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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

2:6 Del. R. 1000 - 1010 (December 1, 1998)
refers to Volume 2, Issue 6, pages 1000 - 1010 of
the Delaware Register issued on December 1,
1998.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-739-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,
no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
 DATE             DATE        TIME

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

William S. Montgomery, Director,
Division of Research; Walter G. Feindt, Deputy
Director; Kathleen K. Amalfitano, Secretary;
Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of Regulations;
Maryanne McGonegal, Research Analyst; Ruth
Ann Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J.
Messina, Print Shop Supervisor; Alex W. Mull,
Assistant Registrar; Deborah A. Porter,
Administrative Secretary; Virginia L. Potts,
Administrative  Assistant; Barbara Ryan, Public
Information Clerk; Don Sellers, Printer; Thom
Shiels, Legislative Attorney; Marguerite P.
Smith, Public Information Clerk; Alice W. Stark,
Legislative Attorney; Mary Jane Starkey, Senior
Secretary;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Rochelle
Yerkes, Senior Secretary.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).

Attorney General
Opinion No. 98-IB03, Authority to Delegate Approval of Certain Personnel Transactions. .......2:2 Del.R.   324
Opinion No. 98-IB04, FOIA Complaint Against Appoquinimink School District............... .......2:2 Del.R.   325
Opinion No. 98-IB05, FOIA Complaint Against Appoquinimink School District............... .......2:4 Del.R.   699
Opinion No. 98-IB06, Candidacy of Richard L. Abbott........................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   700
Opinion No. 98-IB07, Sworn Payroll Information, 29 Del.C. 10002.................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   703
Opinion No. 98-IB08, Complaint Against the Town of Townsend....................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   705
Opinion No. 98-IB09, FOIA Complaint Against Woodbridge School District..................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1396
Opinion No. 98-IB10, Candidacy of Douglas Salter............................................................. .......2:8 Del.R. 1397
Opinion No. 98-IB11, Opinion of the Attorney General Concerning the Licensing of Oral

Maxillofacial Surgeons................................................................................................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1398
Opinion No. 98-IB12, FOIA Complaint Against Woodbridge School District..................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1399
Opinion No. 98-IB13, FOIA Complaint Against Town of Laurel......................................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1401
Opinion No. 98-IB14, FOIA Complaint Against City of Newark......................................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1402

Delaware Solid Waste Authority
DSWA, Rules and Regulations.............................................................................................. .......2:8 Del.R. 1316 (Prop.)
Differential Disposal Fee Program........................................................................................ .......2:8 Del.R. 1328 (Prop.)
Proposed Amendment to the Statewide Solid Waste Management Plan............................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1329 (Prop.)

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
Part V, Chapter 5, Standard for the Marking, Identification, and Accessibility of Fire Lanes,

Exits, Fire Hydrants, Sprinkler and Standpipe Connections.......................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   765 (Prop.)
2:8 Del.R. 1331 (Prop.)

Department of Administrative Services
Division of Professional Regulation

Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners..................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   164 (Prop.) 
2:5 Del.R.   775 (Final)

Board of Cosmetology and Barbering............................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   440 (Prop.)
2:8 Del.R. 1378 (Final)

Board of Funeral Services............................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   207 (Final)
Board of Examiners in Optometry.................................................................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     95 (Final)
Board of Examiners of Psychologists............................................................................. .......2:1 Del.R.   103 (Final)

2:3 Del.R.   341 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   776 (Final)

Board of Examiners of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists & Hearing Aid
Dispensers ........................................................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   370 (Final)

Board of Funeral Services............................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1061 (Prop.)
Board of Nursing ........................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   682 (Final)
Board of Pharmacy ........................................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.       6 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.    683 (Final)
Board of Plumbing Examiners........................................................................................ .......2:7 Del.R.  1065 (Prop.)
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Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health...................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.      12 (Prop.)
2:3 Del.R.    371 (Final)

Delaware Board of Occupational Therapy..................................................................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1340 (Prop.)
Delaware Council on Real Estate Appraisers................................................................. .......2:3 Del.R.    372 (Final)
Delaware Gaming Board

Bingo, Charitable Gambling & Raffles................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.    444 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1224 (Final)

Regulations Governing Bingo................................................................................. .......2:8 Del.R. 1349 (Prop.)
Regulations Governing Charitable Gambling other than Raffles............................ .......2:8 Del.R. 1349 (Prop.)

Delaware Real Estate Commission................................................................................. .......2:8 Del.R. 1343 (Prop.)

Department of Agriculture
Forest Service Regulations for State Forests......................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   348 (Prop.)
Harness Racing Commission

Administrator of Racing, Definition............................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   457 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1239 (Final)

Inclusion in List of Commission Officials.............................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   457 (Prop.) 
2:7 Del.R. 1240 (Final)

Calculation of Time Allowance Based on Weather Conditions..................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   462 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1244 (Final)

Calculation of Time Allowance Based on Weather Conditions..................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1068 (Prop.)
Commission’s Powers to Appoint Officials................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   456 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1238 (Final)
Commission’s Powers to Appoint Officials................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1068 (Prop.)
Commission’s Powers to Regulate Drug Testing........................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   457 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1240 (Final)
Conditions for Non-Winners and Winners of Over $100.00.......................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   461 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1243 (Final)
Conditions for Number of Horses in Field..................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   461 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1244 (Final)
Creation of Racing Official Positions............................................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   457 (Prop.)
Definition of Investigator................................................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   456 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1239 (Final)
Delaware Owned or Bred Races, Addition of................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   458 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1240 (Final)
Conditions for ......................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   458 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1240 (Final)
Definitions of .......................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   458 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1240 (Final)
Filing of Claiming Authorization at Time of Declaration, Requirement of................... .......2:4 Del.R.   460 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1242 (Final)
Overnight Events ........................................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1068 (Prop.)
Payment of Court Reporter Costs by Licensees Filing Appeals..................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   461 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1243 (Final)
Procedure for Determination of Preference Dates.......................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   461 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1244 (Final)
Procedure for Determination of Preference Dates.......................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1068 (Prop.)
Procedure for Horses Placed on Steward’s List.............................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   461 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1243 (Final)
Prohibition on Racing Claimed Horses.......................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1068 (Prop.)
Prohibition of Racing Horses 15 Years or Older............................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   460 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1243 (Final)
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Revision of Procedures for Claiming Horse that Tests Positive for Illegal Substance... .......2:4 Del.R.   460 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1242 (Final)

Selection of Races in Division, Procedure for................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   460 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1243 (Final)

Whipping ........................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   684 (Final)
Pesticide Rules & Regulations............................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   724 (Prop.)

2:8 Del.R. 1380 (Final)
Thoroughbred Racing Commission

Administrator of Racing, Rule 4.10................................................................................ .......2:7 Del.R. 1070 (Prop.)
Appointment of Racing Officials, Rule 4.01.................................................................. .......2:7 Del.R. 1069 (Prop.)
Investigator, Rule 4.09.................................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1070 (Prop.)
Limits on Claims, Rule 13.04......................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1071 (Prop.)
Prohibition on Racing Claimed Horses, Rule 13.18....................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     93 (Final)
Qualification for Stewards, Rule 3.01............................................................................ .......2:7 Del.R. 1069 (Prop.)
Racing Claimed Horses, Rule 13.19............................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.       6 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   373 (Final)
Statment of Purpose ....................................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1070 (Prop.)

Department of Education
Career Guidance & Placement Counselors............................................................................ .......2:5 Del.R.   740 (Prop.)
Comprehensive School Discipline Program.......................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   374 (Final)
Constitution & Bylaws of DSSAA........................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.   113 (Final)
Cooperative Education Program............................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.   110 (Final)
Delaware Testing Requirements for Initial Licensure........................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     32 (Prop.)
Diversified Occupations Programs........................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.   111 (Final)
Establishing a School District Planning Process, Repeal of Policy....................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   166 (Rep.)
General Education Development (GED)............................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     16 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   376 (Final)
James H. Groves High School............................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     17 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   378 (Final)
K - 12 Guidance Programs.................................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   741 (Prop.)
Middle Level Education Regulation...................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   167 (Prop.)
Middle Level Education Section of Handbook for K-12 Education, Repeal of.................... .......2:1 Del.R.     23 (Rep.)
Middle Level Mathematics & Science Certification.............................................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     21 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   377 (Final)
Multicultural Education Regulations..................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   462 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1244 (Final)
Options for Awarding Credit Toward High School Graduation............................................ .......2:7 Del.R. 1071 (Prop.)
Policy for Establishing a School District Planning Process................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   464 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   960 (Final)
Policy for School Districts on the Possession, Use & Distribution of Drugs & Alcohol...... .......2:2 Del.R.   213 (Final)
Prohibition of Discrimination................................................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   465 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1276 (Final)
Promotion Policy ........................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   171 (Prop.)
Promotion Regulation ........................................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   742 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1247 (Final)
Releasing Students to Persons other than their Parents or Legal Guardians......................... .......2:3 Del.R.   357 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   778 (Final)
Safety ........................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   215 (Final)
School Attendance ........................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   172 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.   685 (Final)
School Calendar and Required Days and Hours of Instruction............................................. .......2:8 Del.R. 1350 (Prop.)
School Construction ........................................................................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   807 (Prop.)

2:8 Del.R. 1380 (Final)
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School Custodians ........................................................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   353 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   778 (Final)

Student Progress, Grading & Reporting, Repeal of .............................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   171 (Prop.)
2:4 Del.R.   686 (Final)

Student Rights & Responsibilities......................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   112 (Final)
Summer School Programs, Repeal of.................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   172 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.   687 (Final)
Technology ........................................................................................................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1350 (Prop.)
Title I Complaint Process...................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   217 (Final)
Unit Count ........................................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     25 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   382 (Final)
Department of Finance

Division of Revenue
Proposed Tax Ruling 98- , Contractors License Tax...................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     40 (Prop.)
Proposed Technical Information Memorandum 98-2, Effect of Federal
     Small Business Job Protection Act............................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.     41 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   384 (Final)
Office of the State Lottery

Video Lottery Regulations, Operations Employees, License Renewal, etc................... .......2:1 Del.R.   115 (Final)
Video Lottery Regulations, 5.2(2) Maximum Bet Limit & 7.9 Redemption Period...... .......2:3 Del.R.   358 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   779 (Final)

Department of Health & Social Services
Division of Mental Retardation

DMR Eligibility Criteria................................................................................................. .......2:8 Del.R. 1358 (Prop.)
Division of Public Health

Office of Drinking Water................................................................................................ .......2:7 Del.R. 1094 (Prop.)
Office of Health Facilities Licensing & Certification

Managed Care Organizations.................................................................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     42 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R.   962 (Final)

Office of Vital Statistics
Vital Statistics Code, Regulations for...................................................................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1351 (Prop.)

Regulations Governing Lead-Based Paint Hazards........................................................ .......2:2 Del.R.   234 (Final)
Division of Social Services

A Better Chance/Food Stamp Program.......................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   118 (Final)
Community Support Services/Alcohol-Drug Abuse Provider Manual.......................... .......2:6 Del.R.   811 (Prop.)
Community Support Services/Mental Health Provider Manual..................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   823 (Prop.)
DMAP, 270.10, DMAP 301.25 & DMAP 307.60.......................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   385 (Final)
DMAP, 301.25 Composition of Budget Unit................................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   219 (Final)
DMAP, 301.25C, Adult Expansion Population.............................................................. .......2:3 Del.R.   387 (Final)
DMAP, Ambulatory Surgical Center Manual................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   495 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   985 (Final)
DMAP Durable Medical Equipment, EPSDT & Practitioner Provider Manuals........... .......2:2 Del.R.   221 (Final)
DMAP, General Policy Manual...................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   497 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   986 (Final)
DMAP, General Policy Manual...................................................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   837 (Prop.)
DMAP, General Policy Manual, Aliens......................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     67 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
DMAP, General Policy Manual, Medicaid Credit Balance Report (MCBR)................. .......2:7 Del.R. 1076 (Prop.)
DMAP, Inpatient Hospital Manual................................................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   496 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   986 (Final)
DMAP, Outpatient Hospital Manual.............................................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   497 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   986 (Final)
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DMAP, Practitioner Manual........................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   496 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R.   985 (Final)

DMAP, Provider Manual, Reimbursement for Services................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.     66 (Prop.)
2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)

DSSM Section 3005, TANF Program............................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   494 (Prop.)
2:7 DEl.R. 1249 (Final)

DSSM Section 3008, Children Born to Teenage Parent................................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     65 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R.   981 (Final)

DSSM Section 3024, Citizens and Aliens Eligibility for TANF.................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   744 (Prop.)
2:8 Del.R. 1384 (Final)

DSSM Section 3031, Work for your Welfare (Workfare) Program............................... .......2:5 Del.R.   745 (Prop.)
2:8 Del.R. 1386 (Final)

DSSM Section 9007.1, Citizenship & Alien Status........................................................ .......2:3 Del.R.   359 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R.   982 (Final)

DSSM Section 9068, Food Stamp Program................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   174 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1251 (Final)

DSSM Section 9085, Reporting Changes....................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1054 (Emer.)
2:7 Del.R. 1074 (Prop.)

DSSM Section 9092, Simplified Food Stamp Program................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   174 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1251 (Final)

DSSM Section 11000 & 12000, Child Care & First Step Program................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   466 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1249 (Final)

DSSM Section 14900, Eligibility Manual...................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   493 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R.   984 (Final)

DSSM Section 16000, Eligibility Manual...................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   492 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R.   984 (Final)

DSSM Section 18200, Uninsured Requirement............................................................. .......2:7 Del.R. 1075 (Prop.)
DSSM, Title XXI, Delaware Healthy Children Program, General Policy Manual and

Eligibility Manual.................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   485 (Prop.)
Long Term Care, Home Health, Ground Ambulance & Hospice Provider Manuals..... .......2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
Long Term Care Provider Manual, Durable Medical Equipment.................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     68 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
Medicaid Eligibility Manual, Renumbering of............................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   359 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   780 (Final)
Medical Necessity, Definition of.................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   748 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1249 (Final)
Non-Emergency Transportation Provider Manual......................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   837 (Prop.)

2:8 Del.R. 1384 (Final)
Non-Emergency Transportation Provider Manual, Unloaded Mileage.......................... .......2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
Outpatient Hospital Provider Manual............................................................................. .......2:6 Del.R.   836 (Prop.)

2:8 Del.R. 1384 (Final)
Pharmacy Provider Manual, Reimbursement for Services............................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     67 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
Practitioner Provider Manual.......................................................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   836 (Prop.)

2:8 Del.R. 1384 (Final)
Private Duty Nursing Manual......................................................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   838 (Prop.)

2:8 Del.R. 1384 (Final)
Simplified Food Stamp Program, ABC Benefits............................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.   120 (Final)
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)....................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     60 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.   688 (Final)

Department of Insurance
Regulation No. 37, Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles & Motorcycles) .... .......2:1 Del.R.     68 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   989 (Final)
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Regulation No. 47, Education for Insurance Adjusters, Agents, Brokers, Surplus
Lines Brokers & Consultants.......................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   122 (Final)

Regulation No. 63, Long-Term Care Insurance..................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   187 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 65, Workplace Safety................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     71 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.   688 (Final)
Regulation No. 80, Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable Settlements of Claims for

Health Care Services...................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   277 (Final)

Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Delaware Coastal Management Program, Federal Consistency Policies.............................. .......2:4 Del.R.   500 (Prop.)
Delaware Coastal Zone Regulations...................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   749 (Prop.)
Division of Air & Waste Management

Air Quality Management Section
1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent & New Castle Counties................................ .......2:8 Del.r. 1359 (Prop.)
Accidental Release Prevention Regulation.............................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   629 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1252 (Final)
Delaware Low Enhanced Inspection & Maintenance (LEIM) Program................. .......2:2 Del.R.   234 (Final)
Regulation 20, New Source Performance Standards for Hospital/Medical/Infectious

Waste Incinerators............................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.     75 (Prop.)
2:3 Del.R.   390 (Final)

Regulation 1 & 24, Definition of Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC)................. .......2:1 Del.R.     74 (Prop.)
2:4 Del.R.   690 (Final)

Regulation 1 & 3, Governing the Control of Air Pollution..................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1195 (Prop.)
Regulation 24, Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions........................ .......2:5 Del.R.   761 (Prop.)

2:8 Del.R. 1387 (Final)
Regulation 37, NOx Budget Program...................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1170 (Prop.)
Regulation 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for

Source Categories............................................................................................. .......2:5 Del.R.   759 (Prop.)
2:8 Del.R. 1390 (Final)

Waste Management Section
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste............................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   994 (Final)
Regulations Governing Solid Waste........................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   545 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   838 (Prop.)
Division of Fish & Wildlife

Boating Regulations................................................................................................ .......2:6 Del.R.   930 (Prop.)
Reproposal ....................................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1197 (Prop.)

Shellfish Reg. No. S-23, Lobster-Pot Design.......................................................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1373 (Prop.)
Shellfish Reg. No. S-25, Lobster-Pot Season & Limits for Commercial

Lobster Pot License.......................................................................................... .......2:8 Del.R. 1374 (Prop.)
Shellfish Reg. No. S-26, Possession of V-Notched Lobsters Prohibited................ .......2:8 Del.R. 1375 (Prop.)
Shellfish Reg. No. S-55-A, Public Lottery for Horseshoe Crab Dredge Permits.... .......2:7 Del.R. 1055 (Emer.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 4, Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Season ..2:8 Del.R. 1375 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 10, Weakfish Size Limits, Possession Limits, Seasons...... .......2:7 Del.R. 1213 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 23, Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas..2:8 Del.R. 1376 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 24, Fish Pot Requirements.................................................. .......2:7 Del.R. 1215 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 26, American Shad & Hickory Shad Creel Limits............. .......2:7 Del.R. 1216 (Prop.)
Wildlife & Fresh Water Fish Regulations............................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   916 (Prop.)

Division of Water Resources
NPDES General Permit Program Regulations Governing Storm Water Discharges

Associated with Industrial Activity.................................................................. .......2:3 Del.R.   393 (Final)
Water Supply Section

Regulations for Licensing Water Well Contractors, Pump Installer Contractors, Well 
Drillers, Well Drivers & Pump Installers......................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   176 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   997 (Final)
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Watershed Assessment Section
Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Indian River, Indian River Bay, and

Rehoboth Bay, Delaware.................................................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   183 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R. 1004 (Final)

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Nanticoke River & Broad Creek,....... .......2:2 Del.R.   185 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R. 1006 (Final)

Department of Pubic Safety
Rules of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, Rule 29.......................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1216 (Prop.)

Department of Services for Children, Youth & Their Families
Office of Child Care Licensing

Child Abuse Registry..................................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   129 (Final)

Department of State
Office of the State Banking Commissioner

Regulation No. 5.121.0002, Procedures Governing the Creation & Existence
of an Interim Bank................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   669 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.  1021 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1403.0001, Procedures Governing Filings and Determinations Respecting

Applications for a Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch or Foreign Bank Agency....2:2 Del.R.   299 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1403.0002, Application by a Foreign Bank for a Certificate of Authority

to Establish a Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch or Foreign Bank Agency
Pursuant to 5 Delaware Code §1403....................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   299 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1403/1101.0003, Regulations Governing the Organization, Chartering
Supervision, Operation and Authority of a Delaware Foreign Bank Limited Purpose
Branch, a Delaware Foreign Bank Agency and a Delaware Foreign Bank
Representative Office.............................................................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   312 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1422.0004, Application by a Foreign Bank for a License to Establish
a Foreign Bank Representative Office Pursuant to Subchapter II, Chapter 14,
Title 5, Delaware Code............................................................................................ .......2:2 Del.R.   315 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2102(b)/2112.0001, Mortgage Loan Brokers Operating Regulations.......2:3 Del.R.   361 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   782 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2210(d).0001, Licensed Lenders Operating Regulations................... .......2:3 Del.R.   362 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   782 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2218/2231.0003, Licensed Lenders Regulations Itemized Schedule
of Changes ........................................................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   364 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   784 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2741.0001, Licensed Casher of Checks, Drafts or Money Orders

Operating Regulations............................................................................................. .......2:3 Del.R.   365 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   786 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2743.0002, Licensed Casher of Checks, Drafts or Money Orders
Posting of the Fee Schedule & Minimum Requirements for Content of Books
and Records ........................................................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   366 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   786 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2905(e)/122(b).0001, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies Minimum

Requirements for Content of Books and Records................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   366 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   787 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2905(e).0002, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies Operating
Regulations ........................................................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   367 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   788 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.3404.0001, Preneed Funeral Contracts Regulations Governing

Irrevocable Trust Agreements................................................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   319 (Final)
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Regulation No. 5.701/774.0001, Procedures for Applications to Form a Bank, Bank &
Trust Company or Limited Purpose Trust Company, Pursuant to Chapter 7 of
Title 5 of the Delaware Code................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   671 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.  1023 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.751.0013, Procedures Governing the Dissolution of a State Chartered

Bank or Trust Company........................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   296 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.833.0004, Application by an Out-of-State Savings Institution,

Out-of-State Savings & Loan Holding Company or Out-of-State Bank Holding
Company to Acquire a Delaware Savings Bank or Delaware Savings and
Loan Holding Company.......................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   673 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.  1025 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.844.0009, Application by an Out-of-State Bank Holding Company to 

Acquire a Delaware Bank or Bank Holding Company, 5 Del.C. 844..................... .......2:4 Del.R.   676 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R.  1029 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.853.0001P, Procedures Governing the Registration of Delaware Bank
Holding Companies with the Bank Commissioner Pursuant to the Provision of
Section 853 of Title 5, Delaware Code, Repeal of.................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   320 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.852.0002, Application to Become a Delaware Bank Holding Company..2:2 Del.R.   297 (Rep.)

Department of Transportation
Aeronautical Regulations...................................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   130 (Final)
Subdivision Plan Review Fee Procedures.............................................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   693 (Final)

Governor’s Office
Appointments & Nominations............................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   145

2:2 Del.R.   322
2:3 Del.R.   425
2:4 Del.R.   696
2:5 Del.R.   790
2:6 Del.R. 1037
2:7 Del.R. 1295
2:8 Del.R. 1395

Executive Order No. 54 ........................................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.   143
Executive Order No. 55 ....................................................................................................... .......2:6 Del.R. 1033
Executive Order No. 56 ........................................................................................................ .......2:7 Del.R. 1293
Executive Order No. 57 ........................................................................................................ .......2:8 Del.R. 1394

Public Service Commission
PSC Regulation Docket No. 4, Minimum Filing Requirements for all Regulated

Companies Subject to the Jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission.................... .......2:1 Del.R.     81 (Prop.)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 10 ............................................................................................. .......2:6 Del.R.   946 (Prop.)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 12 (Track III), Rules to Govern Payphone Services................ .......2:4 Del.R.   695 (Final)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 41, Implementation of the Telecommunications Technology

Investment Act ........................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   280 (Final)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 44, Information Required to be Filed by a Manufacturer to

Establish an Additional Dealer or to Relocate an Existing Dealership Pursuant to
6 Del.C. 4915(a) ........................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   679 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.  1009 (Final)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 45 ............................................................................................. .......2:6 Del.R.   954 (Prop.)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 47, Discounts for Intrastate Telecommunications and Information

Services Provided to Schools and Libraries................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1057 (Emer.)
2:7 Del.R. 1220 (Prop.)

Violent Crimes Compensation Board
Rules XXVI, XXVIII, XXIX, XXX...................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   773 (Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

The final regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution, Numbers 24 and 38, relating to Dry Cleaning
Facilities using Perchloroethylene were published in Volume
2, Issue 8 of the Register beginning at page 1387.  Two
corrections should be noted.

1. The effective date listed at the end of the table of
contents should read 06/30/99.  The corrected text, bolded
and bracked, follows:

Table of Contents

Section 39 - [RESERVED] Page 132
Section 40 - Leaks from Synthetic Organic

Chemical, Polymer, and Resin Manufacturing
Equipment. Page 138

Section 41 - Manufacture of High-Density Polyethylene,
Polypropylene and Polystyrene Resins. Page 144

Section 42 - Air Oxidation Processes in the Synthetic
Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry Page 152

Section 43 - Bulk Gasoline Marine Tank Vessel
Loading Facilities. Page 164

Section 44 - Batch Processing Operations. Page 174
Section 45 - Industrial Cleaning Solvents. Page 182
Section 46 - [RESERVED] Page 187
Section 47 - Offset Lithographic Printing. Page 187
Section 48 -Reactor Processes and Distillation Operations in

the Synthetic Organic Chemical
Manufacturing Industry. Page 195

Section 39 - Perchloroethylene Dry Cleaning [RESERVED].
1/11/93 2/11/99 [06/30/99]

2.  On page 1393 section (q)(2) the sub-paragraph
identifier (iii) should be added in front of the word “All”.
The corrected text, bold and bracked, follows:

(o q) The opening to p Paragraph 63.324(c) shall be
replaced with the following language: “(c)(1) Each owner or
operator of an area source dry cleaning facility that exceeds
the solvent consumption amounts specified in paragraphs
63.320 (d), (e) or (g) shall notify the Department not later

than 30 days after the exceedance occurred. The notification
shall provide the following information and shall be signed
by a responsible official who shall certify its accuracy:

(i) The name and address of the dry cleaning
facility;

(ii) A copy of the yearly perchloroethylene
consumption records that indicate that there was an
exceedance of the applicable amount specified in paragraphs
63.320 (d), (e) or (g); 

(iii) The circumstances that led to the exceedance;
and

(iv) A statement that all information contained in
the notification is true and accurate.

(2) Each owner or operator of an area source dry
cleaning facility that becomes subject to additional
requirements under Sec. 63.320 (f)(1) or (i)(1) shall submit
to the Department on or before the dates specified in Sec.
63.320 (f)(2 1) or (i)( 2 1), a notification of compliance
status providing the following information and signed by a
responsible official who shall certify its accuracy:

(i) The new yearly perchloroethylene solvent
consumption limit based upon the yearly solvent
consumption calculated according to Sec. 63.323(d);

(ii) Whether or not they are in compliance with
each applicable requirement of Sec. 63.322; and

[(iii)]All information contained in the statement is
accurate and true.” 

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.

DELAWARE HEALTH CARE 
COMMISSION

DELAWARE HEALTH INFORMATION NETWORK

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Section 9921 ( 16 Del.C. 9921)

Delaware Health Care Commission
Delaware Health Information Network 

Public Notice

Please Take Notice, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Chapter 101
and 16 Del.C. § 9925, that the Delaware Health Information
Network has proposed regulations for the governance and
administration of the Board of the Delaware Health
Information Network. The regulations will describe the
Board's organization and general rules of procedure. A
public hearing will be held on the proposed regulations on
Monday, March 22, at 3:00 p.m. in Downes Lecture Hall of
the Delaware Technical and Community College, Terry
Campus Conference Center, Dover, Delaware. The Delaware
Health Care Commission will receive and consider input in
writing from any person the proposed regulations. Written
comments should be submitted in care of Judith Chaconas,
Delaware Health Care Commission, Delaware Health
Information Network, 150 William Penn Street, Ground
Floor, Dover, DE 19901. Final date to submit written
comments shall be March 31, 1999 by 4:30 p.m.  Anyone
wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed regulations or to
make comments at the public hearing should contact Judith

Chaconas at the above address or by calling (302) 739-6906.
This notice will be published in two newspapers of general
circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the date of
the hearing.

DELAWARE HEALTH INFORMATION NETWORK
PROPOSED REGULATIONS

Chapter 1 – Board of Governance and Administration

§ 101. Appointment; Terms of Office
(a) Individuals appointed to the Board of the Delaware

Health Information Network (hereafter “Board”) shall be
appointed in writing by the entity holding the power of
appointment pursuant to 16 Del.C.  § 9921.  The appointing
entity may remove any of its appointees by appointing
another with at least thirty days notice to the Chairperson of
the Board.

(b) Individuals shall be appointed to the Board for a
term of three years, except as provided herein.  The term for
each Board position shall be staggered by thirds, more or
less, so that the first term for a Board position may be one,
two or three years and shall be determined by lot.  The
Secretary shall maintain a record of the terms for each Board
position.  Terms shall commence on January 1 and expire on
December 31 of the appropriate year and upon appointment
of their successors.

(c) A member of the Board may be removed for cause
by the majority of the members appointed to the Board and
confirmed by the Delaware Health Care Commission.

http://www.state.de.us/dhcc/
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§ 102. Officers of the Board; Duties
(a) One member of the Board shall be elected to serve

as Chairperson by a majority of the members appointed to
the Board.  The Chairperson shall:

(1) preside over meetings of the Board;
(2) maintain good order;
(3) determine the agenda for meetings
(4) appoint the membership of committees and

work groups, except the Executive Committee;
(5) execute documents in the name of the Board;

and 
(6) perform such other matters as determined by

the Board.
(b) One member of the Board shall be elected to serve

as Vice-Chairperson by a majority of the members appointed
to the Board.  The Vice-Chairperson shall perform the duties
of the Chairman when he or she is not able to do so.

(c) One member of the Board shall be elected to serve
as Secretary by a majority of the members appointed to the
Board.  The Secretary shall maintain the records of the
Board and its members, and attest to the official matters of
the Board.  Additionally, the Secretary shall perform the
duties of the Chairman when the Chairperson and Vice-
Chairperson are not able to do so.

§ 103. Committees, Work Groups
(a) The Board shall have an Executive Committee and

such other committees or work groups as may be desirable
from time to time.  A member of the Board shall serve as the
Chairperson of such committees.  The Executive Committee
shall be comprised of 7 members, to include the
Chairperson, who shall preside, the Vice-Chairperson, the
Secretary and 4 other members elected by a majority of the
Board.  The Executive Committee is authorized to act on
behalf of the full Board where the full Board can not be
reasonably convened to act in a timely manner on a matter,
as assigned by the Board.

(b) No Committee, except the Executive Committee, or
work group needs a quorum to conduct business.
Nevertheless, such meetings shall be conducted publicly,
unless the meeting is determined to be closed to the public.

(c) Meetings and activities of committees and work
groups shall be determined by the committee and group
leadership, and in accordance with the direction of the
Board.

§ 104. Board Meetings; Notice
(a) The Chairperson, with the advice of the Board,

shall determine the frequency and schedule of Board
meetings and with the assistance of the staff provide the

required notices pursuant to 29 Del.C.  ch.  100.  
(b) A majority of the members of the Board shall

constitute a quorum and shall be sufficient for any action by
the Board provided, however, that if the number afterwards
should be reduced below a quorum, business is not
interrupted unless a member calls attention to the fact.

(c) The Board may convene special meetings or
reschedule meetings as provided by law.

(d) All meetings of the Board shall be conducted in
public unless it is closed to the public in accordance with
law.

§ 105. Public Access to Records
(a) The Board shall permit access to its public records

in accordance with the law and as that term is defined in 29
Del.C. ch. 100.  A Delaware citizen that wishes to inspect the
Board’s public records shall call or write to staff to
determine a convenient time and place.  The Board may
impose a reasonable charge for requested copying of any
public records.  The Chairperson may request legal advice
from the Attorney General and authorize access to public
records.

(b) No access shall be provided to the health
information network or data without an order of the Health
Care Commission or otherwise in accordance with these
rules.

§ 106. Conflict of Interest; Recusal
(a) The members shall conduct themselves in

accordance with the Delaware Code of Ethics, 29 Del.C.  ch.
58.

(b) If any member has a conflict of interest as defined
in the Code of Ethics, they shall recuse themselves from
voting in the matter.  The conflicted members may
participate in discussions on the conflicted matter as long as
they have disclosed the nature of the conflict to the other
members.  If they choose not to disclose the nature of the
conflict to the other members, such conflicted members must
publicly state at the Board meeting or in writing to the
Chairperson they will not be participating in the conflicted
matter.  The Secretary shall maintain a record of such
recusals.

(c) Members may seek legal advice on purported
conflicts from the Attorney General or a determination from
Ethics Counsel.

§ 107. Statutory Authority
The Delaware Health Care Commission is authorized

pursuant to 16 Del.C. § 9925 (a) to promulgate these rules in
accordance with 29 Del.C. ch. 101.
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL.C., SECTION 122(d)

STUDENTS - NECESSARY AND LEGAL ABSENCES

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to amend the regulation entitled Necessary and
Legal Absences found in Appendix A of the Handbook for
K-12 Education, page 2.  The amendment is needed to focus
the language of the regulation on the four main areas where
absences are permitted by the Secretary and the State Board
of Education and to eliminate from regulation those areas
covered in the Del. C.  Local boards of education have the
responsibility under 14 Del. C. to enforce the laws
concerning school attendance and District Superintendents
as the chief school officers may excuse or cause to be
excused any child for necessary and legal absences.  This
regulation along with the Del. C. provides school districts
with the parameters they need to establish there local
attendance policies.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amended regulation help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation addresses absence from
school, not academic achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses absence from
school, not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation addresses absences from
school, not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses absence from
school and will be the foundation for defining excused
absences which does relate to a student’s legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level since the specifics of policies on school
attendance continue to be left to the local school districts.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation is consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

The regulation needs to be amended to remove the
parts that are covered in the Del. C.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards for compliance with the regulation?

There is no cost to the state and the local school
boards for compliance with the regulation.

http://www.doe.state.de.us/index_js.htm
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AS APPEARS IN APPENDIX A OF THE HANDBOOK 
FOR K-12 EDUCATION

NECESSARY AND LEGAL ABSENCES FROM THE 
RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE STATE BOARD 

OF EDUCATION

The superintendent of schools of each local school
district as the chief school officer is responsible for
enforcing the attendance laws of the State and is the person
who may excuse or cause to be excused any child for
"Necessary and Legal Absences" in accordance with Title
14, Delaware Code, not subject to the "Rules and
Regulations" of the State Board of Education.  The following
excuses are recognized as valid for Necessary and Legal
Absences:

1. Illness of child, attested, if necessary by a
physician's certificate.

2. Contagious disease in the home of the child, subject
to regulations of the Division of Public Health.

3. Pregnancy of the student (14 Del. C., §122(b)(11).
4. Children are elsewhere receiving regular and

thorough instruction during at least 180 days in the subjects
prescribed for the public schools of the State in accordance
with 14 Del. C., §2702.

5. Death in the child's own home, or in the home of
the grandparents, time not to exceed one week.  Funerals of
other relatives or close friends, not to exceed one day, if in
the locality; or three days, if at some distance or outside of
the state.

6. Provisions of §2705, Title 14 of the Delaware Code
describe exclusions which may apply to some handicapped
children.  Specific guidelines can be found in the
Administrative Manual:  Programs for Exceptional
Children, March, 1987.

7. An amendment to §2706, Title 14 of the Delaware
Code describes truancy cases.

8. Legal business.
9. Suspension or expulsion from school for

misconduct.  Suspension is the exclusion of a pupil from
school for a short and definite period of time.  Suspension is
a temporary measure for handling a behavior problem and
may be delegated to the chief school officer or a building
principal.  Expulsion is the exclusion of a pupil from school
on a permanent basis or for an indefinite period of time.
Expulsion can be authorized only by the local district board.
The designation of suspension and expulsion as a
"Necessary and Legal Absence" applies specifically to 14
Del. C., §2702 and §2706, and such authorized absence may
not be construed to represent approval for the make-up of
classwork missed due to suspension or expulsion.

10. The Superintendent of Schools shall have the
authority for determining and approving other necessary and
legal absences as deemed valid within the enforcement

provisions of the compulsory attendance law.
a. Applications to remain out of school for an

extended period of time shall be made to the local chief
school officer.

AS AMENDED

600.5. Students - Necessary and Legal Absence
1.0 In addition to any absence otherwise excused by

law, upon the request of a parent, guardian or other person
legally having control of a student, the following shall be
deemed to be valid reasons for a student’s absence from
school:

1.1 Contagious disease in the home of the student,
subject to regulations of the Division of Public Health; or

1.2 In the case of the death of an immediate family
member of the student, an absence not to exceed one week.
Members of the student’s immediate family shall be defined
as:  Father, mother, brother, sister, son, daughter, spouse,
parent-in-law and grandparent; or

1.3 In the discretion of each district board or its
designee, funerals of other relatives or close friends, not to
exceed three days; or

1.4 Appearances both in and out of court to attend to
legal matters where the student is a plaintiff, defendant,
witness or other party; or

1.5 Such other absences as deemed reasonably
necessary by the district board or its designee and not
otherwise inconsistent with the provisions of any attendance
law.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

USE OF QUICK RELIEF ASTHMASTIC INHALERS BY 
STUDENTS IN SCHOOLS

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to amend regulation 800.19 Possession, Use or
Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol, found in the 800 section
of the document Regulations of the Department of
Education.  The amendment adds a new section, 3.12, which
permits students to have quick relief asthmatic inhalers in
their possession and to use them during school hours.  The
purpose of this amendment is to exempt asthmatic inhalers
from the phrase in the regulation that forbids students to be
in possession of a drug or drug like substance.  The
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amendment requires that a prescription for the drug and
parent’s permission for the student to self medicate be on
record in the school nurse’s office.  It also permits the school
nurse to refuse to let the child carry his or her own quick
relief asthmatic inhaler if necessary.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment to the regulation help improve
student achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amendment to the regulation addresses health
and safety issues, not academic achievement issues.

2. Will the amendment to the regulation help ensure
that all students receive an equitable education?

The amendment to the regulation addresses health
and safety issues, not equity issues.

3. Will the amendment to the regulation help to ensure
that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amendment to the regulation enables students
to carry and use quick relief asthmatic inhalers in the schools
in order to have them readily available in case of an asthma
attack during school hours.

4. Will the amendment to the regulation help to ensure
that all students' legal rights are respected?

The amendment to the regulation protects the rights
of all involved including the school administration.

5. Will the amendment to the regulation preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level?

The amendment to the regulation gives the school
nurse final veto power if carrying the quick relief asthmatic
inhaler would not be in the best interest of the child and the
other students.

6. Will the amendment to the regulation place
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school
levels?

The amendment to the regulation will not place
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school
levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?

The regulation is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

No, the amendment had to be added to the
regulation if the change in procedure was going to occur in
the schools. 

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?

There is no cost to the state and to the local school
boards for compliance with this regulation.

PROPOSED CHANGE

800.19. Possession, Use or Distribution of Drugs and
Alcohol July 1998

1.0 The following policy on the possession, use, or
distribution of drugs and alcohol shall apply to all public
school districts.

1.1 The possession, use and/or distribution of
alcohol, a drug, a drug-like substance, a look-alike substance
and/or drug paraphernalia are wrong and harmful to students
and are prohibited within the school environment.

1.2 Student lockers are the property of the school
and may be subjected to search at any time with or without
reasonable suspicion.

1.3 Student motor vehicle use to and in the school
environment is a privilege which may be extended by school
districts to students in exchange for their cooperation in the
maintenance of a safe school atmosphere.  Reasonable
suspicion of a student's use, possession or distribution of
alcohol, a drug, a drug-like substance, a look-alike substance
or drug paraphernalia, or of a student's possession of an
unauthorized electronic beeper or other communication
device in the school environment, may result in the student
being asked to open an automobile in the school
environment to permit school authorities to look for such
items.  Failure to open any part of the motor vehicle on the
request of school authorities may result in the police being
called to conduct a search, and will result in loss of the
privilege to bring the vehicle on campus.

1.4 All alcohol, drugs, drug-like substances, look-
alike substances and/or drug paraphernalia found in a
student's possession shall be turned over to the principal or
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designee, and be made available, in the case of a medical
emergency, for identification.  All substances shall be sealed
and documented, and, in the case of substances covered by
16 Del. C., ch 47, turned over to police as potential evidence.

2.0 The following definitions shall apply to this policy
and will be used in all district policies.

2.1 "Alcohol" shall mean alcohol or any alcoholic
liquor capable of being consumed by a human being, as
defined in Section 101 of Title 4 of the Delaware Code
including alcohol, spirits, wine and beer.

2.2 "Drug" shall mean any controlled substance or
counterfeit substance as defined in Section 4701 of Title 16
of the Delaware Code including, for example, narcotic drugs
such as heroin or cocaine, amphetamines, anabolic steroids,
and marijuana, and shall include any prescription substance
which has been given to or prescribed for a person other than
the student in whose possession it is found.

2.3 "Drug paraphernalia" shall mean all
equipment, products and materials as defined in Section
4701 of Title 16 of the Delaware Code including, for
example, roach clips, miniature cocaine spoons and
containers for packaging drugs.

2.4 "Prescription drugs" shall mean any substance
obtained directly from or pursuant to a valid prescription or
order of a practitioner, as defined in 16 Del. C., Sec. 4701
(24), while acting in the course of his or her professional
practice, and which is specifically intended for the student in
whose possession it is found.

2.5 "Drug-like substance" shall mean any
noncontrolled and/or nonprescription substance capable of
producing a change in behavior or altering a state of mind or
feeling, including, for example, some over-the-counter
cough medicines, certain types of glue, caffeine pills.

2.6 "Nonprescription medication" shall mean any
over-the-counter medication; some of these medications may
be a "drug-like substance."

2.7 "Look-alike substance" shall mean any
noncontrolled substance which is packaged so as to appear to
be, or about which a student makes an express or implied
representation that the substance is, a drug or a
noncontrolled substance capable of producing a change in
behavior or altering a state of mind or feeling.  See Del. C.,
Sec. 4752A.

2.8 "Possess," "possessing," or "possession" shall
mean that a student has on the student's person, in the
student's belongings, or under the student's reasonable
control by placement of and knowledge of the whereabouts
of, alcohol, a drug, a look-alike substance, a drug-like
substance or drug paraphernalia.

2.9 "Use" shall mean that a student is reasonably
known to have ingested, smoked or otherwise assimilated
alcohol, a drug or a drug-like substance, or is reasonably
found to be under the influence of such a substance.

2.10 "Distribute," "distributing" or

"distribution" shall mean the transfer or attempted transfer of
alcohol, a drug, a look-alike substance, a drug-like
substance, or drug paraphernalia to any other person with or
without the exchange of money or other valuable
consideration.

2.11 "School environment" shall mean within
or on school property, and/or at school sanctioned or
supervised activities, including, for example, on school
grounds, on school buses, at functions held on school
grounds, at extra-curricular activities held on and off school
grounds, on field trips and at functions held at the school in
the evening.

2.12 "Expulsion" shall mean exclusion from
school for a period determined by the local district not to
exceed 180 school days.  The process for readmission shall
be determined by the local district. (State Board Approved
January 1991, Revised August 1991)

3.0 Each school district shall have a policy on file and
update it periodically.  The policy shall include, as a
minimum the following:

3.1 A system of notification of each student and of
his/her parent at the beginning of the school year, and
whenever a student enters or re-enters the school during the
school year, of the state and district policies and regulations.

3.2 A statement that it is anticipated that the state
and district policies shall apply to all students, except that
with respect to handicapped students, the federal law will be
followed, and a determination of whether the violation of the
alcohol and drug policy was due to the student's
handicapping condition will be made prior to any discipline
or change or placement in connection with the policy.

3.3 A written policy which sets out procedures for
reporting incidents, how authorities and/or parents are to be
contacted, and how confidentiality is to be maintained.

3.4 A written policy on how evidence is to be kept,
stored and documented, so that the chain of custody is
clearly established prior to giving such evidence over to the
police.

3.5 A written policy on search and seizure.
3.6 A program of intervention and assistance,

which includes:
3.6.1 Having in each school building at

least one person to whom staff can refer students to receive
initial counseling and to obtain information on counseling/
treatment services available to the student, on the student's
rights, if any, to those services, and on the confidentiality
which the student can expect

3.6.2 A written statement, available to be
given to students or their parents, on what resources are
available in the school environment and in the community
for counseling and for drug and/or alcohol treatment

3.6.3 A system which ensures that all staff
members are aware of resources in and referral procedures
within the school environment, and encourage students to
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seek support and assistance
3.6.4 A system which encourages or

requires that a student with alcohol or drug problems be
assessed to determine the extent of alcohol or drug
involvement and that the student receive the appropriate
level of counseling or treatment needed

3.6.5 A policy of notification of the
conditions under which the district will provide or pay for
alcohol and/or drug counseling/treatment and/or testing, and
the extent to which the cost of such services must be borne
by the student.

3.7 A discipline policy which contains, at a
minimum, the following penalties for infractions of state and
district drug policies.

3.7.1 Use/Impairment:  For a first offense,
if a student is found to be only impaired and not in violation
of any other policies, he/she will be suspended for up to 10
days, or placed in an alternative school setting for up to 10
days, depending upon the degree of impairment, the nature
of the substance used, and other aggravating or mitigating
factors.  For a second or subsequent offense, a student may
be expelled or placed in an alternative school setting for the
rest of the school year.

3.7.2 Possession of alcohol, a drug, a drug-
like substance, and/or a look-alike substance, in an amount
typical for personal use, and/or drug paraphernalia:  For a
first offense, the student will be suspended for 5-10 days, or
placed in an alternative school setting for 5-10 days.  For a
second or subsequent offense, a student may be expelled for
the rest of the school year.

3.7.3 Possession of a quantity of alcohol, a
drug, a drug-like substance, a look-alike substance and/or
drug paraphernalia in an amount which exceeds an amount
typical for personal use, and/or distribution of the above
named substances or paraphernalia:  the student will be
suspended for 10 days, or placed in an alternative school
setting for 10 days.  Depending on the nature of the
substance, the quantity of the substance and/or other
aggravating or mitigating factors, the student also may be
expelled.

3.8 A policy in cases involving a drug-like
substance or a look-alike substance for establishing that the
student intended to use, possess or distribute the substance as
a drug.

3.9 A policy which establishes how prescription
and non-prescription drugs shall be handled in the school
environment and when they will be considered unauthorized
and subject to these state and local policies.

3.10 A policy which sets penalties for the
unauthorized possession of communication devices.

3.11 A policy which sets out the conditions for
return after expulsion for alcohol or drug infractions.

3.12 Notwithstanding any of the foregoing to
the contrary, all policies adopted by public school districts

relating to the possession or use of drugs shall permit a
student’s discretionary use and possession of an asthmatic
quick relief inhaler (“Inhaler”) with individual prescription
label; provided, nevertheless, that the student uses the
inhaler pursuant to prescription or written direction from a
state licensed health care practitioner; a copy of which shall
be provided to the school district; and further provided that
the parent(s) or legal custodian(s) of such student provide the
school district with written authorization for the student to
possess and use the inhaler at such student’s discretion,
together with a form of release satisfactory to the school
district releasing the school district and its employees from
any and all liability resulting or arising from the student’s
discretionary use and possession of the inhaler; and further
provided that the school nurse may impose reasonable
limitations or restrictions upon the student’s use and
possession of the inhaler based upon the student’s age, level
of maturity, behavior, or other relevant considerations.

4.0 The policy shall include the designation of a district
committee composed of teachers, parents, school nurses, and
community leaders.  Any revisions in the local school
district policy will be submitted to the Department of
Education for review and approval.

* THE ABOVE REGULATORY CHANGES WILL BE

PRESENTED AT THE MONTHLY MEETING OF THE STATE

BOARD OF EDUCATION, MARCH 18, 1999.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 
Section 1143(e) (16 Del.C. 1143(e)) 

MANDATORY PRE-EMPLOYMENT CRIMINAL 
HISTORY RECORD CHECKS 

AND DRUG TESTING REGULATIONS

As Authorized by Title 16 Del. Code Sections 1141-1142

PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware Health & Social Services (DHSS), in

compliance with Senate Bill 13 passed in the 140th General
Assembly, has prepared draft regulations governing
mandatory pre-employment criminal history record checks
and drug testing for persons seeking to work in nursing
homes or other facilities licensed under Title 16 Del. Code,
Chapter 11.  These requirements also apply to persons
referred for placement in such facilities by temporary
agencies.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
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The regulations lay out the responsibilities of
employers, applicants, and DHSS.  They contain a listing of
the types of crimes, conviction for which disqualifies an
individual from working in nursing homes or other facilities
licensed under Title 16 Del. Code, Chapter 11.  

INVITATION FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Public hearings will be held as follows:

Tuesday, March 23, 1999, 10 am – noon
The Chapel, Herman Holloway Campus
Delaware Health & Social Services
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE

Thursday, March 25, 1999, 1 pm – 3 pm
University of Delaware Kent County Center*
69 Transportation Circle
Dover

[*Traveling on  Rt. 13 south, when you come to the split,
follow “Rt. 113 for beaches” to the left.  DelDot's Admin.
Bldg. is a short way up on the right. The UD Kent County
Center is in the same complex as DelDot's Administration 
Bldg.]

For clarifications or additional directions to either
location, please call Barbara Baker at 577-4950

Written comments are also invited on these proposed
new regulations and should be sent to the following address:

Linda Barnett
Division of Management  Services
Delaware Health & Social Services
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE  19720

Such comments must be received by April 1, 1999.   

PROPOSED REGULATIONS FOR CRIMINAL HISTORY 
RECORD CHECKS AND PRE-EMPLOYMENT DRUG 

TESTING FOR PERSONS WORKING IN NURSING 
HOMES AND OTHER FACILITIES LICENSED UNDER 

16 Del. C. Ch. 11.

LEGAL BASIS
1. The legal base for these regulations is in the

Delaware Code, Title 16, Chapter 11, Sections 1141 and
1142.

PURPOSE
2. The overall purpose of these regulations is to ensure

the safety and well-being of residents of facilities licensed
pursuant to 16 Del. C. Ch. 11.  To this end, persons selected
for employment in these facilities, effective March 31, 1999,
will be subject to pre-employment criminal history checks
and pre-employment drug testing. Further, these regulations
apply to any person referred by a temporary agency, as
herein defined, to such facilities for temporary employment
who was hired by such agency on or after March 31, 1999.

DEFINITIONS
3. “Nursing home” means a residential facility that

provides shelter and food to more than one person who,
because of their physical and/or mental condition, require a
level of care and services suitable to their needs to contribute
to their health, comfort, and welfare; and who are not related
within the second degree of consanguinity to the controlling
person or persons of the facility.  The facilities covered here
are those licensed pursuant to 16 Del. C. Ch. 11, and include
but are not limited to nursing facilities (commonly referred
to as nursing homes); assisted living facilities; intermediate
care facilities for persons with mental retardation;
neighborhood group homes; family care homes; and rest
residential facilities.  

4. “Applicant” means any person seeking employment
in a nursing home; a current employee of such facility who
seeks promotion within the same facility; and/or a person
hired on or  after March 31, 1999, by a temporary agency (as
defined below and including, but not limited to, contractors
and home health agencies) who is sent by that agency to
work in a nursing home.  

5. “Contractor or Temporary Agency” means any
person or organization that provides services to a nursing
home where the work responsibilities are located in the
facility on a regular or intermittent basis and where the
nursing home’s need for the service is ongoing (i.e., whether
or not the specific person performs the service regularly or
intermittently, the nursing home will need to ensure that
those services are provided). This includes, but is not limited
to, such services as housekeeping, food service, security,
physicians, beauticians, and therapists.  It does not include
companies or vendors working on the physical structures,
systems or grounds of nursing homes on a temporary, as
needed, basis.  For the purposes of these regulations,
contractors are included in the definition of temporary
agencies and are therefore subject to the same requirements
as temporary agencies.

6. “Conditional Employment” is the period of time
during which an applicant is working in a nursing home
while his/her employer has not received the results of (a) the
State criminal history record, (b) the Federal criminal history
record, and (c) the drug test.  

7. "Department or DHSS" means Delaware Health &
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Social Services.
8. “Disqualifying convictions or disqualifying crimes”

are the items delineated in Section 17 of  these regulations.
9. “Employer” is any person, business entity,

management company, temporary agency, or other
organization that hires persons to work in a nursing home or
that places persons for work in a nursing home. 

10. “Evidence” means verification from the State
Bureau of Identification or designee that the applicant has
been fingerprinted and that his/her criminal history records
have been requested.  In addition, evidence means
documentation that drug testing has been performed.

11. “Final Employment” is contingent upon the
employer’s receipt of the State Bureau of Identification
criminal history record containing evidence of no
disqualifying crimes or of any factors which would render
that applicant unsuitable for employment in a nursing home;
a report by the Department that there are no disqualifying
crimes in such person’s Federal criminal record; and the
results of the drug testing. 

12. To“hire” means to begin employment of an
applicant after March 31, 1999, or to pay wages for the
services of a person who has not worked for the employer
during the preceding twelve-month period. 

13. “Illegal drug” means: marijuana/cannabis; cocaine;
opiates including heroin; phencyclidine (PCP);
amphetamines; and any other illegal drug subsequently
specified by  the Department in the absence of a valid
physician prescription. 

14. “Temporary agency or contractor” means any
business organization or person that places persons with
another business organization to perform services.  As used
in these regulations, a temporary agency includes home
health agencies which make such placements and
contractors.  

PERSONS SUBJECT TO THE LAW
15. All applicants hired on or after March 31, 1999, and

all current employees who seek promotion in a nursing home
are subject to the provisions of 16 Del C. 1141 and 1142.  In
addition, all persons hired on or after March 31, 1999, by a
temporary agency (as defined herein) and placed on or after
March 31, 1999, at a nursing home are subject to the
provisions of 16 Del C. 1141 and 1142.

FREQUENCY OF CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD
CHECKS

16. Any applicant who has been the subject of a
qualifying background check in Delaware within the
previous 5 years shall be exempt from 16 Del C. Section
1141, except that the applicant is not exempt from
subsequent employer access to the information contained in
that background check.  To qualify, such a check must
include both State and Federal criminal history record

checks and be pursuant to 16 Del C. Section 1141.  However,
employers, at their own expense, shall have the right to
require more frequent background checks.

CRITERIA FOR UNSUITABILITY FOR EMPLOYMENT 
17. The following types of criminal convictions (or

such crimes, if committed in another jurisdiction, which are
comparable under Delaware law) automatically disqualify a
person from working in a nursing home, if the person was
convicted of the offense within the time parameters
specified:

• Any felony, if convicted within the last five years.
• Those Class A misdemeanors included in Title 11,

Chapter 5, Subchapter II, Subpart A, of the
Delaware Code, if convicted within the last five
years. 

• Any misdemeanor in Delaware involving a
controlled substance, a counterfeit controlled
substance, or a designer drug as specified in
Chapter 47 of Title 16 of the Delaware Code, or
conviction of a crime in any state or local
jurisdiction, any Federal or military reservation or
the District of Columbia, or any foreign jurisdiction
that would be equivalent to such a misdemeanor in
Delaware, if convicted within the last five years.

• Any felony in Delaware involving a controlled
substance, a counterfeit controlled substance, or a
designer drug as specified in Chapter 47 of Title 16
of the Delaware Code, or conviction of a crime in
any state or local jurisdiction, any Federal or
military reservation or the District of Columbia, or
any foreign jurisdiction that would be equivalent to
such a felony in Delaware, if convicted within the
last ten years.

• Any violent felony, as specified in Title 11 Del C.
Section 4201 (c), if convicted within the last ten
years. 

• Conviction of any act causing death (as defined in
Title 11, Chapter 5, Subchapter II, Subpart B, of the
Delaware Code, with no time limit.

• Conviction of any sexual offense designated as a
felony in Title 11, Chapter 5, Subchapter II, Subpart
D of the Delaware Code, with no time limit.

18. In regard to other criminal convictions, the
following criteria are to be used in determining whether a
person is suitable for employment in a nursing home:

A. Type of offense(s)
B. Frequency of offense(s)
C. Length of time since the offense(s)
D. Age at the time of the offense(s)
E. Severity of the offense(s) 
F. Record since the offense(s)
G. Nature of the offense(s) in relation to the type

of job assignment
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H.  Disposition of the offense(s).

SANCTIONS
19. Sanctions against applicants shall be applied and

enforced in the following circumstance(s):
A. Failure by an applicant to disclose relevant

criminal history information on a  criminal history record
request form that is subsequently disclosed as a result of the
criminal history record check shall result in a civil penalty of
not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000 for each violation.

B. Failure of an applicant to comply with pre-
employment drug testing, as required, shall result in a civil
penalty of not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000 for
each violation.

C. Violations will be reported by the employer to
the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection.

20. Sanctions against employers shall be applied and
enforced in the following circumstance(s):

A. An employer who hires an applicant
conditionally before receiving verification that the applicant
has been fingerprinted and that the State and Federal
criminal history record checks have been requested shall be
subject to a civil penalty of not less than $1,000 nor more
than $5,000 for each violation.

B. An employer who hires an applicant for final
employment and fails to request and/or fails to obtain a
report of the person’s entire criminal history record from the
State Bureau of Identification  shall be subject to a civil
penalty of not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000 for
each violation.

C. An employer who hires an applicant for final
employment and fails to request and/or fails to obtain a
written report regarding suitability of the applicant based on
his or her Federal criminal history shall be subject to a civil
penalty of not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000 for
each violation.

D.  Employer failure to comply with the pre-
employment drug testing law shall result in a civil penalty of
not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000 for each violation.

EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES
21. Criminal history record checks and drug testing are

to be completed on applicants who have been prescreened
and to whom an offer of employment may be made.
Payment for drug testing is the responsibility of the
employer or the applicant.

22. Conditional employment cannot begin until the
employer has received evidence that the applicant’s State
and Federal criminal history records have been requested,
he/she has been fingerprinted, and he/she has requested the
appropriate drug testing.  Under no circumstances shall an
applicant be employed on a conditional basis for more than 2
months if the drug test results have not been received by his/
her employer.

23. An employer whose nursing home includes both
licensed and unlicensed areas must ensure that all persons
who perform services in the licensed areas comply with the
law.

24. The employer shall ensure that every application
for employment at a nursing home specifies that the
applicant is required to provide any and all information
necessary to obtain a report of the person’s entire criminal
history record from the State Bureau of Identification and a
report of the person’s entire Federal criminal history record
pursuant to the Federal Bureau of Investigations
appropriation of Title II of Public Law 92-544.  In addition,
every application for employment shall contain a  statement
that must be signed by the applicant in which the applicant
grants full release for the employer to request and obtain any
such records or information contained on a criminal history
record.

25. The employer shall ensure that a criminal history
record request form has been completed and that the
employer copy is maintained in its files. 

26. The employer shall also maintain a signed copy of a
verification of providing fingerprints to the Delaware State
Police form.

27. When exigent circumstances exist, and an employer
must fill a position in order to maintain the required level of
service, the employer may hire an applicant on a conditional
basis when the employer receives evidence that the applicant
has actually had the appropriate drug testing, as long as the
person has also provided verification of fingerprinting.  All
persons hired shall be informed in writing and shall
acknowledge, in writing, that his/her drug test results have
been requested.

28. The employer must ensure that no applicant
remains employed in conditional status for more than two
months without receiving the results of the mandatory drug
testing.  If the drug testing results are not received within
two months, the applicant must be terminated from
employment, or in the case of an applicant seeking
promotion, the applicant must be demoted or removed from
employment in the nursing home.

29. The employer must provide to the Department a
copy of each applicant’s mandatory drug test results  within
10 business days of their receipt .  Along with the results, or
as soon thereafter as the decision is made, the employer shall
notify the Department as to whether the applicant shall
remain employed.

30. When the employer is notified of conviction of one
or more disqualifying crimes in either the State or Federal
criminal history of an applicant, the employer shall terminate
the applicant.  A copy of or documentation of the
termination notification shall be sent to the Department and a
copy maintained in the facility’s files.

31. If an employer wishes to have a criminal history
record check conducted on an applicant who has been the
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subject of a qualifying State and Federal background check
within the previous 5 years, the cost for this must be borne
by the employer.  Payment must be made directly to the State
Police.  The Department will, at no cost, provide the results
of the Federal Bureau of Investigation information, just as it
would for an applicant who had not had such a check
conducted within the previous 5 years.  

32. If a person is fingerprinted under the auspices of
these regulations more than once during a five-year period,
the cost of that fingerprinting will not be borne by the State.
The potential employer is required to confirm with DHSS
that the applicant has been previously fingerprinted.  If
billed, the Department will return such invoices to the State
Police so that they can obtain payment from the employer
specified on the criminal history record request form.  Such
employer may obtain payment from the applicant. 

33. The employer will notify the Department if an
applicant is separated from employment for any reason prior
to completion of the criminal history check process.

34. The employer will have the responsibility for using
the results of the criminal history record check and the drug
testing as factors in making the determination of suitability
for final employment, unless the State and/or Federal
criminal history record check identifies the presence of a
conviction of one or more disqualifying crimes, in which
case the applicant is automatically disqualified for final
employment and must be terminated.

35. The employer will notify the applicant of the
findings.

36. The employer will notify the Department of the
names of all persons who were offered and accepted
conditional and final employment.

37. It is recommended that employers require that all
new employees after March 31, 1999, notify them of any
subsequent convictions.  Subsequent convictions may
impact the suitability of employment of the employee, as
determined by the employer.

RESPONSIBILITIES OF TEMPORARY AGENCIES
38. As employers, temporary agencies are responsible

for all items delineated above under the section titled
“EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES”  (sections 21-37).

39. In addition, temporary agencies are responsible for
the cost of criminal history record checks.

40. Also, temporary agencies are required to inform
nursing homes of any criminal background identified in the
criminal history information provided by the State Bureau of
Identification and the Federal report, as summarized by the
Department, regarding any person placed or referred for
work at such facility.  The temporary agency must have each
applicant sign a full release giving the agency permission to
provide any such criminal history information received
about him/her to any nursing home where the person is
placed to work.

41. Temporary agencies are required to inform nursing
homes of the mandatory drug test results of persons placed
or referred for work in such facilities.  Applicants shall sign
a full release giving the agency permission to provide any
such information to any nursing home where they are placed
to work.

APPLICANTS’ RESPONSIBILITIES
42. Applicants are responsible for completing all

information accurately and completely on a criminal history
record request form; a verification of providing fingerprints
to the Delaware State Police form; and any form provided by
the employer for use in obtaining mandatory pre-
employment drug testing.  Any applicant who refuses to
complete any one or more of these forms is deemed to have
voluntarily withdrawn his/her application.

43. The applicant is responsible for having his/her
fingerprints taken and returning a verification of providing
fingerprints to the Delaware State Police form to the
employer.

44. The applicant is responsible for informing any
potential employer if he/she has already been fingerprinted
under the jurisdiction of these regulations.  The potential
employer is required to confirm with DHSS that the
applicant has been previously fingerprinted.  The cost for
additional fingerprinting, done above and beyond the one
fingerprinting per five-year period required by these
regulations, shall not be borne by the State. 

45. The applicant is responsible for completing the
required drug testing and providing verification to the
employer. 

THE DEPARTMENT’S RESPONSIBILITIES
46. The Department is responsible for promulgating

these regulations and revising them, as the need may arise.
47. Since an applicant’s Federal criminal record may

not be provided to a privately-owned entity or to the
applicant, the Department will issue a report to the employer
based upon the information received.

48. Once the Department has received all necessary
documentation , it shall perform a review, guided by criteria
and timelines developed by the Department, and issue a
written summary of findings to the employer.   If conviction
of a disqualifying crime is included on the State or Federal
criminal history report, the Department will immediately
notify the employer, prohibiting either the hire or continued
conditional employment of the applicant.

CONFIDENTIALITY
Title 11, subsection 8513 (c) (1) of the Delaware Code

permits the State Bureau of Identification to "furnish
information pertaining to the identification and conviction
data of any person...of whom the Bureau has record...to
...[i]ndividuals and agencies for the purpose of employment
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of the person whose record is sought, provided...[t]he use of
the conviction data shall be limited to the purpose for which
it was given..."

49. The Department shall store written and
electronically-recorded criminal history record information
in a secure manner, to provide for the confidentiality of
records and to protect against any possible threats to their
security and integrity.

50. The Department shall limit the use of the criminal
history record information to its purpose of determining
suitability for employment.

51. The Department shall not release to employers, as
defined in these regulations, copies of actual written reports
of criminal history records prepared by the Federal Bureau
of Investigation.

52. The following procedure shall be established to
permit the review of criminal history record files by the
applicant:

A. An applicant shall submit a request in writing
to the Department for the on-site review of his/her criminal
history record file.

B. An appointment shall be made for the applicant
to review the record at the Department.  Photo identification
will be required at the time of the review.

C. The record shall be reviewed in the presence of
a Department employee. 

D. Written documentation of the date and time of
the review and the name of those present shall be filed in the
criminal history record file for the applicant.

E. The Department shall not remove criminal
history records (written and electronic) from the secure files
for any purpose other than to permit review by the named
applicant. 

53. Criminal history record information shall not be
disseminated to any persons other than the applicant, his/her
employer or subsequent employer(s), nursing homes to
which a person is placed by a temporary agency, or the
Department  (11 Del. C. Section 513(d)).

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,
Section 107 (31 Del.C. 107) 

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid

Program is amending its durable medical equipment and
general policy provider manual(s).  

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by March 31, 1999.

REVISION:

Durable Medical Equipment Manual

External Ambulatory Infusion Pump, Insulin

The purchase of an external ambulatory infusion pump,
insulin, may be covered by the DMAP only in situations
where there is medical documentation that the pump use is
reasonable and medically necessary for the individual
patient.  A detailed letter of medical necessity from an
endocrinologist is required and must address the following:

• Duration and success of MDI (multi dose injection)
therapy; inability to safely achieve adequate
glycemic control;

• Pertinent laboratory testing, including Glycated
Hemoglobin results;

• Number of diabetic related incidences (in the past
year) that required hospitalization and/or assistance
of another person;

• Description of any existing diabetic complications
(Retinopathy, Nephropathy, Neuropathy);

• Recipient’s level of understanding, motivation, and
involvement in disease treatment plan; willingness
to adhere to a proper diet and exercise regiment;
ability to self monitor blood glucose levels;

• Ability to operate device with a brief description of
training; and

• Medical treatment plan that includes use of device
and planned follow-up.

When requesting prior authorization for the purchase of
an external ambulatory infusion pump, insulin, the durable
medical equipment provider is required to submit a Medicaid
Certificate of Medical Necessity.  If approved, the following
supplies may be billed separately using the appropriate codes
listed in Appendix A:

• Syringe with needle for external insulin pump,
sterile, 3cc;

• Infusion set for external insulin pump, needle type;
and

• Infusion set for external insulin pump, non-needle
cannula type.
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Replacement parts, such as batteries, piston rods, and
adapters may also be billed separately using the appropriate
code in Appendix A.  Any additional medically necessary
supplies, related to the use of the external ambulatory
infusion pump, insulin, must be prior authorized.  A letter
detailing the medical necessity of the additional supplies
must be submitted to the Medical Review Team.

General Policy Manual

Please Note: The Childhood Vaccination Schedule that
currently appears in the general policy is being moved
from the policy section into an Appendix within the
manual.  The schedule is not shown as part of the
revisions since the layout would be difficult to place in
the Register.

Immunization Vaccines for Children Program

For Children Ages 0 Through 18 Years

The state of Delaware participates in the Vaccines for
Children (VFC) Program which supplies free vaccines to
providers for VFC eligible children under age 19.  Children
eligible to receive VFC-provided vaccines include the
following:  1) children who receive Medicaid; 2) uninsured
children; and 3) children who are American Indian or
Alaskan Native.  In addition, children who have health
insurance that does not cover vaccines can receive VFC-
provided vaccines at federally qualified health centers and
rural health clinics. The VFC program is operationally
administered by the Division of Public Health.  Providers
must enroll in the VFC Program to receive free vaccines and
to receive an administration fee.  For further information and
enrollment materials please call DPH at 1-800-282-8672.

Medicaid does not pay providers for the cost of vaccines
available through the VFC Program, but will pay an
administration fee for each immunization given to a
Medicaid eligible child not enrolled in the Diamond State
Health Plan, the State’s Medicaid managed care program .
Under the DSHP, the participating Managed Care
Organizations (MCOs) are responsible for all primary care
services including immunizations.  The administration fees
for DSHP enrolled children are accounted for in the
capitated rate paid to the MCOs, therefore the Medicaid
Program does not pay providers for immunizations
administered to DSHP enrolled children.  MCOs determine
their own policies on reimbursement of administration fees.  

Providers will be paid the administration fee for
children who have not yet been enrolled in a MCO and for
those Medicaid eligible children who are ineligible for
participation in the DSHP.  The State of Delaware will also
pay VFC-enrolled providers the administration fee for
immunizations given to non-Medicaid VFC eligible

children.  Enrolled providers must submit an Immunization
Registry (IR) form to the Division of Public Health where
the immunization data is recorded and passed electronically
to EDS for adjudication and payment.

The following immunization vaccines CPT codes
represent the vaccines currently covered under the VFC
Program are identified in the Childhood Immunization
Schedule found in Appendix L.  VFC participating providers
will receive an administration fee (as specified above) for
these vaccines when administered according to the schedule
recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization
Practices (ACIP).

90700 - 90709, 90711 - 90713, 90718 - 90721, 90724,
90730, 90737, 90741, 90742, 90744, 90745, and 90747

Generally, only combined antigen vaccines will be
provided through the VFC Program.  Single antigen vaccines
will be available and related administration fees
reimbursable only when a normally appropriate combined
antigen is contraindicated.  Varicella vaccine (CPT codes
90710 and 90716) and pneumococcal vaccine (CPT code
90732) are not currently available through the VFC Program
and may be billed directly to the DMAP.

For Adults Ages 19 Years and Older

Providers may continue to be reimbursed for the actual
cost of medically necessary vaccines provided to adults age
19 or older.  NOTE: Vaccines required for travel outside the
United States are not covered.  The following vaccine CPT
codes will continue to be reimbursed at cost for adults over
18:

90703 - 90710, 90713, 90716, 90718, 90719, 90730, 90741,
90742, 90745 - 90747

Claims for adult immunizations should be sent directly
to EDS for processing and payment.  They should not be sent
to the Division of Public Health's Immunization Registry.
Administration fees will not be reimbursed separately for
adult immunizations.  The administration fee will continue
to be considered part of the office visit fee paid in addition to
the payment made for the vaccine.

Non-Covered Services

Some services are NEVER covered by the DMAP
except if covered by Medicare or are in a managed care
organization’s benefit package.  These services include, but
are not limited to:

• Services which are not medically justified.
• Vaccines required for travel outside the United

States;
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• Cosmetic surgical procedures and treatment.  The
DMAP does not reimburse any provider for any
services related to cosmetic treatment/procedures or
plastic surgery services.  Cosmetic services are
defined as beautification or aesthetic procedures,
surgery, drugs, etc. designed to improve the
appearance of an individual’s physical
characteristic which is within the broad range of
normal, by surgical alteration or other means.

• Procedures (other than those transplants covered by
transplant criteria) designated as experimental by
the Medicare program.

• Services denied by Medicare as not medically
necessary.

• Drugs dispensed by the practitioner.
• Autopsies.
• Routine dental services for persons twenty-one (21)

years of age and over.  All routine and non-routine
dental services are restricted to recipients under
twenty-one (21) years of age and must be rendered
or authorized by the Division of Public Health or a
local dental clinic which is contracted to provider
EPSDT dental services to DMAP recipients.  No
dental procedures for recipients over twenty-one
(21) years of age are covered in any setting.  Dental
services include any services related to the dental
treatment such as drugs, anesthetics, use of
operating/recovery room, etc.

• Routine eye care and/or corrective lenses (except
aphakic or bandage lenses necessary after cataract
surgery) for persons twenty-one (21) years of age
and over.

• Hearing aids for persons twenty-one (21) years of
age and over.

• Social services.
• Pharmaceuticals not covered include: DESI drugs,

drugs used for cosmetic purposes, drugs for obesity,
fertility drugs, drugs used in the treatment of sexual
dysfunction, investigational drugs and compound
prescriptions.

• Infertility related services.  The DMAP does not
cover any services related solely to the treatment of
infertility. Examples of these non-covered services
include drug therapy, surgical procedures,
laboratory testing, radiology services, hospital
services and physician services.

• Podiatric services.  The DMAP will pay for routine
foot care ONLY for recipients who are diagnosed as
having diabetes or circulatory/vascular disorders.

• Inpatient care in Institutions for Mental Diseases
(IMDs) for individuals age 21 through 64 (no
exceptions for Medicare deductible/co-insurance).

• Chiropractic services.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 512(1) (31 Del.C. 512(1)) 

PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware Health and Social Services is proposing
changes to regulations contained in the Division of Social
Services Manual Section 9018, 9060, and 9068.  These
changes are initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code
Section 512.  Written materials and suggestions by interested
persons for related to this proposal must be forwarded by
March 31, 1999, to the Director, Division of Social Services, 
P. O. Box 906, New Castle, DE 19720.

COMMENT PERIOD

Any person who wishes to make petitions for
reconsideration or revision thereof, such petitions must be
forwarded by March 31, 1999 to the Director, Division of
Social Services, P. O. Box 906, New Castle, DE 19720.

SUMMARY OF REGULATIONS:

• Extends eligibility criteria for able-bodied adults
without dependents to include participation in
workfare;

• Expands the definition of legally obligated child
support payments used as a food stamp deduction;
and

• Changes the certification periods guidelines for
certain households which was mandated by Food
and Nutrition Services to help improve the food
stamp error rate.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

Proposed Policy:

9018.2 Work Requirements for Able-Bodied Adults
Without Dependents Effective November 22, 1996

Individuals are ineligible to continue to receive food
stamps if, during the preceding 36-month period they
received food stamps at least three (3) months (consecutive
or otherwise) while they did not either:

• work at least 20 hours per week (averaged
monthly); or 

• participate in a work program at least 20 hours per
week (averaged monthly);

• participates in and complies in a work
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supplementation program; or
• particpates in a workfare program.

Work is defined as paid or non-paid employment,
including volunteer work. 

Qualifying work programs include programs under:

• Job Training and Partnership Act (JTPA); 
• Trade Adjustment Assistance Act; or
• Employment and Training (except for job search or

job search training programs).

Exemptions
Individuals are exempt from this work requirement if

the individual is:

• under 18 or over 50 years of age; (The month after
an individual turns 18 will be the first month the
individual must start meeting the work
requirements.  The month an individual turns 50
years of age will start the exemption.)

• medically certified as physically or mentally unfit
for employment, which requires a medical form; 

• a parent or other household member with
responsibility for a dependent child under the age of
18.  (The exemption for non-parents will require a
statement about the responsibility).

• pregnant (any trimester); 
• or otherwise exempt from work requirement under

DSSM 9018.3 .

Regaining eligibility  
Individuals denied eligibility under this work

requirement, or who would have been denied under this
work requirement if they had reapplied, can regain eligibility
if during a 30-day period the individual:

• works (paid or non-paid) for 80 hours or more;
• participates in and complies with a work program,

as described above, for 80 hours or more; or
• participates in and complies in a work

supplementation program; or
• particpates in a workfare program.

Individuals who regain eligibility based on the
requirements above will remain eligible as long as they meet
the above requirements.

Individuals who lose their employment or cease
participation in work or work supplementation programs
may continue to receive food stamps for up to three (3)
consecutive months beginning from the date DSS is notified
that work has ended.

The only remaining cure during the 36-month period is
for the individual to:

• comply with the work requirements of this section;
or

• to become exempt under other provisions of the
requirement.

9060 INCOME DEDUCTIONS

E. Child support payments deduction - Legally obligated
child support payments made to or for, children who live
outside of the household.  Only child support payments that
are legally obligated can be allowed as a deduction.  This
also includes:

a) Amounts paid out of the household's current
income to make up for months in which the household did
not meet its obligation, except for amount paid through tax
intercept, and 

b) The value of legally binding child support that is
provided in-kind, such as payment of rent directly to the
landlord,

c) Payments provided for health care,
d) Payments for education,
e) Payments for recreation,
f) Payments for clothing,
g) Payments to meet other specific needs of a child or

children, and
h) Payments to cover attorney’s fee, interest, and court

costs.

The following are examples of how to treat child
support payments:

1. Mr. A is court ordered to pay Mrs. A $100 a week
in child support.  He also pays $30 a month child support for
arrears to make up the months he was not able to pay.  Mr. A
is eligible for a $430 child support deduction from his
current income.

2. Mr. C is court ordered to pay Mrs. C $800 a month
in child support.  He pays $500 a month directly to the
landlord for Mrs. C's rent and $100 directly to the utility
company for Mrs. C's electric.  Mrs. C receives the $200
balance in cash. Mr. C is eligible for a $800 child support
deduction from his current income.

Alimony payments are not included in the child support
deduction.

9068 Certification Periods
[273.10(f)]

Certification periods means the period of time within
which a household shall be eligible to receive benefits.  At
the expiration of each certification period, entitlement to
food stamp benefits ends.  Further eligibility will be
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established only upon a recertification based upon a newly
completed application, an interview and verification.  Under
no circumstances will benefits be continued beyond the end
of a certification period without a new determination of
eligibility.

The certification periods for all households shall not
exceed 12 months.

12-month certification periods are assigned to
households when:

• Households consist entirely of elderly or
unemployable persons with stable income like
Social Security, SSI, pension and/or disability
benefits; and

• Households receive their primary source of income
from self-employment or regular farm employment
with the same employer.

7-month certification periods are assigned to households
when:

• Households receiving ABC/GA and FS so that the
food stamp recertification period expires the month
after the cash assistance redetermination date.

6-month certification periods are assigned to households
when:

• Households have stable income such as, but not
limited to, pensions, social security, SSI, in-state
unemployment compensation, workman’s
compensation, child support paid through DCSE,
and on-going ABC/GA households,  and there is
little likelihood of major changes in income,
deductions and household composition;

• Households consist of ABAWD individuals
because the system will close the case after three
months of not meeting the work rules;

• Households claiming a child support deduction
have a record of regular child support payments and
or child support arrearage payments to
nonhousehold members. and,

• Households have been closed due to the New Hire
Match and they come in verifying that they are now
working.

3-month certification periods are assigned to households
when:

• Household have no record of regular child support
or child support arrearage payments;

• Households have unstable circumstances, such as
households receiving child support payments
directly from the absent parent, households

receiving out-of-state unemployment
compensation, households with an unemployed
adult who was employed with12 months prior to the
date of application, households with zero (0)
income, households with expenses that exceed
income, and all households with earned income;

• Households claiming a child support deduction
have a record of irregular child support payments or
child support arrearage payments to nonhousehold
members;

• Homeless households receive their benefits at a P.
O. Box;

• Households receive their benefits at the local office;
• Households have been closed due to the New Hire

Match and they come in verifying they are no
longer working; and.

• Households have unstable circumstances.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, 
Section 314, 2503 (18 Del.C. 314, 2503)

Notice of Public Hearing

Insurance Commissioner Donna Lee Williams hereby gives
notice that a public hearing will be held on Tuesday, March

23, 1999 at 10:00 a.m. in the 2nd Floor Conference Room of
the Delaware Insurance Department at 841 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904.

The purpose of the Hearing is to solicit comments from the
insurance industry and the general public on the proposed
revisions to Insurance Department Regulation 41, Medicare
Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards.

The Hearing will be conducted in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter
101. Comments are being solicited from any interested party.
Comments may be in writing or may be presented orally at
the hearing. Written comments must be received by the
Department of Insurance no later than Friday, March 19,
1999 and should be addressed to Fred A. Townsend , III,
Deputy Insurance Commissioner, 841 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904. Those wishing to testify or
those intending to provide oral testimony must notify Fred
A. Townsend, III at 302.739.4251 ext. 157 or 800-.282.8611
no later than Friday, March 19, 1999.

Dated: February 18, 1999
  
Regulation 41

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
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Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards
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Section 1.Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to provide for the
reasonable standardization of coverage and simplification of
terms and benefits of Medicare supplement policies or
contracts; to facilitate public understanding and comparison

of such policies; to eliminate provisions contained in such
policies which may be misleading or confusing in
connection with the purchase of such policies or with the
settlement of claims; and to provide for full disclosures in
the sale of accident and sickness insurance coverages to
persons eligible for Medicare.

Section 2.Authority

This regulation is issued pursuant to the authority vested in
the Commissioner under Title 18, Delaware Code, Sections
314 and 3403.

Section 3.Applicability and Scope
A. Except as otherwise specifically provided in

Sections 7, 12, 13, 16 and 21, this regulation shall apply to:
(1) All Medicare supplement policies delivered or

issued for delivery in this State on or after the effective date
of this regulation, and

(2) All certificates issued under group Medicare
supplement policies which certificates have been delivered
or issued for delivery in this State.

B. This regulation shall not apply to a policy or
contract of one or more employers or labor organizations, or
of the trustees of a fund established by one or more
employers or labor organizations, or combination thereof,
for employees or former employees, or a combination
thereof, or for members or former members, or a
combination thereof, of the labor organizations.

Section 4.Definitions

For purposes of this regulation:
A. "Applicant" means:

(1) In the case of an individual Medicare
supplement policy, the person who seeks to contract for
insurance benefits, and

(2) In the case of a group Medicare supplement
policy, the proposed certificateholder.

B. “Bankruptcy” means when a Medicare+Choice
organization that is not an issuer has filed, or has had filed
against it, a petition for declaration of bankruptcy and has
ceased doing business in the state.
CB. "Certificate" means any certificate delivered or
issued for delivery in this state under a group Medicare
supplement policy.

DC. "Certificate Form" means the form on which the
certificate is delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer.

E. Continuous period of creditable coverage” means
the period during which an individual was covered by
creditable coverage, if during the period of the coverage the
individual had no breaks in coverage greater than sixty-three
(63) days.

F. (1) “Creditable coverage” means, with respect to
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an individual, coverage of the individual provided under any
of the following:

(a) A group health plan;
(b) Health insurance coverage;
(c) Part A or Part B of Title XVIII of the Social

Security Act (Medicare);
(d) Title XIX of the Social Security Act

(Medicaid), other than coverage consisting solely of benefits
under section 1928;

(e) Chapter 55 of Title 10 United States Code
(CHAMPUS)

(f) A medical care program of the Indian Health
Service or of a tribal organization;

(g) A State health benefits risk pool;
(h) A health plan offered under Chapter 89 of Title

5 United States Code (Federal Employees Health Benefits
Program);

(i) A public health plan as defined in federal
regulation; and

(j) A health benefit plan under Section 5(e) of the
Peace Corps Act (22 United States Code 2504(e)).

(2) “Creditable coverage” shall not include one or
more, or any combination of, the following:

(a) Coverage only for accident or disability
income insurance, or any combination thereof;

(b) Coverage issued as a supplement to liability
insurance;

(c) Liability insurance, including general liability
insurance and automobile liability insurance;

(d) Workers’ compensation or similar insurance;
(e) Automobile medical payment insurance;
(f) Credit-only insurance;
(g) Coverage for on-site medical clinics; and
(h) Other similar insurance coverage, specified in

federal regulations, under which benefits for medical care
are secondary or incidental to other insurance benefits.

(3) “Creditable coverage” shall not include the
following benefits if they are provided under a separate
policy, certificate, or contract of insurance or are otherwise
not an integral part of the plan:

(a) Limited scope dental or vision benefits;
(b) Benefits for long-term care, nursing home care,

home health care, community-based care, or any
combination thereof; and

(c) Such other similar, limited benefits as are
specified in federal regulations.

(4) “Creditable coverage” shall not include the
following benefits if offered as independent, noncoordinated
benefits:

(a) Coverage only for a specified disease or
illness; and

(b) Hospital indemnity or other fixed indemnity
insurance.

(5) “Creditable coverage” shall not include the

following if it is offered as a separate policy, certificate of
contract of insurance:

(a) Medicare supplemental health insurance as
defined under Section 1882(g)(1) of the Social Security Act;

(b) Coverage supplemental to the coverage
provided under Chapter 55 of Title 10, United States Code;
and

(c) Similar supplemental coverage provided to
coverage under a group health plan.

G. “Employee welfare benefit plan” means a plan,
fund or program of employee benefits as defined in 29
U.S.C. Section 1002 (Employee Retirement Income Security
Act).

H. “Insolvency” means when an issuer, licensed to
transact the business of insurance in this state, has had a final
order of liquidation entered against it with a finding of
insolvency by a court of competent jurisdiction in the
issuer’s state of domicile.

DI. "Issuer" includes insurance companies, fraternal
benefit societies, health care service plans, health
maintenance organizations, and any other entity delivering
or issuing for delivery in this state Medicare supplement
policies or certificates.

EJ. "Medicare" means the "Health Insurance for the
Aged Act," Title XVIII of the Social Security Amendments
of 1965, as then constituted or later amended.

K. “Medicare+Choice plan” means a plan of coverage
for health benefits under Medicare Part C as defined in [refer
to definition of Medicare+Choice plan in Section 1859 found
in Title IV, Subtitle A, Chapter 1 of P.L. 105-33], and
includes:

(1) Coordinated care plans which provide health
care services, including but not limited to health
maintenance organization plans (with or without a point-of-
service option), plans offered by provider-sponsored
organizations, and preferred provider organization plans;

(2) Medical savings account plans coupled with a
contribution into a Medicare+Choice medical savings
account; and

(3) Medicare+Choice private fee-for-service plans.
FL. "Medicare Supplement Policy" means a group or

individual policy of accident and sickness insurance or a
subscriber contract other than a policy issued pursuant to a
contract of hospital and medical service associations or
health maintenance organizations, under Section 1876 or
Section 1833 of the Federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C.
Section 1395 et seq.) or an issued policy under a
demonstration project specified in 42 U.S.C. § 1395ss(g)(1),
which is advertised, marketed or designed primarily as a
supplement to reimbursements under Medicare for the
hospital, medical or surgical expenses of persons eligible for
Medicare.

GM."Policy Form" means the form on which the policy
is delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer.
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N. “Secretary” means the Secretary of the United
States Department of Health and Human Services.

Section 5.Policy Definitions and Terms

No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited or
issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement
policy or certificate unless such policy or certificate contains
definitions or terms which confirm to the requirements of
this section.

A. "Accident," "Accidental Injury," or "Accidental
Means" shall be defined to employ "result" language and
shall not include words which establish an accidental means
test or use words such as "external, violent, visible wounds"
or similar words of description or characterization.

(1) The definition shall not be more restrictive than
the following:  "Injury or injuries for which benefits are
provided means accidental bodily injury sustained by the
insured person which is the direct result of an accident,
independent of disease or bodily infirmity or any other
cause, and occurs while insurance coverage is in force."

(2) The definition may provide that injuries shall
not include injuries for which benefits are provided or
available under any workers' compensation, employer's
liability or similar law, or motor vehicle no-fault plan, unless
prohibited by law.

B. "Benefit Period" or "Medicare Benefit Period" shall
not be defined more restrictively than as defined in the
Medicare program. 

C. "Convalescent Nursing Home," "Extended Are
Facility," or "Skilled Nursing Facility" shall not be defined
more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare program.

D. "Health Care Expenses" means expenses of health
maintenance organizations associated with the delivery of
health care services, which expenses are analogous to
incurred losses of insurers.

Expenses shall not include:
(1) Home office and overhead costs;
(2) Advertising costs;
(3) Commissions and other acquisition costs;
(4) Taxes;
(5) Capital costs;
(6) Administrative costs; and
(7) Claims processing costs.

E. "Hospital" may be defined in relation to its status,
facilities and available services or to reflect its accreditation
by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals, but
not more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare
program.

F. "Medicare" shall be defined in the policy and
certificate.  Medicare may be substantially defined as "The
Health Insurance for the Aged Act, Title XVIII of the Social
Security Amendments of 1965 as Then Constituted or Later

Amended," or "Title I, Part I of Public Law 89-97, as
Enacted by the Eighty-Ninth Congress of the United States
of America and popularly known as the Health Insurance for
the Aged Act, as then constituted and any later amendments
or substitutes thereof," or words of similar import.

G. "Medicare Eligible Expenses" shall mean expenses
of the kinds covered by Medicare, to the extent recognized
as reasonable and medically necessary by Medicare.

H. "Physician" shall not be defined more restrictively
than as defined in the Medicare program.

I. "Sickness" shall not be defined to be more
restrictive than the following:

"Sickness means illness or disease of an insured person
which first manifests itself after the effective date of
insurance and while the insurance is in force."

The definition may be further modified to exclude
sicknesses or diseases for which benefits are provided under
any workers' compensation, occupational disease,
employer's liability or similar law.
Section 6.Policy Provisions

A. Except for permitted preexisting condition clauses
as described in Section 7A(1) and Section 8A(1) of this
Regulation, no policy or certificate may be advertised,
solicited or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare
supplement policy if the policy or certificate contains
limitations or exclusions on coverage that are more
restrictive than those of Medicare.

B. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate may
use waivers to exclude, limit or reduce coverage or benefits
for specifically named or described preexisting diseases or
physical conditions.

C. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate in
force in the State shall contain benefits which duplicate
benefits provided by Medicare.

Section 7.Minimum Benefit Standards for Policies or
Certificates Issued for Delivery Prior to January 1, 1992

No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited or
issued for delivery in this State as a Medicare supplement
policy or certificate unless it meets or exceeds the following
minimum standards.  These are minimum standards and do
not preclude the inclusion of other provisions or benefits
which are not inconsistent with these standards.

A. General Standards.
The following standards apply to Medicare supplement
policies and certificates and are in addition to all other
requirements of this regulation.

(1) A Medicare supplement policy or certificate
shall not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more
than six (6) months from the effective date of coverage
because it involved a preexisting condition.  The policy or
certificate shall not define a preexisting condition more
restrictively than a condition for which medical advice was
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given or treatment was recommended by or received from a
physician within six (6) months before the effective date of
coverage.  

(2) A Medicare supplement policy or certificate
shall not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on
a different basis than losses resulting from accidents.

(3) A Medicare supplement policy or certificate
shall provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing
amounts under Medicare will be changed automatically to
coincide with any changes in the applicable Medicare
deductible amount and co-payment percentage factors.
Premiums may be modified to correspond with such
changes.

(4) A "noncancellable," "guaranteed renewable,"
or "noncancellable and guaranteed renewable" Medicare
supplement policy shall not:

(a) Provide for termination of coverage of a
spouse solely because of the occurrence of an event specified
for termination of coverage of the insured, other than the
nonpayment of premium; or

(b) Be cancelled or nonrenewed by the insurer
solely on the grounds of deterioration of health.

(5) (a) Except as authorized by the Commissioner
of this state, an issuer shall neither cancel nor nonrenew a
Medicare supplement policy or certificate for any reason
other than nonpayment of premium or material
misrepresentation.

(b) If a group Medicare supplement insurance
policy is terminated by the group policyholder and not
replaced as provided in Paragraph (5)(d), the issuer shall
offer certificateholders an individual Medicare supplement
policy.  The issuer shall offer the certificateholder at least the
following choices:

(1) An individual Medicare supplement
policy currently offered by the issuer having comparable
benefits to those contained in the terminated group Medicare
supplement policy; and

(2) An individual Medicare supplement
policy which provides only such benefits as are required to
meet the minimum standards as defined in Section 8B of this
regulation.

(c) If membership in a group is terminated,
the issuer shall:

(1) Offer the certificateholder the
conversion opportunities as are described in Subparagraph
(b); or

(2) At the option of the group
policyholder, offer the certificateholder continuation of
coverage under the group policy.

(d) If a group Medicare supplement policy is
replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy
purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the
replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons
covered under the old group policy on its date of

termination.  Coverage under the new group policy shall not
result in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would
have been covered under the group policy being replaced.

(6) Termination of a Medicare supplement policy
or certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous
loss which commenced while the policy was in force, but the
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the
policy was in force may be predicated upon the continuous
total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the
policy benefit period, if any, or to payment of the maximum
benefits.

B. Minimum Benefit Standards.
(1) Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses

for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare
from the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare
benefit period;

(2) Coverage for either all or none of the Medicare
Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount;

(3) Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses
incurred as daily hospital charges during use of Medicare's
lifetime hospital inpatient reserve days;

(4) Upon exhaustion of all Medicare hospital
inpatient coverage including  the lifetime reserve days,
coverage of ninety percent (90%) of all Medicare Part A
eligible expenses for hospitalization not covered by
Medicare subject to a lifetime maximum benefit of an
additional 365 days;

(5) Coverage under Medicare Part A for the
reasonable cost of the first three (3) pints of blood (or
equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined
under federal regulations) unless replaced in accordance
with federal regulations or already paid for under Part B;

(6) Coverage for the coinsurance amount of
Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of
hospital confinement, subject to a maximum calendar year
out-of-pocket amount equal to the Medicare Part B
deductible [$100];

(7) Effective January 1, 1990, coverage under
Medicare Part B for the reasonable cost of the first three (3)
pints of blood (or equivalent quantities of packed red blood
cells, as defined under federal regulations), unless replaced
in accordance with federal regulations or already paid for
under Part A, subject to the Medicare deductible amount.

(8) Cancer Screening every other year for both
men and women as recommended by the U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention
and Health Promotion, except that nothing in this Section
shall contravene Section 7.A of this regulation.

(9) Annual influenza immunizations.

Section 8.Benefit Standards for Policies or Certificates
Issued or delivered on or after January 1, 1992.

The following standards are applicable to all Medicare
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supplement policies of certificates delivered or issued for
delivery in this State on or after January 1, 1992.  No policy
or certificate may be advertised, solicited, delivered or
issued for delivery in this State as a Medicare supplement
policy or certificate unless it complies with these benefit
standards.  

A. General Standards.  The following standards apply
to Medicare supplement policies and certificates and are in
addition to all other requirements of this regulation.

(1) A Medicare supplement policy or certificate
shall not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more
than six (6) months from the effective date of coverage
because it involved a preexisting condition.  The policy or
certificate may not define a preexisting condition more
restrictively than a condition for which medical advice was
given or treatment was recommended by or received from a
physician within six (6) months before the effective date of
coverage.

(2) A Medicare supplement policy or certificate
shall not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on
a different basis than losses resulting from accident.

(3) A Medicare supplement policy or certificate
shall provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing
amounts under Medicare will be changed automatically to
coincide with any changes in the applicable Medicare
deductible amount and co-payment percentage factors.
Premiums may be modified to correspond with such
changes.

(4) No Medicare supplement policy or certificate
shall provide for termination of coverage of a spouse
because of the occurrence of an event specified for
termination of coverages of the insured, other than the
nonpayment of premium.

(5) Each Medicare supplement policy shall be
guaranteed renewable and 

(a) The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew
the policy solely on the ground of health status of the
individual; and

(b) The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew
the policy for any reason other than nonpayment of premium
or materials misrepresentation.

(c) If the Medicare supplement policy is
terminated by the group policyholder and is not replaced as
provided under Section 8A(5)(e), the issuer shall offer
certificate- holders an individual Medicare supplement
policy which (at the option of the certificate holder):

(i) Provides for continuation of the
benefits contained in the group policy; or

(ii) Provides for such benefits that
otherwise meet the requirements of this subsection.

(d) If an individual is a certificateholder in a
group Medicare supplement policy and the individual
terminates membership in the group, the issuer shall:

(i) Offer the certificateholder the

conversion opportunity described in Section 8A(5)(c); or
(ii) At the option of the group

policyholder, offer the certificate-holder continuation of
coverage under the group policy.

(e) If a group Medicare supplement policy is
replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy
purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the
replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons
covered under the old group policy on its date of
termination.  Coverage under the new policy shall not result
in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would have
been covered under the group policy being replaced.

(6) Termination of a Medicare supplement policy
or certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous
loss which commenced while the policy was in force, but the
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the
policy was in force may be conditioned upon the continuos
total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the
policy benefit period, if any, or payment of the maximum
benefits.

(7) (a) A Medicare supplement policy or
certificate shall provide that benefits and premiums under
the policy or certificate shall be suspended at the request of
the policyholder or certificateholder for the period (not to
exceed twenty-four (24) months) in which the policyholder
or certificateholder has applied for and is determined to be
entitled to medical assistance under Title XIX of the Social
Security Act, but only if the policyholder or certificateholder
notifies the issuer of such policy or certificate within ninety
(90) days after the date the individual becomes entitled to
such assistance.  Upon receipt of timely notice, the issuer
shall return to the policyholder or certificateholder that
portion of the premium attributable to the period of Medicaid
eligibility, subject to adjustment for paid claims.

(b) If such suspension occurs and if the
policyholder or certificateholder loses entitlement to such
medical assistance, such policy or certificate shall be
automatically reinstituted (effective as of the date of
termination of such entitlement) as of the termination of such
entitlement, if the policyholder or certificate holder provides
notice of loss of such entitlement within ninety (90) days
after the date of such loss and pays the premium attributable
to the period, effective as of the date of termination of such
entitlement.

(c) Reinstitution of such coverages:
(i) Shall not provide for any waiting

period with respect to treatment of preexisting conditions;
(ii) Shall provide for coverage which is

substantially equivalent to coverage in effect before the date
of such suspension; and 

(iii) Shall provide for classification of
premiums on terms as favorable to the policyholder or
certificateholder as the premium classification terms that
would have applied to the policyholder or certificateholder
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had the coverage not been suspended.
B. Standards for Basic ("Core") Benefits Common to

All Benefit Plans.
Every issuer shall make available a policy or certificate
including only the following basic "core" package of
benefits to each prospective insured.  An issuer may make
available to prospective insureds any of the other Medicare
Supplement Insurance Benefit Plans in addition to the basic
"core" package, but not in lieu of it:

(1) Coverage of Part A Medicare Eligible
Expenses for hospitalization to the extent not covered by
Medicare from the 61st day through the 90th day in any
Medicare benefit period;

(2) Coverage of Part A Medicare Eligible
Expenses incurred for hospitalization to the extent not
covered by Medicare for each Medicare lifetime inpatient
reserve day used;

(3) Upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital
inpatient coverage including the lifetime reserve days,
coverage of the Medicare Part A eligible expenses for
hospitalization paid at the Diagnostic Related Group (DRG)
day outlier per diem or other appropriate standard of
payment, subject to a lifetime maximum benefit of an
additional 365 days. The provider must accept the issuer’s
payment as payment in full and may not bill the insured for
any balance;

(4) Coverage under Medicare Parts A and B for the
reasonable cost of the first three (3) pints of blood (or
equivalent quantities of packaged red blood cells as defined
under federal regulations) unless replaced in accordance
with federal regulations.

(5) Coverage for the coinsurance amount (under a
prospective payment system) of Medicare Eligible Expenses
under Part B regardless of hospital confinement, subject to
the Medicare Part B deductible.

C. Standards for Additional Benefits.  The following
additional benefits shall be included in Medicare
Supplement Benefit Plans "B" through "J" only as provided
by Section 9 of this Regulation.

(1) Medicare Part A Deductible: Coverage for all
of the Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount
per benefit period.

(2) Skilled Nursing Facility Care:  Coverage for
the actual billed charges up to the coinsurance amount from
the 21st day through the 100th day in a Medicare benefit
period for post-hospital skilled nursing facility care eligible
under Medicare Part A.

(3) Medicare Part B Deductible:  Coverage for all
of the Medicare Part B deductible amount per calendar year
regardless of hospital confinement.  

(4) Eighty Percent (80%) of the Medicare Part B
Excess Charges: Coverage for eighty percent (80%) of the
difference between the actual Medicare Part B charge as
billed, not to exceed any charge limitation established by the

Medicare program or state law, and the Medicare-approved
Part B charge.

(5) One Hundred Percent (100%) of the Medicare
Part B Excess Charges:  Coverage for all of the difference
between the actual Medicare Part B charge as billed, not to
exceed any charge limitation established by the Medicare
program or state law, and the Medicare-approved Part B
charge.  

(65) Basic Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefit:
Coverage for fifty percent (50%) of outpatient prescription
drug charges, after a two hundred fifty dollar ($250) calendar
year deductible, to a maximum of one thousand two hundred
fifty dollars ($1,250) in benefits received by the insured per
calendar year, to the extent not covered by Medicare.

(76) Extended Outpatient Prescription Drug
Benefit:  Coverage for fifty percent (50%) of outpatient
prescription drug charges, after a two hundred fifty dollar
($250) calendar year deductible to a maximum of three
thousand dollars ($3,000) in benefits received by the insured
per calendar year, to the extent no coverage by Medicare.

(87) Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a
Foreign Country:  Coverage to the extent not covered by
Medicare for eighty percent (80%) of the billed charges for
Medicare-eligible expenses for medically necessary
emergency hospital, physician and medical care received in a
foreign country, which care would have been covered by
Medicare if provided in the United States and which care
began during the first sixty (60) consecutive days of each trip
outside the United States, subject to a calendar year
deductible of two hundred fifty dollars ($250), and a lifetime
maximum benefit of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000).  For
purposes of this benefit, "emergency care" shall mean care
needed immediately because of an injury or an illness of
sudden and unexpected onset.  

(98) Preventive Medical Care Benefit: Coverage for
the following preventive health services:

(a) An annual clinical preventive medical
history and physical examination that may include tests and
services from subsection (b) and patient education to address
preventive health care measures.

(b) Any one or a combination of the following
preventive screening tests or preventive services, the
frequency of which is considered medically appropriate.  

(1) Fecal occult blood test and/or digital
rectal examination, or both;

(2) Mammogram;
(3) Dipstick urinalysis for hematuria,

bacturiuria and proteinuria;
(4) Pure tone (air only) hearing screening

test, administered by a physician;
(5) Serum cholesterol screening (every

five (5) years);
(6) Thyroid function test;
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(7) Diabetes screening.
(c) Influenza vaccine administered at any

appropriate time during the year and Tetanus and Diphtheria
booster (every ten (10) years).

(d) Any other tests or preventive measures
determined appropriate by the attending physician.

Reimbursement shall be for the actual charges up to one
hundred (100) percent of the Medicare-approved amount for
each service, as if Medicare were to cover the service as
identified in American Medical Association Current
Procedural Terminology (AMA CPT) codes, to a maximum
of one hundred twenty dollars ($120) annually under this
benefit.  This benefit shall not include payment for any
procedure covered by Medicare.

(109)At-Home Recovery Benefit:  Coverage for
services to provide short term, at-home assistance with
activities of daily living for those recovering from an illness,
injury or surgery.

(a) For purposes of this benefit, the following
definitions shall apply:

(i) "Activities of daily living" include,
but are not limited to bathing, dressing, personal hygiene,
transferring, eating, ambulating, assistance with drugs that
are normally self-administered, and changing bandages or
other dressings.

(ii) "Care provider" means a duly
qualified or licensed home health aide or homemaker,
personal care aide or nurse provided through a licensed
home health care agency or referred by a licensed referral
agency or licensed nurses registry.

(iii) "Home" shall mean any place used by
the insured as a place of residence, provided that such place
would qualify as a residence for home health care services
covered by Medicare.  A hospital or skilled nursing facility
shall not be considered the insured's place of residence.

(iv) "At-home recovery visit" means the
period of a visit required to provide at home recovery care,
without limit on the duration of the visit, except each
consecutive 4 hours in a 24-hour period of services provided
by a care provider is one visit.

(b) Coverage Requirements and Limitations
(i) At-home recovery services provided

must be primarily services which assist in activities of daily
living.

(ii) The insured's attending physician
must certify that the specific type and frequency of at-home
recovery services are necessary because of a conditioner for
which a home care plan of treatment was approved by
Medicare.

(iii) Coverage is limited to:
(I) No more than the number and type of at-home

recovery visits certified as  necessary by the insured's
attending physician.  The total number of at-home recovery

visits shall not exceed the number of Medicare approved
home health care visits under a Medicare approved Home
Care Plan of Treatment.

(II) The actual charges for each visit up to a
maximum reimbursement  of forty dollars ($40) per visit.

(III) One thousand six hundred dollars ($1,600) per
calendar year.

(IV)Seven (7) visits in any one week.
(V) Care furnished on a visiting basis in the

insured's home.
(VI)Services provided by a care provider as defined

in this section.
(VII)At-home recovery visits while the insured is

covered under the policy or certificate and not otherwise
excluded.

(VIII)At-home recovery visits received during the
period the insured is receiving Medicare approved home care
services or no more than eight (8) weeks after the service
date of the last Medicare approved home health care visit.

(c) Coverage is excluded for:
(i) Home care visits paid for Medicare or

other government programs; and
(ii) Care provided by family members, unpaid

volunteers or providers who are not care providers.
(110)New or Innovative Benefits:  An issuer may, with

the prior approval of the Commissioner, offer policies or
certificates with new or innovative benefits in addition to the
benefits provided in a policy or certificate that otherwise
complies with the applicable standards.  The new or
innovative benefits may include benefits that are appropriate
to Medicare supplement insurance, new or innovative, not
otherwise available, cost-effective, and offered in a manner
which is consistent with the goal of simplification of
Medicare supplement policies.

Section 9.Standard Medicare Supplement Benefit Plans
A. An issuer shall make available to each prospective

policyholder and certificateholder a policy form or
certificate form containing only the basic "core" benefits, as
defined in Section 8B of this regulation.

B. No groups, packages or combinations of Medicare
supplement benefits other than those listed in this section
shall be offered for sale in this state, except as may be
permitted in Section 8B(10) and in Section 10 of this
regulation.

C. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure,
language, designation and format to the standard benefit
plans "A" through "J" listed in this subsection and conform
to the definitions in Section 4 of this regulation.  Each
benefit shall be structured in accordance with the format
provided in Sections 8B and 8C and list of the benefits in the
order shown in this subsection.  For purposes of this section,
"structure, language and format" means style, arrangement
and overall content of a benefit.
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D. An issuer may use, in addition to the benefit plan
designations required in subsection C, other designations to
the extent permitted by law.

E. Make-up Benefit Plans:
(1) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit

plan "A" shall be limited to the basic ("core") benefits
common to all benefit plans, as defined in Section 8B of this
regulation.

(2) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
plan "B" shall include only the following:  the core benefit as
defined in Section 8B of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible as defined in Section 8C(1).

(3) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
plan “C” shall include only the following: The core benefit
as defined in Section 8B of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare
Part B deductible and medically necessary emergency care
in a foreign country as defined in Sections 8C(1), (2). (3) and
(8) respectively.

(34) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
plan "D" shall include only the following:  the core benefit as
defined in Section 8B of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically
necessary emergency care in a foreign country and the at-
home recovery benefit as defined in Section 8C(1), (2), (87)
and (109) respectively.  

(45) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
plan "E" shall include only the following:  the core benefit as
defined in Section 8B of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically
necessary emergency care in a foreign country and
preventive medical Care as defined in Sections 8C(1), (2),
(87) and (98) respectively.

(6) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
plan “F” shall include only the following:  Tthe core benefit
as described in Section 8B of this regulation , plus the
Medicare Part A deductible, the skilled nursing facility care,
the Part B deductible, one hundred (100%) of the Medicare
Part B excess charges, and the medically necessary
emergency care in a foreign country as defined in Sections
8C (1), (2), (3), (5) and (8) respectively.

(7) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
high deductible plan “F” shall include only the following:
100% of covered expenses following the payment of the
annual high deductible plan “F” deductible.  The covered
expenses include the core benefit as defined in Section 8B of
this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled
nursing facility care, the Medicare Part B deductible, one
hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess
charges, and medically necessary emergency care in a
foreign country as defined in Sections 8 C(1), (2), (3), (5)
and (8) respectively.  The annual high deductible plan “F”
deductible shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, other
than premiums, and shall be in addition to any other specific

benefit deductibles.  The annual high deductible plan “F”
deductible shall be $1500 for 1998 and 1999, and shall be
based on the calendar year.  It shall be adjusted annually
thereafter by the Secretary to reflect the change in the
Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the
twelve-month period ending with August of the preceding
year, and rounded to the nearest multiple of $10.

(8) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
plan “G” shall include only the following:  The core benefit
as defined in Section 8B of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, eighty
percent (80%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges,
medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country and
the at-home recovery benefit as defined in Sections 8C(1),
(2), (4), (8) and (10) respectively.

(9) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
plan “H” shall include only the following:  the core benefit
as defined in Section 8B of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, basic
prescription drug benefit and medically necessary
emergency care in a foreign country as defined in Sections
8C(1), (2), (6), and (8) respectively.

(10) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
plan "I" shall consist of only the following:  the core benefit
as defined in Section 8B of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, one hundred
percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges, basic
prescription drug benefit, medically necessary emergency
care in a foreign country and at-home recovery benefit as
defined in Sections 8C(1), (2), (5), (6), (8) and (10)
respectively.

(11) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
plan "J" shall consist of only the following:  the core benefit
as defined in Section 8B of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare
Part B deductible, one hundred percent (100%) of the
Medicare Part B excess charges, extended prescription drug
benefit, medically necessary emergency care in a foreign
country, preventive medical care and at-home recovery
benefit as defined in Section 8C(1), (2), (3), (5), (7), (8), (9)
and (10) respectively.  

(12) Standardized Medicare supplement benefit
high deductible plan “J” shall consist of only the following:
100% of covered expenses following the payment of the
annual high deductible plan “J” deductible.  The covered
expenses include the core benefit as defined in Section 8B of
this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled
nursing facility care, the Medicare Part B deductible, one
hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess
charges, extended outpatient drug benefit, medically
necessary emergency care in a foreign country, preventive
medical care benefit and at-home recovery benefit as defined
in Sections 8 C(1), (2), (3), (5), (7), (8), (9) and (10).
respectively.  The annual high deductible plan “J” deductible



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1458

shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, other than
premiums, for services covered by the Medicare supplement
plan “J” policy, and shall be in addition to any other specific
benefit deductibles.  The annual high deductible plan “J”
deductible shall be $1500 for 1998 and 1999, and shall be
based on the calendar year.  It shall be adjusted annually
thereafter by the Secretary to reflect the change in the
Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the
twelve-month period ending with August of the preceding
year, and rounded to the nearest multiple of $10.

Section 10.Medicare Select Policies and Certificates:
A. (1) This section shall apply to Medicare Select

policies and certificates, as defined in this section.
(2) No policy or certificate may be advertised as a

Medicare Select policy or certificate unless it meets the
requirements of this section.

B. For the purposes of this section:
(1) "Complaint" means any dissatisfaction

expressed by an individual concerning a Medicare Select
issuer or its network providers.

(2) "Grievance" means dissatisfaction expressed in
writing by an individual insured under a Medicare Select
policy or certificate with the administration, claims practices
or provision of services concerning a Medicare Select issuer
or its network providers.

(3) "Medicare Select issuer" means an issuer
offering, or seeking to offer, a Medicare Select policy or
certificate.

(4) "Medicare Select policy" or "Medicare Select
certificate" mean respectively a Medicare supplement policy
or certificate that contains restricted network provisions.

(5) "Network provider" means a provider of health
care, or a group of providers of health care which has entered
into a written agreement with the issuer to provide benefits
insured under a Medicare Select policy.

(6) "Restricted network provision" means any
provision which conditions the payment of benefits, in
whole or in part, on the use of network providers.

(7) "Service area" means the geographic area
approved by the Commissioner within which an issued is
authorized to offer a Medicare Select policy.

C. The Commissioner may authorize an issuer to offer
a Medicare Select policy or certificate, pursuant to his
section and section 4358 of the Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1990 if the Commissioner
finds that the issuer has satisfied all of the requirements of
this regulation.

D. A Medicare Select issue shall not issue a Medicare
Select policy or certificate in this State until its plan of
operation has been approved by the Commissioner.

E. A Medicare Select issuer shall file a proposed plan
of operation with the Commissioner in a format prescribed
by the Commissioner. The plan of operation shall contain at

least the following information:
(1) Evidence that all covered services that are

subject to restricted network provisions are available and
accessible through network providers, including a
demonstration that:

(a) Services can be provided by network
providers with reasonable promptness with respect to
geographic location, hours of operation and after-hour care.
The hours of operation and availability of after-hour care
shall reflect usual practice in the local area.  Geographic
availability shall reflect the usual travel times within the
community.

(b) The number of network providers in the
service area is sufficient, with respect to current and
expected policyholders, either:

(i) To deliver adequately all services that
are subject to a restricted network provision; or

(ii) To make appropriate referrals.
(c) There are written agreements with

network providers describing specific responsibilities.
(d) Emergency care is available twenty-four

(24) hours per day and seven (7) days per week.
(e) In the case of covered services that are

subject to a restricted network basis, there are written
agreements with network providers prohibiting the providers
from billing or otherwise seeking reimbursement from or
recourse against any individual insured under a Medicare
Select policy or certificate. This paragraph shall not apply to
supplemental charges or coinsurance amounts as stated in
the Medicare Select policy or certificate.

(2) A statement or may providing a clear
description of the service area.

(3) A description of the grievance procedure to be
utilized.

(4) A description of the quality assurance program,
including:

(a) The formal organizational structure;
(b) The written criteria for selection, retention

and removal of network providers; and
(c) The procedures for evaluating the quality

of care provided by network providers, and the process to
initiate corrective action when warranted.

(5) A list and description, by specialty, of the
network providers.

(6) Copies of the written information proposed to
be used by the issuer to comply with subsection I.

(7) Any other information requested by the
Commissioner.

F. (1) A Medicare Select issuer shall file any
proposed changes to the plan of operation, except for
changes to the list of network providers with the
Commissioner prior to implementing such changes. Such
changes shall be considered approved by the Commissioner
after thirty (30) days unless specifically disapproved.
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(2) An updated list of network providers shall be
filed with the Commissioner at least quarterly.

G. A Medicare Select policy or certificate shall not
restrict payment for covered services provided by non-
network providers if:

(1) The services are for symptoms requiring
emergency care or are immediately required for an
unforeseen illness, injury or a condition; and

(2) It is not reasonable to obtain such services
through a network provider.

H. A Medicare Select policy or certificate shall
provide payment for full coverage under the policy for
covered services that are not available through network
providers.

I. A Medicare Select issuer shall make a full and fair
disclosure in writing of the provisions, restrictions, and
limitations of the Medicare Select policy or certificate to
each applicant.  This disclosure shall include at least the
following:

(1) An outline of coverage sufficient to permit the
applicant to compare the coverage and premiums of the
Medicare Select policy or certificate with:

(a) Other Medicare supplement policies or
certificates offered by the issuer; and

(b) Other Medicare Select policies or
certificates.

(2) A description (including address, phone
number and hours of operation) of the network providers,
including primary care physicians, specialty physicians,
hospitals, and other providers.

(3) A description of the restricted network
provisions, including payments for coinsurance and
deductibles when providers other than network providers are
utilized.

(4) A description of coverage for emergency and
urgently needed care and other out of service area coverage.

(5) A description of limitations on referrals to
restricted network providers and to other providers.

(6) A description of the policyholder's rights to
purchase any other Medicare supplement policy or
certificate otherwise offered by the issuer.

(7) A description of the Medicare Select issuer's
quality assurance program and grievance procedure.

J. Prior to the sale of a Medicare Select policy or
certificate, a Medicare Select issuer shall obtain from the
applicant a signed and dated form stating that the applicant
has received the information provided pursuant to
Subsection I of this section and that the applicant
understands the restrictions of the Medicare Select policy or
certificate.

K. A Medicare Select issuer shall have and use
procedures for hearing complaints and resolving written
grievances from the subscribers.  Such procedures shall be
aimed at mutual agreement for settlement and may include

arbitration procedures.
(1) The grievance procedure shall be described in

the policy and certificates and in the outline of coverage.  
(2) At the time the policy or certificate is issued,

the issuer shall provide detailed information to the
policyholder describing how a grievance may be registered
with the issuer.

(3) Grievances shall be considered in a timely
manner and shall be transmitted to appropriate decision-
makers who have authority to fully investigate the issue and
take corrective action.

(4) If a grievance is found to be valid, corrective
action shall be taken promptly.

(5) All concerned parties shall be notified about
the results of a grievance.

(6) The issuer shall report no later than each March
31st to the Commissioner regarding its grievance procedure.
The report shall be in a format prescribed by the
Commissioner and shall contain the number of grievances
filed in the past year and a summary of the subject, nature
and resolution of such grievances.

L. At the time of initial purchase, a Medicare Select
issuer shall make available to each applicant for a Medicare
Select policy or certificate the opportunity to purchase any
Medicare supplement policy or certificate otherwise offered
by the issuer.  

M. (1) At the request of an individual insured under a
Medicare Select policy or certificate, a Medicare Select
issuer shall make available to the individual insured the
opportunity to purchase a Medicare supplement policy or
certificate offered by the issuer which has comparable or
lesser benefits and which does not contain a restricted
network provision.  The issuer shall make the policies or
certificates available without requiring evidence of
insurability after the Medicare Select policy or certificate has
been in force for six (6) months.

(2) For the purposes of this subsection, a Medicare
supplement policy or certificate will be considered to have
comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one or more
significant benefits not included in the Medicare Select
policy or certificate being replaced.  For the purposes of this
paragraph, a significant benefit means coverage for the
Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for prescription drugs,
coverage for at-home recovery services or coverage for Part
B excess charges.

N. Medicare Select policies and certificates shall
provide for continuation of coverage in the event the
Secretary of Health and Human Services determines that
Medicare Select policies and certificates issued pursuant to
this section should be discontinued due to either the failure
of the Medicare Select Program to be reauthorized under law
or its substantial amendment.  

(1) Each Medicare Select issuer shall make
available to each individual insured under a Medicare Select
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policy or certificate the opportunity to purchase any
Medicare supplement policy or certificate offered by the
issued which has comparable or lesser benefits and which
does not contain a restricted network provision.  The issuer
shall make such policies and certificates available without
requiring evidence of insurability.

(2) For the purposes of this subsection, a Medicare
supplement policy or certificate will be considered to have
comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one or more
significant benefits not included in the Medicare Select
policy or certificate being replaced.  For the purposes of this
paragraph, a significant benefit means coverage for the
Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for prescription drugs,
coverage for at-home recovery services or coverages for Part
B excess charges.

O. A Medicare Select issuer shall comply with
reasonable requests for data made by state or federal
agencies, including the United States Department of Health
and Human Services, for the purpose of evaluating the
Medicare Select Program.

Editor's Note:  Section 10, Medicare Select Policies and
Certificates, of this Regulation is effective October 6, 1995,
pursuant to President Clinton's signing H.R. 483 on July 7,
1995, permitting Medicare Select policies to be offered in all
fifty states, and the Delaware Insurance Commissioner's
amending this regulation pursuant to 29 Del. C. 10013(b)(5).

Section 11.Open Enrollment
A. An issuer shall not deny or condition the issuance

or effectiveness of any Medicare supplement policy or
certificate available for sale in this state, nor discriminate in
the pricing of such a policy or certificate because of the
health status, claims experience, receipt of health care, or
medical condition of an applicant in the case of an
application for a policy or certificate that is submitted prior
to or during the six (6) month period beginning with the first
day of the first month in which an individual is both 65 years
of age or older and is enrolled for benefits under Medicare
Part B.  Each Medicare supplement policy and certificate
currently available from an issuer shall be made available to
all applicants who qualify under this subsection without
regard to age.

B. (1) If an applicant qualifies under Subsection A
and submits an application during the time period referenced
in Subsection A and, as of the date of the application, has
had a continuous period of creditable coverage of at least six
months, the issuer shall not exclude benefits based on a
preexisting condition.

(2) If the applicant qualifies under Subsection A
and submits an application during the time period referenced
in Subsection A and, as of the date of application, has had a
continuous period of creditable coverage that is less than six
months, the issuer shall reduce the period of any preexisting

condition exclusion by the aggregate of the period of
creditable coverage applicable to the applicant as of the
enrollment date. The Secretary shall specify the manner of
the reduction under this subsection.

CB. Except as provided in Section 223, subsection A
shall not be construed as preventing the exclusion of benefits
under a policy, during the first six (6) months, based on a
preexisting condition for which the policyholder or
certificateholder received treatment or was otherwise
diagnosed during the six (6) months before the coverage
became effective.

Section 12.Guaranteed Issue for Eligible Persons
A. Guaranteed Issue

(1) Eligible persons are those individuals
described in Subsection B who apply to enroll under the
policy not later than sixty-three (63) days after the date of the
termination of enrollment described in Subsection B, and
who submit evidence of the date of termination or
disenrollment with the application for a Medicare
supplement policy.

(2) With respect to eligible persons, an issuer shall
not deny or condition the issuance or effectiveness of a
Medicare supplement policy described in Subsection C that
is offered and is available for issuance to new enrollees by
the issuer, shall not discriminate in the pricing of such a
Medicare supplement policy because of health status, claims
experience, receipt of health care, or medical condition, and
shall not impose an exclusion of benefits based on a
preexisting condition under such a Medicare supplement
policy.

B. Eligible Persons
An eligible person is an individual described in any of the
following paragraphs:

(1) The individual is enrolled under an employee
welfare benefit plan that provides health benefits that
supplement the benefits under Medicare; and the plan
terminates, or the plan ceases to provide all such
supplemental health benefits to the individual; or the
individual is enrolled under an employee welfare benefit
plan that is primary to Medicare and the plan terminates or
the plan terminates or the plan ceases to provide all health
benefits to the individual because the individual leaves the
plan;

(2) The individual is enrolled with a
Medicare+Choice organization under a Medicare+Choice
plan under part C of Medicare, and any of the following
circumstances apply: 

(i) The organization’s or plan’s certification
[under this part] has been terminated or the organizations has
terminated or otherwise discontinued providing the plan in
the area in which the individual resides;

(ii) The individual is no longer eligible to elect
the plan because of a change in the individual’s place of
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residence or other change in circumstances specified by the
Secretary, but not including termination of the individual’s
enrollment on the basis described in Section 1851(g)(3)(B)
of the federal Social Security Act (where the individual has
not paid premiums on a timely basis or has engaged in
disruptive behavior as specified in standards under Section
1856), or the plan is terminated for all individuals within a
residence area;

(iii) The individual demonstrates, in
accordance with guidelines established by the Secretary,
that:

(I) The organization offering the plan substantially
violated a material provision of the organization’s contract
under this part in relation to the individual, including the
failure to provide an enrollee on a timely basis medically
necessary care for which benefits are available under the
plan or the failure to provide such covered care in
accordance with applicable quality standards; or

(II) The organization, or agent or other entity acting on
the organization’s behalf, materially misrepresented the
plan’s provisions in marketing the plan to the individual; or

(iv) The individual meets such other
exceptional conditions as the Secretary may provide.”

(3) (a) The individual is enrolled with:
(i) An eligible organization under a

contract under Section 1876 (Medicare risk or cost);
(ii) A similar organization operating

under demonstration project authority, effective for periods
before April 1, 1999;

(iii) An organization under an agreement
under Section 1833(a)(1)(A) (health care prepayment plan);
or

(iv) An organization under a Medicare
Select policy; and

(b) The enrollment ceases under the same
circumstances that would permit discontinuance of an
individual’s election of coverage under Section 12B(2).

(4) The individual is enrolled under a Medicare
supplement policy and the enrollment ceases because:

(a) (i) Of the insolvency of the issuer or
bankruptcy of the nonissuer organization; or

(ii) Of other involuntary termination of
coverage or enrollment under the policy;

(b) The issuer of the policy substantially
violated a material provision of the policy; or

(c) The issuer, or an agent or other entity
acting on the issuer’s behalf, materially misrepresented the
policy’s provisions in marketing the policy to the individual;

(5) (a) The individual was enrolled under a
Medicare supplement policy and terminates enrollment and
subsequently enrolls, for the first time, with any
Medicare+Choice organization under a Medicare+Choice
plan under part C of Medicare, any eligible organization
under a contract under Section 1876 (Medicare risk or cost),

any similar organization operating under demonstration
project authority, an organization under an agreement under
section 1833(a)(1)(A) (health care prepayment plan), or a
Medicare Select policy; and

(b) The subsequent enrollment under
subparagraph (a) is terminated by the enrollee during any
period within the first twelve (12) months of such
subsequent enrollment (during which the enrollee is
permitted to terminate such subsequent enrollment under
section 1851(e) of the federal Social Security Act); or

(6) The individual, upon first becoming enrolled in
Medicare part B at age 65 or older, enrolls in a
Medicare+Choice plan under Part C of Medicare, and
disenrolls from the plan by not later than twelve (12) months
after the effective date of enrollment.

C. Products to Which Eligible Persons are Entitled
The Medicare supplement policy to which eligible persons
are entitled under:

(1) Section 12B(1), (2), (3) and (4) is a Medicare
supplement policy which has a benefit package classified as
Plan A, B, C, or F offered by any issuer.

(2) Section 12B(5) is the same Medicare
supplement policy in which the individual was most recently
previously enrolled, if available from the same issuer, or, if
not so available, a policy described in Subsection C(1).

(3) Section 12B(6) shall include any Medicare
supplement policy offered by any issuer.

D. Notification Provisions
(1) At the time of an event described in Subsection

B of this section because of which an individual loses
coverage or benefits due to the termination of a contract or
agreement, policy, or plan, the organization that terminates
the contract or agreement, the issuer terminating the policy,
or the administrator of the plan being terminated,
respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights
under this section, and of the obligations of issuers of
Medicare supplement policies under Subsection A.  Such
notice shall be communicated contemporaneously with the
notification of termination.

(2) At the time of an event described in Subsection
B of this section because of which an individual ceases
enrollment under a contract or agreement, policy, or plan, the
organization that offers the contract or agreement, regardless
of the basis for the cessation of enrollment, the issuer
offering the policy, or the administrator of the plan,
respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights
under this section, and of the obligations of issuers of
Medicare supplement policies under Section 12A.  Such
notice shall be communicated within ten (10) working days
of the issuer receiving notification of disenrollment.

Consumer Protections for the Eligible Persons of 1999.
(1) The eligible persons of 1999 are those persons

who meet the definition of eligible persons set forth in
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Section 12 B on or about January 1, 1999, including those
persons who were originally eligible for Medicare benefits
due to disability.  

(2) Notwithstanding any provision of this
regulation to the contrary, issuers of Medicare supplement
policies or certificates shall:

(a) File forms with the Department for
standardized plans A, B, C and F described in Section 9
above for any such plans not on file with the Department as

of the date of this amendment on or before October 61 ,
1998;

(b) Offer such plans on a guaranteed issue
basis to the eligible persons of 1999 in conformance with the
provisions of subsections A. and B. of Section 12 above;

(c) Not discriminate in the pricing of any
Medicare supplement policy offered to eligible persons of
1999 because of health status, claims experience, receipt of
health care, or medical condition and shall mot impose an
exclusion of benefits based on a pre-existing condition; and

(d) Give written notice of the availability of
guaranteed issue plans A, B, C, and F to the eligible persons
of 1999 to whom they solicit Medicare supplement policies. 

(3) Issuers of Medicare supplement policies and
certificates shall certify in writing that the plans filed in
accordance with this section are identical with the exception
of benefit package to Medicare supplement plans that such
issuer currently has on file with the Department.  Such
issuers shall submit required filings such as outlines of
coverage on or before November 1, 1999.

(4) Any provision of this regulation not in direct
conflict the provisions of this subsection E shall remain in
full force an effect.

Section 13.Standards for Claims Payment
A. An issuer shall comply with Section 1882(c)(3) of

the Social Security Act (as enacted by Section 4081(b)(2)(C)
of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA),
Pub. L. No. 100—203) by:

(1) Accepting a notice from a Medicare carrier on
dually assigned claims submitted by participating physicians
and suppliers as a claim for benefits in place of any other
claim form otherwise required and making a payment
determination on the basis of the information contained in
that notice;

(2) Notifying the participating physician or
supplier and the beneficiary of the payment determination;

(3) Paying the participating physician or supplier
directly;

(4) Furnishing at the time of enrollment, each

enrollee with a card listing the policy name, number, and a
central mailing address to which notices from a Medicare
carrier may be sent;

(5) Paying user fees for claim notices that are
transmitted electronically or otherwise; and

(6) Providing to the Secretary of Health and
Human Services, at least annually, a central mailing address
to which all claims may be sent by Medicare carriers.

B. Compliance with the requirements set forth in
Subsection A above shall be certified on the Medicare
supplement insurance experience reporting form.

Section 143.Loss Ratio Standards and Refund or Credit of
Premium

A. Loss Ratio Standards
(1) (a) A Medicare Supplement policy form or

certificate form shall not be delivered or issued for delivery
unless the policy form or certificate form can be expected, as
estimated for the entire period for which rates are computed
to provide coverage, to return to policyholders and
certificateholders in the form of aggregate benefits (not
including anticipated refunds or credits) provided under the
policy form or certificate form:

(i) At least 75 percent of the aggregate
amount of premiums earned in the case of group policies, or

(ii) At least 65 percent of the aggregate
amount of premiums earned in the case of individual
policies,

(b) Calculated on the basis of incurred claims
experience or incurred health care expenses where coverage
is provided by a health maintenance organization on a
service rather than reimbursement basis and earned
premiums for such period and in accordance with accepted
actuarial principles and practices.

(2) All filings of rates and rating schedules shall
demonstrate that expected claims in relation to premiums
comply with the requirements of this section when combined
with actual experience to date.  Filings of rate revisions shall
also demonstrate that the anticipated loss ratio over the entire
future period for which the revised rates are computed to
provide coverage can be expected to meet the appropriate
loss ratio standards.

(3) For purposes of applying subsection A(1) of
this Section and Subsection C(3) of Section 14 only, policies
issued as a result of solicitations of individuals through the
mails or by mass media advertising (including both print and
broadcast advertising) shall be deemed to be individual
policies.

B. Refund or Credit Calculation
(1) An issuer shall collect and file with the

Commissioner by May 31 of each year the data contained in
the applicable reporting form contained in Appendix A for
each type in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan.

(2) If on the basis of the experience as reported the

1. Filing deadline set by adoption of Life and Health
Bulletin No. 21 on October 6, 1998.
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benchmark ratio since inception (ratio 1) exceeds the
adjusted experience ratio since inception (ratio 3), then a
refund or credit calculation is required.  The refund
calculation shall be done on a statewide basis for each type
in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan.  For
purposes of the refund or credit calculation, experience on
policies issued within the reporting year shall be excluded.

(3) For the purposes of this section, policies or
certificates issued prior to January 1, 1992, the issuer shall
make the refund or credit calculation separately for all
individual policies (including all group policies subject to an
individual loss ratio standard when issued) combined and all
other group policies combined for experience after the
(effective date of this amendment).  The first such report
shall be due by May 31, 1998.

(4) A refund or credit shall be made only when the
benchmark loss ratio exceeds the adjusted experience loss
ratio and the amount to be refunded or credited exceeds a de
minimis level.  The refund shall include interest from the end
of the calendar year to the date of the refund or credit at a
rate specified by the Secretary of Health and Human
Services, but in no event shall it be less than the average rate
of interest for 13-week Treasury notes.  A refund or credit
against premiums due shall be made by September 30
following the experience year upon which the refund or
credit is based 

C. Annual Filing of Premium Rates
An issuer of Medicare supplement policies and certificates
issued before or after the effective date of January 1, 1992 in
this State shall file annually its rates, rating schedule and
supporting documentation including ratios of incurred losses
to earned premiums by policy duration for approval by the
Commissioner in accordance with the filing requirements
and procedures prescribed by the Commissioner.  The
supporting documentation shall also demonstrate in
accordance with actuarial standards of practice using
reasonable assumptions that the appropriate loss ratio
standards can be expected to be met over the entire period
for which rates are computed. Such demonstration shall
exclude active life reserves.  An expected third-year loss
ratio which is greater than or equal to the applicable
percentage shall be demonstrated for policies or certificates
in force less than three (3) years.  As soon as practicable, but
prior to the effective date of enhancements in Medicare
benefits, every issuer of Medicare supplement policies or
Medicare supplement policies or certificates in this State
shall file with the Commissioner, in accordance with the
applicable filing procedures of this State:

(1) (a) Appropriate premium adjustments
necessary to produce loss ratios as anticipated for the current
premium for the applicable policies or contracts.  The
supporting documents as necessary to justify the adjustment
shall accompany the filing.  

(b) An issuer shall make such premium

adjustments as are necessary to produce an expected loss
ratio under the policy or certificate to conform with
minimum loss ratio standards for Medicare supplement
policies and which are expected to result in a loss ratio at
least as great as that originally anticipated in the rates used to
produce current premiums by the issuer for the Medicare
supplement insurance policies or certificates.  No premium
adjustment which would modify the loss ratio experience
under the policy other than the adjustments described herein
should be made with respect to a policy at any time other
than upon its renewal date or anniversary date.

(c) If an issuer fails to make premium
adjustments acceptable to the Commissioner, the
Commissioner may order premium adjustments, refunds, or
premium credits deemed necessary to achieve the loss ratio
required by this section. 

(2) Any appropriate riders, endorsements or policy
forms needed to accomplish the Medicare supplement policy
or certificate modifications necessary to eliminate benefit
duplications with Medicare.  The riders, endorsements or
policy forms shall provide a clear description of the
Medicare supplement benefits provided by the policy or
certificate.

D. Public Hearings
The Commissioner may conduct a public hearing to gather
information concerning a request by an issuer for an increase
in a rate for a policy form or certificate form issued before or
after the effective date of this Regulation if the experience of
the form for the previous  reporting period is not in
compliance with the applicable loss ratio standard.  The
determination of compliance is made without consideration
of any refund or credit for such reporting period.  Public
notice of the hearing shall be furnished in a manner deemed
appropriate by the Commissioner.  

Section 154.Filing and Approval of Policies and Certificates
and Premium Rates

A. An issuer shall not deliver or issue for delivery a
policy or certificate to a resident of this State unless the
policy form or certificate form has been filed with and
approved by the Commissioner in accordance with filing
requirements and procedures prescribed by the
Commissioner.

B. An issuer shall not use or change premium rates for
a Medicare supplement policy or certificate unless the rates,
rating schedule and supporting documentation have been
filed with and approved by the Commissioner in accordance
with the filing requirements and procedures prescribed by
the Commissioner.

C. (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this
subsection, an insurer shall not file for approval more than
one form of a policy or certificate of each type for each
standard Medicare supplement benefit plan.

(2) An issuer may offer, with the approval of the
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Commissioner, up to four additional policy forms or
certificate forms of the same type for the same standard
Medicare supplement benefit plan, one for each of the
following cases.  

(a) The inclusion of new or innovative
benefits;

(b) The addition of either direct response or
agent marketing methods;

(c) The addition of either guaranteed issue or
underwritten coverage;

(d) The offering of coverage to individuals
eligible for Medicare by reason of disability.

(3) For the purposes of this action, a "type" means
an individual policy, a group policy, an individual Medicare
Select policy, or a group Medicare Select policy.

D. (1) Except as provided in paragraph (1)(a), an
issuer shall continue to make available for purchase any
policy form or certificate form issued after the effective date
of this Regulation that has been approved by the
Commissioner.  A policy form or certificate form shall not
be considered to be available for purchase unless the issuer
has actively offered it for sale in the previous twelve months.

(a) An issuer may discontinue the availability
of a policy form or certificate form if the issuer provides to
the Commissioner in writing its decision at least 30 days
prior to discontinuing the availability of the form of the
policy or certificate.  After receipt of the notice by the
Commissioner, the issuer shall no longer offer for sale the
policy form or certificate form in this State.

(b) An issuer that discontinues the availability
of a policy form or certificate form pursuant to subparagraph
(a) shall not file for approval a new policy form or certificate
form of the same type for the same standard Medicare
supplement benefit plan as the discontinued form for a
period of five (5) years after the issuer provides notice to the
Commissioner of the discontinuance.  The period of
discontinuance may be reduced if the Commissioner
determined that a shorter period is appropriate.

(2) The sale or other transfer of Medicare
supplement business to another issuer shall be considered a
discontinuance for the purposes of this subsection.

(3) A change in the rating structure or
methodology shall be considered a discontinuance under
paragraph (1) unless the issuer complies with the following
requirements:

(a) The issuer provides an actuarial
memorandum, in a form and manner prescribed by the
Commissioner, describing the manner in which the revised
rating methodology and resultant rates differ from the
existing rating methodology and existing rates.

(b) The issuer does not subsequently put into
effect a change of rates or rating factors that would cause the
percentage differential between the discontinued and
subsequent rates as described in the actuarial memorandum

to change.  The Commissioner may approve a change to the
differential which is in the public interest.

E. (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), the
experience of all policy forms or certificate forms of the
same type in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan
shall be combined for purposes of the refund or credit
calculation prescribed in Section 13 hereof.

(2) Forms assumed under an assumption
reinsurance agreement shall not be combined with the
experience of other forms for purposes of the refunds or
credit calculation.

Section 165.Permitted Compensation Arrangements
A. An issuer or other entity may provide commission

or other compensation to an agent or other representative for
the sale of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate only
if the first year commission or other first year compensation
is no more than two hundred percent (200%) of the
commission or other compensation paid for selling or
servicing the policy or certificate in the second year or
period.

B. The commission or other compensation provided in
subsequent (renewal) years must be the same as that
provided in the second year or period and must be provided
for no fewer than five (5) renewal years.

C. No issuer or other entity shall provide
compensation to its agents or other producers and no agent
or producer shall receive compensation greater than the
renewal compensation payable by the replacing issuer or
renewal policies or certificates if an existing policy or
certificate is replaced.  

D. For purposes of this section, "compensation"
includes pecuniary or non-pecuniary remuneration of any
kind relating to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate
including but  not limited to bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards
and finders fees.

Section 176.Required Disclosure Provisions
A. General Rules.

(1) Medicare supplement policies and certificates
shall include a renewal or continuation provision.  The
language or specifications of the provision must be
consistent with the type of contract issued.  Such provision
shall be appropriately captioned and shall appear on the first
page of the policy and shall include any reservation by the
issuer of the right to change premiums and any automatic
renewal premium increases based on the policyholder's age.  

(2) Except for riders or endorsements by which the
issuer effectuates a request made in writing by the insured,
exercises a specifically reserved right under a Medicare
supplement policy, or is required to reduce or eliminate
benefits to avoid duplication of Medicare benefits, all riders
or endorsements added to a Medicare supplement policy
after date of issue or at reinstatement or renewal which
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reduce or eliminate benefits or coverage in the policy shall
require a signed acceptance by the insured.  After the date of
the policy or certificate issue, any rider or endorsement
which increases benefits or coverage with a concomitant
increase in premium during the policy term shall be agreed
to in writing signed by the insured, unless the benefits are
required by the minimum standards for Medicare
supplement policies, or if the increased benefits or coverage
is required by law.  Where a separate additional premium is
charged for benefits provided in connection with riders or
endorsements, the premium charge shall be set forth in the
policy.  

(3) Medicare supplement policies or certificates
shall not provide for the payment of benefits based on
standards described as "usual and customary," "reasonable
and customary" or words of similar import.

(4) If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate
contains any limitations with respect to preexisting
conditions, such limitations shall appear as a separate
paragraph of the policy and be labeled as "Preexisting
Condition Limitations."

(5) Medicare supplement policies and certificates
shall have a notice prominently printed on the first page of
the policy or certificate or attached thereto stating in
substance that the policyholder or certificateholder shall
have the right to return the policy or certificate within thirty
(30) days of its delivery and to have the premium refunded
if, after examination of the policy or certificate, the insured
person is not satisfied for any reason.  

(6) (a) Issuers of accident and sickness policies or
certificates which provide hospital or medical expense
coverage on an expense incurred or indemnity basis to a
person(s) eligible for Medicare shall provide to those
applicants a "Guide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare" in the form developed jointly by the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners and the Health
Care Financing Administration and in a type size no smaller
than 12 point type.  Delivery of the Buyer's Guide shall be
made whether or not such policies or certificates are
advertised, solicited or issued as Medicare supplement
policies or certificates as defined in this regulation.  Except
in the case of direct response issuers, delivery of the Buyer's
Guide shall be made to me applicant at the time of
application and acknowledgmentacknowledgement of
receipt of the Buyer's Guide shall be obtained by the issuer.
Direct response issuers shall deliver the Buyer's Guide to the
applicant upon request but not later than at the time the
policy is delivered.

(b) For purposes of this section, "form" mans
the language, format, type size, type proportional spacing,
bold character, and line spacing.

B. Notice Requirements.
(1) As soon as practicable, but no later than thirty

(30) days prior to the annual effective date of any Medicare

benefit changes, an issuer shall notify its policyholders and
certificateholders of modifications it has made to Medicare
supplement insurance policies or certificates in a format
acceptable to the Commissioner.  The notice shall:

(a) Include a description of revisions to the
Medicare program and a description of each modification
made to the coverage provided under the Medicare
supplement policy or certificate, and

(b) Inform each policyholder or
certificateholder as to when any premium adjustment is to be
made due to changes in Medicare.

(2) The notice of benefit modifications and any
premium adjustments shall be in outline form and in clear
and simple terms so as to facilitate comprehension.

(3) Such notices shall not contain or be
accompanied by any solicitation.

C. Outline of Coverage Requirements for Medicare
Supplement Policies.

(1) Issuers shall provide an outline of coverage to
all applicants at the time application is presented to the
prospective applicant and, except for direct response
policies, shall obtain an acknowledgment of receipt of the
outline from the applicant; and

(2) If an outline of coverage is provided at the time
of application and the Medicare supplement policy or
certificate is issued on a basis which would require revision
of the outline, a substitute outline of coverage properly
describing the policy or certificate shall accompany such
policy or certificate when it is delivered and contain the
following statement, in no less than twelve (12) point type,
immediately above the company name:

"NOTICE:  Read this outline of coverage carefully.  It is not
identical to the outline of coverage provided upon
application and the coverage originally applied for has not
been issued."

(3) The outline of coverage provided to applicants
pursuant to this Section consists of four parts:  a cover page,
premium information disclosure pages, and charts displaying
the features of each benefit plan offered by the issuer.  The
outline of coverage shall be in the language and format
prescribed below in no less than twelve (12) point type.  All
plans A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and JD, E, I, and J shall be
shown on the cover page, and the plan(s) that are offered by
this issuer shall be prominently identified. Premium
information for plans that are offered shall be shown on the
cover page or immediately following the cover page and
shall be prominently displayed.  The premium and mode
shall be stated for all plans that are offered to the prospective
applicant.  All possible premiums for the prospective
applicant shall be illustrated. 

(4) The following items shall be included in the
outline of coverage in the order prescribed below.
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[COMPANY NAME]
Outline of Medicare Supplement Coverage Cover Page
Benefit Plan(s) _____  _____  [insert letters of plan(s) being
offered]

Medicare supplement insurance can be sold in onlysix ten
standard plans, plus two high deductible plans.  This chart
shows the benefits included in each plan.  Every company
must make available Plan "A".  Some plans may not be
available in your state.

BASIC BENEFITS:  Included in All Plans.
Hospitalization:  Part A coinsurance plus coverage for 365
additional days after Medicare benefits end.
Medical Expenses:  Part B coinsurance (20% of Medicare-
approved expenses), or, under a prospective payment
system, applicable copayments.
Blood:  First three pints of blood each year.

PREMIUM INFORMATION [Boldface Type]

We [insert issuer's name] can only raise your premium if we
raise the premium for all policies like yours in this State.  [If
the premium is based on the increasing age of the insured,
include information specifying when premiums will
change.]

DISCLOSURES [Boldface Type]

Use this outline to compare benefits and premiums among
policies.

READ YOUR POLICY VERY CAREFULLY [Boldface
Type]

This is only an outline, describing your policy's most
important features.  The policy is your insurance contract.
You must read the policy itself to understand all of the rights
and duties of both you and your insurance company.

RIGHT TO RETURN POLICY [Boldface Type]

If you find that you are not satisfied with your policy, you
may return it to [insert issuer's address].  If you send the
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policy back to us within 30 days after your receive it, we will
treat the policy as if it had never been issued and return all of
your payments.

POLICY REPLACEMENT [Boldface Type]

If you are replacing another health insurance policy, do NOT
cancel it until you have actually received your new policy
and are sure you wan to keep it.

NOTICE [Boldface Type]

This policy may not fully cover all of your medical costs.
[for agents:]

Neither [insert company's name] nor its agents are connected
with Medicare.

[for direct response:]
[insert company's name] is not connected with

Medicare.

This outline of coverage does not give all the details of
Medicare coverage.  Contact your local Social Security
Office or consult "The Medicare Handbook" for more
details.

COMPLETE ANSWERS ARE VERY IMPORTANT
[Boldface Type]

When you fill out the application for the new policy, be sure
to answer truthfully and completely all questions about your
medical and health history.  The company may cancel your
policy and refuse to pay any claims if you leave out or falsify

important medical information.  [If the policy or certificate is
guaranteed issue, this paragraph need not appear.]

Review the application carefully before you sign it.  Be
certain that all information has been properly recorded.

[Include for each plan prominently identified in the cover
page, a chart showing the services, Medicare payments, plan
payments and insured payments for each plan, using the
same language, in the same order, using uniform layout and
format as shown in the charts below.  No more than four
plans may be shown on one chart.  For purposes of
illustration, charts for each plan are included in this
regulation.  An issuer may use additional benefit plan
designations on these charts pursuant Section 9D of this
Regulation.]

[Include an explanation of any innovative benefits on the
cover page and in the chart, in a manner approved by the
Commissioner.]

PLAN A

MEDICARE (PART A) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOSPITALIZATION* Semiprivate room and
board, general nursing and miscellaneous service
and supplies
First 60 days
61st thru 90th day
91st day and after:
- While using 60 lifetime 
  reserve days
- Once lifetime reserve days
  are used:
  -Additional 365 days

  - Beyond the Additional 
    365 days

All but $[764]
All but $[191] a day

All but $[382] a day

$0

$0

$0
$[191 a day

$[382] a day

100% of
Medicare Eligible
Expenses

$0

$716 (Part A Deductible)
$0

$0

$0**

All Costs
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**NOTICE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits
are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare
and will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for
up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s
“Core Benefits.”  During this time the hospital is prohibited
from billing you for the balance based on any difference
between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would
have paid.

PLAN A

MEDICARE (PART B) — MEDICAL SERVICES — PER
CALENDAR YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved
amounts for covered services (which are noted with an
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the
calendar year.

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*
You must meet Medicare's requirements, including
having been in a hospital for at least 3 days and
entered a Medicare-approved facility within 30
days after leaving the hospital
- First 20 days
- 21st thru 100th day
- 101st day and after

All approved amounts
All but $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
$0 
$0

$0
Up to $[95.50] a day
All costs

BLOOD
First 3 pints
Additional

$0
100%

3 pints
$0

$0
$0

HOSPICE CARE
Available as long as your doctor certifies you are
terminally ill and you elect to receive these services

All but very limited
coinsur-ance for out-
patient drugs and in-
patient respite care

$0 Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

MEDICAL EXPENSES — IN OR OUT OF THE
HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT TREATMENT, such
as Physician's services, inpatient and outpatient
medical and surgical services and supplies, physical
and speech therapy, diagnostic tests, durable medical
equipment,
- First 100 days of Medicare
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare Approved 
   Amounts
- Part B Excess Charges (Above 
  Medicare Approved Amounts)

$0

Generally 80%

$0

$0

Generally 20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

All Costs

BLOOD 
- First 3 pints
- Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
  Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare Approved 
  Amounts

$0

$0

80%

All Costs

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0
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PARTS A & B

PLAN B

MEDICARE (PART A) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.

CLINICAL LABORATORY SERVICES — BLOOD
TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES

100% $0 $0

SERVICES MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE
APPROVED SERVICES
— Medically necessary skilled care 
     services and medical supplies
— Durable medical equipment
     First $100 of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts*
     Remainder of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B
Deductible)

$0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOSPITALIZATION*
Semiprivate room and board, general
nursing and miscellaneous service and
supplies:
First 60 days

61st thru 90th day
91st day and after:
- While using 60 lifetime 
  reserve days
- Once lifetime reserve days
  are used:
  - Additional 365 days

  - Beyond the Additional 
    365 days

All but $[764]
All but $[191] a day

All but $[382] a day

$0

$0

$[764] (Part A
Deductible)
$[191] a day

$[382] a day

100% of Medicare
Eligible Expenses

$0

$0
$0

$0

$0**

All Costs
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**NOTICE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits
are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare
and will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for
up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s
“Core Benefits.”  During this time the hospital is prohibited
from billing you for the balance based on any difference
between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would
have paid.

PLAN B

MEDICARE (PART B) — MEDICAL SERVICES — PER
CALENDAR YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved
Amounts for covered services (which are noted with an
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the
calendar year.

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*
You must meet Medicare's requirements,
including having been in a hospital for at
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after
leaving the hospital
- First 20 days
- 21st thru 100th day
- 101st day and after

All approved amounts
All but $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
$0
$0

$0
Up to $[95.50] a day
All costs

BLOOD
First 3 pints
Additional amounts

$0
100%

3 pints
$0

$0
$0

HOSPICE CARE
Available as long as your doctor certifies
you are terminally ill and you elect to
receive these services

All but very limited coinsurance
for out- patient drugs and in-
patient respite care

$0 Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

MEDICAL EXPENSES — IN OR OUT
OF THE HOSPITAL AND OUT-
PATIENT TREATMENT, such as
Physician's services, inpatient and
outpatient medical and surgical services
and supplies, physical and speech therapy,
diagnostic tests, durable medical
equipment,
- First 100 days of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts
- Part B Excess Charges 
  (Above Medicare Approved 
  Amounts)

$0

Generally 80%

$0

$0

Generally 20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

All Costs
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PARTS A & B

PLAN C

MEDICARE (PART A) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.

BLOOD
- First 3 pints
- Next $100 of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts

$0

$0

80%

All Costs

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

CLINICAL LABORATORY SERVICES
— BLOOD TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES

100% $0 $0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE
APPROVED SERVICES

— Medically necessary skilled care 

     services and medical supplies

— Durable medical equipment

     First $100 of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts*
     Remainder of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOSPITALIZATION*
Semiprivate room and board, general
nursing and miscel-laneous service and
supplies:
First 60 days

61st thru 90th day
91st day and after:
- While using 60 lifetime 
  reserve days
- Once lifetime reserve days
  are used:
  - Additional 365 days

  - Beyond the Additional 
    365 days

All but $7[64]
All but $[191] a day

All but $3[82] a day

$0

$0

$7[64] (Part A
Deductible)
$[191] a day

$3[82] a day

100% of Medicare
Eligible Expenses

$0

$0
$0

$0

$0**

All Costs
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**NOTICE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits
are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare
and will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for
up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s
“Core Benefits.”  During this time the hospital is prohibited
from billing you for the balance based on any difference
between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would
have paid.

PLAN C

MEDICARE (PART B) — MEDICAL SERVICES — PER
CALENDAR YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved
Amounts for covered services (which are noted with an
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the
calendar year.

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY
CARE*
You must meet Medicare's requirements,
including having been in a hospital for at
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after
leaving the hospital
- First 20 days
- 21st thru 100th day
- 101st day and after

All approved amounts
All but $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
Up to $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
$0
All costs

BLOOD
First 3 pints
Additional amounts

$0
100%

3 pints
$0

$0
$0

HOSPICE CARE
Available as long as your doctor certifies
you are terminally ill and you elect to
receive these services

All but very limited coinsu-rance
for out-patient drugs and in-patient
respite care

$0 Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

MEDICAL EXPENSES — IN OR OUT
OF THE HOSPITAL AND OUT-
PATIENT TREATMENT, such as
Physician's services, inpatient and
outpatient medical and surgical services
and supplies, physical and speech therapy,
diagnostic tests, durable medical
equipment,
- First 100 days of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts
- Part B Excess Charges 
  (Above Medicare Approved 
  Amounts)

$0

Generally 80%

$0

$100 (Part B
deductible)

Generally 20%

$0

$0

$0

All Costs
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PARTS A & B

OTHER BENEFITS — NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

PLAN D

MEDICARE (PART A) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.

BLOOD
- First 3 pints
- Next $100 of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts

$0

$0

80%

All Costs

$100 (Part B
deductible)

20%

$0

$0

$0

CLINICAL LABORATORY SERVICES
— BLOOD TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES

100% $0 $0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE
APPROVED SERVICES

— Medically necessary skilled care 

     services and medical supplies

— Durable medical equipment

     First $100 of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts*
     Remainder of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$100 (Part B
deductible)

20%

$0

$0

$0

FOREIGN TRAVEL — NOT COVERED
BY MEDICARE Medically necessary
emer-gency care services beginning
during the first 60 days of each trip
outside the USA
- First $250 each calendar year
- Remainder of Charges

$0
$0

$0
80% to a lifetime
maximum benefit of
$50,000

$250
20% and amounts over the
$50,000 lifetime maximum

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY
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**NOTICE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits
are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare
and will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for
up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s
“Core Benefits.”  During this time the hospital is prohibited
from billing you for the balance based on any difference
between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would
have paid.

PLAN D

MEDICARE (PART B) — MEDICAL SERVICES — PER
CALENDAR YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved
amounts for covered services (which are noted with an
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the
calendar year.

HOSPITALIZATION* Semiprivate
room and board, general nursing and
miscel-laneous service and supplies
First 60 days
61st thru 90th day
91st day and after:
- While using 60 lifetime 
  reserve days
- Once lifetime reserve days are used:
  - Additional 365 days

  - Beyond the Additional 365 
    days

All but $[764]
All but $[191] a day

All but $[382] a day

$0

$0

$[764] (Part A
Deductible)
$[191] a day

$[382] a day

100% of Medicare
Eligible Expenses

$0

$0
$0

$0

$0**

All Costs

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY
CARE*
You must meet Medicare's
requirements, including having been in
a hospital for at least 3 days and entered
a Medicare-approved facility within 30
days after leaving the hospital
- First 20 days
- 21st thru 100th day
- 101st day and after

All approved amounts
All but $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
Up to $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
$0
All costs

BLOOD
First 3 pints
Additional amounts

$0
100%

3 pints
$0

$0
$0

HOSPICE CARE
Available as long as your doctor
certifies you are terminally ill and you
elect to receive these services

All but very limited coinsurance for
out-patient drugs and in-patient
respite care

$0 Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1475

PARTS A & B

MEDICAL EXPENSES — IN OR
OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND OUT-
PATIENT TREATMENT, such as
Physician's services, inpatient and
outpatient medical and surgical services
and supplies, physical and speech
therapy, diagnostic tests, durable
medical equipment,
- First 100 days of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts
- Part B Excess Charges 
  (Above Medicare Approved 
  Amounts)

$0

Generally 80%

$0

$0

Generally 20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

All Costs

BLOOD
- First 3 pints
- Next $100 of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts

$0

$0

80%

All Costs

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

CLINICAL LABORATORY
SERVICES — BLOOD TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES

100% $0 $0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE
MEDICARE APPROVED
SERVICES
— Medically necessary
skilled
     care services and
medical 
     supplies
— Durable medical
equipment 
     - First $100 of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts*
     - Remainder of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B
Deductible)

$0
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OTHER BENEFITS — NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

PLAN E

MEDICARE (PART A) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.

AT-HOME RECOVERY
SERVICES — NOT
COVERED BY
MEDICARE Home care
certified by your doctors,
for personal care during
recovery from an injury or
sickness for which
Medicare approved a Home
Care Treatment Plan
— Benefit for each visit

— Number of visits
covered 
     (must be received within
8 
     weeks of last Medicare 
     Approved visit)
— Calendar year maximum

$0

$0

$0

Actual
Charges to $40
a visit

Up to the
number of
Medicare
Approved
visits, not to
exceed 7 each
week

$1,600

Balance

FOREIGN TRAVEL — NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emergency care
services beginning during the first 60
days of each trip outside the USA
- First $250 each calendar year

- Remainder of Charges

$0

$0

$0

80% to a lifetime
maximum benefit of
$50,000

$250

20% and amounts over the
$50,000 lifetime maximum

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY
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**NOTICE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits
are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare
and will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for
up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s
“Core Benefits.”  During this time the hospital is prohibited
from billing you for the balance based on any difference
between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would
have paid.

PLAN E

MEDICARE (PART B) — MEDICAL SERVICES — PER
CALENDAR YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare Approved
Amounts for covered services (which are noted with an
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the
calendar year.

HOSPITALIZATION* Semiprivate
room and board, general nursing and
miscel-laneous service and supplies
First 60 days
61st thru 90th day
91st day and after:
- While using 60 lifetime 
  reserve days
- Once lifetime reserve days 
  are used:
  - Additional 365 days

  - Beyond the Additional 365 
    days

All but $[764
All but $[191] a day

All but $[382] a day

$0

$0

$[764] (Part A
Deductible)
$[191] a day

$[382] a day

100% of Medicare
Eligible Expenses
$0

$0
$0

$0

$0**

All Costs

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY
CARE*
You must meet Medicare's
requirements, including having been in
a hospital for at least 3 days and entered
a Medicare-approved facility within 30
days after leaving the hospital
- First 20 days
- 21st thru 100th day
- 101st day and after

All approved amounts
All but $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
Up to $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
$0
All costs

BLOOD
First 3 pints
Additional amounts

$0
100%

3 pints
$0

$0
$0

HOSPICE CARE
Available as long as your doctor
certifies you are terminally ill and you
elect to receive these services

All but very limited coinsur-ance
for out-patient drugs and in-patient
respite care

$0 Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY
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PARTS A & B

(continued)

PLAN E (continued)

OTHER BENEFITS — NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

MEDICAL EXPENSES — IN OR
OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND OUT-
PATIENT TREATMENT, such as
Physician's services, inpatient and
outpatient medical and surgical services
and supplies, physical and speech
therapy, diagnostic tests, durable
medical equipment,
- First 100 days of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts
- Part B Excess Charges 
  (Above Medicare Approved 
  Amounts)

$0

Generally 80%

$0

$0

Generally 20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

All Costs

BLOOD
- First 3 pints
- Next $100 of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts

$0

$0

80%

All Costs

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

CLINICAL LABORATORY
SERVICES — BLOOD TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES

100% $0 $0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE
APPROVED SERVICES

— Medically necessary skilled 

     care services and medical 
     supplies

— Durable medical equipment

     - First $100 of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts*
     - Remainder of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY
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*Medicare benefits are subject to change.  Please consult the
latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare.

PLAN F or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN F

MEDICARE (PART A) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.
**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same
benefits as Plan F after one has paid a calendar year [$1500]
deductible.  Benefits from the high deductible plan F will not

begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$1500].  Out-of-
pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would
ordinarily be paid by the policy.  This includes the Medicare
deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the
plan’s separate foreign travel emergency deductible.

FOREIGN TRAVEL —
NOT COVERED BY
MEDICARE
Medically necessary emer-
gency care services
beginning during the first
60 days of each trip outside
the USA
- First $250 each calendar
year
- Remainder of Charges

$0
$0

$0
80% to a
lifetime
maximum
benefit of
$50,000

$250
20% and amounts
over the $50,000
lifetime maximum

*PREVENTIVE
MEDICAL CARE
BENEFIT — NOT
COVERED BY
MEDICARE ASome
annual physical and
preventive tests and
services such as:  fecal
occult blood test,  digital
rectal exam, mammogram,
hearing screening, dipstick
urinalysis, diabetes
screening, thyroid function
test, influenza shot, tetanus
and diphtheria booster and
education, administered or
ordered by your doctor
when not covered by
Medicare
- First $120 each calendar
year
- Additional charges

$0
$0

$120
$0

$0
All Costs
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**NOTICE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits
are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare
and will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for
up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s
“Core Benefits.”  During this time the hospital is prohibited
from billing you for the balance based on any difference
between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would
have paid.

PLAN F or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN F

MEDICARE (PART B) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.
**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same
benefits as Plan F after one has paid a calendar year [$1500]
deductible.  Benefits from the high deductible plan F will not
begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$1500].  Out-of-
pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would
ordinarily be paid by the policy.  This includes the Medicare
deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the
plan’s separate foreign travel emergency deductible.

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY
$1500
DEDUCTIBLE,**
PLAN PAYS

IN ADDITION TO $1500
DEDUCTIBLE,** YOU PAY

HOSPITALIZATION* Semiprivate
room and board, general nursing and
miscel-laneous service and supplies
First 60 days
61st thru 90th day
91st day and after:
- While using 60 lifetime 
  reserve days
- Once lifetime reserve days 
  are used:
  - Additional 365 days

  - Beyond the Additional 365 
    days

All but $[764]
All but $[191] a day

All but $[382] a day

$0

$0

$[764] (Part A
Deductible)
$[191] a day

$[382] a day

100% of Medicare
Eligible Expenses
$0

$0
$0

$0

$0**

All Costs

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY
CARE*
You must meet Medicare's
requirements, including having been in
a hospital for at least 3 days and
entered a Medicare-approved facility
within 30 days after leaving the
hospital
- First 20 days
- 21st thru 100th day
- 101st day and after

All approved amounts
All but $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
Up to $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
$0
All costs

BLOOD
First 3 pints
Additional amounts

$0
100%

3 pints
$0

$0
$0

HOSPICE CARE
Available as long as your doctor
certifies you are terminally ill and you
elect to receive these services

All but very limited coinsur-ance for
out-patient drugs and in-patient
respite care

$0 Balance
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(continued)

PLAN F or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN F (cont.)

PARTS A & B

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY
$1500
DEDUCTIBLE,**
PLAN PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY $1500
DEDUCTIBLE,** YOU PAY

MEDICAL EXPENSES — IN OR
OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND OUT-
PATIENT TREATMENT, such as
Physician's services, inpatient and
outpatient medical and surgical
services and supplies, physical and
speech therapy, diagnostic tests,
durable medical equipment,
- First 100 days of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts
- Part B Excess Charges 
  (Above Medicare Approved 
  Amounts)

$0

Generally 80%

$0

$100 (Part B
Deductible)

Generally 20%

100%

$0

$0

$0

BLOOD
- First 3 pints
- Next $100 of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts

$0

$0

80%

All Costs

$100 (Part B
Deductible)

20%

$0

$0

$0

CLINICAL LABORATORY
SERVICES — BLOOD TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES

100% $0 $0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY
$1500
DEDUCTIBLE,**
PLAN PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY $1500
DEDUCTIBLE,** YOU PAY
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OTHER BENEFITS — NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

PLAN G

MEDICARE (PART A) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE
APPROVED SERVICES

— Medically necessary skilled 

     care services and medical 
     supplies

— Durable medical equipment

     - First $100 of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts*
     - Remainder of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$100 (Part B
Deductible)

20%

$0

$0

$0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY
$1500
DEDUCTIBLE,**
PLAN PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY $1500
DEDUCTIBLE,** YOU PAY

FOREIGN TRAVEL — NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emer-gency care
services beginning during the first 60
days of each trip outside the USA
- First $250 each calendar year

- Remainder of Charges

$0

$0

$0

80% to a lifetime
maximum benefit of
$50,000

$250

20% and amounts over the
$50,000 lifetime maximum

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOSPITALIZATION* Semiprivate
room and board, general nursing and
miscel-laneous service and supplies
First 60 days
61st thru 90th day
91st day and after:
- While using 60 lifetime 
  reserve days
- Once lifetime reserve days 
  are used:
  - Additional 365 days

  - Beyond the Additional 365 
    days

All but $[764]
All but $[191] a day

All but $[382] a day

$0

$0

$[764] (Part A
Deductible)
$[191] a day

$[382] a day

100% of Medicare
Eligible Expenses
$0

$0
$0

$0

$0**

All Costs
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**NOTICE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits
are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare
and will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for
up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s
“Core Benefits.”  During this time the hospital is prohibited
from billing you for the balance based on any difference
between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would
have paid.

PLAN G

MEDICARE (PART B) — MEDICAL SERVICES — PER
CALENDAR YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare Approved
Amounts for covered services (which are noted with an
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the
calendar year.

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY
CARE*
You must meet Medicare's
requirements, including having been in
a hospital for at least 3 days and
entered a Medicare-approved facility
within 30 days after leaving the
hospital
- First 20 days
- 21st thru 100th day
- 101st day and after

All approved amounts
All but $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
Up to $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
$0
All costs

BLOOD
First 3 pints
Additional amounts

$0
100%

3 pints
$0

$0
$0

HOSPICE CARE
Available as long as your doctor
certifies you are terminally ill and you
elect to receive these services

All but very limited coinsur-ance for
out-patient drugs and in-patient
respite care

$0 Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

MEDICAL EXPENSES — IN OR
OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND OUT-
PATIENT TREATMENT, such as
Physician's services, inpatient and
outpatient medical and surgical
services and supplies, physical and
speech therapy, diagnostic tests,
durable medical equipment,
- First 100 days of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts
- Part B Excess Charges 
  (Above Medicare Approved 
  Amounts)

$0

Generally 80%

$0

$0

Generally 20%

80%

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

20%
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(continued)

PLAN G (continued)

PARTS A & B

OTHER BENEFITS — NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

BLOOD
- First 3 pints
- Next $100 of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts

$0

$0

80%

All Costs

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

CLINICAL LABORATORY
SERVICES — BLOOD TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES

100% $0 $0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE
APPROVED SERVICES

— Medically necessary skilled 

     care services and medical 
     supplies

— Durable medical equipment

     - First $100 of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts*
     - Remainder of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

AT-HOME RECOVERY SERVICES
— NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE
Home care certified by your doctors,
for personal care during recovery from
an injury or sickness for which
Medicare approved a Home Care
Treatment Plan

— Benefit for each visit

— Number of visits covered 

     (must be received within 8 
     weeks of last Medicare 
     Approved visit)

— Calendar year maximum

$0

$0

$0

Actual Charges to
$40 a visit

Up to the number of
Medicare Approved
visits, not to exceed
7 each week

$1,600

Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY
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PLAN H

MEDICARE (PART A) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.

**NOTICE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits

FOREIGN TRAVEL — NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emer-gency care
services beginning during the first 60
days of each trip outside the USA
- First $250 each calendar year

- Remainder of Charges

$0

$0

$0

80% to a lifetime
maximum benefit of
$50,000

$250

20% and amounts over the
$50,000 lifetime maximum

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOSPITALIZATION* Semiprivate
room and board, general nursing and
miscel-laneous service and supplies
First 60 days
61st thru 90th day
91st day and after:
- While using 60 lifetime 
  reserve days
- Once lifetime reserve days 
  are used:
  - Additional 365 days

  - Beyond the Additional 365 
    days

All but $[764]
All but $[191] a day

All but $[382] a day

$0

$0

$[764] (Part A
Deductible)
$[191] a day

$[382] a day

100% of Medicare
Eligible Expenses
$0

$0
$0

$0

$0**

All Costs

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY
CARE*
You must meet Medicare's
requirements, including having been in
a hospital for at least 3 days and
entered a Medicare-approved facility
within 30 days after leaving the
hospital
- First 20 days
- 21st thru 100th day
- 101st day and after

All approved amounts
All but $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
Up to $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
$0
All costs

BLOOD
First 3 pints
Additional amounts

$0
100%

3 pints
$0

$0
$0

HOSPICE CARE
Available as long as your doctor
certifies you are terminally ill and you
elect to receive these services

All but very limited coinsur-ance for
out-patient drugs and in-patient
respite care

$0 Balance



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1486

are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare
and will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for
up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s
“Core Benefits.”  During this time the hospital is prohibited
from billing you for the balance based on any difference
between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would
have paid.

PLAN H

MEDICARE (PART B) — MEDICAL SERVICES — PER
CALENDAR YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare Approved
Amounts for covered services (which are noted with an
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the
calendar year.

PARTS A & B

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

MEDICAL EXPENSES — IN OR
OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND
OUTPATIENT TREAT-MENT, such
as Physician's services, inpatient and
outpatient medical and surgical
services and supplies, physical and
speech therapy, diagnostic tests,
durable medical equipment,
- First 100 days of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts
- Part B Excess Charges 
  (Above Medicare Approved 
  Amounts)

$0

Generally 80%

$0

$0

Generally 20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

All Costs

BLOOD
- First 3 pints
- Next $100 of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts

$0

$0

80%

All Costs

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

CLINICAL LABORATORY
SERVICES — BLOOD TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES

100% $0 $0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY
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(continued)

PLAN H (continued)

OTHER BENEFITS — NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

PLAN I

MEDICARE (PART A) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE
APPROVED SERVICES

— Medically necessary skilled 

     care services and medical 
     supplies

— Durable medical equipment

     - First $100 of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts*
     - Remainder of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

FOREIGN TRAVEL — NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emer-gency care
services beginning during the first 60
days of each trip outside the USA
- First $250 each calendar year

- Remainder of Charges

$0

$0

$0

80% to a lifetime
maximum benefit of
$50,000

$250

20% and amounts over the
$50,000 lifetime maximum

BASIC OUTPATIENT PRE-
SCRIPTION DRUGS — NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE
- First $250 each calendar year
- Next $2,500 each calendar 
  year
- Over $2,500 each calendar 
  year

$0
$0

$0

$0
50% — $1,250
calendar year
maximum benefit
$0

$250
50%

All Costs

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY
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**NOTICE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits
are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare
and will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for
up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s
“Core Benefits.”  During this time the hospital is prohibited
from billing you for the balance based on any difference
between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would
have paid.

PLAN I

MEDICARE (PART B) — MEDICAL SERVICES — PER
CALENDAR YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved
Amounts for covered services (which are noted with an
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the
calendar year.

HOSPITALIZATION* Semiprivate
room and board, general nursing and
miscellaneous service and supplies
First 60 days
61st thru 90th day
91st day and after:
- While using 60 lifetime 
  reserve days
- Once lifetime reserve days are used:
  - Additional 365 days

  - Beyond the Additional 365 
    days

All but $[764]
All but $[191] a day

All but $[382] a day

$0

$0

$[764] (Part A
Deductible)
$[191] a day

$[382] a day

100% of Medicare
Eligible Expenses

$0

$0
$0

$0

$0**

All Costs

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY
CARE*
You must meet Medicare's
requirements, including having been in
a hospital for at least 3 days and
entered a Medicare-approved facility
within 30 days after leaving the
hospital
- First 20 days
- 21st thru 100th day
- 101st day and after

All approved amounts
All but $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
Up to $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
$0
All costs

BLOOD
First 3 pints
Additional amounts

$0
100%

3 pints
$0

$0
$0

HOSPICE CARE
Available as long as your doctor
certifies you are terminally ill and you
elect to receive these services

All but very limited coinsurance for
out- patient drugs and in- patient
respite care

$0 Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY
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(continued)

PLAN I (continued)

PARTS A & B

MEDICAL EXPENSES — IN OR
OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND
OUT-PATIENT TREATMENT, such
as Physician's services, in-patient and
out-patient medical and surgical
services and supplies, physical and
speech therapy, diagnostic tests,
durable medical equipment,
- First 100 days of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts
- Part B Excess Charges 
  (Above Medicare Approved 
  Amounts)

$0

Generally 80%

$0

$0

Generally 20%

100%

$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

$0

BLOOD
- First 3 pints
- Next $100 of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts

$0
$0

80%

All Costs
$0

20%

$0
$100 (Part B Deductible)

$0

CLINICAL LABORATORY
SERVICES — BLOOD TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES

100% $0 $0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE
MEDICARE
APPROVED SERVICES
— Medically necessary
skilled care services and
medical supplies
— Durable medical
equipment
     - First $100 of
Medicare 
       Approved Amounts*
     - Remainder of
Medicare 
       Approved Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B
Deductible)

$0
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OTHER BENEFITS — NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

PLAN J or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN J

MEDICARE (PART A) — HOSPITAL SERVICES — PER
BENEFIT PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service
as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out
of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other
facility for 60 days in a row.

**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same
benefits as Plan J after one has paid a calendar year [$1500]
deductible.  Benefits from high deductible plan J will not
begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$1500].  Out-of-
pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would
ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare
deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the
plan’s separate prescription drug deductible or the plan’s
separate foreign travel emergency deductible.

AT-HOME RECOVERY SERVICES
— NOT COVERED BY
MEDICARE
Home care certified by your doctors,
for personal care during recovery
from an injury or sickness for which
Medicare approved a Home Care
Treatment Plan
— Benefit for each visit

— Number of visits covered 
     (must be received within 8 
     weeks of last Medicare 
     Approved visit)

— Calendar year maximum

$0

$0

$0

Actual Charges to
$40 a visit

Up to the number of
Medicare Approved
visits, not to exceed
7 each week

$1,600

Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY

FOREIGN TRAVEL — NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emer-gency care
services beginning during the first 60
days of each trip outside the USA
- First $250 each calendar year
- Remainder of Charges* $0

$0
$0
80% to a lifetime
maximum benefit of
$50,000

$250
20% and amounts over the
$50,000 lifetime maximum

BASIC OUTPATIENT PRE-
SCRIPTION DRUGS — NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE
- First $250 each calendar year
- Next $2,500 each calendar 
  year
- Over $2,500 each calendar 
  year

$0
$0

$0

$0
50% — $1,250
calendar year
maximum benefit
$0

$250
50%

All Costs

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY
$1500
DEDUCTIBLE,**
PLAN PAYS

IN ADDITION TO $1500
DEDUCTIBLE,** YOU PAY
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**NOTICE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits
are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare
and will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for
up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s
“Core Benefits.”  During this time the hospital is prohibited
from billing you for the balance based on any difference
between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would
have paid.

PLAN J

MEDICARE (PART B) — MEDICAL SERVICES — PER
CALENDAR YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved
Amounts for covered services (which are noted with an
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the
calendar year.

HOSPITALIZATION*
Semiprivate room and board, general
nursing and miscellaneous service
and supplies
First 60 days
61st thru 90th day
91st day and after:
- While using 60 lifetime 
  reserve days
- Once lifetime reserve days are used:
  - Additional 365 days

  - Beyond the Additional 365 
    days

All but $[764]
All but $[191] a day

All but $[382] a day

$0

$0

$[764] (Part A
Deductible)
$[191] a day

$[382] a day

100% of Medicare
Eligible Expenses

$0

$0
$0

$0

$0**

All Costs

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY
CARE*
You must meet Medicare's
requirements, including having been
in a hospital for at least 3 days and
entered a Medicare-approved facility
within 30 days after leaving the
hospital
- First 20 days
- 21st thru 100th day
- 101st day and after

All approved amounts
All but $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
Up to $[95.50] a day
$0

$0
$0
All costs

BLOOD
First 3 pints
Additional amounts

$0
100%

3 pints
$0

$0
$0

HOSPICE CARE
Available as long as your doctor
certifies you are terminally ill and
you elect to receive these services

All but very limited coinsurance for
out-patient drugs and in-patient
respite care

$0 Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY
$1500
DEDUCTIBLE,**
PLAN PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY $1500
DEDUCTIBLE,** YOU PAY
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(continued)

PLAN J or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN J (cont.)

PARTS A & B

MEDICAL EXPENSES — IN OR
OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND
OUT-PATIENT TREATMENT, such
as Physician's services, inpatient and
outpatient medical and surgical
services and supplies, physical and
speech therapy, diagnostic tests,
durable medical equipment,
- First 100 days of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts
- Part B Excess Charges 
  (Above Medicare Approved 
  Amounts)

$0

Generally 80%

$0

$100 (Part B
Deductible)

Generally 20%

100%

$0

$0

$0

BLOOD
- First 3 pints
- Next $100 of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts*
- Remainder of Medicare 
  Approved Amounts

$0
$0

80%

All Costs
$100 (Part B
Deductible)

20%

$0
$0

$0

CLINICAL LABORATORY
SERVICES — BLOOD TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES

100% $0 $0

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY
$1500
DEDUCTIBLE,**
PLAN PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY $1500
DEDUCTIBLE,** YOU PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE
MEDICARE APPROVED
SERVICES

— Medically necessary skilled care

services and medical supplies

— Durable medical equipment

     - First $100 of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts*
     - Remainder of Medicare 
       Approved Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$100 (Part B
Deductible)

20%

$0

$0

$0
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(continued)

PLAN J or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN J (cont.)

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

AT-HOME RECOVERY SERVICES
— NOT COVERED BY
MEDICARE Home care certified by
your doctors, for personal care during
recovery from an injury or sickness
for which Medicare approved a Home
Care Treatment Plan

— Benefit for each visit

— Number of visits covered 

     (must be received within 8 
     weeks of last Medicare 
     Approved visit)

— Calendar year maximum

$0

$0

$0

Actual Charges to $40
a visit

Up to the number of
Medicare Approved
visits, not to exceed7
each week

$1,600

Balance

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY
$1500
DEDUCTIBLE,**
PLAN PAYS

AFTER YOU PAY $1500
DEDUCTIBLE,** YOU PAY

FOREIGN TRAVEL — NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emer-gency care
services beginning during the first 60
days of each trip outside the USA
- First $250 each calendar year
- Remainder of Charges $0

$0
$0
80% to a lifetime
maximum benefit of
$50,000

$250
20% and amounts over the
$50,000 lifetime maximum

EXTENDED OUTPATIENT
PRESCRIPTION DRUGS — NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE
- First $250 each calendar year
- Next $6,000 each calendar 
  year
- Over $6,000 each calendar 
  year

$0
$0

$0

$0
50% — $3,000
calendar year
maximum benefit
$0

$250
50%

All Costs

***PREVENTIVE MEDI-CAL
CARE BENEFIT — NOT COVERED
BY MEDICARE
ASome annual physical and
preventive tests and services such as:
fecal occult blood test,  digital rectal
exam, mammogram, hearing
screening, dipstick urinalysis, diabetes
screening, thyroid function test,
influenza shot, tetanus and diphtheria
booster and education, administered or
ordered by your doctor when not
covered by Medicare
- First $120 each calendar year
- Additional charges $0

$0
$120
$0

$0
All Costs
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***Medicare benefits are subject to change.  Please consult
the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare.

[Drafting Note:  The term "certificate" should be substituted
for the word "policy" throughout the outline of coverage
where appropriate.]

D. Notice Regarding Policies or Certificates Which are
Not Medicare Supplement Policies.

(1) Any accident and sickness insurance policy or
certificate, other than a Medicare supplement policy, or a
policy issued pursuant to a contract under Section 1876 of
the Federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. § 1395 et seq.),
disability income policy; basic, catastrophic, or major
medical expense policy; single premium nonrenewable
policy or other policy identified in Section 3B of this
regulation, issued for delivery in this State to persons
eligible for Medicare by reason of age shall notify insureds
under the policy that the policy is not a Medicare supplement
policy or certificate.  The notice shall either be printed or
attached to the first page of the outline of coverage delivered
to insureds under the policy, or if no outline of coverage is
delivered, to the first page of the policy or certificate
delivered to insureds.  The notice shall be in no less than
twelve (12) point type and shall contain the following
language:

"THIS [POLICY OR CERTIFICATE] IS NOT A
MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT [POLICY OR CONTRACT].
If you are eligible for Medicare, review the "Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare" available from the
company."

(2) Applications provided to persons eligible for
Medicare for the health insurance policies or certificates
described in Subsection D(1) shall disclose, using the
applicable statement in Appendix C, the extent to which the
policy duplicates Medicare.  The disclosure statement shall
be provided as a part of, or together with, the application for
the policy or certificate.

Cross-reference to Section 16:  See Appendix C, page ____.

Section 187.Requirements for Application Forms and
Replacement Coverage

A. Application forms shall include the following
questions designed to elicit information as to whether, as of
the date of the application, the applicant has another
Medicare supplement or other health insurance policy or
certificate in force or whether a Medicare supplement policy
or certificate is intended to replace any other accident and
sickness or certificate is intended to replace any other
accident and sickness policy or certificate presently in force.
A supplementary application or other form to be signed by
the applicant and agent containing such questions and

statements may be used.

[Statements]
(1) You do not need more than one Medicare

supplement policy.
(2) If you purchase this policy, you may want to

evaluate your existing health coverage and decide if you
need multiple coverages.

(3) You may be eligible for benefits under
Medicaid and may not need a Medicare supplement policy.

(4) The benefits and premiums under your
Medicare supplement policy can be suspended, if requested,
during your entitlement to benefits under Medicaid for 24
months.  You must request this suspension within 90 days of
becoming eligible for Medicaid.  If you are no longer
entitled to Medicaid, your policy will be reinstituted if
requested within 90 days of losing Medicaid eligibility.

(5) Counseling services are available in your state
to provide advice concerning your purchase of Medicare
supplement insurance and concerning medical assistance
through the state Medicaid program, including benefits as a
Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) and a Specified
Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB).

[Questions]

To the best of your knowledge.
(1) Do you have another Medicare supplement

policy or certificate in force (including health care service
contract, health maintenance organization contract)?

(a) If so, with which company?
(b) If so, do you intend to replace your current

Medicare supplement policy with this policy [certificate]?
(2) Do you have any other health insurance

coverage that provides benefits similar to this Medicare
supplement policy?

(a) If so, with which company?
(b) What kind of policy?

(3) Are you covered for medical assistance
through the State Medicaid program:

(a) As a Specified Low-Income Medicare
Beneficiary (SLMB)?

(b) As a Qualified Medicare Beneficiary
(QMB)?

(c) For Other Medicaid medical benefits?
B. Agents shall list any other health policies they have

sold to the applicant.
(1) list policies sold which are still in force.
(2) List policies sold in the past five (5) years

which are no longer in force.
C. In the case of a direct response issuer, a copy of the

application or supplemental form, signed by the applicant,
and acknowledged by the insurer, shall be returned to the
applicant by the insurer upon delivery of the policy.
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D. Upon determining that a sale will involve
replacement of Medicare supplement coverage, any issuer,
other than a direct response insurer, or its agent, shall furnish
the applicant, prior to issuance or delivery of the Medicare
supplement policy or certificate, a notice regarding
replacement of accident and sickness coverage.  One copy of
such notice signed by the applicant and the agent, except
where the coverage is sold without an agent, shall be
provided to the applicant and an additional signed copy shall
be retained by the insurer.  A direct response issuer shall
deliver to the applicant at the time of the issuance of the
policy the notice regarding replacement of accident and
sickness coverage.

E. The notice required by Subsection D above for an
issuer shall be provided in substantially the following form
in no less than twelve (12) point type.

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING
REPLACEMENT OF MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT
INSURANCE

[Insurance company's name and address]

SAVE THIS NOTICE!  IT MAY BE IMPORTANT TO
YOU IN THE FUTURE

According to [your application] [information you have
furnished], you intend to terminate existing Medicare
supplement insurance and replace it with a policy to be
issued by [Company Name] Insurance Company.  Your new
policy will provide thirty (30) days within which you may
decide without cost whether you desire to keep the policy.

You should review this new coverage carefully.  Compare it
with all accident and sickness coverage you now have.  If,
after due consideration, you find that purchase of this
Medicare supplement coverage is a wise decision, you
should terminate your present Medicare supplement
coverage.  You should evaluate the need for other accident
and sickness coverage you have that may duplicate this
policy.

STATEMENT TO APPLICANT BY ISSUER, AGENT
[BROKER OR OTHER REPRESENTATIVE]:

I have reviewed your current medical or health insurance
coverage.  To the best of my knowledge, this Medicare
supplement policy will not duplicate your existing Medicare
coverage because you intend to terminate your existing
Medicare supplement coverage.  The replacement policy is
being purchased for the following reason(s) (check one):

________Additional benefits.
________No change in benefits, but lower premiums.

________Fewer benefits and lower premiums.
________Other.

____________________________________________

____________________________________________

1. Health conditions which you may presently have
(preexisting conditions) may not be immediately or fully
covered under the new policy.  This could result in denial or
delay of a claim for benefits under the new policy, whereas a
similar claim might have been payable under your present
policy. 

2. State law provides that your replacement policy or
certificate may not contain new preexisting conditions,
waiting period, elimination periods or probationary periods.  

3. If you still wish to terminate your present policy
and replace it with new coverage, be certain to truthfully and
completely answer all questions on the application
concerning your medical and health history. Failure to
include all material medical information on an application
may provide a basis for the company to deny any future
claims and to refund your premium as though your policy
had never been in force.  After the application has been
completed and before you sign it, review it carefully to be
certain that all information has been properly recorded.  [If
the policy or certificate is guaranteed issue, this paragraph
need not appear.]

Do not cancel your present policy until you have received
you new policy and are sure that your want to keep it.

________________________________________________
(Signature of Agent, Broker or Other Representative)

[Typed Name and Address of Issuer, Agent or Broker]

________________________________________________
(Applicant's Signature)

___________________________________
(Date)

*Signature not required for direct response sales.

F. Paragraphs 1 and 2 of the replacement notice
(applicable to preexisting conditions) may be deleted by an
issuer if the replacement does not involve application of a
new preexisting condition limitation.

Section 198.Filing Requirements for Advertising

An issuer shall provide a copy of any Medicare supplement
advertisement intended for use in this State whether through
written, radio or television medium to the Commissioner of
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Insurance of this State for review or approval by the
Commissioner to the extent it may be required under state
law.  

Section 2019.Standards for Marketing
A. An issuer directly or through its producers, shall:

(1) Establish marketing procedures to assure that
any comparison of policies by its agents or other producers
will be fair and accurate.

(2) Establish marketing procedures to assure
excessive insurance is not sold or issued.

(3) Display prominently by type or other
appropriate means, on the first page of the policy the
following:

"Notice to buyer:  This policy may not cover all of your
medical expenses."

(4) Inquire and otherwise make every reasonable
effort to identify whether a prospective applicant or enrollee
for Medicare supplement insurance already has accident and
sickness insurance and the types and amounts of any such
insurance.  

(5) Establish auditable procedures for verifying
compliance with this Subsection A.

B. In addition to the practices prohibited in [insert
citation to state unfair trade practices act], the following acts
and practices are prohibited:

(1) Twisting.  Knowingly making any misleading
representation or incomplete or fraudulent comparison of
any insurance policies or insurers for the purpose of
including, or tending to induce, any person to lapse, forfeit,
surrender, terminate, retain, pledge, assign, borrow on, or
convert any insurance policy or to take out a policy of
insurance with another insurer.

(2) High pressure tactics.  Employing any method
of marketing having the effect of or tending to induce the
purchase of insurance through force, fright, threat, whether
explicit or implied, or undue pressure to purchase or
recommend the purchase of insurance.  

(3) Cold lead advertising.  Making use directly or
indirectly of any method of marketing which fails to disclose
in a conspicuous manner that a purpose of the method of
marketing is solicitation of insurance and that contact will be
made by an insurance agent or insurance company.

C. The terms "Medicare Supplement," "Medigap,"
"Medicare Wraparound" and words of similar import shall
not be used unless the policy is issued in compliance with
this regulation.

Section 210.Appropriateness of Recommended Purchase
and Excessive Insurance

A. In recommending the purchase or replacement of
any Medicare supplement policy or certificate an agent shall
make reasonable efforts to determine the appropriateness of

a recommended purchase or replacement.
B. Any sale of Medicare supplement coverage that

will provide an individual more than one Medicare
supplement policy or certificate is prohibited.
Section 221.Reporting of Multiple Policies

A. On or before March 1 of each year, an issuer shall
report the following information for every individual
resident of this State for which the issuer has in force more
than one Medicare supplement policy or certificate:

1. Policy and certificate number; and
2. Date of issuance.

B. The items set forth above must be grouped by
individual policyholder.

Section 232.Prohibition Against Preexisting Conditions,
Waiting Periods, Elimination Periods and Probationary
Periods in Replacement Policies or Certificates

A. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate
replaces another Medicare supplement policy or certificate,
the replacing issuer shall waive any time periods applicable
to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination
periods and probationary periods in the new Medicare
supplement policy or certificate to the extent such time was
spent under the original policy.

B. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate
replaces another Medicare supplement policy or certificate
which has been in effect for at least six (6) months, the
replacing policy shall not provide any time period applicable
to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination
periods and probationary periods.

Section 243.Separability

If any provision of this regulation or the application thereof
to any person or circumstances is for any reason held to be
invalid, the remainder of the regulation and the application
of such provision to other persons or circumstances shall not
be affected thereby.  

Section 254.Effective Date

This Regulation shall be effective on January 1, 1992.  
David N. Levinson

November 8, 1991

APPENDIX A

MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT REFUND CALCULATION
FORM 
FOR CALENDAR YEAR _________________________

TYPE1____________________________

SMSBP2_________________________________________
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FOR THE STATE OF ________________COMPANY
NAME   ______________________________
NAIC Group Code ___________________NAIC Company
Code ______________________________
PERSON COMPLETING THIS EXHIBIT
_______________________________________________
Title ______________________________Telephone
Number _________________________________

(a) (b)
Earned Incurred

Premium3Claims4

Line
1. Current Year's Experience
a. Total (all policy years)
b. Current year's issues (%)
c. Net (for reporting purposes = 1a - 1b)______________
______________

2. Past Years' Experience (All Policy Years)
____________________________

3. Total Experience
(Net Current Year + Past Years' Experience)

____________________________

4. Refunds Last Year (Excluding Interest) 
____________________________

5. Previous Since Inception (Excluding Interest) 
____________________________

6. Refunds Since Inception (Excluding Interest) 
____________________________

7. Benchmark Ratio Since Inception
(SEE WORKSHEET FOR RATIO 1) ______________

8. Experienced Ratio Since Inception______________

Total Actual Incurred Claims (Line 3, Col. b) = Ratio 2
____________________________________________

Tot. Earned Prem. (Line 3, Col. a — Refunds Since
Inception (line 6)

9. Life Years Exposed Since Inception
________________________

If the Experienced Ratio is less than the Benchmark Ratio,
and there are more than 500 life years exposure, then
proceed to calculation of refund.

APPENDIX A

MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT REFUND CALCULATION
FORM 
FOR CALENDAR YEAR _________________________

TYPE1____________________________

SMSBP2_________________________________________
FOR THE STATE OF ________________COMPANY
NAME   ______________________________
NAIC Group Code ___________________NAIC Company
Code ______________________________
PERSON COMPLETING THIS EXHIBIT
________________________________________________
Title ______________________________Telephone
Number _________________________________

10. Tolerance Permitted (obtained from credibility table)
________________________

11. Adjustment to Incurred Claim for Credibility
______________________
Ratio 3 = Ratio 2 + Tolerance

If Ratio 3 is more than benchmark ratio (ratio 1), a refund or
credit to premium is not required.

12. Adjusted Incurred Claims =
___________________________
(Tot. Earned Premiums (line 3, col. a) — Refunds Since
Inception (line 6) x Ratio 3 (line 11)

13. Refund = Total Earned Premium (line 3, col. a) —
Refunds Since Inception (line 6) —
Adjusted Incurred Claims (line 12)
Benchmark Ratio (Ratio 1)

____________________________

If the amount on line 13 is less than .005 times the
annualized premium in force as of December 31 of the
reporting year, then no refund is made.  Otherwise, the
amount on line 13 is to be refunded or credited, and a
description of the refund and/or credit against premiums to
be used must be attached to this form.

MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT CREDIBILITY TABLE

Life Years Exposed Since InceptionTolerance

10,000+0.0%
5,000 - 9,9995.0%
2,500 - 4,9997.5%
1,000 - 2,49910.0%
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500 - 99915.0%

If less than 500, no credibility.

1Individual, group, individual Medicare Select, or group
Medicare “Select only
2"SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit
Plan
3Includes model Loadings and fees charged.
4Excludes Active Life Reserves.
5This is to be used as "Issue Year Earned Premium" for Year
1 of next year's "Worksheet for Calculation of Benchmark
Ratios".

I certify that the above information and calculations are true
and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief.

___________________________________________
Signature

___________________________________________
Name — Please Type

___________________________________________

Title

___________________________________________
Date

APPENDIX A
REPORTING FORM FOR THE CALCULATION OF
BENCHMARK RATIO SINCE INCEPTION 
FOR INDIVIDUAL POLICIES FOR CALENDAR YEAR
__________________

TYPE1____________________________

SMSBP2_________________________________________
FOR THE STATE OF ________________COMPANY
NAME   ______________________________
NAIC Group Code ___________________NAIC Company
Code ______________________________
PERSON COMPLETING THIS EXHIBIT
________________________________________________
Title ______________________________Telephone
Number _________________________________

(a)3 (b)4 (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (j) (o)5

Year Earned
Premium

Factor (b) x
(c)

Cumula-
tive Loss
Ratio

(d) x (e) Factor (b) x (g) Cumula
-tive
Loss
Ratio

(h) x (i) Policy
Year Loss
Ratio

1 2.770 0.442 0.000 0.000 0.4

2 4.175 0.493 0.000 0.000 0.55

3 4.175 0.493 1.194 0.659 0.65

4 4.175 0.493 2.245 0.669 0.67

5 4.175 0.493 3.170 0.678 0.69

6 4.175 0.493 3.998 0.686 0.71

7 4.175 0.493 4.754 0.695 0.73

8 4.175 0.493 5.445 0.702 0.75

9 4.175 0.493 6.075 0.708 0.76

10 4.175 0.493 6.650 0.713 0.76

11 4.175 0.493 7.176 0.717 0.76

12 4.175 0.493 7.655 0.720 0.77
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Benchmark Ratio Since Inception:  (l ÷ n) / (k÷ m):
_________________________________________

1Individual, group, individual Medicare Select, or group
Medicare “Select only
2"SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit
Plan - Use “P” for pre-standardized plans
3Year 1 is the current calendar year - 1.  Year 2 is the current
calendar year - 2 (etc.) (Example:  If the current year is 1991,
then: Year 1 is 1990; Year 2 is 1989, etc.)
4For the calendar year on the appropriate line in column (a),
the premium earned during that year for policies issued in
that year.
5These loss ratios are not explicitly used in computing the
benchmark loss ratios.  They are the loss ratios, on a policy
year basis, which result in the cumulative loss ratios
displayed on this worksheet.  They are shown here for
informational purposes only.

APPENDIX A
REPORTING FORM FOR THE CALCULATION OF
BENCHMARK RATIO SINCE INCEPTION 
FOR INDIVIDUAL POLICIES FOR CALENDAR YEAR
__________________

TYPE1____________________________

SMSBP2_________________________________________
FOR THE STATE OF ________________COMPANY
NAME   ______________________________
NAIC Group Code ___________________NAIC Company
Code ______________________________
PERSON COMPLETING THIS EXHIBIT
_______________________________________________
Title ______________________________Telephone
Number _________________________________

13 4.175 0.493 8.093 0.723 0.77

14 4.175 0.493 8.493 0.725 0.77

15 4.175 0.493 8.684 0.725 0.77

Total (k): (l): (m): (n):

(a)3 (b)4 (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (j) (o)5

Year Earned
Premiu
m

Factor (b) x
(c)

Cumula-
tive Loss
Ratio

(d) x (e) Factor (b) x (g) Cumula-
tive Loss
Ratio

(h) x (i) Policy
Year Loss
Ratio

1 2.770 0.507 0.000 0.000 0.46

2 4.175 0.567 0.000 0.000 0.63

3 4.175 0.567 1.194 0.759 0.75

4 4.175 0.567 2.245 0.771 0.77

5 4.175 0.567 3.170 0.782 0.8

6 4.175 0.567 3.998 0.792 0.82

7 4.175 0.567 4.754 0.802 0.84

8 4.175 0.567 5.445 0.811 0.87

9 4.175 0.567 6.075 0.818 0.88

10 4.175 0.567 6.650 0.824 0.88

11 4.175 0.567 7.176 0.828 0.88
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Benchmark Ratio Since Inception:  (l ÷ n) / (k÷ m):
_________________________________________

1Individual, group, individual Medicare Select, or group
Medicare “Select only
2"SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit
Plan - Use “P” for pre-standardized plans
3Year 1 is the current calendar year - 1.  Year 2 is the current
calendar year - 2 (etc.) (Example:  If the current year is 1991,
then: Year 1 is 1990; Year 2 is 1989, etc.)
4For the calendar year on the appropriate line in column (a),
the premium earned during that year for policies issued in
that year.
5These loss ratios are not explicitly used in computing the
benchmark loss ratios.  They are the loss ratios, on a policy
year basis, which result in the cumulative loss ratios
displayed on this worksheet.  They are shown here for
informational purposes only.

APPENDIX B

FORM FOR REPORTING
DUPLICATE MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT POLICIES

Company Name:
________________________________________________

Address:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

Phone Number:
________________________________________________

Due March 1, annually

The purpose of this form is to report the following
information on each resident of this state who has in force
more than one Medicare supplement policy or certificate.
The information is to be grouped by individual policyholder.

 Policy and Date of

Certificate #Issuance

___________________________________

____________________________________
Signature

____________________________________
Name and Title (please type)

____________________________________
Date

APPENDIX C

DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS

Instructions for Use of the Disclosure Statements for 
Health Insurance Policies sold to Medicare Beneficiaries 
that Duplicate Medicare

1. Section 1882(d) of  the Federal Social Security
Actlaw, P.L. 103Ñ432,  [42 U.S.C. 1395ss] prohibits the sale
of a health insurance policy (the term policy or policies
includes certificates) that duplicate Medicare benefits unless
it will pay benefits without regard to other health coverage
and it includes the prescribed disclosure statement on or
together with the application.

2. All types of health insurance policies that duplicate
Medicare shall include one of the attached disclosure
statements, according to the particular policy type involved,
on the application or together with the application.  The
disclosure statement may not vary from the attached
statements in terms of language or format (type size, type
proportional spacing, bold character, line spacing, and usage
of boxes around text).

3. State and federal law prohibits insurers from selling
a Medicare supplement policy to a person that already has a
Medicare supplement policy except as a replacement.

4. Property/casualty and life insurance policies are not
considered health insurance.

5. Disability income policies are not considered to
provide benefits that duplicate Medicare.

6. Long-term care insurance policies that coordinate

12 4.175 0.567 7.655 0.831 0.88

13 4.175 0.567 8.093 0.834 0.89

14 4.175 0.567 8.493 0.837 0.89

15 4.175 0.567 8.684 0.838 0.89

Total (k): (l): (m): (n):
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with Medicare and other health insurance are not considered
to provide benefits that duplicate Medicare.

7. The federal law does not pre-empt state laws that
are more stringent than the federal requirements.

87. The federal law does not pre-empt existing state
form filing requirements. 

9. Section 1882 of the federal Social Security Act was
amended in Subsection (d)(3)(A) to allow for alternative
disclosure statements.  The disclosure statements already in
Appendix C remain.  Carriers may use either disclosure
statement with the requisite insurance product.  However,
carriers should use either the original disclosure statements
or the alternative disclosure statements and not use both
simultaneously.

[Original disclosure statement fFor policies that provide
benefits for expenses incurred for an accidental injury only]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE
BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the
policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses that
result from accidental injury.  It does not pay your Medicare
deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays:
• hospital or medical expenses up to the maximum stated
in the policy
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:
• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

4Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have. 

4For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company. 

4For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance

counseling program.

[Original disclosure statement Ffor policies that provide
benefits for specified limited services]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE
BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the
policy conditions, for expenses relating to the specific
services listed in the policy.  It does not pay your Medicare
deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when:
• any of the services covered by the policy are also
covered by Medicare

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:
• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

4Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have. 

4For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company. 

4For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Original disclosure statement Ffor policies that reimburse
expenses incurred for specified disease(s) or other specified
impairment(s).  This includes expense incurred cancer,
specified disease and other types of health insurance policies
that limit reimbursement to named medical conditions.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE
BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance
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This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the
policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses only
when you are treated for one of the specific diseases or
health conditions listed in the policy.  It does not pay your
Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute
for Medicare Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays:
• hospital or medical expenses up to the maximum stated
in the policy

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:
• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

4Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have.

4For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company. 

4For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Original disclosure statement Ffor policies that pay fixed
dollar amounts for specified diseases or other specified
impairments.  This includes cancer, specified disease, and
other health insurance policies that pay a scheduled benefit
or specific payment based on diagnosis of the conditions
named in the policy.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE
BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your
expenses, if you meet the policy conditions, for one of the
specific diseases or health conditions named in the policy.  It
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and
is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits because

Medicare generally pays for most of the expenses for the
diagnosis and treatment of the specific conditions or
diagnoses named in the policy.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:
• hospitalization 
• physician services
• hospice
• other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

4Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have. 

4For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company. 

4For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Original disclosure statement Ffor indemnity policies and
other policies that pay a fixed dollar amount per day,
excluding long-term care policies.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE
BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your
expenses, for each day you meet the policy conditions. It
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and
is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when:
• any expenses or services covered by the policy are also
covered by Medicare

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:
• hospitalization
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services
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Before You Buy This Insurance

4Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have. 

4For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company. 

4For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Original disclosure statement Ffor policies that provide
benefits for both expenses incurred and fixed indemnity
basis]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE
BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance pays limited reimbursement for expenses if
you meet the conditions listed in the policy.  It also pays a
fixed amount, regardless of your expenses, if you meet other
policy conditions.  It does not pay your Medicare deductibles
or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare
Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when:

• any expenses or services covered by the policy are also
covered by Medicare; or
• it pays the fixed dollar amount stated in the policy and
Medicare covers the same event

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:
• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

4Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have. 

4For more information about Medicare and Medicare

Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company. 

4For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[For long-term care policies providing both nursing home
and noninstitutional coverage]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE
BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

Federal law requires us to inform you that this insurance
duplicates Medicare benefits in some situations.

• This is a long-term care insurance that provides benefits
for covered nursing home and home care services.
• In some situations Medicare pays for short periods of
skilled nursing home care, limited home health services and
hospice care. 
• This insurance does not pay your Medicare deductibles
or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare
Supplement insurance.

Neither Medicare nor Medicare Supplement insurance
provides benefits for most long-term care expenses.

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have.
4 For more information about long-term care insurance,
review the Shopper's Guide to Long-Term Care Insurance,
available from the insurance company. 
4 For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance
for People with Medicare, available from the insurance
company. 
4 For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[For policies providing nursing home benefits only]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE
BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance
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Federal law requires us to inform you that this insurance
duplicates Medicare benefits in some situations.

• This insurance provides benefits primarily for covered
nursing home services.
• In some situations Medicare pays for short periods of
skilled nursing home care and hospice care. 
• This insurance does not pay your Medicare deductibles
or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare
Supplement insurance.

Neither Medicare nor Medicare Supplement insurance
provides benefits for most nursing home expenses.

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have. 
4 For more information about long-term care insurance,
review the Shopper's Guide to Long-Term Care Insurance,
available from the insurance company. 
4 For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance
for People with Medicare, available from the insurance
company. 
4 For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[For policies providing home care benefits only]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE
BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

Federal law requires us to inform you that this insurance
duplicates Medicare benefits in some situations.

• This insurance provides benefits primarily for covered
home care services. 
• In some situations Medicare will cover some health
related services in your home and hospice care which may
also be covered by this insurance. 
• This insurance does not pay your Medicare deductibles
or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare
Supplement insurance.

Neither Medicare nor Medicare Supplement insurance
provides benefits for most services in your home.

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have. 
4 For more information about long-term care insurance,
review the Shopper's Guide to Long-Term Care Insurance,
available from the insurance company. 
4 For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance
for People with Medicare, available from the insurance
company. 
4 For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Original disclosure statement Ffor other health insurance
policies not specifically identified in the previous
statements]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE
BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance provides limited benefits if you meet the
conditions listed in the policy.  It does not pay your Medicare
deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays:

• the benefits stated in the policy and coverage for the
same event is provided by Medicare

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:

• hospitalization
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have. 

4For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company. 
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4For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide
benefits for expenses incurred for an accidental injury only.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also
trigger the payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the
policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses that
result from accidental injury.  It does not pay your Medicare
deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:

• hospitalization
• physician services
• other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health
benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under
Medicare or other insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have.

4 For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company.

4 For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide
benefits for specified limited services.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also

trigger the payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the
policy conditions, for expenses relating to the specific
services listed in the policy.  It does not pay your Medicare
deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:

• hospitalization
• physician services
• other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health
benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under
Medicare or other insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have.

4 For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company.

4 For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that reimburse
expenses incurred for specified diseases or other specified
impairments.  This includes expense-incurred cancer,
specified disease and other types of health insurance policies
that limit reimbursement to named medical conditions.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also
trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. Medicare
generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the
policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses only
when you are treated for one of the specific diseases or
health conditions listed in the policy.  It does not pay your
Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute
for Medicare Supplement insurance.
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Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:

• hospitalization
• physician services
• hospice
• other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health
benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under
Medicare or other insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have.

4 For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company.

4 For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that pay fixed
dollar amounts for specified diseases or other specified
impairments.  This includes cancer, specified disease, and
other health insurance policies that pay a scheduled benefit
or specific payment based on diagnosis of the conditions
named in the policy.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also
trigger the payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your
expenses, if you meet the policy conditions, for one of the
specific diseases or health conditions named in the policy.  It
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and
is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:

• hospitalization
• physician services

• hospice
• other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health
benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under
Medicare or other insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have.

4 For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company.

4 For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for indemnity policies and
other policies that pay a fixed dollar amount per day,
excluding long-term care policies.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also
trigger the payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance pays a fixed dollar amount, regardless of your
expenses, for each day you meet the policy conditions.  It
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and
is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance.

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:

• hospitalization
• physician services
• hospice
• other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health
benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under
Medicare or other insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
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already have.

4 For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company.

4 For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide
benefits upon both an expense-incurred and fixed indemnity
basis.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also
trigger the payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance pays limited reimbursement for expenses if
you meet the conditions listed in the policy.  It also pays a
fixed amount, regardless of your expenses, if you meet other
policy conditions.  It does not pay your Medicare deductibles
or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare
Supplement insurance.

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:

• hospitalization
• physician services
• hospice
• other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health
benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under
Medicare or other insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have.

4 For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company.

4 For help in understanding your health insurance, contact

your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for other health insurance
policies not specifically identified in the preceding
statements.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also
trigger the payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance provides limited benefits if you meet the
conditions listed in the policy.  It does not pay your Medicare
deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary
services regardless of the reason you need them. These
include:

• hospitalization
• physician services
• hospice
• other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health
benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under
Medicare or other insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

4 Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you
already have.

4 For more information about Medicare and Medicare
Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the
insurance company.

4 For help in understanding your health insurance, contact
your state insurance department or state senior insurance
counseling program.
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
REGULATION NO. 25 -  “REQUIREMENTS FOR

PRECONSTRUCTION REVIEW” OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE
CONTROL OF AIR POLLUTION

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

The Department is proposing to amend Regulation No.
25 to correct deficiencies identified by the EPA in an April 3,
1998 Federal Register rulemaking (Volume 63, Number 64,
pages 16433 - 16435) and to clarify existing provisions of
the regulation.  The corrections to noted deficiencies include
the public participation procedures for nonattainment new
source review (NSR) permits, and the criteria to claim
emission reductions to be used as the offset requirement for
new major sources or major modifications to existing major
sources of volatile organic compounds or nitrogen oxides
emissions.  The federal requirements for these provisions are
found at 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart I, “Review of New Sources
and Modifications.”
3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:

None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The public comment period for this proposed revision

will extend to, at least, March 30, 1999.  Interested parties
may submit comments in writing during this time frame to:
Leslie Andersen, Air Quality Management Section, 715
Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720, and/or statements
and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at
the public hearing to be held on Tuesday, March 23, 1999
beginning at 6:00 p.m. at the DNREC Richardson & Robbins

Building in Dover, DE.  

7. PREPARED BY:
Leslie C. Andersen   (302) 323-4542, February 10, 1999

REGULATION NO. 25
REQUIREMENTS FOR PRECONSTRUCTION 

REVIEW

01/11/93 xx/xx/99
Section 1 - General Provisions

1.1 Requirements of this regulation are in addition to any
other requirements of the State of Delaware Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution.

1.2 Any stationary source which will impact an attainment
area or an unclassifiable area as designated by the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) pursuant to Section
107 of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAA), is
subject to the regulations of Section 3, Prevention of
Significant Deterioration (PSD).

1.3 Any stationary source which will impact a
non-attainment area as designated by the EPA pursuant to
Section 107 of the CAA is subject to the regulations of
Section 2, Emission Offset Provisions (EOP).

1.4 A source may be subject to PSD for one pollutant and to
EOP for another pollutant, or may affect both attainment or
unclassifiable areas and a non-attainment area for the same
pollutant.

1.5 Any emission limitation represented by Lowest
Achievable Emission Rate (LAER) may be imposed by the
Department pursuant to regulations adopted under Section 2
herein notwithstanding any emission limit specified
elsewhere in the State of Delaware Regulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution.

1.6 Any emission limitation represented by Best Available
Control Technology (BACT) may be imposed by the
Department pursuant to regulations adopted under Section 3
herein notwithstanding any emission limit specified
elsewhere in the State of Delaware Regulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution.

1.7 No stationary source shall be constructed unless the
applicant can substantiate to the Department that the source
will comply with any applicable emission limit or New
Source Performance Standard or Emission Standard for a
Hazardous Air Pollutant as set forth in the State of Delaware
Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm


PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1509

1.8 Any stationary source that implements, for the purpose
of gaining relief from Regulation 25, Section 3, by any
physical or operational limitation on the capacity of the
source to emit a pollutant, including (but not limited to) air
pollution control equipment and restrictions on hours of
operation or on the type or amount of material combusted,
stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design and
the limitation or the effect it would have on emissions is
enforceable, not withstanding any emission limit specified
elsewhere in the State of Delaware Regulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution.  If a source petitions the
Department for relief from any resulting limitation described
above, the source is subject to review under Regulation 25,
Sections 2 and 3 as though construction had not yet
commenced on the source or modification.

1.9 Definitions - For the purposes of this regulation
A. "Major Stationary Source" - See Sections 2.2 and

3.0
B. "Major Modification"

1. Major modification means any physical change
or change in the method of operation of a major stationary
source that would result in a significant net emissions
increase of any pollutant subject to regulation under the
CAA.

2. Any net emissions increase that is significant
for either volatile organic compounds or nitrogen oxides
shall be considered significant for ozone.

3. A physical change or change in the method of
operation shall not include:

i. Routine maintenance, repair and
replacement;

ii. Use of an alternative fuel or raw material
by reason of an order under sections 2(a) and (b) of the
Energy Supply and Environmental Coordination Act of 1974
(or any superseding legislation) or by reason of a natural gas
curtailment plan pursuant to the Federal Power Act;

iii. Use of an alternative fuel by reason of an
order or rule under Section 125 of the CAA;

iv. Use of an alternative fuel at a steam
generating unit to the extent that the fuel is generated from
municipal solid waste;

v. Use of an alternative fuel or raw material
by a stationary source which:

a. The source was capable of
accommodating before January 6, 1975, unless such change
would be prohibited under any previously issued permit
condition which was established after January 6, 1975.

b. The source is approved to use under
any previously issued PSD permit or under Regulation 25,
Section 3.

vi. An increase in the hours of operation or in
the production rate, unless such change would be prohibited
under any previously issued permit condition which was

established after January 6, 1975;
vii. Any change in ownership at a stationary

source.
C. "Net Emissions Increase"

1. Net emissions increase means the amount by
which the sum of the following exceeds zero:

i. Any increase in actual emissions from a
particular physical change or change in method of operation
at a stationary source; and

ii. Any other increases and decreases in
actual emissions at the source that are contemporaneous with
the particular change and are otherwise creditable.

2. An increase or decrease in actual emissions is
contemporaneous with the increase from the particular
change only if it occurs between:

i. The date five years before construction on
the particular change commences; and

ii. The date that the increase from the
particular change occurs.

3. An increase or decrease in actual emissions is
creditable only if the Department has not relied on it in
issuing a permit for the source under this section, which
permit is in effect when the increase in actual emissions from
the particular change occurs.

4. An increase or decrease in actual emissions of
sulfur dioxide or particulate matter which occurs before the
applicable baseline date is creditable only if it is required to
be considered in calculating the amount of maximum
allowable increases remaining available.

5. An increase in actual emissions is creditable
only to the extent that the new level of actual emissions
exceeds the old level.

6. A decrease in actual emissions is creditable
only to the extent that:

i. The old level of actual  emissions or the
old level of allowable emissions, whichever is lower,
exceeds the new level of actual emissions;

ii. It is enforceable at and after the time that
actual construction on the particular change begins; and

iii. It has approximately the same qualitative
significance for public health and welfare as that attributed
to the increase from the particular change.

iv. It has not been adopted by the Department
as a required reduction to be made part of the SIP or it is not
required by the Department pursuant to an existing
requirement of the SIP.

7. An increase that results from a physical change
at a source occurs when the emissions unit on which
construction occurred becomes operational and begins to
emit a particular pollutant. Any replacement unit that
requires shakedown becomes operational only after a
reasonable shakedown period, not to exceed 180 days.

D. "Potential to Emit"  means the maximum capacity
of a stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical
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and operational design.  Any physical or operational
limitation on the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant,
including air pollution control equipment and restrictions on
hours of operation or on the type or amount of material
combusted, stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its
design if the limitation or the effect it would have on
emissions is enforceable.  Secondary emissions do not count
in determining the potential to emit of a stationary source.

E. "Stationary Source" means any building, structure,
facility or installation which emits or may emit any air
pollutant subject to regulation under the CAA.

F. "Building, Structure, Facility, or Installation"
means all of the pollutant-emitting activities which belong to
the same industrial grouping, are located on one or more
contiguous or adjacent properties, and are under the control
of the same person (or persons under common control).
Pollutant-emitting activities shall be considered as part of the
same industrial grouping if they belong to the same "Major
Group" (i.e., which have the same first two digit code) as
described in the Standard Industrial Classification Manual,
1972, as amended by the 1977 Supplement (U.S.
Government Printing Office stock numbers 4101-0066 and
003-005-00176-0, respectively). For purposes of Section 2,
this definition shall apply only to the "Building, Structure or
Facility".

G. "Emissions Unit" means any part of a stationary
source which emits or would have the potential to emit any
pollutant subject to regulation under the CAA.

H. "Construction" means any physical change or
change in the method of operation (including fabrication,
erection, installation, demolition or modification of an
emissions unit) which would result in a change in actual
emissions.

I. "Commence" as applied to construction of a major
stationary source or major modification means that the
owner or operator has all necessary preconstruction
approvals or permits and either has:

1. Begun, or caused to begin, a continuous
program of actual on-site construction of the source, to be
completed within a reasonable time; or

2. Entered into binding agreements or contractual
obligations, which cannot be canceled or modified without
substantial loss to the owner or operator, to undertake a
program of actual construction of the source to be completed
within a reasonable time.

J. "Necessary Preconstruction Approvals or Permits"
means those permits or approvals required under Delaware
air quality control laws and regulations.

K. "Begin Actual Construction" means, in general,
initiation of physical on-site construction activities on an
emissions unit which are of a permanent nature.  Such
activities include, but are not limited to, installation of
building supports and foundations, laying underground
pipework and construction or permanent storage structures.

With respect to a change in method of operations, this term
refers to those on-site activities other than preparatory
activities which mark the initiation of the change.

L. “Best Available Control Technology" means an
emissions limitation (including a visible emission standard)
based on the maximum degree of reduction for each
pollutant subject to regulation under CAA which would be
emitted from any proposed major stationary source or major
modification which the Department, on a case-by-case basis,
takes into account energy, environmental, and economic
impacts and other costs, determines is achievable for such
source or modification through application of production
processes or available methods, systems, and techniques,
including fuel cleaning or treatment or innovative fuel
combustion techniques for control of such pollutant.  In no
event shall application of best available control technology
result in emissions of any pollutant which would exceed the
emissions allowed by any applicable standard under
Regulation 20 and 21.  If the Department determines that
technological or economic limitations on the application of
measurement methodology to a particular emissions unit
would make the imposition of an emissions standard
infeasible, a design, equipment, work practice, operational
standard, or combination thereof, may be prescribed instead
to satisfy the requirement for the application of best
available control technology. Such standard shall, to the
degree possible, set forth the emissions reduction achievable
by implementation of such design, equipment, work practice
or operation, and shall provide for compliance by means
which achieve equivalent results.

M. "Baseline Concentration"
1. Baseline concentration means that ambient

concentration level which exists in the baseline area at the
time of the applicable baseline date.  A baseline
concentration is determined for each pollutant for which a
baseline date is established and shall include:

i. The actual emissions representative of
sources in existence on the applicable baseline date, except
as provided in paragraph 1.9M(2);

ii. The allowable emissions of major
stationary sources which commenced construction before
January 6, 1975, but were not in operation by the applicable
baseline date.

2. The following will not be included in the
baseline concentration and will affect the applicable
maximum allowable increase(s):

i. Actual emissions from any major
stationary source on which construction commenced after
January 6, 1975; and

ii. Actual emissions increases and decreases
at any stationary source occurring after the baseline date.

N. "Baseline Date"
1. Baseline date means the earliest date after

August 7, 1977, on which the first complete application is
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submitted by a major stationary source or major
modification subject to the requirements of Regulation 25,
Section 3.

2. Baseline date means the earliest date after
August 7, 1977, but before the effective date of this
regulation, on which the first complete application by a
major stationary source or major modification which would
have been subject to the requirements of Regulation 25,
Section 3 if application were submitted after the effective
date of this regulation.

3. The baseline date is established for each
pollutant for which increments or other equivalent measures
have been established if:

i. The area in which the proposed source or
modification would construct is designated as attainment or
unclassifiable for the pollutant on the date of its complete
application under this section; and

ii. In the case of a major stationary source,
the pollutant would be emitted in significant amounts, or, in
the case of a major modification, there would be a significant
net emissions increase of the pollutant.  

O. "Baseline Area"
1. Baseline area means any intrastate area (and

every part thereof) designated as attainment or unclassifiable
in which the major source or major modification establishing
the baseline date would construct or would have an air

quality impact equal to or greater than 1 1g/m3 (annual
average) of the pollutant for which the baseline date is
established.

2. Area redesignations cannot intersect or be
smaller than the area of impact of any major stationary
source or major modification which:

i. Establishes a baseline date, or
 ii. Is subject to this section.

P. "Allowable Emissions" means the emissions rate of
a stationary source calculated using the maximum rated
capacity of the source (unless the source is subject to
enforceable limits which restrict the operating rate, or hours
of operation, or both) and the most stringent of the
following:

1. The applicable standards as set forth in
Regulations 20 and 21;

2. Other applicable Delaware State
Implementation Plan emissions limitations, including those
with a future compliance date; or

3. The emissions rate specified as an enforceable
permit condition, including those with a future compliance
date.

Q. "Secondary Emissions" means emissions which
would occur as a result of the construction or operation of a
major stationary source or major modification, but do not
come from the major stationary source or major modification
itself.  For the purpose of this section, secondary emissions

must be specific, well defined, quantifiable, and impact the
same general area as the stationary source or modification
which causes the secondary emissions.  Secondary emissions
may include, but are not limited to:

1. Emissions from ships, trains, or other vehicles
coming to or from the new or modified stationary source;
and

2. Emissions from any offsite support facility(s)
which would not otherwise be constructed or increase its
emissions as a result of the construction or operation of the
major stationary source or major modification.

R. "Innovative Control Technology" means any
system of air pollution control that has not been adequately
demonstrated in practice, but would have a substantial
likelihood of achieving greater continuous emissions
reduction than any control system in current practice or of
achieving at least comparable reductions at lower cost in
terms of energy economics, or non-air quality environmental
impacts.

S. "Fugitive Emissions" means those emissions which
could not reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or
other functionally equivalent opening.

T. "Actual Emissions:
1. Actual emissions means the actual rate of

emissions of a pollutant from an emission unit, as
determined in accordance with subparagraphs (2) through
(4) below.

2. In general, actual emissions as of a particular
date shall equal the average rate, in tons per year, at which
the unit actually emitted the pollutant during a two-year
period which precedes the particular date and which is
representative of normal source operation.  The Department
shall allow the use of a different time period upon a
determination that it is more representative of normal source
operation.  Actual emissions shall be calculated using the
unit's actual operating hours, production rates, and types of
materials processed, stored, or combusted during the
selected time period.

3. The Department may presume that
source-specific allowable emissions for the unit are
equivalent to the actual emissions of the unit.

4. For any emissions unit which has not begun
normal operations on the particular date, actual emissions
shall equal the potential to emit of the unit on that date.

U. "Complete" means, in reference to an application
for a permit, that the application contains all of the
information necessary for processing the application.

V. "Significant"
1. Significant  means, in reference to a net

emissions increase or the potential of a source to emit any of
the following pollutants, a rate of emissions that would equal
or exceed any of the following rates:

Pollutant and Emissions Rate
Carbon monoxide:  100 tons per year (TPY)
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Sulfur dioxide:  40 TPY
Particulate matter:  25 TPY
Ozone: New Castle and Kent Counties - 25

TPY  of  either volatile organic compounds or nitrogen
oxides *

Sussex County - 40 TPY of either
volatile organic compounds or nitrogen oxides *

Lead:  0.6 TPY
Asbestos:  0.007 TPY
Beryllium:  0.0004 TPY
Mercury:  0.1 TPY
Vinyl chloride:  1 TPY
Fluorides:  3 TPY
Sulfuric acid mist:  7 TPY
Hydrogen sulfide (H2S):  10 TPY
Total reduced sulfur (including H2S):  10 TPY
Reduced sulfur compounds (including H2S):

10 TPY
PM10 particulate:  15 TPY

* Note: Increases in net emissions shall not
exceed 25 tons per year in New Castle and Kent Counties, or
40 tons per year in Sussex, when aggregated with all other
net increases in emissions from the source over any period of
five consecutive calendar years which includes the calendar
year in which such increases occur.  No part of the five
consecutive years shall extend before January 1, 1991. 

2. "Significant" means, in reference to a net
emissions increase or the potential of a source to emit a
pollutant subject to regulation under the CAA that paragraph
1.9 V.(1) does not list, any emissions rate.

3. Notwithstanding paragraph 1.9 V.(1),
"significant" means any emissions rate or any net emissions
increase associated with a major stationary source or major
modification, which would construct within ten kilometers
of a Class I area, and have an impact on such area equal to or

greater than 1 1g/m3, (24-hour average).
W. "Fixed capital cost" means the capital needed to

provide all the depreciable components.
X. "Lowest Achievable Emission Rate (LAER) means

the same as defined in Regulation No. 1, "Definitions and
Administrative Principles".

Y. "Reconstruction" will be presumed to have taken
place where the fixed capital cost of the new components
exceed 50 percent of the fixed capital cost of a comparable
entirely new stationary source.  Any final decision as to
whether reconstruction has occurred shall be made in
accordance with the provisions of 40 CFR 60.15(f)(1)-(3).  A
reconstructed stationary source will be treated as a new
stationary source for purposes of this regulation.  In
determining lowest achievable emission rate (LAER) for a
reconstructed stationary source, the provisions of 40 CFR
60.15(f)(4) shall be taken into account in assessing whether a

new source performance standard is applicable to such
stationary source.

Z. “Ozone Transport Region” means the region
designated by section 184 of the federal Clean Air Act and
comprised of the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine,
Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey,
New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and the
Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area that includes the
District of Columbia and northern Virginia.

AA.“Permanent” (Reductions) means that the actual
emission reductions submitted to the Department for
certification have been incorporated in a permit or a permit
condition or, in the case of a shutdown, the permit to operate
for the emission unit(s) has been voided.

BB. “Quantifiable” (Reductions) means that the amount,
rate and characteristics of emission reductions can be
determined by methods that are considered reliable by the
Department and the Administrator of the EPA.

CC. “Real” (Reductions) means reductions in actual
emissions released into the atmosphere.

DD.“Surplus” (Reductions) means actual emission
reductions below the baseline (see Section 2.5(B)) not
required by regulations or proposed regulations, and not
used by the source to meet any state or federal regulatory
requirements.

EE. “Enforceable” means any standard, requirement,
limitation or condition established by an applicable federal
or state regulation or specified in a permit issued or order
entered thereunder, or contained in a SIP approved by the
Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA), and which can be enforced by the Department and the
Administrator of the EPA.
01/11/93 xx/xx/99
Section 2 - Emission Offset Provisions (EOP)

2.1 Applicability - The provisions of this Section shall
apply to any person responsible for any proposed new major
stationary source or any proposed major modification.

2.2 For purposes of Section 2, "major stationary source"
means

A. Any stationary source of air pollutants which emits,
or has the potential to emit, 100 tons per year or more of any
pollutant subject to regulation under the Clean Air Act,
except for either volatile organic compound or nitrogen
oxides, or

B. Any stationary source of air pollutants which emits,
or has the potential to emit either volatile organic
compounds or nitrogen oxides in the following amounts:

1. New Castle & Kent Counties - 25 tons per year
of either volatile organic compounds or oxides of nitrogen
For areas in ozone attainment, ozone marginal, or ozone
moderate nonattainment areas and located in the ozone
transport region - 50 tons per year volatile organic
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compounds or 100 tons per year of oxides of nitrogen; or
2. Sussex County - For serious ozone

nonattainment areas - 50 tons per year of either volatile
organic compounds or oxides of nitrogen, or

3. For severe ozone nonattainment areas - 25 tons
per year of either volatile organic compounds or oxides of
nitrogen, or

4. For extreme ozone nonattainment areas - 10
tons per year of either volatile organic compounds or oxides
of nitrogen.

C. Any physical change that would occur at a
stationary source not qualifying under paragraph (A) or (B)
as a major stationary source, if the change would constitute a
major stationary source by itself.,or

D. A major stationary source that is major for either
volatile organic compounds or nitrogen oxides shall be
considered major for ozone, and "installation" means an
identifiable piece of process, combustion or incineration
equipment.

2.3 For the purposes of Sections 2.4 and 2.5 of this
regulation, emission units located in areas designated as
attainment or marginal nonattainment areas that are located
within the ozone transport region shall be considered located
in a moderate ozone nonattainment area. 

2.3 2.4Conditions for Approval - No person subject to the
provisions of subsection 2.1 shall install a major stationary
source of volatile organic compounds or of nitrogen oxides,
or make a major modification to a source which will cause or
contribute to any violation of the national ambient air quality
standards for ozone within an area of non-attainment for that
pollutant unless the following conditions are met:

A. The new major source or the major modification is
controlled by the application of lowest achievable emission
rate (LAER) control technology.

B. All existing sources in the State owned or
controlled by the owner of the proposed new or modified
source are in compliance with the applicable local, State and
federal regulations or are in compliance with a consent order
specifying a schedule and timetable for compliance.

C. To the extent that allowable emissions of VOC
from the new major stationary source or major modification
will exceed the growth allowance in the State
Implementation Plan, an emission reduction from existing
sources shall be provided prior to start-up of the applicable
source such that total allowable emissions from the existing
sources and new major stationary sources will be less than
that allowed from the existing source under the existing state
implementation plan requirements.  Where no emission limit
exists under the state implementation plan, the level of
emissions in existence at the time the permit application is
filed shall be used in determining the baseline for the
emission reduction.

For the purposes of satisfying The new or modified
source must satisfy the following offset requirements,:

1. For New Castle & Kent Counties, 1.3 to 1, or
2. For Sussex County, 1.15 to 1
1. The ratio of total actual emissions reductions of

volatile organic compounds or nitrogen oxides to total
allowable increased emissions of volatile organic
compounds or nitrogen oxides shall be:

a. For moderate ozone nonattainment areas,
1.15 to 1, or

b. For serious ozone nonattainment areas, 1.2
to 1, or

c. For severe ozone nonattainment areas, 1.3
to 1, or

d. For extreme ozone nonattainment areas,
1.5 to 1.

2. All offsets shall be federally enforceable at the
time of application to construct and shall be in effect by the
time the new or modified source commences construction.

D. The emission reduction required by Section 2.3 C is
implemented such that there is a net air quality benefit in the
affected area.

E.
D. 1. The application for construction permit

pursuant to Regulation No. II 2 shall include an analysis of
alternative sites, sizes, production processes and
environmental control techniques for such proposed source
which demonstrates that benefits of the proposed source
significantly outweigh the environmental and social costs
imposed as a result of its location, construction, or
modification.

2. Public participation for the construction permit
shall be pursuant to Regulation No. 2, Section 12.3 or 12.4
and 12.5.

2.5 Criteria for Emission Reductions Used as Offsets
A. All emission reductions claimed as offset credits

shall be real, surplus, quantifiable, and federally enforceable;
B. The baseline for determining credit for emissions

reductions shall be the lower of actual or allowable
emissions. The offset credit shall only be allowed for
emission reductions made below the baseline;

C. Emission reductions claimed as offsets shall be
included in the most recent rate of progress (ROP) emissions
inventory and shall have occurred on or after January 1,
1991;

D. Credit for an emission reduction may be claimed
for use as an offset  to the extent that the Department has not
relied on it in issuing any permit under this regulation and
has not relied on it for demonstration of attainment or
reasonable further progress;

E. Emission reductions shall not be used as offsets in
an area with a higher nonattainment classification than the
one in which they were generated.
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F. Emission reductions claimed as offsets by a source
must be generated from within the same nonattainment area
or from any other area that contributes to a violation of the
ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard in the
nonattainment area which the source is located.

2.6 Emission reductions generated in a state other than
Delaware and which are placed in the emissions bank
established pursuant to Regulation No. 34 of the State of
Delaware’s “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution” may be used as offsets provided they are federally
enforceable and meet, at a minimum, all the provisions of
Regulation No. 34 and Sections 2.5(E), and (F) of this
regulation.

03/29/88
Section 3 - Prevention of Significant Deterioration of Air
Quality

3.0 Definitions - For purposes of this Section 3
A. "Major Stationary Source"

(1) Major stationary source means:
(i) Any of the following stationary sources of

air pollutants which emits or has the potential to emit, 100
tons per year or more of any pollutant subject to regulation
under the CAA:  Fossil fuel-fired steam electric plants of
more than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat
input, coal cleaning plants (with thermal dryers), kraft pulp
mills, portland cement plants, primary zinc smelters, iron
and steel mill plants, primary aluminum ore reduction plants,
primary copper smelters, municipal incinerators capable of
charging more than 250 tons of refuse per day, hydrofluoric,
sulfuric, and nitric acid plants, petroleum refineries, lime
plants, phosphate rock processing plants, coke oven
batteries, sulfur recovery plants, carbon black plants (furnace
process), primary lead smelters, fuel conversion plants,
sintering plants, secondary metal production plants,
chemical process plants, fossil fuel boilers (or combinations
thereof) totaling more than 250 million British thermal units
per hour heat input, petroleum storage and transfer units with
a total storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels, taconite
ore processing plants, glass fiber processing plants, and
charcoal production plants;

(ii) Notwithstanding the stationary source size
specified in paragraph 3.0 A.(1)(i) of this section, any
stationary source which emits, or has the potential to emit,
250 tons per year or more of any air pollutant subject to
regulation under the CAA; or

(iii) Any physical change that would occur at a
stationary source not otherwise qualifying under paragraph
3.0 as a major stationary source, if the change would
constitute a major stationary source by itself.

(2) A major stationary source that is major for
volatile organic compounds shall be considered major for

ozone.

3.1 Ambient Air Increments.  In areas designated as Class I,
II or III, increases in pollutant concentration over the
baseline concentration shall be limited to the following:

Maximum allowable increase
(Micrograms per cubic meter)

Class I

Pollutant
Total suspended particulates:

Annual geometric mean 5
24-hour maximum 10

Sulfur dioxide:
Annual arithmetic mean 2
24-hour maximum 5
3-hour maximum 25

Class II
Pollutant
Total suspended particulates:

Annual geometric mean 19
24-hour maximum 37

Sulfur dioxide:
Annual arithmetic mean 20
24-hour maximum 91
3-hour maximum 512

Class III
Total suspended particulates:

Annual geometric mean 37
24-hour maximum 75

Sulfur dioxide:
Annual arithmetic mean 40
24-hour maximum 182
3-hour maximum 700

For any period other than an annual period, the
applicable maximum allowable increase may be exceeded
during one such period per year at any one location.

3.2 Ambient Air Ceilings.  No concentration of a pollutant
shall exceed:

A. The concentration permitted under the national
secondary ambient air quality standard, or

B. The concentration permitted under the national
primary ambient air quality standard, whichever
concentration is lowest for the pollutant for a period of
exposure.
3.3 Restrictions on Area Classification.
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A. All Areas in the State of Delaware are designated
Class II, but may be redesignated as provided in 40 CFR
52.51(g).

B. The following areas may be redesignated only as
Class I:

(1) Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge; and
(2) A national park or national wilderness area

established after August 7, 1977 which exceeds 10,000 acres
in size.

3.4 Exclusions from Increment Consumption
A. Upon written request of the governor, made after

notice and opportunity for at least one public hearing to be
held in accordance with procedures established by the State
of Delaware, the Department shall exclude the following
concentrations in determining compliance with a maximum
allowable increase:

(1) Concentrations attributable to the increase in
emissions from stationary sources which have converted
from the use of petroleum products, natural gas, or both by
reason of an order in effect under sections 2(a) and (b) of the
Energy Supply and Environmental Coordination Act of 1974
(or any superseding legislation) over the emissions from
such sources before the effective date of such an order;

(2) Concentrations attributable to the increase in
emissions from sources which have converted from using
natural gas by reason of a natural gas curtailment plan in
effect pursuant to the Federal Power Act over the emissions
from such sources before the effective date of such plan;

(3) Concentrations of particulate matter
attributable to the increase in emissions from construction or
other temporary emission-related activities of new or
modified sources;

B. No exclusion of such concentrations shall apply
more than five years after the effective date of the order to
which paragraph 3.4A(1) refers or the plan to which
paragraph 3.4A(2) refers, whichever is applicable.  If both
such order and plan are applicable, no such exclusion shall
apply more than five years after the later of such effective
dates.

3.5 Stack Heights
The provisions of Regulation 27 - STACK HEIGHTS,

are applicable to this section.

3.6 Review of Major Stationary Sources and Major
Modifications - Source Applicability and Exemptions.

A. No stationary source or modification to which the
requirements of paragraphs 3.7 through 3.14 of this section
apply shall begin actual construction without a permit which
states that the stationary source or modification would meet
those requirements.  The Department has authority to issue
any such permit.

B. The requirements of paragraphs 3.7 through 3.14 of

this section shall apply to any major stationary source and
any major modification with respect to each pollutant subject
to regulation under the CAA that it would emit, except as
this section otherwise provides.

C. The requirements of paragraphs 3.7 through 3.14 of
this section apply only to any major stationary source or
major modification that would be constructed in an area
designated as attainment or unclassifiable.

D. The requirements of paragraphs 3.7 through 3.14 of
this section shall not apply to a particular major stationary
source or major modification, if:

(1) The source or modification would be a
nonprofit health or nonprofit educational institution, or a
major modification would occur at such an institution, and
the governor requests that it be exempt from those
requirements; or

(2) The source or modification would be a major
stationary source or major modification only if fugitive
emissions, to the extent quantifiable, are considered in
calculating the potential to emit of the stationary source or
modification and the source does not belong to any of the
following categories:

(i) Coal cleaning plants (with thermal
dryers);

(ii) Kraft pulp mills;
(iii) Portland cement plants;
(iv) Primary zinc smelters;
(v) Iron and steel mills;
(vi) Primary aluminum ore reduction

plants;
(vii) Primary copper smelters;
(viii) Municipal incinerators capable of

charging more than 250 tons of refuse per day;
(ix) Hydrofluoric, sulfuric, or nitric acid

plants;
(x) Petroleum refineries;
(xi) Lime plants;
(xii) Phosphate rock processing plants;
(xiii) Coke oven batteries;
(xiv) Sulfur recovery plants;
(xv) Carbon black plants (furnace

process);
(xvi) Primary lead smelters;
(xvii) Fuel conversion plants;
(xviii) Sintering plants;
(xix) Secondary metal production plants;
(xx) Chemical process plants;
(xxi) Fossil-fuel boilers (or combination

thereof) totaling more than 250 million British thermal units
per hour heat input:

(xxii) Petroleum storage and transfer units
with a total storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels;

(xxiii) Taconite ore processing plants;
(xxiv) Glass fiber processing plants;
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(xxv) Charcoal production plants;
(xxvi) Fossil fuel-fired steam electric plants

of more than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat
input;

(xxvii) Any other stationary source category
which, as of August 7, 1980, is being regulated under section
111 or 112 of the CAA; or

(3) The source is a portable stationary source
which has previously received a permit under this section,
and 

(i) The owner or operator proposal to relocate
the source and emissions of the source at the new location
would be temporary; and

(ii) The emissions from the source would not
exceed its allowable emissions; and

(iii) The emissions from the source would
impact no Class I area and no area where an applicable
increment is known to be violated; and

(iv) Reasonable notice is given to the
Department prior to the relocation identifying the proposed
new location and the probable duration of operation at the
new location.  Such notice shall be given to the Department
not less than ten days in advance of the proposed relocation
unless a different time duration is previously approved by
the Department.

E. The requirements of paragraphs 3.7 through 3.14 of
this section shall not apply to a major stationary source or
major modification with respect to a particular pollutant if
the owner or operator demonstrates that, as to that pollutant,
the source or modification is located in an area designated as
non-attainment.

F. The requirements of paragraphs 3.8, 3.10, and 3.12
of this section shall not apply to a major stationary source or
major modification with respect to a particular pollutant, if
the allowable emissions of that pollutant from the source, or
the net emissions increase of that pollutant from the
modification:

(1) Would impact no Class I area and no area
where an applicable increment is known to be violated, and

(2) Would be temporary.
G. The Department may exempt a stationary source or

modification from the requirements of paragraph 3.10 with
respect to monitoring for a particular pollutant if:

(1) The emissions increase of the pollutant from
the new source or the net emissions increase of the pollutant
from the modification would cause, in any area, air quality
impacts less than the following amounts:

Carbon monoxide:  575 ug/m3, 8-hour average;

Nitrogen dioxide:  14 ug/m3, annual average;

Total suspended particulate:  10 ug/m3, 24-hour
average;

Sulfur dioxide:  13 ug/m3, 24-hour average;
Ozone (Note 1)

Lead:  0.1 ug/m3, 24-hour average;

Mercury:  0.25 ug/m3, 24-hour average;

Beryllium:  0.0005 ug/m3, 24-hour average;

Fluorides:  0.25 ug/m3, 24-hour average;

Vinyl chloride:  15 ug/m3, 24-hour average;

Total reduced sulfur:  10 ug/m3, 1-hour average;

Hydrogen sulfide:  0.04 ug/m3, 1-hour average;

Reduced sulfur compounds:  10 ug/m3, 1-hour
average;

PM10 particulate:  10 ug/m3, 24-hour average

(2) The concentrations of the pollutant in the area
that the source or modification would affect are less than the
concentrations listed in paragraph 3.6G(1), or the pollutant is
not listed in paragraph 3.6G(1).

3.7 Control Technology Review 
A. A major stationary source or major modification

shall meet each applicable emissions limitation of the State
of Delaware's Air Pollution Control Regulations.

B. A new major stationary source shall apply best
available control technology for each pollutant subject to
regulation under the CAA that it would have the potential to
emit in significant amounts.

C. A major modification shall apply best available
control technology for each pollutant subject to regulation
under the CAA for which it would result in a significant net
emissions increase at the source.  This requirement applies to
each proposed emissions unit at which a net emissions
increase in the pollutant would occur as a result of a physical
change or change in the method of operation in the unit.

D. For phase construction projects, the determination
of best available control technology shall be reviewed and
modified as appropriate at the latest reasonable time which
occurs no later than 18 months prior to commencement of
construction of each independent phase of the project.  At
such time, the owner or operator of the applicable stationary
source may be required to demonstrate the adequacy of any
previous determination of best available control technology
for the source.

Note 1: No de minimus air quality level is provided for
ozone.  However, any net increase of 100 tons per year or
more of volatile organic compounds subject to PSD would
be required to perform an ambient impact analysis including
the gathering of ambient air quality data.

3.8 Source Impact Analysis.  The owner or operator of the
proposed source or modification shall demonstrate that
allowable emission increases from the proposed source or
modification, in conjunction with all other applicable
emissions increases or reductions (including secondary
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emissions), would not cause or contribute to air pollution in
violation of:

A. Any national ambient air quality standard in any air
quality control region; or

B. Any applicable maximum allowable increase over
the baseline concentration in any area.

3.9 Air Quality Models.
A. All estimates of ambient concentrations required

under this section shall be based on the applicable air quality
models, data bases, and other requirements specified in the
"Guideline on Air Quality Models" (OA-QPS 1.2-080, U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Air Quality
Planning and Standards, Research Triangle Park, N.C.
27711, April, 1978 or its subsequent revisions).  This
document is incorporated by reference.

B. When an air quality impact model specified in the
"Guideline on Air Quality Models" is inappropriate, the
model may be modified or another model substituted.  Such
a change must be subject to the notice and opportunity for
public comment under paragraph 3.14 of this section.
Written approval of the Department must be obtained for any
modification or substitution.  Methods like those outlined in
the "Workbook for the Comparison of Air Quality Models"
(U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Air
Quality Planning and Standards, Research Triangle Park,
N.C. 17711, May, 1978 or its subsequent revisions) should
be used to determine the comparability of air quality models.

3.10 Air Quality Analysis
A. Preapplication Analysis.

(1) Any application for a permit under this section
shall contain an analysis of ambient air quality in the area
that the major stationary source or major modification would
affect for each of the following pollutants:

(i) For the source, each pollutant that it would
have the potential to emit in a significant amount;

(ii) For the modification, each pollutant for
which it would result in a significant net emissions increase.

(2) With respect to any such pollutant for which no
National Ambient Air Quality Standard exists, the analysis
shall contain such air quality monitoring data as the
Department determines is necessary to assess ambient air
quality for that pollutant in any area that the emissions of
that pollutant would affect.

(3) With respect to any such pollutant (other than
non-methane hydrocarbons) for which such a standard does
exist, the analysis shall contain continuous air quality
monitoring data gathered for purposes of determining
whether emissions of that pollutant would cause or
contribute to a violation of the standard or any maximum
allowable increase.

(4) In general, the continuous air quality
monitoring data that is required shall have been gathered

over a period of at least one year and shall represent at least
the year preceding receipt of the application, except that, if
the Department determines that a complete and adequate
analysis can be accomplished with monitoring data gathered
over a period shorter than one year (but not to be less than
four months), the data that is required shall have been
gathered over at least that shorter period.

(5) The owner or operator of a proposed stationary
source or modification of volatile organic compounds who
satisfies all of the following conditions may provide
post-approval monitoring data for ozone in lieu of providing
preconstruction data as required under paragraph 3.10A.

Condition 1: The new source is required to
meet an emission limitation which specifies the lowest
achievable emission rate for such source.

Condition 2: The applicant must certify that all
existing major sources owned or operated by the applicant
(or any entity controlling, controlled by, or under common
control with the applicant) in Delaware are in compliance
with all applicable emission limitations and standards under
the CAA (or are in compliance with an expeditious schedule
approved by the Department).

Condition 3:  Emission reductions ("offsets")
from existing sources in the area of the proposed source
(whether or not under the same ownership) are required such
that there will be reasonable progress toward attainment of
the applicable NAAQS.  Only intrapollutant emission offsets
will be acceptable (e.g., hydrocarbon increases may not be
offset against SO(reductions)).

Condition 4:  The emission offsets will provide
a positive net air quality benefit in the affected area (see 40
CFR Part 51 App. S).  Atmospheric simulation modeling is
not necessary for volatile organic compounds and NOx.
Fulfillment of Condition 3 will be considered adequate to
meet this condition for volatile organic compounds and NOx.

B. Post-construction monitoring.  The owner or
operator of a major stationary source or major modification
shall, after construction of the stationary source or
modification conduct such ambient monitoring as the
Department determines is necessary to determine the effect
emissions from the stationary source or modification may
have, or are having, on air quality in any area.

C. Operations of monitoring stations.  The owner or
operator of a major stationary source or major modification
shall meet the Quality Assurance Requirements for PSD Air
Monitoring as preapproved by the Department during the
operation of monitoring stations for purposes of satisfying
paragraph 3.10 of this section.

3.11 Source Information.  The owner or operator of
proposed source or modification shall submit all information
necessary to perform any analysis or make any
determination required under this section.
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A.  With respect to a source or modification to which
paragraphs 3.8, 3.10, and 3.12 of this section apply, such
information shall include but not be limited to:

(1) A description of the nature, location, design
capacity and typical operating schedule of the source or
modification, including specifications and drawings showing
its design and plant layout;

(2) A detailed schedule for construction of the
source or modification;

(3) A detailed description as to what system of
continuous emission reduction is planned for the source or
modification, emission estimates, and any other information
necessary to determine that best available control technology
would be applied

B. Upon request of the Department, the owner or
operator shall also provide information on:

(1) The air quality impact of the source or
modification, including meteorological and topographical
data necessary to estimate such impact; and

(2) The air quality impacts, and the nature and
extent of any or all general commercial, residential,
industrial, and other growth which has occurred since
August 7, 1977 or the applicable baseline date(s), in the area
the source or modification would affect.

3.12 Additional Impact Analyses.
A. The owner or operator shall provide an analysis of

the impairment to visibility, soils and vegetation that would
occur as a result of the source or modification and general
commercial, residential, industrial and other growth
associated with the source or modification.  The owner or
operator need not provide an analysis of the impact on
vegetation having no significant commercial or recreational
value.

B. The owner or operator shall provide an analysis of
the air quality impact projected for the area as a result of
general commercial, residential, industrial and other growth
associated with the source or modification.

3.13 Public Participation
A. Within 30 days after receipt of an application to

construct, or any addition to such application, the
Department shall advise the applicant of any deficiency in
the application or in the information submitted.  In the event
of such a deficiency, the date of receipt of the application
shall be, for the purpose of this section, the date on which the
Department received all required information.

B. Within one year after receipt of a complete
application, the Department shall make a final determination
on the application.  This involves performing the following
actions in a timely manner:  

(1) Make a preliminary determination whether
construction should be approved, approved with conditions,
or disapproved.

(2) Make available a copy of all materials the
applicant submitted, a copy of the preliminary
determination, and a copy or summary of other materials, if
any, considered in making the preliminary determination.

(3) Notify the public, by advertisement in a
newspaper of general circulation in each region in which the
proposed source or modification would be constructed, of
the application, the preliminary determination, the degree of
increment consumption that is expected from the source or
modification, and the opportunity for comment at public
hearing as well as written public comment.

(4) Send a copy of the notice of public comment to
the applicant and to officials and agencies having cognizance
over the location where the proposed construction would
occur as follows:  the chief executives of the city and county
where the source or modification would be located and any
comprehensive regional land use planning agency whose
lands may be affected by emissions from the source or
modification. Additionally, if the proposed source would
have significant interstate impact, the Governor of that
impacted state would be notified.

(5) Provide opportunity for a public hearing for
interested persons to appear and submit written or oral
comments on the air quality impact of the source or
modification, alternatives to the source or modification, the
control technology required, and other appropriate
considerations.

(6) Consider all written comments submitted
within a time specified in the notice of public comment and
all comments received at any public hearing(s) in making a
final decision on the approvability of the application.  No
later than ten days after the close of the public comment
period, the applicant may  submit a written response to any
comments submitted by the public.  The Department shall
consider the applicant's response in making a final decision.
The Department shall make all comments available for
public inspection in the same locations where the
Department made available preconstruction information
relating to the proposed source or modification.

(7) Make a final determination whether
construction should be approved, approved with conditions,
or disapproved pursuant to this section.

(8) Notify the applicant in writing of the final
determination and make such notification available for
public inspection at the same location where the Department
made available preconstruction information and public
comments relating to the source or modification.

3.14 Source Obligation.
A. Any owner or operator who constructs or operates a

source or modification not in accordance with the
application submitted pursuant to this section or with the
terms of any approval to construct, or any owner or operator
of a source or modification subject to this section who
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commences construction after the effective date of these
regulations without applying for and receiving approval
hereunder, shall be subject to appropriate enforcement
action.

B. Approval to construct shall become invalid if
construction is not commenced within 18 months after
receipt of such approval, if construction is discontinued for a
period of 18 months or more, or if construction is not
completed within a reasonable time.  The Department may
extend the 18-month period upon a satisfactory showing that
an extension is justified.  This provision does not apply to
the time period between construction of the approved phases
of a phased construction project; each phase must commence
construction within 18 months of the projected and approved
commencement date.

C. Approval to construct shall not relieve any owner or
operator of the responsibility to comply fully with applicable
provisions of any other requirements under local or Federal
law.

D. At such time that a particular source or
modification becomes a major stationary source or major
modification solely by virtue of a relaxation in any
enforceable limitation which was established after August 7,
1980 on the capacity of the source or modification otherwise
to emit a pollutant, such as a restriction on hours of
operation, then the requirements or paragraphs 3.7 through
3.14 of this section shall apply to the source or modification
as though construction had not yet commenced on the source
or modification.

3.15 Innovative Control Technology.
A. An owner or operator of a proposed major

stationary source or major modification may request the
Department in writing no later than 30 days after the close of
the public comment hearing to approve a system of
innovative control technology.

B. The Department shall, with the consent of the
Governor of Delaware, determine that the source or
modification may employ a system of innovative control
technology, if:

(1) The proposed control system would not cause
or contribute to an unreasonable risk to public health,
welfare, or safety in its operation or function;

(2) The owner or operator agrees to achieve a level
of continuous emissions reduction equivalent to that which
would have been required under paragraph 3.7B by a date
specified by the Department.  Such date shall not be later
than four years from the time of startup or seven years from
permit issuance;

(3) The source or modification would meet the
requirements of paragraphs 3.7 and 3.8 based on the
emissions rate that the stationary source employing the
system of innovative control technology would be required

to meet on the date specified by the Department;
(4) The source or modification would not be

before the date specified by the Department:
(i) Cause or contribute to a violation of an

applicable national ambient air quality standard; or
(ii) Impact any Class I area; or
(iii) Impact any area where an applicable

increment is known to be violated; and
(5) All other applicable requirements including

those for public participation have been met.
C. The Department shall withdraw any approval to

employ a system of innovative control technology made
under this section, if:

(1) The proposed system fails before the specified
date to achieve the required continuous emissions reduction
rate; or

(2) The proposed system fails before the specified
date so as to contribute to an unreasonable risk to public
health, welfare, or safety; or

(3) The Department decides at any time that the
proposed system is unlikely to achieve the required level of
control or to protect the public health, welfare, or safety.

D. If a source or modification fails to meet the required
level of continuous emission reduction within the specified
time period or the approval is withdrawn in accordance with
paragraph 3.15C, the Department may allow the source or
modification up to an additional three years to meet the
requirement for the application of best available control
technology through use of a demonstrated system of control.

DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE  

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Amendment to Regulation 31 and its plan for

implementation

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

To amend Regulation 31 (Inspection and Maintenance
Program) as follows:

1. To extend the new model year exemption for
the exhaust idle test from 3 years to 5years.

2. To revise the procedure of the exhaust idle test
for model year vehicles 1981 and newer, whereby the new
procedure would test vehicles at an engine speed of  normal
idle and 2500 rpms, and;

3. To amend Section  3 (c) (1) of the Regulation

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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to specify the VMASTM dynamometer procedure as the
method of evaluating the I/M program.

4. To add a new section to the regulation, titled
Clean Screening whose provisions would allow exempting
vehicles normally required to be tested for exhaust and
evaporative  emissions when those vehicles are at a
inspection facility and the wait time for vehicles at the at end
of the testing queue is 90 minutes or greater.  The new
section describes the model years eligible for the “clean
screen exemption”.  The clean screen exemption is given to
vehicles categorized  by model and model year that have
passed vehicle exhaust emissions inspections in the State of
Colorado. 

To amend the Plan for Implementation of Regulation 31
as follows:

To revise the performance standard modeling to reflect
the change in the new idle test procedure

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
N/A

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

• 7 Del. C. Section 6010
• Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Public Hearing is on April 13, 1999, 6 PM, Richardson

and Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover

PREPARED BY:
Philip A. Wheeler  739-4791,   2/24/99

REGULATION NO. 31

LOW ENHANCED
INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE

PROGRAM

PROPOSED 
SIP REVISION

Prepared by the Delaware Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control
Division of Air and Waste Management
Air Quality Management Section
2/24/99
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REGULATIONS.
Proposed change: Regulation 31 is proposed to be
changed by revising one existing provision and adding four
new provisions as follows:  changing the new model year
exemption for the exhaust emission test from 3 years to 5
years; requiring 1981 and newer model year vehicles to
undergo a new idle test procedure which will be the two
speed idle test; to add a new exemption of vehicle criteria
that is referred in the regulation as clean screening;
amending Section 3 (c) (2): Transient mass emission test
procedure which is reserved in the existing regulation.

Low enhanced Inspection and Maintenance Program
Regulation No. 31

Section 1 - Applicability. 
(a) This program shall be known as the "Low enhanced

Inspection and Maintenance Program" or "LEIM Program",
and shall be identified as such in the balance of this
regulation.

(b) This regulation shall apply to New Castle and Kent
Counties.

(c) This regulation shall apply to all vehicles registered
in the following postal ZIP codes:

19701 19702 19703 19706 19707 19708
19709 19710 19711 19712 19713 19714
19715 19716 19717 19718 19720 19730
19731 19732 19733 19734 19735 19936
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19703 19938 19800 19801 19802 19803
19804 19805 19806 19807 19808 19809
19810 19850 19890 19894 19896 19897
19898 19899 19901 19902 19903 19904
19934 19936 19938 19942 19943 19946
19952 19953 19954 19955 19960 19961
19962 19963* 19964 19977 19979 19980

* Note: If vehicles registered in Sussex County and with
this ZIP code, this  regulation is not applicable.

(d) The legal authority for implementation of the LEIM
Program is contained in 7 Del.C. Chapter 60, §6010(a).
Appendix 1(d) contains the letter from the State of
Delaware, Secretary of the Department to EPA Regional
Administrator, W. Michael McCabe committing to continue
the I/M program through the enforcement of this regulation
out to the attainment year and remain in effect until the
applicable area is redesignated to attainment status and a
Maintenance Plan is approved by the EPA.  7 Del. C.
Chapter 60, §6010(a) does not have a sunset date.

(e) Requirements after attainment. 
This LEIM program shall remain in effect if the

area is redesignated to attainment status, until approval of a
Maintenance Plan, under Section 175A of the Clean Air Act,
which demonstrates that the area can maintain the relevant
standard for the maintenance period (10 years) without
benefit of the emission reductions attributable to the
continuation of the LEIM program.

(f) Definitions
Alternative Fuel Vehicle:  Any vehicle capable of

operating on one or more fuels, none of which are gasoline,
and which is subject to emission testing to the same
stringency as a similar gasoline fueled vehicle.

Certified Repair Technician: Automotive repair
technician certified jointly by the College (or other training
agencies or training companies approved by the Department)
and the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control and the Division of Motor Vehicles as having passed
a recognized course in emission repair. (See Appendix 7 (a))

Certified Manufacturer Repair Technician:
Automotive repair technician certified by the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control and the
Division of Motor Vehicles, as trained in doing emission
repairs on vehicles of a specific manufacturer. (See
Appendix 7 (a))

College: The Delaware Technical and Community
College

Compliance Rate:The percentage of vehicles out of
the total number required to be inspected in any given year
that have completed the inspection process to the point of

receiving a final certificate of compliance or a waiver.

Director:  The Director of the Division of Motor
Vehicles in the Department of Public Safety.

Division:  The Division of Motor Vehicles in the
Department of Public Safety of the State of Delaware.

Department: The Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control of the State of Delaware.

Emissions: Products of combustion and fuel
evaporation discharged into the atmosphere from the
tailpipe, fuel system or any emission control component of a
motor vehicle.

Emissions Inspection Area:  The emissions
inspection area shall constitute the entire counties of New
Castle and Kent.

Emissions Standard(s): The maximum
concentration of hydrocarbons (HC), carbon monoxide (CO)
or oxides of nitrogen (NOX), or any combination thereof,
allowed in the emissions from a motor vehicle as established
by the Secretary, as described in this regulation.

Failed Motor Vehicle: Any motor vehicle
which does not comply with applicable exhaust emission
standards, evaporative system function check requirements
and emission control device inspection requirements during
the initial test or any retest.

Flexible Fuel Vehicle: Any vehicle capable of
operating on more than one fuel type, one of which includes
gasoline, which must be tested to program standards for
gasoline.  This is in contrast to alternative fuel vehicles.

Going Concern: An individual or business with a
primary, full time interest in the repair of motor vehicles.

GPM: Grams per mile (grams of emissions per
mile of travel).

Manufacturer’s Gross Vehicle Weight:The vehicle
gross weight as designated by the manufacturer as the total
weight of the vehicle and its maximum allowable load.

Model Year: The year of manufacture of a vehicle
as designated by the manufacturer, or the model year
designation assigned by the Division to a vehicle constructed
by other than the original manufacturer.

Motor Vehicle: Includes every vehicle, as defined
in 21 Del. Code, Section 101, which is self-propelled, except
farm tractors, off-highway vehicles, motorcycles and
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mopeds.

Motor Vehicle Technician:A person who has
completed an approved emissions inspection equipment
training program and is employed or under contract with the
State of Delaware.

New Motor Vehicle: A motor vehicle of the
current or preceding model year that has never been
previously titled or registered in this or any other jurisdiction
and whose ownership document remains as a manufacturer's
certificate of origin, unregistered vehicle title.

Official Inspection Station:All official Motor
Vehicle Inspection Stations located in New Castle and Kent
counties, operated by, or under the auspices of, the Division.

Operator: An employee or contractor of the
State of Delaware performing any function related to motor
vehicle inspections in the State.

Performance Standard: The complete matrix of
emission factors derived from the analysis of the model
program as defined in 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S, by using
EPA's computerized Mobile5a emission factor model.  This
matrix of emission factors is dependent upon various speeds,
pollutants and evaluation years.

PFI:The Plan for Implementation of Regulation No.
31, which can be also considered to be the technical support
document for that regulation.

Reasonable Cost: The actual cost of parts and labor
which is necessary to cause the failed motor vehicle to
comply with applicable emissions standards or which
contributes towards compliance.  It shall not include the cost
of those repairs determined by the Division to be necessary
due to the alteration or removal of any part of the emission
control system of the motor vehicle, or due to any damage
resulting from the use of improper fuel in the failed motor
vehicle. 

Registration Fraud: Any attempt by a vehicle
owner or operator to circumvent the requirements to
properly and legally register any motor vehicle in the State
of Delaware.

Secretary: The Secretary of the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control.

Stringency Rate: The tailpipe emission test failure
rate expected in an I/M program among pre-1981 model year
passenger cars or pre-1984 light-duty trucks.

Vehicle Type:EPA classification of motor vehicles

by weight class which includes the terms light duty and
heavy duty vehicle.

Waiver: An exemption issued to a motor vehicle
that cannot comply with the applicable exhaust emissions
standard and cannot be repaired for a reasonable cost.

Waiver Rate:The number of vehicles receiving
waivers expressed as a percentage of vehicles failing the
initial exhaust emission test.

Section 2 -Low Enhanced I/M Performance Standard. 
(a) On-road testing:

The performance standard shall include on-road
testing of at least 0.5% of the subject vehicle population, or
20,000 vehicles whichever is less, as a supplement to the
periodic inspection required in paragraph (a) of  Section 3.
The requirements are contained in Section 12 of this
regulation.

(b) On-board diagnostics (OBD): [Reserved]

Section 3 - Network Type And Program Evaluation. 
(a) The LEIM Program shall be a test-only, centralized

system operated in New Castle and Kent Counties by the
State of Delaware's Division of Motor Vehicles.

(1) Network type:
Centralized testing.

(2) Start date:
January 1, 1995

(3) Test frequency:
Biennial testing.

(4) Model year coverage:
Idle and two-speed idle test of all covered

vehicles: Model years 1968 and newer for light duty vehicles
and model years 1970 and newer for light duty trucks with
the exception of the five most recent model years.  

(5) Vehicle type coverage:
Light duty vehicles, and light duty trucks, rated

up to 8,500 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR).
(6) Exhaust emission test type:

(i) Idle test of all covered vehicles: Model
years 1968 and newer through 1980 for light duty vehicles
and model years 1970 and newer through 1980 for light duty
trucks according to the requirements found in Appendix 6
(a).

(ii) Two-speed idle test (vehicle engine at idle
and 2500 revolutions per minute (rpm) of all covered
vehicles model years 1981 and newer according to the
requirements found in Appendix 6 (a).

(7) Emission standards:
 (Emissions limits according to model year

may be found in Appendix 3 (a) (7) )
Maximum exhaust dilution measured at no less

than 6% CO plus carbon dioxide (CO2) on all tested vehicles
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(as described in Appendix B of the EPA Rule).
(8) Emission control device inspections:

Visual inspection of the catalyst on all 1975
and later model year vehicles with the exception of new
motor vehicles registered in Delaware.

(9) Evaporative system function checks:
Evaporative system integrity (pressure) test on

1975 and later model year vehicles with the exception of the
five most recent model years.

(10) Stringency:
A 20% emission test failure rate among

pre-1981 model year vehicles.
(11)  Waiver rate:

A 3%  rate, as a percentage of failed vehicles.
(12) Compliance rate:

A 96% compliance rate.
(13) Evaluation date:

Low enhanced I/M program areas subject to
the provisions of this paragraph shall be shown to obtain the
same or lower emission levels as the model program
described in this paragraph by 2000 for ozone nonattainment
areas and 2001 for CO nonattainment areas, and for severe
and extreme ozone nonattainment areas, on each applicable
milestone and attainment deadline, thereafter.  Milestones
for NOX  shall be the same as for ozone..

(b) On-board diagnostics (OBD):[Reserved]
(c)  Program Evaluation

(1) Program evaluation shall be used in
determining actual emission reductions achieved from the
LEIM program for the purposes of satisfying the
requirements of sections 182(g)(1) and 182(g)(2) of the
Clean Air Act, relating to reductions in emissions and
compliance demonstration.  

(2) Transient mass emission test procedure:
Reserved.  A randomly selected number of subject vehicles
that are due to be tested according to the requirements of this
regulation will be required to undergo, in addition to the
required tests, an alternative test porcedure to provide
information for the purpose of evaluating the overall
effectiveness of the Low Enhanced Inspection and
Maintenance Program.  The test is referred to as the

VMASTM   method.  See Appendix 3 (c) (2).

Section 4 - Test Frequency And Convenience.  
(a) The LEIM Program shall be operated on a biennial

frequency, which requires an inspection of each subject
vehicle at least once every two years, regardless of any
change in vehicle status, at an official inspection station.
New vehicles must be presented for LEIM program testing
not more than 36 60 months after initial titling.

(b) This system of inspections and registration
renewals allows the additional benefit of coupling both
enforcement systems together.  Local, County and State

police shall continue to enforce registration requirements,
which shall require inspection in order to come into
compliance .  Requirements of inspection of motor vehicles
before receiving a vehicle registration is found in the
Delaware Criminal and Traffic manual Title 21 Chapter 21.
Violations of registration provisions and the resulting
penalties are found in the Delaware Criminal and Traffic
Law Manual, Title 21, Chapter 21.  One 60 day extension
shall be available to allow testing and repair.(See Appendix
4 (a) for the citations)

(c) Stations shall be open to the public at hours
designed for maximum public convenience.  These hours
shall equal a minimum of 42 hours per week.  Stations shall
remain open continuously through the designated hours, and
every vehicle presented for inspection during these hours
shall receive a test prior to the daily closing of the station.
Testing hours shall be Monday and Tuesday: 8:00 am to 4:30
pm, Wednesday: 12 noon to 8 pm, Thursday and Friday 8:00
am to 4:30 pm. These hours may be subject to change by the
State. Official inspection stations shall adhere to regular,
extended testing hours and shall test any subject vehicle
presented for a test during its test period.  

Section 5 - Vehicle Coverage.  
(a) Subject Vehicles

 The LEIM program is based on coverage of all
1968 and later model year, gasoline powered, light duty
vehicles and 1970 and later model year light duty trucks up
to 8,500 pounds GVWR (with the exception of the five most
recent model years).  The following is the complete
description of the LEIM program:

Vehicles registered or required to be registered
within the emission inspection area, and fleets primarily
operated within the emissions inspection area boundaries
and belonging to the covered model years and vehicle
classes comprise the subject vehicles, which are as follows:
(See Appendix 5 (a) for DMV Out of State Renewals)

(1) All vehicles titled/registered in Delaware from
model year 1968 light duty vehicles and 1970 and later
model year light duty trucks and whose vehicle type are
subject to the applicable test schedule.

(2) All subject fleet vehicles shall be inspected at
an official inspection station. 

(3) Subject vehicles which are registered in the
program area but are primarily operated in another LEIM
area shall be tested, either in the area of primary operation,
or in the area of registration.  Alternate schedules may be
established to permit convenient testing of these vehicles
(e.g., vehicles belonging to students away at college should
be rescheduled for testing during a visit home).

(4) Vehicles which are operated on Federal
installations located within an emission inspection shall be
tested, regardless of whether the vehicles are registered in
the emission inspection jurisdiction.  This requirement
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applies to all employee-owned or leased vehicles (including
vehicles owned, leased, or operated by civilian and military
personnel on Federal installations) as well as agency-owned
or operated vehicles, except tactical military vehicles,
operated on the installation.  This requirement shall not
apply to visiting agency, employee, or military personnel
vehicles as long as such visits do not exceed 60 calendar
days per year.  In areas without test fees collected in the lane,
arrangements shall be made by the installation with the
LEIM program for reimbursement of the costs of tests
provided for agency vehicles, at the discretion of the
Director. The installation manager shall provide
documentation of proof of compliance to the Director.  The
documentation shall include a list of subject vehicles and
shall be updated periodically, as determined by the Director,
but no less frequently than each inspection cycle.  The
installation shall use one of the following methods to
establish proof of compliance:

(i) Presentation of a valid certificate of
compliance from the LEIM program, from any other LEIM
program at least as stringent as the LEIM program described
herein, or from any program deemed acceptable by the
Director.

(ii) Presentation of proof of vehicle
registration within the geographic area covered by the LEIM
program, except for any Inspection and Maintenance
program whose enforcement is not through registration
denial.

(iii) Another method approved by the Director.
(5) Vehicles powered solely by a "clean fuel" such

as compressed natural gas, propane, alcohol and similar non-
gasoline fuels shall be required to report for inspection to the
same emission levels as gasoline powered cars until
standards for clean fuel vehicles become available and are
adopted by the State.  

(6) Vehicles able to be powered by more than one
fuel, such as compressed natural gas and/or gasoline, must
be tested and pass emissions standards for all fuels when
such standards have become adopted by the Department..

(b) Exemptions
The following motor vehicles are exempt from the

provisions of this regulation:
(1) Vehicles manufactured and registered as Kit

Cars
(2) Tactical military vehicles used exclusively for

military field operations.
(3) All motor vehicles with a manufacturer's gross

vehicle weight over 8,500  pounds.
(4) All motorcycles and mopeds
(5) All vehicles powered solely by electricity

generated from solar cells and/or stored in batteries.
(6) Non-road sources, or vehicles not operated on

public roads
(7) Vehicles powered solely by Diesel fuel.

(c) Any exemption from inspection requirements
issued to a vehicle under this Section shall not have an
expiration date and shall expire only upon a change in the
vehicle status for which the exemption was initially granted.  

(d) Fleet owners are required to have all non-exempted
vehicles under their control inspected at an official
inspection station during regular station hours. 

(e) Vehicles shall be pre-inspected prior to the emission
inspection, and shall be prohibited from testing should any
unsafe conditions be found.  These unsafe conditions
include, but are not limited to significant exhaust leaks, and
significant fluid leaks.  The Division and the Department
shall not be responsible for major vehicle component failures
during the test, of parts which were deficient or excessively
worn prior to the start of the test.

(f) Clean Screening: Vehicle types (name of
manufacturer, model, model  year and engine type) that are
subject to this regulation and have met clean emissions
criteria developed by the Division of Motor Vehicles, may be
exempt from the two speed idle exhaust emissions test and
the evaporative emissions test (except for a fuel cap pressure
test) if warranted by queue conditions at the inspection lanes.
Each Delaware inspection lane shall independently control
clean screen activation.  Clean screen mode shall occur when
the inspection lane queue exceeds 60 minutes.  The Lane
Manager (or designee) must advise inspection personnel to
activate the process.  Once a queue reduction to less than 60
minutes takes place, reversion to the normal testing protocol
shall occur. (See Appendix 5(f) Clean Screening Vehicle
Exemption)
Section 6 -Test Procedures And Standards.  

(a) Test procedure requirements. (The test procedure
use to perform this test shall conform to the requirements
shown in Appendix 6 (a)).  

(1) Initial tests (i.e., those occurring for the first
time in a test cycle) shall be performed without repair or
adjustment at the inspection facility, prior to the test. 

(2) An official test, once initiated, shall be
performed in its entirety regardless of intermediate outcomes
except in the case of invalid test condition or unsafe
conditions.

(3) Tests involving measurements shall be
performed with equipment that has been calibrated
according to the quality control procedures established by
the Department

(4) Vehicles shall be rejected from testing, as
covered in this section, if the exhaust system is missing or
leaking, or if the vehicle is in an unsafe condition for testing.

(5) After an initial failure of any portion of any
emission test in the LEIM program, all vehicles shall be
retested without repairs being  performed.  This retest shall
be indicated on the records as the second chance test. After
failure of the second chance test, prior to any subsequent
retests, proof of appropriate repairs must be submitted
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indicating the type of repairs and parts installed (if any).
This shall be done by completing the “Vehicle Emissions
Repair Report Form” (Appendix 6 (a) (5) which will be
distributed to anyone failing the emissions test.)   

(6) Idle testing using BAR 90 emission analyzers
(analyzers that have been certified by the California Bureau
of Automotive Repair) shall be performed on all 1968
through current (minus three years five years) model year
vehicles in New Castle and Kent Counties.

(7) Emission control device inspection.
Visual emission control device checks shall be

performed through direct observation or through indirect
observation using a mirror.  These inspections shall include a
determination as to whether each subject device is present.

(8) Evaporative System Integrity Test. Vehicles
shall fail the evaporative system integrity test(s) if the
system(s) cannot maintain the equivalent pressure of eight
inches of water using USEPA approved fast pass
methodology.  Additionally, vehicles shall fail evaporative
system integrity testing if the canister is missing or
obviously disconnected, the hoses are crimped off, or the
fuel cap is missing. Evaporative system integrity test
procedure  is found in See Appendix 6 (a) (8) .

(9) On-board diagnostic checks.
[Reserved]

(b) Test standards
(1) Emissions standards.

HC, CO, CO+CO2 (or CO2 alone), emission
standards shall be applicable to all vehicles subject to the
LEIM program and repairs shall be required for failure of
any standard regardless of the attainment status of the area.

(i) Steady-state short tests.
Appropriate model program standards

shall be used in idle testing of vehicles from model years
1968 light duty vehicles and model years 1970 light duty
trucks and newer.

(2) Visual equipment inspection standards
performed by the Motor Vehicle Technician.

(i) Vehicles shall fail visual inspections of
subject emission control devices if such devices are part of
the original certified configuration and are found to be
missing, modified, disconnected, or improperly connected.

(3) On-board diagnostics test standards.
[Reserved].

(c) Applicability.
In general, section 203(a)(3)(A) of the Clean Air

Act prohibits altering a vehicle's configuration such that it
changes from a certified to a non-certified configuration.  In
the inspection process, vehicles that have been altered from
their original certified configuration are to be tested by the
Motor Vehicle Technician in the same manner as other
subject vehicles.  

(1) Vehicles with engines of a model year older
than the chassis model year shall be required to pass the

standards commensurate with the chassis model year.
(2) Vehicles that have been switched from an

engine of one fuel type to another fuel type that is subject to
the LEIM program (e.g., from a diesel engine to a gasoline
engine) shall be subject to the test procedures and standards
for the current fuel type, and to the requirements of
paragraph (c)(1) of this section.

(3) Vehicles that are switched to a fuel type for
which there is no certified configuration shall be tested
according to the most stringent emission standards
established for that vehicle type and model year.  Emission
control device requirements may be waived if the Division
determines that the alternatively fueled vehicle configuration
would meet the new vehicle standards for that model year
without such devices.

(4) Vehicles converted to run on alternate fuels,
frequently called a dual-fuel vehicle, shall be tested and
required to pass the most stringent standard for each fuel
type.

(5) Mixing vehicle classes (e.g., light-duty with
heavy-duty) and certification types (e.g., California with
Federal) within a single vehicle configuration shall be
considered tampering.

Section 7 - Waivers And Compliance Via Diagnostic
Inspection.  

(a) Waiver issuance criteria.
(1) Motorists shall expend a reasonable cost, as

defined in Section 1 of this Regulation in order to qualify for
a waiver.  Effective January 1, 1997 for vehicles registered in
New Castle County and July 1, 1997 for vehicles registered
in Kent County, in order to qualify for waiver repairs on any
1981 or later model year vehicle shall be performed by a
certified repair technician or a certified manufacturer repair
technician, as defined in Section 1 of this regulation, and
must have been appropriate to correct the emission failure.
Repairs of primary emission control components may be
performed by non-technicians (e.g., owners) to apply toward
the waiver limit.  The waiver would apply to the cost of parts
for the repair or replacement of the following list of emission
control component systems: Air induction system (air filter,
oxygen sensor), catalytic converter system (convertor,
preheat catalyst), thermal reactor, EGR system (valve,
passage/hose, sensor) PCV System, air injection system (air
pump, check valve), ignition system  (distributor, ignition
wires, coil, spark plugs).  The cost of any hoses, gaskets,
belts, clamps, brackets or other emission accessories directly
associated with these components may also be applied to the
waiver limit. 

(2) Any available warranty coverage shall be used
to obtain needed repairs before expenditures can be counted
towards the cost limits in paragraph (a)(4) of this section.
The operator of a vehicle within the statutory age and
mileage coverage under section 207(b) of the Clean Air Act
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shall present a written denial of warranty coverage from the
manufacturer or authorized dealer for this provision to be
waived for approved tests applicable to the vehicle.

(3) Receipts shall be submitted for review to
further verify that qualifying repairs were performed.

(4) A minimum expenditure for repairs  of $75 for
pre-81 model year vehicles or a minimum expenditure  of
$200 for 1981 model year and newer vehicles shall be spent
in order to qualify for a waiver.  The minimum repair cost for
1981 and newer vehicles shall increase to $450 starting
January 1, 2000. For each subsequent year,  the $450
minimum expenditure shall be adjusted in January of that
year by the percentage, if any, by which the Consumer Price
Index for the preceding calendar year differs from the
Consumer Price Index for 1989.

(5) The issuance of a waiver applies only to those
vehicles failing an exhaust emission tests.  No waivers are
granted to vehicles failing the evaporative emission integrity
test.

(6) Waivers shall be issued by the Division
Director only after:

(i) a vehicle has failed a retest for only the
exhaust emissions portions of the program, performed after
all qualifying repairs have been completed;

(ii)  and a minimum of 10% improvement
(reduction) in hydrocarbons (HC) and carbon monoxide
(CO) has resulted from those repairs. This requirement
[Section 7 (a) (6) (ii)] will cease to be  in effect starting
January 1, 2000.  

(7) Qualifying repairs include repairs of primary
emission control components performed within 90 days of
the test date.

(8) Waivers issued pursuant to this regulation are
valid until the date of current registration expiration.

(9) Waivers will not be issued to vehicles for
tampering-related repairs.  The cost of tampering-related
repairs shall not be applicable to the minimum expenditure
in paragraph (a)(4) of this section.  The Director will issue
exemptions for tampering-related repairs if it can be verified
that the part in question or one similar to it is no longer
available for sale

(b) Compliance via diagnostic inspection.
Vehicles subject to an emission test at the cutpoints

shown in Appendix 3 (a)(7) of Regulation 31 may be issued
a certificate of compliance without meeting the prescribed
emission cutpoints, if, after failing a retest on emissions, a
complete, documented physical and functional diagnosis and
inspection performed by a Delaware Certified Emission
Repair Technician shows that no additional emission-related
repairs are needed.

(c) (1) In order to meet the requirements of the EPA
Rule, the State commits to maintaining a waiver rate equal to
or less than 3% of the failed vehicles.  

(2) The Secretary shall take corrective action to

lower the waiver rate should the actual rate reported to EPA
be above 3%.  

(3) Actions to achieve the 3% waiver rate, if
required, shall include measures such as not issuing waivers
on vehicles less than 6 years old, raising minimum
expenditure rates, and limiting waivers to once every four
years.  If the waiver rate cannot be lowered to levels
committed to in the SIP, or if the State chooses not to
implement measures to do so, then the Secretary shall revise
the I/M emission reduction projections in the SIP and shall
implement other LEIM program changes needed to ensure
the performance standard is met.  

Section 8 - Motorist Compliance Enforcement.   
(a) Registration denial.

Registration denial enforcement (See Appendix 8
(a), the Systems Requirement Definition  for the Registration
Denial process) is defined as rejecting an application for
initial registration or re-registration of a used vehicle (i.e., a
vehicle being registered after the initial retail sale and
associated registration) unless the vehicle has complied with
the LEIM program requirement prior to granting the
application. This enforcement is the express responsibility of
the Division with the assistance of police agencies for on
road inspection and verification. The law governing the
registration of motor vehicles is found in the Delaware
Criminal and Traffic Law Manual, Title 21, Chapter 21.
Pursuant to section 207(g)(3) of the Act, nothing in this
section shall be construed to require that new vehicles shall
receive emission testing prior to initial retail sale.  In
designing its enforcement program, the Director shall:

(1) Provide an external, readily visible means of
determining vehicle compliance with the registration
requirement to facilitate enforcement of the LEIM program.
This shall be in the form of a window sticker and tag sticker
which clearly indicate the vehicles compliance status and
next inspection date;

(2) Adopt a schedule of biennial testing that
clearly determines when a vehicle shall have to be inspected
to comply prior to (re)registration;

(3) Design a registration denial system which
features the electronic transfer of information from the
inspection lanes to the Division's Data Base, and monitors
the following information:

(i) Expiration date of the registration;
(ii) Unambiguous vehicle identification

information; and
(iii) Whether the vehicle received either a

waiver or a certificate of compliance, and;
(iv) The Division's unique windshield

certificate identification number to verify authenticity; and
(v) The Division shall finally check the

inspection data base to ensure all program requirements have
been met before issuing a vehicle registration.
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(4) Ensure that evidence of testing is available and
checked for validity at the time of a new registration of a
used vehicle or registration renewal.

(5) Prevent owners or lessors from avoiding
testing through manipulation of the title or registration
system;  title transfers do not re-start the clock on the
inspection cycle.

(6) Limit and track the use of time extensions of
the registration requirement to only one 60 day extension per
vehicle to prevent repeated extensions.

(b) (1) (i) Owners of subject vehicles must provide
valid proof of having received a passing test or a waiver to
the Director’s representative in order to receive registration
from the Division.

(ii) State and local enforcement branches,
such as police agencies, as part of this program, shall cite
motorist who do not visibly display evidence of compliance
with the registration and inspection requirements.

(iii) Fleet and all other registered applicable
vehicle compliance shall be assured through the regular
enforcement mechanisms concurrent with registration
renewal, on-road testing and parking lot observation.  Fleets
shall be inspected at official inspection stations.

(iv) Federal fleet compliance shall be assured
through the cooperation of the federal fleet managers as well
as also being subject to regular enforcement operations of
the Division.

Section 9 - Enforcement Against Operators And Motor
Vehicle Technicians.   

(a) Imposition of penalties
The State of Delaware shall continue to operate the

LEIM program using State of Delaware Employees for all
functions.  Should enforcement actions be required for
violations of program requirements, the Agreement between
State of Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor
Vehicle Division and Council 81 of the American Federation
of State, County and Municipal Employees, Section 8,
Disciplinary Action, and, the State of Delaware Merit Rules,
shall be adhered to in all matters.  Applicable provisions of
these documents are found in Appendix 9 (a).

(b) Legal authority.
(1) The Director shall have the authority to

temporarily suspend station Motor Vehicle Technicians'
certificates immediately upon finding a violation or upon
finding the Motor Vehicle Technician administered emission
tests with equipment which had a known failure and that
directly affects emission reduction benefits, in accordance
with the Agreement between State of Delaware Department
of Public Safety Motor Vehicle Division and Council 81 of
the American Federation of State, County and Municipal
Employees, Section 8 Disciplinary Action.

(2) The Director shall have the authority to impose
disciplinary action against the station manager or the Motor

Vehicle Technician, even if the manager had no direct
knowledge of the violation but was found to be careless in
oversight of motor vehicle technicians or has a history of
violations, in accordance with the Agreement between State
of Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle
Division and Council 81 of the American Federation of
State, County and Municipal Employees, and the State of
Delaware Merit Rules.  The lane manager shall be held fully
responsible for performance of the motor vehicle technician
in the course of duty.

Section 10 - Improving Repair Effectiveness.  
A prerequisite for a retest shall be a completed repair

form that indicates which repairs were performed. (See
Section 6 (a) (5) of this Regulation).

Section 11 - Compliance With Recall Notices.  
[Reserved]

Section 12 - On-Road Testing.  
(a) Periodic random Delaware registered vehicle

pullovers on Delaware highways will occur without prior
notice to the public for on-road vehicle exhaust emission
testing.

(b) Vehicles identified by the on-road testing portion of
the LEIM program shall be notified of the requirement for an
out-of-cycle emission retest , and shall have 30 days from
the date of the notice to appear for inspection.  Vehicles not
appearing for a retest shall be out of compliance, and be
liable for penalties under Title 21 of  Delaware Criminal and
Traffic Law Manual and the Division will take action to
suspend the vehicle registration.

Section 13 - Implementation Deadlines.  
All requirements related to the LEIM program shall be

effective ten days after the Secretary’s order has been signed
and published in the State Register except for the following
provisions that have been amended to this regulation:

Date of Implementation
(a) Five year new model

year exemption from the
idle and two speed idle tests September 1, 1999

(b) Two-speed idle test (vehicle
at idle and 2500 rpm)
of all covered vehicles model
years 1981 and newer November 1, 1999

(c) Clean Screen exemptions. January 1, 2000
(d) Program Evaluation using

VMASTM  test procedure. January 1, 2000

This regulation supersedes the existing Regulation
Numbers 26 and 33 for Kent and New Castle Counties
effective ten days after the Secretary’s order has been signed
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and published in the State Register.

PROPOSED AMENDED
APPENDIX 2 - (b)

INPUT AND OUTPUT FILES RELATING TO 
MOBILE5A ANALYSIS

MOBILE5A LOCAL INPUT SOURCES AND 
CALCULATIONS

RESULTS OF MODELLING ANALYSIS
AND CLEAN SCREEN ANALYSIS

This document may be reviewed during normal business
hours (8:30 am – 4 pm) Monday through Friday at the Air
Quality Management Section Office, 156 South State Street,
Dover. For more information call Philip Wheeler at 302/739-
4791

APPENDIX 3 (c) (2)

VMASTM TEST PROCEDURES 

Proposed Amendment to Regulation 31

General Requirements
(1) Test Parameters. The following information shall be

determined for the vehicle being tested and used to
automatically select the dynamometer inertia, power
absorption settings, and evaporative emission test
parameters.

(i) Model Year
(ii) Manufacturer
(iii) Model name
(iv) Body style
(v) Number of cylinders
(vi) Engine displacement
Alternative computerized methods of selecting

dynamometer test conditions, such as VIN de-coding, may
be used.

(2) Ambient Conditions. The ambient temperature,
absolute humidity, and barometric pressure shall be recorded
continuously during the transient test, or as a single set of
readings if taken less than 4 minutes prior to the transient
driving cycle.

(3) Restart. If shut off, the vehicle shall be restarted as
soon as possible before the test and shall be running at least
30 seconds prior to the transient driving cycle.

(4) During the entire VMASTM  testing procedure the
vehicle shall be operated by a certified Motor Vehicle
Technician (herein called inspector) and the vehicle owner or
operator shall be asked to wait in a specified area during the
test.

Pre-inspection and Preparation
(1) Accessories. All accessories (air conditioning, heat,

defogger, radio, automatic traction control if switchable,
etc.) shall be turned off by the inspector, if necessary.

(2) Traction Control and Four-Wheel Drive (4WD).
Vehicles with traction control systems that cannot be turned
off shall not be tested on two wheel drive dynamometers.
Vehicles with 4WD that cannot be turned off shall only be
tested on 4WD dynamometers. If the 4WD function can be
disabled, then 4WD vehicles may be tested on two wheel
drive dynamometers.

(3) Leaks. The vehicle shall be inspected for exhaust
leaks. Audio assessment while blocking exhaust flow, or
measurement of carbon dioxide or other gases, shall be
acceptable. Vehicles with leaking exhaust systems shall be
rejected from testing.

(4) Operating Temperature. The vehicle temperature
gauge, if equipped and operating, shall be checked to assess
temperature. If the temperature gauge indicates that the
engine is well below (less than 180(F) normal operating
temperature, the vehicle shall not be fast-failed and shall get
a second-chance emission test if it fails the initial test for any
criteria exhaust component. Vehicles in overheated condition
shall be rejected from testing.

(5) Tire Condition. Vehicles shall be rejected from
testing if tire cords, bubbles, cuts, or other damage are
visible. Vehicles shall be rejected that have space-saver spare
tires on the drive axle. Vehicles may be rejected if they do
not have reasonably sized tires. Vehicle tires shall be visually
checked for adequate pressure level. Drive wheel tires that
appear low shall be inflated to approximately 30 psi, or to
tire side wall pressure, or manufacturer's recommendation.
The tires of vehicles being tested for the purposes of
program evaluation under §51.353(c) shall have their tires
inflated to tire side wall pressure.

(6) Ambient Background. [RESERVED]
(7) Sample System Purge.  [RESERVED]

Equipment Positioning and Settings
(1) Purge Equipment. If an evaporative system flow

meter purge test is to be performed:
(i) The purge flow meter shall be connected in

series between the evaporative canister and the engine.
(ii) All hoses disconnected for the test shall be

reconnected after a purge flow test is performed.
(2) Roll Rotation. The vehicle shall be maneuvered

onto the dynamometer with the drive wheels positioned on
the dynamometer rolls. Prior to test initiation, the rolls shall
be rotated until the vehicle laterally stabilizes on the
dynamometer. Drive wheel tires shall be dried if necessary to
prevent slippage during the initial acceleration.

(3) Cooling System. The use of a cooling system is
optional when testing at temperatures below 50(F).
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Furthermore, the hood may be opened at the state's
discretion. If a cooling system is in  use, testing shall not
begin until the cooling system is positioned and activated.
The cooling system shall be positioned to direct air to the
vehicle cooling system, but shall not be directed at the
catalytic converter.

(4) Vehicle Restraint. Testing shall not begin until the
vehicle is restrained. Any restraint system shall meet the
requirements of the Code of Federal Regulations Title 40,
§85.2226(a)(5)(vii). The parking brake shall be set for front
wheel drive vehicles prior to the start of the test. The parking
brake need not be set for vehicles that release the parking
brake automatically when the transmission is put in gear.

(5) Dynamometer Settings. Dynamometer power
absorption and inertia weight settings shall be automatically
chosen from an EPA-supplied electronic look-up table which
will be referenced based upon the vehicle identification
information obtained in Code of Federal Regulations Title
40, §85.2221(a)(1). Vehicles not listed shall be tested using
default power absorption and inertia settings in the latest
version of the EPA I/M Look-up Table, as posted on EPA's
web site: www.epa.gov/orcdizux/im.htm

(6) Exhaust Collection System. The exhaust collection
system shall be positioned to insure complete capture of the
entire exhaust stream from the tailpipe during the transient
driving cycle. The system shall meet the requirements of
§85.2226(b)(2) in the Code of Federal Regulations Title 40,.

Vehicle Conditioning
(1)  Queuing Time.  Not applicable

(2) Program Evaluation. Vehicles being tested for the
purpose of program evaluation under Section 3 (c) (2) shall
receive two full VMAS emission tests (i.e., a full 240
seconds each). Results from both tests and the test order
shall be separately recorded in the test record. Emission
scores and results provided to the motorist may be from
either test.

(3) Discretionary Preconditioning.

(i) Any vehicle may be preconditioned by
maneuvering the vehicle on to the dynamometer and driving
the 94 to 239 second segment of the transient cycle in §
85.2221(e)(1) Code of Federal Regulations Title 40,. This
method has been demonstrated to adequately precondition
the vast majority of vehicles (SAE 962091). Other
preconditioning cycles may be developed and used if
approved by the Administrator of the  USEPA.

(4) Second-Chance Purge Testing. Not applicable

Vehicle Emission Test Sequence
(1) Transient Driving Cycle. The vehicle shall be

driven over the following cycle:

Table A

Time Speed Time Speed Time Speed Time Speed Time Speed Time Speed

(sec) (mph) (sec) (mph) (sec) (mph) (sec) (mph) (sec) (mph) (sec) (mph)

0 0.0 40 17.7 80 32.2 120 18.1 160 33.5 200 56.7

1 0.0 41 19.8 81 32.4 121 18.6 161 36.2 201 56.7

2 0.0 42 21.6 82 32.2 122 20.0 162 37.3 202 56.3

3 0.0 43 23.2 83 31.7 123 20.7 163 39.3 203 56.0

4 0.0 44 24.2 84 28.6 124 21.7 164 40.5 204 55.0

5 3.0 45 24.6 85 25.1 125 22.4 165 42.1 205 53.4

6 5.9 46 24.9 86 21.6 126 22.5 166 43.5 206 51.6

7 8.6 47 25.0 87 18.1 127 22.1 167 45.1 207 1.8

8 11.5 48 25.7 88 14.6 128 21.5 168 46.0 208 52.1

9 14.3 49 26.1 89 11.1 129 20.9 169 46.8 209 52.5

10 16.9 50 26.7 90 7.6 130 20.4 170 47.5 210 53.0

11 17.3 51 27.5 91 4.1 131 19.8 171 47.5 211 53.5
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(2) Driving Trace.  The inspector shall follow an
electronic, visual depiction of the time/speed relationship of
the transient driving cycle (hereinafter, the trace).  The visual
depiction of the trace shall be of sufficient magnification and
adequate detail to allow accurate tracking by the inspector/
driver and shall permit anticipation of  upcoming speed

changes.  The trace shall also clearly indicate gear shifts as
specified in  paragraph (3) and Table B below.

(3) Shift Schedule. To identify gear changes for manual
shift vehicles, the driving display presented to the inspector/
driver shall be designed according to the following shift
schedule and prominently display visual cues where the
inspector/driver is required to change gears:

12 18.1 52 28.6 92 0.6 132 17.0 172 47.3 212 54.0

13 20.7 53 29.3 93 0.0 133 17.1 173 47.2 213 54.9

14 21.7 54 29.8 94 0.0 134 15.8 174 47.2 214 55.4

15 22.4 55 30.1 95 0.0 135 15.8 175 47.4 215 55.6

16 22.5 56 30.4 96 0.0 136 17.7 176 47.9 216 56.0

17 22.1 57 30.7 97 0.0 137 19.8 177 48.5 217 56.0

18 21.5 58 30.7 98 3.3 138 21.6 178 49.1 218 55.8

19 20.9 59 30.5 99 6.6 139 22.2 179 49.5 219 55.2

20 20.4 60 30.4 100 9.9 140 24.5 180 50.0 220 54.5

21 19.8 61 30.3 101 13.2 141 24.7 181 50.6 221 53.6

22 17.0 62 30.4 102 16.5 142 24.8 182 51.0 222 52.5

23 14.9 63 30.8 103 19.8 143 24.7 183 51.5 223 51.5

24 14.9 64 30.4 104 22.2 144 24.6 184 52.2 224 50.5

25 15.2 65 29.9 105 24.3 145 24.6 185 53.2 225 48.0

26 15.5 66 29.5 106 25.8 146 25.1 186 54.1 226 44.5

27 16.0 67 29.8 107 26.4 147 25.6 187 54.6 227 41.0

28 17.1 68 30.3 108 25.7 148 25.7 188 54.9 228 37.5

29 19.1 69 30.7 109 25.1 149 25.4 189 55.0 229 34.0

30 21.1 70 30.9 110 24.7 150 24.9 190 54.9 230 30.5

31 22.7 71 31.0 111 25.2 151 25.0 191 54.6 231 27.0

32 22.9 72 30.9 112 25.4 152 25.4 192 54.6 232 23.5

33 22.7 73 30.4 113 27.2 153 26.0 193 54.8 233 20.0

34 22.6 74 29.8 114 26.5 154 26.0 194 55.1 234 16.5

35 21.3 75 29.9 115 24.0 155 25.7 195 55.5 235 13.0

36 19.0 76 30.2 116 22.7 156 26.1 196 55.7 236 9.5

37 17.1 77 30.7 117 19.4 157 26.7 197 56.1 237 6.0

38 15.8 78 31.2 118 17.7 158 27.3 198 56.3 238 2.5

39 15.8 79 31.8 119 17.2 159 30.5 199 56.6 239 0.0

(sec) (mph) (sec) (mph) (sec) (mph) (sec) (mph) (sec) (mph) (sec) (mph)
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Table B

Gear shifts shall occur at the points in the driving
cycle where the specified speeds are obtained. For vehicles
with fewer than six forward gears the same schedule shall be
followed with shifts above the highest gear disregarded.

Automatic shift vehicles with overdrive or fuel
economy drive modes shall be driven in those modes.

(4) Speed Excursion Limits.  Speed excursion limits
shall apply as follows:

(i) The upper limit is 2 mph higher than the
highest point on the trace within 1 second of the given time.

(ii) The lower limit is 2 mph lower than the lowest
point on the trace within 1 second of the given time.

(iii) Vehicle speed excursions beyond tolerance
limits given in items a. and b. above are acceptable provided
that each such excursion is not more than 2 seconds in
duration.

(iv) Speeds lower than those prescribed during
accelerations are acceptable provided the vehicle is operated
at maximum available power during such accelerations until
the vehicle speed is within the excursion limits.

(v) [Reserved : Criteria that shall allow limited
excursions of speed higher than  the prescribed upper limit in
paragraphs (i) through (iii) ] 

(vi) A transient emissions test shall be void and the
vehicle retested if the speed excursion limits prescribed by
paragraphs (i) through (iii) are exceeded, except in the event

that computer algorithms, developed by the Department,
determine that the conditions of paragraphs (v) and (vi)  are
applicable. Tests may be aborted if the speed excursion
limits are exceeded.

Proposed
APPENDIX 5(f)

CLEAN SCREENING VEHICLE EXEMPTION

BACKGROUND ON CLEAN SCREENING

Delaware plans to implement a clean screen program
that combines the use of the low emitter profile model (LEP)
with an expansion of model year exemptions from 3 year old
and newer vehicles to 5 year old and newer vehicles.  The
LEP model uses data from Arizona’s IM240 program to
predict whether a vehicle will pass the test.  Analysis of data
from applying the LEP to Colorado’s fleet indicate that up to
half of the vehicles can be exempted without greatly
impacting the emission benefits of the program.  The model
only requires an accurate vehicle identification number
(VIN) to project emission characteristics.  

The LEP would be used primarily a lane management
tool to increase throughput during peak periods.  Under this
scenario, the LEP would be used only during peak periods to
clean screen vehicles more than 5 years old.  Vehicles

Shift Sequence
(gear)

Speed
(miles per hour)

Approximate Cycle
Time(seconds)

     1 - 2 15 9.3

     2 - 3 25 47.0

     De-clutch 15 87.9

     1 - 2 15 101.6

     2 - 3 25 105.5

     3 - 2 17.2 119.0

     2 - 3 25 145.8

     3 - 4 40 163.6

     4 - 5 45 167.0

     5 - 6 50 180.0

     De-clutch 15 234.5
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flagged as clean screen candidates would receive the gas cap
test and the safety inspection, but would be exempted from
the exhaust emission and pressure test when in clean screen
mode.  Delaware expects that “clean screening” would be
activated less than 40% of the time.  During off-peak
periods, all vehicles more than 5 years old would receive
exhaust emission and tank pressure tests along with the gas
cap and safety test.  Figure one and Table A show the
possible percentages of vehicle model years that would be

 exempt under clean screening if queue conditions
warranted.

Table A
Percent of Vehicles Eligible for Clean Screen When in Clean 

Screen Mode

1Based on Arizona IM240 data

The Division of Motor Vehicles will determine when and if
any applicable vehicles are exempt under the clean screen

program. Typically, applicable vehicles will be exempt if
queue conditions result in a wait time at the lane of 60
minutes or more.  However, there are factors in the program
that will automatically prevent the clean screen exemption
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Figure 1. % of Vehicles Clean Screened
By Model Year

Vehicle Age Observed Clean
Screen %

Assumed Clean Screen
%

1 99.00% 100%

2 98.83% 100%

3 99.00% 99.00%

4 91.59% 88.00%

5 75.50% 77.00%

6 58.74% 66.00%

7 70.20% 55.00%

8 45.48% 44.00%

9 23.08% 33.00%

10 23.62% 22.00%

11 10.17% 11.00%

12 and older 0.65% 0.00%
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from being implemented.  Specifically, a budget of the total
number of the applicable vehicles that can be exempt under
clean screen will be established for any one calendar year
and therefore if that budget is exceeded, the clean screen
exemption will not apply even when wait times are 60
minutes or longer. 

APPENDIX 6 (a)
IIDLE EMISSIONS TEST PROCEDURES 

Proposed Amendment

There are no changes to the single speed idle test procedure.  
This amendment only includes the addition of the two speed 

idle test cited in the body of  the text of Regulation 31, 
Section 6 (a))

The on-site test inspection of motor vehicles uses the
ESP FICS 4000 - Bar 90 computerized Emission Analyzer
which will require minimal time to complete the inspection
procedure.

GENERAL TEST PROCEDURES 

1. If the inspection technician observes a vehicle
having coolant, oil, excess smoke or fuel leaks or any other
such defect that is unsafe to allow the emission test to be
conducted the vehicle shall be rejected from the testing area.
The inspection technician is prohibited from conducting the
emissions test until the defects are corrected. 

2. The vehicle transmission is to be placed in neutral
gear if equipped with a manual transmission, or in park
position if equipped with an automatic transmission. The
hand or parking brake is to be engaged. If the parking brake
is found to be defective, then wheel chocks are to be placed
in front and/or behind the vehicle's tires. 

3. The inspection technician advises the owner to turn
off  all vehicle accessories.

4. The inspection technician enters the vehicle
registration number (tag) or the vehicle identification
number into the BAR 90 system.  This information is
electronically transmitted to the Division of Motor Vehicle’s
database. The system will also identify for each vehicle
entered into the  BAR 90 system whether the vehicle is
eligible for a clean screen exemption.  Only under certain
conditions  determined by the vehicle services chief or his
designee will those vehicles eligible for the clean screen
exemption be excuse from any exhaust emissions test for the
current two year test cycle. In no case shall the number of
vehicles exempt in any one calendar year,  under the clean
screen procedures, exceed 40% of the total number of

vehicles subject to the requirements of Regulation 31.  The
clean screen procedures or methodology is described in
Appendix Y.

5. If the vehicle registration number is in the database,
the following information will be transmitted to and verified
by the inspection technician:

a. Vehicle make
b. Vehicle Year
c. Vehicle Model
d. Vehicle Body Style
e. Vehicle fuel type and 
f. other related information

6. The inspection technician will verify this
information and verify the last five characters of the Vehicle
Identification Number (VIN) prior to beginning the emission
test.

7. If the vehicle’s identification number is not on the
database, the R.L. Polk VIN Package shall be automatically
accessed.  This VIN package will return the following
information to the inspection technician who, in turn will
verify the returned information:

a. Vehicle make
b. Vehicle Year
c. Vehicle Model
d. Vehicle Body Style
e. Vehicle fuel type

8. The DMV System will identify and require an
emission inspection on all eligible vehicles meeting the
State’s criteria for an emission inspection.   Once the vehicle
information has been verified and accepted, the system will
prompt the inspection technician to place the analyzer test
probe into the tailpipe. The technician connects the
tachometer lead to the vehicle’s spark plug and verifies that
the idle RPM is within the specified range. If the RPM
exceeds the allowed range the vehicle is rejected and not
tested.  The technician will insert the probe at least 8 inches
into the exhaust pipe.  Genuine dual exhaust vehicles will be
tested with a dual exhaust probe. Once the probe has been
placed into the exhaust pipe the test will begin.  The test
process is completely automatic, including the pass/fail
decision.

9. If the vehicle has been identified as requiring a
completed Vehicle Inspection Repair (VIRR) Report Form
prior to reinspection, the inspection technician will review
the form for completeness and, if applicable, record into the
system the Certified Emission Repair Technician’s (CERT)
number or Certified Manufacturer’s Repair Technician
(CMRT) number before the retest. 

TWO SPEED IDLE TEST PROCEDURES

1. Exhaust gas sampling algorithm. The analysis of
exhaust gas concentrations will begin 10 seconds after the
applicable test mode begins. Exhaust gas concentrations will
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be analyzed at a rate of two times per second. The measured
value for pass/fail determinations will be a simple running
average of the measurements taken over five seconds. 

2. Pass/fail determinations.  A pass or fail
determination will be made for each applicable test mode
based on a comparison of the applicable standards listed in
Appendix 3 (a)(7) and the measured value for HC and CO.
A vehicle will pass the test mode if any pair of simultaneous
values for HC and CO are below or equal to the applicable
standards. A vehicle will fail the test mode if the values for
either HC or CO, or both, in all simultaneous pairs of values
are above the applicable standards. 

3. Void test conditions.  The test will immediately end
and any exhaust gas measurements will be voided if the
measured concentration of CO plus CO2 (CO+ CO2) falls
below six percent of the total concentration of CO plus CO2

or the vehicle's engine stalls at any time during the test
sequence. 

4. Multiple exhaust pipes.  Exhaust gas concentrations
from vehicle engines equipped with dual exhaust systems
will be sampled accordingly.

5. The test will be immediately terminated upon
reaching the overall maximum test time. 

6. Test sequence. 
(a) The test sequence will consist of a first-chance

test and a second chance test as follows: 
(i) The first-chance test  will consist of an idle

mode followed by a high-speed mode. 
(ii) The second-chance high-speed mode, as

described will immediately follow the first-chance high-
speed mode. It will be performed only if the vehicle fails the
first-chance test. The second-chance idle will follow the
second chance high speed mode and be performed only if the
vehicle fails the idle mode of the first-chance test. 

(b) The test sequence will begin only after the
following requirements are met: 

(i) The vehicle will be tested in as-received
condition with the transmission in neutral or park, the
parking brake actuated (or chocked) and all accessories
turned off. The engine shall appear to and is assumed to be at
normal operating temperature.

(ii) The tachometer will be attached to the
vehicle in accordance with the analyzer manufacturer's
instructions. 

(iii) The sample probe(s) will be inserted into
the vehicle's tailpipe to a minimum depth of 8 inches. If the
vehicle's exhaust system prevents insertion to this depth, a
tailpipe extension will be used. 

(iv) The measured concentration of CO plus
CO2 (CO + CO2) will be greater than or equal to 6% of the
total concentration.

(c) First-chance test and second-chance high-
speed mode. The test timer will start (tt=0) when the

conditions specified above  are met. The first-chance test and
second-chance high-speed mode will have an overall
maximum test time of 390 seconds (tt=390). The first-
chance test will consist of an idle mode following
immediately by a high-speed mode. This is followed
immediately by an additional second-chance high-speed
mode, if necessary.

(d) First-chance idle mode. The mode timer will
start (mt=0) when the vehicle engine speed is between 550
and 1300 rpm. If engine speed exceeds 1300 rpm or falls
below 550 rpm, the mode timer will reset to zero and resume
timing.   The maximum idle mode length will be 30 seconds
(mt=30) elapsed time. The pass/ fail analysis will begin after
an elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10). A pass or fail
determination will be made for the vehicle and the mode
terminated as follows: 

(i) The vehicle will pass the idle mode and
the mode will be immediately terminated if,  prior to an
elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), measured values are
less or equal to the applicable standards listed in Appendix 3
(a)(7) 

(ii) The vehicle will fail the idle mode and the
mode will be terminated if the provisions of d (i) are not
satisfied within an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30). 

(iii) The vehicle may fail the first-chance and
second-chance test will be omitted if no exhaust gas
concentration less than 1800 ppm HC is found by an elapsed
time of 30 seconds (mt=30). 

(e) First-chance and second-chance high-speed
modes. This mode includes both the first-chance and second-
chance high-speed modes, and follows immediately upon
termination of the first-chance idle mode. The  mode timer
will reset (mt=0) when the vehicle engine speed is between
2200 and 2800 rpm. If engine speed falls below 2200 rpm or
exceeds 2800 rpm for more than two seconds in one
excursion, or more than six seconds over all excursions
within 30 seconds of the final measured value used in the
pass/fail determination, the measured value will be
invalidated and the mode continued. If any excursion lasts
for more than ten seconds, the mode timer will reset to zero
(mt=0) and timing resumed. The minimum high-speed mode
length will be determined as described under paragraphs (e)
(i) and (ii) below. The maximum high-speed mode length
will be 180 seconds (mt=180) elapsed time. 

(i) Ford Motor Company and Honda vehicles.
For 1981-1987 model year Ford Motor Company vehicles
and 1984-1985 model year Honda Preludes, the pass/fail
analysis will begin after an elapsed time of 10 seconds
(mt=10) using the following procedure. 

(A) A pass or fail determination, as
described below, will be used, for vehicles that passed the
idle mode, to determine whether the high-speed test should
be terminated prior to or at the end of an elapsed time of 180
seconds (mt=180). 
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(I) The vehicle will pass the high-
speed mode and the test will be immediately terminated if,
prior to an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), the measured
values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed
in Appendix 3 (a)(7).

(II) If at an elapsed time of 30
seconds (mt=30) the measured values are greater than the
applicable standards listed in Appendix 3 (a)(7),  the
vehicle's engine will be shut off for not more than 10 seconds
after returning to idle and then will be restarted. The probe
may be removed from the tailpipe or the sample pump turned
off if necessary to reduce analyzer fouling during the restart
procedure. The mode timer will stop upon engine shut off
(mt=30) and resume upon engine restart. The pass/fail
determination will resume as follows after 40 seconds have
elapsed (mt=40).

(III) The vehicle will pass the high-
speed mode and the test will be immediately terminated if, at
any point between an elapsed time of 40 seconds (mt=40)
and 60 seconds (mt=60), the measured values are less than or
equal to the applicable standards listed in Appendix 3 (a)(7).   

(IV)The vehicle will pass the high-
speed mode and the test will be immediately terminated if, at
a point between an elapsed time of 60 seconds (mt=60) and
180 seconds (mt=180) both HC and CO emissions continue
to decrease and measured values are less than or equal to the
applicable standards listed in Appendix 3 (a)(7). (V)The
vehicle will fail the high-speed mode and the test will be
terminated if neither paragraphs (e) (i) (A) (III) or (e) (i) (A)
(IV),  above, are not satisfied by an elapsed time of 180
seconds (mt=180). 

(B) A pass or fail determination will be
made for vehicles that failed the idle mode and the high-
speed mode terminated at the end of an elapsed time of 180
seconds (mt=180) as follows: 

(I) The vehicle will pass the high-
speed mode and the mode will be terminated at an  elapsed
time of 30 seconds (mt=30) if any measured values of HC
and CO exhaust gas concentrations during the high-speed
mode are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed
in Appendix 3 (a)(7).

(II) Restart. If at an elapsed time of
30 seconds (mt=30) the measured values of HC and CO
exhaust gas concentrations during the high-speed mode are
greater than the applicable short test standards as described
in Appendix 3 (a)(7), the vehicle's engine will be shut off for
not more than 10 seconds after returning to idle and then will
be restarted. The probe may be removed from the tailpipe or
the sample pump turned off it necessary to reduce analyzer
fouling during the restart procedure. The mode timer will
stop upon engine shut off (mt=30) and resume upon engine
restart. The pass/fail determination will resume as follows
after 40 seconds (mt=40) have elapsed. 

(III) The vehicle will pass the high-

speed mode and the mode will be terminated at an elapsed
time of 60 seconds (mt=60) if any measured values of HC
and CO exhaust gas concentrations during the high-speed
mode are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed
in Appendix 3 (a)(7).

(IV)The vehicle will pass the high-
speed mode and the test will be immediately terminated if, at
a point between an elapsed time of 60 seconds (mt=60) and
180 seconds (mt=180) both HC and CO emissions continue
to decrease and measured values are less than or equal to the
applicable standards listed in Appendix 3 (a)(7). 

(V) The vehicle will fail the
high-speed mode and the test will be terminated if neither
paragraphs (e) (i) (B) (I), (e) (i) (B) (III) or  e (i) (B) (IV),
above, is satisfied by an elapsed time of 180 seconds
(mt=180). 

(ii) All other light-duty vehicles. The pass/fail
analysis for vehicles not specified in paragraph (e) (i), above,
will begin after an elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10) using
the following procedure. 

(A) A pass or fail determination will be
used for 1981 and newer model year vehicles that passed the
idle mode, to determine whether the high-speed mode should
be terminated prior to or at the end of an elapsed time of 180
seconds (mt=180). For pre-1981 model year vehicles, no
high speed idle mode test will be performed. 

(I) The vehicle will pass the high-
speed mode and the test will be immediately terminated if,
prior to an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), the measured
values are less than or equal to the applicable standards listed
in Appendix 3 (a)(7).

(II) The vehicle will pass the high-
speed mode and the test will be immediately terminated if
emissions continue to decrease after an elapsed time of 30
seconds (mt=30) and if, at any point between an elapsed time
of 30 seconds (mt=30) and 180 seconds (mt=180), the
measured values are less than or equal to the applicable
standards listed in Appendix 3 (a)(7).

(III) The vehicle will fail the high-
speed mode and the test will be terminated if neither the
provisions of paragraphs (e) (ii)(A)(I) or (e) (ii)(A)(II),
above, is satisfied. 

(B) A pass or fail determination will be
made for 1981 and newer model year vehicles that failed the
idle mode and the high-speed mode terminated prior to or at
the end of an elapsed time of 180 seconds (mt=180). For pre-
1981 model year vehicles, the duration of the high speed idle
mode will be 30 seconds and no pass or fail determination
will be used at the high speed idle mode. 

(I) The vehicle will pass the high-
speed mode and the mode will be terminated at an elapsed
time of 30 seconds (mt=30) if any measured values are less
than or equal to the applicable standards listed Appendix 3
(a)(7). 
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(II) The vehicle will pass the high-
speed mode and the test will be immediately terminated if
emissions continue to decrease after an elapsed time of 30
seconds (mt=30) and if, at any point between an elapsed time
of 30 seconds (mt=30) and 180 seconds (mt=180), the
measured values are less than or equal to the applicable
standards listed in Appendix 3 (a)(7).

(III) The vehicle will fail the high
speed mode and test will be terminated if neither the
provisions of paragraphs (e) (ii)(B)(I) or (e) (ii)(B)(II) is
satisfied. 

(f) Second-chance idle mode. If the vehicle fails
the first-chance idle mode and passes the high-speed mode,
the mode timer will reset to zero (mt=0) and a second chance
idle mode will commence. The second-chance idle mode
will have an overall maximum mode time of 30 seconds
(mt=30). The test will consist on an idle mode only. 

(i) The engines of 1981-1987 Ford Motor
Company vehicles and 1984-1985 Honda Preludes will be
shut off for not more than 10 seconds and restarted. The
probe may be removed from the tailpipe or the sample pump
turned off if necessary to reduce analyzer fouling during the
restart procedure. 

(ii) The mode timer will start (mt=0) when the
vehicle engine speed is between 550 and 1300 rpm. If the
engine speed exceeds 1300 rpm or falls below 550 rpm the
mode timer will reset to zero and resume timing. The
minimum second-chance idle mode length will be
determined as described in paragraph (f) (iii) below.  The
maximum second-chance idle mode length will be 30
seconds (mt=30) elapsed time. 

(iii) The pass/fail analysis will begin after an
elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10). A pass or fail
determination will be made for the vehicle and the second-
chance mode will be terminated as follows: 

(A) The vehicle will pass the second-
chance idle mode and the test will be immediately
terminated if, prior to an elapsed time of 30 seconds
(mt=30), any measured values are less than or equal to 100
ppm HC and 0.5 percent CO.

(B) The vehicle will pass the second-
chance idle mode and the test will be terminated at the end of
an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) if, prior to that time,
the criteria of paragraph (f)(iii)(A), above,  are not satisfied
and the measured values during the time period between 25
and 30 seconds (mt=25-30) are less than or equal to the
applicable short test standards listed Appendix 3 (a)(7).

(C) The vehicle will fail the second-
chance idle mode and the test will be terminated if neither of
the provisions of paragraphs (f) (iii)(A) or (f)(iii)(B), above
are satisfied by an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30). 

IDLE TEST PROCEDURE

From 40 CFR 51 Appendix B to Subpart S --  Test
Procedures

(I) Idle Test
(a) General requirements

(1) Exhaust gas sampling algorithm.  The analysis
of exhaust gas concentrations shall begin 10 seconds after
the applicable test mode begins.  Exhaust gas concentrations
shall be analyzed at a minimum rate of two times per second.
The measured value for pass/fail determinations shall be a
simple running average of the measurements taken over five
seconds.

(2) Pass/fail determination.  A pass or fail
determination shall be made for each applicable test mode
based on a comparison of the short test standards contained
in Appendix C to this subpart, and the measured value for
HC and CO as described in paragraph (I)(a)(1) of this
appendix.  A vehicle shall pass the test mode if any pair of
simultaneous measured values for HC and CO are below or
equal to the applicable short test standards.  A vehicle shall
fail the test mode if the values for either HC or CO, or both,
in all simultaneous pairs of values are above the applicable
standards.

(3) Void test conditions.  The test shall
immediately end and any exhaust gas measurements shall be
voided if the measured concentration of CO plus CO2 falls
below six percent or the vehicle's engine stalls at any time
during the test sequence.

(4) Multiple exhaust pipes.  Exhaust gas
concentrations from vehicle engines equipped with multiple
exhaust pipes shall be sampled simultaneously.

(5) The test shall be immediately terminated upon
reaching the overall maximum test time.

(b) Test sequence.
(1) The test sequence shall consist of a first-chance

test and a second-chance test as follows:
(i) The first-chance test, as described under

paragraph (c) of this section, shall consist of an idle mode.
(ii) The second-chance test as described under

paragraph (I)(d) of this appendix shall be performed only if
the vehicle fails the first-chance test.

(2) The test sequence shall begin only after the
following requirements are met:

(i) The vehicle shall be tested in as-received
condition with the transmission in neutral or park and all
accessories turned off.  The engine shall be at normal
operating temperature (as indicated by a temperature gauge,
temperature lamp, touch test on the radiator hose, or other
visual observation for overheating).

(ii) The tachometer shall be attached to the
vehicle in accordance with the analyzer manufacturer's
instructions.
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(iii) The sample probe shall be inserted into the
vehicle's tailpipe to a minimum depth of 10 inches.  If the
vehicle's exhaust system prevents insertion to this depth, a
tailpipe extension shall be used.

(iv) The measured concentration of CO plus
CO2 shall be greater than or equal to six percent.  

(c) First-chance test.  The test timer shall start (tt=0)
when the conditions specified in paragraph (I)(b)(2) of this
appendix are met.  The first-chance test shall have an overall
maximum test time of 145 seconds (tt=145).  The
first-chance test shall consist of an idle mode only.  

(1) The mode timer shall start (mt=0) when the
vehicle engine speed is between 350 and 1100 rpm.  If
engine speed exceeds 1100 rpm or falls below 350 rpm, the
mode timer shall reset to zero and resume timing.  The
minimum mode length shall be determined as described
under paragraph (I)(c)(2) of this appendix.  The maximum
mode length shall be 90 seconds elapsed time (mt=90).

(2) The pass/fail analysis shall begin after an
elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10).  A pass or fail
determination shall be made for the vehicle and the mode
shall be terminated as follows:  

(i) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode and
the test shall be immediately terminated if, prior to an
elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), measured values are
less than or equal to 100 ppm HC and 0.5 percent CO.  

(ii) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode and
the test shall be terminated at the end of an elapsed time of
30 seconds (mt=30), if prior to that time the criteria of
paragraph (I)(c)(2)(i) of this appendix are not satisfied and
the measured values are less than or equal to the applicable
short test standards as described in paragraph (I)(a)(2) of this
appendix.  

(iii) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode and
the test shall be immediately terminated if, at any point
between an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and 90
seconds (mt=90), the measured values are less than or equal
to the applicable short test standards as described in
paragraph (I)(a)(2) of this appendix.  

(iv) The vehicle shall fail the idle mode and the
test shall be terminated if none of the provisions of
paragraphs (I)(c)(2)(i), (ii) and (iii) of this appendix is
satisfied by an elapsed time of 90 seconds (mt=90).
Alternatively, the vehicle may be failed if the provisions of
paragraphs (I)(c)(2)(i) and (ii) of this appendix are not met
within an elapsed time of 30 seconds.

(v) Optional.  The vehicle may fail the
first-chance test and the second-chance test shall be omitted
if no exhaust gas concentration lower than 1800 ppm HC is
found by an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30).

(d) Second-chance test.  If the vehicle fails the
first-chance test, the test timer shall reset to zero (tt=0) and a
second-chance test shall be performed.  The second-chance
test shall have an overall maximum test time of 425 seconds

(tt=425).  The test shall consist of a preconditioning mode
followed immediately by an idle mode.  

(1) Preconditioning mode.  The mode timer shall
start (mt=0) when the engine speed is between 2200 and
2800 rpm.  The mode shall continue for an elapsed time of
180 seconds (mt=180).  If engine speed falls below 2200
rpm or exceeds 2800 rpm for more than five seconds in any
one excursion, or 15 seconds over all excursions, the mode
timer shall reset to zero and resume timing.

(2) Idle mode.
(i) Ford Motor Company and Honda vehicles.

The engines of 1981-1987 Ford Motor Company vehicles
and 1984-1985 Honda Preludes shall be shut off for not more
than 10 seconds and restarted.  This procedure may also be
used for 1988-1989 Ford Motor Company vehicles but
should not be used for other vehicles.  The probe may be
removed from the tailpipe or the sample pump turned off if
necessary to reduce analyzer fouling during the restart
procedure.

(ii) The mode timer shall start (mt=0) when
the vehicle engine speed is between 350 and 1100 rpm.  If
engine speed exceeds 1100 rpm or falls below 350 rpm, the
mode timer shall reset to zero and resume timing.  The
minimum idle mode length shall be determined as described
in paragraph (I)(d)(2)(iii) of this appendix.  The maximum
idle mode length shall be 90 seconds elapsed time (mt=90).

(iii) The pass/fail analysis shall begin after an
elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10).  A pass or fail
determination shall be made for the vehicle and the idle
mode shall be terminated as follows:  

(A) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode
and the test shall be immediately terminated if, prior to an
elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), measured values are
less than or equal to 100 ppm HC and 0.5 percent CO.  

(B) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode
and the test shall be terminated at the end of an elapsed time
of 30 seconds (mt=30), if prior to that time the criteria of
paragraph (I)(d)(2)(iii)(A) of this appendix are not satisfied
and the measured values are less than or equal to the
applicable short test standards as described in paragraph
(I)(a)(2) of this appendix.  

(C) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode
and the test shall be immediately terminated if, at any point
between an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and 90
seconds (mt=90), measured values are less than or equal to
the applicable short test standards described in paragraph
(I)(a)(2) of this appendix.  

(D) The vehicle shall fail the idle mode
and the test shall be terminated if none of the provisions of
paragraphs (I)(d)(2)(iii)(A), (d)(2)(iii)(B), and (d)(2)(iii)(C)
of this appendix

(E) Are satisfied by an elapsed time of 90
seconds (mt=90)
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  4 Delaware Code,
Section 304(a)(1) (4 Del.C. 304(a)(1))

In compliance with 29 Del.C. section 10115, the
Commission submits the following:

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS: 
Rules of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control

Commission

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

The Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission
is proposing to amend Rule 29. The rule as amended
provides non-discriminatory procedures for timely
notification of prices, post-offs, and quantity discounts of
alcoholic liquor offered for sale by Delaware wholesalers to
Delaware retailers and governs related practices.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

4 Del.C. Chp. 3
5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:

None
6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:

A public hearing on the proposed amendment to Rule 29
will be held on April 1, 1999 at 9:00 a.m. in the third floor
conference room of the Commission, Carvel State Building,
820 North French Street, Wilmington, Delaware. Written
comments may be submitted any time prior to April 1, 1999
to Donald J. Bowman, Sr., Director, Delaware Alcoholic
Beverage Control Commission, 820 North French Street,
Wilmington, Delaware, 19801. For copies of the proposed
regulation, the public should call Joanne Episcopo at (302)
577-5222. 

RULE 29
PUBLICATION OF PRICES AND POST-OFFS BY 

WHOLESALERS

I. Purpose
The purpose of this rule shall be to promote the public

benefits of a competitive, economic environment based upon
free enterprise within the Delaware alcoholic liquor industry.
It is the intent of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control
Commission to promote an equitable system for the efficient
distribution of alcoholic liquor in our state and to promote
freedom of economic opportunity for all Delaware liquor

licensees.
In furtherance of these goals, this rule is promulgated to

provide non-discriminatory procedures for the publishing of
prices, post-offs, and quantity discounts of alcoholic liquor
offered for sale by Delaware wholesalers to Delaware
retailers and to govern related practices.

II. Authority
The Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

is authorized pursuant to 4 Del. C., § 304(a)(2), to establish
by rules and regulations an effective control of the
manufacture, sale, dispensing, distribution, and importation
of alcoholic liquor within and into this state.  Such rules,
however, may not be inconsistent with Title 4 of the
Delaware Code or any other law of the State. This rule,
therefore, implements and clarifies the grant of authority to
the Commission contained in 4 Del. C., § 304(a)(2), to
control the time, place, and manner in which alcoholic liquor
shall be sold or dispensed.

The need to promulgate this rule was based on
testimony received at public hearings and is consistent with
the Commission's duty to promulgate rules that serve the
public interest and further the objectives of the Liquor
Control Act.  It is the Commission's finding that a procedure
is needed to ensure timely and accurate publication to the
industry of all prices, post-offs, and quantity discounts to be
offered in a non-discriminatory manner by wholesalers to
retailers during specified periods of time.

The Commission further finds that the orderly
publication of prices will benefit the Commission in its
duties to effectively control the manufacture, sale,
dispensing, distribution and importation of alcoholic liquor
within and into this state including the time, place, and
manner in which alcoholic liquor shall be sold and dispensed
not inconsistent with the Liquor Control Act or any other
laws of the State.

The Commission also finds that the orderly publication
of prices and the establishment of procedures governing
post-offs and quantity discounts will further the underlying
purpose of the Liquor Control Act to provide the people of
every community in Delaware with a reasonably convenient
opportunity to make a legal purchase of alcoholic liquor.

III. 29.1 Definitions

Price:  Means the amount of money given or set as
consideration for the sale of a specified order of alcoholic
liquor.

Post-Off:  Means a reduction in the price regularly charged

http://www.state.de.us/pubsafe/index.htm
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by wholesalers, as published to the trade, which is sold by
wholesalers to licensed retailers.

Quantity Discount:  Means a reduction in the price
regularly charged by wholesalers, as published to the trade,
which is sold by wholesalers to licensed retailers and is
based on whole or in part on the quantity of alcoholic liquor
purchased.

Monthly Price List:  Means the monthly price listing
prepared by, or on behalf of, a Delaware licensed wholesaler
for all alcoholic liquor prices, post-offs, and quantity
discounts offered for sale to Delaware licensed retailers.  The
monthly price list shall contain the presumptive price, but
may be superseded by any subsequent updated notification
issued by the wholesaler, provided the Division is notified of
the updated listing.

Designated Publication:  Means the single publication
agreed to be used by the a majority of the licensed Delaware
Alcoholic Beverage Wholesalers Association as the monthly
price listing for the compilation of monthly price lists for all
alcoholic liquor prices, post-offs, and quantity discounts
offered for sale to Delaware licensed retailers.  In the
absence of a clear majority voting to change the existing
publication, the publication will remain the publication that
is in effect at the time of the vote. 

Updated Notification:  Means notification of changes to
prices, post-offs and quantity discounts made after the
submission of the monthly Price List to the designated
publication.

Wholesaler:  Means licensed Delaware wholesaler.

Retailer:  Means all establishments licensed by the
Commission to sell alcoholic liquor directly to the public.

IV. History
Prior to the current revision of Rule 29, the regulation of

pricing, post-offs, and tie-in sales were controlled separately
by Rules 29, 29.1, and 30, respectively. Quantity discounts
from wholesalers to retailers were prohibited by Rules 29
and 29.1.  The Commission, by promulgation of this rule, is
repealing the prohibition on quantity discounts; however, it
is not requiring wholesalers to offer quantity discounts or
post-offs.  It is the Commission’s finding that the offering of
quantity discounts is a decision that should be made by each
wholesaler.

In addition to removing the ban on quantity discounts,

the Commission has consolidated and clarified the remaining
provisions of Rules 29, 29.1, and 30 (including the removal
of the ninety-day post and hold rule) into the current, revised
edition of Rule 29.

V. 29. Applicability  REGULATION OF PRICES AND
POST-OFFS BY WHOLESALERS

This rule regulation shall govern the procedure by
which all licensed wholesalers publish notice prices, post-
offs, and quantity discounts of alcoholic liquor offered for
sale to licensed Delaware retailers.  The sale of all alcoholic
liquor in Delaware by wholesalers to retailers must conform
to the provisions of this rule regulation.  In addition, this rule
regulation shall govern the procedure by which records
relating to post-offs and quantity discounts are maintained.

VI. 29.2. Procedures for Providing Notice of Prices, Post-
Offs, and Quantity Discounts

A. Every wholesaler, licensed by the Commission to
sell alcoholic liquor, shall submit by the eighteenth day of
each month a written notice to the designated publication
listing all of the alcoholic products they intend to offer for
sale during the next calendar month.  This notice shall
include regular prices, as well as post-offs and quantity
discounts if offered.

B. A copy of the aforementioned notice shall also be
filed with the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control when
transmitted to the designated publication.  There shall be no
change, revision, substitution, or addition to the
aforementioned price listing notice after the eighteenth day
of each month without prior approval of the Commission.

C. The duration of the prices set for post-offs and
quantity discounts shall be the effective dates listed in the
designated publication and shall be five (5) days or more.

D. The publisher of the designated publication shall
make every reasonable effort to ensure that the publication is
transmitted to all subscribers of record in time to be received
by them not less than five (5) working days before the
effective date of the prices listed in that particular monthly
issue of the designated publication.

a. Every wholesaler shall prepare a monthly price list
of all alcoholic products they intend to offer for sale during
the next month.  This monthly price list shall include regular
prices, as well as post-offs and quantity discounts, if offered.
The monthly price list shall be printed in a publication
designated by a majority of licensed Delaware Wholesalers
not less than five (5) business days prior to the end of the
preceding month.

b. A copy of the monthly price list shall also be filed
with the Division(via hard copy and/or electronically) when
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submitted to the designated publication.  The prices stated
therein shall be the “presumptive price”, subject to change,
revision, substitution, or addition in accordance with the
updated notification procedures set forth herein.

c. In the event of a change in the price from that set
forth in the monthly price list, the wholesaler shall provide
Updated Notification, to all licensed retailers, and to the
Division (via hard copy and/or electronically)  Updated
notification shall be made by a wholesaler to all licensed
retailers via a recorded message, accessible through a toll-
free “800" number, which can be accessed by any licensed
retailer 24 hours a day to obtain information regarding
current pricing of items being offered by the wholesaler.  The
“800” number will be updated every Monday by 10:00 A.M.:
provided however, notwithstanding anything in this
regulation to the contrary, that any wholesaler may change
prices at anytime by mailing a pricing announcement to all
retailers and the Division by U.S. mail.  In the event of a
conflict between the recorded message and the mailed notice
the lower price will control.  In addition, the wholesaler shall
advise the Division of prices offered in the “800" number at
the time any change is made to the recorded message.

d. Upon Petition of an interested party, the
Commission may approve an alternative procedure(s) for
providing notice of prices, post-offs and quantity discounts
where the petitioner demonstrates that (1)  the alternative
method is technologically feasible, (2) will provide sufficient
notice of prices, post-offs and quantity discounts to
Delaware retailers and to the Division, and (3) will not harm
the public interest.

VII. 29.3. Procedures for Providing Notice of Prices for
New Products

A.  a. Prices of new brands, types, or sizes shall be
effective three (3) days after the wholesaler has given the
required notice in writing to the trade industry, as follows:

1. By mailing a pricing announcement
directly to all retail licensees of the trade and the Division by
United States mail, or

2. By publication of prices in the designated
publication as heretofore described, or

By inclusion of prices in the monthly price list
submitted to the designated publication as heretofore
described, or

3. By other means approved by the
Commission which are reasonably likely to reach all retail
licensees of the trade in a timely manner.  By including
notice thereof in the form of Updated Notification, as
described in 29.2 (c) above.

B.  b. Newly listed or changed prices shall continue

from their effective date until changed by the wholesaler in
accordance with the procedures established by this rule
regulation.  The duration of the prices set for post-offs and
quantity discounts of new products shall be the effective
dates listed in the new product pricing announcement and
shall be five (5) days or more, the monthly price list, and/or
in the Updated Notification.

c. Alternative methods for providing notice of
prices for new products may be approved by the
Commission in the same manner set forth in paragraph 29.2
(d) of this regulation.

VIII.  29.4. Duty of Wholesalers to Fill Orders
The procedure and rules regulations for licensed

wholesalers who offer post-offs or quantity discounts to
licensed retailers shall be as follows:

A.  a. Licensed wholesalers shall not discriminate
among licensed retailers in filling orders for post-offs or
quantity discounts. based on the size of the order or the retail
licensee's geographic location within the state.

B. Licensed wholesalers shall not offer post-offs or
quantity discounts to licensed retailers unless they are
reasonably certain that adequate inventory is either on hand
or on order to satisfy anticipated demand during the effective
dates of the offering.

C  b. Licensed wholesalers must honor the orders
placed by licensed retailers for post-offs and quantity
discounts in the sequential order in which they are placed,
unless excused from doing so by the Commission upon proof
of good cause.

D  c. If a licensed wholesaler is unable to fill the first
order of a retailer for a post off or quantity discount due to
the depletion of its stock, the retailer shall have the option of
having the order filled when stock is again available at the
same price offered during the post-off or quantity discount
period when stock is next available, or of purchasing a
suitable substitute product of comparable value if the
wholesaler chooses to offer a substitute product.

E.  d. Licensed wholesalers shall deliver all alcoholic
liquor products offered for sale as post-offs or quantity
discounts to the purchasing licensed retailer within three (3)
five (5) working days, not including weekends or legal
holidays, of the last date that the post-off or quantity
discount is offered.

e. Notwithstanding anything within this regulation to
the contrary, offers of distressed items in quantities of more
than 10 cases shall be made on a “first come/first serve”
basis, subject to the requirement that Updated Notification of
such post-off be given.  Distressed items, excluding beer, in
quantities of 10 cases or less shall not be subject to the
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Updated Notification requirements of these regulations and
may be offered for sale to any retail licensee at the licensed
wholesaler’s discretion.  For purposes of this subsection: 1) a
distressed item is an alcoholic beverage product subject to
close-out and/or expiration, and 2) “first come/first serve”
means that orders for alcoholic beverage products are filled
in the sequential order by which the orders are received by
the wholesaler.

IX.  29.5. Procedure for Recording the Sale of Alcoholic
Liquor by Wholesalers

Every sale of alcoholic liquor, including post-offs,
quantity discounts, and otherwise reduced prices, shall be
recorded by the licensed wholesaler on a written invoice or
bill of sale containing at a minimum the following:

A. 1. Name of the wholesaler
B. 2. Name of the retailer
C. 3. Date of sale
D. 4. Quantity of alcoholic liquor sold
E. 5. Price of alcoholic liquor sold
F. 6. Brand
G. 7. Size of container
H. 8. Date of delivery

The regular price of alcoholic liquor sold at post-off, or
quantity discount, or discount pursuant to Section 29.4 (d)
above shall also be stated on the bill of sale or invoice, as
well as the basis for the discount.  All credit(s) associated
with the sale of alcoholic liquor must be stated or affixed to
the original bills of sale or invoices retained by the licensed
retailer and wholesaler.

X.  29.6. Tie-In Sales
A requirement by a wholesaler that a retailer purchase

one product in order to purchase another is prohibited.  This
prohibition includes combination sales if one or more
products may be purchased only in combination with other
products and not individually.  However, a wholesaler is not
prohibited from selling at a special combination price two or
more kinds or brands of products to a retailer, provided (a)
the retailer has the option of purchasing either or both
products at the usual price, and (b) the retailer is not required
to purchase any product he or she does not want.  As to (a)
and (b) above, wholesaler licensees shall not ,however, be
required to sell or deliver beer to a retail licensee in
quantities of less than five (5) cases.

XI. 29.7. Consortium Buying
a. Nothing in this regulation shall be deemed to

preclude a wholesaler of alcoholic liquor licensed by the

Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission from
publishing or offering a discount, based upon the quantity of
product purchased, to a pool, cooperative, or consortium of
two or more licensed retailers, provided that the billing,
shipment, transportation, and storage of all related alcoholic
liquor conforms with state law and the regulations of the
Commission.  Similarly nothing in this regulation shall be
deemed to require a wholesaler of alcoholic liquor to offer
post-offs or quantity discounts.

b.  The delivery of all alcoholic liquor purchased by a
pool, cooperative, or consortium of retailers, to its members,
must be made by the holder of a license issued by the
Commission to deliver alcoholic liquor, as required by 4 Del.
C., § 701.  

XII. 29.8. Severability

If any part of this regulation is held to be
unconstitutional or otherwise contrary to law, then it shall be
severed and the remaining portions shall remain in full force
and effect.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

OPTIONS FOR AWARDING CREDIT TOWARD HIGH 
SCHOOL GRADUATION

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND 
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to amend six regulations by combining them into
one regulation entitled Options For Awarding Credit Toward
High School Graduation.  The existing regulations are found
on pages D-6 to D-12 in the Handbook for K-12 Education.
They include C., 1-3, Early College Admission, D., 1 and 2,
Make-up Work or Nontraditional Study, E., 1 and 2, Make-
up Work Because of Failure, H., 1 and 2, Correspondence
Schools, I., 1-5, Tutoring, and J., 1., a-c, Additional Options
for High School Graduation.  Sections F and G were
amended previously as the regulations for the James H.
Groves High School.

The focus of the amended regulation is drawn from
existing regulation J., Additional Options for High School
Graduation and adds correspondence courses, distance
learning courses, and tutoring to the list of options.  The

amended regulation clearly states that a student must have
the school board or its designee’s pre-approval of the
option(s) and that the option(s) must meet the state content
standards.  The amended regulation eliminates repetitious
language of a technical assistance nature, the formula for
equating college and high school credits and the equating of
a correspondence school diploma with a Delaware high
school diploma through an endorsement by the Department
of Education.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on January 15,
1999, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend these
regulations because they all address the same issue and need
to be consolidated into one regulation. The technical
assistance parts need to be eliminated and the remaining
language needs to be clarified.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THESE REGULATIONS

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to amend these regulations.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the regulations attached
hereto as Exhibit B are hereby amended.  Pursuant to the

http://www.doe.state.de.us/index_js.htm
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provisions of 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(e), the
regulation hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of
five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in
Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation hereby amended shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation
shall be cited in the document entitled the Regulations of the
Department of Education.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Sec. 122, in open session at
the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on February
18, 1999.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 18th day of Feburary, 1999.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Approved this 18th day of February, 1999.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

AS AMENDED
EXHIBIT B

500.12.  Options for Awarding Credit Toward High School
Graduation

1.0 The following options are approved by the
Department of Education as means for awarding credit
toward high school graduation.  In all cases listed the option
or options selected shall be approved ahead of time by the
local School Board or their designee(s) and shall [meet
incorporate]  the appropriate state content standards.

1.1 Courses taken at or through an accredited
community college, two or four year college.

1.2 Voluntary community service as defined in 14 Del.
C., Sections 8901A and 8902A.

1.3 Supervised work experience in the school and the
community which meets the educational objectives or
special career interest of the individual student.

1.4 Independent Study.

1.5 Nationally Accredited Correspondence Courses.
1.6 Distance Learning Courses.  These courses may be

synchronous or asynchronous via videos or online format.
1.7 High school courses taken while in the middle

school in conjunction with an articulated agreement between
the district middle school and the district high school(s).

1.8 Course credit transferred from another high school.
1.9 Course credit earned through summer or evening

school classes, as a member of the military service and/or as
part of the James H. Groves Adult High School.

1.10Tutoring programs taught by a teacher certified in
the subject being taught.  

1.11Course credit awarded by agencies or
instrumentalities of the state other than public schools which
provide educational services to students.  A description of
the program provided to the student, grades given, and the
number of clock hours of instruction or a demonstration of
competency must be provided to the school district prior to
receipt of credit.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512)

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS |
OF THE FOOD STAMP PROGRAM |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) initiated
proceedings to amend existing regulations contained in
Section 9085 of the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM), pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act. 

On January 1, 1999, the DHSS published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations (pages 1074-1075) its
notice of proposed regulation changes, pursuant to 29
Delaware Code Section 10115.  Emergency regulations were
also published in the January 1, 1999, Register (pages 1054-
1055) for these changes.  Both requested that written
materials and suggestions from the public concerning the
proposed regulations be delivered to DHSS by January 31,
1999, at which time the Department would review
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.  

It was determined that no written materials or

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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suggestions had been received from any individual or the
public.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes, as set
forth in the attached copy should be made in the best interest
of the general public of the State of Delaware.
     THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the proposed
regulations of the Food Stamp Program are adopted and shall
become effective ten days after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register. 
 
2/8/99  GREGG C. SYLVESTER

9085 Reporting Changes

Certified households are required to report the following
changes in circumstances:

Changes in the sources of income or in the amount of
gross unearned income of more than $25, except changes in
the public assistance grant or GA grant in project areas
where the GA grant and the food stamp application are
jointly processed.  Since DSS has prior knowledge of all
changes in the public assistance grant and general assistance
grants, action shall be taken on the DSS information.
Changes reported in person or by telephone are to be acted
upon in the same manner as those reported on the change
report form;

Changes in the amount of gross earned income will be
reported as follows:

• New source of employment, or
• Changes in the hourly rate or salary of current

employment, or
• Changes in employment status from part-time to

full-time.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512)

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS |
OF THE MEDICAID/MEDICAL |
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social

Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update
policies related to outpatient hospital, inpatient hospital,
EPSDT, school based health services and general policies.
The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the January 1999 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by February 1999, at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the January 1999 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective March 10, 1999.

2/11/99 Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation
as originally proposed and published in the January 1999
issue of the Register at page 1076 (2:7 Del.R. 1076).
Therefore, the final regulation is not being republished.
Please refer to the January 1999 issue of the Register or
contact the Department of Health and Social Services.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512)

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS |
OF THE MEDICAID/MEDICAL |
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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Medical Assistance eligibility rules.  The Department’s
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant
to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the January 1999 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by February 1, 1999, at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set

forth in the January 1999 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective March 10, 1999.

2/12/99Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation
as originally proposed and published in the January 1999
issue of the Register at page 1075 (2:7 Del.R. 1075).
Therefore, the final regulation is not being republished.
Please refer to the January 1999 issue of the Register or
contact the Department of Health and Social Services.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch.60)

Secretary’s Order No. 99-A-0005
Date of Issuance:  February 10, 1999

Re: Proposal to Amend the Delaware Regulations
Governing Solid Waste

Effective Date of Regulatory Amendments:  March 10, 1999

I. Background
On Thursday, January 7, 1999, at 7:00 p.m. a public

hearing was held in the DNREC Auditorium at 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, Delaware.  Proper notice of the hearing
was provided as required by law.  The public hearing
concerned proposed amendments to the Delaware
Regulations Governing Solid Waste.  The Department had
adopted the Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste in
1988 and last amended them in 1994.   The purpose of the
1999 hearing was to revise certain items in the 1994 version
of the Regulations.  

These proposed modifications to the regulations were
first published in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Vol.
2, Issue 4, on Thursday, October 1, 1998.  Thereafter, a
public workshop was held on October 22, 1998, to explain
the proposed changes and allow the Solid Waste Branch an
opportunity to directly respond to questions from the public.
As a result of these comments, the Solid Waste Branch
proposed modifications to the previously noticed changes.
The revised proposed regulatory changes were again
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Vol. 2,
Issue, 6, on Tuesday, December 1, 1998.  Thereafter on
January 7, the public hearing was held.  At that time, the
Solid Waste Branch noted four corrections from the version
of the regulatory language that had been published on
December 1.  

During the hearing, the Solid Waste Branch identified
several written comments which it had received and further
received oral comments from several members of the public
at the hearing.  The hearing record was closed at the
conclusion of the public hearing, except that the Hearing
Officer requested that the Solid Waste Branch issue a
technical evaluation of the comments in the record to assist
in his review of the public record.  The Solid Waste Branch’s
technical evaluation was presented in a document entitled
“Response to Public Comments Re:  Proposed Changes in
the Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste.”  This
document was received by the Hearing Officer on or about
February 2, 1999, and is expressly incorporated herein.
Thereafter, on February 8, 1999, the Hearing Officer issued
his report and recommendation which is also expressly
incorporated herein by reference.

II. Findings
1. The Department provided proper notice of the

hearing as required by law.
2. An informal public workshop concerning the

regulatory proposal was held on October 22, 1998.
3. The Solid Waste Branch’s evaluation of the

technical issues in the record includes all comments received

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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in writing before the hearing and presented orally during the
public hearing.

4. The Solid Waste Branch’s technical evaluation is
extremely thorough and addresses all comments pertaining
to areas in which there have been proposed changes.  

5. In addition, the Solid Waste Branch’s technical
evaluation also notes areas in which future changes or
modifications have been suggested and agrees to take these
into account when developing future revisions to the
Regulations.

6. In each instance where the Solid Waste Branch
recommended not making changes suggested by the public,
its recommendation was supported by technical evidence
that the proposed change would not sufficiently protect
public health and the environment.

7. Any changes in the text of the proposed regulatory
changes made in response to comments in the record are not
significant with respect to requiring this regulatory action be
republished before changes may be promulgated.

8. The record supports promulgation of the
amendment to the Delaware Regulations Governing Solid
Waste. 

III. Order
In view of the above findings, it is hereby ordered that

the Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste be
amended as recommended by the Solid Waste Branch’s
technical evaluation in the manner and form provided by
law.

IV. Reasons
The proposed amendments to the Delaware Regulations

Governing Solid Waste will further the policies and purposes
of 7 Del. C. Chapter 60, in that they will address the disposal
of solid waste in a manner designed to reduce negative
impacts on surface and ground waters.  

Mary L. McKenzie, Acting Secretary

SECTION 1:  DECLARATION OF INTENT

The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control finds and declares that improper
solid waste handling and disposal practices may result in
environmental damage, including substantial degradation of
the surface and ground water and waste of valuable land and
other resources, and may constitute a continuing hazard to
the health and welfare of the people of the State.  The
Department further finds that the utilization of solid waste
handling and disposal facilities which are properly located,

designed, operated, and monitored will minimize
environmental damage and protect public health and
welfare. 

It is the intent of the Department to require that solid
waste handling and disposal be conducted in a manner and
under conditions which will eliminate the dangerous and
deleterious effects of improper solid waste handling and
disposal upon the environment and upon human health,
safety, and welfare.  

The purposes of these regulations are:
1. To encourage, in all appropriate ways, recycling,

reuse, and reclamation processes, and
2. To implement the provisions of 7 Del. Code,

Chapter 60, the Delaware Environmental Protection Act,
which directs the Department to put into effect a program for
improved solid waste storage, collection, transportation,
processing, transfer, and disposal by providing that such
activities may henceforth be conducted only in an
environmentally acceptable manner pursuant to a permit
obtained from the Department.  

SECTION 2.  SCOPE AND APPLICABILITY

A. AUTHORITY
1. These regulations are enacted pursuant to 7 Del.

Code, Chapter 60, entitled "Delaware Environmental
Protection Act".

2. These regulations shall be known as "Regulations
Governing Solid Waste" and shall repeal the "Delaware
Solid Waste Disposal Regulation".

B. APPLICABILITY
1. These regulations apply to any person using land or

allowing the use of land for the purposes of storage,
collection, processing, transfer, or disposal of solid waste;
and to any person transporting solid waste in or through the
State of Delaware.  The following shall be subject to the
provisions of these regulations:

a. Sanitary landfills 
b. Industrial landfills
c. Dry waste disposal facilities

Resource recovery facilities
d. Transfer stations
e. Special wastes handling
f. Transportation of solid waste
g. Storage of solid waste

2. These regulations do not apply to those agricultural
wastes that are subject to regulations promulgated by the
Division of Water Resources.

3. For the purposes of these regulations, all liquid



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1547

wastes as defined herein are not regulated as solid wastes.
Liquid wastes are subject to regulations promulgated by the
Division of Water Resources. 
For the purposes of these regulations, all wastes defined
herein and that are subject to regulations promulgated by the
Division of Water Resources shall not be regulated as solid
wastes.

4. These regulations do not apply to any waste which
meets the criteria of hazardous waste as described in the
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

C. EXEMPTIONS  
The following activities are exempted from these

regulations:
1. Disposal on a farm of the agricultural wastes which

are generated on the farm or result from the operation of the
farm, provided that the disposal is conducted in a manner
that does not threaten potable drinking water supplies or
surface waters [human health or the environment].

2. Composting, on a private property, the leaves, grass
clippings, and other vegetation originating on the property.
For all other composting operations, written approval must
be obtained from the Department prior to commencing the
composting operation.  To obtain an approval, a person must
submit the following to the Department:

a. A written plan of operation sufficient to assure
the Department that the person understands the principles
and proper methods of composting and has the intention and
capability of applying proper methods and of conducting the
operation in a manner that will not pose a threat to human
health or the environment; and

b. A written statement of how the applicant
proposes to use or dispose of the compost.

3. Disposal of clean fill.
4. Creation of brush piles on the property on which the

material was generated.
5. The use of vegetative matter and untreated ground

wood products to construct berms on the property on which
the materials were generated.  (Notification must be made to
the Department prior to commencing this activity.)

6. Recycling of solid wastes into specific market
applications.  Written approval must be obtained from the
Department prior to commencing this activity.  Approval
will be based  on demonstration  that  there  is  an available
market  for  the  intended  recycled material.  To obtain
approval, a person must submit the following to the
Department:

a. A written plan of operation describing the
types and quantities of materials that will be accepted at the
facility, the processing methods and equipment that will be

used, and the products that will be produced; and
b. Documentation demonstrating the existence of

markets for the product.

D. TIMETABLE FOR COMPLIANCE
1. Existing facilities

a. Sanitary and industrial landfills
 All existing facilities must comply with the
provisions of these regulations, must be in compliance with
these regulations by October 9, 1993, with the following
exceptions:        

a. Closed facilities or closed portions of facilities
will not be required to disturb or replace their cap or cover
system for the purpose of coming into compliance with these
regulations.

b. Facilities currently operating under a permit
which does not require a liner and/or a leachate detection
system will not be required to install a liner or leachate
detection system in closed or currently active areas for the
purpose of coming into compliance with these regulations.

 b. Dry waste disposal facilities 
An owner or operator of an existing facility shall,

within six months of enactment of Section 8 of these
regulations, follow the procedures described in Section
4.C.2.  All existing facilities must be in compliance with
these regulations within six months after the date on which
the Department approves the compliance plan described in
Section 4.C.2.

c. Transfer stations
An owner or operator of an existing facility shall,

within six months of enactment of Section 10 of these
regulations, follow the procedures described in Section
4.E.2.  All existing facilities must be in compliance with
these regulations within six months after the date on which
the Department approves the compliance plan described in
Section 4.E.2.

d. Resource recovery facilities
An owner or operator of an existing facility shall

follow the procedures described in Section 4.D.2. All
existing facilities must come into compliance with these
regulations in accordance with the compliance plan and
timetable approved by the Department pursuant to Section
4.D.2.b (12).
 2. New facilities and expansions of existing facilities

All new facilities and all expansions of existing
facilities shall comply with the provisions of these
regulations.

E. Nothing in these regulations shall be construed as
relieving an owner or operator of a facility from the
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obligation of complying with any other laws, regulations,
orders, or requirements which may be applicable.

SECTION 3:  DEFINITIONS
The following words, phrases, and terms as used in

these regulations have the meanings given below:     

 “100-YEAR FLOOD” means a flood that has a one percent
or greater chance of recurring in any given year or a flood of
a magnitude equaled or exceeded once in 100 years on the
average over a significantly long period. 

"ACTION LEAKAGE RATE" means the flow rate that can
be sustained by the drainage layer (in a double liner system)
without the head on the secondary liner exceeding the
drainage layer thickness. [quantity of liquid collected from
a leak detection system of a double liner system over a
specified period of time which, when exceeded, requires
certain actions to be taken as described in the Action
Leakage Rate response plan approved by the
Department.]

"ACTIVE LIFE" means the period of operation beginning
with the initial receipt of solid waste and ending at the
completion of closure activities.

"ACTIVE PORTION" means that portion of a facility that
presently has an operating permit issued by the Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control. 

"AGRICULTURAL WASTE" means the carcasses of
poultry or livestock which are being disposed for the purpose
of disease control and crop residue [, crop residue,] or
animal excrement which is returned to the land for use as a
soil amendment.

"AQUIFER" means a geologic formation, group of
formations, or part of a formation capable of yielding a
significant amount of ground water to wells, springs or
surface water.

"ASTM" means the American Society for Testing and
Materials. 

"AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE" means the person
responsible for the overall operation of a facility or an
operational unit (i.e., part of a facility), e.g., the plant
manager, landfill manager, superintendent, or person of
equivalent responsibility.  

"BOTTOM ASH" means the residue remaining in the
combustion chamber of an incinerator after the combustion
of fossil fuels.
          
"BUFFER ZONE" means those on-site areas adjacent to the
facility property line which shall be left undeveloped during
the active life as well as the inactive life of the facility.

"BULKY WASTE" means items whose large size or weight
precludes or complicates their handling by normal
collection, processing, or disposal methods.  

"CAP" or "CAPPING SYSTEM" means the material used to
cover the top and sides of a sanitary or industrial landfill
when fill operations cease.  

"CELL" means a discrete engineered area that is designed
for the disposal of solid waste and that is a subpart of a
landfill.

"CERTIFICATION" means a statement of professional
opinion based upon knowledge and belief.  

"CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations.
     
"CLAY", as a soil separate, means the mineral soil particles
less than 0.002 mm in diameter.  As a soil textured class,
"CLAY" means soil material that is 40% or more clay, less
than 45% sand, and less than 40% silt.  Clay used as a liner
or cap should be classifiable as a CL or CH (Unified Soil
Classification System) with a liquid limit between 30 and 60,
should place above the A-line on the plasticity chart, and
should have a minimum plastic index of 15.  A clay liner
should have a cation exchange capacity greater than 15 meq/
100 grams and be in the neutral pH range. 

"CLEAN FILL" means a nonwater-soluble,
nondecomposable, environmentally inert solid such as rock,
soil, gravel, concrete, broken glass, and/or clay or ceramic
products.

"CLOSED PORTION" means that portion of a facility
which an owner or operator has closed in accordance with
the approved facility closure plan and all other applicable
closure requirements.
 
"CLOSURE" means the cessation of operation of a facility
or a portion thereof and the act of securing such a facility so
that it will pose no significant threat to human health or the
environment.  
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"CLOSURE PLAN" means written reports and engineering
plans detailing those actions that will be taken by the owner
or operator of a facility to effect proper closure of that
facility or a portion thereof.  

"COMMERCIAL WASTE" means solid waste generated by
stores, offices, restaurants, warehouses, and other
non-manufacturing, non-processing activities. 

"CONFINED AQUIFER" means an aquifer containing
ground water which is everywhere at a pressure greater than
atmospheric pressure and from which water in a well will
rise to a level above the top of the aquifer.  A confined
aquifer is overlain by material of distinctly lower
permeability ("confining bed") than the aquifer.

"CONTAMINANT" means any substance that enters the
environment at a concentration that has the potential to
endanger human health or degrade the environment.

"CONTROLLING SLOPES" means slopes on those areas of
a liner that have a direct influence on the maximum leachate
head, or slopes that are perpendicular to the collection
laterals. 

"DAILY COVER" means a layer of compacted earth, or
other suitable material as approved by the Department, used
to enclose a volume of solid waste each working day.

"DEPARTMENT" means The Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control.
 
"DIKE" means an embankment or ridge of either natural or
man-made materials used to prevent or to control the
movement of solids, liquids, or other materials.  

"DISCHARGE" means the accidental or intentional spilling,
leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting, emptying, or dumping
of a substance into or onto any land, water, or air.  

"DISPOSAL" means the discharge, deposit, injection,
dumping, spilling, leaking, or placing of any solid waste into
or upon any land or water. 

"DISPOSAL FACILITY" means any facility or portion of a
facility at which solid waste is intended to be and/or is
intentionally placed into or onto any land and at which solid
waste will remain after closure has taken place.  

"DOUBLE LINER SYSTEM" means a liner system

consisting of two liners with a leachate detection and
collection system in between. 

"DRY WASTE" (formerly called "INERT SOLID
WASTE") means wastes including, but not limited to,
plastics, rubber, lumber, trees, stumps, vegetative matter,
asphalt pavement, asphaltic products incidental to
construction/demolition debris, or other materials which
have reduced potential for environmental degradation and
leachate production.  

"ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT" means a detailed
and comprehensive description of the condition of all
environmental parameters as they exist at and around the site
of a proposed action prior to implementation of the proposed
action.  This description is used as a baseline for assessing
the environmental impacts of a proposed action.

"ENVIRONMENTALLY UNSOUND" means characterized
by any condition, resulting from the methods of operation or
design of a facility, which impairs the quality of the
environment when compared to the surrounding background
environment or any appropriate promulgated federal, state,
county or municipal standard.

"EXISTING FACILITY" means a facility which was in
operation or for which construction had commenced on or
before the date of enactment of these regulations, provided
that the facility was being constructed or operated pursuant
to all permits and/or approvals required by the Department at
the time of enactment. A facility has commenced
construction if either: 

(i) an on-site physical construction program has begun
and is moving toward completion within a reasonable time;
or

(ii) the owner or operator has entered into contractual
obligations -- which cannot be cancelled or modified without
substantial loss -- for physical construction to be completed
within a reasonable time.  

"EXPANSION" means the process of increasing the areal
dimensions, vertical elevations, or slopes beyond the original
approved limits of the facility.      

"FACILITY" means all contiguous land, and structures,
other appurtenances, and improvements on the land, used in
resource recovery and/or the treatment, handling,
composting, storage, or disposal of solid waste.  A facility
may consist of several operational units (e.g., one or more
landfills, cells, incinerators, compactors, or combinations
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thereof).   

"FINAL COVER" means the material used to cover the top
and sides of a dry waste disposal facility when fill operations
cease.

“FLOOD PLAIN” means the lowland and relatively flat
areas adjoining inland and coastal waters, that are inundated
by the 100-YEAR FLOOD.

"FLY ASH" means a powdery residue resulting from the
combustion of fossil fuels and captured by air pollution
control equipment prior to exiting the smokestack.  

"FREE LIQUIDS" means liquids which readily separate
from the solid portion of a waste under ambient temperature
and pressure, using any or all of the following tests:  EPA
Paint Filter Test; EPA Plate Test; EPA Gravity Test.

"GARBAGE" means any putrescible solid and semi-solid
animal and/or vegetable wastes resulting from the
production, handling, preparation, cooking, serving or
consumption of food or food materials.   

"GENERATION" means the act or process of producing
solid waste.  

"GENERATOR" means the producer or the source of the
solid waste.  

"GEOMEMBRANE" means a prefabricated continuous
sheet of flexible polymeric or geosynthetic material.

"GROUND WATER" means any water naturally found
under the surface of the earth.  

"HAZARDOUS WASTE" means a solid waste, or
combination of solid wastes, which because of its quantity,
concentration, or physical, chemical, or infectious
characteristics may cause or significantly contribute to an
increase in mortality or an increase in serious irreversible, or
incapacitating irreversible, illness, or pose a substantial
present or potential hazard to human health or the
environment when improperly treated, stored, transported, or
disposed of, or otherwise managed.  Without limitation,
included within this definition are those hazardous wastes
described in Sections 261.31, 261.32, and 261.33 of the
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.  

"HOUSEHOLD WASTE" means any solid waste derived

from households (including single and multiple residences,
hotels and motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, crew
quarters, campgrounds, picnic grounds, and day-use
recreation areas).

"HYDRAULIC CONDUCTIVITY" means the capacity to
transmit water. It is expressed as the volume of water that
will move in a unit of time under a unit hydraulic gradient
through a unit area.

"IMPERMEABLE" means having a hydraulic conductivity

equal to or less than 1 x 10-7 cm/sec as determined by field
and laboratory permeability tests made according to standard
test methods which may be correlated with soil densification
as determined by compaction test. 

"INDUSTRIAL LANDFILL" means a land site at which
industrial waste is deposited on or into the land as fill for the
purpose of permanent disposal, except that it will not include
any facility that has been approved for the disposal of
hazardous waste under the Delaware Regulations Governing
Hazardous Waste.

“INDUSTRIAL WASTE” means any water-borne liquid,
gaseous, solid, or other waste substance or a combination
thereof resulting from any process of industry [(including
the construction and demolition industry)],
manufacturing, trade or business, or from the development
of any agricultural or natural resource [and includes DRY
WASTE].

“INERT SOLID WASTE”: see “DRY WASTE”.

"INFECTIOUS WASTE": see section 11, Part 1.B for
definitions pertaining to infectious waste.

"INSTITUTIONAL WASTE" means solid waste that is
generated by institutional enterprises such as social,
charitable, educational, and government services and that is
similar in nature to household waste.

"INTERMEDIATE COVER" means a layer of compacted
earth, or other suitable material as approved by the
Department, applied to a partially completed landfill. 

"LANDFILL" means a natural topographic depression and/
or man-made excavation and/or diked area, formed primarily
of earthen materials, which has been lined with man-made
and/or natural materials or remains unlined and which is
designed to hold an accumulation of solid wastes.
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"LEACHATE" means liquid that has passed through,
contacted, or emerged from solid waste and contains
dissolved, suspended, or miscible materials, chemicals, and
microbial waste products removed from the solid waste.

"LIFT" means a completed series of compacted layers within
a cell.

"LIMITED TRANSPORTER" means a person who uses five
(5) or fewer vehicles to transport solid waste (excluding
infectious waste and asbestos), which vehicles have a
manufacturers Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,000
pounds or more.

"LINER" means a continuous layer of impermeable material
beneath and on the sides of a landfill or landfill cell. 

"LIQUID WASTE" means a waste that contains less than 20
percent solids or releases free liquids.

"LOCAL AGENCY" means any special district, authority,
municipality, county, or any other political subdivision.

"MATERIALS RECOVERY FACILITY" means a facility
at which materials, other than source separated materials, are
recovered from solid waste for recycling or for use as an
energy source.

"MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE" means household waste
and solid waste that is generated by commercial,
institutional, and industrial sources and is similar in nature to
household waste. 

"MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE ASH" means the ash
resulting from the combustion of municipal solid waste in a
thermal recovery facility. 

"MUNICIPALITY" means a city or town of the State of
Delaware. 

"NEW SANITARY LANDFILL CELL" means any
municipal solid waste landfill unit which has not received
waste prior to the effective date of these regulations.
"SANITARY LANDFILL CELL" has the same meaning as
"MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE LANDFILL UNIT" in the
RCRA Subtitle D (40 CFR Part 258) Regulations. 

"NEW SOLID WASTE FACILITY" means a facility which
was not in operation or for which construction had not
commenced on or before the date of enactment of these

regulations.

"ON-SITE" means on the same or geographically contiguous
property which may be divided by public or private
right-of-way.  Non-contiguous properties owned by the same
person but connected by a right-of-way which the owner
controls and to which the public does not have access are
also considered on-site property. 

"OPEN BURNING" means the combustion of solid waste
without:

(1) Control of combustion air to maintain adequate
temperature for efficient combustion, 

(2) Containment of the combustion reaction in an
enclosed device to provide sufficient residence time and
mixing for complete combustion, and 

(3) Control of the emission of the combustion products.

"OPERATOR" means the person responsible for the overall
operation of a solid waste facility.

"OWNER" means the person who owns a facility or any part
of a facility.  

"PERMITTEE" means a person holding a permit issued by
the Department pursuant to this regulation.

"PERSON" means any individual, trust, firm, joint stock
company, federal agency, partnership, corporation
(including a government corporation), association, state,
municipality, commission, political subdivision of a state,
any interstate body, company, society, or any organization of
any form.  

"PERSONNEL" or "FACILITY PERSONNEL" means all
persons who work at, or oversee the operations of, a solid
waste facility, and whose actions or failure to act may result
in noncompliance with the requirements of the Delaware
Solid Waste Regulations or other regulations under the
jurisdiction of the State of Delaware. 

"POST-CLOSURE CARE" means maintenance and
long-term monitoring of, and financial responsibility for, a
closed facility.

"RECHARGE AREA" means that portion of a drainage
basin in which the net saturated flow of ground water is
directed away from the water table.

"RECYCLABLE MATERIAL" means a solid waste that
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exhibits the potential to be used repeatedly in place of a
virgin material.

"RECYCLING" means the process by which recyclable
materials, which would otherwise be disposed of as solid
waste, are returned to the economic mainstream in the form
of raw materials or products.

"REFUSE" means any putrescible or nonputrescible solid
waste, except human excreta, but including garbage, rubbish,
ashes, street cleanings, dead animals, offal and solid
agricultural, commercial, industrial, hazardous and
institutional wastes, and construction wastes. 

“REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE”: see Section 11, Part
1.B. for definitions pertaining to REGULATED MEDICAL
/ INFECTIOUS WASTE.

"RESOURCE RECOVERY" means the process by which
materials, excluding those under control of the Nuclear
Regulatory Commission, which still have useful physical or
chemical properties after serving a specific purpose are
reused or recycled for the same or another purpose,
including use as an energy source.

"RESOURCE RECOVERY FACILITY" means a facility
that is either a MATERIALS RECOVERY FACILITY or a
THERMAL RECOVERY FACILITY.

"RUBBISH" means any nonputrescible solid waste,
excluding ashes, such as cardboard, paper, plastic, metal or
glass food containers, rags, waste metal, yard clippings,
small pieces of wood, excelsior, rubber, leather, crockery,
and other waste materials.  

"RUN-OFF" means any precipitation that drains over land
from any part of a facility.  

"RUN-ON" means any precipitation that drains over land
onto any part of a facility.  

"SALVAGING" means the controlled removal of solid
waste from any facility for reuse of the waste material.
 
"SANITARY LANDFILL" means a land site at which solid
waste is deposited on or into the land as fill for the purpose
of permanent disposal, except that it will not include any
facility that has been approved for the disposal of hazardous
waste under the Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous
Waste.  

"SANITARY LANDFILL CELL BOUNDARY" means a
vertical surface located at the hydraulically downgradient
limit of the cell.  This vertical surface extends down into the
uppermost aquifer.  "Sanitary Landfill Cell Boundary" has
the same meaning as "Waste Management Unit Boundary"
in the RCRA Subtitle D (40 CFR Part 258) Regulations.
"Sanitary Landfill" has the same meaning as "MSWLF" in
the RCRA Subtitle D (40 CFR Part 258) Regulations.

"SATURATED ZONE" means that part of the earth's crust
in which all the voids are filled with water.

"SCAVENGING" means the uncontrolled and/or
unauthorized removal of solid waste from any facility.

"SECRETARY" means the Secretary of the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control or his duly
authorized designee.  

"SETBACK" means the area between the actual disposal
area and the property line which can be used for construction
of environmental control systems such as run-off diversion
ditches, monitoring wells, or scales.

"SITE" means the area of land or water within the property
boundaries of a facility where one or more solid waste
treatment, resource recovery, recycling, storage or disposal
areas are located.  

"SLUDGE" means any solid, semi-solid, or liquid waste
generated from a municipal, commercial, or industrial
wastewater treatment plant, water supply treatment plant, or
air pollution control facility exclusive of the treated effluent
from a wastewater treatment plant.

"SOLID WASTE" means any garbage, refuse, rubbish,
sludge from a waste treatment plant, water supply treatment
plant or air pollution control facility and other discarded
material, including solid, liquid, semi-solid or contained
gaseous material resulting from industrial, commercial,
mining and agricultural operations, and from community
activities, but does not include solid or dissolved material in
domestic sewage, or solid or dissolved material in irrigation
return flows or industrial discharges which are point sources
subject to permits under 7 Del. Code, Chapter 60, as
amended, or source, special nuclear, or by-product material
as defined by the Atomic Energy Act of l954, as amended.  

"SOURCE SEPARATED" means divided into its separate
recyclable components at the point of generation.
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"SPECIAL SOLID WASTES" means those wastes that
require extraordinary management.  They include but are not
limited to abandoned automobiles, white goods, used tires,
waste oil, sludges, dead animals, agricultural and industrial
wastes, infectious waste, municipal ash, septic tank
pumpings, and sewage residues. 

"STORAGE" means the holding of solid waste for a
temporary period, at the end of which time the solid waste is
treated, disposed of, or stored elsewhere. 

"SUBBASE" means the supporting soil layers beneath a
liner. 

"SURFACE WATER" means water occurring generally on
the surface of the earth.   

"THERMAL RECOVERY FACILITY" means a facility
designed to thermally break down solid waste and to recover
energy from the solid waste.

"TOPSOIL" means the friable dark upper portion of a soil
profile that contains mineral substances and organic material
in varying degrees of decomposition and is capable of
supporting vegetation.

"TRANSFER STATION" means any facility where
quantities of solid waste delivered by vehicle are
consolidated or aggregated for subsequent transfer by
vehicle for processing, recycling, or disposal.

"TRANSPORTATION" means the movement of solid waste
by air, rail, water, over the roadway, or on the ground. 

"TRANSPORTER" means any person engaged in the
transportation of solid waste.

"TREATMENT" means the process of altering the physical,
chemical, or biological condition of the waste to prevent
pollution of water, air, or soil or to render the waste safe for
transport, disposal, or reuse. 

"UNCONFINED AQUIFER" means an aquifer in which the
upper surface of the zone of saturation is at atmospheric
pressure.

"UPPERMOST AQUIFER" means the geologic formation
nearest the natural ground surface that is an aquifer, as well
as, lower aquifers that are hydraulically interconnected with
this aquifer within the facility's property boundary. 

"VARIANCE" means a permitted deviation from an
established rule or regulation, or plan, or standard or
procedure, as provided in 7 Del. Code, Chapter 60.  

"VECTOR" means a carrier organism that is capable of
transmitting a pathogen from one organism to another. 

"VEHICLE" means a motorized means of transporting
something.  "Vehicle" includes both the motorized unit and
all containerized units of a conveyance attached thereto.  For
purposes of determining whether a transporter qualifies as a
"LIMITED TRANSPORTER", motorized units will be
counted. 

"WATER TABLE" means that surface in a ground water
body at which the water pressure is atmospheric.  It is
defined by the levels at which water stands in wells that
penetrate the water body just far enough to hold standing
water.
 
"WELL" means any excavation that is drilled, cored, bored,
washed, driven, dug, jetted or otherwise constructed when
the intended use of such excavation is for the location,
testing, acquisition or artificial recharge of underground
water, and where the depth is greater than the diameter or
width.  

"WORKING FACE" means that portion of a landfill where
waste is discharged, spread and compacted prior to
placement of daily cover

SECTION 4: PERMIT REQUIREMENTS AND
ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
1. Permit required

a. No person shall engage in the construction,
operation, material alteration, or closure of a solid waste
facility, unless exempted from these regulations under
Section 2.C, without first having obtained a permit from the
Department.

b. No person that is subject to the requirements of
Section 7.B or 7.C of these regulations shall transport solid
waste in or through the State of Delaware without first
having obtained an appropriate solid waste transporter's
permit from the Department.

2. Public notice; hearing 
Within 60 days after receipt of a completed application

and all other required information, the Department will give
public notice and the opportunity for a public hearing as
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provided in 7 Del. Code Ch. 60.  The cost of the
advertisement shall be borne by the applicant.  A 15 day
comment period will follow the publication date of each
public notice.  If no meritorious adverse public comments
are received during this period, and the Secretary does not
deem a public hearing to be in the best interest of the State,
the Department will enter into the permit approval/denial
phase. If a meritorious request for a hearing is received
during the comment period, or if the Secretary deems a
hearing to be in the best interest of the State, a public hearing
will be held as provided in 7 Del. Code, Chapter 60, Sections
6004 and 6006.

3. Approval/denial
The Department shall act upon an application for a

permit within 60 days after the close of the public notice
comment period or upon receipt of the hearing officer's
report if a hearing was required.  When a final determination
is made on an application, the Department shall issue a
permit or send a letter of denial to the applicant explaining
the reasons for the denial.

4. Suspension, revocation of permit
A permit may be revoked or suspended for violation of

any condition of the permit or any requirement of this
regulation, after notice and opportunity for hearing in
accordance with 7 Del. Code, Chapter 60.

5. Duration of permit
A permit will be issued for a specific duration which

will be determined by the Department.  In no case will a
permit be valid for more than five years.  

a. Solid waste facility operating permits
(landfills, resource recovery facilities, transfer stations,
incinerators) shall not be issued for periods greater than 10
years. 

 b. Post-closure permits shall be valid and
enforceable throughout the entire post-closure period. 

6. Permit renewal
Any person wishing to renew an existing permit shall,

not less than 90 days prior to the expiration date of that
permit, submit a [written request for permit renewal. This
request may be in the form of a letter but shall not be
combined with correspondence relating to any matter
other than the permit renewal] [permit renewal
application form, provided by the Department].  
  In the event that the permittee submits a timely  request
[application] for permit renewal, and the Department,
through no fault of the permittee, is unable to make a final
determination on the  request [application] before the
expiration date of the current permit, the Department may, at
its discretion, grant an extension of the permit.  If the
Department issues an extension, all conditions of the permit,

and all modifications previously requested by the
Department, will remain in effect, for a period of time which
will be determined by the Department.  

7. Modification of permit 
a. A permittee may request modifications to a

permit.  All such requests must be submitted in writing to the
Department.

b. The Department may initiate modification of a
permit if it finds that the existing permit conditions either are
not adequate or are not necessary to protect human health
and the environment. 

c. Public notice and opportunity for hearing in
accordance with paragraph A.2. of this Section shall be
accomplished for all major modifications proposed for the
permit.  In the event a hearing is requested or deemed
necessary by the Secretary, only the permit conditions
subject to the modification shall be reopened for public
comment.

d. Public notice shall not be required for minor
modifications to the permit.  Minor modifications are those
which if granted would not result in any increased impact or
risk to the environment or to the public health.  Minor
modifications include but are not limited to:

(1) Changes in operation or design which are
not related to pollution control devices or procedures.

(2) Improvements to approved pollution
control devices or procedures.

(3) Administrative changes.
(4) A change in monitoring or reporting

frequency.
(5) The correction of typographical errors.

8. Transfer of permit
A written request for the transfer of a permit must be

submitted to the Department at least 15 days prior to the date
of the proposed transfer.  The actual transfer will be
contingent upon the transferee's meeting all Department
requirements; until such time, the original permittee will
remain liable regardless of who owns the facility.

9. Enforcement
a. The Department reserves the right to inspect

any site, or any vehicle intended for use in the transportation
of solid waste, before issuing a solid waste permit for the site
or the transporter.

b. The Department may, at any reasonable time,
enter any permitted solid waste facility or inspect any
vehicle being used in the transportation of solid waste in
order to verify compliance with the permit and these
regulations.

c. The Department may require such reports,
interviews, tests or other information necessary for the



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1555

evaluation of permit applications and the verification of
compliance with the permit and these regulations. 

d. Any person using land, or allowing the use of
land, for the storage, processing, or disposal of solid waste
who violates a requirement of this regulation shall be subject
to the provisions of Sections 6005, 6013, 6018, and 6025(c)
of 7 Del. Code, Chapter 60.

10. Replacement of Contaminated Water Supplies
If the Department determines, based on information

obtained by or submitted to the Department or the Division
of Public Health, that any drinking water supply well has
become contaminated as a result of the construction or
operation of a solid waste facility, the owner or operator of
the facility will be required to construct and maintain, at his
or her expense, a permanent alternative water supply of
comparable quantity and quality to the source before it was
contaminated.  Such a determination will be subject to the
review procedures contained in 7 Del. Code, Chapter 60.

11. Financial Assurance Criteria
a. Applicability and effective date

[(1)]The requirements of this section apply to
owners and operators of all solid waste facilities, except
owners or operators who are State or Federal Government
entities whose debts and liabilities are the debts and
liabilities of the State or the United States.

(2) The requirements of this section are
effective immediately upon adoption, except the
requirements pertaining to sanitary landfills become
effective April 9, 1995 (or on any alternate date that the
Federal requirements pertaining to financial assurance for
MSWLFs become effective).

b. Financial Assurance for Closure, Post-Closure
Care, and Corrective Action

(1) The owner or operator of a solid waste
facility must provide assurance that the financial costs
associated with closure, post-closure care, and corrective
action can be met throughout the life of the facility until
released from these requirements by the Department after
demonstrating successful completion of compliance with the
requirements for each of these activities. 

(2)  The mechanisms used to demonstrate
financial assurance under this section must ensure that the
funds necessary to meet the costs of closure, post-closure
care, and corrective action for known releases will be
available whenever they are needed.  Owners or operators
must choose from the options specified in paragraphs (a)
through (i) of this section, and comply with any conditions
noted therein.  

(a) Trust Fund
Condition 1:The trustee must be an entity

which has the authority to act as a trustee and whose trust
operations are regulated and examined by a Federal or State
of Delaware agency.

Condition 2:The trust agreement shall be
worded as prescribed by the Department.

Condition 3:The owner or operator shall
submit the receipt from the trustee for the initial payment
into the trust fund as well as the originally signed duplicate
of the trust agreement for Department approval prior to
receiving solid waste, or in the case of an existing facility,
prior to the cancellation of the existing financial assurance
mechanism.

Condition 4:Pay-in periods and amounts
for all solid waste facilities shall be in accordance with those
specified in 40 CFR Part 258.74, subsections (a)(2),(a)(3),
(a)(4) and (a)(6) or otherwise acceptable to the Department.

Condition 5:Schedule A, attached to the
trust agreement, shall list the facility name and address and
the current cost estimate. Schedule A must relate the trust
agreement to the specific facility and obligation(s) being
assured and shall be updated at least annually to account for
inflation or other increases to the cost estimate.  Costs
reflected in Schedule A shall not be reduced without the
written consent of the Department.

Condition 6:Schedule B, attached to the
trust agreement, shall list the property or money that the fund
consists of initially.  Property must consist of cash or
securities acceptable to the trustee.  Other property (e.g. real
estate) is not an acceptable payment into the trust fund.

Condition 7:Exhibit A, attached to the
trust agreement, shall list the persons designated by the
Grantor to sign orders, requests, and instructions to the
trustee.

Condition 8:Annual valuation.  Annually,
the trustee shall furnish to the Department and to the owner
or operator, a statement confirming the value of the trust
fund.  Any securities in the trust fund shall be valued at
market value as of no more than 60 days prior to the date the
statement is submitted to the Department. If possible, the
statement should be submitted during the month that
Schedule A is adjusted annually. 

Condition 9:The trustee shall make
payments from the fund only as the Department directs to
provide for the payment for the costs of corrective action,
closure, and/or post-closure care.

Condition 10:After beginning closure,
post-closure care, or corrective action, an owner or operator
or other person authorized in accordance with Condition 7
may request reimbursements for partial expenditures by
submitting itemized bills to the Secretary. The owner or
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operator may request reimbursements for partial closure,
post-closure care, or corrective action only if sufficient funds
are remaining in the trust fund to cover the maximum costs
of completing the activities for which the trust agreement
was established.  Within 60 days after receiving bills for
reimbursable closure, post-closure care, or corrective action
activities, the Secretary will instruct the trustee to make
reimbursements in those amounts as the Secretary specifies
in writing.  Reimbursements will be allowed only if the
Secretary determines that the partial or final expenditures are
in accordance with the approved closure, post closure care,
or corrective action plan or are otherwise justified. If the
Secretary has reason to believe that the maximum cost of
closure over the remaining life of the facility will be
significantly greater than the value of the trust fund, he/she
may withhold reimbursements of such amounts as he/she
deems prudent. If the Secretary does not instruct the trustee
to make such reimbursements, he/she will provide the owner
or operator with a detailed written statement of reasons.

Condition 11:Amendments.  The trust
agreement may be amended by an instrument in writing
executed by the grantor, the trustee, and the Department, or
by the trustee and the Department if the grantor ceases to
exist.

Condition 12:Irrevocability and
termination.  Subject to Condition 11, the trust agreement
shall be irrevocable and shall continue until terminated at the
written agreement of the grantor, the trustee, and the
Department, or by the trustee and the Department if the
grantor ceases to exist.

(b) Surety Bond for Payment or
Performance

Condition 1:At a minimum, the surety
company issuing the bond must be listed in Circular 570 of
the U.S. Department of Treasury as qualified in the state
where the bond was executed.

Condition 2:The surety’s underwriting
limit must be at least as great as the amount of the surety
bond.

Condition 3:The surety bond shall be
worded as prescribed by the Department.

Condition 4:The owner or operator shall
submit the bond and standby trust fund for Department
approval prior to receiving solid waste, or in the case of an
existing facility, prior to the cancellation of the existing
financial assurance mechanism. 

Condition 5:Standby trust fund. The
owner or operator must establish a standby trust fund, and
the standby trust fund must meet the requirements of these
regulations except that initial and annual payments are not

required. Updates of Schedule A, and annual valuation
reporting will not be required until payment is made into the
trust fund. Payments made under the terms of the surety
bond shall be deposited by the issuing institution directly
into the standby trust fund. 

Condition 6:The payment surety bond may
not be used for corrective actions.

Condition 7:Under the terms of the bond,
the surety may cancel the bond by sending notice of
cancellation to the Secretary of the Department, to the Solid
Waste Management Branch, and to the owner and operator
at least 120 days in advance of cancellation. If the Surety
cancels the bond, the owner or operator must obtain alternate
financial assurance. The Department may draw on  the
surety bond if the owner or operator has not provided
alternative financial assurance within 90 days after receipt
by the Solid Waste Management Branch of a notice of
cancellation from the surety.

Condition 8:The owner or operator may
cancel the surety bond if the Department provides its written
consent to do so.  The Department will provide such written
consent when the owner substitutes alternate financial
assurance as specified in these regulations or the bonded
activity has been completed in accordance with these
regulations.

Condition 9:The surety shall become
liable on the bond when the owner or operator has failed to
fulfill the closure, post-closure care or corrective action
activities as required.  Upon notification by the Department
that the owner or operator has failed to perform closure or
post-closure care guaranteed by a payment bond, the surety
shall place funds in the amount guaranteed for the facility
into the standby trust fund.  Upon notification that the owner
or operator has failed to perform closure, post-closure care,
or corrective action as guaranteed by a performance bond,
the surety shall either perform the activities guaranteed by
the bond or place funds in the amount guaranteed for the
facility into the standby trust fund.

(c) Letter of Credit
Condition 1:The issuing financial

institution must be an entity which has the authority to issue
letters of credit and whose letter of credit operations are
regulated and examined by a Federal or State of Delaware
agency.

Condition 2:The letter of credit shall be
worded as prescribed by the Department.

Condition 3:Accompanying letter. The
owner or operator shall also submit an accompanying letter
referring to the letter of credit by number and listing the
following information: complete name and address of
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facility, issuing institution and date, and amount and purpose
of funds assured . 

Condition 4:The owner or operator shall
submit the letter of credit and accompanying letter for
Department approval prior to receiving solid waste, or in the
case of an existing facility, prior to the cancellation of the
existing financial assurance mechanism. 

Condition 5:The letter of credit must be
irrevocable and issued for a period of at least one year.  The
letter of credit must provide  that the expiration date will be
automatically extended for a period of at least one year
unless, at least 120 days before the current expiration date,
the issuing institution notifies the Secretary of the
Department, [the Solid] [to extend the expiration
date.Waste] [Waste Management Branch, and the owner
or operator of a decision not to extend the expiration
date.] 

Condition 6:  Once the issuing financial
institution notifies the Solid Waste Management Branch of
its intent not to extend the Letter of Credit, the owner or
operator must, within 90 days, provide alternate financial
assurance.  The Department may draw on the letter of credit
if the owner or operator has not provided alternative
financial assurance within 90 days. 

Condition 7:Following a determination by
the Secretary of the Department that the owner or operator
has failed to perform closure, post-closure-care, or corrective
action when required to do so, the Department may draw on
the letter of credit. 

(d) Insurance
Condition 1:The insurer must be licensed

to transact the business of insurance in one or more states or
be eligible to provide insurance as an excess or surplus lines
insurer in one or more states.

Condition 2:Captive insurance companies
and risk retention groups cannot be used to satisfy the
requirements of this section.

Condition 3:Insurance is not an allowable
mechanism for demonstrating financial responsibility for
corrective action. 

Condition 4:The policy must guarantee
that the funds will be available whenever needed and that the
insurer will be responsible for paying out funds to authorized
persons.

Condition 5:The policy must allow
assignment to a successor owner or operator.  Assignment
may be conditional upon consent of the insurer provided that
such consent is not unreasonably refused.

Condition 6:The policy must provide that
the insurer may not cancel, terminate or fail to renew the

policy except for failure to pay the premium.  The automatic
renewal of the policy must, at a minimum, provide the
insured with the option of renewal at the face amount of the
expiring policy.

Condition 7:If the owner or operator fails
to pay the premium, the insurer may cancel the policy by
sending notice of cancellation by certified mail to the
Secretary of the Department, to the Solid Waste
Management Branch, and to the owner or operator of the
facility, at least 120 days in advance of the cancellation and
date of expiration.  Cancellation, termination, or failure to
renew may not occur and the policy will remain in full force
and effect in the event that on or before the date of
expiration, the Secretary of the Department deems the
facility abandoned; or the permit is terminated or revoked or
a new permit is denied; or closure is ordered by the Secretary
of the Department, or a U.S. District Court or other court of
competent jurisdiction; or the owner or operator is named as
debtor in a voluntary or involuntary proceeding under Title
11 (Bankruptcy) USC; or the premium due is paid.

Condition 8:Prior to requesting
reimbursement from the insurer, owners or operators shall
submit justification and documentation of the reimbursable
expenses to the Department for its consent.    

Condition 9:A copy of the policy shall be
submitted to the Department for its approval prior to
receiving solid waste, or in the case of an existing facility,
prior to the cancellation of the existing financial assurance
mechanism. 

(e) Corporate or Local Government
Financial Test and Guarantee

Condition 1:Financial tests and guarantees
shall not be used for assuring  funds for post-closure periods
or corrective actions.

Condition 2:Guarantees shall be worded as
specified by the Department.

Condition 3:A local government is not
eligible to assure its obligations by this mechanism if it: is
currently in default of any outstanding general obligation
bonds; or has any general obligation bonds rated lower than
Baa as issued by Moody’s or BBB as issued by Standard and
Poor’s; or operated at a deficit equal to five percent or more
of total annual revenue in each of the past two fiscal years; or
received an adverse opinion, disclaimer of opinion, or other
qualified opinion from the independent certified public
accountant (or appropriate state agency) auditing its
financial statement, and the Department deems the reason
for the qualification as significant.  

Condition 4:Bond Rating/Financial Ratio
Alternatives. The local government must meet one of the
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following two financial tests:  a) If the local government has
outstanding, rated, general obligation bonds that are not
secured by insurance, a letter of credit, or other collateral or
guarantee, it must have a current rating of Aaa, Aa, A, or
Baa, as issued by Moody’s, or AAA, AA, A, or BBB as
issued by Standard and Poor’s on all such general obligation
bonds; or b) Based upon the most recently audited annual
financial statement, a ratio of cash plus marketable securities
to total expenditures greater than or equal to 0.05, and a ratio
of annual debt service to total expenditures less than or equal
to 0.20.  

Condition 5: The total costs being assured
through a financial test must not exceed 43 percent of the
local government’s total annual revenue.  If the local
government assures other environmental obligations through
financial tests; including those associated with UIC facilities
under 40 CFR 144.62, underground storage tank facilities
under 40 CFR Part 280, PCB storage facilities under 40 CFR
Part 761, and hazardous waste treatment, storage, and
disposal facilities under 40 CFR Parts 264 and 265; it must
add those costs to the closure costs it seeks to assure under
this mechanism.

Condition 6:Public Notice.  The local
government shall place a reference to the closure costs
assured through the financial test into its next comprehensive
annual financial report (CAFR).

Condition 7:Accountants Opinion. A
Certified Public Accountant’s opinion of the local
governments financial statements for the most recent fiscal
year must also be included in the initial financial assurance
package and annually no later than 90 days after the close of
the local government’s fiscal year.  The opinion must be
unqualified and demonstrate that the local government has
prepared its financial statements in accordance with the
requirements of the General Accounting Standards Board
Statement 18.

Condition 8:Chief Financial Officer letter.
The Chief Financial Officer must include a letter
demonstrating that the local government has complied with
Conditions 3, 4, 5, and 6.  The CFO letter shall be submitted
to the Department as part of the initial financial assurance
package and annually no later than 90 days after the close of
the local government’s fiscal year.

Condition 9:If, at the end of any fiscal
year, the local government fails to meet the financial test
criteria required by conditions 3, 4, or 5, then the local
government shall send, within 90 days, by certified mail,
notice to the Secretary of the Department and to the Solid
Waste Management Branch, that they intend to provide
alternate financial assurance as required by these

regulations.  The local government shall, within 210 days
following the close of the fiscal year, obtain alternative
financial assurance that meets the requirements of these
regulations. 

Condition 10:The guarantee, approved by
the Department, must be effective prior to the initial receipt
of waste or in the case of an existing facility, prior to the
cancellation of the existing financial assurance mechanism.

Condition 11:  The guarantee shall remain
in force unless the local government sends notice of
cancellation by certified mail to the Secretary of the
Department and to the Solid Waste Management Branch.
Such notice shall be given at least 120 days in advance of the
cancellation.  Within 90 days of  receipt of  this notice of
cancellation by the Solid Waste Management Branch, the
local government shall provide alternative financial
assurance acceptable to the Department. 

(f) Corporate or Local Government
Financial Test and Guarantee

Condition 1:Financial tests and guarantees
shall not be used for assuring funds for post-closure periods
or corrective actions.

Condition 2:Guarantees shall be worded as
prescribed by the Department. 

Condition 3:A resolution agreeing to the
terms and conditions of the guarantee and signed by the
guarantor’s board of directors shall be attached to the
guarantee. 

Condition 4:The guarantor must be the
direct or higher tier parent company  of the owner or
operator, or a firm whose parent corporation is also the
parent corporation of the owner or operator.

Condition 5:Minimum size requirement.
The guarantor must have a tangible net worth equal to the
sum of the costs they seek to assure through a financial test,
plus $10 million. The costs that the guarantor seeks to assure
are equal to the current cost estimates for closure,
post-closure care, corrective action, and any other
environmental obligation assured by a financial test and/or
corporate  guarantee by the guarantor (including other
landfills or solid waste facilities; PCB storage facilities;
underground storage tanks; hazardous waste treatment,
storage, disposal facilities; or underground injection control
program facilities).

Condition 6:Bond Rating/Financial Ratio
Alternatives.  Guarantors must meet one of the following
three financial tests:  a) A most recent bond rating no lower
than Baa as issued by Moody’s or BBB as issued by
Standard and Poor’s. b) A leverage ratio of less than 1.5
based on the ratio of total liabilities to tangible net worth. c)
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A profitability ratio of greater than 0.10 based on the sum of
the net income plus depreciation, depletion and amortization,
minus $10 million, to total liabilities.

Condition 7:Domestic Assets
Requirement. Guarantors must have assets in the United
States at least equal to the costs they seek to assure through a
financial test (costs include those reported for Condition 5).

Condition 8:Chief Financial Officer letter.
The Chief Financial Officer must include a letter
demonstrating that the guarantor has complied with
Conditions 4, 5, 6, and 7.  The CFO letter shall be submitted
to the Department as part of the initial financial assurance
package and annually no later than 90 days after the close of
the guarantors fiscal year.

Condition 9:Accountants Opinion. A
Certified Public Accountant’s opinion of the guarantors
financial statements for the most recent fiscal year must also
be included in the initial financial assurance package and
annually no later than 90 days after the close of the
guarantor’s fiscal year. The opinion must be unqualified (not
modified by conditions or reservations) and demonstrate that
the firm has prepared its financial statements in accordance
with generally accepted accounting principals for
corporations.

Condition 10:Special Report.  In the event
that the CFO does not use financial test figures directly form
the annual statements provided to the Securities and
Exchange Commission, then a special report from an
independent accountant shall be required.  In the report, the
Certified Public Accountant must confirm that the data used
in the CFO letter was appropriately derived from the audited,
year-end financial statements. 

Condition 11:Incapacity. The guarantor
shall notify the Secretary of the Department and the Solid
Waste Management Branch by certified mail of the
commencement of a voluntary or involuntary proceeding
under Title 11 Bankruptcy, USC, naming the guarantor,
owner or operator of the facility as debtor, within 10 days
after commencement of the proceeding.

Condition 12:If, at the end of any fiscal
year, the guarantor fails to meet the financial test criteria
required by conditions 5, 6, or 7, then the guarantor shall
send, within 90 days, by certified mail, notice to the
Secretary of the Department, to the Solid Waste
Management Branch, and to the owner or operator, that
guarantor intends to provide alternate financial assurance as
required by these regulations.  Within 120 days of such fiscal
year, the guarantor shall establish such financial assurance
unless the owner or operator has done so.

Condition 13:Within 30 days of being

notified by the Department that a determination has been
made that the guarantor no longer meets the requirements
stated in Conditions 5, 6, or 7, the guarantor shall establish
alternate financial assurance in accordance with these
regulations. 

Condition 14:The guarantee, approved by
the Department, must be effective prior to the initial receipt
of waste or in the case of an existing facility, prior to the
cancellation of the existing financial assurance mechanism.

(g) State Department-Approved
Mechanism.

(h) State Assumption of Responsibility.
(i) Use of Multiple Financial

Mechanisms (any combination of the options listed above).
(3) The language of the financial assurance

mechanisms listed in this section must satisfy the following
criteria:

(a) They must ensure that the amount of
funds assured is sufficient to cover the costs of closure,
post-closure care, and corrective action for known releases
when needed.

(b) They must ensure that funds will be
available in a timely fashion when needed.

(c) They must be obtained by the owner
or operator by the effective date of these requirements or
prior to the initial receipt of solid waste, whichever is later,
in the case of closure and post-closure care, and no later than
120 days after the corrective action remedy has been
selected, until the owner or operator is released from the
financial assurance requirements. 

(d) They must be legally valid, binding,
and enforceable under State law. 

(4) The [Upon request by the Department,
the] applicant or permittee shall reimburse the Department
for its reasonable costs incurred in obtaining third-party
review of [provide a third party review of the] financial
assurance documents submitted.  Third parties may include
Certified Public Accountants, Attorneys, or other
professionals versed in the application of the particular
financial assurance mechanism chosen. Reimbursement
shall be made [The third party review must certify to the
Department that the financial assurance documents as
submitted] by the applicant or permittee within 30 days of
receipt of an itemized statement of incurred costs submitted
by the Department [meet the requirements of Section
4.A.11.b(2) of these regulations, and be sealed and signed
by a Certified Public Accountant duly registered in
Delaware.  

(5) The application shall not be deemed
complete until and unless the applicant has complied
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with Section 4.A.11.b(4) of these regulations as specified
above].

c.  Cost Estimate for Closure
(1) The owner or operator must submit to the

Department a detailed written estimate, in current dollars, of
the cost of closing the facility that is consistent with the
closure plan developed in accordance with the closure
requirements for that type of facility.  The estimate must
equal the maximum cost of closure at any time during the
active life of the facility.  The owner or operator shall also
notify the Secretary in writing that the estimate has been
placed in the records to be maintained at the facility.  

(2) Until final closure of the facility, the
owner or operator must annually adjust the closure cost
estimate for inflation, facility expansions, and any other
applicable requirements which impact the cost of closure. 

(3) The owner or operator must increase the
cost estimate and the amount of financial assurance provided
for closure if changes to the closure plan or facility
conditions increase the maximum cost of closure at any time
during the remaining active life.

(4) The Department may approve reduction in
the amount of financial assurance provided for closure if the
latest cost estimate is significantly less than the maximum
cost of the current closure plan.  The owner or operator must
submit to the Secretary in writing the justification for the
reduction of the closure cost estimate and the amount of
financial assurance.  Any changes in the amount of financial
assurance must also be placed in the records to be
maintained at the facility.

d. Cost Estimate for Post-Closure Care
(1) The owner or operator of a solid waste

facility for which post-closure care is required must
demonstrate financial assurance for the cost of thirty (30)
years of post-closure care.  The owner or operator must
submit to the Department a detailed written estimate, in
current dollars, of the cost of hiring a third party to conduct
post-closure care for the solid waste facility in compliance
with the post-closure plan.  This estimate must be based on
the most expensive costs of post-closure care during the
post-closure care period. The owner or operator must also
notify the Department in writing that the estimate has been
placed in the records to be maintained at the facility.

(2) During the active life of the solid waste
facility and during the post-closure care period, the owner or
operator must annually adjust the post-closure cost estimate
for inflation and other applicable factors.

(3) The owner or operator must increase the
post-closure care cost estimate and the amount of financial
assurance provided if changes in the post-closure plan or

solid waste facility conditions increase the maximum costs
of post-closure care.

(4) The Secretary may approve the reduction
of the post-closure cost estimate and the amount of financial
assurance provided if the latest cost estimate is significantly
less than the maximum costs of post-closure care remaining
over the post-closure care period.  The owner or operator
must submit to the Secretary in writing the justification for
the reduction of the post-closure cost estimate.  Any changes
in the amount of financial assurance must also be placed in
the records to be maintained at the facility.

e. Cost Estimate for Corrective Action
(1) An owner or operator of a solid waste

facility required to undertake a corrective action program
must submit to the Secretary in writing a detailed written
estimate, in current dollars, of the cost of hiring a third party
to perform the corrective action.  The corrective action cost
estimate must account for the total costs of corrective action
activities as described in the corrective action plan for the
entire corrective action period.  The owner or operator must
also notify the Secretary that the cost estimate has been
placed in the records to be maintained at the facility.

(2) The owner or operator must annually
adjust the estimate for inflation and any other applicable
factors until the corrective action program is completed.

(3) The owner or operator must increase the
corrective action cost estimate and the amount of financial
assurance provided if changes in the corrective action
program or facility conditions increase the maximum costs
of corrective action.

(4) The Secretary may approve reduction of
the amount of the corrective action cost estimate and the
amount of financial assurance provided if the cost estimate
exceeds the maximum remaining costs of corrective action.
The owner or operator must submit to the Secretary in
writing the justification for the reduction of the corrective
action cost estimate.  The owner or operator must also notify
the Secretary in writing that the amended amount of
financial assurance has been placed in the records to be
maintained at the facility. 

B. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR SANITARY
AND INDUSTRIAL LANDFILLS 

1. New facilities
a. Construction

1. Application
Any person desiring to obtain a permit to construct

or operate a sanitary or industrial landfill or cell must submit
a letter of intent to the Department.  The letter should
indicate the projected design and usage of the proposed
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facility.  The letter of intent shall be followed by the
submission, by the applicant, of the following additional
information:

a.  Application to Construct a Solid Waste
Facility A Solid Waste Management Facility Application,
form provided by the Department.  

b. Proof of ownership of the property.  If the
applicant does not own the property, a copy of the lease
agreement and the owner's irrevocable permission to conduct
the proposed activity on the property must also be submitted. 

c. A plan of operation
This shall include the following:
(1) A narrative description of the type of

facility and of the solid waste handling and disposal
procedures to be used,

(2) A narrative explaining the methods and
schedule for operation, modification, use, and maintenance
of the various components of the facility,

(3) A description of the proposed monitoring
methods,

(4) A description of the proposed methods for
controlling noise, litter, odors, insects, and rodents, and

(5) A contingency plan to be implemented in
case of emergency (e.g., a fire, explosion, or spill that
threatens public health and safety or the environment).

d. An engineering report
This report  shall be prepared and signed by a

Professional Engineer registered in Delaware and shall
include the following:

(1) Descriptions and specifications of all
proposed design features,

(2) A description of the proposed installation
methods and procedures,

(3) A schedule of events for construction of
the facility,

(4) Proposed design capacity in both tons and
cubic yards per day, and projected life expectancy of the
facility,

(5) A construction quality assurance plan.
This report shall be prepared and signed

by a Professional Engineer registered in Delaware and shall
include a description of the manner in which quality
assurance will be carried out during the construction and
installation of all design features.

e. A hydrogeological assessment
A hydrogeological investigation must be

performed at the proposed site and approved by the
Department before a construction permit will be issued.
This investigation shall include a series of test borings and
wells, constructed to a depth and in a number sufficient to

identify: 
(1) The occurrence and characteristics of the

unconfined and first confined aquifers,
(2) Ground water flow directions,

(3) Ambient ground water quality,
(4) Potential pathways of contaminants to

points of ground water discharge,
(5) Approximate ground water flow rates and

travel times from the facility to points of discharge
(including wells and/or surface water).

In addition, delineation of the anticipated maximum
elevation of the seasonal high water table shall be provided.

This investigation and report shall be signed by a
Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.  

f. An environmental assessment
An environmental assessment shall be

performed to provide a detailed analysis of the potential
impact of the proposed facility on the environment.  Factors
to be considered include:

Air quality
Water quality
Stream flow
Fish and wildlife
Plants
Threatened or endangered species
Water uses
Land use
Aesthetics 
Traffic
Public health and safety
Cultural, recreational, and natural areas
Historic sites
Social and economic factors.

If the applicant or the Department determines that
the proposed facility may cause a threat to human health or
the environment, the applicant must provide a written
explanation of how he or she plans to mitigate the potential
harm.

g. Topographical and site location maps
This shall include a topographical map or

series of maps on a scale satisfactory to the Department but
in no case less than one inch equal to 400 feet, showing
topographic elevations surveyed with reference to mean sea
level, and any necessary narrative descriptions, including but
not limited to the following:

(1) The legal boundaries of the property as
determined by a survey performed by a registered surveyor;
the names of the present owners of the proposed site and of
all adjacent lands; and a description of all title, deed, or
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usage restrictions affecting the proposed permit area.
(2) The boundaries of the facility over the

estimated total life of the proposed operation, including the
boundaries of land that will be affected in each sequence of
disposal activity.

(3) The boundaries of land where solid waste
will be stored at any time over the estimated total life of the
proposed operation.

(4) The locations and names of all water
supply wells or surface water intakes within 1/4 mile of the
disposal site boundaries.

h. Proof that all applicable zoning approvals and
all appropriate federal, state, and local environmental
permits have been obtained.

i. Closure plan as described in Section 5.J.3 or
6.J.3, as appropriate.

j. Proof of financial responsibility for closure and
post-closure care, as described in Section 4.A.11., b and d.

k. Proof that the facility meets the siting criteria
required by Section 5.A. or 6.A.

l. Any other related reports, data, maps, or
information that the Department requires.      

b. Operation
A facility constructed pursuant to a Construction

Permit issued under these regulations may operate for a
90-day trial period after construction is complete, provided
the Construction Permit is still valid during that period.  

At the end of the trial operating period, the facility
may continue to operate only if an Operating Permit has
been obtained.  To obtain an Operating Permit, the owner or
operator must submit the following to the Department prior
to entering into the 90-day trial period:

(1) Notification of intent to commence operation.
(2) Revisions or updates of reports or information

submitted with the Application to Construct a Solid Waste
Facility, if required by the Department.

2. Construction and Operation
a. The applicant shall not commence construction

of the landfill or cell until the Department has issued the
solid waste permit required by these regulations.

b. After construction has been completed and
prior to the placement of solid waste, the permittee shall
submit a final report for the Department’s approval. The
final report shall certify that the construction of the landfill
or cell was completed in accordance with the engineering
report to include the Construction Quality Assurance Plan,
construction and material specifications, and design
drawings.  The final report shall be certified correct by the
construction quality assurance engineer, who must be a

Professional Engineer registered in Delaware.  The permittee
shall not place solid waste into the newly constructed landfill
or cell until the Department has provided its written
notification that the construction and the final report meet
the requirements of the permit and the Delaware Regulations
Governing Solid Waste.

3. Closure 
a. Any person wishing to obtain a closure permit

modify their current permit to allow closure of a facility or
part thereof must submit the following to the Department at
least 180 days prior to the projected date when wastes will
no longer be accepted:

(1) Notification of intent to close,
(2) Closure plan as described in Section 5.J.3

or 6.J.3, as appropriate,
(3) Post-closure care plan describing how the

requirements of Section 5.K or 6.K (as appropriate) will be
met.

b. If the Department determines that the closure
plan and supporting documents are sufficient to ensure
closure, it will modify the permit to allow closure to be
performed.  The owner or operator of the landfill shall not
commence closure of the landfill or cell without first
obtaining the necessary permit modifications.

c. After closure has been completed, the
permittee shall submit a final report for the Department’s
approval. The final report shall certify that the closure of the
landfill or cell was completed in accordance with the closure
plan to include the Construction Quality Assurance Plan,
construction and material specifications, and design
drawings.  The final report shall be certified correct by the
construction quality assurance engineer, who must be a
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware.   The landfill
or cell shall not be considered closed until the Department
has provided its written notification that the closure has been
accomplished in accordance with the solid waste permit and
these regulations. 

d. Facilities entering the Post-closure period will
be issued a post-closure permit based upon the approved
post-closure plan, monitoring requirements, gas and leachate
control, maintenance, and corrective actions (if required). 

2. Existing facilities
a. Any person desiring to continue construction

or operation of a sanitary or industrial landfill, construction
or operation of which was being conducted pursuant to a
permit issued under the Delaware Solid Waste Disposal
Regulation, must, within six months after the date of
enactment of these regulations, submit to the Department a
report explaining how the facility will be brought into
compliance and a timetable for attaining compliance. The
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proposed schedule and methods for attaining compliance
will be subject to Department approval.  The facility must be
in compliance with these regulations within six months after
the date on which the Department approves the compliance
schedule.  

b. Any person who, at the time of enactment of
these regulations, is in the process of closing a solid waste
facility pursuant to a permit issued under the Delaware Solid
Waste Disposal Regulation, shall complete closure
according to the conditions set forth in that permit.

C. THIS PARAGRAPH RESERVED

C. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR DRY WASTE
DISPOSAL FACILITIES 

1. New facilities
a. Construction
Any person desiring to obtain a permit to construct

a dry waste disposal facility must submit a letter of intent to
the Department.  The letter should indicate the projected
design and usage of the proposed facility.  The letter of
intent shall be followed by submission, by the applicant, of
the following additional information:

(1) Application to Construct a Solid Waste
Facility, provided by the Department.

(2) Proof of ownership of the property. If the
applicant does not own the property, a copy of the lease
agreement and the owner's irrevocable permission to conduct
the proposed activity on the property must also be submitted.

(3) A plan of operation.
This shall include the following:

(a) A description of the facility and of the
solid waste handling and disposal procedures that will be
used.

(b) A narrative explaining the methods
and schedule for operation, modification, use, and
maintenance of the facility.

(c) A description of the proposed ground
water and gas monitoring methods.

(d) A description of the proposed
methods for controlling noise, litter, odors, insects, and
rodents.

(e) A contingency plan to be
implemented in case of emergency.

(4) A hydrogeological assessment.
A hydrogeological investigation must be

performed at the proposed site and approved by the
Department before a construction permit will be issued.
This investigation shall include a series of test borings and
wells, constructed to a depth and in a number sufficient to

identify:
(a) the occurrence and characteristics of

the water table aquifer.
(b) ground water flow directions.
(c) ambient ground water quality.
(d) potential pathways of contaminants to

points of ground water discharge.
In addition, an evaluation shall be made of the

elevation of the seasonal high water table.
This investigation and report shall be signed by

a Professional Geologist registered in Delaware. 
(5) Topographical and site location maps.
This shall include topographical maps on a

scale satisfactory to the Department but in no case less than
one inch equal to 400 feet, and other maps as necessary, to
show:

(a) Elevations of the property, with
reference to mean sea level, before commencement of waste
disposal at the site (for all new facilities and where available
for existing facilities).

(b) Topographic elevations of the
property at the time of permit application [if different from
(a) above]. 

(c) The legal boundaries of the property
as determined by a survey performed by a registered
surveyor; the parcel number of the property; the names of the
present owners of the proposed site and of all adjacent lands;
a description of the current use of the land; and a description
of all title, deed, or usage restrictions affecting the property.

(d) The areas to be used in each sequence
of disposal.

(e) The locations of all buildings and
structures on the property.

(f) The location of the nearest perennial
stream.

(g) The proposed elevations of the site
after closure of the facility.

(6) Proof that all applicable zoning approvals
have been obtained and application has been made for all
appropriate federal, state, and local environmental permits. 

(7) A conceptual closure plan.  This shall
address the items listed in Section 8.H.3 to the extent
possible at the time of initial permit application and shall be
revised and updated as necessary to reflect changes in plans
that will affect the costs of closure and post-closure care.

(8) Proof of financial responsibility for
closure and post-closure care, as described in Section
4.A.11, b and d.

(9) Any other related reports, data, maps or
information that the Department requires.
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b. Operation
A facility constructed pursuant to a Construction

Permit issued under these regulations may operate for a
90-day trial period after construction is complete, provided
the Construction Permit is still valid during that period.

At the end of the trial operating period, the facility
may continue to operate only if an Operating Permit has
been obtained.  To obtain an Operating Permit, the owner or
operator must submit the following to the Department prior
to entering into the 90-day trial period:

(1) Written notification of an intent to
commence trial operation, and the date on which the trial
operating period will begin.

(2) Revisions or updates of reports or
information submitted with the Application to Construct a
Solid Waste Facility, if required by the Department.

c. Closure
Any person wishing to obtain a closure permit must

submit the following to the Department:
(1) Notification of intent to close.
(2) Closure plan as described in Section 8.H.3.
(3) Closure schedule.

2. Existing facilities
a. Any person disposing of dry waste pursuant to

an approval letter which is in effect at the time of enactment
of these regulations must, within six months after enactment
of Section 8, do one of the following:

(1) Submit all of the items listed in Section
4.C.1.a, a report explaining how the facility will be brought
into compliance with these regulations, and a timetable for
attaining compliance.  The compliance report and timetable
will be subject to Department approval. The facility must be
in compliance with these regulations within six months after
the date on which the Department approves the compliance
report and timetable.

(2) Submit written notification of intent to
close the facility, immediately cease accepting waste, and
submit a closure plan consisting of the following:

(a) A description of the methods,
procedures, and processes that will be used to close the
facility in accordance with the closure performance standard
in Sections 8.H.1 and 8.H.4, and a schedule for completion
of closure.

(b) A description of the final cover that
will be applied, and a discussion of how the final cover will
achieve the objectives of Section 8.H.1.

(c) A description of other activities
necessary to satisfy the closure performance standard,
including, but not limited to, the removal or disposal of all
non-landfilled wastes located on site (e.g., wastes from

landfill run-off collection ponds).
(d) A topographical map of the site

showing the proposed post-closure elevations with reference
to mean sea level.

(e) An estimate of the cost of closing the
facility.

(f) A description of the maintenance that
will be performed at the site after closure is completed.

(g) A description of the planned uses of
the property.

The closure plan will be subject to Department
approval.  Closure must be carried out in accordance with
the approved closure plan.

b. Any person who, at the time of enactment of
Section 8 of these regulations, is in the process of closing a
facility in accordance with a closure plan that has been
approved by the Department, may complete closure in
accordance with that plan.

D. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR RESOURCE
RECOVERY FACILITIES

1.  New facilities
a.Construction and operation

1. Application
Any person desiring to obtain a permit to construct and/

or [or] operate a resource recovery facility must submit a
letter of intent to the Department.  The letter should indicate
the projected design and usage of the proposed facility. The
letter of intent shall be followed by the submission, by the
applicant, of the following additional information:

a. A Solid Waste Management Facility
Application, provided by the Department. 

b. Proof of ownership of the property.  If the
applicant does not own the property, a copy of the lease
agreement and the owner's irrevocable permission to conduct
the proposed activity on the property must also be submitted.

c. A plan of operation
This shall include the following:

(1) A narrative description of the type of
facility and of the solid waste handling and disposal
procedures to be used.

(2) A narrative explaining the methods and
schedule for operation, modification, use, and maintenance
of the various components of the facility.  This shall include
a description of the procedures for facility start up and for
scheduled and unscheduled shut down operations.

(3) A description of the solid wastes that will
be accepted at the facility, the manner in which recyclable
components will be removed from the solid waste stream,
the markets for these recyclable materials, and the proposed
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disposition of the non-recyclable components and residuals.
(4) A description of the proposed monitoring

methods.
(5) A description of the measures that will be

used to ensure that unauthorized and unwanted solid wastes
are prevented from entering the facility.

(6) A description of the personnel training
program, including training that will be provided to ensure
compliance with Sections 9.D.2.e and 9.D.2.g of these
regulations.

(7) A description of the proposed methods for
controlling noise, litter, odors, insects, rodents, dust, fires,
and explosions.

(8) A detailed contingency plan to be
implemented in case of an emergency such as a spill,
accident, or explosion.

d. An engineering report
This shall include the following:

(1) A drawing or drawings showing the
complete layout of the proposed facility.

(2) Mass and energy balances, including
calculations and pertinent facts relating to the development
of these balances.

(3) Descriptions and specifications of all
proposed design features that the engineer has provided to
the owner of the facility.

(4) A description of the proposed installation
methods and procedures.

(5) A plan for third-party quality assurance for
the construction and installation of components of the
facility that will be used in the processing, handling, and/or
monitoring of solid waste. 

(6) A schedule of events for construction of
the facility.

(7) Proposed design capacity per day, and life
expectancy of the facility.

(8) A description of potential safety hazards
and methods of control.

(9) An analysis of the concept of the facility's
expansion at a later date, if and when deemed necessary by
the Department.

(10) An identification of possible ground water
and surface water discharges.

e. A recycling analysis
This analysis shall consist of the following:

(1) Identification of available and potential
markets for recovered recyclables.

(2) An evaluation of the impact that
alternative source separation/recyclables recovery programs
could have on the facility.  If a thermal recovery facility is

the subject of the application, this shall include an
engineering analysis of the BTU value of the solid waste
before and after recyclables recovery for the proposed life of
the project to determine if increases in recycling activities
will necessitate changes in facility size and capacity.

f. A plan for sampling, analysis, and disposition
of the ash generated by the facility (for thermal recovery
facilities only).  The plan shall include a strategy for ash
testing during the test burn phase of construction.  Testing
shall be in accordance with Delaware's Regulations
Governing Hazardous Waste or any testing protocol
developed by the Department or by the EPA after the date of
enactment of these regulations.  The plan also shall include a
proposal for treatment and/or disposal of the ash.  The
proposed methods for treatment and/or disposal shall
conform to all applicable state and federal regulations.

g. A hydrogeological assessment, if deemed
necessary by the Department

A hydrogeological investigation of the
proposed site may be required before the Department will
issue a permit. The report resulting from this investigation
shall be signed by a Professional Geologist registered in
Delaware.

h. An environmental assessment
The environmental assessment shall provide a

detailed analysis of the potential impact of the proposed
facility on the environment.  Factors to be considered
include, but are not necessarily limited to:  

Air quality
Water quality
Water uses 
Land use
Soil quality
Traffic
Public health and safety
Cultural, recreational, and natural areas
Social and economic factors.

If the applicant or the Department determines that
the proposed facility may cause a threat to human health or
the environment, the applicant must provide a written
explanation of how he or she plans to mitigate the potential
harm.

i. Topographical and site location maps
This shall include a topographical map or

series of maps on a scale satisfactory to the Department but
in no case less than one inch equal to 400 feet, showing
topographic elevations surveyed with reference to mean sea
level, and any necessary narrative descriptions, including but
not limited to the following:

(1) The legal boundaries of the property as
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determined by a survey performed by a registered surveyor;
the names of the present owners of the proposed site and of
all adjacent lands; and a description of all title, deed, or
usage restrictions and all easements affecting the proposed
permit area.

(2) The boundaries of land where solid waste
will be stored at any time over the estimated total life of the
proposed operation.

(3) The locations and names of all water
supply wells or surface water intakes within 1/4 mile of the
site boundaries.

j. Proof that all applicable zoning approvals have
been obtained and application has been made for all
appropriate federal, state, and local environmental permits.

k. A conceptual closure plan.  This shall address
the items listed in Section 9.E.3 to the extent possible at the
time of initial permit application and shall be revised and
updated as necessary to reflect changes in plans that will
affect the cost of closure.

l. Proof of financial responsibility for closure, as
described in Section 4.A.11.b. 

m. Proof that the facility meets the siting criteria
required by Section 9.B.

n. Any other related reports, data, maps, or
information that the Department requires.

2. Construction and operation
a. The applicant shall not commence construction

of a new resource recovery facility or operate an existing
resource recovery facility until the applicant has received a
permit from the Department in accordance with these
regulations.

b. After the construction of a new resource
recovery facility has been completed, and prior to the receipt
of solid waste or materials for processing, the permittee shall
submit a final report for the Department’s approval.  The
final report shall certify that the construction of the resource
recovery facility was completed in accordance with the
engineering report to include the quality assurance plan,
construction and material specifications and design
drawings. The final report shall be certified correct by the
third-party quality assurance engineer, who must be a
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware.  The permittee
shall not commence operations, store or receive solid waste
or materials to be processed until the Department has
provided its written notification that the construction and the
final report meet the requirements of the permit and the
Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste.

3. Closure
Any person desiring to close a resource recovery

facility shall, at least 180 days before the date on which the

facility will stop accepting solid waste, submit the following
to the Department:

a. Written notification of intent to close. 
b. Updated closure plan.
c. Closure schedule
d. An evaluation of the impact that closing the

facility will have on the flow of solid waste in the region
serviced by the facility, and a plan for minimizing any
disruption in the flow.

If the Department approves the closure plan and
closure schedule, it will modify the facility's permit to allow
closure to take place.

2. Existing facilities
All existing resource recovery facilities must,

within six months after enactment of Section 9 of these
regulations, do one of the following:

a. Submit written notification of intent to close, a
closure plan, and a closure schedule; and implement the
closure procedures described in Section 9.E; or

b. Submit a Solid Waste Management Facility
Application (provided by the Department) and all of the
following: 

(1) Proof of ownership of the property.  If the
applicant does not own the property, a copy of the lease
agreement and the owner's irrevocable permission to conduct
the resource recovery activity on the property must also be
submitted.

(2) A plan of operation, as described in
Section 4.D.1.a (3).

(3) An engineering report
This shall include the following:

(a) A drawing or drawings showing the
complete layout of the facility.

(b) Mass and energy balances, including
calculations and pertinent facts relating to the development
of these balances.

(c) Descriptions and specifications of all
design features that the engineer has provided to the owner
of the facility.

(d) Design capacity and life expectancy
of the facility.

(e) A description of potential safety
hazards and methods of control.

(f) An analysis of the concept of the
facility's expansion at a later date, if and when deemed
necessary by the Department.

(g) An identification of possible ground
water and surface water discharges.

(4)  A recycling analysis, as described in
Section 4.D.1.a (5).
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(5) A plan for sampling, analysis, and
disposition of the ash generated by the facility (for thermal
recovery facilities only).  The plan shall include a strategy
for ash testing during the test burn phase of construction.
Testing shall be in accordance with Delaware's Regulations
Governing Hazardous Waste or any testing protocol
developed by the Department or by the EPA after the date of
enactment of these regulations.  The plan also shall include a
proposal for treatment and/or disposal of the ash.  The
proposed methods for treatment and/or disposal shall
conform to all applicable state and federal regulations.

(6) A hydrogeological assessment, if deemed
necessary by the Department

A hydrogeological investigation of the site may
be required before the Department will issue a permit. The
report resulting from this investigation shall be signed by a
Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.

(7) An environmental assessment, as
described in Section 4.D.1.a (8).

(8) Topographical and site location maps, as
described in Section 4.D.1.a (9).

(9) Proof that all applicable zoning approvals
and all appropriate federal, state, and local environmental
permits have been obtained.

(10)  A conceptual closure plan.  This shall
address the items listed in Section 9.E.3 to the extent
possible at the time of initial permit application and shall be
revised and updated as necessary to reflect changes in plans
that will affect the cost of closure.

(11) Proof of financial responsibility for
closure, as described in Section 4.A.11.b.  

(12)  A report explaining any requirements of
Section 9 with which the facility is not in compliance, a
description of how the facility will be brought into
compliance, and a timetable for attaining compliance. This
report and timetable will be subject to Department approval.

(13)  Any other related reports, data, maps, or
information that the Department requires.      

The facility must be brought into compliance
with these regulations in accordance with the timetable
approved by the Department.  Any extensions in time for
attaining compliance must be approved in writing by the
Department.

E. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR TRANSFER
STATIONS

1. New Facilities
a. Construction and operation

1. Application
Any person desiring to obtain a permit to construct

and/or [or] operate a transfer station must submit a letter of
intent to the Department.  The letter should indicate the
projected design and usage of the proposed facility.  The
letter of intent shall be followed by the submission, by the
applicant, of the following additional information:

a.  Transfer Station A Solid Waste Management
Facility Application, provided by the Department.

b. Proof of ownership of the property. If the
applicant does not own the property, a copy of the lease
agreement and the owner's irrevocable permission to conduct
the proposed activity on the property must be submitted.

c. A plan of operation
This shall include the following:
(1) A narrative description of the type of

facility and of the solid waste handling procedures to be
used.

(2) A narrative explaining the methods and
schedule for operation, modification, use, and maintenance
of the various components of the facility.

(3) A description of the proposed methods for
controlling noise, litter, odors, insects, rodents, dust,
leachate, and facility washdown water.

(4) A description of the methods that will be
used to prevent unauthorized wastes from entering the
facility.

(5) A contingency plan to be implemented in
case of emergency (e.g., a fire, explosion, or spill that
threatens public health and safety or the environment.)    

d. An engineering report
This shall include the following:
(1) Descriptions, plans, and specifications of

all proposed design features.
(2) A description of the proposed installation

methods and procedures.
(3) A schedule of events for construction of

the facility.
(4) Proposed design capacity in both tons and

cubic yards per day.
This report shall be prepared and signed by a

Professional Engineer registered in Delaware.
e. A hydrogeological assessment, if deemed

necessary by the Department.
A hydrogeological investigation of the

proposed site may be required before the Department will
issue a permit. This investigation shall include a series of test
borings and wells, constructed to a depth and in a number
sufficient to identify:

(1) The occurrence and characteristics of the
water table aquifer.

(2) Ground water flow directions.
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(3) Ambient ground water quality.
(4) Potential pathways of contaminants to

points of ground water discharge.
This investigation and report shall be signed by

a Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.
f. An environmental assessment.

The environmental assessment shall provide a
detailed analysis of the potential impact of the proposed
facility on the environment.  Factors to be considered
include:

Air quality
Water quality
Water uses 
Land use
Soil quality
Traffic
Public health and safety
Cultural, recreational, and natural areas
Historic sites
Social and economic factors.

If the applicant or the Department determines that
the proposed facility may cause a threat to human health or
the environment, the applicant must provide a written
explanation of how he or she plans to mitigate the potential
harm.

g. Topographical and site maps
This shall include a topographical map or

series of maps on a scale satisfactory to the Department but
in no case less than one inch equal to 400 feet, showing
topographic elevations surveyed with reference to mean sea
level, and any necessary narrative descriptions, including but
not limited to the following:       

(1) The legal boundaries of the property as
determined by a survey performed by a surveyor registered
in Delaware; the names of the present owners of the
proposed site and of all adjacent lands; and a description of
all title, deed, or usage restrictions and all easements
affecting the proposed permit area.

(2) The boundaries of land where solid waste
will be stored at any time over the estimated total life of the
proposed operation.

(3) The locations and names of all water
supply wells or surface water intakes within 1/4 mile of the
handling site boundaries.

h. Proof that a state Coastal Zone Permit (if
applicable) and all applicable zoning approvals have been
obtained and that application has been made for all other
appropriate federal, state, and local environmental permits.

i. A conceptual closure plan.  This shall address
the items listed in Section 10.F.3 to the extent possible at the

time of initial permit application and shall be revised and
updated as necessary to reflect changes in plans that will
affect the cost of closure.

j. Proof of financial responsibility for closure, as
described in Section 4.A.11.b.

k. Proof that the facility meets the siting criteria
required by Section 10.B.

l. Any other related reports, data, maps, or
information that the Department reasonably requires. 

2. Construction and operation
a. The applicant shall not commence construction

of a new transfer station or operate an existing transfer
station until the applicant has received a permit from the
Department in accordance with these regulations.

b. After the construction of a new transfer station
has been completed, and prior to the receipt of solid waste,
the permittee shall submit a final report for the Department’s
approval.  The final report shall certify that the construction
of the transfer station was completed in accordance with the
permit requirements. The final report shall be certified
correct by a Professional Engineer registered in Delaware.
The permittee shall not commence operations, store or
receive solid waste until the Department has provided its
written notification that the construction and the final report
meet the requirements of the permit and the Delaware
Regulations Governing Solid Waste.

3. Closure
Any person desiring to close a transfer station shall,

at least 60 days before the date on which the facility will stop
accepting waste, submit the following to the Department:

a. Written notification of intent to close.
b. Updated closure plan. 
c. Closure schedule.

If the Department approves the closure plan and closure
schedule, it will modify the facility's permit to allow closure
to take place.

2. Existing facilities
All existing transfer stations must, within six

months after enactment of Section 10 of these regulations,
do one of the following:

a. Submit the items listed in Section 4.E.1.a
above and a report explaining how the facility will be
brought into compliance and a timetable for attaining
compliance.  The proposed methods and schedule for
attaining compliance will be subject to Department approval.  

The facility must be in compliance with these
regulations within six months after the date on which the
Department approves the report and schedule.

b. Submit written notification of intent to close, a
closure plan, and a closure schedule; and implement the
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closure procedures described in Section 10.F. 

F. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR FACILITY FOR
INFECTIOUS WASTE MANAGEMENT

1. New facilities
a. Construction

1. Application
Any person desiring to obtain a permit to construct

or operate an infectious waste management facility must
submit a letter of intent to the Department.  The letter should
indicate the projected design and usage of the proposed
facility.  The letter of intent shall be followed by submission,
by the applicant, of the following additional information:

a.  Application to Construct a Solid Waste
Facility A Solid Waste Management Facility Application,
provided by the Department.

b. Proof of ownership of the property.  If the
applicant does not own the property, a copy of the lease
agreement and the owner's irrevocable permission to conduct
the proposed activity on the property must also be submitted.

c. A plan of operation
This plan shall include the following:
(1) The source(s) of the infectious waste

(generator names and locations);
(2) A description of the origin and content of

the waste, its containerization and the expected volume and
frequency of waste disposal at the facility;

(3) A description of the facility where the
waste will be sterilized or incinerated be rendered
non-infectious, including the name and the exact location of
the facility;

(4) A narrative explaining the methods and
schedule for operation, modification, use, and maintenance
of the various components of the facility;

(5) A description of the processing methods to
be used for each type of waste, including schematic
drawings (e.g. blueprints, etc.);

(6) A description showing that the facility has
developed a validation program which demonstrates the
effectiveness of the treatment method by performing an
Initial Efficacy Test and Periodic Verification Test(s).

(7) A description of the measures that will be
used to ensure that unauthorized and unwanted wastes are
prevented from entering the facility;

(8) A description of the containers to be used
for the storage during the collection and during the
movement within the facility, including the total length of
time of storage;

(9) A description of the alternatives to be used
if the processing equipment is inoperable, and the

procedures to be used for the management of the waste if it
cannot be promptly processed;

(10) A description of the handling and safety
measures that will be employed for each type of waste,
including personal protection and safety as well as
modifications to the operational safety plan that are required;

(11) A description of the proposed methods for
controlling noise, litter, odors, vectors, dust, fires, and
explosions;

(12) A contingency plan to be implemented in
case of emergency.

In addition, if the proposed facility is an
incinerator, the Plan of Operation shall include a plan for
sampling, analysis, and disposition of the ash generated in
the incinerator.  The plan shall include a strategy for ash
testing during the test burn phase of construction.  Testing
shall be in accordance with Delaware's Regulations
Governing Hazardous Waste.  The plan also shall include a
strategy for treating and/or disposing of the ash if it is found
to exhibit hazardous waste characteristics.  A sanitary
landfill in Delaware will not be considered an acceptable
disposal facility for ash that exhibits hazardous waste
characteristics.

d. An engineering report
This shall include the following:
(1) Descriptions and specifications of all

proposed design features.
(2) A description of the proposed installation

methods and construction procedures.
(3) A schedule of events for construction of

the facility, if deemed necessary by the Department.
(4) Proposed design capacity in both tons and

cubic yards per day, and life expectancy of the facility.
(5) Materials and energy balance of the

facility.
      e. A hydrogeological assessment, if deemed

necessary by the Department.
A hydrogeological investigation may be

required at the proposed site and approved by the
Department before a construction permit will be issued.
This investigation shall include a series of test borings and
wells, constructed to a depth and in a number sufficient to
identify:

(1) The occurrence and characteristics of the
unconfined and first confined aquifers,

(2) Ground water flow directions,
(3) Ambient ground water quality,
(4) Potential pathways of contaminants to

points of ground water discharge.
In addition, an evaluation shall be made of the
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elevation of the seasonal high water table.
This investigation and report shall be signed by a

Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.  
f. An environmental assessment

An environmental assessment shall be
performed to provide a detailed analysis of the potential
impact of the proposed facility on the environment.  Factors
to be considered include:

Air quality
Water quality
Stream flow
Fish and wildlife
Plants
Threatened or endangered species
Water uses
Land use
Aesthetics
Traffic
Public health and safety
Cultural, recreational, and natural areas     
Historic sites
Social and economic factors.

If the applicant or the Department determines that
the proposed facility may cause a threat to human health or
the environment, the applicant must provide a written
explanation of how he or she plans to mitigate the potential
harm. 

g. Topographical and site location maps, if
deemed necessary by the Department.

This shall include a topographical map or
series of maps on a scale satisfactory to the Department but
in no case less than one inch equal to 400 feet, showing
topographic elevations surveyed with reference to mean sea
level, and any necessary narrative descriptions, including but
not limited to the following:

(1) The legal boundaries of the property as
determined by a survey performed by a registered surveyor;
the names of the present owners of the proposed site and of
all adjacent lands; and a description of all title, deed, or
usage restrictions affecting the proposed permit area.

(2) The boundaries of the facility over the
estimated total life of the proposed operation, including the
boundaries of land that will be affected in each sequence of
disposal activity.

(3) The boundaries of land where solid waste
will be stored at any time over the estimated total life of the
proposed operation.

(4) The locations and names of all water
supply wells or surface water intakes within 1/4 mile of the
disposal site boundaries.

h. Proof that all applicable zoning approvals and
all appropriate federal, state, and local environmental
permits have been obtained.

i. Closure plan that conforms with Section 11.H.,
as appropriate.

j. Proof of financial responsibility for closure as
described in Section 4.A.11,b and d.

k. Proof that the facility meets the siting criteria
required by Section 11, Part 1,B.

l. Any other related reports, data, maps, or
information that the Department requires.      

2. Construction and operation
A facility constructed pursuant to a Construction Permit
issued under these regulations may operate for a 90-day trial
period after construction is complete, provided the
Construction Permit is still valid during that period. 
At the end of the trial operating period, the facility may
continue to operate only if an Operating Permit has been
obtained. To obtain an Operating Permit, the owner or
operator must submit the following to the Department prior
to entering into the 90-day trial period:

a. Notification of intent to commence operation.
b. Revisions or updates of reports or information

submitted with the Application to Construct a Solid Waste
Facility, if required by the Department.

a. The applicant shall not commence construction
of a new infectious waste facility or operate an existing
infectious waste facility until the applicant has received a
permit from the Department in accordance with these
regulations.

b. After the construction of a new infectious
waste facility has been completed, and prior to the receipt of
solid waste or materials for processing, the permittee shall
submit a final report for the Department's approval.  The
final report shall certify that the construction of the facility
was completed in accordance with the engineering report.
The permittee shall not commence operations or store or
receive solid waste or materials to be processed until the
Department has provided its written notification that the
construction and the final report meet the requirements of the
permit and the Delaware Regulations Governing Solid
Waste.
  3. Closure 

Any person wishing to  obtain a closure permit
close an infectious waste facility must submit the following
to the Department:

a. Notification of intent to close. 
b.  Closure requirements to be performed as

described A detailed plan for closing the facility so as to
achieve the objectives described in Section 11 Part 1,J. 11.H.
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and as described in the individual permit.
If the Department approves the closure plan, it will

modify the facility's permit to allow closure to take place.
 2.  Existing facilities

a. Any person desiring to continue construction,
or continue operation, of an infectious waste facility must,
within six months after the date of enactment of these
regulations, submit to the Department either an Application
to Construct an Infectious Waste Facility, or an Application
to Operate an Infectious Waste Facility.  Upon receipt of the
application, the Department will determine whether any
other information is required.  While the Department is
making a determination on the application, construction or
operation may continue under the old permit unless the
Department notifies the applicant in writing that construction
must cease. 

b. Any person desiring to begin operation of an
infectious waste facility which was under construction prior
to enactment of these regulations must immediately notify
the Department by submission of a notification of intent to
operate an infectious waste facility. 

The applicant must also submit to the Department a
report explaining how the facility will be brought into
compliance and a timetable for attaining compliance. 

G. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR SOLID WASTE
TRANSPORTERS

Any person required to obtain a permit to transport solid
waste must submit a completed application to the
Department. The application shall be on a form prescribed
by the Department and shall be accompanied by the
appropriate application fee.

Prior to Public Notice of proposed changes to these
Regulations which would affect holders of transporter
permits, the Department shall attempt, by reasonable means,
to individually notify transporter permit holders of such
proposed changes and of the date of the upcoming Public
Hearing.

All persons that are subject to Section 7.B of these
regulations and that were engaged in the transportation of
solid waste in Delaware before the enactment of Section 7
must submit a completed application and the appropriate
application fee within 60 days after the enactment of Section
7.

SECTION 5:  SANITARY LANDFILLS
  
(NOTE:  This section applies only to landfills that accept
household waste.)

A. SITING
1. Sanitary landfill facilities shall be located only in

areas where the potential for degradation of the quality of
air, land, and water is minimal.

2. All sanitary landfill facilities shall be constructed to
at least minimum design requirements as contained in
Section 5.B.  More stringent designs will be required where
deemed necessary by the Department for the protection of
ground water resources.

3. The owner or operator of any proposed sanitary
landfill within a 5-mile radius of any airport runway must
notify the airport and the Federal Aviation Administration
(and provide proof of notification to the Department). 

4. No new cell of a  new sanitary landfill shall be
located:

a. Within the 100-year flood plain [as delineated
by the Federal Emergency Management Agency]. For the
purposes of this section:

(1) Floodplain means the lowland and
relatively flat areas adjoining inland and coastal waters, that
are inundated by the 100-year flood.

(2) 100-year flood means a flood that has a
one percent or greater chance of recurring in any given year
or a flood of a magnitude equaled or exceeded once in 100
years on the average over a significantly long period. 

b.  Within 200 feet of any state or federal wetland.
In an area that [causes or contributes] [may cause or
contribute] to the degradation of [any state or federally
regulated] wetlands unless the owner or operator can
demonstrate [to the satisfaction of the appropriate
wetlands regulatory agency] that:

(1) there is no[ practical alternative to the
proposed cell]; [impact to any regulated wetlands on the
site, or]

(2) the landfill has been designed to minimize
impacts on any wetlands; and

[(2) any impact will be mitigated as
required.]

[(3) mitigation is done, to the satisfaction of
the Department, to compensate for any destroyed or
degraded wetlands.] 

[c. Within 200 feet of any perennial stream. In
an area that causes or contributes to the degradation of
any perennial stream unless the owner or operator can
demonstrate that:

(1) there is no practical alternative to the
proposed cell;

(2) the landfill has been designed to
minimize impacts on any perennial streams; and

(3) mitigation is done, to the satisfaction of
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the Department, to compensate for any destroyed or
degraded perennial streams.]

d [c].Within one mile of any state or federal
wildlife refuge, wildlife area, or park, unless specifically
exempted from this requirement by the Department.

e [d].Within 10,000 feet of any airport runway
currently used by turbojet aircraft or 5,000 feet of any airport
runway currently used by piston-type aircraft, unless a
waiver is granted by the Federal Aviation Administration.  

f [e].So as to be in conflict with any locally adopted
land use plan or zoning requirement.

g [f].Within the wellhead protection area of a public
water supply well or well field or a formally designated
aquifer resource protection area. 

h [g].Within 200 feet of a fault that has had
displacement during Holocene time (unless it can be
demonstrated that a lesser setback distance would prevent
damage to the structural integrity of the landfill unit and be
protective of human health and the environment.) 

i [h].Within a seismic impact zone unless it can be
demonstrated that all containment structures, including
liners, leachate collection systems and surface water control
systems, are designed to resist the maximum horizontal
acceleration in lithified earth material for the site.

[For the purposes of this section:
(1) Seismic impact zone means an area with

a ten percent or greater probability that the maximum
horizontal acceleration in lithified earth material,
expressed as a percentage of the earth's gravitational pull
(g), will exceed 0.10g in 250 years.

(2) Maximum horizontal acceleration in
lithified earth material means the maximum expected
horizontal acceleration depicted on a seismic hazard
map, with a 90 percent or greater probability that the
acceleration will not be exceeded in 250 years, or the
maximum expected horizontal acceleration based on a
site-specific seismic risk assessment. 

(3) Lithified earth material means all rock,
including all naturally occurring and naturally formed
aggregates or masses of minerals or small particles of
older rock that formed by crystallization of magma or by
induration of loose sediments.  This term does not
include man-made materials, such as fill, concrete and
asphalt or unconsolidated earth materials, soil or
regolith lying at or near the earth surface.]

j.[ i.] In unstable areas, unless engineering measures
have been incorporated in the design to insure the integrity
of the structural components of the waste facility (including
liners, leachate collection systems, run-on /run-off control,
capping and anything affecting the containment and/or

possible release of contam-inants.)  Unstable areas include
those of (1) poor foundation conditions (possible
subsidence), (2) susceptibility to mass movement or (3)
Karst terrane.

j. In areas where valuable aquifers would be
threatened by contaminant releases, unless viable
alternatives have been dismissed and stringent design
measures have been incorporated to minimize the possibility
and magnitude of releases.

l. k. Within 200 feet of the facility [property]
boundary unless otherwise approved by the Department.

B. DESIGN
1. General

a. Sanitary landfills shall be planned and designed
by a Professional Engineer registered in Delaware. Planning
and design of these facilities shall be consistent with the
declared purpose and intent and in accordance with the
provisions of this regulation and based on empirically
derived data and state of the art technology. 

2. Minimum design requirements
a. All sanitary landfills shall be designed to

minimize contaminant releases and to prevent significant
adverse impacts on human health or the environment and to
achieve the following performance standards: 

(1) Ensure that the  concentration values listed
in Table 1 of this section will not be exceeded in
contaminant concentrations do not prevent reasonable
[appropriate] use of the ground water in the uppermost
aquifer at the relevant point of compliance (examples are
water supply, potability, stream flow maintenance, etc., as
appropriate).  

(a) The point of compliance shall be
specified by the Department and shall be no more than 150
meters from the landfill cell boundary and shall be located
on property owned by the owner of the landfill.

(b) In determining the relevant point of
compliance, the Department shall consider at least the
following factors:

(i) The hydrogeologic characteristics
of the landfill and surrounding land;

(ii) The volume and physical and
chemical characteristics of the leachate;

(iii) The quantity, quality, availability
and direction of flow of round water;

(iv) The proximity and withdrawal
rate of ground water users;

(v) The availability of alternate
drinking water supplies;

(vi) The existing quality of ground
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water, including other sources of contamination and their
cumulative impacts on ground water, and whether the
ground water is currently used or reasonably expected to be
used for drinking water;

(vii)Public health, safety and welfare
effects; and

(viii) Practical capability of the
landfill owner or operator.

TABLE 1

Chemical MCL
(mg/l)

Arsenic 0.05
Barium 1.0
Benzene  0.005
Cadmium 0.01
Carbon tetrachloride 0.005
Chromium (hexavalent) 0.05
2,4-Dichlorophenoxy acetic acid 0.1
1,4-Dichlorobenzene 0.075
1,2-Dichloroethane 0.005
1,1-Dichloroethylene 0.007
Endrin 0.0002
Fluoride 4
Lindane 0.004
Lead 0.05
Mercury 0.002
Methoxychlor 0.1
Nitrate 10
Selenium 0.01
Silver 0.05
Toxaphene 0.005
1,1,1-Trichloromethane 0.2
Trichloroethylene 0.005
2,4,5-Trichlorophenoxy acetic acid 0.01
Vinyl Chloride 0.002

(2) Ensure that surface water quality standards
will not be violated (except within designated mixing zones)
as a result of contaminant discharges from the landfill.   

b. All sanitary landfills shall be designed to have:
(1) A liner and internal leachate collection

system which meet the requirements of Sections 5.C. and
5.D. of these regulations respectively.  The liner must have a

vertical hydraulic conductivity no greater than 10-7 cm/sec
and consist of either a composite liner system or
double-synthetic liner system, or natural materials of
sufficient thickness to achieve the performance standard.

(2) A setback area, including a buffer zone

with appropriate screening,
(3) A gas control system that meets the

requirements of Section 5.E.,
(4) A surface water management system that

meets the requirements of Section 5.F.,
(5) A ground water monitoring system that

meets the requirements of Section 5.G., and
(6) A capping system that meets the

requirements of Section 5.H.

C. LINER
1. General provisions

a. An impermeable liner shall be provided at
every sanitary landfill to restrict the migration of leachate
from the landfill and to prevent contamination of the
underlying ground water.  

b. The Department reserves the right to set a more
stringent liner requirement when it determines that a
composite liner is not sufficient to protect human health and
the environment.

c. The bottom of the liner (or the secondary liner,
in a double liner system) shall be at least five (5) feet above
the seasonal high water table as measured in the uppermost
aquifer beneath the landfill.  This [5-foot] requirement may
be modified [reduced] for a more rigorous stringent] liner
system design which provides enhanced protection of
ground water.

d. All liners shall be prepared, constructed, and
installed in accordance with a quality assurance plan
included in the engineering report [Section 4.B.1.a (4)] and
approved by the Department.  For synthetic liners, the plan
shall incorporate the manufacturer's recommendations.
Written verification of liner integrity shall be submitted to
the Department before commencement of waste disposal
operations.

e. Qualifications of the construction quality
assurance staff (CQA) and the geosynthetics installer,
including master seamers, on-site supervisor, and
construction quality control (CQC) personnel, shall meet the
requirements of the approved Quality Assurance plan and be
submitted to the Department for review prior to their
performing these duties on site.

f. All conformance and destructive samples taken
as part of the construction quality assurance plan shall be
tested at an independent laboratory which is accredited by
the Geosynthetics Institute’s Laboratory Accreditation
Program (by applicable test method) or other accreditation
program acceptable to the Department.

2. Liner characteristics
a. Composite liner
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A composite liner must have, as a minimum:   
(1) Have A primary (upper) liner which meets

the following:  
(a) Be Is at least 45 mils thick.
(b) Be Is constructed of materials that

have appropriate chemical properties and sufficient strength
and thickness to prevent failure due to physical contact with
the leachate to which it is exposed, climatic conditions, the
stresses of installation, and the stresses of daily operation.

(c) Be Is made of synthetic material that
meets minimum requirements of  the most recent edition of
the National Sanitation Foundation's publication, "Standard
Number 54[-1993], Flexible Membrane Liners" [for
membrane materials covered by this standard, or of
other materials of equal or better performance as
approved by the Department].

(d) Be Is chemically resistant to the waste
and leachate managed at the facility. The EPA Test Method
9090 shall be performed using a solid waste leachate (a
synthetic leachate mix approved by the Department may be
substituted if existing leachate is not available).  The
specified physical parameters shall be tested before and after
liner exposure.  Any significant change in test properties
shall be considered to be indicative of incompatibility.

(e) Be Is compounded from first quality
virgin materials.  No reground or reprocessed materials
containing encapsulated scrim shall be used in the
manufacturing of the liner.

(f) Be Is free of pinholes, blisters, holes,
and contaminants, which include, but are not limited to,
wood, paper, metal and non-dispersed ingredients.

(2) Have a secondary (lower) liner composed
of compacted clay at least two feet thick with a hydraulic

conductivity no greater than 10 -7 cm/sec.
(2) A secondary (lower) liner composed of:

(a) Compacted clay at least two feet thick

with a hydraulic conductivity no greater than 1 x 10-7 cm/
sec, or

(b) An equivalent material [or
combination of materials] acceptable to the Department.

b. Natural liner
(1) Use of natural material for liners is

restricted to those areas where: 
(a) Underlying ground water is not used

and is not reasonably expected to be used for water supplies,
and 

(b) The landfill subbase is subject to
compaction and settlement such that a synthetic membrane
would not be feasible.   

(2) A natural liner must meet the following
requirements as a minimum:

(a) It shall consist of compacted clay or
equivalent material having a hydraulic conductivity no

greater than 1 x 10-7 cm/sec.  
(b) The material shall be at least five (5)

feet thick, and thicker if necessary to prevent any leachate
from migrating through the liner at any time during the
active life and through the post-closure care period of the
facility.  

(c) The material proposed for use shall be
tested by ASTM or equivalent methods for the following:

Grain size
Classification
Compaction       
Specific gravity
Hydraulic conductivity
Porosity
pH
Cation exchange capacity
Pinhole test (if required)
Mineralogy (if required)

All data shall be submitted to the Department prior
to construction.

(d) Testing of the saturated hydraulic
conductivity and the effect of leachate on soil hydraulic
conductivity shall be performed in accordance with test
methods given in the most recent edition of EPA publication
SW-846, ASTM test procedures, or other tests approved by
the Department. 

(e) If on-site soils are to be used as a
natural liner, the uppermost five (5) feet of soil shall be
excavated and recompacted to ensure homogeneity of the
liner, provided, however, that with respect to dredge spoil
soils, the excavation and recompaction requirement shall not
apply if the applicant can demonstrate that the dredge spoil
soils have acceptable characteristics as indicated above.

c. Double liner system
(1) A double liner system shall meet the

following requirements:
(a) It shall consist of two single liners

separated by a drainage layer containing a leak detection
system.

(b) The primary (upper) liner shall be a
synthetic liner which is at least 30 mils thick and which
meets the requirements of Section 5.C.2.a(1)(b)-(f). 

(c) The secondary (lower) liner may be
either synthetic or natural.  If synthetic, it must be at least 30
mils thick and must meet the requirements of Section
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5.C.2.a(1)(b)-(f). If natural, it must meet the requirements of
Section 5.C.2.b.

(d) The drainage layer separating the two
liners shall consist of at least 12 inches of soil having a

hydraulic conductivity greater than 1 x 10-3 1 x 10-2 cm/sec
based on laboratory and field testing.

Alternate material may be used for the drainage
layer with prior written approval of the Department. 

(e) The leak detection system shall be
capable of detecting and intercepting liquid within the
drainage layer and conveying the liquid to a collection sump
or monitoring point where the quantity of flow can be
measured and the liquid can be sampled.  The operator or
designer shall calculate the Action Leakage Rate.  The
proposed Action Leakage Rate and a response plan if the
Action Leakage Rate is exceeded shall be submitted to the
Department as part of the application package.  The system
shall be designed to operate without clogging through the
post-closure care period of the facility.

(f) The lower upper synthetic liner
membrane shall be underlain by either a geosynthetic clay or
2 feet of natural material with a permeability no greater than

10-7 cm/sec. 
Alternate liner designs may be used with prior

written approval of the Department.
(2) A double liner system will be required  in

the following cases: 
(a) Where landfills are underlain by

aquifers which are reasonably expected sources of water
supply and/or capable of significant contaminant transport to
adjacent surface waters, and

(b) If leachate recirculation will be
performed. 

3. Liner construction 
   a. Construction/installation of  single synthetic
[composite] liner
   (1) At least 15 working days prior to
installation of the liner, the owner or operator shall notify the
Department of the installation date.

(2) The liner shall be installed upon a subbase
which meets the following requirements:

(a) It shall be capable of supporting the
loads and withstanding the stresses that will be imposed on it
through the active life and post-closure care period of the
facility and of resisting the pressure gradient above and
below the liner caused by settlement, compression, or uplift.

(b) It shall have a smooth surface that is
free of all rocks, stones, roots, sharp objects, or debris of any
kind.

 (c) It shall be certified in writing by the
liner installer as an acceptable subbase for the liner.  Written
certification of acceptability shall be submitted to the
Department prior to installation of the liner. However,
submittal of written acceptance may proceed incrementally
according to installation schedule.   

(3) The minimum post-loading slopes of the
liner shall [be] [either be:

(a) two (2) percent on controlling
slopes and one-half (0.5) percent on remaining slopes,
OR

(b) the controlling and remaining
slopes shall be designed to prevent the head on the liner,
excluding sump areas, from exceeding a depth of twelve
(12) inches including post settlement conditions.]

(4) The landfill shall be designed to minimize
penetrations through the liner.  If a penetration is essential, a
liquid-tight seal must be accomplished between the
penetrating structure and the synthetic membrane.
Compaction of areas adjacent to the penetrating structure
shall be to the same density as the surrounding soil to
minimize differential settlement.  Sharp edges on the
penetrating structure must not come in contact with the
synthetic material.

(5) Bridging or stressed conditions in the liner
shall be avoided with proper slack allowances for shrinkage
of the liner during installation and before the placement of a
protective soil layer.

(6) Synthetic liners shall have factory and
field seams that equal or exceed the strength requirements
defined by  the most recent edition of the National Sanitation
Foundation's "Standard Number 54[-1993]" for that liner
material.  All seams must be visually inspected and tested
along their entire length for seam continuity using suitable
nondestructive techniques.  Seams shall also be tested for
strength, at a frequency specified in the quality assurance
plan. In addition, field seams shall meet the following
requirements:

(a) Field seaming shall provide a dry
sealing surface.

(b) Seaming shall not be done when wind
conditions prevail.

(c) Seams shall be made and bonded in
accordance with the supplier's recommended procedures.  

(7) Proper equipment shall be used in placing
drainage material over the synthetic liner to avoid stress.

(8) The synthetic membrane shall be protected
from the waste by at least two (2) feet of drainage material
incorporating the leachate collection system.

[(9) The synthetic membrane must be
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underlain by a secondary liner as described in Section
5.C.2.a(2).]

b. Construction of natural liner
(1) All lenses, cracks, channels, root holes, or

other structural non-uniformities that can increase the

saturated hydraulic conductivity above 1 x 10-7 cm/sec shall
be removed.

(2) Natural liners shall be constructed in lifts
not exceeding six (6) inches after compaction to maximize
the effectiveness of the compaction throughout the lift
thickness.  Each lift shall be properly interfaced by
scarification between lifts to ensure the bonding. 

(3) Clods shall be broken up and the material
shall be homogenized before compaction of each lift using
mixing devices such as pug mills or rotary tillers.  

(4) The maximum slope of the sidewalls shall
not be so great as to preclude effective compaction.

c. Construction/installation of double liner
(1) The secondary liner shall be constructed in

accordance with Section 5.C.3.b (if it is a natural liner) or
Section 5.C.3.a.(1)-(7) (if it is synthetic).

(2) The primary liner shall be constructed in
accordance with Section 5.C.3.a.(1) and (3)-(8).

D. LEACHATE COLLECTION, TREATMENT,
DISPOSAL, AND MONITORING

1. General provisions
a. All sanitary landfills shall be designed and

constructed to include a leachate collection system, a
leachate treatment and disposal system, and a leachate
monitoring system.

b. The leachate systems shall be constructed,
installed, and maintained in accordance with a
Department-approved quality assurance plan.

c. The owner or operator shall keep and maintain
documentation for the quality assurance procedures through
the post-closure care period of the facility.

2. Leachate collection
a. Minimum design specifications

(1) The leachate collection system shall be
designed to operate without clogging through the
post-closure care period of the facility.

(2) All elements of the system (pipes, sumps,
pumps, etc.) shall be sized according to water balance
calculations and shall be capable of handling peak flows.

(3) Collection pipes shall be sized and spaced
to efficiently remove leachate from the bottom of the waste
and the side walls of the cell.  The capacity of the mains shall
be at least equal to the sum of the capacities of the laterals.

(4) The pipes shall be designed to withstand
the weight, stresses, and disturbances from the overlying
wastes, waste cover materials, equipment operation, and
vehicular traffic.

(5) The collection pipes shall be designed to
drain by gravity to a sump system.  Sumps must function
automatically and shall contain a conveyance system for the
removal of leachate. 

(6) Manholes or cleanout risers shall be
located along the perimeter of the leachate collection system.
The number and spacing of the manholes shall be sufficient
to insure proper maintenance of the system by water jet
flushing or an equivalent method.

(7) Innovative leachate collection systems
incorporating alternative designs may be used, after approval
by the Department, if they are shown to be equivalent to or
more effective than the specified design.

[(8) The leachate collection system must be
designed to prevent the leachate head on the liner from
exceeding a depth of 12 inches.]

b. Construction standards
(1) The leachate collection system shall be

installed immediately above an impermeable liner and at the
bottom of a drainage layer.  The drainage layer shall be at
least 12 inches thick with a hydraulic conductivity not less

than  1 x 10-3 [2] cm/sec and a minimum controlling slope of
two (2) percent.

Alternate materials may be used for the
drainage layer with prior written approval of the
Department.

(2) The following tests shall be performed on
the soil proposed for use in the drainage layer, and all data
shall be submitted to the Department prior to construction of
the drainage layer.  These tests shall be performed in
accordance with current ASTM, AASHTO, or equivalent
methods:

Classification
Porosity
Relative density or compaction
Specific gravity
Hydraulic conductivity

(3) The leachate collection system and
manholes or cleanout risers shall be constructed of materials
that can withstand the chemical attack that results from
leachates.

c. Operational procedures 
(1) The leachate collection system shall

operate automatically, whenever leachate is present in the
sump, to remove accumulated leachate. 
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(2) Inspections shall be conducted weekly to
verify proper functioning of the leachate collection system
and to detect the presence of leachate in the removal sump.  

The owner or operator shall keep records on
the system to provide sufficient information that the leachate
collection system is functional and operating properly.  The
amount of leachate collected from each cell shall be recorded
on a weekly basis.

(3) Collection lines shall be cleaned according
to a Department-approved scheduled maintenance program
and more frequently if required.

3. Leachate treatment and disposal
The permittee must maintain all necessary permits

and approvals for leachate storage and discharge activities.
a. The leachate treatment and disposal system

shall be designed in accordance with one of the following
options:

(1) Complete treatment on-site with or
without direct discharge to surface water,

(2) Pretreatment on-site with discharge to an
off-site treatment works for final treatment,

(3) Storage on-site with discharge to an
off-site treatment works for complete treatment,

(4) Direct discharge to an off-site treatment
works, or

(5) Pretreatment on site with discharge on site.
b. Leachate storage prior to treatment shall be

within tanks constructed and installed in accordance with the
following standards:

(1) The tank shall be placed above ground.
(2) The storage tank shall be designed in

accordance with American Petroleum Institute (API),
Underwriters Laboratory (UL), or an equivalent standard
appropriate to the material being used, and shall be
constructed of or lined with material which has a
demonstrated chemical resistance to the leachate.

(3) The storage tank area shall have a liner
capable of preventing any leachate which may escape from
the tank from coming into contact with the underlying soil.

(4) The storage tank area shall be surrounded
by a berm, and the bermed area shall have a capacity at least
ten percent greater than the capacity of the tank.

(5) All storage tanks shall be equipped with a
venting system.

(6) All storage tanks shall be equipped with a
high liquid level alarm or warning device. The alarm system
shall be wired to the location where assistance will be
available to respond to the emergency.

c. On-site complete treatment or pretreatment
facilities shall be designed and constructed in accordance

with the following:
(1) The on-site treatment unit shall be

designed based on the results of a treatability study, the
results of the operations of a pilot plant, or written
information documenting the performance of an equivalent
leachate treatment system.

(2) On-site treatment units shall be designed
and constructed by staging of the units to allow for on-line
modification of the treatment system to account for
variability of the leachate quality and quantity.

d. For all leachate discharges planned for publicly
owned treatment works (POTW), the owner or operator of
the landfill shall notify the receiving POTW of intent to
discharge leachate into the collection system and shall
provide the POTW with analysis of the leachate as required
by the POTW. 

e. All leachate treatment and disposal systems
shall be designed and constructed to control odors.

f. Residuals from the on-site treatment and
disposal systems shall be sampled and analyzed for
hazardous waste characteristics in accordance with the
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

g. Recirculation of leachate may be allowed,
subject to approval by the Department, to accelerate
decomposition of the waste.  At new facilities and
expansions of existing facilities, recirculation will be
allowed only in areas constructed with a [composite liner
system or a] double liner and leak detection  system.  The
method of recirculation at all facilities must be approved [by
the Department] in advance and annually so long as the
recirculation continues by the Department.  Records of
leachate collected and recirculated must be kept and reported
and any resultant problems reported to the Department and
remedied as soon as practicable and included in the annual
report.  

4. Leachate monitoring
a. The leachate monitoring system shall be

capable of measuring the quantity of the flow, preventing the
leachate head on the liner from exceeding a depth of 12
inches, and sampling the leachate from each landfill cell.
The volume of leachate collected from each cell shall be
determined at least monthly and reported quarterly.

b. Leachate monitoring shall be performed
according to a Department-approved plan which includes
quality control and quality assurance procedures.

c. In addition to the requirement in Section
5.D.4.b above, samples of leachate shall be collected and
analyzed from each waste cell, as follows: 

(1) monthly, during the active life of a cell, and
at an interval specified by the Department after closure of the
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cell, for the following parameters:
pH
Alkalinity (Alk)
Chemical Oxygen Demand (COD)
Biochemical Oxygen Demand (BOD)
Total Organic Carbon (TOC)
Specific Conductance (SpC)
Total Dissolved Solids (TDS)
Total Iron (Fe)
Total Manganese (Mn)
Chloride (C1)
Nitrate (NO3-N), Nitrate (NO2-N), and

Ammonia (NH3-N) and Total Kiehldahl Nitrogen (TKN)

Sulfate (SO4), and

(2) at least semi-annually for parameters listed
in Appendix II

(2) at an interval specified by the Department
for additional parameters specified by the Department.

d. Leachate monitoring results shall be submitted
to the Department as part of the annual monitoring report or
more frequently as directed by the Department.

e. For a double liner system, if the Action
Leakage Rate of the leak detection system is exceeded, the
owner or operator of the landfill shall notify the Department
within five (5) working days.  The owner or operator shall
also sample and analyze the liquid in the leak detection
system for the same parameters listed in Section 5.D.4.c.(1)
and any additional parameters as required by the
Department.  if liquid is discovered within the leak detection
system, the owner or operator of the landfill shall notify the
Department within five (5) working days of the discovery
and test and record for the same parameters listed in Section
5.G.4.c. above.  

E. GAS CONTROL
1. General provisions

a. Gas control system shall be installed at all
sanitary landfills.

b. The gas control system shall be designed and
constructed to:

(1) Evacuate gas from within the waste to
prevent the accumulation of gas on-site or off-site.

(2) Prevent and control damage to vegetation.
(3) Prevent odors from the facility being

detectable at the facility property line in sufficient quantities
to cause or create a condition of air pollution.   Control
malodorous gaseous emissions to the extent that there is no
perceivable landfill odor at the property boundary.

c. The concentration of landfill gas in facility

structures (except gas recovery system components) and at
the facility boundary shall not exceed 25% of the Lower
Explosive Limit (LEL).

2. Design and construction standards
a. The owner or operator of a sanitary landfill

shall consider both active and passive gas control systems
and shall provide an evaluation of the proposed system for
Department approval.

b. The owner or operator shall perform an
analysis to establish the required spacing of gas control vents
to provide an effective system.

c. The gas control system shall be designed to
evacuate gas from all levels within the waste.

d. The system shall not interfere with or cause
failure of the liner or leachate systems.

3. Monitoring
a. A sufficient number of gas monitoring wells

shall be installed to evaluate gas production rates in the
landfill.

b. The owner or operator shall sample the gas
monitoring wells at least quarterly and provide analytical
results [as required by conditions specified in the facility
permit] as part of the annual report.

c. At sanitary landfills utilizing natural liners, gas
monitoring probes must be installed in the soil outside the
lined area to evaluate any lateral migration of landfill gas.

d. Emissions from active and passive gas control
systems may require a permit from the Air Resources
Section of the Division of Air and Waste Management.

4. Response Actions
a. If methane gas levels exceeding the limits

specified in Section 5.E.1.c paragraph E.1.c. of this section
are detected, the owner or operator must:

(1) Immediately take all necessary steps to
ensure protection of human health and notify the
Department.

(2) Within seven days of detection, place in
the operating record the methane gas levels detected and a
description of the steps taken to protect human health.

(3) Within 60 days of detection, implement a
remediation plan for the methane gas releases, place a copy
of the plan in the operating record, and notify the
Department that the plan has been implemented. The plan
shall describe the nature and extent of the problem and the
proposed remedy.

b. For purposes of this section, lower explosive
limit means the lowest percent by volume of a mixture of
explosive gases in air that will propagate a flame at 25
degrees C and atmospheric pressure. 
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F. SURFACE WATER MANAGEMENT
1. General provision

An owner or operator of a sanitary landfill shall
design, construct, and maintain a surface water management
system to:

a. Prevent erosion of the waste and cover,
 b. Prevent the collection of standing water, and

c. Minimize surface water run-off onto and into
the waste.

2. Design requirements
An owner or operator of a sanitary landfill shall

include:
a. A run-on control system to prevent flow onto

the active portion of the landfill during the peak discharge
from a 24-hour, 25-year storm. 

b. A run-off control system from the active
portion of the landfill to collect and control at least the water
volume resulting from a 24-hour, 25-year storm. The system
shall be designed to include: 

(1) Detention basins to provide temporary
storage of the expected run-off from the design storm with
sufficient reserve capacity to contain accumulated
precipitation and sediment prior to discharge.    

(2) Diversion structures designed to prevent
run-off generated within the active areas from moving off
site of the lined areas.  

3. Channeling of run-off
a. Run-off from the active areas within the active

cell(s) must be channeled to the leachate treatment and
disposal system.

b. Run-off from the unused portion of the active
cell(s) that has not been in contact with waste shall be
channeled to the detention basins or other approved
sedimentation control devices.

c. Until vegetative cover has been established,
run-off from closed cells will be directed to the detention
basins or other approved sedimentation control devices.  

4. Discharge
Discharge from the detention basins shall be in

compliance with all applicable federal and state regulations. 

G. GROUND WATER MONITORING AND
CORRECTIVE ACTION

1. General provision
Owners or operators of all sanitary landfill facilities

shall install maintain and operate a ground water monitoring
program to evaluate facility impact upon ground water
quality.

2. Design and construction of monitoring system 
a. The ground water monitoring system shall be

designed by, constructed under the direction of, and attested
to by, a Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.

b. The system shall consist of a sufficient number
of wells, installed at appropriate locations and depths, to
define the ground water flow system and shall be developed
in accordance with Departmental requirements to yield
ground water samples that are representative of the aquifer
water quality, both unaffected by (background) and
potentially impacted by downgradient contaminant leakage
from the facility.  The downgradient monitor wells (which
are points of compliance for ground water performance
standards) must be no further than 150 meters from the edge
of the sanitary landfill cell, and on the waste facility
property. 

c. The number, spacing, location, depth, and
screened interval of the monitoring wells shall be approved
by the Department prior to installation.

d. All monitoring wells shall be constructed in
accordance with the Regulations Governing the Construction
of Water Wells and any subsequently approved guidelines.
Variation from the existing guidelines must be approved by
the Department in writing prior to construction. 

e. Monitoring of surface water, into which
ground water flowing from beneath the landfill discharges,
may also be required as part of the ground water monitoring
program.  Parameter analysis may include all those required
for the ground water sampling plus any additional
parameters or tests the Department deems necessary. 

3. Ground water sampling and analyses
a. The owner or operator shall submit a ground

water sampling plan to the Department at the time of permit
application.  The sampling plan must include procedures and
techniques for:

(1) Sample collection, preservation, and
transport

(a) Samples will be collected at low flow
rates (<1 l/min) to minimize turbidity of the samples.
 (b) Samples will be field filtered only
when turbidity exceeds 10 NTU. Repeated sampling of any
well where turbidity exceeds 10 NTU is not permitted
without Department approval. Approval will only be granted
in cases where turbidity cannot be controlled by careful well
construction,  development and sampling.  Samples will be
field filtered only where turbidity cannot be controlled by
careful well construction, development and sampling and
Department approval is obtained. 

(2) Analytical procedures and quality
assurance, and

(3) Chain of custody control 
b. Sample parameters
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(1) Water levels will be measured prior to
sample collection

(2) Ground water samples will be analyzed for
the following list of parameters:

pH
Alkalinity (Alk)
Chemical Oxygen Demand (COD)
Total Organic Carbon (TOC)
Specific Conductance (SpC)
Total Dissolved Solids (TDS)
Total Iron (Fe)
Total Manganese (Mn)
Chloride (C1)
Nitrate (NO3-N), Nitrate (NO2-N), and

Ammonia (NH3-N) and Total Kiehldahl Nitrogen (TKN)

Sulfate (SO4)

Dissolved Oxygen (DO)
Oxidation-Reduction Potential (ORP) or Eh
The parameters listed in Appendix I. Table I

when requested by the Department. Any additional
parameters specified by the Department. The Department
may delete the requirement for any constituents (included in
Appendix I) where appropriate.  Such deletions will be based
on:

(a) The results of leachate monitoring
(constituent is not a significant constituent of the leachate),

(b) Local geochemical considerations
(immobility in subsurface), and

(c) Other relevant factors.

Table 1

(3) Test methods used to determine the
parameters of Section 5.G.3.b.(2) shall be those described in
the most current legal edition of EPA Publication Number
SW-846, "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste -
Physical/Chemical Methods."  If SW-846 does not contain
test methods for a required parameter, that parameter shall
be tested according to methods described in the most recent
edition of the EPA publication "Methods of Chemical
Analysis for Water and Wastes" or of Standard Methods for
the Examination of Water and Wastewater. 

c. Monitoring frequency will be at least
semi-annual.  An alternate frequency may be specified by
the Department based on consideration of the following
conditions:

(1) Lithology of the aquifer and unsaturated
zone,

(2) Hydraulic conductivity of the aquifer and
unsaturated zone,

(3) Ground water flow rates,
(4) Distance and travel time between the

waste unit(s) and the downgradient monitor wells and
possible points of exposure to any landfill-derived
contaminants in wells or receiving surface waters, and 

(5) Resource value of the aquifer.
d. The Department may observe the ground water

Antimony trans-1,4-Dichloro-2-butene

Arsenic 1,1-Dichloroethane; Ethylidene chloride

Barium 1,2-Dichloroethane; Ethylene dichloride

Beryllium 1,1-Dichloroethylene; 1,1-Dichloroethene

Cadmium cis-1,2-Dichloroethylene;
cis-1,2-Dichloroethene

Chromium trans-1,2-Dichloroethylene

Cobalt 1,2-Dichloropropane

Copper cis-1,3-Dichloropropene

Lead trans-1,3-Dichloropropene

Nickel Ethylbenzene

Selenium 2-Hexanone; Methyl butyl ketone

Silver Methyl bromide; Bromomethane 

Thallium Methyl chloride; Chloromethane

Vanadium Methylene bromide; Dibromomethane

Zinc Methylene chloride; Dichloromethane

Acetone Methyl ethyl ketone; MEK

Acrylonitrile Methyl iodide; Iodomethane

Benzene 4-Methyl-2-pentanone; Methyl isobutyl ketone

Bromochloromethane Styrene

Bromodichloromethane 1,1,1,2-Tetrachloroethane

Bromoform; Tribromomethane 1,1,2,2-Tetrachloroethane

Carbon disulfide Tetrachloroethylene; Tetrachloroethene

Carbon tetrachloride Toluene

Chlorobenzene 1,1,1-Trichloroethane; Methylchloroform

Chloroethane; Ethyl chloride 1,1,2-Trichloroethane

Chloroform; Trichloromethane Trichloroethylene

Dibromochloromethane;Chlorodi
br omomethane

Trichlorofluoromethane; CFC-11

1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropane;
DBCP

1,2,3-Trichloropropane

1,2-Dibromoethane; Ethylene
dibromide; EDB

Vinyl acetate

o-Dichlorobenzenze;
1,2-Dichlorobenzene

Vinyl chloride

p-Dichlorobenzenze;
1,4-Dichlorobenzene

Xylenes
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sampling conducted by the permittee or his/her designee and
may request split samples for analysis.

4.  Data evaluation
a. The owner or operator must establish the

background quality for each sampling parameter or
constituent.  The background quality is that which would be
expected with no impact by contaminant releases from the
waste cells.

b. The owner or operator must specify in the
operating record the methods to be used for statistical
evaluation of the monitoring data.  These may include:

(1) A tolerance or prediction interval
procedure in which a range for each constituent is
established from the distribution of the background data and
the level of each constituent in each compliance
(downgradient) monitor well is compared to the upper
tolerance or prediction limit, 

(2) A control chart approach that plots
concentrations of each constituent versus the background
range, or

(3) Any other statistical method chosen to
meet the following requirements and approved by the
Department:

(a) Appropriate in distribution and
number of available data to meet the requirements of the
statistical test chosen;

(b) Capable of limiting individual
constituent comparisons to Type I error levels less than 0.01
or multiple constituent comparisons to Type I error levels
less than 0.05, for each testing period. (This requirement
does not apply to tolerance intervals, prediction intervals, or
control charts.)

c. If necessary, the statistical analysis method
shall include procedures to control or correct for seasonal
and spatial variability as well as temporal correlation in the
data.

d. The owner or operator must determine whether
or not there is a statistically significant increase over
background values for each parameter or constituent
required in the monitoring program by comparisons using
the chosen method of evaluation.  This evaluation must be
performed within a reasonable period of sampling and
analysis - normally within 30 days of obtaining sampling
results.

e. If any statistically significant increase occurs,
the permittee must:

(1) notify the Department and place the result
in the operating record within 14 days, and 

(2) assess the probable accuracy and possible
risk associated with the finding in the annual report.  

f. Performance standards will be established at
each site which are intended to provide adequate protection
for human health and the environment. The performance
standards may be proposed by the permittee, but must be
approved by the Department, and shall be incorporated in the
facility permit.  In general, performance standards will be the
maximum contaminant levels (MCLs) for public drinking
water.  However, the Department may specify performance
levels which are more stringent to protect adjacent surface
water (and prevent violation of surface water quality
standards) or less stringent (where ground water at the site
will not threaten existing or reasonably expected sources of
drinking water or cause violation of surface water quality
standards) as appropriate. 

g. The points of compliance at which
performance standards must be met must be no more than
150 meters from the edge of the furthest downgradient waste
cell and must be on the waste management facility property.  
 h. If any release of contaminants from the landfill
to the groundwater is detected, either by exceedance of
background concentrations or violation of a performance
standard in the downgradient wells (points of compliance),
the owner or operator must:

(1) Notify the Department and place the result
in the operating record within 14 days,

(2) Re-sample to confirm the result and/or
demonstrate that the result was an error or that the increase
was due to a source other than the permitted waste facility
within 90 days,

(3) Notify the Department of the result of
confirmation within 14 days of availability of the result, and

(4) If a release is confirmed, perform an
assessment of corrective measure as described in Section
5.G.6.

5. Reporting
a. The owner or operator will compile and

evaluate all ground water data within a reasonable period of
time following sampling and analysis.  A tabulation of water
elevations and quality will be submitted to the Department
within 60 days of each sampling event.  Reports of any
statistically significant increases in downgradient wells or
violation of performance standards in wells or streams must
be reported to the Department within 14 days as noted
above.  

b. An annual monitoring report must be submitted
by the permittee to the Department which includes the
following:  

(1) Maps showing the locations of sampling
points, water elevations, and ground water flow directions
and approximate rates for each sampling period; 
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(2) Tabulation of all ground water levels and
elevations, leachate volumes collected and treated and
leachate and water quality data;

(3) Presentation of statistical results and
graphs depicting water quality parameter concentrations
with time;

(4) Identification of any statistically
significant increases in compliance wells and/or exceedances
of performance standards;  

(5) Confirmation results and conclusions
related to the accuracy of these results and/or reasonable
explanation for the results;

(6) Recommendations for any changes in the
monitoring program including changes in the number,
location of sampling points, sampling frequency, parameters
or procedures;

(7) An evaluation of the significance of the
results including whether they indicate a contaminant release
has occurred and any recommendations for corrective
measures, if appropriate.

c. In addition to paper copies of reports, the
Department may require all or part of any required report to
be submitted on machine readable media in a format
mutually acceptable to the Department and the permittee.
With the approval of the Department, reports submitted on
machine readable media may be substituted for paper
reports.

6.  Assessment of Corrective Measures
a. An assessment (re-assessment) of corrective

measures by the owner or operator is required (within 90
days) of confirmation of a contaminant release or an
exceedance of a performance standard. The owner or
operator must perform this assessment which must include:  

(1) Identification of the nature and extent of
the release (which may require construction and sampling of
additional wells, analysis for additional constituents
including those required for leachate, listed in Appendix II,
geophysical surveys and/or other measures);  

(2) Re-assessment of contaminant fate and
potential contaminant receptors (wells and/or receiving
streams);

(3) Evaluation of feasible corrective measures
to:

(a) Prevent exposure to potentially
harmful levels of contaminants  (exceeding performance
standards);

(b) Reduce, minimize or prevent further
contaminant releases;

(c) Reduce, minimize or prevent the
offsite migration of contaminants. 

(4) The implementability (and time to
implement) and costs of the feasible alternatives;

(5) Recommendations for remedial action.
  b. The owner or operator must present the results

of the corrective measures assessment, including a proposed
remedy, (with a schedule for initiation and completion) for
public comment at a public meeting. 

7. Selection of Remedy
a. Based on the results of the corrective measures

assessment and public meeting, the owner/operator will
select a remedial action.

b. Remedies must:
(1) Be protective of human health and the

environment; 
(2) Control source(s) of contaminant releases

so as to reduce or eliminate (to the maximum extent
practicable), further releases of contaminants that pose a
threat to human health or the environment;

(3) Comply with the site performance
standards at the points of compliance (to the extent feasible);
and

(4) Comply with standards for the
management of wastes. 

c. The Department may determine that
remediation of a contaminant release is not necessary if the
permittee can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the
Department (or the Department certifies that it is satisfied)
that the ground water is not currently or reasonably expected
to be a source of drinking water, will not migrate so as to
threaten a source of drinking water or will not cause
violation of surface water quality standards, (i.e. does not
represent a significant threat to human health or the
environment).
 8. Implementation of Corrective Action

a. Based on the schedule established under
Section 5.G.6.b. for initiation and remediation of remedial
activities, the owner or operator must: 

(1) Implement the corrective action remedy;
(2) Take any interim measures necessary to

ensure protection of human health and the environment
(such as replacement of contaminated or imminently
threatened water supplies); and

(3) Perform ground water and/or surface
water monitoring to demonstrate the effectiveness of the
remedy including whether or not compliance is achieved
with the performance standards. 

b. If the owner or operator determines, based on
information obtained after implementation of the remedy has
begun or other information that compliance with remediation
objectives (including achievement of performance
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standards) cannot be practically achieved with the remedy
selected, the owner or operator must notify the Department
and request authorization to proceed with another feasible
method consistent with the overall objective of the remedy.

c. If the permittee determines that compliance
with remedial action objectives (Section 5.G.7) cannot be
practically achieved, the permittee must notify the
Department and implement alternate methods to control
exposure of humans or the environment to residual
contamination and implement alternative control measures.

d. Remedies selected shall be considered
complete when:

(1) All actions required to implement the
remedy have been achieved; and 

(2) The ground water protection standards or
alternate requirements agreed upon have been achieved for a
period of three years or alternate period approved by the
Department.

e. Upon completion of the remedy, the owner or
operator must notify the Department that a certification of
the remedy has been completed in compliance with the
requirement and placed in the operating records. This
certification must be signed by a Professional Geologist
registered in Delaware. 

f. Upon completion of the remedy, the owner or
operator will continue ground water monitoring as required
by provisions of Section 5.G.3. and approved by the
Department. 

H. CAPPING SYSTEM 
1. Requirement for a capping system

a. Upon closure of the landfill or landfill cell the
permittee shall install a capping system that will control the
emission of gas, promote the establishment of vegetative
cover, and minimize infiltration and percolation of water
into, and prevent erosion of, the waste throughout the
post-closure care period.

b. The capping system shall be in place 180 days
following final waste disposal activity unless the Department
approves a longer period of time. 

c. The capping system shall extend beyond the
edge of the lined area.

d. The proposed design of the capping system
must be approved by the Department prior to installation.

2. Composition of the capping system
The capping system shall consist of at least the

following components:
a. A final grading layer on the waste, consisting

of at least  six twelve inches of soil, to attain the final slope
and provide a stable base for subsequent system

components.  Daily and intermediate cover may be used for
this purpose.

b. A low permeability layer to minimize
infiltration, that has a permeability less than or equal to the
permeability of any bottom liner system or natural subsoils
present.  This infiltration control layer must consist of at
least the following:
 (1) A 20 30 mil synthetic geomembrane
underlain by a geotextile, or

(2) 24 inches of fine-textured soil with a

hydraulic conductivity no greater than 1 x 10-7 cm/sec.
If the landfill has a synthetic liner system, it

must have a synthetic infiltration control layer.  Alternative
materials that achieve an equivalent performance may be
used for the infiltration control layer with prior written
approval of the Department.

c. A final cover to provide plant roofing and
prevent erosion consisting of:

(1) Eighteen (18) inches of soil to provide
rooting depth and moisture for plant growth; and

(2) Six (6) inches of topsoil or other material
approved by the Department to support the proposed
vegetation; or

(3) A suitable layer of alternative material or
combination thereof to assure adequate rooting and moisture
retention to support the proposed vegetation.

The permittee shall propose a suitable
vegetation dependent upon the quality and characteristics of
the topsoil and compatible with the intended final use of the
facility. Maintenance schedules and application rates for
fertilizer and mulch shall also be submitted for approval.

3. Final slopes
a. The grades of the final slope shall be

constructed in accordance with the following minimum
standards:  

(1) The final grade of the top slope, after
allowing for settlement and subsidence, shall be designed to
promote run-off;

(2) The final grades of the side slopes shall be,
at a maximum, three horizontal to one vertical (3:1).

b. The top and side slopes shall be maintained to
prevent erosion of the capping system and to insure complete
vegetation cover. 

I. LANDFILL OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE
STANDARDS

1. General
a. Sanitary landfills shall be operated so as to

create an aesthetically desirable environment and to prevent
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degradation of land, air, surface water, or ground water.
b. Sanitary landfills shall be maintained and

operated to conform with the approved Plan of Operation.
2.  Details of operation and maintenance  

a. Spreading and compacting
The working face shall be confined to the smallest

practical area, as is consistent with the proper operation of
trucks and equipment.  

The waste shall be spread in layers and compacted
by repeated passes of the compacting equipment to obtain
the degree of compaction specified in the Solid Waste
permit.

b. Lift depth
The lift depth shall not exceed the limit specified in

the Solid Waste permit.
c. Cover

(1) Daily cover
A layer of suitable cover material shall be

placed over all solid waste by the end of each working day.
This layer shall be of such depth that when compacted it
produces a cover layer at least six inches in depth.  

(2) Intermediate cover
Any area that receives daily cover and is not

expected to receive either additional solid waste or a capping
system within six months shall receive intermediate cover
consisting of at least six inches of suitable compacted cover
material (in addition to the daily cover).  Intermediate cover
may be required more frequently if deemed necessary by the
Department.

(3) Cover material
The soil used as daily and intermediate cover

material shall be of such character that it can be compacted
to minimize percolation of water through the cover, does not
crack excessively when dry, and is free of putrescible
materials and large objects.

(4) Alternate cover materials
The Department may approve the use of other

materials as daily and intermediate cover if they can be
shown to be at least as effective as the required depths of
compacted soil at preventing migration of the waste and
controlling flies, rodents, and fires.

d. Control of nuisances and hazards
(1) Odor
The operation of the landfill shall not result in

odors associated with solid waste being detected off site. 
(2) Litter
The scattering of refuse and wind-blown litter

shall be controlled by the use of portable fences, natural
barriers, or other suitable methods.  No refuse or litter shall
be allowed to migrate off site.  

(3) Vectors, dust, fires
The operation of the landfill shall be conducted

in a manner which eliminates to the extent possible insect
and rodent breeding, dust problems, and fires. 

e. Bulky waste
Adequate provision shall be made for the handling

and compaction of bulky wastes when such wastes are not
excluded from the site.  Tires in quantities greater than ten
per truckload shall be sliced or shredded before being
landfilled.

f. Special solid wastes
The permittee may make provision for the limited

disposal of specified special solid wastes.  Disposal of these
wastes shall be conducted pursuant to a plan submitted to
and approved by the Department.

g. Access 
Access roads to the point of waste discharge shall

be designed, constructed, and maintained so that traffic will
flow smoothly and will not be interrupted by inclement
weather.

Access to the site shall be limited to those times
when an attendant is on duty and to those persons authorized
to use the site for the disposal of solid waste. This section
shall not be construed to limit right of entry by the Secretary
or his duly authorized designee pursuant to 7 Del. Code,
Section 6024.

Access to the site by unauthorized persons shall be
prevented by the use of barriers, fences and gates, or other
suitable means.

h. Salvaging     
Salvage operations shall be so organized that they

will not interfere with the proper disposal of any solid waste.
No salvage operation shall be allowed which creates
unsightliness, nuisances, health hazards, or potential safety
hazards. 

i. Personnel
Sufficient numbers and types of personnel shall be

available at the site to insure capability for operation in
accordance with these regulations.  
 j. Equipment

Adequate numbers and types of equipment
commensurate with the size of the operation shall be
available at the site to insure operation of the landfill in
accordance with the provisions of these regulations and the
plan of operation. Substitute equipment shall be obtained
when maintenance or breakdown renders normal operating
equipment inoperative for more than 24 hours.  All refuse
moving equipment shall be cleaned routinely and maintained
according to the manufacturer's recommendations.

k. Employee health and safety 
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Employees at the site shall work under all
appropriate health and safety guidelines established by the
Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

The owner or operator of the landfill shall provide
suitable shelter, sanitary facilities, and safe drinking water
for personnel at the site.

A reliable telephone or radio communication
system shall be provided for site personnel.

First aid equipment shall be available at the site.
l. Procedures for excluding the receipt of

hazardous waste
(a) Owners or operators of all sanitary landfill

cells must implement a program at the facility for detecting
and preventing the disposal of regulated hazardous wastes
and polychlorinated biphenyls (PCB) wastes.  This program
must include, at a minimum:

(1) Random inspections of incoming
loads unless the owner or operator takes other steps to ensure
that incoming loads do not contain regulated hazardous
wastes or PCB wastes;

(2) Records of any inspections;
(3) Training of facility personnel to

recognize regulated hazardous waste and PCB wastes; and 
(4) Notification of the Department under

Subtitle C of RCRA if a regulated hazardous waste or PCB
waste is discovered at the facility. 

(b) For purposes of this section, regulated
hazardous waste means a solid waste that is a hazardous
waste, as defined in 40 CFR 261.3 that is not excluded from
regulation as a hazardous waste under 40 CFR 261.4(b) or
was not generated by a conditionally exempt small quantity
generator.   

3. Recordkeeping
The following information must be recorded, as it

becomes available, and retained by the owner or operator of
any new or existing sanitary landfill until the end of the
post-closure care period of the landfill:

a. Records demonstrating that liners, leachate
control systems, gas control systems, capping systems, and
all monitoring systems are constructed or installed in
accordance with the design criteria required in Section 5,
Subsections C, D, E, F, G, and H.

b. Monitoring, testing, or analytical data where
required by Section 5, Subsections D, E, F, G, and H.

c. Volume and/or weight of wastes received
quarterly.

d. Types of waste received quarterly (industrial
waste, asbestos-containing waste, and other wastes which
require Department approval prior to being landfilled).

e. Location of any monofilled waste.

f. Any additional records specified by the
Department.

4. Reporting 
The permittee shall submit to the Department on an

annual basis a report summarizing facility operations for the
preceding calendar year.  The report shall describe and
summarize all solid waste disposal, environmental
monitoring, and construction activities conducted within the
year covered by the report.  The report shall include, but not
necessarily be limited to, the following:

a. The volume or tonnage of solid waste
landfilled at the facility;

b. The estimated remaining capacity of the
facility, in both tonnage and years;

c. The volumes (or tonnages) and types of
specified special solid wastes landfilled at the facility;

d. Leachate quantity and quality data as required
in Section 5., SubsectionD.4, and specified in the Solid
Waste permit;

e. Gas monitoring data as required in Section 5.,
SubsectionE.3, and specified in the Solid Waste permit;

f. An updated estimate of the cost of closure and
post-closure care of the facility, as required in Section 5.,
SubsectionJ.3.d;

g. Any intentional or accidental deviations from
the approved Plan of Operation, and any unusual situations
encountered during the year;

h. All construction or corrective work conducted
on the site in accordance with approved plans or to achieve
compliance with these regulations.

The permittee must also submit any additional
reports specified in the Solid Waste permit.

5. Prohibitions
a. The owner or operator of a sanitary landfill

shall not knowingly accept for disposal any hazardous waste.
See Section 5.I.2.l.

b. Open burning of any solid waste is prohibited
within the active portion of the sanitary landfill.

c. Sanitary landfills are prohibited from accepting
bulk or non-containerized liquid waste unless the waste is a
household waste other than septic waste.  

d.  Scavenging is prohibited on any landfill site.  

J. CLOSURE
1.  General
The owner or operator of a sanitary landfill must close

the completed landfill or landfill cell in a manner that:
a. Minimizes the need for further maintenance,

and 
b. Minimizes the post-closure escape of solid
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waste constituents, leachate, and landfill gases to the surface
water, ground water, or atmosphere.

2.   Required submittals; notification
a. An owner or operator of a new sanitary landfill

must submit a conceptual closure plan for the facility at the
time of initial (i.e., construction) permit application.  

b. At least 180 days prior to the projected date
when wastes will no longer be accepted at the landfill or cell,
the landfill owner or operator shall submit to the Department
written notification of intent to close the facility or cell, a
closure plan, and a closure schedule.

c. An owner or operator of a sanitary landfill must
receive a closure permit before commencing closure of a
completed landfill or cell. At the time of notification of
intent to close, the owner or operator must also submit a
closure schedule and a closure plan or revised closure plan.

d c. If the Department determines that the closure
plan and closure schedule are sufficient to ensure closure in
accordance with the performance standards described in
Section 5., SubsectionJ.1, a and b, it will issue a closure
permit modify the solid waste permit to allow closure to take
place.

d. The owner or operator shall not commence
closure activities before receiving the necessary
modifications to the solid waste permit.

e. A copy of the closure plan must be maintained
at the facility or at some other location designated by the
owner or operator through the post-closure care period of the
facility.

3. Closure plan contents
Closure plans for sanitary landfills must include, as

a minimum, the following:
a. A description of the methods, procedures, and

processes that will be used to close a landfill and each
individual cell thereof in accordance with the closure
performance standard in Section 5., SubsectionJ.1, a and b.

b. A description of the capping system required
under Section 5.H.  This shall include a description of the
system design, the type of material to be used, and a
discussion of how the capping system will achieve the
objectives of Section 5., SubsectionJ.1, a and b, above.

c. A description of other activities necessary to
satisfy the closure performance standard including, but not
limited to, the removal or disposal of all non-landfilled
wastes located on site (e.g., wastes from landfill run-off
collection ponds).

d. An estimate of the cost of closing the facility or
cell and of the cost of post-closure monitoring and
maintenance throughout the post-closure care period.  These
estimates shall be updated yearly and submitted to the

Department as part of the annual report described in Section
5., SubsectionI.4.

e. A plan for post-closure care of the facility
sufficient to ensure that the standards described in
Subsection Section 5.J.1 will be met.  This will include:

(1) A description of the monitoring and
maintenance activities required and the frequency at which
these activities will be performed.

(2) The name, address, and telephone number
of the person or office to contact about the facility during the
post-closure period.

(3) A description of the planned uses of the
property during the post-closure period.

f. A plan for control and/or recovery of landfill
gases.

g. A closure construction quality assurance plan.
4. Minimum closure requirements 

a. The permittee shall notify the Department at
least 30 working days prior to commencing closure
activities.  The Department shall inspect the site, and the
permittee shall perform any corrective work which the
Department deems necessary.

b. Finished portions of the landfill shall receive a
capping system which meets the requirements of Section
5.H.

c. Finished portions of the landfill shall be
planted with appropriate vegetation to promote stabilization
of the cover.  

d. The closure shall be carried out in accordance
with the approved closure plan and according to the
approved closure schedule.  Any significant deviations from
the plan or the schedule must be approved by the Department
prior to being initiated.

e. Upon closure of an entire landfill, all
non-landfilled wastes located on site shall be removed or
disposed of in a manner approved by the Department.

f. After closure of the facility, the site shall be
returned to an acceptable appearance consistent with the
surrounding area and the intended use of the land.

g. When closure is completed, the owner or
operator shall submit a final report for the Department’s
approval.  The final report shall certify that the closure of the
landfill or cell was completed in accordance with the closure
plan to include the construction quality assurance plan,
construction and material specifications, and design
drawings.  The final report shall be certified correct by the
construction quality assurance engineer, who must be a
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware.  The landfill
or cell will not be considered closed until the Department has
provided its written notification that the closure construction
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and the final report meet the requirements of the solid waste
permit and these regulations. must submit to the Department
certification by a professional engineer registered in
Delaware that the landfill or cell has been closed in
accordance with the specifications in the approved closure
plan.  The Department will inspect the cell or facility and
will either:

(1) Issue a letter of approval to certify that the
site has been closed in accordance with the  closure solid
waste permit, the closure plan, and all applicable regulations;
or

(2) Determine that the site is not in
compliance with the  closure solid waste permit, the closure
plan, or applicable regulations; identify the areas of
deficiency; and require the owner or operator to take the
necessary actions to bring the site into compliance.

h. Facilities entering the post-closure period will
be issued a post-closure permit based upon the approved
post-closure plan, monitoring requirements, gas and leachate
control, maintenance, and corrective actions (if required).

K. POST-CLOSURE CARE
1.  General

a. The owner or operator of a sanitary landfill
must continue post-closure care for 30 years after the
completion of closure.  

b. At any time during the post-closure care period
the Department may remove one or more of the post-closure
care requirements described in Section 5.K.2 Subsection K.2
below if it determines that the requirement(s) is/are no
longer necessary for the protection of human health and the
environment. 
    c. At any time after the first five years of the
post-closure care period, the Department may reduce the
length of the post-closure care period or terminate
post-closure care if it determines that such care is no longer
necessary.

d. Prior to the time that the post-closure care
period is due to expire, the Department may extend the
post-closure care period if it determines that the extended
period is necessary to protect human health and the
environment.

e. If at any time during the post-closure care
period there is evidence of a contaminant release from the
landfill that presents a significant threat to human health or
the environment, action to mitigate the threat will be
required of the owner or operator of the facility.

2. Minimum post-closure care requirements
Post-closure care shall be in accordance with the

post-closure permit and must consist of at least the

following:
a. Maintaining the integrity and effectiveness of

the capping system, including making repairs as necessary to
correct the effects of settling, subsidence, erosion, or other
events, and preventing run-on and run-off from eroding or
otherwise damaging the cap.

b. Reseeding the cover if insufficient vegetation
exists to stabilize the surface.   

c. Maintaining and operating the leachate
collection and treatment systems until the Department
determines that the leachate no longer poses a threat to
human health or the environment.  The permittee shall
submit leachate quantity and quality data to the Department
for those parameters and at such frequencies as specified by
the Department.

d. Maintaining and operating the ground water
monitoring system in accordance with Section 5.G.  The
permittee shall submit ground water quality data as specified
by the Department.

e. Maintaining and monitoring the gas control
and/or recovery system in accordance with Section 5.E and
the closure plan.  The permittee shall submit gas data as
specified by the Department.

f. Maintaining and monitoring the surface water
management system in accordance with Section 5.F.

3. Prohibitions
 a. Standing water shall not be allowed on the
closed landfill.

b. Open burning shall not be allowed on the
closed landfill.

c. Unless approved in advance by the
Department, no activity shall be conducted on a closed
landfill.

d. Access to the closed landfill shall be limited to
those persons who are engaging in activities which are
compatible with the intended post-closure use of the site.

4. Post-closure land use
The owner or operator shall implement the

post-closure land use plan approved by the Department.
5. Notice in deed to property

a. The owner of the property on which a sanitary
landfill is located must record a notation on the deed to the
facility property, or on some other instrument that is
normally examined during title search, that will in perpetuity
notify any potential purchaser of the property that:

1. The land has been used as a solid waste
disposal site, and

2.  The use of the land is restricted under this
regulation.

b. Included with the notation shall be a map or
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description clearly specifying the area that was used for
disposal.

SECTION 6:  INDUSTRIAL LANDFILLS

(NOTE: This section applies to those landfills that dispose of
only industrial and [and/or] dry waste.)

A. SITING
1. Industrial landfill facilities shall be located only in

areas where the potential for degradation of the quality of
air, land, and water is minimal.

2. All industrial landfill facilities shall be constructed
to at least minimum design requirements as contained in
Section 6., Subsection B.  More stringent designs will be
required where deemed necessary by the Department for the
protection of ground water resources.

3. No new cell of an industrial landfill shall be located
in an area such that solid waste would at any time be
deposited:

a. Within the 100 year flood plain. 
b.  Within 200 feet of any state or federal wetland.

In an area that causes or contributes [may cause or
contribute] to the degradation of [any state or federally
regulated] wetlands unless the owner or operator can
demonstrate [to the satisfaction of the appropriate
wetlands regulatory agency] that:

(1) there is no practical alternative to the
proposed cell; [impact to any regulated wetlands on the
site, or]

(2) the landfill has been designed to minimize
impacts on any wetlands; and

[(2) any impact will be mitigated as
required.]

(3) mitigation is done, to the satisfaction of the
Department, to compensate for any destroyed or degraded
wetlands.

c. Within 200 feet of any perennial stream. In an
area that causes or contributes to the degradation of any
perennial stream unless the owner or operator can
demonstrate that:

(1) there is no practical alternative to the
proposed cell;

(2) the landfill has been designed to minimize
impacts on any perennial streams; and

(3) mitigation is done, to the satisfaction of the
Department, to compensate for any destroyed or degraded
perennial streams.

d [c].Within one mile of any state or federal
wildlife refuge, wildlife area, or park, unless specifically

exempted from this requirement by the Department.
e [d].So as to be in conflict with any locally

adopted land use plan or zoning requirement.
 f. Within [e.Within] the wellhead protection area of
a public water supply well or well field.

g [f]. In areas where valuable aquifers would be
threatened by contaminant releases, unless viable
alternatives have been dismissed and stringent design
measures have been incorporated to minimize the possibility
and magnitude of releases.

h [g]. Within 200 feet of the facility boundary
unless otherwise approved by the Department.

i [h]. In an area that is environmentally unique or
valuable.

B. DESIGN
1. General

Industrial landfills shall be planned and designed by
professional engineers registered in Delaware.  Planning and
design of these facilities shall be consistent with this
regulation and based on empirically derived data and state of
the art technology. 

2. Minimum design requirements
All industrial landfills shall be designed to include

at least the following:
a. A setback area, including a buffer zone with

appropriate screening, if deemed necessary by the
Department. 

b. A liner that meets the requirements of Section
6.C.

c.  A leachate collection and disposal Leachate
collection, treatment and disposal, and monitoring systems
that meets [meet] the requirements of Section 6.D.

d. A gas control system, if deemed necessary by
the Department.  This system shall meet the requirements of
Section 6.E.

e. A surface water management system that meets
the requirements of Section 6.F.

f. A ground water monitoring system that meets
the requirements of Section 6.G.

g. A capping system that meets the requirements
of Section 6.H.

C. LINER
1. General provisions

a. An impermeable liner shall be provided at all
industrial landfills to restrict the migration of leachate from
the landfill and to prevent contamination of the underlying
ground water.  

b. The Department reserves the right to set a more
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stringent liner requirement when it determines that a
composite single liner is not sufficient to protect human
health and the environment.

c. The bottom of the liner (of the secondary liner,
in a double liner system) shall be at least five (5) feet above
the seasonal high water table, as measured in the uppermost
aquifer beneath the landfill.  This [5-foot] requirement may
be reduced by the Department if a more stringent liner
system is used. 

d. All liners shall be prepared, constructed, and
installed in accordance with a quality assurance plan
included in the engineering report [(Section 4.B.1.a (4)] and
approved by the Department.  For synthetic liners, the plan
shall incorporate the manufacturer's recommendations.
Written verification of liner integrity shall be submitted to
the Department before commencement of waste disposal
operations.

e. Qualifications of the construction quality
assurance staff (CQA) and the geosynthetics installer,
including master seamers, on-site supervisor, and
construction quality control (CQC) personnel, shall be
submitted to the Department for review prior to their
performing these duties on site.

f. All conformance and destructive samples taken
as part of the construction quality assurance plan shall be
tested at an independent laboratory which is accredited by
the Geosynthetics Institute’s Laboratory Accreditation
Program (by applicable test method) or other accreditation
program acceptable to the Department.

2. Liner characteristics
a. Composite Single synthetic liner

A composite single synthetic liner must have,
as a minimum:

(1) A primary (upper) liner which meets the
following:

(a) Be Is at least 45 mils thick.
(b) Be Is constructed of materials that

have appropriate chemical properties and sufficient strength
and thickness to prevent failure due to physical contact with
the leachate to which it is exposed, climatic conditions, the
stresses of installation, and the stresses of daily operation. 

(c) Be Is made of synthetic material that
meets minimum requirements of  the most recent edition of
the National Sanitation Foundation's publication, "Standard
Number 54[-1993], Flexible Membrane Liners" [for
membrane materials covered by this standard, or of
other materials of equal or better performance as
approved by the Department].

(d) Be Is chemically resistant to the waste
and leachate managed at the facility. The EPA Test Method

9090 shall be performed using a solid waste leachate (a
synthetic leachate mix approved by the Department may be
substituted if existing leachate is not available).  The
specified physical parameters shall be tested before and after
liner exposure.  Any significant change in test properties
shall be considered to be indicative of incompatibility.

(e) Be Is compounded from first quality
virgin materials.  No reground or reprocessed materials
containing encapsulated scrim shall be used in the
manufacturing of the liner.

(f) Be Is free of pinholes, blisters, holes,
and contaminants, which include, but are not limited to,
wood, paper, metal and non-dispersed ingredients.

(2) A secondary (lower) liner composed of:
(a) Compacted clay at least two feet thick

with a hydraulic conductivity no greater than 1 x 10-7 cm/
sec, or

(b) An equivalent material acceptable to
the Department.

b. Natural liner
(1) Use of natural material for liners is

restricted to those areas where: 
(a) Underlying ground water is not used

and is not reasonably expected to be used for water supplies,
and 

(b) The landfill subbase is subject to
compaction and settlement such that a synthetic membrane
would not be feasible.   

(2) A natural liner must meet the following
requirements as a minimum:

(a) It shall consist of compacted clay or
equivalent material having a hydraulic conductivity no

greater than 1 x 10-7 cm/sec.  
(b) The material shall be at least five (5)

feet thick, and thicker if necessary to prevent any leachate
from migrating through the liner at any time during the
active life and through the post-closure care period of the
facility.  

(c) The material proposed for use shall be
tested by ASTM or equivalent methods for the following:

Grain size
Classification
Compaction
Specific gravity
Hydraulic conductivity
Porosity
pH
Cation exchange capacity
Pinhole test (if required)
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Mineralogy (if required)
All data shall be submitted to the

Department prior to construction.
(d) Testing of the saturated hydraulic

conductivity and the effect of leachate on soil hydraulic
conductivity shall be performed in accordance with test
methods given in the most recent edition of EPA publication
SW-846, ASTM test procedures, or other tests approved by
the Department. 

(e) If on-site soils are to be used as a
natural liner, the uppermost five (5) feet of soil shall be
excavated and recompacted to ensure homogeneity of the
liner, provided, however, that with respect to dredge spoil
soils, the excavation and recompaction requirement shall not
apply if the applicant can demonstrate that the dredge spoil
soils have acceptable characteristics as indicated above.

c. Double liner system
A double liner system shall meet the following

requirements:
(1) It shall consist of two single liners

separated by a drainage layer containing a leak detection
system.

(2) The primary (top) liner shall be a synthetic
liner which is at least 30 mils thick and which meets the
requirements of Section 6.C.2.a.(1)(b) - (f).(2) - (6).

(3) The secondary (bottom) liner may be
either synthetic or natural.  If synthetic, it must be at least 30
mils thick and must meet the requirements of Section 6.C.2.a
(1)(b) - (f).(2)-(6).  If natural, it must meet the requirements
of Section 6.C.2.b.

(4) The drainage layer separating the two
liners shall consist of at least 12 inches of soil having a

hydraulic conductivity greater than 1 x 10-2 1 x 10-3 cm/sec
based on laboratory and field testing.

Alternate material may be used for the drainage
layer with prior written approval of the Department. 

(5) The leak detection system shall be capable
of detecting and intercepting liquid within the drainage layer
and conveying the liquid to a collection sump or monitoring
point where the quantity of flow can be measured and the
liquid can be sampled.  The operator or designer shall
calculate the Action Leakage Rate.  The proposed Action
Leakage Rate and a response plan if the Action Leakage
Rate is exceeded shall be submitted to the Department for
approval before construction of the liner is permitted.  The
system shall be designed to operate without clogging
through the post-closure care period of the facility.

(6) The upper synthetic liner membrane shall
be underlain by either a geosynthetic clay or 2-feet of natural

material with a permeability no greater than 10-7 cm/sec.
Alternate liner designs may be used with prior

written approval of the Department. 
3. Liner construction 

a. Construction/installation of  single synthetic
[composite] liner

(1) At least 15 working days prior to
installation of the liner, the owner or operator shall notify the
Department of the installation date.

(2) The liner shall be installed upon a subbase
which meets the following requirements: 

(a) It shall be capable of supporting the
loads and withstanding the stresses that will be imposed on it
through the active life and post-closure care period of the
facility and of resisting the pressure gradient above and
below the liner caused by settlement, compression, or uplift.

(b) It shall have a smooth surface that is
free of all rocks, stones, roots, sharp objects, or debris of any
kind.

(c) It shall be certified in writing by the
liner installer as an acceptable subbase for the liner.  Written
certification of acceptability shall be submitted to the
Department prior to installation of the liner. However,
submittal of written acceptance may proceed incrementally
according to installation schedule.

(3) The minimum post-loading slopes of the
liner shall [be  either be:]

(a) two (2) percent on controlling slopes
and one-half (0.5) percent on remaining slopes[, OR

(b) the controlling and remaining slopes
shall be designed to prevent the head on the liner, excluding
sump areas, from exceeding a depth of twelve (12) inches
including post settlement conditions.]

(4) The landfill shall be designed to minimize
penetrations through the liner.  If a penetration is essential, a
liquid-tight seal must be accomplished between the
penetrating structure and the synthetic membrane.
Compaction of areas adjacent to the penetrating structure
shall be to the same density as the surrounding soil to
minimize differential settlement.  Sharp edges on the
penetrating structure must not come in contact with the
synthetic material.

(5) Bridging or stressed conditions in the liner
shall be avoided with proper slack allowances for shrinkage
of the liner during installation and before the placement of a
protective soil layer.

(6) Synthetic liners shall have factory and
field seams that equal or exceed the strength requirements
defined by  the [most recent edition of the] National
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Sanitation Foundation's "Standard Number 54[-1993]" for
that liner material.  All seams must be visually inspected and
tested along their entire length for seam continuity using
suitable nondestructive techniques.  Seams shall also be
tested for strength, at a frequency specified in the quality
assurance plan. In addition, field seams shall meet the
following requirements:

(a) Field seaming shall provide a dry
sealing surface.

(b) Seaming shall not be done when wind
conditions prevail.

(c) Seams shall be made and bonded in
accordance with the supplier's recommended procedures.  

(7) Proper equipment shall be used in placing
drainage material over the synthetic liner to avoid stress.

(8) The synthetic membrane shall be protected
from the waste by at least two (2) feet of drainage material
incorporating the leachate collection system.

[(9) The synthetic membrane must be
underlain by a secondary liner as described in Section
6.C.2.a(2).]

b. Construction of natural liner
(1) All lenses, cracks, channels, root holes, or

other structural nonuniformities that can increase the

saturated hydraulic conductivity above 1 x 10-7 cm/sec shall
be removed.

(2) Natural liners shall be constructed in lifts
not exceeding six (6) inches after compaction to maximize
the effectiveness of the compaction throughout the lift
thickness.  Each lift shall be properly interfaced by
scarification between lifts to ensure the bonding. 

(3) Clods shall be broken up and the material
shall be homogenized before compaction of each lift using
mixing devices such as pug mills or rotary tillers.  

(4) The maximum slope of the sidewalls shall
not be so great as to preclude effective compaction.

c. Construction/installation of double liner
(1) The secondary liner shall be constructed in

accordance with Section 6.C.3.b (if it is a natural liner) or
Section 6.C.3.a.(1)-(7) (if it is synthetic).

(2) The primary liner shall be constructed in
accordance with Section 6.C.3.a.(1) and (3)-(8).

D. LEACHATE COLLECTION, TREATMENT,
DISPOSAL, AND MONITORING

1. General provisions
a. All industrial landfills shall be designed and

constructed to include a leachate collection system, a
leachate treatment and disposal system, and a leachate

monitoring system.
b. The leachate systems shall be constructed,

installed, and maintained in accordance with the
Department-approved quality assurance plan.

c. The owner or operator shall keep and maintain
documentation for the quality assurance procedures through
the post-closure care period of the facility. 

2. Leachate collection
a. Minimum design specifications

(1) The leachate collection system shall be
designed to operate without clogging through the
post-closure care period of the facility.

(2) All elements of the system (pipes, sumps,
pumps, etc.) shall be sized according to water balance
calculations and shall be capable of handling peak flows.

(3) Collection pipes shall be sized and spaced
to efficiently remove leachate from the bottom of the waste
and the side walls of the cell.  The capacity of the mains shall
be at least equal to the sum of the capacities of the laterals.

(4) The pipes shall be designed to withstand
the weight, stresses, and disturbances from the overlying
wastes, waste cover materials, equipment operation, and
vehicular traffic.

(5) The collection pipes shall be designed to
drain by gravity to a sump system.  Sumps must function
automatically and shall contain a conveyance system for the
removal of leachate. 

(6) Manholes or cleanout risers shall be
located along the perimeter of the leachate collection system.
The number and spacing of the manholes shall be sufficient
to insure proper maintenance of the system by water jet
flushing or an equivalent method.

(7) Innovative leachate collection systems
incorporating alternative designs may be used, after approval
by the Department, if they are shown to be equivalent to or
more effective than the specified design.

[(8) The leachate collection system must be
designed to prevent the leachate head on the liner from
exceeding a depth of 12 inches.]

b. Construction standards
(1) The leachate collection system shall be

installed immediately above an impermeable liner and at the
bottom of a drainage layer.  The drainage layer shall be at
least 12 inches thick with a hydraulic conductivity not less

than 1x10-2 1x10-3 cm/sec and a minimum post-loading
controlling slope of two (2) percent.

Alternate materials may be used for the
drainage layer, with prior written approval of the
Department.
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(2) The following tests shall be performed on
the soil proposed for use in the drainage layer, and all data
shall be submitted to the Department prior to construction of
the drainage layer.  These tests shall be performed in
accordance with current ASTM, AASHTO, or equivalent
methods.

Classification
Porosity
Relative density or compaction
Specific gravity
Hydraulic conductivity
(3) The leachate collection system and

manholes or cleanout risers shall be constructed of materials
that can withstand the chemical attack that results from
leachates.

c. Operational procedures 
(1) The leachate collection system shall

operate automatically whenever leachate is present in the
sump to remove accumulated leachate. 

(2) Inspections shall be conducted weekly to
verify proper functioning of the leachate collection system
and to detect the presence of leachate in the removal sump.
The owner or operator shall keep records on the system to
provide sufficient information that the leachate collection
system is functional and operating properly. The amount of
leachate collected from each cell shall be recorded on a
weekly basis.

(3) Collection lines shall be cleaned according
to a Department-approved scheduled maintenance program
and more frequently if required.

3. Leachate treatment and disposal
a. The leachate treatment and disposal system

shall be designed in accordance with one of the following
options:

(1) Complete treatment on-site with or
without direct discharge to surface water

(2) Pretreatment on-site with discharge to an
off-site treatment works for final treatment 

(3) Storage on-site with discharge to an
off-site treatment works for complete treatment

(4) Direct discharge to an off-site treatment
works

(5) Pretreatment on site with discharge on site.
The permittee must maintain all necessary permits

and approvals for leachate storage and discharge activities.
b. Leachate storage prior to treatment shall be

within tanks constructed and installed in accordance with the
following standards: 

(1) The tank shall be placed above ground.
(2) The storage tank shall be designed in

accordance with American Petroleum Institute (API),
Underwriters Laboratory (UL), or an equivalent standard
appropriate to the material being used, and shall be
constructed of or lined with material which has a
demonstrated chemical resistance to the leachate.

(3) The storage tank area shall have a liner
capable of preventing any leachate which may escape from
the tank from coming into contact with the underlying soil.

(4) The storage tank area shall be surrounded
by a berm, and the bermed area shall have a capacity at least
ten percent greater than the capacity of the tank.

(5) All storage tanks shall be equipped with a
venting system.

(6) All storage tanks shall be equipped with a
high liquid level alarm or warning device. The alarm system
shall be wired to the location where assistance will be
available to respond to the emergency.

c. On-site complete treatment or pretreatment
facilities shall be designed and constructed in accordance
with the following:

(1) On-site treatment units shall be designed
based on the results of a treatability study, the results of the
operations of a pilot plant, or written information
documenting the performance of an equivalent leachate
treatment system.

(2) On-site treatment units shall be designed
and constructed by staging of the units to allow for on-line
modification of the treatment system to account for
variability of the leachate quality and quantity.

d. For all leachate discharges planned for publicly
owned treatment works (POTW), the owner or operator of
the landfill shall notify the receiving POTW of intent to
discharge leachate into the collection system and shall
provide the POTW with analysis of the leachate as required
by the POTW. 

e. All leachate treatment and disposal systems
shall be designed and constructed to control odors.

f. Residuals from the on-site treatment and
disposal systems shall be sampled and analyzed for
hazardous waste characteristics in accordance with
Delaware's Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

g. Recirculation of leachate [will not be allowed
at industrial landfills] [may be allowed, subject to
approval by the Department, to accelerate decomposition
of the waste.  Recirculation will be allowed only in areas
constructed with a composite liner system or a double
liner system.  The method of recirculation must be
approved by the Department in advance and annually so
long as the recirculation continues.  Records of leachate
collected and recirculated must be kept and reported and
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any resultant problems reported to the Department and
remedied as soon as practicable and included in the
annual report].  

4. Leachate monitoring
a. The leachate monitoring system shall be

capable of measuring the quantity of the flow, [preventing
the leachate head on the liner from exceeding a depth of
12 inches,] and sampling the leachate from each landfill cell.
The volume of leachate collected from each cell shall be
determined at least monthly and reported quarterly.  The
leachate monitoring system shall be capable of measuring
the flow and sampling the leachate.

b. Leachate monitoring of the influent and
effluent of the treatment and disposal system shall be
performed according to a Department-approved plan which
includes quality control and quality assurance procedures.

c. Samples of leachate effluent and influent shall
be analyzed as specified by the Department. The parameters
to be analyzed will depend on the characteristics of the
waste. 

d. Leachate monitoring results shall be submitted
to the Department as required.

e. For a double liner system, if the Action
Leakage Rate of the leak detection system is exceeded, the
owner or operator of the landfill shall notify the Department
within five (5) working days.  The owner or operator shall
also sample and analyze the liquid in the leak detection
system for parameters required by the Department. if liquid
is discovered within the leak detection system, the owner or
operator of the landfill shall notify the Department within
five (5) working days of the discovery.

E. GAS CONTROL
l. General provisions

a. Gas control systems shall be installed at
industrial landfills where the materials landfilled would be
expected to produce gas through biological activity or
reaction. 

b. The gas control system shall be designed and
constructed to:

(1) Evacuate gas from within the waste to
prevent the accumulation of gas on-site or off-site,

(2) Prevent and control damage to vegetation,
(3) Prevent odors from the facility being

detectable at the facility property line in sufficient quantities
to cause or create a condition of air pollution.  Control
malodorous gaseous emissions to the extent that there is no
perceivable landfill odor at the property boundary

c. The concentration of landfill gas in facility
structures (except gas recovery system components) and at

the facility boundary shall not exceed 25% of the lower
explosive limit.

2. Design and construction standards
a. The owner or operator of an industrial landfill

shall consider both active and passive gas control systems
and shall provide an evaluation of the proposed system for
Department approval.

b. The owner or operator shall perform an
analysis to establish the required spacing of gas control vents
to provide an effective system. 

c. The gas control system shall be designed to
evacuate gas from all levels within the waste.

d. The system shall not interfere with or cause
failure of the liner or leachate systems.

3. Monitoring
a. A sufficient number of gas monitoring wells

shall be installed to evaluate gas production rates in the
landfill.

b. The owner or operator shall sample the gas
monitoring wells and provide analytical results as required
by conditions specified in the facility permit.

c. At landfills utilizing natural liners, gas
monitoring probes must be installed in the soil outside the
lined area to evaluate any lateral migration of landfill gas.

d. Emissions from active and passive gas control
systems may require a permit from the Air Resources
Section of the Division of Air and Waste Management.

F. SURFACE WATER MANAGEMENT
1. General provision
An owner or operator of an industrial landfill shall

design, construct, and maintain a surface water management
system to:

a. Prevent erosion of the waste and cover,
b. Prevent the collection of standing water, and
c. Minimize surface water run-off onto and into

the waste.
2. Design requirements

a. The surface water management system shall be
designed to control, at a minimum, the run-off from the
discharge of a 2-hour, 10-year storm.

b. The system shall be designed to include:
(1) Detention basins to provide temporary

storage of the expected run-off from the design storm with
sufficient reserve capacity to contain accumulated
precipitation and sediment prior to discharge.    
 (2) Diversion structures designed to prevent
run-off generated within the active cells from moving off site
of the lined areas.  

3. Channeling of run-off
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a. Run-off from the active cell(s) must be
channeled to the leachate treatment and disposal system. 

b. Run-off from closed cells will be directed to
the detention basins or other approved sedimentation control
systems.  

4. Discharge
Discharge from the detention basins shall be in

compliance with all applicable federal and state regulations.

G. GROUND WATER MONITORING AND
CORRECTIVE ACTION

1. General provision
Owners or operators of all industrial landfill

facilities shall maintain and operate a ground water
monitoring program to evaluate facility impact upon ground
water quality.

2. Design and construction of monitoring system 
a. The ground water monitoring system shall be

designed by a Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.
b. The system shall consist of a sufficient number

of wells, installed at appropriate locations and depths, to
define the ground water flow system and shall be developed
in accordance with Departmental requirements to yield
ground water samples that are representative of the aquifer
water quality.

c. The number, spacing, location, depth, and
screened interval of the monitoring wells shall be approved
by the Department prior to installation.

d. All monitoring wells shall be constructed in
accordance with the Regulations Governing the Construction
of Water Wells and any subsequently approved guidelines.
Variation from the existing guidelines must be approved by
the Department in writing prior to construction. 

3. Ground water sampling  
a. The permittee shall submit a ground water

sampling plan to the Department at the time of permit
application.  The sampling plan must include procedures and
techniques for:

(1) Sample collection, preservation, and
transport:

(a) Samples will be collected at low flow
rates (<1 l/min) to minimize turbidity of the samples.

(b) Samples will be field filtered only
when turbidity exceeds 10 NTU. Repeated sampling of any
well where turbidity exceeds 10 NTU is not permitted
without Department approval. Approval will only be granted
in cases where turbidity cannot be controlled by careful well
construction, development and sampling.

(2) Analytical procedures and quality
assurance, and

(3) Chain of custody control.
b. Sample constituents

(1) The parameters to be analyzed shall
depend upon the characteristics of the waste and shall be
specified by the Department.       

(2) Test methods used to determine the
parameters of Section 6.G.3.b(1) shall be those described in
the most current legal edition of EPA Publication Number
SW-846, "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste -
Physical/Chemical Methods."  If SW-846 does not contain
test methods for a required parameter, that parameter shall
be tested according to methods described in the most recent
edition of the EPA publication "Methods of Chemical
Analysis for Water and Wastes" or of Standard Methods for
the Examination of Water and Wastewater.  

c. The Department may observe, and may request
advance notice of, the ground water sampling conducted by
the permittee or his/her designee and may request split
samples for analysis.

d. If the Department determines that the ground
water monitoring data indicate that ground water
contamination has occurred, a remedial action program may
be required.  

4. Reporting
a. All ground water, leachate, and gas monitoring

shall be conducted on a schedule to be determined by the
Department and the results submitted within 60 45 days of
sampling. 

b. An annual hydrogeologic report will be
prepared which shall include: 

(1) Tabulation and graphical presentation of
all leachate flow and quality and ground water quality data
from current and preceding years,

(2) Graphical presentation of leachate flow
and quality and ground water quality data from current and
preceding years as required in the operating permit,

(3) Maps showing ground water flow patterns
at each time of ground water sampling,

(4) A discussion of the ground water
monitoring results, and

(5) Recommendations for future monitoring.
5.  Assessment of Corrective Measures

a. An assessment (re-assessment) of corrective
measures by the owner or operator is required (within 90
days) of confirmation of a contaminant release or an
exceedance of a performance standard. The owner or
operator must perform this assessment which must include:  

(1) Identification of the nature and extent of
the release (which may require construction and sampling of
additional wells, analysis for additional constituents
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including those required for leachate, geophysical surveys
and/or other measures);  

(2) Re-assessment of contaminant fate and
potential contaminant receptors (wells and/or receiving
streams);

(3) Evaluation of feasible corrective measures
to:

(a) Prevent exposure to potentially
harmful levels of contaminants  (exceeding performance
standards);

(b) Reduce, minimize or prevent further
contaminant releases; and

(c) Reduce, minimize or prevent the
offsite migration of contaminants. 

(4) The implementability (and time to
implement) and costs of the feasible alternatives; and

(5) Recommendations for remedial action.
b. The owner or operator must present the results

of the corrective measures assessment, including a proposed
remedy, (with a schedule for initiation and completion) for
public comment at a  public meeting.

6. Selection of Remedy
a. Based on the results of the corrective measures

assessment and public meeting, the owner/operator will
select a remedial action.

b. Remedies must:
(1) Be protective of human health and the

environment; 
(2) Control source(s) of contaminant  releases

so as to reduce or eliminate (to the maximum extent
practicable) further releases of contaminants that pose a
threat to human health or the environment;

(3) Comply with the site performance
standards at the points of compliance (to the extent feasible);
and

(4) Comply with standards for the
management of wastes. 

c. The Department may determine that
remediation of a contaminant release is not necessary if the
permittee can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the
Department (or the Department certifies that it is satisfied)
that the ground water is not currently or reasonably expected
to be a source of drinking water, will not migrate so as to
threaten a source of drinking water or will not cause
violation of surface water quality standards (i.e. does not
represent a significant threat to human health or the
environment).

7. Implementation of Corrective Action
a. Based on the schedule established under

Section 6.G.5.b. for initiation and remediation of remedial

activities, the owner or  operator  must: 
(1) Implement the corrective action remedy;
(2) Take any interim measures necessary to

ensure protection of human health and the environment
(such as replacement of  contaminated  or imminently
threatened water supplies); and

(3) Perform ground water and/or surface
water monitoring to demonstrate the effectiveness of the
remedy including whether or not compliance is achieved
with the performance standards. 

b. If the owner or operator determines, based on
information obtained after implementation of the remedy has
begun or other information that compliance with remediation
objectives (including achievement of performance
standards) cannot be practically achieved with the remedy
selected, the owner or operator must notify the Department
and request authorization to proceed with another feasible
method consistent with the overall objective of the remedy.

c. If the permittee determines that compliance
with remedial action objectives (Section 6.G.7) cannot be
practically achieved, the permittee must notify the
Department and implement alternate methods to control
exposure of humans or the environment to residual
contamination and implement alternative control measures.

d. Remedies selected shall be considered
complete when:

(1) All actions required to implement the
remedy have been achieved; and 

(2) The ground water protection standards or
alternate requirements agreed upon have been achieved for a
period of three years or alternate period approved by the
Department.

e. Upon completion of the remedy, the owner or
operator must notify the Department that a certification of
the remedy has been completed in compliance with the
requirement and placed in the operating records. This
certification must be signed by a Professional Geologist
registered in Delaware. 

f. Upon completion of the remedy, the owner or
operator will continue ground water monitoring as required
by provisions of Section 6.G.3. and approved by the
Department. 

H. CAPPING SYSTEM 
1. Requirement for a capping system

a. Upon closure of the landfill or landfill cell the
permittee shall install a capping system that will control the
emission of gas (if applicable), promote the establishment of
vegetative cover, and minimize infiltration and percolation
of water into, and prevent erosion of, the waste throughout
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the post-closure care period.
b. The capping system shall be in place 180 days

following final waste disposal activity. 
c. The capping system shall extend beyond the

edge of the lined area.
2. Composition of the capping system

The capping system shall consist of at least the
following components:

a. A final grading layer on the waste, consisting
of at least six (6) inches of soil, to attain the final slope and
provide a stable base for subsequent system components.
Daily and intermediate cover may be used for this purpose.

b. An impermeable layer, consisting of at least:
(1) A  20 30 mil geomembrane underlain by a

geotextile, or
(2) 24 inches of clay at a hydraulic

conductivity of 1 x 10-7 cm/sec or depth of equivalent

material having a hydraulic conductivity less than 1 x 10-7

cm/sec, such depth to be determined based on the hydraulic
conductivity of 24 inches of clay at a hydraulic conductivity

of 1 x 10-7 cm/sec.
Alternative materials may be used for the

impermeable layer with prior written approval of the
Department.

c. A final cover consisting of:
(1) Eighteen (18) inches of soil to provide

rooting depth and moisture for plant growth, and
(2) Six (6) inches of topsoil or other material

approved by the Department to support the proposed
vegetation; or

(3) A suitable layer of alternative material or
combination thereof to assure adequate rooting and moisture
retention to support the proposed vegetation.

The permittee shall propose a suitable
vegetation dependent upon the quality and characteristics of
the topsoil and compatible with the intended final use of the
facility. Maintenance schedules and application rates for
fertilizer and mulch shall also be submitted for approval.

3. Final slopes
a. The grades of the final slope shall be

constructed in accordance with the following minimum
standards:    

(1) The final grade of the top slope, after
allowing for settlement and subsidence, shall be designed to
promote run-off;

(2) The final grades of the side slopes shall be,
at a maximum, three horizontal to one vertical (3:1).

b. The top and side slopes shall be maintained to
prevent erosion of the capping system and to insure complete

vegetation cover. 

I. LANDFILL OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE
STANDARDS

1. General
a. Industrial landfills shall be operated so as to

create an aesthetically desirable environment and to preclude
degradation of land, air, surface water, or ground water.

b. Industrial landfills shall be maintained and
operated to conform with the approved Plan of Operation.

2. Details of operation and maintenance 
a. Spreading and compacting
The working face shall be confined to the smallest

practical area, as is consistent with the proper operation of
trucks and equipment.  

The waste shall be spread in layers and compacted
by repeated passes of the compacting equipment to obtain
the degree of compaction specified in the Solid Waste
permit.

b. Cover
Approved cover material shall be applied at a frequency

and thickness specified by the Department.
c. Control of nuisances and hazards

Odor
The operation of the landfill shall not result in odors

associated with solid waste being detected off site. 
Litter

The scattering of refuse and wind-blown litter shall be
controlled by the use of portable fences, natural barriers, or
other suitable methods.  No refuse or litter shall be allowed
to migrate off site.  

Dust, fires
The landfill shall be operated in a manner which

eliminates, to the extent possible, dust problems and fires. 
d. Access 

Access to the site shall be limited to those persons
authorized to use the site for the disposal of solid waste and
to those hours when an attendant is on duty. This section
shall not be construed to limit right of entry by the Secretary
or his duly authorized designee pursuant to 7 Del. Code,
Section 6024.

Access to the site by unauthorized persons shall be
prevented by the use of barriers, fences and gates, or other
suitable means.

e. Salvaging     
Salvage operations shall be so organized that they

will not interfere with the proper disposal of any solid waste.
No salvage operation shall be allowed which creates
unsightliness, nuisances, health hazards, or potential safety
hazards. 
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f. Personnel
Sufficient numbers and types of personnel shall be

available at the site to insure capability for operation in
accordance with these regulations.  

g. Equipment
Adequate numbers and types of equipment

commensurate with the size of the operation shall be
available at the site to insure operation of the landfill in
accordance with the provisions of these regulations and the
plan of operation.  Waste handling equipment shall be
cleaned routinely and maintained in accordance with the
manufacturer's recommendations.

h. Employee health and safety 
Employees at the site shall work under all

appropriate health and safety guidelines established by the
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. 

The owner or operator of the landfill shall provide
suitable shelter, sanitary facilities, and safe drinking water
for personnel at the site.

A reliable telephone or radio communication
system shall be provided for site personnel.

First aid equipment shall be available at the site.
3. Recordkeeping

The following information must be recorded, as it
becomes available, and retained by the owner or operator of
any new or existing industrial landfill until the end of the
post-closure care period of the landfill:

a. Records demonstrating that liners, leachate
control systems, cover, capping system, and all monitoring
systems are constructed or installed in accordance with the
design criteria required in Section 6, Subsections C, D, E, F,
G, and H,

b. Monitoring, testing, or analytical data where
required by Section 6, Subsections D, E, F, G, and H,

c. Volume and/or weight of wastes received
d. A complete list of transporters utilizing the

facility, and
e [d].Any additional records specified by the

Department.
4. Reporting 

The permittee shall submit to the Department on an
annual basis a report summarizing facility operations for the
preceding calendar year.  The report shall describe and
summarize all solid waste disposal, environmental
monitoring, and construction activities conducted within the
year covered by the report. The report shall include, but not
necessarily be limited to, the following:

a. The volume or tonnage of solid waste
landfilled at the facility,

b. The estimated remaining capacity of the

facility, in both tonnage and years,
c. Leachate quantity and quality data as required

in Section 6.D.4, and in the Solid Waste permit,
d. Gas monitoring data as required in Section

6.E.3, and in the Solid Waste permit,
e. An updated estimate of the cost of closure and

post-closure care for the facility, as required in Section
6.J.3.d,

f. Any intentional or accidental deviations from
the approved Plan of Operation, and any unusual situations
encountered during the year,

g. All construction or corrective work conducted
on the site in accordance with approved plans or to achieve
compliance with these regulations[.], and

h. A list of transporters utilizing the facility during
the year covered by the report.

The permittee must also submit any additional
reports specified in the Solid Waste permit.

In addition to paper copies of reports, the
Department may require all or part of any required report to
be submitted on machine-readable media in a format
[mutually] acceptable to the Department [and the
permittee].  With approval of the Department[,] reports
submitted on machine-readable media may be substituted for
paper reports.

5. Prohibitions
a. Open burning of any solid waste is prohibited

within the active portion of the landfill.       b.Scavenging is
prohibited on any landfill site.  

c. No wastes other than those specified in the
permit may be disposed of at the facility.

J. CLOSURE
1. General
The owner or operator of an industrial landfill must

close the completed landfill or landfill cell in a manner that:
a. Minimizes the need for further maintenance,

and 
b. Minimizes the post-closure escape of solid

waste constituents, leachate, and landfill gases to the surface
water, ground water, or atmosphere.

2. Required submittals; notification
a. An owner or operator of a new industrial

landfill must submit a conceptual closure plan for the facility
at the time of initial (i.e., construction) permit application.  

b. At least 180 days prior to the projected date
when wastes will no longer be accepted at the landfill or cell,
the landfill owner or operator shall submit to the Department
written notification of intent to close the facility or cell, a
closure plan, and a closure schedule.
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c. An owner or operator of an industrial landfill
must receive a closure permit before commencing closure of
a completed landfill or landfill cell. At the time of
notification of intent to close, the owner or operator must
also submit a closure schedule and a closure plan or revised
closure plan. 

d c. If the Department determines that the closure
plan and closure schedule are sufficient to ensure closure in
accordance with the performance standards described in
Section 6.J.1, it will  issue a closure permit modify the solid
waste permit to allow closure to take place.

d. The owner or operator shall not commence
closure activities before receiving the necessary
modifications to the solid waste permit.

e. A copy of the closure plan must be maintained
at the facility or at some other location designated by the
owner or operator through the post-closure care period of the
facility.

3. Closure plan contents
The closure plan for an industrial landfill or cell

must include, as a minimum, the following:
a. A description of the methods, procedures, and

processes that will be used to close a landfill and each
individual cell thereof in accordance with the closure
performance standard in Section 6.J.1. , Subsection J.1, a and
b.

b. A description of the capping system required
under Section 6.H.  This shall include a description of the
system design, the type of cover to be used, and a discussion
of how the capping system will achieve the objectives of
Section 6.J.1. [,] Subsection J.1, a and b above. 

c. A description of other activities necessary to
satisfy the closure performance standard, including, but not
limited to, the removal or disposal of all non-landfilled
wastes located on site (e.g., wastes from landfill run-off
collection ponds).

d. An estimate of the cost of closing the facility or
cell and of the cost of post-closure monitoring and
maintenance throughout the post-closure care period.  These
estimates shall be updated yearly and submitted to the
Department as part of the annual report described in Section
6.I.4.  Subsection I.4. 

e. A plan for post-closure care of the facility
sufficient to ensure that the standards described in Section
J.1. Subsection J.1 will be met.  This will include:

(1) A description of the monitoring and
maintenance activities required and the frequency at which
these activities will be performed.

(2) The name, address, and telephone number
of the person or office to contact about the facility during the

post-closure period.
(3) A description of the planned uses of the

property during the post-closure period.
f. A plan for control and/or recovery of landfill

gases, if appropriate.
g. A topographical map of the site showing the

proposed post-closure elevation with reference to mean sea
level.

h. A closure construction quality assurance plan.
4. Minimum closure requirements

a. The permittee shall notify the Department at
least 30 working days prior to commencing closure
activities.  The Department shall inspect the site, and the
permittee shall perform any corrective work which the
Department deems necessary.   

b. Finished portions of the landfill shall receive a
capping system which meets the requirements of Section
6.H.

c. Finished portions of the landfill shall be
planted with appropriate vegetation to promote stabilization
of the cover.  

d. The closure shall be carried out in accordance
with the approved closure plan and according to the
approved closure schedule. Any significant deviations from
the plan or the schedule must be approved by the Department
prior to being initiated. 

e. Upon closure of an entire landfill, all
non-landfilled wastes located on site shall be removed or
disposed of in a manner approved by the Department.  

f. After closure of the facility, the site shall be
returned to an acceptable appearance consistent with the
surrounding area and the intended use of the land.

g. When closure of the landfill or landfill cell is
completed, the owner or operator shall submit a final report
for the Department’s approval.  The final report shall certify
that the closure of the landfill or cell was completed in
accordance with the closure plan to include the construction
quality assurance plan, construction and material
specifications, and design drawings.  The final report shall
be certified correct by the construction quality assurance
engineer, who must be a Professional Engineer registered in
Delaware.  The landfill or cell will not be considered closed
until the Department has provided its written notification
that the closure construction and the final report meet the
requirements of the solid waste permit and these regulations.
must submit to the Department certification by a
professional engineer registered in Delaware that the landfill
or cell has been closed in accordance with the specifications
in the approved closure plan.  The Department will inspect
the cell or facility and will either:
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(1) Issue a letter of approval to certify that the
site has been closed in accordance with the  closure solid
waste permit, the closure plan, and all applicable regulations;
or

(2) Determine that the site is not in
compliance with the  closure solid waste permit, the closure
plan, or applicable regulations; identify the areas of
deficiency; and require the owner or operator to take the
necessary actions to bring the site into compliance.

h. Facilities entering the post-closure period will
be issued a post-closure permit based upon the approved
post-closure plan, monitoring requirements, gas and leachate
control, maintenance and corrective actions (if required).

K. POST-CLOSURE CARE
1. General

a. The owner or operator of an industrial landfill
must continue post-closure care for 30 years after the
completion of closure.  

b. At any time during the post-closure care period
the Department may remove one or more of the post-closure
care requirements described in Section 6, Subsection K.2
below if it determines that the requirement(s) is/are no
longer necessary for the protection of human health and the
environment.

c. At any time after the first five years of the
post-closure care period, the Department may reduce the
length of the post-closure care period or terminate
post-closure care if it determines that such care is no longer
necessary.

d. Prior to the time that the post-closure care
period is due to expire, the Department may extend the
post-closure care period if it determines that the extended
period is necessary to protect human health and the
environment.

e. If at any time during the post-closure care
period there is evidence of a contaminant release from the
landfill that presents a significant threat to human health or
the environment, action to mitigate the threat will be
required of the owner or operator of the facility. 

2. Minimum post-closure care requirements
Post-closure care shall be in accordance with the

post-closure permit and shall must consist of at least the
following:

a. Maintaining the integrity and effectiveness of
the capping system, including making repairs as necessary to
correct the effects of settling, subsidence, erosion, or other
events, and preventing run-on and run-off from eroding or
otherwise damaging the cap.

b. Reseeding the cover if insufficient vegetation

exists to stabilize the surface.   
c. Maintaining and operating the leachate

collection and treatment systems until the Department
determines that the leachate no longer poses a threat to
human health or the environment.  The permittee shall
submit leachate quantity and quality data to the Department
for those parameters and at such frequencies as specified by
the Department.

d. Maintaining and operating the ground water
monitoring system in accordance with Section 6.G.  The
permittee shall submit ground water quality data as specified
by the Department.

e. Maintaining and monitoring the gas control
system in accordance with Section 6.E and the closure plan.
The permittee shall submit gas data as specified by the
Department.

f. Maintaining and monitoring the surface water
management system in accordance with Section 6.F. 

 3. Prohibitions
 a. Standing water shall not be allowed on the
closed landfill.

b. Open burning shall not be allowed on the
closed landfill.

c. Unless approved in advance by the
Department, no activity shall be conducted on a closed
landfill which will disturb the integrity of the capping
system, liner, containment system, or monitoring systems.

d. Access to the closed landfill shall be limited to
those persons who are engaging in activities which are
compatible with the intended post-closure use of the site.

4. Post-closure land use
The owner or operator shall implement the

post-closure land use plan approved by the Department.
5. Notice in deed to property

a. The owner of the property on which an
industrial landfill is located must record a notation on the
deed to the facility property, or on some other instrument
that is normally examined during title search, that will in
perpetuity notify any potential purchaser of the property that:

1. The land has been used as an industrial
waste disposal site, and

2. The use of the land is restricted under this
regulation.

b. Included with the notation shall be a map or
description clearly specifying the area that was used for
disposal.

SECTION 7:  TRANSPORTERS

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS (applicable to all persons
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transporting solid waste in Delaware)
1. No person shall transport solid waste, without first

having obtained a permit from the Department, unless
specifically exempted by these regulations.

[1 2] Any vehicle used to transport solid waste shall be
so constructed or loaded as to prevent its contents from
dropping, sifting, leaking, or otherwise escaping therefrom,
in accordance with Title 21, Section 4371, Delaware Code.

 [2 3].The transporter will be responsible for all costs of
cleaning up a discharge of solid waste from the vehicle.

 [3 4].Compliance with these regulations does not
release a transporter from the obligation of complying with
any other applicable laws, regulations or ordinances.

a. Additional waste transporter regulations may
apply to transporters of special wastes, e.g. infectious waste.
Refer to Section 11 of these Regulations, SPECIAL
WASTES MANAGEMENT.

[4 5].Each vehicle engaged in the used to transport of
solid waste and required to have a transporter's permit must
carry a copy of the permit in the vehicle.  The permit must be
presented upon request to any law enforcement officer or
any representative of the Department. 

B. PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO TRANSPORTERS
(EXCEPT FOR TRANSPORTERS OF ONLY DRY
WASTE) REQUIRED TO HAVE A SOLID WASTE
TRANSPORTER'S PERMIT

1. Applicability
Section 7.B This Subsection (7.B) applies to all

transportation activities in Delaware except the following:
a. Transportation of source separated materials

for reuse or recycling, provided that the materials remain
separate throughout the journey and are not recombined for
transport.

b. Transportation of household waste generated in
a Delaware residence and transported by the generator of the
household waste.  (This exclusion shall not apply to small
quantity infectious waste generators as defined in Section 11
Part 1).

c. On-site transportation of solid waste (i.e., the
point of generation and the point of treatment or disposal are
on the same site and the vehicle transporting the solid waste
will not at any time leave the site).

d. Transportation of solid waste in a vehicle
having a gross vehicle weight less than or equal to 26,000
(twenty-six thousand) pounds. (This exclusion shall not
apply to the transportation of infectious waste,
[petroleum-hydrocarbon contaminated soils,] or of waste
containing asbestos.)

e. Transportation of dry waste only (this activity

is subject to the provisions of Subsection 7.C).
f. Transportation of solid waste generated on a

farm and transported by the generator of the waste (this
exclusion shall not apply to the transportation of infectious
waste, petroleum-hydrocarbon contaminated soils, or of
waste containing asbestos). 

2. Instruction and Training
All drivers of solid waste transportation vehicles,

and all of the transporter's employees who may handle solid
waste subject to these regulations, shall receive instruction in
how to perform transportation duties in a way that ensures
compliance with all applicable regulations and requirements.
The instruction shall include, but not necessarily be limited
to, the following:

a. Knowledge of current DOT Motor Carrier
Safety Regulations.

b. Safe vehicle operations to avoid creating
hazards to human health, safety, welfare, or the environment.

c. Knowledge of proper handling procedures for
the type of solid waste being transported.

d. Familiarity with the approved accidental
discharge containment plan.

e. Familiarity with the conditions of the solid
waste transporter's permit.

It shall be the responsibility of the transporter to
ensure that all drivers and other employees that may handle
solid waste receive instruction as described above as
frequently as necessary to maintain a level of knowledge that
will ensure safe operation of the vehicle during
transportation of the solid waste and proper management of
an accidental discharge.  A description of the driver training
program shall be included with the permit application.

3. Vehicle Requirements
a. All vehicles used in the transportation of solid

waste shall be operated and maintained so as to be in
compliance with all state and federal regulations and not
present a hazard to human health or the environment through
unsafe vehicle conditions.  The permittee is responsible for
the operation and maintenance of all vehicles including
leased vehicles operated under his/her permit.

b. All vehicles must carry safety and emergency
equipment in accordance with applicable DOT regulations to
ensure protection of the public and the environment.

c. All vehicles must carry spill containment
materials appropriate to the type of solid waste being
transported.

d. Each vehicle engaged in the transportation of
solid waste must be fully enclosed or covered to prevent the
discharge or release of solid waste to the environment.

e. The transporter's name shall be prominently
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displayed on both sides of the vehicle in figures at least three
inches high and of a color that contrasts with the color of the
vehicle.

f. The transporter's permit number shall be
prominently displayed on both sides and the rear of the
vehicle in figures at least three inches high and of a color that
contrasts with the color of the vehicle.

4. Proof of Financial Responsibility
All persons that are subject to Section 7.B of these

regulations and that were permitted to transport solid waste
in Delaware before the adoption of this requirement shall be
subject to the requirement upon renewal of their permit, or
60 days after adoption of this requirement, whichever is
later.

Proof of financial responsibility for sudden and
accidental discharges shall be maintained by the transporter.
This financial responsibility may be established by any one
or a combination of the following:

a. Automobile liability insurance
(1) For-hire carriers in interstate commerce

shall at all times maintain insurance coverage that is in
compliance with 49 CFR Part 387 and shall submit a
Certificate of Insurance with MCS-90 endorsement
demonstrating compliance with this regulation.  

(2) Transporters who transport infectious
waste, or who transport bulk liquid or bulk gaseous
industrial waste, shall at all times maintain commercial
automobile liability insurance with a combined single limit
of at least $750,000 with MCS-90 endorsement and shall
submit a Certificate of Insurance with MCS-90 endorsement
demonstrating compliance with this regulation.  

(3) All other carriers shall at all times
maintain commercial automobile liability insurance with a
combined single limit of at least $350,000, and shall submit
a Certificate of Insurance demonstrating compliance with
this regulation. 

b. Self insurance equal to or exceeding the above
automobile liability insurance limits, and approved by the
Department. 

c. Other proof of financial responsibility
approved by the Department. 

5. Management of Accidental Discharges
a. All transporters of applicants for a permit to

transport solid waste shall submit to the Department a plan
for the prevention, control, and cleanup of accidental
discharges of the solid waste.  No permit will be issued to a
transporter until such a plan has been submitted to and
approved by the Department.

b. A copy of the plan shall be maintained in each
vehicle engaged in the transportation of solid waste.

c. All accidental discharges of solid waste from a
vehicle shall be immediately and completely remediated.  If
the solid waste cannot be immediately and completely
remediated, or if it has the potential to cause damage to the
environment or to public health, the discharge shall be
immediately reported to the Department. (Accidental
discharges of infectious waste are regulated under Section
11, Part 1)

d. The transporter will be responsible for all costs
of remediating a discharge of solid waste from the vehicle.

6. Recordkeeping
The following records must be retained by the

transporter for at least three years:
a. The solid waste transporter's permit.
b. Documentation of the training provided to

drivers.
c. Insurance documents sufficient to demonstrate

compliance with Section 7.B.4 of these regulations. 
d. Records of spills or releases of solid waste that

exceed five (5) pounds or one (1) cubic foot that occur
during the transportation of solid waste in Delaware, and
descriptions of the remedial actions taken.

7. Reporting and Documentation
a. Each transporter that picks up and/or deposits

solid waste in Delaware shall submit to the Department, on a
form prescribed by the Department, an annual report
indicating the following:

(1) Types and weights or volumes of solid
waste transported in, into, or out of the state.

(2) Weight or volume of solid waste delivered
to each destination.

b. Any vehicle transporting solid waste through
Delaware shall carry documentation indicating the state in
which the solid waste was picked up, the date on which it
was picked up, and the state in which it will be deposited.

8. Sub-leases and sub-contractors
Sub-leased, and sub-contracted vehicles may be

included in a transporter permit, under the following
conditions: 

a. The vehicles are listed on the permit
application or subsequent amendments, with owner and
operator of the vehicle identified. 

b. The permittee certifies in writing that all
information provided in the application or subsequent
amendments are applicable to the sub-leased and
sub-contracted vehicles, including but not limited to, driver
training, vehicle requirements, proof of financial
responsibility, management of accidental discharges,
recordkeeping, and reporting and documentation. 

c. The permittee certifies that the sub-leased or
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sub-contracted vehicles will comply with all permit
conditions.  

d. Subcontractors shall carry proof of
subcontractor agreement in the vehicle and must present
proof to any law enforcement officer or representative of the
Department upon request.

C. PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO TRANSPORTERS
OF ONLY DRY WASTE REQUIRED TO HAVE A SOLID
WASTE TRANSPORTER'S PERMIT

1. General
No transporter granted a permit to transport only

dry waste under the requirements of this Subsection (7.C.)
shall transport any solid waste other than dry waste, as
defined in these Regulations, without meeting the additional
requirements for transporting such other solid waste
contained in these Regulations.

2. Applicability
The remainder of this Subsection (7.C) applies to

all transportation activities involving only dry waste in
Delaware except the following:

a. Transportation of dry waste by a solid waste
transporter permittee having a permit issued under
Subsection 7.B of these Regulations.

b. Transportation of source separated materials
for reuse or recycling, provided that the materials remain
separate throughout the journey and are not recombined for
transport.

c. Transportation of dry waste generated in a
Delaware residence and transported by the generator of the
dry waste.  (This exclusion shall not apply to small quantity
infectious waste generators as defined in Section 11, Part 1).

d. On-site transportation of dry waste (i.e., the
point of generation and the point of treatment or disposal are
on the same site and the vehicle transporting the dry waste
will not at any time leave the site).

e. Transportation of dry waste in a vehicle having
a gross vehicle weight less than or equal to 26,000
(twenty-six thousand) pounds.  (This exclusion shall not
apply to the transportation of infectious waste or of waste
containing asbestos.)

3. Vehicle Requirements
a. The transporter's name shall be prominently

displayed on both sides of the vehicle in figures at least three
inches high and of a color that contrasts with the color of the
vehicle.

b. The transporter's permit number shall be
prominently displayed on both sides and the rear of the
vehicle in figures at least three inches high and of a color that
contrasts with the color of the vehicle.

c. All transporters shall at all times maintain
commercial automobile liability insurance with a combined
single limit of at least $350,000, and shall submit a
Certificate of Insurance demonstrating compliance with this
regulation.  All persons that are subject to Section 7.C.3. of
these regulations and that were permitted to transport solid
waste in Delaware before the adoption of this requirement
shall be subject to the requirement upon renewal of their
permit, or 60 days after adoption of this requirement,
whichever is later.

4. Recordkeeping
The following records must be retained by the

transporter for at least three years:
a. The dry waste transporter's permit.
b. The transporter's Annual Report required under

Section 7.C.5.
5. Reporting and Documentation

a. Each transporter that picks up and/or deposits
dry waste in Delaware shall submit to the Department, on a
form prescribed by the Department, an Annual Report
indicating the following:

(1) The total estimated weights or volumes of
dry waste transported in, into, or out of the state during the
year.

(2) The total estimated weight or volume of
dry waste delivered to each destination.

b. Any vehicle transporting dry waste through
Delaware shall carry documentation indicating the state in
which the dry waste was picked up, the date on which it was
picked up, and the state in which it will be deposited.

6. Sub-lease and sub-contractors
Sub-leased, and sub-contracted vehicles may be

included in a transporter permit, under the following
conditions:

a. The vehicles are listed on the permit
application or subsequent amendments, with owner and
operator of the vehicle identified.

b. The permittee certifies in writing that all
information provided in the application or subsequent
amendments are applicable to the sub-leased and
sub-contracted vehicles, including but not limited to, driver
training, vehicle requirements, proof of financial
responsibility, management of accidental discharges,
recordkeeping, and reporting and documentation.

c. The permittee certifies that the sub-leased or
sub-contracted vehicles will comply with all permit
conditions.

d. Subcontractors shall carry proof of
subcontractor agreement in the vehicle, and must present
proof to any law enforcement officer or representative of the
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Department upon request.

SECTION 8:    DRY WASTE DISPOSAL FACILITIES
RESERVED

A. SITING
No new dry waste disposal facility shall be located in an

area such that solid waste would at any time be deposited:
1. Within five (5) feet of the seasonal high water table.
2. Within the 100 year flood plain.
3. Within 200 feet of any state or federal wetland. 
4. Within 200 feet of any perennial stream.
5. Within one mile of any state or federal wildlife

refuge, wildlife area, or park, unless specifically exempted
from this requirement by the Department.

6. So as to be in conflict with any locally adopted land
use plan or zoning requirement.

7. Within the wellhead protection area of a public water
supply well or well field.

8. In an area that is particularly susceptible to
environmental degradation.

B. DESIGN
1. General

a. Dry waste disposal facilities shall be planned and
designed by Professional Engineers registered in Delaware.
Planning and design of these facilities shall be consistent
with this regulation and based on empirically derived data
and state of the art technology.

b. All dry waste disposal facilities shall conform to
the minimum design requirements listed in Section 8.B.2.
More stringent designs will be required where deemed
necessary by the Department for the protection of ground
water resources.

2. Minimum design requirements
All dry waste disposal facilities shall be designed to include
at least the following:

a. A setback area, including a buffer zone with
appropriate screening, if deemed necessary by the
Department.

b. A gas monitoring system that meets the
requirements of Section 8.C.

c. A surface water management system that meets
the requirements of Section 8.D.

d. A ground water monitoring system that meets the
requirements of Section 8.E.

e. Final cover that meets the requirements of
Section 8.F.

C. GAS CONTROL

l. The owner or operator of a dry waste disposal facility
shall monitor the concentration of landfill gas emanating
from the solid waste disposal area and shall sample and
analyze the gas as required by conditions specified in the
facility permit.

2. If at any time the concentration of landfill gas at the
facility boundary or in facility structures is found to exceed
25% of the lower explosive limit, the permittee will be
required to submit to the Department design plans for a gas
control system capable of evacuating gas from within the
waste and preventing the accumulation of gas on site or off
site. The design of the system will be subject to Department
approval. If the Department determines that the
concentration of landfill gas at the site poses a risk to human
health or the environment, the permittee will be required to
install and operate the gas control system.

D. SURFACE WATER MANAGEMENT
1. An owner or operator of a dry waste disposal facility

shall design, construct, and maintain a surface water
management system to:

a. prevent erosion of the waste and cover
b. prevent the collection of standing water, and
c. minimize surface water run-off onto and into the

waste.
2. The surface water management system shall include

such detention basins, diversion structures, and/or other
features as necessary to control, at a minimum, the run-off
from the discharge of a 2 hour, 10 year storm.

E. GROUND WATER MONITORING
1. General provision

Owners or operators of all dry waste disposal facilities shall
maintain and operate a ground water monitoring system to
evaluate facility impact upon ground water quality.

2. Design and construction of monitoring system 
a. The ground water monitoring system shall be

designed by a Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.
b. The system shall consist of a sufficient number

of wells, installed at appropriate locations and depths, to
define the ground water flow system and shall be developed
in accordance with Departmental requirements to yield
ground water samples that are representative of the aquifer
water quality.

c. The number, spacing, location, depth, and
screened interval of the monitoring wells shall be approved
by the Department prior to installation.

d. All monitoring wells shall be constructed in
accordance with the Regulations Governing the Construction
of Water Wells and any subsequently approved guidelines.
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Variation from the existing guidelines must be approved by
the Department in writing prior to construction. 

3. Ground water sampling 
a. The permittee shall submit a ground water

sampling plan to the Department at the time of permit
application. The sampling plan must include procedures and
techniques for:

(1) Sample collection, preservation, and
transport

(2) Analytical procedures and quality
assurance, and

(3) Chain of custody control 
b. Sample constituents

(1) All facilities shall test for the following
parameters:

(a) Specific conductivity
(b) Total dissolved solids
(c) Total organic carbon
(d) Chloride
(e) pH
(f) Chemical oxygen demand
(g) Total iron
(h) Any additional parameters specified by

the Department
(2) Test methods used to determine the

parameters of b(1) shall be those described in the most
current legal edition of EPA Publication Number SW-846,
"Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste - Physical/
Chemical Methods." If SW-846 does not contain test
methods for a required parameter, that parameter shall be
tested according to methods described in the most recent
edition of the EPA publication "Methods of Chemical
Analysis for Water and Wastes" or of Standard Methods for
the Examination of Water and Wastewater. 

c. The Department may observe, and may request
advance notice of, the ground water sampling conducted by
the permittee or his/her designee and may request split
samples for analysis.

d. If the Department determines that the ground
water monitoring data indicate that ground water
contamination has occurred, a remedial action program may
be required. 

4. Reporting
a. All ground water monitoring shall be conducted

on a schedule to be determined by the Department and the
results submitted within 45 days of sampling. 

b. An annual hydrogeologic report will be prepared
which shall include:

(1) Tabulation and graphical presentation of all
ground water quality data from current and preceding years,

(2) Maps showing ground water flow patterns
at each time of ground water sampling,

(3) A discussion of the ground water
monitoring results, and

(4) Recommendations for future monitoring.

F. FINAL COVER
1. Requirement for final cover

a. Upon closure of the facility or a portion thereof,
the permittee shall apply final cover consistent with the
intended post-closure use of the facility and designed to
control the emission of gas, promote the establishment of
vegetative cover (if applicable), and minimize infiltration
and percolation of water into, and prevent erosion of, the
waste throughout the post-closure care period.

b. The final cover shall be in place 60 days
following final waste disposal activity or 60 days after
Department approval of the closure plan, whichever is later. 

2. Composition of final cover
The final cover shall consist of at least two feet of

compacted soil and either:
a. At least six inches of topsoil (or other material

approved by the Department) to support vegetation,
followed by the application of suitable vegetation, or 

b. Other material consistent with the intended use
of the land and approved in advance by the Department.

3. Final slopes
a. The grades of the final slopes shall be

constructed in accordance with the following minimum
standards: 

(1) The final grade of the top slope, after
allowing for settlement and subsidence, shall be designed to
promote run-off;

(2) The final grades of the side slopes shall be,
at a maximum, three horizontal to one vertical (3:1).

b. The top and side slopes shall be maintained to
prevent erosion of the final cover. 

G. OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE STANDARDS
1. General

a. Dry waste disposal facilities shall be operated so
as to create an aesthetically desirable environment and to
preclude degradation of land, air, surface water, or ground
water.

b. Dry waste disposal facilities shall be maintained
and operated to conform with the approved plan of
operation.

2. Details of operation and maintenance 
a. Spreading and compacting
The working face shall be confined to the smallest
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practical area as is consistent with the proper operation of
trucks and equipment. 

The waste shall be spread in layers and compacted
by repeated passes of the compacting equipment. 

b. Cover
Approved cover material shall be applied at a

frequency and thickness specified by the Department.
c. Control of nuisances and hazards
Dust and Odors
The owner or operator shall undertake suitable

measures to control dust and odors wherever and whenever
necessary to conform with all applicable air quality
regulations.

Litter
The scattering of refuse and wind-blown litter shall

be controlled by the use of portable fences, natural barriers,
or other suitable methods. No refuse or litter shall be allowed
to migrate off site. 

Fires
The facility shall be operated in a manner which

minimizes the risk of fires occurring on the site. 
d. Access 
Access to the site shall be limited to those persons

authorized to use the site for the disposal of solid waste and
to those hours when an attendant is on duty. This section
shall not be construed to limit right of entry by the Secretary
or his/her duly authorized designee pursuant to 7 Del. Code,
Section 6024.

Access to the site by unauthorized persons shall be
prevented by the use of barriers, fences and gates, or other
suitable means.

e. Salvaging 
Salvage operations shall be so organized that they will not
interfere with the proper disposal of any solid waste. No
salvage operation shall be allowed which creates
unsightliness, nuisances, health hazards, or potential safety
hazards. 

f. Personnel
Sufficient numbers and types of personnel shall be

available at the site to insure capability for operation in
accordance with these regulations. 

The facility shall be operated under the close
supervision of an individual who is thoroughly familiar with
the permit requirements and operational procedures of the
facility and is experienced in landfill development and
operation.

g. Equipment
Adequate numbers and types of equipment

commensurate with the size of the operation shall be
available at the site to insure operation of the facility in

accordance with the provisions of these regulations and the
Plan of Operation. Waste handling equipment shall be
cleaned routinely and maintained in accordance with the
manufacturer's recommendations.

h. Employee health and safety 
Employees at the site shall work under all

appropriate health and safety guidelines established by the
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. 

First aid equipment shall be available at the site.
3. Recordkeeping

The following information must be recorded, as it
becomes available, and retained by the owner or operator of
the facility until the end of the post-closure care period:

a. Monitoring, testing, or analytical data where
required by Section 8, Subsections C, E, or I.

b. Types and volume or weight of wastes received. 
c. A complete list of haulers utilizing the facility.
d. Any additional records specified by the

Department.
4. Reporting 

The permittee shall submit to the Department on an annual
basis a report summarizing facility operations for the
preceding calendar year. The report shall be on a form
acceptable to the Department and shall describe and
summarize all solid waste disposal, environmental
monitoring, and construction activities conducted within the
year covered by the report. The report shall include but not
necessarily be limited to the following:

a. The volume or tonnage of solid waste landfilled
at the facility.

b. The estimated remaining capacity of the facility,
in both tonnage and years.

c. A list of all haulers utilizing the facility during
the year covered by the report.

d. Gas monitoring data as required in Section 8.C,
and in the Solid Waste permit 

e. An updated estimate of the cost of closure and
post-closure care for the facility, as required in Section
8.H.3.e.

f. Any intentional or accidental deviations from the
approved Plan of Operation. 

g. All construction or corrective work conducted on
the site in accordance with approved plans or to achieve
compliance with these regulations

The permittee must also submit any additional
reports specified in the Solid Waste permit.

5. Prohibitions
a. No wastes other than those specified in the

permit may be disposed of at the facility.
b. Open burning of any solid waste is prohibited
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within the active portion of the facility. 
c. Scavenging is prohibited on any dry waste

disposal site. 

H. CLOSURE
1. General

The owner or operator of a completed dry waste disposal
facility or cell must close the facility or cell in a manner that:

a. Minimizes the need for further maintenance, and 
b. Minimizes the post-closure escape of solid waste

constituents, leachate, and landfill gases to the surface water,
ground water, or atmosphere.

2. Required submittals; notification
a. An owner or operator of a dry waste disposal

facility must sub-mit a conceptual closure plan for the
facility at the time of initial permit application, as required in
Section 4.C.1.a (7). 

b. At least 180 days prior to the date when wastes
will no longer be accepted, the owner or operator shall
submit the following to the Department:

(1) Written notification of intent to close. 
(2) Closure plan.
(3) Closure schedule.

c. If the Department determines that the closure
plan and closure schedule are sufficient to ensure closure in
accordance with the standards described in Section 8.H.1, it
will issue a closure permit.

d. A copy of the closure plan must be maintained at
the facility or at some other location designated by the owner
or operator through the post-closure care period of the
facility.

3. Closure plan contents
The closure plan for a dry waste disposal facility or cell must
include, as a minimum, the following:

a. A description of the methods, procedures, and
processes that will be used to close the facility or cell in
accordance with the closure performance standard in Section
8.H.1.

b. A description of the final cover that will be
applied, and a discussion of how the final cover will achieve
the objectives of Section 8.H.1. 

c. A description of other activities necessary to
satisfy the closure performance standard, including, but not
limited to, the removal or disposal of all non-landfilled
wastes located on site (e.g., wastes from landfill run-off
collection ponds).

d. A topographical map of the site showing the
proposed post-closure elevations, with reference to mean sea
level. 

e. An estimate of the cost of closing the facility or

cell and of the cost of post-closure monitoring and
maintenance throughout the post-closure care period. These
estimates shall be updated yearly and submitted to the
Department as part of the annual report described in Section
8.G.4. 

f. A plan for post-closure care of the facility or cell
sufficient to ensure that the standards described in
Subsection I.1 will be met. This will include:

(1) A description of the monitoring and
maintenance activities required and the frequency at which
these activities will be performed.

(2) The name, address, and telephone number
of the person or office to contact about the facility during the
post-closure period.

(3) A description of the planned uses of the
property during the post-closure period.

g. A plan for control and/or recovery of landfill
gases, if appropriate.

4. Minimum closure requirements
a. The closure shall be carried out in accordance

with the approved closure plan and according to the
approved closure schedule. Any deviations from the plan or
the schedule must be approved by the Department prior to
being initiated.

b. Upon closure of a facility, all non-landfilled
wastes located on site shall be removed or disposed of in a
manner approved by the Department. 

c. When closure is completed, the owner or
operator must submit to the Department certification by a
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware that the facility
has been closed in accordance with the specifications in the
approved closure plan. The Department will inspect the
facility and will either: 

(1) Issue a letter indicating that the site has
been closed in accordance with the closure plan and all
applicable regulations; or

(2) Determine that the site is not in compliance
with the closure plan or applicable regulations; identify the
areas of deficiency; and require the owner or operator to take
the necessary actions to bring the site into compliance.

I. POST-CLOSURE CARE
1. General

a. The owner or operator of a dry waste disposal
facility must continue post-closure care for 30 years after the
completion of closure. 

b. At any time during the post-closure care period
the Department may remove one or more of the post-closure
care requirements described in Section 8, Subsection I.2
below if it determines that the requirement(s) is/are no
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longer necessary for the protection of human health and the
environment.

c. At any time after the first five years of the
post-closure care period, the Department may reduce the
length of the post-closure care period or terminate
post-closure care if it determines that such care is no longer
necessary.

d. Prior to the time that the post-closure care period
is due to expire, the Department may extend the post-closure
care period if it determines that the extended period is
necessary to protect human health and the environment.

e. If at any time during the post-closure care period
there is evidence of a contaminant release from the landfill
that presents a threat to human health or the environment,
action to mitigate the threat will be required of the owner or
operator of the facility.

2. Minimum post-closure care requirements
Post-closure care must consist of at least the following:

a. Maintaining the integrity and effectiveness of the
final cover, including making repairs as necessary to correct
the effects of settling, subsidence, erosion, or other events,
and preventing run-on and run-off from eroding or otherwise
damaging the cover.

b. Reseeding the cover if insufficient vegetation
exists to stabilize the surface. 

c. Maintaining and operating the ground water
monitoring system in accordance with Section 8.E. The
permittee shall submit ground water quality data as specified
by the Department.

d. Maintaining and monitoring the gas control
system in accordance with Sec. 8.C and the closure plan. The
permittee shall submit gas data as specified by the
Department.

e. Maintaining and monitoring the surface water
management system in accordance with Sec. 8.D. 

3. Prohibitions
a. Standing water shall not be allowed on the closed

facility or cell.
b. Open burning shall not be allowed on, or within

100 feet of, a closed disposal area.
c. Unless approved in advance by the Department,

no activity shall be conducted on a closed dry waste disposal
facility or cell which will disturb the integrity of the final
cover or the monitoring systems.

d. Access to the closed facility shall be limited to
those persons who are engaging in activities which are
compatible with the approved post-closure use of the site.

4. Post-closure land use
The owner or operator shall implement the

post-closure land use plan included in the closure plan

approved by the Department.
5. Notice in deed to property

The owner of the property on which a dry waste
disposal facility is located must record a notation on the deed
to the facility property, or on some other instrument that is
normally examined during title search, that will in perpetuity
notify any potential purchaser of the property that:

a. the land has been used as a solid waste disposal
site, and

b. the use of the land is restricted under this
regulation.

Included with this notation shall be a map or
description clearly specifying the area that was used for
disposal. 

SECTION 9:  RESOURCE RECOVERY FACILITIES

A. APPLICABILITY
This section applies to:
1. Materials recovery facilities, and 
2. Thermal recovery facilities.

B. SITING
1. Resource recovery facilities shall be located only in

areas where the potential for degradation of the quality of
air, land, and water is minimal.

2. No new resource recovery facility shall be located
in an area such that solid waste would at any time be
handled:

a. Within the 100 year flood plain.
b. Within any state or federal wetland.
c. Within 1000 feet of any state or federal wildlife

refuge, wildlife area, or park.
d. So as to be in conflict with any locally adopted

land use plan or zoning requirement.
In addition, any facility that processes municipal

solid waste shall not be located within 10,000 feet of any
airport currently used by turbojet aircraft or 5,000 feet of any
airport runway currently used by piston-type aircraft, unless
a waiver is granted by the Federal Aviation Administration.

C. DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION
1. Applicants wishing to construct and operate

resource recovery facilities will be encouraged to design the
facilities so that they are capable of removing and recycling
those materials for which recycling is currently technically
and economically feasible.  The design should allow for
future alteration or upgrading to accomplish removal of
additional materials as recycling of these materials becomes
feasible.  
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2. The plans and specifications for a proposed
resource recovery facility, or for any addition or alteration to
an existing facility, shall be prepared and certified by a
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware and shall be
submitted as a part of the Solid Waste Management Facility
permit application. 

3. Construction and installation activities for new
facilities and for expansions or alterations of existing
facilities shall be carried out in accordance with a third-party
quality assurance plan approved by the Department.
Expansions or alterations of existing facilities shall be
carried out in accordance with an approved third-party
quality assurance plan if deemed necessary by the
Department.

4. Minimum design requirements
a. All new resource recovery facilities shall be

designed to include the following features, as a minimum:
(1) A setback area with appropriate screening.
(2) A means to detect explosion potential and

equipment designed to minimize the impact of explosion (if
the solid waste to be handled and the equipment to be used
have the potential of causing explosion).

(3) A means for maintaining quality control of
recovered materials.

(4) Storage capacity for a minimum of three
days of storage (at maximum anticipated loading rates) of
incoming solid waste, facility process solid waste residues
and effluents, and recovered materials.  The storage areas
must be within enclosed structures if deemed necessary by
the Department.

(5) Tipping floors, sorting pads, and solid
waste storage areas constructed of material capable of
withstanding heavy vehicle usage and of reducing and
controlling runoff.

(6) A completely enclosed unloading area, if
deemed necessary by the Department.

(7) Adequate floor drains graded to facilitate
washdown and to prevent standing water. Drains shall
discharge to a sanitary sewer system, holding tank, or
appropriate treatment facility.

(8) Surface water and erosion controls. 
(9) An auxiliary power system sized to enable

emergency shut down of the facility to occur without causing
irreparable damage to the equipment. 

(10) Control mechanisms to minimize and
contain accidental spillage of reagents, lubricants, or other
liquids used as well as residues generated.

(11) A fire detection and protection system
capable of detecting, controlling, and extinguishing any fires
that may occur as a result of facility operation.

(12) A fence or other security system that will
prevent access to the site by unauthorized persons.

(13) A means for weighing or measuring all
incoming solid waste, all recyclable materials recovered
from the waste, and all residues generated at the facility.

D. OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE STANDARDS
All new and existing resource recovery facilities shall

comply with this section.
1. General

a. Facilities shall be operated in a manner that
will preclude degradation of land, air, surface water, or
ground water.

b. All facilities shall be operated and maintained
to conform with the approved Plan of Operation submitted at
the time of permit application and approved by the
Department.

2. Details of operation and maintenance
a. Unloading of solid waste
Unloading of solid waste shall take place only at

clearly marked unloading areas. 
b. Storage and handling

(1) External storage of solid waste containing
garbage is prohibited.  No solid waste shall be stored in such
a manner that the storage area or the solid waste becomes a
nuisance or endangers human health or the environment.

(2) All solid waste passing through the facility
must ultimately be recycled or be disposed of at a solid waste
facility authorized to accept that type of solid waste.

(3) Solid waste delivered to the facility shall
be processed within the time limit specified by the
Department.

(4) Non-putrescible recyclable materials may
be stored for up to 30 days. The storage period may be
increased, with written approval of the Department, if all of
the following conditions are met:

(a) there is a demonstrated need to do so
(e.g., a market agreement with terms of receipt based on
greater than 30 day intervals or volumes that may take longer
than 30 days to acquire);

(b) there is sufficient Department
approved storage area; 

(c) an inventory methodology is used to
ensure that the recyclables do not remain on the site for
longer than the specified time period; and

(d) the inventory methodology is
provided to and approved by the Department before storage
begins.

c. Control of nuisances and hazards
Litter
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The permittee shall provide for routine maintenance
and general cleanliness of the entire site, as well as litter
removal along roads approaching the site. 

Air Pollution
The operation of the facility shall comply with 7

Del. Code, Chapter 60, and with the Regulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution.

Vectors
The permittee shall implement a vector control plan

to prevent the establishment of habitats for nuisance
organisms (e.g., flies, maggots, roaches, rodents, and similar
vermin) and to mitigate nuisances and hazards to human
health and the environment.

Fire
Equipment shall be available on site to control fires,

and arrangements shall be made with the local fire protection
agency to provide immediate services when needed.

If deemed necessary by the Department, a separate
area shall be provided for temporary placement of hot loads
received at the facility.  The hot load area shall be located
away from trees, bushes, and structures, and loads shall be
extinguished immediately upon unloading.

d. Access
Access roads to the point of solid waste discharge

shall be designed, constructed, and maintained so that traffic
will flow smoothly and will not be interrupted by inclement
weather.

Access to the site shall be limited to those times
when an attendant is on duty and to those persons authorized
to deliver solid waste to the site.  This section shall not be
construed to limit right of entry by the Secretary or his/her
duly authorized designee pursuant to 7 Del. Code, Section
6024.

e. Personnel
Sufficient types and numbers of trained personnel

shall be available at the site to insure capability for operation
in accordance with these regulations.

The facility shall be operated under the close
supervision of an individual who is thoroughly familiar with
the requirements and operational procedures of the facility
and is experienced in matters of solid waste management.  

All thermal recovery facilities shall be operated
under the direct supervision of an individual who has
successfully completed a training course on use of the
specific equipment installed at the facility.

f. Health and safety
Employees at the site shall work under all

appropriate health and safety guidelines established by the
Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

First aid equipment shall be available at the site.

g. Equipment
Adequate numbers and types of equipment

commensurate with the size of the operation shall be
available at the site to insure operation of the facility in
accordance with the provisions of these regulations and the
plan of operation.  All solid waste handling equipment shall
be cleaned routinely and maintained according to the
manufacturer's recommendations.

All processing equipment shall be operated by
persons thoroughly trained in the proper operation of the
equipment and shall be maintained in good working order.

h. Disposal of process residues and of solid waste
that cannot be processed by the facility

(1) Unless specified otherwise in writing by
the Department, all residues generated by the operation of a
facility shall, within three days of generation, be disposed of,
used, or treated in a manner that is consistent with state and
federal regulations.  

(2) Unless specified otherwise in writing by
the Department, all solid waste that is delivered to the
facility but that cannot be processed at the facility shall,
within three days of receipt, be removed from the facility for
disposal, use, or treatment in a manner that is consistent with
state and federal regulations.

3. Recordkeeping
The following information must be recorded in a

timely manner and the records retained by the owner or
operator for at least three years: 

a. Types and weight or volume of solid waste
received.

b. Weight or volume of each material recycled or
marketed.

c. A record of the commercial solid waste haulers
(company name, address, and telephone number) using the
facility, and the type and weight or volume of solid waste
delivered by each hauler to the facility each day.

d. Process monitoring data.
e. Characterization testing of recyclable

materials.
f. Weight or volume of unprocessable solid

wastes and of process residues, and location of ultimate
disposal of these materials.

g. Characterization testing of process residues to
determine the quality for possible marketing or BTU value.

h. A record of fires, spills, and uncontrolled
releases that occur at the facility, and of hot loads received.

i. Documentation of training provided to
employees.

j. Fire and safety inspections.
k. Major equipment maintenance.



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1610

l. Any additional records specified by the
Department.

4. Reporting
a. The permittee shall submit to the Department

on an annual basis a report summarizing facility operations
for the preceding calendar year.  The report shall be on a
form prescribed by the Department and shall describe and
summarize all solid waste processing, environmental
monitoring, and construction activities conducted within the
year covered by the report.  The report shall include, but not
necessarily be limited to, the following:

(1) Types and weight or volume of solid waste
received.

(2) Weight or volume of each material
recycled or marketed, and identification of the markets.

(3) Weight or volume of unprocessable solid
wastes and of process residues, and location of ultimate
disposal of these materials. 

(4) A complete list of commercial haulers that
delivered solid waste to the facility during the year.

(5) A discussion of the feasibility of recycling
materials that are currently being received at the facility but
are not being recycled.

(6) Descriptions of any intentional or
accidental deviations from the approved Plan of Operation. 

(7) Descriptions of all construction or
corrective work conducted on the site in accordance with
approved plans or to achieve compliance with these
regulations.

(8) Results of characterization testing of
recyclable materials and process residues.

(9) Any additional information specified by
the Department.

b. The permittee shall immediately notify the
Department if any of the following occurs:

(1) A shut down that results in solid waste
being diverted from the facility.

(2) A fire. 
(3) A spill or nonpermitted release.

E. CLOSURE
1. General

When a resource recovery facility ceases accepting
solid waste, all of the solid waste on site shall be removed
and the facility shall be closed in a manner that will
eliminate the need for further maintenance at the site.

2. Required submittals; notification
a. An owner or operator of a resource recovery

facility must submit a conceptual closure plan at the time of
initial application for a Solid Waste Management Facility

Permit.
b. At least 180 days prior to the projected date

when solid waste will no longer be accepted at the facility,
the owner or operator shall submit to the Department all of
the items listed in Section 4.D.1.b.  Closure activities shall
not commence until the Department has approved the
updated closure plan and the closure schedule and has
modified the permit to allow closure activities to be carried
out.

c. A copy of the closure plan must be maintained
at the facility or at some other location designated by the
owner or operator until closure has been completed.

3. Closure plan contents
The closure plan for a resource recovery facility

must include, as a minimum, the following:
a. A description of the methods, procedures, and

processes that will be used to close the facility, including
provisions that will be made for the proper disposal of all
solid waste that is on the site when operations cease.

b. An estimate of the cost of closing the facility.
This estimate shall be updated yearly and submitted to the
Department as a part of the annual report described in
Section 9.D.4.

c. A description of the planned post-closure use
of the property.

4. Minimum closure requirements 
a. Closure shall be carried out in accordance with

the approved closure plan.
b. Closure must be complete within one year after

the date on which the Department issues a modified permit
to allow closure.

c. When closure is completed, the owner or
operator must submit to the Department certification by a
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware that the facility
has been closed in accordance with the specifications in the
approved closure plan.

d. When closure has been completed to the
satisfaction of the Department, the Department will issue a
letter indicating that closure has occurred in accordance with
the closure plan.

e. After closure has been completed, the
Department may require that the permittee conduct
monitoring and/or maintenance activities at the site to
prevent or detect and mitigate any adverse environmental or
health impacts. 

SECTION 10:  TRANSFER STATIONS

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
1. Applicability
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a. This section applies to all solid waste transfer
stations in Delaware.  Additional requirements may apply to
transfer stations handling special solid wastes, such as
infectious waste.

b. Compliance with these regulations does not
release the owner or operator of a transfer station from the
obligation of complying with any other applicable laws,
regulations, or ordinances.

2. Exclusions
The following types of facilities are not considered

to be transfer stations:
a. Facilities that accept only source separated

materials for the purpose of recycling those materials.
b. Materials recovery facilities.
c. Small load collection areas located at permitted

landfill sites.
d. Individual dumpsters used for waste generated

on site (e.g., at shopping centers, apartment complexes or
commercial establishments).

e. Compaction equipment being used exclusively
for solid waste generated on site (e.g., in office or apartment
complexes, industrial facilities, or shopping centers).

B. SITING
1. Transfer stations shall be located only in areas

where the potential for degradation of the quality of air, land,
and water is minimal. 

2. Transfer stations shall be located adjacent to access
roads capable of withstanding anticipated load limits.

3. No new transfer station shall be located in an area
such that solid waste would at any time be handled: a.
Within the 100-year flood plain.

b. Within any state or federal wetland.
c. So as to be in conflict with any locally adopted

land use plan or zoning requirement.

C. DESIGN
1. General

The plans and specifications for a proposed transfer
station shall be prepared and certified by a Professional
Engineer registered in Delaware and shall be submitted as a
part of the transfer station permit application.

2. Minimum design requirements
All transfer stations shall be designed to include at

least the following:
a. A leachate collection and disposal system as

described in Section 10.D.
b. A means for weighing or measuring all solid

waste handled at the facility.
c. Tipping and loading areas contained within

structures capable of preventing the development of
nuisance conditions (e.g., odors, litter, dust, rodents, insects)
if these areas will be within 300 feet of a commercial,
institutional, or residential structure that is designed for
human occupancy and that is in existence at the time of
initial permit application.  If tipping and loading areas will
not be within 300 feet of a structure designed for human
occupancy, the permittee shall evaluate the impact to the
surrounding area of handling the solid waste in a
non-enclosed facility. In addition, the permittee shall
evaluate the need for exhaust systems in enclosed areas and
shall install such systems if necessary for the protection of
human health.

d. A means to prevent vehicles from backing into
the pit while unloading.

e. On-site roads designed to accommodate
projected traffic flow in a safe and efficient manner.

f. Separate access for passenger vehicles, if both
commercial and passenger vehicles are using the facility.

g. A fence or other security system that will
prevent access to the site by unauthorized persons.

D. LEACHATE COLLECTION AND DISPOSAL
1. All transfer stations shall be designed and

constructed to include a leachate collection and disposal
system that will prevent leachate (including wastewater
generated during normal operation such as wash-out and
cleaning of equipment, trucks, and floors) from
contaminating the soil, surface water, or ground water.

2. The leachate collection and disposal system must
be approved in advance by the Department and shall consist
of one, or a combination, of the following:

a. Tipping, loading, and unloading areas
constructed of impervious material and equipped with drains
connected to either:

(1) a sanitary sewer system, or
(2) a corrosion-resistant holding tank.
If the tipping, loading, and unloading areas are

not enclosed, the piping and drains to the sewer system or
holding tank shall be sized to handle, at a minimum, the
run-off that would result from a 2-hour 10-year storm.

b. Containers and compaction units constructed
of durable impervious material and equipped with covers
that will minimize the entrance of precipitation.

Alternate designs may be used with prior written
approval of the Department if the applicant can show that
they will prevent leachate from contaminating the soil,
surface water, and ground water.

E. OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE STANDARDS
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1. General
a. Transfer stations shall be operated in a manner

that will preclude degradation of land, air, surface water, or
ground water.

b. Transfer stations shall be maintained and
operated to conform with the Plan of Operation submitted at
the time of permit application and approved by the
Department.

2. Details of operation and maintenance     
a. Storage of solid waste
Solid waste shall not remain at the transfer station

for more than 72 hours without the written approval of the
Department.  Any solid waste that is to be kept at the site
overnight shall be stored in an impervious enclosed
structure. 

b. Disposition of solid waste leaving the facility 
All solid waste accepted at the transfer station must,

upon leaving the transfer station, be delivered to a
processing or disposal facility authorized by the Department
(or by the appropriate environmental agency, if outside of
Delaware) to accept that type of waste.

c. Control of nuisances and hazards
Litter

The permittee shall provide for routine maintenance and
general cleanliness of the entire site, as well as litter removal
along roads approaching the site if accumulations of litter
along the approach roads are clearly the result of the
operation of the transfer station.

Vectors
The permittee shall implement a vector control plan to

prevent the establishment of habitats for nuisance organisms
(e.g., flies, maggots, roaches, rodents, and similar vermin)
and to mitigate nuisances and hazards to human health and
the environment.  

Air Pollution
The operation of the transfer station shall comply with 7

Del. Code Chapter 60 and the Regulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution.

Fire
Equipment shall be available on site to control fires, and

arrangements shall be made with the local fire protection
agency to provide immediate services when needed. 

If deemed necessary by the Department, a separate area
shall be provided for temporary placement of hot loads
received at the facility.  The hot load area shall be located
away from trees, bushes, and structures, and loads shall be
extinguished immediately upon unloading. 

d. Access
Access to the site shall be limited to those times

when an attendant is on duty and to those persons authorized

to use the site for the disposal of solid waste.  This section
shall not be construed to limit right of entry by the Secretary
or his/her duly authorized designee pursuant to 7 Del. Code,
Section 6024. 

e. Personnel 
Sufficient numbers and types of personnel shall be

available at the site to insure capability for operation in
accordance with these regulations.     

f. Health and safety
Employees at the site shall work under all

appropriate health and safety guidelines established by the
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. 

First aid equipment shall be available at the site. 
g. Equipment
Adequate numbers and types of equipment

commensurate with the size of the operation shall be
available at the site to insure operation of the facility in
accordance with the provisions of these regulations and the
plan of operation. All waste handling equipment shall be
cleaned routinely and maintained according to the
manufacturer's recommendations.

3. Recordkeeping
The following information must be recorded in a timely

manner and the records retained by the owner or operator for
at least three years:

a. A record of the solid waste commercial haulers
(company name, address, and telephone number) using the
facility and the type and weight or volume of solid waste
delivered by each hauler to the transfer station each day.

b. A record of the type and weight or volume of
solid waste delivered from the transfer station to its final
destination each day.

c. A record of fires, spills, and uncontrolled
releases that occur at the facility, and of hot loads received. 

d. Fire and safety inspections. 
e. Major equipment maintenance. 
f. Destination of the solid waste. 

4. Reporting
a. The permittee shall submit to the Department

on an annual basis a report summarizing facility operations
for the preceding calendar year.  The due date for this annual
report will be specified in the facility's permit. The report
shall be on a form acceptable to the Department and shall
describe and summarize all environmental monitoring and
construction activities conducted within the year covered by
the report. The report shall include, but not necessarily be
limited to, the following:  

(1) Type and weight or volume of waste
received. 

(2) A complete list of commercial haulers that
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hauled waste to or from the facility during the year covered
by the report.

(3) Destination of the solid waste and the type
and weight or volume of waste delivered to the destination.

(4) Descriptions of any intentional or
accidental deviations from the approved Plan of Operation.

(5) Descriptions of all construction or
corrective work conducted on the site in accordance with
approved plans or to achieve compliance with these
regulations. 

(6) An updated estimate of the cost of closing
the facility.

(7) Any additional information specified by
the Department. 

b. The owner or operator shall notify the
Department immediately if either of the following occurs:

(1) A fire that requires the services of a fire
protection agency.

(2) A spill or uncontrolled release that may
endanger human health or the environment.

5. Prohibitions
a. Solid waste generated outside of the State of

Delaware shall not be combined, commingled or aggregated
with solid waste that was generated in Delaware and that is
required, pursuant to regulations promulgated by the
Delaware Solid Waste Authority (DSWA), to be disposed of
at a DSWA facility.

b. No liquids, other than those used to disinfect,
to suppress dust, or to absorb or cover odors from the solid
waste, shall be added to the solid waste.

c. Open burning is prohibited on any transfer
station site.

d. Scavenging is prohibited at any transfer
station.

F. CESSATION AND CLOSURE 
1. General
When a transfer station ceases accepting solid waste, all

of the waste on site shall be removed and the facility shall be
closed in a manner that will eliminate the need for further
maintenance at the site.

2. Required submittals; notification
a. An owner or operator of a new transfer station

must submit a conceptual closure plan at the time of initial
permit application.

b. At least 60 days prior to the date when waste
will no longer be accepted at the facility, the owner or
operator shall submit to the Department all of the items listed
in Section 4.E.1.b.  Closure activities shall not commence
until the Department has approved the updated closure plan

and the closure schedule and has modified the facility's
permit to allow closure activities to be carried out.

c. A copy of the approved closure plan must be
maintained at the facility or at some other location
designated by the owner or operator until closure has been
completed.

3. Closure plan contents
The closure plan for a transfer station must include, as a

minimum, the following:
a. A description of the methods, procedures, and

processes that will be used to close the transfer station,
including provisions that will be made for the proper
disposal of all waste that is on the site when operations
cease.

b. An estimate of the cost of closing the facility.
This estimate shall be updated yearly and submitted to the
Department as a part of the annual report described in
Section 10.E.4.a (6).

c. A plan for post-closure care of the facility if
such care would be necessary to protect human health and
the environment.

d. A description of the planned post-closure use
of the property.

4. Minimum closure requirements 
a. Closure shall be carried out in accordance with

the approved closure plan.
b. Closure must be complete within six months

after the date on which the Department issues a modified
permit to allow closure.

c. When closure has been completed to the
satisfaction of the Department, the Department will issue a
letter indicating that closure has occurred in accordance with
the closure plan.

d. After closure has been completed, the
Department may require that the permittee conduct
monitoring and/or maintenance activities at the site to
prevent or detect and mitigate any adverse environmental or
health impacts. 

SECTION 11:  SPECIAL WASTES MANAGEMENT

PART 1 - Infectious Waste

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
1.  No generator shall engage in the treatment, storage or

disposal [All generators] of infectious waste without the
proper permits from the Department. [shall obtain an
Infectious Waste Identification Number by registering
with the Department on a form provided by the
Department.]
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1 [2].No person shall engage in the construction,
operation, material alteration, or closure of a facility(ies) to
be used in the treatment, storage, or disposal  operation
connected with the management of infectious wastes, nor
shall any person enter into the material alteration of a
facility, or closure of a solid waste facility managing [of]
infectious wastes,  unless specifically exempted from the
regulations within Section 2.C., without first having
obtained the proper permits from the Department.  

3. Biological liquid wastes which can be directly
discharged into a permitted wastewater treatment system are
not subject to these regulations.

32 [3].All infectious waste must be packaged in
accordance with these regulations.

B. SITING  
1. Infectious waste treatment facilities shall be located

only in areas where the potential for degradation of the
quality of air, land, and water is minimal.

2. Infectious waste treatment facilities shall be located
adjacent to access roads capable of withstanding anticipated
load limits. 

3. No new infectious waste treatment facility shall be
located in an area such that solid waste would at any time be
handled:

a. Within the 100 year flood plain.
b. Within any state or federal wetland. 
c. So as to be in conflict with any locally adopted

land use plan or zoning requirement.

C. DEFINITIONS
The following definitions are specific to the

management of infectious waste as used in this part.  For
general definitions relating to other types of solid waste and
the management of solid waste, refer to Section 3 of these
regulations.

"6-LOG REDUCTION" means a 6 decade reduction or
a millionth (.000001) survival probability in a microbial
population, i.e., a 99.9999% reduction. 

"ATCC" means American Type Culture Collection.
"AUTOCLAVE TAPE" means tape that demonstrates

an evidentiary visible physical change when subjected to
temperatures that will provide evidence of sterilization of
materials during treatment in an autoclave or similar device.

"CFU" means colony[-]forming unit. 
"CHALLENGE LOADS" means an infectious waste

load that has been constructed by composition (i.e., organic
content, moisture content, or other physical or chemical
composition).

"CLASS 4 ETIOLOGIC AGENTS [AGENT]" means a

pathogenic agent that is extremely hazardous to laboratory
personnel or that may cause serious epidemic disease.   Class
4 etiologic agents include,[ but are not limited to, the
agents listed in 47 CFR 72.3.2.(f).
Class 4 etiologic agents include] the following viral agents:

[·] Alastrim, Smallpox, Monkey pox, and Whitepox
(when used for transmission or animal inoculation
experiments).  

[·] Hemorrhagic fever agents (including Crimean
hemorrhagic fever (Congo), Junin, and Machupo
viruses, and others not yet defined).  

[·] Herpesvirus simiae (Monkey B virus)
[·] Lassa virus
[·] Marburg virus
[·] Tick-borne encephalitis virus complex

(including Absettarov, Hanzalova, HYPR, Kumlinge,
Russian spring-summer encephalitis, Kyasanur forest
disease, Omsk hemorrhagic fever and Central European
encephalitis viruses)

[·] Venezuelan equine encephalitis virus (epidemic
strains, when used for transmission or animal
inoculation experiments)

[·] Yellow fever virus (wild, when used for
transmission or animal inoculation experiments)

"CONTAINER" means any portable enclosure in which
a material is stored, managed or transported.

"CONTAMINATION" means the degradation of
naturally occurring water, air or soil quality either directly or
indirectly as a result of the transfer of diseased organisms,
blood or other matter that may contain disease organisms
from one material or object to another.

"ETIOLOGIC AGENTS": see "INFECTIOUS
SUBSTANCE" means organisms defined to be etiologic
agents (causative agent of a disease/s) in Title 49 of the U.S.
Code of Federal Regulations at 173.386 (October 1, 1987
Edition).

"GENERATOR" means hospital, in or out patient
clinics, laboratories, medical offices, dental offices, nursing
homes, and in-patient residential facilities serving persons
with diseases which may be transmitted through contact with
infectious waste as well as veterinary facilities and research
laboratories operating within the State of Delaware.

"INCINERATOR" means any enclosed device used to
destroy waste material by using controlled flame
combustion.

"INDICATOR MICROORGANISM SPORES" means
those microorganism spores listed in Appendix A, Table B
of Section 11, Part 1.

"INFECTIOUS SUBSTANCE" (formerly called
"ETIOLOGIC AGENTS")[ is a material as defined in 49
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CFR 173.134. An infectious substance] means a viable
microorganism, or its toxin, which causes or may cause
disease in humans or animals, and includes [those agents
listed in 42 CFR 72.3 of the regulations of the
Department of Health and Human Services or any other]
[any ]agent that causes or may cause severe, disabling[,] or
fatal disease. The terms infectious substance and etiologic
agent are synonymous.

"INFECTIOUS WASTE" means those solid wastes
which may cause human disease and may reasonably be
suspected of harboring human pathogenic organisms, or may
pose a substantial present or potential hazard to human
health or the environment when improperly treated, stored,
transported, disposed of or otherwise managed.  Types of
solid wastes designated as infectious include but are not
necessarily limited to the following:

1. Biological wastes: 
a. Biological liquid wastes means blood and

blood products, excretions, exudates, secretions, suctionings
and other body fluids including liquid wastes from renal
dialysis. 

b. Pathological wastes means all human
tissues and anatomical remains, including human fetal
remains, which emanate from surgery, obstetrical
procedures, autopsy, and laboratory procedures. 

c. Cultures and stocks of etiologic agents and
associated biological wastes means, but is not limited to,
specimen cultures, cultures and stocks of infectious
substances etiologic agents, and wastes from production of
biologicals and serums. 

d. Laboratory wastes means those wastes
which have come in contact with pathogenic organisms or
blood or body fluids.   Such wastes include, but are not
limited to, disposable materials, culture dishes, devices used
to transfer, inoculate and mix cultures, paper and cloth which
has come in contact with specimens or cultures which have
not been sterilized or rendered noninfectious; or laboratory
wastes, including cultures of infectious substances etiologic
agents, which pose a substantial threat to health due to their
volume and virulence. 

e. Animal tissue, bedding and other waste
from animals known or suspected to be infected with a
pathogen which also causes human disease, provided that
prevailing evidence indicates that such tissue, bedding or
other waste may act as a vehicle of transmission to humans.  

f. Human dialysis waste materials including
blood lines and dialysate membranes. 

2. Sharps means any discarded article that may
cause puncture or cuts.  Such wastes include[,] but are not
limited to, needles, intravenous (IV) tubing with needles

attached, scalpel blades, glassware and syringes that have
been removed from their original sterile containers.  For the
purpose of these regulations, only sharps from human or
animal health care facilities, human or animal research
facilities or human or animal pharmaceutical manufacturing
facilities shall be regulated as sharps.

3. Discarded Biologicals means serums and
vaccines produced by pharmaceutical companies for human
or veterinary use.  These products may be discarded because
of a bad manufacturing lot (i.e., off-specification material
that does not pass quality control or that is recalled),
out-dating or removal of the product from the market or
other reasons.  Because of the possible presence of infectious
substances etiologic agents in these products, the discarded
material constitutes infectious waste. 

4. Isolation Wastes means discarded materials
contaminated with blood, excretions, exudates and/or
secretions from humans who that are isolated to protect
others from highly communicable diseases (those diseases
identified as caused by Class 4 etiologic agents).

5. Other infectious wastes means any residue or
contaminated soil, water, or other debris resulting from the
cleanup of a spill of any infectious waste. 

"LARGE INCINERATOR" means an incinerator which
has a capacity of greater than 1000 pounds per hour.

"LOG KILL" (L) means the difference between the
logarithms of viable test microorganisms or indicator
microorganism spores before and after treatment. 

"MANIFEST" means a tracking document designed to
record the movement of solid waste from the generator
through its trip with a transporter to an approved off-site
treatment or disposal facility.

"MOTOR VEHICLE" means a vehicle, machine,
tractor, trailer, or semi-trailer, or any combination thereof,
propelled or drawn by mechanical power and used in
transportation or designed for such use.

"NONINFECTIOUS" means a state in which potentially
harmful microorganisms are absent, free of pathogens.

"RED BAG" means an impermeable, 3-mil
polyethylene bag or equivalent, red in color, for the
collection, storage, and transport of infectious or regulated
medical waste, which meets the following minimum
performance requirements:

1. Appearance: opaque, red.  Each bag must carry
the words "INFECTIOUS WASTE" or "REGULATED
MEDICAL WASTE" or "BIOHAZARD" in one-inch
(minimum) letters and carry the Biological Hazard Symbol.

2. Dart Impact, F50: 100 grams minimum using

ASTM D-1709(A).
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3. Elmendorf Tear: 380 grams minimum (any
direction) using ASTM D-1922.

4. Heavy metals: 100 ppm maximum combined
total.

"REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE" means [a waste
material as defined in 49 CFR 173.134. For the purposes
of transportation of infectious waste, the terms
“regulated medical waste” and “infectious waste” shall
be synonymous.][“infectious waste”.]

"SHIPMENT" means that waste which is conveyed by a
transporter between a generator and a designated facility or a
subsequent transporter.

"SMALL INCINERATOR" means an incinerator which
has a capacity equal to or less than 1000 pounds per hour.

"SMALL QUANTITY INFECTIOUS WASTE
GENERATOR" means a private practice physician, dentist,
veterinarian and any other generator of infectious waste in
which three or fewer professionals are in the practice and
generates less than 50 pounds per month; or a generator who
can demonstrate that their facility generates less than 50
pounds per month of infectious waste.

"STORAGE AREA" means an area designated for the
holding of waste for a temporary period, at the end of which
time the waste is treated, disposed of, or stored elsewhere.

"TEST MICROORGANISMS" means those
microorganisms listed in Appendix A, Table B of Section
11, Part 1. 

"TRANSPORTATION" means the movement of waste
by air, rail, highway, or water.

"VECTOR" means a living animal, insect or other
arthropod which transmits an infectious disease from one
host to another.

D. EXEMPTIONS
The following solid wastes are not to be managed as

infectious wastes:
1. Soiled diapers and feminine hygiene items

produced by a person not known to have an infectious
disease; 

2. Wastes contaminated only with organisms which
are not pathogenic to humans, and which are managed in
accordance with all applicable regulations of the U.S.
Department of Agriculture and the Delaware Department of
Agriculture and Consumer Services and all other regulations
governing this type of waste stream;

3. Food wastes which are pathogenic to humans only
through direct ingestion;

4. Any infectious waste contaminated by,
co-incinerated with, or mixed with hazardous, radioactive or
toxic waste becomes a hazardous, radioactive or toxic waste

and shall then be managed under the appropriate regulations
governing those waste types (7 Del. C. Chapter 63, 7 Del. C.
Chapter 80 and any applicable federal regulations);

5. Waste consisting of human anatomical remains,
including human fetal remains, managed by a licensed
funeral director in accordance with 24 Del. C. Chapter 31;

6. Bed linen, instruments, equipment and other
reusable items are not wastes until they are discarded. This
part section and these regulations apply only to wastes.  The
regulations do not include the sterilization for disinfection of
items that are reused for their original purpose.  Therefore,
the method of sterilization or disinfection of items prior to
reuse is not limited.  When reusable items are no longer
serviceable and are discarded, they become wastes and
subject to these regulations at that time and must be
sterilized by steam, incinerated, or otherwise rendered
non-infectious;  [[this paragraph is being moved from
paragraph J.1 of this part]

7. Waste generated by Delaware households;
8. Ash from incineration of infectious waste once the

incineration process has been completed;
9. Residues from treatment and destruction processes

of infectious waste once the waste has been both treated and
destroyed;

10. Samples of infectious waste transported off-site by
EPA or State-designated enforcement personnel for
enforcement purposes are excepted from the requirements of
this part during the enforcement proceeding; and

11. Biological liquid wastes which are directly
discharged into a permitted wastewater treatment system.
[this paragraph is being moved from paragraph A.3 of this
part]

E. SMALL QUANTITY GENERATOR
REQUIREMENTS

2. Small Quantity Generator Exemptions
[1. Generators of infectious waste who produce less

than 50 pounds per month are considered to be Small
Quantity Generators.]

1. During the annual renewal of a professional license, it
[2. It] is the responsibility of the [Small Quantity

Generator to arrange for proper waste disposal.  A Small
Quantity Generator] generator to provide verification that
the conditions of a small quantity generator are met.

2. Should the yearly certification show that a practice of
three or fewer professionals produces greater than 50 pounds
per month then all portions of this regulation apply.

3. It is the responsibility of the generator to secure a
means of proper disposal. A small quantity generator shall
contract the services of a permitted transporter of infectious
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waste, or render the waste non-infectious and
non-recognizable, using a process or equipment approved by
the Department, prior to disposal.

4. Small quantity generators are not required to obtain a
permit for storage of infectious waste. exempt from the
storage time requirements in Section H.5.c. of this part as
long as not more than 25 pounds of infectious waste are
stored and so long as storage does not produce conditions
that are offensive or harmful to facility personnel or the
public welfare.

5. Small quantity generators are required to file an
annual report with the Department which meets the
requirements of Section P.6. of this Part or which provides
the following information:

(1) Name, address, telephone and generator
identification number;

(2) Total quantity in weight of infectious waste
generated;

(3) A description of how the waste was rendered
non-infectious and non-recognizable prior to disposal; and

(4) Signature of the person completing the report.
[It is the responsibility of the Small Quantity

Generator to arrange for proper waste disposal.  A Small
Quantity Generator shall contract the services of a
permitted transporter of infectious waste, or render the
waste non-infectious and non-recognizable using a
process or equipment approved by the Department,
prior to disposal.]

[3.] Requirements to submit manifest tracking
documents shall apply to either the small quantity generator,
[Small Quantity Generator] or the transporter contracted
by the generator for disposal of the infectious waste.  The
transporter who consolidates and transports infectious waste
may elect to complete a consolidated manifest for the small
quantity generators [Small Quantity Generators] that he or
she services.  In this event, the transporter assumes
responsibility for the MANIFEST REQUIREMENTS,
Section 11, Part 1, O [P], of these Regulations, which would
other otherwise apply to the generators of the wastes. 

[4. Small Quantity Generators are exempt from the
storage time requirements in Section H.5.c of this part as
long as not more than 50 pounds of infectious waste are
stored and so long as storage [ is protective of human
health and the environment.]

5. Small Quantity Generators are exempt from the
requirement to file an annual report to the Department.
However, they are responsible for maintaining records of
infectious waste disposal for a period of at least three
years.  Documentation shall include:

a.  A description of how the waste was rendered

non-infectious and non-recognizable, and
b.  Copies of receipts or manifests for wastes

managed by a permitted transporter of infectious waste.]

F. PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
1. All application permit requirements found in

Section 4.A.2 through 4.A.11 shall be performed unless
specifically exempted within this part of the regulations. 

Permit requirements specific to all infectious waste are
as follows:

2. Any person required to have a permit for activities
that will occur in the management of infectious waste shall
apply for a permit in accordance with Section 4.F. of these
regulations and Regulations No. 2 and No. 29 [the
appropriate sections] of the Regulations Governing Air
Pollution Control. Delaware Regulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution.  No activity shall occur prior to
receipt of a permit issued by the Department.  all permits
required by the Department.  This application must include
the following required information:

a. The name and location of the generator of the
waste; 

b. A description of the origin and content of the
waste, its containerization and the expected volume and
frequency of waste disposal at the facility;

c. A description of the facility where the waste
will be rendered noninfectious prior to disposal, including its
name and the exact location of the facility;

d. A description of the processing methods to be
used for each type of waste, including schematic drawings
(e.g. blueprints, etc.);

e. A description of the containers to be used for
the storage during the collection and during the movement
within the facility, including the total length of storage;

f. A description of the alternatives to be used
should the processing equipment become inoperable, and the
procedures should storage of the waste become necessary
resulting from the lack of prompt processing; 

g. A description of the handling and safety
measures that will be employed for each type of waste,
including personal protection and safety as well as
modifications to the operational safety plan that are required
to meet the best available technology;

h. A description of the monitoring and quality
assurance program will be required for all methods used to
render the waste noninfectious; 

i. A description of modifications to an existing
processing facility that are required to process the waste,
including schematic drawings.

2. Within six months after the enactment of these
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regulations, owners/operators of existing facilities shall
submit an application in accordance with these regulations to
the Department requesting a permit to operate an infectious
waste facility.  

3. A new or revised operation plan for treatment,
storage and/or disposal of infectious waste shall be
submitted to the Department whenever there is an increase of
more than 15 percent over a three calendar month average in
the maximum quantity of infectious waste receiving
treatment, storage or disposal per month by the facility or
when changes are otherwise made in an existing operation
plan.

4. Within thirty days of the effective date of these
regulations, all generators must register with the
Department.

G. PROHIBITIONS
1. Infectious waste may not be disposed at a sanitary

landfill unless the waste has been rendered noninfectious and
non-recognizable.  (In the case of extracted teeth,
sterilization followed by landfilling would be acceptable).

2. Compactors, grinders or similar devices may not be
used by a generator to reduce the volume of infectious waste
until after the waste has been rendered noninfectious, or
unless the device is part of an approved treatment process
which renders the waste non-infectious.

3. Infectious wastes shall not be sent to a recycling
facility.

4. Waste consisting of human anatomical remains,
including human fetal remains, may not be disposed of at
sanitary landfills.  The remains must be incinerated,
cremated or interred in accordance with 24 Del. C. Chapter
31.

5. Trans-chutes shall not be used to transfer infectious
waste between locations where it is contained. 

H. PACKAGING, LABELING, AND STORAGE
REQUIREMENTS FOR INFECTIOUS WASTE

1. Responsibility for packaging and labeling.
The generator of infectious waste shall not submit

for transport, storage, treatment or disposal any waste which
is not packaged in accord with Sections 11 Part 1 G and 11
Part 1, K. this part. As a bag or other container becomes full,
it must be immediately sealed, packaged, labeled and
managed as described in this part.  and 11 Part 1, K.
Contractors or other agents may provide services to the
generator, including packaging and labeling of infectious
waste; however, no contract or other relationship shall
relieve the generator of the responsibility for packaging and
labeling the infectious waste as required by these

regulations.
b. Section 11 Part 1, G does not apply to

infectious waste that has been incinerated or sterilized under
this article if the waste or ash residue from the waste is
stored separately from other waste.

2. Packaging Requirements  prior to storage,
treatment, transport or disposal. 

All infectious waste shall be packaged as follows
before it is stored, treated, transported or disposed of:

a. Infectious wastes, other than sharps:
(1) Waste shall be contained in two (one bag

inside the other) impermeable, plastic bags each sealed
separately.  Each bag must have a minimum thickness of 3
mil. Each bag must also carry the word biohazard and the
universal Biological Hazard Symbol, or the words infectious
waste.  RED BAGS.  The bags shall be individually tied or
sealed. As a bag or other container becomes full, it must be
immediately sealed, packaged, labeled and managed as
described in this part.

(2) All bags containing infectious waste shall
be red in color.  Waste contained in red bags shall be
considered infectious waste and managed as infectious
waste.  

(3) Bags shall be sealed by lapping the
gathered open end and binding with tape or closing device
such that no liquid can leak.

(4) In addition to the plastic bag containers
described in this section, all infectious wastes that are
transported must be packaged as described in 49 CFR
173.197, even when that transport is wholly within the
boundaries of the State. must be enclosed in a double-walled
corrugated fiberboard box or equivalent rigid container
before it is transported beyond the site of generation.  The
box or container must meet the standards of 49 CFR
178.210, October 1, 1987 Edition, for a classified strength of
at least a 200 pound test and be class DOT-12B60.

b. Sharps
Sharps shall be contained in leakproof, rigid,
puncture-resistant containers that are tightly lidded.  As soon
as the first sharp is placed in an empty container, the
container shall be labeled with the word "SHARPS", and the
Biological Hazard Symbol.

3.  Labeling requirements.  
All infectious waste shall be labeled immediately

after packaging.  A The labels shall be securely attached to
the outer layer of packaging and be clearly legible. The label
may be a tag securely affixed to the package.  Indelible ink
shall be used to complete the information on the labels, and
the labels shall be at least three inches by five inches in size.  

a. The following information shall be included on
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label one:
(1) The name, address and business telephone

number of the generator,
(2) "Infectious” or “Regulated Medical

Waste" in large print,
(3) "Pathological Waste," if pathological

waste is included in the contents, and
(4) The name, address and business telephone

number of the all haulers or other persons to whose control
the infectious waste will be was transferred.

b. The following shall be included on label two:
the Biological Hazard Symbol.  The label shall be not less
than three by five inches.

4.  Etiological agents. Infectious substances
All infectious substances that are transported must

be packaged as described in [[] 49 CFR 173.196, [October
1, 1996], Edition,] even when that transport is wholly within
the boundaries of the State.

All etiological agents, as defined in 49CFR173.386,
October 1, 1987, Edition, that are transported must be
packaged as described in 49CFR173.387, October 1, 1987,
Edition, and labeled as described in 49CFR173.388, October
1, 1987, Edition, even when that transport is wholly within
the boundaries of the State.

5. Storage of infectious waste     
a. Infectious waste shall be contained in a manner

that:
(1) Affords protection from vectors, rain and

wind,
(2) Prevents the spread of infectious agents,
(3) Does not provide a breeding place or food

source for insects or rodents, and
(4) Prevents the leakage of waste from the

storage bag or container.
b. Infectious waste shall be placed in separate

containers from other waste at the point of origin in the
producing facility.

c. Infectious waste may not be stored at the waste
producing facility for more than the following periods of
time:

(1) Up to fourteen days at room temperature
(18 to 28 degrees Celsius, 65 to 82 degrees Fahrenheit) or up
to 45 days in a refrigerator (2 to 7 degrees Celsius, 36 to 44
degrees Fahrenheit) for all types of infectious waste, so long
as it does not produce conditions that are offensive or
harmful to facility personnel or the public welfare.

(2) Ninety days in a freezer (-20 to -18
degrees Celsius, -4 to -1 degrees Fahrenheit) not used for
food or patient related items.

(3) Exemption.  Sharps which are disposed in

a container specifically designed for sharps and which is
sealed so as to prevent leaks when it is full, are exempt from
the time limit on storage.

d. Infectious waste other than sharps shall be
packaged in accord with Section 11 Part 1 G.2 and shall be
contained in one of the following ways:

(1) Two disposable polyethylene bags, or
equivalent material approved by the Department, both bags
equaling a cumulative total of at least 6 mils for on-site
storage.  The bags shall be individually tied.

(2) Leakproof, rigid, puncture resistant
containers that are tightly lidded.

e. Sharps shall be contained in leakproof, rigid,
puncture-resistant containers that are tightly lidded.

f. Bags used for containment of infectious waste
shall be in compliance with Section 11 Part 1 G.2 and red in
color and conspicuously labeled with one of the following:

(1) The words "infectious waste."
(2) The word "biohazard" and the universal

biohazard symbol.
g. A container used for the storage of infectious

waste may not be reused unless one of the following applies:
(1) It has been decontaminated utilizing a

Department-approved decontam-ination procedure; or
 (2) The surface of the container has been
protected from direct contact with infectious waste.

h. Reusable containers for infectious waste shall
be thoroughly washed and decontaminated by a method
approved by the Department of Health and Social Services
or the Department each time they are emptied, unless the
surfaces of the containers have been completely protected
from contamination by disposable liners, bags or other
devices removed with the waste.  Approved methods of
decontamination include, but are not limited to, agitation to
remove visible soil combined with one of the following
procedures:

(1) All parts of the container shall come in
contact with hot water of at least 82 degrees C (180 degrees
F) for a minimum of 15 seconds.

(2) All parts of the container shall come in
contact with chemical sanitizer by rinsing with or immersion
in one of the following for a minimum of 3 minutes:

(a) Hypochlorite solution (500 ppm
available chlorine),

(b) Phenolic solution (500 ppm active
agent),

(c) Iodophor solution (100 ppm available
iodine), or

(d) Quaternary ammonium solution (400
ppm active agent).
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(3) Reusable pails, drums, dumpsters or bins
used for containment of infectious waste shall not be used
for containment of waste to be disposed of as noninfectious
waste or for other purposes except after being
decontaminated by procedures as described in Section 11
Part 1 G.5.h.  this paragraph.

i. Containment of infectious waste shall be in an
area separate from other wastes.  Areas used for the
containment of infectious waste shall be secured so as to
deny access to unauthorized persons and shall be marked
with prominent warning signs and the biohazard symbol on,
or adjacent to, the exterior of entry doors, gates or lids.
Wording of warning signs shall be in English, "CAUTION
--INFECTIOUS WASTE STORAGE AREA --
UNAUTHORIZED PERSONS KEEP OUT".  Warning
signs shall be readily legible during daylight from a distance
of at least 25 feet.

I. MANAGEMENT OF SPILLS OF INFECTIOUS
WASTE

Spill containment and cleanup kit.  All infectious waste
management facilities are required to keep a small
containment and cleanup kit within one hundred feet of any
area where infectious wastes are managed.  The facility shall
maintain and implement a plan that provides the means of
decontamination of any person having had bodily contact
with infectious waste while transporting the waste to the
treatment or disposal site or while handling or disposing of
the waste at the site.

J. CLOSURE REQUIREMENT
When a facility that has been used for infectious waste

management is to cease operations involving infectious
wastes, it shall be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected. All
waste shall be disposed of in accord with these regulations,
and items of equipment shall be disinfected.  (Note:  Due to
the variability in the type of infectious waste facilities, the
Department will specify individual closure requirements in
the permit issued to the facility.)

K. METHODS OF TREATMENT AND DISPOSAL
1. All treatment of infectious waste must utilize a

method that will render the waste non-infectious.
2. All pathological waste must be incinerated,

cremated or interred in accordance with 24 Del. C. Chapter
31.  Other disposal methods are not acceptable for this type
of waste. This requirement does not prohibit the disposal of
certain specified wastes in a permitted wastewater treatment
system (see Section D.11 of this part).   (See General
Provisions) in a sanitary sewer.   (In the case of extracted

teeth, sterilization followed by landfilling would be
acceptable).

L. RECORDKEEPING AND REPORTING
REQUIREMENTS

All generators and waste management or treatment
facilities that manage infectious waste shall maintain, for a
period of three years, the following records and assure that
they are accurate and current: 

1. A list containing the names of all individuals
responsible for the management of infection control for the
facility, their address, their phone numbers and the periods
covering their assignment of this duty.

2. The date, persons involved and short description of
events in each spill of infectious wastes.

3. A notebook or file containing the policies and
procedures of the facilities for dealing with infectious
wastes. 

4. A log of all special training received by persons
involved in the management of infectious waste.

5. A log of infectious waste generated at the site or
received from off-site, including the amount, the date of
generation, receipt dates, and the date of shipment.  

6. Anyone that sterilizes or incinerates infectious
waste shall maintain a log indicating the method of
monitoring the waste as well as a verification that it has been
rendered noninfectious.  

7. The operator of a facility that incinerates infectious
waste shall submit to the Department, at least annually
during the life of the facility, a chemical analysis of
composite samples of the ash residue.   Parameters that are to
be monitored will be specified in the permit.

M. EVIDENCE OF EFFECTIVENESS OF TREATMENT 
1. Treatment of infectious waste must be conducted in

a manner which:
a. Eliminates the infectious potential of the waste.

A treatment process eliminates the infectious potential of
infectious waste if the owner or operator of a treatment unit
demonstrates that an Initial Efficacy Test and Periodic
Verification Test(s) have been completed successfully.  

(1) Successful completion of an Initial
Efficacy Test is demonstrated by a 6-log reduction/kill of
test microorganisms.  For a thermal unit that maintains the
integrity of container, a 6-log kill of indicator
microorganism spores may be used as an alternative test. 

(2) Successful completion of a Periodic
Verification Test is demonstrated by:

(a) a 6-log kill of test microorganisms or
indicator microorganism spores as provided in Subsection
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11, Part 1, L.1.a; or
(b) a minimum 3-log kill of indicator

microorganism spores that have been correlated with a 6-log
kill of test microorganism; or

(c) an alternate method submitted to and
approved by the Department.

b. Disposes treatment residues in accordance with
these regulations.

c. Provides for quality assurance programs that
must include, at a minimum, a written plan that:

(1)    Designates responsibility to personnel.
(2) Describes parameters that must be

monitored to insure effectiveness of the treatment process.
(3) Identifies monitoring devices.
(4) Ensures that monitoring devices are

operating properly. 
(5) Establishes appropriate ranges for

operating parameters.
(6) Identifies Person(s) who shall collect and

organize data for inclusion in operating records.
(7) Identifies Person(s) who shall evaluate any

discrepancies or problems.
(8) Identifies Person(s) who shall propose

actions to correct problems identified, and
(9) Identifies Person(s) who shall assess

actions taken and document improvement.
d. Provides for periodic biological testing, where

appropriate, that demonstrates proper treatment of the waste.
e. Provides for assurances that clearly

demonstrate that infectious waste has been properly treated;
and

f. Is in compliance with all federal, state and
local laws and regulations pertaining to environmental
protection.

2. Initial  Efficacy Test.
a. The manufacturer, owner, or operator of a

treatment unit shall conduct an Initial Efficacy Test,
pursuant to Appendix A of this Section, for each model prior
to its operation.  If significant mechanical changes are made
to a treatment unit, the Initial Efficacy Test must be repeated.
The treatment units are considered to be the same model if
they:

(1) Are manufactured by same company, 
(2) Have the same company name, and
(3) Have no significant mechanical changes.

b. The Initial Efficacy Test shall be conducted
using option 1, 2 or 3 as described in Appendix A of this
Section, using the challenge loads listed in Table C of
Appendix A, or by an equivalent procedure that meets the
requirements of the Initial Efficacy Test and has been

approved by the Department.  If any of the challenge loads
fails the Initial Efficacy Test, the operating conditions must
be revised and the Initial Efficacy Test must be repeated for
all challenge loads. The Initial Efficacy Test must also meet
the requirements of this Section.

c. Composition of challenge loads
(1) For treatment units designed to treat all

types of infectious wastes, all three types of challenge loads
must be used in conducting the Initial Efficacy Test.  The
three (3) types of challenge loads represent infectious waste
with a high moisture content, low moisture content and high
organic content.  The quantity of each challenge load must
equal 100% of the maximum capacity of the treatment unit.
Each challenge load must consist of a minimum 5% (by
weight) of each of the following categories:  blood/broth
cultures, fibers, metals, sharps, plastics, pathological waste,
glass, non-woven fibers, and bottles of liquids.  Table C of
Appendix A  contains the moisture and organic content
requirements that must be met in each type of challenge
load.

(2) For treatment units designed to treat select
categories of infectious waste (e. g., sharps treatment unit),
modification in the composition of the challenge load(s) may
be used if approved by the Department in writing.

d. The Initial Efficacy Test must be conducted
under the same operating conditions under which the
treatment unit operates on a day-to-day basis.  The feed rate
for the treatment unit must remain constant throughout the
Initial Efficacy Test.  This feed rate must never be exceeded
during the operation of the treatment unit.

e. The Initial Efficacy Test must be performed so
that:

(1) Each container of the test microorganisms
and/or indicator microorganism spores is placed in the load
to simulate the worst case scenario (i. e., that part of load that
is the most difficult to treat). For example, the worst case
scenario for an autoclave would be to place the container(s)
of test microorganisms and/or indicator microorganism
spores within a sharps container that must in turn be
deposited in a plastic biohazard bag that is then located
centrally within the challenge loads. 

(2) Test microorganisms and/or indicator
microorganisms must be cultured and enumerated in
accordance with instructions provided by the supplier of
microorganisms and Standard Methods for the Examination
of Water and Wastewater.

f. A Document of Initial Efficacy Test must be
retained in the treatment facility, and made available during
normal business hours for inspection and photocopying by
an authorized representative of the Department. The
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Document of Initial Efficacy Test must include at the
minimum:

(1) A detailed description of the test
procedures used, including all test data generated, with
descriptions of data handling, and interpretation of final test
results.

(2) A detailed description and verification of
the operating parameters (e. g., temperature, pressure,
retention times, chemical concentrations, irradiation dose,
and feed rates).

(3) A description of quality assurance/quality
control procedures and practices for the culture, storage and
preparation of test and/or indicator microorganisms
(including, but not limited to, organism history, source, stock
culture maintenance, and enumeration procedures).  The
purity of the test microorganisms and/or indicator
microorganism spores must be certified by a commercial or
clinical laboratory.

3. Periodic Verification Test(s)
a. The effectiveness of the treatment unit shall be

verified by conducting Periodic Verification Test(s) which
must be carried out in accordance with this Subsection.

b. Periodic Verification Test(s) must be
conducted quarterly or more frequently if required by the
permit or recommended by the manufacturer.

c. The manufacturer, owner, or operator of a
treatment unit must perform Periodic Verification Test(s)
that satisfy at least one (1) of the following:

(1) Passing the Initial Efficacy Test by using
option 1, 2 or 3 of appendix A of this part (whichever is
applicable).  The three challenge loads described in
Appendix A, Table C, do not need to be used.  The test
microorganism or indicator microorganisms must be placed
in a representative load in accordance with Subsection 11,
Part 1, L.2.e.(1).  For example, an autoclave may use option
3 (e. g., demonstrate at a minimum the destruction of one
million Bacillus stearothermophilus spores) to meet the
Periodic Verification Test requirement.  In the case of an
incinerator a stainless steel pipe with threaded ends and
removable caps lined with ceramic insulation may be used to
contain a glass culture vial with a Bacillus subtilis spores
strip.  The pipe with the spore strips may be placed in the
load of infectious waste for the Periodic Verification Test.
After the treatment, the pipe with the spore strips may be
recovered and the spores may be cultured to assess whether,
at a minimum, one million spores have been destroyed to
meet the Periodic Verification Test(s) requirement.

(2) Correlating the log kill (L) of the test
microorganisms in the Initial Efficacy Test to an equivalent
log kill (T) of indicator microorganism spores in accordance

with Appendix B.  The equivalent log kill (T) of indicator
microorganism spores must be used for all subsequent
Periodic Verification Tests.  The correlation must be done
with three challenge loads identified in Table C of Appendix
A (See Subsection 11, Part 1, L.3.d below for further
requirements).

(3) Submitting to and obtaining written
approval by the Department for a procedure that is
equivalent to Subsection 11, Part 1, L.3.c.(1) and (2).
Examples of alternatives include, but are not limited to, use
of another indicator microorganism, or measurement of
disinfectant concentrations in the treated residue.  For
incinerators only, an example of an alternative is visually
inspecting the ash from each load of treated infectious waste
to ensure that all infectious waste within the load is
completely combusted.  The approval of an alternative by
the Department may require more frequent testing and/or
monitoring of the treatment unit.

d. If correlation is being used for the Periodic
Verification Test, (i. e., the correlation of log kill (L) of the
test microorganisms with equivalent log kill (T) of the
indicator microorganism spores) the following procedures
apply:

(1) At a minimum, an initial population of one
million indicator microorganism spores per gram of waste
solids in each challenge load must be used.

(2) The fraction of surviving indicator
microorganism spores that correlates to a log kill (L) of six
(6) for each test microorganism must be used for future
Periodic Verification Test(s).  [For example, if a log kill (L)
of four (4) for the indicator microorganism spores per gram
of waste solids is achieved during this demonstration, then a
population of 10,000 of indicator microorganism spores
must be used in future Periodic Verification Test(s).]
Challenge loads described in Appendix A, Table C, do not
need to be used.  The test microorganism or indicator
microorganism spores must be placed in a representative
load in accordance with Subsection 11, Part 1, L.2.e.(1).

(3) An equivalent log kill (T) of at least three
(3) for the indicator microorganism spores must be achieved
to ensure that all test microorganisms are destroyed.

(4) Test microorganisms and/or indicator
microorganism spores must be cultured and enumerated in
accordance with instructions provided by the supplier of the
microorganisms and Standard Methods for the Examination
of Water and Wastewater.

(5) The Periodic Verification Test and Initial
Efficacy Test may be run concurrently to verify the
correlation.

e. If a load of infectious waste fails a Periodic
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Verification Test, the Periodic Verification Test(s) must be
repeated.  The operator shall implement the quality
assurance program and contact the manufacturer. If
applicable, identify and correct the exact problem(s) until the
unit can eliminate the infectious potential of the infectious
waste.  If the operating parameters are altered another Initial
Efficacy Test must be performed to demonstrate the
effectiveness of the unit and, if applicable, another Periodic
Verification Test correlation, pursuant to Subsection 11, Part
1, L.3.c must be repeated.  Loads of infectious waste that
were processed prior to receiving the results showing a
failure of Periodic Verification Test are considered treated.
A second Periodic Verification Test must be run
immediately after the first Periodic Verification Test
indicates failure.  The second Periodic Verification Test is to
determine whether or not the treatment unit is eliminating
the infectious potential of the waste.  After the second
Periodic Verification Test shows a failure of the treatment
unit, any waste processed after the first detection of failure is
considered infectious waste and must be managed
accordingly. 

f. Results of the Periodic Verification Test(s)
must be received, verified and made available for inspection
by the Department within 2 weeks of when the test was
conducted.  When a Periodic Verification Test is used to
confirm the failure of a treatment unit, the results of the
Periodic Verification Test(s) must be made available in
accordance with the requirements of subsection h below.

g. A Document of Correlating Periodic
Verification Demonstration must be prepared by and
retained for at least three (3) years at the treatment facility
during normal business hours for inspection by the
Department. The Document of Periodic Verification
Demonstration must include, at a minimum:

(1) A detailed description of the test
procedures used and the correlation between the log kill (L)
of the test microorganisms and the equivalent log kill (T) of
the indicator microorganism spores.   An evaluation of the
test results must include all test data generated, a description
of data handling, and a presentation and interpretation of test
results.

(2) A detailed description and verification of
the operating parameters (e. g., temperature, pressure,
retention times, chemical concentrations, irradiation dose,
and feed rates).

(3) A description of quality assurance/quality
control procedures and practices for the culture, storage and
preparation of test and/or indicator microorganisms
(including, but not limited to, organism history, source, stock
culture maintenance, and enumeration procedures).  The

purity of the test microorganisms and/or indicator
microorganism spores must be certified by a commercial or
clinical laboratory.

h. Records of Periodic Verification Test(s) must
be prepared and retained for at least three (3) years at the
treatment facility, and made available at the treatment
facility during normal business hours for inspection by the
Department. These records will include, at the minimum:

(1) The date(s) on which the Periodic
Verification Test(s) were performed.

(2) Operating parameters (e. g., temperature,
pressure, retention times, chemical concentrations,
irradiation dose and feed rates).

(3) Test protocols.
(4) Evaluation of test results.
(5) The name(s), date, signature(s) and title(s)

of Person(s) conducting the Periodic Verification Test(s).
i. Periodic Verification Test(s) must be

conducted under the same operating conditions under which
the treatment unit operates on day-to-day basis.  The feed
rate for the treatment unit is the maximum feed rate at which
the unit operates on day-to-day basis. The feed rate must
remain constant throughout the Periodic Verification Test(s).
This feed rate must never be exceeded during the operation
of the treatment unit.

N. TRANSPORTATION
All transporters of infectious waste must be in

compliance with all applicable federal and state regulations
and codes. 

1. Temperature Control and Storage Period
The transporter must deliver infectious waste to a

disposal facility within 15 days from collection from the
generation facility.

a. Infectious waste shall be transported in a
manner that:

(1) Affords protection from vectors, rain and
wind,

(2) Prevents the spread of infectious agents,
(3) Does not provide a breeding place or food

source for vectors, and
(4) Prevents leakage of waste from the storage

bags or other containers.
b. Infectious waste shall be transported to off-site

processing or disposal facilities in a manner consistent with
Section 11 Part 1 G of these regulations.

c. Motor Vehicles for transporting infectious
waste shall be:

 (1) noncompaction type vehicles.
(a) Surfaces of vehicles that have been in
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direct physical contact with infectious waste, because of a
leak in a container or because of some other reason, shall be
decontaminated as soon as possible after unloading.
Surfaces of vehicles that have not been in direct physical
contact with infectious waste shall be decontaminated
weekly.

2. Packaging, Labeling and Placards
a. No person shall transport or receive for

transport any infectious waste that is not packaged and
labeled in accord with these regulations.

b. Any vehicle holding infectious waste in
transport shall have a warning sign in bold letters, a
minimum of 4 inches in height and in a color that contrasts
the color of the vehicle, that indicates the cargo is infectious
waste.

c. Vehicle access door labeling:
(1) Transporters in interstate commerce must

comply with one of the following labeling options:
(a) The access doors to the cargo area of

the vehicle must meet the requirement for intrastate
transporters of infectious waste, as described in paragraph
11.M.2.c.(2). Section N.2.c.(2) of this part; or

(b) The access doors to the cargo area of
the vehicle must comply with the labeling requirements of
the state of origin of the infectious waste or the labeling
requirements of the state of destination of the infectious
waste.  Examples of the labeling must be submitted to and
approved by the Department prior to transport of the
infectious waste through Delaware.  

(2) Transporters in intrastate commerce:  The
access doors to the cargo area of the vehicle must bear a sign
with the words INFECTIOUS WASTE in bold, four inch
letters.  Such sign must be easily readable from a distance of
25 feet.  The access doors to the cargo area of the vehicle
must additionally bear a sign with the universal biological
hazard symbol with minimum symbol dimension of six
inches, and with the word BIOHAZARD in bold letters at
least one inch in height.  The symbol must be easily
recognizable from a distance of 25 feet. 

3. Management of Spills of Infectious Waste
a. Spill containment and cleanup kit.
All infectious waste transportation vehicles are

required to keep within the vehicle the containment and
cleanup kit specified in the permit.  The vehicle shall be
equipped with a written plan, approved by the Department,
that provides the means of decontamination of a release of
infectious waste while transporting the waste to the
treatment or disposal site or while handling the waste at the
site.  The driver shall be trained by the employer to
implement this plan.

b. As required in 7 Del. C. Chapter 60, the
Department is to be notified immediately of all spills.

4. Loading and Unloading
Persons manually loading or unloading containers

of infectious waste on or from transport vehicles shall be
required to wear protective gloves or clothing, as
appropriate.  

O. STERILIZATION
1. Application

The requirements of this part apply to all persons
that steam sterilize infectious waste.

2. Performance Standards
All persons that steam sterilize infectious waste

shall maintain the following level of operational
performance at all times: 

a. Operational temperature and detention.
Whenever infectious wastes are treated in a

steam sterilizer, all the waste shall be subjected to a
temperature of not less than 250 degrees Fahrenheit for 90
minutes at 15 pounds per square inch of gauge pressure or
not less than 272 degrees Fahrenheit for 45 minutes at 27
pounds per square inch of gauge pressure.  Other
combinations of operational temperatures, pressure and time
may be used if the installed equipment has been proved to
achieve a reliable and complete kill of all microorganisms in
waste at capacity.  Complete and thorough testing shall be
fully documented, including tests of the capacity of kill B.
stearothermophilus.

b. Operational controls and records.
(1) Each package of waste to be steam

sterilized shall have autoclave tape attached that will indicate
if the sterilization temperature has been reached and waste
will not be considered satisfactorily sterilized if the indicator
fails to indicate that the temperature was reached during the
process.

(2) Steam sterilization units shall be evaluated
for effectiveness with spores of B. stearothermophilus no
less than once every 40 hours of operation or once per
month, whichever is more often.

(3) A log shall be kept at each sterilization
unit that is complete for the proceeding three year period.
The log shall record the date, time, temperature, pressure,
type of waste, type of container(s), closure on container(s),
pattern of loading, water content, operator of each usage; the
type and approximate amount of waste treated; the
post-sterilization reading of the temperature sensitive tape;
the dates and results of calibration; and the results of
effectiveness testing with B. stearothermophilus.

(4) Infectious waste shall not be compacted or
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subjected to violent mechanical stress before sterilization;
however, after it is fully sterilized it may be compacted in a
closed container.

3. Compliance with Other Parts of these Regulations
In general, sterilizer facilities shall comply with all

other parts of these regulations.  The site of the sterilizer
facility is a storage facility and must comply with those
regulations.  Spills or the opening in an emergency of any
infectious waste package, shall comply with the regulations
pertaining to spills.

4. Off-Site Operations
Any person who operates off-site facilities for the

sterilization of infectious waste shall operate those facilities
in compliance with a plan approved by the Department.  The
plan shall address in detail practices, procedures and
precautions in the unloading, preparation and sterilizer
loading of the waste.

P. MANIFEST REQUIREMENTS
1. A generator of infectious waste shall complete a

manifest before shipping, or causing the shipment of,
infectious waste off site.  The manifest shall consist of a
multicopy form provided by the Department or equivalent
approved in writing by the Department.

2. No person shall accept custody of infectious waste
unless the waste is packaged in accordance with the
requirements of Section 11, Part 1, G,  Section H of this part
and is accompanied by a properly completed manifest which
complies with the requirements of Section P of this part. this
subsection.  Upon accepting custody of infectious waste, the
transporter shall sign and date the manifest.  After the
manifest has been signed and dated by both the generator
and the transporter, the generator shall retain one copy of the
form.  The transporter shall keep the remaining four copies
until the waste is delivered to the infectious waste
facility.Upon accepting custody of the infectious waste, the
infectious waste management facility shall sign and date the
manifest.  After the manifest has been signed and dated by
the infectious waste management facility, the transporter
shall retain a copy of the form and the infectious waste
management facility shall send a copy of the form to the
generator. Upon ultimate disposal the infectious waste
management facility shall send a signed and dated copy of
the form to the Department.

3. The operator of an infectious waste management
facility may accept custody of infectious waste only if the
waste is accompanied by a manifest which complies with the
requirements of Section P of this part. the subsection. Upon
accepting the waste, the operator of the infectious waste
management facility shall sign and date the manifest, give

one copy to the transporter, and keep the remaining three
copies.   After the waste has been treated or disposed of in
accordance with the requirements of the section, the  The
operator shall:

a. Sign and date the remaining three copies of the
manifest certifying that the waste has been so treated or
disposed of; will be treated and/or handled in accordance
with all applicable regulations and facility permits.

When multiple consignments are received and disposed
as a batch, a cover letter with a list of manifest numbers, date
received, date rendered non-infectious, certification of
disposal, signature and date may be substituted for
individual certification on each manifest.  The cover letter
must be mailed to the State with manifests attached.  The
generator copy of these manifests may use a date and
signature stamp in lieu of original signature.

b. Send one copy of the manifest to the generator
no later than fifteen calendar days from the date on which the
waste was treated or disposed of;

c. Send one copy of the manifest to the
Department; and

d. Keep the remaining copy.
4. Any generator of infectious waste who does not

receive a copy of the manifest signed by the operator of the
infectious waste management facility within fifteen calendar
days of the date of shipment shall immediately contact the
transporter and the facility to determine the status of the
shipment.  If, within twenty days of the date of shipment, the
generator still has not received a signed copy of the manifest
from the infectious waste management facility, the generator
shall notify the Department in writing. The notification shall
include a legible copy of the manifest as signed by the
generator and transporter, a description of the efforts made
by the generator to locate the shipment, and the results of
those efforts.

5. Copies of the manifest shall be retained by all
parties for at least three years.

6. Each generator of infectious waste shall submit an
annual report on a form provided by the Department,
summarizing the information from all manifests completed
during the preceding calendar year.  This report shall be
submitted to the Department within ninety days after the end
of the calendar year. The information contained in the report
shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

a. A description of infectious waste generated and
transported off site for treatment and disposal;

b. The total weight of infectious waste generated
and transported off site for treatment and disposal;

c. The names and addresses of persons engaged
by the generator to transport infectious waste off site;



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1626

d. The names and locations of the infectious
waste management facilities with which the generator
contracted for the treatment and/or disposal of infectious
waste.

7. Each transporter of infectious waste shall submit an
annual report on a form provided by the Department,
summarizing the information from all manifests completed
during the preceding calendar year.  This report shall be
submitted to the Department within ninety days after the end
of the calendar year.  The information contained in the report
shall include, but not be limited to the following:

a. A description of infectious waste transported
off site for treatment and disposal;

b. The total weight of infectious waste
transported off site for treatment and disposal;

c. The names and addresses of generators
contracting with the transporter to transport infectious waste
off site.

d. The names and locations of the infectious
waste management facilities where the transporter deposited
the infectious waste for treatment and /or disposal.

SECTION 11, PART 1
APPENDIX A 

Initial Efficacy Test Procedures

The manufacturer, owner, or operator of an infectious
waste treatment unit must carry out an Initial Efficacy Test
by using Option 1, 2, or, 3 below, as appropriate for the type
of unit, or other procedures, if approved in advance by the
Department. 

1. Option 1 
This option consists of two (2) Phases:
a. Phase 1:  Determining the dilution of each test

microorganism from the treatment unit for each challenge
load (Types A through C) identified in Table C of this
Appendix. 

(1) Prepare and sterilize by autoclaving two (2)
challenge loads of Type A as identified in Table C.  Reserve
one challenge load for Phase 2.

(2) Process each test microorganism in separate
runs through the treatment unit. Prior to each run, determine
the number of viable test microorganisms in each container,
in accordance with applicable manufacturer's
recommendations and Standard Methods for the
Examination of Water and Wastewater.

(3) Process each challenge load within thirty (30)
minutes after introducing the container of test

microorganism into the treatment unit.  The container of test
microorganisms and the challenge loads must be processed
together without the physical and/or chemical agents
designed to kill the test microorganisms.  For example, in
treatment units that use chemical disinfectant(s), an equal
volume of liquid (e. g., sterile saline solution (0.9%, volume/
volume), phosphate buffer solution, or tap water) must be
substituted in place of the chemical disinfectant(s).

(4) Obtain at least five (5) representative grab
samples from the processed residue of each challenge load in
accordance with Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste
Physical/Chemical Methods (SW-846). The number of
viable test microorganisms in each grab sample must be
determined in accordance with applicable manufacturer's
recommendations and Standard Methods for the
Examination of Water and Wastewater.

(5) Calculate the effect of dilution for the
treatment unit as follows:

SA = Log N0A - LogN1A: where Log N1A ³ 6

where:SA is the log of the number of viable test
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) that were not
recovered after processing challenge load Type A.

N0A is the number of viable test

microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) introduced into
the treatment unit for challenge load Type A.

N1A is the number of viable test
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) remaining in
the processed residue for challenge load Type A.

If Log N1A is less than 6, then the number of
viable test microorganisms introduced into the treatment unit
must be increased and steps (1) through (6) in Phase 1 must
be repeated until LogN1A is ³ 6. N0A is the inoculum size

for challenge load Type A in Phase 2 below.
(6) Repeat steps (1) through (5) in Phase 1 for

challenge loads of infectious waste for Type B and C
identified in Table C of this Appendix to determine the effect
of dilution (SB and SC respectively).

b. Phase 2:  Determining the log kill of each test
microorganism in each challenge load (Type A through C)
identified in Table C of this Appendix.

(1) Using the inoculum size (N0A) determined in

Phase 1 above, repeat Phase 1 steps (1) through (5) under the
same operating parameters, except that the physical and/or
chemical agents designed to kill the test microorganisms
must be used.

(2) Calculate the effectiveness of the treatment
unit by subtracting the log of viable cells after the treatment



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1627

from the log of the viable cells introduced into the treatment
unit as inoculum, as follows:

LA = Log N0A - SA - Log N2A ³ 6

where:LA is the log kill of the test microorganisms
(CFU/gram of waste solids) after treatment in the challenge
load Type A.

N0A is the number of viable test microorganisms

(CFU/gram of waste solids) introduced into the treatment
unit as the inoculum for challenge load Type A as
determined in Phase 1 above.

SA is the log of the number of viable test
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) that were not
recovered after processing challenge load Type A in Phase 1
above.

N2A is the log of the number of viable test
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) remaining in
the treated residue for challenge load Type A.

(3) Repeat steps (1) and (2) in Phase 2 for
challenge loads Types B and C identified in Table C of this
Appendix to determine the effectiveness of the treatment
unit (LB and LC respectively).
2. Option 2:

a. Place one microbiological indicator assay
containing one of the test microorganisms at numbers greater
than one million in a sealed container that remains intact
during the treatment.  The inside diameter of the container
must be no larger than required to contain the assay vial(s).
The vial(s) must contain the test microorganisms.

b. Place the container of test microorganisms within a
Type A challenge load as identified in Table C of this
Appendix.

c. Process the load.
d. Calculate the effectiveness of the treatment unit by

subtracting the log of viable cells after treatment from log of
viable cells introduced into the treatment unit as inoculum,
as follows:

LA = Log N0 - Log N2A³ 6

where:LA is the log kill of the test microorganisms
(CFU/gram of waste solids) after treatment in the challenge
load Type A.

N0 is the number of viable test microorganisms

(CFU/gram of waste solids) introduced into the treatment
unit as the inoculum.

N2A is the log of the number of viable test
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) remaining in
the treated residue for challenge load Type A.

e. Repeat steps a through d in this option for challenge

loads Types B and C identified in Table C of this Appendix
to determine the effectiveness of the treatment unit (LB and
LC respectively).

3. Option 3:
a. Place one microbiological indicator assay

containing at least one million spores of one of the indicator
microorganisms listed in Table B of this Appendix, in a
sealed container that remains intact during treatment.  The
inside diameter of the container must be no larger than
required to contain the assay vial(s). 

b. Place the container of the indicator microorganisms
within a Type A challenge load as identified in Table C of
this Appendix.

c. Process the load.
d. Calculate the effectiveness of the treatment unit by

subtracting the log of viable cells after treatment from log of
viable cells introduced into the treatment unit as inoculum,
as follows:

LA = Log N0 - Log N2A³6

where:LA is the log kill of the test microorganisms
(CFU/gram of waste solids) after treatment in challenge load
Type A.

N0 is the number of viable indicator

microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) introduced into
the treatment unit as the inoculum.

N2A is the log of the number of viable test
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) remaining in
the treated residue for challenge load Type A.

e. Repeat steps a through d in this option for challenge
loads Types B and C identified in Table C of this Appendix
to determine the effectiveness of the treatment unit (LB and
LC, respectively).

APPENDIX A: TABLES

TABLE A: Test Microorganisms
a. Staphylococcus aureus (ATCC 6538)
b. Pseudomonas aeruginosa  (ATCC 15442)
c. Candida albicans (ATCC 18804)  
d. Trichophyton mentagrophytes (ATCC 9533)
e. MS-2 Bacteriophage (ATCC 15597-B1)
f. Mycobacterium smegmatis (ATCC 14468)

TABLE B: Indicator Microorganisms
a. Bacillus subtilis (ATCC 19659)
b. Bacillus stearothermophilus (ATCC 7953)
c. Bacillus pumilus (ATCC 27142)
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TABLE C: Challenge Loads
This Table identifies the three types of challenge

loads of infectious waste that must be used as a part of Initial
Efficacy Test and Periodic Verification Test(s).

COMPOSITION OF CHALLENGE LOADS  % (w/w)
Type A B C
Moisture£5 ³50 -----
Organic ---- ---- ³70

APPENDIX B 
Correlating Periodic Verification Procedures 

1. Use a certified microbiological indicator assay
containing the test microorganisms and indicator
microorganism spores.

2. Place the test microorganisms and indicator
microorganism spores into sealed containers that remain
intact during treatment.

3. Place a container of the test microorganisms and
indicator microorganism spores in each challenge load (as
described in Appendix A, Table C) to simulate the worst
case scenario (i. e., that part of load that is the most difficult
to treat). For example, the worst case scenario for an
autoclave would be to place the container of test
microorganisms and indicator microorganism spores within
a sharp container that must in turn be deposited in a plastic
biohazard bag that is then located centrally within the
treatment unit.

4. Determine the effectiveness of the treatment unit by
calculating the log kill (L) of the test microorganisms in
accordance with Option 2 of Appendix A.  The equivalent
kill (T) of the indicator microorganism spores is calculated
by subtracting the log of viable cells after treatment from the
log of viable cells introduced into the treatment unit as
inoculum as follows:

TA = Log N0 - Log N2A³ 3

where:TA is the equivalent log kill of the viable
indicator microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) after
treatment in the challenge load Type A.

N0 is the number of viable indicator microorganism

spores (CFU/gram of waste solids) introduced into the
treatment unit as the inoculum (³6).

N2A is the number of viable indicator
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) remaining after
treatment in challenge load Type A.

5. Repeat steps 1 through 4 for challenge loads Types
B and C identified in Table C of Appendix A to determine

the correlation between the log kill of the test
microorganisms and equivalent kill of the indicator
microorganism spores (LB and LC, respectively). 

SECTION 11:  SPECIAL WASTES MANAGEMENT
Part 2 - Municipal Solid Waste Ash

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
1. Municipal solid waste (MSW) ash is considered a

hazardous waste, as defined in the Delaware Regulations
Governing Hazardous Waste (DRGHW), unless the
generator of the ash can demonstrate that the ash is not a
hazardous waste.  In order to make such a demonstration, the
owner or operator of the generating facility must show that
the ash does not exhibit the Toxicity Characteristic (TC) as
described in DRGHW, §261.24.  Any person desiring to
make such a demonstration shall develop and implement a
sampling and analysis plan designed to provide reliable
information on the chemical properties of the ash.  The plan
shall be submitted to the Solid Waste Management Branch
as a part of the facility's application for a Solid Waste
Facility permit.  The facility will not be permitted to operate
until the Department has approved the plan. 

2. The sampling and analysis plan shall include the
following:

a. A detailed description of the sampling protocol
(how and where samples will be collected, how many
samples will be collected, how samples will be composited,
how samples will be handled and stored, etc.) 

b. A description of the analyses that will be
performed on the samples. 

c. A description of the procedures that will be
used to ensure the quality of the sampling and analysis data.  

3. The owner or operator of a facility in Delaware
desiring to process MSW ash generated in another state must
first receive written approval from the Department to accept
MSW ash from that generator.  To receive such an approval
a person must:

a. Demonstrate, to the Department's satisfaction,
that the ash does not exceed the levels specified in the TC;
and 

b. Develop, and receive Department approval of,
a plan for sampling and analysis of the incoming MSW ash. 

B. SAMPLING
1. This subsection describes the minimum amount of

sampling that the Department deems appropriate for MSW
ash generated by facilities that meet the following two
assumptions:

a. The waste feed prior to incineration is not
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segregated by type of generator, and 
b. The ash generated is not separated by size

during storage or disposal. 
If either of these two assumptions is not valid, then

a facility-specific sampling and analysis program shall be
designed by knowledgeable personnel and shall be
implemented after receiving Department approval.  

2. The sampling strategy shall be sufficient to enable
the facility owner or operator to assess the properties of the
ash and to ascertain its variability over time. 

3. The sampling strategy shall provide for
reassessment of the ash at least quarterly, in accordance with
a Department-approved schedule.  In determining how often
to recharacterize the ash, the generator shall consider all
facility-specific and external factors that could cause the ash
properties to vary.  These factors include:

a. Changes in the composition of the waste (e.g.,
new types of industries moving into the area, institution of
recycling programs in the collection area, seasonal changes
affecting population or waste
composition).

b. Changes in plant design (e.g., addition of dry
scrubber, addition of quench tank).

c. Significant changes in plant operating
conditions (e.g., increase in combustion time or temperature,
change in lime utilization rate).

4. The sampling strategy shall include the following
steps:

a. Determine the most convenient location for
sampling.  In situations where the sampling can be
conducted either from transport vehicles or from the waste
conveyance device, the Department recommends sampling
from the transport vehicle (i.e. dump truck, barge).

b. Construct a sampling device (trough, bucket,
shovel, thief, etc.) to be used to gather a grab sample of the
entire depth of the hopper, pile, or truck load, or the entire
width of the belt conveyor, drag chain flight, or vibrating
conveyor. ASTM standards for sampling unconsolidated
waste materials from trucks may be used for guidance if the
ash is to be sampled from trucks. 

c. If a conveyor is to be the sample location,
collect the entire width of the conveyor at a fixed point each
hour for eight (8) hours.  If trucks are to be sampled,
randomly select eight trucks to sample during the eight-hour
period.  In certain situations, where fewer than eight
truckloads are generated, a different schedule may be
necessary (e.g., less than one truck per hour).  Composite all
samples for the period into an eight-hour composite.
Containerize, label, and set aside for further processing. 

d. Collect a second eight-hour composite during

the course of the work day.  The second composite should be
collected during a different shift from the first composite. 

e. For an initial waste characterization, collect
samples each day for a minimum of one week's operation
(i.e., fourteen composite samples).  

C. ANALYSIS
1. Each composite sample shall be tested, using

Method 1311 [Toxicity Characteristic Leaching Procedure
(TCLP)], and the results analyzed, to determine whether the
ash passes or fails the TC as defined in the DRGHW, §
261.24.

2. All testing shall be performed following the
specific procedures described in "Test Methods for
Evaluating Solid Waste" (SW-846). 

3. The testing shall be performed by an independent
laboratory. 

4. In lieu of TCLP, testing for total concentration of
constituents (i.e., the contaminants listed in DRGHW,
§261.24, Table 1) may be performed.  If no constituent is
present at a concentration exceeding the TC regulatory limit,
the waste may be considered non-hazardous.  However, if
the concentration of any constituent exceeds the TC
regulatory limit, TCLP must be performed to determine
whether the waste is hazardous.

5. If it has been demonstrated that none of the organic
constituents listed in DRGHW,   §261.24, Table 1, is present
in the ash at a detectable level, the ash need not be routinely
tested for the organics. 

D. QUALITY ASSURANCE AND QUALITY
CONTROL

The sampling and analysis plan shall include:
1. A detailed description of the steps that will be taken

to ensure quality control, and 
2. A provision for appointing a knowledgeable person

to oversee the sampling and analysis program to ensure that
all procedures are followed. 

E. DATA EVALUATION
The following approach shall be used in evaluating the

data to determine whether the ash passes or fails the TC (see
SW-846, Chapter Nine, Tables 9-1 and 9-2 for statistical
formulas to use in making the calculations):

1. Determine the mean TC concentration (x) of the
fourteen eight-hour composite samples for each regulated
analyte (equation 2a of Table 9-1).  

2. Determine the standard deviation(s) of the data
employed to calculate the mean (i.e., the individual
composite results) (equation 3a and 4 of Table 9-1). 
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3. Determine the upper bound of the 90 percent
(one-sided) confidence interval for the mean for each analyte
(equation 6 of Table 9-1).  

4. If the upper bound of the interval is below the
applicable regulatory threshold for all analytes listed in
DRGHW, §261.24, then the waste passes the TC.  If the
upper bound of the interval is above the applicable
regulatory threshold for any analyte listed in DRGHW,
§261.24, then the waste fails the TC.

SECTION 12:  SEVERABILITY
If any provision of these regulations, or the application

of any provision of these regulations to any person or
circumstance, is held invalid, the application of such
provision to other persons or circumstances, and the
remainder of these regulations, shall not be affected thereby.

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  4 Delaware Code,
Section 304(a)(1) (4 Del.C. 304(a)(1))

ORDER

Following notice published in the Register of
Regulations, the News Journal, and Delaware State News
and a public hearing, the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage
Control Commission makes the following findings pursuant
to 29 Del. C. § 10118.

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION 
SUBMITTED 

The Commission conducted a public hearing on the
proposed amendments to Rule 29 on January 26, 1999.  At
the public hearing, licensees made suggestions for
improving the proposed Rule 29.  Representatives of the
retail and wholesale segments of the alcohol industry
indicated that daily price changes to a toll-free telephone
number would pose a hardship to small retailers by causing
them to continuously check to see whether price changes had
been made.  At least one licensee suggested that the Rule
should allow only weekly changes in prices.

The written comments from NKS proposed that the 3
day hold in Rule 29.3(a) on the availability of a new product
should be deleted from the Rule as inconsistent with the
Commission's desire to eliminate any type of "hold" in Rule
29.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The public was given notice and an opportunity to

provide the Commission with comments in writing and by
oral testimony on the proposed amendments to Rule 29
pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act.

2. The Commission met on February 18, 1999 at a
public meeting to consider verbal and written comments
concerning proposed Rule 29.

3. The Commission agreed it should consider
incorporating some of the verbal and written suggestions.

4. The Commission voted 4-0 not to approve the
proposed Rule 29 in its original version.

5. The Commission determined that at least some of
the proposed changed to the Rule were substantive changes
requiring re-notice of the Rule.

DECISION  

The Commission will re-notice a revised proposal
containing substantive changes. 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION
Adam L. Balick, Chairman
George J. Coyle, Commissioner
Ruth D. Morris, Commissioner
Robert G. Medd, Commissioner

* PLEASE NOTE:  THE PROPOSED RULE 29 WAS

PUBLISHED IN VOLUME 2, ISSUE 7 PAGE 1216 OF THE

REGISTER.   THE REPROPOSAL IS PUBLISHED IN THIS

ISSUE OF THE REGISTER AT PAGE 1538.

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR
CHILDREN, YOUTH AND

THEIR FAMILIES
DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES

OFFICE OF CHILD CARE LICENSING

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Chapter 3 (31 Del.C. Ch. 3)

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

Revision of Requirements for Residential |
Child Care Facilities, Transitional Living |
Programs and Day Treatment Programs |

Pursuant to Title 31, Chapter 3, Subchapter II,
Subsections 341 through 344, the Delaware Department of
Services for Children, Youth and Their Families, Division of
Family Services hereby issues this order promulgating the
rules for Residential Child Care Facilities, and Day
Treatment Programs.  Following notice and a public hearing

http://www.state.de.us/pubsafe/index.htm
http://www.state.de.us/kids/occlhome.htm
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held on January 13, 1998 on the proposed rules, the
Department makes the following findings and conclusions.:

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION 
SUBMITTED

1.  The Department posted public notice of the proposed
rules in the Register of Regulations and in the News Journal
and the Delaware State News.

2.  The Department received both written comments
during the comment period and oral comments during the
public hearing.  The comments focused on the Assistance of
Medication section of the rules, the qualifications of a
teacher in an on-grounds education program, the
differentiating between oral PRN’s and Chemical Restraint
and smoking on grounds by children and staff.  All the
comments ere received from members of the work group
which established the rules.  No comments were received
from the general pubic.  The work goup was comprised of
the licensees regulated by the current rules and other parties
with an interest in residential child care and day treatment
programs.

FINDINGS OF FACT

3.  The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Board with comments in writing and by oral
testimony on the proposed rules.  The comments received
are summarized in paragraph #2.

4.  The Department found that the issues raised during
the public comment period warranted further research and
revision by the work group.  The Department researched
other states rules and gathered information from recognized
experts on these issues.  The Department subsequently met
with the small goups who raised the conserns.  The proposed
rules were revised.

5.  The revisions were presented to the entire rule
revision work group on August 25, 1998.  The work group
approved the changes.

CONCLUSIONS

6.  The propsed Delacare:  Requirements for Residential
Child Care Facilities and Day Treatment Programs were
promulgated by the Department of Services in accordance
with its statutory authority as set forth in Title 31, Chapter 3,
Subchapter II, Subsections 341 through 344.

7.  The Department concludes that the adoption of the
proposed regulations, as set forth in the attached copy,
should be made in the best interest of protecting the health,
safety and well-being of the children who reside in
residential child care facilities or receive care in day
treatment programs.

8.  Therefore on January 5, 1999, Thomas P. Eichler,

Secretary of the Department of Services for Children, Youth
and Their Families and Kathryn J. WAy, Director of the
Division of Family Services adopted the proposed rules,
Delacare:  Requirements for Residential Child Care
Facilities and Day Treatment Programs.

9  The effective date of the rules is May 1, 1999.

Thomas P. Eichler
Secretary

NOTICE OF RESCISSION AND PROMULGATION

The Division of Family Services, Department of
Services for Children, Youth and Their Families adopts and
promulgates the following licensing requirements for
residential child care facilities and day treatment programs
as authorized in the Delaware Code, Title 31, Subchapter II,
Subsections 341 - 344.  All previous rules, regulations and
standards pertaining to such facilities are null and void.
These requirements shall take effect on May 1, 1999.

Thomas P. Eichler, Secretary
Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their
Families

Kathryn J. Way, Director
Division of Family Services

FOREWORD

The need for protecting children receiving care outside their
homes was recognized by the Delaware General Assembly
as early as 1915.  Since 1953, Delaware has required
residential child care facilities to be licensed as authorized in
the Delaware Code, Title 31, Subchapter II, Subsections
341-344.  The licensing law defines the type of facilities that
are to be regulated by the State, and gives the authority to
“prescribe reasonable standards” and license such facilities
to the Division of Family Services.  The purpose of the law
is to protect the health, safety and well-being of the children
who in residential child facilities or receive care in day
treatment programs.  Licensing of these facilities is a
preventive function which has its purpose setting
requirements which must be met in order for a facility to be
able to operate.

In the developing the current revision of licensing
requirements, the Division of Family Services sought the
advice and assistance of knowledgeable person
representative of the fields of residential child care, day
treatment and child welfare.  The new requirements, now
under the title of Delacare: Requirements for Residential
Child Care Facilities and Day Treatment Programs, were
primarily drawn from the licensing requirements from other
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states, accreditation guidelines and the best thinking of the
practitioners in the State of Delaware.

The requirements are divided into eleven chapters.  The first
three chapters contain the requirements which must be met
by all licensees.  The fourth chapter contains the
requirements for any facility which provides 24-hour care
for children.  The remaining chapters contain additional
requirements for facilities providing specialized services.
Through this design, the Division has attempted to define
specific requirements rather than broad standards so that
compliance may be measured more accurately and
consistently.

The Division appreciates the contributions of all the
individuals in the development of these requirements and
asks for their continued support in working together to
provide better care services to children in child care.

The following individuals participated in the work group
which developed of Delacare: Requirements for
Residential Child Care Facilities and Day Treatment
Programs:

Janet CarterHarold GazanPauline KochNicholas
Scalera
Project ManagerConsultantFormer AdministratorConsultant
Administrator

Sarah Callahan, Division of Child Mental Health
John Carver, Division of Child Mental Health
Dave Casto, Division of Child Mental Health
Joseph Dell’Olio, Child Inc.
Jeanne Dunn, Division of Child Mental Health
Jonnie Green, AID in Dover
Doris Griffin, YWCA of Delaware
Greg Harrison, Au Clair School Inc.
Christine Hill, Office of Child Care Licensing
Fritz Jones, Catholic Charities
Michael Kopp, Elizabeth Murphey School
Tim McFeely, North East Treatment Centers
Penny McPherson, Grace Cottage/First Corrections
Mary Moor, Division of Child Mental Health
Tom Olsen, Division of Child Mental Health
Mary Pauer, Cedars Academy
Nancy Plerhoples, Division of Youth Rehab Srvcs.
Eileen Poorten, Bayard House
Michael Preston, Archway Programs
Dennis Reardon, AuClair School Inc.
Deborah Richardson, Child Inc.
Valeree Roach, DE Day Treatment for Young Children
Howard Sims, DGS Day Treatment
Bill Tulloch, Stepping Stones
Tom Voxmonsky, Snowden Cottage/ARC

Beverly Williams, AID in Dover, Inc.

* PLEASE NOTE:  THE TABLE OF CONTENTS IS NOT BEING

PUBLISHED DUE TO SPACE CONSTRAINTS.

Delacare Requirements for Residential Child Care Facilities
And Day Treatment Programs

CHAPTER 1.  LEGAL AUTHORITY, PURPOSE, AND
DEFINITIONS

Legal Base

1.01 The legal authority for these licensing Requirements is
in the Delaware Code, Title 31, Chapter 3, Paragraphs
341-344.

Purpose

1.02 These provisions shall be known as the Delacare
Requirements for Residential Child Care Facilities and Day
Treatment Programs.  These Requirements are designed to
protect the health, safety and well-being of children who are
placed in residential child care facilities or are enrolled in
day treatment programs.

Definitions of Regulated Services

1.03 “Day Treatment Program” means any program that
provides highly structured, intensive, non-residential
services for fewer than 24 hours each day to children who
have either: 

a. Behavioral dysfunctions; 
b. Developmental, emotional, mental or physical

impairments; or 
c. Chemical dependencies. 
Licensed residential child care facilities operating an

educational program for residents and day students shall be
exempted from being a day treatment program when more
than 50 percent of the students in that educational program
are residents of the facility.

1.04 “Residential Child Care Facility” means any
facility that provides out-of-home, 24-hour care, protection
and supervision for children who have either: behavioral
dysfunctions; developmental, emotional, mental or physical
impairments; or chemical dependencies.

Residential Child Care Facility includes, but is not
limited to, the following:

a. “Parenting Adolescent Facility” means a residential
child care facility for adolescent parents caring for their own
child(ren).

b. “Secure Residential Care Facility” means a
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residential child care facility that is authorized to use locked
doors, both exterior and interior, as the means of preventing
a child from leaving the building(s) without authorization.

c. “Shelter Care Facility” means a residential child
care facility that provides temporary or emergency care for
children for a period of time that does not exceed 30
consecutive calendar days, except as provided for in
Requirement 6.04.

d. “Transitional Care Facility” means a residential
child care facility that provides care for 12 or fewer
adolescents for the purpose of preparing them to live as
self-sufficient adults.  

A [Psychiatric hospital or a] foster home or a
psychiatric hospital in which children have been placed by a
licensed or authorized child placing agency are not
residential child care facilities.

Definition of Terms

1.05 “Adventure Activity Program” means a facility or
program whose primary purpose is to engage the children in
a course of activities of a hazardous or risk-laden nature.
The activity may involve strenuous exercise or physical
exertion. It includes high rope challenge courses, wilderness
trekking, rock climbing and rappelling, as well as a travel
camp of more than 120 consecutive hours’ duration
involving traveling through more than one state.

1.06 “Aversive Conditioning” means the involuntary,
time-limited and reasonable use of a technique or procedure
that applies an undesirable, noxious or painful stimulus to a
child in order to suppress  the specific behavior that is
potentially harmful to the child or others, for the purpose of
behavior management. 

1.07 “Behavior Management” means those principles
and methods employed by a licensee:

a. To help a child achieve positive behavior; and
b. To address and correct a child’s inappropriate

behavior in a constructive and safe manner, in accordance
with written policies and procedures governing program
expectations, treatment goals, child and staff safety and
security and the child’s service plan. 

1.08 “Chemical Restraint” means the involuntary,
unplanned and emergency application of a  psychotropic
drug to restrict the function or movement of a child for the
purpose of behavior management.  The planned and routine
application of a prescribed psychotropic drug is not a
chemical restraint.

1.09 “Chief Administrator” means the person designated

by the licensee, or by its governing body, as having
day-to-day responsibility for the overall administration and
operation of a facility or program and for assuring the care,
treatment, safety, and protection of children.  

1.10 “Child” means any of the following:  
a. A person who has not reached 18 years of age. 
b. A person in a facility or program who becomes 18

years of age while residing in the facility or participating in
the program, and who has not attained the age of 25.

1.11 “Department” means the Delaware Department of
Services for Children, Youth and Their Families.

1.12 “Direct Care Supervisor” means a person who is
assigned responsibility by a licensee for the supervision of
one or more direct care workers.
1.13 “Direct Care Worker” means a person designated
by a licensee to provide direct care of children. 

1.14 “Division” means the Division of Family Services
within the Department.

1.15 “Employee” means any person who is employed by
a licensee and [or] any person under contract with a licensee,
excluding vendors that do not provide direct services to
children.  

1.16“Exclusion” means the involuntary, time-limited
removal of a child six years of age or older from this or her
environment through the use of non-violent physical
intervention and restricting that child in an unlocked room
under continuous monitoring and preventing his or her
egress, for the purpose of behavior management.

1.17      “Facility” means a residential child care facility. 

1.18 “Governing Body”  means the person or group of
persons with ultimate responsibility for and authority over
the operation of a facility or program.

1.19 “Immediately” means an action that is or must be
taken without any considerable loss of time. 

1.20 “Least Restrictive Treatment” means an
intervention method that is the least intrusive into, and least
disruptive of, the child’s life, and that represents the least
departure from normal patterns of living that can be effective
in meeting the child’s needs. 

1.21 “License” means the Division’s granting of
authority through a written provisional or regular
certification to a facility or a program to operate under



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1634

applicable State law (s).  

1.22  “Licensee” means the legally responsible entity for
a licensed facility or program. 

1.23 “Living Unit” means a designated area or space in
which a group of children reside or receive care. 

1.24  “Locked Isolation” means the involuntary and
time-limited confinement of a child in a locked room for the
purpose of behavior management.  

1.25 “Mechanical Restraint” means the involuntary,
time-limited and reasonable use of any device in order to
restrict a child’s movement or functions or the ability to use
his or her hands, arms, or legs, for the purpose of behavior
management.

1.26 [“Medical Consultant” means a person licensed
as a Registered Nurse or Physician in Delaware and
assigned responsibility for overseeing the assistance with
medication.]

[1.27] “Non-violent physical intervention strategies”
means the non-punitive, age- appropriate, time-limited and
reasonable application of physical holding or other physical
interventions that are required:  

a. To restrict the movement or function of a child for
the purpose of preventing harm to the child or to others; or,

b. To prevent the destruction of property when the
child fails to respond to non-physical intervention
techniques.

[1.27 1.28] “Parent” means a birth or adoptive parent, legal
guardian or any other person having responsibility for, or
[legal] custody of, a child.

[1.28 1.29] “Placing Agency” means an organization,
either publicly or privately operated, that is  legally
authorized to place a child in a facility or to refer a child to a
program. 

[1.29 1.30] “Positive Reinforcement” means an action that,
when systematically and regularly applied following the
desired behavior of a child, makes it more likely that the
desired behavior  will recur. 

[1.30 1.31] “Program” means a Day Treatment Program
when it is used alone without an adjective.

[1.31 1.32] “Psychotropic Drug” means a drug or
substance that  alters the chemical balance of
neurotransmitters in the central nervous system.  

[1.32 1.33] “Record” means the individual file established
and maintained for a child. 

[1.33 1.34] “Requirements” means the Delacare
Requirements for Residential Child Care Facilities and Day
Treatment Programs or a portion thereof.

[1.34 1.35] “Restrictive Procedure” means the involuntary,
non-punitive, age-appropriate, time-limited and reasonable
use of any action, device, drug or technique that is designed
to restrain or restrict a child’s movement, function or
mobility for the purpose of: 

a. Reducing serious maladaptive behavior of a child; 
b. Preventing a child from harming either himself or

herself, or others;
c. Preventing the destruction of property; or
d. Controlling maladaptive behavior when the child

has failed to respond to other less restrictive means of
behavior management.  

Restrictive procedures are aversive conditioning,
chemical restraint, exclusion, locked isolation, and
mechanical restraint.  Non-violent physical intervention
strategies and time-out techniques are not restrictive
procedures.

[1.35 1.36]  “Service Plan” means a written, prescribed
plan that specifies the basis for a child’s admission to a
facility or program, the techniques to be used to address his
or her treatment needs, or goals for family reunification and
permanency planning.  The plan shall identify the persons
responsible  for developing and implementing the plan, and
the time frames for carrying out the plan while the child is
residing in a facility or participating in a program. 

[1.36 1.37] “Service Supervisor” means a person who is
assigned responsibility by a licensee for the supervision of
one or more service workers.

[1.37 1.38] “Service Worker” means a person designated
by a licensee to coordinate, develop and implement the
service plan for a child. 

[1.39 “Teacher” means a person designated by the
licensee to directly provide education services to
children.]

[1.40 1.38] “Time-Out Technique” means the time-limited
removal of a child from his or her immediate environment or
the time-limited prohibition of a child to participate in an
activity, as specified in Requirements [3.78,] 3.79 [and,]
3.80 [and 3.81.] 

[1.41 1.39] “Treatment” means the various services that
are designed, developed, and implemented by a licensee to
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ameliorate the various educational, health care, medical,
psychological, social or other needs of a child. 

[1.40 1.42] “Volunteer” means any person who provides
an unpaid service or support to a facility or program for more
than 40 hours in a calendar year, and whose primary role or
function involves having direct contact with children.  The
term “volunteer” shall include student interns.

CHAPTER 2.  LICENSING PROCESS AND
PROCEDURES

License Required to Operate

2.01 An agency, corporation, partnership or individual
shall not operate or maintain a residential child care facility
or day treatment program unless issued a license to do so by
the Division.
Authority to Inspect

2.02 An applicant or licensee shall allow access to the
premises by any authorized representative of the Division, of
another state agency, or any local building, fire or health
agency for the purpose of determining compliance with
applicable provisions of these requirements.  On-site
inspections may be conducted without prior notice.

2.03 An applicant or licensee shall permit any authorized
representative of the Division access to information, files
and records relevant to determining compliance with
applicable provisions of these requirements [and to
interview any employee, volunteer, and child].

Issuance of License

2.04 To qualify for a license, an applicant or licensee
shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Division that it is
in full or substantial compliance with  applicable provisions
of these requirements.

2.05 A license shall be issued only to a facility or
program for which application is made and for the address
shown on the application.  A license shall state the maximum
number [and age range of  children] who may be served in
a facility or program at any time.

Posting of License

2.06 A licensee shall post its current license to operate a
facility or program in a place conspicuous to the public.

License for Each Separate Facility or Program

2.07 A facility or program that operates in two or more

buildings at the same site shall have the option of applying
for a single license for all buildings at the site, or for a
separate license for each building at the site.

2.08 A license shall not be transferable, assignable or
subject to sale.

Nullification of License

2.09 When a facility or program is sold, leased, or
discontinued, or the operation has moved to a new location,
or when the license has been revoked, the current license
immediately shall become null and void. 

[Regular Annual] License

2.10 [A An regular annual] license is issued when the
Division determines that an applicant or  licensee is in full
compliance with applicable provisions of these
requirements.

2.11 [A An regular annual] license is effective for one
year from the date of issuance, unless it is: 

a. Modified to a provisional license;
b. Is  revoked; or  
c. Surrendered prior to the expiration date. 

Provisional License
 
2.12 A provisional license may be issued for a period of
time not to exceed six months from the date of issuance
when the Division determines that an applicant or licensee is
in substantial, but not full, compliance with applicable
provisions of these requirements, provided that: 

a. There is no serious risk to the health, safety, or
well-being of children; and

b. An applicant or licensee has submitted to the
Division and the Division has approved a written corrective
action plan.

2.13 The Division may issue as many consecutive
provisional licenses as it deems necessary.  However, an
applicant or licensee shall not operate pursuant to
provisional licenses for more than 12 consecutive months.

Replacing a Provisional License with a Regular License

2.14  A provisional license may be replaced with [a
regular an annual] license when the Division determines
that an applicant or licensee has corrected all violations in
advance of the expiration date of the provisional license and
has come into full compliance with applicable provisions of
these requirements.
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Procedures for Initial Licensure

2.15 An applicant shall apply for an initial license on a
form provided and in a manner prescribed by the Division. 

2.16 Upon receipt of a completed application, a Division
representative shall:

a.  Provide assistance to aid the applicant in complying
with applicable provisions of these requirements;

b. Review the application, confer with the applicant,
and inspect the facility or program to determine whether the
applicant has fully complied with applicable provisions of
these requirements;

c. Make a recommendation to the Division regarding
the issuance of a license.  If  a license is granted, the
applicant shall initially be issued a provisional license for six
months. [A An annual regular] license shall be issued when
the facility or program fully meets  applicable provisions of
these requirements; and [or]

d. If a license is denied, notify the applicant in writing
of the reason(s) for denial and set forth the applicant’s rights
to an appeal from the decision.

2.17    The expiration date of the first regular license and
each subsequent renewal of [a an regular annual] license
shall be [at] one year [intervals] from the initial date of
issuance.  

Procedures for License Renewal

2.18 A licensee shall submit a written request to the
Division to seek a license renewal application form at least
90 calendar days before the expiration date of the facility’s
or program’s [regular] license. 

2.19 A licensee shall submit a completed application for
a [regular] license renewal to the Division at least 60
calendar days before expiration of its current [regular]
license. 

2.20 When a licensee makes timely and sufficient
application for renewal of a regular license, the existing
license shall not expire until a decision on the renewal
application is made by the Division.

2.21 A provisional license may be renewed when the
Division determines that a licensee has demonstrated good
faith efforts to achieve compliance but requires additional
time to achieve full compliance with applicable provisions of
these requirements.

Terms of a License

2.22 The license shall contain the following:

a. Status of the license: [regular annual], provisional
or extension;

b. Effective date of the license;
c. Expiration date of the license;
d. The maximum number of children who may be

served at one time; and
e. The applicable type of regulated service for which

authorization to operate has been granted.

2.23 A licensee shall operate a facility or program within
the terms of its license.

Changes Affecting License

2.24 The Division shall determine whether to modify a
current license or to require the licensee to submit an
application for a new license when any of the following
changes occur: 

a. A change of ownership or sponsorship;
b. A change of location;
c. A change in the name of the facility or  program;
d. A change in the applicable type of regulated service

authorized; or
e. A change in child population capacity.

Denial, Revocation or Refusing to Renew a License

2.25  The Division may deny, revoke or refuse to renew a
license for good cause, including but not limited to the
following:

a. Substantial or willful failure to comply with
applicable provisions of State law(s) or of these
requirements;

b. Violation of the terms or conditions of its license;
c. Fraud or misrepresentation of facts in obtaining a

license; or
d. Engaging in any activity, policy, practice or

employee conduct that adversely affects or is deemed by the
Division to be detrimental to the education, health, safety,
treatment needs or well-being of children, or that otherwise
demonstrates unfitness by the chief administrator or by any
employees to operate a facility or program.
 
Appeal

2.26 If the Division denies, revokes, or refuses to renew
a license, the Division shall notify the applicant or licensee
in writing at least 10 [consecutive calendar working] days
prior to taking such action, and shall specify the applicant’s
or licensee’s entitlement to appeal from the decision and to
request an administrative hearing.

2.27 The Division shall notify the applicant or licensee
in writing of the findings of its investigation and of the
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reasons for the denial, revocation or refusal to renew a
license, before taking such action.

2.28 If a  written or verbal request for a hearing is
received by the Division within the 10 [calendar-day
period working days], the Division shall ensure that a
hearing is held within 30 [consecutive calendar working]
days from the date the request is received.

2.29  The hearing officer shall have had no previous
involvement in the matter prompting the hearing. 

2.30 If a licensee files an appeal in a timely manner, its
existing license shall remain in effect until an official written
decision has been rendered subsequent to the hearing, except
that the Division shall have the authority to suspend the
license immediately whenever the health, safety or
well-being of children in care is in imminent danger or
jeopardy.  

2.31 If an applicant or licensee does not file an appeal
from the decision and does not request a hearing, the action
to revoke, deny or refuse to renew a license shall take effect
30 [consecutive calendar working] days after the receipt of
the notice.  However, if the health or safety of children in
care is in jeopardy, [the modification], revocation, denial or
refusal to renew shall be effective immediately upon the
issuance of a written notice by the Division.

Order to Suspend a License

2.32 If the health, safety or well-being of children in care
is in jeopardy or imminent danger, the Division may
immediately suspend the license upon issuance of a written
suspension order.  The order shall state the reason(s) for the
suspension.  Within 10 [consecutive calendar working]
days of the issuance of the suspension order the Division
Director, or his or her designee shall hold [a conference an
informal hearing] with the licensee or his or her
representative(s).

Rule Variance

2.33 Upon the written request of an applicant or a
licensee, the Division may grant a variance from any of these
requirements if the licensee has documented to the
satisfaction of the Division that the intent of the specific
requirement will be satisfactorily achieved in a manner other
than that prescribed by the requirement.

2.34 The Division shall render its decision on the request
in writing, including the conditions for which the variance is
granted, and shall send a signed copy of the decision to the
applicant or  licensee.  A copy of the decision shall be

maintained on file by the Division and the licensee.

2.35 The variance may be time-limited or may remain in
effect for as long as the licensee continues to maintain the
health, care, safety, protection, supervision, and needed
services of children.

2.36 The Division shall monitor the licensee’s
compliance with the variance.  If the licensee fails to comply
with the variance, the Division shall initiate necessary
enforcement action. 

CHAPTER 3.  GENERAL PROVISIONS

Part I.  Administration

Notification of [Changes Division]

3.01 A licensee shall notify the Division in writing at
least 90 consecutive calendar days before any of the
following changes occur:

a. A change of ownership or sponsorship;
b. A change of location;
c. A change in the name of the facility or program;
d. A change in the applicable type of regulated service

being provided;
e. A change in child population capacity; or
f.   The anticipated closing of the facility or program.

[3.02 A licensee shall notify the Division within one
working day of any of the following occur:

a. A fire requiring the services of a fire company;
b. Death of a child;
c. Injury of a child requiring either in-patient or

out-patient treatment.]

Governing Body

3.02 3.03] A licensee shall have an identifiable
functioning governing body.  The governing body shall
designate a person to function as the chief administrator of
the facility or program.

Chief Administrator Responsibilities

[3.03 3.04] A licensee shall delineate in writing the job
responsibilities and functions of the chief administrator.  The
chief administrator shall adopt and implement a chain of
command that ensures the proper and effective supervision
and monitoring of employees and volunteers.

Facility or Program Description of Services

[3.04 3.05]  A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
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maintain on file a current written description of the facility’s
or program’s:

a. Admission policies governing the age, specific
characteristics, and treatment or service needs of children
accepted for care; and

b. Services provided to children and their families,
including those provided directly by the licensee or arranged
through another source.

[3.05 3.06]  A licensee shall make available to the public a
brochure or other generic written description of its mission,
policies and the types of services offered by the facility or
program. 

Maintenance of Children’s Records

[3.06 3.07] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file on the premises written procedures
governing  the maintenance and security of records of
children in care.  These procedures shall:
 a. Assure that records are stored in a secure manner;
and

b. Assure confidentiality of and  prevent unauthorized
access to such records. 

Administrative Records

[3.07 3.08] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file on the premises up-to-date administrative
records containing the following:

a. Organizational  chart;
b. Name and position of persons authorized to sign

agreements and to submit official documentation to the
appropriate government agency; and

c.   Written standard operating procedures. 

Insurance Coverage

[3.08 3.09] A licensee shall secure and maintain on file
written documentation of appropriate motor vehicle, fire and
comprehensive general liability insurance, as required by
State law(s).  

Fund Raising and Publicity

[3.09 3.10] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures governing
the use of children in fund raising or publicity activities.
Such policies shall ensure that any involvement of a child in
such activities respects the child’s dignity, preserves his or
her confidentiality and has been authorized by the child’s
parent(s) or legal guardian in a signed parental consent
statement.

Research

[3.10 3.11] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures governing
the participation of children in bona fide research projects,
which shall embrace the following criteria:

a. The goal(s) of the research are sound, achievable,
and feasible;

b. The research design is scientifically valid and
appropriate to the goal(s) of the research; and

c. The results of the proposed research will contribute
significantly to the body of existing information on the
subject.

[3.11 3.12] The policies and procedures governing
approved research projects shall: 

a. Safeguard the privacy and protect the identity of
and confidential information about children participating in
research or follow-up studies;

b. Preserve the confidentiality of children and their
families;

c. Ensure that the child’s participation in the approved
research project is voluntary; and

d. Ensure that the parent(s) or legal guardian of a child
participating in the research project has signed an informed
consent statement, which the licensee shall maintain on file.

Part II .   Personnel 

Personnel  Policies and Procedures

[3.12 3.13] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written personnel policies and procedures
governing the recruitment, screening, hiring, supervision,
training, evaluation, promotion,  and disciplining of
employees and volunteers.

Personnel; General Qualifications  

[3.13 3.14] A licensee shall employ only those persons
who:

a. Have an understanding of and respect for children
and their needs and have an understanding of and respect for
a child’s family and culture; and

b. Are physically and emotionally capable of
performing activities related to providing child care, which
include the ability to supervise children’s activities, to
support children’s physical, intellectual, social and
emotional growth, to deal with emergencies in a calm
manner, and to carry out methods of behavior management,
as stipulated in these requirements.

[Grandparent  Provision]
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[3.14 3.15] An employee who was approved in accordance
with personnel qualification requirements in existence prior
to the date on which these  requirements became effective
shall be deemed qualified for the same position at that
facility or program.

Chief Administrator Qualifications

[3.15 3.16] A chief administrator, at the time of
appointment, shall be at least 21 years of age and shall
possess one  of the following:

a.  A master’s degree in social work, sociology,
psychology, guidance and counseling, education, business
administration, criminal justice, a human  behavioral
science, public administration or a related field, and three
years of full-time work experience in child welfare, human
services or a related field, at least two years of which shall
have been in an administrative or supervisory  capacity; or

b.  A bachelor’s degree in social work, sociology,
psychology, guidance and counseling, education, business
administration, criminal justice, a human behavioral science,
public administration or a related field, and four years of
post-bachelor’s degree full-time work experience in  child
welfare, human services or a related field, at least two years
of which shall have been in an administrative or supervisory
capacity.  

Direct Care Supervisor Qualifications

[3.16 3.17] A direct care supervisor, at the time of
appointment, shall be at least 21 years of age and shall
possess at least one of the following:

a. A bachelor’s degree [from an accredited college]
and one year of full-time work experience in a child care
facility or program;

b. [Two years of college education An associate
degree or a minimum of 48 credit hours from an
accredited college] and two years of full-time work
experience in a child care facility or program; or

c. A high school diploma or equivalent and three
years of full-time work experience in a child care facility or
program.

Direct Care Worker Qualifications

[3.17 3.18] A direct care worker, at the time of
appointment, shall be at least 21 years of age and shall
possess a high school diploma or an equivalent. 

Service Supervisor Qualifications

[3.18 3.19] A service supervisor, at the time of
appointment, shall be at least 21 years of age and shall
possess at least one of the following:

a. A master’s degree in social work, sociology,
psychology, criminal justice, education, guidance and
counseling, human behavioral science or a related field and
at least two years of full-time work experience in child
welfare, social work, human services, teaching, counseling
or a related field, at least one year of which shall have been
in a supervisory capacity; or

b. A bachelor’s degree in social work, sociology,
psychology, criminal justice, education, guidance and
counseling, human behavioral science or a related field and
at least four years of full-time work experience in child
welfare, social work, human services, teaching, counseling
or a related field, at least two years of which shall have been
in a supervisory capacity.

Service Worker Qualifications

[3.19 3.20] A service worker, at the time of appointment,
shall be at least 21 years of age and shall possess a
bachelor’s degree in social work, sociology, psychology,
criminal justice, education, guidance and counseling, a
human behavioral science or a related field and at least two
years of full-time work experience in child welfare, human
services, teaching, counseling  or a related field. 

Administrative Oversight and Supervisor-to-Staff Ratios

[3.20 3.21] The chief administrator shall ensure that there
are a sufficient number of administrative, supervisory, social
service, educational, recreational, direct care, and support
employees or volunteers to perform the functions prescribed
by these requirements and to provide for the care, needs,
protection and supervision of children.  The ratio of direct
care workers to children during off-grounds activities or
excursions shall be the same as the ratios of direct care
workers to children that are required during on-grounds
activities.

[3.21 3.22] A licensee shall have either:
a. A full-time chief administrator; or
b. If its licensed capacity is fewer than 13 children, a

part-time chief administrator and a full-time service
supervisor.

[3.22 3.23] A licensee shall ensure that a designated
employee is in charge on the premises at all times when
children are present. 

[3.23 3.24] A licensee shall have a ratio of one service
supervisor for every ten service workers or fraction thereof.
A full-time chief administrator may also serve as the service
supervisor when there are three or fewer service workers.

[3.24 [3.25] A licensee shall have a ratio of one direct care
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supervisor for every ten direct care workers or fraction
thereof.  A full-time chief administrator may also serve as
the direct care supervisor when there are
three or fewer direct care workers.

Orientation and Training of Employees and Volunteers

[3.25 3.26] A licensee shall ensure that all new employees
and volunteers participate in an orientation that includes the
purpose, policies and procedures of the facility or program,
the employee’s role and responsibilities and the
requirements to report allegations of child abuse or neglect.  

[3.26 3.27] A licensee shall ensure that each new
employee, volunteer, or any current employee or volunteer
whose job function changes, and whose primary role or
function requires interaction with children, receives at least
15 hours of planned training preceding the assumption of his
or her work assignment on an independent basis.  The
training shall include instruction in:

a. Carrying out job responsibilities;
b. The licensee’s purpose, policies and procedures,

including those governing behavior management, crisis
management and safety;

c. Emergency procedures and the location of
emergency exits and emergency equipment, including first
aid kits;

d. The role of employees and volunteers in client
service delivery and the protection of children;

e. The Delaware child abuse and neglect law(s) and
regulations; and

f. The provisions of these licensing requirements.
This requirement shall not apply to licensed

professionals under contract with the licensee.

[3.27 3.28] A licensee shall ensure that each employee and
volunteer whose primary role or function requires interaction
with children and who works 24 or more hours a week
receives at least 40 hours of training annually, including the
15 hours of training provided pursuant to rule [3.26 3.27].
This training shall cover subject matters designed to
maintain, improve or enhance the employee’s knowledge of
or skills in carrying out his or her job responsibilities,
including:

a. Instruction in administering cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) and first aid, including the location of
first aid kits. A licensee providing care to children below six
years of age shall include training in pediatric first aid and
pediatric CPR;

b. cardiopulmonary resuscitation;
c. Cultural sensitivity; and
d. Behavior management policies and procedures.  

[3.28 3.29] A licensee shall ensure that any employee or

volunteer whose primary role or function requires interaction
with children and who works fewer than 24 hours a week
receives at least 20 hours of training annually, including the
15 hours of training provided pursuant to Requirement [3.26
3.27].  The five
hours of training not related to Requirement [3.26 3.27] shall
be in subject matters identified in Requirement [3.28. 3.27].

[3.29 [3.30] The licensee shall permit licensed professional
employees, [such as including but not limited to]
physicians, psychologists, and nurses, to apply hours of
continuing education units (CEUs) earned each year towards
the hourly requirements specified in Requirements [3.27
and] 3.28 [and 3.29].  A licensee shall maintain on file
written documentation of compliance with this requirement.

[3.30 3.31] A licensee shall maintain on file written
materials documenting the delivery of orientation and
training for all employees and volunteers.

Personnel Records

[3.31 3.32] A licensee shall develop, adopt and maintain
on file a personnel record  for every employee and volunteer.

[3.32 3.33] The personnel record shall contain the
following:

a. Employment application;
 b. Name, [current] address and phone number of the
employee;

c. Verification of education where specified by these
requirements;

d. Documentation of training received prior to and
during employment at the facility or program;

e. Work history;
f. Three references from persons who are unrelated to

the employee or volunteer, one of which shall be from any
previous employer;

g. For job applicants who have worked with an agency
that provides care or services to children, one of the three
references required in Requirement [3.32. f. 3.33.f] shall be
from the prior child care employer;

h. Any health verification, as specified in
Requirements [3.150 3.153] and [3.151 3.154];

i. Verification of completed criminal history record
information check and child abuse registry information
check;

j. Verification of receipt by the employee or volunteer
of his or her current job description;

k. An annual employee performance evaluation; and
l. Employee disciplinary actions and history.
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Job Descriptions for Employees

[3.33 3.34] A licensee shall maintain on file a current
written job description for every employee and for every
volunteer who works more than 24 hours a week.

[3.34 3.35] A licensee shall ensure that an employee’s and
volunteer’s permanent or temporary assignment and
functions  shall be consistent with his or her respective
current written job description. 

Use of Volunteers 

[3.35 3.36] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file policies and procedures governing the
qualifications and use of volunteers.  The qualifications shall
be appropriate to the duties they perform.

[3.36 3.37] A licensee shall assign designated employees
to supervise volunteers.      
Child Abuse and Neglect

[3.37 3.38] A licensee shall provide each employee or
volunteer who has contact with children written information
governing the reporting provisions of the Delaware child
abuse and neglect law(s) and regulations, and shall maintain
on file written documentation of  their receipt of this
information.

[3.38 3.39] A licensee shall not discourage, inhibit,
penalize or otherwise impede any employee or volunteer
from reporting any suspected or alleged incident of child
abuse or neglect. 

[3.39. 3.40]  A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures for handling
any incident of suspected child abuse or neglect.  The
policies and procedures shall contain provisions specifying
that: 

a. The licensee immediately shall take appropriate
remedial action to protect children from harm;

b. The licensee shall take appropriate long-term
corrective action to eliminate the factors or circumstances
that may have caused or may have otherwise resulted in a
continuing risk of abuse or neglect to children;

c. Any employee or volunteer involved in an incident
of alleged child abuse or neglect shall be removed or
suspended from having direct contact with any child, or shall
be reassigned to other duties that do not involve having
contact with children until the investigation of the incident
has been completed;

d. The licensee shall take appropriate disciplinary
action against any employee or volunteer who committed an
act of child abuse or neglect.

Part III.  Children’s Services and Activities

Admission 

[3.40 3.41] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures governing a
child’s admission to a facility or program.  The policies and
procedures shall be made available to those persons
considering admission of a child to a facility or program and
shall include: 

a. Age range of children served;
b. Gender of children served;
c. Presenting problems and treatment needs of

children served;
d. Materials, documents and reports required,

including a child’s social, education, medical evaluation and
histories;

e. A description of the types of treatment services
provided; and

f. The identifying information about a child to be
recorded at the time of admission or as a part of the
pre-admission process.  Such information shall include the
child’s name, birth date, gender, religious preferences, race
or ethnicity, names, addresses, telephone numbers of
parent(s) or legal guardian, other service workers or contact
persons, the referring agency, if applicable, known medical
history and allergies, date of admission, and a brief social
history, including the presenting problems.

[3.41 3.42] When a licensee refuses the admission of a
child, the licensee shall provide the child’s parent(s), legal
guardian and the referring agency with a written explanation
of the reasons for refusal, if requested.

[3.42 3.43] A licensee shall ensure that the child, his or her
parent(s), legal guardian, and the referring agency and any
other appropriate party, are provided a reasonable
opportunity to participate in the facility’s or program’s
admission process.

[3.43 3.44] Where involvement of the child’s parent in the
admission process is neither possible nor desirable, the
licensee shall record the reasons for exclusion in the
admission records.

[3.44 3.45] A licensee shall not admit a child into care
until an admission evaluation has been completed.
 
[3.45 3.46] In an emergency admission, a licensee shall
complete Requirements [3.42,] 3.43 [and,] 3.44 [and 3.45]
within five consecutive business days. 

[3.46 3.47] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file a written admission agreement with the
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parent(s), legal guardian or the referring agency.  The
admission agreement shall be signed by all parties and
include: 

a. The basis for admission;
b. The service or treatment goals;
c. The specific services or treatment to be provided;
d. The religious orientation and practices of the child;
e. The roles and responsibilities of the licensee and all

persons and agencies involved with the child and his or her
family;

f. Authorization to provide services to the child;
g. Authorization to provide or obtain routine medical

care for the child;
h. Authorization to provide emergency medical or

surgical care for the child; and
i. Authorization to enable the child to participate in

recreational and out-of-state activities.

Information Provided to Children and Their Parents
[3.47 3.48] A licensee shall provide to children and their
parent(s) or legal guardian, or upon request to the referring
agency the following:

a. Operational rules of the facility or program;
b. Policies governing visiting, telephone use, and

other forms of communication with family, friends, and
other persons important to the child;

c. Religious orientation and practices observed by the
licensee;

d. A description of services and activities provided;
e. A description of the licensee’s behavior

management policies and procedures;
f. Grievance policies and procedures;
g. Name of the child’s service worker;
h. Information on how to obtain a copy of these

requirements, and on reporting any suspected violations of
these requirements; and

i. The child’s service plan.

Service Plan 

[3.48 3.49] A licensee shall  develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file a written service plan for each child
admitted into a facility or program.  

[3.49 3.50] A licensee shall complete the service plan
within 30 consecutive calendar days of a child’s admission
and shall update the plan  at least every 90 consecutive
calendar days thereafter. 

[3.50 3.51] A licensee shall afford the child, his or her
parent(s) or legal guardian, and the referring agency an
opportunity to be involved in the development of the service
plan unless there is written documentation justifying the
non-participation of any such parties. 

Permission to Have Contact with Designated Persons

[3.51 3.52] A licensee shall allow a child’s parent(s) or
legal guardian, attorney, clergy, authorized representative of
the referring agency, or a Division representative, to be
permitted to have telephone, mail and in-person contact and
to confer in private with any child.

Education   

[3.52 3.53] A licensee shall ensure that each school-age
child receives an appropriate education, in accordance with
applicable federal and State law(s) and regulations.
Education shall be provided either in a public or private
school, or in an approved on-grounds school operated by the
licensee.

[3.53 3.54] A licensee shall ensure that every school-age
child attends either an on-grounds or community-based
educational program that has been approved by the
appropriate Delaware authorities.

[3.54 3.55] If a licensee chooses to provide an educational
program directly, the licensee shall ensure that such
[education [educational] programs comply with the
following:

a. [Teachers shall possess valid teaching
certificates appropriate to the age of the children they
teach;  One teacher for every 20 children or faction there
of shall be responsible for implementing the educational
program;]

[b. Teachers shall be at least 21 years of age and
shall possess a bachelor degree in the subject area of
instruction or a bachelor degree in education
appropriate to age and educational needs of the children
in the program; 

c. Employees meeting at a minimum the
qualifications of Direct Care Worker may assist in the
on-grounds educational program provided that they
work under the supervision of an employee meeting the
qualifications for Teacher;

b d]. The educational program operates on at least as
many calendar days and clock hours as are required by State
law(s) and regulations;

[c e]. A core curriculum that is appropriate to the
population to be served is followed;

[d f]. Special education services are provided or
arranged by the licensee for each child whose special
education needs have been identified and as appropriate in
collaboration with the child’s school district; and

[e g]. Appropriate written records shall be maintained
on file for each child that reflect the use of a uniform grading
system and a process for transfer and release of these records
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to and from other schools or facilities.

[3.55 3.56] If a licensee chooses not to provide an
educational program directly, the licensee shall develop,
adopt, follow and maintain on file written policies and
procedures governing the assignment of any child to an
educational program.

[3.56 3.57]     A licensee shall provide appropriate space and
supervision for quiet study after school hours.

[3.57 3.58] A licensee shall ensure the each child has
access to necessary educational references and other
resource materials.

[3.58 3.59] A licensee shall ensure that adolescent children
receive career preparation services, life skills training, and
employment counseling unless such services, training and
counseling are being provided in their regular or special
education school program.  Such services, training and
counseling shall be appropriate to the age and capabilities of
the child.

Work and Employment

[3.59 3.60] A licensee shall not engage a child in any work
assignment unless the assignment offers the child a
constructive experience, in accordance with the child’s age,
capabilities and service plan.

[3.60 3.61] For any adolescent who is legally not obliged
to attend school, a licensee shall ensure that the child is
either gainfully employed or enrolled in a training program
geared to the acquisition of suitable employment or
necessary life skills appropriate to the child’s level of
functioning. 

Children’s Recreation, Physical Exercise and Leisure Time
Activities

[3.61 3.62] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures ensuring
developmentally appropriate recreation, physical exercise
and leisure time activities both on and off the premises,
including planned trips and excursions.  The policies and
procedures shall contain provisions requiring:

a. A list of the types of activities to be offered to
children both on and off the premises;

b. A balanced mixture of planned recreation, physical
exercise and leisure time activities, so that children have a
reasonable choice of alternatives in which to participate;

c. Opportunities for both individual and group
activities; and

d. A written schedule of monthly planned recreation,

physical exercise and leisure time activities be developed
and posted [monthly] in a conspicuous and readily
accessible location on the premises, and be maintained on
file for at least 90 consecutive calendar days.  

[3.62 3.63] A licensee shall ensure that reasonable
precautions and safeguards are utilized to prevent or
minimize the risk of serious injury or harm to children.

[3.63 3.64] A licensee shall ensure that children utilize
only bathing, biking, boating, camping, canoeing, hiking,
kayaking, sailing, swimming, water skiing, white water
rafting or other sporting or recreation areas or facilities that
are in compliance with applicable provisions of federal,
state, county and municipal law(s), regulations and
ordinances.

[3.64 3.65] A licensee shall not threaten, coerce or
intimidate a child to participate or engage in any recreation,
physical exercise or leisure time activity, but may require a
child to attend while not participating in the activity.

[3.65 3.66] A licensee shall ensure that staff provide
adequate and appropriate supervision of children engaging in
recreation, physical exercise or leisure time activities and
shall offer instruction, guidance and support to assist a child
in learning to do so in a safe manner.

[3.66 3.67] A licensee shall not permit children to engage
or participate in high-risk activities unless: 

a. the licensee complies with applicable provisions
governing such activities, as specified in Chapter 10; or 

b. The licensee utilizes an existing high adventure
activity provider that is certified or approved by an
appropriate governmental or private accrediting agency and
that assumes responsibility for safety precautions and risk
reductions.  

[3.67 3.68] A licensee shall prohibit children from
participating in bungee jumping, hang gliding, parachute
jumping, parasailing, and riding in airborne gliders.

Religion and Culture

[3.68 3.69] A licensee shall respect the religious
preference of the child and his or her parent(s) or legal
guardian.

[3.69 3.70] A licensee shall ensure that each child is
afforded opportunities to attend religious services or
activities in his or her religious faith of choice.  A licensee
shall directly arrange for or ensure that other reasonable
means are provided for  the transportation of a child to
services or activities that are off site.



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1644

[3.70 3.71] A licensee that has a particular religious or
denominational orientation shall provide a written
description of its orientation or beliefs to the child and to the
child’s parent(s) or legal guardian prior to the child’s
admission, or within seven consecutive calendar days
following the admission of the child.

[3.71 3.72] A licensee shall not require or coerce children
to participate in religious services or activities, shall not
discipline, discriminate against, or deny privileges to any
child who chooses not to participate, and shall not reward
any child who chooses to participate.

[3.72 3.73] A licensee shall recognize and take into
account the racial, cultural, ethnic and  religious
backgrounds of children when planning various activities or
religious services.

Behavior Management  

[3.73 3.74] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures governing
the behavior management of children.  The policies and
procedures shall delineate the approved methods of behavior
management techniques that are to be used to assist children
in developing self control, self direction, self esteem, and
acceptable patterns of social behavior.  The policies and
procedures shall include the concepts and application of least
restrictive [effective] treatment and positive reinforcements.
The policies and procedures shall  prohibit:

a. The delegation of responsibility for the control or
supervision of children to other children;

b. The use of corporal punishment or the threat of
corporal punishment inflicted in any way on a child’s body,
including but not limited to shaking, biting, pinching,
slapping, hitting  or spanking;

c. The use of any form of forced physical exercise or
activity or work assignment  that produces pain or
discomfort;

d. The use of verbal abuse, including humiliation,
profanity, ridicule, or other forms of degradation;

e. The withholding of any meal;
f. The use of group punishments for misbehaviors of a

child or a group of children unless  the policies and
procedures clearly prescribe the specific circumstances and
safeguards under which such would be authorized;

g. The denial of essential services, including medical
or dental care;

h. The denial of visits or communications with family;
i. The denial of shelter, appropriate clothing, bedding,

or any other essential personal needs;
j. The denial of access to a toilet or bathing

accommodations;
k. The denial of access to a telephone [to contact

individuals defined in 3.52];
l. The use of excessive force or inappropriate physical

force;
m. The use of restrictive procedures unless authorized

by the Division and in compliance with the requirements of
Chapter 9;

n. The exploitation of a child; and
o. The denial of sleep or needed rest.

[3.74 3.75] A licensee shall disseminate copies of the
behavior management policies and procedures to all
employees and children within 10 consecutive calendar days
of employment or admission, respectively, and shall make
copies available to the parent(s), legal guardian or the
referring agency.

[3.75 3.76] A licensee shall ensure that all employees and
volunteers who have regular contact with children receive a
copy of  the policies and procedures. 

Documentation Requirements

[3.76 3.77] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on written file policies and procedures governing
the accurate and timely recording of each incident in which a
time-out technique or a non-violent physical intervention
strategy is used.  Such policies and procedures shall ensure
that the identity of the child, the date, time, place, and
circumstances of, and the name of the employee or volunteer
who administered the time-out technique or the non-violent
physical intervention strategy is recorded.  The nature of the
technique or strategy and the elapsed time used shall also be
recorded.

[3.77 3.78] A licensee shall ensure that the chief
administrator or his or her designee reviews the
documentation on a weekly basis.

Time-Out Techniques

[3.78 3.79] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures governing
the use of appropriate time-out techniques.  The policies and
procedures shall require that appropriate time-out techniques
may be used only:

a. For a child six years of age or older, except as noted
in Requirement [3.80 3.81];

b. When a child’s behavior is judged by the employee
to be disruptive to the child’s ability to learn from the
activity, to participate appropriately in the activity, or to
function appropriately with other children engaged in an
activity; and

c. For a duration of time that shall not exceed 60
consecutive minutes.  If there are more than 25 time-outs for
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an individual child or a cumulative total of four hours spent
in time-out within any consecutive 24-hour period, a
licensee shall ensure that:

1. A review is conducted by the chief
administrator or his or her designee to determine the
suitability of the child to remain in placement in the facility
or program, or whether modifications to the child’s service
plan are warranted; and

2.  Appropriate action is taken in response to the
findings of the review.

[3.79 3.80] A licensee shall ensure that:
a. At least one employee has been designated to be

responsible for making visual contact with the child [no less
frequently than] every 30 [consecutive] minutes;

b. The child does not spend the time-out period in a
closet, a bathroom or an unfinished basement or attic; and

c. The child is reintroduced to the group in a sensitive
and non-punitive manner as soon as he or she has re-gained
control.

[3.80 3.81] A licensee shall ensure that any use of a
Time-Out Technique for a child below six years of age is:

a. Limited to a period of time not to exceed one
minute for each year of the child’s age; and

b. Employed as a supplement to, not a substitute for,
other developmentally appropriate, positive methods of
behavior management.

Non-Violent Physical Intervention Strategies

[3.81 3.82] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures governing
the appropriate use of non-violent physical intervention
strategies.  These policies and procedures shall require that
non-violent physical intervention strategies may be used
only:

a. When a child is out of control and could physically
harm himself or herself or others;

b. To prevent the destruction of property when the
child fails to respond to non-physical behavior management
interventions;

c. For a duration of time that shall not exceed 15
consecutive minutes, without written documentation on
attempts made to release the child from the hold if more than
15 minutes is required.  A licensee shall ensure that a child is
released from a physical intervention strategy as soon as he
or she gains control, or before 15 consecutive minutes have
elapsed, whichever occurs first; and

d. By employees or volunteers who have been
specifically trained in its use and authorized to apply such
strategies.

[3.82 3.83] A licensee shall not permit the application of a

non-violent physical intervention strategy if a child has a
documented physical condition that would contraindicate its
use, unless a licensed physician has previously and
specifically authorized its use in writing.  Such
documentation shall be maintained on file.

[3.83 3.84] Whenever the provisions of Requirement [3.81
3.82] have been exceeded, a licensee shall ensure that:

a. A review is conducted by the chief administrator or
his or her designee to determine the suitability of the child to
remain in placement in the facility or program, or whether
modifications to the child’s service plan are warranted;

b. Written documentation of the review is forwarded
to the Division; and

c. Appropriate action is taken in response to the
findings of the review.

[3.84 3.85] A licensee shall prohibit employees from
intentionally utilizing any of the following practices:

a. Pulling a child’s hair;
b. Pinching a child’s skin;
c. Twisting a child’s arm or leg in a way that would

cause pain or injury to the child;
d. Kneeling or sitting on the chest of a child;
e. Placing a choke hold on a child;
f. Bending back a child’s finger(s);
g. Shoving or pushing a child into the wall, floor or

other stationary object; or
h. Allowing another child or other children to assist in

the application of a physical intervention strategy.

Children’s Grievance Procedure

[3.85 3.86] A [license licensee] shall develop, adopt,
follow and maintain on file written policies and procedures
governing the handling of grievances by children.  The
policies and  procedures shall:

a. Be written in clear and simple language;
b. Be communicated to children in an age or

developmentally appropriate manner;
c. Be posted in an area easily accessible to children

and their parent(s) and legal guardian;
d. Ensure that any grievance shall be investigated by

an objective employee who is not the subject of the
grievance; and

e. Require continuous monitoring  by the licensee of
any grievance to assure there is no retaliation against the
child.

[3.86 3.87] A licensee shall not take or threaten to take any
punitive or other retaliatory action against a child who
utilizes the grievance procedure.

Part IV.  Physical Plant
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Premises and Equipment

[3.87 3.88] A licensee shall ensure that the facility’s or
program’s premises and  equipment accessible to or used by
children are free from any danger to their health,  safety and
well-being.  

[3.88 3.89]  A licensee shall maintain on file written
documentation that the buildings and premises of the facility
or program conform to all applicable State and local fire,
health  and construction laws, ordinances and regulations. 

[3.89 3.90] A licensee shall ensure that porches, elevated
walkways and elevated play areas of more than two feet in
height shall have barriers to prevent falls.

[3.90 3.91] A licensee shall ensure that all indoor and
outdoor areas, toilets, wash basins, tubs, sinks, and showers
are maintained in an operable, safe and sanitary manner. 

[3.91 3.92] A licensee shall utilize approved products and
procedures in accordance with labeled instructions to ensure
that the premises are protected from insect infestation.

[3.92 3.93] A licensee shall ensure that all premises used
by children are rodent free.

Kitchen and Food Storage

[3.93 3.94] A licensee shall ensure that kitchens are
provided with the necessary operable equipment for the
preparation, storage, serving and clean-up of all meals for all
of the children and employees regularly served by such
kitchens.  A licensee that does not prepare food on the
premises and that utilizes [singe single]-service (disposable)
dishes, pots, pans and utensils shall not be governed by this
Requirement and Requirements [3.94, 3.95, 3.98, 3.100 and
3.102. 3.95, 3.96, 3.99, 3.101 and 3.103.]

[3.94 3.95 A licensee shall ensure that a kitchen or food
preparation area has a hand washing sink within the
food preparation area and separate from the sink used
for food preparation and dish washing.]

[3.95 3.96] A licensee with a licensed capacity of 12 or
fewer children shall ensure that: 

a. A mechanical dishwasher is used [for the cleaning
and sanitizing of all dishes, 
pots, pans and utensils after each meal]; or

b. Dishes, pots, pans and utensils are manually
washed and rinsed after each meal in a sanitary manner using
a two-compartment sink.  When dishes, pots, pans and
utensils are manually washed, a chlorinated detergent is
used; and dishes, pots, pans and utensils, are immersed in

warm water for a duration of time that is at least one minute.
The water is to contain a sanitizing solution that is
self-made, consisting of one teaspoon of household bleach to
one gallon of water, or an appropriate commercial sanitizing
solution that is used in accordance with labeled instructions.

c. All dishes, pots, pans and utensils are air dried.

[3.95 3.97] A licensee with a licensed capacity of 13 or
more children shall ensure that:

a. A mechanical dishwasher is used for the cleaning
and sanitizing of all dishes, pots, pans and utensils after each
meal; and

b. The dishwasher is capable of sanitizing at the
proper time, temperature and pressure ratio, and that dishes,
pots, pans and utensils are washed in accordance with
manufacturer’s instructions.

[3.96 3.98] A licensee shall ensure that all food service
equipment and utensils are constructed of material that is
nontoxic, easily cleanable and maintained in good repair.  

[3.97 3.99] A licensee shall ensure that all food services
equipment, eating and drinking utensils, counter-tops and
other food contact areas are thoroughly cleaned and sanitized
after each use.

[3.98 A licensee shall ensure that a kitchen or food
preparation area has a hand washing sink within the
food preparation area and separate from the sink used
for food preparation and dish washing.]

[3.99 3.100] A licensee shall ensure that the floor, walls and
counter-top surfaces of the kitchen are made of cleanable
materials and impervious to water to the level of splash.

[3.100 3.101] A licensee shall ensure that the kitchen has
a cook stove and oven with an appropriately vented  hood
that is maintained in a safe and operable condition.

[3.101 3.102] A licensee shall ensure that the kitchen is
so constructed or supervised as to limit access by children
when necessary.

[3.102 3.103] A licensee shall ensure that food
preparation areas and appliances, dishes, pots, pans, and
utensils in which food was prepared or served are cleaned
following each meal.

[3.103 3.104] A licensee shall ensure that all
[potentially hazardous] foods [subject to spoilage] are
stored at temperatures that will protect against spoilage.
This means that:

a. All refrigerated foods are to be kept cold at [40 41]
degrees Fahrenheit or below.  
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b. All frozen foods are to kept at 0 degrees Fahrenheit
or below. 

c. All hot foods are to be kept at 140 degrees
Fahrenheit or above, except during periods that are
necessary for preparation and serving.  

d. Refrigerators and freezers shall be equipped with
[approved [thermometers. accurate, easily readable
thermometers located in the warmest part of the
refrigerator or freezer.]

[3.104 3.105] A licensee shall ensure that:
a. All food storage areas are clean, dry and free of

food particles, dust and dirt;
b. All packaged food items and can goods are stored at

least six inches above the floor in sealed or closed containers
that are labeled; [ and]

c. All dishes, pots, pans and utensils are stored in a
clean and dry place[; and

d. All paper goods are stored at least six inches
above the floor.]

Water Supply and Sewage Disposal

[3.105 3.106] A licensee shall maintain on file written
documentation that the building’s water supply and sewage
disposal system are in compliance with applicable State laws
and regulations of the Delaware Division of Public Health
and the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control, respectively. 
[3.106 3.107]A licensee shall ensure that hot tap water does
not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit at all outlets accessible to
children, and that cold or tempered water are also provided. 

Garbage and Refuse

[3.107 3.108] A licensee shall ensure that: 
a. Garbage is stored [outside] in watertight containers

with tight-fitting covers that are insect and rodent proof;
b. Garbage and refuse are removed from the premises

at intervals of at least once a week; and
c. Garbage and refuse are contained in an area that is

separate from any outdoor recreation areas.

Lighting

[3.108 3.109] A licensee shall ensure that kitchens and
all rooms used by children, including bedrooms, dining
rooms, recreation rooms and classrooms, are suitably lighted
for safety and comfort, with a minimum of 30 foot candles of
light.  All other areas shall have a minimum of 10 foot
candles of light.

[3.109 3.110] A licensee shall ensure that all lights
located over, by or within food preparation, serving and

storage areas shall have safety shields or light covers.

[3.110 3.111] A licensee shall ensure that all corridors
are illuminated during night-time hours.

[3.111 3.112] During night-time hours, a licensee shall
provide for exterior lighting of the building(s), parking areas,
pedestrian walkways or other premises subject to use by
children, employees and volunteers.

Heating

[3.112 3.113] A licensee shall ensure that a minimum
temperature of 68 degrees Fahrenheit  is maintained at floor
level in all  rooms occupied by children.

[3.113 3.114] A licensee shall ensure that all working
fireplaces, pipes, and electric space heaters accessible to
children are protected by screens, guards, insulation or any
other suitable, non-combustible protective device.  All
radiators accessible to children below six years of age shall
be protected by screens, guards, insulation or any other
suitable, non-combustible protective device.

[3.114 3.115] Portable fuel burning or wood burning
heating appliance shall be prohibited.

Lead Paint and Asbestos 

[3.115 3.116] A licensee shall not use lead paint on the
interior or exterior surfaces of  any building used by children
or on any furniture, toys or other equipment used by
children.  

[3.116 3.117] A licensee that accepts children who are
under six years of age, mentally retarded or severely
emotionally disturbed shall ensure that the premises are free
of lead paint hazards and shall maintain on file
documentation that the premises have been tested and found
to be free from lead paint hazards.

[3.117 3.118] A licensee shall not use spray coatings
containing asbestos on any interior or exterior  portion of
buildings or on any equipment used therein.

Toilet and Bathing 

[3.118 3.119] A licensee shall ensure that toilets,
showers, sinks, and bathing facilities and other toilet
accessories are provided for children and:

a. Allow for individual privacy unless this privacy is
in conflict with toilet training or needed supervision; and

b. Are maintained in a safe and sanitary manner.
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[3.119 3.120] A licensee shall ensure that bathroom
surfaces subject to splash shall be cleanable and impervious
to water.

[3.120 3.121] A licensee shall ensure that bathroom
floors, showers, and bathtubs have slip-proof surfaces. Glass
shower doors shall be marked for safety.

[3.121 3.122] A licensee shall ensure that bathrooms are
equipped with openable windows or mechanical ventilation
systems to the outside.

Ventilation

[3.122 3.123] A licensee shall ensure that each habitable
room has direct outside ventilation by means of windows,
louvers, air conditioning or mechanical ventilation. 
[3.123 3.124] A licensee shall ensure that:

a. Each door, operable window and other opening to
the outside is equipped with insect screening in good repair
and not less than 16 mesh to the inch, unless the facility is air
conditioned and provided that it does not conflict with
applicable fire safety requirements; and

b. This screening can be readily removed in
emergencies. 

[3.124 3.125] A licensee shall ensure that ventilation
outlets are maintained in a clean and sanitary manner, and
kept free from obstructions.

[3.125 3.126] A licensee shall ensure that all floor or
window fans accessible to children have a protective grill,
screen or other protective covering.

Storage

[3.126 3.127] A licensee shall provide areas with
sufficient space for storing all supplies and equipment in a
safe and sanitary manner.

[3.127 3.128] A licensee shall ensure that all poisonous
and toxic materials are stored in accordance with the
following:

a. All poisonous and toxic materials shall be
prominently and distinctly labeled for easy identification as
to contents;

b. All poisonous and toxic materials shall be stored so
as to not contaminate food or constitute a hazard to children,
employees and volunteers;

c. All poisonous and toxic materials shall be stored in
a secure and locked room with access only by authorized
employees, except those products that are required for
routine cleaning and maintenance; and

d. All flammable liquids, gasoline, or kerosene shall

not be stored on the premises except in a manner and place
that has been authorized in writing by the Office of the Fire
Marshal.

Furnishings and Maintenance

[3.128 3.129] A licensee shall ensure that buildings are
furnished with comfortable, clean furniture in good repair
and  appropriate to the age, size and capabilities of children. 

[3.129 3.130] A licensee shall ensure that the premises
are maintained and cleaned in a scheduled or routine
manner.

[3.130 3.131] A licensee shall ensure that all cleaning
equipment, including mops and buckets, are cleaned and
stored in an area separate and distinct from the kitchen and
food preparation, serving and storage areas. Kitchen and
bathroom sinks shall not be utilized for cleaning mops,
emptying mop buckets, or for any other purpose not
connected with food preparation or the cleaning of dishes,
pots, pans and utensils.

[3.132 A facility licensed to care for 13 or more
children shall have a service sink.]

Outdoor Recreation Area

[3.131 3.133] A licensee shall maintain or have access to
an outdoor recreation area with at least 50 square feet for
each child for the maximum number of children who will use
the outdoor recreation area at one time.

[3.132 3.134] When a licensee is not able to comply with
Requirement [3.131 3.133], the licensee shall provide a
minimum of 700 square feet of open, accessible indoor play
space suitable for large muscle activity, group and individual
sports conducive to indoor facilities and other forms of
recreation activities. 

[3.133 3.135] A licensee shall ensure that all outdoor
recreation areas are free from hazards and have adequate
drainage.

[3.134 3.136] A licensee shall ensure that all areas
determined to be unsafe including steep grades, cliffs, open
pits, swimming pools, high voltage boosters, or high speed
roads or highways shall fenced off or have a natural barrier
to protect children.

[3.135 3.137] A licensee shall ensure that its outdoor
recreation program area has age-appropriate equipment for
vigorous play, large muscle activity, physical exercise and
group sports.  Such equipment shall be maintained in  a
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clean, safe, and operable condition and shall be free of
hazards. 

Swimming

[3.136 3.138] A licensee that operates and utilizes an
above-ground or in-ground swimming pool on its premises
for use by children shall ensure that:

a. The pool fully complies with applicable swimming
pool construction, sanitation, water [purity quality
standards], water temperature, recreational bathing and life
saving provisions of federal, state, county and municipal
law(s), regulations and ordinances;

b. The pool is maintained in a clean, safe, and sanitary
manner;

c.. [The pool water shall be sufficiently clear to
allow that all areas of the poll pool including the drain
and bottom markings are clearly visible. 

c. d]. At least one employee who has secured a valid
lifesaving or life-guard certificate issued by an appropriate
governmental or private certifying agency is assigned to
monitor the pool whenever children are present;

[d e]. The employee(s) assigned to monitor bathers and
swimmers using the pool is located in a position out of the
water where he or she can clearly observe all bathers and
swimmers; and

[e f].  The pool is secured [and when] not utilized by
children[. during night-time hours.]

[3.139 A licensee shall ensure that the following
lifesaving equipment is provided:

a. A whistle;
b. An assist pole or other appropriate reaching

device;
c. A ring buoy or other appropriate throwing assist

device that has a rope attached to it;
d. A backboard that has appropriate rigid cervical

collars and a minimum of six straps;
e. A first aid kit; and a rescue tube.]   

Access to Telephone

[3.137 3.140]  A licensee shall ensure that each building
used by children has at least one  working telephone that is
directly available for immediate access or that is connected
to an operating central telephone system.

[3.138 3.141] A licensee shall ensure that the licensee’s
telephone number is clearly posted and available to children,
their parent(s) or legal guardian, and the general public.

[3.139 3.142] A licensee shall provide children
reasonable access to a pay or free telephone.

[3.140 3.143] A licensee shall provide children
reasonable privacy for telephone use.

[3.141 3.144] A licensee shall not charge children for
telephone calls to their Division case manager or the
Department rights representative.

Emergency Procedures

[3.142 3.145] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow
and maintain on file written policies and procedures
governing the handling of emergencies, including:

a. Accident;
b. Bomb threat;
c. Fire;
d. Flooding;
e. Medical;
f. Missing child;
g. Power outage; or
h. Severe weather conditions.

[3.143 3.146] The policies and procedures shall include:
a. An emergency evacuation plan;
b. Instructions and telephone numbers for contacting

ambulance, emergency medical response team, fire, hospital,
poison control center, police, and other emergency services;

c. Location and use of first aid kits; and
d. Roster and telephone numbers of employees to be

contacted during an emergency.

[3.144 3.147] A licensee shall post its emergency
evacuation plan and diagram depicting all exits in a
conspicuous location on each floor of a building.

[3.145 3.148] A licensee shall ensure that each newly
admitted child is provided an orientation regarding
emergency procedures and the location of all exits within 48
hours of admission.

Emergency Evacuation Drills

[3.146 3.149] A licensee shall conduct at least four
emergency evacuation drills annually and maintain on file a
record of each drill.  Two of these drills shall include
evacuations, unless the Division, in writing, has determined
that an evacuation is clinically contraindicated.  Where a
licensee utilizes two or more employee shifts, there shall be
at least four emergency evacuation drills conducted annually
for each shift.

[3.147 3.150] Emergency evacuation drills shall include
all persons on the premises, including employees,
volunteers, children and visitors.
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Firearms and Other Weapons

[3.148 3.151] A licensee shall prohibit the storage or use
of any firearms or other weapons on the grounds of the
facility or program or in any building used by children.  

Power Equipment

[3.149 3.152] A licensee shall ensure that power-driven
equipment shall be appropriately shielded and maintained in
good repair.  Children shall be permitted to use such
equipment only when it is age appropriate and only under the
direct supervision of an employee.

Part V.   Health

Employee and Volunteer Health
[3.150 3.153] Prior to employing any person or
accepting any volunteer, a licensee shall secure and maintain
on file written documentation certifying and verifying that
the prospective employee and volunteer has had a general
physical examination within 12 months prior to the date of
employment.  The examination shall include a medically
accepted procedure for screening for tuberculosis. 

[3.151 3.154] To be eligible to work in the facility or
program, an employee or volunteer shall be:

a. Free from tuberculosis; and
b. Verified every three years thereafter as being free

from tuberculosis.

[3.152 3.155] If a licensee determines that the
prospective employee or volunteer has not had a general
physical examination within 12 consecutive calendar months
prior to the anticipated date of employment or volunteer
work, or if a licensee is unable to document that such an
examination was completed, a licensee shall require the
prospective employee or volunteer, as a condition of
employment, to have such a general physical examination, as
specified in Requirements [3.150 3.153] and [3.151 3.154],
within three consecutive calendar months of the date of
employment or volunteer work.

Child Health

[3.153 3.156] A licensee shall secure from and maintain
on file written documentation of each child’s current
immunizations, as required by the Delaware Division of
Public Health.  

[3.154 3.157] If a licensee cannot obtain written
documentation of immunization for a child, the licensee
shall:

a. Coordinate with the child’s parent(s), legal

guardian, or referring agency for the provision of required
immunizations; and

b. Ensure that the child is immunized within 30
consecutive calendar days of admission, unless a statement
from a physician indicating that immunizations are
contraindicated is included in the child’s health record.

Child’s Health Records

[3.155 3.158] A licensee shall maintain on file a written
health record for each child that includes information on: 

a. All available past medical history;
b. Inventory and assessment of medications in use at

the time of admission;
c. All immunizations;
d. All medications dispensed;
e. Medical consents and releases of the child’s

parent(s) or legal guardian;
f. All medical, dental, psychological or psychiatric

examinations; and
g. All medical treatment currently being provided.

[3.156 3.159] A licensee shall ensure that child health
records are available to employees for emergency use.

Administration or Assistance With Self-Administration of
Medication

[3.157 3.160] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow
and maintain on file written policies and procedures
governing the use, administration or assistance with the
self-administration of medications, prescription and
non-prescription, to children.  The policies and procedures
shall:

a. Identify those employees who may administer or
assist with the self-administration of medications, in
accordance with applicable State law(s) and regulations;

b. Prohibit the administration of psychotropic
medications unless a physician determines that such
medication is clinically indicated;

c. Prohibit the administration of psychotropic
medications for disciplinary purposes, for the convenience
of an employee, or as a substitute for appropriate treatment
services;

d. Require that an informed, written consent of the
child’s parent(s) or legal guardian is secured and maintained
on file prior to the administration of any psychotropic
medication;

e. Provide for a means of recording in writing the
administration of all medications.  Such records shall include
the identity of the child, the date and time the medication
was administered, and the identity of the employee who
administered or assisted in the self-administration of the
medication; and
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f. Ensure that any known prescribed medication
previously taken by a child is not changed, altered or failed
to be dispensed without first consulting with a physician.  

[3.158 3.161] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow
and maintain on file a written schedule for each child
receiving prescribed medications.

[3.159 3.162] A licensee shall ensure that all
medications are contained in the original container, properly
labeled and stored  in a secure locked area or as needed, in a
locked refrigerated area.  Keys to the secure area shall be
safeguarded and kept out of the reach of children.

[3.163 Effective one year following the adoption of
these requirements, a licensee admitting children
prescribed psychotropic medication and/or children
prescribed  medication for chronic illness, such as
diabetes or asthma, shall ensure that each of these
children receive a minimum of one hour per month of
Medical Consultant services.  The Medical Consultant
services shall include:

a. Review of administration of the child’s
medication, including determination of problems in
adherence or administration and development of
corrective action plans.

b. Assessment and monitoring of the child with
regard to the impact of their medication, including
whether the mediation is having its desired effects and
whether the child is suffering from undesired
side-effects.

c. Provide liaison between the licensee and the
child’s physician(s).

d. Provide employees with instruction in the
expected outcomes from each child’s medication regime
and the possible side-effects of that medication regime.]

Handwashing

[3.160 3.164] A licensee shall ensure that handwashing
procedures follow the recommendations of the US Centers
for Disease Control and Prevention to prevent the spread of
illness.  Hands shall be scrubbed for a minimum of 10
seconds using soap and warm running water.

[3.161 3.165] A licensee shall ensure that employees and
children wash their hands at least at the following times and
whenever hands are contaminated with body fluids:

a. Before any food service activity including food
preparation, food serving, table setting and tableware
handling;

b. After toileting;
c. After changing diapers;
d. After assisting a child with toileting or nose wiping,

or after cleaning from a child’s having vomited;
e. Before eating meals or snacks; or
f. After handling pets or other animals.

[3.162 3.166] A licensee shall ensure that soap and toilet
paper are available at all times.  Paper towels or individual
clean cloth towels shall be available for each child.  If cloth
towels are used, a licensee shall ensure that they are washed
or replaced daily.

[3.163 3.167] A licensee shall ensure that rest
equipment, cribs, beds, mats and bedding are
age-appropriate and assigned to one individual child for his
or her exclusive use.  All bedding shall be cleaned weekly or
when soiled or wet, and shall not be assigned to another
child until it has been cleaned and sanitized. 

Universal Precautions

[3.164 3.168] A licensee shall employ universal
precautions for protection from disease and infection. Spills
of body fluids (i.e., blood, eye discharge, feces, injury or
tissue discharges, nasal discharge, saliva, or urine) shall be
cleaned up immediately, as follows:

a. Spills of vomit, urine, or feces on any surface
including floors, walls, bathroom fixtures, table tops,
furniture, diaper-changing tables, the area shall be cleaned
and disinfected;

b. Spills of blood or blood-containing body fluids and
injury and tissue discharges, the area shall be cleaned and
disinfected.  Nonporous disposable gloves shall be used in
these situations unless the amount of blood or body fluids is
so small that it can easily be contained by the material used
for cleaning without coming into contact with the person
doing the cleaning;

c. Persons involved in cleaning contaminated surfaces
shall avoid exposure of open skin sores or mucous
membranes to blood or blood-containing body fluids and
injury or tissue discharges by using nonporous disposable
gloves to protect hands when cleaning contaminated
surfaces;

d. Blood-contaminated material and diapers shall be
disposed of in a plastic bag with a secure tie; and

e. Mops shall be cleaned, rinsed, disinfected, wrung
dry and hung to dry.

Disinfectant Solution

[3.165 3.169] A licensee shall use a disinfectant solution
for disinfecting areas that have been contaminated by body
fluids.  The disinfectant solution shall be [a commercially
prepared spill kit or] self-made consisting of one-fourth
cup of household bleach to each gallon of water, which shall
be prepared daily, labeled, and placed in a bottle or a plastic
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container that is sealed with a cap and stored out of reach of
children.

Diapering and Sanitation

[3.166 3.170] A licensee shall ensure that a
diaper-changing area is:

a. Separate from food preparation and serving areas;
b. Easily accessible to a handwashing sink; and
c. Surfaces used for diaper-changing are

non-absorbent and washable, and are disinfected between
use by different children or protected by a disposable
covering discarded after each use.

[3.167 3.171] A licensee shall:
a. Use cloth diapers or disposable diapers;
b. Place non-disposable soiled diapers and training

pants without rinsing into a separate leakproof plastic bag,
labeled with the child’s name, before transporting to a
laundry or laundering;

c. Place soiled disposable diapers into a cleanable,
covered container with a leakproof liner;

d. Use disposable towels, disposable wipes, or clean,
reusable towels laundered between use for different children;

e. Immediately wash his or her hands after diapering
or helping a child with toileting; and

f. Immediately wash the hands of a child after
toileting.

[3.168 3.172] A licensee shall use toilet training chairs
only in an area separate from food preparation areas and in
an area that ensures a child’s privacy while permitting
supervision.

[3.169 3.173] A licensee shall disinfect toilet training
equipment after each use.

Infant Care

[3.170 3.174] A licensee shall ensure that feeding
bottles, nipples, and pacifiers are cleaned and disinfected
after each use or when dropped on the floor or ground.

[3.171 3.175] A licensee shall ensure that toys that are
mouthed by infants or children are cleaned and disinfected
after each use and stored between use in a clean container.

Emergency Medical Services

[3.172 3.176] A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow
and maintain on file written policies and procedures
governing medical emergencies.  These policies and
procedures shall require that at least:

a. One employee is on duty who is qualified to

administer first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation; and
b. One fully equipped first aid kit is placed in each

building used by children, and in any indoor recreation area.

First Aid Kit

[3.173 3.177] A licensee shall ensure that first aid kits
are readily available and contain the following:

a. Nonporous disposable gloves;
b. Scissors;
c. Tweezers;
d. Safety pins;
e. Thermometer;
f. Current American Academy of Pediatrics or

American Red Cross first aid book or an equivalent first aid
guide;

g. Emergency telephone numbers;
h. Self-adhesive bandages of various sizes;
i. Bandage tape;
j. Sterile gauze pads;
k. Flexible roller gauze;
l. Triangular bandages; and
m. Antiseptic [wipe wipes].

Illness, Injury or Death

[3.174 3.178]  A licensee shall notify the child’s parent(s) or
legal guardian and  the referring agency of any serious
illness, incident involving serious bodily injury or any severe
psychiatric episode of a child requiring [either in or out
patient] hospitalization.

[3.175 3.179] A licensee shall immediately notify the
child’s parent(s) or legal guardian and the referring agency,
the Division and the medical examiner in the event of the
death of a child.  
 
Nutrition

[3.176 3.180] A licensee shall ensure that all children are
provided nutritionally balanced meals and snacks, and
portions suitable to the size and age of the child in care, in
accordance with the Recommended Dietary Allowances of
the National Research Council or its equivalent.

[3.177 3.181] A licensee shall ensure that a written menu
is posted on a daily basis in a conspicuous location on the
premises.  Any change or substitution to the menu shall be
noted and considered as part of the original menu.  Menus
shall be maintained on file  and made accessible for review
for at least six  months. 

[3.178 3.182] A licensee shall ensure that meals and
snacks are served in accordance with the following schedule
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based upon the number of hours that a child is present at the
facility or program:

a. Two to four hours  - one snack;
b. Four to six hours - one meal and one snack;
c. Six to 10 hours - two meals and one snack, or one

meal and two snacks, based upon the arrival of the child; or
d. Ten hours or more - three meals and two snacks.

[3.179 3.183] A licensee shall ensure that alternate meals
and snacks are provided for children on special diets when
prescribed by a physician [or required by religious beliefs].

Pets

[3.180 3.184] A licensee shall ensure that animals or
household pets are free from disease and cared for in a safe
and sanitary manner. 
[3.181 3.185] A licensee shall secure and maintain on
file written documentation of rabies and other vaccinations
of pets, as required by State law(s), regulations or local
ordinances.

Use of Alcohol, Tobacco and Illegal Drugs

[3.186] A licensee shall prohibit the use of tobacco by
children.

[3.182 3.187] A licensee shall prohibit all use of tobacco
by employees, volunteers [, children] and visitors in any
building used by children [and on the grounds of the
facility by children. and in the presence of children.]

[3.183 3.188] A licensee shall prohibit all use of alcohol
and illegal drugs by employees, volunteers, children and
visitors in any building or on the premises used by children
and in the presence of children.

[3.184 3.189] A licensee shall prohibit all use of alcohol,
tobacco and illegal drugs by employees, volunteers, children
and visitors in any vehicle owned, leased or provided by the
licensee and utilized for transporting children.

[3.185 3.190] In vehicles owned by employees or
volunteers, a licensee shall prohibit all use of alcohol,
tobacco and illegal drugs by employees, volunteers, children
and visitors while transporting children.

[3.191 A licensee shall prohibit the purchase of alcohol,
tobacco and illegal drugs for children by employees and
volunteers.]  

Part VI.  Transportation

[3.186 3.192] A licensee that chooses to provide for the

transportation of children to or from the premises, or in
connection with an authorized activity, shall ensure that
transportation is provided, in accordance with the provisions
of these requirements.

[3.187 3.193] A licensee shall maintain on file a
photocopy or other written record of the following
documents for every motor vehicle used by the licensee to
transport children [and every driver who transports
children]:

a. A valid motor vehicle license;
b. A current motor vehicle registration; and
c. A current motor vehicle insurance coverage

contract.

[3.188 3.194] A licensee shall ensure that the driver of
any motor vehicle used to transport children enrolled in a
facility or program has a valid driver’s license to operate the
specific type of motor vehicle used to transport children.

[3.189 3.195] A licensee that chooses to transport
non-ambulatory children with disabilities shall ensure that
the following additional equipment is provided for all
vehicles except automobiles used for transporting children:

a. A ramp device to permit entry and exit of a child;
b. A fastening system for wheelchairs that secures the

chair to the vehicle floor; and
c.  Adequate aisle space that does not impede access to

the exit door. 

[3.190 3.196] A licensee shall ensure that all vehicles
used to transport children:

a. Are maintained in a clean and safe condition;
b. Are equipped with a triangular red portable

reflector device;
c. Are equipped with a fully stocked first aid kit

located on the inside of the vehicle;
d. Have  seats and back rests that are securely

fastened;
e. Have all seats facing sideways or backward

securely locked in place; and
f. Have an operable heater capable of maintaining a

temperature of 60 degrees Fahrenheit.

[3.191 3.197] A licensee shall ensure that the following
safety procedures are followed:

a. An employee or volunteer is always present when a
child is in the vehicle;

b. All children are secured in a car seat that is
appropriate for their age and that complies with applicable
provisions of federal and state law(s) or regulations;

c. Children who are not in a car seat are using
[individual] seat belts; and

d. When transporting more than four children below
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six years of age, that there is one adult, in addition to the
driver, in the vehicle.

CHAPTER 4:   RESIDENTIAL CHILD CARE  FACILITY

Part I.  Administration

Authorization to Operate a Facility

4.01 As a condition for being authorized by the Division
to operate a facility, a licensee shall make application to and
have been determined by the Division to be in full
compliance with the Requirements of this Chapter, in
addition to the Requirements of Chapters 1 through 3.

Part II.  Personnel

Staff-to-Child Ratios During [Daylight] Hours [When
Children are Awake]

4.02 During [daylight] hours [when children are
awake], a building with a licensed capacity of 12 or fewer
children shall have no fewer than one direct care worker on
duty on the premises when children are present.  When no
children are present, there shall be one employee who can be
reached by telephone.

4.03 During [daylight ]hours [when children are
awake], a building with a licensed capacity of 13 children or
more, shall have one direct care worker on duty on the
premises for every 10 children or fraction thereof when
children are present.  When no children are present, there
shall be one employee who can be reached by telephone. 

Staff-to-Child Ratios During [Night-Time] Hours [When
Children are Sleeping]

4.04 During [night-time] hours [when children are
sleeping], a building with a licensed capacity of 12 or fewer
children, all of whom are of the same gender, shall have one
direct care worker on duty on the premises when children are
present.  The direct care worker shall be in the area where
children sleep or in any area within close proximity to the
area(s) where children sleep.  The direct care worker shall
not be required to be awake.  An additional employee shall
be on call and available to reach the building, when called,
within 30 consecutive minutes.  If the building is
co-educational, the direct care worker shall be on duty and
awake.

4.05 During [night-time] hours [when children are
sleeping], a building with a licensed capacity of 13 children

or more, shall have one direct care worker on duty on the
premises and awake for each 16 children or fraction thereof,
when children are present.  The direct care worker shall be in
the area where children sleep or in any area within close
proximity to the area(s) where children sleep.  An additional
employee shall be on call and available to reach the facility,
when called, within 30 consecutive minutes.

Recreation

4.06 A facility with a licensed capacity of 13 children or
more shall designate one full-time employee to plan,
coordinate and lead recreational, physical exercise and
leisure time activities for children.

Part III.  Children’s Services and Activities 

Visitation with Children

4.07 A facility shall develop, adopt, follow and maintain
on file written policies and procedures governing visits
between children and their parent(s), legal guardian,
relatives and friends, both at the facility, at the children’s
own  homes and at other suitable locations.  These policies
and procedures shall address the days and hours of visits,
frequency of visits permitted, any exceptions governing
whom the child may visit, and whom to contact to arrange
for special accommodations in the event of hardship or
emergencies and shall be consistent with applicable State
law(s), regulations or court orders.

4.08 A facility shall explain the policies and guidelines
to the child and his or her parent(s) or legal guardian.  

4.09 A facility shall provide accommodations within the
buildings to enable visits with children to be conducted in
reasonable privacy, except where the service plan indicates
that visits are to be directly supervised, or when the facility
has reason to believe that a particular visitor would not be in
the best interest of the child. 

4.10 A facility shall not deny or restrict children’s visits
in the facility with their parent(s), legal guardian, relatives or
friends based upon a child’s behavior or infraction of these
requirements, unless specified in the child’s service plan.

Facility Visits or Tours

4.11 A facility shall develop, adopt, follow and maintain
on file written policies and procedures governing visits to or
tours within the facility by volunteers, [members of the
facility’s governing board], advisory committees or
councils, public officials, the media and members of the
public-at-large who are not related to children in care.  The
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policies and procedures shall address:
a. The process by which such persons shall be

required to seek and secure prior written approval to visit or
tour the facility;

b. The purpose and extent of such visits or tours;
c. The days, hours, frequency and duration of any

such visits or tours;
d. The circumstances and conditions under which

such persons may visit or tour, including a requirement that
such visits or tours be supervised by employees;

e. Precautions to protect the health, safety and
well-being and to prevent risk or harm to children in care;

f. Requirements designed to protect the privacy rights
of children in care; and

g. Conditions to ensure that such visits or tours do not:
• Cause a major or serious disruption of services

or treatment to children;
• Interfere with the implementation of the child’s

service plan;
• Intimidate or embarrass children or employees;

or
• Seriously interfere with or disrupt program

operations.

Overnight Visits Away from Facility

4.12 A facility shall include in the visitation policies and
procedures provisions for verifying the identity of any
visitor(s) not known to the facility and for securing prior to
the visit pertinent information about the location of the
overnight visit and the adult(s) responsible for the child’s
care during the visit.

Sending and Receiving Mail

4.13 A facility shall not deny or restrict a child’s right to
send and receive mail without censorship and without
limiting the amount of mail a child sends or receives, except
when:  

a. The facility has reason to believe that a child’s mail
may contain unauthorized, injurious or illegal materials;  

b. A court order restricts this right; or 
c. A facility has reason to believe that a particular

child’s mail may present a security risk.

4.14 A facility shall ensure that each child has
reasonable access to writing materials and postage.

Children’s Money

4.15 A facility shall develop, adopt, follow and maintain
on file written policies and procedures governing the
handling and management of children’s money.  These
policies and procedures shall include provisions on:

a. The conditions under which a child may possess his
or her own money;

b. The management of individual monetary accounts,
ensuring that there is an accurate, individual accounting of
all monies belonging to a child, including the receipting and
disbursing of all monies;

c. Prohibiting a facility from requiring a child to
assume responsibility for the cost of his or her own care and
treatment, except for the reasonable reimbursement of costs
required to pay for purposeful damage to the facility or to the
property of another person by a child; and

d. Allowing or facilitating opportunities for a child to
earn an allowance or to earn money through work
assignments.

Sleep

4.16 A facility shall develop, adopt, follow and maintain
on file written policies and procedures governing the time to
be set aside for uninterrupted daily sleep for each child.  The
policies and procedures shall ensure that each child is given
the opportunity for at least eight hours of uninterrupted rest
on a daily basis, unless the service plan or health needs of the
child indicate otherwise.

Clothing and Other Personal Belongings

4.17  A facility shall ensure that each child has adequate,
clean, and seasonally appropriate clothing.

4.18 A facility shall permit a child to bring clothing and
other personal belongings to the facility, unless prohibited
by the facility’s policies and procedures.

4.19 A facility shall make adequate provisions for
storing a child’s clothing and other personal belongings
while the child is enrolled, so that clothing used by a child
does not come into contact with clothing used by another
child.

4.20 A facility shall permit a child to take with him or
her all clothing and other personal belongings identified as
his or hers at the time of discharge.

Nutrition

4.21 A facility shall provide at least three nutritiously
balanced meals for each child on a daily basis at regular
times, with not more than 14 hours between the evening
meal and breakfast. 
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Discharge and Aftercare Plans

4.22 A facility shall develop, adopt, follow and maintain
on file written policies and procedures governing discharge
and aftercare planning.  The policies and procedures shall
include:

a. The roles and responsibilities of the child’s
parent(s) or legal guardian, the referring agency, and the
facility;

b. The handling of an emergency discharge of a child
that ensures the immediate notification of his or her parent(s)
or legal guardian, or the referring agency;

c. The involvement of the child in developing the
discharge and aftercare plan, consistent with the child’s
ability to understand the plan and process; and

d. The contents of the discharge report, which shall
include the name, address[,] telephone number of the person
or agency to whom the child was discharged.  In addition,
the report shall include a summary of the services provided
to the child while in care, goals specified within the service
plan that have been achieved, service needs that remain to be
addressed, and recommendations for appropriate follow-up
services.

The discharge report shall be completed within 30
consecutive calendar days of the child’s discharge.

4.23 A facility that discharges a child under
circumstances that are not consistent with the child’s service
plan shall [also] document in writing the following in the
discharge report:

a. The circumstances leading to the unplanned
discharge;

b. The actions taken by the facility and other parties;
and

c. The reason for the actions taken.

Part IV.  Physical Plant

Living Unit Space

4.24 A facility shall ensure that the living unit(s) –
[areas where children live] --  have designated space for
daily living activities, including dining, recreation, indoor
activities and areas  where children may visit with their
parent(s), legal guardian, relatives and friends. 

4.25 A facility shall ensure that a dining area is provided
which shall be maintained in a clean manner, be well-lighted
and ventilated.  The licensee shall ensure that dining room
tables and chairs or benches are sturdy and appropriate for
the sizes and ages of the children in care.

Toilet and Bathing

4.26 A facility shall ensure that there are toilet and
bathing accommodations that meet the following
specifications:

a. For every eight residents, there shall be at least one
flush toilet, wash basin, and bathtub or shower;

b. These toileting and bathing facilities shall not be
located more than one floor  from any bedroom; and

c. Bathrooms shall have at least one mirror fastened to
the wall at an age appropriate height.

Bedroom Accommodations

4.27 A facility shall ensure that any bedroom used by
children includes:

a. A designated area for sleeping;
b. A floor area of at least 70 square feet in a

single-occupancy bedroom and at least 50 square feet in a
multiple-occupancy bedroom, excluding  closet space;

c. Sufficient space for beds to be at least three feet
apart at the head, foot, and sides.  Bunk beds shall be at least
five feet apart at the head, foot and sides;

d. No more than four children for sleeping per room;
e. A door that may be closed;
f. [A direct source of natural light;]
[f g]. A window covering to ensure privacy; and
[g h]. Lights with safety covers or shields.

4.28 A facility shall ensure that each child is provided
with:

a. A bed;
b. A cleanable,  fire retarding mattress; 
c. Clean bed linens on at least a weekly basis [every

seven calendar days, or more often if needed];
d. A pillow; and
e. Blanket(s) appropriate for season and weather.

4.29 A facility shall use cots or portable beds in an
emergency only and for no longer than a period of 72 hours. 

4.30 A facility shall ensure that there are no more than
two tiers when bunk beds are used.  In addition, the facility
shall ensure that the distance between the top bunk mattress
and ceiling is of sufficient height to enable the child to sit
upright in bed without his or her head touching the ceiling.

4.31  [ A facility shall ensure that bed linens are changed
at least every seven calendar days, or more often, if
needed.
4.32] A facility shall provide and locate in the bedroom
for each child a chest of drawers, a bureau, or other bedroom
furniture for the storage of clothing and other personal
belongings.  

[4.33 4.32] A facility shall not permit a child to share the
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same bed with any other child.

[4.34 4.33] A facility shall ensure that a child of five years
of age or older may occupy a bedroom only with members of
the same sex.

Part V.  Health

Personal Care and Hygiene

[4.35 4.34] A facility shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures that ensure
that:

a. Children will receive guidance and instruction in
personal care and hygiene appropriate to their age, gender,
race and culture;

b. Children follow personal care and good hygiene
practices; and

c. All necessary hygiene supplies, towels, washcloths
and toiletries are provided to children in harmony with their
age, gender, race and culture.

[4.36 4.35] A facility shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures governing
preventative, routine and emergency dental and medical
care, including provisions for effective coordination of such
dental and medical care with those responsible for the child’s
aftercare.  The policies and procedures shall include:

a. Periodic appraisal of the general health of each
child;

b. Initial and continuing health screening procedures;
c. Emergency procedures;
d. Maintenance of health records;
e. Arrangements with a licensed physician(s) and

dentist(s) to provide needed care; and
f. Availability of medical care on a  24-hours-a-day,

seven-days-a-week basis. 

[4.37 4.36] A facility shall ensure that children receive
timely, competent care when they are ill and continue to
receive necessary follow-up care.

Medical and Dental Care

[4.38 4.37] If a facility cannot document that each child
has received a complete physical examination within 12
consecutive calendar months before admission to the
facility, the facility shall arrange for the child to have a new
physical examination,  to be completed within 45
consecutive calendar days after admission.

[4.39 4.38] A facility shall ensure that every child receives
a physical examination no later than 12 consecutive calendar
months after his or her previous physical examination and

once a year thereafter.

[4.40 4.39] A facility shall ensure that, upon admission, a
child is asked if he or she has any physical illnesses or
injuries. If a child shows symptoms of illness or injury, the
facility shall arrange for the child to be examined
immediately by a licensed physician or by a licensed nurse
practitioner.  The facility shall document the results of this
procedure in writing and maintain them on file in the child’s
record. 

[4.41 4.40] A facility shall ensure that a child receives
necessary medical care throughout the year.

[4.42 4.41] A facility shall ensure that every  child over
three years of age receives a dental examination annually.

[4.43 4.42] A facility shall ensure that a child  receives
necessary, non-cosmetic dental care throughout the year. 

[4.44 4.43]   A facility shall make provisions for a child to
receive any needed eyeglasses,  hearing aids, prosthetic
devices or  other corrective devices, as medically indicated
by a licensed physician.

Prenatal Care for Pregnant Adolescents

[4.45 4.44] A facility caring for a pregnant adolescent shall
ensure that: 

a. All pregnant adolescents receive comprehensive
prenatal care, including:

1. Monthly visits to an obstetrician or certified
nurse mid-wife during the first 28 weeks of gestation;

2. Biweekly visits to an obstetrician or certified

nurse mid-wife from the 29th to the 36th week of gestation;
3. Weekly visits to an obstetrician or certified

nurse mid-wife from the 36th week of gestation until
delivery; and

4. Participation in a child birth class provided by
a registered nurse or child birth educator.

b. Arrangements for the delivery of the child are made
by the end of the second trimester, or in situations wherein
the adolescent is already pregnant beyond the second
trimester upon admission to the facility, arrangements shall
be made within 15 consecutive calendars days of the
adolescent’s admission to the facility;

c. A system is established to provide background
medical information on the pregnant adolescent to the
hospital identified for delivery or at the birthing center
identified for delivery; 

d. Delivery arrangements are clearly recorded in the
adolescent’s medical record to which employees are to have
access in an emergency; and  
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e. Pregnant adolescents receive a dental examination
within three consecutive calendar months of admission, and
that needed non-cosmetic dental care is provided.

CHAPTER 5.  SECURE RESIDENTIAL CHILD CARE
FACILITY

Authorization to Operate a Secure Residential Care Facility

5.01 As a condition for being authorized by the Division
to operate a secure residential    care facility, a licensee shall
make application to and have been determined by the
Division to be in full compliance with the Requirements of
this Chapter, in addition to the Requirements of  Chapters 1,
2, 3 and 4. 

Admission

5.02 A facility shall only admit a child who has been
adjudicated [delinquent] by a court of law or placed by the
Delaware Division of Child Mental Health Services or any
other in-state or out-of-state governmental agency.

Security Measures

5.03 A facility shall develop, adopt, follow  and maintain
on file a written statement identifying the specific security
measures employed at the facility, and the basis for using
these measures. 

Definition

5.04 For purposes of this Chapter only, “automatic
fail-safe system” means a combination of a mechanical and
an electronic system that automatically unlocks all resident
room doors and other doors required for building egress
purposes in the event of either a power failure or a fire.

Staff-to-Child Ratios

5.05 A facility that is equipped with an automatic
fail-safe system that allows full and free egress from all
individual rooms and buildings in the event of a power
failure or fire shall have at least one direct care [worker] on
duty and on the premises for every five children or fraction
thereof, during [daylight] hours [when children are
awake], and shall have at least one direct care worker awake
and on duty on the premises for every 10 children or fraction
thereof during [night-time] hours [when children are
sleeping].  There shall always be a minimum of two direct
care workers awake and on duty  when children are present
during night-time hours.

5.06 A facility that is not equipped with an automatic

fail-safe system shall have at least one direct care worker on
duty on the premises for every four children or fraction
thereof, when children are present during [daylight] hours
[when children are awake], and shall have at least one
direct care worker awake and on duty on the premises for
every six children or fraction thereof when children are
present during [night-time] hours [when children are
sleeping].  There shall always be a minimum of two direct
care workers awake and on duty when children are present
during [night-time ]hours [when children are sleeping].

5.07 A facility shall assign direct care workers to cover
no more than one living unit at the same time. 

5.08 A facility shall have at least one additional
employee immediately available at all times to assist on-duty
employees in an emergency.

Outdoor Recreation Area

5.09 A facility shall ensure that the outdoor recreation
area is enclosed with a suitable security fence.

Exemptions

5.10 A secure residential care facility shall be exempt
from the following requirements:

a. That portion of Requirement [3.69 3.70] regarding
participation in off-site religious services or activities.

b. Requirements 4.02 through 4.05 regarding
staff-to-child ratios.

CHAPTER 6.  SHELTER CARE FACILITY

Authorization to Operate a Shelter Care Facility

6.01 As a condition for being authorized by the Division
to operate a shelter care facility, a licensee shall make
application to and have been determined by the Division to
be in full compliance with the Requirements of this Chapter,
in addition to the Requirements of Chapters 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Staff-to-Child Ratios

6.02 During [daylight] hours [when the children are
awake], a facility shall provide at least one direct care
worker on duty on the premises for every five children, or
fraction thereof, when children are present. During
[night-time] hours [when the children are sleeping], a
facility shall provide at least one direct care worker awake
and on duty on the premises for every 10 children, or
fraction thereof, when children are present. 

Health Care
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6.03 A facility shall either:
a. Secure written documentation that a child has

received a complete physical examination within the 12
consecutive calendar months prior to his or her admission to
the shelter care facility; or

b. Provide or arrange for the provision of a complete
physical examination within seven consecutive calendar
days of a child’s admission to the shelter care facility.

Duration of Placement

6.04 A facility shall provide care to children for a period
of time that is not to exceed 30 consecutive calendar days,
unless: 

a. There is documentation in the child’s service plan
that clearly justifies a longer placement; or

b. There is evidence that a strict adherence to the
30-day limit would require the child’s release to another
short-term placement, in which case the child may remain in
the shelter care facility until a more permanent or long-term
placement has been identified, or not later than 60
consecutive calendar days, whichever occurs first.

Exemptions

6.05 A shelter care facility shall be exempt from the
following requirements:

a. Requirement [3.153 3.156] regarding written
documentation of a child’s current immunizations;

b. Requirement[3.157] regarding obtaining necessary
immunizations within 30 consecutive calendar days of
admission; and

c. Requirement [3.155 3.158] regarding the essential
health records to be maintained on file. If the items listed in
Requirement [3.155 3.158] are available, they shall be kept
on file by the facility.

CHAPTER 7.  TRANSITIONAL CARE FACILITY

Authorization to Operate a Transitional Care Facility

7.01 As a condition for being authorized by the Division
to operate a transitional care facility, a licensee shall make
application to and have been determined by the Division to
be in full compliance with the Requirements of this Chapter,
in addition to the Requirements of Chapters 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Admission

7.02 A facility shall admit children who: 
a. Have reached the age of 16 or older;
b. Have demonstrated a level of maturity that will

enable them to be involved in some community activities,

including education or employment; and
c. Require minimum guidance or supervision.

7.03 A facility shall accept a child into care only after a
current comprehensive admission evaluation has been
completed in accordance with Requirement [3.40 3.41] and
only when the evaluation indicates that preparation for
self-sufficiency or independent living is the primary goal for
the child.

7.04 At the time of admission, a facility shall enter into a
written agreement with each child.  The agreement shall
include:

a. A delineation of the respective roles and
responsibilities of the facility, the child, and other involved
parties;

b. A description of the rules governing the conduct
and consequences of inappropriate behavior of the child
while in care;

c. A statement of any financial arrangements related
to placement, in accordance with Requirement 4.15; and 

d. The approval signature of the child and the
signature of a representative of the facility.

Service Plan

7.05 In addition to the provisions of Requirements
[3.48,] 3.49 [and,] 3.50 [and 3.51], a facility shall ensure
that the service plan includes:

a. The type and frequency of supervision needed;
b. The respective roles and responsibilities of the

facility, the child and other involved parties;
c. The time-frames and methods to be used to

gradually reduce dependency while appropriately increasing
personal responsibility;

d. Identification of all persons responsible for the
implementation of the plan;

e. The life skills the youth will need to acquire before
discharge;

f. The criteria for achieving a successful discharge;
and

g. The preliminary plan for discharge and aftercare, in
accordance with Requirements 4.22 and 4.23.

Activity Schedule

7.06 A facility shall assist each child to develop and
follow a written activity schedule that includes:

a. Life skills training and practice appropriate to
achieving independent living;

b. Household chores to be completed by children in
care;

c. Employment, job skill training or educational
activities;
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d. Leisure-time or recreational activities; and
e. Contacts with employees, volunteers or community

people.

Staff Coverage

7.07 A facility shall develop, adopt and follow written
policies and procedures governing the type and frequency of
employee supervision provided for each child.  The policies
and procedures shall:

a. Contain criteria for determining the type and
frequency of employee supervision.  The criteria shall be
based on an assessment of each child’s maturity, suitability
and readiness for responsibly and safely handling various
degrees of responsibility and independence; and

b. Delineate a mechanism by which a child can
communicate with a facility for information, assistance or
guidance, or to express a concern or need that the child
cannot resolve alone.

Exemptions

7.08 A transitional care facility shall be exempt from the
following requirements:

a. Requirements [3.131 3.133] through [3.135 3.137]
regarding the outdoor recreation area.

b. Requirements [3.153 3.156] and [3.154 3.157]
regarding child immunizations.

c. Requirements 4.02 through 4.05 regarding
staff-to-child ratios.

d. Requirement [4.15 c 4.15c], regarding the
prohibition that a child pay for his or her own care and
treatment.

CHAPTER 8.  DAY TREATMENT PROGRAMS

Authorization to Operate a Day Treatment Program

8.01 As a condition for being authorized by the Division
to operate a day treatment program, a licensee shall make
application to and have been determined by the Division to
be in full compliance with the Requirements of this Chapter,
in addition to the Requirements of Chapters 1, 2 and 3.  

8.02 If a day treatment program chooses to use any form
of restrictive procedure as defined by Requirement [1.34
1.35], the day treatment program shall secure prior written
authorization from the Division and shall comply with the
Requirements of Chapter 9.

Health Appraisal

8.03 A program shall ensure that within one month
following admission, there shall be on file an

age-appropriate health appraisal conducted within 12
consecutive calendar months prior to admission for each
child enrolled.  Health appraisals shall be certified by a
licensed physician or nurse practitioner and shall be updated
annually.  The health appraisal shall include:

a. A health history;
b. A physician’s examination;
c. Recommendations regarding restrictions or

modifications of the child’s activities, diet or care;
d. Prescriptions for medication or recommendations

regarding medications; and
e. Documentation of the immunization status.

Activities

8.04 The program shall ensure that all children are
provided activities and physical exercise or routines that are
developmentally and age-appropriate.  
8.05 The program shall ensure that children under six
years of age are provided with opportunities for rest after the
noon meal.  The rest area shall be adequately lighted to allow
for visual supervision at all times.

Indoor Space

8.06 A program shall have at least 35 square feet of
usable indoor space per child,  exclusive of toilet rooms,
kitchen areas, eating areas, isolation rooms, offices, storage
spaces, hallways, closets and gymnasiums. 

Sleeping Accommodations

8.07 A program shall ensure that each child under six
years of age who is present during scheduled rest time
possesses age-appropriate, clean rest equipment and
bedding, and that equipment and bedding are safely
maintained for the exclusive use of that child.  [Disposal
Disposable] bedding shall be acceptable as an alternative to
maintaining rest equipment for the exclusive use of that
child.

Toilet Facilities

8.08 A program shall have enclosed toilet rooms inside
the building on the same floor that houses the recreation or
play areas.

8.09 A program serving children between two and five
years of age shall maintain a sink and toilet ratio in
accordance with the following table:  
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No. of ChildrenNumber of ToiletsNumber of Sinks  Ratios

1-15 1 1 1/15
16 - 35 2 2 1/17.5
36 - 100 3-5  3-5 1/20
Over 100 1/25

8.10 A program serving children between six and 18
years of age shall have one sink and toilet for every 25
children, or fraction thereof,  based upon licensed capacity.
A urinal shall be counted as one-half of a toilet, provided
that the population served includes a significant number of
males and that at least two flush toilets are available and
accessible to both males and females. 

Staff-to-Child Ratios

8.11 A program shall maintain the following direct care
worker to child ratios for each age group when children are
present[: during daylight hours:]

Age of child Minimum direct care worker to child ratio
0-5 1:4
6-12 1:6
13+ 1:10

8.12 A program shall ensure that at least two employees
are present and on duty on the premises at all times when
children are present, regardless of the number of children.

Day Treatment Agreement

[8.14 8.13] A program shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file a written day treatment agreement.  The
agreement shall be completed prior to the child’s admission
and shall be signed by the licensee [or his or her designee],
the child, if appropriate, the child’s parent(s) or legal
guardian and the referring agency and shall  include:

a. A description of the respective expectations, roles
and responsibilities of the program, child, family and other
involved parties;

b. Specification of the hours of operation,
arrangements for service of meals, equipment to be provided
by the family, transportation arrangements and visitation
policies;

c. Specification of the behavior management policy,
the release policy and the procedures for handling child and
parent complaints; and

d. Specification of grounds for termination of
enrollment. 

Release of Children

[8.15 8.14] A program shall develop, adopt, follow and

maintain on file written policies and procedures governing
the release of children.  Such policies and procedures shall
require that a copy is given to all parents, employees,
volunteers and children and    shall include provisions:

a. To ensure documentation of the release of the child
to an authorized person, agency  or public school bus
service;

b. For the emergency release of children.  When a
parent calls the program requesting emergency release of the
child, the program shall verify the identity of the parent prior
to releasing the child;

c. Regarding the release of the child to a person not
known to the licensee.  A program shall verify the identity of
any person not known to employees prior to the release of a
child and shall retain verification for at least 24 hours;

d. To be followed when a person not authorized to
receive a child requests release of a child. A program shall
ensure that a child is released only to his or her parent(s),
legal guardian or other person authorized by the parent(s) to
receive a child; and

e. To be followed when a person showing clear signs
of drug or alcohol impairment requests release of a child.

Handling of Sick Children

[8.16 8.15] A program shall have a separate area where
children who are exhibiting symptoms of illness that require
isolation from the group may be cared for until they can be
released to their parent(s) or legal guardian or are diagnosed
by a licensed physician or nurse as posing no risk to
themselves or others. The area shall not be located in the
kitchen or toilet areas.

Child Accident and Injury

[8.17 8.16] A licensee shall ensure that a child who is
injured by an accident or fall is provided with necessary first
aid treatment, or is taken to an emergency medical treatment
center, and that the parent(s) or legal guardian is
immediately notified.

CHAPTER 9.  RESTRICTIVE PROCEDURES

Authorization to Use Restrictive Procedures

9.01 As a condition for being authorized by the Division
to implement restrictive procedures, a licensee shall make
application to and have been determined by the Division to
be in full compliance with the Requirements of this Chapter,
in addition to the Requirements of Chapters 1, 2, and 3.

9.02 A licensee shall not utilize or administer a
restrictive procedure on any child below six years of age.
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Policies and Procedures Governing the Appropriate Use of
Restrictive Procedures

9.03 A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures governing
the appropriate use of each type of restrictive procedure to be
employed.  The policies and procedures shall:

a. Identify the types of behavior or conditions for
which restrictive procedures are to be permitted;

b. Document that the licensee’s use of restrictive
procedures are in accordance with established, accepted
clinical practice and is age-appropriate;

c. Delineate the name, position and qualifications of
the employees who have direct responsibility for applying
and for supervising the application of restrictive procedures;

d. Restrict the use of these procedures only by
designated and authorized employees who have been given
prior training in how to administer and supervise the
application of such procedures;

e. Require that an application of a restrictive
procedure is done in concert with the current service plan for
that child, taking into account the child’s developmental and
medical needs;

f. Require that a legal, informed written consent from
the parent(s) or legal guardian of a child is obtained prior to
the application of any restrictive procedure, except in
emergency situations, in which case, the policies and
procedures shall outline safeguards for the use of a
restrictive procedure in such a circumstance;

g. Require that these procedures may only be
employed as ancillary techniques to accompany positive
reinforcement techniques;

h. Require that a technique may only be employed
when its use outweighs the risk of harm accompanying its
use;

i. Indicate time limitations and other restrictions on
the use of each form of restrictive procedure;

j. Require that a  technique may only be employed
when it is the least restrictive means to address the behavior
that necessitated its use;

k. Require that the chief administrator or his or her
designee provides administrative oversight of each use of a
restrictive procedure to ensure that these procedures are
humanely and appropriately applied; and

l. Require that a written record of each application of
a restrictive procedure be maintained. The record shall
contain: the name of the child; the identity of the
employee(s) who administered the procedure; the date, time
and duration of the procedure; the circumstances
surrounding the use of the procedure; and a description of
the child’s demeanor.

Human Rights Committee

9.04 A licensee shall establish a Human Rights
Committee of at least five adult individuals of known
reputation, two of whom shall be professionally
knowledgeable or experienced in the theory and ethical
application of various treatment techniques used to address
behavioral problems.  The Human Rights Committee shall
include members from the licensee and external to the
licensee or its parent organization.  A majority of Committee
members shall be external to the licensee or its parent
organization, and one member of the Committee shall be
either a licensed mental health professional, a licensed
physician, a licensed clinical psychologist, or a clinical
social worker.  The Committee shall meet at least on a
quarterly basis.  

9.05 The Human Rights Committee shall be responsible
for:

a. Determining that children in care are receiving
humane and proper treatment;

b. Reviewing and making recommendations regarding
the licensee’s policies and procedures governing the use of
restrictive procedures;

c. Reviewing the restrictive procedures records and
advising the Chief Administrator accordingly;

d. Recording and maintaining on file written minutes
of all of its meetings, and providing the Chief Administrator
with a copy of these minutes;

e. Making inquiries into any allegations of abusive
techniques or the misuse of restrictive procedures.  A report
of the inquiry shall be provided by the Committee to the
Chief Administrator and sent to the Division;

f. Monitoring the qualifications and training of
employees who have been given responsibility for
administering restrictive procedures and to make
recommendations to the Chief Administrator accordingly;
and

g. Reviewing and making recommendations on
individual treatment plans that include the application of
some form of restrictive procedures.

9.06 An emergency application of a restrictive procedure
may occur for a specific child without the prior review of the
Human Rights Committee, but only when the situation is
deemed to be an emergency.

Orientation and Training

9.07 In addition to complying with Requirements [3.25
[3.26] through [3.30 [3.31], a licensee shall ensure that
employees authorized to apply a restrictive procedure also
receive orientation and training on:

a. The various types of restrictive procedures;
b. The acceptable way to administer and supervise the

application of restrictive procedures;
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c. The possible side effects of psychotropic
medications; and

d. The policies and procedures governing the
appropriate use of restrictive procedures.

Application of Restrictive Procedures

9.08 A child who is having a restrictive procedure
applied shall be under continuous monitoring and
observation to prevent the child from harming himself or
herself, or others.  A child shall be given an opportunity for a
minimum of 10 consecutive minutes of release within each
two consecutive hours of the application of a restrictive
procedure for the purpose of moving about or exercising,
and shall be permitted to go to a toilet, when requested, or be
given the opportunity to go to a toilet at least once every two
consecutive hours.

9.09 A licensee shall not authorize or permit restrictive
procedures to be used in a punitive, retributive, harsh or
abusive manner, nor for the convenience of staff or as a
substitute for other less restrictive, appropriate means of
social treatment or intervention.

9.10 A licensee shall ensure that any allegation(s) of an
inappropriate or abusive application of a restrictive
procedure is brought to the attention of the Human Rights
Committee promptly.

9.11 A licensee shall ensure that the Human Rights
Committee initiates an investigation of any allegation(s) of
an inappropriate or abusive application of a restrictive
procedure within two consecutive business days of having
received the allegation(s).

9.12 A licensee shall use the least restrictive [effective]
form of restrictive procedure necessary to control a child’s
dangerous,  violent, or seriously disruptive behavior.

9.13 A licensee shall ensure that employees immediately
release a child from a prescribed restrictive procedure when
the situation necessitating its need no longer exists or when
the maximum time allowed for use of such a procedure has
expired, whichever occurs first.     

Exclusion

9.14 A licensee shall utilize exclusion only:
a. For a prescribed duration of time that shall not

exceed 60 consecutive minutes; and
b. If there are more than 10 exclusions for an

individual child or a cumulative total of six hours within any
consecutive 24-hour period, a licensee shall ensure that:

1. A review is conducted by the chief

administrator, or his or her designee, to    determine the
suitability of the child to remain in placement, or whether
modifications to the child’s service plan are warranted; and

2. Appropriate action is taken in response to the
findings of the review.

9.15 A licensee shall ensure that:
a. At least one employee is responsible for providing

continuous monitoring of the child;
b. The child is not excluded in a closet, bathroom or

unfinished basement or attic; and
c. The child is reintroduced to the group in a sensitive

and non-punitive manner as soon as he or she has re-gained
control.

Locked Isolation

9.16 A licensee shall utilize locked isolation only:
a. When a child’s behavior is so violent or disruptive

as to present a high risk of physical or emotional harm to the
child or others;

b. When other less restrictive and less punitive
physical interventions have been applied without success;
and

c. For a duration of time that does not exceed two
consecutive hours or a total of six non-consecutive hours
within any 24-hour period.

9.17  A licensee shall ensure that:
a. There is a minimum  maximum] length of time for

placement when a child is isolated in a locked room;
b. The application of locked isolation is prohibited for

non-violent or non-assaultive offenses or behaviors or for
practices designed to prevent children from running away,
to seclude a child who is ill, to punish a child for stealing,
cursing or failing to comply with house rules, or to facilitate
supervision for the convenience of employees; and

c. The child is re-introduced to the group in a sensitive
and non-punitive manner as soon as he or she has re-gained
control.

9.18 A licensee shall ensure that a child placed in locked
isolation is not in possession of  belts, matches, weapons or
any other potentially harmful object or material that could
present a risk of harm to a child.

9.19 A licensee shall ensure that an employee who is
assigned to monitor a child placed in locked isolation shall
have no other immediate responsibility and shall:

a. Be in visual and auditory contact with the child at
all times;

b. Ensure that all personal needs of the child are met;
c. Ensure that a child has access to toilet facilities, as

needed; and
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d. Ensure that the child receives the same number and
frequency  of meals and snacks provided to other children in
the facility or program.

9.20 A licensee shall utilize locked isolation only:
a. For a prescribed duration of time that shall not

exceed 60 consecutive   minutes unless authorized by the
chief administrator, or his or her designee, and then the
locked isolation  shall not exceed 120 consecutive minutes;
and

b. If a child is in locked isolation for a cumulative
total of six cumulative hours within a 24-hour period, the
licensee shall ensure that:

1. A review is conducted by the chief
administrator or his or her designee to determine the
suitability of the child to remain in placement, or whether
modifications to the child’s service plan are warranted; and

2. Appropriate action is taken in response to the
finding of the review.

9.21 A licensee shall ensure that the child is reintroduced
to the group in a sensitive and non-punitive manner as soon
as he or she has regained control.

9.22     A licensee shall ensure that any  room to be used for
locked isolation has:

a. At least 75  square feet and a ceiling height of at
least eight  feet;

b. A safety glass window, mirror or camera that
allows for full observation of the locked isolation room;

c. No hardware or furnishings that obstruct observing
the child at all times;

d. Installed hardware, equipment and furnishings that
do not present a physical hazard or a suicide risk;

e. Installed either the means for natural or mechanical
ventilation to provide ventilation at a level deemed
appropriate to maintain the child’s health and well-being;

f. The capacity to maintain a temperature  of at least
68  degrees Fahrenheit; and

g. A minimum of 10 foot-candles of light in all areas
of the room.

Chemical Restraint

9.23 A licensee shall ensure that each administration of
chemical restraint is prescribed by a licensed physician who
has personally reviewed the child’s health records and has
examined the child at the time of the episode.

9.24 A licensee shall not allow the use of a physician’s
standing order (ProReNata) for purposes of authorizing the
application of a chemical restraint.

9.25 A licensee shall ensure that any application of a

chemical restraint, whether administered orally or by
intramuscular injection, is administered only by a licensed
nurse or by a licensed physician.

9.26 When a child requires chemical restraint on more
than six occasions in any 30 consecutive calendar-day
period, the chief administrator, or his or her designee, shall
determine the appropriateness of the child’s continued
placement in the facility or program.

9.27 A licensee shall not administer a chemical restraint
as a punishment, for the convenience of employees, or as a
substitute for a treatment program.

9.28 A licensee shall ensure that:
a. The initial administration of a chemical restraint

does not exceed 24 consecutive hours in duration;
b. Only a licensed physician who has reviewed the

child’s health records and who has examined the child may
authorize the application of an additional chemical restraint
and then only for an additional consecutive 24-hour period
and only upon determining that the continuance of chemical
restraint on an emergency basis is clinically necessary and
appropriate;

c. Employees regularly monitor the child under
chemical restraint, observe the child’s condition or state and
immediately advise the prescribing physician of any
observed side effects; and

d. A written record of the child’s receipt of a chemical
restraint and his or her condition, including any observed
side effects, is maintained in the child’s health records.

Mechanical Restraint

9.29 A licensee shall utilize a mechanical restraint only:
a. When a child’s behavior is so violent or disruptive

as to present a high risk of physical harm to the [adolescent
child] or others;

b. Other less restrictive and less intrusive physical
interventions have been applied without success;

c. When transporting a child to or from a court
hearing or other circumstances requiring that truancy
prevention be exercised and that no other means of
prevention is appropriate;

d. For a duration of time that shall not exceed two
consecutive hours or a total of four consecutive hours within
any consecutive 24-hour period or that is utilized more than
four times within a consecutive five-day period.  An
exception to this is allowed only for purposes of transporting
a child to or from a court hearing or other off-premises
location wherein truancy prevention is required; and

e. Employees utilizing the restraint have received
training in properly applying it.
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9.30 A licensee shall ensure that:
a. The child being mechanically restrained is

protected and handled by an employee in a safe manner
designed to avoid injury or pain in applying the restraint;

b. Only one child is mechanically restrained in the
same room or area at the same time, unless being transported
in a vehicle to and from a court hearing;

c. An employee maintains visual contact with the
child at all times while the mechanical restraint is being
applied;

d. An employee inspects the child’s wrists, arms, or
legs every 15 consecutive minutes to prevent injury or
circulation problems from occurring, and attempts to release
each limb every 60 consecutive minutes for a duration of 10
consecutive minutes; and

e. The restrained child has reasonable access to toilet
facilities and to all scheduled meals while restraints are
being applied.

9.31 A licensee shall prohibit the use of the following
mechanical restraints:

a. Papoose boards.
b. Ropes.

CHAPTER 10.  ADVENTURE ACTIVITY PROGRAM

Authorization To Provide Adventure Activity Program

10.01 As a condition for being authorized by the Division
to involve children in an Adventure Activity Program, a
licensee shall make application to and have been determined
by the Division to be in full compliance with the
Requirements of this Chapter, in addition to the
Requirements of Chapters 1, 2, and 3.

Policies and Procedures

10.02 A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file written policies and procedures that contain:

a. A comprehensive description of the various types
of adventure activities in which the licensee plans to involve
children, including the specific destinations for each day,
routes to be followed whether by highway, trail or waterway,
and the modes of transportation to be used;

b. Safety rules that are to be used by employees,
volunteers and children when engaged in each of the types of
adventure activities that are described in this Chapter;

c. Recognized standards of safety pertaining to each
of the specified adventure activities to be utilized;

d. Criteria based on recognized standards for
employees and volunteers who are responsible for leading,
instructing and supervising children engaged in any of the
adventure activities to be utilized;

e. Descriptions of appropriate safety equipment and

clothing, such as safety glasses or goggles, helmets, gloves,
special shoes and outdoor clothing that are required to be
used for adventure activities;

f. Procedures to be employed to ensure that the
environment is protected and any waste materials or trash are
appropriately disposed of;

g. Instructions for posting itineraries, preparing for
emergency medical services, and notifying, at agreed upon
times, the licensee’s main office when the adventure activity
takes place in a location or locations that are remote from the
main premises of the licensee;

h. Guidelines to ensure that adventure activities
include opportunities for problem-solving, developing a
positive self-image, and developing an appreciation for the
natural environment and conservation;

i. Guidelines to ensure that adventure activities are
followed by opportunities for reflection and life application;

j. Guidelines to ensure that participation is conducted
within the boundaries of the child’s capabilities, dignity and
respect for self-determination;

k. Procedures to ensure that necessary potable water,
nutritious food, appropriate clothing, shelter, rest and other
essentials are available and planned for;

l. Procedures for obtaining signed consent forms from
a child’s parent(s), legal guardian or referring agency; and

m. Procedures that ensure the reporting to the Division
of any fatalities or any accidents resulting in the
hospitalization of a child.

Safety/Risk Management Committee

10.03 A licensee shall establish a Safety/Risk
Management Committee consisting of representatives of
management, employees, and individuals with experience
and expertise in adventure activities.  This Committee shall
review the licensee’s policies and procedures governing
adventure activities and monitor risk management and safety
practices employed in the various adventure activities, and
advise the licensee’s chief administrator of any revisions,
omissions or additions that are deemed necessary and
appropriate. The Committee shall review any accident that
may occur and the circumstances surrounding the accident
and send written findings and recommendations to the
licensee’s chief administrator [and to the Division].

Staff Qualifications

10.04 A licensee shall ensure that employees and
volunteers who have responsibility for a particular adventure
activity are qualified and experienced in the specific
adventure activity.  If certification is required, such as is for
swimming and certain other aquatic activities, such
employees or volunteers shall have current certification.
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10.05 An aquatic supervisor shall be an adult who has
satisfactorily completed the training and certification
requirements for a water safety instructor that are equivalent
to those adopted by the American Red Cross for water
safety.

Staff-to-Child Ratios

10.06 A licensee shall ensure that the ratio of employees
and volunteers to children is in conformity with standards for
the specified adventure activity being applied and that have
been recognized by a national accrediting or other
recognized organization.

10.07 A licensee shall ensure that an aquatic supervisor or
water safety instructor is on duty at each aquatic activity.
The aquatic supervisor shall be responsible for the
enforcement of the licensee’s safety rules, policies and
procedures governing aquatic activities, including
swimming, boating, canoeing, kayaking, water skiing and
white water rafting.
Away From Campus Adventure Activities

10.08 A licensee shall maintain on file at the licensee’s
administrative office a list of all children, employees, and
volunteers who participate in an adventure activity that
occurs away from the premises of the licensee.

10.09 A licensee shall ensure that a fully stocked First Aid
kit that is adventure activity- appropriate and readily
available accompanies the employee who is the lead person
for the away-from-campus adventure activity.

10.10 A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file:

a. A written copy of its itinerary and pre-established
check-in times; and

b. The names of children, employees and volunteers
participating in an adventure activity that involves
out-of-state travel or within-state travel of more than 48
consecutive hours duration.  

The licensee shall send a copy of the itinerary to the
Division at least 15 consecutive calendar days prior to
departing on the adventure activity and shall provide the
child’s parent(s), legal guardian or referring agency with a
copy of the itinerary.

Equipment

10.11 A licensee shall ensure that any equipment and gear
that is to be used in connection with a specified adventure
activity is appropriate to the activity, certified if required, in
good repair, in operable condition, and age-and body-size
appropriate.

10.12 A licensee shall ensure that all ropes and
paraphernalia used in connection with rope rock climbing,
rappelling, high and low ropes courses or other adventure
activities in which ropes are used are approved by the Union
of International Alpine Association (UIAA), or an
equivalent certifying organization, and have been inspected
by employees responsible for supervising the adventure
activity before engaging children in the activity.  

10.13 A [license licensee] shall ensure that all
participants are appropriately equipped, clothed, and
wearing safety gear, such as a helmet, goggles, safety belt,
life jacket or a flotation device, that is appropriate to the
adventure activity in which a child is engaged.

Natural Swimming Area Life Saving Equipment

10.14 A licensee shall clearly delineate the areas for
swimmers and non-swimmers in any natural swimming area
used by children, such as a lake, river, bay, ocean or gulf. 
10.15 A licensee shall ensure that lifesaving equipment is
provided at each permanent swimming area and shall be
placed so it is immediately available in case of an
emergency.  The following equipment shall be available:

a. A whistle or other audible signal device for each
employee on duty;

b. An assist pole or other appropriate reaching device;
c. A ring buoy or other appropriate throwing assist

device that has a rope attached to it which is of sufficient
length for the area;

d. A backboard that has appropriate rigid cervical
collars and a minimum of six straps;

e. A first aid kit; and
f. A rescue tube.

10.16 A licensee shall ensure that lifesaving equipment is
provided for all other aquatic activities and is placed so that
it is immediately available in case of an emergency.  At a
minimum, the equipment shall include:

a. A whistle or other audible signal device;
b. A throwing assist device; and
c. A first aid kit.

Aquatic Procedures

10.17 A licensee shall ensure that before engaging in any
aquatic activity, each child shall be classified by the aquatic
supervisor according to swimming ability in one of two
classifications: swimmer and non-swimmer.

10.18 A licensee shall not permit a child to participate in
an aquatic activity that requires higher skills than the child’s
swimming classification, except during formal instruction.
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10.19 A licensee shall establish and enforce a method,
such as the buddy system, for supervising children who are
involved in an aquatic activity.  The system used shall
include procedures for check-in, check-out, and the periodic
accounting for the whereabouts of each child by an
employee of the licensee.  A licensee shall ensure that an
accounting of the number of swimmers is conducted at least
once every 10 consecutive minutes.

10.20 A licensee shall develop, adopt, follow and
maintain on file a written aquatic emergency plan, for each
aquatic activity.  The plan shall include:

a. Rescue procedures and frequency of drills;
b. Child accountability;
c. Prompt evacuation; and
d. Notification of outside emergency services.

10.21 A licensee shall ensure that swimming at sites other
than a waterfront or pool that is on the premises of the
licensee is supervised by an aquatic supervisor who shall be
assisted by one aquatic observer for every 10 children, or
fraction thereof, in the water.  

10.22 A licensee shall ensure that the buddy system is
used and that buddy checks are conducted every five minutes
whenever swimming is permitted at non-permanent sites.

10.23 A licensee shall not conduct or permit swimming
programs during periods of darkness.  This provision does
not prohibit the use of swimming pools that have underwater
and deck lighting that provides unrestricted vision.

10.24 A licensee shall ensure that headfirst diving occurs
only in designated areas and only in water that is five feet
deep or more.

10.25 A licensee shall adhere to the following table to
determine minimum diving area depths and distances from
the end of the board or platform:

Water Depth Distance
Competitive Swim/Classes 5 feet 10 feet
Platform less than two feet above water 8 feet 10 feet
Board two feet or less above water 10 feet 15 feet
Board more than two feet above water  15 feet  20 feet  

Watercraft and Water-Skiing Activities

10.26 A licensee shall conduct watercraft activities only
during daylight hours.

10.27 A licensee shall provide an appropriately sized,
coast guard-approved, personal flotation device for each

occupant of a watercraft and ensure that such a device is
worn by every occupant of a watercraft.

10.28 A licensee shall ensure that an appropriately sized,
coast guard-approved,  personal flotation device shall be
worn by any water-skier, by any participant in a sailing
activity, or by any participant of a white water adventure
activity.

10.29 A licensee shall not use personal flotation devices
of kapok construction.

10.30 A licensee shall not permit a non-swimmer to board
a sailboat unless accompanied by an adult swimmer.

10.31 A licensee shall ensure that the aquatic supervisor
or an adult aquatic observer has immediate access to a
watercraft with which to provide emergency assistance on
the permanent swimming site.

10.32 A licensee shall ensure that a watercraft docking
area is not adjacent to a swimming area, and that a
swimming area is not used for the launching or dropping off
of water-skiers.

10.33 A licensee shall ensure that, when a watercraft has a
rated capacity, the capacity is observed and when a
watercraft does not have a rated capacity, all occupants  wear
an appropriately sized, coast guard-approved personal
flotation device.  This provision does not apply when the
non-rated watercraft is a canoe being used by one or two
advanced swimmers during formal instruction.

CHAPTER 11. PARENTING ADOLESCENT FACILITY

Authorization to Operate a Residential Facility for Parenting
Adolescents

11.01 As a condition for being authorized by the Division
to operate a residential facility for parenting adolescents, a
licensee shall make application to and have been determined
by the Division to be in full compliance with the
Requirements of this Chapter, in addition to the
Requirements of Chapters 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Definition

11.02 For purposes of this chapter only, “Adolescent”
means a child who is parenting a child.

Direct Care Worker Qualifications for a Parenting
Adolescent Facility

11.03 A direct care worker, at the time of appointment,



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1668

shall possess at least:
a. One year of work experience in a child care facility

or program; and
b. Fifteen hours of training in early childhood

development.

Staff-to-Child Ratios

11.04 A facility shall maintain the following staff-to-child
ratios when adolescents and their children are present:

a. During [daylight] hours [when children are
awake], one direct care worker on duty and awake on the
premises for a combined total of every eight adolescents and
their children below three years of age, or fraction thereof;

b. During [night-time] hours [when children are
sleeping], one direct care worker on duty on the premises for
a combined total of every ten adolescents and their children
below three years of age, or fraction thereof.  The direct care
worker shall not be required to be awake;

c. When two direct care workers are required by the
ratios during [night-time] hours [when children are
sleeping], at least one direct care worker shall be required to
be awake; and

d. A facility shall not allow more than a combined
total of 12 adolescents and their children below three years
of age to reside in the facility at the same time.

One Adolescent Caring for another Adolescent’s Child

11.05 A facility may permit an adolescent in residence to
care for the child of another adolescent in residence only if
the following conditions are met:

a. The adolescent who is assuming the care of another
adolescent’s child cares for no more than one other child in
addition to her own at any time;

b. The adolescents discuss the expectations of the
caregiver, including duration of child care, the child’s
nutritional and toileting needs, and whether the mother will
make arrangements for compensation or exchange of
baby-sitting; and

c. The arrangement is reviewed and approved by the
chief administrator or his or her designee.

Service Plan

11.06 The service plan shall include:
a. An assessment of the child’s health, nutritional,

medical, and developmental needs;
b. An assessment of the interest of the child’s father,

and the role that he is to have with the child and with the
child’s mother;

c. An assessment of the interests of the grandparents
and the role that they are to have with the child and with the
child’s mother; and

d. Self-sufficiency goals for the adolescent mother,
including child care and level of understanding of her child’s
developmental needs, food preparation skills, budgeting and
money management, and job readiness.

Adoption Counseling Services

11.07 A facility shall provide adoption counseling if the
adolescent expresses an interest in surrendering her child for
adoption.  The counseling shall include:

a. An explanation of adoption;
b. The types of adoptions available;
c. The processes involved in surrendering a child for

adoption; and
d. The provision of a list of agencies licensed to

provide these services.  

Stimulation of Young Children

11.08 A facility shall ensure that all infants are held and
spoken to and placed in a position to observe activities when
they are awake at some point during the day.  

11.09 A facility shall ensure that all infants under seven
months of age are held throughout all bottle feedings, and
older infants if they are incapable of holding a bottle on their
own.

11.10 A facility shall ensure that all infants have access to
age-appropriate toys and are provided opportunity for visual
and sound stimulation.

11.11 A facility shall ensure that, when an adolescent
mother is in school or is working, her infant is appropriately
cared for, either in a licensed child care center or licensed
family child care home, or in the facility.
 
11.12 A facility shall ensure that all children under 18
months of age are engaged in at least four of the following
activities with their mothers for at least a total of 45
cumulative minutes each day:

a. Sensory activities, such as the use of crib mobiles,
teething toys, busy boxes, baby mirrors, rattles, melody
chimes, squeeze toys, or other comparable toys or
equipment;

b. Language activities, such as the use of picture
books, toy telephones, audio equipment with age appropriate
music or sounds, hand puppets, stuffed animals, soft
washable dolls, photographs, or other comparable items;

c. Manipulative activities, such as the use of squeeze
toys, grip toys, sorting and stacking toys, three or four piece
inlay type puzzles, puzzle blocks, simple threading toys,
mobile pull toys, balls, or other comparable age appropriate
play equipment;
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d. Building activities, such as the use of building
blocks, toy cars, figures of animals and people, nesting toys,
and other comparable toys or equipment;

e. Large muscle activities, such as the use of low
climbers, slides, riding or rocking toys, foam or plastic balls,
gym mats, play tunnels, or other comparable play
equipment; and

f. Music activities such, as the use of rhythm
instruments, record player and records, toys equipped with
musical tones, musical mobiles, busy boxes, drums,
xylophones, piano, or other comparable equipment or toys.

11.13 A facility shall ensure that all children 18 months of
age or older are engaged in at least four of the following
activities with their mother for at least one cumulative hour
each day:

a. Language activities, such as being read to from a
book, playing with flannel boards and telling a story or
having the child tell the story, pictures, identification or
classification, puppets, audio-visual equipment, or other
comparable equipment or toys;

b. Science and math related activities, such as planting
or gardening, playing with sand or the use of a sand table,
fish or small animal care, and other comparable activities;

c. Manipulative activities, such as the use of puzzles,
pegs and a pegboard, lacing boards, table stop building toys,
dominoes, and other age appropriate comparable toys and
equipment;

d. Building activities, such as the use of unit blocks,
transportation toys, farm animals, play people, age
appropriate, child size work bench or other household
equipment;

e. Art activities, such as the use of crayons, tempera
paint, large brushes and newsprint, finger paint, construction
paper, past or glue, blunt scissors, collage materials,
non-toxic felt-tip markers, clay or playdough, or other
comparable play equipment or toys; and

f. Music activities, such as the use of rhythm sticks,
drums, cymbals, bells, tape recorder, piano, or other
comparable equipment.

Medical Care for Children of Parenting Adolescents

11.14 A facility shall ensure adolescents use only
prescription and non-prescription medication that is
authorized by a licensed physician or a licensed nurse
practitioner for themselves and for their children.

11.15 A facility shall ensure that adolescents follow the
advice of a licensed physician regarding the health care of
the adolescent’s child.

11.16 A facility shall ensure that an adolescent obtains for
her infant:  

a. A physical examination at the age of one month,
and again by no later than the age of two-and-one-half
months;

b. Immunizations as required by the Delaware
Division of Public Health; and

c. Between three-and-one-half and four months of
age, a physical examination and periodically thereafter as
recommended by the infant’s attending physician or medical
clinic.

Discharge and Aftercare Plans

11.17 A facility shall include in the discharge and
aftercare plan specific information regarding the status of the
adolescent’s child and health care, immunization, and
medical needs that the child may require; and an assessment
of the adolescent’s ability to parent the child and to
follow-up appropriately on the child’s aftercare plan.

Toys and Equipment

11.18 A facility shall ensure that all toys and equipment to
be used by children are sturdy, of safe construction,
non-toxic and free of hazards.  A facility shall use a choker
tube to ensure that all parts of all toys used by children under
three years of age are large enough so that they cannot be
swallowed by the child.

11.19 A facility shall provide an age-appropriate-sized
crib for each infant or child, but may allow an infant to sleep
in a playpen or on a mat during daytime hours.  A  facility
shall ensure that:

a. Crib and playpen slats are no more than 2.3 inches
apart;

b. The top rails of the crib or playpen are at least 19
inches above the mattress;

c. Any locks or latches on the dropside of a crib are
safe from accidental release;

d. The mattresses used in all cribs and playpens [fits
fit] snugly;

e. Each infant has sheets, blankets and other coverings
for his or her exclusive use;

f. Wet or soiled or damaged sheets, mattress, blankets
or other coverings are immediately replaced;

g. All sheets and blankets are laundered at least once a
week, or if soiled, are laundered before next use;

h. Cribs and playpens are free of hazards and an
excessive number of toys; and

i. Beds or cribs not used solely for a specific infant
shall have linens and blankets replaced with clean linens and
blankets before each use by a different infant.
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Premises

11.20 A facility shall provide:
a. A separate bedroom with at least 100 square feet for

the adolescent and her child, and an additional 50 square feet
for each additional child;

b. Sufficient space to accommodate tables, high
chairs, chairs for adolescents and their children, and on duty
staff to eat meals together; and

c. Sufficient locked or secure storage space that can
accommodate the personal belongings of the adolescent and
her child(ren) which is reasonably accessible to the
adolescent.

11.21 A facility shall ensure that all rooms used by
children or infants are accessible to employees, including
bedrooms.

11.22 A facility shall ensure that all buildings and
grounds are maintained in a safe and sanitary manner. 

11.23 A facility shall ensure that:
a. There are no poisonous plants accessible to

children;
b. All corrosive agents, insecticides, bleach products,

detergents, furniture polish, any products under pressure in
an aerosol spray can, or any toxic substances are stored in a
locked cabinet or closet and are not accessible to infants or
young children;

c. All furniture and equipment used by the adolescents
or their children, whether used indoors or outdoors, are of
sturdy and safe construction; and

d. Non-permanent safety barriers, such as safety gates,
are installed in a manner that will prevent infants and young
children from falling down stairways, or ramps, or from
gaining access to balconies or porches or elevated play areas.

VIOLENT CRIMES 
COMPENATION BOARD

Statutory Authority: 11 Delaware Code,
Section 9004(4) (11 Del.C. 9004(4))

BEFORE THE DELAWARE VIOLENT CRIMES 
COMPENSATION BOARD IN RE:

PROPOSAL TO REMOVE RULE XXVI

Pursuant to the guidelines in 29 Del. c. Section 10118
(a) (1) (7), the Delaware Violent Crimes Compensation
Board ("Board") hereby issues this Order.  Following notice
and a public hearing held on November 24, 1998 on the
proposal to remove Rule XXVI, Mental Suffering Awards,

the Board makes the following Findings and Conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Board did not receive written evidence or
information pertaining to the proposal.

2. The Board expressed its desire to remove Rule
XXVI due to a revision in 11 Del. c. 90 Section 9005(l).

Findings of Fact

3. The public was given notice and the opportunity to
provide the Board with comments, in writing and by oral
testimony, on the removal of Rule XXVI. The written
comments and oral testimony are described in paragraph 1.

4. The Board finds that the removal of Rule XXVI
will represent the purpose and intent of 11 Del. c. 9001 et.
seq.

5. The Board finds that the removal of Rule XXVI
will have no adverse impact on the public.

6. The Board finds that the proposal is well written
and describes its intent to remove Rule XXVI.

Conclusion

7. The proposed removal of Rule XXVI was
promulgated by the Board in accordance with the statutory
duties and authority as set forth in11 Del. c. Section 9001 et.
seq. and, in particular, 11
Del. c. Section 9004(4).

8. The Board deems this amendment necessary and
expedient to the full and official performance of its duties
under 11 Del. c. Section 9001 et. seq.

9. The Board concludes that the removal of Rule
XXVI will be in the best interests of the citizens of the State
of Delaware.

10. The Board therefore adopts the proposal to remove
Rule XXVI pursuant to 11 Del. c. Section 9004(4) and the
guidelines of 29 Del. c. Section 10118 of the Administrative
Procedures Act.  See, Strauss v. Silverman, Del.  Supr., 399
A.2d 192 (1979).
 11. This amended rule replaces in its entirety any
former rule or regulation heretofore promulgated by the
Board.

12. The effective date of this Order shall be 10 days
from the dateof publication in the Register of Regulations.

13. Attached hereto and incorporated herein this Order
is Rule XXVI marked as exhibit A that will be removed by
the Board 10 days from the date of publication in the
Register of Regulations.

Thomas W. Castaldi, Chairman
Saxton C. Lambertson, V. Chairman
Leah W. Betts, Board Member
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V. Lynn Gregory, Board Member
Stephen L. Manista, Board Member

APPROVED AS TO FORM:
Rosemary Killian
Deputy Attorney General

REMOVE THE FOLLOWING RULE FROM THE VCCB 
RULES & REGULATIONS.

RULE XXVI - MENTAL SUFFERING AWARD

Maximum award for mental suffering is set at
$2,500.00. Clarification of this motion is that over the past
two years there has been a substantial increase in claims.
The Board feels it is necessary to cap mental suffering
awards at $2,500.00 to insure an equitable distribution of
funds for all victims, and to initiate a uniformity and
consistency in awarding mental suffering claims with
emphasis on counseling and rehabilitation.

This rule shall apply to crimes that occurred before
February 11, 1992.  Revised October 17, 1991.

JUSTIFICATION: THIS RULE IS OFFICIALLY
REMOVED FROM THE VCCB RULES &
REGULATIONS, AS MENTAL SUFFERING AWARDS
ARE PROHIBITED BY STATUTE EFFECTIVE 02/11/92.

BEFORE THE DELAWARE VIOLENT CRIMES 
COMPENSATION BOARD IN RE:

PROPOSAL TO REMOVE RULE XXVIII

Pursuant to the guidelines in 29 Del. c. Section 10118
(a) (1) (7), the Delaware Violent Crimes Compensation
Board ("Board") hereby issues this Order.  Following notice
and a public hearing held on November 24, 1998 on the
proposal to remove Rule XXVIII, Mental Health Counseling
Awards, the Board makes the following Findings and
Conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Board did not receive written evidence or
information pertaining to the proposal.

2. The Board expressed its desire to remove Rule
XXVIII due to an administrative procedural change.

Findings of Fact

3. The public was given notice and the opportunity to
provide the Board with comments, in writing and by oral
testimony, on the removal of Rule XXVIII.  The written
comments and oral testimony are described in paragraph 1.

4. The Board finds that the removal of Rule XXVIII
will represent the purpose and intent of 11 Del. c. 9001 et.
seq.

5. The Board finds that the removal of Rule XXVIII
will have no adverse impact on the public.

6. The Board finds that the proposal is well written
and describes its intent to remove Rule XXVIII.

Conclusion

7. The proposed removal of Rule XXVIII was
promulgated by the Board in accordance with the statutory
duties and authority as  set forthin 11 Del. c. Section 9001
et. seq. and, in particular,
11 Del. C. Section 9004(4).

8. The Board deems this amendment necessary and
expedient to the full and official performance of its duties
under 11 Del. c. Section 9001 et. seq.

9. The Board concludes that the removal of Rule
XXVIII will be in the best interests of the citizens of the
State of Delaware.

10. The Board therefore adopts the proposal to remove
Rule XXVIII pursuant to 11 Del. c. Section 9004(4) and the
guidelines of 29 Del.C.  Section 10118 of the Administrative
Procedures Act.  See, Strauss v. Silverman, Del.  Supr., 399
A.2d 192 (1979).
 11. This amended Rule replaces in its entirety any
former rule or regulation heretofore promulgated by the
Board.

12. The effective date of this Order shall be 10 days
from the date of publication in the Register of Regulations.

13. Attached hereto and incorporated herein this Order
is Rule XXVIII marked as exhibit A that will be removed by
the Board 10 days from the date of publication in the
Register of Regulations.

Thomas W. Castaldi, Chairman
Saxton C. Lambertson, V. Chairman
Leah W. Betts, Board Member
V. Lynn Gregory, Board Member
Stephen L. Manista, Board Member

APPROVED AS TO FORM:
Rosemary Killian
Deputy Attorney General

REMOVE THE FOLLOWING RULE FROM THE VCCB 
RULES & REGULATIONS.

RULE XXVIII - MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELING 
AWARD

(A) In the event of a claim for costs associated with
mental health counseling, the Board may, following initial
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review of the case, award counseling not to exceed three (3)
months in duration and a total cost of $1,250.00.

(B) In the event that additional counseling will be
required beyond the period provided for in Section (A), the
claimant must submit a request to the Board prior to the
expiration of the initial award.  Failure to submit such
request in a timely fashion may, at the Board's discretion,
result in the denial of such request and refusal to make
payment for treatment in excess of the initial award.  Any
request for a mental health counseling award shall be
accompanied by an evaluation and treatment plan including,
but not limited to:

(1) A determination that the need for counseling
resulted directly from the crime in question rather than a
previously existing condition; and

(2) A statement or certification that the treatment
will address only crime-related injuries.

(C) The Board, at its discretion, may require production
of any documents it deems necessary to its determination of
a request for a mental health counseling award.

JUSTIFICATION: THIS RULE IS OFFICIALLY
REMOVED FROM THE VCCB RULES &
REGULATIONS, AS THE VCCB COMMISSIONERS
MOVED TO MODIFY MENTAL HEALTH
COUNSELING PROCEDURES ON 08/01/96.

BEFORE THE DELAWARE VIOLENT CRIMES 
COMPENSATION BOARD IN RE:

PROPOSED AMENDMENT OF RULE XXIX

Pursuant to the guidelines in 29 Del.  C. Section 10118
(a) (1) (7), the Delaware Violent Crimes Compensation
Board ("Board") hereby issues this Order.  Following notice
and a public hearing held on November 24, 1998 on the
proposed amendment of Rule XXIX on Mental Health
Practitioner Oualifications/Licensure, the Board makes the
following Findings and Conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Board did not receive written evidence or
information pertaining to the proposed amendment.

2. The Board expressed its desire to amend Rule
XXIX to illuminate the class of mental health practitioners
who may perform psychological assessments for child and
adult psychological assessments.

Findings of Fact

3. The public was given notice and the opportunity to
provide the Board with comments, in writing and by oral
testimony, on the amendment of Rule XXIX.  The written

comments and oral testimony are described in paragraph 1.
4. The Board finds that the amendment of Rule XXIX

will clearly define the class of mental health practitioners
who may perform psychological assessments on child and
adult victims of crime for the Violent Crimes Compensation
Board.

5. The Board finds that the amendment will have no
adverse impact on the public.

6. The Board finds that the amendment is well written
and describes its intent to amend Rule XXIX to illuminate
the class of mental health practitioners who may perform
psychological assessments for child and adult victims of
crime.

Conclusion

7. The proposed amendment was promulgated by the
Board in accord with the statutory duties and authority as set
forth in 11 Del.  C. Section 9001 et. seq. and, in particular,
11 Del. c. Section 9004(4).

8. The Board deems this amendment necessary and
expedient to the full and official performance of its duties
under 11 Del. c. Section 9001 et. seq.

9. The Board concludes that the amendment of Rule
XXIX will be in the best interests of the citizens of the State
of Delaware.
 10. The Board therefore adopts this amendment of Rule
XXIX pursuant to 11 Del. c. Section 9004 (4) and the
guidelines of 29 Del. c. Section 10118 of the Administrative
Procedures Act.  See, Strauss v. Silverman, Del.  Supr., 399
A.2d 192 (1979).

11. This amended Rule replaces in its entirety any
former rule or regulation heretofore promulgated by the
Board.

12. The effective date of this Order shall be 10 days
from the date of publication in the Register of Regulations.

13. Attached hereto and incorporated herein this order
is the amended Rule XXIX marked as exhibit A and
executed simultaneously by the Board 10 days from the date
of publication in the Register of Regulations.

Thomas W. Castaldi, Chairman
Saxton C. Lambertson, V. Chairman
Leah W. Betts, Board Member
V. Lynn Gregory, Board Member
Stephen L. Manista, Board Member

APPROVED AS TO FORM:
Rosemary Killian
Deputy Attorney General
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AMEND THE FOLLOWING RULE IN THE VCCB 
RULES & REGULATIONS.

To be eligible for crime victim's compensation for
mental health counseling treatment, within and without the
State of Delaware, treatment must be provided by a
practitioner possessing an advanced degree in an applied
mental health discipline a practitioner possessing an
advanced degree in an applied mental health discipline must
provide treatment.  The advanced degree should be in
Psychiatry, Psychology, Social Work, Counseling, or
Psychiatric Nursing.

To be eligible for crime victim's compensation for
mental health counseling treatment in the State of Delaware,
services must be provided by a licensed mental health
practitioner.  The five disciplines recognized by the Violent
Crimes Compensation Board for payment of mental health
counseling benefits are:  Licensed Psychiatrist, Licensed
Psychologist, Licensed Clinical Social Worker, Licensed
Mental Health Counselor, and Licensed Clinical Nurse
Specialist.

To be eligible for crime victim’s compensation for adult
psychological assessments, within and without the State of
Delaware, a licensed psychologist or a licensed psychiatrist
must perform the assessment unless waived by the Board.

To be eligible for crime victim’s compensation for child
psychological assessments, within and without the State of
Delaware, a licensed child psychologist or a licensed child
psychiatrist must perform the assessment unless waived by
the Board.

To be eligible for crime victim’s compensation for
mental health counseling treatment in the State of Delaware,
a licensed mental health practitioner must provide services.
The five disciplines recognized by the Violent Crimes
Compensation Board for payment of mental health
counseling benefits is: Licensed Psychiatrist, Licensed
Psychologist, Licensed Clinical Social Worker, Licensed
Mental Health Counselor, and Licensed Clinical Nurse
Specialist.

Payment for mental health treatment received outside
the State of Delaware will be evaluated for practitioner's
licensure on a case-by-case basis by the Violent Crimes
Compensation Board. 

The Violent Crimes Compensation Board may consider
payment for services rendered by an unlicensed provider if
the provider is practicing under the direct supervision of a
licensed practitioner in one of the disciplines recognized by
the Violent Crimes Compensation Board, as set forth in
paragraph two, sentence two.  Claims for payment of
services rendered by an unlicensed practitioner will be
decided on a case-by-case basis by the Violent Crimes
Compensation Board.  

The Violent Crimes Compensation Board may consider
payment for mental health counseling services rendered by

an unlicensed provider if the provider is practicing under the
direct supervision of a licensed practitioner in one of the
disciplines recognized by the Violent Crimes Compensation
Board, as set forth in paragraph one, sentence two.  The
Violent Crimes Compensation Board will decide claims for
payment of services rendered by an unlicensed practitioner
on a case-by-case basis.

JUSTIFICATION:  THE AMENDMENTS TO RULE
XXIX CLARIFY THE TYPES OF MENTAL HEALTH
PROVIDERS THAT MAY PERFORM
PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSESSMENTS ON ADULT AND
CHILD VICTIMS.

BEFORE THE DELAWARE VIOLENT CRIMES 
COMPENSATION BOARD IN RE:

PROPOSED ADDITION OF NEW RULE XXX

Pursuant to the guidelines in 29 Del. c. Section
10118(a)(l)(7), the Delaware Violent Crimes Compensation
Board ("Board") hereby issues this Order.  Following notice
and a public hearing held on November 24, 1998 on the
proposed addition of Rule XXX, Child Counseling and
Assessment Program (CCAP), the Board makes the
following Findings and Conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Board did not receive written evidence or
information pertaining to the proposed Rule.

2. The Board expressed its desire to add Rule XXX to
set a regulatory payment fee for psychological assessments
and short-term counseling for child victims of crime.

Findings of Fact

3. The public was given notice and the opportunity to
provide the Board with comments, in writing and by oral
testimony, on Rule XXX.  The written comments and oral
testimony are described in paragraph 1.

4. The Board finds that Rule XXX will establish
payment regulations for psychological assessments and
short-term counseling needs of child victims of crime.

5. The Board finds that Rule XXX will have no
adverse impact on the public.

6. The Board finds that the Rule is well written and
describes its intent to add Rule XXX to set a regulatory
payment fee for psychological assessments and short-term
counseling for child victims of crime.

Conclusion

7. The proposed Rule was promulgated by the Board
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in accordance with the statutory duties and authority as set
forth in 11 Del. c. Section 9001 et. seq. and, in particular, 11
Del. c. Section 9004(4).

8. The Board deems this Rule addition necessary and
expedient to the full and official performancel2vsb3T
 11. This new Rule replaces in its entirety any former
rule or regulation heretofore promulgated by the Board.

12. The effective date of this Order shall be 10 days
from the date of publication in the Register of Regulations.

13. Attached hereto and incorporated herein this Order
is Rule XXX marked as exhibit A and executed
simultaneously by the Board 10 days from the date of
publication in the Register of Regulations.

Thomas W. Castaldi, Chairman
Saxton C. Lambertson, V. Chairman
Leah W. Betts, Board Member
V. Lynn Gregory, Board Member
Stephen L. Manista, Board Member

APPROVED AS TO FORM:
Rosemary Killian
Deputy Attorney General

ADD THE FOLLOWING RULE IN THE VCCB RULES & 
REGULATIONS.

VCCB Rule XXX.  Child Victim Counseling & Assessment 
Program (CCAP) Provisions

For the purposes of section 9020(c), up to $1,200.00
may be paid from the victim's compensation fund on behalf
of each child victim of crime for reasonable costs incurred
for psychological assessments and short-term counseling.

JUSTIFICATION: THIS NEW RULE FULFILLS THE
REQUIREMENTS OF SENATE BILL 417, SIGNED BY
GOVERNOR THOMAS R. CARPER ON JULY 17, 1998.
THE LAW REQUIRES THE VCCB TO DETERMINE A
MAXIMUM AMOUNT TO BE PAID FOR
PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSESSMENTS AND/OR SHORT-
TERM COUNSELING (11 Del. C. 90, section 9020(c).  " ...
the Board shall only provide compensation sufficient to total
the maximum amount provided for in the Board's rules and
regulations."
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FIFTY-EIGHT

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS AND
AGENCIES

RE: CREATING THE DELAWARE YEAR 2000
CONTINGENCY PLANNING AND COORDINATING
COUNCIL.

WHEREAS, the Year 2000 ("Y2K") challenge is the result of
computer and other automated systems that represent the year by
only using the last two digits of a year and thus fail to properly
recognize dates beyond the year 1999;

WHEREAS, many computer and automated systems must
properly recognize the date and year in order to operate effectively
and the inability to do so could result in system failures;

WHEREAS, computers and automated systems worldwide are
potentially effected by the Y2K challenge;

WHEREAS, the Y2K challenge could effect not only
computers, computer software, and networks, but also mechanical
equipment, building control systems, and many of the services we
rely on to perform our daily tasks;

WHEREAS, there is a need to promote awareness of the Y2K
challenge to all Delaware public and private entities and to
underscore the need to implement solutions;

WHEREAS, in an effort to ensure that State services suffer
minimal interruptions, I have previously directed State agencies,
departments, boards, and commissions to assess and correct Y2K
problems and have charged the Office of Information Systems with
responsibility for assisting, coordinating and encouraging the
efforts of individual agencies to address technical issues
surrounding their Y2K preparedness;

WHEREAS, given the persuasiveness and complex nature of
the challenge, it is not reasonable to assume that every potential
problem will be identified and addressed and the potential exists
that essential services could be effected;

WHEREAS, it is important that essential services suffer
minimal disruption and, to that end, contingency planning efforts
for agencies providing essential services must be coordinated; and

WHEREAS, this Administration is committed to ensuring that
the safety, health, and welfare of the citizens of Delaware shall not
be jeopardized by Y2K problems.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by virtue of the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware, do
hereby declare and order the following:

1. The Delaware Year 2000 Contingency Planning and
Coordinating Council (the "Council") is hereby established.  It shall
consist of members appointed by the Governor representing
agencies and entities providing essential services to the citizens of
this State.

2. The Chairperson shall be appointed by the Governor from

among members of the Council and shall serve at the pleasure of
the Governor. 3. The terms of the members of the Council shall be
at the pleasure of the Governor.

4. The Delaware Year 2000 Contingency Planning and
Coordinating Council will
 be action-oriented and, to that end, its duties shall include:

a) requiring all stakeholder agencies to submit written
contingency plans to the Council by June 30, 1999, for review and
consideration;

b) coordinating contingency planning efforts
associated with possible disruptions in essential services resulting
from Y2K problems;

c) engaging in a public awareness campaign regarding
Y2K problems to ensure the public is aware of any potential
problems and the appropriate and necessary response to such
problems; and

d) submitting to the Governor and the Secretary (the
"Secretary") of the Department of Public Safety by September 1,
1999, a statewide contingency plan that will effectively coordinate
the specific efforts of each agency and entity providing essential
services to the citizens of this State; and

e) ensuring the successfull implementation of the
statewide contingency plan to the extent necessary.

5. The Council may establish subcommittees under the
leadership of Council members to conduct the activities of the
Council. 

6. The Council shall issue reports and provide assistance as the
Governor or Secretary shall require or request.
 7. The Council shall be staffed by the Department of
Public Safety and the Officeof Information Systems.

Approved this 19th day of January, 1999

Thomas R. Carper
Governor

Attest:

Edward J. Freel
Secretary of State

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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DELAWARE RIVER 
BASIN COMMISSION

P.O. Box 7360
West Trenton

Notice of Determination Regarding the Assimilative
Capacity of the Tidal Delaware River for Toxic Pollutants;
Public Hearings

AGENCY:Delaware River Basin Commission.

ACTION:Notice of Commission determination and public
hearings.

SUMMARY:Notice is hereby given that the Delaware River
Basin Commission will hold public
hearings to receive comments on a determination that the
assimilative capacity of the tidal Delaware River is being
exceeded for certain toxic pollutants.  This determination
will authorize the Executive Director to establish wasteload
allocations for specific point- source discharges of these
pollutants.

DATES: The public hearings are scheduled as follows:

May 3, 1999 beginning at 1:30 p.m. and continuing until
5:00 p.m., as long as there are people present wishing to
testify.

May 5, 1999 beginning at 1:30 p.m. and continuing until
5:00 p.m. as long as there are people present wishing to
testify; and resuming at 6:30 p.m. and continuing until 9:00
p.m., as long as there are people present wishing to testify.

May 11, 1999 beginning at 1:30 p.m. and continuing
until 5:00 p.m., as long as there are people present wishing to
testify.

ADDRESSES:The May 3, 1999 hearing will be held in the
Second Floor Auditorium of the Carvel State Building , 820
North French Street, Wilmington, Delaware.

The May 5, 1999 hearing will be held in the Goddard
Conference Room of the Commission's offices at 25 State
Police Drive, West Trenton, New Jersey.

The May 11, 1999 hearing Will be held in the Jefferson
Room of the Holiday Inn at 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia,
Pennsylvania.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Susan M.
Weisman, Commission Secretary, Delaware River Basin

Commission, P.O. Box 7360, West Trenton, New Jersey
08628.  Telephone (609) 883-9500 ext. 203.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

Background and Rationale

On October 23, 1996 the Delaware River Basin Commission
amended its Comprehensive Plan, Water Code and Water
Quality Regulations concerning water quality criteria for
toxic pollutants, and policies and procedures to establish
wasteload allocations and effluent limitations for point
source discharges to the tidal Delaware River.

Specifically, water quality criteria for selected toxic
pollutants were incorporated in the Comprehensive Plan and
Article 3 of the Water Code and Water Quality Regulations
as stream quality objectives.  Article 4 of the Water Quality
Regulations was amended to include policies and procedures
to be used to establish wasteload allocations for those
discharges containing pollutants which exceed the stream
quality objectives and impact the designated uses of the river
following a Commission determination that the assimilative
capacity of a zone of the Delaware River is exceeded. These
amendments provided a mechanism for identifying toxic
pollutants which impair aquatic life and human health, and
developing uniform and equitable wasteload allocations for
those NPDES discharges to the tidal Delaware River which
contribute to their impairment.  The permitting authorities of
the Basin states will utilize allocations developed by the
Commission to establish effluent limitations for NPDES
permittees in their jurisdiction, as appropriate.

The subject of the hearings is a proposed determination by
the Commission that the assimilative capacity of the tidal
Delaware River (Trenton, NJ to the head of Delaware Bay)
is being exceeded for 1,2 - dichloroethane,
tetrachloroethene, chronic toxicity and acute toxicity.  These
parameters were selected based upon their mass loading to
the estuary, minimal interaction with estuary sediments, and
the availability of calibrated and validated water quality
models that could be used to develop the wasteload
allocations.  This determination will authorize the Executive
Director to establish wasteload allocations for continuous
point source discharges pursuant to Sections 4.30.7A. 1. and
4.30.7B.2.c. of the Commission's Water Quality
Regulations.

Seventy-six continuous point source discharges were
considered in each of the wasteload allocation exercises,
although the number included in any allocation varied from
10 to 55.  The procedure used to develop the wasteload
allocations is called Equal Marginal Percent Reduction or
EMPR.  EMPR is a two step process in which a discharge is



GENERAL NOTICES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1677

First considered independently of all other discharges to the
estuary.  In this step called the Baseline Analysis, each
discharge must meet stream quality objectives in and of
itself.  In the second step called Multiple Discharge
Analysis, the cumulative impact of all discharges,
discharging at the baseline loading established during step
one, is evaluated against the stream quality objectives.  If the
analysis indicates that an objective is exceeded, then the
baseline loads of all discharges significantly contributing to
the violation are reduced by an equal percentage until the
stream quality objective is met.

For 1,2 - dichloroethane, I 1 of 51 discharges were adjusted
from their initial loading in order to meet the stream quality
objectives.  For tetrachloroethene, seven of 40 discharges
were adjusted in order to meet the stream quality objectives.
For chronic toxicity, ten of the 55 discharges were adjusted
during the baseline analysis portion of the wasteload
allocation.  The multiple discharge analysis portion of the
procedure will not be implemented for chronic toxicity so
that additional data on the relationship between the
concentration of specific chemicals and toxicity of both
wastewater and ambient samples can be obtained.  This
portion will be deferred until Phase 2 of the Total Maximum
Daily Load (TMDL) is completed.

For acute toxicity, eight of the ten discharges evaluated were
reduced from their initial wasteload allocation concentration
during the baseline analysis portion of the allocation.  As
with chronic toxicity, the multiple discharge analysis which
will determine the total surface area of the estuary assigned
to mixing areas will be deferred until Phase 2 of the TMDL
is completed.

In accordance with Section 4.30.7B.2.c.5). of the
Commission's Water Quality Regulations, a document
entitled Wasteload Allocations for Volatile Organics and
Toxicity: Phase 1 TMDLs for Toxic Pollutants in the
Delaware River Estuary has been prepared which describes
the process used to develop wasteload allocations for
continuous point source discharges as part of Phase 1 of a
Total Maximum Daily Load for selected toxic pollutants for
the tidal Delaware River.  This document is available on the
Commission's web site at www.state.nj.us/drbc, or by
contacting Christopher Roberts, Public Information Officer,
at (609) 883-9500 ext. 205.

The following supporting documents describing the
mathematical models used in the process are also available
from the Commission:

Calibration and Validation of a Water Quality Model for
Volatile Organics and Chronic Toxicity in the Delaware
River Estuary.

Calibration and Validation of the DYNHYD5 Hydrodynamic
Model for the Delaware River Estuary.

Development of a Tidal Version of the CORMIX Models for
Application to Discharges in the Delaware Estuary.

Copies of these documents may be obtained by contacting
Christopher Roberts, Public Information Officer at (609)
883-9500, extension 205.

Persons wishing to testify are requested to notify the
Secretary in advance.  Written comments on the proposed
determination should also be submitted to the Secretary.

Delaware River Basin Compact, 75 Stat. 688.

Susan M. Weisman
Secretary
February 9, 1999



CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING NOTICES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 1999

1678

DELAWARE HEALTH CARE 
COMMISSION

DELAWARE HEALTH INFORMATION 
NETWORK

Public Notice

Please Take Notice, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Chapter 101
and 16 Del.C. § 9925, that the Delaware Health Information
Network has proposed regulations for the governance and
administration of the Board of the Delaware Health
Information Network. The regulations will describe the
Board's organization and general rules of procedure. A
public hearing will be held on the proposed regulations on
Monday, March 22, at 3:00 p.m. in Downes Lecture Hall of
the Delaware Technical and Community College, Terry
Campus Conference Center, Dover, Delaware. The
Delaware Health Care Commission will receive and consider
input in writing from any person the proposed regulations.
Written comments should be submitted in care of Judith
Chaconas, Delaware Health Care Commission, Delaware
Health Information Network, 150 William Penn Street,
Ground Floor, Dover, DE 19901. Final date to submit
written comments shall be March 31, 1999 by 4:30 p.m.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed regulations
or to make comments at the public hearing should contact
Judith Chaconas at the above address or by calling (302)
739-6906.  This notice will be published in two newspapers
of general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to
the date of the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
The State Board of Education will hold its
monthly meeting on Thursday, March 18, 1999 at
11:00 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

MANDATORY PRE-EMPLOYMENT CRIMINAL
HISTORY RECORD CHECKS 
AND DRUG TESTING REGULATIONS

As Authorized by Title 16 Del. Code Sections 1141-1142

PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware Health & Social Services (DHSS), in

compliance with Senate Bill 13 passed in the 140th General
Assembly, has prepared draft regulations governing
mandatory pre-employment criminal history record checks
and drug testing for persons seeking to work in nursing
homes or other facilities licensed under Title 16 Del. Code,
Chapter 11.  These requirements also apply to persons
referred for placement in such facilities by temporary
agencies.

The regulations lay out the responsibilities of
employers, applicants, and DHSS.  They contain a listing of
the types of crimes, conviction for which disqualifies an
individual from working in nursing homes or other facilities
licensed under Title 16 Del. Code, Chapter 11.  

INVITATION FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Public hearings will be held as follows:

Tuesday, March 23, 1999, 10 am – noon
The Chapel, Herman Holloway Campus
Delaware Health & Social Services
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE

Thursday, March 25, 1999, 1 pm – 3 pm
University of Delaware Kent County Center*
69 Transportation Circle
Dover

[*Traveling on  Rt. 13 south, when you come to the split,
follow “Rt. 113 for beaches” to the left.  DelDot's Admin.
Bldg. is a short way up on the right. The UD Kent County
Center is in the same complex as DelDot's Administration 
Bldg.]

For clarifications or additional directions to either
location, please call Barbara Baker at 577-4950

Written comments are also invited on these proposed
new regulations and should be sent to the following address:

Linda Barnett
Division of Management  Services
Delaware Health & Social Services
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE  19720

Such comments must be received by April 1, 1999.   

http://www.state.de.us/dhcc/
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its durable medical equipment and
general policy provider manual(s).  

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by March 31, 1999.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware Health and Social Services is proposing
changes to regulations contained in the Division of Social
Services Manual Section 9018, 9060, and 9068.  These
changes are initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code
Section 512.  Written materials and suggestions by interested
persons for related to this proposal must be forwarded by
March 31, 1999, to the Director, Division of Social Services, 
P. O. Box 906, New Castle, DE 19720.

COMMENT PERIOD

Any person who wishes to make petitions for
reconsideration or revision thereof, such petitions must be
forwarded by March 31, 1999 to the Director, Division of
Social Services, P. O. Box 906, New Castle, DE 19720.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Notice of Public Hearing

Insurance Commissioner Donna Lee Williams hereby gives
notice that a public hearing will be held on Tuesday, March

23, 1999 at 10:00 a.m. in the 2nd Floor Conference Room of
the Delaware Insurance Department at 841 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904.

The purpose of the Hearing is to solicit comments from the

insurance industry and the general public on the proposed
revisions to Insurance Department Regulation 41, Medicare
Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards.
The Hearing will be conducted in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter
101. Comments are being solicited from any interested party.
Comments may be in writing or may be presented orally at
the hearing. Written comments must be received by the
Department of Insurance no later than Friday, March 19,
1999 and should be addressed to Fred A. Townsend , III,
Deputy Insurance Commissioner, 841 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904. Those wishing to testify or
those intending to provide oral testimony must notify Fred
A. Townsend, III at 302.739.4251 ext. 157 or 800-.282.8611
no later than Friday, March 19, 1999.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
REGULATION NO. 25 -  “REQUIREMENTS FOR

PRECONSTRUCTION REVIEW” OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE
CONTROL OF AIR POLLUTION

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

The Department is proposing to amend Regulation No.
25 to correct deficiencies identified by the EPA in an April
3, 1998 Federal Register rulemaking (Volume 63, Number
64, pages 16433 - 16435) and to clarify existing provisions
of the regulation.  The corrections to noted deficiencies
include the public participation procedures for
nonattainment new source review (NSR) permits, and the
criteria to claim emission reductions to be used as the offset
requirement for new major sources or major modifications to
existing major sources of volatile organic compounds or
nitrogen oxides emissions.  The federal requirements for
these provisions are found at 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart I,
“Review of New Sources and Modifications.”

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None
4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY

TO ACT:
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60
5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE

AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
None

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The public comment period for this proposed revision

will extend to, at least, March 30, 1999.  Interested parties
may submit comments in writing during this time frame to:
Leslie Andersen, Air Quality Management Section, 715
Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720, and/or statements
and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at
the public hearing to be held on Tuesday, March 23, 1999
beginning at 6:00 p.m. at the DNREC Richardson & Robbins
Building in Dover, DE.  

7. PREPARED BY:
Leslie C. Andersen   (302) 323-4542, February 10, 1999

DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

REGISTER NOTICE  

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Amendment to Regulation 31 and its plan for

implementation
2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,

SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
To amend Regulation 31 (Inspection and Maintenance

Program) as follows:
1. To extend the new model year exemption for

the exhaust idle test from 3 years to 5years.
2. To revise the procedure of the exhaust idle test

for model year vehicles 1981 and newer, whereby the new
procedure would test vehicles at an engine speed of  normal
idle and 2500 rpms, and;

3. To amend Section  3 (c) (1) of the Regulation

to specify the VMASTM dynamometer procedure as the
method of evaluating the I/M program.

4. To add a new section to the regulation, titled
Clean Screening whose provisions would allow exempting
vehicles normally required to be tested for exhaust and
evaporative  emissions when those vehicles are at a
inspection facility and the wait time for vehicles at the at end
of the testing queue is 90 minutes or greater.  The new
section describes the model years eligible for the “clean
screen exemption”.  The clean screen exemption is given to
vehicles categorized  by model and model year that have
passed vehicle exhaust emissions inspections in the State of
Colorado. 

To amend the Plan for Implementation of Regulation 31
as follows:

To revise the performance standard modeling to reflect
the change in the new idle test procedure

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
N/A

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

• 7 Del. C. Section 6010
• Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990
5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE

AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
None
6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Public Hearing is on April 13, 1999, 6 PM, Richardson

and Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover

PREPARED BY:
Philip A. Wheeler  739-4791,   2/24/99

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

In compliance with 29 Del.C. section 10115, the
Commission submits the following:

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS: 
Rules of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control

Commission
2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,

SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
The Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control

Commission is proposing to amend Rule 29. The rule as
amended provides non-discriminatory procedures for timely
notification of prices, post-offs, and quantity discounts of
alcoholic liquor offered for sale by Delaware wholesalers to
Delaware retailers and governs related practices.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY
TO ACT:

4 Del.C. Chp. 3
5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE

AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
A public hearing on the proposed amendment to

Rule 29 will be held on April 1, 1999 at 9:00 a.m. in the third
floor conference room of the Commission, Carvel State
Building, 820 North French Street, Wilmington, Delaware.
Written comments may be submitted any time prior to April
1, 1999 to Donald J. Bowman, Sr., Director, Delaware
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 820 North French
Street, Wilmington, Delaware, 19801. For copies of the
proposed regulation, the public should call Joanne Episcopo
at (302) 577-5222. 

http://www.state.de.us/pubsafe/index.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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DELAWARE RIVER 
BASIN COMMISSION

P.O. Box 7360
West Trenton

Notice of Determination Regarding the Assimilative
Capacity of the Tidal Delaware River for Toxic Pollutants;
Public Hearings

AGENCY: Delaware River Basin Commission.

ACTION: Notice of Commission determination and
public hearings.

SUMMARY:Notice is hereby given that the Delaware River
Basin Commission will hold public
hearings to receive comments on a determination that the
assimilative capacity of the tidal Delaware River is being
exceeded for certain toxic pollutants.  This determination
will authorize the Executive Director to establish wasteload
allocations for specific point- source discharges of these
pollutants.

DATES: The public hearings are scheduled as follows:

May 3, 1999 beginning at 1:30 p.m. and continuing until
5:00 p.m., as long as there are people present wishing to
testify.

May 5, 1999 beginning at 1:30 p.m. and continuing until
5:00 p.m. as long as there are people present wishing to
testify; and resuming at 6:30 p.m. and continuing until 9:00
p.m., as long as there are people present wishing to testify.

May 11, 1999 beginning at 1:30 p.m. and continuing
until 5:00 p.m., as long as there are people present wishing to
testify.

ADDRESSES:The May 3, 1999 hearing will be held in the
Second Floor Auditorium of the Carvel State Building , 820
North French Street, Wilmington, Delaware.

The May 5, 1999 hearing will be held in the Goddard
Conference Room of the Commission's offices at 25 State
Police Drive, West Trenton, New Jersey.

The May 11, 1999 hearing Will be held in the Jefferson
Room of the Holiday Inn at 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia,
Pennsylvania.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Susan M.
Weisman, Commission Secretary, Delaware River Basin

Commission, P.O. Box 7360, West Trenton, New Jersey
08628.  Telephone (609) 883-9500 ext. 203.
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