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INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an of-
ficial State publication established by authority of
69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of
each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regu-
lations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or
repealed and any emergency regulations promul-
gated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

l Governor’s Executive Orders

l Governor’s Appointments

l Attorney General’s Opinions in full text

l Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices

l Other documents considered to be in the
public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited
by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

l 1:1 Del. R. 35 - 37 (July 1, 1997) refers
to Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 35 - 37 of the
Delaware Register issued on July 1, 1997.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may
participarte in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may
initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency
proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together
with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication
in the Register of Regulations.  The notice shall describe
the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis
of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the
agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that
may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall
state the manner in which persons may present their views;
if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by
which such views may be submitted; or if at a public
hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be
scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice
of the proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public
hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time,
date, place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers
of general circulation.

The opportunity for public comment is held open
for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings
and after receipt of all written materials,  testimony and
evidence, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its

A yearly subscription to the Delaware Register
of Regulations costs $80.00 per year for 12 issues.
Single copies are available at a cost of $7.00 per
issues, including postage.  For more information
contact the Division of Research at 302-739-
4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.
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conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A
brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure
is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend
or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision
shall be supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such
regulation adopted, amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective
date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions
required by the law under which the agency has authority to
act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency
members.

The effective date of the order which adopts, amends
or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment
or repeal qualifies as an emergency.

Any person that is aggrieved by or claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the
Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making
or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or repeal
of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency
action on the proposal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement
action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no
judicial review of a regulation is available unless a complaint
therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the
agency order with respect to the regulation was published in
the Register of Regulations.

of the  Office of  the Secretary of  State;  State Archivist
Howard P. Lowell and James R. Frazier of Delaware Public
Archives;  Ann M. McLaughlin and Kevin B. Wright of the
Office of the Controller General;  Tony Collins and a number
of his colleagues in the Office of Information Services;
Michael J. Rich and Malcolm S. Cobin of the Department of
Justice;  State Librarian Tom W. Sloan and his staff;  Skipper
Purnell, Chairman of the Action Agenda Implementation
Committee and Philip J. Cherry of the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control.

We are also especially indebted to Robert J. Colborn,
Administrator of Maryland’s Division of State Documents,
and Jane D. Chaffin, Virginia’s Deputy Registrar of
Regulations  and their exceptional staffs for their invaluable
assistance.

With sincere appreciation,
William S. Montgomery

INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The debut of the Delaware Register of Regulations
would not have been possible without the dedication and
commitment of Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of
Regulations.  He has labored steadily since his hiring in
January to make this publication a reality.  He has been
ably assisted by Alex Mull, a Legislative Fellow from the
University of Delaware College of Urban Affairs and
Public Policy and our division’s Administrative Officer,
Marlynn H. Hedgecock, who assembled the initial
research for the Register.  This publication also reflects
an outstanding team effort involving the staff of the
Division of Research all of whom have assisted with a
wide variety of tasks.

A MESSAGE FROM THE DIRECTOR OF
THE DIVISION OF RESEARCH

Special thanks are also in order to a number of people
who have offered their advice, assistance and support
including:  Secretary of State Edward J. Freel;  C. Ann Myers
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates
new text.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons
may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;
The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  Title 26, Sections 210, 209
of the Delaware Code

(26 Del.C. §§ 210, 209)

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

LINK TO PSC HOME PAGE

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
INVESTIGATION AND | PSC REGULATION
ADOPTION OF RULES TO | DOCKET NO. 12
GOVERN PAY PHONE |
SERVICES WITHIN THE |
STATE OF DELAWARE |

NOTICE OF INVESTIGATION
AND FORMULATION OF RULES

CONCERNING PAY PHONE SERVICES

TO: ALL TELECOMMUNICATIONS CARRIERS,
PAY PHONE SERVICE PROVIDERS, PAY PHONE LO-
CATION OWNERS, AND OTHER INTERESTED PER-
SONS

In the Telecommunications Act of 1996, Congress di-
rected the Federal Communications Commission (“FCC”) to
promulgate regulations to ensure fair compensation for pay
phone service providers (“PSPs”) and to ensure competitive
parity between independent PSPs and pay phone services pro-
vided by Bell operating companies (“BOC”).  47 U.S.C. §
276.  In two Orders (FCC 96-388 and FCC 96-439), the FCC
has directed a two-phase restructuring and deregulation of
pay phone services.

In the first phase, which will end October 7, 1997, a lo-
cal exchange carrier, such as Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc.
(“BA-Del”), must tariff, for purchase by other PSPs, the ba-
sic service elements and unbundled features which the local
exchange carrier provides to its own pay phone services or
others.  The PSC is presently considering such tariff filings
by BA-Del in PSC Dockets Nos. 97-001T, 97-005T, and 97-
013T.  During the initial period, the states may continue to
regulate the local call rate but must review and remove from
its regulations applicable to pay phones any rules that impose
market entry or exit requirements.  After October 7, 1997,
rates for local calls from pay phones will no longer be subject
to regulatory oversight and rates for local calls will be set up
by the competitive market.  In addition, by September 20,
1998, states must also develop mechanisms to administer and
fund a plan, consistent with the FCC’s guidelines, relating to
the placement of “public interest” pay phones in locations
where pay phones are needed but might not otherwise exist.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/pubservc/delpsc.htm
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In 1985, the Delaware Public Service Commission

(“PSC”), by Order No. 2662 in Regulation Docket No. 12,
promulgated “Rules and Regulations Governing Service by
Customer Owned Coin-Operated Telephones” (“COCOT
Rules”).  Those COCOT rules are set out as Attachment 1.  In
light of the enactment of 47 U.S.C. § 276 and the entry of the
FCC’s implementing orders, the PSC has decided to investi-
gate the repeal or revision of the COCOT Rules and the pos-
sible adoption of new rules to govern pay phone services
within Delaware.  The PSC has authority to revise and adopt
such rules pursuant to 26 Del. C. §§ 210, 209.  The PSC has
tentatively adopted a two-track approach for its investigation
and rule-making:

TRACK I

In Track I, the PSC will consider issues relating to the
removal of exit and entry barriers, the implementation of
market-based local calling rates, and the content of regula-
tions needed to protect consumers in a competitive pay phone
marketplace.  The tentative deadline for the completion of
this phase is October 7, 1997.

TRACK II

In Track II, the PSC will consider issues related to the
design of a state plan to implement, administer, and fund public
interest pay phones.  The tentative deadline for the comple-
tion of such phase is September, 1998.

The PSC solicits comments, suggestions, compilations
of data, briefs, or other written materials concerning: (1) what
revisions must, or should, be made to the present COCOT
Rules to conform to  47 U.S.C. § 276 and the FCC’s Orders;
(2) what additional rules or regulations should be promul-
gated to effectuate § 276 and the FCC’s Orders; and (3) what
type of regulations should be adopted to protect the public in
a competitive pay phone market?  Without limiting the con-
tent of submissions, the PSC specifically solicits comments
on the following issues:

TRACK I

(1)  What provisions in the present COCOT Rules con-
stitute exit or entry barriers, or are otherwise inconsistent with
§ 276 and the FCC’s Orders and regulations?

(2) Should the PSC continue to deem pay phone service
providers as regulated “public utilities”?

(3) What type of mechanism should the PSC adopt to
identify “market failures” which might call for continued lo-
cal call rate regulation? and

(4) What type of price and service disclosure should the
PSC  require for pay phones in a competitive pay phones
market?

TRACK II

(1) What methodology should the PSC adopt to iden-
tify locations requiring public interest pay phones?

(2) What entity should make determinations about the
specific location of public interest pay phones?

(3) What entity should be responsible for the placement
of public interest pay phones? and

(4)  What funding mechanism can, and should, the PSC
adopt to pay for such public interest pay phones?

Ten (10) copies of all materials submitted shall be filed,
by the due dates set out below, at the PSC’s office located at
1560 South DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901.  Ma-
terials related to Track I shall be filed on or before August 6,
1997.  Materials related to Track II shall be filed on or before
September 30, 1997.  Any person submitting materials, or
any other person who wishes to participate in further pro-
ceedings in this docket, shall, by separate document, so indi-
cate and provide a name, mailing address, voice and facsimile
numbers, and e-mail address.

After the submission of initial comments, the PSC Staff
will, if needed, propose amendments or modifications to the
COCOT Rules or new rules to govern pay phone services
within this State.  The PSC may solicit further comments at
that time or conduct public hearings on Staff’s proposed rules.

The COCOT rules and the materials submitted will be
available for public inspection and copying at the PSC’s Do-
ver office during normal business hours.  The fee for copying
is $0.25 per page.

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to partici-
pate in these proceedings should contact the PSC to discuss
any auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate such review
or participation.  Such contact may be in person, by writing,
telephonically, by use of the Telecommunications Relay Ser-
vice, or otherwise.  The PSC’s toll-free telephone number is
(800) 282-8574.  Persons with questions concerning this ap-
plication may contact the PSC’s Public Information Officer
by either Text Telephone (“TT”) or by regular telephone at
(302) 739-4333 or by e-mail at mcarl@state.de.us.
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Attachment 1

DELAWARE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
RULES AND REGULATIONS GOVERNING SERVICE

PROVIDED BY CUSTOMER OWNED COIN-
OPERATED TELEPHONES

Effective Date: October 1, 1985

Rule 1
Whenever any person seeks to connect a customer-owned

pay or coin operated telephone instrument (COCOT) to the
Diamond State Telephone Company network in a location
which would be a public or semipublic pay or coin operated
service, if owned and operated by Diamond State Telephone
Company, then such proposed installation shall be deemed
for public use.

Rule 2

The owner or operator (whichever is the Diamond State
Telephone Company customer) of each COCOT installed for
public use which is capable of use in making or receiving
intrastate telephone calls, shall be deemed to be a public util-
ity under 26 Del. C. 102 and shall adhere to and abide by all
lawful tariff requirements of the Diamond State Telephone
Company.

Rule 3
In addition to compliance with Diamond State Telephone

Company tariff requirements, each such COCOT must:
(a) Be operated under a validly issued Certificate of

Public Convenience and Necessity from the Delaware Public
Service Commission, which must be issued prior to begin-
ning business (see attached application form).

(b) Provide access to local, intrastate toll and interstate
toll services, and permit calls using credit cards, collect calls,
calls billed to a third number, operator-handled emergency
calls, calls to all applicable emergency numbers, and calls to
toll free “800” and “950” numbers without charge and with-
out the use of a coin.

(c) Have a coin mechanism capable of accepting nick-
els, dimes, and quarters, and automatically return unused coins
with no charge for uncompleted calls.

(d) Allow the completion of both local and long dis-
tance calls with not less than a three (3) minute time limit for
a local call.

(e) Be installed and maintained in accordance with gen-
erally accepted telecommunications industry standards, ap-
plicable local codes, as well as the National Electric Code
and the National Electric Safety Code.  The Diamond State
Telephone Company shall supply a one-party standard mea-

sured service business line per COCOT instrument, terminat-
ing at the point defined by its tariff for business access lines.
When requested, the telephone company will provide inside
wire and a modular jack at prevailing rates.

(f) Be registered with the FCC or connected through
registered protective circuitry as required by FCC Regula-
tions, Part 68.

(g) Comply with state and federal laws regarding ac-
cessibility by disabled individuals and hearing aid compat-
ibility.

(h) Have conspicuously marked on or posted in close
proximity to it, the operating instructions, call pricing, emer-
gency numbers, procedure for receiving refunds, the telephone
number, name, and address to be contacted for customer com-
plaints and service difficulties, and the telephone number as-
signed to the instrument.

(i) Be equipped with an audible signaling device and
provide two-way (originating and terminating) calling capa-
bility, or provide one-way (originating only) calling capabil-
ity and, if desired, provided the type of caning capability is
conspicuously indicated on or in close proximity to the in-
strument.

(j) Be installed and maintained in such a manner as to
assure that privacy of use is not compromised through any
type of electrical or accoustical coupling device, extension
telephone, or similar instrument.

(k) Be installed upon a single standard measured ser-
vice business line provided by Diamond State Telephone
Company.

(l) Be installed by or with the written permission of the
owner of the location where the instrument is to be connected.

(m) Have all required state and local business licenses.
(n) Charge rates for local telephone calls which are no

higher than the rates charged under the effective Diamond
State Telephone Company tariff for local calls from a pay
telephone, except that a local call may be limited to three (3)
minutes.

Rule 4
The telephone company tariff shall state that any COCOT

service not meeting the requirements of Rules 1 through 3(n)
shall be subject to disconnection until such time as the COCOT
service in question meets these requirements.
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APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF PUBLIC

CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY TO RESELL
INTRASTATE

TELEPHONE SERVICE USING A PRIVATELY
OWNED PAY OR

COIN OPERATED TELEPHONE FOR PUBLIC USE

1. Name and Address of Applicant (Must be the same as
the customer taking the dial tone service from Diamond State
Telephone Company.

2. Make, Model, and Identification Number of the Customer
owned Instrument.

3. Location of Proposed Installation (e.g., Northern wall of
B&G Bar and Grill, Corner of North and South Streets, any
town, Delaware (zip).

4. Applicant’s Business Telephone Number.

5. Telephone Number of the Certificated Instrument.

6. A description of the manner in which the Applicant will
assure service and/or equipment maintenance.  Including
name, address, and telephone number of firm, if appropriate.

7. List rates to be charged for each local call and duration,
if limited. Intrastate long distance rates are also to be stated.

8. Customer Account Number (to be provided by Diamond
State Telephone Company to Applicant).

As Applicant for a Certificate of Public Convenience and
Necessity, I hereby certify and agree that my pay or coin op-
erated telephone complies and will be maintained in compli-
ance with the hereto attached rules of the Public Service Com-
mission and the applicable tariffs of the Diamond State Tele-
phone Company.

I understand that certification as a public utility to pro-
vide pay or coin operated telephone service to the public at
the location hereinabove described is nontransferable and may
be revoked by the Delaware Public Service Commission for
violation of Commission rules.

I further agree to notify the Commission in writing if for
any reason I cease to be responsible for the resale of intrast-
ate telephone service through the instrument described above.

Name of Applicant

By:
Date of Application:

9. Verification

STATE OF |
COUNTY OF |

Signed and sworn to (or affirmed) before me on
by

(name of applicant)

Signature of Notary
SEAL

Name of Notary (Printed or Typed)
(My Commission Expires: )

10. *Effective Date of Certificate

By: Robert J. Kennedy, III
Executive Director

*When this form is completed to include the effective
date, the Diamond State Telephone Company assigned cus-
tomer number and the signature of the Commission’s Execu-
tive Director, it shall constitute a Certificate of Public Conve-
nience and Necessity to provide intrastate telephone service
for public use through the instrument herein described.

This certificate shall be valid for a period of twelve (12)
months from the effective date.  Thereafter, it shall be re-
newed annually by request in writing, confirming the contin-
ued validity of the information of the original certificate.  Such
renewals may be granted in writing by the Executive Direc-
tor of the Commission.
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LINK TO PSC HOME PAGE

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  Title 26 Section 201 of the
Delaware Code

(26 Del.C. § 201)

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
PROMULGATION |  PSC REGULATION
OF RULES REGARDING THE |  DOCKET NO. 47
DISCOUNTS FOR INTRASTATE|
TELECOMMUNICATIONS |
AND INFORMATION |
SERVICES PROVIDED TO |
SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES |
(OPENED JUNE 17, 1997) |

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE MAKING
CONCERNING INTRASTATE DISCOUNTS

FOR SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES

TO: ALL SCHOOLS, LIBRARIES, TELECOMMUNI-
CATIONS CARRIERS, AND OTHER INTER-
ESTED PARTIES

In the Telecommunications Act of 1996, Congress man-
dated that telecommunications carriers provide certain ser-
vices to elementary schools, secondary schools, and libraries
at discounted rates lower than those charged to other persons.
47 U.S.C. § 254(h)(1)(B).  Under § 254(h)(1)(B), the Federal
Communications Commission (“FCC”) determines these dis-
counts for interstate services and the states shall set the dis-
count for intrastate services.  On May 8, 1997, the FCC is-
sued its Report and Order (FCC 97-157) which established
the discount for interstate services and established a federal
funding mechanism to reimburse carriers for the discounts.
The discounts available to eligible schools and libraries range
from twenty percent (20%) to ninety percent (90%) and are
deducted from prices set by a competitive bidding process.
The discounts may be applied to internal connections, Internet
access, and all commercially available telecommunications
services.  Under the FCC’s Order, federal support will be pro-
vided for both interstate and intrastate services, so long as the
State has adopted a discount rate for intrastate services as great

as those adopted for interstate services.  Eligibility for the
discounts will be determined by a federal administrator on a
first-come, first-served submission process, set to begin prob-
ably in July, 1997.

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. § 10115, the Delaware Public Ser-
vice Commission (“PSC”) gives notice that it proposes to
adopt rules and regulations which will, for the period through
December 31, 1998,  determine the discounts available for
Delaware schools and libraries for intrastate services.  By its
proposed rules, the PSC intends to adopt as the discount lev-
els for intrastate services the federal discount matrix set out
below, as well as the accompanying competitive bidding pro-
cess (set out in the FCC’s Order).  The proposed discounts
are:

SCHOOLS & LIBRARIES DISCOUNT LEVEL
DISCOUNT MATRIX

HOW

DISADVANTAGED?

................................. New Castle County Sussex County
% of students eligible Kent County discount
for national school    discount
lunch program

< 1 20 25
1-19 40 50
20-34 50 60
35-49 60 70
50-74 80 80
75-100 90 90

The text of the proposed rules is attached.  The PSC believes
it has authority to determine such discounts under 47 U.S.C.
§ 254(h)(1)(B) and 26 Del. C. § 703(3), (4).  The PSC relies
on the findings made in the May 8th FCC Order and the pre-
ceding recommendations of the Joint State-Federal Board (12
FCC Rcd. 87 (1996)) as support for its proposed rules.  Adop-
tion of the proposed rules will allow schools and libraries in
Delaware to apply for federal universal service support for
both interstate and intrastate services for the 1997-98 school
year.  Under the proposed rules, the intrastate discount would
be applicable only for purposes of the receipt of the federal
support for intrastate services and will not be supported by a
State funding mechanism.

The PSC solicits comments, suggestions, compilations
of data, or other written materials on the proposed rules which
adopt the federal discount matrix.  Specifically, the PSC so-
licits materials on the following questions:

(a) Do any provisions of State law bar adoption of the
federal discount matrix and the competitive bidding process
for intrastate services provided to schools and libraries?

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/pubservc/delpsc.htm
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(b) What is the appropriate discount for intrastate ser-
vices during the period through December 31, 1998 and, in
particular, should the PSC adopt discounts deeper or slighter
than the federal matrix?  and

(c) What should be the appropriate level of intrastate
discounts after December 31, 1998, and how should such dis-
counts be funded?

Ten (10) copies of any materials shall be filed with the
PSC at its offices at 1560 South DuPont Highway, Dover,
Delaware 19901.  Materials shall be filed on or before July
31, 1997, and should include a cover document listing the
name of the submitter, a mailing address, voice and facsimile
service numbers, and an e-mail address.  Persons who wish to
participate in any further proceedings, whether or not such
person is submitting materials, shall so inform the PSC, by
the above date, in a written document.

The PSC will hold a public hearing at the PSC’s Dover
office on the proposed rules on Friday, August 1, 1997, com-
mencing at   10:00 AM.  Materials may also be submitted
then.

Copies of the rules proposed by the PSC and any materi-
als filed will be available for inspection and copying at the
PSC’s Dover office during normal business hours.  The fee
for copying is $0.25 per page.

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to partici-
pate in these proceedings, or to review these proposed rules,
should contact the PSC to discuss any auxiliary aids or ser-
vices needed to facilitate such review or participation.  Such
contact may be in person, by writing, telephonically, by use
of the Telecommunications Relay Service, or otherwise.  The
PSC’s toll-free telephone number is (800) 282-8574.  Per-
sons with questions concerning this application may contact
the PSC’s Public Information Officer by either Text Tele-
phone (“TT”) or by regular telephone at (302) 739-4333.  The
officer can also be reached by e-mail at mcarl@state.de.us.

INTERIM RULES FOR THE DETERMINATION OF
INTRASTATE DISCOUNTS FOR SERVICES PRO-

VIDED TO ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY
SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES FOR PURPOSES OF THE

RECEIPT OF FEDERAL UNIVERSAL SERVICE
SUPPORT

Section 1: General

1.1 Basis and purpose
1.2 Duration
1.3 Intended use of federal universal service support
1.4 Terms and definitions

Section 2: Eligible Institutions and Supported Services

2.1 Eligibility
2.2 Supported services
2.3 Other supported special services
2.4 Requests for service

Section 3: Intrastate Discounts

3.1 Discounts

Section 4: Duties of Eligible Institutions and Service Pro-
viders

4.1 Ordering and bidding for services
4.2 Resale
4.3 Support
4.4 Record keeping

Section 5: Services provided by non-telecommunications
carriers.

5.1 Support for non-telecommunications carriers
Section 1: General

1.1 Basis and purpose.

(a) Under the provisions of 47 U.S.C. § 254(h)(1)(B),
all telecommunications carriers  serving a geographic area
must, upon receipt of a bona fide request for services falling
within the definition of universal service, provide such ser-
vices to elementary schools, secondary schools, and libraries
at rates less than the amounts charged for similar services to
other parties.  The discount provided for such services is re-
covered by the carrier either offsetting such amount against
the carrier’s obligation to contribute to a universal service
support mechanism or recovering reimbursement from a uni-
versal service support mechanism. By the same provision,
the states are charged with determining the amount of such
discount for intrastate services.  These rules set the discounts
for intrastate services provided by telecommunications carri-
ers to eligible schools and libraries within Delaware.

(b) These rules are adopted for the purpose of allowing
telecommunications carriers to receive federal universal ser-
vice support for both interstate and intrastate services pro-
vided to eligible schools and libraries.  See 47 C.F.R. §
54.505(e)(1).1  These rules do not provide for, nor do they
create, a state universal service support funding mechanism.
The amount of support available for services provided to eli-
gible schools and libraries is to be determined by the rules
adopted by the Federal Communications Commission to
implement the federal universal service support mechanism.
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1.2 Duration.

These rules shall govern the intrastate discounts for ser-
vices provided by telecommunications carriers to eligible
schools and libraries for the period from the effective date of
these rules until December 31, 1998.  The Commission may
hereafter alter, amend, or repeal these rules and may extend
the expiration date for these rules.

1.3 Intended use of federal universal service support.

A carrier that receives federal universal service support
for intrastate services shall use that support only for the pro-
vision, maintenance, and upgrading of facilities and services
for which the federal support is intended.

1.4 Terms and definitions.

(a) An “Elementary school” is a non-profit institutional
day or residential school that provides elementary education,
as determined by state law.

(b) “Information service” is the offering of a capability
for generating, acquiring, storing, transforming, processing,
retrieving, utilizing, or making available information via tele-
communications, and includes electronic publishing, but does
not include any use of any such capability for the manage-
ment, control, or operation of a telecommunications system
or the management of a telecommunications service.

(c) “Internet access” includes the following elements:

(1) the transmission of information as common car-
riage;

(2) the transmission of information as part of a gate-
way to an informationservice, when that transmission does
not involve the generation or alteration of the content of in-
formation, but may include data transmission, address trans-
lation, protocol conversion, billing management, introductory
information content, and navigational systems that enable
users to access information services, and that do not affect
the presentation of such information to users; and

(3) electronic mail services (e-mail).

(d) “Internal Connections” includes items such as rout-
ers, hubs, network file servers, and wireless local area net-
works and their installation and basic maintenance needed to
switch and route messages within a school or library.  A given
service is eligible for support as a component of the
institution’s internal connections only if it is necessary to trans-
port information to individual classrooms.

(e) “Intrastate telecommunication” is a communication
or transmission from within Delaware to a location within
Delaware.  “Intrastate transmission” is the same as intrastate
telecommunication.

(f) A “library” includes:

(1) a public library;

(2) a public elementary school or secondary school
library;

(3) an academic library;

(4) a research library which, for the purposes of this
definition, means a library that:

(A) makes publicly available library services
and materials suitable for scholarly research and not other-
wise available to the public; and

(B) is not an integral part of an institution of
higher education; and

(5) a private library, but only if the Public Service
Commission, with the advice of the State Librarian, deter-
mines that the library should be considered a library for the
purposes of this definition.

(g) A “library consortium” is any local, statewide, re-
gional, or interstate cooperative association of libraries that
provides for the systematic and effective coordination of the
resources of school, public, academic, and special libraries
and information centers, for improving services to the clien-
tele of such libraries.  For the purposes of these rules, refer-
ences to library will also refer to library consortium.

(h) “Lowest corresponding price” is the lowest price that
a service provider charges to non-residential customers who
are similarly situated to a particular school, library, or library
consortium for similar services.

(i) “National school lunch program” is a program ad-
ministered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture that pro-
vides free or reduced price lunches to economically disad-
vantaged children.

(j) The “pre-discount price” means the price the ser-
vice provider agrees to accept as total payment for its tele-
communications or information services.  Such amount is the
sum of the amount the service provider expects to receive
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from the eligible school or library and the amount it expects
to receive as reimbursement from the federal universal ser-
vice support mechanisms because of the discounts provided
herein.

(k) A “secondary school” is a non-profit institutional day
or residential school that provides secondary education, as
determined by state law.  A secondary school does not offer
education beyond grade 12.

(l) “Telecommunications” is the transmission, between
or among points specified by the user, of information of the
user’s choosing, without change in the form or content of the
information as sent and received.

(m) A “telecommunications carrier” is any provider of
telecommunications services except that such term does not
include aggregators of telecommunications services as de-
fined by 47 U.S.C. § 226.  This definition includes cellular
mobile radio service (CMRS) providers, interexchange carri-
ers (IXCs) and, to the extent they are acting as telecommuni-
cations carriers, companies that provide both telecommuni-
cations and information services.  Private mobile radio ser-
vice (PMRS) providers are telecommunications carriers to the
extent they provide domestic or international telecommuni-
cations for a fee directly to the public.

(n) “Telecommunications service” is the offering of tele-
communications for a fee directly to the public, or to such
classes of users as to be effectively available directly to the
public, regardless of the facilities used.

Section 2: Eligible Institutions and Supported Services

2.1 Eligibility

(a) Telecommunications carriers shall be eligible for
federal universal service support under these rules for pro-
viding supported intrastate services to eligible schools, librar-
ies, and consortia including those entities.

(b) Schools.

(1)  Only schools meeting the statutory definitions
of “elementary school,” as defined in 20 U.S.C. § 8801(14),
or “secondary school,” as defined in 20 U.S.C. § 8801(25),
and not excluded hereafter, shall be eligible for discounts on
telecommunications and other supported services and facili-
ties under these rules.

(2)  Schools operating as for-profit businesses shall
not be eligible for discounts under these rules.

(3)  Schools with endowments exceeding $50,000,000
shall not be eligible for discounts under these rules.

(c) Libraries

(1)  Only libraries eligible for assistance from the
Division of Libraries [a State library administrative agency]
under the Library Services and Technology Act (Pub. L. No.
104-208) and not excluded hereafter shall be eligible for dis-
counts under these rules.

(2)  A library’s eligibility for universal service fund-
ing shall depend on its funding as an independent entity.  Only
libraries whose budgets are completely separate from any
schools (including, but not limited to, elementary and sec-
ondary schools, colleges, and universities) shall be eligible
for discounts as libraries under these rules.

(3)  Libraries operating as for-profit businesses shall
not be eligible for discounts under these rules.

 (d) Consortia.

(1)  For purposes of seeking competitive bids for
telecommunications services pursuant to the provisions of 47
C.F.R. § 54.504, schools and libraries eligible for support
under these rules may form consortia with other eligible
schools and libraries, with health care providers eligible un-
der 47 U.S.C. § 254(h)(1)(A), and with public sector (gov-
ernmental) entities, including, but not limited to, state col-
leges and state universities, state educational broadcasters,
counties, and municipalities, when ordering telecommunica-
tions and other supported services under the federal universal
support mechanism.  With one exception, eligible schools and
libraries participating in consortia with ineligible private sec-
tor members shall not be eligible for discounts for intrastate
services under these rules.  A consortium may include ineli-
gible private sector entities if the pre-discount prices of any
services that such consortium receives from the local exchange
carrier are generally tariffed rates.

(2) For consortia, discounts under these rules shall
apply only to the portion of  eligible telecommunications and
other supported services used by the eligible schools and li-
braries.

(3) Appropriate state agencies may receive dis-
counts on the purchase of telecommunications and informa-
tion services that they make on behalf of, and for, the direct
use of eligible schools and libraries.
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(4) Service providers shall keep and retain records

of rates charged to and discounts allowed for eligible schools
and libraries - on their own or as part of a consortium.  Such
records shall be available for public inspection.

2.2 Supported services.

For the purposes of this rules, supported services pro-
vided by telecommunications carriers include all commer-
cially available telecommunications services.

2.3 Other supported special services.

For the purposes of these rules, other supported special
services provided by telecommunications carriers include
Internet access and installation and maintenance of internal
connections.

2.4 Requests for Service.

(a) All eligible schools, libraries, and consortia com-
posed of such entities shall participate in a competitive bid-
ding process, pursuant to the requirements established in 47
C.F.R. § 54.504.  Such competitive bidding process shall be
undertaken in compliance with any applicable provisions of
state law pertaining to procurement of services..

(b) Schools, libraries, and eligible consortia wishing to
receive discounts for eligible services under the federal sup-
port mechanism for intrastate services shall submit requests
for services and facilities in compliance with the requirements
set forth in 47 C.F.R. §§ 54.504, 54.507(d), &  54.509(a).

(c) Schools, libraries, eligible consortia, and service pro-
viders may present to the Public Service Commission com-
plaints regarding intrastate rates if they reasonably believe
that the lowest corresponding price is unfairly high or low.

(1) Schools, libraries, and consortia may re-
quest lower rates if the rate offered by the provider does not
represent the lowest corresponding price.

(2) Service providers may request higher rates
if they can show that the lowest corresponding price is not
compensatory, because the relevant school, library, or con-
sortium is not similarly situated to and subscribing to a simi-
lar set of services to the customer paying the lowest corre-
sponding price.

Section 3: Intrastate Discounts

3.1 Discounts.

(a) Discounts for eligible schools and libraries shall be
set as a percentage discount from the pre-discount price.

 (b) The discounts available to eligible schools and li-
braries shall range from twenty  percent (20%) to ninety per-
cent (90%) of the pre-discount price for all eligible services
provided by eligible providers.  The discounts available to a
particular school, library, or consortium of only such entities
shall be determined by indicators of poverty and high cost.

(1) For schools and school districts, the level of
poverty shall be measured by the percentage of their student
enrollment that is eligible for a free or reduced price lunch
under the national school lunch program or a federally-ap-
proved alternative mechanism.  School districts applying for
eligible services on behalf of their individual schools may
calculate the district-wide percentage of eligible students us-
ing a weighted average.  For example, a school district would
divide the total number of students in the district eligible for
the national school lunch program by the total number of stu-
dents in the district to compute the district-wide percentage
of eligible students.  Alternatively, the district could apply on
behalf of individual schools and use the respective percent-
age discounts for which the individual schools are eligible.

(2) For libraries and library consortia, the level of
poverty shall be based on the percentage of the student en-
rollment that is eligible for a free or reduced price lunch un-
der the national school lunch program or a federally-approved
alternative mechanism in the public school district in which
they are located.  If the library is not in a school district then
its level of poverty shall be based on an average of the per-
centage of students eligible for the national school lunch pro-
gram in each of the school districts that children living in the
library’s location attend.  Library systems applying for dis-
counted services or facilities on behalf of their individual
branches shall calculate the system-wide percentage of eli-
gible families using an unweighted average based on the per-
centage of the student enrollment that is eligible for a free or
reduced price lunch under the national school lunch program
in the public school district in which they are located for each
of their branches or facilities.

(3) Schools and libraries are classified as “urban”
or “rural”  based on location in an urban or rural area, accord-
ing to the following designations.2

(i) Schools and libraries located in New Castle
County and Kent County are designated as urban.

(ii) Schools and libraries located in Sussex
County are designated as rural.
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(c) The following matrix sets forth a discount rate to be

applied to eligible intrastate services and facilities purchased
by eligible schools, school districts, libraries, or library con-
sortia based on the institution’s level of poverty and location.

   SCHOOLS & LIBRARIES DISCOUNT LEVEL

  HOW DISADVANTAGED? urban rural
   % of students eligible for discount discount
national school lunch program

 < 1 20 25
1-19 40 50
20-34 50 60
35-49 60 70
50-74 80 80
75-100 90 90

(d) Consortia applying for discounted services or facili-
ties on behalf of their members shall calculate the portion of
the total bill eligible for a discount using a weighted average
based on the share of the pre-discount price for which each
eligible school or library agrees to be financially liable.  Each
eligible school, school district, library, or library consortia
will be credited with the discount to which it is entitled.

Section 4: Duties and Rights of Eligible Institutions and
Service Providers

4.1 Ordering and bidding for services

(a) In selecting a provider of eligible services and fa-
cilities, schools, libraries, and eligible consortia shall care-
fully consider all bids submitted and may, to the extent per-
mitted by state law, consider relevant factors other than the
pre-discount prices submitted by providers.

(b) Providers of eligible services and facilities shall not
charge schools, school districts, libraries, eligible consortia,
and state agencies a price above the lowest corresponding
price for supported services and facilities, unless the Public
Service Commission finds that the lowest corresponding price
for intrastate services is not compensatory.

(c) Schools and libraries bound by existing contracts for
service shall not be required to breach those contracts in or-
der to qualify for discounts under these rules during the pe-
riod for which they are bound.  This exemption from com-
petitive bidding requirements, however, shall not apply to
voluntary extensions of existing contracts.

4.2 Resale

(a) Eligible services provided at a discount under these
rules  shall not be sold, resold, or transferred in consideration
of money or any other thing of value.

(b) The above prohibition on resale shall not bar schools,
school districts, libraries, and library consortia from charg-
ing either computer lab fees or fees for classes in how to navi-
gate over the Internet.  There is no prohibition on the resale
of services that are not purchased pursuant to the discounts
provided in these rules.

4.3 Support

A telecommunications carrier providing services eligible
for support under these  rules shall receive an offset or reim-
bursement for the amount eligible for support from the fed-
eral universal service support mechanism in such amount as
may be prescribed under the provisions of 47 C.F.R. §§ 54.507
to 54.515.

4.4 Record keeping

Schools and libraries shall maintain for their purchases,
at discounted rates, of telecommunications and other sup-
ported services and facilities the kind of procurement records
that they maintain for other purchases.  Schools and libraries
shall produce such records at the request of any auditor ap-
pointed by the Department of Public Instruction, the federal
universal service administrator, or any state or federal agency
with jurisdiction.  Schools and libraries shall be subject to
random compliance audits to evaluate what services they are
purchasing and how such services are being used.

Section 5: Services Provided by Non-telecommunications
Carriers

5.1 Support for non-telecommunications carriers

(a) Non-telecommunications carriers, not subject to the
jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission, may also be
eligible to receive federal universal service support for pro-
viding eligible covered services for eligible schools, librar-
ies, and consortia, including those entities.

(b) Non-telecommunications carriers shall be eligible for
federal universal service support for providing Internet ac-
cess and installation and maintenance of internal connections.

(c) The terms, conditions, and amount of such support
shall be determined pursuant to the provisions of 47 U.S.C. §
254(h)(2)(A) and 47 C.F. R. §§ 54.505 to 54.511.
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1  For purposes of these rules, citations to provisions in the
Code of Federal Regulations shall be to amendments and ad-
ditions made by the Report and Order (FCC 97-157)  in Fed-
eral-State Board on Universal Service, CC Dckt. No. 96-45
(rel. May 8, 1997) ( - Fed. Reg. - ).

2  The classifications are based on the criteria set forth in 47
C.F.R.  § 54.505(b)(3).  If, under that criteria, the classifica-
tion of a county or an area within a county changes, the dis-
counts should be based on the reclassification.

DELAWARE BOARD OF NURSING

Statutory Authority:  Title 24, Section 1906(1)
of the Delaware Code
(24 Del.C. 1906(1))

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE FOLLOWING
REGULATORY CHANGES WERE

INITIATED PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE
DATE OF THE CURRENT

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT
THE FOLLOWING IS PRESENTED

FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES
ONLY

The Delaware Board of Nursing in accordance with 24 Del.C.
1906(1) has proposed to revise certain sections of Article VIII
of the Rules and Regulations related to the Law regulating
the Practice of Nursing in the State of Delaware that address
the practice of nursing as an Advanced Practice Nurse in the
State of Delaware.

The proposed changes are summarized as follows:

Amend Section 9: Application for Licensure to Practice
as an Advanced Practice Nurse to recognize that a faculty
member teaching in a nursing education program is not re-
quired to be licensed as an Advanced Practice Nurse, but a
faculty member teaching in a graduate level clinical course
may apply for licensure as an Advanced Practice Nurse and
utilize graduate level clinical teaching hours to fulfill the prac-
tice requirement.

Amend Section 10: Temporary Permit for Advanced
Practice Nurse Licensure to extend eligibility for a tempo-
rary permit to an applicant awaiting review by the certifying
agency for acceptance to take the certifying examination.

Amend Section 11: Maintenance of Licensure Status:
Reinstatement to decrease the practice hour requirement to
1500 hours in the past 5 years or 600 hours in the past 2 years.

A public hearing was held on Wednesday, June 11, 1997
at 1:00 p.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Dela-
ware.

Anyone desiring a copy of the revised section of the Rules
and Regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board
of Nursing, Cannon Building, Suite 203, P.O. Box 1401,
Dover, Delaware, 19903.  Persons desiring to submit written
comments on the revised rules and regulations may forward
those comments to the above address.

The final date to receive written comments was at the
public hearing.

ARTICLE VIII RULES AND REGULATIONS GOVERN-
ING THE PRACTICE OF NURSING AS AN ADVANCED
PRACTICE NURSE IN THE STATE OF DELAWARE

SECTION 1:AUTHORITY

1.1 There rules and regulations are adopted by the Dela-
ware Board of Nursing under the authority of the Delaware
Nursing Practice Act, 24 Del.C., §1902(d), §1906(1),
§1906(7).

SECTION 2:PURPOSE

2.1 the general purpose of these rules and regulations is
to assist in protecting and safeguarding the public by regulat-
ing the practice of the Advanced Practice Nurse.

SECTION 3:SCOPE

3.1 These rules and regulations govern the educational
and experience requirements and standards of practice for the
Advanced Practice Nurse.  Prescribing medications and treat-
ments independently is pursuant to the Rules and Regulations
promulgated by the Joint Practice Committee as defined in
24 Del. C., §1906(20).  The Advanced Practice Nurse is re-
sponsible and accountable for her or his practice.  Nothing
herein is deemed to limit the scope of practice or prohibit a
Registered Nurse from engaging in those activities that con-
stitute the practice of professional nursing and/.or professional
nursing in a specialty area.

SECTION 4:DEFINITIONS

4.1 Advanced Practice Nurse
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As defined in 24 Del. C., §1902(d)(1).   Such a nurse will

be given the title Advanced Practice Nurse by state licensure,
and may use the title Advanced Practice Nurse within his/her
specific specialty area.

4.1:1 CERTIFIED NURSE MIDWIFE (C.N.M.)
A Registered Nurse who is a provider for normal mater-

nity, newborn and well-woman gynecological care.  The CNM
designation is received after  completing an accredited post-
basic nursing program in midwifery at schools  of medicine,
nursing or public health, and passing a certification examina-
tion administered by the ACNM Certification Council, Inc.
or other nationally recognized, Board of Nursing approved
certifying organization.

4.1:2 CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE ANES-
THETIST (C.R.N.A.)

A Registered Nurse who has graduated from a nurse an-
esthesia  educational program accredited by the American
Association of Nurse Anesthetists’ Council on Accreditation
of Nurse Anesthesia Educational programs, and who is certi-
fied by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists’
Council on Certification of Nurse Anesthetists or other na-
tionally recognized, Board of Nursing approved certifying
organization.

4.1:3 CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST (C.N.S.)
A Registered Nurse with advanced nursing educational

preparation who functions in primary, secondary, and tertiary
settings with individuals, families, groups, or communities.
The CNS designation is received after graduation from a
Master’s degree program in a clinical nurse specialty or post
Master’s certificate, such as gerontology, maternal child, pe-
diatrics, psych/mental health, etc.  The CNS must have na-
tional certification in the area of specialization at the advanced
level if such a certification exists or as specified in Article
VIII, Section 9.4.1 of these Rules and Regulations.  The cer-
tifying agency must meet the established criteria approved
by the Delaware Board of Nursing.

4.1:4 NURSE PRACTITIONER (N.P.)
A Registered Nurse with advanced nursing educational

preparation who is a provider of primary healthcare in a vari-
ety of settings with a focus on a specific area of practice.  The
NP designation is received after graduation from a Master’s
program or from an accredited post-basic NP certificate pro-
gram of at least one academic year in length in a nurse prac-
titioner specialty such as acute care, adult, family, geriatric,
pediatric, or women’s health, etc.  The NP must have national
certification in the area of specialization at the advanced level
by a certifying agency which meets the established criteria
approved by the Delaware Board of Nursing.

4.2 Audit

The verification of existence of a collaborative agree-
ment for a minimum of 10% of the total number of licenses
issued during a specified time period.

4.3 Board
The Delaware Board of Nursing

4.4 Collaborative Agreement
Written verification of health care facility approved clini-

cal privileges; or health care facility approved job descrip-
tion; or a written document that outlines the process for con-
sultation and referral between an Advanced Practice Nurse
and a licensed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or  licensed Dela-
ware health care delivery system.

4.5 Guidelines/ Protocols
Suggested pathways to be followed by an Advanced Prac-

tice Nurse for  managing a particular medical problem.  These
guidelines/protocols may be developed collaboratively by an
Advanced Practice Nurse and a licensed physician, dentist or
a  podiatrist, or licensed Delaware health care delivery sys-
tem.

4.6 National Certification
That credential earned by a nurse who has met require-

ments of a  Board approved certifying agency.

4.6:1 The agencies so approved include but are not
limited to:

A. American Academy of Nurse Practitioners
B. American Nurses Credentialing Center
C. American Association of Nurse Anesthetists

Council on Certification of Nurse Anesthetists
D. American Association of Nurse Anesthetists Council on
Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists

E. National Certification Corporation for the Ob-
stetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing Specialties

F. National Certification Board of Pediatric Nurse
Practitioners and Nurses.

G. ACNM Certification Council, Inc.

4.7 Post Basic Program

4.7:1 A combined didactic and clinical/preceptored
program of at least one academic year of full time study in
the area of advanced nursing practice with a minimum of 400
clinical/preceptored hours.

4.7:2 The program must be one offered and adminis-
tered by an approved health agency and/or institution of higher
learning,

4.7:3 Post basic means a program taken after licen-
sure is achieved.
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4.8 Scope of Specialized Practice
That area of practice in which an Advanced Practice

Nurse has a Master’s degree or a post-basic program certifi-
cate in a clinical nursing specialty with national certification.

4.9 Supervision
Direction given by a licensed physician or Advanced

Practice Nurse to an Advanced Practice Nurse practicing pur-
suant to a temporary permit.  The  supervising physician or
Advanced Practice Nurse must be periodically available at
the site where care is provided, or available for immediate
guidance.

SECTION 5:GRANDFATHERING PERIOD

5.1 Any person holding a certificate of state licensure as
an Advanced Practice Nurse that is valid on July 8, 1994 shall
b eligible for renewal of such licensure under the conditions
and standards prescribed herein for renewal of licensure.

SECTION 6: STANDARDS FOR THE ADVANCED
PRACTICE NURSE

6.1 Advanced Practice Nurses view clients and their
health concerns from an integrated multi-system perspective.

6.2 Standards provide the practitioner with a framework
within which to operate and with the means to evaluate his/
her practice. In meeting the standards of practice of nursing
in the advanced role, each practitioner, including but not lim-
ited to those listed in Section 4.1 of these Rules and Regula-
tions:

A. Performs comprehensive assessments using ap-
propriate physical and psychosocial parameters;

B. Develops comprehensive nursing care plans
based on current theories and advanced clinical knowledge
and expertise;

C. Initiates and applies clinical treatments based on
expert knowledge and technical competency to client popu-
lations with problems ranging from health promotion  to com-
plex illness and for whom the Advanced Practice Nurse as-
sumes primary care responsibilities. These treatments include,
but are not limited to psychotherapy, administration of anes-
thesia, and vaginal deliveries;

D. Functions under established guidelines/protocols
and/or accepted standards of care;

E. Uses the results of scientifically sound empiri-
cal research as a basis for nursing practice decisions;

F. Uses appropriate teaching/learning strategies to
diagnose learning impediments;

G. Evaluates the quality of individual client care in
accordance with quality assurance and other standards;

H. Reviews and revises guideline/protocols, as nec-
essary;

I. Maintains an accurate written account of the progress of
clients for whom primary care responsibilities are assumed;

J. Collaborates with members of a multi-disciplin-
ary team toward the accomplishment of mutually established
goals;

K. Pursues strategies to enhance access to and use
of adequate health care services;

L. Maintains optimal advanced practice based on
a continual process of review and evaluation of scientific
theory, research findings and current practice;

M. Performs consultative services for clients referred
by other members of the multi-disciplinary team; and

N. Establishes a collaborative agreement with a li-
censed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or licensed Delaware
health care delivery system to facilitate consultation and/or
referral as appropriate in the delivery of health care to clients.

6.3 In addition to these standards, each nurse certified
in an area of specialization and recognized by the Board to
practice as an Advanced  Practice Nurse is responsible for
practice at the level and scope defined for that specialty certi-
fication by the agency which certified the nurse.

SECTION 7: GENERIC FUNCTIONS OF THE AD-
VANCED PRACTICE NURSE WITHIN THE SPECIAL-
IZED SCOPE OF PRACTICE include but are not limited to:

7.1 Eliciting detailed health history(s)

7.2 Defining nursing problem(s)

7.3 Performing physical examination(s)

7.4 Collecting and performing laboratory tests

7.5 Interpreting laboratory data

7.6 Initiating requests for essential laboratory procedures
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7.7 Initiating requests for essential x-rays

7.8 Screening patients to identify abnormal problems

7.9 Initiating referrals to appropriate resources and ser-
vices as necessary

7.10 Initiating or modifying treatment and medica-
tions within established guidelines

7.11 Assessing and reporting changes in the health
of individuals, families and communities

7.12 Providing health education through teaching and
counseling

7.13 Planning and/or instituting health care programs
in the community with other health care professionals and
the public

7.14 Prescribing medications and treatments indepen-
dently pursuant to Rules and Regulations promulgated by the
Joint Practice Committee as defined in 24 Del. C., §1906(20).

SECTION 8:CRITERIA FOR APPROVAL OF CERTIFICA-
TION AGENCIES

8.1 A national certifying body which meets the follow-
ing criteria shall be recognized by the Board to satisfy 24
Del. C., §1902(d)(1).

8.2 The national certifying body:
8.2:1 Is national in the scope of its credentialing.
8.2:2 Has no requirement for an applicant to be a

member of any organization.
8.2:3 Has educational requirements which are consis-

tent with the requirement of these rules.
8.2:4 Has an application process and credential review

which includes  documentation that the applicant’s education
is in the advanced nursing  practice category being certified,
and that the applicant’s clinical practice is  in the certification
category.

8.2:5 Uses an examination as a basis for certification
in the advanced nursing practice category which meets the
following criteria;

8.2:5.1 The examination is based upon job analysis stud-
ies conducted using standard methodologies acceptable to the
testing community;

8.2:5.2 The examination represents the knowledge,
skills and abilities essential for the delivery of safe and effec-
tive advanced nursing care to the clients;

8.2:5.3 The examination content and its distribution are
specified in a test plan (blueprint), based on the job analysis
study, that is available to examinees;

8.2:5.4 Examination items are reviewed for content va-
lidity, cultural sensitivity and correct scoring using an estab-
lished mechanism, both before use and periodically;

8.2:5.5 Examinations are evaluated for psychometric
performance;

8.2:5.6 The passing standard is established using accept-
able psychometric methods, and is reevaluated periodically;
and

8.2:5.7 Examination security is maintained through es-
tablished procedures.

8.2:6 Issues certification based upon passing the ex-
amination and meeting all other certification requirements.

8.2:7 Provides for periodic recertification which in-
cludes review of qualifications and continued competency.

8.2:8 Has mechanisms in place for communication to
Boards of Nursing for timely verification of an individual’s
certification status, changes in certification status, and changes
in the certification program,  including qualifications, test plan
and scope of practice.

8.2:9 Has an evaluation process to provide quality
assurance in its certification program.

SECTION 9: APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE TO
PRACTICE AS AN ADVANCED PRACTICE NURSE

9.1 Application for licensure as a Registered Nurse shall
be made on forms supplied by the Board.

9.2 In addition, an application for licensure to practice
as an Advanced Practice Nurse shall be made on forms sup-
plied by the Board.

9.2:1 The APN applicant shall be required to furnish
the name(s) of the licensed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or
licensed Delaware health care delivery system with whom a
current collaborative agreement exists.

9.2:2 Notification of changes in the name of the li-
censed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or licensed Delaware
health care delivery system shall be forwarded to the Board
office.

9.3 Each application shall be returned to the Board of-
fice together with appropriate documentation and non-refund-
able fees.

9.4 A Registered Nurse meeting the practice requirement
as listed in Section 11 and all other requirements set forth in
these Rules and Regulations may be issued a license as an
Advanced Practice Nurse in the specific area of specializa-
tion in which the nurse has been nationally certified at the
advanced level and/or has earned a Master’s degree in a clini-
cal nursing specialty.
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9.4:1 Clinical nurse specialists, whose subspecialty

area can be categorized under a broad scope of nursing prac-
tice for which a Board-approved national certification exami-
nation exists, are required to pass this certification examina-
tion to qualify for permanent licensure as an Advanced Prac-
tice Nurse.  This would include, but not be limited to medi-
cal-surgical and psychiatric-mental health nursing.  If a more
specific post-graduate level certification examination that has
Board of Nursing approval is available within the clinical
nursing specialist’s subspecialty area at the time of licensure
application, the applicant may substitute this examination for
the broad-based clinical nursing specialist certification ex-
amination.

9.4:2 Faculty members teaching in nursing education
programs are not required to be licensed as Advanced Prac-
tice Nurses.  Those faculty members  teaching in graduate
level clinical courses may apply for licensure as  Advanced
Practice Nurses and utilize graduate level clinical teaching
hours to fulfill the practice requirement as stated in 11.2.1.

9.5 Renewal of licensure shall be on a date consistent
with the current Registered Nurse renewal period. A renewal
fee shall be paid.

9.6 The Board may refuse to issue, revoke, suspend or
refuse to renew the license as an Advanced Practice Nurse or
otherwise discipline an applicant or a practitioner who fails
to meet the requirements for licensure as an Advanced Prac-
tice Nurse or as a registered nurse, or who commits any disci-
plinary offense under the Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del. C. Chap-
ter 19, or the Rules and Regulations promulgated pursuant
thereto.  All decisions regarding independent practice and/or
independent prescriptive authority are made by the Joint Prac-
tice Committee as provided in 24 Del. C., Section 1906(20) -
(22).

SECTION 10: TEMPORARY  PERMIT FOR AD-
VANCED PRACTICE NURSE LICENSURE

10.1 A temporary permit to practice, pending Board
approval for permanent licensure, may be issued provided
that:

A. The individual applying has also applied for li-
censure to practice as a Registered Nurse in Delaware, or

B. The individual applying holds a current license
in Delaware, and

C. The individual submits proof of graduation from
a nationally accredited or Board approved Master’s or cer-
tificate advanced practice  nursing program, and has  passed
the certification examination, or

D. The individual is a graduate of a Master’s pro-
gram in a clinical nursing specialty for which there is no cer-
tifying examination, and can show evidence of a least 1000
hours of clinical nursing practice within the past 24 months.

E. Application(s) and fee(s) are on file in the Board
office.

10.1:1 A temporary permit to practice, under supervi-
sion only, may be issued at the discretion of the Executive
Director provided that:

A. The individual meets the requirements in 10.1.A.
or B., and E. and;

B. The individual submits proof of graduation from
a nationally accredited or Board approved Master’s or cer-
tificate advanced practice nurse program, and;

C. The individual submits proof of admission into
the approved certifying agency’s exam examination or is a
graduate of a Master’s program in a clinical nursing specialty,
is practicing as a clinical nurse specialist accruing seeking a
temporary permit to practice under supervision at accrue the
practice hours required to sit for the certifying examination
or has accrued the hours required to sit for the certifying  ex-
amination or has accrued the required practice hours and is
scheduled to take the first advanced certifying examination
upon eligibility or is accruing the practice hours referred to in
10.1 D; or,

D. The individual meets A and B hereinabove and
is awaiting review by the certifying agency for eligibility to
sit for the certifying examination.

10.2If the certifying examination has been passed, the
appropriate form must accompany the application.

10.3A temporary permit may be issued:
A.  For up to two years in three month periods.
B.  At the discretion of the Executive Director.

10.4A temporary permit will be withdrawn:
A. Upon failure to pass the first certifying exami-

nation
1. The applicant may petition the Board of

Nursing to extend a temporary permit under supervision until
results of the next available certification exam are available
by furnishing the following information:

a. current employer reference,
b. supervision available,

c. job description,
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d. letter outlining any extenuating cir-

cumstances,
e. any other information the Board of

Nursing deems necessary.
B. In the absence of a collaborative agreement.
C. For other reasons stipulated under temporary

permits elsewhere in these Rules and Regulations.

10.5 A lapsed temporary permit for designation is
equivalent to a lapsed license and the same rules apply.

10.6 Failure of the certifying examination does not
impact on the retention of the basic professional Registered
Nurse licensure.

10.7 Any person practicing or holding oneself out as
an Advanced Practice Nurse in any category without a Board
authorized license in such category shall be considered an
illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the penalties pro-
vided for violations of the Law regulating the Practice of
Nursing in Delaware, (Chapter 19, Title 24).

10.8 Endorsement of Advanced Practice Nurse des-
ignation from another state is processed the same as for licen-
sure by endorsement, provided that the applicant meets the
criteria for an Advanced Practice Nurse license in Delaware.

SECTION 11: MAINTENANCE OF LICENSURE STA-
TUS: REINSTATEMENT

11.1 To maintain licensure, the Advanced Practice
Nurse must meet the requirements for recertification as es-
tablished by the certifying agency.

11.2 The Advanced Practice Nurse must have prac-
ticed practice a minimum of 2500 1500 hours in a the past
five years period, acquiring or no less than 300 600 hours of
practice in the past two per years in the area of specialization
in which recognition licensure has been granted.

11.2:1 Faculty members teaching in graduate level
clinical courses may count a maximum of 500 didactic course
contact hours in the past five years or 200  in the past two
years and all hours of direct on-site clinical supervision of
students to meet the practice requirement.

11.2:1  2 An Advanced Practice Nurse who does not
meet the practice requirement may be issued a temporary
permit to practice under the supervision of a person licensed
to practice medicine, surgery, dentistry, or advanced practice
nursing, as determined on an individual basis by the Board.

11.3 The Advanced Practice Nurse will be required
to furnish the name(s) of the licensed physician, dentist, po-
diatrist, or licensed Delaware health care delivery system with
whom a current collaborative agreement exists.

11.4 Advanced Practice Nurses who fail to renew
their licenses by December 31 of the renewal period shall be
considered to have lapsed licenses.  After December 31 of
the current licensing period, any requests for reinstatement
of a lapsed license shall be presented to the Board for  action.

11.5 To reinstate licensure status as an Advanced
Practice Nurse, the requirements for recertification and 2500
1500 hours of practice in the past five years or no less than
600 hours in the past two years in the specialty area must be
met or the process described in 11.4 followed.

11.6 An application for reinstatement of designation
must be filed and the appropriate fee paid.

SECTION 12 AUDIT OF LICENSEES

12.1 The Board may select licensees for audit two
months prior to renewal in any biennium.  The Board shall
notify the licensees that they are to be audited for compliance
of having a collaborative agreement.

A. Upon receipt of such notice, the licensee must
submit a copy of a current collaborative agreement(s) within
three weeks of receipt of the notice.

B. The Board shall notify the licensee of the re-
sults of the audit immediately following the Board meeting at
which the audits are  reviewed.

C. An unsatisfactory audit shall result in Board ac-
tion.

D. Failure to notify the Board of a change in mail-
ing address will not absolve the licensee from audit require-
ments.

12.2 The Board may select licensees for audit
throughout the biennium.

SECTION 13 EXCEPTIONS TO THE REQUIRE-
MENTS TO PRACTICE

13.1 The requirements set forth in Section 9 shall not
apply to a Registered Nurse who is duly enrolled as a bona
fide student in an approved  educational program for Ad-
vanced Practice Nurses as long as the practice is confined to
the educational requirements of the program and is under the
direct supervision of a qualified instructor.
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

Statutory Authority:  Title 19, Section
202(a)(1) of the Delaware Code

 (19 Del.C. 202(a)(1))

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE FOLLOWING
REGULATORY CHANGES WERE

INITIATED PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE
DATE OF THE CURRENT

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT
THE FOLLOWING IS PRESENTED FOR

INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY

* * * DRAFT * * *
APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAMS

REGULATIONS AND STANDARDS
OF DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING
OFFICE OF APPRENTICESHIP AND TRAINING

INDEX
(To be completed)

PURPOSE AND SCOPE

(A) Section 204, Chapter 2, Title 19, Delaware Code
authorizes and directs the Department of Labor to formulate
regulations to promote the furtherance of labor standards nec-
essary to safeguard the welfare of Apprentices and to extend
the applications of such standards by requiring their inclu-
sion in apprenticeship contracts.

(B) The purpose of this chapter is to set forth labor stan-
dards to safeguard the welfare of Apprentices and to extend
the application of such standards by prescribing policies and
procedures concerning the registration of acceptable Appren-
ticeship Programs with the Delaware Department of Labor.

(C) These labor standards and procedures cover the Reg-
istration and Cancellation of Apprenticeship Agreements and
of Apprenticeship Programs; and matters relating thereto.

DECLARATION OF POLICY

It is declared to be the policy of this State to:

(A) encourage the development of an apprenticeship and
training system through the voluntary cooperation of man-
agement and workers and interested State agencies and in
cooperation with other states and the federal government;

(B) provide for the establishment and furtherance of
Standards of Apprenticeship and Training to safeguard the
welfare of Apprentices and trainees;

(C) aid in providing maximum opportunities for unem-
ployed and employed persons to improve and modernize their
work skills; and

(D) contribute to a healthy economy by aiding in the
development and maintenance of a skilled labor force suffi-
cient in numbers and quality to meet the expanding needs of
industry and to attract new industry.

SEC. 106.2 DEFINITIONS

As used in this part:

(A) “ADMINISTRATOR” refers to the Administrator
of the Office of Apprenticeship and Training Section for the
State Department of Labor.

(B) “AGREEMENT” refers to a written agreement be-
tween an Apprentice and either his/her employer or an Ap-
prenticeship Committee acting as agent for the Employer
which contains the terms and conditions of the employment
and training of the Apprentice.

(C) “APPRENTICE” refers to a person at least sixteen
years of age who is engaged in learning a recognized skilled
trade through actual work experience under the supervision
of Journeypersons.  This person must have entered into a
written Apprenticeship Agreement with a registered appren-
ticeship Sponsor.  The training must be supplemented with
properly coordinated studies of related technical instruction.

(D) “APPRENTICESHIP STANDARDS” refers to the
document which embodies the procedure for the selection and
the training of apprentices, setting forth the terms of the train-
ing, including wages, hours, conditions of employment, train-
ing on the job, and related instruction.  The duties and re-
sponsibilities of the Sponsor, including administrative proce-
dures, are set forth in their company’s policies.

(E) “CANCELLATION” refers to the deregistration of
a Program or the Termination of an Agreement.

(F) “COMMITTEE” refers to those persons designated
by the Sponsor to act on its behalf in the administration of the
Apprenticeship Program.  A Committee may be “joint” i.e., it
is composed of an equal number of representatives of the
employer(s) and of the employee(s) represented by a bona
fide collective bargaining agent(s)  and has been established
to conduct, operate or administer a Program and enter into
Agreements with Apprentices.  A Committee may be “unilat-
eral” or “non-joint” and shall mean a Program Sponsor in
which a bona fide collective bargaining agent is not a partici-
pant.

(G) “COUNCIL” refers to the State’s *** Governor’s***
Advisory Council On Apprenticeship and Training.
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(H) “DELAWARE RESIDENT CONTRACTOR” in-

cludes any general contractor, prime contractor, construction
manager, subcontractor or other type of construction contrac-
tor who regularly maintains a place of business in Delaware.
Regularly maintaining a place of business in Delaware does
not include site trailers, temporary structures associated with
one contract or set of related contracts, nor the holding, nor
the maintaining of a post office box within this State.  The
specific intention of this definition is to maintain consistency
with Title 30, Delaware Code, “Resident Contractor”.

(I) “DIRECTOR” refers to the Director of the Division
of Employment and Training.

(J) “DIVISION” refers to the Division of Employment
and Training, Department of Labor, state of Delaware.

(K) “EMPLOYER” refers to any person or organization
employing an Apprentice, whether or not such person or or-
ganization is a party to an Apprenticeship Agreement.

(L) “JOURNEYPERSON” refers to a worker who is
fully qualified as a skilled worker in a given craft or trade.

(M) “ON-SITE VISIT” refers to a visit from a represen-
tative of the State of Delaware, Department of Labor, Divi-
sion of Employment and Training to the office and/or the
actual field job-site of the Sponsor, for the purposes of in-
specting and/or monitoring the progress and training of the
Registered Apprentice.  This monitoring may include but is
not limited to  interviewing the Apprentice and the auditing
of pertinent documents relative to the maintenance and en-
forcement of the terms of the Apprenticeship Agreement.

(N) “PROGRAM” refers to an executed apprenticeship
plan which contains all terms and conditions for the qualifi-
cations, recruitment, selection, employment and training of
Apprentices, including such matters as the requirements for a
written Apprenticeship Agreement.

(P)(O) “REGISTRANT OR SPONSOR” refers to any
Employer/Business person, association, committee or orga-
nization in whose name or title the Program is (or is to be)
registered or approved regardless of whether or not such en-
tity is an Employer.

(Q) “REGISTRATION” refers to the acceptance and
recording of an Apprenticeship Program by the Delaware
Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship & Training,
as meeting the basic standards and requirements of the Divi-
sion for approval of such Program.  Approval is evidenced
by a Certificate or other written indicia documentation.  Reg-
istration also refers to the acceptance and recording of Ap-
prenticeship Agreements thereof, by the Delaware Depart-
ment of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship & Training as evi-
dence of the participation of the Apprentice in a particular
Registered apprenticeship Program.

(R) “RELATED INSTRUCTION” refers to a formal and
systematic form of instruction designed to provide the Ap-
prentice with knowledge of the theoretical and technical sub-
jects related to his/her trade.

(S) “SECRETARY” refers to the Secretary of Labor.

(T) “STATE” refers to the state of Delaware
(U) “SUPERVISORY INSPECTION” shall mean the

same as “ON SITE VISIT”.

SEC. 106.3 ELIGIBILITY AND PROCEDURE FOR
STATE REGISTRATION

(A) No Program or Agreement shall be eligible for State
Registration unless it is in conformity with the requirements
of this chapter, and the training is in an apprenticeable occu-
pation having the characteristics set forth in SEC. 106.4 herein.

(B) Apprentices must be individually registered under a
Registered Program with the State of Delaware, Department
of Labor, Division of Employment and Training.  Such Reg-
istration shall be effected by filing copies of each Agreement
with the State.  Agencies listed with states other than the State
of Delaware shall not be construed as being registered for
State of Delaware Apprenticeship Program Registration pur-
poses.

(C) The State must be properly notified through the
proper office Department of Labor, Division of Employment
& Training, Office of Apprenticeship & Training of cancel-
lation, suspension or termination of any Agreements, (with
cause for same) and of apprenticeship completions.  The State
will attempt, where applicable, to verify the cause of appren-
ticeship termination.

(D) Approved Programs shall be accorded Registration,
evidenced by a Certificate of Registration.  The Certificate of
Registration for an approved Program will be made in the
name of the Program Sponsor and must be renewed every
four (4) years.

(E) Any modification(s) or change(s) to registered stan-
dards shall be promptly submitted to the State through the
appropriate office no later than thirty (30) days and, if ap-
proved, shall be recorded and acknowledged as an amend-
ment to such standards.

(F) The request for registration and all documents and
data required by this chapter shall be submitted in triplicate.
Individual Agreements shall be submitted to the State Ap-
prenticeship and Training Office for Registration no later than
thirty (30) calendar days after the trainee has started work in
the registered Program.  Agreements submitted after said time
shall be considered a violation of the rules and regulations
and will not be honored.

(G) Under a Program proposed for Registration by an
Employer or Employer’s Association, where the standards,
collective bargaining agreement or other instrument provides
for participation by a union in any way in the operation of the
Program, and such participation is exercised, written acknowl-
edgment of a union agreement or “no objection” to the Reg-
istration is required.  Where no such participation is evidenced
and practiced, the Employer shall simultaneously furnish to
the union a copy of its Program application.  In addition, upon
receipt of the application for the Program, the State shall
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promptly send by certified mail to such local union another
copy of the Program application and together with a notice
that union comments will be accepted for thirty (30) days
after the date of the agency transmittal.

(H) Where the employees to be trained have no collec-
tive bargaining agent, a program plan may be proposed for
Registration by an Employer or groups of Employers.

(I) A Sponsor may register Programs A Program may
be Registered in one or more occupations simultaneously or
individually with the provision that the Program Sponsor shall,
within sixty (60) days of Registration, be actively training
Apprentices on the job, and related study must begin within
twelve (12) months for in each occupation for which Regis-
tration is granted.  At no time shall an individual Apprentice
be employed in more than one (1) occupation, nor signed to
more than one (1) Apprenticeship Agreement at any given
time.

(J) Each occupation for which a Program Sponsor holds
Registration shall be subject to Cancellation if no active train-
ing of Apprentices on the job has occurred within a consecu-
tive one hundred eighty (180) day period or if no Related
Instruction has begun within a twelve (12) month period from
the date of Registration or in any twelve (12) month period
during the duration of that Agreement.

(K) Each Sponsor of a Program shall submit to an on-
site inspection or supervisory visit and shall make all docu-
ments pertaining to the Registered Program available to ap-
propriate representatives of the Apprenticeship and Training
Office or designated service personnel upon request.

(L) Each Sponsor shall be so routinely examined, at least
annually, but not more than every six (6) months, unless a
specific violation is suspected or a specific document is be-
ing investigated.

(M) The Sponsor shall notify the State Registration
Agency of termination or lay-off from employment of a Reg-
istered Apprentice or of the completion of the terms of the
Apprenticeship Agreement within thirty (30) calendar days
of such occurrence.

(N) The Sponsor shall notify the State of failure to ob-
tain and register the Apprentice in an approved course of
Related Instruction as stated and detailed on the Apprentice-
ship Agreement within (30) calendar days of such occupance.

(O) It shall be the responsibility of the Sponsor to moni-
tor the progress and attendance of the Apprentice in all phases
of training such as, but not limited to, on-the-job and/or Re-
lated Training.

SEC.106.4 CRITERIA FOR APPRENTICE ABLE OCCU-
PATIONS

An APPRENTICEABLE occupation is a skilled trade
which possesses all of the following characteristics:

(A) It is customarily learned in a practical way through
training and work on the job.

(B) It is clearly identified and commonly recognized
throughout the industry, or recognized with a positive view
towards changing technology or approved by the Delaware
Department of Labor, ***Office of***  Apprenticeship &
Training.

(C) It involves manual, technical or mechanical skills
and knowledge which require a minimum of two thousand
(2,000) hours of on-the-job training, not including the time
spent in Related Instruction.

(D) It customarily requires Related Instruction to supple-
ment the on-the-job training.

(E) It involves the development of skills sufficiently
broad enough to be applicable in similar occupations through-
out the industry, rather than a restricted application to the
products or services of any one company.

SEC. 106.5 STANDARDS OF APPRENTICESHIP

The following standards are prescribed for a Program.
(A) The Program must include an organized, written plan

delineating the terms and conditions of employment.  The
training and supervision of one or more Apprentices in an
apprenticeable occupation must become the responsibility of
the Sponsor who has undertaken to carry out the Apprentice’s
training program.

(B) The standards must contain provisions concerning
the following:

(1) The employment and training of the Apprentice
in a skilled occupation;

(2) an equal opportunity pledge stating the recruit-
ment, selection, employment and training of Apprentices dur-
ing their apprenticeships shall be without discrimination based
on: race, color, religion, national origin or sex.  When appli-
cable, an affirmative action plan in accordance with the State’s
requirements for federal purposes must be instituted;

(3) the existence of a term of apprenticeship, not
less than one year or two thousand (2,000) hours consistent
with training requirements as established by industry prac-
tice;

(4) an outline of the work processes in which the
Apprentice will receive supervised work experience and on-
the-job training, and the allocation of the approximate time
to be spent in each major process;

(5) provision for organized related and supplemen-
tal instruction in technical subjects related to the trade.  A
minimum of one hundred forty-four (144) hours for each year
of apprenticeship is required.  Such instruction may be given
in a classroom, through trade, industrial or approved corre-
spondence courses of equivalent value or in other forms ap-
proved by the State Department of Labor Office of Appren-
ticeship & Training
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(6) a progressively increasing schedule of wage rates

to be paid the Apprentice, consistent with the skill acquired
which shall be expressed in percentages of the established
Journeyperson’s hourly wage;

(7) Minimum Wage Progression for 1 through 7
year Apprentice Program as follows:

1) 1 to 7 year programs
2) starting pay must be at least minimum wage
3) final period must be at least 85%

1 YEAR [OR] 2,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 85%

2 YEAR [OR] 4,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 51%
3rd 1,000 hours: 63%
4th 1,000 hours: 85%

3 YEAR [OR] 6,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 48%
3rd 1,000 hours: 57%
4th 1,000 hours: 65%
5th 1,000 hours: 74%
6th 1,000 hours: 85%

4 YEAR [OR] 8,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 46%
3rd 1,000 hours: 53%
4th 1,000 hours: 59%
5th 1,000 hours: 65%
6th 1,000 hours: 71%
7TH 1,000 hours: 78%
8th 1,000 hours: 85%

5 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 45%
3rd 1,000 hours: 50%
4th 1,000 hours: 55%
5th 1,000 hours: 60%
6th 1,000 hours: 65%
7TH 1,000 hours: 70%
8th 1,000 hours: 74%
9th 1,000 hours: 79%
10th 1,000 hours: 85%

6 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 44%
3rd 1,000 hours: 48%
4th 1,000 hours: 52%
5th 1,000 hours: 56%
6th 1,000 hours: 60%
7TH 1,000 hours: 64%
8th 1,000 hours: 68%
9th 1,000 hours: 72%
10th 1,000 hours: 76%
11th 1,000 hours: 81%
12th 1,000 hours: 85%

7 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 43%
3rd 1,000 hours: 47%
4th 1,000 hours: 50%
5th 1,000 hours: 54%
6th 1,000 hours: 57%
7TH 1,000 hours: 61%
8th 1,000 hours: 64%
9th 1,000 hours: 68%
10th 1,000 hours: 71%
11th 1,000 hours: 74%
12th 1,000 hours: 78%
13th 1,000 hours: 81%
14th 1,000 hours: 85%

(8) that the entry Apprentice wage rate shall not be
less than the minimum prescribed by State statute or by the
Fair Labor Standards Act, where applicable;

(9) That the established Journeyperson’s hourly rate
applicable among all participating Employers be stated in
dollars and cents.  No Apprentice shall receive an hourly rate
less than the percentage for the period in which he/she is serv-
ing applied to the established Journeyperson’s rate unless the
Sponsor has documented the reason for same in the individual
Apprentice’s progress report and has explained the reason
for said action to the Apprentice *** and Registration
Agency***.  In no case other than sickness or injury on the
part of the Apprentice, shall a Sponsor hold back an
Apprentice’s progression more than one period or wage in-
crement without the written consent of the Administrator;

(10)That the established Journeyperson’s rate pro-
vided for by the Standards be reviewed and/or adjusted annu-
ally.  Sponsors of Programs shall be required to give proof
that all employees used in determining ratios of Apprentices
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to Journeypersons shall be receiving wages at least in the
amount set for Journeypersons in their individual program
standards, or are qualified to perform as Journey persons; ***
and must be paid at least the minimum journeyperson rate***;

(11)that the minimum hourly Apprentice wage rate
paid during the last period of apprenticeship not be less than
eighty-five (85) percent of the established Journeyperson wage
rate. Wages covered by a collective bargaining agreement
takes precedent over this section. However, wages may not
be below the State’s required minimum progression.

(C) The Program must include a periodic review and
evaluation of the Apprentice’s progress in job performance
and related instruction, and the maintenance of appropriate
progress records.

(D) The ratio of Apprentices to Journeypersons should
be consistent with proper supervision, training and continu-
ity of employment or applicable provisions in collective bar-
gaining agreements.  The ratio of Apprentices to
Journeypersons shall be one Apprentice to each five (5)
Journeypersons employed by the prospective Sponsor.  More
restrictive ratios will be granted upon request. More liberal
ratios may be granted only after the requesting Sponsor has
demonstrated that the number of Apprentices to be trained
shall be in relation to:

(1) the needs of the plant and/or trade in the com-
munity with consideration for growth and expansion;

(2) the facilities and personnel available for train-
ing are adequate; and

(3) a reasonable opportunity that employment of
skilled workers on completion exists.

The following ratios will be recognized as standard for
the trades of:

Apprentice up to Journeyperson
Carpenter 1 5
Plumber/Pipefitter 1 5
Sheet Metal Worker 1 4
Insulation Worker 1 4
Electrician 1 3

If a “collective bargaining agreement” exists and stipu-
lates a ratio of Apprentices to Journey persons, it shall pre-
vail.  Provided the Bargaining Ratio is not lower than the
State standard.

(E) At least forty (40) percent of all Apprentices regis-
tered must complete training.  Apprentices who voluntarily
terminate their apprenticeships or employment shall not be
counted in reference to this section.  Programs with fewer
than five (5) Apprentices shall not be required to comply with
this part.

(F) A probationary period shall be in relation to the full
apprenticeship term with full credit toward completion of
apprenticeship.

(G) Adequate and safe equipment facilities for training
and supervision and safety training for Apprentices on the
job and in Related Instruction are required.

(H) The required minimum qualifications for persons
entering an Apprentice Program as defined n Section 106.2(C)
must be met.

(I) Apprentices must sign an Agreement.  The Agree-
ment shall directly, or by reference, incorporate the standards
of the Program as part of the Agreement.

(J) Advance standing or credit up to one quarter 25%
OJT hours of the particular trade term in question for previ-
ously acquired experience, training skills, or aptitude for all
applicants equally, with commensurate wages for any ac-
corded progression step may be granted.  The granting of a
greater amount of credit shall be set at the discretion of the
Administrator based on supportive documentation submitted
by the Sponsor.  In no case shall more than one half of the
particular trade term in question be granted unless the time in
question has been spent in an approved State or Federally
Registered Program.

(K) Transfer of Employer’s training obligation through
the sponsoring Committee if one exists and as warranted, to
another Employer with consent of the Apprentice and the
Committee or Program Sponsors, with full credit to the Ap-
prentice for satisfactory time and training earned, may be af-
forded with written notice to, and the approval of, the Regis-
tration Agency.

(L) These Standards shall contain a statement of assur-
ance of qualified training personnel.

(M) There will be recognition for successful completion
of apprenticeship evidenced by an appropriate certificate.
However, School District Officials may bring to the
Administrator’s attention, individual cases that may have ex-
perienced extenuating circumstances.  With the
Administrator’s approval, such individuals may be granted
exemption from this attendance policy.

(N) These Standards shall contain proper identification
of the Registration Agency, being the Department of Labor,
Division of Employment & Training, Office of Apprentice-
ship & Training.

(O) There will be a provision for the Registration, Can-
cellation and Deregistration of the Program, and a require-
ment for the prompt submission of any modification or amend-
ment thereto.

(P) There will be provisions for Registration of Agree-
ments, modifications and amendments, notice to the Division
of persons who have successfully completed Programs, and
notice of Cancellations, suspensions and terminations of
Agreements an causes therefore.

(Q) There will be a provision giving authority for the
termination of an Agreement during the probationary period
by either party without stated cause.
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(R) There will be provisions for not less than five (5)

days notice to Apprentices of any proposed adverse action
and cause therefore with stated opportunity to Apprentices
during such period for corrective action. unless other accept-
able procedures are provided for in a collective bargaining
agreement.

(S) There will be provisions for a grievance procedure,
and the name and address of the appropriate authority under
the program to receive, process and make disposition of com-
plaints.

(T) There will be provisions for recording and maintain-
ing all records concerning apprenticeships as may be required
by the State or Federal law.

(U) There will be provisions for a participating
Employer’s Agreement.

(V) There will be funding formula providing for the eq-
uitable participation of each participating Employer in fund-
ing of a group Program where applicable.

(W) All Apprenticeship Standards must contain articles
necessary to comply with federal laws, regulations and rules
pertaining to apprenticeship.

(X) Programs and Standards of Employers and unions
in other than the building and construction industry which
jointly form a sponsoring entity on a multi-state basis and are
registered pursuant to all requirements of this part by any rec-
ognized State apprenticeship agency shall be accorded Reg-
istration of approval reciprocity by the Delaware Department
of Labor if such reciprocity is requested by the sponsoring
entity.  However, reciprocity will not be granted in the Build-
ing and Construction industry based on John Modica’s letter
to Harry F. Plummer, dated April 19, 1996 based on Title 29
CFR 29 section 12(b).

SEC. 106.6 APPRENTICESHIP AGREEMENT

The Apprenticeship Agreement shall contain:
(A) the names and signatures of the contracting par-

ties (Apprentice and the program Sponsor or Employer), and
the signature of a parent or guardian if the Apprentice is a
minor;

(B) the date of birth of the Apprentice;
(C) the name and address of the program Sponsor

and the Registrant;
(D) the Apprentice’s social security number;
(E) a statement of the trade or craft which the Ap-

prentice is to be taught, and the beginning date and term (du-
ration) of apprenticeship;

(F) the number of hours to be spent by the Appren-
tice in work on the job;

(G) the number of hours to be spent in Related and
Supplemental Instruction is recommended to be not less than
one hundred forty-four (144) hours per year;

(H) provisions relating to a specific period of pro-
bation during which the Apprenticeship Agreement may be
terminated by either party to the Agreement upon written
notice to the Registrant;

(I) provisions that, after the probationary period, the
Agreement may be suspended, canceled or terminated for
good cause, with due notice to the Apprentice and a reason-
able opportunity for corrective action, and with written no-
tice to the Apprentice and the Registrant of the final action
taken;

(J) a reference incorporating, as part of the Agree-
ment, the standards of the Apprenticeship Program as it ex-
ists on the date of the Agreement or as it may be amended
during the period of the Agreement;

(K) a statement that the Apprentice will be accorded
equal opportunity in all phases of apprenticeship employment
and training without discrimination based on race, age, color,
religion, national origin or sex;

(L) a statement that, if an Employer is unable to ful-
fill his obligation under his Agreement, the Agreement may,
with consent of the Apprentice and Committee, if one exists,
be transferred to another Employer under a Registered Pro-
gram with written notice of the transfer to the Registrant, and
with full credit to the Apprentice for satisfactory time and
training earned;

(M) the name and address of the appropriate author-
ity, if any, designated under the program to receive, process
and make disposition of controversies or differences which
cannot be adjusted locally or resolved in accordance with the
established trade procedure or applicable collective bargain-
ing provisions;

(N) a statement setting forth a schedule of work pro-
cesses in the trade or industry in which the Apprentice is to
be trained and the approximate time to be spent at each pro-
cess;

(O) a statement of the graduated scale of wages to
be paid the Apprentice and whether or not the required school
time shall be compensated;

(P) a statement that in the event the Registration of
the Program has been Canceled or revoked, the Apprentice
will be notified within fifteen (15) days of the event.

SEC. 106.7 DEREGISTRATION BY STATE

(A) Deregistration proceedings shall may be undertaken
when the Program is not conducted, operated or administered
in accordance with the Registration standards and the require-
ments of this chapter;

(B) Where it appears the Program is not being operated
in accordance with the Registered standards or with the re-
quirements of the chapter, the Administrator shall so notify
the Program Registrant in writing;
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(C) The notice shall be sent by registered or certified

mail, return receipt requested, and shall state the deficiency(s)
or violation(s);

(D) It is declared to be the policy of this State to:
(1) deny the privilege of operation of a Program to

persons who, by their conduct and record, have demonstrated
their indifference to the aforementioned policies; and

(2) discourage repetition of violations of rules and
regulations governing the operation of Registered Appren-
ticeship Programs by individuals, Sponsors, or Committees
against the prescribed policies of the State, and its political
subdivisions, and to impose increased and added deprivation
of the privilege to operate Programs against those who have
been found in violation of these rules and regulations;

(3) deregister a Program either upon the voluntary
action of the Registrant by a request for cancellation of the
Registration, or upon notice by the State to the Registrant
stating cause, and instituting formal deregistration proceed-
ings in accordance with the provisions of this chapter;

(4) at the request of Sponsor, permit the Adminis-
trator to cancel the Registration of a Program by a written
acknowledgment of such request stating, but not limited to,
the following:

(a) the Registration is canceled at Sponsor’s
request and giving the effective date of such cancellation.

(b) that, within fifteen (15) working days of the
date of the acknowledgment, the Registrant must notify all
Apprentices of such Cancellation and the effective date that
such Cancellation automatically deprives the Apprentice of
his/her individual Registration.

(D) Any Sponsor who violates major provisions of the
rules repeatedly, as determined by the Administrator of Ap-
prenticeship and Training (three or more violations in any
given twelve month period), shall be sent a notice which shall
contain the violations and will inform the Sponsor that the
Program will be placed in a probationary status for the next
six (6) month period.  Any new major violations in this pe-
riod shall constitute cause for deregistration.  In such a case,
the Administrator shall notify the chairman of the Appren-
ticeship and Training Council, who shall convene the Coun-
cil.  The Sponsor in question will be notified of said meeting
and may present whatever facts, witnesses, etc., that the Spon-
sor deems appropriate.  After said hearing, the Council shall
make a recommendation based on the facts presented to the
Secretary, as to whether the Program should be deregistered.
The Secretary’s decision shall be final and binding on the
matter.

(E) Sponsors with fewer than three (3) violations shall
be sent a notice by registered or certified mail, return receipt
requested, stating the deficiencies found and the remedy re-
quired and shall state that the Program will be deregistered

for cause unless corrective action is taken within thirty (30)
days.  Upon request by Registrant, the thirty (30) day period
may be extended for up to an additional thirty (30) day pe-
riod.

(F) If the required action is not taken within the allotted
time, the Administrator shall send a notice to the Registrant
by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, stat-
ing the following:

(1) this notice is sent pursuant to this subsection;
(2) that certain deficiencies were called to the

Registrant’s attention and remedial action requested;
(3) based upon the stated cause and failure of rem-

edy, the Program will be deregistered, unless within fifteen
(15) working days of receipt of this notice, the Registrant
requests a hearing;

(4) If a hearing is not requested by the Registrant,
the Program will automatically be deregistered.

(G) Every order of deregistration shall contain a provi-
sion that the Registrant and State shall, within fifteen (15)
working days of the effective date of the order, notify all reg-
istered Apprentices of the deregistration of the Program, the
effective date, and that such action automatically deprives
the Apprentice of his/her individual Registration.

(H) Regulations concerning Apprentices “attendance and
tardiness” policy for related instruction.

(1) A registered Apprentice who misses seven (7)
classes while enrolled in a related studies program at any of
the vocational schools in the three (3) counties of the State of
Delaware will be dropped from school.  This will result in
their Apprenticeship Agreement being terminated by their
Sponsor and/or State Registration Agency.

(2) An absence will result when an Apprentice ei-
ther arrives late or leaves early three (3) times.

(3) Courses of fewer sessions will be prorated.  In-
structors will inform Apprentices of allowable absences.

(4) If you are a Registered Apprentice who is en-
rolled through a trade union, trade society or any other orga-
nization that stipulates attendance rules more stringent than
the above, then you are required to follow those regulations.

(5) Related Instruction that is delivered through a
state approved “in-house program”, correspondence courses
or other systems of equivalent value will require the Appren-
tice to produce a document detailing satisfactory participa-
tion and completion.

SEC.106.8 COMPLAINTS

(A) Any controversy or difference arising under an
Agreement which cannot be resolved locally, or which is not
covered by a collective bargaining agreement, may be sub-
mitted by an Apprentice or his/her authorized representative
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to the State Registration Agency for review.  Matters covered
by a collective bargaining agreement, however, shall be sub-
mitted and processed in accordance with the procedures
therein provided.

(B) The complaint shall be in writing, signed by the com-
plainant, and submitted by the Apprentice or his/her autho-
rized representative within sixty (60) days of receipt of local
decision.  The complaint shall set forth the specific problem,
including all relevant facts and circumstances.  Copies of all
pertinent documents and correspondence shall accompany the
complaint.

SEC.106.9 HEARINGS

(A) Within ten (10) working days of a request for a hear-
ing, the Administrator or his/her designee assignee, shall give
reasonable notice of such hearing by registered mail, return
receipt requested, to the Registrant.  Such notice shall include:

(1) the time and place of the hearing;
(2) a statement of the provisions of the chapter pur-

suant to which the hearing is to be held;
(3) a statement of the cause for which the Program

was deregistered and the purpose of the hearing.
(B) The chairman of the Council on Apprenticeship and

Training or his/her designee shall conduct the hearing which
shall be informal in nature.  Each party shall have the right to
counsel, and the opportunity to present his/her case fully, in-
cluding cross-examination of witnesses as appropriate.

(C) The Administrator shall make every effort to resolve
the complaint and shall render an opinion within ninety (90)
days after receipt of the complaint, based upon the record
before him and an investigation, if necessary.  The Adminis-
trator shall notify, in writing, all parties of his decision.  If
any party is dissatisfied with or feels that they have been treated
unfairly by said decision, they may request a hearing by the
Apprenticeship and Training Council.  Those provisions of
the hearing process that are applicable shall be followed and
said Council shall make a determination on the basis of the
records and the proposed findings of the Administrator.  This
determination shall be subject to review and approval by the
Secretary, whose decision shall be final.

SEC. 106.10 REINSTATEMENT OF PROGRAM
REGISTRATION

A Program deregistered pursuant to this chapter may be
reinstated upon presentation of adequate evidence that the
Program is operating in accordance with this chapter.  Such
evidence shall be presented to the Apprenticeship and Train-
ing Council, which shall make a recommendation based on
said evidence, past records and any other data deemed appro-

priate.  After such presentation, the Council shall make a rec-
ommendation to the Secretary as to whether the Program
should be reinstated.  The Secretary’s decision shall be final
and binding.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority:  Title 16, Section
122(3)(c)  of the Delaware Code

 (16 Del.C. 122(3)(c))

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE FOLLOWING
REGULATORY CHANGES WERE

INITIATED PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE
DATE OF THE CURRENT

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT
THE FOLLOWING IS PRESENTED FOR

INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY

REGULATIONS FOR THE LICENSING
AND REGISTRATION OF OPERATORS
OF PUBLIC WATER SUPPLY SYSTEMS

SECTION 1 - PURPOSE

1.100 It is the purpose of this regulation to protect the
public health and to provide for the development and protec-
tion of the potable water supply systems of this State; to pro-
vide for the classification of public water systems; to require
the licensing of operators of these systems; to provide proce-
dures for such licensing and registration; to create an Advi-
sory Council for Certification; to provide for reciprocal ar-
rangements; and to prescribe penalties for violation of this
regulation.

SECTION 2 - DEFINITIONS

2.101 Advisory Council:  Advisory Council for Certi-
fication of Public Water System Operators, as established by
this regulation.

2.102 Base Level License:  A water treatment and/or
distribution license in which the following information is cov-
ered:  general water system information; disinfection by
hypochlorination; and distribution operation and maintenance
for water supply systems having a flow of less than five hun-
dred (500) gpm at twenty (20) psi.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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2.103 Circuit Rider:   A certified water operator who

operates and/or is the direct-responsible-charge (DRC) for
more than one (1) public water system.

2.104 Combined Treatment/Distribution System:  Any
water supply system which is composed of a water treatment
facility as defined in 2.117 together with a water distribution
system as defined in 2.113.

2.105 Continuing Education Unit (CEU):  A measure
of professional, educational training, where one (1) CEU is
equal to ten (10) hours of classroom and/or laboratory train-
ing.

2.106 Department:  Delaware Health and Social Ser-
vices.

2.107 Direct-Responsible-Charge (DRC):  Certified
water system operator(s) assigned accountability for perfor-
mance of active, on-site operational duties.

2.108 Division:  Division of Public Health.
2.109 Educational Contact Hour:  The amount of time

spent at a water operators or water distribution operators train-
ing course, after initial certification, not including travel time
or lodging time.  For purposes of these Regulations, the ini-
tial base certification course does not qualify as educational
contact hours and one (1) hour of time spent in a training
course is equal to one (1) educational contact hour.

2.110 Endorsement:  Any water treatment operation
as listed in Section 5.201 which is over and above the base
level license as defined in Section 2.102.

2.111 Operator:  A licensed person who works in a
water treatment facility and/or a water distribution system who
may be a DRC or may work under a DRC.

2.112 Person:  Any individual, partnership, firm, as-
sociation, joint venture, public or private corporation, trust,
state commission, Advisory Council, public or private   insti-
tution, utility, cooperative, municipality or any other politi-
cal subdivision of this State, or any other legal entity.

2.113 Public Water System:  A water supply system
for the provision to the public of piped water for human con-
sumption either directly from the user’s free flowing outlet or
indirectly by the water being used to manufacture ice, foods
and beverages or that supplies water for potable or domestic
purposes for consumption in more than three dwelling units,
or furnishes water for potable or domestic purposes to em-
ployees, tenants, members, guests or the public at large in
commercial offices, industrial areas, multiple dwellings or
semi-public buildings, including, but without limitation, room-
ing and boarding houses, motels, tourist cabins, mobile home
parks, restaurants, camps of all types, day and boarding
schools, clubhouses, hospitals and other institutions, or of-
fers any water for sale for potable or domestic purposes.  For
the purposes of this definition, consecutive water supplies as
defined in the State of Delaware Regulations Governing Public
Drinking Water Systems are excluded.

2.114 Secretary, Delaware Health and Social Services:
The Administrator of the Department of Health and Social
Services of the State of Delaware.

2.115 Water Distribution System:  That portion of the
water supply system in which water is stored and conveyed
from a water treatment plant, groundwater well, or other sup-
ply point to the free-flowing outlet of the ultimate consumer.

2.116 Water Supplier:  Any person who owns, oper-
ates, or manages a public water system.

2.117 Water Supply System:  Includes the work and
auxiliaries for collection, treatment, storage, and distribution
of water from the source of supply to the free-flowing outlet
of the ultimate consumer.

2.118 Water Treatment:  Any process which is meant
to alter the physical, chemical or bacteriological quality of
the water.

2.119 Water Treatment Facility:  That portion of the
water supply system which is meant to alter the physical,
chemical, or bacteriological quality of the water being treated.

SECTION 3 - ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR CERTIFICA-
TION OF PUBLIC WATER SYSTEM OPERATORS

3.100 An Advisory Council for Certification of Pub-
lic Water System Operators shall be appointed by the Secre-
tary, Delaware Health and Social Services to advise and as-
sist the Secretary in the administration of this regulation. The
Advisory Council shall hold at least quarterly meetings each
calendar year and such special meetings as it deems neces-
sary.

3.200 Membership:
3.201 The Advisory Council will consist of a mini-

mum of nine (9) members and with the following representa-
tion:

A. one (1) member representing the Division of
Public Health who shall serve as Advisory Council Secre-
tary/Treasurer, responsible for maintaining all appropriate
records and conducting the daily business of the Advisory
Council.

B. three (3) members representing the general pub-
lic

C. two (2) representatives from local government
agencies with managerial responsibility for water treatment
and/or water distribution in a public water system with the
following representation:

(1) one (1) member representing a local gov-
ernment agency having a population greater than or equal to
10,001 and;

(2) one (1) member representing a local gov-
ernment agency having a population less than or equal to
10,000

D. one (1) member representing business or indus-
try
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E. one (1) member representing a public water util-

ity.
F. one (1) member holding a valid water operator’s

license, or who is eligible to be licensed under this regula-
tion.

3.202 Advisory Council members will serve a five (5)
year term with the right to resign at their request or until such
time as a reappointment or a replacement appointment is made.

A. Initially one (1) member will be appointed for a
term of one (1) year, one (1) for a term of two (2) years, two
(2) for a term of three (3) years, two (2) for a term of four (4)
years and two (2) for a term of five (5) years.

B. The Division representative will serve an un-
limited term at the discretion of the Secretary.

3.203 Advisory Council appointees shall represent all
counties of the State, with at least one (1) member each from
New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties.

3.204 The Secretary may remove any member of the
Advisory Council for misconduct, incapacity, or neglect of
duty, and shall be the sole judge of the sufficiency of the case
for removal.

3.205 The Secretary shall fill any vacancy.  Such an
interim appointment shall be for the duration of the term.

3.300 Responsibility and Authority:
3.301 The Advisory Council, with the consent of the

Secretary, shall establish such procedures and guidelines as
may be necessary for the administration of this regulation.
These procedures and guidelines shall include but not be lim-
ited to the following:

A. procedures for examination of candidates and
the granting of licenses;

B. procedures for the renewal of licenses;
C. procedures for the suspension, revocation and

failure to renew licenses;
D. guidelines for evaluating equivalency of train-

ing and examinations conducted by recognized agencies and
institutions;

E. guidelines for evaluating equivalency of other
licensing and certification programs for the purpose of ac-
cording reciprocal treatment.

F. procedures for the collection and disbursement
of fees.

3.302 The Advisory Council shall possess the neces-
sary authority as delegated by the Secretary to carry out all
activities required for the proper administration of this regu-
lation.  Such authority includes:

A. the development of rules and regulations, to be
adopted by the Secretary, concerning the licensing of opera-
tors of public water systems;

B. establishing the method of examination for each
license applicant, including preparation, administration, and
grading of examinations;

C. the recommendation to the Secretary regarding
the issuance and renewal of licenses;

D. the recommendation of disciplinary sanctions to
the Secretary on operators who violate Section 10 of this regu-
lation.

SECTION 4 - LICENSE REQUIREMENTS FOR PUBLIC
SUPPLY WATER SYSTEMS

4.100 Water Supply Treatment Facilities
Two years following the effective date of this regu-

lation, any public water supply system treatment facility must
be under the direct-responsible-charge of a person possess-
ing a valid base level water operator’s license, defined in Sec-
tion 2.102 of these regulations, and all applicable endorse-
ments, if any, for the treatment facility to be operated.

4.200 Water Supply Treatment Facility Operators
Two years following the effective date of this regu-

lation, it shall be illegal for any person to be in a position of
direct-responsible-charge (DRC) and/or operate any public
water supply system treatment facility unless said person pos-
sesses a valid base level water operator’s license and appli-
cable endorsements, if any, for the treatment facility to be
operated.

4.300 Water Supply Distribution Systems
Two years following the effective date of this regu-

lation, any public water distribution system, capable of pro-
ducing greater than five hundred (500) gallons per minute
(gpm) at twenty (20) pounds per square inch (psi), must be
under the direct-responsible-charge of a person possessing a
valid base level water operator’s license and, at a minimum, a
distribution endorsement.

4.400 Water Supply Distribution System Operators
Two years following the effective date of this regu-

lation, it shall be illegal for any person to be in a position of
direct-responsible charge (DRC) and/or operate any public
water supply distribution system, capable of producing greater
than five hundred (500) gallons per minute (gpm) at twenty
(20) pounds per square inch (psi), unless said person pos-
sesses a valid base level water operator’s license and, at a
minimum, a distribution  endorsement.

4.500 Combined Treatment/Distribution Supply Sys-
tems

4.501 The license requirements stipulated in 4.100 and
4.300 apply separately and equally to both the water supply
treatment facility operator and the water supply distribution
facility operator of a combined treatment/distribution supply
system.

4.502 Any water supply treatment facility which is part
of a combined public water treatment/distribution system must
be under the direct-responsible-charge of a person possess-
ing a valid base level water operator’s license and all appli-
cable endorsements, as defined by the Division, if any, for
the treatment facility to be operated.
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4.503 Any water supply distribution system which is

part of a combined public water treatment/distribution sys-
tem and is capable of producing greater than five hundred
(500) gpm at twenty (20) psi must be under the direct-re-
sponsible-charge of a person possessing a valid base level
water operator’s license and, at a minimum, a distribution
endorsement.

4.504 The requirement of a distribution endorsement
as stated in Section 4.503 may be waived if the owner can
demonstrate to the Division that all distribution system op-
eration and maintenance is contracted out to another licensed
operator.

4.600 Notification to Division of Public Health
Within twenty-six (26) months of the effective date

of this regulation, any owner of a public water supply system
treatment facility, distribution system, or combined treatment/
distribution system must provide to the Division a list of all
persons in direct-responsible-charge and all operators who
have been duly licensed under these regulations.  Further, the
owner must notify the Division in writing of any additions,
deletions, or other change in the number of licensed direct-
responsible-charges or operators within thirty (30) days of
such change.

4.700 Temporary Variance
4.701 A temporary variance from the license require-

ments provided in Sections 4.100,  4.300 and 4.500 of this
regulation may be granted by the Secretary, upon recommen-
dation by the Advisory Council, to the owner of a public water
system treatment facility, distribution system, or combined
treatment/distribution system, when it is demonstrated to the
satisfaction of the Advisory Council that the owner has unex-
pectedly lost a licensed operator and/or is unable to hire a
licensed operator in spite of good faith efforts. Such tempo-
rary variance may be issued with any special conditions or
requirements deemed necessary to assure the protection of
the public health.

4.702 Notification of the unexpected loss of a licensed
operator must be sent to the Advisory Council by the owner
within thirty (30) days pursuant to 4.600 of this regulation.
Application for a temporary variance must be made to the
Advisory Council on forms provided by the Advisory Coun-
cil no later than thirty (30) days following such initial notifi-
cation.  After thorough review of the application and any other
information required by the Advisory Council as being perti-
nent to the issuance of a temporary variance, the Advisory
Council shall make a recommendation to the Secretary.  The
Secretary notify the applicant in writing of his/her decision to
approve or deny the temporary variance.

4.703 A temporary variance shall be valid only for that
facility or system for which issued, and for a period of time
as specified by the Secretary, but which shall not exceed six
(6) months.

4.704 Extension of Temporary Variance

When it is demonstrated to the satisfaction of the
Secretary that the owner holding a temporary variance has
continued to act in good faith in attempting to hire a licensed
operator but is unable to do so, one (1) extension of the origi-
nal variance may be granted at the discretion of the Secre-
tary, upon recommendation by the Advisory Council, for a
period of time not to exceed six (6) months.  Requests for an
extension of a temporary variance must be made to the Advi-
sory Council in writing no later than one (1) month prior to
the expiration date of the original variance.

SECTION 5 - CLASSIFICATION OF PUBLIC WATER
SYSTEMS

5.100 The Division of Public Health shall classify all
public water systems in accordance with the criteria hereby
established.

5.200 Water Supply Facilities
5.201 Public water system supply facilities shall be

classified according to the treatment process(es) it operates.
General treatment processes shall be grouped into categories
hereby called endorsements.  Within each endorsement shall
be specific unit processes, hereby called endorsement sub-
categories, see appendix A for a list of these sub-categories.
The Division will specify which endorsements and endorse-
ment sub-categories a public water system needs based upon
the most recent sanitary survey conducted by the Division.
The list of endorsements are as follows:

A. Disinfection
B. Chemical Feed
C. Filtration
D. Surface Water Operations
E. Other Specified Treatment
F. Distribution

5.202 The Advisory Council shall amend Appendix A
as is necessitated by the creation of new treatment technolo-
gies.

5.203 In the event of an emergency, such as source
water contamination, in which a treatment process is required
to protect the public’s immediate health and which the DRC
and/or operator is currently not licensed for, an emergency
endorsement may be added to the DRC’s and/or operator’s
license provided that prior approval, by the Division, is
granted.  This emergency endorsement shall be issued for a
period not to exceed one (1) year, without the express written
consent of the Secretary.

SECTION 6 - LICENSE CLASSIFICATION AND OPERA-
TOR QUALIFICATIONS

6.100 License Classification
6.101 One (1) regular water supply operator license

class is hereby established:
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Base Level Water Supply Operator with all appli-

cable endorsements as stated in Section 5.201.
6.102 Three (3) specialty class licenses are also estab-

lished:
A. Water Supply Operator-in-Training (OIT)
B. Circuit Rider
C. Grandfather Clause

6.200 Operator Qualifications
6.201 Base Level Water Supply Operator

A. High School Diploma or equivalent and one (1)
year of acceptable operating experience, or;

B. Three (3) years of acceptable operating experi-
ence, and;

C. Successful completion of the base level written
examination;

6.202 Water Treatment Operator-In-Training (OIT)
An operator who lacks either the education or expe-

rience requirements for a base level license may, with the
approval of the Secretary, upon recommendation by the Ad-
visory Council, and after successful completion of the base
level written examination, receive an interim Operator-in-
Training (OIT) license, for a maximum of three (3) years,
pending fulfillment of the regular license requirements.

6.203 Circuit Rider
To be classified as a circuit rider, an operator must

be able to meet the following criteria:
A. Must be certified for all endorsements re-

quired for the water systems for which he/she is in direct-
responsible-charge and/or operates.

B. Spend a recommended number of three (3)
visits each week at each water system which he/she is in di-
rect-responsible-charge.  This number may be adjusted by
the Advisory Council based upon a yearly review.

1. The number of visits spent each week
at each water system must be documented on forms, provided
by the Division, and submitted upon request.

C. The distances between each water system
shall be such that, in the event of an emergency, the circuit
rider will be able to reach the water system within two (2)
hours of first being notified of the emergency.

6.204 Grandfather Clause:  A valid, base level license
and any applicable endorsements shall be issued by the Sec-
retary, upon recommendation by the Advisory Council, to
the individual(s) certified by the governing body or owner of
a public water system to have been in responsible charge and/
or operated a water facility on the effective date of this regu-
lation, under the following criteria:

the individual(s) can provide documentation to
the Advisory Council attesting to the fact they have been in a
position of Direct-Responsible-Charge and/or operated a water
facility for at least five (5) years prior to the adoption date of
these Regulations.

6.205 A license and endorsement(s) granted under
Section 6.204 of these Regulations shall be transferable to
another water system provided that the endorsement(s) nec-
essary to operate the new water system are the same as the
endorsement(s) for the water system in which the
grandfathered license was originally issued.

SECTION 7 - LICENSING PROCEDURES

7.100 Examinations
7.101 The Advisory Council or its authorized desig-

nee shall prepare, administer and grade written examinations
required for each category and classification of license.  A
minimum score of seventy percent (70 %) shall be required
to pass the examination.  Examinations are confidential and
remain the property of the Advisory Council.  Due to unusual
and extenuating circumstances, the Advisory Council may
waive the requirements for the written examination, in which
case an oral recorded examination shall be conducted and
retained by the Advisory Council.

7.102 Schedule
Examinations shall be held at places and times des-

ignated by the Advisory Council, and shall be held at least
semiannually.  Advance public announcement shall be made
by the Advisory Council at least two (2) months prior to the
scheduled examination date.

7.103 Applications
Candidates wishing to take any license examination

must submit an application to the Advisory Council at least
thirty (30) days prior to the announced date of the examina-
tion on forms provided by the Advisory Council.  No appli-
cation form shall require a picture of the applicant, require
information relating to citizenship, place of birth, or length of
State residency, nor shall it require personal references

7.104 Application Review and Notification
The Advisory Council shall review all applications

submitted and determine the eligibility of each candidate to
sit for the particular examination applied for.  Each candidate
approved for examination shall  be notified in writing by the
Advisory Council of the time and place of the next examina-
tion for which the candidate is eligible.  Such notification
shall be given at least two (2) weeks prior to the examination
date.

7.105 Fraudulent Applications
Where the Council has found to its satisfaction that

an application has been intentionally fraudulent, or that false
information has been intentionally supplied, it shall report its
finding to the Attorney General for further action.

7.106 Eligibility
Approved applications for examination shall remain

valid for one (1) year.  Any approved candidate who fails to
appear for an examination during the one (1) year period fol-
lowing the first notification of eligibility must submit a new
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application for examination to the Advisory Council.

7.107 Appeal of Rejected Applications
Where the application of a person has been refused

or rejected and such applicant feels that the Council has acted
without justification, has imposed higher or different stan-
dards for him or her that for other applicants, or has in some
other manner contributed to or caused the failure of such ap-
plication, the applicant may appeal to the Secretary.

7.108 Right to Appeal the Examination
Any applicant who questions the grading of any seg-

ment of the examination has the right to appeal before the
Advisory Council.

7.109 Re-Examination
Any candidate who fails to pass an examination may

apply for re-examination upon subsequent scheduled exami-
nation dates.

7.200 Issuance of License
On satisfactory fulfillment of the requirements pro-

vided in this regulation, the candidate shall be issued a suit-
able license by the Secretary, upon recommendation by the
Advisory Council.  The license shall indicate all endorsements
for which the operator is qualified and the date of issuance.

7.300 Renewal of License
7.301 Licenses shall be renewed every two (2) years

unless suspended, revoked for cause, or invalidated under
7.400.  The deadline renewal date shall be the month and day
of the original license issuance. Application for renewal must
be submitted to the Advisory Council on forms provided by
the Advisory Council at least sixty (60) days prior to the dead-
line renewal date.

7.302 In addition to Section 7.301, all operators, in-
cluding grandfathered operators, must receive an additional
amount of training, as approved by the Advisory Council,
every two (2) years in order to renew their licenses, as shown
below.

A. Twelve (12) educational contact hours and one
and one half (1.5) CEUs every two (2) years, for systems
whose distribution system is capable of producing a flow of
greater than 500 gpm at 20 psi.

B. Twelve (12) educational contact hours every two
(2) years, for systems whose distribution system is not ca-
pable of producing a flow of greater than 500 gpm at 20 psi.

7.303 Any license which has not been renewed in ac-
cordance with 7.301 and 7.302 shall be automatically invali-
dated.  Such expired license may be revalidated without ex-
amination upon payment of the appropriate fee within one
(1) year from the expiration date.  Licenses not reinstated
within one (1) year shall submit a new application to the Ad-
visory Council and may be required to sit for the appropriate
written examination.

7.400 Denial of Renewal, Suspension, and Revocation
of Licenses

The Secretary may suspend or revoke the license of
an operator, after considering the recommendations of the
Advisory Council, when it is found that the operator has prac-
ticed fraud or deception; that reasonable care, judgment, or
the application of his knowledge or ability was not used in
the performance of his duties; or that the operator is incom-
petent or unable to perform his duties properly.  Said recom-
mendations to the Secretary by the Advisory Council shall be
made upon the Advisory Council conducting a hearing in
accordance with provisions established under these regula-
tions.

7.500 Fees
7.501 The fee schedule as authorized by 16 Delaware

Code Section 122(3)(c) and set forth below shall take effect
on the effective date of this regulation.

A. Application for Initial Annual License .....
$50.00

B. Application for Renewal of Annual License...
$50.00

7.502 All application fees are payable upon applica-
tion.  All fees are non-refundable.

7.600 Reciprocity
A license of comparable classification may be is-

sued without examination to any person who holds a certifi-
cate or license in any state, territory, or possession of the
United States or any country, if in the judgment of the Secre-
tary, the requirements under which the certification or license
was issued do not conflict with the provisions of this regula-
tion or any rules promulgated hereunder, and are of a stan-
dard not lower than that specified by this regulation.

SECTION 8 - PREEMPTION

8.100 The provisions of these regulations preempt ex-
isting regulations of this State insofar as they relate to or con-
flict with the provisions of this regulation.

SECTION 9 - SEVERABILITY

9.100 Each Section of this regulation and every part
of each Section is an independent Section and part of a Sec-
tion, and the holding of any Section or part thereof to be un-
constitutional, void, or invalid for any cause does not affect
the validity or constitutionality of any other Section or part
thereof which shall continue valid and effective.

SECTION 10 - DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES

10.100  Grounds for Discipline
 The following conditions and actions of an appli-

cant or licensed operator may result in disciplinary  action as
set forth in 10.300 of this Section if after following the Disci-
plinary Procedures as  stated in Section 10.200, the Council
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finds that an applicant or licensed operator:

A. Has employed or knowingly cooperated in fraud
or material deception in order to certified; or

B. Has engaged in illegal, incompetent or negligent
conduct in the provision of water system operation; or

C. Has as an operator or otherwise, in the practice
of his or her profession, knowingly engaged in an act of con-
sumer fraud or deception, or engaged in the restraint of com-
petition, or participated in price-fixing activities; or

D. Has violated a lawful provision of this Section
or any lawful rule or regulation established here under.

10.200  Disciplinary Procedures
10.201  Notice of Violation:  Whenever the Secretary, or

his/her appointed representative, has reason to believe that a
violation of any of these Regulations has occurred or is oc-
curring, the Secretary shall  notify the alleged violator.  Such
notice shall be in writing, may be sent by Certified Mail, or
hand delivered, shall cite the Regulation or Regulations that
are allegedly being violated, and shall state the facts which
form the basis for believing that the violation has occurred or
is occurring.

10.202  Investigation:  Whenever the Secretary issues a
Notice of Violation, an investigation shall be  conducted to
determine if the alleged violations have occurred or are oc-
curring.  The  Advisory Council shall act as the investigator
and upon review of all the facts concerning the  alleged viola-
tion, will recommend disciplinary sanction(s), as stated in
Section 10.300, to  the Secretary.

10.203  Hearing Request:  Any operator who has received
a Notice of Violation, has been investigated, and  faces pos-
sible disciplinary sanction(s), in the form of placement on
probationary status, imposition  of a fine, suspension or revo-
cation of license may submit a request for a hearing to the
Secretary to contest the findings of the investigation and any
disciplinary sanctions which may have resulted  from the in-
vestigation.

10.300  Disciplinary Sanctions
 Persons regulated under this Section who have been

determined to be in violation of this Section  shall be subject
to the following disciplinary actions:

 A. Issuance of a letter of reprimand
 B. Censureship
 C. Placement on probationary status
 D. Imposition of a fine not to exceed $1,000 for

each offense
 E. Suspension of License
 F. Revocation of License

SECTION 11 - PENALTY CLAUSE

11.100  Any person who neglects or fails to comply with
this regulation shall be subject to penalty as provided  in 16
Delaware Code 107.

APPENDIX A

Listed below are the general endorsement categories.
Under each general category is a list of the endorsement sub-
categories (unit processes) associated with each general cat-
egory.

A.  Disinfection

2. Hypochlorination (Calcium or Sodium), powder or
liquid

2. Gas Chlorination
3. Ozonation
4. Bromination
5. Iodine
6. Chloramines
7. Chlorine Dioxide
8. Ultraviolet Light

B.  Chemical Feed
1. Lime - Soda Ash Addition
2. pH Adjustment
3. Inhibitor - bimetallic phosphate, hexametaphosphate,

orthophosphate, polyphosphate
4. Sequestering
5. Permanganate
6. Peroxide
7. Fluoridation

C.  Filtration
1.  Activated Carbon, powder or granulated
2. Sand - Pressure, Rapid, Slow
3. Reverse Osmosis
4. Greensand
5. Activated Alumina
6. Ion Exchange
7. Cartridge
8. Diamateous Earth
9. Ultrafiltration
10. Microfiltration

D.  Surface Water Operations

1. Algae Control
2. Coagulation
3. Flocculation
4. Rapid Mix
5. Sedimentation
6. Sludge Treatment

E.  Other Specified Treatment
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1. Aeration - Cascade, Diffused, Packed Tower, Slat

Tray or Spray
2. Dechlorination - using reducing agents,  sodium

bisulfate, sodium  sulfide, or sulfur dioxide
3. Distillation
4. Bone Char
5. Electrodialysis

F.  Distribution

1. Flow less than 500 gpm at 20 psi
2. Flow greater than 500 gpm at 20 psi

DELAWARE STATE FIRE
PREVENTION COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  Title 16, Section 6603 of
the Delaware Code
(16 Del.C. 6603)
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I. PURPOSE

The purpose of this regulation is to ensure a consistent and
coordinated high quality level of ambulance service through-
out the state, focusing on timeliness, quality of care and coor-
dination of efforts.

II. APPLICATION

This regulation shall apply to any person, firm, corporation
or association either as owner, agent or otherwise providing
both pre-hospital and interhospital ambulance service meet-
ing the definitions of both “BLS Ambulance Service” and
“Non-Emergency Ambulance Service”  within the State of
Delaware.  The following are exempted from this regulation:

a. Entities engaged in providing ALS ambulance ser-
vice.

b. Privately owned vehicles not ordinarily used in the
business of transporting persons who are sick, injured,
wounded or otherwise incapacitated or helpless.

c. A vehicle rendering service as an ambulance in case
of a major catastrophe or emergency when the ambulances
with permits and based in the locality of the catastrophe or
emergency are insufficient to render the services required.

d. Ambulances based outside the State rendering ser-
vice in case of a major catastrophe or  emergency when the
ambulances with permits and based in the locality of the ca-
tastrophe or emergency are insufficient to render the services
required.

e. Ambulances owned and operated by an agency of
the United States Government.

f. Ambulances based outside the State engaged strictly
in interstate transportation.

g. A vehicle which is designed  or modified and
equipped  for rescue  operations to release persons from en-
trapment and which is not routinely used for emergency medi-
cal care or transport of patients.

III. DEFINITIONS

ADVANCED LIFE SUPPORT (ALS) - The advanced level
of pre-hospital and inter hospital  emergency care that in-
cludes basic life support functions including cardiopulmo-
nary resuscitation, plus cardiac monitoring, cardiac defibril-

lation, telemetered electrocardiography, administration of anti
arrhythmic agents, intravenous therapy, administration of
specific medications, drugs and solutions, use of adjunctive
medical devices, trauma care and other authorized techniques
and procedures.

ADVERTISING - Information communicated to the public,
or to an individual concerned by any oral, written, or graphic
means including, but not limited to, handbills, newspapers,
television, billboards, radio, and telephone directories.

AMBULANCE - Any publicly or privately owned vehicle,
as certified by the State Fire Prevention Commission, that is
specifically designed, constructed or modified and equipped,
and intended to be used for and is maintained or operated for
the transportation upon the streets and highways of this state
for persons who are sick, injured, wounded or otherwise in-
capacitated or helpless.

AMBULANCE ATTENDANT - A person trained in emer-
gency medical care procedures and currently certified by the
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in accordance
with standards prescribed by the Commission.  Such course
shall be classified as basic life support and shall be the mini-
mum acceptable level of training for certified emergency
medical personnel.

AMBULANCE SERVICE DISTRICT - A geographical area
with boundaries which are typically (but not always) aligned
to fire service districts within the state as identified and certi-
fied by the State Fire Prevention Commission.

BASIC LIFE SUPPORT (BLS) - The level of capability which
provides noninvasive emergency patient care designed to
optimize the patient’s chances of surviving an emergency situ-
ation.

BLS AMBULANCE SERVICE -  Ambulance service which
provides BLS level intervention both through the level of
personnel and training provided.

BLS AMBULANCE SERVICE CONTRACT -  A written
contract between either a Primary or Secondary Ambulance
Service Provider and an individual, organization, company,
site location or complex or other entity for BLS ambulance
service.

BOARD - Means the State Board of Medical Practice.

COMMISSION - The State Fire Prevention Commission or a
duly authorized representative thereof.
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DELAWARE STATE FIRE SCHOOL - An agency of the
State Fire Prevention Commission which is designated as its
duly authorized representative to administer the provisions
of the Ambulance Service Regulations.

EMERGENCY - A combination of circumstances resulting
in a need for immediate pre-hospital emergency medical care.

EMERGENCY MEDICAL DISPATCH SYSTEM - Means a
Board approved protocol system used by an approved dis-
patch center to dispatch aid to medical emergencies which
must include:

1. Systematized caller interrogation questions
2. Systematized pre-arrival instruction; and
3. Protocols matching the dispatcher’s evaluation of

injury or illness severity with vehicle response mode and con-
figuration.

EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN (EMT) - A per-
son trained, and currently certified by the State Fire Preven-
tion Commission in emergency medical care procedures
through a course which meets the objectives of the National
Standard Curriculum.

EMERGENCY MISSION - The BLS and ALS response to
the needs of an individual for immediate medical care in or-
der to prevent loss of life or aggravation or physiological of
psychological illness or injury.

HOSPITAL - An institution having an organized medical staff
which is primarily engaged in providing to inpatients, by or
under the supervision of physicians, diagnostic and therapeutic
services or rehabilitation services for the care or rehabilita-
tion of injured, disabled, pregnant, diseased, sick or mentally
ill persons.  The term includes facilities for the diagnosis and
treatment of disorders within the scope of specific medical
specialties, but not facilities caring exclusively for the men-
tally ill.

MEDICAL COMMAND FACILITY - The distinct unit within
a hospital which meets the operational, staffing and equip-
ment requirements established by the Secretary, Delaware
Health and Social Services for providing medical control to
the providers of advanced life support services.  Any hospital
that operates an emergency medical facility and desires to be
designated as a medical command facility shall maintain and
staff such facility on its premises and at its own expense with
exception of base station communication devices which shall
be an authorized shared expense pursuant to the provisions
of Title 16, Chapter 98.

MEDICAL CONTROL - shall mean directions and advice
normally provided from a centrally designated medical facil-
ity operating under medical supervision, supplying profes-
sional support through radio or telephonic communication
for on-site and in-transit basic and advanced life support ser-
vices given by field and satellite facility personnel.

MEDICAL CONTROL PHYSICIAN - Any physician board-
certified or board-prepared in emergency medicine, or a phy-
sician certified on advanced trauma life support (ATLS) and
advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) who is credentialed by
the hospital within which a medical command facility is lo-
cated, and who is authorized by the medical command facil-
ity to give medical commands via radio or other telecommu-
nication devices to a paramedic.  When a medical control
physician establishes contact with a paramedic and provides
medical control instructions that exceed or otherwise modify
the standing orders of the statewide standard treatment proto-
col, the paramedic shall, solely for the purpose of compliance
with the Medical Practices Act, be considered to be operating
under the license of said medical control physician.

MOBILIZATION TIME - The total time from station alert to
the time an ambulance is “in service.”

NON-EMERGENCY AMBULANCE SERVICE - Ambu-
lance service which provides routine transport of persons who
are sick, convalescent, incapacitated and nonambulatory but
do not ordinarily require emergency medical treatment while
in transit.

PATIENT - An individual who is sick, injured, wounded or
otherwise incapacitated or helpless and who needs immedi-
ate medical attention.

PRE-HOSPITAL CARE - Any emergency medical service,
including advanced life support, rendered by an emergency
medical unit before and during transportation to a hospital or
other facility.

PRIMARY AMBULANCE SERVICE - BLS Ambulance
Service provided by the Primary Ambulance Service Provider
certified by the State Fire Prevention Commission within a
specific ambulance service district.

PRIMARY AMBULANCE SERVICE PROVIDER - An or-
ganization or company which has been designated as having
primary responsibility for providing BLS ambulance service
within a specific ambulance service district.

PROVIDER - A person who, as an individual or member of a
corporation or organization, whether profit-making or non-
profit, on a regular basis gives or offers for sale any supplies,
equipment, professional or nonprofessional services, or is
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capable of giving or offering for sale supplies, equipment or
services vital or incidental to the function of an emergency
medical service system.

RESPONSE TIME - The total time from “in-service” to ar-
rival on the scene.

RESPONSIBLE CHARGE - The individual who is identi-
fied as having both the responsibility and authority to ensure
full and complete compliance with all requirements of this
regulation.

SECONDARY AMBULANCE SERVICE - Ambulance Ser-
vice provided under contract to specific locations within a
primary ambulance service district by a BLS Ambulance Ser-
vice Provider other than the primary provider.

SECONDARY AMBULANCE SERVICE PROVIDER - An
organization or company which provides supplemental BLS
ambulance service anywhere in the state and always under
specific contractual agreements.

BLS AMBULANCE SERVICE

IV. BLS AMBULANCE SERVICE PERMITS

A. Any person, firm, corporation or association either as
owner, agent or otherwise who furnish, conduct, maintain,
advertise or otherwise engage in or profess to be engaged in
the business or service of providing BLS Ambulance Service
upon the streets or highways of this state shall hold a valid
permit as either a Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service
Provider issued by the State Fire Prevention Commission.
Application for this permit shall be upon forms provided by
the Commission (Appendix B).

B. The issuance of a permit hereunder shall not be construed
so as to authorize any person, firm, corporation or associa-
tion to provide ambulance services or to operate any ambu-
lance without compliance with all ordinances and regulations
enacted or promulgated by any state, county or municipal
government concerning ambulances.

C. Prior to issuing an original or renewal permit, the Com-
mission shall determine that all requirements of this regula-
tion are fully met.  Additionally, the Commission has the au-
thority to ensure continued compliance with these regulations
through the periodic review of records and operations.

D. Only companies holding a current, valid BLS Ambulance
Service Provider Permit shall be authorized to respond and
provide BLS Ambulance Service within the state.

E. A Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service Provider
may not discontinue BLS ambulance service until a replace-
ment provider has been selected and can assume service with
no reduction in service.

V. BLS AMBULANCE SERVICE DISTRICTS

A. The Commission shall have the authority to establish
Ambulance Service Districts.

B. The role of Primary Ambulance Service Provider shall
be assigned to those fire departments  providing BLS Ambu-
lance Service at the time this regulation is officially adopted.
The ambulance service district for these providers shall cor-
respond to their established fire districts as certified by the
Commission.

C. In those areas in which fire departments are not provid-
ing BLS Ambulance Service at the time this regulation is of-
ficially adopted, the organization who is currently providing
BLS Ambulance Service shall be designated as the Primary
Ambulance Service Provider.  The ambulance service dis-
trict for these providers shall correspond to their current bound-
aries.

D. After adoption of this regulation and the establishment
of ambulance service districts, fire companies which ARE
NOT providing ambulance service:

4. Have the authority to establish ambulance service at
any time PROVIDED ambulance service in their district is
being provided by another fire company.

5. DO NOT have the authority to establish ambulance
service if ambulance service in their district is being provided
by a private organization such as: VFW, American Legion or
Mid-Sussex.  In these cases, the fire company will be required
to follow Section VI(C) of this regulation.

VI. PRIMARY AND SECONDARY BLS AMBULANCE
SERVICE PROVIDERS

A. BLS Ambulance Service may be provided by Primary
Ambulance Service Providers within their ambulance service
district or in the course of providing mutual aid within other
ambulance service districts provided:

1. They have a current permit
2. They are designated by the Commission as a Pri-

mary Ambulance Service Provider

B. The Commission shall be authorized to select a new Pri-
mary Ambulance Service Provider at such time that:

1. The current Primary Ambulance Service Provider
chooses to discontinue service

2. Failure to meet one or more elements of these regu-
lations creates a threat to public safety



39

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 1, TUESDAY, JULY 1, 1997

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
C. Any organization desiring to assume the role of Primary
Ambulance Service Provider will be required to apply to the
Commission showing adequate cause in the interest of public
safety to justify the change.

D. BLS Ambulance Service may be provided by Secondary
Ambulance Service Providers only to those with whom they
have a contract for such service provided:

1. They have a current permit
2. They have a written contract to provide BLS Ambu-

lance Service to that specific location or site
3. They provide the names, locations and conditions

of all Secondary Ambulance Service contracts to the Com-
mission within 20 days of contract finalization

VII. BLS AMBULANCE SERVICE PROVIDER PERMIT
REQUIREMENTS

ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS

A. Procedures for securing a BLS ambulance service pri-
mary or secondary ambulance service permit include:

1. The owner or registered agent must apply to the
Commission upon forms provided and according to proce-
dures established by the Commission.

2. The Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service Pro-
vider shall either:

a. Be based in Delaware; or
b. Maintain an office in Delaware with a full time

individual domiciled at that office who is in “Responsible
Charge”.

3. All requirements set forth in this regulation must be
met before issuance of permit.

4. The Primary or Secondary Ambulance Provider must
provide proof of liability insurance the amount of $1 Million
blanket liability coverage.

5. The Primary or Secondary Ambulance Provider must
provide proof of automobile liability insurance in the amount
of $1 Million individual, $3 Million aggregate per occurrence.

B. Permits shall be valid for a period of one year from the
permits effective date.

C. The Commission may issue temporary permits when
determined to be in the interest of public safety.
D. On an on-going basis throughout the term of the permit,
the owner or individual in “responsible charge” shall be avail-
able upon reasonable notification for the purpose of provid-
ing documentation on any provisions of this regulation and
permitting physical inspection of all facilities and vehicles.

E. No ambulance service provider shall advertise or repre-
sent that it provides any ambulance service other than autho-
rized to provide under this regulation.

F. All ambulance service providers shall be required to par-
ticipate in the Commission approved ambulance data collec-
tion system which includes:

6. A BLS run report will be completed on all dispatched
responses.

7. A completed copy of the report will be left at the
hospital receiving the patient, at the time of the call.

8. A completed copy of the report will be forwarded to
the state EMS office.

9. When available, the report will be entered electroni-
cally and forwarded to the state EMS office.

OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

A. Vehicle Standards
1. All ambulances shall be registered and licensed in

the State of Delaware by the Delaware  Motor Vehicle De-
partment.  EXCEPTIONS:

a. Those vehicles to which the international regis-
tration plan applies

b. Those vehicles properly registered in some other
state.

2. Vehicles shall have clearly visible letters on both
sides and the rear identifying the name of  the organization or
corporation or the vehicle’s specific identifier as specified
under permit documentation. The letters shall be at least three
inches in height.

3. Vehicle patient compartment shall conform with the
criteria within the GSA Federal Specifications for ambulances
(KKK-1822).

B. Equipment Standards
Every ambulance shall be equipped with equipment and sup-
plies as specified by the Commission within Appendix “A”
and updated annually considering recommendations from the
Fire School Director with concurrence from the Commissions
Medical Advisor.

C. Staffing Requirements
1. Minimum acceptable crew staffing when transport-

ing a patient shall consist of a driver and one ambulance at-
tendant.

2. A minimum of one ambulance attendant shall always
be in the patient compartment when a patient is present.

3. Within 6 months following adoption of this regula-
tion, BLS ambulance drivers are required to have completed
the “Emergency Vehicle Operators” course conducted by the
Delaware State Fire School or an equivalent program approved
by the Commission.

D. Quality Assurance
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1. Each Primary and Secondary Ambulance Service

Provider shall be responsible for monitoring quality assur-
ance in the form of patient care and both mobilization and
response times.  The method in which this is accomplished is
the authority and responsibility of the Primary or Secondary
Ambulance Service Provider.

NOTE:  For Primary Ambulance Service Providers-
this monitoring shall only apply to response within their Pri-
mary Ambulance Service District - NOT for mutual aid calls
to other ambulance service districts.

2. As identified above, included within the quality as-
surance program is the responsibility for assuring the public
a consistently reasonable response to BLS ambulance calls.
In the interest of public safety, primary and secondary ambu-
lance service providers are responsible for meeting the fol-
lowing mobilization and response times:

Mobilization Times
80% of all emergency missions within 8 minutes -

1st Year regulation is in effect
85% of all emergency missions within 8 minutes -

2nd Year regulation is in effect
90% of all emergency missions within 8 minutes -

3rd Year regulation is in effect
Response Times - 90% of all BLS calls shall not

exceed 18 minutes

3. For the purposes of monitoring quality control, both
mobilization and response times will be monitored based on
calendar year quarterly periods.

4. Upon periodic review of both mobilization and re-
sponse times, the Commission may consider extraordinary
weather and traffic conditions as impacting these times.

NOTE: As stated above, this regulation is striving to ensure,
within a high percentage of ambulance calls, that two goals
are met:

1. That ambulances will be in-service within 8 min-
utes from the time of station alert.

2. That, once an ambulance is in-service, time to arrive
on the scene is not more than 18 minutes.

NOTE: The intent of this criteria is to cause the review and
monitoring of both mobilization and response time.  By re-
viewing these times based on quarterly periods, both mobili-
zation and response times are being monitored relative to the
above criteria in order to determine if a problem is develop-
ing.  Mobilization or response time exceeding the above cri-
teria for any quarter requires review.  The same problem(s)
occurring for a second period or within a total one year pe-
riod of time require some form of correction action.  The form
of corrective action taken is the prerogative of the BLS Am-
bulance Service Provider and may include but not be limited
to the following: Providing an incentive to personnel respond-

ing to ambulance calls during problem time periods, provid-
ing paid personnel during difficult time periods, contracting
with secondary ambulance service providers on an individual
or regional basis.  Once determined to be necessary, correc-
tive action is required to be implemented within 3 months.
Additional corrective action shall be required if monitoring
indicates a problem continues to exist.

E. Communications Requirements
Dispatch Centers
1. Dispatch centers for both Primary and Secondary

Ambulance Service Providers  shall meet the criteria of
NFPA 1221 as amended by the Commission.

2. Secondary ambulance service providers dispatch
centers shall be responsible for following call taking proto-
cols as established by the Commission.  Calls determined to
be ALS in nature shall be transferred to the appropriate pub-
lic safety answering point (PSAP)within 30 seconds of tak-
ing the call utilizing a dedicated phone line to that PSAP.

3. Calls determined to be BLS in nature shall not be
required to be forwarded to the PSAP.

4. Dispatch centers shall follow an Emergency Medi-
cal Dispatch System approved by the Commission.

Ambulances
1. All Ambulances shall be equipped with reliable com-

munications systems which permit direct communications
with their dispatch center and all medical command facilities
with which the ambulance will or may operate.

F. SAED Requirements
Upon placing an SAED on any ambulance, the ambulance
service provider will comply with the Delaware Early Defibril-
lation Program Administrative Policies as established by the
Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Emer-
gency Medical Services

G. Infection Control
All ambulance service providers will comply with the infec-
tion control requirements in chapter 12A, Title 16 of the Dela-
ware code.

H. Medical Control
Once medical control is established, ambulance service pro-
viders shall be required to follow all orders issued.

VIII. COMPLIANCE

A. The owner or registered agent of every ambulance ser-
vice provider shall provide ambulance service in accordance
with the requirements set forth in this regulation and the con-
tractual agreements established as either a primary or sec-
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ondary Ambulance Service Provider and filed with the Com-
mission in accordance with the provisions set forth in these
regulations.  Failure to provide this service shall be grounds
for suspension or revocation of permit.

B. Grievances - All grievances relative to ambulance ser-
vice shall follow procedures established within the State Fire
Prevention Regulations “Fire Service Standards” sections 1.1
through 6.1

C. Penalties - Following review of a valid complaint or upon
failure to comply with any provision of this regulation, the
Commission, following procedures established within the
State Fire Prevention Regulations, shall have the authority to
issue corrective orders, suspend or revoke the provider’s per-
mit.

D. Whenever there is reason to believe that any provisions
of this regulation have been violated, the ambulance service
provider shall be immediately notified.  Violations shall re-
quire correction within five (5) working days of receipt of
notice with the exception of those violations which represent
an imminent danger to the public.

E. For those violations representing an imminent danger to
the public, the Commission shall issue and deliver an order to
cease and desist any further ambulance service until such time
as the violation has been verified as being corrected and cor-
rective measures accepted by the Commission.

F. The continued violation of any element of this regula-
tion or failure or refusal to comply with any order to correct a
violation or failure to obey a cease and desist order by any
ambulance service provider shall be cause for revocation or
suspension of permit by the Commission after determination
that the provider is guilty of such violation.

G. In addition to (F), it shall be cause for revocation or sus-
pension of a permit after determining the ambulance service
provider:

(a) Has practiced any fraud, misrepresentation, or de-
ceit in obtaining or renewing a permit

(b) Is guilty of gross negligence, incompetence or mis-
conduct in providing services

(c) Is guilty of a violation of the codes and regulations
adopted by the State Fire Prevention Commission

(d) Has been found guilty of an unfair or deceptive trade
practice

(e) Has violated any contractual agreement related to
providing ambulance service

H. Upon issuance of an order, the ambulance service pro-
vider accused may request a review of the order by the Com-
mission.  All hearings shall be conducted in conformity with
procedures  established by the Commission.

I. Any person aggrieved by a violation or order may file an
appeal to the State Fire Prevention  Commission pursuant to
Delaware Code, Title 16, Chapter 66, Section 6608.

NON-EMERGENCY AMBULANCE SERVICE

IX. NON-EMERGENCY AMBULANCE SERVICE PER-
MITS

A. Any person, firm, corporation or association either as
owner, agent or otherwise who furnish, conduct, maintain,
advertise or otherwise engage in or profess to be engaged in
the business or service of providing non-emergency ambu-
lance service upon the streets or highways of this state shall
hold a valid permit issued by the State Fire Prevention Com-
mission.  Application for this permit shall be upon forms pro-
vided by the Commission (Appendix B).

B. The issuance of a permit hereunder shall not be construed
so as to authorize any person, firm, corporation or associa-
tion to provide ambulance services or to operate any ambu-
lance without compliance with all ordinances and regulations
enacted or promulgated by any state, county or municipal
government concerning ambulances.

C. Prior to issuing an original or renewal permit, the Com-
mission shall determine that all requirements of this regula-
tion are fully met.  Additionally, the Commission has the au-
thority to ensure continued compliance with these regulations
through the periodic review of records and operations.

D. Only companies holding a current, valid non-emergency
ambulance service provider permit   shall be authorized to
respond and provide non-emergency ambulance service within
the state.

X. NON-EMERGENCY AMBULANCE SERVICE PRO-
VIDER PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS

A. Procedures for securing a non-emergency ambulance
service permit include:

1. The owner or registered agent must apply to the
Commission upon forms provided and  according to proce-
dures established by the Commission.

2. The non-emergency ambulance service provider
shall either:

a. Be based in Delaware or
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b. Maintain an office in Delaware with a full time

individual domiciled at that office who is in “Responsible
Charge”.

3. All requirements set forth in this regulation must be
met before issuance of permit.

4. The non-emergency ambulance service provider
must provide proof of liability insurance in the amount of $1
Million blanket liability coverage.

5. The non-emergency ambulance service provider
must provide proof of automobile liability insurance in the
amount of $1 Million individual, $3 Million aggregate per
occurrence.

B. Permits shall be valid for a period of one year from the
permits effective date.

C. The Commission may issue temporary permits when
determined to be in the interest of public safety.

D. On an on-going basis throughout the term of the permit,
the owner or individual in “responsible charge” shall be avail-
able upon reasonable notification for the purpose of provid-
ing documentation on any provisions of this regulation and
permitting physical inspection of all facilities and vehicles.

E. No ambulance service provider shall advertise or repre-
sent that it provides any ambulance service other than autho-
rized to provide under this regulation.

OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

A. Vehicle Standards
1. All ambulances shall be registered and licensed in

the State of Delaware by the Delaware
           Motor Vehicle Department.  EXCEPTIONS:

a. Those vehicles to which the international regis-
tration plan applies

b. Those vehicles properly registered in some other
state.

2. Vehicles shall have clearly visible letters on both
sides and the rear identifying the name of  the organization or
corporation or the vehicle’s specific identifier as specified
under permit documentation. The letters shall be at least three
inches in height.

3. Vehicle patient compartment shall conform with the
criteria within the GSA Federal Specifications for ambulances
(KKK-A-1822C).

B. Equipment Standards
Every ambulance shall be equipped with equipment and sup-
plies as specified by the Commission within Appendix “A”
and updated annually following recommendations from the
Fire School Director with concurrence from the Commissions
Medical Advisor.

C. Staffing Requirements
1. Minimum acceptable crew staffing when transport-

ing a patient shall consist of a driver  and one ambulance
attendant.

2. A minimum of one ambulance attendant shall always
be in the patient compartment when a patient is present.

D. Communications Requirements
Ambulances
1. All Ambulances shall be equipped with a reliable

communications systems which permit direct communications
with all medical command facilities with which the ambu-
lance will or may operate.

E.   SAED Requirements
Upon placing an SAED on any ambulance, the ambulance
service provider will comply with the Delaware Early Defibril-
lation Program Administrative Policies as established by the
Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Emer-
gency Medical Services

F. Infection Control
All ambulance service providers will comply with the infec-
tion control requirements in chapter 12A, Title 16 of the Dela-
ware code.

XI. COMPLIANCE

A. The owner or registered agent of every ambulance ser-
vice provider shall provide ambulance service in accordance
with the requirements set forth in this regulation and the con-
tractual agreements established as either a primary or sec-
ondary Ambulance Service Provider and filed with the Com-
mission in accordance with the provisions set forth in these
regulations.  Failure to provide this service shall be grounds
for suspension or revocation of permit.

B. Grievances - All grievances relative to ambulance ser-
vice shall follow procedures established within the State Fire
Prevention Regulations “Fire Service Standards” sections 1.1
through 6.1

C. Penalties - Following review of a valid complaint or upon
failure to comply with any provision of this regulation, the
Commission, following procedures established within the
State Fire Prevention Regulations, shall have the authority to
issue corrective orders, suspend or revoke the provider’s per-
mit.
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D. Whenever there is reason to believe that any provisions
of this regulation have been violated, the ambulance service
provider shall be immediately notified.  Violations shall re-
quire correction within five (5) working days of receipt of
notice with the exception of those violations which represent
an imminent danger to the public.

E. For those violations representing an imminent danger to
the public, the Commission shall issue and deliver an or-
der to cease and desist any further ambulance service until
such time as the violation has been verified as being corrected
and corrective measures accepted by the Commission.

F. The continued violation of any element of this regula-
tion or failure or refusal to comply with any order to correct
a violation or failure to obey a cease and desist order by any
ambulance service provider shall be cause for revocation or
suspension of permit by the Commission after determination
that the provider is guilty of such violation.

G. In addition to (F), it shall be cause for revocation or sus-
pension of a permit after determining the ambulance service
provider:

(a) Has practiced any fraud, misrepresentation, or de-
ceit in obtaining or renewing a permit

(b) Is guilty of gross negligence, incompetence or mis-
conduct in providing services

(c) Is guilty of a violation of the codes and regulations
adopted by the State Fire Prevention Commission

(d) Has been found guilty of an unfair or deceptive trade
practice

(e) Has violated any contractual agreement related to
providing ambulance service

H. Upon issuance of an order, the ambulance service pro-
vider accused may request a review the order by the Com-
mission.  All hearings shall be conducted in conformity with
procedures established by the Commission.

I. Any person aggrieved by a violation or order may file an
appeal to the State Fire Prevention          Commission pursuant
to Delaware Code, Title 16, Chapter 66, Section 6608.

APPENDIX “A”

REQUIRED AMBULANCE EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES

1 - SET BATTERY JUMPER CABLES OR DUAL BAT-
TERY SYSTEM
1 - FIRE EXTINGUISHER (MINIMUM 5 POUND DRY
CHEMICAL)
1 - PORTABLE RESUSCITATION, OXYGEN INHALA-
TION APPARATUS
1 - FIXED OXYGEN INHALATION APPARATUS
1 - PORTABLE SUCTION APPARATUS
1 - PERMANENTLY MOUNTED SUCTION APPARATUS
1 - ADULT BAG MASK VENTILATOR
1 - CHILD BAG MASK VENTILATOR
1 - INFANT BAG MASK VENTILATOR
2 - Size “D” OR “E” BOTTLES OF OXYGEN
SPLINTS FOR TWO ARMS & TWO LEGS (MAY BE IN-
FLATABLE SPLINTS, TIMMONS SPLINTS, OR
WOODEN PADDED BOARDS)
1 - HARE TRACTION SPLINT OR EQUIVALENT
1 - KED (OR AN EQUIVALENT EXTRICATION DEVICE)
1 - SPINE BOARD (OR EQUIVALENT CPR DEVICE)
2 - BACKBOARDS
1 - ORTHOPEDIC STRETCHER
8 - EXTRICATION COLLARS (2 LARGE ADULT, 2 ME-
DIUM, 2 SMALL & 2 CHILD)
1 - BANDAGE SHEARS
1 - HAND LANTERN
1 - SET OROPHARYNGEAL AIRWAYS (SEVEN SIZES)
1 - AMBULANCE COT
1 - FOLDING STRETCHER OR SQUARE BENCH
1 - STAIR CHAIR OR COMBINATION STRETCHER-
CHAIR
1 - WRECKING BAR - 24" MINIMUM
2 - SPUTUM PANS OR BUCKETS
3 - BP CUFFS (ONE LARGE ADULT, ONE ADULT & ONE
CHILD)
1 - STETHOSCOPE
1 - HEAD IMMOBILIZER FOR EACH LONG
BACKBOARD
1 - AED (EFFECTIVE ONE YEAR FROM ADOPTION OF
THIS REGULATION)
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SUPPLIES

1 - SET DOT TRIANGLES
5 - ADHESIVE TAPE (VARIOUS SIZES)
2 - TOWELS
2 - BLANKETS
2 - PILLOWS
24- STERILE GAUZE PADS (4"X 4")
6  - ROLLER BANDAGE, SELF-ADHERING TYPE (3"X
5 YD)
2  - ROLLER BANDAGE, SELF ADHERING TYPE (6"X 5
YD)
1  - UNIVERSAL DRESSING (10"X 36")
3  - TRIANGULAR BANDAGES
2  - SETS OF COT LINENS
1  - OB. KIT (STERILE) including:

2 - DRAPE SHEETS
2 - PAIR RUBBER GLOVES
2 - RECEIVING BLANKETS
1 - BULB ASPIRATOR
2 - HAND TOOLS
2 - CORD CLAMPS OR UMBILICAL TAPE

1  - GALLON OF WATER (DISTILLED)
12- TRAUMA DRESSINGS
4  - ICE PACKS
12- SURGICAL DISPOSABLE GLOVES
4  - HOT PACKS
1  - BURN KIT
1  - SHARPS CONTAINER
6  - OXYGEN MASKS - NON REBREATHERS AND 6
NASAL CANULES
12- EYE/MOUTH/NOSE PROTECTION (DISPOSABLE)
1  - CHILD CAR  SEAT
EYE PROTECTION
DISPOSABLE GOWNS
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates
new text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracked Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Braketed striken through]
indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence
and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed
and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information
submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule
of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and
the decision shall be supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation
of such regulation adopted, amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or
conclusions required by the law under which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum
of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE
SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL
REGULATION

BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC

Statutory Authority:  Title 24, Section
706(a)(1) of the Delaware Code

(24 Del.C. 706(a)(1))

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE FOLLOWING
REGULATORY CHANGES WERE

INITIATED PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE
DATE OF THE CURRENT

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT
THE FOLLOWING IS PRESENTED FOR

INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY

BEFORE THE BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION |
OF REGULATIONS TO GOVERN | ORDER
CERTAIN ASPECTS OF THE PRACTICE |
OF CHIROPRACTIC |

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C.
Subsection 706(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Chiropractic
conducted a public hearing concerning proposed regulations
to govern certain aspects of the practice of chiropractic in
the State of Delaware.

The public hearing was held upon due notice on
April 17, 1997 before the undersigned individuals
constituting a quorum of the Board.  There were no written
comments received by the Board concerning this
rulemaking proceeding, and the oral testimony of one
witness and a presentation on continuing education were
received and considered by the Board.  Deputy Attorney
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General Marc Niedzielski advised the Board
Upon consideration of the testimony of Dr.

Eleanor Stump, a Delaware licensed Chiropractor the
Board determined to modify and clarify the proposed Rule
No. 712(a)(1) by the addition of the following language:

Certification in any nationally recognized
Chiropractic specialty or technique
requires that the licensee shall have
completed all requirements for
recognition as a practitioner of such
Chiropractic specialty or technique by
the nationally recognized certification
body.

Dr. Stump supported the 100 hours as a
certification requirement but suggested the addition of an
examination requirement.  The Board felt that the concern
for examination should be reasonably accommodated by
meeting the requirements of a nationally certifying entity.

The Board recognized that various techniques or
types of chiropractic with nationally recognized
certification bodies may reasonably require the
Chiropractor to meet additional or other requirements of
the national group or society and recognition of that fact
should be incorporated into the proposed rule by the
additional language noted above.

The Board also determined that further
clarification was required in Rule 712.2(d) by the addition
of the term “willful” to insure that any violations caused
by a accident or inadvertence would not be included.

The Board also considered for the presentation of
Diane Vincent of the Exam Master Corporation
concerning possible methods for meeting the requirements
of Rule No. 706.2 concerning the completion of a course
to be approved by the Board involving AIDS/
Communicable diseases.

The Board, at the hearing on April 17, 1997, also
determined that it would hold the record of the
proceedings open for an additional (15) days to facilitate
the filing of further written comments.  No such comments
have been received.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Board finds and
concludes on the basis of the evidence and comments
received and the deliberation of the Board, that the hereto
attached Rules are reasonable, appropriate, and should be
and hereby are adopted to be effective thirty (30) days
from the date of this Order.

BEFORE THE BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION |
OF REGULATIONS TO GOVERN | ORDER
CERTAIN ASPECTS OF THE PRACTICE |
OF CHIROPRACTIC |

IT IS SO ORDERED this 15th day of May, 1997.

Hal Bowen, D.C., President
Trent Camp, D.C., Member
Bryan R. Errico, D.C., Member
Kristina a. Hollstein-Rash, D.C., Member
W. Monroe Hearne, Public Member
Rebecca T. Gates, Public Member

DELAWARE BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC
RULES AND REGULATIONS

ADOPTED JUNE 14, 1997

RULE 701. CHIROPRACTIC DEFINED; LIMITATIONS
OF CHIROPRACTIC LICENSE

701.1 An adjunctive procedure not otherwise
prohibited by Chapter 7 which aids and or assists the
chiropractor in providing chiropractic care and includes
by way of example and is not limited to:

Acupuncture Procedures
Physiological Therapeutics
Diet and Nutritional Programs
Rehabilitation/Exercise Programs

RULE 703. OFFICERS; MEETINGS; QUORUM

703.1 The Board will hold elections for the
offices of President and Secretary at the regularly
scheduled meeting in October of each year or as soon
thereafter as practical.  Vacancies occurring in an office
shall be filled for the remainder of the term in the month
following the vacancy or as soon thereafter as is practical.

RULE 706. POWERS AND DUTIES:  IMMUNITY.
Continuing Education for New Licensees:

706.1 During the first reporting period after
initial licensure, each licensee shall complete as part of his
or her continuing education requirements a two (2) hour
course in Delaware Chiropractic law and Regulations or
general Chiropractic jurisprudence approved by the
Board.

706.2 During the first reporting period after
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initial licensure, each licensee shall complete as part of his
or her continuing education requirements a two (2) hour
course in AIDS/Communicable diseases approved by the
Board.

706.3  - At the time of the initial license renewal,
some individuals will have been licensed for less than two
(2) years.  Therefore, for these individuals only, the
continuing education hours will be pro-rated as follows:

License Granted During First Year: Credit Hours
Required:

July 1 - December 31 24 hours
January 1 - June 30 18 hours

License Granted During Second Year: Credit Hours
Required:

July 1 - December 31 12 hours
January 1 - June 30  6 hours

Continuing Education for Licensees other than new
licensees:

706.4 Unless otherwise excused by the Board
for good cause such as illness, extended absence from the
country, or unique personal hardship which is not the
result of professional negligence or inadvertence, all
Chiropractors seeking renewal more than two (2) years
from initial licensure or reinstatement of a lapsed license
must provide to the Board adequate proof of the
satisfactory completion of twenty four (24) hours of
Board approved continuing education within the
immediately preceding two (2) year period.  A licensee
who has failed to meet the continuing education
requirement for renewal of licensure but who has paid the
renewal fee may be granted a period of thirty (30) days to
complete the continuing education.

RULE 710. ISSUANCE OF LICENSE; RENEWAL;
INACTIVE STATUS;
REINSTATEMENTS.

710.1 The Biennial licenses granted by the
Board shall automatically terminate on June 30th of each
even numbered year or on such other date as is specified
by the Division of Professional Regulation.  A licensee
who fails to renew a license before the expiration date may
renew on a late basis for a period not to exceed one (1)
year.

Inactive Status and Termination of Practice.

710.2 Any licensee who seeks to be placed on

inactive status or who terminates his or her practice and is
not transferring his or her records to another chiropractor
shall notify the Board in writing and notify all patients
treated within the last three years by publication in a
newspaper of general circulation throughout the State of
Delaware and offer to make the patients records available
to the patient or his duly authorized representative.  Such
notice by publication shall be made at least ninety (90)
days prior to termination of the practice except in an
emergency situation where as much notice as is
reasonably possible shall be given.  All patients who have
not requested their records form such publication of
notice shall, within  thirty days of the closing of the
business be notified by first class mail to permit patients to
procure their records.  Patient records must be retained by
the Chiropractor or arrangements made for the
maintenance and retention of patient records for three (3)
years from the date of the last treatment.

RULE 712.  GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE
Unprofessional Conduct in Advertising

712.1 Any Licensee who advertises or holds
out to the public that he or she is a specialist in any specific
chiropractic or adjunctive procedure without having a
valid current certification as having special training and/
or certification in such procedure or procedures from a
recognized certification body is guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

712.1(a)Certification in any nationally recognized
specialty for a licensee requires a minimum of one
hundred (100) or more hours of certified training beyond
and in addition to any courses or training received toward
a degree of Doctor of  Chiropractic.  Certification in any
nationally recognized chiropractic specialty or technique
requires that the licensee shall have completed all
requirements for recognition as a practitioner of such
chiropractic specialty or technique by the nationally
recognized certification body.

712.2 The fol lowing advert ising and
promotional practices are deemed to be  misleading, false,
deceptive, dishonorable and/or unethical and shall
constitute unprofessional conduct by a licensee:

(a) The use of testimonials without
written permission of that doctor’s patient.

(b) Offering free or discounted
examinations unless all charges associated with such
examinations, including all x-ray fees and charges, are
conspicuously set out in writing at the time of and in
conjunction with such offer and unless such examinations
are offered regardless of the availability of insurance
coverage of any recommended subsequent treatment.

(c) The use of unjustified or
exaggerated claims, promises or statements which
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guarantee or strongly imply cure or successful treatment
or are otherwise false, fraudulent, deceptive, or
misleading.

(d) Willful failure to identify
licensee as a Doctor of Chiropractic.

Unprofessional conduct with patient, employees, or co-
workers.

712.3 Sexual misconduct in violation of a
statute of the State of Delaware or any State or
Commonwealth where such conduct takes place,
involving a licensee and a patient, employee or co-worker
shall be deemed to be unprofessional conduct.

RULE 713. LICENSE TO PRACTICE

713.1 A Chiropractor licensed elsewhere but
not licensed in the State of Delaware may practice
chiropractic within the State of Delaware only in
consultation with a duly Delaware licensed Chiropractor
for not more than ten (10) consultations in any twelve (12)
month period, which consultations shall be limited to
examination, recommendation or testimony in litigation.

LINK TO AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT PAGE

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE

MANAGEMENT
Air Quality Management Section

Statutory Authority:  Title 7, Chapter 60 of the
Delaware Code

(7 Del.C. Ch. 60 )

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE FOLLOWING
REGULATORY CHANGES WERE

INITIATED PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE
DATE OF THE CURRENT

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT
THE FOLLOWING IS PRESENTED FOR

INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE FOLLOWING WAS
THE EXISTING REGULATION

The Secretary of the Department of Natural Re-
sources and Environmental Control (DNREC) approved a
revision to Regulation No. 2 on May 1, 1997.  The revision
was proposed at a public hearing held on January 23, 1997,
and the revised regulation took effect on June 1, 1997.

Regulation No. 2 establishes the procedures that sat-
isfy the requirement of 7 Del. C. Chapter 60 to report and
obtain approval of equipment which has the potential to dis-
charge air contaminants into the atmosphere.  It also satisfies,
for construction or modification activities not subject to Regu-
lation No. 25 (Preconstruction Review), the procedures that
satisfy the requirement of 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart I and Sec-
tion 110(a)(2)(c) of the federal Clean Air Act (i.e., the re-
quirement for the State to establish a minor new source re-
view program).

Regulation No. 2 was revised for two reasons:  to
implement the initiatives of the State’s Permitting Policy Task
Force (a group consisting of Department and Public repre-
sentatives established by the Governor in late 1993 to ana-
lyze and, where possible, recommend initiatives to stream-
line DNREC’s environmental permitting processes); and to
create a mechanism to enable the Department to issue “feder-
ally enforceable” operating permits pursuant to Regulation
No. 2. Permitting Policy Task Force Initiatives.  The Permit-
ting Policy Task Force approved five initiatives that related
to Regulation No. 2.  All five of the initiatives were imple-
mented through the subject revision.  The five initiatives are:

a. Equipment emitting less than 0.2 pound per day
will not be required to apply for either an exemption or a
permit to construct and operate.

b. Equipment emitting equal to or greater than 0.2
pound per day but less than 10 pounds per day will simply be
required to register such equipment with the Department.

c. Source Category Permits will be developed to
streamline the permitting of very similar sources.

d. Where possible, the “Insignificant Activities
List” in Regulation No. 30 (Title V) has been matched with
the “Permit Exemption List” in Regulation No. 2.

e. Optional procedures have been developed that
provide for construction permit terms and conditions to trans-
fer to a Regulation No. 30 (Title V) permit via the adminis-
trative permit amendment process.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/air_wste.htm
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Federal Enforceability Mechanism.  The Department

also took advantage of this regulation revision opportunity to
establish procedures that make all Regulation No. 2 permit
terms and conditions legally and practically enforceable, and
to establish optional procedures that make Regulation No. 2
permit terms and conditions federally enforceable.  This op-
tional mechanism may be used by truly small facility’s and/
or equipment so that they may avoid otherwise applicable
complex permitting and/or control requirements.

Ronald A. Amirikian and Leslie C. Andersen [(302)
323-4542] are available to answer any questions you may
have about revised Regulation No. 2.  The Department will
hold public training seminars this summer to help those sub-
ject to the regulation better understand the provisions and take
full advantage of the changes made.

Secretary’s Order No. 97-A-0014
Re: Regulation No. 2 (“Permits”) of the

Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution

Date of Issuance: May 1, 1997

I. Background

On January 23, 1997, a public hearing was held to
receive comments on amending the Delaware Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution Regulation No. 2,
entitled Permits.

II. Findings

1. The Department provided proper notice of the hear-
ing as required by law.

2. The changes were proposed in part to effectuate per-
mit reform initiatives in response to the Governor’s Permit
Reform Program of 1993.

3. Other changes involved were proposed to implement
a mechanism to establish federally enforceable permits to
provide industry with an additional option.

4. All of the proposed changes to the Regulation were
subject to adequate public notice and comment.

5. The proposed regulatory changes are estimated to
reduce workloads and burdens of the Department and the regu-
lated industry.

6. Under these circumstances it may be appropriate to
hold workshops to inform newly affected sources of the im-
pact of the regulatory changes after the changes have been
promulgated as required by law.

7. Seven Del.C. Chapter 60 which authorizes the Sec-
retary to adopt rules, regulations or plans to effectuate the
policies and purposes of Chapter 60, clearly delegates suffi-
cient authority for the Secretary to adopt the proposed regis-
tration process.

III. Order

In view of the above findings, it is hereby ordered
that the proposed Regulation No. 2 of the Delaware Regula-
tions Governing the Control of Air Pollution be adopted and
promulgated according to the Administrative Procedures Act
and any other applicable law.  In addition, it is ordered that
the Department hold public seminars to educate the public
with respect to the regulatory changes.

V. Reasons

The proposed regulatory changes are intended to
effecutate permit reform initiatives in response to the
Governor’s Permit Reform Program of 1993 and to imple-
ment a mechanism to establish federally enforceable permits
to provide industry with an additional option.  In addition,
the proposed regulatory changes are estimated to reduce the
work load and burden of both the Department and the regu-
lated industry.  Consequently, the proposed regulatory changes
will further the policies and purposes of 7 Del.C. Chapter 60.

Christophe A. G. Tulou,
Secretary

REGULATION NO. 2
PERMITS

02/01/81
Section 1 - General Provisions

1.1 The purpose of this Regulation is to describe the
requirements to report and obtain approval of equipment
which has the potential to discharge air contaminants into
the atmosphere.

1.2 Information obtained through the provisions of
this Regulation shall be made available for public
inspection at any Department office except where such
information is of confidential nature as defined in Title
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7, Delaware Code, Section 6014.

02/18/87
Section 2 - Construction, Installation, Alteration and
Operation Permits

2.1 No person shall initiate construction, install,
alter or initiate operation of any equipment or facility or
air contaminant control device which will emit or
prevent the emission of an air contaminant prior to
receiving approval of his application from the
Department except as provided in Section 2.9.  In
situations in which construction, installation, or
alteration is proposed and operation of the equipment,
facility, or air contaminant control device is to follow,
only one application need be submitted.  The
application shall consist of a description of at least the
following:

a. The equipment or apparatus covered by
the application; and

b. Any equipment connected or attached
to, or servicing or served by the unit of equipment or
apparatus covered by the application; and

c. The plot plan, including the distance
and height of building within a reasonable distance from
the place where the equipment is or will be installed, if
necessarily required by the Department; and

d. The proposed means for the prevention
or control of the emissions or contaminant;

e. The chemical composition and amount
of any trade waste to be produced as a result of the
construction, installation, or alteration of any equipment
or apparatus covered by this application;

f. Any additional information, evidence
or documentation required by the Department to show
what the proposed equipment or apparatus will do.

g. Methods and expected frequency of
occurrence of the start-up and shutdown of the
equipment, including projected effects of emissions to
the atmosphere and on ambient air quality.

h. The nature and amount of emission to
be emitted by equipment, the facility, or an air
contaminant control device or emitted by associated
mobile sources.

No approval to construct, install, alter, or initiate
operation will be granted unless the applicant shows to the
satisfaction of the Department that the source will not
prevent or interfere with attainment or maintenance of any
State or National Air Quality Standard.  Any approval
granted by the Department shall not relieve an owner or
operator of the responsibility of complying with
applicable local, State, and Federal laws and regulations.

2.2 In situations in which construction, installation,
or alteration is proposed, and operation of the equipment,
facility, or air contaminant control device is to follow,
such operation shall not commence until written approval
is obtained by the applicant from the Department.  The
Department may condition approval to operate on a
demonstration by the applicant of satisfactory performance
of the equipment, facility, or air contaminant control
device.  In the event the applicant fails to demonstrate
satisfactory performance, the Department may require the
applicant to cease emissions from the source.  Upon
granting written approval for operation, the Department
shall give notice of such approval to any person who has
submitted a written request for such notice.

2.3 Within 60 days of receipt of a written request by
the Department, an owner or operator of an existing
facility, equipment, or device which emits or causes to be
emitted an air contaminant, and which is not exempted
under Section 3.1, shall submit an application to the
Department for a permit.

2.4 No permit shall be issued by the Department
unless the applicant shows to the satisfaction of the
Department that the equipment, facility, or air contaminant
control device is designed to operate or is operating
without causing a violation of any rule or regulation of the
Department and without interfering with the attainment or
maintenance of National and State ambient air quality
standards.  The Department may, from time to time, issue
or accept criteria for the guidance of applicants indicating
the technical specifications which it deems will comply
with the performance standards referenced herein.

2.5 Before a permit is issued, the Department may
require the applicant to conduct such tests as are necessary
in the opinion of the Department to determine the kind
and/or amount of the contaminants emitted from the
equipment or whether the equipment or fuel or the
operation of the equipment will be in violation of any of
the provisions of any rule or regulation of the Department.
Such tests shall be made at the expense of the applicant
and shall be conducted in a manner approved by the
Department.

2.6 A construction permit or any renewal thereof
shall be valid for a period not to exceed three years from
the date of issuance, unless sooner revoked by order of the
Department, and may be renewed upon application to and
approval by the Department.

2.7 An operating permit may be valid for an
indefinite period, unless the equipment or operation for
which a permit is written has controlled emissions of 100
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tons or more per year of any air contaminant, in which
case the permit shall be valid for not more than a 5-year
period and shall be evaluated prior to re-issuance to
determine if permitted emission limits are appropriate.

2.8 In the event the Department denies a request for
approval of a permit to operate any equipment, facility, or
device for which an application was made, the applicant
shall not commence operation until such time that
approval has been obtained from the Department or a
permit to operate has been issued by the Department.

2.9 The provisions of Section 2.1 and 2.2 shall not
apply to the operation of equipment or processes for the
purpose of initially demonstrating satisfactory performance
to the Department following construction, installation,
modification or alteration of the equipment or processes.
The applicant shall notify the Department sufficiently in
advance of the demonstration and shall obtain the
Department’s prior concurrence of the operating factors,
time period and other pertinent details relating to the
demonstration.

2.10 Upon receipt of an application for the issuance of
an operating permit the Department, in its discretion, may
issue a temporary operating permit valid for a period not
to exceed ninety (90) days.  A temporary operating permit
issued pursuant to this section shall not be extended more
than once for an additional 90-day period.

01/31/90
Section 3 - Exemptions

3.1 A permit for installation, alteration, or operation
shall not be required for the following equipment or
apparatus:

a. Air contaminant detector, air contaminant
recorder, combustion controller or combustion shut-off.

b. Fuel burning equipment, other than
smokehouse generators, which:

1. Uses only natural gas, LP gas,
or other desulfurized fuel gas and has a rated heat input of
less than 100 million BTU per hour; or

2. Is used in a private dwelling as
defined in Regulation 1; or

3. Has a BTU input of less than
1,000,000 BTU per hour, except as provided in
REGULATION NO. 22, RESTRICTION ON QUALITY
OF FUEL IN FUEL BURNING EQUIPMENT.

c. Air conditioning or comfort ventilating
systems.

d. Vacuum cleaning systems used
exclusively for industrial, commercial, or residential
housekeeping.

e. Ventilating or exhaust systems for print
storage room cabinets.

f. Exhaust systems for controlling steam
and heat.

g. Laboratory equipment used exclusively
for chemical or physical analysis.

h. Internal combustion engines and vehicles
used for transport of passengers or freight, except as may
be provided in subsequent Regulations.

i. Equipment or apparatus emitting less
than ten pounds per day of any air contaminant which, in
the written opinion of the Department, has little or no
potential of causing air pollution.

j. Maintenance, repair, or replacement in
kind of equipment for which a permit to operate has been
issued.

k. Equipment which emits only nitrogen,
oxygen, carbon dioxide, and/or water vapor.

l. Ventilating or exhaust systems used in
eating establishments where food is prepared for the
purpose of consumption.

m. Equipment used to liquify or separate
oxygen, nitrogen or the rare gases from the air.

n. Fireworks.
o. Smudge pots for orchards or small

outdoor heating devices to prevent freezing of plants.
p. Outdoor painting and sand blasting

equipment.
q. Lawnmowers, tractors, farm equipment

and construction equipment.
r. All storage tanks at gasoline dispensing

facilities in Kent and Sussex Counties and any such tank
in New Castle County having a capacity of 2,000 gallons
or less; and all motor vehicle fuel dispensing pumps.

s. Fireplaces for burning of wood and
paper.

t. Residential wood burning stoves.
u. Any stationary storage tank not subject

to control by these regulations which contains any liquid
having a true vapor pressure less than 0.5 psia at 70oF or is
less than 5000 gallons capacity.

3.2 Provisions of Section  3.1 shall not  apply to any
source which emits an air contaminant designated as a
hazardous pollutant by the Environmental Protection
Agency.

07/17/84
Section 4 - Applications Prepared by Interested Party

4.1 Application for an installation or alteration
permit or for the removal of such permit shall be made by
the owner or lessee of the equipment, or apparatus or his
agent, on forms furnished by the Department.  If the
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applicant is a partnership or group other than a
corporation, the application shall be made by one
individual who is a member of the group.  If the applicant
is a corporation, the application shall be made by an
appropriate representative of the corporation.  The
application shall be filed with the Division of
Environmental Control.

4.2 Each application shall be signed by the applicant,
and certified by a professional engineer as to the accuracy
of the technical information concerning the equipment,
apparatus or design features contained in the application,
plus plans and other papers submitted.  The signature of
the applicant shall constitute an agreement that the
applicant will assume responsibility for the installation,
alteration or use of the equipment or apparatus concerned
in accordance with the requirements of this Regulation.

10/08/82
Section 5 - Cancellation of Permits

5.1 The Department may cancel a permit if the
installation or alteration is not begun or if the work
involved in installation or alteration is not completed,
within the time limits specified in the permit.

10/08/82
Section 6 - Action on Applications

6.1 If an application is disapproved, the Department
shall set forth its objections in the notice of disapproval.

07/17/84
Section 7 - Suspension or Revocation of Operating
Permits

7.1 The Department may suspend or revoke an
operating permit for violation of any permit condition or
violation of this or any other applicable rule or regulation
of the Department or any law administered by the
Department and may take such other actions as it deems
necessary.

7.2 Suspension or revocation of an operating permit
shall become final immediately upon service of notice on
the holder of the permit, unless otherwise stated in the
notice of suspension or revocation.

07/17/84
Section 8 - Transfer of Permit Prohibited

8.1 No person shall transfer a permit from one
location to another, or from one piece of equipment to
another.  No person shall transfer a permit from one

person to another person unless thirty (30) days written
notice is given to the Department, indicating the transfer
is agreeable to both persons, and approval of such transfer
is obtained in writing from the Department.

07/17/84
Section 9 - Availability of Permits

9.1 Any permit shall be available on the premises
designated on the permit.

THE FOLLOWING IS THE REGULATION THAT
BECAME EFFECTIVE JUNE 1, 1997

REGULATION NO. 2
PERMITS

06/01/97
Section 1 - General Provisions

1.1 This regulation establishes the procedures that
satisfy the requirement of 7 Del. C. Chapter 60 to report
and obtain approval of equipment which has the potential
to discharge air contaminants into the atmosphere, and, for
construction or modification activities not subject to
Regulation No. 25, the procedures that satisfy the
requirement of 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart I (July 7, 1994
edition) and Section 110(a)(2)(C) of the federal clean air
act (CAA) as amended November 15, 1990.

1.2 This regulation establishes procedures that enable
a person to, as an option, secure federally enforceable
terms and conditions in a permit issued pursuant to this
regulation.

1.3 This regulation establishes procedures that enable
a person subject to both this regulation and to Regulation
No. 30 to, as an option, transfer the terms and conditions of
a construction permit issued pursuant to this regulation
into a Regulation No. 30 operating permit via the
administrative permit amendment process specified in
Regulation No. 30.

1.4 Within sixty (60) calendar days of receipt of a
written request by the Department, an owner or operator of
an existing facility, equipment, or air contaminant control
device which emits or causes to be emitted any air
contaminant shall submit to the Department any relevant
information that the Department may request.  Relevant
information includes information that, in the Departments
opinion, is relevant to any permit application/registration
or that is necessary to determine the applicability of or
compliance with any State or Federal requirement, any
permit term or condition, or any condition of registration.
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Such information also includes a permit application or a
registration form, or a corrected or supplemented
application/registration.  This provision does not limit the
applicability of, nor does it sanction noncompliance with
the requirements of Section 2.1 of this regulation.

1.5 Any approval granted by the Department pursuant
to this Regulation, and any exemption from the
requirements of this Regulation provided for in Section 2.2
shall not relieve an owner or operator of the responsibility
of complying with applicable local, State, and Federal laws
and regulations.

06/01/97
Section 2 - Applicability

2.1 Except as exempted in Section 2.2, no person
shall initiate construction, install, alter or initiate operation
of any equipment or facility or air contaminant control
device which will emit or prevent the emission of an air
contaminant prior to receiving approval of his application
from the Department or, if eligible, prior to submitting to
the Department a completed registration form.

a. For equipment that meets all applicable
emission rate(s) and/or standard(s) specified in Section
11.8(a) and (b) without an air contaminant control device,
and that meets the following conditions, the person shall
submit to the Department a registration form pursuant to
Section 9 of this regulation.

i. For equipment without an air
contaminant control device, the equipment has actual
emissions to the atmosphere of any air contaminant(s), in
the aggregate, during any day that are equal to or greater
than 0.2 pound per day and, during each and every day,
that are less than ten (10) pounds per day; and

ii. For equipment with an air
contaminant control device, the equipment has actual
emissions to the inlet of the air contaminant control device
of any air contaminant(s), in the aggregate, during any day
that are equal to or greater than 0.2 pound per day and,
during each and every day, that are less than ten (10)
pounds per day; and

iii. Regulation No. 25 does not
apply.

b. For equipment, a facility or an air
contaminant control device that is not subject to Section
2.1(a) and that is subject to a source category permit, the
person shall submit to the Department an application for a
source category permit pursuant to Section 10 of this
regulation.  A list of established source category permits is
available from the Department.

c. For equipment, a facility or an air
contaminant control device that is not subject to Section
2.1(a) or 2.1(b), the person shall submit to the Department

an application for a permit pursuant to Section 11 of this
regulation.

d. Any person who operates equipment, a
facility or an air contaminant control device in accordance
with a valid permit issued pursuant to Section 2.1(c) of this
regulation, and who later becomes subject to a source
category permit:

i. May, at any time, submit to the
Department an application for a source category permit
pursuant to Section 10 of this regulation; and

ii. Shall, within sixty (60) calendar
days of receipt of written request from the Department,
submit to the Department an application for a source
category permit pursuant to Section 10 of this regulation.

2.2 Provided that Regulation No. 25 does not apply, a
permit for installation, alteration, or operation pursuant to
this regulation shall not be required for the following
equipment or air contaminant control device.  Note
however that other State and Federal requirements may
apply.

a. Equipment without an air contaminant
control device that has actual emissions to the atmosphere
of any air contaminant(s), in the aggregate, during each
and every day that are less than 0.2 pound per day,
provided that:

i. The actual emissions are
quantified and documented; and

ii. Records are maintained at the
facility and are made available to the Department upon
request which document that the equipment qualifies for
this exemption.

b. Equipment with an air contaminant
control device that has actual emissions to the inlet of the
air contaminant control device of any air contaminant(s),
in the aggregate, during each and every day that are less
than 0.2 pound per day, provided that:

i. The actual emissions are
quantified and documented; and

ii. Records are maintained at the
facility and are made available to the Department upon
request which document that the equipment qualifies for
this exemption.

c. The equipment listed in Appendix “A” of
this regulation.

d. For operation, any equipment or air
contaminant control device that is specifically identified in
an operation permit issued pursuant to Regulation No. 30.

e. Equipment that is registered pursuant to
Section 9 of this regulation.

2.3 Any person who operates fuel burning equipment
which uses only natural gas, LP gas, or other desulfurized
fuel gas and has a rated heat input of less than 100 million
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BTUs per hour, or any other equipment, that was exempted
from the requirement to have a permit by Regulation No. 2,
Section 3.1 (as in effect immediately preceding the
effective date of this regulation), or who operates a piece
of equipment, a facility, or an air contaminant control
device in accordance with a valid permit or letter of
exemption that was issued by the Department prior to June
1, 1997, and who, with regard to that specific equipment,
facility, or air contaminant control device, is now subject
to Section 2.1 of this regulation:

a. May, at any time, submit to the
Department a registration form or a permit application
pursuant to Section 2.1; and

b. Shall, within sixty (60) calendar days of
receipt of a written request from the Department, submit to
the Department a registration form or a permit application
pursuant to Section 2.1; and

c. Shall not init iate construction,
installation, or alteration of the equipment, facility or air
contaminant control device prior to complying with
Section 2.1 of this regulation (i.e., prior to receiving
approval of his application from the Department or, if
eligible, prior to submitting to the Department a completed
registration form).

2.4 Any person may petition the Department to
establish a source category permit.  The petition and, if
approved, the establishment of the source category permit
shall be pursuant to the procedures in Regulation No. 30 of
the State of Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control
of Air Pollution.”

06/01/97
Section 3 - Application/Registration Prepared by
Interested Party

3.1 Any application/registration form submitted to
the Department, or any request for the removal of any
permit or registration, shall be made by the owner or lessee
of the equipment, facility, or air contaminant control
device or by his agent.  If the applicant/registrant is a
partnership or group other than a corporation, the
application/registration shall be made by one individual
who is a member of the group.  If the applicant/registrant is
a corporation, the application/registration shall be made by
an appropriate representative of the corporation.  The
application/registration form shall be filed with the Air
Quality Management Section of the Division of Air and
Waste Management.

3.2 Each application form shall be signed by the
applicant and certified by a professional engineer as to the
accuracy of the technical information concerning the
equipment, apparatus or design features contained in the

application, plus plans and other papers submitted.  Any
applicant who fails to submit any relevant facts or who
submitted incorrect information to the Department shall,
upon becoming aware of such failure or incorrect
submittal, promptly submit such supplementary facts or
correct information.  The signature of the applicant shall
constitute an agreement that the applicant will assume
responsibility for the installation, alteration or use of the
equipment or apparatus concerned in accordance with the
requirements of this Regulation.

3.3 Each registration form shall be signed and
certified by the registrant as to the accuracy of the
technical information concerning the equipment, apparatus
or design features contained in the registration.  Any
registrant who fails to submit any relevant facts or who
submitted incorrect information to the Department shall,
upon becoming aware of such failure or incorrect
submittal, promptly submit such supplementary facts or
correct information.  The signature of the registrant shall
constitute an agreement that the registrant will assume
responsibility for the installation, alteration or use of the
equipment or apparatus concerned in accordance with the
requirements of this Regulation.

06/01/97
Section 4 - Cancellation of Construction Permits

4.1 The Department may cancel a construction permit
if the installation or alteration is not begun or if the work
involved in installation or alteration is not completed
within the time limits specified in the permit.

06/01/97
Section 5 - Action on Applications

5.1 If an application is disapproved, the Department
shall set forth its objections in the notice of disapproval.

5.2 Upon granting written approval for operation, the
Department shall give notice of such approval to any
person who has submitted a written request for such notice.

06/01/97
Section 6 - Denial, Suspension or Revocation of Operating
Permits

6.1 In the event the Department denies a request for
approval of a permit to operate any equipment, facility, or
device for which an application was made, the applicant
shall not commence operation until such time that
approval has been obtained from the Department or a
permit to operate has been issued by the Department.
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6.2 The Department may suspend or revoke an
operating permit for violation of any permit condition or
violation of this or any other applicable rule or regulation
of the Department or any law administered by the
Department and may take such other actions as it deems
necessary.  Permit term(s) and condition(s) which were not
identified under Section 11.2(i) and which were not
subject to public participation under Section 12.3, and/or
which do not otherwise conform to the requirements of this
regulation, may be deemed not federally enforceable by
the Administrator of the EPA.

6.3 Suspension or revocation of an operating permit
shall become final immediately upon service of notice on
the holder of the permit, unless otherwise stated in the
notice of suspension or revocation.

06/01/97
Section 7 - Transfer of Permit/Registration Prohibited

7.1 No person shall transfer a permit from one
location to another, or from one piece of equipment to
another.  No person shall transfer a permit from one person
to another person unless thirty (30) days written notice is
given to the Department, indicating the transfer is
agreeable to both persons, and approval of such transfer is
obtained in writing from the Department.

7.2 No person shall transfer a registration from one
location to another, or from one piece of equipment to
another.  No person shall transfer a registration from one
person to another person unless prior written notice is
given to the Department, indicating the transfer is
agreeable to both persons.

06/01/97
Section 8 - Availability of Permit/Registration

8.1 Any permit and any registration form shall be
available on the premises where the construction,
alteration, installation, or operation activity takes place.

06/01/97
Section 9 - Registration Submittal

9.1 Any person identified in Section 2.1(a) shall
register the piece of equipment with the Department on
forms furnished by the Department.

9.2 A person shall register with the Department by
submitting to the Department a completed registration
form that is certified by the person identified in Section
3.1.  Registration forms are available from the Department
upon request.  The registration shall consist of at least the

following:
a. A description of the equipment covered

by the registration; and
b. A description of the nature and

quantification of the amount of the emission from the
equipment; and

c. A demonstration that the equipment
meets the emission rate(s) and/or standard(s) specified in
Section 11.8(a) and (b) of this regulation without an air
contaminant control device.

9.3 Immediately after submitting to the Department
the information specified in Section 9.2 of this regulation
the registrant may initiate construction, install, alter or
initiate operation of the equipment.

a. The registrant shall maintain records at
the facility which document that the equipment meets the
requirements of Section 2.1(a), and shall make such
records available to the Department upon request.

b. If at any time the registered equipment
does not meet the requirements of Section 2.1(a),
operation of said equipment shall be immediately
discontinued until all necessary permits have been
secured.

c. If at any time the Department determines
that the registered equipment does not meet the
requirements of Section 2.1(a), a violation of this
regulation may have occurred and enforcement action may
ensue.

9.4 The submittal of a registration form does not
relieve the registrant from the requirement to comply with
all State and Federal requirements.  Such requirements
include, but are not limited to, monitoring, record keeping
and reporting requirements, any requirement to consider
actual emissions and/or the potential to emit of all
equipment when determining the applicability of and/or
compliance with certain State and Federal requirements,
and any requirement to revise a Regulation No. 30 permit
if required to do so by that regulation.

9.5 A person may, in lieu of submitting to the
Department a registration form, elect to:

a. Apply for a permit pursuant to Section
2.1(b) or 2.1(c) of this regulation, as applicable.

b. Submit to the Department all of the
information required by Section 9.2(a) and (b).  In such a
case the registrant shall not commence construction/
operation until written approval is obtained from the
Department.

06/01/97
Section 10 - Source Category Permit Application
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10.1 Any person identified in Section 2.1(b) shall
submit to the Department an application requesting a
source category permit on forms furnished by the
Department.

10.2 The application requesting a source category
permit shall include all of the following:

a. All of the information called for by the
source category application form.  Source category
application forms are available from the Department upon
request.

b. Certification by the person identified in
Section 3.1 that the source will comply with all of the terms
and conditions of the source category permit.

c. For facilities subject to Regulation No.
30, the person identified in Section 3.1 of this regulation
shall be a responsible official as defined in Regulation No.
30, and the application shall contain the following
language from the responsible official: “I certify, based on
information and belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the
statements and information in the document are true,
accurate, and complete.”

10.3 For facilities not subject to Regulation No. 30, the
Department shall grant approval by issuing to the applicant
a source category permit.

10.4 For facilities subject to Regulation No. 30, the
Department shall grant approval by incorporating the
source category permit into the Regulation No. 30 permit
by reference, and such incorporation shall be via the
administrative permit amendment process specified in
Regulation No. 30.

10.5 A source category permit may be valid for an
indefinite period, except as provided for in Regulation No.
30 for sources subject to that regulation.

06/01/97
Section 11 - Permit Application

11.1 Any person identified in Section 2.1(c) shall
submit to the Department an application for a permit on
forms furnished by the Department.  Permit application
forms are available from the Department upon request.

11.2 The application shall consist of a description of at
least the following:

a. The equipment or apparatus covered by
the application; and

b. Any equipment connected or attached to,
or servicing or served by the unit of equipment or
apparatus covered by the application; and

c. The plot plan, including the distance and

height of building within a reasonable distance from the
place where the equipment is or will be installed, if
necessarily required by the Department; and

d. The proposed means for the prevention
or control of the emissions or contaminant;

e. The chemical composition and amount
of any trade waste to be produced as a result of the
construction, installation, or alteration of any equipment
or apparatus covered by this application;

f. Any additional information, evidence or
documentation required by the Department to show what
the proposed equipment or apparatus will do.

g. Methods and expected frequency of
occurrence of the start-up and shutdown of the equipment,
including projected effects of emissions to the atmosphere
and on ambient air quality.

h. The nature and amount of emission to be
emitted by equipment, the facility, or an air contaminant
control device or emitted by associated mobile sources.

i. If the applicant desires any of the term(s)
or condition(s) of the permit to be federally enforceable,
the applicant shall state that fact in the application.  The
ensuing permit shall clearly indicate the specific term(s)
and condition(s) that are federally enforceable.

j. If the applicant desires any of the term(s)
or condition(s) of a construction permit to transfer to a
Regulation No. 30 permit via the administrative permit
amendment process specified in Regulation No. 30 the
following additional requirements apply:

i. The person identified in Section 3.1 of
this regulation shall be a responsible official as defined in
Regulation No. 30, and the application shall contain the
following language from the responsible official: “I
certify, based on information and belief formed after
reasonable inquiry, the statements and information in the
document are true, accurate, and complete.”

ii. The application shall include the
following additional information:

A. The citat ion and
description of all applicable requirements that will apply to
the equipment, facility, or air contaminant control device
and that will become applicable to any covered source as a
result of the construction, installation, alteration, or
operation; and a description of, or reference to, any
applicable test method for determining compliance with
each applicable requirement.  The terms “applicable
requirement” and “covered source” retain the meanings
accorded to them in Regulation No. 30.

B. Certification by the
responsible official that the source will meet all applicable
requirements on a timely basis, and, if a  more detailed
schedule is expressly required by any applicable
requirement, that applicable requirement in accordance
with that more detailed schedule.
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C. If desired, information

necessary to define alternative operating scenarios under
Regulation No. 30, Section 6(a)(10), or to define permit
terms and conditions to implement emission averaging or
operational flexibility under Regulation No. 30, Section
6(a)(11) and 6(h).

 D. If desired, a request
that the Department, upon taking final action under
Section 11.5(b) or 11.5(c) of this regulation, allow
coverage under the permit shield as described in
Regulation No. 30, Section 6(f).

iii. The applicant shall provide
additional information necessary to address any
requirements that become applicable to the equipment,
facility, or air contaminant control device after the date it
filed an application under this section but prior to the date
advertisement is made pursuant to Section 12.4(b) of this
regulation.  This requirement is in addition to the
requirement of Section 2.1 of this regulation in situations
where construction, installation, or alteration is necessary
to comply with the new applicable requirement.

iv. The ensuing construction permit
shall clearly indicate the specific term(s) or condition(s) to
transfer to the Regulation No. 30 permit, and each such
term or condition shall specify the origin and the authority
for that term or condition, and shall identify any difference
in form as compared to the applicable requirement upon
which the term or condition is based.

11.3 In situations in which construction, installation,
or alteration is proposed, and operation of the equipment,
facility, or air contaminant control device is to follow, such
operation shall not commence until written approval is
obtained by the applicant from the Department in
accordance with Section 11.4 and 11.5, as applicable.  The
Department may condition approval to operate on a
demonstration by the applicant of satisfactory performance
of the equipment, facility, or air contaminant control
device.  In the event the applicant fails to demonstrate
satisfactory performance, the Department may require the
applicant to cease emissions from the source.

11.4 Persons not requesting review under Section
11.2(j) shall, upon completion of the construction,
installation or alteration, request that the Department grant
approval to operate.

a. An application does not need to be
submitted to the Department.  Note however that an
application may be required under Regulation No. 30 for
persons subject to that regulation.

b. Upon satisfactory demonstration that the
equipment, facility or air contaminant control device
complies with all of the terms and conditions of the
construction permit, the Department shall grant approval

to operate by issuing an operation permit.

11.5 Persons requesting review under Section 11.2(j)
shall, upon completion of the construction, installation or
alteration, request that the Department transfer the terms
and conditions of the construction permit into the
Regulation No. 30 operating permit.

a. The request shall contain the following
information, and shall contain the following language
from the responsible official: “I certify, based on
information and belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the
statements and information in the document are true,
accurate, and complete.”

i. A description of the compliance
status, a compliance schedule, and a certification of
compliance for the equipment, facility, or air contaminant
control device with respect to all applicable requirements,
in accordance with Regulation No. 30, Section 5(d)(8) and
(9); and

ii. A statement of the methods used
to determine compliance, including a description of
monitoring, record keeping, and reporting requirements
and test methods.

b. Upon satisfactory demonstration that the
equipment, facility or air contaminant control device
complies with all applicable requirements and all of the
terms and conditions of the construction permit, and not
prior to the expiration of the EPA review period provided
for in Section 12.5, the Department shall transfer the
specified terms and conditions to the Regulation No. 30
permit via the administrative permit amendment process
specified in Regulation No. 30.

c. If the Department determines that the
equipment, facility, or air contaminant control device does
not comply with any applicable requirement the
Department may take enforcement action, and shall do one
of the following:

 i. Provide an opportunity for the
applicant to resolve the noncompliance; then, upon
resolution, transfer the specified terms and conditions of
the construction permit to the Regulation No. 30 permit via
the administrative permit amendment process specified in
Regulation No. 30; or

ii. Transfer the specified terms and
conditions of the construction permit, and an enforceable
compliance schedule which satisfies the requirements of
Regulation No. 30, Section 5(d)(8)(iii), to the Regulation
No. 30 permit by reopening the permit for cause pursuant
to the procedures in Regulation No. 30; or

iii. Deny the request for approval to
operate.

11.6 No permit shall be issued by the Department
unless the applicant shows to the satisfaction of the
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Department that the equipment, facility, or air contaminant
control device is designed to operate or is operating
without causing a violation of the State Implementation
Plan, or any rule or regulation of the Department, and
without interfering with the attainment or maintenance of
National and State ambient air quality standards, and
without endangering the health, safety, and welfare of the
people of the State of Delaware.  The Department may,
from time to time, issue or accept criteria for the guidance
of applicants indicating the technical specifications which
it deems will comply with the performance standards
referenced herein.

11.7 Before a permit is issued, the Department may
require the applicant to conduct such tests as are necessary
in the opinion of the Department to determine the kind and/
or amount of the contaminants emitted from the equipment
or whether the equipment or fuel or the operation of the
equipment will be in violation of any of the provisions of
any rule or regulation of the Department.  Such tests shall
be made at the expense of the applicant and shall be
conducted in a manner approved by the Department.

11.8 The following emission rates and/or standards for
each air contaminant emitted from any equipment, facility
or air contaminant control device shall be specified in each
permit issued pursuant to this regulation:

a. The rate and/or standard established and/
or relied upon in the State Implementation Plan (SIP) to
include the State of Delaware “Regulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution” and regulations promulgated
pursuant to Section 111 and Section 112 of the Clean Air
Act (CAA); and

b. The rate that was shown under Section
11.6 as not interfering with the attainment and
maintenance of any National and State ambient air quality
standard, and not endangering the health, safety, and
welfare of the people of the State of Delaware; or

c. The rate requested by the applicant.  In
no case shall this rate be greater than the potential to emit
of the equipment, facility, or air contaminant control
device; and in no case shall this rate be less stringent than
the rate specified in Section 11.8(a) and (b) of this
regulation.

11.9 Each emission rate and standard shall be
enforceable as a practical matter.  Enforceable as a
practical matter means that each emission rate and
standard:

a. Is stated in the permit as a technically
specific and accurate limitation.

b. Is specifically associated with a particular
piece(s) of equipment or air contaminant control device(s).

c. Has associated conditions which, in total,

establish a method to determine compliance.  Such
associated conditions shall include appropriate testing,
monitoring, record keeping, and reporting requirements.

d. Has a recurring, predictable time period
under which compliance with the limitation will be
demonstrated.  Such time period shall be that specified in
the underlying State regulation or federal rule or, in the
absence of such specification and upon approval by the
Department, shall be hourly, daily, monthly, or some other
time period which provides for the demonstration of
compliance with the limitation no less frequently than
monthly.

11.10 A construction permit or any renewal thereof shall
be valid for a period not to exceed three years from the date
of issuance, unless sooner revoked by order of the
Department, and may be renewed upon application to and
approval by the Department.

11.11 An operating permit may be valid for an indefinite
period, unless the equipment or operation for which a
permit is written has controlled emissions of 100 tons or
more per year of any air contaminant, in which case the
permit shall be valid for not more than a 5-year period and
shall be evaluated prior to re-issuance to determine if
permitted emission limits are appropriate.

11.12 The provisions of Section 2.1 and 11.3 shall not
apply to the operation of equipment or processes for the
purpose of initially demonstrating satisfactory performance
to the Department following construction, installation,
modification or alteration of the equipment or processes.
The applicant shall notify the Department sufficiently in
advance of the demonstration and shall obtain the
Department’s prior concurrence of the operating factors,
time period and other pertinent details relating to the
demonstration.

11.13 Upon receipt of an application for the issuance of
an operating permit the Department, in its discretion, may
issue a temporary operating permit valid for a period not to
exceed ninety (90) days.  A temporary operating permit
issued pursuant to this Section shall not be extended more
than once for an additional 90-day period.

06/01/97
Section 12 - Public Participation

12.1 Information obtained through the provisions of
this Regulation shall be made available for public
inspection at any Department office except where such
information is of confidential nature as defined in
7 Del. C. Chapter 60, Section 6014. The Department shall
provide for public participation and comment in
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accordance with Section 12.2 through 12.6, as applicable.

12.2 Upon receipt of a source category permit
application or a permit application, in proper form, the
Department shall provide for public participation and
comment by:

a. Making available in at least one location
in the State of Delaware a public file containing a copy of
all materials that the applicant has submitted (other than
those granted confidential treatment).

b. Advertising in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed
and in a daily newspaper of general circulation throughout
the State: 1) the fact that the application has been received,
the identity of the affected facility, and the city or town in
which the facility is located, 2) a brief description of the
nature of the application, to include the activity or
activities involved in the permit action and the emissions
or the change in emission involved, and 3) the name,
address and telephone number of a Department
representative with responsibility for the permitting
action, the place at which a copy of the public file may be
inspected, and a statement of procedures to request a
hearing.

c. Sending notice of the information
detailed in Section 12.2(b) by mail to any person who has
requested such notification from the Department by
providing to the Department their name and mailing
address.

d. Holding, if the Department receives a
meritorious request for a hearing within fifteen (15)
calendar days of the date of the advertisement described in
Section 12.2(b), or if the Department deems it to be in the
best interest of the State to do so, a public hearing on an
application for interested persons to appear and submit
written or oral comments on the air quality impact of the
proposed action.

i. A public hearing request shall
be deemed meritorious if it exhibits a familiarity with the
application and a reasoned statement of the permit’s
probable impact.

ii. Not less than twenty (20)
calendar days before the time of said hearing, notification
that a public hearing will be held and the time and place of
that hearing shall be:

A. Served upon the
applicant as summonses are served or by registered or
certified mail; and

B. Published in a
newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the
activity is proposed and in a daily newspaper of general
circulation throughout the State.

e. Considering all comments submitted by
the applicant and the public in reaching its final

determination.

12.3 For each permit application requesting to make
the terms and conditions of a permit federally enforceable,
the Department shall  provide for public participation and
comment by:

a. Making available in at least one location
in the State of Delaware a public file containing a copy of
all materials that the applicant has submitted (other than
those granted confidential treatment), a copy of the draft
permit, and a copy or summary of other materials, if any,
considered in making the preliminary determination.

b. Advertising in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed
and in a daily newspaper of general circulation throughout
the State: 1) the fact that the application has been received,
the identity of the affected facility, and the city or town in
which the facility is located, 2) a brief description of the
nature of the application, to include the activity or
activities involved in the permit action and the emissions
or the change in emission involved, and 3) the name,
address and telephone number of a Department
representative with responsibility for the permitting
action, the place at which a copy of the public file may be
inspected, and a statement of procedures to request a
hearing.

c. On or before the date of the advertisement
described in Section 12.3(b):

i. Sending notice of the
information detailed in Section 12.3(b) by mail to the
Administrator of the EPA, through the Region III office,
and to any person who has requested such notification
from the Department by providing to the Department their
name and mailing address.

ii. Providing the Administrator of
the EPA, through the Region III office, a copy of the draft
permit.

d. Holding, if the Department receives a
meritorious request for a hearing within thirty (30)
calendar days of the date of the advertisement described in
Section 12.3(b), or if the Department deems it to be in the
best interest of the State to do so, a public hearing on an
application or the draft permit for interested persons to
appear and submit written or oral comments on the air
quality impact of the proposed action or on the specific
terms and conditions of the draft permit.

i. A public hearing request shall
be deemed meritorious if it exhibits a familiarity with the
application and a reasoned statement of the permit’s
probable impact.

ii. Not less than thirty (30) calendar
days before the time of said hearing, notification that a
public hearing will be held and the time and place of that
hearing shall be:
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A. Served upon the

applicant as summonses are served or by registered or
certified mail; and

B. Published in a
newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the
activity is proposed and in a daily newspaper of general
circulation throughout the State.

e. Affording the applicant an opportunity to
submit, within fifteen (15) days following the close of the
public comment period or the public hearing, whichever is
later, a response to any comments made.

f. Considering all comments submitted by
the applicant, the public, and the Administrator of the EPA
in reaching its final determination.

g. Providing to the Administrator of the
EPA, through the Region III office, a copy of the permit.

12.4 For each permit application requesting to allow
the terms and conditions of a construction permit to
transfer to a Regulation No. 30 permit via the
administrative permit amendment process specified in
Regulation No. 30, the Department shall  provide for
public participation and comment by:

a. Making available in at least one location
in the State of Delaware a public file containing a copy of
all materials that the applicant has submitted (other than
those granted confidential treatment), a copy of the draft
permit, and a copy or summary of other materials, if any,
considered in making the preliminary determination.

b. Advertising in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed
and in a daily newspaper of general circulation throughout
the State: 1) the fact that the application has been received,
the identity of the affected facility, and the city or town in
which the facility is located, 2) a brief description of the
nature of the application, to include the activity or
activities involved in the permit action and the emissions
or the change in emission involved, and 3) the name,
address and telephone number of a Department
representative with responsibility for the permitting
action, the place at which a copy of the public file may be
inspected, and a statement of procedures to request a
hearing.

c. On or before the date of the advertisement
described in Section 12.4(b):

i. Sending notice of the
information detailed in Section 12.4(b) by mail to any
person who has requested such notification from the
Department by providing to the Department their name
and mailing address, and to the representative of any
affected states designated by those states to receive such
notices.  The term “affected states” retains the meaning
accorded to it in Regulation No. 30.

ii. Providing the Administrator of

the EPA, through the Region III office, affected states, any
person who requests it, and the applicant a statement that
sets forth the legal and factual basis for the draft permit
conditions (including references to the applicable
statutory or regulatory provisions).

iii. Providing the Administrator of
the EPA, through the Region III office, a copy of the permit
application unless the Administrator waives the
requirement.

d. Holding, if the Department receives a
meritorious request for a hearing within thirty (30)
calendar days of the date of the advertisement described in
Section 12.4(b), or if the Department deems it to be in the
best interest of the State to do so, a public hearing on an
application or the draft permit for interested persons to
appear and submit written or oral comments on the air
quality impact of the proposed action or on the specific
terms and conditions of the draft permit.

i. A public hearing request shall
be deemed meritorious if it exhibits a familiarity with the
application and a reasoned statement of the permit’s
probable impact.

ii. Not less than thirty (30) calendar
days before the time of said hearing, notification that a
public hearing will be held and the time and place of that
hearing shall be:

A. Served upon the
applicant as summonses are served or by registered or
certified mail; and

B. Published in a
newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the
activity is proposed and in a daily newspaper of general
circulation throughout the State.

e. Affording the applicant an opportunity to
submit, within fifteen (15) days following the close of the
public comment period or the public hearing, whichever is
later, a response to any comments made.

f. Considering all comments submitted by
the applicant, the public, and any affected state in reaching
its final determination.  The Department shall maintain a
list of all commenters and a summary of the issues raised
and shall make that information available in the public file
and supply it to EPA upon request.

g. After meeting the requirements of 12.4(a)
through 12.4(f), providing the Administrator of the EPA,
through the Region III office, a copy of the proposed permit
[i.e., the version of the permit that represents the Departments
final determination under Section 12.4(f)], all necessary sup-
porting information, and providing a notice to the Adminis-
trator and to any affected state of any refusal by the Depart-
ment to accept all recommendations for the proposed permit
that the affected state submitted during the public review pe-
riod.  The notice shall include the Department’s reasons for
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not accepting any such recommendation.  The Department
is not required to accept recommendations that are not
based on applicable requirements.  The term “applicable
requirement” retains the meaning accorded to it in
Regulation No. 30.

h. On or before the date that the Department
provides the proposed permit to EPA for review under
Section 12.4(g), issuing a written response to all comments
submitted by affected states and all significant comments
submitted by the applicant and the public.

12.5 The Department shall not issue the permit if the
Administrator objects to its issuance in writing within
forty-five (45) days of receipt of all of the information
provided to the Administrator pursuant to Section 12.4(g).
Any EPA objection under this paragraph shall include a
statement of the Administrator’s reasons for objection and
a description of the terms and conditions that must be
revised to respond to the objection.  The Administrator will
provide the applicant a copy of the objection.  The
Department may thereafter issue only a revised permit that
satisfies EPA’s objection.

12.6 If the Administrator does not object in writing
under Section 12.5, any person may petition the
Administrator within sixty (60) days after the expiration of
the Administrator’s 45-day review period to make such
objection.  Any such petition shall be based only on
objections to the permit raised with reasonable specificity
during the public comment period provided for in Section
12.4, unless the petitioner demonstrates that it was
impracticable to raise such objections within such period,
or unless the grounds for such objection arose after such
period.  If the Administrator objects to the permit as a
result of a petition filed under this paragraph, the
Department shall not amend the Regulation No. 30 permit
until EPA’s objection has been resolved, except that a
petition for review does not stay the effectiveness of the
construction permit and/or the amended Regulation No. 30
permit or its requirements if the construction permit or the
amended Regulation No. 30 permit was issued after the
end of the 45-day review period and prior to an EPA
objection.  If the Department has issued an amended the
Regulation No. 30 permit prior to receipt of an EPA
objection under this paragraph, the Administrator will
modify, terminate, or revoke such permit, and shall do so
consistent with the time limits established in 40 CFR
70.7(g)(4) or (5)(i) and (ii), except in emergencies, and the
Department may thereafter issue only a revised permit that
satisfies EPA’s objection.  In any case, the source will not
be in violation of the requirement to have submitted a
timely and complete application under Regulation No. 30.

06/01/97
Section 13 - Department Records

13.1 The Department will keep for five (5) years such
records and submit to the Administrator of the EPA such
information as the Administrator may reasonably require
to ascertain whether the optional procedures to establish
and transfer the terms and conditions of a construction
permit issued pursuant to this regulation into a Regulation
No. 30 operating permit via the administrative permit
amendment process specified in Regulation No. 30
comply with the requirements of the Federal Clean Air Act
and 40 CFR Part 70.

Appendix “A”
(For the applicability of Appendix “A” see

Section 2.2 of the regulation)

a. Air contaminant detector, air contaminant
recorder, combustion controller or combustion shut-off.

b. Except as provided for in Regulation No.
22, “Restriction on Quality of Fuel in Fuel Burning
Equipment,” fuel burning equipment which:

i. Uses any fuel and has a rated
heat input of less than 10 million British-Thermal Units
(BTUs) per hour.

ii. Uses only natural gas, LP gas, or
other desulfurized fuel gas and has a rated heat input of less
than 15 million British-Thermal Units (BTUs) per hour.

c. Air conditioning or comfort ventilating
systems.

d. Vacuum cleaning systems used
exclusively for office applications or residential
housekeeping.

e. Ventilating or exhaust systems for print
storage room cabinets.

f. Exhaust systems for controlling steam
and heat.

g. Any equipment at a facility used
exclusively for chemical or physical analysis or
determination of product quality and commercial
acceptance, provided the operation of the equipment is not
an integral part of the production process and the total
actual emissions from all such equipment at the facility do
not exceed 450 pounds in any calendar month.

h. Internal combustion engines in  vehicles
used for transport of passengers or freight.

i. Maintenance, repair, or replacement in
kind of equipment for which a permit to operate has been
issued.

j. Equipment which emits only nitrogen,
oxygen, carbon dioxide, and/or water vapor.
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k. Ventilating or exhaust systems used in

eating establishments where food is prepared for the
purpose of consumption.

l. Equipment used to liquefy or separate
oxygen, nitrogen or the rare gases from the air.

m. Fireworks display.
n. Smudge pots for orchards or small

outdoor heating devices to prevent freezing of plants.
o. Outdoor painting and sand blasting

equipment.
p. Lawnmowers, tractors, farm equipment

and construction equipment.
q. Gasoline dispensing facilities that never

exceed a monthly throughput of 10,000 gallons.
s. Stationary gasoline storage tanks that:

1. Have a capacity less than 550
gallons and that are used exclusively for the fueling of
implements of husbandry;  or

2. Have a capacity less than 2000
gallons and that were constructed prior to January 1, 1979;
or

3. Have a capacity less than 250
gallons and that were constructed after December 31,
1978.

t. Fire schools or fire fighting training.
u. Residential wood burning stoves and

wood burning fireplaces.
v. Any stationary storage tank not subject

to control by these regulations which contains any liquid
having a true vapor pressure less than 0.5 psia at 70oF or is
less than 5000 gallons capacity.

w. Buildings, cabinets, and facilities used
for storage of chemicals in closed containers.

x. Sewage treatment facilities.
y. Water treatment units.
z. Quiescent wastewater treatment

operations.
aa. Non-contact water cooling towers (water

that has not been in direct contact with process fluids).
bb. Laundry dryers, extractors, or tumblers

used for fabrics cleaned with a water solution of bleach or
detergents.

cc. Equipment used for hydraulic or
hydrostatic testing.

dd. Blueprint copiers and photographic
processes.

ee. Kilns used for firing ceramic ware that
are heated exclusively by natural gas, electricity, and/or
liquid petroleum gas, and the BTU input is less than 15
million BTUs per hour.

ff. Inorganic acid storage tanks equipped
with an emission control device.
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The following are the Governor’s Executive
Orders received as of June 15, 1997

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FORTY-FIVE

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND GOVERNMENTAL
UNITS OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

RE: EMPLOYEE AND LABOR-MANAGEMENT
RELATIONS IN STATE GOVERNMENT

WHEREAS, a responsive and adaptive
government helps promote the public interest by
rationally managing its workforce to assure accountability,
efficiency, and stability in the provision of government
services; and

WHEREAS, while the various Executive Branch
departments and agencies have different structures,
histories, and missions, their goals are identical in the
employee and labor relations arena: efficient and effective
management practices that encourage employee
productivity and creativity, and produce workplace
fairness and stability at the lowest practical cost; and

WHEREAS, the provision of consistent and
effective labor-management relations requires that the
Executive Branch and its departments and agencies speak
with one voice to assure a uniform employer position,
high quality management services, equitable treatment of
employees, and the ability to address issues in a timely
and decisive manner; and

WHEREAS, these goals can best be achieved by
affirming that employee and labor relations should
continue to be managed centrally by the State Personnel
Office, reinforcing that responsibility by increasing the
day-to-day responsibilities of the State Personnel Director
for labor-management relations, and ensuring that the
Governor determines the situations where it is appropriate
to allow individual agencies to conduct their labor-
management relations issues with the assistance of
advisors in addition to those employed by the State
Personnel Office.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, THOMAS R. CARPER,
by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the
State of Delaware, do hereby declare and order that:

1. The State Personnel Office shall maintain
the central managerial role over all employee and labor
relations matters in the Executive Branch, and shall
represent the interests of the Executive Branch and its
departments and agencies.  Public and Higher Education
agencies and the Judicial Branch of government are urged
to continue using the State Personnel Office in an
advisory role.

2. To manage this critical function
effectively, the responsibilities and duties performed by
State Personnel Office are set forth herein as follows:

a) The State Personnel Director
shall assign the Deputy State Personnel Director to be the
State’s lead official in the day-to-day management of
labor relations;

b) The State Personnel Office shall
exercise the authority and responsibilities reposed in it, or
any of its sections, by prior Executive Orders, policy
statements and directives; c) Unless otherwise approved
by the Governor’s Office, the State Personnel Office shall
manage and conduct all collective bargaining negotiations
with employee organizations, including, after prior
consultation with the department or client agency,
approving management team members nominated by
departments and agencies.  On behalf of the State, the
State Personnel Office shall approve and sign all
collective bargaining agreements and any other agreements
or arrangements made involving employee organizations
that represent employees subject to Executive Branch
authority;

d) The State Personnel Office shall
manage and represent the Executive Branch and its
departments and agencies in labor arbitration, Public
Employment Relations Board, Department of Labor, and
other administrative proceedings involving employee and
labor relations issues;

e) The State Personnel Office shall
provide policy direction and professional/technical
expertise on employee and labor relations issues;

f) The State Personnel Office shall
assist department and agency managers and personnel
representatives in maintaining consistency with the
State’s management policies and objectives, and
adherence to specified contractual terms, defined

LINK TO GOVERNOR’S HOME PAGE

http://www.state.de.us/govern/governor/introgov.htm
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employee due process rights, and Merit System
requirements;

g) The decision whether to use any
non-State Personnel Office staff or outside representatives
or advisors, e.g., outside consultants or attorneys, to
perform or otherwise engage in any employee or labor
relations activities shall be made by the Governor’s
Office, after consultation with the Deputy Director and
Director of State Personnel, in compliance with relevant
state laws, including 29 Del.C. § 2507; and

h) All departments and agencies
shall notify the State Personnel Office promptly of any
information requests or subpoenas involving any
employee or labor relations matter, including contract
negotiations and grievance arbitration proceedings.  Upon
review and consultation with the affected department or
agency, the State Personnel Office shall determine the
appropriate response to all such requests and non-court
subpoenas.  Where major policy and/or legal considerations
may be involved, the State Personnel Office shall consult
with the Governor’s Office and/or the Department of
Justice.

3. This Order shall be circulated by all
cabinet secretaries and agency heads to their relevant
personnel managers.  Executive Order Number Twelve is
hereby repealed.

Approved this 30th day of April, 1997.

Thomas R. Carper
Governor

Attest:

Edward J. Freel
Secretary of State

LINK TO GOVERNOR’S HOME PAGE

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FORTY-SIX

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND GOVERNMENTAL
UNITS OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

RE: GOVERNOR’S TASK FORCE ON VIOLENT
CRIME

WHEREAS, the health and safety of our
communities and neighborhoods is of paramount
importance to the quality of life of Delawareans; and

WHEREAS, violent crime and drugs in our
neighborhoods greatly diminishes the quality of
life in those communities and undermines public
confidence in government and community; and

WHEREAS, violent crime is on the rise in certain
areas of our State; and

WHEREAS, those areas of concentrated criminal
activity tax the resources of local law enforcement,
making it difficult for local law enforcement to respond in
a manner sufficient to address the problem; and

WHEREAS, the studies of many experts
conclude that a high percentage of violent crime is
committed by a small number of offenders who are
already known to the criminal justice system; and

WHEREAS, the studies of many experts
conclude that an aggressive, concentrated law enforcement
effort in high crime areas along with intense supervision
of those persons on probation
 and parole will help reduce violence, thereby greatly
benefiting the law-abiding citizens in those communities;
and

WHEREAS, the Delaware State Police often join
forces with local law enforcement in cooperative law
enforcement initiatives; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware State Police and the
Wilmington Police Department conducted one such
successful operation in 1996 called Operation Joint
Venture which resulted in one hundred and ninety-four
people arrested and three hundred and thirty felony drug
charges; and

WHEREAS, state probation and parole officers,
both juvenile and adult. are often charged
with monitoring the most dangerous offenders in our
community; and

WHEREAS, state probation and parole officers
are aware of each offenders’ probation conditions and are
afforded broader arrest powers than police officers; and

WHEREAS, state probation and parole officers

http://www.state.de.us/govern/governor/introgov.htm
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working together with local law enforcement agencies can
undertake a high impact initiative against offenders with
proven criminal tendencies; and

WHEREAS, Delaware has a proud tradition of
cooperation among our law enforcement agencies.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by
the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby declare and order that:

1. The Governor’s Task Force on Violent
Crime is hereby created to work in cooperation and
conjunction with local law enforcement agencies to
provide support and assistance to address violent crime in
the most crime-prone areas of our State.

2. Each mission of the Task Force shall be
initiated at the invitation of the relevant local
law enforcement agency and shall be preceded by a
thorough analysis of the crime problem at issue.

3. The Task Force, in conjunction with the
Criminal Justice Council, shall analyze such requests in
terms of the extent and nature of violent crime problems in
a particular area.

4. The Task Force shall review and, where
appropriate, propose modifications of existing initiatives
so as to provide the most effective assistance to local
communities.

5. The Task Force shall be composed of
officers from the Delaware State Police, probation and
parole officers for the Department of Correction,
probation and parole officers for the Department of
Services for Children, Youth and Their Families and such
others as the Governor shall direct to be deployed to assist
the Task Force.

6. The Governor shall appoint a commander
of the Task Force who will oversee the operations of the
Task Force working in coordination with local law
enforcement agencies.

Approved this 28th day of May, 1997.

Thomas R. Carper
Governor

Attest:

Edward J. Freel
Secretary of State

LINK TO GOVERNOR’S HOME PAGE

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FORTY-SEVEN

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND GOVERN-
MENTAL UNITS OF THE STATE OF DELA-
WARE

RE- EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE
WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

WHEREAS, ensuring a high-quality workforce
that will meet Delaware’s economic needs in the Twenty-
First Century is one of the highest priorities of the Carper-
Minner Administration and of the State’s employers, and

WHEREAS, a customer-driven and accountable
workforce development system which promotes skill de-
velopment and self-sufficiency among- the State’s emerg-
ing, transitional, and current workers is critical to gener-
ating and maintaining a high-quality workforce; and

WHEREAS, the Federal Government has failed
to take legislative action to overhaul a fragmented, out-
moded, and inflexible array of categorical federal job-
training programs which impair the State’s ability to meet
its workforce development goals, and

WHEREAS, despite the absence of federal lead-
ership, other states have proceeded to undertake signifi-
cant reforms of their workforce development systems, and

http://www.state.de.us/govern/governor/introgov.htm
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WHEREAS, the Delaware Workforce Develop-
ment Council (alternatively, the “Council”) was estab-
lished in 1994 for the purpose of creating a coordinated,
comprehensive workforce development system for Dela-
ware, and

WHEREAS, the Council was charged in 1994
with developing a strategic plan that includes goals, strat-
egies, and performance measures for a continuum of
workforce development programs, including school-to-
work, welfare-to-work, prison-to-work, economically dis-
advantaged persons, dislocated workers, and customized
worker training programs, and

WHEREAS, the Council should be designed in
order to have the capacity to conduct effective strategic
planning and to set funding priorities which are consis-
tent with key state policy objectives, and

WHEREAS, the lack of federal reform has re-
sulted in the need for the continuation of multiple
workforce development governance bodies which have
conflicting and overly prescriptive membership require-
ments, and

WHEREAS, it is therefore necessary to create a
body of reasonable size which has the authority and struc-
ture to provide effective leadership in coordinating the
State’s various workforce development efforts, and

WHEREAS, until the federal government enacts
meaningful workforce development reform, the most ef-
ficient method to create such a body is to constitute an
Executive Committee of the Workforce Development
Council with the mandate and authority to set priorities
and ensure that workforce development funds are effi-
ciently and coherently used to accomplish important state
objectives.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, THOMAS R. CARPER,
by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the
State of Delaware, do hereby declare and order that

1. An Executive Committee of the
Workforce Development Council shall be established to
coordinate the Council’s efforts and produce a strategic
plan on or before November 15, 1997.

2. The Executive Committee shall be
chaired by the Lieutenant Governor and include among
its members: the Secretary of Labor, the Secretary of
Health and Social Services, the Secretary of Education,
the Director of the Delaware Economic Development

Office, and four private sector members from the Coun-
cil, including the Chairperson of the Workforce Develop-
ment Council (or the Vice-Chairperson if the Chairperson
of the Council is also the Chairperson of the Executive
Committee)

3. The Executive Committee shall forthwith
select an Executive Director of the Council to prepare the
strategic plan with staff and funding support from the
Council, the Delaware Private Industry Council (“DPIC”),
and state agencies with representation on the Council.  In
addition to those requirements for the strategic plan set
forth in Executive Order Number Twenty-Five, the stra-
tegic plan shall include a plan for ensuring that federal
workforce development funds are used in concert with state
workforce development funds appropriated to or expended
by agencies with representation on the Council.  The stra-
tegic plan shall include performance measures for gaug-
ing the effectiveness of workforce development programs,
and identify and include a timetable for sunsetting inac-
tive and/or duplicative councils, including consolidating
the functions of the Council and DPIC into one entity.

4. The Executive Director and other staff
of the Workforce Development Council shall report di-
rectly to the Chairperson of the Executive Committee and
be housed in physical space within the Chairperson’s of-
fice.

5. The Workforce Development Council
shall continue to function as a Human Resources Invest-
ment Council as delineated by the 1992 Amendments to
the federal Job Training Partnership Act (“JTPA”), with
the understanding that a change in federal law may sig-
nificantly change the Council’s composition, mission, and
goals.

6. The Delaware Private Industry Council
shall become a subcommittee of the Workforce Develop-
ment Council, with a majority of private-sector members
and in accordance with federal regulations promulgated
pursuant to the JTPA.

7. In the absence of new federal workforce
development legislation, the Executive Committee shall
identify federal barriers to reform in its strategic plan and
propose a plan to the Governor to pursue federal waivers
to allow Delaware to streamline and improve its workforce
development system.
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8. The Executive Committee shall work
with the Budget Director to implement a process on or
before September 15, 1997 for presenting an annual plan
to the Governor and Budget Director for the allocation
and use of federal funds, state appropriated special funds,
or non-appropriated special funds for workforce develop-
ment administered by the Council, state agencies with rep-
resentation on the Council, and/or the DPIC so that the
Governor and Budget Director can work with the Council
to ensure that such funds are utilized in concert with re-
lated state general fund appropriations to advance state
workforce development objectives.

9. The Executive Committee shall become
the State’s Governance Council for allocating and admin-
istering the funds granted by the federal government pur-
suant to the School-To-Work Opportunities Act.  In that
capacity, the Executive Committee shall review the use
of federal funds, state appropriated special funds, and non-
appropriated special funds for youth employment and
training with a view toward promoting the effective use
of such funds in concert with state general funds appro-
priated to serve similar goals.  The staff for the State’s
school-to-work efforts shall be housed within the Depart-
ment of Education.

10. Executive Order Seventeen is hereby re-
pealed and Executive Order Twenty-Five is hereby re-
scinded to the extent inconsistent with this Order.

Approved this 10th of June, 1997

Thomas R. Carper
Governor

Attest:

Edward J. Freel
Secretary of State
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Advisory Committee on The Honorable John C. Carney, Jr. Pleasure of Governor
Information Services (Chair)

Advisory Council on Tidal Acie L. Mankins 06/29/00
Finfisheries

Associate Judge of Family Court The Honorable Peggy L. Ableman 04/15/09

Board of Architects Constance P. Cecil 05/06/00
Willa M. Gains 05/06/00
C. Terry Jackson, II 05/06/00
Charles B. Ryan 05/14/00

Board of Audiologists, Speech
Pathologists & Hearing Aid
 Dispensers Saundra G. Sutton 04/30/00

Marilyn R. Karam 04/30/00
Jean Davison 04/30/00

Board of Chiropractic Dr. Tamara J. Blossic 04/30/00

Board of Cosmetology & Barbering Chong A. Nelms 04/30/00
Abby Betts 04/30/00
Orin F. Burdette 04/30/00

Board of Funeral Services Gary J. Wallick 04/30/00

Board of Landscape Architects Denise Husband 01/29/00

Board of Medical Practice Dr. Venerando J. Maximo 08/16/97

Board of Pilot Commissioners H. Edward Maull, Jr. 04/30/02
I. Randall Kenworthy 04/30/02

Board of Podiatry Examiners Dr. Kathryn Lightcap 05/06/00
Gary D. Evans 05/06/00

BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE

APPOINTEE TERM OF
OFFICE
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Children’s Trust Fund Daniel F. Kelleher, Esq. 02/26/00
 Board of Directors

Dr. Donald G. Unger 02/26/00
The Honorable M. Jane Brady 02/26/00
The Honorable Deborah H. Capano 03/14/00
Tamra S. Brittingham 04/09/00

Combined Charitable Solicitation Diane Hastings 05/30/99
Campaign Committee

Karen Barlow 05/30/00

Council on Apprenticeship and Charles C. Ryan 04/30/00
Training

Council on Forestry Mary S. Burton 03/19/00
Earl Christensen 03/19/00
Roger M. Levy 03/26/00
John E. Clark 04/16/00
Raymond Taraila 04/30/00
Allen Jones 04/30/00

Council on Hispanic Affairs Israel Valenzuela 12/14/97

Council on Housing and Christopher W. White 03/27/00
Community Development

Council on Libraries Grace S. Husted 09/26/98
Richard J. Geisenberger 04/09/00
David H. Burdash 04/16/00

Council on Soil and Constance C. Holland 03/19/00
Water Conservation

Council on Transportation Thomas W. Bennett 05/06/99
June D. MacArtor 05/06/00

Court of Common Pleas for Judge Merrill C. Trader 02/07/09
Kent County

BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE

APPOINTEE TERM OF
OFFICE
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Criminal Justice Council Thomas P. McGonigle Pleasure of Governor

Delaware Alcoholic Beverage George Coyle 04/09/00
Control Commission

Delaware Arts Council Charles E. Grandberry, III 03/13/00
Phyllis Levitt 03/13/00
Richard Vague 03/13/00

Delaware Bicycle Council William H. Boyd 04/18/98
Carole D. White 04/18/99
Edith M. Carlson 04/18/00

Delaware Board of Nursing Emma Lou Browning 03/17/00
Maryjeanette J. Monihan 05/06/00

Delaware Commission on Leo E. Strine, Esq. 02/01/99
Interstate Cooperation

Delaware Council on Career & Samuel Lathem Pleasure of Governor
Vocational Education

Delaware Harness Racing Mary Ann Lambertson 01/07/03
Commission Fred C. Sears, III 04/28/00

Delaware Health Resources Board Gregg Sylvester, M.D. MPH 12/09/97
(Vice Chairperson) Dr. Wilfred E. Kingsley 04/30/99

Delaware Heritage William E. Lowe Pleasure of Governor
Commission (Chairman)

Delaware River & Bay Authority Dian C. Taylor 07/01/00

Delaware State Dental Examiners Dr. Martin W. Scanlon 04/16/00
Dr. Mario DiSabatino 04/30/00
Nancy Tannen-Brohawn 04/30/00

Delaware Technical and Community Dr. James R. Soles Pleasure of Governor
College Board of Trustees (Chairman)

BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE

APPOINTEE TERM OF
OFFICE
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Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee Patricia A. Murphy-Davis 04/18/00

Diamond State Port Corporation Samuel E. Lathem 04/30/03
Leonard W. Quill 04/30/03

Dover Housing Authority Philemon Hill 03/14/00

Examining Board of Physical Kathy Watson 05/14/00
Therapists

Foster Care Review Board Elma E. Jackson 03/14/00
Caroline N. Bither 03/14/00
Nancy Lefevre 03/14/00
Caroline Massaferi 03/14/00
Richard Ogden 03/14/00
B. Claire Zaragoza 03/14/00
Sandra S. Lord 03/14/00
Marlene Collins 03/14/00
Juanita Stone 03/14/00

Foster Care Review Board William L. Murray 09/26/98
Executive Committee

Health Resources Council Robert Tremain 04/30/99
 Robert E. Lawson 04/30/99
A. Herbert Nehrling, Jr. 04/30/99
Jon C. McDowell 04/30/99
 Suzanne C. Moore 02/10/00

Housing Capacity Building Program John J. Gorlich 04/30/99
 Collis. O. Townsend 04/30/99
Kimberly Brockenbrough 04/30/99

Human Relations Commission Catherine A. Blough 03/27/01

Local Records Commission Ross Trader Pleasure of Governor

Public Employee Relations Board Henry E. Kressman 04/16/03

BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE

APPOINTEE TERM OF
OFFICE
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Real Estate Commission James D. McGinnis 03/07/00

Secretary of Education Iris T. Metts, Ed.D Pleasure of Governor

Secretary of Finance John C. Carney, Jr. Pleasure of Governor

Shellpot Creek Abatement Committee Kathleen Connolly Pleasure of Governor

Small Employer Health Patrick C. Miller 03/17/00
Reinsurance Board

Michael E. Norman 04/10/00
Jay E. Moorhead 04/10/00

State Board of Accountancy Mary C. Landis 04/22/00

State Board of Education Dr. Joseph A. Pika 04/21/03
Dennis J. Savage 04/21/03

State Board of Education (President) James L. Spartz, Ed.D Pleasure of Governor

State Board of Examiners of Dr. Susan Betts 05/06/00
 Optometry

Dr. Phyllis E. Chambers 05/06/00
Marina Ney 05/06/00

State Board of Pharmacy Ruth B. Melvin 07/01/98

State Board of Registration Joseph J. Kliment 08/10/98
for Land Surveyors

State Board of Social Work Examiners Dr. Charles E. Marvil 03/14/00

Tourism Advisory Board Frank Fantini 01/07/00

Unemployment Compensation Samuel E. Lathem 03/21/00
Advisory Council

University of Delaware Ernst Dannemann 04/24/03
Board of Trustees

BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE

APPOINTEE TERM OF
OFFICE
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Violent Crimes Compensation Board Thomas W. Castaldi 05/14/00

Wastewater Facilities Peggy J. Baunchalk 02/07/00
Advisory Council

Welfare Employment Committee Claire F. McElwee 02/21/99
Kenneth R. Wildman 02/21/99
Joseph L. Mastin 02/21/00
Nancy Ward 02/21/00
Joseph C. Holler 02/21/00

BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE

LINK TO GOVERNOR’S HOME PAGE

APPOINTEE TERM OF
OFFICE
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STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB01

January 14, 1997

Mr. David F. Edwards, Jr. LINK TO AG’S
114 Lakeside Drive HOME PAGE
Laurel, DE 19956

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint against
Town of Laurel

Dear Mr. Edwards:
Pursuant to 29 Del.C. Section 10005(e), the

Attorney General’s Office makes this final written
determination of whether a violation of the Freedom of
Information Act, 29 Del.C. Sections 10001-10005
(“FOIA”), occurred, Because of the ongoing nature of
your complaint, a complete procedural recitation is in
order.

Your original complaint letter dated November 6,
1996 was received by this Office on November 12, 1996.
By letter dated November 14, 1996 to the Laurel Acting
Town Manager, we asked that she respond to your
allegations that the Town violated the public records and
open meeting provisions of FOIA.  We did not ask the
Town to respond to the other allegations in your
complaint, since they “involve matters that are outside the
jurisdiction of the Attorney General’s Office.”

By letter dated November 18, 1996, you posed
three questions regarding the jurisdiction of the Attorney
General’s Office.  By letter dated November 22, 1996, we
responded to those questions.  By letter dated December 3,
1996, we asked the Town’s attorney for additional
information in order to complete our investigation of this
case.  By letter dated December 31, 1996, the Town’s
attorney responded, enclosing the documents we had
requested.  Based on all the information and documents
provided to us in the course of our investigation, we make
the following written determination.

By two letters dated October 16, 1996, you asked
the Town for copies of approximately twenty documents.
By letter dated November 26, 1996, the Town’s attorney

responded, enclosing some but not all of those documents,
and stating that the other documents did not exist.  At my
request, the Town’s attorney caused to be executed an
Affidavit of Bonnie Walls, Acting Town Manager of the
Town of Laurel, sworn to on December 31, 1996, which
states: “That she is executing this affidavit to verify that
she has made a diligent search of the Town records, over
which she has custody, and that she has not been able to
locate the documents specified below requested by David
F. Edwards, Jr., in his letters dated October 16, 1996.” It is
the practice of the Attorney General’s Office to accept
such an affidavit from the custodian of public records to
determine that such documents do not exist for purposes
of FOIA.  See Att.  Gen.  Op. 93-I023 (August 31, 1993)
(City of New Castle).

As for the September 9, 1996 public meeting, 29
Del.C. Section 10004 (a) provides that “[e]very meeting
of all public bodies shall be open to the public” except for
authorized executive sessions.  Section 10004(e)(2)
provides that “[a]ll public bodies shall give public notice
of their regular meetings and of their intent to hold an
executive session closed to the public, at least 7 days in
advance thereof.  The notice shall include the agenda, if
such has been determined at the time, and the dates, times
and places of such meetings;. . . . .”  Section 10004(4)
further provides that public notice “shall include, but not
be limited to, conspicuous posting of said notice at the
principal office of the public body holding the meeting, .
. . .”

The documents submitted by the Town’s attorney
in response to our request show that the agenda for the
September 9, 1996 hearing was posted on August 30,
1996, and that notice of the meeting was published in The
Leader/State Register on September 4, 1996.  The minutes
of the “regularly scheduled” September 9, 1996 meeting
of the Planning Commission show that there was
discussion about the proposed Laurel Estates and
Shopping Mall for approximately one hour and forty
minutes.

The gravamen of your complaint regarding the
notice given of the September 9, 1996 meeting is that it
did not comply with the town’s subdivision regulations by
specially notifying adjoining property owners.  The Town
of Laurel does not dispute that special notice was not
given.  But, according to the Town’s attorney, “it was
announced at such meeting that the discussion would be
for informational purposes only and that a public hearing,
as required by the Subdivision Regulations, would be held
at a later date.”  The minutes of the September 9, 1996
meeting show that the Subdivision Regulations were not
discussed.  Even if they were, the notice requirements of
those regulations are separate and distinct from the notice
requirements of FOIA.

We conclude, however, that a violation of FOIA

http://www.state.de.us/govern/elecoffl/attgen/agoffice.htm
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occurred in connection with the September 9, 1996
regularly scheduled meeting of the Planning Commission.
The agenda was posted on August 31, 1996 at the
Commission’s principal office, the Laurel Municipal
Building, Poplar & Mechanic Streets.  Notice was also
given in The Leader/State Register on September 4, 1996.
The agenda gave the date and purpose of the meeting, but
not the time and place of the meeting.  The newspaper
notice gave the date, time (7:00 p.m.), and place of the
hearing, as well as the purpose of the meeting to discuss
the Laurel Estates and Shopping Mall.

FOIA requires that all pertinent information
about a regular public meeting -- date, time, place, and
purpose - must be given at least seven days in advance.  In
this case, only the newspaper notice published five days
before the meeting contained all the pertinent information.
Adequate notice of public meetings must be given
sufficiently in advance to allow concerned citizens time to
decide whether to attend the meeting and otherwise get
involved in the political process.

In your original letter of complaint, you stated
that you in fact had notice of the meeting from the
newspaper publication, as must have sixty other citizens
who you say “showed up in protest.” Since a large number
of concerned citizens clearly had notice of the September
9, 1996 meeting of the Planning Commission, we find that
five-days’ notice, as opposed to seven days, was a
“technical violation” of FOIA which did not adversely
affect “substantial public rights” to attend the meeting.
Ianni v. Department of Elections of New Castle County,
Del.  Ch., 1986 WL 9610, at p. 5 (Aug. 29, 1986) (Allen,
C.). Nevertheless, the Town of Laurel is hereby placed on
notice that the open meeting requirements of FOIA are to
be strictly complied with, and that any future violations
may be deemed “deliberate” or “an ongoing pattern of
infractions.” Levy v. Board of Education of the Cave
Henlopen School District, Del.  Ch., 1990 WL 154147, at
p. 7 (Oct. 1, 1990) (Chandler, V.C.).

Based on our review of your complaint, and the
responses of the Town of Laurel, we conclude that there
was a violation of the open meeting provisions of FOIA in
connection with the September 9, 1996 regularly
scheduled meeting of the Planning Commission.  For the
reasons stated above, we do not believe it necessary to
direct the Town of Laurel to re-notice that meeting in
order to validate any action taken at that meeting.

Very truly yours,

W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:

Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION NO. 97-IB02

February 12, 1997

Roger A. Aiken, Esq.
P.0. Box 390 Sent via facsimile and first class mail.
Newark, DE 19715-0390

LINK TO AG’S
HOME PAGE

Re: Freedom of Information Act Inquiry

Dear Roger:
On February 11, 1997 you addressed a letter to

the Attorney General requesting the Department of
Justice’s position concerning a proposed meeting between
DelDot officials and “local elected officials” for
Thursday, February 13, 1997 at 7:30 p.m. in the city
council chambers to discuss DelDOT’s plans for the
intersection of Elkton Road, New London Road, Main
Street and a railroad crossing.  Your concern was whether
the attendance by council at a meeting called by DelDOT
would constitute a FOIA violation in light of our ruling of
January 2, 1996.  In your letter you also stated that we
never responded to your letter of July 29, 1996 requesting
a modification of our January 2nd opinion.  As a result of
our phone discussions, we determined that my letter of
October 17, 1996, which was mailed to your address at the
city of Newark, was apparently not received.  A copy of
that letter enclosed.

Under 29 Del.C. § 10005(e), we are considering
your request as a petition to determine whether a FOIA
violation has occurred or is about to occur.  As you may
also know, under that section, subsection (e) does not
apply to potential or alleged violations of state agencies
which are represented by our office.

Based on information which was published in
newspapers of record and considering case law which
suggests that meetings of the type discussed in your letter
of February 11th would subject the city to a potential
complaint of FOIA violation, we believe that the meeting
scheduled for February 13, 1997 can go forward as
planned if the city will issue a notice at least 24 hours in
advance of the meeting pursuant to Section 10004(e)(3).
Under that subsection, a public notice of a special meeting
shall include an explanation as to why the required seven
day notice was not given and it is our opinion that it is a
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76

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 1, TUESDAY, JULY 1, 1997

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINIONS
sufficient explanation to state that an earlier notice was
not possible because legal opinions had not been obtained
from the City Solicitor and the Attorney General prior to
the posting of the notice.  If such a notice is posted by the
close of business today, February 12, 1997, it is our
opinion that a FOIA violation will not occur and that the
meeting may go forward as scheduled.  It is also our
understanding that DelDOT will also issue a similar
notice since it is the agency which set up the meeting.  It
would still be appropriate for the city to publish a notice of
a meeting of its council for the same time setting forth the
receipt of information from DelDOT as a purpose for the
meeting.

Please feel free to call me if you have any further
questions concerning this matter,

Very truly yours,

Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION NO. 97-IB03

February 27, 1997

Mr. Milton F. Morozowich
R.D. 2, Box 166
Bridgeville, DE 19933

James D. Griffin, Esquire
Griffin & Hackett, P.A.
Mellon Bank Building, #200
P.O. Box 612
Georgetown, DE 19947

Re: Freedom of Information Act Complaint
dated Sept. 19, 1996
Woodbridge School District Board of Education

Dear Mr. Morozowich and Mr. Griffin:
This is the Attorney General’s written decision

on the above referenced complaint pursuant to 29 Del.C. §
10005(e).

By letter dated September 19, 1996, Mr.
Morozowich alleges that the Woodbridge School District
Board of Education (the “Board”) violated the Freedom of
Information Act (“FOIA”) in connection with the hiring
of personnel for the 1996 - 1997 school year.1

Specifically, Mr. Morozowich alleges that, at an August
20, 1996 Board workshop, the School District
Superintendent presented the Board with a “list of

recommended ‘new hires,”’ and advised the Board that
the Assistant Superintendent would call Board members
the next day for a consensus vote on the recommendations.
Mr. Morozowich contends that the Assistant
Superintendent tried to call him on August 21 and August
22, 1996.  Mr. Morozowich further contends that, by letter
dated August 22, 1996, the persons on the list of new hires
were advised that the Board had “‘officially approved
their appointment on August 20, 1996.”  Mr. Morozowich
complains that the consensus vote was improper, and that
the discussion of “new hires” should have been done at a
Board meeting open to the public.

Our office forwarded Mr. Morozowich’s
complaint to the Board on December 24, 1996 and
requested a response within ten days.  We received the
Board’s response on January 13, 1997.

In its response, the Board states that the Assistant
Superintendent called individual Board members on
August 21, 1996 to inquire whether “they had any
problems with the recommendations” for new employees.
The Board explains. that, if there were no problems, the
recommendations were to be placed on the agenda for the
next regular Board meeting scheduled for August 28,
1996.  The notice and minutes for that meeting confirm
that the Board reviewed and unanimously approved the
recommended new hires.

The Board also explains that the August 22 letter
advising new employees that they were approved on
August 20, 1996 was a mistake, and that a subsequent
letter dated August 27, 1996 advised such employees that
they “had only been tentatively approved and that their
names would be officially presented to the Board” for
hiring approval at the August 28 meeting.  Subsequent
letters dated August 29, 1996 advised the new employees
that they had been officially approved at the August 28
meeting.  The Board contends that “no violation of FOIA
occurred based on the fact that the Board of Education
approved the questioned personnel actions in open public
session at its August 28, 1996 meeting.”

We find that the Assistant Superintendent’s
phone calls to individual Board members amounted to a
consensus vote on the recommendations.  As the Board
has been advised in the past, consensus votes conducted
outside of open meetings are in violation of FOIA.  See
Att’y Gen.  Op.  No. 96-IB32.  See also Levy v. Board of
Education of Cape Henlopen School District, Del.  Ch.,
C.A. No. 1447, Chandler, V.C. (October 1, 1990)
(recognizing that one of the purposes of FOIA is “to
prevent at non-public meetings the crystallization of
secret decisions to a point just short of ceremonial
acceptance”).  We find, however, that no remedial action
is required for this violation since the subject matter of the
consensus vote was properly noticed for the August 28,
1996 public Board meeting, and properly voted on at that
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time.  The Board is cautioned, however, to discontinue the
practice of calling individual Board members to obtain
their views on matters which are to be put to Board vote.

The Attorney General’s Office is increasingly
concerned about what appears to be a pattern of violations
of the open meeting laws by the Board.  This is the fourth
time in the last two years that this Office has determined
that the Board violated the open meeting provisions of
FOIA.  See Att’y.  Gen, Op.  No. 94-I033 (Nov. 28, 1994)
(“the Board has violated the public notice requirements of
the Act”); Att’y.  Gen. 012.  No. 95-IB04 (Jan. 23, 1995)
(breakfast meetings); Att’y.  Gen, Op.  No. 95-IB37 (Mar.
8, 1995) (same); Att’y.  Gen, Op.  No. 96-IB12 (Apr. 15,
1996) (discussion of public business after close of public
meeting).  In addition, this Office has advised the Board to
discontinue practices, such as gathering in the
Superintendent’s office prior to public meetings, which
“give the appearance that public business is being
conducted in a manner other than in an open and public
forum.”  Att’y.  Gen.  Op.  No. 95-IB35 (Nov. 2, 1995).
See also Att’y.  Gen.  Op. 95-IB20 (June 15, 1995) (“We
urge the District to review our January 23, 1995 Opinion
detailing the parameters of the public meeting provisions
of the Act so that future violations of the Act may be
avoided.”).

Although we decline to direct remedial action in
this case, the Board is advised that a later public meeting
may not always validate a prior private meeting,
particularly where the FOIA violation appears “deliberate”
or involves “an ongoing pattern of infractions.” Levy,
supra.  Further violations which appear deliberate or part
of an ongoing patter of infractions may prompt a petition
to the Court of Chancery for permanent injunctive relief
and such other damages and fees as may be permissible
under FOIA.

Very truly yours,

W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

Michele C. Gott
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:

Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION NO. 97-IB04

February 28, 1997

Mr. Ronald J. Torgerson
Executive Director
Delaware Criminal Justice Information System
Board of Managers
801 Silverlake Boulevard LINK TO AG’S
P.O. Box 370 HOME PAGE
Dover, DE 19903

Re: Access to Delaware Criminal Justice
Information System

Dear Mr. Torgerson:
The Secretary of the Board of Managers of the

Delaware Criminal Justice Information System (“DELJIS”)
has asked for an opinion of the Attorney General on two
questions: (1) whether the Town of Elsmere (“Town”)
may have access to information in DELJIS to utilize a
voluntary assessment system to collect mail-in fines for
motor vehicle offenses; and (2) whether the Town has the
authority to establish a mail-in center for payment of fines
for motor vehicle offenses.  The Secretary provided us
with a copy of the Town’s “Request for DELJIS Services”
and a letter from the Town’s attorney enclosing a copy of
the Town Charter and Chapter 13 of the Elsmere Code.  In
the event we were to answer the second question no, you
also asked us to determine whether the Town could
impose, collect and/or retain court costs in addition to the
fines levied for the violations.

As to whether the Town is authorized by statute
to receive criminal history information from DELJIS, we
conclude that it is not.  As to whether the Town has
authority under State law to establish and operate a mail-
in center (as opposed to a Mayor’s Court) for payment of
fines for certain motor vehicle offenses, we conclude that
it does not.  We also conclude that if the Town does not
operate a court, it may not impose, collect or retain court
costs of any similar administrative fee.

OPINION

DELJIS is a computer database supervised by a
Board of Managers pursuant to Chapter 86, Title 11 of the
Delaware Code The central repository for the criminal
history information in that database is the State Bureau of
Identification.  See 11 Del.C. Section 8503(a).  State law
prohibits the dissemination of criminal history information
from DELJIS except as specifically authorized by statute.
Section 8513 of Title 11 authorizes disclosure of such
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information to (1) criminal justice agencies, courts, any
person (or attorney) who requests a copy of his or her own
criminal history record, and the State Public Defender.

The “Request for DELJIS Services” was made by
the Town of Elsmere to help operate its voluntary
assessment program.  Although Chapter 13 of the Elsmere
Code establishes a “Mayor’s Court,” it is our
understanding that no such court actually exists.  Indeed,
in his letter dated July 1, 1996, the Town’s attorney stated
that “Elsmere is not purporting to operate a court in the
sense of holding any trials or otherwise performing a
judicial function.”

Since the criminal history information requested
is not intended for the use of the “courts of the State or of
any political subdivision thereof,” as required by 11 Del.
C. Section 8513(a)(1), the question remains whether the
Town is a criminal justice agency authorized to receive
information from DELJIS.  Section 8502(3) of Title 11
defines a “criminal justice agency” as:

a. Every court of this State and of every
political subdivision thereof:

b. A government agency or any sub-unit
thereof which performs the administration of criminal
justice pursuant to statute or executive order, and which
allocates a substantial part of its annual budget to the
administration of criminal justice.  Such agencies shall
include, but not be limited to, the following:

1. The Delaware State Police;
2. All law enforcement agencies

and police departments of any subdivision of this State;
3.  The State Department of

Justice;
4. The Office of the Solicitor of

the City of Wilmington;
5. The Delaware Criminal Justice

Information System, Office of the Director;
6. The Department of Correction;

and
7.     The Division of Youth

Rehabilitative Services.

In its “Request for DELJIS Services,” the Town
checked “NO” in response to the question whether it is a
“Criminal Justice Agency.” Since, by its own admission,
the Town is not a criminal justice agency -- nor any one of
the other entities authorized by statute to receive criminal
history information -- it may not have access to DELJIS.
This office has previously decided that only those entities
specifically authorized by statute can receive DELJIS
criminal history information.  See Att’y Gen.  Op.  No. 90-
I008 (May 23, 1990) (Kent County Department of
Inspections and Enforcement is not a criminal justice
agency); Att’y.  Gen, 012.  No. 87-I038 (Dec. 31, 1987)

(Office of Auditor of Accounts is not a criminal justice
agency authorized to receive DELJIS criminal history
information).

We next address the issue of the Town’s mail-in
fine center.  The authority to use a voluntary assessment
system for motor vehicle offenses is set forth in Section
709 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code:

Any duly constituted peace officer in the
State who charges any person with any
of the offenses hereinafter designated
“motor vehicle offenses subject to
voluntary assessment” may, in addition
to issuing a summons for such offenses,
provide the offending operator with a
voluntary assessment form which, when
properly executed by the officer and the
offender, allows the offender to dispose
of the charge without the necessity of
personally appearing in the court to
which the summons is returnable.  The
court to which the summons is returnable
shall be determined by § 703 of this title;
provided, however, that the Courts of the
Justices of the Peace may establish a
mail-in fine center for each county
within the State, in which case the
summons may be made returnable to the
applicable mail-in fine center.

Section 703(d) of Title 21 of the Delaware Code
provides that “in those incorporated municipalities which
provide duly constituted alderman’s courts or mayor’s
courts, the alderman and mayor shall continue to hear and
adjudicate those cases in which a person is arrested
without a warrant and where the alderman’s court or the
mayor’s court is the court of original jurisdiction.”
Construing Sections 709 and 703(d) together, a peace
officer can issue a traffic summons returnable to the
alderman’s or mayor’s court in the municipality where the
traffic offense occurred, and the traffic violator can
dispose of the by paying a voluntary assessment to that
court, without having to personally appear in court.

Chapter 13 of the Elsmere Code establishes a
“Mayor’s Court” with jurisdiction “limited to the offenses
hereinafter designated ‘motor vehicle offenses subject to
voluntary assessment’ which are committed within the
limits of the Town of Elsmere.” Section 13-1.B. The
designated motor vehicle offenses are violations of Title
21, Sections 2701 (driving without a license), 2756
(driving during suspension), 4103 (failure to obey police
officer), 4175 (reckless driving), 4177 (driving under the
influence), 4201 (failure to stop at scene of property
damage accident), 4202 (failure to stop at scene of
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accident involving physical injury or death), and any
violation of Title 21, Chapter 67.  Those are the same
motor vehicle offenses subject to voluntary assessment
under State law.  Compare 21 Del.C. Section 709(e).
Section 13-3. of the Elsmere Code provides that “[a]ny
duly constituted police officer of the state who charges
any of the offenses hereinafter designated ‘motor vehicle
offenses subject to voluntary assessment’ committed
within the Town of Elsmere may, in addition to issuing a
summons for any such offenses, provide the offending
operator with a voluntary assessment form which, when
properly executed by the officer and the offender, allows
the offender to dispose of the charge without the necessity
of personally appearing in the Mayor’s Court of the Town
of Elsmere.” Section 13.4. further provides that: “A.
Payments made pursuant to this chapter shall be remitted
to the Mayor’s Court of the Town of Elsmere.  B. The
payment must be received by the court within ten (10)
days from the date of the arrest (excluding Saturday and
Sunday) and shall be paid by check or money order.”
Again, these Town ordinances comport with the State
voluntary assessment law.  Compare 21 Del.C. Sections
709(a), (c).

Under State law, for the Town to operate a
voluntary assessment system, summonses issued by the
Town police must be returnable to the Mayor’s Court.
Only the “Courts of the Justices of the Peace may establish
a mail-in fine center,. . . in which case the summons may
be made returnable to the applicable mail-in fine center.”
21 Del.C. Section 709(a) The statute does not authorize a
municipality to establish a mail-in fine center for payment
of fines for motor vehicle offenses which occur within the
town.

Nor can a town avail itself of the voluntary
assessment procedure unless it has an Alderman’s or
Mayor’s Court that is “duly established.” 21 Del.C.
Section 703(d).  Stated differently, there must be an actual
court, to which payments for motor vehicle offenses can
be remitted “to dispose of the charge without the necessity
of personally appearing in the court to which the summons
is returnable.” Id. Section 709(a).

Section 706(a) of Title 21 provides that “[a]ll
costs collected for the violation of any of the provisions of
[Title 21 of the Delaware CD&] shall be paid to the
jurisdiction whose court imposed said costs.” The
Superior Court has held that “the word ‘costs’ as it appears
in 21 Del.C. § 706(a) must of necessity refer only to those
costs routinely incurred.” State v. Cephas, Del.  Super.,
265 A.2d 49, 53 (1970) (Quillen, J.). The statute was
intended to preserve to the municipalities the income for
costs actually “incurred” by their courts.  Id. In contrast,
Section 706(a) requires that traffic fines (as distinct from
costs) shall be payable to the municipality where the
motor vehicle offense occurred.  See Cephas, supra.

Court costs are chargeable for the purpose of
recouping the costs of administration for the court system
having jurisdiction over the cause of action or offense
giving rise to the charge.  In this case, the Town does not
operate a court and apparently uses the imposition of court
costs as a general revenue source for the Town.  In fact, it
is our understanding that the Town recently raised the
court costs for traffic offenses from fifteen dollars to
twenty dollars.  The imposition of any costs by the Town
is inappropriate and must cease.

In conclusion, the Town of Elsmere is not an
entity designated by statute to receive criminal history
information from DELJIS.  It may only operate a
voluntary assessment system through a duly established
Alderman’s or Mayor’s Court.  In the absence of such a
court, it may not charge, impose or collect “court costs” or
any similar fee from persons charged with motor vehicle
violations within its boundaries.

Very truly yours,

W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

Allison E. Hare
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:

Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION NO. 97-IB05

March 4, 1997

Mr. Bruce L. Hoster LINK TO AG’S
415 East 6th Street HOME PAGE
Laurel, DE 19956

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint
Against Town of Laurel

Dear Mr. Hoster:
Pursuant to 29 Del.C. Section 10005(e), the

Attorney General’s Office makes this written determination
whether a violation of the Freedom of Information Act, 29
Del.C. Sections 10001 - 10005 (FOIA”), has occurred.

By letter dated December 5, 1996, you alleged
that the Town of Laurel (“Town”) denied your request to
inspect and copy public records.  Your letter was received
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by our Office on December 11, 1996, but was mistakenly
directed to the Division of Consumer Affairs, instead of
the Civil Division which did not receive it until after
Christmas.  We apologize for any resultant delay in
responding to your complaint.

By letter dated January 2, 1997, we asked the
Acting Town Manager to respond in writing to your
complaint within ten days.  At the request of the Town’s
attorney, we granted a twenty-day extension of time,
because of the attorney’s other work commitments.  By
letter dated January 21, 1997, we received the Town’s
response.

By letter dated January 24, 1997, we posed
several follow-up questions to the Town’s attorney in
order to clarify the factual record.  By letter dated
February 3, 1997, we received the Town’s response.
Since you have made a number of similar FOIA requests
to the Town over the last several years, a brief history is in
order.

By letter dated August 7, 1995, you first asked
the Town to produce “[a]ny and all minutes, documents,
notes, memoranda, cassette tapes, inter-agency or extra-
agency memos or letters, incoming letters of memos,
telephone logs or records and electronic recordings which
refer to or are in any way connected to Bruce L. Hoster,
Delaware Bankruptcy Court Case 91-1168 or 93-
01363HSB, the house located at 415 East 6th Street, and/
or all consequent communication between all parties
including for the town of Laurel.”

By letter dated September 11, 1995, the Town’s
attorney responded to your request.  Except for
“communications between the Town Solicitor and Town
officials,” the Town agreed to produce “copies of the
documentation you have requested, upon payment of the
reasonable copying expenses.” The Town itemized three
documents that it was not producing, claiming that they
were “exempt from disclosure as pertaining to pending or
potential litigation” (citing 29 Del.C. Section 10002(d)(9)).
“The charge for copying such documents is $8.55. Copies
of the referenced documents may be obtained at the Laurel
Town Hall upon the payment of such fee.”

By letter dated September 24, 1995, you
requested the same documents as in your letter of August
7, but also requested additional categories of documents:
“Any and all minutes, documents, notes, memoranda,
cassette tapes, inter-agency or extra-agency memos or
letters, incoming letters or memos, telephone logs or
records and electronic recordings which refer to or are in
any way connected to Bruce L. Hoster, the investigation,
arraignment, arrest, and fugitive warrants issued for same
concerning any incident, action, ticket, or arrest in
absentia or not.” Apparently, that letter was never
received by the Town, and therefore no response was
forthcoming.

By letter dated December 5, 1996, you again
requested the records pertaining to your bankruptcy that
were the subject of your original letter dated August 7,
1995, but also asked to inspect and copy: the Town’s
water and sewer billing records and tax assessment books;
all parking tickets issued by the Laurel Police Department
since January 1, 1996; and your criminal file from
Alderman’s Court and from the Laurel Police Department.

By letter dated January 10, 1997, the Town’s
attorney responded to your latest request to copy and
inspect documents.  The Town reiterated that the
bankruptcy records had previously been made available to
you in September 1995.  As for the criminal files, the
“Laurel Police Department does not have a criminal file
on you as an arrestee.” The only document the Police
Department has relating to you is an arrest card for “the
parking violation charge disposed of on December 11,
1996.” The Town agreed to make available for your
inspection printed computer billing records for water and
sewer from 1990-July 1996, and town assessment books.
More recent billing records are maintained only in
computerized form, and, for security reasons, the Town
cannot allow you access to operate the computer.  See
Att’y Gen Op.  No. 94-I011 (Mar. 7, 1994) (FOIA does not
require a public body to provide on-line access to a
computer database).

The Town objected to your request to see copies
of parking tickets issued to other persons “on the grounds
that such request is overbroad, burdensome and would
constitute an invasion of personal privacy, thus being
exempt from disclosure pursuant to 29 Del.C. Section
10002(d)(4).”

In its letter dated February 3, 1997, the Town’s
attorney confirmed the following information:

1. The post-July 1996 water and sewer
billing records can be printed out for inspection and
copying, on a monthly basis.  The Town has already
printed out the records through December 3, 1996, and the
Town’s attorney has asked the Town to print billing
records through January 3, 1997.  Mr. Hoster can retrieve
such records by paying a forty-five cents per page copying
charge.

2. The Town of Laurel issued 53 parking
tickets during 1996.

3. The Town is willing to produce for
inspection and copying the documents in the Laurel Police
Department’s files relating to Mr. Hoster, including the
July 1996 parking summons that was disposed of on
December 11, 1996.

4. The Town will make available for your



81

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 1, TUESDAY, JULY 1, 1997

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINIONS
inspection and copying the files maintained in
Alderman’s Court relating to the two charges that went to
trial in the Court of Common Pleas on December 11, 1996.
The Town has previously advised you (per its letter dated
January 10, 1996) that you “can contact Alderman
Sheridan at 875-2855 to request a convenient time to
review the files . . . .”

For the foregoing reasons, we determine that the
Town of Laurel has not violated the public records
provisions of FOIA.  The Town has made available to you
for inspection and copying most of the public records you
requested in your letters dated August 7, 1995, September
24, 1996, and December 5, 1996.  The documents the
Town has objected to producing are exempt from
disclosure under FOIA.  Specifically, the three documents
identified in Mr. Waehler’s letter to you of September 11,
1995 are exempt from disclosure, both because they relate
to pending litigation (29 Del.C. Section 10002(d)(9)) and
are protected by attorney-client privilege (id.  Section
1002(d)(6)).2 As for parking tickets issued by the Town to
individuals other than yourself, we do not agree with the
Town that the clerical task of producing those public
records would be unduly burdensome, since the Town
issued only 53 tickets in 1996.  We find, however, that
those records are exempt from disclosure under the
common law right of privacy, 29 Del.C. Section
10002(d)(6).  Law enforcement requires “the orderly
preservation of great quantities of information, much of
which is personal in character and potentially embarrassing
or harmful if disclosed.” Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S.
589,605.  See Att’y Gen. Op., No. 96-IB33 (Dec. 11,
1996) (names and addresses of business license holders
protected by common law right of privacy).

Very truly yours,

W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:

Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

1  The Attorney General’s Office received that
letter on September 23, 1996. Unfortunately, due to an
internal error in case processing, the complaint did not
come to the attention of the unit that handles FOIA matters
until mid-December, 1996.  We have made every effort
since then to respond to the complaint as quickly as
possible.
2  Those documents are: a fax from William S.

Hitch to John E. Messick, Esquire, dated June 15, 1992,
relating to the Hoster bankruptcy proceedings; letter from
Donna K. Adkins of the Town of Laurel to Tunnel &
Raysor, dated June 19, 1992, relating to outstanding
amounts due for water, sewer, trash, and real estate taxes;
and letter from John E. Messick, Esquire to William S.
Hitch, dated February 25, 1993, relating to the Hoster
bankruptcy proceedings and sale of properties for tax
delinquency.
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