicles.

(11)Waiver rate:
A 3% waiver rate, as a percentage of failed vehicles.

(12)Compliance rate:
A 96% compliance rate.

(13)Evaluation date:
Enhanced I/M program areas subject to the

provisions of this paragraph shall be shown to obtain the same
or lower emission levels as the model program described in
this paragraph by 2000 for ozone nonattainment areas and
2001 for CO nonattainment areas, and for severe and extreme
ozone nonattainment areas, on each applicable milestone and
attainment deadline, thereafter.  Milestones for NOx shall be
the same as for ozone.

(b) The emission factors determined from the application of
the above inputs to Mobile5a are shown in the document
submitted to EPA, in November, 1995, entitled “State of
Delaware Demonstration of Meeting the Environmental
Protection Agency Performance Standard for the Low-
Enhanced Motor Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance
Program”.  This document has been provided in Appendix 2
(b).

(c) On-board diagnostics (OBD):
[Reserved]

(d) Modeling requirements:
[Modeling requirements may be found in the document cited
in paragraph (b) above]

Section 3 - Network type and program evaluation. [ 40 CFR
Part 51 Subpart S 51.353 ]

(a) Program evaluation.
The LEIM program includes an ongoing evaluation by the
Department to quantify the emission reduction benefits of the
program, and to determine if the LEIM program is meeting
the requirements of the Clean Air Act and Regulation 31.

(1) LEIM program evaluation reports will be prepared
by the Department on a biennial basis, starting two years after
the initial start date of mandatory testing as required in Section
24 of this PFI.  The first report will be due to EPA by July 1,
1998, and every two years thereafter.

(2) The LEIM program evaluation test data will be
submitted to EPA and used by the State to calculate local
fleet emission factors, to assess the effectiveness of the
program, and to determine if the performance standard is being
met.  The most recent version of EPA’s mobile source
emission factor model, will be used to reflect the appropriate
emission reduction effectiveness of LEIM program elements
within Section 2 of this PFI based on actual performance.

Section 4 - Adequate tools and resources. [ 40 CFR Part 51
Subpart S §51.354 ]

(a) Administrative resources.
The LEIM program will maintain the administrative resources
necessary to perform all of the LEIM program functions
including quality assurance, data analysis and reporting, and
the holding of hearings and adjudication of cases.

Based on the passage of HB 360 which was signed by the
Governor on November 9, 1993, on an annual schedule $2.8
million is dedicated from fines derived from the Justice of the
Peace Courts for the purpose of ongoing operation of the
LEIM program. This signed legislation amends §6102  of Title
29 of the Delaware Code which is found in Appendix 4 (a).
In addition, the yearly expected expenditures which Delaware
is committed to for the I/M program is detailed in Appendix
4 (a).

(b) Personnel.
The LEIM program shall employ sufficient personnel to
effectively carry out the duties related to the program,
including but not limited to administrative audits, inspector
audits, data analysis, LEIM program oversight, LEIM program
evaluation, public education and assistance, and enforcement
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against motorists who are out of compliance with LEIM
program regulations and requirements.  The category of
personnel, the numbers of each category, the duties and
responsibilities of each category and the location of each
category within the structure of Delaware government is
shown in Appendix 4 (b).  When required, enforcement actions
taken involving Division and Department personnel shall be
conducted in accordance with the Agreement between the
State of Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle
Division and Council 81 of the American Federation of State,
County and Municipal Employees and the State of Delaware
Merit Rules.

(c) Equipment.
The LEIM program shall possess equipment necessary to
achieve the objectives of the program and meet LEIM program
requirements, including but not limited to a steady supply of
vehicles for covert auditing, test equipment and facilities for
LEIM program evaluation, and computers capable of data
processing, analysis, and reporting.  Vehicles used for covert
auditing will be derived from the State owned fleet of vehicles.

Section 5 - Test frequency and convenience.  [ 40 CFR Part
51 Subpart S §51.355 ]

(a) The biennial LEIM program test frequency is consistent
with Delaware Code requirements of 7 Del.Chapter 21 §§2109
and 2110 and found in Appendix 5(a). The test frequency
shall be automatically integrated with the enforcement process
since the date of registration renewal is the same date as that
of the emission testing requirement.  Vehicles are assigned
inspection cycles in Delaware.  The inspection cycle normally
remains with the vehicle when sold or transferred within the
State.   New vehicles, or used vehicles newly tagged in
Delaware, enter the “cycle” on the date of registration, and
remain on that cycle until removed from service or transferred
to another state.

(b) In LEIM programs, test systems are to be designed in
such a way as to provide convenient service to motorists
required to get their vehicles tested.  The location of official
inspection stations are located in Wilmington, New Castle
and Dover and are essentially the same locations as before
the requirement for the LEIM program. These locations have
been found to be adequate and publicly accepted convenient
locations since 1983.

The network of stations are to provide test services that are
sufficient to insure short waiting times to get a test.  In
preparing the estimates for the number of lanes required, the
State based all assumptions on the peak hours of operation,
based on local experience.  Additional relief will be realized
with the inception of the change of expiration dates to daily,
avoiding end of period delays.  Short-term wait times will be

addressed by opening only enough lanes to provide a
convenient wait of no more than a monthly average of 20
minutes.

Section 6 - Vehicle coverage.  [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S
§51.356 ]

The legal authority for this section is contained in 7 Del. C.
§6707, as included in Appendix 11 (b).

The requirements of this section and the corresponding section
in Regulation 31, shall apply to all of the subject vehicles
registered in Delaware as described in the PFI.  For the start
up of the program on January 1, 1996, this number is an
historical growth data projection of 478,000 vehicles.
Delaware has confidence in this estimation based on a lengthy
record of 3 percent per annum growth in the vehicle
population.

Section 7 -Test procedures and standards.  [ 40 CFR Part 51
Subpart S §51.357 ]
[ Requirements may be found in Section 7 of Regulation No.
31 ]

(a) Test procedure requirements
(1) On-board diagnostic checks.
[Reserved].

(b) Test standards

Section 8 -Test equipment.   [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S
§51.358 ]

(a) Performance features of computerized test systems.

Test equipment specifications are attached as Appendix 8-
(a).  Each test lane will be equipped with the following
equipment for the idle test, at a minimum: a tailpipe probe, a
flexible sample line, a water removal system, particulate trap,
sample pump, flow control components, analyzers for HC,
CO and CO

2
, and O

2
 displays for exhaust concentrations of

HC, CO, 0
2
 and CO

2
.  Materials that are in contact with the

gases sampled shall not contaminate or change the character
of the gases to be analyzed, including gases from alcohol
fueled vehicles.  The probe shall be capable of being inserted
to a depth of at least eight inches into the tailpipe of the vehicle
being tested, or into an extension boot if one is used.  A
pressure gauge and equipment for flowing compressed air
into the fuel tank evaporative control system will be used for
the pressure test.  The same equipment shall be used to
separately test the gas tank cap.

Test equipment for the Idle Test shall comply with the Bureau
of Automotive Repair BAR 90 TEST ANALYZER SYSTEM
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SPECIFICATIONS dated April 1996, and is incorporated here
by reference.  Public review of this document may requested
by contacting the Department at (302) 739-4791.

All test equipment will be fully computerized and all processes
will be automated to the highest degree possible.  All
computerized equipment will have lock-out features to prevent
tampering by unauthorized personnel.  Station managers, or
their supervisors will have authorization to clear lock-outs or
access the hardware for any purpose other than to perform an
emissions test:  and will be required to enter an access code
that identifies them personally in order to do so.  The date
and reason for all lock-outs, as well as the date, and by whom
lock-outs are cleared will be kept in a data file.

The test process is completely computerized.  The process
begins with data entry, which will involve entering the license
plate number or the VIN.  The Motor Vehicle Technician
will obtain the VIN digits from the vehicle itself and will check
the tag number as well.  The entry will either, call up a pre-
existing or, create a new vehicle file based on the registration
data base and previous inspections of the vehicle.  The Motor
Vehicle Technician will compare the data in the file and
confirm that the vehicle presented matches the VIN/tag
number combination in the file.  The test process is completely
automatic, including the pass/fail decision and test procedure.
Test lanes will be linked on a real-time basis to a central
computer; test data will be recorded onto the station server
and to the central data base as each test is completed, and
multiple initial testing will be prevented.  Records will be
kept on the central data base for 10 years or the life of the
vehicle whichever is less.  The central data base will be backed
up nightly, and if the vehicle is purged, data will be recorded
on microfiche permanently.  System lockouts will be initiated
whenever the following quality control checks are failed or
not conducted on schedule:  periodic calibration or leak
checks, and check of the pressure monitoring devices.  All
electronic calibration and system integrity checks will be
performed automatically, i.e., without specific prompting by
the Motor Vehicle Technician prior to each test, and quality
control will be under computer control to the extent possible.

(1) Emission test equipment shall be capable of testing
all subject vehicles and will be updated from time to time to
accommodate new technology vehicles as well as changes to
the LEIM program.

(2) At a minimum, emission test equipment:
(i) Shall be automated to the highest degree

commercially available to minimize the potential for
intentional fraud and/or human error;

(ii) Shall be secure from tampering and/or abuse;
(iii) Shall be based upon written specifications; and
(iv) Shall be capable of simultaneously sampling dual

exhaust vehicles.
(v) Shall be able to determine the RPM of the vehicle.

(3) The vehicle owner or driver will normally be
provided with a computer-generated record of test results,
including all of the items listed in 40 CFR part 85, subpart W
as being required on the test record.  The test report will
include:

(i) A vehicle description, including license tag
number, vehicle identification number, and odometer reading;

(ii) The date and time of test;
(iii) The name or identification number of the

individual(s) performing the tests and the location of the test
station and lane;

(iv) The type of tests performed, including emission
tests, visual checks for the presence of emission control
components including catalytic converter, and functional,
evaporative system checks including a gas cap test;

(v) The applicable test standards;
(vi) The test results, including exhaust concentrations

and pass/fail results for each mode measured, pass/fail results
for evaporative system checks, and which emission control
devices inspected were passed, failed, or not applicable;

(vii)A handout indicating the availability of warranty
coverage as required in Section 207 of the Clean Air Act;

(viii) Certification that tests were performed in
accordance with the regulations; and

(ix) For vehicles that fail the tailpipe emission test,
some possible causes of the specific pattern of high emission
levels found during the test are given in the Vehicle Inspection
Program Brochure distributed at the inspection lane.

(b) Functional characteristics of computerized test systems.
The test system is composed of emission measurement devices
and other motor vehicle test equipment controlled by a
computer.

(1) The test system shall automatically:
(i) Make a pass/fail decision for all measurements;
(ii) Record test data to an electronic medium;
(iii) Conduct regular self-testing of recording

accuracy;
(iv) Perform electrical calibration and system

integrity checks before each test, as applicable, forwarded
electronically to the inspection database where it shall be
retained for 10 years or the life of the vehicle whichever is
less, and;

(v) Initiate system lockouts for:
(A) Tampering with security aspects of the test

system;
(B) Failing to conduct or pass periodic

calibration or leak checks;
(C) Failing to conduct or pass the pressure

monitoring device check (if applicable);
(D) A full data recording medium or one that

does not pass a cyclical redundancy check.
(2) The test systems will include a real-time data link to

a host computer that prevents unauthorized multiple initial
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tests on the same vehicle in a test cycle and to insure test
record accuracy.

(3) The test system will insure accurate data collection
by limiting, cross-checking, and/or confirming manual data
entry.

(4) On-board diagnostic test equipment requirements.
[Reserved].

Section 9 - Quality control.   [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S
§51.359 ]
Quality control measures will insure that emission
measurement equipment is calibrated and maintained properly,
and that inspection, calibration records, and control charts
are accurately created, recorded and maintained.  (Concerning
document maintenance see Regulation 31 Appendix 11(a)
Systems Requirement Document - Registration Denial)

(a) General provisions.
(1) The practices described in this section and in

Appendix 9 (a) (1) to this PFI shall be followed, at a minimum.
(2) Preventive maintenance on all inspection equipment

necessary to insure accurate and repeatable operation will be
performed on a periodic basis.

(3) Computerized analyzers shall automatically record
quality control check information, lockouts, attempted
tampering, and any other recordable circumstances which
should be monitored to insure quality control (e.g., service
calls).

(b) Requirements for evaporative system functional test
equipment.

Requirements for evaporative system functional test
equipment.

Equipment shall be maintained by the operator according to
demonstrated good engineering practices to assure test
accuracy.  Computer control of quality assurance checks and
quality control charts shall be used whenever possible.
Appendix 9 (b) contains periodic maintenance procedures
which shall be performed on all emission testing equipment
by the State.
(c) Document security.

Measures shall be taken to ensure that compliance documents
and data files cannot be stolen, removed, changed or edited
without being damaged or marked for detection.  Additional
procedures concern document security can be found in
Appendix 9 (c)

Section 10 -Waivers and compliance via diagnostic inspection.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.360 ]

The LEIM program allows for the issuance of a waiver, which

is a form of compliance with the LEIM program requirements
that allows a motorist to comply without meeting the
applicable test standards, as long as prescribed criteria are
met.
(a)  Issuance criteria.
[Requirements may be found in Regulation 31, Section 10
(a)]

(b) Compliance via diagnostic inspection.
[Requirements may be found in Regulation 31, Section 10
(b)]

(c) Quality control of waiver issuance.
(1) The Director shall provide control of waiver issuance

and processing by establishing a system of waivers issued by
the Division.

(2) Vehicle owners or lessors shall be informed via a
standardized form provided by the Division, of potential
warranty coverage, and ways to obtain warranty repairs upon
their failure of an emissions inspection.

(3) Division personnel shall insure that repair receipts
are authentic and cannot be revised or reused.  All qualified
receipts shall be permanently marked so they cannot be revised
or reused.  Department personnel or personnel contracted by
the Department, on a periodic schedule shall perform visual
inspections of all related repairs done by anyone, except for
waiver repairs done by Certified Emission Repair Technicians.

(4) Waivers shall be tracked, managed, and accounted
for by the Division with respect to time extensions or
exemptions in the Division’s database so that owners or lessors
cannot receive or retain a waiver improperly.  Records shall
be maintained in secured, limited access data files and cross
checked on a quarterly basis with the main data base to ensure
waivers are being properly managed and reinspected
biennially by the inspection program.

(d)  [Requirements may be found in Regulation 31, Section
10 (d)]

Section 11 - Motorist compliance enforcement.   [ 40 CFR
Part 51 Subpart S §51.361 ]
Compliance shall be ensured through the denial of motor
vehicle registration which, in Delaware, can only be obtained
upon provision of proof of compliance with LEIM program
and safety inspections requirements.

(a) (1) A registration renewal notice shall be sent to each
vehicle owner in advance of the expiration of the current
registration/inspection.

(2) In Delaware, the compliance sticker (and vehicle tag)
normally remains with any vehicle already in the program,
regardless of ownership.  Vehicles changing the compliance
sticker and vehicle tag with a change in vehicle ownership
shall be assigned a new inspection cycle and require a new
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compliance sticker prior to re-registration.  Manipulation of
the title or registration shall therefore be ineffective in
attempting to avoid inspection.

(b) The legal authority is contained in 7 Del. C.60, §6010(a),
7 Del. C. 67, §6702..  These provisions are found in Appendix
11 (b).  In Regulation 31, Section 11 and Appendix 5(a)
procedures to be followed by the Division in the specific
operation of the enforcement program, as well as a penalty
schedule to be followed when violations occur,  are included.

(c) (1) In the future, through the examination of  data, test
records and enforcement actions the Department will be able
to assess the compliance rate.  In addition, the Department
will conduct on-road and parking lot surveys of vehicles with
Delaware tags, noting the vehicle inspection sticker located
on the tag and indicating the month and year of expiration.
In these same surveys, tag numbers will be tracked and verified
with the Division’s record as to registration compliance.

(2) The State commits to a sustained level of LEIM
program enforcement which shall ensure a compliance rate
of no less than 96% of subject vehicles.  This reflects the
compliance rate used in LEIM program modeling.  In the event
that LEIM program evaluation reveals that this compliance
rate is not being continuously met, the following contingency
measures shall be implemented by the Department:

(i) additional on-road testing and additional parking
lot surveillance

(ii) contact fleet and federal fleet managers to ensure
full compliance

(3) Should these measures not be sufficient to bring the
State’s compliance rate to the needed level, a final measure
shall be implemented.  The Division shall generate a list of
all vehicles known to be operating in the State under legal
tags.  This list shall be compared to a list of all vehicles in
compliance with the LEIM program.  Any outstanding
vehicles shall be investigated by the Department and brought
into compliance subject to current laws and regulations.

(d) As described in Section 6 (c) of Regulation No. 31, certain
vehicles shall be exempt from the inspection requirements of
the LEIM program.  Detailed in Appendix 11 (c)(1), is a 1993
estimation of the percentage of the fleet by vehicle type, and,
the percentage of the subject fleet that vehicle type represents.
The exempt status of these vehicles shall be confirmed through
the registration inspection requirements and through other
established enforcement mechanisms.  If a violation is found,
the exempt status of any individual vehicle may be revoked.

Section 12 - Motorist compliance enforcement program
oversight.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.362 ]

The enforcement program shall be audited regularly and shall

follow effective program management practices, including
adjustments to improve operation when necessary.

(a) Quality assurance and quality control.

A quality assurance program has been implemented to insure
effective overall performance of the enforcement system.
Quality control procedures are required to instruct individuals
in the enforcement process regarding how to properly conduct
their activities.  Audits of the Quality Assurance and Quality
Control procedures shall be performed by Department
Auditors and reported to EPA on an annual basis.  The quality
control and quality assurance program shall include:

(1) Verification of exempt vehicle status by inspecting
and confirming such vehicles during registration;

(2) Facilitation of accurate critical test data and vehicle
identifier collection through the use of automatic data capture
systems such as bar-code scanners or optical character readers,
or through redundant data entry performed upon appearance
for testing by lane personnel;

(3) Maintenance of an audit trail to allow for the
assessment of enforcement effectiveness such that all
documentation can be controlled, tracked and reported to EPA
by the Department on an annual basis with program
evaluations;

(4) Establishment of written procedures for personnel
directly engaged in LEIM program enforcement activities,
contained in Appendix 12 (a)(4);

(5) Establishment of written procedures for Division
personnel engaged in LEIM program document handling and
processing, such as registration clerks or personnel involved
in sticker dispensing and waiver processing, as well as written
procedures for the auditing of their performance, contained
in Appendix 12- (a)(5);

(6) A determination of enforcement program
effectiveness through annual audits of test records and LEIM
program compliance documentation, with the procedures
described in Appendix 12- (a)(6).  Results shall be provided
to EPA with annual program evaluation reports;

(7) Enforcement procedures in accordance with the
Agreement Between State of Delaware Department of Public
Safety Motor Vehicle Division and Council 81 of the
American Federation of State, County and Municipal
Employees and the State of Delaware Merit Rules for
immediate disciplining, retraining, or removing enforcement
personnel who deviate from established requirements;

[Additional requirements may by found in Section 12 of the
PFI]

(b) Information management.
The information data base to be used in characterizing,
evaluating, and enforcing the LEIM program shall:

(1) Determine the subject vehicle population through



1717

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 11, FRIDAY, MAY 1, 1998

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
analysis of vehicles receiving State of Delaware tags in New
Castle and Kent Counties;

(2) Permit EPA audits of the enforcement process;
(3) Assure the accuracy of registration and other

program document files and data bases through internal and
cross data base comparisons of records;

(4) Maintain and ensure the accuracy of the testing
database through periodic internal and/or third-party
Departmental review;  through automated or redundant data
entry;  and, through automated analysis for valid alpha-
numeric sequences of the vehicle identification number (VIN),
certificate number, or tag number.  Department auditors shall
annually review and verify analyses, and assist the Division
and Police agencies in enforcement actions;

(5) Compare on a quarterly and annual basis, the testing
database to the registration database to determine LEIM
program effectiveness and establish compliance rates.

(6) Sample the fleet as a  determination of compliance
through parking lot surveys, road-side pull-overs, or other
in-use vehicle measurements.

(c) The legal authority in Appendix 11 (b), 7 Del. C.
§6010(a), includes the authority to develop and implement
the enforcement oversight element of the LEIM program.  The
regulations also include procedures to be followed by the
Division in the specific operation of the registration denial
system, as well as a penalty schedule to be followed when
violations occur. (See Regulation 31, Appendix 11 (a) Systems
Requirement Document- Registration Denial)

Section 13 - Quality assurance.   [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S
§51.363 ]

An ongoing quality assurance LEIM program has been
implemented to discover, correct and prevent fraud, waste,
and abuse and to determine whether procedures are being
followed, are adequate, whether equipment is measuring
accurately, and whether other problems might exist which
would impede LEIM program performance.  The quality
assurance and quality control procedures shall be evaluated
at least annually to assess their effectiveness and relevance in
achieving LEIM program goals.

(a) Performance audits.
Performance audits shall be conducted by the Departments
auditors on a minimum of an annual basis to determine
whether Motor Vehicle Technicians are correctly performing
all tests and other required functions.  Performance audits
shall be of two types:  overt and covert, and shall include:

(1) Performance audits based upon written procedures
and results shall be reported using either electronic or written
forms to be retained by the Division, with sufficient detail
using violations of procedures found, to support a hearing if
necessary.  This shall include all evidence uncovered of a

violation, including the time, date, nature of the violation,
and possible effect on vehicles being inspected and the
programs overall effectiveness.  Preliminary results shall be
discussed with the lane manager.  Final results shall be
transmitted to both the Division Director and the Department
Secretary who shall decide if further action is required, and
initiate that further action;

(2) Performance audits in addition to regularly
programmed audits for Motor Vehicle Technicians suspected
of violating regulations as a result of audits, data analysis, or
consumer complaints;

(3) Overt performance audits shall be performed once
per month and shall include:

(i) A check for the observance of issuing
windshield stickers (when implemented;

(ii) A check to see that required record keeping
practices are being followed;

(iii) A check for licenses or certificates and other
required display information; and

(iv) Observation and written evaluation of each
Motor Vehicle Technician’s ability to properly perform an
inspection;

(4) Covert performance audits shall include:
(i) Remote visual observation of Motor Vehicle

Technician performance, which shall include the use of aids
such as binoculars or video cameras, at least once per year
per Motor Vehicle Technician.

(ii) Site visits at least once per year per number of
Motor Vehicle Technicians using covert vehicles set to fail
(this requirement sets a minimum level of activity to one covert
inspection for each Motor Vehicle Technician at each station,
not a requirement that each Motor Vehicle Technician be
involved in a covert audit);

(iii) Full documentation of all audit preparation,
execution and performance, including verified vehicle
condition and preparation, which shall be sufficient for
building a legal case and establishing a performance record;

(iv) Covert vehicles covering the range of vehicle
technology groups (e.g., carbureted and fuel-injected vehicles)
included in the LEIM program, including a full range of
introduced malfunctions covering the emission test, the
evaporative system tests, and emission control component
checks (as applicable);

(v) Sufficient numbers of covert vehicles and
auditors to allow for frequent rotation of both to prevent
detection by station personnel during audits conducted once
per month; and,

(vi) Access to on-line inspection databases by
Department and Division personnel to permit the creation and
maintenance of covert vehicle records.

Covert vehicles to be used in this requirement shall be supplied
from the pool maintained by the State of Delaware for use
throughout the State by various agencies.  The records of these
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vehicles shall be temporarily modified by the Division and
fitted with regular tags so that they cannot be identified either
visually or through an electronic search of Division records
as being anything other than regular vehicles used by an
individual for normal transportation.  Should re-use of any
vehicle be necessary in conducting audits, the Division’s
System Administrator or designee only, shall reset the test
records to avoid detection of the vehicle by lane personnel.

(b) Record audits.
Station and Motor Vehicle Technician records shall be
reviewed or screened at least monthly by the Department, to
assess station performance and identify problems that may
indicate potential fraud or incompetence.  Such review shall
include:

(1) Software-based, computerized analysis which can be
initiated by Division personnel to examine station records and
identify statistical inconsistencies, unusual patterns, and other
discrepancies;

(2) Visits to inspection stations by Department auditors,
to review records not already covered in the electronic analysis
(if any); and

(3) Comprehensive accounting for the windshield
stickers (when implemented) used to demonstrate compliance
with the LEIM program.

(c) Equipment audits.

During overt site visits, auditors shall conduct quality control
evaluations of the required test equipment, including (where
applicable):

(1) A gas audit using gases of known concentrations at
least as accurate as those required for regular equipment
quality control and comparing these concentrations to actual
readings;

(2) A check for tampering, worn instrumentation,
blocked filters, and other conditions that would impede
accurate sampling;

(3) A leak check;
(4) A check to determine that station gas bottles used

for calibration purposes are properly labeled and within the
required tolerances;

(5) A check of the system’s ability to accurately detect
background pollutant concentrations;

(6) A check of the pressure monitoring devices used to
perform the evaporative canister pressure test; and

(d) Auditor training and proficiency.
(1) Auditors are required to be formally trained and

knowledgeable in:
(i) The use of analyzers;
(ii) LEIM program rules and regulations;
(iii) The basics of air pollution control;
(iv) Basic principles of motor vehicle engine repair,

related to emission performance;
(v) Emission control systems;
(vi) Evidence gathering;
(vii)State administrative procedures laws;
(viii) Quality assurance practices; and
(ix) Covert audit procedures.

(2) Auditors shall themselves be audited by their
supervisor, at least once per annum.

(3) The training and knowledge requirements in
paragraph (d)(1) of this section may be waived for temporary
auditors engaged solely for the purpose of conducting covert
vehicle runs.

Section 14 - Enforcement against operators and motor vehicle
technicians.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.364 ]

Enforcement against operators or motor vehicle technicians
shall include swift, sure, effective, and consistent penalties
for violation of LEIM program requirements in accordance
with the Agreement between the State of Delaware
Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle Division and
Council 81 of the American Federation of State, County and
Municipal Employees and the State of Delaware Merit Rules..

(a) Imposition of penalties.
[ Requirements may be found in Section 14 of Regulation
No. 31 ]

(b) Legal authority.
[ Requirements may be found in Section 14 of Regulation
No. 31 ]

(c) Recordkeeping.  The Department shall maintain records
of all warnings, civil fines, suspensions, revocations, and
violations and shall compile statistics on violations and
penalties on an annual basis.  These records shall be provided
to the Division Director and to the EPA on an annual basis
beginning July 1, 1998.

Section 15 - Data collection.   [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S
§51.365 ]

Accurate data collection is essential to the management,
evaluation, and enforcement of an LEIM program.  The
Director shall gather test data on individual vehicles, as well
as quality control data on test equipment.

(a) Test data.

The goal of gathering test data is to unambiguously link
specific test results to a specific vehicle,  LEIM program
registrant, test site, and Motor Vehicle Technician, and to
determine whether or not the correct testing parameters were
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observed for the specific vehicle in question.  In turn, these
data can be used to distinguish complying and non-complying
vehicles as a result of analyzing the data collected and
comparing it to the registration database, to screen inspection
stations and Motor Vehicle Technicians for investigation as
to possible irregularities, and to help establish the overall
effectiveness of the LEIM program.  At a minimum, the LEIM
program shall collect the following with respect to each test
conducted:

(1) Test record number;

(2) Inspection station and Motor Vehicle Technician
numbers;

(3) Test system number;

(4) Date of the test;

(5) Vehicle Identification Number;

(6) Delaware tag number;

(7) Manufacturer’s Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR)
for vehicles above 8,500 pounds;

(8) Vehicle model year, make, and body style and EPA
vehicle classification;

(9) Odometer reading;

(10)Category of test performed (i.e., initial test, first retest,
or subsequent retest);

(11)Fuel type of the vehicle (i.e., gas, diesel, or other fuel);

(12)Emission test sequence(s) used;

(13)Hydrocarbon emission scores and standards for each
applicable test mode;

(14)Carbon monoxide emission scores and standards for each
applicable test mode;

(15)Carbon dioxide emission scores (CO+CO
2
) and standards

for each applicable test mode;

(16)Nitrogen oxides emission scores, if available, and
standards for each applicable test mode;

(17)Results (Pass/Fail/Not Applicable) of the applicable visual
inspections for the gas cap, catalytic converter, evaporative
system, and any other visual inspection for which emission
reduction credit is claimed;

(18)Results of the evaporative system pressure test expressed
as a pass or fail; and

(b) Quality control data.  At a minimum, the program shall
gather and report the results of the quality control checks
required under Section 9 of this PFI, identifying each check
by station number, system number, date, and start time.  The
data report shall also contain the concentration values of the
calibration gases used to perform the gas characterization
portion of the quality control checks.

Section 16 -Data analysis and reporting.  [ 40 CFR Part 51
Subpart S §51.366 ]

Data analysis and reporting are required to allow for
monitoring and evaluation of the program by program
management and EPA, and shall provide information
regarding the types of program activities performed and their
final outcomes, including summary statistics and effectiveness
evaluations of the enforcement mechanism, the quality
assurance system, the quality control program, and the testing
element.  Initial submission of the following annual reports
shall commence on July 1, 1996.  The biennial report shall
commence on July 1, 1998.

(a) Test data report.

The Secretary shall submit to EPA by July of each year a
report providing basic statistics on the testing program for
January through December of the previous year, including:

(1) The number of vehicles tested by model year and
vehicle type;

(2) By model year and vehicle type, the number and
percentage of vehicles:

(i) Failing the emissions test initially;
(ii) Failing each emission control component check

initially;
(iii) Failing the evaporative system integrity check

initially;
(iv) Failing the first retest for tailpipe emissions;
(v) Passing the first retest for tailpipe emissions;
(vi) Initially failed vehicles passing the second or

subsequent retest for tailpipe emissions;
(vii)Initially failed vehicles passing each emission

control component check on the first or subsequent retest by
component;

(viii) Initially failed vehicles passing the
evaporative system integrity check on the first or subsequent
retest;

(ix) Initially failed vehicles receiving a waiver; and
(x) Vehicles with no known final outcome

(regardless of reason);
(3) The initial test volume by model year and test station;
(4) The initial test failure rate by model year and test
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station; and

(5) The average increase or decrease in tailpipe emission
levels for HC, CO, and NO

x
 (if applicable) after repairs by

model year and vehicle type for vehicles receiving an emission
test.

(b) Quality assurance report.

The Secretary shall submit to EPA by July of each year a
report providing basic statistics on the quality assurance
program for January through December of the previous year,
including:

(1) The number of inspection stations and lanes
operating throughout the year; and

(2) The number of inspection stations and lanes
operating throughout the year:

(i) Receiving overt performance audits in the year;
(ii) Not receiving overt performance audits in the

year;
(iii) Receiving covert performance audits in the year;
(iv) Not receiving covert performance audits in the

year.
(3) The number of covert audits:

(i) Conducted with the vehicle set to fail the
emission test;

(ii) Conducted with the vehicle set to fail the
component check;

(iii) Conducted with the vehicle set to fail the
evaporative system check;

(iv) Conducted with the vehicle set to fail any
combination of two or more of the above checks;

(v) Resulting in a false pass for emissions;
(vi) Resulting in a false pass for component checks;
(vii)Resulting in a false pass for the evaporative

system check; and
(viii) Resulting in a false pass for any

combination of two or more of the above checks;
(4) The number of Motor Vehicle Technicians and

stations, in accordance with the Agreement between State of
Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle
Division and Council 81 of the American Federation of State,
County and Municipal Employees and the State of Delaware
Merit Rules:

(i) That were suspended, fired, or otherwise
prohibited from testing as a result of overt or covert audits;

(ii) That were suspended, fired, or otherwise
prohibited from testing for other causes; and

(5) The number of Motor Vehicle Technicians certified
to conduct testing;

(6) The number of hearings:
(i) Held to consider adverse actions against Motor

Vehicle Technicians and stations; and
(ii) Resulting in adverse actions against Motor

Vehicle Technicians and stations;

(7) The total number of covert vehicles available for
undercover audits over the year; and

(8) The number of covert auditors available for
undercover audits.

(c) Quality control report.

The Secretary shall submit to EPA by July of each year a
report providing basic statistics on the quality control program
for January through December of the previous year, including:

(1) The number of emission testing sites and lanes in
use in the LEIM program;

(2) The number of equipment audits by station and lane;
(3) The number and percentage of stations that have

failed equipment audits; and
(4) Number and percentage of stations and lanes shut

down as a result of equipment audits.

(d) Enforcement report.
(1) The Secretary shall, at a minimum, submit to EPA

by July of each year a report providing basic statistics on the
enforcement program for January through December of the
previous year, including:

(i) An estimate of the number of vehicles subject
to the inspection program, including the results of an analysis
of the registration data base;

(ii) The percentage of motorist compliance based
upon a comparison of the number of valid final tests with the
number of subject vehicles;

(iii) The number of compliance surveys conducted,
number of vehicles surveyed in each, and the compliance rates
found.

(2) The Secretary shall provide the following additional
information obtained from the Director:

(i) A report of the LEIM program’s efforts and
actions to prevent motorists from falsely registering vehicles
out of the LEIM program area or falsely changing fuel type
on the vehicle registration, and the results of special studies
to investigate the frequency of such activity; and

(ii) The number of registration file audits, number
of registrations reviewed, and compliance rates found in such
audits.

(e) Additional reporting requirements.

In addition to the annual reports in paragraphs (a) through (d)
of this section, LEIM programs shall submit to EPA by July
of every other year, beginning with July 1, 1998, biennial
reports addressing:

(1) Any changes made in LEIM program design,
personnel levels, procedures, regulations, and legal authority,
with detailed discussion and evaluation of the impact on the
LEIM program of all such changes; and

(2) Any weaknesses or problems identified in the LEIM
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program within the two-year reporting period, what steps have
already been taken to correct those problems, the results of
those steps, and any future efforts planned.

Section 17 -Motor Vehicle Technician training and
certification.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.367 ]

The Department and the Division shall jointly ensure that
adequate and appropriate training is available within the state.
Interested agents may apply to be a state training facility.  Upon
evaluation of the program and a positive finding, the agent
may be certified.  The Department and the Division shall
monitor and evaluate the training program delivery at least
annually to ensure that it continues to meet the requirements
of the program and reflects changes occurring in the program
over time.

(a) Training.
(1) Motor vehicle technician training shall impart

knowledge of the following:
(i) The air pollution problem, its causes and effects;
(ii) The purpose, function, and goal of the inspection

LEIM program;
(iii) State inspection regulations and procedures;
(iv) Technical details of the test procedures and the

rationale for their design;
(v) Emission control device function, configuration,

and inspection;
(vi) Test equipment operation, calibration, and

maintenance;
(vii)Quality control procedures and their purpose;
(viii) Public relations; and
(ix) Safety and health issues related to the inspection

process.
(2) [ Requirements for monitoring and evaluating the

training program delivery can be found in the PFI, Section
17]

(3) In order to complete the training requirement, a
trainee shall pass with a minimum of 80% of correct responses
to all questions, a written test administered by the Division.
In addition, a hands-on test shall be administered in which
the trainee demonstrates without assistance the ability to
conduct a proper inspection, to properly utilize equipment
and to follow other procedures.  Inability to properly conduct
all test procedures shall constitute failure of the test.  The
LEIM program shall take appropriate steps to insure the
security and integrity of the testing process, and that sufficient
training is provided to allow all motor vehicle technicians to
complete the training requirements.

(b) Motor Vehicle Technician Certification.
(1) All motor vehicle technicians shall be certified by

the Division in order to perform official inspections.

(2) Completion of motor vehicle technician training and
passing required tests with a grade of at least 80% shall be a
condition of certification.

(3) Motor vehicle technician certificates shall be valid
for no more than 2 years, at which point refresher training
and testing shall be required prior to renewal.  Alternative
approaches based on more comprehensive skill examination
and determination of motor vehicle technician competency
may be used.

(4) Certificates shall not be considered a legal right but
rather a privilege bestowed by the LEIM program conditional
upon adherence to LEIM program requirements.

Section 18 -Public information and consumer protection.
[ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S §51.368 ]

(a) Public awareness.

The Department and the Division shall ensure the development
of a plan for informing the public on an ongoing basis
throughout the life of the LEIM program of the air quality
problem, the requirements of federal and state law, the role
of motor vehicles in the air quality problem, the need for and
benefits of an LEIM program, how to maintain a vehicle in a
low-emission condition, how to find a qualified repair
technician, and the requirements of the LEIM program.  This
information will be provided to motorists whose vehicles fail
the emission test in a brochure developed by the Division
entitled “Vehicle Inspection Program Brochure@.   Motorists
shall also be offered a list of repair facilities in the area and
information on the results of repairs performed by repair
facilities in the area, as described in Section 20 (b)(1) of this
PFI.

(b) Consumer protection.

The Department shall institute procedures and mechanisms
to protect the public from fraud and abuse by Motor Vehicle
Technicians, and others involved in the LEIM program.  It
shall include mechanisms for protecting whistle blowers and
following up on complaints by the public or others involved
in the process.  It shall include a program to assist owners in
obtaining warranty covered repairs for eligible vehicles that
fail a test.  Additional consumer protection policies by the
Division is included in  Appendix 18-(b).

Section 19 -Improving repair effectiveness.  [ 40 CFR Part 51
Subpart S §51.369 ]

Effective repairs are the key to achieving LEIM program goals
and the state shall take steps to ensure the capability exists in
the repair industry to repair vehicles that fail I/M tests.

(a) Technical assistance.
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The Department shall provide the repair industry with
information and assistance related to vehicle inspection
diagnosis and repair.

(1) The Department shall regularly inform repair
facilities of changes in the inspection LEIM program, training
course schedules, common problems being found with
particular engine families, diagnostic tips and the like.

(2) The Department shall provide a telephone number
where the public may call with questions related to the legal
requirements of state and Federal law with regard to emission
control device tampering, engine switching, or similar issues.
Where possible, the Department will assist repair technicians
with repair problems and answer technical questions that arise
out of the repair process.

(b) Performance monitoring.
(1) The Department shall monitor the performance of

individual motor vehicle repair facilities, and provide to the
public at the time of initial failure, a summary of the
performance of Certified Emission Repair Technicians that
have repaired vehicles for retest.  Performance monitoring
shall include statistics on the number of vehicles submitted
for a retest after repair by the repair facility, the percentage
passing on first retest, the percentage requiring more than one
repair/retest trip before passing, and the percentage receiving
a waiver.  After six months of program operation, the
Department shall issue procedures to weight the averages for
repair shops, to avoid causing a shop to carry a poor record
from the beginning of the program that does not reflect their
current ability to make repairs.  The LEIM program may
provide motorists with alternative statistics that convey similar
information on the relative ability of repair facilities provide
effective and convenient repairs, in light of the age and other
characteristics of vehicles presented for repair at each facility.

This performance monitoring shall be achieved by requiring
waiver applicants to have repairs performed at repair facilities
with state certified technicians beginning on January 1, 1997
for vehicles registered in New Castle County and July 1, 1997
for vehicles registered in Kent County.  Shops shall be
encouraged to participate because market forces dictate the
majority of customers will want to seek out State Certified
repair technicians due to their implied and State regulated
qualifications to perform emission repairs.  By “closing the
loop”, a standard form readable by a scanner can be used to
report repair information by shop and technician directly to a
data-base, which will readily allow compilation of the required
reporting statistics on performance monitoring.

(2) The Secretary shall provide feedback, including
statistical and qualitative information prior to releasing the
information to the public, to individual repair facilities on a
regular basis (at least annually) regarding their success in
repairing failed vehicles.  Copies will be sent to the Division.

(c) Repair technician training.

The Secretary shall assess the availability of adequate repair
technician training in the emissions inspection area and, if
the types of training described in paragraphs (c)(1) through
(4) of this section are not currently available, shall insure that
training is made available to all interested individuals in the
community either through private or public facilities.  This
shall involve working with the College (or other training
agencies or training companies approved by the Department
and Division) to add curricula to existing programs or start
new programs  The training available shall include:

(1) Diagnosis and repair of malfunctions in computer
controlled, closed-loop vehicles;

(2) The application of emission control theory and
diagnostic data to the diagnosis and repair of failures on the
emission test and the evaporative system functional check;

(3) Utilization of diagnostic information on systematic
or repeated failures observed in the emission test and the
evaporative system functional check; and

(4) General training on the various subsystems related
to engine emission control.

(d) The College (or other training agencies or training
companies approved by the Department and Division) shall
provide, jointly certified by the Department and the Division,
adequate training in emission repair to qualified individuals.
The program of study shall be consistent with the EPA Rule,
and shall qualify the trainees to perform effective repairs on
vehicles failing the emission test.  The course of study shall
be available on ongoing basis.  The Department shall cooperate
with the College  (or other training agencies or training
companies approved by the Department) on an ongoing basis
to ensure the training program remains current with any
changes to the program or it’s requirements.

Section 20 -Compliance with recall notices.  [ 40 CFR Part
51 Subpart S §51.370 ]

[RESERVED]

Section 21 -On-road testing.  [ 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S
§51.371 ]

On-road testing is defined as the measurement of HC, CO,
and/or CO

2
 emissions on any road or roadside in any I/M

area.  On-road testing is required in the emission inspection
area as defined in Regulation No. 31.

(a) General requirements.
(1) On-road testing shall be part of the emission testing

system, but is to be a complement to testing otherwise required.
Using a mobile Bar 90 unit to fulfill this requirement is one
alternative under consideration.
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(2) On-road testing shall evaluate the emission

performance of 0.5% of the subject fleet or 20,000 vehicles,
whichever is less, including any vehicles that may be subject
to the follow-up inspection provisions of paragraph (a)(4) of
this section, each inspection cycle.  For Delaware, that means
that at least 1,125 valid inspections on vehicles are to be
conducted in this manner, adjusting annually for any changes
in subject fleet size.

(3) Owners of vehicles that have previously been
through the normal periodic inspection and passed the final
retest and found to be high emitters shall be notified that the
vehicles are required to pass an out-of-cycle follow-up
inspection. Notification of the requirement to appear for testing
shall be issued by mail.

Section 22 -Implementation deadlines.  [ 40 CFR Part 51
Subpart S §51.373 ]
[Requirements may be found in Regulation 31, Section 23]

APPENDICES TO REGULATION 31, PLAN FOR
IMPLEMENTATION

THIS DOCUMENT MAY BE REVIEWED IN THE
OFFICE OF THE AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT

SECTION
156 SOUTH STATE STREET

DOVER, DELAWARE
302/439-4791

FROM THE HOURS OF 8 AM TO 4:30 PM
MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY

THIS DOCUMENT WILL ALSO BE AVAILABLE FOR
REVIEW AT THE PUBLIC HEARING FOR THIS

REGULATION ON MAY 21, 1998, 6 PM
AT THE DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
89 KINGS HIGHWAY
DOVER, DELAWARE

Motor Vehicle Emission Inspection Program
Regulation No. 26

Proposed SIP Revision

This document contains predecisional material
Do not cite or quote

Prepared by the
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control
Division of Air and Waste Management

Air Quality Management

November 12, 1996

Proposed change: Regulation 26 is proposed to be changed
by elimination of those requirements pertaining only to New
Castle and Kent County, with the resulting regulation after
changes pertaining only to Sussex County. Additions are
underlined  and deletions are in strikeout.  For completeness,
new Regulation No.  31 (proposed as part of this package)
will entirely replace the New Castle and Kent County
requirements of current Regulations No.26 and Regulation
No.33, with the latter being eliminated completely.

REGULATION NO. 26
MOTOR VEHICLE EMISSIONS INSPECTION

PROGRAM

01/31/90
Section 1 -Applicability and General Provisions

1.1 Except as provided in Section 4 of this regulation, the
standards, requirements and procedures set forth in this
regulation are applicable to all motor vehicles titled and
registered within Sussex County the State of Delaware and as
specified by the Department, including any motor vehicles
owned or operated by the federal, state and local governments
and their agencies.

02/08/95
Section 2 -Definitions
DIVISION:   The Division of Motor Vehicles in the
Department of Public Safety of the State of Delaware.

WAIVER: An exemption issued to a motor vehicle that
cannot comply with the applicable emissions standard and
cannot be repaired for reasonable cost.

DEPARTMENT: The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control of the State of Delaware.

EMISSIONS: Products of combustion discharged into the
atmosphere from the tailpipe of a motor vehicle engine.

EMISSIONS INSPECTION AREA: The emissions
inspection area will constitute the entire State effective April
1, 1990.

EMISSIONS STANDARD(S): The maximum
concentration of either hydrocarbon (HC) or carbon monoxide
(C0), or both, allowed in the emissions from the tailpipe of a
motor vehicle as established by the Secretary of the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
or his designee in Technical Memorandum #2 entitled “Motor
Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program - Emission
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Limit Determination” dated 12/29/87.

FAILED MOTOR VEHICLE: Any motor vehicle
which does not comply with applicable emission standards
during the initial test or any retest.

FLEET INSPECTION STATION: A facility approved by
the  Department to conduct emissions inspections of the motor
vehicles of a qualified fleet as determined by the  Department.

MODEL YEAR: The year of manufacture of a vehicle as
designated by the manufacturer, or the model year designation
assigned by the Division to a vehicle constructed by other
than the original manufacturer.

MOTOR VEHICLE: Includes every vehicle, as defined in
21 Del. Code, Section   101, which is self-propelled, except
farm tractors and off-highway vehicles.

MOTOR VEHICLE OFFICER: A person who has
completed an approved emissions inspection equipment
training program and is employed by an official inspection
station.

NEW MOTOR VEHICLE: A motor vehicle of the
current or preceding model year  that has never been
previously titled or registered in this or any other jurisdiction
and whose ownership document remains as a manufacturer’s
certificate of origin.

OFFICIAL INSPECTION STATION: The Motor
Vehicle Safety Inspection Stations in Wilmington, New Castle,
Dover and Georgetown, Delaware, operated by the Division.

REASONABLE COST: The actual cost of parts and labor
which is necessary to cause the failed motor vehicle to comply
with applicable emissions standards or which contributes
toward compliance.  It shall not include the cost of those
repairs determined by the Division to be necessary due to
alteration or removal of any part of the emission control system
of the motor vehicle, or due to any damage resulting from the
use of improper fuel in the failed motor vehicle.

REGISTERED GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT (G.V.W.):
The vehicle gross weight designated  by the Division on the
vehicle registration card which is the total weight of the vehicle
and its maximum allowable load.

VEHICLE: Means every device in, upon or by which any
person or property is or  may be transported or drawn upon a
public highway, excepting devices moved by human power
or used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks and
excepting off-highway vehicles.

05/09/85
Section 3 - Registration Requirement

3.1 Effective January 1, 1983, no motor vehicle that is subject
to this regulation may be granted registration in the State of
Delaware unless the motor vehicle is in compliance with the
applicable emissions standards, regardless of its pass/fail status
of other tests normally performed at the official inspection
station.

Section 4 - Exemptions

4.1 The following motor vehicles are exempt from the
provisions of this regulation:

A. All farm vehicles not required by law to be registered
B. All historic vehicles, kit cars or antique vehicles

displaying antique vehicle registration plates.
C. All motor vehicles with a registered G.V.W. over

8,500 pounds.
D. All motorcycles.
E. All vehicles that are registered in Delaware, but are

not operated in Delaware consistent with established
procedures of the Division.

F. All vehicles that obtain power by a means other than
gasoline internal combustion.  (Example:  diesel, electric,
propane, etc.)

4.2 Any exemption issued to a vehicle under this Section
will not have an expiration date and will expire only upon a
change in the vehicle status for which exemption was initially
granted.

07/06/82
Section 5 - Enforcement

5.1 Enforcement shall be in accordance with the provisions
of 7 Del. C., Chapter 67.

08/14/96
Section 6 - Compliance, Waivers and Extensions of Time

6.1 Compliance with applicable emissions standards shall be
determined at an official inspection station or at a fleet
inspection station.  The idle test procedure prescribed by the
Department in Technical Memorandum #1 entitled “Motor
Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program - Vehicle Test
Procedure and Machine Calibration”, dated 6/9/82, shall be
the official test procedure.  A pass/fail printout from the
emission testing equipment given to the driver will serve as
the driver’s record of the test results.

A. Any motor vehicle shall be deemed to be in
compliance with Section 3.1 if the test results are equal to or
less than the emissions standards applicable to the motor
vehicle.
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B. Except as provided in Section 6.1 C, any motor

vehicle shall be deemed to be in noncompliance with Section
3.1 if the test results are greater than the emissions standards
applicable to the motor vehicle.

C. Any motor vehicle which fails its initial emissions
test shall be deemed to be in compliance with Section 3.1 if
not later than the registration expiration date, the motor vehicle
either (1) is repaired at reasonable cost and is in compliance
with applicable emissions standards as determined by an
emissions retest at an Official Inspection Station, or (2) is
granted a waiver pursuant to Section 6.2, or (3) is granted an
extension of time not to exceed one month.

D. Whenever the owner of a failed motor vehicle
determines to the satisfaction of the Division that it cannot be
repaired at reasonable cost, the owner may be granted a waiver
provided the owner makes application to the Division prior
to the registration expiration date or by such other time as
may be specified by the Division.

6.2 Waiver issuance criteria
A. Waivers shall be issued only after a vehicle has failed

a retest performed after all qualifying repairs have been
completed, and a minimum of 10% improvement (reduction)
in hydrocarbons (HC) and carbon monoxide (CO) has resulted
from those repairs.

B. Any available warranty coverage shall be used to
obtain needed repairs before expenditures can be counted
towards the cost limits in Section 6.2 E of this regulation.
The operator of a vehicle within the statutory age and mileage
coverage under section 207(b) of the Clean Air Act shall
present a written denial of warranty coverage from the
manufacturer or authorized dealer for this provision to be
waived for approved tests applicable to the vehicle.

C. Waivers shall not be issued to vehicles for tampering-
related repairs.  The cost of tampering-related repairs shall
not be applicable to the minimum expenditure in Section 6.2
F of this regulation.  An exemption for tampering-related
repairs may be issued if it can be verified that the part in
question or one similar to it is no longer available for sale.

Repairs shall be appropriate to the cause of the test failure,
and a visual check shall be made to determine if repairs were
actually made if, given the nature of the repair, it can be
visually confirmed.  Receipts shall be submitted for review to
further verify that qualifying repairs were performed.

E. Effective January 1, 1997, repairs on any 1981 or
later model year vehicle registered in New Castle or Kent
Counties shall be performed by a repair technician jointly
certified by the Department, the Department of Public Safety
and the Delaware Technical and Community College (or other
training agency or training company approved by the
Department), in order to qualify for a waiver.  Repairs
performed by non-technicians (e.g. owners) may apply toward
the waiver limit for pre-1981 model year vehicles.  Repair
facilities shall report monthly to the Department the Certificate

Serial Number of all Certified Emissions Repair Technicians
under their employ.

F.E. A minimum of $75 for pre-81 vehicles and $200 for
1981 and later vehicles shall be spent on related repairs in
order to qualify for a waiver.  This minimum cost should not
be construed as an amount which must be spent as a condition
of compliance after an initial failure.  This cost relates only to
the minimum cost which must be incurred when determining
the eligibility of granting a waiver.  In addition, this regulation
does not prevent the vehicle owner from performing self-
repairs.

6.3 The Division shall be responsible for specifying any forms
or procedures to be followed in making applications pursuant
to Section 6.2.

6.4 Waivers issued pursuant to this regulation are valid until
the date of current registration expiration.

6.5 Quality control of waiver issuance.
A. The program shall include methods of informing

vehicle owners or lessors of potential warranty coverage, and
ways to obtain warranty repairs.

B. The program shall insure that repair receipts are
authentic and cannot be revised or reused.

C. The program shall insure that waivers are only valid
for one test cycle.

07/06/82
Section 7 - Inspection Facility Requirements

7.1 Motor Vehicle Officers employed by the Division shall
meet the requirements specified in this regulation.

7.2 Test equipment used by the Division shall be a type
approved by the Department and testing procedures shall be
conducted in accordance with the provisions of this regulation.

7.3 No person employed by the Division to test motor vehicle
emissions shall engage in or have an interest in the operation
of repair facilities located in this State; perform emission
related repairs for compensation; or recommend repair
facilities to owners or operators of vehicles being tested.

07/06/82
Section 8 - Certification of Motor Vehicle Officers

8.1 A person may not perform the duties of a motor vehicle
officer for testing motor vehicle emissions or operating
emission testing equipment to determine the compliance or
noncompliance of a motor vehicle as required by this
regulation at an official inspection station unless that person
has applied for and has received certification in accordance
with the provisions of this Section.
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8.2 To become certified, a person shall successfully complete
a training course for this purpose approved by the Division.

07/06/82
Section 9 - Calibration and Test Procedures and Approved
Equipment

9.1 All emissions testing for the purpose of determining
compliance with emissions standards shall be performed using
equipment approved by the Department and calibration and
test procedures as provided in this regulation.

9.2 Calibration and test procedures shall be those established
by the Department in Technical Memorandum #1 entitled
“Motor Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program -
Vehicle Test Procedure and Machine Calibration”, dated 6/9/
82.

REGULATION NO. 33

MOTOR VEHICLE PRESSURE TEST AND EMISSION
CONTROL DEVICE INSPECTION PROGRAM

02/08/95
Section 1 - Applicability and General Provisions

1.1 Except as provided in Section 4 of this regulation, the
standards, requirements and procedures set forth in this
regulation are applicable to all 1968 and later automobiles
and station wagons and 1970 and later light duty trucks titled
and registered within the counties of New Castle and Kent, in
the State of Delaware and as specified by the Department,
including any motor vehicles owned or operated by the federal,
state and local governments and their agencies.

02/08/95
Section 2 - Definitions

DEPARTMENT: The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control of the State of Delaware.

DIVISION: The Division of Motor Vehicles in the
Department of Public Safety of the State of Delaware.

EMISSIONS: For the purposes of this regulation,
emissions are uncombusted fuel from the fuel storage and
delivery system of motor vehicles.

EMISSIONS INSPECTION AREA: For the
purposes of this regulation, the emissions inspection area will
constitute the counties of New and Kent, effective January 1,
1995.

EMISSIONS STANDARD(S): The fuel system integrity
standards in Technical Memorandum #1 entitled “Motor
Vehicle Pressure Test Program Procedure, Standards and
Machine Calibration” dated 02/08/95, or the emission control
device integrity standards in Technical Memorandum #2
entitled “Motor Vehicle Emission Control Device Inspection
Program Procedure and Standards” dated 02/08/95.

FAILED MOTOR VEHICLE: Any motor vehicle
which does not comply with applicable emission standards
as prescribed in Technical Memorandums #1 or #2 to this
Regulation during the initial test or any retest.

FLEET INSPECTION STATION: A facility approved by
the Division to conduct emissions inspections of the motor
vehicles of a qualified fleet as determined by the Division.

MODEL YEAR: The year of manufacture of a vehicle as
designated by the manufacturer, or the model year designation
assigned by the Division to a vehicle constructed by other
than the original manufacturer.

MOTOR VEHICLE: Includes every vehicle, as defined in
21 Del. Code, Section 101, which is self-propelled, except
farm tractors and off-highway vehicles.

MOTOR VEHICLE OFFICER: A person who has
completed an approved emissions inspection equipment
training program and is employed by an official inspection
station.

NEW MOTOR VEHICLE: A motor vehicle of the
current or preceding model year that has never been previously
titled or registered in this or any other jurisdiction and whose
ownership document remains as a manufacturer’s certificate
of origin.

OFFICIAL INSPECTION STATION: The Motor
Vehicle Safety Inspection Stations in  Wilmington, New
Castle, Dover and Georgetown, Delaware, operated by the
Division.

REGISTERED GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT (G.V.W.):
The vehicle gross weight designated by the Division on the
vehicle registration card which is the total weight of the vehicle
and its maximum allowable load.

VEHICLE: Means every device in, upon or by which any
person or property is or  may be transported or drawn upon a
public highway, excepting devices moved by human power
or used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks and
excepting off-highway vehicles.
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02/08/95
Section 3 - Registration Requirement

3.1 Effective January 1, 1995, no motor vehicle that is subject
to this regulation may be granted registration in the State of
Delaware unless the motor vehicle is in compliance with the
applicable emissions standards as prescribed in Technical
Memorandums #1 and #2 to this Regulation regardless of its
pass/fail status of other tests normally performed at the official
inspection station.

02/08/95
Section 4 - Exemptions

4.1 The following motor vehicles are exempt from the
provisions of this regulation:

A. All farm vehicles not required by law to be registered.
B. All historic vehicles, kit cars or antique vehicles

displaying antique vehicle registration plates.
C. All motor vehicles with a registered G.V.W. over

8,500 pounds.
D. All motorcycles.
E. All vehicles that are registered in Delaware, but are

not operated in Delaware consistent with established
procedures of the Division.

F. All vehicles that obtain power by a means other than
gasoline internal combustion.  (Example:  diesel, electric,
propane, etc.)

4.2 Any exemption issued to a vehicle under this Section
will not have an expiration date and will expire only upon a
change in the vehicle status for which exemption was initially
granted.

02/08/95
Section 5 - Enforcement
5.1 Enforcement shall be in accordance with the provisions
of 7 Del. C., Chapter 67.

02/08/95
Section 6 - Compliance

6.1 Compliance with applicable emissions standards shall be
determined at an official inspection station or at a fleet
inspection station.

A. The Pressure Test procedure for vehicles registered
in the Emissions Inspection Area prescribed by the Department
in Technical Memorandum #1 to this regulation entitled
“Motor Vehicle Pressure Test Program Procedure, Standards
and Machine Calibration”, dated 02/08/95, shall be the official
test procedure.  A pass/fail indication on the inspection card
given to the driver will serve as the driver’s record of the test
results.

1. Any motor vehicle shall be deemed to be in

compliance with Section 3.1 if the test results indicate adequate
fuel storage and delivery system integrity as a result of the
test being performed.

2. Except as provided in Section 6.2, any motor
vehicle shall be deemed to be in noncompliance with Section
3.1 if the test results do not indicate adequate fuel storage and
delivery system integrity as a result of the test being performed.

B. The Emission Control Device Inspection procedure
for vehicles registered in the Emissions Inspection Area
prescribed by the Department in Technical Memorandum #2
to this regulation entitled “Motor Vehicle Emission Control
Device Inspection Program Procedure and Standards”, dated
02/08/95, shall be the official test procedure.  A pass/fail
indication on the inspection card given to the driver will serve
as the driver’s record of the test results.

1. Any motor vehicle shall be deemed to be in
compliance with Section 3.1 if the test results indicate that no
removal or tampering is indicated on the appropriate emission
controls as a result of the test being performed.

2. Except as provided in Section 6.2, any motor
vehicle shall be deemed to be in noncompliance with Section
3.1 if the test results indicate that removal or tampering is
indicated on the appropriate emission controls as a result of
the test being performed.
6.2 Any motor vehicle which fails its initial pressure test or
emission control device inspection shall be deemed to be in
compliance with Section 3.1 if not later than the registration
expiration date, the motor vehicle either (1) is repaired and is
in compliance with applicable emissions standards as
determined by an emissions retest at an Official Inspection
Station, or (2) is granted an extension of time not to exceed
one month.

02/08/95
Section 7 - Inspection Facility Requirements

7.1 Motor Vehicle Officers employed by the Division shall
meet the requirements specified in this regulation.

7.2 Test equipment used by the Division shall be a type
approved by the Department and testing procedures shall be
conducted in accordance with the provisions of this regulation.

7.3 No person employed by the Division to test motor
vehicles shall engage in or have an interest in the operation of
repair facilities located in this State; perform emission related
repairs for compensation; or recommend repair facilities to
owners or operators of vehicles being tested.

02/08/95
Section 8 - Certification of Motor Vehicle Officers

8.1 A person may not perform the duties of a motor vehicle
officer or operate emission testing equipment to determine
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the compliance or noncompliance of a motor vehicle as
required by this regulation at an official inspection station
unless that person has applied for and has received certification
in accordance with the provisions of this Section.
8.2 To become certified, a person shall successfully complete
a training course for this purpose approved by the Division.

02/08/95
Section 9 - Calibration, Test Procedures, Standards and
Approved Equipment

9.1 Pressure Test Inspection
A. All pressure testing for the purpose of determining

compliance with emissions standards as prescribed in
Technical Memorandum #1 to this Regulation, dated 02/08/
95, shall be performed using equipment approved by the
Department and calibration and test procedures as provided
in this regulation.

B. Calibration, test procedures and standards for
Pressure Testing shall be those established by the Department
in Technical Memorandum #1 to this regulation, dated 02/8/
95.

9.2 Emission Control Device Inspection
A. All emission control device inspections, for the

purpose of determining compliance with emissions standards
as prescribed in Technical Memorandum #2 to this Regulation,
dated 02/08/95, shall be performed using equipment approved
by the Department and calibration and test procedures as
provided in this regulation.

B. Test procedures and standards for emission control
device inspection shall be those established by the Department
in Technical Memorandum #2 to this regulation, dated 02/
08/95.

Motor Vehicle Pressure Test and Emission Control Device
Inspection Program

Technical Memorandum #1 02/08/95
Pressure Test

A. Purpose
The integrity (pressure) test determines that the fuel

vapors are not leaking into the atmosphere, but are being
correctly routed to the carbon canister where they are stored
until being recycled into the engine.

B. Test Procedures
The test procedures using nitrogen or “clean air” as tracer

gas are as follows:
1. Remove the gas cap and connect the appropriate filler

adapter;
2. Locate the carbon canister; and clamp the hose from

the canister to the gas tank as close to the canister as possible.
Make sure the hose does not crack during clamping.

3. Pressurize the gas tank to 28 inches of water, then
shut off the flow and allow the pressure to stabilize;

4. Monitor the system pressure decay for two (2)
minutes; and

5. Remove the clamp and monitor for a drop in
pressure.

C. Pass/Fail Criteria
Vehicles fail the evaporative system pressure test if the

system cannot maintain a pressure above eight inches of water
for two minutes after being pressurized (or after some lesser
time if a demonstrated equivalency is accepted by the
Department).  Additionally, vehicles fail the evaporative test
if the canister is missing or obviously damaged, if hoses are
missing or obviously disconnected, or if the gas cap is missing.

D. Calibrations, Adjustments and Quality Control
1. Evaporative System Integrity Test Equipment

(a) On a weekly basis pressure measurement
devices shall be checked against a reference device with
performance specifications equal to or better than those
specified for the measurement device.  Deviations exceeding
the performance specifications shall be corrected.  Flow
measurement devices, if any, shall be checked.

(b) Systems that monitor evaporative system leaks
shall be checked for integrity on a daily basis by sealing and
pressurizing.

2. Pass/fail determinations will be recorded
electronically for test compliance along with all other test data
and incorporated in the Motor Vehicle database.

Motor Vehicle Pressure Test and Emission Control Device
Inspection Program

Technical Memorandum #2 02/08/95
Emission Control Device Inspection

A. Purpose
Visual emission  control device checks will be performed

by the inspector through direct observation or through indirect
observation using a mirror, video camera or other visual aid.
These inspections will include a determination as to whether
each subject device is present and appears to be properly
connected and appears to be the correct type for the certified
vehicle configuration.

B. The test procedures used to perform the inspections
includes the following:

1. Verify the existence of the fuel inlet restrictor and
the gas cap;

2. Verify that the fuel inlet restrictor is in place and
undamaged, and

3. Check for the presence of a catalytic converter(s).

C. Pass/Fail Determinations
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Vehicles will fail the visual inspection of emission control

devices if such devices are part of the original certified
configuration and are found to be missing modified,
disconnected, or improperly connected.  Aftermarket parts,
as well as original equipment manufactured parts, may be
considered correct if they are proper for the certified vehicle
configuration.  Where EPA aftermarket approval or self-
certification program exists for a particular class of subject
parts, vehicles will fail visual equipment inspections if the
part is neither original equipment nor from an approved or
self-certified aftermarket manufacturer.

D. Calibrations, Adjustments and Quality Control
1. Data must be recorded for each vehicle tested in

electronic format.  This data must positively identify that all
three tests of the vehicle’s emission control system were tested
and the results for each three tests separately recorded for
that vehicle.

2 All pass/fail determinations will be recorded
electronically for test compliance along with all other test data
and incorporated in the Motor Vehicle database.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

COOPERATIVE EDUCATION PROGRAMS

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to amend the regulations entitled Cooperative
Education, page E-5, Section V.D.2. a and b., and Credit for
Vocational-Technical Courses, pages E-6 and E-7, Section
V.E.  Both of these existing regulations address the same topic,
Cooperative Education Programs.  The amended regulation
combines the regulatory elements of both sections and adds
the word “shall” to the statements to be clear that these are
required elements.  Because the amended regulation now takes
a stronger position on the requirements for Cooperative
Education Programs the amended regulation will not take
effect until the 1999-2000 school year to allow the districts to
make the necessary adjustments.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendments help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement standards?

This amended regulation is designed to more clearly and
completely define the elements necessary for cooperative
education programs to be eligible for Vocational-Technical
Education funding units.

2. Will the amendments help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

This regulation will help ensure that all cooperative
education programs meet the same standards.

3. Will the amendments help to ensure that all students’
health and safety are adequately protected?

This amended regulation helps to ensure that students in
cooperative education programs are well supervised at their
job site.

4. Will the amendments help to ensure that all students’
legal rights are respected?

This amended regulation will help to ensure that students’
legal rights are protected through requiring signed work
agreements.

5. Will the amendments preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local board
and school level.

6. Will the amendments place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation may increase the reporting and
administrative requirements if the existing regulation was not
being followed as intended but the program is elective and is
not required by the state.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amended regulation will maintain decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendments be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?

This amended regulation will not be an impediment to
the implementation of other state educational policies.

http://www.doe.state.de.us/docs/index_js.asp
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9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing

the purpose of the amendments?
The amended regulation is necessary because it provides

the local districts with the requirements that must be met in
order to secure funding for the programs.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school boards
of compliance with the amendments?

The amended regulation does not add any additional costs
that will not be met through vocational-technical education
funding units.

FROM THE HANDBOOK FOR K-12 EDUCATION

V.D.2. CO-OPERATIVE EDUCATION
a. Co-operative education is the educational component

which provides the vocational-technical student with
coordinated on-the-job work and training not ordinarily
available within the classroom.  During the student’s senior
year, employers provide on-the-job training in occupations
directly related to the vocational-technical education program
in which the student is enrolled.

b. One class period for every fifteen (15) students
enrolled will be provided to a vocational-technical teacher-
coordinator to make regular visits to the student’s place of
employment to ensure coordination between the classroom
and the on-the-job learning experience.

(1) The following requirements must be in place
prior to a student’s participation in a co-operative education
program:

(a) A student must possess minimum
occupational competencies specified by the teacher-
coordinator before being placed in co-operative employment;

(b) The student must be enrolled in a high
school or a vocational-technical school;

(c) The student must be actively enrolled in an
approved vocational-technical education program;

(d) The co-operative work experience must
directly relate to the student’s vocational-technical education
program and be supervised through on-site visits by an
assigned vocational teacher coordinator;

(e) The school must have a training agreement
on file and signed by a parent or guardian, the employer, the
student and the teacher; and

(f) The school must have on file a State Work
Permit for Minors (ages 14-17) signed before employment
begins by the student’s parent or guardian, employer and
issuing school officer.

(g) All state and federal labor and Office of
Civil Rights (OCR) laws must be enforced.

E. CREDIT FOR VOCATIONAL-TECHNICAL
COURSES

Vocational-Technical education has become a valuable

part of the high school Program of Studies as part of the
emphasis upon career development and preparation of every
student.  All vocational-technical education courses have
established standards of expectation or performance and
convey credit to students based upon either appropriate
instructional time and/or equivalent performance criteria.

1. Where co-operative work experience is an integral
part of the vocational-technical education program course of
study, reference should be made to guidelines establishing
the basis for earning units of credit.  Two hours of co-operative
work experience are equivalent to one hour of instructional
time.  In order to receive credit for co-operative work
experience, a student must be enrolled in a full-time
vocational-technical program.  The student must also be
employed in a work assignment directly related to the
vocational program with on site coordination visits provided
by district vocational personnel.

a. Up to one-half unit of credit shall be granted to
students by the principal of each high school for successful
participation in each approved summer co-operative work
experience program.  This credit may be applied toward the
units of credit necessary for graduation.

b. A minimum of one class period per day for every
fifteen (15) students enrolled and counted in a co-operative
work program must be provided to the vocational-technical
teacher for the purpose of making work station visitations
and providing the necessary coordination between classroom
and on-the-job training.

AS AMENDED

COOPERATIVE EDUCATION

1. Cooperative Education provides senior Vocational-
Technical students with coordinated on-the-job training not
ordinarily available in the classroom.  During the student’s
senior year, employers may provide this on-the-job training
in occupations directly related to the vocational-technical
education program in which the student is enrolled.  For the
purpose of granting credit during the school year two hours
of cooperative work experience shall equal one hour of
instructional time.  In a summer cooperative education work
experience program one half unit of credit shall be granted
and shall be counted toward the units of credit necessary for
graduation.

2. In order to qualify for Vocational-Technical
Education funding units beginning with the 1999-2000 school
year:

a. A vocational-technical education teacher shall
be provided with a full class period, each day, for every thirty
(30) students enrolled in the program in order to make
quarterly visits to the student’s place of employment to ensure
coordination between the classroom and the on-the-job
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experience.

b. Students shall possess minimum occupational
competencies specified by the vocational-technical teacher
coordinator before being placed in cooperative employment.

c. Students shall be in their senior year.
d. The cooperative work experience shall relate

directly to the student’s current or completed vocational-
technical education program and be supervised through on
site visits by an assigned vocational-technical teacher
coordinator.

e. The school shall have on file, for each student:
(1) a training agreement signed by a parent or

guardian, the employer, the student and a representative of
the district.

(2) a State Work Permit for Minors (ages 14-
17) signed by the parent or guardian, the employer, and the
issuing school officer before employment begins.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

DIVERSIFIED OCCUPATIONS PROGRAMS

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

New Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to adopt regulations for Diversified Occupations
Programs.  Diversified Occupations Programs have been in
existence for many years and have been eligible for State
Vocational-Technical Education funding units but the
programs have never had any specific regulations.  The
program is similar to the Cooperative Education Program and
the regulations have been developed to reflect the similarity.
The major differences in the regulations are the type of work
experience required and the years when students can
participate.   Because the regulations now take a stronger
position than is evident in actual practice, the regulation will
not take effect until the 1999-2000 school year to allow the
districts to make the necessary adjustments.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the regulation help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement standards?

The regulation is designed to clearly and completely
define the elements necessary for diversified education
programs to be eligible for vocational-technical education

funding.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

This regulation will help insure that all diversified
education programs meet the same standards.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’
health and safety are adequately protected?

This regulation helps to ensure that students in
diversified occupations programs are well supervised at their
job site.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’
legal rights are respected?

This regulation will help to ensure that students’ legal
rights are protected through requiring signed work agreements.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority
and flexibility of decision makers at the local board and school
level?

This regulation will preserve the necessary authority
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and school
level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

This regulation does require some additional
reporting and administration but it is an elective program and
not required by the state.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

This regulation will maintain decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?

This regulation will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

The regulation is necessary because it provides the
local districts with the requirements that must be met in order
to secure funding for the program.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school boards
of compliance with the regulation?

http://www.doe.state.de.us/docs/index_js.asp
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The regulation does not add any additional costs that

will not be met through vocational-technical education funding
units.

DIVERSIFIED OCCUPATIONS PROGRAMS

1. Diversified Occupations Programs provides students
with coordinated on-the-job training not ordinarily available
in the classroom.  During the student’s junior and senior year,
employers provide this on-the-job training.  For the purpose
of granting credit during the school year, two hours of work
experience shall equal one hour of instructional time.  In a
summer Diversified Occupations work experience program
one half unit of credit shall be granted and that credit shall be
counted toward the units of credit necessary for graduation.

2. In order to qualify for Vocational-Technical
Education funding units beginning with the 1999-2000 school
year:

a. A vocational-technical education teacher shall
be provided with a full class period, each day, for every thirty
(30) students enrolled in the program in order to make
quarterly visits to the student’s place of employment to ensure
coordination between the classroom and the on-the-job
experience.

b. Students shall possess minimum competencies
as specified by the teacher coordinator before being placed in
a diversified occupations employment situation.

c. Students shall be in their junior or senior year
and be actively enrolled in a Diversified Occupations Program.

d. The Diversified Occupations work experience
shall be supervised through on-site visits by the teacher
coordinator.

e. The school shall have on file, for each student:
(1) a training agreement signed by a parent or

guardian, the employer, the student and the teacher.
(2) a State Work Permit for Minors (ages 14-

17) signed by the student’s parent or guardian, employer and
issuing school officer before employment begins.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to amend the Regulation, Student Rights and
Responsibilities, page A-2, I.B.4, in the Handbook for K-12
Education.  The regulation requires the local school districts
to establish their own policies on student rights and
responsibilities and to base the policies on the Department of
Education document Guidelines for the Development of
District Policies on Student Rights and Responsibilities and
on the Policy for School Districts on the Possession, Use or
Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol.  The amendment changes
the word “must” to “shall”, changes the title of the DOE
document to Technical Assistance Manual for the
Development of District Policies on Student Rights and
Responsibilities, and adds the policy, School District
Compliance with the Gun Free School Act to the list for school
district reference.  The regulation is also amended to add that
the school district “shall” distribute these policies to every
student in the school district every year.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendments help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement standards?

This amended regulation addresses student rights and
responsibilities, not curriculum issues.

2. Will the amendments help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

This amended regulation does not deal directly with
issues of an equitable education.

3. Will the amendments help to ensure that all students’
health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation does address safety as an
aspect of student rights and responsibilities.

4. Will the amendments help to ensure that all students’
legal rights are respected?

This amended regulation is designed to assure that
districts have adopted policies that protect students rights.

5. Will the amendments preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation maintains the policy making
on student rights and responsibilities at the local level.

6. Will the amendments place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation does not add any reporting
or administrative requirements.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability

http://www.doe.state.de.us/docs/index_js.asp
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for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amended regulation maintains the decision making
authority and accountability at the local district level.

8. Will the amendments be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?

The amended regulation will not be an impediment
to other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendments?

This amended regulation must be in place to protect
students’ rights.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school boards
of compliance with the amended regulation?

The amended regulation does not add any additional
cost.

FROM THE HANDBOOK FOR K-12 EDUCATION

I.B.4. STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

All local school districts must establish their own policies
on student rights and responsibilities.  The local district’s
policy should be based on the State Board of Education
Document, Guidelines for the Development of District Policies
on Student Rights and Responsibilities (October 1988) and
to the State Board Policy for School Districts on the
Possession, Use or Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol (State
Board Approved July 1990, Revised January 1991).  See Page
A-55.

AS AMENDED

STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

All local school districts shall have their own policies on
student rights and responsibilities and shall distribute these
policies to every student in the school district at the beginning
of every school year.  The local district’s policies shall be
based on the Technical Assistance Manual for the
Development of District Policies on Student Rights and
Responsibilities and on the Department of Education
Regulations, Policy for School Districts on the Possession,
Use or Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol, and School District
Compliance with the Gun Free School Act.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOL DISCIPLINE
IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to amend the regulations entitled Comprehensive
School Discipline Improvement Program.  These regulations
are found in a document entitled Comprehensive School
Discipline Improvement, Regulations Governing Alternative
and Intervention Programs, which is located in Appendix G
of the Handbook for K-12 Education.  There is also a reference
to Appendix G and to these programs in the Handbook for K-
12 Education, page A-3, I.B.5.  These regulations were
developed as required by 14 Del. C., Chapter 16, Sections
1601 to 1607, Comprehensive School Discipline Improvement
Program.  The Code defines three programs available to school
districts.  They include Alternative Settings for Disruptive
Students, School Based Intervention Programs and Prevention
Programs.  The first two programs are administered and
regulated by the Department of Education, the third is co-
administered by the Family Services Cabinet Council, the
Department of Services for Children, Youth and their Families,
and the Department of Education.  In reviewing the DOE
regulations for these programs the materials presented in the
first section, Alternative Settings for Disruptive Students,
contain nine DOE regulations which need to be amended and
readopted.  The other section in the DOE regulations, School
Based Intervention Programs, does not contain any DOE
regulations since the materials in this section are simply a
repeat of information which is in the Code or is technical
assistance. The Department of Education did not regulate or
provide technical assistance in this document for the third
program, Prevention Programs, described in the Code.  The
nine regulations for the Alternative Settings For Disruptive
Students Program include regulations on the following:
Population to be Served, Non-referral of Students, Informing
the Legal Guardian, Age/Grade Level to be Served, Placement
in Alternative Programs, September 30th Enrollment Count,
Alternative Program Setting, Alternative Program Design and
Staffing.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendments help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement standards?

http://www.doe.state.de.us/docs/index_js.asp
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This amended regulation is designed to provide an

alternative setting for students that will be conducive to
improving their academic achievement.

2. Will the amendments help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?  This amended regulation
helps both the student assigned to the alternative program and
the other students to have a chance at an equitable education.

3. Will the amendments help to ensure that all students’
health and safety are adequately protected?

This regulation will help to ensure that all students’
safety is protected by removing those students that are
discipline problems from the mainstream classroom setting.

4. Will amendments help to ensure that all students’
legal rights are respected?

This amended regulation will help to protect the legal
rights of all students by providing an alternative educational
setting for those students who are disruptive.

5. Will the amendments preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation does not alter the authority
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and school
level.

6. Will the amendments place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

This amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements upon
decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The authority and accountability will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the amendments be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?

The amended regulation will not be an impediment
to any other educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendments?

The Del. C., Chapter 16, requires the Department of
Education to make regulations for these programs.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school boards
of compliance with the amendments?

The amended regulation does not add any additional
costs.

FROM THE HANDBOOK FOR K-12 EDUCATION

I.B.5. COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOL DISCIPLINE
IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM

Title 14, Delaware Code, was amended by HB 247, which
adds a new Chapter 16, Comprehensive School Discipline
Improvement Program.  This chapter provides for the
establishment of a statewide comprehensive program to
improve student discipline in the public elementary and
secondary schools of the State.  The program shall provide
for the treatment of pupils who are exhibiting discipline
problems and for the establishment of services to school pupils
which will reduce the rate and severity of discipline problems
in the future.  The program shall operate under the supervision
and direction of the State Board of Education.  For the
Regulations Governing Alternative, Intervention, and
Prevention Programs, see Appendix G, State Board Approved
September, 1994.

APPENDIX G

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
and

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOL DISCIPLINE
IMPROVEMENT

REGULATIONS GOVERNING
ALTERNATIVE, INTERVENTION AND PREVENTION

PROGRAMS

STATE OF DELAWARE

COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOL DISCIPLINE
IMPROVEMENT

REGULATIONS GOVERNING
ALTERNATIVE AND INTERVENTION

PROGRAMS

Approved by State Board of Education
August, 1995

For further information or explanation, please contact:
Ronald A. Meade
Education Associate, School Climate and Discipline

Department of Public Instruction
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ALTERNATIVE SETTINGS FOR DISRUPTIVE
STUDENTS

A.  Student Population to be Served.  Alternative settings
will serve those students whose behavior has resulted in
recommendations for expulsion, who have been expelled, or
who exhibit such severe behavior problems that
recommendations for expulsion appear to be imminent.
Except as otherwise provided herein, all students who are
expelled by a local school district must be placed in these
alternative programs unless the student is expelled for an
offense equivalent to a violation of one of the following:  11
Del. C. Sec. 613 (Assault in the First Degree); or 11 Del. C.
Sec. 1457 (Possession of a Weapon in a Safe School and
Recreation Zone); or 11 Del. C. Sec. 802 (Arson in the Second
Degree); or 11 Del. C. Sec. 803 (Arson in the First Degree);
or 11 Del. C. Sec. 770 (Unlawful Sexual Penetration in the

Third Degree); or 11 Del. C. Sec. 771 (Unlawful Sexual
Penetration in the Second Degree); or 11 Del. C. Sec. 772
(Unlawful Sexual Penetration in the First Degree); or 11 Del.
C. Sec. 773 (Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in the Third Degree);
or 11 Del. C. Sec. 774 (Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in the
Second Degree); or 11 Del. C. Sec. 775 (Unlawful Sexual
Intercourse in the First Degree); or 16 Del. C. Sec. 4753A
(Trafficking in Marijuana, Cocaine, Illegal Drugs or
Methamphetamine).  In any case in which an expelled student
is not referred to an alternative program, the decision of the
local school district to expel must state with specificity the
reason for nonreferral and the evidence in support thereof.
Notwithstanding that a student is found to have committed an
offense equivalent to one or more of those enumerated above,
a local superintendent may on a case-by-case basis, assign a
student to an alternative program.  Also, other placements
must be pursued to the extent possible through the courts and
other agencies.  Students sixteen years of age or older may be
placed in the alternative program, or may be directed to some
other educationally oriented program that will best serve his/
her needs, but shall not be denied educational services unless
the student is expelled for an offense equivalent to those
enumerated above.  Districts must inform the legal guardian
of students for whom expulsion is being considered or who
are expelled of the alternative education options that are then
currently available to the students.  These options shall include
but not be limited to alternative schools, GED programs, James
H. Groves High School and others.

Both regular and special education students will be served
by these programs.  In addition, students who are returning to
local school districts from DSCYF facilities (Ferris, Stevenson
House, New Castle County Detention Center, etc.) may be
placed in these programs as a transition step.  This placement
will be determined in concert by the DSCYF staff, local school
district Alternative Placement Team, the Alternative Program
staff, and the student’s custodial adult.

Students with disabilities must be served under the rules
and regulations in the Administrative Manual: Programs for
Exceptional Children (AMPEC).  When considering
placement, the IEP (Individual Education Program) Team
must be convened to determine the appropriate placement in
alternative or other educational settings based on the needs of
the student.  The Alternative Program is designed to primarily
serve students who exhibit serious disciplinary problems and
who have been expelled or are in danger of being expelled.
The Alternative Placement Team and the IEP Team may be
one and the same provided it includes the essential
membership of the IEP Team as defined in AMPEC.

B.  Age/Grade Levels to be Served.  Eligible students
will be primarily those who are enrolled in grades 6 through
12, however students in lower grades may also be served
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through these funds.

C.  Governance and Management.  Alternative programs
will be established by agreement of a consortium of school
districts, one in each of the three counties.  Representatives to
the consortia will be one person per school district and may
be the superintendent or his/her designee.  Each consortium
will agree regarding the site, program provider, fiscal agent,
and the overall design of the program, including behavioral
guidelines and expectations, within the parameters outlined
in these regulations.  Multiple sites may be established in each
county, however funds will not be allocated to individual
school districts to establish single district programs.  Programs
may be provided through contracted services.  One person
from the consortium will be designated by the consortium as
the point of contact for matters concerning the Alternative
Programs in each of the counties.  This person will be
responsible for seeing that reports and other related
requirements for the programs are met in a timely manner.

D.  Funding.  The annual budget act allocates funds to
the State Board for these programs statewide.  Although
specific amounts are not allocated per county, approximate
amounts should be as follows:  New Castle County--
approximately 50% of the base amount; Kent and Sussex
Counties--approximately 25% of the base amount each.  In
addition, consideration will be given to the number of students
served in the previous school year.  Districts must agree to
fund at least 30 percent of the total cost of services from
sources of funding other than those authorized by this
appropriation.  These funds may be generated through tuition
tax.  Other sources for the 30 percent match may be other
state funds as allowable and appropriate, local funds, or funds
generated through foundation or other grants.  Funds may
not be used to pay salaries or other employment costs above
the state share for teachers and aides.  Funds may be used for
any other purpose for which Division I and II funds may be
used.

E.  Transportation.  Costs for transportation will be paid
by the state from funds appropriated for student transportation
if transportation is provided by extending already existing
routes.  Shuttle services that extend existing routes will be
allowed.  Additional routes established to transport students
to and from the Alternative Programs or other special
transportation designs will not be paid by the state from the
school transportation appropriation and must be included in
the Alternative Program budget and be paid from the state
allocation for alternative programs and/or the districts’ 30%
share.  Planning committees for these programs must include
the transportation supervisors who will be providing services.
In addition, those supervisors must coordinate planning with
the Education Associate, School Transportation at the
Department of Public Instruction.  Transportation plans must

be submitted to the Education Associate, School
Transportation.

F.  Placement in Alternative Programs.  Each district will
establish an Alternative Placement Team to review each case
and prescribe the appropriate placement for each student.  The
Placement Team, in concert with the Alternative Program staff,
will design an Individual Service Plan (ISP) for each student
that will include educational goals, behavioral goals, and
services needed by both the student and his/her family.  The
ISP will include a tentative re-entry/transition plan.  Clear
expectations for behavior must be defined and agreed to by
all parties involved in the development of the ISP.  These
behavioral guidelines must be consistent for all students in
the Program, should be designed so that they are easily
understood and will raise expectations for student conduct
and academic achievement without being punitive.  They
should also be flexible enough to address special intervention
needs of individual students.  The Alternative Placement Team
will be composed of a representative of the Alternative
Program staff; a district level coordinator who will be
designated by the superintendent; the building level principal,
assistant principal or other person as appropriate; student’s
custodial adult; guidance counselor and/or school social
worker; representatives from DSCYF such as Youth
Rehabilitation Service or other worker with whom the family
is involved as appropriate.  Other school, alternative program,
or agency personnel may be invited as needed and determined
by the Placement Team.  Students who are being placed in
the Alternative Program as a transition from DSCYF facilities
will have an ISP developed in concert with the DSCYF facility
team, the Alternative Placement Team, and the student’s
custodial adult.  If students from either a school district or
DSCYF facility are students with disabilities, appropriate
special education staff shall be included in placement
considerations.  The Alternative Placement Team and the IEP
team may be the same if membership is consistent with that
described in Section II.A.

G.  September 30 Enrollment Count.  A student enrolled
in an Alternative Program may be counted in the regular school
enrollment count.  If enrolled the previous year in a special
education program in the reporting school, the student may
continue to be reported for the same level of special education
service as was received the previous year.  If enrolled the
previous year in a vocational program in the reporting school,
the student may be reported as enrolled in the next vocational
course in the program series.

H.  Alternative Program Setting.  The Alternative Program
setting shall be apart from any regular school setting, however
a part of a school building may be used for these programs so
long as the students do not interact with the regular school
population or use any school facility at the same time as the
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regular school population.  Use of other agency facilities (Boys
and Girls Clubs, YMCA, YWCA, etc.) is encouraged.  Settings
must meet safety regulations for student occupancy as outlined
in Delaware Code.

I.  Alternative Program Design.  The Alternative Program
shall include an educational program designed to maintain
and improve skills at least in core academic areas such as
English/language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies
that will allow students to re-enter the regular school program
with a reasonable chance and expectation for success.  Every
effort shall be made to provide courses comparable to the
regular school setting for each student.  Opportunities for
academic acceleration will also be provided.  The academic
program should focus on applied learning activities that
encourage students’ active participation in the learning process
as opposed to work sheets and other “seat oriented” drill
exercises.  Credit for work accomplished in the Alternative
Program setting will be automatically transferred to the regular
school.  Included in the academic core studies should be study
skills, test taking strategies, and academic confidence building.

The academic portion of the day should be structured so
that significant time can be devoted to behavioral and social
skill intervention, including conflict management strategies.
These skills should be emphasized in the interactions during
academic learning as well as in other group and one-on-one
activities.  Students should be involved in individual and group
counseling activities conducted by appropriate personnel.
These activities should focus on appropriate interaction with
peers, adults in the school setting, and peers and adults in
their families and communities and should include conflict
management skills.  Counseling and other services shall be
delivered on site for students.  In all cases the school day
must meet the requirements as outlined in the Delaware
Handbook for K-12 Education.  County consortia may request
waivers for the length of the school day.  Requests must
include specific descriptions of the daily schedule, activities
and rationale for the waiver.  Any shortening of the school
day for students with disabilities must be addressed through
the IEP process.

Consideration should be given to the development of a
community service/community employment component that
will provide opportunities for students to assume responsibility
in a real world setting, to become aware of career possibilities,
and to develop a sense of self-worth.  This component may
be developed in conjunction with service agencies, volunteer
or civic organizations, and/or vocational education providers.

Family participation in the Alternative Programs must
be encouraged through volunteer assistance, family night
programs, involvement in counseling, and other activities.

J.  Staffing.  Instructional staff should include at least
two certificated teachers in the major academic subject areas
who can provide the lead for academic instruction and at least
two instructional/service aides.  Priority should be given to
hiring staff who are qualified to teach special education.
Student/staff ratios should be kept as low as possible to allow
for significant interaction between adults and students as well
as appropriate supervision.  Counseling and other services
can be provided by personnel hired directly by the Program,
by personnel from other agencies contracted by the Program,
or by personnel from other agencies who are involved with
the student and/or his/her family.  Staff should be individuals
who have demonstrated ability and interest in working with
students of this age group who exhibit behavioral problems.
Staff must be willing to work collaboratively with school staff,
agency staff, and parents.  Student and family counseling
should be arranged as needed and should be coordinated with
other service providers such as DSCYF Child Mental Health
and Youth Rehabilitation Services.  The Secretary of the
Department of Services for Children, Youth and Families has
committed that the service providers from that agency will
cooperate to every extent possible in assisting with these
programs.

K.  Application.  County consortia must make application
for funds using forms and instructions provided by the
Department of Public Instruction.

L.  Evaluation.  In accordance with the Comprehensive
School Oversight Program, evaluation shall:  1) examine the
cost-effectiveness and programmatic results of the program;
2) examine consortium use of funding;  3) determine what, if
any, modification should be made to the alternative program
to deliver appropriate services to assigned students;  and 4)
develop performance measures to evaluate, on an on-going
basis, the effectiveness of the alternative program.
Criteria shall include student demographic data, types of
interventions employed, prior versus subsequent behavioral
and academic patterns, parent involvement, agency
involvement, recidivism, and other criteria as determined.

SCHOOL BASED INTERVENTION PROGRAMS

School Based Intervention Programs should be designed
to provide services directed at behavioral change of students
who disrupt the classroom setting and create distractions that
impede the learning process and the well-being of the
educational environment but whose behavior is not severe
enough for the student to be considered for expulsion.  The
Programs must be designed based on the individual school/
school district needs for such programs at grades K-12.

A.  Student Population to be Served.  All students in
grades K and above may be served by these programs.  Special
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education students must be served according to the rules and
regulations in the Administrative Manual for Programs for
Exceptional Children.

B.  Placement in School Based Programs.  Placement in
these programs shall be made at the discretion of the building
principal or assistant principal with consultation and
recommendation by the school counselor, school nurse, and/
or instructional staff.  When placing students with disabilities,
the IEP team should be convened to consider appropriateness
of placement.  Each school/district proposal must explain how
placement will be accomplished in each program.  When
placements are made for a time period beyond one day or for
more than three short term interventions (time outs for one or
more periods, etc.) contact with the parent must be made to
ascertain the student’s/family’s  involvement with other
agencies so that a total support system can be put in place via
the Intervention Team (see Program Design section)/
Alternative Placement Team.  The Secretary of the Department
of Services for Children, Youth and Families has committed
that staff in the department will cooperate and collaborate to
the extent possible in providing services for students and
families.

C.  Staffing.  Districts may use funds allocated for these
programs to hire staff which may include hiring two
instructional/service aides in lieu of one certificated staff
member.  Staff may be hired directly by the district or through
contracted services.  Staff who are qualified to teach special
education should be a priority.  Staff must be individuals who
have demonstrated ability and interest in working with students
of this age group who exhibit behavioral problems.  Staff must
also be willing to work collaboratively with school staff,
agency staff, and parents.

D.  School Based Program Design.  The program design
should include levels of service that will provide short term
intervention strategies that will deal with immediate needs as
well as longer term strategies that will provide counseling to
improve behavior, to improve academic performance, and to
determine the need for possible referral for other services
either within the school district or to other agencies.  These
programs should also include support services for students
who are returning to the regular school from the Alternative
Program and/or from a DSCYF setting to provide a smooth
transition.  This support may range from short counseling or
discussion sessions to academic support to placement for a
period or two each day as an “ease-in” to the regular school
structure.  Each school should put in place an Intervention
Team, which may be called by another title depending on the
school district’s choice, that will include appropriate building
level personnel such as the building principal or assistant
principal, school nurse, counselor and/or social worker, a
regular and a special education teacher.  Other staff may be

invited as appropriate.  It is strongly suggested that at least
one or more members of the Intervention Team also serve on
the Alternative Placement Team for that building.  The
Intervention Team and the IEP team may be one and the same
provided the essential membership of the IEP team as defined
by AMPEC is convened.

E.  Site-Based Committee.  Local school districts are
eligible to receive a supplemental grant greater than the dollar
amount for base grants funded in support of school based
intervention programs.  In order to qualify, schools shall
establish a site-based committee in the school to govern
discipline matters and shall meet the following criteria.
Supplemental grants shall be available for grades 7, 8, 9, and
10 only.

1)  The grant application must certify that the
majority of the members of the Site-Based Committee are
members of the school professional staff, of which a majority
shall be instructional staff; that the committee contains
representatives of the support staff, student body (for schools
enrolling students grades 7 through 12), parents, and the
community; that representatives of the employee groups are
chosen by members of each respective group and
representatives of the non-employee groups are appointed by
the local board of education; and that the committee operates
on the one-person, one-vote principle for reaching all
decisions.

2)  The grant application must certify that the
committee has the authority, within established state and
federal laws, state and federal regulations, local board policies,
local district codes of conduct, and local district budgetary
guidelines (unless relevant waivers have been granted) to:

(i)  establish a school code of conduct which
defines the roles and responsibilities of all members of the
school community (administrators, teachers, support staff,
contracted service personnel, students, families and child/
family advocates);

(ii)  hear concerns from a staff member
dissatisfied with the disposition of any disciplinary matter by
the school administration;

(iii)  refer students to alternative programs
provided, however, that any child with disabilities be referred
to such programs through the child’s Individualized Education
Plan;

(iv)  design, approve, and oversee school based
intervention programs established in the school;

(v)  establish and enforce the school’s attendance
policy;

(vi)  establish extended day, week, or year
programs, for students with discipline or attendance problems,
or at risk of academic failure, that provide for the assessment
of penalties for violations of school discipline or attendance
policies and for academic acceleration and tutoring,
mentoring, and counseling services for such students and their
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families as an integral program component;

(vii)  establish staff development programs for
conflict resolution for all school staff, and establish programs
in classroom and behavioral management for schools’ staff
identified as needing improvement;

(viii)  design student mentoring, conflict
resolution, and/or peer counseling programs for all students,
especially for those who are identified as having chronic
discipline, academic, or attendance problems.

F.  Funding.  Incentive grants shall be provided as
specified in the budget bill appropriation and will be based
on enrollment levels as follows:

• Schools with less than 500 students grades K-12;
• Schools with 500-799 students grades K-12;
• Schools with 800-1,199 students grades K-12;
• Schools with 1,200 students grades K-12.

Enrollment levels shall be determined based on September
30 counts for the prior school year.  Funds may not be used to
pay salaries or other employment costs above the state share
for teachers and aides.  Funds may be used for any other
purpose for which Division I and II funds may be used.
Schools or school districts may contract for educational or
related goods and services with these funds.

G.  Application.  Districts/schools must make application
for funds using forms and instructions provided by the
Department of Public Instruction.  All applications must have
the approval of the board of education of the school district in
which the applicant school is located.  In order to provide
districts with grants in a timely manner, all applications for
base grants must be submitted for review by the State Board
of Education no later than November 15 of each year.

H. Evaluation.  In accordance with the Comprehensive
School Oversight Program, evaluation shall:  1) examine the
cost-effectiveness and programmatic results of the program;
2) examine the district’s use of funding; 3) determine what, if
any, modification should be made to the program to deliver
appropriate services to assigned students; and 4) develop
performance measures to evaluate, on an on-going basis, the
effectiveness of the program.

Criteria shall include student demographic data, types of
interventions employed, prior versus subsequent behavioral
and academic patterns, parent involvement, agency
involvement, recidivism and other criteria as determined.

AS AMENDED

COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOL DISCIPLINE
IMPROVEMENT PROGRAMS

REGULATIONS GOVERNING ALTERNATIVE

INTERVENTION PROGRAMS

1. Population to be Served
Except as otherwise provided herein, all students who

are expelled by a local school district shall be placed in these
alternative programs unless the student is expelled for an
offense equivalent to a violation of one of the following:  11
Del. C., Sec. 613 (Assault in the First Degree); or 11 Del. C.,
Sec. 1457 (Possession of a Weapon in a Safe School and
Recreation Zone); or 11 Del. C., Sec. 802 (Arson in the Second
Degree); or 11 Del. C., Sec. 803 (Arson in the First Degree);
or 11 Del. C., Sec. 771 (Unlawful Sexual Penetration in the
Second Degree); or 11 Del. C., Sec. 772 (Unlawful Sexual
Penetration in the First Degree); or 11 Del. C., Sec. 773
(Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in the Third Degree); or 11 Del.
C., Sec. 774 (Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in the Second
Degree); or 11 Del. C., Sec. 775 (Unlawful Sexual Intercourse
in the First Degree); or 16 Del. C., Sec. 4753A (Trafficking
Marijuana, Cocaine, Illegal Drugs or Methamphetamine).

2. Non-referral of Students
In any case in which as expelled student is not referred to

an alternative program, the decision of the local school district
to expel shall state with specificity the reason for non-referral
and the evidence in support thereof.

3. Informing the Legal Guardian
Districts shall inform the legal guardian of students for

whom expulsion is being considered or who are expelled of
the alternative education options that are then currently
available to the students.  These options shall include but not
be limited to alternative schools, GED programs, James H.
Groves High School and others.

4. Age/Grade Level to be Served
Eligible students shall be primarily those who are enrolled

in grades 6 through 12, however students in lower grades may
also be served through these funds.

5. Placement in Alternative Programs
Each district shall establish an Alternative Placement

Team to review each case and prescribe the appropriate
placement for each student.  The Placement Team, in concert
with the Alternative Program staff, shall design an Individual
Service Plan (ISP) for each student that will include
educational goals, behavioral goals, and services needed by
both the student and his/her family.  The ISP shall include a
tentative re-entry/transition plan.  The Alternative Placement
Team shall be composed of a representative of the Alternative
Program staff; a district level coordinator who will be
designated by the superintendent; the building level principal,
assistant principal or other person as appropriate; student’s
custodial adult; guidance counselor and/or school social
worker; representatives from DSCYF such as Youth



1740

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 11, FRIDAY, MAY 1, 1998

PROPOSED REGUL ATIONS
Rehabilitation Service or other worker with whom the family
is involved as appropriate.  Other school, alternative program,
or agency personnel may be invited as needed and determined
by the Placement Team.  Students who are being placed in
the Alternative Program as a transition from DSCYF facilities
will have an ISP developed in concert with the DSCYF facility
team, the Alternative Placement Team, and the student’s
custodial adult.  If students from either a school district or
DSCYF facility are students with disabilities, appropriate
special education staff shall be included in placement
considerations.  The Alternative Placement Team and the IEP
Team may be the same.

6. September 30 Enrollment Count
A student enrolled in an Alternative Program may be

counted in the regular school enrollment count.  If enrolled
the previous year in a special education program in the
reporting school, the student may continue to be reported for
the same level of special education service as was received
the previous year.  If enrolled the previous year in a vocational
program in the reporting school, the student may be reported
as enrolled in the next vocational course in the program series.

7. Alternative Program Setting
The Alternative Program setting shall be apart from the

regular school setting, however a part of a school building
may be used for these programs so long as the students do not
interact with the regular school population or use any school
facility at the same time as the regular school population.  Use
of other agency facilities (Boys and Girls Club, YMCA,
YWCA, etc.) is encouraged.  Settings shall meet safety
regulations for student occupancy as outlined in Delaware
Code.

8. Alternative Program Design
The Alternative Program shall include an educational

program designed to maintain and improve skills at least in
core academic areas such as English/language arts,
mathematics, science, and social studies that will allow
students to re-enter the regular school program with a
reasonable chance and expectation for success.  Every effort
shall be made to provide courses comparable to the regular
school setting for each student.  Opportunities for academic
acceleration will also be provided.  The academic program
should focus on applied learning activities that encourage
students’ active participation in the learning process as
opposed to work sheets and other “seat oriented” drill
exercises.  Credit for work accomplished in the Alternative
Program setting shall be automatically transferred to the
regular school.  Included in the academic core studies should
be study skills, test taking strategies, and academic confidence
building.  Counseling and other services shall be delivered
on site for students.

9. Staffing
Instructional staff shall include at least two certified

teachers in the major academic subject areas who can provide
the lead for academic instruction and at least two instructional/
service aides.  Priority should be given to hiring staff who are
qualified to teach special education.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

THE CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS OF THE
DELAWARE SECONDARY SCHOOL ATHLETIC

ASSOCIATION (DSSAA)

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education in adopting these recommended changes and
revisions to the Constitution and Bylaws.  The attached
proposals are the result of an annual review of the Constitution
and Bylaws of the Delaware Secondary School Athletic
Association (DSSAA) by the DSSAA Constitution and
Bylaws Committee and the DSSAA Board of Directors.
Approximately two-thirds of the proposals are editorial
changes or minor changes that received no opposition from
member school representatives at the 53rd Annual
Membership Meeting.  The proposed revisions were submitted
to the DSSAA Constitution and Bylaws Committee by either
a member school, a conference, or the Executive Director.
They were discussed at length by the Committee on November
4, 1997, and then submitted to the DSSAA Board of Directors
for initial review at the November 20, 1997 meeting.  One of
the proposals was rejected by the Board and the remainder
were approved.  The proposals that received initial approval
from the Board were forwarded to the member schools with
an invitation to either attend the 53rd Annual Membership
Meeting and participate in an open discussion of the proposed
revisions or to submit written comments regarding the
proposed changes.  The entire package of proposals was
presented to the member school representatives in attendance
for their consideration and comment.  At the regularly
scheduled DSSAA Board meeting following the Annual
Membership Meeting, all of the proposed changes, with the
exception of five proposals, received a second affirmative
vote.  One of the aforementioned five proposals was rejected
and the other four were remanded back to the Constitution
and Bylaws Committee for further review and revision.  Those

http://www.doe.state.de.us/docs/index_js.asp
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four proposals were then forwarded to the member schools
for written comment and a second vote was taken at the March
26, 1998 DSSAA Board meeting.  All four proposals were
approved and the twenty-seven proposed changes which
received two affirmative votes from the DSSAA Board were
forwarded to the Secretary for approval and for the consent
of the State Board of Education.

Changes to the bylaws which are more than word changes
include:

• A revised statement about the organization reflecting
DOE regulations and revised organizational
objectives.

• The inclusion of additional persons who are subject
to the Sportsmanship rule and expanded authority
for the Executive Director to discipline violators.

• A clarification of eligibility for shared time students,
choice students, students who are absent or drop out,
students changing their residences, students in
Intensive Learning Centers and foreign exchange
students.

• A clarification of passing work for seniors.

• A revised definition of Junior High School/Middle
School and a revised statement on athletic
participation for students in this age group.

• An addition to the Wrestling Weight Control Code.

• A change in the definition of a scrimmage.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendments help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement standards?

Proposal #19 closes a loophole in the current
academic eligibility requirement for twelfth-grade students
and also holds them accountable for night school courses and
correspondence courses taken outside of the normal school
day.  The intent of the revision is to prevent a twelfth-grade
student from avoiding the consequences of failing a semester-
length course during the fall by simply repeating the course
or taking another course that satisfies the same graduation
requirement during the spring semester.  In as much as athletic
participation is a powerful motivator for many students, this
proposal should result in greater academic achievement by
raising the level of accountability.

2. Will the amendments help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The primary responsibility for enforcing the rules
and regulations of the Delaware Secondary School Athletic
Association belongs to the member schools.  If properly
applied, the rules and regulations provide “a level playing
field” and an equal opportunity for all interested to participate

in interscholastic athletics.  The DSSAA Board of Directors
and the Executive Director will enforce the proposed
regulations equitably without regard to athletic ability, race,
gender, economic standing, or school of attendance.

3. Will the amendments help to ensure that all students’
health and safety are adequately protected?

The Constitution and Bylaws have been written to
protect the health and safety of student athletes and the
amendments especially the middle school and wrestling
weight amendment continue to support health and safety
concerns.

4. Will the amendments help to ensure that all students’
legal rights are respected?

The Constitution and Bylaws address student
athletes’ legal rights and the amendments especially those
concerned with eligibility for sports participation help to
clarify those rights.

5. Will the amendments preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amendments will not alter the existing authority
and flexibility for decision makers at the local board and school
level as provided in the Constitution and Bylaws.

6. Will the amendments place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendments will not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements upon decision makers
at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amendments be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?

The amendments will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendments?

The Constitution and Bylaws must be amended in
this way in order to be regulatory.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school boards
of compliance with the amendments?

Compliance with the amendments will not add any
costs for the state and local boards.

THE PRECEDING REGULATORY  CHANGES WILL  BE PRESENTED AT

THE NEXT STATE  BOARD OF EDUCATION  MEETING  ON

THURSDAY, MAY 15, 1998
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CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS PROPOSALS

NUMBER PAGE CURRENT ARTICLE OR BYLAW ADDITION, DELETION, OR REVISION

1. 10 Article I Name A. CHANGE A.   This organization shall be known as the Delaware Secondary School
Athletic Association functioning as a body under the auspices of the
Delaware State Board of Education.

TO
This organization shall be known as the Delaware Secondary School

Athletic Association and shall function as the official designee of the
Secretary of Education with the authority to implement the
Department of Education’s rules and regulations governing the
conduct of interscholastic athletics.

2. 10 Article II Objectives A., B., C.,
and D.

CHANGE A.  To encourage athletics…….
B.
C.
D.                              sportsmanship.

TO
A.  To preserve and promote the educational significance of

interscholastic athletics.
B.  To ensure that interscholastic athletics remains compatible with the

educational mission of the member schools.
C.  To provide for fair and equitable competition between the member

schools.
D.  To promote sportsmanship and ethical behavior.
E.  To establish and enforce standards of conduct for athletes, coaches,

administrators, officials, and spectators.
F.  To protect the physical well-being of the athletes.
To promote healthy adolescent lifestyles.

3. 21 Sportsmanship Rule, Section 2.
Processing Violations of the
Sportsmanship Rule B. 1. f. (1)
and (4).

CHANGE

CHANGE

1.    He/she makes degrading remarks about the officials during or after a
game either on the field of play, from the bench, or through any
public news media, or

TO
1.    He/she makes disparaging remarks about the officials during or after

a game either on the field of play, from the bench, or through any
public news media, or

4    He/she makes degrading or unprofessional remarks about another
school’s personnel.

TO
4.    He/she makes disparaging or unprofessional remarks about another
school’s personnel.

4. 22 Sportsmanship Rule Section 2. C.
2. a.

CHANGE a.    Warning - a warning may be given…repeated.
TO

Reprimand - a reprimand may be given by the Executive Director or the
Sportsmanship Committee. It is official notice that an unethical or
unsportsmanlike act has occurred is a matter of record, and that such an
occurrence must not be repeated.
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5. 22 Sportsmanship Rule, Section 2. C. 2. b.
and b. (1)

CHANGE b.    Probation - Probation is a more severe penalty and may be imposed
only by the Sportsmanship Committee on a member school or a
particular team of a member school. Probation may be expressed in
one of the following ways:
1.    Conditional probation wherein a member school may engage in

its regular season schedule, sanctioned events, and conference
and state championships provided the school files with
DSSAA a program indicating the measures it shall take to
alleviate the problem which caused it to be placed on
probation, or

TO
b.    Probation - Probation is a more severe penalty and may be imposed

by the Executive Director or the Sportsmanship Committee on a
member school, a particular team of a member school, a particular
coach or athlete of a member school, or an official. Probation may
be expressed in one of the following ways:

1.    Conditional probation wherein the offending party may participate in
regular season contests, sanctioned events, and conference and state
championships provided he/she/school files with DSSAA a plan indicating
the measures that shall be taken to alleviate the problem which caused
him/her/school to be placed on probation, or

6. 22 Sportsmanship Rule, Section 2. C.
2. c.

CHANGE c.  Suspension  -  a school or a particular team suspended from DSSAA
may not engage in interscholastic competition of any kind with any
other school.

TO
Suspension  -  a member school, a particular team of a member school, a
particular coach or athlete of a member school, or an official may not
participate in any DSSAA sanctioned interscholastic competition.

7. 23 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 2.
Attendance and Competition Dates

CHANGE Section 2. Attendance and Competition Dates
TO

Section 2. Enrollment and Attendance
8. 23 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 2. B.,

B. 1., and B. 2.
ADD B.   A shared-time student who attends two (2) different schools during

the regular school day shall be eligible to participate only at his/her
home school.
1.  A student’s home school shall be the school at which he/she is

receiving instruction in the core academic areas and at which
he/she is satisfying the majority of his/her graduation
requirements.

A shared-time student shall not be eligible to participate at the
school at which he/she is receiving only specialized educational
instruction, e.g. vocational training.

9. 23 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 2. C. ADD A student who is participating in the Delaware School Choice Program as
authorized by House Bill 144 of the 138th General Assembly is
obligated to attend the “choice school” for a minimum of two(2)
years unless the student’s parent(s) or legal guardian(s) relocate to a
different school district or the student fails to meet the academic
requirements of the “choice school”. If a student attends a “choice
school” for less than two(2) years and subsequently transfers back to
his/her home school, the student must receive a release from the
“choice district” in order to legally enroll at his/her home school.
Without a release, the student would not be eligible to participate in
interscholastic athletics.(see Section 4. L.)

10. 23 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 2. C. CHANGE C.   A student must be legally in attendance…
       1.
       2.
       3.                                             lawyer.

TO
C.   A student must be legally in attendance at school in order to

participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest except when excused
by proper school authorities.

       1.   A student who is not legally in attendance at school due to illness
or injury shall not be permitted to participate in a practice,
scrimmage, or contest on that day.
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11. 23 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 2. E. CHANGE E.    If a student drops out of school due to illness or injury, is unable to
participate in athletics and misses more than half of the scheduled
contests of a sports season, and must return to school beyond the
normal period of eligibility to complete academic requirements for
graduation, he/she may petition the DSSAA Board of Directors for
an extension of athletic eligibility. All other DSSAA eligibility
requirements must be met.

TO
E.    If a student drops out of school due to illness or injury, misses more
than half of the scheduled contests at the level of competition at which
he/she was participating, and must return to school beyond the normal
period of eligibility to complete academic requirements for graduation,
he/she may petition the DSSAA Board of Directors for an extension of
athletic eligibility. All other DSSAA eligibility requirements must be met.

12. 23 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 2. F.
and G.

DELETE

13. 23-24 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 3. Residence
A.

CHANGE A.    A student must be living with his/her parent(s) or legal guardian(s) in
the attendance zone…..school.

TO
A.   A student must be living with his/her custodial parent(s) or legal

guardian(s) in the attendance zone of the school which he/she
attends in order to be eligible to participate in interscholastic
athletics at that school. In cases of joint custody, the custodial parent
shall be the parent with actual physical placement as determined by
court action.

14. 24 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 3. A. 4. CHANGE 4.    Seniors shall be permitted…occurred.
TO

4.    A student shall be permitted to complete his/her senior year at the
school he/she is attending and remain eligible even though a change of
legal residence to the attendance zone of another school has occurred.
This provision shall refer to any change of legal residence that occurs after
the completion of the student’s junior year.

15. 24 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 3.
Interpretation A.

CHANGE A.   Assignment to Intensive Learning Center - The DSSAA Board of
Directors determined…ILC.

TO
A.   Assignment to Intensive Learning Center - The DSSAA Board of
Directors determined at its November 21, 1991 meeting that all ILC
students in grades 9 thru 12 will participate in interscholastic athletics at
the school in which the ILC is located. If that school does not sponsor
interscholastic teams in any sport, ILC students will be permitted to
participate at their home school. Students who are assigned to an ILC and
students who are reassigned to their home school from an ILC are not
subject to the provisions of Rule 1. Section 4. Transfer and are
immediately eligible to participate provided they are in compliance with
all other DSSAA eligibility requirements.

16. 25 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 4. Transfer
B. 2. a.

ADD In the case of a transfer of guardianship/custody, the transfer shall be the
result of a court order signed by a judge, commissioner, or master of a
court of competent jurisdiction. (A petition for the transfer of
guardianship/custody, an affidavit, or a notarized statement signed by the
affected parties shall not be sufficient to render the student eligible to
participate in interscholastic athletics.)

17. 25 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 4. E. DELETE
18. 26 Rule 1. Eligibility, Section 4. J.

and J. 1.
CHANGE J.    If a student transfers….

1.                met.
TO

J.  If a student transfers at any time during the school year for reasons
other than those specified in B. above, the student shall be ineligible
for a period of ninety(90) school days commencing with the first day
of official attendance in the receiving school except as permitted by
A. above.

If a student transfers with fewer than ninety(90) school days left in the
academic year, he/she shall be ineligible for the remainder of the school
year but shall be eligible beginning with the subsequent fall sports season
provided he/she is in compliance with all other eligibility requirements.
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19. 29 Rule 4. Passing Work B. CHANGE B.  In the case of a student in the twelfth grade…participation.
TO

In the case of a student in the twelfth grade, he/she must be passing all
courses necessary for graduation from high school in order to be eligible
for participation. A course necessary for graduation shall be any course,
whether taken during or outside of the normal school day, that satisfies an
unmet graduation requirement.

20. 31 Rule 4. Passing Work
Interpretation C.

DELETE

21. 32 Rule 7. Foreign Exchange
Students/Foreign Students A. 1.

CHANGE 1.  All foreign exchange programs…recognized.
TO

All foreign exchange programs which are included in the Advisory List of
International Travel and Exchange Programs of the Council on Standards
for International Educational Travel (CSIET) and are two(2) semesters in
length shall be considered as recognized.

22. 58 Rule 5. Participation A., B., and C. CHANGE A.   No student shall represent…inclusive.
TO

A.   No student shall represent a school in athletics after six(6)
consecutive semesters from the date of his/her first entrance into the
seventh grade in schools with grades 7 through 8, inclusive.

B.    Seventh grade students shall not be permitted…teams.
TO

B.    No student shall represent a school in athletics after eight (8)
consecutive semesters from the date of his/her first entrance into the
sixth grade in schools with grades 6 through 8, inclusive.
1.  Participation on the part of a sixth-grade student shall be at

the discretion of the individual school.
2.  Sixth-grade students shall not be permitted to participate in

football unless the conference develops a classification system
that is approved by the DSSAA Board of Directors.

C.  Students below the seventh grade…teams.
 TO

C.    Students below the sixth grade shall not be permitted to
practice, scrimmage, or compete on junior high/middle school
interscholastic teams.

23. 58 Rule 6. Grades A. CHANGE A.   The junior high/middle school shall be grades seven and eight.
TO

A.   The junior high/middle school interscholastic athletic program shall
include grades 6 through 8, inclusive.

24. 70 Rule 29. Wrestling Weight Control
Code B.

CHANGE B.  The weight classifications….

                                                    250 lbs.
TO

B.  The weight classifications shall be as follows:
       76 lbs.   100 lbs.   124 lbs.   148lbs.
       82 lbs.   106 lbs.   130 lbs.   155 lbs.
       88 lbs.   112 lbs.   136 lbs.   165 lbs.
       94 lbs.   118 lbs.   142 lbs.   250 lbs. (Minimum Weight 164 lbs.)

25. 70 Rule 29. Wrestling Weight Control
Code D. 1.

DELETE

26. 74 Glossary - Conference, Junior
High/Middle School, and Semesters

DELETE

27. 74 Glossary - Practice Game or Scrimmage CHANGE Practice Game or Scrimmage - A game…purposes.
TO

Scrimmage - An informal competition between schools in which the
officials are not compensated, score is not kept, the time
periods are modified, the results of the competition are
not reported to the media, the coaches may interrupt play
to provide instruction and the competition is strictly for
practice purposes.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates
new text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed striken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published
in the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the
evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended
or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and
information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except
where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take
no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact
text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other
findings or conclusions required by the law under which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least
a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of
Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF
ADMINISTR ATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION  OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

DELAWARE BOARD OF MEDICAL  PRACTICE

RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTICE

ADVISORY COUNCIL

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 1770B(c)(5) (24 Del.C. 1770B(c)(5))

BEFORE THE BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE | ORDER
ADOPTION OF | APPROVING
REGULATIONS GOVERNING | INITIAL
THE PRACTICE OF | REGULATIONS
RESPIRATORY CARE |
BY LICENSED RESPIRATORY |
CARE PRACTITIONERS IN THE |
STATE OF DELAWARE |

ORDER

AND NOW, to-wit, this 7th day of April, 1998, the Board
of Medical Practice having considered the hereto attached
Order of the Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council
which recommends to the Board the approval of the initial
Rules and Regulations attached to the aforesaid Order of the
Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council pursuant to 29
Del. C. §1770B;

AND, the Board having determined to approve the Rules
and Regulations as proposed by the Respiratory Care Practice
Advisory Council;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED:

1.  That the hereto attached Rules and Regulations
recommended by the Respiratory Care Practice Advisory
Council are hereby approved by the Board of Medical
Practice.

2.  That such Rules and Regulations shall be hereafter
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations and shall
be deemed to be effective ten (10) days after such
publication.
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BEFORE THE RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTICE
ADVISORY COUNCIL

IN THE MATTER OF THE | ORDER
ADOPTION OF | ADOPTING
REGULATIONS GOVERNING | INITIAL
THE PRACTICE OF | REGULATIONS
RESPIRATORY CARE |
BY LICENSED RESPIRATORY |
CARE PRACTITIONERS IN THE |
STATE OF DELAWARE |

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. Ch.101 and 24 Del. C.
§1770(e)(5), the Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council
(“Council”) which functions under the auspices of the
Delaware Board of Medical Practice (“Board”) gave notice
of its intent to consider adoption of initial regulations
governing the practice of respiratory care by licensed
respiratory care practitioners in the State of Delaware.

A public hearing was held upon due public notice
beginning at 2:30 P.M. on March 5, 1998 to receive oral
public comment and consider any written comments which
had been filed concerning the proposed regulations as set
forth in the version of the Regulations published for public
review and comment in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE

At the public hearing, the Respiratory Care Practice
Advisory Council introduced evidence of the publication of
the notice of the proposed Rule Making in accordance with
the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. Ch.
101, including proof of publication of the notice of the public
hearing in the Delaware State News newspaper and the News
Journal newspaper, as well as the publication of the proposed
regulations and the notice of the hearing in the Register of
Regulations of the State of Delaware.  (Exhibit Nos. 1 and
2).

Robert Lang, the Chairman of the Respiratory Care
Practice Advisory Council, made a brief introductory
presentation concerning the subject matter encompassed by
the proposed Regulations and discussed the practical need
for such regulations and the statutory authority for the Board
to adopt and promulgate them subject to the approval of the
Board of Medical Practice of the State of Delaware.
Chairman Lang marked as Council Exhibit No. 3 the original
of a two-page letter of written comments concerning the
proposed Regulations which had been received from the
Delaware Board of Nursing.

A number of individuals attended the hearing but only
one individual wished to make comments to the Council.  Ms.
Ellen Hamilton, the Vice-President for patient service at the
Nanticoke Hospital, commended the Council for its work in
producing the Regulations to govern the practice of
respiratory care.  She stated that the document provides a
sound foundation to begin regulation of respiratory care
practitioners.  Ms. Hamilton expressed concern over the
language in Regulation Section 5.1 which provided that
respiratory care practitioners may administer medical gases
via the respiratory route.  She was concerned over the lack
of a specific definition of the term “medical gases”.

The written comments from the Delaware Board of
Nursing (Exhibit No. 3) also expressed concern about Section
5.1 observing that medical gases via the respiratory route
authorizes the administration of anesthesia in the absence of
a specific definition of the term “medical gases”.  The Board
of Nursing suggested that there should be either a definition
of the term medical gases or that the administration of
anesthesia should be specifically prohibited.

In its written comments, the Board of Nursing also
suggested clarification of the definition of “Programs
Approved by the Board” in Regulation Section 1.5 and, finally,
questioned the operations of the temporary student permit
provided for in Regulation Section 7.3.

After discussion, the Council determined that
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modification to the provisions of proposed Regulation 5.3
is not necessary.  It is not feasible to define in any
comprehensive manner the term “medical gases” which
comes directly from the Respiratory Care Practitioner
Practice Act. 24 Del. C. §1770B.  As a practical matter, the
changes in medical technology are sufficiently rapid that any
attempt to define the term “medical gases” would likely be
outdated by the time the regulatory process was completed.
Furthermore, there are medical gases with anesthetic
properties such as Isoflurane which is finding acceptance in
the treatment of intractable asthma, not so much for its
anesthetic aspects, but for its use as bronchodilator.  It is
clear that an absolute prohibition on the use of anesthesia
would not be appropriate, and the Council finds that there
are sufficient safeguards contained in the proposed
Regulations in Sections 5.2 and 5.3 which delineate the
requirement for training and documentation required for any
medications that the respiratory care practitioner is to
administer.  Therefore, modifications to Regulation Section
5.3 were not deemed necessary.

After discussion, the Council determined that the
clarification requested by the Board of Nursing regarding
Section 1.5 was appropriate and should be made.  Therefore,
the Council, by unanimous vote of the undersigned members,
determined to clarify Section 1.5. by adding the terms “initial
course of study” before the word “program” and adding and
“s” to the word “organization” so that the definition as clarified
reads:

“ ‘Programs Approved by the Board’ means initial
course of study programs accredited by the Joint
Review Committee for Respiratory Therapy
Education (JRCRTE)or its successor organizations
which have been approved by the Board.”

These minor modifications are not substantive since the
JRCRTE only accredits the initial course of study in
respiratory care and does not certify or accredit continuing
education programs.  It is currently the only accrediting
agency available for programs training respiratory care
practitioners.  The entry level or initial programs it approves
are a minimum of twelve (12) months (3 full semesters) and
normally closer to two (2) years in duration as associate
degree programs.

The length of the entry level programs accredited by the
JRCRTE addresses the final concern raised by the Board of
Nursing concerning the authority of the Council and the board
to deny a temporary permit to a student after completion of
one week of a twenty-one week program.  The temporary
student permit is available to a student who is enrolled in an
accredited respiratory care education program.  The
conditions the Council has established for the granting of

such a temporary permit and the requirement that any such
practice be only under direct supervision of a licensed
respiratory care practitioner are deemed by the Council to
be reasonably adequate safeguards.

FINDING OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

The Council finds and recommends to the Board of
Medical Practice that it is necessary and proper to protect
the public to enact the Regulations attached hereto as Exhibit
“A” to govern the practice of respiratory care by licensed
respiratory care practitioners in the State of Delaware.

The difference between the version of the proposed
Regulations published in the Register of Regulations on
February 1, 1998 and the version adopted by the Council and
recommended for approval to the Board of Medical Practice
is limited to the non-substantial clarification of the definition
in Section 1.5 as discussed and set forth above.

ORDER

NOW, THEREFORE, the Respiratory Care Practice
Advisory Council, by the affirmative vote of the undersigned
members, hereby adopts the Rules and Regulations attached
hereto as Exhibit “A” and recommends approval of such Rules
and Regulation to the Board of Medical Practice.

These Rules and Regulations shall be published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations after approval by the Board
of Medical Practice and shall be effective ten (10) days after
such publication.

BY ORDER OF THE RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTICE
ADVISORY COUNCIL this 24th day of March, 1998.

FINAL REGULATIONS
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STANDARDS OF RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTICE
SECTION 1:  DEFINITIONS

1.1 “Board” -  means Delaware Board of Medical
Practice.

1.2 “Certified Respiratory Therapy Technician (CRTT)” -
means the credential awarded by the NBRC to individuals
who pass the certification examination for entry level
respiratory therapy practitioners.

1.3 “Council” - means the Respiratory Care Practice
Advisory Council of the Board of Medical Practice.

1.4 “NBRC” means the National Board for Respiratory
Care, Inc.

1.5 “Programs Approved by the Board” - means [intial
couse of study]programs accredited by the Joint Review
Committee for Respiratory Therapy Education (JRCRTE)
or its successor organization[s] which have been
approved by the Board.

1.6 “Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT)” -  means
the credential awarded by the NBRC to individuals who
pass the registry examination for advanced respiratory
therapy practitioners.

1.7 “Respiratory Care” - means treatment, management,
diagnostic testing, control and care of patients with
deficiencies and abnormalities associated with the
cardiopulmonary system under the direction of a
physician. Respiratory care includes inhalation therapy
and respiratory therapy under Title 24, Delaware Code,

Chapter 17. Medical Practices Act, § 1770B(a)(2).

1.8 “Respiratory Care Practitioner (RCP)” - means an
individual who practices respiratory care under Title 24,
Delaware Code, Chapter 17. Medical Practices Act, §
1770B(a)(1) and (7).

1.9 “Student Respiratory Care Practitioner (Student-
RCP)” - means an individual enrolled in an accredited
Respiratory Care Program recognized and approved by
the Board.

1.10 “Working Student Respiratory Care Practitioner”
- means a student respiratory care practitioner who is
employed to perform respiratory care under a limited
scope of practice established by the Board.

1.11 “General Supervision” - means whether by direct
observation and monitoring, protocols approved by
physicians, or orders written or verbally given by
physicians.

1.12 “Direct Supervision” - means supervising
licensee or supervising physician will be present and
immediately available within the treatment area.

SECTION 2:  PURPOSE
2.1 The purpose of the standards is to establish minimal
acceptable levels of safe practice to protect the general
public and to serve as a guide for the Board to evaluate
safe and effective practice of respiratory care.

SECTION 3:  STANDARDS OF PRACTICE FOR THE
RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONER

3.1:a. The respiratory care practitioner shall conduct
and document respiratory care assessments of individuals
and groups by various appropriate means including but not
limited to the following:

1.  Collecting objective and subjective data from
observations, examinations,  physiologic tests, interviews
and written records in an accurate and timely manner.

2. Sorting, selecting, reporting, and recording
the data.

3. Analyzing data.
4. Validating, refining and modifying the data by

using available resources  including interactions with the
patient, family, and health team members.

5.  Evaluating data.
6.  Respiratory care practitioners shall establish

and document data that serves as  the basis for the strategy
of care.

3.1:b.  Respiratory care practitioners may develop
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strategies of care such as a treatment plan.

3.1:c.  Respiratory care practitioners may participate
under the direction and supervision of a physician in the
implementation of patient care.

SECTION  4:  STANDARDS RELATED TO THE
RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONER’S
COMPETENCE AND RESPONSIBILITIES

4.1  Respiratory care practitioners shall:
       a.   Have knowledge of the statutes and regulations
governing the practice of respiratory care.
       b.  Accept responsibility for competent practice of
respiratory care.
       c. Obtain instructions and supervision from
physicians.
       d. Function as a member of a health care team by
collaborating with other members of the team to provide
appropriate care.
     e.  Consult with respiratory care practitioners and
others and seek guidance as necessary.
       f. Obtain instruction and supervision as necessary
when implementing respiratory care techniques.
       g. Contribute to the formulation, interpretation,
implementation and evaluation of objectives and policies
related to the practice of respiratory care within the

employment setting.
       h. Report unsafe respiratory care practice and
conditions to the Respiratory Care

Practice Advisory Council, (Council), or other
authorities as appropriate.
       i. Practice without unlawful discrimination as to
age, race, religion, sex, national

origin or disability.
       j. Respect the dignity and rights of patients
regardless of social or economic status,

personal attributes or nature of health problems.
       k. Respect patients’ right-to-privacy by protecting
confidentiality unless obligated

by law to disclose the information.
       l. Respect the property of patients and their
families.

m. Teach safe respiratory care practice to other
health care workers as appropriate.

SECTION 5:  ADMINISTRATION OF MEDICATIONS

5.1 Respiratory care practitioners may administer
pharmacological agents, aerosols, or medical gases via
the respiratory route.  Administration of medication by
routes other than the respiratory route require the direct
supervision of a physician.

5.2 A respiratory care practitioner shall not deliver any
medication unless the order, written or oral by a physician
or other person authorized by the Board of Medical
Practice, to prescribe that class of medication includes:

a. Patient identification
b. Date of the order
c. Time of the order
d. Name of medication
e. Dosage
f.  Frequency of administration
g. Route of administration
h. Method of administration

No respiratory care practitioner holding a permit or
a license in the state of Delaware may administer
medications for the testing or treatment of
cardiopulmonary impairment for which the respiratory
care provider is untrained or incompetent.

5.3 Respiratory care practitioners must be able to
document appropriate training and proficiency on the
route of medication delivery, drug pharmacology, and
dosage calculations for any cardiopulmonary medications
for which they are responsible to administer.  Appropriate
training includes but is not limited to the following
components:
            a.  Pharmacology.  Subject matter shall include
terminology, drug standards, applicable laws and legal
aspects, identification of drugs by name and classification,
and the principles of pharmacodynamics of medications
used in the treatment and testing of cardiopulmonary
impairment.
            b.  Techniques of drug administration.  Subject
matter shall include principles of asepsis, safety and
accuracy in drug administration, applicable anatomy and
physiology, and techniques of administration and any
route of administration for cardiopulmonary medications
that fall within the legal scope of practice of a respiratory
care practitioner.
            c.  Dosage calculations.  Subject matter shall
include a review of arithmetic and methods of calculation
required in the administration of drug dosages.
            d.  Clinical experience.  Subject matter shall
include clinical experience in administration of the
cardiopulmonary medication(s), planned under the
direction of a qualified respiratory care practitioner or
other qualified health care provider responsible for
teaching cardiopulmonary medication administration.
            e.  Role of the respiratory care practitioner in
administration of cardio-pulmonary medications.  Subject
matter shall include constraints of medication
administration under the legal scope of practice for
respiratory care practitioners,  the rationale for specific
respiratory care in relation to drug administration;
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observations and actions associated with desired drug
effects, side effects and toxic effects; communication
between respiratory care practitioners and other health
care teams; respiratory care practitioner - client
interactions; and the documentation of cardiopulmonary
medication administration.

5.4 Each respiratory care practitioner shall maintain a
record that documents training and proficiency and
medications that each practitioner is authorized to
administer.  At the request of the Council such records
may be audited, reviewed, or copied.

5.5 Documentation of medication administration by the
respiratory care practitioner shall include at a minimum:
       a.  Patient identification

b.  Date of the order
c.  Time of the order
d.  Name of medication
e.  Dosage
f.  Frequency of administration
g. Route of administration
h.  Method of administration
i.  Respiratory care practitioner’s name
j.  Date and time of administration
k. Documentation of effectiveness
l. Documentation of adverse reactions and

notifications if any

SECTION 6:  DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS

6.1:a. The license or permit of a respiratory care
practitioner or student found to have committed
unprofessional conduct may be subject to revocation,
suspension, or non-renewal. The practitioner or student
may be placed on probation subject to reasonable terms
and conditions, or reprimanded.

6.1:b. Any licensed respiratory care practitioner found,
after notice and hearing, to have engaged in behavior in his
or her professional activity which is likely to endanger the
public health, safety or welfare or who is unable to render
respiratory care services with reasonable skill or safety
to patients because of mental illness or mental
incompetence, physical illness or excessive use of drugs
including alcohol may have his or her license revoked,
suspended, not renewed or may be placed on probation.

6.2 Unprofessional Conduct
Unprofessional conduct includes any act of fraud,

deceit, incompetence, negligence, or dishonesty and
shall include, without limitation, the following:

a.  Performing acts beyond the scope of authorized
practice by a respiratory care practitioner to include

violations of Title 24, Delaware Code, § 1770B or of
these regulations.

b.  Assuming duties and responsibilities within the
practice of respiratory care without adequate preparation
or supervision or when competency has not been
maintained.

c.  Performing new respiratory care techniques and/
or procedures without adequate education and practice or
without proper supervision.

d.  Failing to take appropriate action or follow
policies and procedures in to practice situation designed
to safeguard the patient from incompetent, unethical or
illegal health care practices.

e.  Inaccurately recording on, falsifying or altering a
patient or agency record.

f.   Committing verbal, physical or sexual abuse or
harassment of patients or co- employees.

g.  Assigning unqualified persons to perform the
practice of licensed respiratory care practitioners.

h.  Delegating respiratory care responsibilities to
unqualified persons.

i.   Failing to supervise persons to whom respiratory
care responsibilities have been properly delegated.

j.   Leaving a patient assignment in circumstances
which endangers the patient except in documented
emergency situations.

k.  Failing to safeguard a patient’s dignity and right to
privacy in providing  respiratory care services which shall
be provided without regard to race, color, creed or status.

l.   Violating the confidentiality of information
concerning a patient except where disclosure is required
by law.

m.  Practicing respiratory care when unfit to perform
procedures and make decisions when physically,
psychologically, or mentally impaired.

n.  Diverting drugs, supplies, or property of a patient
or agency or attempting to do so.

o.  Diverting, possessing, obtaining, supplying or
administering prescription drugs to any person, including
self, except as directed by a person authorized by law to
prescribe drugs or attempting to do so.

p.  Providing respiratory care in this state without a
currently valid license or permit and without other lawful
authority to do so.

q.  Allowing another person to use his/her license or
temporary permit to provide respiratory care for any
purpose.

r.  Aiding, abetting and/or assisting an individual to
violate or circumvent any law or duly promulgated rule or
regulation intended to guide the conduct of a respiratory
care practitioner or other health care provider.

s.   Resorting to, or aiding in any fraud,
misrepresentation or deceit directly or  indirectly in
connection with acquiring or maintaining a license to
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practice respiratory care.

t.  Failing to report unprofessional conduct by
another respiratory care  practitioner licensee or permit
holder or as specified in 4.1:h.

u.  Failing to provide respiratory care to a patient in
accordance with the orders of the responsible physician
without just cause.

6.3  Disciplinary Investigations And Hearings

6.3:a. Upon receipt of a written complaint against a
respiratory care practitioner or upon its own motion, the
Council may request the Division of Professional
Regulation to investigate the complaint or a charge
against a respiratory care practitioner and the process
established by Title 29, Delaware Code, § 8807 shall be
followed with respect to any such matter.

6.3:b. Where feasible, within sixty (60) days of
receiving a complaint from the Attorney General’s Office
after an investigation pursuant to Title 29, Delaware
Code. § 8807(h), the Council shall conduct an evidentiary
hearing upon notice to the licensee.  Written findings of
fact and conclusions of law shall be sent to the Board of
Medical Practice along with any recommendation to
revoke, to suspend, to refuse to renew a license, to place
a licensee on probation, or to otherwise reprimand a
licensee found guilty of unprofessional conduct in the
licensee’s professional activity which is likely to
endanger the public health, safety or welfare, or the
inability to render respiratory care services with
reasonable skill or safety to patients because of mental
illness or mental incompetence, physical illness or
excessive use of drugs including alcohol.

SECTION 7:   WORKING STUDENT RESPIRATORY
CARE PRACTITIONER

7.1 A working student respiratory care practitioner may
only practice under the direct supervision of a licensed
respiratory care practitioner.  The scope of practice is
limited to those activities for which there is documented
evidence of competency.

7.2 Direct supervision means that a licensed respiratory
care practitioner will be personally present and
immediately available within the treatment area to
provide aid, direction, and instruction when procedures
are performed. All evaluations, progress notes, and/or
chart entries must be co-signed by a licensed respiratory
care practitioner.

7.3 A student may apply for a student temporary permit.
If approved by the Board, such permit may be issued by the

Division of Professional Regulation and may not be
renewed. An application will be considered by the
Council provided that the applicant meets the following
criteria:

a.  Applicant is matriculated in an approved
Respiratory Care Program.

b.  Application is submitted no more than 20 weeks
prior to the program’s announced graduation date.

c.  Applicant shall submit to the Council a certified
list of respiratory care services
which have been successfully completed as a part of the
respiratory care curriculum.

7.4 A student temporary permit shall automatically cease
upon graduation or on the date that the holder is no longer
matriculated in and not a graduate of a Respiratory Care
Program. Any holder of a temporary student permit which
ceases for any of the reasons stated above shall within five
(5) working days surrender the permit to the Division of
Professional Regulation.

7.5 Subject to Rule 7.4, a student temporary permit shall
be valid for 16 weeks.

7.6 Respiratory care services which may be performed by
the holder of a student temporary permit are limited to
only those services which have been successfully
completed by the student as part of a respiratory care
program. Successful completion of these services must
be certified by the program director on the Verification
of Respiratory Care Education Form and submitted to the
Council along with an attached competency check list.
The holder of the student temporary permit must also
meet the employer’s standards for those procedures in
specified patient care situations.

SECTION  8:  CONTINUING EDUCATION

8.1 Contact Hours Required for Renewal

8.1:a. The respiratory care practitioner shall be
required to complete (20) twenty contact hours
biennially and to retain all certificates and other
documented evidence of participation in an approved/
accredited continuing education program for a period of
at least (3) three years.  Upon request, such
documentation shall be made available to the Council for
random audit and verification purposes. All contact hours
must be completed at least sixty (60) days prior to the end
of the renewal year.

8.1:b.  Contact hours shall be prorated for new licensees
in accordance with the following schedule:
Two years remaining in the licensing
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cycle requires - 20 hours

One year remaining in the licensing
cycle requires  - 10 hours

Less than one year remaining in the
licensing cycle - exempt

8.2 Exemptions

8.2:a. A licensee who because of a physical or mental
illness during the license period could not complete the
continuing education requirement may apply through the
Council to the Board of Medical Practice for a waiver.  A
waiver would provide for an extension of time or
exemption from some or all of the continuing education
requirements for one (1) renewal period.  Should the
illness extend beyond one (1) renewal period, a new
request must be submitted.

8.2:b. A request for a waiver must be submitted sixty
(60) days prior to the license renewal date.

8.3 Criteria for Qualification of Continuing Education
Program Offerings

The following criteria are given to guide respiratory
care practitioners in selecting an appropriate activity/
program and to guide the provider in planning and
implementing continuing education activities/programs.
The overriding consideration in determining whether a
specific activity/program  qualifies as acceptable
continuing education shall be that it is a planned program
of learning which contributes directly to the professional
competence of the respiratory care practitioner.

8.3.1 Definition of Contact Hours
8.3.1:a. Fifty consecutive minutes of academic

course work, correspondence course, or seminar/
workshop shall be equivalent to one (1) contact hour.  A
fraction of a contact hour may be computed by dividing
the minutes of an activity by 50 and expressed as a
decimal.

8.3.1:b. Recredentialing examination for certified
espiratory therapy technician, (CRTT), and registered
respiratory therapist, (RRT),  shall be equivalent to five
(5) contact hours.

8.3.1:c. Successful completion of advanced specialty
exams administered by the
National Board for Respiratory Care, (NBRC), shall be
equal to five (5) contact hours for each exam.

8.3.1:d. One (1) semester hour shall be equal to
fifteen (15) contact hours.

8.3.1:e. One (1) quarter hour shall be equal to ten (10)
contact hours.

8.3.1:f. Two (2) hours (120 minutes) of clinical
educational experience shall be

equal to one (1) contact hour.
8.3.1:g. Fifty (50) consecutive minutes of

presentation of lectures, seminars or
workshops in respiratory care or health care subjects
shall be equivalent to one (1) contact hour.

8.3.1:h. Preparing original lectures, seminars, or
workshops in respiratory care or health care subjects
shall be granted no more than two (2) contact hours for
each contact hour of presentation.

8.3.1:i. Performing clinical or laboratory research in
health care shall be reviewed
and may be granted an appropriate number of contact
hour(s) at the Council’s discretion.

8.3.2 Learner Objectives
8.3.2:a. Objectives shall be written and be the basis

for determining
content, learning experience, teaching methodologies,
and evaluation.

8.3.2:b. Objectives shall be specific, attainable,
measurable, and describe expected outcomes for the
learner.

8.3.3 Subject Matter
Appropriate subject matter for continuing education shall
include the following:

8.3.3:a.  Respiratory care science and practice and
other scientific topics
related thereto

8.3.3:b.  Respiratory care education
8.3.3:c.  Research in respiratory care and health care
8.3.3:d.  Management, administration and supervision

in health care delivery
8.3.3:e.  Social, economic,  political, legal aspects of

health care
8.3.3:f.  Teaching health care and consumer health

education
8.3.3:g.  Professional requirements for a formal

respiratory care program or a related field beyond those
that were completed for the issuance of the original
license

8.3.4 Description
Subject matter shall be described in outline form and shall
include learner objectives, content, time allotment,
teaching methods, faculty, and evaluation format.

8.3.5 Types of Activities/Programs
8.3.5:a. An academic course shall be an activity that is

approved and presented by an accredited post-secondary
educational institution which carries academic credit.
The course may be within the framework of a curriculum
that leads to an academic degree in respiratory care
beyond that required for the original license, or relevant
to respiratory care, or any course that shall be necessary
to a respiratory care practitioner’s professional growth
and development.

8.3.5:b. A correspondence course contains the
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following elements:

1.  developed by a professional group, such s an
education corporation or professional association.

2.  follows a logical sequence.
3.  involves the learner by requiring active

response to module materials and provides feedback.
4.  contains a test to indicate progress and to

verify completion of module.
5.  supplies a bibliography for continued study.

8.3.5:c.  A workshop contains the following
elements:

1.  developed by a knowledgeable individual or
group in the subject matter.

2.  follows a logical sequence.
3.  involves the learner by requiring active

response, demonstration and feedback.
4.  requires hands-on experience.
5.  supplies a bibliography for continued study.

8.3.5:d. Advanced and specialty examinations
offered by the NBRC or other examinations as approved
by the Council including:

1.  Recredential exam.
2.  Pediatric/perinatal specialty exam.
3.  Pulmonary function credentialing exams
4.  Advanced practitioner exam

8.3.5:e. Course preparation
8.3.5:f.  Clinical education experience must be:

1.  Planned and supervised.
2.  Extended beyond the basic level of

preparation of the individual who is licensed.
3.  Based on a planned program of study.
4.  Instructed and supervised by individual(s) who

possess the appropriate credentials related to the
discipline being taught.

5.  Conducted in a clinical setting.
8.4 Educational Providers
8.4:a. Continuing education contact hours awarded

for activities/programs approved by the following are
appropriate for fulfilling the continuing education
requirements pursuant to these regulations:

1.  American Association for Respiratory Care.
2. American Medical Association under

Physician Category I.
3.  American Thoracic Society
4.  American Association of Cardiovascular and

Pulmonary Rehabilitation
5.  American Heart Association
6.  American Nurses Association
7.  American College of Chest Physicians
8.  American Society of Anesthesiologists
9.  American Sleep Disorders Association
10. Other professional or educational

organizations as approved periodically by the Council.
8.5 Accumulation of Continuing Education

8.5:a. When a licensee applies for license renewal,
a minimum of twenty (20) contact hours in activities that
update skills and knowledge levels in respiratory care
theory, practice and science is required. The total of
twenty (20) contact hours biennially shall include the
following categories:

8.5:a.1. A minimum of 12 contact hours of required
continuing education  contact hours required for renewal
must be acquired in a field related to the science and
practice of respiratory care as set forth in Subsection
8.3.3, Subject Matter, a, b, or c.

8.5:a.2. The remaining 8 contact hours of the
required continuing education  contact hours required for
renewal may be selected from Subsection 8.3.3, Subject
Matter.

8.5:b.  Contact hours, accumulated through
preparation for, presentation of, or participation in
activities/programs as defined are limited to application
in meeting the required number of contact hours a year as
follows:

1.  Presentation of respiratory care education
programs, including preparation      time, to a maximum of
four contact hours.

2.  Presentation of a new respiratory care
curriculum, including preparation, to a respiratory care
education program, to a maximum of four contact hours.

3.  Preparation and publication of respiratory
care theory, practice or science, to a maximum of four
contact hours.

4.  Research projects in health care, respiratory
care theory, practice or science, to a maximum of four
contact hours.

5.  Infection control programs from facility or
agency to a maximum of one
contact hour.

6.  Correspondence courses that are not within
the curriculum that leads to an academic degree beyond
that required for the original license to a maximum of
four contact hours.

7.  Presentation or participation in review or
recertification in American Heart     Association or Red
Cross provider or instructor programs, such as Advanced
Cardiac Life Support, Basic Life Support, Pediatric
Advanced Life Support, or CPR, to a maximum of two
contact hours per program.

8.  Academic course work, related to health care
or health care administration, to a maximum of four
contact hours.

8.6 Review/Approval of Continuing Education
Contact Hours

8.6:a. The Council may review the documentation
of any respiratory care practitioner’s continuing
education.
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8.6:b.  The Council may determine whether the

activity/program documentation submitted meets all
criteria for continuing education as specified in these
regulations.

8.6:c. Any continuing education not meeting all
provisions of these rules shall be rejected in part or in
whole by the Council.

8.6:d. Any incomplete or inaccurate documentation
of continuing education may be rejected in part or in
whole by the Council.

8.6:e. Any continuing education that is rejected
must be replaced by acceptable continuing education
within a reasonable period of time established by the
Council.  This continuing education will not be counted
towards the next renewal period.

8.6:f. Each license not renewed in accordance with
this section shall expire, but may within a period of three
years thereafter be reinstated upon payment of all fees as
set by the Division of Professional Regulation of the
State of Delaware.

8.6:g. An applicant wishing to reinstate an expired
license shall provide documentation establishing
completion of the required 20 hours of continuing
education duringthe two-year period preceding the
application for renewal.

SECTION 9.  RENEWAL OF LICENSE

9.1:a To renew a license to practice respiratory
care, a licensee must complete a renewal form provided
by the Division of Professional Regulation certifying
completion of continuing education.

9.2:b Renewal notices will be mailed by the
Division of Professional Regulation sixty  (60) days prior
to the expiration of the license.

SECTION 10.  APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE

10.1 Application
10.1:a An application for a license to practice

respiratory care must be completed on a form provided by
the Board of Medical Practice and returned to the Board
Office with the required, non-refundable fee.

10.2 Completed Application
10.2:a An application for a license to practice

respiratory care shall be considered completed when the
Board has received the following documentation:

a.  Non-refundable application fee
b.  Completed application for licensure
c.  Verification of education form
d.  Verification of national examination score
e.  Letter(s) of good standing from other states

where the applicant may hold a license, if applicable.
f.  Any other information requested in the

application.
10.3 Appeals Process
10.3:a When the Council determines that an

applicant does not meet the qualifications for licensure as
prescribed under Title 24, Delaware Code, § 1770B and
the Rules and Regulations governing the practice of
respiratory care, the Council shall make such
recommendation to the Board proposing to deny the
application. The Council shall notify the applicant of its
intended action and reasons thereof. The Council shall
inform the applicant of an appeals process prescribed
under Title 29, Delaware Code, § 10131.

DEPARTMENT OF
ADMINISTR ATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION  OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

DELAWARE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 2905 (24 Del.C. 2905)

BEFORE THE DELAWARE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

IN RE: |
ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS |

ORDER

WHEREAS, pursuant to 24 Del. C. §2905, the Delaware
Real Estate Commission (the “Commission”) proposed to
adopt amendments to its rules and regulations as more
specifically set forth in the Hearing Notice which is attached
hereto as Exhibit “A” and incorporated herein; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10115, notice was
given to the public that a hearing would be held on March 12,
1998 at 9:00 a.m in Dover, Delaware to consider the
proposed amendments; and

WHEREAS, the notice invited the public to submit
comments orally or in writing regarding the proposed
amendments; and

WHEREAS, a hearing was held on March 12, 1998 at
which a quorum of the Commission was present; and

WHEREAS, the Commission heard oral comments at
the hearing and received several written comments,
documents and other submissions which were made part of
the record (and identified as Exhibits 1-7); and
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WHEREAS, the Commission finds the proposed

amendments serve to clarify its rules and regulations and to
ensure that its rules and regulations are in compliance with
24 Del. C. Ch. 29.

NOW, THEREFORE, based on the Commission’s
authority to adopt and revise rules and regulations pursuant
to 24 Del. C. §2905, it is the decision of the Commission to
adopt the proposed amendment to its rules and regulations,
with the exception of proposed Rule XV.B.  The Commission
defers action on proposed Rule XV.B. in order to further
consider the public comments on that rule.  The other rules
and regulations as amended, a copy of which are attached
hereto as Exhibit “B” and incorporated herein, are to be
effective thirty (30) days from the date of this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 14th day of April, 1998.

DELAWARE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

H. James Kelleher, Jr., Chairman
Ann K. Baker
Judy L. Bennett
Taube R. Carpenter
Herbert W. Dayton
H. Hunter Lott, III
James D. McGinnis
Mary B. Parker

Summary of Changes to the Rules and Regulations

I.C.3 (Responsibility) - reworded to include “civil penalty”
in the list of possible disciplinary actions which may be taken
by the Commission and to clarify that brokers as well as
salespersons may be held responsible for violations by a
salesperson.

II. (Requirements for Obtaining a Salesperson’s License) -
non-substantive revision to clarify the application process
for the salesperson and to update reference to the statute in
II.D.1.

III. (Requirements for Obtaining a Real Estate Broker’s
License) - non-substantive revision to clarify the application
process for the broker and to update reference to the statute
in III.F.1.

V.C. (Escrow Accounts) - revised to clarify the language
regarding the amount of the broker’s own funds which may
be maintained in the escrow account to $100 maximum in
order to avoid the account being closed.

V.E. (Escrow Accounts) - previous wording required that
broker open an escrow account in a “Delaware bank” now

states “a bank with an office in Delaware”.

V.F. (Escrow Accounts) - reword for clarity.

VI.A. (Transfer of Broker or Salesperson) - revised to include
the requirement that a current certificate of licensure be
provided by all nonresident brokers who are transferring a
license.

VI.C. (Transfer of Broker or Salesperson) - Added to require
that a broker moving an office report the move to the
Commission in writing by filing a new office application 30
days prior to opening the new office.

VII. (Discipline of a Real Estate Broker or Salesperson) was
struck in its entirety.

VIII. (Refund of Fees) was struck in its entirety.

IX.A. (Written Listing Agreements) - Non-substantive
correction to “Listing agreements for the rental, sale, lease
or
exchange of rel property, whether exclusive, co-exclusive
or open shall be in writing and shall be signed by the seller or
owner.”

IX.B (Copy of Agreements) - Non-substantive correction
adding the word “the” to the last sentence which now reads:
“It shall be the responsibility of the licensee to deliver an
executed copy of the agreements to the principals within a
reasonable length of time after execution.”

IX.C.3. (Advertising) - Non-substantive correction, was
revised to replace “he/she” with “the licensee”.

IX.C.4. (Advertising) - Non-substantive revision to replace
the capital “C” in “Company” with a lower case “c” and to add
the word “the” for readability as follows: “All advertisements
for personal promotion of licensees must include the name
of the company under whom the licensee is licensed.

IX.C.5 (Advertising) was struck in its entirety.

IX.D.2 (Separate Office) - revised by adding the word
“permanent” to enforce the requirement of the statute
regarding office signs in private home offices: “Where the
office is located in a private home, said office must have a
separate entrance and must be approved by the Commission.
The broker must place a permanent sign indicating the name
under which the office is licensed, in a conspicuous location.”

Add New Rule IX.E. (Compensation) - Clarifies the need for
the licensee to disclose to all parties any compensation from
more than one party to a transaction that the licensee intends
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to accept, and prohibits the licensee from accepting any
commission, rebate or profit on expenditures made for his
principal-owner without the principal’s knowledge and
informed consent.

Add New Rule IX.F (Duty to Cooperate) - Identifies the need
for licensees to cooperate with other licensees involved in a
transaction except when such cooperation is not in the best
interest of a client.  Further this obligation does not imply
any obligation to share commissions or otherwise compensate
another licensee.

X.A. (Renewal Required by Expiration Date on License) -
revised to include credit certification procedure for renewal,
add 15 hours as the number of required continuing education
credits for the license renewal, and to accommodate change
of expiration date.

X.B.1. (Delinquency Fee) - Revised to accommodate a
change of expiration date and to clarify the late fee payment
process.

X.C.1. (Reinstatement of License) -  Revised for readability
and to accommodate a change of expiration date.

X.C.2. (Reinstatement of License) - Deleted requirement of
three (3) letters of character reference, stating that the
applicant is of good moral character in compliance with 24
Del.C. §2907(a)(2).

X.D. (Certification of Continuing Education) - Rewritten into
Rule X.A.

XI. (Inactive Status) - Deleted in its entirety.

XII.A.  (Fee Charge for Primers) - Reword to clarify that the
Division of Professional Regulation sets fee for Primer.

XIII.A. (Disclosure) - Revised for readability.

XIII.B. (Disclosure) - Non-substantive change.

XIII.C. (Disclosure) - Was revised for clarity.

XIV.A. (Hearings) - Was revised for clarity.

XV. (Inducements) - Add language to prohibit payment of
commission by a licensee to another licensed person with
the knowledge that all or a portion of the payment will in
turn be paid out or given to an unlicensed person.

XVI. (Necessity of License) - Non-substantive change.

XVI.B. (Necessity of License) - Non-substantive change.

Add New Rule Regarding Out of State Land Sales
Applications - Outlines requirements for initial applications
and subsequent addition of units, lots, etc.

Renumber all Rules and Subsections as necessary.
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For Revision Effective May 13, 1998

DELAWARE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION RULES
AND REGULATIONS

I. INTRODUCTION
A. Authority

1. Pursuant to 24 Del. C. Section 2905, the Dela-
ware Real Estate Commission is authorized and empow-
ered and hereby adopts the rules and regulations contained
herein.

2. The Commission reserves the right to make
any amendments, modifications or additions hereto, that,
in its discretion are necessary or desirable.

3. The Commission reserves the right to grant
exceptions to the requirements of the rules and regula-
tions contained herein upon a showing of good cause by
the party requesting such exception, provided such excep-
tion is not inconsistent with the requirements of 24  Del.
C. Chapter 29.
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B. Applicability
The rules and regulations contained herein, and any

amendments, modifications or additions hereto are appli-
cable to all persons presently licensed as real estate bro-
kers or real estate salespersons, and to all persons who
apply for such licenses.

C. Responsibility
1. It is the responsibility of the employing bro-

ker to insure that the rules and regulations of the Commis-
sion are complied with by licensees.

2. Each office location shall be under the direc-
tion of a broker of record, who shall provide complete and
adequate supervision of that office.  A broker serving as
broker of record for more than one office location within
the State shall apply for and obtain an additional license in
his name at each branch office.  The application for such
additional license shall state the location of the branch of-
fice and the name of a real estate broker or salesperson
licensed in this State who shall be in charge of managing
the branch office on a full time basis.

A broker shall not serve as broker of record unless
said broker has been actively engaged in the practice of
real estate, either as a licensed salesperson or a licensed
broker, for the preceding three (3) years.

Where an unforeseen event, such as a resignation or
termination from employment, death, emergency, illness,
call to military service or training, or a sanction imposed
by the Commission causes or necessitates the removal of
the sole licensed broker in an office, arrangements may
be made with the Commission for another broker to serve
as broker of record for said office on a temporary basis.

The employment of a sales manager, administrative
manager, trainer, or other similar administrator shall not
relieve the broker of record of the responsibilities con-
tained and defined herein.

3. The failure of any licensee to comply with the Real
Estate Licensing Act and the rules and regulations of the
Commission may result in disciplinary action in the form
of a reprimand, civil penalty, suspension or revocation of
the broker’s the  and/or salesperson’s individual’s license.

II. REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A
SALESPERSON’S LICENSE

The Commission shall consider any applicant who has
successfully completed the following:

A. Course
1. The Commission shall consider any applicant

who has successfully completed an accredited course in
Real Estate Practice.

2. Effective May 1, 1978, all real estate courses
shall be limited to thirty-five (35) students in each class.
This applies to both day and night courses.  All other regu-

lations regarding real estate courses are issued under
“Guidelines for Fulfilling the Delaware Real Estate Con-
tinuing Education Requirements Schools”.  The Commis-
sion reserves the right to grant exception to this limita-
tion.

B. Examination
1. Within twelve (12) months of completing an

accredited course, the applicant must make application to
the Commission by submitting a score report showing suc-
cessful completion of the examination required by the
Commission.  The applicant must and forward all neces-
sary documentation to the Commission to be considered
for licensure.

2. An applicant may sit for the examination a
maximum of three (3) times after successful completion
of an approved course in real estate practice.  If an appli-
cant fails to pass the examination after three (3) attempts
at such, the applicant shall be required to retake and suc-
cessfully complete an approved course in real estate prac-
tice before being permitted to sit for the examination again.

C. Ability to conduct business
1. The Commission reserves the right to reject

an applicant based on his or her inability to transact real
estate business in a competent manner or if it determines
that the applicant lacks a reputation for honesty, truthful-
ness and fair dealings.

2. The minimum age at which a salesperson’s li-
cense can be issued is eighteen (18).

D. Fees
The Commission shall not consider an application for

a salesperson’s license unless such application is submit-
ted with evidence of payment of the following fees:

1. Salesperson’s application license fee estab-
lished by the Division of Professional Regulation pursu-
ant to 29 Del. C. Section 8807(d)10(d).

2. Processing fee established by the Division of
Professional Regulation pursuant to 29 Del. C. Section
8810(d).

3. Guaranty Fund fee established pursuant to 24
Del. C. Sec. 2921(b).

III. REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A REAL ESTATE
BROKER’S LICENSE

The Commission shall consider the application of any
person for a broker’s license upon completion of the fol-
lowing:

A. Course
1. The Commission shall consider the applica-

tion of any person for a license after said applicant has
successfully completed an accredited course.

2. Effective May 1, 1978, all courses shall be
limited to thirty-five (35) students in each class.

BA. Experience
1. A salesperson must hold an active license be
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actively working in the real estate profession for five (5)
continuous years immediately preceding application con-
tinuously before he or she can apply for a broker’s license.

2. The applicant shall submit to the Commission
a list of at least thirty (30) sales or other qualified trans-
actions, showing dates, location, purchaser’s name and
seller’s name.  Transactions involving time-shares, leases,
or property management are not qualified transactions for
purposes of obtaining a real estate broker’s license.  These
sales must have been made by the applicant within the pre-
vious five (5) years through the general brokerage busi-
ness and not as a representative of a builder, developer,
and/or subdivider.  Transactions involving time-shares,
leases, or property management are not qualified transac-
tions for purposes of obtaining a real estate broker’s li-
cense.   The Commission reserves the right to waive any of
the above requirements, upon evidence that the applicant
possesses sufficient experience in the real estate business
or demonstrates collateral experience to the Commission.

3. The list of thirty (30) sales or other qualified
transactions and/or the variety of the licensee’s experi-
ence must be approved by the Commission.

B. Course
1. The Commission shall consider the applica-

tion of any person for a license after said applicant has
successfully completed an accredited course.

2. Effective May 1, 1978, all courses shall be
limited to thirty-five (35) students in each class.

C. Examination
Within twelve (12) months of completing an accred-

ited course, the applicant must submit a score report show-
ing successful completion of the examination required by
the Commission and submit all necessary documentation
including the credit report required by Paragraph E of this
rule to the Commission to be considered for licensure.

D. Ability to conduct business
1. The Commission reserves the right to reject

an applicant based on his or her ability to transact real es-
tate business in a competent manner or if it determines
that the applicant lacks experience, a reputation for hon-
esty, truthfulness and fair dealings.

2. The minimum age at which a person can be
issued a broker’s license is twenty-three (23).

E. Credit Report
Each applicant shall submit a credit report from an ap-

proved credit reporting agency, which report shall be made
directly to the Commission.

F. Fees
The Commission shall not consider an application for

a broker’s license unless such application is submitted with
evidence of payment of the following fees:

1. Broker’s application license fee established
by the Division of Professional Regulation pursuant to 29
Del. C. Sec. 880710(d).

2. Processing fee established by the Division of
Professional Regulation pursuant to 29 Del. C. Sec.
8810(d).

3. Guaranty Fund fee unless paid previously pur-
suant to 24 Del. C. Sec. 2921(b).

IV. RECIPROCAL LICENSES
A. Requirements

1. A non-resident of this State who is duly li-
censed as a broker in another state and who is actually
engaged in the business of real estate in the other state
may be issued a non-resident broker’s license under 24
Del. C. Sec. 2909(a).

2. A non-resident salesperson who is duly li-
censed as a salesperson in another state and who is actu-
ally engaged in the business of real estate in the other
state may be issued a non-resident salesperson’s license
provided such non-resident salesperson is employed by a
broker holding a broker’s license issued by the Commis-
sion.

3. The Commission, at its discretion, may is-
sue a non-resident broker’s or salesperson’s license with-
out the course and examination required by Rules II.B. or
III.C. provided the non-resident broker or salesperson
passed an equivalent course and examination in his/her
resident state and provided that such other state extends
the same privilege to Delaware real estate licensees.
V. ESCROW ACCOUNTS

A. All moneys received by a broker as agent for his
principal in a real estate transaction shall be deposited
within three (3) banking days after a contract of sale or
lease has been signed by both parties, in a separate escrow
account so designated, and remain there until settlement
or termination of the transaction at which time the broker
shall make a full accounting thereof to his or her princi-
pal.

B. All moneys received by a salesperson in connec-
tion with a real estate transaction shall be immediately de-
livered to the appropriate broker.

C. A broker shall not co-mingle money or any other
property entrusted to him with his money or property, ex-
cept that a broker may maintain up to $100.00 of his/her
own funds in a specific amount of his own funds from
$25.00 to $100.00 in the escrow account to cover bank
service charges and to maintain the minimum balance nec-
essary to avoid the account being closed.

D. A broker shall maintain in his office a complete
record of all moneys received or escrowed on real estate
transactions, including the sources of the money, the date
of receipt, depository, and date of deposit; and when a trans-
action has been completed, the final disposition of the mon-
eys.  The records shall clearly show the amount of the
broker’s personal funds in escrow at all times.

E. An escrow account must be opened by the broker
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in a Delaware bank with an office located in Delaware in
order to receive, maintain or renew a valid license.

F.  The Commission may summarily suspend (upon
hearing) the license of any broker who fails to comply with
Paragraph D, who fails to promptly account for any funds
held in escrow, or who fails to produce all records, books,
and accounts of such funds upon demand.  The suspension
may be immediate and shall continue until such time as the
licensee appears for a hearing and furnishes evidence of
compliance with the Rules and Regulations of the Com-
mission.

G. Interest accruing on money held in escrow belongs
to the owner of the funds unless otherwise stated in the
contract of sale or lease.

VI. TRANSFER OF BROKER OR SALESPERSON
A. All licensees who transfer to another office, or

brokers who open their own offices, but who were associ-
ated previously with another broker or company, must
present a completed transfer form to the Commission
signed by the individual broker or company with whom they
were formerly associated, before the broker ’s or
salesperson’s license will be transferred.  In addition all
brokers who are non-resident licensees must also provide
a current certificate of licensure.

B. The Commission reserves the right to waive this
requirement upon a determination of good cause.

C. All brokers of record who move the physical lo-
cation of their office shall notify the Commission in writ-
ing at least 30 days, or as soon as practical, prior to such
move by filing a new office application.

VII. DISCIPLINE OF A REAL ESTATE BROKER OR
SALESPERSON

A. In such circumstances, when it becomes neces-
sary to discipline a licensee, the Commission shall follow
the procedures set forth in these Rules and Regulations
and the Administrative Procedures Act under Title 29, Sec-
tion 6401-6434.

VIII.   REFUND OF FEES
No refund of fees shall be made to any applicant who

fails to qualify for a license or who requests a change in
status after a renewal has been issued.

IX. BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS AND PRACTICES
A. Written Listing Agreements
Listing Agreements for the rental, sale, lease or ex-

change ofr real property, whether exclusive, co-exclusive
or open shall be in writing and shall be signed by the seller
or owner.

B. Copy of agreements
Every party to a listing agreement, agreement of pur-

chase and sale, or lease shall be furnished with an executed

copy of such contract or contracts.  It shall be the respon-
sibility of the licensee to deliver an executed copy of the
agreements to the principals within a reasonable length of
time after execution.

C. Advertising
1. Any licensee who advertises, on signs, news-

papers or any other media, property personally owned and/
or property in which a licensee has any ownership inter-
est, and said property is not listed with a broker, must in-
clude in the advertisement that he/she is the owner of said
property and that he/she is a real estate licensee.

2. Any licensee who advertises in newspapers or
any other media, property personally owned and/or prop-
erty in which the licensee has any ownership interest, and
said property is listed with a broker, must include in the
advertisement the name of the broker under whom he/she
is licensed, that he/she is the owner of said property, and
that he/she is a real estate licensee.  This subsection does
not apply to signs.

3. Any licensee who advertises, by signs, news-
paper, or any other media, any property for sale, lease, ex-
change, or transfer that is listed with a broker must in-
clude in the advertisement the name of the broker under
whom the licensee he/she is licensed.

4. All advertisements for personal promotion of
licensees must include the name of the cCompany under
whom the licensee is licensed.

5. Size, dimension, proportion, and prominence
of licensee’s name and company’s and/or broker’s name
referred to in paragraph 2, 3, and 4 of this subsection shall
be subject to the Broker-of-Record approval.

D. Separate Office
1. Applicants for broker’s licenses and those

presently licensed must maintain separate offices in which
to conduct the real estate business.  Nothing contained
herein, however, shall preclude said persons from sharing
facilities with such other businesses as insurance, bank-
ing, or others that the Commission shall deem compat-
ible.

2. Where the office is located in a private home,
said office must have a separate entrance and must be ap-
proved by the Commission.  The broker must place a per-
manent sign indicating the name under which the office is
licensed, in a conspicuous location.

E.  Compensation
1. Licensees shall not accept compensation

from more than one party to a transaction, even if permit-
ted by law, without timely disclosure to all parties to the
transaction.

2. When acting as agent, a licensee shall not ac-
cept any commission, rebate, or profit on expenditures
made for his principal-owner without the principal’s knowl-
edge and informed consent.

F.  Duty to Cooperate
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Brokers and salespersons shall cooperate with all other

brokers and salespersons involved in a transaction except
when cooperation is not in the client’s best interest.  The
obligation to cooperate does not include the obligation to
share commissions or to otherwise compensate another
broker or salesperson.

X. RENEWAL OF LICENSES
A. Renewal Required by Expiration Date on License

July 1
In order to qualify for license renewal as a real estate

salesperson or broker in Delaware, a licensee shall have
completed 15 hours of continuing education within the two
year period immediately preceding the renewal.  The bro-
ker of record for the licensee seeking renewal shall cer-
tify to the Commission, on a form supplied by the Com-
mission, that the licensee has complied with the neces-
sary continuing education requirements.  This certifica-
tion form shall be submitted by the licensee together with
his/her renewal application and renewal fee.  The broker
of record shall retain for a period of one (1) year, the docu-
ments supporting his/her certification that the licensee has
complied with the continuing education requirement.  A
licensee who has not paid the fees and/or met the require-
ments for the renewal of his or her license by the expira-
tion date shown thereon July 1, shall not list, sell, lease or
negotiate for others after such date.

B. Delinquency Fee
1. If a licensee fails to renew his or her license

prior to the expiration date shown thereon July 1, he or
she shall be required to pay the full license fee and an ad-
ditional delinquency fee (amount equal to one half of the
yearly license fee) delinquency fee.  If a licensee fails to
renew his or her license within 60 days of the expiration
date shown thereon before September 1, the license shall
be cancelled.

2. Failure to receive notice of renewal by a lic-
ensee shall not constitute a reason for reinstatement.

C. Reinstatement of License
1. A cancelled license shall be reinstated only

after the licensee pays the necessary fees, including the
delinquency fee, and passes any examinations required by
the Commission.  If the licensee fails to apply for renewal
within 6 months of the cancellation date by March 1 of the
next year, the licensee shall be required to take the state
portion of the examination.   to be reinstated.  If the lic-
ensee fails to apply for renewal before the next renewal
period commences (two years), the licensee shall be re-
quired to pass both the state and the national portions of
the examination.

2. No person whose license has been revoked
will be considered for the issuance of a new license for a
period of at least two (2) years from the date of the revo-
cation of the license.  Such person shall then fulfill the

following requirements: he or she shall attend and pass
the real estate course for salespersons; take and pass the
Commission’s examination for salespersons; and any other
criteria established by the Commission., including the sub-
mission of three (3) letters of character reference, stating
that such individual is of good moral character.  Nothing
above shall be construed to allow anyone to take the course
for the purpose of licensing until after the waiting period
of two (2) years.  Nothing contained herein shall require
the Commission to issue a new license upon completion
of the above mentioned requirements, as the Commission
retains the right to deny any such application.

D. Certification of Continuing Education
The broker of record shall certify to the Commission,

on a form supplied by the Commission, at the time of li-
cense renewal that all licensees in his/her office have com-
plied with the necessary continuing education require-
ments.  This certification form shall be submitted by the
licensee together with their renewal application and fee.
The broker of record shall retain for a period of one (1)
year, the documents supporting his/her certification that
the licensee has complied with the continuing education
requirement.

XI. INACTIVE STATUS
Upon the payment of a fee established by the Division

of Professional Regulation, the Commission may place
any licensee on inactive status for a period not to exceed
two (2) years.

XII. AVAILABILITY OF RULES AND REGULATIONS
A. Fee Charge for Primers
Since licensees are required to conform to the

Commission’s Rules and Regulations and the Laws of the
State of Delaware, these Rules and Regulations shall be
made available to licensees without charge.  However, in
order to help defray the cost of printing, students in the
real estate courses and other interested parties may shall
be required to pay such fee as stipulated by the Division of
Professional Regulation for the booklet or printed mate-
rial. or such fee as stipulated by the Commission.

XIII. DISCLOSURE
A. A licensee who is the owner, the prospective pur-

chaser, lessor or lessee or who has any personal interest
in a transaction, must disclose his or her status as a lic-
ensee to ALL persons with whom he or she is transacting
such business, prior previous to the execution of any agree-
ments and shall include on the agreement such status. as a
licensee on the agreement.

B. Buy-In-Disclosure
Any licensee advertising real estate for sale stating in

such advertisement, “If we cannot sell your home, we will
BUY your home”, or words to that effect, shall disclose in
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the original listing contract at the time he or she obtains
the signature on the listing contract, the price he will pay
for the property if no sales contract is executed during the
term of the listing.  Said licensee shall have no more than
sixty (60) days to purchase and settle for the subject prop-
erty upon expiration of the original listing or any exten-
sion thereof.

C.  A licensee who has direct contact with a potential
purchaser or seller shall disclose in writing whom he/she
represents in any real estate negotiation or transaction.  The
Such disclosure as to whom the licensee represents should
shall be made at the 1st substantive contact to each party
to the negotiation or transaction.  In all cases such disclo-
sure must be made  whom licensee does not represent, but,
in any event, prior to the presentation of an offer to pur-
chase.  A written confirmation of disclosure shall also be
included in the contract for the real estate transaction.

The written confirmation of disclosure in the contract
shall be worded as follows:

With respect to agent for seller:  “This broker, any co-
operating broker, and any salesperson working with either,
are representing the seller’s interest and have fiduciary re-
sponsibilities to the seller, but are obligated to treat all
parties with honesty.  The broker, any cooperating broker,
and any salesperson working with either, without breach-
ing the fiduciary responsibilities to the seller, may, among
other services, provide a potential purchaser with infor-
mation about the attributes of properties and available fi-
nancing, show properties, and assist in preparing an offer
to purchase.  The broker, any cooperating broker, and any
salesperson working with either, also have the duty to re-
spond accurately and honestly to a potential purchaser’s
questions and disclose material facts about properties,
submit promptly all offers to purchase and offer proper-
ties without unlawful discrimination.”

With respect to agent for buyer:  “This broker, and any
salesperson working for this broker, is representing the
buyer’s interests  and has fiduciary responsibilities to the
buyer, but is obligated to treat all parties with honesty.  The
broker, and any salesperson working for the broker, with-
out breaching the fiduciary responsibilities to the buyer,
may, among other services, provide a seller with informa-
tion about the transaction.  The broker, and any salesper-
son working for the broker, also has the duty to respond
accurately and honestly to a seller’s questions and disclose
material facts about the transaction, submit promptly all
offers to purchase through proper procedures, and serve
without unlawful discrimination.”

In the case of a transaction involving a lease in excess
of 120 days, substitute the term “lessor” for the term
“seller”, substitute the term “lessee” for the terms “buyer”
and “purchaser”, and substitute the term “lease” for “pur-
chase” as they appear above.

D. If a property is the subject of an agreement of sale

but being left on the market for backup offers, or is the
subject of an agreement of sale which contains a right of
first refusal clause, the existence of such agreement must
be disclosed by the listing broker to any individual who
makes an appointment to see such property at the time such
appointment is made.

XIV.    HEARINGS
A. When  If a complaint is filed with the Commis-

sion against a licensee, the status of the broker of record
in that office shall not cannot change. the status of his or
her license until the pending case is settled.

B. There shall be a maximum of one (1) postpone-
ment  for each side allowed on any hearing which has been
scheduled by the Commission.  If any of the parties are
absent from a scheduled hearing, the Commission reserves
the right to act based upon the evidence presented.

XV. INDUCEMENTS
A. Real Estate licensees cannot use commissions or

income received from commissions as rebates or com-
pensation paid to or given to NON-LICENSED PERSONS,
partnerships or corporations as inducements to do or se-
cure business, or as a finder’s fee.

[B. No licensee shall knowingly pay a commis-
sion, or other compensation to a licensed person know-
ing that licensee will in turn pay a portion or all of
that which is received to a person who does not hold a
real estate license.]

XVI. NECESSITY OF LICENSE
A. For any property listed with a broker for sale, lease

or exchange, only a licensee shall be permitted to host or
staff an open house or otherwise show a listed property.
That licensee may be assisted by non-licensed persons pro-
vided a licensee is on site.  This subsection shall not pro-
hibit a seller from showing their own house.

B. For new construction, subdivision, or develop-
ment listed with a broker for sale, lease or exchange, a
licensee shall always be on site when the site is open to
the general public, except where a builder and/or devel-
oper has hired a non-licensed person who is under the di-
rect supervision of said builder and/or developer for the
purpose of staffing said project.

XIV.   OUT OF STATE LAND SALES APPLICATIONS
A. All applications for registration of an out of state

land sale must include the following:
1. A completed license application on the form

provided by the Commission.
2. A $100 filing fee made payable to the State

of Delaware.
3. A valid Business License issued by the State

of Delaware, Division of Revenue.
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4. A signed Appointment and Agreement des-

ignating the Delaware Secretary of State as the applicant’s
registered agent for service of process.  The form of Ap-
pointment and Agreement shall be provided by the Com-
mission.  In the case of an applicant which is a Delaware
corporation, the Commission may, in lieu of the forego-
ing Appointment and Agreement, accept a current cer-
tificate of good standing from the Delaware Secretary of
State and a letter identifying the applicant’s registered
agent in the State of Delaware.

5. The name and address of the applicant’s resi-
dent broker in Delaware and a completed Consent of Bro-
ker form provided by the Commission.  Designation of a
resident broker is required for all registrations regard-
less of whether sales will occur in Delaware.

6. A bond on the form provided by the Com-
mission in an amount equal to ten (10) times the amount
of the required deposit.

7. Copies of any agreements or contracts to be
utilized in transactions completed pursuant to the regis-
tration.

B. Each registration of an out of state land sale must
be renewed on an annual basis.  Each application for re-
newal must include the items identified in sub-sections
2 through 4 of Section A above and a statement indicat-
ing whether there are any material changes to informa-
tion provided in the initial registration.  Material changes
may include, but are not limited to, the change of the
applicant’s resident broker in Delaware; any changes to
the partners, officers and directors’ disclosure form in-
cluded with the initial application; and any changes in the
condition of title.

C. If, subsequent to the approval of an out of state
land sales registration, the applicant adds any new lots or
units or the like to the development, then the applicant
must, within thirty days, amend its registration to include
this material change.  A new registration statement is not
required, and the amount of the bond will remain the same.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION  OF REVENUE

OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,
Section 4805(a) (29 Del.C. 4805(a))

BEFORE THE DELAWARE STATE LOTTERY OFFICE
IN RE: PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. section 4805(a), the Delaware

State Lottery Office hereby issues this Order regarding
proposed  amendments to the existing Lottery Regulations.
Following notice and a request for public comments, the
Lottery makes the following findings and conclusions:

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

1.  The Lottery posted public notice of the proposed
Amended Regulations in the Register of Regulations and in
the News-Journal and Delaware State News.  On March 17,
1998, the Lottery  received a letter from Robert Osgood
commenting on the proposed regulations.  Mr. Osgood is
the Chairperson for the Delaware State Council for Persons
with Disabilities.  Mr. Osgood requested that section (1)(j)
of the Regulations be revised to mandate that surveys of
retailers be completed by a “qualified individual.”  He also
suggested that section (3)(c) provide that retailer locations
must comply with current ADA Accessibility Guidelines “and/
or any future amendments to ADAAG.”  Finally, Mr. Osgood
recommended that section 6(e) be revised to clarify that “the
25% threshold is additive over the years when modifications
are required to ensure accessibility of a location.”

FINDINGS OF FACT

2.  The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Lottery with comments in writing on the proposed
Regulations.  The written evidence received by the Lottery
is summarized in paragraph #1.  The Lottery has considered
the written comments submitted to the Lottery.

3.  The Lottery finds that the comments submitted by
Mr. Osgood were made in a good faith effort to clarify the
existing proposed regulations.  The Lottery does find the
recommended changes are not needed as the current
regulations adequately address the agency’s guidelines and
procedures.  First, under section (1)(j), the Lottery finds it
is implied that the Lottery would only use persons who are
qualified to conduct surveys of retailer sights.  Under section
(3)(c), the Lottery will review retailer locations to determine
compliance with ADA Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG)
published in the Federal Register on July 26, 1991.  These
guidelines are the federal requirements that are currently in
place and define the term “accessible” as contained in section
1(a) of the proposed Regulations.  The Lottery does not
believe an amendment is needed to reflect the fact that the
Lottery will follow the currently effective federal statutes
and requirements.  The Lottery is legally required to do so
by the federal law and it does not believe the regulations need
to be specifically amended to reflect this fact.

4.  The Lottery has reviewed Mr. Osgood’s proposed
revision of section (6)(e).  Mr. Osgood requests language be
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added stating that the 25% limit for an exemption is “additive
over the years.”  The Lottery is not exactly clear on what is
being requested by this proposal.  The regulations already
specify that the exemption for undue hardship applies if the
cost of making changes to the premises exceeds 25% of the
retailer’s annual lottery compensation.  Section (6)(e).  These
regulations also clearly provide, that under this exemption,
the retailer is required to make annual improvements toward
compliance in an amount not to exceed 25% of the retailer
commissions.  The regulations provide that this requirement
to make improvements continues “on a year-to year basis
until all the improvements and modifications required by this
rule have been completed.”  The Lottery finds the existing
regulation in its proposed form is clear and adequately spells
out the retailer’s obligations.  The Lottery will adopt this
regulations in its proposed form.

CONCLUSIONS

5.  The proposed Regulations were promulgated by the
Lottery Office in accord with its statutory duties and authority
as set forth in 29 Del. C. section 4805(a).  The Lottery deems
the proposed Regulations necessary for the effective
enforcement of 29 Del. C. section 4805 and for the full and
efficient performance of the Lottery’s duties thereunder.  The
Lottery concludes that the adoption of the proposed
Regulations would be in the best interests of the citizens of
the State of Delaware and consonant with the dignity of the
State and the general welfare of the people under section
4805(a).

6.  The Lottery will adopt the proposed Amended
Regulations pursuant to  29 Del. C. section 4805 and 29 Del.
C. section 10118.  The Lottery has considered the written
comments of the public prior to issuance of this Order.  A
copy of the adopted regulations are attached as exhibit #1
and incorporated as part of this Order.

7.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date of publication of this Order in the Register of
Regulations on May 1, 1998.

It is so ordered this 14th day of April, 1998.
Vernon Kirk
Hearing Officer
Delaware State Lottery Office

Delaware Lottery Final Regulation

Non-Discrimination on the Basis of Disability in
Delaware Lottery Programs

(1) Definitions
a) “Accessible” means complying with the technical

requirements found in the ADA Accessibility Guidelines
(ADAAG).

b) “Accessible Route” means a continuous
unobstructed path connecting all accessible elements and
spaces of a building or facility. Interior accessible routes
may include corridors, floors, ramps, elevators, lifts, and
clear floor space at fixtures.  Exterior accessible routes
may include parking access aisles, curb ramps,
crosswalks at vehicular ways, walks, ramps, and lifts.

c) “ADA” means the Americans with Disabilities
Act (42 United States Code. §§12101-12213 and 47
United States Code §225 and §611).

d) “Director” means the Director of the State
Lottery Office.

e) “Entrance” means any access point to a building
or portion of a building or facility used for the purpose of
entering.  An entrance includes the approach walk the
vertical access leading to the entrance platform, the
entrance platform itself, vestibules if provided, the entry
door(s) or gate(s), and the hardware of the entry door(s)
or gate(s).

f) “Facility” means all or any portion of buildings,
structures, site improvements, complexes, equipment,
roads, walks, passageways, parking lots, or other real or
personal property located on a site.

g) “Lottery Program” means on-line and instant
games offered to the public through retailer licensees.

h) “Lottery” or “State Lottery Office” means the
lottery established by the Delaware State Lottery Law,
Chapter 348, Volume 59, of the Laws of Delaware.

i) “Lottery Retailer” or “Retailer” means a business
entity housed in a specific retail facility that is under
license with the Delaware Lottery to provide lottery
related services.

 j) “Inspection Report” means a completed survey
of the retailer or applicant facility that identifies barriers
to program accessibility, if any and suggest possible
solutions.

k) “Service Site” means an area within a lottery
retailer facility where a customer can purchase a lottery
related product.  This is usually the cashier’s station.
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(2) Purpose

a) The Americans with Disabilities Act (P.L. 101-
336, U.S.C. §§ 12131-12134), known as the ADA,
prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in the
delivery of programs offered by entities of state or local
government.  The purpose of this regulation is to ensure
that the Delaware Lottery is in compliance with the ADA
by ensuring that people with disabilities have access to
Delaware Lottery programs.

b) In defining the scope or extent of any duty
imposed by these regulations including compliance with
the standard of accessibility defined in paragraph 3(b),
higher or more comprehensive obligations established by
otherwise applicable federal, state or local enactment
may be considered.

(3) General Requirements

a) Prohibition of discrimination.  No lottery
retailer shall discriminate against any individual on the
basis of a disability in the full and equal enjoyment of
lottery related goods, services, facilities, privileges,
advantages, or accommodations of any lottery licensed
facility.

b) Standard of accessibility.  Each Retailer is
required to meet a standard of accessibility that enables
people with disabilities, including those who use
wheelchairs, to enter the lottery licensed facility and
participate in the lottery program.  An accessible route
must be provided comprised of the following accessible
elements:

1) Parking if parking is provided to the general
public;

2) Exterior route connecting parking (or a
public way if no parking is provided) to an accessible
entrance;

3) Entrance;

4) Interior Route connecting the entrance to a
service site.

c) Each element shall meet the design standards set
forth in the ADA Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG)
published in the Federal Register on July 26, 1991.

(4) New License Applicants

a) License applicants.  The State Lottery Office
shall inspect the site of applicants for compliance with

this regulation prior to granting a license.  The State
Lottery Office will not grant a license to an applicant who
is not in compliance with this regulation.

b) Inspection reports.  The State Lottery Office,
prior to granting a license, shall provide lottery applicants
with an Inspection Report that shall identify barrier
removal actions, if any, necessary to provide program
accessibility.  The identified actions must be completed
prior to the granting of a license.

(5) Current Retailers

a) The State Lottery Office shall inspect the site of
each lottery retailer for compliance with this regulation.

b) Inspection reports . The State Lottery Office
shall provide to all current retailers an Inspection Report
that shall identify barrier removal actions necessary to
provide program accessibility.  The identified actions
must be competed within 90 days of receipt of the
Inspection Report.

c) Extensions.  The Director may grant an extension
of up to 90 days to allow a current retailer to complete
barrier removal actions identified in the Inspection
Report.

(i) Any request for an extension must be in
writing, and shall include specific reasons for an
extension and supporting documentation.

(ii) The Director shall grant an extension only
upon showing of good cause.

(6) Permitted exemptions

a) The following exemptions to the requirements of
this rule may be granted by the Director.  The Director
shall review the circumstances and supporting
documentation provided by the retailer to determine if the
retailer’s request for an exemption should be granted.
The Director shall determine the type and scope of
documentation to be required for each exemption
classification.  All decisions made by the Director shall
be final; any retailer whose request for an exemption is
denied by the Director shall be required to satisfy the
requirements of this rule as a condition for maintaining
its eligibility for a Lottery retailer contract.

b) Historic properties.  To the extent a historic
building is exempt under federal law, and if barrier
removal would threaten or destroy the historic
significance of the structure, this rule shall not apply to a
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qualified historic building or facility that is listed in or is
eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic
Places under the National Historic Preservation Act or is
designated as historic under State or Local law.

c) Legal impediment to barrier removal.  Any law,
act, ordinance, state regulation, ruling or decision which
prohibits the lottery retailer from removing a structural
impediment or from making a required improvement to
the facility may be the basis for an exemption to this rule.
A lottery retailer requesting an exemption for a legal
impediment will not be required to formally seek a zoning
variance to establish such impediment, but will be
required to document that they have applied for and have
been refused whatever permit(s) are necessary to remove
the identified barrier(s).

d) Landlord refusal.  An exemption may be granted
based on the refusal of a landlord to grant permission to
a Lottery retailer to make structural improvements
required by the Lottery under this rule.  The exemption
shall only apply to the retailer’s current lease term.  To
request such an exemption, the retailer must submit
documentation to the Director that the retailer requested
the Landlord’s permission to make the required structural
improvements, that such request was denied by the
landlord, and the reasons for the denial.  In making a
decision on the exemption request the Director shall take
into consideration, but not be limited to,, the sufficiency
of the reasons provided by the landlord for denying the
retailer’s request.

e) Undue financial hardship.  A limited exemption
may be granted if a retailer can demonstrate that the cost
of removing a structural barrier or of making the required
structural modification(s) to the retailer’s facility is an
undo financial hardship in that the cost of making such a
change(s) exceeds 25% of the retailer’s compensation
from the Lottery for the prior calendar year (An
annualized sales figure based upon the retailer’s most
current 13-week sales period shall be used for those
retailer locations with less than a full year’s history of
sales.)  Under the terms of this limited exemption, a
retailer would be required to annually make those
improvements and modifications that can be financed
within an amount that is approximately equal to 25% of
the total compensation earned from the Lottery in the
prior calendar year.  This requirement would continue on
a year-to-year basis until all the improvements and
modifications required by this rule have been completed.
A retailer shall provide all supporting documentation
requested by the Director to substantiate the, cost
estimates of making the required improvements to the
retailer’s location.

f) Alternative methods.  Where an exemption is
granted in accordance with the provisions of this sub-
chapter, the lottery retailer shall make the lottery related
goods and services available through alternative methods.
Examples of alternative methods include, but are not
limited to:

1) Providing curb service;

2) Directing by signage to the nearest accessible
lottery retailer.

(7) Complaints Relating to Non-Accessibility

a) An aggrieved party may file an accessibility
complaint with the Lottery Director or designee for
review.  Complaints must be in writing and, where
possible, submitted on an ADA complaint form.  As soon
as practical, but not later than 30 days after the filing of a
complaint, each complaint will be investigated.  After the
completion of the investigation, if the agency determines
that the lottery retailer is not in compliance with this
regulation, a letter of non-compliance will be issued to
the lottery retailer with a copy to the complainant.  If the
lottery retailer is determined to be in compliance, a letter
so stating will be mailed to the retailer and complainant.
Regardless of whether a complaint has been filed, the
agency will issue a letter of noncompliance within 30
days after the completion of an onsite inspection of the
lottery retailer facility if the agency determines that the
lottery retailer is not in compliance with this regulation.

b) If the letter of non-compliance shows
deficiencies in the accessibility of the retailer facility,
the lottery retailer shall submit a plan to the agency within
30 days of the issuance of the letter of non-compliance.
The plan shall describe in detail how the lottery retailer
will achieve compliance with this regulation.  Compliance
shall be accomplished within 90 days of the letter of non-
compliance.  The Lottery may, upon request, grant the
lottery retailer additional time to submit the plan for good
cause.

c) Within 20 days of the submission of the plan to
the agency, the Lottery shall notify the lottery retailer of
the agency’s acceptance or rejection of the plan.  If the
plan is rejected, the notification shall contain the reasons
for rejection of the plan and the corrections needed to
make the plan acceptable to the Lottery.  If the retailer
agrees to make the required corrections, the Lottery shall
accept the plan as modified.

d) If a retailer fails to submit a plan within 30 days
of issuance of the letter of noncompliance and has not
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requested an extension of time to submit a plan, the
Lottery may proceed to initiate termination proceedings.

e) If approved, the plan must be completely
implemented within 60 days of the agency’s notice of
approval.  The Lottery may, upon request, grant the lottery
retailer additional time for good cause.  Notice of any
extension will also be sent to the complainant, if
applicable.  Any such extension will commence
immediately upon expiration of the first 60 day period.

f ) If the corrective action taken by the lottery
retailer corrects the deficiencies specified in the letter
of noncompliance as originally issued or as later revised
or reissued or if the onsite inspection of the lottery
retailer facility reveals compliance with this regulation,
the Lottery will issue a notice of compliance.  Until this
notice is issued, a complaint will be considered pending.

g) Failure to make the identified modifications in
compliance with the accessibility standards and within the
required time period will result in the initiation of
proceedings to suspend or revoke the lottery license by
the agency.

h) A license will be suspended if the Lottery
determines that the lottery retailer has made significant
progress toward correcting deficiencies listed in the
compliance report, but has not completed implementation
of the approved compliance plan.  If the Lottery
determines that the lottery retailer has not made a good
faith effort to correct the deficiencies listed in the
compliance report, this inaction will result in the
revocation of the lottery license for that lottery licensed
facility.

i ) While proceedings to suspend or revoke a lottery
retailer’s license are pending pursuant to this regulation,
and until a notice of compliance is issued pursuant to
subsection (c) of this section, the Lottery shall withhold
incentive payments from the lottery retailer.  In addition,
if a license is revoked pursuant to this regulation, and
incentive payments and other privileges have been
withheld from the affected retailer pending review of the
complaint, the lottery retailer forfeits any claim to such
incentive payments or other privileges.

(8) Request for Hearings

a) If the Lottery proposes the denial of an
application for a license or the suspension or revocation
of a lottery retailer’s license pursuant to this regulation,
the agency shall give the applicant or lottery retailer
written notice of the time and place of the administrative

hearing not later than 30 days before the date of the
hearing.

b) All relevant rules of evidence and time limits
established in these rules shall apply to hearings
conducted under this regulation.

(9) Non-Exclusivity of Remedies

a) Remedies established by these regulations are
not intended to supplant, restrict or otherwise impair
resort to remedies otherwise available under law,
including those authorized by the ADA and Del. Code
Ann., title 6, ch. 45 (1993).

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF FISH & WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 903(e)(2)(a) (7 Del.C. 903(e)(2)(a))

Order No. 98-F-0012

ORDER

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION

Pursuant to due notice, 1:9 Del. R. 1351-1357 (March
1, 1998), the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposed to enact amendments to tidal
finfish regulations to reduce the recreational harvest of
summer flounder; maintain the current commercial fishery
for weakfish; reduce the harvest of tautog and reduce the
fishing mortality on black sea bass to be consistent with the
Fishery Management Plans for summer flounder, weakfish,
tautog, and black sea bass.  These plans have been approved
by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.  The
requirements in these plans must be complied with by the
states according to the provisions of the Atlantic Coastal
Fisheries Cooperative Management Plan.

A public hearing was held on March 26, 1998 in Dover,
Delaware in front of Charles A. Lesser, Fisheries
Administrator for the Department and the Department’s
designee to receive testimony and evidence.  His report is
attached to this order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The FMP for weakfish requires Delaware to continue

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fandw.htm
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its reduced commercial fishing effort in 1998 by closing 34
days to gill netting in the Delaware Bay and Ocean.

The FMP for summer flounder requires Delaware to
reduce the recreational creel limit in 1998  from 10 to 8 and
to increase the minimum recreational size limit from 14.5
inches to 15 inches.

The FMP for black sea bass requires Delaware to close
the recreational fishery on August 1 through August 15.  It
also requires Delaware to impose trip limits on commercial
fishermen and close the commercial fishery if a federal
quarterly quota is reached.

The FMP for tautog requires Delaware to reduce its
annual exploitation rate to 20% in 1998.  This requires a
35.5% reduction in the landings relative to 1997 landings.
This can be accomplished  by a reduction in the creel limit
and/or a seasonal closure.

No significant testimony or evidence was submitted
contrary to the requirements of the FMP’s for summer
flounder, black sea bass, or weakfish.  Testimony was given
on the six options presented by staff that would reduce the
tautog exploitation to 20%.  Most of this testimony supported
larger creel limits and the shortest seasonal closure.

CONCLUSIONS

The appropriate amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation
Nos. 4, 10, 22 and 23 should be implemented to bring
Delaware into compliance with fishery management plans
for summer flounder, weakfish, tautog and black sea bass.

Future considerations should be given to collecting
effort and harvest data relative to recreational spear fishing
for tautog in order for that segment of the recreational fishery
to be addressed independently.  Until this data is collected,
spear fishing creel limits and seasons have to coincide with
recreational  fishing creel limits and seasonal closures to
remain in compliance with the tautog FMP.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this 7th day of April, 1998 that
amendments to tidal finfish regulations Nos. 4, 10, 22 and
23, copies of which are attached hereto, are adopted pursuant
to 7 Del. C. §903 (e)(2)(a) and are supported by the
Department’s findings on the evidence and testimony
received.  This order shall become effective on May 11,
1998.

Christophe A.G. Tulou, Secretary,
Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control.

Be it adopted by the Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control the following amendments:

Section 1.  Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4, SUMMER
FLOUNDER SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
SEASONS; in subsections (b) and (j) by striking the words
“ten (10)” and substituting in lieu thereof the words “eight
(8)”;

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 in
subsections (c) and (d) by striking the words “fourteen and
one-half (14.5)” and substitute in lieu thereof  the words
“fifteen (15).”

Section 2.  Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 10,
WEAKFISH SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
SEASONS; by striking subsection (e) in its entirety and
substitute in lieu thereof the following:

“(e) It shall be unlawful for any person to fish with any
gill net in the Delaware Bay or Atlantic Ocean or to take and
reduce to possession any weakfish from the Delaware Bay
or the Atlantic Ocean with any fishing equipment other than
a hook and line during the following periods of time:

Beginning at 12:01 a.m. on May 1, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 10, 1998:

beginning at 12:01 a.m. on May 15, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 17, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 a.m. on May 22, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 24, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 a.m. on May 29, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 31, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 a.m. on June 5, 1998 and ending at
midnight on June 7, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 a.m. on June 12, 1998 and ending at
midnight on June 14, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 a.m. on June 19, 1998 and ending at
midnight on June 21, 1998;

and beginning 12:01 a.m. on June 25, 1998 and ending
at midnight on June 30, 1998.”

Section 3.  Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 22, TAUTOG
SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS, by striking it in its
entirety and substitute in lieu thereof the following:

“TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 22 TAUTOG SIZE
LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any
tautog Tautoga  onitis, less than fourteen (14) inches in total
length during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on July 1
and ending at 12:00 p.m. on March 31, next ensuing.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any
tautog less than fifteen (15) inches in total length during the
period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on April 1 and ending at 12:00
p.m. on June 30, next ensuing.
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(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of 7 Del. C. §938

and §939, it shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than three (3) tautog during the period beginning at 12:01 on
April 1 and ending at 12:00 p.m. on June 30, next ensuing, at
or between the place where said tautog were caught and said
person’s personal abode or temporary or transient place of
lodging.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than ten (10) tautog during the period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on July 1 and ending at 12:00 p.m. on March 31, next
ensuing, at or between the place where said tautog were caught
and said person’s personal abode or temporary or transient
place of lodging.

(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (a)
and (d) of this regulation, it shall be unlawful for any person
to possess any tautog during the period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on September 8 and ending at 12:00 p.m. on September
18, next ensuing, except in said person’s personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging.”

Section 4.  Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23, BLACK
SEA BASS SIZE LIMIT, by adding the words “TRIP LIMITS;
SEASONS; QUOTAS” after the word “LIMIT” in the title.

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23 in
subsection (a) by striking the words “nine (9)” as they appear
therein and substitute in lieu thereof the words “ten (10).”

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23 in
subsection (b) by striking subsection (b) in its entirety and
substitute in lieu thereof the following:

“(b) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to take and reduce to possession any black sea bass or to
land any black sea bass during the period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on August 1 and ending at midnight on August 15.”

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23 by adding
a new subsection (c) to read as follows:

“(c) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess on
board a vessel at any time or to land after one trip more than
the following quantities of black sea bass during the quarter
listed:

First Quarter (January, February and March) - 11,000
lbs.

Second  Quarter (April, May and June) - 7,000 lbs.
Third Quarter (July, August and September) - 3,000 lbs.
Fourth Quarter (October, November and December) -

4,000 lbs.

“One trip” shall mean the time between a vessel leaving

its home port and the next time said vessel returns to any
port in Delaware.”

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23 by adding
a new subsection (d) to read as follows:

“(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to fish for black
sea  bass for commercial purposes or to land any black sea
bass for commercial purposes during any quarter indicated
in subsection (c) after the date in said quarter that the National
Marine Fisheries Services determines that quarter’s quota is
filled.”

Section 5.  Amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation Nos. 4,
10, 22 and 23 will have a significant impact upon the
conservation of the summer flounder fishery, the weakfish
fishery, the tautog fishery and the black sea bass fishery.

Section 6.  These amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation
Nos. 4, 10, 22 and 23 shall become effective on May 11,
1998.

Final Regulations

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 4.  SUMMER
FLOUNDER SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
SEASONS.

a) It shall be lawful for any person to take and reduce to
possession summer flounder from the tidal waters of this
State at any time except as otherwise set forth in this
regulation.

b) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to
have in possession more than ten (10) (8) summer flounder
at or between the place where said summer flounder were
caught and said recreational fisherman’s personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging.

c)  It shall be unlawful for any person, other than qualified
persons as set forth in paragraph (f) of this regulation, to
possess any summer flounder that measure less than fourteen
and one-half (14.5)  fifteen(15) inches between the tip of the
snout and the furthest tip of the tail.

d) It shall be unlawful for any person, other than a
licensed commercial finfisherman with a gill net permit,
while on board a vessel, to have in possession any part of a
summer flounder that measures less than fourteen and one-
half (14.5) fifteen (15) inches between said part’s two most
distant points unless said person also has in possession the
head, backbone and tail intact from which said part was
removed.

e) It shall be unlawful for any licensed commercial
finfisherman with a gill net permit to have in possession any
part of a summer flounder that measures less than fourteen
(14) inches between said part’s two most distant points unless
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said person also has in possession the head, backbone and tail
intact from which said part was removed.

f) Notwithstanding the size limits and possession limits
in this regulation, a person may possess a summer flounder
that measures no less than fourteen (14) inches between the
tip of the snout and the furthest tip of the tail and a quantity of
summer flounder in excess of the possession limit set forth
in this regulation, provided said person has one of the
following:

1) A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the date
said summer flounder  were received, the amount of said
summer flounder received and the name, address and
signature of the person who had landed said summer flounder;

2) A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish dealer
who obtained said summer flounder; or

3) A bill of lading while transporting fresh or frozen
summer flounder.

g) Notwithstanding the size limits in this regulation, a
person may possess a summer flounder that measures no less
than fourteen (14) inches between the tip of the snout and the
furthest tip of the tail, provided said person has one of the
following:

1) A valid commercial finfishing license and gill net
permit issued by the Department; or

2) A valid vessel permit issued by the Regional
director, NMFS, to fish  for and retain summer flounder in the
EEZ or a dealer permit issued by the Regional Director or
NMFS, as set forth in 50CFR, Part 625.

h) It shall be unlawful for any commercial finfisherman
to sell, trade and or barter or attempt to sell, trade and or barter
any summer flounder or part thereof that is landed in this State
by said commercial fisherman after a date when the de
minimis amount of commercial landings of summer flounder
is determined to have been landed in this State by the
Department.  The de minimis amount of summer flounder
shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota as set forth
in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan approved
by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.

i)   It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than
200 pounds of summer flounder in any one day in this State.

j)  It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been issued
a commercial foodfishing license and fishes for summer
flounder with any food fishing equipment other than a gill net,
to have in possession more than ten (10) summer flounder at
or between the place where said summer flounder were
caught and said person’s personal abode or temporary or
transient place of lodging.

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION 10.  WEAKFISH SIZE
LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS.

a) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess weakfish
Cynoscion regalis taken with a hook and line, that measure

less than thirteen (13) inches, total length.
b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to whom the

Department has issued a commercial food fishing license and
a food fishing equipment permit for hook and line to have
more than six (6) weakfish in possession during the period
beginning at 12:01 AM on May 1 and ending at midnight on
October 31 except on four specific days of the week as
indicated by the Department on said person’s food fishing
equipment permit for hook and line.

c)  It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been
issued a valid commercial food fishing license and a valid
food fishing equipment permit for equipment other than a
hook and line to possess weakfish, lawfully taken by use of
such permitted food fishing equipment, that measure less
than twelve (12) inches, total length.

d) It shall be unlawful for any person, except a person
with a valid commercial food fishing license, to have in
possession more than six (6) weakfish, not to include
weakfish in one’s personal abode or temporary or transient
place of lodging.  A person may have weakfish in possession
that measure no less than twelve (12) inches, total length, and
in excess of six (6) if said person has a valid bill-of-sale or
receipt for said weakfish that indicates the date said weakfish
were received, the number of said weakfish received and the
name, address and signature of the commercial food
fisherman who legally caught said weakfish or a bill-of-sale
or receipt from a person who is a licensed retailer and legally
obtained said weakfish for resale.

e)  It shall be unlawful for any person to fish with any gill
net in the Delaware Bay or Atlantic Ocean or to take and
reduce to possession any weakfish from the Delaware Bay or
the Atlantic Ocean with any fishing equipment other than a
hook and line during the following periods of time:

Beginning at 12:01 AM on May 3, 1997 and ending at
midnight on May 11, 1997;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 16, 1997 and ending at
midnight on May 18, 1997;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 23, 1997 and ending at
midnight on May 26, 1997;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 30, 1997 and ending at
midnight on  June 1, 1997;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 6, 1997 and ending at
midnight on June 8, 1997;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 13, 1997 and ending at
midnight on June 15, 1997;

and beginning at 12:01 AM on June 20, 1997 and ending
at midnight on June 28, 1997.

Beginning at 12:01 AM on May 1, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 10, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 15, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 17, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 22, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 24, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 29, 1998 and ending at
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midnight on May 31, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 5, 1998 and ending at
midnight on June 7, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 12, 1998 and ending at
midnight on June 14, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 19, 1998 and ending at
midnight on June 21, 1998;

and beginning at 12:01 AM on June 25, 1998 and ending
at midnight on June 30, 1998.”

f)  The Department shall indicate on a persons food
fishing equipment permit for hook and line four (4) specific
days of the week during the period May 1 through October 31,
selected by said person when applying for said permit, as to
when said permit is valid to take in excess of six (6)  weakfish
per day.  These four days of the week shall not be changed at
any time during the remainder of the calendar year.

g)  It shall be unlawful for any person with a food fishing
equipment permit for hook and line to possess more than six
(6) weakfish while on the same vessel with another person
who also has a food fishing equipment permit for hook and
line unless each person’s food fishing equipment permit for
hook and line specifies the same day of the week in question
for taking in excess of six (6) weakfish.

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.22 TAUTOG; SIZE
LIMITS.

(a)  Notwithstanding 7 Delaware Code. §929 (b) (7) it
shall be unlawful for any person to possess any tautog that
measures less that thirteen (13) inches in total length during
the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on January 1,  1997 and
ending at midnight on March 31,  1997 or during the period
beginning at 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 1997 and ending at
midnight on December 31,  1997.

(b)  Notwithstanding 7 Delaware Code §929 (b) (7) it
shall be unlawful for any person to possess any tautog that
measures less than fourteen (14) inches in total length during
the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on January 1,  1998 and
ending at midnight on March 31,  1998 or during the period
beginning at 12:01 a.m. on July 1,  1998 and ending at
midnight on December 31,  1998 or during said periods in all
years thereafter.

Also in effect are §938, 7 Delaware Code and §939, 7
Delaware Code.

§938.  Creel limits on finfish; exceptions.
(a)  Unless otherwise provided in this chapter, or by

regulations promulgated by the Department, or permit issued
by the Division, a fisher shall not have in possession at or
between the place caught and the fisher’s personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging more finfish than
exceed the following numbers for the species listed:

10 for tautog (Tautoga onitis) or blackfish.

§939.  Fishing seasons; exception.
(a)  Notwithstanding §938 of this title, it shall be

unlawful for any person to possess or retain more than 3
tautog (Tautoga onitis) during the period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on April 1 through and including midnight on June 30
next ensuing except that an individual who free dives without
the aid of an underwater mechanical breathing device may
take by spear and possess not more than 10 tautog per day
during this period.

Notwithstanding §929(b) (7) of this title, it shall be
unlawful to possess any tautog during the period beginning at
12:01 a.m. on April 1 through and including midnight on June
30, next ensuing, which measures less than 15 inches long in
total length.

(b)  Each tautog taken and retained in violation of the
provisions in subsection (a) of this section shall constitute a
separate violation.

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any
tautog Tautoga  onitis, less than fourteen (14) inches in total
length during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on July 1
and ending at 12:00 p.m. on March 31, next ensuing.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any
tautog less than fifteen (15) inches in total length during the
period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on April 1 and ending at 12:00
p.m. on June 30, next ensuing.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of 7 Del. C. §938
and §939, it shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than three (3) tautog during the period beginning at 12:01 on
April 1 and ending at 12:00 p.m. on June 30, next ensuing, at
or between the place where said tautog were caught and said
person’s personal abode or temporary or transient place of
lodging.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than ten (10) tautog during the period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on July 1 and ending at 12:00 p.m. on March 31, next
ensuing, at or between the place where said tautog were caught
and said person’s personal abode or temporary or transient
place of lodging.

(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (a)
and (d) of this regulation, it shall be unlawful for any person
to possess any tautog during the period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on September 8 and ending at 12:00 p.m. on September
18, next ensuing, except in said person’s personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging.
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TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.23 BLACK SEA BASS
SIZE LIMIT; TRIP LIMITS; SEASONS; [QUOTAS.]

a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to have in
possession any black sea bass (Centropritis striata) that
measures less than nine (9) ten (10) inches, total length.

b)  It shall be unlawful for any person who has been issued
a commercial food fishing license by the Department to have
in possession any black sea bass, after January 1, 1998, that
measures less than ten (10) inches, total measure.

It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to take and reduce to possession any black sea bass or to
land any black sea bass during the period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on August 1 and ending at midnight on August 15.

(c)  It shall be unlawful for any person to possess on board
a vessel at any time or to land after one trip more than the
following quantities of black sea bass during the quarter
listed:

First Quarter (January, February and March) - 11,000
lbs.

Second Quarter (April, May and June) - 7,000 lbs.
Third Quarter (July, August and September) - 3,000 lbs.
Fourth Quarter (October, November and December) -

4,000 lbs.

[A One] trip shall mean the time between a vessel leaving
its home port and the next time said vessel returns to any port
in Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF N ATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMEN TAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF FISH & WILDLIFE

ENFORCEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority:  23 Delaware Code,
Section 2114 (23 Del.C. 2114)

Order No. 98-F-0015

ORDER

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION

Pursuant to due notice, 1:9 Del. R. 1357-1373 (March
1, 1998), the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposed to enact regulations with
respect to: the registration of undocumented vessels; accident
reporting; safety standards for vessels and associated
equipment; operating requirements; and the administration
of State-maintained boat ramps and parking lots.

A public hearing was held on March 24, 1998, in Dover,
Delaware in front of James H. Graybeal, Boating Law
Administrator for the Department and the Department’s
designee to receive testimony and evidence.  His report is
attached to this order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Coast Guard promulgates regulations affecting the
operation of vessels on the waters of this State.  The operators
of such vessels are required to be in compliance with both
Coast Guard and Department regulations.  With the
Department’s regulations having gone without revision since
1975, they had become obsolete and in need of significant
updating to conform with what is now required by the Coast
Guard.

CONCLUSIONS

The proposed Boating Regulations, as modified, should
be enacted to: eliminate conflicts with Coast Guard safety
and equipment requirements; reduce the likelihood of injuries
or accidents; and improve the administration of State-
maintained boat ramps and parking lots. The modifications
are “not substantive” within the meaning of § 10118(c) of
Title 29 of the Delaware Code. Future consideration should
be given to the Coast Guard’s equipment requirements for
documented vessels.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this 14th day of April, 1998, that
Boating Regulations BR-1 through BR-12, copies of which
are attached hereto, are adopted pursuant to 23 Del. C. § 2114
and are supported by the Department’s findings on the
evidence and testimony received.  This order shall become
effective on May 11, 1998.

Christophe A. G. Tulou, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources

and Environmental Control

FINAL BOATING REGULATIONS

BR-1. GENERAL.

Section 1. Code of Federal Regulations.
These regulations reference provisions from the Code

of Federal Regulations (CFR), revised as of July 1, 1997,
and October 1, 1996, for U.S.C. Titles 33 and 46, respectively.

Section 2. Application of Regulations.
Unless otherwise specified, these regulations shall apply

to all vessels used on the waters of [the this] State.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fandw.htm
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[Section 3. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement
Officers.

It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person
to willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful
order or direction of an enforcement officer invested by
law with authority to enforce these regulations.]

BR-2. DEFINITIONS.

For purposes of BR-3 through BR-12, the following
words and phrases shall have the meaning ascribed to them
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) “All-round light” shall mean a light showing an
unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of 360 degrees.

(2) “Boat” shall mean any vessel manufactured or used
primarily for non-commercial use; leased, rented, or
chartered to another for the latter’s non-commercial use; or
engaged in the carrying of 6 or fewer passengers.

(3) “Coast Guard approved” shall mean that the
equipment has been determined to be in compliance with
Coast Guard specifications and regulations relating to the
materials, construction, and performance.

(4) “Commercial hybrid PFD” shall mean a hybrid PFD
approved for use on commercial vessels identified on the
PFD label.

(5) “Division” shall mean the Division of Fish and
Wildlife.

(6) “Enforcement officer” shall mean a sworn member
of a police force or other law-enforcement agency of this
State or of any county or municipality who is responsible
for the prevention and the detection of crime and the
enforcement of the laws of this State or other governmental
units within the State.

(7) “Especially hazardous condition” shall mean a
condition which endangers the life of a person on board a
vessel.

(8) “First aid” shall mean emergency care and treatment
of an injured person before definitive medical and surgical
management can be secured.

(9) “Grossly negligent” shall mean the intentional failure
to perform a manifest duty in reckless disregard of the
consequences as affecting the life or property of another;
such a gross want of care and regard for the rights of others
as to justify the presumption of willfulness and wantonness.

(10) “Issuing authority” shall mean a state where a
numbering system for vessels has been approved by the Coast
Guard or the Coast Guard where a numbering system has not
been approved.  Issuing authorities are listed in Appendix A.

(11) “Licensing agent” shall mean a qualified person
authorized by the Division to [register vessels distribute
boat registrations] pursuant to § 2113(d) of Title 23.

(12) “Masthead light” shall mean a white light placed
over the fore and aft centerline of a vessel showing an
unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of 225 degrees and

so fixed as to show the light from right ahead to 22.5 degrees
abaft the beam on either side of the vessel, except that on a
vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in length the masthead
light shall be placed as nearly as practicable to the fore and
aft centerline of the vessel.

(13) “Motorboat” shall mean any vessel 65 feet [(19.8
m)] in length or less equipped with propulsion machinery,
including steam.

(14) “Motor vessel” shall mean any vessel more than 65
feet  [(19.8 m)] in length propelled by machinery other than
steam.

(15) “Navigable channel” shall mean a channel plotted
on a National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
nautical chart or a channel marked with buoys, lights, beacons,
ranges, or other markers by the Coast Guard or with Coast
Guard approval.

(16) “Negligent” shall mean the omission to do
something which a reasonable person, guided by those
ordinary considerations which ordinarily regulate human
affairs, would do, or the doing of something which a
reasonable and prudent person would not do.

(17) “Open boat” shall mean a motorboat or motor vessel
with all engine and fuel tank compartments, and other spaces
to which explosive or flammable gases and vapors from these
compartments may flow, open to the atmosphere and so
arranged as to prevent the entrapment of such gases and vapors
within the vessel.

(18) “Operator” shall mean that person in control or in
charge of the vessel while the vessel is in use.

(19) “Owner” shall mean a person who claims lawful
possession of a vessel by virtue of legal title or equitable
interest therein which entitles him/her to such possession.

(20) “Passenger” shall mean every person carried on
board a vessel other than:

(a) The owner or the owner’s representative;
(b) The operator;
(c) Bona fide members of the crew engaged in the

business of the vessel who have contributed no consideration
for their carriage and who are paid for their services; or

(d) Any guest on board a vessel which is being used
exclusively for pleasure purposes who has not contributed
any consideration, directly or indirectly, for his/her carriage.

(21) “Personal flotation device” shall mean a device that
is approved by the Commandant of the Coast Guard pursuant
to 46 CFR Part 160.

(22) “PFD” shall mean personal flotation device.
(23) “Racing shell”, “rowing scull”, “racing canoe” or

“racing kayak” shall mean a manually propelled vessel that is
recognized by national or international racing associations
for use in competitive racing and one in which all occupants
row, scull, or paddle, with the exception of a coxswain, if
one is provided, and is not designed to carry and does not
carry any equipment not solely for competitive racing.

(24) “Recreational vessel” shall mean any vessel being
manufactured or operated primarily for pleasure; or leased,
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rented, or chartered to another for the latter’s pleasure.  It
does not include a vessel engaged in the carrying of six or
fewer passengers.

(25) “Restricted visibility” shall mean any condition in
which visibility is restricted by fog, mist, falling snow, heavy
rainstorms, or any other similar causes.

(26) “Sidelights” shall mean a green light on the starboard
side and a red light on the port side each showing an unbroken
light over an arc of the horizon of 112.5 degrees and so fixed
as to show the light from right ahead to 22.5 degrees abaft
the beam on its respective side.  On a vessel of less than 20
meters (65.6 ft.) in length, the sidelights may be combined
in one lantern carried on the fore and aft centerline of the
vessel, except that on a vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4
ft.) in length the sidelights when combined in one lantern
shall be placed as nearly as practicable to the fore and aft
centerline of the vessel.

(27) “Slow-No-Wake” shall mean as slow as possible
without losing steerage way and so as to make the least
possible wake.  (This almost always means speeds of less
than 5 miles per hour.)

(28) “Special flashing light” shall mean a yellow light
flashing at regular intervals at a frequency of 50 to 70 flashes
per minute, placed as far forward and as nearly as practicable
on the fore and aft centerline of the tow and showing an
unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of not less than
180 degrees nor more than 225 degrees and so fixed as to
show the light from right ahead to abeam and no more than
22.5 degrees abaft the beam on either side of the vessel.

(29) “State of principal use” shall mean a state on whose
waters a vessel is used or to be used most during a calendar
year.  It shall mean this State if the vessel is to be used, docked,
or stowed on the waters of [the this] State for over 60
consecutive days.

(30) “Sternlight” shall mean a white light placed as nearly
as practicable at the stern showing an unbroken light over an
arc of the horizon of 135 degrees and so fixed as to show the
light 67.5 degrees from right aft on each side of the vessel.

(31) “Towing light” shall mean a yellow light having the
same characteristics as the sternlight.

(32) “Type I PFD” shall mean any Coast Guard approved
wearable device designed to turn most unconscious wearers
in the water from a face down position to a vertical and
slightly backward position.  The Type I PFD has the greatest
required buoyancy: the adult size provides at least 22 pounds
buoyancy, and the child size provides at least 11 pounds
buoyancy.

(33) “Type II PFD” shall mean any Coast Guard approved
wearable device designed to turn some unconscious wearers
from a face-down position to a vertical and slightly backward
position. An adult size device provides at least [152 15.5]
pounds buoyancy, the medium child size provides at least 11
pounds, and the infant and small child sizes provide at least 7
pounds buoyancy.

(34) “Type III PFD” shall mean any Coast Guard approved
wearable device designed to maintain conscious wearers in a
vertical and slightly backward position.  While the Type III
PFD has the same minimum buoyancy as the Type II PFD, it
has little or no turning ability.

(35) “Type IV PFD” shall mean any Coast Guard approved
device designed to be thrown to a person in the water and
grasped and held by such person until rescued.  It is not
designed to be worn.  Type IV devices, which include buoyant
cushions, ring buoys, and horseshoe buoys, are designed to
have at least 16.5 pounds buoyancy.

(36) “Type V PFD” [is shall mean] any Coast Guard
approved wearable device designed for a specific and
restricted use.  The label on the PFD indicates the kinds of
activities for which the PFD may be used and whether there
are limitations on how it may be used.

(37) “Type V hybrid PFD” [is shall mean] any Coast
Guard approved wearable device designed to give additional
buoyancy by inflating an air chamber.  When inflated it turns
the wearer similar to the action provided by a Type I, II, or III
PFD (the type of performance is indicated on the label). The
exact specification and performance of the PFD will vary
somewhat with each device.

(38) “Use” shall mean to operate, navigate, or employ.
(39) “Water [ski” or “water ] skiing” shall include [all

forms of water skiing, skiing on an aquaplane, knee
board or other contrivances, parasailing or] any activity
[where whereby] a person is towed behind or alongside a
[boat vessel].

BR-3. REGISTRATION, NUMBERING, AND
MARKING OF VESSELS.

Section 1. Applicability.
This regulation shall apply to all vessels propelled by

any form of mechanical power, including electric trolling
motors, used or placed on the waters of [the this] State,
except the following:

(1) Foreign vessels temporarily using such waters;
(2) Military or public vessels of the United States, except

recreational-type public vessels;
(3) A vessel whose owner is a state or subdivision

thereof, other than this State, which is used principally for
governmental purposes, and which is clearly identifiable as
such;

(4) A vessel used exclusively as a ship’s lifeboat; and
(5) Vessels which have been issued valid marine

documents by the Coast Guard.

Section 2. Vessel Number Required.
(a) Except as provided in Section 3 of this regulation,

no person shall use or place on the waters of [the this] State
a vessel to which this regulation applies unless:

(1) It has a number issued on a certificate of number
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by this State; and

(2) The number is displayed as described in Section
8 of this regulation.

(b) This regulation shall not apply to a vessel for which a
valid temporary certificate has been issued to its owner by
the issuing authority in the state in which the vessel is
principally used.

Section 3. Reciprocity.
(a) When the state of principal use is a state other than

this State and the vessel is properly numbered by that state,
the vessel shall be deemed in compliance with the numbering
system requirements of this State in which it is temporarily
used.

(b) When this State becomes the state of principal use
for a vessel numbered by another state, the vessel’s current
number shall be recognized as valid for a period of 60
consecutive days before numbering is required by this State.

Section 4. Other Numbers and Letters Prohibited.
No person shall use a vessel to which this regulation

applies that has any letters or numbers that are not issued by
an issuing authority for that vessel on its forward half.

Section 5. Certificate of Number Required (Registration
Card).

(a) Except as provided in Section 3 of this regulation,
no person shall use a vessel to which this regulation applies
unless it has on board:

(1) A valid certificate of number or temporary
certificate for that vessel issued by this State; or

(2) For rental vessels described in subsection (b)
of this section, a copy of the lease or rentala g r e e m e n t ,
signed by the owner or the owner’s authorized representative
and by the person leasing or renting the vessel, that contains
at least:

(a) The vessel number that appears on the
certificate of number; and

(b) The period of time for which the vessel is
leased or rented.

(b) The certificate of number for vessels less than 26
feet in length and leased or rented to another for the latter’s
non-commercial use for less than 24 hours may be retained
on shore by the vessel’s owner or representative at the place
from which the vessel departs or returns to the possession
of the owner or the owner’s representative.

Section 6. Inspection of Certificate.
Each person using a vessel to which this regulation

applies shall present the certificate of number, lease, or rental
agreement required by Section 5 of this regulation to any
enforcement officer for inspection at the officer’s request.

Section 7. Location of Certificate of Number.

No person shall use a vessel to which this regulation
applies unless the certificate of number, lease, or rental
agreement required by Section 5 of this regulation is carried
on board in such a manner that it can be handed to a person
authorized under Section 6 of this regulation to inspect it.

Section 8. Numbers: Display; Size; Color.
(a) Each number required by Section 2 of this regulation

shall:
(1) Be painted on or permanently attached to each

side of the forward half of the vessel,
except as allowed by subsection (b) or required by

subsection (c) of this section;
(2) Be in plain vertical block characters of not less

than 3 inches in height;
(3) Contrast with the color of the background and

be distinctly visible and legible;
(4) Have spaces or hyphens that are equal to the width

of a letter other than “I” or a number other than “1” between
the letter and number groupings (example: DL 5678 D or
DL-5678-D); and

(5) Read from left to right.
(b) When a vessel is used by a manufacturer or by a dealer

for testing or demonstrating, the number may be painted on
or attached to removable plates that are temporarily but firmly
attached to each side of the forward half of the vessel.

(c) On vessels so configured that a number on the hull
or superstructure would not be easily visible, the number
shall be painted on or attached to a backing plate that is
attached to the forward half of the vessel so that the number
is visible from each side of the vessel.

(d) Expired validation decals shall be removed and only
effective decals shall be displayed.

Section 9. Notification of Issuing Authority.
The person whose name appears as the owner of a vessel

on a certificate of number shall, within 15 days, notify the
Division of:

(1) Any change in said person’s address;
(2) The theft or recovery of the vessel;
(3) The loss or destruction of a valid certificate of

number;
(4) The transfer of all or part of said person’s interest

in the vessel; and
(5) The destruction or abandonment of the vessel.

Section 10. Surrender of Certificate of Number.
The person whose name appears as the owner of a vessel

on a certificate of number shall surrender the certificate to
the Division or a licensing agent within 15 days after it
becomes invalid under subsections (b), (c), (d) or (e) of
Section 14 of this regulation.

Section 11. Removal of Number and Validation Decal.
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The person whose name appears on a certificate of

number as the owner of a vessel shall remove the number
and validation sticker from the vessel when:

(1) The vessel is documented by the Coast Guard;
(2) The certificate of number is invalid under

Section 14(c) of this regulation; or
(3) This State is no longer the state of principal use.

Section 12. Application for Certificate of Number.
Any person who is the owner of a vessel to which Section

1 of this regulation applies may apply for a certificate of
number for that vessel by submitting the following to the
Division or [the nearest a] licensing agent:

(1) The application prescribed by the Division;
(2) The fee required by § 2113(a) of Title 23; and
(3) Proof of ownership as required by Section 22

of this regulation.

Section 13. Duplicate Certificate of Number.
If a certificate of number is lost or destroyed, the person

whose name appears on the certificate as the owner may apply
for a duplicate certificate by submitting the following to the
Division [or a licensing agent]:

(1) The application prescribed by the Division; and
(2) The fee required by § 2113(b) of Title 23.

Section 14. Validity of Certificate of Number.
(a) Except as provided in subsections (b), (c), (d) and

(e) of this section, a certificate of number is valid until the
date of expiration prescribed by this State.

(b) A certificate of number issued by this State is invalid
after the date upon which:

(1) The vessel is documented or required to be
documented;

(2) The person whose name appears on the
certificate of number as owner of the vessel transfers all of
his/her ownership in the vessel; or

(3) The vessel is destroyed or abandoned.
(c) A certificate of number issued by this State is invalid

if:
(1) The application for the certificate of number

contains a false or fraudulent statement; or
(2) The fees for the issuance of the certificate of

number are not paid.
(d) A certificate of number is invalid 60 days after the

day on which another state becomes the state of principal
use.

(e) A certificate of number is invalid when the person
whose name appears on the certificate involuntarily loses
his/her interest in the numbered vessel by legal process.

Section 15. Validation Stickers.
(a) No person shall use a vessel that has a number issued

by this State unless a validation sticker was issued with the

certificate of number and the sticker:
(1) Is displayed within 6 inches of the number; and
(2) Meets the requirements in subsections (b) and

(c) of this section.
(b) Validation stickers shall be approximately 3 inches

square.
(c) The year in which each validation sticker expires shall

be indicated by the colors, blue, international orange, green,
and red, in rotation beginning with green for stickers that
expired in 1975 (see Appendix B).

Section 16. Contents of Application for Certificate of
Number.

(a) Each application for a certificate of number shall
contain the following information:

(1) Name of each owner;
(2) Address of at least one owner, or the address of

the principle place of business of an owner that is not an
individual, including zip code;

(3) Mailing address, if different from the address
required by paragraph (a)(2) of thissection;

(4) Date of birth of the owner;
(5) Citizenship of the owner;
(6) State in which vessel is or will be principally

used;
(7) The number previously issued by an issuing

authority for the vessel, if any;
(8) Expiration date of certificate of number issued

by the issuing authority;
(9) Official number assigned by the Coast Guard, if

applicable;
(10) Whether the application is for a new number,

renewal of a number, or transfer of ownership;
(11) Whether the vessel is used for pleasure, rent

or lease, dealer or manufacturer
demonstration, commercial passenger carrying,

commercial fishing, or other commercial use;
(12) Make of vessel or name of vessel builder, if

known;
(13) Year vessel was manufactured or built, or model

year, if known;
(14) Manufacturer’s hull identification number, if

any;
(15) Overall length of vessel;
(16) Whether the hull is wood, steel, aluminum,

fiberglass, plastic, or other;
(17) Type of vessel (open, cabin, house, etc.);
(18) Whether the propulsion is inboard, outboard,

inboard-outdrive, jet, or sail with auxiliary engine;
(19) Whether the fuel is gasoline, diesel, or other;
(20) Social security number, or, if that number is

not available, the owner’s driver’s license number (if the owner
is other than an individual, the owner’s taxpayer identification
number, social security number, or driver’s license number);
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(21) The signature of the owner.

(b) An application made by a manufacturer or dealer for
a number that is to be temporarily affixed to a vessel for
demonstration or test purposes may omit items 13 through
20 of subsection (a) of this section.

Section 17. Contents of a Certificate of Number.
(a) Except as allowed in subsection (b) of this section,

each certificate of number shall contain the following
information:

(1) Number issued to the vessel;
(2) Expiration date of the certificate;
(3) State of principal use;
(4) Name of the owner;
(5) Address of the owner, including zip code;
(6) Whether the vessel is used for pleasure, rent or

lease, dealer or manufacturer demonstration, commercial
passenger carrying, commercial fishing, or other commercial
use;

(7) Manufacturer’s hull identification number (or
the hull identification number issued by the Department), if
any;

(8) Make of vessel;
(9) Year vessel was manufactured;
(10) Overall length of vessel;
(11) Whether the vessel is an open boat, cabin

cruiser, houseboat, etc.;
(12) Whether the hull is wood, steel, aluminum,

fiberglass, plastic, or other;
(13) Whether the propulsion is inboard, outboard,

inboard-outdrive, jet, or sail with auxiliary engine;
(14) Whether the fuel is gasoline, diesel, or other;
(15) A quotation of the State regulations pertaining

to change of ownership or address,documentation, loss,
destruction, abandonment, theft or recovery of vessel,
carriage of the certificate of number on board when the vessel
is in use, rendering aid in a boat accident, and reporting of
vessel casualties and accidents.

(b) A certificate of number issued to a manufacturer or
dealer to be used on a vessel for test or demonstration
purposes may omit items 7 through 14 of subsection (a) of
this section if the word “manufacturer” or “dealer” is plainly
marked on the certificate.

Section 18. Contents of Temporary Certificate.
A temporary certificate issued pending the issuance of

a certificate of number shall contain the following
information:

(1) Make of vessel;
(2) Length of vessel;
(3) Type of propulsion;
(4) State in which vessel is principally used;
(5) Name of owner;
(6) Address of owner, including zip code;

(7) Signature of owner;
(8) Date of issuance; and
(9) Notice to the owner that the temporary

certificate is invalid after 60 days from the date of issuance.

Section 19. Form of Number.
(a) Each number shall consist of the two capital letters

“DL” denoting this State as the issuing authority, followed
by:

(1) Not more than four numerals followed by not
more than two capital letters (example: DL 1234 BD); or

(2) Not more than three numerals followed by not
more than three capital letters (example: DL 567 EFG).

(b) A number suffix shall not include the letters “I”, “O”,
or “Q,” which may be mistaken for numerals.

Section 20. Size of Certificate of Number.
Each certificate of number shall be 2½ by 3½ inches.

Section 21. Terms and Conditions for Vessel Numbering.
Except for a recreational-type public vessel of the

United States, the State shall condition the issuance of a
certificate of number on title to, the original manufacturer’s
or importer’s statement or certificate of origin, copy of
notarized bill of sale, or other proof of ownership of a vessel.

Section 22. Boat Registration Records.
(a) All valid records shall be filed alphabetically by the

last names of owners and numerically by “DL” registration
numbers;

(b) Invalid records shall be maintained for three years at
which time they shall be destroyed.

BR-4. CASUALTY REPORTING SYSTEM
REQUIREMENTS.

Section 1. Administration.
The casualty reporting system of this State shall be

administered by the Boating Law Administrator who shall:
(1) Provide for the reporting of all casualties and

accidents required by Section 2 of this regulation;
(2) Receive reports of vessel casualties or accidents

prescribed by Section 3 of this regulation;
(3) Review accident and casualty reports to assure

accuracy and completeness of reporting; and
(4) Determine the cause of casualties and accidents

reported.

Section 2. Report of Casualty or Accident.
(a) The operator of a vessel shall submit the casualty or

accident report prescribed in 33 CFR § 173.57 to the
reporting authority prescribed in Section 4 of this regulation
when, as a result of an occurrence that involves the vessel or
its equipment:
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(1) A person dies;
(2) A person [loses consciousness or receives is

injured and requires] medical treatment beyond first aid
[or is disabled for more than 24 hours];

(3) Damage to the vessel and other property totals
more than $500.00; or

(4) A person disappears from the vessel under
circumstances that indicate death or injury.

(b) A report required by this section shall be made:
(1) Immediately if a person dies within 24 hours of

the occurrence;
(2) Immediately if a person [loses consciousness

or receives is injured and requires] medical treatment
beyond first aid, or [is disabled for more than 24 hours
or] disappears from a vessel; and

(3) Within 5 days of the occurrence or death if an
earlier report is not required by this subsection.

(c) When the operator of a vessel cannot submit the
casualty or accident report required by subsection (a) of this
section, the owner shall submit the casualty or accident
report.

(d) The accident or casualty report completed by a Fish
and Wildlife Agent may be substituted to meet the
requirements of this section.

Section 3. Casualty or Accident Report.
Each report required by Section 2 of this regulation shall

be in writing, dated upon completion, and signed by the person
who prepared it and shall contain, if available, the information
about the casualty or accident required by the Coast Guard
pursuant to 33 CFR § 173.57.

Section 4. Where to Report.
The report required by Section 2 of this regulation shall

be submitted to the Boating Law Administrator, Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Division
of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware
19901.

Section 5. Immediate Notification of Death,
Disappearance, or Physical Injury.

(a) When, as a result of an occurrence that involves a
vessel or its equipment, a person dies or disappears from a
vessel or sustains an injury requiring more than first aid, the
operator shall, without delay, by the quickest means available,
notify the Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement
Section, Telephone:  302-739-4580 or 1-800-523-3336, of:

(1) The date, time, and exact location of the
occurrence;

(2) The name of each person who died, disappeared,
or sustained an injury;

(3) The number and name of the vessel; and
(4) The names and addresses of the owner and

operator.

(b) When the operator of a vessel cannot give the notice
required by subsection (a) of this section, at least one of the
persons on board shall notify the Division of Fish and
Wildlife Enforcement Section, Telephone: 302-739-4580
or 1-800-523 3336, or determine that the notice has been
given.

Section 6. Rendering of Assistance in Accidents.
[(a)] The operator of a vessel involved in an accident

shall:
(1) Render necessary assistance to each individual

affected to save that affected individual from danger caused
by the accident, so far as the operator can do so without
serious danger to the operator’s or individual’s vessel or to
individuals on board; and

(2) Give the operator’s name and address and
identification of the vessel to the operator or individual in
charge of any other vessel involved in the accident, to any
individual injured, and to the owner of any property damaged.

[(b) An individual complying with subsection (a) of
this section or gratuitously and in good faith rendering
assistance at the scene of a casualty without objection
by an individual assisted, is not liable for damages as a
result of rendering assistance or for an act or omission
in providing or arranging salvage, towage, medical
treatment, or other assistance when the individual acts
as an ordinary, reasonable, and prudent individual would
have acted under the circumstances.]

BR-5. WATER SKIING.

Section 1. Water Skiing.
(a) No person shall operate a vessel on any waters of

this State for purposes of towing a person on water skis unless
there is in such vessel a competent person, in addition to the
operator, in a position to observe the progress of the person
being towed.  The observer shall be considered competent if
he/she can, in fact, observe the person being towed and relay
any signals from the person being towed to the operator.  This
subsection shall not apply to Class A vessels operated by the
person being towed and designed to be incapable of carrying
the operator in or on the vessel.

(b) No person shall engage in water skiing unless such
person is wearing a Type I, Type II, Type III, or Type V PFD.
This provision shall not apply to a performer engaged in a
professional exhibition or a person preparing to participate
or participating in an official regatta, boat race, marine parade,
tournament, or exhibition.

(c) No person shall engage in water skiing and no person
shall operate a vessel towing a person so engaged on any
waters of [the this] State with a tow line that exceeds 75
feet.

(d) No person shall engage in water skiing and no person
shall operate a vessel towing a person so engaged on any
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waters of [the this] State on which water skiing is prohibited.

(e) No person shall engage in water skiing and no person
shall operate a vessel towing a person so engaged between
sunset and sunrise.

(f) The operator of a vessel towing a water skier shall
comply with all laws and regulations as they pertain to the
individual’s class of vessel and shall maneuver the vessel in a
careful and prudent manner, so as not to interfere with other
vessels or obstruct any channel or normal shipping lane, and
maintain reasonable distance from persons and property, so
as not to endanger the life or property of any person.

(g) No person shall engage in water skiing in such a
manner as to strike or threaten to strike any person, vessel,
or property, and no person shall operate a vessel or
manipulate a tow line or other towing device in such a manner
as to cause a water skier to strike or threaten to strike another
person, vessel, or property.

(h) No person shall engage in water skiing and no person
shall operate a vessel towing a person so engaged within one
hundred (100) feet of any person in the water, a pier, dock,
float, wharf, or vessel anchored or adrift, or in any direction
of boat launching ramps, both public and private.

Section 2. Prohibited Water Skiing Areas.
Water skiing shall be prohibited in the following areas:

(1) The Rehoboth-Lewes Canal, in its entirety;
(2) The channel through Masseys Landing from

Buoy No. 12 off Bluff Point to Buoy No. 19A;
(3) The Assawoman Canal, in its entirety;
(4) The Indian River Inlet between Buoy No. 1 and

the Coast Guard Station;
(5) Roosevelt Inlet from 100 yards off  jetty entrance

to the Canal;
(6) White Creek south of Marker No. 9A; and
(7) Any [designated public marked] swimming

areas, unless authorized by a special permit issued by the
Department.

[Section 3. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement Officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person

to willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful
order or direction of an enforcement officer invested by
law with authority to enforce this regulation.]

BR-6. VESSEL SPEED.

Section 1. Safe Boat Speed.
(a) Every vessel shall at all times proceed at a safe speed

so that she can take proper and effective action to avoid
collision and be stopped within a distance appropriate to the
prevailing circumstances and conditions.

(b) The speed of all vessels on the waters of this State
shall be limited to a Slow-No-Wake speed when within 100
feet of:

(1) Any shoreline where “Slow-No-Wake” signs
have been erected by the Department;

(2) Floats;
(3) Docks;
(4) Launching ramps;
(5) [Congested beaches Marked swimming

areas];
(6) Swimmers; or
(7) Anchored, moored, or drifting vessels.

(c) No person shall operate a vessel at a rate of speed
greater than is reasonable having regard to conditions and
circumstances such as the closeness of the shore and shore
installations, anchored or moored vessels in the vicinity, width
of the channel, and if applicable, vessel traffic and water use.

Section 2. Responsibility of Operator.
The operator of any vessel on the waters of this State

shall be legally responsible for injuries, damages to life, limb,
or property caused by his/her vessel or vessel wake.

[Section 3. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement
Officers.

It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person
to willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful
order or direction of an enforcement officer invested by
law with authority to enforce this regulation.]

BR-7. NEGLIGENT AND GROSSLY NEGLIGENT
OPERATION OF A VESSEL.

Section 1. Negligent or Grossly Negligent Operation.
(a) No person shall operate any vessel on the waters of

[the this] State in a negligent manner.
(b) No person shall operate any vessel on the waters of

[the this] State in a grossly negligent manner.
(c) Depending upon the degree of negligence, the

following shall constitute a violation of subsection (a) or (b)
of this section:

(1) Failure to reduce speed in areas where boating
is concentrated, endangering life, limb, and/or property;

(2) Operating at excessive speed [under storm
conditions, in fog or other low-visibility conditions at
times of restricted visibility] ;

(3) Operating at excessive speed when maneuvering
room is restricted by narrow channels or when vision is
obstructed by such things as jetties, land, or other vessels;

(4) Impeding the right-of-way of a stand-on or
privileged vessel so as to endanger risk of collision;

(5) Towing a water skier in a restricted area or where
an obstruction exists;

(6) Operating a vessel within swimming areas when
bathers are present;

(7) Operating a vessel in areas posted as closed to
vessels due to hazardous conditions;
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(8) Operating a vessel through an area where a regatta

or marine parade is in progress in a  way that could present a
hazard to participants or spectators and interfere with the
safeconduct of the event;

(9) Operating a vessel with any person sitting on
the bow, gunwales, or stern with legs hanging over the side [,
except a sailboat equipped with lifelines while engaged
in a race for which a permit has been secured under §
2120 of Title 23];

(10) Operating a vessel or use any water skis while
under the influence of alcohol, any  narcotic drug, barbiturate,
marijuana, or hallucinogen;

(11) Loading a vessel with passengers or cargo
beyond its safe carrying capacity;

(12) Operating a vessel with an engine of a higher
horsepower rating than the rating noted on the vessel’s
capacity plate or in the manufacturer’s specifications; and

(13) Other actions deemed by an enforcement
officer to be in violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this
regulation.

[Section 2. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement
Officers.

It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person
to willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful
order or direction of an enforcement officer invested by
law with authority to enforce this regulation.]

BR-8. TERMINATION OF UNSAFE USE OF A VESSEL.

Section 1. Especially Hazardous Conditions.
Especially hazardous conditions warranting termination

of voyage shall include, but not be limited to,:
(1) Insufficient [life-saving devices number of

Coast Guard approved PFDs];
(2) Insufficient fire-[fighting devices

extinguishing equipment];
(3) Overloaded [beyond manufacturer’s

recommended safe loading capacity];
(4) Failure to display required navigation lights;
(5) Fuel leakage [from either the]  fuel system or

engine;
(6) Fuel accumulation [(other than fuel tank) in

the bilges];
(7) Failure to meet ventilation requirements [for

tank and engine spaces];
(8) [Failure to meet Improper]  backfire flame

control [requirement];
(9) Excessive leakage or accumulation of water in

bilges;
(10) Deteriorated condition of vessel; or
(11) Any other condition deemed hazardous by an

enforcement officer.

Section 2. Enforcement.
(a) Enforcement officers shall, if a violation of this

regulation is observed, and in their judgment such a deficiency
creates an especially hazardous condition to the occupants
of the vessel, direct the operator to take specific steps to
correct the unsafe condition.

(b) Compliance by operator.   Immediate compliance
by the operator is required for safety purposes.  Failure to
comply with the directives of an enforcement officer shall
result in a citation under Section 3 of [this regulation BR-
1] as well as for the specific violation which created the unsafe
condition.

[Section 3. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement Officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person

to willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful
order or direction of an enforcement officer invested by
law with authority to enforce this regulation.]

BR-9. MINIMUM REQUIRED EQUIPMENT FOR
VESSELS USING STATE WATERS.

PART A - General.
Section 1. Applicability.

(a) This regulation does not apply to:
(1) Military or public vessels of the United States,

other than recreational-type public vessels; and
(2) A vessel used exclusively as a ship’s lifeboat.

(b) Part B of this regulation prescribes general provisions
applicable to all vessels covered by this regulation.  Part C
prescribes minimum required equipment for recreational
vessels used on the waters of [the this] State.  Part D
prescribes minimum required equipment for vessels other
than recreational vessels that are not required to be
documented.

[Section 2. Compliance with Coast Guard Regulations.
Pursuant to § 2114 of Title 23, every vessel shall be

provided with the equipment prescribed by Coast Guard
regulations, and any amendments or changes thereto,
even if such amendments or changes thereto have not
been enacted into law by this State or promulgated as
regulations by the Division.]

PART B - Provisions Applicable to All Vessels Covered
by this Regulation.
Section 1. Fire-Extinguishing Equipment.

(a) All hand portable fire extinguishers, semiportable
fire extinguishing systems, and fixed fire extinguishing
systems shall be Coast Guard approved pursuant to 46 CFR §
25.30-5.

(b) All required hand portable fire extinguishers and
semiportable fire extinguishing systems shall be of the “B”
type; i.e., suitable for extinguishing fires involving flammable
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liquids such as gasoline, oil, etc., where a blanketing or
smothering effect is essential.  The number designations for
size will start with “I” for the smallest to “V” for the largest.
For the purpose of this regulation, only sizes I through III
will be considered.  Sizes I and II are considered hand portable
fire extinguishers and sizes III, IV, and V are considered
semiportable fire extinguishing systems which shall be fitted
with suitable hose and nozzle or other practicable means so
that all portions of the space concerned may be covered.
Examples of size graduations for some of the typical hand
portable fire extinguishers and semiportable fire
extinguishing systems are set forth in the following table:

  TYPE SIZE FOAM CO2 DRY CHEMICAL    H ALON
      (GALLONS)  (POUNDS)      (POUNDS)  (POUNDS)

 B   I  1¼   4  2 2½
 B  II  2½  15  10 10
 B  III  12  35  20  -

[(d)(c)] All hand portable fire extinguishers and
semiportable fire extinguishing systems shall have
permanently attached thereto a metallic name plate giving
the name of the item, the rated capacity in gallons, quarts, or
pounds, the name and address of the person or firm for whom
approved, and the identifying mark of the actual manufacturer.

[(e)(d)] Vaporizing-liquid  type  fire  extinguishers
containing  carbon  tetrachloride or chlorobromomethane
or other toxic vaporing liquids are not acceptable as equipment
required by this part.

[(f) (e)] Hand portable or semiportable extinguishers
which are required on their name plates to be protected from
freezing shall not be located where freezing temperatures
may be expected.

[(g)(f)]  The use of dry chemical, stored pressure, fire
extinguishers not fitted with pressure gauges or indicating
devices, manufactured prior to January 1, 1965, may be
permitted on motorboats and other vessels so long as such
extinguishers are maintained in good and serviceable
condition. The following maintenance and inspections are
required for such extinguishers:

(1) When the date on the inspection record tag on
the extinguisher shows that 6 months have elapsed since last
weight check ashore, then such extinguisher is no longer
accepted as meeting required maintenance conditions until
reweighed ashore and found to be in a serviceable condition
and within required weight conditions;

(2) If the weight of the container is [3 ¼] ounce
less than that stamped on the container, it shall be serviced;

(3) If the outer seal or seals (which indicate
tampering or use when broken) are not intact, an enforcement
officer may inspect such extinguisher to see that the frangible
disc in [the] neck of  the container is intact; and if such disc
is not intact, the container shall be serviced; and

(4) If there is evidence of damage, use, or leakage,
such as dry chemical powder observed in the nozzle or

elsewhere on the extinguisher, the container shall be replaced
with a new one and the [container extinguisher shall be]
properly serviced or the extinguisher [shall be] replaced with
another approved extinguisher.

[(h)(g)] Fire extinguishers shall be at all times kept in a
condition for immediate and effective use, and shall be so
placed as to be readily accessible.

Section 2. Backfire Flame Control.
(a) Applicability.   This section applies to every gasoline

engine installed in a motorboat or motor vessel after April
25, 1940, except outboard motors.

(b) Installations made before November 19, 1952, need
not meet the detailed requirements of this section and may
be continued in use as long as they are serviceable and in
good condition.  Replacements shall meet the applicable
requirements of this section.

(c) Installations consisting of backfire flame arrestors
or engine air and fuel induction systems bearing basic
Approval. Nos. 162.015 or 162.041 or engine air and fuel
induction systems bearing basic Approval Nos. 162.015 or
162.042, may be continued in use as long as they are
serviceable and in good condition.  New installations or
replacements shall meet the applicable requirements of this
section.

(d) No person may use a vessel to which this section
applies unless each engine is provided with an acceptable
means of backfire flame control.  The following are
acceptable means of backfire flame control:

(1) A backfire flame arrester complying with
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Standard J-1928 or
Underwriters Laboratories (UL) Standard 1111 and marked
accordingly. The flame arrestor shall be suitably secured to
the air intake with a flame tight connection;

(2) An engine air and fuel induction system which
provides adequate protection from propagation of backfire
flame to the atmosphere equivalent to that provided by an
approved backfire flame arrester.  A gasoline engine utilizing
an air and fuel induction system, and operated without an
approved backfire flame arrester, shall either include a reed
valve assembly or be installed in accordance with SAE
Standard J-1928; and

(3) An arrangement of the carburetor or engine air
induction system that will disperse any flames caused by
engine backfire.  The flames must be dispersed to the
atmosphere outside the vessel in such a manner that the
flames will not endanger the vessel, persons on board, or
nearby vessels and structures.  Flame dispersion may be
achieved by attachments to the carburetor or location of the
engine air induction system.  All attachments shall be of
metallicconstruction with flametight connections and firmly
secured to withstand vibration, shock, and engine backfire.

(e) No person may use a vessel to which this section
applies unless the backfire flame arrester is serviceable and
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in good condition.

Section 3. Ventilation.
(a) Applicability.   This section applies to motorboats,

motor vessels, and boats used on the waters of [the this]
State and subject to this regulation.

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat or motor vessel,
except an open boat, built after April 25, 1940, and before
August 1, 1980, which uses fuel having a flashpoint of 110
F., or less, without every engine and fuel tank compartment
being equipped with a natural ventilation system.  A natural
ventilation system consists of:

(1) At least two ventilator ducts, fitted with cowls
or their equivalent, for the efficient removal of explosive or
flammable gases from the bilges of every engine and fuel
tank  compartment;

(2) At least one exhaust duct installed so as to extend
from the open atmosphere to the lower portion of the bilge
and at least one intake duct that is installed to extend to a
point at least midway to the bilge or at least below the level
of the carburetor air intake; and

(3) The cowls shall be located and trimmed for
maximum effectiveness and in such a anner so as to prevent
displaced fumes from being recirculated.

(c) Boats built after July 31, 1978, shall be exempt from
the requirements of subsection (a) of this section for fuel
tank compartments that:

(1) Contain a permanently installed fuel tank if each
electrical component is ignition rotected in accordance with
33 CFR § 183.410(a); and

(2) Contain fuel tanks that vent to the outside of the
motorboat or motor vessel.

(d) Boats built after July 31, 1980, or which are in
compliance with the Coast Guard Ventilation Standard, a
manufacturer requirement (33 CFR §§ 183.610 and
183.620), shall be exempt from the requirements of
subsections (b) and (d) of this section.

(e) No person shall operate a boat after July 31, 1980,
that has a gasoline engine for electrical generation,
mechanical power or propulsion unless it is equipped with
an operable ventilation system that meets the requirements
of 33 CFR § 183.610(a), (b), (d), (e) and (f) and 183.6209(a).

(f) Boat owners shall maintain their boats’ ventilation
systems in good operating condition (regardless of the boat’s
date of manufacture).

Section 4. Whistles and Bells.
(a) A vessel of 12 meters (39.4 ft.) or more in length

shall be equipped with a whistle and a bell.  The whistle and
bell shall comply with the specifications in Annex III to the
Inland Navigation Rules (33 CFR Part 86).  The bell may be
replaced by other equipment having the same respective sound
characteristics, provided that manual sounding of the
prescribed signals shall always be possible.

(b) A vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in length
shall be equipped with a whistle or horn, or some other
sounding device capable of making an efficient sound signal.

Section 5. Visual Distress Signals.
(a) Applicability.   This section applies to all boats

operated on the coastal waters of this State and those waters
connected directly to them (i.e., bays, sounds, harbors, rivers,
inlets, etc.) where any entrance exceeds 2 nautical miles
between opposite shorelines to the first point where the
largest distance between shorelines narrows to 2 miles.

(b) Prohibition.   Unless exempted by subsection (c) of
this section, no person may use a boat to which this section
applies unless visual distress signals, approved by the
Commandant of the Coast Guard under 46 CFR Part 160 or
certified by the manufacturer under 46 CFR Parts 160 and
161, in the number required, are on board.  Devices suitable
for day use and devices suitable for night use, or devices
suitable for both day and night use, shall be carried.

(c) Exemptions.   The following boats shall be exempt
from the carriage requirements of subsection (b) of this
section between sunrise and sunset, but between sunset and
sunrise, visual distress signals suitable for night use, in the
number required, shall be on board:

(1) Boats less than 16 feet in length;
(2) Boats participating in organized events such as

races, regattas, or marine parades;
(3) Open sailboats less than 26 feet in length not

equipped with propulsion machinery; and
(4) Manually propelled boats.

(d) Launchers.   When a visual distress signal carried to
meet the requirements of this section requires a launcher to
activate, then a launcher approved by the Coast Guard under
46 CFR § 160.028 shall also be carried.  Launchers
manufactured before January 1, 1981, which do not have
approval numbers are acceptable for use with meteor or
parachute signals as long as they remain in serviceable
condition.

(e) Visual distress signals accepted.   Any of the
following signals when carried in the number required, can
be used to meet the requirements of this section:

(1) An electric distress light meeting the standards
of 46 CFR § 161.013.  One is required to meet the night
only requirement;

(2) An orange flag meeting the standards of 46 CFR
§ 160.072.  One is required to meet the day only requirement;

(3) Pyrotechnics meeting the standards noted in the
following table:
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APPROVAL NO.     DEVICE        MEETS REQUIRE-     NO. REQUIRED
  UNDER 46 CFR  DESCRIPTION MENTS FOR
  § 160.021 Hand-Held Red Flares1 Day and Night 3
  § 160.022 Floating Orange Smoke Day Only 3
  § 160.024 Parachute Red Flare2 Day and Night 3
  § 160.036 Hand-Held Rocket-

Propelled Parachute Day and Night 3
Red Flare

  § 160.037 Hand-Held Orange
  Smoke Day Only 3

  § 160.057 Floating Orange Smoke Day Only 3
  § 160.066 Red Aerial Pyrotechnic

Flare3 Day and Night 3

(f) Any combination of signal devices selected from the
types noted in paragraphs (e)(1), (2) and (3) of this section,
when carried in the number required, may be used to meet
both day and night requirements.  [(Examples: the
combination of two hand-held red flares, and one
parachute red flare meets both day and night
requirements; and three hand-held orange smoke with
one electric distress light meet both day and night
requirements.)  (The following illustrates the variety
and combination of devices which can be carried to meet
both day and night requirements: three hand-held red
flares; one hand-held red flare and two parachute flares;
or three hand-held orange smoke signals with one
electric distress light.)]

(g) Stowage, serviceability, approval and marking.   No
person may use a boat unless the visual distress signals
required by this section are:

(1) Readily accessible;
(2) In serviceable condition and the service life of

the signal, if indicated by a date marked on the signal, has not
expired;

(3) Legibly marked with the approval number or
certification statement as specified in 46 CFR Parts 160 and
161; and

(4) In sufficient quantity as required by the Coast
Guard.

(h) Prohibited use.   No person in a boat shall display a
visual distress signal on waters to which this section applies
under any circumstance except a situation where assistance
is needed because of immediate or potential danger to the
persons on board.

PART C - Minimum Required Equipment for
Recreational-Type Vessels.
Section 1. Personal Flotation Devices.

(a) Except as provided in Section 2 of this part, no person
may use a recreational vessel unless at least one PFD of the
following types is on board for each person:

(1) Type I PFD;
(2) Type II PFD; or
(3) Type III PFD.

(b) No person may use a recreational vessel 16 feet or
more in length unless one Type IV PFD is on board in addition
to the total number of PFD’s required in subsection (a) of

this section.
(c) A Type V PFD may be carried in lieu of any PFD

required under subsections (a) and (b) of this section,
provided:

(1) The approval label on the Type V PFD indicates
that the device is approved:

(a) For the activity in which the vessel is
being used; or

(b) As a substitute for a PFD of the Type
required in the vessel in use;

(2) The PFD is used in accordance with any
requirements on the approval label; and

(3) The PFD is used in accordance with requirements
in its owner’s manual, if the approval label makes reference
to such a manual.

(d) A Type V hybrid PFD may satisfy the carriage
requirements provided it is worn except when the boat is not
underway or when the user is below deck.

Section 2. Exceptions.
(a) Canoes and kayaks 16 feet in length and over are

exempted from the requirements for carriage of the additional
Type IV PFD required under Section 1(b) of this part.

(b) Racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes and racing
kayaks are exempted from the requirements for carriage of
any Type PFD required under Section 1 of this part.

(c) Sailboards are exempted from the requirements for
carriage of any Type PFD required under Section 1 of this
part.

Section 3. Stowage, Condition, and Marking of PFDs.
(a) No person may use a recreational vessel unless each

Type I, II, or III PFD required by Section 1(a) of this part, or
equivalent Type allowed by Section 1(c) of this part, is readily
accessible.

(b) No person may use a recreational vessel unless each
Type IV PFD required by Section [1(c) 1(b)] of this part, or
equivalent Type allowed by Section 1(c) of this part, is
immediately available.

(c) No person may use a recreational vessel unless each
PFD required by Section 2(c) of this part or allowed by
Section 1(b) of this part is:

(1) In serviceable condition, as defined by 33 CFR
§ 175.23;

(2) Of an appropriate size and fit for the intended
wearer, as marked on the approval label;

and
(3) Legibly marked with its Coast Guard approval

number, as specified in 46 CFR Part 160.

Section 4. Fire-Extinguishing Equipment Required.
(a) Motorboats less than 26 feet in length with no fixed

fire extinguishing system installed in machinery spaces shall
carry at least one Type B-I approved hand portable fire
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extinguisher.  When an approved fixed fire extinguishing
system is installed in machinery spaces, a portable
extinguisher is not required.  If the construction of the
motorboat does not permit the entrapment of explosive or
flammable gases or vapors, no fire extinguisher is required.

(b) Motorboats 26 feet to less than 40 feet in length
shall carry at least two Type B-I approved hand portable fire
extinguishers or at least one Type B-II approved portable fire
extinguisher.  When an approved fixed fire extinguishing
system is installed, one less Type B-I extinguisher is required.

(c) Motorboats 40 feet to not more than 65 feet in length
shall carry at least three Type B-I approved hand portable
fire extinguishers or at least one Type B-I and one Type B-II
approved portable fire extinguisher.  When an approved fixed
fire extinguishing system is installed, one less Type B-I
extinguisher is required.

(d) Motorboats 65 feet and over used for recreational
purposes shall carry fire extinguishing equipment as
prescribed under Section 3(b) of Part D of this regulation.

(e) Motorboats are required to carry fire extinguishers
if any one of the following conditions exist:

(1) Inboard engines;
(2) Closed compartments and compartments under

seats wherein portable fuel tanks may be stored;
(3) Double bottoms not sealed to the hull or which

are not completely filled with flotation material;
(4) Closed living spaces;
(5) Closed stowage compartments in which

combustible or flammable materials are stowed; or
(6) Permanently installed fuel tanks.  (Fuel tanks

secured so they cannot be moved in case of fire or other
emergency are considered permanently installed.)

(f) Motorboats contracted for prior to November 19,
1952, shall meet the applicable provisions of this section
insofar as the number and general type of equipment is
concerned.  Existing items of equipment and installations
previously approved but not meeting the applicable
requirements for type approval may be continued in service
so long as they are in good condition.  All new installations
and replacements shall meet the requirements of this section.

PART D - Life-Saving Equipment for Commercial Vessels
not Documented.
Section 1. Applicability.

This part applies to each vessel to which this regulation
applies except:

(1) Vessels used for non-commercial use;
(2) Vessels leased, rented, or charted to another for

the latter’s non-commercial use; or
(3) Commercial vessels propelled by sail not

carrying passengers for hire; or
(4) Commercial barges not carrying passengers for

hire.

Section 2. Life Preservers and Other Life-Saving
Equipment Required.

(a) No person may operate a vessel to which Section 1
of this part applies unless it meets the requirements of this
section.

(b) Each vessel not carrying passengers for hire, less
than 40 feet in length, shall have at least one life preserver
(Type I PFD), buoyant vest (Type II PFD), or marine buoyant
device intended to be worn (Type III PFD), of a suitable size
for each person on board.  Kapok and fibrous glass life
preservers which do not have plastic-covered pad inserts as
required by 46 CFR §§ 160.062 and 160.005 are not
acceptable as equipment required by this subsection.

(c) Each vessel carrying passengers for hire and each
vessel 40 feet in length or longer not carrying passengers
for hire shall have at least one life preserver (Type I PFD) of
a suitable size for each person on board.  Kapok and fibrous
glass life preservers which do not have plastic-covered pad
inserts as required by 46 CFR §§ 160.062 and 160.005 are
not acceptable as equipment required by this subsection.

(d) In addition to the equipment required by subsection
(b) or (c) of this section, each vessel 26 feet in length or
longer shall have at least one Coast Guard approved ring life
buoy.

(e) Each vessel not carrying passengers for hire may
substitute an exposure suit (or immersion suit) for a life
preserver, buoyant vest, or marine buoyant device required
under subsection (b) or (c) of this section.  Each exposure
suit carried in accordance with this paragraph shall be Coast
Guard approved.

(f) On each vessel, regardless of length and regardless
of whether carrying passengers for hire, a commercial hybrid
PFD may be substituted for a life preserver, buoyant vest, or
marine buoyant device required under subsection (b) or (c)
of this section if it is:

(1) In the case of a Type V commercial hybrid PFD,
worn when the vessel is underway and the intended wearer is
not within an enclosed space;

(2) Used in accordance with the conditions marked
on the PFD and in the owner’s manual; and

(3) Labeled for use on uninspected commercial
vessels.

(g) The life-saving equipment required by this section
shall be legibly marked.

(h) The life-saving equipment designed to be worn
required in subsections (b), (c), and (e) of this section shall
be readily accessible.

(i) The life-saving equipment designed to be thrown
required by subsection (d) of this section shall be
immediately available.

(j) The life-saving equipment required by this section
shall be in serviceable condition.
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Section 3. Fire-Extinguishing Equipment Required.

(a) Motorboats.
(1) Motorboats less than 26 feet in length shall abide

by Section 4(a) of Part C of this regulation.
(2) Motorboats 26 feet in length to less than 40

feet in length shall abide by Section 4(b) of Part C of this
regulation.

(3) Motorboats 40 feet in length to less than 65
feet in length shall abide by Section 4(c) of Part C of this
regulation.

(b) Motor Vessels.
(1) Motor vessels less than 50 gross tonnage shall

carry one Type B-II approved hand portable fire extinguisher.
(2) Motor vessels 50 and not over 100 gross tonnage

shall carry two Type B-II approved hand portable fire
extinguishers.

(3) Motor vessels 100 and not over 500 gross
tonnage shall carry three Type B-II approved  hand portable
fire extinguishers.

(4) Motor vessels 500 but not over 1,000 gross
tonnage shall carry six Type B-II approved hand portable fire
extinguishers.

(5) Motor vessels over 1,000 gross tonnage shall
carry eight Type B-II approved hand portable fire
extinguishers.

(c) In addition to the hand portable fire extinguishers
required by subsection (b) of this section, the following fire-
extinguishing equipment shall be fitted in the machinery
space:

(1) One Type B-II hand portable fire extinguisher
shall be carried for each 1,000 B. H. P. of the main engines
or fraction thereof.  However, not more than six such
extinguishers need be carried.

(2) On motor vessels over 300 gross tons, either
one Type B-III semiportable fire-extinguishing system shall
be fitted, or alternatively, a fixed fire-extinguishing system
shall be fitted in the machinery space.

(d) Barges carrying passengers.
(1) Every barge 65 feet in length or less while

carrying passengers when towed or pushed by a motorboat,
motor vessel or steam vessel shall be fitted with hand portable
fire extinguishers as required by this Section 4 of Part C of
this regulation, depending upon the length of the barge.

(2) Every barge over 65 feet in length while carrying
passengers when towed or pushed by a motorboat, motor
vessel or steam vessel shall be fitted with hand portable fire
extinguishers as required by this section, depending upon the
gross tonnage of the barge.

[Section 2. Obedience to orders by enforcement officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person

to willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful
order or direction of an enforcement officer invested by
law with authority to enforce this regulation.]

BR-10. BOAT RAMPS AND PARKING LOTS
ADMINISTERED BY DIVISION.

Section 1. Applicability.
This regulation applies to boat ramps, parking lots, and

seawalls or other mooring facilities administered by the
Division.

Section 2. Boat Ramps and Mooring Facilities.
(a) Whoever uses a boat ramp, seawall, or other mooring

facility shall do so on a first-come, first-serve basis.
(b) No person shall leave a vessel unattended at any

seawall or other mooring facility. Disabled vessels shall clear
the area as soon as possible.

(c) No person shall use any seawall or other mooring
facility except for vessels loading and unloading and as a
holding area for vessels waiting to use boat ramps.

(d) No person shall moor or conduct repairs to a vessel
in any area which interferes with vessel traffic at a boat ramp.
Ramp space shall be kept clear at all times for usage of vessels
being launched or recovered.

(e) Vessels left abandoned at any seawall or other
mooring facility or found adrift shall be removed at the
owner’s expense.  Vessels left unattended at any seawall or
other mooring facility in excess of 48 hours without
contacting the Division or a Fish and Wildlife Agent shall be
deemed abandoned.

Section 3. Parking Lots.
(a) No person shall park a vehicle or boat trailer in an

undesignated parking space.
(b) No person shall park, stop, or stand a vehicle or boat

trailer in front of a boat ramp except in designated areas.
(c) No person shall park a vehicle or boat trailer in such

a manner as to impede traffic.
(d) No person shall camp overnight in a parking lot.
(e) No person shall abandon a vehicle or boat trailer in a

parking lot.  If a vehicle or boat trailer is abandoned, it will
be removed at the owner’s expense.  Vehicles or boat trailers
left unattended in a parking lot for in excess of 48 hours
without contacting the Division or a Fish and Wildlife Agent
shall be deemed abandoned.

(f) Operators of emergency vehicles shall have priority
over all other vehicles.  Vessel operators shall clear passage
for emergency vehicles on their approach or when directed
by an enforcement officer.

[Section 4. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement
Officers.

It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person
to willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful
order or direction of an enforcement officer invested by
law with authority to enforce this regulation.]
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BR-11. NAVIGATION LIGHTS.

Section 1. Applicability.
(a) Except for vessels used by enforcement officers for

law enforcement purposes, this regulation applies to all
vessels used on the waters of this State.

(b) Vessels over 20 meters (65.6 ft.) in length and vessels
listed below shall display lights and exhibit shapes in
accordance with the International or Inland Navigation Rules
and Annexes (Commandant Instruction M16672.2C):

(1) Vessels towing, pushing, or being towed or
pushed;

(2) Vessels engaged in fishing;
(3) Vessels not under command;
(4) Vessels restricted in their ability to maneuver;
(5) Pilot vessels; or
(6) Air-cushion vessels.

Section 2. Visibility of lights.
[(a)] The lights required by this section shall have an

intensity so as to be visible at the following ranges:
(1) In a vessel of 12 meters (39.4 ft.) or more in

length but less than 50 meters (164 ft.) in length:
(a) a masthead light, 5 miles; except that where

the length of the vessel is less than 20 meters (65.6 ft.), 3
miles;

(b) a sidelight, 2 miles;
(c) a sternlight, 2 miles;
(d) a towing light, 2 miles;
(e) a white, red, green or yellow all-round light,

2 miles; and
(f) a special flashing light, 2 miles.

(2) In a vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in
length:

(a) a masthead light, 2 miles;
(b) a sidelight, 1 mile;
(c) a sternlight, 2 miles;
(d) a towing light, 2 miles;
(e) a white, red, green or yellow all-round light,

2 miles; and
(f) a special flashing light, 2 miles.

Section 3. Prohibition.
(a) No person may use a vessel to which this regulation

applies without carrying and exhibiting the lights required in
Section 4 of this regulation and of the intensity required in
Section 2 of this regulation:

(1) When underway or at anchor;
(2) In all weathers from sunset to sunrise; and
(3) During times of restricted visibility.

(b) No person may use a vessel to which this regulation
applies which exhibits other lights which may be mistaken
for those required in Section 4 of this regulation during such
time as navigation lights are required.

(c) No person may use a vessel to which this regulation
applies unless it carries and exhibits the light or day shapes
required in the International or Inland Navigational Rules and
Annexes  (Commandant Instruction M16672.2C) for vessels
used under special circumstances defined therein.

Section 4. Navigation Lights Required.
(a) Power-driven vessels underway in international and

inland waters shall exhibit:
(1) A masthead light forward;
(2) A second masthead light abaft of and higher than

the forward one; except that in inland waters a vessel of less
than 50 meters (164 ft.) in length shall not be obliged to
exhibit such light but may do so;

(3) Sidelights; and
(4) A sternlight.

(b) Power-driven vessels underway in international
waters:

(1) Power-driven vessels of less than 12 meters
(39.4 ft.) in length may in lieu of the lights prescribed in
subsection (a) of this section exhibit an all-round white light
and sidelights;

(2) Power-driven vessels of less than 7 meters (23
ft.) in length whose maximum speed does not exceed 7 knots
may in lieu of the lights prescribed in subsection (a) of this
section exhibit an all-round white light and shall, if
practicable, also exhibit sidelights; and

(3) The masthead light or all-round white light on a
power-driven vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in length
may be displaced from the fore and aft centerline of the vessel
if centerline fitting is not practicable, provided that the
sidelights are combined in one lantern which shall be carried
on the fore and aft centerline of the vessel or located as nearly
as practicable in the same fore and aft line as the masthead
light or the all-round white light.

(c) Power-driven vessels underway in inland waters shall
exhibit the same light for vessels in subsection (a) of this
section except:

(1) A vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in
length may, in lieu of the lights prescribed in subsection (a)
of this section, exhibit an all-round white light and sidelights.

(2) A vessel of less than 20 meters (65.6 ft.) in
length need not exhibit the masthead light forward of
amidships but shall exhibit it as far forward as practicable.

(d) Sailing vessels underway and vessels under oars in
international and inland waters:

(1) A sailing vessel underway shall exhibit:
(a) Sidelights; and
(b) A sternlight;

(2) In a sailing vessel of less than 20 meters (65.6
ft.) in length, the lights prescribed in paragraph (d)(1) of this
section may be combined in one lantern carried at or near
the top of the mast where it can best be seen.

(3) A sailing vessel underway may, in addition to
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the lights prescribed in paragraph (d)(1) of this section,
exhibit at or near the top of the mast, where they can best be
seen, two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper being
red and the lower being green, but these lights shall not be
exhibited in conjunction with the combined lantern permitted
in paragraph (d)(2) of this section.

(4) A sailing vessel of less than 7 meters (23 ft.) in
length shall, if practicable, exhibit the lights prescribed in
paragraph (d)(1) or (2) of this section, but if she does not,
she shall have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted lantern
showing a white light which shall be exhibited in sufficient
time to prevent collision.

(5) A vessel under oars may exhibit the lights
prescribed in this section for sailing vessels, but if she does
not, she shall have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted
lantern showing awhite light which shall be exhibited in
sufficient time to prevent collision.

(6) A vessel proceeding under sail when also being
propelled by machinery shall exhibit forward where it can
best be seen a conical shape, apex downward. When upon
inland waters, a vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in
length is not required to exhibit this shape.

(e) Anchored vessels:
(1) International and Inland.   Vessels at permanent

moorings are not required to display an anchor light.
(2) International and Inland.   A vessel of less than

50 meters (164 ft.) in length at anchor shall exhibit an all-
round white light where it can best be seen or:

(a) In the fore part, an all-round white light or
one ball; and

(b) At or near the stern and at a lower level than
the light prescribed in subparagraph (2)(a) of this subsection,
an all-round white light.

(3) Inland.   A vessel of less than 7 meters (23 ft.)
in length, when at anchor, not in or near a narrow channel,
fairway, anchorage, or where other vessels normally navigate,
shall not be required to exhibit the lights or shapes prescribed
in paragraph (d)(2) of this section.

[Section 5. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement
Officers.

It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person
to willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful
order or direction of an enforcement officer invested by
law with authority to enforce this regulation.]

BR-12. ANCHORING AND OBSTRUCTING
NAVIGATION.

Section 1. Applicability.
This regulation applies to all vessels or other objects

used or placed on the waters of this State.

Section 2. Anchoring.
(a) No person shall anchor a vessel or other object in a

navigable channel or allow any equipment from an anchored
vessel to extend into the channel and subsequently interfere
with passage of any other vessel.

(b) No person shall anchor a vessel in such a manner as
to obstruct or otherwise obscure navigation aids.

(c) No person shall anchor a vessel or allow any
equipment from an anchored vessel to obstruct or otherwise
interfere with passage or any other vessel near:

(1) A boat launching facility;
(2) A marina entrance;
(3) The entrance to any canal or waterway;
(4) A permanent mooring facility; or
(5) A vessel docking facility.

(d) No person shall place any item or equipment in a
navigable channel so as to obstruct or otherwise impede or
interfere with the passage of a vessel.

[Section 3. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement
Officers.

It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person
to willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful
order or direction of an enforcement officer invested by
law with authority to enforce this regulation.]

1 Must have manufacture date of October 1980 or later.
2 These signals require use in combination with a suitable
launching device.
3 These devices may be either meteor or parachute assisted
type.  Some of these signals may require use in combination
with a suitable launching device.

APPENDIX A
ISSUING AUTHORITIES

(a) The state is the issuing authority and reporting
authority in:

Alabama (AL) Montana (MT)
American Samoa (AS) Nebraska (NB)
Arizona (AZ) Nevada (NV)
Arkansas (AR) New Hampshire(NH)
California (CF) New Jersey (NJ)
Colorado (CL) New Mexico (NM)
Connecticut (CT) New York (NY)
Delaware (DL) North Carolina (NC)
District of Columbia (DC) North Dakota (ND)
Florida (FL) Ohio (OH)
Georgia (GA) Oklahoma (OK)
Guam (GM) Oregon (OR)
Hawaii (HA) Pennsylvania (PA)
Idaho (ID) Puerto Rico (PR)
Illinois (IL) Rhode Island (RI)
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Indiana (IN) South Carolina (SC)
Iowa (IA)  South Dakota (SD)
Kansas (KA)  Tennessee (TN)
Kentucky (KY)  Texas (TX)
Louisiana (LA)  Utah (UT)
Maine (ME) Vermont (VT)
Maryland (MD) Virginia (VA)
Massachusetts (MS) Virgin Islands (VI)
Michigan (MC) Washington (WN)
Minnesota (MN) West Virginia (WV)
Mississippi (MI)  Wisconsin (WS)
Missouri (MO) Wyoming (WY)

(b) The Coast Guard is the issuing authority and
reporting authority in:

Alaska (AK)

(c) The abbreviations following the names of the
states listed in the paragraphs (a) and (b) are the two capital
letters that must be used in the number format to denote
the state of principal use.

APPENDIX  B
ONE YEAR CYCLE

  COLOR YEAR ISSUED YEAR EXPIRES
Blue 1997 1997
Orange 1998 1998
Green 1999 1999
Red 2000 2000
Blue 2001 2001
Orange 2002 2002

[TWO YEAR CYCLE

  COLOR YEAR ISSUED YEAR EXPIRES
Red 1996 1997
Blue 1997 1998
Orange 1998 1999
Green 1999 2000
Red 2000 2001
Blue 2001 2002]

THREE YEAR CYCLE

  COLOR YEAR ISSUED YEAR EXPIRES
Green 1995 1997
Red 1996 1998
Blue 1997 1999
Orange 1998 2000
Green 1999 2001
Red 2000 2002

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF AIR & W ASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60

Secretary’s Order No. 98-A-0014

Re:  Proposed Regulation No. 38 “Emission Standards
for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories”
of the Regulations Governing the Control of Air  Pollution

Date of Issuance:   April 14, 1998

Effective Date of Regulatory Amendments:  May 11, 1998

I. Background

On Wednesday, April 8, 1998, a public hearing was
held in the DNREC Auditorium of the Richardson and
Robbins Building at 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware,
beginning at approximately 6:00 p.m.  The public hearing
concerned the proposed new Regulation No. 38 “Emission
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source
Categories” of the Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution.  This  is the first of several anticipated regulatory
actions to adopt federal requirements from 40 CFR Part 63
concerning hazardous air pollutants into the Delaware
Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution.

II. Findings

1. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as
required by law, including publication in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

2. No members of the public testified or offered
written comments at the public hearing concerning adoption
of the proposed regulation.

3. Only minor changes were made to this proposal
after it was put out to public notice.  These changes were made
for the sake of clarification and do not substantially affect the
proposed regulation.

4. This regulation adopts federal requirements
concerning emission standards for hazardous air pollutants
for source categories.   The regulation of these pollutants
should further the policies and purposes of 7 Del. C.
Chapter 60.

III. Order
In view of the above findings, it is hereby ordered

that the proposed Regulation No. 38 “Emission Standards for

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/air_wste.htm
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Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories” be adopted
and incorporated into the Regulations Governing the Control
of Air Pollution according to the Administrative Procedures
Act and that the amendments be effective on the date stated
hereinabove.

IV. Reasons

Promulgation of this regulation will adopt state
emission standards for hazardous air pollutants for source
categories.  The regulation of these pollutants should further
the policies and purposes of 7 Del. C. Chapter 60.

Christophe A. G. Tulou, Secretary

FINAL REGULATION NO. 38

EMISSION STANDARDS FOR HAZARDOUS
AIR POLLUTANTS FOR SOURCE CATEGORIES

2/3/ 4/4/98
OVERVIEW

Title III of the Clean Air Act Amendments of November
15, 1990 revised Section 112 of the 1970 Clean Air Act that
addressed hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) and changed the
way that  these pollutants were to be regulated.  Title III
identified the specific HAPs and established the regulatory
approach that the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA) would take to control their emissions from stationary
sources.

The EPA is initially required to promulgate emission
standards that are based on the  maximum achievable control
technology (MACT) for categories or subcategories of
sources according to a Congress-mandated schedule.  Within
eight years of promulgating these MACT-based standards,
the EPA is required to address the remaining or residual risk
by promulgating, if needed, standards necessary to provide
an ample margin of safety to protect public health or to prevent
an adverse environmental effect.  The initial MACT-based
regulations are at 40 CFR Part 63.

The Department is adopting these regulations in
response to 7 Del. C., Chapter 60.

2/3/ 4/4/98
Subpart A General Provisions

The provisions of Subpart A - General Provisions, of
Title 40, Part 63 of the Code of Federal Regulations, [dated
July 1, 1997, as set forth in Vol. 59 of the Federal
Register, page 12430 et seq, dated March 16, 1994, as
amended in Vol. 59, page 19453 et seq, dated April 22,

1994; Vol. 59, page 62589 et seq, dated December 6, 1994;
Vol. 60, page 4963 et seq, dated January 25, 1995; Vol.
60, page 33122, dated June 27, 1995; Vol. 60, page 45980
et seq, dated September 1, 1995; Vol. 61, page 25399 et
seq, dated May 21, 1996; and Vol. 61, page 66227 et seq,
dated December 17, 1996],  are hereby adopted by reference
with the following changes:

(a) The provisions of Subpart A of this regulation
(Regulation 38) apply to owners or operators who are or may
be subject to a subsequent subpart(s) of this regulation,
except when otherwise specified in that subsequent
subpart(s).

(b) Except as shown in Table A-1 of this subpart,
“Department” shall replace each of the following:

(1) “Administrator”;
(2) “Administrator or by a State with an approved

permit program”;
(3) “Administrator (or a State with an approved

permit program)”;
(4) “Administrator (or the State with an approved

permit program)”;
(5) “Administrator (or a State)”; and
(6) “Administrator (or the State)”.

(c) Paragraph 63.1(b)(2) shall be replaced with the
following language: “In addition to complying with the
provisions of this part, the owner or operator of any such
source may be required to obtain, revise or amend permits
issued to stationary sources by [an authorized State air
pollution control agency or an operating permit by the
Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) pursuant to title V of the Act (42 U.S.C.
7661) the Department].  For more information about
obtaining permits, see Regulations 2, 25 and 30 of the State
of Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution” [or par t 70 of this chapter, whichever is
applicable.”]

[(d) Paragraph 63.1(c)(2)(iii) shall be replaced with
the following language:  “Area sources affected by that
emission standard are immediately subject to the
requirement to apply for and obtain a title V permit.  If
a standard fails to specify what the permitting
requirements will be for area sources affected by that
standard, then area sources that are subject to the
standard will be subject to the requirement to obtain a
title V permit without deferral.  If the owner or operator
is required to obtain a title V permit, he or she shall
apply for such permit in accordance with Regulation 30
of the State of Delaware “Regulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution.”]
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[(e) Paragraph 63.1(e) shall be replaced with the

following language: “After January 3, 1996, the owner
or operator of such source may be required to obtain a
title V permit from the permitting authority (or revise
such a permit if one has already been issued to the
source) before a relevant standard is established under
this part. If the owner or operator is required to obtain
(or revise) a title V permit, he/she shall apply to obtain
(or revise) such permit in accordance with Regulation
30 of the State of Delaware “Regulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution.”]

[(f) The definition of Act found in Section 63.2 shall
be replaced with the following language: “Act means
the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 7401 et seq., dated November
15, 1990).”]

([d g]) The definition of Administrator found in
Section 63.2 shall be replaced with the following language:
“Administrator means the Administrator of the United States
Environmental Protection Agency.”

([e h]) The last sentence in the definition of Affected
source found in Section 63.2 shall be deleted.

[(i) The definition of Approved permit program
found in Section 63.2 shall be replaced with the following
language: “Approved permit program means the permit
program established under Regulation 30 of the State
of Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution.”]

([f  j] ) The definition of Department is added to list
of definitions found in Section 63.2 with the following
language: “Department means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control as defined in Title 29,
Delaware Code, Chapter 80, as amended.”

[(k) The last sentence in the number 2 definition of
Effective date found in Section 63.2 shall be replaced
with the following language: “(3)  With regards to the
permit program, the effective date is January 3, 1996.”]

([g l]) The definition of Part 70 permit found in
Section 63.2 shall be replaced with the following language:
“Part 70 permit means any permit issued, renewed, or revised
pursuant to Regulation 30 of the State of Delaware
“Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution.”

([h m]) The definition of Permit [M  m]odification
found in Section 63.2 shall be replaced with the following
language: “Permit modification means a change to a title V
permit as defined in [regulations codified in this chapter
to implement title V of the Act (42 U.S.C. 7661) or]

Regulation 30 of the State of Delaware “Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution”[, whichever is
applicable.”]

[(n) The definition of Permit program found in
Section 63.2 shall be replaced with the following
language: “Permit program means the comprehensive
State operating permit system established under
Regulation 30 of the State of Delaware “Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution.”]

([i  o]) The definition of Permit [R r]evision found in
Section 63.2 shall be replaced with the following language:
“ Permit revision means any permit modification or
administrative permit amendment to a title V permit as
defined in [regulations codified in this chapter to
implement title V of the Act (42 U.S.C. 7661) or]
Regulation 30 of the State of Delaware “Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution”[, whichever is
applicable.”]

[(p) The definition of Permitting authority found in
Section 63.2 shall be replaced with the following
language: “Permitting authority means the Department.”]

([j  q]) The Responsible Official definition (4) found
in Section 63.2 shall be replaced with the following language:
“ For affected sources (as defined in this part) applying for
or subject to a title V permit: “responsible official” shall
have the same meaning as defined in Regulation 30 of the
State of Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of
Air Pollution”[ or Federal title V regulations in this
chapter (42 U.S.C. 7661), whichever is applicable.”]

([k  r] ) Paragraph 63.4(a)(1)(ii) shall be replaced with
the following language: “An extension of compliance granted
under this part by the Department; or”

[(s) Paragraph 63.4(a)(3) shall be replaced with the
following language: “After January 3, 1996, no owner
or operator of an affected source who is required under
this part to obtain a Regulation 30 permit shall operate
such source except in compliance with the provisions of
this part and the applicable requirements of the permit
program.”]

([l  t]) Paragraph 63.5(b)(3) shall be replaced with the
following language: “After the effective date of any relevant
standard promulgated by the Administrator under this part,
whether or not an approved permit program is effective in
the State in which an affected source is (or would be) located,
no person may construct a new major affected source or
reconstruct a major affected source subject to such standard,
or reconstruct a source such that the source becomes a major
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affected source subject to the standard, without obtaining
written approval, in advance, from the Department in
accordance with the procedures specified in paragraphs (d)
and (e) of this section.”

([m u]) The last sentence in paragraphs 63.5(b)(4) and
63.9(b)(5) shall be replaced with the following language: “The
application for approval of construction or reconstruction
required in Sec. 63.5(b)(3) may be used to fulfill the
notification requirements of this paragraph.”

([n v]) The first sentence in paragraph 63.5(d)(1)(i)
shall be replaced with the following language: “An owner or
operator who is subject to the requirements of paragraph
(b)(3) of this section shall submit to the Department an
application for approval of the construction of a new major
affected source, the reconstruction of a major affected
source, or the reconstruction of a source such that the source
becomes a major affected source subject to the standard.”

([o w]) Paragraph 63.5(e)(5)(i) shall be replaced with
the following language: “ Relieve an owner or operator of
legal responsibility for compliance with any applicable
provisions of this part or with any other applicable Federal,
State, or local requirement, including, but not limited to the
requirement to obtain construction permits under Regulation
2 or 25 of the State of Delaware “Regulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution”, before commencing construction
or reconstruction; or ”

([p x]) Paragraphs 63.5(e)(5)(ii), 63.7(c)(3)(iii)(B)
and 63.8(e)(3)(vi)(B) shall be replaced with the following
language: “Prevent the Administrator from implementing or
enforcing this part or taking any other action under the Act
or Department from implementing or enforcing this
regulation or taking any other action under 7 Del. C., Chapter
60.”

([q y]) Paragraph 63.6(g)(2) shall be replaced with the
following language: “An owner or operator requesting
permission under this paragraph shall, unless otherwise
specified in an applicable subpart, submit to the Administrator
and Department a proposed test plan or the results of testing
and monitoring in accordance with Sec. 63.7 and Sec. 63.8, a
description of the procedures followed in testing or
monitoring, and a description of pertinent conditions during
testing or monitoring. Any testing or monitoring conducted
to request permission to use an alternative nonopacity
emission standard shall be appropriately quality assured and
quality controlled, as specified in Sec. 63.7 and Sec. 63.8.”

([r  z]) Paragraph 63.6(h)(9)(i) shall be replaced with
the following language: “If the Department finds under
paragraph (h)(8) of this section that an affected source is in

compliance with all relevant standards for which initial
performance tests were conducted under Sec. 63.7, but during
the time such performance tests were conducted fails to meet
any relevant opacity emission standard, the owner or operator
of such source may petition the Administrator (with copy to
the Department) to make appropriate adjustment to the opacity
emission standard for the affected source. Until the
Administrator notifies the owner or operator of the
appropriate adjustment, the relevant opacity  emission
standard remains applicable.”

([s aa]) Paragraph 63.6(i)(4)(i)(A) shall be replaced
with the following language: “The owner or operator of an
existing source who is unable to comply with a relevant
standard established under this part pursuant to section 112(d)
of the Act may request that the Department grant an extension
allowing the source up to 1 additional year to comply with
the standard, if such additional period is necessary for the
installation of controls. An additional extension of up to 3
years may be added for mining waste operations, if the 1-
year extension of compliance is insufficient to dry and cover
mining waste in order to reduce emissions of any hazardous
air pollutant. The owner or operator of an affected source
who has requested an extension of compliance under this
paragraph and who is otherwise required to obtain a title V
permit shall apply for such permit or apply to have the
source’s title V permit revised to incorporate the conditions
of the extension of compliance. The conditions of an
extension of compliance granted under this paragraph will
be incorporated into the affected source’s title V permit
according to the provisions of Regulation 30 of the State of
Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution”[ or Federal title V regulations in this chapter
(42 U.S.C. 7661), whichever are applicable.”]

([t  bb]) Paragraph 63.6(i)(16) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The granting of an extension under this
section shall not abrogate the Administrator’s authority under
section 114 of the Act or Department’s authority under 7
Del. C., Chapter 60.”

([u cc]) Paragraph 63.7(a)(3) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The Administrator or Department may
require an owner or operator to conduct performance tests
at the affected source at any other time when the action is
authorized by section 114 of the Act or by Regulation 17 of
the State of Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control
of Air Pollutants”, respectively.”

([v dd]) Paragraph 63.7(b)(2) shall be replaced with the
following language: “In the event the owner or operator is
unable to conduct the performance test on the date specified
in the notification requirement specified in paragraph (b)(1)
of this section, due to unforeseeable circumstances beyond
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his or her control, the owner or operator shall notify the
Department within 5 days prior to the scheduled performance
test date and specify the date when the performance test is
rescheduled. This notification of delay in conducting the
performance test shall not relieve the owner or operator of
legal responsibility for compliance with any other applicable
provisions of this part or with any other applicable Federal,
State, or local requirement, nor will it prevent the
Administrator from implementing or enforcing this part or
taking any other action under the Act or Department from
implementing or enforcing this regulation or taking any other
action under 7 Del. C., Chapter 60.”

([w ee]) Paragraph 63.7(c)(3)(ii)(B) shall be replaced
with the following language: “If the owner or operator intends
to demonstrate compliance by using an alternative to any test
method specified in the relevant standard, the owner or
operator shall refrain from conducting the performance test
until the Department approves the site-specific test plan (if
review of the site-specific test plan is requested) following
the Administrator’s approval of the use of the alternative
method. If the  Department does not approve the site-specific
test plan (if review is requested) within 30 days before the
test is scheduled to begin, the performance test dates
specified in paragraph (a) of this section may be extended
such that the owner or operator shall conduct the performance
test within 60 calendar days after the Department approves
the site-specific test plan. Notwithstanding the requirements
in the preceding two sentences, the owner or operator may
proceed to conduct the performance test as required in this
section (without the Department’s prior approval of the site-
specific test plan) if he/she subsequently chooses to use the
specified testing and monitoring methods instead of an
alternative.”

([x ff] ) Paragraph 63.7(e)(2) shall be replaced with the
following language: “Performance tests shall be conducted
and data shall be reduced in accordance with the test methods
and procedures set forth in this section, in each relevant
standard, and, if required, in applicable appendices of parts
51, 60, 61, and 63 of this chapter unless —

(i)  The Department specifies or approves, in
specific cases, the use of a test method with minor changes
in methodology; or

(ii)  The Administrator approves the use of an
alternative test method, the results of which the Administrator
has determined to be adequate for indicating whether a
specific affected source is in compliance; or

(iii)  The Department approves shorter sampling
times and smaller sample volumes when necessitated by
process variables or other factors; or

(iv)  The Department waives the requirement for
performance tests because the owner or operator of an
affected source has demonstrated by other means to the

Department’s satisfaction that the affected source is in
compliance with the relevant standard.”

([y gg]) Paragraph 63.7(e)(4) shall be replaced with the
following language: “Nothing in paragraphs (e)(1) through
(e)(3) of this section shall be construed to abrogate the
Administrator’s authority to require testing under section 114
of the Act or Department’s authority under Regulation 17 of
the State of Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control
of Air Pollution.”

([z hh]) Paragraph 63.7(f)(2)(iii) shall be replaced with
the following language:  “Submits the results of the Method
301 validation process to the Administrator (with copy to
the Department) along with the notification of intention and
the justification for not using the specified test method. The
owner or operator may submit the information required in
this paragraph well in advance of the deadline specified in
paragraph (f)(2)(i) of this section to ensure a timely review
by the Administrator in order to meet the performance test
date specified in this section or the relevant standard.”

([aa ii] ) Paragraph 63.7(f)(3) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The Administrator will determine
whether the owner or operator’s validation of the proposed
alternative test method is adequate when the Administrator
approves or disapproves the use of the alternative test method
required under paragraph (c) of this section. If the
Administrator finds reasonable grounds to dispute the results
obtained by the Method 301 validation process, the
Administrator may require the use of a test method specified
in a relevant standard.”

([bb jj] ) Paragraphs 63.8(b)(1) shall be replaced with the
following language: “Monitoring shall be conducted as set
forth in this section and the relevant standard(s) unless —

(i)  The Department specifies or approves the use
of minor changes in methodology for the specified
monitoring requirements and procedures; or

(ii)  The Administrator approves the use of
alternatives to any monitoring requirements or procedures.

(iii)  Owners or operators with flares subject to Sec.
63.11(b) are not subject to the requirements of this section
unless otherwise specified in the relevant standard.”

([cc kk] ) Paragraph 63.8(e)(1) shall be replaced with
the following language: “When required by a relevant standard,
and at any other time the Administrator may require under
section 114 of the Act or Department may require under
Regulation 17 of the State of Delaware “Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution”, the owner or
operator of an affected source being monitored shall conduct
a performance evaluation of the CMS. Such performance
evaluation shall be conducted according to the applicable
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specifications and procedures described in this section or in
the relevant standard.”

([dd ll] )Paragraph 63.8(e)(3)(v)(B) shall be replaced
with the following language: “If the owner or operator intends
to demonstrate compliance by using an alternative to a
monitoring method specified in the relevant standard, the
owner or operator shall refrain from conducting the
performance evaluation until the Department approves the
site-specific performance evaluation test plan (if requested)
once the Administrator approves the use of the alternative
method. If the Administrator does not approve the use of the
alternative method within 30 days before the performance
evaluation is scheduled to begin, the performance evaluation
deadlines specified in paragraph (e)(4) of this section may
be extended such that the owner or operator shall conduct
the performance evaluation within 60 calendar days after the
Department approves the site-specific performance
evaluation test plan. Notwithstanding the requirements in the
preceding two sentences, the owner or operator may proceed
to conduct the performance evaluation as required in this
section (without the Department’s prior approval of the site-
specific performance evaluation test plan) if he/she
subsequently chooses to use the specified monitoring
method(s) instead of an alternative.”

([ee mm]) Paragraph 63.8(f)(4)(i) shall be replaced
with the following language: “An owner or operator who
wishes to use an alternative monitoring method shall submit
an application to the Administrator (with copy to the
Department) as described in paragraph (f)(4)(ii) of this
section, below. The application may be submitted at any time
provided that the monitoring method is not used to
demonstrate compliance with a relevant standard or other
requirement. If the alternative monitoring method is to be
used to demonstrate compliance with a relevant standard, the
application shall be submitted not later than with the site-
specific test plan required in Sec. 63.7(c) (if requested) or
with the site-specific performance evaluation plan (if
requested) or at least 60 days before the performance
evaluation is scheduled to begin.”

([ff  nn]) Paragraph 63.8(f)(6)(i) shall be replaced with
the following language: “An alternative to the test method
for determining relative accuracy is available for affected
sources with emission rates demonstrated to be less than 50
percent of the relevant standard. The owner or operator of an
affected source may petition the Administrator (with copy
to the Department) under paragraph (f)(6)(ii) of this section
to substitute the relative accuracy test in section 7 of
Performance Specification 2 with the procedures in section
10 if the results of a performance test conducted according
to the requirements in Sec. 63.7, or other tests performed
following the criteria in Sec. 63.7, demonstrate that the

emission rate of the pollutant of interest in the units of the
relevant standard is less than 50 percent of the relevant
standard. For affected sources subject to emission limitations
expressed as control efficiency levels, the owner or operator
may petition the Administrator (with copy to the Department)
to substitute the relative accuracy test with the procedures
in section 10 of Performance Specification 2 if the control
device exhaust emission rate is less than 50 percent of the
level needed to meet the control efficiency requirement. The
alternative procedures do not apply if the CEMS is used
continuously to determine compliance with the relevant
standard.”

([gg oo]) Paragraph 63.9(b)(4) shall be replaced with
the following language: “The owner or operator of a new or
reconstructed major affected source, or of a source that has
been reconstructed such that the source becomes a major
affected source, that has an initial startup after the effective
date of a relevant standard under this part and for which an
application for approval of construction or reconstruction is
required under Sec. 63.5(d) shall provide the following
information in writing to the Department:”

([hh pp]) Paragraph 63.9(b)(4)(i) shall be replaced
with the following language: “A notification of intention to
construct a new major affected source, reconstruct a major
affected source, or reconstruct a source such that the source
becomes a major affected source with the application for
approval of construction or reconstruction as specified in
Sec. 63.5(d)(1)(i);”

([ii  qq])Paragraph 63.10(b)(3) shall be replaced with
the following language: “If an owner or operator determines
that his or her stationary source that emits (or has the potential
to emit, without considering controls) one or more hazardous
air pollutants is not subject to a relevant standard or other
requirement established under this part, the owner or operator
shall keep a record of the applicability determination on site
at the source for the life of the source or until the source
changes its operations to become an affected source,
whichever comes first. The record of the applicability
determination shall include an analysis (or other information)
that demonstrates why the owner or operator believes the
source is unaffected (e.g., because the source is an area
source). The analysis (or other information) shall be
sufficiently detailed to allow the Department to make a
finding about the source’s applicability status with regard to
the relevant standard or other requirement. If relevant, the
analysis shall be performed in accordance with requirements
established in subparts of this part for this purpose for
particular categories of stationary sources. If relevant, the
analysis should be performed in accordance with EPA
guidance materials published to assist sources in making
applicability determinations under section 112, if any.”
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[(rr) The last two sentences of Paragraph

63.10(d)(5)(ii) shall be replaced with the following
language: “Notwithstanding the requirements of the
previous sentence, after January 3, 1996, the owner or
operator may make alternative reporting arrangements,
in advance, with the Department. Procedures governing
the arrangement of alternative reporting requirements
under this paragraph are specified in Sec. 63.9(i).”]

([jj  ss]) Paragraph 63.10(f)(6) shall be replaced with the
following language: “Approval of any waiver granted under
this section shall not abrogate the Administrator’s authority
under the Act or Department’s authority under 7 Del. C.,
Chapter 60 or in any way prohibit the Department from later
canceling the waiver. The cancellation will be made only after
notice is given to the owner or operator of the affected
source.”

([kk  tt] )Paragraph 63.15(b)(3) shall be added with the
following language:  “(3)  Any information provided to or
otherwise obtained by the Department shall be made available
to the public unless it is determined to be confidential under
7 Del. C., Chapter 60, Section 6014 or 29 Del. C., Chapter
100, Section 10002(d).”

* PLEASE SEE TABLE  A-1 OF SUBPART A AT THE END OF THE

REGULATION .

2/3/ 4/4/98
Subpart Q Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants for Industrial Process Cooling Towers

The provisions of Subpart Q - National Emission
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants  for Industrial Process
Cooling Towers, of Title 40, Part 63 of the Code of Federal
Regulations, [dated July 1, 1997, as set forth in Vol. 59,
page 46350 et seq, dated September 8, 1994,] are hereby
adopted by reference with the following changes:

(a) Except as shown in Table Q-1 of this subpart,
“Department” shall replace “Administrator”.

(b) The Responsible Official definition (4) found in
Section 63.401 shall be replaced with the following language:
“ For affected sources (as defined in this part) applying for
or subject to a title V permit: “responsible official” shall
have the same meaning as defined in Regulation 30 of the
State of Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of
Air Pollution” [ or Federal title V regulations in this
chapter (42 U.S.C. 7661), whichever is applicable.”]

[(c) Paragraph 63.403(a) shall be replaced with the
following language: “For existing IPCT’s, the
compliance date shall be May 11, 1998.”]

[(d) Paragraph 63.403(b) shall be replaced with the
following language: “For new IPCT’s that have an initial
startup before September 8, 1994, the compliance date
shall be May 11, 1998.”]

[(e) Paragraph 63.403(c) shall be replaced with the
following language: “For new IPCT’s that have an initial
startup on or after September 8, 1994, the compliance
date shall be May 11, 1998 or the date of the initial
startup, whichever is later.”]

([c f]) The opening paragraph of Section 63.404 shall
be replaced with the following language:  “No routine
monitoring, sampling, or analysis is required. In accordance
with section 114 of the Act, the Administrator can require
cooling water sample analysis of an IPCT if there is
information to indicate that the IPCT is not in compliance
with the requirements of Sec. 63.402 of this subpart. In
accordance with Regulation 17 of the State of Delaware
“Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution”, the
Department can require cooling water sample analysis of an
IPCT to indicate that the IPCT is not in compliance with the
requirements of Sec. 63.402 of this subpart. If cooling water
sample analysis is required:”

[(g) Paragraph 63.405(a)(1) shall be replaced with
the following language:  “In accordance with Sec. 63.9(b)
of subpart A, owners or operators of all affected IPCT’s
that have an initial startup before September 8, 1994,
shall notify the Department in writing. The notification,
which shall be submitted not later than May 11, 1998,
shall provide the following information:”]

[(h) Paragraph 63.405(a)(2) shall be replaced with
the following language:  “In accordance with Sec. 63.9(b)
of subpart A, owners or operators of all affected IPCT’s
that have an initial startup on or after September 8, 1994,
shall notify the Department in writing that the source
is subject to the relevant standard no later than May 11,
1998 or 12 months after initial startup, whichever is
later. The notification shall provide all the information
required in paragraphs (a)(1)(i) through (a)(1)(iv) of this
section.”]

[(i) Paragraph 63.405(b)(1) shall be replaced with
the following language:  “In accordance with Sec. 63.9(h)
of subpart A, owners or operators of affected IPCT’s shall
submit to the Department a notification of compliance
status by May 11, 1998.”]

([d j] ) Table 1 of Subpart Q, which is being adopted by
reference, is modified by the following additions or
deletions:

(1) Paragraph 63.9(i) is added in the listing of
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General Provisions that are applicable to Subpart Q;
(2) Subparagraph 63.9(b)(6) is deleted from the listing of General Provisions that are
not applicable to Subpart Q; and
(3) Item 63.10(b)(2)(xiii) is added in the listing of General Provisions that are not
applicable to Subpart Q.

Table Q-1 of Subpart Q - Exceptions to “Department” as replacement of
“Administrator” under Subpart Q (a)

Reference

“Administrator”
means

“Administrator” Comment
63.401

“Responsible official”
Yes In definition (3)

63.404 Yes As replaced

Table A-1 of Subpart A - Exceptions to “Department” as replacement of
“Administrator et al” under Subpart A (b)(1)to (6)

Reference

“Administrator”
means

“Administrator”

“Administrator
et al” is

replaced by
“Administrator or

Department”

“Administrator et al” is
replaced by

“Administrator and
Department”

Comments
63.1(a)(2) & (3) Yes

63.1(a)(11) Yes

63.1(a)(12) Yes

63.1(b)(2) Yes As replaced

63.1(c) Yes

63.2
“Administrator”

Yes As replaced

63.2
“Alternative Emission Standard”

Yes

63.2
“Alternative test method”

Yes

63.2
“Approved permit program”

Yes

63.2
“Compliance date”

Yes

63.2
“Equivalent emission limitation”

Yes For last use in definition

63.2
“Federally enforceable”

Yes

63.2
“Lesser quantity”

Yes

63.2
“Major source”

Yes

63.2
“New source”

Yes

63.2
“Performance audit”

Yes

63.2
“Permitting authority”

Yes

63.2
“Reconstruction”

Yes
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63.2
“Regulation promulgation

schedule”

Yes

63.2
“Relevant Standard”

Yes

63.2
“Responsible official”

Yes In definition (3)

63.4(a)(1)(i) Yes

63.5(b)(3) Yes As replaced

63.5(b)(4) Yes 1st occurrence

63.5(b)(5) & (6) Yes

63.5(e)(5)(ii) Yes As replaced

63.6(c)(1) Yes

63.6(g)(1) Yes

63.6(g)(2) Yes As replaced

63.6(g)(3) Yes

63.6(h)(9)(i) Yes As replaced

63.6(h)(9)(ii, iii & iv) Yes

63.6(i)(16) Yes As replaced

63.7(a)(3) Yes As replaced

63.7(b)(2) Yes As replaced

63.7(c)(2)(iii) Yes 1st occurrence

63.7(c)(3)(ii)(B) Yes As replaced

63.7(c)(3)(iii)(B) Yes As replaced

63.7(c)(4)(iii) Yes

63.7(e)(2) Yes As replaced

63.7(e)(4) Yes As replaced

63.7(f)(1) Yes

63.7(f)(2)(i) Yes 1st occurrence

63.7(f)(2)(iii) Yes As replaced

63.7(f)(3) Yes As replaced

63.7(f)(4) & (5) Yes

63.8(a)(2) Yes

63.8(b)(1) Yes As replaced

63.8(e)(1) Yes As replaced

63.8(e)(3)(v)(B) Yes As replaced

63.8(e)(3)(vi)(B) Yes As replaced

63.8(f)(1), (2) & (3) Yes

63.8(f)(4)(i) Yes As replaced

63.8(f)(4)(iii) & (5) Yes

63.8(f)(6)(i) Yes As replaced

63.8(f)(6)(ii) Yes

63.8(f)(6)(iii) Yes 1st & 3rd occurrence

63.8(f)(6)(iii) Yes 2nd occurrence

63.9(a)(3) Yes

63.9(b)(5) Yes 1st occurrence

63.10(a)(3) Yes

63.10(f)(6) Yes As replaced

63.12 Yes

63.13 Yes

63.15 Yes
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

VISION SCREENING

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation on Vision Screening found on pages 43
to 48 in The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities must
be amended.  This regulation lists the grades where vision
screening must occur as well as requiring screenings for new
students, special education students and driver education
students.  Requirements to notify parents or guardians and to
enter the results in the school health record are also included.
The amendment is necessary in order to isolate the regulatory
responsibilities of the school nurse from the technical
assistance information and to use the word “shall” in the
regulatory statements.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation because of the need
to clarify the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended

regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Vision Screening

1. All children in kindergarten or grade 1 and in grades 3,
5, 8, and 10 shall receive a vision screening by December
15th of the current school year.

2. Students new to the school system, teacher referrals,
those students considered for special education placement
and driver education students shall have a vision screening.

3. The school nurse shall record the results on the School
[Health]  Record.

4. The school nurse shall notify parents/guardians if the
child has a suspected vision problem.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

HEARING SCREENING PROCEDURES

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

http://www.doe.state.de.us/docs/index_js.asp
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The regulation on Hearing Screening Procedures found

on pages 28 to 35 in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities must be amended.  This regulation lists the
grade levels where hearing screenings must occur, requires
re-screenings and new student screenings.  Notification of
the parent or guardian of the screening results and the
recording of the results in the school health record are also
regulated.  The amendment is necessary in order to isolate
the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse from the
technical assistance information and to use the word “shall”
in the regulatory statements.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation because of the need
to clarify the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Hearing Screening

1. All children in kindergarten or grade 1 and in grades 3,
5, 8 and in grade 10 or 11 shall receive a hearing screening
by December 15th of the current school year.

2. Students new to the school system and those students
considered for special education placement shall have a
hearing screening.

3. Should any child again fail the screening, a repeat
screening shall be done within two (2) weeks of the initial
screening.

4. The school nurse shall record the test results on the
School Health Record.

5. The school nurse shall notify the parents/guardian that
the child has failed the hearing screening and may have a
hearing loss.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

DELAWARE SCHOOL HEALTH RECORD CARD

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation on the Delaware School Health Record
Card found on page 22 in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities must be amended.  This regulation defines
the school nurse’s responsibilities in keeping school health
records.  The amendment is necessary to eliminate the
reference to a “card” since most record keeping will be done
electronically and to separate the regulatory aspects of the
policy from those that were included for technical assistance
purposes.
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Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was

published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation because of the need
to clarify the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Delaware School Health Record

1. The “School Health Record” is confidential and shall be
stored so that only duly authorized persons have access to it.

2. A “School Health Record” shall be prepared for each
school child.  When a child is promoted to another school in
the district or transfers to another school in or out of state
this shall accompany the other school records.

3. The health record will serve for the duration of the child’s
schooling.  The school nurse shall use the “Student Health
History Update” to keep health records current.

4. The “School Health Record” shall remain in the general
school file or nurse’s file during the pupil’s attendance in
school.  The school nurse should destroy any duplicate or
partial health record after entries have been transferred to
the official record so that there is only one correct and up-
to-date record.

5. No health or psychological data shall be filmed with
school academic records.

6. All student health records shall be retained at the school
for two years after termination (graduation, drop-out).

7. All health records shall be transferred to the State
Records Center which will retain the records for a total of
25 years.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

DELAWARE EMERGENCY TREATMENT CARD

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation the Delaware Emergency Treatment Card
found on page 99 of The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities must be amended.  The existing regulation
is in the form of a card that parents or guardians must fill out
and sign and a list of school emergency procedures are
attached to the card.  The amendment puts into regulation the
language that states that the card must be used and what
information must be on the card.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
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on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation because the regulatory
requirement must be in the form of a written statement and
not in the form of a card.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.
Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

THE DELAWARE EMERGENCY TREATMENT CARD

A Delaware Emergency Treatment Card shall be on file for
every child enrolled in the Delaware Public Education system
and the card must contain at a minimum, requests for the
following information: student’s name, birth date, school
district, school, grade, homeroom or teacher, home address,
home phone, mother/guardian’s name and/or father/guardian’s
name, their place of employment and work phone, two other
names, addresses and phone numbers for times when the
parent or guardian can not be reached, family physician, name
and phone, family dentist, name and phone, student’s medical
problems and allergies, the student’s medical insurance and
[if possible]  the parent/guardian’s signature.  This
information may be shared on a need to know basis.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

DAILY LOG

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to amend the regulation Daily Log found on page
93 in The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities.  This
regulation mandates the keeping of a daily log and identifies
the types of information that must be included.  The
amendment is necessary in order to require that the school
nurse keep a daily log and it clearly states what information
must be in the log.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation because of the need
to clarify the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
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122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Daily Log

1. The school nurse shall maintain a daily log which includes
at a minimum:

a. School Name
b. Three point date
c. Student’s first and last name
d. Time of arrival and departure
e. Presenting complaint
f. Nurse’s assessment and plan
g. Disposition (return to class, sent home, etc.)
h. Parent contact, if appropriate
i. Complete nurse’s signature

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

ACCIDENT REPORTING

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation Accident Reporting found on page 125
in The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities identifies
when the school nurse must file an accident report and how
it should be done.  The amendment is necessary in order to
isolate the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse
from the technical assistance and to use the word “shall” in
the regulatory statements.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation because of the need
to clarify the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
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of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Accident Reporting

1. In addition to entering an accident incident in daily log,
the school nurse shall make a written report on the
appropriate form to the district office in the following
circumstances:

a. The school nurse has referred the student for medical
evaluation, regardless of whether the parent/guardian
followed through on that request.

b. The student has missed more than one-half day due
to the accident.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

PARENTAL REQUEST TO HAVE PRESCRIPTION
MEDICATIONS ADMINISTERED AT SCHOOL

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation Parental Request to Have Prescription
Medications Administered in School found on page 105 b in
The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities must be
amended.  This regulation identifies the information that the
school nurse must get from the parent or guardian and the
records that must be kept.  The amendment is necessary in
order to isolate the regulatory responsibilities of the school
nurse from the technical assistance information and to use
the word “shall” in the regulatory statements.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News

on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation because of the need
to clarify the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith
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EXHIBIT B

Administration of Prescription Medications

1. Medications prescribed by a licensed healthcare
provider may be administered to students by the school nurse
under the following conditions:

a. Request received from the parent/guardian.
b. The medication is brought/sent to school in the

original container that is properly labeled with the student’s
name; the name of the medication; time; dosage; how it is to
be administered; the physician’s name; name of pharmacy
and phone number; and a current date of the prescription.

c. Any allergies are noted.
d. All controlled substances are counted and

reconciled at least once a month and kept under double lock.
e. The daily log or special medication record shows

the student’s name, time, and date of administration.
f. All long term medications shall be reauthorized each

year.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

GUIDELINES FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF
NONPRESCRIPTION DRUGS

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation Guidelines for Administration of
Nonprescription Drugs found on page 104 in The School
Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities must be amended.  This
regulation identifies the responsibilities of the school nurse
in the administration of nonprescription drugs.  The
amendment is necessary in order to isolate the regulatory
responsibilities of the school nurse from the technical
assistance information and to use the word “shall” in the
regulatory statements.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation because of the need
to clarify the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Administration of Nonprescription Medications

1. Nonprescription medications may be administered by
the school nurse to students.  The school nurse shall do the
following:

a. Assess the particular complaint and symptoms to
determine if other measures can be used before medication
is administered.

b. Look for a record of all allergies, especially to
medications, on the student’s school health record.
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c. Have the permission of the parent or guardian to

administer any medications.
d. Seek medical attention if the symptoms or

conditions persist.
e. Record the student’s name, name of medicine,

dosage and time on the daily log.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

POLICY ON THE SCHOOL NURSE AND THE
HANDICAPPED CHILD AND POLICY FOR PROVIDING
CARE TO THE CHILD WITH SPECIAL HEALTH NEEDS

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The policies entitled, Policy Statement on the School
Nurse and the Handicapped Child, and Policy for Providing
Care to the Child with Special Needs found on pages 175
and 181 respectively in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities must be amended.  These regulations list
the responsibilities of the school nurse as a member of the
IEP team and the requirements for ministering to the special
health needs of children.  The amendment is necessary in
order to combine the two policies in to one policy entitled,
The School Nurse and the Child with Special Health Needs.
The amended policy removes the technical assistance
language and includes only those areas that are regulated and
uses the word “shall” in the regulatory language.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation because the two
policies need to be combined and the regulatory
responsibilities of the school nurse need to be clarified.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall

be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

The School Nurse and the Child with Special Health Needs

1. The school nurse, as a member of the evaluation team
shall:

a. Assist in identifying candidates for placement in a
special program.

b. Conduct the initial health evaluation and parent
conference.

c. Assist in obtaining an in-depth health and
developmental history and home environment assessment.

d. Provide and interpret all pertinent information
including results of recent physical assessments.

e. Develop the individual health maintenance plan with
the student/parent if possible.

f. Provide the evaluation team with [the health
information necessary to develop] the health component
of the individual education plan, IEP.

g. Periodically confer with the student, parent and
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faculty to revise the health maintenance plan.

h. Help the student or the student’s parent or guardian
to use appropriate community resources.

[i . Follow up on medical recommendations and
report to teachers and appropriate personnel.]

j. Provide and/or supervise nursing treatment,
medications, and specialized health procedures which allow
the students to remain in the least restrictive environment
with the following conditions:

(1) A written request shall be obtained from the
parent for the procedure.

(2) A written authorization from the child’s
physician [must shall] be on file.

(3) Each change in the [procedure request] from
the parent or physician requires reauthorization.  All
[procedures requests] shall be reauthorized [every six
months each year].

(4) A daily treatment log that includes child’s name,
date and time shall be kept on all medications and treatment
administered with any reactions or comments noted.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

FIRE AND EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The Handbook for K-12 Education contains a section
entitled Fire and Emergency Preparedness, I.M.12, page A-
54.  This regulation should be repealed because the first part
of the regulation beginning with the word “All”, through the
word “session”, is from 14 Del. C., Section 4109.  The second
part beginning with the word “During”, and ending with the
word “Year”, is from the State Fire Prevention Regulations,
Part V, Section 1-3, Fire Drills in Educational and
Institutional Occupancies.  Since this section is simply a
restating of the Delaware Code and from another regulation,
this does not need to be regulated again by the Department,
and thus should be repealed as a regulation of the Department
of Education.  Notice of the proposed repeal of this
regulation was published in the News Journal and the
Delaware State News on February 16, 1998, in the form
attached as Exhibit A.  The notice invited written comments
but none were received.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary finds that the regulation should be repealed
because it simply conveys information from the Delaware
Code and from other regulations and does not need to be

regulated by the Department of Education.

III.  DECISION TO REPEAL THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
the proposed regulation should be repealed.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the regulation attached
hereto as Exhibit B is repealed.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation repealed hereby shall be in the
form attached hereto as Exhibit B and shall be removed from
the Handbook for K-12 Education, Section I.M.12.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.

Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Repeal of Regulation for Fire and Emergency
Preparedness

I.M.12. FIRE AND EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS
a. All Delaware schools are subject to Delaware Code

and to State Fire Prevention Regulations which require that
every school be equipped with an adequate number of fire
extinguishers and shall hold a fire drill at least once every
month while the school is in session.  (14 Del. C. ¤4109)
Fire drills shall include complete evacuation of all persons
from the building.  During severe weather, fire drills may be
postponed.  A record of all fire drills shall be kept and persons
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in charge of each school shall maintain a written record on
site of all such fire drills held, giving the time and date of
each drill held.  This record of fire drills shall be made
available to a representative of the State Fire Marshal, upon
request.  The record shall be maintained for a period of three
years, not including the current year.  (State Board Approved
December 1993)

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

TITLE IX OF THE EDUCATIONAL AMENDMENTS OF
1972 CONCERNING PHYSICAL EDUCATION

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The Handbook for K-12 Education contains a section
entitled Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972
Concerning Physical Education, I.C.2., pages A-3 and A-4.
This regulation needs to be repealed because it simply
presents information for technical assistance purposes from
the federal regulations for Title IX and is not a Department
of Education regulation.  Notice of the proposed repeal of
this regulation was published in the News Journal and the
Delaware State News on February 16, 1998, in the form
attached as Exhibit A.  No comments were received regarding
the proposed repeal of the regulation.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary finds that the regulation should be repealed
because it simply provides technical assistance about an
existing federal regulation and is not a Department of
Education regulation.

III.  DECISION TO REPEAL THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to repeal this regulation.  Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit B is repealed.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation repealed hereby shall be in the
form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation shall
be removed from the Handbook for K-12 Education.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the

Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Repeal of Regulation for Title IX of the Educational
Amendments of 1972 Concerning Physical Education

I.C.2. TITLE IX OF EDUCATIONAL AMENDMENTS OF
1972 CONCERNING PHYSICAL EDUCATION

In 1976 and 1978 “girls physical education” and “boys
physical education” became “student physical education”
under Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972.

a. Section 86.34 of Title IX states that
(1) Physical education units of instruction

required for one sex must be required for everyone.
(2) Elective units must be scheduled on an

open enrollment basis.
(3) Grouping by ability is permitted as long as

objective standards of individual performance related to the
unit studies are applied without regard to sex.

b. Section 86.33 of Title IX states that
(1) Students may be separated by sex for

participation in contact sports.
(2) Evaluation outcomes may not adversely

affect members of one sex.
(3) Students may be separated for instruction

which deals exclusively with human sexuality.
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE
REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

SMOKING REGULATIONS

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The Smoking Regulation found in the Handbook for K-
12 Education section I.M.11, page A-53 was made a
regulation in 1987.  It forbids the use, dispensing and sale of
tobacco products by students K-12 during school hours in
school buildings, on school grounds or on school buses.  This
regulation did away with “smoking courts” in high schools
and generally put students on notice that smoking in or around
schools was totally forbidden.  Since this state regulation
was passed a federal law entitled the Pro-Children Act of
1994, has also been enacted which says “no person shall
permit smoking within any indoor facility owned or leased
or contracted for and utilized by such person for provision
of routine or regular kindergarten, elementary or secondary
education or library services to children.”  Children are
defined as “individuals who have not attained the age of 18.”
This law applies to agencies and organizations that receive
federal funds and it covers public schools and numerous other
agencies serving children.  This federal law effects adult
behavior concerning smoking which the Department of
Education regulation does not address.  The federal law does
not mention tobacco products such as snuff and chewing
tobacco and does not cover the school grounds and the school
buses which are both part of the Department of Education
regulation.  The regulation is recommended for readoption
because in concert with the federal statute, most aspects of
the problem are covered and the important emphasis on
student behavior is sustained.  Notice of the proposed
readoption was published in the News Journal and Delaware
State News on February 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached
as Exhibit A.  The notice invited written comments and none
were received.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary finds that in order to continue to support
the concept of tobacco free schools and to protect children
from the negative effects of the use of tobacco and tobacco
products this regulation should be readopted.  This regulation
is complimentary to and extends the intent of the federal
law.

III.  DECISION TO READOPT THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to readopt the existing regulation.  Therefore,

pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the regulation attached
hereto as Exhibit B is hereby readopted.  Pursuant to the
provisions of 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(e), the
regulation hereby readopted shall be in effect for a period of
five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in
Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation readopted hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation
shall be cited in the Handbook for K-12 Education, section
I.M.11.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

I.M.11. SMOKING REGULATIONS

Each school district in Delaware is required to have a
policy which, at a minimum, prohibits smoking and the use,
dispensing or selling of tobacco products such as snuff and
chewing tobacco by students in kindergarten through grade
12 during school hours in school buildings, on school
grounds, or on school buses.
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE
REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

IMMUNIZ ATION RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation on Immunization Rules and Regulations
of the State Board of Education found on pages 71 and 72 in
The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities must be
amended.  This regulation defines a school “enterer” and lists
all required immunizations students must have.  The
regulation defines “certification of immunization” and
“conditional school admission”.  It also provides direction
on how to deal with lost or destroyed medical records and
how to seek exemptions from immunization.  The amendment
is necessary to add a new section B.1.d. which requires
students to receive three doses of Hepatitis B beginning in
the 1999-2000 school year with kindergarten and grade seven.
This change was recommended by the Department of Public
Health and the School Health Advisory Committee.  The
existing sections d. and e. become e. and f.  The amendment
also removes section H, Implementation, which is no longer
necessary because the previously existing parts of the
regulation have been implemented.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation to add the Hepatitus
B immunization to the required immunizations because the
Department of Public Health and the School Health Advisory
Committee feel that it is necessary due to the long term and
recurring negative effects of contracting the Hepatitus B
infection.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date

of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Immunizations Rules and Regulations of the State Board of
Education

A. Definition of School Enterer

A school enterer is any child between the ages of two
months and 21 years entering or being admitted to a Delaware
school district for the first time, including but not limited
to, foreign exchange students, immigrants, students from
other states and territories and children entering from non-
public schools.

B. Immunization Requirements for School Admission

The following minimum immunizations will be required
for all school enterers:

1. Vaccine
a. Four or more doses of diphtheria, tetanus,

pertussis (DTP) or diphtheria, tetanus (DT) vaccine or a
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combination of these vaccines with the following exceptions:
(1) a child who received a fourth dose prior to the fourth
birthday must have a fifth dose;  (2) a child who received the
first dose of Td (adult) at or after age seven may meet this
requirement with only three doses of Td (adult).

b. Four doses of oral polio vaccine (OPV) or four
doses of inactivated polio virus (IPV) or a combination of
these vaccines with the following exception:  If the third
primary dose of OPV or IPV is administered on or after the
fourth birth date, a fourth dose is not required.

c. Two doses of measles vaccine.  The first dose
should be administered on or after the age of 12 months.
The second dose should be administered after the fourth
birthday.  The combination vaccines of measles, mumps,
rubella (MMR) can be used to meet this requirement.

d. Three doses of Hepatitis B vaccine beginning
in the 1999-2000 school year with kindergarten and grade
seven.  (By adding a grade at each of the levels, by the year
2004-2005 all students will be required to have the vaccine.).

d. e.One dose of rubella vaccine administered after
the age of 12 months.

e. f. One dose of mumps vaccine administered after
the age of 12 months.

2. Disease histories for measles, rubella and mumps
will not be accepted unless serologically confirmed.

3. A booster dose of Td (adult) is recommended at ten
year intervals for all students after the last DTP or DT dose
was administered.

C. Certification of Immunization

All parents or legal guardians of school enterers must
present a certificate specifying the month, day, and year that
the immunizations were administered by the physician or
public health agency.

(Passed by the State Board of Education on December 19,
1990.)

D. Admission

1. Notice
According to Delaware Code, Title 14, Section 131,

Paragraph C, a principal or person in charge of a school shall
not permit a child to enter into school without acceptable
evidence of immunization.  The parent or legal guardian shall
be notified of this requirement in writing.  Within 14 calendar
days after notification, evidence must be presented to the
school that the basic series of immunizations has been
initiated or has been completed.

2. Conditional
A school enterer may be conditionally admitted to

a Delaware school district by presenting a statement from a

physician or public health agency which specifies that the
school enterer:

a. has received at least one dose of DTP or DT
and

b. has received at least one dose of OPV or IPV
and

c. has received at least one dose of measles,
mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine.

d. Children entering school without
documentation for the first or second dose of measles should
be admitted after the first dose.  A second dose is required
between 30 and 90 days after the first dose.  (MMR can be
used to meet this requirement.)

3. Denial
If the school enterer fails to complete the series of

required immunizations according to the Division of Public
Health’s recommended schedule, the parent or legal guardian
will be notified the child will be excluded.

E. Lost or Destroyed Medical Records

When an immunization record has been lost or destroyed
by the medical provider who administered the vaccine, the
parent must sign a written statement to this effect and must
obtain at least one dose of DTP or DT, one dose of OPV or
IPV and immunization against measles, mumps and rubella.
Evidence that the vaccines were administered must be
presented to the superintendent or designated person.  An
exemption to this requirement would be a statement from a
physician demonstrating serological evidence of immunity
to measles, mumps or rubella.

F. Exemption from Immunization
Exemption from this requirement may be granted in

accordance with Delaware Code, Title 14, Section 131.

G. Verification of School Records
The Division of Public Health shall have the right to audit

and verify school immunization records to determine
compliance with the law.

H.  Implementation
Effective September 1, 1991 and thereafter, these

revised regulations will be enforced 12/19/90
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE
REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

POLICY FOR PROVIDING EDUCATION FOR
STUDENTS WITH HIV INFECTION

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation Policy for Providing Education to
Students with HIV Infection found on page 81 in The School
Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities and on pages A-52 - A-
53 in the Handbook for K-12 Education must be amended.
This regulation affirms the rights of students in K-12 and
adult education programs with HIV infection to attend the
public schools of Delaware and affirms their right to privacy
concerning the existence of the infection.  The amendment
is necessary to remove the procedural references and focus
only on the regulatory sections.  Sections 2, 3, 4, and 8 are
removed and sections 5, 6, and 7 become 2, 3, and 4.  In
section 4, the words “established by the State Department of
Public Instruction and Division of Public Health and approved
by the Delaware State Board of Education on December 19,
1985” and the last sentence “These procedures will be found
in the School Nurse Handbook, School Bus Drivers
Handbook, Handbook for School Food Services, and K-12
Handbook” are removed.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend the regulation because of the need
to remove the procedural sections and focus only on the
regulatory sections.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Providing Education To Students with HIV Infection

Policy for Providing Education To Students with HIV
Infection

1. A student enrolled or entering a Delaware public
school/program, or in an adult or apprenticeship program,
with HIV infection shall be permitted to attend school
unless the student, in the opinion of his/her physician, is
at risk from communicable diseases (e.g. measles,
chicken pox) present in the school or has other medically
related problems.

2. Any conflict regarding attendance of the HIV
infected student by the school district will be reviewed on
a case by case basis by the State Advisory Panel appointed
by the State Department of Public Instruction and
consisting of the State Health Officer, State
Epidemiologist, a representative from the Medical
Society of Delaware, a representative from the State
Department of Public Instruction, a school nurse, and a
school superintendent.  The local district will submit to
the panel:  (a) evidence that the student exhibits or
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manifests symptoms which justify exclusion; (b) a
current report from the students personal physician.  If
recommended by the student’s physician, the student will
remain in the school until a determination is made by the
panel.

3. The student shall be readmitted to the school or
program when the student’s physician verifies to the State
Advisory Panel that the condition for which removal
occurred has been corrected or has abated, and the Panel
determines the student can return to school.

4. The school nurse, in cooperation with the building
principal, shall function as:  (a) the liaison with the
student’s physician and the State Advisory Panel;  (b) the
advocate for the HIV infected student in the school (i.e.,
assist in problem resolution, answer questions);  (c) the
coordinator of services provided by other staff.

5. 2. A student entitled to a free public education
pursuant to 14 Del. C. ch. 2 and/or ch. 31, with HIV
infection who is removed for reasons stated in Paragraph
1, shall be provided with an appropriate alternative
education according to already established procedures.

6. 3. Dissemination of the knowledge that a student
has HIV infection is subject to State and Federal privacy
laws and regulations.

7. 4. Routine and standard procedures (i.e. universal
precautions) for handling all body fluids established by
the State Department of Public Instruction and Division
of Public Health and approved by the Delaware State
Board of Education on December 19, 1985 shall be
utilized in every school and program.  These procedures
will be found in the School Nurse Handbook, School Bus
Drivers Handbook, Handbook for School Food Services,
and K-12 Handbook.

8. Educational programs about HIV infection, mode of
transmission, care of body fluids, and good hand washing
techniques shall be offered to all school personnel.  The
Department of Public Instruction shall coordinate
training programs for school nurses and other designated
personnel who will be responsible for school district
programs.

Passed by the State Board of Education on May 17, 1990.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

PHYSICAL EXAMINATIONS

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation on Physical Examinations found on pages
15 and 16 in The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities
must be amended.  This regulation requires that all students
have a physical examination before entering school, lists one
exception and requires school nurses to record all findings
on the school record.  The amendment is necessary in order
to isolate the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse
from the technical assistance information and to use the word
“shall” in the regulatory statements.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on March 16,
1998, in the form attached as Exhibit A.  There were no
comments received concerning the amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend this regulation because of the need
to clarify the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
this regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
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from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Physical Examinations

1. All pupils upon entrance to the Delaware school system
shall have had a physical examination by a licensed medical
physician, nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant.  The
Physical Examination form can be given to the parent or
guardian if requested. [All other new enterers must have
a physical examination form on file in their health
records.]

[2.  All students who participate in sports must have a physical
examination.]

[2. New enterers have 14 school days to comply with
the regulation before being excluded from school.  A
documented appointment with a licensed provider as
stated above will defer exclusion.]

[3. All students shall have a physical examination each
year before participating in interscholastic sports (see
Rule 8A of the Delaware Secondary School Athletic
Association [DSSAA] Annual Official Handbook).]

[3. 4.] Those selected pupils whose health status suggests
further follow-up as a result of observations and/or
conferences by the teacher and school nurse shall have an
additional physical examination or medical consultation.

[4. 5.] Children of Christian Scientist parents may request
exemption from physical exams by having their parents obtain
the proper form from the “Committee on Publication for
Delaware” which is responsible for such matters.  The school
should not furnish these forms.

[5. 6.] The school nurse shall record all findings on the
School Health Record.

[6.  New enterers have ten school days to comply with
the regulation before being excluded from school.  A
documented appointment with a licensed provider as
stated above will defer exclusion.]

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

ORTHOPEDIC SCREENING

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation on Orthopedic Screening found on pages
51 and 52 in The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities
must be amended.  This regulation lists the grades when
students must receive orthopedic screenings both Phase I
and Phase II and requires the school nurse to record the
information in the school health record.  The amendment is
necessary in order to isolate the regulatory responsibilities
from the technical assistance information and to use the word
“shall” in the regulatory statements.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on March 16,
1998, in the form attached as Exhibit A.  There were no
comments received concerning the amendment.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
it is necessary to amend this regulation because of the need
to clarify the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State
Board of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend
this regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e), the amended regulation hereby adopted shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended
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regulation shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April
16, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Orthopedic Screening

[1. All pupils in grades 4 through 9 must be screened
annually.  The school nurse is responsible for follow-
up and general supervision of the program.  Two
phases constitute the screening.  Phase I is performed
by the school nurse and physical education teacher by
October 15; Phase II by physical therapists. Both
phases should be completed by January 31 in order to
permit adequate time for follow-up.  The Department
of Education will coordinate the program through
the office of the Supervisor of School Health Services.

2. The school nurse must record the test findings on
the School Health Record and notify the parents/
guardian that a suspected deviation has been
detected.]

[1. All pupils in grades 5 through 9 shall have an
orthopedic screening by December 15th of each year.
2. The school nurse shall notify the parents/guardian
if a suspected deviation has been detected.
3. The school nurse shall record the findings on the
school health record.]

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

REPEAL OF MINIMUM-MAXIMUM PROGRAM
ASSIGNMENT AND EXPERIMENTATION AND

MODIFICATION OF STUDIES

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

These two regulations from the Handbook for K-12
Education are recommended for repeal because they are
technical assistance statements and should not be made
regulatory.  They are IV.A.5, page D-6, Minimum-Maximum
Program Assignment, and IV.B, page D-6, Experimentation
and Modification of Studies.

Notice of the proposed repeal of these regulations was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on January 12, 1998, in the form attached as Exhibit A.  No
comments were received regarding the proposed repeal of
these regulations.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that
these regulations should be repealed.  It is necessary to
clearly differentiate between what is regulation and what is
technical assistance and Minimum and Maximum Program
Assignment and Experimentation and Modification of Studies
are technical assistance statements and not designed to
specifically regulate behavior.

III.  DECISION TO REPEAL REGULATIONS

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary with the consent
of the State Board of Education concludes that these
regulations should be repealed.  Therefore, pursuant to 14
Del. C., Section 122, the regulations attached hereto as
Exhibit B are hereby repealed.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulations repealed hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be removed from the Handbook for K-12 Education,
section IV.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary with the consent of the State Board of Education
pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session at the
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State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on April 16, 1998.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the
date this order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of April, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of April, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pike
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

REPEAL OF MINIMUM-MAXIMUM PROGRAM
ASSIGNMENT AND EXPERIMENTATION AND

MODIFICATION OF STUDIES

1. Handbook for K-12 Education - Page D-6
5. MINIMUM-MAXIMUM PROGRAM

ASSIGNMENT
a. There is no mandated minimum or maximum

program assignment for any particular student.  It should be
anticipated that through appropriate guidance counseling and
proper scheduling, all students would be assigned a program
schedule to make the most profitable use of their educational
time while in school.

b. The requirements for graduation would indicate
that a student should normally be scheduled for not less than
three full credits per year.  It is understandable that certain
capable and talented students might be scheduled for as many
as 6 full credits plus health and physical education.

2. Handbook for K-12 Education - Page D-6

B. EXPERIMENTATION AND MODIFICATION IN
PROGRAM OF STUDIES

The State Department of Public Instruction strongly
encourages administrative and instructional staff at the local
school district to go beyond the minimum requirements
established in this Handbook and either implement
experimental programs or else modify the organization of
program of studies to provide the best possible teacher-
learning situation for all students.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
IMPLEMENTATION OF |
THE UNIVERSAL SERVICE |  PSC REGULATION
PROVISIONS OF THE |  DOCKET NO. 48
TELECOMMUNICATIONS |
ACT OF 1996 |
(OPENED AUGUST 12, 1997) |

|
IN THE MATTER OF THE |
APPLICATION OF BELL |  PSC DOCKET
ATLANTIC-DELAWARE, INC. |  NO. 97-028
FOR CERTIFICATION AS AN |
ELIGIBLE TELECOMMUNI- |
CATIONS CARRIER |
(FILED DECEMBER 3, 1997) |

ORDER NO.  4763

The Commission, on this 14th day of April, 1998,
determines and orders:

1. Under the federal Universal Service Support (“USF”)
programs, as adopted in 1997, a telecommunications carrier
seeking designation as an “eligible telecommunications
carrier” (47 U.S.C. § 214(e)) must provide “toll limitation”
services for qualifying low-income consumers. 47 C. F. R.
§§ 54.101 (a) (9), 54.210 (c), (d).  Once designated, an
eligible telecommunications carrier (“ETC”) must provide
Lifeline service to qualifying low-income subscribers. 47
C.F.R. § 54.405. As part of such Lifeline service, the ETC
must provide to requesting eligible subscribers, without
charge, “toll limitation.” 47 C.F.R. § 54.401(a)(3). In its
original May, 1997 USF Order, the Federal Communications
Commission (“FCC”) defined “toll limitation” to include both
%%toll blocking” (which allows a subscriber to block
outgoing toll calls) and “toll-control” (which allows a
subscriber to limit in advance toll usage per billing  cycle)
The ETC was to allow the subscriber a choice between “toll
blocking” and “toll control.”

2. In PSC Order No. 4679 (Dec. 16, 1997), this
Commission set forth the criteria it would use, on a
provisional basis, for designating a telecommunications
carrier as an ETC.  The same day, in PSC Order No. 4684
(Dec. 16, 1997) , the Commission determined that this State
would participate in the federal Lifeline program to allow
ETCs to receive federal support in the amount of $5.25, plus
the cost of toll limitation.  In PSC Order No. 4680 (Dec. 17,
1997), the Commission designated Bell AtlanticDelaware,
Inc. (“BA-Del”), as an ETC to serve the entire State.  In that
Order, the Commission waived the requirement that BA-Del
provide the “toll control” service component of toll
limitation until the FCC decided a then-pending motion for

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/pubservc/delpsc.htm


1815

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 11, FRIDAY, MAY 1, 1998

FINAL REGULATIONS
reconsideration.

4. On December 30, 1997, the FCC, in its Fourth Order
on Reconsideration of its USF Order, redefined “toll
limitation” to be either “toll blocking” or “toll control” and
obligated ETCs to provide only one, and not necessarily both,
of these services, unless the carrier is technically capable of
providing both services.  In the latter case, the carrier must
provide the consumer the choice between “toll blocking” and
“toll control.,, See In the Matter of Federal-State Joint Board
on Universal service, CCB Docket No. 96-45, Fourth Order
on Reconsideration at 112-115, FCC 97-420 (rel.  Dec. 30,
1997).

5.  BA-Del has indicated that, at the present time, it
cannot provide “toll control” services.  In light of the FCC’s
Fourth Reconsideration Order, the Commission now amends
any requirements that it may have imposed in PSC Orders
Nos. 4679, 4680, and 4684 relating to “toll limitation” to
conform to the new federal definition.  For purposes of those
orders, “toll limitation” shall mean either toll blocking or
toll control for ETCs that are incapable of providing both
services.  For ETCs that are capable of providing both
services, “toll limitation” shall denote both toll blocking and
toll control.

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:

1. That, for purposes of PSC Orders Nos. 4679 (Dec.
16, 1997), 4684 (Dec. 16, 1997), and 4680 (Dec. 17, 1997),
as well as for any further Orders related to eligible,
telecommunications carriers under 47 U.S.C. § 214(e) or
the federal Lifeline program, the term “toll limitation” shall,
consistent with 47 C.F.R. § 54.400(d), denote either toll
blocking or toll control for these eligible telecommunications
carriers that are incapable of providing both services.  For
eligible telecommunications carriers that are capable of
providing both services, “toll limitation” shall denote both
toll blocking and toll control.

2. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further Orders in this proceeding as
may be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

ATTEST:
Acting Secretary

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
IMPLEMENTATION OF THE |  PSC REGULATION
UNIVERSAL SERVICE |  DOCKET NO. 48
PROVISIONS OF THE |
TELECOMMUNICATIONS ACT |
OF 1996 |
(OPENED AUGUST 12, 1997) |

ORDER NO. 4772

On this 14th day of April, 1998, the Commission
determines and orders the following:

1. In the Telecommunications Act of 1996 (“the
Act”), 1 Congress directed the Federal Communications
Commission (“FCC”) and the state utility commissions to
take various steps to establish explicit support mechanisms
to ensure the delivery of affordable telecommunications
service to all Americans. 47 U.S.C. § 254.  Specifically,
Congress directed the FCC, in conjunction with the states,
to devise methods to ensure that “[c]onsumers in all regions
of the Nation, including low-income consumers and those in
rural, insular, and high cost areas..... have access to
telecommunications and information services..... at rates that
are reasonably comparable to rates charged for similar
services in urban areas.” 47 U.S.C. § 254(b)(3).  To provide
funding for such services, Congress directed the creation of
federal universal service mechanisms. 47 U.S.C. §
254(b)(5),(d).  At the same time, Congress also recognized
the ability of the States to create complementary state
universal service programs funded by state support
mechanisms. 47 U.S.C. § 254(f).

2. In May, 1997, the FCC released its Universal
Service Order (“USF Order”) implementing the various
universal service directives under section 254.  In the Matter
of Federal-State Joint Board on Universal Service, CC Dckt.
No. 96-45, Report & Order, FCC 97-157 (rel.  May 8, 1997).
In that USF Order, the FCC determined that, beginning in
1999, non-rural carriers should receive federal universal
service support based on the forward-looking cost of
providing designated supported services.  The amount of
federal support would be a portion (25 percent )2 of the
difference after subtracting national revenue per line
benchmarks3 from the forward looking economic cost of
providing designated supported services.  USF Order at
§§199-201, 223-26, 269.  The FCC is currently in the process
of attempting to adopt or construct a specific cost model
platform to be used to determine the forward-looking cost
of supported services on a nationwide basis.  However, in the
USF Order, the FCC concluded that a state could submit its
own forward looking economic cost study which, if approved,
would be used as the basis for calculating federal universal
service support for local exchange carriers in that state.  If
approved, the state specific cost study would govern both
federal universal high cost support and any complementary
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state support mechanism.  USF Order at $$ 206, 246, 248-
54.  If a state chooses not to submit a cost study or if the
state-specific cost study is not approved, the FCC will
determine federal support levels for carriers in that state by
use of the FCC’s nationwide methodology.

3. To meet a deadline imposed by the FCC, the
Commission directed the Executive Director to notify the
FCC that this Commission had tentatively elected to submit
a state-specific cost study, but reserving the ability to
withdraw such election, if, upon later consideration, the
Commission determined a statespecific study to be neither
necessary nor appropriate.  At the same time the Commission
directed Staff to conduct an investigation into whether the
Commission should submit a state-specific cost study to the
FCC and, if so, what should be the content of the underlying
cost methodology or model.  PSC Order No. 4571 (Aug. 12,
1997).

4. Staff conducted such an investigation holding a
workshop and soliciting comments from interested carriers
and the Division of the Public Advocate.  In addition, Staff
has reviewed estimates of the amount of possible federal
high cost support to be paid to carriers in this State under
several of the various methodologies now being considered
by the FCC.

5. Staff has reported that none of the entities
responding to its investigation urge the Commission to
develop and submit a state-specific cost study.  Moreover,
based on its investigation, Staff recommends that the
Commission not pursue submission of a state-specific cost
study.  As Staff reports, in most areas in Delaware, any cost
study, whether developed here or at the FCC, will probably
not result in calculated costs for supported services
significantly in excess of the national revenue benchmarks
currently under consideration.  Accordingly, as Staff sees it,
carriers in Delaware will not receive significant dollar
amounts in federal high cost support under any current
forward looking cost methodology.4  Staff notes that, at the
same time, the development of a state-specific cost study
via a process open to all interested carriers would likely
become a contentious, highly litigated proceeding. Staff thus
concludes and recommends, that after weighing the unlikely
benefits, if any, of a state-specific cost study against the
potential drain on Commission time and resources to
formulate such a study, the most appropriate course would
be to not develop a state-specific cost study.  Without such a
study, federal universal support would be determined under
the methodology adopted by the FCC.

6. The Commission concurs in the recommendation
of Staff for the reasons expressed in Staff’s memoranda
submitted October 17, 1997 and April 13, 1998.  Delaware
is a “low-cost” state for providing the designated supported
local services.  As such, it appears that this State will be a
“net payor” in the federal universal service game - the
universal service contributions derived from Delaware will

likely exceed the federal universal support amounts returned.
In light of the small amount of federal support which can be
expected under the USF Order’s federal regime and the heavy
cost to the Commission of conducting a proceeding to
determine forward-looking costs, the balance tips in favor
of simply allowing the relatively small amount of federal
high cost support for this State to be calculated by use of the
default federal methodology.

7. The Commission is aware that the FCC, in its USF
Order, encouraged the States to coordinate the costing
methodologies they might use for setting permanent prices
for unbundled network elements with those used to calculate
universal service support.  This coordination would, in the
FCC’s view, reduce duplication and diminish inefficient
arbitrage opportunities.  USF Order at ¶¶ 247,. 251.  This
State has previously completed a proceeding setting prices
for unbundled network elements.  See PSC Orders Nos. 4542
(July 8, 1997) and 4577 (Aug. 19, 1997) (“the SGAT Orders”)
It is possible that the costing methodologies and inputs
underlying those SGAT Orders may well turn out to be
different than those finally adopted by the FCC as the basis
for calculating federal universal service support.  However,
the Commission does not believe that any such divergence
in cost calculations compels the Commission to develop a
statespecific cost study to be submitted to the FCC.  First, it
is not apparent that the costing results derived from any
differing methodologies or inputs will be so great so as to
encourage arbitrage.  Second, in this small state, even if cost
differences do arise, arbitrage opportunities will be limited
to that relatively small number of lines which will receive
federal support.

8. The Commission emphasizes that its decision here
does not mean that carriers in Delaware will not be eligible
to receive federal universal support.  It only means that the
amount of such support shall be determined under a federally
developed costing methodology, not one constructed by this
Commission.  Moreover, the Commission emphasizes that
if the FCC alters the mechanisms for calculating universal
service support, by moving to state grants or changing the
manner of calculation, the Commission will be ready to re-
examine its position.  In particular, if the anticipated revenue
benchmarks change, or the anticipated level of federal support
flowing to this State increases, then the Commission will
again evaluate the appropriate action.

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:

1. That the Executive Director shall, on or before April
24, 1998, notify the Federal Communications Commission
that this Commission will not file a state-specific cost study
for the calculation of federal high cost support for Delaware.
Such notification shall indicate that the Commission reserves
the right to modify its position should changes ensue in the
manner of calculating or distributing federal high cost
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universal support.

2. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may
be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

ATTEST:
Acting  Secretary

1  Pub.L. No. 104-104, 110 Stat. 56 to be codified at
various parts of 47 U.S.C.

2 The FCC has recently indicated it will reconsider this
percentage and possibly the entire manner of providing
federal high cost support.  See: In the Matter of Federal-
State Joint Board on Universal Service, Report to Congress,
FCC 98-67 (rel.  April 10, 1998).

3 The FCC tentatively set the benchmarks in the amounts
of $31 for  residential services and $51 for supported single-
line business services.

4 Staff reviewed the results run on two models under
construction by the FCC: HA1 ver. 5.Oa and BCPM ver. 3.1.
Those models were run with various inputs, including the
model’s sponsor’s inputs, a series of inputs specified by the
FCC for the BCPM. and the inputs adopted by this
Commission in its unbundled elements pricing proceeding
(“the SGAT proceeding”).

The approximate amount of anticipated federal dollars
for high cost support using the Hatfield model and various
inputs ranged from $500,000 to $700,000. The approximate
amount of anticipated federal dollars utilizing the BCPM
model varied from $4.35 million (using the sponsor’s inputs)
to $1.5 to $1.8 million using the SGAT and FCC suggested
inputs.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION  OF REVENUE

Statutory Authority:  30 Delaware Code, Section
563 (30 Del.C. § 563)

TECHNICAL INFORMATION MEMORANDUM  98-1

SUBJECT:  FINAL “CHECK THE BOX” REGULATIONS

Purpose of Regulation -- The purpose of this regulation
is to explain the relationship between the classification of
organizations for federal and state tax purposes and the
procedures for electing entity classification.

Authority to make regulations; general information --

(i ) The Director of Revenue is charged with the
administration and enforcement of all state tax laws unless
such duties are expressly conferred upon another agency.
Title 30 Delaware Code §563

(ii ) Published regulations are made and promulgated
pursuant to authority vested in the Director.  30 Del. C. §563

(iii ) As used in published regulations, references to a
section (§) number refer to a section of the Delaware Code.
References to a section (§) number preceded by a “1”, as in
§[1.1900-1 1.502.1], refer to sections of regulations
published by the Division of Revenue of this State.

REGULATION:

§ [1.1900-1 1.502.1] In general; Classification of
organizations for federal and state tax purposes; election of
entity classification.

(a) Meaning of terms -- Any term used in these regulations
shall have the same meaning as when used in a comparable
context in the laws and income tax regulations of the United
States referring to federal income taxes, unless a different
meaning is clearly required. Any reference to the laws of the
United States or to the Internal Revenue Code shall mean the
Internal Revenue Code of 1986 [26 U.S.C. § 1 et seq.] as
amended and regulations and amendments thereto and other
laws of the United States relating to federal income taxes, as
the same may be or become effective, for the taxable year.

(b)  Classification of entities -- The classification of entities
for Delaware tax purposes shall be as prescribed for federal
tax purposes.  Unless inconsistent with Delaware law, the
provisions of Sections 301.7701-1; 301.7701-2; and
301.7701-3 of the Regulations to the Internal Revenue Code
of 1986 are hereby adopted for Delaware purposes.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/revenue/revenue.htm
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[(c)  Election of corporation classification by certain
business entities -- A business entity that is not classified
as a corporation for federal tax purposes but which elects
to be classified as a corporation pursuant to §301.7701-
3 of the Regulations to the Internal Revenue Code of 1986
shall be classified as a corporation for Delaware tax
purposes.]

([d c])  Notice of election to be classified as a corporation -
[A  B b]usiness entiti[es y]electing to be classified as a
corporation for federal tax purposes shall attach a copy of
Internal Revenue Service Form 8832, “Entity Classification
Election”  to their Delaware Corporate Income Tax Return,
Form 1100 [for its first taxable year ending after the date
of this Regulation].

([e d])  Tax return requirements --
(1)  In general -- Members or partners of a business entity

which has not elected to be classified as a corporation and
which does business in this State shall [file income tax
returns for all such tax years be subject to the filing
requirements of Title 30 of the Delaware Code for all
such years in which the business entity does business in
this state].

(2)  Special rules for non-electing, single member
limited liability companies doing business in Delaware and
their [corporate]  members --  Notwithstanding other
provisions of these regulations or regulations of the Internal
Revenue Code to the contrary,

(A) [a limited liability company (LLC) that has
only a single, individual member and (i) does not elect
to be classified as a corporation pursuant to these rules,
and (ii) derives any income from sources in this State
(determined in accordance with Title 30 Delaware Code
§1124 as in the case of a nonresident individual), or (iii)
has a member residing in this State, shall file
partnership income tax information and  business license
and gross receipts tax returns for all such  tax years An
individual who is the single member of a non-electing
limited liability company (LLC) conducting business in
this State shall be subject to the filing requirements of
Title 30 of the Delaware Code for all years in which the
LLC conducts business within this State].

(B) A corporation which is a single member of a
non-electing limited liability company (LLC) [and which
is not exempt under Title 30 Delaware Code §1902(b),
shall file corporation income tax and business license
and gross receipts tax returns for all such tax years
conducting business in this state shall file corporation
income tax and business license and gross receipts tax
returns for all such years in which the LLC does business
in this state].

(3) The attached flow charts illustrate these principles.

[(f) Effective date of election --  An election made under
this regulation shall be effective on the effective date
determined under §301.7701-3(c)(1)(iii) of the
Regulations to the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.]

([g e]) Effective date of this regulation -- This regulation
is  effective as of January 1, 1997.

([h f]) Contact Person -- For more information about these
regulations or the classification of entities, contact John J.
Maciejeski, Jr., Assistant Director, Office of Business Taxes,
State of Delaware Division of Revenue, 820 N. French Street,
Wilmington, Delaware 19801 or phone (302) 577-8450.

SPECIAL NOTE:  The 1997 Delaware Corporate Income
Tax Returns and instructions were prepared and mailed
erroneously identifying the “Check the Box” regulations
as Technical Information Memorandum 97-9.  The
correct number is Technical Information Memorandum
98-1.

“Check the Box” Diagram
Non-Electing

Single Member LLC

Non-Electing LLC conducts
      LLC an active trade/

business in
Delaware

     Corporate Single Member Individual Single Member

    Entity    Entity
Disregarded Disregrded

LLC is considered LLC is considered
a Division of Corporation. a Sole Proprietor
Nexus created for the  - Schedule C
corporate single
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“Check the Box” Diagram
Non-Electing

Multiple Member LLC

Non-Electing
LLC

Taxed as a
Partnership

Partnership attributes flow
through to Corporate and

Individual partners

Nexus created for Corporate
and Individual Partners

“Check the Box” Diagram
Electing Single/Multiple

Member LLC

LLC
Entity Elects

Taxed as a Taxed as a
Corporation Partnership

Corporate attributes Partnership attributes
do not flow through flow through to

Corporate and Individual

Nexus not created Nexus created for
for member Corporate and

Individual Partners

LLC conduct an
active trade/
business in
Delaware

LLC conduct an
active trade/
business in
Delaware
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN

COMMISSION

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on
Wednesday, May 27, 1998, in  Avondale, PA.  For information
contact Susan M. Weisman at (609) 883-9500 ext 203.

DELAWARE STATE HOUSING
AUTHORITY

Comprehensive Plan Notice

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) is providing modernization funding on
a formula basis to Public Housing Agencies (PHAs) to enable
them to improve the physical condition and to upgrade the
management and operations of existing public housing
developments to assure their continued availability for low-
income families.  Delaware State Housing Authority (DSHA),
a public body corporate and politic of the State of Delaware
(Subsection 4053(4), Title 31, Delaware Code), having its
principal office at 18 The Green, Dover, Delaware 19901, is
the authorized administrator of HUD’s Comprehensive Grant
Program (CGP) for the State of Delaware and is a PHA with
more than 250 PHA-owned units.  The 1998 CGP from HUD
is expected to be approximately $525,000.

For CGP funding, DSHA is required to develop a
Comprehensive Plan through deliberation with the residents,
local government, and the public.  The contents of the
Comprehensive Plan include the Executive Summary,
Physical and Management Needs Assessments, a Five-Year
Action Plan, Local Government Statements, PHA Resolution
and the Annual Statement.  The Comprehensive Plan must be
submitted to the HUD Philadelphia field office by July 15,
1998.

As required by the State’s Registrar of Regulations and
HUD, a public hearing must be held to ensure an opportunity
for residents, local government officials and other interested
parties to express their priorities  and concerns regarding CGP
expenditures.  The hearing will be held in  the Community
Building of the Liberty Court Apartment complex at 6:00 p.m.,
EDT, on Thursday, May 21, 1998.  Liberty Court is located
at 1289 West Walker Road, Dover, Delaware.  Public
comments concerning issues of the CGP submittal by DSHA
will be accepted in writing to DSHA, 18 The Green, Dover,
Delaware 19901, Attention: Steve Gherke until May 31, 1998.
DSHA’s phone number is 302-739-4263 and fax number is

739-3178.

Delaware State Housing Authority Comprehensive Plan
Executive Summary 1998

Issues Related to PHMAP (Public Housing Management
Assessment Program)

Delaware State Housing Authority (DSHA) is a high
performing PHA.  No significant PHMAP issues need to be
addressed.  In order to retain its high-performer status, DSHA
plans to make a significant investment in staff training.  This
includes training designed to implement HUD’s requirements
for project-based budgeting, and other training programs
designed to improve staff management skills.  DSHA plans
to continue its program of staff training with CGP funds.

Partnership Process

A partnership process has been established with our
residents, governmental agencies, and the community to
develop and implement the goals, strategies, and priorities
identified in the Comprehensive Plan.

Resident Participation Process

Resident meetings were held at each of the sites during
April 1998, at which time the residents were given the
opportunity to ask questions and to identify their
modernization needs.  The meetings were lightly attended,
and the issues raised have already been addressed in this year’s
CGP submittal.

Records of attendance and the comments received are
kept as part of DSHA’s CGP files.

Public Hearing

A public hearing will be held at 6:00 p.m. on May 21,
1998 in Dover.  The meeting will be advertised for two weeks
in all editions of the Delaware State News and the News
Journal, daily newspapers of general circulation throughout
the State.

Briefing of Community Leaders

During March 1998, DSHA notified community leaders
by mail concerning its intention to submit an application to
HUD for CGP funds and requested each of them to sign Form
HUD-52835.  Each official had previously been invited to
attend a briefing session concerning the program.
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GOVERNOR’S APPOINTMENTS

BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE APPOINTEE

TERM OF
OFFICE

Alliance for Adolescent Pregnancy Rev. B. Leslie James Pleasure of
Prevention Advisory Board the Govenor

Committee on Employment of People Mr. Griff Campbell 04/01/01
with Disabilities Ms. Gina Edwards 04/01/01

Ms. Maureen Gleckner 04/01/01
Mr. James Kristof 05/31/98
Ms. Laura McCann 04/01/01
Mr. Spiros Mantzavinos 04/01/01
Ms. Ann Stewart 04/01/01

Council on Alcoholism, Drug Abuse Ms. Janet E. Leitch 06/30/98
and Mental Health

Council on Forestry Ms. Grace Lowe 03/06/01

Council on Hispanic Affairs Ms. Maria Matos 01/09/01
Ms. Sharon Saez 03/06/01

Council on Long Term Care Facillities Mr. William I. Taylor, Sr. 04/01/01

Deferred Compensation Council Mr. Oliver J.Gumbs 03/06/01

Delaware Economic & Financial Hon. Deborah H. Capano  Pleasure of
Advisory Council the Governor

Delaware Gaming Control Board Ms. Kathy D. Harron 03/06/03

Delaware Health Resources Board Mr. Richard D. Pack 03/12/01

Delaware Workforce Development Dr. Orlando George   Pleasure of
Council the Governor

Mr. Frederick Janeka   Pleasure of
the Governor

Mr. Ralph Kuebler   Pleasure of
the Governor

Mr. Michael Sheehy   Pleasure of
the Governor
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BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE APPOINTEE

TERM OF
OFFICE

Delmarva Advisory Council Mr. Frank B. Calio   Pleasure of
the Governor

Mr. George J. Collins   Pleasure of
the Governor

Ms. Thelma D. Monroe   Pleasure of
the Governor

Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee Ms. Elizabeth Garey 03/12/01

Department’s Corridor Capacity Jeffrey W. Bullock, Chief of Staff
Preservation Program The Honorable Anne P. Canby

The Honorable Robert W. Coy, Jr.
The Honorable John F. Tarburton

Department’s Corridor Capacity The Honorable Christophe A.G. Tulou
Preservation Program

Diamond State Port Corporation Mr. Michael Ciabattoni 03/19/00
Advisory Board Mr. Michael E. Harkins 03/19/00

Foster Care Review Board Mr. Joseph M.Asher 03/06/00
Ms. Gail B. Begatto 04/08/00
Ms. Alexis V. Ciconte 03/06/00
Ms. Elaine I. Keating 03/06/00
Ms. Michele C. Gott 03/06/00
Ms. Margaret T. Gralewski 03/06/00
Ms. Vicky K. Kleinman 03/06/00
Ms. Marie Wallop 03/06/00

Justice of the Peace for Sussex County The Honorable William J. Hopkins, Jr. 03/25/04
The Honorable John W. O’Bier 03/25/04

Newark Housing Authority Mr. David Hill 04/10/04
Ms. Pauline Lathem 04/01/04

Non-Emergency Number Review Mr. S. Bernard Ableman   Pleasure of
Committee the Governor

Sentencing Accountability Commission Mr. Thomas P. McGonigle 03/06/02
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BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE APPOINTEE

TERM OF
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State Board of Examiners of Optometry Mr. Mark Metzelaar 03/06/01

State Board of Plumbing Examiners Mr. Lawrence R. Carson 03/12/01
Mr. Bruce F. Collins 03/12/01
Mr. Robert R. Frederick, Jr. 03/25/01
Ms. Willa Gains 03/25/00
Ms. Lynn S. Mangene 03/12/99
Mr. Richard B. Millar, Jr. 03/12/99
Mr. Wayne R. Reed 03/12/00
Mr. Carey G. Saddler, III 03/12/00
Mr. Dean W. Sherman 03/12/99

State Examining Board of Physical Ms. Danna L. Levy 03/06/01
Therapists Worker’s

Worker’s Compensation Advisory Mr. Frederick C. Janeka 04/01/01
Council
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ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINIONS
STATE OF DELAWARE

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION

NO. 98-IB01

January 21, 1998

Ms. Shirley M. Tarrant
37 Old Oak Road
Newark, DE 19711

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against City of
Newark

Dear Ms. Tarrant:

This letter is the Attorney General’s written determination
in response to your complaint alleging that the City of Newark
(the “City”) violated the Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.
C. Sections 10001-10005 (“FOIA”).

Your letter of complaint dated December 12, 1997 was
received by this Office on December 15, 1997.  By letter dated
December 16, 1997, we asked the City to respond to your
allegations within ten days.  By letter dated December 24,
1997, we received the City’s response.

Initially, this Office lacks jurisdiction over, and expresses
no opinion regarding, the merits of your alleged ethical
violations by a member of the City Council.  Our focus is
strictly on your claim that, in connection with a hearing on
those alleged ethical violations, the City’s Board of Ethics
violated FOIA. In your letter of complaint you identify two
FOIA violations: first. the City did not timely provide you
with a transcript of an executive session held on June 19, 1997;
and second, the City’s Board of Ethics did not go into
executive session on June 19, 1997 for a purpose authorized
by statute.  The City denies that it violated FOIA in either
regard.

FOIA does not require a public body to tape record its
meetings or executive sessions, or have a stenographer present
to transcribe the proceedings.  The statute only requires that
“[e]ach public body shall maintain minutes of all meetings,
including executive sessions, conducted pursuant to this
section, and shall make such minutes available for public
inspection and copying as a public record.” 29 Del.  C. Section
10004(f).  This Office has previously determined that the duty
to maintain written minutes of public meetings does not require
a public body to tape record the meeting.  See Att’y Gen.  Op.
94-IO23 (June 21, 1994).

Since FOIA does not require a public body to tape record
its meetings.  FOIA cannot require that public body to prepare
a verbatim transcript of any meeting.  In this case, the City
elected to prepare a verbatim transcript of its June 19, 1997
meeting, including the executive session.  Public bodies are

required by law to prepare minutes of their meetings in a timely
fashion, consistent with the purposes of FOIA.  The City
prepared a verbatim transcript in lieu of minutes at your
request, which required a longer time.  Any reasonable delay
encountered thereby would not give rise to a FOIA violation.

The second issue is whether the City’s Board of Ethics
went into executive session for a purpose authorized by statute.
Section 10004(b)(4) of FOIA permits a public body to go
into executive session for: “Strategy sessions, including those
involving legal advice or opinion from an attorney-at-law,
with respect to collective bargaining or pending or potential
litigation, but only where an open meeting would have an
adverse effect on the bargaining or litigation position of the
public body; . . . .”

The minutes of the meeting of the Board of Ethics on
June 19, 1997 show that at 5:32 p.m. the Board voted
unanimously to go “Into executive session with the assistance
of legal counsel.” The Board came out of executive session at
6:47 p.m., approximately one hour and fifteen minutes later.

The City’s response to the alleged impropriety of the
executive session is as follows:

The motion to move into such a session was apparently
driven by the fact that the Board of Ethics was
confronted by various legal arguments during the
hearing and was being called upon to interpret and
rule upon heretofore unconstrued Ethics Code
provisions.  The request to meet with legal counsel
was entirely in order.  Since Ms. Tarrant has provided
you with a verbatim transcript of the executive session
discussion, you are of course free to review it and to
assess the interaction between the Board and City staff.

We have reviewed the seventeen-page transcript of the
executive session on June 19, 1997.  Although there is some
discussion of legal issues between members of the Board and
the City Solicitor, most of the discussion is about the merits
of the ethics charges.  There is no discussion with counsel of
pending or potential litigation.  The only litigation discussed
was litigation that occurred in 1981 involving one of the City
Council members now charged with ethical violations.

Rather than a legal strategy session with counsel, the
executive session was clearly to allow the Board to deliberate
the merits of the ethical charges considered in the public
hearing.  Indeed, at one point the City Solicitor remarked: “If
you’re not ready, if you’re not comfortable taking, a vote on
each and every one of these questions, then I think we ought
to adjourn and continue our deliberations another day.”
(Emphasis added.) The Board continued deliberating, and by
the end of the executive session the Board members had
reached a consensus on how they would vote on each of the
charges after the Board came out of executive session. In
Chemical Industry Council of Delaware, Inc. v. State Coastal

http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm
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Zone Industrial Control Board, Del.  Ch., C.A. No. 1216-K,
1994 WL 274295 (May 19, 1994) (Jacobs, V.C.), the Chancery
Court observed that the “legal advice” exception to the open
meeting law must be given “[a] narrow. limited interpretation”
consistent “with the legislative history of the act, which the
General Assembly had amended in 1985 to narrow its scope
to prevent potential abuse.” 1994 WL 274295, at p. 11.  In
CIC, the State Coastal Zone Industrial Control Board met in
private with counsel to discuss proposed regulations.  Even if
the Board’s regulations were likely to be the subject of
litigation, the wholesale use of executive sessions ... to debate,
discuss, and share views concerning the evolving revisions
of the Regulations . . . went far beyond strategizing with its
counsel about potential litigation” Id.

Public bodies are not permitted to evade the requirements
of the open meeting law by nominally invoking one of the
statutory exceptions for executive session.  See Att’y Gen.
Op.,  9611332 (Oct. 10, 1996) (“consensus votes in executive
session are prohibited”) (citing Levy v. Board of Education
of Cape Henlopen School District, Del.  Ch., C.A. No. 1447
(Oct. 1, 1990) (Chandler, V.C.)). The whole executive session
on June 19, 1997 was to deliberate the merits, which in turn
led to a consensus vote.

The discussion at the executive session extended well
beyond legal advice regarding pending or potential litigation.
A legitimate argument may be made that the Board of Ethics
should be entitled to deliberate in private because of the
sensitive nature of the subjects before it.  If the Board,
however, believes that the requirements of the open meeting
law “unreasonably infringe[s] upon their deliberative
processes, such grievances must be directed to the General
Assembly which has made the policy decision to enact the
sunshine law in its present form.” Levy, 1990 WL 154147, at
p. 6. Indeed, the General Assembly has excepted, by statute,
certain public bodies from the requirement of the open meeting
law to deliberate in public.  See, e.g., 29 Del.  C. Section
10004(h); House Bill 205 (effective July 1997) (Industrial
Accident Board, Human Relations Commission, Tax Appeals
Board).

That leaves us with the issue of remedy. You have asked
our Office to invalidate the decision made by the Board of
Ethics in violation of FOIA.  The City responds that holding
the hearing again would not change the result.  “The Board of
Ethics has rejected Ms. Tarrant’s claims of ethical violations
by Councilman Godwin.  That rejection has been accepted
by the City Council.  The Council has further elected not to
rescind that acceptance based on any alleged impropriety by
its staff.”

We do not believe, however, that the City committed a
mere “technical” violation of FOIA for which no remedy
might be necessary.  We find that the Board’s closed
deliberations affected “substantial public rights” by depriving
“members of the public with an intense interest in the subject

of the Board’s action” an opportunity to view a critical step
in the process of adjudicating ethics charges against a City
councilman.  Ianni v. Department of Elections of New Castle
County, Del.  Ch., 1986 WL 9610 (Aug. 29, 1986) (Allen,
C.).

Even though the City Council accepted the Board of
Ethics’ recommendation to dismiss the ethical charges, that
acceptance does not cure the FOIA violation. In Leyy, Vice
Chancellor Chandler rejected the school district’s argument
that a later public vote validated any action taken at a meeting
in violation of FOIA.  The court, however, declined to enjoin
the implementation of the student reassignment plan, which
had already been fully implemented, because of the toll on
the students involved.

In this case, no similar hardship would be involved if the
Board of Ethics were to hold a new hearing and this time
deliberate in public as required by law.  We direct the Board
to do so within sixty days of the date of this letter, and to
report back to us in writing to confirm that this remedial action
has been taken.

Conclusion

Based on your complaint, the City’s response, and the
documents provided to us, we determine that the City did not
violate the public records provisions of FOIA.  Further, we
determine that the City’s Board of Ethics went into executive
session on June 19, 1997 for a purpose not authorized by
statute.  To remedy that FOIA violation, we direct the City to
notice another hearing on the ethics charges filed against City
Councilman Godwin which shall be open to the public.
Further, if the Board of Ethics votes to go into executive
session at any time during that hearing, it must be for a purpose
authorized by FOIA, and any discussion during executive
session shall be limited to that authorized purpose.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

Approved:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor
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ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINIONS
STATE OF DELAWARE

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION

NO. 98-IB02

January 30, 1998

Ms. Patricia McCune
P.O. Box 102
1 1 82 Levels Road
Middletown, DE 19709

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against Town
of Middletown

Dear Ms. McCune:

This letter is our written determination in response to your
complaint alleging that the Town of Middletown (the “Town”)
violated the Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. Sections
10001- 10005 (“FOIA”).

Your letter of complaint dated October 14, 1997 was
received by this Office on October 27, 1997.  By letter dated
October 30, 1997, we asked the Town to respond within ten
days to your allegations that the City had violated the open
meeting requirements of FOIA.  By letter dated November
10, 1997, the Town responded, denying any violations of
F0IA.

By letter dated November 18, 1997, we asked the Town
to provide us with copies of notices and agenda for various
meetings, which were sent to us under cover of letter dated
November 2 1, 1997.

In your letter, you allege that the Town violated FOIA
by failing to give notice to the public of meetings to discuss
the development and eventual adoption of the Town’s
Comprehensive Plan.  You also allege that the Town did not
hold a public meeting to review comments on the Draft
Comprehensive Plan from the Cabinet Committee on State
Planning Issues and the Office of State Planning Coordination.

As for your second allegation, the Town responds that it
“merely submitted plans, as required by law to these State
agencies.  What happened, as far as they are concerned, is
unknown to the Town, and certainly there was no Town
involvement either official or unofficial with regard to the
proceedings before the State committees after submission of
the proposed plan.”

The submission of local land use plans to state agencies
is required by the Land Use Planning Act (“LUPA”), 29 Del.
C. Chapter 92.  To the extent you are complaining about
whether the Town complied with LUPA, that is outside the
jurisdiction of this Office and will not be addressed further.
We will focus, instead, on your allegations that the Town failed
to give the required notice to the public when it held meetings

during 1997 to discuss and finally adopt its Comprehensive
Plan for land use.

Summary of the Law

Section 10004 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code provides
that “[e]very meeting of all public bodies shall be open to the
public” except as authorized by statute for executive session.
A “public body” is defined to include any “board, commission,
department, agency, committee, ad hoc committee, special
committee, temporary committee, advisory board and
committee, [or] subcommittee” appointed by any body which
is “impliedly or specifically charged” by another public body
“to advise or to make reports, investigations or
recommendations.” 29 Del.C. Section 10002(a).

Section 10004(e)(2) provides: “All public bodies shall
give public notice of their regular meetings and of their intent
to hold an executive session closed to the public, at least 7
days in advance thereof.  The notice shall include the agenda,
if such has been determined at the time, and the dates, times
and places of such meetings; Section 10004(e)(4) requires
that notice “shall include, but not be limited to, conspicuous
posting of said notice at the principal place of the public body
holding the meeting...”

“Agenda” is defined to “include but is not limited to a
general statement of the major issues expected to be discussed
at a public meeting, as well as a statement of intent to hold an
executive session and the specific ground or grounds therefor
29 Del.  C. Section 10002(f).

Discussion and Findings

The Town’s Draft Comprehensive Plan was initially
prepared by the Institute for Public Administration of the
College of Human Resources, Education and Public Policy
of the University of Delaware.  On January 9 and March 13,
1997, members of the Institute staff, the Town Planning
Commission, the Mayor, and members of the Town Council
held workshops to provide direction for the development of
the plan.  According to the Town, “[t]hese were not advertised
meetings and were merely meetings to discuss generally the
proposed form of the comprehensive plan, as well as the status
of the study.  Additionally, a quorum of the Council members
were not in attendance at the meeting.”

These two meetings “were followed by an advertised
public workshop which was held on April 23, 1997, the
purpose of which was to secure citizen input to the proposed
plan.” According to the Town, “[t]his meeting was actually
called by personnel of Wilmapco [Wilmington Area Planning
Council], and was not in any way called by Council of the
Town of Middletown, nor any of its functioning boards.” The
Town claims that notice of this meeting was published in The
News Journal.  The copy of the notice provided to us

http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm
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advertised that there would be a “Mobility Friendly Design
Standards Workshop” from 4:00-8:00 p.m. on Wednesday,
April 23,1997 at the Middletown Public Works Building.

The Town states that there was another “advertised public
meeting on May 21, 1997 which was held in the Public Works
Building of the Town of Middletown ... to secure citizen
input.” Again, the only notice of this meeting was published
in The News Journal, and it advertised a “Mobility Friendly
Design Standards Public Workshop.”

At a meeting on August 4,1997, the Town Council
reviewed the status of the Comprehensive Plan and invited
people from the University of Delaware to answer questions
about the plan.  Notice of this meeting was published in the
Middletown Transcript on July 31, 1997, as well as posted in
the Town Hall (but on what date is not certain).  The
Comprehensive Plan was included as an item on the agenda
for that meeting.

The Town Council again considered the Comprehensive
Plan at its meeting on September 8, 1997.  The Town claims
that notice was given to the public in the newspaper as well
as by posting in the Town Hall, but it is not clear when this
was done since the Town did not provide us with copies of
the notices which we requested.  The Town states that “[a]ction
on the plan was deferred until the Council meeting in October
of 1997.”

At a meeting on October 6, 1997, the Town Council voted
to adopt the Comprehensive Plan.  Notice of that meeting
was published in the Middletown Transcript on October 2,
1997 as well as posted in the Town Hall (on what date, it is
not clear).  Approval of the Comprehensive Plan was included
as an agenda item.

A. The Institute Workshops

The Town admits that the two workshops held on January
9 and March 13, 1997 “were not advertised.” Apparently, the
Town believes that since “a quorum of the Council was not in
attendance at the meeting,” the open meeting law did not
apply.  This Office has previously determined that meetings
of less than a quorum of a public body may still be subject to
FOIA if they appear to be a deliberate attempt to circumvent
the requirements of the law.  See Att’y Gen. Op. 96IB02 (Jan.
2, 1996).  Moreover, just calling a meeting a “workshop” does
not take it outside the requirements of the open meeting law.
See Att’y Gen. Op. 96-IB I I (Mar. 20, 1996).

Even if less than a quorum of the Town Council was
present at the Institute workshops, we find that they constituted
an ad hoc committee of the Council and therefore their
meeting, without notice to the public, violated FOIA.  Since
it would be counter-productive to turn the clock back to the
beginning of the Comprehensive Plan process, we do not think
that any remedial action for these violations of FOIA is
required.  This conclusion, however, is limited to the specific

facts of this case, and our Office does not consider this aspect
of our determination to be binding with respect to any similar
complaint in the future.

B.  The April-May Public Workshops

The Town describes the meetings on April 23 and May
21, 1997 as designed “to secure citizen input to the proposed
plan.” As such, they were crucial to the public’s opportunity
to be heard and to influence the process by which local land
use decisions would be made.  The only documents supplied
to us by the Town evidencing notice given of those meetings
were published in The News Journal, not by the Town, but by
Wilmapco.  Further, those notices did not mention the Town’s
Comprehensive Plan, but rather a “Mobility Friendly Design
Standards Public Workshop.” The Town did not submit any
evidence as to whether any members of the public attended
the workshops, or whether the Comprehensive Plan is what
was really discussed.  In any event, the Wilmapco notice in
the newspaper -- buried deep in the legal notices section --
would hardly give a citizen of the Town adequate notice that
his or her input into the Comprehensive Plan was being invited.
The Town suggests that it was not incumbent on it to provide
the required notice under FOIA, because Wilmapco arranged
the public workshops.  This Office has previously determined
that it is irrelevant who is the formal sponsor of a public
meeting.  “[A] meeting as defined in Section 10002(e) does
not cease to be a meeting because the Council gathers as a
result of an invitation of another public official or body.” Att’y
Gen.  Op. 94-IO36 (Dec. 15, 1994).  We find that the Town
violated the public notice provisions of FOIA by failing to
post notices with agenda so as to inform the citizens of the
Town that their input was being sought regarding the proposed
Comprehensive Plan.

C.  The Town Council Meetings

With regard to the August 4,1997 meeting, the Town
published notice and the agenda (which included “Middletown
Comprehensive Plan”) in the newspaper five days before (on
July 31, 1997).  TheTown did not provide us with copies of
the notices for the September 8, 1997 meeting, but the minutes
show that the comprehensive plan was not discussed; the
Mayor merely indicated that had copies for anyone’s review.
The notice and agenda for the October 6, 1997 meeting was
published in the news paper four days before (on October
2,1997).  The agenda included “Comprehensive Plan
approval.”

Unless there are special circumstances, FOIA requires
public bodies to post notice of their meetings at least seven
days in advance.  The Town Council did not, for either the
August 4 or the October 6, 1997 meetings, and therefore
violated FOIA.  The violation is all the more serious since the
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Council was preparing to vote on a land use plan that would
have considerable impact on the lives of all of the Town’s
citizens.

The Town takes the position that it made every effort to
involve the public in the decision making process leading up
to the adoption of the Comprehensive Plan.  The Town points
out that there was a third public workshop on June 5, 1997,
for which notice was “personally delivered to all the residents
of the Town.” In addition to the three public workshops, “there
were presentations made to civic associations, the
[Middletown] Chamber of Commerce, and the
Appoquinimink School District.” The Town maintains that
“ample opportunity [was] given to each and every citizen of
the area as to the proposed plan and opportunities to have
input.”

We do not perceive any conscious intent by the Town to
keep the public in the dark about the Comprehensive Plan.
Nevertheless, a series of FOIA violations did occur, and they
may have deprived some members of the public of timely
and complete information about several crucial steps in the
process that led to the Council’s adoption of the Plan on
October 6, 1997.  Accordingly, we believe that the action
taken by the Council adopting the Plan is void because it was
done in violation of FOIA.

To remedy these FOIA violations, we direct the Town to
call a special meeting to consider anew whether to adopt (not
simply ratify) the Comprehensive Plan.  Alternatively, the
Town may include the issue of adoption of the Comprehensive
Plan as an agenda item at a regular meeting. provided that the
notice of the regular meeting adequately provides notice that
the issue of the Comprehensive Plan will be considered at
such regular meeting.  Notice of that meeting must be given
at least seven days in advance, and the notice and agenda
must be posted conspicuously in the Town Hall as required
by FOIA.  While not required by FOIA nor imposed by this
office as a condition of FOIA compliance, the Town should
also consider additional means (eg., newspaper, personal mail)
of giving the public notice so that all interested citizens can
attend to voice their views.

The courts of this state and the Department of Justice
have been consistent in requiring strict compliance with FOIA.
The Town should be vigilant to assure that all future meeting
notices and agenda meet that standard of strict compliance
irrespective of the matter of public concern under
consideration.

Conclusion

Based on the complaint, and the Town’s written responses
and documents provided to us, we determine that the Town
violated the open meeting requirements of FOIA by failing to
post the required notices and agendas for the public workshops
on April 23 and May 21, 1997, and for failing to provide the

required notice for the Town Council meetings on August 4
and October 6, 1997.  We direct the Town to take the remedial
measures outlined above as soon as practicable, and to provide
us with satisfactory proof that such measures have been taken
in accordance with FOIA.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

Approved:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 98-IB01A

February 20, 1998

AG Opinion- 1130la-98 Supplemental

Roger A. Akin, Esquire
City Solicitor
220 Elkton Road
Newark, DE 19711

Re:       City of Newark F0IA

Dear Roger:

By your letter of February 19, 1998, The City of Newark
has asked whether the Department of Justice will reconsider
its opinion dated January 21, 1998 when it found that the
Newark Board of Ethics had violated the Freedom of
Information Act (“FOIA”).  We found that the Board violated
the restrictions governing the type of business which can be
conducted during an executive session.  As a result, we
concluded that the Board would be required to conduct a new
hearing on the complaint.  You have indicated that the Board
is meeting on February 20, 1998 to determine how to proceed
as a result of the finding contained in our opinion of January
21, 1998.

After failing to reach either Ms. or  Mr. Tarrant on the
19th I was able to talk with both of them this morning.  I
faxed a copy of your letter to Mr. Tarrant at his office this
morning.  Mr. and Ms. Tarrant objected to any reconsideration
of the opinion on two grounds: first that the City has instituted
new procedures which allow for subpoenas which was not
the case at the time of the original hearing and second that to

http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm
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merely require that the Board deliberate again would not be a
sufficient sanction to act as deterrent toward future FOIA
violations by the city.

While I understand your desire to have the Board meet
expeditiously to resolve this issue consistent with our decision,
the Department of Justice is concerned that both parties have
a full opportunity to be heard.  Since you have told me that
you want to advise the Board on the 20th in anticipation of a
proceeding to be noticed for a later date, I will consider your
request under 29 Del. reconsideration so long as it brings to
our attention relevant information which is germane to the
FOIA issue as opposed to the merits of the case or non-FOIA
issues relating to the Board’s procedures.

As discussed in the opinion of January 21st, the only
FOIA violation which occurred related to the improper use of
the executive session for purposes of deliberation.  As pointed
out in your letter, the remedial action should be tailored to
meet the violation.  While we recognize that remedial action
may create a burden, the city should not be required to repeat
any process which did not give rise to a FOIA violation.  Since
there is a verbatim transcript of the hearing and since the Board
which will reconsider the case will be comprised of the same
persons who originally heard the complaint, we will modify
our opinion of January 21, 1998 in the following manner:

The deliberations and vote taken by the Board of Ethics
were in violation of 29 Del C. §10004(b)(4).  The Board shall
reconvene in order to conduct deliberations based on the
verbatim transcript of the hearing provided that the members
of the Board meeting in the reconvening session are identical
to the members who originally heard the complaint on June
19, 1997.  The deliberations shall be conducted on the record
in open session consistent with the findings set forth in our
opinion dated January 21, 1998.  It shall not be necessary to
hold a full evidentiary hearing merely to take evidence or
introduce documents already of record.  On the other hand,
the Board is free to expand the proceeding for purposes which
it deems proper and appropriate so long as the proceeding
otherwise complies with FOIA requirements.

In all other respects, we restate and reaffirm all of the
findings and conclusions set forth in our opinion of January
21, 1998 which are not inconsistent with this letter.

Very truly yours,
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor
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DELAWARE STATE FIRE
PREVENTION COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Section 6603 (16 Del.C. 6603)

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will
hold a hearing pursuant to 16 Del. C. §6603 and 29 Del. C.
Ch., 101 on May 26, 1998 at 7:00 p.m. in Room 5 of the
Delaware State Fire School at the Delaware Fire Service
Center, 1461 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware.  The
Commission is proposing to adopt the following:

Minimum Requirements for Dispatch Centers to include
utilities, fire protection, emergency lighting power, staffing,
qualifications, operating practices, records, equipment and
operations, dispatching system and radio devices and
computer aided dispatching systems.

Persons may view the proposed Requirements between the
hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, at
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, Delaware
State Fire School, Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463
Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware, 19904.

Persons may present their views in writing by mailing their
views to the Commission at the above address prior to the
hearing, and the Commission will consider those responses
received before 7:00 p.m. on May 26, 1998, or by offering
testimony at the Public Hearing.  If the number of persons
desiring to testify at the Public Hearing is large, the amount
of time allotted to each speaker will be limited.  There will be
a reasonable fee charged for copies of the proposed changes.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION  OF REVENUE

OFFICE OF THE STATE  LOTTERY

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,
Section 4805(a) (29 Del.C. 4805(a))

The proposed regulations are amendments to the Lottery’s
existing Video Lottery Regulations.  The Lottery proposes
these amendments pursuant to 29 Del. C. section 4805(a).

The Lottery will accept written public comments from
May 1, 1998 to May 31, 1998.  A public hearing will also be
conducted at the DNREC Building, Main Auditorium, 89

Kings Highway, Dover, on May 20, 1998 at 3:00 p.m.  The
Lottery’s phone number is (302)739-5291.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512)

Delaware Health and Social Services is considering
revising certain regulations contained in DSSM section
3002.7.  The Department will receive comments and consider
whether or not to adopt or modify the proposed regulations.

The proposed regulations:

· Remove the possibility that an employable caretaker
whose 48-month A Better Chance time limit has expired may
re-apply for benefits after a family has not received assistance
for 96 consecutive months.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Division of Social Services, P.O.
Box 906, New Castle, DE, by May 31, 1998.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State’s Administrative Procedures
Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
with 42CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of
the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 505, the Delaware
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division
of Social Services / Medicaid Program is amending its durable
medical equipment, EPSDT, and practitioner provider
manuals.

Comments, written suggestions, compilations of data,
testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning this
change must be received by mail no later than June 1, 1998,

http://www.state.de.us/dvfa/html/commission.html
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/revenue/revenue.htm
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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at the Medicaid Administrative Office, Lewis Bldg., Herman
M. Holloway, Sr. Health & Social Services Campus, 1901 N.
DuPont Hwy., New Castle, DE  19720, attention Thelma
Mayer.  Materials filed thereafter will not be considered except
where good cause for lateness is demonstrated.  Copies of all
written submissions filed with the Medicaid office will be
available for public inspection in the Medicaid Administrative
Office at the address given above.  Please call (302) 577-
4880, extension 131, for an appointment if you wish to review
the materials.  Individuals with disabilities who wish to
participate in these proceedings, or review the materials
submitted, should contact the Division to discuss auxiliary
aids or services needed to facilitate such review or
participation.  Such contact may be in person, in writing or
by telephone by using the Telecommunications Relay Service,
or otherwise.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311, 2304(16) & 2312
(18 Del.C. 311, 2304(16), 2312)

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H.
WILLIAMS  hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING
will be held on Thursday, May 28, 1998 at 10:00 a.m. in the
Main Conference Room of the Delaware Department of
Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware.  This
Hearing is to consider implementation of Regulation No. 80
(Proposed) entitled “STANDARDS FOR PROMPT, FAIR
AND EQUITABLE SETTLEMENT OF CLAIMS FOR
HEALTH CARE SERVICES”.

The purpose of the Regulation is to establish standards
that will ensure that health insurers pay claims to policyholders
and providers in a timely manner.

The Hearing will be conducted in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter
101.  Comments are being solicited by any interested party.
Comments may be in writing or may be presented orally at
the Hearing.  Written comments must be received by the
Department of Insurance no later than Friday, May 22, 1998,
and should be addressed to Michael W. Teichman, Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
DE 19904.  Those wishing to testify or give an oral statement
must notify Michael W. Teichman at (302)739-4251, Ext. 171
no later than Friday, May 22, 1998.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF AIR & W ASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALIT Y M ANAGEMENT  SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 6010 (7 Del.C. 6010)

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Motor Vehicle Iinspection and Maintenance -Regulation

26, 31, and 33

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

Regulation 26 is proposed to be changed by elimination
of those requirements pertaining only to New Castle and Kent
Counties, with the resulting regulation after changes pertaining
only to Sussex County. Additions to Regulation 26 are
underlined and deletions are in strikeout.  For completeness,
new Regulation No.  31 (proposed as part of this package)
will entirely replace the New Castle and Kent County
requirements of current Regulations No.26 and No.33, with
the latter being eliminated completely. The proposed
Regulation 31 adds various administrative and operational
requirements contained in the federal regulation.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:  N/A

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

7 Del. C., Section 6010
Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:  None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:

Public Hearing: May 21,1998, 6 PM,  Richardson and Robbins
Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover Delaware,

7. PREPARED BY:
Philip Wheeler 739-4791
April 9, 1998

http://www.state.de.us/govern/elecoffl/inscom.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/air_wste.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

THE REGULARL Y SCHEDULED MEETING  OF THE

STATE  BOARD OF EDUCATION  WILL  BE HELD  ON

THURSDAY, MAY 21, 1998, AT 11:00 A.M.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN
COMMISSION

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on
Wednesday, May 27, 1998, in  Avondale, PA.  For information
contact Susan M. Weisman at (609) 883-9500 ext 203.

DELAWARE STATE HOUSING
AUTHORITY

Comprehensive Plan Notice

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) is providing modernization funding on
a formula basis to Public Housing Agencies (PHAs) to enable
them to improve the physical condition and to upgrade the
management and operations of existing public housing
developments to assure their continued availability for low-
income families.  Delaware State Housing Authority (DSHA),
a public body corporate and politic of the State of Delaware
(Subsection 4053(4), Title 31, Delaware Code), having its
principal office at 18 The Green, Dover, Delaware 19901, is
the authorized administrator of HUD’s Comprehensive Grant
Program (CGP) for the State of Delaware and is a PHA with
more than 250 PHA-owned units.  The 1998 CGP from HUD
is expected to be approximately $525,000.

For CGP funding, DSHA is required to develop a
Comprehensive Plan through deliberation with the residents,
local government, and the public.  The contents of the
Comprehensive Plan include the Executive Summary,
Physical and Management Needs Assessments, a Five-Year
Action Plan, Local Government Statements, PHA Resolution
and the Annual Statement.  The Comprehensive Plan must be
submitted to the HUD Philadelphia field office by July 15,
1998.

A public hearing will be held at 6:00 p.m. on May 21,
1998 in Dover.  The meeting will be advertised for two weeks
in all editions of the Delaware State News and the News
Journal, daily newspapers of general circulation throughout
the State.

http://www.doe.state.de.us/docs/index_js.asp
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