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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del. Laws,
c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed and
any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An example would
be:

9 DE Reg. 1036-1040 (01/01/06)

Refers to Volume 9, pages 1036-1040 of the Delaware Register issued on January 1, 2006.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability of
regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended
or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The notice
shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms
of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that
may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views; if in
writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the
date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less
than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be
held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be
published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who
have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
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published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed, of
all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries
of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted,
amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief summary of the evidence
and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information,
except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation
or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the evidence and information received; (4)
The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which the agency has authority to act; and (7) The
signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register
of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court for
declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.
When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a complaint
therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was published in
the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING TIME

  August 1 July 17       4:30 p.m.
  September 1 August 15       4:30 p.m.
  October 1 September 15       4:30 p.m.
  November 1 October 16       4:30 p.m.
  December 1 November 15       4:30 p.m.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF

Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor;  Kathleen Morris, Administrative Specialist I; Georgia Roman, Unit
Operations Support Specialist; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of Regulations; Steve Engebretsen, Assistant Registrar;
Victoria Schultes, Administrative Specialist II; Lady Johnson, Administrative Specialist I; Rochelle Yerkes,
Administrative Specialist II; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative Librarian; Debbie Puzzo, Research Analyst; Judi Abbott,
Administrative Specialist I; Alice W. Stark, Senior Legislative Attorney; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop Supervisor;
Don Sellers, Printer; Teresa Porter, Printer.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119 an agency may promulgate a regulatory change as an Emergency under the following
conditions:

§ 10119. Emergency regulations.
If an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the adoption,

amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by §10115, the following rules shall apply:
(1) The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and

hearing that it finds practicable;
(2) The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state, in writing, the reasons for the

agency's determination that such emergency action is necessary;
(3) The order effecting such action may be effective for a period of not longer than 120 days and may

be renewed once for a period not exceeding 60 days;
(4) When such an order is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or

authorized by this chapter, the agency shall state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to
petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or revision thereof; and

(5) The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next
issue of the Register of Regulations. (60 Del. Laws, c. 585, §1; 62 Del. Laws, c. 301, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 48, §10.)
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code, Section 1119C (16 Del.C. §1119C)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Nature of the Proceedings

This Emergency Regulation is being promulgated to amend the Division of Long Term Care Residents
Protection Regulations in order to improve the nursing home survey process. Delaware Health and Social Services
(“Department”) / Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection must take this action on an emergency basis
without prior notice or hearing to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the residents of Delaware’s long term
care facilities.
 

Summary of Changes

Statutory Basis
16 Del.C. §1119C

Summary of Provisions
1) Effective immediately, the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection shall maintain full

compliance with CMS regulations and appendices regarding nursing home surveys as contained in 42 CFR 483.1
to 483.480 and 488.1 to 488.456.

2) No later than June 15, 2006, the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection shall establish a
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Quality Assurance Review Team (QAR Team).  The QAR Team shall consist of:

• The Director of the Division
• The Deputy Director of the Division
• The Medical Director of the Division
• The Quality Assurance Administrator of the Division
• The Health Facilities Certification Administrator of the Division

3) No later than July 1, 2006, the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection shall retain the
services of a licensed physician to perform the duties of Medical Director, which shall include but not be limited to
reviewing medical records, advising the Division on medical issues, testifying on the Division’s behalf at Informal
Dispute Resolution hearings, and participating in the QAR Team.

4) No later than July 15, 2006, all nursing home survey reports, whether generated as a result of
annual, complaint, and/or surprise inspections, which recommend a nursing, pharmaceutical, nutritional, and/or
environmental citation at “G” level or above shall be reviewed and approved by the QAR team within 5 working
days of receipt of such report containing a “G” level or above citation.  The Team shall review each such citation for
application of the appropriate regulations, for accuracy of data, for adequacy of supporting documentation, and for
consistent adherence to CMS regulations.

A written quarterly report shall be made to the Nursing Home Quality Assurance Commission
regarding any upgrades to “G” level or above and downgrades to “G” level or below by the QAR Team, setting forth
the number of such downgrades and upgrades at each facility and the reasons for each.

The report shall not identify facilities by name.  
The first such report shall be submitted no later than June 15, 2006.  Subsequent quarterly reports

shall be submitted on the 15th of every September, December, March, and June.
5) No later than September 15, 2006, the Department of Health and Social Services shall reclassify a

vacant position to a Nurse Supervisor for the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, to provide nurse
supervision for the Division’s Wilmington office.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes should be made in the best interest of the general public
of the State of Delaware.  The Department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person
for the reconsideration or revision thereof.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the emergency regulation proposed to improve the nursing home
survey process is adopted as an emergency order with an effective date of June 15, 2006.

6/12/06
Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS

DLTCRP Emergency Order

1) Effective immediately, the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection shall maintain full
compliance with CMS regulations and appendices regarding nursing home surveys as contained in 42 CFR 483.1
to 483.480 and 488.1 to 488.456.

2) No later than June 15, 2006, the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection shall establish a
Quality Assurance Review Team (QAR Team).  The QAR Team shall consist of:

• The Director of the Division
• The Deputy Director of the Division
• The Medical Director of the Division
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• The Quality Assurance Administrator of the Division
• The Health Facilities Certification Administrator of the Division

3) No later than July 1, 2006, the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection shall retain the
services of a licensed physician to perform the duties of Medical Director, which shall include but not be limited to
reviewing medical records, advising the Division on medical issues, testifying on the Division’s behalf at Informal
Dispute Resolution hearings, and participating in the QAR Team.

4) No later than July 15, 2006, all nursing home survey reports, whether generated as a result of
annual, complaint, and/or surprise inspections, which recommend a nursing, pharmaceutical, nutritional, and/or
environmental citation at “G” level or above shall be reviewed and approved by the QAR team within 5 working
days of receipt of such report containing a “G” level or above citation.  The Team shall review each such citation for
application of the appropriate regulations, for accuracy of data, for adequacy of supporting documentation, and for
consistent adherence to CMS regulations.

A written quarterly report shall be made to the Nursing Home Quality Assurance Commission
regarding any upgrades to “G” level or above and downgrades to “G” level or below by the QAR Team, setting forth
the number of such downgrades and upgrades at each facility and the reasons for each.

The report shall not identify facilities by name.  
The first such report shall be submitted no later than June 15, 2006.  Subsequent quarterly reports

shall be submitted on the 15th of every September, December, March, and June.
5) No later than September 15, 2006, the Department of Health and Social Services shall reclassify a

vacant position to a Nurse Supervisor for the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, to provide nurse
supervision for the Division’s Wilmington office.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall
file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The notice shall
describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of
the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that
may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if
in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the
date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less
than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be
held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be
published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation.   The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who
have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
DELAWARE AGRICULTURAL LANDS PRESERVATION FOUNDATION

Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code, Section 904 (3 Del.C. §904(a)(13)
3 DE Admin. Code 904

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

1301 Regulations Governing the Delaware Agricultural Forestlands Preservation Program

The Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation (the "Foundation") will hold a public hearing to
discuss proposed regulations relating to the administration of the Delaware Agricultural Forestland Preservation
Program established pursuant to 3 Del.C. §931. The Foundation was established by the Delaware Legislature
pursuant to 3 Del.C. §903. The Foundation is responsible for, among other things, adopting criteria for the
establishment and maintenance of Forestland Preservation Areas and establishing criteria for the purchase of
Forestland Preservation Easements. To carry out its statutory responsibilities, the Foundation has been directed to,
among other things, adopt rules of practice and procedure for the acquisition of Forestland Preservation Easements,
including the process and timeframe for submitting applications for the sale of Forestland Preservation Easements, the
establishment of the purchase price for the easements through the use of appraisal information, the manner in which
offers to sell such easements are accepted, and the basis upon which offers for sale of such easements are accepted. 

Pursuant to its statutory authority, the Foundation is proposing for adoption a comprehensive set of guidelines
and regulations to be used for the administration of the forestlands preservation program. The proposed regulations
published herein will, among other things:  (a) establish eligibility criteria, (b) establish application procedures, (c)
establish criteria for the purchase of Forestland Preservation Easements and methods by which the purchase price will
be determined, (d) establish ranking criteria for easement applications, and (e) establish the legal forms to be used in
connection with the creation of Forestland Preservation Areas and Easements.

The public hearing will be on Wednesday, July 26, 2006 beginning at 10:00 a.m. and ending at 12:00 p.m. at
the Foundation's office located at 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review by contacting:

William A. Denman, Esquire
Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 10, ISSUE 1, SATURDAY, JULY 1, 2006
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116 W. Water Street
Dover, DE  19904
(302) 678-3262
Email: wdenman@pgslegal.com

Anyone wishing to present oral comments at this hearing should contact Mr. William A. Denman at (302) 678-
3262 by July 25, 2006. Anyone wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to, or in lieu of oral testimony,
should submit such comments by July 31, 2006 to:

William A. Denman, Esquire
Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
116 W. Water Street
Dover, DE  19904
(302) 678-3262
Email: wdenman@pgslegal.com

1301 Regulations Governing the Delaware Agricultural Forestlands Preservation Program

The Foundation is granted authority to establish criteria for Forestland Preservation Areas (hereinafter referred
to as "Forestland Preservation Area") and the purchase of forestland preservation easements. [3 Del.C., §933]

1.0 Criteria for Forestland Preservation Area Eligibility
1.1  In order to qualify for the Agricultural Forestland Preservation Program, the lands proposed as a

Forestland Preservation Area in the application must meet the following criteria:
1.1.1 the owner(s) shall hold fee simple title to all land to be placed in the Forestland Preservation

Area;
1.1.2 the land must constitute a contiguous area of trees or forest and cover at least 10 acres in size

and be capable of being timbered and reforested, as determined by the State Forester;
1.1.3 the land shall be zoned to allow for agricultural or open space uses and shall not be subject to

any major subdivision plan;
1.1.4 the applicant(s), including all fee simple title holders, must sign a written agreement

committing to the Forestland Preservation Area restrictions set forth in this Section and 3 Del.C., §934 and other
adopted requirements;

1.1.5 the land must be viable and potentially productive forestlands;
1.1.6 the land must be located outside a designated Growth Zone, as that term is defined in 9 Del.C.

§902(9);
1.1.7 the land must not be subject to an existing conservation or preservation easement or other

restriction which prohibits development;
1.1.8 the land proposed for inclusion shall include all of the eligible forestlands located in the tax

parcels subject to the application, and no eligible real property shall be carved out or otherwise excluded. One (1)
location containing no more than one (1) acre of land may be designated for seasonal recreational dwelling usage
provided that the property proposed for inclusion contains at least 30 acres and the use of the designated area does
not adversely affect the forestlands of the property. The owner may designate up to three residential locations as
permitted under 9 Del.C. §933(8)(b), provided that any seasonal recreational dwelling shall be counted against the
total allowable dwelling units;

1.1.9 no more than one (1) acre of land for each 20 acres of usable forestlands, up to a maximum of
10 acres, can be used for permanent dwelling housing;

1.1.10 the land shall have a forest management plan prepared by a professional forester that
addresses the landowner's forest management goals for the land. The plan shall contain, at a minimum, aerial and soil
maps of the land, a description and analysis of the forest by management unit, silvicultural prescriptions for each
management unit, shall be revised and updated at least once every five years, and shall be available for inspection by
the State Forester's office.

1.2 For the purposes stated in this chapter, the phrase "viable and potentially productive forestlands" is
defined as land that is capable of being timbered and reforested as determined by the State Forester.
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2.0 Application Procedures 
2.1 The Foundation will provide application forms (Appendix A) on which applicants who volunteer to

place their lands into a Forestland Preservation Area will (shall) provide the following information:
2.1.1. name of petitioner(s)
2.1.2. mailing address(es)
2.1.3 telephone number(s)
2.1.4 property location

2.1.4.1 county
2.1.4.2 community name
2.1.4.3 tax parcel number for each parcel

2.1.5 deed or property description
2.1.6 area - total acreage of:

2.1.6.1 open space
2.1.6.2 forestlands
2.1.6.3 pasture
2.1.6.4 tidal wetlands
2.1.6.5 farm or commercial structures
2.1.6.6 residence/buildings
2.1.6.7 other

2.1.7 land use/zoning designation or designations
2.1.8 easements/rights-of-way (identify, if any)
2.1.9 mortgages/liens (identify, if any):

2.1.9.1 mortgagee or lien holder's name or names
2.1.9.2 date of mortgages or liens

2.1.10 number of dwelling units and any residential acreage designated by theowner pursuant to 9
Del.C. §933(8).

2.1.11 forest management plan (if any)
2.1.12 information regarding the occupancy of dwelling units on the property
2.1.13 the approximate location of the acreage, if any, the applicant intends to designate for seasonal

recreational dwelling usage pursuant to 3 Del.C., §933(7).
2.2 The Foundation shall provide assistance to potential applicants in completing application forms when

requested.
2.3 Foundation staff may conduct on-site inspections and/or phone interviews with the applicants to

acquire data necessary to review the application and write a staff report.
2.4 In conjunction with the application, all fee simple owners shall sign a Forestland Preservation Area

Agreement (Appendix B) which serves as a declaration in recordable form and acknowledgment of the policies and
restrictions that must be followed, and all benefits realized in a Forestland Preservation Area.

3.0 Application Review Procedures
The Foundation, subject to the review and approval of the State Forester, has the authority to approve

applications establishing Forestland Preservation Areas and to purchase forestland preservation easements. [3 Del.C.,
§931]

3.1 The Foundation staff and the State Forester will review applications and determine whether or not the
minimum eligibility requirements under Section 1.1 have been met.

3.2 If the minimum eligibility requirements have not been met, the applicant will be notified by letter from
the Foundation indicating that the application does not qualify for further review, and the reasons for ineligibility.

3.3 If an applicant excludes a portion of property otherwise includable in a proposed Forestland
Preservation Area, the Foundation shall deny the application; provided however that the applicant shall have the right
to designate a location for seasonal recreation dwelling usage and residential usage, as allowed by law.

3.4 Subject to Section 3.3 above, if the lands proposed as a Forestland Preservation Area in the
application meet minimum eligibility criteria, then the Foundation staff will submit to the Foundation and the State
Forester applications and criteria checklists describing and summarizing the criteria as established in this chapter.

3.5 If the applicant disagrees with the staff evaluation of the proposed Forestland Preservation Area, then
the applicant may contact the Foundation staff to discuss the application review. The Foundation staff will meet with the
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landowner to discuss the review within thirty (30) days from receiving such telephone call or letter.
3.6 If the issue is not resolved to the applicant's satisfaction, the applicant may request an administrative

review with the Foundation by submitting a letter to the Foundation within fourteen days (14) of the applicant's last
meeting with Foundation staff. This letter must include reasons and documentation to justify the applicant's claim(s).

3.7 Within seven (7) working days from the receipt of the landowner's letter, the Foundation will schedule a
meeting and notify the applicant by certified letter of the date, time, and place of the meeting, at least seven (7) days in
advance.

3.8 At the administrative review meeting, the applicant(s) shall present information or documentation as to
how the proposed Forestland Preservation Area satisfies the eligibility criteria.

3.9 The Foundation will render a decision within thirty (30) days from the administrative review meeting
and notify the applicant in writing of its decision.

4.0 Creation of a Forestland Preservation Area
4.1 To establish a Forestland Preservation Area, the application must be approved by the Foundation and

the State Forester. [3 Del.C., §932 (a)]
4.2 After review by the Foundation and State Forester, the application is subject to a review period of thirty

(30) days in which the Secretary of Agriculture may reject the application. The application shall be deemed officially
approved at the end of the review period if it is not rejected by the Secretary of Agriculture. [3 Del.C., §919 and 938]

4.3 The property legally becomes a Forestland Preservation Area when the applicant and Foundation
Chairperson (or designee) have signed the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement and no rejection has been
exercised by the Secretary of Agriculture, or the Secretary of Agriculture has specifically approved the application.

4.4 Copies of the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement shall be filed with the County Planning and
Zoning and Tax Assessor's Offices and recorded in the Office of the Recorder of Deeds. The Foundation shall require
from these Offices proof of recording and/or receipt of the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement.

4.5 The Foundation shall endeavor to provide written notification of the date of establishment of the
Forestland Preservation Area and provide a copy of the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement to the applicant,
however, the failure of the Foundation to satisfy any formality following execution of a Forestland Preservation Area
Agreement shall not affect the validity of the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement.

5.0 Forestland Preservation Area Restrictions
5.1 Any rezoning or major subdivision of real property included in a Forestland Preservation Area is

prohibited.  [3 Del.C., §934 (a)(1)]
5.2 The submission of applications for preliminary rezoning or approval of subdivision plans for any

property within a Forestland Preservation Area to a county or municipality shall be considered evidence of the intent to
rezone or subdivide and no action shall be taken by any county or municipality on any such application until the
expiration of the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement. 

5.3 During the term of the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement, activities on the property shall be
limited to forestry production, forestry operations, forestry management and control, wildlife habitat management, and
activities related to the foregoing. [9 Del.C., §934(a)(2)]

5.4 Forestry management, control and related activities allowed on Forestland 
Preservation Areas are as follows:

5.4.1 Hunting, trapping and fishing, provided such activities are limited to private non-commercial
activities that do not adversely affect the forestland use of the property, and provided further that leasing of the property
for such non-commercial activities shall be allowed.

5.4.2 Easements, licenses and other property interests for utility, telecommunications, and access
uses are allowed subject to the requirements set forth in 9 Del.C. §909(a)(5)(f).

5.4.3 The use of portable non-permanent forest planting, harvesting and processing equipment.
5.4.4 Conservation, educational and research activities related to forestlands.
5.4.5 Ditching for drainage necessary to enhance or preserve forestlands.
5.4.6 The grazing of livestock, excluding housing or shelters, subject to prior approval by the State

Forester.
5.4.7 Timbering and reforestation.
5.4.8 Noncommercial private recreational uses such as hiking, horseback riding, and primitive

camping, provided such activities do not adversely affect the forestland use of the property.
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5.4.9 Activities involving best forestland management practices.
5.5 No more than 1 acre of land for each 20 acres of usable land in a Forestland Preservation Area,

subject to a maximum of 10 acres, shall be allowed for permanent dwelling housing. The seasonal recreational
dwelling usage designated pursuant to 9 Del.C. §933(7) shall be counted against the total allowable permanent
dwelling housing acreage. With respect to acreage allowed for dwelling housing there shall be a limit of 3 dwelling
houses for residential use placed on the allowable acreage at 3 locations designated by the owner. This limit shall
include any pre-existing dwelling housing and/or the seasonal dwelling usage designated pursuant to 9 Del.C. §933(7).
If however there exists 3 dwelling houses on the real property at the time of approval of the new Forestland
Preservation Area, the allowable total number of dwelling housing and the allowable acreage shall be allocated to the
existing dwelling houses and no additional dwelling houses, including seasonal dwelling usage, shall be allowed. The
aforesaid dwelling housing allowances are subject to any applicable zoning laws and regulations, and the approval of
said allowances by the Foundation shall not be considered a representation by the Foundation that said allowances
comply with any applicable zoning laws and regulations.

5.6 Excavation or filling, borrow pits, extraction, processing and removal of sand, gravel, loam, rock or
other minerals is prohibited unless such action is currently required by or ancillary to forestry management, control and
related activities allowed on forestland preservation areas.

5.7 Activities that would be detrimental to drainage, flood control, water conservation, erosion control or
soil conservation are prohibited.

5.8 Any other activity that might negatively affect the continued use of the land as forestlands is prohibited.
5.9 No conversion of forestland to cropland, pasture-land, open space or other types of land use shall be

allowed.
5.10 No permanent commercial or industrial structures shall be located on the property.
5.11 No disposal, burial, storage, or stock piling of junk, vehicles, equipment, liquid or solid waste or other

liquid or solid materials shall be allowed, except that wastewater spray irrigation shall be allowed utilizing best available
treatment technology with storage and treatment facilities located on lands outside the Forestland Preservation Area.

5.12 The Forestland Preservation Area Agreement and Forestland Preservation Area requirements and
benefits shall be binding on the heirs, successors and assigns of property owners within a Forestland Preservation
Area.  A property owner intending to transfer all or a portion of the property in a  Forestland Preservation Area shall
provide written notice to the Foundation at least (10) days in advance of the date of transfer of the property, and shall
notify the purchaser or transferee that the property is subject to Forestland Preservation Area restrictions.  Any transfer
of real property in a Forestland Preservation Area shall be preceded by the execution by the transferor and the
transferee of an Acknowledgment in the form on Appendix C and in recordable form acknowledging the restrictions
applicable to the property and the agreement by the transferee to be bound by said restrictions.

5.13 Pursuant to 3 Del.C., §934 (d), all restrictions shall be covenants which run with and bind the lands in
the Forestland Preservation Area for a minimum of ten (10) years, beginning when the Forestland Preservation Area
Agreement takes effect as specified in the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement.

6.0 Continuation of a Forestland Preservation Area 
6.1 All properties are to remain in a Forestland Preservation Area for at least ten (10) years. 
6.2 If a landowner wishes to withdraw from, or terminate a Forestland Preservation Area, then the

Foundation must receive a written notice of intent to withdraw no less than six (6) months prior to the ten (10) year
anniversary date of initial establishment of the Forestland Preservation Area. [3 Del.C. §934 (d)]

6.3 If the Foundation does not receive a written notification of the landowner's intent to withdraw from the
Forestland Preservation Area at least six (6) months prior to the ten (10) year anniversary date of that Forestland
Preservation Area, then the land shall remain in the Forestland Preservation Area for an additional five-year period
unless and until written notice of intent to withdraw shall be given at least six months prior to the end of each additional
five-year period.

7.0.   Inspection of Forestland Preservation Area
The Foundation and State Forester shall have the authority to enter upon lands located within a Forestland

Preservation Area as may be necessary to perform surveys, appraisals, and investigations to accomplish its mission;
consistent with applicable statutes and these regulations. [3 Del.C., §939]

7.1 The Foundation or its designee, including the State Forester, reserves the right to inspect restricted
land and enforce agreements.
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7.2 If any violations of the terms and the conditions of the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement occur,
the Foundation may institute proceedings in the appropriate court to enforce the terms and seek appropriate relief. [3
Del.C., §939]

8.0 Purchase of Forestlands Preservation Easements [3 Del.C., §936]
8.1 The intent of this section is to provide a framework for the acquisition of Forestland Preservation

Easements (hereinafter referred to as "Forestland Preservation Easements") to protect in perpetuity those lands of the
state most suitable for long-term utilization of forestland resources while preserving invaluable wildlife and habitat
protections and open space benefits to the citizens of the State of Delaware.

8.2 The Foundation will place greatest emphasis on acquiring Forestland Preservation Easements in
areas where significant forestlands can be maintained for long-term forestry production.

8.3 Based on the long-range goal set forth in Section 8.2, the Foundation will only consider properties
outside of state designated growth areas in the acquisition of Forestland Preservation Easements.

8.4 In the criteria established for the prioritization of Forestland Preservation Easements, the Foundation
will also give weight to the Forest Land Evaluation (LE) score for the subject parcel and the location of the subject
parcel in relation to State Resource Areas (SRAs) and state-designated Natural Areas.

9.0 Schedule for Acquisition of Forestland Preservation Easements
9.1 Recognizing that voluntary applications by Forestland Preservation Area landowners may exceed

available funds for the procurement of Forestland Preservation Easements, it is necessary to establish a procedure for
pooling, reviewing, prioritizing, and funding applications for permanent Forestland Preservation Easements.

9.2 Application and funding cycles will take place on schedules established by the Foundation.
9.3 Applications for the purchase of Forestland Preservation Easements in Rounds of Purchases shall be

subject to deadlines established by the Foundation.
9.4 For each Round of Forestland Preservation Easement Purchases the Foundation shall rank the

applications in the Round in accordance with the criteria set forth herein. 
9.5 Upon completion, the appraisals shall be provided to the landowners, and the procedures set forth

herein involving offers for the sale of preservation easements shall be initiated.
9.6 After receipt and the completion of review of offers for the sale of preservation easements, the

Foundation shall review the offers and announce the selections.
9.7 Following the selection of properties for acquisition of Forestland Preservation Easements, the

Foundation shall arrange for surveys of the properties to be conducted, and proceed to settlement under the terms of
option agreements, subject to the availability of funding and satisfaction of regulatory, financial or other restrictions or
limitations.

9.8 The Foundation is under no obligation to purchase a Forestland Preservation Easement which is
offered for sale.

10.0   Matching Contributions To The Program
10.1 The Foundation may establish a reserve of available funds for the matching of federal, county, state,

local, or private funds for the preservation of forestlands.

11.0   Eligibility Criteria For Forestland Preservation Easements
The criteria for eligibility of acquisition of a Forestland Preservation Easement shall be the same as the criteria

for Forestland Preservation Area eligibility. In addition, offered preservation easement lands shall be in an established
Forestland Preservation Area and in compliance with Forestland Preservation Area requirements to be eligible;
provided however that the Foundation shall have the authority to acquire Forestland Preservation Easements located
within an existing Agricultural Preservation District heretofore approved by the Foundation. The Foundation shall have
the right, in its sole discretion, to acquire a Forestland Preservation Easement on only a part of the property included
within the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement or Agricultural Preservation District, as the case may be.

12.0   Application Procedures
 12.1 A separate application shall be required for each forestland tract offered for Forestland Preservation
Easement purchase.  The Foundation shall not be obligated to process any incomplete application.

12.2 The Foundation shall develop, and make available to landowners or other interested parties, an
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application form which requires the following information:
12.2.1 Name, address, telephone number and signature of the owner of the forestlands.
12.2.2 County, municipality or hundred, and Forestland Preservation Area in which the forestlands

are located.
12.2.3 Total acreage of the forestlands and the number of acres of that tract proposed for Forestland

Preservation Easement purchase.
12.2.4 Street/Road location of the forestlands, and directions from the nearest State route.
12.2.5 Deed reference - book, volume and page.
12.2.6 County tax map records, including tax parcel number, or account number of each parcel.
12.2.7 A copy of the forest management plan prepared by a professional forester shall be submitted

with the application.
12.2.8 Name, address and telephone number of the person to be contacted to view the forestlands

tract.
12.2.9 The approximate location of the acreage, if any, the applicant intends to designate for

seasonal dwelling or residential use pursuant to 3 Del.C., §933(8)(b).
12.3   A form of Application is attached hereto as Appendix D. 

13.0 Review and Evaluation of Forestlands Preservation Easement Application
13.1 The Foundation shall review the application to determine if it is complete and meets the minimum

criteria set forth herein.
13.2 If the application is complete and the minimum criteria are met, a representative of the Foundation

shall view the forestlands.
13.3 The Foundation shall for each Round of Preservation Easement Purchases evaluate applications

which meet the minimum criteria and rank the applications in accordance with the criteria of Section 14.
Notwithstanding the ranking procedure set forth in Section 14, the Foundation shall be entitled to have all eligible
properties appraised and considered for purchase of Forestland Preservation Easements.

14.0 Ranking Criteria for Forestland Preservation Easement Applications
14.1 A system for ranking Preservation Easement applications is established to assist the Foundation in

reaching a final decision.
14.2 Four categories will be utilized to rank the Preservation Easement applications during the Foundation's

review period with a maximum score of 220 points. The four categories, each of which is discussed below, are forest
productivity, size of discount, proximity to State Resource Area, and proximity to a state designated Natural Areas. In
the event of a tie score, the property with the higher Forest Land Evaluation (LE) will receive the higher ranking. If the
tie score is not resolved by the Forest LE scores, then the parcel with the greater acreage will receive the higher
ranking.

14.3 Forest Productivity - Forest Land Evaluation Score - 100 Points.
In order to follow a rational, statewide plan for the acquisition of development rights on forestlands, the

Foundation will give weight to applications for sale of Preservation Easements based on the land's capacity to produce
timber. A property's Forest LE score will be used to reflect this capacity. Forest LE scores range from 0 to 100 with 100
reflecting the best soils for timber production.

Land with multiple soil types with differing LE scores will be categorized based on a weighted area
average of the various LE scores.

14.4 Forestland Preservation Easement Discount - 100 Points.
The Foundation will also consider applications for sale of Forest Preservation Easements based on the

ability to purchase easements at a discounted cost or donation. Weight will be given to the owner's willingness to
receive a discounted payment from the appraised value of the Forestland Preservation Easement. One point will be
awarded for each percentage of discount provided by the owner from the appraised value of the Forestland
Preservation Easement. 

14.5 Other factors - 20 Points.
Other criteria the Foundation will consider in the ranking of applications for sale of Forest Preservation

easements will include the property's natural resource values, in addition to timber, and its location relative to lands
designated as high priority for protection by the State.

Ten (10) points will be awarded if the property is located within a State Resource Area (SRA) as
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defined in 7 Del.C. §7507. A property shall be considered within a SRA if at least half of the property's area is located
within the SRA.

Ten (10) points will be awarded if the property is located within a state-designated Natural Area as
defined in 7 Del.C. Ch. 73. A property shall be considered within a Natural Area if at least half of the property's area is
located within the Natural Area.

15.0 Appraisals  [3 Del.C., §916]
15.1 An offer to purchase a Forestland Preservation Easement shall be based upon one or more appraisal

reports which estimate the full market value of the forestlands under its agricultural zoning designation and the forest-
only value of the forestlands tract. Any appraisal obtained by the Foundation shall remain the property of the
Foundation and may not be used by the property owner for tax purposes.

15.2 Subject to Section 15.7 hereof, an appraisal to the extent possible shall be based primarily on an
analysis of comparable sales.

15.3 The value of buildings or other improvements on the forestlands shall be excluded in determining the
Forestland Preservation Easement value. The value of the buildings or other improvements shall appear separately in
the appraisal. Excluded from the value of the Forestland Preservation Easement shall be the acreage designated for
residential use or seasonable dwelling use.

15.4 The appraiser shall be:
15.4.1 An independent, licensed real estate appraiser who is qualified to appraise a property for

easement purchase.  An appraiser shall be selected on the basis of experience, expertise and professional
designation, and

15.4.2 A member of an organization which subscribes to the "Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice" published by the Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation, and shall follow their
ethical and professional standards.

15.5 The appraiser shall supply a narrative report which contains the following information and (must be) is
in the following format:

15.5.1 Introduction
15.5.1.1 Professional qualifications of the appraiser
15.5.1.2 Letter of transmittal or appraiser certificate
15.5.1.3 Table of contents
15.5.1.4 Summary of salient facts and conclusions
15.5.1.5 Purpose of the appraisal 
15.5.1.6 Easement value definition as provided in 3 Del.C. §916(a)

15.5.2 Description of property
15.5.2.1 Area or neighborhood description
15.5.2.2 Description of appraised property

15.5.2.2.1 Legal description
15.5.2.2.2 Property data and zoning
15.5.2.2.3 Description of improvements
15.5.2.2.4 Photos and sketches (if available) of subject property
15.5.2.2.5 Tax map of subject property. In instances where the county does not

have tax maps available, the sketch map required below shall include the boundary lines and acreage of properties
adjoining the subject property and the names of all adjoining property owners

15.5.2.2.6 Location map
15.5.2.2.7 Development constraints. The appraiser shall report whether the

farmland tract has public or private land use restrictions, is within a flood plain, or has other physical attributes which
limit its developmental capability 

15.5.3 Analyses and conclusions
15.5.3.1 Analysis of highest and best development use
15.5.3.2 Full market valuation

15.5.3.2.1 Comparable sales data
15.5.3.2.2 Adjustment grid
15.5.3.2.3 Location map of comparable sales
15.5.3.2.4 Market value estimate
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 10, ISSUE 1, SATURDAY, JULY 1, 2006



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 17
15.6 The appraiser shall provide at least one original and three copies of each report to the Foundation.
The original of each report and all copies shall be bound with rigid covers.

15.7 The forest-only valuation shall be based on the property's capacity to produce timber through the soil
type(s) located on the property. The State Forester shall calculate annual timber production rates for each soil type and
determine a five-year, rolling average of timber sale prices for the state. These values will produce an average annual
income per acre for the property. This income value will then be capitalized to produce the forest-only valuation using a
five-year, rolling average rate of return.

15.8 The Forestland Preservation Easement value is then calculated using the full market valuation
appraisal and the forest-only valuation.

16.0 Comparable Sales Data
16.1 The appraiser shall supply information concerning comparable sales as follows:

16.1.1 At least four comparable sales shall be used for an appraisal. If the appraiser  cannot obtain
sufficient comparable sales data within the same general area as the subject farmland tract, the appraiser may use
comparable sales from other areas within the county, state or outside the state, after consultation with the Foundation.
The use of comparable sales which require adjustment of 50 percent or more is permitted only with the approval of the
Foundation.

16.1.2 Pertinent data for each comparable sale used in the preparation of the appraisal shall be
stated in the appraisal report, including date of sale, purchase price, road frontage in feet, soil series, an estimate of the
range of slope and other relevant information. The appraisal shall include an analysis comparing the pertinent data for
each comparable sale to the subject farmland tract.

16.1.3 The location of each comparable sale used in the appraisal report shall be shown accurately
on the comparable sales map and sufficiently identified and described so as to be located easily.

17.0 Agricultural Lands Preservation Easement Value and Purchase Price
17.1 The value of a Forestland Preservation Easement in perpetuity shall be the difference between the full

market value and the forest-only value contained in the appraisal report.
17.2 The price paid by the Foundation for the purchase of a Forestland Preservation Easement may not

exceed, but may be less than, the value of the Forestland Preservation Easement. [3 Del.C. §916(a)]
17.3 If an applicant is not satisfied with the appraisal provided by the Foundation, the applicant shall be

entitled to have an independent appraisal performed at the applicant's expense by a qualified appraiser as specified in
Section 15.4. The alternative appraisal shall be prepared in the same format as the Foundation's appraisal and shall be
submitted to the Foundation within forty-five (45) days of the applicant's date of receipt of the appraisal provided by the
Foundation. The forty-five (45) day period may be extended by the Foundation, provided the time extension does not
delay the time frame established by the Foundation for making selection and acquisition decisions.

17.4 The review of the alternative appraisals by the Foundation shall be based on written submissions
under such procedures as specified by the Foundation.

17.5 The maximum adjusted Preservation Easement value which the Foundation may accept is the
difference between the adjusted forest-only value and the adjusted full market value, determined as follows:

17.5.1 The adjusted forest-only value shall equal the sum of:
17.5.1.1 The forest-only value determined by the applicant's appraiser, and
17.5.1.2 Up to one-half of the positive difference between the forest-only value

determined by the Foundation's appraiser and his/her values which exceed those determined by the applicant's
appraiser.

17.5.2 The adjusted full market value shall equal the sum of:
17.5.2.1 The full market value determined by the Foundation's appraiser, and
17.5.2.2 Up to one-half of the positive difference between the full market value

determined by the applicant's appraiser and his/her values which exceed those determined by the Foundation's
appraiser.

18.0 Offer of Purchase by the Foundation
18.1 The priority for making purchases of Forestland Preservation Easements shall be those properties with

the highest score as described in Section 14.
18.2 Notwithstanding the priority and non-priority requirements set forth in this Section, the Foundation (1)
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shall be entitled to accept donations of preservation easements under such terms and conditions that may be imposed
in the donations, provided the preservation easements contain the restrictions imposed under 3 Del.C., Ch. 9 and (2)
the Foundation shall be entitled to participate in programs which make monies available for the purchase of
preservation easements, subject to the requirements of such programs, provided the preservation easements contain
the restrictions imposed under 3 Del.C., Ch. 9.

19.0 The Forestlands Preservation Easement
19.1 The owners of the subject forestlands shall execute a document conveying the Forestland

Preservation Easement which document shall be in the form of Appendix E or such other form which contains
conditions contained in Option Agreements executed by landowners.

19.2 The document shall be in recordable form and contain:
19.2.1 A legal description setting forth the metes and bounds of the forestlands subject to the

Forestland Preservation Easement and the seasonal dwelling or residential acreage, if any, designated by the owner
pursuant to 9 Del.C.  §933(8)(b).

19.2.2 At least one course and distance referencing a fixed marker or monument of a type commonly
placed in the field by a surveyor.

19.2.3 The legal description shall not contain a closure error greater than one foot per 200 linear feet
in the survey.

19.2.4 The forestlands on which a Forestland Preservation Easement is to be purchased must be
surveyed and the survey shall show any residential acreage designated by the owner pursuant to 9 Del.C. §933(8)(b).

20.0  Title Quality
The Forestland Preservation Easement conveyed to the Foundation shall be unencumbered except for

standard exceptions and be capable of being insured as such by an established and recognized title insurance
company doing business in the State of Delaware. Any title defects, liens, survey discrepancies, boundary line
disputes, or similar title issues shall be resolved by the property owner, at his or her sole expense. If subsequent to the
purchase of a Preservation Easement it is determined that the amount of acreage is less than as reflected on the
survey used by the Foundation for purposes of calculating the purchase price for the Preservation Easement, the
property owner shall be required to refund to the Foundation any excess funds paid in reliance upon the inaccurate
survey.

APPENDIX A

LETTERHEAD OF FOUNDATION

Return to:         The Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation               FILE# _______________________
2320 S. duPont Highway, Dover, DE  19901
Phone (302) 698-4530, or Toll Free in DE Only (800) 282-8685

Please Type or Print:
Name of Petitioner(s)______________________________________________________________________
(All Fee Simple Owners of Record) 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Mailing Address 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Telephone: (H)_________________ (W) ________________________(CELL) ___________________________

Email Address ___________________________________________   FAX NO:__________________________

Forest Location (County)_______________________Total Acreage of Forest ____________________________

Adjoining Roads _______________________________________________________________________________
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County Tax Parcel Number(s) __________________________________________________________________

Zoning Designation  __________________________
(Call County Planning for zoning designation)

Type of Land Use:  Forestlands              Acres Open Space __________ Acres
Cropland                         Acres Pasture Land _________ Acres
# Of Farm Structures ______ Tidal Wetlands ________ Acres
Residence _________ Acres Other (specify) ________ Acres
# Of Dwelling Units: ______ # Seasonal Dwelling Units _____ 

# Seasonal Dwelling Acres _____

Occupant's Name(s) & Relationship 
                                                                           
                                                                           
                                                                           

Historic Significance of Forest (if any) _________________________________________________________

Easements/Rights-of-Way (if any) _____________________________________________________________

Is there a forest management plan for the property prepared by a professional forester?
Yes _________No ____________

If yes, what is the date of the plan ______________________Name of forester ________________________

Is any portion of the property currently subject to subdivision?  Yes ____ No ____

Mortgage or Lien Holders: ____________________________________________________________________ 

INSTRUCTIONS

The following supplement is designed to assist in filling out the application for establishing your property as a
Forestland Preservation Area:

1. Names of Petitioners:  The application(s) must be signed by all fee simple owners of the parcel(s)
being placed in a Forestland Preservation Area.  If there is more than one property proposed to be in an Area where:

a) parcels are not contiguous, and/or
b) parcels are in differing forms of title, 

Then each parcel must have a separate application.
All applications to create one Area should be returned to the Foundation together.

2. Mailing Address:  The address that you want used for correspondence pertaining to this application.
3. Adjoining Roads:  Because some people have a post office box number for a mailing address, it is

necessary for the Foundation to know the exact road number(s) on which the parcel is located.  Please list your main
road (i.e., RT. 18) and any roads that adjoin your property. 

4. # of Dwelling and Seasonal Dwelling Units:  This is the number of houses on the parcel(s) which can
be occupied. Please specify the names of the occupants and their relationship to the owners listed on the application. If
any of the Dwelling Units are for seasonal use only, please specify.

5. County Tax Parcel Number(s):  If you are unsure of your parcel number, please attach a copy of your
most recent tax bill.

6. Zoning designation:  In order to qualify for a Forestland Preservation Area, your land must be zoned
for agricultural purposes (i.e., SR, S, SE, AC, AR, or AR-1).  If you are not sure about your zoning designation, contact
your County Planning Office.  Kent: 744-2471, New Castle: 395-5400, Sussex: 855-7878.

7. Type of Land Use:  The number of acres that is in each land use listed on the application.  Your
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farmland assessment application may serve as a good reference for this information.

PLEASE RETAIN A COPY OF THE AREA APPLICATION FORM FOR YOUR RECORDS AND RETURN THE
ORIGINAL FORMS OF EACH OF THESE TO THE FOUNDATION.

APPENDIX B

Tax Map No.  _____
Prepared By:    Delaware Agricultural

Lands Preservation Foundation 
2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE  19901

Return To:  Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, PA
116 W. Water Street, Dover, DE  19904

DELAWARE AGRICULTURAL LANDS PRESERVATION FOUNDATION FORESTLAND PRESERVATION AREA 
AGREEMENT

This Forestland Preservation Area Agreement, in the nature of a declaration of a Restriction on the Use of
Land for the purpose of preserving productive Forestlands, is made this  day of  _____, _____ by and between ____,
____ heirs and assigns, (hereafter individually and collectively referred to as "GRANTOR"), of the County of ____,
Delaware, and the DELAWARE AGRICULTURAL LANDS PRESERVATION FOUNDATION, its successors,
nominees or assigns, a body politic and corporate constituting a public instrumentality of the State, created and
organized under the laws of the State of Delaware, with its offices at 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901
(hereinafter "GRANTEE").
RECITALS:

A. GRANTOR is the owner in fee of lands consisting of Forestlands (as that term is defined in 3 Del.C.
§902(6) and as shown on Exhibit "A" (hereinafter referred to as the "Property"), which Grantor desires to be included in
a Forestland Preservation Area. The Property is located in ____ County, Delaware, and is more fully described in
whole or in part in a Deed recorded in the Office of the Recorder of Deeds in and for ____ County, Delaware in Deed
Book ____, Page ____, and being County Parcel No. ____.  The Property consists of ____ acres on which ____ acres
are classified as Forestlands.

B. The public and the economy benefits from the protection and conservation of Forestlands, including
the protection of scenic areas for public visual enjoyment from the public right of way. The conservation and protection
of Forestlands as a valued natural and ecological resource provides needed space for clean air as well as for aesthetic
purposes, and the public will benefit from the conservation, protection, development and improvement of Forestlands
for the production of timber.

C. GRANTEE has declared that the preservation of prime Forestlands is vital to the public interest of the
State, the region, and the nation through its economic, environmental, and productive benefits.

D. GRANTOR desires and intends that the Forestlands of the Property be preserved, protected, and
maintained, and in consideration of those benefits conferred under 3 Del.C. §935, the Grantor is willing to enter into
this Agreement.

E. GRANTEE is entitled to enforce this Forestland Preservation Area Agreement and to preserve and
protect for ten years from the effective date of this Agreement, or any extension period, the Property subject to the
restrictions imposed under this Agreement.

RESTRICTIONS:

NOW THEREFORE, in consideration of the foregoing and as required by 3 Del.C. §934, the undersigned
GRANTOR agrees to the following restrictions which shall apply to the Property:

1. No rezoning or major subdivision of the Property, or any portion thereof, shall be allowed.
2. Activities conducted on the Property shall be limited to forestry production, forestry operations, forestry

management and control, wildlife habitat management, and related activities, as defined in 3 Del.C. §934. Grantor shall
manage the Parcel in accordance with a forest management plan prepared by a professional forester that addresses
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the Grantor's forest management goals for the Parcel.  The plan shall contain, at a minimum, aerial and soil maps of
the Property, a description and analysis of the forest by management unit, and silvicultural prescriptions for each
management unit. The plan shall be made available for inspection by the State Forester's office and the plan shall be
revised and updated at a minimum every five years.

3. If the Property contains at least thirty (30) acres, one (1) location containing no more than one (1) acre
of land may be designated for seasonal recreational dwelling usage provided the use of the designated area does not
adversely affect the forestland use of the Property. Residential use of the Property shall be limited to usage of no more
than one (1) acre of land for each twenty (20) acres of usable land on the Property, with a maximum of ten (10) acres of
land being used for dwelling housing on the Property. The establishment or existence of any seasonal housing will be
counted against the total allowable permanent housing acreage. The Property consists of  _________ acres, of which
acres are usable for forestry and related uses. With respect to the acreage allowed for dwelling housing, there shall be
a limit of three (3) dwelling houses for residential use placed on the allowable acreage at three (3) locations to be
designated by the Grantor, unless there exists three (3) or more dwelling houses on the Parcel as of the date hereof, in
which case the allowable acreage shall be allocated to the existing dwelling houses and no additional dwelling houses
shall be allowed. There are currently  ____ dwelling houses located on the Property, and only _____ additional dwelling
houses shall be allowed.;

4. No conversion of the Forestlands to cropland, pasture land, open space or other types of land uses
shall be allowed.

5. No permanent commercial or industrial structures shall be located on the Property.
6. No mining, commercial or extractive uses shall be conducted on the Property.
7. No disposal, burial, storage, or stock piling of junk, vehicles, equipment, liquid waste, solid waste or

other liquid or solid materials, except that wastewater spray irrigation shall be allowed utilizing best available treatment
technology with storage and treatment facilities located on lands other than Forestland preservation areas. 

8. The allowability of a general use, conditional use, special use or other use under any zoning law or
ordinance shall not have any effect on the restrictions imposed on the Property under this Agreement.

9. This Agreement shall become effective as of the date the necessary approvals have been rendered
and the Secretary of Agriculture has either failed to exercise or waived the right of rejection allowed within the thirty
(30) day period following Foundation action on the Forestland Area Application. At the time of recording of the
Agreement the Foundation shall certify the date of creation of the Forestland Area or extension thereto, and such date
shall serve as the effective date of this Agreement.

10. This Agreement shall remain in effect for a minimum period of ten (10) years from the effective date.
Unless GRANTOR provides written notification to the Foundation of intent to withdraw the Property from the Forestland
Area at least six (6) months prior to expiration date of this Agreement or any extension thereto, this Agreement shall
continue for additional five (5) year periods.

11. This Agreement shall be considered a covenant which runs with and binds the Property and the terms
and conditions shall be subject to specific performance, and other action allowed under 3 Del.C. §939. GRANTOR
agrees to abide by the provisions of 3 Del.C. Chapter 9 and the duly adopted regulations thereunder as such
provisions relate to the Property.

12. By executing this Agreement the GRANTOR verifies that individually or collectively GRANTOR holds a
fee simple interest in the Property and is entitled to enter into this Agreement. GRANTOR further verifies that the
information contained in the Forestland Area Application is true and correct.

13. The Agreement shall be binding on the heirs, successors and assigns of GRANTOR. Prior to any
transfer of any interest in the Property during the term of this Agreement, GRANTOR shall provide advance written
notification of this Agreement and the restrictions contained herein to the party acquiring such interest and a copy of
such written notification shall be provided to the Foundation.

SIGNATURES APPEAR ON FOLLOWING PAGES

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have set their hands and seals this_________ day of
A.D. 20___.

WITNESS:
_____________________________ ________________________(SEAL)
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_____________________________ ________________________(SEAL)

STATE OF ______________) SS:________________
COUNTY OF ____________)

ON THIS, the _________ day of ___________________, 20__, before me, the undersigned Notary Public for
the State and County aforesaid, personally appeared ____, known to me (or satisfactorily proven) to be the person or
persons whose names are subscribed to the within instrument and acknowledged that ____ executed the same for
purposes therein contained.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and notarial seal.

____________________________________
Notary Public
___________________________________
NOTARY NAME - TYPED OR PRINTED
My Commission Expires: ________________

I, THE UNDERSIGNED, being the Chairman of the Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation or
authorized assignee of the Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation, hereby execute this Forestland
Preservation Area Agreement on behalf of the Foundation, and certify that the Forestland Preservation Area or
extension of existing Forestland Area has been established as of, 20__.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand and seal this __________day of _______________, 20__.

WITNESS:

_____________________         _____________________________________(SEAL)
Chairman, Delaware Agricultural
Lands Preservation Foundation or Authorized Designee

STATE OF _____________)
SS: _________________

COUNTY OF ___________)

ON THIS, the _____ day of ___________, 20___, before me, the undersigned Notary Public for the County
and State aforesaid, personally appeared, ____________________, known to me (or satisfactorily proven) to be the
person or persons whose names are subscribed to the within instrument and acknowledged that he/she/they executed
the same for the purposes therein contained.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and notarial seal.

___________________________________
Notary Public

___________________________________
NOTARY NAME - TYPED OR PRINTED
My Commission Expires: _______________

CERTIFICATION:

The Property subject to this Forestland Preservation Area Agreement was accepted into a Forestland
Preservation Area on  ______________ which is the effective date of this Agreement.
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APPENDIX C

TAX MAP NO.:  ______________
DALPF Project I.D.#:  _________

Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
P.O. Box 598
Dover, Delaware 19903

DELAWARE AGRICULTURAL LANDS PRESERVATION FOUNDATION
ACKNOWLEDGMENT PURSUANT TO 3 Del.C. §934(c)

WHEREAS, ____, ("Transferor(s)") are the owner(s) of forestlands comprised of ____ acres located at ____,
Delaware, said lands lying in ____ County, and described in and subject to a Forestland Preservation Agreement (the
"Agreement"), dated ____, of record in the Office of the Recorder of Deeds in and for ____ County, State of Delaware
in Deed Book ____, Page ____; and

WHEREAS, Transferor(s) is/are about to transfer (____ acres of) subject lands to ____, ("Transferee(s)") as
shown on a subdivision plot dated ____, performed by ____, and about to be recorded in the Office of the Recorder of
Deeds in and for ____ County, State of Delaware.

NOW, THEREFORE, in accordance with the requirements of 3 Del.C. §934(c), Transferor(s) and Transferee(s)
acknowledge their understanding of the acreage allowed for dwelling housing, and the restrictions which apply to the
real property about to be conveyed, and that said lands are subject to the referenced Agreement, the provisions of 3
Del.C. ch. 9 and the regulations adopted pursuant thereto. Transferor(s) and Transferee(s) agree to be bound by
same. Transferee(s) shall be allowed ____ acres of dwelling housing. Transferor(s) will retain ____ acres of said lands,
of which ____ acres are currently used for dwelling housing. Transferor(s) shall be allowed ____ additional acre(s) for
dwelling housing. Transferor(s) shall have the right to designate _____________ locations for residential use and
Transferee(s) shall have the right to designate ____________ locations for residential use.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Transferor(s) and Transferee(s) have executed this Acknowledgment this
_________ day of ___________________, 20____.

Transferor(s):

__________________________________________                                    ___________(SEAL)
Witness
__________________________________________                                    ___________(SEAL)
Witness

Transferee(s):

__________________________________________                                    ___________(SEAL)
Witness

__________________________________________                                    ___________(SEAL)
Witness

STATE OF DELAWARE)
 : SS

COUNTY OF __________

BE IT REMEMBERED that on this ________ day of  ________________, A.D. 20____, personally came
before me, the Subscriber, a Notary Public for the State and County aforesaid, ____, and ____, parties to this
Indenture, known to me personally to be such, and they acknowledged this Indenture to be their act and deed.

GIVEN under my Hand and Seal of office the day and year aforesaid.
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_______________________________________
Notary Public Signature
_______________________________________
Notary Name - Printed or Typed
My Commission Expires: __________________

APPENDIX D

DELAWARE AGRICULTURAL LANDS PRESERVATION FOUNDATION FORESTLAND PRESERVATION 
EASEMENT APPLICATION

Please Type or Print

I/We 
("Owner(s)"), of certain forestlands that have been established by recorded agreement as a Forestland Preservation
Area in  County, Delaware, apply to the Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation ("Foundation") to sell a
Forestland Preservation Easement ("Easement"). The Forestland Preservation Easement sale to the Foundation is
offered in consideration of not less than:

1) $                 for the entire forest; or 2) $  ________ per acre; or 3) an amount to be determined by appraisal and
acceptable to the Owner and the Foundation $ 

The forestlands to be subject to the Easement total ________________ acres and consist of (check one):

_____ the entire property covered by and described in the Forestland Preservation Area Agreement.

_____ the property outlined on the Forestland Preservation Area map attached hereto 
(highlight the land proposed for a Forestland Preservation Easement).

Attach drawing showing the approximate location and acreage, if any, Applicant intends to designate for seasonal
dwelling or residential use.

Tax Parcel Number(s): __________________________________________________________________________
Deed Reference(s):    ___________________________________________________________________________
Leases/Timber Agreements:_____________________________________________________________________
Street/Road Location:  __________________________________________________________________________
Mortgages or Liens on the Property:_______________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Easements/Right-of-Way (identify, if any): __________________________________________________________
# of Dwelling Units:______________   Date of Forest Management Plan:_________________________________
Applicant(s): Corporate or Business Name:  _______________________________________________________
Federal I.D. Number (if applicant is a corporation or business): _________________________________________
Name: ______________________________________________________________________________________
Address: ____________________________________________________________________________________
Telephone Number: (H)______________ (W) ________________(Cell) __________________________________
Email Address: _______________________________________________________________________________

LAND TYPE AND USE

Forestlands:___________________     acres Residence/Buildings________________     acres

Seasonal Dwelling: _______________acres Farm Structures:    _________________     acres
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 10, ISSUE 1, SATURDAY, JULY 1, 2006



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 25
Tillable Cropland: ___________________ acres Open Space:       ___________________     acres

Pasture:___________________     acres Other (Specify):   ___________________     acres

1. MINERAL/TIMBER RIGHTS:  Does a party or parties other than yourself own or lease mineral or timber rights
on this property? Yes _____ No _____ If yes, secure signatures and addresses of such parties:
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

I/We submit this application, true and complete, to convey a Forestlands Preservation Easement to the
Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation, and declare that good title is provided to the premises,
free of encumbrances such as liens, mortgages, options, rights of others in extraction or mineral rights, timber
rights, land use restrictions, adverse ownership interests, and other encumbrances which would adversely
impact the State of Delaware's interest in the farmland tract.  I/We understand that any false information may
be cause for rejection of application.

____________________  ______________ _____________________________
Landowner Signature      Social Security # Date

____________________ ______________ _____________________________
Landowner Signature Social Security # Date

____________________ ______________ _____________________________
Landowner Signature Social Security # Date

____________________ ______________ _____________________________
Landowner Signature    Social Security # Date

____________________ _______________ _____________________________
Landowner Signature Social Security # Date

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

File #: ____________________District Name:____________________ Date Received:____________________

APPENDIX E

Tax Map No(s).:
Prepared By: Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation

2320 S. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE  19901

Return To: Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
116 W. Water Street
Dover, DE  19904

FORESTLAND PRESERVATION EASEMENT

STATE OF DELAWARE FORESTLANDS PRESERVATION PROGRAM

THIS PRESERVATION EASEMENT, made, granted, assigned and conveyed this _______ day of
____________________, A.D. 200_, by __________, whose address is ________ and who are hereinafter referred to
as "Grantor", and the DELAWARE AGRICULTURAL LANDS PRESERVATION FOUNDATION, a body politic and
corporate constituting a public instrumentality of the State of Delaware, and which is hereinafter referred to as
"Grantee" and/or "Foundation."
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WHEREAS, Grantor is fee simple title holder of certain lands situated in ________ Hundred, Kent County, Delaware,
being of record in Deed Book ___, Page ___ at the Office of the Recorder of Deeds, in and for ____ County, at _____,
Delaware, hereinafter referred to as the "Parcel" and more particularly described in Exhibit "A" (annexed hereto); and
as shown on a plot entitled "Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation - Lands of _______" as prepared by
_______, dated _______ and recorded in the aforesaid Office of the Recorder of Deeds in Plot Book _______, Page
_______ (hereinafter the "Plot").

WHEREAS, the General Assembly of the State of Delaware has declared that the preservation of the State's farmlands
and forestlands is considered essential to maintaining forestry as a viable industry and as an important contributor to
Delaware's economy; and

WHEREAS, the General Assembly of the State of Delaware has recognized that a need exists to create sufficient
economic incentives and benefits to encourage landowners to voluntarily place viable forestlands under protective
restrictions through the creation of and participation in forestland preservation areas and sale and/or donation of
development rights;

WHEREAS, the Grantor desires to grant and convey to the Foundation a forestlands preservation easement as
provided in Chapter 9, Title 3 of the Delaware Code Annotated.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Grantor, for and in consideration of the sum of ______________ DOLLARS ($______.__),
the receipt and sufficiency of which are hereby acknowledged, and in consideration of the benefits conferred under 3
Del.C. Ch. 9, hereby grants and conveys to the Foundation, its successors and assigns, a forestlands preservation
easement on and over the Parcel, and covenants and promises that the Parcel will be owned, used and conveyed
subject to, and not in violation of, the following restrictions:

1. No rezoning or major subdivision of the Parcel shall be allowed.
2. Activities conducted on the Parcel shall be limited to forestry production, forestry operations, forestry

management and control, wildlife habitat management, and related activities, as defined in 3 Del.C. §934.
3. The allowability of a general use, conditional use, special use or other use under any zoning law or

ordinance shall not have any effect on the restrictions imposed on the Parcel under this easement.
4. No conversion of the forestlands to cropland, pastureland, open space or other types of land uses shall

be allowed.
5. No permanent commercial or industrial structures shall be located on the Parcel.
6. No mining, commercial or extractive uses unrelated to forestry operations shall be conducted on the

Parcel.
7.  Residential use of the Parcel shall be limited to usage of no more than one (1) acre of land for each

twenty (20) acres of usable land on the Parcel, with a maximum of ten (10) acres of land being used for dwelling
housing on the Parcel.  The Parcel consists of ______ acres, of which           acres are usable for forestry and related
uses. With respect to the acreage allowed for dwelling housing, there shall be a limit of three (3) dwelling houses for
residential use placed on the allowable acreage at the three (3) locations designated on the Plot as "Residential
Acreage", unless there exists three (3) or more dwelling houses on the Parcel as of the date hereof, in which case the
allowable acreage shall be allocated to the existing dwelling houses and no additional dwelling houses shall be
allowed.  There are currently  ____ dwelling houses located on the Property, and only _____ additional dwelling
houses shall be allowed.

8. This easement shall be deemed a covenant which runs with and binds the Parcel permanently and in
perpetuity, the terms and conditions of which shall be subject to specific performance and other action allowed under 3
Del.C. §920 and §939. This easement shall be binding upon the heirs, executors, administrators, successors and
assigns of the Grantor.  This easement may be managed, administered and enforced by the Grantee or the State of
Delaware.

9. The provisions of Title 3, Chapter 9 of the Delaware Code Annotated and duly adopted regulations
thereunder as such provisions relate to the Parcel shall govern this easement.

10. Grantor shall manage the Parcel in accordance with a forest management plan prepared by a
professional forester that addresses the Grantor's forest management goals for the Parcel.  The plan shall contain, at a
minimum, aerial and soil maps of the Parcel, a description and analysis of the forest by management unit, and
silvicultural prescriptions for each management unit. The plan shall be made available for inspection by the State
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Forester's office and the plan shall be revised and updated at a minimum every five years.
11. Notwithstanding anything stated herein to the contrary, the rights afforded Grantee under this

Preservation Easement may only be assigned by Grantee to a "qualified organization" within the meaning of Section
170(b)(1)(A)(v), 170(c)(1), 170(h)(3)(A) and 170(h) of the Internal Revenue Code or the comparable provision in any
subsequent revision of the Code and only with assurances that the purposes of this Preservation Easement, as
described herein, will be maintained in perpetuity by such Assignee.  If any such Assignee shall be dissolved or shall
abandon this Preservation Easement or the rights and duties of enforcement herein set forth, the Preservation
Easement and the rights of enforcement shall revert to the Grantee, and if the Grantee shall be dissolved and if the
terms of the dissolution fail to provide a successor, then the State of Delaware, or its successors or assigns, shall
appoint an appropriate successor as Grantee, and any such successor shall be a "qualified organization" within the
meaning of Section 170(h) of the Internal Revenue Code or the comparable provision in any subsequent revision of the
Code. No assignment may be made by the Grantee of its rights under this Preservation Easement unless the Grantee,
as a condition of such Assignment, requires the Assignee to carry out the conservation purposes of this Preservation
Easement, as described herein. Grantee agrees to hold this Preservation Easement exclusively for conservation
purposes as defined in Section 170(h)(4)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code.

12. The Preservation Easement granted hereunder shall be perpetual. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the said _________________ have hereunto set their hands and seals the day and year first
above written.

SIGNED AND DELIVERED
IN THE PRESENCE OF:
____________________________ ______________________________(SEAL)
Witness

STATE OF DELAWARE)
) SS.

COUNTY OF _____________

BE IT REMEMBERED that on this _____ day of _____________, A.D. 200_, personally came before me, the
Subscriber, a Notary Public for the State and County aforesaid, _____, parties to this Indenture, known to me
personally to be such, and they acknowledged this Indenture to be their act and deed.

GIVEN under my hand and seal of office the day and year aforesaid.

_________________________ 
Notary Public Signature
Notary Name - Typed or Printed
My Commission Expires:______

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code, Section 10005; 29 Delaware Code

Section 4815(b)(3)c (3 Del.C. §10005; 29 Del.C. §4815(b)(3)c)
3 DE Admin. Code 1001

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10005, proposes to amend rule
15.14.1 to permit the imposition of penalties if a horse does not report for testing. The Commission will hold a public
hearing on the proposed rule change on July 18, 2006. Written comments should be sent to John F. Wayne, Executive
Director, Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, 777 Delaware Park Boulevard, Wilmington, DE 19804.

The proposed rule change is as follows:
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1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

15.0 Medication; Testing Procedures

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

15.14 Blood Gas Testing
15.14.1 The Commission may use a testing machine that measures carbon dioxide levels in

pre-race samples using a Base Excess testing protocol.  A trainer whose horse is selected for blood gas testing and
fails to report for the test will be penalized as if there was a positive test result.

15.14.2 Under this protocol, the prohibitive Base Excess concentrations are as follows: Base
Excess level of 10.0 mmol/l (mEq/l) or higher for non-furosemide (Salix) treated horses and Base Excess (BE) level of
12.0 mmol/l (mEq/l) or higher for furosemide (Salix) treated horse. The level of uncertainty will be included before it is
considered a violation of these Rules. The level of uncertainty is 0.4 mmol/l (mEq/l) and a positive test report must
include this level of uncertainty. A horse must show a Base Excess (BE) level of 10.4 mmol/l (mEq/l) or higher for non-
furosemide (Salix) treated horse and Base Excess (BE) level of 12.4 mmol/l (mEq/l) or higher for furosemide (Salix)
treated horse, in order for a violation to be reported under this Rule.

15.14.3 A licensee has the right, pursuant to the quarantine procedure outlined at 15.15, or by
such other procedures as may be established from time to time by the Commission, to attempt to prove that a horse
has a naturally high carbon dioxide level in excess of the above-mentioned levels.

15.15 Quarantine Procedure for Carbon Dioxide Positive Tests (Prerace Or Postrace)
15.15.1 Detention/Quarantine of Horses: The owner or trainer must request use of the

quarantine procedure by sending written notice to the Stewards within forty-eight (48) hours of notification of the
positive carbon dioxide test report. The owner or trainer will then be permitted, totally at his/her own expense, to make
the necessary scheduling arrangements with the Stewards and the Commission Veterinarian. The horse in question
will be quarantined on the grounds for periodic blood gas testing by the DTRC (up to three days) at the trainer's
expense. All caretaker activities for the horse in question will be the responsibility of the horse's trainer.

15.15.2 Procedure: The owner or trainer will be responsible for providing the DTRC with a
minimum check for $1,500.00 to cover the costs for the quarantine. A professionally trained Track Security Officer must
be with the horse at all times, and the Security Officer must be knowledgeable about the importance of monitoring all
activity pertaining to the quarantined horse.

15.15.3 The quarantine of a horse is subject to the following mandatory requirements:
15.15.3.1 The owner or trainer will be required to deposit sufficient funds with the DTRC

Stewards to cover the costs of the quarantine of the horse. The minimum quarantine cost will be $1,500, and this figure
may be higher if additional special circumstances are required for a particular horse. None of these procedures will be
initiated until the Commission has in its possession a certified check or other method of payment acceptable to the
Commission. The owner or trainer is responsible for all costs for the quarantine, including but not limited to, the costs
of: stall bedding, daily cleaning of the stall, feed and hay, stall rent, hourly guard salary, portable toilet rental, veterinary
charge, courier or shipping charges to the laboratory, laboratory analysis costs. Unused funds will be returned to the
trainer.

15.15.3.2 The expected period of the quarantine will be seventy-two hours.
15.15.3.3 The owner or trainer is required to execute a reasonable liability waiver form if

requested to do so by the track for the quarantine of the horse on track grounds.
15.15.3.4 The owner or trainer is obligated to reimburse the track if the racing

association is required to purchase additional insurance to cover risks from the quarantine of the trainer's horse. The
owner or trainer is also responsible for any additional costs required by the track to pad or otherwise specially equip the
quarantine stall.

15.15.3.5 All activity of the quarantined horse is observed, documented, and recorded
by security officers for the track and the DTRC.

15.15.3.6 The Commission will be responsible for arranging for and providing for
bedding, feed, water, and daily cleaning of the stall, all of which are at the owner's expense. Feed for the horse will be
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purchased by DTRC officials as specified by the owner or trainer. Samples of the feed will be retained by the DTRC
designated official.

15.15.3.7 Each bale of hay/straw will be intact and uncut for inspection of contraband.
Four small samples of hay are to be taken from the bale of hay used to feed the animal (one from each end of the bale
of hay and two from the middle of the bale of hay). These samples with the ingredient tags from the bag of feed used by
the horse will be retained by the DTRC designated official.

15.15.3.8 Every trainer, groom, or caretaker is subject to continuous observation and
may be searched when with the horse for contraband.

15.15.3.9 Horses may be trained, but if leg paints or salves are used, they must be new
and in unopened containers, and the track Security Officer must monitor the preparation of the horse.

15.15.3.10 A Security Officer must observe the horse during training and ensure that it
does not leave the track except to return to the quarantine stall.

15.15.3.11 A sick horse must only be determined ill by the Commission’s Veterinarian
and the quarantine of the horse will be terminated. Any bills incurred for the quarantine of the horse prior to the illness
and termination of the detention will be prorated.

15.15.3.12 Stalls for the quarantine of horses are designated by the Stewards of the
DTRC, in cooperation with the racetrack.

15.15.3.13 Trainers can restrict water based on previous pre-race preparation schedules.
15.15.3.14 Trainers are expected to train their horse in the same manner as the horse

was trained on previous racing events. The horse will be equipped with all the items that it would normally carry, taken
to the paddock, and handled in a manner similar to previous racing events.

15.15.3.15 Blood samples will be taken from the quarantined horse by the Commission
Veterinarian, as he or she deems appropriate and necessary during the quarantine period. A blood sample should be
taken when the horse first enters the quarantine stall and again at the pre-arranged time between sixty (60) and
seventy-two (72) hours. At the discretion of the Commission, another sample may be taken between the initial sample
and the sample taken at the cessation of the quarantine period. Blood samples will only be taken from the horse that is
at rest for a period of time approved by the Commission Veterinarian. The owner or trainer or his/her representative
must be present and witness the collection of the blood samples. Blood samples will be shipped promptly to the
Commission's designated testing laboratory, pursuant to the Commission's standard chain-of-custody procedures.

15.15.3.16 At the conclusion of the quarantine period, the party requesting the quarantine
will be provided timely notice of the test results from the DTRC. The trainer may present such evidence at a hearing
before the Stewards if he or she attempts to prove that the horse has a naturally high carbon dioxide level.

1 DE Reg. 508 (11/1/97)
1 DE Reg. 1184 (2/1/98)
3 DE Reg. 754 (12/1/99)
4 DE Reg. 179 (7/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1131 (1/1/01)
4 DE Reg. 1821 (5/1/01)
6 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/02)
6 DE Reg. 1205 (3/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 766 (12/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1540 (5/1/04)
8 DE Reg. 1699 (6/1/05)
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 505

PUBLIC NOTICE

505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 505 High School Graduation Requirements

and Diplomas. The amendments reflect the recommendations from the report of the High School Graduation
Requirements Committee. The Committee was formed under the auspices of the P-20 Council following an analysis of
Delaware’s graduation requirements by Achieve, Inc., a national educational nonprofit organization created by the
nation’s governors and business leaders. Achieve, Inc., has conducted research indicating that high school students
across the country are not being adequately prepared for success in college and in the workforce.

The amendments include increasing the requirement of three (3) credits in mathematics to four (4) credits
beginning with the graduating class of 2011 and requiring each student to have an Individualized Learning Plan (ILP).
The Computer Literacy requirement will be removed from the high school requirements for the graduation class of 2011
and will become a component of the middle school curriculum.

Beginning with the class of 2013 two (2) credits in a world language will be required for graduation.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state

achievement standards? The amended regulation will help improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards by increasing the required courses and increasing the rigor required in order to receive a high
school diploma.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The
amended regulation will help ensure that all students receive an equitable education since all of the high school
graduation requirements apply to all students except students with IEPs.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately
protected?  The amended regulation will continue to help ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately
protected through a continuation of the health and physical education requirements for graduation.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses graduation requirements not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the
local board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity. 

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other
state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation will be consistent with
and an incentive to the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies
addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less
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burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.
10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation?  There

may be cost factors involved in adding additional teachers and counselors to facilitate adding additional course work
and managing the Individual Learning Plans (ILPs) required by the amendments.

505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas

1.0 Credit Requirements
1.1 No public school student shall be granted a State of Delaware Diploma unless such student shall have

successfully completed a minimum of twenty two credits in order to graduate including: 4 credits in English Language
Arts, 3 credits in mathematics, 3 credits in science, 3 credits in social studies, 1 credit in physical education, 1/2 credit
in health, 1 credit in computer literacy, 3 credits in a career pathway, and 3 1/2 credits in elective courses.

1.2 Definitions:
“Career Pathway” means a planned program of sequenced or specialized courses designed to

develop knowledge and skills in a particular career or academic area.
“Credit” means a minimum of 135 hours of actual classroom instruction or a demonstration of

competency.
“Credit for Computer Literacy” means credit granted toward graduation at any point when the

student can demonstrate competency in the required skill areas either through an integrated approach, a specific
course, or a demonstration of accumulated knowledge over the student’s educational career.

1.3 Local school boards and charter schools charter school boards may establish requirements over and
above the minimum number of credits required by the State Department of Education.

1.0 Definitions:
"Career Pathway" means a planned program of at least 3 credits in sequenced or specialized courses

designed to develop knowledge and skills in a particular career or academic area.
"Credit" means  the acquisition of skills and knowledge at a satisfactory level as determined by the district and

charter school boards through 135 hours (a Carnegie Unit) of actual classroom instruction or through locally approved
options contained in Section 8.0.

"Credit for Computer Literacy" means credit granted toward graduation at any point when the student can
demonstrate competency in the required skill areas either through an integrated approach, a specific course, or a
demonstration of accumulated knowledge over the student's educational career. 

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.
"English Language Arts" means those components of reading, writing and oral communication that are

included in the State Content Standards for high school English Language Arts as required in 14 DE Admin. Code 501.
"Health Education" means those components that are included in the State Content Standards for high

school health education as required in 14 DE Admin. Code 501.
"High School" means grades 9 through 12.
"Individual Learning Plan (ILP)" means a plan for a student to reach the goal of high school graduation

inclusive of at least one year of post high school activity. This plan also serves as a guide for the student's choice of
courses including any support services necessary for the student to graduate from high school.

"Instructional Support Team" means those educators, counselors and specialists or other personnel whose
responsibility it is to monitor student progress in consultation with students and their parent(s), guardian(s) or Relative
Caregiver and to recommend  and arrange support services.

"Mathematics" means those components of number sense, algebra, geometry, statistics and probability
combined with problem solving, reasoning, communicating, and making connections that are included in the State
Content Standards for high school mathematics as required in 14 DE Admin. Code 501 either through integrated
courses or in courses titles such as Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, Trigonometry. Pre-Calculus, Calculus, Discrete
Mathematics, Statistics, and Probability.

"Physical Education" means those components that are included in the State Content Standards for high
school physical education as required in 14 DE Admin. Code 501.

"Science" means those components of the nature of science which include inquiry, materials and their
properties, energy and its effects, Earth in space, Earth's dynamic systems, life processes, diversity and continuity of
living things, and ecology that are included in the State Content Standards for high school science as required in 14 DE
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Admin. Code 501 either through integrated courses or in course titles such as Earth Science, Biology and Chemistry-
Physics.

"Social Studies" means those components of civics, economics, geography, and history that are included the
State Content Standards for high school social studies as required in 14 DE Admin. Code 501 either through
integrated courses or in course titles such as United States History, World History, Geography, Economics, and Civics.

"Support Services" means those academic interventions such as tutoring; extra time before school, in
school, or after school; summer school, a fifth year of high school or any other strategy to provide student academic
assistance.

"World Languages" RESERVED

2.0 Current Graduation Requirements
A public school student shall be granted a State of Delaware Diploma when such student has successfully completed a
minimum of twenty two credits in order to graduate including: 4 credits in English Language Arts, 3 credits in
mathematics, 3 credits in science, 3 credits in social studies, 1 credit in physical education, 1/2 credit in health, 1 credit
in computer literacy, 3 credits in a Career Pathway, and 3 1/2 credits in elective courses.

3.0 Graduation Requirements Beginning with the Class of 2011 (Freshman Class of 2007-2008)
3.1 Beginning with the graduating class of  2011, a public school student shall be granted a State of

Delaware Diploma when such student has successfully completed a minimum of twenty two (22) credits in order to
graduate including: four (4) credits in English Language Arts, four (4) credits in Mathematics; three (3) credits in
Science, three (3) credits in Social Studies, one (1) credit in physical education, one half (1/2) credit in health
education, three (3) credits in a Career Pathway, and three and one half (3 ½) credits in elective courses.

3.1.1 Students shall complete mathematics course work that includes no less than the equivalent of
the traditional requirements of Geometry, Algebra I and Algebra II courses.

3.1.2 Scientific investigations related to the State Science Standards shall be included in all three
science course requirements.

3.1.3 During the senior year students shall maintain a credit load each semester that earns them at
least a majority of credits that could be taken that semester including one (1) of the four credits required in
Mathematics.

3.1.3.1 Senior year credits shall include regular high school course offerings, the options
available in 8.0 or a combination of both.

3.1.3.1.1 Options for the senior year in 3.1.3.1 that the districts and charter
schools provide shall be submitted to the Department with a copy to the office of the State Board of Education for
review.

4.0 Monitoring Student Progress
4.1 Beginning with the 2007-2008 school year each district or charter school board, as applicable, shall

require each middle school to develop an Individual Learning Plan (ILP) for all eighth grade students. ILP's shall be
developed by the guidance counselor, the student, the student's parent(s), guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver, and at
least one core content teacher. For the 2007-2008 school year only each district or charter school board, as applicable,
shall also require each high school to develop an Individual Learning Plan (ILP) for all ninth grade students.

4.2 Beginning with the 2007- 2008 school year each high school shall establish  Instructional Support
Teams to monitor student progress in consultation with students and their parent(s), guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver
to recommend and arrange support services.

4.2.1 Each marking period student progress on the ILP shall be monitored by Instructional Support
Teams.  Students not making satisfactory progress in the courses required for graduation in English Language Arts,
Mathematics, Science or Social Studies shall receive support services.

4.2.2. Students who have failed courses required for graduation in English Language Arts,
Mathematics, Science or Social Studies at the end of any high school year may have their ILP revised to include
appropriate support services. A fifth year of high school may be an option for inclusion in the student's ILP.  Changes in
a student's ILP shall require consultation with the student and with the student's parent(s), guardian(s) or Relative
Caregiver, if appropriate.
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5.0 Credit Requirements Beginning with the Graduation Class of 2013 (Freshman Class of 2009-2010)
Beginning with the graduating class of 2013, a public school student shall be granted a State of Delaware

Diploma when such student has successfully completed a minimum of twenty four (24) credits in order to graduate
including: four (4) credits in English Language Arts, four (4) credits in Mathematics, three (3) credits in Science, three
(3) credits in Social Studies, two (2) credits in a World Language, one (1) credit in physical education, one half (1/2)
credit in health education, three (3) credits in a Career Pathway, and three and one half (3 ½) credits in elective
courses.

5.1 World Language  (RESERVED)

6.0 Career Pathway
Districts and charter school boards shall establish policies concerning the purpose and content of their Career

Pathways.

7.0 Additional Credit Requirements
District and charter school boards may establish additional credit requirements for graduation above the

minimum number of credits required by the Department.

2.08.0 Options for Awarding Credit Toward High School Graduation
2.81 Local school boards and charter school boards of directors District and charter school boards are

authorized to award credit toward high school graduation for the following activities, on the condition that the activities
incorporate any applicable state content standards. Before awarding credit for any of the following activities, the local
school board or districts and charter school boards of directors shall have adopted a policy approving the activity for
credit and establishing any specific conditions for the award of credit for the activity. Such policy shall be applicable to
each school within the district or governed by the charter school board of directors.or each charter high school.

2.8.1.1 Courses taken at or through an accredited community college, two or four year college.
2.8.1.2 Voluntary community service as defined in 14 Del.C. §§8901A, and 8902A.
2.8.1.3 Supervised work experience in the school and the community which meets the educational

objectives or special career interest of the individual student.
2.8.1.4 Independent study.
2.8.1.5 Correspondence Courses.
2.8.1.6 Distance learning courses. These courses may be delivered by the teacher to the learner in

real time, online or by video.
2.8.1.7 High school courses taken while in the middle school in conjunction with an articulated

agreement between the district middle school and the district high school(s). Such credit shall also transfer to a high
school in another district or to a charter school.

2.8.1.8 Course credit transferred from another high school.
2.8.1.9 Course credit earned through summer or evening school classes, as a member of the military

service or as part of the James H. Groves Adult High School.
2.8.1.10  Tutoring programs taught by a teacher certified in the subject being taught.
2.8.1.11  Course credit awarded by agencies or instrumentalities of the state other than public

schools which provide educational services to students. A description of the program provided to the student, grades
given, and the number of clock hours of instruction or a demonstration of competency must be provided to the school
district or charter school prior to receipt of credit.

3.09.0High School Diplomas and the Certificate of Performance
39.1 A State sanctioned diploma shall be granted to students who meet the state and local district or charter

school requirements for graduation pursuant to regulation 14 Del.C. §152 (a) (b) (c) and (d).
39.2 A State sanctioned cCertificate of pPerformance will shall be granted to students who meet the

requirements of 14 Del.C. §152 (e).
39.3 Diplomas from one school year shall not be issued after December 31 of the next school year.
39.4 Duplicate diplomas or certificates of performance will not be issued, but legitimate requests for

validation of the diploma or the certificate of performance will be satisfied through a letter of certification. Requests for
diploma information from graduates of Delaware high schools should be directed to the high school the student was
attending at the time of graduation. If the school does not have the records then the student should contact the
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Department of Education in Dover for a notarized letter of certification that contains the name of the applicant, the
name of the school, the date of graduation, and the diploma registry number (if available).

39.5 State High School Diploma for World War II veterans pursuant to 14 Del.C. §159 (a) (b) (c)) 
39.5.1 “World War II Veteran” means any veteran who performed wartime service between

December 7, 1941 and December 31, 1946. If the veteran was in the service on December 31, 1946, continuous
service before July 16, 1947 is considered World War II.

39.5.2 The Department of Education shall provide a high school diploma to any World War II veteran
who: 

39.5.2.1 Left a Delaware high school prior to graduation in order to serve in the armed
forces of the United States.

39.5.2.2 Did not receive a high school diploma, or received a G.E.D., as a
consequence of such service and,

39.5.2.3 Was discharged from the armed forces under honorable circumstances.
39.5.3 The diploma may also be awarded posthumously if the deceased veteran meets the

qualifications in 39.5.2.1 through 39.5.2.3.
39.5.4 Applications for this high school diploma shall be made on forms designated by the Delaware

Department of Education and the Delaware Commission of Veterans Affairs and shall have a copy of the candidate’s
honorable discharge papers attached to the application.

4 DE Reg. 995 (12/1/00)
5 DE Reg. 625 (9/1/01)
7 DE Reg. 1344 (4/1/04)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code, Section 1220(a)  (14 Del.C. §1220(a))

14 DE Admin. Code 1526

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

1526 Standard Certificate English to Speakers of Other Languages

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,

seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1526 Standard Certificate English to
Speakers of Other Languages. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational personnel,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is necessary to amend this regulation to align it with changes in statute. The passage
of PRAXIS™ II, a test of content knowledge, is now required, where applicable and available, in addition to academic
preparation for the issuance of a Standard Certificate. Definitions were added, and course requirements were revised
to reflect current practice in the Education of English Language Learners.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state

achievement standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for the
issuance of a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to
practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students to help ensure
that students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The
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amended regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have
acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject
or to instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately
protected?   The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with the consent of the
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other
state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del.C.
requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended
regulation?   There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1526 Standard Certificate English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Teachers

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

English to Speakers of Other Languages Teachers (required for grades K to 12).
7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree program
or in addition to it, from a regionally accredited college or university of a professional development provided approved
by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
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license is issued.
“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a

particular content area.
“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and

Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Agriculture

Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Comprehensive Vocational Agriculture (required for grades 9 to 12, and valid in grades 5 to 8 in a
middle level school).

3.1.1 Bachelor's degree from an regionally accredited college or university and,
3.1.2 Professional Education

3.1.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher education program in Agriculture Comprehensive
or,

3.1.2.2 A minimum of 24 semester hours to include Human Development, Methods of
Teaching Agriculture, Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities, Effective Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education,
and,

3.1.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.1.3.1 Major in Agriculture (with courses from at least four areas of agriculture as listed in

3.1.3.2) or,
3.1.3.2 A minimum of 30 semester hours in Agriculture to include at least one course in each

of the following areas: Agricultural Economics, Animal Science, Entomology, Agricultural Engineering, Agronomy, Plant
Science, and Computer Science.

3.2 Agricultural Specialist shall be required for any person engaged as an instructor in a program of
specialized agricultural education such as Agricultural Mechanics, Horticulture, Agri-Business.

3.2.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university and,
3.2.2 Professional Education

3.2.2.1 A minimum of 24 semester hours to include Human Development, Methods of
Teaching Agriculture, Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities, Effective Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education,
and,

3.2.3 Technical Agriculture
3.2.3.1 A minimum of 15 semester hours of technical agriculture in the specialty area for

which the applicant is being employed or,
3.2.3.2 Two years of successful, full time employment in an occupation directly related to the

specialty area for which the applicant is being employed.
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Agriculture Teacher to an educator who holds a valid

Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status Certificate
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issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:
3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a

particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:
3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,

subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or
3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program

or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in Agriculture; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing school district or charter
school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.1.5 Demonstrating oral and written proficiency in English and satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) graduate or undergraduate credits, as more specifically set forth in 3.1.5.1 through 3.1.5.5.  With approval of a
committee comprised of the candidate's principal or other designated school administrator, a higher education
representative who teaches one of the approved courses, and a DOE representative, other verifiable professional
experience may be substituted for no more than nine (9) of the required credits.

3.1.5.1 Methods of Teaching English as a Second Language;
3.1.5.2 Second Language Acquisition;
3.1.5.3 Teaching Literacy for English Language Learners;
3.1.5.4 Second language Testing;
3.1.5.5 Structure of the English Language; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in agriculture;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as an Agriculture Teacher after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1516.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area. 

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit: 
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or 
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all
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required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate.  Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code, Section 1220(a)  (14 Del.C. §1220(a))

14 DE Admin. Code 1527

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

1527 Endorsement English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Teacher

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Repeal

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,

seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 1527 Endorsement English to
Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Teacher. The content of the regulation has been subsumed into amended
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regulation 1526 Standard Certificate English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL), making regulation 1527
unnecessary. The endorsement has not been used in recent years, and no currently employed teachers hold the
endorsement.

1527 Endorsement English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Teacher
Effective April 11, 2002

1.0 Standard Endorsement
The following shall be required for the Standard Endorsement in grades 9 to 12, in  grades 5 to 8 in

departmentalized middle level schools, and in adult education for individuals teaching content area courses
(mathematics, science, English, social studies, etc.) to classes primarily designed for or primarily composed of
students who are speakers of other languages. Optional for all other fully certified teachers.

1.1 Bachelor's degree from an accredited college and,
1.2 A standard Delaware certificate in the content area(s) which the individual is teaching to speakers of

other languages and,
1.3 A minimum of 15 semester hours of course work in teaching English as a second language to include

the following: Second Language Acquisition or Psycholinguistics, 3 semester hours, Methods of Teaching English as a
Second Language, 3 semester hours, Structure of the English Language, 3 semester hours, Second Language
Testing, 3 semester hours, Ethnic Studies or Multicultural Education, 3 semester hours.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited Standard Endorsement
2.1 Bachelor's degree from an accredited college and,
2.2 A standard Delaware certificate in the content area(s) which the individual is teaching to speakers of

other languages.

3.0 Endorsements issued for this position may include Standard and Limited Standard
5 DE Reg.  1904 (4/1/02)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code, Section 1220(a)  (14 Del.C. §1220(a))

14 DE Admin. Code 1537

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

1537 Standard Certificate Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,

seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1537 Standard Certificate Bilingual
Teacher (Spanish) Secondary. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational personnel,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is necessary to amend this regulation to align it with changes in statute. The passage
of PRAXIS™ II, a test of content knowledge, is now required, where applicable and available, in addition to academic
preparation, for the issuance of a Standard Certificate. Definitions were added to the regulation, its grade configuration
was changed from Secondary to K to 12, Spanish was deleted to be inclusive of other potential languages in which
bilingual programs may be offered, and to revise the course requirements to reflect current practice in the bilingual
education. The regulation will be renamed Standard Certificate Bilingual Teach (K to 12).
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C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state

achievement standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for the
issuance of a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to
practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students to help ensure
that students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The
amended regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have
acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject
or to instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately
protected?   The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with the consent of the
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other
state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del.C.
requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended
regulation?   There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1537 Standard Certificate Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary (K to 12)

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Bilingual Teachers (Spanish) Secondary (K to 12).
7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
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specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.
“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or

an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree program
or in addition to it, from a regionally accredited college or university of a professional development provided approved
by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Bilingual

Teacher (Spanish) Secondary to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the
following requirements:

3.1 A Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university and completion of a teacher
education program in Bilingual Education in the Language area of Spanish.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)
8 DE Reg.  80  (7/1/04)

4.0 Alternate Requirements
If the candidate does not meet the requirements in 3.0 the following shall apply:
4.1 Complete the required course work in a teacher education program at the secondary level (grades 7 to

12) in a content area such as Biology, English or Special Education plus the following:
4.1.1 Verification of language proficiency in Spanish as demonstrated by one of the two options

below:
4.1.1.1 Completion of a minimum of 15 semester hours from a regionally accredited college in

the language area of Spanish. This course work shall be at or above the intermediate level; and demonstration of oral
proficiency in the language area of Spanish; as adopted by the Standards Board and the State Board; or

4.1.1.2 Demonstration of content knowledge and oral proficiency in the language area of
Spanish by meeting the appropriate qualifying scores on the PRAXIS II Tests, as adopted by the Standards Board and
the State Board 

4.1.2 Demonstration of English speaking ability, when English is not the first language, by scoring
50 on the TOEFL: Test of Spoken English (TSE) and

4.1.3 In addition to 4.1.1 and 4.1.2 all candidates must meet the following requirements:
4.1.3.1 Completion of course work as indicated:
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4.1.3.1.1 3 semester hours Methods of Teaching English as a Second
Language; 

4.1.3.1.2 3 semester hours Second Language Testing;
4.1.3.1.3 3 semester hours Corrective Reading (English); or 3 semester hours

Corrective Reading (Spanish); and
4.1.3.2 Verification of knowledge of the Spanish culture as demonstrated by:

4.1.3.2.1 A three (3) semester hour course in Spanish culture; or
documentation of personal interaction with the target community via study abroad, work experience, formative
experience, etc.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)
8 DE Reg.  80  (7/01/04)

5.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as a Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C.
§1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 Standard Certificate
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Bilingual Teacher  (k to 12) to an educator who holds a

valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status
Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in Bilingual Education; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and 
Certification Program, the Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator
preparation programs as the Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after September 11, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of
fifteen (15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least
six (6) credits or their equivalent must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and 

3.1.5 Demonstrating oral and written proficiency in English and the target language of the bilingual
program, and satisfactory completion of fifteen (15) graduate or undergraduate credits in ESL or Bilingual education, as
more specifically set forth in 3.1.5.1 through 3.1.5.6. With approval of a Committee comprised of the candidate’s
principal or other designated school administrator, a higher education representative who teachers one of the approved
courses, and a DOE representative, other verifiable professional experiences may be substituted for no more than nine
(9) of the required credits.

3.1.5.1 Methods of Teaching English as a Second Language;
3.1.5.2 Second language Acquisition;
3.1.5.3 Teaching Literacy for English Language Learners;
3.1.5.4 Second Language Testing; 
3.1.5.5 Structure of the English Language; and

            3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a PRAXIS™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination.  Where no
PRAXIS™ II test is available, nationally recognized equivalent tests, such as the American Council on the Teaching of
Foreign Languages (ACTFL) Oral Proficiency Interview and the ACTFL Writing proficient test, may be substituted. For
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tests of languages using a Roman alphabet, candidates are required to achieve an Advanced Low level of the oral
skills and an Advanced Low level on the writing skills based on the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines. For tests of
languages using a non Roman alphabet, an Advanced Low Level on the oral skills and an Intermediate High level on
the writing skills based on the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines are required, or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Bilingual Education;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
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Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code, Section 1220(a)  (14 Del.C. §1220(a))

14 DE Admin. Code 1558

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

1558 Standard Certificate Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary and Middle

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Repeal

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,

seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 1558 Standard Certificate Bilingual
Teacher (Spanish) Primary and Middle. It is necessary to repeal this regulation as the content of the regulation has
been incorporated into amended regulation 1537 Standard Certificate Bilingual Teacher (K to 12), making regulation
1558 unnecessary.

1558 Standard Certificate Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary and Middle Level

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary and Middle Level (K to 8).
7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.
"License" means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the

license is issued.
"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed

knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.
7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Bilingual

Teacher (Spanish) Primary and Middle to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced
License; or Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who
meets the following requirements:

3.1 A Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university and completion of a teacher
education program in Elementary, Primary or Middle Level (grade configurations K to 8) Bilingual Education in the
Language Area of Spanish.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)
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4.0 Alternative Requirements
If the candidate does not meet the requirements in 3.0 the following shall apply:
4.1 Complete the required course work in a teacher education program in Elementary, Primary or Middle

Level (grade configurations K to 8) Regular Education plus provide the following:
4.1.1 Verification of language proficiency in Spanish as demonstrated by one of the two options

below:
4.1.1.1 Completion of a minimum of 15 semester hours from a regionally accredited college in

the language area of Spanish. This course work shall be at or above the intermediate level; and Demonstration of oral
proficiency in the language area of Spanish by meeting the appropriate qualifying score on the PRAXIS II Tests, as
adopted by the Standards Board and the State Board; or

4.1.1.2 Demonstration of English speaking ability, when English is not the first language, by
scoring 50 on the TOEFL: Test of Spoken English (TSE) and

4.1.2 In addition to 4.1.1 and 4.1.2 all candidates must meet the following requirements:
4.1.2.1 Completion of course work as indicated:

4.1.2.1.1 3 semester hours Methods of Teaching English as a Second
Language;

4.1.2.1.2 3 semester hours Second Language Testing;
4.1.2.1.3 3 semester hours Corrective Reading (English); or
4.1.2.1.4 3 semester hours Corrective Reading (Spanish); and

4.1.2.2 Verification of knowledge of the Spanish culture as demonstrated by:
4.1.2.2.1 A three (3) semester hour course in Spanish culture; or
4.1.2.2.2 Documentation of personal interaction with the target community via

study abroad, work experience, formative experience, etc.; and
7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)
8 DE Reg.  80 (7/01/04)

5.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as a Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary and Middle Level after that date must comply with the requirements set forth
in 14 Del.C. §1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code, Section 1220(a)  (14 Del.C. §1220(a))

14 DE Admin. Code 1570

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

1570 Standard Certificate Early Childhood Teacher Special Education

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,

seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1570 Standard Certificate Early
Childhood Teacher Special Education. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational
personnel, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is necessary to amend this regulation to align it with changes in statute.
The passage of PRAXIS™ II, a test of content knowledge, is now required, where applicable and available, in addition
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to academic preparation, for the issuance of a Standard Certificate. That requirement, in addition to a revised definition
of “educator”, has been added to the regulation. The grade configuation of the certificate has been changed to revise
the age range of the children served, and to align it with the Standard Certificate for Early Care and Education for
general education for children. Applicants who possess no prior course work or professional development in pedagogy
must also fulfill 15 credits or equivalent professional development.  Additional course work specific to special education
is required for individuals who hold a degree in an area other than special education.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state

achievement standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for the
issuance of a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to
practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students to help ensure
that students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The
amended regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have
acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject
or to instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately
protected?   The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with the consent of the
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other
state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation will be consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del.C.
requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended
regulation?   There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

360 Certification Early Childhood Teacher Special Education
Effective July 1, 1978

1.0 Standard License
The following shall be required for the Standard License for those teaching young children with disabilities (3 to

6 years of age) who are mildly and moderately disabled.
1.1 Bachelor's degree from an accredited college and,
1.2 Professional Education

1.2.1 Completion of a program in Young Preschool Exceptional Children or,
1.2.2 Completion of a teacher education program for Exceptional Children and,

1.2.2.1 Three semester hours Preschool Programming for Exceptional Children
1.2.2.2 Three semester hours Child Development (unless covered in program)
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1.2.2.3 Three semester hours Language Development (unless covered in program)
1.2.2.4 Limited Standard License issued upon completion of a program for

Exceptional Children with remaining courses listed above to be completed within three years or,
1.2.3 Completion of a teacher education program in Early Childhood and,

1.2.3.1 Three semester hours Introduction to Exceptional Children
1.2.3.2 Three semester hours Preschool Program for Exceptional Children
1.2.3.3 Three semester hours Language Development (unless covered in program)
1.2.3.4 Limited Standard License issued upon completion of a program for Early

Childhood with the remaining courses listed above to be completed within three years or,
1.2.4 Completion of a teacher education program in Elementary Education and,

1.2.4.1 Three semester hours Introduction to Exceptional Children
1.2.4.2 Six semester hours Child Development (unless covered in program)
1.2.4.3 Three semester hours Preschool Programming for Exceptional Children
1.2.4.4 Three semester hours Assessment of Young Children or Educational

Diagnosis of Exceptional Children
1.2.4.5 Three semester hours Language Development (unless covered in program)
1.2.4.6 Three semester hours Student Teaching Preschool Exceptional Children or

internship in lieu of student teaching
1.2.4.7 Limited Standard License issued upon completion of a program in Elementary

Education and two of the courses listed above with the remaining courses to be completed within three years or,
1.2.5 Completion of a teacher education program in Secondary Education and,

1.2.5.1 Six semester hours Child Growth and Development
1.2.5.2 Three semester hours Language Development
1.2.5.3 Three semester hours Introduction to Exceptional Children
1.2.5.4 Three semester hours Preschool Programming for Exceptional Children
1.2.5.5 Three semester hours Assessment of Young Children or Educational

Diagnosis of Exceptional Children
1.2.5.6 Three semester hours Methods of Teaching Reading
1.2.5.7 Three semester hours Methods of Teaching Mathematics
1.2.5.8 Three semester hours Behavior Management
1.2.5.9 Six semester hours Student Teaching Preschool Exceptional Children or

internship in lieu of student teaching
1.2.5.10 The Limited Standard License may be issued upon completion of a program

in Secondary Education and four of the first six courses listed above with the remaining courses listed above to be
completed within three years.

2.0 Present Preschool Exceptional Children Teachers Protected
2.1 Those teachers authorized to teach classes of preschool exceptional children prior to April 20, 1978 on

the basis of a standard exceptional children teaching License and who have the recommendation of the local district
superintendent shall be authorized to continue in such a teaching assignment in the district where the assignment was
authorized. Authorization to teach in this circumstance does not constitute a License transferable to any other school
district.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include Standard and Limited Standard.

1570 Standard Certificate Early Childhood Teacher Special Education

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Early Childhood Teacher Special Education (Birth to Grade 2).

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
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“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's
assignment or employment status.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree program
or in addition to it, from a regionally accredited college or university of a professional development provided approved
by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Early Childhood Teacher Special Education to an

educator who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following
requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in Early Childhood Special Education; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and 
Certification Program, the Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator
preparation programs as the Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after September 11, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of
fifteen (15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least
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six (6) credits or their equivalent must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and 

3.1.5 Demonstrating oral and written proficiency in English and the target language of the bilingual
program, and satisfactory completion of fifteen (15) graduate or undergraduate credits in ESL or Bilingual education, as
more specifically set forth in 3.1.5.1 through 3.1.5.6. With approval of a Committee comprised of the candidate’s
principal or other designated school administrator, a higher education representative who teachers one of the approved
courses, and a DOE representative, other verifiable professional experiences may be substituted for no more than nine
(9) of the required credits.

3.1.5.1 Atypical Infants and Toddlers;
3.1.5.2 Emergent Literacy in Reading and Writing;
3.1.5.3 Assessment of Young Children;
3.1.5.4 Differentiated Instruction for Young Children; and
3.1.5.5 Consultation or Working with Families; and

            3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a PRAXIS™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination.  Where no
PRAXIS™ II test is available, nationally recognized equivalent tests, such as the American Council on the Teaching of
Foreign Languages (ACTFL) Oral Proficiency Interview and the ACTFL Writing proficient test, may be substituted. For
tests of languages using a Roman alphabet, candidates are required to achieve an Advanced Low level of the oral
skills and an Advanced Low level on the writing skills based on the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines. For tests of
languages using a non Roman alphabet, an Advanced Low Level on the oral skills and an Intermediate High level on
the writing skills based on the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines are required, or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Early Childhood Special Education;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit: 
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
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Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Long Term Care Medicaid

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend a rule in the Division of
Social Services Manual (DSSM) used to determine eligibility for medical assistance.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by July 31, 2006. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGE

Statutory Authority

• Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993 (OBRA 93), Subchapter B, Part II, Section 13611, Transfer of
Assets; Treatment of Certain Trusts

• 42 U.S.C. 1396p(d) and Section 1917(d) of the Social Security Act, Liens, adjustments and recoveries; transfer
of assets
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Background 

The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993 (OBRA 93) allows nonprofit organizations to establish and
manage a pooled trust for the benefit of people who are disabled according to SSI criteria. A pooled trust is a trust,
which meets the criteria set forth in Section 1917(d)(4)(c) of the Social Security Act. It contains the assets of disabled
persons and is managed by a nonprofit organization that maintains separate accounts for each such individual. The
principal and interest of a pooled trust account are not counted in determining Medicaid eligibility, and transfer of assets
into such accounts are not penalized, unless they are made after the disabled individuals becomes 65 years of age.  

Summary of Proposed Change

The purpose of this regulation is to correct who is responsible for providing proof of disability.  
Currently, the rule at DSSM 20350.10.2 directs the reader to DSSM 20102 for a separate disability

determination should the individual not be in receipt of SSI or disability benefits.  DSSM 20102 states, “The first of two
steps in the application process is to determine medical eligibility. This is usually determined by Pre-Admission
Screening (PAS).  Referrals to PAS may come from the family of the applicant as well as other sources.” 

Pre-Admission Screening does not determine disability according the SSI standards. Therefore, DMMA is
correcting the rule language regarding the proof of disability requirement to reflect current practices and long-standing
procedures.  The individual who is claiming disability must submit acceptable medical evidence.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #06-26

REVISION:

20350.10  Exceptions to the Transfer of Assets

20350.10.1  Exceptions To Transfer Of Residence
20350.10.2  Exceptions To Transfer Of An Asset 

20350.10.1  Exceptions To Transfer Of Residence

The transfer provision does not apply to the HOME and title to the home transferred to:
a. a spouse (as long as spouse does not then transfer property for less than fair market value);
b. a child under 21 years of age; 
c. a child who is blind or disabled, as defined by the SSI program;
d. a sibling who has an equity interest in the home and who has resided in the home for at least

one year immediately before the date the individual becomes institutionalized; or
e. a son or daughter of the individual (other than a child described above) who was residing in

the home for at least 2 years immediately before the date the individual became institutionalized, and who provided
care to that individual which permitted the individual to reside at home rather than in an institution.

In items d. and e. above the property cannot be excluded unless and until the assets are actually transferred.
Also verification for this would consist of a written statement from the parent indicating that this situation existed.  If the
parent is not capable, a statement from an adult child or sibling and statements from two other adults indicating that the
situation existed would suffice.  Statements must specify the number of years spent in the home and the exact nature of
the care provided.

20350.10.2  Exceptions To Transfer Of An Asset
The transfer provision does not apply to ANY asset transferred:

a. to the individual's spouse, or to another for the sole benefit of the individual's spouse;
b. from the individual's spouse to another for the sole benefit of the individual's spouse (OBRA

93);
c. to the individual's blind or totally and permanently disabled child;
d. to a trust containing the assets of an individual under age 65 who is disabled as defined by the

SSI program and which is established for the benefit of the individual by a parent, grandparent, legal guardian of the
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individual or a court if the trust contains a provision that upon the death of the individual the State will receive all
amounts remaining in the trust up to an amount equal to the total medical assistance paid on behalf of the individual
(OBRA 93);

e. to a pooled trust containing the assets of an individual who is disabled as defined by the SSI
program and that is established and managed by a non-profit association if the trust contains a provision that upon the
death of the individual the State will receive all amounts remaining in the trust up to an amount equal to the total
medical assistance paid on behalf of the individual (OBRA 93).

A transfer of assets or an establishment of a trust is considered to be for the sole benefit of a spouse, disabled
child, or individual under age 65, if the transfer is arranged in such a way that no individual except the spouse, child or
individual can benefit from the assets in any way, either at the time of the transfer, or at any time in the future.  If a
beneficiary is named to receive the asset at the time of the individual's death, the transfer or trust will nevertheless be
considered to have been made for the sole benefit of the individual if Medicaid is named as the primary beneficiary of
the asset, up to the amount paid for services provided to the individual.

To determine whether an asset was transferred for the sole benefit of a spouse, child, or disabled individual,
obtain a legally binding, written document (such as a trust document). The document must clearly define the conditions
under which the transfer was made, as well as who can benefit from the transfer.  A transfer without such a document
cannot be said to have been made for the sole benefit of the spouse, child, or disabled individual, since there is no way
to establish, without a document, that only the individual will benefit from the transfer.

Where it is alleged that an asset was transferred to or for the benefit of an individual who is blind or totally and
permanently disabled, a determination must be made that the individual in fact meets the definition of blindness or
disability used by the SSI program. If the individual is receiving either SSI or Title II benefits, accept the disability
determination made for those programs. If the individual is not receiving those benefits, a separate disability
determination must be made. using the procedures described in Section 20102 - Medical Eligibility Determination. The
individual who is claiming the disability must submit acceptable medical evidence he has been determined disabled
according to the standards used by The Disability Determination Services. The individual will be given a reasonable
amount of time to provide the medical evidence.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend a rule in the Division of
Social Services Manual (DSSM) used to determine eligibility for medical assistance.  

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning extension of the this waiver must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by July 31, 2006.  

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGE

Statutory Authority
• Social Security Act §1917(c), Liens, Adjustments & Recoveries and Transfers of Assets
• 42 CFR §435.700 et seq., Specific Post-Eligibility Financial Requirements for the Categorically Needy
• 42 CFR §435.832, Post-eligibility Treatment of Income of Institutionalized Individuals: Application of Patient

Income to the Cost of Care
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Background

On April 18, 2006, CMS issued Regional Memo 06-04. This memorandum addresses the treatment of medical
and remedial care expenses incurred as a result of the imposition of a penalty for transferring assets for less than fair
market value under the Medicaid post-eligibility treatment of income.

Under section 1917(c) of the Social Security, certain individuals who dispose of assets for less than fair market
value are subject to imposition of penalty. The statute provides that during the penalty period such individuals are
ineligible for Medicaid payment for nursing facility services, and for comparable long-term care services provided in
institutions other than nursing homes, in an individual’s home, or in a community setting. The length of the period of
ineligibility (known as the penalty period) is directly related to the uncompensated value of assets that were transferred.

Because Medicaid is not paying for a person’s nursing home care during a penalty period, an individual subject
to a transfer of assets penalty is responsible for paying for that care him or herself. At the end of the transfer of assets
penalty period, such an individual may have incurred nursing facility and other penalized expenses that remain unpaid.

Once the penalty period expires, the individual can become eligible for Medicaid payment for nursing home or
similar care, at which point the individual also becomes subject to the post-eligibility treatment of income process as set
forth in regulations at 42 CFR §435.700 et seq. and 42 CFR §435.832. 

Summary of Proposal

In compliance with recent clarification of federal regulations, DMMA will amend the provisions governing
incurred medical expenses that may be considered allowable deductions in the determination of patient liability.  DMMA
amended policies will clarify that the State will not allow any expenses incurred during a penalty period to be used in
the post-eligibility period for the purposes of long-term care services.

The following provisions contained in DSSM and the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan will be amended: DSSM
20620.2.2, 20620.2.3, 20995.1 and State Plan Supplement 3 to Attachment 2.6-A.

The proposed amendment is subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #06-24a

REVISIONS:

Revision: HCFA-PM-3 (BERC) Supplement 3 to ATTACHMENT 2.6-A
MAY 1985 Page 1

OMB NO.: 098300193 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE:           DELAWARE

REASONABLE LIMITS ON AMOUNTS FOR NECESSARY MEDICAL OR REMEDIAL CARE NOT COVERED 
UNDER MEDICAID 

N/A

The deduction for medical and remedial care expenses that were incurred as the result of the imposition of a
transfer of assets penalty period is limited to zero.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #06-24b

REVISIONS:

20620.2.2  Necessary Medical Care
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Cost of necessary medical care not covered under the recipient's medical insurance, Medicaid or Medicare but
recognized under state law may be set aside from his/her income. The care must be ordered by a professional, such as
a physician, dentist, optometrist, physical therapist, etc. For items such as dentures and hearing aids to be approved a
medical professional will have to state, in writing that the patient will benefit medically (as opposed to cosmetically
only). Other approved medical care items which might occur frequently are eye exams, eyeglasses, dental care,
prostheses and appliances.

When in doubt as to whether the care is recognized under state law or is appropriate to be charged to the
patient under this policy, consult the Medical Review Team Long Term Care Operation’s Administrator. The recipient
and the provider must understand that these are not Medicaid payments but are an arrangement between recipient and
provider, and that it is the responsibility of the recipient, or his representative to see that payments are made.  If both
parties are agreeable, payments may be spread out over a period of months.

20620.2.3 Prior Medical Costs

Medical costs incurred in a prior period of ineligibility (if approved by Medicaid) may be protected from his/her income.
Costs incurred in a period of ineligibility must be approved by the Medicaid State Office prior to being protected and will
only be considered if incurred within 30 days of the beginning date of Medicaid eligibility.

The recipient's reimbursement level and patient pay amount must be identified. Medicaid will protect at the Medicaid
reimbursement rate, not the private pay rate.

The period of ineligibility may be caused by excess resources or excess income.

Protections for which the individual is seeking coverage will not be granted if the ineligible period occurred during a
transfer of assets penalty phase.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

20995.1 Post - Eligibility Deductions

Post-eligibility determination is revised to allow the following deductions from the income of the institutional spouse.
The deductions must be taken in the following order.

a. Personal Needs Allowance for the institutional spouse

The personal needs allowance amount is $30 per month for SSI recipients, and $44 per month for all
others.  If the institutionalized spouse is employed, personal needs may range from $50 up to the Adult Foster Care
rate per month.  See Section 20620.1 Personal Needs.

b. Community Spouse Income Allowance

The community spouse monthly income allowance is the amount of income necessary to bring the
spouse's monthly otherwise available income up to:

• the applicable percent of the FPL for two, plus
• an additional amount for excess shelter

The total amount available to the community spouse may not exceed "Cap for Minimum Monthly
Maintenance Standard".  This standard usually changes each January based on the Consumer Price Index for Urban
Consumers.

c. Family Allowance.

d. Items for which protection of income has been approved by the Long Term Care Coordinator
Operation’s Administrator and/or incurred medical expenses of the institutionalized spouse.
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DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code, Ch. 5, §512 (31 Del.C., Ch. 5, §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Diamond State Health Plan 1115 Demonstration Waiver

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, and, in compliance with State
Notice procedures as set forth in the Federal Register, September 27, 1994, Delaware Health and Social Services
(DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) intends to submit an application to the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for renewal of its 1115 Demonstration Waiver entitled, the Diamond State
Health Plan, for the period from January 1, 2007 through December 31, 2009.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning extension of the Diamond State Health Plan 1115 Demonstration Waiver must submit same to
Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by July 31, 2006.  The
waiver application will be made available upon request.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Statutory Authority
Social Security Act  §1115, Demonstration Projects
42 CFR §441, Subpart G,  Home and Community-Based Services Waiver Requirements

Background
The Diamond State Health Plan (DSHP) implemented a mandatory Medicaid managed care program

statewide on January 1, 1996. Using savings achieved under managed care, Delaware expanded Medicaid health
coverage to additional low-income adults in the State with incomes less than 100% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL).

Goals of the DSHP are to improve and expand access to healthcare to more adults and children throughout the
State, create and maintain a managed care delivery system emphasizing primary care, and to strive to control the
growth of healthcare expenditures for the Medicaid population.

The current demonstration project #11-W-0063/3 expires on December 31, 2006. To assure the continuation of
the DSHP, the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance has submitted a three-year extension request for the
DSHP 1115 Waiver to the CMS for the period January 1, 2007 through December 31, 2009.

Summary of Proposal
DMMA is announcing a thirty-day comment period on the DSHP 1115 Waiver Extension request submitted to

CMS.
The application to renew documents how the State has met its goals of improving access to services,

expanding coverage to additional populations and substantially improving quality of care for eligible individuals enrolled
in the Diamond Sate Health Plan (DSHP). The State intends no changes to the DSHP during the renewal period.  The
waiver application will be made available upon request.

The provisions of this waiver are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS).
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DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code, Ch. 5, §512 (31 Del.C., Ch. 5, §512)

PROPOSED

PUBLIC NOTICE

Assisted Living Medicaid 1915(c) Waiver

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code), under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, and, in compliance with State
Notice procedures as set forth in the Federal Register, September 27, 1994, Delaware Health and Social Services
(DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) will submit an application to the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services (CMS) for renewal of its Home and Community-Based Services waiver entitled, Assisted Living
Medicaid Waiver Program (ALMWP), for an additional five years.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning extension of the this waiver must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by July 31, 2006. The waiver application will be made
available upon request.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Statutory Authority
Social Security Act  §1915, Provisions Respecting Inapplicability and Waiver of Certain Requirements of this

Title
42 CFR §441, Subpart G,  Home and Community-Based Services Waiver Requirements

Background
The Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver Program (ALMWP) provides community based residential services. The

Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD) administers the ALMWP and is funded
by Delaware Medicaid and State general funds. The ALMWP is targeted to older persons and adults with physical
disabilities who need assistance with the activities of daily living (ADLs) and meet Medicaid nursing facility admission
criteria. The goal of the waiver is to provide services in a manner which responds to each consumer's abilities,
assessed needs, and preferences, and which ensures maximum consumer self-sufficiency, independent functioning
and safety in a homelike residential setting.

The current demonstration project #0332.91 expires on September 30, 2006. To assure the continuation of the
waiver, the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance will submit a five-year extension request for the ALMWP to the
CMS for the period October 1, 2006 through September 30, 2011.

The provisions of this waiver are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS).

Summary of Proposal
DMMA is announcing a thirty-day comment period on the Waiver Extension request submitted to CMS.
The State of Delaware is in the process of renewing its home and community-based waiver for assisted living.

The State intends no changes in benefits or the population served during the renewal period. If during the renewal
application process and during our discussions with CMS a need for any changes is identified, those changes would be
published at the earliest possible time for public review and comment.
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

FOOD STAMP PROGRAM
Reporting Changes

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend policies in the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding reporting changes.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program and
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by July 31, 2006. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGE

Statutory Authority

7 CFR 273.12, Requirements for Change Reporting Households

Summary of Proposed Change

DSSM 9085, Reporting Changes: DSS is streamlining the reporting timeframe for change reporters to the
same reporting timeframe as simplified reporting households. This change will result in less confusing client notices
and allow the elderly and/or disabled households a longer period of time to report a change; resulting in fewer errors
and overpayments caused by clients not reporting changes in a timely manner. 

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #06-27

REVISIONS:

9085 Reporting Changes
[273.12]

Certified food stamp households are required to report the following changes in circumstances:
Simplified Reporting Requirements
The following reporting requirements are for all households except those households where all members are

elderly or disabled and without earned income:
• Households are required to only report income changes when the monthly income exceeds 130

percent of the poverty income guideline for the household size that existed at the time of the
certification or recertification.

• When a household's monthly income exceeds the 130 percent of the poverty income guideline, the
household is required to report that change within ten days after the end of the month that the
household determines the income is over the 130 percent amount.

• Households will not have to report any changes in the household composition, residence and
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resulting changes in shelter costs, acquisition of non-excluded licensed vehicles, when liquid
resources exceed $2000. 00 and changes in the legal child support obligation.

Additional reporting requirement for ABAWD individuals:
• Adults living in a home without any minor children, who are getting food stamps because they are

working over 20 hours a week, must report when they start working less than 20 hours a week.

Change Reporting rRequirements: for households not eligible for the simplified reporting requirements above:
Change reporting households must report the following changes in circumstances by the 10th day of the month

following the month of the change:
• Changes in the amount of gross unearned income of more than $50, except changes in the public

assistance grants. Changes reported in person or by telephone are to be acted upon in the same
manner as those reported on the change report form;

• A change in the source of income, including starting or stopping a job or changing jobs, if the
change in employment causes a change in income.

• All changes in household size, such as the addition or loss of a household member;
• Changes in residence and the resulting changes in shelter costs;
• The acquisition of a licensed vehicle not fully excludable under DSSM 9051 (for non-categorically

eligible households);
• When cash on hand, stocks, bonds, and money in a bank account or savings institution reach or

exceed a total of $2,000 (for non-categorically eligible households); 
• Changes in the legal obligation to pay child support; and
• Changes in work hours that bring an ABAWD individual below 20 hours per week, averaged

monthly.
Certified households must report changes within ten (10) days of the date the change becomes known to the

household.
For reportable changes of income, households must report the change within 10 days of the date the

household receives its first payment.
An applying household must report all changes related to its food stamp eligibility and benefits at the

certification interview.  Changes, as provided in this Section, which occur after the interview but before the date of the
notice of eligibility, must be reported by the household within ten (10) days of the date of the notice.

Only the reporting requirements in this Section and no other reporting requirements can be imposed by the
Division.

9085.1 Report Form
[273.12(b)]

Provide each household applying for benefits or being recertified for benefits with Form 130 with which to
report changes listed above within 10 days.  Provide a postpaid return envelope.

Send a new form to the household whenever a change is reported via a form.

9085.2 DSS Responsibilities: Action on Changes
[273.12(c)]

Take prompt action on all changes to determine if the changes affect the household's eligibility or allotment.
Even if there is no change in the allotment, document reported changes in the case file, provide another change report
form to the household, and notify the household of the effect of the change, if any, on its benefits.  Document the date
of receipt of the report form or the date a change is reported by phone or in person.  If a household reports a change in
income which is expected to continue for at least one month beyond the month in which the change is reported, act on
the change according to DSSM 9085.3 and 9085.4. If DSS fails to take action on a change within the time limits
specified in DSSM 9085.3, restore the lost benefits.

PA households have the same reporting requirements as any other food stamp household and shall use the
change report form.  PA households who report changes to their workers for PA purposes will be considered to have
reported the change for food stamp purposes as well.
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9085.3 Processing Changes Which Increase Benefits
[273.12(c)(1)]

For changes which result in an increase in a household's benefits, make the change effective no later than the
first allotment issued ten (10) days after the date the change is reported to the Division.

For changes which produce an increase in benefits as the result of the addition of a new household member
who is not a member of another certified household or as the result of a decrease of $50 or more in the household's
gross monthly income, make the change effective not later than the first allotment issued ten (10) days after the date
the change is reported. These changes must take effect no later than the month following in which the change is
reported.

For example, a $30 decrease in income reported on the 15th day of May would increase the household's June
allotment.  If the same decrease were reported on May 28, and the household's normal issuance cycle was on June 1,
the household's allotment would have to be increased by July.

If the change is reported after the 20th of a month and it is too late for the Division to adjust the following
monthly allotment, issue a supplement by the 10th day of the following month or, if possible, in the household's normal
issuance cycle in that month. For example, a household reporting a $100 decrease in income at any time during the
month of May would have its June allotment increased. If the household reported the change after the 20th of May and
it is too late to adjust the benefit normally issued on June 1, issue a supplement for the amount of the increase by June
10.

Verify changes which result in an increase in a household's benefit in accordance with the verification
requirements in DSSM 9038, prior to taking action on these changes except in the case of newborn infants. When a
household reports the birth of a newborn, add the newborn to the household when the baby comes home according to
DSSM 2006. Allow the household ten (10) days from the date the change is reported to provide verification required by
DSSM 9038. If the household provides verification within this period, take action on the changes within the timeframes
specified above. The timeframes will run from the date the change was reported, not from the date of verification. If,
however, the household fails to provide the required verification within ten (10) days after the change is reported but
does provide the verification at a later date, then the timeframes specified in the first and second paragraphs of this
section for taking action on changes will run from the date the verification is provided rather than from the date the
change is reported.

In cases where DSS has determined that a household has refused to cooperate as defined in DSSM 9029, the
household's eligibility will be terminated following the notice of adverse action.

9085.4 Decreases in Benefits
[273.12(c)(2)]

If the household's benefit level decreases or the household becomes ineligible as a result of the change, issue
a notice of adverse action (see DSSM 9006) within ten (10) days of the date the change was reported unless one of the
exemptions to the notice of adverse action in DSSM 9006.3 applies. When a notice of adverse action is used, make the
decrease in the benefit level effective no later than the allotment for the month following the month in which the notice
of adverse action period has expired, provided a fair hearing and continuation of benefits have not been requested.

When a notice of adverse action is not used due to one of the exemptions in DSSM 9006.3, make the
decrease effective no later than the month following the change. Verification which is required by DSSM 9032 must be
obtained prior to recertification.

Unclear Information
When information about changes in a household's circumstances are unclear and DSS cannot determine the

effect on the household's benefit, DSS must clarify and verify the changes as follows:
DSS must issue a written request for contact (RFC) which clearly advises the household of the

verification it must provide or the actions it must take to clarify its circumstances.
Allow the household at least ten (10) days to respond and to clarify its circumstances either by

telephone or by correspondence, as directed by DSS.
If the household fails to respond to the RFC, or does respond but refuses to provide sufficient information to

clarify its circumstances, DSS will terminate the case and issue a notice of adverse action explaining the reason for the
action. Inform the household that a new application must be filed if the household wishes to continue to receive
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benefits.
When the household responds to the RFC and provides sufficient information, process the changes according

to DSSM 9085.3 and DSSM 9085.4.

9085.6 Failure to Report
[273.12(d)]

If a household fails to report a change as required under DSSM 9085 and, as a result, receives benefits to
which it is not entitled, file a claim against the household in accordance with DSSM 7000. If the discovery is made
within the certification period, the household is entitled to a notice of adverse action in advance if the household's
benefits are reduced. A household is not to be held liable for a claim because of a change in household circumstances
which it is not required to report. Do not terminate individuals for failure to report a change unless the individual is
disqualified in accordance with the disqualification procedures specified in DSSM 2023.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 311 & 1718 (18 Del.C. §§ 311, 1718)

18 DE Admin. Code 504

PUBLIC NOTICE

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN hereby gives notice of a proposed change to Department of
Insurance Regulation 504 relating to producer continuing education. The Commissioner proposes to amend
Regulation 504 relating to Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and
Consultants.  The docket number for this proposed amendment is 276.

The proposed change to the regulation appears only in section 8.2.2 relating to the required number of ethics hours
required for continuing education for public adjusters and fraternal agents. When the regulation was last amended, the
change from four hours of required ethics for public adjusters and fraternal agents to three hours (in conformity to the
similar change for other licensees) was unintentionally not included in the notice and final regulation approval. This
amendment corrects that inconsistency and is the only proposed change to the regulation. The required number of
ethics credits for public adjusters is proposed to decrease from four hours to three hours for each reporting period. The
Delaware Code authority for the change is 18 Del.C. §§311, 1718. The text of the change to the regulation is as
follows:

8.2.2 Resident adjusters, public adjusters and Fraternal Agents shall be required to fulfill twelve (12) credit hours of
Department approved education subjects, four (4) three (3) of which shall be in ethics subjects during each biennial
reporting period.

The text can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person can file
written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed
amendment. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed change must be received
by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, August 2, 2006, and should be addressed to
Deputy Attorney General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
DE 19904, or sent by fax to 302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us.

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

8.0 Licensee’s Responsibility
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8.1 Each licensee shall retain each original course completion certificate for a period of 3 years. The course
completion certificate may be required in the event of a discrepancy between the licensee’s records and the
Department’s records. Each licensee may be subjected to a Department audit of continuing education requirements.
Failure to comply with a Department audit may result in suspension of a licensee’s license. Each licensee will have
thirty (30) days to produce such records upon request or audit by the Department.

8.2 General Requirements. Resident licensees and producers not otherwise exempted shall earn, at a minimum,
the number of education credits described below.

8.2.1 Resident licensees required to fulfill continuing education requirements shall complete twenty-four (24)
credit hours of Department approved education subjects, three (3) of which shall be in ethics subjects during each
biennium reporting period. If the resident producer holds a health license and solicits long term care policies, as part of
his/her biennial requirement, the producer must complete at least three (3) hours of training in Delaware long term care
insurance that consists of product knowledge, laws, rules and regulations. Any resident licensee who is authorized to
write homeowners or personal lines coverage shall be required to complete a two (2) hour continuing education course
related to flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program as part of the twenty-one (21) general credit
hours necessary to maintain a Delaware resident license. 

8.2.2 Resident adjusters, public adjusters and Fraternal Agents shall be required to fulfill twelve (12) credit
hours of Department approved education subjects, three (3) four (4) of which shall be in ethics subjects during each
biennial reporting period.

8.2.3 Resident licensees will receive a continuing education transcript at least ninety (90) days prior to the
end of a license biennium by mail or by electronic access as the Department deems appropriate. The licensee is
responsible for reviewing the transcript for accuracy. To dispute the Department’s accounting, the licensee must submit
a written exception thereto prior to the biennium deadline and include a copy of the providers course completion
certificate.

8.2.4 The maximum number of carryover credits shall not exceed five (5) credits in a biennium reporting
period. Carryover shall not apply to ethics credit requirements. Credits in excess of the mandatory requirements set
forth in section 8.2.1 may be applied to the licensee’s general course requirements.

8.2.5 No continuing education requirement shall apply to newly licensed individuals during the biennium in
which such individuals are licensed.

8.3 Automatic credit. An individual continuously licensed for twenty-five (25) years or longer prior to the start of a
biennium reporting period or who holds a professional designation shall receive an automatic credit of twelve (12)
credits in each biennium. The Department shall maintain a list of approved professional designations. Automatic credits
may not be applied to satisfy the mandatory continuing education courses set forth in section 8.2.1.

8.4 License reinstatement after suspension, revocation or cancellation. All resident licensees whose licenses were
canceled, suspended or revoked for a period of twelve (12) months or more shall first complete all licensing
requirements under 18 Del.C. §1706 including the retaking of  exams for all lines of authority under which the individual
proposes to transact insurance. Any licensee who is reinstated under the provisions of this subsection shall not be
entitled to the waiver provided for in section 8.2.5.

8.5 Extension of time. For good cause shown, the Department may grant an extension of time during which the
requirements imposed by this regulation may be completed. The extension shall not exceed twelve (12) months. The
extension will not alter the requirements or due date of the succeeding biennium period. "Good cause" includes
disability, natural disaster, or other extenuating circumstances. Each request for extension of time shall be in writing
from the licensee and shall include details and any documentation to support the request. Each request must be
received by the Department no less than thirty (30) days before the expiration of the biennium period.

8.6 Waiver of Continuing Education Requirements. The requirements of this regulation may be waived in writing by
the Department for good cause shown. "Good cause" includes long-term illness or incapacity and any other emergency
situations deemed appropriate by the Department. Request for waivers of continuing education requirements shall be
made in writing and shall be submitted to the Department no later than thirty (30) days prior to the end of the biennium
for which such waiver is requested. Those individuals serving full time in the armed forces of the United States of
America on active duty outside of the State of Delaware shall notify the Department upon their return by supplying a
copy of their activation orders as part of their application for a waiver. Any waiver granted pursuant to this regulation
shall be valid only for the biennium for which waiver application was made.

8.7 Sixty (60) days prior to the start of each biennium, the Department shall prepare and publish a list of those lines
of insurance for which the producers are exempt from the requirements of section 8.

8.8 Resident adjusters licensed for the lines of Fidelity and Surety and/or Marine and Transportation are exempt
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from the provisions of section 8.2.2 of this regulation. Nonresident adjusters and public adjusters must meet the license
requirements of their home state.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)
9 DE Reg. 1239 (02/01/06)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 311 & 1718 (18 Del.C. §§311, 2501)

18 DE Admin. Code 610

PUBLIC NOTICE

610 Automobile Premium Consumer Comparison

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN hereby gives notice of proposed Department of Insurance
Regulation 610 relating to the availability of private passenger automobile premium rate comparison data. The
Commissioner proposes to promulgate Regulation 610 relating to Automobile Premium Consumer Comparison.
The docket number for this proposed regulation is 280.

The proposed regulation would require automobile insurers to provide survey data to the Department of
Insurance for the purposes of allowing consumers of private passenger non-fleet automobiles the opportunity to
compare rates from different companies. The survey data would have to be filed with the Department on an annual
basis.  The regulation would also require the insurers to provide direct email responses to the consumer. The Delaware
Code authority for the change is 18 Del.C. §§311 and 2501 et seq. 

The text can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://www.state.de.us/
inscom/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person can
file written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed
amendment. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed change must be received
by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, August 2, 2006, and should be addressed to
Deputy Attorney General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
DE 19904, sent by fax to 302.739.5566 or emailed to michael.rich@state.de.us.  

610 Automobile Premium Consumer Comparison

1.0 Authority
1.1 This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner pursuant to the authority granted by 18 Del.C. §§311

and 2501 and promulgated in accordance with the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101.

2.0 Definitions
“Insurer” shall mean every insurer licensed to offer and sell non-fleet private passenger automobile insurance

coverage in the State of Delaware.
“Private passenger auto market share” shall be determined by data from the National Association of

Insurance Commissioners for the prior calendar year for line numbers 19.1, 19.2 and 21.1 for the State of Delaware.
“Rate survey” shall mean a request by the Department that insurers calculate estimated annual insurance

premiums based on hypothetical consumer profiles, and to include variations in driving record, vehicle and other
factors identified by the Department. The rate survey shall include estimated premiums for each zip code or other
geographic area identified by the Department.

“Rate estimates” shall mean the estimated annual insurance premiums produced for the Department’s rate
survey.

3.0 Scope
3.1 Insurers with 1 percent or more of the Delaware private passenger automobile insurance market share
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shall be required to complete the full rate survey required by this regulation.
3.2 Insurers with .01 to .99 percent of private passenger automobile insurance  market share shall be

required to complete a limited rate survey consisting of a lesser number of hypothetical consumer profiles identified by
the Department.

3.3 Insurers with less than .01 percent of private passenger automobile insurance market share shall not
be required to complete a rate survey pursuant to this regulation.

4.0 Insurer Information 
4.1 Each insurer will be provided with an account on the Department’s website to provide basic company

information and to administer the submission of rate survey data.

5.0 Survey Completion Deadline
5.1 The Department of Insurance shall make available the rate survey request format with hypothetical

consumer profiles, coverage levels, vehicle models and other information necessary for calculating rate estimates on
the Department’s website no later than September 15th of each year.

5.2 In 2006, all required rate survey data from insurers must be submitted to the Department on or before
November 1st, 2006. In all subsequent years, all required rate survey data from insurers must be submitted to the
Department on or before October 15th of each year.

5.3 Rate survey data that is incomplete or not reported according to the Department’s instructions will be
returned to the insurer for correction and must be resubmitted within 10 business days.

6.0 Survey Format 
6.1 Insurers shall provide rate estimates based on rates in effect as of October 1st of the year when the

rate survey is being completed.
6.2 All rate estimates shall be rounded to the nearest dollar.
6.3 Insurers shall submit rate data utilizing an electronic spreadsheet provided by the Department or by

other means specified by the Department. Insurers shall be required to upload the data to the Department via the
internet. 

7.0 Responsibility for Information and Data
7.1 Insurers shall be responsible for the accuracy of company information and rate data submitted to the

Department for publication. As part of the submission process, insurers will be subject to examination to verify the
accuracy of the data being submitted.

8.0 Consumer Quote Requests
8.1 Insurers shall provide a single electronic mail address to the Department for the purpose of allowing

consumers to request a personalized automobile insurance premium quote as part of the rate comparison process.
8.2 The insurer shall be required to provide a direct email response to the consumer, confirming receipt of

the quote request.
8.3 The insurer shall be required to maintain an electronic log of all email responses to consumer requests

for rate quotes for a period of one year after the request. The electronic log shall be capable of being transferred to the
Department upon request.

9.0 Penalties 
9.1 Insurers that do not comply with this regulation are subject to the provisions of 18 Del.C. §329.

10.0  Severability
10.1 If any provision of this Regulation or the application of any such provision to any person or

circumstance shall be held invalid the remainder of such provisions, and the application of such provision to any person
or circumstance other than those as to which it is held invalid, shall not be affected.

11.0  Effective Date
11.1 This Regulation shall become effective September 11, 2006.
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING
Council on Apprenticeship and Training

      Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, Section  202(a)  (19 Del.C. §202(a))

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Governor’s Council on Apprenticeship and Training in accordance with 19 Del.C. §202(a) has proposed
changes to the rules and regulations relating to apprenticeship and training. The proposal modifies the number of
classes a registered Apprentice can miss while enrolled in a related studies program at any of the vocational schools in
the three (3) counties of the State of Delaware before being dropped from that school. Being dropped from the school
will result in the Apprentice’s Apprenticeship Agreement being terminated by their Sponsor and/or State Registration
Agency.

A public hearing will be held before the Council on Apprenticeship and Training (“Council”) at 1:00 p.m. on
August 2, 2006, at the Delaware Department of Labor, Fox Valley Annex, 4425 N. Market Street, Wilmington, Delaware
19802 where members of the public can offer comments. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rule may
obtain a copy from Kevin Calio, Manager, Apprenticeship and Training, Department of Labor, P.O. Box 9828, 4425 N.
Market Street, Wilmington, Delaware 19808-0828. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to
the Council at the above address. The final date to receive written comments will be at the public hearing.

The Council will consider making a recommendation to the Secretary at the regularly scheduled meeting
following the public hearing.

106 Apprenticeship and Training Regulations

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

9.0 Related Instruction Requirement
9.1 Regulations concerning Apprentices "attendance and tardiness" policy for related instruction.

9.1.1 A registered Apprentice who misses seven (7) six (6) classes while enrolled in a related
studies program at any of the vocational schools in the three (3) counties of the State of Delaware will be dropped from
school. This will result in their Apprenticeship Agreement being terminated by their Sponsor and/or State Registration
Agency.

9.1.2 An absence will result when an Apprentice either arrives late or leaves early three (3) times.
However, School District Officials may bring to the Administrator's attention, individual cases that may have
experienced extenuating circumstances. With the Administrator's approval, such individuals may be granted exemption
from this attendance policy.

9.1.3 Courses of fewer sessions will be prorated. Instructors will inform Apprentices of allowable
absences.

9.1.4 If you are a Registered Apprentice who is enrolled through a trade union, trade society or any
other organization that stipulates attendance rules more stringent than the above, then you are required to follow those
regulations.

9.1.5 Related Instruction that is delivered through a state approved "in-house program",
correspondence courses or other systems of equivalent value will require the Apprentice to produce a document
detailing satisfactory participation and completion.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Department of Labor is available at: http://www.delawareworks.com/
default.shtml
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1800 Board of Plumbing Examiners
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code, Section 1805(a)(2),(3) (24 Del.C. §1805(a)(2),(3)

24 DE Admin. Code 1800

PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Plumbing Examiners is proposing changes to its regulations related to the designation of its
licensure examination.

A public hearing will be held at 8:30 a.m. on September 12, 2006 in the 2nd floor Conference Room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board of
Plumbing Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit
written comments may forward these to the board at the above address. The final date to receive written comments will
be at the public hearing.

The board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

1.0 General Provisions.
1.1 Legislative authority. These Rules and Regulations are adopted by the Delaware Board of Plumbing

Examiners (hereinafter "the Board") by authority of 24 Del.C. Ch. 18, and the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C.
Ch. 101.

1.2 Applicability. These Rules and Regulations shall govern proceedings before the Board to the extent
they are consistent with governing law.  Statutory reference: 29 Del.C. §10111 (2); 24 Del.C. §1805(2).

1.3 Officers. The Board will conduct election of officers for the offices of Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson
and Secretary in May of each year. In the event of a resignation, termination or departure of one of the officers, a
replacement shall be elected at the next Board meeting or at a meeting called for that purpose. Statutory reference: 24
Del.C. §1804(a).

1.4 Meetings. The Board shall, meet as often as necessary to transact the regular business of the Board
and in any event, shall meet at least once each calendar quarter. Statutory reference: 24 Del.C. §1804(b).

1.5 Contact person. Information about the Board and its practices can be obtained by contacting the
Division of Professional Regulation, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Ste. 203, Dover, Delaware 19904-2467,
telephone 302-739-4522 and http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/plumbers/index.shtml. Statutory
reference: 29 Del.C. §10111(1).

2.0 Practice and Procedure.
2.1 Open meetings. All meetings of the Board, or any advisory or subcommittee, will be conducted in

compliance with the Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 100. Statutory reference: 24 Del.C. §1812.
2.2 Disciplinary hearings. The procedural rules for disciplinary proceedings before the Board are outlined

in 6.0. Statutory reference: 29 Del.C. §10111(2).
2.3  Advisory and subcommittees. The Board may appoint such advisory and subcommittees from time to time

to assist in the performance of its duties as the Board deems necessary. Statutory reference. 29 Del.C. §10111(1).

3.0 Pre-examination Requirements for Licensure.
3.1 Definitions. The following definitions shall apply for purposes of this section:

3.1.1 “Performed Plumbing Services” means practical, hands-on experience working with tools in
the installation, maintenance, extension, alteration, repair and removal of all piping, plumbing fixtures, plumbing
appliances and plumbing apparatus. It does not include time spent in supervising, engineering, estimating and other
managerial tasks, nor time spent in working with an entity authorized to perform plumbing services, but on menial tasks
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or on tasks which do not constitute the practice of plumbing, such as sewer cleaning. Statutory Reference: 24 Del.C.
§1806(a).

3.1.2 “Direct Supervision” shall mean control and oversight by a licensed plumber  who is an owner
or full-time employee of the entity providing plumbing services.  The supervising licensed  plumber shall be deemed to
be responsible and accountable for the work performed. Statutory reference: 24 Del.C. §1806(a) and §1813(b). 

3.2 Pre-examination requirements. In order to sit for the examination, an applicant must complete and
return an application form to the Board's office, showing that the applicant has 2 years of verified experience under the
supervision of a licensed plumber after having  received a Journeyman’s Certificate in an apprenticeship program that
meets or exceeds the Federal Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training Standard.  Alternatively, the applicant can show 7
years of verified experience under the supervision of a licensed plumber if the applicant has successfully completed the
series of state-approved tests offered in the Delaware technical high schools or other apprenticeship school.

3.3 Supporting documentation. The applicant shall present a copy of the Journeyman certificate or,
alternatively,  proof of passing the series of state-approved tests offered in the Delaware technical high schools or other
apprenticeship school. Verification of the required experience shall  be by affidavit of the supervising licensed plumber
on the form approved by the Board.  If the applicant is unable to obtain an affidavit from the supervising licensed
plumber, the tax form W-2 or the affidavit of the employer or officer of the employing company may be submitted as
proof of experience at the discretion of the Board.  Statutory Reference: 24 Del.C. §1806(b).

3.4 Disciplinary record. An applicant must also certify to the Board that he or she has not engaged in any
of the acts that would be grounds for discipline of a licensee of the State of Delaware and that he or she does not have
any disciplinary proceedings or unresolved complaints pending against him or her in any jurisdiction where he or she
has previously been or currently is licensed, or certified as a plumber. An applicant currently or previously licensed or
certified in another jurisdiction shall provide the Board with certified statements from all other such jurisdictions
verifying their disciplinary and complaint records. Statutory Reference: 24 Del.C. §1806(c).

3.5 Complete application. An application to sit for the examination is not considered complete until the
Division of Professional Regulation has received the application form, all supporting documents (including verifications
of disciplinary record) and all fees required by this section. Statutory Reference: 24 Del.C. §1806(b).

4.0 Examination and Licensure.
4.1 Applications. A person wishing to be licensed as a plumber shall complete the application form

designated by the Board and submit it to the Division of Professional Regulation along with any required supporting
documents and the appropriate fees. Statutory reference: 24 Del.C. §1806(b).

4.2 Examination. The Board shall designates the NAI-BLOCK Plumbing Examination as the required
examination for licensure in Delaware a written examination pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1805(3). The examination will be
offered four (4) times per year. No person shall be permitted to sit for the examination until he or she has completed the
Pre-examination Requirements of Rule 3.0 and received the Board's approval to take the examination. 24 Del.C.
§§1805(3), (4) and §1806(d).

4.3 Passing Score. The passing score on the examination shall be 70%. Statutory Reference: 24 Del.C.
§1805(3).

4.4 Reexamination. Applicants who do not earn a passing score on the examination may retake the
examination two additional times, at its next regularly scheduled administrations, without Board approval. An applicant
who does not earn a passing score after taking the examination a total of three (3) times may reapply to the Board after
one (1) year has passed from the date he or she last took the examination. Statutory Reference: 24 Del.C. §1806(d).

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Plumbing Examiners is available at: http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/
plumbers/index.shtml.
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency 

Professionals
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code, Section 3006(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §3006(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 3000

PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals is proposing changes to its
regulations related to CPR certification.

A public hearing will be held at noon on September 27, 2006 in the 2nd floor Conference Room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board of
Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE
19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the board at the above address.  The final
date to receive written comments will be at the public hearing.

The board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

6.0 Renewal of Licensure
6.1 Renewal Date - The LPCMH license shall be renewable biennially on September 30 of even-

numbered years, beginning with September 30, 1994. License renewal may be accomplished online at http://
dpr.delaware.gov.

6.2 Requirements for Renewal - Requirements for licensure renewal are as follows:
6.2.1 Certification - The candidate for renewal shall hold current certification in good standing as of

the date of licensure renewal in NBCC, ACMHC or other certifying organization acceptable to the Bboard.  This
certification shall be verified by the appropriate "Verification of Certification Form," submitted directly to the Board by
the certifying organization attestation. Attestation shall be completed electronically if the renewal is accomplished
online.

6.2.2 Continuing Education
6.2.2.1 Requirement - The candidate for renewal shall have completed no less than

forty (40) clock hours of acceptable continuing education per two (2) year licensure renewal period. Continuing
education requirements for initial licensure periods of less than two (2) years shall be prorated.

6.2.2.2 Acceptable  Continuing  Education - Acceptable continuing education shall
include the following:

6.2.2.2.1 Continuing education hours approved by a national mental health
organization, such as NBCC, ACMHC, APA, shall be acceptable.  Other training programs may apply for continuing
education oriented towards enhancement, knowledge and practice of counseling.   Hours are to be documented by a
certificate signed by the presenter, or by a designated official of the sponsoring organization.

6.2.2.2.2 Academic course work, and  presentation of original papers providing
training and clinical supervision may be applied for up to twenty (20) clock hours of the continuing education
requirement.  These hours are to be documented by an official transcript, syllabus, or a copy of the published paper
presented.

Under no circumstances, may there be less than twenty (20) hours of face-to-
face participation in continuing education as outlined above.

6.2.2.3 Make-Up of Disallowed Hours - In the event that the Bboard disallows certain
continuing education clock hours, the candidate for renewal shall have three (3) months after the licensure renewal
date to complete the balance of acceptable continuing education hours required.
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6.2.3 Hardship.  The Bboard shall have the authority to make exceptions to the continuing education
requirements, in its discretion, upon a showing of good cause. “Good Cause” may include, but is not necessarily limited
to,: disability, illness, military service, extended absence from the jurisdiction and exceptional family responsibilities.
Request for hardship consideration must be submitted to the Bboard in writing prior to the end of the licensing period,
along with payment of the appropriate renewal fee. A license shall be renewed upon approval of the hardship extension
by the Bboard, but the license shall be subject to revocation if the licensee does not comply with the terms of the
hardship exception established by the Bboard.

6.2.4 Verification - Verification of continuing education hours shall be by the "Continuing Education
Form for Licensed Professional Mental Health Counselors," with appropriate documentation for each item listed
attached to the form attestation. Attestation shall be completed electronically if the renewal is accomplished online.

6.2.4.1 All licensees shall maintain documentation of continuing education during the licensure
period to be submitted if their renewal application is selected for audit. Random audits will be performed by the board to
ensure compliance with the continuing education requirement. Licensees selected for the random audit shall submit
attendance verification.

6.2.5 Fees - The candidate for renewal shall make payment of a renewal fee in an amount
prescribed by the Division of Professional Regulation for that licensure renewal period. A fifty percent (50%) late
charge shall be imposed upon any fee paid after the renewal date.

6.2.6 It shall be the responsibility of all licensees to keep the Division informed of any change of
address.  Renewal applications notices will be sent to the last address on file with the Division.

Statutory authority: 24 Del.C. §§3006(a)(5), 3012.
 4 DE Reg. 970 (12/1/00)
5 DE Reg. 452 (8/1/01)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical
Dependency Professionals is available at: http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/profcounselors/index.shtml.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3600 Board of Registration of Geologists

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 3606 (24 Del.C. §3606)
24 DE Admin. Code 3600

PROPOSED

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Geologists in accordance with 24 Del.C. §3606 has proposed amendments to rule 5.0
Issuance and Renewal of License and rule 6.0 Continuing Education of its rules and regulations. The proposed
amendments enable licensees to renew their licenses online and attest that they have completed the required
continuing education. Documentation of having completed the required continuing education must still be maintained
by the licensee but it will only be required to be produced in the event the licensee is randomly selected for continuing
education audit.

A public hearing will be held on August 4, 2006 at 10:15 a.m. in the second floor conference room B of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Geologists, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit written
comments may forward these to the Board at the above address. The final date to receive written comments will be at
the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.
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3600 Board of Registration of Geologists Regulations

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Issuance and Renewal of License
5.1 Each license shall be renewed biennially.  The failure of the Board to notify a licensee of his/her

expiration date and subsequent renewals does not, in any way, relieve the licensee of the requirement to renew his/her
certificate pursuant to the Board’s regulations and 24 Del.C. Ch. 36.

5.2 Renewal may be effected by:
5.2.1 filing a renewal form application prescribed by the Board and provided by the Division of

Professional Regulation;. Beginning in 2006, license renewal may be accomplished online at www.dpr.delaware.gov;
5.2.2 providing other information as may be required by the Board to ascertain the licensee’s good

standing;
5.2.3 submission of evidence of continuing education on a form prescribed by the Board and

provided by the Division of Professional Regulation as described in regulation five;attesting on the renewal application
to the completing of continuing education as required by Rule 6.0.

5.2.4 payment of fees as determined by the Division of Professional Regulation.
5.3 Failure of a licensee to renew his/her license shall cause his/her license to expire.  A geologist whose

license has expired may renew his/her license within one year after the expiration date upon fulfilling items 5.2.1 - 5.2.4
above, certifying that he/she has not practiced geology in Delaware while his/her license has expired, and paying the
renewal fee and a late fee which shall be 50% of the renewal fee.

5.4 No geologist will be permitted to renew his/her license once the one-year period has expired.
5.5 The former licensee may re-apply under the same conditions that govern applicants for licensure

under 24 Del.C. Ch. 36.
5.6 No geologist shall practice geology in the State of Delaware during the period of time that his/her

Delaware license has expired.

6.0 Continuing Education
6.1 The Board will require continuing education as a condition of license renewal. Continuing education

shall be waived for the first licensure renewal following the effective date of the Board’s Rules and Regulations.
6.1.1 Proof of continuing education is satisfied with an attestation by the  licensee that he or she has

satisfied the Requirement of Rule 6.0.
6.1.2 Attestation may be completed electronically if the renewal is accomplished online.  In the

alternative, paper renewal documents that contain the attestation of completion may be submitted.
6.1.3 Licensees selected for random audit will be required to supplement the attestation with

attendance verification pursuant to Rule 6.3.
6.2 The continuing education period will be from August 1st to July 31st of each biennial licensing period.
6.3 Each licensed geologist shall complete, biennially, 24 units of continuing education as a condition of

license renewal. The licensee is responsible for retaining all certificates and documentation of participation in approved
continuing education programs. Upon request, such documentation shall be made available to the Board for random
post renewal audit and verification purposes 60 days prior to renewal. A continuing education unit is equivalent to one
contact hour (60 minutes), subject to the Board’s review. The preparing of original lectures, seminars, or workshops in
geology or related subjects shall be granted one (1) contact hour for preparation for each contact hour of presentation.
Credit for preparation shall be given for the first presentation only.

6.4 A candidate for renewal may be granted an extension of time in which to complete continuing
education hours upon a showing of hardship. “Hardship” may include, but is not limited to, disability; illness; extended
absence from the jurisdiction; or exceptional family responsibilities. Requests for hardship consideration must be
submitted to the Board in writing prior to the end of the licensing period for which it is made.

6.5 Continuing education shall be prorated for new licensees in the following manner:
6.5.1 If at the time of renewal, a licensee has been licensed for less than one year, no continuing

education is required; if he/she has been licensed for more than one year, but less than two years, twelve of the twenty-
four hours will be required; if he/she has been licensed for two years or more the full twenty-four hours is required.
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6.6 In his/her personal records, each licensee must keep proof of attendance for each activity listed on the
CE log form. for which the licensee is requesting credit. If the Board conducts an audit of a licensee’s CE records, the
Board will request require the licensee to complete a CE log provided by the Board and submit the licensee’s
documentation of attendance to the CE event listed on the form CE log. Failure to submit proof of attendance during an
audit will result in loss of CE credit for that event.

6.7 Continuing education must be in a field related to Geology.  Approval will be at the discretion of  the
Board.  CEUs earned in excess of the required credits for the two- (2) year period may not be carried over to the next
biennial period.

6.8 Categories of Continuing Education & Maximum Credit Allowed:
6.8.1 Courses – 24 CEUs
6.8.2 Professional Meetings & Activities/Field Trips – 12 CEUs
6.8.3 Peer Review of (12 CEUs) or Peer Reviewed Geologic Publications (12 CEUs)
6.8.4 Presentations – 12 CEUs
6.8.5 Research/Grants – 12 CEUs
6.8.6 Specialty Certifications – 12 CEUs
6.8.7 Home Study Courses – 12 CEUs
6.8.8 Teaching – 12 CEUs
6.8.9 Service on a Geological Professional Society, Geological Institution Board/Committee or

Geological State Board – 6 CEUs
6.8.10 For any of the above activities, when it is possible to claim credit in more than one category,

the licensee may claim credit for the same time period in only one category.
6.9 Automatic Approval for course work sponsored by the following Professional Societies:

6.9.1 American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
6.9.2 American Association of Stratigraphic Palynologists (AASP)
6.9.3 American Geological Institute (AGI) 
6.9.4 American Geophysical Union (AGU)
6.9.5 American Institute of Hydrology (AIH)
6.9.6 American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG)
6.9.7 Association of American State Geologists (AASG)
6.9.8 Association of Earth Science Editors (AESE)
6.9.9 Association of Engineering Geologists (AEG)
6.9.10 Association of Ground Water Scientists & Engineers (AGWSE) 
6.9.11 Association of Women Geoscientists (AWG)
6.9.12 Clay Mineral Society (CMS)
6.9.13 Council for Undergraduate Research-Geology Div. (CUR)
6.9.14 Geologic Society of America (GSA)
6.9.15 Geoscience Information Society (GIS)
6.9.16 International Association of Hydrogeologists/US National Committee (IAH)
6.9.17 Mineralogical Society of America (MSA)
6.9.18 National Association of Black Geologists and Geophysicists (NABGG)
6.9.19 National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT)
6.9.20 National Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG)
6.9.21 National Earth Science Teachers Association (NESTA)
6.9.22 National Speleological Society (NSS)
6.9.23 Paleontological Research Institution (PRI)
6.9.24 Paleontological Society (PS)
6.9.25 Seismological Society of America (SSA)
6.9.26 Society of Economic Geologists (SEG)
6.9.27 Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG)
6.9.28 Society of Independent Professional Earth Scientists (SIPES)
6.9.29 Society for Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration, Inc. (SME)
6.9.30 Society for Organic Petrology (TSOP)
6.9.31 Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM)
6.9.32 Society of Vertebrate Paleontology (SVP)
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6.9.33 Soil Science Society of America (SSSA)
6.9.34 Other professional or educational organizations as approved periodically by the Board.

6.10 Courses not pre-approved by the Board may be submitted for review and approval throughout the
biennial licensing period.
Note:  Since regulation 6.9 provides the list of sponsors that are automatically approved by the Board for any course
work used for Continuing Education units (CEU) towards the total of 24 CEUs in the biennial license period, please
note that regulation 6.10, allowing for pre-approval of courses for CEUs, only pertains to courses NOT offered by a
sponsor listed in the list provided in regulation 6.9. Furthermore, one CEU = one Contact Hour.

7 DE Reg. 1342 (4/1/04)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Registration of Geologists Regulations is available at: http://
dpr.delaware.gov/boards/geology/index.shtml.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
5300 State Board of Massage and Bodywork

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §5306(a)(1)
24 DE Admin. Code 5300

PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Massage and Bodywork, in accordance with 24 Del.C. §5306(a)(1), has proposed changes
to its rules and regulations related to CPR Certification.

A public hearing will be held at 1:30 p.m. on August 17, 2006 in the 2nd floor Conference Room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board of
Massage and Bodywork, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. Persons wishing to
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork

1.0 Definitions and General Definitions
1.1 The term "500 hours of supervised in-class study" as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5308(a)(1) shall mean

that an instructor has controlled and reviewed the applicant's education on the premises of a school or approved
program of massage or bodywork therapy, and can document that the applicant has successfully completed a
curriculum that is substantially the same as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5308(a)(1) and which includes hands-on
technique and contraindications as they relate to massage and bodywork. More than one school or approved program
of massage or bodywork therapy may be attended in order to accumulate the total 500 hour requirement.

1.2 The term a "300 - hour course of supervised in-class study of massage" as referenced in 24 Del.C.
§5309(a)(1) shall mean that an instructor has controlled and reviewed the applicant's education on the premises of a
school or approved program of massage or bodywork therapy, and can document that the applicant has successfully
completed a 300 hour course which includes no less than sixty hours of anatomy and physiology, one hundred-forty
hours of theory and technique and one hundred hours of elective courses in the field of massage therapy as referenced
in 24 Del.C. §5309(a)(1).

1.2.1 The 300 hour course must be a unified introductory training program in massage and
bodywork, including training in the subjects set forth in Rule 1.4. The entire 300 hour course must be taken at one
school or approved program. The Board may, upon request, waive the “single school” requirement for good cause or
hardship, such as the closure of a school.
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1.3 The term a “200 hour course of supervised in-class study of massage" as referenced in 24 Del.C.
§5309(b) shall mean that an instructor has controlled and reviewed the applicant's education on the premises of a
school or approved program of massage or bodywork therapy, and can document that the applicant has successfully
completed a 200 hour course which includes no less than fifty hours of anatomy and physiology, one hundred-ten
hours of theory and technique, twenty- five hours of ethics, law, and contraindications and fifteen hours of elective
courses in the field of massage therapy as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5309(b).

1.4 The “practice of massage and bodywork” includes, but is not limited to, the following modalities:
Acupressure 
Chair Massage
Craniosacral Therapy
Deep Tissue Massage Therapy 
Healing Touch 
Joint Mobilization
Lymph Drainage Therapy
Manual Lymphatic Drainage
Massage Therapy 
Myofascial Release Therapy 
Neuromuscular Therapy
Orthobionomy
Process Acupressure
Reflexology
Rolfing
Shiatsu
Swedish Massage Therapy
Trager
Visceral Manipulation

1.5 The practice of the following modalities does not constitute the “practice of massage and bodywork”:
Alexander Technique
Aroma therapy
Feldenkrais 
Hellerwork
Polarity Therapy
Reiki
Shamanic Techniques
Therapeutic Touch

1.6 “CPR certification” means a valid Heartsaver® CPR Certification or its equivalent issued by the
American Heart Association, a valid Adult CPR Certification or its equivalent issued by the American Red Cross, or a
valid Standard CPR Certification or its equivalent issued by the National Safety Council.

3 DE Reg. 1516 (5/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)
8 DE Reg. 692 (11/1/04)

2.0 Filing of Application for Licensure as Massage/Bodywork Therapist
2.1 A person seeking licensure as a massage/bodywork therapist must submit a completed application on

a form prescribed by the Board to the Board office at the Division of Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware. Each
application must be accompanied by (1) a copy proof  of a current CPR certificateion from a State certified
cardiopulmonary resuscitation program as required by 24 Del.C. §5308(3); and (2) payment of the application fee
established by the Division of Professional Regulation pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5311.

2.2 In addition to the application and materials described in Regulation 2.1 of this Rule, an applicant for
licensure as a massage/bodywork therapist shall have (1) each school or approved program of massage or bodywork
where the applicant completed the hours of study required by 24 Del.C. §5308(a)(1) submit to the Board an official
transcript or official documentation showing dates and total hours attended and a description of the curriculum
completed; and (2) Assessment Systems, Incorporated or its predecessor, submit to the Board verification of the
applicant's score on the written examination described in Rule Regulation 3.0 herein.
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2.3 The Bboard shall not consider an application for licensure as a massage/bodywork therapist until all
items specified in Regulations 2.1 and 2.2 of this Rule are submitted to the Bboard's office.

2.3.1 The Board may, in its discretion, approve applications contingent on receipt of necessary
documentation. If the required documentation is not received within 120 days from the date when the application is first
reviewed by the Board, the Board will propose to deny the application.

2.3.2 If an application is complete in terms of required documents, but the candidate has not
responded to a Board request for further information, explanation or clarification within 120 days of the Board’s request,
the Board will vote on the application as it stands.

2.4 Renewal. Applicants for renewal of a massage/bodywork therapist license shall submit a completed
renewal form, renewal fee, proof of continuing education pursuant to Rule Regulation 7.0, and a copy proof of a current
CPR certificate certification from a State certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation program. License holders shall be
required to maintain current CPR certification throughout the biennial licensure period.

4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)
8 DE Reg. 692 (11/1/04)

3.0 Examination
The Board designates the National Certification Examination administered by the National Certification Board

for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork ("NCBTMB") as the written examination to be taken by all persons applying for
licensure as a massage/bodywork therapist. The Board will accept as a passing score on the exam the passing score
established by the NCBTMB.

4.0 Application for Certification as Massage Technician
4.1 A person seeking certification as a massage technician must submit a completed application on a form

prescribed by the Board to the Board office at the Division of Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware. Each
application must be accompanied by (1) a copy proof of a current certificate certification from a State certified
cardiopulmonary resuscitation program as required by 24 Del.C. §5309(a)(2); and (2) payment of the application fee
established by the Division of Professional Regulation pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5311.

4.2 In addition to the application and materials described in Regulation 4.1 of this Rule, an applicant for
certification as a massage technician shall have the school or approved program of massage or bodywork therapy
where the applicant completed the hours or study required by 24 Del.C. §5309(a)(1) submit to the Board an official
transcript or official documentation showing dates and total hours attended and a description of the curriculum
completed.

4.2.1 An applicant for a temporary massage technician certification, in addition to the application
and materials described in Regulation 4.1 of this Rule, shall have the school or approved program of massage or
bodywork therapy where the applicant completed the hours or study required by 24 Del.C. §5309(b) submit to the
Board an official transcript or official documentation showing dates and total hours attended and a description of the
curriculum completed.

4.3 The Bboard shall not consider an application for certification as a massage technician until all items
specified in Regulations 4.1 and 4.2 of this Rule are submitted to the Bboard's office.

4.3.1 The Board may, in its discretion, approve applications contingent on receipt of necessary
documentation. If the required documentation is not received within 120 days from the date when the application is first
reviewed by the Bboard, the Bboard will propose to deny the application.

4.3.2 If an application is complete in terms of required documents, but the candidate has not
responded to a Board request for further information, explanation or clarification within 120 days of the Bboard’s
request, the Board will vote on the application as it stands.

4.4 Renewal. Applicants for renewal of a massage technician certificate shall submit a completed renewal
form, renewal fee, proof of continuing education pursuant to Rule 7.0, and a copy proof of a current CPRcertificate
certification from a State certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation program. Certificate holders shall be required to
maintain current CPR certification throughout the biennial licensure period. Temporary massage technician certificates
are valid for no more than one (1) year and may not be renewed or reissued pursuant to the provision of 24 Del.C.
§5309(b).

3 DE Reg. 1516 (5/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)
8 DE Reg. 692 (11/1/04)
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5.0 Expired License or Certificate
An expired license as a massage/bodywork therapist or expired certificate as a massage technician, excluding

temporary massage technician certificates, may be reinstated within one (1) year after expiration upon application and
payment of the renewal fee plus a late fee as set by the Division of Professional Regulation, and submission of
documentation demonstrating compliance with the continuing education requirements of Rule Regulation 7.0, and
proof of current CPR certifcation.

5 DE Reg. 827 (10/01/01)
8 DE Reg. 692 (11/1/04)

6.0 Inactive Status
6.1 A licensee asking to have his or her license placed on inactive status must notify the Board of his/her

intention to do so in writing prior to the expiration of his/her current license. Holders of temporary massage technician
certificates are not eligible for inactive status.

6.2 A licensee on inactive status seeking to re-enter practice must notify the Board in writing of his/her
intention, pay the appropriate fee, and provide the Board with documentation demonstrating compliance with the
continuing education hours required by Rule Regulation 7.0, and proof of current CPR certification.

8 DE Reg. 692 (11/1/04)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Massage and Bodywork is available at: http://dpr.delaware.gov/
boards/massagebodyworks/index.shtml

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

Public Notice of Proposed Adoption of “Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards”

IN THE MATTER OF THE CONSIDERATION OF |
RULES, STANDARDS AND INDICES TO ENSURE |
RELIABLE ELECTRICAL SERVICE BY ELECTRIC | PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 50
DISTRIBUTION COMPANIES |
(OPENED SEPTEMBER 26, 2000; REOPENED |
OCTOBER 11, 2005) |

ORDER NO. 69251

 AND NOW, to-wit, this 20th day of June, 2006;
WHEREAS, in 2003, the Commission originally adopted “Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards” to

provide interim benchmark standards related to reliability of electric service provided by the two Commission-
jurisdictional electric distribution utilities (“EDUs”); and

WHEREAS, in PSC Order No. 6745 (Oct. 11, 2005), the Commission proposed and then published (9 Del.
Reg. 756-768 (Nov., 2005)) final “Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards” to measure and govern the
reliability of services provided by EDUs as well as to acquire information from in-State generation facilities; and

WHEREAS, several interested and affected entities voiced objections, or offered comments, concerning
various provisions in the proposed final Standards and thereafter renewed those objections during the duly-noticed
public comment session hearing held by the designated Hearing Examiner; and

WHEREAS, after the public comment session, entities filing comments and Staff entered into a settlement
document that endorsed a revised form for the final Standards; and

1.  This Order replaces a prior, similarly numbered Order entered by the Commission on June 6, 2006.  the substitu-
tion is made to ensure compliance with the rule-making procedure in the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C.
§§10111-10118. The earlier Order is rescinded.
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WHEREAS, the designated Hearing Examiner held a duly-noticed hearing on the settlement document and
the revised form of final Standards, and has submitted a Report, dated May 10, 2006, that recommends that the
Commission adopt the settling entities’ form of final Standards as the Commission’s form of final Standards,
superseding the Standards previously proposed and noticed in November, 2005; and

WHEREAS, the Commission finds that the settling entities’ revised form of Standards is appropriate and will
further the Commission’s goal of ensuring reliable electrical services by jurisdictional EDUs; and

WHEREAS, the Commission (in an abundance of caution) determines that the revised form of Standards
makes “substantive” changes from the Standards proposed in November, 2005, so that, as required by 29 Del.C.
§10118(c), such revised Standards should now be noticed to allow for another opportunity for comments either in
writing or at a public hearing; and

WHEREAS, the Commission adopts as its own the settling entities’  form of Standards in this matter for the
reasons set forth in the Hearing Examiner’s Report dated May 10, 2006; and

WHEREAS, the Commission has the authority to adopt the final regulations under 26 Del. C. §§209, 1002,
1008, and 1019; 

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:
1. That the findings and recommendations contained in the Report of the Hearing Examiner, dated May

10, 2006, are hereby adopted. 
2. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10115 and 10118(c), the Commission hereby gives notice that it

proposes to adopt the final “Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards” set forth as Exhibit “A” to this Order.
Such proposed final Standards would supersede those proposed in 9 DE Reg. 756-768 (Nov. 1, 2005).

3. That the Secretary shall cause a copy of this Order with the full text of the proposed final Standards
(Exhibit “A”) to be filed with the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

4. That the Secretary shall also cause a copy of the Notice, attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, to be filed with
the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

5. That the Secretary shall cause the form of Notice, attached as Exhibit “B”, to be published in the
following newspapers, in two- column format, outlined in black, on the following dates:

The News Journal (June 28, 2006)
Delaware State News (June 29, 2006)

The Secretary shall file proof of such publication before July 21, 2006.  In addition, the Secretary shall send, by United
States mail, a copy of such notice to all persons who have filed requests for advance notice of the Commission’s
regulation-making proceedings.

6. That interested persons may file written suggestions, compilations of date, briefs, comments,
objections, or other written materials concerning the proposed Standards on or before August 2, 2006.

7. That the Commission shall conduct a public hearing on the adoption of the proposed Standards set
forth in Exhibit “A” during its regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, August 8, 2006.  Persons may present additional
comments, materials, or objections at such hearing.

8. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as
may be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Dallas Winslow, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

TO: ALL PSC-JURISDICTIONAL ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION COMPANIES, ELECTRIC GENERATORS,
RETAIL ELECRIC SUPPLIERS, CONSUMERS, AND OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS
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Since 2003, the Public Service Commission (“the Commission”) has been developing Standards to measure
and judge the reliability of the electrical services provided by electric distribution utilities such as Delmarva Power &
Light Company and the Delaware Electric Cooperative, Inc.  In PSC Order No. 6745 (Oct. 11, 2005), the Commission
proposed and then published (9 DE Reg. 756 (Nov. 1, 2005)) final “Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards.”
In light of comments and objections filed in response to those earlier proposed Standards, the Commission now
proposes to adopt a revised form of “Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards.”  These revised Standards
would supersede the Standards proposed in 2005. As with the earlier proposal, the revised Standards set forth
methods and benchmarks to be utilized to measure the reliability of services provided by electric distribution
companies. The revised Standards also articulate principles and goals for reliability, describe responses to be made to
outages and major events, and require the preparation of periodic performance reports and planning studies.  The
Standards also prescribe the available penalties for violations.  Finally, the revised Standards direct electric generation
facilities located within this State to participate in a “Generation Working Group” or file periodic reports concerning
certain aspects of their operations.

You may review the text of the revised final Standards in the July, 2006 issue of the Delaware Register of
Regulations. You may obtain written copies of the revised Standards at the Commission’s office at the address set forth
below. The cost is $0.25 per page. You may also review an electronic copy of the revised Standards at the
Commission’s website at www.state.de.us/delpsc (open PSC Order No. 6925).  The Commission has the authority to
adopt such regulations under 26 Del.C. §§209, 1002, 1008, and 1019.  

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133, 10115, and 10118(c), the Commission now solicits comments, written
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials concerning the revised final Standards.  If you wish
to submit such materials, you should file an original and ten copies at the following address:

Delaware Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite 100
Dover, Delaware 19904
Attn:  PSC Reg. Dckt. No. 50

You must file such materials on or before August 2, 2006.
In addition, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a) and 29 Del.C. §10117, the Commission will conduct a public hearing

on the revised Standards during its regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, August 8, 2006. That meeting will begin
at 1:00 PM in the Commission’s Hearing Room at the above address. You can submit oral presentations or written
materials at such hearing.

If you have questions, or desire further information about the matter, you can contact the Commission at 1-800-
282-8574 or (302) 739-4333 (including text telephone). You can also send questions by Internet e-mail to
robert.howatt@state.de.us. If you are disabled and need assistance, please contact the Commission to arrange
assistance.

STATE OF DELAWARE
Delaware Public Service Commission

Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards

MARCH 2006

1.0 Purpose and Scope
1.1 Reliable electric service is of great importance to the Delaware Public Service Commission

(“Commission”), because it is an essential service to the citizens of Delaware.  This regulation, in support of 26 Del.C.,
§1002, sets forth reliability standards and reporting requirements needed to assure the continued reliability and quality
of electric service being delivered to Delaware customers and is applicable to all Delaware Electric Distribution
Companies (“EDCs”) and Delaware Generation Companies.

1.2 Nothing in this regulation relieves any utility or generation company from compliance with any
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requirement set forth under any other regulation, statute or order. This regulation is in addition to those required under
PSC Docket No. 58, Order No. 103, Regulations Governing Service Supplied by Electrical Utilities.

1.3 Compliance with this regulation is a minimum standard.  Compliance does not create a presumption of
safe, adequate and proper service.  Each EDC needs to exercise their professional judgment based on their systems
and service territories.  Nothing in this regulation relieves any utility from the requirement to furnish safe, adequate and
proper service and to keep and maintain its property and equipment in such condition as to enable it to do so. (26
Del.C., §209)

1.4 Each EDC shall maintain the reliability of its distribution services and shall implement procedures to
require all electric suppliers to deliver energy to the EDC at locations and in amounts which are adequate to meet each
electric supplier's obligations to its customers. (26 Del.C., §1008)

1.5 Each generation company operating in the state is required to provide the Commission with an annual
assessment of their electric supply reliability as specified in Section 10.

1.6 This regulation requires the maintenance and retention of reliability data and the reporting of reliability
objectives, planned actions and projects, programs, load studies and actual resulting performance on an annual basis,
including major events as specified in section 11.

1.7 EDCs are responsible for maintaining the reliability of electric service to all their customers in the state
of Delaware.  Pursuant to this requirement, EDCs may be subject to penalties as described in Section 13 or 26 Del.C.,
§1019.

1.8 EDCs are required to explore the use of proven state of the art technology, to provide cost effective
electric service reliability improvements.

1.9 This Electric Service Reliability and Quality regulation shall be effective through 2012 and may be
reviewed, revised or extended as necessary to ensure the maintenance of electric reliability and quality service in
Delaware.

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, as used in these regulations, shall have the following meanings, unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Acceptable reliability level” is defined as the maximum acceptable limit of the System Average Interruption

Duration Index (“SAIDI”), and the Constrained Hours of Operation as specified in Section 4.0
“ALM” means Active Load Management in accordance with Article 1, Schedule 5.2 of PJM’s Reliability

Assurance Agreement (RAA).
“Availability” means the measure of time a generating unit, transmission line, or other facility is capable of

providing service, whether or not it actually is in service.
“Beginning restoration” includes the essential or required analysis of an interruption, the dispatching of an

individual or crew to an affected area, and their arrival at the work site to begin the restoration process (normally
inclusive of dispatch and response times).

“Benchmark” means the standard service measure of SAIDI and Constrained Hours of Operation as set forth
in this regulation.

“Capacity” means the rated continuous load-carrying ability, expressed in megawatts (“MW”) or megavolt-
amperes (“MVA”) of generation, transmission, or other electrical equipment.

“Capacity Emergency Transfer Objective (‘CETO’)” means the amount of megawatt capacity that an area
or sub area must be able to import during localized capacity emergency conditions such that the probability of loss of
load due to insufficient tie capability is not greater than one day in 10 years.

“Capacity Emergency Transfer Limit (‘CETL’)” means the amount of megawatts that can actually be
imported into the area or sub area during localized capacity emergency conditions.

“Constrained hours of operation” means the hours of electric system operation during which time there are
limits, transfer constraints or contingencies on the PJM DPL Zone delivery system that require off-cost dispatch of
generating facilities. Total constrained hours exclude offcost operations attributable to generation or transmission
forced outages, generation or transmission related construction or any unrelated third party actions including
generation retirements, provided mitigating projects are planned, permitted and constructed in a reasonable timeframe.

“Contingency” means the unexpected failure or outage of a system component, such as a generator,
transmission line, circuit breaker, switch, or other electrical element. A contingency may also include multiple
components, which are related by situations leading to simultaneous component outages.

“Corrective action” means the maintenance, repair, or replacement of an EDC’s utility system components
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and structures to allow them to function at an acceptable level of reliability.
“Corrective maintenance” means the unplanned maintenance work required to restore delivery facilities to a

normal operating condition that allows them to function at an acceptable level of reliability.
“Customer Average Interruption Duration Index (‘CAIDI’)” represents the average time in minutes required

to restore service to those customers that experienced sustained interruptions during the reporting period. CAIDI is
defined as follows:

CAIDI = Sum of all Sustained Customer Interruption Durations per Reporting Period
Total Number of Sustained Customer Interruptions per Reporting Period

“Customers Experiencing Long Interruption Durations8 (‘CELID8’)” represents the total number of
customers that have experienced a cumulative total of more than eight hours of outages.

“Customers Experiencing Multiple Interruptions8 (‘CEMI8’)” is an index that represents the total
number of customers that have experienced nine or more interruptions in a single year reporting period.

CEMI8 = Total number of customers that experienced more than eight (8) sustained interruptions
Total number of customers served

“Delivery Facilities” means the EDC’s physical plant used to provide electric energy to Delaware retail
customers, normally inclusive of distribution and transmission facilities.

“Dispatch time” is the elapsed time between receipt of a customer call and the dispatch of a service resource
to address the customer’s issue as tracked by an Outage Management System.

“Distribution feeder” or “feeder” means a three-phase set of conductors emanating from a substation circuit
breaker serving customers in a defined local distribution area.  This includes three-phase, two-phase and single-phase
branches that are normally isolated at all endpoints.

"Distribution facilities" means electric facilities located in Delaware that are owned by a public utility that
operate at voltages of 34,500 volts or below and that are used to deliver electricity to customers, up through and
including the point of physical connection with electric facilities owned by the customer.

“Electric Distribution Company” or “EDC” means a public utility owning and/or operating transmission and/
or distribution facilities in this state.

“Electric distribution system” means that portion of an electric system, that delivers electric energy from
transformation points on the transmission system to points of connection at the customers’ premises.

“Electric service” means the supply, transmission, and distribution of electric energy as provided by an
electric distribution company.

“Electric Supplier” means a person or entity certified by the Commission that sells electricity to retail electric
customers utilizing the transmission and/or distribution facilities of a nonaffiliated electric utility, as further specified in
26 Del.C., §1001.

“Forced outage” means the removal from service availability of a generating unit, transmission line, or other
facility for emergency reasons or a condition in which the equipment is unavailable due to unanticipated failure.1 

“Forced outage rate” means the hours a generating unit, transmission line, or other facility is removed from
service, divided by the sum of the hours it is removed from service plus the total number of hours the facility was
connected to the electricity system expressed as a percent.2

Multiple momentary forced outages on the same transmission line in the span of a single minute shall be
treated as a single forced outage with the duration of one minute. When the operation of a transmission circuit is
restored following a forced outage and the transmission line remains operational for a period exceeding one minute or
more, followed by another forced outage, then these should be counted as two forced outages. Multiple forced outages
occurring as a result of a single event should be handled as multiple forced outages only if subsequent operation of the
transmission line between events exceeds one minute. Otherwise they shall be considered one continuous forced
outage.3

1. North American Electric Reliability Council – “Glossary of Terms”, August 1996
2. North American Electric Reliability Council – “Glossary of Terms”, August 1996
3. Draft CAISO Transmission Control Agreement, Appendix C, ISO Maintenance Standards
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“Generation company” means a private or publicly owned company that owns or leases, with right of
ownership, plant, equipment and facilities in the state of Delaware, rated in excess of 25 MVA and capable of supplying
electric energy to the transmission and/or distribution system.

“Generation Working Group” means a forum within which Generation companies can voluntarily provide to
the Commission information related to the operation of their Generating Plants that would otherwise be required
pursuant to these Regulations.

“Interruption” means the loss of electric service to one or more customers.  It is the result of one or more
component outages, depending on system configuration or other events.  See “outage” and “major event.”  The types
of interruption include momentary event, sustained and scheduled. 

“Interruption, duration” means the period (measured in minutes) from the initiation of an interruption of
electric service to a customer until such service has been restored to that customer. An interruption may require step
restoration tracking to provide reliable index calculations.

“Interruption, momentary event” means an interruption of electric service to one or more customers, of
which the duration is less than or equal to 5 minutes. This definition includes all reclosing operations, which occur
within five minutes of the first interruption.  For example, if a recloser or breaker operates two, three, or four times and
then holds within five minutes, the event shall be considered one momentary event interruption.

“Interruption, scheduled” means an interruption of electric service that results when one or more
components are deliberately taken out of service at a selected time, usually for the purposes of preventative
maintenance, repair or construction.  Scheduled interruptions, where attempts have been made to notify customers in
advance, shall not be included in SAIDI, SAIFI, CAIDI, or Forced Outage measures.

“Interruption, sustained” means an interruption of electric service to one or more customers that is not
classified as a momentary event interruption and which is longer than five minutes in duration.

“Interrupting device” means a device, capable of being reclosed, whose purpose includes interrupting fault
currents, isolating faulted components, disconnecting loads and restoring service. These devices can be manual,
automatic, or motor operated.  Examples include transmission and distribution breakers, line reclosers, motor operated
switches, fuses or other devices.

“Major Event” means an event consistent with the I.E.E.E.1366, Guide For Electric Power Distribution
Reliability Indices standard as approved and as may be revised.  For purposes of this regulation, changes shall be
considered to be in effect beginning January 1 of the first calendar year after the changed standard is adopted by the
I.E.E.E.  Major event interruptions shall be excluded from the EDC’s SAIDI, SAIFI, CAIDI and Constrained Hours
measurements for comparison to reliability benchmarks. Interruption data for major events shall be collected, and
reported according to the reporting requirements outlined in Section 11.

“Mid Atlantic Area Council (‘MAAC’) or Reliability First Corporation ”means a regional council of the
North American Electric Reliability Council (“NERC”), or successor organization, that is responsible for Mid Atlantic
operational policies and reliability planning standards applicable to PJM and local electric distribution company
members.

“North American Electric Reliability Council (‘NERC’)” means the national organization responsible for
operational policies and reliability planning standards applicable to national system operations and electric distribution
companies, or their successor organizations.

“Outage” means the state of a component when it is not available to perform its intended function due to some
event directly associated with that component.  An outage may or may not cause an interruption of electric service to
customers, depending on system configuration. 

“Outage Management System (‘OMS’)” means a software operating system that provides database
information to effectively manage service interruptions and minimize customer outage times.

“Pre-restructuring” refers to the five-year time frame prior to Delaware’s adoption of 26 Del. C., Chapter 10,
Electric Utility Restructuring Statute (1995-1999).

“PJM Interconnection, L.L.C. (‘PJM’)” means the Regional Transmission Organization or successor
organization that is responsible for wholesale energy markets and the interstate transmission of energy throughout a
multi-state operating area that includes Delaware.

“Power quality” means the characteristics of electric power received by the customer, with the exception of
sustained interruptions and momentary event interruptions. Characteristics of electric power that detract from its quality
include waveform irregularities and voltage variations—either prolonged or transient.  Power quality problems shall
include, but are not limited to, disturbances such as high or low voltage, voltage spikes or transients, flicker and voltage
sags, surges and short-time overvoltages, as well as harmonics and noise.
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“Preventive maintenance” means the planned maintenance, usually performed to preclude forced or
unplanned outages, and which allows delivery facilities to continue functioning at an acceptable level of reliability.

“Reliability” means the degree of performance of the elements of the bulk electric system that results in
electricity being delivered to customers within accepted standards and in the amount desired. Reliability may be
measured by the frequency, duration, and magnitude of adverse effects on the electric supply. Electric system reliability
can be addressed by considering two basic and functional aspects of the electric system – Adequacy and Security.

Adequacy - The ability of the electric system to supply the aggregate electrical demand and energy
requirements of customers at all times, taking into account scheduled and reasonably expected unscheduled outages
of system elements.

Security - The ability of the electric system to withstand sudden disturbances such as electric short
circuits or unanticipated loss of system elements.1

As applied to distribution facilities, reliability is further described as the degree to which safe, proper
and adequate electric service is supplied to customers without interruption.

“Repair time” is the elapsed time from the arrival of the service resource at the identified problem site to the
correction of the customer’s original concern as tracked by the OMS.

“Response time” is the elapsed time from dispatch of service resource to the arrival of the service resource at
the identified problem site as tracked by the OMS.

“Step restoration” means the restoration of service to blocks of customers in an area until the entire area or
circuit is restored.

“Sum of all Sustained Customer Interruption Durations” means the summation of the restoration time (in
minutes) for each event times the number of interrupted customers for each step restoration of each interruption event
during the reporting period.

“Supervisory Control And Data Acquisition (‘SCADA’)” is an electronic communication and control system
that provides electrical system operating information and mechanisms to remotely control energy flows and equipment.

“System Average Interruption Duration Index (‘SAIDI’)” represents the average duration of sustained
interruptions per customer.  SAIDI is defined as:

SAIDI = Sum of all Sustained Customer Interruption Durations per Reporting Period
Total Number of Customers Served per Reporting Period

“System Average Interruption Frequency Index (‘SAIFI’)” represents the average frequency of sustained
interruptions per customer during the reporting period.  SAIFI is defined as:

SAIFI = Total Number of Sustained Customer Interruptions per Reporting Period
Total Number of Customers Served per Reporting Period

“Total Number of Sustained Customer Interruptions” means the sum of the number of interrupted
customers for each interruption event during the reporting period. Customers who experienced multiple interruptions
during the reporting period are counted for each interruption event the customer experienced during the reporting
period.

“Total Number of Customers Served” means the number of customers provided with electric service by the
distribution facility for which a reliability index is being calculated on the last day of the time period for which the
reliability index is being calculated.  This number should exclude all street lighting (dusk-to-dawn lighting, municipal
street lighting, traffic lights) and sales to other electric utilities.

"Transmission facilities" means electric facilities located in Delaware and owned by a public utility that
operate at voltages above 34,500 volts and that are used to transmit and deliver electricity to customers (including any
customers taking electric service under interruptible rate schedules as of December 31, 1998) up through and including
the point of physical connection with electric facilities owned by the customer.

3.0 Electric Service Reliability and Quality
3.1 Each EDC shall provide reliable electric service that is consistent with pre-restructuring service levels

1. ERC definition - NERC’s Reliability Assessment 2001–2010, dated October 16, 2001.
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as identified in Section 4. and complies with 26 Del.C., §1002.
3.2 Each EDC shall install, operate, and maintain its delivery facilities in conformity with the requirements

of the National Electrical Safety Code and the operating policies and standards of NERC, MAAC and PJM, or their
successor organizations.

3.3 Each EDC shall have targeted objectives, programs and/or procedures and forecast load studies,
designed to help maintain the acceptable reliability level for its delivery facilities and, where appropriate, to improve
performance.

3.4 Each EDC, in accordance with Section 9., shall submit to the Commission, on or before March 31 of
each year, a Planning and Studies Report identifying its current year’s annual objectives, planned actions and projects,
programs, and forecast studies that serve to maintain reliability and quality of service at an acceptable reliability level.

3.5 Each EDC, in accordance with Section 10., shall submit to the Commission, on or before April 30 of
each year, a Performance Report that assesses the achievement of the previous year’s objectives, planned actions,
projects and programs, and assesses the relative accuracy of forecast studies and previous years performance
measures with respect to benchmarks.

3.6 Each generation company in accordance with Section 10. shall submit to the Commission on or before
April 30 of each year, a Performance Report that evaluates their reliability of energy supply.

3.7 Each EDC shall ensure that distribution system generation interconnection requirements are
consistent with the I.E.E.E. 1547 series, “Standard for Interconnecting Distributed Resources with Electric Power
Systems, as currently approved and as may be revised.

3.8 Each EDC shall file and maintain with the Commission a copy of the technical requirements for
distribution system generation interconnection.

4.0 Reliability and Quality Performance Benchmarks
4.1 The measurement of reliability and quality performance shall be based on annual SAIDI and

Constrained Hours of Operation measures for each EDC.  The SAIDI calculation shall include all Delaware customer
outages, excluding major events, and shall be reported along with its SAIFI and CAIDI components, subdivided by its
distribution, substation and transmission components. The Constrained Hours of Operations shall be based on
peninsula (DPL Zone) transmission system contingency limitations that require the dispatch of off-cost generation,
excluding generation or transmission forced outages, generation or transmission related construction or any unrelated
third party actions.

4.2 Each EDC shall maintain their electric service reliability and quality performance measures within the
benchmark standard of this Section 4, Paragraph.3.  SAIDI and Constrained Hours of Operation performance shall be
measured each calendar year. Annual SAIDI and Hours of Constrained Operation performance equal to or better than
the acceptable reliability level meets the standard of this regulation.  When performance does not meet the acceptable
reliability level, further review and analysis are required. The EDC may be subject to penalties as defined in Section 13.
and subsequent corrective actions may be required.

4.3 For the  EDCs, the electric service reliability and quality performance benchmarks are established as
follows:

4.3.1 The system SAIDI benchmark standard, which is based on pre-restructuring levels of
performance and adjusted to reflect a 1.75 standard deviation of data variability and the transition to an OMS system
shall be as follows:

4.3.1.1 Delaware Electric Cooperative SAIDI shall be 635 minutes per customer; and
4.3.1.2 Delmarva Power SAIDI shall be 295 minutes per customer.

4.3.2 Based on the PEPCO/Conectiv merger settlement, the Constrained Hours of Operation
benchmark standard shall be 600 hours for each EDC.

4.4 Each EDC shall track and report its annual performance and three-year average performance against
benchmark standards in accordance with Section 10.

4.5 Each EDC shall track and report its annual CAIDI, SAIFI, CEMI8 and CELID8 performance in
accordance with Section 10.

5.0 Reliability and Quality Performance Objectives 
5.1 Each EDC shall establish electric service reliability and quality performance objectives for the

forthcoming year.  Objectives shall include:
5.1.1 Anticipated performance measures designed to maintain reliable electric distribution service
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with a description of any planned actions to achieve target objectives;
5.1.2 Anticipated performance measures designed to maintain transmission circuits and power

transformers with a description of any planned actions to achieve target objectives; and
5.1.3 Annual corrective, preventive and total maintenance program hours and costs anticipated on

Delaware transmission circuits, distribution circuits and substation equipment.
5.2 Performance objective measures shall be established to support the maintenance of electric reliability

performance.  Performance objectives shall be representative of expected performance, taking into consideration
anticipated new construction projects, power quality and maintenance programs, planned actions and any resource or
time limitations.

6.0 Power Quality Program
6.1 Each EDC shall maintain a power quality program with clearly stated objectives and procedures

designed to respond promptly to customer reports of power quality concerns.
6.2 Each EDC shall consider power quality concerns in the design, construction and maintenance of its

transmission and distribution power delivery system components to mitigate, using reasonable measures, power
quality disturbances that adversely affect customers’ equipment.

6.3 Each EDC shall maintain records of customer power quality concerns and EDC response. These
records shall be made available to the Commission Staff upon request with 30 days notice.

7.0 Inspection and Maintenance Program
7.1 Each EDC shall have an inspection and maintenance program designed to maintain delivery facilities

performance at an acceptable reliability level.  The program shall be based on industry codes, national electric industry
practices, manufacturer’s recommendations, sound engineering judgment and past experience.

7.2 As a maintenance minimum, each EDC shall inspect and maintain as necessary its power
transformers, circuit breakers, substation capacitor banks, automatic 3-phase circuit switches and all 600 amp or larger
manually operated, gang transmission circuit tie switches at least once every two (2) years.

7.3 As a maintenance minimum, each EDC shall inspect all right-of-way vegetation at least once every
four (4) years and trim or maintain as necessary, according priorities to circuits that have had significant numbers of
vegetation-related outages, while not unduly delaying the trimming of other circuits that inspections indicate currently
need trimming.  Vegetation management practices should be applied at least once every four (4) years except where
growth or other assessments deem it unnecessary.

7.4 Each EDC shall maintain records of inspection and maintenance activities. Compliance with this
requirement may be established by a showing of substantial compliance without regard for a single particular facility
maintenance record.  These records shall be made available to Commission Staff upon request with 30 days notice.

8.0 Delivery Facility Studies
8.1 Each EDC shall perform system load studies to identify and examine potential distribution circuit

overloads, distribution substation and distribution substation supply circuit single contingencies and all transmission
system single and double contingencies as specified by NERC, MAAC, Reliability First Corp. and PJM or successor
requirements.  Double contingency analysis should include supply service contingencies that may cause overloads or
outages on the EDC’s system.  Where NERC, MAAC, Reliability First Corp or PJM requirements are not applicable, the
EDC shall at a minimum examine circuit and equipment overloads under normal and single contingency conditions at
peak load, with and without ALM or other demand response mechanisms.  The EDC shall identify all projects and/or
corrective actions that are planned to mitigate reliability loading issues identified in the study.

8.2 Delivery facility planning studies will be performed annually under conditions specified by NERC,
MAAC, Reliability First Corp. and PJM or their successor organization’s planning requirements, or as specified in 8.1.
Studies shall identify required projects and/or planned corrective actions.  For any study resulting in a thermal overload
or an out-of-range voltage level, the study shall be performed again after the implementation of Active Load
Management (ALM), system switching or reconfiguration.

8.3 Each EDC shall perform the electric delivery facility system planning studies as described herein in the
fall of each year (year a) for the upcoming summer period (year b) and for the summer period two years later (year c).
The planning studies will include all delivery facility enhancements planned to be in-service during the applicable
summer peak and shall identify those delivery facilities that are anticipated to be overloaded during the peak demand
period.
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9.0 Planning and Studies Report
9.1 Prior to March 31 of each year, each EDC shall convene a stakeholder meeting offering opportunity for

interested parties to discuss electric service reliability or quality concerns within Delaware.  Such meeting shall be
limited to discussion of publicly available information and at a minimum be open to generation companies, electric
suppliers, municipals or other EDCs, PJM, state agencies and wholesale/retail consumers.  Each EDC shall consider
the resulting issues and include mitigation efforts in annual plans as appropriate.

9.2 By March 31 of each year, each EDC shall submit a reliability planning and studies report to the
Commission for review.  The report will identify current reliability objectives, load study results and planned actions,
projects or programs designed to maintain the electric service reliability and quality of the delivery facilities.

9.3 The report shall include the following information:
9.3.1 Objective targets or goals in support of reliable electric service and descriptions of planned

actions to achieve the objectives;
9.3.2 Delivery load study results as described in Section 8., to include at a minimum the information

for both year b and year c as specified in Section 8., Paragraph 3.;
9.3.3 Description and estimated cost of capital projects planned to mitigate loading or contingent

conditions identified in load studies or required to manage hours of congestion;
9.3.4 The EDC’s power quality program and any amendments as required in Section 6.;
9.3.5 The EDC’s inspection and maintenance program, any amendments as required in Section 7.,

and any specific actions aimed at reducing outage causes;
9.3.6 Copies of all recent delivery facility planning studies and network capability studies (including

CETO and CETL results) performed for any delivery facilities owned by the utility; and
9.3.7 Summaries of any changes to reliability related requirements, standards and procedures at

PJM, MAAC, First Reliability Corporation, NERC or the EDC.
9.3.8 Summary of any issues that resulted from the EDC stakeholder meeting and any projects or

planning changes that may have been incorporated as a result of such meeting.

10.0Annual Performance Report
10.1 By April 30 of each year, each EDC shall submit an annual Performance Report, summarizing the

actual electric service reliability results.  The report shall include the EDC’s average three-year performance results,
actual year-end performance measure results and an assessment of the results/effectiveness of the reliability
objectives, planned actions and projects, programs, and load studies in achieving an acceptable reliability level.

10.2 Delivery facilities year-end performance measures, as established in Section 4., Paragraph 1. shall be
reported as follows:

10.2.1 SAIDI, SAIFI, and CAIDI measures:
10.2.1.1 Current year and three-year average reflecting Delaware performance,

classified by distribution, substation and transmission components; and
10.2.1.2 Current year for each feeder circuit providing service to Delaware customers,

regardless of state origin.
10.2.2 Constrained hours of operation:

10.2.2.1 Current year and three-year average for the EDC’s DPL Zone transmission
system; and

10.2.2.2. Current year for the EDC’s DPL Zone, classified by cause.
10.3 The Performance Report shall identify 2% of distribution feeders or 10 feeders, whichever is more,

serving at least one Delaware customer, that are identified by the utility as having the poorest reliability.  The EDC shall
identify the method used to determine the feeders with poorest reliability and shall indicate any planned corrective
actions to improve feeder performance and target dates for completion or explain why no action is required.  The EDC
shall ensure that feeders, identified as having the poorest reliability, shall not appear in any two consecutive
Performance Reports without initiated corrective action.

10.4 The Performance Report shall include annual information that provides the Commission with the ability
to assess the EDC’s efforts to maintain reliable electric service to all customers in the state of Delaware.  Such
reporting shall include the following items:

10.4.1 Current year expenditures, labor resource hours, and progress measures for each
capital and/or maintenance program designed to support the maintenance of reliable electric service, to include:
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10.4.1.1 Transmission vegetation maintenance;
10.4.1.2 Transmission maintenance, excluding vegetation, by total, preventive, and

corrective categories;
10.4.1.3 Transmission capital infrastructure improvements;
10.4.1.4 Distribution vegetation maintenance;
10.4.1.5 Distribution maintenance, excluding vegetation, by total, preventive and

corrective categories;
10.4.1.6 Distribution capital infrastructure improvements;
10.4.1.7 Transmission and Distribution progress per Section 7., Paragraph 2. and 3.;

and
10.4.1.8 Any related process, practice or material improvements.

10.4.2 Current year OMS data to include:
10.4.2.1 Number of outages by outage type;
10.4.2.2 Number of outages by outage cause;
10.4.2.3 Total number of customers at year end;
10.4.2.4 Total number of customers that experienced an outage; and
10.4.2.5 Total customer minutes of outage time.

10.4.3 Current year CELID8 and CEMI8 results, exclusive of major events, including any efforts being
made to reduce the occurrences of multiple outages or long duration outages.

10.4.4 Current year customer satisfaction or other measures the EDC believes are indicative of
reliability performance.

10.5 The Performance Report shall include a summary of each major event for which data was excluded,
and an assessment of the measurable impact on reported performance measures.

10.6 In the event that an EDC’s reliability performance measure does not meet an acceptable reliability
level for the calendar year, the Performance Report shall include the following:

10.6.1 For not meeting SAIDI, an analysis of the customer service interruption causes for all delivery
facilities by dispatch, response and repair times that significantly contributed to not meeting the benchmark;

10.6.2 For not meeting Constrained Hours of Operation, an analysis of significant constraints by
cause;

10.6.3 A description of any corrective actions that are planned by the EDC and the target dates by
which the corrective action shall be completed; and

10.6.4 If no corrective actions are planned, an explanation shall be provided.
10.7 The Performance Report shall include copies of current procedures identifying methods the EDC uses

to ensure the electric supplier delivery of energy to the EDC at locations and in amounts which are adequate to meet
each electric supplier’s obligation to its customers.

10.8 The Performance Report shall include certification by an officer of the EDC of the data and analysis
and that necessary projects, maintenance programs and other actions are being performed and adequately funded by
the Company as addressed in its annual plans.

10.9 Unless a generation company participates in the Generation Working Group, each generation
company shall submit by April 30 of each year an annual Reliability Performance Report.  The performance report shall
include the individual unit and average station forced outage rates and any anticipated changes that may impact the
future adequacy of supply. Each generation company shall also provide the Commission with at least a one-year
advanced notification of any planned unit retirements, planned re-powerings or planned long-term unit de-ratings.

10.9.1 The performance report required by Section 10.9 shall include the individual unit and average
station forced outage rates and any anticipated changes that may impact the future adequacy of supply.

10.9.2 Each generation company not a member of a Generation Working Group shall also provide
the Commission with at least a one-year advanced notification of any planned unit retirements, planned re-powerings
or planned long-term unit de-ratings.

10.10 In lieu of submission of an annual Reliability Performance and one-year advanced notification, as
required in Section 10.9, Generation companies may voluntarily participate in a Generation Working Group.

10.10.1 The Commission shall designate one member of the Commission Staff to chair the Working
Group.  Such individual shall be referred to as the “Commission Staff Member.”

10.10.2 Meetings of the Generator Working Group shall be no less frequently than semi-annually, and
shall be scheduled by the Commission Staff Member.
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10.10.3 The purpose of the semi-annual meetings will be for the Commission Staff Member and the
participating Generation company or companies, as the case may be, to agree upon the specific parameters of
generation information to be provided by member Generation companies to the Commission and how and when such
information should be presented to the Commission.  The specific parameters and presentation of information need not
be identical for Generation Company, as agreed by the Generator Working Group.

10.10.4 In the event of a disagreement between the Commission Staff Member and a Generation
company, the Generator Working Group will attempt to resolve the disagreement by consensus.  If consensus cannot
be achieved in a reasonable time, the Generator Working Group or any member may request a determination by the
Commission of the issue.

10.10.5 To allow Generation companies to participate openly without disclosing commercially-sensitive
information to each other, the semi-annual Working Group meetings may be supplemented with meetings between the
Commission Staff Member and individual Generation companies.  Such individual meetings may be requested, on an
as needed basis, by the Commission Staff Member or by a Generation company.

10.10.6 The Generation company or companies, as the case may be, shall use its or their best efforts
to provide the requested information within an agreed-upon period of time.

10.10.7 The Commission and each member of the Generator Working Group shall implement all steps
necessary to protect the confidentiality of commercially sensitive information provided by the Generation company or
companies, as the case may be.

10.10.8 Each member of the Generator Working Group reserves the right to not provide information of
a commercially-sensitive nature to all or some of the members of the Generator Working Group unless and until it
obtains legally sufficient protection against non-disclosure of such information, and each such member shall take
reasonable steps to procure such legally sufficient protection, to the extent these Rules do not constitute such
protection.

10.10.9 Any Generation company participating in the Generator Working Group may withdraw at any
time.

11.0  Major Event Report
11.1 Each EDC shall notify the Commission of major events as soon as practical, but not more than 36

hours after the onset of a major event.  Initial notification is required when more than 10% of an EDC’s customers
experience a sustained outage during a 24 hour period; however, I.E.E.E. 1366 standard shall apply to all performance
calculations.

11.2 Each EDC is expected to restore service to customers as quickly and safely as permitted by major
event conditions.  The EDC’s restoration effort may be subject to review, subsequent corrective actions and penalties
as permitted by 26 Del.C. §1019.

11.3 The EDC shall, within 15 business days after the end of a major event, submit a written report to the
Commission, which shall include the following:

11.3.1 The date and time when the EDC’s major event control center opened and closed;
11.3.2 The total number of customers out-of-service over the course of the major event in six hour

increments;
11.3.3 The date and time when 75 %, 95% and 100% of customers affected by a major event were

restored;
11.3.4 The total number of trouble assignments repaired, by facility classification (poles, miles of

wire, transformers);
11.3.5 The time at which the mutual aid and non-company contractor crews were requested, arrived

for duty and were released, and the mutual aid and non-contractor response(s) to the request(s) for assistance; and
11.3.6 A timeline profile in six-hour increments of the number of company line crews, mutual aid

crews, non-company contractor line and tree crews working on restoration activities during the duration of the major
event, summarized by total number of line, bucket, trouble, and tree types.

12.0  Prompt Restoration of Outages
12.1 Each EDC shall strive to restore service as quickly and as safely as possible at all times EDCs shall

begin the restoration of service to an affected service area within two hours of notification by two or more customers of
any loss of electric service.  In situations where it is not practical to respond within two hours to a reported interruption
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(safety reasons, inaccessibility, multiple simultaneous interruptions, storms or other system emergencies), the EDC
shall respond as soon as the situation permits.

12.2 Each EDC shall monitor dispatch, response and repair times for customer outages.  In the event that
average annual dispatch, response or repair performance times exceed the EDC’s expected levels for the calendar
year, the EDC shall include the following in its annual performance report.

12.2.1 An analysis of the factors which caused the unexpected performance; and
12.2.2 A description of any corrective actions planned by the EDC to meet expected performance

levels.
12.3 Each EDC shall have outage response procedures that place the highest priority on responding to

emergency situations for which prompt restoration is essential to public safety.  These procedures should include
recognition of priority requests that may come from police, fire, rescue, authorized emergency service providers or
public facility operators.

13.0  Penalties and Other Remedies
13.1 Private or investor owned utilities and cooperatives, operating in Delaware under the regulation of the

Commission, are subject to penalties and other remedial actions in accordance with 26 Del.C., §205(a), §217, and
§1019. The Commission shall be responsible for assessing any penalty under this section, consistent with Delaware
law.  In determining if there should be a penalty for violation of a reporting requirement or benchmark standard and, if
so, what the penalty amount should be, the Commission shall consider the nature, circumstances, extent and gravity of
the violation including the degree of the EDC’s culpability and history of prior violations and any good faith effort on the
part of the EDC in attempting to achieve compliance.  Such penalty shall not exceed $5,000 for each violation, with the
overall penalty not to exceed an amount reasonable and appropriate for the violation (maximum of $600,000 per year
per reporting or standard violation).  Each day of noncompliance shall be treated as a separate violation.  In the case of
an electric cooperative, in violation of a reporting requirement or benchmark standard, the Commission shall not
assess any monetary penalty that would adversely impact the financial stability of such an entity and any monetary
penalty that is assessed against an electric cooperative shall not exceed $1,000 for each violation, which each day of
noncompliance shall be treated as a separate violation (maximum of $60,000 per year per reporting or standard
violation). Nothing in this section relieves any private or investor owned utility or cooperative from compliance or
penalties, that may be assessed due to non-compliance with any requirement set forth under any other regulation,
statute or order.

13.2 An EDC shall be considered in violation of the SAIDI or Constrained Hours of Operation performance
benchmark standard when the annual year-end cumulative measure exceeds the benchmark standard.  The term of
the violation shall extend for the period of time during which the performance measure exceeded the benchmark
standard.

13.3 Upon failure of any EDC to meet performance benchmark standards, the EDC shall report monthly, or
over such other period of time that the Commission shall establish by order, the latest performance indices, until such
time as performance meets the acceptable reliability level.

13.4 Each EDC not meeting performance benchmark standards as required by Section 4., shall inform its
customers, in writing, of the results and plans to improve electric service reliability and quality by July 1 of the year
following any year in which its performance does not meet an acceptable reliability level.

13.5 Each violation of any reporting rule or performance standard of this regulation shall constitute a single,
separate and distinct violation for that particular day.  Each day during which a violation continues shall constitute an
additional, separate and distinct violation.  Provided, however, that a violation of a performance measure shall not be
deemed to be a violation per customer, whether affected or otherwise, but shall constitute a single Delaware-wide
violation for the day.

13.6 In a proceeding to determine penalties or other remedial measures for any violation, but particularly
with respect to the Constrained Hours of Operation, the Commission should consider the extent to which the measure
or reporting requirement did not meet the established standard and the extent to which the EDC may have
implemented cost-effective efforts to comply with the requirement.

13.7 Penalty assessments are payable as provided by Delaware statute.

14.0  Outage and Control Systems 
14.1 Each EDC shall implement and maintain an Outage Management System (OMS) and a Supervisory

Control and Data Acquisition System (SCADA) as described in this section by January 1, 2007.
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14.2 The OMS, at a minimum, shall consist of an outage assessment software program, integrated with a
geographic information system that permits an EDC to effectively manage outage events and restore customer service
in a timely manner.

14.3 The OMS should permit the EDC to:
14.3.1 Group customers who are out of service to the most probable interrupting device that

operated;
14.3.2 Associate customers with distribution facilities;
14.3.3 Generate street maps indicating EDC outage locations;
14.3.4 Improve the management of resources during a storm;
14.3.5 Improve the accuracy of identifying the number of customers without electric service;
14.3.6 Improve the ability to estimate expected restoration times;
14.3.7 Accurately identify the number and when customers were restored; and
14.3.8 Effectively support the dispatch of crews and/or service personnel.

14.4 The SCADA system, at a minimum, shall consist of a remote monitoring and operating ability for all
major substation equipment integral to maintaining the reliability of the system.  The system will have the ability to:

14.4.1 Monitor and record critical system load data and major equipment status;
14.4.2 Provide remote operational control over major equipment; and
14.4.3 Incorporate generally accepted utility industry safety and security standards.

15.0  Reporting Specifications and Implementation
15.1 Planning and Studies Reports, Performance Reports and Major Event Reports provided under this

regulation are subject to annual review and audit by the Commission. Each EDC and generation company must
maintain sufficient records to permit a review and confirmation of material contained in all required reports.

15.2 Reports shall be submitted as an original and 5 paper copies with one additional copy submitted
electronically to the Secretary, Delaware Public Service Commission, with certification of authenticity by an officer of
the corporation.  The electronic copy may be posted on the Delaware Public Service Commission’s Internet website.

15.3 Each EDC or generation company may request that information, required under this regulation, be
classified as confidential, proprietary and/or privileged material.  The requesting party must attest that such information
is not subject to inspection by the public or other parties without execution of an appropriate proprietary agreement.
Each party requesting such treatment of information is also obligated to file one (1) additional electronic and paper
copy of the information, excluding the confidential or proprietary information. The Commission, in accordance with Rule
11, Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Delaware Public Service Commission, effective May 10, 1999, will treat
such information as “confidential, not for public release” upon receipt of a properly filed request.  Any dispute over the
confidential treatment of information shall be resolved by the Commission, designated Presiding Officer or Hearing
Examiner.

15.4 This regulation replaces the Interim Regulation and is effective 10 days after publication in the
Delaware Register; however, for the initial 2006 year, Planning and Studies reports are due March 31, 2006;
Performance reports are due April 30, 2006, and compliance shall be based upon, in all respects, the standards and
requirements of the Interim Regulations. Thereafter, and beginning January 1, 2007, EDC compliance shall be based
upon the standards and requirements of these revised regulations.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of
all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries
of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted,
amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and
information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal
a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the evidence and information
received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of
the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which the agency has authority to act; and
(7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
DELAWARE FOREST SERVICE

Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code, Sections 1008 and 1011 (3 Del.C. §§1008 and 1011)
3 DE Admin. Code 402

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS

I.  Nature of Proceedings

Pursuant to its authority under 3 Del.C. §1008 and §1011, the State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture,
Forest Service (the “Department”) proposed to amend its regulations. The Department’s purpose in proposing these
amendments was to clarify existing regulations.

Notice of a public comment period of thirty (30) days relating to the Department’s proposed amended
regulations was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations for April 1, 2006.  The Department solicited written
comments by the public concerning its proposed amended regulations. This is the Department’s Decision and Order
adopting the proposed amended regulations.

II.  Public Comments

The Department received no written comments in response to the notice of intention to adopt the proposed
amended regulations.

III.  Findings and Conclusions

The public was given the required notice of the Department’s intention to adopt the proposed amended
regulations and was given ample opportunity to provide the Department with comments opposing the Department’s
plan. Thus, the Department concludes that its consideration of the proposed amended regulations was entirely within
its prerogatives and statutory authority and, having received no comments opposed to adoption, is now free to adopt
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them.

IV. Order

AND NOW, this _7th__ day of June, 2006 it is hereby ordered that:

1. The proposed amendments to the Department’s regulations are adopted;
2. The text of the regulations shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A;
3. The effective date of this Order is ten days from the date of its publication in the Delaware Register of

Regulations in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(e); and
4. The Department reserves unto itself the authority to issue such other and further orders concerning its

practices and procedures as may be just and proper.

IT IS SO ORDERED.
By: Michael T. Scuse, Secretary

Delaware Department of Agriculture

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the April
2006 issue of the Register at page 1425 (9 DE Reg. 1425).  Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. Please refer to the April 2006 issue of the Register or contact the Delaware Forest Service for
more information.

A complete set of the rules and regulations for the Delaware Forest Service are available at:
http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title3/400/402.shtml#P2_18

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code, Sections 1220(a) (14 Del.C. §1220(a))
14 DE Admin. Code 103

ORDER

103 Accountability for Schools, Districts and the State

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
103 Accountability for Schools, Districts and the State in order to amend sections 3.0, 4.1, 5.0, 6.6, 7.1.1 and 7.1.2.
The amendment to 3.0 will enable school districts to choose to either track students back to the school of residence or
to make the school that is providing the instruction the accountability school for students in an intradistrict intensive
learning center or intradistrict special school or program. The school district is required to notify the Department of
Education of its decision by May 15, 2006 and the decision must remain in effect for the second year. The amendment
to 4.1 will require schools to use the highest test scores a student receives in the AYP calculation when the student is
tested a second time as part of the state mandated summer school program. The amendment to 5.0 allows for the
composite score for the State Progress Determination to be a two year average or current year, whichever is higher.
The amendment in 6.6 adds the Academic Watch category. The amendments to 7.1.1 and 7.1.2 require that Title I
schools provide supplemental services to students in Year 1 of School Improvement and federal school choice and
supplemental services in Year 2 of  School Improvement. The amendments to 4.1 and 7.1.1 and 7.1.2 are subject to
federal approval of amendments made to the State’s Accountability Workbook for the federal ESEA Act.

A statement concerning monitoring of student assignments by the Department of Education has been added to
3.1. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on April
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24, 2006, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  Comments were received from the Governor’s Advisory Council
for Exceptional Children and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities. The Councils objected to amendment 3.1
that grants districts the option of counting intradistrict ILC, special school, and special school program students with the
“home school” or the receiving ILC, special school or special school program. The Department’s response is as follows.
This change was one that was recommended by the statewide No Child Left Behind Stakeholder group. The DOE
agreed to submit the recommended change to the U.S. Department of Education and to change the regulations for
determining accountability accordingly. For this group of students, the funding does follow the child and goes to the
school providing the instruction. Similarly, districts argued that staff providing the instructional services to these children
should be included in the accountability process and this change ensures that.

Further, the Department has added a provision to section 3.1 clarifying that the Department will monitor the
assignment to ensure students in tuition based programs are appropriately assigned.

The Councils also opposed the proposed amendment to 3.1 as a potential violation of Section 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act and ADA. The Department’s response is as follows. The students in alternative settings as described
by section 3.1 are placed in such settings for a pre-determined length of time usually not exceeding 180 school days or
one school year. Clearly these placements are transitory ones. Further, the funding for these students remains with the
school of residence unlike students in tuition based special schools or programs.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 103 in order to enable school districts
to choose to either track students back to the school of residence or to make the school that is providing the instruction
the accountability school for students in an intradistrict intensive learning center or intradistrict special school or
program.  The amendments will also require that Title I schools provide supplemental services to students in Year 1 of
School Improvement and federal school choice and supplemental services in Year 2 of  School Improvement.  

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 103.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §154,155 and 156, 14 DE Admin. Code 103 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 103 hereby amended shall be in effect
for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 103 amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and
said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 103 in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department
of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §154,155 and 156 on
June 15, 2006.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 15th day of June 2006.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 15th day of June 2006

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Jean W. Allen, President
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Richard M. Farmer, Jr., Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Gregory A. Hastings
Barbara B. Rutt 
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

103 Accountability for Schools, Districts and the State

1.0 Accountability
1.1 Accountability: All public schools, including charter schools, reorganized and vocational technical

career technical school districts and the state shall be subject to the calculation and reporting of Adequate Yearly
Progress (AYP) as prescribed by the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), 20 U.S. C.A. §6301 et
seq. Additionally, public schools, including charter schools, reorganized and vocational technical career technical
school districts shall be subject to the applicable rewards, sanctions and other accountability activities as prescribed in
this regulation.

7 DE Reg. 57 (7/1/03)

2.0 Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP)
2.1 Adequate Yearly Progress shall be determined by the Department of Education for all public schools,

including charter schools, reorganized and vocational technical career technical school districts and the State on an
annual basis. In order for a public school, including a charter school, reorganized or career technical school district or
the State to meet AYP, the aggregate student population and each subgroup of students as identified in ESEA, must
meet or exceed the target for percent proficient using a confidence interval to be determined by the Department of
Education in the state assessments of reading and language arts and mathematics; 95% of the students as an
aggregate and within each subgroup must participate in the state assessments of reading and language arts and
mathematics, and the respective entity must meet the requirements of the Other Academic Indicator(s) as defined in
2.6. In calculating the percent proficient each year, the state will average the most recent two years of percent proficient
(including the current year’s percent proficient) and compare the results to the current year percent proficient. The
highest percent proficient score will be used to determine the school, district or State AYP status.

2.1.1 Adequate yearly progress shall include three levels: Above Target, Meets Target and Below
Target.

2.1.1.1 Above Target shall mean that the school, district or State in the aggregate student
population and for each subgroup exceeds the annual target in English language arts and mathematics for percent
proficient as defined in 2.3 and further meets the criteria for participation as defined in 2.4 and Other Academic
Indicator(s) as defined in 2.6.

2.1.1.2 Meets Target shall mean that the school, district or State in the aggregate student
population and for each subgroup meets the annual target in English language arts and mathematics with or without
the application of a confidence interval for percent proficient as defined in 2.3 or meets the criteria of Safe Harbor
defined in 2.5, and further meets the criteria for participation as defined in 2.4 and Other Academic Indicator(s) as
defined in 2.6.

2.1.1.3 Below Target shall mean that the school, district or State in the aggregate student
population and for each subgroup did not meet the annual target in English language arts and mathematics through the
application of a confidence interval for percent proficient as defined in 2.3 or does not meet the criteria of Safe Harbor
defined in 2.5, or does not meet the criteria for participation as defined in 2.4 or does not meet the criteria of Other
Academic Indicator(s) as defined in 2.6.

2.2 Full academic year for accountability:
2.2.1 For school accountability students enrolled continuously in the school from September 30

through May 31 of a school year including those students identified in 3.1 and 3.2, shall be considered enrolled for a full
academic year.

2.2.2 For district accountability students enrolled continuously in the district (but not necessarily the
same school), from September 30 through May 31 of a school year, including those students identified in 3.1 and 3.2,
shall be considered enrolled for a full academic year.

2.2.3 For state accountability students enrolled continuously in the state (but not necessarily the
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same school or district) from September 30 through May 31 of a school year shall be considered enrolled for a full
academic year.

2.3 Proficient: For accountability purposes students who score at Performance Level 3 (Meets the
Standard) or above and who have met the requirements of a Full Academic Year as defined in 2.2 shall be deemed
proficient. Students who score at Performance Level 2 or Level 1 who have met the requirements of a Full Academic
Year as defined in 2.2 shall not meet the definition of proficient.

2.4 Participation Rate: For accountability purposes in school years 2002-2003 through 2004-2005, the
participation rate for each subgroup, all public schools, including charter schools, districts, and the State, shall be the
number of students who participate in the DSTP in grades 3,5, 8 and 10 divided by the number of students enrolled in
these tested grades during the testing period. Beginning with the 2005-2006 school year the participation rate shall
include the number of students who participate in the DSTP in grades 3 through 8 inclusive and grade 10 divided by the
number of students enrolled in these tested grades during the testing period. Students exempted by 14 DE Admin.
Code 101.9.0 shall be included in the participation rate calculation unless their medical condition prevents them from
being in school during the testing period.

2.5 Safe Harbor: For accountability purposes if a school, district or the State fails to meet the target for
percent proficient for a given subgroup or for the entity in aggregate, Safe Harbor provisions shall be examined for that
group. When the percentage of students in a subgroup not meeting the definition of proficient decreases by at least
10% when compared to the previous year’s data, the participation rate for the population is at least 95%, and the
subgroup meets the requirements of the Other Academic Indicator(s) as defined in 2.6. the subgroup will have met
AYP.

2.6 Other Academic Indicator(s):
2.6.1 High School: For AYP purposes, the Other Academic Indicator(s) shall be graduation rate as

defined as the number of students in one cohort who started in the school, the district or the state in 9th grade and
graduated four years later or in the time frame specified in the Individual Education Program (IEP), excluding students
who earn a GED certificate, divided by the same number plus those that have dropped out during the same four year
period.

2.6.1.1 The statewide target for the high school Other Academic Indicator shall be a
graduation rate of 90% by the school year 2013-2014. The statewide target for 2003-2004 shall be 75% and shall
increase by 1.5% each year until 90% is reached in 2013-2014. Beginning with the school year 2002-2003, if the
graduation rate is used for Safe Harbor purposes, the high school shall maintain its graduation rate or show positive
progress when compared to the previous year or meet or exceed the statewide target for that school year.

2.6.1.2 A school that does not maintain its graduation rate or show positive progress from the
previous year or meet or exceed the statewide target for that school year shall be considered as not meeting AYP for
that year.

2.6.2 Elementary and Middle School: For AYP purposes, the Other Academic Indicator for
elementary and middle schools shall be determined by improvement of the scores of the low achieving students,
defined as students performing below Performance Level 3, in reading and mathematics combined or a decrease in the
percent of students scoring at Performance Level 1 in reading and mathematics. The average scale score for the
students who perform at Performance Level 1 and 2 in reading and mathematics combined shall be determined for the
current and previous years. The scores from the current year will be compared to the previous year to determine if the
school has shown progress. A confidence interval determined by the Department of Education shall be applied to the
average scale scores when making this determination. Students included in this calculation shall have been in the
school for a full academic year.

2.6.2.1 The statewide target for the elementary and middle school Other Academic Indicator
shall be 0% of students scoring at Performance Level 1 in reading and mathematics by the school year 2013-2014.
Beginning with the school year 2003-2004, when compared to the previous year, the school or subgroup, if used for
Safe Harbor purposes, shall maintain or show improvement of the scores of the low achieving students in reading and
mathematics combined or show that the percent of students at Performance Level 1 in reading and mathematics has
decreased from the previous year.

2.6.2.2 An elementary or middle school that does not maintain or show improvement of the
scores of the low achieving students in reading and mathematics combined or show that the percent of students at
Performance Level 1 in reading and mathematics has decreased from the previous year shall be considered as not
meeting AYP for that year.
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2.6.3 For state and district accountability purposes, the state or a district shall be expected to meet
the requirements in 2.6.1.2 and 2.6.2.2.

2.7 Annual Objective: The annual objectives for reading/language arts and mathematics shall be
determined by the Department of Education and published annually. The annual objectives shall be the same for all
schools, districts and subgroups of students.

2.8 Intermediate Target: There shall be seven intermediate targets with the first intermediate target
occurring in the 2004-2005 school year. The second intermediate target shall occur in 2006-2007; the third in 2008-
2009; the fourth in 2009-2010; the fifth in 2010-2011, the sixth in 2011-2012 and the seventh in 2012-2013. By the end
of the school year 2013-2014, all students in all subgroups shall be proficient in reading and language arts and
mathematics. The intermediate targets shall be calculated using the procedures as prescribed by the federal
Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), 20 U.S.C.A. §6301 et seq.

2.9 Starting Point: A single statewide starting point shall be calculated for reading and language arts and a
single statewide starting point shall be calculated for mathematics using the procedures as prescribed by the federal
Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), 20 U.S.C.A. §6301 et seq.

2.10 Subgroup categories:  For AYP purposes, subgroup categories shall be delineated as follows: 1)
Children with Disabilities (as per IDEA); 2) Economically Disadvantaged Students, as determined by eligibility for free
and reduced lunch program; 3) Students with Limited English Proficiency, as determined by the language proficiency
assessment; and 4) Race and ethnicity, to be further divided into African American and Black, American Indian and
Alaska Native, Asian and Pacific Islander, Hispanic, and White. Such subgroup categories shall include all students
eligible for the AYP calculation as further defined throughout this Chapter. The “All” categories shall include all students
in the entity for which AYP is calculated and who meet all other eligibility criteria for the AYP calculation. 

2.11 AYP Determinations
2.11.1 For each public school, including charter schools, reorganized and career technical school

districts, and the State, AYP shall be calculated annually.
2.11.2 School AYP: In order to meet AYP, the school shall be classified according to 2.1.1 as Above

Target or Meets Target. If there are 15 or more students in the aggregate or in any subgroup the percent proficient,
participation rate and Other Academic Indicator shall be reported.  If there are 40 or more students in the aggregate or
in any subgroup the percent proficient, participation rate and Other Academic Indicator shall be reported and used to
determine AYP status and accountability ratings.

2.11.3 District AYP: In order to meet AYP, the district shall be classified according to 2.1.1 as Above
Target or Meets Target. If there are 15 or more students in the aggregate or in any subgroup the percent proficient,
participation rate and Other Academic Indicator(s) shall be reported. If there are 40 or more students in the aggregate
or in any subgroup the percent proficient, participation rate and Other Academic Indicator shall be reported and used to
determine AYP status and accountability ratings. 

2.11.4 State AYP: In order to meet AYP, the state shall be classified according to 2.1.1 as Above
Target or Meets Target. If there are 15 or more students in the aggregate or in any subgroup the percent proficient,
participation rate and Other Academic Indicator(s) shall be reported. If there are 40 or more students in the aggregate
or in any subgroup the percent proficient, participation rate and Other Academic Indicator shall be reported and used to
determine AYP status and accountability ratings.

2.11.5 Under Improvement: A school or district shall be deemed Under Improvement if AYP is not
met two consecutive years in the same content area of reading and English language arts or mathematics for percent
proficient or for participation rate, or if a school or district in the aggregate does not meet the requirements of the Other
Academic Indicator(s) as defined in 2.6.

7 DE Reg. 1692 (6/1/04)

3.0 Accountability School and/or and Accountability District
For AYP purposes, the school or district to which a student's performance is assigned for a full academic year

shall be the Accountability School or District. No student shall have his/her performance assigned to more than one
Accountability School/District School or Accountability District in a given school year.

3.1 For a student enrolled in an intradistrict intensive learning center or intradistrict special school or
program, intradistrict special school, or intradistrict special school program operating within one or more existing school
facilities, the school of residence shall be considered the Accountability School for the student the district has the
option of tracking the assessment scores of the students back to the school of residence or to the school or program
that is providing the instruction. The school or program shall be the Accountability School. The district shall
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communicate its decision regarding this option to the State Department of Education by May 15, 2006. The option that
the district decides for accountability purposes for one year must remain the same for the second year. [Further
provided, the State Department of Education will monitor the assignment of students to ensure students are
appropriately assigned.] For a student enrolled in interdistrict special schools or programs that have an agreement to
serve students from multiple school districts, the special school that provides the instructional program shall be
considered the Accountability School for that student. For district accountability purposes, the district of residence shall
be the district to which these special school students are included for accountability.

3.2 For a student enrolled in an alternative program pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch.16 or the Delaware
Adolescent Program, the Accountability School or District shall be the school/district that assigned such student to the
program or the school district school or district of residence. The time the students were enrolled in the alternative or
transitional program shall be credited to the Accountability School or District.

3.3 For a student who participates in a choice program the Accountability School/District School or District
shall be the school or district to which the student has choiced.

3.4 For accountability purposes, a school shall be considered a new school if: less than sixty percent of
the students would have been enrolled in the same school together without the creation of the new school; or it is the
first year of operation of a charter school; or two or more grade levels have been added to the school or to a charter
school’s charter.

3.5 If a school is determined not to be a new school, the school shall receive the accountability rating and
related consequences of the school in which the majority of students would attend in that year.

7 DE Reg. 1692 (6/1/04)

4.0 Assessment Criteria
4.1 For a student who takes a portion of the assessment more than once during the school year, the first

score shall be included in the AYP calculation; however, provided a student takes a portion of the assessment because
of state mandated summer school attendance in grades 3, 5, or 8 in reading, or grade 8 in mathematics, the highest of
the student’s scores shall be used to recalculate the AYP determination.

4.2 A student who tests with non-aggreable non aggregable conditions as defined in the Department of
Education's Guidelines for the Inclusion of Students with Disabilities and Students with Limited English Proficiency shall
have his/her earned performance level included in the calculation of AYP.

4.3 For accountability purposes a student who tests but does not meet attemptedness rules as defined in
the Department of Education's scoring specifications or otherwise receives an invalid score shall be deemed as not
meeting proficiency.

4.4 A student participating in alternate assessments shall have her/his earned performance level included
in the AYP calculation consistent with the regulations as prescribed by the federal Elementary and Secondary
Education Act (ESEA) 20 U.S. C.A. §6301 et seq. or Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

4.5 Schools with more than one tested grade shall receive a single accountability rating.
4.6 Student performance in a tested grade shall be apportioned in equal weights to each grade in a

standards cluster, except that Kindergarten shall be weighted at 10% and grade 10 shall be weighted at 100%.
Beginning with the school year 2005-2006 students in grades 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 10 will count 100%. Students in grade 3
will continue to be weighted to each grade in the K to 3 standards cluster.

4.7 For AYP purposes the reading and language arts percent proficient shall be based on a combination of
the reading and writing DSTP assessments. The reading percent proficient scores shall be weighted to count 90% and
the writing percent proficient scores shall be weighted to count 10%.

4.8 For AYP purposes, the mathematics percent proficient shall be based on 100% of the DSTP
mathematics assessment.

7 DE Reg. 1692 (6/1/04)

5.0 State Progress Determinations
Each school and district shall receive a State Progress Determination of Above Target, Meets Target or Below

Target. The State Progress shall be determined by improvement in the composite score of the reading, mathematics,
science and social studies DSTP assessments combined. The composite score range shall be from 25  to 125 and is
determined by the following formula: Composite Score = 25 (reading score x reading weight) + (math score x math
weight) + (science score x science weight) + (social studies score x social studies weight) where: Reading score = (5 x
% of students in level 5 in reading) + (4 x % of students in level 4 in reading) + (3 x % of students in level 3 in reading)
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+ (2 x % of students in level 2 in reading) + (1 x % of students in level 1 in reading); Math score = (5 x % of students in
level 5 in math) + (4 x % of students in level 4 in math) + (3 x % of students in level 3 in math) + (2 x % of students in
level 2 in math) + (1 x % of students in level 1 in math)]; Science score = (5 x % of students in level 5 in science) + (4 x
% of students in level 4 in science) + (3 x % of students in level 3 in science) + (2 x % of students in level 2 in science)
+ (1 x % of students in level 1 in science); Social Studies = (5 x % of students in level 5 in social studies) + (4 x % of
students in level 4 in social studies) + (3 x % of students in level 3 in social studies) + (2 x % of students in level 2 in
social studies) + (1 x % of students in level 1 in social studies). Each of the subject areas shall be weighted equally at
25%. A two year average of the composite score shall be used if it is higher than the current year’s composite score.

5.1 Above Target shall mean that the school or district has a minimum composite score of 75.00 for the
current year; or the school or district has demonstrated a growth of 6.00 or more points when comparing last year’s
composite score to the current year’s composite score provided the composite score is 45.00 or more.

5.2 Meets Target shall mean that the school or district with a composite score of 61.00 or less than 75.00
in the current year, shall demonstrate a growth of 1.00 or more points when comparing last year’s composite score to
the current year’s composite score. For a school or district with a composite score of 45.00 but less than 61.00 in the
current year, the school or district shall demonstrate a growth of 2.00 or more points when comparing last year’s
composite score to the current year’s composite score.

5.3 Below Target shall mean that the school or district has a composite score of less than 45.00; or the
school or district does not meet the criteria of 5.2.

7 DE Reg. 1692 (6/1/04) 

6.0 Performance Classifications
Schools and districts shall receive one of five levels of performance classification annually which shall be

based on a combination of AYP determinations and State Progress determinations.
6.1 Superior: A school or district's performance is deemed excellent. Schools or districts in this category

shall have met AYP while the school or district is not Under Improvement and is a combination of Above Target for AYP
and Above Target for State Progress or Above Target for AYP and Meets Target for State Progress or Meets Target for
AYP and Above Target for State Progress.

6.2 Commendable: A school or district's performance is deemed above average. Schools or districts in
this category shall have met AYP while the school or district is not Under Improvement. Combinations of Above Target
for AYP and Below Target for State Progress or Meets Target for AYP and Meets Target for State Progress shall be
rated as Commendable. A school or district with a combination of Meets Target for AYP and Below Target for State
Progress shall be determined Commendable for no more than one year; if this same combination exists for the school
or district in the following year, the school or district shall be rated Academic Review.

6.3 Academic Review: A school or district’s performance is deemed acceptable. Schools or districts in this
category are not Under Improvement. Combinations of: Below Target for AYP and Above Target for State Progress; or
Below Target for AYP and Meets Target for State Progress shall be rated as Academic Review for no more than one
year; if the same combination exists for the school or district in the following year, the school or district shall be rated
Academic Progress unless the provisions of 6.5 or 6.6  are met.  A school or district with a combination of Below Target
for AYP and Below Target for State Progress shall be rated as Academic Review unless the provisions of 6.5 and 6.6
are met.

6.4 Academic Progress: A school or district’s performance is deemed as needing improvement.  Schools
or districts in this category shall not be Under Improvement as defined in 2.11.5.

6.5 Academic Progress Under Improvement: A school or district's performance is deemed as needing
improvement. Schools or districts in this category shall have met AYP for one year while the school or district is Under
Improvement. If a school or district was classified as Academic Watch the prior year, all accountability sanctions from
that prior year remain in effect. 

6.6 Academic Watch:  A school or district’s performance is deemed as unsatisfactory. Schools or districts
in this category shall not be Under Improvement as defined in 2.11.5.

6.67 Academic Watch-Under Watch Under Improvement: A school or district’s performance is deemed as
unsatisfactory. Schools or districts in this category shall not have met AYP for two or more consecutive years in the
same content area as described in 2.11.5 and shall be Under Improvement.

7 DE Reg. 1692 (6/1/04) 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 10, ISSUE 1, SATURDAY, JULY 1, 2006



FINAL REGULATIONS96
7.0 Schools [and or] Districts that are classified as Under Improvement
7.1 Accountability sanctions for schools that are classified as Under Improvement:

7.1.1 Under Improvement Year 1, Aa school shall review and modify its current School Improvement
Plan outlining additional specific school improvement activities to be implemented beginning in this same year. A
school designated as Title I shall implement federal ESEA Choice provide supplemental services to students according
to the federal ESEA requirements. The school shall follow the district Federal ESEA Choice Program. Schools not
designated as Title I shall give priority, as appropriate, within their extra time services to students in those subgroups
that have not met the target for percent proficient in the reading/language arts [and or] mathematics assessments.

7.1.2 Under Improvement Year 2, Aa school shall continue to review and modify the School
Improvement Plan as needed. A school designated as Title I shall continue to offer federal ESEA Choice. In addition a
Title I school shall provide supplemental services according to the federal ESEA requirements. Schools not designated
as Title I shall give priority, as appropriate, within their extra time services to students in those subgroups that have not
met the target for percent proficient in the reading and language arts and/or [and or] mathematics assessments.

7.1.3 Under Improvement Year 3. Aa school shall continue with the activities as per 7.1.2. In
addition, all schools shall be subject to corrective action as outlined by federal ESEA requirements.

7.1.4 Under Improvement Year 4, Aa school shall continue with the activities as per 7.1.3. In
addition, the school shall develop a plan for restructuring as outlined by federal ESEA requirements and submit such
plan to the Secretary of Education. The Secretary of Education shall investigate the reasons for the continued
deficiency of the school’s performance and shall consult with the State Board of Education prior to making comment.

7.1.5 Under Improvement Year 5, Aa school shall continue with the activities as per 7.1.2. In
addition, the school shall implement the restructuring plan as outlined by federal ESEA requirements.

7.2 Accountability sanctions for districts that are classified as Under Improvement:
7.2.1 Under Improvement Year 1, Aa district shall develop and implement a District Improvement

Plan.
7.2.2 Under Improvement Year 2, Aa district shall evaluate and modify the District Improvement

Plan and shall incorporate such plan into the Consolidated Application.
7.2.3 Under Improvement Year 3, Aa district shall continue with the activities outlined in 7.2.2. In

addition the district shall develop a corrective action plan as outlined by Federal ESEA requirements and submit such
plan to the Secretary of Education. The Secretary of Education shall investigate the reasons for the continued
deficiency of the district’s performance and shall consult with the State Board of Education prior to making comment.

7.2.4 Under Improvement Year 4, Aa district shall continue with the activities as outlined in 7.2.3.  In
addition the district and the Department of Education shall evaluate the corrective action plan and make appropriate
modifications as needed.

7 DE Reg. 1692 (6/1/04) 

8.0 Review Process
A school or district may review school or district level data, including academic assessment data upon which

the proposed classification is based. The school or district shall present statistical evidence or other substantive
reasons why the classification should be changed before the final classification will be determined.

8.1 The school or district must file a written notice of review with the Secretary no later than 15 calendar
days after receiving preliminary notification of its proposed classification. The request for review shall state with
specificity the grounds for the review, and shall be signed by the principal or lead authority of the school, or the
signature of the Superintendent of the district. This request for review shall include all supporting evidence and
documentation and shall be clear and concise.

8.2 Upon receipt of a written notice of review, the Department of Education shall conduct a review of the
evidence or other substantive reasons presented by the school or district.

8.3 The Department of Education shall make a final determination within 30 calendar days from the written
notice of review on the proposed classification of the school or district based on the evidence or other substantive
reasons presented by the school or district.

7 DE Reg. 1692 (6/1/04)
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code, Sections 1211 and 1213 (14 Del.C. §1211 and 1213)

14 DE Admin. Code 1511

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

Regulation 1511 Issuance and Renewal of Continuing License

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and consultation with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1511 Issuance and Renewal of
Continuing License.  It is necessary to adopt this regulation to simplify the requirements for the various professional
development options to facilitate record keeping and verification of experiences by school districts, charter schools,
and other employing authorities.  Reference to a temporary certificate has also been deleted, as all temporary
certificates have expired.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware
State News on March 21, 2006, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No
public comments were received. 

II.  Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to adopt this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III.  Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1511 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 1ST DAY OF JUNE, 2006
Harold Roberts, Chair Bruce Harter
Sharon Brittingham Leslie Holden
Norman Brown Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Edward Czerwinski Gretchen Pikus
Angela Dunsmore Karen Schilling Ross
Barbara Grogg Carol Vukelich
Karen Gordon
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 10, ISSUE 1, SATURDAY, JULY 1, 2006

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/


FINAL REGULATIONS98
FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION:
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 15TH DAY OF JUNE, 2006

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Jean W. Allen, President Gregory A. Hastings
Richard M. Farmer, Jr., Vice President Barbara Rutt
Mary B. Graham, Esquire Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the April
2006 issue of the Register at page 1440 (9 DE Reg. 1440).  Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. Please refer to the April 2006 issue of the Register or contact the Department of Education for
more information.

A complete set of the rules and regulations for the Department of Education are available at:
http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title14/

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code, Sections 1220(a) (14 Del.C. §1220(a)) 

14 DE Admin. Code 1516

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

Regulation 1516 Standard Certificate

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1516 Standard Certificate.  The
regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational personnel, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is
necessary to amend this regulation toalign it with changes in statute.  The passage of PRAXIS™ II, a test of content
knowledge, is now required, where applicable and available, in addition to academic preparation, for the issuance of a
Standard Certificate. That requirement, in addition to a revised definition of “educator”, has been added to the
regulation.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware
State News on November 22, 2005, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. The notice invited written comments.
Comments received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens, the State Council for Persons With
Disabilities, and the Delaware State Education Association. No changes in the regulation were made as a result of the
comments. 

II.  Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the certification of educators.

III.  Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be
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in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1516 in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 5TH DAY of JANUARY, 2006
Harold Roberts, Chair Bruce Harter
Sharon Brittingham Leslie Holden
Norman Brown Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Edward Czerwinski Gretchen Pikus
Karen Schilling Ross Carol Vukelich
Angela Dunmore Barbara Grogg
Karen Gordon

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION:
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 19TH DAY OF JANUARY, 2006

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Jean W. Allen, President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr., Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Gregory A. Hastings
Barbara Rutt
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the April
2006 issue of the Register at page 1449 (9 DE Reg. 1449).  Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. Please refer to the April 2006 issue of the Register or contact the Department of Education for
more information.

A complete set of the rules and regulations for the Department of Education are available at:
http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title14/
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code, Section 1220(a)  (14 Del.C. §1220(a))

14 DE Admin. Code 1521, 1522, 1525, 1528, 1534, 1539, 1540, 1541, 1542, 1543, 1548, 1551, 
1554 and 1556

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1521 Standard Certificate Agriculture Teacher; 1522 Business Education Teacher; 1525 Standard Certificate 
English Teacher; 1528 Standard Certificate World Language Teacher Comprehensive; 1534 Standard 

Certificate Mathematics Teacher Secondary; 1539 Standard Certificate Social Studies Teacher Secondary; 
1540 Standard Certificate Science Teacher Secondary; 1541 Standard Certificate Mathematics Teacher Middle 

Level; 1542 Standard Certificate Science Teacher Middle Level; 1543 Standard Certificate Art Teacher 
Comprehensive; 1548 Standard Certificate Music Teacher Comprehensive; 1551 Standard Certificate Physical 
Education Teacher Comprehensive; 1554 Standard Certificate Reading Specialist; 1556 Standard Certificate 

Elementary Teacher (Grades K-6)

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Standard Certificate
Agriculture Teacher, 1522 Standard Certificate Business Education Teacher, 1525 Standard Certificate English
Teacher, 1528 Standard Certificate World Language Teacher Comprehensive, 1534 Mathematics Teacher Secondary,
1539 Standard Certificate Social Studies Teacher Secondary, 1541 Standard Certificate Mathematics Teacher Middle
Level, 1542 Standard Certificate Science Teacher Middle Level, 1543 Art Teacher Comprehensive, 1548 Standard
Certificate Music Teacher Comprehensive, 1551 Standard Certificate Physical Education Teacher Comprehensive,
1554 Standard Certificate Reading Specialist, and 1556 Standard Certificate Elementary Teacher Certificate.  It is
necessary to amend these regulations to align them with changes in statute.  The passage of PRAXIS‘ II, a test of
content knowledge, is now required, where applicable and available, in addition to academic preparation for the
issuance of a Standard Certificate.  The definition of “a major or its equivalent” has been added to each regulation.  In
addition, the requirements for a standard certificate for individuals with a bachelor’s degree by no educational
experience or course work, have been amended to include a minimum of 15 credits or equivalent professional
development, in addition to the passage of PRAXIS‘ II in the content area to be taught.  Comments received from the
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens was not incorporated into the regulation, as the suggested
deletion exists in Del.Code, and the regulation is reflective of Code.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware
State News on March 21, 2006, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.
Comments received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens, the State Council for Persons With
Disabilities, and the Delaware State Education Association.  No changes in the regulation were made as a result of the
comments. 

II.  Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to adopt this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III.  Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation
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The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 11521, 1525, 1528, 1534, 1539, 1540, 1541, 1542, 1548, 1551, 1554, and 1556 of the
Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 1ST DAY OF JUNE, 2006
Harold Roberts, Chair Bruce Harter
Sharon Brittingham Leslie Holden
Norman Brown Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Edward Czerwinski Gretchen Pikus
Karen Schilling Ross Carol Vukelich
Angela Dunmore Barbara Grogg
Karen Gordon

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION:
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 15TH DAY OF JUNE, 2006

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Jean W. Allen, President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr., Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Gregory A. Hastings
Barbara Rutt
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1521 Standard Certificate Agriculture Teacher

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Agriculture Teacher [(Grades K to 12)].

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree program
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or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university of a professional development
provided approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher.
Education and Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and
departments of education in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the
U.S. Territories, New Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and
discipline of educational personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Agriculture

Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Comprehensive Vocational Agriculture (required for grades 9 to 12, and valid in grades 5 to 8 in a
middle level school).

3.1.1 Bachelor's degree from an regionally accredited college or university and,
3.1.2 Professional Education

3.1.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher education program in Agriculture Comprehensive
or,

3.1.2.2 A minimum of 24 semester hours to include Human Development, Methods of
Teaching Agriculture, Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities, Effective Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education,
and,

3.1.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.1.3.1 Major in Agriculture (with courses from at least four areas of agriculture as listed in

3.1.3.2) or,
3.1.3.2 A minimum of 30 semester hours in Agriculture to include at least one course in each

of the following areas: Agricultural Economics, Animal Science, Entomology, Agricultural Engineering, Agronomy, Plant
Science, and Computer Science.

3.2 Agricultural Specialist shall be required for any person engaged as an instructor in a program of
specialized agricultural education such as Agricultural Mechanics, Horticulture, Agri-Business.

3.2.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university and,
3.2.2 Professional Education

3.2.2.1 A minimum of 24 semester hours to include Human Development, Methods of
Teaching Agriculture, Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities, Effective Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education,
and,

3.2.3 Technical Agriculture
3.2.3.1 A minimum of 15 semester hours of technical agriculture in the specialty area for

which the applicant is being employed or,
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3.2.3.2 Two years of successful, full time employment in an occupation directly related to the
specialty area for which the applicant is being employed.

The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Agriculture Teacher to an educator who holds a valid
Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status Certificate
issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in Agriculture; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits [or their equivalent] must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and
            3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in agriculture;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as an Agriculture Teacher after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1516.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
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only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1522 Standard Certificate Business Education Teacher

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Business Education Teacher (required for grades 9 to 12, and valid in grades 5 to 8 in a middle level school).

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.
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“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major in Business” means a major in business administration or management, or a related field,
including, but not limited to, accounting, economics, finance or marketing.

“Major or its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification.  The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. 1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Business

Education Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Professional Education
3.1.1 Completion of an approved teacher preparation program in the area of Business Education or,
3.1.2 A minimum of 27 semester hours to include Human Development, Methods of Teaching Basic

Business Subjects, Methods of Teaching Business Information Systems, Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities,
Effective Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, and,

3.2 Specific Teaching Field
3.2.1 Completion of a teacher education program in the area of Business Education or,
3.2.2 A minimum of 42 semester hours as specified below:

3.2.2.1 Accounting (6 semester hours)
3.2.2.2 Document Formatting (3 semester hours)
3.2.2.3 Business Information Systems (3 semester hours)
3.2.2.4 Business Computer Software Applications (6 semester hours)
3.2.2.5 Electronic Office Procedures (3 semester hours)
3.2.2.6 Business Communications (3 semester hours)
3.2.2.7 Business Mathematics (3 semester hours)
3.2.2.8 Business Economics (3 semester hours)
3.2.2.9 Electives in Business (12 semester hours)

3.2.3 Alternative Certification of individuals with business experience as a substitute for course work
in 3.2.2.

3.2.3.1 For each 4000 hours of business experience in a field appropriate to the course areas
listed above, credit for 3 semester hours of that course work can be approved by the Department of Education for the
purpose of certification.

3.2.3.2 At a minimum, an individual in this situation will have to complete or verify completion
of the 12 semester hours of elective course work in Business (as well as the course work in Professional Education) to
obtain the Standard Certificate.

3.3 Endorsement for Teaching Information Systems and Services Business Education Courses in Career
Technical Schools shall be required of teachers in  career technical schools teaching information systems and services
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courses in business education programs.
3.3.1 Standard Certificate in Business Education and nine semester hours of elective course work

selected from the following:
3.3.1.1 Principles of Business Data Processing
3.3.1.2 COBOL Programming
3.3.1.3 Data Base Systems
3.3.1.4 Systems Analysis and Design
3.3.1.5 Programming Language Principles
3.3.1.6 RPG Programming.

3.3.2 This elective course work can satisfy part of the elective requirements specified in 3.3.1.
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Business Education Teacher to an educator who holds

a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing or Advanced License; or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status
Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in business education; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification. Of which at least six (6)
credits [or their equivalent] must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2  For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Business Education.

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as a Business Education teacher after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
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5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1525 Standard Certificate English Teacher 

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

English Teacher (required for grades 9 to 12, and valid in grades 7 to 8 5 to 8 in a middle level school).

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
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specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.
“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or

an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher
Education and Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and
departments of education in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the
U.S. Territories, New Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and
discipline of educational personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an English

Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university and,
3.2 Professional Education

3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher education program in English or,
3.2.2 A minimum of 27 semester hours to include Human Development, Methods of Teaching
3.2.3 Secondary English (to include written composition and oral communication), Teaching of

Reading, Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities, Effective Teaching Strategies,
3.2.4 Multicultural Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Completion of a major in English or,
3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher education program in English or,
3.3.3 A minimum of 36 semester hours in English with at least one course in each of the following

areas: Fundamentals of Speech, Advanced Written Composition, Linguistics, History of the English Language,
Adolescent Literature, American Literature, English Literature, World Literature (other than American or English),
Contemporary Literature.

The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an English Teacher to an educator who holds a valid
Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status Certificate
issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
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or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in English; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing school district or charter
school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in English;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as an English Teacher after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or 
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
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Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1528 Standard Certificate World Language Teacher Comprehensive

1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.

§1220(a), for World Language Teacher Comprehensive (Grades K to 12).

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness;

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.
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“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state.  It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a World

Language Teacher Comprehensive to an applicant educator who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License; or Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to
August 31, 2003, and who meets has met the following requirements:

3.1 A bachelor's degree from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a major in the world language for which a Standard
Certificate is sought; or

3.2 A bachelor’s degree from a state approved educator preparation program offered by a regionally
accredited college or university, with a major in the world language for which a Standard Certificate is sought, where
the state approval body employed the appropriate NASDTEC standards or NCATE specialty organization standards; or

3.3 A bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university, with a major in any field, and
passage of the appropriate PRAXIS™ II tests approved by the Standards Board and the State Board in the world
language for which a Standard Certificate is sought; or

3.4 A bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university, with a major in any field; and
3.4.1 Where no PRAXIS™ II test is available, nationally recognized equivalent tests, such as the

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) Oral Proficiency Interview and the ACTFL Writing
Proficiency Test, may be substituted, in conjunction with completion of the courses set forth in 3.4.2 and 3.4.3 below.
For tests of languages using a Roman alphabet, candidates are required to achieve an Advanced Low Level on the
oral skills and an Advanced Low Level on the writing skills based on the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines. For tests of
languages using a non Roman alphabet, an Advanced Low Level on the oral skills and an Intermediate High level on
the writing skills based on the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines are required; and

3.4.2 A minimum of twelve (12) semester hours of language pedagogy courses from a regionally
accredited college or university, taken either as part of a degree program or  independent of it, to include at least three
(3) credits in each of the following:

3.4.2.1 Standards and Approaches in Teaching World or Second Language;
3.4.2.2 Second Language Acquisition
3.4.2.3 Assessment and Testing in Second Languages;
3.4.2.4 Curriculum Design and Classroom Management for World or Second Language; and

3.4.3 A minimum of three (3) semester hours of general education courses from a regionally
accredited college or university, taken either as part of a degree program or independent of it, chosen from among the
courses listed below:

3.4.3.1 Human Development or Educational Psychology;
3.4.3.2 Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities;
3.4.3.3 Multicultural Education or International Education.

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in the world language of the Standard Certificate requested; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
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Secretary may approve; or
3.1.4 Holding a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content

area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits [or their equivalent] must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score, as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination.

3.2.1 Where no PRAXIS II test is available, nationally recognized equivalent tests, such as the
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) Oral Proficiency Interview and the ACTFL Writing
Proficiency Test, may be substituted, in conjunction with completion of the courses set forth in 3.4.2 and 3.4.3 below.
For tests of languages using a Roman alphabet, candidates are required to achieve an Advanced Low Level on the
oral skills and an Advanced Low Level on the writing skills based on the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines.  For tests of
languages using a non-Roman alphabet, an Advanced Low Level on the oral skills and an Intermediate High level on
the writing skills based on the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines are required; and

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in a world language;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C. §1203.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 10, ISSUE 1, SATURDAY, JULY 1, 2006



FINAL REGULATIONS 113
8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

9 DE Reg.  558 (10/1/05)

1534 Standard Certificate Mathematics Teacher Secondary

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Mathematics Teacher Secondary (required for grades 7 9 to 12, and valid in grades 5 to 6 5 to 8 in a middle level
school).

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which  measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification.  The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
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knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.
“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.

§1201.
“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state.  It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Mathematics

Teacher Secondary to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university and,
3.2 Professional Education

3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher education program in Mathematics or,
3.2.2 Minimum of 24 semester hours including Human Development, Methods of Teaching

Secondary Mathematics (including the use of technology in the classroom), Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities,
Effective Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Major in Mathematics or,
3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher education program in Mathematics or,
3.3.3 Minimum of 36 semester hours in mathematics to include: Calculus, with analytical geometry

(2 courses), Advanced Geometry, Linear Algebra, Abstract Algebra, Discrete Math, Statistics and Probability, Computer
Science, Mathematical Models and Applications and History of Math or Science.

The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Mathematics Teacher to an educator who holds a valid
Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status Certificate
issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in Mathematics; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and 
Certification Program, the Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator
preparation programs as the Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits [or their equivalent] must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Mathematics;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
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14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as a Mathematics Teacher Secondary after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514. An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1539 Standard Certificate Social Studies Teacher Secondary
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1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Social Studies Teacher Secondary (required for grades 9 to 12, and valid in grades 5 to 8 in a middle level school).

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of  hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness;

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification.  The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state.  It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Social Studies

Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from an regionally accredited college or university and,
3.2 Professional Education

3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher education program in the areas of Social Studies or
History or,

3.2.2 A minimum of 24 semester hours to include Human Development, Methods of Teaching
Secondary Social Studies, Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities, Effective Teaching Strategies, Multicultural
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Education, and,
3.3 Specific Teaching Field

3.3.1 A major in one of the following content areas: History, Geography, Political Science, or
Economics and a minimum of 9 semester hours in each of the other 3 content areas or,

3.3.2 A major in Social Studies with a concentration of at least 21 semester hours in History,
Geography, Political Science, or Economics and a minimum of 9 semester hours in each of the other 3 content areas
or,

3.3.3 A total of 57 semester hours to include courses in at least 5 of the 7 areas listed below, with a
concentration of 48 semester hours in areas 1 through 4 which includes a minimum of 6 semester hours in each of
areas 1 to 4. Area 1: History course work must include at least a one semester course (basic survey) in United States
History and a one semester course in World History (basic survey). Area 2: Geography course work must include at
least a one semester course in world regional geography. Area 3: Political Science must include a one semester course
in United States Government. Area 4: Economics Area 5: Anthropology Area 6: Sociology Area 7: Psychology

The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Social Studies Teacher to an educator who holds a
valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status
Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in history, political science, government, civics, geography, or economics; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits of their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing school district or charter
school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Social Studies;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as a Social Studies Teacher after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code  1516.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
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5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514. An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1540 Standard Certificate Science Teacher Secondary

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Science Teacher Secondary (required for grades 9 to 12, and valid in a middle level school, grades 5 to 8). Certificates
issued include Chemistry, Physics, Earth Science, Biology, Physical Science, and Integrated Science.

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in
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the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness;

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area. A major or its equivalent for eligibility for a Standard Certificate for Physical Science includes
physics, chemistry, astronomy, space science, engineering, or a related field.  A major or its equivalent in any science
discipline or related field is acceptable for eligibility for a Standard Certificate for Integrated Science.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification.  The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Science Discipline” means those areas of science for which Delaware content standards have been
established.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state.  It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Science

Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 A bachelor's degree from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a major in the science discipline for which a Standard
Certificate is sought; or 

3.2 A bachelor’s degree from a state approved educator preparation program offered by a regionally
accredited college or university, with a major in the science discipline for which a Standard Certificate is sought, where
the state approval body employed the appropriate NASDTEC standards or NCATE specialty organization standards; or

3.3 Passage of the appropriate PRAXIS™ II test approved by the Standards Board and the State Board in
the science discipline for which a Standard Certificate is sought; or

3.4 A bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university with a major in the science
discipline for which a Standard Certificate is sought; and 

3.4.1 A minimum of twenty four (24) semester hours of pedagogy courses from a regionally
accredited college or university to include at least three (3) credits in each of the following:

3.4.1.1 Human Development;
3.4.1.2 Methods of Teaching Secondary Science;
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3.4.1.3 Teaching of Reading in the Content Areas or Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities;
3.4.1.4 Effective Teaching Strategies; and
3.4.1.5 Multicultural Education; or

3.5 A bachelor’s degree and completion of the semester hours indicated below from a regionally
accredited college or university for the science discipline for which the Standard Certificate is sought, and completion of
the course work set forth in 3.4.1:

3.5.1 Chemistry (Required grades 9 to 12; valid for Middle Level Science):
3.5.1.1 Forty two (42) semester hours, including:

3.5.1.1.1 At least twenty four (24) semester hours in Chemistry with at least
three (3) semester hours in each the following, unless otherwise indicated: 

3.5.1.1.1.1 Inorganic Chemistry (6 semester hours)
3.5.1.1.1.2 Advanced Inorganic or Physical Chemistry;
3.5.1.1.1.3 Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry;
3.5.1.1.1.4 Quantitative Analysis or Instrumental Analysis; and

3.5.1.1.2 At least three (3) semester hours in each of the following, unless
otherwise indicated:

3.5.1.1.2.1 Biology 
3.5.1.1.2.2 Physics; 
3.5.1.1.2.3 Mathematics (6 semester hours of college algebra or above);
3.5.1.1.2.4 Earth Sciences; and 
3.5.1.1.2.5 Environmental Education.

3.5.2 Physics (Required grades 9 to 12; valid for Middle Level Science):
3.5.2.1 Forty two (42) semester hours, including:

3.5.2.1.1 At least twenty four (24) semester hours in physics with at least three
(3) semester hours in each of the following:

3.5.2.1.1.1 Classical Thermodynamics;
3.5.2.1.1.2 Atomic Physics;
3.5.2.1.1.3 Nuclear Physics; and

3.5.2.1.2 At least three (3) semester hours in each of the following, unless
otherwise indicated:

3.5.2.1.2.1 Biology; 
3.5.2.1.2.2 Chemistry;
3.5.2.1.2.3 Mathematics (6 semester hours of college algebra or above);
3.5.2.1.2.4 Earth Science; and 
3.5.2.1.2.5 Environmental Education.

3.5.3 Earth Science (Required grades 9 to 12; valid for Middle Level Science):
3.5.3.1 Thirty nine (39) semester hours, including:

3.5.3.1.1 At least twenty four (24) semester hours in earth science with at least
three (3) semester hours in each of the following:

3.5.3.1.1.1 Geology;
3.5.3.1.1.2 Geography;
3.5.3.1.1.3 Climatology;
3.5.3.1.1.4 Meteorology;
3.5.3.1.1.5 Oceanography;
3.5.3.1.1.6 Astronomy; and

3.5.3.1.2 At least three (3) semester hours in each of the following:
3.5.3.1.2.1 Biology; 
3.5.3.1.2.2 Chemistry;
3.5.3.1.2.3 Mathematics (college algebra or above);
3.5.3.1.2.4 Physics or Physical Science; and
3.5.3.1.2.5 Environmental Education.

3.5.4 Biology (Required grades 9 to 12; valid for Middle Level Science):
3.5.4.1 Thirty nine (39) semester hours, including:

3.5.4.1.1 At least twenty four (24) semester hours in biology, with at least three
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(3) semesters hours in each of the following:
3.5.4.1.1.1 Botany;
3.5.4.1.1.2 Zoology;
3.5.4.1.1.3 Ecology;
3.5.4.1.1.4 Genetics;
3.5.4.1.1.5 Biochemistry;
3.5.4.1.1.6 Physiology; and

3.5.4.1.2 At least three (3) semester hours in each of the following:
3.5.4.1.2.1 Chemistry;
3.5.4.1.2.2 Physics or Physical Science;
3.5.4.1.2.3 Mathematics (college algebra or above);
3.5.4.1.2.4 Earth Sciences; and
3.5.4.1.2.5 Environmental Education.

3.5.5 Physical Science (Required grades 9 to 12; valid for Middle Level Science):
3.5.5.1 Thirty nine (39) semester hours in science, with at least three (3) semester hours in

each of the following, unless otherwise indicated:
3.5.5.1.1 Chemistry (3 semester hours);
3.5.5.1.2 Physics (3 semester hours); 
3.5.5.1.3 Biology (3 semester hours); 
3.5.5.1.4 Mathematics (6 semester hours of college algebra or above);
3.5.5.1.5 Earth Science (3 semester hours); and
3.5.5.1.6 Environmental Science (3 semester hours).

3.5.6 Integrated Science (Required grades 9 to 12; valid for Middle Level Science):
3.5.6.1 A degree in biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, agriscience, or biochemistry or

a major in one science discipline; and
3.5.6.2 Twenty seven (27) semester hours of course work, taken either as part of a degree

program or in addition to it, as follows:
3.5.6.2.1 At least nine (9) semester hours of credit in biology, with at least three

(3) semester hours in each of the following: 
3.5.6.2.1.1 Organismic or Macro Biology;
3.5.6.2.1.2 Molecular or Micro Biology; and
3.5.6.2.1.3 Systems or Environmental Biology; and

3.5.6.2.2 At least three (3) semester hours of credit in earth science, with
courses from among the following:

3.5.6.2.2.1 Introductory Geology;
3.5.6.2.2.2 Geological Processes;
3.5.6.2.2.3 Air and Land and Water Processes;
3.5.6.2.2.4 Weather Systems;
3.5.6.2.2.5 Oceanography;
3.5.6.2.2.6 Coastal Processes; or
3.5.6.2.2.7 Geophysics; and

3.5.6.2.3 At least six (6) semester hours in chemistry, which may include
biochemistry; and

3.5.6.2.4 At least three (3) semester hours in physics, including Newtonian
physics or Physics I; and

3.5.6.2.5 At least three (3) semester hours in astronomy.
The Department shall issue the appropriate Standard Certificate as a Science Teacher in an established

science discipline to an educator who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited
Standard, Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met
the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or
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3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in the science discipline for which a Standard Certificate is sought; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits [or their equivalent] must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in the science discipline for which a Standard Certificate is sought;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as a Science Teacher after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1516.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
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educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate.  Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514. An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

6 DE Reg. 319 (9/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 1138 (2/1/05)

1541 Standard Certificate Mathematics Teacher Middle Level

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Mathematics Teacher Middle Level (required for grades 7 to 8, and valid in grades 5 to 6 in a middle level school.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area. 

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification.  The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
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personnel.
“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting

body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.
“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed

knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.
“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.

§1201.
“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state.  It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. 1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Mathematics

Teacher Middle Level to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard
or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university and,
3.2 Professional Education.

3.2.1 Major in mathematics; or
3.2.2 Completion of an approved teacher education program in mathematics; or
3.2.3 Minimum of 24 semester hours in mathematics to include calculus (2 courses), geometry, finite

or discrete math, statistics and probability, and mathematical models and applications and history of math or science.
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Mathematics Teacher Middle Level to an educator who

holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status
Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in Mathematics; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits [or their equivalent] must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Mathematics;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C. §1203.
4.0 Effective Date
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This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate
as a Mathematics Teacher Middle Level after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1542 Standard Certificate Science Teacher Middle Level

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Science Teacher Middle Level (required for grades 7 to 8, and valid in a middle level school, grades 5 to 6).
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2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness;

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is used.

“Major or its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.  

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification.  The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Science Discipline” means those areas of science for which Delaware content standards have been
established.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Science

Teacher Middle Level to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard
or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 A bachelor’s degree from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a major in general science, middle school science, or a
science discipline; or

3.2 A bachelor’s degree from a state approved educator preparation program offered by a regionally
accredited college or university, with a major in general science, middle school science, or a science discipline where
the state approval body employed the appropriate NASDTEC standards or NCATE specialty organization standards; or

3.3 Passage of the appropriate PRAXIS™ II test approved by the Standards Board and the State Board of
Education in science; or
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3.4 A bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university with a major in general science,
middle level science, or a science discipline; and

3.4.1 A minimum of twenty four (24) semester hours of pedagogy courses from a regionally
accredited college or university to include:

3.4.1.1 Human Development;
3.4.1.2 Methods of Teaching Middle School or Secondary Science;
3.4.1.3 Teaching of Reading in the Content Areas or Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities;
3.4.1.4 Effective Teaching Strategies; and
3.4.1.5 Multicultural Education; or

3.5 Completion of the pedagogy requirements set forth in section 3.4.1 and a total of thirty six (36)
semester hours in science, with a minimum of:

3.5.1 Mathematics (3 semester hours);
3.5.2 Environmental Education (3 semester hours);
3.5.3 Earth Science (6 semester hours); 
3.5.4 Biology (12 semester hours); and 
3.5.5 Chemistry, physics, and physical science (12 semester hours combined with a minimum of 3

semester hours in each area).
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Middle School Science Teacher to an educator who

holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status
Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in any science discipline; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing school district or charter
school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Middle School Science;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as a Science Teacher Middle School after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
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Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate.  Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 1139 (2/1/05)

1543 Standard Certificate Art Teacher Comprehensive

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Art Teacher Comprehensive (grades K to 12).

2.0 Definitions
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2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.
"License" means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the

license is issued.
"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed

knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Art Teacher

Comprehensive to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from an regionally accredited college or university and,
3.2 Professional Education

3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher education program in Elementary and Secondary Art or,
3.2.2 Minimum of 27 semester hours to include Human Development, Methods of Teaching Art

Elementary Level, Methods of Teaching Art Secondary Level, Art for Special Education, Effective Teaching Strategies,
Multicultural Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Major in Art or,
3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher education program in elementary and secondary art or,
3.3.3 Minimum of 36 semester hours including a minimum of two courses in each of the following

areas: Drawing, Painting, Design and Art History, Aesthetics, Graphics, Printmaking, and Related Processes and
Three Dimensional Arts and Crafts including 1 course in Ceramics.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as an Art Teacher Comprehensive after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Art Teacher Comprehensive (grades K to12).

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certificate” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.
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“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours or course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Art Teacher to an educator who holds a valid

Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status Certificate
issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in Art; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits [or their equivalent] must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Art; 

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
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An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1548 Standard Certificate Music Teacher Comprehensive

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.  §1220(a), for

Music Teacher Comprehensive (grades K to 12).

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.
"License" means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the

license is issued.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 10, ISSUE 1, SATURDAY, JULY 1, 2006



FINAL REGULATIONS132
"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Music Teacher

Comprehensive to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university; and
3.2 Professional Education

3.2.1 Completion of an approved comprehensive teacher education program in Music or,
3.2.2 Minimum of 27 semester hours to include Human Development, Methods of Teaching Music

Elementary Level, Methods of Teaching Music Secondary Level, Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities, Effective
Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Major in Music or,
3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher education program in Elementary and Secondary Music

or,
3.3.3 Minimum of 36 semester hours including course work in Music Theory, Music Literature, and

Musical Performance.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as a Music Teacher Comprehensive after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Music Teacher Comprehensive (grades K to12).

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is used.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
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Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Music Teacher to an educator who holds a valid

Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status Certificate
issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in Music; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits [or their equivalent] must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Music;

3.3.1   The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or 
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5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1551 Standard Certificate Physical Education Teacher Comprehensive

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Physical Education Teacher Comprehensive (Grades K to 12).

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.
"License" means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the

license is issued.
"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed

knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Physical Education Teacher
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Comprehensive to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or Professional
Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university and,
3.2 Professional Education

3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher preparation program in Physical Education (must include K to 12) or, 
3.2.2 Minimum of 27 semester hours to include Human Development, Methods of Teaching Physical

Education in two of the following three areas: K to 4, 5 to 8, 9 to 12, Special or Adapted Physical Education, Effective Teaching
Strategies, Multicultural Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Major in Physical Education or,
3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher preparation program in Physical Education, K-12 or,
3.3.3 Minimum of 45 semester hours including course work in the following areas of Physical

Education:
3.3.3.1 Foundations and Theory (15 semester hours): History, Philosophy, Administration,

Program Planning, Concepts of Play, Coaching Strategy and Techniques, Evaluation
3.3.3.2 Movement Experience* (18 semester hours): Individual Sports, Dual Sports, Team

Sports, Rhythms, Aquatics, Low Organization or Cooperation Games, Gymnastics, Recreation and Leisure Activities,
Outdoor Education, Adventure Activity, Physical Conditioning.  (*Must include two courses in Elementary School
Physical Education Activities)

3.3.3.3 Science (12 semester hours): Anatomical, Physiological, Biomechanical,
Kinesiological, Exercise Performance, Technical Applications (including computers)

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only.  Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as a Physical Education Teacher Comprehensive after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14
Del.C. §1516.

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Physical Education Teacher Comprehensive (Grades K to12).

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certificate” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
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Certification.  The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state.  It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Physical Education Teacher to an educator who holds

a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status
Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in Physical Education; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
[or their equivalent] credits must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Physical Education;

3.3.1   The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C. §1203.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
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5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if
applicable; or

5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1554 Standard Certificate Reading Specialist

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for

Reading Specialist.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
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State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.
“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a

specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.
“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected

of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness;
“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the

license is issued.
“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a

particular content area.
“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and

Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Reading Specialist” means an educator who provides one-on-one or small group, diagnostic,
prescriptive teaching of reading,  and includes, but is not limited to, Title I reading teachers, reading resource teachers,
reading teachers as specified in SB 320, Epilogue §358, and educators who work with teachers in reading and
communication skills, including, but not limited to literacy coaches and coordinators, and individuals employed as
building or district coordinators of reading or in Reading Cadre positions.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state.  It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Reading

Specialist to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Educational requirements.
3.1.1 A master’s degree from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation

program offered by a regionally accredited college or university, in a program for Reading Specialists; or
3.1.2 A master’s degree from a state approved educator preparation program for Reading

Specialists offered by a regionally accredited college or university, where the state approval body employed the
appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards; or

3.1.3 A master's degree in any area from a regionally accredited college or university and,
completion of the course work set forth in 3.1.4.1 and 3.1.4.2; or

3.1.4 A Bachelors’s degree plus 30 graduate credits; and
3.1.4.1 Minimum of 24 semester hour credits in graduate level reading covering the following

content areas as specified below:
3.1.4.1.1 Language Development 3 semester hours;
3.1.4.1.2 Methods in Process Writing in Language Arts, 3 semester hours;
3.1.4.1.3 Assessment and Correction of Reading Difficulties, 6 semester hours;
3.1.4.1.4 Practicum in Reading to include application of assessment and

correction strategies, parent involvement strategies, and experience in working as a reading resource person with staff,
6 semester hours;

3.1.4.1.5 Reading in the Content Areas, 3 semester hours;
3.1.4.1.6 Children's or Adolescent Literature Across the Curriculum, 3
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semester hours; and
3.1.4.2 Minimum of three graduate semester hours from among the following:

Seminar in Reading Research, Emergent Literacy, Teaching English as a Second Language or Children's or
Adolescent Literature.

3.2 Experience
3.2.1 Minimum of three years of successful teaching experience with at least two years in the K to

12 classroom and,
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Reading

Specialist to an applicant who has a minimum of three (3) years of successful teaching experience with at least two
years in the K to 12 classroom, and who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard
or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, who has met the following
requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
Master's degree or its equivalent in Reading; or

3.1.3 Holding a Bachelor's degree plus 30 graduate credits from a regionally accredited college or
university or a Master’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content area and a minimum of
24 semester hour credits in graduate level reading covering the following content areas as specified below:

3.1.3.1 Language Development (3 semester hours);
3.1.3.2 Methods in Process Writing or Language Arts (3 semester hours);
3.1.3.3 Assessment and Correction of Reading Difficulties (6 semester hours);
3.1.3.4 Reading in the Content Areas (3 semester hours);
3.1.3.5 Children's or Adolescent Literature Across the Curriculum (3 semester hours);
3.1.3.6 Practicum in Reading to include application of assessment and correction strategies,

parent involvement strategies, and experience in working as a reading resource person with staff (6 semester hours);
and

3.1.3.7 A minimum of three graduate semester hours from among the following:
3.1.3.7.1 Seminar in Reading Research;
3.1.3.7.2 Emergent Literacy;
3.1.3.7.3 Teaching English as a Second Language; or
3.1.3.7.4 Children's or Adolescent Literature; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state as a Reading Specialist;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0  Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective immediately. Notwithstanding this provision, Reading Specialists as defined in

2.0, hired prior to July 1, 2006, who do not currently meet the requirements set forth herein, but who hold an Initial,
Continuing or Advanced License; or a Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, may
be issued a Standard Certificate as a Reading Specialist contingent on their completion of the requirements set forth
herein within three (3) years of the effective date of this regulation or their date of employment in the position of
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Reading Specialist, whichever is later.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if

applicable; or 
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.  Reading Specialists, as defined in 2.0, hired prior to July 1, 2006, who do not meet the
requirements set forth herein, but who hold an Initial, Continuing or Advanced License; or a Standard or Professional
Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, may be issued a Standard Certificate as a Reading Specialist
contingent on their completion of the requirements set forth herein within three (3) years of the effective date of this
regulation or their date of employment in the position of Reading Specialist, whichever is later.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/01/03)
8 DE Reg. 899 (12/01/04)
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1556 Standard Certificate Elementary Teacher (Grades K to 6)

1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.

§1220(a), for Elementary Teacher (Grades K to 6).

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient’s

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in

the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or
an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree
program or [in addition to apart from] it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected
of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of education
in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New
Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline of educational
personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of students. 

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or permanent

certificate or license issued by another state.  It does not include temporary, emergency or expired certificates or
licenses issued from another state.

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Elementary

Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Degree Requirement
3.1.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any field and 45

semester hours of general content courses. These courses may be part of the Bachelor's degree, but if not, then the
courses shall be taken in addition to the degree.

3.1.1.1 Nine semester hours of English including an upper level composition course and a
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literature course,
3.1.1.2 Twelve semester hours of science including one course each in Life and

Environmental, Earth and Space and Physical Sciences,
3.1.1.3 Nine semester hours of social sciences including World History, American History and

Geography,
3.1.1.4 Nine semester hours of Mathematics,
3.1.1.5 Six semester hours of Fine Arts; or,
3.1.1.6 Courses which reflect accomplishment of the NCATE specialty organization standards

for elementary teacher education to develop pedagogical content knowledge and professional and pedagogical skills.
3.1.2 A Bachelor's degree in elementary education from an NCATE specialty organization or state

approved program, where the state employed the appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards
for elementary teacher education, from a regionally accredited college or university.

The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Elementary Teacher to an educator who holds a valid
Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional Status Certificate
issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area,
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation program
or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a
major or its equivalent in Elementary Education; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, the
Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory completion of fifteen
(15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, of which at least six (6)
credits [or their equivalent] must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the employing
school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from
another state in Elementary Education; 

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the
alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty
or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to
14 Del.C §1203.

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only.  Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate

as an Elementary Teacher after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1516.

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
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5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if
applicable; or

5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, Standard

or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard Certificates,
only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or education required
for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited Standard
Certificate.  Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, but in no case
later than December 31, 2008.

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a certificate

or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in accordance with 14
DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and fair hearing before
the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1747 (6/1/04)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code, §512 (31 Del.C., §512)

Financial Eligibility and Self-Employment Income

Nature of the Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend several sections in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) to comply with the CMS-
approved Medicaid state plan amendment regarding the use of a self-employment standard deduction to determine
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eligibility. The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the May 2006 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by May 31, 2006 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary of Proposed Changes:

Citation
Section 1902(r)(2) of the Social Security Act, State Plans for Medical Assistance

Amending the Following Sections
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM): 15120.2, 16230.1.2, 17300.3.2.4.1 and 20210.16.

Summary of Proposed Changes
The proposed rule will amend existing rules to allow actual self-employment expenses to be used when the

application of the self-employment standard deduction results in a finding of ineligibility.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations and
recommendations summarized below.  DMMA has considered each comment and responds as follows:

As background, the SCPD commented on proposed DMMA regulation establishing a flat deduction for self-
employment income expenses. The flat rate would apply to eligibility determinations in most assistance programs.
SCPD endorsed the standards subject to one recommendation, i.e., allowing limited exceptions for “outliers” with high
expenses.  In October 2005, DMMA adopted final regulations with no amendments.

DMMA has now reconsidered the merits of authorizing exceptions to the flat rate.  As the regulatory summary
indicates, applicants will be allowed to qualify for benefits based on actual self-employment expenses if application of
the flat rate deduction results in a finding of ineligibility.  Since the proposal is generally consistent with the Council’s
recommendation last August, SCPD endorses the new regulations.

Agency Response:  DMMA appreciates the endorsement.

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the May 2006 Register of Regulations should
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) to allow actual self-employment expenses to be used when the application of the self-employment standard
deduction results in a finding of ineligibility is adopted and shall be final effective July 10, 2006. 

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 6/14/06 

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the May
2006 issue of the Register at page 1680 (9 DE Reg. 1680).  Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. Please refer to the May 2006 issue of the Register or contact the Department of Social Services
for more information.
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)
7 DE Admin. Code 7402

Secretary’s Order No.:  2006-W-0027

7402 Shellfish Sanitation Regulations 

Date of Issuance:   June 14, 2006
Effective Date of the Amendment:  July 11, 2006

Background
A public hearing was held on Wednesday, May 31, 2006, at 6:00 p.m. at the DNREC Richardson & Robbins

Building Auditorium to receive comment on proposed amendments to the existing Delaware Shellfish Sanitation
Regulations. The proposed changes relate to shellfish processing plant sanitation, requirements for shellfish
harvesters and classification of Delaware waters regarding the suitability of the shellfish therein for human
consumption and related legal harvest access. These proposed amendments would further bring Delaware’s existing
regulations into conformity with current U.S. Food and Drug Administration and National Shellfish Sanitation Program
requirements.

Delaware is a member of the Interstate Shellfish Sanitation Conference (ISSC).  Periodically, the ISSC will
amend National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) guidelines and Model Ordinance specifications related to
shellfish harvesting area classifications, processing plant sanitation, enforcement, and the legal and administrative
aspects of the Program.  The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) evaluates state programs for consistency with
the guidelines and Model Ordinance. In response to NSSP changes and FDA evaluations, Delaware’s regulations
concerning Shellfish Sanitation must be amended. 

In preparation for the hearing, a public workshop was held by the Shellfish and Recreational Water Branch of
the Department on March 31, 2006, at which time the public was able to ask questions and/or provide comments to the
Department regarding this proposed promulgation. It should be noted that the Department successfully answered all
questions from the public prior to the date of this hearing.  It should be further noted that there were no members of the
public present at the actual hearing on May 31, 2006. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law.

After the hearing, the Hearing Officer prepared her report and recommendation in the form of a Hearing
Officer’s Memorandum to the Secretary dated June 12, 2006, and that Memorandum is expressly incorporated herein
by reference.

II.  Findings and Conclusions

On the basis of the record developed in this matter, it appears that the Department has provided a sound basis
with regard to the proposed regulatory action concerning the amendments to Delaware’s Shellfish Sanitation
Regulations. Furthermore, the Department provided the public with numerous opportunities to offer comments with
respect to this issue, with a workshop offered prior to the public hearing, should anyone wish to contribute same. 

III.  Order
It is hereby ordered that the proposed adoption of the amendments to Delaware’s Shellfish Sanitation

Regulations be promulgated in final form, in accordance with the customary and established rule-making procedure
required by law.

IV. Reasons

The adoption of the proposed amendments will correct minor clerical and/or grammatical errors in the present
regulatory language, and further bring Delaware’s existing regulations into conformity with current U.S. Food and Drug
Administration and National Shellfish Sanitation Program requirements. Furthermore, this promulgation will continue to
ensure safety of the public health and environment, while taking into account industry concerns, and will assist the
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Department in furtherance of the policy and purposes of 7 Del.C., Ch. 60.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the May
2006 issue of the Register at page 1687 (9 DE Reg. 1687).  Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. Please refer to the May 2006 issue of the Register or contact the Division of Water Resources for
more information.

A complete set of the rules and regulations for the Division of Water Resources are available at:
http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title7/index.shtml#TopOfPage

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

700 Board of Chiropractic
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Sections 706(a)(1) and (10) (24 Del.C. §706(a)(1) and 10)

24 DE Admin. Code 700

FINAL ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on
June 15, 2006 at the regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Chiropractic to receive comments regarding
proposed amendments to Regulations 4.0 and 5.0. The proposed amendments to Regulations 4.0 Continuing
Education and 5.0 Issuance of License; Renewal; Inactive Status; Reinstatements; Retention of Patient
Records enable licensees to renew their licenses online. The proposed regulations were published in the Register of
Regulations, Vol. 9, Issue 11, May 1, 2006. 

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written or verbal comments were received.

Findings of Fact

The Board finds that the changes appropriately establish the online renewal process. The Board finds that the
changes effectuate the post-renewal auditing of continuing education.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the proposed amendments to the regulations to be effective 10 days following final
publication of this order in the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the Final Regulations is attached hereto as Exhibit A and is formatted to show the amendments. A
non-marked up version of the regulations as amended is attached hereto as Exhibit B.

SO ORDERED this 15th day of June, 2006.

BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC
Trent Camp, D.C., President
William Houghton
Prameela D. Kaza
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C. Terry Jackson, III
Gary Morgan, D.C.

700 Board of Chiropractic

1.0 Chiropractic Defined; Limitations of Chiropractic License
1.1 An adjunctive procedure not otherwise prohibited by Chapter 7 which aids and or assists the

chiropractor in providing chiropractic care and includes by way of example and is not limited to:
_  Acupuncture Procedures
_  Physiological Therapeutics
_  Diet and Nutritional Programs
_  Rehabilitation/Exercise Programs

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)

2.0 Officers; Meetings; Quorum
The Board will hold elections for the offices of President and Secretary at the regularly scheduled meeting in

October of each year or as soon thereafter as practical.  Vacancies occurring in an office shall be filled for the
remainder of the term in the month following the vacancy or as soon thereafter as is practical.

3.0 Certification
Certification in any nationally recognized specialty for a licensee requires a minimum of one hundred (100) or

more hours of certified training beyond and in addition to any courses or training received toward a degree of Doctor of
Chiropractic.  Certification in any nationally recognized chiropractic specialty or technique requires that the licensee
shall have completed all requirements for recognition as a practitioner of such chiropractic specialty or technique by the
nationally recognized certification body.

4.0 Continuing Education
4.1 Continuing Education for New Licensees:

4.1.1 At the time of the initial license renewal, some individuals will have been licensed for less than
two (2) years. Therefore, for these individuals only, the continuing education hours will be pro-rated as follows:

License Granted During First Year: Credit Hours Required:
July 1 - December 31 24 hours
January 1 - June 30 18 hours

License Granted During Second Year: Credit Hours Required:
July 1 - December 31 12 hours
January 1 - June 30    0 hours

4.2 Continuing Education for Licensees other than new licensees:
4.2.1 Unless otherwise excused by the Board for good cause such as illness, extended absence

from the country, or unique personal hardship which is not the result of professional negligence or inadvertence, all
Chiropractors seeking renewal more than two (2) years from initial licensure or reinstatement of a lapsed license must
provide attest to the Board adequate proof of the satisfactory completion of twenty four (24) credit hours of Board
approved continuing education within the immediately preceding two (2) year period. Of the required twenty four (24)
credit hours of Board approved continuing education, a maximum of twelve (12) credit hours may be fulfilled by
participating in online courses.

4.2.1.1 Attestation may be completed electronically if the renewal is accomplished online.  In
the alternative, paper renewal documents that contain the attestation of completion may be submitted;

4.2.2 Proof Attestation of continuing education shall be [received at submitted to] the Division of
Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware, no later than April June 30th of the reporting year and shall be received
every two (2) years after such date. Continuing education completed before April June 30th of the reporting year shall
not be carried over to the next renewal period. The Board has the right to conduct an audit of the proof of continuing
education submitted by licensees.
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4.2.2.1 All licensees shall maintain documentation of continuing education during the
licensure period to be submitted if their renewal application is selected for audit. Random audits will be performed by
the Board to ensure compliance with the continuing education requirement. Licensees selected for the random audit
shall submit the log and attendance verification.

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)
8 DE Reg. 1586 (5/1/05)

5.0 Issuance of License; Renewal; Inactive Status; Reinstatements; Retention of Patient Records
5.1 The Biennial licenses granted by the Board shall automatically terminate on June 30th of each even

numbered year or on such other date as is specified by the Division of Professional Regulation. It is the responsibility of
the licensee to file a renewal application with the Board. The failure of the Board to notify a licensee of his/her
expiration date does not in any way relieve the licensee of the requirements of filing a renewal application with the
Board.  A licensee who fails to renew a license before the expiration date may renew on a late basis for a period not to
exceed one (1) year. Licenses renewal may be accomplished online at http://dpr.delaware.gov.

5.2 Inactive Status and Termination of Practice. Any licensee who seeks to be placed on inactive status or
who is terminating his or her practice in this State or is leaving this State and is not transferring his or her records to
another chiropractor shall notify the Board in writing and notify all patients treated within the last three (3) years by
publication in a newspaper of general circulation throughout the State of Delaware and offer to make the patients
records available to the patient or his or her duly authorized representative. Except in an emergency situation where as
much notice as is reasonably possible shall be given, the notice by publication shall be made at least ninety (90) days
prior to termination of the practice or leaving the State and must be published at least 3 times over this ninety (90) day
period and must explain how a patient can procure his or her patient records. All patients who have not requested their
records thirty (30) days prior to the termination of the licensee's  practice or the licensee leaving the State shall be
notified by first  class mail by the licensee to permit patients to procure their records. Any patient records that have not
been procured within 7 years after the licensee terminates his or her practice or leaves the State may be permanently
disposed of in a manner that ensures confidentiality of the records.

5.3 Retention of Patient Records. Patient records must be retained by the Chiropractor or arrangements
made for the maintenance and retention of patient records for seven (7) years from the date of the last treatment.

5.4 Whenever a patient changes from the care of one Chiropractor to another Chiropractor and upon the
request of either the new Chiropractor or the patient the previous Chiropractor (a) may charge for the reasonable
expenses of copying the patient's records and upon receiving payment for such expenses, shall transfer the patient's
records to the new Chiropractor, or (b) if there is no copying charge, shall transfer the records of the patient to the new
Chiropractor, within a reasonable time frame. Alternatively, if the patient and new Chiropractor agree, the Chiropractor
may forward to the new Chiropractor a summary of the patient's records in lieu of the entire record at no charge to the
patient. If a patient changes care from one Chiropractor to another Chiropractor, and fails to notify the previous
Chiropractor or leaves the care of the previous Chiropractor for a period of 7 years from the date of the last treatment
and fails to notify the previous Chiropractor, or fails to request the transfer of records to the new Chiropractor, then the
previous Chiropractor shall maintain said records for a period of 7 years from the date of last treatment, after which
time the records may be permanently disposed of in a manner that ensures confidentiality of the records.

5.5 This rule shall not apply to a Chiropractor who has seen or treated a patient on referral from a
Chiropractor and who has provided a record of the diagnosis or treatment to another chiropractor, hospital or agency
which has provided treatment for the patient.

5.6 A Chiropractor or the personal representative of the estate of a Chiropractor who disposes of patient
records in accordance with the provisions of this rule is not liable for any direct or indirect loss suffered as a result of the
disposal of a patient's records.

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)
5 DE Reg. 270 (9/1/01)
7 DE Reg. 36 (7/1/03)

6.0 Grounds for Discipline
6.1 Unprofessional Conduct in Advertising. Any Licensee who advertises or holds out to the public that he

or she is a specialist in any specific chiropractic or adjunctive procedure without having a valid current certification as
having special training and/or certification in such procedure or procedures from a recognized certification body is
guilty of unprofessional conduct.
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6.2 Examples of Unprofessional Conduct in Advertising and Promotional Practices. The following
advertising and promotional practices are deemed to be  misleading, false, deceptive, dishonorable and/or unethical
and shall constitute unprofessional conduct by a licensee:

6.2.1 The use of testimonials without written permission of that doctor’s patient.
6.2.2 Offering free or discounted examinations unless all charges associated with such

examinations, including all x-ray fees and charges, are conspicuously set out in writing at the time of and in conjunction
with such offer and unless such examinations are offered regardless of the availability of insurance coverage of any
recommended subsequent treatment.

6.2.3 The use of unjustified or exaggerated claims, promises or statements which guarantee or
strongly imply cure or successful treatment or are otherwise false, fraudulent, deceptive, or misleading.

6.2.4 Willful failure to identify licensee as a Doctor of Chiropractic, Chiropractor or Chiropractic
Physician.

6.3 Unprofessional conduct with Patient, Employees, or Co-workers. Sexual misconduct in violation of a
statute of the State of Delaware or any State or Commonwealth where such conduct takes place, involving a licensee
and a patient, employee or co-worker shall be deemed to be unprofessional conduct.

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)
5 DE Reg. 270 (9/1/01)

7.0 License to Practice
A Chiropractor licensed elsewhere but not licensed in the State of Delaware may practice chiropractic within

the State of Delaware only in consultation with a duly Delaware licensed Chiropractor for not more than ten (10)
consultations in any twelve (12) month period, which consultations shall be limited to examination, recommendation or
testimony in litigation.

8.0 Voluntary Treatment Option
Any member of the public or a licensee may make a written report, signed by the complainant, of chemical

dependency or impairment affecting any person regulated by the Board pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8807(n).
8.1 If the report is received by the chairperson of the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately

notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate of the report. If the Director of Professional
Regulation receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that
chairperson's designate or designates.

8.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7
days of receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter the
Voluntary Treatment Option.

8.3 In order for the individual to participate in the Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit
to a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).

8.4 A regulated professional with chemical dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or alcohol
may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice the
participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary, only
if such action will not endanger the public health, welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into an
agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

8.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
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chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in section 8.8.

8.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a regulated professional to enter into an agreement
which includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:

8.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a treatment program approved by the participating
Board. Board approval shall not require that the regulated professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.

8.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the approved treatment program to report on the
progress of the regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating Board or to that chairperson's designate or
designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate at such intervals as
required by the chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of
the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such person making such report will not be liable
when such reports are made in good faith and without malice.

8.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved treatment program.

8.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional to be personally responsible for all costs and
charges associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated professional to cover administrative costs
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed under this subparagraph shall
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as
the proportional expenses incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board in
addition to the administrative costs associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option.

8.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional that failure to satisfactorily progress in such
treatment program shall be reported to the participating Board's chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/ her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good faith and without malice.

8.6.6 Compliance by the regulated professional with any terms or restrictions placed on professional
practice as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment Option.

8.7 The regulated professional's records of participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not reflect
disciplinary action and shall not be considered public records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an issue.

8.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/her designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with the treating professional at any time during the
Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action is
deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or safety.

8.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.

8.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option,
and the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.

8.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this section in good faith and without malice shall be immune from
any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter.

8.12 Any regulated professional who complies with all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated professional shall include the potential for
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)
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9.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of chiropractic
9.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or

conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice of
chiropractic in the State of Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

9.1.1 Manslaughter.  11 Del.C. §632.
9.1.2 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §634.
9.1.3 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C. §635.
9.1.4 Murder in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §636.
9.1.5 Rape in the second degree.  11 Del.C. §772.
9.1.6 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773.
9.1.7 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 Del.C. §778.
9.1.8 Dangerous crime against a child.  11 Del.C. §779.
9.1.9 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C. §1108.
9.1.10 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 11 Del.C. §1109.

9.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of chiropractic shall be deemed to include any crimes
under any federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes
identified in this rule.

8 DE Reg. 997 (1/1/05)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF |
RULES TO IMPLEMENT THE RENEWABLE |
ENERGY PORTFOLIO STANDARDS ACT, 26 | PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 56
DEL.C. §§ 351-363, AS APPLIED TO |
RETAIL ELECTRICITY SUPPLIERS |
(OPENED AUGUST 23, 2005) |

ORDER NO. 6931

AND NOW, this 6th day of June, 2006; 
WHEREAS, on July 12, 2005, the Delaware General Assembly enacted new legislation, entitled the

Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards Act (“Act”),1 and, in so doing, directed the Delaware Public Service
Commission (the “Commission”) to adopt rules governing the Act’s implementation by July 31, 2006; and

WHEREAS, on August 23, 2005, by PSC Order No. 6697, the Commission opened Regulation Docket No. 56
to develop standards under the Act and directed Staff to draft proposed rules after conducting workshops with
interested parties; and

WHEREAS, on December 6, 2005, by PSC Order No. 6793, the Commission directed publication in the
Delaware Register (among other places) of Staff’s proposed rules, entitled Rules and Procedures to Implement the
Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard (“Rules” or “Regulations”), and directed a Hearing Examiner to conduct
proceedings regarding the proposed Rules; and

WHEREAS, after conducting proceedings, the Hearing Examiner submitted his Findings and
Recommendations, dated March 7, 2006, in which he recommended Commission approval of Staff’s final proposed
Rules, which included certain changes made after the initial publication in the Delaware Register; and 

WHEREAS, on April 11, 2006, by PSC Order No. 6885, the Commission adopted the Findings and

1.   The Act is codified, in main part, at 26 Del.C. §§ 351-363.
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Recommendations of the Hearing Examiner, to which no exceptions had been filed, and directed Staff to publish, on
May 1, 2006, the final proposed Rules in the Delaware Register for further comment; and

WHEREAS, the Commission received no new comments relating to the final proposed Rules; and 
WHEREAS, the Commission held a public hearing on June 6, 2006, to consider final adoption of the

Regulations as recommended by the Hearing Examiner;
Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED THAT:
1. The Commission hereby adopts and incorporates by reference, in its entirety, its prior Order No. 6885

(Apr. 11, 2006).
2. The Commission hereby adopts and approves the proposed Rules and Procedures to Implement the

Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard attached hereto as Exhibit "A" (being the same Regulations that were approved
and published pursuant to Order No. 6885).  The Secretary of the Commission shall transmit to the Registrar of
Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register, the exact text of the Regulations attached hereto as Exhibit "A" for
publication on July 1, 2006. 

3. The effective date of this Order shall be the later of July 10, 2006, or ten days after the date of
publication in the Delaware Register of the Regulations attached hereto as Exhibit "A."

4. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as
may be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

RULES AND PROCEDURES TO IMPLEMENT THE RENEWABLE ENERGY PORTFOLIO STANDARD

1.0 Definitions
1.1 The following words and terms, when used in this Regulation, should have the following meanings

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Alternative Compliance Payment” (“ACP”) means a payment of a certain dollar amount per megawatt

hour, which a Retail Electricity Supplier may submit in lieu of supplying the minimum percentage of RECs required
under Section 3.3.4 of this Regulation.

“DNREC” means Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.
“Commission” means the Delaware Public Service Commission.
“Compliance Year” means the calendar year beginning with June 1 and ending with May 31 of the following

year, for which a Retail Electricity Supplier must demonstrate that it has met the requirements of this Regulation.
“Customer-Sited Generation” means a Generation Unit that is interconnected on the End-Use Customer’s

side of the retail electricity meter in such a manner that it displaces all or part of the metered consumption of the End-
Use Customer.

“Eligible Energy Resources” means the following energy sources located within the PJM region or imported
into the PJM region and tracked through the PJM Market Settlement System:

Solar energy technologies that employ solar radiation to produce electricity;
Electricity derived from wind energy;
Electricity derived from ocean energy including wave or tidal action, currents, or thermal differences;
Geothermal energy technologies that generate electricity with a steam turbine, driven by hot water or

steam extracted from geothermal reservoirs in the earth’s crust;
Electricity generated by a fuel cell powered by Renewable Fuels;
Electricity generated by the combustion of gas from the anaerobic digestion of organic material;
Electricity generated by a hydroelectric facility that has a maximum design capacity of 30 megawatts or

less from all generating units combined that meet appropriate environmental standards as determined by DNREC (see
DNREC Regulation _____);
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Electricity generated from the combustion of biomass that has been cultivated and harvested in a
sustainable manner as determined by DNREC, and is not combusted to produce energy in a waste to energy facility or
in an incinerator (see DNREC Regulation ____);

Electricity generated by the combustion of methane gas captured from a landfill gas recovery system;
provided, however, that:

Increased production of landfill gas from production facilities in operation prior to January 1,
2004 demonstrates a net reduction in total air emissions compared to flaring and leakage;

Increased utilization of landfill gas at electric generating facilities in operation prior to January
1, 2004 (i) is used to offset the consumption of coal, oil, or natural gas at those facilities, (ii) does not result in a
reduction in the percentage of landfill gas in the facility’s average annual fuel mix when calculated using fuel mix
measurements for 12 out of any continuous 15 month period during which the electricity is generated, and (iii) causes
no net increase in air emissions from the facility; and

Facilities installed on or after January 1, 2004 meet or exceed 2004 Federal and State air
emission standards, or the Federal and State air emission standards in place on the day the facilities are first put into
operation, whichever is higher.

“End-Use Customer” means a person or entity in Delaware that purchases electrical energy at retail prices
from a Retail Electricity Supplier.

“Fund” means the Delaware Green Energy Fund.
“GATS” means the Generation Attribute Tracking System developed by PJM-Environmental Information

Services, Inc. (PJM-EIS).
“Generation Attribute” means a non-price characteristic of the electrical energy output of a Generation Unit

including, but not limited to, the Unit’s fuel type, geographic location, emissions, vintage, and RPS eligibility.
“Generation Unit” means a facility that converts a fuel or an energy resource into electrical energy.
“Industrial Customer” means an End-Use Customer with a North American Industry Classification System

(NAICS) Manufacturing Sector Code.
“Municipal Electric Company” means a public corporation created by contract between 2 or more

municipalities pursuant to provisions of Title 22, Chapter 13 of the Delaware Code and the electric utilities that are
municipally owned within the State of Delaware.

“New Renewable Generation Resources” means Eligible Energy Resources first going into commercial
operation after December 31, 1997.

"Peak Demand" shall have the same meaning as and be determined consistently with how such term or a
similar term is defined and determined in the applicable utility's tariff then in effect and approved by the Commission.
For customers with more than one account, the peak demands shall be aggregated for all accounts. The calculation
will be applied in the current year based on the Peak Demand, as defined above, in the prior year.

“PJM” or “PJM Interconnection” means the regional transmission organization (RTO) that coordinates the
movement of wholesale electricity in the PJM region, or its successors at law.

“PJM region” means the area within which the movement of wholesale electricity is coordinated by PJM
Interconnection.  The PJM region is as described in the Amended and Restated Operating Agreement of PJM.

“Renewable Energy Credit” (“REC”) means a tradable instrument comprised of all the Generation Attributes
equal to 1 megawatt-hour of electricity derived from Eligible Energy Resources and that is used to track and verify
compliance with the provisions of this Regulation. A REC does not include emission reduction credits and/or
allowances encumbered or used by a Generation Unit for compliance with local, state, or federal operating and/or air
quality permits associated with the 1 megawatt-hour of electricity.

“Renewable fuel” means a fuel that is derived from Eligible Energy Resources. This term does not include a
fossil fuel or a waste product from a fossil fuel source.

“RPS” and “Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard” means the percentage of electricity sales at retail in the
State that is to be derived from Eligible Energy Resources.

“Retail Electricity Product” means an electrical energy offering that is distinguished by its Generation
Attributes only and that is offered for sale by a Retail Electricity Supplier to End-Use Customers. Multiple electrical
energy offerings with the same Generation Attributes may be considered a single Retail Electricity Product.

“Retail Electricity Supplier” means a person or entity that sells electrical energy to End-Use Customers in
Delaware, including, but not limited to, non-regulated power producers, electric utility distribution companies supplying
standard offer, default service, or any successor service to End-Use Customers. A Retail Electricity Supplier does not
include a Municipal Electric Company for the purposes of this Regulation.
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“Rural Electric Cooperative” means a non-stock, non-profit, membership corporation organized pursuant to
the Federal “Rural Electrification Act of 1936” and operated under the cooperative form of ownership.

“Total Retail Sales” means retail sales of electricity within the State of Delaware exclusive of sales to any
Industrial Customer with a Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts.

2.0 Purpose and Scope
2.1 The benefits of electricity from renewable energy resources accrue to the public at large, and electric

suppliers and consumers share an obligation to develop a minimum level of these resources in the electric supply
portfolio of the State. The purpose of this Regulation, in support of 26 Del.C., §351 – 363, is to set forth the rules for
governing the RPS.

2.2 This regulation shall apply to all retail electricity sales in the State of Delaware except for retail
electricity sales of Municipal Electric Companies and retail electricity sales to any Industrial Customer with a Peak
Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts.

2.2.1 An Industrial Customer with Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts may elect to have their
load exempt from this Regulation provided that they meet the definitions found in Section 1.1 and:

2.2.1.1 submit a notice to the Commission’s Staff including, but not limited to, Name and
Address of Industrial Customer, and NAICS Code and load for each account;

2.2.1.1.1 the Commission’s Staff shall, within thirty (30) days of receipt of the
notice, provide to the Industrial Customer an acknowledgement of the status, exempt or non-exempt, of the Industrial
Customer and; 

2.2.1.2 submit the Commission’s Staff acknowledgement referenced in Section 2.2.1.1.1 of
this Regulation to their Retail Electricity Supplier.

2.2.2 For an End-Use Customer with multiple accounts totaling in excess of 1,500 kilowatts within
an applicable utility’s service territory and served by a single Retail Electricity Supplier, to have their load exempt, the
aggregate of their accounts with an NAICS Manufacturing Sector Code must have a Peak Demand of at least 751
kilowatts and they must follow the procedure found in Section 2.2.1.

2.3 Any Rural Electric Cooperative that is opted-out of Commission regulation by its membership pursuant
to 26 Del.C. §223 of the Delaware Code shall, for all purposes of administering and applying this Regulation, be
treated as a Municipal Electric Company during any period of time the Rural Electric Cooperative is exempt from
Commission regulation. 

2.4 A Rural Electric Cooperative may elect to be exempt from the requirements of this Regulation provided
that, on or before June 1, 2006, they:

2.4.1 submit a written notice to the Delaware General Assembly;
2.4.2 submit a written notice to the Commission;
2.4.3 alert their End-Use Customers with notices inserted in two (2) consecutive electricity bills;
2.4.4 offer their End-Use Customers a voluntary program for purchasing renewable energy under

competitive rates; and
2.4.5 either contribute to the Delaware Green Energy Fund at levels commensurate with other Retail

Electricity Suppliers or create an independent fund separate from the Delaware Green Energy Fund to be used in
support of energy efficiency technologies, renewable energy technologies, or demand side management programs,
into which they make payments of $0.178 for each megawatt-hour they sell, transmit, or distribute in the State.

3.0 Administration of RPS
3.1 Certifying Eligible Energy Resources:

3.1.1 The Commission through its Staff will certify Generation Units as Eligible Energy Resources
based on the definition of Eligible Energy Resources found in Section 1.1 of this Regulation.

3.1.2 Any Generation Unit seeking certification as an Eligible Energy Resource must submit an
Application for Certification as an Eligible Energy Resource Under the Delaware Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard
(Application) to the Commission. This may include Customer-Sited Generation or a Generation Unit owned or operated
by a Municipal Electric Company.

3.1.3 Commission Staff will review the Application and will notify the applicant of its approval as an
Eligible Energy Resource or of any deficiencies in their Application within 30 days of receipt. The applicant will have the
opportunity to revise their submission, if appropriate.

3.1.4 If Commission Staff finds the Generation Unit to be in compliance with Sections 1.0 and 3.0 of
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this Regulation, as well as any other applicable Delaware statute; Commission Staff will issue a State of Delaware
Certification Number.

3.1.5 Upon receipt of the State of Delaware Certification Number, a Generation Unit will be deemed
an Eligible Energy Resource.

3.1.6 Upon designation as an Eligible Energy Resource, the Generation Unit’s owner shall be entitled
to one (1) Renewable Energy Credit (REC) for each mega-watt hour of energy derived from Eligible Energy Resources.
RECs will be created and supplied by the PJM-EIS GATS, or its successor at law. Eligible Energy Resources are
subject to applicable PJM-EIS GATS rules and shall pay applicable PJM-EIS GATS fees.

3.1.6.1 However, if in the future, the Commission finds that PJM-EIS’s GATS is not applicable
or not suited to meet the needs or requirements of the RPS, the Commission may establish or participate in another
renewable energy tracking system.

3.1.7 RECs created by Eligible Energy Resources on or after June 1, 2006 shall be valid to meet
retail electricity supplier requirements, subject to Section 3.2.3 of this Regulation.

3.1.7.1 If a Generation Unit is deemed an Eligible Energy Resource under Section 3.1 and the
Eligible Energy Resource's GATS account continues to be maintained in good standing, the Eligible Energy Resource
may achieve a Delaware designation for RECs recorded with PJM-EIS's GATS for the calendar year being traded in
GATS at the time of the Commission Staff's approval of the Eligible Energy Resource, but no earlier than June 1, 2006.

3.1.8 An Eligible Energy Resource will remain certified unless substantive changes are made to its
operational characteristics. Substantive changes include, but are not limited to changes in fuel type, fuel mix and
generator type. An Eligible Energy Resource making substantive changes to its operational characteristics shall notify
the Commission of such changes at least 30 days prior to the effective date of such changes.  At such time the
Generation Unit shall submit a revised Application, which shall be subject to the process laid out in Section 3.1 of this
Regulation.

3.1.9 RECs created by an Eligible Energy Resource shall remain valid for compliance, subject to
Section 3.2.3 and Section 3.3.3 of this Regulation, even if that Eligible Energy Resource is subsequently decertified for
eligibility.

3.2 Compliance with RPS
3.2.1 The Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product sold to End-Use Customers by a

Retail Electricity Supplier during any given Compliance Year shall include a minimum percentage of electrical energy
sales from Eligible Energy Resources as shown in Schedule 1.

3.2.2 A Retail Electricity Supplier’s compliance with Schedule 1 shall be based on accumulating
RECs equivalent to the current Compliance Year's Cumulative Minimum Percentage of Total Retail Sales of each Retail
Electricity Product sold to End-Use Customers and subject to Section 3.2.3 and, where appropriate, Commission
regulations2. Such RECs shall be filed annually with the Commission within 120 days following the completion of the
Compliance Year.

3.2.3 Each Retail Electricity Supplier can provide no more than 1% of each Compliance Year’s Total
Retail Sales from Eligible Energy Resources operational before December 31, 1997. The remainder of each year’s

SCHEDULE 1 

Compliance Year  Cumulative Minimum 
Percentage 

2007 1% 
2008 1.5% 
2009 2% 
2010 2.75% 
2011 3.5% 
2012 4.25% 
2013 5% 
2014 5.75% 
2015 6.5% 
2016 7.25% 
2017 8% 
2018 9% 
2019 10% 
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retail sales, up to the required amount as specified in Section 3.2.1 of this Regulation must come from New Renewable
Generation resources. In Compliance Year 2020 and for each Compliance Year thereafter, all Eligible Energy
Resources used to meet the cumulative minimum percentage requirements set by the Commission rules shall be New
Renewable Generation Resources.

3.2.4 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall not use RECs used to satisfy another state’s renewable
energy portfolio requirements for compliance with Schedule 1.  A Retail Electricity Supplier may sell or transfer any
RECs not required to meet this regulation.

3.2.5 On or after June 1, 2006, Eligible Energy Resources may create and accumulate RECs for the
purposes of calculating compliance with the RPS.

3.2.6 Aggregate generation from small Eligible Energy Resources, 100 kilowatts of capacity or less,
may be used to meet the requirements of Schedule 1, provided that the generators or their agents, on an annual basis,
document the level of generation, as recorded by appropriate metering.

3.2.7 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive 300% credit toward meeting the RPS for energy
derived from the following sources installed on or before December 31, 2014:

3.2.7.1 Solar electric; or
3.2.7.2 Renewable fuel that is used in a fuel cell.

3.2.8 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive 150% credit toward meeting the RPS for wind energy
installations sited in Delaware on or before December 31, 2012.

3.2.9 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive credit toward meeting the RPS for electricity derived
from the fraction of eligible landfill gas, biomass or biogas combined with other fuels.

3.2.10 Cumulative minimum percentage requirements of Eligible Energy Resources shall be
established by Commission rules for Compliance Year 2020 and each subsequent year. In no case shall the minimum
percentages established by Commission rules be lower than those required for Compliance Year 2019 in Schedule 1.
Each of the rules setting such minimum percentage shall be adopted at least two years prior to the minimum
percentage being required.

3.2.11 Beginning in Compliance Year 2010, and in each Compliance Year thereafter, the Commission
may review the status of Schedule 1 and report to the legislature on the status of the pace of the scheduled percentage
increases toward the goal of 10%. If the Commission concludes at this time that the schedule either needs to be
accelerated or decelerated, it may also make recommendations to the General Assembly for legislative changes to the
RPS.

3.2.12 Beginning in Compliance Year 2014, and in each Compliance Year thereafter, the Commission
may, in the event of circumstances specified in this subsection and after conducting hearings, accelerate or slow the
scheduled percentage increases towards meeting the goal of 10%. The Commission may only slow the increases if the
Commission finds that at least 30% of RPS compliance has been met through the ACP for three (3) consecutive years,
despite adequate planning by the Retail Electricity Suppliers. The Commission may only accelerate the scheduled
percentage increases after finding that the average price for RECs eligible for RPS compliance has, for two (2)
consecutive years, been below a predetermined market-based price threshold to be established by the Commission.
The Commission shall establish the predetermined market-based price threshold in consultation with the Delaware
Energy Office.  Rules that would alter the percentage targets shall be promulgated at least two years before the
percentage change takes effect. In no event shall the Commission reduce the percentage target below any level
reached to that point.

3.3 Verification of Compliance with the RPS
3.3.1 Within 120 days of the end of a compliance year, each Retail Electricity Supplier who has

made sales to an End-use Customer in the State of Delaware must submit a completed Retail Electricity Supplier’s
Verification of Compliance with the Delaware Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard Report (Report) which includes,
but is not limited to, evidence of the specified number of RECs required for that Compliance Year according to
Schedule 1 and the Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product.

2.  The Commission understands the legislation to mean that the Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Prod-
uct sold to End-Use Customers during a given Compliance Year shall include a minimum percentage of RECs deter-
mined by the current Cumulative Minimum Percentage as defined in Schedule 1. The Commission shall, in another
proceeding, further define how RECs from Green Power products, as that term is defined in Commission Docket Num-
ber 49, are to be tracked and utilized for compliance in the RPS.
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3.3.2 RECs must have been created by PJM-EIS’s GATS, or its successor at law or pursuant to
Section 3.1.6.1 of this Regulation.

3.3.3 RECs, submitted for compliance with this Regulation, may be dated no earlier than three (3)
years prior to the beginning of the current Compliance Year.

3.3.4 In lieu of standard means of compliance with the RPS, any Retail Electricity Supplier may pay
into the Fund an ACP of $25 for each megawatt-hour deficiency between the RECs used by a Retail Electricity Supplier
in a given compliance year and the RECs necessary for such Retail Electricity Supplier to meet the year’s Cumulative
Minimum Percentage. In subsequent years, the ACP for any Retail Electricity Supplier shall increase as follows:

3.3.4.1 If a Retail Electricity Supplier has paid an ACP of $25 for any megawatt-hour
deficiency in any previous year, then the ACP shall be $35 for each megawatt-hour.

3.3.4.2 If a Retail Electricity Supplier has paid an ACP of $35 for any megawatt-hour
deficiency in any previous year, then the ACP shall be $45 for each megawatt-hour.

3.3.4.3 If a Retail Electricity Supplier has paid an ACP of $45 for any megawatt-hour
deficiency in any previous year, then the ACP shall be $50 for each megawatt-hour.

3.3.4.4 If a Retail Electricity Supplier has paid an ACP of $50 for any megawatt-hour
deficiency in any previous year, then the ACP shall be $50 for each megawatt-hour.

3.3.4.5 ACPs shall not be more than $50 for each megawatt-hour.
3.3.5 The Commission Staff shall notify any Retail Electricity Supplier of any compliance

deficiencies within 165 days of the close of the current Compliance Year. If the Retail Electricity Supplier is found to be
deficient by the Commission Staff, the Retail Electricity Supplier shall be required to pay the appropriate ACP,
according to Section 3.3.4 of this Regulation. All such payments shall be due within 30 days of notification by the
Commission Staff. Upon receipt of payment, the Retail Electricity Supplier shall be found to be in compliance for that
given year. 

3.3.6. All compliance payments, made by the Retail Electricity Supplier, shall be payable to the
Delaware Green Energy Fund and sent to the Commission.

4.0  Recovery of Costs 
4.1 A Retail Electricity Supplier may recover, through a non-bypassable surcharge on its supply portion of

the bill, actual dollar for dollar costs incurred in complying with the State of Delaware’s RPS, except that any
compliance fee assessed pursuant to Section 3.3.4 and its subsections of these Rules and Regulation shall be
recoverable only to the extent authorized by Section 4.2 of this Regulation.

4.2 A Retail Electricity Supplier may recover any ACP if the payment of an ACP is the least cost measure
to ratepayers as compared to the purchase of Renewable Energy Credits to comply with the RPS; or if there are
insufficient Renewable Energy Credits available for the Retail Electricity Supplier to comply with the RPS.

4.3 Any cost recovered under this section shall be disclosed to customers at least annually on inserts
accompanying customer bills.

5.0 Other General Rules
5.1 Under Delaware’s Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 100, all information filed with the

Commission is considered of public record unless it contains “trade secrets and commercial or financial information
obtained from a person which is of a privileged or confidential nature.” 29 Del.C. §10002(d)(2). To qualify as a non-
public record under this exemption, materials received by the Commission must be clearly and conspicuously marked
on the title page and on every page containing the sensitive information as “proprietary” or “confidential” or words of
similar effect. The Commission shall presumptively deem all information so designated to be exempt from public record
status. However, upon receipt of a request for access to information designated proprietary or confidential, the
Commission may review the appropriateness of such designation and may determine to release the information
requested. Prior to such release, the Commission shall provide the entity that submitted the information with
reasonable notice and an opportunity to show why the information should not be released.

5.2 Any End-Use Customer, Retail Electricity Supplier, Eligible Energy Resource, potential Eligible Energy
Resource or other interested party to which this Regulation may apply may file a complaint with the Commission
pursuant to the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Delaware Public Service Commission.

5.3 The failure to comply with this Regulation may result in penalties, including monetary assessments,
suspension or revocation of eligibility as an Eligible Energy Resource, or other sanction as determined by the
Commission consistent with 26 Del.C., §205(a), §217, and §1019.
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER EIGHTY-SEVEN

RE: Establishing The State Employees' Charitable Campaign

WHEREAS, the employees of the State of Delaware have demonstrated their generosity and commitment to
the support of charitable health and welfare causes; and

WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the State to provide a single annual campaign with minimal disruption to
the work and services that our state employees provide to the residents of our State; and

WHEREAS, it is impossible to allow every nonprofit organization to conduct a campaign, but it is reasonable to
establish guidelines and procedures to establish a single, combined annual campaign; and

WHEREAS, it is a worthy endeavor to encourage state employees to contribute to charitable organizations
within Delaware.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State
of Delaware do hereby declare and order the following:

I. Reestablishment of the State Employees' Charitable Campaign. The State of Delaware shall
henceforth conduct an annual combined charitable solicitation campaign (hereinafter referred to as the "Campaign") to
provide its employees with the opportunity to make charitable contributions either through direct payment or payroll
deduction.

II. Criteria for Selection. An organization must meet the following criteria in order to participate in the
Campaign:

A. Foundation, Umbrella Organization, or Individual Organization. An organization may be a
foundation, an umbrella organization, or an individual organization.

1. A foundation means a not-for-profit organization that makes grants to other
organizations. Such a foundation must meet the other criteria for selection as set forth herein. 

2. An umbrella organization means an organization that meets the other criteria for
selection as set forth herein and that serves as the administrative agency for at least four nonprofit organizations, each
of which meets the other criteria for selection as set forth herein. An approved umbrella organization shall certify that
each of its participating organizations meets the criteria for selection as set forth herein. The certification shall apply
only for purposes of the Campaign. The documentation supporting the certification of an individual organization under
an umbrella organization shall be provided to the State Employees' Charitable Campaign Steering Committee
(hereinafter referred to as the "Steering Committee") upon request. An organization may not affiliate with more than
one umbrella organization for purposes of the Campaign.

3. An individual organization means an organization that meets the other criteria for
selection as set forth herein and that is not affiliated with a foundation or an umbrella organization. 

B. Health and Welfare Purpose.
An organization must be organized and operated for the purpose of rendering, or materially or

financially supporting the rendering of, services to benefit the health and welfare of residents of the State of Delaware,
including, but not limited to:

1. Delivery of health care to ill or infirm individuals; 
2. Education and training of personnel for the delivery of health care to ill or infirm

individuals; 
3. Health research for the benefit of ill or infirm individuals; 
4. Delivery of education, training, and care to individuals with physical and mental

disabilities; 
5. Education of individuals who, without assistance, would not be able to afford it; 
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6. Treatment, care, rehabilitation, and counseling of juvenile delinquents, persons
convicted of crimes, persons who abuse drugs or alcohol, persons who are victims of family violence or abuse, persons
who are otherwise in need of social adjustment and rehabilitation, and the families of such persons; 

7. Relief for victims (including non-residents of Delaware) of crime, war, casualty, famine,
natural disasters, and other catastrophes or emergencies; 

8. Neighborhood and community-wide services that directly assist needy, poor, and
indigent individuals, including provision of emergency relief and shelter, recreation, transportation, and preparation and
delivery of meals, educational opportunities, and job training; 

9. Legal aid services that are provided without unlawful discrimination to needy, poor,
and indigent individuals solely because such individuals cannot afford legal counsel; 

10. Protection of families that, on account of poverty, indigence, emergency, or other
adversity, are in need of family, child care, or maternity services, child or marriage counseling, foster care, and
guidance or assistance in the management and maintenance of the home and household; 

11. Relief for needy, poor, and indigent infants and children (including orphans), including
the provision of adoption services; 

12. Relief for needy, poor, and indigent adults and the elderly; 
13. Assistance, consistent with the mission of the state agency or facility involved, to

members of its staff or service, who, by reason of geographic isolation, emergency conditions, injury in the line of duty,
or other extraordinary circumstances, have exceptional health or welfare needs; or 

14. Lessening of the burdens of government with respect to the provision of any of the
foregoing services.

C. Established Physical Presence in State. An organization must have an established physical
presence in the State of Delaware, either in the form of an office or service facility which is staffed at least fifteen hours
a week, or by making available its staff through scheduled appointments with Delaware residents or businesses at least
fifteen hours a week.

D. Charitable Status. An organization shall hold and maintain a currently valid designation from
the Internal Revenue Service as a section 501(c)(3) organization, and be eligible to receive tax-deductible contributions
under Section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code. A copy of the Internal Revenue Service designation letter shall be
submitted with the application.

E. Nondiscrimination. An organization shall have a policy and demonstrate a practice of
nondiscrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, or physical or mental disability,
applicable to staff employment, and to memberships on its governing board.

F. Annual Report. An organization shall prepare an annual report or report to the general public
on an annual basis, which shall include a full description of the mission, target population, activities, objectives, and
achievements of the organization and the names of its chief administrative personnel. Organizations with an annual
budget of less than $100,000 shall not be required to prepare an annual report, but must submit a copy of the Form
990, which they file with the Internal Revenue Service, with the Steering Committee.

G. Limit on Administrative and Campaign Costs. Each foundation, umbrella organization, and
individual organization shall submit a statement certifying that its management, general, and fundraising expenses are
not in excess of twenty-five percent (25%) of total revenue. If such costs are in excess of the percentage of total
revenue established above, an organization shall provide an explanation and documentation that its actual expenses
for those purposes are reasonable and appropriate under the circumstances. The Steering Committee, established in
Section III of this Order, shall decide that such excess is acceptable or shall require the organization to come within the
percentage cap within a certain time period.

H. Fundraising Practices. The publicity and promotional activities of a foundation, an umbrella
organization and its constituent organizations, or an individual organization must be based upon the actual program
and operations of the entity and must be truthful, nondeceptive, and consumer-oriented. Fundraising practices must
assure: protection against unauthorized use of the organization's contributors' list; no payment of commissions,
kickbacks, finder fees, percentages, or bonuses for fundraising; that no mailing of unsolicited tickets or commercial
merchandise with a request for money in return will occur; and that no general telephone solicitations will be
conducted. This requirement shall apply only to those activities connected with the Campaign.

I. Voluntary Board of Directors. An organization shall be directed by an active, voluntary board of
directors, which serves without compensation, holds regularly scheduled meetings, and exercises effective
administrative control. If the board of directors is not located in Delaware, there must be a local board comprised of
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Delaware citizens, which advises the board of directors with respect to Delaware activities.
J. Accounting Standards. An organization shall adopt and employ the Standards of Accounting

and Financial Reporting for voluntary Health and Welfare Organizations from the American Institute of Certified Public
Accountants ("AICPA") and provide for an annual external audit by an independent, certified public accountant.
Organizations with an annual budget of less than $100,000 shall not be required to submit to an independent audit, but
must submit a copy of the Form 990, which they file with the Internal Revenue Service with the Steering Committee.

K. Establishment of Organization. An organization must have been in operation in Delaware for
at least three years before application in order to demonstrate a reasonable degree of continuity and economical,
effective, and efficient operation.

L. Organizations Deemed Not Eligible. The following organizations are not eligible to participate
in the State Campaign:

1. Those with partisan political and propaganda programs; 2. Those with programs
which exist solely to advocate particular religious or ethical beliefs; and 3. Those which do not promote health and
welfare.

III. Establishment and Appointment of the State Employees' Charitable Campaign Steering Committee.
A. The Steering committee is hereby established and shall consist of 12 members who shall be

state employees and who shall be appointed to serve at the pleasure of the Governor. Of the members appointed,
there shall be at least one employee from each of the three counties. In addition, one of the appointees shall be an
employee who is represented by one of the unions under which the employees of the State are organized; one shall be
an employee of the Department of Finance recommended by the Secretary of Finance; one shall be a representative
from the Governor's staff; and one shall be a representative of the Lieutenant Governor's staff.

B. The Director of the Office of Management and Budget shall serve as co-chairperson of the
Steering Committee. The Governor shall annually appoint an honorary co-chairperson of the Steering Committee.

C. Six members of the Steering Committee shall constitute a quorum. A simple majority vote of a
quorum of voting members shall be required for the Steering Committee to take formal action. A representative of the
organization, which serves as administrator for the program, shall attend the meetings of the Steering Committee, but
shall not be a voting member.

D. Meetings of the Steering Committee shall be open to the public in accordance with state law,
including to representatives of the approved and participating foundations, umbrella, and individual organizations.

E. The Office of Management and Budget shall provide administrative support to the Steering
Committee and record the proceedings of the Committee's meetings.

IV. Responsibilities of the Steering Committee.
A. The Steering Committee shall have the following duties, responsibilities, and authority:

1. Develop all necessary schedules, policies, and procedures to implement this
Executive Order; 

2. Develop, receive, and review applications for participation in the Campaign by
foundations, umbrella organizations, and individual organizations; 

3. Approve eligible foundations, umbrella organizations, and individual organizations for
participation in the Campaign; 

4. Select the administrator for the Campaign in accordance with the procedures set forth
at Section VI; 

5. Oversee the management of the Campaign; 
6. Recruit employee chairpersons; 
7. Promote and publicize the Campaign; and 
8. Review pamphlets, donor cards, and other promotional materials for the Campaign.

V. Selection of Eligible Organizations by Steering Committee.
A. Organizations interested in participating in the Campaign shall submit an application in

accordance with the procedures set forth by the Steering Committee.
B. The Steering Committee, in accordance with its procedures, shall review each application and

determine whether an organization should be approved for participation in the Campaign. The Steering Committee is
expressly authorized to adopt and utilize an abbreviated application form and process for any organization that has
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participated in the Campaign for the prior three (3) consecutive years, provided that a duly authorized representative of
the organization certifies that such organization continues to meet all of the criteria for participation listed in Section II
above.

C. In the event the Steering Committee determines to reject an organization for participation in
the Campaign, the Steering Committee shall send the subject organization a certified letter, return-receipt requested,
advising the organization that the Steering Committee has rejected its application, and stating the reason(s) for that
rejection. The decision of the Steering Committee with respect to approval of eligible foundations, umbrella
organizations, and individual organizations shall be final.

VI. Administration of State Employees' Charitable Campaign.
A. The Campaign shall be administered by one of the organizations that has previously been

approved for participation in the Campaign.
B. The Steering Committee shall issue to all organizations previously accepted for participation in

the Campaign an invitation to submit a bid as administrator of the Campaign.
C. The bid specifications shall describe the services to be provided, including, but not limited to

the:
1. Organization and administration of any informational presentation to employees; 
2. Assistance to any department or division which wishes to have a rally or other event

by providing professional or training assistance and promotional materials; 
3. Manufacture and distribution of informational pamphlets, posters, donor cards or other

promotional materials; 
4. Collection of donations and donor cards and tabulation of fund designation

information; 
5. Proper distribution of donations to approved organizations, both with respect to funds

collected at the time of the Campaign and to those which will be forwarded to the administrator from the Department of
Finance representing payroll deductions authorized during the Campaign by employees; 

6. Completion of an audit of the Campaign; and 
7. Provision of a written report to the Committee detailing the distribution of funds to

participating agencies at each time of distribution. 
D. Bid proposals shall include a statement from the organization which substantiates a claim that

the organization:
1. Demonstrates the administrative and financial capability to manage and operate an

extensive fundraising campaign among State employees in an efficient manner; and 
2. Ensures public accountability by certifying that it: annually submits to a financial audit

by a certified public accountant; makes its audited financial statement, or a summary thereof, available to the public
upon request; will provide evidence that it engages in sound management practices that indicate that contributions
donated by the public have been utilized with the utmost integrity. 

E. Bid proposals shall further include a percentage figure representing that portion of each
donated dollar the organization would charge if chosen to serve as the administrator of the Campaign.

F. The Steering Committee shall choose as the administrator of the program that organization
which submits a responsible bid with the lowest percentage figure as outlined above, unless the Steering Committee
determines that the State's interest is best served by selecting other than the lowest responsible bidder, in which case
the Steering Committee shall state, in writing, its reasons for such determination. The Steering Committee may choose
to reject all bids and rebid the matter.

G. The organization, which is chosen to administer the program, shall not assign, subcontract, or
otherwise transfer its duties and responsibilities to manage and administer the Campaign unless expressly permitted to
do so in writing by the Steering Committee.

VII. State Employees' Charitable Campaign Fund Drive Programs.
A. All facets of the Campaign shall have safeguards to ensure fair and equitable treatment and

representation of the approved organizations.
B. If practical, all pamphlets, donor cards, and other promotional materials representing the

Campaign shall be formatted in such a way as to provide equal representation of each of the approved organizations.
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VIII. Distribution of Contributions.
Contributions shall be distributed to organizations as designated by contributors. Undesignated funds

shall be distributed to each approved organization in an amount proportionate to the percentage of the total designated
funds contributed to that approved organization. Likewise, shrinkage due to unfulfilled pledges shall be absorbed by
each approved organization in an amount proportionate to that percentage for the total designated funds, which were
contributed to that approved organization.

IX. Executive Order Number Twenty and Executive Order Number Forty-Five issued on September 13,
2001 and May 28, 2003, respectively are rescinded.

Approved: May 24, 2006

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60
(7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title of the Regulations:
Delaware Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) State Implementation Plan (SIP) Under the 8-

Hour Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS).

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAA) requires Delaware to submit to the U.S. Environmental

Protection Agency (EPA) a State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision demonstrating that Delaware has implemented all
necessary Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) controls on all major stationary sources of volatile organic
compounds (VOC) and oxides of nitrogen (NOx).  The SIP revision must be submitted to EPA by September 15, 2006.

DNREC has developed a draft RACT SIP revision that demonstrates (1) it has implemented required RACT
controls on all relevant stationary sources of VOC and NOx emissions, with one potential exception, in Delaware, and
(2) all those RACT controls have been approved by EPA under the 1-hour ozone NAAQS, and (3) all those RACT
controls have been certified, based on EPA’s guidance and standards, to represent RACT control levels under the new
8-hour ozone NAAQS. The one exception is the VOC emissions from the crude oil lightering process being conducted
in the Delaware Bay. Under the 1-hour ozone NAAQS no controls were established under RACT for this source
because controls were determined to be not feasible at that time. DNREC is now working to complete a rule-making
process which may determine that RACT level controls on VOC emissions from lightering process are now feasible,
and if this is finalized DNREC will submit the rule to the EPA under a separate cover.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
None.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
7 Del.C. Chapter 60, Environmental Control

5. Other Regulations that may be Affected by the Proposal:
None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on August 1, 2006, beginning at 6:00 pm, in AQM Conference Room, Priscilla

Building, 156 South State Street, Dover, DE 19901.

7. Prepared by: 
Frank F. Gao, Project Leader (302) 323-4542 June 10, 2006

Delaware Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) State Implementation Plan (SIP) Under the 8-Hour 
Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS)

June 13, 2006 Proposal

1. Introduction 
This document contains Delaware’s State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision for meeting the requirements of

Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) set forth by the Clean Air Act (CAA) under the 8-hour ozone
National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS).  This document is hereafter referred to as “Delaware’s 8-hour ozone
RACT SIP revision,” or simply as “the RACT SIP.”

1.1 Background and Requirements 
Ground level ozone, one of the principal components of “smog,” is a serious air pollutant that harms
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human health and the environment. High levels of ozone can damage the respiratory system and cause breathing
problems, throat irritation, coughing, chest pains, and greater susceptibility to respiratory infection. High levels of ozone
also cause serious damage to forests and agricultural crops, resulting in economic losses to logging and farming
operations. In June 2004, EPA designated 126 areas of the country as “non-attainment” under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.  Among those non-attainment areas is the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Atlantic City Moderate Non-Attainment
Area (NAA) that includes three counties in Delaware, five counties in eastern Pennsylvania and eight counties in
southern New Jersey, as shown in Figure 1. Since this moderate NAA is centered by Philadelphia, it is often referred to
as “Philadelphia NAA.”

Ozone is generally not directly emitted to the atmosphere; rather it is formed in the atmosphere by
photochemical reactions between volatile organic compounds (VOC), oxides of nitrogen (NOX), and carbon monoxide
(CO) in the presence of sunlight.  Consequently, in order to reduce ozone concentrations in the ambient air, the CAA
requires all non-attainment areas to apply controls on VOC/NOX emission sources to achieve emission reductions.1

Among effective control measures, the Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) controls are a major group
for reducing VOC and NOX emissions from stationary sources.

The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has defined RACT as the lowest emission limitation
that a particular source is capable of meeting by the application of control technology that is reasonably available
considering technological and economic feasibility (44 FR 53761 at 53762, September 17, 1979).  Section 182 of the
CAA sets forth two separate RACT requirements for ozone non-attainment areas.  The first requirement, contained in
section 182(a)(2)(A) of the CAA, and referred to as RACT fix-up, requires the correction of RACT rules for which EPA
identified deficiencies before the Act was amended in 1990.  Delaware has no deficiencies to correct under this Section
of the CAA. The second requirement, set forth in section 182(b)(2) of the CAA, applies to moderate or worse ozone
non-attainment areas as well as to marginal and attainment areas in ozone transport regions (OTRs) established
pursuant to section 184 of the CAA, and requires these non-attainment areas to implement RACT controls on all major
VOC and NOX emission sources and on all sources and source categories covered by a Control Technique Guideline
(CTG) issued by EPA.

Under section 183 of the CAA, EPA was required to issue by certain timeframes several guidance
documents for RACT controls that would help states meet the requirements of section 182(b)(2). This requirement
upon EPA includes developing (1) CTGs for controls of VOC emissions from stationary sources, and (2) Alternate
Control Techniques (ACTs) for controls of VOC and NOX emissions from stationary sources.

The EPA issued three groups of CTG documents, establishing a “presumptive norm” for RACT for
various categories of VOC sources:  Group I, issued before January 1978 including 15 CTGs; Group II, issued in 1978
including 9 CTGs; and Group III, issued in the early 1980s with 5 CTGs.  Sources not covered by the issued CTGs are
referred to as non-CTG sources. Section 182(b)(2) of the CAA requires states with ozone non-attainment areas
classified as moderate or worse to develop RACT controls for all pre-enactment (i.e., pre-1990) CTG source
categories, for all sources subject to post-enactment (i.e., post-1990) CTGs, and for all non-CTG major sources in their
non-attainment areas.  The EPA has also issued over a dozen ACTs for various categories of VOCs and NOX sources.

1. Since CO’s role in forming ozone is relatively insignificant, the CAA does not specify requirements on CO emission 
reductions regarding ozone attainment.
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Figure 1.  Philadelphia-Wilmington-Atlantic City PA-DE-MD-NJ Moderate Non-Attainment Area

All published CTG and ACT documents, along with other documentation, are listed in Section 5 of this
document.  In general, states meet the CAA’s RACT requirements by imposing controls that meet the control
requirements established in final CTG documents and considering the information in ACT documents to relevant VOC
and NOX sources in their moderate or worse non-attainment areas.

Under the 1-hour ozone NAAQS, Kent County and New Castle County Delaware were designated part
of a severe ozone non-attainment area, and Sussex County was designated as a marginal ozone non-attainment area
located in an OTR. Therefore, all three counties were subject to RACT requirements under the 1-hour ozone standard.
Since the early 1990s, Delaware implemented numerous RACT controls throughout the State to meet the CAA’s RACT
requirements.  These RACT controls were promulgated in Delaware Air Pollution Control Regulation No. 24 for VOC
sources and Regulation No. 12 for NOX sources.

Under the 8-hour ozone NAAQS the entire state of Delaware is a part of the Philadelphia moderate
NAA, and is therefore subject to the CAA’s RACT requirements.  Delaware is required to submit to EPA a SIP revision
which addresses how Delaware meets the RACT requirements under the 8-hour ozone standard, by September 15,
2006.

Under the 8-hour ozone NAAQS, EPA requires that states meet the CAA’s RACT requirements for
their non-attainment areas through (1) certification that previously adopted RACT controls in their SIP revisions
approved by EPA under the 1-hour ozone NAAQS represent adequate RACT control levels for 8-hour attainment
purposes, or (2) adoption of new or more stringent regulations that represent RACT control levels.  A certification shall
be accompanied by appropriate supporting information such as consideration of information received during the public
comment period and consideration of new data, that may supplement existing RACT guidance documents that were
developed for the 1-hour standard, such that State SIPs accurately reflect RACTs for the 8-hour ozone standard based
on the current availability of technically and economically feasible controls.  Adoption of new RACT regulation(s) shall
occur when states have new stationary sources not covered by existing RACT regulations, or when new data or
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technical information indicates that a previously adopted RACT measure does not represent a newly-available RACT
control level. 

It should be pointed out that under the 8-hour ozone NAAQS, the entire state of Delaware (i.e., all
three counties) is designated as moderate non-attainment area, and is part of the ozone transport region (OTR)
established under Section 184 of the CAA.  Therefore, in this SIP document, the major source threshold is 50 tons per
year (TPY) for non-CTG stationary VOC sources and 100 TPY for stationary NOX sources.  While 25-50 TPY VOC
sources and 25-100 TPY NOX sources are not specifically addressed in this SIP document, they remain subject to the
1-hour RACT requirements under Delaware Regulations and under the “anti-backsliding” provisions of the EPA 8-hour
ozone implementation rule.  

In summary, Delaware is certifying through this SIP revision that, excerpt as provided for herein, its
SIP meets the CAA’s RACT requirements for the 50 TPY non-CTG major VOC sources and for 100 TPY NOX sources,
and that all CTG covered categories are addressed at the emission thresholds set in the CTG or in the “Blue Book”
(see Reference 63 below) for those CTG categories for which the CTG set no emission threshold.  This certification is
based on a combination of (1) certification that previously adopted RACT controls in Delaware’s SIP that were
approved by EPA under the 1-hour ozone NAAQS are based on the currently available technically and economically
feasible controls, and that they represent RACT for 8-hour implementation purposes, and (2) the adoption of new or
more stringent regulations that represent RACT control levels. 

1.2 Responsibilities
The agency with direct responsibility for preparing and submitting this document is Delaware

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC), Division of Air and Waste Management, Air
Quality Management Section (AQM), under the Section Administrator, Ali Mirzakhalili. The working responsibility for
Delaware’s air quality planning falls within AQM’s Planning Branch, under the Program Manager, Raymond H.
Malenfant. The Air-Shed Evaluation and Planning (AEP) Program within the Planning Branch, with Ronald Amirikian as
Planning Supervisor, is instrumental in completing this document. Frank F. Gao of AEP Program is the project leader
and principal author of the document. 

2. Certification of VOC and NOX RACT Requirements 
2.1 Certification of VOC RACT Requirements

Delaware Air Pollution Control Regulation No. 24 contains Delaware’s VOC RACT controls that were
implemented and approved into the Delaware SIP under the 1-hour ozone NAAQS.  Identification and certification of
these VOC RACT controls is provided in Table 1 below.  Explanations for each column of Table 1 are as follows:

• Column 1:  Identifies each section of Delaware Air Regulation No. 24, Control of Volatile Organic
Compound Emissions, which contains Delaware’s VOC RACT provisions.  Regulation 24 required,
in general, major VOC emitting sources to comply with the relevant provisions by May 31, 1995.
Under the 1-hour ozone standard, the VOC RACT regulation defines a major VOC emitting source
as a stationary source that emits VOCs at a rate equal to or greater than 25 tons per year (TPY) in
Kent and New Castle Counties, and 50 TPY in Sussex County.  The date of promulgation of each
section is also provided in this column.  (Note: Column 1 starts from Section 10 of Regulation 24.
Sections 1 through 9 of Regulation 24 are general implementing provisions necessary to
implement RACT, not actual RACT controls.)

• Column 2:  Identifies the underlying basis for the RACT determination.
• Column 3:  Identifies the date the rule was approved into the Delaware SIP, along with the Federal

Register citation.
• Column 4:  Explains RACT control applicability and requirements. 
• Column 5:  Certifies whether or not the current rule represents RACT under the 8-hour ozone

NAAQS.  Where Delaware has certified that a current SIP approved regulation represents RACT
under the 8-hour ozone standard, AQM affirms that it is not aware of any significant changes in
control technology that affect the original RACT determination, unless otherwise explained in
Column 5.  Also, note that any discussion on cost effectiveness is relative only to this RACT SIP,
and is not relevant as to whether or not control of a particular source or source category is cost
effective relative to Delaware’s entire SIP.

Delaware’s minor source permitting program under Regulation No. 2, permits, requires a detailed
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administrative and technical review of Delaware sources that emit air contaminants far below the “major” threshold”
and CTG cutoffs (i.e., permits are required for the emission of 10 pounds per day or more of “aggregate” air
contaminants, and registrations for emissions between 0.2 and 10 lb/day of air contaminants).  This permitting program
gives confidence that all major and CTG covered sources are controlled by RACT level or better controls. 

Table 1.  Delaware VOC RACT List and Certification under the 8-Hour Ozone NAAQS

Delaware
Regulation No.
24 Section RACT Documental Basis

SIP Revision
Approved by
EPA

RACT Rule Applicability
and Requirements

Requirements at least as
stringent as RACT for
the 8-hour Ozone
NAAQS?

Section 10 -
Aerospace
Coatings
08/11/2002

Control Technology Guidance
(CTG) document:  Control of
Volatile Organic Compound
Emissions from Coating
Operations at Aerospace
Manufacturing and Rework
Operations, EPA-453/R-97-
004, December 1997

Final Federal
Register Date:
03/24/2004 

Federal
Register
Citation:  69
FR 13737

This section applies to any
aerospace manufacturing
and rework facility 

In brief, the rule establishes
vapor pressure limits, VOC
content limits, emission limits
and/or work practice
standards for:  (a) hand-
wipe, spray gun, or flush
cleaning operations, (b)
primer, topcoat, self-priming
topcoat, and specialty
coating operations, (c)
chemical milling maskant
application, (d) depainting of
aerospace vehicles, and (e)
handling and storing of VOC.

Yes.  

Section 10 was updated in
2002 to be consistent with
the most recent CTG.  It
represents current RACT
control level under the 8-
hour ozone NAAQS.
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Section 11 –
Mobile
Equipment
Repair and
Refinishing
11/11/2001

Alternative Control Techniques
(ACT) document:  Reduction
of Volatile Organic Compound
Emissions from Automobile
Refinishing, EPA-450/3-88-
009, October 1988.

ACT Document: Automobile
Refinishing, EPA-453/R-94-
031, April 1994.

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/22/2002 

Federal
Register
Citation:  67
FR 70315

This section applies to any
person who applies coatings
to mobile equipment for
beautification or protection in
the State of Delaware. 

The rule establishes:  (a)
Requirements for using
improved transfer efficiency
coating and application
equipment; (b) requirements
for enclosed spray gun
cleaning techniques; and (c)
minimum training standards
in the proper use of
equipment and materials. 

The VOC limits for mobile
equipment repair and
refinishing coatings are in
effect nationally under the
Federal requirements at 40
CFR Part 59, subpart B,
National VOC Emission
Standards for Automobile
Refinish Coatings, which
was adopted by EPA in
1998.

Yes.  

This section was updated
in 2001 based on an
Ozone Transport
Commission (OTC)
model rule as part of
Delaware’s mitigation of a
1-hour attainment
shortfall.  It is more
stringent than the current
CTG/ACT control level,
and represents RACT
control level under the 8-
hour ozone NAAQS.   

Section 12 –
Control of VOC
Emissions-
Surface Coating
of Plastic Parts
11/29/1994

ACT document: Surface
Coating of Automotive/
Transportation and Business
Machine Plastic Parts, EPA-
453/R-94-017, February 1994.

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section applies to any
facility that coats plastic
components for the following
uses:  (1) Automotive or
other transportation
equipment, and (2) Housing
and exterior parts for
business and commercial
machines.

The rule establishes coating
VOC content limits of
between 1.2 and 7.1 lb/gal,
depending on the coating
category. 

Yes.

This section is consistent
with the most recent ACT
specified requirement.  It
represents current RACT
control level under the 8-
hour ozone NAAQS.  
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 10, ISSUE 1, SATURDAY, JULY 1, 2006



GENERAL NOTICES 169
Section 13 -
Automobile and
Light-Duty Truck
Coating
Operations
Section 14 - Can
Coating
Section 15 - Coil
Coating
Section 16 -
Paper Coating
Section 17 -
Fabric Coating
Section 18 - Vinyl
Coating
01/11/1993 for all
above sections.

CTG document: Control of
Volatile Organic Emissions
from Existing Stationary
Sources, Volume II: Surface
Coating of Cans, Coils, Paper,
Fabrics, Automobiles, and
Light-Duty Trucks, EPA-450/2-
77-008, May 1977. (Group I)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

These sections apply to
coating operations at
automobile or light-duty truck
assembly plants, and any
can, coil, paper, fabric, or
vinyl coating unit.

They establish various
coating VOC content limits,
depending on the particular
coating and the substrate
being coated.

Yes.

These sections fully
implement the CTG
specified controls in
Delaware, and represent
current RACT control
levels over the covered
sources under the 8-hour
ozone NAAQS.

Section 19 -
Coating of Metal
Furniture
01/11/1993

CTG document: Control of
Volatile Organic Emissions
from Existing Stationary
Sources, Volume III: Surface
Coating of Metal Furniture,
EPA-450/2-77-032, December
1977. 

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

The regulation applies to the
coating of metal furniture and
requires use of compliant
coatings with a VOC content
of less than 3.0 lb/gal.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 20 -
Coating of Large
Appliances
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from
Existing Stationary Sources,
Volume V: Surface Coating of
Large Appliances, EPA-450/2-
77-034, December 1977.
(Group I)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

The regulation applies to the
coating of large appliances
and requires use of
compliant coatings with a
VOC content of less than 2.8
lb/gal.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 21 -
Coating of
Magnet Wire
11/29/1994

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from
Existing Stationary Sources,
Volume IV: Surface Coating of
Insulation of Magnet Wire,
EPA-450/2-77-033, December
1977.  (Group I)

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

The regulation applies to the
coating of magnetic wire and
requires use of compliant
coatings with a VOC content
of less than 1.7 lb/gal.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.
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Section 22 -
Coating of
Miscellaneous
Metal Parts
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from
Existing Stationary Sources,
Volume VI: Surface Coating of
Miscellaneous Metal Parts and
Products, EPA-450/2-78-015,
June 1978.  (Group II)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

The rule applies to any
miscellaneous metal parts
coating line, and requires
use of compliant coatings
with a VOC content of
between 3.0 and 4.3 lb/gal.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 23 -
Coating of Flat
Wood Paneling
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from
Existing Stationary Sources,
Volume VII: Factory Surface
Coating of Flat Wood
Paneling, EPA-450/2-78-032,
June 1978.  (Group II)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

The rule applies to any
miscellaneous metal parts
coating line, and requires
use of compliant coatings
with a VOC content of
between 6.0 and 12 lb/1000
sq. feet coated.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
the current RACT control
level over the covered
sources under the 8-hour
ozone NAAQS.

Section 24 - Bulk
Gasoline Plants
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from Bulk
Gasoline Plants, EPA-450/2-
77-035, December, 1977.
(Group I)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

This section  applies to all
unloading, loading, and
storage operations at bulk
gasoline plants and to any
gasoline tank truck delivering
or receiving gasoline at a
bulk gasoline plant.

Requirements include the
use of vapor balance, and
various equipment and work
practice standards.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 25 - Bulk
Gasoline
Terminals
11/29/1994

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from Bulk
Gasoline Plants, EPA-450/2-
77-035, December, 1977.
(Group I)

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section  applies to the
total of all the loading racks
at any bulk gasoline terminal
that deliver liquid product
into gasoline tank trucks.

Requirements include
control using a vapor
collection and control system
designed to collect and
destroy the organic
compound liquids or vapors
displaced from gasoline tank
trucks during product
loading; and various other
equipment and operational
requirements.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.
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Section 26 -
Gasoline
Dispensing
Facility Stage I
Vapor Recovery
01/11/2002

CTG: Design Criteria for Stage
I Vapor Control Systems -
Gasoline Service Stations,
November 1975. (Group I)

Final Federal
Register Date:
11/14/2003 

Federal
Register
Citation:  68
FR 64540

This section was updated in
2002. It applies to stationary
gasoline storage tanks at
gasoline dispensing facilities.

The updated requirements
include (1) loading with
submerged fill method, and
(2) installing vapor recovery
system that returns the
displaced vapors to the
delivery vessels and then to
the bulk plant or terminal.

Yes.

This updated rule provides
for more control of
emissions in DE than the
CTG, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 27 -
Gasoline Tank
Trucks
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Hydrocarbons
from Tank Truck Gasoline
Loading Terminals, EPA-450/
2-77-026, December 1977.
(Group I) 

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compound Leaks
from Gasoline Tank Trucks
and Vapor Collection Systems,
EPA-450/2-78-051, December
1978.  (Group II)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

This section applies to
gasoline tank trucks
equipped for gasoline vapor
collection. 

The rule requires that the
covered gasoline tank trucks
must be vapor-tight.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 28 -
Petroleum
Refinery Sources
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Refinery
Vacuum Producing Systems,
Wastewater Separators, and
Process Unit Turnarounds,
EPA-450/2-77-025, October
1977.  (Group I)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

This section applies to
vacuum-producing systems,
wastewater separators and
process unit  turnaround at
petroleum refineries. 

Requirements include (1) no
uncompressed VOC
emission from vacuum-
producing systems, (2)
covers, lids or seals for
wastewater separators, and
(3) depressurization of
process unit or vessel to
reduce its internal pressure
to 136 kPa or less and then
venting to vapor recovery
system, flare or firebox.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 29 -
Leaks from
Petroleum
Refinery
Equipment
11/29/1994

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compound Leaks
from Petroleum Refinery
Equipment, EPA-450/2-78-
036, June 1978.  (Group II)

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section applies to
equipment in VOC service in
any process unit at
petroleum refineries.

The rule establishes
standards for proper valve
operations under various
scenarios to prevent VOC
leak emissions.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.
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Section 30 -
Petroleum Liquid
Storage in
External Floating
Roof Tanks
11/29/1994

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from
Petroleum Liquid Storage in
External Floating Roof Tanks,
EPA-450-2/78-047, December
1978.  (Group II).

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section applies to
petroleum liquid storage
tanks with external floating
roofs and with capacity of
150,000 L or greater.

The rule establishes sealing
standards for a covered
storage tank, including its
openings, its connection
structure between roof and
tank wall, all seal closure
devices, bleeder vents, rim
vents, and emergency roof
drains.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 31 -
Petroleum Liquid
Storage in Fixed
Roof Tanks
11/29/1994

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from
Storage of Petroleum Liquids
in Fixed Roof Tanks, EPA-450/
2-77-036, December 1977.
(Group I)

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section applies to
petroleum liquid storage
tanks with fixed roofs and
with capacity of 150,000 L or
greater.

The rule establishes sealing
standards for a covered
storage tank, including its
openings, its connection
structure between roof edge
and tank wall, bleeder vents,
and rim vents.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
control in Delaware, and
represents current RACT
control level over the
covered sources under the
8-hour ozone NAAQS.

Section 32 -
Leaks from
Natural Gas/
Gasoline
Processing
Equipment
11/29/1994

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compound
Equipment Leaks from Natural
Gas/Gasoline Processing
Plants, EPA-450/2-83-007,
December 1983.  (Group III)

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section applies to
equipment in VOC service in
any process unit at onshore
natural gas/gasoline
processing facilities.

The rule establishes
standards for proper valve
operations under various
scenarios to prevent VOC
leak emissions from the
covered equipments.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.
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Section 33 -
Solvent Cleaning
and Drying
11/11/2001

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from
Solvent Metal Cleaning, EPA-
450/2-77-022 November
1977.  (Group I)

ACT Document - Halogenated
Solvent Cleaners, EPA-450/3-
89-030, August 1989.

Final Federal
Register Date:
11/22/2002 

Federal
Register
Citation:  67
FR 70315

This section applies to any
solvent cleaning machine
that contains more than 1
liter of solvent in which VOC
is more than 5% by weight. 

This rule, updated in 2001
based on an OTC Model
Rule, establishes standards
for (1) batch cold cleaning
machines, (2) batch vapor
cleaning machines, (3) in-
line cleaning machines, (4)
and cleaning machines
without a solvent-air
interface. It also specifies an
alternative standard for (2)
and (3) above.

Yes.

This section was updated
in 2001 based on an OTC
model rule as part of
Delaware’s mitigation of a
1-hour attainment shortfall.
It is more stringent than
the current CTG/ACT
control level, and
represents RACT control
level under the 8-hour
ozone NAAQS.

Section 34 -
Cutback and
Emulsified
Asphalt
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compounds from Use
of Cutback Asphalt, EPA-450/
2-77-037, December 1977.
(Group I)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

This section applies to
manufacture, mixing,
storage, use, and application
of cutback and emulsified
asphalts in Delaware. 

The rule prohibits all above
activities for cutback asphalt
during the ozone season
without approval. It also
prohibits all above activities
during the ozone season for
emulsified asphalt that
contain any VOC.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered source
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 35 -
Manufacture of
Synthesized
Pharmaceutical
Products
11/29/1994

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from
Manufacture of Synthesized
Pharmaceutical Products,
EPA-450/2-78-029, December
1978. (Group II)

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section applies to 10
VOC sources at synthesized
pharmaceutical
manufacturing facilities,
including reactors, distillation
operations, crystallizers,
centrifuges, vacuum dryers,
air dryers, production
equipment exhaust systems,
rotary vacuum filters and
other filters, in-process
tanks, and leaks. 

The rule establishes
standards for controlling and
reducing VOC emissions
from all covered sources.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
control in Delaware, and
represents current RACT
control level over the
covered source under the
8-hour ozone NAAQS.
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Section 36 -
Control of VOC
Emissions- Stage
II Vapor
Recovery
01/11/2002

Non-CTG RACT, CAA Section
182(b)(3).

Final Federal
Register Date:
11/14/2003 

Federal
Register
Citation:  68
FR 64540

This section applies to any
gasoline dispensing facility
with a monthly throughput
greater than 10,000 gallons. 

The rule requires that all
covered facilities install
approved Stage II vapor
recovery system. The rule
was updated in 2002 to (1)
increase inspection
frequency, and (2) provide
for compliance tester
certification.

Yes.

This updated rule fully
implements the CAA
required VOC emission
control over the gasoline
dispensing sources in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 37 -
Graphic Arts
Systems
11/29/1994

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Emissions from
Existing Stationary Sources,
Volume VIII: Graphic Arts-
Rotogravure and Flexography,
EPA-450/2-78-033, December
1978.  (Group II)

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section allies to any
packaging rotogravure,
publication rotogravure, or
flexographic printing process
at a facility with potential
uncontrolled VOC emission
greater than 7.7 tons per
year. 

The rule establishes the
limits of VOC contents in
coatings and inks used in the
covered facilities, and
specifies standards for
control devices for various
printing processes.  

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 38 -
Petroleum
Solvent Dry
Cleaners
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compound Emissions
from Large Petroleum Dry
Cleaners, EPA-450/3-82-009,
September 1982. (Group III)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

This section applies to
petroleum dry cleaning
facilities that consume
123,000 L or more petroleum
solvent per year.

The rule establishes
emission limits or reduction
requirements for fugitive
emissions, leak repairs,
dryers, and filtration systems
at covered facilities. 

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 39 –
Reserved
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Section 40 -
Leaks from
Synthetic
Organic
Chemical,
Polymer, and
Resin
Manufacturing
Equipment
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compound Emissions
from Reactor Processes and
Distillation Operations in
SOCMI, November 15, 1993,
EPA-450/4-91-031.

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compound Fugitive
Emissions from Synthetic
Organic Chemical Polymer
and Resin Manufacturing
Equipment, EPA-450/3-83-
006, March 1984.  (Group III)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

This section applies to all
equipment in VOC service in
any process unit at a
synthetic organic chemical,
polymer, and resin
production facility with an
annual design production
capacity equal to or greater
than 1,000 mega grams of
product. 

The rule establishes
standards for proper valve
operation, leak detection,
repair, and reporting for
synthetic organic chemical,
polymer, and resin
manufacturing equipment.

Yes.

This rule fully implements
the CTG specified control
in Delaware, and
represents current RACT
control level over the
covered sources under the
8-hour ozone NAAQS.

Section 41 -
Manufacture of
High-Density
Polyethylene,
Polypropylene
and Polystyrene
Resins
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compound Emissions
from Manufacture of High-
Density Polyethylene,
Polypropylene, and
Polystyrene Resins, EPA-450/
3-83-008, November 1983.
(Group III)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

This rule applies to specific
process sections (material
recovery section, and
production finishing section)
at facilities engaged in
manufacturing high-density
polyethylene, polypropylene,
and polystyrene.

The rule establishes
requirements for VOC
emission limits, reductions
and combustions for the
covered process sections.  

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 42 - Air
Oxidation
Processes in the
Synthetic
Organic
Chemical
Manufacturing
Industry
01/11/1993

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compound Emissions
from Air Oxidation Processes
in Synthetic Organic
Chemical Manufacturing
Industry, EPA-450/3-84-015,
December 1984.  (Group III)

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/03/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 21707

This section applies to 3
special air oxidation
processes in synthetic
organic chemical
manufacturing industry.

The rule establishes
requirements for VOC
emission reduction and
emission combustion for the
covered processes. 

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.
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Section 43 - Bulk
Gasoline Marine
Tank Vessel
Loading Facilities
08/08/1994

Non-CTG RACT, CAA Section
183(f).

Final Federal
Register Date:
07/28/1995 

Federal
Register
Citation:  60
FR 38710

This section applies to all
loading berths at a bulk
marine tank loading facility
that (1) delivers gasoline into
marine tank vessels, and (2)
has an annual throughput
equal to or greater than
15,000 gallons. 

The rule requires installation
of a vapor collection system
that is designed to collect all
VOC vapors displaced from
marine tank vessels during
loading, ballasting, or
housekeeping.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CAA
required non-CTG control
on the covered sources in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS..

Section 44 -
Control of VOC
Emissions- Batch
Processing
Operations
11/29/1994

ACT Document:  Control of
Volatile Organic Compound
Emissions from Batch
Processes, EPA-453/R-93-
017, February 1994.                               

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section applies to
process vents associated
with batch processing
operations in manufacturing
facilities with  Standard
Industrial Classification (SIC)
Codes of  2821, 2833, 2861,
2869, 2869, and 2879.  

The rule requires the
affected sources to reduce
VOC emissions by 90
percent by weight.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the ACT
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 45 -
Control of VOC
Emissions-
Industrial
Cleaning
Solvents
11/29/1994

ACT Document: Industrial
Cleaning Solvents, EPA-453/
R-94-015, February 1994.

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section applies to all
sources that use organic
solvents for the purpose of
cleaning.  

The rule requires the
affected facilities to evaluate
alternative cleaning solutions
for the purpose of reducing
VOC emissions

Yes.

This section fully
implements the ACT
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.
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Section 47 -
Control of VOC
Emissions- Offset
Lithographic
Printing
11/29/1994

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compound Emissions
from Offset Lithographic
Printing (CTG Draft), EPA-
453/D-95-001, September
1993.

ACT Document: Offset
Lithographic Printing, EPA-
453/R-94-054, June 1994.

Final Federal
Register Date:
05/14/1997 

Federal
Register
Citation:  62
FR 26399

This section applies to any
offset lithographic printing
facility, including heatset and
non-heatset web, non-
heatset sheet-fed, and
newspaper facilities.  

In brief, the rule requires a
90 percent reduction of VOC
emissions (by weight) from
the press dryer exhaust vent
of heatset printing
operations, regulates the
alcohol content in fountain
solutions, and requires the
VOC content of cleaning
solutions to be 30% or less.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG/ACT
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 48 -
Reactor
Processes and
Distillation
Operations in the
Synthetic
Organic
Chemical
Manufacturing
Industry
11/29/1994

CTG: Control of Volatile
Organic Compound Emissions
from Reactor Processes and
Distillation Operations in
SOCMI, November 15, 1993,
EPA-450/4-91-031.

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section applies to any
vent stream that originates
from a process unit in which
a reactor or distillation
operation is located at a
facility within the synthetic
organic chemical
manufacturing industry
(SOCMI).  

The rule requires the
affected sources to reduce
VOC emissions by 98
weight-present or to 20 ppmv
on a dry basis corrected to
3% oxygen, via combustion
device, flare, or process
modification.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the CTG
specified control in
Delaware, and represents
current RACT control level
over the covered sources
under the 8-hour ozone
NAAQS.

Section 49 -
Control of VOC
Emissions-
Control of Volatile
Organic
Compound
Emissions from
Volatile Organic
Liquid Storage
Vessels
11/29/1994

ACT Document:  Volatile
Organic Liquids Storage in
Floating and Fixed Roof
Tanks, EPA-453/R-94-001,
February 1994.

Final Federal
Register Date:
01/26/1996 

Federal
Register
Citation:  61
FR 2419

This section applies to each
storage vessel with a
capacity equal to or greater
than 40,000 gallons that is
used to store volatile organic
liquids (VOLs).

The rule establishes the
venting and sealing
standards for internal and
external floating roofs, and
specifies alternatives to
installing internal or external
floating roofs.

Yes.

This section fully
implements the ACT
control in Delaware, and
represents current RACT
control level over the
covered sources under the
8-hour ozone NAAQS.
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2.2. Certification of NOX RACT
Delaware Air Pollution Control Regulation No. 12 contains Delaware’s NOX RACT controls that were

implemented and approved into the Delaware SIP under the 1-hour ozone NAAQS.  Certification of those RACT rules
is conducted in Table 2. Explanations for each column of Table 2 are as follows.

• Column 1:  Identifies NOX source groups covered by Delaware Air Regulation No. 12, Control of
Nitrogen Oxides Emissions, which contains NOX RACT provisions.  Regulation No. 12 requires
major NOX emitting sources to comply with the relevant provisions by May 31, 1995.  The NOX
RACT regulation defines a major NOX emitting source as a stationary source that emits NOX at a
rate that is equal to or greater than 25 tons per year in Kent and New Castle Counties, and 100
TPY in Sussex County.

• Column 2:  Identifies the underlying basis for the RACT determination. (Note: the fundamental
basis of implementing NOX RACT controls is CAA Section 182(b)(2) and Section 182(f).  Citation
of these sections is not repeated in Column 2 of Table 2.)

• Column 3:  Identifies the date the rule was approved into the Delaware SIP, along with the Federal
Register citation.  (Note: Regulation No. 12 was first implemented in November 1993, and
conditionally approved by EPA in June 1999.  After Delaware submitted four case-by-case RACT
determinations in July 2000, EPA granted the final approval of Regulation No. 12 on June 14,
2001.) 

• Column 4:  Explains RACT control requirements.
• Column 5: Certifies whether or not the rule represents RACT under the 8-hour ozone NAAQS.

Where Delaware has certified that a current SIP approved regulation represents RACT under the
8-hour ozone standard, AQM affirms that it is not aware of any significant changes in control
technology that affect the original RACT determination, unless otherwise explained in Column 5.
Also, note that any discussion on cost effectiveness is relative only to this RACT SIP, and is not
relevant as to whether or not control of a particular source or source category is cost effective
relative to Delaware’s entire SIP.

Delaware’s minor source permitting program under Regulation No. 2, permits, requires a detailed
administrative and technical review of Delaware sources that emit far below the “major” threshold” (i.e., permits are
required for the emission of 10 pounds per day or more of “aggregate” air contaminants, and registrations for emissions
between 0.2 and 10 lb/day of air contaminants).  This permitting program gives confidence that all major sources are
controlled by RACT level or better controls. 

Section 50 -
Control of VOC
Emissions- Other
Facilities that
Emit Volatile
Organic
Compounds
(VOCs)
11/29/1994

Non-CTG RACT, CAA Section
182(b)(2)(C).

Final Federal
Register Date:
03/12/1997 

Federal
Register
Citation:  62
FR 11329

This section applies to any
facility that is not covered by
Section 10 through Section
49 of Regulation 24.

In brief, the rule requires an
affected source to achieve
an overall VOC emission
reduction of at least 81
percent by weight.  Facilities
may also comply with
Section 50 by submitting an
alternative control plan.

Yes.

This section requires non-
CTG major sources to
implement RACT.   It fully
implements the CAA
required non-CTG control
in Delaware, and
represents current RACT
control level over the
covered sources under the
8-hour ozone NAAQS.
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Table 2. Delaware NOx RACT List and Certification under the 8-Hour Ozone NAAQS

Delaware 
Regulation No. 12 

Source Group  RACT Documental Basis

SIP Revision 
Approved by 

EPA
RACT Rule 

Requirements

Requirements 
at least as 

stringent as 
RACT for 
the 8-hour 

Ozone NAAQS?
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Fuel burning 
equipment with an 
input capacity of 
100 mmBTU/hr or 
greater

NESCAUM Stationary Source Committee 
Recommendation on NOx RACT for Utility 
Boilers  8/12/1992

NESCAUM Stationary Source Committee 
Recommendation on NOx RACT for 
Industrial Boilers, Internal Combustion 
Engines and Combustion Turbines  9/18/
1992

Controlling Emissions of Nitrogen Oxides 
from Existing Utility Boilers Under Title I of 
the Clean Air Act: Options and 
Recommendations, STAPPA/ALAPCO 4/
27/1992

State Implementation Plans; Nitrogen 
Oxides Supplement to the General 
Preamble for the Implementation of Title I 
of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, 
USEPA 10/27/1995

Summary of NOx Control  Technologies 
and their Availability and Extent of 
Application, USEPA February 1992

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOx Emissions from Process Heaters 
(Revised), USEPA, September 1993

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOx Emissions from Industrial/
Commercial/Institutional (ICI) Boilers, 
USEPA, March 1994

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOx Emissions from Utility Boilers, 
USEPA, March 1994

State’s Report on Electric Utility Nitrogen 
Oxides Reduction Technology Options for 
Application by the Ozone Transport 
Assessment Group, prepared for the 
OTAG Control Technology & Options 
Workgroup by Ken Colburn, 4/11/1996

Status Report on NOx Controls for Gas 
Turbines, Cement Kilns, Industrial Boilers, 
Internal Combustion Engines, NESCAUM, 
December 2000

Summary of State/Local NOx Regulations 
for Stationary Sources, USEPA, 2004

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

Emissions subject 
to 0.2., 0.25, or 
0.38 lb/mmBTU 
limits for gas, oil 
and coal fired units, 
respectively; or 
emissions must be 
controlled by low 
NOx burner 
technology or flue 
gas circulation with 
excess air.  

Generally, 
equipment larger 
than 100 mmBTU is 
required to install 
NOX continuous 
emission 
monitoring system 
(CEMS).

Yes.

This provision 
fully implements 
the required 
NOX controls 
over the targeted 
sources, and 
represents the 
current RACT 
control level 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.
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Fuel burning 
equipment with an 
input capacity of 50 
mmBTU/hr or 
greater and less 
than 100 mmBTU/
hr

NESCAUM Stationary Source Committee 
Recommendation on NOx RACT for 
Industrial Boilers, Internal Combustion 
Engines and Combustion Turbines  9/18/
1992

Summary of NOx Control  Technologies 
and their Availability and Extent of 
Application, USEPA February 1992

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOx Emissions from Process Heaters 
(Revised), USEPA, September 1993

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOx Emissions from Industrial/
Commercial/Institutional (ICI) Boilers, 
USEPA, March 1994

Status Report on NOX Controls for Gas 
Turbines, Cement Kilns, Industrial Boilers, 
Internal Combustion Engines, NESCAUM, 
December 2000

Summary of State/Local NOX Regulations 
for Stationary Sources, USEPA, 2004

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

Emission rates of 
the targeted 
sources are limited 
to those to be 
achieved by low 
excess air and low 
NOX burners, or 
flue gas 
recirculation. 

Yes.

This provision 
fully implements 
the required 
NOX controls 
over the targeted 
sources, and 
represents the 
current RACT 
control level 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.

Fuel burning 
equipment with an 
input capacity of 
less than 50 
mmBTU/hr

NESCAUM Stationary Source Committee 
Recommendation on NOX RACT for 
Industrial Boilers, Internal Combustion 
Engines and Combustion Turbines  9/18/
1992

Summary of NOX Control  Technologies 
and their Availability and Extent of 
Application, USEPA February 1992

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOx Emissions from Process Heaters 
(Revised), USEPA, September 1993

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOx Emissions from Industrial/
Commercial/Institutional (ICI) Boilers, 
USEPA, March 1994

Summary of State/Local NOX Regulations 
for Stationary Sources, USEPA, 2004

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

The rule requires 
the targeted 
sources to conduct 
annual tune-ups.

Yes.

This provision 
fully implements 
the required 
NOX controls 
over the targeted 
sources, and 
represents the 
current RACT 
control level 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.
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Alternative 
requirement for 
fuel burning 
equipment - 
Seasonal fuel 
switching (April 1 
through October 
31) to a low NOX 
emitting fuel. 

Memorandum subject, Fuel Switching to 
Meet the Reasonably Available Control 
Technology (RACT) Requirements for 
Nitrogen Oxides (NOX), Michael H. 
Shapiro, Air and Radiation, 7/30/1993

Summary of NOX Control  Technologies 
and their Availability and Extent of 
Application, USEPA February 1992

Memorandum subject, Nitrogen Oxides 
(NOX) Questions from Ohio EPA, Tom 
Helms, Chief Ozone/Carbon Monoxide 
Programs Branch, (no date, references 11/
30/1993 questions)

Summary of State/Local NOX Regulations 
for Stationary Sources, USEPA, 2004

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOX Emissions from Industrial/
Commercial/Institutional (ICI) Boilers, 
USEPA, March 1994

State Implementation Plans; General 
Preamble for the Implementation of Title I 
of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, 
USEPA

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32234

Fuel switching is 
limited to the use of 
natural gas, liquid 
petroleum gas 
(LPG) or distillate oil.  
A 90% availability of 
the new fuel is 
required.

Yes.

This provision 
fully implements 
the required 
NOX controls 
over the targeted 
sources, and 
represents the 
current RACT 
control level 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.

Gas turbines Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOX Emissions from Stationary Gas 
Turbines, USEPA, January 1993

NESCAUM Stationary Source Committee 
Recommendation on NOX RACT for 
Industrial Boilers, Internal Combustion 
Engines and Combustion Turbines  9/18/
1992

Status Report on NOX Controls for Gas 
Turbines, Cement Kilns, Industrial Boilers, 
Internal Combustion Engines, NESCAUM, 
December 2000

Summary of NOX Control  Technologies 
and their Availability and Extent of 
Application, USEPA, February 1992

Summary of State/Local NOX Regulations 
for Stationary Sources, USEPA, 2004

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

The rule subjects 
gas turbines to 42 
and 88 ppm NOX 
limits for gas and oil 
fired units, 
respectively

Yes.

This provision 
fully implements 
the required 
NOX controls 
over the targeted 
sources, and 
represents the 
current RACT 
control level 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.
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Stationary internal
combustion 
engines

Summary of NOX Control  Technologies 
and their Availability and Extent of 
Application, USEPA February 1992

NESCAUM Stationary Source Committee 
Recommendation on NOX RACT for 
Industrial Boilers, Internal Combustion 
Engines and Combustion Turbines  9/18/
1992

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOX Emissions from Stationary 
Reciprocating Internal Combustion 
Engines, USEPA 1993

NOX Emissions from Stationary Internal 
Combustion Engines, USEPA, October 
2003

Stationary Reciprocating Internal 
Combustion Engines – Updated 
Information on NOX Emissions and 
Control Techniques – Revised Final 
Report, USEPA, 9/1/2000

Sourcebook: NOX Control Technology 
Data, USEPA, July 1991

Status Report on NOX Controls for Gas 
Turbines, Cement Kilns, Industrial Boilers, 
Internal Combustion Engines, NESCAUM, 
December 2000

Summary of State/Local NOX Regulations 
for Stationary Sources, USEPA, 2004

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

The rule 
establishes 
emission limits for 
the targeted 
engines to those 
achieved using pre-
ignition chamber 
combustion or 
clean burn 
technology for gas 
fired units and 
those achieved 
using lean burn 
technology for 
diesel fired units.

Yes.

This provision 
fully implements 
the required 
NOX controls 
over the targeted 
sources, and 
represents the 
current RACT 
control level 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.
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Fuel burning 
equipment used 
exclusively for 
providing 
residential comfort 
heating and hot 
water

Summary of NOX Control  Technologies 
and their Availability and Extent of 
Application, USEPA February 1992

State Implementation Plans; General 
Preamble for the Implementation of Title I 
of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, 
USEPA

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

RACT rule specifies 
no emissions limits 
or control 
requirements.   

Yes.

For the 1-hour 
NAAQS, 
DNREC had 
determined that 
no cost effective 
controls exist for 
the specified 
sources and is 
not aware of any 
significant 
changes in 
technology that 
affect the 
original RACT 
determination.  
This provision 
represents 
current NOX 
RACT control 
requirement 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.

Incinerator or 
thermal/catalytic 
oxidizer 
constructed before
November 15, 
1992, and used 
primarily for the 
control of air
pollution.

Summary of NOX Control  Technologies 
and their Availability and Extent of 
Application, USEPA February 1992

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

RACT rule specifies 
no emissions limits 
or control 
requirements.   

Yes.

For the 1-hour 
NAAQS, 
DNREC had 
determined that 
no cost effective 
controls exist for 
the specified 
sources and is 
not aware of any 
significant 
changes in 
technology that 
affect the 
original RACT 
determination.  
This provision 
represents 
current NOX 
RACT control 
requirement 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.
.
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Fuel burning 
equipment with a 
rated heat input 
capacity of less
than 15 MMBTU/
hour.

Memorandum Subject: De Minimis Values 
for NOX RACT, from G.T. Helms, Ozone 
Policy and Strategies Group, dated 1/1/
1995

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOX Emissions from Industrial/
Commercial/Institutional (ICI) Boilers, 
USEPA, March 1994

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

RACT rule specifies 
no emissions limits 
or control 
requirements.

Yes.

For the 1-hour 
NAAQS, 
DNREC had 
determined that 
no cost effective 
controls exist for 
the specified 
sources and is 
not aware of any 
significant 
changes in 
technology that 
affect the 
original RACT 
determination.  
This provision 
represents 
current NOX 
RACT control 
requirement 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.
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Stationary internal 
combustion engine 
with a rated 
capacity of less 
than 450 hp of 
output power.

Memorandum Subject: De Minimis Values 
for NOX RACT, from G.T. Helms, Ozone 
Policy and Strategies Group, dated 1/1/
1995

NOX Emissions from Stationary Internal 
Combustion Engines, USEPA, October 
2003

Stationary Reciprocating Internal 
Combustion Engines – Updated 
Information on NOx Emissions and 
Control Techniques – Revised Final 
Report, USEPA, 9/1/2000

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOx Emissions from Stationary 
Reciprocating Internal Combustion 
Engines, USEPA 1993

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

RACT rule specifies 
no emissions limits 
or control 
requirements.   

Yes.

For the 1-hour 
NAAQS, 
DNREC had 
determined that 
no cost effective 
controls exist for 
the specified 
sources and is 
not aware of any 
significant 
changes in 
technology that 
affect the 
original RACT 
determination.  
This provision 
represents 
current NOX 
RACT control 
requirement 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS. 
(note that DE 
has adopted 
beyond RACT 
requirements for 
this source 
category under 
Reg. 1142).
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Any source 
operating during 
the month of 
November to the 
end of
March and 
operating with a 
capacity factor of 
5% or less from 
April 1 to October 
31.

Memorandum subject, Nitrogen Oxides 
(NOx) Questions from Ohio EPA, Tom 
Helms, Chief Ozone/Carbon Monoxide 
Programs Branch (no date cited). 

Memorandum Subject: De Minimis Values 
for NOx RACT, from G.T. Helms, Ozone 
Policy and Strategies Group, 1/1/1995

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

RACT rule specifies 
no emissions limits 
or control 
requirements.   

Yes.

Under the 1-hour 
ozone NAAQS, 
DNREC 
determined that 
no cost effective 
controls exist for 
the specified 
sources.  DE is 
not aware of any 
significant 
changes in 
technology that 
affect the 
original RACT 
determination. 
This provision 
represents 
current NOX 
RACT control 
requirement 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.
(note that 
separate from 
RACT DE is in 
the process of 
developing 
beyond RACT 
regulations for 
this source 
category to 
address high 
peak ozone day 
operations)
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Any fuel burning 
equipment, gas 
turbine, or internal 
combustion engine 
with an annual 
capacity factor of 
less than 5 
percent. 

Memorandum Subject: De Minimis Values 
for NOX RACT, from G.T. Helms, Ozone 
Policy and Strategies Group, dated 1/1/
1995

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOX Emissions from Industrial/
Commercial/Institutional (ICI) Boilers, 
USEPA, March 1994

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOx Emissions from Stationary 
Reciprocating Internal Combustion 
Engines, USEPA 1993

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOX Emissions from Stationary Gas 
Turbines, USEPA, January 1993

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOX Emissions from Process Heaters 
(Revised), USEPA, September 1993

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

RACT rule specifies 
no emissions limits 
or control 
requirements.   

Yes.

This provision 
represents 
current NOX 
RACT control 
requirement 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS. 
(note that 
separate from 
RACT DE is in 
the process of 
developing 
beyond RACT 
regulations for 
this source 
category to 
address high 
peak ozone day 
operations).

Case-by-case 
RACT 
determination*: 
CitiSteel USA, 
Incorporated, 
Claymont, 
Delaware:  Electric 
Arc Furnace (EAF) 
rated at 150 tons 
per charge.

Alternative Control Techniques Document: 
NOX Emissions from Iron and Steel Mills, 
USEPA, September 1994

Final Federal 
Register Date:  
06/14/2001 

Federal 
Register 
Citation:  66 
FR 32231

Typical fuel fired 
combustion 
equipment applied 
to NOX emitting 
sources are not 
technically feasible 
for an EAF. 
Therefore, DNREC 
certifies that its 
2001 determination 
remains valid and 
that no additional 
requirements on 
the Citisteel’s EAF 
operations are 
required under 
RACT.  A well-
designed exhaust 
system constitutes 
RACT in 
compliance with 
Regulation No. 12 
of the Delaware 
Regulations 
Governing the 
Control of Air 
Pollution.    

Yes.

This provision 
fully implements 
the required 
NOX controls 
over the targeted 
source, and 
represents the 
current RACT 
control level 
under the 8-hour 
ozone NAAQS.
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* Three other case-by-case NOX RACT determinations were made by Delaware:  (1) a sulfuric acid (H2SO4) and
interstage absorption system (ISA) process, (2) a metallic nitrite process, and (3) a Polyhydrate Alcohol Catalyst
Regenerative (PACR) process.  Processes (1) and (2) were both at the General Chemical Corporation facility,
Claymont, New Castle, Delaware, and process (3) was at SPI Polyols, Incorporated, Atlas Point Site, New Castle,
Delaware.  The General Chemical facility at Claymont was permanently shutdown.  The PACR process at SPI was
permanently shutdown.  Therefore, these three NOX RACT determinations are no longer required in Delaware’s ozone
SIP.  

3. Adoption of Revised and New RACT Requirements
3.1. Adoption of Revised and/or New VOC RACT Requirements

As indicated in Table 1 above, many Delaware’s RACT controls (i.e., sections in Regulation No. 24,
Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions) were promulgated in 1990s to meet relevant requirements specified
in the CAA and EPA’s guidance documents.  Since that time many sections of Regulation No. 24 have been revised to
reflect updated RACT level control technology.  All major sources in Delaware, and all CTG covered sources with
applicability cut-off levels consistent with the “blue book” (see reference 63 below) are covered by RACT controls, as
certified in Table 1, under the 8-hour ozone NAAQS, except for possibly the lightering operations in Sussex County.

Delaware is now in a rule-making process of evaluating and adopting relevant RACT control over
petroleum lightering operations. The following is a summary of the process.

Lightering Operations:
• Lightering is the transfer of cargo from one marine vessel (typically, large ocean-going tankers) to another

marine vessel to reduce the draft and to permit transit through more shallow waters.  Ocean-going crude
oil tankers generally enter the Delaware Bay drawing up to 55 feet of draft.  Crude oil is pumped from these
marine vessels to smaller tankers and barges until the draft of the ocean-going vessel is less than 35 feet.
At this draft, vessels can safely transit to the refineries along Delaware River.  During transfer of crude oil,
VOCs and other hazardous air pollutants are emitted.  

• Under the 1-hour ozone NAAQS, lightering operations in Delaware Bay remained uncontrolled, as RACT-
level controls were determined to be not feasible for lightering process at that time.  In 2001, DNREC
began to reevaluate this determination, and started a rule making under the attainment and maintenance
of the 1-hour ozone NAAQS to control air emissions from lightering operations in Delaware Bay.  

• Between March and June 2001, five regulatory workgroup meetings were held with a diverse
representation of industry, environmental, health care and state interests.  The draft regulation emerging
from these workgroup meetings was presented in 3 public workshops conducted in June 2001.  Following
the public workshops, the General Assembly passed Senate Joint Resolution (SJR-6) that established a
“blue ribbon panel” and charged them, amongst other minor tasks, to study and make “recommendations
concerning the potential impact of the safe operations” during lightering as a result of this regulation.  The
report was supposed to be issued by March 15, 2002.

• The public hearing on this regulation was conducted, as previously scheduled, on August 30, 2001.
However, the hearing record was left open pending the receipt of the SJR-6 panel’s recommendations and
report.  The March 15, 2002 report deadline passed without the panel convening.  A second, identical
resolution (SJR-1) was passed in January 2003 and the March 15, 2004 deadline passed without any
report.

• In the spring of 2003, DNREC Secretary John H. Hughes held a series of meetings with interested
stakeholders to get the process back on track.  This effort resulted in the modification of a lightering vessel
and the completion of three vapor balancing trials.  The first trial took place in March 2004.  Since that time,
six other vapor balancing trials have been conducted.  While the success of the vapor balancing trials has
varied, Martians (the major lightering operator in Delaware Bay) demonstrated that vapor balancing in
lightering process can reduce the VOC emissions, and, most importantly, can be operated safely.  DNREC
believes that the major barrier in promulgating the lightering emission control regulation has been
overcome.  That is, the vapor balancing trials demonstrated the safe transfer of crude oil during controlled
lightering operations.  

• Based on the successful demonstration of the vapor balancing trials, DNREC has recalled and expanded
the regulatory workgroup. The Department is currently in process of developing Section 46 of Regulation
No. 24: Lightering Operations. Upon completion of the rulemaking process, DNREC will submit Section 46
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to EPA as a SIP revision under a separate cover.

3.2. Revised and/or New NOx RACT Requirements
As indicated in Table 2 above, Delaware certifies that Regulation No. 12 appropriately implements

NOX RACT controls in Delaware under the 8-hour ozone standard.  In addition, Delaware is currently developing
beyond-RACT provisions to aid in attainment and maintenance of the 8-hour NAAQS.  While not the subject of this
RACT submittal, these beyond-RACT controls include:

• Regulation 1142, Section 1 – Control of NOX Emissions from Industrial Boilers.  This regulation
imposes beyond RACT controls on certain boilers with heat input greater than 100 mmBTU/hr.
(Regulation 1142 is previously numbered as Regulation 42. The new number is used to follow the
new Delaware state document numbering system established by the Delaware Register of
Regulations).

• EGU Multi-Pollutant Regulation.  This regulation is under development, and is anticipated to
impose beyond RACT NOX controls on large coal and residual oil fired EGUs.

• Large Refinery Boiler Regulation.  This regulation is underdevelopment, and is anticipated to
impose beyond RACT NOX controls on large boilers and heat exchangers at petroleum refineries.

• Large Non-Refinery Boiler Regulation.  This regulation is underdevelopment, and is anticipated to
impose beyond RACT NOX controls on large boilers and heat exchangers not located at petroleum
refineries.

• Regulation No. 1144 - Stationary Generators.  This regulation was completed in 2005, and
imposes beyond RACT NOX controls on stationary generators used at times other than times of
emergency.

• Peaking Turbine Regulation.  This regulation is underdevelopment, and is anticipated to impose
beyond RACT NOX controls on peaking units, in order to address the high peak ozone day
emissions from these units.

• Diesel Retrofits. This rule is under consideration and is anticipated to provide further NOX
reductions for the attainment of the 8-hour ozone standard. 

4. Control Techniques Guideline (CTG) Requirements Not Adopted in Delaware
The following CTG VOC controls have not been adopted in Delaware because there are no emission sources

with those CTG controls.

• Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Manufacture of Pneumatic Rubber Tires, EPA-450/2-78-030,
December 1978. (Group II).

• Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from Wood Furniture Manufacturing Operations, EPA-
453/R-96-007, April 1996.

• Control Techniques Guidelines for Shipbuilding and Ship Repair Operations (Surface Coating) - August
1996 (61 FR 44050), August 27, 1996.

In addition, EPA identified, in the November 29, 2005 preamble (70 FR 71612 at 71652), that cement kilns and
stationary internal combustion engines are two categories for which additional NOX control information was available
since the 1-hour RACT determinations were made.  However, Delaware does not have these two NOX emission
sources within its boundary.

Furthermore, after the 1-hour VOC and NOX RACT rules were implemented, Delaware does not have any new
major VOC and NOX sources that fall outside the scope of the implemented RACT rules (i.e., Regulation 24 and
Regulation 12).

5. Documentation

A. U.S. EPA’s Control Techniques Guidelines (CTG) documents, Alternative Control Techniques (ACT)
documents, and Additional Reference Documents, cited in this SIP.
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1. Control Technology Guidance (CTG) document:  Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions
from Coating Operations at Aerospace Manufacturing and Rework Operations, EPA-453/R-97-004, December 1997.

2. Alternative Control Techniques (ACT) document:  Reduction of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions
from Automobile Refinishing, EPA-450/3-88-009, October 1988.

3. ACT: Automobile Refinishing, EPA-453/R-94-031, April 1994.
4. ACT: Surface Coating of Automotive/Transportation and Business Machine Plastic Parts, EPA-453/R-

94-017, February 1994.
5. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Existing Stationary Sources, Volume II: Surface

Coating of Cans, Coils, Paper, Fabrics, Automobiles, and Light-Duty Trucks, EPA-450/2-77-008, May 1977 (Group I).
6. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Existing Stationary Sources, Volume III: Surface

Coating of Metal Furniture, EPA-450/2-77-032, December 1977. 
7. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Existing Stationary Sources, Volume V: Surface

Coating of Large Appliances, EPA-450/2-77-034, December 1977 (Group I).
8. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Existing Stationary Sources, Volume IV: Surface

Coating of Insulation of Magnet Wire, EPA-450/2-77-033, December 1977 (Group I).
9. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Existing Stationary Sources, Volume VI: Surface

Coating of Miscellaneous Metal Parts and Products, EPA-450/2-78-015, June 1978 (Group II).
10. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Existing Stationary Sources, Volume VII: Factory

Surface Coating of Flat Wood Paneling, EPA-450/2-78-032, June 1978 (Group II).
11. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Bulk Gasoline Plants, EPA-450/2-77-035, December,

1977 (Group I).
12. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Bulk Gasoline Plants, EPA-450/2-77-035, December,

1977 (Group I).
13. CTG: Design Criteria for Stage I Vapor Control Systems - Gasoline Service Stations, November 1975

(Group I).
14. CTG: Control of Hydrocarbons from Tank Truck Gasoline Loading Terminals, EPA-450/2-77-026,

December 1977 (Group I). 
15. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compound Leaks from Gasoline Tank Trucks and Vapor Collection

Systems, EPA-450/2-78-051, December 1978 (Group II).
16. CTG: Control of Refinery Vacuum Producing Systems, Wastewater Separators, and Process Unit

Turnarounds, EPA-450/2-77-025, October 1977 (Group I).
17. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compound Leaks from Petroleum Refinery Equipment, EPA-450/2-

78-036, June 1978 (Group II).
18. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Petroleum Liquid Storage in External Floating Roof

Tanks, EPA-450-2/78-047, December 1978 (Group II).
19. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Storage of Petroleum Liquids in Fixed Roof Tanks,

EPA-450/2-77-036, December 1977 (Group I).
20. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compound Equipment Leaks from Natural Gas/Gasoline Processing

Plants, EPA-450/2-83-007, December 1983 (Group III).
21. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Solvent Metal Cleaning, EPA-450/2-77-022

November 1977 (Group I).
22. ACT: Halogenated Solvent Cleaners, EPA-450/3-89-030, August 1989.
23. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compounds from Use of Cutback Asphalt, EPA-450/2-77-037,

December 1977 (Group I).
24. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Manufacture of Synthesized Pharmaceutical

Products, EPA-450/2-78-029, December 1978 (Group II).
25. CAA Section 182(b)(3).
26. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Emissions from Existing Stationary Sources, Volume VIII: Graphic

Arts-Rotogravure and Flexography, EPA-450/2-78-033, December 1978 (Group II).
27. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from Large Petroleum Dry Cleaners, EPA-450/

3-82-009, September 1982 (Group III).
28. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from Reactor Processes and Distillation

Operations in SOCMI, November 15, 1993, EPA-450/4-91-031.
29. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compound Fugitive Emissions from Synthetic Organic Chemical
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Polymer and Resin Manufacturing Equipment, EPA-450/3-83-006, March 1984 (Group III).
30. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from Manufacture of High-Density

Polyethylene, Polypropylene, and Polystyrene Resins, EPA-450/3-83-008, November 1983 (Group III).
31. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from Air Oxidation Processes in Synthetic

Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry, EPA-450/3-84-015, December 1984 (Group III).
32. CAA Section 183(f).
33. ACT:  Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from Batch Processes, EPA-453/R-93-017,

February 1994.                               
34. ACT Document: Industrial Cleaning Solvents, EPA-453/R-94-015, February 1994.
35. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from Offset Lithographic Printing (CTG Draft),

EPA-453/D-95-001, September 1993.
36. ACT: Offset Lithographic Printing, EPA-453/R-94-054, June 1994.
37. CTG: Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from Reactor Processes and Distillation

Operations in SOCMI, November 15, 1993, EPA-450/4-91-031.
38. ACT:  Volatile Organic Liquids Storage in Floating and Fixed Roof Tanks, EPA-453/R-94-001, February

1994.
39. CAA Section 182(b)(2)(C).
40. NESCAUM Stationary Source Committee Recommendation on NOx RACT for Utility Boilers, 8/12/

1992.
41. NESCAUM Stationary Source Committee Recommendation on NOx RACT for Industrial Boilers,

Internal Combustion Engines and Combustion Turbines, 9/18/1992.
42. Controlling Emissions of Nitrogen Oxides from Existing Utility Boilers Under Title I of the Clean Air Act:

Options and Recommendations, STAPPA/ALAPCO, 4/27/1992.
43. State Implementation Plans; Nitrogen Oxides Supplement to the General Preamble for the

Implementation of Title I of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, USEPA,  10/27/1995.
44. Summary of NOx Control Technologies and their Availability and Extent of Application, USEPA,

February 1992.
45. Alternative Control Techniques Document: NOx Emissions from Process Heaters (Revised), USEPA,

September 1993.
46. Alternative Control Techniques Document: NOx Emissions from Industrial/Commercial/Institutional

(ICI) Boilers, USEPA, March 1994
47. Alternative Control Techniques Document: NOx Emissions from Utility Boilers, USEPA, March 1994.
48. State’s Report on Electric Utility Nitrogen Oxides Reduction Technology Options for Application by the

Ozone Transport Assessment Group, prepared for the OTAG Control Technology & Options Workgroup by Ken
Colburn, 4/11/1996.

49. Status Report on NOx Controls for Gas Turbines, Cement Kilns, Industrial Boilers, Internal Combustion
Engines, NESCAUM, December 2000.

50. Summary of State/Local NOx Regulations for Stationary Sources, USEPA, 2004.
51. Summary of NOx Control Technologies and their Availability and Extent of Application, USEPA,

February 1992.
52. Summary of NOx Control Technologies and their Availability and Extent of Application, USEPA

February 1992
53. Memorandum subject, Fuel Switching to Meet the Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT)

Requirements for Nitrogen Oxides (NOx), Michael H. Shapiro, Air and Radiation, 7/30/1993
54. Memorandum subject, Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) Questions from Ohio EPA, Tom Helms, Chief Ozone/

Carbon Monoxide Programs Branch, (no date cited, references 11/30/1993 questions)
55. State Implementation Plans; General Preamble for the Implementation of Title I of the Clean Air Act

Amendments of 1990, USEPA.
56. Alternative Control Techniques Document: NOx Emissions from Stationary Gas Turbines, USEPA,

January 1993
57. Alternative Control Techniques Document: NOx Emissions from Stationary Reciprocating Internal

Combustion Engines, USEPA 1993.
58. NOx Emissions from Stationary Internal Combustion Engines, USEPA, October 2003.
59. Stationary Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines – Updated Information on NOx Emissions and
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Control Techniques – Revised Final Report, USEPA, 9/1/2000.
60. Sourcebook: NOx Control Technology Data, USEPA, July 1991.
61. Memorandum Subject: De Minimis Values for NOx RACT, from G.T. Helms, Ozone Policy and

Strategies Group, dated 1/1/1995.
62. Alternative Control Techniques Document: NOx Emissions from Iron and Steel Mills, USEPA,

September 1994.
63. The “Blue Book,” i.e., “ISSUES RELATED TO VOC REGULATION CUTPOINTS, DEFICIENCIES AND

DEVIATIONS, Clarification to Appendix D of November 24, 1987 FEDERAL REGISTER,”  dated May 25, 1988

B.  Delaware VOC RACT Regulation 
Regulation No. 24: CONTROL OF VOLATILE ORGANIC COMPOUND EMISSIONS
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/aqm_page/docs/pdf/reg_24.pdf
(Note: Hard copy of this regulation available upon request.)

C.  Delaware NOx RACT Regulation 
Regulation No. 12: CONTROL OF NITROGEN OXIDES EMISSIONS
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/aqm_page/docs/pdf/reg_12.pdf
(Note: Hard copy of this regulation available upon request.)
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware River Basin Commission will hold a public hearing and business meeting on Wednesday, July
19th, 2006 at 10:15 a.m. at the Commission’s offices, 25 State Police Drive, West Trenton, New Jersey.  For more
information visit the DRBC web site at www.drbc.net or contact Pamela M. Bush, Esq., Commission Secretary and
Assistant General Counsel, at 609-883-9500 extension 203

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
DELAWARE AGRICULTURAL LANDS PRESERVATION FOUNDATION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation (the "Foundation") will hold a public hearing to
discuss proposed regulations relating to the administration of the Delaware Agricultural Forestland Preservation
Program established pursuant to 3 Del.C. §931. The Foundation was established by the Delaware Legislature
pursuant to 3 Del.C. §903. The Foundation is responsible for, among other things, adopting criteria for the
establishment and maintenance of Forestland Preservation Areas and establishing criteria for the purchase of
Forestland Preservation Easements. To carry out its statutory responsibilities, the Foundation has been directed to,
among other things, adopt rules of practice and procedure for the acquisition of Forestland Preservation Easements,
including the process and timeframe for submitting applications for the sale of Forestland Preservation Easements, the
establishment of the purchase price for the easements through the use of appraisal information, the manner in which
offers to sell such easements are accepted, and the basis upon which offers for sale of such easements are accepted. 

Pursuant to its statutory authority, the Foundation is proposing for adoption a comprehensive set of guidelines
and regulations to be used for the administration of the forestlands preservation program. The proposed regulations
published herein will, among other things: (a) establish eligibility criteria, (b) establish application procedures, (c)
establish criteria for the purchase of Forestland Preservation Easements and methods by which the purchase price will
be determined, (d) establish ranking criteria for easement applications, and (e) establish the legal forms to be used in
connection with the creation of Forestland Preservation Areas and Easements.

The public hearing will be on Wednesday,  July 26, 2006 beginning at 10:00 a.m. and ending at 12:00 p.m. at
the Foundation's office located at 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review by contacting:
William A. Denman, Esquire
Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
116 W. Water Street
Dover, DE  19904
(302) 678-3262
Email: wdenman@pgslegal.com

Anyone wishing to present oral comments at this hearing should contact Mr. William A. Denman at (302) 678-
3262 by July 25, 2006. Anyone wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to, or in lieu of oral testimony,
should submit such comments by July 31, 2006 to:

William A. Denman, Esquire
Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
116 W. Water Street
Dover, DE  19904
(302) 678-3262
Email: wdenman@pgslegal.com
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THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10005, proposes to amend rule
15.14.1 to permit the imposition of penalties if a horse does not report for testing.  The Commission will hold a public
hearing on the proposed rule change on July 18, 2006. Written comments should be sent to John F. Wayne, Executive
Director, Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, 777 Delaware Park Boulevard, Wilmington, DE 19804.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The Department of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday, July 20, 2006 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

 NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend a rule in the Division of
Social Services Manual (DSSM) used to determine eligibility for medical assistance.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by July 31, 2006. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Diamond State Health Plan 1115 Demonstration Waiver 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, and, in compliance with State
Notice procedures as set forth in the Federal Register, September 27, 1994, Delaware Health and Social Services
(DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) intends to submit an application to the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for renewal of its 1115 Demonstration Waiver entitled, the Diamond State
Health Plan, for the period from January 1, 2007 through December 31, 2009.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning extension of the Diamond State Health Plan 1115 Demonstration Waiver must submit same to
Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by July 31, 2006. The
waiver application will be made available upon request.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.
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DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Assisted Living Medicaid 1915(c) Waiver
 NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code), under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, and, in compliance with State
Notice procedures as set forth in the Federal Register, September 27, 1994, Delaware Health and Social Services
(DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) will submit an application to the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services (CMS) for renewal of its Home and Community-Based Services waiver entitled, Assisted Living
Medicaid Waiver Program (ALMWP), for an additional five years.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning extension of the this waiver must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by July 31, 2006. The waiver application will be made
available upon request.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
 NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend policies in the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding reporting changes.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program and
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by July 31, 2006. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN hereby gives notice of a proposed change to Department
of Insurance Regulation 504 relating to producer continuing education. The Commissioner proposes to amend
Regulation 504 relating to Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and
Consultants.  The docket number for this proposed amendment is 276.

The proposed change to the regulation appears only in section 8.2.2 relating to the required number of ethics
hours required for continuing education for public adjusters and fraternal agents. When the regulation was last
amended, the change from four hours of required ethics for public adjusters and fraternal agents to three hours (in
conformity to the similar change for other licensees) was unintentionally not included in the notice and final regulation
approval. This amendment corrects that inconsistency and is the only proposed change to the regulation. The required
number of ethics credits for public adjusters is proposed to decrease from four hours to three hours for each reporting
period. The Delaware Code authority for the change is 18 Del.C. §§311, 1718.  The text of the change to the regulation
is as follows:
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8.2.2 Resident adjusters, public adjusters and Fraternal Agents shall be required to fulfill twelve (12) credit
hours of Department approved education subjects, three (3)four (4) of which shall be in ethics subjects during each
biennial reporting period.

The text can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://www.state.de.us/
inscom/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person can
file written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed
amendment. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed change must be received
by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, August 2, 2006, and should be addressed to
Deputy Attorney General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
DE 19904, or sent by fax to 302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
 NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN hereby gives notice of proposed Department of Insurance
Regulation 610 relating to the availability of private passenger automobile premium rate comparison data. The
Commissioner proposes to promulgate Regulation 610 relating to Automobile Premium Consumer Comparison.
The docket number for this proposed regulation is 280.

The proposed regulation would require automobile insurers to provide survey data to the Department of
Insurance for the purposes of allowing consumers of private passenger non-fleet automobiles the opportunity to
compare rates from different companies. The survey data would have to be filed with the Department on an annual
basis.  The regulation would also require the insurers to provide direct email responses to the consumer. The Delaware
Code authority for the change is 18 Del.C. §§311and 2501 et seq. 

The text can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://www.state.de.us/
inscom/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes.  Any person
can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed
amendment. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed change must be received
by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, August 2, 2006, and should be addressed to
Deputy Attorney General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
DE 19904, sent by fax to 302.739.5566 or emailed to michael.rich@state.de.us.  

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING

 NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Governor’s Council on Apprenticeship and Training in accordance with 19 Del.C. §202(a) has proposed
changes to the rules and regulations relating to apprenticeship and training. The proposal modifies the number of
classes a registered Apprentice can miss while enrolled in a related studies program at any of the vocational schools in
the three (3) counties of the State of Delaware before being dropped from that school.  Being dropped from the school
will result in the Apprentice’s Apprenticeship Agreement being terminated by their Sponsor and/or State Registration
Agency.

A public hearing will be held before the Council on Apprenticeship and Training (“Council”) at 1:00 p.m. on
August 2, 2006, at the Delaware Department of Labor, Fox Valley Annex, 4425 N. Market Street, Wilmington, Delaware
19802 where members of the public can offer comments. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rule may
obtain a copy from Kevin Calio, Manager, Apprenticeship and Training, Department of Labor, P.O. Box 9828, 4425 N.
Market Street, Wilmington, Delaware 19808-0828. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to
the Council at the above address. The final date to receive written comments will be at the public hearing.
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The Council will consider making a recommendation to the Secretary at the regularly scheduled meeting
following the public hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1800 Board of Plumbing Examiners
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The State Board of Plumbing Examiners is proposing changes to its regulations related to the designation of its
licensure examination.

A public hearing will be held at 8:30 a.m. on September 12, 2006 in the 2nd floor Conference Room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board of
Plumbing Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit
written comments may forward these to the board at the above address. The final date to receive written comments will
be at the public hearing.

The board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals

 NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The State Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals is proposing changes to its
regulations related to CPR certification.

A public hearing will be held at noon on September 27, 2006 in the 2nd floor Conference Room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board of
Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE
19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the board at the above address.  The final
date to receive written comments will be at the public hearing.

The board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3600 Board of Registration of Geologists

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Board of Geologists in accordance with 24 Del.C. §3606 has proposed amendments to rule 5.0
Issuance and Renewal of License and rule 6.0 Continuing Education of its rules and regulations. The proposed
amendments enable licensees to renew their licenses online and attest that they have completed the required
continuing education. Documentation of having completed the required continuing education must still be maintained
by the licensee but it will only be required to be produced in the event the licensee is randomly selected for continuing
education audit.

A public hearing will be held on August 4, 2006 at 10:15 a.m. in the second floor conference room B of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
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Geologists, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit written
comments may forward these to the Board at the above address. The final date to receive written comments will be at
the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
5300 State Board of Massage and Bodywork

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The State Board of Massage and Bodywork, in accordance with 24 Del.C. §5306(a)(1), has proposed changes
to its rules and regulations related to CPR Certification.

A public hearing will be held at 1:30 p.m. on August 17, 2006 in the 2nd floor Conference Room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board of
Massage and Bodywork, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. Persons wishing to
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Regulation Docket No. 50: Public Notice of Proposed Adoption of “Electric Service Reliability and Quality 

Standards”
NO TICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND COMMENT PERIOD

Since 2003, the Public Service Commission (“the Commission”) has been developing Standards to measure
and judge the reliability of the electrical services provided by electric distribution utilities such as Delmarva Power &
Light Company and the Delaware Electric Cooperative, Inc. In PSC Order No. 6745 (Oct. 11, 2005), the Commission
proposed and then published (9 DE Reg. 756 (Nov. 1, 2005)) final “Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards.”
In light of comments and objections filed in response to those earlier proposed Standards, the Commission now
proposes to adopt a revised form of “Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards.” These revised Standards
would supersede the Standards proposed in 2005. As with the earlier proposal, the revised Standards set forth
methods and benchmarks to be utilized to measure the reliability of services provided by electric distribution
companies. The revised Standards also articulate principles and goals for reliability, describe responses to be made to
outages and major events, and require the preparation of periodic performance reports and planning studies. The
Standards also prescribe the available penalties for violations. Finally, the revised Standards direct electric generation
facilities located within this State to participate in a “Generation Working Group” or file periodic reports concerning
certain aspects of their operations.

You may review the text of the revised final Standards in the July, 2006 issue of the Delaware Register of
Regulations. You may obtain written copies of the revised Standards at the Commission’s office at the address set forth
below.  The cost is $0.25 per page.  You may also review an electronic copy of the revised Standards at the
Commission’s website at www.state.de.us/delpsc (open PSC Order No. 6925).  The Commission has the authority to
adopt such regulations under 26 Del.C. §§209, 1002, 1008, and 1019.

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133, 10115, and 10118(c), the Commission now solicits comments, written
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials concerning the revised final Standards.  If you wish
to submit such materials, you should file an original and ten copies at the following address:

Delaware Public Service Commission
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861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite 100
Dover, Delaware 19904
Attn:  PSC Reg. Dckt. No. 50

You must file such materials on or before August  2, 2006.
In addition, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a) and 29 Del.C. §10117, the Commission will conduct a public hearing

on the revised Standards during its regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, August 8, 2006. That meeting will begin at
1:00 PM in the Commission’s Hearing Room at the above address.  You can submit oral presentations or written
materials at such hearing.

If you have questions, or desire further information about the matter, you can contact the Commission at 1-800-
282-8574 or (302) 739-4333 (including text telephone). You can also send questions by Internet e-mail to
robert.howatt@state.de.us. If you are disabled and need assistance, please contact the Commission to arrange
assistance.
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