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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

5 DE Reg. 1337 - 1339 (01/1/02)

Refers to Volume 5, pages 1337 - 1339 of the
Delaware Register issued on January 1, 2002.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 15 4:30 P.M.

SEPTEMBER 1 AUGUST 15 4:30 P.M.

OCTOBER 1 SEPTEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

NOVEMBER 1 OCTOBER 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Walter G. Feindt, Deputy Director; Judi
Abbott, Secretary; Sandra F. Clark,
Administrative Assistant; Jeffrey W. Hague,
Registrar of Regulations; Maryanne McGonegal,
Research Analyst; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative
Librarian; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop
Supervisor; Sandra Montemarano, Public
Information Clerk; Alex W. Mull, Assistant
Registrar; Deborah A. Porter, Administrative
Assistant;  Victoria Schultes, Administrative
Assistant; Ted Segletes, Paralegal;  Don Sellers,
Printer; Thom Shiels, Legislative Attorney; Alice
W. Stark, Legislative Attorney; Mary Jane
Starkey, Senior Secretary;  Marvin L. Stayton,
Printer; Rochelle Yerkes, Senior Secretary.
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ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS
Violent Crimes Compensation Board

Rule X, Hearings; Rule XXVII Burial Awards; and Rule XXX Travel Awards............ .......5  DE Reg. 1684  (Prop.)

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINIONS
NO. 01-IB01 FOIA Complaint Against Indian River School District .................................. .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB02 FOIA Complaint Against Town of Odessa ..................................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB03 FOIA Complaint Against Polytech School District ........................................ .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB04 Freedom of Information Act Complaints Against New Castle County 

and the City of New Castle............................................................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB05 Treatment of Involuntarily Committed Patients Prior to Judicial Review ...... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB06 Collection of Speeding Violation Fines ........................................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB07 Workforce Investment Board.......................... ......  .................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB08 House Bill 99 ................................................................................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB09 Use of Compensatory Time to Offset Time Spent in Dual Employment......... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB10 FOIA  Complaints Against Sussex County Council ....................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB11 House Bill 99.................................................................................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB12 Applicability of Delaware's Motor Vehicle Code to Golf Carts ...................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB13 FOIA  Complaint Against Dover Safety Advisory Committee ....................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB14 Delaware CarePlan .......................................................................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB15 FOIA  Complaint Against Sussex County ....................................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB16 Use of State Emergency ResponseCommission Funds to Buy Capital Items . .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB17 FOIA  Complaint Against City of Dover ........................................................ .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 01-IB18 Use of Interest Earned From the Account for Reporting Fees and the Use of Penalty

Funds Collected By the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control .....5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 02-IB01 Senate Bill No. 246 .......................................................................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 02-IB02 FOIA  Complaint Against Sussex County Council ......................................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 02-IB03 FOIA  Complaint Against Cape Henlopen School District ............................. .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 02-IB04 Neighborhood Schools Act of 2000 ................................................................ .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 02-IB05 Creation of Nominating Districts for School Board Elections......................... .......5 DE Reg. 2151
NO. 02-IB06 The obligation of nurses to honor orders issued by Physician's Assistants ..... .......5 DE Reg. 2151

DELAWARE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY
Regulations of the Delaware Solid Waste Authority............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   100  (Final)
Differential Disposal Fee Program......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   115  (Final)
Statewide Solid Waste Management...................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   117  (Final)

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
Criminal History Records Check Policy................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1006  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1643  (Errata)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
Division of Professional Regulation (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

100 Board of Accountancy......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.       6  (Prop.)

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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100 Board of Accountancy......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   119  (Final)
5  DE Reg.   687  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 2090  (Final)

200 Board of Landscape Architecture........................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   446  (Final)
5  DE Reg.   821  (Final)

700 Board of Chiropractic................................. ......  ........................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1959  (Prop.)
1100 Board of Dental Examiners................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1251  (Final)
1900 Board of Nursing, Joint Practice Committee, Advanced Practice Nurses........... .......5  DE Reg. 1009  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1606  (Final)
2500   Board of Pharmacy.............................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1967  (Prop.)
2600   Board of Physical Therapists............................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1556  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 2101  (Final)
2900 Real Estate Commission...................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   231  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   697  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1070  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1387  (Final)

2925 Real Estate Commission, Education Guidelines 5  DE Reg.   238  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   705  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1071  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1187  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1395  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1686  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1859  (Prop.)

3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health........................................... .......5  DE Reg.   452  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1340  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 2109  (Final)

3100 Board of Funeral Services................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   606  (Final)
3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   709  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   999  (Errata)
5  DE Reg. 1400  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1563  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1897  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1962  (Prop.)

3500 Board of Examiners of Psychologists.................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   612  (Final)
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners........................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1072  (Final)
5100 Board of Cosmetology and Barbering................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   243  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1260  (Final)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     16  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   717  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   827  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1409  (Final)

Public Service Commission
Delaware PSC’s Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services, Docket 

Nos. 10 & 45, Proposed Amendments..................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   435  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1265  (Final)

Reg. Docket No. 13, Rules & Regulations Governing Minimum Standards for
Service Provided by Public Water Companies........................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   722  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1414  (Final)
Payphone Service Providers and Providers of Operator Services 

for Payphones, Regulations Governing................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1646  (Prop.) 
Water Utilities, Proposed Regulations Governing, Including the Commission’s Jurisdiction to

Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience & Necessity Subject to the
Jurisdiction of the PSC............................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   212  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Aquaculture Regulations ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1192  (Prop)

5  DE Reg. 1864  (Prop.)
Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Program................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1274  (Final)
Forest Service’s Regulations ................................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1868  (Prop.)
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Food Products Inspection Section
Food Products Inspection................................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1345  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1902  (Final)
Harness Racing Commission

Rule 1, Required Days Off.............................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   247  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   832  (Final)

Rule 3.0, State Steward/Judges....................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   250  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   835  (Final)

Rule 4.0, Associations.................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   252  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   837  (Final)

Rule 5, Owners... ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   253  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   838  (Final)

Rule 6.0, Types of Races................................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1196  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1691  (Final)

Rule 7, Rules of the Race................................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   255  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   841  (Final)

Rule 8, Medications and Foreign Substances................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   258  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   843  (Final)

Rule 8.0, Veterinary Practices, Equine Health Medication............................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1196  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1691  (Final)

Rule 10.0, Appeal Process for Decision of the Administrator of the
Breeder’s Program................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1903  (Final)

Plant Industries Section
Grain Inspection and Certification Regulations.............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   458  (Final)

Thoroughbed Racing Commission
Rule 13.0, Claiming Races............................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1214  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1710  (Final)
Rule 13.01, Owners Entitled........................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     21  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   849  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101 Delaware Student Testing Program............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.     23  (Prop.)
101 Delaware Student Testing Program............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   620  (Final)

5  DE Reg. 1657  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 2115  (Final)

103 School Accountability for Academic Performance.................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   724  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1281  (Final)

201 School Shared Decision-making Transition Planning Grants..................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1017  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1615  (Final)

205 District Shared Decision-making Transition Planning Grants.................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1017  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1616  (Final) 

210 Approval of School Improvement Grants................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1017  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1616  (Final)

245 Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards Scholarship............................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1568  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1906  (Final)

260 General Appeal Procedures for the Child and Adult Care Food Programs
of the United States Department of Agriculture......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   461  (Final)

303 Certification Administrative - Assistant Superintendent for Business....................... .......5  DE Reg.   263  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   851  (Final)

315 Certification Manager Of School Bus Transportation................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   264  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   853  (Final)

316 Certification Supervisor Of School Bus Transportation............................................. .......5  DE Reg.   265  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   853  (Final)

317 Certification School Business Manager...................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   265  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   853  (Final)

318 Certification Manager Of School Food Service Programs......................................... .......5  DE Reg.   265  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   854  (Final)
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319 Certification Supervisor Of School Food Service Programs...................................... .......5  DE Reg.   266  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   854  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1000  (Errata)

359 Certification Audiology.............................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   266  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   855  (Final)

366 Certification School Occupational Therapist.............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   266  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   855  (Final)

367 Certification School Physical Therapist...................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   267  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   855  (Final)

369 Certification Speech Language Pathologist 5  DE Reg.   855  (Final)
398 Degree Granting Institutions of Higher Education..................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   270  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   859  (Final)
501 State Content Standards.............................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   276  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   865  (Final)  
515 High School Diplomas and Record of Performance................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     28  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   625  (Final)
701 Unit Count....... ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     29  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   627  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1998  (Prop.)

745 Criminal Background Checks for Public Education Employees................................ .......5  DE Reg.   280  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   869  (Final)

804 Immunizations. ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1874  (Prop.)
828 Assistance with Medications on Field Trips............................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   284  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   873  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1216  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1617  (Final)

910 General Educational Development............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1285  (Final)
915 James H. Groves High School.................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1285  (Final)
925 Children with Disabilities........................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   286  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   874  (Final)
1102 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production

on or after March 1, 2002............................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   290  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   879  (Final)

1501 Knowledge, Skills and Responsibility Based Supplements for Education................. .......5  DE Reg. 1876  (Prop.)
1511 Issuance & Renewal of Continuing License............................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 2001  (Prop.)
1512 Issuance & Renewal of Advanced License................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 2006  (Prop.)
1526 (formerly 326) Certification English to Speakers of Other Languages (Esol) Teachers ...5  DE Reg. 1570  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1904  (Final)
1527 (formerly 327) Endorsement English to Speakers of Other Languages (Esol) Teachers ..5  DE Reg. 1570  (Prop.) 

5  DE Reg. 1904  (Final)
1535 (formerly 305) Certification Administrative - Administrative Assistant.................... .......5  DE Reg.   268  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   856  (Final)
1536 (formerly 306) Certification Administrative - Director.............................................. .......5  DE Reg.   268  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   857  (Final)
1538 (formerly 308) Certification Administrative - Supervisor.......................................... .......5  DE Reg.   269  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   858  (Final)
1584 (formerly 384) Permits - School, Classroom Aides and Autistic Residential

Child Care Specialists.............................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   270  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   859  (Final)

State Board of Education Procedures Manual....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   880  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
Division of Revenue

Delaware State Lottery Office
Video Lottery Regulations 5.0, 7.0 and 14.0........................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   728  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1286  (Final)
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Video Lottery Regulation 5.0 Technology Providers: 
Contracts; Requirements; Duties......................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1019  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1417  (Final)
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES

Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
Adult Day Care Facilities Regulations for...................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1879  (Prop.)
Assisted Living Facilities, Regulations for..................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1572  (Prop.)
Delaware Adult Abuse Registry..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   515  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1073  (Final)
Group Home Facilities for Persons with AIDS.............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   520  (Prop.)
Group Homes for Persons with Mental Illness .............................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 2007  (Prop.)
Nursing Homes Admitting Pediatric Residents.............................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1592  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1079  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 2126  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 2033  (Prop.)

Training & Qualifications for Nursing Assistants & Certified Nursing Assistants........ .......5  DE Reg.   733  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1346  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1420  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1908  (Final)

Division of Public Health
Body Art Establishments, Regulations Governing......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   319  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1713  (Final)
Care & Transportation of the Dead, Sec. 6, Preparation of Bodies Dead of Certain

Diseases, Regulations Governing............................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1337  (Emer.)
5  DE Reg. 1662  (Prop.)

Certification of Radiation Technologits/Technicians ..................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 2041  (Prop.)
Control of Communicable and Other Disease Conditions.............................................. .......5  DE Reg.   156  (Final) 
Cosmetology and Barbering Establishments, Regulations Governing........................... .......5  DE Reg.   311  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1291  (Final) 
Delaware Radiation Control Regulations ...................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 2037  (Prop.)
Managed Care Organizations, Application & Operation of........................................... .......5  DE Reg.   130  (Final)

5  DE Reg. 1025  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1435  (Final)

Non-Nurse Midwife Regulations.................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1021  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1918  (Final)

Public Drinking Water Systems, Rules and Regulations Governing.............................. .......5  DE Reg.   630  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 2121  (Final)

Trauma System Rules & Regulations............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.     32  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   632  (Final)

Uniform Controlled Substances Act, Rescheduling of Dronabinol................................ .......5  DE Reg.   747  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1723  (Final)

Uniform Controlled Substance Regulation No. 4........................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   750  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1460  (Final)

Office of Drinking Water
Public Drinking Water Systems, Regulations Governing........................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1237  (Prop.)

Office of Emergency Medical Services
Air Medical Ambulance Services Regulations........................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1217  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1727  (Final)
Division of Social Services

DSSM 
2002  Case Closures and Address Changes............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   327  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   893  (Final)
2015-2019  A Better Chance & General Assistance Program................................. .......5  DE Reg.   181  (Final)
4005.3 Step-Parent Income in the ABC Program.................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   644  (Final)
6100  Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional Resource Program............. .......5  DE Reg.  1892 (Prop.)
7002 Food Stamp Claims........................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   174  (Final)



CUMULATIVE TABLES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2172

7004 Collection & Management of Food Stamp Claims........................................ .......5  DE Reg.   177  (Final)
7004.3 Collection and Management of Food Stamp Claims................................... .......5  DE Reg.   359  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   929  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1001  (Errata)
5  DE Reg. 1596  (Prop.) 
5  DE Reg. 1923  (Final)

7005  Terminating and Writing Off Claims............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   181  (Final)
7007  Submission of Food Stamp Payments........................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1597  (Prop.)

 5  DE Reg. 1924  (Final)
9028  Filing an Application..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1598  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1925  (Final)
9030  Interviews ..................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1599  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1926  (Final)
9040  Delays in Processing...................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1600  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1927  (Final)
9060 Income Deductions......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1001  (Emer.)

5  DE Reg. 1046  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1465  (Final)

9079  Coupons, Providing Replacement Issues & Delivery of............................... .......5  DE Reg. 1667  (Prop.)
9081  Deeming of Sponsor Income......................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1600  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1928  (Final)
9085 Reporting Changes.......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1356  (Prop.)
9085.5 Unclear Information..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1929  (Final)
9085.6 Failure to Report.......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1929  (Final)

5  DE Reg. 1601  (Prop.
9089 DABC and/or GA Food Stamp Households................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   535  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1094  (Final)
11004.7 Child Care Fee........................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   755  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1467  (Final)
13402 A Better Chance Welfare Reform Program.................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   183  (Final)
13403 AFDC Applicants With a Budgeted Need of Less Than $10....................... .......5  DE Reg.   184  (Final)
14110.8.1  Prohibitions............................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   184  (Final)
14300  Citizenship and Alienage............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   184  (Final)
14900  Enrollment in Managed Care....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   185  (Final)

14950  Guaranteed Eligibility.................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1602  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1930  (Final)

15110.1  Medicaid Eligibility.................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   185  (Final)
15200  Transitional Medicaid.................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   185  (Final)
15400.6.1  Out-of-State Residence ......................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1894  (Prop.)
16100.1.2  Initial Eligibility Determination............................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   186  (Final)
16230.1.4  Deducations from Earned Income......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   187  (Final)
16500.1  Eligibility Requirements........................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   187  (Final)
17170  Sec. 4913, Disabled Children...................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1096  (Final)  
17200  Disabled Children, New 25000 Children’s Community Alternative

Disability Program (CCADP).............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   536  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1097  (Final)

18100.2  Alien Status............................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   187  (Final)
20620.1  Personal Needs.......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1004  (Emer.)

5  DE Reg. 1049  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1469  (Final)

50000  Chronic Renal Disease Program ................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 2045  (Prop.)
Eligibility of Inmates & Eligibility of the Breast & Cervical Cancer Group................. .......5  DE Reg.   359  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   925  (Final)
Food Stamp Program, Noncitizen Eligibility & Certification Provisions of

PL-104-193.. ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   328  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   894  (Final)

Reimbursement Methology ............................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.  1894 (Prop.)
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Reimbursement Methodology for Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs).......... .......5  DE Reg.   173  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Reg. No. 10, Arbitration of Automobile and Homeowner’s Insurance Claims..................... .......5  DE Reg. 1238  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1746  (Final)
Reg. No. 11, Arbitration of Health Insurance Claims and Internal Review

Processes of Medical Insurance Carriers........................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1242  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1750  (Final)

Reg. No. 81, Prompt Payment of Settled Claims................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   645  (Final)
Reg. No. 84, Privacy of Consumer Financial & Health Information..................................... .......5  DE Reg.   188  (Final)
Reg. No. 85, Valuation of Life Insurance Policies................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1049  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1470  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Delaware Securities Act, Parts F & G.................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1668  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Division of Employment & Training

Council on Apprenticeship and Training
Delaware Apprenticeship and Training Law, Section 106.5................................... .......5  DE Reg.   204  (Final)

Office of Labor Law Enforcement
Prevailing Wage Regulations................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   205  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Regulations Governing Delaware’s Coastal Zone................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   930  (Final)

Division of Air & Waste Management
Regulation 24, Section 2, Definitions............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   541  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1478  (Final)
Regulation 24, Section 11, Mobile Equipment Repair & Refinishing............................ .......5  DE Reg.   363  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1101  (Final)
Regulation 24, Section 26, Stage I Vapor Recovery....................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   545  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1482  (Final)
Regulation 24, Section 33, Solvent Metal Cleaning....................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   367  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1106  (Final)
Regulation 24, Section 36, Stage II Vapor Recovery ..................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   547  (Prop.) 

5  DE Reg. 1484  (Final)
Regulation 24, Section 46, Lightering Operations......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   379  (Prop.) 
Regulation 31, Low Enhanced Inspection and Maintenance Program........................... .......5  DE Reg.     44  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   940  (Final)
Regulation 38, Emissions Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories...5  DE Reg. 1670  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 2130  (Final)
Regulation 38, Subpart T, Emission Standards for Halogenated Solvent Cleaning....... .......5  DE Reg.   383  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1118  (Final)

Regulation 41, Section 1, Architectural and Industrial Maintenance Coatings.............. .......5  DE Reg.   389  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1759  (Final)

Regulation 41, Section 2, Consumer Products............................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   560  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1497  (Final)

Regulation 41, Section 3, Portable Fuel Containers....................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   398  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1125  (Final)

Regulation 42, Section 1, Control of NOx Emissions from Industrial Boilers.............. .......5  DE Reg.   400  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1299  (Final)

Regulation 43, Not To Exceed California Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Standards.......... .......5  DE Reg.   756  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1302  (Final)

Reporting of a Discharge of a Pollutant or an Air Contaminant .................................... .......5  DE Reg. 2048  (Prop.)



CUMULATIVE TABLES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2174

Waste Management Section
Hazardous Substance Cleanup, Regulations Governing......................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1249  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1618  (Final)
Hazardous Waste, Regulations Governing.............................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1605  (Prop.)
2002 Amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste............ .......5  DE Reg. 1603  (Prop.)

Division of Fish & Wildlife
Shellfish Regulation Nos. S-7(b), S-9, S-11, S-13 and S-37, Repeal of ........................ .......5  DE Reg.   403  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   496  (Errata)
5  DE Reg.   972  (Final)

Shellfish Regulation No. 32, Fish Pots, Illegal Harvest of Crabs................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1679  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 2140  (Final)

Shellfish Regulation No. S-55-A, Horseshoe Crab Dredge Permit Lottery................... .......5  DE Reg. 1128  (Final)
Shellfish Regulation Nos. S-63, S-65, S-67, S-69, S-71, S-73 and S-75 (Proposed)..... .......5  DE Reg.   496  (Errata)

5  DE Reg.   972  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1679  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 2140  (Final)

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4, Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession
Limits; Seasons ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   462  (Final)

5  DE Reg. 1680  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1957  (Emer.)
5  DE Reg. 2143  (Final)

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 10, Weakfish Size Limits; Possession Limits;
Seasons ....... ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1682  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 2144  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23, Black Sea Bass Size Limits; Seasons; Quotas........... .......5  DE Reg. 1682  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 2145  (Final)
Division of Water Resources

Regulations Governing the Design, Installation and Operation of On-Site
Wastewater Treatment and Disposal Systems......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   760  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1768  (Final)
Regulations for Licensing Operators of Wastewater Facilities....................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1307  (Final)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) for the Murderkill River Watershed, Delaware.. .......5  DE Reg.   404  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1305  (Final)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) for Nutrients in the Appoquinimink Watershed. .......5  DE Reg. 1056  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Divison of Boiler Safety

Boiler Safety, Rules & Regulations................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   584  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1128  (Final)

Division of Highway Safety
Policy Regulation Number 91, Ignition Interlock Device Installation, Removal,

and Monthly Monitoring and Calibration Fees....................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1058  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1620  (Final)

Division of State Police
Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1059  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1523  (Final)
Nonconsensual Towing Regulations .............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 2052  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES
(TITLE 9 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

Division of Family Services
Office of Child Care Licensing

Criminal History Record Checks for Child Care Permits 5  DE Reg. 1828  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Historical & Cultural Affairs

Historic Preservation Tax Credit, Regulations Governing............................................. .......5  DE Reg.   405  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 2057  (Prop.)
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Office of the State Banking Commissioner  (TITLE 5 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
Reg. No. 5.1101(f).0001 Election to Be Treated for Tax Purposes as a Subsidiary

Corporation of a Delaware Chartered Banking Organization or Trust Company,
National Bank Having its Principal Office in Delaware, or Out-of-state Bank
That Operates a Resulting Branch in Delaware....................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     77  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   647  (Final)
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0002, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax...................... .......5  DE Reg.     79  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   649  (Final)   
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0003, Estimated Franchise Tax Report.......................................... .......5  DE Reg.     82  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   652  (Final)
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0004, Final Franchise Tax Report ................................................. .......5  DE Reg.     83  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   654  (Final)
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0005, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax for Federal

Savings Banks Not Headquartered in this State but Maintaining Branches
in this State.. ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     85  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   656  (Final)   
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0006, Estimated Franchise Tax Report Federal Savings Banks Not

Headquartered in Delaware..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     88  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   659  (Final)

Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0007, Final Franchise Tax Report Federal Savings Banks Not
Headquartered in Delaware..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     89  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   660  (Final)
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0009, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax for Resulting

Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks.......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     90  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   661  (Final)

Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0010, Estimated Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in
this State of Out-of-State Banks.............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.     94  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   665  (Final)
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0011, Final Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in this 

State of Out-of-State Banks..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     96  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   667  (Final)

Reg. No. 5.1105.0008, Instructions for Calculation of Employment Tax Credits.......... .......5  DE Reg.     98  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   669  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Outdoor Advertising, Rules & Regulations........................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   410  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1357  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 2061  (Prop.)

State Scenic and Historic Highways Program....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   595  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1129  (Final)

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
Governor’s Office

Appointments and Nominations..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   218
5  DE Reg.   465
5  DE Reg. 1156
5  DE Reg. 1320
5  DE Reg. 1539
5  DE Reg. 1625
5  DE Reg. 1838
5  DE Reg. 1934
5  DE Reg. 2148

Declaration Of Limited State Of Emergency In New Castle County, Delaware............ .......5  DE Reg.   672
Executive Order No. 18, Delaware Spatial Data I-Team................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   671
Executive Order No. 19, Delaware State Police............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   976
Executive Order No. 20, State Employees’ Charitable Campaign................................. .......5  DE Reg.   976
Executive Order No. 21, Establishment of Early Care & Education Council................ .......5  DE Reg. 1318
Executive Order No. 22, Building Safety....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1319
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Executive Order No. 23, Establishing the Governor’s Public Works and Procurement
Opportunity Council and Setting Standards for Contracting by State Agencies..... .......5  DE Reg. 1622

Executive Order No. 24, December 24, 2001 Holiday................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1623
Executive Order No. 25, Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume Cap for

Calendar Year 2001 and Initial Suballocation of State Private Activity Bond
Volume Cap for Calendar Year 2002....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1624

Executive Order No. 26, Recognition of the Statewide Responsibilites of the
Delaware Mentoring Council.................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1835

Executive Order No. 27, Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume Cap for
Calendar Year 2001 and Initial Suballocation of State Private Activity Bond
Volume Cap for Calendar Year 2002 and Recission of Executive Order No. 25.... .......5  DE Reg. 1836

Executive Order No. 28, Child Poverty.......................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1838
Executive Order No. 29, Declaration of Drought Warning; Notice of Potential Mandatory

Water Conservaton Measures; and Other Related Actions...................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1932
Termination Of Limited State Of Emergency in New Castle County, Delaware........... .......5  DE Reg.   672
Executive Order No. 30, Statewide Labor-Management Committee............................. .......5  DE Reg. 2147

Delaware Economic Development Office
Direct Grants Program.................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   512  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   817  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1312  (Final)

Energy Alternative Program........................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1062  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1529  (Final)

Information Technology Training Grant Program.......................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1683  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 2145  (Final)

Matching Funds Program................................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   514  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   818  (Prop.)

Matching Grants Program............................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1315  (Final)
Regulation No. 5, Procedures Governing the Delaware Strategic Fund......................... .......5  DE Reg.   499  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1141  (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60  
(7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

PLEASE NOTE:  THE FOLLOWING FINAL REGULATION WAS

PUBLISHED IN THE MAY 2002 REGISTER OF

REGULATIONS.  SEVERAL FORMATTING CHANGES WERE

NOT INDICATED IN THE REGULATION AS PUBLISHED.
THOSE CHANGES WERE TO DEFINITION (2) OF MAXIMUM

ACHIEVABLE CONTROL TECHNOLOGY (MACT) FLOOR;
PARAGRAPH 63.52(A)(1)(II); AND PARAGRAPHS 63.52(G).
THE REGULATION IS BEING REPUBLISHED FOR

CLARIFICATION PURPOSES.  THERE IS NO CHANGE IN THE

INDICATED EFFECTIVE DATE.
 

Regulation No. 38
Emission Standards For Hazardous 

Air Pollutants For Source Categories

4/22/98 5/11/02
Subpart B Requirements for Case-By-Case Control
Technology Determinations for Major Sources

5/11/02
Overview Of Subpart B

Subpart B of Regulation No. 38 consists of two separate
sets of requirements. One set of requirements, which are
included in Sections 63.40 through 44, implement the
section 112(g)(2)(B) provisions of the Clean Air Act.  These
requirements apply to owners or operators who construct or
reconstruct a major source of hazardous air pollutants after
June 29, 1998. The Department adopted these requirements
into Regulation No. 38 in April 1998.  

The other set of requirements, which are included
Sections 63.50 through 56, implement the section 112(j)
provisions of the Clean Air Act. These requirements apply to
owners or operators of any collection of equipment defined
in a section 112(c) source category for which the
Administrator has failed to promulgate an emission standard
by the section 112(j) deadline and the collection of
equipment is located at a source that is subject to Regulation
30.

Sections 63.45 through 49 of this subpart have been
reserved.

4/22/98
Section 112(g)(2)(B) Requirements

The provisions of Sections 63.40 through 63.44 in

Subpart B, of Title 40, Part 63 of the Code of Federal
Regulations, dated July 1, 1997 are hereby adopted by
reference with the following changes:

(a) “Regulation 30” shall replace “title V” wherever it
appears. 

(b) Paragraph 63.40(b) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The requirements of Secs. 63.40
through 63.44 of this subpart apply to any owner or operator
who constructs or reconstructs a major source of hazardous
air pollutants after June 29, 1998 unless the major source in
question has been specifically regulated or exempted from
regulation under a standard issued pursuant to section
112(d), section 112(h), or section 112(j) and incorporated in
another subpart of part 63, or the owner or operator of such
major source has received all necessary air quality permits
for such construction or reconstruction project before June
29, 1998.

(c) The opening sentence of Section 63.41 shall be
replaced with the following language: “Terms used in Secs.
63.40 through 63.44 that are not defined in this section have
the meaning given to them in the Act and in subpart A of this
regulation.

(d) The opening of the definition of Available
information found in Section 63.41 shall be replaced with
the following language: “Available information means, for
purposes of identifying control technology options for the
affected source, information contained in the following
information sources as of the date of issuance of the
construction permit which incorporates the final and
effective case-by-case MACT determination:”.

(e) The following errata found in Section 63.41 as
published in the Federal Register and Code of Federal
Regulations shall be corrected as follows:

(i) “for” in definition (3) of Available information
shall be replaced with “from”;

(ii) HAP’s” in definition of Construct a major
source shall be replaced with “HAP”;

(iii) “suite” in definition of Greenfield suite shall be
replaced with “site”;

(iv)  “deduction” in definition of Maximum
achievable control technology (MACT) emission limitation
for new sources shall be replaced with “reduction”; and

(v)  “that potential” in definition of Reconstruct a
major source shall be replaced with “the potential”.

(f) “Administrator” in the definition of Available
information found in Section 63.41 shall be replaced with
“Administrator or Department.”

(g) Paragraph (2)(ii)(A) in the definition of Construct a
major source found in Section 63.41 shall be replaced with
the following language: “The permitting authority has
determined within a period of 5 years prior to the fabrication,
erection, or installation of the process or production unit that
the existing emission control equipment represented best
available control technology (BACT) or lowest achievable

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
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emission rate (LAER) under Regulation 25 of the State of
Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution” for those HAP to be emitted by the process or
production unit; or”.

(h) Paragraph (2)(ii)(B) in the definition of Construct a
major source found in Section 63.41 shall be replaced with
the following language: “The permitting authority
determines that the control of HAP emissions provided by
the existing equipment will be equivalent to that level of
control currently achieved by other well-controlled similar
sources (i.e., equivalent to the level of control that would be
provided by a current BACT or LAER determination);”.

(i) Paragraph (2)(iv) in the definition of Construct a
major source found in Section 63.41 shall be replaced with
the following language: “The permitting authority has
provided notice and an opportunity for public comment
concerning its determination that criteria in paragraphs
(2)(i), (2)(ii), and (2)(iii) of this definition apply and
concerning the continued adequacy of any prior LAER or
BACT determination;”.

(j) Paragraph (2)(v) in the definition of Construct a
major source found in Section 63.41 shall be replaced with
the following language: “If any commenter has asserted that
a prior LAER or BACT determination is no longer adequate,
the permitting authority has determined that the level of
control required by that prior determination remains
adequate; and ”.

(k) Paragraph (2)(vi) in the definition of Construct a
major source found in Section 63.41 shall be replaced with
the following language: “Any emission limitations, work
practice requirements, or other terms and conditions upon
which the above determinations are made by the permitting
authority are applicable requirements under section 504(a) of
the Act and under Section 6 of Regulation 30 of the State of
Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution” and either have been incorporated into any
existing Regulation 30 permit for the affected facility or will
be incorporated into such permit upon issuance or revision.”

(l) The definition of Construction permit is added to
the list of definitions found in Section 63.41 with the
following language: “Construction permit means a
construction permit issued pursuant to Regulation 2 and/or
25 of the State of Delaware “Regulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution.”

(m) The opening of the definition of Control technology
found in Section 63.41 shall be replaced with the following
language: “Control technology means measures, processes,
methods, systems, or techniques to limit the emission of
hazardous air pollutants in a way that would --”.

(n) The definition of Effective date of section
112(g)(2)(B) in a State or local jurisdiction found in Section
63.41 shall be deleted.

(o) The definition of Electric utility steam generating
unit found in Section 63.41 shall be replaced with the

following language: “Electric utility steam generating unit
means any fossil fuel fired combustion unit that serves a
generator with a nameplate capacity of more than 25
megawatts that produces electricity for sale. A unit that co-
generates steam and electricity and supplies more than one-
third of its nameplate electric output capacity and more than
25 megawatts electric output to any utility power distribution
system for sale shall be considered an electric utility steam
generating unit.”

(p) The definition of HAP is added to the list of
definitions found in Section 63.41 with the following
language: “HAP means a hazardous air pollutant (i.e., any
chemical listed in or pursuant to section 112(b) of the Act).”

(q) The definition of Notice of MACT Approval found
in Section 63.41 shall be deleted.

(r) The definition of Permitting authority found in
Section 63.41 shall be replaced with the following language:
“Permitting authority means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control as defined in Title 29,
Delaware Code, Chapter 80, as amended.”

(s) The entire content of Paragraph 63.42(a) as
promulgated shall be deleted and its heading shall be
replaced with the following language: “(a) [Reserved].”

(t) The entire content of Paragraph 63.42(b) as
promulgated shall be deleted and its heading shall be
replaced with the following language: “(b) [Reserved].”

(u) Paragraph 63.42(c) shall be replaced with the
following language: “After June 29, 1998, no person may
begin actual construction or reconstruction of a major source
of HAP unless: ”.

(v) The following errata published in the Federal
Register and Code of Federal Regulations shall be corrected
as follows:

(i)  “owner and operator” in paragraph 63.42(c)(1)
shall be replaced with “owner or operator”;

(ii) “63” in paragraph 63.42(c)(1) shall be deleted;
and

(iii) “the anticipated” in paragraph 63.43(e)(2)(v)
shall be replaced with “The anticipated”.

(w) Paragraph 63.42(c)(2) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The permitting authority has issued a
construction permit which incorporates a final and effective
case-by-case determination pursuant to the provisions of
Sec. 63.43; requiring the emissions from the constructed or
reconstructed major source to be controlled to a level no less
stringent than the maximum achievable control technology
emission limitation for new sources.”

(x) Paragraph 63.43(b) shall be replaced with the
following language: “When a case-by-case determination of
MACT is required by Sec. 63.42(c), the owner and operator
shall obtain from the permitting authority an approved
MACT determination pursuant to paragraph (c) of this
section.” 

(y) Paragraph 63.43(c)(1) shall be replaced with the
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following language: “[Reserved].”
(z) Paragraph 63.43(c)(2) shall be replaced with the

following language: “The owner or operator shall follow all
procedures in Regulation 2 and/or 25, except that --”.

(aa) Paragraph 63.43(c)(2)(i) shall be replaced with the
following language: “the provisions of Section 2.2 of
Regulation 2 do not apply to any owner or operator that is
subject to the requirements of Secs. 63.40 through 63.44
and”.

(bb)  Paragraph 63.43(c)(2)(ii) shall be replaced with the
following language: “in addition to the provisions of Section
11.10 of Regulation 2, the final MACT determination and
the construction permit shall expire if construction or
reconstruction has not commenced within 18 months of
permit issuance. The owner or operator may request and the
permitting authority may grant an extension which shall not
exceed an additional 12 months.”

(cc) Paragraph 63.43(c)(3) shall be replaced with the
following language: “When desiring alternative operating
scenarios, an owner or operator may request approval of
case-by-case MACT determinations for each alternative
operating scenario. Approval of such determinations
satisfies the requirements of section 112(g) for each such
scenario.”

(dd) Paragraph 63.43(c)(4) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The MACT emission limitation and
requirements established in the approved construction permit
shall be effective as required by paragraph (j) of this section,
consistent with the principles established in paragraph (d) of
this section, and supported by the information listed in
paragraph (e) of this section. The owner or operator shall
comply with the requirements in paragraphs (k) and (l) of
this section, and with all applicable requirements in subpart
A of this regulation.”

(ee) The opening to Paragraph 63.43(d) shall be
replaced with the following language: “The following
general principles shall govern preparation by the owner or
operator of each construction permit application requesting a
case-by-case MACT determination concerning construction
or reconstruction of a major source, and all subsequent
review of and actions taken concerning such an application
by the permitting authority:”.

(ff) Paragraph 63.43(e)(1) shall be replaced with the
following language: “An application for a MACT
determination shall be submitted at the same time as the
construction permit application and shall specify a control
technology selected by the owner or operator that, if
properly operated and maintained, will meet the MACT
emission limitation or standard as determined according to
the principles set forth in paragraph (d) of this section.  At
the time of submittal, the owner or operator shall request that
the permit application be processed pursuant to Section 11.2
(i) or 11.2 (j) of Regulation 2, whichever is appropriate.”

(gg) The opening to Paragraph 63.43(e)(2) shall be

replaced with the following language: “In each instance
where a constructed or reconstructed major source would
require additional control technology or a change in control
technology, the application for a MACT determination shall
contain, independent of the permit application, the following
information:”.

(hh) Paragraph 63.43(e)(2)(xiii) shall be replaced with
the following language: “Any other relevant information
required pursuant to subpart A of this regulation.”

(ii) The opening to Paragraph 63.43(e)(3) shall be
replaced with the following language: “In each instance
where the owner or operator contends that a constructed or
reconstructed major source will be in compliance, upon
startup, with case-by-case MACT under this subpart without
a change in control technology, the application for a MACT
determination shall contain, independent of the permit
application, the following information:”.

(jj) The entire content of Paragraph 63.43(f) as
promulgated shall be deleted and its heading shall be
replaced with the following language: “(f) [Reserved].”

(kk) The entire content of Paragraph 63.43(g) as
promulgated shall be deleted and its heading shall be
replaced with the following language: “(g) [Reserved].”

(ll) The entire content of Paragraph 63.43(h) as
promulgated shall be deleted and its heading shall be
replaced with the following language: “(h) [Reserved].”

(mm) Paragraph 63.43(i) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The permitting authority shall send
notice of any approvals pursuant to paragraph (c)(2) of this
section to the Administrator through the appropriate
Regional Office, and to all other State and local air pollution
control agencies having jurisdiction in affected States.”

(nn) Paragraph 63.43(j) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The effective date of a MACT
determination shall be the date the permitting authority
issues the construction permit which incorporates the final
and effective MACT determination.”

(oo) Paragraph 63.43(l)(1) shall be replaced with the
following language: “An owner or operator of a constructed
or reconstructed major source that is subject to a MACT
determination shall comply with all requirements in the
issued construction permit, including but not limited to any
MACT emission limitation or MACT work practice
standard, and any notification, operation and maintenance,
performance testing, monitoring, reporting, and
recordkeeping requirements.”

(pp) Paragraph 63.43(l)(2) shall be replaced with the
following language: “An owner or operator of a constructed
or reconstructed major source which has obtained a MACT
determination shall be deemed to be in compliance with
section 112(g)(2)(B) of the Act only to the extent that the
constructed or reconstructed major source is in compliance
with all requirements set forth in the issued construction
permit. Any violation of such requirements by the owner or
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operator shall be deemed by the permitting authority and by
EPA to be a violation of the prohibition on construction or
reconstruction in section 112(g)(2)(B) for whatever period
the owner or operator is determined to be in violation of such
requirements, and shall subject the owner or operator to
appropriate enforcement action under the Act.”

(qq) Paragraph 63.43(m) shall be replaced with the
following language: “Within 60 days of the issuance of a
construction permit, the permitting authority shall provide a
copy of such permit to the Administrator, and shall provide a
summary in a compatible electronic format for inclusion in
the MACT data base.”

(rr) The phrase “under any of the review options
available” in paragraph 63.44(a) shall be deleted.

(ss) The phrase “40 CFR part 70 or part 71, whichever is
relevant,” in 63.44(b) shall be replaced with the following
language: “Regulation 30.”

Secs. 63.45 through 49 [Reserved].
5/11/02
Section 112(j) Provisions

Sec. 63.50 Applicability.
(a) General applicability.

(1) The requirements of Secs. 63.50 through 56 of
this subpart implement section 112(j) of the Act.

(2) The requirements of Secs. 63.50 through 56 of
this subpart apply to owners or operators of affected 112(j)
sources that are located at a major source that is subject to
Regulation 30 of the State of Delaware “Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution.”

(3) The requirements of Secs. 63.50 through 56 of
this subpart do not apply to research or laboratory activities
as defined in Sec. 63.51 of this subpart.

(b) Relationship to other State and Federal
requirements. 

The requirements of Secs. 63.50 through 56 of this
subpart are additional to all other applicable State and
Federal requirements. 

Sec. 63.51 Definitions.
Terms used in Secs. 63.50 through 56 of this subpart

that are not defined in this section have the meaning given to
them in the Act or in subpart A of this regulation.

Affected 112(j) source means the collection of
equipment, activities or both within a single contiguous area
and under common control that is in a section 112(c) source
category for which the Administrator has failed to
promulgate an emission standard by the section 112(j)
deadline.

Available information means, for purposes of
conducting a MACT floor finding and identifying control
technology options under Secs. 63.50 through 56 of this
subpart, any information contained in the following

information sources as of issuance of a final and legally
effective case-by-case MACT determination according to
paragraph 63.55(a) of this subpart:

(1) A relevant proposed regulation, including all
supporting information.

(2) Relevant background information documents
for a draft or proposed regulation.

(3) Any relevant regulation, information or
guidance collected by the Administrator establishing a
MACT floor finding and/or MACT determination. 

(4) Relevant data and information available from
the Clean Air Technology Center developed according to
section 112(l)(3) of the Act.

(5) Relevant data and information contained in the
Aerometric Information Retrieval System (AIRS) including
information in the MACT database. 

(6) Any additional information that can be
expeditiously provided by the Administrator or Department. 

(7) Any information provided by applicants in an
application for a permit, permit modification or
administrative amendment according to the requirements of
Secs. 63.50 through 56 of this subpart.

(8) Any additional relevant information provided
by the applicant or others prior to or during the public
comment period for a final and legally effective case-by-case
MACT determination for an affected or a new affected
112(j) source.

Control technology means measures, processes,
methods, systems or techniques to limit the emission of
hazardous air pollutants which: 

(1) Reduce the quantity of, or eliminate emissions
of, such pollutants through process changes, substitution of
materials or other modifications;

(2) Enclose systems or processes to eliminate
emissions;

(3) Collect, capture or treat such pollutants when
released from a process, stack, storage or fugitive emissions
point;

(4) Are design, equipment, work practice or
operational standards; or

(5) Are a combination of paragraphs (1) through (4)
of this definition.

Equivalent emission limitation means an emission
limitation, established under this subpart, which is
equivalent to the MACT standard that the EPA would have
promulgated under section 112(d) or (h) of the Act, had they
done so by the section 112(j) deadline.

Existing source maximum achievable control
technology (MACT) requirements means the requirements,
which include, where feasible, an equivalent emission
limitation, reflecting the maximum degree of reduction in
emissions of hazardous air pollutants that the Department,
taking into consideration the cost of achieving such emission
reductions and any non-air quality health and environmental
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impacts and energy requirements, determines is achievable
by sources in the category to which such MACT standard
applies. These requirements shall be based upon available
information and shall not be less stringent than the MACT
floor.

Maximum achievable control technology (MACT) floor
means:

(1) For existing sources:
(i) The average emission limitation achieved

by the best performing 12 percent of the existing sources (for
which the Department and/or Administrator has emissions
information), excluding those sources that have, within 18
months before the Department issues a final and legally
effective MACT determination under this subpart, within 18
months before the emission standard is proposed or within
30 months before such standard is promulgated, whichever
is later, first achieved a level of emission rate or emission
reduction which complies, or would comply if the source is
not subject to such standard, with the lowest achievable
emission rate (as defined in section 171 of the Act)
applicable to the source category and prevailing at the time,
in the category, for categories of stationary sources with 30
or more sources, or

(ii) The average emission limitation achieved
by the best performing five sources (for which the
Department and/or Administrator has emissions
information) in the category, for categories with fewer than
30 sources.

(2) For new sources, the emission limitation
achieved in practice by the best controlled source in the
section 112(c) source category, where such source[s] is
equipment or collection of equipment that, by virtue of its
structure, operability, type of emissions and volume and
concentration of emissions, is substantially equivalent to the
new affected 112(j) source and employs control technology
for control of emissions of hazardous air pollutants that is
practical for use on the new affected 112(j) source. 

New affected 112(j) source means the collection of
equipment, activities or both, that if constructed after the
issuance of a final and legally effective case-by-case MACT
determination according to paragraph 63.55(a) of this
subpart, is subject to the applicable new source MACT
requirements. According to paragraph 63.52(f)(3)(i) of this
subpart, each permit shall define the term “new affected
112(j) source,” which will be the same as the “affected
112(j) source” unless a different collection is warranted
based on consideration of factors including: 

(1) Emission reduction impacts of controlling
individual sources versus groups of sources; 

(2) Cost effectiveness of controlling individual
equipment;

(3) Flexibility to accommodate common control
strategies;

(4) Cost/benefits of emissions averaging;

(5) Incentives for pollution prevention;
(6) Feasibility and cost of controlling processes that

share common equipment (e.g., product recovery devices);
(7) Feasibility and cost of monitoring; and
(8) Other relevant factors.

New source maximum achievable control technology
(MACT) requirements means the requirements, which
include, where feasible, an equivalent emission limitation,
which shall be based upon available information and shall
not be less stringent than the MACT floor and which reflects
the maximum degree of reduction in emissions of hazardous
air pollutants that the Department, taking into consideration
the cost of achieving such emission reduction and any non-
air quality health and environmental impacts and energy
requirements, determines is achievable by sources in the
category to which such MACT standard applies.

Research or laboratory activities means activities
whose primary purpose is to conduct research and
development into new processes and products; where such
activities are operated under the close supervision of
technically trained personnel and are not engaged in the
manufacture of products for commercial sale in commerce,
except in a de minimis manner and where the source is not in
a source category, specifically addressing research or
laboratory activities, that is listed according to section
112(c)(7) of the Act. 

Section 112(j) deadline means the date 18 months after
the date for which a relevant standard is scheduled to be
promulgated under 40 CFR part 63, except that for all major
sources listed in those source categories scheduled to be
promulgated by November 15, 1994, the section 112(j)
deadline is November 15, 1996 and for all major sources
listed in those source categories scheduled to be promulgated
by November 15, 1997, the section 112(j) deadline is
December 15, 1999.

Sec. 63.52 Approval process for new and existing affected
112(j) sources.

(a) Sources that are major affected 112(j) sources on the
section 112(j) deadline. 

(1) Except as provided for in 63.52(a)(2), the owner
or operator of any source that is a major affected 112(j)
source on the section 112(j) deadline shall comply with the
following.

(i) Submit to the Department by the section
112(j) deadline:

(A) A Part 1 MACT application according
to paragraph 63.53(a) of this subpart or 

(B) If desired, a request for an
applicability determination by the Department of whether a
source is a major affected 112(j) source.

(ii) Submit to the Department a Part 2 MACT
application according to paragraph 63.53(b) of this subpart
not later than [6 24] months following:
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(A) The submittal of the Part 1 MACT
application or 

(B) The receipt of the Department’s
positive applicability determination according to paragraph
(d)(1) of this section.

(iii) If desired, include with the Part 2 MACT
application submitted according to paragraph (a)(1)(ii) of
this section, a Part 3 MACT application according to
paragraph 63.53(c) of this subpart.

(2) The owner or operator of any source that has
received a final and legally effective case-by-case MACT
determination under Section 112(g) according to Sec. 63.43
of this subpart on or before the section 112(j) deadline shall
submit a Part 1 MACT application to the Department by the
section 112(j) deadline. 

(b) Sources that become major affected 112(j) sources
after the section 112(j) deadline and that do not have a
permit addressing the section 112(j) requirements. 

(1) The owner or operator of any source shall
comply with the paragraphs (b)(2) and (3) of this section,
when section 112(g) requirements are not invoked and when
that source would become a major affected 112(j) source due
to: 

(i) Construction, reconstruction or
modification;

(ii) Relaxation of any state or federally
enforceable permit limitation; or

(iii) The Department, under subpart A of this
regulation, or the Administrator, under section 112(a)(1) of
the Act, establishes a lesser quantity emission threshold that
results in an area affected 112(j) source becoming a major
affected 112(j) source.

(2) The owner or operator of any source identified
in paragraph (b)(1) or (c)(2)(i) of this section shall submit
the following to the Department:

(i) Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3 MACT applications
according to paragraphs 63.53(a) through (c) of this subpart. 

(ii) One of the following requests, as
appropriate.

(A) A request that any associated
Regulation 2 construction permit be processed according to
paragraph 11.2(j) of Regulation 2. 

(B) A request that the relaxation of any
existing permit limitation specified in a Regulation 30 permit
be processed as a significant permit modification. 

(C) A request that the relaxation of any
existing permit limitation specified in a Regulation 2
operating permit, where there is an associated pending initial
Regulation 30 permit, be processed according to paragraph
11.2(j) of Regulation 2. 

(3) Where the relaxation of any existing permit
limitation specified in a Regulation 2 operating permit is
requested, and there is not an associated Regulation 30 or
pending initial Regulation 30 permit, operation as a major

affected 112(j) source shall not commence until a Regulation
30 permit that addresses the section 112(j) requirements is
issued by the Department.

(4) The owner or operator of any source that would
become a major affected 112(j) source due to construction or
reconstruction and section 112(g) requirements are invoked
shall apply for and obtain a final and legally effective case-
by-case MACT determination according to Sec. 63.43 of this
subpart. 

(c) Sources that have a permit addressing the section
112(j) requirements.

The requirements of paragraphs (c)(1) and (2) of
this section apply to major affected 112(j) sources that have
a permit addressing the section 112(j) requirements
according to Secs. 63.50 through 56 of this subpart, but
where changes to equipment, activities or both,
subsequently, occur at the source.

(1) If the existing permit already provides the
appropriate requirements that address the subsequent
changes that are to occur under paragraph (c) of this section,
then that source shall comply with the applicable new source
MACT requirements, and the section 112(j) requirements
are thus satisfied. 

(2) If the existing permit does not provide the
appropriate requirements that address the subsequent
changes that are to occur under paragraph (c) of this section,
the owner or operator shall comply with paragraph (c)(2)(i)
or (ii) of this section, whichever appropriate.

(i) If section 112(g) requirements are not
invoked, the owner or operator of that source shall comply
with the provisions of paragraph (b)(2) of this section.

(ii) If section 112(g) requirements are invoked,
the owner or operator of that source shall apply for and
obtain a final and legally effective case-by-case MACT
determination according to Sec. 63.43 of this subpart.

(d) Applicability and equivalency determinations.
(1) The Department shall review any request for an

applicability determination when requested to do so
according to paragraph (a)(1)(i)(B) of this section. If the
Department’s applicability determination is positive, the
owner or operator shall comply with paragraphs (a)(1)(ii)
and (iii) of this section. If the Department’s applicability
determination is negative, no further action by the owner or
operator is necessary. 

(2) For any Part 1 application received pursuant to
paragraph (a)(2) of this section, the Department shall review
the final and legally effective case-by-case MACT
determination approved according to Sec. 63.43 of this
subpart. If the Department determines that the emission
limitations in that final and legally effective case-by-case
MACT determination are substantially as effective as the
emission limitations which the Department would otherwise
adopt to effectuate section 112(j) for that source, then the
Department shall retain the existing emission limitations in
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the permit as the emission limitations to effectuate section
112(j) by reopening the Regulation 30 permit for cause or
amending the Regulation 2 permit following the procedures
in paragraphs 12.4 through 12.6 of Regulation 2, as
applicable . If the Department determines that the emission
limitations in that final and legally effective case-by-case
MACT determination are not substantially as effective as the
emission limitations which the Department would otherwise
adopt to effectuate section 112(j) for that source, then the
Department shall impose the requirements specified in
paragraph (f)(3) of this section by reopening the Regulation
30 permit for cause or amending the Regulation 2 permit
following the procedures in paragraphs 12.4 through 12.6 of
Regulation 2, as applicable.

(3) In issuing any final and legally effective case-
by-case MACT determination according to Sec. 63.43 of this
subpart after the section 112(j) deadline (i.e., according to
paragraph (b)(4) or (c)(2)(ii) of this section), the Department
shall specify in that determination that the associated
emission limitations effectuate both section 112(g) and
section 112(j) requirements.

(e) Completion determination and application shield.
(1) Within 60 days of the receipt of the Part 2 and/

or Part 3 MACT application(s), the Department shall notify
the owner or operator in writing whether the application is
complete or incomplete. The Part 2 and/or Part 3 MACT
application(s) shall be deemed complete unless the
Department notifies the owner or operator in writing within
60 days of the submittal that the application is incomplete. 

(2) Following submittal of any application, the
Department may request additional information from the
owner or operator. The owner or operator shall respond to
such requests in a timely manner.

(3) If the owner or operator has submitted [a]
timely and complete application[(s)] as required by this
section, any failure to have a Regulation 30 permit
addressing the section 112(j) requirements shall not be a
violation of section 112(j), unless the delay in final action is
due to the failure of the applicant to submit, in a timely
manner, information required or requested to process the
application. Once [a] complete application[(s) are is]
submitted, the owner or operator shall not be in violation of
the requirement to have a Regulation 30 permit addressing
the section 112(j) requirements.

(f) Permit issuance and content.
(1) For each Part 2 application received according

to paragraph (a) of this section, the Department shall reopen
the source’s Regulation 30 permit for cause according to the
requirements of Regulation 30 and shall impose the
requirements in paragraph (f)(3) of this section, as
appropriate, through the Regulation 30 permit. If the
Department has not yet issued a Regulation 30 permit, the
Department shall revise the applicable Regulation 2
operating permit(s) using the procedures in paragraphs 12.4

through 12.6 of Regulation 2.
(2) For each Part 2 application received according

to paragraph (b) or (c) of this section, the Department shall
issue a Regulation 2 construction or operating permit using
the procedures of paragraph 11.2(j) of Regulation 2, shall
reopen the source’s Regulation 30 permit for cause, shall
revise the source’s Regulation 30 permit as a significant
permit revision or shall issue a Regulation 30 permit, as
applicable, to impose the requirements in paragraph (f)(3) of
this section, as appropriate [: .]

(3) Permit requirements for affected 112(j) sources.
(i) Identification of the affected 112(j) source

and the new affected 112(j) source.
(ii) An equivalent emission limitation

established by the Department that reflects existing source
MACT requirements, for the equipment and activities within
the affected 112(j) source, based on the degree of emission
reductions that can be achieved if the control technologies or
work practices are installed, maintained and operated
properly.

(iii) An equivalent emission limitation
established by the Department that reflects new source
MACT requirements for the equipment and activities within
the affected 112(j) source, based on the degree of emission
reductions that can be achieved if the control technologies or
work practices are installed, maintained and operated
properly.

(iv) In lieu of paragraphs (f)(ii) and (f)(iii) of
this section, any specific design, equipment, work practice or
operational standard or combination thereof, when the
Administrator or Department determines that hazardous air
pollutant cannot be emitted through a conveyance designed
and constructed to capture such pollutant, or that any
requirement for, or use of, such a conveyance would be
inconsistent with any Federal, State or local law, or the
application of measurement methodology to a particular
class of sources is not practicable due to technological and
economic limitations. 

(v) The appropriate provisions of subpart A of
this regulation and the information specified in paragraphs
(f)(3)(v)(A) through (C) of this section. 

(A) Any additional emission limits,
production limits, operational limits or other terms and
conditions necessary to ensure practicable enforceability of
the MACT emission limitation. 

(B) Compliance certifications, testing,
monitoring, reporting and recordkeeping requirements that
are consistent with requirements established according to
Regulation 30.

(C) Compliance dates by which the owner
or operator shall be in compliance with the MACT emission
limitation and all other applicable terms and conditions of
the permit.

(I) The owner or operator of a major
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affected 112(j) source subject to paragraphs (a), (b) or (c)(2)
of this section shall comply with existing source MACT
requirements by the date established in the source’s
Regulation 30 or Regulation 2 permit, as applicable. The
compliance date shall not be later than 3 years after the
issuance of the permit for that source, except where the
Department issues a permit that grants an additional year to
comply in accordance with section 112(i)(3)(B) of the Act or
unless otherwise specified in section 112(i).

(II) The owner or operator of a new
affected 112(j) source subject to paragraph (c)(1) of this
section shall comply with new source MACT requirements
immediately upon startup of the new affected 112(j) source.

(g) Permit issuance dates.
[The Department shall issue all permits that address

the requirements of this subpart in accordance with the
requirements of Regulation 2,25, and/or 30 of the State of
Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution”, as is applicable.

(1) Except as specified in paragraph (g)(2) of this
section, the Department shall issue a Regulation 30 or
Regulation 2 permit, as applicable, addressing the
requirements of this subpart within 24 months of the
submittal of the Part 1 MACT application.

(2) The Department shall issue a Regulation 30
or Regulation 2 permit, as applicable, addressing the
requirements of this subpart within 18 months of receipt
of the complete Part 2 and/or Part 3 MACT
application(s) from the owner or operator of an affected
112(j) source receiving a positive applicability
determination or a negative equivalency determination
under paragraph (d)(2) of this section.]

(h) MACT emission limitations.
(1) Owners or operators of affected 112(j) sources

subject to paragraph (a), (b) or (c)(2) of this section shall
comply with all requirements of Secs. 63.50 through 56 of
this subpart that are applicable to affected 112(j) sources,
including the compliance date for affected 112(j) sources
established in paragraph (f)(3)(v)(C)(I) of this section.

(2) Owners or operators of new affected 112(j)
sources subject to paragraph (c)(1) of this section shall
comply with all requirements of Secs. 63.50 through 56 of
this subpart that are applicable to new affected 112(j)
sources, including the compliance date for new affected
112(j) sources established in paragraph (f)(3)(v)(C)(II) of
this section. 

Sec. 63.53 Application content for case-by-case MACT
determinations.

(a) Part 1 MACT Application. 
The Part 1 application for a MACT determination

shall contain the information in paragraphs (a)(1) through (4)
of this section.

(1) The name and address (physical location) of the

major source.
(2) A brief description of the major source and an

identification of the relevant source category. 
(3) An identification of the types of sources

belonging to the relevant source category.
(4) An identification of any affected 112(j) sources

for which an application has been made for a final and
legally effective case-by-case MACT determination under
section 112(g) according to Secs. 63.40 through 44 of this
subpart. 

(b) Part 2 MACT Application.
The Part 2 application for a MACT determination

shall contain the information in paragraphs (b)(1) through
(5) of this section. 

(1) For an affected 112(j) source subject to
construction, reconstruction or modification, the expected
commencement date of installation, the expected completion
date of installation and the anticipated date of startup of the
affected 112(j) source. 

(2) The hazardous air pollutants emitted by each
affected 112(j) source in the relevant source category and an
estimated total uncontrolled and controlled emission rate for
hazardous air pollutants from the affected 112(j) source.

(3) Any existing Federal, State or local limitations
or requirements applicable to the affected 112(j) source. 

(4) For each piece of equipment, activity or source,
an identification of control technology in place. 

(5) Information relevant to establishing the MACT
floors. 

(c) Part 3 MACT Application. 
The Part 3 application for a MACT determination

shall contain the information in paragraphs (c)(1) through (3)
of this section.

(1) Recommended MACT floors, an emission
standard or emission limitation that is equivalent to existing
source MACT requirements and an emission standard or
emission limitation that is equivalent to new source MACT
requirements for the affected 112(j) source, and supporting
information consistent with paragraph 63.52(f) of this
subpart. The owner or operator may recommend a specific
design, equipment, work practice, operational standard or
combination thereof, as an emission limitation. 

(2) Proposed control technology that, if properly
operated and maintained, will meet, at minimum, the
existing source and new source MACT requirements,
including identification of the affected 112(j) sources to
which the control technology shall be applied. 

(3) Relevant parameters to be monitored and
frequency of monitoring to demonstrate continuous
compliance with the MACT emission limitation over the
applicable reporting period. 
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Sec. 63.54 Pre-construction review procedures for
affected 112(j) sources.

The owner or operator who constructs, reconstructs or
modifies an affected 112(j) source after the section 112(j)
deadline shall follow the procedures established under
Regulations 2, 25 and/or 30 before commencing
construction, reconstruction, or modification of the affected
112(j) source. 

Sec. 63.55 Maximum achievable control technology
(MACT) determinations for affected 112(j) sources
subject to case-by-case determination of equivalent
emission limitations.

(a) Determination of case-by-case MACT requirements. 
The Department shall issue final and legally

effective case-by-case MACT determinations for affected
112(j) and new affected 112(j) sources that are consistent
with the existing source MACT and the new source MACT
requirements, as defined in Sec. 63.51 of this subpart. 

(b) Reporting to the Administrator. 
The owner or operator shall submit copies of the

Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3 MACT applications to the
Administrator at the same time these applications are
submitted to the Department.

Sec. 63.56 Requirements for case-by-case determination
of equivalent emission limitations after promulgation of
subsequent MACT standard.

(a) If the Administrator promulgates a relevant emission
standard that is applicable to one or more affected 112(j)
sources that are located at a major source before the date that
the Department has issued a final and legally effective case-
by-case MACT determinations according to paragraph
63.55(a) of this subpart, the Regulation 30 permit shall
contain the promulgated standard rather than the emission
limitation determined under Sec. 63.52 of this subpart, and
the owner or operator shall comply with the promulgated
standard by the compliance date in the promulgated
standard.

(b) If the Administrator promulgates a relevant emission
standard that is applicable to one or more affected 112(j)
sources that are located at a major source on or after the date
that the Department has issued a final and legally effective
case-by-case MACT determinations according to paragraph
63.55(a) of this subpart, the Department shall incorporate
requirements of that standard in the Regulation 30 permit
upon its next renewal. The Department shall establish a
compliance date in the revised permit that assures that the
owner or operator shall comply with the promulgated
standard within a reasonable time, but not longer than 8
years after such standard is promulgated or 8 years after the
issuance of the final and legally effective case-by-case
MACT determinations according to paragraph 63.55(a) of
this subpart, whichever is earlier. However, in no event shall

the period for compliance for existing sources be shorter
than that provided for existing sources in the promulgated
standard. 

(c) Notwithstanding the requirements of paragraph (a)
or (b) of this section, the requirements of paragraphs (c)(1)
and (2) of this section shall apply. 

(1) If the Administrator promulgates an emission
standard under section 112(d) or (h) of the Act that is
applicable to an affected 112(j) source after the date a final
and legally effective case-by-case MACT determination is
issued according to paragraph 63.55(a) of this subpart, the
Department is not required to change the emission limitation
in the permit to reflect the promulgated standard if the
Department determines that the level of control required in
that prior case-by-case MACT determinations is
substantially as effective as that required by the promulgated
standard according to Sec. 63.1(e) of subpart A [of this
regulation]. 

(2) If the Administrator promulgates an emission
standard under section 112(d) or (h) of the Act that is
applicable to an affected 112(j) source after the date a final
and legally effective case-by-case MACT determinations is
issued according to paragraph 63.55(a) of this subpart and
the level of control required by the promulgated emission
standard is less stringent than the level of control required by
that prior case-by-case MACT determination, the
Department [shall not may, but is not required to]
incorporate any less stringent emission limitation of the
promulgated standard in the Regulation 30 permit applicable
to such source(s) and shall consider any more stringent
provisions of that prior case-by-case MACT determination
to be applicable legal requirements when issuing or revising
such a Regulation 30 permit. 
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF PILOT COMMISSIONERS

24 DE ADMIN. CODE 1000
Statutory Authority:  23 Delaware Code,

Section 102 (23 Del.C. 102)

The Board of Pilot Commissioners will hold a public
hearing on the following draft regulations at its regularly
scheduled meeting on June 25, 2002 at 9:30 a.m. on the
Conference Room, 2d Floor, Cannon Building, 861 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. In addition, written
comments will be accepted up to the date of the hearing, if
received by the Board by that date and time.

The Board recognizes that new, larger ships are using
the Bay & River Delaware, and that their maneuvering and
other characteristics require additional experience for pilots
seeking a first class pilot license. The Board believes it
would be in the public interest to have its licensed pilots be
capable of service as offshore advisors for such vessels.

The Board recognizes that on occasion, pilot availability
could affect the intent of 23 Del.C. Section 113 that a pilot
serve for at least a year in each pilot class before being
eligible for an upgrade in pilot class to the next level. The
Board believes it would be in the public interest to define
how the one-year service requirement shall operate if there
are problems with pilot availability.

1.0 Delaware licensed Bay and River Pilots are required to
be familiar with the Delaware Code, Title 23, Chapter 1.

Pilots-Section 100 through 138.

2.0 Original License
2.1 An examination shall be given to apprentices upon

completion of their apprenticeship to determine their
qualifications for licenses.  The written examination shall be
based on knowledge required to be learned by the apprentice
during his/her apprenticeship.

2.2 No license shall be issued to any Pilot for any route
for which he/she has not made required trips and passed
required examination.

2.3 No original license will be issued for anything less
than the route from entrance of Delaware Bay to Newbold
Channel, and Chesapeake & Delaware Canal.  All these
licenses must be maintained through your pilot career.

2.4 The Board of Pilot Commissioners shall issue
endorsements for any tributaries of the Bay and River
Delaware to any Delaware licensed Pilot who has passed
examination for same.

3.0 To Raise License
Fourth Class Pilots shall demonstrate their knowledge to

the Commission of their thorough understanding of vessel
"squat" and other deep vessel handling characteristics prior
to being licensed as a Third Class Pilot.

4.0 Renewal of License
Pilot Licenses are to be issued on anniversary of their

original date from October 24, 1967, to comply with
Delaware law.

5.0 All Delaware Licensed Pilots must:
5.1 Maintain all licenses they have in hand as of 5 May

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.

Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nat ure
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/riverpilots/index.shtml
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1986 throughout the remainder of their Pilot career.
5.2 Hold a valid radar certificate.

ARPA certification is also required.
5.3 Provide a copy of all licenses and certificates to the

Commission Secretary.
5.4 Notify the Commission Secretary on the form

provided each Pilot that the "Rules of the Nautical Road"
have been read.

5.5 Any pilot who fails to exercise his or her profession
for any consecutive 90-day period is forbidden from piloting
vessels.  Such pilot may resume piloting vessels only upon
certification to the Board that he or she has made such
refresher trips over the route as shall be deemed necessary by
the Board to assure that he or she is fully familiar with
conditions along the route.  Refresher trips shall be made in
the company of a first class pilot.

5.6 Attend at least (40) hours of approved education
every five (5) years.  The course or courses of study shall
total not less than 40 hours of formal training on subjects
relating to navigation and piloting.  All such courses may be
taken at an approved education facility.  The Board of Pilot
Commissioners shall approve all courses before enrollment.

5.6.1 The courses listed here are now approved
by the Board and will continue to be approved until further
notice:

Ship Handling, Port Revel
Centre De Port Revel
38136 St. Pierre de Bressieux
France

Maritime Institute of Technology
5700 Hammonds Ferry Road
Linthicum Heights, MD 21090

SCI Maritime Training
241 Water Street
New York, NY 1003 8

South Hampton Institute
Newtown Road, Warsash Hampshire
England

Tidewater Navigation
Norfolk, VA

5.7 Attend and complete at least once every three (3)
years a Bridge Resource Management ("BRM") course
recommended and approved by this Board or by the
American Pilots Association. Classroom or simulator hours
spent in attendance at a BRM course will count towards
satisfaction of the requirement of subparagraph "E", above.
All licensed pilots shall have passed and approved BRM
course prior to I July 1997.

6.0 Pilots must pass a designated physical examination

every year within 120 days before their date of license
renewal, results of the examination shall be reported on the
form provided each Pilot. Examinations may also be ordered
by the Board for any Pilot at any time for any cause.

7.0 In order to be granted a license renewal, any Pilot
licensed by this Commission is and shall be required:

7.1 To have rendered pilotage service to not less than
52 vessels in the course of the year preceding the year for
which the renewal of such license is sought; and

7.2 To furnish to this Commission, in writing, not later
than the time when application is made to this Commission
for the renewal of such license, a list of all pilotages, during
the period of the license whose renewal is sought, giving:

7.2.1 The name of the vessel.
7.2.2 The date of pilotage.

7.3 Provided however, that this requirement shall be
proportionally reduced in number, or eliminated, upon
presentation of proof in form and substance satisfactory to
the Commission, that during the year about to be concluded,
the applicant for renewal was engaged in administrative
duties connected with pilotage on the Bay and River
Delaware, or was duly assigned and engaged in
administrative assignments for the benefit of said pilotage,
or was temporarily disabled from the performance of this
duties as a Pilot or other reason deemed satisfactory to the
Commission.

7.4 In the event that the requirement for 52 pilotages is
reduced or eliminated to the satisfaction of the Commission,
a number of refresher trips may be required before renewal is
granted.

8.0 Docking, Undocking, and Anchoring of Vessels
 8.1 When a vessel is docking or anchoring, a Delaware

licensed pilot shall remain on the bridge, attentive to duty,
until the vessel has at least one ship's line secure to the dock,
or until the vessel is anchored properly and firmly within a
designated anchorage area.

8.2 Nonetheless, nothing in these Rules shall prevent
the Master of a vessel from employing the services of a
docking master.

9.0 Casualty Reports
9.1 It shall be the personal responsibility of all Pilots

licensed by this Commission to make reports of all
casualties, collisions, groundings, etc.  These reports shall be
made to the Division of Professional Regulation's Chief
Investigator, with a copy sent to the Commission's liaison to
the Investigator.  AU such reports must be made within five
days of the occurrence, except that any marine casualty
involving oil spillage, pollution, or death must also be
reported by telephone, facsimile transmission, or telegram to
the Investigator and Commission liaison within twenty-four
hours of the occurrence, to be followed thereafter by the
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written report.  Failure to make such reports within the
required time frame may result in disciplinary proceedings.

9.2 Pilots licensed by this Commission are also
required to furnish the Investigator and Commission liaison
with a copy of all written reports the pilot makes to the U.S.
Coast Guard relating to any occurrence through the pilot's
licensed route of all casualties, collisions, or groundings.
These pilots must provide the Investigator and the
Commission liaison with copies of any Coast Guard findings
based on these reports.

10.0 Commission Recommendations
It is suggested that, in the event any of the Pilots

licensed by this Commission consider it unwise for a ship
which he has boarded to get under way or leave a dock either
due to weather or tide conditions, and the master of the ship
insists on getting under way, the Pilot should refuse to
assume his duties until such a time as it is in his opinion safe
to proceed.

11.0 Offshore Trip Experience Requirement for
Second Class Pilots

11.1 Under the provisions of 23 Del.C. Section
113(b), no person shall be eligible for licensure as a first
class pilot by this Board, until that person has served at least
one year in each of the lower classes.

11.2 While holding a second or third class license,
all pilots must make at least two inward bound trips on
vessels rated over 100,000 summer deadweight tons, on the
southeastern approach lane from “D” buoy to at least the
Delaware Capes. Each such trip must be made while
accompanied by a pilot holding a first class license for the
Bay and River Delaware issued by either this Board or the
Pennsylvania Navigation Commission. At least one of these
trips must be made during darkness. Second class pilots must
furnish proof of these trips to the Board at least thirty days
prior to being granted their first class pilot license. Any
pilots holding a first class pilot license as of the date of the
adoption of this regulation shall also complete these two
trips by the date of the renewal of their license in 2005.

12.0 Service Requirement for Advancement from
License Class to a Higher License Class

12.1 Under 23 Del.C. Section 113(b), a licensed
pilot must serve at least one year in each of the previous
lower pilot license classifications before the pilot is entitled
to a first class license, permitting the pilot to provide
pilotage services for “ships or vessels of any practical draft
of water.” 23 Del.C. Section 112(1). Using the plain
meaning rule of legislative interpretation, the term “serve” as
used in Section 113(b) means to actively engage in the pilot
profession during a full one-year term, and not merely to
hold a current license for twelve months. 

12.2 For example, if a pilot is unavailable for

pilotage assignments during a one-year term, the total time
for which the pilot was unavailable shall not be counted
toward the one-year requirement. This circumstance will
then affect the pilot’s license renewal date, at the completion
of the total one-year term.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS

24 DE ADMIN. CODE 2700
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 2706(a) (24 Del.C. 2706(a))

REGISTER NOTICE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Chapter 27,  Section 2706(a)(1),
the Delaware Board of Professional Land Surveyors
proposes to revise its Rules and Regulations.  The proposed
Rules and Regulations are being updated to take into account
the recent amendments to the law change in 2001, as well as
address certain other issues.

A Public Hearing will be held on the proposed Rules
and Regulations on Thursday, June 20, 2002 at 10:00 a.m. in
Conference Room A, second floor, Cannon Building, 861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904.  The Board
will receive and consider input in writing from any person on
the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written comments
should be submitted to the Board in care of Gayle Melvin at
the above address.  The final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled Public Hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations or make comments at the Public Hearing should
notify Gayle Melvin at the above address or by calling (302)
744-4518.

1.0 Authority
2.0 Purpose
3.0 Procedure and Standards
4.0 Definitions
5.0 Standards for Horizontal Control
6.0 Enforcement
7.0 Professional Development Requirements

(Continuing Education)
8.0 Professional Seals, Rubber Stamps and Signatures
9.0 Model Minimum Standards for the Practice of Land

Surveying
10.0 Classification of Surveys
11.0 Mortgage Inspection Plans (MIP)
12.0 Code of Ethics for Professional Land Surveyors

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/landsurveyors/index.shtml
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1.0 Authority:
24 Del.C. §2706.

2.0  Purpose:
The purpose of these standards is to establish minimum

technical criteria to govern the performance of surveyors
when more stringent specifications are not required by other
agencies or by contract.  Further, the purpose is to protect the
inhabitants of this state and generally to promote the public
welfare.

3.0  Procedure and Standards:
Whenever a surveyor conducts a boundary survey or an

improvement location survey of properties, a plat showing
the results shall be prepared and a copy furnished to the
client unless deemed unnecessary by the client. Provisions of
this paragraph do not apply to mortgage inspections. The
plat shall conform to the following requirements and shall
include the following information:

3.1  The plat shall be drawn on any reasonably stable
and durable drawing paper, vellum or film of reproducible
quality.  No plat or map shall have dimensions of less than 8-
1/2 x I I inches.

3.2  The plat shall show the written scale, area and
classifications of the survey (A, B. C. or
D).  These classifications are based upon both the purposes
for which the property is being used at the time the survey is
performed and any proposed developments which are
disclosed by the client, in writing.  This classification must
be based on the criteria in Attachment A and the survey must
meet the minimum specifications set forth in Attachment B.
The scale shall be sufficient to show detail for the
appropriate classification.

3.3  The horizontal direction of all boundary lines shall
be shown in relationship to grid north, state coordinate
system, or in lieu thereof, to true north or to such other
established line or lines to which the survey is referenced.
The horizontal direction of the boundary lines shall be by
direct angles or bearings.  A prominent north arrow shall be
drawn on every sheet.  The description of the bearing
reference system shall be stated on the plat.

3.4  All monuments, natural and artificial (man-made),
found or set shall be shown and described on the survey plat.
The monuments shall be noted as found or set.  All
monuments set shall be ferrous metal, or contain ferrous
metal, not less than ½ inch in diameter and not less than
eighteen inches in length, except however, a comer which
falls upon solid rock, concrete, or other like materials shall
be marked in a permanent manner and clearly identified on
the plat.  Monuments shall be set at all comers of all surveys
as required by these standards, with the exception of
meanders such as meanders of streams, tidelands, wetlands,
lakes, swamps and prescriptive road rights-of-way.  Witness
comers shall be set whenever a comer monument cannot be

set or is likely to be disturbed.  Such witness comers shall be
set as close as practical to the true comer.  If only one (1)
witness comer is set, it must be set on the actual boundary
line or prolongation thereof.

Otherwise, at least two (2) witness comers shall be set
and so noted on the plat of the survey. Monuments shall be
identified, where possible, with a durable marker bearing the
surveyor's registration number and/or name.

3.5  The plat of a metes and boundary survey must
clearly describe the commencing point and show the point of
beginning for the survey.

3.6  Notable discrepancies between the survey and the
recorded description, and the
source of information used in making the survey, shall be
indicated.  When an inconsistency is found, including a gap
or overlap, excess or deficiency, erroneously located
boundary lines or monuments, the nature of the
inconsistency shall be indicated on the drawing.

3.7  In the judgement of the surveyor, description and
location of any physical evidence found along a boundary
line, including but not limited to fences, walls, buildings or
monuments, shall be shown on the drawing.

3.8  The horizontal length (distance) and direction
(bearing) of each line as determined in
an actual survey process shall be shown on the drawing.

3.9  At least three (3) elements (including radius, arc
and chord bearing and distance) of all
circular curves, shall be shown.

3.10  Information used by the surveyor in the property
description shall be clearly shown on the plat, including but
not limited to, the point of beginning, course bearing,
distance, monuments, etc.

3.11  The lot and block or tract numbers or other
designations, including those of adjoining lots, if the survey
is within a recorded subdivision.  If the property is not within
a recorded subdivision, then the name and deed record of all
adjoining owners shall be shown.

3.12  Recorded public and private rights-of-way or
easements which are discovered during the title search
performed by others and supplied to the surveyor or
graphically shown on the recorded plat, which includes the
property, or which are known or observed adjoining or
crossing the land surveyed, shall be shown.

3.13  Location of all permanent improvements pertinent
to the survey, referenced radially and perpendicular to the
nearest boundary, shall be shown.

3.14  Visible encroachments onto or from adjoining
property or abutting streets with the extent of such
encroachments, shall be shown.

3.15  A plat or survey shall bear the Company and
individual name, address, date of survey and original
signature and board-approved seal of the registered surveyor
in responsible
charge.  This signature and seal is certification that the
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survey meets minimum requirements of the Standards for
Land Surveyors as adopted by the Delaware Board.

3.16  The following information shown on the plat must
be included in a written description, if one is provided:

3.16.1  The commencing point and point of
beginning.

3.16.2  Sufficient caption to connect the plat and
description.

3.16.3  Length and direction of all lines.
3.16.4  Curve information as described in paragraph

1.
3.16.5  Type of monuments noted as found or set.
3.16.6  The area of the parcel.
3.16.7  Adjoining owners, subdivision name, etc.

4.0  Definitions:
4.1 Definitions will be listed in the current "Definitions

of Surveying and Associated Terms", published by the
American Congress on Surveying and Mapping, except as
otherwise provided by Delaware law.

4.2 “Direct Supervision”: The term "Direct
Supervision" applies to one duly registered as a Professional
Land Surveyor (PLS) or Professional Engineer (PE) in the
State of Delaware and only a registrant may provide direct
supervision.  The physical presence of a PLS on every type
of surveying project is not required.  There are, however,
times when a site visit is necessary to make important
decisions involving boundary retracements, property line
disputes, etc.

4.2.1Direct supervision of a party chief and field
crew would require daily contact to determine the need for
the presence of a PLS on site.  This need would be based
upon the type of work to be performed and the professional
judgement of the PLS in charge.  Should it be determined
that a site visit is not warranted, the PLS, at a minimum,
should instruct the field crew as to the procedures to be used,
the data to be gathered, the maps or plats to be relied upon
and the scope of the work to be performed.  At the end of the
day, all work should be reviewed and checked by the PLS.

4.2.2While it has been argued that a survey crew
does not always have to be under the direct supervision of a
PLS, it is the Board's opinion that only a PLS has the ability
to make that determination.  It is therefore necessary for the
field crew to have daily contact with the PLS so that this
decision can be made properly, in order to protect the public.

5.0  Standards for Horizontal Control:
5.1 Definitions for specific types of horizontal control

surveys, along with standards and
procedures, may be found in National Geodetic Survey
(NGS) publications.  All geodetic surveys, including
determination and publication of horizontal and vertical
values utilizing Global Positioning Systems, Ground Control
Systems or any other system which relates to the practice

and profession of Land Surveying, shall be performed under
the direct control and personal supervision of a licensed
Professional Land Surveyor registered in the State of
Delaware.

5.2 Control Surveys that are used to determine
boundary lines, including developing coordinates for
existing boundary comers, shall meet the Standards
contained herein.

5.3 Land Information Systems/Geographic Information
Systems (LIS/GIS) maps should be built on a foundation of
coordinates obtained by an accurate survey.  Creation of
LIS/GIS maps and services should include a Professional
Land Surveyor registered in the State of Delaware for
coordination and input of their knowledge in these fields.

6.0  Enforcement:
Surveyors failing to meet these minimum standards will

be subject to appropriate disciplinary action by the Delaware
Board of Land Surveyors.

7.0  Professional Development Requirements
(Continuing Education)

7.1  Biennium Requirements
7.1.1  Effective July 1, 1995, as a condition for

renewal of a Certificate of Registration for the practice of
land surveying, a Professional Land Surveyor shall be
required to successfully complete 24 hours of professional
development within the preceding biennium.  Any registrant
who completes in excess of 24 hours of professional
development within the preceding biennium may have the
excess, not to exceed 12 hours, applied to the requirements
for the next biennium.

7.2  Sources of Credit
7.2.1  Professional development hours (PDHs) shall

be credited based on the following list:
7.2.1.1   Serving as a member -of a committee

or a board or a commission, which has as its primary duty
the preparation or grading of written tests which are given
for the purpose of determining the proficiency of an
applicant for registration, using accepted test development
principles, shall be counted as 1 PDH per hour of attendance.

7.2.1.2  Attendance at workshops or seminars
which are directly related to land surveying shall count as 1
PDH per actual hour of classroom attendance.  Such sessions
must be planned in advance, a record must be maintained
describing the content and a record of attendance must be
kept. This may include society meetings in which
educational programs are presented.

7.2.1.3  The active teaching of land surveying
at the college level, within the immediate preceding
biennium, shall be counted as 8 PDHs per year.  No more
than 16 PDHs shall be issued for teaching at the college level
in any renewal period.  Credit Will Not Be Given to Full
Time Educators.
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7.2.1.4  Teaching a workshop or seminar which
is directly related to land surveying or professional
development shall be counted as 2 PDHs per actual hour of
teaching time, not to include preparation.  No more than 18
PDHs may be claimed in any 2 year period.  Credit will be
given for the initial presentation only.

7.2.1.5  College level courses directly related
to land surveying or professional development shall be
counted as 40 PDH per credit hour.  Ten (10) PDHs will be
counted for each CEU (continuing education unit) earned.

7.2.1.6  Presentation and/or publication- of a
professional paper will be counted as 10 PDHs.  No more
than 20 PDHs may be claimed in any biennium.

7.2.1.7  All sources of PDH credit are subject
to prior Board approval.

7.3  Renewal Credit
7.3.1  Each registrant applying for renewal-shall be

required to submit a reporting form of his/her professional
development hours obtained in the period defined in Section
I of these rules.  Should the registrant desire to have any
excess PDHs applied to the requirement for the next
biennium, it shall be so stated in the space provided on said
form.

7.3.2  If the Board should, for any reason, deny or
modify the registrant's request for carryover PDHs, the
Board shall notify the registrant of such action on or before
June I of the renewal year.  The registrant's submittal shall be
on a form provided by the Board and shall contain a
statement signed and sealed by the registrant, which attests
to the correctness thereof.  Such statement shall accompany
and be filed with the registrant's request for renewal.
Registrants should retain their PDH files and records for at
least five (5) years.

7.4  Pro-rated Credits for Renewal
7.4.1  An applicant for renewal shall follow the

following schedule of reporting PDH credits: If, at the time
of renewal, you have been registered for less than 1 year, NO
continuing
education is required; registered for more than 1 year, but
less than 2 years, half (12 PDHs) is required; registered for 2
or more years, the full -amount (24 PDHs) is required.

7.5  Renewal
7.5.1  Any registrant who has submitted a correctly

completed statement as required in Section III and has met
all other. requirements shall be granted renewal.

7.6  Random Audit
7.6.1  Each biennium, the Board shall select from

the list of potential renewal registrants a percentage,
determined by the Board, which shall be selected by random
method.  The Board may also audit based on complaints or
charges against an individual registrant, relative to
compliance with continuing education requirements.

7.7  Documentation and Audit by the Board
7.7.1  When a registrant whose name or number

appears on the audit list applies for renewal, the Board shall
obtain documentation from- the registrant showing detailed
accounting of the various PDHs claimed by the registrant.
The Board shall attempt to verify the PDHs shown on the
documentation provided by the registrant. The Board shall
then review the documentation and verification.  Upon
completion of the review, the Board shall decide whether the
registrant's PDHs meet the requirements of these rules and
regulations.

7.8  Board Review
7.8.1  The Board shall review all documentation

requested of any registrant shown on the audit list.  If the
Board determines the registrant has met the requirements,
the registrant's certificate of registration shall remain in
effect.  If the Board initially determines the registrant has not
met the requirements, the registrant shall be notified and a
hearing may be held pursuant to the Administrative
Procedures Act.  This hearing will be conducted to
determine if there are any extenuating circumstances
justifying the apparent noncompliance with these
requirements. Unjustified noncompliance of these
regulations shall be considered misconduct in the practice of
land surveying, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2730.

7.9  Noncompliance Extenuating Circumstances
7.9.1  A registrant applying for renewal may

request an extension and be given an additional twelve (12)
months to make up all outstanding required PDHs providing
he/she can show good cause why he/she was unable to
comply with such requirements at the same time he/she
applies for renewal.  The registrant must state the -reason for
such extension along with whatever documentation he/she
feels is relevant.  The Board shall consider requests such as
extensive travel outside the United States, military service,
extended illness of the registrant or his/her immediate
family, or a death in the immediate family of the registrant.
The written request for extension must accompany the
renewal application.  The Board shall issue an extension
when it determines that one or more of these criteria have
been met or if circumstances beyond the control of the
registrant have rendered it impossible for the registrant to
obtain the required PDHs.  A registrant who has successfully
applied for an extension under this paragraph shall make up
all outstanding hours of professional development within
twelve (12) months of the date of the Board decision.

7.10  Appeal
7.10.1  Any registrant denied renewal pursuant to

these rules and regulations may contest such ruling by filing
an appeal pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act.

7.11  Retired Registrants
7.11.1 Registrants 62 years old and over who are

retired (working less than 20 hours weekly) shall need only
twelve (12) PDHs each biennium to satisfy the professional
development requirements outlined herein.

7.12  Multiple State Registrants
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7.12.1  Any registrant, who is not a Delaware
resident and resides in another state or commonwealth, and
is registered in that state or commonwealth having a
comparable continuing education requirement., shall not be
required to satisfy these requirements in addition to those of
his/her home state, but will satisfy these requirements as a
minimum.  Any questions regarding compliance with this
Section shall be resolved by the Board.

8.0  Professional Seals, Rubber Stamps and Signatures
8.1  A raised seal shall be used wherever possible (on

some materials, impressions do not register well).
8.2  When a raised seal can not be used, a rubber seal

may be used, but only with red ink so that the lettering will
stand out.

8.3  The signature must be originally hand written.
8.4 The seal to be used by a Delaware registrant shall

conform to the above regulation and have two concentric
circles.  The inner circle shall contain only the words
“REGISTERED”, “NO.”, and “Delaware”.  The area
between the two circles shall contain, at the bottom, the
words "Professional Land Surveyor" reading
counterclockwise and at the top, the name of the registrant as
written below, reading clockwise.

8.5  The seal acceptable to the Board is the one
recognized in the trade as the No. 1 official pocket size,
which has an inner circle 1" in diameter and an outer circle 1
½" in diameter.  A sample is below.  Replace John Doe and
No. 123 with your name and number.

9.0  Model Minimum Standards for the Practice of Land
Surveying

9.1 Preamble
To comply with the purpose of Title 24, Chapter 27

of the Delaware Code, which is to safeguard life, health and
property, to promote the public welfare and to maintain a
high standard of integrity and practice, the Delaware Board
of Land Surveyors has developed the following MINIMUM
STANDARDS FOR THE PRACTICE OF LAND
SURVEYING.  These Standards shall be binding on every
person holding a certificate of registration to offer or to
perform, land surveying services in this state.  All persons
registered under Chapter 27 of the Delaware Code are
required to be familiar with, and adhere to, the registration
statute and these Standards.  The MINIMUM STANDARDS
FOR THE PRACTICE OF LAND SURVEYING delineate
specific obligations the registrant must meet.

9.2 The practice of Professional Land Surveying is a

privilege, as opposed to a right.  All registrants shall exercise
their privilege of practicing by performing services only to
the extent of their competence and only then by meeting or
exceeding these technical standards.

9.3 The Minimum Standards for the Practice of Land
Surveying as promulgated herein, are enforced under the
powers vested in Delaware.  In these standards, the
“registrant” shall mean any person holding a license to
practice Land Surveying issued by the Division of
Professional Regulation.

10.0 Classification of Surveys
10.1Urban Surveys: Surveys of land lying within or

adjoining a city or town.  This would also include the
surveys of commercial and industrial properties,
condominiums, townhouses, apartments and other high-
density developments regardless of geographic location.

10.2Suburban Surveys: Surveys of land lying outside
urban areas.  This land is used almost exclusively for single
family residential use or residential subdivisions.

10.3Rural Surveys: Surveys of land such as farms and
other undeveloped land outside the suburban areas which
may have a potential for future development.

10.4Marshland Surveys: Surveys of lands which
normally lie in remote areas with difficult terrain and usually
have limited potential for development and cannot be
classified as Class A, B or C surveys.  This includes, but is
not limited to, surveys of farmlands and rural areas.

EFFECTIVE APRIL 1996.

11.0  Mortgage Inspection Plans (MIP)
11.1Purpose.  The purpose of an MIP is to locate,

describe and represent the positions of buildings or other
visible improvements, or both, affecting the property being
inspected.

11.2Product.  The results of the MIP shall be stated on a
plot showing the property inspected and the location of the
buildings or other visible improvements affecting the
inspected property.

11.3The Approval by the Consumer and Disclosures.
11.3.1The surveyor shall not begin work for

compensation pursuant to this regulation until the surveyor
receives a signed approval form more particularly described
below.

11.3.2The approval form shall be sufficient if
signed by one consumer, whether or not there are multiple
consumers, or, if a consumer is not an individual, the
consumer's duly authorized agent, with respect to the
property for which services pursuant to this regulation are
sought.  The approval form shall at a minimum contain:

11.3.2.1  An approval by the signer of the
requested services; and

11.3.2.2  An explanation of the differences
between an MIP and a boundary survey which includes an
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improvement location drawing.
11.3.3  The following approval form shall suffice

for the purpose of complying with this regulation:
“Approval Form  (on company letterhead, with
name, address and telephone #)
In connection with the purchase or refinancing of
the property located at _____________________,
we have been requested to prepare an MIP.  Since
an MIP is not a boundary survey and does not
identify property boundary lines, State regulations
require us to have your approval.  Therefore, please
sign and return the original of this form promptly,
by fax or mail, so that there will be no delay in
settlement.

If you wish, we can perform a boundary survey
which includes an Improvement Location Drawing
(ILD).  This survey will identify property boundary
lines and will mark property boundary corners.

An MIP will cost approximately $__________.
A boundary survey which includes an ILD will cost
(approximately $_____ (between $______and
($_____).

Very truly yours,

Check appropriate lines:
_____  We approve the preparation of an MIP.

We have read and understand that, in the absence of
any problem revealed by or during the preparation
of this drawing, it may be all that is required of the
land surveyor.

_____  We request a boundary survey that will
include an ILD, and will identify property boundary
lines and mark property boundary corners.
__________(Signature)____________ (Signature)"

11.3.4  Upon receipt of an approval form which
complies with this section, the surveyor shall perform the
services approved by the consumer.  If the consumer
requests a boundary survey which includes an ILD, then the
survey shall be consistent with the provisions set forth in The
Minimum Model Standards adopted by the Board.

11.3.5  If the consumer approves the preparation of
an MIP, the surveyor shall perform at least the following
procedures:

11.3.5.1  Examine the current deed and/or plat
to the subject parcel;

11.3.5.2  Take sufficient on-site measurements
to enable the surveyor to perform the tasks called for by this
regulation with regard to the:

11.3.5.2.1  locations of buildings and those
other improvements pertinent to the MIP;

11.3.5.2.2  locations of possible
encroachments reasonably determined based on a visual

inspection;
11.3.5.2.3  easements; and
11.3.5.2.4  rights-of-way.

11.3.5.3  If the consumer has approved an MIP,
then the following elements shall be shown:

11.3.5.3.1  significant buildings, structures
and other improvements, and their  relationship to the
apparent property lines referenced radially and/or
perpendicular to the nearest boundary, based on the field
measurements taken by the surveyor, and any other evidence
considered by the surveyor;

11.3.5.3.2  statement with regard to the
level of accuracy and accuracy of apparent setback
distances;   (Refer to Table 1)

11.3.5.3.3  possible encroachments to the
extent reasonably determined by a visual inspection of the
property either way across property lines; and

11.3.5.3.4  minimum setback lines, as
shown on plats,

11.3.5.3.5  a minimum of two control
points and their relationship to each other and the subject
property.

11.3.5.3.6  easements or rights-of-way as
shown on plats or current deed of record for subject
property.

11.3.6  If, in connection with the preparation of an
MIP, a surveyor finds evidence to warrant, in the surveyor's
professional opinion, the performance of a boundary survey,
the surveyor shall so notify, in writing, the consumer or the
consumer's representative.

11.3.7  If the consumer has approved the
preparation of an MIP, then:

11.3.7.1  the MIP prepared by the surveyor
shall prominently display, at a minimum, advice to the effect
that:

11.3.7.1.1  the MIP is of benefit to a
consumer only insofar as it is required by a lender, a title
insurance company or its agent in connection with the
contemplated transfer, financing, or refinancing; and

11.3.7.1.2  the MIP is not to be relied upon
for the establishment or location of fences, garages,
buildings or other existing or future improvements.

11.4  Plats
11.4.1  The original plat of an MIP shall be a

reproducible drawing at a scale which clearly shows the
results of the field work, computations, research and record
information as compiled and checked.

11.4.2  The plat shall be prepared in accordance
with the following procedures:

11.4.2.1  A reasonably stable and durable
drawing paper, linen or film is considered a suitable
material;

11.4.2.2  Plats may not be smaller than 8-1/2 x
11 inches;
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11.4.2.3  The plat shall show the following:
11.4.2.3.1  Caption or title and address or

lot number of the property,
11.4.2.3.2  Scale,
11.4.3.2.3  Date,
11.4.3.2.4  Name and address of the firm

or surveyor; and
11.4.3.2.5  Original signature and board-

approved seal of the registered surveyor in responsible
charge,

11.4.3.2.6  Consumer’s name,
11.4.3.2.7  Statement with regard to the

level of accuracy and accuracy of apparent setback
distances.

11.4.3  The surveyor shall make a reasonable effort
to maintain records, including names or initials of all
personnel,-date of performance, reference to field data, such
as book number, loose leaf pages and other relevant data.

11.5  All work shall be performed according to the
minimum standards for the community in which the service
is provided, as long as said standards meet or exceed the
standards herein. (1) Current local standards shall take
precedence over the MIP as to the manner in which
mortgage or deed-related surveys or plans are prepared and
as to the manner of field work and staking related to these
surveys or plans, if those standards require more detailed or
more accurate work to meet those local standards.

12.0  Code of Ethics for Professional Land Surveyors
12.1  Foreword.  Honesty, justice and courtesy form a

moral philosophy which, associated with mutual interest
among men and women, constitutes the foundation of ethics.
The surveyor should recognize such a standard, not in
passive observance, but as a set of dynamic principles
guiding his/her conduct and way of life.  It is his/her duty to
practice his/her profession according to this Code of Ethics.

12.1.1  As the keystone of professional conduct is
integrity, the surveyor will discharge his/her duties with
fidelity to the public, his/her employers and clients, and with
fairness and impartiality to all.  It is his/her duty to interest
him/herself in the public welfare, and to be ready to apply
his/her special knowledge for the benefit of mankind.  He/
she should uphold the honor and dignity of his/her
profession and avoid association with any enterprise of
questionable character. In hiss/her dealings with fellow
surveyors he/she should be fair and tolerant.

12.2  Professional Life
12.2.1  The surveyor will cooperate in extending

the effectiveness of the surveying profession by
interchanging information and experience with other
surveyors and students and by contributing to the work of
surveying societies and associations, schools and the
scientific and surveying press.

12.2.2 It shall be considered unprofessional and
inconsistent with honorable and dignified bearing for any
surveyor to advertise his/her work in a false or deceptive
manner that may mislead the public.

12.2.3  The surveyor will avoid all conduct or
practice likely to discredit or do injury to the dignity and
honor of his/her- profession.

12.2.4  Because superior and distinct knowledge of
surveying is essential to the profession, it is imperative for
the surveyor to continue his/her education.

12.2.5  The surveyor shall not permit the use of his/
her professional seal on any work over which he/she was not
in responsible charge.

12.3  Relations with the Public
12.3.1  The surveyor will endeavor to extend public

knowledge of surveying and Will discourage the spreading
of untrue, unfair and exaggerated statements regarding
surveying.

12.3.2  He/she will have due regard for the safety of

Table 1
CONDITION MARSH RURAL SUBURBAN URBAN REMARKS AND FORMULA

Unadjusted closure 1:5,000 1:7,500 1:10,000 1:15,000 Loop or between monuments

Angular closure (minimum) 30" _N 20" _N 15" _N 10" _N N=number of angles in
traverse

Accuracy of distances 0.10 ft
+200 ppm

0.07 ft
+150 ppm

0.05 ft
+ 100 ppm

0.03 ft
+ 50 ppm

100 ppm = 1:10,000

Elevations for boundaries
controlled by tides,
contours, etc., accurate to:

+ or - .50 ft + or - .50 ft + or - .50 ft + or - .50 ft Based on NGVD (1929) or
NAVD 88

Location on subject
property or pertinent
improvements, structures,
paving, etc.

+ or - 2 ft + or - 1 ft + or - 0.1 ft + or - .10 ft Any shown improvement
within 75' of property must use
these tolerances

Positional error in map
plotting not to exceed:
(applies to original map
only)

1/10 ½0 1/20 1/40 National Map accuracy calls
for 1/50th inch

Area 0.1 acre 0.1 acre 0.001 acre + or - nearest square
foot = less than 1 acre;
0.0001 = greater than 1
acre

Areas involving water
boundary. Left to discretion of
practitioner
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life and health of public and employees who may be affected
by the work for which he/she is responsible.

12.3.3  He/she will expres's an opinion only when it
is founded on adequate knowledge and honest conviction
while he/she is serving as a witness before a court,
commission or other tribunal.

12.4  Relations with Clients and Employers
12.4.1 The surveyor will act in fairness and in a

professional manner toward each client or employer and
produce a quality survey regardless of price.

12.4.2   He/she will engage, or advise his/her client
or employer to engage, and he/she will cooperate with, other
experts and specialists whenever the client's or employer's
interests are best served by such service.

12.4.3  He/she will disclose no information
concerning the business affairs or technical processes and
data of clients or employers without their consent.

12.4.4  He/she will not undertake work which he/
she believes will not be successful without first advising his/
her client of his/her opinion.

12.4.5  He/she will promptly disclose to his/her
client or employer and interest in a business which may
compete with or affect the business of his/her client or
employer.  He/she will not allow an interest in any business
to affect his/her decision regarding surveying work for
which he/she is employed, or which he/she may be called
upon to perform.

12.4.6  An employed surveyor will not solicit or
accept other employment to the detriment of his/her regular
work or the interests of his/her employer.

12.5  Relations with Surveyors
12.5.1  The surveyor will see that those licensed to

survey are properly qualified by character, ability and
training and those who prove unworthy of their privileges
are disciplined.

12.5.2  He/she will uphold the principle of
appropriate and adequate compensation for those engaged in
surveying work, including those in subordinate capacities, as
being in the public interest and maintaining the standards of
the profession.

12.5.3  He/she will endeavor to provide opportunity
for the professional development and advancement of
surveyors in his/her employ.

12.5.4  He/she will not directly or indirectly injure
the professional reputation, prospects or practice of another
surveyor.  However, if he/she discovers an error or disagrees
with the work of another property surveyor, it is the duty of
that surveyor to inform the other surveyor of such fact.

12.5.5   He/she will not review the work of another
property surveyor or for th e same client, except with the
knowledge or consent of such property surveyor or unless
the connection of such property surveyor with the work has
been terminated.

12.5.6  He/she will not compete with another

surveyor on the basis of charges by reducing his/her normal
fees after having been informed of the charges named by the
other, or undertake any work at a price that will not permit a
satisfactory professional performance.  Any offer of
professional service should be on the basis of his/her regular
fees.

12.5.7  He/she will not use the advantages of a
salaried position (public or private) to compete unfairly with
another surveyor, or use the advantages of instruments and
office facilities (public or private) to compete with other
surveyors without charging for such instruments and
facilities at current rates.

12.5.8  He/she will not attempt to practice in any
field of surveying in which he/she is not proficient.  He/she
should call in special consulting services to supplement his/
her own experience and that of his/her organization on
problems outside of their usual field.

1.0 General Provisions
1.1 Pursuant to 24 Del.C. Chapter 27, the Delaware

Board of Professional Land Surveyors (“the Board”) is
authorized to, and has adopted, these Rules and Regulations.
The Rules and Regulations are applicable to all Professional
Land Surveyors and applicants to the Board.

1.2 Information about the Board, including its meeting
dates, may be obtained by contacting the Board’s
Administrative Assistant at the Division of Professional
Regulation.  Requests to the Board may be directed to the
same office or visit our web site at
www.professionallicensing.state.de.us. 

1.3 The Board’s President shall preside at all meetings
of the Board and shall sign all official documents of the
Board.  In the President’s absence, the Board’s Secretary
shall preside at meetings and perform the duties usually
performed by the President.

1.4 The Board may seek counsel, advice and
information from other governmental agencies and such
other groups as it deems appropriate.

1.5 The Board may establish such subcommittees as it
determines appropriate for the fair and efficient processing
of the Board’s duties.

1.6 The Board reserves the right to grant exceptions to
the requirements of the Rules and Regulations upon a
showing of good cause by the party requesting such
exception, provided that the exception is not inconsistent
with the requirements of 24 Del.C. Chapter 27.

1.7 Board members are subject to the provisions
applying to “honorary state officials” in the “State
Employees’, Officers’ and Officials’ Code of Conduct,”
found at 29 Del.C. Chapter 58.  

2.0 Definitions.
Definitions under Section 2 will be listed in the current

“Definitions of Surveying and Associated Terms,” published
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by the American Congress on Surveying and Mapping,
except as otherwise provided by Delaware law.

“Combined Office and Field Experience” - is defined
as being multi-faceted experience in responsible charge of
land surveying projects, performed under the direct
supervision of a licensed land surveyor in the active practice
of land surveying.  The office aspect of this experience shall
include the technology relevant to civil drafting,
mathematical calculations necessary for subdivision,
boundary and right-of-way determinations, road, design,
stormwater, sediment and erosion control, and sewer design
as well as the interpolation of field-run topographical data
and the like.  Office experience should also include applied
familiarity with land development submittal and approval
processes.

The subject field experience shall include time
spent in responsible charge relevant to all aspects of on-site
inspection, evaluation and field-gathered information as well
as the supervision of crew personnel and communication and
coordination with a licensed land surveyor and office staff. 

“Direct Supervision” - applies to one duly licensed as a
Professional Land Surveyor (PLS) and only a licensee may
provide direct supervision.  The physical presence of a PLS
on every type of surveying project is not required.  There are,
however, times when a site visit is necessary to make
important decisions involving boundary retracements,
property line disputes, etc.

Direct supervision of a party chief and field crew
would require daily contact to determine the need for the
presence of a PLS on site.  This need would be based upon
the type of work to be performed and the professional
judgement of the PLS in charge.  Should it be determined
that a site visit is not warranted, the PLS, at a minimum,
should instruct the field crew as to the procedures to be used,
the data to be gathered, the maps or plats to be relied upon
and the scope of the work to be performed.  At the end of the
assignment, all work should be reviewed and checked by the
PLS.

While it has been argued that a survey crew does
not always have to be under the direct supervision of a PLS,
it is the Board’s opinion that only a PLS has the ability to
make that determination.  It is therefore necessary for the
field crew to have daily contact with the PLS so that this
decision can be made properly, in order to protect the public. 

“Related Science Curriculum” – are those courses of
study for which one-third of the required core courses are the
same or similar as those required for a Baccalaureate Degree
Program in Surveying.  These core courses may include but
are not limited to Algebra, Trigonometry, Analytical
Geometry, Calculus, General Physics and Computer
Programming.

Degrees in related fields of study may include but
not be limited to Civil Engineering, Mathematics, Physics,
Agricultural Engineering, Actuarial Studies, Statistics,

Geology and Forestry.
Because requirements for graduation differ from

institution to institution, when considering these Related
Science Curriculums attention will be given to the specific
coursework completed.  This examination of completed
coursework may allow for greater flexibility of this
definition.  Section 2708(a).

“Surveying Curriculum” - For the purpose of these
regulations, the term “Surveying Curriculum” will mean any
approved curriculum for a Baccalaureate Degree in
Surveying as it is accepted by the institution bestowing the
said degree.  This curriculum shall necessarily include but
not be limited to courses in Surveying, Advanced Surveying,
Legal Principles of Surveying, Data Adjustment,
Subdivision Planning and Layout, Route and Construction
Surveying, Engineering and Geodetic Astronomy,
Topographic Surveying and Cartography and/or those other
studies required by the institution where the degree is
earned.

Independent study course work (which includes all
correspondence, internet and distance-learning study) shall
be considered only if those courses have been accepted by an
Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology
(ABET) as part of the approved curriculum.  Section
2708(a).

3.0 Meeting Schedule and Election of Officers
The Board shall meet at least once each quarter of the

calendar year.  At the first regularly scheduled meeting in the
first quarter, the Board will elect from its members a chair,
vice-chair, and secretary.  Section 2704(b). 

4.0 Periodic Review of Application Form
The Application Form for those seeking licensure under

24 Del.C. Chapter 27 shall be reviewed every five years.
Section 2706 (a)(2).

5.0 Designation of the National Examination
For the required National Examination for licensure

under 24 Del.C. Chapter 27, the Board adopts the two-part
examination developed by the National Council of
Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES),
consisting of the Principles and Practice of Land Surveying
Examination and the Fundamentals of Land Surveying
Examination, as amended from time to time (then in effect at
time of examination).  Section 2706(a)(3).

6.0 Designation of the Drainage Examination/Delaware
Law Examination

6.1 For the required drainage examination/Delaware
law examination the Board adopts the bank of questions
developed for this purpose and/or approved for this purpose
by a recognized psychometrician or other authority whose
services are acquired and approved by the Division of
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Professional Regulation of the Delaware Department of
Administrative Services.  Section 2706(a)(4).

6.2 Exam review procedures. 
6.2.1 An applicant may review only the

questions answered incorrectly.
6.2.2 No other materials will be allowed into the

room when reviewing the exam.
6.2.3 There will be a 30-minute time limit

supervised by the Division of Professional Regulation.
6.2.4 The fee will be determined by the Division

of Professional Regulation.
6.2.5 An applicant cannot review the exam

within 90 days prior to the next exam date.
6.2.6 An exam review will be limited to only

one review.

7.0 Adoption of Administration and Grading
Procedures and Passing Scores for National Examination

The Board adopts the administration and grading
procedures and the passing scores adopted by the NCEES for
the two-part national examination, described in Section 5.0
of these regulations.  Section 2706(a)(5).

8.0 Process for Evaluation of Applicants’ Credentials
and Experience for Licensure

See Attachment B.

9.0 Procedure for Granting Licenses and License
Renewals

9.1 When an applicant is approved for licensure, the
Division of Professional Regulation will send a letter to the
applicant advising that person of the prorated license fee.
Once the license fee is received by the Division, a license
number is issued and mailed to the applicant.

9.2 The Division of Professional Regulation will send a
renewal notice to the last known address for each licensee at
least 30 days prior to renewal.  Even if a licensee does not
receive a renewal, it is his/her responsibility to renew their
license.

10.0 Continuing Education
10.1 Biennium Requirements.

Effective July 1, 1995, as a condition for
renewal of a Certificate of Registration for the practice of
land surveying, a Professional Land Surveyor shall be
required to successfully complete 24 hours of professional
development within the preceding biennium.  Any licensee
who completes in excess of 24 hours of professional
development within the preceding biennium may have the
excess, not to exceed 12 hours, applied to the requirements
for the next biennium.

10.2 A licensee shall complete at least two (2) hours
on ethics and professionalism for each renewal period with
no carry-over credit effective with the 7/1/03 through 6/30/

05 renewal period.
10.3 Sources of Credit.  In reviewing and approving

applications for PDHs, the Board shall take into
consideration:

10.3.1  Program Content:  Courses must cover land
surveying topics and must directly contribute to
accomplishment of the primary purpose of continuing
education, which is to help assure that licensees possess the
knowledge, skills and competence necessary to function in a
manner that protects and serves the public interest.  The
knowledge or skills taught must enable licensees to better
serve surveying clients and the subject matter must be
directly related to the land surveying practice. All
educational courses must be approved by the Board.

10.3.2 Instruction:  Except as set forth below, the
course must be one that will be conducted by a qualified
instructor who will be able to interact directly either in
person or by interactive television with all students at all
times during the course.  The course may be conducted
through the use of interactive television or other media
which permits continuous mutual communication between
the instructor and all students, continuous observation of the
instructor by all students, and continuous observation of all
students by the instructor.  Distance education courses may
be acceptable when the sponsor gives the licensee a final
exam and sends verification to the Board that the licensee
has completed the course with a passing grade.

10.3.2.1 Distance education courses are
defined as programs whereby instruction does not take place
in a traditional classroom setting but rather through other
media where teacher and student are apart.  Distance
education may not be utilized with the exceptions of
interactive television and verified courses described above.

10.3.3 Examples of  topics that are acceptable,
but not limited to:

ALTA/ACSM land title surveys
GPS (survey related)
GIS (survey related)
Delaware land use laws
Case law
Boundary laws and regulations
Research
Evidence
Boundary determination
Unwritten rights
Conflict resolution; i.e. boundary line

agreements
Adverse possession
Highway surveys
Railroad surveys
Easements and rights of way
Geodesy
Highway design/Highway safety
Surveyor in court/Expert testimony
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State and international boundaries
Water boundaries
Technical writing related to deed

descriptions and survey reports
Mathematics and computer applications of

land surveying
Measurement and analysis
Photogrammetry and aerial photo

interpretation
Survey standards
Survey instrumentation
Business management and professional

development related to the land
surveying practice; i.e. surveying
contracts, communicating with
clients, good business planning and
management, quality assurance

Ethics and professionalism
Liability for land surveyors
Drainage design
Sediment and erosion control
First aid/CPR

10.3.4 Serving as a member of a committee or a
board or a commission, which has as its primary duty the
preparation or grading of written tests which are given for
the purpose of determining the proficiency of an applicant
for registration, using accepted test development principles,
shall be counted as one (1) PDH per hour of attendance.

10.3.5 Attendance at workshops or seminars,
which are directly related to land surveying, shall count as
one (1) PDH per actual hour of classroom attendance.  Such
sessions must be planned in advance, a record must be
maintained describing the content and a record of attendance
must be kept.  This may include society meetings in which
educational programs are presented.

10.3.6 The active teaching of land surveying at
the college level, within the immediate preceding biennium,
shall be counted as eight (8) PDHs per year.  No more than
sixteen (16) PDHs shall be issued for teaching at the college
level in any renewal period.  CREDIT WILL NOT BE
GIVEN TO FULL TIME EDUCATORS.

10.3.7 Teaching a workshop or seminar, which is
directly related to land surveying or professional
development, shall be counted as two (2) PDHs per actual
hour of teaching time, not to include preparation.  No more
than eighteen (18) PDHs may be claimed in any 2-year
period.  CREDIT WILL BE GIVEN FOR ONLY ONE
PRESENTATION IN A TWO-YEAR PERIOD.

10.3.8 College level courses directly related to
land surveying or professional development shall be counted
as 40 PDH per credit hour.  Ten (10) PDHs will be counted
for each CEU (continuing education unit) earned.

10.3.9 Presentation and/or publication of a
professional paper will be counted as 10 PDHs.  No more

than 20 PDHs may be claimed in any biennium renewal.
10.4 Renewal Credit.

10.4.1 Each licensee applying for renewal shall
be required to submit on the Board approved form of his/her
professional development hours obtained in the period
defined in Section 10.1.1 of these rules.  Should the licensee
desire to have any excess PDHs applied to the requirement
for the next biennium, it shall be so stated in the space
provided on said form.

10.4.2 If the Board should, for any reason, deny
or modify the licensee’s request for carryover PDHs, the
Board shall notify the licensee of such action after the next
Board meeting.  The licensee’s submittal shall be on a form
provided by the Board and shall contain a statement signed
and sealed by the licensee, which attests to the correctness
thereof.  Such statement shall accompany and be filed with
the licensee’s request for renewal.  Licensees should retain
their PDH files and records for at least five (5) years.

10.5 Pro-Rated Credits for Renewal.  A licensee for
renewal shall follow the following schedule of reporting
PDH credits:  if, at the time of renewal, you have been
licensed for less than one year, NO continuing education is
required; licensed for more than one year, but less than two
years,  half (12 PDHs) is required; licensed for two or more
years,  the full amount (24 PDHs) is required.

10.6 Renewal. Any licensee who has submitted a
correctly completed form as required in Section 10.3 and has
met all other requirements shall be granted renewal.

10.7 Audit. Each biennium, the Division of
Professional Regulation shall select from the list of potential
renewal licensees a percentage, determined by the Board,
which shall be selected by random method.   The Board may
also audit based on complaints or charges against an
individual license, relative to compliance with continuing
education requirements.

10.8 Documentation & Audit by the Board.  When a
licensee whose name or number appears on the audit list
applies for renewal, the Board shall obtain documentation
from the licensee showing detailed accounting of the various
PDHs claimed by the licensee.  The Board shall attempt to
verify the PDHs shown on the documentation provided by
the licensee.  The Board shall then review the documentation
and verification.  Upon completion of the review, the Board
shall decide whether the licensee’s PDHs meet the
requirements of these rules and regulations.

10.9 Board Review. The Board shall review all
documentation requested of any licensee shown on the audit
list.  If the Board determines the licensee has met the
requirements, the licensee’s certificate of registration shall
remain in effect.  If the Board initially determines the
licensee has not met the requirements, the licensee shall be
notified and a hearing may be held pursuant to the
Administrative Procedures Act.  This hearing will be
conducted to determine if there are any extenuating
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circumstances justifying the apparent noncompliance with
these requirements.  Unjustified noncompliance of these
regulations shall be considered misconduct in the practice of
land surveying, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2712.

10.10     Noncompliance – Extenuating Circumstances.
A licensee applying for renewal may request an extension
and be given up to an additional twelve (12) months to make
up all outstanding required PDHs providing he/she can show
good cause why he/she was unable to comply with such
requirements at the same time he/she applies for renewal.
The licensee must state the reason for such extension along
with whatever documentation he/she feels is relevant.  The
Board shall consider requests such as extensive travel
outside the United States, military service, extended illness
of the licensee or his/her immediate family, or a death in the
immediate family of the licensee.  The written request for
extension must accompany the renewal application.  The
Board shall issue an extension when it determines that one or
more of these criteria have been met or if circumstances
beyond the control of the licensee have rendered it
impossible for the licensee to obtain the required PDHs.  A
licensee who has successfully applied for an extension under
this paragraph shall make up all outstanding hours of
professional development within the extension period
approved by the Board.

10.11 Appeal. Any licensee denied renewal pursuant
to these rules and regulations may contest such ruling by
filing an appeal pursuant to the Administrative Procedures
Act.

10.12 Retired Licensees. Licensees 62 years old and
over who are retired (working less than 20 hours weekly)
shall need only twelve (12) PDHs, including one ethics
PDH, each biennium to satisfy the professional development
requirements outlined herein.

10.13 Multiple State Licensees. Any licensee, who is
not a Delaware resident and resides in another state or
commonwealth, and is licensed in that state or
commonwealth having a comparable continuing education
requirement, shall not be required to satisfy these
requirements in addition to those of his/her home state, but
will satisfy these requirements as a minimum.  Any
questions regarding compliance with this Section shall be
resolved by the Board.

11.0  Investigations and Designation of Board Member
for Contact with Division of Professional Regulation.

Upon notice to the Board that a disciplinary
investigation of a licensee is underway by the Division of
Professional Regulation, the Board shall designate a Board
member to assist the investigator.  Whenever feasible, the
Board member designated for this purpose should not reside
in the county where the licensee under investigation resides
or maintains his or her dominant area of practice.  Section
2706(a)(10).

12.0 Minimum Technical Standards for Licences.
12.1 The Board is required under Sections 2701 and

2112(a)(9) to establish minimum technical standards for
licensees.  The purpose of these standards is to establish
minimum technical criteria to govern the performance of
surveys when more stringent specifications are not required
by other agencies or by contract.  Further, the purpose is to
protect the inhabitants of this state and generally to promote
the public welfare.  The Board also established minimum
standards for Mortgage Inspection Plans (MIPs), and other
types of work, frequently performed by licensees in portions
of the state.

12.2 Procedure and Standards.  Whenever a
surveyor conducts a boundary survey or an improvement
location survey of properties, a plat showing the results shall
be prepared and a copy furnished to the client unless deemed
unnecessary by the client.  The plat shall conform to the
following requirements and shall include the following
information:

12.2.1 The plat shall be drawn on any reasonably
stable and durable drawing paper, vellum or film of
reproducible quality.  No plat or map shall have dimensions
of less than 8 ½ x 11 inches.

12.2.2 The plat shall show the written scale, area
and classifications of the survey.  These classifications
(suburban, urban, rural, and marshland) are based upon both
the purposes for which the property is being used at the time
the survey is performed and any proposed developments,
which are disclosed by the client, in writing.  This
classification must be based on the criteria in Section 12.4
and the survey must meet the minimum specifications set
forth in Attachment A.  The scale shall be sufficient to show
detail for the appropriate classification.

12.2.3 The horizontal direction of all boundary
lines shall be shown in relationship to grid north, magnetic,
or in lieu thereof, to true north or to such other established
line or lines to which the survey is referenced.  The
horizontal direction of the boundary lines shall be by direct
angles or bearings.  A prominent north arrow shall be drawn
on every sheet.  The description of the bearing reference
system shall be stated on the plat.

12.2.4 All monuments, natural and artificial
(man-made), found or set, used in the survey, shall be shown
and described on the survey plat.  The monuments shall be
noted as found or set.  All monuments set shall be ferrous
metal, or contain ferrous metal, not less than ½ inch in
diameter and not less than 18 inches in length, except
however, a corner which falls upon solid rock, concrete, or
other like materials shall be marked in a permanent manner
and clearly identified on the plat.  Monuments shall be set at
all corners of all surveys as required by these standards, with
the exception of meanders such as meanders of streams,
tidelands, wetlands, lakes, swamps and prescriptive road
rights-of-way.  Witness monument shall be set or referenced
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whenever a corner monument cannot be set or is likely to be
disturbed.  Such witness monument shall be set as close as
practical to the true corner.  If only one (1) witness
monument is set, it must be set on the actual boundary line or
prolongation thereof.  Otherwise, at least two (2) witness
monuments shall be set and so noted on the plat of the
survey.  Monuments shall be identified, where possible, with
a durable marker bearing the surveyor’s registration number
and/or name.

12.2.5 The plat of a metes and boundary survey
must clearly describe the commencing point and label the
point of beginning for the survey.

12.2.6 Notable discrepancies between the survey
and the recorded description, and the source of information
used in making the survey, shall be indicated.  When an
inconsistency is found, including a gap or overlap, excess or
deficiency, erroneously located boundary lines or
monuments, the nature of the inconsistency shall be
indicated on the drawing.

12.2.7 In the judgment of the surveyor, the
description and location of any physical evidence found
along a boundary line, including but not limited to fences,
walls, buildings or monuments, shall be shown on the
drawing.

12.2.8 The horizontal length (distance) and
direction (bearing) of each line as determined in an actual
survey process shall be shown on the drawing.

12.2.9 At least three (3) elements (including
radius, arc and chord bearing and distance) of all circular
curves, shall be shown.

12.2.10 Information used by the surveyor in the
property description shall be clearly shown on the plat,
including but not limited to, the point of beginning, course
bearing, distance, monuments, etc.

12.2.11 The lot and block or tract numbers or other
designations, including those of adjoining lots, if the survey
is within a recorded subdivision.  If the property is not within
a recorded subdivision, then the name and deed record of all
adjoining owners shall be shown.

12.2.12 Recorded public and private rights-of-way
or easements which are discovered during the title search
performed by others and supplied to the surveyor or
graphically shown on the recorded plat, which includes the
property, or which are known or observed adjoining or
crossing the land surveyed, shall be shown.

12.2.13 Location of all permanent improvements
pertinent to the survey, referenced radically and
perpendicular to the nearest boundary, shall be shown.

12.2.14 Visible or suspected encroachments onto
or from adjoining property or abutting streets, with the
extent of such encroachments, shall be shown.

12.2.15 A plat or survey shall bear the Company
and individual name, address, and date of survey and
original signature and board-approved seal of the licensed

surveyor in responsible charge.  This signature and seal is
certification that the survey meets minimum requirements of
the Standards for Land Surveyors as adopted by the
Delaware Board.

12.2.16 The following information shown on the
plat must be included in a written description, if one is
provided:

12.2.16.1 The commencing point and point
of beginning.

12.2.16.2 Sufficient caption to connect the
plat and description.

12.2.16.3 Length and direction of all lines.
12.2.16.4 Curve information as described

in paragraph 12.2.9.
12.2.16.5 Type of monuments noted as

found or set.
12.2.16.6 The area of the parcel.
12.2.16.7 Adjoining owners, subdivision

name, etc.
12.3 Standards for Horizontal Control.

12.3.1 Definitions for specific types of horizontal
control surveys, along with standards and procedures, may
be found in National Geodetic Survey (NGS) or successor
publications.  All geodetic surveys, including determination
and publication of horizontal and vertical values utilizing
Global Positioning Systems, Ground Control Systems or any
other system which relates to the practice and profession of
Land Surveying, shall be performed under the direct control
and personal supervision of a licensed Professional Land
Surveyor licensed in the State of Delaware.

12.3.2 Control Surveys that are used to determine
boundary lines, including developing coordinates for
existing boundary corners, shall meet the Standards
contained herein.

12.3.3 Land Information Systems/Geographic
Information Systems (LIS/GIS) maps should be built on a
foundation of coordinates obtained by an accurate survey.
Creation of LIS/GIS maps and services should include a
Professional Land Surveyor licensed in the State of
Delaware for coordination and input of their knowledge in
these fields.

12.4 Classification of Surveys.
12.4.1 Urban Surveys - Surveys of land lying

within or adjoining a city or town.  This would also include
the surveys of commercial and industrial properties,
condominiums, townhouses, apartments and other high-
density developments regardless of geographic location.

12.4.2 Suburban Surveys - Surveys of land lying
outside urban areas.  This land is used almost exclusively for
single family residential use or residential subdivisions.

12.4.3 Rural Surveys - Surveys of land such as
farms and other undeveloped land outside the suburban areas
which may have a potential for future development.

12.4.4 Marshland Surveys - Surveys of land
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which normally lie in remote areas with difficult terrain and
usually have limited potential for development and cannot be
classified as urban, suburban, rural, and marshland surveys.
This includes, but is not limited to, surveys of farmlands and
rural areas.

12.5 ALTA/ACSM Land Title Survey.  The current
published standard as amended from time to time.

12.6 Mortgage Inspection Plans (MIP)
12.6.1 Purpose.  The purpose of an MIP is to

locate, describe and represent the positions of buildings or
other visible improvements, or both, affecting the property
being inspected.

12.6.2 Product.  The results of the MIP shall be
stated on a plat showing the property inspected and the
location of the buildings or other visible improvements
affecting the inspected property.

12.7 The Approval by the Consumer and
Disclosures.

12.7.1 The surveyor shall not begin work for
compensation pursuant to this regulation until the surveyor
receives a signed approval form more particularly described
below.

12.7.2 The approval form or its equivalent shall
be sufficient if signed by one consumer, whether or not there
are multiple consumers, or, if a consumer is not an
individual, the consumer’s duly authorized agent, with
respect to the property for which services pursuant to this
regulation are sought.  The approval form shall at a
minimum contain:

12.7.2.1 An approval by the signer of the
requested services; and

12.7.2.2 An explanation of the differences
between an MIP and a boundary survey which includes an
improvement location drawing.

12.7.2.3 The following approval form or
its equivalent shall suffice for the purpose of complying with
this regulation:  “Approval Form (on company letterhead,
with name, address and telephone number)

In connection with the purchase or
refinancing of the property located at
________________, we have been
requested to prepare an MIP.

Since an MIP is not a boundary survey and
does not identify property boundary lines,
State regulations require us to have your
approval.  Therefore, please sign and
return the original of this form promptly,
by fax or mail, so that there will be no
delay in settlement.
If you wish, we can perform a boundary
survey, which includes an Improvement
Location Drawing (ILD).  This survey will

identify property boundary lines and will
mark property boundary corners.
An MIP will cost approximately $______.
A boundary survey which includes an ILD
will cost (approximately $_________)
(between $_____ and $______).

Very truly yours,

Check appropriate lines:

_________We approve the preparation of
an MIP.  We have read and understand
that, in the absence of any problem
revealed by or during the preparation of
this drawing, it may be all that is required
of the land surveyor.

__________We request a boundary survey
that will include an ILD, and will identify
property boundary lines and mark property
boundary corners.

__________________(Signature)
__________________(Signature)

12.7.3 Upon receipt of an approval form, which
complies with this section, the surveyor shall perform the
services approved by the consumer.  If the consumer
requests a boundary survey which includes an ILD, then the
survey shall be consistent with the provisions set forth in The
Minimum Model Standards adopted by the Board.

12.8 Minimum Procedures.  If the consumer
approves the preparation of an MIP, the surveyor shall
perform at least the following procedures:

12.8.1 Examine the current deed and/or plat for
the subject parcel and review the most current tax
assessment map for inconsistencies with deed or plat.

12.8.2 Take sufficient on-site measurements to
enable the surveyor to perform the tasks called for by this
regulation with regard to the:

12.8.2.1 Locations of buildings and those other
improvements pertinent to the MIP;

12.8.2.2 Locations of possible encroachments
reasonably determined based on a visual inspection;

12.8.2.3 Easements; and
12.8.2.4 Rights-of-way.

12.8.3 If the consumer has approved an MIP, then
the following elements shall be shown:

12.8.3.1 Significant buildings, structures and
other improvements, and their relationship to the apparent
property lines referenced radially and/or perpendicular to the
nearest boundary, based on the field measurements taken by
the surveyor, and any other evidence considered by the
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surveyor;
12.8.3.2 Statement with regard to the level of

accuracy and accuracy of apparent setback distances;
(REFER TO ATTACHMENT A)

12.8.3.3 Possible encroachments to the extent
reasonably determined by a visual inspection of the property
either way across property lines; and

12.8.3.4 Minimum setback lines, as shown on
plats,

12.8.3.5 A minimum of two control points and
their relationship to each other and the subject property.

12.8.3.6 Easements or rights-of-way as shown
on plats or current deed of record for subject property.

12.8.4 If, in connection with the preparation of an
MIP, a surveyor finds evidence to warrant, in the surveyor’s
professional opinion, the performance of a boundary survey,
the surveyor shall so notify, in writing, the consumer or the
consumer’s representative.

12.8.5 If the consumer has approved the
preparation of an MIP, then:

12.8.5.1 The MIP prepared by the surveyor
shall prominently display, at a minimum, advice to the effect
that:

12.8.5.1.1 The MIP is of benefit to a
consumer only insofar as it is required by a lender, a title
insurance company or its agent in connection with the
contemplated transfer, financing, or refinancing; and

12.8.5.1.2 The MIP is not to be relied
upon for the establishment or location of fences, garages,
buildings or other existing or future improvements.

12.9 Plats.
12.9.1 The original plat of an MIP shall be a

reproducible drawing at a scale which clearly shows the
results of the field work, computations, research and record
information as compiled and checked.

12.9.2 The plat shall be prepared in accordance
with the following procedures:

12.9.2.1 A reasonably stable and durable
drawing paper, linen or film is considered a suitable
material;

12.9.2.2 Plats may not be smaller than 8 ½ x
11 inches;

12.9.2.3 The plat shall show the following:
12.9.2.3.1 Caption or title and address

or lot number of the property,
12.9.2.3.2 Scale,
12.9.2.3.3 Date,
12.9.2.3.4 Name and address of the

firm or surveyor; and
12.9.2.3.5 Original signature and

board-approved seal of the licensed surveyor in responsible
charge,

12.9.2.3.6 Consumer’s name,
12.9.2.3.7 Statement with regard to the

level of accuracy and accuracy of apparent setback
distances; (REFER TO ATTACHMENT A)

12.10 Maintenance of Records.
12.10.1 The surveyor shall make a reasonable

effort to maintain records, including names or initials of all
personnel, date of performance, reference to field data, such
as book number, loose leaf pages and other relevant data.

12.11 Local Standards.
12.11.1 All work shall be performed according to

the minimum standards for the community in which the
service is provided, as long as said standards meet or exceed
the standards herein.  (1)  Current local standards shall take
precedence over the MIP as to the manner in which
mortgage or deed-related surveys or plans are prepared and
as to the manner of field work and staking related to these
surveys or plans, if those standards require more detailed or
more accurate work to meet those local standards.

13.0 Professional Conduct - Code of Ethics
13.1 Foreword.  Honesty, justice and courtesy form

a moral philosophy which, associated with mutual interest
among men and women, constitutes the foundation of ethics.
The surveyor should recognize such a standard, not in a
passive observance, but as a set of dynamic principles
guiding his/her conduct and way of life.  It is his/her duty to
practice his/her profession according to this Code of Ethics.

As the keystone of professional conduct is
integrity, the surveyor will discharge his/her duties with
fidelity to the public, his/her employers and clients, and with
fairness and impartiality to all.  It is his/her duty to interest
his/herself in the public welfare, and to be ready to apply his/
her special knowledge for the benefit of mankind.  He/she
should uphold the honor and dignity of his/her profession
and avoid association with any enterprise of questionable
character.  In his/her dealings with fellow surveyors he/she
should be fair and tolerant.

13.2 Professional Life.
13.2.1 The surveyor will cooperate in extending

the effectiveness of the surveying profession by
interchanging information and experience with other
surveyors and students and by contributing to the work of
surveying societies and associations, schools and the
scientific and surveying press.

13.2.2 It shall be considered unprofessional and
inconsistent with honorable and dignified bearing for any
surveyor to advertise his/her work in a false or deceptive
manner that may mislead the public.

13.2.3 The surveyor will avoid all conduct or
practice likely to discredit or do injury to the dignity and
honor of his/her profession.

13.2.4 Because superior and distinct knowledge
of surveying is essential to the profession, it is imperative for
the surveyor to continue his/her education.

13.2.5 The surveyor shall not permit the use of
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his/her professional seal on any work over which he/she was
not in responsible charge.

13.3 Relations With The Public.
13.3.1 The surveyor will endeavor to extend

public knowledge of surveying and will discourage the
spreading of untrue, unfair and exaggerated statements
regarding surveying.

13.3.2 He/she will have due regard for the safety
of life and health of public and employees who may be
affected by the work for which he/she is responsible.

13.3.3 He/she will express an opinion only when
it is founded on adequate knowledge and honest conviction
while he/she is serving as a witness before a court,
commission or other tribunal.

13.4 Relations With Clients and Employers.
13.4.1 The surveyor will act in fairness and in a

professional manner toward each client or employer and
produce a quality survey regardless of price.

13.4.2 He/she will engage, or advise his/her client
or employer to engage, and he/she will cooperate with, other
experts and specialists whenever the client’s or employer’s
interests are best served by such service.

13.4.3 He/she will disclose no information
concerning the business affairs or technical processes and
data of clients or employers without their consent.

13.4.4 He/she will not undertake work which he/
she believes will not be successful without first advising his/
her client of his/her opinion.

13.4.5 He/she will promptly disclose to his/her
client or employer any interest in a business which may
compete with or affect the business of his/her client or
employer.  He/she will not allow an interest in any business
to affect his/her decision regarding surveying work for
which he/she is employed, or which he/she may be called
upon to perform.

13.4.6 An employed surveyor will not solicit or
accept other employment to the detriment of his/her regular
work or the interests of his/her employer.

13.5 Relations With Surveyors.
13.5.1 The surveyor will see that those licensed

to survey are properly qualified by character, ability and
training and those who prove unworthy of their privileges
are disciplined.

13.5.2 He/she will uphold the principle of
appropriate and adequate compensation for those engaged in
surveying work, including those in subordinate capacities, as
being in the public interest and maintaining the standards of
the profession.

13.5.3 He/she will endeavor to provide
opportunity for the professional development and
advancement of surveyors in his/her employ.

13.5.4 He/she will not directly or indirectly injure
the professional reputation, prospects or practice of another
surveyor.  However, if he/she discovers an error or disagrees

with the work of another surveyor, it is the duty of that
surveyor to inform the other surveyor of such fact.

13.5.5 He/she will not review the work of another
surveyor for the same client, except with the knowledge or
consent of such surveyor or unless the connection of such
surveyor with the work has been terminated.

13.5.6 He/she will not compete with another
surveyor on the basis of charges by reducing his/her normal
fees after having been informed of the charges named by the
other, or undertake any work at a price that will not permit a
satisfactory professional performance. Any offer of
professional service should be on the basis of his/her regular
fees.

13.5.7 He/she will not use the advantages of a
salaried position (public or private) to compete unfairly with
another surveyor, or use the advantages of instruments and
office facilities (public or private) to compete with other
surveyors without charging for such instruments and
facilities at current rates.

13.5.8 He/she will not attempt to practice in any
field of surveying in which he/she is not proficient.  He/she
should call in special consulting services to supplement his/
her own experience and that of his/her organization on
problems outside of their usual field.

14.0 Criminal History Reviews of Licensee
Applicants.

Part of the licensure process for applicants under 24
Del.C. Chapter 27 includes a requirement that the applicant
not have a criminal conviction record, nor pending criminal
charges relating to an offense, the circumstances of which
substantially relate to the practice of land surveying.  The
Board shall review the information provided on the
Application Form relating to this issue to determine if the
applicant’s criminal history record is substantially related to
the practice of land surveying.  Section 2708(a)(6).

15.0 Reciprocity Eligibility.
15.1 Section 2709, Title 24 of the Delaware Code

requires the Board to grant reciprocal licenses to applicants
presenting proof of current licensure in good standing in
another state, the District of Columbia, or territory of the
United States, whose standards for licensure are
“substantially similar” to Delaware standards.

15.2 All states that are contiguous to Delaware are
considered to have “substantially similar” standards to the
Delaware standards.  In determining whether other
jurisdiction’s standards are substantially similar, the Board
will consider the evidence presented by the applicant
intended to show this similarity.

16.0 Renewal of Lapsed Licenses.
A licensee may renew a license that has lapsed after the

renewal date, by payment of the late fee penalty and proof of
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the required PDHs to the Division of Professional
Regulation, if the licensee files for renewal within two
calendar years of the most recent renewal date.  A licensee
who does not file for renewal within that period must re-
apply for a new license.  Section 2711.

17.0 Replacement of Lost, Destroyed or Mutilated
Licenses.

Lost, destroyed, or mutilated licenses may be replaced
by payment of the appropriate fee to the Division of
Professional Regulation.  Section 2716(c).

18.0 Professional Seals, Rubber Stamps and
Signatures.

18.1 A raised seal shall be used wherever possible.
18.2 When a raised seal cannot be used, a rubber

seal may be used, but only with red ink so that the lettering
will stand out.

18.3 The signature must be originally hand written.
18.4 The seal to be used by a Delaware licensee

shall conform to the above regulation and have two
concentric circles.  The inner circle shall contain only the

words “REGISTERED,” “NO.,” and “DELAWARE.”  The
area between the two circles shall contain, at the bottom, the
words “PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYOR” reading
counterclockwise and at the top, the name of the licensee as
written below, reading clockwise.

18.5 The seal acceptable to the Board is the one
recognized in the trade as the No. 1 official pocket size,
which has an inner circle 1” in diameter and an outer circle 1
½” in diameter.  A sample is below.  Replace JOHN DOE
AND No. 123 with your name and number.

ATTACHMENT A

CONDITION MARSH RURAL SUBURBAN URBAN REMARKS AND FORMULA

Unadjusted closure 1:5,000 1:7,500 1:10,000 1:15,000 Loop or between monuments

Angular closure (minimum) 30" _N 20" _N 15" _N 10" _N N=number of angles in
traverse

Accuracy of distances 0.10 ft
+200 ppm

0.07 ft
+150 ppm

0.05 ft
+ 100 ppm

0.03 ft
+ 50 ppm

100 ppm = 1:10,000

Elevations for boundaries
controlled by tides,
contours, etc., accurate to:

+ or - .50 ft + or - .50 ft + or - .50 ft + or - .50 ft Based on NGVD (1929) or
NAVD 88

Location on subject
property or pertinent
improvements, structures,
paving, etc.

+ or - 2 ft + or - 1 ft + or - 0.1 ft + or - .10 ft Any shown improvement
within 75' of property must use
these tolerances

Positional error in map
plotting not to exceed:
(applies to original map
only)

1/10 ½0 1/20 1/40 National Map accuracy calls
for 1/50th inch

Area 0.1 acre 0.1 acre 0.001 acre + or - nearest square
foot = less than 1 acre;
0.0001 = greater than 1
acre

Areas involving water
boundary. Left to discretion of
practitioner
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 1050 - 1052

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL.C. SECTION 122(d)

1050 DSSAA SPORTSMANSHIP
1051 DSSAA SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL

INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETICS
1052 DSSAA JUNIOR HIGH/MIDDLE SCHOOL

INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETICS

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
REGULATION

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the
State Board of Education to amend the following
Regulations of the Delaware Secondary School Athletic
Association:

1050 DSSAA Sportsmanship,

1051 DSSAA Senior High School Interscholastic
Athletics

1052 Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic
Athletics.

The most significant changes to the regulations include
the following:

Reinstating the “continuous enrollment”
requirement which penalizes a student for failing to
complete a semester or being absent for one or
more semesters for reasons other than injury or
illness. (Reg. 1051, 1.2.7 and Reg. 1052, 1.2.6)

Deleting the “developmental sport” category
and as a result, eliminating DSSAA’s regulation of
sports in which fewer than 12 high schools or 7
middle schools are participating.(Reg. 1051, 20.3
and Reg. 1052, 20.3)

Creating a 6-week “window” from June 15 to
August 1 during which coaches are permitted to
have instructional contact with returning members
of their school team. (Reg. 1051, 23.10 and Reg.
1052, 22.10)

Increasing the permissible number of baseball
and softball teams from 18 to 20 games per season
for senior high school athletes. (Reg. 1051, 24.1

EVALUATION OF APPLICANTS CREDENTIALS FOR LICENSURE
ATTACHMENT B

 Candidate is licensed in 
another jurisdiction.  

Statute 2709(a) 

 Candidate is applying for 
initial license.  Statute 

2708 

 YES-Other jurisdiction is 
substantially similar.  

Statute 2709(a) 

 YES-Candidate is graduate of 4 
year Surveying curriculum.  

Statute 2708(a)(1)(a) 

 NO-Candidate is graduate 
of 4 year. Related science 

curriculum.  Statute 
2708(a)(1)(b) 

 NO-Candidate has 
successfully completed 32 

semester hours or equivalent 
in land surveying or related 

subjects.  Statute 
2708(a)(1)(c) 

 NO-Candidate has 10 years 
combined office, field & 

boundary survey experience 
in responsible charge under 
professional land surveyor. 

Statute 2708 (a)(1)(d)  

 YES-Candidate has 3 years combined 
office, field and boundary survey 

experience in responsible charge under 
licensed land surveyor.  Statute 2708(a) 

 YES-Candidate has 5 years combined 
office, field and boundary survey 

experience in responsible charge under 
licensed land surveyor.  Statute 2708(a) 

 YES-Candidate has 6 years combined 
office, field and boundary survey 

experience in responsible charge under 
licensed land surveyor.  Statute 2708(a) 

 YES -Candidate has 
completed paperwork 

properly.   Statute 
2708(a) 

 YES-Candidate sits for test 

 YES-Candidate passes test. Statute 2708(a)(2) 

 YES-Licensure.  Statute 2706(a)(7) 

 NO-propose to deny 

 NO-    
Re-test 

 Propose to deny 

 YES -Candidate requests hearing 

YES -Due process.  State Ref: 
Administrative Procedures Act 

NO- License 
is denied 

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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only)

The remaining proposals represent editorial changes or
minor modifications to a particular section of the
regulations.  All of the proposed revisions have been
reviewed by the Constitution and Bylaws Committee,
discussed by the membership at the annual meeting and have
received two affirmative votes from the DSSAA Board of
Directors.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulations address academic
issues that are a part of interscholastic athletics.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulations address the equity issues that are a part of
interscholastic athletics.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulations address the health and safety issues that
are a part of interscholastic athletics.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended
regulations address the students’ legal rights that are a part of
interscholastic athletics..

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the
local board and school level?  The amended regulations will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulations will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity

8. Will the amended regulations be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulations will  be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulations?  The statute
requires that regulations be developed for DSSAA therefore
changes must be made through changes to the regulations.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulations?  The
amended regulations will not increase the costs to the state or
to the local school boards.

1050  DSSAA Sportsmanship

1.0  Member schools are required to conduct all of their
athletic affairs with other schools in a spirit of good
sportsmanship.  Acts which are prima facie evidence of a
failure to abide by this rule are those which are noted below
and others of a similar nature which transgress the usually
accepted code for good sportsmanship.

1.1  Failure to provide for proper control of spectators at
a contest.  When the number of spectators is expected to be
large in relation to the seating capacity of the facility,
uniformed state, county, or local police shall be provided for
crowd control.  The host school is expected to take
reasonable and proper steps to assure crowd control under
any foreseeable conditions.

1.2  Failure of a team or competitor to stay in a contest
until its normal end when failure to do so is related to
dissatisfaction with the officiating of the contest, unless the
physical safety of the team or competitor would have been
endangered by continuing the contest.

1.3  Harassment of game officials by a coach.  Going
onto the playing surface to interrupt a contest in protest of a
decision by an official; conduct by a coach, team member, or
any individual in the official party which invokes a penalty
against the team; continued and visible actions by a coach
which indicate to the team and/or to the spectators that the
coach believes the game is being improperly officiated;
public demonstrations with game officials which indicate to
others extreme dissatisfaction with the officiating; and such
related actions when exhibited in aggravated form are
evidence of poor sportsmanship.

1.4  Failure of a school to use every means at its disposal
to impress upon its faculty, student body, team members,
coaching staff, and spectators the importance of good
sportsmanship before, during, and after athletic contests.
The host school is encouraged to read a brief statement
concerning sportsmanship prior to the start of each athletic
contest.

1.5  Failure of an administrator, athletic director, coach,
athlete, official, or spectator to comply with the directions
stipulated in the following Code of Interscholastic Athletics:

1.5.1  The School Administrator and Athletic
Director shall:

1.5.1.1  Encourage and promote friendly
relations and good sportsmanship throughout the school by
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requiring courtesy and proper decorum at all times, by
familiarizing students and others in the community with the
ideals of good sportsmanship, and by publicizing these
concepts and attitudes so that all members of the school
community understand and appreciate their meaning.

1.5.1.2  Review the Sportsmanship Rule with
all athletic staff.

1.5.1.3  Insist upon strict compliance with all
DSSAA rules and regulations.

1.5.1.4  Insist upon adequate safety provisions
for both participants and spectators in all activities.

1.5.1.5  Encourage all to judge the success of
the interscholastic athletic program based on the attitude of
the participants and spectators rather than on the number of
games won or lost.

1.5.1.6  Insist that all participants adhere to the
highest standards of good sportsmanship as a means of
ensuring desirable spectator attitudes.

1.5.1.7  Provide sanitary and attractive
facilities for the dressing and housing of visiting teams and
officials.

1.5.2  The Coach shall:
1.5.2.1  Demonstrate high ideals, good habits,

and desirable attitudes in his/ her personal and professional
behavior and demand the same of his/her players.

1.5.2.2  Recognize that the purpose of
competition is to promote the physical, mental, social, and
emotional well-being of the individual players and that the
most important values of competition are derived from
playing the game fairly.

1.5.2.3  Be a modest winner and a gracious
loser.

1.5.2.4  Maintain self-control at all times and
accept adverse decisions without public display of emotion
or dissatisfaction with the officials. Register disagreement
through proper channels.

1.5.2.5  Employ accepted educational methods
in coaching and give his/her players an opportunity to
develop and use initiative, leadership, and judgement.

1.5.2.6  Pay close attention to the physical
well-being of his/her players, refusing to jeopardize the
health of an individual for the sake of improving his/her
team's chances to win.

1.5.2.7  Teach athletes that it is better to lose
fairly than to win unfairly.

1.5.2.8  Discourage gambling, profanity,
abusive language, and similar violations of the true
sportsman's or sportswoman's code.

1.5.2.9  Refuse to disparage an opponent, an
official, or others associated with interscholastic athletics
and discourage gossip and rumors about them.

1.5.2.10  Properly supervise the athletes under
his/her immediate care.

1.5.3  The Participant (athletes and cheerleaders)

shall:
1.5.3.1  Be responsible for the perpetuation of

interscholastic athletics. Strive to enhance the image of
athletics not only as a member of a team but also as a
member of your school and community.

1.5.3.2  Be courteous to the visiting team.
Your opponents wish to excel as much as you do.  Respect
their efforts.

1.5.3.3  Play hard to the limit of your ability
regardless of discouragement. The true athlete does not give
up, quarrel, cheat, bet, or grandstand.

1.5.3.4  Be modest when successful and be
gracious in defeat.  A true sportsman or sportswoman does
not offer excuses for failure.

1.5.3.5  Understand and observe the playing
rules of the game and the standards of eligibility.

1.5.3.6  Respect the integrity and judgement of
the officials and accept their decisions without complaint.

1.5.3.7  Respect the facilities of the host school
and do not violate the trust entailed in being a guest.

1.5.4  The Official shall:
1.5.4.1  Know the rules and interpretations and

be thoroughly trained to administer them.
1.5.4.2  Maintain self-control in all situations.
1.5.4.3  When enforcing the rules, do not make

gestures or comments that will embarrass the players or
coaches.

1.5.4.4  Be impartial and fair, yet firm, in all
decisions.  A good official will not attempt to compensate
later for an unpopular decision.

1.5.4.5  Refrain from commenting upon or
discussing a team, player, or game situation with those not
immediately concerned.

1.5.4.6  Conduct the game so as to enlist the
cooperation of the players, coaches, and spectators in
promoting good sportsmanship.

1.5.5  The Spectator shall:
1.5.5.1  Realize that he/she represents the

school just as definitely as does a member of the team, and
that he/she has an obligation to be a true sportsman or
sportswoman and to encourage through his/her behavior the
practice of good sportsmanship by others.

1.5.5.2  Recognize that good sportsmanship is
more important than victory by approving and applauding
good team play, individual skill, and outstanding examples
of sportsmanship and fair play exhibited by either team.  The
following are some examples of poor sportsmanship which
shall not be tolerated:

1.5.5.2.1  Profanity, vulgarity, obscene
gestures, abusive language, and/or derogatory remarks.

1.5.5.2.2  Throwing objects.
1.5.5.2.3  Going onto the playing surface

and interrupting a contest.
1.5.5.2.4  Use of alcohol or other
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controlled substances.
1.5.5.3  Respect the judgement and integrity of

the officials, recognizing that their decisions are based upon
game conditions as they observe them.

1.5.5.4  Treat visiting teams and officials as
guests extending to them every courtesy.

1.5.5.5  Be modest in victory and gracious in
defeat.

2.0  Processing Violations
2.1  Procedures

2.1.1  The Executive Director is specifically
authorized to pursue any matter which, on the surface, has
indications of being a sportsmanship violation.

2.1.2  Within twenty (20) calendar days of the
incident, an alleged sportsmanship violation must be
reported in writing to the Executive Director by the
administrative head of a member school or by the Executive
Board of an officials= association.

2.1.3  The Executive Director shall transmit a copy
of the report to the principal of the school(s) involved.

2.1.4  Each principal concerned shall investigate
and provide such information or answers to the report as are
appropriate.

2.1.5  The Executive Director shall provide member
schools and officials’ associations with a specially designed
form to facilitate the proper reporting of sportsmanship
related incidents.

2.1.6  Upon receipt of all reports, the Executive
Director shall review the documents and inform the
school(s) involved of any recommendations his/her
disposition of the matter.  The Executive Director may, in
turn, refer the matter to the Sportsmanship Committee to
investigate and adjudicate what appears to be a violation of
the Sportsmanship Rule.

2.1.7  The Sportsmanship Committee shall review
such available evidence as it deems necessary to reach a
conclusion.  Actions such as requesting reports and
conducting interviews should not be interpreted as casting
aspersions on a school adhering to DSSAA regulations, but
as an effort to keep all parties properly informed.  Penalties
up to and including suspensions of member schools may be
imposed by the Sportsmanship Committee.

2.1.8  A copy of the Sportsmanship Committee's
action shall be filed with the Executive Director and the
administrative head of the school(s) involved.

2.2  Policies
2.2.1  The basis for the following policy statement

is that a member school shall not be represented by
individuals whose conduct reflects discredit upon the school.
Insofar as unsportsmanlike actions by participants and
spectators are concerned, the Sportsmanship Committee
shall refer to the items previously identified in the Code of
Interscholastic Athletics as well as the following guidelines:

2.2.1.1  The school whose administrator or
athletic director behaves in a manner likely to have an
adverse influence on the attitudes of the players or spectators
may be provided with a choice of:

2.2.1.1.1  Reprimanding its administrator
or athletic director and providing written documentation to
the Executive Director, or

2.2.1.1.2  Suspending its administrator or
athletic director from representing the school in athletic
events for a specified period of time not to exceed 180
school days, or

2.2.1.1.3  Having the entire school
disciplined by DSSAA.

2.2.1.2  An athlete shall not strike an official,
opponent, coach, or spectator or display gross misconduct
before, during, or after an athletic event.  The athlete,
depending on the seriousness of the act, may be declared
ineligible by the principal, Executive Director, or
Sportsmanship Committee for a specified period of time not
to exceed 180 school days.

2.2.1.3  In the case of spectators physically
assaulting an official, coach, or player, the school may be
given the option of either taking legal punitive action against
the offender or accepting discipline from DSSAA.

2.2.1.4  Schools that do not fully cooperate in
promoting the spirit of the Sportsmanship Rule may be
disciplined by DSSAA.

2.2.1.5  The school whose coach behaves in a
manner likely to have an adverse influence on the attitudes
of the players or spectators may be provided with a choice
of:

2.2.1.5.1  Reprimanding its coach and
providing written documentation to the Executive Director,
or

2.2.1.5.2  Suspending its coach from
representing the school in athletic events for a specified
period of time not to exceed 180 school days, or

2.2.1.5.3  Having the entire school
disciplined by DSSAA.

2.2.1.6  An administrator, athletic director, or
coach may be considered as having committed an
unsportsmanlike act if:

2.2.1.6.1  He/she makes disparaging
remarks about the officials during or after a game either on
the field of play, from the bench, or through any public news
media, or

2.2.1.6.2  He/she argues with the official
or indicates with gestures or other physical actions his/her
dislike for a decision, or

2.2.1.6.3  He/she detains the official on the
field of play following a game to request a ruling or
explanation of some phase of the game, or

2.2.1.6.4  He/she makes disparaging or
unprofessional remarks about another school's personnel.
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2.2.1.7  All actions by a member school
resulting from an investigation relative to the above policies
shall be subject to approval by the Executive Director and/or
the Sportsmanship Committee.

2.3  Penalties
2.3.1  Game Ejection

2.3.1.1  A player or coach disqualified before,
during, or after a contest for unsportsmanlike and flagrant
verbal or physical misconduct shall be suspended from the
next regularly scheduled complete (a winner is determined
or a tie is declared) contest at that level of competition and
all other complete or suspended contests in the interim at any
level of competition in addition to any other penalties which
DSSAA or a conference may impose.

2.3.1.1.1  A player who leaves the team
bench area and enters the playing field, court, or mat during
a fight or other physical confrontation shall be ejected from
the contest.  A player who commits such an offense and is
ejected by the game officials shall also be suspended from
the next regularly scheduled complete contest at that level of
competition and all other complete or suspended contests at
any level of competition in the interim.  Additional penalties
may be imposed if a player leaving the bench area becomes
involved in the altercation.

2.3.1.2  A disqualified player or coach may not
be physically present at any contest in that sport during his/
her suspension.

2.3.1.3  If a coach is disqualified from the final
contest of the season, his/her suspension shall carry over to
the next year in that sport.  In the case of an athlete, the same
penalty shall apply if said athlete retains eligibility in that
sport.

2.3.1.3.1  Coaches who do not fulfill their
penalty in the same sport shall be disqualified for the
appropriate length of time in their subsequent coaching
assignment.

2.3.1.3.2  Seniors shall fulfill their penalty
in the post-season all-star game in that sport.  If not chosen
to participate in the all-star game, they shall fulfill their
penalty in another sport during the same season or another
sport during a subsequent season. When a senior is
disqualified from the last game of his/her high school career,
the member school is requested to take appropriate
administrative action to discipline the offending student.

2.3.1.4  A player or coach ejected for a second
time during the same season shall be subjected to a two-
game suspension and meet, in a timely fashion, with the
Sportsmanship Committee accompanied by his/her principal
or designee and, in the case of an athlete, by his/her coach.

2.3.2  The following penalties represent degrees of
discipline in enforcing the Sportsmanship Rule:

2.3.2.1  Reprimand - a reprimand may be given
by the Executive Director or the Sportsmanship Committee.
It is official notice that an unethical or unsportsmanlike

action has occurred, is a matter of record and that such an
occurrence must not be repeated.

2.3.2.2  Probation - probation is a more severe
penalty and may be imposed by the Executive Director or the
Sportsmanship Committee on a member school, a particular
team of a member school, a particular coach or athlete of a
member school, or an official.  Probation may be expressed
in one of the following ways:

2.3.2.2.1  Conditional probation wherein
the offending party may participate in regular season
contests, sanctioned events, and conference and state
championships provided he/she/the school files with
DSSAA a plan indicating the measures that shall be taken to
alleviate the problem which caused him/her/the school to be
placed on probation, or

2.3.2.2.2  Restrictive probation wherein a
member school or a particular team of a member school may
engage in its regular season schedule but may not enter any
sanctioned events, participate in any playoff toward a
conference or state championship, or be awarded a
conference or state championship.

2.3.2.3  Suspension - a member school, a
particular team of a member school, a particular coach or
athlete of a member school, or an official may not participate
in any DSSAA sanctioned interscholastic competition.

2.4  Appeals
2.4.1  Decisions of the Executive Director or

Sportsmanship Committee may be appealed to the DSSAA
Board of Directors in accordance with the procedure found
in Regulation 1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure.  However,
Notice of Appeal shall be served by certified mail within ten
(10) calendar days after receipt by the appellant of written
notice of the action of the Executive Director or
Sportsmanship Committee.

See 3 DE Reg. 436 (9/1/99)

1051  DSSAA Senior High School Interscholastic
Athletics

1.0  Eligibility
No student shall represent a school in an interscholastic

scrimmage or contest if he/she does not meet the following
requirements:

1.1  Age
1.1.1  Students who become 19 years of age on or

after June 15 shall be eligible for all sports during the school
year provided all other eligibility requirements are met.
Students who have attained the age of 19 prior to June 15
shall be ineligible for all sports.

1.1.2  In determining the age of a contestant, the
birth date as entered on the birth record of the Bureau of
Vital Statistics shall be required and shall be so certified on
all eligibility lists.

1.1.3  Requests for waiver of the age requirement
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shall be considered only for participation on an unofficial,
non-scoring basis in non-contact or non-collision sports.

1.2  Enrollment and Attendance
1.2.1  A student must be legally enrolled in the high

school which he/she represents and must be in regular
attendance prior to the 11th school day of the academic year
in order to participate in practice scrimmage or contest.

1.2.2  A student must be in regular attendance prior

to the 11th school day of the academic year.
1.2.1.1 1.2.2.1  A student who enters school on or

after the 11th school day of the academic year shall not be
eligible to participate for ninety (90) school days.

1.2.2 1.2.3  A shared-time student who attends two
(2) different schools during the regular school day shall be
eligible to participate only at his/her home school.

1.2.2.1 1.2.3.1  A student's home school shall
be the school at which he/she is receiving instruction in the
core academic areas and at which he/she is satisfying the
majority of his/her graduation requirements.

1.2.2.2 1.2.3.2  A shared-time student shall not
be eligible to participate at the school at which he/she is
receiving only specialized educational instruction; e.g.,
vocational training.

1.2.3 1.2.4  A student who is participating in the
Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 Del.
C., Ch. 4, is obligated to attend the Achoice school" for a
minimum of two (2) years unless the student=s custodial
parent(s) or legal guardian(s) relocate to a different school
district or the student fails to meet the academic
requirements of the Achoice school@.  If a student attends a
Achoice school” for less than two (2) years and subsequently
returns to his/her home school, the student must receive a
release from the A choice district@ in order to legally enroll at
his/her home school.  Without a release, the student would
not be eligible legally enrolled and consequently would be
ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics (see
1.4.11).

1.2.4 1.2.5  A student may not participate in a
practice, scrimmage, or contest during the time a suspension,
either in-school or out-of-school, is in effect or during the
time he/she is assigned to an alternative school for
disciplinary reasons.

1.2.5 1.2.6  A student must be legally in attendance
at school in order to participate in a practice, scrimmage, or
contest except when excused by proper school authorities.

1.2.5.1 1.2.6.1  A student who is not legally in
attendance at school due to illness or injury shall not be
permitted to participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest
on that day.

1.2.7  Failure to complete a semester or absence for
one or more semesters for reasons other than personal illness
or injury shall render a student ineligible for ninety (90)
school days from the date of his/her reentry to school.

1.2.6 1.2.8  An ineligible student who practices in

violation of 1.2.4 1.2.1 or 1.2.5 1.2.6 shall, when he/she
regains his/her eligibility, be prohibited from practicing,
scrimmaging, or competing for an equivalent number of
days.

1.3  Residence
1.3.1  A student must be living with his/her

custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s) in the
attendance zone of the school which he/she attends in order
to be eligible for interscholastic athletics in that school.  In
cases of joint custody, the custodial parent shall be the parent
with actual physical placement as determined by court
action.

1.3.1.1  Maintaining multiple residences in
order to circumvent this requirement shall render the student
ineligible.

1.3.1.2  A student who, pursuant to established
school board policy or administrative procedure, remains in
a school he/she has been attending after his/her legal
residence changes to the attendance zone of a different
school in the same school district, may exercise, prior to the
first official student day of the subsequent academic year, a
one time election to remain at his/her current school and
thereby not lose athletic eligibility.

1.3.1.2.1  However, if a student chooses to
remain at his/her current school and then transfers to the
school in his/her new attendance zone on or after the first
official student day of the subsequent academic year, he/ she
shall be ineligible, for ninety (90) school days.

1.3.1.3  If a student changes residence to a
different attendance zone after the start of the last marking
period and, pursuant to established school board policy or
administrative procedure, is granted permission to continue
attending his/her present school, the student shall retain his/
her athletic eligibility in that school for the remainder of the
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are
met.

1.3.1.4  A student shall be permitted to
complete his/her senior year at the school he/she is attending
and remain eligible even though a change of legal residence
to the attendance zone of another school has occurred.  This
provision shall refer to any change of legal residence that
occurs after the completion of the student's junior year.

1.3.1.5  A student may be residing outside of
the attendance zone of the school which he/she attends if the
student is participating in the Delaware School Choice
Program as authorized by 14 Del. C., Ch. 4.

1.3.1.6  A student who is a non-resident of
Delaware shall be eligible at a public, vocational-technical,
or charter school if, in accordance with 14 Del. C., ' 607,
his/her custodial parent or court appointed legal guardian is a
full-time employee of that district.

1.3.1.7  Notwithstanding 1.3.1, a student shall
be eligible at a public or vocational-technical school if he/
she enrolls in accordance with 14 Del.C. §202(f), the
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Caregivers’ School Authorization.
1.3.1.7.1  An exception would be a student

whose relative caregiver does not provide the documentation
required by the Caregivers’ School Authorization (proof of
relation and proof of full-time care) but is permitted to
register on the basis of a petition for the transfer of
guardianship.  A student who registers on the basis of a
petition for the transfer of guardianship is not eligible to
scrimmage or compete until the relative caregiver has
provided the aforementioned required documentation or has
received a signed court order designating him/her as the
student’s legal guardian.

1.3.2  Notwithstanding 1.4, a student who reaches
the age of majority (18), leaves his/her parents' place of
residency and jurisdiction thereof, and moves to another
attendance zone to continue his/her high school education
shall be ineligible to participate in athletics for 90 school
days commencing with the first day of official attendance.
This provision shall not apply to a student participating in
the Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14
Del. C., Ch. 4, provided the student =s choice application was
properly submitted prior to the his/her change of residence.

1.4  Transfer
1.4.1  A student who has not previously participated

in interscholastic athletics (previous participation is defined
as having practiced, scrimmaged, or competed in grades 9
through 12 except as specified in 5.2) is released by a proper
school authority from a sending school, has completed the
registration process at the receiving school, and is pursuing
an approved course of study shall be eligible immediately
upon registration provided he/she meets all other DSSAA
eligibility requirements.

1.4.2  If a student has previously participated in
interscholastic athletics, he/she shall be ineligible for a
period of ninety (90) school days commencing with the first
day of official attendance in the receiving school unless one
of the following exceptions applies:

1.4.2.1  The transfer is within a school district
and is approved by the district's superintendent pursuant to
established school board policy or administrative procedure.
This provision shall not apply to a student who transfers to
his/her home school from a “choice school” within the
district and who has not completed the two-year attendance
requirement unless he/she satisfies the conditions stipulated
in 1.4.2.5.1 through 1.4.2.5.4.  This provision shall also not
apply to a student who transfers from a “choice school” to
another “choice school” within the district (see 1.4.7.1).

1.4.2.2  The transfer is caused by court action,
court action being an order from a court of law affecting
legally committed students.

1.4.2.2.1  In the case of a transfer of
guardianship/custody, the transfer shall be the result of a
court order signed by a judge, commissioner, or master of a
court of competent jurisdiction. A petition for the transfer of

guardianship/custody, an affidavit, (except as permitted by
1.4.2.3), or a notarized statement signed by the affected
parties shall not be sufficient to render the student eligible to
participate in interscholastic athletics.

1.4.2.3  The transfer is in accordance with 14
Del. C. §202(f), the Caregivers School Authorization.

1.4.2.3.1  An exception would be a student
whose relative caregiver does not provide the documentation
required by the Caregivers’ School Authorization (proof of
relation and proof of full-time care) but is permitted to
register on the basis of a petition for the transfer of
guardianship.  A student who registers on the basis of a
petition for the transfer of guardianship is not eligible to
scrimmage or compete until the relative caregiver has
provided the aforementioned required documentation or has
received a signed court order designating him/her as the
student’s legal guardian.

1.4.2.4  The transfer is the result of a change in
residence by the custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s) from the attendance zone of the sending school
to the attendance zone of the receiving school.  A change in
residence has occurred when all occupancy of the previous
residence has ended.

1.4.2.4.1  A student who transfers from a
public, private, vocational-technical, charter, or choice
school to another public, private, vocational-technical,
charter, or choice school shall be eligible in the receiving
school immediately, except as prohibited by 1.4.10.1, when
the custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s)
has established a new legal residence in another public
school attendance zone different from the one in which the
custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s)
resided for attendance in the sending school.  In the case of a
transfer to a public or vocational-technical school, the new
legal residence must be in the attendance zone of the
receiving school.

1.4.2.5  The transfer occurs after the close of the
sending school's academic year and prior to the first official
student day of the receiving school's academic year
provided:

1.4.2.5.1  The student has completed the
registration process at the receiving school prior to the first
official student day of the academic year.  The first official
student day shall be defined as the first day on which
students in any grade in that school are required to be in
attendance.

1.4.2.5.2  The student has not attended class,
excluding summer school, or participated in a scrimmage or
contest at the sending school since the close of the previous
academic year.

1.4.2.5.3  The student's legal residence is
located in the attendance zone of the receiving school.

1.4.2.5.4  All other DSSAA eligibility
requirements have been met.
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1.4.3  Promotion or administrative assignment to the
ninth grade from a school whose terminal point is the eighth
grade, or to the tenth grade from a junior high school whose
terminal point is the ninth grade, shall not constitute a
transfer.  Students so promoted or administratively assigned
shall be eligible.

1.4.4  If a waiver of the ninety (90) school day
ineligibility clause is requested due to a desired change in the
program of study or financial hardship, the parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) is responsible for providing
documentation to the DSSAA Board of Directors to support
the request.  Documentation should include the following:

1.4.4.1  Change in program of study (a multi-year,
hierarchical sequence of courses with a common theme or
subject matter leading to a specific outcome).

1.4.4.1.1  Student schedule card.
1.4.4.1.2  Student transcript.
1.4.4.1.3  Current course descriptions from

both the sending and receiving schools.
1.4.4.1.4  Statement from the principal of the

sending school indicating that a significant part of the
student's desired program of study will not be offered and
that it will place the student at a definite disadvantage to
delay transfer until the end of the current school year.

1.4.4.1.5  Statement from the principal of both
the sending and receiving schools that the student is not
transferring primarily for athletic advantage as defined in
1.4.6.1 through 1.4.6.4.

1.4.4.2  Financial hardship
1.4.4.2.1  Proof of extreme financial hardship

caused by significant and unexpected reduction in income
and/or increase in expenses.

1.4.4.2.2  Statement from the principal of both
the sending and receiving schools that the student is not
transferring primarily for athletic advantage as defined in
1.4.6.1 through 1.4.6.4.

1.4.5  In cases of joint custody when a primary
residence is established, a change in a student's primary
residence without court action subjects the student to the
ninety (90) school day ineligibility clause.

1.4.6  A change of custody or guardianship for athletic
advantage shall render a student ineligible under the ninety
(90) school day ineligibility clause if the primary reason for
his/her transfer is one of the following:

1.4.6.1  To seek a superior team.
1.4.6.2  To seek a team more compatible with his/

her abilities.
1.4.6.3  Dissatisfaction with the philosophy,

policies, methods, or actions of a coach or administrator
pertaining to interscholastic athletics.

1.4.6.4  To avoid disciplinary action imposed by the
sending school related to or affecting interscholastic athletic
participation.

1.4.7  A student who transfers from a public, private,

vocational-technical, or charter school to a school of choice,
as authorized by 14 Del. C., Ch. 4, shall be eligible
immediately provided the transfer occurs after the close of
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first
official student day of the receiving school's academic year
and the student satisfies the conditions stipulated in
1.4.2.5.1, 1.4.2.5.2, and 1.4.2.5.4.

1.4.7.1  A student who transfers from a school of
choice to another school of choice shall be ineligible to
participate in interscholastic athletics during his/ her first
year of attendance at the receiving school unless the
receiving school sponsors a sport(s) not sponsored by the
sending school in which case the student shall be eligible to
participate in that sport(s) only.

1.4.8  A student who transfers from a school of choice to
either a private school or, after completing his/her two-year
commitment, to a public, vocational technical, or charter
school shall be eligible immediately provided the transfer
occurs after the close of the sending school’s academic year
and prior to the first official student day of the receiving
school’s academic year and the student satisfies the
conditions stipulated in 1.4.2.5.1 through 1.4.2.5.4.

1.4.9  If a student transfers with fewer than ninety (90)
school days left in the academic year, he/she shall be
ineligible for the remainder of the school year but shall be
eligible beginning with the subsequent fall sports season
provided he/she is in compliance with all other eligibility
requirements.

1.5  Amateur
1.5.1  A student may not participate in an

interscholastic sport unless he/she is considered an amateur
in that sport.  A student forfeits his/her amateur status if he/
she does any of the following:

1.5.1.1  Knowingly plays on or against a
professional team. 

1.5.1.2  Signs a professional contract,
accepts reimbursement for expenses to attend a professional
tryout, or receives financial assistance in any form from a
professional sports organization.

1.5.1.3  Enters competition under an assumed
name. The surname and given name used by any player in
his/her first game of interscholastic competition shall be
used during the remainder of the student's interscholastic
career. Any change in spelling or use of another name shall
be regarded as an attempt to evade this rule unless the
change has been properly certified by the player to the
principal of the school.

1.5.1.4  Receives remuneration of any kind or
accepts reimbursement for expenses in excess of the actual
and necessary costs of transportation, meals, and lodging for
participating in a team or individual competition or an
instructional camp or clinic. Reimbursement for the
aforementioned expenses is permitted only if all of the
participants receive the same benefit.
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1.5.1.5  Receives cash or a cash equivalent
(savings bond, certificate of deposit, etc.), merchandise
(except as permitted by 26.5) or a merchandise discount,
(except for discount arranged by school for part of team
uniform) a reduction or waiver of fees, a gift certificate, or
other valuable consideration as a result of his/her
participation in an organized competition or instructional
camp/clinic.

1.5.1.5.1  Accepting an event program
and/or a complimentary item(s) (t-shirt, hat, equipment bag,
etc.) that is inscribed with a reference to the event, has an
aggregate retail value of no more than $50.00, and is
provided to all of the participants, shall not jeopardize his/
her amateur status.

1.5.1.6  Sells or pawns awards received.
1.5.1.7  Uses his/her athletic status to promote

or endorse a commercial product or service in a newsprint,
radio, or television advertisement or personal appearance.

1.5.2  Accepting compensation for teaching lessons,
coaching, or officiating shall not jeopardize his/her amateur
status.

1.5.3  A student who forfeits his/her amateur status
under the provisions of this rule is ineligible to participate at
the interscholastic level in the sport in which the violation
occurred.  He/she may be reinstated after a period of up to
180 school days provided that during the suspension, he/she
complies with all of the provisions of this rule.  The
suspension shall date from the time of the last offense.

See 3 DE Reg. 437 (9/1/99)
See 3 DE Reg 525 (10/1/99)
See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

2.0  Use of Influence for Athletic Purposes
2.1  The use of influence by a person(s) employed by or

representing a member school including members of alumni
associations, booster groups, and similar organizations to
persuade, induce, or facilitate the enrollment of a student in
that school for athletic purposes shall render the student
ineligible for up to 180 school days from the date the charge
is substantiated.  In addition, the offending school shall be
placed on probation, as determined by the DSSAA Board of
Directors, and the offending employee, if a coach, shall be
suspended for up to 180 school days from the date the charge
is substantiated.

2.2  The use of influence for athletic purposes shall
include, but not be limited to, the following:

2.2.1  Offer of money, room, board, clothing,
transportation, or other valuable consideration to a
prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s).

2.2.2  Offer of waiver/reduction of tuition or
financial aid if based, even partially, on athletic
considerations.

2.2.3  Preference in job assignments or offer of

compensation for work performed in excess of what is
customarily paid for such services.

2.2.4  Offer of special privileges not accorded to
other students.

2.2.5  Offer of financial assistance including free or
reduced rent, payment of moving expenses, etc., to induce a
prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s) to change residence.

2.3  A school employee or Board approved volunteer
may not initiate contact or request that a booster club
member, alumnus, or player initiate contact with a student
enrolled in another school or his/her parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) in order to persuade the student
to enroll in a particular school for athletic purposes.  Illegal
contact shall include, but not be limited to, letters,
questionnaires or brochures, telephone calls, and home visits
or personal contact at athletic contests.

2.3.1  If a coach or athletic director is contacted by
a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s), the former must refer the individual(s) to
the principal or school personnel responsible for admissions.

2.3.2  A school employee or Board approved
volunteer may discuss the athletic program with a
prospective student or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s) during an open house or approved visit
initiated by the parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s).

2.3.2.1  A school employee or Board approved
volunteer may provide information concerning sports
offered, facilities, conference affiliation, and general athletic
policies.  However, he/she is not permitted to state or imply
in any way that his/her athletic program is superior to that of
another school or that it would be more beneficial or
advantageous for the prospective student to participate in
athletics at his/her school.

2.3.3  A school employee or Board approved
volunteer may conduct an informational presentation at a
feeder school provided he/she observes the restrictions
specified in 2.3.2.1.

2.4  If the number of applicants under the Delaware
School Choice Program exceeds the number of available
student openings, the selection criteria established by the
district shall not include athletic considerations.

3.0  Non-School Competition (participants competing
“unattached” and not representing their schools)

3.1  A student may participate on a non-school team or
in a non-school individual event both during and out of the
designated sport season.  However, the student owes his/her
primary loyalty and allegiance to the school team of which
he/she is a member.  A school shall have the authority to
require attendance at practices and contests and students not
in compliance shall be subject to disciplinary action as
determined by the school.
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3.2  Participation on a non-school team or in a non-
school individual event shall be subject to the following
conditions:

3.2.1  With the exception of organized intramurals,
the student may not wear school uniforms.

3.2.2  With the exception of organized intramurals,
the student may use only school equipment whose primary
purpose is to protect the wearer from physical injury.

3.2.3  The school or a school affiliated support
group may not provide transportation.

3.2.4  The school or a school affiliated support
group may not pay entry fees or provide any form of
financial assistance.

3.2.5  The school coach may not require his/her
athletes to participate in non-school competition or provide
instruction to his/her athletes in non-school competition.

3.3  14 Del. C. §122(b)(15) requires written parental
permission prior to participation on a similar team during the
designated sport season.  Written authorization must be on
file in the student's school prior to engaging in a tryout,
practice, or contest with a similar team.  Consent forms shall
be available in all member schools.

3.3.1  Similar teams shall include organized
intramural teams as well as non-school teams in that sport.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

4.0  Passing Work
4.1  In order to be eligible for participation in

interscholastic athletics, including practices, a student must
pursue a regular course of study or its equivalent as approved
by the local governing body, and must be passing at least
five (5) credits.  Two (2) of those credits must be in the
separate areas of English, Mathematics, Science, or Social
Studies.

4.1.1  A student who is receiving special education
services and is precluded from meeting the aforementioned
academic requirements due to modifications in the grading
procedure or course of study, shall be adjudged eligible by
the principal if he/she is making satisfactory progress in
accordance with the requirements of his/her individualized
education plan (IEP).

4.2  In the case of a student in the twelfth grade, he/she
must be passing all courses necessary for graduation from
high school in order to be eligible for participation. A course
necessary for graduation shall be any course, whether taken
during or outside the regular school day, that satisfies an
unmet graduation requirement.

4.3  A student whose work in any regular marking
period does not meet the above standards shall be ineligible
to participate in interscholastic athletics, including practices,
for the next marking period.

4.3.1  In the case of a conflict between the marking
period grade and the final grade, the final grade shall
determine eligibility.

4.3.2  The final accumulation of credits shall
determine eligibility for the first marking period of the
following school year.  When a student makes up a failure or
earns the required credit(s) during the summer, he/she shall
become eligible provided he/she successfully completes the
course work prior to the first official student day of the
school year.

4.3.2.1  Written verification of the successful
completion of a correspondence course must be received
before a student shall regain his/her eligibility.

4.4  A student forfeits or regains his/her eligibility, in
accordance with the provisions of this rule, on the day report
cards are issued.

4.5  Local school boards and non-public schools may
establish more stringent requirements for academic
eligibility than the minimum standards herein prescribed.

4.6  An ineligible student who practices in violation of
4.1, 4.2, or 4.3 shall, when he/she regains his/her eligibility,
be prohibited from practicing, scrimmaging, or competing
for an equivalent number of days.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)
See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

5.0  Participation
5.1  No student shall represent a school in athletics after

four (4) consecutive years from the date of his/her first
entrance into the ninth grade unless a waiver is granted for
hardship reasons.

5.1.1  No student shall have more than four (4)
opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination of
fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter sports,
or in a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

5.1.2  “Hardship” shall be defined as extenuating
circumstances which are unusual, extraordinary and beyond
the control of the student or his/her parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s); preclude him/her from
completing the academic requirements for graduation within
the normal period of eligibility; and deprive him/her of all or
part of one of his/her opportunities to participate in a
particular sports season.

5.1.2.1  A clear and direct causal relationship
must exist between the alleged hardship condition and the
failure of the student to complete the academic requirements
for graduation within the normal period of eligibility and the
loss of all or part of one of his/ her opportunities to
participate in a particular sports season.

5.1.2.2  The burden of proof rests with the
student in conjunction with the waiver/appeal process as
described in 1053 Waiver Procedure and 1055 Appeal
Procedure. Claims of extended illness, debilitating injury,
emotional stress, etc., must be accompanied by appropriate
documentation.  Evidence must be submitted to verify that
the student or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s) sought assistance to ameliorate the effects of the
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hardship condition.
5.1.3  Satisfactory completion of studies in

accordance with promotion policies established by the local
governing body shall determine when a student is beyond the
eighth grade.

5.2  If the eighth grade is part of the same administrative
unit as grades 9 through 12, participation on the part of an
eighth-grade student toward five (5) years of eligibility shall
be at the discretion of the individual school.

5.2.1  Seventh-grade students shall not be permitted
to participate on senior high school interscholastic teams.

5.3  Participation shall be defined as taking part in a
school sponsored practice (see 25.3), scrimmage, or contest
on or after the first allowable date for practice in that sport.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)

6.0  Postgraduates/Higher Institutions
6.1  Postgraduates shall not be eligible to participate in

interscholastic athletics.
6.1.1  All graduates of recognized senior high

schools shall be considered postgraduates.
6.2  Students whose commencement exercises are prior

to the completion of the school's regular season schedule
and/or the state tournament shall be eligible to compete.

6.3  A regularly enrolled student taking courses in an
institution of higher education shall be eligible provided he/
she meets all other DSSAA requirements.

7.0  Foreign Exchange Students/Foreign Students
7.1  Notwithstanding 1.2, 1.3, and 1.4, foreign students

may be eligible to participate in interscholastic athletics
upon arrival at their host school provided they have not
attained the age of 19 prior to June 15 and are enrolled as
participants in a recognized foreign exchange program.

7.1.1  All foreign exchange programs which are
included on the Advisory List of International Educational
Travel and Exchange Programs of the Council on Standards
for International Educational Travel (CSIET) and are two (2)
semesters in length shall be considered as recognized.

7.1.2  Students participating in programs not
included on the CSIET list shall be required to present
evidence that the program is a bona fide educational
exchange program before it shall be considered as
recognized.

7.2  Foreign students who are not participating in a
foreign exchange program are considered to be transfer
students and are ineligible to compete in interscholastic
athletics unless they are in compliance with all DSSAA
eligibility requirements including 1.3.1.

7.2.1  With the exception of a boarding school
student, a foreign student who is attending a private or
parochial school must be residing with his/her court
appointed legal guardian in order to be eligible to participate
in interscholastic athletics.

7.3  Once enrolled, foreign exchange and other foreign
students must comply with all DSSAA eligibility rules.

7.4  Athletic recruitment of foreign exchange students or
other foreign students by a member school or any other
entity is prohibited, and any such students recruited shall be
adjudged ineligible.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

8.0  Examinations
8.1  A student shall not be eligible to practice,

scrimmage, or compete in an interscholastic contest unless
he/she has been adequately examined by a licensed
physician (M.D. or D.O.), a certified nurse practitioner, or a
certified physician's assistant on or after June 1 and before
beginning such athletic activity for the current school year.

8.1.1  A certificate to that effect, as well as the
parent's or court appointed legal guardian's consent, shall be
on file with the administrative head of the school prior to the
student participating in a practice, scrimmage, or game.

8.2  For any subsequent sports season in the school year,
a limited reexamination shall be performed under the
following circumstances:

8.2.1  If the athlete has been treated for an injury
during the preceding sports season.

8.2.2  If the athlete has been out of school during
the preceding sports season with an illness other than the
usual minor upper respiratory or gastrointestinal upset.

8.2.3  If an operation has been performed on the
athlete during the preceding sports season.

8.2.4  If the athlete has a remedial defect.
8.3  The medical history of the student should be

available at the time of each examination.
8.4  A player who is properly certified to participate in

interscholastic athletics but is physically unable to
participate for five (5) consecutive days on which a practice,
scrimmage, or contest is held due to illness or injury, must
present to the administrative head of the school a statement
from a qualified physician that he/she is again physically
able to participate.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

9.0  Clarifying Eligibility
9.1  In cases of uncertainty or disagreement, the

eligibility of a student shall be determined initially by the
Executive Director.  If the Executive Director determines
that the student is ineligible, the school and the student shall
be notified and the student suspended immediately from
participation in interscholastic athletics.

9.2  The school and the student shall be informed that
the decision of the Executive Director may be appealed to
the DSSAA Board of Directors in accordance with the
procedure described in 1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure.

9.3  Decisions of the DSSAA Board of Directors to
affirm, modify, or reverse the eligibility rulings of the
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Executive Director may be appealed to the State Board of
Education in accordance with the procedure described in
1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure.

10.0  Eligibility Lists
10.1  Member schools shall use eligibility forms

approved by the Executive Director.
10.2  A copy of the original eligibility report and

subsequent addenda must be either received by the
Executive Director or postmarked prior to the first contest
for which the students listed are eligible.  Failure to file an
eligibility report as prescribed shall result in a $15.00 fine
against the school.

10.3  In the case of a student who met all DSSAA
eligibility requirements but was omitted from the eligibility
report due to administrative or clerical error, he/ she shall be
adjudged eligible and the school assessed a $10.00 fine.

See 3 DE Reg. 437 (9/1/99)

11.0  Contracts Interchanged
11.1  Contracts between DSSAA member schools or

between DSSAA member schools and full member schools
of comparable state associations are encouraged but not
required.

11.1.1  Conference master contracts are approved
substitutes for individual contracts.

11.1.2  In the case of a dispute and provided either a
signed individual contract or conference master contract is in
place, was received in the DSSAA office or postmarked
prior to the contest in question, appeal may be made to the
Executive Director or the DSSAA Board of Directors which,
after review of the circumstances, may assign an appropriate
penalty.

11.1.2.1  Without a signed individual contract
or conference master contract, a member school has no right
of appeal to the Executive Director or the DSSAA Board of
Directors.

11.2  Contracts between DSSAA member schools and
non-member or associate member schools of comparable
state associations are required.

11.2.1  A copy of the signed contract must be either
received by the Executive Director or postmarked prior to
the contest for which the agreement was drawn up.  Failure
to file a signed contract as prescribed shall result in the
DSSAA member school being assessed a $15.00 fine.

11.2.2  In the case of a dispute, a member school
has no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the
DSSAA Board of Directors unless a signed individual
contract is in place.

11.3  Contracts shall be interchanged according to the
following provisions:

11.3.1  Contracts on the accepted form shall be
arranged by the competing schools for each season's
interscholastic athletic contests.

11.3.2  Contracts shall be drawn up by the faculty
manager or other designated staff member of the home
school of the earlier varsity contest.

11.3.3  A signed contract or any part thereof may
not be nullified or modified except by mutual agreement of
both schools involved.

11.4  If a game is not played, it shall be considered “no
contest” unless a signed individual contract or conference
master contract was in place received in the DSSAA office
or postmarked prior to the contest in question and one of the
participating schools breached the agreement in which case
appeal may be made to the Executive Director or the
DSSAA Board of Directors.

11.4.1  If a game is not played because an out of
state opponent qualifies for its state championship series and
the date of the playoff game conflicts with the date of the
regular season game, a forfeit shall not be awarded.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

12.0  Spring Football
12.1  No member school shall participate in spring

football games nor shall a member school conduct football
practice of any type outside of the regular fall sports season
except when participating in the state tournament.

12.2  "Organized football" or "organized football
practice" shall be defined as any type of sport which is
organized to promote efficiency in any of the various aspects
of football.  Rugby and touch football featuring blocking,
tackling, ball handling, signaling, etc. shall be considered
"organized football" and shall be illegal under the intent of
this rule.

13.0  Licensed Physician
13.1  Provision shall be made for a licensed physician, a

NATA certified athletic trainer, or a registered nurse to be
present at all interscholastic football games in which a
member school participates.  The host school shall provide
this service.

13.2  Failure by the host school to provide this service
shall result in the school being assessed a $100.00 fine.

See 3 DE Reg. 438 (9/1/99)

14.0  Use of Ineligible Athlete
14.1  The deliberate or inadvertent use of an ineligible

athlete in the sports of soccer, football, volleyball, field
hockey, basketball, baseball, softball, and lacrosse shall
require the offending school to forfeit the contest(s) in which
the ineligible athlete participated.

14.1.1  If the infraction occurs during a tournament,
including a state championship, the offending school shall be
replaced by its most recently defeated opponent. Teams
eliminated prior to the most recently defeated opponent shall
not be allowed to reenter the tournament.

14.1.2  Team and/or individual awards shall be
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returned to the event sponsor.
14.1.3  Team and/or individual records and

performances shall be nullified.
14.1.4  The offending school may appeal to the

DSSAA Board of Directors for a waiver of the forfeiture
penalty if the ineligible athlete had no tangible effect on the
outcome of the contest(s).  If the forfeiture penalty is waived,
the offending school shall be reprimanded and fined $200.00
unless the athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s) knowingly withheld information or provided
false information that caused him/her to be eligible for
interscholastic competition.  The burden of proof, in both
instances, rests entirely with the offending school.

14.1.5  A forfeit shall constitute a loss for the
offending school and a win for its opponent for purposes of
standings and playoff eligibility.

14.1.6  A forfeit shall be automatic and not subject
to refusal by the offending school's opponent.

14.2  The deliberate or inadvertent use of an ineligible
athlete in the sports of cross country, wrestling, swimming,
track, golf, and tennis shall require the offending school to
forfeit the matches won and/or points earned by the
ineligible athlete or by a relay team of which he/she was a
member.  The points contributed by an ineligible athlete to
his/her team score shall be deleted.

14.2.1  If the infraction occurs during a tournament,
including a state championship, the ineligible athlete shall be
replaced by his/her most recently defeated opponent or the
next highest finisher.  Contestants eliminated prior to the
most recently defeated opponent shall not be allowed to
reenter the tournament.

14.2.2  Individual awards earned by the ineligible
athlete and team awards, if necessary because of adjustments
in the standings, shall be returned to the event sponsor.

14.2.3  Individual records and performances by the
ineligible athlete shall be nullified.

14.3  If an ineligible athlete participates in
interscholastic competition contrary to DSSAA rules but in
accordance with a temporary restraining order or injunction
against his/her school and/or DSSAA, and the injunction is
subsequently vacated, stayed, or reversed, or the courts
determine that injunctive relief is not or was not justified, or
the injunction expires without further judicial determination,
the penalties stipulated in 14.1 and 14.2 shall be imposed.

14.4  The intentional use of an ineligible athlete by a
member school or repeated indifference to its responsibility
to determine the eligibility of its athletes will subject the
school to additional penalties which may include suspension
for up to 180 school days from the date the charge is
substantiated.

14.5  If a coach knowingly withholds information or
provides false information that causes an athlete to be
eligible for interscholastic competition, the coach shall be
suspended from coaching in any sport at any DSSAA

member school for up to 180 school days from the date the
charge is substantiated.

14.6  If an athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s) knowingly withholds information or
provides false information that causes him/ her to be eligible
for interscholastic competition, the athlete shall be
suspended from participation in any sport at any DSSAA
member school for up to 180 school days from the date the
charge is substantiated.

See 3 DE Reg. 438 (9/1/99)

15.0  Reporting Violations
15.1  If a school violates a provision of the DSSAA

Constitution and Bylaws, the administrative head or his/her
designee shall notify the Executive Director in writing of the
violation.

15.2  If a school uses an ineligible athlete, the
administrative head or his/her designee shall notify the
opposing school(s) or event sponsor, in the case of a
tournament or meet, and the Executive Director in writing of
the violation and the forfeiture of the appropriate game(s),
match(es), and/or point(s) won.

15.3  All violations will be reviewed by the DSSAA
Board of Directors which may impose additional penalties in
accordance with 38.0.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

16.0  Equivalent Rules
16.1  A member school shall not participate in a

scrimmage or contest with any an in-state school that is not a
member in good standing of DSSAA or a state association
comparable to DSSAA.

16.1.1 16.2  A full member school shall not participate
in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or non-member
school of another state association unless the opposing
school, as part of a written contract, certifies that its
contestants are eligible under the rules of its home state
association.

16.1.1.1 16.2.1  Postgraduate students shall not be
allowed to participate.

16.1.2 16.3  An associate member school shall not
participate in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or
non-member school of another state association unless the
opposing school complies with the conditions specified in
16.1.1 16.2.  However, the opposing school shall be exempt
from those rules which DSSAA has waived for its associate
member school.

16.1.2.1 16.3.1  Postgraduate students shall not be
allowed to participate.

16.2 16.4  Member schools shall not participate in a
practice, scrimmage, or contest with a non-school sponsored
team.

16.3 16.5  Member schools shall not participate in a
practice, scrimmage, or contest with college students.
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16.3.1 16.5.1  This provision shall not apply to
games played against the alumni or faculty of the school
when the game is sponsored by school authorities.

16.4 16.6  A school which participates in a game against
an illegal opponent shall be required to forfeit the contest
and be assessed a $100.00 fine.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

17.0  Codes
17.1  DSSAA is affiliated with the National Federation

of State High School Associations (NFHS).  The playing
codes, sanctions, and other rules of the NFHS are adopted
except as modified by the DSSAA Board of Directors.

17.2  The playing rules of the United States Tennis
Association, the United States Golf Association, and the
United States Lacrosse Association are adopted for the
sports of tennis, golf, and girls' lacrosse respectively except
as modified by the DSSAA Board of Directors.

18.0  Conferences
18.1  Member schools may establish voluntary

conference organizations according to the following rules:
18.1.1  Any such organization may be composed of

public and non-public schools.
18.1.2  Any conference so formed must submit its

proposed membership and its constitution and bylaws to the
DSSAA Board of Directors and they must be approved
before the schools may enter into any contractual
agreements.

18.1.2.1  All subsequent amendments to the
constitution and bylaws of the conference must be approved
by the DSSAA Board of Directors compatible with all
provisions of the DSSAA Constitution and Bylaws;
interpretations and rulings of the Executive Director,
Sportsmanship Committee, and Board of Directors; state
tournament regulations; and DSSAA approved playing
codes.

See 3 DE Reg. 438 (9/1/99)

19.0  All-Star Contests
19.1  An all-star contest shall be defined as an organized

competition in which the participants are selected by the
sponsoring organization or its designee on the basis of their
performance during the interscholastic season in that sport.

19.2  Students who have completed their eligibility in a
sport may participate in one all-star contest in that sport, if
approved by DSSAA, prior to graduation from high school.

19.3  Member schools shall not make their facilities,
equipment, or uniforms available to the sponsoring
organization or the participants unless the all-star contest is
approved by DSSAA.

19.4  The all-star contest must be approved by DSSAA
in accordance with the following criteria:

19.4.1  The contest shall not be for determining a

regional or national champion.
19.4.2  The contest shall be organized, promoted,

and conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit
organization. Involvement by a commercial organization
shall be limited to providing financial support.

19.4.3  The awards given shall be in compliance
with 1.5.

19.4.4  Exceptions to the adopted rules code for the
sport, including uniform regulations, shall require the
approval of DSSAA.

19.4.5  A full financial report must be filed with the
Executive Director within thirty (30) days of the contest.
Failure to submit a financial report within the specified
period of time shall result in the sponsoring organization
being assessed a $50.00 fine.

19.4.6  The event organizer shall not accept
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco
products.

19.5  A student who participates in more than one all-
star game or in a non-approved all-star game shall forfeit his/
her eligibility for 90 school days.

See 3 DE Reg. 439 (9/1/99)
See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

20.0  Sponsoring Interscholastic Teams
20.1  Definition of Interscholastic Athletics

20.1.1  Interscholastic competition is defined as any
athletic contest between students representing two (2) or
more schools.  Students are considered to be representing a
school if the school does any of the following:

20.1.1.1  Partially or wholly subsidizes the
activity (providing equipment, uniforms, transportation,
entry fees, etc.).

20.1.1.2  Controls and administers the funds,
regardless of their source, needed to conduct the activity.

20.1.1.3  Permits the students to compete under
the name of the school.

20.1.1.4  Publicizes or promotes the activity
through announcements, bulletins, or school sponsored
publications in excess of what is customarily done for
“outside” organizations.

20.1.1.5  Presents or displays individual/ team
awards.

20.1.2  Members of school clubs who participate in
non-competitive, recreational activities or compete
unattached are not considered to be engaged in
interscholastic competition.

20.2  Sponsorship of Teams
20.2.1  Schools may sponsor teams for

interscholastic competition in a sport provided the following
criteria are met:

20.2.1.1  The governing body of the
participating district or non-public school approves
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participation in the sport.  The administrative head of the
school shall notify the Executive Director in writing of the
school=s intent to sponsor a team in a new sport.

20.2.1.2  The governing body of the
participating district or non-public school controls the funds
needed to support the proposed team, regardless of their
source, in the same manner as existing teams (coaches=
salaries, purchase and repair of equipment, medical
supervision, transportation, preparation and maintenance of
practice and game facilities, awards, etc.).  Requests from
outside sources to make financial contributions or to donate
equipment or services must be submitted in writing and must
include an acknowledgment that the equipment becomes the
property of the school.  The contribution or donation must be
approved in writing by the administrative head of the school.

20.2.1.3  The participating schools agree to
comply with all applicable DSSAA rules and regulations as
stated in the current DSSAA Official Handbook.

20.3  Levels of Participation
20.3.1  Level 1 or developmental sport - less than

twelve (12) participating schools at the varsity level.
20.3.1.1  All DSSAA rules and regulations

shall not be in effect except 23.0, 24.0, and 32.0.
20.3.1.2  Schools shall not be permitted to

scrimmage or compete against a non-school sponsored team.
20.3.2  Level 2 or recognized sport - twelve (12) or

more participating schools at the varsity level.
20.3.2.1 Participating schools must petition the

DSSAA Board of Directors for official recognition of the
sport.

20.3.2.1 20.3.2.2  At the time of official
recognition, DSSAA shall provide rules publications to the
participating schools, designate an approved officials'
association, conduct an annual or biannual rules clinic for
coaches and officials, establish a maximum game schedule,
and form a committee to promote the continued development
of the sport and prepare for a future state championship.

20.3.2.2 20.3.2.3 All DSSAA rules and
regulations shall be in effect.

20.3.3  Level 3 or championship sport - sixteen (16)
or more participating schools at the varsity level.

20.3.3.1  Upon petition by the sport committee
and adoption of a tournament proposal, DSSAA shall
establish a state championship.

20.3.4  Withdrawal of level 2 or level 3 status.
20.3.4.1  If, for two (2) consecutive years, less

than the required number of schools participate in a sport,
DSSAA may withdraw official recognition or suspend the
state tournament/meet for a period of time as determined by
the Board of Directors.

See 3 DE Reg. 439 (9/1/99)

21.0  State Championships
21.1  The minimum number of high schools which must

sponsor a sport at the varsity level in order for DSSAA to
approve a state championship shall be sixteen (16).

21.2  State championship play shall be permitted at the
varsity level only in football, basketball, indoor and outdoor
track, cross country, swimming, wrestling, golf, baseball,
soccer, tennis, field hockey, softball, girls' volleyball, and
lacrosse provided such tournament or meet is under the
direct control and supervision of and/or has the approval of
DSSAA.

21.3  All state championships shall be managed by
committees established in accordance with Sections 11. and
12. of Article IV of the DSSAA Constitution.

21.3.1  Each tournament format, as well as the
criteria and procedures for selecting and seeding the
participating teams, must be approved by the Board of
Directors and any subsequent changes must also be approved
by the Board.  The Executive Director shall advise the
committees as to which proposed changes must be presented
to the Board.  If the Executive Director and the committee
cannot agree, the proposed change must be presented to the
DSSAA Board of Directors for approval.

21.3.2  All financial arrangements, including the
collection of monies and expenditures, must be approved by
the Executive Director

21.4  Championship play in other sports must be
confined to the individual conferences and conducted in
accordance with the rules of the conference as approved by
the DSSAA Board of Directors.

21.5  No member school shall participate in a post-
season contest.

See 3 DE Reg. 439 (9/1/99)
See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

22.0  Certified Coaches
22.1  Only those professional employees certified by the

Department of Education and whose salary is paid by the
State and/or local Board of Education, or in the case of
charter and non-public schools by a similar governing body,
if acceptable as a coach by the governing body, shall coach,
assist in coaching, or direct member school teams in any
district.

22.1.1  The terms of employment must be for the
regular school year and the professional assignment shall be
no less than 1/2 of the school day, exclusive of coaching
duties.

22.2  Emergency coaches
22.2.1  An emergency coach shall be defined as an

individual who is either not certified by the Department of
Education, or is certified by the Department of Education but
is not employed for the regular school year or whose
professional assignment is less than 1/2 of the school day.

22.2.2  An individual who meets the requirements
of a certified coach as specified in 22.1 but whose
professional assignment is located in a different school or



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2220

district than his/her coaching assignment shall not be
considered an emergency coach by DSSAA.

22.2.3  Member schools shall be required to
annually reopen all positions that are held by emergency
coaches.

22.2.4  Emergency coaches may be employed
provided the local governing body adheres to the following
procedures:

22.2.4.1  The employing Board of Education
must attempt to locate an acceptable, certified professional
staff member by advertising the coaching vacancy in the
district for as many days as are required by the district's
collective bargaining agreement.

22.2.4.2  If an acceptable, certified professional
staff member is not available, an individual who is
acceptable to the employing Board of Education may be
hired as an emergency coach.

22.2.4.3  Any individual employed as a coach
under the emergency provision must comply with the
following regulations:

22.2.4.3.1  He/she must be officially
appointed by the local Board of Education. The
superintendent or his/her designee may temporarily appoint
an individual if a coaching vacancy arises and the sport
season begins during the interim between meetings of the
local Board of Education.

22.2.4.3.2  His/her coaching salary must
be paid exclusively by the local Board of Education.

22.3  Students who are practice teaching in a member
school shall be permitted to assist in all professional
activities during their practice teaching period.

22.4  In addition to the members of the school's regular
coaching staff, who must come from 22.1 through 22.3, the
local governing body may supplement a school's coaching
staff with volunteer coaches.  Volunteer coaches are
individuals who donate their services to a school and who
have been approved by that school's local governing body.
A current list of approved volunteer coaches shall be on file
in the school's administrative office before any coaching
duties are assumed.

22.5  All varsity head coaches (junior varsity if the
school does not sponsor a varsity team) shall be required to
attend the DSSAA rules clinic for their sport or, if
applicable, pass an open book rules examination supplied by
the DSSAA office. 

22.5.1  A school shall be assessed a $50.00 fine and
the head coach shall be placed on probation if he/ she fails to
attend the DSSAA rules clinic or pass the open book rules
examination in his/her sport.  Failure to comply for a second
consecutive year shall result in the school being assessed a
$50.00 fine and the coach being suspended for up to five
contests as determined by the Executive Director.

22.6  Beginning with the 2001-02 school year, certified
and emergency head coaches at all levels of competition

shall be required to hold a current certification in adult CPR.
See 3 DE Reg. 439 (9/1/99)
See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

23.0  Sports Seasons and Practices
23.1  The regular fall sports season shall begin with the

first approved day for practice and end with the start of the
state championship in that sport.  Any regular season contest
that was postponed must be rescheduled and played before
the beginning of the state tournament in that sport.
Conference championships must also be completed before
the start of the state tournament in that sport.

23.2  The regular winter sports season shall begin with
the first approved day for practice and end with the start of
the state championship in that sport.  Any regular season
contest that was postponed must be rescheduled and played
before the beginning of the state tournament in that sport.
Conference championships must also be completed before
the start of the state tournament in that sport.

23.3  The regular spring sports season shall begin on
March 1 and end with the start of the state championship in
that sport.  Any regular season contest that was postponed
must be rescheduled and played before the beginning of the
state tournament in that sport.  Conference championships
must also be completed before the start of the state
tournament in that sport.

23.4  Practice for any fall sport shall not begin earlier
than 21 days before the first Friday after Labor Day.
Practice for any winter sport shall not begin earlier than 21
days before the first Friday in December and practice for any
spring sport shall not begin earlier than March 1.

23.4.1  The first three (3) days of football practice
shall be primarily for the purpose of physical conditioning
and shall be restricted to non-contact activities.  Coaches
may introduce offensive formations and defensive
alignments, run plays "on air," practice non-contact phases
of the kicking game, and teach non-contact positional skills.
Protective equipment shall be restricted to helmets,
mouthguards, and shoes.  The use of dummies, hand shields,
and sleds in contact drills is prohibited, Blocking, tackling,
and block protection drills which involve any contact
between players are also prohibited.

23.5  A school which participates in a game prior to the
first allowable date or after the start of the state
championship shall be required to forfeit the contest and be
assessed a $100.00 fine.

23.6  A school which conducts practice prior to the first
allowable date shall be assessed a fine of $100.00 per illegal
practice day.

23.7  A From August 2nd through June 14th , a certified,
emergency, or volunteer coach shall not be allowed to
provide instruction out of the designated season in his/her
assigned sport to returning members of the varsity or
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subvarsity teams of the school at which he/she coaches. He/
she shall also be prohibited from coaching rising ninth
graders (rising eighth graders if eighth grade is part of the
same administrative unit as grades 9 through 12) who
participated in his/her assigned sport at a feeder school.

23.7.1  A coach shall not be allowed to participate
on a team in his/her assigned sport with the aforementioned
players.

23.7.2  A coach shall also be prohibited from
officiating contests in his/her assigned sport if the
aforementioned players are participating except in organized
league competition.

23.7.2.1  The league shall not be organized and
conducted by the employing school, the employing school’s
booster club, or the employing school’s coaching staff.

23.7.2.2  The league shall have written rules
and regulations that govern the conduct of contests and
establish the duties of contest officials.

23.7.2.3  The league shall have registration/
entry procedures, forms, and fees; eligibility requirements;
and fixed team rosters, team standings, and a master
schedule of contests.

23.8  A certified, emergency, or volunteer coach shall
not be allowed to provide instruction during the designated
season in his/her assigned sport to current members of the
varsity or subvarsity teams of the school at which he/she
coaches outside of school sponsored practices, scrimmages,
and contests.

23.9  A coach who is determined to be in violation of
23.7 or 23.8 shall be suspended from coaching in the
specified sport at any DSSAA member school for up to 180
school days from the date the charge is substantiated.

23.10  From June 15th through August 1st, a certified
emergency or volunteer coach shall be allowed to provide
instruction in his/her assigned sport to returning members of
the varsity or sub-varsity teams of the school at which he/she
coaches.  He/she shall also be permitted to coach rising ninth
graders (eighth if eighth grade is part of the same
administrative unit as 9-12) who participated in his/her
assigned sport at a feeder school.  Instructional contact with
the aforementioned students shall be subject to the following
conditions:

23.10.1  A coach may provide instruction to an
unlimited number of his/her returning school team members
in formal league/tournament competition or in formal
instructional camps/clinics provided the league/tournament
or instructional camp/clinic is organized and conducted by a
non-school affiliated organization.

23.10.2  A coaching staff may provide instruction
to a maximum of two returning school team members per
day in an informal setting.

23.10.2.1  Instructional time shall not exceed
two hours per day per student.

See 3 DE Reg. 439 (9/1/99)

24.0  Maximum Game Schedules and Designated Sport
Season

24.1  The maximum number of regularly scheduled
interscholastic contests/competition dates for each team and
individual in the recognized sports and their designated
season shall be as follows:

* PLEASE NOTE:  THE TABLE IN THE REGULATION IS

NOT BEING CHANGED AND IS NOT REPRODUCED HERE.

24.2  Participation in any part of a quarter/half shall
count as a quarter/half toward the weekly and daily
limitations in that sport.  However, in the case of football,
participation on a free kick or a play from a scrimmage kick
formation shall not count as a quarter.  Overtime periods
shall be considered as part of the fourth quarter or second
half.

24.3  A week shall be designated as starting on Monday
and ending on Sunday for all sports except football.  A
football week shall begin the day of the varsity game and end
the day preceding the next varsity game or the following
Friday.

24.4  The preceding game limitations, with the
exception of the individual daily limitation, shall not prohibit
the rescheduling of postponed games at the discretion and
convenience of the member schools involved provided the
game was postponed due to inclement weather, unplayable
field conditions, failure of the assigned officials to appear for
the game, breakdown of the bus or van carrying the visiting
team, or any other circumstances beyond the control of site 
management which preclude playing the game.  However, a
team may not participate in more than four (4) contests/
competition dates in a week.

24.5  The maximum number of regularly scheduled
contests for each of the recognized sports, except football,
shall be exclusive of conference championships, playoffs to
determine tournament state berths, and the state tournament/
meet.  The maximum number of regularly scheduled football
contests shall be exclusive of the state tournament.

24.5.1  Any playoffs to determine state tournament
berths shall be under the control and supervision of the
DSSAA tournament committee.

24.6  A student shall participate in a particular sport for
only one season during each academic year.

24.7  A school which participates in more than the
allowable number of contests in a season shall be suspended
from the state playoffs or, if a non-qualifying team, fined
$200.00.

24.8  A school which exceeds the weekly contest
limitation shall be required to forfeit the contest and be
assessed a $100.00 fine.

24.9  A student who exceeds the weekly or daily contest
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limitation shall be considered an ineligible athlete and the
school subject to the penalties stipulated in 14.0.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

25.0  Practice Sessions
25.1  Member schools shall conduct a minimum of three

(3) weeks of practice under the supervision of the school's
coaching staff prior to the first scheduled contest in all
sports.

25.1.1  Practicing on holidays and weekends shall
be left to the discretion of the individual schools and
conferences.

25.2  A student shall be required to practice for a period
of at least seven (7) calendar days prior to participating in a
contest.  However, if a student has been participating in a
state tournament during the preceding sports season and is
unable to begin practicing at least seven (7) calendar days
before his/her team's first contest, he/she shall be exempt
from this requirement.

25.3  A practice session shall be defined as any
instructional activity on the field, court, mat, or track or in
the pool, weight room, or classroom such as team meetings,
film reviews, blackboard sessions, warmup and cool down
exercises, drills, mandatory strength training, etc.

25.3.1  All activities shall be under the supervision
of a certified, emergency, or approved volunteer coach.

25.4  Practice sessions shall be limited to two (2) hours
on official school days.

25.4.1  Split sessions may be conducted but practice
time shall not exceed two hours for any individual athlete.

25.4.2  The two-hour practice limitation does not
include time for non-instructional activities such as dressing,
showering, transportation, or training room care.

25.5  A school which deliberately exceeds the two-hour
practice limitation shall be assessed a $100.00 fine.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

26.0  Awards
26.1  A member school and/or support group affiliated

with a member school, such as an alumni association or
booster club, shall be allowed to present recognition awards
for team and/or individual accomplishments.

26.1.1  The awards, including artwork and lettering,
shall require the approval of the administrative head of the
school and their value shall be mostly symbolic.

26.1.2  Permissible awards include trophies,
plaques, medals, letters, certificates, photographs, and
similar items.  Jackets, sweaters, shirts, watches, rings,
charms, and similar items if properly inscribed (reference to
the team or individual athletic accomplishment) are also
acceptable.

26.1.3  Member schools and such support groups
shall also be permitted to sponsor banquets and present post-
secondary scholarships.

26.2  A non-profit group such as a coaches association,
booster club not affiliated with a member school, or
community service organization shall be allowed to present
recognition awards for team and/or individual
accomplishments with the approval of the administrative
head of the school.

26.2.1  With the exception of post-secondary
scholarships, the awards shall have symbolic value only.
Awards with utilitarian value are prohibited.

26.2.2  Non-profit groups shall also be permitted to
sponsor banquets.

26.3  Non-profit organizations co-sponsoring a
tournament shall be allowed to give post-secondary
scholarships to participating schools provided they are not
awarded on the basis of team or individual performance in
the tournament.  Scholarship monies shall be administered in
accordance with DSSAA and NCAA regulations.

26.4  Commercial organizations shall be allowed to
present recognition awards for team and/or individual
accomplishments with the approval of the administrative
head of the school.

26.4.1  With the exception of post-secondary
scholarships, the awards shall have symbolic value only.
Awards with utilitarian value are prohibited.  The aggregate
retail value of the award shall not exceed $50.00 per team or
per recipient.

26.5  Non-symbolic competition awards (based on
team’s or individual’s place finish), regardless of sponsor,
shall have an aggregate retail value not to exceed $50.00 per
recipient and shall require the prior approval of the
Executive Director.

See 3 DE Reg. 440 (9/1/99)
See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

27.0  Boxing
Member schools shall not participate in interscholastic

boxing.

28.0  Protests and Complaints
All protests and complaints brought before DSSAA

shall be in writing and shall be acted on only after the
administrative head of the school involved has been given an
opportunity to appear before the Board of Directors.

29.0  Wrestling Weight Control Code
29.1  Each year, prior to January 15, a wrestler must

establish his/her minimum weight class at a weigh-in
witnessed by and attested to in writing by the athletic
director or a designated staff member (excluding coaches) of
the school the wrestler attends.  Thereafter, a wrestler may
not compete in a weight class below his/her duly established
weight class.  In addition, a wrestler may not compete in the
individual state championship or a qualifying tournament in
his/her duly established weight class unless the wrestler



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2223

makes weight in at least fifty (50) percent of his/her
conference and non-conference weigh-ins during the regular
season.

29.1.1  A wrestler who weighs in at least once but
fails to establish his/her minimum weight class prior to
January 15 shall automatically be certified at the weight he/
she last weighed in before that date.

29.1.2  A wrestler who does not weigh in at least
once and fails to establish his/her minimum weight class
prior to January 15 shall automatically be certified at the
weight he/she first weighs in after that date.

29.1.3  A wrestler who is unable, prior to January
15, to get down to the maximum allowable weight of 275
pounds in order to compete in the heavyweight class shall be
permitted to certify his/her minimum weight class at a later
date in the season and thereafter be eligible to participate.

29.2  By January 15, a certified team roster listing the
established minimum weight class of each wrestler shall be
sent to the secretary of the conference to which the school
belongs or to the secretary of the independent tournament.
Further, duly attested notices of additions to the certified
roster shall be sent to the conference secretary without delay.

29.2.1  The conference secretary shall in turn send
to each school in his/her conference copies of the certified
rosters of each school.  Further, he/she shall note and send
copies of the notices of additions to the rosters as these
additions occur.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

30.0  Use of Officials
30.1  Member schools and tournament sponsors shall be

required to use officials approved by DSSAA for
interscholastic contests.

30.1.1  In the case of emergencies such as an act of
God, refusal by an association to work games, or a shortage
of qualified officials, schools which desire to use other than
approved officials must obtain permission from the
Executive Director.

30.2  Officials shall be required each year to attend the
DSSAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the rules
examination provided by the DSSAA office for the sport(s)
they officiate.

30.2.1  Failure on the part of an official to attend the
DSSAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the rules
examination in the same season shall cause the official to be
placed on probation and to lose his/her eligibility to officiate
a state tournament contest during that season.

30.2.2  Failure to satisfy both requirements in the
same season for two (2) consecutive years shall cause the
official to lose varsity officiating status during the second
season.  Failure to fulfill this obligation in subsequent years
shall cause the official to continue to be restricted to
subvarsity contests until both requirements have been
satisfied in the same season.

30.2.3  Attending the fall soccer rules interpretation
clinic shall satisfy the clinic attendance requirement for both
the boys’ and girls’ soccer seasons.   Attending the spring
soccer rules interpretation clinic shall satisfy the clinic
attendance requirement for only the girls’ soccer season.

30.2.4  If, for a legitimate reason which is
documented by the president of his/her association, an
official is unable to attend the DSSAA rules interpretation
clinic, he/she may view a videotape of the DSSAA clinic or,
in the absence of a videotape, attend a clinic conducted by
another NFHS member state association provided the
following procedures are observed:

30.2.4.1  No later than the day of the DSSAA
rules interpretation clinic, the president of the association
notifies the Executive Director, in writing, of the official's
inability to attend the clinic.

30.2.4.2  The out-of-state clinic is conducted
by an individual either trained by the NFHS or designated as
a clinician by the state's athletic association.

30.2.4.3  The official arranges for a letter to be
sent to the Executive Director from the state's athletic
association office verifying his/her attendance at the clinic.

30.3  Use of non-approved officials without permission
from the Executive Director shall result in the school or
tournament sponsor being assessed a $50.00 fine per non-
approved official.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

31.0 Out of Season Athletic Camp and Clinic
Sponsorship

31.1  DSSAA does not restrict a student's decision to
attend an out of season athletic camp/clinic. However,
schools, school organizations, coaches, or school related
groups, such as booster clubs, may not sponsor an athletic
camp/clinic which limits membership to their own district,
locale, or teams.  Coaches employed by an out of season
athletic camp may not only instruct their returning athletes as
per 23.7 in accordance with 23.10.

31.2  School related groups, such as booster clubs,
which desire to sponsor the attendance of their school's
enrolled students at an out of season athletic camp/clinic,
may do so with the approval of the local school board or
governing body.  The disbursement of funds to pay for
camp/clinic related expenses (fees, travel costs, etc.) shall be
administered by the principal or his/her designee and the
funds shall be allocated according to the following
guidelines:

31.2.1  All students and team members shall be
notified of the available sponsorship by announcement,
publication, etc.

31.2.2  All applicants shall share equally in the
funds provided.

31.2.3  All applicants shall be academically eligible
to participate in interscholastic athletics.
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31.2.4  All applicants shall have one year of prior
participation in the sport for which the camp/clinic is
intended or, absent any prior participation, he/she shall be
judged by the coach to benefit substantially from
participation in the camp/clinic.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

32.0  Sanctions - School Team Competition
32.1  Member schools may participate in tournaments/

meets involving four (4) or more schools only if the event
has been sanctioned by DSSAA and, if applicable, by the
NFHS. Tournaments/meets shall be sanctioned in
accordance with the following criteria:

32.1.1  The event shall not be for determining a
regional or national champion.

32.1.2  The event shall be organized, promoted, and
conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit organization.
Involvement by a commercial organization shall be limited
to providing financial support.

32.1.3  Nonsymbolic competition awards shall have
an aggregate retail value of not more than $50.00 per
recipient and shall require the prior approval of the
Executive Director.

32.1.4  Non-school event organizers shall submit a
full financial report to the DSSAA office within ninety (90)
calendar days of the completion of the event.

32.1.5  The event organizer shall submit a list of
out-of-state schools which have been invited to participate
and such schools shall be subject to approval by the
Executive Director.

32.1.6  Out-of-state schools which are not members
of their state athletic association shall verify in writing that
their participating athletes are in compliance with their state
athletic association's eligibility rules and regulations.

32.1.7  The event organizer shall not accept
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco
products.

32.1.8  The event organizer shall comply with all
applicable NFHS sanctioning requirements.

32.2  Participation in a non-sanctioned event shall result
in the offending school being assessed a $25.00 fine.  A
second offense shall result in a $50.00 fine and loss of
eligibility to participate in sanctioned events for the
remainder of the sport season.  A third offense shall result in
a $100.00 fine and loss of eligibility to participate in
sanctioned events for the remainder of the school year.

See 3 DE Reg. 525 (10/1/99)
See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

33.0  Coed Teams
33.1  If a school sponsors a boys' team and a girls' team

in a particular sport, boys shall participate on the boys' team
and girls shall participate on the girls' team even if the teams

compete during different seasons.
33.2  If a school sponsors only a boys' team in a

particular sport, girls shall be permitted to participate on the
boys' team.

33.2.1  Coed teams shall participate only in the
boys' state championship tournament/meet.

33.3  If a school sponsors only a girls' team in a
particular sport, boys shall not be permitted to participate on
the girls' team.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

34.0  Non-School Instructional Camps and Clinics
34.1  A student may participate in a commercial camp or

clinic, including private lessons, both during and out of the
designated sport season provided the following conditions
are observed:

34.1.1  The student must participate unattached and
may not wear school uniforms.

34.1.2  The student may use only school equipment
whose primary purpose is to protect the wearer from
physical injury.

34.1.3  The school may not provide transportation or
pay fees.

34.1.4  The school coach may not require his/her
athletes to participate in a camp or clinic or provide
instruction to his/her returning athletes in a camp or clinic.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

35.0  Open Gym Programs
35.1  A member school may open its gymnasium or

other facility for informal, recreational activities in
accordance with the following provisions:

35.1.1  The open gym must be available to all
interested students, must not be restricted to members of a
particular team, and must be publicized as such.

35.1.2  Student participation must be voluntary and
the open gym must not be a prerequisite for trying out for a
particular team.

35.1.3  The activities must be unstructured and
student-generated.  Organized drills in the skills or
techniques of a particular sport are prohibited.  Organized
competition with fixed team rosters is also prohibited.

35.1.3.1  A coach may not predetermine that
the open gym will include only his/her sport and publicize
the open gym as being restricted to that sport.  It is the
responsibility of the adult supervisor to permit as many
different activities as the facility can effectively and safely
accommodate.

35.1.4  A coach may open the facility and distribute
playing equipment but may not instruct, officiate,
participate, organize the activities, or choose teams in his/
her assigned sport.

35.1.5  Playing equipment is restricted to that which
is customarily used in a contest in a particular sport.  Playing



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2225

equipment which is only used in a practice session is
prohibited.

35.1.6  The participants must provide their own
workout clothing.

See 3 DE Reg. 440 (9/1/99)

36.0  Conditioning Programs
36.1  A member school may conduct a conditioning

program in accordance with the following provisions:
36.1.1  The conditioning program must be available

to all interested students, must not be restricted to members
of a particular team, and must be publicized as such.

36.1.2  Student participation must be voluntary.
The conditioning program must not be a prerequisite for
trying out for a particular team.

36.1.3  Permissible activities include stretching,
lifting weights, jumping rope, running, calisthenics,
aerobics, and similar generic conditioning activities.
Organized drills in the skills or techniques of a particular
sport are prohibited.

36.1.4  A coach may not provide instruction in sport
specific skills or techniques.

36.1.5  Sport specific equipment is prohibited.
36.1.6  The participants must provide their own

workout clothing.

37.0  Non-Payment of Fines
A school which does not pay, by July 1, all fines

incurred during the school year shall be ineligible to
participate in a state championship event in any sport during
the following school year until such time as all fines are
paid.

38.0  Additional Penalties
Additional penalties may be imposed by the Executive

Director or the DSSAA Board of Directors for repeat
offenses or as deemed necessary to ensure the proper
conduct of interscholastic competition.

1052.  DSSAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic
Athletics

1.0  Eligibility
No student shall represent a school in an interscholastic

scrimmage or contest if he/she does not meet the following
requirements:

1.1  Age
1.1.1  Eighth-grade students who become 15 years

of age on or after June 15 in a school terminating in the
eighth grade shall be eligible for all sports during the current
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are
met.

1.1.1.1  Permission shall be granted for 15-year
old eighth-grade students in a school terminating in the

eighth grade who are ineligible for junior high/middle school
competition to participate in the district high school athletic
program provided they meet all other eligibility
requirements.

1.1.2  In determining the age of a contestant, the
birth date as entered on the birth record of the Bureau of
Vital Statistics shall be required and shall be so certified on
all eligibility lists.

1.1.3  Requests for waiver of the age requirement
shall be considered only for participation on an unofficial,
non-scoring basis in non-contact sports.

1.2  Enrollment and Attendance
1.2.1  A student must be legally enrolled in the

junior high/middle school which he/she represents and must
be in regular attendance prior to the 11th school day of the
academic year in order to participate in a practice,
scrimmage, or contest.

1.2.1.1  A student must be in regular

attendance prior to the 11th school day of the academic year.
1.2.1.1 1.21.2  A student who enters school on

or after the 11th school day of the academic year shall not be
eligible to participate for ninety (90) school days.

1.2.2  A student who is participating in the
Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 Del.,
C., Ch. 4, is obligated to attend the Achoice school' for a
minimum of two (2) years unless the student's custodial
parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s) relocate to a
different school district or the student fails to meet the
academic requirements of the "choice school@.  If a student
attends a "choice school" for less than two (2) years and
subsequently returns to his/her home school, the student
must receive a release from the Achoice district@ in order to
legally enroll at his/her home school.  Without a release, the
student would not be eligible to participate in interscholastic
athletics (see 1.4.9) legally enrolled and consequently would
be ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics (see
1.4.8).

1.2.3  A student may not participate in a practice,
scrimmage, or contest during the time a suspension, either
in-school or out-of-school, is in effect or during the time he/
she is assigned to an alternative school for disciplinary
reasons.

1.2.4  A student must be legally in attendance at
school in order to participate in a practice, scrimmage, or
contest except when excused by proper school authorities.

1.2.4.1  A student who is not legally in
attendance at school due to illness or injury shall not be
permitted to participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest
on that day.

1.2.5  Failure to complete a semester or absence for
one or more semesters for reasons other than personal illness
or injury shall render a student ineligible for ninety (90)
school days from his/her reentry to school.
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1.2.5  1.2.6  An ineligible student who practices in
violation of 1.2.3 or 1.2.4 1.2.3, 1.2.4, or 1.2.5 shall, when
he/she regains his/her eligibility, be prohibited from
practicing, scrimmaging, or competing for an equivalent
number of days.

1.3  Residence
1.3.1  A student must be living with his/her

custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s) in the
attendance zone of the school which he/she attends in order
to be eligible for interscholastic athletics in that school.  In
cases of joint custody, the custodial parent shall be the parent
with actual physical placement as determined by court
action.

1.3.1.1  Maintaining multiple residences in
order to circumvent this requirement shall render the student
ineligible.

1.3.1.2  A student who, pursuant to established
school board policy or administrative procedure, remains in
a school he/she has been attending after his/her legal
residence changes to the attendance zone of a different
school in the same school district, may exercise, prior to the
first official student day of the subsequent academic year, a
one time election to remain at his/her current school and
thereby not lose athletic eligibility.

1.3.1.2.1  However, if a student chooses to
remain at his/her current school and then transfers to the
school in his/her new attendance zone on or after the first
official student day of the subsequent academic year, he/she
shall be ineligible for ninety (90) school days.

1.3.1.3  If a student changes residence to a
different attendance zone after the start of the last marking
period and, pursuant to established school board policy or
administrative procedure, is granted permission to continue
attending his/her present school, the student shall retain his/
her athletic eligibility in that school for the remainder of the
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are
met.

1.3.1.4  A student may be residing outside of
the attendance zone of the school which he/she attends if the
student is participating in the Delaware School Choice
Program as authorized by 14 Del.C., Ch. 4.

1.3.1.5  A student who is a non-resident of
Delaware shall be eligible at a public or charter school if, in
accordance with 14 Del. C., § 607, his/her custodial parent or
court appointed legal guardian is a full-time employee of that
district.

1.3.1.6  Notwithstanding 1.3.1, a student shall
be eligible at a public or vocational-technical school if he/
she enrolls in accordance with 14 Del.C. §202(f), the
Caregivers School Authorization.

1.3.1.6.1  An exception would be a student
whose relative caregiver does not provide the documentation
required by the Caregivers’ School Authorization (proof of
relation and proof of full-time care) but is permitted to

register on the basis of a petition for the transfer of
guardianship.  A student who registers on the basis of a
petition for the transfer of guardianship is not eligible to
scrimmage or compete until the relative caregiver has
provided the aforementioned required documentation or has
received a signed court order designating him/her as the
student’s legal guardian.

1.4  Transfer
1.4.1  A student who has not previously participated

in interscholastic athletics (previous participation is defined
as having practiced, scrimmaged or competed in grades 6
through 8), is released by a proper school authority from a
sending school, has completed the registration process at the
receiving school, and is pursuing an approved course of
study shall be eligible immediately upon registration
provided he/she meets all other DSSAA eligibility
requirements.

1.4.2  If a student has previously participated in
interscholastic athletics, he/she shall be ineligible for a
period of ninety (90) school days commencing with the first
day of official attendance in the receiving school unless one
of the following exceptions applies:

1.4.2.1  The transfer is within a school district
and is approved by the district's superintendent pursuant to
established school board policy or administrative procedure.
This provision shall not apply to a student who transfers to
his/her home school from a “choice school” within the
district and who has not completed the two-year attendance
requirement unless he/she satisfies the conditions stipulated
in 1.4.2.5.1 through 1.4.2.5.4.  This provision shall also not
apply to a student who transfers from a “choice school” to
another “choice school” within the district (see 1.4.6.1).

1.4.2.2  The transfer is caused by court action,
court action being an order from a court of law affecting
legally committed students.

1.4.2.2.1  In the case of a transfer of
guardianship/custody, the transfer shall be the result of a
court order signed by a judge, commissioner, or master of a
court of competent jurisdiction.  A petition for the transfer of
guardianship/custody, an affidavit, (except as permitted by
1.4.2.3) or a notarized statement signed by the affected
parties shall not be sufficient to render the student eligible to
participate in interscholastic athletics.

1.4.2.3  The transfer is in accordance with 14
Del. C. §202(f), the Caregivers School Authorization.

1.4.2.3.1  An exception would be a student
whose relative caregiver does not provide the documentation
required by the Caregivers School Authorization (proof of
relation and proof of full-time care) but is permitted to
register on the basis of a petition for the transfer of
guardianship.  A student who registers on the basis of a
petition for the transfer of guardianship is not eligible to
scrimmage or compete until the relative caregiver has
provided the aforementioned required documentation or has
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received a signed court order designating him/her as the
student’s legal guardian.

1.4.2.4  The transfer is the result of a change in
residence by the custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s) from the attendance zone of the sending school
to the attendance zone of the receiving school.  A change in
residence has occurred when all occupancy of the previous
residence has ended.

1.4.2.4.1  A student who transfers from a
public, private, charter or choice school to another public,
private, charter, or choice school, except as prohibited by
1.4.7.1, shall be eligible in the receiving school immediately
when the custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s) has established a new legal residence in another
public school attendance zone different from the one in
which the custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s) resided for attendance in the sending school.  In
the case of a transfer to a public school, the new legal
residence must be in the attendance zone of the receiving
school.

1.4.2.5  The transfer occurs after the close of
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first
official student day of the receiving school's academic year
provided:

1.4.2.5.1  The student has completed the
registration process at the receiving school prior to the first
official student day of the academic year.  The first official
student day shall be defined as the first day on which
students in any grade in that school are required to be in
attendance.

1.4.2.5.2  The student has not attended
class, excluding summer school, or participated in a
scrimmage or contest at the sending school since the close of
the previous academic year.

1.4.2.5.3  The student's legal residence is
located in the attendance zone of the receiving school.

1.4.2.5.4  All other DSSAA eligibility
requirements have been met.

1.4.3  If a waiver of the ninety (90) school day
ineligibility clause is requested due to a desired change in the
program of study or financial hardship, the parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) is responsible for providing
documentation to the DSSAA Board of Directors to support
the request.  Documentation should include the following:

1.4.3.1  Change in program of study (a multi-
year hierarchical sequence of courses with a common theme
or subject matter leading to a specific outcome).

1.4.3.1.1  Student schedule card.
1.4.3.1.2  Student transcript.
1.4.3.1.3  Current course descriptions from

both the sending and receiving schools.
1.4.3.1.4  Statement from the principal of

the sending school indicating that a significant part of the
student's desired program of study will not be offered and

that it will place the student at a definite disadvantage to
delay transfer until the end of the current school year.

1.4.3.1.5  Statement from the principal of
both the sending and receiving school that the student is not
transferring primarily for athletic advantage as described in
1.4.5.1 through 1.4.5.4.

1.4.3.2  Financial hardship
1.4.3.2.1  Proof of extreme financial

hardship caused by significant loss of income and/or
increased expenses.

1.4.3.2.2  Statement from the principal of
both the sending and receiving schools that the student is not
transferring primarily for athletic advantage as defined in
1.4.5.1 through 1.4.5.4.

1.4.4  In cases of joint custody when a primary
residence is established, a change in a student’s primary
residence without court action subjects the student to the
ninety (90) school-day ineligibility clause.

1.4.5  A change of custody or guardianship for
athletic advantage shall render a student ineligible under the
ninety (90) school-day ineligibility clause if the primary
reason for his/her transfer is one of the following:

1.4.5.1  To seek a superior team.
1.4.5.2  To seek a team more compatible with

his/her abilities.
1.4.5.3  Dissatisfaction with the philosophy,

policies, methods, or actions of a coach or administrator
pertaining to interscholastic athletics.

1.4.5.4  To avoid disciplinary action imposed
by the sending school related to or affecting interscholastic
athletic participation.

1.4.6  A student who transfers from a public,
private, or charter school to a school of choice, as authorized
by 14 Del. C., Chapter 4 shall be eligible immediately
provided the transfer occurs after the close of the sending
school's academic year and prior to the first official student
day of the receiving school's academic year and the student
satisfies the conditions stipulated in 1.4.2.5.1, 1.4.2.5.2, and
1.4.2.5.4.

1.4.6.1  A student who transfers from a school
of choice to another school of choice shall be ineligible to
participate in interscholastic athletics during his/ her first
year of attendance at the receiving school unless the
receiving school sponsors a sport(s) not sponsored by the
sending school in which case the student shall be eligible to
participate in that sport(s) only.

1.4.7  A student who transfers from a school of
choice to a public, private, or charter school shall be eligible
immediately provided the transfer occurs after the close of
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first
official student day of the receiving school's academic year
and the student satisfies the conditions stipulated in 1.4.2.5.1
through 1.4.2.5.4.

1.4.8.  If a student transfers with fewer than ninety
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(90) school days left in the academic year, he/she shall be
ineligible for the remainder of the school year but shall be
eligible beginning with the subsequent fall sports season
provided he/she is in compliance with all other eligibility
requirements.

1.5  Amateur
1.5.1  A student may not participate in an

interscholastic sport unless he/she is considered an amateur
in that sport.  A student forfeits his/her amateur status if he/
she does any of the following:

1.5.1.1  Knowingly plays on or against a
professional team.

1.5.1.2  Signs a professional contract, accepts
reimbursement for expenses to attend a professional tryout,
or receives financial assistance in any form from a
professional sports organization.

1.5.1.3  Enters competition under an assumed
name.  The surname and given name used by any player in
the first game of interscholastic competition shall be used
during the remainder of the student's interscholastic career.
Any change in spelling or use of another name shall be
regarded as an attempt to evade this rule unless the change
has been properly certified by the player to the principal of
the school.

1.5.1.4  Receives remuneration of any kind or
accepts reimbursement for expenses in excess of the actual
and necessary costs of transportation, meals, and lodging for
participating in a team or individual competition or an
instructional camp/clinic  Reimbursement for the
aforementioned expenses is permitted only if all of the
participants receive the same benefit.

1.5.1.5  Receives cash or a cash equivalent
(savings bond, certificate of deposit, etc.), merchandise
(except as permitted by 25.4) or a merchandise discount
(except for discount arranged by school for part of team
uniform) a reduction or waiver of fees, a gift certificate, or
other valuable consideration as a result of his/her
participation in an organized competition or instructional
camp/clinic.

1.5.1.5.1  Accepting an event program
and/or a complimentary item(s) (t-shirt, hat, equipment bag,
etc.) that is inscribed with a reference to the event, has an
aggregate retail value of no more than $50.00, and is
provided to all of the participants, shall not jeopardize his/
her amateur status.

1.5.1.6  Sells or pawns awards received.
1.5.1.7  Uses his/her athletic status to promote

or endorse a commercial product or service in a newsprint,
radio, or television advertisement or personal appearance.

1.5.2  Accepting compensation for teaching lessons,
coaching, or officiating shall not jeopardize his/her amateur
status.

1.5.3  A student who forfeits his/her amateur status
under the provisions of this rule is ineligible to participate at

the interscholastic level in the sport in which the violation
occurred.  He/she may be reinstated after a period of up to
180 school days provided that during the suspension, he/she
complies with all of the provisions of this rule.  The
suspension shall date from the time of the last offense.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

2.0  Use of Influence for Athletic Purposes
2.1  The use of influence by a person(s) employed by or

representing a member school including members of alumni
associations, booster groups, and similar organizations to
persuade, induce, or facilitate the enrollment of a student in
that school for athletic purposes shall render the student
ineligible for up to 180 school days from the date the charge
is substantiated.  In addition, the offending school shall be
placed on probation, as determined by the DSSAA Board of
Directors, and the offending employee, if a coach, shall be
suspended for up to 180 school days from the date the charge
is substantiated.

2.2  The use of influence for athletic purposes shall
include, but not be limited to, the following:

2.2.1  Offer of money, room, board, clothing,
transportation, or other valuable consideration to a
prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s).

2.2.2  Offer of waiver/reduction of tuition or
financial aid if based, even partially, on athletic
considerations.

2.2.3  Preference in job assignments or offer of
compensation for work performed in excess of what is
customarily paid for such services.

2.2.4  Offer of special privileges not accorded to
other students.

2.2.5  Offer of financial assistance including free or
reduced rent, payment of moving expenses, etc., to induce a
prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s) to change residence.

2.3  A school employee or Board approved volunteer
may not initiate contact or request that a booster club
member, alumnus, or player initiate contact with a student
enrolled in another school or his/her parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) in order to persuade the student
to enroll in a particular school for athletic purposes.  Illegal
contact shall include, but not be limited to, letters,
questionnaires or brochures, telephone calls, and home visits
or personal contact at athletic contests.

2.3.1  If a coach or athletic director is contacted by
a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s), the former must refer the individual(s) to
the principal or school personnel responsible for admissions.

2.3.2  A school employee or Board approved
volunteer may discuss the athletic program with a
prospective student or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s) during an open house or approved visit
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initiated by the parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s).

2.3.2.1  A school employee or Board approved
volunteer may provide information concerning sports
offered, facilities, conference affiliation, and general athletic
policies.  However, he/she is not permitted to state or imply
in any way that his/her athletic program is superior to that of
another school or that it would be more beneficial or
advantageous for the prospective student to participate in
athletics at his/her school.

2.4  If the number of applicants under the Delaware
School Choice Program exceeds the number of available
student openings, the selection criteria established by the
district shall not include athletic considerations.

3.0  Non-school Competition (participants competing
“unattached” and not representing their schools)

3.1  A student may participate on a non-school team or
in a non-school individual event both during and out of the
designated sport season.  However, the student owes his/her
primary loyalty and allegiance to the school team of which
he/she is a member.  A school shall have the authority to
require attendance at practices and contests and students not
in compliance shall be subject to disciplinary action as
determined by the school.

3.2  Participation on a non-school team or in a non-
school individual event shall be subject to the following
conditions:

3.2.1  With the exception of organized intramurals,
the student may not wear school uniforms.

3.2.2  With the exception of organized intramurals,
the student may use only school equipment whose primary
purpose is to protect the wearer from physical injury.

3.2.3  The school or a school affiliated support
group may not provide transportation.

3.2.4  The school or a school affiliated support
group may not pay entry fees or provide any form of
financial assistance.

3.2.5  The school coach may not require his/her
athletes to participate in non-school competition or provide
instruction to his/her athletes in non-school competition.

3.3  14 Del.C., ' 122 (15) requires written parental
permission prior to participation on a similar team during the
designated sport season.  Written authorization must be on
file in the student's school prior to engaging in a tryout,
practice, or contest with a similar team.  Consent forms shall
be available in all member schools.

3.3.1  Similar teams shall include organized
intramural teams as well as non-school teams in that sport.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

4.0  Passing Work
4.1  In order to be eligible for participation in

interscholastic athletics, including practices, a student must

pursue a regular course of study or its equivalent as approved
by the local governing body, and must be passing at least
four (4) credits.  Two (2) of those credits must be in the
separate areas of English, Mathematics, Science, or Social
Studies.

4.1.1  A student who is receiving special education
services and is precluded from meeting the aforementioned
academic requirements due to modifications in the grading
procedure or course of study, shall be adjudged eligible by
the principal if he/she is making satisfactory progress in
accordance with the requirements of his/her individualized
education plan (IEP).

4.2  A student whose work in any regular marking
period does not meet the above standards shall be ineligible
to participate in interscholastic athletics, including practices,
for the next marking period.

4.2.1  In the case of a conflict between the marking
period grade and the final grade, the final grade shall
determine eligibility.

4.2.2  The final accumulation of credits shall
determine eligibility for the first marking period of the
following school year.  When a student makes up a failure or
earns the required credit(s) during the summer, he/she shall
become eligible provided he/she successfully completes the
course work prior to the first official student day of the
school year.

4.2.2.1  Written verification of the successful
completion of a correspondence course must be received
before a student shall regain his/her eligibility.

4.3  A student forfeits or regains his/her eligibility, in
accordance with the provisions of this rule, on the day report
cards are issued.

4.4  Local school boards and non-public schools may
establish more stringent requirements for academic
eligibility than the minimum standards herein prescribed.

4.5  An ineligible student who practices in violation of
4.1 or 4.2 shall, when he/she regains his/her eligibility, be
prohibited from practicing, scrimmaging, or competing for
an equivalent number of days.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

5.0  Participation
5.1  During the 2001-02 and 2002-03 school years, the

following provisions shall be in effect:
5.1.1  No student shall represent a school in

athletics after six (6) consecutive semesters from the date of
his/her first entrance into the seventh grade in schools with
grades 7 through 8, inclusive.

5.1.2  No student shall represent a school in
athletics after eight (8) consecutive semesters from the date
of his/her first entrance into the sixth grade in schools with
grades 6 through 8, inclusive.

5.1.2.1  Participation on the part of a sixth
grade student shall be at the discretion of the individual
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school.
5.1.2.2  Sixth-grade students shall not be

permitted to participate in football unless the conference
develops a classification system that is approved by the
DSSAA Board of Directors.

5.2  Beginning with the 2003-2004 school year, the
following provisions shall be in effect:

5.2.1  No student shall represent a school in
athletics after four (4) consecutive semesters from the date of
his/her first entrance into the seventh grade in schools which
restrict participation in interscholastic athletics to students in
grades 7 and 8 unless a waiver is granted for hardship
reasons.

5.2.1.1  No student shall have more than two
(2) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter
sports, or in a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

5.2.1.2  "Hardship" shall be defined as
extenuating circumstances which are unusual, extraordinary
and beyond the control of the student or his/her parent(s) or
court appointed legal guardian(s); preclude him/her from
completing the academic requirements for promotion within
the normal period of eligibility; and deprive him/her of all or
part of one of his/her opportunities to participate in a
particular sports season.

5.2.1.2.1  A clear and direct causal
relationship must exist between the alleged hardship
condition and the failure of the student to complete the
academic requirements for promotion within the normal
period of eligibility and the loss of all or part of one of his/
her opportunities to participate in a particular sports season.

5.2.1.2.2  The burden of proof rests with
the student in conjunction with the waiver/appeal process as
described in 1053 Waiver Procedure and 1055 Appeal
Procedure.  Claims of extended illness, debilitating injury,
emotional stress, etc., must be accompanied by appropriate
documentation.  Evidence must be submitted to verify that
the student or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s) sought assistance to ameliorate the effects of the
hardship condition.

5.2.2  No student shall represent a school in
athletics after six (6) consecutive semesters from the date of
his/her first entrance into the sixth grade in schools which
permit students in grades 6, 7 and 8 to participate in
interscholastic athletics unless a waiver is granted for
hardship reasons as specified in 5.2.1.2.

5.2.2.1  No student shall have more than three
(3) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter
sports, or in a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

5.2.2.2  Participation on the part of a sixth-
grade student shall be at the discretion of the individual
school.

5.2.2.3  Sixth-grade students shall not be

permitted to participate in football unless the conference
develops a classification system that is approved by the
DSSAA Board of Directors.

5.3  Students below the sixth grade shall not be
permitted to practice, scrimmage, or compete on junior high/
middle school interscholastic teams.

5.4  Participation shall be defined as taking part in a
school sponsored practice, (see 24.3), scrimmage, or contest
on or after the first allowable date for practice in that sport.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

6.0  Grades
The junior high/middle school interscholastic athletic

program shall include grades 6 through 8, inclusive.

7.0  Junior High/Middle School and Senior High School
Competition

7.1  No junior high/middle school student who has
completed a season at the junior high/middle school level
shall compete in the same sport at the senior high school
level during the same school year.

7.2  A junior high/middle school student who
participates in a varsity or subvarsity game at the high school
level shall be ineligible to participate at the junior high/
middle school level in the same sport.

8.0  Examinations
8.1  A student shall not be eligible to practice,

scrimmage, or compete in an interscholastic contest unless
he/she has been adequately examined by a licensed
physician (M.D. or D.O.), a certified nurse practitioner, or a
certified physician's assistant on or after June 1 and before
beginning such athletic activity for the current school year.

8.1.1  A certificate to that effect, as well as the
parent's or court appointed legal guardian's consent, shall be
on file with the administrative head of the school prior to the
student participating in a practice, scrimmage, or game.

8.2  For any subsequent sports season in the school year,
a limited reexamination shall be performed under the
following circumstances:

8.2.1  If the athlete has been treated for an injury
during the preceding sports season.

8.2.2  If the athlete has been out of school during
the preceding sports season with an illness other than the
usual minor upper respiratory or gastrointestinal upset.

8.2.3  If an operation has been performed on the
athlete during the preceding term.

8.2.4  If the student has a remedial defect.
8.3  The medical history of the student should be

available at the time of each examination.
8.4  A player who is properly certified to participate in

interscholastic athletics but is physically unable to
participate for five (5) consecutive days on which a practice,
scrimmage, or contest is held due to illness or injury, must
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present to the administrative head of the school a statement
from a qualified physician that he/she is again physically
able to participate.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

9.0  Clarifying Eligibility
9.1  In cases of uncertainty or disagreement, the

eligibility of a student shall be determined initially by the
Executive Director.  If the Executive Director determines
that the student is ineligible, the school and the student shall
be notified and the student suspended immediately from
participation in interscholastic athletics.

9.2  The school and the student shall be informed that
the decision of the Executive Director may be appealed to
the DSSAA Board of Directors in accordance with the
procedure described in 1055 Appeal Procedure.

9.3  Decisions of the DSSAA Board of Directors to
affirm, modify, or reverse the eligibility rulings of the
Executive Director may be appealed to the State Board of
Education in accordance with the procedure described in
1055 Appeal Procedure.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

10.0  Eligibility Lists
10.1  Member schools shall use eligibility forms

approved by the Executive Director.
10.2  A copy of the original eligibility report and

subsequent addenda must be either received by the
Executive Director or postmarked prior to the first contest
for which the students listed are eligible.  Failure to file an
eligibility report as prescribed shall result in a $15.00 fine
against the school.

10.3  In the case of a student who met all DSSAA
eligibility requirements but was omitted from the eligibility
report due to administrative or clerical error, he/she shall be
adjudged eligible and the school assessed a $10.00 fine.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

11.0  Contracts Interchanged
11.1  Contracts between DSSAA member schools or

between DSSAA member schools and full member schools
of comparable state associations are encouraged but not
required.

11.1.1  Conference master contracts are approved
substitutes for individual contracts.

11.1.2  In the case of a dispute and provided either a
signed individual contract or conference master contract is in
place, was received in the DSSAA office or postmarked
prior to the contest in question appeal may be made to the
Executive Director or the DSSAA Board of Directors which,
after review of the circumstances, may assign an appropriate
penalty.

11.1.2.1  Without a signed individual contract
or conference master contract, a member school has no right

of appeal to the Executive Director or the DSSAA Board of
Directors.

11.2  Contracts between DSSAA member schools and
non-member or associate member schools of comparable
state associations are required.

11.2.1  A copy of the signed contract must be either
received by the Executive Director or postmarked prior to
the contest for which the agreement was drawn up.  Failure
to file a signed contract as prescribed shall result in the
DSSAA member school being assessed a $15.00 fine.

11.2.2  In the case of a dispute, a member school
has no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the
DSSAA Board of Directors unless a signed individual
contract is in place.

11.3  Contracts shall be interchanged according to the
following provisions:

11.3.1  Contracts on the accepted form shall be
arranged by the competing schools for each season's
interscholastic athletic contests.

11.3.2  Contracts shall be drawn up by the faculty
manager or other designated staff member of the home
school of the earlier contest.

11.3.3  A signed contract or any part thereof may
not be nullified or modified except by mutual agreement of
both schools involved.

11.4  If a game is not played, it shall be considered “no
contest” unless a signed individual contract or conference
master contract was in place received in the DSSAA office
or postmarked prior to the contest in question and one of the
participating schools breached the agreement in which case
appeal may be made to the Executive Director or the
DSSAA Board of Directors.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

12.0  Spring Football
12.1  No member school shall participate in spring

football games nor shall a member school conduct football
practice of any type outside of the regular fall sports season.

12.2  "Organized football" or "organized football
practice" shall be defined as any type of sport which is
organized to promote efficiency in any of the various aspects
of football.  Rugby and touch football featuring blocking,
tackling, ball handling, signaling, etc. shall be considered
"organized football" and shall be illegal under the intent of
this rule.

13.0  Licensed Physician
13.1  Provision shall be made for a licensed physician, a

NATA certified athletic trainer, or a registered nurse to be
present at all interscholastic football games in which a
member school participates.  The host school shall provide
this service.

13.2  Failure by the host school to provide this service
shall result in the school being assessed a $100.00 fine.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2232

14.0  Use of Ineligible Athlete
14.1  The deliberate or inadvertent use of an ineligible

athlete in the sports of soccer, football, volleyball, field
hockey, basketball, baseball, softball, and lacrosse shall
require the offending school to forfeit the contest(s) in which
the ineligible athlete participated.

14.1.1  If the infraction occurs during a tournament,
the offending school shall be replaced by its most recently
defeated opponent. Teams eliminated prior to the most
recently defeated opponent shall not be allowed to reenter
the tournament.

14.1.2  Team and/or individual awards shall be
returned to the event sponsor.

14.1.3  Team and/or individual records and
performances shall be nullified.

14.1.4  The offending school may appeal to the
DSSAA Board of Directors for a waiver of the forfeiture
penalty if the ineligible athlete had no tangible affect on the
outcome of the contest(s).  If the forfeiture penalty is waived,
the offending school shall be reprimanded and fined $200.00
unless the athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s) knowingly withheld information or provided
false information that caused him/her to be eligible for
interscholastic competition.  The burden of proof, in both
cases, rests entirely with the offending school.

14.1.5  A forfeit shall constitute a loss for the
offending school and a win for its opponent for purposes of
standings.

14.1.6  A forfeit shall be automatic and not subject
to refusal by the offending school's opponent.

14.2  The deliberate or inadvertent use of an ineligible
athlete in the sports of cross country, wrestling, swimming,
track, golf, and tennis shall require the offending school to
forfeit the matches won and/or points earned by the
ineligible athlete or by a relay team of which he/she was a
member.  The points contributed by an ineligible athlete to
his/her team score shall be deleted.

14.2.1  If the infraction occurs during a tournament,
the ineligible athlete shall be replaced by his/her most
recently defeated opponent or next highest finisher.
Contestants eliminated prior to the most recently defeated
opponent shall not be allowed to reenter the tournament.

14.2.2  Individual awards earned by the ineligible
athlete and team awards, if necessary because of adjustments
in the standings, shall be returned to the event sponsor.

14.2.3  Individual records and performances by the
ineligible athlete shall be nullified.

14.3  If an ineligible athlete participates in
interscholastic competition contrary to DSSAA rules but in
accordance with a temporary restraining order or injunction
against his/her school and/or DSSAA, and the injunction is
subsequently vacated, stayed, or reversed, or the courts
determine that injunctive relief is not or was not justified, or
the injunction expires without further judicial determination,

the penalties stipulated in 14.1 and 14.2 above shall be
imposed.

14.4  The intentional use of an ineligible athlete by a
member school or repeated indifference to its responsibility
to determine the eligibility of its athletes will subject the
school to additional penalties which may include suspension
for up to 180 school days from the date the charge is
substantiated.

14.5  If a coach knowingly withholds information or
provides false information that causes an athlete to be
eligible for interscholastic competition, the coach shall be
suspended from coaching in any sport at any DSSAA
member school for up to 180 school days from the date the
charge is substantiated.

14.6  If an athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s) knowingly withholds information or
provides false information that causes him/ her to be eligible
for interscholastic competition, the athlete shall be
suspended from participation in any sport at any DSSAA
member school for up to 180 school days from the date the
charge is substantiated.

15.0  Reporting Violations
15.1  If a school violates a provision of the DSSAA

Constitution and Bylaws, the administrative head or his/her
designee shall notify the Executive Director in writing of the
violation.

15.2  If a school uses an ineligible athlete, the
administrative head or his/her designee shall notify the
opposing school(s) or event sponsor, in the case of a
tournament or meet, and the Executive Director in writing of
the violation and the forfeiture of the appropriate game(s),
match(es), and/or point(s) won.

15.3  All violations will be reviewed by the DSSAA
Board of Directors which may impose additional penalties in
accordance with 36.0.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

16.0  Equivalent Rules
16.1  A full member school shall not participate in a

scrimmage or contest with an instate school that is not a
member in good standing of DSSAA unless the opposing
school, as part of a written contract, certifies that its
contestants are eligible under DSSAA rules.

16.2  A full member school shall not participate in a
scrimmage or contest with an associate or non-member
school of another state association unless the opposing
school, as part of a written contract, certifies that its
contestants are eligible under the rules of its home state
association.

16.3  An associate member school shall not participate
in a scrimmage or contest with an in-state school that is not a
member in good standing of DSSAA unless the opposing
school complies with the conditions specified in 16.1 16.2.
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However, the opposing school shall be exempt from those
rules which DSSAA has waived for its associate member
school.

16.4  An associate member school shall not participate
in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or non-member
school of another state association unless the opposing
school complies with the conditions specified in 16.2.
However, the opposing school shall be exempt from those
rules which DSSAA has waived for its associate member
school.

16.5  Member schools shall not participate in a practice,
scrimmage, or contest with a non-school sponsored team.

16.6  Member schools shall not participate in a practice,
scrimmage, or contest with college students.

16.6.1  This provision shall not apply to games
played against the alumni or faculty of the school when the
game is sponsored by school authorities.

16.7  A school which participates in a game against an
illegal opponent shall be required to forfeit the contest and
be assessed a $100.00 fine.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

17.0  Codes
17.1  DSSAA is affiliated with the National Federation

of State High School Associations (NFHS).  The playing
codes, sanctions, and other rules of the NFHS are adopted
except as modified by the DSSAA Board of Directors.

17.2  The playing rules of the United States Tennis
Association, the United States Golf Association and the
United States Lacrosse Association are adopted for the
sports of tennis, golf and girls’ lacrosse respectively except
as modified by the DSSAA Board of Directors.

18.0  Conferences
18.1  Member schools may establish voluntary

conference organizations according to the following rules:
18.1.1  Any such organization may be composed of

public and non-public schools.
18.1.2  Any conference so formed must submit its

proposed membership and its constitution and bylaws to the
DSSAA Board of Directors and they must be approved
before the schools may enter into any contractual
agreements.

18.1.2.1  All subsequent amendments to the
constitution and bylaws of the conference must be approved
by the DSSAA Board of Directors compatible with all
provisions of the DSSAA Constitution and Bylaws;
interpretations and rulings of the Executive Director,
Sportsmanship Committee, and Board of Directors; state
tournament regulations; and DSSAA approved playing
codes..

19.0  All-Star Contests
19.1  Junior high/middle school students shall not

participate in an all-star event until they have completed
their high school eligibility in that sport.

20.0  Sponsoring Interscholastic Teams
20.1  Definition of Interscholastic Athletics

20.1.1  Interscholastic competition is defined as any
athletic contest between students representing two (2) or
more schools.  Students are considered to be representing a
school if the school does any of the following:

20.1.1.1  Partially or wholly subsidizes the
activity (providing equipment, uniforms, transportation,
entry fees, etc.).

20.1.1.2  Controls and administers the funds,
regardless of their source, needed to conduct the activity.

20.1.1.3  Permits the students to compete under
the name of the school.

20.1.1.4  Publicizes or promotes the activity
through announcements, bulletins, or school sponsored
publications in excess of what is customarily done for
“outside” organizations.

20.1.1.5  Presents or displays individual/ team
awards.

20.1.2  Members of school clubs who participate in
non-competitive, recreational activities or compete
unattached are not considered to be engaged in
interscholastic competition.

20.2  Sponsorship of Teams
20.2.1  Schools may sponsor teams for

interscholastic competition in a sport provided the following
criteria are met:

20.2.1.1  The governing body of the
participating district or non-public school approves
participation in the sport.  The administrative head of the
school shall notify the Executive Director in writing of the
school’s intent to sponsor a team in a new sport.

20.2.1.2  The governing body of the
participating district or non-public school controls the funds
needed to support the proposed team, regardless of their
source, in the same manner as existing teams (coaches'
salaries, purchase and repair of equipment, medical
supervision, transportation, preparation and maintenance of
practice and game facilities, awards, etc.).  Requests from
outside sources to make financial contributions or to donate
equipment or services must be submitted in writing and must
include an acknowledgement  that the equipment becomes
the property of the school.  The contribution or donation
must be approved in writing by the administrative head of
the school.

20.2.1.3  The participating schools agree to
comply with all applicable DSSAA rules and regulations as
stated in the current DSSAA Official Handbook.

20.3  Levels of Participation
20.3.1  Level 1 or developmental sport - less than

seven (7) participating schools.
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20.3.1.1  All DSSAA rules and regulations
shall not be in effect except 22.0, 23.0, and 29.0.

20.3.1.2  Schools shall not be permitted to
scrimmage or compete against a non-school sponsored team.

20.3.2  Level 2 or recognized sport - seven (7) or
more participating schools.  

20.3.2.1  Participating schools must petition
the DSSAA Board of Directors for official recognition of the
sport.

20.3.2.1  20.3.2.2  At the time of official
recognition, DSSAA shall provide rules publications to the
participating schools, designate an approved officials'
association, conduct an annual or biannual rules clinic for
coaches and officials, and establish a maximum game
schedule.

20.3.2.2 20.3.2.3  All DSSAA rules and
regulations shall be in effect.

20.3.3  Withdrawal of level 2 status
20.3.3.1  If, for two (2) consecutive years, less

than the required number of schools participate in a sport,
DSSAA may withdraw official recognition for a period of
time as determined by the Board of Directors.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

21.0  Certified Coaches
21.1  Only those professional employees certified by the

Department of Education and whose salary is paid by the
State and/or local Board of Education, or in the case of
charter and non-public schools by a similar governing body,
if acceptable as a coach by the governing body, shall coach,
assist in coaching, or direct member school teams in any
district.

21.1.1  The terms of employment must be for the
regular school year and the professional assignment shall be
no less than 1/2 of the school day, exclusive of coaching
duties.

21.2  Emergency coaches
21.2.1  An emergency coach shall be defined as an

individual who is either not certified by the Department of
Education, or is certified by the Department of Education but
is not employed for the school year or whose professional
assignment is less than 1/2 of the school day.

21.2.2  An individual who meets the requirements
of a certified coach as specified in 21.1, but whose
professional assignment is located in a different school or
district than his/her coaching assignment shall not be
considered an emergency coach by DSSAA.

21.2.3  Member schools shall be required to
annually reopen all positions that are held by emergency
coaches.

21.2.4  Emergency coaches may be employed
provided the local governing body adheres to the following
procedures:

21.2.4.1  The employing Board of Education

must attempt to locate an acceptable, certified professional
staff member by advertising the coaching vacancy in the
district for as many days as are required by the district's
collective bargaining agreement.

21.2.4.2  If an acceptable, certified professional
staff member is not available, an individual who is
acceptable to the employing Board of Education may be
hired as an emergency coach.

21.2.4.3  Any individual employed as a coach
under the emergency provision must comply with the
following regulations:

21.2.4.3.1  He/she must be officially
appointed by the local Board of Education.  The
superintendent or his/her designee may temporarily appoint
an individual if a coaching vacancy arises and the sport
season begins during the interim between meetings of the
local Board of Education.

21.2.4.3.2  His/her coaching salary must
be paid exclusively by the local Board of Education.

21.3  Students who are practice teaching in a member
school shall be permitted to assist in all professional
activities during their practice teaching period.

21.4  In addition to the members of the school's regular
coaching staff, who must come from 21.1 through 21.3, the
local governing body may supplement a school's coaching
staff with volunteer coaches. Volunteer coaches are
individuals who donate their services to a school and who
have been approved by that school's local governing body.
A current list of approved volunteer coaches shall be on file
in the school's administrative office before any coaching
duties are assumed.

21.5  All head coaches shall be required to attend the
DSSAA rules clinic for their sport or, if applicable, pass an
open book rules examination supplied by the DSSAA office.

21.5.1  A school shall be assessed a $50.00 fine and
the head coach shall be placed on probation if he/ she fails to
attend the DSSAA rules clinic or pass the open book rules
examination in his/her sport.  Failure to comply for a second
consecutive year shall result in the school being assessed a
$50.00 fine and the coach being suspended for up to five
contests as determined by the Executive Director.

21.6  Beginning with the 2001-02 school year, certified
and emergency coaches at all levels of competition shall be
required to hold a current certification in adult CPR.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

22.0  Sports Seasons and Practices
22.1  The fall sports season shall begin on August 25

and end not later than December 1.
22.2  The winter sports season shall begin 21 days

before the first Friday in December and end not later than
March 1.

22.3  The spring sports season shall begin on March 1
and end not later than the last school day.
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22.4  Practice for any fall sport shall not begin earlier
than August 25.  Practice for any winter sport shall not begin
earlier than 21 days before the first Friday in December and
practice for any spring sport shall not begin earlier than
March 1.

22.4.1  The first three (3) days of football practice
shall be primarily for the purpose of physical conditioning
and shall be restricted to non-contact activities.  Coaches
may introduce offensive formations and defensive
alignments, run plays Aon air,@ practice non-contact phases of
the kicking game, and teach non-contact positional skills.
Protective equipment shall be restricted to helmets,
mouthguards, and shoes.  The use of dummies, hand shields,
and sleds in contact drills is prohibited.  Blocking, tackling,
and block protection drills which involve any contact
between players are also prohibited.

22.5  A school which participates in a game prior to the
first allowable date shall be required to forfeit the contest
and be assessed a $100.00 fine.

22.6  A school which conducts practice prior to the first
allowable date shall be assessed a fine of $100.00 per illegal
practice day.

22.7  A From August 2nd through June 14th, a, certified,
emergency, or volunteer coach shall not be allowed to
provide instruction out of the designated season in his/her
assigned sport to returning members of the teams of the
school at which he/she coaches.

22.7.1  A coach shall not be allowed to participate
on a team in his/her assigned sport with the aforementioned
players.

22.7.2  A coach shall also be prohibited from
officiating contests in his/her assigned sport if the
aforementioned players are participating except in organized
league competition.

22.7.2.1  The league shall not be organized and
conducted by the employing school, the employing school’s
booster club, or the employing school’s coaching staff.

22.7.2.2  The league shall have written rules
and regulations that govern the conduct of contests and
establish the duties of contest officials.

22.7.2.3  The league shall have registration/
entry procedures, forms, and fees; eligibility requirements;
and fixed team rosters, team standings, and a master
schedule of contests.

22.8  A certified, emergency, or volunteer coach shall
not be allowed to provide instruction during the designated
season in his/her assigned sport to current members of the
teams of the school at which he/she coaches outside of
school sponsored practices, scrimmages, and contests.

22.9  A coach who is determined to be in violation of
22.7 and 22.8 shall be suspended from coaching in the
specified sport at any DSSAA member school for up to 180
school days from the date the charge is substantiated.

22.10  From June 15th through August 1st, a certified
emergency or volunteer coach shall be allowed to provide
instruction in his/her assigned sport to returning members of
the varsity or sub-varsity teams of the school at which he/she
coaches.  He/she shall also be permitted to coach rising ninth
graders (eighth if eighth grade is part of the same
administrative unit as 9-12) who participated in his/her
assigned sport at a feeder school.  Instructional contact with
the aforementioned students shall be subject to the following
conditions:

22.10.1  A coach may provide instruction to an
unlimited number of his/her returning school team members
in formal league/tournament competition or in formal
instructional camps/clinics provided the league/tournament
or instructional camp/clinic is organized and conducted by a
non-school affiliated organization.

22.10.2  A coaching staff may provide instruction to a
maximum of two returning school team members per day in
an informal setting.

22.10.2.1  Instructional time shall not exceed two
hours per day per student.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

23.0  Maximum Game Schedules and Designated Sport
Season

23.1  The maximum number of regularly scheduled
interscholastic contests/competition dates for each team and
individual in the recognized sports and their designated
season shall be as follows:

* PLEASE NOTE:  THE TABLE IN THE REGULATION IS

NOT BEING CHANGED AND IS NOT REPRODUCED HERE.

23.2  The preceding game limitations, with the
exception of the individual daily limitation, shall not prohibit
the rescheduling of postponed games at the discretion and
convenience of the member schools involved provided the
game was postponed due to inclement weather, unplayable
field conditions, failure of the assigned officials to appear for
the game, breakdown of the bus or van carrying the visiting
team, or any other circumstances beyond the control of site
management which preclude playing the game.  However, a
team may not participate in more than three (3) contests/
competition dates in a week.

23.3  A student shall participate in a particular sport for
only one season during each academic year.

23.4  A school which participates in more than the
allowable number of contests in a season shall be fined
$200.00.

23.5  A school which exceeds the weekly contest
limitation shall be required to forfeit the contest and be
assessed a $100.00 fine.

23.6  A student who exceeds the weekly or daily contest
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limitation shall be considered an ineligible athlete and the
school subject to the penalties stipulated in 14.0.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

24.0  Practice Sessions
24.1  Member schools shall conduct a minimum of three

(3) weeks of practice under the supervision of the school's
coaching staff prior to the first scheduled contest in all
sports.

24.2  A student shall be required to practice for a period
of at least seven (7) calendar days prior to participating in a
contest.  However, if an eighth-grade student has been
participating in a state tournament during the preceding
sports season and is unable to begin practicing at least seven
(7) calendar days before his/her team's first contest, he/she
shall be exempt from this requirement.

24.3  A practice session shall be defined as any
instructional or conditioning activity on the field, court, mat,
or track or in the pool, weight room, or classroom such as
team meetings, film reviews, chalkboard sessions, warmup
and cool down exercises, drills, and mandatory strength
training, etc.

24.3.1  All activities shall be under the supervision
of a certified, emergency, or approved volunteer coach.

24.4  Practice sessions shall be limited to two (2) hours
on official school days.

24.4.1  Split sessions may be conducted, but
practice time shall not exceed two (2) hours for any
individual athlete.

24.4.2  The two-hour practice limitation does not
include time for non-instructional activities such as dressing,
showering, transportation, or training room care.

24.5  A school which deliberately exceeds the two-hour
practice limitation shall be assessed a $100.00 fine.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

25.0  Awards
25.1  A member school and/or support group affiliated

with a member school, such as an alumni association or
booster club, shall be allowed to present recognition awards
for team and/or individual accomplishments.

25.1.1  The awards, including artwork and lettering,
shall require the approval of the administrative head of the
school and their value shall be mostly symbolic.

25.1.2  Permissible awards include trophies,
plaques, medals, letters, certificates, photographs, and
similar items.  Jackets, sweaters, shirts, watches, rings,
charms and similar items if properly inscribed (reference to
the team or individual accomplishment) are also acceptable.

25.1.3  Member schools and such support groups
shall also be permitted to sponsor banquets.

25.2  A non-profit group such as a coaches association,
booster club not affiliated with a member school, or
community service organization shall be allowed to present

recognition awards for team and/or individual
accomplishments with the approval of the administrative
head of the school.

25.2.1  The awards shall have symbolic value only.
Awards with utilitarian value are prohibited.

25.2.2  Non-profit groups shall also be permitted to
sponsor team banquets.

25.3  Commercial organizations shall be allowed to
present recognition awards for team and/or individual
accomplishments with the approval of the administrative
head of the school.

25.3.1  The awards shall have symbolic value only.
Awards with utilitarian value are prohibited.  The aggregate
retail value of the award shall not exceed $50.00 per team or
per recipient.

25.4  Non-symbolic competition awards (based on
team’s or individual’s place finish), regardless of sponsor,
shall have an aggregate retail value not to exceed $50.00 per
recipient and shall require the prior approval of the
Executive Director.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

26.0  Boxing
Member schools shall not participate in interscholastic

boxing.

27.0  Protests and Complaints
All protests and complaints brought before DSSAA

shall be in writing and shall be acted on only after the
administrative head of the school involved has been given an
opportunity to appear before the Board of Directors.

28.0  Wrestling Weight Control Code
28.1  Each year, four (4) weeks from the first day he/she

appears at practice, a wrestler must establish his/ her
minimum weight class at a weigh-in witnessed by and
attested to in writing by the athletic director or a designated
staff member (excluding coaches) of the school the wrestler
attends.  Thereafter, a wrestler may not compete in a weight
class below his duly established weight class.

28.2  The weight classifications shall be as follows:
76 lbs. 100 lbs. 124 lbs. 148 lbs.
82 lbs. 106 lbs. 130 lbs. 155 lbs.
88 lbs. 112 lbs. 136 lbs. 165 lbs.
94 lbs. 118 lbs. 142 lbs. 250 lbs.

               (minimum  weight 164 lbs.)
28.3  With the exception of the above weight

classifications, the current edition of the NFHS Wrestling
Rules Book shall apply.

28.4  By the end of four (4) weeks of practice, a certified
team roster listing the established minimum weight class of
each wrestler shall be sent to the Executive Director of
DSSAA.  Further, duly attested notices of additions to the
certified roster shall be sent to the Executive Director
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without delay.
28.5  Schools which desire to conduct their wrestling

program at a time other than the season specified in 23.1
must request permission from the Executive Director.

28.5.1  A team which begins its season in October
shall receive a one-pound growth allowance in November
and an additional pound in December.  A team which begins
its season in November shall receive a one-pound growth
allowance in December, an additional pound in January, and
a third pound in February.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

29.0  Use of Officials
29.1  Member schools and tournament sponsors shall be

required to use officials approved by DSSAA for
interscholastic contests.

29.1.1  In the case of emergencies such as an act of
God, refusal by an official’s association to work games, or a
shortage of qualified officials, schools which desire to use
other than approved officials must obtain permission from
the Executive Director.

29.2  Officials shall be required each year to attend the
DSSAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the rules
examination provided by the DSSAA office for the sport(s)
they officiate.

29.2.1  Failure on the part of an official to attend the
DSSAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the rules
examination in the same season shall cause the official to be
placed on probation and to lose his/her eligibility to officiate
in a state tournament contest during that season.

29.2.2  Failure to satisfy both requirements in the
same season for two (2) consecutive years shall cause the
official to lose varsity officiating status during the second
season.  Failure to fulfill this obligation in subsequent years
shall cause the official to continue to be restricted to
subvarsity contests until both requirements have been
satisfied in the same season.

29.2.3  Attending the fall soccer rules interpretation
clinic shall satisfy the clinic attendance requirement for both
the boys’ and girls’ soccer seasons.  Attending the spring
soccer rules interpretation clinic shall satisfy the clinic
attendance requirement for only the girls’ soccer season.

29.2.4  If, for a legitimate reason which is
documented by the president of his/her association, an
official is unable to attend the DSSAA rules interpretation
clinic, he/she may view a videotape of the DSSAA clinic or,
in the absence of a videotape, attend a clinic conducted by
another NFHS member state association provided the
following procedures are observed:

29.2.4.1  No later than the day of the DSSAA
rules interpretation clinic, the president of the association
notifies the Executive Director, in writing, of the official's
inability to attend the clinic.

29.2.4.2  The out-of-state clinic is conducted

by an individual either trained by the NFHS or designated as
a clinician by the state's athletic association.

29.2.4.3  The official arranges for a letter to be
sent to the Executive Director from the state's athletic
association office verifying his/her attendance at the clinic.

29.3  Use of non-approved officials without permission
from the Executive Director shall result in the school or
tournament sponsor being assessed a $50.00 fine per non-
approved official.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

30.0 Out of Season Athletic Camp and Clinic
Sponsorship

30.1  DSSAA does not restrict a student’s decision to
attend an out of season  athletic camp/clinic.  However,
schools, school organizations, coaches, or school related
groups, such as booster clubs, may not sponsor an athletic
camp/clinic which limits membership to their own district,
locale, or teams.  Coaches employed by an out of season
athletic camp/clinic may not only instruct their own athletes
as per 22.7 in accordance with 22.10.

30.2  School related groups, such as booster clubs,
which desire to sponsor the attendance of their school's
enrolled students at out of season athletic camp/clinic, may
do so with the approval of the local school board or
governing body.  The disbursement of funds to pay for
camp/clinic related expenses (fees, travel costs, etc.) shall be
administered by the principal or his/her designee and the
funds shall be allocated according to the following
guidelines:

30.2.1  All students and team members shall be
notified of the available sponsorship by announcement,
publication, etc.

30.2.2  All applicants shall share equally in the
funds provided.

30.2.3  All applicants shall be academically eligible
to participate in interscholastic athletics.

30.2.4  All applicants shall have one year of prior
participation in the sport for which the camp is intended or,
absent any prior participation, he/she shall be judged by the
coach to benefit substantially from participation in the camp/
clinic.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

31.0  Sanctions – School Team Competition
31.1  Member schools may participate in tournaments/

meets involving four (4) or more schools only if the event
has been sanctioned by DSSAA and, if applicable, by the
NFHS. Tournaments/meets shall be sanctioned in
accordance with the following criteria:

31.1.1  The event shall not be for determining a
regional or national champion.

31.1.2  The event shall be organized, promoted, and
conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit organization.
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Involvement by a commercial organization shall be limited
to providing financial support.

31.1.3  Nonsymbolic competition awards shall have
a value of not more than $50.00 per recipient and shall
require the prior approval of the Executive Director.

31.1.4  Non-school event organizers shall submit a
full financial report to the DSSAA office within ninety (90)
calendar days of the completion of the event.

31.1.5  The event organizer shall submit a list of
out-of-state schools which have been invited to participate
and such schools shall be subject to approval by the
Executive Director.

31.1.6  Out-of-state schools which are not members
of their state athletic association shall verify in writing that
their participating athletes are in compliance with their state
athletic association’s eligibility rules and regulations. 

31.1.7  The event organizer shall not accept
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco
products.

31.1.8  The event organizer shall comply with all
applicable NFHS sanctioning requirements.

31.2  Participation in a non-sanctioned event shall result
in the offending school being assessed a $25.00 fine.  A
second offense shall result in a $50.00 fine and loss of
eligibility to participate in sanctioned events for the
remainder of the sport season.  A third offense shall result in
a $100.00 fine and loss of eligibility to participate in
sanctioned events for the remainder of the school year.

32.0  Coed Teams
32.1  If a school sponsors a boys' team and a girls' team

in a particular sport, boys shall participate on the boys' team
and girls shall participate on the girls' team even if the teams
compete during different seasons.

32.1.1  A student shall participate in a particular
sport for only one season during each academic year.

32.2  If a school sponsors only a boys' team in a
particular sport, girls shall be permitted to participate on the
boys' team.

32.3  If a school sponsors only a girls' team in a
particular sport, boys shall not be permitted to participate on
the girls' team.

33.0  Non-School Instructional Camps and Clinics
33.1  A student may participate in a commercial camp or

clinic, including private lessons, both during and out of the
designated sport season provided the following conditions
are observed:

33.1.1  The student must participate unattached and
may not wear school uniforms.

33.1.2  The student may use only school equipment
whose primary purpose is to protect the wearer from
physical injury.

33.1.3  The school may not provide transportation
or pay fees.

33.1.4  The school coach may not require his/her
athletes to participate in a camp or clinic or provide
instruction to his/her returning athletes in a camp or clinic.

See 4 DE Reg. 1951 (6/1/01)

34.0  Open Gym Programs
34.1  A member school may open its gymnasium or

other facility for informal, recreational activities in
accordance with the following provisions:

34.1.1  The open gym must be available to all
interested students, must not be restricted to members of a
particular team, and must be publicized as such.

34.1.2  Student participation must be voluntary and
the open gym must not be a prerequisite for trying out for a
particular team.

34.1.3  The activities must be unstructured and
student-generated.  Organized drills in the skills or
techniques of a particular sport are prohibited.  Organized
competition with fixed team rosters is also prohibited.

34.1.3.1  A coach may not predetermine that
the open gym will include only his/her sport and publicize
the open gym as being restricted to that sport.  It is the
responsibility of the adult supervisor to permit as many
different activities as the facility can effectively and safely
accommodate.

34.1.4  A coach may open the facility and distribute
playing equipment but may not instruct, officiate,
participate, organize the activities, or choose teams in his/
her assigned sport.

34.1.5  Playing equipment is restricted to that which
is customarily used in a contest in a particular sport.  Playing
equipment which is only used in a practice session is
prohibited.

34.1.6  The participants must provide their own
workout clothing.

35.0  Conditioning Programs
35.1  A member school may conduct a conditioning

program in accordance with the following provisions:
35.1.1  The conditioning program must be available

to all interested students, must not be restricted to members
of a particular team, and must be publicized as such.

35.1.2  Student participation must be voluntary.
The conditioning program must not be a prerequisite for
trying out for a particular team.

35.1.3  Permissible activities include stretching,
lifting weights, jumping rope, running, calisthenics,
aerobics, and similar generic conditioning activities.
Organized drills in the skills or techniques of a particular
sport are prohibited.

35.1.4  A coach may not provide instruction in sport
specific skills or techniques.
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35.1.5  Sport specific equipment is prohibited.
35.1.6  The participants must provide their own

workout clothing.

36.0  Additional Penalties
Additional penalties may be imposed by the

Executive Director or the DSSAA Board of Directors for
repeat offenses or as deemed necessary to ensure the proper
conduct of interscholastic competition.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 

Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) /
Division of Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance
Program is proposing to amend Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan to cover non-emergency transportation as an
administrative expense, as permitted by federal regulations,
except for emergency ambulance coverage, which will
remain unchanged.

Title of Proposed Regulation

Transportation as an Administrative Expense

Amending the Following State Plan Pages

Attachment 3.1-A, Page 9 Addendum, Amount,
Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care and
Services Provided to the Categorically Needy, Limitations

Attachment 3.1-D, Methods of Providing
Transportation

Attachment 4.19-B, Page 2, Methods and Standards for
Establishing Payment Rates, Other Types of Care,
Transportation Services

Basis

42 CFR 431.53 states that the Medicaid State Plan must
ensure necessary transportation for clients to and from

providers of medical services.  The State Plan must also
describe the state's methods that meet this requirement.

42 CFR 440.170(a) states that if other arrangements are
made to assure transportation, under Section 431.53, then
federal financial participation (FFP) is available as an
administrative cost.

Purpose

This regulatory change will permit the Division of
Social Services (DSS) to contract with a qualified
transportation broker to authorize, arrange and reimburse
necessary transportation statewide. This regulatory action is
essential to protect the safety and welfare of clients because
it will ensure that clients are able to reach their doctors' and
other health care providers' offices for appointments in the
most expedient manner possible.

These services are for eligible clients to receive
transportation services to and from medical services under
the Medicaid Program and the Chronic Renal Disease
Program.  The Division of Social Services (DSS)
administers the Chronic Renal Disease Program (CRDP).
This program assists residents of Delaware, diagnosed with
End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD), who are either on dialysis
or have received a kidney transplant.  Services include, but
are not limited to reimbursement of transportation to and
from a dialysis unit or transplant hospital.  This program is
100% State-funded.

Overview

Medicaid programs are federally required to cover
transportation by one of two methods to ensure that
Medicaid clients have access to covered medical services.
Federal Regulations at both 42 CFR 431.53 and 440.170(a)
permit this coverage in either of two ways at the state's
discretion: as an administrative service or as an optional
medical service.  There is no difference in federal medical
assistance percentage (FMAP) for transportation costs
claimed as an administrative expense.  The most significant
difference between these two alternatives is the amount of
service coordination and management that is permitted by 42
CFR 431.53.

The Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP)
currently covers transportation as a medical service, which
means that transportation is covered in comparable manner
to physician, pharmacy, and other medical services.  Under
this arrangement, Medicaid clients have freedom of choice
of transportation providers.  As defined under federal
regulations, this means that clients may select among
transportation providers enrolled with DMAP for each trip to
a medical service.  The current transportation coverage has
been subject to the misuse and even abuse by clients and
transportation providers.  DMAP has knowledge of the
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following:  (i) clients taking trips to non medical services
(child care and recreational, for example); (ii) many single
passenger trips were multiple passenger trips could be
coordinated instead; (iii) billing for escorts not needed; (iv)
trip mileage being billed to DMAP which is higher than the
actual mileage incurred; and, (v) billings for trips that did not
occur.

By claiming transportation as an administrative expense
instead of a medical service, the state will no longer give
clients a choice of transportation providers.  This
administrative approach will allow for the extensive
coordination of trips and appropriate use of DMAP
expenditures. The contractor will coordinate trips, reimburse
transportation providers for services, and employ
accountability measures to help ensure effective utilization
of expenditures.  The contractor will be able to manage
transportation to ensure that it is only to medical services,
that the type of transportation is suitable to the medical needs
of the client, that closer medical providers are given
consideration in planning trips, and that reported trip
mileage is accurate.

On May 13 and 20, 2002, DMAP advertised and issued
a request-for-proposals (RFP) solicitation for non-
emergency transportation services, which is based on these
regulatory changes.  The RFP addresses transportation needs
of eligible Medicaid and Chronic Renal Disease Program
clients.  DMAP is seeking a broker statewide for all three
counties.  The broker will receive requests for transportation
from Medicaid and Chronic Renal Disease Program (CRDP)
clients in New Castle County, Kent County and Sussex
County and perform screening of clients such as confirming
that the clients are Medicaid or CRDP eligible and the trips
are to medical services, then arrange for the transportation
and pay the transportation providers.  The deadline for
bidders under the RFP to submit proposals is June 7, 2002.
DMAP anticipates implementation of this project on October
1, 2002; however, this is contingent on final approval of this
regulatory package.

Cost-Sharing

DSS may establish cost-sharing (co-payments) when
non-emergency transportation services are received.

The purpose of cost-sharing is to promote more efficient
and cost-effective utilization of services and to encourage
clients to assume some financial responsibility for their
transportation needs.

Certain individuals are exempt from cost-sharing
requirements by federal regulations.

Benefits to Clients

The benefits to clients are expected to be their easier
access to services in a more reliable, dependable manner.

This transportation service coordination will also provide
clients with an improved quality of services including a
complaint mechanism when transportation providers fail to
keep appointments or provide less than satisfactory service. 

Family Impact Statement

This regulatory action will not have any negative affects
on the institution of the family or family stability. It will not
discourage economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, or the
assumption of family responsibilities.  It will discourage the
use of transportation services for shopping and other non-
medical reasons.

The family can expect an improved quality of
transportation services.  Medicaid and CRDP clients will
need to make just one call to the broker to have a trip
arranged.  The broker will determine the least expensive
mode of transportation available that is appropriate to the
medical needs of the client.  DSS will be holding the broker
accountable in such areas as vehicle condition, driver
qualifications, and client satisfaction surveys.  There will
also be a complaint tracking system. 

Funding Source/Affected Entities

The Delaware Medicaid Program is established under
the authority of the Title XIX of the federal Social Security
Act, Public Law 89-97, as amended.  DMAP is funded with
both federal and state funds.  The current federal medical
assistance percentage (FMAP) for medical assistance
expenditures is 50.00%, which became effective October 1,
2001.  This rate will remain the same on October 1, 2002.

The Chronic Renal Disease Program is established by
the Delaware Legislature under the authority of Title 29,
Chapter 79, Subchapter 11, and Sections 7932-7935. CRDP
is 100% State funded.

The broker is to develop an adequate network of local
transportation providers similar to what is found currently
for Medicaid and CRDP clients.  Depending on how
competitively current providers are able to provide
transportation, the broker may or may not choose to contract
with them.  Therefore, some current providers may
experience a reduction in revenue derived from Medicaid
and CRDP transportation.

The changes as a result of this regulatory package will
in general affect all non-emergency transportation providers
(approximately 78 non-emergency transportation providers
billed for services during the period January - March 2002)
and all eligible Medicaid clients (which totaled 111,989 for
March 2002). Medicaid clients contacting transportation
providers directly for a ride to medical appointments (for
example, to an office visit with a physician) will no longer
occur. An adequate network of transportation providers will
still be needed to ensure access to services that are consistent
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with efficiency, economy and quality of service. 
In Fiscal Year 2001, DMAP reimbursed approximately

$7,000,000 for non-emergency transportation services to
Medicaid clients. This reimbursement is a significant
increase of approximately 26% from Fiscal Year 2000 while
the number of persons eligible for Medicaid increased by
only approximately 8.6% during the same time period.

Other states that have utilized transportation brokerage

methods have reported savings in excess of 15%.1

Additionally, a 1997 Office of Inspector General (OIG)
study found that "in addition to saving money, brokerages
were also effective in controlling fraud and abuse by both
providers and beneficiaries, and that they promoted the use

of the least costly transportation modes and providers."2

This action does not affect clients in the following
programs as they are not eligible for transportation services:
Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) Program, Specified
Low-Income Beneficiary (SLMB) Program, Qualifying
Individuals (QI) Program, Qualified Disabled and Working
Individuals (QDWI) Program and, the Delaware Healthy
Children Program (DCHP).

Prior to implementation, clients and providers will be
notified about the transportation changes.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by June 30, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Revisions to the Title XIX
Medicaid State Plan

This regulatory action proposes to cover Medicaid
transportation as an administrative expense as permitted by
federal regulations, instead of as a medical expense.  This
would apply to non-emergency transportation services only.

This change will permit the coordination of trips and is
intended to help the Division of Social Services better
manage the transportation program by controlling
expenditures, providing more efficient and effective
services, and preventing fraud and abuse.

TITLE XIX MEDICAID STATE PLAN
STATE OF DELAWARE 

Amount, Duration, And Scope Of Medical And Remedial 
Care And Services Provided To The Categorically Needy, 

Limitations
ATTACHMENT 3.1-A

Page 9 Addendum

LIMITATIONS

24.a Transportation
Transportation is only reimbursed to and from medical

care that is covered under the Delaware Medicaid Program.
Transportation for medical services is provided in two

ways:
(a) Emergency transportation as an optional

medical service.
(b) Non-Emergency transportation as an

administrative service through contractual broker
arrangements.

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX UNDER THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT ESTABLISHMENT AND 

MAINTENANCE OF STATE AND FEDERAL 
STANDARDS

STATE OF DELAWARE
ATTACHMENT 3.1-B D

METHODS OF PROVIDING TRANSPORTATION

Transportation is provided by means of agreements with
qualified providers.  Transportation requires prior
authorization, which is provided by the employment of one
or more transportation coordinators in each region of the
state.  Transportation is provided to and from sources of
medical care payable under Title XIX.

Transportation is covered as administrative service
through a broker system.

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

STATE OF DELAWARE
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING 

PAYMENT RATES OTHER TYPES OF CARE

1.  "Managing Medicaid Transportation: Innova-
tive Service Delivery Models under State Med-
icaid Managed Care Programs," David Raphael,
Community Transportation Association of
America for Center for Health Care Strategies,
August 1998.

2.  "Controlling Medicaid Non-Emergency Trans-
portation Costs," Office of the Inspector Gen-
eral, U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services, April 1997.
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 2

Transportation Services are reimbursed as follows:
1. Ambulance companies are paid a flat rate for any

trip up to the first 10 miles and an additional amount for each
additional mile.

2. DAST is reimbursed a negotiated rate.
3. Non-emergency medical transportation providers

are reimbursed a regional base rate for each client plus a
universal rate per mile.  Delaware Medicaid will pay a
differential rate added to the base rate for service provided
between 6 PM and 6 AM on weekdays and 24 hours on
weekends and State recognized holidays.  Delaware
Medicaid will pay a differential rate added to the base rate
for transportation service provided in a vehicle equipped
with a wheelchair lift required and occupied by a non-
ambulatory client.  

4. Non-emergency medical transportation by taxi is
reimbursed at the metered rate.  Taxi providers may be
reimbursed for rideshare participants in addition to their
usual and customary fee.

The broker is reimbursed a monthly capitated rate for
each Medicaid client residing in the State.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 

Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Delaware’s A Better Chance Welfare Reform Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) /
Division of Social Services / Delaware's A Better Chance
Welfare Reform Program is proposing to implement policy
changes to the following sections of the Division of Social
Services Manual: 3008 and 3012.  DSS is initiating
proceedings to amend policies regarding children over 16
years of age, including teen parents who are dependent
children.  These changes are necessitated by the loss of the
Division's contract for teen programs.  The "Stay In School"
contract ends June 30, 2002 and the proposed changes
indicate what teen parents are expected to do now that
service is no longer available.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must

submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by June 30, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

3008 Eligibility of Certain Minors
A. Babies Born to Teen Parents

This policy applies to both applicants and recipients
not covered by family cap rules.

Babies born after December 31, 1998 to a teenage
parent are not eligible for cash assistance (DABC and GA)
unless the parent is:

· married; or
· at least eighteen (18) years of age.

An emancipated minor is considered an adult and
therefore, the baby would be eligible for cash assistance.  If
both parents live in the home, both parents must be at least
eighteen (18) years of age or married for the baby to be
eligible.  

Babies not receiving cash assistance are eligible for
all other DSS services and programs including food stamps,
grant-related Medicaid, and Welfare Reform child care.  In
lieu of cash assistance, the Division may provide non-cash
assistance services. 

Determining financial eligibility and grant amounts
for an assistance unit, which contains a child (ren), affected
by this provision:

The child(ren) is/are included when determining the
assistance unit’s need for assistance.  The child(ren)’s
income and resources are included when determining the
assistance unit’s income and resources.  The child(ren) is/are
not included when determining the payment standard for the
assistance unit.

Exception:
This restriction will not apply when: 
· the child is conceived as a result of incest

or sexual assault; or
· the child does not reside with his/her

parents. 
Three Generation Households:

In a three (3) generation household, the
grandparent could receive benefits for him/herself and for
the teen parent but not for the child of the teen parent.  This
means that there is not grandparent deeming in these cases.

The services that non-cash assistance will provide
are as follows:

DSS will offer non-cash assistance to these families
after their request for cash assistance has been denied.  The
purpose of the voucher program is so the caretaker can
purchase necessary items for the child denied benefits due to
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the parent being unmarried and a minor.  Necessary items
may include formula, if the minor parent and child are not
WIC eligible, diapers, baby wipes, clothing.  This is not an
all-inclusive list.  Items covered by Medicaid are not
eligible.  A determination of need is to be completed by the
contracted vendor.  Though a baby may receive these
services in subsequent months the service ends when the
parent either marries or turns eighteen.

A monthly voucher is to be no more than $69.  The
primary caseworker will explain that the family could
receive a monthly voucher that may cover more than one
month, but shall not exceed $207, the amount of three
months of Delaware’s A Better Chance Welfare Reform
Program grant awarded to children born before January 1,
1999.  When a customer receives a monthly voucher greater
that $69, the customer will be ineligible to receive services
as follows:

For the following month when the voucher is
between $70 and $138.

For the following two months when the
voucher is between $139 and $207.

The primary caseworker will make the initial
referral for the non-cash assistance to the contracted vendor.
Referrals will include the name and Social Security number
of the adult caretaker and the minor parent, the name and
date of birth of the baby, the address, a phone number for
contacting the family and DCIS II case number.  The adult
caretaker will contact the vendor if there is a need for
services in subsequent months.  The case record will be
documented when a referral for this program is made to a
contracted vendor.

Provide families referred for this service with the
appropriate vendor address and telephone number.

B. Family Cap 
Required Individuals
No additional DABC cash benefits will be issued

due to the birth of a child, if the birth occurs more than ten
(10) calendar months after:

· the date of application for DABC; or
· for active cases, the date of the first

redetermination after October 1, 1995.
While no additional DABC cash benefits will

be issued for the child(ren), the child(ren) will be considered
an DABC recipient for all other purposes, including
Medicaid coverage, Welfare Reform child care, other
supportive services and food stamp benefits.

NOTE: Children born prior to the periods
identified above who return or enter the household are not
included in this restriction.

Exceptions
The family cap restrictions will not apply in the

following cases:
· to an additional child conceived as a

result of incest or sexual assault; or

· to a child who does not reside with his
or her parent; or

· to a child that was conceived in a
month the assistance unit (i.e., the entire family) was not
receiving DABC.  This does not apply in cases that close due
to being sanctioned.  

Determining financial eligibility and grant amounts
for an assistance unit, which contains child (ren), affected by
the family cap provision.

· The child(ren) is/are included when
determining the assistance unit's need for assistance.  The
child(ren)'s income and resources is/are included when
determining the assistance unit's income and resources.  The
child(ren) is/are not included when determining the payment
standard for the assistance unit.  

C. Minor Teen Parents
Teen parents are required to attend either: a).

elementary; b). secondary; c). post-secondary; d).
vocational; e). training school, f) a GED program or g) work.
(Refer to DSSM 3012.3, DSSM 3012.4, and DSSM 3012.5)
to be able to receive TANF/DABC. 

3012.1 Sanctions for Unsatisfactory School Attendance
CHILDREN AGE 16 AND OLDER, INCLUDING

TEEN PARENTS WHO ARE DEPENDENT CHILDREN.
The fiscal sanction for noncompliance, without good

cause, with school attendance, including dropping out of
school or alternative participation requirements in work will
be:

A reduction of $68.00 in ABC which represents the
teen’s portion of the grant. 

If the parent or caretaker is not cooperating with school
officials or other agencies, as appropriate, to remedy the
situation, an additional $68.00 reduction in ABC will be
imposed.

Teens who drop out of school will be immediately
referred to Employment and Training staff for appropriate
participation. They will be expected to participate as directed
in order for their need to be restored to the grant.  can only
have their need restored to the grant if they participate in
work or agree to re-enroll in school. So for teens to be in
satisfactory compliance with school attendance
requirements, they will either have to remain in school or, if
not, they must be working. DSS staff will not refer teens to
Employment and Training contractors. 

3012.3 Teen Parent up to age 18 Education/Training
Requirements

Teen parents are required to attend either a). elementary,
b). secondary, c). post-secondary, d). vocational, or e).
training school, participate in a GED program or work.   
3012.4 Sanction for not meeting Teen Parent Education/
Training requirement

A reduction of $68.00 in DABC.
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3012.5 Curing Teen Parent Education/Training Sanction
The sanction will end when either the Teen Parent re-

enrolls in school or GED program, or participates in work.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 

Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Food Stamp
Program is proposing to implement policy changes to the
following sections of the Division of Social Services Manual
related to resources:  9046, 9048, 9049, and 9051.  These
changes are based on the Federal Final Rules of Food Stamp
Program:  Noncitizen Eligibility and Certification Provisions
of Public Law 104-193, as Amended by Public Laws 104-
208, 105-33, 105-185.

SUMMARY OF CHANGES

Even though DSS does not generally count resources for
the Food Stamp population, the resources of any individual
disqualified for intentional Program violation (IPV)
sanctions must be counted and therefore, reflected in the
manual.

DSSM 9046 - Definition of Resources
•  Refers the deeming of resources for sponsored aliens
to another section.
DSSM 9048 - Inaccessible Resources
• Allows vehicles to be considered an inaccessible
resource if the vehicle cannot be sold or disposed of for
a significant return of $1,500 or more.
DSSM 9049 - Resources Excluded for Food Stamp

Purposes
• Food and Nutrition Services (FNS) simplified the
language for excluding energy payments.
• Resources excluded for those households who are
deemed categorically eligible due to the extended
eligibility.
DSSM 9051 - Licenses Vehicles
• FNS revised the language regarding vehicles for
readability and add some clarifications.
• Allows vehicles to be covered under the
inaccessible rules if the return after selling is less than

$1,500.
• Exempts from the equity test any vehicle driven to
and from school, employment or training by a
household member under 18.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by June 30, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

9046  Definition of Resources
3. For households containing sponsored aliens (as

defined in DSSM 9081 ) resources will also include that
portion of the resources of an alien's sponsor and the
sponsor's spouse (if living with the sponsor) which have
been deemed to be those of the alien in accordance with the
procedures established in DSSM 9081, unless the sponsored
alien is otherwise exempt from this provision in accordance
with DSSM 9081.3 .

For a household containing a sponsored alien, deem
the resources of the sponsor and the sponsor_s spouse
according to DSSM 9081.

9048  Inaccessible Resources
[273.8]

Resources that cannot be sold or disposed of for a
significant return shall be identified as inaccessible.  Any
resource, except licensed vehicles, can be considered
inaccessible if its sale or other disposition is unlikely to
produce any significant amount of funds for the support of
the household.  This means the household is unlikely to be
able to sell the resource for any significant return because the
household's interest is relatively slight or because the cost of
selling the household's interest would be greater than the
value of the resource.

An example of an inaccessible resource is heir property
where the heirs inherit individual fractional interests in a
decedent's property.  The value of the fractional interest in
the property may be less than the cost of selling the property.
Therefore, it can be considered inaccessible to the
household.

The determination of whether any part of the value of a
vehicle is included as a resource must be made in accordance
to DSSM 9051.

A significant return shall be any return, after estimated
costs of sale or disposition, and taking into account the
ownership interest of the household, that DSS determines are
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more than $1,500. is estimated to be one half or more of the
applicable resource limit for the household ($1000 or $1,500
if at least one member is aged 60 or older).

Any significant amount of funds shall be funds
amounting to more than $1,500.00. one half or more of the
applicable resource limit for the household.

Verify the value of a resource to be excluded only if the
information provided by the household is questionable.

This inaccessible resource provision does not apply to
vehicles or negotiable financial instruments such as stocks
and bonds.

9049  Resources Excluded for Food Stamp Purposes
[273.8(e)]

In determining the resources of a household, only the
following will be excluded:

1. The home and surrounding property which is not
separated from the home by intervening property owned by
others.  A public right of way, such as roads which run
through surrounding property and separate it from the home,
will not affect the exemption of the home.  The home and
surrounding property will remain exempt when temporarily
unoccupied for reasons of employment, training for future
employment, illness, vacation, or inhabitability caused by
casualty or natural disaster, if the household intends to
return.  Households that currently do not own a home, but
own or are purchasing a lot on which they intend to build or
are building a permanent home, will have the value of the lot
and, if it is partially completed, the value of the home
excluded.

2. Household goods, personal effects, the cash value
of life insurance policies, one burial plot per household
member, and the value of one bona fide funeral agreement
per household member, provided that the agreement does not
exceed $1,500 in equity value.  If the equity value of the
funeral agreement exceeds $1,500, the value above $1,500 is
counted as a resource.  The cash value of pension plans or
funds will be excluded, except that Keogh plans which
involve no contractual relationship with individuals who are
not household members and individual retirement accounts
(IRA's) will not be excluded.

3. Licensed vehicles per DSSM 9051.
4. Property which annually produces income

consistent with its fair market value, even if used only on a
seasonal basis.  Such property includes rental homes and
vacation homes.

5. Property or work-related equipment essential to the
employment of a household member.  Property such as farm
land or work-related equipment such as the tools of a
tradesman or the machinery of a farmer, which is essential to
the employment or self-employment of a household
member.  Property essential to the self-employment of a
household member engaged in farming continues to be
excluded for one year from the date the household member

terminates their self-employment from farming.
6. Installment contracts for the sale of land or other

property are exempt if the contract or agreement is
producing income consistent with its fair market value and
the value of any property sold under contract or held as
security in exchange for a purchase price consistent with the
fair market value of that property.

7. Governmental payments which are designated for
the restoration of a home damaged in a disaster.  For
example, governmental payments made under the Individual
and Family Grant program or the Small Business
Administration.  The household must be subject to a legal
sanction if the funds are not used as intended.

8. Resources such as but not limited to, irrevocable
trust funds, security deposits on rental property or utilities,
property in probate and property which the household is
making a good faith effort to sell at a reasonable price and
which has not been sold.  In such cases, establish that the
property is for sale and that the household will accept a
reasonable offer.  Verification may be obtained through a
collateral contact or documentation, such as an
advertisement for public sale in a newspaper of general
circulation, or a listing with a real estate broker.  Any funds
in trust or transferred to a trust, and the income produced by
the trust to the extent it is not available to the household, will
be considered inaccessible to the household if:

a) The trust arrangement is not likely to cease
during the certification period and no household member has
the power to revoke the trust arrangement or change the
name of the beneficiary during the certification period;

b) The trustee administering the fund is either:
1) A court, or an institution, corporation, or

organization which is not under the direction or ownership of
any household member, or 

2) An individual appointed by the court who
has court imposed limitations placed on his/her use of the
funds which meet the requirements of this paragraph.

c) Trust investments made on behalf of the trust
do not directly involve or assist any business or corporation
under the control, direction or influence of a household
member; and

d) The funds held in irrevocable trust are either:  
1) Established from the households' own

funds, if the trustee uses the funds solely to make
investments on behalf of the trust or to pay the educational or
medical expenses of any person named by the household
creating the trust, or

2) Established from non-household funds by
a non-household member.

9. Resources, such as those of students or self-
employed persons which have been prorated as income
under DSSM 9063.3 and DSSM 9074.

10. Indian lands held jointly with the Tribe or land that
can be sold only with the approval of the Bureau of Indian
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Affairs; and
11. Resources which are excluded for food stamp

purposes by express provision of Federal law, such as:
a) Benefits received from the Special

Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and
Children, (WIC) (P.L. 92-443).

b) Reimbursements from the Uniform Relocation
Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policy Act of 1970
(P.L. 91-646).

c) Earned income tax credits received before
January 1, 1980, as a result of P.L. 95-600, Tax Revenue Act
of 1978.

d) Payments received from the Youth Incentive
Entitlement Pilot Projects, the Youth Community
Conservation and Improvement Programs under Title IV of
the Comprehensive Employment and Training Act
Amendment of 1978 (P.L. 95-524). 

12. Earned Income tax credits are excluded as follows:
A Federal Earned Income tax credit received either

as a lump sum or as payments under Section 3507 of the
Internal Revenue Code for the month of receipt and the
following month for the individual and that individual's
spouse.

Any Federal, State or local earned income tax credit
received by any household member shall be excluded for 12
months, provided that the household was participating in the
Food Stamp Program at the time of receipt of the earned
income tax credit and provided the household participates
continuously during that 12-month period. Breaks in
participation of one month or less due to administrative
reasons, such as delayed recertification, shall not be
considered as nonparticipating in determining the 12-month
exclusion.

13. Where an exclusion applies because of the use of a
resource by or for a household member, the exclusion will
also apply when the resource is being used by or for an
ineligible alien or disqualified person whose resources are
being counted as part of the household's resources.  For
example, work-related equipment essential to the
employment of an ineligible alien or disqualified person will
be excluded [in accordance with DSSM 9049(5)], as will one
burial plot per ineligible alien or disqualified household
member [in accordance with DSSM 9049(2)]. 

14. Payments or allowances made under any Federal,
State or local laws for the purpose of energy assistance.
These payments or allowances must be clearly identified as
energy assistance by the legislative body authorizing the
program or providing the funds.

Among the Federal payments that would be
excluded are energy assistance payments provided through
the Department of Health and Human Services Low-Income
Energy Assistance Program and the Community Service
Administration's Energy Crisis Assistance and Crisis
Intervention Programs.  Energy assistance payments or

allowances excluded as income under DSSM 9059 K.
15. Non-liquid asset(s) against which a lien has been

placed as a result of taking out a business loan and the
household is prohibited by the security or lien agreement
with the lien holder (creditor) from selling the asset(s).

16. Property, real or personal, to the extent that it is
directly related to the maintenance or use of a vehicle
excluded under DSSM 9051 #1, 2, and 6.  Only that portion
of real property determined necessary for maintenance or use
is excludable under this provision.

For example, a household which owns a produce
truck to earn its livelihood may be prohibited from parking
the truck in a residential area.  The household may own a
100-acre field and use a quarter-acre of the field to park and/
or service the truck.  Only the value of the quarter-acre
would be excluded under this provision, not the entire 100-
acre field.

17. All of the resources of DABC and SSI recipients
and households deemed categorically eligible due to DSSM
9042.

A household member is considered a recipient of
these benefits even if the benefits have been authorized but
not received, if the benefits are suspended or recouped, or if
the benefits are not paid because they are less than a
minimum amount.  

Individuals entitled to Medicaid benefits only are
not considered recipients of DABC/GA or SSI.

18. Allowances paid to children of Vietnam veterans
who are born with spina bifida are excluded from income
and resources for food stamp purposes.  (P.L. 104-204).
These monthly allowances ($200, $700, or $1,200) are based
on the degree of disability suffered by the child.

9051  Licensed Vehicles
[273.8(g)]

Include as financial resources any boats, snowmobiles,
and airplanes used for recreational purposes, any vacation
homes, any mobile homes used primarily for vacation
purposes, and any licensed vehicle (other than one used to
produce income) to the extent that the fair market value of
any such vehicle exceeds the fair market value limit.  (Refer
to current October Cost-Of-Living Adjustment
Administrative Notice for the fair market value limit.) 

Determine the fair market value of licensed
automobiles, trucks, and vans by the value of those vehicles
as listed in the NADA "blue" books published within the last
six months.

Assign the average trade-in value.  Do not increase the
basic value of a vehicle by adding the value of low mileage
or other factors such as optional equipment.  However,
vehicles with excessive high mileage can have the value of
the vehicle decreased by using the High Mileage Tables in
the front of the NADA books.  A household may indicate
that for some reason, such as body damage or inoperability, a
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vehicle is in less than average condition.  Any household
which claims that the blue book value does not apply to its
vehicle must be given the opportunity to acquire verification
of the true value from a reliable source.  Also, households
are to be asked to acquire verification of the value of
licensed antique, custom made, or classic vehicles, if the
Division is unable to make an accurate appraisal.  Do not
increase the value of any vehicle if it is equipped with
apparatus for the handicapped.  Instead, assign a blue book
value as if the vehicle were not so equipped.  If a vehicle is
no longer listed in a blue book, the household's estimate of
the value of the vehicle will be accepted unless the Division
has reason to believe that the estimate is incorrect.  In that
case and if it appears that the vehicle's value will affect
eligibility, the household must obtain a appraisal or produce
other evidence of its value such as a newspaper
advertisement which indicated the amount for which like
vehicles are being sold.

If a new vehicle is not yet listed in the blue book,
determine the wholesale value through some other means
(e.g., contacting a car dealer which sells that make of car).

The entire value of any licensed vehicle will be
excluded if the vehicle is:

1. Used primarily (over 50 percent of the time the
vehicle is used) for income producing purposes such as, but
not limited to a taxi, truck, or fishing boat, or a vehicle used
to make deliveries, or call on clients or customers, or
required by the terms of employment.  Licensed vehicles
which have been previously used by a self-employed
household member engaged in farming, but are no longer
used over 50 percent of the time in farming because the
household member has terminated their self-employment
from farming continue to be excluded as a resource for one
year from the date the household member terminated their
self-employment from farming;

2. Annually producing income consistent with its
fair market value, even if used only on a seasonal basis;

3. Necessary for long distance travel, other than
daily commuting, that is essential to the employment of a
household member (or ineligible alien or disqualified person
whose resources are being considered available to the
household);

Examples would be a vehicle of a traveling
salesperson or of a migrant farmworker following the
workstream;

4. Necessary for subsistence hunting or fishing;
5.  4. Used as the household's home and

therefore excluded under DSSM 9049;
6.  5. Necessary to transport a physically

disabled household member (or ineligible alien or
disqualified person whose resources are being considered
available to the household) regardless of the purpose of such
transportation (limited to one vehicle per physically disabled
household member).  The vehicle does not need to have

special equipment or be used primarily by or for the
transportation of the physically disabled household member
to be excluded.

7.  6. Used to carry fuel for heating or water for
home use when such transported fuel or water is anticipated
to be the primary source of fuel or water for the household.
Do not require any further tests concerning the nature,
capabilities, or other uses of the vehicle.

7. The value of the vehicle is inaccessible because
its sale would produce an estimated return of $1,500 or less
according to DSSM 9048.

A vehicle is considered necessary for the
transportation of a physically disabled household member if
the vehicle is specially equipped to meet the specific needs
of the disabled person or if the vehicle is a special type of
vehicle that makes it possible to transport the disabled
person.  However, the vehicle does not need to have special
equipment or be used primarily by or for the transportation
of the physically disabled household member to be excluded.

The exclusions # 1 through #3  above in DSSM 9051
will apply when the vehicle is not in use because of
temporary unemployment, such as when a taxi driver is ill
and cannot work, or when a fishing boat is frozen in and
cannot be used.

Additionally, the value of property, real or personal, is
excludable to the extent that it is directly related to the
maintenance or use of a vehicle excluded under items (1),
(2), or (6) above.  Only that portion of real property
determined necessary for maintenance or use is excludable
under this provision.  For example, a household which owns
a produce truck to earn its livelihood may be prohibited from
parking the truck in a residential area.  The household may
own a 100-acre field and use a quarter-acre of the field to
park and/or service the truck.  Only the value of the quarter-
acre would be excludable under this provision, not the entire
100-acre field.

Determining the value of non-excluded vehicles:
Evaluate the fair market value to each licensed

vehicle not excluded under 1 _ 7 above;
Count in full, regardless of any amounts owed on

the vehicle, the portion of the fair market value that exceeds
$4,650;

Evaluate such licensed, and all unlicensed vehicles)
for their equity value which is the fair market value minus
any amount owed; and 

Count as a resource only the greater of the two
amounts if the vehicle has a countable fair market value of
more than $4,650 and also has a countable equity value.

All licensed vehicles not included under items 1-7
above must individually be evaluated for fair market value
and that portion of the value which exceeds the fair market
value limit will be attributed in full toward the household's
resource level, regardless of any encumbrances on the
vehicles.  For example, a household owning an automobile
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with a fair market value of $5,500 will have $850 applied
towards its resource level.  If the fair market value limit is
$4,650, any value in excess of $4,650 will be attributed to
the household's resource level, regardless of the amount of
the household's investment in the vehicle, and regardless of
whether or not the vehicle is used to transport household
members to and from employment.  Each vehicle must be
appraised individually.  The fair market values of two or
more vehicles may not be added together to reach a total fair
market value in excess of the fair market value limit.  

Licensed vehicles will also be evaluated for their equity
value, except for:

Only the following vehicles are exempt from the equity
value test above:

1. Vehicles excluded under items 1- 7 above;
2. One licensed vehicle per adult household

member (or an ineligible alien or disqualified household
member whose resources are being considered available to
the household), regardless of the use of the vehicle; and

3. Any other vehicle used to transport household
members (or an ineligible alien or disqualified household
member whose resources are being considered available to
the household) to and from employment, or to and from
training or education which is preparatory to employment or
to seek employment in compliance with the job search
criteria.  Any other vehicle a household member under age
18 (or an ineligible alien or disqualified household member
under age 18 whose resources are being considered available
to the household) drives to commute to and from
employment, or to and from training or education which is
preparatory to employment, or to seek employment.  This
equity exclusion applies during temporary periods of
unemployment to a vehicle which a household member
under age 18 customarily drives to commute to and from
employment.

A vehicle customarily used to commute to and from
employment will be covered by this equity exclusion during
temporary periods of unemployment.

The equity value of licensed vehicles not covered
by this exclusion, and of unlicensed vehicles not excluded by
DSSM 9049 (3), (4) and (5) will be attributed toward the
household's resource level.

In the event a licensed vehicle is assigned both a fair
market value in excess of the fair market value limit and an
equity value, only the greater of the two amounts is to be
counted as a resource.  For example, a second car which is
not used by a household member to go to work will be
evaluated for both fair market value and for equity value.  If
the fair market value limit is $4,650 and the fair market
value is $5,000 and the equity value is $1,000, the household
will be credited with only the $1,000 equity value and the
$350 excess fair market value will not be counted.

In summary, each licensed vehicle shall be handled as
follows:  First it will be evaluated to determine if it is exempt

as an income producer or as a home necessary to transport a
disabled household member, or necessary to carry fuel for
heating or water for home use.  If not exempt, it will be
evaluated to determine if its fair market value exceeds the
fair market value limit.  If worth more than the fair market
value limit, the portion in excess of the fair market value
limit for each vehicle will be counted as a resource.  The
vehicle will also be evaluated to see if it is equity exempt as
the household's only vehicle or necessary for employment
reasons one licensed vehicle per adult household member or
a vehicle used by a household member under age 18 to go to
school, training, or employment.   If not equity exempt, the
equity value will be counted as a resource.  If the vehicle has
a countable market value of more than the fair market value
limit and also has a countable equity value, only the greater
of the two amounts will be counted as a resource.

If an individual is denied benefits because of the motor
vehicle license requirement, he or she must be notified that
they may produce verification that their motor vehicle is not
licensed from the Division of Motor Vehicles in order to
determine the equity value of the unlicensed vehicle.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

SAN # 1999-01

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
Regulation No. 24, Section 10, “Aerospace Coatings”

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

Delaware is not in compliance with the EPA ground-
level ozone standard, and must make reductions in volatile
organic compound (VOC) emissions, which are a factor in
the formation of ground-level ozone.  The Department is
proposing to revise Regulation No. 24, Section 10, to
achieve VOC emission reductions at Aerospace
Manufacturing and Rework facilities within the State. The
Department is proposing to add an exemption from the
current topcoat limit of 3.5 lb/gal, which will allow a
maximum of 200 gallons of coating per year to be applied
with a VOC limit of 6.0 lb/gal. The amended regulation also
establishes the following: (1) new VOC limits for specialty
coatings; (2) requirements for using high transfer efficiency

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
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coating application equipment; and (3) minimum standards
in the proper use and handling of equipment and materials.
These amendments are based on EPA's Control Technique
Guideline (CTG) document "Control of Volatile Organic
Compound Emissions from Coating Operations at
Aerospace Manufacturing and Rework Operations."

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY
TO ACT:

7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The public comment period for this proposed regulation

will extend through July 1, 2002.  Interested parties may
submit comments in writing during this period to:  Deanna
Morozowich, Air Quality Management Section, 156 South
State Street, Dover, DE 19901, and/or statements and
testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at the
public hearing to be held Tuesday, June 25, 2002 beginning
at 6pm in the Priscilla Building Conference Room, 156 S.
State Street,  Dover,  Delaware.

7. PREPARED BY:
Deanna Morozowich, (302)739-4791, April 30, 2002

Section 10 - Aerospace Coatings.
11/29/94
a. Applicability.

1. This section applies to the following operations in
each aerospace manufacturing or rework facility:

i. General cleaning operations.
ii. All hand-wipe cleaning operations.
iii. Each spray-gun cleaning operation.
iv. All flush cleaning operations.
v. Each primer and topcoat application operation.
vi. Each depainting operation, which applies to the

depainting of the outer surface of aerospace vehicles with the
exception of parts or units normally removed during
depainting.

vii. Each chemical milling maskant application
operation using Type II chemical milling etchants.

viii. Each waste storage and handling operation.
2. The requirements in paragraph (c) of this Section do

not apply to the following operations: chemical milling,
metal finishing, electrodeposition, composite processing,
adhesives, adhesive bonding primers, sealants, and specialty
coatings.

3. The requirements in paragraph (c) of this Section do
not apply to aerospace manufacturing and rework facilities
whose plant-wide, actual emissions from the operations in
paragraph (a)(1) without control devices are less than 6.8
kilograms (kg) (15 pounds [lb]) of volatile organic
compounds (VOCs) per day.

4. Existing sources affected by this Section shall comply
with the provisions of this Section as soon as practicable, but
no later than April 1, 1996. New, modified, or reconstructed
sources affected by this Section shall comply with the
provisions of this Section upon startup.

5. Any facility that becomes or is currently subject to the
provisions of this Section by exceeding the applicability
threshold in paragraph (a)(3) of this Section shall remain
subject to these provisions even if its emissions later fall
below the applicability threshold.

6. Any facility that is currently subject to a state or
federal rule promulgated pursuant to the Clean Air Act
Amendments of 1977 by exceeding an applicability
threshold is and shall remain subject to these provisions,
even if its throughput or emissions later fall below the
applicability threshold.

b. Definitions. As used in this Section, all terms not
defined herein shall have the meaning given them in the
November 15, 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA), or
in Section 2 of Regulation 24.

"Adhesive bonding" means the joining together of two
or more metal parts, such as the parts of a honeycomb core.
The surfaces to be bonded are first coated with an adhesive
bonding primer to promote adhesion and protect from
subsequent corrosion. Structural adhesives are applied as
either a thin film or as a paste, and can be oven cured or
cured in an autoclave.

"Aerospace manufacturing or rework facility" means a
commercial, civil, or military facility that produces in any
amount an aerospace vehicle or component, or a
commercial, civil, or military facility that reworks (or
repairs) these vehicles or components. Aerospace
manufacturing and rework operations may consist of any of
the following basic operations: chemical milling maskant
application, chemical milling, adhesive bonding, cleaning
(e.g., hand-wipe, spray equipment, and flush), metal
finishing, electrodeposition, coating application (e.g.,
primers, topcoats, sealants, and specialty coatings),
depainting, and composite processing.

"Aerospace vehicle or component" means any
fabricated part, processed part, assembly of parts, or
completed unit of any aircraft including, but not limited to,
airplanes, helicopters, missiles, rockets, and space vehicles.

"Brush coating" means the application of a coating
material to a substrate by means of a brush (this technique is
commonly used for touch-up and masking operations).

"Chemical milling" means a process used to reduce the
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thickness of selected areas of metal parts in order to reduce
weight by submerging the metal parts in an etchant.

"Chemical milling maskant" means a coating that is
applied directly to components to protect surface areas when
chemically milling the component with a Type II etchant.

"Chemical milling maskant application operation"
means the use of spray equipment or a dip tank to apply a
chemical milling maskant, prior to chemically milling the
component with a Type II etchant.

"Cleaning solvent" means any liquid material used for
hand-wipe, spray-gun, or coating-line cleaning.

"Coating operation" means the use of a spray booth,
tank, or other enclosure or any area, such as a hangar, for the
application of a single type of coating (e.g., primer); the use
of the same spray booth for the application of another type of
coating (e.g., topcoat) constitutes a separate coating
operation for which compliance determinations are
performed separately.

"Composite processing operations" include layup,
thermal forming, debulking, curing, break-out, compression
molding, and injection molding. Layup means the process of
assembling the layers of the composite structure by
positioning composite material in a mold and impregnating
the material with a resin. Thermal forming means the
process of forming the layup in a mold, which usually takes
place in an autoclave. Debulking means the simultaneous
application of low-level heat and pressure to the composite
structure to force out excess resin, trapped air, vapor, and
volatiles from between the layers of the composite structure.
Curing means the process of changing the resin into a solid
material through a polymerization reaction. Break-out means
the removal of the composite structure from the mold or
curing fixtures. Compression molding means the process of
filling one half of a mold with a molding compound, closing
the mold, and applying heat and pressure until the material is
cured. Injection molding means the use of a closed mold,
where the molding compound is injected into the mold,
maintained under pressure, and then cured by applying heat.

"Depainting" means the removal of any coating from the
outer surface of the aircraft by either chemical or
non-chemical means. "Depainting operation" means the use
of a chemical agent, media blasting, or any other technique
to remove coatings from the outer surface of aerospace
components or vehicles. The depainting operation includes
washing of the aerospace component or vehicle to remove
residual stripper and coating residue.

"Dip coating" means the application of a coating
material to a substrate by dipping the part into a tank of the
coating material.

"Electrodeposition", or "metal plating", means an
additive process for metal substrates in which another metal
layer is added to the substrate in order to enhance corrosion
and wear resistance necessary for the successful
performance of the component. The two types of

electro-deposition typically used are electroplating and
plasma arc spraying.

"Electrostatic spray" means a method of applying a
spray coating in which opposite electrical charges are
applied to the substrate and the coating. The coating is
attracted to the substrate by the electrostatic potential
between them.

"Etchant" means a chemical used to mill a part or
subassembly, such as sodium hydroxide for aluminum parts.

"Flow coating" means the application of a coating
material to a substrate by pouring the coating over the
suspended part.

"Flush cleaning operation" means the cleaning of an
aerospace vehicle or component by passing solvent over,
into, or through the vehicle or component. The solvent may
simply be poured into the vehicle or component and then
drained, or be assisted by air or hydraulic pressure, or by
pumping.

"Hand-wipe cleaning operation" means the removal of
contaminants such as dirt, grease, and oil from aerospace
components or vehicles by physically rubbing them with a
material such as a rag, paper, or cotton swab that has been
moistened with a cleaning solvent.

"High volume low pressure (HVLP) spray equipment"
means spray equipment that is used to apply coating by
means of a gun that operates at 10.0 psig or less at the air cap
and a fluid delivery pressure of 100 pounds per square inch
gauge (psig) or less.

"Leak" means any visible leakage, including misting
and clouding.

"Metal finishing operations" include conversion
coating, anodizing, desmutting, descaling, and any
operations that chemically affect the surface layer of a part,
and are used to prepare the surface of a part for better
adhesion, improved surface hardness, and improved
corrosion resistance.

"Non-chemical-based depainting equipment" means any
depainting equipment or technique, including media blasting
equipment, that does not rely on a chemical stripper to
depaint an aerospace vehicle or component.

"Primer" means the first layer of coating applied to the
surface of an aerospace vehicle or component. Primers are
typically used for corrosion prevention, environment
protection, functional fluid resistance, and adhesion of
subsequent coatings. Coatings that are defined as specialty
coatings are not included under this definition.

"Radome" means the non-metallic protective housing
for radar antenna.

"Self-priming topcoat" means a coating that is applied
directly to an aerospace vehicle or component for purposes
of corrosion protection, environmental protection, and
functional fluid resistance and that is not subsequently
topcoated.

"Specialty coating" means a coating that, even though it
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meets the definition of a primer or topcoat, has additional
performance criteria beyond those of primers and topcoats
for specific applications. These performance criteria may
include, but are not limited to, temperature or fire resistance,
substrate compatibility, antireflection, temporary protection
or marking, sealing, adhesively joining substrates, or
enhanced corrosion protection.

"Spray gun" means a device that uses air pressure or air
flow to atomize a coating or other material and to project the
atomized coating particulates or other material onto a
component.

"Stripper" means a liquid that is applied to an aerospace
component or vehicle to remove primer, topcoat, or coating
residue.

"Surface preparation" means the removal of
contaminants from the surface of an aerospace component or
vehicle, or the activation of the surface immediately prior to
the application of a coating.

"Topcoat" means a coating that is applied over a primer
on anaerospace vehicle or component for appearance,
identification, camouflage, or protection, or any self-priming
topcoat. Coatingsthat are defined as specialty coatings are
not included under this definition.

"Touch-up and repair operation" means that portion of
the coating operation that is incidental to the main coating
process and is used to cover minor imperfections in the
coating finish. Touch-up and repair operations are not to
exceed an area of 4 square feet per aerospace vehicle.

"Type II etchant" or "Type II chemical milling etchant"
means a chemical milling etchant that is a strong sodium
hydroxide solution containing amines (Type I etchants do
not contain amines).

c. Standards.
1. General Cleaning Operations. The owner or operator

of an aerospace manufacturing and rework facility shall use
good housekeeping measures for all cleaning operations at
the facility. These measures include the following practices:

i. Placing solvent-laden cloths or papers in closed
containers immediately after use.

ii. Storing fresh and used cleaning solvents in
closed containers.

iii. Minimizing losses during handling and transfer.
2. Hand-Wipe Cleaning Operations. No owner or

operator of a hand-wipe cleaning operation subject to this
Section, with the exception of those operations listed in
paragraph (c)(2)(iii), shall cause or allow on any day the use
of any cleaning solvent that does not comply with one of the
following limits:

i. Vapor pressure less than 45 millimeters (mm)
mercury (Hg) (1.8 inches [in] Hg) at 20 degrees Celsius (_C)
(68 degrees Fahrenheit [_F]).

ii. VOC content of 200 grams per liter (g/L)(1.6
pounds per gallon [lb/gal]) or less, excluding water or

exempt compounds, as applied.
iii. The vapor pressure and VOC content limits in

paragraphs (c)(2)(i) and (c)(2)(ii) of this Section do not
apply to the following cleaning operations:

A. Cleaning during the manufacture, assembly,
installation, or testing of components of breathing oxygen
systems that are exposed to the breathing oxygen.

B. Cleaning during the manufacture, assembly,
installation, or testing of parts, subassemblies, or assemblies
that are exposed to strong oxidizers or reducers (e.g.,
nitrogen tetroxide, liquid oxygen, hydrazine).

C. Cleaning and surface activation prior to
adhesive bonding.

D. Cleaning of electronics and assemblies
containing electronics.

E. Cleaning of aircraft fluid systems that are
exposed to the fluid.

F. Cleaning of fuel cells, fuel tanks, and
limited-access spaces.

G. Surface cleaning of solar cells, coated
optics, and thermal control surfaces.

H. Cleaning during fabrication, assembly,
installation, and maintenance of upholstery, curtains, carpet,
and other textile materials used on the interior of the aircraft.

I. Cleaning of metallic and non-metallic
materials used in honeycomb cores during the manufacture
of these cores, and cleaning of the completed cores used in
the manufacture of aerospace vehicles or components.

J. Cleaning of polycarbonate substrates.
K. Cleaning and solvent usage associated with

production, research, development, quality control, and
laboratory testing.

3. Spray-Gun Cleaning Operations.
i. No owner or operator of a spray-gun cleaning

operation subject to this Section shall cause or allow on any
day the use of any cleaning technique that does not include
or is not equivalent to one of the following techniques:

A. Use of an enclosed spray-gun cleaning
system that is kept closed when not in use.

B. Non-atomized discharge of solvent into a
waste container that is kept closed when not in use.

C. Disassembly of the spray gun and placing
the parts for cleaning in a vat that is kept closed when not in
use.

D. Atomized spray into a waste container that
is fitted with a device designed to capture atomized solvent
emissions.

ii. Leaks from enclosed spray-gun cleaners must be
repaired as soon as practicable, but no later than 15 days
from when the leak is first discovered.

4. Flush Cleaning Operations. Spent cleaning solvents
used during flush cleaning operations, with the exception of
spray-gun cleaning, shall be emptied into an enclosed
container or collection system that is kept closed when not in
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use.
5. Primer and Topcoat Application Operations.

i. No owner or operator of a primer or topcoat
application operation subject to this Section shall cause or
allow on any day the application of any coating on that
operation with a VOC content, as applied, that does not
comply with one of the following emission limits:

A. VOC content equal or less than 350 g/L (2.9
lb/gal), excluding water and exempt compounds, as applied,
from any primer application operation.

B. VOC content equal to or less than 420 g/L
(3.5 lb/gal), excluding water and exempt compounds, as
applied, from any topcoat application operation.

C. As an alternative to compliance with the
emission limits in paragraphs (c)(5)(i)(A) and (c)(5)(i)(B) of
this Section, an owner or operator may meet the
requirements of paragraphs (d) or (e) of this Section.

ii. No owner or operator of a primer or topcoat
application operation subject to this Section, with the
exception of those operations listed in paragraph (c)(5)(iii),
shall cause or allow on any day the use of any application
technique other than flow coat, roll coat, brush coat, dip coat,
electrostatic attraction, or HVLP spray guns. An alternate
technique may be used if emissions are less than or equal to
emissions from HVLP or electrostatic spray application
techniques.

iii. The equipment standards in paragraph (c)(5)(ii)
do not apply to the following application operations:

A. Any situation that normally requires the use
of an extension on the spray gun to properly reach limited
access spaces.

B. The application of coatings that contain
fillers that adversely affect atomization with HVLP spray
guns and cannot be applied by any of the specified
application techniques.

C. The application of coatings that normally
have a dried film thickness of less than 0.0005 inches and
cannot be applied by any of the specified application
techniques.

D. The use of airbrush application methods for
stenciling, lettering, and other identification markings.

E. Touch-up and repair operations.
iv. All application equipment must be operated

according to the manufacturer's specifications at all times,
even if it is exempt from the equipment standards in
paragraph (c)(5)(ii).

6. Depainting Operations. No owner or operator of a
depainting operation subject to this Section shall cause or
allow on any day the use of any stripper that does not comply
with the following limits:

i. Vapor pressure of less than 10 mm Hg (0.4 in.
Hg) at 20_C (68_F).

ii. VOC content of less than 400 g/L (3.3 lb/gal),
excluding water and exempt compounds, as applied.

7. Chemical Milling Maskant Application Operations.
i. No owner or operator of a chemical milling

maskant application operation subject to this Section shall
cause or allow on any day the application of any maskant on
that operation with a VOC content less than or equal to 160
g/L (1.3 lb/gal), excluding water and exempt compounds, as
applied, from any maskant application operation.

ii. As an alternative to compliance with the
emission limits in paragraph (c)(7)(i) of this Section, an
owner or operator may meet the requirements of paragraphs
(d) or (e) of this Section.

8. Waste Handling and Storage Operations.
i. The owner or operator of an aerospace facility

shall handle and transfer VOC-containing waste to or from
containers, tanks, vats, vessels, or piping systems in such a
manner that minimizes spills.

ii. All VOC-containing waste shall be stored in
closed containers.

iii. The requirements in paragraphs (c)(8)(i) and
(c)(8)(ii) of this Section do not apply to wastes that are
determined to be hazardous wastes under the Resource
Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976 (PL 94-580)
(RCRA), as implemented by 40 Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR) Parts 260 and 261, and that are subject to RCRA
requirements, as implemented in 40 CFR Parts 262 through
268.

d. Daily-Weighted Average Limitations. No owner or
operator subject to this Section shall apply, during any day,
coatings in any primer, topcoat, or chemical maskant
application operation whose daily-weighted average VOC
content, calculated in accordance with the procedure
specified in Appendix "C" of Regulation 24 and the
provisions listed below, exceeds the applicable emission
limits in paragraphs (c)(5)(i)(A), (c)(5)(i)(B), and
(c)(7)(i)(A) of this Section.

1. Averaging between topcoats, primers, and chemical
maskants is prohibited.

2. Averaging between coatings used in operations where
air emissions are not captured and controlled and coatings
used in operations where air emissions are captured and
controlled is prohibited.

e. Control Devices.
1. An owner or operator subject to this Section may

comply with the applicable emission limits for any primer,
topcoat, or chemical maskant application operation by:

i. Installing and operating a capture system on that
operation.

ii. Installing and operating a control system on that
operation.

iii. Demonstrating that the overall emission
reduction efficiency achieved is greater than or equal to 81
weight percent.
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2. An owner or operator of any primer, topcoat, or
chemical maskant application operation subject to this
Section shall use the mass balance calculation in Appendix
"D" of Regulation 24 to demonstrate compliance with
paragraph (e)(1)(iii) of this Section where carbon adsorption
systems are used.

3. An owner or operator of any primer, topcoat, or
chemical maskant application operation subject to this
Section shall use the following procedures to demonstrate
compliance with paragraph (e)(1)(iii) of this Section where
control devices other than carbon adsorption systems are
used:

i. Procedures in Appendix "D" of Regulation 24 to
determine capture efficiency for total enclosures.

ii. Procedures in Appendix "D" and Appendix "E"
of Regulation 24 to determine destruction efficiency.

f. Compliance Procedures.
1. An owner or operator of a spray-gun application

operation shall visually inspect spray-gun cleaners for leaks
at least once per month and comply with paragraph (c)(3)(ii).
The inspection shall occur while the enclosed cleaner is in
operation.

2. An owner or operator of a primer, topcoat, or maskant
application operation subject to this Section shall monitor
temperature, using a continuous recorder, to determine
compliance if a capture system or control device that
destroys VOCs (e.g., an incinerator) is used to comply with
the emission limit in paragraph (e)(1)(iii) of this Section.

3. An owner or operator of a primer or topcoat
application operation subject to this Section shall conduct a
test to evaluate the performance of the application technique
if an alternative application technique is used to comply with
the equipment standard in paragraph (c)(5)(ii).

i. Emission levels shall be determined during an
initial 90-day period using only HVLP or electrostatic spray
application techniques.

ii. Emission levels shall be determined for the
alternative application method for a period of time necessary
to coat the equivalent amount of parts with the same
coatings. Dried film thickness must be within specification
for the initial 90-day period.

g. Test Methods.
1. Compliance with paragraphs (c)(2)(i) and (c)(6)(i) of

this Section shall be achieved by applying ASTM Method E
260-91 or by using standard reference text values for
determining the vapor pressure of solvents with multiple
components.

2. The test methods found in Appendix "A" through
Appendix "D" of Regulation 24 shall be used to determine
compliance with paragraphs (c)(2)(ii), (c)(5)(i)(A),
(c)(5)(i)(B), (c)(6)(ii), and (c)(7)(i) of this Section.

3. The method found in Appendix "I" of Regulation 24,

shall be used to determine an alternative multi-day rolling
period when calculating the efficiency of carbon adsorption
systems according to paragraph (e)(2).

h. Recordkeeping and Reporting for Cleaning Operations.
1. An owner or operator of a cleaning operation subject

to this Section shall supply notification of compliance status
annually on a calendar year basis to the Department, which
shall include the following information:

i. Identification of each cleaning solvent used at the
facility.

ii. A description of the procedures used to ensure
that bags and containers are kept closed when not in use and
that cleaning solvents are stored in closed containers.

iii. The vapor pressure test results of each cleaning
solvent, or the reference text value.

iv. A description of all methods used to clean spray
guns.

2. An owner or operator of a cleaning operation subject
to this Section and complying with paragraph (c)(2) of this
Section shall comply with the following requirements:

i. The owner or operator shall maintain at the
facility for a period of 5 years the name, VOC content,
composite vapor pressure, and monthly volume purchased of
each cleaning solvent, and all supporting documentation,
including any test reports and calculations.

ii. The owner or operator shall maintain at the
facility for a period of 5 years the name and volume of each
cleaning solvent that is used in an exempt cleaning
operation, and the parts, assemblies, or subassemblies
cleaned at these operations.

3. An owner or operator of a cleaning operation subject
to this Section and complying with paragraph (c)(3) of this
Section shall maintain at the facility for a period of 5 years a
record of all leaks from spray-gun cleaners, including source
identification, the date the leak was discovered, and the date
the leak was repaired.

4. An owner or operator of a cleaning operation subject
to this Section shall submit an annual report for the previous
calendar year, which includes the following information:

i. Notification of any non-compliance situations,
including the names and volumes of any non-compliant
solvents or cleaners used and of any leaks from enclosed
spray-gun cleaners that were not repaired within 15 days of
detection.

ii. Names and compositions (or vapor pressures) of
new solvents used for hand-wipe cleaning operations in the
previous year.

iii. Names of previously reported cleaning solvents
that are no longer in use at the facility.

i. Recordkeeping and Reporting for Application
Operations.

1. An owner or operator of a primer, topcoat, or maskant
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application subject to this Section shall supply notification of
compliance status annually on a calendar-year basis to the
Department, which shall include the following information:

i. Identification of the combination of compliant
coatings, averaging, and control devices used at the facility.

ii. Identification of the operating parameters
identified for continuous monitoring of control devices.

2. An owner or operator of a primer, topcoat, or maskant
application operation subject to this Section shall comply
with the following requirements:

i. An owner or operator complying with paragraphs
(c)(5)(i)(A), (c)(5)(i)(B), or (c)(7)(i) of this Section by the
use of compliant coatings shall comply with the
recordkeeping requirements in Section 4 paragraph (c) of
Regulation 24.

ii. An owner or operator complying with paragraphs
(c)(5)(i)(A), (c)(5)(i)(B), or (c)(7)(i) of this Section by
daily-weighted averaging shall comply with the
recordkeeping requirements in Section 4 paragraph (d) of
Regulation 24.

iii. An owner or operator complying with
paragraphs (c)(5)(i)(C) or (c)(7)(ii) of this Section by the use
of control devices shall comply with the recordkeeping
requirements in Section 4 paragraph (e) of Regulation 24.

3. An owner or operator of a primer, topcoat, or maskant
application operation subject to this Section shall submit an
annual report for the previous calendar year, which includes
the following information:

i. Each exceedance of the VOC content level.
ii. Identification of new primers, topcoats, and

maskants used at the facility in the previous year.
iii. Each exceedance by a control device, when the

average values of the monitored parameter(s) fall outside the
ranges established in the operating permit.

j. Recordkeeping and Reporting for Depainting
Operations.

1. An owner or operator of a depainting operation
subject to this Section shall supply notification of
compliance status annually on a calendar-year basis to the
Department, which shall include the following information:

i. The name and VOC content of each stripper used
at the facility to depaint aerospace vehicles.

ii. The vapor pressure test results of each stripper.
iii. A description of all non-chemical depainting

methods.
iv. A description of all depainting methods to be

used during periods of malfunction of non-chemical
depainting methods.

2. An owner or operator of a depainting operation
subject to this Section and complying with paragraph (c)(6)
of this Section shall comply with the following
requirements:

i. The owner or operator shall maintain at the

facility the name, VOC content, composite vapor pressure,
and monthly volume purchased of each stripper, and all
supporting documentation, including any test reports and
calculations.

ii. The owner or operator shall maintain at the
facility a list of the parts, assemblies, subassemblies, or
radomes normally removed during depainting operations.

iii. The owner or operator shall maintain at the
facility a description of the non-chemical depainting
operations, including the name and type of equipment, and a
description of all malfunctions, including dates and
alternative depainting methods used.

3.  An owner or operator of a depainting operation
subject to this Section shall submit an annual report for the
previous year, which includes the following information:

i. Names and compositions (or vapor pressures) of
new or reformulated strippers used for depainting operations
in the previous year.

ii. Names of previously reported cleaning solvents
that are no longer in use at the facility.

iii. A description of any new non-chemical
depainting techniques used in the previous year.

iv. A description of all malfunctions of
non-chemical depainting operations, including dates and
alternative depainting methods used in the previous year.

v. A list of any new parts, assemblies, or
subassemblies normally removed during depainting
operations from the previous year.

Section 10 - Aerospace Coatings
11/29/94 (revisions as of 04/25/02) 

a. Applicability.
1. Except as provided for in (a)(2) and (a)(3), this

Section applies to any owner or operator of any aerospace
manufacturing or rework facility that conducts any of the
following operation(s):

i. hand-wipe cleaning;
ii. spray gun cleaning;
iii. flush cleaning;
iv. primer, topcoat, self-priming topcoat, and

specialty coating application;
v. the depainting of the outer surface of aerospace

vehicles (except for depainting parts or units normally
removed during depainting);

vi. Type I or Type II chemical milling maskant
application; and

vii. VOC handling and storage.
2. Except for the requirements in paragraph (c)(8), this

Section does not apply to the following operations in any
aerospace manufacturing or rework facility: 

i. Chemical milling;
ii. Metal finishing;
iii.Electrodeposition (except for the electro-
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deposition of paints); and
iv. Composite processing operations (except for

cleaning and coating of composite parts or components that
become part of an Aerospace vehicle or component as well
as composite tooling that comes in contact with such
composite parts or components prior to cure).

3. The requirements of this Section do not apply to
aerospace manufacturing or rework facilities whose
plant-wide, actual emissions from the operations in
paragraph (a)(1) without control devices are less than 6.8
kilograms (kg) (15 pounds [lbs]) of volatile organic
compounds (VOCs) per day.

4. Existing sources affected by this Section shall comply
with the provisions of this Section on and after  the effective
date of this Section, except for the requirements of paragraph
(c)(6)(ii) and (c)(7). Existing sources affected by this Section
shall comply with the requirements of paragraph (c)(6)(ii)
and (c)(7) beginning as soon as pratible, but no later than the
datye one yer after the effective date of this Section.  New,
modified, or reconstructed sources affected by this Section
shall comply with the provisions of this Section on and after
startup.   Notwithstanding Section (1)(e) of Regulation 24,
any owner or operator currently permitted under Regulation
2 and/or Regulation 30 to operate an aerospace
manufacturing or rework facility shall submit to the
Department an application to amend the current permit and
to comply with the provisions of this Section, pursuant to
Regulation 2 and/or Regulation 30, as applicable.

5. Any facility that becomes or is currently subject to the
provisions of this Section by exceeding the applicability
threshold in paragraph (a)(3) of this Section shall remain
subject to these provisions even if its emissions later fall
below the applicability threshold.

6. Any facility that is currently subject to a state or
federal rule promulgated pursuant to the Clean Air Act
Amendments of 1977 by exceeding an applicability
threshold is and shall remain subject to these provisions,
even if its throughput or emissions later fall below the
applicability threshold.

b. Definitions.  As used in this Section, all terms not
defined herein shall have the meaning given them in the
November 15, 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA), or
in Section 2 of Regulation 24 of the State of Delaware
"Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution".

"Ablative coating" means a specialty coating that
chars when exposed to open flame or extreme temperatures,
as would occur during the failure of an engine casing or
during aerodynamic heating.  The ablative char surface
serves as an insulation barrier, protecting adjacent
components from the heat or open flame.

"Adhesion promoter" means a very thin specialty
coating applied to a substrate to promote wetting and form a
chemical bond with the subsequently applied material.

"Adhesive bonding" means the joining together of two
or more metal parts, such as the parts of a honeycomb core.
The surfaces to be bonded are first coated with an adhesive
bonding primer to promote adhesion and protect from
subsequent corrosion.  Structural adhesives are applied as
either a thin film or as a paste, and can be oven cured or
cured in an autoclave.

"Adhesive bonding primer" means a specialty coating
that is applied in a thin film to aerospace components for the
purpose of corrosion inhibition and increased adhesive bond
strength by attachment.  There are two categories of
adhesive bonding primers: primers with a design cure at
250oF or below and primers with a design cure above
250oF.

"Aerospace manufacturing or rework facility"
means a commercial, civil, or military facility that produces
in any amount an aerospace vehicle or component, or a
commercial, civil, or military facility that reworks (or
repairs) any aerospace vehicle or component.  

"Aerospace vehicle or component" means any
fabricated part, processed part, assembly of parts, or
completed unit of any aircraft including, but not limited to,
airplanes, helicopters, missiles, rockets, and space vehicles.

"Aircraft fluid system" means those systems that
handle hydraulic fluids, fuel, cooling fluids, or oils.

"Aircraft transparency" means the aircraft
windshield, canopy, passenger windows, lenses and other
components that are constructed of transparent materials.

"Antichafe coating" means a coating applied to areas
of moving aerospace components that may rub during
normal operations or installation.

"Bearing coating" means a specialty coating applied to
an antifriction bearing, a bearing housing, or the area
adjacent to such a bearing in order to facilitate bearing
function or to protect base material from excessive wear.  A
material shall not be classified as a bearing coating if it can
also be classified as a dry lubricative material or a solid film
lubricant.

"Bonding maskant" means a temporary specialty
coating used to protect selected areas of aerospace parts from
strong acid or alkaline solutions during processing for
bonding.

"Brush coating," means the application of a coating
material to a substrate by means of a brush (this technique is
commonly used for touch-up and maskant operations).

"Caulking and smoothing compounds" means
semi-solid specialty coating materials which are applied by
hand application methods and are used to aerodynamically
smooth exterior vehicle surfaces or fill cavities such as bolt
hole accesses.  A material shall not be classified as a
caulking and smoothing compound if it can also be classified
as a sealant.

"Chemical agent-resistant coating (CARC)" means
an exterior topcoat; specialty coating designed to withstand
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exposure to chemical warfare agents or the decontaminants
used on these agents.

"Chemical milling" means a process used to reduce the
thickness of selected areas of metal parts in order to reduce
weight by submerging the metal parts in an etchant.

"Chemical milling maskant" means a coating that is
applied directly to aluminum components to protect surface
areas when chemically milling the component with a Type I
or II etchant.  Type I chemical milling maskants are used
with a Type I etchant and Type II chemical milling maskants
are used with a Type II etchant.  This definition does not
include bonding maskants, critical use and line sealer
maskants, and seal coat maskants.  Additionally, maskants
that must be used with a combination of Type I or II etchants
and any of the above types of maskants (i.e., bonding,
critical use and line sealer, and seal coat) are not included. 

"Chemical milling maskant application" means the
use of spray equipment or a dip tank to apply a Chemical
milling maskant, prior to chemically milling the component
with a Type I or II etchant. 

"Cleaning operation" means collectively spray gun,
hand-wipe, and flush cleaning operations.

"Cleaning solvent" means a liquid VOC containing
material used for hand-wipe, spray gun, or flush cleaning. 

"Clear coating" means a transparent coating applied to
any substrate.

"Coating" means a material that is applied to the
surface of an aerospace vehicle or component to form a
decorative, protective, or functional solid film, or the solid
film itself.

"Coating operation" means the use of a spray booth,
tank, or other enclosure or area, such as a hangar, for the
application of a single type of coating (e.g., primer); the use
of the same spray booth for the application of another type of
coating (e.g., topcoat) constitutes a separate coating
operation for which compliance determinations are
performed separately.

"Commercial exterior aerodynamic structure
primer" means a specialty coating primer used on
aerodynamic components and structures that protrude from
the fuselage, such as wings and attached components,
control surfaces, horizontal stabilizers, vertical fins,
wing-to-body fairings, antennae, and landing gear and doors,
for the purpose of extended corrosion protection and
enhanced adhesion.

"Commercial interior adhesive" means specialty
coating materials used in the bonding of passenger cabin
interior components that meet the FAA fireworthiness
requirements.

"Compatible substrate primer" means a specialty
coating that is either a compatible epoxy primer or an
adhesive primer.  Compatible epoxy primer is primer that is
compatible with the filled elastomeric coating and is epoxy
based. The compatible substrate primer is an

epoxy-polyamide primer used to promote adhesion of
elastomeric coatings such as impact-resistant coatings.
Adhesive primer is a coating that (1) inhibits corrosion and
serves as a primer applied to bare metal surfaces or prior to
adhesive application, or (2) is applied to surfaces that can be
expected to contain fuel.  Fuel tank coatings are excluded
from this category.

"Composite processing operations" include layup,
thermal forming, debulking, curing, break-out, compression
molding, and injection molding.  Layup means the process of
assembling the layers of the composite structure by
positioning composite material in a mold and impregnating
the material with a resin.  Thermal forming means the
process of forming the layup in a mold, which usually takes
place in an autoclave.  Debulking means the simultaneous
application of low-level heat and pressure to the composite
structure to force out excess resin, trapped air, vapor, and
volatiles from between the layers of the composite structure.
Curing means the process of changing the resin into a solid
material through a polymerization reaction.  Break-out
means the removal of the composite structure from the mold
or curing fixtures.  Compression molding means the process
of filling one half of molds with a molding compound,
closing the mold, and applying heat and pressure until the
material is cured.  Injection molding means the use of a
closed mold, where the molding compound is injected into
the mold, maintained under pressure, and then cured by
applying heat.

"Corrosion prevention system" means a coating
system that provides corrosion protection by displacing
water and penetrating mating surfaces, forming a protective
barrier between the metal surface and moisture.  Coatings
containing oils or waxes are excluded from this category.

"Critical use line and sealer maskant" means a
temporary specialty coating, not covered under other
maskant categories, used to protect selected areas of
aerospace parts from strong acid or alkaline solutions such as
those used in anodizing, plating, chemical milling and
processing of magnesium, titanium, or high-strength steel,
high-precision aluminum chemical milling of deep cuts, and
aluminum chemical milling of complex shapes.   Materials
used for repairs or to bridge gaps left by scribing operations
(i.e., line sealer) are also included in this category.

"Cryogenic flexible primer" means a specialty coating
primer designed to provide corrosion resistance, flexibility,
and adhesion of subsequent coating systems when exposed
to loads up to and surpassing the yield point of the substrate
at cryogenic temperatures (-275oF and below).

"Cryoprotective coating" means a specialty coating
that insulates cryogenic or subcooled surfaces to limit
propellant boil-off, maintain structural integrity of metallic
structures during ascent or re-entry, and prevent ice
formation.

"Cyanoacrylate adhesive" means a fast-setting, single
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component specialty coating adhesive that cures at room
temperature.  Also known as "super glue."

"Depainting" means the removal of any coating from
the outer surface of an aerospace vehicle or component by
either chemical or non-chemical means.

"Depainting operation" means the use of a chemical
agent, media blasting, or any other technique to remove
coatings from the outer surface of aerospace vehicles or
components.  The depainting operation includes washing of
the aerospace vehicle or component to remove residual
stripper and coating residue.

"Dip coating" means the application of a coating
material to a substrate by dipping the part into a tank of the
coating material.

"Dry lubricative material" means a specialty coating
consisting of lauric acid, cetyl alcohol, waxes, or other
noncross linked or resin-bound materials that act as a dry
lubricant.

"Electric or radiation-effect coating" means a
specialty coating or coating system engineered to interact,
through absorption or reflection, with specific regions of the
electromagnetic energy spectrum, such as the ultraviolet,
visible, infrared, or microwave regions.  Uses include, but
are not limited to, lightning strike protection,
electromagnetic pulse (EMP) protection, and radar
avoidance. Coatings that have been designated as
"classified" by the Department of Defense are exempt.

"Electrodeposition" means an additive process for
metal substrates in which another metal layer is added to the
substrate in order to enhance corrosion and wear resistance
necessary for the successful performance of the component.
The two types of electrodeposition typically used are
electroplating and plasma arc spraying.

"Electrostatic discharge and electromagnetic
interference (EMI) coating" means a specialty coating
applied to space vehicles, missiles, aircraft radomes, and
helicopter blades to disperse static energy or reduce
electromagnetic interference.

"Electrostatic spray" means a method of applying a
spray coating in which opposite electrical charges are
applied to the substrate and the coating.  The coating is
attracted to the substrate by the electrostatic potential
between them.

"Elevated-temperature Skydrol-resistant
commercial primer" means a specialty coating primer
applied primarily to commercial aircraft (or commercial
aircraft adapted for military use) that must withstand
immersion in phosphate-ester (PE) hydraulic fluid (Skydrol
500b or equivalent) at the elevated temperature of 150oF for
1,000 hours.

"Epoxy polyamide topcoat" means a specialty coating
used where harder films are required or where engraving is
accomplished in camouflage colors.

"Etchant" means a chemical used to mill a part or

subassembly (e.g., sodium hydroxide for aluminum parts).
"Exempt solvent" means an organic compound that

has been determined to have negligible photochemical
reactivity, as specified, and is defined in Regulation 24,
Section 2 under "exempt compounds."

"Fire-resistant (interior) coating" means for civilian
aircraft, fire-resistant interior specialty coatings used on
parts that are subject to the flammability requirements of
MIL-STD-1630A and MIL-A-87721.  For space
applications, these specialty coatings are used on parts that
are subject to the flammability requirements of SE-R-0006
and SSP 30233.

"Flexible primer" means a specialty coating primer
that meets flexibility requirements such as those needed for
adhesive bond primed fastener heads or on surfaces expected
to contain fuel. The flexible coating is required because it
provides a compatible, flexible substrate over bonded sheet
rubber and rubber-type coatings as well as a flexible bridge
between the fasteners, skin, and skin-to-skin joints on outer
aircraft skins.  This flexible bridge allows more topcoat
flexibility around fasteners and decreases the chance of the
topcoat cracking around the fasteners.  The result is better
corrosion resistance.

"Flow coating" means the application of a coating
material to a substrate by pouring the coating over the
suspended part.

"Flush cleaning" means the cleaning of an aerospace
vehicle or component by passing solvent over, into, or
through the vehicle or component.  The solvent may simply
be poured into the vehicle or component and then drained, or
assisted by air or hydraulic pressure, or by pumping.
Hand-wipe cleaning operations where wiping, scrubbing,
mopping, or other hand action is used are not flush cleaning
operations.

"Formulation" means a specific coating made by a
specific manufacturer.  Each different color of a specific
coating is considered a separate formulation.

"Fuel tank adhesive" means a specialty coating
adhesive used to bond components exposed to fuel which
shall be compatible with fuel tank coatings.

"Fuel tank coating" means a specialty coating applied
to fuel tank components for the purpose of corrosion and/or
bacterial growth inhibition, and to assure sealant adhesion in
extreme environmental conditions.

"Hand-wipe cleaning operation" means the removal
of contaminants such as dirt, grease, oil, and coatings from
aerospace vehicles or components by physically rubbing
them with a material such as a rag, paper, or cotton swab that
has been moistened with a cleaning solvent.

"High temperature coating" means a specialty coating
designed to withstand temperatures of more than 350oF.

"High volume low pressure (HVLP) spray
equipment" means spray equipment that is used to apply
coatings using a spray gun that operates at equal to or less
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than 10.0 psig of atomized air pressure at the air cap.
"Insulation covering" means a specialty coating

material that is applied to foam insulation to protect the
insulation from mechanical or environmental damage.

"Intermediate release coating" means a thin specialty
coating applied beneath topcoats to assist in removing the
topcoat in depainting operations, which generally allows the
use of less hazardous depainting methods.

"Lacquer" means a clear or pigmented specialty
coating formulated with a nitrocellulose or synthetic resin to
dry by evaporation without a chemical reaction.  Lacquers
are resoluble in their original solvent.

"Leak" means any visible leakage, including misting
and clouding.

"Limited access space" means internal surfaces or
passages of an aerospace vehicle or component that cannot
be reached for the application of coatings without the aid of
an airbrush or a spray gun extension.

"Metal finishing" means conversion coating,
anodizing, desmutting, descaling, and any operation that
chemically affect the surface layer of a part, and is used to
prepare the surface of a part for better adhesion, improved
surface hardness, and improved corrosion resistance.

"Metalized epoxy coating" means a specialty coating
that contains relatively large quantities of metallic
pigmentation for appearance and/or added protection.

"Mold release" means a specialty coating applied to a
mold surface to prevent the molded piece from sticking to
the mold as it is removed.

"Non-chemical-based depainting equipment" means
any depainting equipment or technique that does not rely on
a chemical stripper to depaint an aerospace vehicle or
component (e.g., media blasting equipment).

"Nonstructural adhesive" means a specialty coating
adhesive that bonds nonload bearing aerospace components
in noncritical applications and is not covered in any other
specialty adhesive categories.

"Part marking coating" means a specialty coating or
ink used to make identifying markings on materials,
components, and/or assemblies.  These markings may be
either permanent or temporary.

"Pretreatment coating" means an organic specialty
coating that contains at least 0.5 percent acids by weight and
is applied directly to metal or composite surfaces to provide
surface etching, corrosion resistance, adhesion, and ease of
stripping.

"Primer" means the first layer and any subsequent
layers of identically formulated coating applied to the
surface of an aerospace vehicle or component.  Primers are
typically used for corrosion prevention, environment
protection, functional fluid resistance, and adhesion
promotion of subsequent coatings.  Primers that are defined
as specialty coatings are not included under this definition.

"Radome" means the non-metallic protective housing

for electromagnetic transmitters and receivers (e.g., radar,
electronic countermeasures, etc.).

"Rain erosion-resistant coating" means a specialty
coating or coating system used to protect the leading edges
of parts such as flaps, stabilizers, radomes, engine inlet
nacelles, etc. against erosion caused by rain impact during
flight.

"Research and development" means an operation
whose primary purpose is for research and development of
new processes and products and that is conducted under the
close supervision of technically trained personnel and is not
involved in the manufacture of final or intermediate products
for commercial purposes, except in a de minimis manner.

"Rocket motor bonding adhesive" means a specialty
coating adhesive used in rocket motor bonding applications.

"Rocket motor nozzle coating" means a catalyzed
epoxy specialty coating system used in elevated temperature
applications on rocket motor nozzles.

"Rubber-based adhesive" means a quick setting,
specialty coating contact cement that provides a strong, yet
flexible bond between two mating surfaces that may be of
dissimilar materials.

"Scale inhibitor" means a specialty coating that is
applied to the surface of a part prior to thermal processing to
inhibit the formation of scale.

"Screen print ink" means a specialty coating ink used
in screen printing processes during fabrication of decorative
laminates and decals.

"Sealant" means a specialty coating material used to
prevent the intrusion of water, fuel, air, or other liquids or
solids from certain areas of aerospace vehicles or
components.  There are two categories of sealants:
extrudable/rollable/brushable sealants and sprayable
sealants.

"Seal coat maskant" means a specialty coating
overcoat applied over a maskant to improve abrasion and
chemical resistance during production operations.

"Self-priming topcoat" means a coating that is applied
directly to an Aerospace vehicle or component for purposes
of corrosion protection, environmental protection, and
functional fluid resistance and that is not subsequently
topcoated.  More than one layer of identical coating
formulation may be applied to the aerospace vehicle or
component.  Self-priming topcoats that are defined as
specialty coatings are not included under this definition.

"Silicone insulation material" means an insulating
specialty coating material applied to exterior metal surfaces
for protection from high temperatures caused by atmospheric
friction or engine exhaust.  These materials differ from
ablative coatings in that they are not "sacrificial."

"Solids" means the nonvolatile portion of the coating
that after drying makes up the dry film.

"Solid film lubricant" means a very thin specialty
coating consisting of a binder system containing as its main
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pigment material one or more of the following:
molybdenum, graphite, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), or
other solids that act as a dry lubricant between faying (i.e.,
closely or tightly fitting) surfaces.

"Space vehicle" means a man-made device, either
manned or unmanned, designed for operation prototypes,
molds, jigs, tooling, hardware jackets, and test coupons.
Also included is auxiliary equipment associated with test,
transport, and storage that through contamination can
compromise the space vehicle performance.

"Specialty coating" means a coating that, even though
it meets the definition of a primer, topcoat, or self-priming
topcoat, has additional performance criteria beyond those of
primers, topcoats, and self-priming topcoats for specific
applications.  These performance criteria may include, but
are not limited to, temperature or fire resistance, substrate
compatibility, antireflection, temporary protection or
marking, sealing, adhesively joining substrates, or enhanced
corrosion protection.  A specialty coating is any coating
listed in Table 7-1 and defined in paragraph (b) of this
Section.

"Specialized function coating" means a speciatly
coating that fulfills extremely specific engineering
requirements that are limited in application and are
characterized by low volume usage. This category excludes
coatings covered in other Specialty Coating categories.

"Spray gun" means a device that uses air pressure or
air flow to atomize a coating or other material, and to project
the atomized coating particulates or other material onto a
component.

"Stripper" means a liquid that is applied to an
aerospace vehicle or component to remove primer, topcoat,
self-priming topcoat, or coating residue.

"Structural autoclavable adhesive" means a specialty
coating adhesive used to bond load-carrying aerospace
components that are cured by heat and pressure in an
autoclave.

"Structural nonautoclavable adhesive" means a
specialty coating adhesive cured under ambient conditions
that is used to bond load-carrying aerospace components or
other critical functions, such as nonstructural bonding in the
proximity of engines.

"Surface preparation" means the removal of
contaminants from the surface of an aerospace vehicle or
component, or the activation or reactivation of the surface in
preparation for the application of a coating.

"Temporary protective coating" means a specialty
coating applied to provide scratch or corrosion protection
during manufacturing, storage, or transportation.  Two types
include peelable protective coatings and alkaline removable
coatings.  These materials are not intended to protect against
strong acid or alkaline solutions.  Coatings that provide this
type of protection from chemical processing are not included
in this category.

"Thermal control coating" means a specialty coating
formulated with specific thermal conductive or radiative
properties to permit temperature control of the substrate.

"Topcoat" means a coating that is applied over a
primer on an aerospace vehicle or component for
appearance, identification, camouflage, or protection.
Topcoats that are defined as specialty coatings are not
included under this definition.

"Touch-up and repair coating" means a coating used
to cover minor coating imperfections appearing after the
main coating operation.

"Touch-up and repair operation" means that portion
of the coating operation that is the incidental application of
coating used to cover minor imperfections in the coating
finish or to achieve complete coverage.  This definition
includes out-of-sequence or out-of-cycle coating.  Touch-up
and repair operations are not to exceed an area of 4 square
feet per aerospace vehicle.

"Type II etchant" or "Type II chemical milling
etchant" means a Chemical milling etchant that is a strong
sodium hydroxide solution containing amines (Type I
etchants do not contain amines).

"Volatile Organic Compound (VOC)" means any
compound defined as VOC in Regulation 24, Section 2 -
Definitions.  

"VOC composite vapor pressure" means the sum of
the partial pressures of the compounds defined as VOC's and
is determined by the following calculation:

Wi = Weight of the "i"th VOC compound,
grams

Ww = Weight of water, grams
We = Weight of nonwater, non-VOC compound,

grams
MWi = Molecular weight of the "i"th VOC

compound, g/g-mole
MWw = Molecular weight of water, g/g-mole
MWe = Molecular weight of exempt compound,

g/g-mole
PPc = VOC composite partial pressure at 20oC,

mm Hg
VPi = Vapor pressure of the "i"th VOC

compound at 20oC, mm Hg

"Wet fastener installation coating" means a specialty
coating primer or sealant applied by dipping, brushing, or
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daubing to fasteners that are installed before the coating is
cured.

"Wing coating" means a corrosion-resistant specialty
coating topcoat that is resilient enough to withstand the
flexing of the wings.

c. Standards.
1. Hand-Wipe Cleaning Operations.  

i. Except as exempted in paragraph (c)(1)(ii), no
person subject to this Section shall cause or allow on any day
the use of any cleaning solvent in any hand-wipe cleaning
operation that does not comply with one of the following
limits:

A. VOC composite vapor pressure should be
less than 45 millimeters (mm) mercury (Hg) (1.8 inches [in]
Hg) at 20 degrees Celsius ((C) (68 degrees Fahrenheit [(F]).

B. Cleaning solvent shall be an aqueous
cleaning solvent (i.e., a solvent in which water is at least 80
percent of the solvent, as applied).

ii. The requirements of paragraphs (c)(1)(i) of this
Section shall not apply to the following hand-wipe cleaning
operations:

A. Cleaning during the manufacture,
assembly, installation, maintenance, or testing of
components of breathing oxygen systems that are exposed to
the breathing oxygen.

B. Cleaning during the manufacture,
assembly, installation, maintenance, or testing of parts,
subassemblies, or assemblies that are exposed to strong
oxidizers or reducers (e.g., nitrogen tetroxide, liquid oxygen,
and hydrazine).

C. Cleaning and surface activation prior to
adhesive bonding.

D. Cleaning of electronics and assemblies
containing electronics.

E. Cleaning of aircraft fluid system and
ground support equipment fluid systems that are exposed to
the fluid, including air-to-air heat exchangers and hydraulic
fluid systems.

F. Cleaning of fuel cells, fuel tanks, and
limited-access spaces.

G  Surface cleaning of solar cells, coated
optics, and thermal control surfaces.

H. Cleaning during fabrication, assembly,
installation, and maintenance of upholstery, curtains, carpet,
and other textile materials used on the interior of the aircraft.

I. Cleaning of metallic and non-metallic
materials used in honeycomb cores during the manufacture
or maintenance of these cores, and cleaning of the completed
cores used in the manufacture of aerospace vehicles or
components.

J. Cleaning of aircraft transparencies.
K. Cleaning associated with research and

development, quality control, and laboratory testing.

2. Spray Gun Cleaning Operations.
i. No person subject to this Section shall cause or

allow on any day the use of any spray gun cleaning
techniques that does not comply with one of the following:

A. Use of an enclosed spray gun cleaning
system that is kept closed when not in use.

B. Non-atomized discharge of solvent into a
waste container that is kept closed when not in use.

C. Disassembly of the spray gun and placing
the parts for cleaning in a vat that is kept closed when not in
use. 

D. Atomized spray into a waste container that
is fitted with a device that captures atomized solvent
emissions.

E. Any alternative technique that has been
demonstrated to, and accepted by the Department as
producing emissions that are equal to or less than the
emissions from the techniques specified in paragraph
(c)(2)(i)(A) through (D) of this Section.  Emissions from any
alternative technique shall be demonstrated pursuant to test
protocols that are approved in advance by the Department.

ii. Any enclosed spray gun cleaner shall be
visually inspected for leaks at least once per month.  Such
inspection shall occur while the enclosed spray gun cleaner
is in operation.

iii. Leaks from any enclosed spray gun cleaner
shall be repaired as soon as practicable, but no later than 15
days from when the leak is first discovered.  

iv. If any leak is not repaired by the 15th day after
detection, the solvent shall be removed and the enclosed
cleaner shall be shut down until the leak is repaired.

3. Flush Cleaning.  Any cleaning solvents used during
flush cleaning operations shall be handled pursuant to
paragraph (c)(8) of this Section.

4. Primer, Topcoat, and Self-Priming Topcoat
Application.

i. Except as provided for in paragraph (c)(4)(ii),
(d) and (e) of this Section, no person subject to this Section
shall cause or allow on any day the application of any
primer, topcoat, and/or self-priming topcoat with a VOC
content that does not comply with the following limits:

A. Primers shall have a VOC content equal to
or less than 350 g/L (2.9 lb/gal), excluding water and exempt
compounds, as applied.

B. Topcoats and self-priming topcoats shall
have a VOC content equal to or less than 420 g/L (3.5 lb/
gal), excluding water and exempt compounds, as applied.

ii. The requirements of paragraphs (c)(4)(i)(B) of
this Section shall not apply to facilities that use less than 50
gallons per consecutive rolling 12-month period of a
particular formulation of topcoat, or self-priming topcoat
provided:

A. Each topcoat and self-priming topcoat
shall have a VOC content equal to or less than 720 g/L (6.0
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lb/gal), excluding water and exempt compounds as applied.
B. A total of not more than 200 gallons per

consecutive rolling 12-month period of all such high VOC
coatings are used at the facility.

iii. Except as provided for in paragraph (c)(4)(iv)
of this Section,  no person subject to this Section shall cause
or allow on any day the use of any application technique to
apply any primer, topcoat, or self-priming topcoat other than
the following: 

A. flow/curtain coat, roll coat, brush coat, dip
coat, cotton-tip swab application, electrostatic spray,
electrodeposition, or high volume low pressure (HVLP)
spray guns;

B. Any alternate technique that has been
demonstrated to and accepted by the Department as
providing emissions that are less than or equal to the
emissions from HVLP or electrostatic spray application
techniques.  Emissions from any alternate techniques shall
be demonstrated pursuant to test protocols that are approved
in advance by the Department.  Such tests shall, at a
minimum, compare the emission levels determined using an
initial 90-day period of HVLP or electrostatic spray
attraction techniques with the emission levels determined
using the alternate technique for a period of time necessary
to coat the equivalent amount of parts with the same
coatings.

iv. The equipment standards and application
techniques in paragraph (c)(4)(iii) of this Section shall not
apply to the following primer, topcoat and self-priming
topcoat application operations:

A. The application of coatings in any limited
access space.

B. The application of coatings that contain
fillers that adversely affect atomization with HVLP spray
guns and cannot be applied by any of the application
techniques specified in paragraph (c)(4)(iii) of this Section.

C. The application of coatings that normally
have a dried film thickness of less than 0.0005 inches and

cannot be applied by any of the application techniques
specified in paragraph (c)(4)(iii) of this Section.

D. The use of airbrush application methods
for stenciling, lettering, and other identification markings.

E. Any touch-up and repair operation.
v. All application equipment shall be operated

according to the manufacturer's specifications at all times,
even if it is exempt from the equipment standards specified
in paragraph (c)(4)(iii) of this Section.

5. Depainting Operation.  No person subject to this
Section shall cause or allow on any day the use of any
stripper that does not comply with one of the following
limits:

i. VOC composite vapor pressure shall be less
than 10 mm Hg (0.4 in. Hg) at 20(C (68(F).

ii. VOC content shall be less than 400 g/L (3.3 lb/
gal), excluding water and exempt compounds, as applied.

6. Chemical Milling Maskant Application.
Except as provided for in paragraph (d) or (e) of

this Section, no person subject to this Section shall cause or
allow on any day the application of any chemical milling
maskant with a VOC content that does not comply with the
following emission limits:

i. For any Type I maskant, VOC content equal or
less than 622 g/L (5.2 lbs/gal), excluding water and exempt
compounds, shall be applied; or

ii For any Type II maskant, VOC content equal
or less than 160 g/L (1.3 lbs/gal), excluding water and
exempt compounds, shall be applied.

7. Specialty Coatings
Except as provided for in paragraph (d) or (e) of

this Section, no person subject to this Section shall cause or
allow on any day the application of any specialty coating that
has a VOC content, excluding water and exempt compounds,
as applied, that is greater than the limits specified in Table
7-1:

TABLE 7-1.  VOC CONTENT LIMITS FOR SPECIALTY COATINGS (g/L)a  

Coating Type Limit Coating Type Limit

Ablative  Coating 600 Epoxy Polyamide Topcoat 660

Adhesives:
Commercial Interior Adhesive
Cyanoacrylate Adhesive
Fuel Tank Adhesive
Nonstructural Adhesive
Rocket Motor Bonding Adhesive
Rubber-based Adhesive
Structural Autoclavable Adhesive
Structural Nonautoclavable Adhesive 

760
1,020
620
360
890
850
60
850

Fire-Resistant (interior) Coating 800

Flexible Primer 640

Flight-Test Coatings:Missile or Single Use Aircraft
All other 

420
840

Fuel-Tank Coating 720

High-Temperature Coating 850

Insulation Covering 740

Adhesion promoter 890 Intermediate Release Coating 750

Adhesive Bonding Primers:

Cured at 250oF or below

Cured above 250oF 

850
1,030

Lacquer 830
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a Coating limits expressed in terms of mass (grams) of
VOC per volume (liters) of coating less water and less
exempt solvent.  To convert from g/L to lbs/gallon multiply
by 0.00835.

8. VOC Handling and Storage.
i. Except as provided in paragraph (c)(8)(ii) of

this Section, any person subject to this Section shall use
good house keeping measures when handling any VOC and
any VOC-containing material at the facility.  Such measures
shall include:

A. Handling and transferring all fresh and
spent cleaning solvent and other VOC-containing material to
or from any container, tank, vat, vessel, or piping system,
etc. in such a manner that minimizes losses.

B. All fresh and spent solvents and
VOC-containing material shall be stored in closed containers
at all times except during filling or emptying.

C. All solvent-laden cloths, papers, or other
absorbent materials shall be placed in closed containers
immediately after use.

ii. The requirements in paragraph (c)(8)(i) of this
Section shall not apply to wastes that are determined to be
hazardous wastes under the Resource Conservation and
Recovery Act of 1976 (PL 94-580) (RCRA), as implemented
by 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Parts 260 and 261,
and that are subject to RCRA requirements, as implemented
in 40 CFR Parts 262 through 268.

d. Daily-Weighted Average Limitations.  As an alternative
to complying with the individual limits specified in
paragraphs (c)(4)(i)(A), (c)(4)(i)(B), (c)(6)(i), (c)(6)(ii), and
(c)(7) of this Section, coatings in any primer, topcoat,
chemical milling maskant, or specialty coating application
operation shall not be applied at the facility, during any day,
whose daily-weighted average VOC content, calculated in
accordance with the procedure specified in Appendix "C" of
Regulation 24 and the provisions listed below, exceeds the
applicable emission limits in paragraphs (c)(4)(i)(A),
(c)(4)(i)(B), (c)(6)(i), (c)(6)(ii), and (c)(7) of this Section, as
applicable.

1. Averaging between primers, topcoats, self-priming
topcoats, chemical milling maskants and/or specialty
coatings is prohibited.

2. Averaging between coatings used in operations
where air emissions are not captured and controlled and
coatings used in operations where air emissions are captured
and controlled is prohibited.

e. Control Devices.
1. As an alternative to complying with the individual

limits specified in paragraph (c)(4)(i)(A), (c)(4)(i)(B),
(c)(6)(i), (c)(6)(ii), and (c)(7), any person subject to this
Section shall, for any primer, topcoat, self-priming topcoat,
chemical milling maskant, and/or specialty coating
application operation:

i. Install, test, calibrate, operate, maintain, and
monitor according to the manufacturer's specifications, as

Antichafe coating 660 Maskants (excluding Type I and Type II):
Bonding maskant

Critical Use and Line Sealer Maskant
Seal Coat Maskant 

1,230
1,020
1,230

Bearing coating 620 Pretreatment Coating 
780

Caulking and smoothing compounds 850 Rain Erosion-Resistant Coating 
850

Chemical Agent-Resistant Coating 550 Rocket Motor Nozzle Coating 660

Clear Coating 720 Scale Inhibitor 880

Commercial exterior aerodynamic structure primer 650 Screen Print Ink 840

Compatible Substrate Primer 780 Sealants:
Extrudable/Rollable/Brushable Sealant

Sprayable Sealant 
280
600

Corrosion Prevention Compound 710 Silicone Insulation Material 850

Cryogenic Flexible Primer 645 Solid Film Lubricant 
880

Cryoprotective Coating 600 Specialized Function Coating 
890

Dry Lubricative Material 880 Temporary Protective Coating 
320

Electric or Radiation-Effect Coating 800 Thermal Control Coating 
800

Electrostatic Discharge and Electromagnetic Interference (EMI) 
Coating 

800 Wet Fastener Installation Coating 
675

Elevated-Temperature Skydrol-Resistant Commercial Primer 740 Wing Coating 
850
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approved by the Department, an air pollution control device
consisting of a capture and control system on that operation;
and

ii. Demonstrate that the overall emission
reduction efficiency achieved is equal to or greater than 81
weight percent. 

2. The procedures in Appendix "D" and Appendix "E"
of Regulation 24 shall be used to demonstrate compliance
with paragraph (e)(1)(ii) of this Section. The method in
Appendix "I" of Regulation 24 may be used to determine an
alternative multi-day rolling period when calculating the
efficiency of any carbon absorption system.

f. Test Methods.
1. The VOC composite vapor pressure specified in

paragraph (c)(1)(i)(A) and paragraph (c)(5)(i) of this Section
shall be determined either by using ASTM Method E
260-91, manufacturer's supplied data, or standard
engineering reference text values.

2. The water content specified in paragraph
(c)(1)(i)(B) of this Section shall be determined using the test
methods found in Appendix "A" and Appendix "B" of
Regulation 24.

3. The VOC content specified in paragraph
(c)(4)(i)(A) and (c)(4)(i)(B) shall be determined by using the
test method found in Appendix "A" and Appendix "B" of
Regulation 24.

g. Recordkeeping.   Any person subject to this Section shall
maintain at the facility for a minimum period of 5 years from
the information's date of record, all of the following
information.  Such information shall be immediately
submitted to the Department upon written or verbal request.

1. For any person subject to the requirements of
paragraph (c)(1) of this Section (i.e., hand-wipe cleaning
operations):

i. Identification of each hand-wipe cleaning
solvent used at the facility;

ii. The composite vapor pressure of each
hand-wipe cleaning solvent complying with paragraph
(c)(1)(i)(A), and all supporting documentation, to include
any test reports and/or calculations. 

iii. The water content of each hand-wipe cleaning
solvent complying with paragraph (c)(1)(i)(B), and all
supporting documentation, to include any test reports and/or
calculations.

iv. Identification of each hand-wipe cleaning
solvent used at the facility pursuant to paragraph (c)(1)(ii) of
this Section, and a list of the parts, assemblies, or
subassemblies cleaned with each such hand-wipe cleaning
solvent.

2. For any person subject to paragraph (c)(2) of this
Section (i.e., spray gun cleaning):

i. A description of each method used to clean

spray guns.
ii. Records of the inspections conducted pursuant

to paragraph (c)(2)(ii)(A).
iii. For any leak found pursuant to paragraph

(c)(2)(ii)(A), records indicating the source of the leak, the
date the leak was discovered, and the date the leak was
repaired.

3. For any person subject to paragraph (c)(4) of this
Section (i.e., primer, topcoat, and self-priming topcoat
application): 

i. For each coating applied pursuant to paragraph
(c)(4)(ii) of this Section.

A. Not later than the 5th day of each month,
identification of each coating used at the facility pursuant to
paragraph (c)(4)(ii) of this Section during the preceding
month.

B. The volume used of each coating
identified in paragraph (g)(3)(i)(A) of this Section.

C. The summation of the volumes recorded
pursuant to paragraph (g)(3)(i)(B) for the preceding twelve
(12) months.

D. The records required by paragraph (e) of
Section 4 of Regulation 24.

ii. A description of the proper operation of all
coating application equipment used at the facility.

iii Documentation associated with any alternate
coating application techniques approved pursuant to
paragraph (c)(4)(iii)(B) of this Section.

4. For any person subject to paragraph (c)(4), (c)(6),
and (c)(8) of this Section (i.e., primer, topcoat, self-priming
topcoat, chemical milling maskant, and specialty coating
application):

i. Identification of the control strategy employed
(i.e., the combination of complying coatings, daily-weighted
averaging, and control devices used at the facility).

ii. Where complying coatings are used, the
records required by paragraph (c) of Section 4 of Regulation
24.  

iii. Where daily-weighted averaging pursuant to
paragraph (d) of this Section is used, the records required by
paragraph (d) of Section 4 of Regulation 24.  

iv. Where a control device(s) pursuant to
paragraph (e) of this Section is used, the records required by
paragraph (e) of Section 4 of Regulation 24. 

5. For any person subject to paragraph (c)(5) of this
Section:

i. If complying with paragraph (c)(5)(i), the
name, VOC composite vapor pressure, and method and
supporting documentation used to determine the VOC
composite vapor pressure of each stripper used at the
facility.

ii. If complying with paragraph (c)(5)(ii), the
name, VOC content, and method and supporting
documentation used to determine the VOC content of each
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stripper used at the facility.
iii. A description of any non-chemical-based

depainting equipment used at the facility, to include the
name and type of equipment or technique.

iv. Records and a description of all malfunctions
of non-chemical-based depainting equipment used at the
facility, to include the dates and alternative depainting
method(s) used.

v. A list of any parts, assemblies, or
subassemblies normally removed during depainting
operations.

6. For any person subject to paragraph (c)(8) of this
Section, a description of the procedures used to ensure that
containers are kept closed when not in use and that solvents
and other VOC-containing materials are stored in closed
containers.

h. Reporting.  Notification of any non-compliance with any
requirement of this Section shall be reported to the
Department in accordance with Section 4 and 5 of
Regulation 24, as applicable and any other applicable
Federal or State reporting requirements.

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 
(7 Del. C. Ch. 60)

SAN # 2000-12

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
“Reporting of a Discharge of a Pollutant or an Air

Contaminant”

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

The Department is proposing to amend the Reporting of
a Discharge of a Pollutant or an Air Contaminant regulation
to replace the current regulation that describe the
requirements for reporting the environmental release or
discharge of a pollutant or air contaminant with new
requirements.  Senate Bill 33 modified the definition of an
environmental release to mean substances and their
reportable quantities under the Comprehensive
Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act
of 1980 or regulations enacted under Title 7 §6028.  The
amendment to the regulation include wording changes
required by Senate Bill 33, updates and changes to the
Delaware list of substances and their reportable quantities,
and the inclusion of a mandatory follow-up written report. 

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:  
None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY
TO ACT:

7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The original public hearing date of May 30 has been

rescheduled for June 27.  The public comment period for this
proposed amendment will extend through June 28, 2002.
Interested parties may submit comments in writing during
this time frame to: Jay Brabson, Air Quality Management
Section, 715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720, and/or
statements and testimony may be presented either orally or
in writing at the public hearing to be held on Thursday, June
27, 2002 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC auditorium at
the Richardson and Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE. 

7. PREPARED BY:
Jay Brabson   (302) 323-4542, May 8, 2002

Proposed Amendment to Reporting of a Discharge of a 
Pollutant or an Air Contaminant

Section 1  General Provisions
1.1 The purpose of this Regulation is to describe the

requirements to for reporting the discharge of a pollutant or
an air contaminant as mandated in 7 Del. C., Section 6028.

1.2 Information obtained through the provisions of this
Regulation shall be made available for public inspection at
any Department office in accordance with 29 Del.C.,
Chapter 100 and Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control (Department) Freedom of
Information Act (FOIA) regulations except where such
information is of confidential nature as defined in 7 Del. C.,
Section 6014.  

1.3 The list of chemicals and substances subject to the
reporting requirements of this Regulation and the associated
Delaware Reportable Quantity (DRQ) for each chemical and
substance is contained in Section 3.  The Department may,
after providing proper public notice and an opportunity for
public hearing, add or delete chemicals or substances or
change the DRQ of any chemical or substance.  for the listed
chemicals.

1.4 The reporting requirements under this Section
Regulation are in addition to and not in lieu of, any other
discharge reporting requirement found in any other state,
federal, county or local government statutes, permits,

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
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regulations or ordinances. , such as the provisions found in
the "Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste" at
Sections 264.56 and 265.56.  

1.5 [Reserved]  Emissions normally reported on Excess
Emission Reports (EER's) when required by state or federal
permits or regulations are exempt from the requirements of
this regulation

1.6 Continuous discharges are exempt from the
requirements of this regulation. 

1.7  1.6 Definitions  
A. "Continuous Discharge"  a discharge that

occurs without interruption or abatement or that is routine,
anticipated and intermittent during normal operations or
treatment processes.  Episodic discharges such as those
associated with accidents, equipment malfunctions,
emergency shutdowns, or pipe ruptures, however, are not
routine or regular and do not come within the definition of
continuous. 

"Delaware Reportable Quantity" (DRQ) –
means the reportable quantity of chemicals, compounds,
substances or mixtures listed in Section 3 of this regulation
notwithstanding any reporting requirements by other state,
federal, county or local government statutes, regulations or
ordinances. To be reportable, the DRQ is based on the total
quantity discharged over a rolling 24 hour period.

B. "Discharge"  means any spilling, leaking,
pumping, pouring, emitting, emptying, releasing, injecting,
escaping, leaching, dumping, or disposing into the
environment of any chemical or substance listed in Section 3
but excludes emissions from the engine exhaust of a motor
vehicle, rolling stock, aircraft, waterborne vessel or pipeline
pumping station engine.  Discharge includes any
environmental release. To be reportable, a discharge/DRQ is
based on any 24hour period.

C. "Environmental Emergency Notification
and Complaint Number" – means the 24hour DNREC
telephone number(s) used for reporting the discharge of a
pollutant or an air contaminant.

D. “Environmental Release” – means any
spillage, leakage, emission, discharge, or delivery into the air
or waters or on or into the lands of this State, of any sewage
of 10,000 gallons or more, oil, industrial waste, liquid waste,
hydrocarbon chemical, hazardous substance, hazardous
waste, restricted chemical material, vessel discharge, air
contaminant, pollutant, regulated biological substance or
other wastes reportable pursuant to the Comprehensive
Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act
of 1980 as amended, or this Regulation. 

E. “Extremely Hazardous Substance” – means
substances listed in 40 CFR Part 355 Appendices A and B as
amended May 7, 1996. 

F. "Heating oil"  means petroleum that is of one
of nine technical grades.  These are: No. 1; No.2; No.4light;
No.4heavy; No.5light; No.5heavy; No.6 technical grade of

fuel oil; other residual fuel oils (including Navy Special Fuel
Oil and Bunker C); and other fuels used as substitutes for
one of these fuels such as kerosene or diesel when used for
heating purposes.  Heating oil is typically used in the
operation of heating equipment, boilers, or furnaces.

G. "Medical Treatment" includes treatment
administered by a physician or by registered professional
personnel under the standing orders of a physician.  Medical
treatment does not include first aid treatment even though
provided by a physician or registered professional personnel.

“Motor Fuel" means petroleum or
petroleumbased substance that is motor gasoline, aviation
gasoline, jet fuel, No. 1 or No. 2 diesel fuel, or any grade of
gasohol, and is typically used in the operation of a motor
engine.

H. "Petroleum Substance" - means oil of any
kind or in any form, including but not limited to petroleum,
fuel oil, heating oil, sludge, oil refuse, and oil mixed with
wastes other than dredged spoil. Vegetable based oils such
as soybean oil are not included.

I. "Sewage" - means water-carried human or
animal wastes from septic tanks, water closets, residences,
buildings, industrial establishments, or other places, together
with such ground water infiltration, subsurface water, and
mixtures of industrial wastes or other wastes as may be
present.

Section 2  Reporting Requirements
2.1 Applicability

A Unless otherwise stated in this Section, any
person who causes or contributes to an environmental
release or to the discharge of an air contaminant into the air
or a pollutant, including petroleum substances, into surface
water, groundwater or land, or disposal of solid waste in
excess of any DRQ specified under this Regulation, shall
report such discharge to the Department as soon as the
person has knowledge of said environmental release or
discharge while immediately upon discovery of said
discharge and after activating the appropriate emergency site
plan unless circumstances exist which make such a
notification impossible. A delay in notification shall not be
considered to be a violation of this Regulation when the act
of reporting may delay the mitigation of the discharge and/or
the protection of public health and the environment. 

B. Discharge or disposal in compliance with a
validly issued state or federal permit(s) or in compliance
with other state and federal regulations is exempt from this
the reporting requirements of this Regulation.

C. An owner or operator responsible for a
transportation related discharge may meet the requirements
of this Regulation by providing the information indicated in
2.4 to the 911 operator and, if applicable, to the responding
Department representative at the scene.  For the purposes of
this paragraph, a “transportation related discharge” means a
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discharge during transportation when the stored chemical or
substance is moving under active shipping papers and has
not reached the ultimate consignee.

D. This Regulation does not apply to the proper
application of a pesticide product registered under the
Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (7
U.S.C. 136 et. seq. as amended August 3, 1996).

E. Any discharge that is continuous and stable in
quantity and rate under the definitions in 40 CFR 302.8 (b) is
exempt from reporting requirements of this regulation
except:

i. Initial notifications as required by 40 CFR
part 302.8 (d) and (e).

ii. “statistically significant increase” as
defined in 40 CFR 302.8(b),

iii. notification of a “new release” as defined
in 40 CFR 302.8(g) (1), or

iv. notification of a change in the normal
range of the release as required under 40 CFR 302.8(g) (2).  

Telephone notification required by 40 CFR
302.8 to the State of Delaware State Emergency Response
Commission (SERC) shall be fulfilled by notifying the
Department.  Written notification reports required by 40
CFR 302.8 and sent to the EPA regional office shall serve as
written notification to the State of Delaware SERC when
copied to the Department. (Reference:  40 CFR  302.8 as
promulgated on July 24, 1990).

2.2 Discharges of an air contaminant or pollutant
(including petroleum substances) that are wholly contained
within a building are exempt from the reporting
requirements of this Regulation Sections 2.1 and 2.3.
Should such a wholly contained discharge be discharged
outside the building at a later time for any reason, that
eventual discharge, when exceeding the DRQ, shall activate
these reporting requirements.

2.3 [Reserved] When an owner, operator or responsible
representative of a facility obtains knowledge that a
discharge of any listed or unlisted chemical in any quantity
results in injuries outside the workplace which require
medical treatment or result in death to anyone affected by the
discharge, the incident must be reported under 2.4 and if
required by the Department, under 2.5, and this notice shall
be made at the time this knowledge is obtained. This
provision does not apply if it takes longer than 7 days to
learn about the injury, but it does apply whenever the
knowledge of a death attributable to a discharge is obtained.

2.4 For the purpose of this regulation, notification of
any reportable incident under Sections 2.1 or 2.3 by a person
to the Department can be in person to Department staff or by
telephone communication to the Department's
Environmental Emergency Notification and Complaint
Number. The notification must containing the following
information which details the facts and circumstances of the
discharge to the extent known the maximum extent

practicable at the time of notice: and so long as no delay in
notice or emergency response results:

A. Facility name and/or location of the discharge.
B. Type of incident, e.g. discharge, fire,

explosion, associated with discharge and whether assistance
from outside emergency responders, e.g. 911, has been
requested.

C. The chemical or substance involved with the
incident of discharge including the Chemical Abstract
System  (CAS)  number for the chemical or of the
constituent chemicals when a mixture is discharged.

D. An indication of whether the chemical or
chemicals are an extremely hazardous substance. . as defined
under the SARA Section 302 (EHS) list or Table I of the
Delaware Regulation for the Management of Extremely
Hazardous Substances. 

E. An estimate of the quantity of any such
chemical(s) or substance(s) or compound(s) that was
discharged into the environment.

F. The beginning time and the duration of the
discharge.

G. The medium or media, e.g. soil, groundwater,
surface water, air , etc.,  into which the discharge occurred.

H. Any known or anticipated acute or chronic
health risks associated with the emergency and, where
appropriate, advice regarding medical attention necessary
for exposed individuals.

I. Proper precautions to take as a result of the
discharge, including evacuation (unless such information is
readily available to the community emergency coordinator
pursuant to the emergency plan).

J. Name of the reporting person and a callback
phone number. The name(s) and telephone number(s) of the
person(s) to be contacted for further information. 

K. An indication of whether or not this is a
complete report.  Incomplete reports must be completed
when the information is available but in no case more than
24 hours later than the initial contact.  Such other
information as the Department may require.

2.5 (A) Except for petroleum substances, sewage, or
infectious waste releases, as soon as practical but no later
than 30 days after a release of a DRQ of a listed substance,
such person, owner or operator shall provide a written
follow-up report to the Department updating the information
required under section 2.4 and including the following
additional information to the extent known:
Part I.

i. Actions taken to respond to and contain the
release in the form of a chronology,

ii. Any known or anticipated acute or chronic
health risks associated with the release, and

iii. Where appropriate, advice regarding medical
attention necessary for exposed individuals.
Part II.
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iv. The facts and circumstances leading to the
environmental release including a detailed identification of
the pathway through which the discharge to the environment
occurred and potential environmental impacts, 

v. Measures proposed to prevent such a discharge
from occurring in the future and to remedy the deficiencies,
if any, in the prevention, detection, response containment,
cleanup or removal plan components,

vi. Such other information which the Department
may require.

Except where Part II information is of
confidential nature as defined in 7 Del. C., § 6014, all written
information obtained through this subsection shall be made
available to Local Emergency Planning Committees
(LEPCs) and the public.

(B) The Department reserves the right to require a
written report for any environmental release, regardless of
the substance or quantity, if there is concern for public health
and safety or environmental welfare has been adversely
affected. At the Department’s discretion, the Department
may require said person to file a written follow-up report,
within 30 days or any shorter time as required by validly
issued state or federal permits or by any pertinent
regulations, setting forth all details contained in Sections 2.4
and 2.5.

The written report shall be in a format approved by
the Department and submitted to the appropriate addresses
for report submissions provided by the Department. The
Department may establish procedures for notification and
submission of written reports by computerized and
electronic methods, including but not limited to, the
submission of information through the internet.

If not already required SARA Section 304, and at the
Department's discretion, the Department may require said
person to file a written report, within 30 days or any shorter
time as required by validly issued state or federal permits or
by any other pertinent regulations, setting forth all details
contained in Section 2.4, updating as necessary, and
providing  further information as detailed below:  

A. Name, address and phone number of the owner or
operator.

B. Actions taken to respond to and contain the
discharge in the form of a chronology.

C. Any known or anticipated acute or chronic health
risks associated with the discharge. 

D. Where appropriate, advice regarding medical
attention necessary for exposed individuals.  

E. Anticipated environmental impact.
F. An evaluation of all pertinent prevention and

response plans and policies in light of the discharge and the
owner's or operator's response thereto.

G. detailed identification of the pathway through
which the discharge to the environment occurred with
drawings, if necessary, to clearly explain this path.

H. Measures proposed to prevent such a discharge
from occurring in the future and to remedy the shortcomings
in the prevention, detection, response containment, cleanup
or removal plan  components.

Section 3  Chemicals, Compounds and Substances and
Mixtures and Associated Reportable Quantities.

3.1 The purpose of this Section is to detail those
chemicals, compounds, substances and mixtures applicable
to the reporting requirements of this Regulation and to
identify the DRQ at which reporting of the chemical
compound or substance release or discharge is required.   

3.2 The list Table A attached to this Section contains all
chemicals and chemical categories and DRQ's that are
subject to these reporting requirements of this Regulation.
Notification of the discharge of a DRQ of solid particles of
antimony, arsenic, beryllium, cadmium, chromium, copper,
lead, nickel, selenium, silver, thallium, zinc or any other
solid substance on the DRQ list is not required if the mean
diameter of the particles discharged is larger than 100
micrometers (0.004 inches).

3.3 When any incident of discharge occurs involving
more than one (1) chemical or chemical category listed in
this Section, the DRQ for the total discharge shall be is the
lowest DRQ of any constituent of that total, unless the
mixture is known to the responsible person.  In this case, the
word "known" means that a determination of constituent
levels may be is made either by direct testing or by
application calculation of the constituent level in light of the
materials or processes used to generate the mixture.  For
incidents involving known mixtures of substances with a
DRQ, where the constituent levels have been determined, the
discharge is subject to these notification requirements only
when a component constituent substance of the mixture is
discharged in a quantity equal to or greater than its DRQ.

3.4 In all cases, discharges of infectious waste, as
defined in Title 7 Chapter 64 § 6402, of any quantity or of
any type occurring outside of a medical or health care
facility are subject to the notification requirements of
Section 2.4 of this regulation, including and the written
requirements of Section 2.5 (B). 

3.5 In all cases, discharges of petroleum substances of
any quantity or of any type are subject to these notification
requirements unless the petroleum substance is contained in
such a manner as to prevent the immediate or eventual
discharge or leaking into surface water or groundwater, or is
confined to the location of the discharge on an impervious
surface. For discharges of petroleum substances that are
contained in such a manner as to prevent the immediate or
eventual discharge or leaking into surface water or
groundwater or are confined to the location of the discharge
on an impervious surface, the following shall apply:

A. Discharges of 25 gallons or more on land of
motor fuel, jet fuel, heating oil, used oil or used petroleum
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substances must be reported.
B. Discharges of 150 gallons or more to land of

any other petroleum substance not listed above or not
uniquely identified on the Section 3 list, must be reported.

SECTION 3 TABLE A
Delaware List Of Chemicals And Reportable Quantities 

In Pounds In Alphbetical Order

     CAS    NAME DRQ 

* Infectious waste ALL* 

* Petroleum subs., other than heating oil, motor
fuel, used oil 

150 gal.* 

* Petroleum substances, heating oil, motor
fuel, used oil 

25 gal.* 

*10,000 gallons sewage 10,000
gal*. 

71751412 Abamectin 100 

83329 Acenaphthene 100 

208968 Acenaphthylene 5000 

30560191 Acephate 100 

75070 Acetaldehyde 1000 

75876 Acetaldehyde, trichloro- 5000 

60355 Acetamide 100 

64197 Acetic acid 5000 

108247 Acetic anhydride 5000 

67641 Acetone 5000 

75865 Acetone cyanohydrin 10 

1752303 Acetone thiosemicarbazide 1000 

75058 Acetonitrile 5000 

98862 Acetophenone 5000 

53963 2-Acetylaminofluorene 1 

506967 Acetyl bromide 5000 

75365 Acetyl chloride 5000 

74862 Acetylene 1000 

591082 1-Acetyl-2-thiourea 1000 

62476599 Acifluorfen, sodium salt 100  

107028 Acrolein 1 

79061 Acrylamide 5000 

79107 Acrylic acid 5000 

107131 Acrylonitrile 100 

814686 Acrylyl chloride 100 

124049 Adipic acid 5000 

111693 Adiponitrile 1000 

15972608 Alachlor 100 

116063 Aldicarb 1 

1646884 Aldicarb sulfone 1 

309002 Aldrin 1 

1116707 Alkylaluminums 500 

28057489 d-trans-Allethrin 100 

107119 Allylamine 50 

107186 Allyl alcohol 100 

107051 Allyl chloride 1000 

7429905 Aluminum (fume or dust) 100 

1344281 Aluminum oxide (fibrous forms) 100 

20859738 Aluminum phosphide 100 

10043013 Aluminum sulfate 5000 

834128 Ametryn 100 

117793 2-Aminoanthraquinone 10 

60093 4-Aminoazobenzene 10 

92671 4-Aminobiphenyl 1 

82280 1-Amino-2-methylanthraquinone 10 

54626 Aminopterin 500 

504245 4-Aminopyridine 1000 

78535 Amiton 500 

3734972 Amiton oxalate 100 

33089611 Amitraz 100 

61825 Amitrole 10 

7664417 Ammonia 50 

6484522 Ammonium nitrate 500 

7790989 Ammonium perchlorate 500 

13446101 Ammonium permaganate 500 

631618 Ammonium acetate 5000 

1863634 Ammonium benzoate 5000 

1066337 Ammonium bicarbonate 5000 

7789095 Ammonium bichromate 10 

1341497 Ammonium bifluoride 100 

10192300 Ammonium bisulfite 5000 

1111780 Ammonium carbamate 5000 

506876 Ammonium carbonate 5000 

12125029 Ammonium chloride 5000 

7788989 Ammonium chromate 10 

3012655 Ammonium citrate, dibasic 5000 

13826830 Ammonium fluoborate 5000 

12125018 Ammonium fluoride 100 

1336216 Ammonium hydroxide 1000 

14258492 Ammonium oxalate 5000 

6009707 Ammonium oxalate 5000 

5972736 Ammonium oxalate 5000 

131748 Ammonium picrate 10 

16919190 Ammonium silicofluoride 1000 

7773060 Ammonium sulfamate 5000 

12135761 Ammonium sulfide 100 

10196040 Ammonium sulfite 5000 

3164292 Ammonium tartrate 5000 

14307438 Ammonium tartrate 5000 

1762954 Ammonium thiocyanate 5000 

7783188 Ammonium thiosulfate 5000 

7803556 Ammonium vanadate 1000 

300629 Amphetamine 1000 

628637 Amyl acetate 5000 

123922 iso-Amyl acetate 5000 

626380 sec-Amyl acetate 5000 

625161 tert-Amyl acetate 5000 

101053 Anilazine 100 

62533 Aniline 5000 

88051 Aniline, 2,4,6-trimethyl- 500 

90040 o-Anisidine 100 
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104949 p-Anisidine 100 

134292 o-Anisidine hydrochloride 10  

120127 Anthracene 5000 

7440360 Antimony 5000 

7647189 Antimony pentachloride 1000 

7783702 Antimony pentafluoride 500 

28300745 Antimony potassium tartrate 100 

7789619 Antimony tribromide 1000 

10025919 Antimony trichloride 1000 

7783564 Antimony trifluoride 1000 

1309644 Antimony trioxide 1000 

1397940 Antimycin A 1000 

86884 Antu 100 

12674112 Aroclor 1016 1 

11104282 Aroclor 1221 1 

11141165 Aroclor 1232 1 

53469219 Aroclor 1242 1 

12672296 Aroclor 1248 1 

11097691 Aroclor 1254 1 

11096825 Aroclor 1260 1 

7440382 Arsenic 1 

7778394 Arsenic acid 1 

1327522 Arsenic acid 1 

1303328 Arsenic disulfide 1 

1303282 Arsenic pentoxide 1 

1327533 Arsenic trioxide 1 

1303339 Arsenic trisulfide 1 

7784341 Arsenous trichloride 1 

7784421 Arsine 10 

1332214 Asbestos (friable) 1 

1912249 Atrazine 10 

115026 Azaserine 1 

2642719 Azinphos-ethyl 100 

319857 beta-BHC 1 

319868 delta-BHC 1 

101279 Barban 1 

7440393 Barium 100 

542621 Barium cyanide 10 

22781233 Bendiocarb 1 

22961826 Bendiocarb phenol 1 

1861401 Benfluralin 100 

17804352 Benomyl 1 

225514 Benz[c]acridine 100 

98873 Benzal chloride 5000 

55210 Benzamide 100 

56553 Benz[a]anthracene 10 

98168 Benzenamine, 3-(trifluoromethyl)- 500 

71432 Benzene 10 

100141 Benzene, 1-(chloromethyl)-4-nitro- 500 

510156 Benzeneacetic acid, 4-chloro-.alpha.-(4-
chlorophenyl)-.alpha.-hydroxy-,
ethyl ester 

10 

98055 Benzenearsonic acid 10 

122098 Benzeneethanamine, alpha,alpha-dimethyl- 5000 

98099 Benzenesulfonyl chloride 100 

92875 Benzidine 1 

3615212 Benzimidazole, 4,5-dichloro-2-
(trifluoromethyl)- 

500 

205823 Benzo(j)fluoranthene 10 

207089 Benzo(k)fluoranthene 5000 

Benzo(j,k)fluorene 1 

65850 Benzoic acid 5000 

98077 Benzoic trichloride 10 

205992 Benzol[b]fluoranthene 1 

100470 Benzonitrile 5000 

189559 Benzo(rst)pentaphene 10 

191242 Benzo[ghi]perylene 5000 

218019 Benzo(a)phenanthrene 100 

50328 Benzo[a]pyrene 1 

98884 Benzoyl chloride 1000 

94360 Benzoyl peroxide 100 

100447 Benzyl chloride 100 

140294 Benzyl cyanide 500 

7440417 Beryllium 10 

7787475 Beryllium chloride 1 

7787497 Beryllium fluoride 1 

7787555 Beryllium nitrate 1 

13597994 Beryllium nitrate 1 

191242 Benzo(g,h,i)perylene 5000 

15271417 Bicyclo[2.2.1]heptane-2-carbonitrile, 5-chloro-
6-((((methylamino)
carbonyl)oxy)imino)-,(1-alpha,2-beta,4-
alpha,5-alpha,6E))- 

500 

82657043 Bifenthrin 100 

92524 Biphenyl 100 

111911 Bis(2-chloroethoxy) methane 1000 

111444 Bis(2-chloroethyl) ether 10 

542881 Bis(chloromethyl) ether 10 

534076 Bis(chloromethyl) ketone 10 

108601 Bis(2-chloro-1-methylethyl)ether 1000 

97745 Bis(dimethylthiocarbamoyl) sulfide 1 

38661722 1,3-Bis(methylisocyanate)cyclohexane 100 

10347543 1,4-Bis(methylisocyanate)cyclohexane 100 

56359 Bis(tributyltin) oxide 100 

4044659 Bitoscanate 500 

10294345 Boron trichloride 500 

7637072 Boron trifluoride 10 

353424 Boron trifluoride compound with methyl ether
(1:1) 

1000 

314409 Bromacil 100 

53404196 Bromacil, lithium salt 100 

28772567 Bromadiolone 100 

7726956 Bromine 100 

13863417 Bromine chloride 100 

7789382 Bromine pentafluoride 100 

598312 Bromoacetone 1000 

35691657 1-Bromo-1-(bromomethyl)-1,3-
propanedicarbonitrile 

100 

353593 Bromochlorodifluoromethane 100 



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2270

75252 Bromoform 100 

74839 Bromomethane 1000 

101553 4-Bromophenyl phenyl ether 100 

106967 3-Bromopropyne 500 

7787715 Bromotrifluoride 500 

598732 Bromotrifluoroethylene 1000 

75638 Bromotrifluoromethane 100 

1689845 Bromoxynil 100 

1689992 Bromoxynil octanoate 100 

52517 Bronopol 100 

357573 Brucine 100 

106990 1,3-Butadiene 10 

106978 Butane 1000 

123739 2-Butenal, (e)- 100 

25167673 Butene 1000 

590181 2-Butene-cis 1000 

624646 2-Butene-trans 1000 

106989 1-Butene 1000 

107017 2-Butene 1000 

75912 tert-Butyl hydroperoxide 500 

614459 tert-Butyl perbenzoate 500 

107711 tert-Butyl peroxyacetate 500 

927071 tert-Butyl peroxypivalate 1000 

123864 Butyl acetate 5000 

110190 iso-Butyl acetate 5000 

105464 sec-Butyl acetate 5000 

540885 tert-Butyl acetate 5000 

141322 Butyl acrylate 100 

71363 n-Butyl alcohol 5000 

78922 sec-Butyl alcohol 100 

75650 tert-Butyl alcohol 100 

109739 Butylamine 1000 

78819 iso-Butylamine 1000 

513495 sec-Butylamine 1000 

13952846 sec-Butylamine 1000 

75649 tert-Butylamine 1000 

2008415 Butylate 1 

85687 Butyl benzyl phthalate 100 

106887 1,2-Butylene oxide 100 

123728 Butyraldehyde 100 

107926 Butyric acid 5000 

79312 iso-Butyric acid 5000 

75605 Cacodylic acid 1 

7440439 Cadmium 10 

543908 Cadmium acetate 10 

7789426 Cadmium bromide 10 

10108642 Cadmium chloride 10 

1306190 Cadmium oxide 100 

2223930 Cadmium stearate 1000 

7778441 Calcium arsenate 1 

52740166 Calcium arsenite 1 

75207 Calcium carbide 10 

13765190 Calcium chromate 10 

156627 Calcium cyanamide 1000 

592018 Calcium cyanide 10 

26264062 Calcium dodecylbenzenesulfonate 1000 

7778543 Calcium hypochlorite 10 

56257 Cantharidin 100 

105602 Caprolactam 5000 

133062 Captan 10 

51832 Carbachol chloride 500 

26419738 Carbamic acid, methyl-, O-(((2,4-dimethyl-
1,3-dithiolan-2-yl)
methylene)amino)- 

1 

136301 Carbamodithioic acid, dibutyl-, sodium salt 1 

148185 Carbamodithioic acid, diethyl-, sodium salt 1 

1929777 Carbamothioic acid, dipropyl-, S-propyl ester 1 

52888809 Carbamothioic acid, dipropyl-, S-
(phenylmethyl) ester 

1 

63252 Carbaryl 100 

10605217 Carbendazim 1 

1563662 Carbofuran 10 

1563388 Carbofuran phenol 1 

75150 Carbon disulfide 100 

353584 Carbon fluoride 100 

630080 Carbon monoxide 1000 

353504 Carbonic difluoride 1000 

109615 Carbonochloridic acid, propylester 500 

56235 Carbon tetrachloride 10 

463581 Carbonyl sulfide 1000 

786196 Carbophenothion 500 

55285148 Carbosulfan 1 

5234684 Carboxin 100 

120809 Catechol 100 

9004700 Cellulose nitrate 500 

2439012 Chinomethionat 100 

133904 Chloramben 100 

305033 Chlorambucil 10 

57749 Chlordane 1 

115286 Chlorendic acid 10 

470906 Chlorfenvinfos 500 

90982324 Chlorimuron ethyl 100 

0 Chlorinated Benzenes 5000 

0 Chlorinated Naphthalene 5000 

0 Chlorinated Phenol 100 

7782505 Chlorine 10 

10049044 Chlorine dioxide 100 

7791211 Chlorine monoxide 100 

13637633 Chlorine pentafluoride 1 

7790912 Chlorine trifluoride 100 

24934916 Chlormephos 500 

999815 Chlormequat chloride 100 

494031 Chlornaphazine 100 

97007 1-Chloro-2,4-Dinitrobenzene 500 

59507 p-Chloro-m-cresol 5000 

107200 Chloroacetaldehyde 1000 

79118 Chloroacetic acid 100 

532274 2-Chloroacetophenone 100 
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0 Chloroalkyl ethers 1 

4080313 1-(3-Chloroallyl)-3,5,7-triaza-1-
azoniaadamantane chloride 

100 

106478 p-Chloroaniline 1000 

108907 Chlorobenzene 100 

124481 Chlorodibromomethane 100 

96106 Chlorodiethylaluminum 500 

75683 1-Chloro-1,1-difluoroethane 100 

75456 Chlorodifluoromethane 100 

75003 Chloroethane 1000 

107073 Chloroethanol 500 

627112 Chloroethyl chloroformate 1000 

110758 2-Chloroethyl vinyl ether 1000 

67663 Chloroform 10 

74873 Chloromethane 100 

107302 Chloromethyl methyl ether 10 

563473 3-Chloro-2-methyl-1-propene 10 

91587 2-Chloronaphthalene 5000 

3691358 Chlorophacinone 100 

95578 2-Chlorophenol 100 

104121 p-Chlorophenyl isocyanate 100 

7005723 4-Chlorophenyl phenyl ether 5000 

76062 Chloropicrin 10 

126998 Chloroprene 100 

542767 3-Chloropropionitrile 1000 

590216 1-Chloropropylene 1000 

557982 2-Chloropropylene 2000 

7790945 Chlorosulfonic acid 1000 

63938103 Chlorotetrafluoroethane 100 

354256 1-Chloro-1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethane 100 

2837890 2-Chloro-1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane 100 

1897456 Chlorothalonil 100 

95692 p-Chloro-o-toluidine 10 

3165933 4-Chloro-o-toluidine, hydrochloride 100 

75887 2-Chloro-1,1,1-trifluoroethane 100 

75729 Chlorotrifluoromethane 100 

460355 3-Chloro-1,1,1-trifluoropropane 100 

1982474 Chloroxuron 500 

2921882 Chlorpyrifos 1 

5598130 Chlorpyrifos methyl 100 

64902723 Chlorsulfuron 100 

1066304 Chromic acetate 1000 

11115745 Chromic acid 10 

7738945 Chromic acid 10 

10025737 Chromic chloride 1 

10101538 Chromic sulfate 1000 

7440473 Chromium 5000 

10049055 Chromous chloride 1000 

4680788 C.I. Acid Green 3 100 

6459945 C.I. Acid Red 114 10 

569642 C.I. Basic Green 4 100 

989388 C.I. Basic Red 1 100 

1937377 C.I. Direct Black 38 10 

28407376 C.I. Direct Blue 218 100 

2602462 C.I. Direct Blue 6 10 

16071866 C.I. Direct Brown 95 10 

2832408 C.I. Disperse Yellow 3 100 

3761533 C.I. Food Red 5 10 

81889 C.I. Food Red 15 100 

3118976 C.I. Solvent Orange 7 100 

97563 C.I. Solvent Yellow 3 100 

842079 C.I. Solvent Yellow 14 100 

492808 C.I. Solvent Yellow 34 100 

128665 C.I. Vat Yellow 4 100 

7440484 Cobalt 10 

10210681 Cobalt carbonyl 10 

62207765 Cobalt, ((2,2'-(1,2-
ethanediybis(nitrilomethylidyne))bis
(6-fluorophenylato))(2-)-N,N',O,O')- 

100 

7789437 Cobaltous bromide 1000 

544183 Cobaltous formate 1000 

14017415 Cobaltous sulfamate 1000 

0 Coke Oven Emmissions 1 

64868 Colchicine 10 

7440508 Copper 5000 

544923 Copper cyanide 10 

137291 Copper, bis(dimethylcarbamodithioato-S,S')- 1 

56724 Coumaphos 10 

5836293 Coumatetralyl 500 

8001589 Creosote 1 

120718 p-Cresidine 10 

108394 m-Cresol 100 

95487 o-Cresol 100 

106445 p-Cresol 1000 

1319773 Cresol (isomers and mixture) 100 

535897 Crimidine 100 

4170303 Crotonaldehyde 100 

98828 Cumene 5000 

80159 Cumene hydroperoxide 10 

135206 Cupferron 10 

142712 Cupric acetate 100 

12002038 Cupric acetoarsenite 1 

7447394 Cupric chloride 10 

3251238 Cupric nitrate 100 

5893663 Cupric oxalate 100 

7758987 Cupric sulfate 10 

10380297 Cupric sulfate, ammoniated 100 

815827 Cupric tartrate 100 

21725462 Cyanazine 100 

57125 Cyanides (soluble salts and complexes) not
otherwise specified 

10 

460195 Cyanogen 100 

506683 Cyanogen bromide 1000 

506774 Cyanogen chloride 10 

506785 Cyanogen iodide 1000 

2636262 Cyanophos 1000 

675149 Cyanuric fluoride 1 

1134232 Cycloate 1 
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110827 Cyclohexane 1000 

2556367 1,4-Cyclohexane diisocyanate 100 

108930 Cyclohexanol 100 

108941 Cyclohexanone 5000 

66819 Cycloheximide 100 

108918 Cyclohexylamine 10000 

131895 2-Cyclohexyl-4,6-dinitrophenol 100 

50180 Cyclophosphamide 10 

75194 Cyclopropane 1000 

68359375 Cyfluthrin 100 

68085858 Cyhalothrin 100 

94757 2,4-D Acid 100 

1929733 2,4-D Esters 100 

1928387 2,4-D Esters 100 

25168267 2,4-D Esters 100 

53467111 2,4-D Esters 100 

1928616 2,4-D Esters 100 

2971382 2,4-D Esters 100 

94804 2,4-D Esters 100 

94791 2,4-D Esters 100 

1320189 2,4-D Esters 100 

94111 2,4-D  Ester 100 

20830813 Daunomycin 10 

533744 Dazomet 1 

53404607 Dazomet, sodium salt 100 

94826 2,4-DB 100 

72548 DDD 1 

72559 DDE 1 

3547044 DDE 5000 

50293 DDT 1 

17702419 Decaborane(14) 500 

1163195 Decabromodiphenyl oxide 100 

8065483 Demeton 500 

919868 Demeton-S-methyl 500 

13684565 Desmedipham 100 

1928434 2,4-D 2-ethylhexyl ester 10 

53404378 2,4-D 2-ethyl-4-methylpentyl ester 10 

110225 Diacetyl peroxide (55% solution) 500 

10311849 Dialifor 100 

2303164 Diallate 100 

615054 2,4-Diaminoanisole 10 

39156417 2,4-Diaminoanisole sulfate 10 

101804 4,4'-Diaminodiphenyl ether 10 

496720 Diaminotoluene 10 

823405 Diaminotoluene 10 

95807 2,4-Diaminotoluene 10 

25376458 Diaminotoluene (mixed isomers) 10 

333415 Diazinon 1 

334883 Diazomethane 100 

226368 Dibenz(a,h)acridine 10 

224420 Dibenz(a,j)acridine 10 

53703 Dibenz[a,h]anthracene 1 

194592 7H-Dibenzo(c,g)carbazole 10 

5385751 Dibenzo(a,e)fluoranthene 100 

132649 Dibenzofuran 100 

192654 Dibenzo(a,e)pyrene 10 

189640 Dibenzo(a,h)pyrene 10 

191300 Dibenzo(a,l)pyrene 10 

94360 Dibenzoyl peroxide 500 

19287457 Diborane 10 

96128 1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropane 1 

10222012 2,2-Dibromo-3-nitrilopropionamide 100 

124732 Dibromotetrafluoroethane 100 

110054 tert-Dibutyl peroxide 500 

84742 Dibutyl phthalate 10 

1918009 Dicamba 1000 

1194656 Dichlobenil 100 

117806 Dichlone 1 

99309 Dichloran 100 

7572294 Dichloroacetylene 10 

95501 1,2-Dichlorobenzene 100 

541731 1,3-Dichlorobenzene 100 

106467 1,4-Dichlorobenzene 100 

25321226 Dichlorobenzene (mixed isomers) 100 

91941 3,3'-Dichlorobenzidine 1 

612839 3,3'-Dichlorobenzidine dihydrochloride 10 

64969342 3,3'-Dichlorobenzidine sulfate 10 

75274 Dichlorobromomethane 5000 

110576 trans-1,4-Dichlorobutene 500 

764410 1,4-Dichloro-2-butene 1 

1649087 1,2-Dichloro-1,1-difluoroethane 100 

75718 Dichlorodifluoromethane 5000 

156605 1,2-Dichloroethylene 1000 

540590 1,2-Dichloroethylene 100 

1717006 1,1-Dichloro-1-fluoroethane 100 

75434 Dichlorofluoromethane 100 

75092 Dichloromethane 1000 

149746 Dichloromethylphenylsilane 1000 

127564925 Dichloropentafluoropropane 100 

128903219 2,2-Dichloro-1,1,1,3,3-pentafluoropropane 100 

422480 2,3-Dichloro-1,1,1,2,3-pentafluoropropane 100 

422446 1,2-Dichloro-1,1,2,3,3-pentafluoropropane 100 

422560 3,3-Dichloro-1,1,1,2,2-pentafluoropropane 100 

507551 1,3-Dichloro-1,1,2,2,3-pentafluoropropane 100 

13474889 1,1-Dichloro-1,2,2,3,3-pentafluoropropane 100 

431867 1,2-Dichloro-1,1,3,3,3-pentafluoropropane 100 

136013791 1,3-Dichloro-1,1,2,3,3-pentafluoropropane 100 

111512562 1,1-Dichloro-1,2,3,3,3-pentafluoropropane 100 

97234 Dichlorophene 100 

120832 2,4-Dichlorophenol 100 

87650 2,6-Dichlorophenol 100 

696286 Dichlorophenylarsine 1 

26638197 Dichloropropane 1000 

8003198 Dichloropropane - Dichloropropene (mixture) 100 

78999 1,1-Dichloropropane 1000 

78875 1,2-Dichloropropane 1000 

142289 1,3-Dichloropropane 5000 

26952238 Dichloropropene 100 
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10061026 trans-1,3-Dichloropropene 10 

78886 2,3-Dichloropropene 100 

75990 2,2-Dichloropropionic acid 5000 

542756 1,3-Dichloropropylene 100 

4109960 Dichlorosilane 100 

76142 Dichlorotetrafluoroethane 100 

90454185 Dichloro-1,1,2-trifluoroethane 100 

34077877 Dichlorotrifluoroethane 100 

812044 1,1-Dichloro-1,2,2-trifluoroethane 100 

354234 1,2-Dichloro-1,1,2-trifluoroethane 100 

306832 2,2-Dichloro-1,1,1-trifluoroethane 100 

62737 Dichlorvos 10 

51338273 Diclofop methyl 100 

115322 Dicofol 10 

141662 Dicrotophos 100 

77736 Dicyclopentadiene 100 

60571 Dieldrin 1 

1464535 Diepoxybutane 10 

111422 Diethanolamine 100 

38727558 Diethatyl ethyl 100 

109897 Diethylamine 100 

91667 N,N-Diethylaniline 1000 

692422 Diethylarsine 1 

814493 Diethyl chlorophosphate 500 

134190377 Diethyldiisocyanatobenzene 100 

117817 Di(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate 100 

3288582 O,O-Diethyl S-methyl dithiophosphate 5000 

311455 Diethyl-p-nitrophenyl phosphate 100 

84662 Diethyl phthalate 1000 

56531 Diethylstilbestrol 1 

64675 Diethyl sulfate 10 

557200 Diethylzinc 1000 

35367385 Diflubenzuron 100 

75376 Difluoroethane 1000 

71636 Digitoxin 100 

2238075 Diglycidyl ether 1000 

101906 Diglycidyl resorcinol ether 10 

20830755 Digoxin 10 

94586 Dihydrosafrole 10 

4128738 4,4'-Diisocyanatodiphenyl ether 100 

75790873 2,4'-Diisocyanatodiphenyl sulfide 100 

105646 Diisopropyl peroxydicarbonate 500 

55914 Diisopropylfluorophosphate 100 

105748 Diluaroyl peroxide 500 

115264 Dimefox 500 

55290647 Dimethipin 100 

60515 Dimethoate 10 

119904 3,3'-Dimethoxybenzidine 100 

20325400 3,3'-Dimethoxybenzidine dihydrochloride 10 

91930 3,3'-Dimethoxybenzidine-4,4'-diisocyanate 100 

111984099 3,3'-Dimethoxybenzidine hydrochloride 10 

75183 Dimethyl sulfide 1 

124403 Dimethylamine 1000 

2300665 Dimethylamine dicamba 100 

60117 4-Dimethylaminoazobenzene 10 

121697 N,N-Dimethylaniline 100 

57976 7,12-Dimethylbenz[a]anthracene 1 

119937 3,3'-Dimethylbenzidine 10 

612828 3,3'-Dimethylbenzidine dihydrochloride 10 

41766750 3,3'-Dimethylbenzidine dihydrofluoride 10 

79447 Dimethylcarbamyl chloride 1 

2524030 Dimethyl chlorothiophosphate 500 

75785 Dimethyldichlorosilane 500 

91974 3,3'-Dimethyl-4,4'-diphenylene diisocyanate 100 

139253 3,3'-Dimethyldiphenylmethane-4,4'-
diisocyanate 

100 

68122 N,N-Dimethylformamide 100 

57147 1,1-Dimethyl hydrazine 10 

105679 2,4-Dimethylphenol 100 

576261 2,6-Dimethylphenol 100 

99989 Dimethyl-p-phenylenediamine 10 

131113 Dimethyl phthalate 5000 

463821 2,2-Dimethylpropane 1000 

77781 Dimethyl sulfate 100 

644644 Dimetilan 1 

602017 2,3-Dinitroaniline 500 

97029 2,4-Dinitroaniline 500 

25154545 Dinitrobenzene (mixed isomers) 100 

99650 m-Dinitrobenzene 100 

528290 o-Dinitrobenzene 100 

100254 p-Dinitrobenzene 100 

88857 Dinitrobutyl phenol 1000 

534521 4,6-Dinitro-o-cresol 10 

25550587 Dinitrophenol 10 

51285 2,4-Dinitrophenol 10 

329715 2,5-Dinitrophenol 10 

573568 2,6-Dinitrophenol 10 

619158 2,5-Dinitrotoluene 500 

618858 3,5-Dinitrotoluene 500 

25321146 Dinitrotoluene (mixed isomers) 10 

121142 2,4-Dinitrotoluene 10 

606202 2,6-Dinitrotoluene 100 

610399 3,4-Dinitrotoluene 10 

39300453 Dinocap 100 

1420071 Dinoterb 500 

117840 n-Dioctylphthalate 5000 

123911 1,4-Dioxane 100 

78342 Dioxathion 500 

82666 Diphacinone 10 

957517 Diphenamid 100 

122394 Diphenylamine 100 

122667 1,2-Diphenylhydrazine 10 

152169 Diphosphoramide, octamethyl- 100 

2164070 Dipotassium endothall 100 

142847 Dipropylamine 5000 

136458 Dipropyl isocinchomeronate 100 

85007 Diquat 1000 

2764729 Diquat 1000 



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2274

138932 Disodium cyanodithioimidocarbonate 100 

97778 Disulfiram 1 

298044 Disulfoton 1 

514738 Dithiazanine iodide 500 

541537 2,4-Dithiobiuret 100 

330541 Diuron 100 

27176870 Dodecylbenzenesulfonic acid 1000 

2439103 Dodine 100 

120365 2,4-DP 10 

2702729 2,4-D sodium salt 10 

316427 Emetine, dihydrochloride 1 

959988 alpha - Endosulfan 1 

33213659 beta - Endosulfan 1 

115297 Endosulfan 1 

1031078 Endosulfan sulfate 1 

145733 Endothall 1000 

2778043 Endothion 500 

72208 Endrin 1 

7421934 Endrin aldehyde 1 

106898 Epichlorohydrin 100 

51434 Epinephrine 1000 

2104645 EPN 100 

50146 Ergocalciferol 1000 

379793 Ergotamine tartrate 500 

74840 Ethane 1000 

1622328 Ethanesulfonyl chloride, 2-chloro- 500 

76131 Ethane, 1,1,2-trichloro-1,2,2,-trifluoro- 100 

30558431 Ethanimidothioic acid, 2-(dimethylamino)-N-
hydroxy-2-oxo-,
methyl ester 

1 

10140871 Ethanol, 1,2-dichloro-, acetate 1000 

5952261 Ethanol, 2,2'-oxybis-, dicarbamate 1 

563122 Ethion 10 

13194484 Ethoprop 1000 

110805 2-Ethoxyethanol 1000 

19393670 Ethyl methylketone peroxide 500 

141786 Ethyl acetate 5000 

107006 Ethyl acetylene 1000 

140885 Ethyl acrylate 1000 

100414 Ethylbenzene 1000 

538078 Ethylbis(2-chloroethyl)amine 500 

541413 Ethyl chloroformate 100 

759944 Ethyl dipropylthiocarbamate 1 

74851 Ethylene 1000 

111546 Ethylenebisdithiocarbamic acid, salts & esters 5000 

107153 Ethylenediamine 5000 

60004 Ethylenediamine-tetraacetic acid (EDTA) 5000 

106934 Ethylene dibromide 1 

107062 Ethylene dichloride 100 

371620 Ethylene fluorohydrin 1 

107211 Ethylene glycol 5000 

151564 Ethyleneimine 1 

75218 Ethylene oxide 10 

96457 Ethylenethiourea 10 

60297 Ethyl ether 100 

75343 Ethylidene Dichloride 1000 

75081 Ethyl mercaptan 1000 

97632 Ethyl methacrylate 1000 

62500 Ethyl methanesulfonate 1 

109955 Ethyl nitrite 100 

542905 Ethyl thiocyanate 10000 

14324551 Ethyl Ziram 1 

52857 Famphur 1000 

22224926 Fenamiphos 10 

60168889 Fenarimol 100 

13356086 Fenbutatin oxide 100 

122145 Fenitrothion 1 

66441234 Fenoxaprop ethyl 100 

72490018 Fenoxycarb 100 

39515418 Fenpropathrin 100 

115902 Fensulfothion 500 

55389 Fenthion 100 

51630581 Fenvalerate 100 

14484641 Ferbam 1 

1185575 Ferric ammonium citrate 1000 

55488874 Ferric ammonium oxalate 1000 

2944674 Ferric ammonium oxalate 1000 

7705080 Ferric chloride 1000 

7783508 Ferric fluoride 100 

10421484 Ferric nitrate 1000 

10028225 Ferric sulfate 1000 

10045893 Ferrous ammonium sulfate 1000 

7758943 Ferrous chloride 100 

7782630 Ferrous sulfate 1000 

7720787 Ferrous sulfate 1000 

69806504 Fluazifop butyl 100 

4301502 Fluenetil 100 

2164172 Fluometuron 100 

206440 Fluoranthene 100 

86737 Fluorene 5000 

7782414 Fluorine 10 

640197 Fluoroacetamide 100 

144490 Fluoroacetic acid 10 

359068 Fluoroacetyl chloride 10 

51218 Fluorouracil 500 

69409945 Fluvalinate 100 

133073 Folpet 100 

72178020 Fomesafen 100 

944229 Fonofos 500 

50000 Formaldehyde 100 

107164 Formaldehyde cyanohydrin 1000 

23422539 Formetanate hydrochloride 1 

64186 Formic acid 5000 

2540821 Formothion 100 

17702577 Formparanate 1 

21548323 Fosthietan 500 

3878191 Fuberidazole 100 

110178 Fumaric acid 5000 
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110009 Furan 100 

109999 Furan, tetrahydro- 1000 

98011 Furfural 5000 

13450903 Gallium trichloride 500 

765344 Glycidylaldehyde 10 

70257 Guanidine, N-methyl-N'-nitro-N-nitroso- 10 

86500 Guthion 1 

76448 Heptachlor 1 

1024573 Heptachlor epoxide 1 

118741 Hexachlorobenzene 10 

87683 Hexachloro-1,3-butadiene 1 

319846 alpha-Hexachlorocyclohexane 10 

77474 Hexachlorocyclopentadiene 10 

67721 Hexachloroethane 100 

1335871 Hexachloronaphthalene 100 

70304 Hexachlorophene 100 

1888717 Hexachloropropene 1000 

757584 Hexaethyl tetraphosphate 100 

684162 Hexafluoroacetone 100 

4835114 Hexamethylenediamine, N,N'-dibutyl- 500 

822060 Hexamethylene-1,6-diisocyanate 100 

680319 Hexamethylphosphoramide 1 

110543 Hexane 1000 

51235042 Hexazinone 100 

67485294 Hydramethylnon 100 

302012 Hydrazine 1 

1615801 Hydrazine, 1,2-diethyl- 10 

540738 Hydrazine, 1,2-dimethyl- 1 

10034932 Hydrazine sulfate 10 

1333740 Hydrogen 10 

10035106 Hydrogen bromide 1000 

7647010 Hydrogen chloride; Hydrochloric acid 5000 

74908 Hydrogen cyanide 10 

7664393 Hydrogen fluoride; hydrofluoric acid 100 

7722841 Hydrogen peroxide 100 

7783075 Hydrogen selenide 10 

7783064 Hydrogen sulfide 100 

123319 Hydroquinone 100 

7803498 Hydroxylamine 500 

35554440 Imazalil 100 

193395 Indeno(1,2,3-cd)pyrene 100 

55406536 3-Iodo-2-propynyl butylcarbamate 1 

13463406 Iron, pentacarbonyl- 10 

297789 Isobenzan 100 

75285 Isobutane 1000 

78831 Isobutyl alcohol 5000 

78842 Isobutyraldehyde 100 

78820 Isobutyronitrile 1000 

102363 Isocyanic acid, 3,4-dichlorophenyl ester 500 

465736 Isodrin 1 

25311711 Isofenphos 100 

78784 Isopentane 1000 

78591 Isophorone 5000 

4098719 Isophorone diisocyanate 100 

78795 Isoprene 100 

42504461 Isopropanolamine dodecylbenzene sulfonate 1000 

75351 Isopropyl amine 1000 

625558 Isopropyl formate 100 

75310 Isopropylamine 1000 

75296 Isopropyl chloride 1000 

108236 Isopropyl chloroformate 1000 

80057 4,4'-Isopropylidenediphenol 100 

119380 Isopropylmethylpyrazolyl dimethylcarbamate 1 

120581 Isosafrole 100 

143500 Kepone 1 

463514 Ketene 10 

77501634 Lactofen 100 

78977 Lactonitrile 1000 

303344 Lasiocarpine 10 

7439921 Lead 10 

301042 Lead acetate 10 

7784409 Lead arsenate 1 

7645252 Lead arsenate 1 

10102484 Lead arsenate 1 

7758954 Lead chloride 10 

13814965 Lead fluoborate 10 

7783462 Lead fluoride 10 

10101630 Lead iodide 10 

10099748 Lead nitrate 10 

7446277 Lead phosphate 10 

1072351 Lead stearate 10 

56189094 Lead stearate 10 

52652592 Lead stearate 10 

7428480 Lead stearate 10 

1335326 Lead subacetate 10 

15739807 Lead sulfate 10 

7446142 Lead sulfate 10 

1314870 Lead sulfide 10 

592870 Lead thiocyanate 10 

21609905 Leptophos 500 

541253 Lewisite 10 

58899 Lindane 1 

330552 Linuron 100 

554132 Lithium carbonate 100 

14307358 Lithium chromate 10 

7580678 Lithium hydride 100 

121755 Malathion 100 

110167 Maleic acid 5000 

108316 Maleic anhydride 5000 

123331 Maleic hydrazide 5000 

109773 Malononitrile 1000 

12427382 Maneb 100 

7439965 Manganese 100 

15339363 Manganese, bis(dimethylcarbamodithioato-
S,S')- 

1 

12108133 Manganese, tricarbonyl
methylcyclopentadienyl 

100 

93652 Mecoprop 10 
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148823 Melphalan 1 

950107 Mephosfolan 500 

149304 2-Mercaptobenzothiazole 100 

2032657 Mercaptodimethur 10 

1600277 Mercuric acetate 500 

7487947 Mercuric chloride 500 

592041 Mercuric cyanide 1 

10045940 Mercuric nitrate 10 

21908532 Mercuric oxide 500 

7783359 Mercuric sulfate 10 

592858 Mercuric thiocyanate 10 

7782867 Mercurous nitrate 10 

10415755 Mercurous nitrate 10 

7439976 Mercury 1 

628864 Mercury fulminate 10 

150505 Merphos 100 

10476956 Methacrolein diacetate 1000 

760930 Methacrylic anhydride 500 

126987 Methacrylonitrile 1000 

920467 Methacryloyl chloride 10 

30674807 Methacryloyloxyethyl isocyanate 10 

10265926 Methamidophos 100 

137428 Metham sodium 1 

74828 Methane 1000 

558258 Methanesulfonyl fluoride 1000 

67561 Methanol 5000 

91805 Methapyrilene 5000 

20354261 Methazole 100 

950378 Methidathion 500 

16752775 Methomyl 100 

94746 Methoxone 10 

3653483 Methoxone sodium salt 10 

72435 Methoxychlor 1 

109864 2-Methoxyethanol 100 

151382 Methoxyethylmercuric acetate 500 

75221 Methyl chloroformate 1 

624920 Methyl disulfide 1 

453189 Methyl fluoroacetate 1 

421205 Methyl fluorosulfate 1 

96333 Methyl acrylate 100 

563462 2-Methyl-1-butene 1000 

563451 3-Methyl-1-butene 1000 

80637 Methyl 2-chloroacrylate 500 

79221 Methyl chlorocarbonate 1000 

56495 3-Methylcholanthrene 10 

3697243 5-Methylchrysene 10 

75790840 4-Methyldiphenylmethane-3,4-diisocyanate 100 

101144 4,4'-Methylenebis(2-chloroaniline) 10 

101611 4,4'-Methylenebis(N,N-dimethyl)benzenamine 10 

5124301 1,1'-Methylene bis(4-isocyanatocyclohexane) 100 

101688 Methylenebis(phenylisocyanate) 5000 

74953 Methylene bromide 1000 

101779 4,4'-Methylenedianiline 10 

115106 Methyl ether 1000 

78933 Methyl ethyl ketone 5000 

1338234 Methyl ethyl ketone peroxide 10 

107313 Methyl formate 1000 

60344 Methyl hydrazine 10 

74884 Methyl iodide 100 

108101 Methyl isobutyl ketone 5000 

624839 Methyl isocyanate 10 

556616 Methyl isothiocyanate 500 

74931 Methyl mercaptan 100 

502396 Methylmercuric dicyanamide 500 

80626 Methyl methacrylate 1000 

924425 N-Methylolacrylamide 100 

298000 Methyl parathion 100 

3735237 Methyl phenkapton 500 

676971 Methyl phosphonic dichloride 100 

115117 2-Methylpropene 1000 

109068 2-Methylpyridine 5000 

872504 N-Methyl-2-pyrrolidone 100 

1634044 Methyl tert-butyl ether 30 

556649 Methyl thiocyanate 1000 

56042 Methylthiouracil 10 

75796 Methyltrichlorosilane 500 

78944 Methyl vinyl ketone 1 

9006422 Metiram 100 

1129415 Metolcarb 1 

21087649 Metribuzin 100 

7786347 Mevinphos 10 

315184 Mexacarbate 1000 

90948 Michler's ketone 10 

50077 Mitomycin C 10 

2212671 Molinate 1 

1313275 Molybdenum trioxide 100 

76153 Monochloropentafluoroethane 100 

6923224 Monocrotophos 10 

75047 Monoethylamine 100 

74895 Monomethylamine 100 

150685 Monuron 100 

2763964 Muscimol 1000 

505602 Mustard gas 500 

88671890 Myclobutanil 100 

142596 Nabam 100 

300765 Naled 10 

91203 Naphthalene 100 

3173726 1,5-Naphthalene diisocyanate 100 

1338245 Naphthenic acid 100 

130154 1,4-Naphthoquinone 5000 

134327 alpha-Naphthylamine 100 

91598 2-Naphthylamine 10 

7440020 Nickel 100 

15699180 Nickel ammonium sulfate 100 

13463393 Nickel carbonyl 10 

7718549 Nickel chloride 100 

37211055 Nickel chloride 100 

0 Nickel Compounds/Nickel Coated Catalysts 200 
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557197 Nickel cyanide 10 

12054487 Nickel hydroxide 10 

14216752 Nickel nitrate 100 

7786814 Nickel sulfate 100 

54115 Nicotine 100 

54115 Nicotine, and salts 100 

65305 Nicotine sulfate 100 

1929824 Nitrapyrin 100 

7697372 Nitric acid 1000 

10102439 Nitric oxide 10 

139139 Nitrilotriacetic acid 10 

90092 m-Nitroaniline 500 

88744 o-Nitroaniline 500 

100016 p-Nitroaniline 5000 

99592 5-Nitro-o-anisidine 100 

98953 Nitrobenzene 1000 

92933 4-Nitrobiphenyl 10 

1122607 Nitrocyclohexane 500 

79243 Nitroethane 500 

1836755 Nitrofen 10 

10102440 Nitrogen dioxide 10 

51752 Nitrogen mustard 10 

10102439 Nitrogen oxide 10 

10544726 Nitrogen tetraoxide 10 

55630 Nitroglycerin 10 

75525 Nitromethane 500 

25154556 Nitrophenol (mixed isomers) 100 

554847 m-Nitrophenol 100 

88755 2-Nitrophenol 100 

100027 4-Nitrophenol 100 

79469 2-Nitropropane 10 

5522430 1-Nitropyrene 10 

924163 N-Nitrosodi-n-butylamine 10 

1116547 N-Nitrosodiethanolamine 1 

55185 N-Nitrosodiethylamine 1 

62759 N-Nitrosodimethylamine 10 

86306 N-Nitrosodiphenylamine 100 

156105 p-Nitrosodiphenylamine 100 

621647 N-Nitrosodi-n-propylamine 10 

759739 N-Nitroso-N-ethylurea 1 

684935 N-Nitroso-N-methylurea 1 

615532 N-Nitroso-N-methylurethane 1 

4549400 N-Nitrosomethylvinylamine 10 

59892 N-Nitrosomorpholine 1 

16543558 N-Nitrosonornicotine 10 

100754 N-Nitrosopiperidine 10 

930552 N-Nitrosopyrrolidine 1 

1321126 Nitrotoluene 1000 

99081 m-Nitrotoluene 1000 

88722 o-Nitrotoluene 1000 

99990 p-Nitrotoluene 1000 

99558 5-Nitro-o-toluidine 100 

991424 Norbormide 100 

27314132 Norflurazon 100 

2234131 Octachloronaphthalene 100 

29082744 Octachlorostyrene 1 

8014957 Oleum (fuming sulfuric acid) 1000 

0 Organorhodium Complex     (PMN-82-147) 10 

19044883 Oryzalin 100 

20816120 Osmium tetroxide 1000 

630604 Ouabain 100 

23135220 Oxamyl 1 

78717 Oxetane, 3,3-bis(chloromethyl)- 500 

301122 Oxydemeton methyl 100 

19666309 Oxydiazon 100 

2497076 Oxydisulfoton 500 

42874033 Oxyfluorfen 100 

7783417 Oxygen difluoride 1 

10028156 Ozone 1 

30525894 Paraformaldehyde 1000 

123637 Paraldehyde 1000 

1910425 Paraquat dichloride 10 

2074502 Paraquat methosulfate 10 

56382 Parathion 10 

1114712 Pebulate 1 

40487421 Pendimethalin 1 

19624227 Pentaborane 1 

608935 Pentachlorobenzene 1 

608935 Pentachlorobenzene 10 

76017 Pentachloroethane 10 

87865 Pentachlorophenol 10 

2570265 Pentadecylamine 100 

504609 1,3-Pentadiene 100 

109660 Pentane 1000 

109671 1-Pentene 1000 

646048 2-Pentene, (E)- 1000 

627203 2-Pentene, (Z)- 1000 

57330 Pentobarbital sodium 100 

79210 Peracetic acid 100 

7601903 Perchloric acid 1000 

594423 Perchloromethyl mercaptan 100 

7616946 Perchloryl fluoride 100 

52645531 Permethrin 100 

62442 Phenacetin 100 

85018 Phenanthrene 5000 

108952 Phenol 1000 

64006 Phenol, 3-(1-methylethyl)-, methylcarbamate 1 

4418660 Phenol, 2,2'-thiobis[4-chloro-6-methyl- 100 

26002802 Phenothrin 100 

58366 Phenoxarsine, 10,10'-oxydi- 500 

95545 1,2-Phenylenediamine 100 

108452 1,3-Phenylenediamine 100 

106503 p-Phenylenediamine 5000 

615281 1,2-Phenylenediamine dihydrochloride 100 

624180 1,4-Phenylenediamine dihydrochloride 100 

123615 1,3-Phenylene diisocyanate 100 

104494 1,4-Phenylene diisocyanate 100 

59881 Phenylhydrazine hydrochloride 1000 
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62384 Phenylmercuric acetate 100 

90437 2-Phenylphenol 100 

2097190 Phenylsilatrane 100 

103855 Phenylthiourea 100 

57410 Phenytoin 10 

298022 Phorate 10 

4104147 Phosacetim 100 

947024 Phosfolan 100 

75445 Phosgene 10 

732116 Phosmet 10 

13171216 Phosphamidon 100 

7803512 Phosphine 100 

2703131 Phosphonothioic acid, methyl-, O-ethyl O-(4-
(methylthio)phenyl) ester 

500 

50782699 Phosphonothioic acid, methyl-, S-(2-(bis(1-
methylethyl)amino)ethyl)
O-ethyl ester 

100 

2665307 Phosphonothioic acid, methyl-, O-(4-
nitrophenyl) O-phenyl ester 

500 

7664382 Phosphoric acid 5000 

3254635 Phosphoric acid, dimethyl 4-(methylthio)
phenyl ester 

500 

2587908 Phosphorothioic acid, O,O-dimethyl-5-(2-
(methylthio)ethyl)ester 

500 

7723140 Phosphorus 1 

10025873 Phosphorus oxychloride 1000 

10026138 Phosphorus pentachloride 500 

1314563 Phosphorus pentoxide 1 

7719122 Phosphorus trichloride 1000 

85449 Phthalic anhydride 5000 

57476 Physostigmine 1 

57647 Physostigmine, salicylate (1:1) 1 

1918021 Picloram 100 

88891 Picric acid 100 

124878 Picrotoxin 500 

110894 Piperidine 1000 

120547 Piperidine, 1,1'-(tetrathiodicarbonothioyl)-bis- 1 

51036 Piperonyl butoxide 100 

23505411 Pirimifos-ethyl 1000 

29232937 Pirimiphos methyl 100 

1336363 Polychlorinated biphenyls 1 

9016879 Polymeric diphenylmethane diisocyanate 100 

7784410 Potassium arsenate 1 

10124502 Potassium arsenite 1 

7778509 Potassium bichromate 10 

7758012 Potassium bromate 10 

7789006 Potassium chromate 10 

151508 Potassium cyanide 10 

128030 Potassium dimethyldithiocarbamate 1 

1310583 Potassium hydroxide 1000 

51026289 Potassium N-hydroxymethyl-N-
methyldithiocarbamate 

1 

137417 Potassium N-methyldithiocarbamate 1 

7722647 Potassium permanganate 100 

506616 Potassium silver cyanide 1 

41198087 Profenofos 100 

2631370 Promecarb 1 

7287196 Prometryn 100 

23950585 Pronamide 5000 

1918167 Propachlor 100 

463490 Propadiene 1000 

74986 Propane 1000 

107120 Propanenitrile 10 

1120714 Propane sultone 10 

709988 Propanil 100 

2312358 Propargite 10 

107197 Propargyl alcohol 1000 

106967 Propargyl bromide 1 

31218834 Propetamphos 100 

122429 Propham 1 

60207901 Propiconazole 100 

57578 beta-Propiolactone 10 

123386 Propionaldehyde 1000 

79094 Propionic acid 5000 

123626 Propionic anhydride 5000 

70699 Propiophenone, 4'-amino 100 

114261 Propoxur 100 

627134 m-Propyl nitrate 500 

107108 n-Propylamine 5000 

115071 Propylene 100 

75569 Propylene oxide 100 

75558 Propyleneimine 1 

74997 Propyne 1000 

2275185 Prothoate 100 

129000 Pyrene 5000 

121299 Pyrethrins 1 

121211 Pyrethrins 1 

8003347 Pyrethrins 1 

110861 Pyridine 1000 

140761 Pyridine, 2-methyl-5-vinyl- 500 

1124330 Pyridine, 4-nitro-, 1-oxide 500 

53558251 Pyriminil 100 

91225 Quinoline 5000 

106514 Quinone 10 

82688 Quintozene 100 

76578148 Quizalofop-ethyl 100 

50555 Reserpine 5000 

10453868 Resmethrin 100 

108463 Resorcinol 5000 

81072 Saccharin and salts 100 

94597 Safrole 100 

14167181 Salcomine 500 

107448 Sarin 1 

7783008 Selenious acid 10 

12039520 Selenious acid, dithallium(1+) salt 1000 

7782492 Selenium 100 

7783791 Selenium hexafluoride 10 

7446084 Selenium oxide 10 

7791233 Selenium oxychloride 500 
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7488564 Selenium sulfide 10 

144343 Selenium, tetrakis(dimethyldithiocarbamate) 1 

630104 Selenourea 1000 

563417 Semicarbazide hydrochloride 1000 

74051802 Sethoxydim 100 

7803625 Silane 1000 

3037727 Silane, (4-aminobutyl)diethoxymethyl- 1000 

7440224 Silver 1000 

506649 Silver cyanide 1 

7761888 Silver nitrate 1 

122349 Simazine 100 

7440235 Sodium 10 

7631892 Sodium arsenate 1 

7784465 Sodium arsenite 1 

26628228 Sodium azide (Na(N3)) 1000 

10588019 Sodium bichromate 10 

1333831 Sodium bifluoride 100 

7631905 Sodium bisulfite 5000 

124652 Sodium cacodylate 100 

7775113 Sodium chromate 10 

143339 Sodium cyanide 10 

1982690 Sodium dicamba 100 

128041 Sodium dimethyldithiocarbamate 1 

25155300 Sodium dodecylbenzenesulfonate 1000 

7681494 Sodium fluoride 1000 

62748 Sodium fluoroacetate 10 

16721805 Sodium hydrosulfide 5000 

1310732 Sodium hydroxide 1000 

10022705 Sodium hypochlorite 100 

7681529 Sodium hypochlorite 100 

124414 Sodium methylate 1000 

7632000 Sodium nitrite 100 

131522 Sodium pentachlorophenate 100 

132274 Sodium o-phenylphenoxide 10 

7558794 Sodium phosphate, dibasic 5000 

10140655 Sodium phosphate, dibasic 5000 

10039324 Sodium phosphate, dibasic 5000 

7785844 Sodium phosphate, tribasic 5000 

10124568 Sodium phosphate, tribasic 5000 

7601549 Sodium phosphate, tribasic 5000 

10361894 Sodium phosphate, tribasic 5000 

7758294 Sodium phosphate, tribasic 5000 

10101890 Sodium phosphate, tribasic 5000 

10028247 Sodium Phosphate, dibasic 5000 

13410010 Sodium selenate 100 

10102188 Sodium selenite 100 

7782823 Sodium selenite 100 

10102202 Sodium tellurite 500 

900958 Stannane, acetoxytriphenyl- 500 

7803523 Stibine 10 

18883664 Streptozotocin 1 

7789062 Strontium chromate 10 

57249 Strychnine 10 

57249 Strychnine, and salts 10 

60413 Strychnine, sulfate 10 

100425 Styrene 1000 

96093 Styrene oxide 100 

95067 Sulfallate 1 

3689245 Sulfotep 100 

3569571 Sulfoxide, 3-chloropropyl octyl 500 

7446095 Sulfur dioxide 100 

7664939 Sulfuric acid 1000 

12771083 Sulfur monochloride 1000 

5714227 Sulfur pentafluoride 10 

1314803 Sulfur phosphide 100 

7783600 Sulfur tetrafluoride 10 

7446119 Sulfur trioxide 20 

2699798 Sulfuryl fluoride 100 

35400432 Sulprofos 100 

93765 2,4,5-T acid 1000 

3813147 2,4,5-T amines 5000 

6369966 2,4,5-T amines 5000 

6369977 2,4,5-T amines 5000 

2008460 2,4,5-T amines 5000 

1319728 2,4,5-T amines 5000 

61792072 2,4,5-T esters 1000 

25168154 2,4,5-T esters 1000 

93798 2,4,5-T esters 1000 

1928478 2,4,5-T esters 1000 

2545597 2,4,5-T esters 1000 

13560991 2,4,5-T salts 1000 

77816 Tabun 10 

34014181 Tebuthiuron 100 

13494809 Tellurium 1 

7783804 Tellurium hexafluoride 10 

3383968 Temephos 100 

5902512 Terbacil 100 

13071799 Terbufos 100 

79947 Tetrabromobisphenol A 1 

1634022 Tetrabutylthiuram disulfide 1 

95943 1,2,4,5-Tetrachlorobenzene & Isomers 5000 

1746016 2,3,7,8-Tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin (TCDD) 1 

630206 1,1,1,2-Tetrachloroethane 100 

79345 1,1,2,2-Tetrachloroethane 100 

127184 Tetrachloroethylene 100 

354143 1,1,2,2-Tetrachloro-1-fluoroethane 100 

354110 1,1,1,2-Tetrachloro-2-fluoroethane 100 

58902 2,3,4,6-Tetrachlorophenol 10 

961115 Tetrachlorvinphos 100 

64755 Tetracycline hydrochloride 100 

78002 Tetraethyl lead 10 

107493 Tetraethyl pyrophosphate 10 

597648 Tetraethyltin 100 

116143 Tetrafluoroethylene 500 

10086472 Tetrafluoro hydrazine 100 

7696120 Tetramethrin 100 

75741 Tetramethyllead 100 

75763 Tetramethylsilane 1000 



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2280

509148 Tetranitromethane 10 

1314325 Thallic oxide 100 

7440280 Thallium 1000 

563688 Thallium(I) acetate 100 

10102451 Thallium(I) nitrate 100 

10031591 Thallium sulfate 100 

7446186 Thallium(I) sulfate 100 

6533739 Thallous carbonate 100 

7791120 Thallous chloride 100 

2757188 Thallous malonate 100 

148798 Thiabendazole 100 

62555 Thioacetamide 10 

28249776 Thiobencarb 100 

2231574 Thiocarbazide 1000 

139651 4,4'-Thiodianiline 10 

59669260 Thiodicarb 1 

39196184 Thiofanox 100 

297972 Thionazin 100 

7719097 Thionyl chloride 10 

23564069 Thiophanate ethyl 100 

23564058 Thiophanate-methyl 1 

108985 Thiophenol 100 

79196 Thiosemicarbazide 100 

62566 Thiourea 10 

5344821 Thiourea, (2-chlorophenyl)- 100 

614788 Thiourea, (2-methylphenyl)- 500 

137268 Thiram 10 

1314201 Thorium dioxide 100 

7550450 Titanium tetrachloride 100 

108883 Toluene 1000 

584849 Toluene-2,4-diisocyanate 100 

91087 Toluene-2,6-diisocyanate 100 

26471625 Toluene diisocyanate (unspecified isomer) 100 

95534 o-Toluidine 100 

106490 p-Toluidine 100 

636215 o-Toluidine hydrochloride 100 

8001352 Toxaphene 1 

32534955 2,4,5-TP esters 100 

93721 2,4,5-TP acid 100 

43121433 Triadimefon 100 

2303175 Triallate 1 

1031476 Triamiphos 500 

68768 Triaziquone 100 

24017478 Triazofos 500 

101200480 Tribenuron methyl 100 

1983104 Tributyltin fluoride 100 

2155706 Tributyltin methacrylate 100 

78488 S,S,S-Tributyltrithiophosphate 100 

52686 Trichlorfon 100 

76028 Trichloroacetyl chloride 500 

120821 1,2,4-Trichlorobenzene & Isomers 100 

1558254 Trichloro(chloromethyl)silane 10 

27137855 Trichloro(dichlorophenyl)silane 500 

71556 1,1,1-Trichloroethane 1000 

79005 1,1,2-Trichloroethane 100 

79016 Trichloroethylene 100 

115219 Trichloroethylsilane 500 

75694 Trichlorofluoromethane 5000 

327980 Trichloronate 500 

25167822 Trichlorophenol 10 

15950660 2,3,4-Trichlorophenol 10 

933788 2,3,5-Trichlorophenol 10 

933755 2,3,6-Trichlorophenol 10 

95954 2,4,5-Trichlorophenol 10 

88062 2,4,6-Trichlorophenol 10 

609198 3,4,5-Trichlorophenol 10 

98135 Trichlorophenylsilane 500 

96184 1,2,3-Trichloropropane 10 

10025782 Trichlorosilane 1000 

57213691 Triclopyr triethylammonium salt 100 

27323417 Triethanolamine dodecylbenzene sulfonate 1000 

998301 Triethoxysilane 500 

121448 Triethylamine 5000 

79389 Trifluorochloroethylene 1000 

1582098 Trifluralin 10 

26644462 Triforine 100 

2487903 Trimethoxysilane 10 

75503 Trimethylamine 100 

95636 1,2,4-Trimethylbenzene 100 

75774 Trimethylchlorosilane 1000 

16938220 2,2,4-Trimethylhexamethylene diisocyanate 100 

15646965 2,4,4-Trimethylhexamethylene diisocyanate 100 

824113 Trimethylolpropane phosphite 100 

540841 2,2,4-Trimethylpentane 1000 

2655154 2,3,5-Trimethylphenyl methylcarbamate 100 

1066451 Trimethyltin chloride 500 

1,2,4-Trinitrobenzene 500 

99354 1,3,5-Trinitrobenzene 10 

602293 2,3,4-Trinitrotoluene 500 

2,3,5-Trinitrotoluene 500 

2,3,6-Trinitrotoluene 500 

610253 2,4,5-Trinitrotoluene 500 

118967 2,4,6-Trinitrotoluene 500 

3,4,5-Trinitrotoluene 500 

639587 Triphenyltin chloride 500 

76879 Triphenyltin hydroxide 1000 

555771 Tris(2-chloroethyl)amine 100 

126727 ethanamine, 1,1-dimethyl-2-phenyl- 10 

72571 Trypan blue 10 

66751 Uracil mustard 10 

541093 Uranyl acetate 100 

10102064 Uranyl nitrate 100 

36478769 Uranyl nitrate 100 

51796 Urethane 100 

2001958 Valinomycin 1000 

7440622 Vanadium (except when contained in an alloy) 1 

1314621 Vanadium pentoxide 1000 

27774136 Vanadyl sulfate 1000 
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This consolidated chemical list includes chemicals subject to
reporting requirements under the Emergency Planning and
Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), also known as
Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization
Act of 1986 (SARA).   Chemicals listed under 112(r) of the
Clean Air Act (CAA), Section 311 of the Clean Water Act of

1980, State of Delaware’s Accidental Release Prevention
Regulation, and EPCRA Section 313 are included with
Delaware Reportable Quantities (DRQs).  Some substances
are listed as commonly known synonyms more than once or
with different CAS numbers.  For other synonyms and CAS
numbers search the EPA Chemical Registry System (CRS)
under chemical names or CAS numbers.  The EPA CSR
search page can be found on the internet at: http://
oaspub.epa.gov/crs/SEARCH$.STARTUP   

*  No mandatory written report is required under Section 2.5
of the 6028 Reporting Regulation.

50471448 Vinclozolin 100 

108054 Vinyl acetate 5000 

689974 Vinyl acetylene 1000 

593602 Vinyl bromide 100 

75014 Vinyl chloride 1 

109922 Vinyl ethyl ether 1000 

75025 Vinyl fluoride 1000 

75354 Vinylidene chloride 100 

75387 Vinylidene fluoride 1000 

107255 Vinyl methyl ether 1000 

81812 Warfarin 100 

81812 Warfarin, & salts, conc.>0.3% 100 

129066 Warfarin sodium 100 

108383 m-Xylene 100 

95476 o-Xylene 100 

106423 p-Xylene 100 

1330207 Xylene 100 

1300716 Xylenol 1000 

87627 2,6-Xylidine 10 

28347139 Xylylene dichloride 100 

7440666 Zinc 1000 

557346 Zinc acetate 1000 

14639975 Zinc ammonium chloride 1000 

14639986 Zinc ammonium chloride 1000 

52628258 Zinc ammonium chloride 1000 

1332076 Zinc borate 1000 

7699458 Zinc bromide 1000 

3486359 Zinc carbonate 1000 

7646857 Zinc chloride 1000 

557211 Zinc cyanide 10 

58270089 Zinc, dichloro(4,4-dimethyl-
5((((methylamino)carbonyl)oxy)imino)
pentanenitrile)-, (T-4)- 

100 

7783495 Zinc fluoride 1000 

557415 Zinc formate 1000 

7779864 Zinc hydrosulfite 1000 

7779886 Zinc nitrate 1000 

127822 Zinc phenolsulfonate 5000 

1314847 Zinc phosphide 100 

16871719 Zinc silicofluoride 5000 

7733020 Zinc sulfate 1000 

12122677 Zineb 100 

137304 Ziram 1 

13746899 Zirconium nitrate 5000 

16923958 Zirconium potassium fluoride 1000 

14644612 Zirconium sulfate 5000 

10026116 Zirconium tetrachloride 5000 

RCRA
Codes

         NAME DRQ 

D001 Unlisted hazardous wastes characteristic of ignitability 100 

D002 Unlisted hazardous wastes characteristic of corrosivity 100 

D003 Unlisted hazardous wastes characteristic of reactivity 100 

D004 Arsenic 1 

D005 Barium 1000 

D006 Cadmium 10 

D007 Chromium 10 

D008 Lead 10 

D009 Mercury 1 

D010 Selenium 10 

D011 Silver 1 

D012 Endrin 1 

D013 Lindane 1 

D014 Methoxychlor 1 

D015 Toxaphene 1 

D016 2,4-D 100 

D017 2,4,5-TP 100 

D018 Benzene 10 

D019 Carbon tetrachloride 10 

D020 Chlordane 1 

D021 Chlorobenzene 100 

D022 Chloroform 10 

D023 o-Cresol 100 

D024 m-Cresol 100 

D025 p-Cresol 100 

D026 Cresol 100 

D027 1,4-Dichlorobenzene 100 

D028 1,2-Dichloroethane 100 

D029 1,1-Dichloroethylene 100 

D030 2,4-Dinitrotoluene 10 

D031 Heptachlor (and epoxide) 1 

D032 Hexachlorobenzene 10 

D033 Hexachlorobutadiene 1 

D034 Hexachloroethane 100 

D035 Methyl ethyl ketone 5000 

D036 Nitrobenzene 1000 

D037 Pentachlorophenol 10 

D038 Pyridine 1000 

D039 Tetrachloroethylene 100 

D040 Trichloroethylene 100 

D041 2,4,5-Trichlorophenol 10 

D042 2,4,6-Trichlorophenol 10 

D043 Vinyl chloride 1 
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F001 Spent halogenated solvents used in degreasing 10 

F001a (a) Tetrachloroethylene (CAS No. 127-18-4, RCRA
Waste No. U210) 

100 

F001b (b) Trichloroethylene (CAS No. 79-01-6, RCRA Waste
No. U228) 

100 

F001c (c) Methylene chloride (CAS No. 75-09-2, RCRA Waste
No. U080) 

1000 

F001d (d) 1,1,1-Trichloroethane (CAS No. 71-55-6, RCRA
Waste No. U226) 

1000 

F001e (e) Carbon tetrachloride (CAS No. 56-23-5, RCRA
Waste No. U211) 

10 

F001f (f)  Chlorinated fluorocarbons 5000 

F002 Spent halogenated solvents 10 

F002a (a) Tetrachloroethylene (CAS No. 127-18-4, RCRA
Waste No. U210) 

100 

F002b (b) Methylene chloride (CAS No. 75-09-2, RCRA Waste
No. U080) 

1000 

F002c (c) Trichloroethylene (CAS No. 79-01-6, RCRA Waste
No. U228) 

100 

F002d (d) 1,1,1-Trichloroethane (CAS No. 71-55-6, RCRA
Waste No. U226) 

1000 

F002e (e) Chlorobenzene (CAS No. 108-90-7, RCRA Waste
No. U037) 

100 

F002f (f) 1,1,2-Trichloro-1,2,2-trifluoroethane (CAS No. 76-13-
1) 

5000 

F002g (g) o-Dichlorobenzene (CAS No. 95-50-1, RCRA Waste
No. U070) 

100 

F002h (h) Trichlorofluoromethane (CAS No. 75-69-4, RCRA
Waste No. U121) 

5000 

F002i (i) 1,1,2-Trichloroethane (CAS No. 79-00-5, RCRA
Waste No. U227) 

100 

F003 Spent non-halogenated solvents and still bottoms from
recovery: 

100 

F003a (a) Xylene (CAS No. 1330-20-7) 1000 

F003b (b) Acetone (CAS No. 67-64-12) 5000 

F003c (c) Ethyl acetate (CAS No. 141-78-6) 5000 

F003d (d) Ethylbenzene (CAS No. 100-41-4) 1000 

F003e (e) Ethyl ether (CAS No. 60-29-7) 100 

F003f (f) Methyl isobutyl ketone (CAS No. 108-10-1,) 5000 

F003g (g) n-Butyl alcohol (CAS No. 71-36-3) 5000 

F003h (h) Cyclohexanone (CAS No. 108-94-1) 5000 

F003i (i) Methanol (CAS No. 67-56-1, RCRA Waste No. U154) 5000 

F004 Spent non-halogenated solvents and still bottoms from
recovery: 

100 

F004a (a) Cresols/cresylic acid (CAS No. 1319-77-3, RCRA
Waste No. U052) 

100 

F004b (b) Nitrobenzene (CAS No. 98-95-3, RCRA Waste No.
U169) 

1000 

F005 Spent non-halogenated solvents and still bottoms from
recovery: 

100 

F005a (a) Toluene (CAS No. 108-88-3, RCRA Waste No.
U220) 

1000 

F005b (b) Methyl ethyl ketone (CAS No. 78-93-3, RCRA Waste
No. U159) 

5000 

F005c (c) Carbon disulfide (CAS No. 75-15-0, RCRA Waste
No. P022) 

100 

F005d (d) Isobutanol (CAS No. 78-83-1, RCRA Waste No.
U140) 

5000 

F005e (e) Pyridine (CAS No. 110-86-1, RCRA Waste No.
U196) 

1000 

F006 Wastewater treatment sludges from electroplating
operations (w/some exceptions) 

10 

F007 Spent cyanide plating bath solns. from electroplating 10 

F008 Plating bath residues from electroplating where
cyanides are used 

10 

F009 Spent stripping/cleaning bath solns. from electroplating
where cyanides are used 

10 

F010 Quenching bath residues from metal heat treating
where cyanides are used 

10 

F011 Spent cyanide soln. from salt bath pot cleaning from
metal heat treating 

10 

F012 Quenching wastewater sludges from metal heat treating
where cyanides are used 

10 

F019 Wastewater treatment sludges from chemical
conversion aluminum coating 

10 

F020 Wastes from prod. or use of tri/tetrachlorophenol or
derivative intermediates 

1 

F021 Wastes from prod. or use of pentachlorophenol or
intermediates for derivatives 

1 

F022 Wastes from use of tetra/penta/hexachlorobenzenes
under alkaline conditions 

1 

F023 Wastes from mat. prod. on equip. previously used for
tri\tetrachlorophenol 

1 

F024 Wastes from production of chlorinated aliphatic
hydrocarbons (C1-C5) 

1 

F025 Lights ends, filters from prod. of chlorinated aliphatic
hydrocarbons (C1-C5) 

1 

F026 Waste from equipment previously used to prod. tetra/
penta/hexachlorobenzenes 

1 

F027 Discarded formulations containing tri/tetra/
pentachlorophenols or derivatives 

1 

F028 Residues from incineration of soil contaminated w/
F020,F021,F022,F023,F026,F027 

1 

F032 Wastewaters, process residuals from wood preserving
using chlorophenolic solns. 

1 

F034 Wastewaters, process residuals from wood preserving
using creosote formulations 

1 

F035 Wastewaters, process residuals from wood preserving
using arsenic or chromium 

1 

F037 Petroleum refinery primary oil/water/solids separation
sludge 

1 

F038 Petroleum refinery secondary (emulsified) oil/water/
solids separation sludge 

1 

K001 Wastewater treatment sludge from creosote/
pentachlorophenol wood preserving 

1 

K002 Wastewater treatment sludge from prod. of chrome
yellow and orange pigments 

10 

K003 Wastewater treatment sludge from prod. of molybdate
orange pigments 

10 

K004 Wastewater treatment sludge from prod. of zinc yellow
pigments 

10 

K005 Wastewater treatment sludge from prod. of chrome
green pigments 

10 

K006 Wastewater treatment sludge from prod. of chrome
oxide green pigments 

10 

K007 Wastewater treatment sludge from prod. of iron blue
pigments 

10 

K008 Oven residue from prod. of chrome oxide green
pigments 

10 

K009 Dist. bottoms from prod. of acetaldehyde from ethylene 10 

K010 Dist. side cuts from prod. of acetaldehyde from ethylene 10 

K011 Bottom stream from wastewater stripper in acrylonitrile
prod. 

10 

K013 Bottom stream from acetonitrile column in acrylonitrile
prod. 

10 

K014 Bottoms from acetonitrile purification column in
acrylonitrile prod. 

5000 

K015 Still bottoms from the dist. of benzyl chloride 10 

K016 Heavy ends or dist. residues from prod. of carbon
tetrachloride 

1 

K017 Heavy ends from the purification column in
epichlorohydrin prod. 

10 
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K018 Heavy ends from the fractionation column in ethyl
chloride prod. 

1 

K019 Heavy ends from the dist. of ethylene dichloride during
its prod. 

1 

K020 Heavy ends from the dist. of vinyl chloride during prod.
of the monomer 

1 

K021 Aqueous spent antimony catalyst waste from
fluoromethanes prod. 

10 

K022 Dist. bottom tars from prod. of phenol/acetone from
cumene 

1 

K023 Dist. light ends from prod. of phthalic anhydride from
naphthalene 

5000 

K024 Dist. bottoms from prod. of phthalic anhydride from
naphthalene 

5000 

K025 Dist. bottoms from prod. of nitrobenzene by nitration of
benzene 

10 

K026 Stripping still tails from the prod. of methyl ethyl
pyridines 

1000 

K027 Centrifuge/dist. residues from toluene diisocyanate
prod. 

10 

K028 Spent catalyst from hydrochlorinator reactor in prod. of
1,1,1-trichloroethane 

1 

K029 Waste from product steam stripper in prod. of 1,1,1-
trichloroethane 

1 

K030 Column bottoms/heavy ends from prod. of
trichloroethylene and perchloroethylene 

1 

K031 By-product salts generated in the prod. of MSMA and
cacodylic acid 

1 

K032 Wastewater treatment sludge from the prod. of
chlordane 

10 

K033 Wastewaster/scrubwater from chlorination of
cyclopentadiene in chlordane prod. 

10 

K034 Filter solids from filtration of hexachlorocyclopentadiene
in chlordane prod. 

10 

K035 Wastewater treatment sludges from the prod. of
creosote 

1 

K036 Still bottoms from toluene reclamation distillation in
disulfoton prod. 

1 

K037 Wastewater treatment sludges from the prod. of
disulfoton 

1 

K038 Wastewater from the washing and stripping of phorate
production 

10 

K039 Filter cake from filtration of diethylphosphorodithioic
adid in phorate prod. 

10 

K040 Wastewater treatment sludge from the prod. of phorate 10 

K041 Wastewater treatment sludge from the prod. of
toxaphene 

1 

K042 Heavy ends/residues from dist. of tetrachlorobenzene in
2,4,5-T prod. 

10 

K043 2,6-Dichlorophenol waste from the prod. of 2,4-D 10 

K044 Wastewater treatment sludge from manuf. and
processing of explosives 

10 

K045 Spent carbon from treatment of wastewater containing
explosives 

10 

K046 Wastewater sludge from manuf.,formulating,loading of
lead-based initiating compd 

10 

K047 Pink/red water from TNT operations 10 

K048 Dissolved air flotation (DAF) float from the petroleum
refining industry 

10 

K049 Slop oil emulsion solids from the petroleum refining
industry 

10 

K050 Heat exchanger bundle cleaning sludge from petroleum
refining industry 

10 

K051 API separator sludge from the petroleum refining
industry 

10 

K052 Tank bottoms (leaded) from the petroleum refining
industry 

10 

K060 Ammonia still lime sludge from coking operations 1 

K061 Emission control dust/sludge from primary prod. of steel
in electric furnaces 

10 

K062 Spent pickle liquor generated by steel finishing (SIC
codes 331 and 332) 

10 

K064 Acid plant blowdown slurry/sludge from blowdown slurry
from primary copper prod. 

10 

K065 Surface impoundment solids at primary lead smelting
facilities 

10 

K066 Sludge from treatment of wastewater/acid plant
blowdown from primary zinc prod. 

10 

K069 Emission control dust/sludge from secondary lead
smelting 

10 

K071 Brine purification muds from mercury cell process in
chlorine production 

1 

K073 Chlorinated hydrocarbon waste from diaphragm cell
process in chlorine production 

10 

K083 Distillation bottoms from aniline extraction 100 

K084 Wastewater sludges from prod. of veterinary pharm.
from arsenic compds. 

1 

K085 Distillation or fractionation column bottoms in prod. of
chlorobenzenes 

10 

K086 Wastes/sludges from prod. of inks from chromium and
lead-containing substances 

10 

K087 Decanter tank tar sludge from coking operations 100 

K088 Spent potliners from primary aluminum reduction 10 

K090 Emission control dust/sludge from ferrochromiumsilicon
prod. 

10 

K091 Emission control dust/sludge from ferrochromium prod. 10 

K093 Dist. light ends from prod. of phthalic anhydride by
ortho-xylene 

5000 

K094 Dist. bottoms in prod. of phthalic anhydride by ortho-
xylene 

5000 

K095 Distillation bottoms in prod. of 1,1,1-trichloroethane 100 

K096 Heavy ends from dist. column in prod. of 1,1,1-
trichloroethane 

100 

K097 Vacuum stripper discharge from the chlordane
chlorinator in prod. of chlordane 

1 

K098 Untreated process wastewater from the prod. of
toxaphene 

1 

K099 Untreated wastewater from the prod. of 2,4-D 10 

K100 Waste leaching soln from emission control dust/sludge
in secondary lead smelting 

10 

K101 Dist. tar residue from aniline in prod. of veterinary
pharm. from arsenic compd. 

1 

K102 Residue from activated carbon in prod. of veterinary
pharm. from arsenic compds. 

1 

K103 Process residues from aniline extraction from the prod.
of aniline 

100 

K104 Combined wastewater streams generated from prod. of
nitrobenzene/aniline 

10 

K105 Aqueous stream from washing in prod. of
chlorobenzenes 

10 

K106 Wastewater treatment sludge from mercury cell process
in chlorine prod. 

1 

K107 Column bottoms from separation in prod. of UDMH from
carboxylic acid hydrazides 

10 

K108 Condensed column overheads and vent gas from prod.
of UDMH from -COOH hydrazides 

10 

K109 Spent filter catridges from purif. of UDMH prod. from
carboxylic acid hydrazides 

10 

K110 Condensed column overheads from separation in
UDMH prod. from -COOH hydrazides 

10 

K111 Product washwaters from prod. of dinitrotoluene via
nitration of toluene 

10 

K112 Reaction by-product water from drying in
toluenediamine prod from dinitrotoluene 

10 
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Note:  Delaware reportable quantities (DRQs) are based
upon EPA RCRA waste streams and unlisted hazardous
wastes reportable quantities (RQs) as published in EPA List
of Lists as EPA publication Number: EPA 550-B-01-003.
The term hazardous waste substance includes RCRA listed
and characteristic hazardous wastes.  The establishments of
RQs for hazardous waste differs from the methodology
applied to individual hazardous substances, as the RQ for
hazardous waste is based on the results of an analysis of
hazardous constituents in the waste stream.  When the RQ of
each hazardous constituent is established, the lowest RQ of
each of these constituents then becomes the adjusted RQ for
the waste stream.  In the event there are constituents in the
hazardous waste that are not considered hazardous
substances, a reference RQ is developed for these
constituents in order to assign an appropriate RQ.

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

Statutory Authority:  21 Delaware Code,
Section 6901(c) (21 Del.C. 6901(c))

PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Public
Safety, Division of State Police, in accordance with 21
Del.C. Section 6901(c) proposes to adopt Regulations.
These Regulations will regulate nonconsensual towing of
abandoned or disabled vehicles, or vehicles from the scene
of an accident or arrest. These regulations do not apply if a
vehicle owner or driver requests a specific towing service,
unless, in the opinion of the Division of the State Police
there may an unreasonable time delay or traffic safety
hazard.  A public hearing will be held on Tuesday, June 25,
2002 at 10:00 a.m., in the second floor main conference
room (rm. 205) of the Public Safety Building, 303
Transportation Circle, Dover, DE. The Department of Public
Safety will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed towing regulations. Any written
comments should be submitted to the Department of Public
Safety, in care of William G. Bush, IV, at P.O Box  818,
Dover, DE 19903-0818 on or before June 25, 2002.  Anyone
wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Regulations may do
so by sending a written request to the Department of Public
Safety, P.O. Box 818, Dover, DE 19903-0818. This notice
will be published in two newspapers of general circulation
not less than twenty (20) days prior to the date of the
hearing.

K113 Condensed liquid light ends from purification of
toluenediamine during its prod. 

10 

K114 Vicinals from purification of toluenediamine during its
prod from dinitrotoluene 

10 

K115 Heavy ends from toluenediamine purification during
prod. from dinitrotoluene 

10 

K116 Organic condensate from solvent recovery system in
prod. of toluene diisocyanate 

10 

K117 Wastewater from vent gas scrubber in ethylene bromide
prod by ethene bromination 

1 

K118 Spent absorbent solids in purification of ethylene
dibromide in its prod. 

1 

K123 Process waterwater from the prod. of
ethylenebisdithiocarbamic acid and salts 

10 

K124 Reactor vent scubber water from prod of
ethylenebisdithiocarbamic acid and salts 

10 

K125 Filtration/other solids from prod. of
ethylenebisdithiocarbamic acid and salts 

10 

K126 Dust/sweepings from the prod. of
ethylenebisdithiocarbamic acid and salts 

10 

K131 Wastewater and spent sulfuric acid from the prod. of
methyl bromide 

100 

K132 Spent absorbent and wastewater solids from the prod.
of methyl bromide 

1000 

K136 Still bottoms from ethylene dibromide purif. in prod. by
ethene bromination 

1 

K141 Process residues from coal tar recovery in coking 1 

K142 Tar storage tank residues from coke prod. from coal or
recovery of coke by-prods 

1 

K143 Process residues from recovery of light oil in coking 1 

K144 Wastewater residues from light oil refining in coking 1 

K145 Residues from naphthalene collection and recovery
from coke by-products 

1 

K147 Tar storage tank residues from coal tar refining in coking 1 

K148 Residues from coal tar distillation, including still
bottoms, in coking 

1 

K149 Distillation bottoms from the prod. of chlorinated
toluenes/benzoyl chlorides 

10 

K150 Organic residuals from Cl gas and HCl recovery from
chlorinated toluene prod. 

10 

K151 Wastewater treatment sludge from production of
chlorotoluenes/benzoyl chlorides 

10 

K156 Organic waste from production of carbamates and
carbamoyl oximes 

1 

K157 Wastewaters from production of carbamates and
carbamoyl oximes (not sludges) 

1 

K158 Bag house dusts & filter/separation solids from prod of
carbamates, carb oximes 

1 

K159 Organics from treatment of thiocarbamate waste 1 

K160 Solids from production of thiocarbamates and treatment
of thiocarbamate wastes 

1 

K161 Purif. solids/bag house dust/sweepings from prod of
dithiocarbamate acids/salts 

1 

K169 Crude oil storage tank sediment from petroleum
operations 

10 

K170 Clarified slurry oil tank sediment from petroleum refining
operations 

1 

K171 Spent hydrotreating catayst from petroleum refining
operations. 

1 

K172 Spent hydrorefining catalyst from petroleum refining
operations. 

1 

K174 Wastewater treatment sludges from the production of
vinyl chloride or ethylene dichloride monomer 

1 

K175 Wastewater treatment sludges from the production of
ethylene dichloride or vinyl chloride monomer 

1 

http://www.state.de.us/dsp/index.htm
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REGULATION “B” - NONCONSENSUAL TOWING

Pursuant to Section 6901(c) of Title 21 of the Delaware
Code, the Department of Public Safety proposes to adopts
regulations for nonconsensual towing of abandoned or
disabled vehicles, or vehicles from the scene of an accident
or arrest. These regulations do not apply if a vehicle owner
or driver requests a specific towing service, unless, in the
opinion of the Division of State Police, there may be an
unreasonable time delay or traffic safety hazard.

Section 1. Statement of Purpose
The purpose of these regulations is to protect and

promote the public safety and to maintain hazard-free streets
and highways by: requiring  tow vehicles and equipment to
meet minimum specifications; requiring tow truck operators
to be licensed and insured and to hire only competent and
responsible drivers; and by creating a more equitable and
uniform system of handling towing calls.

Section 2.  Definitions
(A) “The Department” means the Department of

Public Safety.
(B) “The Division” means the Division of State Police.
(C) “The Troop” means the State Police Troop or,

where appropriate, the officers and troopers thereof.  
(D) “Tow vehicle” means a motor vehicle altered or

designed for, and used in the business of towing vehicles by
means of a flat bed or other specially designed truck that is
equipped with a tow sling, tow bar, tow plate or wheel lift
apparatus, attached to the rear of the truck; or a crane or hoist
that is attached to the bed or frame of the tow vehicle.
Wrecker, garage tow truck, and slide back or roll back car
carriers are synonymous with and included within the
definition of “tow vehicle.”

(E) “Towing” means the transportation on the streets
and highways of the State of Delaware of damaged, disabled,
unattended or abandoned vehicles together with personal
effects and/or cargo by tow trucks.  Wrecking or wrecker
service, tow car service, and garage tow truck service are
synonymous with and included within the definition of
“towing.”

(F) “Approved Tower” means a towing operator that
has applied to the Division for certification and been
approved by the Division after meeting all criteria for
approval, including but not limited to the inspection of the
operator’s tow vehicle(s).

(G) “Troop Area” means the areas of the numbered
State Police troops (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 9).

(H) “Special Assigned Area” means a geographical
part of the Troop Area as determined by the Troop
Commander for the purpose of designating one or more
Approved Towers to service that area.

Section 3.  Tow Vehicles and Equipment
(A) Tow vehicles shall not exceed the manufacturer’s

gross vehicle weight or the manufacturer’s rated capacity for
the towing assembly.  All tow vehicle components (winches,
booms, wire rope, clamps, thimbles, sheaves, guides,
controls, blocks, slings, chains, hooks, and hydraulic
components) must be maintained in good condition at all
times.

(B) The minimum standards for each class of tow
vehicles shall be determined solely by the manufacturer’s
specifications for the capabilities and capacities of the tow
vehicles and towing equipment.

1. Class “A” Tow Vehicles - Minimum
Specifications

a. A gross vehicle weight of at least 10,000
pounds.  A crane and a winch with a rating of at least four
tons must be mounted on the chassis.  A roll back bed may
substitute for the crane.

b. A wire rope attached to each tow vehicle
winch at least 100 feet long with a minimum thickness of 3/8
inches.

c. A tow sling or wheel lift manufactured to
prevent damage to the vehicle.

d. At least two safety chains to be attached
between the tow vehicle and the towed vehicle.

2. Class “B” Tow Vehicles - Minimum
Specifications

a. A gross vehicle weight rating of at least
17,500 pounds.  A complete crane and winch having a rating
of at least ten tons must be mounted on the chassis.  A roll
back bed may substitute for the crane.

b. A wire rope attached to each winch at least
100 feet long with a minimum thickness of ÿ inches.

c. A tow sling or wheel lift, or underreach
manufactured to prevent damage to the vehicle.

d. A minimum of two safety chains to be
attached between the tow vehicle and the towed vehicle.

e. At least two portable tail, stop and signal
lamps with mounting brackets or mounting clips.  The lens
shall be red in color, and the lens’ diameter shall be at least
three inches.

3. Class “C” Tow Vehicles - Minimum
Specifications

a A gross vehicle rating of at least 30,000
pounds.  A complete crane and winch having a rating of at
least twenty-five (25) tons must be mounted on the chassis.

b. A wire rope attached to each winch at least
150 feet long with a minimum thickness of 5/8 inches.

c. Brakes constructed to comply with federal
motor carrier safety regulations and the Delaware motor
vehicle code where applicable.

d. A tow sling or wheel lift, or underreach
manufactured to prevent damage to the vehicle.

e. At least two safety chains to be attached
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between the tow vehicle and the towed vehicles, or
combination of vehicles.

f. At least two portable tail, stop and signal
lamps with mounting brackets or mounting clips.  The lens
shall be red in color, and the lens’ diameter shall be at least
three inches.

4. Accessories
a. Each tow vehicle shall be commercially

lettered with the operator’s business name, city, state, and
telephone number visible from both sides of the vehicle, in
permanent letters at least 2 ½ inches high.  Each tow vehicle
shall also bear a sticker, to be issued by the DSP, indicating
which troop area(s)/specially designated area(s) the vehicle
is authorized to serve.

b. Each tow vehicle shall be equipped at all
times as required by the Delaware motor vehicle code and
with the following accessories:

(i) An amber rotor beam or strobe light
mounted on the top so as to be seen when in use from front,
rear, and both sides.  Such beam or light is to be used only
when there is a hazardous condition.

(ii) Minimum of two work lights on the
rear.

(iii) One snatch block for each winch with
matching manufacturer’s rating.

(iv) A set of scotch blocks for wheels,
metal type with tail gate chains, or hydraulic rear extendable
scotch blocks (Class B and C vehicles only).

(v) External air hookup and hoses (Class
C vehicles only).

(vi) A set of nylon recovery straps or
chains rated at 25,000 pounds(Class B and C vehicles only).

(vii)At least one broom, shovel, axe,
crowbar or pry bar, set of jumper cables, flashlight, and fire
extinguisher.

(viii)Box or container to carry debris.
(ix) Sand or commercial oil and grease

absorber for a reasonably small cleanup that does not require
the intervention of the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control.

Section 4.  Approved Towers
(A) Applications for status as an Approved Tower shall

be made in writing and under oath to the Division on forms
provided by the Division. The application shall contain all
information required therein and shall be sent to the Traffic
Control Section, Delaware State Police, P.O. Box 430,
Dover, Delaware 19903-0430.

(B) The Traffic Control Section shall review each
application for form and completeness.  The applicant must
attach to the application: (i) business license; (ii) proof of
insurance for all towing vehicles; (iii) the driving record for
each driver; (iv) a criminal background record for each
driver, and authorization for the Division to conduct future

criminal background checks; and (v) schedule of towing and
storage rates. If the application is in good order, the Traffic
Control Section will notify the applicant in writing that it has
been conferred Approved Tower status, and send a copy of
the application and approval to the Troop.

(C) No tower will be considered for approved status
unless it has continuously been in the towing business for at
least twelve (12) months prior to the date the application is
received.  No tower will be considered for approved status
unless it has at least two vehicles meeting all of the
specifications in these regulations.

(D) No later than January 31 of each year (but not
earlier than January 2), each Approved Tower shall complete
and return to the Troop a renewal form to be provided by the
Division. The renewal form shall attest, under oath, that all
of the information in the original application form is either
correct and complete, and/or notify the Division of any
changes in the information in the original application form or
since the last renewal form.  The renewal form shall attach
the Approved Tower’s business license, proof of insurance
for each towing vehicle, driving record for each driver, and
schedule of rates for towing and storage services.  The
renewal form does not need to attach criminal background
records except for employees newly hired or re-hired since
the date of the original application or last renewal form.  The
Division reserves the right, based on prior authorization, to
conduct its own criminal background checks on employees
of Approved Towers.

(E) An Approved Tower must notify the Troop in
writing within ten days of the date of any change in the
information supplied on the original application.  For
example, if the Approved Tower hires a new driver or buys a
new towing vehicle, then that information must be provided
to the Troop in writing.

1. Vehicles and Equipment
As soon as practicable after the filing of an application, the
Traffic Control Section will inspect the applicant’s tow
vehicle(s) and equipment to determine if they are fit for
operation and otherwise in compliance with these
regulations and the motor vehicle and traffic laws and
federal motor carrier safety regulations, including but not
limited to U.S. Department of Transportation rules or
regulations. Thereafter, the Troop may conduct periodic or
random inspections to determine if a tow vehicle continues
to meet all federal, state, and local standards.  If, at any time,
the Troop finds that a tow vehicle does not meet the
minimum specifications for its class, or is not in compliance
with any federal, state, or local standards, the Troop shall
immediately stop using the services of that Approved Tower
until such repairs are made and the tow vehicle is
re-inspected by the Troop.

2. Drivers
a. All tow vehicle drivers must be at least

eighteen (18) years of age and have the appropriate driver’s
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license for the Approved Tower’s tow vehicle.
b. Every driver shall be competent by reason

of experience or training to safely operate the type of tow
vehicle(s) certified.

c. No driver shall have had within the last ten
years: two or more convictions for driving under the
influence of alcohol or drugs; any criminal conviction
involving theft, dishonesty, or fraud; any felony conviction
involving or related to the operation of a tow vehicle; or any
judgment (civil or criminal) of having operated a tow vehicle
in a grossly negligent manner or in a manner showing a
reckless disregard for life or property.

3. Towing Service
a. All vehicles and equipment owned and

operated by the Approved Tower must meet the minimum
specifications set forth in these regulations.

b. All vehicles and equipment owned and
operated by the Approved Tower must provide proof of
insurance for each tow vehicle to the Division at the time of
its application for certification, and each year that the
Approved Tower renews its certification, or upon demand by
the Division.  The following minimum coverage is required:

Comprehensive Vehicle Limits of Liability
    Liability Insurance

Bodily Injury $300,000 each occurrence
$100,000 each person

Property Damage $50,000 each occurrence
Additional Umbrella $1,000,000

Garage Liability Insurance

Bodily Injury $100,00 each person

Garage Keeper’s Insurance (owned vehicles, hired
vehicles, non-owned vehicles)

Bodily Injury $300,000 each occurrence
Property Damage $50,000 each occurrence.

Worker’s Compensation as required by statute
Employer’s Liability Insurance as required by

statute
All insurance policies required shall be issued only by

companies authorized to do business in Delaware.  Coverage
must provide for loss from any vehicle or contents such as
radios and computers while being handled, towed or stored
by the approved tower.  Approved Towers must notify the
Division of any modification, amendment, cancellation or
substitution of any insurance policy required by these
regulations within ten days the Approved Tower learns of
the change in circumstances.

(F.). To be eligible to provide towing services in a Troop

Area or Special
 Assigned Area, the Approved Tower must have a

principal place of business located in that Troop Area or
Special Assigned Area which is under the exclusive control
of the Approved Tower, is not used by any other towing
service, and is the premises listed on the Approved Tower’s
application.  Each Approved Tower  must maintain a
telephone system at that location to answer calls from the
Troop duty officer twenty-four hours a day, and must
maintain at least one tow vehicle and one qualified driver for
that place of business.  The Approved Tower’s place of
business shall be open to the public from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Monday through Friday, and the business must be available
to release stored vehicles on Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 12
noon, and on Sundays and holidays from 12 noon to 4:00
p.m.

(G.)  The Approved Tower’s storage facility must be
located on the same premises or adjacent to its principal
place of business in the Troop Area or Special Assigned
Area it services. The Approved Tower shall maintain a
secure outside storage facility for the control and
safekeeping of motor vehicles, enclosed by a fence at least
six feet high to deter trespass and vandalism.  With the
approval of the Troop Commander, an Approved Tower may
use a satellite storage facility on a seasonal basis that is not
located on or next to its principal place of business if the
satellite facility will be more convenient for the public.  The
Approved Tower will operate that satellite facility in
accordance with the conditions of operation in Section 4.D.
above.

(H.) The Approved Tower must be able to provide
emergency service, twenty-four hours a day, seven days a
week, 365 days a year within the Troop Area or within a
Special Assigned Area if such area is designated.  An
Approved Trooper can remove itself from the rotation list or
Special Assigned Area for a specified time for vacation, sick,
family leave or the like by notifying the Troop a reasonable
time in advance.

Section 5.  Denial of Approved Tower Status
The Division may refuse to approve an application for

Approved Tower status for failure: (1) to  provide complete,
true, timely, and accurate information on the application,
inspection, or renewal forms, or for omitting any material
fact on the application, inspection, or renewal forms; (2)  to
satisfy or meet any of the requirements of these regulations;
(3) to submit to a tow vehicle inspection; or (4) to have or
maintain any federal, state, or local license required for the
operation of a towing service or tow vehicle or for its
drivers.

Section 6.  Towing Service Allocation System
(A) Based on the needs of public safety, the Troop

Commander may designate part of the Troop Area as a
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Special Assigned Area to be served by one or more
Approved Towers taking into account such criteria as, but
not limited to, motor vehicle accident statistics; traffic
patterns; and other relating to the response time of towing
companies; the density of approved towing companies; and
prior history of reliable and expeditious towing services.

(B) Each Troop Commander shall have the discretion,
based on the needs of public safety, to designate one or more
Approved Towers to provide all non-consensual towing
services in either the Troop Area or a Special Assigned Area.
The Troop Commander shall establish the number of
Approved Towers based on the need to maintain adequate
and timely public service to minimize management of a
rotation system. The Troop Commander may revise the
number of Approved Towers if he or she finds that the public
is not being appropriately served by the exiting number of
towers.

(C) If there are more than one Approved Tower for the
Troop Area or Special Assigned Area, they shall be placed
on a rotating list and shall be called by the Troop duty officer
to remove a wrecked, disabled, stolen or abandoned vehicle,
or a vehicle following an arrest, according to the tower’s
placement on a Troop towing rotation list for that area and
according to the tow vehicle classification for the size of the
vehicle to be towed.  Approved Towers will be called in
succession from the top of the list.  An Approved Tower
shall promptly respond to a call with a tow vehicle classified
to meet or exceed the size of the vehicle to be towed.  If an
Approved Tower truck does not respond to a request for
service, that tower shall be rotated to the bottom of the list. 

(D) Approved Towers will be listed only once on each
list and only in the name under which they are certified
under these regulations.  It is prohibited for an Approved
Tower to receive multiple listings or classifications using a
different or fictitious name for tow vehicles operating out of
the same location or out of different locations within the
same Troop Area.

(E) Approved Towers shall be on-call twenty-four
hours a day, seven days a week, and shall have no more than
one day and one night telephone number.  Answering
services are not permitted for purposes of responding to calls
under these regulations.  The Approved Tower must
acknowledge the rotation call by contacting the duty officer
at the Troop within five minutes after the rotation call.  If the
Approved Tower does not acknowledge the call, or calls to
say it will not or cannot respond, then the duty officer shall
cancel the call, rotate the Approved Tower to the bottom of
the list, and call the next Approved Tower on the list.  When
an Approved Tower responds to a call to remove an
abandoned vehicle, the Approved Tower shall not be rotated
to the bottom of the rotation list but shall remain at the top of
the list for the next available call.

(F) Out-of-area towing requests are permitted in the
event of an emergency or the absence of a tow vehicle of

proper classification, or the unavailability of any Approved
Tower.  In the event of specialized recovery requirements
not otherwise met by Approved Towers, the Troop may call
specialized recovery equipment on a nearest available basis.

Section 7.  Recovery Procedures at Scene of Accident
(A) Approved Towers shall not use sirens, mechanical

or electronic, but shall use rotating beacons or strobes when
in the actual process of recovering a vehicle from the scene
of an accident, or while towing that vehicle under conditions
that present a potential hazard to the public.

(B) Approved Towers shall sweep all glass and remove
all debris from the highway and the right-of-way promptly
and prior to leaving the incident or collision scene.
Approved Towers shall also spread sand or a commercial oil
and grease absorber over small spills of oil, anti-freeze, or
other fluids.

(C) Approved Towers shall follow instructions issued
by any on-the-scene Trooper with respect to the preservation
of physical evidence that may be lost or contaminated where
towing, removing or storage of any wrecked, disabled, or
abandoned vehicle is involved.

(D) When the owner or operator of a vehicle surrenders
physical custody of a vehicle, the Trooper shall prepare in
triplicate a vehicle storage form with an inventory of its
contents and a description of any damage to the vehicle or its
contents.  The inventory shall be signed by the Trooper and
the Approved Tower, and shall indicate whether the Trooper
has instructed that the tower should withhold repossession or
delivery of the vehicle to the rightful owner or his agent.
The original will be for the Troop records, a copy for the
towing service’s record, and a copy to be given to the
vehicle’s owner or agent, to present to the towing service in
order to release the vehicle.

Section 8.  Prohibited Acts
(A) No Approved Tower shall stop at the scene of an

accident or at or near a disabled vehicle for the purpose of
soliciting an engagement for towing service, unless directed
to do so by a Trooper.

(B) No Approved Tower shall, without authorization
from the Troop, move any vehicle from any public highway,
street, or other public area when such vehicle has been
abandoned, stolen or damaged as the result of an accident, or
following an arrest.  Approved Towers may move a vehicle
damaged as the result of an accident if the removal is for the
purpose of extracting a person from the wreckage or to
remove an immediate hazard to life, person, or property.  In
no event shall any such movement be more than is
reasonable or necessary under the circumstances then
existing.  When movement is necessary, the Approved
Tower shall be able to identify the original resting place of
the vehicle.  
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Section 9.  Rates
Approved Towers shall charge reasonable fees for

towing and storage comparable to other towers providing
similar services in the Troop Area.  The Approved Tower’s
basic towing or service fees shall be furnished with the
certification application and the annual renewal form.  These
fees should include: the base tow charges for day and night;
storage charges per day; base charge for use of winch and
dollies; and the base charge for road service for vehicles
requiring fuel, battery jumps, belts, etc.  If there is an interim
change in any rate charged by the Approved Tower, it must
be reported to the Traffic Control Section within ten days.   

Section 10.  Subcontracting and Assignment
(A) No Approved Tower shall subcontract, on a formal

or informal basis, any request for nonconsensual towing
service from the Division, or delegate or request assistance
from another tower to respond to such a call, or refer a call to
another tower or substitute for each other, unless approved in
advance by the Troop for good cause.

(B) An Approved Tower’s certification, place on the
towing rotation system, or Special Assigned Area, cannot be
sold, leased, assigned, transferred, pledged, surrendered or
otherwise encumbered or disposed of to another towing
operator, person, or entity.  A successor towing service must
make a new application for certification to the Division
under these regulations.  Upon the sale, lease, assignment,
transfer, pledge, surrender, or other encumbrance or
disposition of the Approved Tower, its business, name, or all
or substantially all of its assets, the certification approval
terminates immediately by operation of law and that
Approved Tower will be dropped from the approved towing
list.

(C) These regulations supersede all prior regulations,
contracts, agreements,  arrangements, or understandings,
formal or informal, regarding nonconsensual towing at the
request of the Division.  These regulations constitute
whatever written notice of termination may have been
required by those prior regulations, contracts, agreements,
arrangements, or understandings.  These regulations will
take effect one hundred and twenty (120) days after their
final publication in the Delaware State Register to allow
towing services that currently do business with the Division
to make application to the Division for certification under
these regulations.

Section 11.  Loss of Approved Status
(A) The Division may revoke the approved status of

any Approved Tower if the Approved Tower or, where
applicable, one of its officers, principals, directors,
employees, or stockholders owning more than ten percent of
the outstanding stock of the corporation has: (1) violated any
of these regulations; (2) made a false or misleading
statement of fact or omission of a material fact to the

Division in connection with the application, inspection, or
renewal; (3) subcontracted any towing work; (4) been found
bankrupt, insolvent, or in receivership;  (5) been the subject
of two or more substantiated complaints within any
twelve-month period from citizens about the Approved
Tower’s nonconsensual towing services, including but not
limited to complaints about charging unreasonable rates for
towing or storage, or the refusal to release a vehicle after
presentation of sufficient proof of ownership and payment of
authorized charges; (6) the cancellation or non-renewal of
the required insurance on any of the Approved Tower’s tow
trucks or for the operation of the tower’s business, or the loss
of any required federal, state or local license required for the
operation and driving of a tow vehicle; or (7) was
unavailable to respond to a Division dispatch or failed to
respond to a Division dispatch on at least three occasions
within any six month period, or did not have at least a
seventy-five (75) percent response rate for calls within any
twelve month period.  The Division may also revoke the
approved status of any Approved Tower which employs or
uses any driver who has, during the period of certification:
(8) been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol,
narcotics, or dangerous drugs during the period of
certification; (9) has had his or her driver’s license
suspended or revoked; (10) been convicted of any crime
involving theft, fraud or dishonesty, or any felony involving
the operation of a tow vehicle, or been adjudged (civilly
criminally) to have operated a tow vehicle in a grossly
negligent manner or in a manner showing a reckless
disregard for life or property; or (11) has imperiled the safety
of the public.

(B) If there is an imminent threat to public safety, the
Superintendent or his designee may summarily suspend
Approved Tower status in writing with a written statement of
reasons.  If there is no imminent threat to public safety, the
Division shall give notice to the Approved Tower in writing
of its intent to revoke its approved status and the reasons
therefor.  If, within ten days of the date of such notice to
suspend or revoke, the tower requests a hearing in writing,
then the Division will schedule a hearing within thirty days
of the tower’s request before the Superintendent or his
designee. The decision of the Superintendent or his designee
shall be in writing and shall be final.
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DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION

Statutory Authority:  30 Delaware Code,
Section 2034 (30 Del.C. 3024)

REGULATION PROMULGATING
TRAVELINK TRAFFIC MITIGATION ACT

The State of Delaware Code provides a tax credit via the
Travelink Traffic Mitigation Act (67 DE Law, c 160, S 1.)to
employers who develop and implement traffic mitigation
plans submitted to and monitored by the Dept.of
Transportation (DelDOT) to reduce commuter trip traffic
congestion during peak travel periods and non-peak travel
periods for Welfare to Work by supporting the use of
alternate modes of employees commuting from their homes
or within the proximity of their homes to their places of
employment.  Additionally, the DE Code requires all State
Agencies to develop Traffic Migitation Plans to also be
submitted to the Dept. of Transportation, DelDOT.  The
State Department of Transportation, DelDOT, is the
responsible agency to develop rules and reviews all private
employer and state agency traffic mitigation plans.
DelDOT's rules include a list of required, recommended and
additional transportation demand management strategies
employers or state agencies may implement in their traffic
mitigation plan.  DelDOT's rules requires agencies to
implement the required strategies (i.e., new employee
orientation information on alternate and commute options;
transportation fair held annually by the TMA of Delaware;
posting and distribution of marketing materials from DART
and TMA; preferential parking via signage and self-
enforcing for vanpoolers and/or carpoolers); contact and
meet with the RideShare Coordinator of the TMA to create a
Commuter Corner on-site with marketing materials; and
lastly, assign a Rideshare Coordinator or contact person
within their agency to help administer the program and day
to day operations of the program)within 6 months of plan
approval; and provide a semi-annual program progress
report for the first two years, annually thereafter.  Private
Employers and State Agencies may contact the
Transportation Management Association of DE (TMA
Delaware) organization to assist them with the development
of their traffic mitigation plans.  The TMA also provides
other services in the development of their plans by surveying
the employees; hosting Transportation Fairs; distributing
marketing materials of alternative modes of commuting to/
from worksites; and information on their "RideShare
Delaware" and "HomeFree" programs.

The public comment period will end June 30, 2002.
Comments may be sent to:

Catherine Dennis, Planning Manager,
Delaware Transit Corporation,
400 South Madison Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

In accordance with section 2034 of the TRAVELINK
Traffic Mitigation Act, the Secretary of the Department of
Transportation promulgates the following rules and
regulation for effectuation of the aforesaid Act.  The
implementing rules and regulation shall be set forth as
follows:

Sections:

1.0 Definitions
2.0 Approval Process
3.0 Tax Credit Calculation
4.0 Construction
5.0 Effective Date

1.0 Definitions
“Calculation of Tax Credit” shall mean determining

the tax credit dollar amount using a straight 10% of allowed
direct costs, or using the Participation Calculations method,
as described in Section III of this regulation.  The employer
may select the calculation method to be used.

“Department” shall mean the Department of
Transportation and its several divisions, agencies,
authorities, and administrations as appropriate.

“Department Approved TRAVELINK Program”,
referred to hereafter as the Employer’s Approved Plan, shall
mean an employer’s or group of employers’ plan approved
by the Department to reduce commute trip traffic congestion
during peak travel periods and  non-peak travel periods for
Welfare to Work by supporting the use of alternate modes of
employees commuting from their homes or within the
proximity of their homes to their places of employment.

“Direct Cost” for the purpose of calculating the tax
shall mean those un-reimbursed costs incurred by employers
as part of the Employer’s Approved Plan, limited to the
following:

Any employer- provided vehicles acquired or
leased and used as part of the TraveLink Program 

Maintenance of an employer-provided vehicle used
in the plan

Subsidization of employee commuting costs or
incentives in the form of direct  payments to employees or
third party providers of transportation, including public
transit, in accordance with the Employer’s Approved Plan

Administrative costs, such as personnel costs
(salary, benefits, training, but not overhead) and payments to
third parties, other than the Department, for Administration
of the Employer’s Approved Plan.   Administrative costs are
limited to levels specified in Section 2032 (c) (4) of the Act 

http://www.deldot.net/public.ejs


PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2291

Capital costs incurred as part of a Department-
approved TraveLink program.

“Employee” shall mean an individual employed by an
employer and shall also mean an individual participating in
programs offered under the auspices of the Job Training
Partnership Act. 

“Employer” shall mean any person, partnership,
association, bank, trust company, national bank, corporation,
company, mutual company, joint-stock company, society,
trust, unincorporated organization, trustee, trustee in
bankruptcy, receiver, or other natural or artificial legal entity
authorized to do business in this state, or any group,
cooperative or association thereof, employing a minimum of
one hundred (100) full-time employees or their equivalent
reporting to a specific worksite during the peak periods.
Employer plans which specifically target Welfare to Work
employees are exempt from the peak period.  In calculating
equivalents an employer shall add up all the hours intended
to be worked or actually worked by part time employees in
the employer’s tax year, whichever is less, and divide the
sum by 2000.  The resulting number is the equivalent of full-
time employees.

“Employer Provided Vehicles” shall mean any
automobile, van, or bus, either owned, leased, chartered or
subsidized by an employer, used in a ridesharing
arrangement during peak travel periods and also non-peak
travel periods for Welfare to Work programs provided,
however, that a minimum of three employees commute in
the vehicle during the specified periods in accordance with
the Employer’s Approved Plan. 

“Peak Travel Periods” shall mean between the hours
of 6:30 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. and between the hours of 3:30
p.m. and 6:30 p.m.

“Ridesharing Arrangement” shall mean any voluntary
association of employees who with the assistance,
contribution, and/or promotion of their employers participate
in an Employer’s Approved plan.

“Secretary” shall mean the Secretary of the
Department of Transportation , or the Secretary’s duly
appointed delegate.

2.0 Approval Process
In accordance with Section 2034 of the Act, procedures

for the approval of an Employer’s plan are herein set forth.
2.1 Criteria for Approval Determination

2.1.1 Any Employer, as defined in this
regulation, may submit a proposed traffic mitigation plan for
consideration of approval by the Department.  Proposed
plans are to be submitted to the Department or designated
agent.

2.1.2 For an Employer’s Plan to be considered
for approval, it must contain at the minimum:

2.1.2.1 The number of employees arriving
and departing during peak hours; and,

2.1.2.2 Traffic mitigation strategies to be
implemented; and,

2.1.2.3 Identification of a marketing plan;
and,

2.1.2.4 If an employer chooses to use the
Participation Calculations, a description of a process capable
of monitoring participation; and,

2.1.2.5 Identification of a contact person(s)
who shall represent the employer and be the liaison between
the Department and the employer; and,

2.1.2.6 The employer’s first tax year.
2.1.3 Information provided by employers, either

in their TraveLink Program Application for approval or in
the course of reporting on the participation in an Employer’s
Approved plan, shall be treated as confidential and used only
for the purpose of the Act and shall not be considered as a
public record under the provisions of Chapter 100 of Title
29.If an employer has multiple employment sites in
Delaware, the employer has the discretion of submitting to
the Department for approval:

2.1.3.1 Site specific Employer’s Plans which
shall be considered independently of one another: or,

2.1.3.2 The employer may submit a single
Plan encompassing all participating facilities in Delaware;
or,

2.1.3.3 The employer may request approval
for clusters of participating facilities in a well-defined
transportation corridor.

2.2 Department Approval Process 
2.2.1 The Department, or designated agent, shall

review all requests for approval in a timely manner.  These
regulatory provisions are in no way intended, nor shall they
be used to exclude any employer from participating in the
plan and the benefits available through the Act who may
otherwise qualify.  The following hierarchy shall be
followed in determining the order for reviewing proposed
Employer Plans, when the volume of requests for approval
exceeds the Department’s ability to perform the reviews in a
timely manner, approval priority will be given to those
employers who (whose):

2.2.1.1 Develop a mitigation plan targeted to
Welfare to Work clients; or,

2.2.1.2 Place of employment is adjacent to, or
for which the predominant commuting routes of
employment, are those roads and highways at Level of
Service(LOS) D or lower during peak travel periods, as
identified by the Department; or,

2.2.1.3 Current or existing approved Plan  is
about to expire; or, 

2.2.1.4 Develop an ongoing marketing plan
directed towards and capable of increasing and sustaining
employee participation over time; or,

2.2.1.5 Develop a mitigation plan which
delineates goals and congestion relief techniques, extending
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beyond any plans or programs of the employer, existing
prior to February 6, 1990

2.2.2 The Department shall review each request
for approval on the basis of:

2.2.2.1 A monitoring plan capable of
providing reliable annual data on employee participation
only where an employer chooses to use the Participation
Calculations.

2.2.2.2 A process of implementation which
demonstrates the employer’s commitment to traffic
reduction and includes a well-defined Plan to promote and
market participation among employees.

2.2.3 Upon completing review of an Employer’s
TraveLink Program Application, the Department shall:

2.2.3.1 Grant the requested approval for not
less than one, but no more than five years and inform the
employer of same in a Notice of Approval.

2.2.3.2 Deny approval if minimum
requirements of this regulation are not met.

2.2.3.3 Provide a copy of each Notice of
Approval to the Division of Revenue.

3.0 Tax Credit Calculation
Calculation of the tax credit shall be performed in

accordance with section 2033 of the Act as detailed in this
regulation.

3.1 Calculation of the tax credit shall be based upon the
unreimbursed direct costs as defined in the Act and this
regulation. Employers shall maintain records of direct costs
associated with their Approved Plan in a manner and form
consistent with generally accepted accounting principles.
Said records shall be maintained and available for audit by
the Division of Revenue in a manner consistent with
prescribed procedures for tax records as set forth by the
Division of Revenue.

3.2 When an employer has more than one Employer
Approved Plan, the employer may calculate a credit for each
Approved Plan, based upon unique rates of participation and
associated direct costs and claim the aggregate of these
calculations as its credit, or the employer may combine all
direct costs and apply a combined rate of participation in
calculating the credit.

3.3 The tax credit to be taken by an employer can be
calculated using one of the following options:

3.3.1 Ten percent (10%) credit calculation
which allows employers to claim a tax credit for ten percent
(10%) of the allowable direct cost (DC) of developing,
implementing, and maintaining the plan; or,

3.3.2 Participation Calculations for employers
who anticipate a greater than ten percent (10%) employee
participation rate.  Selection of the Participation Calculations
requires both calculations to be performed.  The tax credit
will be the lesser of the two products derived from the
following equations:

3.3.2.1 TC = CTR/CTG X DC; or
3.3.2.2 TC = CTR x $250, where

TC represents the amount of the Tax
Credit

CTR represents the number of employees
participating in the traffic reduction
plan for at least 100 days of the
applicable tax year

CTG represents the number of employees
eligible to participate in the traffic
reduction plan

DC represents the unreimbursed direct
costs the Employer incurs through the
traffic reduction plan.

3.4 Employers eligible for tax credits under the Act
shall claim a credit, as calculated in Section C above, against
the taxes and/or fees imposed by the following statutory
provisions and such credit shall be taken annually at the
conclusion of the tax year:

3.4.1 Chapter 11 of Title 5;
3.4.2 Sections 702 and 703 of Title 18;
3.4.3 Chapter 19 of Title 30;
3.4.4 Section 2702 (b) of Title 30;
3.4.5 Chapter 33 of Title 30;
3.4.6 Section 2301(d) of Title 30;
3.4.7 Section 2902 (c) of Title 30;
3.4.8 Section 2903 (c) of Title 30;
3.4.9 Section 2904 (c) of Title 30;
3.4.10 Section 2905(b)(1) of Title 30;
3.4.11 Section 2906 (c) of Title 30; or
3.4.12 Section 2907 (c) of Title 30.

Credits shall be taken by the employer against
taxes in the order specified above.

3.5 The amount of the credit allowable under this Act
for any taxable year shall not exceed 100 percent of the
amount of taxes and/or fees imposed upon the employer by
the statutes referred to in Section D above, for such taxable
year (computed without regard to this section).

3.6 The amount of the credit for any taxable year that is
not allowable for such taxable year solely as a result of the
limitation contained in Section E above, shall be a credit
carryover for up to three subsequent taxable years, as
provided in Section 2033 (d) of the Act.

3.7 Total amount of funding available for eligible
credits allowed for the TraveLink Program is limited to the
amount established by the General Assembly. (72 Del.
Laws, c 188 § 17).

3.8 If the total of TraveLink tax credits for which all
employers apply in any State of Delaware fiscal year,
exceeds the amount set forth in subsection §2037 (a) of the
TraveLink Traffic Mitigation Act, then the TraveLink tax
credit to be received by cash applicant for that year shall be
the product of the amount set forth in subsection §2037 (a) of
the Act multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is
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the eligible TraveLink credits applied for by the applicant
and the denominator of which is the total of all eligible
TraveLink credits applied for by the applicants.

4.0 Construction
4.1 To effectuate the purpose and intent of the Act this

regulation shall be liberally construed and broadly
interpreted.

4.2 If any provisions of  this regulation shall be held
invalid, the remainder of the Regulation shall not be affected
thereby.

5.0 Effective Date
This Regulation shall be effective immediately upon

signature of the Secretary of the Department of
Transportation, or the Secretary’s duly appointed delegate.

SO ORDERED THIS _____ DAY OF _____, 2002

Signature

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DELAWARE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

DELAWARE TOURISM OFFICE

TOURISM ADVISORY BOARD

Statutory Authority: Laws of Delaware
Volume 73, Chapter 74, Section 67

REGISTER NOTICE

Title of Regulation:
Co-Op Advertising Program

Nature of Proceedings: Synopsis of the Subject and
Substance of the Proposed Regulation:

In accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del. C.
Ch. 11, Subch. III, 29 Del. C. Ch 101 and 73 Delaware Laws
Ch. 74, Section 67 (June 28, 2001), the Director of the
Delaware Economic Development Office (“DEDO”) (of
which the Delaware Tourism Office (“DTO”) is a
subdivision), in cooperation with the Tourism Advisory
Board (the “Board”), is proposing to adopt a regulation for
the administration of the Co-Op Advertising program as part
of the matching grants program authorized by 73 Delaware
Laws Ch. 74, Section 67 (the “Co-Op Advertising Program”)
and for the application and award procedure of the Co-Op
Advertising Program.   The regulation describes the Co-Op
Advertising Program, the eligibility criteria and application
procedure for awards under the Co-Op Advertising Program.

Statutory Basis and Legal Authority to Act:
29 Delaware Code §5005(11); 73 Delaware Laws Ch.

74, Section 67 (June 28, 2001).

Other Regulations Affected:
None.

Notice of Public Hearing; How to Comment on the
Proposed Regulation:

Members of the public may receive a copy of the
proposed amendments to the regulation at no charge by
United States Mail by writing or calling Ms. Julie Miro
Wenger, Delaware Tourism Office of the Delaware
Economic Development Office, 99 Kings Highway, Dover,
DE, 19901-7305, phone (302) 672-6826.  The Director of
the Delaware Economic Development Office, or an
employee of the Delaware Economic Development Office
designated by the Director, and the Board will hold a public
hearing at which members of the public may present
comments on the proposed regulation on July 10, 2002 in the
conference room of the offices of the Delaware Economic
Development Office at 99 Kings Highway, Dover, DE,
19901 at 9:00 a.m.  Additionally, members of the public may
present written comments on the proposed regulation by
submitting such written comments to Ms. Julie Miro Wenger
at the address of the Delaware Economic Development
Office set forth above.  Written comments must be received
on or before July 10, 2002 at 9:00 a.m.

Co-Op Advertising Program

1.0  Co-Op Advertising Program Description
1.1 The purpose of the program is to attract overnight

visitors to Delaware through increased visibility of
Delaware’s tourism product and the creation of a Delaware
image.

1.2 The goal of the program is to allow tourism
industry partners to participate in the Delaware Tourism
Office’s advertising campaign.

1.3 The definition of the program is advertising placed
with any media that represents more than one organization
and the cost of which is funded by all participants.

2.0  Participation
2.1 The Delaware Tourism Office will participate in

co-op advertising and will fund a portion of the cost of the
placement not to exceed fifty percent (50%) of such cost, as
set forth in Section 2.3.

2.2 Equal shares will be made available to Delaware
tourism industry partners.

2.3 For-profit organizations may participate in co-op
advertising. For-profit organizations will be responsible for
all the funds for any share of co-op advertising purchased. 

2.4 Not-for-profit organizations may participate in co-
op advertising.  Not-for-profit organizations will be eligible
to receive one half of the funds for any share of co-op

http://www.state.de.us/dedo/new_web_site/
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advertising purchased from Matching Grant Funds and will
be responsible for one half of the funds.  

3.0  Co-Op Advertising Matching Grant Funds 
3.1 Co-Op Advertising Matching Grant Funds

Description
3.1.1 The total amount available for matching

grants is designated by the general assembly in the operating
budget.  It is expected that there will be a number of sub-
programs available using the matching grant funds, one of
which will be co-op advertising.  The Delaware Tourism
Office in cooperation with the Governor’s Tourism Advisory
Board will determine the amount of funds allocated for each
matching grant funds sub-program.

3.1.2 The grants are to be used to place
advertising outside of the state of Delaware to attract
overnight visitors to Delaware.

3.1.3 Subject to the availability of funds, up to
one half of the cost of participation in the co-op
advertisement will be paid from matching grant funds for
not-for-profit organizations.

3.1.4 The same organization may apply to
participate in more than one co-op advertisement.

3.2 Eligibility for Matching Grants for Co-Op
Advertising

3.2.1 Not-for-profit tourism related businesses
and organizations.

3.2.2 Only in-state tourism entities may apply.
3.2.3 The organization’s main product or

program must be intended to attract new visitors and
overnight business.

3.3 Matching Grant Awards 
3.3.1 There will be no attempt to balance the

awards geographically, politically, or categorically.

4.0  Source of Matching Funds
4.1 Matching funds are required for not-for-profit

tourism related business.  The organization’s matching fund
commitment is part of the application.

4.2 No other state grant funds may be used for the
organization’s match.

5.0  Application Requirements
5.1 Applicants shall fill out the Co-Op Advertising

Program application as prescribed by the Delaware Tourism
Office.  The application is available at 99 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE  19901.

5.2 Incomplete applications will not be considered.
5.3 More than one application may be submitted per

organization.
5.4 All completed applications must be received at the

Delaware Tourism Office at 99 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
19901.  Applications will not be accepted after the deadline
or at any other location.  The application deadline will be

designated in the program announcement.  Applications may
be submitted via fax at 302-739-5749.

5.5 It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that
the application is complete and received prior to the
announced deadline.

6.0  Determination of Participation in Co-Op Advertising
6.1 DTO personnel will select the organizations for

each co-op advertisement placed from the eligible
applications.

7.0  Process
7.1 All completed applications that are received by the

deadline will be reviewed, and selections will be announced
one week later.

7.2 Payments
7.2.1 Participating organizations will pay DTO

their share within 60 days of their selection.  There will be
no funds paid from DTO to the applicant.  DTO will
combine the funds from all sources into a single payment to
the advertiser.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 804

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

804 IMMUNIZATIONS

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND 
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

     The Secretary of Education seeks to amend regulation 804
Immunizations in order to add the requirements for the
Varicella vaccine to the schedule of immunizations for
students.  The addition of the Varicella Vaccine was
recommended by the Division of Health and Social Services,
Department of Public Health.
    Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on March 23,
2002, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

    The Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend  this
regulation in order to add the Varicella vaccine as

recommended by the Division of Health and Social Services,
Department of Public Health.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

    For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it
is necessary to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to
14 Del.C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit “b”
is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C.
§122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in effect for
a period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set fourth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

    The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in the
form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

    The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, on May 1, 2002.  The
effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the
date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 1st  day of May 2002.

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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Department Of Education
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

804  Immunizations

1.0 Definition of School Enterer:  A school enterer is any
child between the ages of two months and 21 years entering
or being admitted to a Delaware school district for the first
time, including but not limited to, foreign exchange students,
immigrants, students from other states and territories and
children entering from nonpublic schools.

2.0 The following minimum immunizations will be
required for all school enterers.  Children who enter school
prior to age 4 shall follow current Division of Public Health
recommendations.  Disease histories for measles, rubella and
mumps will not be accepted unless serologically confirmed.
Immunizations given up to four days prior to the minimum
interval or age will be accepted.

2.1 Four or more doses of diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis
(DTaP, DTP, or other approved vaccine) or diphtheria,
tetanus (DT) vaccine or a combination of these vaccines with
the following exceptions:  (1) a child who received a fourth
dose prior to the fourth birthday must have a fifth dose;  (2) a
child who received the first dose of Td (adult) at or after age
seven may meet this requirement with only three doses of Td
(adult).

2.1.1  A booster dose of Td (adult) is recommended
for all students, at age 11 or 12, or five years after the last
DTaP, DTP or DT dose was administered.

2.2  Three or more doses of inactivated polio virus
(IPV), oral polio vaccine (OPV), or a combination of these
vaccines with the following exception:  A child who
received a third dose prior to the fourth birthday must have a
fourth dose.  

2.3  Two doses of measles, mumps and rubella (MMR)
vaccine.   The first dose should be administered on or after
the age of 12 months.  The second dose should be
administered after the fourth birthday.  The Individual or
combination vaccines of measles, mumps, rubella (MMR)
can be used to meet this requirement.

2.4  Three doses of Hepatitis B vaccine beginning in the
1999-2000 school year with kindergarten and grade seven.
(By adding a grade at each of the levels, by the year 2004-
2005 all students will be required to have the vaccine.)  Two
doses of CDC approved vaccine for children ages 11-15 may
be used.  

2.5  One dose of rubella vaccine administered after the
age of 12 months.

2.6  One dose of mumps vaccine administered after the
age of 12 months.

2.7 2.5 One dose of varicella is recommended.  Varicella
vaccine is required beginning in the 2003-2004 school year
with kindergarten and adding a grade each subsequent year.

One dose is required for children through age 12.  Two doses
are required for children age 13 and older.

2.5.1 A written disease history , provided by the
health care provider, parent, legal guardian, caregiver or
school enterer who has reached the statutory age of majority
(18) Del. C. §131(a)(9), will be accepted in lieu of
vaccination.

See 4 DE Reg. 1515 (3/1/01)

3.0  Certification of Immunization
3.1  The parent, legal guardian, caregiver or a school

enterer who has reached the statutory age of majority (18),
14 Del.C. §131(a)(9), shall present a certificate specifying
the month, day, and year that the immunizations were
administered by the state licensed health care practitioner.

See 4 DE Reg. 1515 (3/1/01)
3.2  According to 14 Del.C. § 131, a principal or person

in charge of a school shall not permit a child to enter into
school without acceptable evidence of immunization.  The
parent, legal guardian, caregiver or a school enterer who has
reached the statutory age of majority (18), 14 Del.C.
§131(a)(9), shall be notified of this requirement in writing.
Within 14 calendar days after notification, evidence must be
presented to the school that the basic series of immunizations
has been initiated or has been completed.

See 4 DE Reg. 1515 (3/1/01)
3.3  A school enterer may be conditionally admitted to a

Delaware school district by presenting a statement from a
state licensed health care practitioner who specifies that the
school enterer:

3.3.1 h Has received at least one dose of DTaP,
DTP, or DT and

3.3.2 h Has received at least one dose of IPV or
OPV and

3.3.3 h Has received at least one dose of measles,
mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine.

3.3.4  h Has received the first dose of the Hepatitis
B series as per 2.4. See Regulation 901 Education of
Homeless Children and Youth 6.0 School districts shall
ensure that policies concerning immunization, guardianship
and birth certificates do not create barriers to the school
enrollment of homeless children and youth.  To that end,
school districts shall:  6.1  assist homeless children and
youth in meeting the immunization requirements.

3.3.5 Has received at least one dose of Varicella
vaccine as per 2.5.

3.4 Regulation 901 Education of Homeless Children and
Youth 6.0 states that “School districts shall ensure that
policies concerning immunization, guardianship and birth
certificates do not create barriers to the school enrollment of
homeless children and youth”. To that end, school districts
shall as in 6.1 “assist homeless children and youth in
meeting the immunization requirements”.

See 4 DE. Reg. 1515 (3/1/01)
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3.4 3.5  If the school enterer fails to complete the series
of required immunizations according to the Division of
Public Health's recommended schedule, the parent, legal
guardian, caregiver or a school enterer who has reached the
statutory age of majority (18), 14 Del. C. §131(a)(9), will be
notified the child will be excluded according to 14 Del.C.
§131.

See 4 DE Reg. 1515 (3/1/01)

4.0 Lost or Destroyed Medical Records:  When an
immunization record has been lost or destroyed by the
medical provider who administered the vaccine, the parent,
legal guardian, caregiver or a school enterer who has reached
the statutory age of majority (18), 14 Del.C. §131(a)(9),shall
sign a written statement to this effect and must obtain at least
one dose of DTaP, DTP or DT, one dose of IPV or OPV, one
dose of Hepatitis B (as per 2.4) and immunization against
measles, mumps and rubella and one dose of varicella (as per
2.5).  Evidence that the vaccines were administered shall be
presented to the superintendent or designated person.  An
exemption to this requirement would be a statement from a
state licensed health care practitioner demonstrating
serological evidence of immunity to measles, mumps or
rubella.

See 4 DE Reg. 1515 (3/1/01)

5.0  Exemption from Immunization:
5.1  Exemption from this requirement may be granted in

accordance with 14 Del.C. §131.
5.2  Alternative dosages or immunization schedules may

be accepted with the written approval of the Division of
Public Health.

See 4 DE Reg. 1515 (3/1/01)

6.0 Verification of School Records:  The Division of Public
Health shall have the right to audit and verify school
immunization records to determine compliance with the law.

See 1 DE Reg. 1808 (5/1/98)

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

REGULATION 1501 KNOWLEDGE, SKILLS AND 
RESPONSIBILITY BASED SUPPLEMENTS FOR 

EDUCATORS

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND 
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to adopt this
regulation. This regulation includes the requirements for, and

payment of salary supplements established by 14 Del. C. §
1305.  Regulation 1501 Knowledge, Skills and
Responsibility Based Supplements for Educators shall apply
to the awarding of salary supplements as a percentage of the
state portion of an educator’s annual salary for gaining
knowledge and skills that lead to more effective instruction,
for achieving certification from the National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards, or from an equivalent
program, and/or for accepting additional responsibility
supplements that impact student achievement.

Notice of the proposed adoption of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 25, 2002, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
The notice invited written comments and none were received
from the newspaper advertisements. Comment was received
from the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional
Citizens and the recommendation made was incorporated
into the regulation.  This change does not constitute a
substantive change in the regulation.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board
of Education find that it is necessary to adopt this regulation
because 14 Del.C. § 1305 (l), (m), (n), (o), and (p) direct the
development by the Professional Standards Board, in
consultation and collaboration with the Department of
Education, and with the approval of the State Board of
Education, of regulation of specific professional
development activities and specific areas of skills and
knowledge that an employee can undertake and/or obtain in
order to receive a skills and knowledge salary supplement
and extra responsibility supplements that impact student
achievement, and of the authorization of stipends for
certification received from the national Board for
Professional Teaching Standards or from an equivalent
program.  Adoption of this regulation will permit
implementation of the provisions of 14 Del.C. § 1305 (l),
(m), (n), (o), and (p).

III.  DECISION TO ADOPT THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is
necessary to adopt the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14
Del.C. § 1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit
“B” is hereby adopted.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of regulation 1501 shall be in the form attached
hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited in
the Regulations of the Department of Education.
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V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS

BOARD the 9th Day Of May, 2002.

Charles Michels, Chair Mary Ellen Kotz, Vice Chair
Patricia Clements Barbara Grogg
Michele Hazeur-Porter Sherie Hudson
Tony Marchio Mary Mirabeau
John Pallace Joanne Reihm
Harold Roberts Karen Schilling Ross
Teresa Schooley Carol Vukelich
Jacquelyn Wilson

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th Day Of May, 2002

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President  Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Robert Gilsdorf Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valerie Pepper Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1501 KNOWLEDGE, SKILLS, AND 
RESPONSIBILITY BASED SALARY SUPPLEMENTS 

FOR EDUCATORS

1.0 Content:
The following requirements shall be met in order to

receive the salary supplements established by 14 Del.C.
§1305. This regulation shall apply to the awarding of salary
supplements as a percentage of the state portion of an
educator’s annual salary for gaining knowledge and skills
that lead to more effective instruction, for achieving
certification from the National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards, or from an equivalent program, and for
accepting additional responsibility supplements that impact
student achievement.  Supplements are available subject to
an annual appropriation from the Legislature.

2.0 Definitions:
The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, should have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Approved cluster” means a professional development
cluster that meets the criteria specified in 3.1 of this

Regulation and that has been designated by the Standards
Board and the State Board as the basis for awarding a
specific salary supplement.

“Delaware Administrator Standards” means
standards for education administrators approved by the
Secretary of Education and the State Board of Education, as
per 14 Del. Admin. Code 394, Delaware Administrator
Standards.

“Delaware Content Standards” means K-12 student
content standards approved by the Secretary of Education
and the State Board of Education, as per 14 Del. Admin.
Code 501, State Content Standards.

“Delaware Professional Teaching Standards” means
standards of teaching approved by the Secretary of
Education and the State Board of Education, as per 14 Del.
Admin. Code 393, Delaware Professional Teaching
Standards.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means an employee paid under 14 Del.C. §
1305.

“Hours of Engagement” means time spent in classes,
seminars, workshops, collaborative work groups, learning
communities, cohort, school, or district teams, and time
engaged in research-based activities which result in the
acquisition of knowledge and skills which lead to more
effective instruction.

“Knowledge and Skills” means understandings and
abilities that, when acquired by educators, lead to more
effective instruction.

“NSDC Standards for Staff Development” means
standards adopted by the National Staff Development
Council for high quality staff and professional development.

“Professional Development Cluster” or “Cluster”
means a focused group of professional development
activities that leads to measurable and observable knowledge
and skills.

“Provider” means a local school district, charter
school, college, educationally related organization, or
professional organization that delivers professional
development clusters approved by the Standards Board and
the State Board to educators.

“Responsibilities” means educators’ additional
responsibility assignments that are academic in nature and
that impact student achievement.  Extra curricular or non-
instructional supervisory activities are specifically excluded
from this definition under this regulation.

“Salary Supplement”, when referring to knowledge,
skills, and responsibility based supplements, means
additional state salary, as described in 14 Del.C. § 1305.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards
Board of the State of Delaware established in response to 14
Del.C. § 1205.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2299

the State of Delaware established in response to 14 Del.C. §
104.

3.0 Knowledge and Skills:
The Standards Board shall, on no less than an annual

basis, submit to the State Board for approval, lists of
proposed new professional development clusters in specific
areas of knowledge and skills which shall serve as the basis
for awarding salary supplements.

3.1 The criteria for evaluating professional
development clusters designed to promote acquisition of
knowledge and skills are based upon:

3.1.1 Delaware Professional Teaching Standards
or Delaware Administrator Standards or their equivalent
(i.e., national standards from educators’ specialty-area
organizations that complement the Delaware standards).

3.1.2 Delaware content standards or their
equivalent (i.e., national standards from content-specialty
groups, if there are no Delaware standards for the content
area).

3.1.3 National Staff Development Council
Standards for Staff Development (NSDC, 2001).

3.2 Clusters may include a combination of formal
courses at graduate or undergraduate levels, and other
research-based activities which conform to the NSDC
Standards for Staff Development. 

3.3 Clusters may be comprised of related segments
which may be completed separately over a specified period
of time, not to exceed 5 years, as included in the cluster
design and approved by the Standards Board and the State
Board.

3.4 Voluntary performance or assessment-based
specialty certifications awarded for meeting standards
established by national professional organizations shall be
evaluated as proposed clusters in accordance with this
regulation.

3.5 The specific percentage of salary assigned to each
knowledge and skills supplement, provided that no
supplement may be less than 2% nor more than 6% of an
educator’s base state salary, shall be submitted with the list
of professional development clusters and specific areas of
knowledge and skills.

3.5.1 A cluster qualifying an educator for a
supplement of 2% shall consist of no less than 90 hours of
engagement by the educator.

3.5.2 A cluster qualifying an educator for a
supplement of 4% shall consist of no less than 180 hours of
engagement by the educator.

3.5.3 A cluster qualifying an educator for a
supplement of 6% shall consist of no less than 270 hours of
engagement by the educator.

3.6 Knowledge and skills which, once acquired, are
expected to lead to more effective instruction for the
duration of an educator’s career are designated as permanent

supplements.
3.7 Knowledge and skills related to new technologies,

curriculum adoptions, and short-term strategies shall have a
duration of 5 years, and may be renewed by successfully
completing renewal activities in accordance with cluster
approval procedures established by the Standards Board.

3.8 The provider will present an educator who
satisfactorily completes an approved cluster with a
certificate of completion to verify eligibility for a salary
supplement.  The certificate shall certify the knowledge and
skills acquired and demonstrated by the educator.

3.9 Annually, the Standards Board shall submit to the
State Board for approval a list of all clusters proposed for
continued approval, renewal, and non-renewal.

4.0 Responsibilities:
The Standards Board shall, on no less than an annual

basis, submit to the State Board a list of specific
responsibility assignments for approval as the basis for
awarding responsibility salary supplements.

4.1 Responsibility assignments shall be:
4.1.1 Focused on school improvement issues

that impact student achievement;
4.1.2 Supported by high quality, targeted

professional development, and
4.1.3 Academic in nature.

4.2 In order to qualify for a responsibility assignment
salary supplement, an educator shall have completed the
state approved training program for the position, or, in the
absence of a training program, shall meet the criteria set
forth for the position, and shall provide state and district
approved levels of service, participate in designated
activities throughout the period of responsibility, and
document the satisfactory fulfillment of the specified
responsibility assignment.

5.0 Approval of Professional Development Clusters and
Responsibilities:

5.1 The Standards Board’s standing committee on
professional development and associated compensation shall
provide the Standards Board with recommended lists of
professional development clusters and responsibility
assignments in accordance with this regulation. 

5.2 The Standards Board shall examine the proposed
lists and previously approved lists of clusters to evaluate the
system of professional development to determine its overall
balance and accessibility. 

5.3 The lists of professional development clusters and
responsibilities shall be forwarded to the State Board with a
recommendation for approval.
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6.0 Confirmation of Educators’ Eligibility for Salary
Supplements:

6.1 Knowledge and Skills:  The district or charter
school shall notify educators annually, in writing, of the
clusters it approves from the State Board approved list for
knowledge and skills salary supplements.

6.2 Those clusters approved by districts or charter
schools shall not require any additional prior approval.  After
completing the entire cluster, an educator shall submit
documentation to the local district of fulfilling the
requirements of the cluster’s design.

6.3 Responsibility Assignments:  An educator shall
provide the local district or charter school or state agency
with such information as may be required to enable the local
district or charter school or state agency to verify that the
educator has fulfilled the requirements of 4.2 of this
regulation.

7.0 Payment of Salary Supplements:
[RESERVED]

[8.0 Salary supplements paid to an educator shall not
exceed 15% of the state share of the educator’s salary.]

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,

Section 3103 (16 Del.C. §3103)

ORDER

Regulations Governing Care And Transportation
Of The Dead

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”)
initiated proceedings to adopt State of Delaware Rules and
Regulations Governing Care and Transportation of the Dead.
The DHSS proceedings to adopt regulations were initiated
pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Chapter 101 and authority as
prescribed by 16 Delaware Code, Chapter 97 and Chapter
98.

On March 1, 2002 (Volume 5, Issue 9), DHSS published
in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice of
proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115.  It requested that written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations be
delivered to DHSS by April 1, 2002, or be presented at a

public hearing on March 26, 2002, after which time DHSS
would review information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed regulations.

Verbal comments were given and evaluated.  The results
of that evaluation are summarized in the accompanying
“Summary of Evidence.”

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as
set forth in the attached copy should be adopted in the best
interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.  The
proposed regulations include modifications from those
published in the March 1, 2002, Register of Regulations,
based on comments received during the public notice period.
These modifications are deemed not to be substantive in
nature.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
State of Delaware Rules and Regulations Governing Care
and Transportation of the Dead are adopted and shall
become effective June 10, 2002, after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations. 

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, 5/14/02

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE

A public hearing was held on March 26, 2002, at 1:00
PM, in the third floor conference room of the Jesse Cooper
Building, Federal and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware,
before David P. Walton, Hearing Officer, to discuss the
proposed Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS)
Rules and Regulations Governing Care and Transportation
of the Dead.  The announcement regarding the public
hearing was advertised in the Delaware State News, the
News Journal and the Delaware Register of Regulations in
accordance with Delaware Law.  Ms. Brenda Conner from
the Office of Vital Statistics, Support Services Section,
Division of Public Health (DPH) made the agency’s
presentation.  Mr. David Eames, President of the Delaware
Funeral Director Association attended the public hearing and
offered comments.  Mr. Paul Mulvehill offered written
comments via email through the Board of Professional
Regulations.  Comments and the DHSS (Agency) responses
are indicated below:

• Section 4 & 6  In regards to depth of graves, the
regulation goes from English measurement to a
metric measurement.  Recommend that one sys-
tem of measurement be used for clarity pur-
poses.

Agency Response: After a careful review of section 4 and 6
of the regulation, the metric measurement referred to in these

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dph/index.htm
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sections was converted to an English measurement for
clarification purposes.  Additionally, metric measurements
were included in parenthesis after the corresponding English
measurement.

•  Section 4  In regards to burying a body at a
depth of 2 meters, in some locations in Sussex
County, if you went that deep you would inevita-
bly hit water.  In that case the consensus of the
funeral directors was to cremate bodies dead of a
designated high-risk disease.

Agency Response: In accordance with Section 6 of the
regulation, cremation is the disposal method of choice for
any body dead from a designated high-risk, disease.
Additionally, to bury a body infected with a designated high-
risk disease section 6 of the regulation requires a waiver
from the Director of Public Health or their designee.  Not
being able to bury a body dead of a designated high-risk
disease at a safe depth (79 inches/2 meters), would be
grounds to disapprove said waiver request.

• Section 6.  There was a suggestion that
Creutzfeldt-Jakob (CJD) syndrome be listed in
the regulation as one of the designated high-risk
diseases where cremation is the disposal method
of choice.

Agency Response: The diseases specifically mentioned in
the proposed regulations (anthrax, plague, small pox,
hemorrhagic fevers) are included in because of their high
degree of infectivity, potential to cause mass casualties such
as during a bioterroristic event, and/or because of concerns
about the environmental pathways for their transmission.
There are many other diseases, such as CJD, which can
potentially be transmitted in the care of the deceased.
Persons engaging in the care of the deceased must use
standard precautions as a matter of routine in order to lesson
risks from these diseases generally.  In our opinion, what is
currently known about CJD does not raise it to the
designated high-risk disease level.

The changes recommended in this Summary of
Evidence are not substantive in nature.

The public comment period was open from March 1,
2002 to April 1, 2002.

Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing
Officer’s record.  The regulation has been approved by the
Delaware Attorney General’s office and the Cabinet
Secretary of DHSS.

Regulations Governing Care And Transportation
Of The Dead

Originally adopted May 23, 1953
Amended:  January 25, 1968; [June 10,] 2002.

Adopted as amended by the Delaware State Board of
Health in official session on January 25, 1968, under
authority of Title 16, Chapter 31 Section 3168 Delaware
Code of 1953.  Originally adopted May 23, 1953.

Section   1.  Definitions
a.  State Board of Health shall mean Delaware State

Board of Health, its Executive Secretary, or Registrar of
Vital Statistics, or any authorized agent thereof.

a.  “Department” means the Department of Health and
Social Services.

b.  State Registrar shall mean Director, Division of
Public Health.

c.  Funeral Director shall mean an Undertaker or
Mortician licensed in the State of Delaware.

d.  A Dead Body shall mean any human dead body,
including any products of human conception expelled
weighing 350 grams or more, or after twenty (20) weeks of
gestation, whether born dead or dying thereafter.

e.  Premises In which Interments Are Made shall
mean burying grounds, cemeteries, tombs or vaults, or any
other places where disposal of bodies may be made.

Section   2.  Burial Permit Required
No manager, superintendent, caretaker, sexton or other

person in charge of any premises in which interments,
entombment, cremations or other dispositions of any dead
body are made, shall permit the interment, entombment,
cremation or other disposition of such body unless it is
accompanied by a burial or cremation permit or a temporary
certificate authorizing burial signed by a licensed funeral
director.  Upon receipt of the burial permit, the person in
charge of the premises or by the funeral director, if there is
no person in charge, shall sign the permit and retain same as
a permanent record of authorization for burial.  In the event
that the person in charge of the premises receives a
temporary certificate authorizing burial, said certificate shall
be retained until the burial permit is received.  Upon receipt
of the burial permit, both the temporary certificate and the
burial permit shall be retained by the person in charge of the
premises as a permanent record of authorization for burial.
If the person in charge of the premises does not receive the
burial permit from the funeral director within a period of ten
(10) days after burial takes place, he shall notify the State
Registrar of Vital Statistics, Dover, Delaware.

Section   3.  Burial Of The Dead
Except as hereinafter provided, all human bodies dead

within the State of Delaware shall be cremated or buried, or
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placed within a receiving vault within five (5) days after
death.  Any dead human body to be kept longer than twenty-
four (24) hours shall be embalmed or placed in a
hermetically sealed casket which will not be opened at any
time after this twenty-four (24) hour period, except when
medical or legal investigation necessitates a longer period.
The State Board of Health Department shall issue a special
permit in such cases.  Application for such a permit shall be
made to the State Registrar of Vital Statistics, Dover.  Bodies
to be kept more than twenty-four (24) hours under this
exception must be stored in suitable, approved refrigeration
facilities.

Section   4.  Depth Of Graves
No interment of any human body shall be made in any

public or private burial ground unless the distance from all
parts of the top of the outer case containing the coffin or
casket be not less than eighteen (18) inches [(.5 meter)]
from the natural surface of the ground.  EXCEPTION: Per
Section 6, subsection c., of this regulation, bodies dead of
designated high-risk diseases (Anthrax, Small Pox, Plague
and the various Hemorrhagic Fevers) must be buried at a
depth of at least [79 inches/] 2 meters. 

The superintendent, sexton, caretaker, or other person in
charge of a cemetery or burial ground shall be responsible
that graves are of the depth required by this regulation.  In
the event that there be no such person in charge, it shall
become the responsibility of the person burying the body.

Section   5.  Permanent Entombment Facilities And
Receiving Vaults

Permanent Entombment Facilities:
When a body is placed in a permanent entombment

facility, all exterior facings of the facility must be firmly and
securely closed.

Receiving vaults may be used for a period not exceeding
fifteen (15) days for the reception of bodies provided the
bodies are properly embalmed by a licensed funeral director.
Beyond this period, special permission from the State Board
of Health Department is required.  In every case, the death
certificate must be filed immediately after death.  

The responsible person in charge of the receiving vault
shall make written application to the State Registrar of Vital
Statistics, Dover, for special permission at least one week
prior to the expiration of the fifteen (15) day period.

This section shall not apply to bodies turned over to
bonifide bona fide medical and surgical groups for
anatomical or study purposes.

Section   6.  Preparation Of Bodies Dead Of Certain
Diseases

In the preparation for burial of the body of any person
who has died of smallpox, plague, anthrax, or other disease
which the State Board of Health may specify, it shall be the

duty of the funeral director or person acting as such to
accomplish the following:

a.  To wash the surface of the body with an approved
germicidal solution.

b.  To effectively plug all body orifices immediately.
c.  To embalm by arterial and cavity injection with an

approved disinfectant fluid.  No preparation containing
arsenic shall be used for this purpose.

It shall be the duty of every funeral director engaged for
or in charge of the preparation and burial of the body of a
person who died of smallpox, plague, anthrax, or other
disease which the State Board of Health may specify, or of
the bringing of the dead body of any such person to
Delaware, to give immediate notice thereof to the State
Board of Health.  No burial, cremation or transit permit for
the body of any person who had died of these diseases shall
be granted by telephone, but must be obtained in accordance
with those  regulations.  Such body shall be immediately
placed in a metal lined coffin or casket and the same shall be
immediately and permanently sealed by the funeral director.
If metal linings coffins or caskets are unobtainable, the
casket is to be constructed so as to not allow any seepage
whatsoever therefrom and it is to be sealed as hereinbefore
directed.

If it is desired to cremate the body of a person who has
died of smallpox, plague, anthrax, or other diseases which
the State Board of Health may specify, the casket need not be
metal lined, but must be sealed as herein provided and
removed tot he crematory for immediate cremation.  It shall
be unlawful to invite or permit any person or persons other
than the members of the immediate family on the premises
where such deceased person has died of said diseases of
where the body of such person has been held or prepared for
burial.  In the case of a person who has died of smallpox,
plague, anthrax, or other diseases which the State Board of
Health may specify, no public funeral shall be permitted.

Section 6.  Preparation, Transport, And Disposal Of
Bodies Dead Of Designated High-risk Diseases.

The Director of the Division of Public Health or
Designee shall designate communicable diseases determined
to be high-risk from the point of view of handling after
death.  Currently designated diseases include Anthrax,
Smallpox, Plague, and the various Hemorrhagic Fevers.

Should death occur before a definitive diagnosis can be
made and when there is even the remote suspicion of one of
these illnesses, the physician or hospital should consult with
the Chief Medical Examiner or the Director of Public
Health.  Should it be necessary to hold a body for longer than
six hours pending completion of definitive diagnostic work,
the body should be sealed immediately following the taking
of such specimens as may be needed. The sealing should be
completed as described in Preparation a. (below) and held in
isolation (refrigerated when possible) pending removal.
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Otherwise, removal, transport, and cremation should
proceed as prescribed by these regulations.

Whenever death occurs from a designated high-risk
disease, immediate notification shall be provided by the
reporting physician, other provider, or the hospital to the
Division of Public Health,  next of kin, and the funeral
director who will have responsibility to handle, transport, or
dispose of said body. These reports may be made by fax,
telephone, or electronic mail.  After business hours, the
Division of Public Health emergency line is (302) 739-4700.

The Chief Medical Examiner, hospital or funeral
director shall ensure that anyone handling a body so
designated shall follow strict universal precautions in a
manner that minimizes contact between the body, other
persons, and the environment.  For information concerning
universal precautions contact the Office of Vital Statistics.

Preparation:
a.  The body shall be wrapped in a sheet saturated with a

suitable disinfectant.  This may be concentrated commercial
disinfectant approved for such purpose or it may be
embalming powder or high index cavity fluid. This shall be
followed by enclosure in a heavy-duty impervious bag
designed for such purpose to assure against leakage.

b.  For transport, the body prepared as in subsection “a.”
shall be placed in a suitable firm container such as a
“cremation container” in which case it shall be cremated
therein, or it may be transported in a temporary firm
protective container from which it may be removed for
cremation.

c.  For burial or other exempted disposition, the body
shall be enclosed in a metal casket liner or a casket that is
constructed so as to not allow any seepage whatsoever
therefrom and is to be sealed. Burial of bodies dead of
designated high-risk disease must be at a depth of at least
[79 inches/] 2 meters.

Labeling:
It will be the responsibility of the funeral director to

ensure that there are attached to the body and its containers
in several visible places labels bearing in prominent legible
letters the words, “This body is infected with a designated
high-risk disease specified by the Division of Public Health
and must be handled and transported in accordance with the
precautions required by these regulations”.

Handling:
Neither embalming nor autopsy shall be performed on

such bodies unless specifically authorized by the Chief
Medical Examiner or designee.

Transport:
Transport of a body so designated must be under the

conditions described above with the addition that the body

must be protected in such a way as to assure that it shall not
become uncovered in any reasonably foreseeable accident.
Transport out of state shall be prohibited unless approved by
the Director of Public Health or designee and the receiving
jurisdiction.
Removal:

A body may be removed from the firm protective
container in which it was transported once it has reached the
funeral home or crematory where the body shall be prepared
for cremation or other disposition if authorized.  Such
container used exclusively for transport may be re-used
following suitable disinfection.

Services: 
No viewing of the body or public services in the

presence of the body shall be  permitted. 
Cremation is the disposal method of choice for any

designated high-risk communicable disease.  If burial is
permitted as an exception, it must be promptly
performed and the body must remain sealed as described
above throughout the burial process. 

The Director of Public Health or designee upon request
may waive any requirement of these regulations in order to
accommodate religious or traditional practices if he or she is
satisfied that the proposed practices present no substantial
additional risk to any person or the environment. 

Section   7.  Acts Tending To Promote Sperad Of Disease
Prohibited

No funeral director shall needlessly expose himself or
any other persons who may come into contact with a dead
body of communicable disease which is transmissible by
direct contact.

Any physician or hospital caring for an individual who
dies of smallpox, plague, anthrax or other diseases which the
State Board of Health may specify must notify the funeral
director on the death certificate or by other written notice of
the danger involved before the funeral director takes
possession of such a body.

Section 8 7.  Shipment Of Bodies Dead Of Non-
contagious Diseases

The body of any person dead of a non-contagious
disease shall not be removed by common carrier from the
registration district in which death occurred except under the
following conditions:

a.  When the remains have been thoroughly
embalmed and disinfected or when shipped to such a point as
can be reached within twenty-four (24) hours after death, the
dead body shall be placed in a substantially constructed
casket or coffin and the said box made of good sound lumber
not less than seven eighths (7/8) of an inch thick – a; every
outside case holding any dead body offered for
transportation by common carrier shall be an approved
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shipping case.
b.  When the bodies are not embalmed or the

destination cannot be reached within twenty-four (24) hours
after death, either the casket or outside case must be metal or
metal lined and permanently sealed.

c.  When body is removed by common carrier, the
State law requires a transit permit, which will be secured
from the local or deputy registrars Office of Vital Statistics.

Section   9 8.  Burial-transit Permit
A burial-transit permit will be issued by local or deputy

registrars the Office of Vital Statistics upon the compliance
of the funeral director with the provisions of Section 8 7 and
the presentation of the death certificate.

Section   10 9.  Disinterments
No dead body shall be removed from its place of

original interment:
1.  No dead body shall be removed from its place of

original interment Uunless a permit from the State Registrar
marked “Disinterment Permit” is secured by a licensed
funeral director in charge of the disinterment
(EXCEPTION– Title 16, 3159 3154 of the Delaware Code).
The qualified person making the application shall present to
the State Registrar the correct name, age, date of death and
cause of death of the body to be disinterred, place of
disinterment (hundred and county), together with written
consent of next of kin.  The State Registrar may require legal
proof of such kinship.

2.  All disinterment permits shall be void after the
expiration of thirty (30) days from the date of issue.

3.  Procedures:
a.  The disinterment and removal must be under the

direction of a licensed funeral director and in accordance
with the rules governing the transportation of the dead.

b.  The casket in which disinterred bodies are
contained shall not be opened at any time.

c.  The funeral director authorized to conduct a
disinterment shall be held personally responsible for the
enforcement of these requirements.

4.  Special Provision:
A separate permit shall be secured in respect to

each body to be disinterred, except that under special
conditions the Board of Health of the State of Delaware
Department may make special provisions for the mass
removal of a number of bodies from a cemetery or burial
ground.

Section   11 10.  Disposition Of Amputated Parts Of
Human Bodies

An amputated part of a human body recovered at an
operation or accident may be kept for anatomical purposes
and/or disposed of by burial in a cemetery or by cremation in
a licensed crematory.  If the hospital or institution has

facilities for incinerating, the amputated part or parts may be
incinerated in such hospital or institution upon the written
approval of the patient or next of kin.  Where a patient or his
next of kin desires such amputated part to be buried in a
cemetery or cremated in a licensed crematory, a permit shall
be secured by the funeral director from the proper local or
deputy registrar Office of Vital Statistics upon presentation
of a duly executed “Certificate of Amputation”.

The director of the hospital or institution wherein the
amputation was performed shall have completed a
“Certificate of Amputation” on a form furnished by the State
Board of Health Department for immediate delivery to the
funeral director, who shall file said “Certificate of
Amputation” within forty-eight (48) hours with the Office of
Vital Statistics.  Such “Certificate of Amputation” may be
signed by the operating surgeon or by the intern who assisted
in the case.  No regular death certificate shall be filed for
amputated parts.

Section   12 11.  Date Of Effect
These regulations shall be in full force and effect

immediately upon their approval and adoption by the State
Board of Health Department.

State Of Delaware
Department Of Health And Social Services
Division Of Public Health
Robbins Building
802 Silver Lake Boulevard And Walker Road
Dover, De  19901

M E M O R A N D U M

TO: Mike Richards
THRU:Dr. Donald R. Cowan
FROM: Paul Silverman
DATE: September 25, 1986

SUBJECT:  Paragraph 2, Section 7 of the Regulations
Governing Care and Transportation of the Dead.

On September 19, 1986, the Board of Health approved
the following rewritten version of the above paragraph:

Any physician or hospital caring for an individual who dies,
and at the time of death was infected, or suspected of being
infected with a notifiable disease as declared by the State
Board of Health or any other potentially dangerous
communicable disease, must notify the funeral directors by
written notice of the danger involved before the funeral
director or his agent takes possession of such a body.

This will be effective October 15, 1986.
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Correspondence from Dr. Olsen will inform acute and
long-term health care facilities and associations representing
funeral directors.  This note is for your information and so
you can update any relevant documents.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

ORDER

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services//
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program initiated proceedings
to amend policies related to the following sections of Title
XIX Medicaid State Plan: Attachment 4.19-B, Pages 3, 6,
6a, 6b, 10, 19 and 20.

SUMMARY OF CHANGES - REIMBURSEMENT 
METHODOLOGY

1. Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment
(EPSDT) Services:

• dental treatment and specialized dental services -
change reimbursement from fee-for-service to a
percentage of charges 

• add to the list of EPSDT services, Private Duty
Nursing in excess of eight (8) hours with prior
authorization. 

2.  Extended Services to Pregnant Women:

• change reimbursement language from the locally
specific "hourly" rate to the generic "unit" rate; unit
rates are based on fifteen (15) minute increments.

3.  Home Health Services

• simplify the reimbursement methodology language
and change reimbursement language from the
locally specific per "visit" and "hour" rates to the
generic "unit" rate; unit rates are based on fifteen
(15) minute increments.

4.  Private Duty Nursing

• change reimbursement language from the locally
specific "hourly" rate to the generic "unit" rate; unit
rates are based on fifteen (15) minute increments.

The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations
were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114
and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section
512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the April, 2002 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by April
30, 2002 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH 
AGENCY RESPONSE

The Governor's Council For Exceptional Citizens
(GACEC) and the State Council for Persons With
Disabilities (SCPD) provided similar observations and
concerns:

• Some payments were previously based on
somewhat generic "visits" while the new schedule
bases payments on more specific 15-minute units of
services.  The amendment does not appear to be
objectionable.

• SCPDs and GACECs primary concern is that
Delaware has a shortage of home health aides and
private duty nurses. The reimbursement
methodology does not appear to enhance
reimbursement rates to make such work attractive
and promote the availability of aides and nurses.
For example, the private duty nursing rate is based
on a survey of agencies providing such nursing and
capping the rate at the lowest level available of
these prevailing rates.  Thus, if five agencies have
rates of $30, $50, $60, and $65, Medicaid would
cap the rate at $30.  The $30 rate may be subsidized
by another agency (e.g. United Way, federal grant)
and not be reflective of actual cost.

Home health aides and private duty nurses play a
significant role in implementing the Olmstead decision
and preventing institutionalization for persons with
disabilities.  In this context, the Councils are concerned
that reimbursement methodologies (such as described

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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above) exacerbate the shortage by offering insufficient
reimbursement for services.

In addition, the reimbursement methodologies could
negatively impact the State's implementation of the
Medicaid Buy-In Option of the Ticket to Work and
Work Incentives Act.

      DSS Response: The health care worker shortage is multi-
faceted and will require short and long term solutions and
strategies, including, consideration of those issues outlined
in your letter and the accompanying issues brief. 

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the April, 2002 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations related to the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan are
adopted and shall be final effective June 10, 2002.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 5/14/02

REVISIONS:

TITLE XIX MEDICAID STATE PLAN
                                     

STATE PLAN ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 3

Extended Services to Pregnant Women will be reimbursed
at a negotiated hourly unit rate for individual services.

STATE PLAN ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 6

I.  GENERAL PROVISIONS
A.  Purpose

This plan establishes a reimbursement system for
Home Health services, including skilled nursing, therapies,
and home health aide services.  This system complies with
federal requirements, including the requirement that
Medicaid payments in the aggregate do not exceed what
would have been paid by Medicare based on allowable cost
principles.

B.  Reimbursement Principles  Home Health Services 
1. Providers of Home Health services shall be

reimbursed prospectively determined rates, based on costs
reported by each agency according to standard HCPCS
definitions.

2. Skilled Nursing and Therapy services shall be
reimbursed per visit.  Home Health Aide services shall be

reimbursed per hour.
3.2. Providers will be reimbursed

prospectively reimbursed the lower of their Usual and
Customary charge or the Medicaid rate.

II. RATE DETERMINATION
A.  Cost Determination

1. Prospective rates for skilled nursing, therapies,
and home health aide services will be computed from annual
provider certified cost report data.  Reimbursable costs are
those allowable costs based on Medicare principles in
accordance with HIM15, and subject to caps and ceilings
determined by Delaware Medicaid.

2. Prospective rates will not exceed the Medicare
rate limitation for the same services.  Costs applicable to
Home Health services shall not exceed the lowest cost of
comparable services purchased elsewhere.  The cost report
used in the rate calculation will represent the most recent
State audited provider fiscal year.

STATE PLAN ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 6a

B.  Rate Calculation
Skilled nursing, therapies, and home health aide

services shall be reimbursed according to the cost of care
determined prospectively up to a calculated ceiling.  The
total costs reported by each agency for each discipline will
be divided by the number of visits to determine the average
cost per visit.  The inflated average cost per visit of each
agency will be arrayed by discipline, and the ceiling set at

the 75th percentile of this array.

C.  Supply Costs
Supply costs will be reimbursed as part of the skilled

nursing and home health aide prospective rates.  The total
cost of supplies as reported by each agency is divided by the
sum of the skilled nursing visits and aide visits to determine
the average supply cost per visit.  The average supply costs
per visit for each agency is arrayed, and a ceiling set at the

75th percentile of this array.  The average supply cost of each
agency, up to the ceiling, is added to the prospective rate for
skilled nursing services.  The average supply cost of each
agency is multiplied by that agency's home health aide hours
per visit ratio to determine the average supply cost per hour,
and added to the prospective rate for home health aides.

D.  Administrative and General Costs
Delaware Medicaid will not consider in the rate

calculation administrative and general costs, which exceed
40% of the total reported costs in each discipline.  Total costs
for each discipline will be capped before the costs are

arrayed to determine the 75th percentile ceiling.  The rate
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year from July 1, 1993 to June 30, 1994 will be considered a
"hold harmless" period for the Administrative and General
cost cap only.

STATE PLAN ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 6b

III.  RATE REVIEW
A.  Rebase of Cost Data

The prospective rates will be calculated and
ceilings will be rebased every three years using the most
recent audited provider cost reports.  The rates and the
ceilings will be inflated in interim years.

B.  New Agencies
1.  "New agencies" are home health providers,

which newly enroll in Medicaid after the last rate
calculation.  They may be newly operational and unable to
document 12 months of operational costs, or be existing
agencies, which newly enroll with Medicaid.

2.  New agencies with a year or more experience
are required to submit an audited cost report at the time of
enrollment.  If the initial report representing a full year of
operational costs is submitted in an interim year, the agency
will be reimbursed their inflated reported costs, up to the
inflated ceiling.

3.  If they agency has not been operational for a full
year, they must submit a report of estimated costs.  These
agencies will be reimbursed the lower of their estimated
costs or the ceiling for each discipline for the first year until
they submit a cost report representing a full year of
operation.  An average cost per visit, or average cost per
hour for home health aide, will be calculated from the initial
cost report.

STATE PLAN ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 10

DELAWARE RATES FOR PRIVATE DUTY NURSING

Private Duty Nursing Services, whether performed by a
provider located in Delaware or a provider with an out-of-
state location are reimbursed at a capped hourly unit rate
with weekly maximum dollar limit per client, as set by the
Delaware Medicaid Program.  The hourly unit rates are
reviewed whenever a rate increase is requested by a
provider, but no more frequently than annually, by
conducting a survey of agencies that provide private duty
nursing services and capping the rate at the lowest level
available of these prevailing rates.  The weekly maximum
dollar limit is derived by multiplying the capped hourly unit
rate by the minimum number of hours units necessary to
maintain the client in the home as an alternative to
institutionalization, but not to exceed eight (8) hours daily.

STATE PLAN ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 19

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment
(EPSDT) Services are reimbursed as follows:

1. Screening services - fee-for-service.
2. Treatment services - fee-for-service.
3. Dental Treatment - flat fee per year per child to

Division of Public Health or a percentage of charges for
routine dental services provided in a private dentist's office.

4. Specialized Dental Services - fee-for-service
approved through DPH or a percentage of charges for
specialized dental services if provided directly by a private
dentist.

5. Non-State Plan Other EPSDT Services
Reimbursement for services not otherwise covered

under the State Plan is determined by the Medicaid agency
through review of a rate setting committee.  Non-
institutional services are paid on a fee-for-service basis.
Institutional services are per diem rates based on reasonable
costs.  These services include:

a.)  Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care - see ATT.
4.19-B, Page 7

b. Inpatient and Partial Hospital Psychiatric
Services - reimbursed on a per diem basis

c. Outpatient Psychiatric Facility Services - fee-
for-service

d. School-based Health Services - fee-for-service
e. Mental Health and Drug/Alcohol

Rehabilitation Services:
Institutional - per diem
Non-Institutional - fee-for-service or, if

managed by the Department of Services for Children, Youth
and Their Families’ Division of Child Mental Health,
bundled rates (see ATTACHMENT 4.19-B, Page 19
Addendum)

STATE PLAN ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 20

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment
(EPSDT) Service-
5. Non-State Plan Other EPSDT Services-(cont)

f. Assistive Technology - fee-for-service
g. Orthotics and Prosthetics - fee-for-service
h. Private Duty Nursing in excess of 8 hours per day

with prior approval - fee-for-service
i.    Any other medical or remedial care provided by

licensed medical providers - fee-for-service
j. Any other services as required by §6403 of OBRA

'89 as it amended §1902(a)(43), 1905(a)(4)(b) and added a
new §1905(r) to the Act will be reimbursed as determined be
the rate setting committee.



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2308

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

ORDER

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services /
[Medicaid/Medical] [Cash] Assistance Program initiated
proceedings to implement new policy in the Division of
Social Services Manual (DSSM):  DSSM 6011 - 6111.  The
proposed new policy establishes the Relative Caregivers'
(Non-Parent) Transitional Resource Program.  The
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the April, 2002 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by April
30, 2002 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF INFORMATION SUBMITTED/
with AGENCY RESPONSE

The Governor's Council For Exceptional Citizens
(GACEC) and the State Council for Persons With
Disabilities (SCPD) provided similar comments:

• Section 6109 would benefit from an amendment,
i.e., inserting "recreational" before "electronic
equipment.  Otherwise, a caregiver could be
precluded from purchasing a calculator for school.
There would be a conflict between Section 6108(4)
[authorizing purchase of school supplies] and
Section 6109 [disallowing purchase of electronic
equipment].  There may also be some assistive
technology or equipment that could safety related
within the purview of Section 6108(5). For
example, a caregiver should be authorized to
purchase a strobe-light smoke detector for a Deaf
child.

DSS Response: Section 6108(4) is amended to include
calculators.

• Section 6108(5) would benefit from an amendment.
It is somewhat redundant to refer to "items" twice.
Moreover, it would be preferable to address child
"health" as well as "safety".  Finally, the reference
to "home" is narrow and could preclude purchase of

a car seat.  The following substitute could be con-
sidered:  "5.  Items which directly foster child
health or safety such as car seat or infant monitor."

DSS Response: It is agreed and Section 6108(5) is
amended as recommended.

• Section 6101 is narrower than Section 6108.  SCPD
recommends inserting "health, safety" after the
word "shelter".

DSS Response: It is agreed and Section 6101 is
amended as recommended.

• It is unclear if there could be more than one relative
caregiver.  For example, if a couple is caring for a
qualifying child, could they both qualify as caregiv-
ers?  Alternatively, if the same couple cares for two
qualifying children, could one adult apply for one
child and the other adult apply for the second child?
Since the benefit cap is per child (Section 6107),
there may be no monetary incentive to split the chil-
dren.  However, it would be helpful for administra-
tive purposes to clarify whether a couple could file
an application and qualify as "joint caretakers".

DSS Response: Policy is amended to add "(s)" to
caregiver, where applicable.

• Section 6110 identifies discrete DHSS programs for
which caregiver assistance does not count as
income.  GACEC:  We would recommend the
inclusion of the DSAAPD CARE Delaware care-
giver support program on this list of agencies and
programs.  SCPD:  DSS may wish to include lan-
guage similar to the following to clarify this issue:
"DHSS is encouraged, when it has discretion, not to
count benefits under the Relative Caregivers' (Non-
Parent) Transitional Resource Program when deter-
mining eligibility for other programs."

DSS Response: Policy is amended to include similar
clarifying language as recommended by SCPD.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the April, 2002 Register of Regulations should be
adopted, as herein revised.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation of the Cash Assistance Program regarding the
Relative Caregivers' (Non-Parent) Transitional Resource
Program is adopted, as herein revised, and shall be final

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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effective June 10, 2002.
Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 5/14/02

6100 Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional
Resource Program.

6101 Purpose
The Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional

Resource Program is established to assist non-parent
caregivers during the transition period when a child initially
moves into the non-parent caregiver’s home.  The
child(ren)'s parent cannot reside with the caregiver. This
program assists caregivers in meeting the child’s immediate
need for clothing, shelter, [health, safety] and educational
supplies.

6102 Funding Limitations
Funding for the Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent)

Transitional Resource Program is limited to funds
appropriated by the General Assembly.  Though caregivers
may meet the eligibility requirements and have a need for the
service, this does not guarantee that DHSS will provide the
service.  DHSS reserves the right to limit, where appropriate,
services based on available resources and funding.

6103 Eligibility 
Applicants must meet the following eight criteria to

receive assistance from the Relative Caregivers’ (Non-
Parent) Transitional Resource Program:

1. Relationship-The child is living with a relative
within the 5th degree of relationship (DSSM 3004).

2. Age-The child is less than 18 years of age.
3. Residence-Applicants must reside in Delaware to

be eligible for benefits. Persons including the homeless
(those with no fixed address or not living in a permanent
dwelling) who currently live in Delaware and plan to stay,
regardless of the length of time they have been here, meet
the residency requirement.

4. Time Limitation-The child has been living in
caregiver['s (s)'] home less than or equal to 90 days. 

5. Income-
a. The income cannot exceed 200% of the Federal

Poverty Level based on the household size.  The household
size used in the income determination is the child and the
child’s siblings or half siblings who [recently] moved
[within 90 days] into the caregiver['s (s)'] home.  Children
who are not a sibling or half sibling will be considered a
separate household.

b. he income of the caregiver[(s)] is always
excluded.  The income of siblings or half siblings of the
child living with the caregiver[(s)] for more than 90 days
will not be considered.

6. Resources-Eligibility will be determined without
regard to the child or caregiver['s (s)']  resources.

7. Citizenship-The child is a citizen or lawfully
admitted alien.

8. Need-The child’s need is for one or more of the
covered services.

6104 Verification requirements
1. The following items will be verified:

a. The identity of the caregiver[(s)'] making
application for the Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent)
Transitional Resource Program.

b. Alien status
c. The child’s income.
d. Caregivers have the option of presenting

estimates from a vendor for the needed services or receipts
itemizing the expenditures for the needed service.  See 6106
listing conditions for caregiver reimbursements.

2. The following items will be accepted by
declaration, the caregiver[(s)] is not required to provide
verification:

a. The date of birth of the child(ren).
b. The relationship of family members.
c. Delaware residency.
d. Time limitation.
e. Citizenship.

6105 Vendor Payments
When the caregiver[(s)] elect[s] to verify the cost of

needs services by presenting estimates, payments are made
by check payable to the vendor of the needed items/services. 

6106 Reimbursements to Caregivers
Reimbursement will be made to the caregiver[(s)] when

the following three conditions are met:
a. The purchase(s) are made after the application

for the Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional
Resource Program.

b. The purchases received prior approved by
DHSS staff. 

c. The caregiver[(s)] presents verification of the
purchase(s).

6107 Benefit Limitations 
The maximum benefit is $500 per child per transition

period per year.  The year starts with the date benefits were
provided by Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional
Resource Program.

6108 Items/Service Covered
The Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional

Resource Program payment is made to meet the needs
arising from the child’s moving into the caregiver['s (s)']
residence.  Payments may be used for items and/or services
such as but not limited to:

1. Clothing for the child.
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2. Furniture such as beds, chairs, dressers.
3. Bed linens, blankets, towels.
4. School supplies such as notebooks, pencils,

[calculators,] etc.  
5. Items [which directly foster child health or

safety,] such as [items required to make the home 'child
safe' a car seat or infant monitor].

6. Supplies

6109 Items/Service Not Covered
Payments will not be made for electronic equipment

such as personal computers, televisions, or stereos.

6110 Relationship to Other Programs
1. Emergency Assistance and other programs

administered by DHSS
The Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional

Resource Program exists in addition to the Emergency
Assistance Program and other programs administered by
DHSS.  Payments made from the Relative Caregivers’ (Non-
Parent) Transitional Resource Program will not limit
Emergency Assistance Program payments or payments made
by other programs administered by DHSS.  Payment made
by the Emergency Assistance Program or payments made by
other programs administered by DHSS will not limit
Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional Resource
Program payments.

2. Child Care Programs
Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional

Resource Program payments do not count as income in the
child care programs.

3. Food Stamp Program
Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional

Resource Program payments do not count as income in the
Food Stamp Program.

[4.  Cash Assistance Program
Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional

Resource Program payments do not count as income in
the cash assistance programs (DABC, GA).

When determining eligibility for other programs, DSS
has discretion not to count benefits under the Relative
Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional Resource
Program.]

6111 Client Notices and Fair Hearing Practice and
Procedures

See Division of Social Services Manual Section 5000.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
FOOD STAMP PROGRAM

ORDER

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services / Food
Stamp Program initiated proceedings to amend policies to
implement policy changes to the following sections of the
Division of Social Services Manual: Sections 9079.1 and
9079.7. 

SUMMARY OF CHANGES

DSSM 9079.1 - Providing Replacement Issuances

• Benefits sent by registered or certified mail are not
replaced when anyone in the household, anyone liv-
ing with the household, or anyone visiting the
household signed for the original benefit.

DSSM 9079.7 - Delivery of Coupons

• Households who are given a replacement benefit
because they did not get the original benefit in the
mail will have to go to an issuance site to pick up
the replacement and all future benefits.

The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations
were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114
and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section
512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the February, 2002 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by March 31, 2002 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

The Final Order shows grammatical clarifications
reflecting comments received from Roger Waters, State Fair
Hearing Officer.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the March, 2002 Register of Regulations, as
amended, should be adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the revised
regulations related to the Food Stamp Program are adopted
and shall be final effective June 10, 2002.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 5/14/02

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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REVISION 

9079.1  [Providing Replacement Issuances Replacing
Coupons]

[Subject to the restrictions in DSSM 9079.2 , DSS
must We will] replace an issuance to a household when the
household reports that:

• Its coupons were not received in the mail or were
stolen from the mail,  were destroyed in a house-
hold misfortune, or were improperly manufactured
or mutilated; or

• Food purchased with food stamps was destroyed in
a household misfortune.

• Do not provide replacement issuances to house-
holds when:

[We will not provide a replacement issuance to a
household when:]

• [The C c]oupons are lost, stolen, or misplaced after
receipt;

• [The C c]oupons are totally destroyed after receipt
in other than a disaster or misfortune; or

• Coupons sent by registered or certified mail are
signed for by anyone residing with or visiting the
household; or

• The household or its authorized representative has
not signed the Affidavit Form 324.  Whenever an
affidavit is signed by an authorized representative,
use this format:
____________________" for "_______________"
(authorized representative) (household head)

Where FNS has issued a disaster declaration and the
household is eligible for disaster food stamp benefits, the
household cannot receive both the disaster allotment and a
replacement allotment for a misfortune.

In order for a replacement to be considered non-
countable, the replacement must not result in a loss to the
Program.

9079.7  Hand Delivery of Coupons
After the first report of non-receipt of a mailed benefit,

or when circumstances exist that indicate that the household
may not receive its coupons through the mail, benefits must
be sent to the over-the-counter issuance sites. offer to
arrange for the household to pick up its coupons at a
specified issuance site.  After two (2) requests for
replacement of original or replacement coupons reported as
non-delivered in a six-month period, require the household
to pick up its future benefits at a specified issuance site.  The
two (2) requests may be for either an original or replacement
benefit.

Require the household to pick up its coupons for the

length of time considered to be necessary.  Return the
household to mail delivery when circumstances leading to
the loss have changed and the risk of loss has lessened.  The
requirement for a household to pick up its coupons and the
length of time for which we require the household to pick up
its benefits are not [subject adverse actions under §5304
and there is no jurisdiction for a to the] fair hearing
[process over these requirements].

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
FOOD STAMP PROGRAM

ORDER

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services / Food
Stamp Program initiated proceedings to amend policies to
implement policy changes to the following section of the
Division of Social Services Manual:  Section 9085. This
change is based on the option and waiver of 7 CFR
273.12(a)(1)(i) through (vi).  

SUMMARY OF CHANGE

• The option allows DSS to require households with
earned income to only report a change of income
when the total monthly gross income exceeds 130%
of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) during a six-
month certification period.

• The waiver allows DSS to make changes on all
reported changes, not just those that increase the
benefits.

• The six-month reporting option is strongly being
encouraged by Food and Nutrition Service (FNS).
The waiver approval will allow DSS to take the
option.

The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations
were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114
and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section
512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the January, 2002 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by January 31, 2002 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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this proposed rule.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the January, 2002 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations related to the Food Stamp Program Six-Month
Reporting Option and Waiver are adopted and shall be final
effective June 10, 2002

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 5/14/02

REVISION: 

DSSM 9085  Reporting Changes
Certified households are required to report the following

changes in circumstances:
Reporting requirements for households with

countable earned income and six-month certification
periods:

Households are required to only report income changes
when the monthly income exceeds 130 percent of the
poverty income guideline for the household size that
existed at the time of certification or recertification.  

When a household’s monthly income exceeds the 130
percent of the poverty income guideline, the household is
required to report that change within ten days after the end
of the month that the household determines the income is
over the 130 percent amount.  

Households will not have to report any changes in
household composition, residence and resulting changes in
shelter costs, acquisition of non-excluded licensed vehicles,
when liquid resources exceed $2,000, and changes in the
legal child support obligation. 

Additional reporting requirement for ABAWD
individuals:

Adults living in a home without any minor children,
who are getting food stamps because they are working over
20 hours a week, must report when they start working less
than 20 hours per week.

Reporting requirements for households without countable
earned income:

• Changes in the sources of or in the amount of gross
unearned income of more than $25, except changes
in the public assistance grants. Since DSS has prior
knowledge of all changes in the public assistance
grants, action shall be taken on the DSS informa-
tion.  Changes reported in person or by telephone

are to be acted upon in the same manner as those
reported on the change report form.

Changes in the amount of gross earned income will be
reported as follows:

a) New source of employment, or
b) Changes in the hourly rate or salary of current

employment, or
c) Changes in employment status from part-time

to full-time or full-time to part-time.
• All changes in household composition, such as the

addition or loss of a household member;
• Changes in residence and the resulting changes in

shelter costs;
• The acquisition of a licensed vehicle not fully

excludable under DSSM 9051 ;
• When cash on hand, stocks, bonds, and money in a

bank account or savings institution reach or exceed
a total of $2,000;

• Changes in the legal obligation to pay child sup-
port; and

• Changes in work hours that bring an ABAWD indi-
vidual below 20 hours per week, averaged monthly.

Certified households must report changes within ten
(10) days of the date the change becomes known to the
household.

An applying household must report all changes related
to its food stamp eligibility and benefits at the certification
interview.  Changes, as provided in this Section, which occur
after the interview but before the date of the notice of
eligibility, must be reported by the household within ten (10)
days of the date of the notice.

Only the reporting requirements in this Section and no
other reporting requirements can be imposed by the
Division.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

MEDICAID/MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

ORDER

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services /
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program initiated proceedings
to amend policies to implement a policy change to Section
15400.6.1 of the Division of Social Services Manual. This
change clarifies the Medicaid eligibility termination date for

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html


FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 12, SATURDAY, JUNE 1, 2002

2313

Foster Children who move out-of-state.  The Department’s
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant
to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the April, 2002 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by April
30, 2002 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH 
AGENCY RESPONSE

Comments were received from the following
organizations: Adoption Center of Delaware Valley
(ACDV), Adoptive Families with Information and Support
(AFIS) and, North American Council on Adoptable
Children's (NACAC) Adoption Subsidy Resource Center. 

• The Adoption Center expresses the following con-
cern for the proposed regulation: If a family accept-
ing placement of a Delaware child cannot be
assured of continuous medical coverage for the
child, the child's placement could be jeopardized.
There should be no gaps in medical coverage for
title IV-E eligible children.

• AFIS strongly opposes the proposed revisions.  The
Board of Directors write that families with Title IV-
E eligible children moving out of state will be
required to seek out a new team of professionals to
work with their children who have special needs.
This will be difficult without proof of Medicaid
coverage from either Delaware or the new state of
residence.

Currently, Delaware is protecting these children with
special needs by verifying that their Medicaid coverage is
uninterrupted as they move out of state.  Transitions (such as
moving) are particularly traumatic for foster and adopted
children because in the past they have so often experienced
them without the support of a loving family; their behavior
may regress as they struggle to regain their equilibrium in a
new situation.  Gaps in care prolong this struggle at a critical
time when children most need a feeling of security and
impede the child's development long term.

The federal government has recognized the importance
of undisrupted Title IV-B and IV-E benefits in the Social
Security Act (revised 06/2001).  "Definitions" SEC.475 [42
U.S.C. 675] section 3 part B states, "The [adoption
assistance] agreement shall contain provisions for the
protection of the interests of the child in cases where the

adoptive parents and child move to another State while the
agreement is effective."

• NACAC's Project Manager, Adoption Subsidy
Resource Center writes that while not completely
sure, the change may be in violation with the Inter-
state Compact on Adoption and Medical Assis-
tance.  If a child is IV-E eligible and moves to
another state, children must be guaranteed Medic-
aid.  Removing the requirement for Delaware to
verify whether the receiving state offers Medicaid
to former Delaware children may put some children
at risk of losing coverage by not being picked up by
the receiving state.

The federal statute at 473 of the Social Security Act
calls for adoption assistance agreements to protect the
interests of the child in cases where the adoptive parents and
child move to another state while the agreement is in effect.
It seems that Delaware's proposed change does not fully
protect the interest of special needs children.  The original
language of "Delaware Medicaid coverage should not be
terminated without verification the state of residence will be
starting coverage" seems to be a vital statement that should
not be eliminated. 

DSS Response: DSS agrees that these children should
receive uninterrupted coverage as they move out of state.
The federal regulation at 42 CFR 435.115(e)(1) mandates
this coverage.  In addition, the federal regulation at 42 CFR
435.403(g) states, "For individuals of any age who are
receiving Federal payments for foster care and adoption
assistance under title IV-E of the Social Security Act, the
State of residence is the State where the child lives."

Once the child moves to another state, he or she is not
longer a Delaware resident and eligibility must be
terminated.  DSS cannot wait for verification from the new
state of residence that the Medicaid case there has been
opened because the child is no longer a Delaware resident.
The new state of residence is mandated to provide Medicaid
coverage effective with the date of residency in that state.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the April, 2002 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program
regarding Foster Children is adopted and shall be final
effective June 10, 2002.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 5/14/02
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REVISION:

15400.6.1  Out-of-State Residence
The DSCYF worker will send all documentation to the

state of residence to indicate the child is IV-E eligible, his/
her vital statistics, location, and a request the child be
covered under the Interstate Compact on the Placement of
Children (ICPC).  The DSCYF worker will notify the state
of residence of the date Delaware Medicaid will terminate.

Once the state of residence has notified Delaware of the
date they will start Medicaid coverage for the foster child, a
copy of this verification will be sent to the Delaware
Medicaid office so Delaware Medicaid coverage can be
terminated.

Delaware Medicaid coverage should not be terminated
without verification the state of residence will be starting
coverage.

The Delaware Medicaid social worker will follow up
regarding the Medicaid termination date if not notified by
the DSCYF worker within 15 days of the proposed
termination date.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Waste Management Section
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,

Chapters 60 and 63 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60 and 63)

Secretary’s Order No.: 2002-A-0030

Reg. Amendments to List New Hazardous Wastes
Date of Issuance:  April 25, 2002

Effective Date of the Amendment:  July 1, 2002

I.   Background
DNREC proposed adding three new wastes generated

from inorganic chemical manufacturing processes.  These
wastes are coded as K176, K177 and K178.  A hearing was
held on March 12, 2002 to receive comment.  Proper notice
of the hearing was provided as required by law.  Thereafter,
the Hearing Officer prepared his report and recommendation
in the form of a memorandum to the Secretary dated April
25, 2002, and that memorandum is expressly incorporated
herein by reference.

II.   Findings and Conclusions
All of the findings and conclusions contained in the

Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated April 25, 2002, are
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.   Order
In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed

new listings be promulgated and implemented in the manner
and form provided for by law, as recommended in the
Hearing Officer’s memorandum.

IV.   Reasons
Listing these new wastes will be beneficial to the

Department, in that it will enable the State of Delaware to
further manage these materials and protect the environment,
while also enabling this agency to maintain full authorization
of its Hazardous Waste Program.  Additionally, these new
listings will help to improve and/or enhance the overall
performance of the State of Delaware’s hazardous waste
management program, in furtherance of the policies and
purposes of 7 Del. C. Ch. 63. 

Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Secretary

Amendments To Delaware Regulations Governing 
Hazardous Waste

Synopsis

This synopsis presents a brief description of the
amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous
Waste (DRGHW) and a list of those sections generally
affected by the amendments.  This summary is provided
solely for the convenience of the reader.

This change incorporates three new hazardous waste
streams promulgated by EPA into Delaware’s hazardous
waste management program.  The State is required to
maintain equivalency with the Federal hazardous waste
program in order to maintain its RCRA program delegation.

A summary of the proposed regulatory amendment is
listed below and references EPA’s promulgating Federal
Register notice.  For additional information, please contact
the Solid and Hazardous Waste Management Branch at (302)
739-3689. 

1.  Hazardous Waste Management System; Identification
and Listing of Hazardous Waste: Inorganic Chemical
Manufacturing Wastes; Land Disposal Restrictions for
Newly Identified Wastes; and CERCLA Hazardous
Substance Designation and Reportable Quantities

Federal Register Reference:  65 FR 58258-58300
Federal Promulgation Date:  November 20, 2001

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
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Federal Effective Date:  May 20, 2002
SUMMARY:  On November 20, 2001 the

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) promulgated a
listing as hazardous three wastes generated from inorganic
chemical manufacturing processes to be identified with the
waste codes K176, K177, and K178.  EPA promulgated
these regulations under the Resource Conservation and
Recovery Act (RCRA), which directed EPA to determine
whether certain wastes generated by inorganic chemical
manufacturing industries presented a substantial hazard to
human health or the environment.  The effects of listing
these three wastes as hazardous are to subject them to:
comprehensive management and treatment standards under
Subtitle C of RCRA; and emergency notification
requirements for releases to the environment under the
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation,
and Liability Act (CERCLA).  The final rule also added the
toxic constituents found in the wastes being listed as
hazardous to the list of constituents that serves as the basis
for classifying wastes as hazardous and establishing
treatment standards for the wastes. 

Finally, EPA applied universal treatment standards
(UTS) under the Land Disposal Restrictions program to the
inorganic chemical manufacturing wastes listed in that
rulemaking.  The listed wastes must be treated to meet these
treatment standards for specific constituents prior to land
disposal.

Sections amended by these changes: DRGHW
§§261.4(b)(15), 261.32, Appendix VII to Part 261; adds new
§268.36, and amends §268.40/Table.
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER THIRTY-ONE

RE: CREATION OF DELAWARE ENERGY TASK
FORCE

WHEREAS, reliable and affordable energy is of great
importance to all sectors of Delaware's economy; and

WHEREAS, long-term sustainability of energy supply
and efficient and effective distribution of energy is becoming
increasingly important as the State continues to grow; and

WHEREAS, the State faces challenges in meeting the
electricity and heating needs of a rapidly growing
population, particularly south of the Chesapeake &
Delaware Canal; and

WHEREAS, the existing transmission and distribution
systems for electricity and natural gas need to be sufficient to
meet long-term needs; and

WHEREAS, environmental constraints impact the
State's ability to site new fossil fuel power plants and sole
reliance on petroleum-based transportation fuels further
impairs Delaware's air quality; and

WHEREAS, these constraints also present opportunities
to diversify the State's energy supply and provide new
opportunities for agriculturally based products and
Delaware-based clean energy technologies;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State
of Delaware do hereby declare and order as follows, this
ZG1,~-CIay of April 2002:

1.   The Delaware Energy Task Force is hereby created
for the purpose of developing the Delaware Energy Plan to
recommend to the Governor courses of action to address the
State's long-term and short-term energy challenges.

2. The Task Force shall consist of seventeen members,
who shall be selected as follows:

a. A Chair of the Task Force, to be selected by the
Governor;

b. One representative of the Delaware State
Senate, to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore;

c. One representative of the Delaware House of
Representatives, to be appointed by the Speaker of the
House;

d. A representative of the Governor's Office, to be

appointed by the Governor;
e. The Chair of the Public Service Commission;
f. A representative from an electricity generation

company, to be appointed by the Governor;
g. A representative from an electricity

distribution company, to be appointed by the Governor;
h. A representative from an electricity

transmission company, to be appointed by the Governor;
i. A representative from a natural gas and/or

propane distribution company, to be appointed by the
Governor;

j. A representative from a company involved in
renewable and/or alternative energy generation or
development, to be appointed by the Governor;

k. A representative from the transportation fuels
industry, to be appointed by the Governor;

l. A representative from agriculture, representing
the bio-fuels industry, to be appointed by the Governor;

m. A representative from an environmental
organization, to be appointed by the Governor; and

n. Representatives from each of the following
government agencies, who shall be appointed by the
Governor: Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control, Department of Agriculture,
Delaware Economic Development Office, and the
Department of Administrative Services.

Members of the Task Force shall serve at the pleasure of
the persons appointing them.

3. The Chair of the Task Force shall form working
groups that shall include members from the Task Force as
well as members of the public with interest and/or expertise
in the objectives of the Task Force. Each working group
shall be chaired by a member of the Task Force.

4. The Task Force shall provide the Delaware Energy
Plan to the Governor no later than July 31, 2003.

5. The Delaware Energy Plan shall address the
following goals and objectives:

a. The expansion of the diversity of fuels used to
meet Delaware's current and future energy needs, through:

i. Encouraging the development of clean,
base load electric supply on theDelmarva Peninsula;

ii. Encouraging a diverse fuel mix among
electricity supply generation to avoid reliability impacts due
to shortages;

iii. Promoting production and use of
bioenergy and clean alternative energy;

iv. Broadening the existing diversity and
decreasing the environmental impact of fuels that meet
Delaware's transportation needs; and

v. Expanding electric generation
infrastructure utilizing clean distributed energy resources
(e.g., natural gas, photovoltaics, fuel cells, micro turbines,
combined heat and power and wind energy).

b. The development of conservation programs to

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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reduce the need to build more electricity generation
facilities, through:

i. Identification and promotion of business
and residential energy use reduction opportunities;

ii. Increasing the usage of energy efficient
products and clean energy sources through the State
procurement process; and

iii. Incorporating energy efficiency and
conservation into the design and operation of State
buildings.

c. Ensuring that energy infrastructure will meet
Delaware's future needs for efficiently transporting energy
resources, through:

i. Increasing transmission capacity in
existing rights-of-way;

ii. Developing new transmission lines to
provide natural gas to western and eastern Sussex County;
and

iii. Upgrading transmission lines below the
Chesapeake & Delaware Canal to increase the capacity to
transport additional electricity supply from other parts of the
PJM transmission grid and eliminate congestion on the
Delmarva Peninsula.

d. Encouraging producers of clean energy
technologies and producers of energy efficient products to
locate their business operations in Delaware, through:

i. Expansion of the market for renewable
energy technologies in Delaware; and

ii. Increasing the number of producers/
developers of clean energy technologies located in
Delaware.

6. The Delaware Energy Plan shall include for each
goal:

a. An identification of actions already in process;
b. A prioritized list of recommended non-

legislative action items, including estimated costs;
c. Recommended legislative proposals, if

necessary, including estimated costs; and
d. An identification of areas on which further

evaluation or research is recommended.

Ruth Ann Minner
Governor

Attest:
Harriet Smith Windsor
Secretary of State
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE  OFFICE

Board of Architects Ms. Susan J. Frederck 04/22/05

Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health Ms. Jean B. Gunnells 04/22/05
Ms. Joan T. McDonough 04/22/05
Ms. Carmetah L. Murray 04/22/05
Mr. James D. Wilson, Jr. 04/22/05

Board of Veterinary Medicine John T. Gooss, V.M.D. 04/22/05

Child Death Review Commission Col. John L. Cunningham, Jr. 04/22/05

Examining Board of Physical Therapists Mr. Gary T. Nowell 04/22/05

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF PILOT COMMISSIONERS

The Board of Pilot Commissioners will hold a public
hearing on the following draft regulations at its regularly
scheduled meeting on June 25, 2002 at 9:30 a.m. on the
Conference Room, 2d Floor, Cannon Building, 861 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. In addition, written
comments will be accepted up to the date of the hearing, if
received by the Board by that date and time.

The Board recognizes that new, larger ships are using
the Bay & River Delaware, and that their maneuvering and
other characteristics require additional experience for pilots
seeking a first class pilot license. The Board believes it
would be in the public interest to have its licensed pilots be
capable of service as offshore advisors for such vessels.

The Board recognizes that on occasion, pilot availability
could affect the intent of 23 Del.C. Section 113 that a pilot
serve for at least a year in each pilot class before being
eligible for an upgrade in pilot class to the next level. The
Board believes it would be in the public interest to define
how the one-year service requirement shall operate if there
are problems with pilot availability.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Chapter 27,  Section 2706(a)(1),
the Delaware Board of Professional Land Surveyors
proposes to revise its Rules and Regulations.  The proposed
Rules and Regulations are being updated to take into account
the recent amendments to the the law change in 2001, as well
as address certain other issues.

A Public Hearing will be held on the proposed Rules
and Regulations on Thursday, June 20, 2002 at 10:00 a.m. in
Conference Room A, second floor, Cannon Building, 861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904.  The Board
will receive and consider input in writing from any person on
the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written comments
should be submitted to the Board in care of Gayle Melvin at
the above address.  The final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled Public Hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations or make comments at the Public Hearing should
notify Gayle Melvin at the above address or by calling (302)
744-4518.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly
meeting on Thursday, May 16, 2002 at 9:00 a.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) /
Division of Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance
Program is proposing to amend Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan to cover non-emergency transportation as an
administrative expense, as permitted by federal regulations,
except for emergency ambulance coverage, which will
remain unchanged.

Title of Proposed Regulation:

Transportation as an Administrative Expense

Basis:

42 CFR 431.53 states that the Medicaid State Plan must
ensure necessary transportation for clients to and from
providers of medical services.  The State Plan must also
describe the state's methods that meet this requirement.

42 CFR 440.170(a) states that if other arrangements are
made to assure transportation, under Section 431.53, then
federal financial participation (FFP) is available as an
administrative cost.

Purpose:

This regulatory change will permit the Division of
Social Services (DSS) to contract with a qualified
transportation broker to authorize, arrange and reimburse
necessary transportation statewide. This regulatory action is
essential to protect the safety and welfare of clients because
it will ensure that clients are able to reach their doctors' and
other health care providers' offices for appointments in the
most expedient manner possible.

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/riverpilots/index.shtml
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/landsurveyors/index.shtml
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These services are for eligible clients to receive
transportation services to and from medical services under
the Medicaid Program and the Chronic Renal Disease
Program.  The Division of Social Services (DSS)
administers the Chronic Renal Disease Program (CRDP).
This program assists residents of Delaware, diagnosed with
End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD), who are either on dialysis
or have received a kidney transplant.  Services include, but
are not limited to reimbursement of transportation to and
from a dialysis unit or transplant hospital.  This program is
100% State-funded.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by June 30, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware’s A Better Chance Welfare Reform Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) /
Division of Social Services / Delaware's A Better Chance
Welfare Reform Program is proposing to implement policy
changes to the following sections of the Division of Social
Services Manual: 3008 and 3012.  DSS is initiating
proceedings to amend policies regarding children over 16
years of age, including teen parents who are dependent
children.  These changes are necessitated by the loss of the
Division's contract for teen programs.  The "Stay In School"
contract ends June 30, 2002 and the proposed changes
indicate what teen parents are expected to do now that
service is no longer available.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by June 30, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results

of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Food Stamp
Program is proposing to implement policy changes to the
following sections of the Division of Social Services Manual
related to resources:  9046, 9048, 9049, and 9051.  These
changes are based on the Federal Final Rules of Food Stamp
Program:  Noncitizen Eligibility and Certification Provisions
of Public Law 104-193, as Amended by Public Laws 104-
208, 105-33, 105-185.  

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by June 30, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

SAN # 1999-01

TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
Regulation No. 24, Section 10, “Aerospace Coatings”

BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

Delaware is not in compliance with the EPA ground-
level ozone standard, and must make reductions in volatile

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
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organic compound (VOC) emissions, which are a factor in
the formation of ground-level ozone.  The Department is
proposing to revise Regulation No. 24, Section 10, to
achieve VOC emission reductions at Aerospace
Manufacturing and Rework facilities within the State. The
Department is proposing to add an exemption from the
current topcoat limit of 3.5 lb/gal, which will allow a
maximum of 200 gallons of coating per year to be applied
with a VOC limit of 6.0 lb/gal. The amended regulation also
establishes the following: (1) new VOC limits for specialty
coatings; (2) requirements for using high transfer efficiency
coating application equipment; and (3) minimum standards
in the proper use and handling of equipment and materials.
These amendments are based on EPA's Control Technique
Guideline (CTG) document "Control of Volatile Organic
Compound Emissions from Coating Operations at
Aerospace Manufacturing and Rework Operations."

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The public comment period for this proposed regulation

will extend through July 1, 2002.  Interested parties may
submit comments in writing during this period to:  Deanna
Morozowich, Air Quality Management Section, 156 South
State Street, Dover, DE 19901, and/or statements and
testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at the
public hearing to be held Tuesday, June 25, 2002 beginning
at 6pm in the Priscilla Building Conference Room, 156 S.
State Street,  Dover,  Delaware.

PREPARED BY:
Deanna Morozowich, (302)739-4791, April 30, 2002

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION
SAN # 2000-12

TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
“Reporting of a Discharge of a Pollutant or an Air

Contaminant”

BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

The Department is proposing to amend the Reporting of
a Discharge of a Pollutant or an Air Contaminant regulation
to replace the current regulation that describe the
requirements for reporting the environmental release or
discharge of a pollutant or air contaminant with new
requirements.  Senate Bill 33 modified the definition of an
environmental release to mean substances and their
reportable quantities under the Comprehensive
Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act

of 1980 or regulations enacted under Title 7 §6028.  The
amendment to the regulation include wording changes
required by Senate Bill 33, updates and changes to the
Delaware list of substances and their reportable quantities,
and the inclusion of a mandatory follow-up written report. 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The original public hearing date of May 30 has been

rescheduled for June 27.  The public comment period for this
proposed amendment will extend through June 28, 2002.
Interested parties may submit comments in writing during
this time frame to: Jay Brabson, Air Quality Management
Section, 715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720, and/or
statements and testimony may be presented either orally or
in writing at the public hearing to be held on Thursday, June
27, 2002 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC auditorium at
the Richardson and Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE. 

PREPARED BY:
Jay Brabson   (302) 323-4542, May 8, 2002

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Public
Safety, Division of State Police, in accordance with 21
Del.C. Section 6901(c) proposes to adopt Regulations.
These Regulations will regulate nonconsensual towing of
abandoned or disabled vehicles, or vehicles from the scene
of an accident or arrest. These regulations do not apply if a
vehicle owner or driver requests a specific towing service,
unless, in the opinion of the Division of the State Police
there may an unreasonable time delay or traffic safety
hazard.  A public hearing will be held on Tuesday, June 25,
2002 at 10:00 a.m., in the second floor main conference
room (rm. 205) of the Public Safety Building, 303
Transportation Circle, Dover, DE. The Department of Public
Safety will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed towing regulations. Any written
comments should be submitted to the Department of Public
Safety, in care of William G. Bush, IV, at P.O Box  818,
Dover, DE 19903-0818 on or before June 25, 2002.  Anyone
wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Regulations may do
so by sending a written request to the Department of Public
Safety, P.O. Box 818, Dover, DE 19903-0818. This notice
will be published in two newspapers of general circulation
not less than twenty (20) days prior to the date of the
hearing.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dsp/index.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION

TRAVELINK TRAFFIC MITIGATION ACT

The State of Delaware Code provides a tax credit via the
Travelink Traffic Mitigation Act (67 DE Law, c 160, S 1.)to
employers who develop andimplement traffic mitigation
plans submitted to and monitored by the Dept.of
Transportation (DelDOT) to reduce commuter trip traffic
congestion during peak travel periods and non-peak travel
periods for Welfare to Work by supporting the use of
alternate modes of employees commuting from theirhomes
or within the proximity of their homes to their places of
employment.  Additionally, the DE Code requires all State
Agencies to develop Traffic Migitation Plans to also be
submitted to the Dept. of Transportation, DelDOT.  The
State Department of Transportation, DelDOT, is the
responsible agency to develop rules and reviews all private
employer and state agency traffic mitigation plans.
DelDOT's rules include a list of required, recommended and
additional transportation demand management strategies
employers or state agencies may implement in their traffic
mitigation plan.  DelDOT's rules requires agencies to
implement the required strategies (i.e., new employee
orientation information on alternate and commute options;
transportation fair held annually by the TMA of Delaware;
posting and distribution of marketing materials from DART
and TMA; preferential parking via signage and self-
enforcing for vanpoolers and/or carpoolers); contact and
meet with the RideShare Coordinator of the TMA to create a
Commuter Corner on-site with marketing materials; and
lastly, assign a Rideshare Coordinator or contact person
within their agency to help administer the program and day
to day operations of the program)within 6 months of plan
approval; and provide a semi-annual program progress
report for the first two years, annually thereafter.  Private
Employers and State Agencies may contact the
Transportation Management Association of DE (TMA
Delaware) organization to assist them with the development
of their traffic mitigation plans.  The TMA also provides
other services in the development of their plans by surveying
the employees; hosting Transportation Fairs; distributing
marketing materials of alternative modes of commuting to/
from worksites; and information on their "RideShare
Delaware" and "HomeFree" programs.

The public comment period will end June 30, 2002.
Comments may be sent to:

Catherine Dennis, Planning Manager,
Delaware Transit Corporation,
400 South Madison Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DELAWARE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

DELAWARE TOURISM OFFICE

TOURISM ADVISORY BOARD

REGISTER NOTICE

Title of Regulation:
Co-Op Advertising Program

Nature of Proceedings: Synopsis of the Subject and
Substance of the Proposed Regulation:

In accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del. C.
Ch. 11, Subch. III, 29 Del. C. Ch 101 and 73 Delaware Laws
Ch. 74, Section 67 (June 28, 2001), the Director of the
Delaware Economic Development Office (“DEDO”) (of
which the Delaware Tourism Office (“DTO”) is a
subdivision), in cooperation with the Tourism Advisory
Board (the “Board”), is proposing to adopt a regulation for
the administration of the Co-Op Advertising program as part
of the matching grants program authorized by 73 Delaware
Laws Ch. 74, Section 67 (the “Co-Op Advertising Program”)
and for the application and award procedure of the Co-Op
Advertising Program.   The regulation describes the Co-Op
Advertising Program, the eligibility criteria and application
procedure for awards under the Co-Op Advertising Program.

Notice of Public Hearing; How to Comment on the
Proposed Regulation:

Members of the public may receive a copy of the
proposed amendments to the regulation at no charge by
United States Mail by writing or calling Ms. Julie Miro
Wenger, Delaware Tourism Office of the Delaware
Economic Development Office, 99 Kings Highway, Dover,
DE, 19901-7305, phone (302) 672-6826.  The Director of
the Delaware Economic Development Office, or an
employee of the Delaware Economic Development Office
designated by the Director, and the Board will hold a public
hearing at which members of the public may present
comments on the proposed regulation on July 10, 2002 in the
conference room of the offices of the Delaware Economic
Development Office at 99 Kings Highway, Dover, DE,
19901 at 9:00 a.m.  Additionally, members of the public may
present written comments on the proposed regulation by
submitting such written comments to Ms. Julie Miro Wenger
at the address of the Delaware Economic Development
Office set forth above.  Written comments must be received
on or before July 10, 2002 at 9:00 a.m.

http://www.deldot.net/public.ejs
http://www.state.de.us/dedo/new_web_site/
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