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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

3 DE Reg. 737 - 742 (12/1/99)

Refers to Volume 3, pages 737 - 742 of the
Delaware Register issued on December 1, 1999.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-739-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS
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 DATE             DATE        TIME

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.
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Ann Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J.
Messina, Print Shop Supervisor; Alex W. Mull,
Assistant Registrar; Deborah A. Porter,
Administrative Secretary; Virginia L. Potts,
Administrative  Assistant; Barbara Ryan, Public
Information Clerk; Ted Segletes, Paralegal;  Don
Sellers, Printer; Thom Shiels, Legislative
Attorney; Marguerite P. Smith, Public
Information Clerk; Alice W. Stark, Legislative
Attorney; Mary Jane Starkey, Senior Secretary;
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Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
BLS Ambulance Provider/First Responder ........................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  122 (Prop.)

3  DE Reg.  750 (Final)
Standard for the Marking, Identification and Accessibility of Fire Lanes, 

Exits, Fire Hydrants, Sprinkler and Standpipe Connections ......................................... .......3  DE Reg.    97 (Final)
NFPA Fire Codes & Standards, Incorporation by Reference................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  416 (Final)

Department of Administrative Services
Division of Professional Regulation

Board of Accountancy.................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  850 (Prop.)
Notice of Public Hearing......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1019(Errata)

Board of Cosmetology and Barbering............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  573 (Prop.)
Board of Electrical Examiners........................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  522 (Final)

......................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1023(Prop.)
Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators.................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  486 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1060(Final)
Board of Examiners of Psychologists............................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  576 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1067(Final)
Board of Massage and Bodywork................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1032(Prop.)
Board of Nursing............................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  690 (Prop.)
Board of Pharmacy

Regulation V(A)(7) & V(D)(3)(c), Dispensing....................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      8 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  431 (Final)

Regulation VI- D, Pure Drug Regulations............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      8 (Prop.)
Regulation XIV -  Administration of Injectable Medications................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.      8 (Prop.)
Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent or

 Impaired Professionals.................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  571 (Prop.)
Merit Employee Relations Board, Chapter 20, Grievance Procedure................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  167 (Final)

Department of Agriculture
Delaware Pesticide Rules and Regulations............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg. 1035 (Prop.)
Farmland Preservation Program............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  170 (Final)
Harness Racing Commission

Preference Dates, Chapter VII, Rule I-F......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  432 (Final)
Overnight Events, Chapter VI, Rule II-A-5.................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  432 (Final)
24 proposed amendments................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  885 (Prop.)  

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
Appeals from Decisions of the Stewards, Rule 19.03(a)................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  885 (Prop.)
Bleeders, Rule 10.04....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  360 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  754 (Final)
Bleeder Medication, Rule 15.02..................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  360 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  754 (Final)
Requests for Continuances must be Filed with the Administrator

of Racing, Rule 19.06....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  885 (Prop.)

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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Department of EducationAccumulation of Annual Leave............................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  709 (Prop.)
Administrator Contracts......................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  709 (Prop.)
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Child Nutrition ...................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    10 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  524 (Final)
Children with Disabilities...................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  886 (Prop.)
Content Standards, 500.1....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1052 (Prop.)
Deferred Compensation ........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  363 (Rep.)

 3  DE Reg.  633 (Final)
Definitions, Public and Private Schools................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  709 (Prop.)
Delaware Student Testing Program........................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  687 (Errata)
Delayed Certification, Sub-Standard Certification, Provisional

Certificate, Repeal of...................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  709 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1076(Final)

DSSAA Constitution & Bylaws, 29 amendments................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  435 (Final)
DSSAA Constitution & Bylaws, Rule 1 & 33....................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    11 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  525 (Final)
Educational Programs for Students with Limited English Proficiency................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  900 (Prop.)
Educational Programs for Students with Limited English Proficiency, 900.6....................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1054(Prop.)
Employee Leave.................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1077(Final)
Health Examinations for School District Employe es........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    13 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  526 (Final)
K-12 Comprehensive Health Education and Family Life

Education Policy............................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  717 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1073(Final)

K-12 Guidance Programs, 500.13.......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1053 (Prop.)
Maternity Leave, Repeal........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  527 (Rep.)
Military Leave, Credit for Service in the Armed Forces....................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  361 (Prop.)

    3  DE Reg.  630 (Final)
Payment of Personnel under Various Programs..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  492 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  755 (Final)
Payment Schedules for Contractual Programs/In-Service Education.................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  363 (Rep.)

 3  DE Reg.  633 (Final)
Payment of Teachers in Summer Programs in Vocational-Technical

School Districts............................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  363 (Rep.)
  3  DE Reg.  633 (Final)

Permanent File of School Districts........................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  709 (Prop.)
Pre-referral of Enrolled Students for Special Education and/or Related

Services, Repeal.............................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  903 (Prop.)
Professional Employees Strikes............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  709 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1077(Final)
Recruiting & Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas.................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  100 (Final)
Regulation for Charter Schools - Admission, Repeal............................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  492 (Rep.)

  3  DE Reg.  758 (Final)
School Crisis Response Plans................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  434 (Final)
School Health Tuberculosis (Tb) Control Program............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  440 (Final)
School Safety Audit............................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  433 (Final)
School Transportation ........................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  588 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  942 (Final)
Services for Exceptional Children, Repeal............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  903 (Prop.)
Sick Leave ......................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  709 (Prop.) 
State Salary Increase Adjustments for Changed Status......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  363 (Rep.)

 3  DE Reg.  633 (Final)
Student Testing Program........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  364 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  582 (Prop.)
Teacher Work Day.................................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  709 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1077(Final)
Teacher of the Year Award..................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  104 (Final)



CUMULATIVE TABLES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1115

Department of Finance
Administration of the Education Expense & Property Tax Relief Fund ............................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  597 (Prop.)
Division of Revenue

State Lottery Office
Definition of Technology Provider, Regulation 2.0................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  719 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1081(Final)
Licensing Process for Technology Providers,

Regulations 4.1 and 4.2.................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  719 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1082(Final)

Non-Discrimnation on the Basis of Disability in Delaware Lottery
Programs, Rule 29 ........................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  600 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  951 (Final)
Payment of Prizes, Powerball Game, Rule 23......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  126 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  523 (Final)
Requirements for Video Lottery Agent to File Financial Reports,

Regulation 8.2................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  720 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1083(Final)

Requirements for Video Lottery Agents to File Copies of all Video
Lottery Related Contracts, Regulation 6.35..................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  720 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1083 (Final)
Technology Provider Duties, Regulation 5.11......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  720 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1082(Final)
Tax Appeal Board, Rules & Regulations........................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  905 (Prop.)

Department of Health & Social Services
Division of Public Health

Conrad State 20 / J-1 Visa Waiver Program................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  603 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  956 (Final)

Delaware Trauma System Rules & Regulations............................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    14 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  442 (Final)

Metabolic Disorders & Establishment of Case Review Committee,
Regulations Defining .............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  529 (Final)
State of Delaware Food Code.................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  495 (Prop.)

Office of Drinking Water
Regulations Governing Public Drinking Water Systems......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  197 (Final)

Division of Social Services
1115 Demonstration Waiver............................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  916 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 2023, Program Violations............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  287 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 3002, Time Limit, Temporary Welfare Program......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  369 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  759 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 3002, Time Limit, Temporary Welfare Program, Withdraw of................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  443 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 3002, Exceptions to the Time Limit Counter.............................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  443 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 3031, Work for your Welfare...................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  371 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 3032, Diversion Assistance......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  444 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 9059, Income Exclusions............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  287 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7, Income Limits & Determination of Fees...................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  762 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7.2, Income Limits & Determination of Fees .................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  762 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7.7, Income Limits & Determination of Fees................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)

  3  DE Reg.  762 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11004.3, Income Limits & Determination of Fees...................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  762 (Final)
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DSSM Sec. 11004.7, Determination of Child Care Fee................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    42 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  444 (Final)
 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  762 (Final)

DSSM Sec. 11004.7.1, Income Limits & Determination of Fees................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  762 (Final)

DSSM Sec. 11004.7.11, Income Limits & Determination of Fees................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  762 (Final)

DSSM Sec. 13444, Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMB)....................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  616 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1084 (Final)

DSSM Sec. 13445, Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiaries (SLMB)................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  616 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1084(Final)

DSSM Sec. 13447, Qualifying Individuals ................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  616 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1084(Final)

DSSM Sec. 14433.2, Eligibility for State Funded Benefits
(Nonqualified Aliens).............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  634 (Final)

DSSM Sec. 15430, Adoption Subsidy Children............................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  616 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1085(Final)

DSSM Sec. 17300, Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries .................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  616 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1084(Final)

DSSM Sec. 17300.3.2.5, Unearned Income .................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  616 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1084(Final)

DSSM Sec. 17300.3.3, Resources.................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  616 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1085(Final)

DSSM Sec. 17300.3.3.1, Excluded Resources............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  616 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1085(Final)

DSSM Sec. 17700, Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals.................................. ....... 3  DE Reg. 1058(Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 18700.5, Cancellation of Coverage for Nonpayment of Premiums............ ....... 3  DE Reg.  617 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1085(Final)
DSSM Sec. 20100, Long Term Care Introduction ......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  617 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 20700, Home and Community Based Services .......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  617 (Prop.)
Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1020(Errata)
Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual, Nutrition Therapy................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  618 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  958 (Final)
Eligibility Manual, 15400, Income................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  107 (Final)
Eligibility Manual, 16240, Composition of Budget Unit............................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  107 (Final)
Eligibility Manual, A Better Chance, Delaware TANF Plan.......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  634 (Final)
General Policy Manual .................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  277 (Final)
General Policy Manual, Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP)............... ....... 3  DE Reg.  620 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1021(Errata)
General Policy Manual, Eligibility for DHCP................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  776 (Final)
Guaranteed Eligibility..................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1059 (Prop.)
Home Health Provider Manual, Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver Program................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  374 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  776 (Final)
Independent Laboratory Provider Manual...................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  127 (Prop.)

  3  DE Reg.  531 (Final)
Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Provider Policy.............................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  914 (Prop.)
Pharmacy Provider Manual, Drug Rebate Programs...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  620 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1022(Errata)
Pharmacy Provider Manual, Drugs Used for Cosmetic Purposes.................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  375 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  777 (Final)
Practitioner Provider Manual.......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  277 (Final)
Practitioner Provider Manual, Pharmacy Services......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  620 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1022(Errata)
Private Duty Nursing, HCBS Waiver and Assisted Living Manual............................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  278 (Final)
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Department of Insurance
Regulation 56, Life & Health Submissions Regarding Acquired

ImmunodeficiencySyndrome (AIDS)............................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  288 (Final)
Regulation 82, Standards of Payment for Multiple Surgical Procedures............................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  636 (Final)
Regulation 83, Standards of Payment for Assistants at Surgery............................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  638 (Final)

Department of Labor
Division of Employment & Training

Apprenticeship & Training Rules & Regulations........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    42 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  641 (Final)

Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
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Inventory for VOC, Nox, and CO.................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  722 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  843 (Errata)

Delaware 1996 Milestone Demonstration for Kent and New Castle
Counties............................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  729 (Prop.)

Delaware On-Road Mobile Source Emissions Budgets for the Delaware, 
Phase II Attainment Demonstration................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  127 (Prop.)

Reg. No. 3, Ambient Air Quality Standards............................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  778 (Final)
Reg. No. 36, Acid Rain Program ............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  621 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  959 (Final)
Reg. No. 37, NOx Budget Program......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  376 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  779 (Final)
Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source

Categories, Subpart A....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    51 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  445 (Final)

Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source
Categories, Subpart N....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   59 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  445 (Final)
Reg. No. 39, NOx Budget Trading Program........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  129 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 40, Delaware’s National Low Emissions Vehicle Program...................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  532 (Final)
2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent & New Castle Counties................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    65 (Prop.)

Waste Management Section
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  534 (Final)

Division of Fish & Wildlife
Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations, NT-2, Bag Limits & Seasons...................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  748 (Prop.)
Shellfish Regulations

S-52, Requirement for Collecting Horseshoe Crabs for Persons Under 16............ ....... 3  DE Reg.  622 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1093(Final)

S-53, Number of Persons Accompanying a Person with a Valid Horseshoe
Crab Collecting Permit..................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  623 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1093(Final)
S-54, Possession Limit of Horseshoe Crabs, Exceptions........................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  623 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1093(Final)
S-55A, Horseshoe Crab Dredge Permit Lottery...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  652 (Final)
S-58, Horseshoe Crab Containment and Transportation Restrictions..................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  623 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1094(Final)
S-61, Collecting Horseshoe Crabs at Night, Prohibited.......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  623 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1094(Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 4,Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits

Season ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  737 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1088(Final)
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Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 6, Striped Bass Limits; Recreational Fishing
Seasons; Method of Take; Creel Limit; Possession Limit....................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  739 (Prop.)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 7, Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  739 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1089(Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 10, Weakfish Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons............. ....... 3  DE Reg.  740 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1090(Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 23, Black Sea Bass Size Limits; Trip Limits; Seasons;
Quotas ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  740 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1090(Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 25, Atlantic Sharks..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  741 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.1090 (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 26, American Shad & Hickory Shad; Creel Limits................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  742 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1092(Final)
Wildlife & Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  289 (Final)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-1,Definitions........................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  742 (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-4 Seasons, Diamondback Terrapin....................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  742 (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-6, Game Preserves................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  745 (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-14, Falconry......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  745 (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-15, Collection or Sale of Native Wildlife............................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  746 (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-16, Endangered Species....................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  747 (Prop.)

Division of Water Resources
Land Treatment of Wastes.............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  445 (Final)
Surface Water Quality Standards ................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  311 (Final)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for zinc in the

Red Clay Creek........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  163 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  806 (Final)

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for zinc in the
White Clay Creek.................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  164 (Prop.)

  3  DE Reg.  650 (Final)
Department of Public Safety

Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Rule 76, A Rule Governing Taxes Paid On Spirits......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  624 (Prop.)

Delaware State Police, Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private
Security Agents

Firearm’s Policy  3  DE Reg.  960 (Final)
Personnel Rosters & Job Assignments  3  DE Reg.  961 (Final)
Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals, Vehicular Markings  3  DE Reg.  961 (Final)
Use of Animals  3  DE Reg.  963 (Final)

Department of State
Office of the State Banking Commissioner

Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0002, Instructions for Preparation of 
Franchise Tax........................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  512 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  810 (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0005, Instructions for Preparation of 

Franchise Tax for Federal Savings Banks not Headquartered in this
 State but Maintaining Branches in this State.......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  515 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  812 (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0009, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise

 Tax for Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks............................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  517 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  815 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2112.0001, Mortgage Loan Brokers Operating Regulations............. ....... 3  DE Reg.  403 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  654 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2111(a).0002, Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimum 
Requirements for Content of Books & Records...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  404 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  655 (Final)
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Regulation No. 5.2115.0003, Mortgage Loan Broker Regulations Itemized
Schedule of Charges................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  405 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  656 (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2113.0004, Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimum Disclosure

Requirements .......................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  406 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  657 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2111(b).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  406 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  657 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2213.0002, Licensed Lenders Minimum Requirements for
Content of Books & Records................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  407 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  658 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2218/2231.0003, Licensed Lenders Regulations Itemized

Schedule of Charges................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  408 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  659 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2210(e).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  411 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  662 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2318.0001, Report of Delaware Sale of Checks, Drafts &
Money Orders Volume............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  411 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  662 (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance

Companies Minimum Requirements for Content of Books & Records.................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  412 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  663 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2906(e).0002, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies
 Operating Regulations............................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  413 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  664 (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2906(e).0003, Report of Delaware Loan Volume Motor

Vehicle Installment Contracts.................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  414 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  665 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.3404/3409.0001, Preneed Funeral Contracts Regulations 
Governing Revocable & Irrevocable Trust Agreements......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  415 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  666 (Final)

Department of Transportation
Statewide Access Management Policy & Statewide Classification Maps............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  916 (Prop.)
Subdivision Streets, Mobility Friendly Design Standards .................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  624 (Prop.)

Governor’s Office
Executive Order No. 61, Declaration of Drought Warning;  Extending Voluntary

Water Conservation Measures; and Other Related Items............................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  453
Executive Order No. 62, Proclamation of State of Emergency Due to Drought

Emergency; Issuing an Emergency Order Imposing Mandatory
Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  454

Executive Order No. 63, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62 Regarding the
State of Emergency due to Drought Emergency............................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  546

Executive Order No. 64, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62, as Amended
by Executive Order No. 63, Regarding the State of Emergency due to Drought
Emergency ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  546

Executive Order No. 65, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62, as Amended by 
Executive Order No. 63 and Executive Order No. 64;  Regarding the State of 
Emergency due to Drought Emergency.......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  547

Executive Order No. 66, Termination of State of Emergency Due to Drought; 
Repeal of  Mandatory Water Conservation Measures; Declaration of Drought
Warning; Extending Voluntary Water Conservation Measures; and Other
Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  550

Executive Order No. 67, Proclamation of State of Emergency Due to Hurricane ................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  667
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Executive Order No. 68, Termination of Drought Warning and Other
Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  667

Executive Order No. 69, Amendment to Executive Order No.27 as Amended
by Executive Order No. 56 Regarding  the Creation of the Violence
Against Women Act Implementation Committee........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  668

Executive Order No. 70, Amendment to Executive Order No. 27 Regarding the
Violence Against Women Act Implementation Committee............................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  964

Executive Order No. 71, Creating the Governor’s Building and Trade Council................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  964
Executive Order No. 72, State Employees and the Right to Organization and

Effective Union Representation...................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1095
Executive Order No. 73, Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume

Cap for Calendar Year 1999 and Initial Suballocation of State Private
Activity Bond Volume Cap for Calendar Year 2000...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1095

Executive Order No. 74, Implementation of the Recommendations of the Water
Supply Task Force;  Appointment of Temporary Water Coordinator;
Establishment of a Water Supply Coordinating Council................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg. 1096

Appointments & Nominations............................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  111
 3  DE Reg.  341
 3  DE Reg.  457
 3  DE Reg.  552
 3  DE Reg.  669
 3  DE Reg.  820
 3  DE Reg.  966
 3  DE Reg. 1099

Public Service Commission
Reg. Docket No. 49, Creation of a Competitive Market for Retail Electric

Supply Service................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  538 (Final)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 105(1) (24 Del.C. §105(1))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 105(1), the Delaware
Board of Accountancy proposes to revise its rules and
regulations.  Pursuant to due notice of time and place of
hearing published in the News Journal and the Delaware
State News, and pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10115, having
published the following proposed regulations in the Register
of Regulations on January 1, 2000, a public hearing on the
adoption of the proposed new rules and regulations was held
before the Delaware Board (“Board”) of Accountancy on
February 23, 2000.  Following deliberations, the Board
voted to approve the following rules and regulations in
their entirety, with the exception of Rules 6.3.2 and 6.4.2,
to which amendments were proposed, as indicated
herein.  Accordingly, a second public hearing will be held
as to the new proposed amendments.  A final order will
issue adopting all approved rules at the conclusion of all
public hearings. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed
amendments to the Rules and Regulations on Wednesday,
April 26, 2000 at 9:00 a..m., in the Second Floor Conference
Room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The Board will receive

and consider input in writing from any person on the
proposed amendments to the Rules and Regulations.  Any
written comments should be submitted to the Board in care
of Mary Paskey at the above address.  The final date to
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the
public hearing should notify Mary Paskey at the above
address or by calling (302) 739-4522, extension 207.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

PROPOSED REGULATIONS

1.0 GENERAL PROVISIONS
1.1  Pursuant to 24 Del.C. Chapter 1,  the Delaware

Board of Accountancy (“the Board”) is authorized to, and
has adopted, these Rules and Regulations. The Rules and
Regulations are applicable to all certified public accountants,
public accountants, permit holders and applicants to the
Board.

1.2  Information about the Board, including its meeting
dates, may be obtained by contacting the Board’s
Administrative Assistant at the Division of Professional
Regulation, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard,
Ste. 203, Dover, Delaware 19904-2467, telephone (302)
739-4522. Requests to the Board may be directed to the
same office.

1.3  The Board’s President shall preside at all meetings
of the Board and shall sign all official documents of the
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Board. In  the President’s absence, the Board’s Secretary
shall preside at meetings and perform all duties usually
performed by the President. 

1.4  The Board may seek counsel, advice and
information from other governmental agencies and such
other groups as it deems appropriate.

1.5  The Board may establish such subcommittees as it
determines appropriate for the fair and efficient processing
of the Board’s duties.

1.6  The Board reserves the right to grant exceptions to
the requirements of the Rules and Regulations upon a
showing of good cause by the party requesting such
exception, provided that the exception is not inconsistent
with the requirements of 24 Del.C. Chapter 1.

1.7  Board members are subject to the provisions
applying to “employees” in the “State Employees’, Officers’
and Officials’ Code of Conduct,” found at 29 Del.C. Chapter
58.  No member of the Board shall: (1) serve as a peer
reviewer in a peer review of a licensee; or (2) be an
instructor in an examination preparation course or school or
have a financial interest in such an endeavor. 

2.0 PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT
2.1 A certified public accountant, or a public accountant

holding a certificate or permit issued by this Board, agrees to
comply with the Rules of Conduct contained in the Code of
Professional Ethics of the American Institute of Certified
Public Accountants.  All changes in the Rules and
Interpretations made by the American Institute of Certified
Public Accountants shall automatically be made a part of
these Rules and Regulations unless specifically rejected by
the Board.

3.0 USE OF DESIGNATIONS
3.1  Designation "Certified Public Accountant" and the

Abbreviation "CPA" in the Practice of Certified or Public
Accountancy:

3.1.1 Only the following individuals and entities
may use the designation "certified public accountant", the
abbreviation "CPA", and other designations which suggest
that the user is a certified public accountant, in the practice
of certified or public accountancy:

3.1.1.1  An individual who is registered with
the Board and holds a certificate of certified public
accountant and a current permit to practice.

3.1.1.2  A partnership, professional association
or professional corporation composed of certified public
accountants which is registered with the Board and holds a
current firm permit to practice.

3.2  Designation "Certified Public Accountant” and the
abbreviation"CPA" by certificate holders who do not
maintain a permit to practice:

3.2.1 An individual who holds a certificate of
certified public accountant but does not maintain a permit to

practice may use the designation "certified public
accountant" or the abbreviation "CPA" on business cards and
stationery if:

3.2.1.1   The certificate of certified public
accountant has not been suspended or revoked and is in good
standing.

3.2.1.2  The individual does not engage in the
practice of certified or public accountancy and does not offer
to perform certified or public accountancy services.

3.2.1.3  The individual does not hold himself or
herself out to be in the practice of certified or public
accountancy when performing or offering to perform
accounting, bookkeeping, tax or accounting-related matters.

3.2.1.4 The individual does not engage in
solicitations or advertising, including listings and
advertisements in phone directories, newspapers, or other
media (including electronic), in which the individual uses
the designation "certified public accountant" or the
abbreviation "CPA".

3.2.1.5  The individual does not publicly
display a certificate of certified public accountant to imply
that he or she is licensed in the practice of certified or public
accountancy or offering to perform certified or public
accountancy services.

3.2.1.6 The individual is employed by a
government, or an academic institution, corporation, or
company not engaged in the practice of certified or public
accountancy and uses the designation "certified public
accountant" or the abbreviation "CPA" on business cards and
stationery provided:

3.2.1.6.1 The business cards and stationery
indicate the name of  the employer and the title of the person;
and

3.2.1.6.2 The business cards or stationery
are not used to solicit certified or public accountancy
services or accounting-related business.

3.2.2  An individual who holds a certificate of
certified public accountant but not a permit to practice may
not refer to his or her business as "John/Jane Doe, CPA" or
have business cards imprinted "John/Jane Doe, CPA, and
Company or Institution, Title" with the intent to offer
certified or public accountancy services.

3.2.3  An individual who holds a certificate of
certified public accountant, but not a permit to practice, may
not perform a service related to accounting, including
bookkeeping and tax returns, while holding him or herself
out as a certified public accountant without a permit to
practice. Similarly, an individual may not prepare income tax
returns and refer to his or her business or sign tax returns as
"John/Jane Doe, CPA" without a permit to practice.  Such
individual may put up a sign reading "John/Jane Doe, Tax
Preparer" and prepare and sign tax returns as "John/Jane
Doe".  

3.3 Designation "Public Accountant" and the
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abbreviation "PA"
3.3.1  Only the following individuals and entities

may use the designation "public accountant," the
abbreviation "PA", and other designations which suggest that
the user is a public accountant, in the practice of public
accountancy.

3.3.1.1.  An individual who is registered with
the Board and holds a permit to practice public accountancy
in good standing.

3.3.1.2. A partnership, professional association
or professional corporation composed of public accountants
which  is registered with the Board and holds a current firm
permit in good standing to practice public accountancy.

3.3.2 An individual may not refer to his or
her business or sign tax returns as "John/Jane Doe, PA"
without a permit to practice public accountancy.

3.4      No person, partnership, or corporation shall hold
him/her/itself or otherwise use the title or designation
"certified accountant", "chartered accountant", "enrolled
accountant", "licensed accountant", "registered accountant",
"licensed public accountant", "registered public accountant",
or any other title or designation likely to be confused with
"certified public accountant" or "public accountant", or any
other abbreviations of any prohibited titles or designations
likely to be confused with "CPA" or "PA".  It is not a
violation of this clause for an individual conferred by the
Internal Revenue Service as an enrolled agent to use that title
or the abbreviation "EA".  

3.5     No person, partnership, or corporation shall use a
title or specialized designation that includes the word
"accredited" or "certified" or an abbreviation of such a title
or designation or otherwise claim a qualification unless that
designation has been conferred by a bona fide organization
after evaluation of the individual's credentials and
competencies.  This includes such designations as "CFP",
"CVA", "ABV", etc.

4.0 APPLICATIONS
4.1  An application for examination, certificates, permits

to practice and renewals of permits to practice shall be
submitted on forms approved by the Board. 

4.2  The Board may require additional information or
explanation when it has questions about an applicant’s
qualifications or application materials.  An application is not
complete or in proper form until the Board has received all
required and requested documents,  materials,  information
and fees.

5.0 EXAMINATION AND CERTIFICATE
REQUIREMENTS

5.1  Each applicant for a certificate must provide the
Board with the following:

5.1.1  A statement under oath or other verification
satisfactory to the Board that the applicant  is of good

character as that term is defined in 24 Del.C. §107(a)(1).
5.1.2  Evidence  in a form satisfactory to the Board

that the applicant has successfully passed the Uniform
Certified Public Accountant Examination or its successor
examination.

5.1.3  Evidence in a form satisfactory to the Board
that the applicant has successfully completed  the AICPA
self-study program "Professional Ethics for CPAs," or its
successor course, with a grade of not less than 90%.

5.1.4  Evidence in a form satisfactory to the Board
that the applicant holds a Master’s Degree, a Baccalaureate
Degree or an Associate Degree,  with a concentration in
accounting. 

5.1.4.1  The applicant  also must, upon request,
submit proof that the college or university granting the
degree was, at the time of the applicant’s graduation,
accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and
Secondary Schools or by another comparable regional
accrediting association. A degree granted by a college or
university not so accredited at the time of applicant’s
graduation will not be accepted.  Graduates of non-United
States (U.S.) degree programs will be required to have their
credentials evaluated by a credential evaluation service
acceptable to the Board, to determine equivalency to U.S.
regional accreditation.   

5.1.4.2  The concentration in accounting must
be completed at an accredited college or university and
consist of at least 21 semester hours of accounting, auditing,
and federal taxation, either as part of applicant’s Associate,
Baccalaureate or Master's Degree program or subsequent to
the completion of the program. Each applicant must have
completed courses in accounting (including introductory,
intermediate, advanced, and cost accounting), auditing, and
federal taxation as components of the 21 hour concentration
in accounting.  Courses must have been completed in all
three areas (i.e. accounting, auditing, and federal taxation).
Courses in other business subjects, such as banking, business
law, computer science, economics, finance, insurance,
management and marketing will not be accepted as
accounting courses for this purpose. 

5.1.4.3  Except for applicants applying under
Section 5.2 of these Rules and Regulations, the educational
qualification required by this subsection contemplates
satisfactory completion of all required courses of study by
the final date for accepting applications for the examination
at which the applicant intends to sit.

5.2  Applicants requesting to sit for the  the Uniform
Certified Public Accountant Examination or its successor
examination must demonstrate that they  meet the good
character and education requirements of Sections 5.1.1 and
5.1.4 of these Rules and Regulations. An applicant who
expects to meet the education requirements of Section 5.1.4
within 120 days following the examination is eligible to take
the examination provided he or she:
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5.2.1  meets the character requirements of Section
5.1.1; and 

5.2.2  provides evidence satisfactory to the Board
that he or she is expected to complete the education
requirements within 120 days of the examination.

6.0 REQUIREMENTS FOR PERMIT TO PRACTICE
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY

6.1  For purposes of Section 6.0 of these Rules and
Regulations, the term “certificate holder” shall be defined as
the holder of a certificate of certified public accountant
issued by any jurisdiction.

6.2  Each applicant for a permit to practice certified
public accountancy must provide the Board with the
following:

6.2.1 A statement under oath or other verification
satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has not engaged
in any acts that would be grounds for discipline by the
Board;

6.2.2  A certified statement from the licensing
authority, or comparable agency,  that the applicant has no
pending disciplinary proceedings or complaints against him
or her in each jurisdiction where the applicant  currently or
previously held a certificate or permit to practice;

6.2.3  Evidence  in a form satisfactory to the Board
that the applicant holds a valid certificate; and

6.2.4 Evidence in a form satisfactory to the Board
that the applicant meets the experience requirements
provided in 24 Del.C. §108(c)(2) and Sections 6.3 , 6.4 and
6.5 of these Rules and Regulations, as applicable.

6.3  Applicants who seek a permit based on their
experience as an employee of a firm engaged in the practice
of certified public accountancy shall meet the following
standards and requirements:

6.3.1  The distinguishing characteristic of practice
as a certified public accountant is the requirement that the
practitioner compile, review or audit all financial statements
with which his or her name is associated.  Accordingly, the
applicant shall submit evidence of extensive experience
obtained in engagements, resulting in the issuance of
financial statements including appropriate footnote
disclosure and prepared in accordance with generally
accepted accounting principles or other comprehensive bases
of accounting as defined in the standards established by the
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. Such
experience must be obtained under the supervision of a
certified public accountant who holds a valid permit to
practice certified public accountancy.

6.3.2   Each applicant must submit an affidavit from
each employer with whom qualifying experience is claimed,
setting forth the dates of employment, describing the nature
of applicant’s duties by area (audits, reviews, taxes) and
stating the approximate time devoted to each, and affirming
that the applicant discharged his or her duties in a competent

and professional manner. The affidavit must be signed by the
supervising Certified Public Accountant(s) and include a
statement indicating the jurisdiction of his or her certificate
and/or license.  If the applicant has worked for multiple
CPAs, the signature of  a qualifying CPA is sufficient.
However, the applicant must be able to furnish information
concerning permits of other supervising CPAs as requested
by the Board.

6.3.3  Only experience obtained after the conferring
of the degree under which the candidate applies shall be
accepted.   A “year” of qualifying experience shall consist of
fifty (50) weeks of full-time employment.  Two weeks of
part-time experience, as defined herein, shall be equivalent
to one week of full time employment.  A period of full-time
employment of less than ten consecutive weeks or part-time
employment of less than sixteen consecutive weeks will not
be recognized. Full-time employment shall be no less than
thirty-five (35) hours per week; part-time employment shall
be no less than 320 hours worked during a sixteen week
period with a minimum of ten (10) hours per week.  

6.4  Applicants who seek a permit based on their
experience in government or industry shall meet the
following standards and requirements:

6.4.1 The applicant shall submit a detailed
description of the education and experience requirements of
entry to his or her job, a detailed description of his or her
duties and responsibilities over the entire period of time
relied on to meet the experience qualification, a detailed
description of the reporting requirements of his or her job,
and a statement of the training opportunities in which the
applicant has participated. The employment submitted as
qualifying experience must include extensive experience
resulting in the preparation and issuance of financial
statements, including appropriate footnote disclosures, and
prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting
principles or other comprehensive bases of accounting as
defined in the standards established by the American
Institute of Certified Public Accountants.  Such experience
must be obtained under the direct supervision of a certified
public accountant who holds a valid permit to practice
certified public accounting.

6.4.2 Each applicant must submit an affidavit from
each supervising CPA with whom qualifying experience is
claimed, setting forth the dates of employment and verifying
the applicant’s statement of his or her duties and
responsibilities.  Each applicant must submit an affidavit
from each employer with whom qualifying experience is
claimed, setting forth the dates of employment, describing
the nature of applicant’s duties by area and affirming that the
applicant discharged his or her duties in a competent and
professional manner.  The affidavit must be signed by the
supervising Certified Public Accontant(s) and include a
statement indicating the jurisdiction of his or her certificate
and/or license.  If the applicant has worked for multiple
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CPAs, the signature of a qualifying CPA is sufficient.
However, the applicant must be able to furnish information
concerning permits of other supervising CPAs as requested
by the Board.

6.4.3   Each application under this subsection will
be considered on its own merits and the Board will evaluate
the applicant’s experience, as set forth in the application
materials, for the purpose of determining whether it is
substantially equivalent to experience as an employee of a
firm engaged in the practice of certified public accountancy.
Such experience may be prorated at less than 100%
equivalence.

6.5  Applicants who seek a permit based on their
experience in the practice of public accountancy shall meet
the following standards and requirements:

6.5.1 The distinguishing characteristic of practice
as a public accountant is the requirement that the practitioner
compile, review or audit all financial statements with which
his or her name is associated. Accordingly, the applicant
shall submit evidence of extensive experience obtained in
engagement, resulting in the preparation and issuance of
financial statements prepared in accordance with generally
accepted` accounting principles or other comprehensive
bases of accounting as defined in the standards established
by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

6.5.2 Each applicant must submit an affidavit from
each employer with whom qualifying experience is claimed,
or from the applicant himself or herself where the qualifying
experience is claimed as an owner or principal of a firm
engaged in the practice of public accountancy. Each affidavit
shall include  the dates of employment, describe the nature
of the applicant’s duties, state the approximate time devoted
to each, and affirm that the applicant discharged his or her
duties in a competent and professional manner. In the case of
a sole practitioner, the Board reserves the right to require the
sole practitioner to provide additional documentation
verifying his or her qualifying experience.

6.5.3  Only experience obtained after the conferring
of the degree under which the candidate applies shall be
accepted.   A “year” of qualifying experience shall consist of
fifty (50) weeks of full-time employment.  Two weeks of
part-time experience, as defined herein, shall be equivalent
to one week of full time employment.  A period of full-time
employment of less than ten consecutive weeks or part-time
employment of less than sixteen consecutive weeks will not
be recognized. Full-time employment shall be no less than
thirty-five (35) hours per week; part-time employment shall
be no less than 320 hours worked during a sixteen week
period with a minimum of ten (10) hours per week.  

7.0 REQUIREMENTS FOR PERMIT TO PRACTICE
PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY

7.1  Each applicant for a permit to practice public
accountancy must provide the Board with the following:

7.1.1  A statement under oath or other verification
satisfactory to the Board that the applicant  is of good
character as that term is defined in 24 Del.C. §107(a)(1).

7.1.2 Evidence in a form satisfactory to the Board
that the applicant holds, as a minimum, an associate degree
with a concentration in accounting. The provisions of
Sections 5.1.4.1 and 5.1.4.2 of these Rules and Regulations
also apply to applicants for permits to practice public
accountancy.

7.1.3  Evidence  in a form satisfactory to the Board
that the applicant has successfully passed the accounting
examination given by the Accreditation Council for
Accountancy & Taxation, which is the examination
recognized by the National Society of Public Accountants,
or both the Accounting and Reporting and the Auditing
portions of the Uniform Certified Public Accounting
Examination.

7.1.4  Evidence in a form satisfactory to the Board
that the applicant has successfully completed  the AICPA
self-study program "Professional Ethics for CPAs," or its
successor course, with a grade of not less than 90%.

7.1.5  A statement under oath or other verification
satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has not engaged
in any acts that would be grounds for discipline by the
Board.

7.1.6  A certified statement from the licensing
authority, or comparable agency,  that the applicant has no
pending disciplinary proceedings or complaints against him
or her in each jurisdiction where the applicant  currently or
previously held a permit to practice.

8.0  RECIPROCITY
8.1  An applicant seeking a permit to practice through

reciprocity shall demonstrate that he or she meets
requirements of 24 Del.C. §109(a) and must provide the
Board with the following:

8.1.1  A statement under oath or other verification
satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has not engaged
in any acts that would be grounds for discipline by the
Board; and 

8.1.2  A certified statement from the licensing
authority, or comparable agency,  that the applicant has no
pending disciplinary proceedings or complaints against him
or her in each jurisdiction where the applicant  currently or
previously held a certificate or permit to practice.

8.2  The provisions of Section 6.3 of these Rules and
Regulations shall also apply to the experience required by 24
Del.C. §109 (a) (3) for the granting of a permit by
reciprocity.

8.3  An applicant seeking a certificate through
reciprocity shall demonstrate that  he or she meets the
requirements of 24 Del.C. §114 and must provide the Board
with the following:

8.3.1  A certified statement from the licensing



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1126

authority, or comparable agency, of the jurisdiction through
which the applicant seeks reciprocity that the applicant holds
a valid certificate with no past or pending disciplinary
proceedings or complaints against him or her; and

8.3.2  Copies of the law and rules or regulations
establishing the requirements for certification in the
jurisdiction through which the applicant seeks reciprocity.   

9.0 FIRM PERMITS TO PRACTICE 
9.1  For purposes of 24 Del.C. §111 and this Section of

the Rules and Regulations, the term “principal of a firm” is
defined as any individual who has an equity interest in the
firm.

9.2  Certified public accounting and public accounting
firms practicing as corporations must be organized as
professional corporations ("P.C.") or professional
associations ("P.A.") in compliance with The Professional
Service Corporation Act, 8 Del. C. Sec. 671, et. seq.

9.3  Individuals not currently practicing certified public
accountancy or public accountancy shall not be required to
obtain a firm permit to practice until such a time as that
person begins to perform certified public accounting or
public accounting services.  

9.4  Certified public accounting and public accounting
firms may not practice using firms names that are misleading
as to organization, scope, or quality of services provided.

10.0CONTINUING EDUCATION
10.1  Hours Required: Each permit holder must have

completed at least 80 hours of acceptable continuing
professional education each biennial reporting period of each
year ending with an odd number. The eighty hours of
acceptable continuing professional education submitted must
have been completed in the immediately preceding two-year
period.

10.2  Reporting Requirements: The Board will mail
permit renewal forms which provide for continuing
professional education reporting to all permit holders.  Each
candidate for renewal shall submit a summary of  their
continuing education hours, along with any supporting
documentation requested by the Board, to the Board at least
60 days prior to the permit renewal date set by the Division
of Professional Regulation. 

10.3  Proration:  Prorated continuing professional
education regulations consisting of less than eighty hours
shall only apply to the first permit renewal, thereafter all
permit holders are required to complete at least eighty hours
of acceptable continuing professional education biennially.  

10.3.1   If the initial permit was issued less than one
year prior to the renewal date, there shall be no continuing
education requirement for that period.

10.3.2   If the initial permit was issued at least one
year, but less than two years prior to the renewal date, the
continuing education requirement shall be 40 hours for that

period.
10.4 Exceptions: The Board has the authority to make

exceptions to the continuing professional education
requirements for reasons including, but not limited to,
health, military service, foreign residency, and retirement.

10.5 Qualified Programs.
10.5.1  General Determination: The overriding

consideration in determining if a specific program qualifies
as a continuing professional education program is whether it
is a formal program of learning which contributes directly to
the professional competence of the permit holder.

10.5.2  Formal Programs: Formal programs
requiring class attendance will qualify only if:

10.5.2.1  An outline is prepared in advance and
the plan sponsor agrees to preserve a copy for five years or
the outline is provided to the participant or both.

10.5.2.2   The program is at least an hour (a
fifty-minute period) in length.

10.5.2.3  The program is conducted by a
qualified instructor or discussion leader.

10.5.2.4  A record of registration or attendance
is maintained for five years or the participant is furnished
with a statement of attendance, or both.

10.5.3  Programs deemed approved: Provided the
criteria in Sections 10.5.1 and 10.5.2 of these Rules and
Regulations are met, the following are deemed to qualify for
continuing professional education:

10.5.3.1 Programs approved by National
Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA);

10.5.3.2 Professional development programs of
national, state and local accounting organizations.

10.5.3.3   Technical sessions at meeting of
national, state and local accounting organizations and their
chapters.

10.5.3.4  University or college courses:
10.5.3.4.1 Credit courses: each semester

hour credit shall equal 5 hours of continuing professional
education.

10.5.3.4.2  Non-credit courses: each
classroom hour shall equal one hour of continuing
professional education.

10.5.3.5  Programs of other organizations
(accounting, industrial, professional, etc.)

10.5.3.6 Other organized educational programs
on technical and other practice subjects including “in-house”
training programs of public accounting firms.

10.5.4  Correspondence and Individual Study
Programs: Formal correspondence or other individual study
programs which provide evidence of satisfactory completion
will qualify, with the amount of credit to be determined by
the Board. The Board will not approve any program of
learning that does not offer sufficient evidence that the work
has actually been accomplished. The maximum credit
toward meeting the continuing professional education
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requirement with formal correspondence or other individual
study programs shall not exceed 30% of the total
requirement.

10.5.5   Instructors and Discussion Leaders: Credit
for one hour of continuing professional education will be
awarded for each hour completed as an instructor or
discussion leader plus two additional hours of credit for each
classroom hour for research and preparation to the extent
that the activity contributes to the professional competence
of the registrant as determined by the Board. No credit will
be awarded for repeated offerings of the same subject matter.
The maximum credit toward meeting the continuing
professional education requirement as an instructor or
discussion leader shall not exceed 50% of the total
requirement.

10.5.6 Published Articles and Books: One hour
credit will be granted for each 50 minute period of
preparation time on a self-declaration basis to a maximum of
20 hours in each biennial reporting period.  A copy of the
published article must be submitted to the Board upon
request.  

10.5.7 Committee, Dinner, Luncheon and Firm
Meetings.  One hour credit will be granted for each 50
minutes of participation.  Credit will only be granted for
those meetings which are structured as a continuing
education program.

10.6 Control and Reporting
10.6.1  Each applicant for permit renewal shall

provide a signed statement under penalty of perjury,
disclosing the following information pertaining to the
educational programs submitted in satisfaction of the
continuing education requirements:

10.6.1.1 school, firm or organization
conducting course;

10.6.1.2 location of course;
10.6.1.3 title of course or description of

content;
10.6.1.4 dates attended; and
10.6.1.5 hours claimed.

10.6.2  The Board may verify information
submitted by applicants by requesting submission of the
documentation to be retained by the applicant and/or sponsor
and may revoke permits for which deficiencies exist. If a
Continuing Professional Education Statement submitted by
an applicant for permit renewal is not approved, or if upon
verification, revocation is being considered, the applicant
will be notified and may be granted a period of time in which
to correct the deficiencies.

10.7  Evidence of Completion- Retention
10.7.1 Primary responsibility for documenting the

requirements rest with the applicant. Evidence in support of
the requirements should be retained for a period of five years
after completion of the educational activity.

10.7.2  Sufficiency of evidence includes retention

of course outlines and such signed statements of attendance
as may be furnished by the sponsor. 

10.7.3  For courses taken for scholastic credit in
accredited universities or colleges, evidence of satisfactory
completion of the course will satisfy the course outline and
attendance record.

10.7.4  For non-credit courses at accredited
universities or colleges, a statement of the hours of
attendance signed by the instructor or an authorized official
of the sponsoring institution, must be obtained and retained
by the applicant. Course outlines may be retained by the
sponsoring institution for a period of five years in lieu of
retention of the outlines by the applicant.

10.8  Composition of Continuing Professional
Education: The biennial continuing professional education
requirement shall include a minimum of 20 percent in
accounting and/or auditing and a minimum of 20 percent in
taxation and the remaining hours may be satisfied by general
subject matters so long as they contribute to the professional
competence of the individual practitioner. Such general
subject matters include, but are not limited to, the following
areas:

Accounting
Auditing
Taxation
Management Services Mathematics, Statistics,

Probability, and Quantitative Applications
in Business

Finance, Production and Marketing
Personnel Relations, Business Management

and Organization
Computer Science
Communication Arts
Economics
Business Law
Social Environment of Business
Specialized Areas of Industry
Administrative Practice

11.0   ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS CONCERNING
EXAMINATIONS

11.1  All examinations required under 24 Del.C. Chapter
1 and these Rules and Regulations shall be graded by the
applicable grading service of the organization offering the
examination.

11.2  Applications to sit for the May or November
Uniform Certified Public Accountant examination (“CPA
examination”) shall be submitted in completed form to the
Board’s designated agent by the dates determined by the
Board’s designated agent.

11.3  The CPA examination shall be in the subjects of
accounting and reporting, financial accounting and
reporting, auditing, and business law, and in such other or
additional subjects that may be covered in successor
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examinations as may be required to qualify for a certificate.  
11.4  Rules for Examination.

11.4.1  Examinations shall be in writing.
11.4.2  Applicants are permitted to use  pencil and

eraser.  Calculators provided at the exam site are the only
mechanical devices allowed.

11.4.3  At any examination, an applicant must
prepare and submit to the Board papers on all required
subjects for which he or she does not have current credit for
certification or permit, whichever is applicable.

11.4.4  An applicant who commits an act of
dishonesty or otherwise engages in any other form of
misconduct, will be expelled from the examination room and
may be denied the right to sit for future examinations.

11.4.5  Applicants will be informed in writing
of the results achieved in each examination.  

11.5  Passing Grade on the Uniform CPA Examination
11.5.1  An applicant for a certificate who receives a

grade of 75 or higher in all four subjects at one examination
shall be deemed to have passed the Uniform Certified Public
Accountant Examination.  

11.5.2  An applicant who is taking only the
Accounting and Reporting (ARE) and Financial Accounting
and Reporting (FARE) sections of the CPA examination in
order to apply for a permit to practice public accounting,
who receives a grade of 75 or higher in both required
subjects, shall be deemed to have passed the applicable parts
of the CPA examination.

11.6  Conditional Status for Subjects passed in this State
11.6.1  An applicant who sits for all required parts

of either examination and who receives a grade of 75 or
higher in one or more, but less than all subjects passed may
attain conditional status under the following circumstances:

11.6.1.1  To attain conditional status, the
applicant must obtain a grade of 75 or higher in two subjects
and obtain a grade of at least 50 in all subjects not passed.
This minimum grade requirement is waived if three subjects
are passed at a single examination.

11.6.1.2  To add to conditional status, the
applicant must obtain a grade of at least 50 in all subjects not
passed.  Although a grade of less than 50 prevents the
applicant from adding to his or her conditional status, it
alone does not remove or cancel conditional status
previously attained.

11.6.1.3  To pass the examination via
conditional status, an applicant must pass the remaining
subjects within 5 consecutive examinations following the
attainment of conditional status.  The conditional period may
be extended at the discretion of the Board, if an applicant is
unable to sit for a given examination because of health,
military service or other circumstances generally beyond the
applicant’s control.

11.6.1.4 An applicant who fails to pass all
subjects required during the 5 consecutive examinations

following the attainment of conditional status, shall forfeit
all credits and shall, upon application as a new applicant, be
examined again in all subjects.

11.7 Transfer of Credit for Subjects Passed in Another
Jurisdiction

11.7.1 An applicant who has passed one or more
subjects of either examination in another jurisdiction will be
permitted to transfer to this jurisdiction credit for the parts so
passed under the following conditions, and provided the
requirements of Section 11.6 of these Rules and Regulations
have been met:

11.7.1.1 At the time he or she sat for the
examination in the other jurisdiction, he or she met all the
requirements of the statute and regulations to sit for the
examination in Delaware; and

11.7.1.2 At the time he or she makes
application to sit for the examination in Delaware, he or she
meets all the requirements of the Delaware statute and
regulations; and

11.7.1.3 Credit for any subject of the
examination which is transferred from some other
jurisdiction to Delaware will be treated as if that credit had
been earned in Delaware on the same date such credit was
earned in the other jurisdiction, and all time requirements of
Delaware conditional status will be applied to it.

11.7.2 The Board will require satisfactory
evidence from the transferring jurisdiction as to the validity
of the credit.

11.7.3  If an applicant has passed all subjects of
either examination in one or more other jurisdictions, but
does not possess a certificate or permit from one of the
jurisdictions in which a subject was passed, transfer of credit
will only be permitted if a satisfactory explanation of such
lack of a certificate or permit is furnished to the Board in
writing.  The Board may require a written explanation of
why no certificate or permit was issued from the jurisdiction
in which the final subject was successfully completed.

12.0.    EXCEPTED PRACTICES; WORKING PAPERS
12.1.   Excepted Practices: The offering or rendering of

data processing services by mechanical or electronic means
is not prohibited by 24 Del.C. §115.  However, the exception
applies only to the processing of accounting data as
furnished by the client and does not include the classification
or verification of such accounting data or the analysis of the
resulting financial statement by other than mechanical or
electronic equipment not prohibited by this Section.  The
rendering of advice or assistance in regard to accounting
controls, systems and procedures is exempt only as it
pertains to the specific equipment or data processing service
being offered.  The exemption does not cover study and/or
advice regarding accounting controls, systems and
procedures in general. Persons, partnerships or corporations
offering or performing data processing services or services
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connected with mechanical or electronic equipment are
subject to all provisions of 24 Del.C. Chapter 1.

12.2  Working Papers:  For purposes of 24 Del.C. §120,
the term “working papers” does not properly include client
records.  In some instances, a permit holder’s working
papers may include data which should be part of the client’s
books and records, rendering the client’s books and records
incomplete.  In such instances, that portion of the working
papers containing such data constitutes part of the client’s
records and should be made available to the client upon
request.

13.0 HEARINGS
13.1 Disciplinary proceedings against any certificate or

permit holder may be initiated by an aggrieved person by
submitting a complaint in writing to the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation as specified in 29 Del.
C. §8807(h)(1)-(3). 

13.1.1  A copy of the written complaint shall be
forwarded to the administrative assistant for the Board.  At
the next regularly scheduled Board meeting, a contact person
for the Board shall be appointed and a copy of the written
complaint given to that person.

13.1.2   The contact person appointed by the Board
shall maintain strict confidentiality with respect to the
contents of the complaint and shall not discuss the matter
with other Board members or with the public.  The contact
person shall maintain contact with the investigator or deputy
attorney general assigned to the case regarding the progress
of the investigation.

13.1.3   In the instance when the case is being
closed by the Division, the contact person shall report the
facts and conclusions to the Board without revealing the
identities of the parties involved.  No vote of the Board is
necessary to close the case.

13.1.4   If a hearing has been requested by the
Deputy Attorney General, a copy of these Rules and
Regulations shall be provided to the respondent upon
request.  The notice of hearing shall fully comply with 29
Del. C. Sec. 10122 and 10131 pertaining to the requirements
of the notice of proceedings. All notices shall be sent to the
respondent’s address as reflected in the Board’s records.

13.1.5  At any disciplinary hearing, the respondent
shall have the right to appear in person or be represented by
counsel, or both.  A partnership or corporation may be
represented at such hearing by a duly authorized
representative of such partnership or corporation who shall
be a partner or shareholder thereof and a permit holder of the
State in good standing, or by counsel, or both. The
Respondent shall have the right to produce evidence and
witnesses on his or her behalf and to cross examine
witnesses. The Respondent shall be entitled to the issuance
of subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and the
production of documents on his or her behalf.

13.1.6  No less than 10 days prior to the date set for
a disciplinary hearing, the Department of Justice and the
accused shall submit to the Board and to each other, a list of
the witnesses they intend to call at the hearing.  Witnesses
not listed shall be permitted to testify only upon a showing of
reasonable cause for such omission.

13.1.7  If the respondent fails to appear at a
disciplinary hearing after receiving the notice required by 29
Del.C. §10122 and 10131, the Board may proceed to hear
and determine the validity of the charges against the
respondent.

13.2.  General procedure
13.2.1  The Board may administer oaths, take

testimony, hear proofs and receive exhibits into evidence at
any hearing. All testimony at any  hearing shall be under
oath.

13.2.2  Strict rules of evidence shall not apply.  All
evidence having probative value commonly accepted by
reasonably prudent people in the conduct of their affairs
shall be admitted.

13.2.3   An attorney representing a party in a
hearing or matter before the Board shall notify the  Board of
the representation in writing as soon as practical.

13.2.4  Requests for postponements of any matter
scheduled before the Board shall be submitted to the Board’s
office in writing at least three (3) days before the date
scheduled for the hearing. Absent a showing of exceptional
hardship, there shall be a maximum of one postponement
allowed to each party to any hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY & BARBERING

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Section 5106(14) (24 Del.C. 5106(14))

The Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
proposes to amend current Rule 5.1,pursuant to 24 Del.C. §§
5106 and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101. The purpose of the proposed
amendment is to clarify that work experience required for
licensure by reciprocity must have been obtained in a state or
jurisdiction outside of Delaware.

A public hearing on the proposed regulation will be held
on Monday, April 24, 2000 at 9:00 a.m., in Conference
Room A, Second Floor, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. The Board will receive and
consider input from interested persons on the proposed rule
amendment. Oral comments will be received at the public
hearing.  Any written comments should be submitted to the
Board in care of Gayle Melvin at the above address.  The
final date to submit written comments shall be at the above
scheduled public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy
of the proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments
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at the public hearing should notify Gayle Melvin at the
above address or by calling (302) 739-4522.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

Delaware  Board of Cosmetology and Barbering

1.0 Demonstrations
2.0 Temporary Work Permits
3.0 Instructor Curriculum for Barbering

and Cosmetology
4.0 Instructor Requirements
5.0 Reciprocity Requirements
6.0 Equipment for Cosmetology and Barbering Schools
7.0 Equipment for Nail Technology Schools
8.0 Equipment for Electrology Schools
9.0 Course outline for Aesthetician
10.0 Equipment for Aesthetics Schools
11.0 Registration of Salons and Schools
12.0 Apprenticeship and Supervision
13.0 Transfer of Nail Technician Hours to Cosmetology

Programs
14.0 Licensure Requirements
15.0 Foreign Diplomas
16.0 Health and Sanitation: Electric Nail Files

and Laser Technology
 
1.0 Demonstrations

1.1 Licensed professionals from other states may
consult with an individual from this state on new techniques,
new trends, new products and equipment knowledge
provided they contact the Board of Cosmetology and
Barbering and apply for a work permit.  This would also
apply to consulting in a trade show.  The work permit will be
good only for thirty (30) days within a calendar year. (24
Del.C. §5103 (1))
2.0 Temporary Work Permits

2.1 Temporary work permits will be issued to an
applicant who is eligible for admission to the cosmetology,
nail technician, barbering or electrology examination with
the appropriate fees paid. The purpose of a temporary work
permit is to allow an otherwise qualified applicant to practice
pending the applicant’s scoring of a passing grade on the
examination.

2.2 A temporary work permit is valid for thirty (30)
days past the next available examination date.

2.3 The holder of a temporary work permit for
cosmetology shall practice under the supervision of a
licensed cosmetologist, barber, cosmetology or barber
instructor.

2.4 The holder of a temporary work permit for nail
technology shall practice under the supervision of a licensed
nail technical, cosmetologist, or cosmetology instructor.

2.5 The holder of a temporary work permit for
barbering shall practice under the supervision of a licensed
barber, cosmetologist, cosmetology or barber instructor.

2.6 The holder of a temporary work permit for
electrology shall practice under the supervision of a licensed
electrologist or electrology instructor.

2.7 A temporary work permit for reciprocity will be
issued to an applicant who meets or exceeds all the
requirements for the State of Delaware.  24 Del.C. §5106 (7)

3.0 Instructor Curriculum for Barbering and Cosmetology
3.1 Course Outline - Instructor 500 Hours

Subject Matter Minimum Clock Hours
Orientation 50
Practical Laboratory Management 200
Classroom Teaching and

Management 200
Theory and Testing 50

3.2 Course Outline - Instructor 250 Hours
Subject Matter Minimum Clock Hours
Orientation 25
Practical Laboratory Management 100
Classroom Teaching and Management   100
Theory and Testing 25

(24 Del.C. §5106(13)

4.0 Instructor Requirements
4.1 Any licensed cosmetologist or barber who has

successfully completed a course of 500 hours in teacher
training in a registered school of cosmetology or barbering
(as specified in Paragraph III); or has at least two (2) years
experience as an active licensed, practicing cosmetologist or
barber,  supplemented by at least 250 hours of teacher
training in a registered school of cosmetology or barbering
(as specified in Paragraph III).

4.2 Proof of educational documentation from registered
school of cosmetology or barbering for specified hours of
teacher training.

4.3 Experience shall be documented by a notarized
statement from the current or previous employers for at least
two (2) years experience as an active licensed practicing
cosmetologist or barber. (24 Del.C. §5106 (13).

5.0  Reciprocity Requirements
5.1 Any applicant from a state with less stringent

requirements than Delaware would be is required to provide
a notarized statement from a present or prior employer(s)
testifying to work experience in the field for which the
applicant is seeking a license in Delaware for a period of one
year before making application.  The work experience must
have been obtained in a state or jurisdiction outside of
Delaware.  Unlicensed practice within the State of Delaware
shall not qualify as valid work experience.

Reference Section 2 for temporary work permit. (24



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1131

Del.C. §5109(a)

6.0 Equipment for Cosmetology and Barbering Schools
6.1 A school enrolling up to 25 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
6.1.1  (4) Shampoo basins.
6.1.2  (8) Hair dryers.
6.1.3  (4) Manicure tables and chairs.
6.1.4  (4) Dry sterilizers (sanitizers).
6.1.5  (4) Wet sterilizers (sanitizers).
6.1.6  (6) Dozen permanent wave rods.
6.1.7  (2) Reclining chair with headrest.
6.1.8  (1) Mannequin per student.
6.1.9  (12) Work Stations.
6.1.10  Mirrors and chairs.
6.1.11  (1) Locker for each student.
6.1.12  (4) Closed containers for soiled linen.
6.1.13  (3) Closed waste containers.
6.1.14 (1) Container for sterile solution for each

manicure table.
6.1.15 (1) Bulletin board with dimensions of at least

2 feet by 2 feet.
6.1.16  (1) Chalkboard with dimensions of at least 4

feet by 4 feet.
6.1.17  (1) Cabinet for towels.
6.1.18  An arm chair or usable table and chair for

each student in the theory room.
6.1.19  (3) Timer clocks.
6.1.20  Attendance records.
6.1.21  (1) Soap machine.
6.1.22  (1) Textbook for each student. 

(24 Del.C. §5117 (a)

7.0 Equipment for Nail Technology Schools
7.1 A school enrolling up to 25 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
7.1.1  (4) Manicure tables and chairs.
7.1.2  (4) Manicure lights.
7.1.3  (1) First Aid Kit.
7.1.4  (1) Pedicure basin and stand.
7.1.5  (1) Covered Waste Container.
7.1.6  (1) Closed storage cabinet for soiled linen.
7.1.7  (1) Closed towel cabinet for clean linen.
7.1.8  Clean linen.
7.1.9 (1) Container for sterile solution for each

manicure table.
7.1.10 (1) Bulletin board with dimensions of at least

2 feet by 2 feet.
7.1.11 (1) Chalkboard with dimensions of at least 4

feet by 4 feet.
7.1.12  Attendance Records.
7.1.13  Reception Desk.
7.1.14  Proper Ventilation.
7.1.15  (4) Dry Sterilizers.

7.1.16  (4) Wet Sterilizers.
7.1.17  Dispensary.

7.2 For each additional nail technician, equipment and
supplies shall be increased so that each nail technician can
render services safely and efficiently. (24 Del C. §5117 (a)

8.0 Equipment for Electrology Schools
8.1 A school enrolling up to 2 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
8.1.1  (1)  Epilator (Short Wave or Blend) Needle

type only.
8.1.2  (1)  All purpose chair or lounge.
8.1.3  (1)  Magnifying lamp (wall mounted or on a

stand). 8.1.4  (1) Tweezers for each student.
8.1.5  (1)  Movable table for the epilator.
8.1.6  (1)  Adjustable stool on wheels.
8.1.7  All needles used for treatment must be

disposable type only.
8.1.8  Sterilizing materials and rubber gloves.
8.1.9  (1) Textbook for each student.

9.0 Course Outline for Aesthetician
9.1 Subject Matter Clock Hours

Personal Development 10
Health and Science 65
Hygienic Provisions 15
Consultation and Record

Keeping 30
Machines, Apparatus, 
Including Procedures 25
Related Skin Care Procedures 15
Makeup and Color 30
Business Management and

Sales Practice 10
Clinic and Practice 100

Total Minimum Hours 300
(24 Del.C. §5132(a)

10.0  Equipment for Aesthetics Schools
10.1  A school enrolling up to 2 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
10.1.1  (1)  Complete set of skin care equipment as

follows:  Steamer - Brush Unit -Vacuum Spray - Galvanic -
High Frequency Unit.

10.1.2  (1)  All purpose chair or lounge.
10.1.3 (1)  Magnifying lamp (wall mounted or on a

stand). 10.1.4  (1)  Adjustable stool on wheels.
10.1.5  Sterilizing materials and rubber gloves.
10.1.6  (1)  Textbook for each student.

(24 Del.C. §5130(a)

11.0 Registration of Salons and Schools 
11.1 A person licensed by the Board as a

cosmetologist, barber, electrologist, nail technician or
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instructor shall not work in a beauty salon, barbershop, nail
salon, electrology establishment, school of cosmetology,
barbering, nail technology, or electrology unless this
establishment has the certificate of registration.  (24 Del.C.
§5117)

12.0 Apprenticeship and Supervision
12.1 Any person applying for licensure as a

cosmetologist or  barber through apprenticeship must
complete the necessary apprentice hours in not less than
eighteen (18) months and not more than 48 months.

12.2 Any person applying for licensure as a nail
technician through apprenticeship must complete the
necessary apprentice hours in not less than six (6) weeks and
not more than 24 months.

12.3 Any person applying for licensure as an
electrologist through apprenticeship must complete the
necessary apprentice hours in not less than fifteen (15)
weeks and not more than 36 months.

12.4 Any person applying for certification as an
aesthetician through apprenticeship must complete the
necessary apprentice hours in not less than fifteen (15)
weeks and not more than 36 months.

12.5 On written application to the Board prior to
completion of the apprenticeship, the Board may grant
extensions to these time frames for good cause shown.

12.6 Applicants for licensure as nail technician may
apprentice under the supervision of either licensed nail
technician or a licensed cosmetologist.

(24 Del.C. §5107)

13.0 Transfer of Nail Technician Hours to Cosmetology
Programs

13.1 Apprentice nail technician hours earned
totaling 250 may be transferred and applied to an apprentice
cosmetology program totaling 3,000 hours. Public/private
student nail technician hours earned totaling 125 may be
transferred and applied to a public/private cosmetology
school curriculum totaling 1,500 hours. (24 Del.C. §5107)

14.0 Licensure Requirements
14.1 Each licensee licensed by the Board and each

registered person, firm, corporation or association operating
a beauty salon, barbershop, nail salon, or electrology
establishment shall be responsible for ensuring that all of its
employee requiring a license are licensed in Delaware prior
to the commencement of employment.  The licensee and/or
registrant shall have available for inspection on premises at
all time a copy of the Delaware license of its employees.

14.2 A Licensee and /or registrant who employs
unlicensed individuals may be subject to discipline pursuant
to 24 Del.C. §5113(a)(b). (24 Del.C. §5103)

15.0 Application for Licensure

15.1 All applications for licensure or certification
must be submitted on forms approved by the Board and the
Division of Professional Regulation and be accompanied by
the appropriate fee.

15.2 Each applicant must provide proof of any
required general or professional education in the form of :
(1) a certified transcript or diploma; or (2) affidavits of the
registrar or other appropriate official; or (3) any other
document evidencing completion of the necessary education
to the Board’s satisfaction.

15.3 Any applicant submitting credentials,
transcripts or other documents from a program or
educational facility outside the United States or its territories
must provide the Board with a certificate of translation from
a person or agency acceptable to the Board, if appropriate,
and an educational credential evaluation from an agency
approved by the Board demonstrating that his or her training
and education are equivalent to domestic training and
education.

16.0 Health and Sanitation; Electric Nail Files and Laser
Technology

16.1 Each licensee, instructor, certified aesthetician,
and registered salon or school shall follow all regulations or
standards issued by the Division of Public Health or its
successor agency relating to health, safety or sanitation in
the practice of cosmetology, barbering, electrology or nail
technology.

16.2 In addition to any regulation or standard
adopted by the Division of Public Health, each licensee,
instructor, certified aesthetician, and registered salon school
shall follow the standards for infection control and blood
spill procedures promulgated by the National Interstate
Council or its successor organization.

16.3 Electric nail files and electric drills shall not be
used on natural nails.  The use of methyl methacrylate
(MMA) is prohibited. No licensee, instructor, certified
aesthetician, school, beauty salon or shop shall use or permit
the use of MMA.

16.4 The use of laser technology for hair removal is
not work generally or usually performed by cosmetologists
and is prohibited.

16.5 Violation of any of the regulations, standards
or prohibitions established under this Rule shall constitute a
grounds for discipline under section 24 Del.C. §5113  (24
Del C. §§5100, 5101(4), 5112 and 5113)
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF PHARMACY

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 2509 (24 Del.C. 2509)

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §2509,
the Delaware Board of Pharmacy has developed and
proposes to adopt changes to Regulations I - Pharmacist
Licensure Requirements, II Grounds for Disciplinary
Proceeding, and V Dispensing.  The changes to Regulation I
eliminate the Continuing Education Committee, transferring
the Committee's responsibilities to the Board. The conduct
previously defined in Regulation II as "gross immorality" is
now included in the term "unprofessional conduct".
Regulation V may be amended to include a definition for
"container", to clarify the activity allowed for supportive
personnel to insure a final check of a prescription by a
pharmacist and to allow for electronically transmitted
prescriptions.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Wednesday, April 12, 2000 at 12:00 noon in
the Jesse Cooper Building, Room 309 (third floor conference
room), Federal and Water Streets, Dover, DE 19901.  The
Board will receive and consider input from any person on the
proposed Rules and Regulations.  Written comment can be
submitted at any time prior to the hearing in care of Gradella
E. Bunting at the above address.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty- (20) days before the
hearing in addition to publication in the Register of
Regulations. Written copies of the proposed regulations may
be obtained from the Board of Pharmacy by contacting
Gradella E. Bunting at the above address or calling (302)
739-4798.

Regulation I
Pharmacist Licensure Requirements

A. Examination Requirements
1. In order to be eligible for examination for licensure,

an applicant must have graduated from an approved school
or college of pharmacy.  An approved school or college of
pharmacy is an institution which has established standards in
its undergraduate degree program which are at least
equivalent to the minimum standards for accreditation
established by the American Council on Pharmaceutical
Education.  Provided, however, that graduates of schools or
colleges of pharmacy located outside of the United States,
which have not established standards in their respective
undergraduate degree programs which are at least equivalent
to the minimum standards for accreditation established by
the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education, shall be
deemed eligible for examination for licensure by providing

evidence satisfactory to the Board of Pharmacy of
graduation from such school or college and by successfully
passing an equivalency examination recognized by the
Board of Pharmacy.  Certification by the National
Association of Boards of Pharmacy Foundation (NABP)
Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee
(FPGEC) meets the equivalency examination requirement.

2. Candidates must obtain a passing grade of 75 on the
NABPLEX NAPLEX Examination to be eligible for a
license to practice.  The Secretary will supply the grade
obtained to the candidate upon receipt of a written request
from that person.  In addition, candidates must take and
obtain a passing grade of 75 on a Jurisprudence
Examination.  

3. Any applicant who fails the examination shall be
entitled to take a re-examination on the Board's next
regularly scheduled NABPLEX examination date.  If an
applicant has failed the examination three times, he/she shall
be eligible to take the examination at the next regularly
scheduled time, provided that he/she produces evidence of
working full-time as an intern for a period of six months
between examinations or has attended an accredited college
of pharmacy as a registered student for a minimum of one
semester consisting of 12 credits during the interim.  A
certification of satisfactory completion of such work shall be
furnished by the Dean of the College or the preceptor as the
case may be.  The applicant may continue to sit for the
Examination at its regularly scheduled time in the next
succeeding years, provided the applicant has fulfilled the
requirement for internship or course of study required herein
between each examination.

4. Three failures of the Jurisprudence Examination
requires three months of internship or one semester college
course of Jurisprudence prior to the applicant being eligible
to re-take the Jurisprudence examination.

B. Practical Experience Requirements
1. Applicant must submit an affidavit indicating

enrollment in good standing as a student entering the first
professional year of college of pharmacy or if the applicant
is a graduate of a foreign pharmacy school, produce
evidence that he has passed an equivalency examination by
the Board.

2. Persons who register as interns in the State of
Delaware shall, in accordance with the requirements of 24
Del. C. §2515, complete not less than 1500 hours of Board
approved practical experience under the supervision of a
licensed pharmacist.  The preceptor must certify that the
intern has successfully completed all the requirements
outlined in the Responsibilities of the Intern professional
assessment form.  The registrant must submit an affidavit of
hours currently completed and properly notarized 30 days
prior to taking the examination.  Applicants who have not
completed all the practical experience requirements, but who
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have graduated from an accredited college or have been
certified by the NABP Foreign Pharmacy Graduate
Examination Committee are eligible to take the examination.
However, applicants will not be fully licensed until all the
requirements of the Statutes and Regulations are completed.

C. Continuing Education Requirements
1. A pharmacist must acquire 3.0 C.E.U.'s (30 hours)

per biennial licensure period.  No carry over of credit from
one registration period to another period is permitted.

2. Hardship - Hardship exemptions may be granted by
the Board of Pharmacy upon receipt of evidence that the
individual was unable to complete the requirements due to
circumstances beyond his control. The Board may seek the
advice of its Continuing Education Advisory Council in
determining the granting of or length of the extension.

Criteria for Hardship Exemption as Recommended by
the Continuing Education Advisory Council Board of
Pharmacy:

a) Applicant must notify the Board in writing
concerning the nature of the hardship and the time needed
for an extension.  In case of medical disability, a letter from
the physician with supporting documentation to corroborate
the condition and the length of time of extension needed.

b) The Board of Pharmacy will review requests.
The Continuing Education Advisory Council will review
requests and send recommendations to the Board.

c) The Board will notify the registrant of its
decision.

3. Persons who are newly licensed after the
registration period begins, must complete continuing
education units proportional to the total number of
continuing education units required for the biennial licensure
renewal.  (1.25 hours/per month) 

D.  Advisory Council on Continuing Education
The Board shall establish a council of six persons to

evaluate and approve intrastate programs and to advise the
Board on any matters pertinent to continuing education.
Three pharmacists are to be recommended by the
professional pharmacy organizations of the State; one
member will represent independent pharmacists; two shall
be members of the Board of Pharmacy; one shall be a
pharmaceutical educator from one of the colleges located in
Maryland, New Jersey or Pennsylvania.  The committee will
select a Chairman from among its membership.
Appointments shall be for two year periods.  No member
may serve more than two consecutive terms.

E. D.Continuing Professional Educational Programs
1. Topics of Study
Topics of study shall be subject matter designed to

maintain and enhance the contemporary practice of
pharmacy.

2. Approved Provider 
a. Any provider approved by ACPE.
b. In-state organization which meets criteria

approved by the Board.
3. Application for Delaware State Provider

a. Any in-state organization may apply to the
Board on forms provided by the Board for initial
qualification as an approved provider. The Board shall
accept or reject any such application by written notice to
such organization within 60 days after receipt of its
application.  If an organization is approved, the Board will
issue a certificate or other notification of qualification to it,
which approval shall be effective for a period of two years
and shall be renewable upon the fulfillment of all
requirements for renewal as set forth by the Board.

b. The Board may revoke or suspend an approval
of a provider or refuse to renew such approval if the provider
fails to maintain the standards and specifications required.
The Board shall serve written notice on the provider by mail
or personal delivery at its address as shown on its most
current application specifying the reason for suspension,
revocation, or failure to renew.  The provider so affected
shall, upon written request to the Board within ten days after
service of the notice, be granted a prompt hearing before the
Board at which time it will be permitted to introduce matters
in person, or by its counsel, to defend itself against such
revocation, suspension, or failure to renew, in accordance
with the provisions set forth in the State's Administrative
Procedures Act.

4. Criteria for Approval of Delaware State Providers
Only applicants who are located within the State of

Delaware are eligible.  Such Continuing Education providers
shall provide evidence of ability to meet the following
criteria or approval as a Continuing Pharmaceutical
Education Provider.  Other persons must apply through
ACPE for approval or be acceptable to other Boards of
Pharmacy that certify continuing education for relicensure. 

a. Administration and Organization
(1) The person who is in charge of making

sure that the program meets the quality standards must have
a background in the administration of education programs.

(2) There shall be an identifiable person or
persons charged with the responsibility of administering the
continuing pharmaceutical education program.

(3) Such personnel shall be qualified for such
responsibilities by virtue of experience and background.

(4) If an approved provider presents programs
in co-sponsorship with other non-approved provider(s),  the
approved provider has the total responsibility for assurance
of quality of that program.  If more than one approved
provider co-sponsors a program, they have the joint
responsibility for assuring quality.

(5) Administrative Requirements include:
(a) The development of promotional
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materials which state:
1. Educational objectives.
2. The target audience.
3. The time schedule of the

activities.
4. Cost to the participant/covered

items.
5. Amount of C.E. credit which will

be awarded.
6. Credentials of the faculty,

presenters, and speakers.
7. Self-evaluation instruments.

(b) Compliance with a quantitative
measure for C.E. credit.

1. The number of C.E.U.'s to be
awarded for successful completion shall be determined by
the provider and reported in the promotional materials.

2. In cases where the participants'
physical presence is required, C.E. credit will only be
awarded for that portion of the program which concerns
itself with the lecture(s), evaluation and question and answer
segments.

3. The measure of credit shall be a
fifty-minute contact hour.In the case of other programs such
as home study courses, the amount of credit awarded shall be
determined by assessing the amount of time the activity
would require for completion by the participant if delivered
in a more formal and structured format.

4. In the case  of other programs
such as home study courses., the amount of credit awarded
shall be determined by assessing the amount of time the
activity would require for completion by the participant if
delivered in a more formal and structured format.

5. The provider must provide the
Continuing Education Advisory Council upon request with
appropriate records of successful participation in previous
continuing education activities.

6. The provider must present to the
participant a form or certificate as documentation of the
completion of the program.  The form must be at least 4" x
6" and no larger than 8 1/2" x 11".  That certificate must
show the name, address, and license number of the
participant, the name of the provider, the title and date of the
program, the number of credits earned, and an authorized
signature from the provider.

7. The provider must have a policy
and procedure for the handling or management of grievances
and refunds of tuition.

b. Program Faculty
The selection of program faculty must be based

upon proved competency in the subject matter and an ability
to communicate in order to achieve a learning experience.

c. Program Content Development
(1) Such programs shall involve effective

advance planning.  A statement of educational goals and/or
behaviors must be included in promotional materials.  Such
objectives and goals must be measurable and accessible to
evaluation.  In determining program content, providers shall
involve appropriate members of the intended audience in
order to satisfy the educational needs of the participants.  All
programs of approved providers should pertain to the general
areas of professional pharmacy practices which should
include, but not be limited to:

(a) The social, economic, behavioral, and
legal aspects of health care,

(b) the properties and actions of drugs
and drug dosage forms,

(c) the etiology, characteristics,
therapeutics and prevention of the disease state,

(d) pharmaceutical monitoring and
management of patients.

(2) All ancillary teaching tools shall be
suitable and appropriate to the topic.

(3) All materials shall be updated periodically
to include up-to-date-practice setting.

(4) It is the responsibility of the provider to be
sure that the programs are continuously upgraded to meet
educational objectives of the Practice of Pharmacy.  The
needs of the pharmacist participant must be considered in
choosing the method of delivery.  Innovation in
presentations is encouraged within the limits of budget
resources and facilities.  Whatever method of delivery is
used, it must include the participation of the pharmacist as
much as possible within the program, i.e. questions and
answers, workshops, etc.

d.      Facilities
The facilities shall be adequate for the size of

the audience, properly equipped (all appropriate audio/-
visual media materials), well lighted and ventilated to induce
a proper learning experience.

e. Evaluation
Effective evaluation of programs is essential

and is the responsibility of both the provider and participant.
(1) Participant - Some evaluation mechanisms

must be developed by the provider to allow the participant to
assess his/her own achievement per the program.

(2) Provider evaluation - a provider shall also
develop an instrument for the use of the participant in
evaluating the effectiveness of the program including the
level of fulfillment of stated objectives.

f. Criteria for Awarding Continuing Education
Credits 

Individual programs must meet the criteria for
provider approval in order to be considered.  In those cases
where the provider is not an ACPE provider, nor a Board of
Pharmacy approved provider, a registrant may complete an
application provided by the Board for approval of individual
programs.
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(1) In order to receive full credit for non-
ACPE approved programs of one-to-two hour lengths,
evidence of a post test must be presented.  An automatic
25% deduction if no post test presented.

(2) In order to receive full credit for non
ACPE approved programs of three or more hours in length,
evidence of a pre and post test must be presented.  Automatic
25% deduction if no pre and post test presented.

(3) The Committee will only assign credit for
the core content of the program which explicitly relates to
the contemporary practice of Pharmacy.

(4) A maximum of 2 credit hours will be
awarded for First Aid or CPR/BCLS courses one time only
per registration period.

(5) Credit for Instructors of Continuing
Education

(a) Any pharmacist whose primary
responsibility is not the education of health professionals,
who leads, instructs or lectures to groups of nurses,
physicians, pharmacists or others on pharmacy related topics
in organized continuing education or inservice programs,
shall be granted continuing education credit for such time
expended during actual presentation, upon adequate
documentation to the Delaware Continuing Education
Advisory Committee of the Board of Pharmacy.

(b) Any pharmacist whose primary
responsibility is the education of health professionals shall
be granted continuing education credit only for time
expended in leading, instructing, or lecturing to groups of
physicians, pharmacists, nurses or others on pharmacy
related topics outside his/her formal course responsibilities
(that is, lectures or instructions must be prepared specifically
for each program) in a learning institution.

(c) Credit for presentations of in-service
training programs or other lectures shall be granted only for
topics meeting the criteria for continuing pharmacy
education, and shall be granted only once for any given
program or lecture.  (Any topic completely revised would be
eligible for consideration.)

(d) A maximum of 6 hours (0.6 C.E.U.'s)
in this category may be applied toward fulfilling the total
biennial continuing education requirements.

(6) Credit for On the Job Training:
(a) The Board of Pharmacy Continuing

Education Advisory Council does not as a general rule
encourage the submission of "on the job training" for
fulfilling the continuing education requirements.  All
programs meeting this definition shall be reviewed on an
individual basis.

(b) All programs that are submitted for
credit must meet the criteria for continuing pharmacy
education.

(c) No credit shall be awarded for
programs required by an employer for continued

employment of the employee.  (Examples OSHA training,
Infection Control Education required by JCAHO.)

(d) A maximum of 4 hours (0.4 C.E.U.'s)
in this category may be applied toward fulfilling the total
biennial continuing education requirements.

F.E.  The Verification of Continuing Education - The
pharmacist will be responsible for providing the Board with
verification of completion of the required continuing
education programs by such means as designated by the
Board.

G.F.   Re-Entry - A pharmacist may have his/her license
reinstated by completing the following requirements:

1. Payment of any back fees;
2. Successfully obtaining a grade of 75 on an

examination on the Practice of Pharmacy if the pharmacist
has not practiced in three years;

3. Submission of evidence of completion of at least 20
hours of approved C.E. from the date of application for
reinstatement if the pharmacist has practiced within the last
three years.

H.  G.Reciprocal Requirements
1. The Board will accept an applicant for reciprocity

provided that his practical pharmacy experience and his
experience in the practice after licensure is at least
equivalent to the practical pharmacy experience required by
the Delaware Board.
   2. Candidates for reciprocity licensure, except those
who have been licensed by examination within the last year,
must have practiced as a registered pharmacist for at least
one year during the last three years or shall be required to
pass the Board of Pharmacy's Practice of Pharmacy
examination or an examination deemed equivalent by the
Board and obtained a minimum grade of 75 percent.
   3. Reciprocity applicants who took examinations after
June 1, 1979, must have passed the National Association of
Boards of Pharmacy standard examination or an examination
deemed equivalent by the Board and obtained scores
required for applicants for licensure by examination.

4. All reciprocal applicants must take a written
jurisprudence examination and obtain a minimum grade of
75 percent.  Jurisprudence examinations will be given at
such times as determined by the Board.  In order to be
eligible to take the jurisprudence examination, all necessary
paperwork must be completed and received by the Board
office at least 10 days prior to the next scheduled
examination.

5. Applicants who are licensed by reciprocity must
begin accruing continuing education units at a rate of 1.25
hours/per month beginning with the month of licensure.
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Regulation II
Grounds For Disciplinary Proceeding

A. Gross Immorality
The Board of Pharmacy interprets gross immorality as it

appears in 24 Del. C. §2518(A) as including but not being
limited to:

Unprofessional conduct shall include but is not limited
to the following act(s) of a pharmacist pursuant to 24 Del.C.
§2518(A):

1. Knowingly engaging in any activity which violates
State and Federal Statutes and Regulations governing the
practice of Pharmacy;

2. Knowingly dispensing an outdated or questionable
product;

3. Knowingly dispensing the cheaper product and
charging third party vendors for a more expensive product;

4. Knowingly charging for more dosage units than is
actually dispensed;

5. Knowingly altering prescriptions or other records
which the law requires the pharmacies or pharmacists to
maintain;

6. Knowingly dispensing medication without proper
authorization;

7. Knowingly defrauding any persons or government
agency receiving pharmacy services;

8. Placing a signature on any affidavit pertaining to
any phase of the practice of pharmacy which the pharmacist
knows to contain false information.

B. Unprofessional Conduct
Unprofessional conduct shall include but is not limited

to the following act(s) of a pharmacist pursuant to 24 Del. C.
§2518(A):

9 1. Fraudulently altering or forging the contents of
prescriptions;

10 2.Payment of money or the providing of free services
to a third party in return for the third party's referral of
patients to the pharmacist or pharmacy;

11 3.Dispensing any legend drugs either for personal
use or for use by another person without a valid order from a
prescriber.  Valid prescription means that it is not only
written correctly, but is for a medical use (i.e. prescriptions
written "as directed" are prohibited);

12 4.Unauthorized substitution;
13 5.Dispensing medications which are not approved

for marketing by the Food and Drug Administration nor
approved for marketing by State law;

14 6.Continuous failure to correct violations of Statutes
and  Regulations noted in Board of Pharmacy
communication; 

15 7.Knowingly allowing persons who are not
registered pharmacists to dispense medication without
proper supervision;

16 8.Knowingly committing a fraudulent act.  This
would include destroying or altering any records such as
prescriptions, profiles, third party vouchers and receipts;

17 9.Knowingly misbranding a drug by using a brand
name when a generic is dispensed;

18 10.Practicing under the influence of drugs or alcohol;
19 11.The placement of an advertisement which the

pharmacist knows to be false or misleading;
20 12.Knowingly breaching confidentiality of the

patient/pharmacist relationship by supplying information to
unauthorized persons;

21 13.Engaging in activities that would discredit the
profession of pharmacy;

22 14.Attempting to circumvent the patient counseling
requirements or discouraging the patients from receiving
patient counseling concerning their prescription drug orders.

23 15.Using facsimile equipment to circumvent
documentation, authenticity, verification or other standards
of pharmacy or drug diversion.  (Effective 2/29/96)

Regulation V.
Dispensing

A. Definitions
1. Dispensing - To furnish or deliver a drug to an

ultimate user by or pursuant to the lawful order of a
practitioner; including the preparation, packaging, labeling
or compounding necessary to prepare the drug for that
delivery.

2. Pertinent Patient Medication Information -
Information which increases the patient's ability to minimize
the risks and enhance the benefits of drug use. The type of
information the pharmacist should consider is contained in
the latest edition of USP DI "Advice for the Patient."

3. Delivery - The transfer of a dispensed prescription
to the ultimate user (patient) or his/her agent.

4. Agent - An employee of the pharmacy supervised
by the pharmacist or a person acting on behalf of the ultimate
user.

5. New Medication - A medication not previously
dispensed by the pharmacy for the ultimate user.

6. Patient Counseling - The offer to discuss the
patient's prescription made by the pharmacist or the
pharmacist's designee in a face-to-face communication with
the patient or his/her agent, unless in the professional
judgment of the pharmacist it is deemed impracticable and in
such instances, it would be permissible for the offer to
counsel to be made through alternative means.  

7. Compounding - The art of the extemporaneous
preparation and manipulation of drugs as a result of a
practitioner's prescription order or initiative based on the
practitioner/patient/pharmacist relationship in the course of
professional practice, including the reconstitution of
powders for administration and the preparation of drugs in
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anticipation of drug orders based on routine, regularly
observed prescribing patterns. Pharmaceutical compounding
must be in compliance with FFDCA Section 503A and any
regulations promulgated by FDA concerning compounding,
pertaining to this section.

8. Supportive personnel - A person who is not
registered as an intern or pharmacist with the Board who
may perform tasks as authorized by this Regulation.

9. Cell - Any container which holds the medication for
automatic dispensing.

10. Prescription - An order for medication which is
dispensed to or for an ultimate user, but does not include an
order for medication which is dispensed for immediate
administration to the ultimate user, (e.g., an order to dispense
a drug to a bed patient for immediate administration in a
hospital is not a prescription.)

11. Automated Data Processing System (ADP) - A
system utilizing computer software and hardware for the
purposes of recordkeeping.

12. CRT - Cathode Ray Tube used to impose visual
information on a screen.

13. Computer - Programmable electronic device,
capable of multifunctions including but not limited to
storage, retrieval and processing of information.

14. Controlled Substance - Those drug items regulated
by Federal (CSA of 1970) and/or State Controlled
(dangerous) Substances Act.

15. Downtime - That period of time when a computer is
not operable.

16. Prescriber - A practitioner authorized to prescribe
and acting within the scope of this authorization.

17. Prescription - A written order from a practitioner
authorized to prescribe and acting within the scope of this
authorization, (other terminology: prescription order) or a
telephone order reduced to writing by the pharmacist.

18. Facsimile (FAX) Prescription - A facsimile
prescription is an order which is transmitted by an electronic
device over telephone lines which sends an exact copy image
to the receiver (pharmacy).

19.    Reduced to Writing
   a. For new prescriptions this means the
preparation of a paper document containing all the
information required for a written prescription including the
State requirement (Section 2553)for drug product selection;

b. For a refill authorization, it may be handled as
a new prescription as in (a) above, or by placing on the
original prescription or the patient profile (whichever
document is consistently used to document refills) the date, a
statement "O.K. for 'x' number of additional refills", or
words of similar import, and the pharmacist's initials.  In no
instance, shall the refill authorizations exceed the legal limits
established by State and Federal laws.

c. If the prescriber authorizing additional refills
differs from the Prescriber whose name appears on the

signature line of the original prescription, then that
authorization is considered a new prescription and must be
handled as described in (a).

20. Regulatory Agency - Any Federal or State agency
charged with enforcement of pharmacy or drug laws and
regulations.

21. Printout - A hard copy produced by computer that is
readable without the aid of any special device.

22. Stop Date - A date established by an appropriate
authority which indicates when medication will no longer be
administered or dispensed in the absence of a specific time
period directed by the prescriber.

23. Common Data Base - A file or data base created by
ADP that enables authorized users to have common access to
this file regardless of physical location.

24. Container – is that which holds the article, designed
to hold a quantity of drug product intended for
administration as a single dose, multiple dose, or a single
finished device intended for use promptly after the container
is opened.

B. The practice of dispensing shall include, but not be
limited to the following acts which shall be performed only
by a pharmacist, or a pharmacy intern or student
participating in an approved College of Pharmacy
coordinated, practical experience program.

1. Receive oral prescriptions and reduce them
immediately to writing.

2. Certification of the prescription order - (This
involves authenticating the prescription, confirming proper
dosage and instructions, and reviewing for incompatibility,
etc.)

3. Record refill dates and initials of the dispensing
pharmacist on the prescription (or on another appropriate
uniformly maintained readily retrievable record such as the
medication records.)

C. Patient Counseling
1. Before dispensing or delivering a new medication

to a patient or his or her agent, a pharmacist or pharmacy
intern under the direct supervision of the pharmacist, shall
conduct a prospective drug review.  A pharmacist or
pharmacy intern may conduct a prospective drug review
before refilling a prescription to the extent deemed
appropriate by the pharmacist or pharmacy intern in his/her
professional judgment.  Such review shall include screening
for potential drug therapy problems due to therapeutic
duplication, drug-drug interactions, including serious
interactions with over-the-counter drugs, drug-disease
contraindications, if disease is known, incorrect drug dosage
or duration of drug treatment, drug-allergy interactions, and
clinical abuse or misuse based on available information
received by the pharmacist.

2. Except when a prescriber requests that information
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regarding a prescribed drug not be given to a specific patient,
a pharmacist or a pharmacy intern under the direct
supervision of a pharmacist shall, with each new medication
dispensed, provide counseling to the patient or the patient's
agent on pertinent medication information.  The counseling
may include, but not be limited to the following:

a. the name and description of the prescribed
drug;

b. the dosage and the dosage form;
c. the method and route of administration;
d. the duration of the prescribed drug therapy;
e. any special directions and precautions for

preparation, administration, and use by the patient that the
pharmacist determines are necessary;

f. common severe side effects or adverse effects
or interactions and therapeutic contraindications that may be
encountered, how to avoid them, and what actions should be
taken if they occur;

g. patient techniques for self-monitoring of the
drug therapy;

h. proper storage;
i. prescription refill information;
j. the action to be taken in the event of a missed

dose; and
k. current over-the-counter medication use.

3. This section does not apply to a pharmacist
dispensing drugs for inpatient use in a hospital or other
institution where the drug is to be administered by a nurse or
other appropriate health care provider.

4. Nothing in this section requires a pharmacist or
pharmacy intern under the direct supervision of a
pharmacist, to provide patient counseling when a patient or
the patient's agent refuses the counseling. There must be a
record in a uniform place that documents a patient's
acceptance or refusal of counseling.  The record must
indicate who made the offer to counsel.

5. If the dispensed prescription is delivered by an
agent of the pharmacy when the pharmacist is not present
(i.e. home delivery, pharmacist off duty and non-resident
pharmacies) written or printed information shall be included
with the prescription.  The patient or his/her agent shall be
informed that the pharmacist will be available for
consultation.

6. The pharmacist shall in his/her professional
judgment refill prescriptions in keeping with the number of
doses ordered and the directions for use.  

7. The pharmacist who dispenses the original
prescription shall hand-sign or initial the prescription.
Initials mechanically or electronically generated are
acceptable in lieu of the above provided that the pharmacist
verifies either on a daily printout or in a bound log book
daily that the information on the prescription is correct.  The
verification must be hand-signed and dated by the
pharmacist.

D. Supportive personnel
1. Qualifications and training

a) The pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for
ensuring proper training of all supportive personnel. The
actual training may be delegated to a pharmacist or other
trained supportive personnel.

b) The areas of training required are to be
determined by the pharmacist-in-charge and will be
appropriate to  the practice site and responsibilities assigned
to the supportive personnel.  Areas of training shall include:

1) general drug and dosage form knowledge
2) medical terminology 
3) pharmaceutical calculations
4) prescription labeling requirements
5) general filling/dispensing responsibilities
6) patient profile record system requirements
7) requirements for patient counseling
8) confidentiality
9) safety practices

        10)inventory functions
11) knowledge of applicable State and Federal

Statutes and Regulations
12) other site-specific parameters

c) The general content of the training program
must be maintained in the policy and procedure manual.

d) Documentation of successful training in
specific areas by oral or  written evaluation will be
maintained and will be available for inspection by the Board
of Pharmacy.  

2. Supervision
Supportive personnel must be supervised by a

registered pharmacist who will be responsible for  the
activities of these persons.

3. Activities allowed
a) Supportive personnel will be allowed  to

perform only those duties permitted by this regulation.
b) Supportive personnel may aid in the dispensing

of prescriptions as authorized in Section 2513 under the
supervision of a pharmacist by performing the following
tasks:

1) Obtaining the medication from stock.
2) Typing the label after the pharmacist has

interpreted the directions.
3) Counting, pouring and selecting

prefabricated medications and selecting individual
prepackaged unit dose medication provided that these are not
in conflict with the state and federal law (Federal
Comprehensive Controlled Substances Act) and that such
selection is properly checked by the pharmacist before the
dose is authorized. a final check by the pharmacist is made
after the medication is placed in the final container prior to
dispensing and administration to the patient.

c) Compounding is the responsibility of the
pharmacist or pharmacy intern under the direct supervision
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of the pharmacist.  All compounding must be in compliance
with FFDCA Section 503A and any regulations promulgated
by FDA concerning compounding pertaining to this section.
The pharmacist may utilize the assistance of supportive
personnel if the following is performed:

1) The formulation is developed by the
pharmacist before proceeding with the compounding.

2) The compounding ingredients are checked
by the pharmacist before
proceeding with the compounding.

3) Every weight and measurement is checked
by the pharmacist before 
proceeding with the compounding.

4) The finished product is checked by the
pharmacist before dispensing.

5) A log is maintained showing the identity
of the person actually compounding the medication and the
identity of the pharmacist who has performed each of the
checks indicated above for each step of the procedure.  If
policies and procedures are in place ensuring adequate
checks by the pharmacist per regulation, the requirement for
a log will be waived.

d) Only supportive personnel or persons being
trained as supportive personnel as required by this
regulation, may perform the activities defined by this
regulation.

E. Automatic Dispensing Devices
If any automatic counting device is used by a pharmacy,

each cell shall have clearly displayed thereon, the date filled,
the name of the drug, the batch number, the manufacturer's
name, and the expiration date of the particular batch number.
No drug can be added to the cell until the present supply is
depleted. 

F. Authorization for renewal of prescriptions
A prescription written for medication which, pursuant to

State and Federal law, may be sold, dispensed, or furnished
only upon prescription, shall not be renewed without specific
authorization of the prescriber.  Refills beyond one year of
the date of the original prescription shall not be dispensed
without further authorization of the prescriber. 

G. Mandatory Patient Profile Record System
l. A patient profile record system must be maintained

at all pharmacies for persons for whom prescriptions are
dispensed.  The patient profile system shall be devised so as
to entitle the immediate retrieval of information necessary to
enable the dispensing pharmacist to identify previously
dispensed medication at the time a prescription is presented
for dispensing.  

2. The following information shall be recorded by a
pharmacist or designee:

a. The family name and first name of the person

for whom the medication is intended (the patient);
b. The address of the patient and phone number;
c. The patient's age, or date of birth, and gender;
d. The original date the medication is dispensed

pursuant to the receipt of a physician's prescription;
e. The number or designation identifying the

prescription;
f. The prescriber's name;
g. The name, strength, quantity, directions and

refill information of the drug dispensed;
h. The initials of the dispensing pharmacist and

the date of dispensing medication as a renewal (refill) if said
initials and such date are not recorded on the original
prescription;

i. If the patient refuses to give all or part of the
required information, the pharmacist shall so indicate and
initial in the appropriate area.

j. Pharmacist comments relevant to the patient's
drug therapy, including any other information peculiar to the
specific patient or drug.

3. The pharmacist or pharmacy intern under the direct
supervision of a pharmacist shall attempt to ascertain and
shall record any allergies and idiosyncrasies of the patient
and any chronic disease states and frequently used over-the-
counter medication as communicated to the pharmacist by
the patient.  If the answer is none, this must be indicated on
the profile.

4. Upon receipt of a new prescription, a pharmacist or
pharmacy intern under the direct supervision of a pharmacist
must examine the patient's profile record before dispensing
the medication to determine the possibility of a harmful drug
interaction or reaction.  Upon recognizing a potential
harmful reaction or interaction, the pharmacist shall take
appropriate action to avoid or minimize the problem which
shall, if necessary, include consultation with the physician.

5. A patient profile record must be maintained for a
period of not less than one year from the date of the last entry
in the profile record unless it is also used as a dispensing
record.

H. Exchange of Valid Non-Controlled Prescriptions
Between Pharmacies

1. Verbal Exchange of Prescriptions - When a
pharmacy receives a verbal request for a prescription
transfer, it may be honored provided that:

a. The request comes from a registered
pharmacist.

b. The copy is immediately reduced to writing
and contains the information required on a written
prescription as listed in Regulation V, and  includes the first
and last name of the pharmacist transmitting the information.

c. The prescription used for refills must be clearly
identified as a copy.  

d. The copy shows the date and the file number of
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the original prescription and indicates the name and address
of the pharmacy providing the copy.

e. The copy shows the last date of dispensing.
f. Only the actual number of refills remaining are

indicated.
g. A notation indicating a copy was given and

refills are no longer valid must be placed on either the
original prescription or patient profile.  The document used
must be the same one used for the recording of refills per the
pharmacy's policy.

2. A copy prepared or transmitted that does not meet
the requirements of this Regulation is deemed to be an
invalid prescription.

3. Written copies of prescriptions are for information
only and are not valid for refilling.  

I. Automated Data Processing Systems
1. PROFILES

When ADP's are used to maintain patient profile
records, all the requirements of Delaware Pharmacy
Regulation V must be met.

2. PRESCRIPTION (Drug Order) INFORMATION
Prescription information (drug order) shall include,

but not be limited to:
a. Original dispensing date
b. Name and address of patient (patient location if

in an institution)
c. Name of prescriber
d. DEA number of prescriber in the case of a

controlled substance
e. Name, strength, dosage form and quantity, (or

Stop Date), and route of administration if other than oral
form of drug prescribed

f. Renewals authorized
g. Directions of use for patient

3. RECORDS OF DISPENSING
Records of dispensing for original and refill

prescriptions are to be made and kept by pharmacies for
three years.  Information must be immediately accessible for
a period of not less than one year from the date of last entry.
Information beyond one year but up to three years from the
date of last entry may be maintained off-line but must be
produced no later than five days upon request from proper
authorities.  The information shall include, but not be limited
to:

a. Quantity dispensed
b. Date of dispensing
c. Serial Number (or equivalent if an institution)
d. The identification of the pharmacist

responsible for dispensing
e. Record of renewals to date
f. Name and strength of medicine

4. RECORD RETRIEVAL (DOCUMENTATION OF
ACTIVITY)

Any such ADP system must provide via CRT
display and or hard copy printout a current history of all
authorized prescription activity.  This information shall
include, but not be limited to:

a. Serial number of prescription (equivalent if an
institution)

b. Date of processing
c. Quantity dispensed
d. The identification of the pharmacist

responsible for dispensing
e. Medication dispensed

5. AUXILIARY RECORDKEEPING SYSTEM
An auxiliary recordkeeping system shall be established

for the documentation of renewals if the ADP is inoperative
for any reason.  The auxiliary system shall insure that all
renewals are authorized by the original prescription and that
the maximum number of renewals are not exceeded.  When
the ADP is restored to operation, the information regarding
prescriptions dispensed and renewed during the inoperative
period shall be entered into the automated data processing
system.

6. COMMON DATA BASE
Two or more pharmacies may establish and use a

common data file or base to maintain required or pertinent
dispensing information.  Pharmacies using such a common
file are not required to transfer prescriptions or information
for dispensing purposes between or among pharmacies
participating in the same common prescription file or data
base; provided however, any such common file must contain
complete and adequate records of such prescription and
renewals dispensed.  Where common data base is used, this
shall not be considered a transfer under Board Regulation V
for non-controlled substances.

7. TRANSFER OF PRESCRIPTIONS VIA ADP
A pharmacist may transfer a prescription

electronically (ADP) for Schedule III, IV, or V controlled
substances to another pharmacy for renewal purposes in
accordance with Title 21, Code of Federal Regulations
Section 1306.26.  A pharmacist may transfer a prescription
electronically (ADP) for non-controlled drug for renewal
purposes in accordance with current State Regulations.

a. Any pharmacy using ADP must comply with
all applicable State and Federal regulations.

b. A pharmacy shall make arrangements with the
supplier of data processing services or materials to assure
that the pharmacy continues to have adequate and complete
prescription and dispensing records if the relationship with
such supplier terminates for any reason.  A pharmacy shall
assure continuity in maintenance of records.

c. The computer record shall reflect the fact that
the prescription order has been transferred, the name of the
pharmacy to which it was transferred, the date of transfer,
the name of the pharmacist transferring information, and any
remaining refill information, if applicable.
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d. The pharmacist receiving the transferred
prescription drug order shall reduce it to writing with the
following information:

1. Write the word "TRANSFER" on the face
of the transferred prescription.

2. Provide all information required to be on
the prescription drug order pursuant to State and Federal
laws and regulations.

e) To maintain the confidentiality of patient's
prescriptions (drug orders) or other pertinent records, there
must exist adequate safeguards of security.  This shall also
pertain to prevent non-user access.

8. FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION OF
PRESCRIPTIONS

Electronically transmitted prescription orders by
facsimile transmission shall meet the following
requirements:

a.    The prescription order shall include, in
addition to the State and Federal requirements for non-
controlled and controlled prescriptions, the name, fax
number, and phone number of the transmitter for verbal
confirmation, the time and date of transmission, the number
of pages  transmitted, the name, phone number, and fax
number of the pharmacy intended to receive the
transmission, and a confidentiality statement in bold type
stating that the fax should not be seen by unauthorized
persons.  All prescription orders for controlled substances
shall be hand-signed by the practitioner.

b. Practitioners or their authorized agents
transmitting the prescription must provide voice verification
when requested by the pharmacist receiving the prescription
order.  The receiving pharmacist has the final responsibility
of determining validity of the transmission.

c. If the original prescription is given to the
patient, it must be noted on the face of the prescription that
the prescription order was faxed, the name of the receiving
pharmacy, and the initials of the person who faxed the order.

d. An electronically transmitted prescription
order must be reduced to writing, unless received as a non-
fading document, with a notation that the order was received
by facsimile.

e. The receiving facsimile machine must be
in the prescription department to protect patient-pharmacist-
authorized prescriber confidentiality and security.

J. ELECTRONIC TRANSMISSION OF
PRESCRIPTIONS

1. All Prescription Drug Orders communicated by
way of Electronic Transmision shall:

a. be transmitted directly to a Pharmacist in a
licensed Pharmacy of the patient’s choice with no
intervening Person having access to the Prescription Drug
Order;

b. identify the transmitter’s phone number for

verbal confirmation, the time and date of transmission, and
the identity of the Pharmacy intended to receive the
transmission, as well as any other information required by
Federal or State law;

c. be transmitted by an authorized Practitioner or
his designated agent; and

d. be deemed the original Prescription Drug
Order, provided it meets the requirements of this subsection.

2. The prescribing Practitioner may authorize his
agent to communicate a Prescription Drug Order orally or by
way of Electronic Transmission to a Pharmacist in a licensed
Pharmacy, provided that the identity of the transmitting
agent is included in the order.

3. The Pharmacist shall exercise professional
judgment regarding the accuracy, validity, and authenticity
of the Prescription Drug Order communicated by way of
Electronic Transmission consistent with existing Federal or
State laws and rules.

4. All electronic equipment for receipt of Prescription
Drug Orders communicated by way of Electronic
Transmission shall be maintained so as to ensure against
unauthorized access.

5. Persons other than those bound by a confidentiality
agreement pursuant to Section 2.A. (2)(k) shall not have
access to Pharmacy records containing Confidential
Information or personally identifiable information
concerning the Pharmacy’s patients.

6. Controlled substance prescriptions may only be
electronically transmitted via a facsimile.

7. Facsimile prescriptions must meet the following
requirements in addition to the above listed electronic
Transmission requirements.

a. The prescription order shall include the fax
number of the transmitter, the number of transmitted pages,
the name, phone number, and electronic number of the
pharmacy intended to receive the transmission, and a
confidentiality statement in bold type stating the electronic
transmission should not be seen by unauthorized persons.  

b. Unless the prescription is written for a schedule
II controlled substance, the prescriber should not issue the
written prescription to the patient.

c. A facsimile transmitted prescription order must
be reduced to writing, unless received as a non-fading
document, with a notation that the order was received by
facsimile.

d. The receiving facsimile machine must be in the
prescription department to protect patient-pharmacist-
authorized prescriber confidentiality and security.

e. Both non-controlled and controlled substance
prescriptions may be transmitted via facsimile following
state and federal requirements.   All prescription orders for
controlled substances shall be hand-signed by the
practitioner. 
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J.  K.    Return of Medications and Supply
1. Prescriptions and items of personal hygiene shall

not be accepted for return or exchange by any pharmacist or
pharmacy after such prescription or items of personal
hygiene have been taken from the premises where sold,
distributed or dispensed.

2. Products under the direct control of a health care
professional which are packaged in manufacturer unit dose
or tamper-proof unopened bulk containers, tamper proof seal
in tact, including unused multi-dose punch cards, may be
redispensed in accordance with expiration dating in
customized patient medication package.  Partially used
products may not be redispensed.  Nothing in this regulation
precludes the Federal laws and regulations.

Effective Date:  October 11, 1996
Effective Date:  April 14, 1997 Section D revised 
Effective Date:  June 11, 1998
Amended Effective September 11, 1999

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK 
EXAMINERS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,  
Section 3906(1) and (7) (24 Del.C. §3906(1)(7))

Public Hearing Notice

The Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners
proposes to amend and adopt new rule changes, pursuant to
24 Del.C. Section 3906(1) and (7) and 29 Del.C. Chapter
101.  The purpose of the hearing is to adopt proposed rule
changes:  amending Rule 5 and 6.3 regarding Continuing
Education, and adding a new Rule 7.0 addressing Ethics.

The Board’s Rule regarding Continuing Education has
been rewritten in its entirety.  Many provisions in the
Board’s current Rule 5 remain substantively the same, but
some have been renumbered or corrected for grammar and
format.  Substantive changes include clarifying requirements
for hardship extension; allowing credit for certain self-
directed activities and requiring pre-approval of such
activities by the Board; and clarifying content requirements
and Category I and II courses.  Rule 6.3 has been amended to
make its definition of “hardship” consistent with that in Rule
5.1.3.  Finally, Rule 7.0, Code of Ethics is a new rule
designed to provide licensees with rules and guidelines for
the conduct of safe, ethical practice in the areas of client
services, relationships with clients, confidentiality, ethical
business practices and clinical supervision.

A public hearing on the proposed rules will be held on
Monday, April 17, 2000 at 9:30 a.m. in Conference Room B,

Second Floor, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard,
Dover, Delaware.  The Board will receive and consider input
in writing from any person on the proposed rules.  Any
written comments should be submitted to the Board office, in
care of Gayle L. Franzolino, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite
203, Cannon Bldg., Dover, DE  19904.  The final date to
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed rules, or to make comments at the public hearing
should notify Gayle L. Franzolino at the above address or by
calling (302) 739-4522, extension 220.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners

1.0 Election of Officers and Responsibilities
1.1 Officers shall be elected in September of each year,

for a one year term.  Special election to fill vacancies shall
be held upon notice and shall be only for the balance of the
original term.

1.2 Officers have the following responsibilities:
1.2.1 The President will preside at all meetings

and sign official documents on behalf of the Board.
1.2.2 The Vice-President will perform the duties

of the President when the latter is unavailable or unable to
perform the duties of the President.

1.2.3 The Secretary will preside over meetings
in the absence of the President and Vice-President.

2.0 Professional Supervision
2.1 Acceptable supervision shall be that amount of

personal oversight by the licensed professional that would be
considered usual and customary in the   profession consistent
with the applicant’s level of skill, education and experience,
but in any event should include the following activities, by
way of example and not by way of limitation:

2.1.1 Individual case reviews.
2.1.2 Evaluations of diagnosis and courses of

treatment.
2.1.3 Proper adherence to agency policy and

procedures.
2.2 The amount of supervisory contact shall be at least

one hour per week during  the supervised period.  This
contact must be on a one-to-one face-to-face basis.

2.3 The Board shall require submission of the
following information from the supervisor(s): supervisor’s
name, business address, license number, professional field
and State in which the license was granted during the period
of supervision; agency  in which the supervision took place
(if applicable); the number of qualifying practice hours
toward the statutory requirement; and the number of one-to-
one face-to-face supervisory hours.
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2.4 A licensed Psychiatrist shall be defined as a
licensed Medical Doctor with a  specialty in psychiatry or a
licensed Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine with a  specialty in
psychiatry.

3.0 Application and Examination
3.1 Applications will be kept active and on file for two

(2) years.  If the applicant  fails to meet the licensure
requirements and/or pass the examination within two (2)
years, the application shall be deemed to have expired and
the applicant must reapply in the same manner as for initial
application, i.e., by submitting the application
documentation along with the proper fee to be eligible to sit
for the examination.

3.2 The Board will not review incomplete applications.
3.3 All signatures must be original on all forms.
3.4 The applicant shall have obtained the passing score

on the national clinical  examination approved by the
American Association of State Social Work Boards
(AASSWB).  The Board shall accept the passing grade as
determined  by the AASSWB.

3.5 Any applicant holding a degree from a program
outside the United States or its territories must provide the
Board with an educational credential evaluation from
International Consultants of Delaware, Inc., its successor, or
any other similar agency approved by the Board,
demonstrating that their training and degree are equivalent to
domestic accredited programs.  No application is considered
complete until the educational credential evaluation is
received by the Board.  (29 Del.C. § 3907(a)(1))

4.0 Renewal
4.1 The licensee’s failure to receive notices or letters

concerning renewal will not  relieve the licensee of the
responsibility to personally assure delivery of his/her
renewal application to the Board.

4.2 In order to be eligible for license renewal during the
first year after expiration, the practitioner shall be required to
meet all continuing education credits for continued
licensure, pay the licensure fee, and pay any late fee
established by the Division of Professional Regulation.  

5.0 Continuing Education
5.1 Required Continuing Education Hours:

5.1.1 All licensees must complete forty-five
(45) hours of continuing education during each biennial
license period. For license periods beginning January 1,
1999  and thereafter, documentation of all continuing
education hours must be submitted to the Board for approval
by October 31 of each biennial license period. 

5.1.2 At the time of the initial license renewal,
some individuals will have been licensed for less than two
(2) years.  Therefore, for these individuals only, the
continuing education hours will be prorated as follows:

License Granted During First Year:Credit Hours
Required:

January 1 - June 30 35 hours
July 1 - December 31 25 hours

License Granted During Second Year:Credit Hours
Required:

January 1 - June 30 15 hours
July 1 - December 31   5 hours

5.1.3 Any licensee seeking to submit continuing
education hours for the Board's approval after the end of a
licensing period must submit a written request to the Board
before the end of the licensing period and pay the
appropriate administrative fee.  The Board will grant such
extensions only on a showing of good cause.  No extension
shall be for more than 120 days after the end of the licensing
period.  No license shall be renewed unless the licensee has
fulfilled the continuing education requirement or received a
good cause extension from the Board. 

5.2 Definition of Continuing Education:
5.2.1 Continuing education is defined to mean

courses in colleges and universities, televised and extension
courses, independent study courses, workshops, seminars,
conferences and lectures oriented toward the enhancement of
clinical social work practice, values, skills and knowledge,
including preparation of a first-time clinical course.  This
definition also includes staff development activities provided
by the various agencies.

5.2.2 Any program submitted for continuing
education hours must have been attended during the current
biennial licensing period. 

5.2.3 Clock hour credit will be for the actual
number of hours during which instruction was given during
the program, excluding meals and breaks.

5.3 Continuing Education Requirements:
5.3.1Category I:A minimum of thirty (30) clock

hours of continuing education shall be in the assessment,
diagnosis, and treatment of mental, emotional, and psycho-
social disorders, shall include at least three (3) clock hours in
ethical social work practice.

5.3.2 Category II:The remaining hours can be
taken in social research, psychology, sociology, human
growth and development, child and family development,
health, social action, advocacy, human creativity, and any
other offering that directly relates to the licensee’s practice.
A maximum of five (5) clock hours may be given for a first-
time preparation of a clinical social work course, in-service
training, workshop, or seminar.  A copy of the course
syllabus and verification that the course was presented is
required for Board approval.

5.4 Course Documentation:
To receive continuing education credits, each

licensee must provide documentation which identifies the
date and place of the course, the number of instructional
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hours attended, the agenda, outline or brochure of
presentation, and certificate of attendance stating hours of
attendance.  The Board will accept and retain the original or
photocopy of such documents.

5.0 Continuing Education
5.1 Required Continuing Education Hours:

5.1.1 Hours Required.  All licensees must
complete forty-five (45) hours of continuing education
during each biennial license period.  For license periods
beginning January 1, 1999 and thereafter, documentation, as
required by Rule 5.4, of all continuing education hours must
be submitted to the Board for approval by October 31 of
each biennial license period.

5.1.2 Proration.  At the time of the initial license
renewal, some individuals will have been licensed for less
than two (2) years.  Therefore, for these individuals only, the
continuing education hours will be prorated as follows:

License Granted During First Credit Hours
Year Of Licensing Period Required 

January 1 - June 30 35 hours
July 1 - December 31 25 hours

License Granted During Second Credit Hours
Year Of Licensing Period Required

January 1 - June 30 15 hours
July 1 - December 31 5 hours

5.1.3 Hardship.  A candidate for license renewal
may be granted an extension of time in which to complete
continuing education hours upon a showing of good cause.
“Good Cause” may include, but is not limited to, disability,
illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction and
exceptional family responsibilities.  Requests for hardship
consideration must be submitted to the Board in writing prior
to the end of the licensing period, along with payment of the
appropriate renewal fee.  No extension shall be granted for
more than 120 days after the end of the licensing period.  If
the Board does not have sufficient time to consider and
approve a request for hardship extension prior to the
expiration of the license, the license will lapse upon the
expiration date and be reinstated upon completion of
continuing education pursuant to the hardship exception.

5.2 Definition and Scope of Continuing Education:
5.2.1 Continuing Education is defined to mean

approved courses offered by colleges and universities,
televised and extension courses, independent study courses
which have a final exam or paper, workshops, seminars,
conferences and lectures oriented toward the enhancement of
clinical social work practice, values, skills and knowledge,
including self-directed activity and preparation of a first-
time clinical course as described herein.

5.2.1.1 Approved Courses shall be those
courses which: increase the clinical social worker (CSW)’s
knowledge about, skill in diagnosing and assessing, skill in
treating, and/or skill in preventing mental and emotional
disorders, developmental disabilities and substance abuse;
AND are instructed or presented by persons who have
received specialized graduate-level training in the subject, or
who have no less than two (2) years of practical application
or research experience pertaining to the subject.

5.2.1.2 Mental and Emotional Disorders,
Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse are those
disorders enumerated and described in the most current
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual including, but not limited
to, the V Codes and the Criteria Sets and Axes provided for
further study.   

5.2.1.3 Self-Directed Activity shall include
teaching, research, preparation and/or presentation of
professional papers and articles, and other activities
specifically approved by the Board.

5.2.2 Any program submitted for continuing
education hours must have been attended during the biennial
licensing period for which it is submitted.  Excess credits
may not be carried over to the next licensing period.  

5.2.3 An “hour” for purposes of continuing
education credit shall mean 60 minutes of instruction or
participation in an appropriate course or program. Meals and
breaks shall be excluded from credit.

5.2.4. The Board may, upon request, review and
approve credit for self-directed activities, to a maximum of
15 hours per biennial licensing period.  A licensee must
obtain pre-approval of the Board prior to undertaking the
self-directed activity in order to assure continuing education
credit for the activity.  Any self-directed activity submitted
for approval must include a written proposal outlining the
scope of the activity, the number of continuing education
hours requested, the anticipated completion date(s), the role
of the licensee in the case of multiple participants (e.g.
research) and whether any part of the self-directed activity
has ever been previously approved or submitted for credit by
the same licensee.

5.2.5 The Board may award a maximum of 5
continuing education hours for the first-time preparation and
presentation of a clinical social work course, in-service
training, workshop, or seminar.  A copy of the course
syllabus and verification that the course was presented is
required for Board approval.

5.3 Continuing Education Content Requirements:
During each biennial licensing period, licensees

shall complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing
education in Category I courses.  The remaining continuing
education hours may be taken in Category II courses.  At
least three (3) of the 30 Category I hours shall be in the area
of social work ethics.

Category I:Courses which have as their primary
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focus and content the assessment, diagnosis, and
biopsychosocial (biological, psychological and social)
treatment of mental and emotional disorders, developmental
disabilities, and/or substance abuse; courses which have as
their primary focus and content the ethical practice of social
work.

Category II:Courses in any of the following areas
which are related to and increase the CSW’s knowledge of
mental and emotional disorders, developmental disabilities,
and/or substance abuse

a) research methods and findings;
b) psychology and sociology; 
c) human growth and development;
d) child and family constructs;
e) physical illness and health;
f) social action;
g) advocacy; 
h) human creativity;
i) spirituality
k) HIV

5.4 Continuing Education Reporting and
Documentation

5.4.1 In order to receive continuing education
credits, a licensee must complete and submit the appropriate
continuing education form provided by the Division of

Professional Regulation no later than October 31st of the
biennial licensing period.

5.4.2 In addition to the form, each licensee must
submit the following documentation as to each course
attended: a certificate of attendance or completion signed by
the presenter and attesting to the number of hours the
licensee attended; documentation identifying the date and
location of the course, the total number of CE hours attended
and the agenda, outline or brochure describing the course.
Originals or photocopies will be accepted and retained by the
Board.  The Board reserves its right to request additional
documentation, such as copies of program materials, to
verify CE compliance. Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §§
3906(7), 3912.

6.0 Inactive Status  (24 Del.C. § 3911(c))
6.1 A licensee asking to have his/her license placed on

inactive status must notify the Board of his/her intention to
do so, in writing, prior to the expiration of his/her current
license.  Each subsequent request for extensions of inactive
status must be submitted to the Board in writing, before the
end of the immediately prior inactive period.

6.2 A licensee on inactive status must comply with
Rule 5.0, "Continuing Education," for each period of
inactivity.  A licensee on inactive status seeking to re-enter
practice must notify the Board in writing of his/her intention,
pay the appropriate fee, and provide the Board with
documentation of any continuing education hours required

by Rule 5.0.  
6.3 On written request and a showing of hardship, the

Board may grant additional time for completion of
continuing education requirements to licensees returning to
practice from inactive status. "Hardship" may include, but is
not limited to, illness and involuntary unemployment.
disability, illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction and
exceptional family responsibilities.

7.0 Ethics
7.1 Duties to Client

7.1.1. The LCSW’s primary responsibility is the
welfare of the client. 

7.1.2 In providing services, the LCSW must not
discriminate on the basis of age, sex, race, color, religion/
spirituality, national origin, handicap, political affiliation, or
sexual orientation.

7.1.3 When a client needs other community
services or resources, the LCSW has the responsibility to
assist the client in securing the appropriate services.

7.1.4 The LCSW should refer a client to other
service providers in the event that the LCSW cannot provide
the service requested.  In the case of a referral, no
commission, rebate or any other remuneration may be given
or received for referral of clients for professional services,
whether by an individual or an organization.

7.1.5 The LCSW must, in cases where
professional services are requested by a person already
receiving therapeutic assistance from another professional,
clarify with the client and the other professional the scope of
services and division of responsibility which each
professional will provide.

7.1.6 The LCSW must maintain appropriate
boundaries in his/her interactions with a client.  The LCSW
must not engage in sexual activity with a client.  The LCSW
must not treat a family member or close personal friend
where detached judgment or objectivity would be impaired.
Business, social or professional relationships with a client
(outside of the counseling relationship) should be avoided,
where such relationships may influence or impair the
LCSW’s professional judgment.  

7.2 Confidentiality/privileged Communications
7.2.1 The LCSW must safeguard the

confidentiality of information given by clients in the course
of client services. 

7.2.2 The LCSW must discuss with clients the
nature of and potential limits to confidentiality that may arise
in the course of therapeutic work. 

7.2.3 No LCSW or employee of such person
may disclose any confidential information they may have
acquired from persons consulting  them in their professional
capacity except under the following conditions:

7.2.3.1 With the written consent of the person
or persons (the guardian, in the case of a minor) or, in the
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case of death or disability, of his/her personal representative,
or person authorized to sue, or the beneficiary of an
insurance policy on his/her life, health or physical condition,
or 

7.2.3.2 Where the communication reveals the
contemplation of a crime or harmful act.

7.2.3.3 When the person waives the privilege
by initiating formal charges against the LCSW.

7.2.3.4 When otherwise specifically required
by law or judicial order.

7.2.4 The disclosure of confidential information,
as permitted by Rule 7.2.3, is restricted to what is necessary,
relevant, verifiable and based on the recipients’ need to
know.  The LCSW should, provided it will not adversely
affect the client’s condition, inform the client about the
nature and scope of the information being disclosed, to
whom the information will be released and the purpose for
which it is sought.

7.3 Ethical Practice
7.3.1 The LCSW is responsible for confining

his/her practice to those areas in which he/she is legally
authorized and in which he/she is qualified to practice.
When necessary the LCSW should utilize the knowledge and
experience of members of other professions.

7.3.2 The LCSW is responsible for providing a
clear description of what the client may expect in the way of
scheduling services, fees and any other charges or reports

7.3.3 The LCSW, or any employee or supervisee
of the LCSW, must be accurately identified on any bill as the
person providing a particular service, and the fee charged the
client should be at the LCSW’s usual and customary rate.
Sliding fee scales are permissible.

7.3.4 An LCSW employed by an agency or
clinic, and also engaged in private practice, must conform to
contractual agreements with the employing facility.  He/She
must not solicit or accept a private fee or consideration of
any kind for providing a service to which the client is
entitled through the employing facility.

7.3.5 An LCSW having direct knowledge of a
colleague’s impairment, incompetence or unethical conduct
should take adequate measures to assist the colleague in
taking remedial action. In cases where the colleague does not
address the problem, or in any case in which the welfare of a
client appears to be in danger, the LCSW should report the
impairment, incompetence or unethical conduct to the
Board.

7.3.6 The Board has voted to adopt the
Voluntary Treatment Option, in accordance with 29 Del.C.
§8807(n).

7.3.7 An LCSW should safeguard the welfare of
clients who willingly participate as research subjects.  The
LCSW must secure the informed consent of any research
participant and safeguard the participant’s interests and
rights.

7.3.8 In advertising his or her services, the
LCSW may use any information so long as it describes his/
her credentials and the services provided accurately and
without misrepresentation.

7.3.9 In the areas of computer and Internet
technology and non-established practice, the LCSW should
inform the client of risks involved.  The LCSW should
exercise careful judgment and should take responsible steps
(such as research, supervision, and training) to ensure the
competence of the work and the protection of the client.  All
precautions should be taken with computer-based
communications to ensure that no confidential information is
disseminated to the wrong individual and identities are
protected with respect to privacy.

7.4 CLINICAL SUPERVISION
7.4.1 The LCSW should ensure that supervisees

inform clients of their status as interns, and of the
requirements of supervision (review of records, audiotaping,
videotaping, etc.).  The client shall sign a statement of
informed consent attesting that services are being delivered
by a supervisee and that the LCSW is ultimately responsible
for the services. This document shall include the supervising
LCSW’s name and the telephone number where he/she can
be reached.  One copy shall be filed with the client’s record
and another given to the client.  The LCSW must intervene
in any situation where the client seems to be at risk.  

7.4.2 The LCSW should inform the supervisee
about the process of supervision, including goals, case
management procedures, and agency or clinic policies.  

7.4.3 The LCSW must avoid any relationship
with a supervisee that may interfere with the supervisor’s
professional judgment or exploit the supervisee.

7.4.4 The LCSW must refrain from endorsing
an impaired supervisee when such impairment deems it
unlikely that the supervisee can provide adequate
professional services.

7.4.5 The LCSW must refrain from supervising in
areas outside his/her  realm of competence. Statutory Authority: 24
Del.C. §§3901, 3906(1)(6)(9), 3913, 3915.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

GAMING CONTROL BOARD

Statutory Authority: 28 Delaware Code, 
Section 1503 (28 Del.C. 1503)

The Board proposes a new section 1.03(10) to the
existing Bingo Regulations. The amendment would require
the bingo applicant to provide full and fair description of the
prize to be awarded and appraised value of the prize. The
amendment would also permit the Board to require an
independent appraisal of the prize.

Copies of the existing Bingo Regulations and the
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proposed regulation as amended are attached. The public
may obtain copies of the proposed regulations from the
Delaware Gaming Control Board, Division of Professional
Regulation, Cannon Building, Suite #203, 861 Silver Lake
Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. The contact person at the Board is
Denise Spear and she can be contacted at (302) 739-4522
ext. 202. The Board will accept written comments from the
public beginning March 1, 2000 through April 5. 2000. A
public hearing will be held at the Delaware Gaming Control

Board, 2nd Floor Conference Room, Cannon Building, Suite
#203, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE on April 6, 2000 at
12:00 p.m.

1.03 Bingo Licenses
(1) Upon receiving an application, the Board shall

make an investigation of the merits of the application.  The
Board shall consider the impact of the approval of any
license application on existing licensees within the
applicant's geographical location prior to granting any new
license.  The Board may deny an application if it concludes
that approval of the application would be detrimental to
existing licensees.

(2) The Board may issue a license only after it
determines that:

(i) The applicant is duly qualified to conduct
games under the State Constitution, statutes, and regulations.

(ii) The members of the applicant who intend to
conduct the bingo games are bona fide active members of the
applicant and are persons of good moral character and have
never been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude.

(iii) The bingo games are to be conducted in
accordance with the provisions of the State Constitution,
statutes, and regulations.

(iv) The proceeds are to be disposed of as provided
in the State Constitution and statutes.

(v) No salary, compensation or reward whatever
will be paid or given to any member under whom the game is
conducted. If the findings and determinations of the Board
are to the effect that the application is approved, the
Secretary shall execute a license for the applicant.

(3) The license shall be issued in triplicate. The original
thereof shall be transmitted to the applicant.  Two copies
shall be retained by the Commission for its files.

(4) If the findings and determinations of the
Commission are to the effect that the application is denied,
the Secretary shall so notify the applicant by certified mail of
the reasons for denial, and shall refund any application fees
submitted.

(5) In the event of a request for an amendment of a
license, the request shall be promptly submitted to the
Commission in writing, and shall contain the name of the
licensee, license number, and a concise statement of the
reasons for requested amendment.  The Commission may

grant or deny the request, in its discretion, and may require
supporting proof from the licensee before making any
determination.  The Commission may require the payment of
an additional license fee before granting the request.  The
licensee shall be notified of the Commission's action by
appropriate communication, so that the licensee will not be
unduly inconvenienced.

(6) No license shall be effective for a period of more
than one year from the date it was issued.

(7) No license shall be effective after the organization
to which it was granted has become ineligible to conduct
bingo under any provision of Article II, §17A of the
Delaware Constitution.

(8) No license shall be effective after the voters in any
District designated in Article II, §17A of the Constitution
have decided against bingo in a referendum held pursuant to
that section and subchapter II of the Bingo Statute.

(9) No bingo licensee licensed prior to July 14, 1998,
shall conduct more than ten (10) bingo events in any
calendar month and no bingo licensee licensed after the
enactment of 71 Del.  Laws 444 (July 14, 1998) shall
conduct more than one (1) bingo event per week.  A bingo
licensee who was licensed prior to July,14, 1998 whose
license lapses for six (6) months or more due to nonrenewal
or suspension or any other reason shall, upon licensing
thereafter, be considered a licensee licensed after the
enactment of 71 Del.  Laws 444 (July 14, 1998).

(10) The license application shall contain a full and
fair description of the prize and the appraised value of the
prize.  In cases where the applicant or licensee purchases the
prize from a third party, the Board may require that the
applicant or licensee arrange for an independent appraisal of
the value of the prize from a person licensed to render such
appraisals, or if there is no person licensed to render such
appraisals, from a person qualified to render such appraisals.   



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1149

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

THE FOLLOWING PROPOSED REGULATORY CHANGES

WILL BE PRESENTED AT THE STATE BOARD OF

EDUCATION MEETING, THURSDAY, MARCH 17, 2000.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

DELAWARE LICENSURE FOR TEACHERS 
HOLDING NATIONAL BOARD FOR 

PROFESSIONAL TEACHING STANDARDS 
CERTIFICATION

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
New Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to adopt the regulation
Delaware Licensure for Teachers Holding National Board
Certification for Professional Teaching Standards
Certification.  This regulation permits the Department of
Education to grant licensure to persons who hold a current
certificate from the National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards (NBPTS) by waiving the pre-licensure
requirements of Chapters I, II, and III of the General
Regulations of the Manual for Certification of Professional
Public School Personnel, including the PRAXIS I
requirement.  The applicant must still comply with the
application process requirements of Chapter IV of the same
document.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the new regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The new regulation deals with teacher certification
procedures, not student achievement.

2. Will the new regulation help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The new regulation addresses certification, not
equity issues.

3. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The new regulation addresses certification, not
students’ health and safety issues.

4. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all

students' legal rights are respected?
The new regulation addresses certification issues,

not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the new regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The new regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The new regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?

The new regulation will be consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the new regulation?

No there is not a less burdensome way of
addressing the purpose of this new regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?

There is no additional cost to the state and local
boards for compliance with this regulation.

Delaware Licensure for Teachers Holding National 
Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certification

1.0 An applicant who holds a current certificate from the
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards
(NBPTS) shall comply with the application process
requirements of Chapter IV of the General Regulations of

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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the Manual for Certification of Professional Public School
Personnel. The pre-licensure requirements contained in
Chapters, I, II, and III of the General Regulations of the
Manual for Certification of Professional Public School
Personnel are waived for such an applicant. The Department
will determine the appropriate state certificate(s) to be issued
based upon the national certifications held by the applicant.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

SCHOOL TRANSPORTATION AIDES

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend the School
Transportation regulations by adding a statement about
school transportation aides to Section 19, as 19.10 School
Transportation Aides.  This amendment is necessary because
references to school transportation aides in the existing
Administrative Manual: Programs for Exceptional Children
and in the Handbook of Personnel Administration for
Delaware School Districts are being amended and
recommended for inclusion in the School Transportation
regulations.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation addresses school
transportation aides, not student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses school bus aides,
not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation does help to ensure the
safety of children with disabilities.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation does support the needs of
children with disabilities as participants in the school
transportation program.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary

authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

There is not a less burdensome method for
addressing the purpose of the amendment.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?

There is no additional cost to the state and to the
local boards for compliance with the amended regulation.

Section 19 Of The  School
Transportation Regulation As Amended

19.0 Transportation for Students with Disabilities:
Transportation or a reimbursement for transportation
expenses actually incurred shall be provided by the State for
eligible persons with disabilities by the most economically
feasible means compatible with the person’s disability
subject to the limitations in the following regulations:

19.1 When the legal residence of a person receiving
tuition assistance for private placement is within sixty (60)
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miles (one way) of the school or institution to be attended,
the person shall be eligible for round trip reimbursement for
transportation on a daily basis at the per mile rate allowed by
the Internal Revenue Service for business use of a private
vehicle, or for transportation at State expense which may be
provided in lieu of the per mile reimbursement.  (Round trip
mileage is considered to be from the person’s legal residence
to the school or institution and return twice a day, or for
actual mileage traveled, whichever is less.)

19.2 When the legal residence of a person receiving
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of sixty
(60) miles (one way) but less than one hundred (100) miles
(one way) from the school or institution to be attended, the
person shall be eligible for round trip transportation
reimbursement at the per mile rate allowed by the Internal
Revenue Service for business use of a private vehicle, or for
transportation at State expense which may be provided in
lieu of the per mile reimbursement on a weekly basis and on
such other occasions as may be required when the school is
not in session due to scheduled vacations or holidays of the
school or institution.  (Round trip mileage is considered to be
from the person’s legal residence to the school or institution
and return twice a week.  The weekly basis is to be
determined by the calendar of the school or institution to be
attended.)

19.3 When the legal residence of a person receiving
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of one
hundred (100) miles (one way) of the school or institution to
be attended, the person shall be eligible for round trip
reimbursement on the basis of one round trip per year from
the person’s legal residence to the school or institution and
return, and at such other times when care and maintenance of
the person is unavailable due to the closing of the residential
facility provided in conjunction with the school or
institution.  (Round trip is considered to be from the person’s
legal residence to the school or institution to be attended and
from the school or institution to the legal residence of the
person on an annual basis or at such times as indicated
above.)

19.4 Reimbursement shall be computed on the per
mile rate allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for
business use of a private vehicle from the legal residence to
the point of embarkation and return to the legal residence
and for the actual fares based on the most economical means
of transportation from the point of embarkation to the school
or institution to be attended; the return trip shall be computed
on the same basis.

19.5 Transportation at State expense may be
provided from the legal residence to the point of
embarkation in lieu of the per mile reimbursement when it is
determined by the local district to be more economically
feasible.

19.6 The local district of residence shall be
responsible for payment of all such transportation

reimbursement when it is determined by the local district to
be more economically feasible.

19.7 All requests for payment shall be made by the
parent or legal guardian or other person who has control of
the child to the transportation supervisor responsible for
transportation in the district of residence at a time
determined by the district but prior to June 5 of any year.

19.8 When reimbursements are made they shall be
based on required documentation to support such payment.

19.9 The legal residence for the purpose of these
regulations is defined as the residence of the parent, legal
guardian or other persons in the state having control of the
child with disabilities and with whom the child actually
resides.

19.10 School Transportation Aides:  With the
approval of the Department of Education, a state funded
school bus aide may be provided on school buses serving
special schools/programs for children with disabilities.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

Children With Disabilities

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend the regulations on
Children with Disabilities from the Administrative Manual:
Programs for Exceptional Children, July 1993, amended
August 1993, and June 1996.  The amendments serve two
major purposes:  isolate the DOE regulations from the
Federal regulations and from the Del. C. and reflect the
changes in the DOE regulations that are required by the 1997
amendments to the Individuals with Disabilities Education
Act (IDEA).  These amendments complete the revision
process begun in January by addressing changes in the
following four areas:

Interagency/Special Programs
Funding
Other State Agency Responsibility
Children in Private Schools

It is anticipated that the two sets of amendments will be
merged together and along with comments presented to the
State Board as a single revised document at the April
meeting of the State Board of Education.

The technical assistance document will now be known
as the Administrative Manual for Special Education
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Services.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulations are designed to improve
services for children with disabilities so that they can raise
their performance on the state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulations help insure that students
with disabilities have an equal opportunity for an education.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulations address educational
opportunity, not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulations will ensure that legal
rights of students with disabilities are protected.

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school levels?

The amended regulations will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school levels to the same degree as the
current regulations.

6. Will the regulations place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulations reflect the requirements
of IDEA and do not place any more reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels than the existing
regulations.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the regulations be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?

The amended regulations are consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

Federal legislation, the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act, (IDEA) requires that the Department of
Education put these regulations in place.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulations?

The amended regulations do not increase the
present costs required to implement the IDEA.

AS AMENDED
Children With Disabilities

18.0 Interagency/Special Programs
18.1 Interagency and Least Restrictive

Environment:  When it is determined by the IEP team, in
making the placement decision, that a child’s educational
needs cannot be met appropriately in the child’s district of
residence, inter-district or interagency programs shall be
considered within least restrictive environment
requirements.

18.2 Interagency Agreements:  A written
Interagency Agreement shall be developed between or
among the local school districts or agencies when special
education and related services for children with disabilities
are provided in whole, or in part, by a district or districts
other than the district of residence.

18.2.1 The agreement may be initiated by the
LEA or the SEA.

18.2.2 The SEA shall be a party to the agreement
when the services are provided through a special school or
program approved by the State Board of Education.

18.2.3 Each Interagency Agreement shall include
the:

18.2.3.1 Title of the agreement;
18.2.3.2 Parties involved and their authority to

provide special education and related services;
18.2.3.3 Purpose of the agreement;
18.2.3.4 Roles and responsibilities of each

agency, including access to records and transfer procedures,
implementation, dissemination, and training activities, and
funding amounts and sources;

18.2.3.5 Reauthorization schedule and
negotiation procedures;

18.2.3.6 Procedures to resolve disputes
regarding program and fiscal issues; and
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18.2.3.7 Signature and title of each party’s
authorized administrator.

18.3 Responsibility for Placement in Interagency
Programs

18.3.1 For initial placement, the child’s district of
residence shall be responsible for identification, evaluation,
and placement procedures including:

18.3.1.1 Setting the date, time, and place of all
meetings;

18.3.1.2 Chairing, designating, or agreeing
upon a chairperson for all meetings;

18.3.1.3 Communicating the name of the child
to be discussed; the date and place of meeting to individuals
involved;

18.3.1.4 Receiving all requests for review and
appeal; and

18.3.1.5 Communicating recommendations of
staffing to all appropriate staff.

18.3.2 When it is suspected the child’s need for
special education can only be met in an inter-district/
interagency program, then an IEP meeting shall be arranged
by the district of residence.  The following procedures for an
IEP meeting shall be followed:

18.3.2.1 Representatives of the inter-district/
interagency program shall participate in the IEP meeting.

18.3.2.2 The district of residence shall be a
member of the child’s IEP team.

18.3.2.3 Arrangements for all evaluation and
diagnosis, whether initial or reevaluation, shall be the
responsibility of the child’s district of residence.

19.0 Special Programs for Children with a Visual
Impairment:  Services provided to the children with visual
impairments by the Department of Education, the local
school districts and the Division for the Visually Impaired
shall be implemented through an interagency agreement.

20.0 Special Programs for Children who are Deaf and
Hard of Hearing:  The State Committee for the Deaf and
Hard of Hearing shall be established by the Director of the
Delaware Programs for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing and
the Deaf/Blind in conjunction with the Department of
Education.

20.1 The Committee shall provide a means for
determining eligibility, program development, and
coordination that is unique for the low incidence group of
children with disabilities whose major disability is hearing
loss.

20.1.1 Complete minutes of the Committee
meetings shall be sent to the Department of Education.

21.0 Special Programs for the Children who are
Deafblind:  The Margaret S. Sterck School, Delaware School
for the Deaf (DSD), located in the Christina School District,

shall have administrative responsibility for providing
services to the deafblind program.

21.1 The DSD shall establish a program
management committee in consultation with the Department
of Education.  Complete minutes of the committee meetings
shall be sent to the State Department of Education.

22.0 Special Programs for Children with Autism:
22.1 Definitions of terms applicable only to special

programs for children with autism.
22.1.1 Behavior Management Procedure means

any procedure used to modify the rate or form of a target
behavior.

22.1.2 Behavior Management Target means any
child’s behavior that either causes or is likely to cause (a)
injury to the child (e.g., self-abuse), (b) injury to another
person (e.g., aggression), (c) damage to property, (d) a
significant reduction in the child’s actual or anticipated rate
of learning (e.g., self-stimulation, non-compliance, etc.) or
(e) a significant reduction in the societal acceptability of a
child (e.g., public masturbation, public disrobing, etc.).

22.1.3Emergency Intervention Procedure means
any procedure used to modify unpredictable and dangerous
behavior management objectives/targets, e.g., self-injurious
behaviors, physical aggression toward others, destruction of
property.

22.1.4 Ethical Use means the application of a
procedure in a manner that is consistent with current
community values and protects all of a child’s rights.

22.1.5 Informed Consent means knowing and
voluntary consent by the parent(s) or parent(s) or guardian,
based upon a thorough explanation by the program staff
member supervising the case-by-case Behavior Management
procedure, of the nature of the procedure, the possible
alternative procedures, the expected behavior outcomes, the
possible side effects (positive and negative), the risks and
discomforts that may be involved, and the right to revoke the
Procedure at any time.

22.1.6 Least Restrictive Procedure means that
behavior management procedure which is the least intrusive
into, and least disruptive of, the child’s life, and that
represents the least departure from normal patterns of living
that can be effective in meeting the child’s educational
needs.

22.1.7 School means any public school or
program (special education or otherwise), which has
enrolled a child classified with autism.

22.1.8 Parent means any parent, surrogate parent
or legal guardian.

22.1.9 Accepted Clinical Practice means any
behavior management procedure or treatment that has been
published in referenced (peer-reviewed) journals or similar
professional literature.

22.2 The Statewide Monitoring Review Board
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(SMRB) shall be established by the Director of the Delaware
Autistic Program (DAP, created under Section 1302,
Delaware Code) in conjunction with the Department of
Education.

22.2.1 The purpose of the Board shall be to
review the special education and related services needs and
program of children with autism for whom DAP is
responsible, including children with autism whose
placement in private facilities has been authorized by the
Secretary of Education, and to make recommendations for
program improvement.

22.2.2 The Board shall consist of the following
members:

22.2.2.1 Director:  Director of DAP;
22.2.2.2 Education Associate:  Exceptional

Children Programs (responsible for DAP);
22.2.2.3 Program Coordinator of DAP;
22.2.2.4 Representative:  Staff person from

each DAP center having a program serving children with
autism;

22.2.2.5 Representative:  Local Education
Agency (based upon the meeting agency);

22.2.2.6 Representative:  Public and Private
Agencies (based upon the meeting agenda);

22.2.2.7 Representative:  Medical/health
professional (based upon meeting agenda);

22.2.2.8 Representative:  Division of
Vocational Rehabilitation (based upon meeting agenda);

22.2.2.9 Representative:  Community-based
Vocational Agency (Private Sector/based upon meeting
agenda);

22.2.2.10 Representative:  Community-
based Vocational Agency (Private Sector/based upon
meeting agenda);

22.2.2.11 Representative:  Early Childhood
Development Specialist (Private Sector/based upon meeting
agenda);

22.2.2.12 Representative:  Staff person
from an in-State or out-of-State program serving children
with autism;

22.2.2.13 Representative:  Non-voting
public representative nominated annually by the Statewide
Parent Advisory Committee (SPAC) and who does not have
a child enrolled in DAP.

22.2.3 Board Procedures
22.2.3.1 The Chairperson of the Board shall be

the Director of DAP.
22.2.3.2 Decisions of the Board shall be

determined by a majority vote of the members present.
22.2.3.3 Four or more members present shall

constitute a quorum.
22.2.3.4 Oral or written notice of meeting shall

be at least 7 days in advance unless unanimous consent shall
otherwise permit.

22.2.3.5 The Chairperson shall set mutually
agreeable times and places for meetings, which shall be
scheduled monthly contingent upon agenda items.

22.2.4 The SMRB shall discharge its
responsibilities in accordance with I.D.E.A. and the
Administrative Manual for Special Education Services.  The
SMRB shall function in an advisory capacity; and procedural
safeguards guaranteed to children with autism, their parents,
educational surrogate parents, or guardians and to local
school districts or agencies shall not be diminished by the
activities of the SMRB.  Specific responsibilities include:

22.2.4.1 Reviewing, at least annually, the
identification, evaluation, educational program and
placement of each child with autism and the provision of a
free appropriate public education for children with autism;

22.2.4.2 Recommending appropriate services
and/or programs necessary for children with autism in
Delaware;

22.2.4.3 Assisting local education agencies
and other appropriate agencies in implementing SMRB
recommendations;

22.2.4.4 Developing and annually reviewing
SMRB policies and procedures;

22.2.4.5 Recommending solutions to disputes
within or between districts or agencies;

22.2.4.6 Submitting an annual report by
September 1 of each year to the administering school
district, Department of Education, and the State Board of
Education that shall include the findings and
recommendations of the non-voting public representative.

22.2.5 Copies of the minutes of the SMRB
meetings, including recommendations made by the SMRB,
shall be sent to the Department of Education.

22.2.6 A copy of pertinent portions of the reviews
and recommendations pertaining to the identification,
evaluation, and educational program and placement of each
autistic child and the provision for a free appropriate public
education to such children shall be sent to the appropriate
parents and school district or agency.

22.3 A Parent Advisory Committee (PAC) shall be
established by each local education agency operating a
center for the Delaware Autistic Program.

22.3.1 The function of the PAC shall be to advise
the local education agency on matters pertaining to the local
center.

22.3.2 Each PAC shall meet no less than four
times each year and must be representative of the age groups
of children with autism served by the local center.

22.3.3 When a local education agency operates a
residential program, at least one member of the PAC shall be
a parent of a child with autism served in the residential
program associated with that center.

22.4 A Statewide Parent Advisory Committee
(SPAC) shall be established whose membership shall consist
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of one representative elected annually from each local
education agency PAC.

22.4.1 The SPAC shall meet no less than four
times each year with the Director of DAP advising on
matters pertaining to the program.

22.4.2 The establishment of bylaws for the SPAC
shall be by vote of all of its eligible members.

22.4.3 A current statewide membership list shall
be provided to all parents, surrogate parents, or legal
guardians.

22.4.4 Reimbursement for travel expenses shall
be available to members of the Statewide Parent Advisory
Committee (SPAC).

22.5 A Peer Review Committee (PRC) shall be
established by the Director of the Delaware Autistic Program
(DAP) and the Department of Education in consultation with
the Statewide Monitoring Review Board (SMRB).

22.5.1 Purpose:  The purpose of the PRC shall be
to review, in light of accepted clinical practice, the
professional and clinical issues involved in the use of
behavior management procedures to ensure their appropriate
use by the staff of a school district serving children with
autism.

22.5.2 Composition:  The PRC shall consist of
three to five members who shall be competent,
knowledgeable professionals with at least three years of
post-doctoral experience in the theory and ethical application
of behavior management procedures.  Membership shall be
external to the Delaware Autistic Program (DAP), the
Department of Education, any Delaware school district, and
any other State agency or department, excluding State
institutions of higher education.  Members shall not belong
to any in-State committee, council, board or program that
deals directly with children with autism.

22.5.2.1 Operation:  The PRC shall elect a
chairperson and shall adopt a set of rules to guide its
operation.  A copy of these rules shall be provided to the
Department of Education and the Director of the DAP.

22.5.3 Peer Review Committee (PRC)
Responsibilities

22.5.3.1 The PRC shall meet at least every
three months to review those behavior management
procedures requiring after-the-fact examination.

22.5.3.1.1 A quorum shall consist of a
majority of the Committee.

22.5.3.1.2 The PRC chairperson shall
announce the dates of review at least one month prior to the
review date.

22.5.3.2 The PRC shall meet at least six (6)
times per year to review procedures requiring prior, case-by-
case review that have been granted interim or on-going
approval. Monthly review shall continue until said procedure
has been discontinued or PRC votes otherwise. This review
may be held jointly with HRC.

22.5.3.3 The PRC chairperson shall invite staff
members of DAP responsible for implementation of
behavior management procedures, the Director of DAP, or
any other individual (e.g., a consultant to ensure expertise in
a specific behavior management procedure under review) to
participate as needed in a non-voting capacity.

22.5.3.4 The PRC shall provide technical
assistance when requested by the Program Director to
develop a behavior management procedure for children
engaged in behaviors that pose a significant health risk to the
child or others, a significant damage to property, and/or a
significant reduction of learning.

22.5.3.5 The PRC shall review and evaluate
the training and supervision for the staff that will carry out
all behavior management procedures requiring prior, case-
by-case review and may evaluate the training of staff
carrying out procedures requiring after-the-fact review.

22.5.3.5.1 The PRC shall provide the
Program Director with written comments and
recommendations concerning the findings of this review.

22.5.3.6 The PRC shall keep written minutes
of all its meetings and shall submit them to the Director of
DAP, the Department of Education and the HRC
chairperson.

22.5.3.6.1 These minutes shall be
submitted within two weeks of each meeting.

22.5.3.6.2 An oral summary of the PRC
recommendations shall be made within twenty-four hours
following the PRC meeting to the Director of DAP and the
HRC chairperson.

22.6 A Human Rights Committee (HRC) shall be
established by the Director of the DAP and the Department
of Education in consultation with the Autistic Program
Monitoring Review Board.

22.6.1 Purpose:  The purpose of the HRC shall be
to review the ethical and child rights issues involved in the
use of behavior management procedures to ensure their
humane and proper application.

22.6.2 Composition:  The HRC shall consist of
five to ten members representing various occupations, who
are not employees or relatives of children enrolled in the
DAP, who are not employees of the Department of
Education, and who are not members of any in-State
organization, agency, or program that deals directly with
children with autism.  No member of the HRC shall be a
member of the PRC.

22.6.3 Operation:  The HRC shall elect a
chairperson and shall adopt a set of rules to guide its
operation.  A copy of these rules shall be provided to the
Department of Education and the Director of the DAP.

22.6.4 Human Rights Committee Responsibilities
22.6.4.1 Whenever a school proposed to use a

behavior management procedure requiring review prior to
implementation, the HRC shall meet and review the
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proposed use of the behavior management procedure within
seven days of the PRC chairperson’s notification to the HRC
chairperson of PRC’s recommendations.

22.6.4.1.1 A quorum shall consist of a
majority of the Committee.

22.6.4.1.2 This review, however, may
be held jointly with the PRC.

22.6.4.2 The HRC chairperson shall invite
staff members who are responsible for the implementation of
behavior management procedures, the Director of DAP, or
any other individual (e.g., consultant, parent) to participate
as needed in a non-voting capacity.

22.6.4.3 The HRC shall develop a written form
to be used to ensure that informed parental consent is
obtained before implementation of specified behavior
management procedures.

22.6.4.4 The HRC shall keep written minutes
of all its meetings and shall submit them to the Director of
DAP, the Director, Exceptional Children Group, and the
PRC chairperson.

22.6.4.4.1 These minutes shall be
submitted within two weeks of each meeting.

22.6.4.4.2 An oral summary of the
HRC recommendations shall be made within twenty-four
hours following the HRC meeting to the Director of DAP
and the PRC chairperson.

22.7 Joint responsibilities of the Peer Review and
Human Rights Committees are as follows:

22.7.1 Issue a written statement indicating which
behavior management procedure(s) shall be recommended
for use:

22.7.1.1 Without further PRC/HRC review
during the year approved;

22.7.1.2 Without a case-by-case PRC/HRC
review but with after-the-fact review (timelines to be
established by the PRC); or

22.7.1.3 Only with prior case-by-case PRC and
HRC (before-the-fact) review;

22.7.2 Recommend written modifications, if
necessary, of behavior management procedures along with
accompanying rationale;

22.7.3 Review a school’s proposed Emergency
Intervention Procedures for children with autism and issue a
written statement indicating which Emergency Intervention
Procedures shall be recommended:

22.7.3.1 For use without after-the-fact
reporting to the PRC/HRC; or

22.7.3.2 For use with after-the-fact reporting to
the PRC/HRC;

22.7.4 Issue an advisory, not mandatory,
statement presenting a recommended hierarchy of reviewed
behavior management procedures according to the Least
Restrictive Procedure principle.

22.7.4.1 Notice shall be given to parents of

children with autism in the program of the availability upon
request, and at no cost to parents, of copies of the reviewed
behavior management procedures.

22.7.4.2 A copy shall also be forwarded to the
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens.

22.7.5 The PRC chairperson, in cooperation with
the HRC chairperson, shall announce the joint PRC/HRC
annual review at least one month prior to the review date.

22.7.5.1 At the discretion of either
chairperson, Committees may meet jointly or separately to
conduct before-the-fact and after-the-fact reviews.

22.7.6 Approve, before-the-fact, the housing of
children under age twelve with a child over age sixteen in a
community-based residential program for children with
autism operated by a school district designated and approved
by the Secretary of Education as the administering agency
for the DAP.

22.7.7 Review, within 30 days of the granting of
interim approval, any request by a school for the immediate
implementation of a behavior management procedure
requiring prior, case-by-case review.

22.7.7.1 Immediate implementation of a
proposed procedure may occur after the Program Director
has obtained unanimous interim approval from one PRC
member and two HRC members.

22.7.7.2 Proposed prior review procedures not
requiring immediate implementation shall be submitted by a
school directly to PRC and HRC chairperson to be reviewed
within two weeks of submission of the proposal.

22.7.8 Have access to the educational records of
any child with autism for purposes of 22.5.1 and 22.6.1 of
this section.

22.7.8.1 A quorum of a joint meeting shall
consist of a majority of combined membership.

22.7.9Submit written Procedural Descriptions for
Behavior Management and Emergency Interventions

22.7.9.1 Prior to utilizing a behavior
management procedure or an emergency intervention
procedure for a particular child with autism, a school shall
submit written procedural descriptions for at least annual
joint review by the PRC and HRC.

22.7.9.1.1 The annual date of review
shall be announced by the HRC chairperson at least one
month prior to the review date.

22.7.9.1.2 The school shall submit
written procedural descriptions at least two weeks prior to
the joint annual review date to the PRC and HRC
chairpersons.

22.7.9.1.3 The written descriptions
shall contain information determined by PRC and HRC and
set forth in their operating rules.

22.7.9.1.4 PRC and HRC may request
pertinent information needed for the completion of reviews.

22.7.9.2 After reviewing each behavior
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management and emergency procedure, the PRC and HRC
shall indicate what kind of review each procedure requires
(annual, after-the-fact, or prior case-by-case review).  A
school serving children with autism shall then submit
proposals in accordance with PRC/HRC recommendations.

22.7.9.3 Behavior management and emergency
intervention procedures that require annual review only may
then be implemented by a school without further PRC/HRC
review until the next annual joint review.  A school shall
require that the use of these procedures be indicated in a
child’s IEP.

22.7.9.4 Behavior management and emergency
intervention procedures that require after-the-fact review
only shall be used by a school without case-by-case review,
but shall be reported after the fact to the PRC by dates
specified by the Committee chairperson.

22.7.9.4.1 The school shall submit
written records as set forth in PRC and HRC operating rules,
or any other relevant information requested by either
Committee, to the PRC chairperson at least one week prior
to the review date.

22.7.9.5 Behavior management procedures
that require prior case-by-case review shall be submitted to
the PRC and HRC for joint review prior to implementation.

22.7.9.5.1 If the PRC and HRC decide
not to review the case jointly, the PRC shall first review the
proposal.

22.7.9.5.2 The proposal shall contain
information determined by PRC and HRC and set forth in
their operating rules.

22.7.9.5.3 Recommendations and
rationale for the decision shall be provided whenever the
PRC fails to recommend use of a proposed procedure.

22.7.9.6 Following the PRC recommendation
(or following joint PRC/HRC approval), written informed
parental consent shall be obtained by the school.

22.7.9.6.1 If an interim consent is
obtained by telephone, then two witnesses to the content of
the conversation shall sign a form certifying that the
parent(s) gave informed consent. The school must then
obtain written verification of this consent from the parent(s).

22.7.9.6.2 Parents may withdraw
consent at any time; if said withdrawal is done verbally in
person or by telephone, the parent shall provide written
verification of withdrawal within 10 days of the initial
notice.

22.7.9.7 Whenever the PRC and HRC choose
not to meet jointly, the information provided by a school
shall be submitted to the HRC along with the PRC’s
recommendations.

22.7.9.7.1 Recommendations and
rationale for the decision shall be provided whenever the
HRC fails to recommend the use of a proposed procedure.

22.7.9.7.2 Whenever a proposal is

recommended for implementation, an IEP objective shall be
developed relating to the behavior management target and
the proposed procedure.

22.7.9.8 Whenever the PRC or HRC fail to
recommend or modify the proposed procedure, the parent(s)
shall be notified by the school.

22.7.9.8.1 If the procedure is to be
modified, informed written consent shall be obtained from
the parents.

22.7.9.9 The school staff responsible for
implementing the behavior management procedure shall
provide written reports to the PRC and HRC, summarizing
the records (which shall be kept on a daily basis) on the use
and results obtained by implementing the procedure.

22.7.9.9.1 Records shall be kept in an
objective, quantitative form, permitting easy evaluation of
child data.

22.7.9.9.2 The PRC and HRC shall
have unrestricted access to all data, records, and reports
relating to the behavior management procedures used.

22.7.9.10 Any behavior management or
emergency intervention procedure that is developed by a
school after the joint annual review date for a particular
school year shall be submitted to the PRC and HRC
chairpersons for joint review prior to any implementation of
the new procedure, unless interim approval has been
recommended as described in 22.7.7.

22.8 Private facilities serving autistic children shall
have Peer Review and Human Rights Committee policies as
follows:

22.8.1 Private facilities serving children with
autism located in Delaware shall have Peer Review
Committee and Human Rights Committee policies that
comply with DELACARE standards (requirements for
Residential Child Care Facilities, Department of Services for
Children, Youth and their Families).

22.8.2 Private facilities serving Delaware
children with autism located in other states shall comply
with the Peer Review Committee and Human Rights
Committee policies used by the state in which the facility is
located.

22.8.2.1 Said policies shall be reviewed by
Delaware’s Department of Education to determine that they
grant protection substantially equivalent to that provided by
Delaware for children prior to any recommendation of
approval for private placement by the State Board of
Education.

22.8.3 Private facilities serving Delaware
children with autism located in states which have no Peer
Review Committee and Human Rights Committee policies
shall have written Peer Review and Human Rights
Committee policies that shall be reviewed by Delaware’s
Department of Education in consultation with Delaware’s
PRC, to determine that they grant protection substantially
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equivalent to that provided by Delaware for children, prior to
any recommendation of approval for private placement by
the Secretary of Education.

22.8.4 Private facilities serving Delaware
children with autism located in states which require
substituted judgment or other court order for the use of
aversive or related restrictive procedures, and which have
obtained such an order for each Delaware child, shall be
deemed to have met the peer review and human rights
requirements of this section.

22.9 Whenever psychotropic medication has been
prescribed by a physician and appears to affect adversely the
educational program of a child with autism, the
administrator of the center shall contact the parent and
request a medication review with the parent and physician.

22.10 Appropriate liaison with the Department of
Health and Social Services and other agencies shall be
established by the Director of DAP and the Department of
Education.

23.0 Students in Need of Unique Educational
Alternatives

23.1 Unique Educational Alternative support shall
be available for those children with disabilities who have
needs that cannot be addressed through the existing
resources/programs of the State.  Unique Educational
Alternatives include, but are not limited to, private
residential placements and private day programs.

23.1.1 The Secretary of Education shall approve
children for Unique Educational Alternative support and the
type of Unique Educational Alternative Support to be
provided when such support is necessary to provide special
education and related services to a child with a disability.

23.1.2 If the Unique Educational Alternative is a
private residential or private day placement, the Secretary of
Education shall approve the designation of each child
eligible for private placement and the private school or
facility in which the approved child is to be enrolled.

23.1.3 Such approval of unique educational
alternatives shall be for no more than a one-year period,
ending no later than August 31 of the year in which the child
is to be enrolled.

23.2 Except as otherwise provided by the General
Assembly in the Budget Act.  The Department of Education
is required to convene the Interagency Collaborative Team
(ICT) to review the expenditures for new placements of
students in need of Unique Educational Alternatives.

23.2.1 The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
membership shall consist of:

23.2.1.1 Division Director, Division of Child
Mental Health Services, DSCYF;

23.2.1.2 Division Director, Family Services of
DSCYF;

23.2.1.3 Division Director, Division of Youth

Rehabilitation Services of DSCYF;
23.2.1.4 Division Director, Division of Mental

Retardation of DHSS;
23.2.1.5 Division Director, Division of

Alcoholism, Drug Abuse and Mental Health, DHSS;
23.2.1.6 Director of the Office of the Budget,

or designee;
23.2.1.7 Controller General or designee;
23.2.1.8 Director, Exceptional Children’s

Group, DOE, who will serve as Chair;
23.2.1.9 Associate Secretary, Curriculum &

Instructional Improvement, DOE.
23.2.2 A Director shall be assigned to the

Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT) and may designate
staff to represent them on the Interagency Collaborative
Team (ICT) only if these designated representatives are
empowered to act on behalf of the Division Director,
including commitment of Division resources, for a full fiscal
year.

23.2.3 The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
shall invite to its meetings:  a representative of a responsible
school district for the case under consideration, the parents
of the child, and other persons the team believes can
contribute to their deliberations.

23.2.4 The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
shall:

23.2.4.1 Review existing assessments of new
referrals;

23.2.4.2 Prescribe, if required, additional
assessments for new referrals;

23.2.4.3 Review proposed treatment plans of
new referrals;

23.2.4.4 Recommend alternatives for treatment
plans of new referrals;

23.2.4.5 Coordinate interagency delivery of
services;

23.2.4.6 Review at least annually, current
Unique Educational Alternatives for the appropriateness of
treatment plans and transition planning;

23.2.4.7 If appropriate, designate a Primary
Case Manager for the purpose of coordination of service
agencies;

23.2.4.8 If appropriate, designate agencies to
be involved in collaborative monitoring of individual cases.

23.2.5 The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
shall ensure that state costs incurred as the result of a Team
recommendation or assessment of a child currently funded
from the Unique Educational Alternatives appropriation for
this purpose in the Budget Act will be covered from the
existing appropriation.

23.2.5.1 New referrals will be assessed in the
interagency manner described above.

23.2.5.2 The Interagency Collaborative Team
(ICT) may accept and review cases initiated by other
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agencies, but in all cases, the school district of residence
must be involved in the review.

23.2.5.3 Cases reviewed by the Interagency
Collaborative Team (ICT) will employ Unique Educational
Alternatives funding to cover state costs to the extent
determined appropriate by the Interagency Collaborative
Team.

23.2.5.4 Other agencies may recognize a
portion of the responsibility for the treatment of these
children if determined appropriate by the Team.  Funds may
be transferred upon the approval of the Budget Director and
the Controller General.

23.2.6 The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
shall report on its activities to the Governor, Budget
Director, President Pro-Tempore, Speaker of the House and
the Controller General by February 15 of each year.  The
report shall address the status of items addressed in the
previous February ICT Annual Report.

23.3 Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT) Review
Criteria

23.3.1 The Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT)
shall recommend to the Secretary of Education action on
referrals for approval of Unique Educational Alternatives
based on the following criteria:

23.3.1.1 A school district or other public
agency support/program is either not available or is not
adequate.

23.3.1.2 The school district certifies that the
school district cannot meet the needs of the child with
existing resources and/or program.

23.4 Procedures for Districts Seeking to Place
Students in Unique Educational Alternative Settings

23.4.1 The responsible district and fiscal agency
for a child seeking Unique Educational Alternative support
shall be the child’s district of residence.  The district is
responsible for inviting the parent, and, if appropriate, the
student, to the ICT meeting.

23.4.2 The chairperson of the Interagency
Collaborative Team shall be contacted by telephone by the
district special education supervisor or designee as soon as
the district has reason to believe Unique Educational
Alternative support may be needed.

23.4.3 The district level IEP Committee shall
meet and determine if the child’s need for special education
and related services can be met within the existing resources/
programs available to the district.

23.4.3.1 Representatives of all agencies
involved with the child shall be invited to attend this
meeting.

23.4.4 The district shall submit an application to
the Chair of the ICT at least five business days before the
meeting if it is determined that the child’s needs for special
education and related services as delineated on the child’s
IEP cannot be met through existing resources/programs.

23.4.5 The application will include:
23.4.5.1 Current and other relevant assessment

information;
23.4.5.2 A historical summary of all

placements and/or major interventions and support services
that have been provided to the student;

23.4.5.3 A current IEP;
23.4.5.4 A concise statement of the needs that

cannot be addressed through existing recourses or programs;
23.4.5.5 A list of all agencies and resources

that are currently supporting the child and the family; and
23.4.5.6 An Interagency Release of

Information Form.
23.5 Procedures for the ICT

23.5.1 The ICT shall review the application at its
next monthly meeting.

23.5.2 Parents and representatives of all involved
agencies shall be invited to participate in the meeting.

23.5.3 Recommendations of the Interagency
Collaborative Team shall be shared in writing with the
school district, parents and other agency staff involved with
the case within five business days.  The ICT may:

23.5.3.1 Request additional information before
making a final recommendation.  This may include the
involvement of additional agencies, additional assessments
and/or review of additional programs/resources that the local
team had not considered;

23.5.3.2 Request for additional information
shall be sent to the school district, parents, and other agency
staff involved in the case within five business days of the
meeting and as soon as the additional information is
available, the case shall be brought back to the ICT for
further review.

23.5.3.3 Recommend approval and agree that
the child has needs that cannot be addressed through existing
programs/resources.  The local team may then develop the
specifics of the Unique Educational Alternative support; or

23.5.3.4 Recommend rejection and ask the
local team to use existing programs/resources to meet the
educational needs of the children.

23.5.4 Final recommendations of the ITC shall be
shared in writing with the school district, parents and other
agency staff involved in the case within five business days.

23.5.4.1 If the recommendation is for
approval, the local team shall develop the specifics,
including costs, of the Unique Educational Alternative.

23.5.4.2 The final plan, with costs, shall be
submitted to the Chair of the ICT.

23.5.4.3 The Chair shall submit the
recommendations for approval to the Secretary of Education.

23.5.4.4 A recommendation for rejection shall
be submitted by the Chair of the ICT to the Secretary of
Education for final action.

23.5.4.5 The parent, district superintendent,
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the special education supervisor, and the director of any
other involved agency shall be notified in writing by the
Secretary of Education, following the action.

23.6Financial Aid for Unique Educational Alternatives
23.6.1 Financial aid for children approved for

Unique Educational Alternative support by the Secretary of
Education, other than private residential or day schools, shall
include only those costs that are not covered by an existing
funding line.

23.6.1.1 The Department of Education shall
pay 85% of the Unique Educational costs and the local
school district will pay 15% of the costs unless waivers for
the local school district are recommended by the Interagency
Collaborative Team (ICT).

23.6.2 Financial aid for children with disabilities
approved for private placement by the Department of
Education shall include maintenance, transportation and
tuition.

23.6.2.1 The Department of Education shall
pay 85% of the private placement costs and the local school
district shall pay 15% of the private placement costs.

23.6.2.2 The amount authorized for payment
shall be the amounts charged by the private school or facility
for tuition or program costs, transportation and maintenance,
in accordance with the definitions in the Delaware Code.

23.7 Independent Placements by School District or
Agency:  A school district or other public agency may
independently place a child with a disability in a private or
public school or facility and provide the tuition from
appropriate school district or other agency funds without
Department of Education approval.

23.7.1Such an independent placement in a private
or public out-of-state facility using local funds must,
nonetheless, be certified as a program meeting the applicable
standards of the host state.

23.8 School District/Agency Responsibility for
Private Placements:  When a school district or other public
agency responsible for the education of children with
disabilities is unable to provide an appropriate program, the
district or other public agency may refer the student for
private placement.

23.8.1 District Certification and Documentation
23.8.1.1 The local school district certification

that the child is eligible for private placement and the
statement pertaining to the lack of an appropriate program
shall be forwarded on the designated forms to the
Department of Education for review by the Interagency
Collaborative Team (ICT) prior to action by the Secretary of
Education.

23.8.1.2 Documentation shall accompany each
application describing the nature and severity of the child’s
disabling condition(s).

23.8.1.3 Such documentation shall include
report(s) of the appropriate specialist(s), depending upon the

nature of the child’s disability.
23.8.1.4 Additional documentation will be

requested, if needed, in order to make a recommendation as
to the child’s eligibility for private placement or the
appropriateness of the requested placement.

23.9 Responsibility for Individualized Education
Program

23.9.1 The district or any other public agency
shall develop the initial Individualized Education Program
for each child with a disability referred for approval for
placement that is in a private school or facility.

23.9.2 The district or other public agency shall
ensure that a representative of the private school or facility
attends the meeting.  If a representative of the private school
cannot attend the meeting, the district shall use other
methods to ensure participation by the private school or
facility, including individual or conference telephone calls.

23.9.3 After a child with a disability enters a
private school or facility; any meetings to review and revise
the child’s IEP may be initiated and conducted by the private
school or facility at the discretion of the district or any other
public agency.

23.9.4 If the private school or facility initiates
and conducts these meetings, the district or any other public
agency shall ensure that the parents and a district or any
other public agency representative are involved in any
decision about the child’s IEP and agree to any proposed
changes in the program before those changes are
implemented.

23.9.5 District of Residence:  The referring
district and fiscal agency for a child in private placement is
the child’s district of residence.

23.9.6 Responsibility for Compliance:  Primary
responsibility for compliance with State and federal
regulations shall remain with the school district or other
public agency responsible for the education of the child,
even if a private school or facility implements a child’s IEP.

23.10 State Responsibility for Private School
Accountability:  In implementing State and federal
regulations governing accountability for and to private
programs, the Department of Education shall have the
authority to:

23.10.1 Monitor compliance through procedures
such as written reports, on-site visits and parent
questionnaires.

23.10.2 Develop regulations that define the
standards by which private schools and facilities may be
approved to serve students with disabilities, and a schedule
for reevaluation.

23.10.3 Disseminate copies of applicable
standards to each private program to which a public agency
has referred or placed a student with disability.

23.10.4 Provide an opportunity for those private
schools or facilities to participate in the development and
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revision of State standards, which apply to them.

24.0 General Supervision of Education for Children with
Disabilities:  The Department of Education (DOE) shall
ensure that each educational program for children with
disabilities administered within the State, including each
program administered by any other public agency, is under
the general supervision of the persons responsible for
educational programs for children with disabilities in the
State educational agency; and meets education standards of
the State educational agency.

24.1Documentation of DOE activity in meeting its
responsibilities shall be maintained in a manner consistent
with effective management procedures.  Such documentation
shall include, but not be limited to, issues pertaining to:

24.1.1 General Supervision, Cooperative
Agreements, Complaint/Due Process Procedures,
Compliance Monitoring, Project Coordination, Program
Evaluation, Comprehensive System of Personnel
Development, Dissemination; and Finance/Administration.

24.2 The DOE shall, through its Comprehensive
Compliance Monitoring System, ensure that each public
agency develops and implements an IEP for each of its
children with disabilities.

24.3 The DOE shall distribute regulations, sample
documents and letters of notification to all agencies (public
and non-public) providing services to children with
disabilities.

24.4 Nothing in the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act, as amended, shall be construed by any party
as permitting any agency of the State to reduce medical or
other assistance under, or alter the eligibility requirements
of, programs funded in whole or in part through Title V
(Maternal and Child Health) or Title XIX (Medicaid) of the
Social Security Act, with respect to the provision of a free
appropriate public education for children with disabilities
within the State.

24.5 Compliance Monitoring:  The DOE shall carry
out a minimum of six administrative responsibilities
regarding monitoring of programs for children with
disabilities.  These responsibilities are:

24.5.1 Adoption and use of policies and
procedures to exercise general supervision over all
educational programs for children with disabilities within the
State.

24.5.2 Adoption and use of a method to
continuously collect and analyze information sufficient to
determine compliance of sub-grantees and other agencies
providing services to children with disabilities within the
State, and agencies providing services to Delaware children
with disabilities in other states, with applicable State and
federal program operation requirements.

24.5.3 Adoption and use of a method by which
the DOE formally directs that each deficiency identified in

program operations be corrected by the appropriate agency.
24.5.4 Adoption and use of a method by which

the DOE enforces State and federal legal obligations by
imposing appropriate sanctions when a public agency fails or
refuses to correct a deficiency.  If, after giving reasonable
notice and an opportunity for a hearing, the DOE determines
that a local school district or other public agency has failed
to comply with any requirement in the Administrative
Manual for Special Education Services, the DOE shall:

24.5.4.1 Make no further payments to the
district or agency until the DOE is satisfied that there is no
longer any failure to comply with the requirement; or

24.5.4.2 Consider its decision in its review of
any application made by the district or agency for IDEA-B
payments;

24.5.4.3 Or both.
24.5.5 Any school district or other public agency

receiving a notice from the Department of Education under
24.5.4 is subject to public notice provisions as required
under 34 CFR 300.196.

24.5.6If, through its regular monitoring procedures,
complaints, hearing results or other sources of information,
there is evidence that the district or agency is making special
education placements that are inconsistent with 34 CFR
300.550 (Least Restrictive Environment) or federal
regulations, the Department of Education shall review the
district or agency’s justification for its action and shall assist
the district or agency in planning and implementing any
necessary corrective action.

24.6 Scope of Department of Education Compliant
Monitoring Authority

24.6.1 The Department of Education, acting on
behalf of the State Board of Education, shall have the
authority to conduct monitoring, including collection and
use of both off-site and on-site information.

24.6.2 The State Secretary of Education shall
have the authority to compel the correction of deficiencies
identified in program operations.

24.6.3 The State Secretary of Education shall
have the authority to enforce legal obligations.

24.6.4 Department of Education standards
relative to special education and related services shall be
applicable to, and binding upon, all education programs for
children who are disabled administered within the State.

24.7 The Department of Education Methods of
Monitoring shall include:

24.7.1 Written monitoring procedures which
cover all aspects of State and federal requirements and which
are uniformly applied to all public agencies;

24.7.2 Identification of deficiencies in program
operations by collecting, analyzing, and verifying
information sufficient to make determinations of
compliance/non-compliance with State and federal
requirements;
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24.7.3 Determination of whether or not each
educational program for children with disabilities
administered within the State, including private schools in
which these children are placed by public agencies, meets
educational standards of the Department of Education, the
requirements of IDEA, Part B, and where applicable, of
Educational General Administrative Requirements
(EDGAR).

24.7.4 Use of other information provided to the
Department of Education through complaints, hearings and
court decisions, evaluation and performance reports, and
other formally submitted documents to determine if agencies
and programs are in need of specific compliance
interventions;

24.7.5Monitoring the implementation of any
compliance agreement and the investigation of the
implementation of any orders resulting from the resolution
of complaints filed with the Department of Education against
the agency being monitored;

24.7.6 Use of off-site review, on-site review,
letters of inquiry, and follow-up or verification of specific
activities;

24.7.7 Written documentation of each monitoring
activity through correspondence and reports;

24.7.8 Specification of a reasonable period of
time to complete the analysis of information collected for
monitoring or evaluation purposes to identify deficiencies of
a program or public agency in meeting State and federal
requirements and report such deficiencies to the public
agency; and, where applicable, of Educational General
Administrative requirements (EDGAR);

24.7.9 Specification of a reasonable period of
time for reaching a determination that a deficiency in
program operations exists, and for notifying the agency in
writing if required;

24.7.10 Requirement of a written notice (for
example, monitoring report, letter of findings) that:

24.7.10.1 Describes each corrective action
which must be taken, including a reasonable time frame for
submission of a corrective action plan;

24.7.10.2 Requires that the corrective
action plan provide for:  the immediate discontinuance of the
violation; the prevention of the occurrence of any future
violation; documentation of the initiation and completion of
actions to achieve current and future compliance; the
timeframe for achieving full compliance; and the description
of actions the agency must take to remedy the identified
areas of non-compliance.

24.7.11 Specification of a reasonable period of
time after receiving a corrective action plan from an agency
in which the Department of Education shall determine
whether the corrective action plan meets each of the
requirements or if additional information is required from
the agency;

24.7.12 Specification of a reasonable period of
time from the date of the original written notice, in which the
Department of Education shall determine that:

24.7.12.1 The agency has submitted an
acceptable corrective action plan which complies fully with
all of the requirements; or

24.7.12.2 Reasonable efforts have not
resulted in voluntary compliance.

24.7.13 That a school district or other public
agency be given reasonable notice and an opportunity for a
hearing with respect to an identified deficiency.

24.7.13.1 If the school district or other
public agency declines a hearing, the Department of
Education shall reach a final decision of compliance or non-
compliance within ten (10) days.

24.7.13.2 If the Department of Education
conducts a hearing, the Department of Education shall reach
a final decision of compliance or non-compliance within
thirty (30) days after the conclusion of the hearing; or

24.7.13.3 If the Department of Education
reaches a final decision of non-compliance (i.e., the school
district or other public agency has violated State or federal
requirements); the Department of Education shall:

24.7.13.3.1 Make no further payments
under Part B to the school district or other public agency
until the school district or other public agency submits an
acceptable corrective action plan;

24.7.13.3.2 Disapprove any pending
school district or other public agency Part B local
application, when appropriate;

24.7.13.3.3 Seek recovery of funds, and
impose any other sanctions authorized by law.

24.8 Comprehensive System of Personnel
Development:  The Department of Education shall provide
opportunities for all public and private institutions of higher
education, and other agencies and organizations, including
representatives of individuals with disabilities, parent, and
other advocacy organizations in the State which have an
interest in the education of children with disabilities, to
participate fully in the development, review, and annual
updating of the Comprehensive System of Personnel
Development.

24.8.1 The Department of Education shall
conduct an annual needs assessment to determine if a
sufficient number of qualified personnel are available in the
State, and to determine the training needs of personnel
relative to the implementation of federal and State
requirements for programs for children with disabilities.

24.8.2 The results of the annual needs assessment
shall be used in planning and providing personnel
development programs.

24.8.3 The Department of Education shall
implement a Comprehensive System of Personnel
Development which includes:
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24.8.3.1 The inservice and preservice training
of general and special education instruction, related services,
and support personnel.  Such training shall include training
and technical assistance for ensuring that teachers and
administrators in all public agencies are fully informed of
their responsibilities in implementing the least restrictive
environment requirements and other requirements for special
education and related services;

24.8.3.2 Procedures to ensure that all
personnel necessary to carry out the provision of special
education and related services are qualified and that
activities sufficient to carry out the personnel development
plan are scheduled;

24.8.3.3 Procedures for acquiring and
disseminating to teachers and administrators of programs for
children with disabilities significant information derived
from educational research, demonstration, and similar
projects, and for adopting, where appropriate, promising
educational practices and materials.

24.8.4 On-going inservice training programs
shall be available to all personnel who are engaged in the
education of children with disabilities.

24.8.4.1 These programs shall include:  (1) use
of incentives which ensure participation by teachers, such as
released time, payment for participation, options for
academic credit, salary step credit, certification renewal,
new instructional materials, and/or updating professional
skills; (2) involvement of local staff; and (3) use of
innovative practices which have been found to be effective.

24.8.5 The Department of Education shall
coordinate and facilitate efforts among the Department of
Education, districts and agencies, including institutions of
higher education and professional associations, to recruit,
prepare, and retain qualified personnel, including personnel
from minority backgrounds, and personnel with disabilities.

24.8.6 The Department of Education shall
coordinate with each district, agency and/or institution of
higher education all responsibilities relative to the gathering
of data, training, recruitment and retention as delineated in
34 CFR 300.380.

24.8.7 The Department of Education shall
disseminate copies of statutes, regulations, and standards
applicable to programs for children with disabilities to each
local education agency, institution, and/or organization
responsible for carrying out the programs.

24.8.7.1 Such dissemination includes each
private school and facility to which a public agency has
referred a child with a disability.

24.8.7.2 The Department of Education shall
disseminate information on significant knowledge derived
from educational research and other sources, promising
practices, materials, and technology, proven effective
through research and demonstration which may be of
assistance to LEAs and other agencies in the improvement of

education and related services for children with disabilities.
24.8.7.3 The Department of Education shall be

responsible for the following dissemination activities:
24.8.7.3.1 Notice of any changes in

statutes, regulations, or standards applicable to programs for
children with disabilities shall be issued in writing, with
copies to the head of each school district or other public
agency, to each supervisor of programs for children with
disabilities and to institutions of higher education;

24.8.7.3.2 Regular meetings, at least
quarterly, of LEA and other agency supervisors of special
education programs;

24.8.7.3.3 Learning Resource System
publications relative to current issues and promising
practices.

24.9 Finance/Administration
24.9.1 Child Count Procedures:  The Department

of Education shall specify in writing the procedures and
forms used to conduct the annual count of children served.
Such procedures and forms shall conform to 34 CFR
300.750 through 300.755 and written instructions received
from the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative
Services (OSERS).

24.9.2 Administration of Funds:  Funds for the
education of children with disabilities shall be administered
pursuant to Title 14 of the Delaware Code.

24.9.3 Review of LEA Application:  The
Department of Education shall develop and use a review
sheet to document that all required IDEA-B, EDGAR, and
State statutes and regulations have been applied to the
review and approval of each LEA Application.

24.9.3.1 Each LEA shall be notified in writing,
using a standard format of the status of its Application, i.e.,
approved, not approved, and any conditions which must be
met in order for the Application to be approved.

24.9.3.2 All amendments to an LEA
Application shall be reviewed and approved using the same
requirements and procedures used for an initial Application.

24.9.3.3 In the event that the Department of
Education and the LEA cannot negotiate and effect an
approved LEA Application, the Department of Education
shall notify the LEA in writing of its right to a hearing and
the procedures for obtaining a hearing.

24.9.3.4 If, after a hearing, the district or
agency application is found to be unapprovable, the district
or agency may appeal this finding to the Secretary, U. S.
Department of Education.  The applicant shall file a notice of
the appeal with the Secretary within 20 days after the
applicant has been notified by the Department of Education
of the results of the hearing.

24.9.3.5 The State shall make available at
reasonable times and places to each applicant all records of
the agency pertaining to any review or appeal the applicant is
conducting under this section, including records of other
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applicants.
24.9.3.6 An applicant from a district or agency

shall include the following information:
24.9.3.6.1 A description of how the

applicant will meet the federal requirements for participation
of children enrolled in private schools.

24.9.3.6.2 The numbers of children
enrolled in private schools which have been identified as
eligible for benefits under the program.

24.9.3.6.3 The basis the applicant used
to select the children.

24.9.3.6.4 The manner and extent to
which the applicant complied with Section 76.652
(consultation).

24.9.3.6.5 The places and times the
children will receive benefits under the program.

24.9.3.6.6 The difference, if any,
between the program benefits the applicant will provide to
public and private school children, and the reasons for the
differences.

24.9.4 Recovery of Funds for Misclassified
Children:  A State audit shall be conducted during the month
of October to ascertain that units awarded on September 30
are in full operation on or prior to that date with evidence of
services being provided.  If, during the audit of State units
for the education of children with disabilities, it is
discovered that a child has been erroneously classified, this
discrepancy will be made known to the local education
agency and will also be reported to the proper persons at the
Department of Education.

24.9.4.1 The specific procedures used in order
to authenticate the count of children will be found in the
Monitor’s Handbook for the September Audit and Site
Monitoring.

24.9.4.2 The local education agency will be
notified that its Part B grant award has been reduced by an
amount equal to that fiscal year’s per child allocation of
$558,000, the LEA grant would be reduced at a rate of
$558.00 for each child determined to have been
misclassified.

24.9.4.3 Should discovery of misclassification
occur at a time other than during the audit of State units,
such as in the fourth quarter of the Grant, the following
year’s Grant Award shall be reduced accordingly.  The task
of identifying children who have been misclassified shall not
only during the September 30 audit of State units, but during
all other IDEA monitoring and evaluation on-site visits as
well.

24.10 Other SEA Responsibilities
24.10.1 Ensure Adequate Evaluation:  As a means

of ensuring adequate evaluation of the effectiveness of the
policies and procedures relative to child identification shall:

24.10.1.1 Incorporate within its CCMS
process a series of questions about the Childfind activities

which will be asked of special and regular education
teachers, administrators, related services personnel, Part H
personnel and other public agencies;

24.10.1.2 Systematically review each
LEA’s application for federal funds to ensure that it contains
a complete description of the LEA’s child identification
process;

24.10.1.3 Annually review the child count
data to determine trends and anomalies in the types and
numbers of children identified.

25.0 Funding Issues for Children with Disabilities
25.1 Reimbursement under the Unit System:

Eligibility of the local education agencies to receive
reimbursement under the unit system is contingent upon:

25.1.1 The proper identification of children with
disabilities in accordance with Title 14 of the Delaware
Code and Sections 2.0, 3.0, and 4.0 of these regulations; and

25.1.2 A State Department of Education audit to
document the child count for units awarded on September
30, and to document the availability of current and complete
IEPs for children included in the count.

25.2 Aides Positions for Services to Children with
Disabilities (as authorized under 14 Del. C., Section 1324).

25.2.1 All paraprofessionals in such positions
shall work under the supervision of teachers.

25.2.2 The following positions may be
authorized:

25.2.2.1 Trainable Mental Disability Unit:
One classroom teacher, or in lieu of a teacher, two aides may
be employed, as long as the number of aides does not exceed
the number of teachers in any given special school.  Such
teachers or aides who work during the eleventh and twelfth
months shall be paid for two hundred twenty-two (222) days.

25.2.2.2 Severe Mental Disability Unit:  One
classroom teacher and one classroom aide may be employed
per unit in any given special school.  In lieu of the teacher,
two additional aides may be employed as long as the number
of aides does not exceed the number of teachers in any given
school by a 2 to 1 ratio.  Such teachers or aides who work
during the eleventh and twelfth months shall be paid for two
hundred twenty-two (222) days.

25.2.2.3 Autism Unit:  One teacher and one
aide may be employed per unit.  Such teachers or aides who
work during the eleventh and twelfth months shall be paid
for two hundred twenty-two (222) days.

25.2.2.4 Physical Impairment Unit:  One
classroom teacher and either one aide or attendant may be
employed per unit in any given special school.

25.2.2.5 Hearing Impairment Unit:  One
classroom teacher and one aide per primary unit, one
classroom teacher and one aide for other units (grades 4-12),
and one clerk-aide for the parent-child program may be
employed in any given special school.
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25.2.2.6 Deaf/Blindness Unit:  One classroom
teacher and one classroom aide may be employed per unit.
In lieu of the teacher, two additional aides may be employed
as long as the number of aides does not exceed the number of
teachers in any given school by a 2 to 1 ratio.  Such teachers
or aides who work during the eleventh and twelfth months
shall be paid for two hundred and twenty-two (222) days.

25.2.2.7 Intensive Learning Center Unit:  One
classroom teacher, or in lieu of a teacher, two aides, may be
employed as long as the number of aides does not exceed the
number of teachers in any center, and that all aides work
under the direct supervision of teachers.

25.2.3 The use and ratio of aides to teachers shall
be dependent upon the rationale developed by the agency.

25.3School Nurses (as authorized by 14 Del. C., Section
1310)

25.3.1 A nurse shall be employed for eight (8) or
more units of children with autism, physical impairment,
trainable mental disability, severe mental disability, or a
combination thereof, and for hearing impairment as per
regular district formula, i.e., 40:1.  Such units shall be
subtracted from the district’s total units so that they are not
counted twice.

25.4 Other Positions for Services to Children with
Disabilities

25.4.1Any special school with an enrollment of ten
(10) or more units may employ a secretary (12 months) and
proportional secretarial services for less than 10 units.  Such
units must be subtracted from the district’s total units so that
they are not counted twice.

25.4.2 Custodial services shall be provided upon
the regular custodial formula with consideration given for
residence hall care.

25.4.3 An instructional media specialist shall be
assigned to the school for the hearing impaired when there is
a minimum of ten (10) units.

25.4.4 A budget item shall be provided for
contractual services in order to give to a school for hearing
impaired the appropriate services in such fields as, but not
limited to, speech pathology, school psychology, social
work, and guidance counseling.

25.4.5 Whenever the State Board of Education
designates a particular school district to serve as
administrator for the statewide program for deaf/blind
pupils, that district may employ as a statewide coordinator at
the principal’s rank and salary, a principal for eight (8) or
more such units of deaf/blind children.  If a principal is
assigned responsibility for such a program for fewer than
eight (8) units, the support for the assignment shall be in the
same ratio as the number of authorized units is to eight (8)
units.

REGULATIONS FROM THE HANDBOOK OF 
PERSONNEL ADMINISTRATION FOR DELAWARE 

SCHOOL DISTRICTS
 
A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend seven regulations
from the Handbook of Personnel Administration for
Delaware School Districts.  The original seven regulations
have been reduced to three regulations: Credit for
Experience for Administrators, Teachers and Secretaries;
School Food Service Employees; and Substitutes.  The
regulations for School Food Service Employees and for
Substitutes are still separate regulations.  The regulations for
Administrative and Supervisory Personnel, for Classroom
Teachers, Specialists and Therapists, and for Secretaries
have been combined and the regulations for School Nurses
and for Attendants and Aides have been placed in the Special
Education Regulations and in the Transportation
Regulations.

Administrative and Supervisory Personnel, page 11-2,
has been amended to delete the first three paragraphs, which
are found in the Del. C.  The fourth paragraph on credit for
experience has been placed in the amended regulation Credit
for Experience for Administrators, Teachers and Secretaries.

Classroom Teachers, Specialists and Therapists, pages
11-6 through the first five lines of page 11-10, (The balance
of page 11-10 and page 11-11 have already been acted on by
the Secretary and the Board) has been amended to delete all
of the paragraphs that are found in the Del. C.  The last
paragraph on page 11-6, although not in Del. C. in 1981
when adopted as State Board policy, is now found in 14 Del.
C., Section 1312(c.) and has been deleted.  Gifted and
Talented referred to on page 11-9 is deleted as it is now
found in 14 Del. C., Section 1716(c) Academic Excellence
Units. The third paragraph from the top of page 11-6 on
teacher experience has been updated and is part of the
amended regulation, Credit for Experience for
Administrators, Teachers and Secretaries.

School Nurses, page 11-12, has been amended to delete
all paragraphs but the fifth paragraph which deals with units
for students with disabilities.  The fifth paragraph is now in
the amended Children with Disabilities Regulations, Section
25.3.  The other paragraphs are deleted because they are
addressed in the Del. C.

Secretaries, pages 11-13 and 11-14, has been amended
to delete all paragraphs but the first one which addresses
allowable experience toward salary calculations.  This
paragraph has been placed in the amended regulation Credit
for Experience for Administrators, Teachers and Secretaries
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and now allows one year’s experience for each creditable
year of experience in private business, public schools or
other governmental agency.  The new wording removes the
word “full” and replaces it with “creditable.”  The other
paragraphs were deleted because they are found in the Del.
C.

School Food Service Employees, pages 11-20 through
11-23, has been amended to change the word “full” year of
experience to “creditable” in the second line under
Experience.  The sections of the regulation under Allocation,
Salaries, Months of Employment, Determination of
Employee Staffing and Salary Formula, Fringe Benefits,
Food Service Training and Food Service Management
Technology Program have been amended to remove the Del.
C. references and the technical assistance statements and to
bring the language in line with present Del. C. and
Department of Education procedures where appropriate.
The Health Regulations are deleted from this regulation
because school employees are covered under existing
regulations on Tuberculin Tests and Physical Examinations.

Attendants and Aids, pages 11-24 - 11-25, has been
amended to delete the Del. C. references in the Eligibility for
Employment, Allocation, Salaries and Months of
Employment sections and to then place the regulations
concerning classroom aides for students with disabilities in
the amended Children with Disabilities Regulations, Section
25.2.  The regulations concerning transportation aides for
students with disabilities are placed in the Transportation
Regulations, Section 19.10.  The last section Job Definition
is being deleted from the regulations, as job descriptions are
no longer required.

Substitutes, pages 11-26 and 11-27, has been amended
to delete the Del. C. references and to change the existing
section 1. f. by deleting the reference to “New Directions”
and referring to “Department of Education initiated
committee work and project assignments.”  The other parts
that define when substitutes can be used and how they are
paid remain the same with some updating of the wording.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulations address personnel issues, not
student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulations address personnel issues,
not equitable education issues.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulations address personnel issues,

not students’ health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulations address personnel issues,
not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level?

The amended regulations will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulations will not place
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school
levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision-making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the amended regulations be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulations will be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulations?

The regulations are required in order to provide
statewide consistency in personnel matters.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulations?

There is no additional cost associated with
implementing these amended regulations.
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AS APPEARS IN THE HANDBOOK OF PERSONNEL 
ADMINISTRATION FOR DELAWARE SCHOOL 

DISTRICTS

Administrative and Supervisor Personnel

Experience
In determining salary in accordance with §1305, "years

of experience" means years of service in any public school
or regularly organized private school.  Ninety-one days in
any school year shall constitute l year of experience, but not
more than l year of experience may be credited for any l
calendar year.  Years of service in the armed forces shall also
be counted as years of experience in accordance with the
rules and regulations adopted by the State Board of
Education in this respect. §1312(a).  (See State Board of
Education Rules in Section l.)

In the case of personnel whose salaries are based wholly
or in part upon §§ 1306, 1307, 1308, 1309,1311, 1321 and
1322 of this title, experience shall be evaluated by the State
Board of Education, taking into consideration the number of
months and the nature of the services rendered. §1312(c).  In
practice, this evaluation is done by the school district, except
in cases where the school district requests assistance from
the State Department of Public Instruction.

One assistant superintendent, l director, l administrative
assistant and l supervisor in each district having such
employees assigned duties in the areas of business, finance
or purchasing may be credited with years of experience on
the salary schedule set forth in § 1305 for years of
experience in public or private business in accordance with
rules established by the State Board of Education. §1321(g).

No credit for part-time employment will be allowed.
(State Board of Education regulation, November 12, 1970)

Classroom Teachers, Specialists And Therapists

Experience
Years of experience in determining salary in accordance

with §1305 of this title means years of service in any public
school or regularly organized private school.  Ninety-one
days in any school year shall constitute one year of
experience, but not more than one year of experience may be
credited for any one calendar year.  Years of service in the
armed forces shall also be counted as years of experience in
accordance with the rules and regulations adopted by the
State Board of Education in this respect. §1312(a).

Credit is given for experience out of the state. §1312(a).
Days taught as a substitute or as a teacher aide may not

be used toward credit for experience; however employment
as a teacher on a regular part time basis may be used toward
credit for experience.  As used in this instance, a "regular
part time" employee is one who is employed in a position
which requires at least 50 hours per month for a least 9

months during a period of 12 consecutive months.
For a person employed as a teacher of Trades and

Industries, or as a Coordinator of Distributive Education,
work experience shall be allowed on a year-for-year basis for
full-time work experience in the trade of the teaching subject
for those years of work experience beyond years counted
toward qualification for certification under rules and
regulations of the State Board of Education, specified in the
Manual of Certification of Professional School Personnel.
One hundred thirty-one (131) working days in any school
year shall constitute one year of work experience but not
more than one year of experience may be credited for any
one calendar year. §1312(b).  For purposes of determining
salary, experience/degree equivalents are specified in §
1301(3).

For persons employed in the specialized areas of school
psychometrist; school psychologist; speech and hearing
teacher (speech therapists); school occupational therapist;
school physical therapist, and other areas of specialty which
are similarly recognized, work experience shall be allowed
on a year-for-year basis for full time work experience in any
public school.  Such work experience shall also be allowed
for full time work in regularly organized private school,
hospital, private medical practice, agencies of states and
cities administering public funds, or a branch of the armed
services of the United States.  The credited work experience
must have been in the area of educational specialty for which
the individual is currently employed in the public schools.
(State Board of Education regulation, November 19, 1981,
effective July 1, 1982.)

R8/15/91

Term of Employment, Position/Unit  Authorization and
Salary Schedules

Delaware Code, Title 14 Sections
Months AuthorizationSalary Schedules

*
Classroom Teachers10**1704,17051305(a)
Psychologists101321(e)(5)1305(a)

For Autistic121332(b)(2)1305(a)
Speech & Hearing Teachers101321(e)(6)1305(a)
Visiting Teachers101321(e)(7)1305(a)
Driver Education10***1321(e)(8)1305(a)
Physical Therapists 

For SMH12 1321(e)(11)1305(a)
For Orthopedic H.101321(e)(17)1305(a)

Occupational Therapists 
For SMH12 1321(e)(12)1305(a)
For Orthopedic H.101321(e)(17)1305(a)

Speech Therapists 
For SMH12 1321(e)(13)1305(a)
For Orthopedic H.101321(e)(17)1305(a)
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For Autistic121332(b)(1)1305(a)
Therapist & Special Service121321(e)(14)1305(a)
Basic Skills Specialists101321(e)(15)1305(a)
Interpreter-Tutor (Sterk)101331(b)1331(b)
Director-Specialist (Autistic)121332(a)1332(a)
Related Services Specialist--1716A1305(a)
Gifted & Talented Units--1716B1305(a)
Disruptive Student Units--1716C

* Teachers are employed for ten (10) months which
shall mean a total of 185 days.  The 185 days shall be full
work days with 180 days devoted to actual school sessions
and 5 days devoted to inservice sessions and other programs
approved by the State Board of Education. §1305(c). (See
School Calendar in Section 10 of this handbook.)

** Vocational agriculture teachers may be employed
for 12 months.  §1321(j).

*** Driver education teachers may be employed during
summer months with approval of the State Board of
Education; however, the district may not exceed  its unit
entitlement during any fiscal year. §1321(e)(8).

Allocation
Classroom Teachers - The number of teachers paid from

State Division 1 funds cannot exceed the number of units in
the district as of the last day of September that school year.
School districts may employ additional teachers from State
funds appropriated in Division III as provided in § 1705(b).

Regular units for 1984-85 (§1703) are:

Kindergarten - 40 pupils
Elementary (1-3)-19 pupils
Elementary (4-6)-20 pupils
Secondary (7-l2)-20 pupils

Psychologists - one for each full 150 state units of pupils
(§1321(e)(5)) or fractional part of the first unit (§1321(f)).
In a school district designated by the State Board of
Education to administer a statewide program for autistic
pupils, one psychologist for each six state units or fractional
part of six units of pupils (§1332(b)(2)).

Speech and Hearing Teachers - one for each full 140
state units of pupils (§1321(e)(6)) or fractional part of the
first unit (§1321(f)).

Visiting Teachers - one for each full 250 state units of
pupils (§1321(e)(7)) or fractional part of the first unit
(§1321(f)).

Driver Education - one for each group of 125 tenth
grade pupils or 1/5 of a teacher for each group of 25 tenth
grade pupils in the district (§1321(e)(8)).

Physical Therapists - one for each group of 50 children
identified as severely mentally retarded (SMR)
(§1321(e)(11)) or fractional part of the first unit (§1321(f)).

In a school district authorized by the State Board of
Education to administer a special school for orthopedically
handicapped pupils, one physical therapist for each 30 such
pupils and fractional part above the first full unit
(§1321(e)(17)).

Occupational Therapists - one for each group of 50
children identified as severely mentally retarded (SMR)
(§1321(e)(12)) or fractional part of the first unit (§1321(f)).
In a school district authorized by the State Board of
Education to administer a special school for orthopedically
handicapped pupils one occupational therapist for each 40
such pupils and fractional parts above the first full unit
(§1321(e)(17)).

Speech Therapists - one for each group of 50 children
identified as severely mentally retarded (SMR)
(§1321(e)(13)) or fractional part of the first unit (§1321(f)).
In a school district authorized by the State Board of
Education to administer a special school for

R 9/4/84 
R 7/21/88 
orthopedically handicapped students, one speech/

language clinician for each 50 such pupils and fractional part
above the first full unit (§1321(e)(17)).  In a school district
designated by the State Board of Education to administer a
statewide program for autistic pupils, one speech and
language therapist for each three state units or fractional part
of three units of pupils (§1332(b)(1)).

Therapists and Special Services - 1/3 of a specialist for
each unit of deaf-blind children, or a fractional parts of units
(§1321(e)(14)).

Basic Skills Specialists - one for each 530 pupils
enrolled in a school district, Grades K-12, or a fractional part
of 530 pupils (§1321(e)(15)).

Director Specialist - one for 8 or more units of autistic
children in a school district designated by the State Board of
Education to serve as administrator of the statewide program
for autistic children (§1332).

Related Services Specialists - one unit per 30 units
special education students , K-12, except for those identified
as severely mentally handicapped, hearing impaired, autistic,
or deaf-blind, or orthopedically handicapped., or fractional
part of 30 units (§1716A).

- one for State Board of Education for autistic

Gifted and Talented - one per 600 regular students
enrolled in a district , K-12, or fractional part of unit,
excluding students counted as handicapped (§1716(B)(a)).
These units have not been fully funded, the 1982 Budget Act
provides funding for 1 unit per 1800 regular students.

Disruptive Student Units - one funding unit for each
enrollee in a school district, grades K-12.  These funds may
be used for expenditures under Division I or Division II for
purchase of services or supplies or under Division III in
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teaching disruptive pupils (§1716C).
Special Staff - Sterk School - In addition to staff

otherwise authorized, Sterk may employ:

- one speech therapist for 10 months for each 6
units or fraction of 6 units

- one psychologist for a 12 month period for each
10 units or fraction of 10 units
R 9/4/84 

- one resource teacher for a 10 month period for each 10
units or fraction of 10 units

- one interpreter-tutor for each 4 deaf pupils in a
mainstreamed program

- one preschool teacher-coordinator (§1331)

Regulations and Legal Provisions
Work Day - In compliance with 14 Delaware Code §

305(c), the State Board of Education defined a teacher's full
work day as follows:

Teachers are engaged in a professional
employment.  Their salaries and hours of employment are
fixed with due regard to their professional status and are not
fixed upon the same basis as those of day laborers.  The
worth of a teacher is not measured in terms of a specific sum
of money per hour.  A teacher expects  to and does perform a
service.  Extra-curricular or co-curricular activities comprise
all those events and programs which are sponsored by the
school and may reasonable be characterized as a supplement
to the established program of studies in the classroom in
order to enrich the learning and self-development
opportunities of pupils.  Teachers are legally bound to
perform such activities as may be reasonably assigned them
by the district board of education.

Therefore, a teacher's full work day is comprised of
a minimum of 7 1/2 hours, inclusive of lunch, plus the
amount of time required for discharge of such duties and
services as may be reasonably expected and required of a
member of the professional staff of a public school.  (State
Board of Education regulation, November 19, 1987.  The
effective date of the minimum 7 1/2 hours teacher work day
is July 1, 1988; or when a negotiated contract that provides
otherwise expires.)

Duty-Free Period Every teacher shall have, during
each school day, a duty-free period of at least 30 consecutive
minutes. §1328.

Delayed Certification - If all credentials have not
been received by the State Department of Public Instruction
within one month after beginning service, the applicant shall
be paid on the substitute teachers' salary basis until he is
properly certificated.  The salary will then be determined on
the basis of education, experience and military service, and
certificate status and will be made retroactive to the time of
beginning service.  (State Board of Education regulation,
June 14, 1972)

Sub-Standard Certification - The table below shows
the salary to be paid or the deductions from salary to be
made, whichever is applicable, on account of the various
substandard certificates:
R11/20/87

General Certification Salary
Emergency80% of the salary set forth for the

position
Provisional90% of the salary set forth for the

position
(State Board of Education regulation, December

16,1971)

Trade & Industry Certification
Emergencysalary for the position minus $400
Provisionalsalary for the position minus $200
(State Board of Education regulation, June 14,

1972)

Provisional Certificate - In any case where the State
portion of a salary is drawn from several sections of 14
Delaware Code, Chapter. 13, or any other salary provision,
the portion of the salary to be paid to persons holding the
provisional certificate shall be applied to the total salary paid
as authorized by any section or combination of sections in
the law.  (State Board of Education regulation, June 11,
1973)

Auxiliary Personnel
School Nurses

Experience
Years of experience in determining salary in accordance

with Title 14,§1305 means years of full time service as a
registered nurse employed to perform nursing duties in any
public school, regularly organized private school, hospital,
private medical practice, agencies of states or cities
administering public funds, or a branch of the armed services
of the United States.  Ninety-one days in a school year shall
constitute one year of experience, but not more than one year
of experience may be credited for any one calendar year.
Credit is given for experience out of the State.  (State Board
of Education regulation, October 23, 1980, effective date
July 1, 1981)

The salary adjustment brought about by this change in
experience requirements becomes effective as of July 1,
1981 with the increase limited to two additional years in FY
1982 and in any future fiscal year for those with acceptable
experience.

Allocation
All nurses who hold appropriate certificates shall be

paid in accordance with the provisions of Title 14,§1305
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effective July 1, 1979. §1310.
A school district may employ personnel to be paid for

10 months per year from State funds pursuant to this section
in a number equal to one for each full 40 State units of
pupils, except that in schools for the physically handicapped
within the district the allocation shall be in accordance with
the rules and regulations adopted by the State Board of
Education; provided further that each reorganized school
district shall have at least one school nurse and providing
that each vocational-technical high school shall have a nurse.
§1310.

A nurse shall be employed for eight (8) or more units of
autistic, orthopedically handicapped, trainable mentally
handicapped, severely mentally handicapped or a
combination thereof.  (State Board of Education regulation,
August 17, 1972)

Personnel Policies Governing the School Nurse
Personnel policies, responsibilities and procedures for

the school nurse are contained in The School Nurse - A
Guide to Responsibilities, Department of Public Instruction,
September 1981.

Secretaries

Experience
Education secretaries are allowed one year's experience

for each full year of experience as a secretary in private
business, public school, or other governmental agency.
(State Board of Education regulation, November 12, 1970)

Although certificates are not required for secretaries,
secretaries shall receive as salary the amount for which they
qualify under §1308(a) plus an annual amount for additional
training and upon receipt of certificates for completion of
certain requirements.  These are specified in the Manual of
Certification of Professional School Personnel.

Allocation
Secretaries may be employed in a number equal to one

(1) for each full ten (10) State units of pupils for the first 100
such full State units of pupils and one (1) additional for each
additional full 12 State units of pupils. §1308(e).

A twelve-month secretary shall be employed in any
school for the orthopedically handicapped with an
enrollment exceeding 10 units.  Proportionate secretarial
services shall be provided for units fewer than ten.  These
units must be subtracted from total in school district since
they cannot be counted twice.

Of the total number of secretaries allotted to a district,
the local district shall classify them as follows:

(a) 12% as clerks as nearly as is mathematically
possible,

(b) one administrative secretary for each
superintendent, each deputy superintendent, each assistant

superintendent, and each director with the provision that
each district shall have at least two administrative
secretaries,

(c) two financial secretaries for each full 7,000
pupils enrolled in the district on September 30 with the
provision that each district shall be entitled to at least two
financial secretaries,

(d) one senior secretary for each administrative
assistant and for each principal having a building with an
enrollment of 800 or more pupils on September 30,

(e) the remaining entitlement as secretaries.

R 7/21/88

The allotment of positions and specific assignment of a
person to the position may or may not be the same.  The
formula is to be used for the purpose of calculating the
district's allotment only. Assignment is to be determined at
the district level.  (State Board of Education regulation,
August 17, 1978)

Months of Employment
Secretaries and clerks may be employed for twelve (12)

months.  §1308(a).
One-twelfth (1/12th) of the salary rate shall be deducted

for each month that the employee is not employed.
§1308(a)(b).

School Food Service Employees

Experience
School food service employees may be granted one (1)

year's experience for each full year of experience in similar
employment.  (State Board of Education regulation,
November 12, 1970)

Allocation
Supervisors of school lunch may be employed in any

district having four (4) or more schools with food service
programs § 1321(e)(10).

School lunch managers are assigned to each school
building in which there is a lunch program. §1322(a).  (State
Board of Education regulation, November 23, 1970)

Salaries
Supervisors of school lunch shall be paid at the salary

schedule of "Supervisors" authorized in § 1321(e) and set
forth in § 1321(c).

School lunch managers with a single lunchroom will
have the salaries as set forth in § 1322(a) adjusted under the
following conditions:

(a) $200 additional shall be paid for each
lunchroom in another building served from the manager's
school.
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(b) 200 less shall be paid to managers in satellite
schools, defined as a school in which no basic food
preparation takes place.

(c) Additional sums shall be paid for one (1) year
of college, two (2) years of college, and the Bachelor's
degree.  (See Salary Schedules for School Lunch Managers)

According to the provisions of 63 Del. Laws, Chapter.
322 (SB 606 Section 137(b), 131st G.A,) effective July 1,
1982 the State shall pay 25% of the salary rate for Cafeteria
Managers as set forth in l4 Delaware Code § 1322.  The
remaining 75% of the salary shall be paid from local funds.

School lunch cooks, bakers, and general workers shall
be paid in accordance with the salary schedules for school
lunch general workers, cooks and bakers provided in Section
10 of this handbook.

School lunch cooks, bakers, and general workers are to
be paid from funds derived from the local school lunch
operating funds and from state funds as authorized by §
1322(d).

School lunch funds designated for wages of cooks,
bakers, and general workers in the school lunch program
shall be deposited with the State Treasurer. §1322(d).

Months of Employment
Supervisors of school lunch are employed for eleven

(11) months.  §1321(e)(10).
School lunch managers are employed for the ten (10)

months' school year of 185 days.  The work day shall be at
least seven (7) hours. §1322(a).

Health Regulations
The Division of Public Health, Department of Health

and Social Services, no longer requires food handlers to have
annual chest x-rays and blood tests.  Since school food
service employees are also school employees, they are
regulated by the State Board of Education.  School service
employees who are in frequent contact with pupils must have
tuberculin screening test during the first weeks of
employment if their tuberculin status is unknown.  Anyone
who is a known positive reactor need not have this tuberculin
screening test.  Doubtful reactors to the screening test should
have the Mantoux test administered by either the school or
public health nurse.  Positive reactors will be referred to the
public health clinic or private physician for follow-up.
(State Board of Education regulation, July 19, 1973.

Determination of Employee Staffing and Salary Formula
School districts will determine the salaries paid to

cafeteria workers as follows:
(a) School lunch general workers, cooks and

bakers (except substitutes) shall be paid no less than the
salaries provided in § 1322(c).

(b) Of the total number of full time workers
assigned to a food-preparing cafeteria, a maximum of one

may be paid as a cook and one may be paid as a baker.
Satellite schools are eligible only for general workers.

(c) A minimum of 25% of the salaries prescribed
in § 1322(c) for general workers, cooks and bakers shall be
paid by the State from funds not derived from local food
service operations as determined by the following formula:

(1) Seven (7) hours of labor per 100 meals
determined as follows:

(a) Total number of reimbursable lunches
served in the base month; plus

(b) Total number of reimbursable
breakfasts served in the base month; plus

(c) Total of all other meals served in the
base month determined by aggregating all income other than
from (b) and (c) above and dividing that amount by the unit
lunch price at each school.

(d) The number of meals prepared and
served will be based on the average reported for the month of
October on the monthly reimbursement claim.

(e) Each school district will submit a
roster of cafeteria workers to the Department of Public
Instruction with its October reimbursement claim showing
names of employees, school building, classification, hourly
rate, hours per day, and days per year, not exceeding 180
days.  Each district shall also submit a computation sheet as
prescribed by the Department to determine the number of
meals served according to the formula set forth in paragraph
(c) above.

(f) One-fourth of the approved salary
costs as determined above will be paid from State funds.

(State Board of Education regulation, July 18, l974)

It should be noted that the formula for the State portion
of salaries for general workers, cooks and bakers of 7 hours
of labor per 100 meals is a baseline standard which
represents, in effect, the minimum efficiency level for which
the State will appropriate salary contributions.  By means of
sound supervisory and management procedures leading to
optimum use of labor resources, districts should routinely
equal or exceed the formula.  Since optimum labor
utilization with the resulting reduction in labor cost to the
district is both a goal of and a benefit to each district, no
additional payment representing the difference between
entitlement under the formula and actual salary costs will be
made.

Fringe Benefits
Under the provisions of 63 Del. Laws, Chapter. 322 (SB

606, Section 135(c), 131st G.A.) for fiscal year ending June
30, 1983, each school district employing cafeteria employees
shall transfer or pay on a regularly scheduled basis, as
determined by the Secretary of Finance, to the Treasurer of
the State of Delaware appropriate sums for local funds to
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cover F.I.C.A.- Employer's Share, Pension Costs, for
cafeteria employees.  The State Treasurer shall be
responsible for the administration of this subsection (c) and
for the collection of other Employment Costs from non-state
funds.

Food Service Training Program
The Delaware Technical and Community College, under

the sponsorship of the Department of Public Instruction,
offers regularly scheduled Food Service Training classes.
These classes are arranged in four units, each requiring a
minimum of thirty (30) class hours.  Classes are held after
regular working hours, on the worker's own time.  Generally,
they meet late in the day.  Courses are open to School Food
Service workers and Day Care Center employees and are
limited to 24 students.

Food Service Management Technology Program
The Delaware Technical and Community College offers

a two-year associate degree program in Management
Technology for those food service workers interested in
upgrading themselves with courses which grant credit.

For further details concerning the two programs
described above, contact the local Delaware Technical and
Community College.

Attendants and Aides

Eligibility for Employment
Any school district having classes for the trainable

mentally handicapped, the severely mentally handicapped,
the orthopedically handicapped, or the partially deaf or hard-
of-hearing, or the deaf-blind or autistic as provided in § 1703
may employ attendants or aides as required, subject to the
qualifications promulgated by the certifying board.
§1324(a).

Allocation
A. Hearing-Impaired

One (1) aide for each unit - pre-school through
Grade 12.  (State Board of Education regulation, 1977)

B. Trainable Mentally Handicapped
(1) Two (2) aides in lieu of a teacher, provided the

number of aides does not exceed the number of teachers
employed.

(2) One (1) attendant for each school bus.
Attendants optional on carry-alls and station wagons, unless
a special case, such as a blind or non-ambulatory pupil,
requires an attendant with the vehicle.  (State Board of
Education regulation, August 17, 1972)

C. Orthopedically Handicapped
(1) One (1) attendant or aide for each unit.
(2) One (1) attendant for each school bus.  Such

attendants will be employed as a part of the transportation

system and will have no other school duties.  (State Board of
Education regulation, August 17, 1972)

D. Severely Mentally Handicapped
(1) One (1) classroom aide may be employed per

unit.
(2) One (1) attendant for each school bus.

Attendants optional on carry-alls and station wagons, unless
a special case, such as a blind or non-ambulatory pupil,
requires an attendant with the vehicle.  (State Board of
Education regulation, August 19, 1976)

E. Autistic
One (1) aide per unit.  If they work the 11th or 12th

month, they will be paid for 222 days.

Salaries
Attendants and aides shall be paid at the salary schedule

authorized and set forth in § 1324(b).

Months of Employment
Attendants and/or aides are employed for ten (10)

months. §1324(b).

Job Definition
A school district shall be required to submit a job

definition for any person employed as an aide.  (State Board
of Education regulation, May 25, 1967)

Substitutes

Various classes of substitutes are defined and
certification requirements for each are provided in the
Manual of Certification of Professional School Personnel

Salary for Teacher Substitutes
See Section 10 of this handbook.

Guidelines for the Payment of Teacher and Other School
Employee Substitutes

l. Substitutes for State funded teachers may be paid
from State substitute teacher funds under the provisions of:

A. Title 14,§1318 - Sick leave and absences for
other reasons (only specified reasons allowable).

B. Title 29,§5524 - Eligibility for disability
pension.

C. Title 29,§5933 - Leaves (sick leave not counted
for absence for work-related disease or accident).

D. State Board of Education regulation - Military
leave (training or duty not in excess of 15 days).

E. State Board of Education Regulation -
Kindergarten Teacher Substitutes on Abbreviated Days.  In
order to allow kindergarten teachers additional time for
parent conferences, substitute teachers may be hired using
state substitute teacher funding for 1/2 day on abbreviated
days when  kindergarten is scheduled.
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F. State Board of education regulation - Teachers
attending New Directions related committee meetings.  to
allow teachers to participate as members of a New
Directions related committee such as the Framework
Commissions, School Profiles Project and New Standards
Project, substitutes may be hired using state substitute
teacher funding.

2. Substitutes for teachers absent under the provisions
of Title 14,§l320, Deduction for Unexcused Absence (or on
approved leave without pay) shall be charged to the teacher
line (09).
R 5/6/92

3. Substitutes for teachers paid from federal funds are
to be paid from federal funds from the federal program
involved or local funds.

4. Substitutes for teachers paid from local funds are to
be paid from local funds.

5. Substitutes for teachers who are paid from State
funds for a fractional part of a State teacher unit and a
fractional part from other funds are to be paid on the same
proportional basis from State substitute teacher funds.

6. Substitutes are to be paid from State substitute
teacher funds the amounts authorized for the various classes
of substitutes as provided for in Title 14,§1326.  School
districts paying more for teacher substitutes than prescribed
in § l326 shall do so from local or federal funds.

7. Substitutes for personnel other than teachers cannot
be paid from State substitute teacher funds.

Note:Funds for substitutes when required for other school
employees, absent for jury duty, absent prior to going on
disability pension, absent because of military leave (training
or duty not in excess of 15 days), or absent because of work-
related disease or accident, shall be requested from the
Educational Contingency Fund, and shall be based upon a
Substitute Daily Rate For Other School Employees.

Note:Payment received for jury duty or worker's
compensation shall be returned to the employing agency for
deposit to the General Fund, Contingency Fund, or
Substitute Teacher Fund as appropriate.  (Approved by State
Board of Education, December 11, 1975)

Substitute Daily Rate For Other School Employees
See Section 10 of this handbook.

R 5/6/92
AS AMENDED

Credit for Experience for Administrators, Teachers and
Secretaries

1.0 Administrators:  No credit shall be given for part
time employment in Administrative and Supervisory

positions.
2.0 Teachers:  Days taught as a substitute or as a

teacher’s aide may not be used toward credit for experience;
however, employment as a teacher on a regular part time
basis may be used toward credit for experience.

2.1 As used in this instance,a “regular part time”
employee is one who is employed in a position which
requires at least 50 hours per month for at least 9 months
during a period of 12 consecutive months.

3.0 Secretaries:  Secretaries are allowed one year’s
experience for each creditable year of experience as a
secretary in private business, public school, or other
governmental agency.

School Food Service Employees
1.0 Experience:  School food service employees may

be granted one (1) year’s experience for each creditable year
of experience in similar employment.

2.0 Determination of Employee Staffing and Formula
2.1 School districts shall determine the salaries

paid to cafeteria workers as follows:
2.1.1Of the total number of full time workers

assigned to a food-preparing cafeteria, a maximum of two
may be paid as a cook/baker.  Satellite schools are eligible
for positions as set forth in 14 Del. C., Section 1322(c) state
funded.

3.0 The salaries prescribed in 14 Del. C., Section
1322(e) for general workers, and cooks/bakers shall be paid
by the State from funds not derived from local food service
operations as determined by the formula:

3.1 Seven (7) hours of labor per 100 meals
determined as follows:

3.1.1Total number of reimbursable lunches
served in the base month; plus

3.1.2Total number of reimbursable breakfasts
served in the base month; plus

3.1.3Total of all other meals served in the base
month determined by aggregating all income.

3.1.3.1The number of meals prepared and
served will be based on the average reported for the month of
October on the monthly reimbursement claim.

3.2 Each school district will submit to the
Department of Education a computation sheet for cafeteria
workers with data showing hourly rate and hours worked not
to exceed the maximum allowed under state formula.

3.3 Each school district will submit a roster of
cafeteria managers to the Department of Education showing
names of employees and the salaries prescribed in 14 Del.
C., Section 1322(a).  Each district shall also submit a
computation sheet as prescribed by the Department to
determine the number of meals served according to the state
formula.
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Substitutes
1.0 Payment of Teacher and Other School Employee

Substitutes
1.1 Substitutes for State funded teachers may be

paid from State substitute teacher funds under the provisions
of 14 Del. C., Section 1318 – Sick leave and absences for
other reasons (only specified reasons allowable), Title 29,
Section 5524 – Eligibility for disability pension and Title 29,
Section 5933 – Leaves (sick leave not counted for absence
for work-related disease or accident).

1.2 Substitutes for state funded teachers may also
be paid from State substitute teacher funds for:

1.2.1Military leave (training or duty not in
excess of 15 days).

1.2.2Kindergarten Teachers on Abbreviated
Days.  In order to allow kindergarten teachers additional
time for parent conferences, substitute teachers may be hired
using state substitute teacher funding for 1/2 day on
abbreviated days when kindergarten is scheduled.

1.2.3Teachers participating in Department of
Education initiated committee work and project
assignments.

1.3 Substitutes for teachers absent under the
provisions of 14 Del. C., Section 1320, Deduction for
Unexcused Absence (or on approved leave without pay) may
be charged to the Division I teacher salary line.

1.4 Substitutes for teachers paid from federal funds
are to be paid from federal funds from the federal program
involved or local funds.

1.5 Substitutes for teachers paid from local funds
are to be paid from local funds.

1.6 Substitutes for teachers who are paid from
State funds for a fractional part of a State teacher unit and a
fractional part from other funds are to be paid on the same
proportional basis from State substitute teacher funds.

1.7 Substitutes are to be paid from State substitute
teacher funds the amounts authorized for the various classes
of substitutes as provided for in 14 Del. C., Section 1326.
School districts paying more for teacher substitutes than
prescribed in Section 1326 shall do so from local or federal
funds.

CAREER GUIDANCE AND PLACEMENT 
COUNSELORS

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to repeal the regulation, Career Guidance and
Placement Counselors, pages A-24 and A-25 in the
Handbook for K-12 Education.  The existing regulation
defines very specifically what the person must do in this type
of position.  The repeal is recommended because the position
is no longer funded from a line item in the budget.  Now if
the district chooses to employ such a person, the funding for

the position comes from their academic excellence units.
There are existing certification requirements for Career
Guidance and Placement Counselors which will help to
define this counselor’s role in the school. It is no longer
appropriate for the Department of Education to write a job
description for the position when the funding source and
process has changed.

2. CAREER GUIDANCE AND PLACEMENT
COUNSELORS

(a) In the document Guidelines for the Career
Guidance and Placement Counselor Program the State Board
of Education approved the following job description for the
Career Guidance and Placement Counselors:

Specific Tasks of the Career Guidance and Placement
Counselors:

(1) provide coordination to assure students are
counseled about vocational and related academic educational
programs that best meet their needs at both the regular high
school and/or in the vocational school district;

(2) prepare and keep current a file of available jobs
in the community and serve as liaison with the State
Occupational Information Coordinating Committee
(SOICC) and the Department of Labor;

(3) provide coordination with career and
vocational counseling of middle school students;

(4) provide job placement counseling and assist
students who desire full time placement upon graduation;

(5) assist with the coordination of student
assessment, IEP development, and placement of all
handicapped and disadvantaged students in mainstream
vocational programs;

(6) assist the school district in providing
information to all handicapped and disadvantaged students
and their parents concerning the opportunities available in
vocational education and the requirements for eligibility for
enrollment in vocational education programs.  (This should
be accomplished no later than the beginning of the 9th
grade.)

(7) complete a follow-up study of graduates and
dropouts of each year's graduating class;

(8) serve as liaison with the employment
community and vocational advisory committees;

(9) assist in on-going pre-vocational/orientation
programs to insure relevancy and coordination with the
activities of the career guidance and placement counselor's
function;

(10) assist students in exploring nontraditional, as
well as traditional, vocational program areas and make
career information available to all students for both
traditional and nontraditional jobs; and

(11) coordinate the dissemination of information
and the maintenance of records for the Targeted Jobs Tax
Credit program for eligible student co-op participants.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1175

(State Board Approved July 1987)

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL.C., SECTION 122(d)

PLEASE NOTE THAT DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

REGULATION K-12 GUIDANCE PROGRAMS WAS  INITIALLY

PROPOSED ON FEBRUARY 1, 2000 (3 DE REG 1053 (2/1/00)). THE

REGULATION IS BEING RE-PROPOSED IN ITS ENTIRETY BELOW. 

K-12 GUIDANCE PROGRAMS

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary seeks the consent of the State
Board of Education to amend the regulations for K-12
Guidance Programs, page A-23 and Appendix B in the
Handbook for K-12 Education.  The amended version of the
regulations still requires local school districts to have a plan
for their K-12 School Counseling Program but the plan will
now be based on the 9 standards identified in the National
Standards for School Counseling Programs developed by the
American School Counselors Association.  The plan will no
longer have to be sent to the Department of Education for
approval but must be on file in the district office either as
part of the district Strategic Plan or as a separate plan.

The existing Delaware Guidelines for Counseling
Programs are very similar to the new national standards even
dividing the standards into the same categories, Academic
Development, Career Development and Personal/Social
Development.

The title of the amended regulation has been changed
from K-12 Guidance Programs to K-12 School Counseling
Programs.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulations address the design of
guidance programs, not student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The regulations address the design of guidance
programs, not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulations address the design of

guidance programs, not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulations address the design of
guidance programs, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level?

The amended regulations will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of the decision makers at
the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulations will not place
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school
level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will not be an impediment
to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulations?

The purpose of the amendment is to make the
regulations less burdensome.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulations?

There is no cost to the state or local school boards
for complying with the amended regulations.

AS APPEARS IN THE HANDBOOK FOR K-12
EDUCATION

H. GUIDANCE AND COUNSELING
1. REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES FOR K-12

GUIDANCE PROGRAMS
Regulations and Guidelines for K-12 Guidance
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Programs were approved in March 1990 by the State Board
of Education.  These are included in Appendix B.  (State
Board Approved March 1990)

AS APPEARS IN APPENDIX B OF THE HANDBOOK 
FOR K-12 EDUCATION, PAGES 1 & 2

REGULATIONS FOR K-12 GUIDANCE PROGRAMS

The purpose of these regulations is to provide a framework
for a K-12 developmental guidance program.  These
programs should be planned and coordinated to emphasize
the development of positive self-esteem, the development of
activities to promote academic/career and personal/social
growth, and to encourage economic and social self-
sufficiency.  This requires the coordination of support
services within the school, district, and community.

I. Each school district in Delaware shall have a written
plan describing the guidance program for the district which
is reviewed periodically and updated at least every five
years.

A. The plan shall be submitted to the Department of
Public Instruction, Instruction Division, for review prior to
the implementation date of September 1, 1991.  Any changes
or revisions to the district plan shall be submitted to the
Department of Public Instruction, Improvement and
Assistance Branch, as they occur.

II. The district guidance plan shall be a written description
of a sequential program of services and activities to be
available to all students in grades K-12.

A. The plan shall address the needs of students in the
areas of personal/social development, academic
development, and career/life planning.

B. The plan shall systematically include as part of the
total program any existing specialized services such as the
Career Guidance and Placement Counselor, drug and
substance abuse counseling, peer counseling, crisis
counseling, and other counseling related programs.

C. The plan shall identify an individual to coordinate
the guidance program within the district for all grade levels.

D. The plan shall describe the involvement and
responsibilities of counselors, administrators, specialists,
and parents in the guidance program.

E. The plan shall describe the working relationships of
school counselors to other specialists.

F. The plan shall provide for the involvement of a
district level advisory committee which includes parents,
district teachers, and/or staff members, counselors from each
level of education, administrators, students, representatives
of business and industry, and agencies which provide
support services for district children.

G. The plan shall include procedures for coordinating

school counseling services with agencies and community
groups which provide services for children.

H. The plan shall include a job description for each
counselor which reflects the activities and services described
in the guidance program.

I. The plan shall include a method of evaluating the
program which enables counselors to determine their
effectiveness in terms of both process and outcome.

J. The plan shall describe services for all students
including special needs students and those identified as
being at risk.

AS AMENDED

K-12 School Counseling Program

1.0 Each local school district shall have a written plan
describing the school counseling program for the district and
the plan shall:

1.1 Include the nine (9) program standards, three each
in the areas of Academic Development, Career Development
and Personal/Social Development found in the National
Standards for School Counseling Programs as developed by
the American School Counselors Association.

1.1.1Local school districts may select those
competencies that meet the needs of their students.

1.2 Be periodically reviewed and updated by the local
school district.

1.3 Be included in the district’s Quality Review plan or
on file as a separate plan in the district office.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 2701 (7 Del.C. §2701)

Register Notice

1. Title of the Regulation:
Shellfish Regulations S-54 Possession Limit on

Horseshoe Crabs; Exceptions

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Horseshoe

Crab, (FMP) adopted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission, has imposed a 25% reduction in the number of
horseshoe crabs that may be harvested in 2000 by each
Atlantic Coastal State relative to their average annual
reference period landings.  For Delaware, the reference

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/fwwel.htm
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period landings for horseshoe crabs are in the years 1995,
1996 and 1997 when an annual average 482,401 horseshoe
crabs were landed.  In 2000, Delaware must not land more
than 361,801 horseshoe crabs to meet the mandatory
requirement of the FMP.  Regulations must be in effect by
May 1, 2000 to implement this reduction. This reduction in
landings will conserve the horseshoe crab population in
order to maintain sustainable levels of spawning stock
biomass and ensure its continued role in the ecology of
coastal ecosystems while providing for continued use over
time. 

The Department is considering daily harvest limits for
horseshoe crab collectors, horseshoe crab dredgers and
commercial eel pot fishermen to reduce their harvest to
361,801 horseshoe crabs.  The Department also is
considering to require written permission to collect
horseshoe crabs from private lands.  The Department also is
considering to ban the bringing of horseshoe crabs into state
waters from the Exclusive Economic Zone.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
If Delaware fails to comply with the FMP, the horseshoe

crab fishery in the State may be closed by the Secretary of
the Department of Commerce until such time Delaware
meets the requirements of the FMP.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
7 Del.C. §2701

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the
Proposal:

Shellfish Regulation S-51, Seasons and Areas closed to
taking Horseshoe Crabs; S-55, Horseshoe Crab Dredging
Restrictions; S-57, Horseshoe Crab Reporting Requirements

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE  19901, 302-739-3441 prior
to 4:30 PM.  A public workshop will be held in the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control auditorium on March 7, 2000 at 7:30 PM to discuss
various options to reduce the harvest of horseshoe crabs by
25%. A public hearing on proposed amendments to shellfish
regulations on horseshoe crabs will be held in the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
PM on March 20, 2000.  The record will remain open until
4:30 PM on March 30, 2000.

7. Prepared by:
Charles A. Lesser(302)-739-3441February 14, 2000

Proposed Amendments to Shellfish Regulations on 
Horseshoe Crabs

S-51, Seasons and Area Closed to Taking Horseshoe 
Crabs

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
dredge or attempt to collect or dredge horseshoe crabs from
any state or federal land owned in fee simple or      the tidal
waters of this state during a period beginning at 12:01 a.m.
on May 1 and continuing through midnight, June 30, next
ensuing, except that persons with valid horseshoe crab
collecting permits and eel licensees and their alternates may
collect horseshoe crabs on Tuesdays and Thursdays from
state owned lands to the east of state road No. 89 (Port
Mahon Road.)  

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
attempt to collect any horseshoe crabs from any lands not
owned by the state or federal government during the period
beginning at 12:01 a.m. on May 1 and continuing through
midnight, June 30, next ensuing, except that persons with
valid horseshoe crab collecting permits and eel licensees and
their alternates may collect horseshoe crabs on Mondays,
Wednesdays and Fridays.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
attempt to collect any horseshoe crabs from lands not owned
by the State or federal government unless said person has in
his or her possession written permission to collect horseshoe
crabs signed by the lawful owner of said lands.

S-54, Possession Limit of Horseshoe Crabs,
Exceptions

(a) Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful
for any person to possess more than six (6) horseshoe crabs,
except a person with a validated receipt from a person with a
valid horseshoe crab commercial collecting or dredge permit
for the number of horseshoe crabs in said person’s
possession.  A receipt shall contain the name, address and
signature of the supplier, the date and the number of
horseshoe crabs obtained.

(b) Any person who has been issued a valid
commercial eel fishing license by the Department or said
person’s alternate while in the presence of the licensee, is
exempt from the possession limit of six (6) horseshoe crabs,
provided said commercial eel fishing licensee has filed all
required reports of his/her and his/her alternate’s previous
month’s harvest of horseshoe crabs with the Department in
accordance with S-57.  Any person who has been issued a
commercial eel fishing license and said person’s alternate
while in the presence of the licensee, may collect horseshoe
crabs without a horseshoe crab commercial collecting permit
provided all horseshoe crabs taken are for personal, non-
commercial use, as bait for the licensee’s eel pots fished in
this state.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
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commercial eel fishing license to be assisted in collecting
horseshoe crabs by any person who is not listed on his
commercial eel fishing license as the alternate.

(d) Any person with both a valid commercial eel fishing
license and a valid    commercial horseshoe crab collecting
permit shall be considered as a commercial horseshoe crab
collecting permittee for purposes of enforcing the provisions
of chapter 27, 7 Del.C. and/or shellfish regulations
pertaining to horseshoe crabs.

 (e) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to commingle any horseshoe
crabs collected either by said commercial eel fishing licensee
or by his or her alternate with horseshoe crabs either
collected by a person with a valid horseshoe crab dredge
permit or by a person with a valid commercial horseshoe
crab collecting permit.   

(f) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe crab dredge permit or with a valid commercial
horseshoe crab collecting permit to commingle any
horseshoe crab dredged or collected by said horseshoe crab
dredge permittee or horseshoe crab collecting permittee with
horseshoe crabs collected by any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license.

(g) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than 300 cubic feet of  horseshoe crabs except in a stationary
cold storage or freezer facility.  

(g) It shall be unlawful for any person, except a person
with a valid horseshoe crab dredge permit, to take or attempt
to take more than 300 horseshoe crabs per day.

(h) It shall be unlawful for any person, except a person
with a valid horseshoe crab dredge permit, to possess more
than 300 horseshoe crabs at any time during the sequence of
collecting said horseshoe crabs and placing said horseshoe
crabs in a stationary cold storage or freezer facility.

(i) It shall be unlawful for any person, except a person
with a valid horseshoe crab dredge permit, to bring into the
jurisdictional waters of this State any horseshoe crabs
harvested from the Exclusive Economic Zone.

S-55, Horseshoe Crab Dredging Restrictions
(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to dredge

horseshoe crabs in the area in Delaware Bay designated as
leased Shellfish grounds except on one’s own leased
shellfish grounds or with permission from the owner of
leased shellfish grounds.  The area in Delaware Bay
designated as leased shellfish grounds is within the
boundaries that delineate leasable shellfish grounds and is
described as follows:   Starting at a point on the “East Line”
in Delaware at Loran-C coordinates 27314.50/42894.25 and
continuing due east to a point at Loran-C coordinates
27294.08/42895.60 and then 27270.80/42852.83 and then
continuing southwest to a point at Loran-C coordinates
27279.67/42837.42 and then continuing west southwest to a
point at Loran-C coordinates  27281.31/42803.48 and then

continuing west to a point at Loran-C coordinates 27280.75/
42795.50 and then in a northerly direction on a line 1000’
offshore, coterminous with the existing shoreline to the point
of beginning on the “East Line.”

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person, who operates a
vessel and has on board said vessel a dredge of any kind, to
have on board or to land more than 1500 1125 horseshoe
crabs during any 24 hour period beginning at 12:01 a.m. and
continuing through midnight next ensuing.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person, who operates a
vessel and has on board said vessel a dredge of any kind, to
have or possess on board said vessel any horseshoe crabs at
any time during the period beginning 12:01 a.m. on May 1
and continuing through midnight, June 30, next ensuing.

S-57, Horseshoe Crab Reporting Requirements
(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who has been

issued a scientific permit, a beach clean up permit, a
horseshoe crab dredge permit, a horseshoe crab commercial
collecting  permit, or a commercial eel pot license if used to
collect horseshoe crabs for personal, non-commercial use to
not file a monthly report of his/her harvest of horseshoe
crabs with the Department on  forms  provided by the
Department on or before the 10th day of the next month.
Monthly reports on horseshoe crabs shall be filed for each
month whether horseshoe crabs are dredged or collected or
not dredged or collected, and include the harvest by any
person or persons authorized by S-54 and S-52 to assist with
the collection of horseshoe crabs.  Said forms shall require
the reporting of the date, location, sex and number of
horseshoe crabs dredged or collected.

(b) Any person who fails to file a completed monthly
report with the Department on horseshoe crabs on or before
the 10th day of the following month shall have his/her permit
or authority to collect horseshoe crabs as a commercial eel
fisherman, a commercial horseshoe crab collector or a
horseshoe crab dredger suspended until such time that all
delinquent reports are received by the Department.
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, 
Sections 302, 2733(a)(4) (21 Del.C. §§302, 

2733(a)(4)) 

The Department of Public Safety will hold a hearing
Pursuant to 29 Del.C. Chapter 101 concerning the adoption
of Policy Regulation 45 entitled “Driver Improvement
Problem Driver Program” that replaces current Policy
Regulation 45 entitled “Driver Point System.” The
Department will receive public comment regarding the
proposed Department of Public Safety Policy Regulation. 

The Department will also receive public comment
regarding a proposed Department of Public Safety Policy
Regulation to establish administrative procedures to
implement an aggressive driver program as outlined in 21
Del.C. 4175A, Aggressive Driving. This proposed Policy
Regulation would become Policy Regulation Number 90
Concerning Aggressive Drivers.

DATE: Wednesday, March 22, 2000
TIME: 10:00 AM

PLACE: Main Conference room (2nd Floor) 
Department of Public Safety 
Public Safety Building 
303 Transportation Circle 
Dover, Delaware 19901 

Persons may view the proposed Policy Regulation
between the hours of 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday,
Tuesday, Thursday and Friday or between the hours of 12:00
PM and 7:00 PM on Wednesday, at the Division of Motor
Vehicles, Chief of Driver Services Office, in the Public
Safety Building, 303 Transportation Circle, Dover, Delaware
19901.

Persons may present their views in writing by mailing
their views to the Chief of Driver Services, Division of
Motor Vehicles, PO Box 698, Dover, Delaware 19903 or by
offering testimony at the public hearing.  If the number of
persons desiring to testify at the public hearing is large, the
amount of time allotted to each speaker will be limited. 

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROPOSED REGULATION

NUMBER 45 REPLACES IN ITS ENTIRETY EXISTING

REGULATION 45 - DRIVER POINT SYSTEM.

Policy Regulation Number 45 
Concerning:  Driver Improvement Problem 

Driver Program

I. Authority
The authority to promulgate this regulation is 21 Del.C.

§302, 21 Del. C. §2733(a)(4) and 29 Del.C. §10115.

II. Purpose
The Highway Safety Program Standard for Driver

Licensing as adopted by the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration requires each state to have a driver
improvement program to identify problem drivers and take
actions to reduce the frequency of their involvement in
traffic accidents and violations. The Driver Improvement
Problem Driver Program is designed to identify problem
drivers, to change the problem driver’s behavior by
providing information and training opportunities and, if
necessary, to progressively impose sanctions as more
convictions/points are accumulated on the driving record.
The goal of the program is crash prevention. The steps in the
program are geared to the seriousness of the driving record. 

The Division of Motor Vehicles Driver Improvement
staff uses these policy guidelines to initiate program
requirements and impose license suspensions. 

III. Applicability
This policy regulation interprets the following sections

found in Title 21:  §2722, §2733(b), (e), (j), §2755, §2756,
§4166(d), (j), §4169, §4175, 4175a, §4172(a), (b), §4172A,
§6702, and §8101.  

IV. Substance of Policy
1. Point System. The Division of Motor Vehicles shall

identify problem drivers, educate and impose driver license
sanctions based upon a point system. Violations will be
assessed points based upon the following: 

Violations Points

Speeding 1-9 miles per hour over posted limit 2
Speeding 10-14 miles per hour over posted limit 4
Speeding 15-19 miles per hour over posted limit 5
Speeding 20 or more miles per hour over

posted limit        5*
*May result in additional actions including suspension

Violations Points

Passing A Stopped School Bus 6
Reckless Driving 6
Aggressive Driving 6
Disregarding Stop Sign or Red Light 3
Moving violation contained in 

Chapters 27, 41 or 42 of Title 21 2 

http://www.state.de.us/pubsafe/index.htm
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Point Credits 
a. A licensee who is convicted of a speeding

violation from 1 to 14 miles per hour over the posted speed
limit will not be assessed points for the first violation within
any three (3) year period provided the ticket is paid through
the voluntary assessment center. 

b. Completion of the Defensive Driving Course
(DDC), recognized by the Division of Motor Vehicles and
approved by the Insurance Commissioner’s Office will be
entered on the licensee’s driving record. The licensee shall
have a 3-point credit entered on their driving record
following satisfactory completion of the course. The licensee
is responsible for enrollment scheduling and the payment of
all fees associated with this course. DDC credit is effective
on the date of course completion. DDC credit will not be
applied retroactively once an action item is in effect. 

c. The point credits listed in paragraph (b) shall
not be considered when determining the eligibility of a
school bus operator. To determine the point level for a school
bus operator or applicant, use full point value, not calculated
points, for the previous 3-year period. 

2. Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program.  A
driver enters the Driver Improvement Problem Driver
Program when they accumulate 8 calculated points based
upon on their driving record for the previous two years. At
that time an advisory letter is sent to the driver. Studies show
that early intervention with inexpensive actions reduce
accidents and improve driving behavior.  

Convictions received from other jurisdictions are
posted to the Delaware driving record. The points will be
assessed on these violations as though the offense was
committed in this State in accordance with the Driver
License Compact.  

“The Aggressive Driving Committee, in accordance
with Policy Regulation 90, must certify all behavior
modification/attitudinal driving courses.  The committee has
the authority to designate alternative courses to comply with
the requirements of Policy Regulation 45.”

The actions listed below occur as calculated points
are accumulated during any 24-month period. The 24-month
period is computed based upon the date of the offense and
“slides” forward based upon that date. The driving record
will record the actions taken. The Driver Improvement
Section will conduct a record review at each step in the
process and schedule interviews as necessary. The action
items maybe processed automatically without an interview.
When the calculated points fall between the threshold limits,
use the action items specified in the lower level. (Example:
If the driver accumulates 9 points before any action is taken,
send out an advisory letter as required when they accumulate
8 points.)  If the driver accumulates 12 points before the
advisory letter is sent, use the action item listed for drivers
with 12 points. 

Calculated Action Items
Points

8 Division of Motor Vehicles advisory letter is
mailed to the driver. DDC credits will not
impact the issuance of an advisory letter. 

12 Driver must complete an approved “behavior
 modification/attitudinal driving course”

within 90 days after notification (unless
extended by the Division).  Failure to comply
or upon preference of the driver, a mandatory
2 month suspension will be imposed in lieu of
the program.

14 Mandatory 4 month license suspension. To
become eligible for reinstatement, the driver
must complete or have completed a “behavior
modification/attitudinal driving course” within
the previous 2 years.  

16 Mandatory 6 month license suspension. To
become eligible for reinstatement, the driver
must complete or have completed a “behavior
modification/attitudinal driving course” within
the previous 2 years.

18 Mandatory 8 month license suspension. To
become eligible for reinstatement, the driver
must complete or have completed a “behavior
modification/attitudinal driving course” within
the previous 2 years.  

20 Mandatory 10 month license suspension. To
become eligible for reinstatement, the driver
must complete or have completed a “behavior
modification/attitudinal driving course” within
the previous 2 years.

22 Mandatory 12 month license suspension. To
become eligible for reinstatement, the driver
must complete or have completed a “behavior
modification/attitudinal driving course” within
the previous 2 years.

3. Serious Speeding Violations. The Division of
Motor Vehicles considers all speeding violations 20 miles
per hour (MPH) or more above the posted speed limit to be a
serious speeding violation that identifies the driver as a
problem driver. The following actions will be taken:

(a) When a driver is convicted of a single speeding
violation for driving 20 – 24 MPH over the posted limit and
accumulated less than 12 calculated points, the Driver
Improvement staff will review their driving record and send
the driver an advisory letter. 

(b) When convicted of driving 25 MPH over the
posted limit, the driver’s license will be suspended for a
mandatory period of 1 month. The suspension period will be
increased by one month for each additional 5 MPH over the
initial 25-MPH threshold. Note: The driver may elect to
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attend the “behavior modification/attitudinal driving course”
in lieu of a license suspension if they were driving 25 – 29
MPH over the posted limit.

(c) Anyone convicted of driving 50 MPH or more
over the posted speed or driving 100 MPH or more shall be
suspended for a period of one year. The driver is not eligible
for an occupational license during the first three months of
the suspension period. 

4. Additional Sanctions Imposed by Statue or Policy.  
(a) Passing a stopped school bus in violation of

21Del.C. Section 4166(d).  For the first offense, one-month
drivers license suspension. For the second offense, six
months suspension. For the third or more offenses, suspend
the driver’s license for twelve months. 

(b) Driving in violation of a license restriction per
21 Del C. Section 2722.  For the first offense, send an
advisory letter. Suspend the driver’s license for one-month
for subsequent offenses. 

(c) Speed exhibition violation per 21 Del.C.
Section 4172(a)(d). One-month suspension for the first
offense and one-year driver license suspension for
subsequent offenses. 

(d) Spinning wheels violation per 21 Del.C.
Section 4172(b).  Send an advisory letter for the first offense.
Suspend the driver’s license for one year for second and
subsequent offenses. 

(e) Malicious mischief violations per 21 Del.C.
Section 4172A. One-month driver license suspension for the
first offense.  One-year suspension for the second and
subsequent offenses.

(f) Knowingly permit an unlicensed person to
operate a vehicle violation per 21 Del. C. Section 2755.
Send an advisory letter for the first offense.  Three-month
driver license suspension for the second and subsequent
offenses. 

(g) Driving without consent of the owner violation
per 21 Del.C. Section 6702.  One-month driver licenses
suspension for the first offense and three month’s suspension
for the second and subsequent offenses. 

(h) Driving during suspension or revocation
violations per 21 Del.C. Section 2756.  A conviction for
driving during suspension or revocation shall extend the
period of the suspension or revocation for a like period.  No
driving authority will be permitted during the balance of the
initial suspension or revocation period and the extended
period. Any driving authority previously issued by the
Division must be surrendered.  

Note:  For violations to be considered a subsequent
offense, the violations must be under the same subsection
and cannot be a combination of violations such as Sections
4172(a) and Section 4172(b). To be considered a second or
subsequent offense, the convictions must be within the
previous three years. 

5. Occupational License. In the event of a suspension

of a driver’s license pursuant to this policy regulation, the
Division may issue an occupational license during the period
of suspension if the applicant stipulates the suspension has
created an extreme hardship. However, no such occupational
license shall be issued if the applicant has two previous
suspensions under this policy regulation within the previous
3 years, or if the suspension is for physical and/or mental
disability, or if the license is revoked for convictions of any
crimes specified in Section 2732 of Title 21 even though it
causes an extreme hardship.  Any driver convicted of
operating a motor vehicle in violation of the restrictions
imposed by the occupational license shall immediately
extend the suspension period for an additional like period
and shall direct the driver to surrender their occupational
license.  No more than one occupational license under this
policy shall be issued within any 12-month period. 

Drivers suspended under this program are ineligible
for an occupational license for one month. If the calculated
point level reaches 15 or more points in a 24-month period,
an occupational license will not be issued until the calculated
points are less than 15 points.

6. Calculated Points. For the purposes of this Policy
Regulation, calculated points are credited at full point value
for the first twelve months from the date of the violation.
After the initial 12 months have expired, the calculated
points will be credited at (½) point value for the next 12
months. The Division will only take action based upon
convictions accumulated within the 24-month period
following the date of the offense. 

7. Moving Violations. Those violations contained in
21 Del.C. Chapters 27, Chapter 41 and Chapter 42,
excluding those violations that require mandatory
suspension or revocation actions. Multiple violations
occurring within a 24-hour period shall be considered
individual violations for the purposes of this policy
regulation.

8. Advisory Letter. The Division will send an advisory
letter to those drivers who accumulate 8 calculated points or
when convicted of speeding 20 – 24 MPH over the posted
limit. The purpose of the advisory letter is to express our
concern about the operator’s driving habits and their impact
upon highway safety. The letter will inform the driver about
the Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program. An
advisory letter may be sent for both point accumulations and
excessive speed violations. 

9. Record Review. The goal of the record review is to
assess any problems the driver may have and require a
course of action. The record review may result in a driver
improvement interview/counseling session, medical or
vision examination, knowledge and/or skills testing,
restricted license, license suspension or the surrender of a
license.  

10. Interviews. The Driver Improvement staff may
schedule the driver to attend an interview based upon the
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record review. The licensee may request an interview with a
Driver Improvement Officer or staff member when notified
of pending action against them. The following issues are
open to discussion:

• The driver may request an additional 90 days to
complete a mandatory attendance at the “behavior
modification/attitudinal driving course” or they
may request a license suspension in lieu of
attending the program. Any further delays in
completing the program must be approved by the
Driver Improvement Manager or the Chief of
Driver Services.

• The driver can present evidence that the convictions
on their driving record belong to another driver. If
proven, the convictions will be removed. 

• If the violation on record is under appeal by the
court, the driver must submit a copy of the appeal
bond and the violation will be removed from the
driving record. If applicable, the suspension action
resulting from this violation be removed from the
driving record. 

• The Driver Improvement staff may require the
driver to complete a medical or vision examination,
pass a knowledge or skill test or restrict their
driving privileges based upon the results of the
interview. 

• This policy regulation shall have no effect on the
revocation actions, medical qualifications or
requirements, or suspension action required by
statue unrelated to this policy. 

V. Severability 
If any part of this Rule is held to be unconstitutional or

otherwise contrary to law by a court of competent
jurisdiction, said portion shall be severed and the remaining
portions of this rule shall remain in full force and effect
under Delaware law. 

VI. Effective Date 
The following regulations shall be effective 10 days

from the date the order is signed and it is published in its
final form in the Register of Regulations in accordance with
29 Del. C. §10118(e).

Policy Regulation Number 90 Concerning:
Aggressive Drivers

I. Authority
This Regulation is adopted pursuant to 21 Del. C.

Section 4175A and promulgated in accordance with 21 Del.
C. Section 302 and with the procedures specified in the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. Section 10115. 

II. Purpose 
This policy regulation establishes administrative

procedures used to administer the aggressive driver program
as outlined in 21 Del.C. Section 4175A. Aggressive driving
is defined in terms of existing Title 21 offenses such as
failure to yield, unsafe lane change, disregarding a traffic
control device, failure to stop, following too closely, passing
on a shoulder and speeding. Individuals convicted of three or
more of these offenses as a result of continuous conduct are
guilty of aggressive driving and are subject to increased
penalties. Offenders are required to complete a course of
instruction established by the Secretary of Public Safety to
address behavior modification or attitudinal driving
problems. The Secretary administers the course and
programs, adopts rules and regulations therefor and
establishes a fee schedule for enrollment in the programs that
will not exceed the maximum fine that may be imposed
under the statute. 

III. Duties and Responsibilities
A. Duties and Responsibilities of the Division of

Motor Vehicles.
1. When convicted of aggressive driving, the

court will send the Division of Motor Vehicles’ Driver
Improvement Section a copy of the court order directing the
driver to complete a course of instruction to address behavior
modification or attitudinal driving problems and
recommending suspension of the driver’s license or driving
privileges for failure to attend the course.  

2. The driver is responsible for contacting the
Division of Motor Vehicles Driver Improvement Section.
That Division will provide them information concerning the
course(s) established or approved by this State.  

3. If the driver is licensed in another state, the
driver may either attend an established course taught in
Delaware or attend a similar course taught in their home
state. The driver must submit documentation from the
licensing agency or from the school providing the training
outlining the length of the training, course syllabus, and any
other information needed to evaluate the alternative course.
The Aggressive Driving Committee will evaluate and
approve or disapprove out-of-state courses. If the out-of-
state licensed driver fails to contact the Division or to
complete the course within 90 days, the Division will notify
the convicting court. The court will hold a non-compliance
hearing and will, at its discretion, either issue a failure to
comply order or will allow the driver/defendant to re-enter
the program. A copy of all non-compliance orders issued
will be forwarded to DMV for them to suspend the licensee’s
driving privileges pursuant to 21 Del. C. Section 2733(c).
The Division will forward the failure to comply order to the
state-licensing agency in which the driver is licensed. If the
licensee, through no fault of his own, is unable to complete
the course within the 90-day period, the Driver Improvement
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Section may extend the required completion date by an
additional 90 days upon written request.

4. If a Delaware licensed driver has not contacted
the Division or has not completed the required course within
90 days after the conviction, the Driver Improvement
Section will notify the convicting court. The court will hold
a non-compliance hearing and will, at its discretion, either
issue a failure to comply order or will allow the driver/
defendant to re-enter the program. A copy of all non-
compliance orders issued will be forwarded to DMV for
them to suspend the license. The Division will suspend their
driver’s license upon direction of the court pursuant to 21
Del. C. Section 2731(a). The license may be reinstated once
the course is completed and the appropriate fees paid. An
occupational license will not be issued during the period of
the suspension. If the licensee, through no fault of his own, is
unable to complete the course within the 90-day period, the
Driver Improvement Section may extend the required
completion date by an additional 90 days upon written
request.

5. The Driver Improvement Section will notify
the court when the aggressive driver completes the required
training course.

B. Duties and Responsibilities of the Office of
Highway Safety.

 The Office of Highway Safety is responsible for
organizing and managing the Aggressive Driver
 Committee. 

IV. Aggressive Driving Committee
A. The Aggressive Driver Committee (“Committee”)

membership is as listed in this subsection. The Committee
members shall not be employed by or have any financial
interest in the companies selected as providers. 

1. Chairman, Director of the Office of Highway
Safety,

2. Chief of Driver Services,
3. Driver Improvement Manager or Assistant

Manager,
4. Representative from the Office of Highway

Safety,
5. Division of Motor Vehicle Training Officer.

B. Duties. The Committee shall:
1. Be chaired by the Director of the Office of

Highway Safety who shall make recommendations to the
Secretary concerning the duties set forth herein:

2. Review and examine aggressive driving course
providers, instructors and prospective providers and
instructors to its satisfaction. Recommend certification,
denial of certification or de-certification of a course
provider, instructor, prospective provider and instructors. 

3. Review and examine behavior modification/
attitudinal driving courses and shall further monitor courses
to ensure each course continues to meet the Committee’s

minimum requirements, as outlined in the Regulation. The
Committee may recommend amendments to course
requirements contained in this Regulation that may be
adopted by either amending this Regulation or by a letter
signed by the Secretary. 

4. Establish a schedule of fees for enrollment in
the course, which shall not exceed the maximum fine
imposed per 21 Del. C. Section 4175A(c) for those convicted
of a first offense and subsequent offenses for aggressive
driving. 

5. Annually certify approved course providers
and individual instructors when the course provider/
instructor continues to meet the requirements of this
Regulation; and

6. Conduct any other activity reasonably related
to the furtherance of its duties. 

V. Provider Certification Requirements 
A. Each course provider shall submit for approval a

written course description for any behavior modification/
attitudinal driving course to be offered that minimally
includes the following elements: 

1. Provide the course curriculum and any
handouts, texts and other material used in the course.

2. Inform the Committee as to how their
curriculum is designed to induce positive changes in attitude
and driving behavior in persons identified as problem
drivers. The provider will discuss those psychological
principles used in the course to change behavior (such as B.
F. Skinner’s “Behavior Modification” studies, William
Glasser’s “Reality Theory”, programs developed for juvenile
or first time offenders generally known as “Scared Straight”
programs). 

3. If available, the provider may submit studies
that substantiate that their course curriculum has improved
the student’s driving behavior as a result of completing their
course as taught in Delaware or in any other jurisdiction.

4. Provide a profile of the company’s
organizational capabilities and a detailed description of its
experience relevant to providing the proposed course of
instruction. The provider must have at least five years
experience conducting in-class driver training programs such
as initial and advanced driver training course, license
upgrade training, rehabilitation training, defensive driving
course or behavior modification courses.

5. Assume all costs of the behavior modification/
attitudinal driving course of instruction including classroom
facilities in each county, training costs and payment of
employee wages.  The State of Delaware will not reimburse
the provider for any costs. 

6. Specify where the classes will be taught in each
county. If available, the provider may request the use of
classroom space, at no cost, in the Division of Motor
Vehicles facilities. The classroom space must be accessible
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to drivers with physical disabilities and in compliance with
the Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990. The
Committee reserves the right to reject the use of any facility
it deems unfit for classroom instruction. 

7. The provider must be able to conduct at least
one class per month at a location deemed convenient for a
majority of the participants. At least one class will be taught
each quarter. The class size should not exceed thirty
students. 

8. Assess a reasonable and uniform fee for the
course as established by the Committee in accordance with
21 Del. C. Section 4175A(d). The provider must arrange a
payment schedule for offenders who are unable to pay the
course in a single payment. The provider is responsible for
any costs associated with the collection of checks drawn on
insufficient funds or on unpaid registration fees. The
provider may withhold the certification of course completion
until all fees are paid in full.

9. Maintain records relevant to the behavior
modification/attitudinal driving course and its participants.
As a minimum, the provider must retain for at least three
years the class locations, times, number of participants and
the names, driver license numbers and date of birth of those
completing and those failing to complete the course.
Department of Public Safety officials will have access to
these records for the purposes of monitoring trends and
evaluating the effectiveness of the course. The providers
must have the capacity to access and update the Department
of Public Safety’s Aggressive Driver Tracking System.

10. Require each student to receive a minimum of
eight hours of classroom training. Each hour shall consist of
not less than 50 minutes of instructional time devoted to the
presentation of the course curriculum. The instructors will
maintain an atmosphere appropriate for class-work and
present the course in a manner consistent with the approved
curriculum and otherwise in accordance with the standards
set forth herein. The instructors will be in the classroom with
the students during any and all periods of instructional time. 

11. Supply students who complete the behavior
modification/attitudinal driving course with a certification of
completion that includes, at a minimum: 

a. The student’s name, date of birth, driver
license number and address, and

b. The date of the class, the name of the
provider, title of the course completed and the course
sponsor’s authorized signature. 

12. Require that each student fill out a standardized
Course/Instructor Evaluation Form, as designated by the
Committee, upon completing the course. The provider will
retain one copy of this form for three years and one copy will
be sent to the Committee. 

13. Provide in-service training or other training
session for all instructors, regarding behavior modification/
attitudinal driving courses. 

14. Notify the Division of Motor Vehicles of each
student’s successful completion of the course in the manner
and form required by the Division. Upon request, the
provider will inform the Division when a student has not
successfully completed a required course. 

VI. Basic Instructor Requirements 
A.  Each instructor shall:

1. Be at least 18 years of age;
2. Be a high school graduate or have a G.E.D.;
3. Hold a valid driver’s license with no more than

6 points, no suspensions or revocations in the past two years;
and

4. Have no felony convictions during the past
four years and no criminal convictions evidencing moral
turpitude. The Committee reserves the right to require a
criminal history background check of all applicants for an
instructor’s certification.

VII. Course and Instructor Re-certification Procedures
A.  Annually the provider shall:

1. Submit evidence that their instructors have
taught the certified course a minimum of 8 hours in the
previous calendar year;

2. Submit evidence that the instructor attended an
in-service update training seminar, or other training session,
as provided by, or specified by, a certified behavior
modification/attitudinal driving course provider; and

3. Certify that the instructors continue to meet the
instructor requirements as outlined in this Regulation. 

4. When the Committee initially certifies a
provider and their instructors, they will be given a one-year
contract. The provider must apply for re-certification by
December 31 every year. The Committee will send out
application renewal requests in October. The providers must
complete the renewal applications and return them to the
Committee between November 15 and December 31. The
Committee will re-certify or deny re-certification by January
31.        

VIII. De-Certification, Suspension and Probationary
Status

A. Course providers and instructors may be de-
certified, placed on probation for not more than 90 calendar
days, or have certification suspended indefinitely upon a
finding of the Committee that the course presented does not
meet the criteria set forth in this Regulation. The Committee
shall direct investigations relating to the issues of
compliance. 

B. Prior to de-certification, placement on probation or
suspension of certification, the Committee shall notify the
course provider/instructor, in writing. The course provider/
instructor shall be given a reasonable opportunity to submit
evidence of compliance in their defense. 
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C. A course provider/instructor who is placed on
probationary status and does not show proof of  compliance
with the standards set forth herein within 90 calendar days
shall be subject to de-certification at the end of the
probationary period. 

D. Course providers/instructors may be de-certified,
suspended or placed on probation for the following: 

1. Submitting false information in or with the
Application for Certification/re-certification;

2. Falsification of, or failure to keep and provide
adequate student records and information as required herein;

3. Evidence that the course is not effective in
changing the driving behavior of those problem drivers who
complete the course;

4. Falsification of, or failure to keep and provide
adequate financial records and documents as required; and

5. Failure of any provider or instructor to comply
with the standards set forth in this Regulation. 

IX. APPEAL PROCEDURES
A. Within 10 business days after the date of written

notification of certification denial, suspension, probation or
de-certification, the course provider/instructor may file an
appeal requesting a review of the action taken.

B. The appeal shall be addressed to the Committee,
citing the reasons for the request, and accompanied by any
other relevant substantiating information. 

C. The Committee shall conduct all hearings pursuant
to Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code. 

Brian J. Bushweller, Secretary
Department of Public Safety

Michael D. Shahan, Director
Division of Motor Vehicles

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, 

Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. 209(a))

PLEASE NOTE THAT PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO.
4 WAS INITIALLY PROPOSED ON JULY 1, 1998 (2 DE REG.
81 (7/1/98)). THE REGULATION WAS SUBSEQUENTLY RE-
PROPOSED ON APRIL 1, 1999 (2 DE REG. 1741 4/1/99).
THE FOLLOWING IS THE SECOND RE-PROPOSAL OF

REGULATION DOCKET NO. 4.

In the Matter of the Regulation |
Establishing the Minimum Filing |
Requirements for All Regulated |      PSC Regulation 
Companies Subject to the |      Docket No. 4
Jurisdiction of the Public Service |
Commission (Reopened May 26, 1999 ) |

Order No. 5349

AND NOW, this 8th day of February, 2000, the
Commission having considered the briefs, statements of
position, evidence, and testimony submitted to the Hearing
Examiner; the Report of the Hearing Examiner dated
November 30, 1999; the exceptions thereto filed by
Chesapeake Utilities Corporation ("Chesapeake") and
Delmarva Power & Light Company ("Delmarva") on
December 22, 1999; and the oral argument presented by
Chesapeake, Delmarva, Staff, and the Division of the Public
Advocate on January 11, 2000;

IT IS ORDERED THAT:

1. As and for its summary of the evidence pursuant to
29 Del. C. § 10128(b)(1), the Commission incorporates by
reference the "Appearances," "Background," and "Summary
of the Record and Discussion" sections (sections I through
III) of the Report of the Hearing Examiner herein dated
November 30, 1999.  

2. Pursuant to 29 Del. C. § 10128(b), the Commission
adopts the following findings of fact and conclusions of law.

3. Part "A", Section I(C).  Staff proposed changes to
this section of the Minimum Filing Requirements ("MFRs")
for the principal purpose of curtailing the alleged practice,
by some utilities, of modifying test period data late in the
rate review process.  With one nonsubstantive exception, the
Hearing Examiner recommended the adoption of Staff's
proposal in its entirety.  

4. The Commission adopts the Hearing Examiner's
recommendation, but directs Staff to propose additional
language that will vest in the Hearing Examiner the
discretion to permit utilities to offer modifications in

http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/index.html
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evidence simultaneously with the filing of rebuttal evidence,
where extraordinary circumstances and the interests of
justice so warrant.  

5. Parts "A" and "B", Section I(E).  This section
addresses Staff's review of rate increase applications for
compliance with the MFRs, and the consequences of
noncompliance.  Staff proposed that it be changed to permit
Staff to reject defective applications where the defects are
"so numerous or serious as to materially impair Staff's timely
review of the application . . . ."  Delmarva, Chesapeake, and
others opposed Staff's proposal on due process and other
grounds.  

6. The Hearing Examiner rejected Staff's proposal,
concluding that because "Staff is akin to a party prosecutor
in all rate proceedings[,]" it would be unfair to permit Staff
to reject rate applications on its own discretion. Report of the
Hearing Examiner at ¶36.  The Hearing Examiner agreed
with Staff, however, that an amendment to this section is
needed to allow Staff "sufficient time to fully review and
investigate all of the complexities that are so typical of rate
cases."  Id. at ¶38.  Accordingly, the Hearing Examiner
recommended changes to this section that were (in large
part) similar to those proposed by Staff, but which did not
confer discretion on Staff to reject defective applications
under any circumstances.  

7. The Hearing Examiner's recommendation also
added a new feature to the debate: It effectively provided
that no rate application would be deemed finally filed with
the Commission (for the purposes contemplated under the
Public Utilities Act) until the completion by Staff of a
review-and-notification process.  Under the terms proposed
by the Hearing Examiner, that process could take as long as
fifteen days for nondefective applications, and as long as
thirty days for defective applications.  

8. Chesapeake and Delmarva took exception to the
Hearing Examiner's recommendation, arguing (for example)
that a nondefective application should be deemed filed ab
initio.  Chesapeake and Delmarva similarly alleged
unfairness in the prospect that an application with only
minor defects might be deemed filed a full thirty days after
its actual filing date.  

9. The Commission concludes that the Hearing
Examiner's recommendation should be modified in two
respects.  First, nondefective applications should be deemed
filed as of the date of their actual, initial filing.  Second,
where an application suffers from only minor defects, the
presence of such defects should not affect the date on which
it is deemed filed.  Staff is directed to propose new language
that will effect these modifications.  

10. Effect of new proposals.  The Commission finds
that the new language Staff is herewith directed to draft will
reflect substantive changes from its earlier proposals, and so
constitute new proposals within the meaning of 29 Del. C. §
10118(c).  Staff represents that these new proposals are as set

forth in the notice attached hereto as Exhibit "A."
11. The Secretary of the Commission shall transmit to

the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware
Register the notice attached hereto as Exhibit "A."  

12. The Secretary of the Commission shall cause the
notice attached hereto as Exhibit "A" to be published in The
News Journal and Delaware State News newspapers on or
before March 1, 2000.

13. The Secretary shall cause the notice attached hereto
as Exhibit "A" to be sent by U.S. mail to all public utilities
who currently file rate applications under Parts "A" and "B"
of the Minimum Filing Requirements for All Regulated
Companies Subject to the Jurisdiction of the Commission,
and all persons who have made timely written requests for
advance notice of the Commission's regulation-making
proceedings.

14. John S. Spadaro, Esquire, is designated Staff
Coumsel for this matter.                      

15. The public utilities regulated by the Commission
are notified that they may be charged for the cost of this
proceeding under 21 Del. C. § 114.

16. Report of the Hearing Examiner generally.  The
Commission adopts the recommendations set forth in the
Report of the Hearing Examiner dated November 30, 1999,
except as modified above.  A copy of the Report of the
Hearing Examiner is attached as Exhibit "B."

17. The Commission retains jurisdiction in this matter,
including the authority to make such further Orders as may
be just or proper.
   

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Robert J. McMahon, Chairman
Joshua M. Twilley, Vice Chairman
Arnetta McRae, Commissioner
Donald J. Puglisi, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

Exhibit  "A"

In the Matter of the Regulation |
Establishing the Minimum Filing |
Requirements for All Regulated |      PSC Regulation 
Companies Subject to the |      Docket No. 4
Jurisdiction of the Public Service |
Commission (Reopened May 26, 1999 ) |

Notice of Comment Period on Proposed Changes and 
Amendments to Minimum Filing Requirements

In 1981, the Delaware Public Service Commission (the
"Commission" or "PSC") adopted its Minimum Filing
Requirements for general rate increase applications.  These



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1187

requirements, which were last modified in 1984, govern the
filing and content of rate increase applications made by
utilities under the Commission's jurisdiction.

Rate increase applications submitted to the Commission
are reviewed and evaluated by the Commission's Technical
Staff for the justness and reasonableness of the rates
proposed.  Acting on proposals made by Staff, the
Commission recently approved certain changes to the
Minimum Filing Requirements.  These changes are intended
to increase the efficiency of the rate review process.  

In the course of considering Staff's proposals, the
Commission determined that certain proposals should be
modified and published for further public comment and
review.  The text of the affected provisions is reproduced in
its present form below, along with the proposed
modifications for each:

1. Part "A," Section I(C) of the Minimum Filing
Requirements governs the filing of direct testimony and
supporting exhibits, as well as the modification of test period

data.1  It now reads: "Prepared direct testimony and
supporting exhibits must be filed coincident with the filing
of the applications for rate relief.  This filing requirement
shall not prohibit the utility from subsequently submitting
further testimony and exhibits in a timely fashion as
necessary or proper to address issues raised during
investigation of the application; nor shall it (or B.2., above)
prohibit the utility from also proffering an exhibit or exhibits
in the form of a fully projected test period (in addition to the
test period described in I.B.2 above), provided: (1) such
period shall consist of twelve consecutive months ending not
later than the end of the first year during which the proposed
rates are to become effective; (2) it is supported by relevant
testimony establishing a verifiable link between the test
period defined in Section B.2. and the projected test period;
and (3) it is in format consistent with such test period.
Modifications in test period data occasioned by reasonably
known and measurable changes in current or future rate base
items, expenses (i.e., labor costs, tax expenses, insurance,
etc.) or revenues may be offered in evidence by the utility up
until the time the utility files its rebuttal testimony."  It is
proposed that the last sentence of this section be deleted in
favor of the following:

Modifications in test period data occasioned by
reasonably known and measurable changes in
current or future rate base items, expenses (i.e.,
labor costs, tax expenses, insurance, etc.) or

revenues may be offered in evidence by the utility
at any time prior to its filing of rebuttal evidence;
provided, however, that if any party makes timely
objection to the proffered modifications, such
objections shall be promptly presented to the
Hearing Examiner for a decision on due
consideration of the parties' respective positions.
For purposes of this Section I(C), an objection shall
be timely if made within five (5) business days of
the utility's proffer of modifications.  

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in
this Section I(C), the Commission, Presiding
Officer, or Hearing Examiner may permit the utility
to offer in evidence the modifications contemplated
hereunder simultaneously with the filing of rebuttal
evidence, where extraordinary circumstances and
the interests of justice so warrant. 

2. Part "A," Section I(E) of the Minimum Filing
Requirements addresses Staff's review of rate increase
applications for compliance with the Minimum Filing
Requirements, and the penalties for noncompliance.  This
section now reads: "The Commission Staff will review all
filings for compliance with the format and instructions
furnished herein and notify the utility within 30 days after
the date of filing of any defects in compliance.  The utility,
after such notification by the Commission Staff, will then
have 30 days to correct these defects.  If such defects are not
corrected, the Commission may reject a utility's rate
application for non-compliance with the Minimum Filing
Requirements."  It is proposed that this section be modified
to read as follows:

The Commission Staff will review all filings
for compliance with the format and instructions
furnished herein and, within fifteen (15) days after
the date of filing, specifically identifyany
noncompliance with such format and instructions,
and immediately request the Commission's
Secretary to promptly notify the utility of the
alleged defects in compliance. Following such
notification by the Commission's Secretary, the
utility shall have fifteen (15) days within which to
correct the alleged defects; and only upon the
utility's filing of the corrected application shall such
application be deemed filed with the Commission
for the purposes contemplated under the
PublicUtilities Act.  In the event the alleged defects
are not corrected within the time provided
hereunder, Staff may move the Commission to
reject the utility's application for non-compliance
with these Minimum Filing Requirements.  

Nothing in this Section I(E) shall prevent a
utility from filing an application in draft form for

1.  Part "A" of the Minimum Filing Requirements 
governs the filing of rate increase applications 
by major utilities.  Part "B" governs filings by 
small utilities.
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Staff's informal review and approval without
prejudice, such informal review and approval not to
be unreasonably withheld by Staff; nor shall this
Section I(E) affect or delay the filing date, for the
purposes contemplated under the Public Utilities
Act, of rate applications that comply with the
format and instructions furnished herein, or whose
noncompliance with such format and instructions is
deemed minor by the Commission or its Staff. 

3.  Part "B," Section I(E) of the Minimum Filing
Requirements is identical in terms to the corresponding
section within Part "A."  Accordingly, it is proposed that
identical changes be made to this section as are proposed for
the corresponding section within Part "A."    

The Commission has authority to issue such rules, and
to effect the proposed changes and additions, under 26 Del.
C. §209(a).

The Commission hereby solicits written comments,
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written
materials concerning Staff's proposed changes and additions
to the Minimum Filing Requirements.  Ten (10) copies of
such materials shall be filed with the Commission at its
office located at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware  19904.  All such
materials shall be filed on or before March 31, 2000.

In addition, the Commission will conduct a public
hearing concerning the proposed changes on Tuesday, April
11, 2000, beginning at 1:00 PM.  The public hearing will be
held at the Commission's Dover office, located at the address
set forth above.  Interested persons may present comments,
evidence, testimony, and other materials at that public
hearing.  

The Minimum Filing Requirements, the proposed
changes to the same, and the materials submitted in
connection therewith will be available for public inspection
and copying at the Commission's Dover office during normal
business hours.  The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.  

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to
participate in these proceedings should contact the
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed
to facilitate such review or participation.  Such contact may
be in person, by writing, telephonically, by use of the
Telecommunications Relay Service, or otherwise.  The
Commission's toll-free telephone number is (800) 282-8574.
Persons with questions concerning this application may
contact the Commission's Secretary, Karen J. Nickerson, by
either Text Telephone ("TT") or by regular telephone at
(302) 739-4333 or by e-mail at knickerson@state.de.us.

Exhibit  "B"

In the Matter of the Regulation |
Establishing the Minimum Filing |
Requirements for All Regulated | PSC Regulation
Companies Subject to the | Docket No. 4
Jurisdiction of the Public Service |
Commission |

Report of the Hearing Examiner

Dated:  November 30, 1999
G. Arthur Padmore, Hearing Examiner

G. Arthur Padmore, duly appointed Hearing Examiner
in this Docket pursuant to 26 Del. C. §502 and 29 Del. C.
Ch. 101, by Commission Orders No. 4805 and 5051,
respectively dated May 26, 1998 and March 23, 1999,
reports to the Commission as follows:

I. APPEARANCES

On behalf of Artesian Water Company
(“Artesian”): MORRIS, NICHOLS, ARSHT &
TUNNELL
BY: MICHAEL HOUGHTON, ESQUIRE

On behalf of Chesapeake Utilities Corporation
(“Chesapeake”): SCHMITTINGER &
RODRIGUEZ
BY:WILLIAM A. DENMAN, ESQUIRE

On behalf of the Division of the Public Advocate
(“DPA”): PATRICIA A. STOWELL, The Public
Advocate

On behalf of Delmarva Power & Light Company
(“Delmarva): RANDALL V. GRIFFIN, ESQUIRE,
Delmarva Power & Light Company

On behalf of United Water Delaware (“UWD”):
THE BAYARD FIRM
BY:WILLIAM D. BAILEY, JR., ESQUIRE

On behalf the Public Service Commission Staff
(“Staff”): MURPHY, SPADARO & LANDON
BY:JOHN S. SPADARO, ESQUIRE

II. BACKGROUND 
1. In 1981, the Public Service Commission of

Delaware (the “Commission” or “PSC”) adopted “Minimum
Filing Requirements For General Rate Increase
Applications” (“MFR” or “requirements”).  These
requirements, which were last modified in 1984, govern the
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filing and content of rate increase applications made by
utilities subject to the Commission’s jurisdiction. Rate
increase applications submitted to the Commission are
reviewed and evaluated by the Commission’s Staff for the
justness and reasonableness of the rates proposed.

2. By memorandum dated May 22, 1998, the
Commission’s Staff proposed that the Commission
implement certain changes and additions to the MFR that
would purportedly increase the procedural and practical
efficiency of the Staff’s oversight of the ratemaking process,
as well as lessen the administrative burdens related thereto.

3. In response to the Staff proposal, the Commission
issued Order No. 4805, dated May 26, 1998, and reopened
this rulemaking docket to re-examine the MFR. The
Commission’s Order also designated this Hearing Examiner
to conduct proceedings concerning this matter, invited
comments from interested persons, and directed the
Commission’s Secretary to publish notice of a public

hearing1 to be conducted on August 5, 1998 that would
consider comments concerning the Staff-proposed changes
to the MFR. The Hearing Examiner was further authorized,
at his discretion, to solicit additional public comment, to
conduct further public hearings as might be required and,
thereafter, to file a report with recommendations to the
Commission concerning the Staff proposals.

4. At the conclusion of the August 5, 1998 hearing,
the participants agreed to meet on September 9, 1999 in
order to consult informally to discuss possible proposals
concerning changes to the MFR. (Tr. at 56.) I directed Staff
Counsel, Mr. Spadaro, to report to me the results of this
meeting no later than September 16, 1998 and noted that
following my review of Mr. Spadaro’s report, I would
schedule a brief public hearing to consider whatever
proposals resulted from the consultation.  (Id.)

5. Although the participants met on several occasions,
they failed to reach consensus on any proposal related to
modifying the MFR. Subsequently, by letter dated December
2, 1998, Staff withdrew its proposed changes to the MFR.
On the same date, I recommended that, under the
circumstances, the Commission suspend this docket pending

further action by Staff.2

6. Staff subsequently filed new proposed
modifications to the MFR and, on March 23, 1999, the
Commission issued Order No. 5051, which reopened this
rulemaking proceeding. The Commission’s Order directed

this Hearing Examiner to receive and examine comments
from all interested persons, to conduct proceedings, and to
make recommendations concerning the new Staff proposals.
Pursuant thereto, I convened a pre-hearing conference of the
participants on May 13, 1999. A procedural schedule was
developed that afforded the participants an opportunity to
conduct discovery upon each other and, thereafter, to file
their respective statements of position.

7. By letter dated May 27, 1999, Artesian Water
Company formally withdrew from further participation in

this docket.3

8. In accordance with the procedural schedule and

upon due notice,4 I conducted a public hearing concerning
this matter in Dover on the morning of September 22, 1999.
Staff presented the testimony of Commission Public Utilities
Analyst William C. Schaffer in support of its proposed
modifications to the MFR. All participants present were
afforded an opportunity to cross-examine Mr. Schaffer on
Staff’s proposals. Previously filed Comments and
Statements of Position of the participants were entered into
the record at the hearing. No member of the public attended
the hearing or otherwise participated in this docket.

9. At the conclusion of the September 22, 1999
hearing, the record consisted of sixteen exhibits and a 207-
page verbatim transcript of the proceedings. With my
permission, the Staff and participants Chesapeake,
Delmarva, and UWD filed briefs for my consideration. The
initial comments of the participants that were received into
evidence at the August 5, 1998 hearing are identified as
Exhibits 2 through 8. Since this Report discusses only Staff’s
“new” proposals (i.e., proposals that were incorporated in
the public notice attached to Order No. 5051), I have not
considered the material contained in Exhibits 2 through 8.
My recommendations herein are based upon my
consideration of materials filed since the issuance of Order
No. 5051, i.e., the transcript of the September 22, 1999
hearing, Exhibits 10 through 16, and the post-hearing

briefs.5 Based thereon, I submit for the Commission’s
consideration this Report with recommendations.

III. SUMMARY OF THE RECORD & DISCUSSION 
10. Introduction This matter comes to the Commission

based upon certain concerns raised by the Commission’s
Staff, which normally reviews rate increase applications
submitted by public utilities subject to the Commission’s

1.  Ex. 1. The exhibits of record will be referred to 
as “(Ex. __ at ___)” or “(Ex. ___)”. The tran-
scripts of proceedings in this docket will be 
referred to as “(Tr. at __.)”

2.  See December 2, 1998 Letter to the Participants 
from the Hearing Examiner.

3.  May 27, 1999 Letter from David B. Spacht, 
Vice President and CFO of Artesian Water Com-
pany.

4.  Ex. 9.
5.  The briefs will be cited as “([Participant] at 

___).”
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jurisdiction. Staff informed the Commission that the
frequency and number of such applications has recently
increased significantly, resulting in a corresponding increase
in the administrative burdens associated with Staff’s review.

11. Staff contends that, with respect to rate
applications, the regulated utilities have engaged in certain
practices that tend to add significantly and unreasonably to
these administrative burdens. According to Staff, these
practices typically involve changes made by the utility to
data on which the application relies, including changes to the
test year, and changes in rate base items, expenses, or
revenues.  Staff contends that the burden occasioned by such
practices is most severe where multiple and material changes
are made at different points in time during the pendency of a
single application.

12. Staff further contends that, where such changes are
sought, they are often of a type that are avoidable through
the applicant’s exercise of ordinary diligence in preparing its
rate increase application. Staff, therefore, has proposed
several modifications to the MFR which, according to Staff,
will increase efficiency in the rate review process as well as
reduce administrative burdens. Primarily, the proposed

changes affect: Part “A”,1 Section I(B)(1); Part “A”, Section
I(C); Part “A”, Section I(E); Part “A”, Schedule No. 2-B;
Part “B”, Section I(B); and Part “B”, Section I(E). In
addition, Staff proposes other miscellaneous changes to the
“General Information” section of the MFR. These proposals
are discussed in greater detail below.

13. Section I(B)(1)Section I(B)(1) . The first of Staff’s
proposed modifications relates to Part A, Section I(B)(1) of
the MFR, which defines the “test year” and specifies the
time period to be reflected by the “test year.” Specifically,
the last two sentences of this section now state:

In addition, the twelve-month period must end
no more than seven months prior to the filing of the
application for increased rates.  For example, if the
actual results of the operations for the twelve
months ending March 31, xxxx, are used for the
purpose of the test year, the application must be
filed no later than October 31, xxxx.

Staff proposes that these sentences be changed to read:

In addition, the twelve-month period must end
no more than seven months prior to the filing of the
application, but no sooner than one month after the
final closing of the company’s books for the last

month of the test year (post reversal of accrual
entries), so that actual expenditures are reflected in
the books of account.  For example, if the actual
results of operations for the twelve months ending
March 31, xxxx, are used for purposes of the test
year, the application must be filed no sooner than
April 30, xxxx, but no later than October 31, xxxx.

Staff contends that with this change, a utility’s test year
will reflect actual booked results. (Ex. 10 at 2.) According to
Staff, such a result will “lessen the burdens associated with
post-filing changes to test year data.” (Id.)

14. Discussion. No participant appears to have
objected to the above changes proposed to Section I(B)(1). I
have considered the Staff proposal, and it appears to be
reasonable. Accordingly, I recommend that it be adopted.

15. Section I(C). This section of the MFR relates to the
filing of direct testimony and supporting exhibits, as well as
to procedures for modifying test period data. Currently,
Section I(C) reads as follows:

Prepared direct testimony and supporting
exhibits must be filed coincident with the filing of
the applications for rate relief.  This filing
requirement shall not prohibit the utility from
subsequently submitting further testimony and
exhibits in a timely fashion as necessary or proper
to address issues raised during investigation of the
filing; nor shall it (or B.2., above) prohibit the
utility from proffering an exhibit or exhibits in the
form of a fully projected test period, provided (1)
such period shall consist of twelve consecutive
months ending not later than the end of the first
year during which the proposed rates are to become
effective; (2) it is supported by relevant testimony
establishing a verifiable link between the test period
defined in Section B.2. and the projected test
period; and (3) it is in format consistent with such
test period.

Modifications in test period data occasioned by
reasonably known and measurable changes in
current or future rate base items, expenses (i.e.,
labor costs, tax expenses, insurance, etc.) or
revenues may be offered in evidence by the utility
up until the time the utility files its rebuttal
testimony.

16. Staff has proposed that the first paragraph of

Section I(C) be modified to read:2

Prepared direct testimony and supporting exhibits
must be filed coincident with the filing of the applications

1.  Part “A” of the Minimum Filing Requirements 
governs the filing of rate increase applications 
by major utilities.  Part “B” governs filings by 
smaller utilities. 2.  The proposed modifications are italicized.
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for rate relief.  This filing requirement shall not prohibit the
utility from subsequently submitting further testimony and
exhibits in a timely fashion as necessary or proper to address
issues raised during investigation of the application; nor
shall it (or B.2., above) prohibit the utility from also
proffering an exhibit or exhibits in the form of a fully
projected test period (in addition to the test period described
in I.B.2. above), provided (1) such period shall consist of
twelve consecutive months ending not later than the end of
the first year during which the proposed rates are to become
effective; (2) it is supported by relevant testimony
establishing a verifiable link between the test period defined
in Section B.2. and the projected test period; and (3) it is in
format consistent with such test period.

17. Staff also proposes that the last paragraph of

Section I(C) be changed to read:1

Modifications in test period data occasioned by
reasonably known and measurable changes in
current or future rate base items, expenses (i.e.,
labor costs, tax expenses, insurance, etc.) or
revenues may be offered in evidence by the utility
at any time prior to its introduction of rebuttal
evidence; provided, however, that if any party
makes timely objection to the proffered
modifications, such objections shall be promptly
presented to the Hearing Examiner for a decision on
due consideration of the parties’ respective
positions. For purposes of this Section I(C), an
objection shall be timely if made within five (5)
business days of the utility’s proffer of
modifications.

18. Staff asserts that the late-filing of changes to rate
applications has become “a serious problem.” (Tr. at 100-
101.) Witness Schaffer testified that Staff’s recent
experience has been that utilities are making changes to their
rate applications “later and later in the [rate review]
process.”  (Id.) According to Mr. Schaffer, this tendency
“makes it a lot more difficult for Staff to complete a case in a
timely manner” and has become “a real drag on efficiency.”
(Id.) Staff contends that although the need for the proposed
language changes is “compelling,” it is also reasonable
because it affords the Commission a reasonable opportunity
to evaluate the changed data. (Ex. 10 at 2, 5.)

19. The DPA supports the Staff proposal and urges the
Commission to place limitations on the changes that will be

accepted2 or to require the utility “to waive its right to
implement interim rates within a seven-month statutory
period.” (Ex. 15 at 4.)

20. Delmarva contends that Staff’s proposed changes to

Section I(C) are neither necessary nor appropriate. (Ex. 11 at
1.) Delmarva fully endorses UWD’s position that the
Commission should retain the “common practice” of
allowing utilities to “file modifications with their rebuttal
testimony because the information to be considered by the
Hearing Examiner and the Commission should be as up-to-
date as possible.” (Id.; Ex. 12 at Exhibit “A”, page 1.)
Chesapeake joined Delmarva and UWD in recommending
that if adopted, Staff’s proposal should be amended to allow
utilities to file modifications to test period data “up to and
including its introduction of rebuttal evidence.” (Ex. 12 at 3;
Ex. 11 at 1-2; Ex. 13 at 1; Ex. 14 at 1.)

21. Discussion. The participants appear to have
expended significant amounts of time and energy debating
the issue of whether modifications to test period data,
occasioned by known and measurable changes, ought to be
filed “up until” or “prior to” the utility-applicant files its
rebuttal testimony in a rate case. As interesting as the debate
may have been to some, on closer examination, the problem
is not of the magnitude that defies resolution. I see very little
difference between “up until” and “prior to”; however, I will
concede that “prior to” more accurately reflects what I
believe was the Commission’s original intent, i.e., that
modifications to test period occasioned by known and
measurable changes should be made before a utility files its
rebuttal testimony. I say this after considering the plain
meaning of “rebuttal testimony,” which, in the context of a
rate case, means testimony filed by a utility which refutes or
addresses issues raised by the Staff and/or intervenors in
their direct testimony.

22. Generally, the utilities have taken the position that
the Commission must consider all “late” or so-called “up-
dated” data. Most of the utility-participants argue that not
only should they be allowed to file data relating to changed
circumstances, but also that such materials should be
included in rebuttal testimony. (UWD  at 4; DPL at 8-9)

23. I disagree with the contention that rebuttal
testimony is the appropriate mechanism by which to
introduce new material for consideration in a rate
proceeding. As the Public Utility Act recognizes, in rate
cases, the utility is the party that has possession of and
control over most of the data that is necessary to develop the
kind of evidentiary record which the Commission needs to
make an informed judgment concerning the justness and
reasonableness of proposed rate changes. This is why in all
rate proceedings, the Act places the burden of proof on the
utility. (26 Del. C. §307.)

24. Moreover, it is a ratemaking principle of long-

1.  The proposed modifications are italicized.

2.  In this regard, DPA suggests limiting the magni-
tude of changes to any component of a utility’s 
revenue, expense or rate base claim to 10%. (Ex. 
16 at 2.)
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standing that, as a general rule, rates are examined within the

confines of a test year and test period.1 This means that there
must be a cut-off period for the data that is used to determine
appropriate rates for prospective application. What the
utilities propose would turn this principle on its head, and the
result would be to place the Commission in the untenable
position of having to determine rates in a constantly
changing evidentiary environment in which its investigative
Staff could never fully examine all aspects of a utility’s rate
filing. This would severely impair the Commission’s
ratemaking ability and, therefore, would not be in the public
interest.

25. On the other hand, I do not think it reasonable for
the Commission to inflexibly preclude a utility from
supplementing the record where appropriate. Citing a 1975
Superior Court decision, Delmarva and UWD argue that the
Commission is bound to consider post-test year data in
making its rate determinations. This suggests that Staff’s
proposed modifications to the MFR would be unlawful. I
disagree. In the 1975 case, the Court held

Rate fixing is prospective: the rates should be
just and reasonable in the foreseeable future as well
as the present. Use of a test year for particular study
is accepted practice. The test year, which is past
experience, is evaluated as a basis for predicting the
future. While the Commission has discretion in
setting the test year, this does not mean that it may
arbitrarily refuse to consider later available accurate
information. (Citations omitted.) Later information
is especially important as a check on the continuing
validity of the test year experience in a period of
rapid change like the present. Ignoring later
information increases the likelihood of frequent
costly and unsettling rate proceedings.

The policy of prompt decisions in rate
proceedings . . . is important, but must be balanced
against the Commission’s ultimate duty of fixing
just and reasonable rates. . . [The Commission] has
broad powers of inspection, 26 Del. C. §125, and
need not accept book entries without investigation.

(Citations omitted.) It had already investigated
Delmarva’s 1972 accounts and accepted the
statement of earnings. It does not appear, and there
is no reason to assume, that the method of
calculating the 1973 figures is significantly
different. It is thus unlikely that verification of the
1973 figures would take undue time or effort. It was
error, under the circumstances, not to consider this
evidence . . . (Emphasis added.)
Application of Delmarva Power & Light Co., Del.
Super., 337 A.2d 517, 518 (1975)

In my view, the Court’s opinion is that in the particular
circumstances cited, the Commission could, without taking
undue time or effort, have verified the utility’s later available
material. Thus, while the Commission should consider later-
available modifications to test period data, such
consideration should be undertaken only where the
Commission has a reasonable opportunity to investigate such
data.

26. “Reasonableness,” in this instance, would suggest
to me circumstances under which such investigation would
not unreasonably delay the ratemaking process. I do not,
however, construe the Court’s decision as requiring the
Commission to accept any and all post-test year data that a
utility wishes to fling at the Commission however late it may
be into the seven month-ratemaking time-frame. The Court
clearly recognized the need to establish a cut-off period
within which the Commission can scrutinize the data upon
which a utility has based its proposed rates. If the utility
subsequently wishes to present any post-test year data for the
Commission to consider, such data must be material and its
tardiness should, at the very least, be caused by
circumstances more compelling than the utility’s ineptitude
or desire to “game” the process.

27. In view of the foregoing, I find reasonable and
recommend Commission adoption of Staff’s proposed
requirement that post-test year data be submitted “prior to”
the filing of any rebuttal testimony. The proposed
modifications do lend greater clarity to the Commission’s
intent that post-test year data should be presented before, not

in conjunction with, the filing of rebuttal testimony.2 Such
timing will also ensure that the Commission’s mandate to
fully investigate all data upon a utility relies for its proposed
rates will not be compromised.

28. There is nothing in this record upon which I can
rely as a basis for adopting the DPA’s recommendation that
the Commission should limit the magnitude of subsequent
changes to any component of a utility’s revenue, expense, or

1.  The MFR defines the “test period” as consisting 
of “twelve consecutive months ending at the end 
of a reporting quarter utilized by the utility to 
support its request for relief. The test period may 
be the same as the test year or may include some 
of the months included in the test year and some 
months projected, such as six months ‘actual’ 
and six months ‘projected’, but may not include 
more than nine months ‘projected’.” MFR, Part 
A, Section I(B)(2)(b).

2.  In this regard, for the sake of clarity, the lan-
guage of Staff’s proposal should be changed to 
read “. . . prior to its filing of rebuttal evidence.”
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rate base claim to 10%. In any event, in my opinion,
consideration of any such limitations, if appropriate, are
better dealt with on a case by case basis.

29. Section I(E). This section addresses Staff’s review
of rate increase applications for compliance with the
Minimum Filing Requirements, and the penalties for
noncompliance.  Section I(E) now reads:

The Commission Staff will review all filings
for compliance with the format and instructions
furnished herein and notify the utility within 30
days after the date of filing of any defects in
compliance.  The utility after such notification by
the Commission Staff will then have 30 days to
correct these defects.  If such defects are not
corrected, the Commission may reject a utility’s
rate application for non-compliance with the
Minimum Filing Requirements.

Staff recommends that the first sentence of the section

cited above be changed to read:1 “The Commission Staff
will review all applications for compliance with the format
and instructions furnished herein and notify the utility within
30 days after the date of application of any defects in
compliance.”

30. In addition, Staff recommends that the following
language be added to the end of Section I(E):

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in
this Section I(E), if such defects are, in Staff's
discretion, so numerous or serious as to materially
impair Staff's timely review of the application, Staff
may reject the same thereby rendering it a nullity
for all purposes (including without limitation the
purposes contemplated under 26 Del. C. § 306),
provided, however, that any such rejection by Staff
may be challenged by the utility upon timely
request for reconsideration to the Commission. For
purposes of this Section I(E), a request for
reconsideration shall be timely if presented in
writing to the Commission within five (5) business
days of Staff's rejection of the application to which
it relates. In the event a utility's challenge to Staff's
rejection of an application under this Section I(E) is
successful, the application shall be reinstated ab
initio.  Nothing in this Section I(E) shall prevent a
utility from filing an application in draft form for
Staff's informal review and approval without
prejudice, such informal review and approval not to
be unreasonably withheld by Staff.  The
requirements of this Section shall be in addition to,
and not in place of, the requirements of Rule 6.2 of

the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the
Delaware Public Service Commission.

31. Staff contends that, contrary to the utilities’
contentions, its proposal does not “vest new discretion in
Staff” since Staff is already charged with identifying defects
in rate applications and enforcing compliance with the MFR.
(Ex. 10 at 5.) According to Staff, the change is not in kind
but in degree. (Id.) Staff asserts that this change in the degree
of its discretion is “manifestly needed” and, in light of the
fact that Staff is now “inundated with work,” the proposed
change will have the salutary effect of increasing the
utilities’ compliance with the MFR. (Id.)
The DPA supports the Staff proposal. (Ex. 15 at 5.)

32. Delmarva contends that it is inappropriate “to give
one party, Staff, a power to reject a filing by another party,
subject only to an appeal right.” (Ex. 11 at 2.) According to
Delmarva, the current mechanism for addressing Staff’s
concerns appear to be adequate.  (Id.) Delmarva asserts that
under the Staff proposal, Staff would be given “a power that
it does not currently have,” and this results in bestowing on
Staff a “litigation benefit” that would “shift[] a burden to the
utility to justify why [its] filing should not be rejected.”  (Id.)

33. UWD argues that the Staff proposal would require
the Commission to delegate its authority in a manner that is
beyond the scope of the authority conferred on it by the
Delaware General Assembly. (Ex. 12 at 3.) In addition,
UWD contends, the Staff proposal is “offensive to the
elementary notions of due process” because it would permit
one party to exclude evidence offered by another party. (Id.
at 3-4.) Furthermore, UWD asserts, “in the event that the
presentation of modified material impacts the adequacy of
the time for examination of the [utility’s] case and
development of the Staff and DPA position, then the utility
should have the option to extend the statutory period of time
for the Commission’s decision,” rather than having updated
material excluded from consideration. (Id. at 4.)
Accordingly, UWD recommends that Staff’s proposed
modifications should not be approved.

34. Chesapeake contends that the Staff should not have
the power to render an application  a “nullity” without first
providing the utility with a reasonable period of time to
correct the alleged deficiencies. (Ex. 14 at 1.) According to
Chesapeake, there is no need to modify the existing
procedure which would provide the utility with a 30-day
period to correct any defects. (Id.) Under the current rule, if
the utility fails to correct the defects, then the Commission
may reject the application for noncompliance. (Id.)  This
provision is adequate and should be retained. (Id.) 

35. Discussion . The utilities contend that the present
provisions of Section I(E) should be retained. Staff, on the
other hand, seeks to modify those provisions in a way that
confers upon Staff the “discretion” to reject or dismiss
defective utility rate applications. In my view neither1.  The proposed modifications are italicized.
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position is appropriate nor suitable for adoption. As
currently structured and in instances where a utility presents
a non-compliant filing for consideration, Section I(E)
potentially impinges upon Staff’s ability to review rate
filings within the statutory time permitted. The outcome of
such a scenario is that the Commission’s ability to establish
just and reasonable rates could be adversely affected.

36. The Staff position is inappropriate for the
fundamental reason that procedurally, Staff is akin to a party
prosecutor in all rate proceedings before the Commission. It
is Staff’s duty, after initial review, to litigate a utility rate
case and develop an evidentiary record that forms the basis
for a Commission decision on rates that are found to be just
and reasonable. Indeed, Staff often takes positions adverse to
those taken by the utility. Thus, to delegate to Staff the
discretion to dismiss a filed utility rate application offends
any reasonable perception of fairness.

37. Nonetheless, I can understand and empathize with
Staff’s discomfiture in dealing with defective rate
applications under Section I(E) as currently constituted in
the MFR. Among other things, the provisions of 26 Del. C.
§306(2)(b) dictate that a utility may place its proposed rates
into effect if the Commission has not made a decision
concerning its application within seven months after the
initial filing. This means that the seven-month regulatory
clock begins ticking on the date of the initial filing. Section
I(E) directs the Commission Staff to “review all filings for
compliance with the format and instructions furnished [in the
MFR] and notify the utility within 30 days after the date of
filing of any defects in compliance.” After such notification,
the utility has another 30 days within which to cure the
defects. Thereafter, the Commission “may reject the rate
application for non-compliance with the [MFR].” (Id.) Thus,
where a rate application is defective, Staff potentially stands
to lose two months of the seven-month period in which it
must review the application, litigate its position on the many
complex issues that typically arise in rate proceedings, and
work to bring this matter before the Commission for a final
decision. Clearly, under such circumstances, Staff’s ability to
perform its function effectively could be significantly
impaired. I am, therefore, convinced that the structure
established under the MFR needs adjustment to some
degree.

38. I believe that one reasonable solution to this
problem would be for the Commission to redefine when a
rate filing would be effected. At present, an application is
deemed “filed” when it is delivered to the Commission’s
office. At that point, the application is date-stamped as
having been received by the Commission. The presumption
at the time is that the filing complies with the Commission’s
minimum filing requirements. However, rate-setting
proceedings are a peculiar breed of dockets in that they are
very time-sensitive and must be completed within in a
statutorily mandated period. It is, therefore, of utmost

importance that a rate filing proceed in a manner that allows
the Staff sufficient time to fully review and investigate all of
the complexities that are so typical of rate cases.

39. In view of this need to keep rate proceedings on
track, it is my recommendation to the Commission that it
find that the mere delivery of rate applications and other
filings that are of a time-sensitive nature will not be deemed
filed until it has been determined that such filings have
complied with applicable filing requirements. To effectuate
this recommendation, the Commission should modify
Section I(E) to read as follows:

The Commission Staff will review all filings
for compliance with the format and instructions
furnished herein and, within 15 days after the date
of filing, specifically identify any non-compliance
of the requirements and immediately request the
Commission Secretary to promptly notify the utility
of the alleged defects in compliance.  The utility
after such notification by the Commission Secretary
will then have 15 days to correct these defects.
Upon receipt of the corrected application, the
Commission Secretary shall promptly stamp, or
cause to be stamped, such filing as having been
duly filed with the Commission. If such defects are
not corrected, the Staff may move the Commission
to reject a utility’s rate application for non-
compliance with the Minimum Filing
Requirements.

Nothing in this Section I(E) shall prevent a
utility from filing an application in draft form for
Staff's informal review and approval without
prejudice, such informal review and approval not to
be unreasonably withheld by Staff.  The
requirements of this Section shall be in addition to,
and not in place of, the requirements of Rule 6.2 of
the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the
Delaware Public Service Commission.

40. The Commission has legal authority to implement
the foregoing recommendations. Pursuant to 26 Del. C. §106
and 29 Del. C. §10111, the Commission may establish rules
of practice and procedure to govern its proceedings.
Moreover, the Commission’s approval of the proposed rule
changes would be consistent with the legislature’s grant to
the Commission of broad discretion to prescribe “duties and
powers [for persons in its employ] as it deems necessary for
the proper conduct of the work of the Commission.” 26 Del.
C. §108. Furthermore, the recommendation above is
consistent with Rule 6(b) of the Commission’s recently
adopted Rules of Practice and Procedure, which authorizes
the Commission Secretary to “reject any filing that does not

conform to these rules.”1
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41. Other Proposed Changes . In addition to the
changes discussed above, Staff has proposed other changes
to Part “A”, Schedule No. 2-B (titled “Intangible Assets
Claimed in Rate Base”), to the MFR’s explanatory
memorandum (titled “General Information”), and to Section
I (B) and (E) of Part “B” that are identical to the proposed

changes to corresponding sections in Part “A”.1  These
changes are largely ministerial updates. They are unopposed,
appear to be reasonable, and I recommend their adoption. I
have summarized the proposed below for the Commission’s
consideration.

42. Schedule No. 2-B . Part “A”, Schedule No. 2-B is
titled “Intangible Assets Claimed in Rate Base.” This
schedule includes a column heading titled “Revenue
Included Test Year.” Staff recommends that this column
heading be deleted.

43. Part “B”, Section I(B)Part ñBÑ, Section I(B) . This
section provides a definition of the “test year,” and specifies
the time period to be reflected by the test year. Staff
recommends that the language of this section be replaced in
its entirety by the language it proposes for the corresponding
section within Part “A” of the MFR (including the language
of the existing Sections I(B)(2)(a) and (b) of Part “A”, which
remain unchanged under Staff's proposals).

44. Part “B”, Section I(E)Part ñBÑ, Section I(E) . Part
“B”, Section I(E) of the Minimum Filing Requirements
addresses Staff’s review of applications for compliance
therewith and the penalties for non-compliance. Staff
recommends identical changes to those it proposes for the
corresponding section within Part “A” of the MFR.

45. General Information . The MFR include an
explanatory memorandum entitled “Minimum Filing
Requirements - General Information.” Under the heading
“Part A - Rate Increase Applications - Major Utilities,” this
document includes a brief explanation of the applicability of
Part “A” of the Minimum Filing Requirements. The first
sentence of that explanation now reads: “Part A applies to
utilities or divisions thereof with annual gross intra-State
revenues of $1 million or more.” Staff proposes to add the
following parenthetical language at the end of the sentence:
“(at the time of filing).”

46. The second paragraph of the explanation now

reads:
Based on 1978 intra-State revenue levels, the

following Delaware utilities would be subject to Part A at
the present time:

Artesian Water Company
Chesapeake Utilities Corporation
Delmarva Power & Light Company (Electric

Division)
Delmarva Power & Light Company (Gas Division)
Rollins Cablvue, Inc.
The Diamond State Telephone Company
Wilmington Suburban Water Corporation

Staff proposes to delete this paragraph.
47. Lastly, the General Information includes a

corresponding explanation of the applicability of Part “E” of
the Minimum Filing Requirements entitled “Part E -
Quarterly Reporting Requirements - Major Utilities.”  The
first sentence under this heading now reads: “All major
utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission (those
with annual gross intra-state revenues of $1 million dollars
or more shown in Part A of these instructions) are required to
file quarterly information in accordance with the instructions
contained in Part E.”  Staff proposes to revise this sentence
to read: “All major utilities, except Bell Atlantic-Delaware,
Inc., subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission (i.e., those
with annual gross intra-state revenues of $1 million dollars
or more) are required to file quarterly information in
accordance with the instructions in Part E.”

48. DPA ProposalsDPA Proposals . The Public
Advocate recommended several additional MFR
modifications to those proposed by Staff, to wit:

• That Part “A”, Section II, (A) be modified to
require a “Description of the Company” in all
cases.

• That Part “A”, Section III(B) be modified to require
utilities to file two years of Annual Reports to
Stockholders, Securities and Exchange
Commission (“SEC”) 10K Reports, and securities
prospectuses with its application, regardless of
whether such documents may also be on file with

the Commission.2

• That Part “A”, Sections IV(C)(2), (E)(2), and (I)(1)
be modified to the “thirteen-month average.”

•That Part “A”, Section V(B)(2) be modified to include

1.  The Commission should also, in the near future, 
consider updating Rule 6 of its Rules of Practice 
and Procedure to reflect the special require-
ments for rate applications as detailed in the 
MFR.

1.  Since Part “B” is identical to Part “A” (except 
that it applies to smaller utilities), the Part “B” 
changes must, for consistency, mirror the Part 
“A” changes.

2.  In this regard, the DPA also recommends that if 
the Commission does not have on file the 
remaining three years of data, then the utility 
should be required to file all five years of data 
for these items. (Ex. 16 at 3.)
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10 years of unit sales data and that such information

be provided by rate class.1

•(Ex. 16 at 3-4.)
•
49. With respect to Part “B” of the MFR, the DPA made

the following recommendations:
That Part “B”, Section II(A) be modified to require all

applicants to provide the “Description of Company,” even if
some of this information may already be on file with the
Commission.

That Part “B”, Section V(A)(6) be modified to require
small utilities to provide at least five years (and preferably
ten years) of average customer count data and unit sales, by
customer class.
 (Id. at 4.) 

50. In written comments, Chesapeake opposed the
DPA’s additional recommendations, asserting that the
purpose of this docket was to consider the Staff
recommendations. (Ex. 14 at 2.) According to Chesapeake,
the proposed changes and amendments to the MFR
advocated by the DPA were not included in the public notice
of this proceeding; therefore, in would be inappropriate to
consider them at this time.

51. Discussion . Except for the concerns expressed by
Chesapeake regarding the lack of notice of the DPA’s
additional proposals, neither Staff, nor any other participant
commented on those proposals. Arguably, the parties were,
to a limited extent aware of the DPA’s proposals, which first
appeared in initial comments filed in April 1999. (See Ex.
15.) Other than the DPA’s initial comments and Position
Statement, there is very little in this record that lends support
to a conclusion that these recommendations should be
adopted. (Ex. 15 and 16.) Indeed, at the September 22, 1999
hearing, DPA witness Crane conceded that 10K filings with
the Securities Exchange Commission (“SEC”) are available
from a publicly accessible data base and that 10-year sales
data is available through the normal discovery process. (Tr.
at 194-195.) Thus, there would appear to be no compelling
reason at this time for me to recommend that the
Commission adopt these additional modifications.
Accordingly, I decline to make such a recommendation.

IV. RECOMMENDATIONS
52. In summary, and for the reasons discussed above, I

propose and recommend the following changes to the
Minimum Filing Requirements For General Rate Increase
Applications:

A) That Part A, Section I(B)(1) be modified as set

forth and discussed in ¶¶ 13 and 14, above;
B) That the Commission adopt in their entirety the

Staff-proposed modifications to Part A, Section I(C) as set
forth in ¶¶ 16 and 17 above;

C) That the Commission modify Part A, Section
I(E) as recommended herein and set forth above at ¶ 39; and

D) That, as discussed above, the Commission
adopt all other proposed changes to Part A, Schedule No. 2-
B, the “General Information” Section, and Sections I(B) and
I(E) of Part B; and

E) That the Commission decline to adopt the
additional changes proposed by the Division of the Public
Advocate.

Respectfully submitted,
G. Arthur Padmore
Hearing Examiner

Dated: November 30, 1999

1.  In addition to providing unit sales data for this 
10-year period, the DPA recommends that the 
utility also provide 10 years of average customer 
count data, by customer class. (Id. at 4.) 
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY & BARBERING

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Section 5106(14) (24 Del.C. 5106(14))

ORDER ADOPTING RULES AND REGULATIONS

AND NOW, this 31st day of January, 2000, in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118 and for the reasons stated
hereinafter, the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology  of the
State of Delaware (hereinafter “the Board”) enters this Order
adopting Rules and Regulations.

Nature of the Proceedings

The Board proposes to add a provision to one of its
existing rules, pursuant to its authority under 24 Del.C.
§5106(1).  Notice of the public hearing on the Board’s
proposal was published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations on November 1, 1999 and in two Delaware
newspapers of general circulation, all in accordance with 29
Del.C. §10115. The public hearing was held as noticed on
November 29, 1999.  The Board continued accepting written
comments on the proposed addition until December 1, 1999.
The Board deliberated on the proposed addition at its

November 29, 1999 meeting and unanimously voted to
adopt the rule addition.  The Board’s deliberation and vote
was taken with the understanding that if any written
comment were to be timely received, the Board would fully
consider this comment and then deliberate and vote anew at
its next meeting.  No further written comments were
received during the written comment period.  This is the
Board’s Decision and Order ADOPTING the regulation as
proposed.

Evidence and Information Submitted at Public Hearing

The Board received no written comments in response to
the notice of its intention to adopt the proposed Regulation
prohibiting the use of methyl methacrylate (hereinafter
“MMA”).  No verbal comment was received at the
November 1, 1999 public hearing.  Two documents were
marked as Board exhibits at the hearing: a copy of the Joint
Sunset Committee Meeting Minutes, dated March 2, 1998,
which discuss MMA, and a copy of selected pages from the
Final Report of the Nail Technology Task Force, which also
discuss MMA.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

The Board has proposed an addition to its current Rule
16.3 to provide that “The use of methyl methacrylate (MMA)
is prohibited.  No licensee, instructo r, certified aesthetician,
school, beauty salon or shop shall use or permit the use of
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MMA.”
As outlined in the preceding section, the public was

given the required notice of the Board’s intention to adopt a
regulation and was offered an adequate opportunity to
provide the Board with comments on the proposed
regulation.  The Board concludes that its consideration of the
proposed Rule and Regulation is within the Board’s general
authority to promulgate regulations under 24 Del.C.
§5106(1).  In additional, specific statutory authority for the
Board’s prohibition of MMA by regulation is found at 24
Del. C. §5106(14).        

The Board finds that the use of methyl methacrylate
creates an unreasonable and unnecessary risk of injury to the
health of both clients and practitioners.  MMA has been
designated as a “hazardous air pollutant” under federal law.
42 U.S.C.A. §7412(b).  Nail care professionals presented
their concerns about the risks of MMA to the Sunset
Committee and the Legislature passed a statute specifically
authorizing its prohibition.  The Nail Technology Task
Force, created by Senate Concurrent Resolution 83, created a
final report, in June 1999, which stated that “MMA is a
hazardous chemical that can cause serious damage to nails of
the consumer and the health of the practitioners.”  The Board
noted that, in addition to noxious fumes during use, MMA
can cause nail breakage and bleeding.

In summary, the Board concludes that the proposed
addition to its Rules and Regulations is necessary for the
enforcement of 24 Del.C. Chapter 51, and for the full and
effective performance of the Board’s duties under that
Chapter.  The Board also finds that adopting the regulation
as proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the State
of Delaware and is necessary to protect the health of the
general public, particularly the recipients of services of
cosmetology, barbering and affiliated professions, as well as
licensed practitioners.  The Board, therefore, adopts the
proposed addition to Rule and Regulation 16.3, as set forth
in Exhibit “A” attached hereto.

ORDER

NOW, THEREFORE, by unanimous vote of a quorum
of the Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, IT IS
HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

1. The proposed addition to Rule and Regulation 16.3
is approved and adopted in the exact text attached hereto as
Exhibit “A”.

2. The effective date of this Order is ten (10) days
from the date of its publication in the Delaware Register of
Regulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(e).

3. The Board reserves the jurisdiction and authority to
issue such other and further orders in this matter as may be
necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBERING (as authenticated by a quorum of the
Board):

Miriam Harris, President, Professional Member
Orin F. Burdette, Vice-President, Professional Member
Bonnie Paynter, Secretary, Professional Member
John Bonarigo, Professional Member
Rene Brickman, Professional Member
Preston Dyer, Professional Member
Abby Lynn Betts, Public Member
Vera Murrell, Public Member
Myrtle Shockley, Public Member

Delaware  Board of Cosmetology and Barbering

1.0 Demonstrations
2.0 Temporary Work Permits
3.0 Instructor Curriculum for Barbering

and Cosmetology
4.0 Instructor Requirements
5.0 Reciprocity Requirements
6.0 Equipment for Cosmetology and Barbering Schools
7.0 Equipment for Nail Technology Schools
8.0 Equipment for Electrology Schools
9.0 Course outline for Aesthetician
10.0 Equipment for Aesthetics Schools
11.0 Registration of Salons and Schools
12.0 Apprenticeship and Supervision
13.0 Transfer of Nail Technician Hours to Cosmetology

Programs
14.0 Licensure Requirements
15.0 Foreign Diplomas
16.0 Health and Sanitation: Electric Nail Files

and Laser Technology
 
1.0 Demonstrations

1.1 Licensed professionals from other states may
consult with an individual from this state on new techniques,
new trends, new products and equipment knowledge
provided they contact the Board of Cosmetology and
Barbering and apply for a work permit.  This would also
apply to consulting in a trade show.  The work permit will be
good only for thirty (30) days within a calendar year. (24
Del.C. 5103 (1))

2.0 Temporary Work Permits
2.1 Temporary work permits will be issued to an

applicant who is eligible for admission to the cosmetology,
nail technician, barbering or electrology examination with
the appropriate fees paid. The purpose of a temporary work
permit is to allow an otherwise qualified applicant to practice
pending the applicant’s scoring of a passing grade on the
examination.
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2.2 A temporary work permit is valid for thirty (30)
days past the next available examination date.

2.3 The holder of a temporary work permit for
cosmetology shall practice under the supervision of a
licensed cosmetologist, barber, cosmetology or barber
instructor.

2.4 The holder of a temporary work permit for nail
technology shall practice under the supervision of a licensed
nail technical, cosmetologist, or cosmetology instructor.

2.5 The holder of a temporary work permit for
barbering shall practice under the supervision of a licensed
barber, cosmetologist, cosmetology or barber instructor.

2.6 The holder of a temporary work permit for
electrology shall practice under the supervision of a licensed
electrologist or electrology instructor.

2.7 A temporary work permit for reciprocity will be
issued to an applicant who meets or exceeds all the
requirements for the State of Delaware.  24 Del.C. 5106 (7)

3.0 Instructor Curriculum for Barbering and Cosmetology
3.1 Course Outline - Instructor 500 Hours

Subject Matter Minimum Clock Hours
Orientation 50
Practical Laboratory Management 200
Classroom Teaching and

Management 200
Theory and Testing 50

3.2 Course Outline - Instructor 250 Hours
Subject Matter Minimum Clock Hours
Orientation 25
Practical Laboratory Management 100
Classroom Teaching and Management   100
Theory and Testing 25

(24 Del.C. Subsection 5106(13)

4.0 Instructor Requirements
4.1 Any licensed cosmetologist or barber who has

successfully completed a course of 500 hours in teacher
training in a registered school of cosmetology or barbering
(as specified in Paragraph III); or has at least two (2) years
experience as an active licensed, practicing cosmetologist or
barber,  supplemented by at least 250 hours of teacher
training in a registered school of cosmetology or barbering
(as specified in Paragraph III).

4.2 Proof of educational documentation from registered
school of cosmetology or barbering for specified hours of
teacher training.

4.3 Experience shall be documented by a notarized
statement from the current or previous employers for at least
two (2) years experience as an active licensed practicing
cosmetologist or barber. (24 Del.C. 5106 (13).

5.0  Reciprocity Requirements
5.1 Any applicant from a state with less stringent

requirements than Delaware, would be required to provide a
notarized statement from a present or prior employer(s)
testifying to work experience in the field for which the
applicant is seeking a license in Delaware for a period of one
year before making application.

Reference Section 2 for temporary work permit. (24
Del.C. 5109(a)

6.0 Equipment for Cosmetology and Barbering Schools
6.1 A school enrolling up to 25 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
6.1.1  (4) Shampoo basins.
6.1.2  (8) Hair dryers.
6.1.3  (4) Manicure tables and chairs.
6.1.4  (4) Dry sterilizers (sanitizers).
6.1.5  (4) Wet sterilizers (sanitizers).
6.1.6  (6) Dozen permanent wave rods.
6.1.7  (2) Reclining chair with headrest.
6.1.8  (1) Mannequin per student.
6.1.9  (12) Work Stations.
6.1.10  Mirrors and chairs.
6.1.11  (1) Locker for each student.
6.1.12  (4) Closed containers for soiled linen.
6.1.13  (3) Closed waste containers.
6.1.14 (1) Container for sterile solution for each

manicure table.
6.1.15 (1) Bulletin board with dimensions of at least

2 feet by 2 feet.
6.1.16  (1) Chalkboard with dimensions of at least 4

feet by 4 feet.
6.1.17  (1) Cabinet for towels.
6.1.18  An arm chair or usable table and chair for

each student in the theory room.
6.1.19  (3) Timer clocks.
6.1.20  Attendance records.
6.1.21  (1) Soap machine.
6.1.22  (1) Textbook for each student. 

(24 Del.C. 5117 (a)

7.0 Equipment for Nail Technology Schools
7.1 A school enrolling up to 25 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
7.1.1  (4) Manicure tables and chairs.
7.1.2  (4) Manicure lights.
7.1.3  (1) First Aid Kit.
7.1.4  (1) Pedicure basin and stand.
7.1.5  (1) Covered Waste Container.
7.1.6  (1) Closed storage cabinet for soiled linen.
7.1.7  (1) Closed towel cabinet for clean linen.
7.1.8  Clean linen.
7.1.9 (1) Container for sterile solution for each

manicure table.
7.1.10 (1) Bulletin board with dimensions of at least

2 feet by 2 feet.
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7.1.11 (1) Chalkboard with dimensions of at least 4
feet by 4 feet.

7.1.12  Attendance Records.
7.1.13  Reception Desk.
7.1.14  Proper Ventilation.
7.1.15  (4) Dry Sterilizers.
7.1.16  (4) Wet Sterilizers.
7.1.17  Dispensary.

7.2 For each additional nail technician, equipment and
supplies shall be increased so that each nail technician can
render services safely and efficiently. (24 Del C. Subsection
5117 (a)

8.0 Equipment for Electrology Schools
8.1 A school enrolling up to 2 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
8.1.1  (1)  Epilator (Short Wave or Blend) Needle

type only.
8.1.2  (1)  All purpose chair or lounge.
8.1.3  (1)  Magnifying lamp (wall mounted or on a

stand). 8.1.4  (1) Tweezers for each student.
8.1.5  (1)  Movable table for the epilator.
8.1.6  (1)  Adjustable stool on wheels.
8.1.7  All needles used for treatment must be

disposable type only.
8.1.8  Sterilizing materials and rubber gloves.
8.1.9  (1) Textbook for each student.

9.0 Course Outline for Aesthetician
9.1 Subject Matter Clock Hours

Personal Development 10
Health and Science 65
Hygienic Provisions 15
Consultation and Record

Keeping 30
Machines, Apparatus, 
Including Procedures 25
Related Skin Care Procedures 15
Makeup and Color 30
Business Management and

Sales Practice 10
Clinic and Practice 100

Total Minimum Hours 300
(24 Del.C. 5132(a)

10.0  Equipment for Aesthetics Schools
10.1  A school enrolling up to 2 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
10.1.1  (1)  Complete set of skin care equipment as

follows:  Steamer - Brush Unit -Vacuum Spray - Galvanic -
High Frequency Unit.

10.1.2  (1)  All purpose chair or lounge.
10.1.3 (1)  Magnifying lamp (wall mounted or on a

stand). 10.1.4  (1)  Adjustable stool on wheels.

10.1.5  Sterilizing materials and rubber gloves.
10.1.6  (1)  Textbook for each student.

(24 Del.C. 5130(a)
Above Rules and Regulations effective on  8/29/94

11.0 Registration of Salons and Schools 
11.1 A person licensed by the Board as a

cosmetologist, barber, electrologist, nail technician or
instructor shall not work in a beauty salon, barbershop, nail
salon, electrology establishment, school of cosmetology,
barbering, nail technology, or electrology unless this
establishment has the certificate of registration.  (24 Del.C.
5117)

Section 11 effective on 12/28/94

12.0 Apprenticeship and Supervision
12.1 Any person applying for licensure as a

cosmetologist or  barber through apprenticeship must
complete the necessary apprentice hours in not less than
eighteen (18) months and not more than 48 months.

12.2 Any person applying for licensure as a nail
technician through apprenticeship must complete the
necessary apprentice hours in not less than six (6) weeks and
not more than 24 months.

12.3 Any person applying for licensure as an
electrologist through apprenticeship must complete the
necessary apprentice hours in not less than fifteen (15)
weeks and not more than 36 months.

12.4 Any person applying for certification as an
aesthetician through apprenticeship must complete the
necessary apprentice hours in not less than fifteen (15)
weeks and not more than 36 months.

12.5 On written application to the Board prior to
completion of the apprenticeship, the Board may grant
extensions to these time frames for good cause shown.

12.6 Applicants for licensure as nail technician may
apprentice under the supervision of either licensed nail
technician or a licensed cosmetologist.

(24 Del.C. 5107)

13.0 Transfer of Nail Technician Hours to Cosmetology
Programs

13.1 Apprentice nail technician hours earned
totaling 250 may be transferred and applied to an apprentice
cosmetology program totaling 3,000 hours. Public/private
student nail technician hours earned totaling 125 may be
transferred and applied to a public/private cosmetology
school curriculum totaling 1,500 hours. (24 Del.C. 5107)

Section 12 and 13 effective October 30, 1996

14.0 Licensure Requirements
14.1 Each licensee licensed by the Board and each

registered person, firm, corporation or association operating
a beauty salon, barbershop, nail salon, or electrology



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1201

establishment shall be responsible for ensuring that all of its
employee requiring a license are licensed in Delaware prior
to the commencement of employment.  The licensee and/or
registrant shall have available for inspection on premises at
all time a copy of the Delaware license of its employees.

14.2 A Licensee and /or registrant who employs
unlicensed individuals may be subject to discipline pursuant
to 24 Del. C § 5113(a)(b). (24 Del.C. 5103)

15.0 Application for Licensure
15.1 All applications for licensure or certification

must be submitted on forms approved by the Board and the
Division of Professional Regulation and be accompanied by
the appropriate fee.

15.2 Each applicant must provide proof of any
required general or professional education in the form of :
(1) a certified transcript or diploma; or (2) affidavits of the
registrar or other appropriate official; or (3) any other
document evidencing completion of the necessary education
to the Board’s satisfaction.

15.3 Any applicant submitting credentials,
transcripts or other documents from a program or
educational facility outside the United States or its territories
must provide the Board with a certificate of translation from
a person or agency acceptable to the Board, if appropriate,
and an educational credential evaluation from an agency
approved by the Board demonstrating that his or her training
and education are equivalent to domestic training and
education.

16.0 Health and Sanitation; Electric Nail Files and Laser
Technology

16.1 Each licensee, instructor, certified aesthetician,
and registered salon or school shall follow all regulations or
standards issued by the Division of Public Health or its
successor agency relating to health, safety or sanitation in
the practice of cosmetology, barbering, electrology or nail
technology.

16.2 In addition to any regulation or standard
adopted by the Division of Public Health, each licensee,
instructor, certified aesthetician, and registered salon school
shall follow the standards for infection control and blood
spill procedures promulgated by the National Interstate
Council or its successor organization.

16.3 Electric nail files and electric drills shall not be
used on natural nails.  The use of methyl methacrylate
(MMA) is prohibited.  No licensee, instructor, certified
aesthetician, school, beauty salon or shop shall use or permit
the use of MMA.

16.4 The use of laser technology for hair removal is
not work generally or usually performed by cosmetologists
and is prohibited.

16.5 Violation of any of the regulations, standards
or prohibitions established under this Rule shall constitute a

grounds for discipline under section 5113 of Title 24 Del. C.
(24Del C. 5100, 5101(4), 5112 and 5113)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 
Section 122 (16 Del.C. 122)

In the Matter Of: |
Adoption of State of Delaware |
Rules and Regulations Governing |
The Control of Communicable |
And Other Disease Conditions |

Nature of the Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”)
initiated proceedings to adopt Rules and Regulations
Governing the Control of Communicable and Other Disease
Conditions.  The DHSS’s proceedings to adopt regulations
were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Chapter 101
and authority as prescribed by 16 Delaware Code Chapter 1,
Section 122.

On June 1, 1999 (Volume 2, Issue 12) and on July 1,
1999 (Volume 3 Issue 1), DHSS published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations its notice of proposed regulations,
pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10115.  It requested
that written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations be delivered to DHSS
by August 2, 1999, or be presented at a public hearing on
July 29, 1999, after which time DHSS would review
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed regulations.

A summary of the comments is part of the
accompanying “Summary of Evidence.”

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to
Section 7.3 of the regulations, pertaining to Sexually
Transmitted Diseases, shall not be adopted at this time.

Exclusive of the proposed amendments to Section 7.3 as
described above, the Department finds that the proposed
amendments as set forth in the attached copy should be made
in the best interest of the general public of the State of
Delaware.  The proposed amendments include modifications
from those published in the June 1, 1999 Register of
Regulations, based on comments received during the public
notice period.  These modifications are deemed not to be
substantive in nature.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
amendments to the Rules And Regulations Governing
Control of Communicable and Other Disease Conditions are
adopted as modified except the proposed amendments to
Section 7.3.  DHSS takes no action on the proposed
amendments to Section 7.3. The remaining proposed
amendments shall become effective March 15, 2000 after
publication of the final regulation in the Delaware Register
of Regulations. 

Gregg C. Sylvester, MD, Secretary
February 14, 2000

Summary of Evidence 
State of Delaware Proposed Revisions to the 

Communicable Disease Regulations

Background

A public hearing was held on July 29, 1999, in the
auditorium of the Richardson Robbins Building (Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control) in Dover,
Delaware, before Paul R. Silverman, Hearing Officer, to
discuss the proposed Department of Health and Social
Services Rules and Regulations Governing the Control of
Communicable and Other Disease Conditions.  The
announcements regarding the hearing were advertised in the
Delaware State News, the News Journal, and the Delaware
Register of Regulations in accordance with Delaware Law.
In addition to public notice required by the Administrative
Procedures Act, the public notice included personally
addressed letters to those persons and organizations that
Division of Public Health (DPH) staff believed would be
impacted by the proposal.  The proposed revisions were
reviewed and approved for public comment by the Deputy
Attorney General.  In addition to oral presentations given at
the time of the hearing, a significant number of written
comments were received by mail, fax, and e-mail, and were
considered in detail.  

This document describes the proposed regulatory
revisions, notes those of which comments were made, and
provides a summary explanation for recommended actions
based on the comments.  This discussion omits those
suggestions that were of a purely typographical,
organizational, or grammatical nature and which otherwise
did not affect the content or intent of the proposed regulatory
revisions. Because most of the comments on the proposal
pertained to sexually transmitted disease (STD), this
document is in two parts.  Part A includes the proposed
regulatory revisions other than STD.  Part B addresses STD,
where the comments are discussed and analyzed in depth.

Part A
Proposed Regulatory Revisions Other than STD

General Revisions

DPH proposed changes in the Regulations that would
update organizational nomenclature and strike language that
exclusively addresses internal procedures.  Changes would
also include corrected grammar, clarified meaning, or added
consistency to existing language.  These changes would be
located throughout the document.

Public testimony: no opposing comments received

Patient Contact

A proposed change to Section 3.4.2 would allow
Division investigators to consult directly with patients when
the practitioner who had reported the case was unavailable or
when such consultation was necessary in order to avoid
delaying timely investigation or control of a communicable
disease.

Public testimony: no opposing comments received

Date of Birth

Various sections contain a proposed change of reporting
requirement from age to date of birth when it is available.
This is of value in investigations for identifying patients, due
to its greater precision.

Public testimony: no opposing comments received

Antibiotic Resistance

Section 3.4.4 was a proposed new requirement for the
reporting of certain antibiotic resistant organisms.  These
organisms would be designated as the need for surveillance
on new antibiotic resistant pathogens arises, and published in
a new Appendix II of the regulations. The proposal also
included the naming of several antibiotic resistant pathogens
in Appendix II of the regulations.

Public testimony: A hospital commented that the
logistical impact of reporting some antibiotic resistant
organisms would be a hardship, and questioned the public
health benefit.

Recommendation: Modify the proposal to require only
the reporting of vanacomycin resistant Staphylococcus
aureus. The proposal to report three other resistant organisms
should be eliminated.  This recommendation is acceptable to
the institution that commented. We do not consider this to be
a substantive change to the original proposal.  Drug resistant
Streptococus pneumoniae was already a notifiable disease
and will be moved from Appendix I to Appendix II

Notifiable Disease List
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The proposal included several changes to the notifiable
disease list such as the addition of emerging pathogens.  In
addition, several diseases, already on the notifiable disease
list, are proposed to be reported by rapid means instead of
mail.

Public testimony: no opposing comments received

Recommendation:  Although no comments were
received on this proposal, a recent event in Kent County
suggests that it is important that non-meningitis
meningococal infections be reported by rapid means.
Therefore we recommend the proposed regulatory revision
be amended to include this requirement. We do not consider
this to be a substantive change to the original proposal.

Immunizations

Prior versions of the regulations required specified
childhood vaccinations at specified ages and intervals for
day care enrollees and children attending private school.
The proposed revision in Section 7.1 (now renumbered to
Section 6.1) would allow the DPH Director to name diseases
for which vaccination is required, and defer to the
recommendation by the American Advisory Committee on
Immunization Practices, for the specific vaccine and
schedule.  The proposed revisions would also mandate
reporting by health care providers to the Immunization
Registry and specify with whom DPH is authorized to share
immunization information from the Registry.  These latter
requirements will enormously improve the usefulness and
future value of the Registry and will allow its future
improvement through electronic access (Intranet, Internet,
etc.).  

Public testimony: While no comment was received on
the proposed changes described above, it was suggested that
the minimum number of days between measles vaccine
doses in Section 7.1.13  (now 6.1.13) be changed from 30 to
28 for consistency with DPH Standing Orders.

Recommendation:  The proposed regulatory revision be
modified to include a change in the number of days between
measles vaccine doses in Section 7.1.13 from 30 to 28 days.
We do not consider this to be a substantive change to the
original proposal.

Tuberculosis

Proposed revisions to Section 7.4 (now renumbered to
Section 6.4) would add specific reporting requirements for
suspect and diagnosed cases of tuberculosis, for multiple
drug resistant strains; and for non-compliance with
medications.  A proposed change to an archaic statement
regarding public payment for hospitalization would require
such payment only when third party funds are not available.

Clear authority would be given to DPH to identify and test
household contacts of new tuberculosis cases.  A new
Section would be added to (1) require that health care
practitioners meet current American Thoracic Society
Tuberculosis treatment guidelines or refer patients to DPH
for care; (2) make directly observed therapy the standard of
care; and (3) require that the practitioner provide related
treatment information to DPH upon request.

Public testimony: no opposing comments received

Part B
Proposed Regulatory Revisions on Sexually Transmitted 

Diseases

Introduction

Virtually all comments at the public hearing, and in the
correspondence associated therewith, related to three issues:

• Issue 1: Named reporting verses a unique identifier
system.  

• Issue 2: Concern that anonymous testing would no
longer be available

• Issue 3: Reporting by providers of partners to newly
infected cases.

Issue 1: Named reporting verses a unique identifier
system (UIS)

Public comment identified the following issues with
respect to named reporting verses UIS:

• The relative ability of both surveillance system to
be complete and accurate;

• Confidentiality and security of the reported infor-
mation;

• Designation of HIV as a regulatory defined STD;
• The potential of named reporting to discourage HIV

testing and counseling.

Issue 2: Concern that anonymous testing would no longer
be available

The primary objection and concern raised in the public
comment period among those who object to named reporting
is the fear that individuals who should be tested will fail to
do so because of their concerns about loss of confidentiality.
It should be noted that DPH never intended to discourage
anonymous testing by proposing named-based reporting. 

Issue 3: Reporting by providers of partners to newly
infected cases.

Concerns were expressed regarding the proposed
requirement for providers to report exposed partners who
may not be aware of their risk. Such concerns were related to
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the confidentiality of information and the burden of
reporting.  It should be noted that DPH’s intent was that
when the provider knows that the newly diagnosed patient’s
partner has been made aware of their potential exposure and
has been counseled on how to protect his or herself, NO such
reporting by the provider to DPH will be required.

Part B Recommendations

Reviews of the available information regarding HIV
surveillance has revealed that there are compelling reasons
to implement HIV surveillance in Delaware. No public
comments were received to the contrary.  

However, given public comment concerning the manner
in which HIV reporting will be carried out (name verses
unique identifier), the Department chooses not to adopt the
proposed regulatory amendments pertaining to STD at this
time.

PART I

Applicable Codes
These regulations are adopted by the Delaware State

Board of Health Department of Health & Social Services
pursuant to 16 Del. C. §122(1), (2), (3) (a and j), (4), (5);
§128; §129; §151; §503; §504; §505; §507; §508; §702;
§706 and 707.  These regulations are were originally adopted
on August 2, 1984 and are effective September 1, 1984, and
subsequently amended.

PART II

Definitions
When used in Parts II and III, the following terms shall

mean:
1. "Carrier" - A person who harbors pathogenic

organisms of communicable disease but who does not show
clinical evidence of the disease and serves as a potential
source of infection.

2. “Case" - A person whose body has been invaded by
an infectious agent with the result that clinical symptoms
have occurred. 

3. "Child Care Facility" - Any organization or
business created for, and having as its major purpose, the
daily care and/or education of children under the age of 7
years.

4. "Communicable Disease" - An illness due to a
specific infectious agent or its toxic products which arises
through transmission of that agent or its products from a
reservoir to a susceptible host either directly as from an
infected person or animal or indirectly, through an
intermediate plant or animal host, vector, or the inanimate
environment.

5. "Contact" - A person or animal that has been in
such association with an infected person or animal or a
contaminated environment as to have had opportunity to
acquire the infection.

"Designated Representative" - The person officially
named by the Local Health Unit Administrator or the Section
Chief to represent and to carry out the functions of the
Division Director or designee Unit or the Section,
respectively, in the absence of the Division Director or
designee Unit Administrator or the Section Chief.

6. “Designee” - The person named by the Director of
the Division of Public Health to assume a specific
responsibility.

7. “Division Director” - The Director of the Division
of Public Health.

8. “Directly Observed Therapy (DOT)” - an
adherence-enhancing strategy in which a health care worker
or other designated person watches the patient swallow each
dose of medication.

9. "Epidemic" or "Outbreak" - The occurrence in
persons in a community, institution, region, or other defined
area of cases of an illness of similar nature clearly in excess
of normal expectancy.

"Immunizations" -– DPT is diphtheria, tetanus, and
pertussis, DT is diphtheria and tetanus, Td is tetanus,
diphtheria toxoids, OPV is oral Polio vaccine, IPV is
injectable polio vaccine

"Local Health Unit" - The main offices of the Division
of Public Health which are located in Kent, Sussex and New
Castle Counties.

New Castle Local Health Unit
2055 Limestone Road
Wilmington, DE   19804
995-8650

Kent Local Health Unit
805 River Road
Dover, DE   19901
736-5305

Sussex Local Health Unit
544 South Bedford Street
Georgetown, DE  19947
856-5355

"Local Health Unit Administrator" - The person
officially named by the Division of Public Health Director
responsible for the operations within a local health unit.

10. HIV Infection – repeatedly reactive screening tests
for HIV antibody (for example, enzyme immunoassay) with
specific antibody identified by the use of supplemental tests
such as Western Blot or immunofluorescence assay; or direct
identification of virus in host tissues by virus isolation (for
example, culture); or HIV antigen detection (for example



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1205

p24 antigen); or a positive result on any other highly specific
licensed test for HIV.

11. "Medical Examiner" - A physician appointed
pursuant to 29 Del. C. §4703 or 7903(a)(3) who is authorized
to investigate the causes and circumstances of death.

12. "Nosocomial Disease" - A disease occurring in a
patient in a health-care facility and in whom it was not
present or incubating at the time of admission.

13. "Notifiable Disease" - A communicable disease or
condition of public health significance required to be
reported to the Division of Public Health in accordance with
these Rules.

14. "Notification" - A written or verbal report as
required by any section of these Rules.

15. "Outbreak" - Refer to definition of "Epidemic".
16. “Post-Secondary Institution” - Means and includes

state universities, private colleges, technical and community
colleges, vocational technical schools and hospital nursing
schools.

17. "Quarantine" - An official order that limits the
freedom of movement and actions of persons or animals in
order to prevent the spread of notifiable disease or other
disease condition.  The Division Director or designee The
Local Health Unit Administrator or the Section Chief shall
determine which persons or animals are subject to quarantine
and shall issue appropriate instructions.

18. “Resistant Organism” - Any organism which
traditionally was inactivated or killed by a drug but has, over
time, developed mechanisms to render that drug ineffective.

[“Section” – The Health Monitoring and Program
Consultation Section of the Division of Public Health]

“Section Chief” – The Chief of the Health Monitoring
and Program Consultation Section, Division of Public
Health.

19. "Sensitive Situation" - A setting, as judged by the
Director of the Division of Public Health or his designate
designee in which the presence of a person or animal
infected with or suspected of being infected with a notifiable
or other communicable disease or condition which may
affect the public health would increase significantly the
probability of spread of such disease and would, therefore,
constitute a public health hazard.  Sensitive situations may
include, but are not limited to, schools, child-care facilities,
hospitals, and other patient-care facilities, food storage, food
processing establishments or food outlets.

20. "Source of Infection" - The person, animal, object
or substance from which an infectious agent passes directly
to the host.

21. "Suspect" - A person or animal whose medical
history and symptoms suggest that he or it may have or may
be developing a communicable disease condition.

PART III

Regulations

Section 1. Notifiable Diseases or Conditions to be
Reported

The list of notifiable diseases or conditions (notifiable
diseases)-specified in the Appendix Appendices to these
regulations are declared as dangerous to the public health.
The occurrence or suspected occurrence of these diseases,
including those who at the time of death were so affected
identified after death, shall be reported as defined in Section
3 to the Local Health Unit Administrator Division of Public
Health.  Such reports shall be made within 48 hours of
recognition except as otherwise provided in these
regulations. Reports shall be made by telephone or in writing
except for certain specified diseases as indicated by a (T)
which shall be reported immediately by telephone.  Certain
diseases are reportable in number only and are indicated by
an (N).  The Section Division of Public Health may list
additional diseases and conditions on its reporting forms for
which reporting is encouraged but not required.

Section 2. Report of Outbreaks
Any person having knowledge of any outbreak of any

notifiable disease or clusters of any illness which may be of
public concern, shall report such outbreaks within 24 hours
to the Local Health Unit Administrator Division Director or
designee.

Section 3. Reporting of Notifiable Diseases
3.1 Attending Practitioners

Reports required by Sections 1 and 2 shall be made to the
Division Director or designee Local Health Unit
Administrator by any attending practitioner, licensed or
otherwise permitted in Delaware to practice medicine,
osteopathic medicine, chiropractic, naturopathy, or
veterinary medicine, who diagnoses or suspects the
existence of any disease on the notifiable disease list or by
the medical examiner in cases of unattended deaths.

3.2 Others
In addition to those who are required to report notifiable
diseases, the following are requested to notify the Division
Director or designee Local Health Unit Administrator of the
name and address of any person in his or her family, care,
employ, class, jurisdiction, custody of control, who is
suspected of being afflicted with a notifiable disease
although no practitioner, as in Section 3.1 above, has been
consulted:  every parent, guardian, householder; every nurse,
every dentist, every midwife, every superintendent,
principal, teacher or counselor of a public or private school;
every administrator of a public or private institution of
higher learning; owner, operator, or teacher of a child-care
facility; owner or manager of a dairy, restaurant, or food
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storage, food-processing establishment or food outlet;
superintendent or manager of a public or private camp, home
or institution; director or supervisor of a military installation;
military or Veterans Administration Hospital, jail, or juvenile
detention center.

3.3 Hospitals
3.3.1 The chief administrative officer of each

civilian hospital, long-term care facility, or other patient-care
facility shall (and the United States military and Veterans
Administration Hospitals are requested to) appoint an
individual from the staff, hereinafter referred to as "reporting
officer," who shall be responsible for reporting cases or
suspect cases of diseases on the notifiable disease list in
persons admitted to, attended to, or residing in the facility.

3.3.2 Such case reports shall be made to the
Division Director or designee Local Health Unit
Administrator within 48 hours of recognition or suspicion,
except as otherwise provided in these regulations.

3.3.3 Reporting of a case or suspect case of
notifiable disease by a hospital fulfills the requirements of
the attending practitioner to report; however, it is the
responsibility of the attending practitioner to ensure that the
report is made pursuant to Section 3.1.

3.3.4 The hospital reporting officer shall also
report to the Division Director or designee Local Health Unit
Administrator communicable diseases not specified in
Section 1, should the disease occur in a nosocomial disease
outbreak situation which may significantly impact the public
health.

3.4 Laboratories
3.4.1 All laboratories Any person in charge of a

clinical or hospital laboratory, or other facility in which a
laboratory examination of any specimen derived from a
human body and submitted for microbiological examination
shall report results of laboratory examinations of specimens
indicating or suggesting the existence of a notifiable disease
to the Division of Public Health Local Health Unit
Administrator within 48 hours of when the results were
obtained or as soon as possible, except as otherwise provided
in these regulations.

3.4.2 The Director or designee Local Health
Unit or Section personnel may contact the patient or the
potential contacts so identified from laboratory reports only
after consulting with the attending practitioner, when the
practitioner is known and when said consultation will not
delay the timely control of the a communicable disease. [See
Section 7.42 regarding similar requirements for sexually
transmitted diseases.]

3.4.3 Laboratories identifying salmonella or
shigella organisms in the stool specimens shall forward
cultures of these organisms or the stool specimens
themselves to the Public Health Laboratory for confirmation
and serotyping.

3.4.4 Reporting of antibiotic resistant organisms

Any person in charge of a clinical or hospital
laboratory, or other facility in which a laboratory
examination of any specimen derived from a human body
and submitted for microbiologic examination yields a non-
susceptible species of microorganism as listed in Appendix
II, will report the infected person’s name, address, date of
birth, race, sex, site of isolation, date of isolation and MIC/
Zone diameter to the Division of Public Health.  In addition,
the number of susceptible and non-susceptible isolates of
any of these organisms shall be reported monthly to the
Division of Public Health.

3.5 Confidentiality
Information identifying persons or institutions

submitted in reports required in Sections 3.1 - 3.4 shall be
held confidential to the extent permitted by law.

3.6 Information in Reports
Information included in reports required in Sections

3.1-3.4 shall contain sufficient information to contact the
patient and/or the patient's attending physician.  When
available, the name, address, telephone number, age date of
birth, race, gender, and disease of the person ill or infected;
the date of onset of illness; the name, address, and telephone
number of the attending physician; and any pertinent
laboratory information, shall be 
provided.

Section 4.Reports by Division Director or designee Unit
Administrator to the Section Chief

4.1 Surveillance/Investigation Case Reports for
Individual Cases

Each Division Director or designee Unit Administrator
shall submit a surveillance/investigation case report to the
Section Chief for each individual case of those diseases on
the notifiable disease list when requested by the Section.
Surveillance/Investigation case reports shall be submitted
promptly as soon as the case investigation is complete.  Such
reports shall be made on the required forms provided
through the Section.

4.2 Outbreak Reports and Special Reports
If investigation or reports by the Division Director or

designee Unit Administrator confirms an outbreak or an
epidemic of a notifiable disease or other disease condition or
if the Division Director or designee Unit Administrator is
informed of the occurrence or suspicion of the occurrence of
any single case of a notifiable disease which has significant
epidemic potential, the Local Health Unit Administrator
shall report such occurrence or suspicion immediately by
telephone to the Section Chief.  The Local Health Unit
Administrator, Section Chief, or either of their designated
representatives may ask for an investigation involving
several disciplines within the Division of Public Health.

4.3 Reports of Morbidity
The Local Health Unit Administrator shall forward all

individual reports of disease containing the information
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specified in Section 3.6 to the Section.  Such reports shall be
made in a manner and on forms specified by the Section.

Section [5] [4].Investigation of Case
[5.1][4.1]Action to Be Taken

Upon being notified of a case or suspected case of a
notifiable disease or an outbreak of a notifiable disease or
other disease condition in persons or animals, the Local
Health Unit Administrator Director of the Division or
designee shall may take action as required permitted in these
Rules, and additionally as he deems deemed necessary to
protect the public health.  If the nature of the disease and the
circumstances warrant, he the Director of the Division or
designee shall may make or cause to be made an
examination of the patient to verify the diagnosis, make an
investigation to determine the source of infection, and take
other appropriate action to prevent or control the spread of
the disease. These actions may include, but shall not be
limited to, confinement on a temporary basis until the patient
is no longer infectious, and obligatory medical treatment in
order to prevent the spread of disease in the community.

5.2 Suspected Source Outside County but Within
Delaware

If the disease is one in which identification of the
source of infection is important, and if the source of the
infection is thought to be outside the county in which the
case is reported but within Delaware, the Local Health Unit
Administrator shall notify within 24 hours by telephone or in
writing the Local Health Unit Administrator in whose county
it is thought the source of infection is located.

5.3 Suspected Source in Another State or Country
5.3.1 If the source of infection is thought to

be outside Delaware, the Local Health Unit Administrator
shall notify the Section Chief.  The Section Chief shall notify
within 24 hours by telephone or in writing the Director of the
State Health Agency in whose jurisdiction it is thought the
source of the infection is located.

5.3.2 If the source of infection is thought to
be in another country, the report shall be made to the Section
Chief for transmittal to the Centers for Disease Control
(CDC).

5.4 Exposed Persons Outside Jurisdiction
Notification as described in Sections 5.2 and

5.3 shall be given if there are believed to be exposed persons
requiring identification and follow-up outside the
jurisdiction of the Local Health Unit Administrator in which
the case was reported.

[5.2][4.2]Examination of Patient
Any person suspected of being afflicted with

any notifiable disease shall be subject to physical
examination and inspection by any designated representative
of the Division of Public Health, except that a duly
authorized warrant or court order shall be presented to show
just cause in instances where the suspect refuses such

examination and inspection. Such examination shall include
the submission of bodily specimens when deemed necessary
by the Local Health Unit Administrator, the Section Chief,
or their designated representatives Division Director or
designee.

[5.3][4.3]Sensitive Situations
[5.3.1][4.3.1]No person known to be infected with a

communicable disease or suspected of being infected with a
communicable disease shall engage in sensitive situations as
defined in Part II of these regulations until determined
judged by the Local Health Unit Administrator, the Section
Chief, or either of their designated representatives Division
Director or designee to be either free of such disease or [that
the public health is] no longer a threat to public health.
incapable of transmitting the infection.  Such action shall be
in accord with accepted public health practice and
reasonably calculated to abate the potential public health
risk.

[5.3.2][4.3.2]When, pursuant to Section
[5.6.1][4.3.1], it is necessary to require that a person not
engage in a sensitive situation because that person is infected
or suspected of being infected with a communicable disease,
the Local Health Unit Administrator or his designated
representative Division Director or designee shall provide, in
writing, instructions specifying the nature of the restrictions
and conditions necessary to terminate the restrictions.  These
written instructions shall be provided to the person infected
or suspected of being infected with a communicable disease
and to that person's employer or other such individual
responsible for the sensitive situation.

[5.3.3][4.3.3]The Local Health Unit Administrator
Division Director or designee shall have the authority to
exclude from attendance in a child care facility any child or
employee suspected of being infected with a communicable
disease that, in the opinion of the Local Health Unit
Administrator, Division Director or designee significantly
threatens the public health. In addition, no person shall
attend or be employed in a child care facility who has the
following symptoms:

(a) unusual diarrhea, severe coughing,
difficult or rapid breathing, yellowish skin or eyes, pinkeye,
or an untreated louse or scabies infestation;

(b) fever (100°F by oral thermometer or
101°F by rectal thermometer or higher) accompanied by one
of the following:  unusual spots or rashes, sore throat or
trouble swallowing, infected skin patches, unusually dark
tea-colored urine, gray or white stool, headache and stiff
neck, vomiting, unusually cranky behavior, or loss of
appetite.

(c) any other symptoms which, in the opinion
of the Local Health Unit Administrator or his designated
representative, Division Director or designee suggest the
presence of a communicable disease that significantly
threatens the public health.  Exclusion from a childcare
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facility in this case shall be effective upon written
notification pursuant to Section [5.6.2][4.3.2].

Section [6] [5].Quarantine
[6.1][5.1]Establishment

When quarantine of humans is required for the
control of any notifiable disease or other disease or
condition, the Division Director or designee or the Director
of Public Health or their designated representatives shall
have the authority to initiate procedures to establish a
quarantine.

[6.2][5.2]Requirements
[6.2.1][5.2.1]The Local Health Unit Administrator

Division Director or designee shall ensure that provisions are
made for proper observations of such quarantined persons as
frequently as necessary during the quarantine period.

[6.2.2][5.2.2]Quarantine orders shall be in effect for
a time period in accord with accepted public health practice.

[6.3][5.3]Transportation
[6.3.1][5.3.1]Transportation or removal of

quarantined persons may be made only with prior approval
of the appropriate Division Director or designee Local
Health Unit Administrator, the Section Chief, or either of
their designated representatives.

[6.3.2][5.3.2]Transportation or removal of
quarantined persons shall be made in accordance with orders
issued by the Division Director or designee Local Health
Unit Administrator, the Section Chief, or either of their
designated representatives.

[6.3.3][5.3.3]Quarantine shall be resumed
immediately upon arrival of quarantined person at point of
destination for the period of time in accord with accepted
public health practices.

[6.4][5.4]Disinfection
[6.4.1][5.4.1]Concurrent disinfection is required of

infectious or potentially infectious secretions or excretions
of any quarantined person or animal or of objects
contaminated by such secretions or excretions.  The
collection, storage and disposal, of such contaminated matter
and disinfection procedures shall be approved by the
Division Director or designee Local Health Unit
Administrator, the Section Chief or either of their designated
representatives.

[6.4.2][5.4.2]Disinfection shall also be carried out
at the termination of the period of quarantine and shall be
applied to the quarter vacated.  The disinfection procedures
shall be as approved by the Division Director or designee
Local Health Unit Administrator, the Section Chief, or either
of their designated representatives.

Section [7][6].Control of Specific Communicable Diseases
[7.1][6.1]Vaccine Preventable Diseases

[7.l.1][6.1.1] All preschool children who are
enrolled in a child care facility must be age-appropriately

vaccinated against diseases prescribed by the Division
Director. For those diseases so prescribed, the most current
recommendations of the federal Center’s for Disease Control
and Prevention’s Advisory Committee on Immunization
Practices’ (ACIP) shall determine the vaccines and
vaccination schedules acceptable for compliance with this
regulation. have attained 18 months of age who are enrolled
in a child care facility must have documented proof of
receiving a minimum of:4 doses of Diphtheria, Tetanus,
Pertussis (DTP) or Diphtheria, Tetanus (DT) Vaccine; and 3
doses of Oral Polio Vaccine (TOPV) or 3 doses of
Inactivated Polio Vaccine (IPV); and, 1 dose each of
Measles, Mumps and Rubella Vaccines given after the age of
15months (Measles, Mumps & Rubella (MMR) is the
preferred vaccine to meet this requirement); and Hib
Conjugate Vaccine (HbCV) in a schedule determined by the
American Immunization Practices Advisory Committee.

7.1.2All preschool children less than 18 months of
age who are enrolled in child care facilities must have
documented proof of being immunized according to the
following schedule.
Age Immunizations Received
2 months1 dose each of DTP, (or DT), and TOPV (or IPV)
4 months 2nd dose of DTP, (or DT), and TOPV (or IPV)
6 months3rd dose of DTP (or DT), TOPV not required-
15 months 4th dose of DTP, (or DT), 3rd dose of TOPV (or
3rd dose of IPV), 1 dose each of Measles, Mumps and
Rubella Vaccine (MMR is the preferred vaccine to meet this
requirement), 

Hib Conjugate Vaccine (HbCV) in a schedule
determined by the American Immunization Practices
Advisory Committee.

[7.1.2][6.1.2]Any child entering private school
must have documented proof of receiving be age-
appropriately vaccinated against diseases prescribed by the
Division Director.a minimum of the following vaccines,
appropriate for their age, prior to enrolling in school. For
those diseases so prescribed, the most current
recommendations of the federal Center’s for Disease Control
and Prevention’s Advisory Committee on Immunization
Practices’ (ACIP) shall determine the vaccines and
vaccination schedules acceptable for compliance with this
regulation. This provision pertains to all children between
the ages of 2 months and 21 18 years entering or being
admitted to a Delaware private school for the first time
including, but not limited to, foreign exchange students,
immigrants, students from other states and territories and
children entering from public schools. 
4 doses of DTP, DT (or Td vaccine), of which the first dose
should be given at 6 weeks of age and the second and third
dose given 4-8 weeks after the preceding dose. A fourth dose
is given at 15 months along with MMR and TOPV. Although
the regulations require four doses of DTP, the following
exceptions apply:  (1) a child who received a fourth dose
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prior to the fourth birthday must have a fifth dose; (2) a child
who received the first dose of Td(Adult) at or after age seven
may meet this regulation with only three doses of Td(Adult). 

4 doses of TOPV (or 4 doses of IPV); of which the first
dose should be given at 6 weeks of age and the second dose
given 4-8 weeks after the preceding dose.  A third dose is
given at 15 months along with MMR and DTP. Although the
regulation requires four doses of TOPV (or 4 doses of IPV),
if the third primary dose of TOPV or IPV is administered on
or after the fourth birthday, a fourth dose is not required.
2 doses of Measles vaccine.  The first dose should be given
at 15 months of age or older.  The second dose should be
administered between four and six years of age. MMR can
be provided to meet this requirement.
1 dose of Mumps and Rubella Vaccine given after the age of
15 months.  MMR can be provided to meet this requirement.

Until September 1, 1991, the above requirements shall
apply except that only 1 dose of measles vaccine given after
the age of 15 months shall be required.

[7.1.3][6.1.3]Acceptable documentation of the
receipt of immunization vaccination as required by Sections
[7.1.1-7.1.2][6.1.1-6.1.2] shall include either only a medical
record signed by a physician, or a valid immunization record
issued by the State of Delaware or another State, which
specifies the vaccine given and the date of administration.

Immunization requirements for children attending
public school can be found in Title 14, Section 131 of the
Delaware code.

[7.1.4][6.1.4]Immunization requirements pursuant
to sections [7.1.1-7.1.2][6.1.1-6.1.2] shall be waived for:

(a) children whose physicians have submitted,
in writing, that a specific immunizing agent would be
detrimental harmful to that child; and,

(b) children whose parents or guardians
present a notarized document that immunization is against
their religious beliefs.

[7.1.5][6.1.5]Child care facilities and private
schools (grades K-12) shall maintain on file an
immunization record for each child.  The facility will also be
responsible to report to the Division Director or designee on
an annual basis the immunization status of its enrollees.

[7.1.6][6.1.6]Parents whose children present
immunization records which show that immunizations are
lacking will be allowed l4 days (or such time as may be
appropriate for a particular vaccination) to complete the
required age-appropriate doses of vaccine for their children.
In which to obtain the required doses of vaccine for their
children.  In instances where more than l4 days will be
necessary to complete the age-appropriate immunization
schedule, an extension those days, upon certification by a
physician, may be allowed in order to obtain the required
immunizations. Extension of the 14-day allowance because
of missed appointments to receive needed immunizations
shall not be permitted.

[7.1.7][6.1.7]When a child's records are lost and the
parent states that the child has completed his/her series of
immunizations, or a child has been refused admission or
continued attendance at a child care facility or private school
for lack of acceptable evidence of immunization as specified
in this regulation, a written certification must be provided by
a health care provider who has administered the necessary
age-appropriate immunizations to the child according to the
current ACIP immunization schedule.  licensed physician,
nurse practitioner or public health official that the child has
received at least one (1) dose of DTP  DT (or Td vaccine),
one dose of TOPV (or IPV), one dose of Measles, Mumps,
and Rubella vaccines, along with Hib Conjugate vaccine, if
required by the child's age.

[7.1.8][6.1.8] It is the responsibility of the child
care facility or private school to exclude a child prior to
admission or from continued attendance who has failed to
document required immunizations pursuant to this section
7.1.1 - 7.1.3 and 7.1.8 - 7.1.9.

[7.1.9][6.1.9]Upon the occurrence of a case or
suspect case of one of the vaccine preventable diseases
specified in [section 7.1.10] [sections 6.1.1. and 6.1.2], any
child not immunized against that disease shall be excluded
from the premises, until the Local Health Unit Administrator
or his designated representative Division Director or
designee has determined that the disease risk to the
unimmunized child has passed.  Such exclusion shall apply
to all those in the facility who are admitted under either
medical or religious exemption as well as to those previously
admitted who have not yet received vaccine against the
disease which has occurred. If, in the judgment of the Local
Health Unit Administrator Division Director or designee, the
continued operation of the facility presents a risk of the
spread of disease to the public at large, he/she shall have the
authority to close the facility until the risk of disease
occurrence has passed.

[7.1.10][6.1.10]All full-time students of post-
secondary educational institutions and all full and part-time
students in such educational institutions if engaged in
patient-care related curriculums (included but not limited to
nursing, dentistry and medical laboratory technician
technology), shall be required to show evidence of immunity
to measles, rubella and mumps prior to enrollment starting
September 1, 1991 by the following criteria:

1. Measles immunity:
(a) persons born prior to before January 1, 1957;

or
(b) physician documented history of measles

disease; or
(c) serological confirmation of measles immunity;

or
(d) a documented receipt from a physician or

health facility that two doses of measles vaccine were
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administered after 12 months of age. with at least one
immunization after 15 months of age.

2.  Rubella immunity:
(a) persons born prior to before January 1, 1957;

except women who could become pregnant; or
(b) laboratory evidence of antibodies to rubella

virus; or
(c) a documented receipt from a physician or

health facility that rubella vaccine was administered on or
after 12 months of age.

3.  Mumps immunity:
(a) persons born prior to before January 1, 1957;

or
(b) physician diagnosed history of mumps disease;

or
(c) laboratory evidence of immunity; or
(d) a documented receipt from a physician or

health facility that mumps vaccine was administered on or
after 12 months of age.

[7.1.11][6.1.11]Immunization requirements
pursuant to section [7.1.10][6.1.10]  shall be waived for:

(a) A student whose licensed physician
certifies that such immunization may be detrimental to the
student’s health;

(b) A student who presents a notarized
document that immunization is against their religious
beliefs.

A student who presents a notarized document that
immunization is against their religious beliefs;
 (b) A licensed physician who certifies that
such immunization may be detrimental to the student's
health.

[7.1.12][6.1.12]The student health service, the
admissions office and the office of the university or college
registrar are jointly responsible for implementing Section
[7.1.10][6.1.10] through [student] notification of
immunization requirements, the collection and verification
of documented vaccine histories, identification and
notification of students not in compliance and imposition of
sanctions for non-compliance.

[7.1.13][6.1.13]Students who cannot show
evidence of immunity to measles pursuant to 7.1.10 and who
cannot show documented receipt of ever having received
measles vaccine shall be permitted to enroll on the condition
that 2 doses be administered within 45 days or at the
resolution of an existing medical contraindication. However,
measles vaccine shall not be given closer than [30][28] days
apart.  Students who cannot show evidence of immunity to
rubella and/or mumps or who have had only 1 dose of
measles vaccine shall be permitted to enroll on the condition
that required  measles, mumps and rubella immunizations be
obtained within 14 days or at the resolution of an existing
medical contraindication.

7.1.12.4The term post-secondary institution means
and includes states universities, private colleges, technical
and community colleges, vocational technical schools and
hospital nursing schools.

[7.1.14][6.1.14]  The Division Director may
maintain a registry of the immunization status of persons
vaccinated against any vaccine preventable diseases
(hereafter called an “immunization registry”).

[7.1.14.1][6.1.14.1]  Physicians and other
health care providers who give immunizations shall report
information about the immunization and the person to whom
it was given for addition to the immunization registry in a
manner prescribed by the Division Director or designee.

[7.1.14.2][6.1.14.2]  The Division Director or
designee may disclose information from the immunization
registry without a patient’s, parent’s, or guardian’s written
release authorizing such disclosure to the following:

[b.][(a)]The person immunized, or a
parent or legal guardian of the person immunized, or persons
delegated in writing by same.

[c.][(b)]Employees of public agencies or
research institutions, however only when it can be shown
that the intended use of the information is consistent with the
purposes of this section.

[d.][c]Health records staff of school
districts and child care facilities.

[e.][d]Persons who are other than public
employees who are entrusted with the regular care of those
under the care and custody of a state agency including but
not limited to operators of day care facilities, group,
residential care facilities and adoptive or foster parents.

[f.][e]Health insurers, however only when
the person immunized is a client of the health insurer. 

[g.][f]Health care professionals or their
authorized employees who have been given responsibility
for the care of the person immunized.

[7.1.14.3][6.1.14.3]  If any person authorized
in  subsection [7.1.14.2][6.1.14.2]  discloses information
from the immunization registry for any other purpose, it is an
unauthorized release and such person may be subject to civil
and criminal penalty. 

[7.2][6.2]Ophthalmia Neonatorum
See 16 Del. C. §803 and the State Board of Health
Department of Health and Social Services regulations
promulgated thereunder entitled "Regulations Governing
Treatment of the Eyes of Newborns".

[7.3][6.3]Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs)
[7.3.1][6.3.1][The following diseases] [Appendix

I lists STDs regarded to] cause significant morbidity and
mortality, can be screened, diagnosed and treated, or are of
major public health concerns such that surveillance of the
disease occurrence is in the public interest, and therefore
shall be designated as sexually transmitted and reportable
pursuant to Title 16 Del. Code, Chapter 7.  For the purposes
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of this section, a suspect is any person (a) having positive or
clinical findings of a STD; or (b) in whom epidemiologic
evidence indicates an STD may exist, or is identified as a
sexual contact of an STD case, and is provided treatment for
the STD on that basis.

[6.3.1.1Class A: STDs or suspected STDs or
laboratory evidence suggestive of STDs to be reported
individually.

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome
(AIDS), (only if satisfying the case definitionn of the
federal Centers for Disase Control)

Chancroid
Chlamydia trachomatis infections 
Chlamydia trachomatis infections of

newborns
Neisseria gonorrhea infections

(gonorrhea and related conditions)
Granuloma inguinale
Hepatitis B
Herpes (congenital only)
Lymphogranuloma venereum
Pelvic Inflammatory Disease (only

gonococcal and/or chlamydial)
Syphilis

6.3.1.2 Class B: STDs or suspected STDs or
laboratory evidence suggestive of STDs to be reported by
number only in demographic categories (for example,
age and sex) or methods prescribed and furnished by the
Division of Public Health, and from health care
professionals or health facilities specified by the Section 

Herpes (genital)
Human Immunodeficiency virus (HIV)*
Human papillomavirus (genital warts)

*Tests which employ an ELISA technique to detect
antibodies shall be reported only if confirmed with a
Western Blot or other confirmatory test.

6.3.1.3Class C: STDs or suspected STDs or
laboratory evidence suggestive of STDs to be reported
immediately by telephone or other rapid means of
communication.

Congenital syphilis]
[7.3.2][6.3.2]Reporting of STDs 

[7.3.2.1][6.3.2.1]A physician or any other
health care professional who diagnoses, suspects or treats a
[Class A or Class C] [reportable] STD and every
administrator of a health facility or state, county, or city
prison in which there is a case of a [Class A or Class C]
reportable STD shall report such case to the Division of
Public Health [specifying] [Unless reportable in number
only as specified in Appendix I, reports  of Class A and
Class C provided under this rule shall specify] the
infected person's name, address, age date of birth, gender
and race as well as the date of onset, name and stage of

disease, type and amount of treatment given and the name
and address of the submitting health professional. [Reports
of Class A  diseases shall be placed into the United States
mail, telephoned, or otherwise routed to the appropriate
agency of the Division of Public Health within one
working day of diagnosis, suspicion or treatment.
Reports of Class C disease shall be telephoned within one
working day of diagnosis, suspicion or treatment.]

[7.3.2.2][6.3.2.2]Any person who is in charge
of a clinical or hospital laboratory, blood bank, mobile unit,
or other facility in which a laboratory examination of any
specimen derived from a human body yields microscopic,
cultural, serological, or other evidence suggestive of a [Class
A or Class C] reportable STD shall notify the Division of
Public Health. [Unless reportable in number only as
specified in Appendix I, reports provided under this rule
shall specify] [Reports of Class A diseases shall be placed
in the United States mail, telephoned, or otherwise
routed to the appropriate agency of the Division of Public
Health within one working day of identification of
evidence suggestive of a STD. Reports shall include] the
name, age date of birth, [race, gender] and address of the
persons from whom the specimen was obtained, laboratory
findings, and the name and address of the physician and that
of the processing clinical laboratory. 

[7.3.2.3 6.3.2.3]All facilities obtaining blood
from human donors for the purpose of transfusion or
manufacture of blood products shall report Human
Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) [as a Class A STD]
.[consistent with 7.3.2.2] Tests which employ an ELISA
technique to detect antibodies shall be reported only if
confirmed with a Western Blot or other confirmatory test.

[7.3.2.4Reports required by this Section for
STD’s designated with the letter “T” in Appendix I shall
be made by telephone, fax, or other rapid electronic
means.  Reports required by this Section for STD’s
designated with the letter “N” in Appendix I shall be
made at the request of the Division of Public Health, in
number only, and in demographic categories specified by
the Division of Public Health.  All other reports required
by this Section for STD’s listed in Appendix I shall be
placed into the United States mail, faxed, telephoned, or
otherwise routed to the Division of Public Health within
one working day of diagnosis, suspicion, or treatment.  

7.3.2.5Reports of HIV infection shall be
reportable by mail only in special double envelopes
which will be provided by the Division of Public Health
or by another method approved by the Division of Public
Health, which assures the confidentiality of the
information reported.]

[7.3.2.6][6.3.2.4]All reports and notification
made pursuant to this section are confidential and protected
from release except under the provisions of Title 16 Del.
Code, §710,and §711 and §1203.  From information received
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from laboratory notifications, the Division of Public Health
may contact attending physicians. The Division of Public
Health shall inform the attending physician, if the
notification indicates the person has an attending physician,
before contacting a person from whom a specimen was
obtained.  However, if delays resulting from informing the
physician may enhance the spread of the STD, or otherwise
endanger the health of either individuals or the public, the
Division of Public Health may contact the person without
first informing the attending physician.

[7.3.2.7][6.3.2.5]Any laboratory that examines
specimens for the purpose of finding evidence of an STD
shall permit the Division of Public Health to examine the
records of said laboratory in order to evaluate compliance
with this section.

[7.3.3][6.3.3][Reporting the Identity of Sexual or
Needle Sharing Partners of STD Infected Patients]

[Privilege to Disclose the Identity of HIV Infected
Patients and Their Partners]

[7.3.3.1][6.3.3.1]Any physician, or any other
licensed health care personnel acting on the orders of a
physician, (hereafter referred to as provider), diagnosing or
caring for an [HIV] [STD] infected patient may shall
disclose the identity of [the patient or] the patient's sexual
or needle-sharing partner(s) to the Division of Public Health
so that the partner(s) may be notified of his or her risk of
infection, provided that:

[a. The patient's condition satisfies the
Centers for Disease Control definition of AIDS, or has an
HIV infection as evidenced by a positive antibody test
which is confirmed by Western Blot, or based upon other
tests accepted by prevailing medical opinion, the patient
is considered to be infected with HIV; 

a. The patient is reasonably suspected of
being infected with an STD and]

[b. The provider knows of an identifiable
partner at risk of infection; and

b. The provider does not know that the
partner has been adequately informed of the risk, been
offered testing, or advised of the risk management
practices appropriate to the disease.]

[c. The provider believes there is a
significant risk of harm to the partner; and

d. The provider believes that the partner
does not suspect that he or she is at risk; and 

e. Reasonable efforts have been made to
counsel the patient pursuant to 16 Del. C. Section
1202(e), urging the patient to notify the partner, and the
patient has refused or is considered to be unlikely to
notify the partner; and

f. The provider has made reasonable
efforts to inform the patient of the intended disclosure
and to give the patient the opportunity to express a

preference as to whether the partner be notified by the
provider, the patient, or the Division.]

[7.3.3.2][6.3.3.2]Any provider diagnosing or caring
for an HIV  infected patient may also disclose the identity of
the patient or the patient's sexual or needle-sharing partner to
the Division so that the partner may be notified of his or her
risk of infection, when:

a. The patient requests the provider to make
such notification for the purposes of obtaining assistance in
the notification of a partner; or

b. The patient does not pose a threat to an
identifiable partner but, in the professional judgment of the
[provider based upon stated intended acts, the patient
may be dangerous to the general population.  In this
instance the conditions specified in Sections 6.3.3.1(a),
6.3.3.1(e) and 6.3.3.1(f) shall apply. Disclosure shall be for
the purpose of providing appropriate counseling to the
patient.

6.3.3.3 Procedures for disclosing information
pursuant to this section shall be specified by the Division.
Such procedures shall (a) include the requirement that,
prior to the Division identifying and notifying a partner,
reasonable efforts be made by the Division to counsel the
patient and urge the patient's voluntary notification of a
partner; (b) specify Division employees permitted to
receive the disclosed information; and (c) describe the
manner in which partners will be notified pursuant to
these regulations.

6.3.3.4 The provider will prepare and maintain
contemporaneous records of compliance with each
element of these regulations.

6.3.3.5 Nothing in this section shall constitute a
duty upon the provider to disclose the identity of the
patient or the patient's sexual or needle-sharing partner
to the Division for the purpose of notifying a partner of
the risk of HIV infection.  A cause of action shall not
arise under this section for the failure to make such
disclosure.]

[7.4][6.4]Tuberculosis
Any persons suspected of having infectious

tuberculosis shall have a tuberculin skin test, an X-ray
examination or laboratory examinations of sputum, gastric
contents or other body discharges as may be required by the
Local Health Unit Administrator, the Section Chief or either
of their designated representatives to determine whether said
patient represents an infectious case of tuberculosis.

[7.4.1][6.4.1]Any person afflicted with or suspected
of being afflicted with tuberculosis disease and in need of
hospitalization and unable to pay the cost, shall be
hospitalized at public expense wherever and whenever
facilities are available and provided that private or third
party funds are not available for this purpose.

The Local Health Unit Administrator, the Section Chief
or either of their designated representatives shall determine
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the names of household and other contacts who may be
infected with tuberculosis and shall encourage them to be
examined for the presence of tuberculosis infection.
[7.4.2][6.4.2] Reporting Tuberculosis

[7.4.2.1][6.4.2.1]Physicians, pharmacists,
nurses, hospital administrators, medical examiners,
morticians, laboratory administrators, and others who
provide health care services to a person with diagnosed,
suspected or treated tuberculosis (TB) shall report such a
case to the Division of Public Health specifying the infected
person’s name, address, date of birth, race, gender, date of
onset, site of disease, prescribed anti-TB medications, and,
in the case of laboratory administrators,  the name and
address of the submitting health professional.  A report shall
be telephoned into the Division of Public Health within two
working days of the provision of service or laboratory
finding. 

[7.4.2.2][6.4.2.2] Any person who is in charge
of a clinical or hospital laboratory or other facility in which a
laboratory examination of sputa, gastric contents, or any
other specimen derived from a human body yields
microscopic, cultural, serological or other evidence
suggestive of tubercle bacilli shall notify the Division of
Public Health by telephone within two working days of the
occurrence.  

[7.4.2.3][6.4.2.3] Any provider who has
knowledge about a person with multiple drug-resistant
tuberculosis (MDR-TB), even if the confirmed or suspected
TB cases had been previously reported, shall report the
occurrence to the Division of Public Health within two days
of the occurrence.

[7.4.2.4][6.4.2.4] Persons with TB who have
demonstrated an inability or an unwillingness to adhere to a
prescribed treatment regimen, who refuse medication, or
who show other evidence of not taking anti-TB medications
as prescribed, shall be reported to the Division of Public
Health within two days of the occurrence.

[7.4.3][6.4.3]Diagnostic Examinations
[7.4.3.1][6.4.3.1]Any persons suspected of

having infectious tuberculosis shall have a Mantoux
tuberculin skin test, a chest radiograph, and laboratory
examinations of sputum, gastric contents or other body
discharges as may be required by the Division Director or
designee to determine whether said patient represents an
infectious case of tuberculosis.

[7.4.3.2][6.4.3.2]The Division Director or
designee shall determine the names of household and other
contacts who may be infected with tuberculosis and cause
them to be examined for the presence of tuberculosis
disease.

[7.4.4][6.4.4]Clinical Management
[7.4.4.1][6.4.4.1] In addition to fulfilling the

reporting requirements of [7.4.1][6.4.1], providers shall

manage persons with active TB disease by following one of
three courses of action:

a. [they shall immediately refer the
client to the Division of Public] Health for comprehensive
medical and case management services; or

b. they shall provide comprehensive
assessment, treatment, and follow-up services (including
patient education, directly observed therapy and contact
investigation) to the client and his/her contacts consistent
with current American Thoracic Society and the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention (ATS/CDC) guidelines; or

c. they shall initiate appropriate medical
treatment and refer the client to the Division of Public Health
for coordination of community services and case
management including directly observed therapy (DOT). 

If the health care provider chooses (b) or (c) above, then
the Division Director or designee may ask the health care
provider for information about the care and management of
the patient, and the health care provider shall assure that the
requested information is communicated.

[7.4.4.2][6.4.4.2]Patients with infectious
tuberculosis who are dangerous to public health may be
required by the State Board of Health Division Director or
designee to be hospitalized, isolated, or otherwise
quarantined.  Whenever facilities for adequate isolation and
treatment of infectious cases are available in the home and
patient will accept said isolation, it shall be left to the
discretion of the Division Director or designee Local Health
Unit Administrator, the Section Chief, or either of their
designated representatives as to whether these or other
facilities shall be used.

Section [8][7].Preparation for Burial.

See 16 Del. C. Chapter 31 and State Board of Health
Department of Health and Social Services regulations
promulgated thereunder, entitled "Regulations Concerning
Care and Transportation of the Dead".

Section [9][8].Disposal of Infectious Articles, Remains
No person shall dispose of articles, or human or animal

remains known or suspected to be capable of infecting others
with a communicable disease in such a manner whereby
exposure to such infectious agents may occur.  See also
"Regulations Concerning Care and Transportation of the
Dead", Section [11][10] ("Disposition of Amputated Parts of
Human Bodies").

Section [10][9].Diseased Animals.
[10.1][9.1]Importation and Sale

No person shall bring into this state or offer for sale domestic
or wild animals infected or suspected to be infected with a
disease communicable from animals to man.

[10.2][9.2]Notification
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It shall be the duty of persons having custody of care of
animals infected or suspected to be infected with a disease
transmitted from animals to man to notify the Division
Director or designee Local Health Unit Administrator of the
infection.

Section [11][10].Notification of Emergency Medical Care
Providers of Exposure to Communicable Diseases.

[11.1][10.1]Definitions  
For the purposes of this section, the following definitions
shall apply.

a. “Emergency medical care provider” - fire fighter,
law enforcement officer, paramedic, emergency medical
technician, correctional officer, ambulance attendant, or
other person who serves as employee or volunteer of an
ambulance service and/or provides pre-hospital emergency
medical service.

b. “Receiving medical facility” - hospital or similar
facility that receives a patient attended by an emergency
medical care provider for the purposes of continued medical
care.

c. “Universal precautions” - those precautions,
including the appropriate use of hand washing, protective
barriers, and care in the use and disposal of needles and other
sharp instruments, that minimize the risk of transmission of
communicable diseases between patients and health care
providers.  Universal precautions require that all blood, body
fluids, secretions, and excretions of care providers use
appropriate barrier precautions to prevent exposure to blood
and body fluids of all patients at all times.

[11.2][10.2]Universal Precautions
[11.2.1][10.2.1]Didactic Instruction

Education and training with respect to universal precautions
shall be a mandatory component of any required training and
any required continuing education for all emergency medical
care providers who have patient contact.  Training shall be
appropriately tailored to the needs and educational
background of the person(s) being trained.  Training shall
include, but not be limited to, the following:

a. Mechanisms and routes of transmission of viral,
bacterial, rickettsial, fungal, and mycoplasmal human
pathogens.

b. Proper techniques of hand washing, including the
theory supporting the effectiveness of hand washing, and
guidelines for waterless hand cleansing in the field.

c. Proper techniques and circumstances under which
barrier methods of protection (personal protective
equipment) from contamination by microbial pathogens are
to be implemented.  The instruction is to include the theory
supporting the benefits of these techniques. 

d. The proper techniques of disinfection and clean-up
of spills of infectious material.  This instruction is to include
the use of absorbent, liquid, and chemical disinfectants.

e. Instruction regarding the reporting and
documentation of exposures to infectious agents and the
requirement for employers to have an exposure control plan.

f. The proper disposal of contaminated needles and
other sharps.  The instruction is to include information about
recapping needles and using puncture-resistant, leak-
resistant containers.

g. First aid and immediate care of wounds which may
be incurred by an emergency medical care provider.

[11.2.2][10.2.2]Practical or Laboratory Instruction
Practical sessions addressing the field application of the
above didactic instruction must be part of the curriculum.
The practical sessions shall provide a means of hands-on
experience and training in the proper use of personal
protective equipment, hand-washing disinfection, clean-up
of infectious spills, handling and disposal of contaminated
sharps, and the proper completion of reporting forms.

[11.2.3][10.2.3]Approval of Curricula
Any provider of mandatory education and training and
continuing education pursuant to this section must submit a
curriculum for approval by the Division of Public Health and
shall not utilize curricula that are not regarded by the
Division of Public Health to be in substantial compliance
with [11.2.1 and 11.2.2.][10.2.1 and 10.2.2.]

[11.3][10.3]Communicable Diseases
[11.3.1][10.3.1]Communicable Disease Defined

Exposure to patients infected with the following
communicable disease agents shall warrant notification to an
emergency medical care provider pursuant to this section:

Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
Hepatitis B Virus
Hepatitis C Virus
Meningococcal disease
Haemophilus influenzae
Measles
Tuberculosis 
Uncommon or rare pathogens

[11.3.2][10.3.2]Infection Defined
A patient shall be considered infected with

a communicable disease when the following conditions are
satisfied:

[11.3.2.1][10.3.2.1]Blood-borne pathogens
a. HIV - ELISA and western blot (or

other confirmatory test accepted by prevailing medical
opinion) tests must be positive.

b. Hepatitis B - positive for hepatitis B
surface antigen.

c. Hepatitis C - (1) IgM anti-HAV
negative, and (2) IgM anti-HBc negative or HBsAg negative,
and (3) serum aminotransferase level more than two and one
half times the upper limit of normal; or anti-HcB positive.

[11.3.2.2][10.3.2.2]Air-borne pathogens
a. Meningococcal disease -compatible

clinical findings and laboratory confirmation through
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isolation of Neisseria meningitides from a normally sterile
site.

b. Haemophilus influenzae -compatible
clinical findings of epiglottitis or meningitis and laboratory
confirmation through isolation of Haemophilus influenzae
from a normally sterile site or from the epiglottis.

c. Measles - compatible clinical findings
with or without laboratory confirmation by one of the
following methods: (1) presence of the measles virus from a
clinical specimen, or (2) four-fold rise in measles antibody
level by any standard serologic assay, or (3) positive
serologic test for measles IgM antibody.

d. Tuberculosis - compatible clinical
findings of pulmonary disease and identification of either
acid-fast bacilli in sputum or the pathogen by culture.

[11.3.2.3][10.3.2.3]Uncommon or rare
pathogens
Infection with uncommon or rare pathogens determined by
the Division of Public Health on a case-by-case basis.

[11.3.3][10.3.3]Exposure Defined
[11.3.3.1][10.3.3.1]Blood-borne pathogens

Exposure of an emergency medical care provider to a patient
infected with a blood-borne pathogen as defined in 11.3.2.1
shall include a needle-stick or other penetrating injury with
an item contaminated by a patient's blood, plasma, pleural
fluid, peritoneal fluid, or any other body fluid or drainage
that contains blood or plasma.  Contact of these fluids with
mucous membranes or non-intact skin of the emergency
medical care provider or extensive contact with intact skin
shall also constitute exposure.

[11.3.3.2][10.3.3.2]Air-borne pathogens
Exposure of an emergency medical care provider to a patient
infected with an air-borne pathogen as defined in 11.3.2.2
shall be as follows:

a. Meningococcal disease and
haemophilus influenza - Close contact with an infected
patient's oral secretions or sharing the same air space with an
infected patient for one hour or longer without the use of an
effective barrier such as a mask.

b. Measles - Sharing confined air space
with an infected patient, regardless of contact time.

c. Tuberculosis- Sharing confined air
space with an infected patient, regardless of contact time.

[11.3.3.3][10.3.3.3]Uncommon or rare
pathogens
The Division of Public Health shall determine definition of
exposure to an uncommon or rare pathogen on a case-by-
case basis.

[11.3.4][10.3.3.4]Ruling on infection and exposure
When requested by the emergency medical

care provider or receiving medical facility, the Division of
Public Health shall investigate and issue judgment on any
differences of opinion regarding infection and exposure as
otherwise defined in [11.3][10.3].

[11.4][10.4]Request for Notification
[11.4.1][10.4.1]Every employer of an

emergency medical care provider and every organization
which supervises volunteer emergency medical care
providers must register the name(s) of a designated officer
who shall perform the following duties.  The designated
officer shall delegate these duties as may be necessary to
ensure compliance with these regulations.

a. receive requests for notification from
emergency medical care providers;

b. collect facts relating to the
circumstances under which the emergency medical care
provider may have been exposed;

c. forward requests for notification to
receiving medical facilities;

d. report to the emergency medical care
provider findings provided by the receiving medical facility;
and

e. assist the emergency medical care
provider to take medically appropriate action if necessary.

[11.4.2][10.4.2]Receiving medical facilities
must register with the Division of Public Health the name or
office to whom notification requests should be sent by an
emergency medical care provider and who is responsible for
ensuring compliance with this section.

[11.4.3][10.4.3]If an emergency medical care
provider desires to be notified under this regulation, the
officer designated pursuant to 11.4.1 shall notify the
receiving medical facility within 24 hours after the patient is
admitted to or treated by the facility on a form that is
prescribed or approved by the State Board of Health.

[11.5][10.5]Notification of Exposure to Air-borne
Pathogens

[11.5.1][10.5.1]Notwithstanding any requirement
of [11.4.3][10.4.3], a receiving medical facility must make
notification when an emergency medical care provider has
been exposed to an air-borne communicable disease
pursuant to [11.3.2.2 and 11.3.3.2] [10.3.2.2 and 10.3.3.2].
Such notification shall occur as soon as possible but not
more that 48 hours after the exposure has been determined
and shall apply to any patient upon whom such a
determination has been made within 30 days after the patient
is admitted to or treated by the receiving medical facility.

[11.5.2][10.5.2]To determine if notification is
necessary pursuant to this section, a receiving medical
facility must review medical records of a patient infected
with an air-borne communicable disease to determine if care
was provided by an emergency medical care provider.  If
medical records do not so indicate, the receiving medical
facility shall assume that no notification is required.

[11.6][10.6]Notification of Exposure when Requested
[11.6.1][10.6.1]When a request for notification has

been made pursuant to [11.4.3][10.4.3], the receiving
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medical facility shall attempt to determine if the patient is
infected with a communicable disease and if the emergency
medical care provider has or has not been exposed.
Information provided on the request for notification and
medical records and findings in possession of the receiving
medical facility shall be used to make this determination. If a
determination is made within 30 days after the patient is
admitted to or treated by the receiving medical facility, the
receiving medical facility shall notify the officer designated
pursuant to [11.4.1][10.4.1] as soon as possible but not more
than 48 hours after the determination.  The following
information shall be provided in the notification:

a. The date that the patient was attended by
the emergency medical care provider; 

b. Whether or not the emergency medical
care provider was exposed;

c. If the emergency medical care provider
was exposed, the communicable disease involved.

[11.6.2][10.6.2]If, after expiration of the 30-day
period and because of insufficient information, the receiving
medical facility has not determined that the emergency
medical care provider has or has not been exposed to a
communicable disease, the receiving medical care facility
shall so notify the officer designated pursuant to Section
[11.4.1][10.4.1] as soon as possible but not more than 48
hours after expiration of the 30-day period.  The following
information shall be provided in the notification:

a. The date that the patient was attended by
the emergency medical care provider; 

b. That there is insufficient information to
determine if an exposure has occurred;

[11.6.3][10.6.3]The receiving medical facility shall
provide to the Division of Public Health a copy of each form
completed pursuant to 11.4 which shall include information
about whether or not the patient is infected, and if the
emergency medical care provider is considered by the
receiving medical facility to have been exposed.

[11.7][10.7]Manner of Notification
A receiving medical facility must make a good faith effort,
which is reasonably calculated based upon the health risks,
the need to maintain confidentiality, and the urgency of
intervention associated with the exposure, to expeditiously
notify the officer designated pursuant to [11.4.1][10.4.1].  If
notification is by mail, and if, in the judgment of the
receiving medical facility the circumstances warrant, the
receiving medical facility shall ensure by telephone or other
appropriate means that the designated officer of the
emergency medical care provider has received notification.

[11.8][10.8]Transfer of Patients
If, within the 30-day limitation defined in [11.5.1 and
11.6.1][10.5.1 and 10.6.1]  a patient is transferred from a
receiving medical facility to a second receiving medical
facility, the receiving medical facility must provide the
second facility with all requests for notification made by

emergency medical care providers for that patient.  The
second receiving medical facility must make notification to
the officer designated pursuant to [11.4.1][10.4.1] if the
facility determines within the remaining part of the 30-day
period that the patient is infected and shall otherwise comply
with these regulations.

[11.9][10.9]Death of Patient
If, within the 30-day limitation defined in [11.5.1 and
11.6.1][10.5.1 and 10.6.1], a patient is transferred from a
receiving medical facility to a medical examiner, the
receiving medical facility must provide the medical
examiner with all requests for notification made by
emergency medical care providers for that patient.  The
medical examiner must make notification to the designated
officer if the medical examiner determines that the patient is
infected with a communicable disease, and shall otherwise
comply with these regulations.

[11.10][10.10]Testing of Patients for Infection
Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to authorize or
require a medical test of an emergency medical care provider
or patient for any infectious disease.

[11.11][10.11]Confidentiality
All requests and notifications made pursuant to these
regulations shall be used solely for the purposes of
complying with these regulations and are otherwise
confidential.

Section [12][11].Enforcement
[12.1][11.1]Authorization

The Department of Health and Social Services or the
Director of the Division of Public Health or their designated
representatives are authorized to enforce these regulations to
accomplish the following:

[12.1.1][11.1.1]To insure compliance of persons
who refuse to submit themselves or others for whom they are
responsible, including their animals, to necessary inspection,
examination, treatment, sacrifice of the animal, or
quarantine.

[12.1.2][11.1.2]To insure coordination of actions of
individuals, local authorities, or state authorities in the
control of communicable disease.

[12.1.3][11.1.3]To insure the reporting of notifiable
diseases or other disease conditions as required in these
Rules.

[12.2][11.2]Penalties
Except as otherwise provided by the Delaware Code or this
regulation, failure to comply with the requirements of this
regulation will be subject to prosecution pursuant to 16 Del.
C., §107.  The Department of Health and Social Services
may seek to enjoin violations of this regulation.

Appendix I
Notifiable Diseases
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Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) (S)
Anthrax (T)
Amebiasis
Botulism (T)
Brucellosis
Campylybacteriosis
Chancroid (S)
Chlamydia trachomatis infection (S)
Cholera (N) (T)
Cryptosporidiosis
CyclosporidiosisPoliomyelitis (T)
Diphtheria (T)
E. Coli  0157:H7 infection (T)
Encephalitis
Ehrlichiosis
Foodborne Disease Outbreaks (T)
Giardiasis
Gonococcal Infections (S)
Granuloma Inguinale (S)
Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy)
Hantavirus infection (T)
Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS)
Hepatitis A (T)
Hepatitis B (S)
Hepatitis C & unspecified
Herpes (congenital) (T) (S)
Herpes (genital) (N) [(S)]
Histoplasmosis
Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) (N) [(S)]
Human papillomavirus (genital warts) (N) [(S)]
Influenza (N) 
Lead Poisoning
Legionnaires Disease
Leptospirosis
Lyme Disease
Lymphogranuloma 
Venereum (S)
Malaria
measles (T)
Meningitis (aseptic)
Meningitis (bacterial)
Meningitis (all types other than menigococcal)
Meningococcal [Meningitis (T)][Infections (all types) (T)]
[Meningococcal Disease (other)]
Mumps (T)
Pelvic Inflammatory Disease (resulting from gonococcal
and/or chlamydial infections) (S)
Pertussis (T)
Plague (T)
Psittacosis
Rabies (man, animal) (T)
Reye Syndrome
Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever
Rubella (T)

Rubella (congenital) (T)
Salmonellosis
Shigellosis 
Streptococcal disease (invasive group A)
Streptococcal toxic shock syndrome (STSS)
[Streptococcus pneumoniae (drug-resistant. invasive
disease)]
Syphilis (S)
Syphilis (congenital) (T) (S)
Tetanus
Toxic Shock Syndrome
Trichinosis
Tuberculosis [(T)]
Tularemia
Typhoid Fever (T)
Vaccine Adverse Reactions
Varicella (N)
Waterborne Disease Outbreaks (T)
Yellow Fever (T)

(T) report by rapid means.
(N) report in number only when so requested
For all diseases not marked by (T) or (N):
(S) – sexually transmitted disese, report required in 1 day
Others – report required in 2 days

Appendix II
Drug Resistant Organisms Required To Be Reported

[Enterococci resistant to Vancomycin 
Pseudomonas aeruginosa resistant to Amikacin,
Gentamicin and Tobramycin 
Staphylococcus aureus resistant to methicillin]
Staphylococcus aureus intermediate or resistance  to
Vancomycin (MIC >8ug/ml)
[Streptococcus pneumoniae (drug-resistant. invasive
disease)]
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program
1115 Demonstration Waiver

IN THE MATTER OF:        |
        |

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS |
OF THE MEDICAID/MEDICAL |
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update
policies related to Delaware's 1115 Demonstration Waiver.
The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the January 2000 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by January 31, 2000, at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the January 2000 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective March 10, 2000.

February 7, 2000
Date of Signature

Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary

Under the authority of the Balanced Budget Act of
1997, the State of Delaware, Department of Health and
Social Services, Medicaid Program, is requesting an
extension of its 1115 Demonstration Waiver to provide
managed care services to the majority of Medicaid eligible
individuals, known as the Diamond State Health Plan.

 Under the current waiver authority, the Diamond State
Health Plan is authorized until March, 2001.  The Balanced
Budget Act of 1997 waiver authority will allow the program
to continue, without re-authorization, until March 1, 2004.
The State intends no changes to the Diamond State Health
Plan during the extension period. 

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512)

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS |
OF THE MEDICAID/MEDICAL |
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update
policies related to its Non-Emergency Transportation
Provider Specific Manual.  The Department’s proceedings to
amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware
Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the January 2000 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by January 31, 2000, at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

One written comment was received.  The comment was
considered and a letter sent responding to the concerns
raised.  Copies of the comment and response are available
upon request.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

Minor grammatical changes were made as written
below.  It was found that no substantive changes were
necessary or appropriate.

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the January 2000 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as amended.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective March 10, 2000.

February 17, 2000
Date of Signature
Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D., Secretary

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm


FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1219

NON-EMERGENCY MEDICAL TRANSPORTATION 
PROVIDER POLICY

I. GENERAL INFORMATION

In accordance with Federal Regulation, 42 CFR 431.53,
the Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) will
assure transportation for eligible Medicaid recipients who
need to secure necessary medical care and who have no other
means of transportation. The DMAP is designed to assist
eligible Medicaid recipients in obtaining medical care within
the guidelines specified in this policy.

The DMAP defines non-emergency medical
transportation services as transportation to or from medical
care for the purpose of receiving treatment and/or medical
evaluation. The DMAP will determine the transportation
provider to be in compliance with this policy as long as the
transport is to or from a medical service.

The DMAP assigns a unique provider number ending
with “15” to each non-emergency transportation provider
enrolled with the DMAP.

Scope of Service

The DMAP covers transportation by way of automobile,
van, and taxi service for eligible Medicaid clients from the
point of pickup to the medical provider location or from the
medical provider location to the point of delivery. The
service will include all vehicles, drivers, dispatch, vehicle
maintenance, fuel, lubricants, and any and all other
components necessary to provide a transportation service for
the needs of the DMAP client.

Automobile
The DMAP covers transportation by way of an

automobile when the automobile is a passenger vehicle that
carries no more than five riders.

Van
Transportation by way of a van is covered by the

DMAP if the van is a vehicle that can accommodate more
than five occupants.

Taxi
The DMAP will cover transportation by way of a

taxi if the vehicle is chartered by the Department of
Transportation (DOT) and if the taxi can provide short-
response service.

[Escort]
The DMAP covers reimburses the transportation for an

individual to escort responsible for the care of a Medicaid
client to medical services who is unable or too young to
travel alone.  Transportation shall be provided to the
individual to receive medical instructions in the care of the
Medicaid client or to visit the Medicaid client when they are
hospitalized.  The transport will be considered a service to

the Medicaid client and therefore must be billed using the
Medicaid ID# of the hospitalized client. The transportation
provider must fully document these  transports.  The
documentation must include the name(s) of those being
transported and the reason they are being transported.  The
provider must bill these transports using the appropriate
HCPCS procedure code found in Appendix A.  In cases
when there are two persons responsible for the care of a
Medicaid client and both are transported, the provider must
use the appropriate HCPCS procedure code with the
modifier Y1.  Transportation services will also be
reimbursed for up to two individuals responsible for the care
of a Medicaid client to receive medical instructions in the
care of the client or to visit the Medicaid client when they are
hospitalized.  Because transportation of the responsible
individual is considered a service to the Medicaid client, it
must be billed using the Medicaid ID# of the recipient of the
medical service.  Documentation in the billing records must
include the names of the escorts or care givers being
transported and the reason for the transportation.  Provider
will use the appropriate HCPCS procedure codes found in
Appendix A.

Definitions

Non-emergency medical transportation services are
defined as transportation to or from any medical service for
the purpose of receiving treatment and/or medical
evaluation.  

The following definitions pertain to non-emergency
medical transportation only.

Escort is an interested individual that must accompany a
recipient due to recipient’s physical/mental/developmental
capacity.  Examples of an escort include, but are not limited
to, a parent, guardian, or an individual who assumes parental
like responsibility, or a child of a geriatric parent.  The
escort’s presence is required to ensure that the recipient
receives proper medical service/treatment.  Refer to
Appendix A, modifier Y1 for billing information.

Rideshare: A rideshare participant is a client who is
able to share a ride with another client because their route
and time coincide.

Limitations and Exclusions

Exclusions

• The DMAP will not reimburse for services in which
prior approval is required but was not obtained.

• The DMAP will not be reimburse for services that
are not medically necessary or which are not
provided in compliance with the provisions of the
Program.

• The DMAP will not reimburse for taxi service that
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is to/from on-going or [reoccurring recurring]
services such as, but not limited to: Methadone
Clinics, Community Mental Health, physical,
occupational, and speech therapy.

II.  PROVIDER PARTICIPATION RESPONSIBILITIES

As a provider of non-emergency transportation services,
it is the responsibility of the provider to abide by the
following policies and procedures of the DMAP.  This
includes, but is not limited to:

• The provider is responsible for maintaining
complete and accurate records of operational and
administrative costs, and records that validate
provider billing and utilization of services.  This
material will be made available to authorized
representatives of the DMAP for review and audit.

• The provider is responsible for arranging and
providing transportation services for DMAP
recipients as follows:

1. At the time of request for transportation
the provider shall complete a Transportation Scheduling
Form (see Appendix B) to accurately reflect the reason for
the transport and to detail all information received from the
recipient regarding the transport.  The completion of the
Transportation Scheduling Form will assist the
transportation provider with a profile of the recipient and
will help in determining the recipient’s needs (if any);

2. Verify individual’s DMAP eligibility.  The
provider may contact Confirm the Automated Voice
Response (AVR) service to verify an individual’s eligibility;

VI.  REIMBURSEMENT

Vehicles Other Than Taxi

Non-emergency medical transportation providers,
except taxi providers, are reimbursed [a] prospective rate per
mile based on reported historic costs (cost reports).  A
regional base rate plus a universal rate per mile. Rates will
be reviewed annually.  Regions are defined as the three
counties in the State of Delaware.

Escorts, when needed, and rideshare participants will
each be reimbursed the regional base rate.  Mileage will be
reimbursed only for the client located the most distance from
the service provider.

The DMAP will pay a differential rate added to the base
rate for service provided between 6 PM and 6 AM weekdays
and 24 hours on the weekends and holidays.

The DMAP will pay a differential rate for transportation
service provided in a vehicle equipped with a wheelchair lift
and occupied by a client that is non-ambulatory.

Reimbursement is full and represents includes all

vehicles, drivers, dispatch, vehicle maintenance, fuel,
lubricants, and all operational and administrative costs
components necessary to provide medical transportation
services.

Taxi Providers

Non-emergency medical transportation by taxi is
reimbursed at the metered rate for a trip with one client in the
cab.

Taxi providers may be reimbursed for rideshare
participants in addition to their usual and customary fee.

Reimbursement is full and represents all vehicles,
drivers, dispatch, vehicle maintenance, fuel, lubricants and
all operational and administrative cost necessary to provide
medical transportation services.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 6010 (7 Del.C. 6010)

Secretary’s Order No.  2000-A-0008

Date of Issuance:  February 11, 2000
Effective Date of the Amendments:  March 11, 2000

I. Background
On Tuesday, January 4, 2000, at approximately

6:15 p.m., a public hearing was held in the DNREC
Auditorium at 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.  The
purpose of the public hearing was to receive public comment
on a proposed final draft of the 1996 Periodic Ozone State
Implementation Plan Emissions Inventory for VOC, NOX

and CO.  Two members of the public attended the public
hearing but made no comments and asked no questions for
the record concerning the proposal.   After the hearing, the
Hearing Officer prepared her report and recommendation in
the form of a memorandum to the Secretary dated February
10, 2000, and that memorandum is expressly incorporated
herein by reference.  

II. Findings and Conclusions
All of the findings and conclusions contained in the

Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated February 10, 2000,
are expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as
the findings and conclusions of the Secretary.  

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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III. Order
In view of the above, I hereby order that the final draft

1996 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan Emissions
Inventory for VOC, NOX and CO, as presented at the public
hearing, be adopted as a Revision to Delaware’s SIP in the
manner and form provided for by law.  

IV. Reasons
Revising Delaware’s SIP will further the policies and

purposes of 7 Del. C. Chapter 60, because after adoption of a
1996 Periodic Emissions Inventory, the Department may
submit it to the United States Environmental Protection
Agency in order to fulfil its commitments under the Clean
Air Act.  Indeed, these commitments are intended to lead to
reductions of emissions of ozone precursor chemicals in
order to reduce air pollutants to ultimately meet the 1-hour
National Ambient Air Quality Standard for ground-level
ozone, which would lead to improved air quality and be
beneficial to the health and welfare of the people of the state
of Delaware. 

Nicholas A. DiPasquale
Secretary

1996 Periodic Ozone
State Implementation Plan

EMISSIONS INVENTORY FOR VOC, NOx, and CO

for the State of Delaware
Final 

March 11, 2000
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SECTION 1
BACKGROUND AND EMISSIONS SUMMARY

BACKGROUND

This document presents the 1996 Periodic Ozone State
Implementation Plan (SIP) Emissions Inventory for VOC,
NOx, and CO (hereafter referred to as 1996 Periodic
Emissions Inventory), as required by the Clean Air Act
Amendments (CAAA) of 1990.  The CAAA of 1990 as does
the original Clean Air Act of 1970, contains provisions for
the attainment and maintenance of National Ambient Air
Quality Standards (NAAQS) for criteria pollutants.  

Section 182(a)(1) of the CAAA requires states with
nonattainment areas to submit a comprehensive, accurate,
current inventory of actual emissions of ozone precursors
from all sources within two years of enactment.  This initial
inventory covers the 1990 calendar year, and is widely
known as the 1990 Base Year Ozone SIP Inventory. Section
182(a)(3) of the CAAA requires states with nonattainment
areas to submit periodic inventories starting with 1993 and
every three years thereafter until the area is redesignated to
attainment.  In meeting the requirements of Section
182(a)(3) of CAAA, the 1990 Base Year Ozone SIP
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Emissions Inventory for VOC, CO, and NOx was submitted
to and approved by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA), Region III on May 27, 1994, and March 25, 1996,
respectively.  The 1993 Periodic Ozone SIP Emissions
Inventory for VOC, CO, and NOx was submitted to U.S.
EPA, Region III on January 30, 1998.

All of Delaware’s three counties are in nonattainment of
the 1-hour NAAQS for ozone.  As shown in Figure 1-1, New
Castle and Kent Counties are part of the Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Trenton Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical
Area (Philadelphia CMSA), which is classified as a "severe"
nonattainment area with a design value of 0.187 parts per
million (ppm).  Sussex County is classified as "marginal"
with a design value of 0.130 ppm.  The nonattainment areas
are defined by the publication Designation of Areas for Air
Quality Planning Purposes, 40 CFR Part 81, Final Rule,
U.S. EPA, Office of Air and Radiation, Washington, D.C.,
November 6, 1991.  The total geographic area covered by
this inventory includes the Kent, New Castle, and Sussex
Counties nonattainment areas as shown in Figure 1-2. 

This map was adapted from Major CO, NO2 and VOC
Sources in the 25-Mile Boundary Around Ozone
Nonattainment Areas, Volume 1: Classified Ozone
Nonattainment Area, EPA450/4-92-005a, U.S. EPA, Office
of Air Quality Planning and Standards, Office of Air and
Radiation, Research Triangle Park, N.C., February 1992.

For the purposes of creating a consistent, statewide 1996
Periodic Emissions Inventory, the entire state of Delaware,
including Sussex County, was inventoried according to U.S.
EPA guidelines for severe areas.  Inventorying Sussex
County as if it were a severe area had no effect on the
method used to prepare this inventory, nor will it affect
future ozone attainment planning activities.  The only effect
of this decision to inventory Sussex County as if it were a
severe area is to improve the accuracy of the point source
inventory by including sources in Sussex County that emit
between ten and one hundred tons per year (TPY) of VOCs.
Otherwise, point sources in Sussex County would be
inventoried only if VOC emissions are greater than or equal
to one hundred TPY.

Demographic data for the state of Delaware is used to
estimate air emissions from many of the sources in this
inventory and includes population, employment, housing,
and other statistics.  A summary of the 1996 demographic
information for Delaware by county is presented in Table 1-
1.  Subsequent sections of this report describe how this data
is used to estimate emissions for particular sources.

The remainder of this section presents a summary of
Delaware's VOC, NOx, and CO emissions totals for 1996.

DOCUMENT ORGANIZATION

This document presents detailed discussions of the

emission estimation methods, data sources, and quality
assurance procedures used to compile this inventory.  Each
source category is discussed in its own section as follows:

Section 2 - Point Sources
Section 3 - Stationary Area Sources
Section 4 - Off-Road Mobile Sources
Section 5 - On-Road Mobile Sources
Section 6 - Natural Sources
Section7 – DNREC Quality Assurance

Implementation

Reference documentation that is pertinent to the
discussion in a particular section of this document is
included in an attachment at the end of that particular
section.  For example, computer printouts and excerpts from
emissions reports relevant to the Section 2 point source
discussion are labeled in Attachment 2 and are found at the
end of Section 2.  Reference documents less directly related
to emissions estimations in this inventory, or too large to be
included in the attachments, are placed in appendices at the
end of this document.

EMISSIONS SUMMARY

The VOC, NOx, and CO emissions in this 1996 Periodic
Emissions Inventory are estimated on both an annual (TPY)
and a daily (TPD) basis.  Annual emissions are estimated for
calendar year 1996.  Daily emissions are estimated for a
typical peak ozone season day.  The peak ozone season is
defined as that contiguous three-month period of the year
during which the highest number of ozone exceedances have
occurred over the past three to four years.  The peak ozone
season for the 1996 Periodic Emissions Inventory report is
June through August.  Peak ozone season daily emissions
represent average emissions that occur on a typical weekday
during the peak ozone season.  All references to daily or
seasonal emissions in this document refer to peak ozone
season daily emissions.     

In this inventory, VOC, NOx, and CO emission sources
are categorized into point, stationary area, off-road mobile,
on-road mobile, and natural sources.  Peak ozone season
daily and annual emissions are estimated for all of these
categories. 

Prior to compiling the final numbers in this summary,
several adjustments were made to the estimated emissions
values. First, in accordance with Procedures for the
Preparation of Emission Inventories for Carbon Monoxide
and Precursors of Ozone, Volume I:  General Guidance for
Stationary Sources, EPA-450/4-91-016, U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency, Office of Air Quality Planning and
Standards, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, May
1991, [hereafter referred to as Procedures, Volume I (1991)],



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1223

photochemically nonreactive VOC emissions were removed
from the inventory.  While most VOCs engage in
photochemical reactions, some are considered nonreactive
under atmospheric conditions.  These compounds, as defined
in Regulation No. 1 of the Regulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution, 40-09-81/02/01, Delaware
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control, Division of Air and Waste Management, updated to
February 1995, do not contribute to ozone formation,
therefore are subtracted from the inventory.  All references to
"nonreactive VOCs" in this document mean
photochemically, nonreactive VOCs.

Second, emissions from regulated sources were adjusted
for rule effectiveness and/or rule penetration, where
applicable. Rule effectiveness is an adjustment to the
emissions estimates of regulated sources to account for the
fact that all sources are not in compliance with applicable air
regulations 100 percent of the time.  The rule effectiveness
adjustment compensates for underestimates of emissions
caused by noncompliance with existing regulations, control
equipment downtime, operating problems, and process
upsets.  Rule effectiveness adjustments were made according
to the Guidelines for Estimating and Applying Rule
Effectiveness for Ozone/CO State Implementation Plan Base
Year Inventories, EPA-452/R-92-010, U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency, Office of Air Quality Planning and
Standards, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina,
November 1992.

Rule penetration factors are used in conjunction with
rule effectiveness to adjust regulated emissions estimates.
Rule penetration is the portion of a source category that is
affected by a regulation.  If a regulation applies to only a
certain percentage of sources within a source category, a rule
penetration factor is applied to ensure that the rule
effectiveness adjustment affects only the emissions values
for those regulated sources, and not the emissions values for
the unregulated sources in the category.  Adjustments for
removal of nonreactive VOCs, rule effectiveness, and rule
penetration are discussed in detail in appropriate sections of
this document.  All summary tables in this document list
emissions values that have been adjusted as appropriate for
removal of nonreactive VOCs, rule effectiveness, and rule
penetration.

Differences in emission estimates between this
inventory and previous inventories compiled by AQM may
be due to a number of reason, including but not limited to:
changes to or addition of emission controls, changes in
business or industrial activity, different methods of
estimation, and the availability of more complete data.

The results of Delaware's 1996 Periodic Emissions
Inventory are presented in both tabular and graphic form.
Table 1-2 summarizes Delaware's 1996 annual emissions of
VOC, NOx, and CO for each county and for the state.  

Table 1-3 summarizes Delaware's 1996 peak ozone

season daily emissions of VOC, NOx, and CO for each
county and for the state.  The state's total peak ozone season
daily emissions of VOC, NOx, and CO are depicted
graphically in Figure 1-3.  Using the information from Table
1-3, a distribution of the peak ozone season daily emissions
by county was prepared as shown in Figure 1-4.

Table 1-4 summarizes Delaware's 1996 annual and peak
ozone season daily emissions of VOC, NOx, and CO by
source category.  The distribution of peak ozone season daily
emissions by source category is depicted graphically in
Figure 1-5.

Table 1-5 presents a summary of Delaware's 1996
annual and peak ozone season daily VOC emissions by
county and by source category.  Tables 1-6 and 1-7 present
similar information for NOx and CO, respectively.  This
information is presented graphically in Figures 1-6, 1-7, and
1-8, which show comparisons of source category emissions
by county for VOC, NOx, and CO, respectively.
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Figure 1-2.  Inventory Area for the Delaware 1996 Periodic
Ozone State Implementation Plan Emissions Inventory for
VOC, NOx, and CO.

TABLE 1-1
SUMMARY OF 1996 DEMOGRAPHIC INFORMATION 

FOR THE STATE OF DELAWARE

a  State of Delaware, Delaware Economic Development

Office, Delaware Population Projections Consortium. Dover,
Delaware.  January 1997.

b  Webster's New Geographic Dictionary, Miriam Webster
Publishing Company, 1984.

c  U.S. Department of Commerce.

d  State of Delaware.  Delaware Department of Labor.

e  Developed per EPA guidance using the American
Automobile Manufacturers Association International Fuel
Survey for Philadelphia, PA--Summer 1996.

TABLE 1-2
STATE AND COUNTY ANNUAL VOC, NOx, AND CO 

EMISSIONS

a  Total annual NOx and CO emissions are not calculated
from stationary source solvent use,  vehicle refueling and
related activities, bioprocess emissions, miscellaneous area
sources, and small facilities because there are no methods for
determining annual emissions for these sources.

b Total annual NOx emissions are not calculated from slash,
prescribed, nor agricultural burning because there are no
methods for determining annual emissions for these sources.

c Total annual CO emissions are not calculated from natural
sources because there are no methods for determining annual
emissions for this source.

TABLE 1-3

STATE AND COUNTY PEAK OZONE SEASON 

DAILY VOC, NOX, AND CO EMISSIONS

Demographic
Parameter

KENT

COUNTY

VALUE

NEW

CASTLE

COUNTY

VALUE

SUSSEX

COUNTY

VALUE

STATE

VALUE

Population a 122,906 471,702 130,201 724,809

Land Area (square 

miles) b
594

439 950 1,983

Number of 

Households c
46,920 179,676 49,680 276,276

Manufacturing 

Employment d
6,519 39,319 11,985 57,823

Construction 

Employment d
2,504

15,358 4,172 22,034

Retail Employment d 11,895 43,739 13,965 69,599

Commercial/
Institutional 

Employment d

37,309 185,653 35,903 258,865

Gasoline RVP e 8.1 8.1 8.1 8.1

COUNTY POLLUTANT EMISSIONS (TPY)

VOC
NOx

a,b COa,c

Kent 11,678 8,218 26,343

New Castle 26,672 31,577 102,084

Sussex 20,596 19,044 36,219

STATE TOTAL 58,946 58,839 164,646

COUNTY POLLUTANT EMISSIONS (TPD)

VOC  NOx
a,c COa,c,d

Kent 84.517 27.478 71.729
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a  Total annual NOx and CO emissions are not calculated
from stationary source solvent use,  vehicle refueling and
related activities, bioprocess emissions, miscellaneous area
sources, and small facilities because there are no methods for
determining annual emissions for these sources.

b Total annual NOx emissions are not calculated from
slash, prescribed, nor agricultural burning because there are
no methods for determining annual emissions for these
sources.

c Total annual CO emissions are not calculated from
natural sources because there are no methods for
determining annual emissions for this source.

d Carbon dioxide emissions from natural sources are not
generated by the PC-BEIS2.0 model, therefore are not
reported in this inventory.

Figure 1-3. Summary of Statewide Peak Ozone Season 
Daily Emissions

Figure 1-4.  Distribution of Peak Ozone Season Daily 
Emissions by County

TABLE 1-4

ANNUAL AND PEAK OZONE SEASON DAILY

EMISSIONS BY SOURCE CATEGORY

a There are no methods for determining annual NOx or CO
emissions for leaking underground storage tank, and vehicle
refueling and spillage emissions sources within the
stationary area source category. 

b Not Applicable.  Emissions of CO from biogenic sources
are not generated by the PC-BEIS2.0 model, therefore are
not reported in this inventory.

Figure 1-5.  Distribution of Statewide Peak Ozone Season 

Daily Emissions by Source Category

New Castle 144.866 99.510 359.822

Sussex 156.110 63.033 115.077

STATE TOTAL 385.493 190.021 546.628

Summary of Statewide Peak Ozone Season Daily Emissions
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SOURCE

CATEGORY

VOC NOx CO

Annual
(TPY)

Daily
(TPY)

Annual
(TPY)

Daily
(TPD)

Annual
(TPY)

Daily
(TPD)

Point
Sources

6,322 31.728 25,488 78.799 17,198a 90.655

Stationary
Area
Sources

15,695a 40.503 3,481a 6.852 7,309 8.236

Off-road
Mobile
Sources

5,754 24.551 8,935 33.549 39,248 156.537

On-road
Mobile
Sources

11,014 46.770 19,142 60.670 100,891 291.200

Natural
Sources

20,161 241.941 1,793 10.151 N/Ab N/Ab

STATE

TOTAL

58,946 385.493 58,839 190.021 164,646 546.628
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Figure 1-6.  Distribution of Peak Ozone Season Daily 

VOC Emissions by Source Category and County

Figure 1-7.  Distribution of Peak Ozone Season Daily 

NOx Emissions by Source Category and County

Figure 1-8.  Distribution of Peak Ozone Season Daily CO 

Emissions by Source Category and County

TABLE 1-5 
SUMMARY OF VOC EMISSIONS BY COUNTY AND 

SOURCE CATEGORY

Distribution of Peak Ozone Season Daily VOC Emissions by Source 
Category and County
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VOC Emissions

COUNTY POINT SOURCES Stationary Area 
Sources

Off-Road Mobile 
Sources

On-Road Mobile 
Sources

Natural   Sources Total

ANNUAL
(TPY)

DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)*
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUA

L

(TPY)

DAILY

(TPD)

Kent 208 0.638 3,025 6.301 1,186 4.030 1,976 7.520 5,283 66.028 11,678 84.517

New Castle 3,837 14.340 8,334 25.905 3,728 17.046 6,080 26.090 4,693 61.485 26,672 144.866

Sussex 2,277 16.750 4,336 8.297 840 3.475 2,958 13.160 10,185 114.428 20,596 156.110

Total 6,322 31.728 15,695 40.503 5,754 24.551 11,014 46.770 20,161 241.941 58,946 385.493
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TABLE 1-6

SUMMARY OF NOx EMISSIONS BY COUNTY AND 

SOURCE CATEGORY

TABLE 1-7

SUMMARY OF CO EMISSIONS BY COUNTY AND 

SOURCE CATEGORY

a The PC-BEIS2.0 model does not generate CO emissions
from natural sources.  Therefore, the natural source category
is not included in this table.

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 6010 (7 Del.C. Section 6010)

DELAWARE 1996 MILESTONE DEMONSTRATION FOR 
KENT AND NEW CASTLE COUNTIES:  Demonstrating 

Adequate Progress Toward Attainment of the
1-Hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard

for Ground-Level Ozone
Secretary’s Order No.  2000-A-0006

Date of Issuance:  February 2, 2000
Effective Date of the SIP Revision:  March 11, 2000

I. Background
On Tuesday, January 4, 2000, at approximately

6:25 p.m., a public hearing was held in the DNREC
Auditorium at 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.  The
purpose of the public hearing was to receive public comment
on Delaware’s proposed State Implementation Plan revision
to demonstrate Delaware’s 1996 compliance with adequate
progress in emission reductions toward attainment of the 1-
hour ground-level ozone NAAQS.  Two members of the
public attended the public hearing but made no comments
and asked no questions for the record concerning the
proposal.   After the hearing, the Hearing Officer prepared
her report and recommendation in the form of a
memorandum to the Secretary dated February 2, 2000, and
that memorandum is expressly incorporated herein by

NOx Emissions

COUNTY Point Sources Stationary Area
Sources

Off-Road Mobile
Sources

On-Road Mobile
Sources

Natural   Sources Total

Annual
(TPY)

DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)

Kent 1,176 4.925 540 0.992 2,298 8.384 3,606 9.900 598 3.277 8,218 27.478

New Castle 12.965 39.550 2,202 4.333 4,944 18.649 11,078 34.820 388 2.158 31,577 99.510

Sussex 11,347 34.324 739 1.527 1,693 6.516 4,458 15.950 807 4.716 19,044 63.033

Total 25,488 78.799 3,481 6.852 8,935 33.549 19,142 60.670 1,793 10.151 57,046 190.02
1

County CO EMISSIONSa

Point Sources
Stationary 
Area Sources

Off-Road Mobile
Sources

On-Road Mobile
 Sources

Total

ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)
ANNUAL

(TPY)
DAILY

(TPD)

Kent 146 0.527 1,869 1.077 6,200 22.335 18,128 47.790 26,343 71.729

New Castle 16,504 88.427 1,854 2.738 26,773 109.867 56,953 158.790 102,084 359.822

Sussex 548 1.701 3,586 4.421 6,275 24.335 25,810 84.620 36,219 115.077

Total   17,198 90.655 7,309 8.236 39,248 156.537 100,891 291.200 164,646 546.628

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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reference.  

II. Findings and Conclusions
All of the findings and conclusions contained in the

Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated February 2, 2000, are
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.  

III. Order
In view of the above, I hereby order that the DELAWARE

1996 MILESTONE DEMONSTRATION FOR KENT AND NEW

CASTLE COUNTIES:  Demonstrating Adequate Progress
Toward Attainment of the 1-Hour National Ambient Air
Quality Standard for Ground-Level Ozone as presented at
the public hearing be adopted as a Revision to Delaware’s
SIP in the manner and form provided for by law.  

IV. Reasons
Revising Delaware’s SIP will further the policies and

purposes of 7 Del. C. Chapter 60 because the SIP would
document actual progress towards reducing ozone precursor
chemicals in areas of Delaware that are classified as severe
nonattainment with the NAAQS and higher levels of ground-
level ozone have been proven to be harmful to human and
agricultural health and cause economic losses. In addition,
Delaware is required by the federal Clean Air Act to adopt a
Milestone Demonstration for the year 1996. 

Nicholas A. DiPasquale
Secretary

Delaware 1996 Milestone Demonstration For Kent And 
New Castle Counties

Demonstrating Adequate Progress toward Attainment of 
the 1-Hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard

for Ground-Level Ozone

Submitted to:
US Environmental Protection Agency

By
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control
December 1999   

Acronym List

AQM - Air Quality Management Section of DNREC 
BEA - Bureau of Economic Analysis
BY - Base year 
CAAA - Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 
CMSA - Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area 
CO - Carbon Monoxide 
DAWM - Division of Air and Waste Management of

DNREC
DelDOT- Delaware Department of Transportation 
DNREC- Delaware Department of Natural Resources

and Environmental Control
EID - Emission Inventory Development
EPA - United States Environmental Protection

Agency 
FMVCP - Federal Motor Vehicle Control Program 
HPMS - Highway Performance Monitoring System 
I/M - Inspection and Maintenance 
LEV - Low Emission Vehicle
NAA - Nonattainment Area
NAAQS- National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
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NOx - Oxides of Nitrogen 
OAQPS- Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards

of EPA
OTAG - Ozone Transport Assessment Group
OTC - Ozone Transport Commission
OTR - Ozone Transport Region
PCP - Planning and Community Protection Branch of
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Summary
This document addresses Delaware's 1996 milestone

demonstration regarding attainment of the 1-hour National
Ambient Air Quality Standard for the ground-level ozone.
Under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA),
Kent and New Castle Counties in Delaware are classified as
severe nonattainment areas with respect to the 1-hour ozone
standard.  Under Sections 182(b)(1) and 182(d) of the
CAAA, Delaware is required to achieve a 15% reduction in
emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOC) from its
1990 levels in these two counties.  Under this requirement,
the 1996 target level of VOC emissions in Kent and New
Castle Counties has been determined to be 115.815 tons per
day (TPD) in the peak ozone season.  To achieve this target,
Delaware implemented numerous control measures over a
large variety of VOC emission sources from 1990 to 1996.

Delaware's 1996 periodic emission inventory, which has
been recently compiled, shows that the 1996 actual VOC
emissions in Kent and New Castle Counties are 101.870
TPD.  Thus, Delaware demonstrates herein that its 1996
milestone for VOC emission reductions has been
successfully met.     

1. Introduction
1.1  Background

The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA)
set forth National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS)
for six air pollutants that pose public health risks and
environmental threats. Delaware exceeds the standard for
only one of these pollutants, i.e., the ground-level ozone.
High levels of ozone can harm the respiratory system and
cause breathing problems, throat irritation, coughing, chest
pains, and greater susceptibility to respiratory infection.
Children, the elderly and individuals with respiratory
diseases are especially vulnerable to the ozone threat.  Even
healthy individuals can be harmed if they attempt strenuous
activity on days with high ozone levels.  High levels of
ozone also cause serious damage to forests and agricultural
crops, resulting in economic losses to logging and farming
operations. 

The CAAA classifies five nonattainment areas
(NAA) that exceed the 1-hour ozone NAAQS based on the
severity of the pollution problem.  In order of increasing
severity, they are marginal, moderate, serious, severe, and
extreme.  Attainment dates depend on the nonattainment
designation for individual areas (Section 181, CAAA). The
Philadelphia Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area
(CMSA) is classified as a severe nonattainment area (Figure
1), which has an attainment date of 2005.  As shown in
Figure 1, Kent and New Castle Counties in Delaware fall
within the Philadelphia CMSA.  Thus, these two counties are
subject to all requirements set forth for the severe ozone
nonattainment class.  All discussions and data presented in
this document apply only to Kent and New Castle Counties.

Ozone is generally not directly emitted to the
atmosphere, but formed in the lower atmosphere by
photochemical reactions mainly between volatile organic
compounds (VOC) and nitrogen oxides (NOx) in the
presence of sunlight. Thus, VOC and NOx are defined as
two major ozone precursors.  In order to reduce ozone
concentrations in the ambient air, the CAAA requires all
ozone nonattainment areas to achieve specific reductions in
anthropogenic VOC emissions and/or NOx emissions over
several specified periods of years until the ozone standard is
attained.  These periodic emission reductions are termed as
“rate of progress” toward the attainment of the 1-hour ozone
standard (Reference 1).

Under Section 182(d) of CAAA, Delaware is
required to develop and submit State Implementation Plans
(SIP) to the United States Environmental Protection Agency



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

1230

(EPA) for each of the milestone years of 1996, 1999, 2002
and 2005.   In these plans, Delaware has to show that, by
adopting and implementing adequate control measures, it
can achieve adequate rate-of-progress reductions in VOC
and/or NOx emissions for its severe ozone nonattainment
area, i.e., Kent and New Castle Counties.  Since these state
implementation plans construct the path of Delaware's rate
of progress toward the attainment of ozone standard, they are
termed as Delaware's Rate-of-Progress Plans (RPPs).

Under Section 182(a) of the CAAA, Delaware is
required to develop comprehensive emission inventories of
ozone precursors for 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002 and 2005 to
monitor actual VOC and NOx emissions from its
nonattainment areas along the path of rate of progress.
These emission  inventories   are   termed  as  Delaware's
periodic  emission  inventories  (PEIs).    Under Sections
182(a) and 182(g) of the CAAA, Delaware is required to use
these periodic emission inventories (except 1993 PEI) to
demonstrate whether Delaware meets its required emission
reductions as specified in its rate-of-progress plans in
individual milestone years. This demonstrating process is
termed as periodic milestone demonstration (Reference 1).

This document contains Delaware’s State
Implementation Plan (SIP) revision for demonstrating
Delaware 1996 compliance with adequate progress in
emission reductions toward attainment of the 1-hour ozone
NAAQS as required by the CAAA.  The document is
hereafter referred to as “Delaware 1996 Milestone
Demonstration.”

Figure 1.  Philadelphia Consolidated Metropolitan 

Statistical Area (CMSA) Nonattainment Area. 1

1 This map is adapted from Major CO, NO2 and VOC
Sources in the 25-Mile Boundary Around Ozone
Nonattainment Areas, Volume 1: Classified Ozone
Nonattainment Area,EPA/4-92-005a, U.S. Environment
Protection Agency, Office of Air Quality Planning and
Standards, Office of Air and Radiation, Research Triangle

Park , NC, February, 1992.

1.2  Responsibilities
The agency with direct responsibility for preparing

and submitting this document is the Delaware Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control  (DNREC),
Division of Air and Waste Management (DAWM), Air
Quality Management Section (AQM), under the direction of
Darryl D. Tyler, Program Administrator.  The Delaware
Department of Transportation (DelDOT), in conjunction
with the consulting firm Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc.
(VHB), Watertown, MA, is responsible for performing the
work associated with the on-road mobile source emissions
included in this document. 

The working responsibility for Delaware’s air
quality management planning falls within the Planning and
Community Protection (PCP) Branch of AQM Section,
DAWM of DNREC, under the management of Raymond H.
Malenfant, Program Manager.  Alfred R. Deramo, Program
Manager of the State Implementation Planning (SIP)
Program within the PCP Branch, is the project manager of
this document.  Frank F. Gao, Environmental Engineer of the
SIP Program, is the project leader and principal author of
this document.  Margaret A.J. Pomatto, Environmental
Scientist of the Emission Inventory Development (EID)
Program within the PCP Branch, is the quality assurance
reviewer and technical editor of this document.  Questions or
comments regarding this document should be addressed to
A. Deramo or F. Gao, (302)739-4791, AQM, 156 South
State Street, Dover, DE 19901.  

2. Submittal and Summary of Delaware State
Implementation Plans

2.1 Delaware 1990 Base Year Emission Inventory 
Section 182(a)(1) of the CAAA requires each state

with ozone nonattainment areas to develop a comprehensive
and accurate 1990 emission inventory for ozone precursors
for its nonattainment areas.  The emission inventory must be
submitted as a state implementation plan (SIP) revision to
EPA for approval.  This "1990 base year emission inventory"
is used as the basis for a state to develop its rate-of-progress
plans and control strategies toward attainment of the 1-hour
ozone standard.  Delaware’s 1990 base year emission
inventory was submitted to the EPA in May 1994, and
approved by EPA in March 1996.  The inventory is hereafter
referred to as the 1990 Base Year Inventory (Reference 2).  

The 1990 Base Year Inventory is categorized by
source sectors, i.e., point, stationary area, off-road mobile,
on-road mobile and biogenic source sectors (Appendix A).
Since volatile organic compounds (VOC), nitrogen oxides
(NOx) and carbon monoxide (CO) are precursors forming
ground level ozone, their emissions in 1990 are inventoried
and reported in the 1990 Base Year Inventory.  Because
contribution of CO to ozone formation is considered
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insignificant and Delaware does not contain any CO
nonattainment area, the CO component of the 1990 Base
Year Inventory is not included in Delaware's rate-of-progress
planning for ozone attainment. A summary of VOC and
NOx emissions by county in the 1990 Base Year Inventory is
presented in Table 1.  The unit of emissions reported in Table
1 is tons per day (TPD) in the peak ozone season.  The peak
ozone season in Delaware is defined as from June 1 through
August 31. 

Table 1. Summary of VOC and NOx Emissions (TPD) in 
1990 Base Year Inventory*

*Data obtained from Delaware 1990 Base Year Emission
Inventory (Reference 2).
** Biogenic NOx emissions are assumed to be negligible. 

2.2  Delaware 1996 Rate-of-Progress Plan
Under Sections 182(b)(1) and 182(d), Delaware is

required to develop a rate-of-progress plan (as a SIP
revision) for the period from 1990 to 1996, which describes
how Delaware will achieve an actual VOC emission
reduction by 1996 that is at least 15% of its VOC emission
level in 1990.  This plan is thus termed as the Delaware 1996
Rate-of-Progress Plan or 15% Rate-of-Progress Plan (RPP).
Delaware developed the 1996 RPP and submitted it to EPA
for approval in February 1995 (Reference 3).  In this plan,
Delaware first established a VOC emission target for 1996 to
meet the rate-of-progress requirements specified in the
CAAA.  Delaware then presented its control measures being
promulgated in the 1990-1996 period, and demonstrated that
through these measures the required VOC emission target
can be met in 1996.  A summary of the 1996 RPP is provided
in Appendix B of this document.  This section presents a
brief discussion of the major contents of the 1996 RPP and
provides data necessary for the milestone compliance

demonstration.    
2.2.1  Delaware 1996 VOC Emission Target

The 15% rate-of-progress VOC emission
reduction in the period of 1990 to 1996 is estimated from the
1990 baseline level.  Section 182(b)(1)(B) defines the
baseline emissions as the total amount of actual VOC
emissions from all anthropogenic sources in the
nonattainment areas.  Thus, the 1990 Base Year Inventory
VOC emissions in Table 1 must be modified to exclude
emissions from biogenic sources and sources outside the
nonattainment areas.  In addition, emissions of
perchloroethylene (PERC) were included in the 1990 Base
Year Inventory because it was originally classified by EPA
as a photochemically reactive VOC contributing to the
formation of ozone. The EPA reclassified PERC as
photochemically non-reactive after Delaware’s 1990 Base
Year Inventory was compiled. Thus, PERC emissions, which
are now considered not to participate in the formation of
ozone, need to be subtracted from the 1990 Base Year
Inventory.   The biogenic VOC emissions in the 1990 Base
Year Inventory are 32.460 TPD and 17.510 TPD for Kent
and New Castle Counties, respectively (Table 1).  The PERC
emissions in Kent County are 0.188 TPD, all from the area
source sector.  For New Castle County, the PERC emissions
are 0.140 TPD from the point source sector and 0.388 TPD
from the area source sector.  Details of determination of the
PERC emissions can be found in Appendix A of Reference
2.  The modified 1990 base year VOC emissions, or the 1990
baseline VOC emissions, are presented in Table 2. 

Table 2. Delaware 1990 Baseline and Adjusted Inventory 
of VOC Emissions (TPD)

According to Section 182(b)(1)(D) of the
CAAA, emission reductions resulted from the Federal Motor
Vehicle Control Program (FMVCP) and Reid Vapor Pressure
(RVP) regulations promulgated prior to 1990 are not
creditable for achieving the 15% rate-of-progress VOC

Kent
      New Castle Total NAA

Source
Sector

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Point
Sources

3.242 6.130 27.078 85.767 30.320 91.897

Stationary
Area

Sources

12.967 1.202 34.754 5.398 47.721 6.600

Off-Road
Mobile

Sources

3.494 7.891 16.674 18.777 20.168 26.668

On-Road
Mobile

Sources

13.070 10.620 35.280 27.060 48.350 37.680

Biogenic
Sources**

32.460 0 17.510 0 49.970 0

Total
Emissions

65.233 25.843 131.296 137.002 196.529 162.845

            Kent       New Castle Total NAA

Source
Sector

1990 1990 1990 1990 1990 1990

Baseline Adjusted Baseline Adjusted Baseline Adjusted

Point
Sources

3.242 3.242 26.938 26.938 30.180 30.180

Stationary
Area

Sources

12.779 12.779 34.366 34.366 47.145 47.145

Off-Road
Mobile

Sources

3.494 3.494 16.674 16.674 20.168 20.168

On-Road
Mobile

Sources

13.070 10.245 35.280 28.515 48.350 38.760

Total
Emissions

32.585 29.760 113.258 106.493 145.843 136.253
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emission reductions in the 1996 RPP.  Therefore, the 1990
baseline VOC emissions in Table 2 must be adjusted by
removing the VOC emission reductions expected from
FMVCP and RVP.  The adjusting procedures are provided in
an EPA guidance document (Reference 4).  Details of the
adjustments are provided in Delaware 1996 RPP (Reference
3).  The FMVCP/RVP adjustments for Kent and New Castle
Counties are 2.825 TPD and 6.765 TPD, respectively.  The
results of the adjustment are the 1990 Adjusted Baseline
Emissions (as shown in Table 2), which are the basis for
calculating the required rate-of-progress emission reductions
and the emission target for the milestone year 1996.  

The 15% VOC emission reductions are
required for the entire nonattainment area, i.e., Kent and
New Castle Counties.  Thus, for Delaware's 1996 RPP, the
total required emission reduction (ER1996) in TPD is

ER1996 = EMIS1990-Adj x 15% = 136.253 x
15% = 20.438 TPD

where EMIS1990-Adj is the adjusted 1990
baseline VOC emissions as shown in Table 2.  The VOC
emission target level in 1996 RPP in TPD is

EMIS1996T = EMIS1990-Adj - ER1996 =136.253
- 20.438 = 115.815 TPD

2.2.2  Control Measures and Expected VOC
Emissions in 1996 RPP

To achieve the 1996 VOC emission target
determined in the previous subsection, Delaware proposed
numerous control measures in its 1996 RPP.  The control
measures included federal mandatory rules and Delaware's
regulations to be promulgated prior to the peak ozone season
of 1996 (Reference 5).   These rules and regulations cover a
large variety of VOC emission sources in all source sectors.
A list of the control measures, along with their
implementation dates, is given in Table 3.  Detailed
descriptions of individual rules and regulations have been
presented in Delaware 1996 RPP (Reference 3).

In the 1996 RPP, Delaware also projected the
1996 VOC emissions in the peak ozone season assuming all
control measures listed in Table 3 could be implemented as
expected.  The projections were termed as "control strategy
projections" and conducted following the methods and
procedures specified in EPA's guidance documents
(References 4, 6, 7, 8, 9).  In the projection calculations,
factors such as growth, control efficiency, rule effectiveness,
and rule penetration, were considered whenever appropriate
for point sources, stationary area sources and non-road
mobile sources.  Emission projections for on-road mobile
sources were conducted using EPA's MOBILE5a software.
Details of the control strategy projections were presented in

the 1996 RPP (Reference 3).  A summary of the 1996 VOC
control strategy emission projections is given in Table 4.  

Table 4 indicates that the total VOC emissions
projected for Delaware's entire nonattainment area (Kent and
New Castle Counties) would be 115.336 TPD, which was
smaller than the 1996 target level of 115.815 TPD.  Thus, it
was concluded in the 1996 RPP that the proposed control
measures could be adequate and enough for Delaware to
meet the 15% rate-of-progress requirement on VOC
emission reductions.

Table 3. Control Measures Proposed in Delaware's 1996 
RPP

Control Measures and Regulations Creditability Effective
Date

Point Source Controls

RACT "Catch-Ups" in Kent County:

     Solvent Metal Cleaning Creditable 31-May-95

     Surface Coating of Metal Furniture Creditable 31-May-95

     Leaks from Synthetic Organic
Chemical,

Creditable 31-May-95

        Polymer, and Resin Manufact.
Equip.

New RACT Regulations:

     Bulk Gasoline Marine Tank Vessel
Loading Facilities

Creditable 31-Dec-95

     SOCMI Reactor Processes and
Distillation Operations

Creditable 1-Apr-96

     Batch Processing Operations Creditable 1-Apr-96

     Offset Lithography      Creditable 1-Apr-96

     Aerospace Coatings Creditable 1-Apr-96

     Industrial Cleaning Solvents Creditable 29-Nov-94

     Non-CTG RACT   Creditable  31-May-95

Federal Benzene Waste Rule Creditable Spring 1995

Sanitary Landfills Creditable 9-Oct-93

Irreversible Process Changes Creditable 1-Jan-96

Stationary Area Source Controls

RACT "Catch-Ups" in Kent County:

     Solvent Metal Cleaning Creditable 31-May-95

     Cutback Asphalt                         Creditable   31-May-95
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Table 4. Delaware 1996 Control Strategy Projections for 
VOC Emissions (TPD)

2.3 Delaware 1993 and 1996 Periodic Emission
Inventories

Under Section 182(a) of the CAAA, Delaware is
required to compile comprehensive periodic emission
inventories of ozone precursors for 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002
and 2005.  The emission data in these periodic inventories
are either reported directly by individual sources (e.g., point
sources such as industrial facilities), or calculated from

current-year activity data obtained from sources or other
agencies (e.g., area sources).  Thus, the emissions in a
periodic inventory are considered actual emissions in the
subject calendar year.  Delaware's first periodic inventory
after 1990 is the 1993 periodic emission inventory (PEI),
which compiles emissions of VOC, NOx, and CO in 1993
from all sources included in the 1990 Base Year Emission
Inventory.  The 1993 PEI was submitted to EPA as a SIP
revision in January 1998 (Reference 10).  A summary of the
1993 PEI is presented in Appendix C.  The emissions in the
1993 PEI are reported on both an annual basis (in tons per
year, or TPY) and a daily basis in the peak ozone season (in
tons per day, or TPD).  For comparison purposes in this
document, daily anthropogenic VOC emissions in the peak
ozone season from Kent and New Castle Counties in the
1993 PEI are presented in Table 5. 

Table 5. Anthropogenic VOC Emissions (TPD) in 
Delaware's 1993 Periodic Emission Inventory

Delaware's 1996 periodic emission inventory (PEI)
compiles emissions of VOC, NOx, and CO in 1996 from all
sources included in the 1990 Base Year Emission Inventory.
The compilation of the 1996 PEI has been recently finished,
and will be submitted to EPA as a SIP revision in November
1999.   A summary of the 1996 PEI is provided in Appendix
D.  The emissions in the 1996 PEI are reported on both an
annual basis (in tons per year, or TPY) and a daily basis in
the peak ozone season (in tons per day, or TPD) (Reference
11).  For comparison purposes in this document, daily
anthropogenic VOC emissions in the peak ozone season
from Kent and New Castle Counties in the 1996 PEI are
presented in Table 6.  In the next section, emission data in
Table 6 will be used to conduct the 1996 milestone
compliance demonstration.

New RACT Regulations:

     Stage I Vapor Recovery-Gasoline
Dispensing Facilities 

Creditable 15-Nov-94

     Emulsified Asphalt Creditable 31-May-93

     Motor Vehicle Refinishing Creditable 1-Apr-96

     Offset Lithography Creditable 1-Apr-96

     Aerospace Coatings                       Creditable  1-Apr-96

     Stage II Vapor Recovery Creditable 15-Nov-94

     Open Burning Creditable 8-Feb-95

Off-Road Mobile Source Controls

Reformulated Fuel Creditable 1-Jan-95

On-Road Mobile Source Controls

FMVCP and RVP Noncreditable Pre-1990

Tier I Vehicle Emissions Standards Creditable Model Year
1994

  a. Basic I/M for Kent County Creditable 1-Jan-91

  b. ATP and Pressure Test in Kent
County

Creditable 1-Jan-95

ATP and Pressure Test in New Castle
County

Creditable 1-Jan-95

Reformulated Fuel Creditable 1-Jan-95

Source Sector Kent
County

New Castle
County

Total NAA

Point 1.268 21.391 22.659

Stationary Area 10.770 29.832 40.602

Off-Road Mobile 3.722 16.753 20.475

On-Road Mobile 8.030 23.570 31.600

Total Emission s 23.790 91.546 115.336

Source Sector Kent
County

New Castle
County

Total NAA

Point Sources 2.857 24.913 27.770

Stationary Area
Sources

11.749 35.271 47.020

Off-Road
Mobile Sources

3.671 16.824 20.495

On-Road
Mobile Sources

10.000 30.510 40.510

Total Emissions 28.277 107.518 135.795
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Table 6. Anthropogenic VOC Emissions (TPD) in 
Delaware's 1996 Periodic Emission Inventory

3. Delaware 1996 Milestone Compliance
Demonstration

3.1 Milestone Compliance Demonstration
In the 1996 RPP, Delaware has determined that the

1996 target level of VOC emissions for its nonattainment
area (i.e., Kent and New Castle Counties) would be 115.815
TPD in the peak ozone season.  Delaware has also assessed
that, through implementing necessary emission control
measures proposed in the 1996 RPP, the target level could be
achieved.  In the 1996 PEI, Delaware has shown that the
actual total VOC emission in 1996 is 101.870 TPD in the
peak ozone season.  The 1996 target level, the 1996 control
strategy projection, and the 1996 PEI actual emission are
summarized in Table 7.  Since the 1996 PEI actual VOC
emission is lower than the required target level, Delaware
demonstrates herein that its 1996 milestone for VOC
emission reductions has been successfully met.  
Table 7. Milestone Compliance Demonstration for 1996

3.2 Effectiveness of Control Measures in Individual
Source Sectors

In the 1996 RPP, Delaware has anticipated that
control measures proposed for individual source sectors
would lead to specific VOC emission levels in the
corresponding source sectors in the 1996 milestone year.
The anticipated VOC emission levels, or the control strategy
projections, for individual source sectors are summarized in
Table 8.  For comparison purposes, the 1996 PEI actual VOC
emission levels from individual source sectors are also listed
in Table 8.  In addition, differences between the 1996 RPP
anticipated emission levels and the 1996 PEI actual emission

levels are also presented in Table 8.  Comparison and
analysis of the 1996 RPP data and the 1996 PEI data will
help assess relative effectiveness of controls in individual
source sectors and direct future attention and efforts to VOC
emission controls.

From Table 8, it can be seen that the 1996 PEI
emissions from point and area source sectors are lower than
the 1996 RPP anticipated levels.  This fact reflects the
effectiveness of VOC emission controls, primarily those of
Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT),
implemented prior to the peak ozone season of 1996 upon
stationary point and area sources (Table 3).  In contrast, the
1996 PEI emissions from off-road and on-road mobile
sources are higher than the 1996 RPP anticipated emission
levels.  It should be noted that the off-road sector was the
least controlled sector in the 1996 RPP.  The only control
measure for this sector was the requirement of using
reformulated gasoline in gasoline-fueled off-road engines.
The VOC emission reduction from this sector was
anticipated to be only 0.509 TPD in the peak ozone season
(Reference 3).  Delaware speculates that the lack of effective
control measures over the off-road engines, especially diesel
engines, would be a major cause of not achieving the
anticipated VOC emission level in this source sector.  In
recent years, EPA has realized this lack of controls and
begun turning its attention to off-road mobile sources that
are believed to contribute significantly to air pollution
(Reference 12).  Delaware's finding provides supporting
evidence for EPA's efforts in controlling VOC emissions
from off-road mobile sources.

Table 8. Comparison of VOC Emissions between 1996 
RPP Control Strategy Projections and 1996 PEI Actual 

Emissions (TPD)

Source Sector Kent
County

New Castle
County

Total NAA

Point Sources 0.638 14.340 14.978

Stationary Area
Sources

6.301 25.905 32.206

Off-Road Mobile
Sources

4.030 17.046 21.076

On-Road Mobile
Sources

7.520 26.090 33.610

Total Emissions 18.489 83.381 101.870

1996 Required 1996 Control 1996 PEI

Emission Target
(TPD)

Strategy Projection
(TPD)

Actual Emission
(TPD)

115.815 115.336 101.870

1996
RPP

1996 PEI Difference

Source
Sector

(a) (b) (c)* (d)**

Point
Sources

22.659 14.978 -7.681 -33.9%

Stationary
Area

Sources

40.602 32.206 -8.396 -20.7%

Off-Road
Mobile

Sources

20.475 21.076 0.601 2.9%

On-Road
Mobile

Sources

31.600 33.610 2.010 6.4%
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*(c)=(b)-(a).  **(d)=(c)/(a).

The on-road mobile source sector has also shown a
higher-than-anticipated VOC emission level in the 1996 PEI
(Table 8).  A comparison of the mobile source emissions in
Table 4 and Table 6 by county indicates that the higher PEI
VOC emission is produced in New Castle County. A
contributing factor might be the increase in population.
According to Delaware Department of Transportation, an
unexpected population increase happened in New Castle
County in the 1990s, with an annual average of 0.8% higher
than that originally projected.  This population increase
caused an increase in VMT, especially in the employment-
based trips. 

As shown in Table 8, the total VOC emissions in
the 1996 PEI are 11.7% lower than the control strategy
projections calculated in the 1996 RPP.  This demonstrates
that the overall effectiveness of all control measures as a
whole in the main plan of the 1996 RPP has actually met the
15% rate-of-progress requirements for VOC emission
reductions.  Thus, there is no need to introduce any
additional controls specified in the contingency plan of the
1996 RPP (Reference 3).  The contingency measures thereof
can be then carried over to Delaware's next rate-of-progress
plan (i.e., the 1999 RPP), which will be addressed in a
separate SIP revision document.    

3.3  Trends of VOC Emissions from 1990 to 1996
Prior to the peak ozone season of the 1996

milestone year, Delaware implemented numerous control
measures over a large variety of VOC emission sources in its
nonattainment area  (Table 3).  The effectiveness of these
control measures has been discussed in the previous
subsection.  An analysis of emission trends from 1990 to
1996 will provide additional information in assessing the
effectiveness of these controls and understanding the
emission situations in individual source sectors.  For this
purpose, the actual anthropogenic VOC emissions from
Delaware 1990 base year inventory, the 1993 PEI and the
1996 PEI are summarized in Table 9.  

Table 9. Trends of Anthropogenic VOC Emissions in 
Delaware Nonattainment Area from 1990 Base Year to 

1996 Milestone Year

* % Change = (1996 PEI - 1990 Baseline)/1990 Baseline.

As shown in Table 9, the total anthropogenic VOC
emissions in Delaware's nonattainment area decreased
continuously from 1990 to 1996.  The total VOC emission
reported in the 1993 PEI is 6.9% lower than the 1990
baseline level.  The total VOC emission in the 1996 PEI is
30.2% lower than the 1990 baseline level.  The decreasing
trend in anthropogenic VOC emissions from 1990 to 1996 is
also plotted in Figure 2 using the total emission data in Table
9. The more rapid reduction between 1993 and 1996, as
shown in Figure 2, is due to the fact that a majority of
controls over VOC emissions were implemented in that
period (Table 3).

The anthropogenic VOC emissions from individual
source sectors are also summarized in Table 9.  The trends of
these emissions from 1990 to 1996 are plotted in Figure 3.
From Table 9 and Figure 3, it can be seen that VOC
emissions from point, stationary area and on-road mobile
source sectors show significant reductions of 50.4%, 31.7%
and 30.5%, respectively, from 1990 to 1996.  In contrast,
VOC emissions in the off-road mobile sector show an
unexpected 4.5% increase in this period.  Again, this
increase indicates that closer attention and more control
measures are needed in this source sector in Delaware's post-
1996 rate-of-progress planning. 

Figure 2. Trend of Total VOC Emissions in Delaware 
Nonattainment Area from the 1990 Base Year to the 1996 

Milestone Year

Total
Emissions

(TPD)

115.336 101.870 -13.466 -11.7%

VOC
Emissions

(TPD) %
Change*

Source
Sector

1990
Baseline

1993 PEI 1996
PEI

1990-
1996

Point Sources 30.180 27.770 14.978 -50.4%

Stationary
Area Sources

47.145 47.020 32.206 -31.7%

Off-Road
Mobile

Sources

20.168 20.495 21.076 4.5%

On-Road
Mobile

Sources

48.350 40.510 33.610 -30.5%

Total
Emissions

145.843 135.795 101.870 -30.2%
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4
.  

Figure 3. Comparison of Actual VOC Emissions in 
Individual Source Sectors in Delaware Nonattainment 

Area from 1990 to 1996

4.0 Documentation
APPENDIX A.  Summary of Delaware's 1990 Base

Year Emission Inventory
APPENDIX B.  Summary of Delaware's 1996 (15%)

Rate-of-Progress Plan
APPENIDX C.  Summary of Delaware's 1993 Periodic

Emission Inventory
APPENDIX D.  Summary of Delaware's 1996 Periodic

Emission Inventory

(Hard copies of these appendixes are available upon request.
Written requests should be addressed to Mr. A. Deramo,
Program Manager, SIP Development Program, PCP-AQM-
DAWM, DNREC, 156 South State Street, Dover, DE 19901,
or at e-mail address: aderamo@dnrec.state.de.us) 

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Chp. 60)

Secretary’s Order No.  2000-A-0007

Delaware’s 2002 Rate of Progress Plan for Kent and New 
Castle Counties for Demonstrating Progress Toward 

Attainment of the One-Hour National Ambient 
Air Quality Standard for Ground-Level Ozone

Date of Issuance: February 3, 2000
Effective Date of the Plan:March 13, 2000

I. Background
On Tuesday, August 3, 1999, beginning at 6:00 p.m., a

public hearing was held in the DNREC Auditorium at 89
Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.  The purpose of this
hearing was to receive public comment on the proposed
Delaware 2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan.  After the hearing,
and at the request of the Hearing Officer, the Department
submitted its evaluation of the technical evidence in the
record by memorandum (“AQM Technical Evidence
Memorandum”) to the Hearing Officer dated August 23,
1999.  The AQM Technical Evidence Memorandum is
expressly incorporated herein.  Thereafter, the Hearing
Officer prepared his report and recommendation in the form
of a memorandum to the Secretary dated September 14,
1999, and that memorandum is expressly incorporated
herein by reference.  

II. Findings and Conclusions
All of the findings and conclusions contained in the

Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated September 14, 1999,
are expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as
the findings and conclusions of the Secretary.  

III. Order
In view of the above, I hereby order that the 2002 Rate

of Progress Plan be adopted as proposed at the hearing.  

IV. Reasons
Delaware’s 2002 Rate of Progress Plan will further the

policies and purposes of 7 Del. C. Chapter 60, because the
Plan mandates implementation of an actual VOC or
equivalent NOX emission reduction of at least 3 percent per
year in Kent and New Castle Counties which will result in
progress toward attaining the 1-hour national ambient air
quality standard for ground level ozone.  The record
demonstrates that progress towards reaching the national
ambient air quality standard for ground-level ozone will
have a positive effect on the health of Delaware’s citizens
and the environment because high levels of ground-level
ozone can harm the respiratory system, cause breathing
problems, throat irritation, coughing, chest pains and greater
susceptibility to respiratory infection.  In addition, the record
demonstrates that Delaware is required by the federal Clean
Air Act to adopt a Plan to make progress towards national
ambient air quality standards. 

Nicholas A. DiPasquale
Secretary
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CMSA- Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area 
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DelDOT- Delaware Department of Transportation
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VOC- Volatile Organic Compound
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Planning and Standards, U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina 27711,
December 1993.

5.  Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution,
Air Quality Management Section, Division  of Air and Waste
Management, Delaware Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, March 1995.

6.  The Delaware 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent
and New Castle Counties, Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control, Dover, DE, December 1997.

7.   Amendments to The Delaware 1999 Rate-of-
Progress Plan for Kent and New Castle Counties,
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control, Dover, DE, April 1999.

8.  OTAG Draft Modeling Report, Regional and Urban
Scale Modeling Workgroup, Ozone Transport Assessment
Group, February 1997.

9.  Guidance on the Post-1996 Rate-of-Progress Plan
and the Attainment Demonstration, Ozone/Carbon
Monoxide Programs Branch, U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency, Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards,
Research Triangle Park, North Carolina 27711, February 18,
1994.

10. Population Projections, Version 1992.0, Delaware
Population Consortium, Dover, Delaware, January 1992.

11. BEA Regional Projections to 2040, Volumes I, II,
and III, U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic
Analysis (BEA), Washington, D.C., U.S. Government
Printing Office, October 1990.

12. Procedures for Preparing Emissions Projections,
EPA-450/4-91-019, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency,
Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, Research
Triangle Park, North Carolina, July 1991.

13. Guidance for Growth Factors, Projections, and
Control Strategies for the 15 Percent Rate-of-Progress Plans,
EPA-452/R-93-002, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency,
Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, Research
Triangle Park, North Carolina, March 1993.

14. Guidance for Estimating and Applying Rule
Effectiveness for Ozone/CO State Implementation Plan Base

Year Inventory, EPA-452/R-92-010, Office of Air Quality
and Standards, EPA, Research Triangle Park, NC, November
1992.

15. Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors. Vol.

1: Stationary Point and Area Sources. AP-42, 5th ed., Office
of Air Quality and Standards, EPA, Research Triangle Park,
NC, January 1995.

16. Memorandum of Understanding among the States of
the Ozone Transport Commission on Development of a
Regional Strategy Concerning the Control of Stationary
Source Nitrogen Oxide Emissions, Stationary and Area
Source Committee of Ozone Transport Commission (OTC),
Washington, D.C., September 1994. 

17. The 1990 OTC NOx Baseline Emission Inventory.
EPA-454/R-95-013, Office of Air Quality Planning and
Standards, US EPA, Research Triangle Park, NC, July 1995.

18. Delaware NOx Budget Program Regulation No. 37.
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control, Dover, DE, April 1999.

19. Alternative Control Techniques Document:
Automobile Refinishing, EPA-453/R-94-031, Office of Air
Quality Planning and Standards, US EPA, Research Triangle
Park, NC, April 1994.

20. Alternative Control Techniques Document: Offset
Lithographic Printing, EPA 453/R-94-054, Office of Air
Quality Planning and Standards, US EPA, Research Triangle
Park, NC, June 1994.

21. Regional Oxidant Modeling of the 1990 Clean Air
Act Amendments: Default Projection and Control Data,
Report No. 94.08.003/1731, prepared by E. H. Pechan &
Associates, Inc. for Richard A. Wayland, Environmental
Scientist, Source Receptor Analysis Branch, US EPA,
Research Triangle Park, NC, August 1994.

22. Procedures for Emission Inventory Preparation,
Volume IV: Mobile Sources, EPA-450/4-81-026d (Revised),
Office of Mobile Sources, US EPA, Ann Arbor, Michigan,
1992.

23. Regulatory Support Document: Phase 2 Emission
Standards for New Nonroad Spark-ignition Engines at of
below 19 Kilowatts. Office of Air and Radiation, US EPA,
Washington, D.C., December 1997. 

24. Regulatory Impact Analysis: Control of Air
Pollution Emission Standards for New Nonroad Spark-
Ignition Marine engines, Office of Air and Radiation, US
EPA, Washington, D.C., June 1996.

25. Final Regulatory Impact Analysis: Control of
Envisions from Nonroad Diesel Engines, Engine Program
and Compliance Division, Office and Air and Radiation, and
Office of Mobile Sources, US EPA, August 1998.

26. Technical Highlights Report: Emission Factors for
Locomotives, EPA420-F-97-051, Office of Mobile sources,
US EPA, Ann Arbor, MI, December 1997.

INTRODUCTION 
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1.  Background

This document contains the summary of Delaware’s
State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision for the milestone
year of 2002 to address adequate rate of progress toward
attainment of the 1-hour ozone National Ambient Air
Quality Standard (NAAQS) as set forth in the Clean Air Act

Amendments of 1990 (hereafter referred to as CAAA)1.  The
plan is hereafter referred to as “Delaware 2002 Rate-of-
Progress Plan”, or simply as “the 2002 RPP”.

The CAAA sets forth National Ambient Air Quality
Standards for six air pollutants that pose public health risks
and environmental threats.  Delaware exceeds the standard
for only one of these pollutants, i.e., the ground level ozone.
High levels of ozone can harm the respiratory system and
cause breathing problems, throat irritation, coughing, chest
pains, and greater susceptibility to respiratory infection.
High levels of ozone also cause serious damage to forests
and agricultural crops, resulting in economic losses to
logging and farming operations. Ozone is generally not
directly emitted to the atmosphere, but formed in the
atmosphere by chemical reactions between volatile organic
compounds (VOC), nitrogen oxides (NOx), and carbon
monoxide (CO) in the presence of sunlight.  Consequently,
in order to reduce ozone concentrations, the CAAA requires
specific amounts of reductions in anthropogenic VOC
emissions and/or NOx emissions over a specified period of
years until the ozone standard is attained.  These periodic
emission reductions are termed as “rate of progress” toward
the attainment of the ozone NAAQS.  

The CAAA defines five nonattainment classifications
for areas that exceed the 1-hour ozone NAAQS based on the
severity of the pollution problem.  In order of increasing
severity, they are marginal, moderate, serious, severe, and
extreme.  Attainment dates depend on the classification

designation for individual areas.2 The CAAA also
establishes the Ozone Transport Region (hereafter referred to
as OTR) where the interstate transport of air pollutants from
one or more states contributes significantly to violations of
the ozone NAAQS in one or more other states. This single
transport region for ozone includes the states of Delaware,
Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New

Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode
Island, Vermont, and the Consolidated Metropolitan
Statistical Area (CMSA) that includes the District of

Columbia.3  The OTR includes the Philadelphia
Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area (CMSA) which
is classified as a severe nonattainment area (Figure 1).  As
shown in Figure 1, Kent and New Castle Counties in
Delaware fall within the Philadelphia CMSA.  Thus, these
two counties are subject to all requirements set forth for the
severe ozone nonattainment class. All discussions and data
presented in this summary document and the 2002 RPP
apply only to Kent and New Castle Counties.

Section 182 (d) of the CAAA requires states to submit a
State Implementation Plan  (SIP) to the United  States
Environmental  Protection  Agency  (EPA),  for  each  ozone
nonattainment  area 

Figure 1.  Philadelphia Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical

Area (CMSA) Nonattainment Area.4

classified as severe or above,  that achieves a 15% net
reduction,  by November 15, 1996,  of actual anthropogenic
(human-caused) volatile organic compound (VOC)
emissions.  In addition to the 15% reduction, Section 182(d)
also requires states to submit SIP revisions that achieve an
actual VOC emission reduction of at least 3% per year

1.  

Federal Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C.A. 7401 et seq., 
as amended by the Clean Air Act Amendments 
of 1990, P.L. 101-549, November 15, 1990. 

2.  

Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, Title 1, 
Part  D, Section 181.

3. Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, Title 1, 
Part  D, Section 184 (a).
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averaged over each consecutive 3-year period beginning
November 15, 1996, until the area’s applicable attainment
date.  These rate-of-progress emission reductions are based
on the states’ 1990 emission levels.  The SIP revision for the
1990-1996 reductions is termed as “15% Rate-of-Progress
Plan (RPP)” and the plans for an average 3% per year
reduction over each 3-year period after 1996 is termed as
“Post-1996 Rate-of-Progress Plans”.  The CAAA also
provides for crediting of VOC emissions reductions
achieved in the 1990-1996 period to the post-1996 rate-of-
progress plans if they are in excess of the 15% VOC
reductions requirement, and substitution of any
anthropogenic nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions reductions,
net of growth, occurring in the post-1990 period for the post-
1996 VOC emission reduction requirements. In addition to
the average annual 3% VOC/NOx emission reduction,
Section 182(d) of CAAA also requires the States to provide
for photochemical grid modeling demonstrations for the
attainment of ozone NAAQS by the applicable attainment
date.

Through a memorandum dated on March 2, 1995, from
Mary D. Nichols, Assistant Administrator for Air and
Radiation, EPA provides for the States with serious and
above ozone nonattainment areas a two-phased approach to

the post-1996 RPPs.1  Briefly, in Phase I, the States are
required to develop a plan for the milestone year of 1999
which includes necessary control measures to achieve a 9%
reduction of VOC and/or NOx emissions between 1996 and
1999.  In Phase II, the States are required to assess the
regional and local control measures necessary to meet the
rate-of-progress requirements and achieve attainment.  On
December 23, 1997, EPA provided further guidance, along
with a memorandum from Richard D. Wilson, Acting
Assistant Administrator of Air and Radiation, on how to

prepare the Phase II submittal.2 

2.  Delaware State Implementation Plan Submittals
All the rate-of-progress emission reductions

aforementioned are based on the States’ 1990 emission
levels.  Delaware’s 1990 Base Year Ozone Emission
Inventory, which is an inventory of the 1990 actual VOC,
NOx, and CO emissions from all sources in Delaware, was
submitted to EPA as a SIP revision on May 27, 1994, and
was approved by EPA on March 25, 1996. Since the ozone
NAAQS attainment date for Kent and New Castle Counties
is 2005, Delaware is required to submit the 15% RPP, and
RPPs for three post-1996 milestone years, i.e., 1999, 2002,
and 2005.  Delaware’s 15% RPP was submitted to EPA as a
SIP revision in February 1995.  In this plan, Delaware
showed that, by implementing necessary control measures,
the required 15% VOC emission reduction could be
successfully met by 1996.  The 15% RPP was conditionally
approved by EPA in May 1997.  Delaware’s 1999 RPP, the
first post-1996 SIP revision developed according to the
Phase I requirements set forth in the Nichols’ Memorandum
(please see Footnote 4), was submitted to EPA in December,
1997.  In June 1999, Delaware submitted to EPA the
Amendments of the 1999 RPP.  In the 1999 RPP (as
amended in [April June] 1999), Delaware shows that the
9% VOC and/or NOx emission reductions required for the
1996-1999 period can be successfully met by implementing
additional control measures in this time period. Delaware
also demonstrates that an additional 3% VOC/NOx emission
reduction can be achieved, without further rulemaking
activities, to meet the contingency requirements specified by

EPA.3  In May 1998, Delaware submitted to EPA the Phase
II attainment demonstration document based on EPA’s
guidance.  In this Phase II document, Delaware makes a
commitment to submit a SIP revision to EPA before the end
of 2000 to address the emission reductions for the post-1999
rate-of-progress milestone years up to the attainment date for
the 1-hour ozone NAAQS (Delaware’s attainment date for
the 1-hour ozone NAAQS is 2005).   Both Phase I and Phase
II submittals are currently under EPA’s review.

On July 18, 1997, EPA revised the 1-hour ozone

NAAQS with an 8-hour standard at a level of 0.08 ppm.4
4.  This map is adapted from Major CO, NO2 and

VOC Sources in the 25-Mile Boundary Around
Ozone Nonattainment Areas, Volume 1: Classi-
fied Ozone Nonattainment Area,EPA/4-92-005a,
U.S. Environment Protection Agency, Office of
Air Quality Planning and Standards, Office of
Air and Radiation, Research Triangle Park, NC,
February, 1992.

1. Memorandum: Ozone Attainment Demonstra-
tions, Mary D. Nichols, Assistant Administrator
for Air and Radiation, U.S. EPA, Washington,
D.C. 20460, March 2, 1995.

2. Memorandum and Guidance for Implementing
the 1-Hour Ozone and Pre-Existing PM10

NAAQS, Richard D. Wilson, Acting Assistant
Administrator for Air and Radiation, U.S. EPA,
Washington, D.C. 20460, December 23, 1997.

3. Guidance on the Post-1996 Rate-of-Progress
Plan and the Attainment Demonstration,  Office
of Air Quality Planning and Standards, US EPA,
Research Triangle Park, NC, February 1994.
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However, the 1-hour standard will continue to apply to a
nonattainment area for an interim period until EPA makes a
determination that the area has air quality meeting the 1-hour
standard.  As a consequence, the provisions of Section 182
of the CAAA will continue to apply to the subject
nonattainment areas until EPA makes determinations that
these areas have met the 1-hour ozone standard (please see
Footnote 5).  The continuation of the 1-hour standard
requires that Delaware submit to EPA, before the end of
2000, fully adopted Rate-of-Progress Plans for the milestone
year of 2002 and for the milestone year of 2005.  Delaware
2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan is for the milestone year of
2002.  Delaware’s 2005 Rate-of-Progress plan will be
addressed in a separate SIP revision.

3.  Organization of the 2002 RPP

The 2002 RPP is a fully-adopted Rate-of-Progress Plan
with (a) emission target calculations for the milestone year
of 2002, and (b) all control measures and regulations
adopted and/or to be adopted as necessary to achieve the
rate-of-progress requirements set forth for 2002. In general,
the document contains five parts as explained below. 

Part I.  The 1990 Base Year Inventory Summary and
2002 Target Levels of  VOC and NOx Emissions
 

The 2002 Target Levels of VOC and NOx Emissions are
the maximum amounts of anthropogenic VOC and NOx
emissions allowed in the years of 2002 in Kent and New
Castle Counties in order to meet the 3% per year VOC/NOx
reduction requirements.  As previously mentioned, the basis
for calculating the these target levels is the 1990 Base Year
Emission Inventory, which is an inventory of actual VOC,
NOx, and CO emissions that occurred in Delaware in 1990.
Section 182(c)(2)(C) of CAAA allows NOx reductions that
occur after 1990 to be used to meet the post-1996 rate of
progress requirements. The condition for meeting the rate-
of-progress requirements is that the sum of all creditable
VOC and NOx emissions must equal 3% per year averaged
over the applicable milestone period.  In the event of NOx
substitution, separate target levels of emissions will have to
be calculated for VOC and NOx.  Part I presents a summary
of the 1990 Base Year Inventory and presents also the 6-step

process for determining the 2002 Target Levels of VOC
emissions with and without NOx substitution.  

Part II.The 2002 Current Control Projection Inventory
& Required VOC and NOx Emission Reductions 

The Current Control Projections are estimates of the
amount of VOC and NOx emissions that will occur in 2002,
taking into account the effects of economic growth, and
assuming no new emission control measures would be
implemented between 1990 and the corresponding milestone
year, i.e., 2002.  The purpose of calculating the 2002 Current
Control Projection Inventory is to determine the amount of
growth in VOC and NOx emissions by 2002 that must be
offset. Part II discusses the methodology used to develop
2002 growth factors and shows how the growth factors are
used to determine the 2002 Current Control Projection
Inventory.  
    
Part III.The 2002 Control Strategy Projection Inventory
and Emission Control Measures 

The 2002 Control Strategy Projections are estimates of
the amount of VOC and NOx emissions that will occur in

2002, taking into account the effects of economic growth and
continued benefits of control strategies in the 15% RPP and
the 1999 RPP, and including the benefits from new control
measures that will be implemented during the 1999-2002
period. The purpose of calculating the 2002 Control Strategy
Projection Inventory is to determine if the new national,
regional and state level control measures, which will be
implemented between 1999 and 2002 will reduce VOC and/
or NOx emissions sufficiently to offset growth and to meet
the 2002 Target Levels of VOC and NOx emissions
calculated in Part I.  Part III discusses the methodology used
to develop the 2002 Control Strategy Projection Inventory
and presents the individual control measures to be
implemented by 2002 with their associated VOC and NOx
emissions reductions. 

Part IV.  Contingency Plan for the 2002 RPP 

Contingency measures are required by the CAAA to be
included in the rate-of-progress plans to remedy the state’s
failure to meet the emission reduction target in a milestone
year.   The CAAA requires that, in the event of such a
failure, the contingency measures can be implemented (1)
without any further rulemaking actions by the state, and (2)
to achieve an additional 3% emission reduction over the

4. Environmental Protection Agency: National
Ambient Air Quality Standard for Ozone; Final
Rule. Federal Register, Vol. 62, No. 138, Friday,
July 18, 1997.
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1990 baseline level.  Part IV discusses the contingency
measures and the potential emission reductions associated
with each measure.

Part V.  Documentation

Numerous appendices are included in this part to
backup the discussion and conclusions in Part I through Part
IV. These appendices include background information,
emission data, projection methodologies and calculations,
relevant guidance memorandums from EPA, and other
references cited in Part I through Part IV. 

It should be pointed out that there exist minute
discrepancies among numbers in various parts in this plan.
These discrepancies are due to rounding errors in
calculations and are of a magnitude of  +0.001 TPD.  These
discrepancies do not affect the final calculation results and
the conclusions of the plan.   

4.  Responsibilities

The agency with direct responsibility for preparing and
submitting the 2002 RPP is the Delaware Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control  (DNREC),
Division of Air and Waste Management, Air Quality
Management Section (AQM), under the direction of Darryl
D. Tyler, Program Administrator.  The Delaware Department
of Transportation (DelDOT), in conjunction with the
consulting firm Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc. (VHB),
Watertown, MA, is responsible for performing the work
associated with the on-road mobile source portions of this
document. Various other Delaware agencies, including the
Department of Labor, the Department of Public Safety, and
the Department of Agriculture, provide information used in
some portions of this document.  These agencies will be
referred to and acknowledged in appropriate locations in the
document.

The working responsibility for Delaware’s air quality
planning falls within the Planning and Community
Protection Branch of the Air Quality Management Section of
DNREC, under the management of Raymond H. Malenfant,
Program Manager.  Alfred R. Deramo, Program Manager of
Emissions Research, Planning and Attainment Group within
the Planning and Community Protection Branch, is the
project manager and chief editor of the 2002 RPP.  Joseph
Cantalupo, Manager of DelDOT's Intergovernmental
Coordination Section, Office of Planning, is responsible for
managing the work associated with the on-road mobile
source portions of this plan.  Thomas F. Wholley, Director of
Air Quality Services, Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc., is

responsible for contract work associated with the on-road
mobile source portions of this plan.

The following personnel of the Emissions Research,
Planning and Attainment Group under Alfred R. Deramo are
instrumental in preparing this plan:

Project Leader and Principal Author:
Frank F. Gao, Ph.D., P.E., Environmental Engineer.

Quality Assurance Reviewer:
Mohammed A. Mazeed, Ph.D., P.E., Environmental

Engineer.
Technical Supporting Staff:

Point sources: Kevin D. Yingling, Environmental
Scientist.

Marian A. Hitch, Senior Environmental
Compliance Specialist.

Area Sources:Jack L. Sipple, Environmental Scientist.
Mark D. Eastburn, Environmental Scientist.

Off-Road Mobile Sources:Margaret A. Jenkins,
Environmental Scientist.

On-Road Mobile Sources:Mark H. Glaze, Resource
Planner.

PART  I 
THE 1990 BASE YEAR INVENTORY SUMMARY 

AND  THE 2002 TARGET LEVELS OF VOC AND NOx 
EMISSIONS

Under the rate-of-progress provisions in Section 182(d)
of the CAAA, Delaware is required to achieve an average
3% per year VOC emission reduction from the 1990 baseline
emission levels in Kent and New Castle Counties in the
milestone period of 1999-2002.  In order to determine
necessary and adequate control strategies for achieving the
required emission reductions in the 2002 RPP, the target
level of VOC emissions in the milestone year of 2002 must
first be calculated.  In addition, Section 182(c)(2)(C) of the
CAAA permits the substitution of NOx emission reductions
for the post-1996 VOC emission reductions required for the
adequate rate-of-progress.  Such NOx substitutions for VOC
emission reductions require the calculation of the 2002 target
level of NOx emissions.  

The 3% per year rate-of-progress reductions in VOC
and NOx emissions for the 1999-2002 period are determined
from the 1990 Base Year Inventory after the inventory is
adjusted for non-creditable emission reductions due to (1)
Federal Motor Vehicle Control Program (FMVCP) tailpipe
or evaporative standards promulgated prior to 1990, (2)
Federal regulations specifying Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP)
limits on gasoline for nonattainment areas, (3) State
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regulations required to correct deficiencies in Reasonably
Available Control Technology (RACT) rules, and (4) State
regulations required to establish or correct Inspection and
Maintenance (I/M) programs. In this part of the 2002 RPP, a
summary of the 1990 Base Year Inventory for Kent and New
Castle Counties is first presented, followed by the
procedures and calculations for estimating the 2002 target
levels of VOC emissions with and without NOx substitution.

1.1.  The 1990 Base Year Inventory Summary

The rate-of-progress provisions in the CAAA require
states in nonattainment areas to submit to the EPA a current
inventory of actual emissions from all sources of relevant

pollutants.1  This inventory is to be used as the basis for
determining required emissions reductions.  The calendar
year 1990 is the time frame for this current emissions
inventory which is called the 1990 Base Year Ozone State
Implementation Plan (SIP) Emissions Inventory. Delaware’s
1990 Base Year Inventory was submitted to the EPA as a SIP

revision on May 27, 1994, and approved by EPA on March
25, 1996 (Reference 1, hereafter referred to as Delaware’s
1990 Base Year Inventory).  

The 1990 Base Year Inventory is categorized into point,
stationary area, off-road mobile, on-road mobile and
biogenic sources of emissions.  Volatile organic compounds
(VOC), nitrogen oxides (NOx), and carbon monoxide (CO)
are the ozone precursor emissions reported for each category
in the 1990 Base Year Inventory.  Because CO is only
marginally reactive in producing ozone, the CO component
of the 1990 Base Year Inventory is not included in the rate-
of-progress requirements.  Therefore, only the VOC and
NOx components of the 1990 Base Year Inventory are
summarized in this part, as shown in Table 1.  The values in
Table 1-1 are reported in tons per day in the peak ozone
season.  The peak ozone season for Delaware is defined as
from June 1 through August 31. 

Table 1
1990 Base Year Inventory Summary of VOC and NOx 
Emissions (in TPD ) by County in Peak Ozone Season

The percent VOC contribution of each source sector
listed in Table 1 to the total VOC emissions from Kent and
New Castle Counties is shown in Figure 2.  These relative
proportions are shown for the total inventory of all sources,
as well as for the anthropogenic inventory that excludes
biogenic emissions.  The anthropogenic inventory is the
inventory from which the Base Year Inventory is adjusted
and the 2002 Target Levels of VOC (and NOx) emissions are
calculated.

The percent NOx contribution of each source sector
listed in Table 1 to the total NOx emissions from Kent and

New Castle Counties is shown in Figure 3.  All NOx
emissions in the 1990 Base Year Inventory are from
anthropogenic sources.  The NOx emissions from biogenic
sources are considered negligible and are not included in the
1990 Base Year Inventory.

The 1990 Base Year emissions data were downloaded
from the EPA’s Aerometric Information Retrieval System
(AIRS) to a PC work file for the purpose of developing the
15% Rate-of-Progress Plan, the 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan,
and this 2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan. A more detailed
explanation of the 1990 Base Year Inventory data and the
methods used to develop the data is contained in Delaware’s

1. 9  CAAA, Title I, Part D, Sec. 172(c)(3) and Sec. 
182.

Kent
      New Castle Total NAA

Source Category VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Point Sources 3.242 6.130 27.078 85.767 30.320 91.897

Stationary Area
Sources

12.967 1.202 34.754 5.398 47.721 6.600

Off-Road Mobile
Sources

3.494 7.891 16.674 18.777 20.168 26.668

On-Road Mobile
Sources

13.07 10.62 35.28 27.06 48.35 37.68

Biogenic Sources* 32.46 0.00 17.51 0.00 49.97 0.00

Total Emissions 65.233 25.843 131.296 137.002 196.52
9

162.845
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1990 Base Year Ozone SIP Emissions Inventory for VOC,
CO, and NOx, Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control, Air Quality Management Section,
Dover, DE, as revised in May 1994 (Reference 1).

 

Figure 2.  Contribution of Source Components to Total 
1990 Base Year VOC Emissions in Delaware’s Non-

Attainment Area (NAA). 

Figure 3. Contribution of Source Components to Total 
1990 Base Year VOC Emissions in Delaware’s Non-

Attainment Area (NAA).

1.2.  Guidance for Calculating Emission Target Levels
for Post-1996 Milestone Years

The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) is the
principal guidance for determining the target levels of VOC
and NOx emissions in a state’s Rate-of-Progress Plans
(RPP).  Based on the CAAA, EPA has issued various
guidance documents for States to follow in their RPP
development.  This section of the 2002 RPP briefly outlines
the requirements and procedures specified in the CAAA and
relevant EPA guidance documents for determining emission
target levels in the rate-of-progress milestone years. 

The target levels of VOC and NOx emissions for a
milestone year is the maximum amount of total
anthropogenic VOC and NOx emission to be allowed for the
entire subject nonattainment area (NAA) in that specific
milestone year.  The CAAA sets forth restrictions on certain
control measures toward the VOC emission reductions to
meet the rate-of-progress requirements. Briefly, all real,
permanent, and enforceable post-1990 VOC emission
reductions are creditable toward the rate-of-progress
reductions except (1) the Federal Motor Vehicle Control
Program (FMVCP) tailpipe or evaporative standards
promulgated prior to 1990, (2) the Federal Regulations
specifying Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP) limits for gasoline for
nonattainment areas, (3) the State regulations required to
correct deficiencies in Reasonably Available Control
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Technology (RACT) rules, and (4) the State regulations
required to establish or correct vehicle Inspection and

Maintenance (I/M) programs.1  After adjustments for these
non-creditable emission reductions and for emissions of any
photochemically non-reactive VOCs such as
perchloroethylene (PERC), the 1990 Base Year Inventory for
Anthropogenic Emissions is termed as the 1990 Adjusted
Base Year (or Baseline) Inventory.  This adjusted baseline
inventory forms the basis for determining the rate-of-
progress (i.e., percentage) emission reductions, and the
corresponding emission target levels for individual
milestone years.  The basic procedures for developing the
adjusted base year inventory are outlined in an EPA
document entitled “Guidance on the Adjusted Base Year
Emissions Inventory and the 1996 Target for the 15 Percent
Rate-of-Progress Plans” (Reference 2, hereafter referred to
as The Guidance on the Adjusted Base Year Inventory).

For the milestone year of 1996, the target level is
required for VOC emissions only.  This can be done by
multiplying the VOC emission level in the 1990 Adjusted
Base Year Inventory by 15% to obtain the required emission
reduction, and subtracting it from the 1990 adjusted level.
Details of Delaware’s 1996 emission target calculations can
be found in The Delaware 15% Rate-of-Progress Plan,
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control, Dover, DE, February, 1995
(Reference 3).  For the post-1996 milestone years, the target
levels are to be calculated for VOC emissions, as well as for
NOx emissions if NOx substitution is selected by states to
meet the required rate-of-progress reductions.  Section
182(c)(2)(C) of the CAAA allows states to use actual NOx
emission reductions obtained after 1990 to meet the post-
1996 VOC emission reduction requirements.  If a state
chooses to substitute its NOx emission reductions for VOC
emission reductions, such substitution must meet the criteria
outlined in the EPA’s NOx Substitution Guidance (Reference
4).  These criteria are (1) the sum of all creditable VOC and
NOx emission reductions must equal 3% per year averaged
over each applicable milestone period, and (2) the overall
VOC and NOx emission reductions must be consistent with
the area’s modeled attainment demonstration.  The second
criterion, i.e., the consistency requirement, is modified by a

policy memorandum issued by EPA on July 12, 1994.2  The
modification requires that (1) the State must have adopted
RACT regulations for NOx emission control, and (2) the
State must demonstrate, through modeling of at least one

episode with photochemical Urban Airshed Modeling
(UAM) or Regional Oxidant Modeling (ROM), the
usefulness of NOx controls in reducing the ground-level
ozone concentrations.   The State of Delaware satisfies these
two requirements.  Delaware adopted NOx RACT
regulations on November 24, 1993 and these regulations
became effective on May 31, 1995 (Reference 5).  The
Sensitivity Analysis conducted by Rutgers University for the
Philadelphia-New Jersey UAM Airshed has demonstrated
that as much as 75% of VOC and 75% of NOx reductions
could be necessary for the entire domain to achieve the
ground-level ozone standard.  Details of this analysis are
presented in The Delaware 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan for
Kent and New Castle Counties, Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control, Dover, DE, as
amended in June 1999 (References 6 and 7).  Delaware’s two
nonattainment counties (i.e., Kent and New Castle) are
included in the modeled airshed domain.  In addition, the
Regional and Urban Scale Modeling (RUSM) performed by
Ozone Transport Assessment Group (OTAG) has shown that
NOx emission and transport controls are crucial for
Delaware to reach attainment of the ozone standard
(Reference 8). Therefore, Delaware meets the consistency
requirement and can choose to control NOx emissions and
substitute NOx emission reductions for VOC emission
reductions to meet the rate-of-progress requirements.

To determine the control strategies for achieving a 9%
VOC/NOx emission reduction for each 3-year period after
1996, the target levels of VOC and NOx emissions for the
three post-1996 milestone years (i.e., 1999, 2002, and 2005
for Delaware) need to be calculated.  For these post-1996
milestone years, the target levels of VOC and NOx
emissions for a subject milestone year depend on the target
levels in the previous milestone year.  According to EPA’s
Guidance on the Post-1996 Rate-of-Progress Plan and the
Attainment Demonstration (Reference 9, hereafter referred
to as The Guidance on the Post-1996 RPP), the following
equation must be used for calculating emission target levels
for a subject milestone year 

(1)

where:

1.  Clean Air Act amendment of 1990, Title I, Part 
D, Section 182(b)(1)(D).

2. Memorandum: Clarification of Policy for Nitro-
gen Oxides (NOx) Substitution, John S. Seitz,
Director, Office of Air Quality Planning and
Standards, US EPA, July 12, 1994, included in
Appendix H.

TL TL BG FT
x y r x

= − −
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x = subject milestone year (e.g., 2002),
y = previous milestone year (e.g., 1999),
TLx = target level of emissions for year x,

TLy = target level of emissions for year y,

BGr = Emission reduction required for year y,

FTx = Fleet turnover correction for year y to year x.

1.3.  The 2002 Target Levels of VOC and NOx Emissions

From Equation (1), it can be seen that the target level of
VOC and NOx emissions for a subject milestone year (i.e.,
2002) is calculated by subtracting, from the target levels in
the previous milestone year (i.e., 1999), the required rate-of-
progress emission reductions (i.e., 9% for the period of
1999-2002) and the fleet turnover correction for the
corresponding milestone period. There are six major steps in
calculating the target level of emissions for the milestone
year 2002.  The first four steps are needed to calculate the
required rate-of-progress emission reductions, the fifth step
is to calculate the fleet turnover corrections, and the last step
is to obtain the target level. 

Step 1.  Development of the 1990 Base Year
Inventory

The 1990 Base Year Inventory has been fulfilled in
Delaware’s 1990 Base Year Ozone SIP Emission Inventory
(Reference 1).  A summary by source sector of the 1990
Base Year Inventory of VOC and NOx emissions in
Delaware’s two severe nonattainment counties (Kent and
New Castle) has been presented in Table 1. 

Step 2.  Development of the 1990 Rate-of-Progress or
Baseline Inventory

The 1990 Baseline Inventory is the “baseline” from
which Delaware calculates the 9% rate-of-progress emission
reductions for the subject 1999-2002 milestone period. This
baseline inventory accounts for only anthropogenic
emissions from sources within Kent and New Castle
Counties.  Therefore, this baseline inventory is obtained by
removing, from the 1990 Base Year Inventory, (1) biogenic
emissions, (2) any emissions from sources outside Kent and
New Castle Counties, and (3) the non-reactive
perchloroethylene (PERC) emissions (for VOC inventory
only). Delaware’s 1990 Base Year Inventory for Kent and
New Castle Counties (see Table 1) does not include
emissions from any outside sources.  It does include,
however, the biogenic and PERC emissions.

Perchloroethylene was originally classified by EPA as a
photochemically reactive VOC for emission inventory
purposes.  The EPA reclassified PERC as photochemically
non-reactive after Delaware’s 1990 Base Year Inventory was
compiled.  Because only the photochemically reactive VOCs
participate in the formation of ozone, the PERC emissions,
which are now considered not participating in the formation
of ozone, need to be subtracted from the 1990 Base Year
Inventory.  Calculations for the 1990 Baseline Inventory for
VOC emissions are shown below. 

1990 Base Year Total VOC Emissions (Kent and New
Castle Counties Only):

65.233 TPD (Kent) + 131.296 TPD (New Castle) =
196.529 TPD
 
Emissions from Outside Nonattainment Area:   None

1990 Base Year Total Biogenic VOC Emissions:
32.460 TPD (Kent) + 17.510 TPD (New Castle) =

49.970 TPD

1990 Base Year Total PERC Emissions (See Appendix
A): 0.716 TPD

1990 Baseline VOC Emissions  = 1990 Base Year
Inventory - (Outside Emissions + Biogenic Emissions +
PERC Emissions) = 196.529 - (0 + 49.970 + 0.716) =
145.843 TPD

The 1990 Baseline Inventory for NOx emissions will be
the same as the 1990 Base Year Inventory (Table 1), since
(1) biogenic NOx emissions are negligible, (2) there are no
NOx emissions from outside sources in the 1990 Base Year
Inventory, and (3) correction for PERC emissions does not
apply to NOx emissions.  The 1990 Baseline Inventory for
both VOC and NOx emissions is summarized in Table 2. 

Table 2
1990 Baseline Inventory Summary for VOC and NOx 

Emissions (in TPD) 

            Kent
New

Castl
e

Total NA
A

Source
Sector

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Point
Sources

3.242 6.130 26.93
8

85.7
67

30.180 91.8
97
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Step 3.  Development of the 1990 Adjusted Baseline
Inventory

According to Section 182(b)(1)(D) of the CAAA,
emission reductions resulted from the Federal Motor Vehicle
Control Program (FMVCP) and Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP)
regulations promulgated prior to 1990 are not creditable for
achieving the adequate rate- of-progress emission
reductions.  Therefore, the 1990 Baseline Inventory needs to
be adjusted by subtracting the VOC (and NOx) emission
reductions that are expected to occur between 1990 and the
subject milestone year 2002 due to the FMVCP and RVP
regulations.  The result of this adjustment is called “the 1990
Adjusted Baseline Inventory relative to 2002”.     

The FMVCP/RVP VOC and NOx emission reductions
that are expected to occur between 1990 and a subject
milestone year are determined using the on-road mobile
source emission modeling software (MOBILE5a) provided
by EPA.  The MOBILE5a input and output files for the 1990
Adjusted Baseline Inventory for on-road mobile sources are
provided by Delaware Department of Transportation
(DelDOT), through its contractor, Vanasse Hangen Brustlin,
Inc., Watertown, MA (hereafter referred to as VHB).  These
files are included in Appendix B of the 2002 RPP.  The
calculations and results for the non-creditable FMVCP/RVP
emission reductions for the target years of 1999 and 2002 are
presented in Table 3.

Table 3
Non-Creditable FMVCP/RVP Emission Reductions (in 

TPD)

 
The 1990 Adjusted Baseline Inventory relative to a

subject milestone year is obtained by subtracting the
corresponding FMVCP/RVP emission reductions from the
1990 Baseline Inventory presented in Step 2.  The
calculations and results are shown in Table 4.  This all-
source adjusted inventory is the baseline for calculating the
required rate-of-progress emission reductions, as shown in
the next step.

Step 4 - Calculation of Required Creditable
Reductions

The percent reductions required for VOC and NOx
emissions are calculated separately. However, the sum of all
creditable VOC and NOx emission reductions must be equal
to the 3%  per year required reduction.   The VOC emission
reduction that can be applied  for  the

Table 4
1990 Adjusted Baseline VOC and NOx Emissions (in 

TPD)

Stationary
Area
Sources

12.77
9

1.202 34.36
6

5.39
8

47.145 6.60
0

Off-Road
Mobile
Sources

3.494 7.891 16.67
4

18.7
77

20.168 26.6
68

On-Road
Mobile
Sources

13.07 10.62 35.28 27.0
6

48.35 37.6
8

TOTAL
EMISSION
S

32.58
5

25.843 113.2
58

137.
002

145.84
3

162.
84 5

Description VOC NOx

1990 Baseline On-
Road Mobile Source
Emissions

48.350 37.680 (a)

1990 Adjusted Base
Year On-Road Mobile
Source Emissions

     Adjusted for 1999 36.850 33.730 (b)199
9

     Adjusted for 2002 35.660 33.240 (b)200
2

FMVCP/RVP
Emission Reductions

     For 1990-1999 11.500 3.950 (a)-
(b)199
9

     For 1990-2002 12.690 4.440 (a)-
(b)200
2

Description VOC NOx

1990 Baseline Inventory (All-
Source Emissions)

145.843 162.845 (a)

FMVCP/RVP Emission
Reductions

     For 1990-1999 11.500 3.950 (b)1999

     For 1990-2002 12.690 4.440 (b)2002

1990 Adjusted Baseline
Inventory Emissions

     Adjusted for 1999 134.343 158.895 (a)-
(b)1999
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2002 RPP is obtained by subtracting the sum of non-
creditable fleet turnover correction factor and the expected
VOC emissions level in 2002 from the 1999 target level of
VOC emissions.  The expected level of VOC emissions (i.e.,
the control strategy projection) in 2002 is 101.139 TPD (See
Table 15 in Part III), and the fleet turnover correction factor
for the 1999-2002 period is 1.190 TPD.  Therefore, 7.877
TPD of VOC emission reduction can be utilized for meeting
the 1999-2002 rate-of-progress requirements. The
calculations and result are summarized in Table 5.

Table 5 
VOC Emission Reductions (in TPD) Creditable for 3% 
Per Year  Rate-of -Progress Requirement for 1999-2002 

Period

* The 1999 target level is obtained from Delaware's
1999 RPP as amended in June 1999  (Reference 7).

The percentage of VOC reduction creditable toward the
3% per year rate of progress is determined from the 1990
Adjusted Base Year Inventory of VOC emissions.  The total
creditable VOC emission reduction of 7.877 TPD is
converted to an equivalent percentage and is found to be
5.92%.  The percent NOx reduction that can be substituted to
meet the average 3% per year rate-of-progress requirement is
obtained from the fact that the sum of creditable VOC and
NOx emission reductions must be equal to 9% between 1999
and 2002, which requires a 3.08% for NOx emission
reduction.  The required NOx emission reduction is then
calculated to be 4.879 TPD, as indicated in Table 6.

Table 6
NOx Emission Reductions (in TPD) Creditable for 3% 
Per Year Rate-of -Progress Requirement for 1999-2002 

Period

In summary, the emission reductions required to meet
the average 3% per year rate-of-progress requirement for the
1999-2002 period are 7.877 TPD and 4.879 TPD for VOC
and NOx, respectively.  

Step 5.  Calculation of Corrections for Fleet
Turnover 

It is anticipated that there will be some decrease in
motor vehicle emissions for many years as a result of fleet
turnover, i.e., the gradual replacement of older pre-control
vehicles by newer vehicles with the control required by the
CAAA, even in the absence of any additional and new
controls.  The CAAA does not allow States to take credit
from these fleet-turnover reductions for achieving rate-of-
progress purposes.  Therefore, the emission reductions due
to any fleet turnover during the post-1996 milestone periods
are not creditable for the corresponding milestone year.  The
fleet turnover correction for each post-1996 target level is
obtained by subtracting the 1990 Baseline On-Road Mobile
Source Emissions adjusted to the subject milestone year (i.e.,
2002) from the 1990 Baseline On-Road Mobile Source
Emissions adjusted to the previous milestone year (i.e.,
1999). The calculations and results for 2002 are shown in
Table 7.

Table 7
Fleet Turnover Corrections for On-Road Mobile Source 

VOC and NOx Emissions (TPD) 

     Adjusted for 2002 133.153 158.405 (a)-
(b)2002

 Description Emissions

 1990 Baseline VOC Emission Adjusted
for 2002

133.153 (a)

 1999 VOC Target Level* 110.206 (b)

 VOC Fleet Turnover Correction for
1999-2002

1.190 (c)

 2002 VOC Control Strategy Projections 101.139 (d)

 Creditable VOC Emission Reductions for
1999-2002

7.877 (e)=(b)-(c)-(d)

 % of VOC Reductions for 2002 Rate-of-
Progress

5.92% (f)=(e)/
(a)x100

 Description Emission
s

 1990 Baseline NOx Emission Adjusted for 2002 158.405 (a)

 % VOC Reductions for 2002 Rate-of-Progress 5.92% (b)

 % NOx Reductions for 2002 Rate-of-Progress 3.08% (c)

 Total % of VOC/NOx Reduction 9.00% (d)=(b)+(c)

 NOx Emission Reductions Required for 1999-
2002

4.879 (e)=(a)x(c)

Correction (TPD) VOC NOx
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Step 6 - Calculation of 2002 Target Levels of VOC
and NOx Emissions

The target levels of VOC and NOx emissions in 2002
are calculated using Equation (1), i.e., by subtracting the
required emission reductions (in step 4) and the fleet
turnover corrections (in step 5) from the target levels of the
previous milestone year of 1999 (References 6 and 7).  The
calculations and results are summarized in Table 8.  

Table 8
Target Levels of VOC and NOx Emissions in 2002 (in 

TPD) 

* The 1999 target levels are obtained from Delaware’s
1999 RPP as amended in June 1999 (Reference 7).

The target levels shown in Table 8 are the maximum
VOC and NOx emissions to be allowed in 2002, under the
requirements of adequate rate-of-progress toward the
attainment of the 1-hour ozone standard, for Delaware’s two
severe nonattainment counties, i.e., Kent and New Castle
Counties.   Delaware must limit its VOC and NOx emissions
in Kent and New Castle Counties to or below these target
levels in 2002.  

PART  II 

THE 2002 CURRENT CONTROL PROJECTION 
INVENTORY AND THE REQUIRED VOC AND NOx 

EMISSION REDUCTIONS

In addition to the 15% VOC emissions reductions, plus
offsetting emission growth, by the year 1996, Section
182(c)(2) of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990
(CAAA) requires each serious and above ozone
nonattainment area to achieve 3% per year emissions
reductions, net of growth, averaged over each consecutive 3-
year period after 1996 until the year of attainment.  In other
words, the Post-1996 Rate-of-Progress Plan and Attainment
Demonstration requires that the nonattainment area not only
reduce the VOC emissions from the baseline inventory by 9
percent for each 3-year milestone period, but also offset any
growth in emissions due to increased economic activity in
each 3-year period.  For the period of 1999-2002 in
Delaware, the 9% emission reductions from the 1990
Baseline Inventory emission levels include 7.877 TPD of
VOC reduction and 4.879 TPD of NOx reduction, as
determined in Part I.  The Part II of the 2002 RPP sets forth
the methodology used in determining the total amount of
VOC and NOx emission reductions required for the 1999-
2002 period, including the emission reductions that are
required to offset emission growth. 

In order to determine the total amount of VOC and NOx
emission reductions required for the 1999-2002 period, the
emission levels in the milestone year 2002 must be
estimated.  For this purpose, the 2002 growth factors are
developed for the various emission source categories, as
presented in Section 2.2 of the 2002 RPP.  The 1990 baseline
emissions are then multiplied by these growth factors, and
the resulting inventory is called the 2002 Current Control
Projection Inventory. The 2002 Current Control Projection
Inventory is an estimation of VOC and NOx emissions that
will occur in 2002, if no new emission control measures are
implemented between 1990 and 2002.  The difference
between the 2002 Current Control Projection Inventory and
the 2002 Target Level of Emissions (discussed in Part I of
this plan), is the total amount of emissions that Delaware
must plan to reduce in order to meet the 9 percent VOC
reduction requirement for the 1999-2002 period.  This part
of the 2002 RPP contains a detailed discussion of how the
total VOC and NOx emission reductions are determined.

2.1  The 2002 Current Control Projection Inventory
Summary

The 2002 Current Control Projection Inventory of VOC
and NOx emissions for Kent and New Castle Counties is
summarized in Tables 9 for VOC and Table 10 for NOx.
Also included in these tables, for comparison purposes, are
the 1990 Baseline Inventory emissions from individual
source sectors.  The 1990 data presented in Tables 9 and 10

     For [1999-2002
2002-2005]

[1.190
0.706]

[0.490
0.227]

[(b)1999-
(b)2002*
(b)2002-
(b)2005]

* Data are
obtained from
Table [1-8 3].

Description VOC NOx

1999 Target Level* 110.20
6

148.9
64

(a)

Emission Reduction for Rate-
of-Progress

7.877 4.879 (b)

Fleet Turnover Correction for
1999-2002

1.190 0.490 (c)

Target Level for 2002 101.1
39

143.5
95

(d)=(a)-
(b)-(c)
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are obtained from Table 2.  The Current Control Projection
and Baseline VOC and NOx emission data are shown
graphically in Figures 4 and 5, respectively.  Figure 6 shows
the relative proportions of VOC and NOx emissions for each
source sector in the 2002 Current Control Projection
Inventory for the entire severe nonattainment area (NAA) in
Delaware.  Figures 7 and 8 respectively show the 2002
Current Control Projection Inventory VOC and NOx
emissions by county.

The point, stationary area, and off-road mobile source
portions of the 2002 Current Control Projection Inventory
are essentially created by multiplying 1990 Baseline
Inventory emission levels by the appropriate growth factors.
The on-road mobile source emissions are projected by
multiplying emission factors generated from the MOBILE5a
software by the projected 2002 vehicle miles traveled
(VMT), as explained in Section 2.3 in the 2002 RPP. 

Table 9
Summary of VOC Emissions in 2002 Current Control 

Projection Inventory (in TPD)

 
* 1990 Baseline Inventory data are obtained from Table 2.

Table 10
Summary of NOx Emissions in 2002 Current Control 

Projection Inventory (in TPD)

 * 1990 Baseline Inventory data are obtained from Table 2.

Kent County      New Castle Total NAA

Source
Sector

1990* 2002 1990* 2002 1990* 2002

Baselin
e

Projecti
on

Baseline Projecti
on

Baseli
ne

Projecti
on

Point 3.242 3.361 26.938 27.914 30.18
0

31.275

Stationary
Area

12.779 13.762 34.366 37.227 47.14
5

50.989

Off-Road
Mobile

3.494 4.093 16.674 18.170 20.16
8

22.263

On-Road
Mobile

13.070 16.500 35.280 44.250 48.35
0

60.750

Total
Emissions

32.585 37.716 113.258 127.561 145.8
43

165.277

Kent County
New

Castle Total NAA

Source
Sector

1990* 2002 1990
*

2002 1990
*

2002

Baseli
ne

Projection Base
line

Projecti
on

Base
line

Projection

Point 6.130 6.989 85.7
67

94.840 91.8
97

101.829

Station
ary
Area

1.202 1.347 5.39
8

6.036 6.60
0

7.383

Off-
Road
Mobile

7.891 9.024 18.7
77

21.175 26.6
68

30.199

On-
Road
Mobile

10.620 13.180 27.0
60

34.290 37.6
80

47.470

Total
Emissio
ns

25.843 30.540 137.
002

156.341 162.
845

186.881
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2.2    Calculation of Total Required VOC and NOx
Emissions Reductions

According to the rate-of-progress provisions in the
CAAA, Delaware’s 2002 RPP for the severe nonattainment
area (i.e., Kent and New Castle Counties) is required not
only to achieve a 9% of the 1990 baseline from the 1999
targets, but also to offset any growth in emissions between
1999 and 2002.  In other words, the total emission reductions
for meeting the adequate rate of progress consist of two
components: (1) any growth in emissions occurring between
1999 and 2002 that must be offset, plus (2) the average 3%
per year emission reductions for the 1999-2002 period. 

2.2.1.  Determination of Growth in Emissions for the
1999-2002 Period

The growth in emissions for the 1999-2002 period
can be obtained from the current control projections of 1999
and 2002.  The 2002 current control projections for VOC
and NOx emissions are presented in Tables 9 and 10,
respectively. The 1999 current control projection inventories
of VOC and NOx emissions can be obtained from

Delaware’s 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan, as amended in June
1999 (References 6 and 7).  For comparison purpose, the
1999 Current Control Projection Inventories are summarized
in Tables 11 and 12 for VOC and NOx emissions,
respectively. 

Table 11
Summary of 1999 Current Control Projection Inventory 

VOC Emissions (in TPD)

Table 12
Summary of 1999 Current Control Projection Inventory 

NOx Emissions (in TPD)

The growth in emissions is determined by subtracting
the 1999 current control projections from the 2002 current
control projections.  A summary of the growths in VOC and

Kent County New
Castle

County Total NAA

Source
Sector

1990
VOC

1999
VOC

1990
VOC

1999
VOC

1990
VOC

1999
VOC

Baselin
e

Projecti
on

Baselin
e

Projecti
on

Baseline Projectio
n

Point 3.242 3.267 26.938 27.194 30.180 30.461

Stationar
y Area

12.779 13.473 34.366 36.482 47.145 49.955

Off-Road
Mobile

3.494 3.923 16.674 17.699 20.168 21.622

On-Road
Mobile

13.070 15.460 35.280 42.240 48.350 57.700

Total
Emission
s

32.585 36.123 113.258 123.615 145.843 159.738

Kent Count
y

New
Castle

County Total NAA

Source
Sector

1990
NOx

1999
NOx

1990
NOx

1999
NOx

1990
NOx

1999
NOx

Baseli
ne

Projec
tion

Baselin
e

Projecti
on

Baselin
e

Projecti
o n

Point 6.130 6.538 85.767 96.693 91.897 103.231

Stationary
Area

1.202 1.311 5.398 5.893 6.600 7.204

Off-Road
Mobile

7.891 8.555 18.777 19.919 26.668 28.474

On-Road
Mobile

10.620 12.570 27.060 32.580 37.680 45.150

Total
Emissions

25.843 28.974 137.002 155.085 162.845 184.059
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NOx emissions for the 1999-2002 period is presented in
Table 13.  As indicated in Table 13, a growth of 5.539 TPD
in VOC emissions and a growth of 2.822 TPD in NOx
emissions for the 1999-2002 period must be offset in
Delaware’s nonattainment area.

Table 13
Summary of Emission Growths between 1999 and 2002 

(in TPD)

* The minus sign (-) indicates decline instead of growth.                  

2.2.2.  Determination of VOC and NOx Emission
Reductions for the 1999-2002 Period

In its 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan, as amended in
June 1999 (Reference 7), Delaware has determined its 1999
emission target levels of 110.206 TPD for VOC and 148.964
TPD for NOx. In Part I of this 2002 RPP, it has been
determined that the total nonattainment area (i.e., Kent and
New Castle Counties) have to meet a target level of 101.139
TPD for VOC emissions and a target level of 143.595 TPD
for NOx emissions.  The VOC and NOx emission reductions
required to meet the 2002 target levels can be determined as
follows:

VOC Reduction Without Growth = 1999 Target Level -
2002 Target Level
= 110.206 – 101.139
= 9.067 TPD

Total VOC Reduction Required beyond the 1999 RPP Target
Level 

=  Emission Growth + Reduction Without Growth
=  5.539 + 9.067 = 14.606 TPD

The total VOC emission reductions of 14.606 TPD,
besides the 159.738 - 110.206 = 49.532 TPD of VOC
emission reductions required in the previous RPPs, is the
additional VOC emission reduction needed to meet the 2002
target level of VOC emissions.  In other words, Delaware’s
2002 RPP for Kent and New Castle Counties must show a
total reduction of 49.532 + 14.606 = 64.138 TPD in VOC
emissions from the 2002 Current Control Projections. The
same reduction can be calculated by taking the difference of
the 2002 Current Control Projection and 2002 Target Level
of VOC emissions, as shown below:

Required VOC Reduction for 1990-2002 Period
= 2002 Current Control Projection

- 2002 Target  Level 
= 165.277 – 101.139 = 64.138 TPD 

The required NOx emission reductions can be
determined using similar procedures: 

NOx Reduction Without Growth= 1999 Target Level -
2002 Target Level
= 148.964 – 143.595
 = 5.369 TPD

Total Required NOx Reduction beyond 1999 RPP
Target Level 

=  Emission Growth + Reduction Without Growth
=  2.822 + 5.369 = 8.191 TPD

The total NOx emission reductions of 8.191 TPD,
besides the 184.059 - 148.964 = 35.095 TPD reductions to
satisfy the 1999 RPP requirements, is the additional NOx
reductions needed to meet the 2002 target level of NOx
emissions. In other words, the total nonattainment area of
Kent and New Castle Counties must show a total NOx
emission reduction of 35.095 + 8.191 = 43.286 TPD from
the 2002 Current Control Projection of VOC emissions. The
same reduction can be obtained by taking the difference of
the 2002 Current Control Projection and 2002 Target Level
of NOx emissions as shown below:

Required NOx Reduction for 1990-2002 Period 
=   2002 Current Control Projection - 2002 Target  Level 
=  186.881 – 143.595= 43.286 TPD

A summary of the required VOC and NOx emission

Growt
h

in VOC Emissi
ons

Growt
h

in NOx Emissio
ns*

Source
Sector

Kent New
Castle

Total
NAA

Kent New
Castle

Total
NAA

Point 0.094 0.720 0.814 0.451 -1.853 -1.402

Stationa
ry Area

0.289 0.745 1.034 0.036 0.143 0.179

Off-
Road
Mobile

0.170 0.471 0.641 0.469 1.256 1.725

On-
Road
Mobile

1.040 2.010 3.050 0.610 1.710 2.320

Total
Emissio
ns

1.593 3.946 5.539 1.566 1.256 2.822
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reductions is presented in Table 14. These required
reductions form the basis on which Delaware develops its
emission control strategies in this rate-of-progress plan.  

Table 14
VOC and NOx Emission Reductions Required in the 

2002 RPP (in TPD) 

PART III 

THE 2002 CONTROL STRATEGY PROJECTION 
INVENTORY AND EMISSION CONTROL 

MEASURES

In Part I, Delaware has determined its VOC and NOx
emission targets in the milestone year of 2002 to meet the
average 3% per year rate-of-progress requirement, plus
offsetting the emission growth.  In Part II, Delaware has
determined that, in order to meet those emission targets, a
64.138 TPD VOC emission reduction and a 43.286 TPD
emission reduction must be achieved in this 2002 Rate-of-
Progress Plan for Kent and New Castle Counties.  These
emission reductions will be accomplished by
implementation of VOC emission control measures
proposed in the 15% RPP, VOC and NOx emission controls
in the 1999 RPP and additional national, regional and state
control measures necessary for further VOC and NOx
emission reductions.  In order to show that the reductions
associated with these control measures are adequate to meet
the 2002 VOC and NOx emission targets, the 1990 Baseline
emissions are projected to 2002 including the effects of both
growth and the new control measures.  The resulting
inventory is called the 2002 Control Strategy Projection
Inventory.  The total VOC and NOx emissions in the 2002
Control Strategy Projection Inventory must be equal to or
less than the 2002 target levels of VOC and NOx emissions
in order to show that the control measures are adequate for
fulfilling the rate-of-progress requirements of VOC and NOx
emission reductions. 

The 2002 target levels of VOC and NOx emissions have
been calculated in Part I to be 101.139 TPD and 143.595
TPD, respectively.  Part III of the 2002 RPP discusses the

1999 Control Strategy Projection Inventory, the control
measures that Delaware will implement to meet the average
3% per year rate-of-progress requirement for the 1999-2002
period, the sources affected by these control measures, and
the expected reductions from each control measure.

3.1  The 2002 Control Strategy Projection Inventory
Summary

The 2002 Control Strategy Projection Inventory is
summarized in Tables 15 and 16 for VOC and NOx
emissions, respectively.  As shown in Tables 15 and 16, the
total 2002 Control Strategy Projections for VOC and NOx
emissions are 101.139 TPD and 142.077 TPD, respectively,
in the peak ozone season.  The 2002 Control Strategy
Projection of VOC emissions is the same as the target level,
and the total 2002 Control Strategy Projection of NOx
emissions is less than the required target level of 143.595
TPD.  Therefore, the control measures that are included in
the 2002 RPP are considered to be adequate for meeting the
average 3% per year rate-of-progress requirement, plus
offsetting the emission growth for the 1999-2002 period.

Figure 9 shows a graphic comparison by source sector
of the 1990 Baseline Inventory (from Part I), the 2002
Current Control Projections (from Part II), and the 2002
Control Strategy Projections (from Table 15) for VOC
emissions. Figure 10 shows the relative proportions of the
2002 Control Strategy Projections of VOC emissions from
each source sector for the entire nonattainment area.  Figure
11 shows the relative proportions of the 2002 Control
Strategy Projections of VOC emissions by county.

Table 15
Summary of 2002 Control Strategy Projection Inventory 

VOC Emissions (in TPD)

 

VOC
Emissions

NOx
Emissions

Target Current
Control

Required Target Current
Control

Required 

Level Projection Reduction Level Projection Reduction

101.13 9 165.277 64.138 143.595 186.881 43.286

Source Sector Kent County New Castle
County

Total NAA

Point 1.392 21.923 23.315

Stationary
Area

9.981 26.693 36.674

Off-Road
Mobile

2.864 13.546 16.410

On-Road
Mobile

6.300 18.440 24.740

Total
Emissions

20.537 80.602 101.139
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Table 16
Summary of 2002 Control Strategy Projection Inventory 

NOx Emissions (in TPD) 

Figure 11 shows a graphic comparison by source sector
of the 1990 Baseline Inventory (from Part I), the 2002
Current Control Projections (from Part II), and the 2002
Control Strategy Projections (from Table 16) for NOx
emissions. Figure 12 shows the relative proportions of the
2002 Control Strategy Projections of NOx emissions from
each source sector for the entire nonattainment area.  Figure
13 shows the relative proportions of the 2002 Control
Strategy Projections of NOx emissions by county. 

The 2002 Control Strategy Projections for point sources,
stationary area sources, and off-road mobile sources are
calculated primarily using the projection equations provided
in the Guidance for Growth Factors, Projections, and Control
Strategies for the 15 Percent Rate-of-Progress Plans, EPA-
452/R-93-002, Office of Air Quality Planning and
Standards, US EPA, March 1993 (Reference 13, hereafter
referred to as the Guidance for Growth/Projections/
Strategies).  Other equations are also used for some specific
cases.  These equations are either obtained from other EPA
guidance documents or derived from emission-related data
provided by EPA. The control strategy projections of the on-
road mobile sources are developed using EPA’s MOBILE5a
software in accordance with Procedures for Preparing
Emissions Projections, EPA-450/4-91-019, Office of Air
Quality Planning and Standards, US EPA, July 1991
(Reference 12, hereafter referred to as Procedures for
Emission Projections).

Source Sector Kent New Castle Total NAA

Point 5.040 67.252 72.292

Stationary
Area

0.985 4.839 5.824

Off-Road
Mobile

8.175 18.686 26.861

On-Road
Mobile

9.810 27.290 37.100

Total
Emissions

24.010 118.067 142.077
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Figure 12. Comparison of NOx Emissions in 1990 
Baseline, 2002 Current Control And 2002 Control 

Strategy Projection Inventories

Figure 13.  Contribution of Each Source Sector to Total 
2002 Control Strategy Projection NOx Emissions in 

Delaware’s Nonattainment Area (NAA).
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Figure 14.  Contribution of Each Source Sector to 2002 
Control Strategy Projection NOx Emissions in Each 

Nonattainment County.

3.2  Point Source 2002 Control Strategy Projection
Methodology

Emissions from point sources are projected on a source-
specific (process-by-process) basis in accordance with the
Guidance for Growth/Projections/Strategies (Reference 13).
In this guidance document and its following memoranda for
amendments and corrections, EPA provides methods and
projection equations for estimating future year emissions
from individual point sources.  Selection of method or
equation to be used to project emissions from a point source
is dependent on whether or not the source will have new
controls by the milestone year of 2002.  

A.  Method 1 

The VOC and NOx emissions for point sources that will
have new controls by 2002 are projected at allowable
emissions rates using the point source projection equations
from Section 6.4 of the Guidance for Growth/Projections/
Strategies. These same equations have been used to
determine the 2002 Current Control Projections in Part II of
this Plan. However, the projection data used for the 2002
Control Strategy Projections differ from those used for the
2002 Current Control Projections.  For the control strategy
projections, the controlled emissions factors, process control
efficiencies (CE), controlled emissions rates, and rule
effectiveness (RE) values for the processes with new
controls by 2002 are used to reflect the controls that will be
in place in 2002. For the current control projections in Part
II, all parameters are related to controls, if any, that were in
place in 1990.  

For sources that will have new controls by 2002, the
Control Strategy Projections are determined using one of the
following five projection equations (Reference 13):

where: 
EMISpy = Projection Year Emissions (Tons per Peak

Ozone Season Day);
ORATE = 1990 Base Year Ozone Season Operating Rate

(Production Units/Day);
EMFpy,pc= Projection Year Pre-control Emissions Factor

(Mass of Pollutant/Production Unit);
CEpy = Projection Year Control Efficiency (Percent);

 REpy = Projection Year Rule Effectiveness (Percent);

GFpy = Projection Year Growth Factor

(Dimensionless);
EMFpy = Projection Year Post-control Emissions Factor

(Mass of Pollutant/Production Unit);
CRTPOL = 1990 Baseline Ozone Season Actual Emissions

(Tons Per Peak Ozone Season Day);
CEQEFF = 1990 Base Year Control Efficiency (Percent);
RULEFF = 1990 Base Year Rule Effectiveness (Percent);
EMFby = 1990 Base Year Emissions Factor ;

ERpy = Projection Year Annual Emissions Cap

(Mass of Pollutant/Year);
EMISbya = 1990 Base Year Annual Emissions

(Tons Per Year).

Depending on the method that is used to estimate the
1990 Baseline emissions and the type of projection year
control data available, one of these five equations is used to
project emissions from each process that will have new
controls by 2002.  Equation P-1 is used when the 1990
baseline emissions are calculated using a pre-control
emission factor, and a control efficiency is used to factor the
control measure into the emissions estimation.  Equation P-2
is used when emissions are calculated using a post-control
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emissions factor; that is, the emissions factor accounts for
the affect of the control measure on emissions.  Equation P-3
is used when 1990 baseline emissions are calculated by
material balance or test data, and a control efficiency is used
to factor the control measure into the emissions estimation.
Equation P-4 is used when 1990 baseline emissions are
calculated by material balance or test data, and the control
level is represented by an emissions factor rather than by a
control efficiency.  Equation P-5 is used when permit limits
or emission caps are used to represent the effect of the
control measures on emissions.  This equation is originally
presented in the aforementioned EPA’s document and

recently amended by EPA in a guidance memorandum1.
According to this memorandum, the term ERpy can be an

emission cap on other than an annual basis, and then the term
EMISbya should be modified to reflect the same time period.

Delaware has compiled the 2002 control data for point
sources from Federal and State regulations and air emissions
permits that have been issued in the post-1990 time frame.
The required emission and control data are inserted into the
appropriate projection equation for each process.  Wherever
applicable, a default RE value of 80% for the projection year
is used, as suggested by EPA (Reference 14).   The
calculation results from these equations, which include the
effects of both emission growth and new controls, are the
2002 Control Strategy Projections of emissions from
individual processes. 

The following is an example of control strategy
projection calculation for a point source process that will
have new controls by 2002. 
 

Example Point Source Emission Projection Calculation:

The Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste have
been revised in 1990 to include requirements for installation
of gas control systems at all sanitary landfills.  Control
efficiencies for each affected landfill are determined based
on design data for the proposed gas control systems.  For the
Cherry Island facility located in New Castle County, a
control device efficiency (flare efficiency) of 98% and a

capture efficiency of 51.49% are used to project the VOC
emissions. The overall control efficiency for the Cherry
Island landfill is:

Overall Control Efficiency CE2002= 0.98 x 51.49 =

50.46%

Other projection data for the Cherry Island landfill are:
CRTPOL = 0.268 TPD in the peak ozone season;
RE2002 = 80%;

CEQEFF = 0%;
RULEFF = 0%;
GF2002 = 1.09.

Using Equation P-3, the 2002 projected VOC emissions
value for the Cherry Island landfill with the addition of new
controls can be calculated as:

B. Method 2 

All sources that will not have new controls by 2002 are
projected by multiplying their 1990 baseline emissions with
the appropriate growth factors, that is,

Therefore, for sources that will not have new controls by
2002, the 2002 Control Strategy Projection emissions are
equal to the 2002 Current Control Projection emissions that
are determined in Part II of the 2002 RPP. 

A summary of the 2002 Control Strategy Projections for
point source emissions is presented in Table 17.

Table 17
2002 Control Strategy Projections for Point Source 

Emissions (in TPD)1. Memorandum: Correction Errata to 15 Percent
Rate of Progress Guidance Document. G.T.
Helms, Group Leader, Ozone Policy and Strate-
gies Group, Office of Air Quality Planning and
Standards, US EPA, Research Triangle Park,
NC, March 17, 1999.  The memorandum is
included in Appendix I.

Sour
ce Kent

      New Castle

SIC Category Name VOC NOx VOC NOx

16 Construction 0.060 0.078 0.022 0.028
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3.3  Stationary Area and Off-Road Mobile Source 2002
Control Strategy Projection Methodology

Stationary area and off-road mobile source emissions
are projected according to the Guidance for Growth/
Projections/Strategies (Reference 13).  The projection
method for stationary area and off-road mobile sources is
dependent on whether or not sources will be subject to new
controls by 2002.  Stationary area and off-road mobile
sources that will not be subject to new controls by 2002 are
projected using the following equation:

where EMISpy =   emission in projection year (TPD in Peak

Ozone Season);
CRTPOL = 1990 baseline actual emission

(TPD in Peak Ozone Season);
GFpy = growth factor for projection year

(dimensionless).

For stationary area and off-road mobile sources that are
subject to new controls by 2002, the 2002 Control Strategy
Projections are determined in a manner similar to the point
source 2002 Control Strategy Projections, using projection
equations from the Guidance for Growth/Projections/
Strategies.  The main difference between the point source
projections and the stationary area and off-road mobile
source projections is that point source emissions are
projected on a process-by-process basis as described
previously, while stationary area and off-road mobile source
emissions are projected on a category-wide basis.  Therefore,
the 2002 Control Strategy Projection Inventory for stationary
area and off-road mobile sources is determined using
category-wide activity level data versus the process
operating data that is used for point source projections.

The stationary area and off-road mobile source
projection data reflects 2002 controls and rule effectiveness
values.  A rule penetration value is also factored into the
emissions projection.  Rule penetration factors are used in
conjunction with rule effectiveness (as defined in Part II of
this Plan) to adjust regulated stationary area source
emissions estimates. Rule penetration is the portion of an
area source category that is affected by a regulation.  If a
regulation applies to only a certain percentage of sources
within a source category, a rule penetration factor is applied
to ensure that the control efficiency and rule effectiveness
adjustment affect only the emissions values for those
regulated sources, and not the emissions values for the
unregulated sources in the category.

1.  Stationary Area Sources

In general, stationary area sources that will be subject to
new controls by 2002 are projected using the following
equation: 

20 Food Manufacturing 0.030 0.060 0.000 0.000

22 Textiles 0.000 0.000 0.883 0.087

25 Furniture and Fixtures 0.502 0.010 0.000 0.000

26 Paper Manufacturing 0.030 0.085 0.260 0.146

28 Chemicals & Allied
Products

0.197 0.055 6.313 3.653

2911 Petroleum Refining 0.000 0.000 4.337 47.714

2951 Asphalt Paving
Mixtures

0.000 0.000 0.022 0.028

30 Rubber/Plastic
Manufacturing

0.000 0.000 0.974 0.003

33 Primary Metal
Industry

0.047 0.000 0.000 0.000

34 Fabricated Metal
Products

0.000 0.000 0.077 0.000

37 Transportation
Equipment

0.000 0.000 7.014 0.653

38 Measr./Analyz/Control
Instrumentation

0.053 0.000 0.000 0.000

42 Motor Freight
Transportation

0.000 0.000 0.031 0.015

46 Pipelines 0.002 0.000 0.000 0.000

4911 Electric Utilities &
Generators

0.046 4.660 0.226 14.026

4952 POTWs 0.217 0.000 1.322 0.000

4953 Landfills 0.027 0.000 0.182 0.000

80 Health Services 0.000 0.000 0.010 0.130

82 Educational Services 0.000 0.000 0.000 0.024

87 Engineering, Research 0.000 0.000 0.198 0.744

97 Federal, Civilian
Government

0.181 0.092 0.051 0.000

Total Emissions by County 1.392 5.040 21.923 67.252

Total State NAA Emissions VOC: 23.315 NOx: 72.292
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where EMISpy= emissions in projection year

(TPD in Peak Ozone Season);
ACTLEV = 1990 baseline activity level (activity units

per day in Peak Ozone Season);
EMFpy = projection year emissions factor (mass of

pollutant per activity unit);
GFpy = projection year growth factor

(dimensionless);
CEpy = projection year control efficiency

(percent);
REpy = projection year rule effectiveness (percent);

RPpy = projection year rule penetration (Percent);

N = 1 if the future control is accounted for the
CE factor, or

= 2 if the future control is accounted for the EMF
factor, and in which case, CE should be set
equal to 100% (see EPA’s memorandum on
March 17, 1999, included in Appendix H).

This equation is originally presented in the
aforementioned EPA’s document and recently amended by
EPA in a guidance memorandum (See footnote 12 on page
37).  In cases where the emission factor in a projection year
(EMFpy) is equal to the 1990 baseline emission factor

(EMFby), the corresponding 1990 baseline emission

(CRTPOL) can be used in Eq. (A-2) to replace the 1990
baseline activity level (ACTLEV) and the projection year
emissions factor (EMFpy). This is because when EMFpy =

EMFby, CRTPOL is equal to ACTLEV times EMFpy in Eq.

(A-2).  Then, Eq. (A-2) becomes

For gasoline dispensing facilities that will be subject to
the Stage II vapor recovery controls, the projection equation
differs slightly due to the nature of the projection year
emission factor for Stage II vapor recovery.  The projection
year emission factor for Stage II Vapor Recovery is produced
by modeling using EPA's MOBILE5a software on the basis

of the state-specific motor vehicle input parameters.  This
emissions factor has already included the effects of the
control efficiency, rule effectiveness, and rule penetration in
the projection year. Therefore, the term 

in Eq. (A-2) is not required for emission projections for
those sources with the Stage II Vapor Recovery controls.
Thus, for projecting emissions from sources affected by
Stage II Vapor Recovery, Eq.(A-2) becomes:

whereEMISpy = emission in projection year (TPD in Peak

Ozone Season);
ACTLEV = 1990 baseline activity level (gallons

gasoline per day in Peak Ozone Season);
EMFpy = emissions factor in projection year from

MOBILE5a (grams VOC per  gallon gasoline);
CF = Conversion Factor (grams/gallon to 

tons/gallon);
GFpy = Growth Factor for projection year.

The following is a calculation example of 2002 Control
Strategy Projection for a stationary area source category that
will have new controls by 2002. 
 
Example of Projection Calculation for Stationary Area
Source 

Section 34 of Delaware Air Regulation 24 prohibits the
manufacture, mixing, storage, use, and application of
cutback asphalt during the ozone season.  The 2002
projected VOC emissions from cutback asphalt for Kent
County can be determined using stationary area source
projection Eq. (A-2)  (or A-2b).  The projection data for
cutback asphalt emissions in Kent County are:

ACTLEV = 45 tons asphalt/yr or 0.173 tons asphalt/day in
Peak Ozone Season; 

EMF2002 = EMF1990 = 420 lbs VOC/ton asphalt;

CE2002 = 100%;
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RE2002 = 80%;

RP2002 = 100%;

GF2002 = 0.90.

The control efficiency and rule penetration are
determined to be 100% from Section 34 of Regulation 24.
The EPA's default 80% value is used for the projection year
rule effectiveness.  Using Equation A-2, the projected VOC
emission is:

A summary of the 2002 Control Strategy Projections for

stationary area source emissions is presented in Table 18.

2.  Off-Road Mobile Sources - Using Reformulated
Gasoline

Using reformulated fuel is one of the control measures
that will affect off-road mobile source emissions by 2002.
Emissions from off-road mobile sources that will be affected
by reformulated fuel are projected using information
provided in a memorandum entitled VOC Emission Benefits
for Nonroad Equipment with the Use of Federal Phase 1
Reformulated Gasoline, dated August 18, 1993, from Phil
Lorang, Director, Emission Planning and Strategies
Division, Office of Mobile Sources, U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency, Ann Arbor, Michigan (included in
Appendix K). According to the memorandum, reformulated
fuel will affect the exhaust and evaporative VOC emission
components of the 2-stroke and 4-stroke engine categories.
For Delaware, 86.51% of the VOC emissions from 2-stroke
and 4-stroke engines is exhaust and 5.58% is evaporative.
The remaining 7.91% of the VOC emissions from 2-stroke
and 4-stroke engines is not significantly affected by
reformulated fuel.  The VOC emissions reduction is
estimated to be 3.3% of the exhaust emissions and 3.5% of
the evaporative emissions.  Therefore, VOC emissions from
2-stroke and 4-stroke engines were projected using the
following equation:

where
EMISpy= emission in projection year (TPD in Peak

Ozone Season);  
GFpy  = growth factor for projection year;

CRTPOL= 1990 baseline emissions (TPD in Peak Ozone
Season).

Table 18
2002 Control Strategy Projections for Stationary Area 

Source Emissions (in TPD)

Source
Kent New

Castle

SCC Category Name VOC NOx VOC NOx

2102 Industrial Fuel
Consumption

0.007 0.489 0.036 2.880

2103 Commercial/
Instit. Fuel
Consumption

0.007 0.176 0.033 0.812

2104 Residential Fuel
Consumption

0.150 0.172 0.103 0.623

2301 Chemical
Manufacturing

0.008 0.000 0.156 0.000

2302 Food and Kindred
Products

0.075 0.000 0.299 0.000

2308 Rubber/Plastics
Production

0.075 0.000 0.438 0.000

2399 Industrial
Processes: NEC

0.093 0.000 0.185 0.000

2401 Surface Coating 2.589 0.000 11.352 0.000

2415 Degreasing 0.721 0.000 2.888 0.000

2420 Dry Cleaning 0.101 0.000 0.207 0.000

2425 Graphic Arts 0.292 0.000 0.005 0.000

2461 Misc.
Commercial
Solvent Use   

     Pesticide Use   1.135 0.000 1.230 0.000

     Cutback &
Emulsified
Asphalt

0.013 0.000 0.007 0.000

2465 Misc. Consumer
Solvent Use

0.874 0.000 3.404 0.000

2501 Petroleum
Product Storage

0.569 0.000 1.824 0.000

2505 Petroleum
Product Transport

0.869 0.000 1.822 0.000

2601 On-Site
Incineration

0.157 0.036 0.689 0.207

2610 Open Burning 0.475 0.095 1.572 0.314

2660 Leaking
Underground
Storage Tanks

0.015 0.000 0.012 0.000

2810 Misc. Sources:
Other
Combustion       
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3.  Off-Road Mobile Sources - New Emissions

Standards
The EPA is under court order to promulgate new

emissions standards for Heavy-Duty Compression Ignition
(CI) or diesel engines, small nonroad Spark Ignition (SI)
Engines, and outboard/Inboard Marine Engines.  These new
standards will result in VOC and/or NOx emission
reductions from a wide variety of nonroad engines.  In
subsection 3.5.3, Delaware presents details of how to project
emissions using these new emission standards.   

A summary of the 2002 Control Strategy Projections for
off-road mobile source emissions is presented in Table 19.

Table 19
2002 Control Strategy Projections for Off-Road Mobile 

Source Emissions (in TPD)

 
3.4  On-Road Mobile Source 2002 Control Strategy
Projection Methodology

The on-road mobile source portion of 2002 Control
Strategy Projection Inventory has been determined using the
2002 emission factors generated by MOBILE5a and the
2002 projected vehicle-miles-traveled (VMT) on the 2002
Delaware roadway network.  The 2002 VMT projections are
determined using the network-based travel-demand models
for Kent and New Castle Counties.  The 2002 VMT
projections and the 1990 VMT projections, both are
calculated by the travel-demand models, are used to derive a
growth factor for each functional vehicle class. The growth
factor is then applied to the 1990 VMT from the Highway
Performance Monitoring System (HPMS) data.  This
methodology provides consistency with the 1990 Base Year
Inventory methodology, since they are both based on VMT
from HPMT.  The on-road mobile source projection
inventory has been developed by Vanasse Hangen Brustlin,
Inc. (VHB), Watertown, MA, under contract with Delaware
Department of Transportation (DelDOT).

A summary of the 2002 Control Strategy Projections for
on-road mobile source emissions is presented in Table 20.
The emission levels in Table 20 also serve as the on-road
mobile source emission budgets for Kent and Newcastle
Counties for purposes of meeting the transportation
conformity requirements set forth in Section 182 of the
CAAA.  

Table 20
2002 Control Strategy Projections for On-Road Mobile 

Source Emissions (in TPD)

3.5  Emission Control Measures and Emission
Reductions 

The control measures that Delaware includes in the
2002 RPP are summarized in Table 21 along with
implementation dates for individual control measures.  The
VOC and NOx emission reductions from individual control

     Structural &
Forest Fires     

0.103 0.017 0.013 0.003

     Prescribed
Burning

0.009 0.000 0.001 0.000

2830 Accidental
Releases

1.645 0.000 0.419 0.000

Total Emissions by County 9.981 0.985 26.693 4.839

Total State NAA Emissions VOC: 36.674 NOx: 5.824

Source
Kent

       New Castle

SCC Category
Name

VOC NOx VOC NOx

2260 2-Stroke
Gasoline
Vehicles

0.680 0.047 1.650 0.424

2265 4-Stroke
Gasoline
Vehicles

0.514 0.033 2.290 0.196

2270 Diesel
Vehicles

0.508 3.581 1.076 9.893

2275 Aircraft 0.468 0.593 0.217 0.088

2280 Commercial
Marine
Vehicles

0.582 3.678 1.077 6.351

2282 Recreational
Marine
Vessels

0.086 0.009 7.127 0.734

2283 Military
Marine
Vessels

0.004 0.020 0.007 0.037

2285 Railroads 0.022 0.214 0.102 0.963

Total Emissions by
County in 2002

2.864 8.175 13.546 18.686

Total State NAA
Emissions in 2002

VOC: 16.410 NOx: 26.861

County VOC NOx

Kent 6.300 9.810

New
Castle

18.440 27.290

Total NAA 24.740 37.100
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measures are also listed in the table (in TPD in the peak
ozone season).  As indicated in Table 21, the total VOC and
NOx emission reductions for Delaware’s nonattainment area
(i.e., Kent and New Castle Counties) for the 2002 RPP are
64.138 TPD and 44.804 TPD, respectively.  As calculated in
Part II, the emission reductions that Delaware needs to meet
the 3% per year rate-of-progress requirement plus offsetting
the growth for the 2002 milestone year are 64.138 TPD and
43.286 TPD for VOC and NOx, respectively.  Therefore, the
control measures listed in Table 3-7 are not only adequate to
meet the emission reduction requirements for the 2002
milestone year, but also generate 1.518 TPD of surplus of
NOx emission reductions.  Delaware decides to use this NOx
emission surplus in the contingency plan of the 2002 RPP to
meet the contingency requirements set forth in the CAAA
(See Part IV). 

The control measures in Table 21 are grouped by point,
area, off-road mobile, and on-road mobile source sectors
depending on which source sectors they affect.  Several
control measures affect both point and area sources, and
therefore are listed under both source sectors.  For sources
that will be subject to new controls by 2002, the emission
reductions are determined by subtracting the 2002 Control
Strategy Projection emissions (described in this part) from
the 2002 Current Control Projection emissions (described in
Part II of this Plan), using the following equation,

ER2002 = Current Control Projection - Control Strategy

Projection   (R-1)

where ER2002 stands for “Emission Reduction (ER) in

2002”.  For sources that will not have new controls or will
not be affected by new rules by 2002, their control strategy
projections will be equal to their current control projections.
Thus, emission reductions from those sources will be zero. 

Table 21
Summary of VOC & NOx Emission Control Measures 
and Expected Emission Reductions for 2002 (in TPD) 

Control Measures Effective Emission Reducti
on

And Regulations Creditabili
ty

Date VOC NOx

Point Source Controls

RACT "Catch-Ups" in Kent
County:

     Solvent Metal Cleaning Creditable 31-May-95 0.547 0.000

Surface Coating of Metal
Furniture

Creditable 31-May-95 0.037 0.000

Leaks from Synthetic
Organic Chemical,

Creditable 31-May-95 0.004 0.000

Polymer, and Resin
Manufact. Equip.

Subtotal for RACT "Catch-
Ups" in Kent

0.588 0.000

New RACT Regulations:

Bulk Gasoline Marine Tank
Vessel 

Creditable 31-Dec-95 1.896 0.000

        Loading Facilities

SOCMI Reactor Processes
and 

Creditable 1-Apr-96 0.026 0.000

        Distillation Operations

Batch Processing Operations Creditable 1-Apr-96 0.431 0.000

     Offset Lithography      Creditable 1-Apr-96 0.085 0.000

     Aerospace Coatings Creditable 1-Apr-96 0.007 0.000

Industrial Cleaning Solvents Creditable 1-Nov-96 0.518 0.000

     Non-CTG RACT Creditable 31-May-95 0.380 0.000

     Delaware NOx RACT               
Creditable  

31-May-95 N/A 2.320

Subtotal for New RACT
Regulations

3.343 2.320

Regional Controls:

OTR Regional NOx MOU Creditable 1-May-99 N/A 27.220

Federal Benzene Waste Rule
and

Delaware Air Regulation
24.28

Creditable Spring
1995

1.722 0.000

Other Delaware Regulations:

     Sanitary Landfills Creditable 9-Oct-93 0.345 0.000

 Irreversible Process Changes Creditable 1-Jan-96 1.964 0.000

Total for Point Source
Reductions

7.962 29.540

Stationary Area Source
Controls

RACT "Catch-Ups" in Kent
County:

     Solvent Metal Cleaning Creditable 31-May-95 0.136 0.000

     Cutback Asphalt                     
Creditable   

31-May-95 0.026 0.000
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PART  IV 
Contingency Plan of Delaware’s 2002 RPP

4.1 Contingency Requirements for Emission Reductions 
The CAAA requires States with nonattainment areas to

implement specific control measures if the area fails to make
reasonable further progress, fails to meet any applicable
milestone, or fails to attain the national ambient air quality

standards by the applicable attainment date.1   The EPA has
interpreted this CAAA provision as a requirement for States
with moderate and above ozone nonattainment areas to
include sufficient contingency measures in their Rate-of-
Progress Plans so that, upon implementation of such
measures, additional emission reductions of at least 3% of
the adjusted 1990 base year emissions would be achieved
(Reference 13). Under the same provision of the CAAA,
EPA also requires that the contingency measures must be
fully-adopted control measures or rules, so that, upon failure
to meet milestone requirements or attain the standards, the
contingency measures can be implemented without any
further rulemaking activities by the States and/or EPA.  
To meet the requirements for contingency emission
reductions, EPA allows States to use NOx emission
reductions to substitute for VOC emission reductions in their
contingency plans.  The condition set forth by EPA for NOx
substitution is that States must achieve a minimum of 0.3%
VOC reductions of the total 3% contingency reduction, and
the remaining 2.7% reduction can be achieved through NOx
emission controls (Reference 9).  Delaware decides to
include both VOC and NOx emission controls in its
contingency plan for the 2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan. 

Subtotal for RACT "Catch-
Ups" in Kent

0.162 0.000

Control Measures Effective Emissio
n

Reducti
on

And Regulations Creditability Date VOC NOx

Stationary Area Source
Controls (Cont'd)

New RACT Regulations:

Stage I Vapor Recovery-
Gas. Disps. Facil. 

Creditable 15-Nov-94 0.652 0.000

     Emulsified Asphalt Creditable 31-May-95 0.053 0.000

Motor Vehicle Refinishing Creditable 1-Apr-96 1.324 0.000

     Offset Lithography Creditable 1-Apr-96 0.081 0.000

     Aerospace Coatings                      Creditable  1-Apr-96 0.033 0.000

Stage II Vapor Recovery Creditable 15-Nov-94 1.882 0.000

Subtotal for New RACT
Regulations

4.025 0.000

Other Delaware
Regulations:

     Open Burning Creditable 8-Feb-95 7.831 1.559

Federal Rules

     Consumer Products Creditable 11-Sep-98 0.957 0.000

     Architectural Coatings Creditable 11-Sep-98 1.340 0.000

Total for Area Source
Reductions

14.315 1.559

Off-Road Mobile Source
Controls

Reformulated Fuel Creditable 1-Jan-95 0.033 0.000

New Emission Standards:  

For Small Spark Ignit.
Engines

Creditable EPA: 4.067 0.049

For Compression Ignit.
Engines

Creditable Court 0.732 2.824

     For Marine Engines Creditable Ordered. 1.019 -0.060

     For Locomotives Creditable 31-Dec-01 0.000 0.521

Total for Off-Road Mobile
Source Reductions

5.851 3.334

On-Road Mobile Source
Controls

FMVCP and RVP Noncreditabl
e

Pre-1990 19.930 2.530

Tier I Vehicle Emissions
Standards

Creditable Model Year
94

4.280 5.950

  a. Basic I/M for Kent
County

Creditable 1-Jan-91 1.210 0.530

  b. ATP and Pressure Test
for Kent

1-Jan-95   

ATP and Pressure Test for
New Castle

Creditable 1-Jan-95 4.300 0.700

Reformulated Fuel Creditable 1-Jan-95 5.880 -0.190

LEV Program Creditable 1-Nov-99 0.410 0.850

Total for On-Road Mobile
Source Reductions 

36.010 10.370

Total Reductions from All
Controls

 64.138 44.803

1.  CAAA, Title I, Part D, Section 172(c)(9) and 
Section182(c)(9).
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4.2 Control Measures to Meet Contingency
Requirements

Delaware proposes to achieve the required contingency
emission reductions through  controls over both VOC and
NOx emissions.  The VOC emission reductions will be
obtained from implementing an annual inspection schedule
for the Stage II Vapor Recovery Systems, and the NOx
emission reductions will be achieved through a combination
of controls on various sources in the peak ozone season, as
well as through improvement of rule effectiveness (RE) for
the regional NOx emission control rule. 

4.2.1  Stage II Vapor Recovery System with Annual
Inspections 

The CAAA requires States with moderate and
above ozone nonattainment areas to submit a SIP revision
requiring owners or operators of gasoline dispensing
facilities to install and operate a system for gasoline vapor

recovery during refueling process for motor vehicles.1

Under this requirement, Delaware has developed its Stage II
Vapor Recovery Program, which is defined in Section 36 of
Delaware Air Regulation 24 (Reference 5).  The Delaware’s
stage II vapor recovery regulation gives the regulatory
agency the right to perform compliance inspections as
needed.  Currently, a triennial inspection schedule is
performed by the responsible agency (Underground Storage
Tank Branch of DNREC). Delaware has taken credit for
VOC emission reductions from this triennial inspection
schedule in Part III of the 2002 RPP, where the emission
reductions are estimated using a control efficiency (CE) of
95%, a rule penetration (RP) of 97%, and a rule effectiveness
(RE) of 65.3% according to an EPA’s guidance document.
The total creditable VOC emission reduction from the
triennial inspection is 1.88 TPD (Part III of the 2002 RPP). 

Additional VOC emission reductions can be
obtained from the Stage II Vapor Recovery Program when
the inspection frequency is increased.  If the program is
conducted with an annual inspection schedule, the rule
effectiveness (RE) value of this control will increase from
65.3% to 90.5%, resulting in additional VOC emission
reductions.  In other words, the program is more effective for
reducing VOC emissions with a higher inspection frequency.
Delaware proposes to perform an annual inspection schedule
for its Stage II Vapor Recovery Program as a contingency
measure. Based on a 95% control efficiency, a 97% rule
penetration, and a 90.5% rule effectiveness, the emission
factor generated from MOBILE5a is 0.88 grams of VOC per
gallon of gasoline for both Kent and New Castle Counties. 

According to EPA’s guidance document Procedures
for Emissions Inventory Preparation, Volume IV: Mobile
Sources (Reference 22), the in-use efficiency of stage II
vapor recovery system applies to both spillage and
displacement.  As determined in the 2002 RPP, the annual
inspection in the Stage II Vapor Recovery Program will lead
to additional VOC emission reductions of 0.05 TPD and 0.53
TPD from spillage and displacement, respectively.  The total
additional VOC emission reduction is therefore 0.58 TPD
(0.05 + 0.53  = 0.58). 

In Part I, Delaware has determined its 1990
adjusted baseline inventory level of VOC emissions to be
133.153 TPD. The additional 0.58 TPD VOC emission
reduction estimated above is (0.58/133.153) = 0.0043 =
0.43% of the 1990 adjusted base year VOC emissions, thus,
satisfying the 0.30% minimum requirement on VOC
emission reductions for the contingency plan.  The rest of the
contingency reductions will be obtained through NOx
controls, which will be discussed in the following
subsection.

4.2.2   NOx Emission Controls in Peak Ozone Season 
As determined above, 0.43% of the 3.00%

contingency requirement will be obtained by VOC emission
reductions from annual inspection of Stage II vapor recovery
systems.  The remaining 2.57% (i.e., 3.00% - 0.43% =
2.57%) is the percentage required for NOx reduction
substitution.  The adjusted 1990 base year NOx emission
level has been determined to be 158.405 TPD in Part I (page
1-19).  Thus, the NOx emission reductions for contingency
purpose will be at least 158.405 x 2.57% = 4.07 TPD.  

In Subsection 3.5, Part III of the 2002 RPP,
Delaware has demonstrated that, through adequate NOx
emission controls, a 1.52 TPD NOx emission reduction will
be achieved, in addition to those needed to meet the
minimum rate-of-progress requirements for the 2002 RPP.
Delaware shall use this additional 1.52 TPD NOx emission
reduction in this contingency plan based on the following
judgements.  First, this additional reduction shall be
achieved from a combination of control measures in the RPP.
Second, all these control measures are fully-adopted
measures or rules. Thus, no further rulemaking actions by
the State and/or EPA are needed when this 1.52 TPD NOx
reduction surplus becomes necessary to serve the
contingency purpose.  After including the above 1.52 TPD
NOx reduction in the contingency plan, Delaware needs to
achieve an additional 2.55 TPD (i.e., 4.07 – 1.52 = 2.55) in
NOx emission reductions to meet the minimum requirement
for the contingency purpose.  This NOx reduction will be
achieved through RE improvement. 

Delaware has promulgated the OTC Regional NOx1.  CAAA, Title I, Part D, Section 182(b)(3).
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Controls through its Regulation 37 (NOx Budget Program,
as amended in April 1999).  As demonstrated in Appendix N
of the 2002 RPP, the provisions in Regulation 37 give
Delaware the capability to improve the rule effectiveness
(RE) for all affected NOx sources from the default value of
80% to 92%.  Applying this improved RE value of 92% to
all affected sources, the projections of their NOx emissions
in 2002 can be reevaluated.  The total NOx emissions from
these sources with a RE value of 92% is 29.77 TPD.  If
compared with the total reduction of 27.22 TPD obtained
with the default RE of 80% (Table 3-17 in Part III of the
2002 RPP), the additional reduction will be 2.55 TPD (i.e.,
29.77 – 27.22 = 2.55).  This additional 2.55 TPD NOx
emission reduction can be obtained through RE
improvement without any further rule-making activities at
both State and federal levels.

4.3  Summary of Contingency Measures and Emission
Reductions

A summary of the contingency measures and the
associated additional VOC and NOx emission reductions are
presented in Table 22.  As shown in Table 22 and in the
discussions above, the contingency measures proposed
herein are adequate for meeting the contingency
requirements set forth by EPA.

Table 22. Summary of Contingency Measures and
Emission Reductions

     Emission Reduction (TPD)
Contingency Measures                                        VOC    NOx
Stage II Vapor Rec. with Annual Inspection        0.58         -
Required VOC Emission Reductions                   0.58        -
NOx Controls in Peak Ozone Season                      -       1.52
RE Improvement on NOx Regional Control Rule -         2.55
Total NOx Emission Reduction          -         4.07
Required NOx Emission Reductions                     -         4.07
 

PART V 
DOCUMENTATION

This part presents a collection of supporting documents
referred to in Part I through Part IV of the 2002 RPP.  The
documents are in appendix form and include the following:

APPENDIX A: Summation of Perchloroethylene
Emissionsfrom Delaware 1990 Base Year
Emission Inventory.

APPENDIX B: Mobile 5a Input and Output Parameters
for the 1990 Adjusted Base Year
Inventory Relative to the Milestone

Year 2002.
APPENDIX C: Development of Growth Factors for the

2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan.
APPENDIX D: Point Source Emission Projections for the

2002 Current Control Projection
Inventory.

APPENDIX E: Stationary Area and Off-Road Mobile
Source Emission Projections for the 2002
Current Control Pro and Control Strategy
Inventories.

APPENDIX F: On-Road Mobile Source Projection
Methodology and Data for the 2002
Current Control and Control Strategy
Projection Inventory.

APPENDIX G: Point Source Emission Projections for
2002 Control Strategy Projection
Inventory.

APPENDIX H: Collection of EPA Guidance Documents
Referred in 2002 RPP (Hard copy).

APPENDIX I: VOC Emissions Reductions from the
Federal Benzene Waste Rule and
Delaware Regulation 24.28.

APPENDIX J: Mobile 5a Input and Output Files for Stage
II Vapor Recovery with Triennial
Inspection.

APPENDIX K: VOC and NOx Emission Reductions from
New Emission Standards on Nonroad
Diesel Engines.

APPENDIX L: Methodology for Determining VOC and
NOx Emissions Reductions from On-Road
Mobile Source Control Measures.

APPENDIX M: Mobile 5a Input and Output Files for Stage
II Vapor Recovery with Annual
Inspection.

APPENDIX N: Rule Effectiveness Improvement for NOx
Emission Sources Covered by Delaware
Regulation 37.

All appendixes are available upon request.  Written
request should be addressed to Mr. Alfred R. Deramo,
Program Manager, ERPA/PCP/AQM/DNREC, 156 South
State Street, Dover, DE 19901, or through fax at (302)739-
3106, or via e-mail at aderamo@state.de.us.
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-FIVE

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE.

RE: ESTABLISHMENT OF THE WORKFORCE
INVESTMENT BOARD

WHEREAS, the economic future of Delaware and the
prosperity of its citizens depend upon the ability of
businesses in Delaware to compete in the world economy;
and

WHEREAS, a well-educated and highly skilled
workforce provides businesses in Delaware with a
competitive edge critical for their success; and

WHEREAS, coordinating the planning, budgeting, and
service delivery functions of the various federal and state
workforce development programs at the state and local level
will increase accountability, improve the quality and
effectiveness of services, and help provide businesses in this
state with an element critical to their success - a high quality
workforce; and

WHEREAS, changes in federal law provide Delaware
the opportunity to coordinate and streamline investments in
the workforce under one board at the state level; and
 WHEREAS, empowering local business, labor, and
community leaders to take a more prominent role in their
communities' economic and workforce development
activities will enhance the quality, efficiency, and
responsiveness of these programs.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, THOMAS R. CARPER, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware,
do hereby declare and order that:

1. The Workforce Investment Board (the "Board") is
hereby established.

2. The Board shall not exceed fifty-three voting
members appointed by the Governor.  The Governor shall
designate one of the business representatives on the Board to
serve as Chairperson and one other business member to
serve as Vice-Chairperson.  Each member shall serve at the
pleasure of the Governor.  The membership of the Board
shall reflect the demographic and geographic diversity of the
State and shall be composed of:

(A) the Governor;
(B) 2 members of the Senate, appointed by the

President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and 2 members of the
House of Representatives, appointed by the Speaker of the
House; and

(C) representatives appointed by the Governor,
who are:

(i) representatives of business in the State,
who:

(a) are owners of businesses, chief
executives or operating officers of businesses, and other
business executives or employers with optimum
policymaking or hiring authority;

(b) represent businesses with
employment opportunities that reflect the employment
opportunities of the State; and

(c) are appointed from among individuals
nominated by State business organizations and business
trade associations;

(ii) chief elected officials (representing both
cities and counties, where appropriate);

(iii) representatives of labor organizations who
have been nominated by State labor federations;

(iv) representatives of individuals and
organizations that have experience with respect to youth
activities;

(v) representatives of individuals and
organizations that have experience and expertise in the
delivery of workforce investment activities, including chief
executive officers of community colleges and community-
based organizations within the State;

(vi) the lead State agency officials with
responsibility for the programs and activities that are
described in section 121(b) of Public Law 105-220-Aug.7
1998, the Workforce Investment Act (WIA) and carried out
by one-stop partners; and

(vii)such other representatives and State
agency officials as the Governor may designate, such as
State agency officials responsible for economic development
and juvenile justice programs in the State.

3. A majority of the members of the State Board shall
be representatives of businesses described in paragraph C(i)
above.

4. An Executive Director shall staff the Board.
5. The State Board shall assist the Governor in:

(A) Promoting and developing a well-educated,
highly skilled Delaware workforce by creating a
coordinated, comprehensive workforce development system;

(B) Overseeing and coordinating all state and
federal workforce investment programs;

(C) Developing a strategic plan including goals and
strategies for all state and federal workforce development
programs and/or populations including;

(i) School-to-Work (Grades 11 to 14);
(ii) Welfare-to-Work;
(iii) Prison-to-Work;

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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(iv) Customized Worker Training;
(v) Economically Disadvantaged Persons; and
(vi) Dislocated Workers;

(D) Developing, implementing and coordinating
standards and measures to evaluate the effectiveness and
efficiency of workforce development programs;

(E) Promoting integrated service delivery and
information systems at the state and local level for all
workforce development programs;

(F) Determining which workforce development
advisory councils are redundant and recommending which
should be eliminated; 

(G) Assuming the duties, responsibilities and
functions of the State Job Training Coordinating Council,
the State Occupational Information Coordinating
Committee, the Delaware Workforce Development Council,
and such other workforce development advisory councils
that the Board recommends for elimination;

(H) Developing and implementing a plan for
assuming the duties, responsibilities and functions of the
Delaware Private Industry Council (DPIC) including
oversight of the "Blue-Collar Act" Title 19 Del.  C. § 3402
(3) a. & (3) b;

(I) Developing federal regulatory waiver
applications to consolidate training programs and streamline
the delivery of services ("One-Stop Shopping");

(J) Establishing linkages with other entities
necessary to enhance the development of a State strategic
plan for workforce development;

(K) Commenting annually on the measures taken
pursuant to section 113(b)(14) of the Carl D. Perkins
Vocational and Applied Technology Education Act (20
U.S.C. 2323(b)(14));

(L) Developing and continuously improving
comprehensive State performance measures, to assess the
effectiveness of the workforce development in the State;

(M) Preparing the annual report to the U.S.
Secretary of Labor;

(N) Developing the statewide employment
statistics system;

(O) Developing an application for an incentive
grant under section 503 of WIA; and

(P) Carrying out the responsibilities of the Local
Board as outlined in WIA.

6. The Board may promulgate bylaws, consistent with
law and with this Executive Order, governing its
organization and procedure.

7. The Board shall meet at the call of the Chairperson,
or as provided by rules adopted by the Board, but shall not
meet less than annually.

8. Members of the Board may receive reimbursement
for necessary travel and expenses.

9. Forty Percent (40%) of the serving members shall
constitute a quorum for the transaction of business at a

meeting, notwithstanding the existence of one or more
vacancies.  Decisions of the Board must be approved by a
majority of those members constituting a quorum at a
meeting of the Board.

10. The State Auditor of Accounts, or a certified public
accountant appointed by the State Auditor of Accounts, may
annually conduct and remit to the Governor and the General
Assembly an audit of the Board and, in the conduct of the
audit, shall have access to all records of the Board.

11. The Delaware Workforce Development Council is
hereby eliminated.

12. Executive Orders Twenty-Five and Forty-Seven are
hereby rescinded to the extent inconsistent with this Order.

APPROVED this 31st day of January, 2000
Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest
Edward Freel, Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-SIX

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES, AUTHORITIES, ALL POLITICAL
SUBDIVISIONS AND GOVERNMENTAL
UNITS OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

RE: AMENDMENT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER THIRTY-SIX REGARDING STATE
EMPLOYEE OBLIGATIONS AND
COMPENSATION DURING EMERGENCIES

1. WHEREAS, the Emergency Management
provisions of Title 20 were amended in 1997 to allow the
Governor greater flexibility in managing emergency
situations; and

2. WHEREAS, there is a need to modify Executive
Order 36 so that it is consistent with the new provisions of
Title 20.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, THOMAS R. CARPER, by
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State
of Delaware, do hereby declare and order that Executive
Order 36 is amended as follows:

1. The phrases "Proclamation of a State of
Emergency" and "declaration of a state of emergency" are

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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replaced wherever they appear by the word "Order".
2. The word "Proclamation" is replaced wherever it

appears by the word "Order".
3. The phrase "a declared emergency" is replaced

wherever it appears in paragraphs 10 and 11 by the phrase
"an emergency".

Approved this 4th day of February, 2000.
Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest:
Edward Freel, Secretary of State
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BOARD/COMMISSION        TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE          OFFICE

Advisory Council for Children, Youth and Mr. Steven Anderson 01/17/02
Their Families Mr. Russell Fiske 01/17/02

Mr. John Hollis 01/17/02
Ms. Lorena Stone 01/17/02
Mr. Charles Wilt 01/17/02
Mr. Daniel Young 01/17/02

Architectural Accessibility Board Mr. Abdul Qaissaunee 01/17/03

Council on Corrections Dr. James C. Hardcastle 01/12/03

Delaware Alcohol Beverage Control Commission Mr. Kenneth W. Edwards 01/31/03

Delaware Board of Examiners for Nursing Home
Administrators Ms. Joan McDonough 01/17/03

Historical Records Advisory Board Ms. Deborah Haskell 12/10/00

Human Relations Commission Ms. Christine Kraft 04/22/03
Mr. Harold Truxon 12/04/02

Industrial Accident Board Mr. Irving S. Levitt 01/31/06

New Castle County Board of Elections Mr. Jeffrey E. Cragg 07/05/00

Organ & Tissue Donor Awareness Board Ms. Linda L. Jones 01/17/03

Superior Court of the State of Delaware for The Honorable
Sussex County T. Henley Graves 01/19/12

Water Supply Coordinating Council Mr. Kash Srinivasan Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Paul S. Stead Pleasure of the
Governor

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 6010 (7 Del.C. Section 6010)

Secretary’s Order No.  2000-A-0004

Date of Issuance:  January 14, 2000
Effective Date of the SIP Revision: March 11, 2000

I. Background
On Tuesday, January 4, 2000, beginning at 6:00 p.m., a

public hearing was held in the DNREC Auditorium at 89
Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.  The purpose of the
public hearing was to receive comments on the Department’s
proposal to adopt an Addendum to the Delaware Phase II
Attainment Demonstration for the Philadelphia-Wilmington-
Trenton Ozone Nonattainment Area as a SIP revision.  State
Representative Robert J. Valihura, Jr., and one other member
of the public attended the public hearing but made no
comments concerning the proposal.  After the public
hearing, the Hearing Officer prepared her report and
recommendation in the form of a memorandum to the
Secretary dated January 12, 2000, and that memorandum is
expressly incorporated herein by reference.  

II. Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the
Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated January 12, 2000, are
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.  

III. Order
In view of the above, I hereby order that the Addendum

to the Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration for the
Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton Ozone Nonattainment
Area be adopted as proposed at the public hearing as a
revision to the SIP in the manner and form provided for by
law.  

IV. Reasons
Amending the SIP to include the Addendum to the

Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration for the
Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton Ozone Nonattainment
Area will further the policies and purposes of 7 Del. C.
Chapter 60, because the SIP will result in progress toward

attaining the 1-hour ozone NAAQS.  The record
demonstrates that progress towards attaining the 1-hour
ozone NAAQS will positively effect the health of
Delaware’s citizens and the environment because high levels
of ground-level ozone can harm the respiratory system,
cause breathing problems, throat irritation, coughing, chest
pains and greater susceptibility to respiratory infection.  In
addition, the record demonstrates that Delaware is required
by the federal Clean Air Act to adopt the Addendum as part
of its Phase II Demonstration of progress towards meeting
the 1-hour ozone NAAQS.  

Nicholas A. DiPasquale
Secretary

Addendum To The Delaware Phase II Attainment 
Demonstration for the Philadelphia-Wilmington-
Trenton Ozone Nonattainment Area (May 1998)

Submitted by 
State of Delaware 

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control

Division of Air and Waste management
Air Quality Management Section

In Conjunction With The Delaware Department of 
Transportation

November 1999

List of Acronyms
AQMS DNREC's Air Quality Management Section
CAAA Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990
CMSA Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area
CO Carbon Monoxide
DNREC Delaware Department of Natural Resources

and Environmental Control
EPA The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
FMVCP Federal Motor Vehicle Control Program
HDDE Heavy-Duty Diesel Engine
HDGV Heavy-Duty Gasoline Vehicle
LDDT Light-Duty Diesel Trucks
LDGV Light-Duty Gasoline Vehicles
LDGT1 Light-Duty Gasoline Truck 1 (0 - 3750 pounds)
LDGT2 Light-Duty Gasoline Truck 2 (3750 - 5750

pounds)
LEV Low Emission Vehicle
MOBILE EPA's Software tool for estimating on-road

mobile source VOC, NOx and CO emissions
factors

NAA Nonattainment area
NAAQS National Ambient Air Quality Standards
NLEV National Low Emission Vehicle 
NOx Oxides of Nitrogen

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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NRDC Natural Resources Defense Council 
OTAG Ozone Transport Assessment Group
OTR Ozone Transport Region
RFG Reformulated Gasoline
RPP Rate-of-Progress Plan 
SIP State Implementation Plan
TPD Tons per Peak Ozone Season Day
UAM Urban Airshed Model
VMT Vehicles Miles Traveled
VOC Volatile Organic Compounds

1. Introduction
The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA)

require all "serious" and above ozone nonattainment areas
(NAAs) to submit their attainment demonstrations based on
the photochemical grid model such as the Urban Airshed
Model (UAM).  Kent and New Castle Counties are the two
"severe" counties for which Delaware is in nonattainment
with the 1-hour ozone National Ambient Air Quality
Standard (NAAQS).  These two counties are part of a larger
NAA -the Philadelphia Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical
Area (CMSA), which has been named as the Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Trenton NAA.  The CAAA requires a modeled
attainment demonstration for the entire Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Trenton NAA, and the attainment year for the
severe ozone Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton NAA is year
2005.

In May 1998 the Delaware Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) submitted
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) a State
Implementation Plan (SIP) revision entitled "The Delaware
Phase II Attainment Demonstration for Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Trenton Ozone Nonattainment Area" ("The
Delaware Phase II document"). The Delaware Phase II
document successfully demonstrated attainment of the 1-
hour ozone NAAQS for the Delaware portion of the
Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton ozone NAA for the July
18-20, 1991 episode with the Ozone Transport Assessment
Group (OTAG) Run2 boundary conditions.  Recently EPA
determined that there is a shortfall in the attainment
demonstration for the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton
ozone NAA and identified the requirements that the states
should meet in order to get their Phase II attainment
demonstrations approved. This document lists all the EPA
identified requirements and addresses how Delaware will
fulfil those requirements to get the Delaware Phase II
Attainment Demonstration Plan approved.

The agency with direct responsibilities for preparing
and submitting this document is the Delaware Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC),
Division of Air and Waste Management Section, Air Quality
Management Section (AQMS), under the direction of Darryl
D. Tyler, Program Administrator.  The working
responsibility for Delaware's air quality planning falls within

the Planning and Community Protection (PCP) Branch of the
Air Quality Management Section of DNREC under the
management of Raymond H. Malenfant, Program Manager.
Alfred R. Deramo, Program Manager of State
Implementation Planning Program (SIPP) Group is the
project manager and chief editor of this document.
Mohammed A. Mazeed, Ph.D., P.E. is the principal author of
this document, and Janet Kremer of EPA Region III Office is
responsible for developing necessary emissions factors
required for developing the on-road mobile source emissions
budgets.

2. EPA's Recent Additional Requirements for Getting the
Phase II Attainment Demonstrations Approved

Due to the proposed court settlement between the
Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC) and EPA, EPA
declared that the states should meet additional requirements
for the approval of the 1-hour attainment demonstrations.
They are:

On-road Mobile Source Emissions Budgets: states
should include in their Phase II Attainment Demonstration
SIPs adequate on-road mobile source volatile organic
compound (VOC) and oxides of nitrogen (NOx) emissions
budgets for use in transportation conformity.  

Regional NOx Reductions: states must have rules
adopted or, for severe areas an enforceable commitment to
adopt controls consistent with the NOx reductions assumed
in the attainment plan.

Additional Measures: enforceable commitment is
required from states to adopt additional measures, which
may be measures adopted regionally such as in the Ozone
Transport Region (OTR), or locally in individual states. 

Mid-Course Review: an enforceable commitment is
required from states to conduct a mid-course review and
evaluation based on air quality and emissions trends.

Clean Air Act Measures: states must adopt and submit
rules for all previously required CAAA mandated measures
for the specific area classification including measures
needed for 15% and 9% rate of progress.  The 15% and 9%
rate-of-progress plans (RPPs) are required by Section 182(d)
of the CAAA.

Fuel Reductions: states should include in their Phase II
attainment demonstration SIPs reductions expected from
Tier 2 tailpipe and low sulfur-in-fuel standards in the
attainment demonstration.

3. Delaware's Response and Commitments 
This addendum addresses how Delaware fulfils its

obligations for meeting EPA's approval of the Delaware
Phase II attainment demonstration. They are addressed
below.

3.1 Phase II On-Road Mobile Source Emissions
Budgets & Fuel Reductions
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This section addresses two of the six requirements
addressed above - the on-road mobile source emissions
budgets and fuel reductions. An April 30, 1999 letter from
Judith Katz (Director, Air Protection Division, EPA Region
III Office) states that, in order for the on-road mobile source
emissions budgets to be adequate for the purposes of
transportation conformity, the budgets should reflect the
National Low Emission Vehicle (NLEV) and heavy-duty
diesel engine (HDDE) programs (Appendix 1). Another
requirement for the adequacy of the on-road mobile source
emissions budgets is that the control measures should be in
effect on the attainment date. Ms. Katz's October 26, 1999
letter declares that Delaware's motor vehicle budgets are
inadequate (Appendix 2).

A draft memo dated October 14, 1999 from Lydia
Wegman (Director, Air Quality Standards and Standards
Division) ("Wegman memo") (Appendix 3) states that, if the
attainment demonstration contains shortfalls the states
should use Tier 2 Federal Motor Vehicle Control Program
(FMVCP) and low sulfur-in-fuel standards ("Tier 2") in their
attainment demonstrations.  Recently EPA has identified that
the Philadelphia CMSA has an attainment shortfall, and
therefore the Delaware Phase II Attainment Plan meets
Lydia Wegman's criterion for including the Tier 2 emissions
reductions in its on-road mobile source emissions budgets.

The Delaware Phase II document did not identify
the on-road mobile source emissions budgets that are
necessary for the purposes of transportation conformity. This
addendum assigns the on-road mobile source emissions
budgets for the Kent and New Castle county severe ozone
NAA.  Delaware, in its Phase II document, besides the
benefits of other control measures, claimed the benefits of
Low Emission Vehicle (LEV) standards, but did not claim
the benefit of HDDE emissions standards.  The requirement,
however, is that the budgets should reflect NLEV program
but not LEV, and the HDDE program.  In developing the on-
road mobile source emissions budgets this addendum
replaces the benefit of the LEV program with the NLEV
program and adds the benefit of the HDDE program.   The
benefits of HDDE program and the NOx benefit of Phase II
reformulated gasoline (RFG II) cannot be modeled using
Mobile5a, the EPA model that was originally used for
estimating the on-road mobile source VOC, NOx and CO
emissions factors. Therefore, it was necessary to use the
updated model, Mobile5b.  In developing Delaware's Phase
II attainment on-road mobile source emissions budgets, the
EPA Region III office ran the Mobile5b model to estimate
necessary emissions factors.  The resulting on-road mobile
source emissions with the NLEV, HDDE and RFG II control
measures are listed in Table 1.

Table 1. On-Road Mobile Source Emissions Estimates 
for 2005with NLEV, HDDE and RFG II Programs

in Tons per Peak Ozone Season Day (TPD)

To satisfy the criterion in the Wegman memo, this
addendum includes the emissions reductions from Tier 2
standards.  The spreadsheets containing Tier 2 reductions in
2005 listed in the Wegman memo are provided by the EPA
Region III office.  These reductions are calculated from the
2007 inventories by applying the ratios of 2005 to 2007
emission factors (based on Moble5b) and Vehicles Miles
Traveled (VMT) to the 2007 inventories.  The Mobile5b
runs used national defaults for many of the inputs, and the
VMT projections used in this analysis were derived from the
National Emissions Trends report. Because of these
simplifying assumptions, these estimates should be viewed
only as approximations. The exact figures can be estimated
when Mobile6 becomes available.  The Wegman memo lists
the approximate benefits from Tier 2 emission reductions by
county by vehicle type in the NAA.  For Kent and New
Castle Counties, the VOC and reductions in year 2005 are
listed in Table 2.

Table 2. Emissions Reductions due to Tier 2/Low Sulfur-
in-Fuel for Year 2005 in Tons per Peak Ozone Season 

Day (TPD)

COUNTY VOC
EMISSIONS

NOx
EMISSIONS

Kent 5.00 8.81

New Castle 15.30 25.63

Total Nonattainment Area 20.30 34.44

County Vehicle Type* VOC Emissions NOx Emissions

Kent LDGV 0.0525 0.3680

LDGT1 0.0666 0.3683

LDGT2 0.0362 0.1355

LDDT 0.0013 0.0032

HDGV 0.0042 0.0301

Kent County Subtotal 0.1608 0.9051

New
Castle

LDGV 0.1894 1.1621

LDGT1 0.2074 1.0638

LDGT2 0.1227 0.4045

LDDT 0.0052 0.0103
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* see the acronym listing for information on each
vehicle type

The effect of Tier 2 control is to further reduce the
emissions listed in Table 1.  For Kent County it reduces the
VOC and NOx emissions by 0.16 and 0.91 TPD,
respectively, and for New Castle County by 0.54 and 2.71
TPD, respectively.  Note that the Tier 2 emissions reductions
are rounded to two significant figures after the decimal to
stay consistent with the mobile source emissions estimates.
The resulting 2005 on-road mobile emissions with all
controls including Tier 2 are listed in Table 3.

Table 3. On-Road Mobile Source Emissions Estimates for
Year 2005 with NLEV, HDDE, RFG II and Tier 2/Low
Sulfur-in-Fuel Programs in Tons per Peak Ozone Season
Day (TPD)

For the purposes of transportation conformity, the
year 2005 VOC and NOx emissions budgets for Kent
County are established here as 4.84 TPD and 7.90 TPD,
respectively; and for New Castle County the year 2005 VOC
and NOx emissions budgets are 14.76 TPD and 22.92 TPD,
respectively.

3.2 Regional NOx Reductions 
EPA requires that for the nonattainment area

the states must adopt controls consistent with the NOx
reductions assumed in the attainment plan, and that the states
in their attainment plans can assume reductions in
transported NOx consistent with EPA's NOx SIP call.  
Delaware, in its attainment demonstration, assumed
transported NOx consistent with the NOx SIP Call.  As
pointed out in the Delaware Phase II attainment document,
UAM simulations performed with the OTAG run2 boundary
conditions exhibited attainment of the 1-hour ozone NAAQS
for Delaware portion of the modeling domain.  Delaware
hereby commits to adopt control measures consistent with
the NOx reductions assumed in its Phase II attainment plan.

3.3 Additional Measures
EPA has declared that the Philadelphia CMSA

has shortfalls in the attainment demonstrations, and
identified the amount of attainment shortfalls for the CMSA

for which the states need to develop additional control
measures.  EPA requires, the states to adopt additional
measures, and these measures can be adopted regionally
such as in the Ozone Transport Region (OTR), or locally in
individual states. Delaware hereby commits to adopt
additional control measures, with the assumption that the
EPA identified amount is correct.

3.4 Mid-Course Review
EPA requires from Delaware an enforceable

commitment to conduct a mid-course review and evaluation
based on air quality and emissions trends.  The mid-course
review could show that 1) the adopted control measures are
sufficient to reach attainment by the area's attainment date,
or 2) that additional control measures are necessary.  EPA
will provide guidance to identify an indicator as to whether a
state is on track toward attainment within the prescribed time
limits.  The indicator will solely rely on air quality data plus
a review of past modeling or emission controls implemented
prior to the time of mid-course review.  Delaware hereby
commits to conduct a mid-course review and evaluation
based on air quality and emissions trends.

3.5 Clean Air Act Measures 
EPA requires that states adopt and submit rules

for all previously required CAAA mandated measures for
the specific area classification including measures needed
for the 15% and 9% RPPs.  Delaware adopted all necessary
CAAA measures needed for 15% and 9% RPPs through the
2002 RPP. The EPA has already approved Delaware's 15%
Plan.  The 1999 RPP (amended) was submitted in June,
1999.  It contained fully adopted measures and is awaiting
EPA approval.  The 2002 RPP has been through the public
hearing process and will be submitted in the near future.  It
contains fully adopted measures.  The 2005 RPP is under
development and will be submitted before December, 2000.
It will contain fully adopted measures.

HDGV 0.0126 0.0691

New Castle County Subtotal 0.5373 2.7098

Total Nonattainment Area 0.6981 3.6149

COUNTY VOC EMISSIONS NOx EMISSIONS

Kent 4.84 7.90

New Castle 14.76 22.92

Total Nonattainment
Area

19.60 30.82
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 105(1), the Delaware
Board of Accountancy proposes to revise its rules and
regulations.  Pursuant to due notice of time and place of
hearing published in the News Journal and the Delaware
State News, and pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10115, having
published the following proposed regulations in the Register
of Regulations on January 1, 2000, a public hearing on the
adoption of the proposed new rules and regulations was held
before the Delaware Board (“Board”) of Accountancy on
February 23, 2000.  Following deliberations, the Board
voted to approve the following rules and regulations in
their entirety, with the exception of Rules 6.3.2 and 6.4.2,
to which amendments were proposed, as indicated
herein.  Accordingly, a second public hearing will be held
as to the new proposed amendments.  A final order will
issue adopting all approved rules at the conclusion of all
public hearings. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed
amendments to the Rules and Regulations on Wednesday,
April 26, 2000 at 9:00 a..m., in the Second Floor Conference
Room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The Board will receive
and consider input in writing from any person on the
proposed amendments to the Rules and Regulations.  Any
written comments should be submitted to the Board in care
of Mary Paskey at the above address.  The final date to
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the
public hearing should notify Mary Paskey at the above
address or by calling (302) 739-4522, extension 207.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY & BARBERING

The Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
proposes to amend current Rule 5.1,pursuant to 24 Del.C. §§
5106 and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101. The purpose of the proposed
amendment is to clarify that work experience required for
licensure by reciprocity must have been obtained in a state or
jurisdiction outside of Delaware.

A public hearing on the proposed regulation will be held
on Monday, April 24, 2000 at 9:00 a.m., in Conference
Room A, Second Floor, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. The Board will receive and

consider input from interested persons on the proposed rule
amendment. Oral comments will be received at the public
hearing.  Any written comments should be submitted to the
Board in care of Gayle Melvin at the above address.  The
final date to submit written comments shall be at the above
scheduled public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy
of the proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments
at the public hearing should notify Gayle Melvin at the
above address or by calling (302) 739-4522.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF PHARMACY

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §2509,
the Delaware Board of Pharmacy has developed and
proposes to adopt changes to Regulations I - Pharmacist
Licensure Requirements, II Grounds for Disciplinary
Proceeding, and V Dispensing.  The changes to Regulation I
eliminate the Continuing Education Committee, transferring
the Committee's responsibilities to the Board. The conduct
previously defined in Regulation II as "gross immorality" is
now included in the term "unprofessional conduct".
Regulation V may be amended to include a definition for
"container", to clarify the activity allowed for supportive
personnel to insure a final check of a prescription by a
pharmacist and to allow for electronically transmitted
prescriptions.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Wednesday, April 12, 2000 at 12:00 noon in
the Jesse Cooper Building, Room 309 (third floor conference
room), Federal and Water Streets, Dover, DE 19901.  The
Board will receive and consider input from any person on the
proposed Rules and Regulations.  Written comment can be
submitted at any time prior to the hearing in care of Gradella
E. Bunting at the above address.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty- (20) days before the
hearing in addition to publication in the Register of
Regulations. Written copies of the proposed regulations may
be obtained from the Board of Pharmacy by contacting
Gradella E. Bunting at the above address or calling (302)
739-4798.
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK 
EXAMINERS

Public Hearing Notice

The Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners
proposes to amend and adopt new rule changes, pursuant to
24 Del.C. Section 3906(1) and (7) and 29 Del.C. Chapter
101.  The purpose of the hearing is to adopt proposed rule
changes:  amending Rule 5 and 6.3 regarding Continuing
Education, and adding a new Rule 7.0 addressing Ethics.

The Board’s Rule regarding Continuing Education has
been rewritten in its entirety.  Many provisions in the
Board’s current Rule 5 remain substantively the same, but
some have been renumbered or corrected for grammar and
format.  Substantive changes include clarifying requirements
for hardship extension; allowing credit for certain self-
directed activities and requiring pre-approval of such
activities by the Board; and clarifying content requirements
and Category I and II courses.  Rule 6.3 has been amended to
make its definition of “hardship” consistent with that in Rule
5.1.3.  Finally, Rule 7.0, Code of Ethics is a new rule
designed to provide licensees with rules and guidelines for
the conduct of safe, ethical practice in the areas of client
services, relationships with clients, confidentiality, ethical
business practices and clinical supervision.

A public hearing on the proposed rules will be held on
Monday, April 17, 2000 at 9:30 a.m. in Conference Room B,
Second Floor, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard,
Dover, Delaware.  The Board will receive and consider input
in writing from any person on the proposed rules.  Any
written comments should be submitted to the Board office,
in care of Gayle L. Franzolino, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite
203, Cannon Bldg., Dover, DE  19904.  The final date to
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed rules, or to make comments at the public hearing
should notify Gayle L. Franzolino at the above address or by
calling (302) 739-4522, extension 220.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

GAMING CONTROL BOARD

The Board proposes a new section 1.03(10) to the
existing Bingo Regulations. The amendment would require
the bingo applicant to provide full and fair description of the
prize to be awarded and appraised value of the prize. The
amendment would also permit the Board to require an

independent appraisal of the prize.
Copies of the existing Bingo Regulations and the

proposed regulation as amended are attached. The public
may obtain copies of the proposed regulations from the
Delaware Gaming Control Board, Division of Professional
Regulation, Cannon Building, Suite #203, 861 Silver Lake
Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. The contact person at the Board is
Denise Spear and she can be contacted at (302) 739-4522
ext. 202. The Board will accept written comments from the
public beginning March 1, 2000 through April 5. 2000. A
public hearing will be held at the Delaware Gaming Control

Board, 2nd Floor Conference Room, Cannon Building, Suite
#203, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE on April 6, 2000 at
12:00 p.m.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its
monthly meeting on Thursday, March 17, 2000 at
2:00 p.m. in the Townsend Building, Dover,
Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE

Register Notice

1. Title of the Regulation:
Shellfish Regulations S-54 Possession Limit on

Horseshoe Crabs; Exceptions

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Horseshoe

Crab, (FMP) adopted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission, has imposed a 25% reduction in the number of
horseshoe crabs that may be harvested in 2000 by each
Atlantic Coastal State relative to their average annual
reference period landings.  For Delaware, the reference
period landings for horseshoe crabs are in the years 1995,
1996 and 1997 when an annual average 482,401 horseshoe
crabs were landed.  In 2000, Delaware must not land more
than 361,801 horseshoe crabs to meet the mandatory
requirement of the FMP.  Regulations must be in effect by
May 1, 2000 to implement this reduction. This reduction in
landings will conserve the horseshoe crab population in
order to maintain sustainable levels of spawning stock
biomass and ensure its continued role in the ecology of

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/fwwel.htm
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coastal ecosystems while providing for continued use over
time. 

The Department is considering daily harvest limits for
horseshoe crab collectors, horseshoe crab dredgers and
commercial eel pot fishermen to reduce their harvest to
361,801 horseshoe crabs.  The Department also is
considering to require written permission to collect
horseshoe crabs from private lands.  The Department also is
considering to ban the bringing of horseshoe crabs into state
waters from the Exclusive Economic Zone.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
If Delaware fails to comply with the FMP, the horseshoe

crab fishery in the State may be closed by the Secretary of
the Department of Commerce until such time Delaware
meets the requirements of the FMP.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
§2701, 7 Del. C.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the
Proposal:

Shellfish Regulation S-51, Seasons and Areas closed to
taking Horseshoe Crabs; S-55, Horseshoe Crab Dredging
Restrictions; S-57, Horseshoe Crab Reporting Requirements

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE  19901, 302-739-3441 prior
to 4:30 PM.  A public workshop will be held in the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control auditorium on March 7, 2000 at 7:30 PM to discuss
various options to reduce the harvest of horseshoe crabs by
25%. A public hearing on proposed amendments to shellfish
regulations on horseshoe crabs will be held in the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
PM on March 20, 2000.  The record will remain open until
4:30 PM on March 30, 2000.

7. Prepared by:
Charles A. Lesser(302)-739-3441

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Notice of Public Hearing 

The Department of Public Safety will hold a hearing
Pursuant to 29 Del. C. Chapter 101 concerning the adoption
of Policy Regulation 45 entitled “Driver Improvement
Problem Driver Program” that replaces current Policy
Regulation 45 entitled “Driver Point System.” 

The Department will also receive public comment
regarding a proposed Department of Public Safety Policy
Regulation to establish administrative procedures to
implement an aggressive driver program as outlined in 21
Del.C. 4175A, Aggressive Driving. This proposed Policy
Regulation would become Policy Regulation Number 90
Concerning Aggressive Drivers

DATE: Wednesday, March 22nd, 2000
TIME: 10:00 AM

PLACE: Main Conference room (2nd Floor) 
Department of Public Safety 
Public Safety Building 
303 Transportation Circle 
Dover, Delaware 19901 

Persons may view the proposed Policy Regulation
between the hours of 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday,
Tuesday, Thursday and Friday or between the hours of 12:00
PM and 7:00 PM on Wednesday, at the Division of Motor
Vehicles, Chief of Driver Services Office, in the Public
Safety Building, 303 Transportation Circle, Dover,
Delaware 19901.

Persons may present their views in writing by mailing
their views to the Chief of Driver Services, Division of
Motor Vehicles, PO Box 698, Dover, Delaware 19903 or by
offering testimony at the public hearing.  If the number of
persons desiring to testify at the public hearing is large, the
amount of time allotted to each speaker will be limited. 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

The Commission hereby solicits written comments,
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written
materials concerning Staff's proposed changes and additions
to the Minimum Filing Requirements.  Ten (10) copies of
such materials shall be filed with the Commission at its
office located at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware  19904.  All such
materials shall be filed on or before March 31, 2000.

http://www.state.de.us/pubsafe/index.htm
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In addition, the Commission will conduct a public
hearing concerning the proposed changes on Tuesday, April
11, 2000, beginning at 1:00 PM.  The public hearing will be
held at the Commission's Dover office, located at the address
set forth above.  Interested persons may present comments,
evidence, testimony, and other materials at that public
hearing.  

The Minimum Filing Requirements, the proposed
changes to the same, and the materials submitted in
connection therewith will be available for public inspection
and copying at the Commission's Dover office during normal
business hours.  The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.  

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to
participate in these proceedings should contact the
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed
to facilitate such review or participation.  Such contact may
be in person, by writing, telephonically, by use of the
Telecommunications Relay Service, or otherwise.  The
Commission's toll-free telephone number is (800) 282-8574.
Persons with questions concerning this application may
contact the Commission's Secretary, Karen J. Nickerson, by
either Text Telephone ("TT") or by regular telephone at
(302) 739-4333 or by e-mail at knickerson@state.de.us.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN
COMMISSION

P.O. Box 7360 West Trenton

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on
Tuesday, March 7, 2000, in Reading, Pennsylvania.  For
more information contact Pamela M. Bush at (609) 883-
9500 extention 203.



DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

 SUBSCRIBE TO THE OFFICIAL 
 SOURCE OF COMPLETE  
 INFORMATION ON DELAWARE 
 STATE REGULATIONS

THE 
   DELAWARE  

         REGISTER
                    OF  

   REGULATIONS

A single-source document for regulatory
information, including proposed and adopted  
 text of state regulations, all emergency 
regulations, Governors Executive Orders and
Appointments, Attorney General Opinions,
General Notices and notices of public

hearings and open meetings of state agencies.   
PUBLISHED MONTHLY - $120.00 PER YEAR

YES, PLEASE ENTER MY SUBSCRIPTION FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER AT $120/YEAR
You will be billed upon receipt of your order.   Subscription period runs from January to December. Mid-year
subscriptions will be prorated at $10 per issue. Back issues are available at $12 per issue. Subscription fees are non-
refundable. 

NAME ________________________________ ADDRESS ___________________________________

ORGANIZATION _______________________________________         CITY _______________________

PHONE _______________       STATE ___________   ZIP _____________    EMAIL __________________

 



DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 9, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 1, 2000

Visit The Delaware General 
Assembly On The Web! 

 The General Assembly Website features:
! Current legislative information
! Information on both the Senate and House of Representatives
! Access the Delaware Code
! Access to the Delaware Register of Regulations
! Information on the legislative process
! Various reports and publications

The General Assembly Website is located at:
http://www.state.de.us/research/assembly.htm
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