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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example
would be:

16 DE Reg. 1227 - 1230 (06/01/13)

Refers to Volume 16, pages 1227 - 1130 of the Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2013.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.
When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING TIME

January 1 December 15       4:30 p.m.
February 1 January 15       4:30 p.m.
March 1 February 16       4:30 p.m.
April 1 March 15       4:30 p.m.
May 1 April 15       4:30 p.m.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF

Lori Christiansen, Director; Mark J. Cutrona, Deputy Director; Tara Donofrio, Administrative Specialist
II; Bethany Fiske, Assistant Registrar of Regulations; Robert Lupo, Printer; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop
Supervisor; Kathleen Morris, Human Resources/Financials; Georgia Roman, Unit Operations Support Specialist;
Victoria Schultes, Administrative Specialist II; Don Sellers, Printer; Yvette W. Smallwood, Registrar of
Regulations; Holly Vaughn Wagner, Research Analyst; Verity Watson, Joint Sunset Analyst; Rochelle Yerkes,
Office Manager; Sara Zimmerman, Legislative Librarian.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed in the
preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that issue of
the Register in which the regulation was published. Proposed regulations are designated with (Prop.); Final
regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations
that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES OF THE COURTS
Child Placement Review Board

1401 Regulations Governing the Ivyane D.F. Davis Scholarship....................... 19 DE Reg.    186 (Final)

DELAWARE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY
501 Regulations of the Delaware Solid Waste Authority.......................................... 19 DE Reg.   226 (Prop.)
502 Statewide Solid Waste Management Plan......................................................... 19 DE Reg.   231 (Prop.)

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
701 Administration and Enforcement ...................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     96 (Prop.)
702 Fire Protection in Building Construction............................................................ 19 DE Reg.     97 (Prop.)
703 Installation, Operation, Maintenance, Testing and Sales of Signaling Systems,

Fire Protection Systems and Fire Extinguishers................................................ 19 DE Reg.     97 (Prop.)
704 Hazardous Processes and Operations.............................................................. 19 DE Reg.     98 (Prop.)
705 General Fire Safety........................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     99 (Prop.)
706 Specific Occupancy Requirements.................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     99 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation

701 Farmland Preservation Program................................................................. 19 DE Reg.   160 (Prop.)
Harness Racing Commission

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations, Section 8.0................................. 19 DE Reg.     10 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.    189 (Final)

Standardbred Breeders’ Fund
502 Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Regulations, Section 13.0 -

Races.................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   161 (Prop.)
Thoroughbred Racing Commission

1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations, Section 15.0: Medication;
Testing Procedures...................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    137 (Final)

19 DE Reg.   354 (Prop.)
Sections 18.0 and 19.0................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.      32 (Final)

1002 Delaware Jockeys’ Health and Welfare Benefit Board Regulations......... 19 DE Reg.      33 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Office of the Secretary

103 Accountability for Schools, Districts and the State...................................... 19 DE Reg.   162 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   234 (Prop.)

106A Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System
Revised....................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.      35 (Final)

107A Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System
Revised....................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.      38 (Final)

108A Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal
System Revised.......................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.      35 (Final)

252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of
Educational Records................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   355 (Prop.)
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284 Licensure and Certification of Public Education Employees in the
Department of Education, in Adult Education and in Prison Education
Programs Whose Work Responsibilities are Directly Related to 
Curriculum and Instruction........................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   163 (Prop.)

286 Application Fee For Educator Licensure..................................................... 19 DE Reg.   358 (Prop.)
505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas................................ 19 DE Reg.   100 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   303 (Final)
545 K to 12 School Counseling Programs......................................................... 19 DE Reg.   102 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   305 (Final)
775 New Teacher Hiring Date Reporting............................................................ 19 DE Reg.   360 (Prop.)
804 Immunizations............................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.     43 (Final)
811 School Health Record Keeping Requirements............................................ 19 DE Reg.   234 (Prop.)
817 Medications and Treatments....................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   362 (Prop.)
902 Gifted or Talented Education Plan............................................................... 19 DE Reg.     48 (Final)
1007 DIAA Sportsmanship................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.   105 (Prop.)
1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics................. 19 DE Reg.   110 (Prop.)
1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics............................................... 19 DE Reg.   111 (Prop.)
1150 School Transportation............................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     51 (Final)

19 DE Reg.    112 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.    307 (Final)

Professional Standards Board
1502 Professional Growth Salary Increments.................................................... 19 DE Reg.   364 (Prop.)
1506 Emergency Certificate............................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   367 (Prop.)
1559 Skilled and Technical Sciences Teacher................................................... 19 DE Reg.   237 (Prop.)
1560 Art Teacher................................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.     12 (Prop.)
1563 Music Teacher........................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     14 (Prop.)
1564 Physical Education Teacher...................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     15 (Prop.)
1571 Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher...................................... 19 DE Reg.     17 (Prop.)
1583 School Psychologist.................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.   241 (Prop.)
1595 Certification Programs for Leaders in Education....................................... 19 DE Reg.   243 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection

3325 Financial Capability Reporting.................................................................. 19 DE Reg.      52 (Final)
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance

Hippotherapy...................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    164 (Prop.)
Private Duty Nursing Services........................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    245 (Prop.)
Reimbursement Methodology for Home Health Services.................................. 19 DE Reg.    253 (Prop.)
Reimbursement Methodology for State Plan Personal Care Services............... 19 DE Reg.    258 (Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 3.1-A, Introductory Page 1 (Tele-

medicine)..................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.      20 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.     191 (Final)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and
Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services for
Individuals Under Age 21............................................................................ 19 DE Reg.    380 (Prop.)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and
Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Mental Health Services.............................. 19 DE Reg.    373 (Prop.)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and
Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Substance Use Disorder Services............. 19 DE Reg.    377 (Prop.)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Multi-State Purchasing Pool Supplemental
Drug Rebate Agreement (SRA)................................................................... 19 DE Reg.       57 (Final)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Pharmaceutical Services Reimbursement -
340B Drug Products.................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    369 (Prop.)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, State Plan Rehabilitative Services - Coverage
and Reimbursement for Community Support Services............................... 19 DE Reg.       60 (Final)
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Division of Public Health
4304 Medical Orders for Life-Sustaining Treatment or Pre-Hospital Advance

Care Directives............................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.  388 (Prop.)
4406 Home Health Agencies--Aide Only (Licensure)........................................ 19 DE Reg.  388 (Prop.)
4410 Skilled Home Health Agencies (Licensure).............................................. 19 DE Reg.  391 (Prop.)
4452 Clean Indoor Air Act.................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.  169 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  407 (Final)
4455 Delaware Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code.................. 19 DE Reg.  138 (Final)
4462 Public Drinking Water Systems................................................................. 19 DE Reg.    22 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  114 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  172 (Prop.)

4464 Public Swimming Pools............................................................................ 19 DE Reg.  115 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  309 (Final)

4465 Delaware Radiation Control Regulations, Part D: Standards for Protection
Against Radiation; Part J: Notices, Instructions and Reports to Workers;
Inspections.................................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.   140 (Final)

4469 Personal Assistance Services Agencies................................................... 19 DE Reg.  392 (Prop.)
4470 State of Delaware Medical Marijuana Code.............................................. 19 DE Reg.   91 (Emer.)

19 DE Reg.  116 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   409 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Office of the Commissioner

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines
Brokers and Consultants............................................................................. 19 DE Reg.  262 (Prop.)

606 Proof of Automobile Insurance................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  173 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   414 (Final)

1208 New Annuity Mortality Table for Use in Determining Reserve Liabilities
for Annuities................................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.  263 (Prop.)

1801 Registration of Insurance Holding Companies......................................... 19 DE Reg.  396 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Division of Industrial Affairs

1101 Apprenticeship and Training Regulations................................................. 19 DE Reg.   194 (Final)
1322 Prevailing Wage Regulations.................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   415 (Final)
Office of Workers’ Compensation

1341 Workers’ Compensation Regulations................................................. 19 DE Reg.  175 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   416 (Final)

Division of Unemployment Insurance
1202 Unemployment Insurance Regulations..................................................... 19 DE Reg.     64 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Division of Air Quality

1124 Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions.................................... 19 DE Reg.   199 (Final)
1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories. 19 DE Reg.    23 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   311 (Final)
1141 Limiting Emissions of Volatile Organic Compounds from Consumer and

Commercial Products.................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.    25 (Prop.)
Division of Energy and Climate

102 Implementation of Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards Cost Cap
Provisions.................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  270 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  397 (Prop.)
Division of Fish and Wildlife 

3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits, Seasons; Quotas........................ 19 DE Reg.   92 (Emer.)
19 DE Reg.  121 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   313 (Final)
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3542 Tilefish....................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  401 (Prop.)
3711 Conch Minimum Size Limits...................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   315 (Final)
3712 Commercial Conch Dredge Licenses [Commercial Conch Season]......... 19 DE Reg.   315 (Final)
3900 Wildlife: Section 4.0 Seasons; Section 23.0 Non-native/Invasive Wildlife. 19 DE Reg.  176 (Prop.)

Division of Waste and Hazardous Substances
1301 Regulations Governing Solid Waste (DRGSW)......................................... 19 DE Reg.   422 (Final)
1301 Regulations Governing Solid Waste (DRGSW) - Scrap Tires................... 19 DE Reg.   418 (Final)
1302 Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste................................................ 19 DE Reg.  181 (Prop.)
1351 Underground Storage Tank Systems......................................................... 19 DE Reg.  402 (Prop.)
1375 Regulations Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup........................... 19 DE Reg.     65 (Final)

Division of Watershed Stewardship
5102 Regulation Governing Beach Protection and the Use of Beaches............ 19 DE Reg.  274 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Division of State Police

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Securiy Agencies. 19 DE Reg.   202 (Final)
2400 Board of Examiners of Constables, Rules 3.0 and 5.0.............................. 19 DE Reg.   425 (Final)

Rules 4.0 & 9.0............................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.  404 (Prop.)
Rule 7.0........................................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.   426 (Final)

5500 Bail Enforcement Agents, Rules 1.0, 4.0 and 6.0...................................... 19 DE Reg.   318 (Final)
Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner

Alcoholic Beverage Control Regulations............................................................ 19 DE Reg.  406 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES
Division of Family Services

101 Rules for Early Care and Education and School-Age Centers.................... 19 DE Reg.      6 (Emer.)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Professional Regulation

100 Board of Accountancy................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.     68 (Final)
300 Board of Architects...................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  124 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  275 (Prop.)
500 Board of Podiatry......................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   427 (Final)
1100 Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, Section 10.0, Practical (Clinical)

Examination................................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.   431 (Final)
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   141 (Final)
1725 Polysomnography Advisory Council.......................................................... 19 DE Reg.     69 (Final)

19 DE Reg.  184 (Prop.)
1900 Board of Nursing, Sections 2.0, 3.0, 4.0, 5.0 & 9.0................................... 19 DE Reg.  125 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   432 (Final)
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice................................................... 19 DE Reg.  276 (Prop.)
2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry............................................................. 19 DE Reg.    26 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   204 (Final)
2500 Board of Pharmacy.................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    26 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  125 (Prop.)
2500 Board of Pharmacy, Section 5.0......................................................... 19 DE Reg.  282 (Prop.)

2700 Board of Registration for Professional Land Surveyors............................. 19 DE Reg.   142 (Final)
2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers............................................................ 19 DE Reg.     70 (Final)
3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical

Dependency Professionals.......................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  283 (Prop.)
3500 Board of Examiners of Psychologists........................................................ 19 DE Reg.   319 (Final)
3700 Board of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists and Hearing Aid

Dispensers................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  284 (Prop.)
3800 Board of Dietetics/Nutrition........................................................................ 19 DE Reg.    27 (Prop.)
4100 Board of Home Inspectors, Sections 4.0, 9.0 and 10.0............................. 19 DE Reg.  184 (Prop.)
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Uniform Controlled Substances Act Regulations............................................... 19 DE Reg.    27 (Prop.)
Public Service Commission

1202 Policies and Procedures Regarding FOIA Requests................................ 19 DE Reg.   434 (Final)
3007 Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards.................................... 19 DE Reg.  126 (Prop.)
4002 Regulations Governing Payphone Service Providers in Delaware

(Docket No. 12), Repeal of.......................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     71 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division of Planning and Policy

2309 Development Coordination Manual.......................................................... 19 DE Reg.     73 (Final)
19 DE Reg.   322 (Final)

Division of Transportation Solutions
2402 Delaware Manual in Uniform Traffic Control Devices............................... 19 DE Reg.     76 (Final)
2405 Oversize/Overweight Hauling Permit Policy and Procedures Manual...... 19 DE Reg.  134 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   324 (Final)

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
Office of Management and Budget

Guidelines for Agency Regulatory Statements Required under the Regulatory
Flexibility Act............................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  289 (Prop.)

Division of Facilities Management
4104 Regulations for the Drug Testing of Contractor and Subcontractor

Employees Working on Large Public Works Projects........................... 19 DE Reg.   207 (Final)
Statewide Benefits Office

2007 Disability Insurance Program Rules and Regulations........................ 19 DE Reg.    78 (Final)
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation.   The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 10103(c) (3 Del.C. §10103(c))
3 DE Admin. Code 1001

PUBLIC NOTICE

1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations

Summary
The Thoroughbred Racing Commission proposes to amend its Regulations adopted in accordance with Title 3,

Chapter 101. The purpose of the amended regulations is to delete the whipping rule currently found at rule 10.9.4
and then to adopt a new whipping rule as rule 14.18.2 that adds the words “excessive, abusive” to the text of the
former whipping rule 10.9.4. Other regulations issued by the Thoroughbred Racing Commission are not affected by
this proposal. The Thoroughbred Racing Commission is issuing these proposed regulations in accordance with
Title 3 of the Delaware Code. This notice is issued pursuant to the requirements of Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the
Delaware Code.

Comments
A copy of the proposed regulations is being published in the December 1, 2015 edition of the Delaware

Register of Regulations. A copy is also on file in the office of the Thoroughbred Racing Commission, 777 Delaware
Park Boulevard, Wilmington, Delaware 19804 and is available for inspection during regular office hours. Copies are
also published online at the Register of Regulations website: http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/
current_issue.shtml.

Interested parties may offer written comments on the proposed regulations or submit written suggestions, data,
briefs or other materials to the Thoroughbred Racing Commission at the above address as to whether these
proposed regulations should be adopted, rejected or modified. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), public comments
must be received on or before January 1, 2016. Written materials submitted will be available for inspection at the
above address.
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Adoption of Proposed Regulation
On or after January 1, 2016, following review of the public comment, the Thoroughbred Racing Commission

will determine whether to amend its regulations to delete the whipping rule currently found at rule 10.9.4 and then
to designate the text of current rule 14.18 as rule 14.18.1 and adopt a news whipping rule as rule 14.18.2 that adds
the words “excessive, abusive” to the text of the former whipping rule 10.9.4. or make additional changes because
of the public comments received. 

1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

10.0 Horses

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

10.9 Equipment:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

10.9.4 Indiscriminate or brutal use of an ordinary whip on a horse, as determined by the Stewards in their
sole discretion, is prohibited.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

14.0 Running of the Race

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

14.18 Use of Whips, Other Means of Altering Performance:

14.18.1 Whips are to be used uniformly and the Stewards shall take cognizance of unusual use or non-use
of a whip by a Jockey. No appliance, electrical or mechanical, other than the ordinary whip, shall
be used to affect the speed of a horse in a race or workout. No sponge or other object may be
used to interfere with the respiratory system of a horse. Use or non-use of ordinary racing
equipment shall be consistent and any change thereof must be approved by the Stewards.

14.18.2 Indiscriminate, excessive, abusive or brutal use of an ordinary whip on a horse, as determined by
the Stewards in their sole discretion, is prohibited.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 503

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

503 Instructional Program Requirements

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

503 Instructional Program Requirements. This regulation is being amended to: (1) remove specific references to
previous school years as to when implementation of physical fitness assessments would occur, (2) include
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instructional requirements for World Languages, and (3) clarify instructional requirements for Career and Technical
Education.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before January 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at
401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed online at the Register
of Regulation's website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the
Department of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is intended to help improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards by ensuring this regulation correctly notes the grades in which physical fitness
assessments occur and the instructional requirements for world languages and career and technical education.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation is intended to help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
The amendment does not address specifically address students' health and safety, but does help ensure that a
physical fitness assessment will be done in specific grades, ultimately contributing to the health of students.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation helps to ensure that all student's legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
does not change because of the amendment.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendment is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
expected cost to implementing this amended regulation.

503 Instructional Program Requirements

1.0 English Language Arts

1.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in English
Llanguage Aarts for each grade K to 12.

1.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in an English language arts program.

1.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in English language arts
necessary to graduate from high school.

2.0 Mathematics

2.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in mathematics for
each grade K to12.

2.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in a mathematics program.

2.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in mathematics necessary to
graduate from high school.
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3.0 Science

3.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in science for each
grade K to 12.

3.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in a science program.

3.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in science necessary to graduate
from high school.

4.0 Social Studies

4.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in social studies
for each grade K to 12.

4.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in a social studies program.

4.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in social studies necessary to
graduate from high school.

5.0 Physical Education

5.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in physical
education for each grade K to 12 with the exception of the James H. Groves High School program.

5.2 All public school students in each grade 1 to 8 shall be enrolled in a physical education program.

5.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credit in physical education necessary
to graduate from high school.

5.3.1 In addition to the one credit required for high school graduation, only one additional elective credit
in physical education may be used to fulfill the graduation requirements.

5.4 The physical education requirements may be waived only for students who have an excuse from a
qualified physician licensed medical provider or objections based on religious beliefs. The local school
district or charter school shall have the authority to grant such waivers. The local school district or
charter school shall maintain records of the waivers granted and upon request, make them available
for review consistent with Federal and state confidentiality laws.

5.5 Local school districts and charter schools shall annually assess the physical fitness of each student in
grades 4 and 7, and in grade 9 or 10. Beginning in the 2006-2007 school year and annually thereafter,
all students in grade 4 will be assessed. Beginning in the 2007-2008 school year and annually
thereafter all students in grade 7 and in grade 9 or 10 will be assessed. The physical fitness
assessment tool used by the districts and charter schools shall be one designated by the Delaware
Department of Education.

5.5.1 The local school districts and charter schools shall provide the results of the physical fitness
assessment to the parent(s) guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver of each student. The districts and
charter schools shall also report this information to the Delaware Department of Education in a
format determined by the Department.

5.5.1.1 The Delaware Department of Education shall annually report the statewide grade level
results of the physical fitness assessment to the public.

6.0 Visual and Performing Arts

6.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in the visual and
performing arts for each grade K to 12 with the exception of the James H. Groves High School
program.

6.2 All public school students in each grade 1 to 6 shall be enrolled in a visual and performing arts
program.

7.0 Career and Technical Education

7.1 Local school districts and charter schools, when consistent with the charter school's approved
program, shall provide instructional program(s) in two or more vocational technical education areas in
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grades 7 and 8 that demonstrate alignment to career and technical education programs of study within
the high school feeder pattern(s).

7.1.1 No later than the 2017-2018 school year, career and technical instructional program(s) in grades 7
and 8 shall be aligned to career and technical education programs of study at the high school
level.

7.2 All public school students in grades 9 through 12 in local school districts, and charter schools when
consistent with the charter school's approved program, shall be provided with the opportunity to enroll
in and complete a career and technical education program of study.

8.0 World Language

8.1 Local school districts and charter schools with any of grades 9 through 12 shall provide instructional
programs in world languages for grades 9 through 12.

8.2 All public school students in grades 9 through 12 shall complete the credits in world languages
required to graduate from high school.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

616 Uniform Due Process Procedures for Alternative Placement Meetings and Expulsion Hearings

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
New Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to create 14 DE Admin. Code 616 Uniform Due Process Procedures for

Alternative Placement Meetings and Expulsion Hearings. This regulation is being created pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§122(b) (26) to provide uniform procedures for alternative placement meetings and expulsion hearings.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before January 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at
401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed on-line at the
Register of Regulation’s website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the
Department of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The regulation will help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement
standards as it provides uniform procedures for alternative placement meetings and expulsion hearings.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation
will help to ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The regulation will help to protect a student’s due process rights, but does not address a students’ health and
safety specifically.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The regulation will
help ensure that all student’s legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The regulation does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers.
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7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
does not change because of the regulation.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The regulation is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? State or
local schools boards may need to contract with hearing officers to conduct expulsion hearings or revise current
district policies and processes which may require legal review/costs.

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

616 Uniform Due Process Procedures for Alternative Placement Meetings and Expulsion Hearings

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

932 Military-Connected Youth

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
New Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to create 14 DE Admin. Code

932 Military-Connected Youth. This regulation is being created to align with 14 Del.C §122(b)(28) which requires
the development of a process for districts and charter schools to annually identify enrolled students who are
"military-connected youth". This is necessary to ensure school officials are aware of their military connection
should they require any special services or supports.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before January 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at
401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed on-line at the
Register of Regulation's website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the
Department of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement standards?

The regulation is intended to improve student achievement as measured against state achievement standards by
helping to ensure students can be identified as connected with the military should they require any special services
or supports. 

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation is intended
to help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
regulation does not specifically address students' health and safety.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The regulation helps to
ensure that all student's legal rights are respected.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local board and
school level? The regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and school level.
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6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels? The regulation does not place any unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements on decision makers. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
does not change because of the regulation.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The regulation is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
expected cost to implementing this regulation.

932 Military-Connected Youth

1.0 Purpose

This regulation outlines the process for districts and charter schools to annually identify enrolled students who
are "military-connected youth."  This regulation is established pursuant to 14 Del.C. Chapter 1, §122(b)(28).

2.0 Definitions

"Military-Connected Youth" means any student having an immediate family member, including a
parent, step-parent, sibling or any other person residing in the same household, who is on active duty,
serving in the reserve component, or recently retired from a branch of the United States armed forces.
Such branches consist of United States Army, United States Air Force, United States Marine Corps,
United States Navy, National Guard, United States Coast Guard, National Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration or the United States Public Health Service.

"Recently Retired" for the purposes of this regulation, means within 18 months prior to September 30
of the current school year.

3.0 Data Collection and Access

3.1 Each district and charter school shall include a military-connected identifier as part of its annual
enrollment process and student information update.

3.2 Each district and charter school shall identify which school personnel have access to the military-
connected identifier.

4.0 Use Exemptions

4.1 The identification of a military-connected youth shall not be used for purposes of determining school
achievement, growth or performance.

4.2 The identification of a military-connected youth is not a public record under Delaware's Freedom of
Information Act or any other law, and shall not be made public by any person, except as permitted
under the provisions of the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974.
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1008

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. §122(d)

1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics. This regulation was originally published on July
25, 2015 and August 1, 2015 in the News Journal and Delaware State News with proposed amendments. Those
amendments incorporated the ability for the DIAA Board to waive the age rule for students with physically or
mentally limiting disabilities; update the middle school wrestling weight control program; bring practice regulations
more in line with national best practice models; provide member schools with a policy to determine appropriate
placement for transgendered students participating on interscholastic athletic teams; update coaches’ regulation to
mandate an approved concussion course; and make non-substantive changes to improve readability. Comments
were received from the State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) and the Governor’s Advisory Council for
Exceptional Citizens, and a thorough review was done by the DIAA Board of Directors. Comments received which
are incorporated herein are: (1) the definition of “Student with a Disability” has been changed to include students
with 504 plans; (2) the Department clarified language regarding the conditions for students who play sports outside
of their school noting that, “nothing in this regulation shall be construed as prohibiting schools from providing
transportation or school supplied assistive technology and equipment to or for non-school activities for students
with disabilities; (3) a definition of Superintendent was added; and (4) language was also added regarding the
eligibility of a child in DSCYF custody. Other minor grammatical changes were made throughout the regulation.
This is part of a series of comprehensive reviews and updates to be made to all DIAA regulations.

Additionally, the State Board of Education expressed concerns that the regulation permits members schools to
determine a policy about transgendered students participating in interscholastic sports, in accordance with the
minimum standards designated by DIAA, rather than the Department of Education setting the policy. In support of
the decision remaining at the local level, the Department received a letter from the Delaware Chief School Officers
Association noting that the consensus among all 19 school district superintendents is that the decision regarding
the participation of transgendered students in interscholastic sports should remain at the local level.

There was also a comment regarding the age waiver protocol for students with disabilities being limited to an
IEP and not expanded to cover 504 Plans, and the involvement of the IEP team. After considering public comment,
the DIAA Board voted to remove this proposed change for further consideration and analysis at this time. Due to
the fact that this is a substantive change, the regulation is being republished for comment at this time.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before January 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at
401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed on-line at the
Register of Regulation’s website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the
Department of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is related to the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association and does not
directly affect any changes to student achievement as measured against the state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation is
related to the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association and does not directly affect any changes to students’
ability to receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
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The amendments in part are intended to address exertional heat illness as it relates to practice and a middle school
wrestling weight control program intended to reduce severe weight reduction.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulations improve the ability of students with disabilities and transgendered students enjoy the same rights of
participation as all students.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulations do not change weaken the ability to make decisions at the local
board and school level and in fact enhance the ability of local schools to make participation decisions with respect
to disability and gender identity.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
does not change because of the amendment.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendment is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
expected cost to implementing this amended regulation.

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1009

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. §122(d)

1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics. This regulation was originally published on July 25, 2015 and
August 1, 2015 in the News Journal and Delaware State News, with proposed amendments which incorporated the
ability for the DIAA Board to waive the age rule for students with disabilities; updated the transfer rule in choice
schools; addressed schools that close or discontinue a sport; amended eighth grade participation regulations in
order to limit eighth grade transfers for athletics; expand participation for international students; amended pre-
participation medical examination requirements to provide parents a better opportunity to use insurance for the
required examination; updated wrestling weight control protocol; better aligned practice regulations with national
best practice models; provided member schools with a policy for transgendered students participating on
interscholastic athletic teams; mandated an approved concussion course for coaches; and made other non-
substantive changes to improve readability. Comments were received from the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) and the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens, and a thorough review was done
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by the DIAA Board of Directors. Revisions made as a result of comments received are: (1) the definition of “Student
with a Disability” has been changed to include students with 504 plans; (2) the Department clarified language
regarding the conditions for students who play sports outside of their school noting that the regulation is not to be
construed as prohibiting schools from providing transportation or school supplied assistive technology and
equipment to or for non-school activities for students with disabilities; (3) a definition of Superintendent was added;
and (4) language was also added regarding the eligibility of a child in DSCYF custody. Other minor grammatical
changes were made throughout the regulation. This is part of a series of comprehensive reviews and updates to be
made to all DIAA regulations.

Additionally, the State Board of Education expressed concerns that the regulation permits member schools to
determine their policies about transgendered students participating in interscholastic sports, in accordance with the
minimum standards designated by DIAA, rather than the Department of Education setting the policy. In support of
the decision remaining at the local level, the Department received a letter from the Delaware Chief School Officers
Association noting that the consensus among all 19 school district superintendents is that the decisions and
determination of policies regarding the participation of transgendered students in interscholastic sports should
remain at the local level.

There were also comments regarding the age waiver protocol for students with disabilities being limited to
students with an IEP and not covering students with 504 Plans, and the involvement of the IEP team. After
considering these public comments, the DIAA Board voted to remove this proposed change for further
consideration and analysis at this time. Due to the fact that this is a substantive change, the regulation is being
republished for comment.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before January 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at
401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901 A copy of this regulation may be viewed on-line at the Register
of Regulation’s website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the
Department of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is related to the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association and does not
directly affect any changes to student achievement as measured against the state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation is
related to the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association and does not directly affect any changes to students’
ability to receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The amendments in part are intended to help address exertional heat illness as it relates to practice; update the
wrestling weight control program to help reduce severe weight reduction; promote use of primary care physicians
for physical examinations; and enhance coaches’ knowledge of concussion prevention and identification.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation will help to improve the ability of students with disabilities and transgendered students to enjoy the same
rights of participation as all students.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change or weaken the ability to make decisions at the
local board and school level and enhances the ability of local schools to make participation decisions with respect
to disability and gender identity.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
does not change because of the amendment.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendment is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.
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9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
expected cost to implementing this amended regulation.

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1522

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1522 Elementary School Counselor

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,

seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 1522 Elementary
School Counselor. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational personnel, pursuant to
14 Del.C. §1220(a). It was necessary to review and amend this regulation in order to adjust the current course
count. This regulation sets forth the requirements for an Elementary School Counselor.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on
Thursday, December 31, 2015 to Mr. Chris Kenton, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards Board,
The Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available from
the above address or may be viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for the issuance of
a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice
in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students to help ensure that
students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have acquired the
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to
instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
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the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with the consent of
the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation will be consistent
with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to state
educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language
arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del.C.
requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted regulation?
There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1522 Elementary School Counselor

Non-regulatory note: Passage on an examination of content knowledge may also be required to obtain this
certification. Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220 and 14 DE Admin. Code 1505, an examination of content knowledge is
required when applicable and available. An examination of content knowledge is applicable and available when
approved by the Professional Standards Board with the concurrence of the State Board of Education. See the
Department of Education website for additional information.

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a),
for Elementary School Counselor. This certification is required for grades K to five (5), and is valid in
grades six (6) to eight (8) in a Middle Level school. A Middle Level School Counselor must hold either
an Elementary School Counselor Standard Certificate or a Secondary School Counselor Standard
Certificate.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

2.0 Definitions

The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

“CAEP (Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation)” – A nonprofit and
nongovernmental agency that accredits educator preparation providers (EPPs), which was created
when the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Teacher
Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) merged in 2013.

3.0 Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an
Elementary School Counselor to an educator who has met the following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Professional Status
Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and,

3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505, Standard Certificate including
any subsequent amendment or revision thereto: and

3.1.3 Has satisfied the additional requirements in this regulation.

4.0 Additional Requirements

An educator must also have met the following.
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4.1 Has satisfied at least one of the following additional education requirements:

4.1.1 Graduated from an NCATE or specialty organization recognized CAEP educator preparation
program unit or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval
body employed the appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE national specialty organization standards,
offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a Masters degree in Elementary
School Counseling; or

4.1.2 Graduated from a regionally accredited college or university with a Master’s degree in any content
area and satisfactorily completed thirty-nine (3039) credits of graduate course work or the
equivalent in professional development as approved by the Department in the areas of:

4.1.2.1 Principles and Practices of the School Counseling Program Introduction to School
Counseling & Theories (3 credits);

4.1.2.2 Individual Counseling Skills Human Behavior and Child Development (3 credits);

4.1.2.3 Group Counseling Skills Ethical Issues in School Counseling (3 credits);

4.1.2.4 Human Development College & Career Readiness K-12 (3 credits);

4.1.2.5 Developmental Group Guidance Testing, Measurements, and Research in School
Counseling (3 credits);

4.1.2.6 Individual and Group Testing for Counselors The Counselor as Consultant (3 credits);

4.1.2.7 Supervised Practicum in Elementary Counseling Special Education Law & the School
Counselor’s Role (3 credits);

4.1.2.8 Counseling Theory Group Counseling (3 credits); and

4.1.2.9 Consultation; and Individual Counseling Skills & Strategies (36 credits).

4.1.2.10 Ethical Issues in School Counseling Family Counseling (3 credits).

4.1.2.11 Principles and Practices of a School Counseling Program (6 Credits); and

4.2 Has met at least one of the following experience requirements:

4.2.1 A minimum of three years professional experience in an elementary school setting; or,

4.2.2 A minimum of three years of equivalent experience as approved by the Department of Education;
or,

4.2.3 A supervised school counseling internship clinical experience under the direct supervision of a state
certified school counselor of one (1) full year 600 hours in an elementary school setting which is part of
a graduate degree program in Elementary School Counseling or arranged by the Department of
Education. The internship may be completed over a two (2) year period on a half-time basis.

5.0 Effective Date of Section 4.0

Section 4.0 of this regulation shall be effective on January 1, 2017.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1545

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1545 Secondary School Counselor

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,

seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 1545 Secondary
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School Counselor. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational personnel, pursuant to
14 Del.C. §1220(a). It was necessary to review and amend this regulation in order to consider the current course
count. This regulation sets forth the requirements for an Secondary School Counselor.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on
Thursday, December 31, 2015 to Mr. Chris Kenton, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards Board,
The Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available from
the above address or may be viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for the issuance of
a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice
in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students to help ensure that
students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have acquired the
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to
instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level?   The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with the consent of
the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation will be consistent
with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to state
educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language
arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del.C.
requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted regulation?
There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1545 Secondary School Counselor

Non-regulatory note: Passage on an examination of content knowledge may also be required to obtain this
certification. Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220 and 14 DE Admin. Code 1505, an examination of content knowledge is
required when applicable and available. An examination of content knowledge is applicable and available when
approved by the Professional Standards Board with the concurrence of the State Board of Education. See the
Department of Education website for additional information.
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1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a),
for Secondary School Counselor. This certification is required for grades nine (9) to twelve (12) and is
valid in grades six (6) to eight (8) in a Middle Level school. A Middle Level School Counselor must hold
either an Elementary School Counselor Standard Certificate or a Secondary School Counselor
Standard Certificate.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505, Standard
Certificate including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

2.0 Definitions

The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

“CAEP (Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation)” – A nonprofit and
nongovernmental agency that accredits educator preparation providers (EPPs), which was created
when the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Teacher
Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) merged in 2013.

3.0 Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a
Secondary School Counselor to an educator who has met the following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard
or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and,

3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including
any subsequent amendment or revision thereto; and,

3.1.3 Has satisfied the additional requirements in this regulation.

4.0 Additional Requirements

4.1 An educator must also have met the following.

4.21 Has satisfied at least one of the following additional education requirements:

4.21.1 Graduated from an NCATE specialty organization recognized or CAEP educator preparation
program unit or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval
body employed the appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE national specialty organization standards,
offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with a Masters degree in Secondary
School Counseling; or

4.21.2 Graduated from a regionally accredited college or university with a Masters degree in any content
area and satisfactorily completed 3039 credits of graduate course work or the equivalent in
professional development as approved by the Department in the areas of:

4.21.2.1 Principles and Practices of the School Counseling Program Introduction to School
Counseling & Theories (3 credits);

4.21.2.2 Individual Counseling Skills Human Behavior and Child Development (3 credits);

4.21.2.3 Group Counseling Skills Ethical Issues in School Counseling (3 credits);

4.21.2.4 Human Development College & Career Readiness K-12 (3 credits);

4.21.2.5 Career Development Testing, Measurements, and Research in School Counseling (3
credits);

4.21.2.6 Individual and Group Testing for Counselors The Counselor as Consultant (3 credits);

4.21.2.7 Supervised Practicum in Secondary Counseling Special Education Law & the School
Counselor’s Role (3 credits);

4.21.2.8 Counseling Theory Group Counseling (3 credits);
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4.21.2.9 Consultation Individual Counseling Skills & Strategies (36 credits); and

4.21.2.10 Ethical Issues in School Counseling Family Counseling (3 credits).

4.1.2.11 Principles and Practices of a School Counseling Program (6 Credits); and

4.3 Has met at least one of the following experience requirements:

4.3.1 A minimum of three years professional experience in a secondary school setting; or,

4.3.2 A minimum of three years of equivalent experience as approved by the Department of Education;
or,

4.2.3.3 A supervised school counseling internship clinical experience under the direct supervision of a state
certified school counselor of one (1) full year 600 hours in a secondary school setting which is part of a
graduate degree program in Secondary School Counseling or arranged by the Department of
Education. The internship may be completed over a two (2) year period on a half-time basis.

5.0 Effective Date of Section 4.0

Section 4.0 of this regulation shall be effective on January 1, 2017.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Section 311, 3370 and 3571R
(18 Del.C. §§311, 3370 & 3571R)

PUBLIC NOTICE

1409 Insurance Coverage for Telemedicine and Telehealth

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAREN WELDIN STEWART hereby gives notice of proposed Department of
Insurance Regulation 1409 relating to Insurance Coverage for Telemedicine and Telehealth. The docket
number for this proposed regulation is 2988.

House Bill 69 as amended by House Amendment No. 1 and Senate Amendment No. 1 of the 148th General
Assembly provides for the use of telemedicine and telehealth in Delaware as of January 1, 2016. The proposed
regulation sets standards for the coverage of health care services provided through the use of telemedicine and
telehealth. The Delaware Code authority for this proposed regulation is 18 Del.C. §§311, 3370 and 3571R; and 29
Del.C. Ch. 101.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation. The proposed
regulation appears below and can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s website at

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/.
Any person can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other materials

concerning the proposed regulation. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed
regulation must be received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m. EST, Thursday, December 31,
2015. Any such requests should be directed to:

Regulatory Specialist Rhonda West

Delaware Department of Insurance

841 Silver Lake Boulevard

Dover, DE 19904

Phone: (302) 674-7379

Fax: (302) 739-5566

Email: rhonda.west@state.de.us
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1409 Insurance Coverage for Telemedicine and Telehealth

1.0 Authority

This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner pursuant to the authority granted by 18 Del.C. §§311, 3370
and 3751R and is promulgated in accordance with 29 Del.C. Chapter 101.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Distant site” means a site at which a health care provider legally allowed to practice in the state is
located while providing health care services by means of telehealth.

“Originating site” means a site in Delaware at which a patient is located at the time health care
services are provided to him or her by means of telehealth, unless the term is otherwise defined with
respect to the provision in which it is used; provided, however, notwithstanding any other provision of
law, insurers and providers may agree to alternative siting arrangements deemed appropriate by the
parties.

“Store and forward transfer” means the transmission of a patient’s medical information either to or
from an originating site or to or from the provider at the distant site, but does not require the patient
being present nor must it be in real time.

“Telehealth” means the use of information and communications technologies consisting of
telephones, store and forward transfers, remote patient monitoring devices or other electronic means
which support clinical health care, provider consultation, patient and professional health-related
education, public health, and health administration services.

"Telemedicine" means a form of telehealth which is the delivery of clinical health-care services by
means of real time 2-way audio, visual, or other telecommunications or electronic communications,
including the application of secure video conferencing or store and forward transfer technology to
provide or support health-care delivery, which facilitate the assessment, diagnosis, consultation,
treatment, education, care management and self-management of a patient's health care by a health-
care provider practicing within his or her scope of practice as would be practiced in-person with a
patient, and legally allowed to practice in the State, while such patient is at an originating site and the
health-care provider is at a distant site.

3.0 Compliance with Statutes Regarding Telemedicine and Telehealth

Each insurer proposing to issue individual or group accident and sickness insurance policies providing
hospital, medical and surgical, or major medical coverage on an expense-incurred basis; each health service
corporation providing individual or group accident and sickness subscription contracts; and each managed care
organization and health maintenance organization providing a health care plan for health care services shall
comply with the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§3370 and 3571R, and this regulation.

4.0 Telehealth

4.1 Each insurer proposing to issue individual or group accident and sickness insurance policies providing
hospital, medical and surgical, or major medical coverage on an expense-incurred basis; each health
service corporation providing individual or group accident and sickness subscription contracts; and
each managed care organization and health maintenance organization providing a health care plan for
health care services shall provide coverage for the cost of such health care services provided through
telehealth. Coverage for health care services provided through telehealth shall be provided so long as
the underlying health care service is a covered service and the health care provider providing the
service is licensed to furnish the service under State law and is practicing within the scope of State law.

4.2 No insurer proposing to issue individual or group accident and sickness insurance policies providing
hospital, medical and surgical, or major medical coverage on an expense-incurred basis; health
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service corporation providing individual or group accident and sickness subscription contracts; or
managed care organization or health maintenance organization providing a health care plan for health
care services shall impose any limitation on the ability of an insured to seek medical care through the
use of telehealth service solely because the health care service is being provided through telehealth.
Such prohibited limitations shall include, but not be limited to, preauthorization, medical necessity or
homebound requirements.

5.0 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of any such provision to any person or circumstance shall
be held invalid, the remainder of such provisions, and the application of such provision to any person or
circumstance other than those as to which it is held invalid, shall not be affected.

6.0 Effective Date

This regulation shall become effective on February _ _, 2016.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF PARKS AND RECREATION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Section 4702(c) (7 Del.C. §4702(c))
7 DE Admin. Code 9201

REGISTER NOTICE #2015 - 09

9201 Regulations Governing State Parks

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
7 DE Admin. Code 9201 Regulations Governing State Parks

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUE:
As a result of the General Assembly passing and Governor Markell signing SB 114, changes to the Rules and

Regulations are needed. The penalties for twenty three of the twenty eight sections of the Park Rules and
Regulations have been changed to Environmental D violations. The remaining sections' penalty is unchanged.
Other changes have been made to reflect updated Division policies and concerns.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
7 Del.C 4702(c) and SB 114

5. LIST OF OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE IMPACTED OR AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
None.

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The hearing record on the proposed changes to 7 DE Admin. Code 9201 Regulations Governing State Parks

will be open December 1, 2015. Individuals may submit written comments regarding the proposed changes via e-
mail to Lisa.Vest@state.de.us or via the USPS to Lisa Vest, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89 Kings Highway, Dover,
DE 19901 (302) 739-9042. A public hearing on the proposed amendment will be held on December 22, 2015
beginning at 6:00 PM at the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE, 19901. Please note that all
comment submitted to the Department in this matter should be limited to the scope of this proposed regulatory
promulgation, to wit: only regarding the proposed amendments to the aforementioned regulations found at 7 DE
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Admin. Code 9201.

7. PREPARED BY:
Wayne Kline     Wayne.Kline@state.de.us     (302) 739-9221

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

9201 Regulations Governing State Parks

DIVISION OF WATERSHED STEWARDSHIP

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 40 (7 Del.C. Ch.40)
7 DE Admin. Code 5101

REGISTER NOTICE: SAN #2015-10

5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations with reference to Technical Document

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
A Superior Court decision of October 7, 2015 invalidated the 2013 and 2014 version of the Delaware Sediment

and Stormwater Regulations on procedural grounds because the accompanying Technical Document referenced
by the regulations was not published in the State Register in accordance with Administrative Procedure Act
requirements. This action is being taken to publish the Technical Document in the State Register as a separate
document referenced in 5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations. Within the Technical Document, the
Residential Construction Standard Plan section (3.01.1.1) has been updated.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
There is no sunset date for this regulation.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
Title 7, Delaware Code, Chapter 40, the Sediment and Stormwater Law

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
No other regulations are affected by this proposed regulation with reference to Technical Document.

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) Division of Watershed

Stewardship will conduct a public hearing on Regulation No. 5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations,
incorporating the Technical Document by reference.

The public hearing for Regulation No. 5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations will be held Tuesday,
January 5, 2016, at 6:00 p.m. in the DNREC Auditorium, Richardson and Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE 19901.

The proposed regulation and referenced Technical Document may be inspected on the DNREC Division of
Watershed Stewardship’s Sediment and Stormwater Program website: http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/swc/Pages/
SedimentStormwater.aspx

For additional information or any appointments to inspect the proposed regulation revisions at DNREC, please
contact Elaine Webb, DNREC Sediment and Stormwater Program, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, (302)
739-9921, Elaine.Webb@state.de.us.

Interested parties shall submit comments in writing on the proposed regulation revisions by the end of the
comment period, as designated by the hearing officer at this hearing, to Elaine Webb and/or statements and
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testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at the January 5, 2016 public hearing. It is requested that
those interested in presenting statements at the public hearing register in advance and that written statements and
comments be addressed to:

Elaine Webb

DNREC – Sediment and Stormwater Program

89 Kings Highway

Dover, DE 19901

7. PREPARED BY:
Elaine Z. Webb       November 12, 2015
(302) 739-9921
Elaine.Webb@state.de.us

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR 
FAMILIES

DIVISION OF PREVENTION AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 5001(11); 29 Delaware Code, Section 9005(7)
(16 Del.C. §5001(11) & 29 Del.C. §9005(7))

PUBLIC NOTICE

Qualifications for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code), and under the authority of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 90, §9005, (7), the Department of
Services for Children, Youth and Their Families (DSCYF) / Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services
(DPBHS) is proposing to create qualification for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Stephen Perales, Office of the Director,
Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services, 1825 Faulkland Road, Wilmington, DE 19805-1195 or by
fax to 302-622-4475 by December 31, 2015. Please identify in the subject line: Qualifications for Juvenile Mental
Health Screeners.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that the Delaware Department of Services for Children, Youth
and Their Families/Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services (DSCYF/DPBHS) proposes to
promulgate regulations for the Juvenile Mental Health Screeners.

Statutory Authority
• Delaware Code, Title 29, Chapter 90, §9005(7) 
• Delaware Code, Title 16, Chapter 50, §5001(11)
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Background

During the 147th Delaware General Assembly, HB 346, AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 16 OF THE DELAWARE
CODE RELATING TO THE COMMITMENT OF THE MENTALLY ILL, was signed into law. The new law created a
definition for “Juvenile Mental Health Screener” and authorized DSCYF to establish regulations concerning the
credentialing process and criteria for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners.

Qualifications for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners

1.0 Juvenile Mental Health Screener Credentialing

Title 16, Chapter 50 of the Delaware Code states that only Juvenile Mental Health Screeners, authorized by
the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families (DSCYF), have the authority to detain or
abrogate a detainment of an individual under the age of 18 for emergency detention, pending a psychiatric
evaluation. No person shall hold himself out to the public as a juvenile mental health screener unless the person is
credentialed in accordance with this chapter, and acting in the capacity of their employment or contract relationship
through which they have been granted juvenile mental health screener status. The Division of Prevention and
Behavioral Health Services (DPBHS) is the DSCYF Division responsible for implementing and enforcing this law.

2.0 Definitions

As used in this regulation:

“Crisis services” means services provided by the staff or contractors of DPBHS Child Priority
Response program or a psychiatric hospital contracted by the DSCYF, in the course of their
employment.

“Department” and “DSCYF” means the Department of Services for Children Youth and Their Families.

“Division” and “DPBHS” means the Division of Behavioral Health Services.

“DSAMH” means the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health of the Department of Health and
Social Services.

“Eligible entity” means a facility operated by the DSCYF, DSCYF crisis services provider, or a
Delaware licensed mental health hospital under contract with the DSCYF.

"Emergency detention" and “emergently detained” means the process whereby a minor who
appears to have a mental condition, and whose mental condition causes the person to be dangerous
to self or dangerous to others, and whose parent or legal guardian is unwilling, or unavailable, to have
the minor admitted to a facility voluntarily for assessment or care, is involuntarily detained for such
evaluation and treatment for 24 hours unless the parent or legal guardian is unavailable to the
Department during that 24 hour period; in such instances the time period may be extended to 72
hours.

“Juvenile Mental Health Screener” means an individual who has applied for and been approved to be
credentialed as a Juvenile Mental Health Screener under Chapter 50, by the DPBHS.

“Psychiatric Facility” means a Delaware licensed mental health hospital under contract with the
DSCYF.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Department of Services for Children Youth and Their Families.

3.0 Qualifications of Applicants for Credentialed Mental Health Screener

3.1 Psychiatrists, Board Certified Emergency Physicians, and Physicians.

3.1.1 Psychiatrists, board certified emergency physicians and physicians who meet the criteria of 16 DE
Admin. Code §§6002.3.1 - 6002.3.3 may detain or abrogate a detainment for a psychiatric
evaluation of any person, over or under age 18 as detailed in 16 DE Admin. Code §6002.

3.2 Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professionals

3.2.1 A credentialed Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professional, who meets the qualifications
enumerated in this regulation, may detain or abrogate a detainment for a psychiatric evaluation of
a person under the age of 18.
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3.2.2 Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professionals must meet the following qualifications:

3.2.2.1 Registered Nurse. Each applicant shall document current licensure by the State of
Delaware as a Registered Nurse with a BSN degree and in good standing, as set forth in
24 Del.C. Ch. 19;

3.2.2.2 Advanced Practice Nurse. Each applicant shall document current licensure by the State of
Delaware as an Advanced Practice Nurse in good standing, as set forth in 24 Del.C. Ch.
19;

3.2.2.3 Licensed Clinical Social Worker. Each applicant shall document current licensure in the
State of Delaware as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker in good standing, as set forth in 24
Del.C. Ch. 39 and have at least 2 years/4000 hours of post masters clinical experience;

3.2.2.4 Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health. Each applicant shall document current
licensure by the State of Delaware as a Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health
in good standing, as set forth in 24 Del.C. Ch. 30 and have at least 2 years/4000 hours of
post masters clinical experience;

3.2.2.5 Licensed Psychologist. Each applicant shall document current licensure by in the State of
Delaware as a Licensed Clinical Psychologist in good standing, as set forth in 24 Del.C.
Ch. 35;

3.2.2.6 Other Licensed Behavioral Health Professional. The Secretary of the Division of Services
for Children Youth and Their Families may designate other behavioral or mental health
professionals, who are licensed under Delaware Law, and the Secretary may set
requirements for their qualifications to serve as juvenile mental health screeners.

3.2.3 Additional requirements; Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professionals

3.2.3.1 Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professionals must complete DPBHS’s juvenile
mental health screener training, or the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
mental health screener training, in order to be authorized to act as a juvenile mental health
screener.

3.2.3.2 Current employment or contract relationship required. A credentialed Licensed Non-
Physician Mental Health Professional will no longer be considered a Juvenile Mental
Health Screener, and his authority to detain or abrogate detainments will end, when the
professional is no longer employed by the DSCYF operated facility, or employed by or
under contract with the DSCYF to perform crisis services, or is no longer employed by or
under contract with a Delaware licensed mental health hospital under contract with the
DSCYF.

3.2.3.3 For non-physician juvenile mental health screeners, consultation with another juvenile
mental health screener is required. If both juvenile mental health screeners are non-
physicians, they must concur with the detainment. A physician with juvenile mental health
screener status may override the detainment determination of a non-physician juvenile
mental health screener.

3.2.3.4 Each applicant under this section must be approved or credentialed by the DPBHS.

4.0 Applications Process

4.1 Application for credentialing.

4.1.1 Physicians, psychiatrists, and Board Certified Emergency Physicians.

4.1.1.1 Physicians, including psychiatrists and Board Certified Emergency Physicians shall
submit to the Division a resume, verification of current employment, and all contact
information, Delaware license numbers and titles, and such other credentials or proof of
certification as may be necessary to meet requirements set forth in Section 3.0 above.

4.1.1.2 Physicians, psychiatrists, and Board Certified Emergency Physicians who hold current
Mental Health Screener status, through the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental
Health, are exempt from this requirement.
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4.1.1.3 If required to complete training by 16 DE Admin Code §6002, that training must be
completed prior to acting as a Juvenile Mental Health Screener.

4.1.2 Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professionals.

4.1.2.1 A licensed non-physician mental health professional who wishes to be credentialed as a
Juvenile Mental Health Screener under Chapter 51 must obtain a recommendation from
the Chief Executive Officer or Director or the eligible entity the licensed non-physician
mental health professional is employed by or contracted with.

4.1.2.2 The applicant or the eligible entity the applicant is employed by or contracted with, must
submit the juvenile mental health screener application to DPBHS.

4.1.2.3 The application shall include the Chief Executive Officer or Director’s recommendation, a
resume, verification of current employment, and all contact information, Delaware license
numbers and titles, such other credentials or proof of certification as may be necessary to
meet requirements set forth in Section 3.0 above.

4.1.2.4 After the application and supporting materials are received by the DPBHS, the Division will
accept or decline the recommendation that the applicant enter the juvenile mental health
screener class.

4.1.2.5 The applicant must complete the training required in Section 5.0 prior to acting as a
Juvenile Mental Health Screener.

4.2 Application for Re-credentialing

4.2.1 All Delaware credentialed juvenile mental health screeners except as noted in subsection 4.2.1.2
below will be required to re-apply every two (2) years, 60 days prior to the second anniversary date
of the issued credential, for renewal of the credential to DPBHS.

4.2.1.1 The application for renewal shall require proof of continuing licensure, credentials or
certification as may be necessary to meet the requirements set forth in Section 3.0 above
to be re-credentialed.

4.2.1.2 Psychiatrists and Board Certified Emergency Physicians are the only professionals not
required to undergo this re-credentialing process. All other physicians as well as licensed
non-physician mental health professionals, must comply with either this re-credentialing
process, or the re-credentialing process of the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental
Health.

4.2.2 DPBHS will provide eligible entities any updated information or changes to the policies,
procedures, regulations, or laws that would impact juvenile mental health screeners. Eligible
entities shall be responsive for distributing this information to their affiliated juvenile mental health
screeners.

4.2.3 Eligible entities are responsible for monitoring their affiliated juvenile mental health screeners, to
ensure that screeners are complying with the re-credentialing process and maintaining current
licensure or other requirements to practice in their profession.

5.0 Training, Credentialing and Re-credentialing Requirements for Licensed Mental Health 
Professionals

5.1 Training. The following standards will apply to the credentialing and re-credentialing of Juvenile Mental
Health Screeners and sets forth the minimum qualifications and training requirements.

5.1.1 For licensed physicians, other than psychiatrists and Board Certified Emergency Room
Physicians, training guidelines for applicants will include content that may change over time and is
up to DPBHS to direct.

5.1.1.1 Compliance with qualifications specified in Section 3.0 above;

5.1.1.2 Compliance with training guidelines, including completion of 4 hours of training by either
the DPBHS or DSAMH; and

5.1.1.3 Satisfactory score on the credentialing examination.

5.1.2 Licensed Mental Health Professionals
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5.1.2.1 Compliance with qualifications specified in Section 3.0 above;

5.1.2.2 Compliance with training guidelines as specified in subsection 5.1 above, including
completion of either DSAMH mental health screener 40 hour training or 4 hours of juvenile
mental health screener training by DPBHS; and

5.1.2.3 Satisfactory score on either the DPBHS or DSAMH credentialing examination.

5.3 Re-Credentialing

5.3.1 Licensed Physicians other than psychiatrists and Board Certified Emergency Physicians:

5.3.1.1 Compliance with qualifications specified in Section 3.0 above; and

5.3.1.2 Compliance with training guidelines as specified in subsection 5.1 above, including
completion of 4 hours of training by DSAMH or DPBHS every two years.

5.3.2 Licensed Mental Health Professionals

5.3.2.1 Compliance with qualifications specified above; and

5.3.2.2 Compliance with training guidelines as specified in subsection 5.1 above, including
completion of 4 hours of training by DPBHS or DSAMH every two years.

6.0 Credentialed Juvenile Mental Health Screener Performance

6.1 Conflict of interest statement: The intent of the law is to ensure that no person is detained for any
reason other than experiencing symptoms associated with a mental condition that may result in danger
to self or others, and that any potential or apparent conflicts of interest as set forth in 16 Del.C. §5004
are disclosed on the DPBHS Emergency Detainment Request Form within 24 hours of signature of the
detention order. Potential or apparent conflicts of interest may include, but are not limited to,
employment by a privately operated psychiatric facility, a personal relationship with the individual being
detained or committed involuntarily, a relationship with family or significant others of the individual
being detained or committed involuntarily, or being the victim of a crime by the person being detained
or committed involuntarily. An Emergency Detainment Request Form must be completed for every
youth under 18 detained under this regulation. This form must be maintained in the client’s records as
described in subsection 6.2.

6.2 Record Keeping, Forms and Documentation. The following standards will apply to the Forms and
Documentation required monitoring and reporting on the performance of juvenile mental health
screeners, including performance as it pertains to compliance with conflict of interest disclosure in
actions to detain, or undo a detainment, of an individual under this statute.

6.2.1 Credentialed juvenile mental health screeners will be required to complete a DPBHS Emergency
Detainment Request Form for the purpose of ensuring a standardized approach to assessing the
needs of clients in crisis and documenting the decision premised upon that assessment. These
forms will become part of the client’s records.

6.2.2 For youths whose detainments are paid in whole or in part by DPBHS, or who are otherwise
currently in DPBHS services: the DPBHS Emergency Detainment Request Form must be sent to
DPBHS as soon as possible and within 24 hours by the admitting psychiatric facility. DPBHS will
collect and monitor all DPBHS Emergency Detention Forms performed by juvenile mental health
screeners, whether a conflict of interest is disclosed or not, for purposes of ensuring that the intent
of this law is met and that detainments are appropriate.

6.2.3 For all youths, including youths not presently involved with DPBHS, DPBHS will collect aggregate
data from psychiatric facilities in the form of a monthly report. This report will include: number of
detainments per Juvenile Mental Health Screener, number of incidents where a screener
determined a detainment was not necessary, admitting facility, the client patient number, the date
of detainment, demographic information (age, race, sex, and zip code) of the child’s primary
residence, and other factors deemed necessary by DPBHS), screener name and number,
presenting problem, and the reason the detainment was necessary. Psychiatric facilities will be
responsible for including such data for patients detained by the eligible entity’s Juvenile Mental
Health Screeners, as well as Juvenile Mental Health Screeners not employed by or contracted
with the eligible entity.
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6.2.4 If DPBHS deems it necessary to review specific or aggregate detainments in cases of youths who
are not DPBHS involved, DPBHS shall, within 24 hours of request, be provided a redacted copy of
the Emergency Detainment Request Form by the Juvenile Mental Health Screener and/or the
eligible entity.

6.3 Data Review and Reporting. The Juvenile Mental Health Screeners and/or eligible entities are
responsible for record keeping and making available to DPBHS as required by this regulation, DPBHS
Emergency Detainment Request Forms and associated records. DPBHS will periodically monitor
these records for compliance. The Juvenile Mental Health Screeners and/or their associated eligible
entity will also be responsible for maintaining a database in a format that is approved by DPBHS and
that will be reported to DPBHS as set forth in subsection 6.2.3 of this regulation, so that DPBHS may
review aggregate data. This database will include administrative information, such as the admitting
facility, the client patient number, the date of detainment, demographic information (age, race, sex, zip
code) of the child’s primary residence, and other factors deemed necessary by DPBHS), screener
name and number, presenting problem, and the reason the detainment was necessary.

6.3.1 DPBHS will collect aggregate data of juvenile mental health screener detentions, which will be
available to the public.

6.3.2 Detainment data will be reviewed to monitor for anomalies in detainment rates to assure juvenile
mental health screener performance improvement and compliance with this regulation, the
authorizing statutes, and principals of least restrictive environment and community integration.

7.0 Suspension or Revocation of Juvenile Mental Health Screener

7.1 The following outlines circumstances under which a credential may be suspended or revoked. DPBHS
will monitor individuals and general facilities performing juvenile mental health screenings and
detaining individuals for 24 – 72 hours under this regulation as specified in Section 6.0. Nothing in
Section 6.0 relieves juvenile mental health screeners of the requirement to keep their own records on
their work to detain or not detain individuals that they assess. Copies of the Emergency Detainment
Request Form are sufficient documentation if the individual juvenile mental health screener or
organization that supports these screeners keeps this information protected and confidential under
federal law. Compliance with federal laws on this documentation is the responsibility of the individual
who has been credentialed as a Juvenile Mental Health Screener.

7.1.1 Failure of any credentialed Juvenile Mental Health Screeners to be aware of, and operate in
compliance with, the federal and state laws pertaining to protection of health records. Failure to
comply with this requirement will result in immediate suspension of the Juvenile Mental Health
Screener credential.

7.1.2 Suspension or revocation of a professional license will result in the immediate revocation of the
Juvenile Mental Health Screener credential.

7.1.3 For licensed non-physician mental health professionals, loss of a current contract or employment
relationship with a DSCYF operated facility, DSCYF crisis services, or a Delaware licensed mental
health hospital under contract with the DSCYF.

7.1.4 Failure to comply with the conflict of interest provisions of 14 Del.C. §5004.

7.1.5 Due to concerns with performance, which can include inappropriate overuse of emergency
detainments or failure to identify minors in need of detainment, as identified by the DSCYF
reviewing psychiatrist or an Emergency Detention of Juveniles Review Board designated by the
Secretary, which are uncorrected after written warning from the DSCYF.

7.1.6 Due to concerns with performance identified by a complaint or appeal submitted to DPBHS’s
Quality Assurance Department. The DPBHS Quality Assurance Department will refer any such
complaints or appeals to DPBHS’s reviewing psychiatrist for evaluation.

7.2 Compliance with notification of this revocation is the responsibility of the individual who has been
credentialed as a Juvenile Mental Health Screener and, in the case of non-physicians, the eligible
entity with whom the individual is affiliated.
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7.3 Reinstatement of Juvenile Mental Health Screener status of an individual for whom a credential has
been suspended or revoked will be at the discretion of DPBHS, in light of circumstances surrounding
the original suspension or revocation.

8.0 Appeal Process

Any individual or eligible entity affiliated with an individual who has been denied status as a juvenile mental
health screener or who has had a screening credential suspended or revoked can appeal this decision by writing to
the DPBHS Director. Such an appeal, based on knowledge and facts of this event, must be made within twenty
(20) days of the denial, suspension, or revocation. A response by the DPBHS Director will be forthcoming within
thirty (30) days of DPBHS receiving the appeal.

9.0 Consent for Voluntary Admissions

In the case of voluntary admission to a designated psychiatric treatment facility or hospital, consent to
treatment of a minor shall be given only by a parent or legal guardian. The request for admission to the designated
psychiatric treatment facility or hospital shall be signed by either the applicant's parent or legal guardian.

10.0 Payment for Voluntary and Involuntary Admissions

Payment to hospitals for voluntary and involuntary admissions of clients in crisis will be in accordance with the
provisions of 16 Del.C. §§5019, 5020, and 29 Del.C. §9019.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

5200 BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 5206(1) (24 Del.C. §5206(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 5200

PUBLIC NOTICE

5200 Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators

The Delaware Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5206(1), proposes
to revise its regulations. The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on March 8, 2016 at
1:00 p.m., in the Second Floor Conference Room B, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904.
Written comments should be sent to Flora Peer, Administrator of the Delaware Board of Nursing Home
Administrators, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904.

Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above address in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a).

5200 Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Programs for Continuing Education Credits

5.1 Continuing education programs consisting of Board approved seminars, resident or extension
courses, conferences and workshops totaling 48 classroom hours or more, on any of the subject areas
enumerated in 5.2 below, are required for biennial licensure of a license as a Nursing Home
Administrator. The following are requirements for license renewal:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

5.3 Acceptable programs of continuing education are:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)
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5.3.4 Those self-instruction or home study courses, videos, computer-assisted programs, online and
webinars courses approved by the National Association of Boards (NAB) and/or pre-approved by
the Board, may be accumulated at no more than 24 hours per renewal period.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

5200 Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 8404(8); 17 Delaware Code, Ch. 1 and 5 
(29 Del.C. §8404(8); 17 Del.C. Ch. 1 & 5)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Pedestrian Accessibility Standards

In concert with the Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the
Americans with Disabilities Act or ADA of 1990 as amended, the Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT)
is committed to providing compliant pedestrian accessibility for everyone. DelDOT does not discriminate in the
provision of any of its programs, services or business activities and is committed to upholding the intent and spirit
of the ADA, Section 504, and Title VI of the Civil Rights Act to the fullest extent possible. DelDOT recognizes that
much work is required before pedestrian facilities are brought into full compliance with the DelDOT Pedestrian
Standards. DelDOT also recognizes that there are many challenges and complexities involved in providing fully
compliant pedestrian facilities in the public right of way.

The DelDOT Pedestrian Accessibility Standards for Facilities in the Public Right of Way or "DelDOT Pedestrian
Standards" combines into one document the requirements, guidelines and best practices for accessible pedestrian
facilities in the public transportation right of way as identified by the:

• Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 or ADA; (http://www.ada.gov/)
• ADA Standards for Transportation Facilities 2006 or 2006 Standards adopted by the US Department of

Transportation; (www.dot.gov/accessibility )
• Draft Public Right of Way Accessibility Guidelines or PROWAG 2011 developed by the US Access

Board; (http://www.access-board.gov/guidelines-and-standards/streets-sidewalks/public-rights-of-way/
proposed-rights-of-way-guidelines)

• Accessibility Guidelines for Pedestrian Facilities in the Public Right-of-Way or PROWAG Supplement
2013; Shared Use Paths; http://www.access-board.gov/guidelines-and-standards/streets-sidewalks/
shared-use-paths. The 2013 PROWAG Supplement includes unchanged PROWAG 2011 guidance as
well as revised PROWAG 2011 guidance and new guidance on a variety of pedestrian system
features.

• US Department of Justice or DOJ; (http://www.justice.gov/), and
• US Department of Transportation or USDOT; (http://www.dot.gov/).

The standards provided in this document, in concert with the Delaware Manual on Uniform Traffic Control
Devices or DE MUTCD, http://deldot.gov/information/pubs_forms/manuals/de_mutcd/) are intended to assist all
public and private sector transportation planners and engineers in the effort to achieve a more consistent approach
to planning, design, construction and maintenance of accessible pedestrian facilities in the public transportation
right of way. The Pedestrian Accessibility Standards for Facilities in the Public Right of Way have been developed
to meet the spirit and intent of the legislation as well as the regulatory requirements and guidance of ADA, DOJ and
USDOT as of the date of this publication. The primary reference documents used are the 2006 US DOT Standards
with citations noted as numbers (e.g., 101.1) and the US Access Board's 2011 and 2013 PROWAG with citations
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noted as numbers preceded by R (e.g., R101.1).

Please send any comments no later than December 31, 2015 to the attention of:

Jim Pappas

Assistant Director

Office of Performance Management

Delaware Department of Transportation

800 Bay Road

Dover, DE 19903

james.pappas@state.de.us

Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. The following link to
a PDF of the proposed regulation is provided below:

Pedestrian Accessibility Standards 
(http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2015/proposed/PedestrianAccessibilityStandards.pdf)
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued. [Bracketed bold stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time
allowed of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together
with summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
DELAWARE AGRICULTURAL LANDS PRESERVATION FOUNDATION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Sections 904(a)(13) (3 Del.C. §904(a)(13)
3 DE Admin. Code 701

ORDER

701 Farmland Preservation Program

AND NOW, this 18th day of November, 2015, the Trustees of the Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation
Foundation (collectively the “Foundation” or the “Board”), issues the following Order which shall be effective ten
(10) days after the publication of this Order in the Delaware Register of Regulations:

1. Pursuant to its statutory authority, the Foundation has proposed for adoption a comprehensive set of
regulations (the "Proposed Regulations") to be used in the administration of the Delaware Agricultural Lands
Preservation Program established pursuant to 3 Del.C. §901 (the “Program”). William A. Denman, legal counsel
(the "Hearing Officer") was designated as the Hearing Officer to conduct a public hearing to entertain comments
from the public on the Proposed Regulations, and thereafter organize and summarize the comments submitted,
and report to the Foundation on the comments.

2. The public comment session was held at the Foundation’s office on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
at 10:00AM. A verbatim transcript of the public comment session, consisting of 74 pages, was prepared and
available for review by the Foundation. Notice of the public comment session, together with information as to how
a copy of the Proposed Regulations could be obtained, was published in the Delaware Register on September 1,
2015. Notice of the public comment session was also (a) published in both the Delaware State News and the News
Journal on August 18, 2015 and (b) posted on the Delaware.gov web site on August 25, 2015. At least 60 days
prior to the publication of the Proposed Regulations, a draft of the Proposed Regulations was distributed to the
Farmland Preservation Advisory Boards of Kent and Sussex County, Delaware established pursuant to 3 Del.C.
§906. A copy of the Proposed Regulations was sent to the Council President of New Castle County. New Castle
County did not have an established Farmland Preservation Advisory Board. The deadline for submitting written
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comments was October 12, 2015, nineteen (19) days after the conclusion of the public comment session.
3. On October 22, 2015, the Hearing Officer submitted his Report, a copy of which was provided to the

Foundation.
4. The Foundation considered the Proposed Regulations and the Report of the Hearing Officer at its

regularly scheduled Board meeting held on November 18, 2015, and has determined to issue this Order reciting
the background, summary of information submitted, and its findings. At its November 18, 2015 Board meeting, the
Foundation (after taking into consideration the comments made by the public at the public comment session, as set
forth in the verbatim transcript, the written comments received, and the Report of the Hearing Officer, all of which
were made available to each Trustee prior to the November 18, 2015 Board Meeting) issues this Order.

5. A summary of the verbal and written public comments submitted on the Proposed Regulations is set
forth in the Report of the Hearing Officer.

6. The Foundation, by this Order, adopts as Final Regulations the Regulations attached to this Order as
Exhibit A. The Final Regulations, as adopted herein, shall replace the existing regulations set forth in 3 Delaware
Administrative Code, Part 701, §1.0 through §30.0, including Appendix A through G.

7. Several comments were received regarding the various matters relating to the Proposed Regulations.
The Foundation has considered these comments and the Report of the Hearing Officer.

8. The Foundation finds that proper notice of the Proposed Regulations and opportunity to comment was
provided by the Foundation as required by law.

9. The Foundation finds that the Proposed Regulations are consistent with the Foundation’s enabling
legislation, and in particular, 3 Del.C. §915, and provide for a fair and uniform procedure for acquiring agricultural
lands preservation easements, incorporate bidding and negotiation into that process in the form of discounting or
donations, and provide additional incentives to facilitate the acquisition of preservation easements on farms
located near or adjacent to growth zones. The Foundation finds that the “discount” method used in the easement
selection process has worked well in the past, and recognizing the voluntary nature of the program, provides an
objective method for selecting qualified farms for easement purchase. The Foundation also finds that the 5%
bonus provision set forth in Proposed Regulation Section 18.2 represents an additional incentive for owners of
farmland located near and adjacent to growth zones to sell a preservation easement. The Foundation will monitor
the effectiveness of the 5% bonus. The Foundation also finds that the Proposed Regulations simplify the procedure
for acquiring preservation easements, and will not impose additional costs or burdens upon individuals, farmers, or
small business owners. The Foundation also notes that many of the commentators who submitted comments
supported the adoption of the Proposed Regulations. The Delaware Audubon Society, the Delaware Nature
Society, Delaware Wild Lands, and the League of Women Voters submitted comments in support of the Proposed
Regulations. Tony Domino and Tom Unruh, two active farmers in New Castle County, voiced their support for the
Proposed Regulations. Neither the Kent County Farmland Preservation Advisory Board nor the Sussex County
Farmland Preservation Advisory Board opposed the Proposed Regulations.

10. The Foundation also believes that the Proposed Regulations provide an objective basis for
determining how the Foundation’s limited resources will be used to acquire preservation easements. In order for a
property to qualify for the sale of a preservation easement, the property must be part of a ten year District. Prior to
becoming a part of a District, the property must satisfy the eligibility requirements set forth in the Foundation’s
enabling legislation. Accordingly, only those farms that satisfy the criteria for inclusion in a District are eligible to
participate in the bidding process. The bidding process, which incorporates the use of voluntary “discounts” or
“donations”, as noted above, provides an objective and uniform process, free of political or other intervention, for
selecting those farms that will be preserved.

11. The Foundation also notes that the Proposed Regulations include several sections that are essentially
procedures for obtaining information and set forth rules of practice and procedure. See Sections 2.0, 3.1-3.10, 4.0,
8.0, 10.0, 11.0, 14.0, 15.0, 19.0 and 20.0 of the Proposed Regulations. Proposed Regulation 3.11 and 21 are
necessary to make the Foundations’ regulations consistent with changes in the law that took place in 2004.
Proposed Regulation 6.0 and 7.0 merely set forth a restatement of the law.

12. In adopting the Proposed Regulations as Final Regulations, the Foundation notes the following:
Section 1 sets forth the statutory requirements for district eligibility and is consistent with the

Foundations enabling legislation. Section 1.3, consistent with current practice, sets the minimum LESA score at
170. 

Section 2 sets forth the application procedures that must be followed when a farmer requests that his/
her property be included in a District. The Board notes that Section 2 does not include a specific application form.
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While there was a suggestion that the Proposed Regulations include a specific application form, the Board believes
that the Foundation’s Staff is capable of developing appropriate forms, consistent with the law.

Section 3 sets forth procedures to be followed in reviewing Preservation District applications as well as
a detailed process for handling disputes. Section 3.11 merely updates the regulations so as to conform to changes
in the law relating to residential use and permitted activities, and provides a process whereby parties to district
agreements and easements can elect to come in under the legislation enacted in 2004.

Section 4 sets forth the formal requirements that must be complied with in order to create a district. All
of these requirements are consistent with Title 3.

Section 5 sets forth the restrictions applicable to district property, all of which are required by Title 3.
Section 5 also incorporates the Foundation’s current practice in calculating the allowable residential acreage.
Section 5.9 requires notice to the Foundation of any proposed transfer of a farm subject to a district agreement or
easement. This notice provision is reasonable in that it will provide the Foundation’s Staff with adequate time to
prepare the acknowledgment required by statute.

Section 6 incorporates the statutory provisions relating to the duration and renewal of a district
agreement.

Section 7 sets forth the statutory provisions relating to expansion of a district.
Section 8 sets forth the statutory provisions relating to the Foundation’s authority to inspect district

property and enforce the terms of the district agreement. 
Section 9 sets forth the procedural requirements for hardship exceptions. The Board concludes that

these procedures are fair, reasonable, and consistent with the statutory requirements for the granting of a hardship.
Section 10 and Section 11 relate to the Delaware Farmland Preservation Fund and potential sources

of funding. Consistent with Title 3, Section 11.3 requires the Fund to be audited each year by an independent
certified public accountant and the findings of each audit be presented to the Board. These sections are consistent
with the current regulations.

Section 12 provides that the eligibility criteria for the acquisition of a preservation easement shall be
the same as the criteria for district eligibility, and makes it clear that only district property qualifies for easement
purchase. Section 12, consistent with Title 3, makes it clear that the purchase of a preservation easement is
subject to the discretion of the Foundation. To facilitate the purchase of an easement where funds are limited,
Section 12 authorizes the Foundation to purchase an easement on part of a farm included within a district
agreement. The Board finds this approach reasonable. At times, the purchase of a preservation easement on all of
the property subject to a district agreement may be cost prohibitive.

Section 13 relates to matching contributions and is consistent with the Foundation’s current practice. In
this Order, the Foundation confirms that if any county or municipality is willing to contribute all of the funds to
purchase a preservation easement on a farm subject to a district agreement, the Foundation will allow the county
or municipality to designate the farm. The county’s or municipality’s decision can be based on any criteria that the
county or municipality deems appropriate. 

Section 14 is consistent with the Foundation’s current procedures for the selection of properties for
easement purchase. The Board finds these procedures to be fair and reasonable.

Section 15 requires the submission of an application for each farmland tract offered for preservation
easement purchase, and consistent with the district agreement application process, delegates to the Foundation
Staff the authority to develop application forms. The Board concludes that this process is reasonable.

Section 16 sets forth guidelines to be followed in appraising farms, including the qualifications of any
appraiser. The Board concludes that the qualification requirements set forth in Section 16 are reasonable, and
provide adequate guidance to the Foundation’s Staff when selecting an appraiser. Appraisers must be “qualified”
and “independent.” The Board notes that Section 16 would continue the existing practice of determining the
“agriculture-only value” of a farm unit based on an “income capitalization methodology.” Some of the commentators
objected to this approach, arguing that this method was not reliable. The Foundation understands that the
valuation of property is subjective, but notes that under Section 16, the “income capitalization methodology” would
be used on a consistent basis and applicable to all farms. Accordingly, no farmer seeking to sell a preservation
easement will be at a disadvantage. The Foundation would also note that the use of this method will not have any
adverse impact on the procurement of federal funding, as suggested by one commentator.

Section 17 sets forth the process for determination of the preservation easement value, and is
consistent with the Foundation’s current practice. Section 17 also provides a basis for determining value when a
farmer disagrees with the Foundation’s appraisal, and provides the farmer with the right to have an alternative
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appraisal performed. Section 17.4 provides for a method of determining the “maximum adjusted Preservation
Easement value” which the Foundation will accept under such circumstances. Some commentators objected to
Section 17.4 and recommended that the Foundation make a determination on a case by case basis and select one
of the appraisals. The Board finds that Section 17 is consistent with the current practice, and provides an objective
method for arriving at value when there is a dispute. Rule 17.4 does not dictate what the value will be. The use of
the phrase “up to” in Sections 17.4.1(ii) and 17.4.2(ii) confirms that. The Board would note that if a farmer is not
happy with the result, the farmer does not have to sell a preservation easement. Section 17 provides a reasonable
road map for the negotiation process when a farmer disagrees with the Foundation’s appraisal.

Section 18 incorporates a bidding process into the easement procurement process, consistent with the
current practice. The Board, by this Order, reaffirms its belief that selecting those offers providing the highest
discount is fair and objective, and authorized by law. The record shows that this approach has been successful,
and insures that all farmers are treated the same, free of political or subjective influences. The 5% bonus available
to farms located near and adjacent to “growth zones” provides an additional incentive for easement purchases on
farms located near growth zones. Some of the commentators do not consider this adequate. The Board disagrees
at this time, but as noted herein, will require the Foundation’s Staff to monitor the impact of the 5% bonus on future
easement purchases. The Board also notes that some of the commentators objected to any confidential treatment
afforded to any discount offered by a landowner. Section 18.4 addresses that issue, and would require the
permission of the landowner prior to releasing the information.

Section 19 sets forth in general terms the procedural requirements relating to the documentation
required when purchasing an easement. The Board considers these procedural requirements reasonable, and
consistent with the law.

Section 20 sets forth the title requirements and addresses post-closing adjustments that will be
required when and if the survey used for determination of the purchase price turns out to be inaccurate. Section 20
is consistent with current practice.

Section 21 relates to the designation of residential lots as contemplated by changes in the law that
took place in 2004. Section 21 is consistent with those changes, as well as the current practice. In the Board’s
view, Section 21 provides a reasonable process for designating residential areas.

Section 22 refers to the Strategy Map attached as Appendix B to the Proposed Regulations. Some
commentators criticized the value of this Map. The Board disagrees. The Strategy Map identifies those farms with
a LESA Score of 170 or more, as well as those farms located in areas that are eligible for the 5% bonus.

NOW THEREFORE, after deliberation, for the reasons set forth above and herein, it is the Foundation adopts
this Order, as follows:

1. That the "Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Program" regulations (the "Regulations") attached
hereto as Exhibit A are adopted pursuant to 3 Del.C. §901, et. seq. The Regulations adopted herein which
constitute rules for the administration of the Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Program shall become
effective ten (10) days after their publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations. The Foundation Board finds
and determines that the adoption of the Proposed Regulations is just and reasonable, and in the public interest,
and will foster the preservation of farmland in Delaware.

2. That pursuant to 29 Del.C. §1134, the Foundation shall as soon as possible transmit a copy of this
Order and the Regulations to the Delaware Registrar of Regulations for publication in the next issue of the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

3. That a copy of this Order and the Regulations shall be mailed to each entity or persons that previously
filed comments to the Proposed Regulations and to each person who has made a timely request for advance
notice of the Foundation’s regulation making proceedings.

4. That the Proposed Regulations shall supersede all prior versions of the Foundation’s regulations
relating to the administration of the Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Program. The Foundation reserves
the right to hereafter alter, amend, or waive the Regulations adopted herein to the extent that the same may be
allowed by law. 

5. That the Foundation reserves the jurisdiction and power to enter such further orders in this matter as
may be deemed necessary or proper. 
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BY ORDER OF THE FOUNDATION:

Dated: November 18, 2015

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

701 Farmland Preservation Program

HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

DELAWARE STANDARDBRED BREEDERS’ FUND

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 4815(b)(4)b.2 (29 Del.C. §4815(b)(4)b.2)
3 DE Admin. Code 502

ORDER

502 Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Regulations

I. NATURE OF PROCEEDINGS

Pursuant to its authority under 29 Del.C. §4815(b)(4)b the State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture's
Standardbred Breeders' Fund (herein "the Fund") proposed to amend its regulations. Proposed amended
regulation under 13.0 defines and allows consolidation of consolation races to afford more racing opportunity to
participants and fuller wagering fields. The changed formats will commence with the racing year of 2016.

Notice of a public comment period of thirty (30) days on the Fund's proposed amended regulations was
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations for September 1, 2015 in accordance with 29 Del.C.
§4815(b)(4)b.2. This is the Fund's Decision and Order adopting the proposed amended regulations.

II. PUBLIC COMMENTS

The Fund received no public comments in response to its notice of intention to adopt the proposed amended
regulation.

III. FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

The public was given the required notice of the Fund's intention to adopt the proposed amended regulation
and was given ample opportunity to provide the Fund with comments opposing the Fund's plan. Thus, the
Fund concludes that its consideration of the proposed amended regulation was entirely within its prerogatives
and statutory authority and, having received no comments opposed to adoption, is now free to adopt the
proposed amended regulation.

Robert F. Garey, Chairperson William H. Narvel, Jr., Delaware State Grange 
Member

Edwin Kee, Secretary, Department of Agriculture or 
Designee

Robert L. Emerson, New Castle County Farm 
Member              “I voted No”

Kevin Coyle, Secretary, Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control, or Designee

Theodore P. Bobola, Jr., Kent County Farm Member

Kenneth Simpler, State Treasurer or Designee William Vanderwende, Sussex County Farm 
Member

L. Allen Messick, Jr., Delaware Farm Bureau Member Peter Martin, Chair, Council on Forestry or Designee
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IV. ORDER

AND NOW this 28th day of October, 2015, it is hereby ordered that:
1. The proposed amendment to the Fund's regulations is adopted;
2. The text of the final regulation shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A;
3. The effective date of this Order is ten days from the date of its publication in the Delaware Register of

Regulations in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(e); and
4. The Fund reserves to itself the authority to issue such other and further orders concerning its Regulations

as it deems appropriate.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
September 2015 issue of the Register at page 161 (19 DE Reg. 161). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

502 Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Regulations

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 284

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

284 Licensure and Certification of Public Education Employees in the Department of Education, in Adult 
Education and in Prison Education Programs Whose Work Responsibilities are Directly Related to 

Curriculum and Instruction

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 284 Licensure and Certification of Public
Education Employees in the Department of Education, in Adult Education and in Prison Education Programs
Whose Work Responsibilities are Directly Related to Curriculum and Instruction. This regulation is being amended
to reflect the revised Professional Standard Board licensure and certification regulations.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
September 1, 2015, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. Comments were received from the Governor’s
Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities. There concerns were:
(1) the numbering of §10.0. This section was previously §7.0 and was renumbered to be §10.0. It appeared in the
online published version that the “7” was not struck through and renumbered. The Department confirmed with the
Registrar of Regulations that this was an electronic publishing issue which they will correct in the online version, as
the submitted amended regulation did edit this numbering properly. (2) the inconsistent use of the terms “public
school employee” and “public education employee” used in the definitions section of the regulation. The
Department agrees with this comment and changed the references from “public school employee” to “public
education employee” in the definitions of Instructional Paraeducator, Service Paraeducator and Title I
Paraeducator; (3) §4.0 needs renumbering for consistency. The Department notes that a new §4.4 was in the
submitted regulation but again it did not appear due to a publishing error. The Registrar of Regulations is aware
and will make that change; (4) Additionally §4.6.1 - §4.7.1 are not consistent in subject matter as one deals with

Tom Cook Wayne Givens

Mark Davis Garnet O'Marrow

Garrett Bell Andy Markano

Linda MacDonald
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license renewal and the other is related to license suspension standards. The Department agrees and has deleted
this section entirely; (5) the reference to the term “disloyalty” in §12.2. The Department does not wish to change
this term in this regulation, as that specific language is used in the Professional Standards Board licensure and
certification regulations; (6) The Department removed the words “and Renewal” from 3.0, as an Initial License
cannot be renewed. 

Also, the Registrar of Regulation asked us to amend 8.1 (bold and bracket) to ensure the first part of the
sentence is published in the final version, as it was partially omitted in the proposed regulation.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 284 Licensure and Certification of
Public Education Employees in the Department of Education, in Adult Education and in Prison Education Programs
Whose Work Responsibilities are Directly Related to Curriculum and Instruction in order to reflect the revised
Professional Standard Board licensure and certification regulations.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 284
Licensure and Certification of Public Education Employees in the Department of Education, in Adult Education and
in Prison Education Programs Whose Work Responsibilities are Directly Related to Curriculum and Instruction.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 284 Licensure and Certification of Public Education
Employees in the Department of Education, in Adult Education and in Prison Education Programs Whose Work
Responsibilities are Directly Related to Curriculum and Instruction attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby
amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 284 Licensure and Certification of
Public Education Employees in the Department of Education, in Adult Education and in Prison Education Programs
Whose Work Responsibilities are Directly Related to Curriculum and Instruction hereby amended shall be in effect
for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 284 Licensure and Certification of Public Education Employees in the
Department of Education, in Adult Education and in Prison Education Programs Whose Work Responsibilities are
Directly Related to Curriculum and Instruction amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”,
and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 284 Licensure and Certification of Public Education
Employees in the Department of Education, in Adult Education and in Prison Education Programs Whose Work
Responsibilities are Directly Related to Curriculum and Instruction in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the
Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on November 19,
2015. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 19th day of November 2015.

Department of Education
Steven Godowsky, Secretary of Education

Approved this 19th day of November 2015
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284 Licensure and Certification of Public Education Employees in the Department of Education, in Adult 
Education and in Prison Education Programs Whose Work Responsibilities are Directly Related to 

Curriculum and Instruction
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

2.0  Definitions

Except as otherwise provided, the definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505, 1506 1510, 1511,
1512, and 1513, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

“Instructional Paraeducator (Paraeducator)” means a public [school education] employee or adult
education employee who provides one-on-one or small group instruction; assists with classroom
management or individual student behavior; provides assistance in a computer laboratory; provides
support in a library or media center; assists in training and support with functional skill activities, such
as personal care or assistive technology; or provides instructional services to students under the direct
supervision of a teacher. Instructional Paraeducators are those working with regular education
students and students with disabilities in schools other than Title I schoolwide schools or with students
not receiving Title I services in Title I targeted assistance schools.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

“Service Paraeducator” means a public [school education] employee who provides support services
other than instructional assistance to students, but does not include bus aides (See 14 DE Admin.
Code 1105).

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

“Title I Paraeducator” means a public [school education] employee who provides one on one or small
group instruction; assists with classroom management; provides assistance in a computer laboratory;
provides support in a library or media center; or provides instructional services to students under the
direct supervision of a teacher. Additionally, Title I Paraeducators are all Instructional Paraeducators
who work with regular students and children with disabilities in Title I schoolwide schools and all Title I
Paraeducators who work with children receiving Title I services in Title I targeted assistance schools,
except those whose duties are limited to acting as a translator or as a home school liaison.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

3.0  Issuance [and Renewal] of an Initial License
(Break in Continuity Within Section)

4.0  Issuance and Renewal of a Continuing License
(Break in Continuity Within Section)

4.6 The Department shall renew a Continuing License, valid for an additional five (5) years, to a qualified
Public Education Employee who has fulfilled the clock hour requirement for professional development
and other requirements of 14 DE Admin. Code 1511. At least one half of the required hours for Public
Education Employees shall be in activities that relate to the Public Education Employee's work with
students or staff. Satisfactory evidence of such completion, as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code shall
be submitted to the Department with the application for renewal. The clock hours of professional
development shall have taken place during the term of the Continuing License.

[4.6.1 Notice shall be sent to the person’s last known address. Notice shall be sent by certified
mail, with return receipt requested and may also be sent electronically.

4.6.2 The license holder shall have thirty (30) calendar days from the date the notice of the
suspension was mailed to make a written request for a hearing.

4.6.3 If no written request for a hearing is received by the Secretary by thirty (30) calendar days
from the date the notification was mailed, the license holder’s license shall be deemed to
be suspended and the holder shall be so notified.
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4.6.4 All communications between a license holder and the Department provided for in this
section shall be by certified mail, with a return receipt requested. Additional notice may
also be sent electronically.

4.7 Hearings and Procedures

4.7.1 Unless otherwise provided for in this Section, the burden of proof in a license suspension
action shall be on the agency taking official action to establish by preponderance of the
evidence that the license holder has failed to comply with the applicable laws and
regulations relating to the retention of the license.]

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

8.0 Issuance of a Paraeducator Permit

In addition to the requirements in 6.0, persons employed by the Department of Education shall be certified by
the Department for the position they hold at the Department.

8.1 [Except as otherwise provided, the requirements and provisions of 14 DE Admin. Code 1517
Issuance of] Paraeducator Permit, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, is
incorporated herein by reference.

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the September 2015 issue of the Register at page 163 (19 DE Reg. 163). Therefore, the final regulation is
not being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

284 Licensure and Certification of Public Education Employees

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 811

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

811 School Health Record Keeping Requirements

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 811 School Health Record Keeping
Requirements. This regulation is being amended to clarify procedures and purpose of school health record keeping
documents.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on October
1, 2015, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. Comments were received from the State Council for Persons
with Disabilities (SCPD) and the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) and a public
school nurse. Comments included: (1) clarification needed for the meaning of “issued medications”, and are they
“prescribed” or “non-prescribed”. The Department clarified this by adding the words “or prescribed”; (2) further
clarification needed for “mandated testing and screenings”. The Department deleted the word “mandated”; (3)
further clarification needed to “Delaware School Health Record” to include “student athlete health records required
by DIAA regulation”. The Department agrees with this change and included that specific language for clarification;
(4) request to add an email address in the definition of “Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card” as to identify classes
of individuals. The Department did not make this change as the card contains the minimum information needed. A
school district can add additional information if it wishes to do so; (5) expansion of definition of “parent” to include
“parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver” to be consistent with other regulations. The Department added 'guardian
or Relative Caregiver' where needed to include those relationships. Lastly, there was a general comment about
how the amended regulation would impact school nurses. There will be no changes in practice due to this
amended regulation, as the amendments are made to clarify procedures and further articulate expectations.
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II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 811 School Health Record Keeping
Requirements in order to clarify procedures and purpose of school health record keeping documents.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 811
School Health Record Keeping Requirements. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 811
School Health Record Keeping Requirements attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the
provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 811 School Health Record Keeping Requirements hereby
amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V.
below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 811 School Health Record Keeping Requirements amended hereby shall be
in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 811 School
Health Record Keeping Requirements in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on November 19,
2015. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 19th day of November 2015.

Department of Education
Steven Godowsky, Secretary of Education

Approved this 19th day of November 2015

811 School Health Record Keeping Requirements

1.0 Definitions

“Delaware School Health Record Form” means an form electronic document containing documentation
of an information about a student’s health information, which includes but is not limited to identifying
information, health history, the student’s name, gender, birthdate, immunizations, results of
[mandated] testing and screenings, medical diagnoses, long term issued [or prescribed]
medications and treatments, [student athlete health records compiled in compliance with DIAA
regulations] and referrals.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.

“Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card” means a card form containing contact information and general
school emergency procedures for the care of a student who becomes sick or injured at school. The
card contains the following information: the student's name, birth date, school district, school, grade,
home room or teacher or class assignment, home address, home and telephone number,; the name,
place of employment and work telephone number of the parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver; two
other names, addresses, and telephone numbers of individuals who can be contacted at times when
the parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver can not cannot be reached; the name and telephone
number of the family physician primary health care provider and family dentist; any medical conditions
or allergies the student has; and the student's medical insurance.
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“Student Accident Report Form” means a form developed by the Department that is used by the district
or charter to review school accidents resulting in medical evaluation or referral.

“Student Health History Update” means a form developed by the Department that is used to obtain
current student health information from the parent, guardian, or Relative Caregiver or the student if 18
years or older or an unaccompanied homeless youth.

“Summary of School Health Services” means an annual report created by the Department on school
health services that have been provided and electronically documented by school nurses.

2.0 Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card

2.1 An Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card for each public school student shall be on file in the office of
the school nurse.

2.1.1 The information on the Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card shall be shared only on a need to
know basis as related to the education and health needs of the student and consistent with state
and federal laws.

2.1.2 The parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver or the student if 18 years or older, or an
unaccompanied homeless youth (as defined by 42 U.S.C. 11434(a)) shall sign the Emergency/
Nursing Treatment Card to assure they understand the purpose of the form and acknowledge the
accuracy of the information.

2.1.3 The Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card is used to update the student’s medical information on
the Delaware School Health Record and student’s contact information in the district or charter
electronic pupil accountability system.

2.1.4 The contact information on the Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card shall be used by the school
nurse to contact the parent[, guardian or Relative Caregiver] regarding any health-related matter
and to identify a person to pick up or provide consultation regarding the student’s acute illness or
injury.

3.0 Delaware School Health Record Form

3.1 The Delaware School Health Record Form shall be current and shall be part of the student’s health
record within the Cumulative Record File (14 DE Admin. Code 252) which accompanies the student
when he or she moves to another school.

3.2 The Delaware School Health Record Form shall be maintained for the duration of the student's
schooling and the school nurse shall use the Student Health History Update Form to keep health
records current. The Delaware School Health Record Form shall remain in the nurse's file during the
student's attendance in school.

3.2.1 The Delaware School Health Record Form may shall be maintained in hard copy or within an
electronic documentation program and transferred electronically with the student. If the Delaware
School Health Record cannot be transferred electronically, a hard copy shall be created and
transferred to the receiving school. Beginning with the 2008-2009 school year, all Delaware
School Health Records Forms shall be in an electronic format.

3.3 Documentation received on the student’s health, including parent medication permission slips and
immunization records, shall be recorded in his or her electronic Delaware School Health Record. Hard
copies of the documents shall be maintained in an individual school health folder.

NON REGULATORY NOTE: also see 14 DE Admin. Code 251 and 252 and the Delaware Public Archives
Document Delaware School Districts General Records Retention Schedule.

4.0 Other Required Documentation

4.1 The school nurse shall document in the state, district, or charter electronic health record system for
individual student health data any nursing care provided including the school name, a three point date,
the person's (student, staff or visitor) first and last name, the time of arrival and departure, the
presenting complaint, the nurse's assessment intervention and the outcome, including the disposition
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of the situation, the parent or other contact, if appropriate, and the nurse's complete signature or
initials.

4.1.1 The school nurse shall document the care given at the time of a school based accident by
completing the Student Accident Report Form if the student missed more than one half day
because of the accident or if the school nurse has referred the student for a medical evaluation
regardless of whether the parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver or student if 18 years or older, or
an unaccompanied homeless youth (as defined by 42 U.S.C. 11434(a)) followed through on that
request.

5.0 Submission of Records

5.1 All local school districts and charter schools shall submit the Summary of School Health Services

Form, to the Delaware Department of Education by August 31st of each year. The form shall include all
of the school health services provided in all schools during the fiscal year including summer programs.
The Department will annually create the Summary of School Health Services provided by districts and
charters. Data from the previous school year shall be collected from the state’s pupil accountability
system after August 15th. Any district or charter using an alternative electronic health record shall
submit an electronic version of the Summary of School Health Services report to the Department by
August 31st of each year.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1007

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1007 DIAA Sportsmanship

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
1007 DIAA Sportsmanship. This regulation is being amended to align to changes in the Code of Interscholastic
Athletics as set by the National Federation of State High Schools. This is part of a comprehensive review and
update to be made to all DIAA regulations.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on July 25,
2015 and August 1, 2015, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". Comments were received from the State
Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) and the Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens
(GACEC) regarding (1) the language in §1.2.1.5.2.8 which, "forbids the use of tobacco, alcohol and non-prescribed
drugs" specific to students aged 18 and 21 years old, and; (2) the across-the-board ban on non-prescribed drugs
(e.g., Neosporin). The Department clarified this reference by changing the language to indicate that coaches
should, "establish policies which discourage the unlawful use of drugs, medications and non-prescribed drugs."
Also the SCPD noted a grammar correction in §1.2.1.5.4.1, where the word "shall" needed to be deleted, and the
Department made that change.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1007 DIAA Sportsmanship in order to
align to changes in the Code of Interscholastic Athletics as set by the National Federation of State High Schools.
This is part of comprehensive reviews and updates to be made to all DIAA regulations.
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III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1007
DIAA Sportsmanship. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 1007 DIAA Sportsmanship
attached hereto as Exhibit "B" is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin.
Code 1007 DIAA Sportsmanship hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1007 DIAA Sportsmanship amended hereby shall be in the form attached
hereto as Exhibit "B", and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1007 DIAA Sportsmanship in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on September 17,
2015. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 19th day of November 2015.

Department of Education
Steven Godowsky, Secretary of Education

Approved this 19th day of November 2015

State Board of Education

1007 DIAA Sportsmanship

1.0 Definitions and Sportsmanship

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

1.2 Sportsmanship

1.2.1 Member schools are required to conduct all of their athletic affairs with other schools in a spirit of
good sportsmanship. Acts which are prima facie evidence of a failure to abide by this rule are
those which are noted below and others of a similar nature which transgress the usually accepted
code for good sportsmanship.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

1.2.1.5 Failure of an administrator, athletic director, coach, athlete, official, or spectator to comply
with the directions stipulated in the following Code of Interscholastic Athletics:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

1.2.1.5.2 The Coaches shall: The function of coaches is to educate students through
participation in interscholastic athletics. An interscholastic program shall be designed
to enhance academic achievement and shall never interfere with opportunities for
academic success. Each student shall be treated with the utmost respect and his
welfare should be considered in decisions by the coach at all times. Therefore,
coaches shall:

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr.

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President (not present) Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D. (not present)

G. Patrick Heffernan Nina Lou Bunting

Barbara B. Rutt
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(Break in Continuity Within Section)

1.2.1.5.2.8 Discourage gambling, profanity, abusive language, and similar violations of the
true sportsman's or sportswoman's code. [Forbid the use of tobacco, alcohol, and
non-prescribed drugs and Establish policies which discourage the unlawful use
of drugs, medications, and non-prescribed drugs. Coaches shall] set an example
to athletes by not using these products in their presence. Do not allow gambling,
profanity, abusive language, and similar violations of the true sportsman's or
sportswoman's code.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

1.2.1.5.4 The Officials shall: Officials at an interscholastic athletic event are participants in the
educational development of high school students. As such, they must exercise a high
level of self-discipline, independence and responsibility. Therefore, officials shall:

1.2.1.5.4.1 Know the rules and interpretations and mechanics of their sport and be thoroughly
trained to administer them. Be prepared and qualified both mentally and physically for
the contest they are officiating, dress neatly and appropriately, and [shall] comport
themselves in a manner consistent with the high standards of the profession.

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the August 2015 issue of the Register at page 105 (19 DE Reg. 105). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1007 DIAA Sportsmanship

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1512

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1512 Issuance and Renewal of Advanced License

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 1512 Issuance and
Renewal of Advanced License. This regulation shall apply to the issuance of an Advanced License for educators,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1213 and §1214. Upon review, the Board has amended a few sections of the regulation for
clarity and accuracy, and to meet current formatting.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on
November 1, 2014. The notice invited written comments. No comments were received.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached is
hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in effect
for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.
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IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE
Admin. Code 1512 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 4th DAY OF DECEMBER, 2014

IT IS SO ORDERED this 4th day of December, 2014.

Department of Education
Mark Murphy, Secretary of Education

Approved this 4th day of December, 2014.

State Board of Education

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2014 issue of the Register at page 346 (18 DE Reg. 346). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1512 Issuance and Renewal of Advanced License

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1513

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1513 Denial of Licenses

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and consultation with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 1513 Denial of

Bryon Murphy, Chair Darren Guido (absent)

Diane Albanese David Kohan

Linda Brown Rosaria Macera

Jennifer Burton Wendy Murray (absent)

Michael Casson (absent) Darlene O’Neill

Stephanie DeWitt Mary Pinkston

Nelia Dolan Stephanie Smith

Cristy Greaves

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr.

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

G. Patrick Heffernan Randall L. Hughes

Barbara B. Rutt
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Licenses. This regulation shall apply to the denial of an Initial License, Continuing License, or Advanced License
for educators, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1210-14 and §1217. The Professional Standards Board has reviewed the
regulation under a five year cycle and concluded that a few changes were necessary for clarification of the appeal
process.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on
November 1, 2014. The notice invited written comments. No comments were received.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached is
hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in effect
for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE
Admin. Code 1513 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.
 

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 4th DAY OF DECEMBER, 2014

IT IS SO ORDERED this 4th day of December, 2014.

Department of Education
Mark Murphy, Secretary of Education

Approved this 4th day of December, 2014.

State Board of Education

Bryon Murphy, Chair Darren Guido (absent)

Diane Albanese David Kohan

Linda Brown Rosaria Macera

Jennifer Burton Wendy Murray (absent)

Michael Casson (absent) Darlene O’Neill

Stephanie DeWitt Mary Pinkston

Nelia Dolan Stephanie Smith

Cristy Greaves

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr.

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

G. Patrick Heffernan Randall L. Hughes

Barbara B. Rutt
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*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2014 issue of the Register at page 347 (18 DE Reg. 347). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1513 Denial of Licenses

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1514

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1514 Revocation, Limitation, or Suspension of Licenses

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to reauthorize 14 DE Admin. Code 1514 Revocation,
Limitation, or Suspension of Licenses. This regulation applies to the revocation, limitation, or suspension of an
Initial License, Continuing License, or Advanced License issued pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch. 12. The Professional
Standards Board has reviewed the regulation under a five year cycle and concluded that the regulation should be
readopted without any changes.

Notice of the proposed reauthorization of the regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on
November 1, 2014. The notice invited written comments. No comments were received.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to reauthorize
this regulation at this time with no changes.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to reauthorize the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached is
hereby readopted. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in effect
for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE
Admin. Code 1514 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.
 

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 4th DAY OF DECEMBER, 2014

Bryon Murphy, Chair Darren Guido (absent)

Diane Albanese David Kohan

Linda Brown Rosaria Macera
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IT IS SO ORDERED this 4th day of December, 2014.

Department of Education
Mark Murphy, Secretary of Education

Approved this 4th day of December, 2014.

State Board of Education

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2014 issue of the Register at page 349 (18 DE Reg. 349). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1514 Revocation, Limitation, or Suspension of Licenses

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b)
14 DE Admin. Code 1560

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1560 Art Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and consultation with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to reauthorize 14 DE Admin. Code 1560 Art Teacher. It is
necessary to reauthorize this regulation due to the regulation being out of its five year review cycle. This regulation
sets forth the requirements for an Art Teacher.

Notice of the proposed reauthorization of the regulation was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations
on July 1, 2015. The notice invited written comments. Zero comments were received.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to reauthorize
this regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III. DECISION TO ADOPT THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to reauthorize the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached

Jennifer Burton Wendy Murray (absent)

Michael Casson (absent) Darlene O’Neill

Stephanie DeWitt Mary Pinkston

Nelia Dolan Stephanie Smith

Cristy Greaves

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr.

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

G. Patrick Heffernan Randall L. Hughes

Barbara B. Rutt
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hereto as Exhibit "A" is hereby reauthorized. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby
reauthorized shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V.
below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation reauthorized shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "A", and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1560 Art Teacher of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the
Professional Standards Board.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 3rd DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2015

IT IS SO ORDERED this 17th day of September, 2015.

Department of Education
Mark Murphy, Secretary of Education

Approved this 17th day of September, 2015

State Board of Education

1560 Art Teacher

Non-regulatory note: Passage on an examination of content knowledge may also be required to obtain this
certification. Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220 and 14 DE Admin. Code 1505, an examination of content knowledge is
required when applicable and available. An examination of content knowledge is applicable and available when
approved by the Professional Standards Board with the concurrence of the State Board of Education. See the
Department of Education website for additional information.

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1220(a), for Art Teacher. This certification is required for grades K to12.

Bryon Murphy, Chair Cristy Greaves

Diane Albanese Darren Guido

Amber Augustus David Kohan

Linda Brown Rosaria Macera

Jennifer Burton Darlene O’Neill

Stephanie DeWitt (absent) Mary Pinkston 

Nelia Dolan Stephanie Smith

Laura Glass Sue Smith

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President G. Patrick Heffernan

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Barbara B. Rutt (not present)

Nina Lou Bunting Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr. (not present)
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1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

2.0 Definitions

The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

3.0 Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Art
Teacher to an educator who has met the following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard
or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and

3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including
any subsequent amendment or revision thereto.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b)
14 DE Admin. Code 1563

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1563 Music Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and consultation with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to reauthorize 14 DE Admin. Code 1563 Music Teacher. It is
necessary to reauthorize this regulation due to the regulation being out of its five year review cycle. This regulation
sets forth the requirements for a Music Teacher.

Notice of the proposed reauthorization of the regulation was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations
on July 1, 2015. The notice invited written comments. Zero comments were received.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to reauthorize
this regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III. DECISION TO ADOPT THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to reauthorize the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached
hereto as Exhibit "A" is hereby reauthorized. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby
reauthorized shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V.
below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation reauthorized shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "A", and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1563 Music Teacher of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the
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Professional Standards Board.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 3rd DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2015

IT IS SO ORDERED this 17th day of September, 2015.

Department of Education
Mark Murphy, Secretary of Education

Approved this 17th day of September, 2015

State Board of Education

1563 Music Teacher

Non-regulatory note: Passage on an examination of content knowledge may also be required to obtain this
certification. Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220 and 14 DE Admin. Code 1505, an examination of content knowledge is
required when applicable and available. An examination of content knowledge is applicable and available when
approved by the Professional Standards Board with the concurrence of the State Board of Education. See the
Department of Education website for additional information.

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a),
for Music Teacher. This certification is required for grades K to 12.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

2.0 Definitions

The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

3.0 Standard Certificate

Bryon Murphy, Chair Cristy Greaves

Diane Albanese Darren Guido

Amber Augustus David Kohan

Linda Brown Rosaria Macera

Jennifer Burton Darlene O’Neill

Stephanie DeWitt (absent) Mary Pinkston 

Nelia Dolan Stephanie Smith

Laura Glass Sue Smith

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President G. Patrick Heffernan

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Barbara B. Rutt (not present)

Nina Lou Bunting Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr. (not present)
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3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Music
Teacher to an educator who has met the following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard
or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and

3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including
any subsequent amendment or revision there.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b)
14 DE Admin. Code 1564

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1564 Physical Education Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and consultation with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to reauthorize 14 DE Admin. Code 1564 Physical Education
Teacher. It is necessary to reauthorize this regulation due to the regulation being out of its five year review cycle.
This regulation sets forth the requirements for a Physical Education Teacher.

Notice of the proposed reauthorization of the regulation was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations
on July 1, 2015. The notice invited written comments. Zero comments were received.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to reauthorize
this regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III. DECISION TO ADOPT THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to reauthorize the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached
hereto as Exhibit "A" is hereby reauthorized. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby
reauthorized shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V.
below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation reauthorized shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "A", and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1564 Physical Education Teacher of the Administrative Code of Regulations
of the Professional Standards Board.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 3rd DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2015
Bryon Murphy, Chair Cristy Greaves

Diane Albanese Darren Guido
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FINAL REGULATIONS504
IT IS SO ORDERED this 17th day of September, 2015.

Department of Education
Mark Murphy, Secretary of Education

Approved this 17th day of September, 2015

State Board of Education

1564 Physical Education Teacher

Non-regulatory note: Passage on an examination of content knowledge may also be required to obtain this
certification. Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220 and 14 DE Admin. Code 1505, an examination of content knowledge is
required when applicable and available. An examination of content knowledge is applicable and available when
approved by the Professional Standards Board with the concurrence of the State Board of Education. See the
Department of Education website for additional information.

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a),
for Physical Education Teacher. This certification is required for grades K to12.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

2.0 Definitions

The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

3.0 Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a
Physical Education Teacher to an educator who has met the following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard
or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and

3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including
any subsequent amendment or revision thereto.

Amber Augustus David Kohan

Linda Brown Rosaria Macera

Jennifer Burton Darlene O’Neill

Stephanie DeWitt (absent) Mary Pinkston 

Nelia Dolan Stephanie Smith

Laura Glass Sue Smith

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President G. Patrick Heffernan

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Barbara B. Rutt (not present)

Nina Lou Bunting Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr. (not present)
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 19, ISSUE 6, TUESDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2015



FINAL REGULATIONS 505
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b)
14 DE Admin. Code 1571

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1571 Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and consultation with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1571 Exceptional Children
Special Education Teacher in order to update and clarify some of the definitions, requirements, and to align title as
this certification is required for an educator within the Delaware public school system whose primary assignment is
teaching children with disabilities. This regulation sets forth the requirements for an Exceptional Children Special
Education Teacher.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations on
July 1, 2015. The notice invited written comments. One comment was received from Wilmington University. The
suggested changes were taken into consideration, and some changes in grammar were corrected.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III. DECISION TO ADOPT THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto
as Exhibit "A" is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "A", and said regulation shall
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1571 Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher of the Administrative Code
of Regulations of the Professional Standards Board.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 3rd DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2015
Bryon Murphy, Chair Cristy Greaves

Diane Albanese Darren Guido

Amber Augustus David Kohan

Linda Brown Rosaria Macera

Jennifer Burton Darlene O’Neill

Stephanie DeWitt (absent) Mary Pinkston 

Nelia Dolan Stephanie Smith

Laura Glass Sue Smith
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IT IS SO ORDERED this 17th day of September, 2015.

Department of Education
Mark Murphy, Secretary of Education

Approved this 17th day of September, 2015

State Board of Education

1571 Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher of Students with Disabilities
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4.0 Additional Requirements

4.1 An educator shall also have satisfied one of the following additional education requirements:

4.1.1 Holding a bachelor's, master's, or doctoral degree from a regionally accredited college or
university with a major or its equivalent, in special education or students with disabilities, from a
National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) or the Council for the
Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) specialty organization recognized educator
preparation program or from a state approved educator preparation program where the state
approval body employed the appropriate standards; or

4.1.2 Completion of a minimum of fifteen (15) credits or their equivalent in professional development as
approved by the Department, with a focus in special education or [in] students with disabilities in
the following content areas:

4.1.2.1 Diagnosis and Instruction for Reading / Literacy (3 credits);

4.1.2.2 Education Evaluation and IEP Development (3 credits);

4.1.2.3 Curriculum and Instruction in Special Education (3 credits);

4.1.2.4 Applied Behavior Analysis (3 credits); and

4.1.2.5 One of the following areas:

4.1.2.5.1 Legislation, Policy & Procedures/ Special Issues in Special Education (3 credits);

4.1.2.5.2 Transitions from Secondary Special Education or Secondary Transition Planning (3
credits);

4.1.2.5.3 Collaborative Teaming in Special Education (3 credits); or

4.1.2.5.4 Assistive Technology (3 credits).

5.0 Past Certification Recognized

The Department shall recognize a Standard Certificate Exceptional Children Special Education
Teacher or other valid equivalent Special Education Certification including Exceptional Children
Special Education - Elementary and Exceptional Children Special Education - Secondary issued
before July 1, 2016. A teacher holding such a Standard Certificate issued by the Department before
July 1, 2016 shall be considered certified to instruct [all subjects and areas classes] to students with
disabilities[.]

6.0 Effective Date

Section 4.0 of this regulation shall be effective on July 1, 2016.

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President G. Patrick Heffernan

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Barbara B. Rutt (not present)

Nina Lou Bunting Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr. (not present)
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 19, ISSUE 6, TUESDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2015



FINAL REGULATIONS 507
*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the July 2015 issue of the Register at page 17 (19 DE Reg. 17). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1571 Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Private Duty Nursing Services

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and the Delaware Medical Assistance Program Provider
Specific Policy Manual to revise and clarify Private Duty Nursing (PDN) services, specifically, service requirements,
coverage criteria, provider qualifications, service limitations and reimbursement methodology. The Department's
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C §10114 and its authority as prescribed by
31 Del.C §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del.C §10115 in the
October 2015 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by October 30, 2015 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services/Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance is proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and the Delaware
Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Specific Policy Manual to revise and clarify Private Duty Nursing
(PDN) services, specifically, service requirements, coverage criteria, provider qualifications, service limitations and
reimbursement methodology.

Statutory Authority
• Section 1905(a)(8) of the Social Security Act, includes private duty nursing services in the definition of

medical assistance
• 42 CFR §440.80, defines Private Duty Nursing Services
• 42 CFR §447.205, Public notice of changes in statewide methods and standards for setting payment

rates

Background
Private Duty Nursing (PDN) is an optional Title XIX Medicaid service authorized by Section 1905(a)(8) of the

Social Security Act and 42 CFR §440.80. PDN services means nursing services for beneficiaries who require more
individual and continuous care than is available from a visiting nurse or routinely provided by the nursing staff of the
hospital or skilled nursing facility. These services are provided—

a) By a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse;
b) Under the direction of the beneficiary's physician; and
c) To a beneficiary in one or more of the following locations at the option of the State—

1. His or her own home;
2. A hospital; or
3. A skilled nursing facility.
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Summary of Proposal
Purpose

To clarify the requirements and reimbursement provisions that governs Private Duty Nursing (PDN) services.

Proposal
The Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Manual is written specifically to address the

contractual and regulatory requirements of delivering health care services to Delaware Medicaid beneficiaries.
From time to time the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) update and revise these manuals as
our policies or regulatory requirements change. Private Duty Nursing (PDN) Services are those medically
necessary services related to the coverage described in the Private Duty Nursing Policy Provider Specific Manual.
The proposed rule revises language in the designated provider manual to clarify Medicaid policy on service
coverage for Private Duty Nursing services. Amendments to this rule include:

• Language throughout the rule has been restructured, replaced, relettered or in the case of redundancies,
eliminated for clarity purposes.

• Revise language to clarify who is eligible to receive private duty nursing services.
• Revisions were made for clarification and consistency purposes that the number of hours of service to be

authorized is determined by “Medical Necessity”.
• A definition of “technology dependent” was added.
• Language was added to clarify eligible private duty nursing providers and to reflect current practices.
• Deleted coverage and reimbursement language and the Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System

(HCPCS) procedure code in Appendix B of Section 7, regarding self-employed nurses as PDN services
cannot be provided by self-employed nurses.

• As PDN services can only be covered by DMAP if prior authorized, inserted language detailing how
authorization for PDN services is obtained. 

• Revised language to clarify how medically necessary hours are determined.
For conditions of coverage and payment, the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) proposes

to amend Attachment 4.19-B of the Medicaid State Plan to reflect the above-referenced changes. Upon CMS
approval, the proposed state plan amendment (SPA) is effective for dates of service on or after October 2, 2015.

Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social

Security Act and 42 CFR 447.205 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) gives
public notice and provides an open comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to
provide input to the requirements and reimbursement provisions governing private duty nursing services.
Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on October 30, 2015.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Review and Approval
The provisions of this state plan amendment (SPA) relating to coverage and payment methodology for Private

Duty Nursing (PDN) services are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).
The draft SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after submittal to CMS based upon public
comment and/or CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to significant change.

Provider Manuals Update
Also, upon CMS approval, the applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy

Specific Manuals will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are issued,
as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing guidelines or
instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to distribute
new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding manual updates. DMAP
provider manuals and official notices are available on the DMAP website: http://www.dmap.state.de.us/home/
index.html
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Fiscal Impact Statement
The following fiscal impact is projected:

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES

Highmark Health Options, the Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) and the State
Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following summarized observations. The Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) has considered each comment and responds as follows.

Highmark Health Options
Health Options agrees and supports the proposed language changes regarding medical necessity for private

duty nursing services that are included throughout the above referenced policy manual. However, Health Options
believes the proposed changes may have significant fiscal impact on its operations. It is difficult to provide specific
comments regarding the fiscal impact due to Health Options' being in operation for less than one year and lacking
historical data. However, it is our hope that DMMA will consider any fiscal impact the proposed changes will have
on Health Options when determining appropriate reimbursement rates.

1. The following proposed policy language for section 5.2.3 will be integral in maintaining member safety
and ensuring care is provided in the most appropriate setting with consideration of efficient use of
resources:

PDN services will only be authorized when there is at least one caregiver willing and able to accept
responsibility for the individual's care when the nurse is not available. DMAP expects that caregivers
be willing and capable to accept responsibility for their individual's care. If the caregiver cannot or will
not accept responsibility for the individual's care when PDN services are not authorized or available,
the individual is deemed not to be in a safe environment and PDN services will not be authorized.

It will be particularly important to remain committed and focused on the language in 5.2.3 as
authorizations are determined to address the revised language for policy manual sections 5.2.2, 5.2.5,
5.2.6, and 5.2.8. The revisions in these sections do propose expanded coverage criteria for school
based services and transportation and eliminate considerations of parental/caregiver availability and
ability from the decision making process. Health Options fully agrees that all decisions on a recipient's
need for private duty nursing services should be based on medical necessity and will continue to make
decisions based upon that standard. However, Health Options also believes that a determination of
whether a parent/caregiver is available and able to provide care is an essential piece of the medical
necessity determination and of utmost importance when determining how best to allocate limited state
resources.

Agency Response: DMMA respectfully disagrees with the suggestion that our proposed revisions to the PDN
manual in sections 5.2.2, 5.2.5, 5.2.6, and 5.2.8 result in expanded coverage criteria. Please see our section
by section response to this comment below.

2. Health Options suggests that DMMA's proposed changes to the PDN manual results in expanded
coverage criteria in §5.2.2.

Agency Response: 

The original language in §5.2.2 is as follows:

The on-going need for PDN care is routinely/periodically re-evaluated. DMMA may determine that
because of parent/caregiver work schedule, stability of the patient, and other factors, that PDN hours
may be reduced or increased.

The suggested revision to §5.2.2 is as follows:

Federal Fiscal Year 2016 Federal Fiscal Year 2017

General (State) funds $77,930.05 $80,267.95

Federal funds $64,200.26 $66,126.27
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The on-going need for PDN care is routinely/periodically re-evaluated. DMMA may determine that
PDN hours may be increased based on medical necessity or reduced based on medical necessity
accompanied by a change in circumstances or other good cause.

DMMA feels that the revision to this section of the manual does not expand coverage criteria for PDN. The
proposed revision continues to rely upon the determination of medical necessity in authorizing PDN.

3. Health Options suggests that DMMA's proposed changes to the PDN manual results in expanded
coverage criteria in §5.2.5.

Agency Response:

The original language in §5.2.5 is as follows:

DMMA reimburses for medically necessary transportation through a Medicaid transportation broker.
DMMA expects the parent/caregiver to accompany the client in transport. If, because of employment
or school, the parent/caregiver cannot accompany the client, the prior authorized PDN may
accompany the client. If the client is transported to a medical appointment or the hospital with the PDN,
as soon as the parent/caregiver arrives, the PDN service is no longer required. PDN will not be
authorized for a nurse to accompany a client to a medical appointment or hospital stay when the
parent/caregiver is available.

The suggested revision to §5.2.5 is as follows:

DMAP reimburses for medically necessary transportation through a Medicaid transportation broker.
PDN services will be authorized for transportation when medically necessary, as determined on an
individualized basis.

DMMA feels that the revision to this section of the manual does not expand coverage criteria for PDN. The
proposed revision continues to rely upon the determination of medical necessity in authorizing PDN.

4. Health Options suggests that DMMA's proposed changes to the PDN manual results in expanded
coverage criteria in §5.2.6.

Agency Response:

The original language in §5.2.6 is as follows:

PDN may be approved to accompany school-age children with a compromised airway or other DMAP
approved high-risk condition in transport to school and to provide medically necessary care during
school hours.

The suggested revision to §5.2.6 is as follows:

PDN services may be authorized during the school day with parental consent and when DMAP
determines that it is medically necessary for school-age children. This may include accompanying the
children during the transport to and from school and providing medically necessary care during school
hours.

DMMA feels that the revision to this section of the manual does not expand coverage criteria for PDN. The
proposed revision continues to rely upon the determination of medical necessity in authorizing PDN.

5. Health Options suggests that DMMA's proposed changes to the PDN manual results in expanded
coverage criteria in §5.2.8.

Agency Response:

The original language in §5.2.8 is as follows:

DMMA may approve PDN to cover summer vacation as well as scheduled school year holiday
vacations for school age children if the parent/caregiver requests coverage timely. Absence of parents/
guardian from the home for employment or work-related education reasons must be documented.

The suggested revision to §5.2.8 is as follows:

PDN services may be approved to cover summer vacation as well as scheduled school year holiday
vacations for school age children if it is determined that services are medically necessary.
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DMMA feels that the revision to this section of the manual does not expand coverage criteria for PDN. The
proposed revision continues to rely upon the determination of medical necessity in authorizing PDN.

6. Section 5.3.4 of the proposed policy manual amendments does state that private duty nursing services
may be adjusted based on the availability of the parent/caregiver. Health Options believes this
language continues to permit considerations of parental/caregiver availability as one part of the overall
medical necessity determination.

Agency Response: DMMA thanks you for your comment.

GACEC and SCPD
As background, SCPD and Disabilities Law Program (DLP) representatives met with DHSS Administration in

August, 2009 to review concerns with PDN standards. An agreement was reached to revise the standards.   In
2010, DMMA shared draft revisions which resulted in submission of September 16, 2011 DLP-authored comments
from the SCPD. In 2015, this initiative was revived. DMMA prepared a new set of proposed revisions resulting in
DLP commentary and an agreement to incorporate additional changes. See attached August 26, 2015 DMMA
letter. DMMA is now formally publishing revised PDN standards for comment. The proposed standards represent a
major improvement in several contexts and generally merit endorsement subject to a few considerations. The
proposed regulations represent a major improvement in several contexts and we appreciate consideration of past
comments. We still have the following observations and concerns.

First, §1.1.4 contains the following recital: "Generally, the total cost of PDN services shall not exceed the cost
of care provided in an institutional setting." Council is aware of concern by the Disabilities Law Program with this
recital and concern with the DMMA response to concerns noted in Section 2 of the attached August 26, 2015 letter.
Literally, it suggests that individual costs may "trump" other considerations, including the Americans with
Disabilities Act (ADA) mandate to prioritize non-institutional services. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS) have historically instructed that ADA principles should be reflected and embedded in state
Medicaid program standards. See attached NASDDDS, "The ADA, Olmstead, and Medicaid: Implications for
People with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (2013). The "not exceed the cost" recital provides a
regulatory basis for Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) to justify institutional placement for individuals with
higher Private Duty Nursing (PDN) needs. Moreover, the notion of "cost effectiveness" is contained in the attached
regulatory definition of "medical necessity" so its deletion in the PDN standards does not result in ignoring cost
considerations. The recital should be deleted.

Agency Response: DMMA respectfully disagrees with the suggestion to delete language in §1.1.4 regarding
the consideration of the total cost of PDN services. DMMA considers a variety of factors, including cost, in the
determination of appropriateness of services for our members with an emphasis on the importance of preventing or
delaying institutionalization.

Second, §2.1.1 refers to a "certified registered nurse practitioner (CRNP) who has a professional license from
the State to provide nursing services." The Delaware nurse licensing law refers to "advanced practice nurses" and
"advanced practice registered nurses" [24 Del.C §1902(a)(b)]. There is no definition of a "certified registered nurse
practitioner. DMMA may wish to review this reference.

Agency Response: DMMA received clarification on this issue from the Board of Nursing. They have indicated
that the correct title for us to use would be an Advance Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) rather than a Certified
Registered Nurse Practitioner (CRNP). Therefore, we have revised §2.1.1 to the following:
Private duty nursing may be provided by any registered nurse (RN), licensed practical nurse (LPN) or advance
practice registered nurse (APRN) who has a professional license from the State to provide nursing services.

Third, §3.1.1.2 refers to "attending practitioner". We recommend substituting either "prescribing practitioner" or,
for consistency with §6.3.2, "primary care physician". See analysis in attached August 26, 2015 letter, Section 10.
The term "attending physician" is based on institutional care environments while PDN is limited to non-institutional
settings. See §1.1.4.

Agency Response: DMMA agrees with Councils' suggestion to change "attending practitioner" to "prescribing
practitioner". Section 3.1.1.2 will be revised as follows:
A written plan of care that is established, signed and dated by the prescribing practitioner which includes orders for
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medications, treatments, nutritional requirements, activities permitted, special equipment and other ordered
therapies.

Fourth, §§5.1.1 and 5.2.1 merit review. These sections only refer to prior authorization by the Delaware
Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) through a DMMA nurse. We assume it should also refer to an MCO nurse
since the standards cover both DMMA-authorized PDN and MCO-authorized PDN. See §§5.1.2, 5.2.7 and §1.0.

Agency Response: DMMA respectfully disagrees with the Councils' suggestion to include references to an
MCO nurse and MCO-authorized PDN in this section. Although the MCOs are required to provide, at a minimum,
coverage of services described in this manual, it is still a DMAP manual and not an MCO manual.

Fifth, we assume that references to "DMAP" (e.g. §§5.2.4, 5.2.6) are generic and are intended to cover both
DMMA and MCO decision-making. However, the reference to "DMMA" in §5.2.2 is "under inclusive" since it would
not cover an MCO. The reference could be amended to refer to "DMAP" or "DMMA or an MCO".

Agency Response: DMMA agrees with the Councils' suggestion to change DMMA to DMAP in this instance.
Section 5.2.2 will be revised as follows:
The on-going need for PDN care is routinely/periodically re-evaluated. DMAP may determine that PDN hours may
be increased based on medical necessity or reduced based on medical necessity accompanied by a change in
circumstances or other good causes.

Sixth, the requirement in §5.2.1 that an initial nursing assessment be "face to face" is being deleted. Perhaps
this change is in recognition of the expanded authorization for telemedicine. Otherwise, we suspect a face to face
assessment may be "best practice" and generally more valid than a "paper" review.

Agency Response: DMMA thanks the Councils for their comment.

Seventh, §5.2.3 merits reconsideration based on concerns reflected in the attached August 26, 2015 letter,
Section 5. Consider the following:

A. The section categorically presumes that everyone qualifying for PDN will need a caregiver during non-
authorized PDN hours. Some individuals may be capable of self-care during such periods and not require a
caregiver.

B. The section omits the concept or expectation that an MCO or provider will include a backup
component in the plan of care akin to the PAS Service Specifications.

C. The section is "at odds" with §5.3.5 which contemplates home health personnel covering non-PDN
hours as juxtaposed to exclusive reliance on a caregiver.

Agency Response: DMMA thanks the Councils for these comments. We would like to offer the following
update/clarification to this section of the proposed policy in response:
PDN services will only be authorized when there is at least one caregiver willing and able to accept responsibility
for the individual's care when the nurse is not available. PDN is only authorized for the provision of skilled care (i.e.
G-tube feeds, trach care, etc.) and is not primarily for home health aide (HHA) or certified nursing assistant (CNA)
services, safety and supervision. Therefore, DMAP expects that caregivers be willing and capable to accept
responsibility for their individual's care. If the caregiver cannot or will not accept responsibility for the individual's
care when PDN services are not authorized or available, the individual is deemed not to be in a safe environment
and PDN services will not be authorized.

Eighth, §5.2.6 indicates that a parent's consent to an IEP which includes PDN equates to parental consent to
use of Medicaid to fund PDN. There are two problems with this approach.

A. Some students qualifying for Medicaid-funded PDN may not yet have an IEP. They may have an IFSP
(Title 16 Del.C. §§214.215) or be awaiting IEP development. For example, a student incurring a sports injury or
involved in an auto accident may qualify for PDN but be in the evaluation phase of the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act (IDEA) special education eligibility or, having been determined eligible, be awaiting development of
an IEP.

B. Parental consent to an IEP does not equate to consent to utilize Medicaid or private insurance benefits
for a child. Indeed, IEPs do not typically include sources of payment for services. Moreover, there is no requirement
that a parent "consent" to an IEP.

Explicit parental consent to "tap" Medicaid should be required. See attached federal guidance referring to a
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"consent form" and requirement that "parental consent" must be obtained "each time that access to public benefits
or insurance is sought".  Characterizing consent to an annual IEP as consent to accessing Medicaid for PDN does
not conform to this federal guidance. Even on a practical level, PDN can change more frequently than an annual
IEP (§5.2.2).

Agency Response: DMMA thanks the Councils for these comments and offers the following revision to this
section of policy in response:
PDN services may be authorized during the school day with parental consent and when DMAP determines that it is
medically necessary for school age children. This may include accompanying the children during the transport to
and from school and providing medically necessary care during school hours.

Ninth, §5.2.6 contains an incorrect legal standard for eligibility to use Medicaid to fund school-based services.
The standard refers to a determination that “a school is unable to meet the medical needs of school age children
who are technology dependent or for whom DMAP has determined these services to be otherwise medically
necessary". [emphasis supplied]. There are two problems with the underlined provision.

A. A child could qualify for PDN for reasons apart from technological dependency.
B. Medicaid is expected to routinely fund qualifying services in schools. A school is not required to

demonstrate that it cannot meet a child's needs without resorting to Medicaid funding. See attached In re A.G.,
DCIS No. 5000703852 (DHSS June 22, 2000); U.S. DOE Memorandum OSEP 00-7 (January 13, 2000), at 5 ["The
law clearly states that the State Medicaid agency, as well as other public insurers of children with disabilities, shall
precede the financial responsibility of the local educational agency (or State agency"].

Agency Response: DMMA has considered Councils' comments and believes that the proposed revision to
§5.2.6 cited in item 8 above should satisfactorily address these concerns.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the October 2015 Register of Regulations
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and
the Delaware Medical Assistance Program Provider Specific Policy Manual to revise and clarify Private Duty
Nursing (PDN) services, specifically, service requirements, coverage criteria, provider qualifications, service
limitations and reimbursement methodology, is adopted and shall be final effective December 10, 2015.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

Private Duty Nursing Services

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, and Services for Individuals With Speech, Hearing and Language 
Disorders

Hippotherapy

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and the Delaware Medical Assistance Program Provider
Specific Policy Manual to revise and update the Independent Therapist Provider Specific Policy Manual regarding
Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, and Services for Individuals With Speech, Hearing and Language
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Disorders, specifically, to establish coverage criteria, provider qualifications, service limitations and reimbursement
methodology for Hippotherapy. The Department's proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to
29 Del.C §10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Del.C §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del.C §10115 in the
September 2015 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by September 30, 2015 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services/Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance is proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and the Delaware
Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Specific Policy Manual to revise and update Independent Therapist
Provider Specific Policy Manual regarding Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, and Services for Individuals
With Speech, Hearing and Language Disorders, specifically, to establish coverage criteria, provider qualifications,
service limitations and reimbursement methodology for Hippotherapy.

Statutory Authority
• Section 1905(a)(11) of the Social Security Act, includes physical therapy and related services in the

definition of medical assistance
• 42 CFR §440.110 defines physical therapy, occupational therapy, and services for individuals with

speech, hearing and language disorders
• 42 CFR §447.205, Public notice of changes in statewide methods and standards for setting payment

rates

Background
Physical therapy and related services under 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 440.110 is an optional

service under State Medicaid Programs. Medicaid reimbursement for outpatient physical therapy, occupational
therapy, and services for individuals with speech, hearing and language disorders is based on the provision of
medically necessary therapy services for an illness or injury resulting in functional limitations which can respond or
improve as a result of the prescribed therapy treatment plan in a reasonable, predictable period of time.

Physical Therapy Services
In accordance with 42 CFR 440.110(a), physical therapy means services prescribed by a physician or other

licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of his or her practice under state law and provided to a
beneficiary by or under the direction of a qualified Physical Therapist. It includes any necessary supplies and
equipment. Physical Therapy Services involve evaluation and treatment to prevent, alleviate, or compensate for
movement dysfunction and related functional problems for maximum reduction of physical or mental disability and
restoration of a beneficiary to his/her best possible functional level.

A "qualified physical therapist" is an individual who meets personnel qualifications for a physical therapist at 42
CFR §484.4.

Occupational Therapy Services
In accordance with 42 CFR 440.110(b)(1), occupational therapy means services prescribed by a physician or

other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of his or her practice under state law and provided to
a beneficiary by or under the direction of a qualified occupational therapist. It includes any necessary supplies and
equipment. Occupational therapy services are channels to improve or restore functional abilities for maximum
reduction of physical or mental disability and restoration of a beneficiary to his/her best possible functional level.

A "qualified occupational therapist" is an individual who meets personnel qualifications for an occupational
therapist at 42 CFR §484.4. 

Services for Individuals with Speech, Hearing and Language Disorders
In accordance with 42 CFR 440.110(c)(1), services for individuals with speech, hearing and language

disorders means diagnostic, screening, preventive, or corrective services provided by or under the direction of a
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speech pathologist or audiologist, for which a patient is referred by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the
healing arts within the scope of his or her practice under State law. It includes any necessary supplies and
equipment. Reimbursable Speech-Language Pathology Services are evaluative tests and measures utilized in the
process of providing Speech-Language Pathology Services and must represent standard practice procedures.

A "speech pathologist" means an individual who meets one of the conditions defined in 42 CFR 440.110(c)(2).
A "qualified audiologist" means an individual with a master's or doctoral degree in audiology that maintains

documentation to demonstrate that he or she meets one of the conditions defined in 42 CFR 440.110(c)(3).

Hippotherapy
Hippotherapy is a form of physical, occupational and speech-language therapy in which a therapist uses the

multidimensional movements of a horse to provide carefully graded motor and sensory input. A foundation is
established to improve neurological function and sensory processing, which can be generalized to a wide range of
daily activities. Hippotherapy involves therapeutic exercise, neuromuscular education, kinetic activities, therapeutic
activities, sensory integration activities and individual speech therapy. This treatment strategy utilizes the
movement of the horse as part of an integrated rehabilitation plan of care to achieve functional outcomes.

Hippotherapy is specialized and is always directed by a licensed healthcare professional. Functional riding and
horsemanship skills are not taught during hippotherapy. Rather, the emphasis is on the achievement of specific
therapeutic goals facilitated by the movement of the horse. Despite the unusual nature of hippotherapy, its rationale
is based on current theories of motor development and control and established neurophysiologic treatment
principles.

Summary of Proposal
Purpose

To establish the requirements and reimbursement provisions that governs hippotherapy services.

Proposal
The Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Manual is written specifically to address the

contractual and regulatory requirements of delivering health care services to Delaware Medicaid beneficiaries.
From time to time the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) updates and revises these manuals as
our policies or regulatory requirements change. Physical therapy and related services are those medically
necessary services related to the coverage described in the Independent Therapist Provider Specific Policy
Manual. The proposed rule establishes language in the designated provider manual to allow coverage for
hippotherapy services.

For conditions of coverage and payment, the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) proposes
to amend Attachment 4.19-B Page 21 of the Medicaid State Plan to reflect the above-referenced changes. Upon
CMS approval, the proposed state plan amendment (SPA) is effective for dates of service on or after September 2,
2015.

In addition, language throughout the rule has been updated, restructured and replaced for clarity purposes.

Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social

Security Act and 42 CFR 447.205 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) gives
public notice and provides an open comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to
provide input to the requirements and reimbursement provisions governing private duty nursing services.
Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on September 30, 2015.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Review and Approval

The provisions of this state plan amendment (SPA) relating to coverage and payment methodology for
hippotherapy services are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). The draft
SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after submittal to CMS based upon public comment and/or
CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to significant change.

Provider Manuals Update
Also, upon CMS approval, the applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy
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Specific Manuals will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are issued,
as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing guidelines or
instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to distribute
new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding manual updates. DMAP
provider manuals and official notices are available on the DMAP website: http://www.dmap.state.de.us/home/
index.html

Fiscal Impact Statement
This revision imposes no increase in cost on the General Fund as Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy,

and Services for Individuals with Speech, Hearing and Language Disorders is already a covered benefit under the
Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) to eligible beneficiaries.

DMAP's proposal involves no change in the definition of those eligible to receive physical therapy and related
services under Medicaid, and the physical therapy and related services benefit to eligible beneficiaries remains the
same.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES

The Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) and the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations and recommendations summarized below. The Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) has considered each comment and responds as follows.

GACEC and SCPD
Background on hippotherapy is contained in the attached Wikipedia article. More information is available

through the website of the American Hippotherapy Association, Inc.: http://
www.americanhippotherapyassociation.org/. GACEC and SCPD endorse this initiative subject to consideration of
a few amendments.

First, §1.1.6 requires therapists to have a "HCPS" certification:
1.1.6.   Therapists that provide Hippotherapy must be certified by the American Hippotherapy Certification

Board as a Hippotherapy Professional Clinical Specialist (HCPS).
The Board's website indicates that there is only one therapist in Delaware with the certification, a single upstate

OT. See http://www.americanhippotherapyassociation.org/find-a-therapist-2/. The Board also maintains a list of
approval "member therapists" who have completed at least some coursework. There is one ST in Delaware who
has "member therapist" status. Id. Given that there is only 1 therapist in the entire State with the required
certification, the Division may wish to consider expanding the scope of therapists eligible to provide Hippotherapy
under the Medicaid program on a provisional basis. For example, DMMA could adopt a transitional standard in
which "member therapists" could also provide Hippotherapy under the Medicaid program with a defined expiration
date. This would provide some time to achieve full HCPS certification. Consider the following amendment: 

 1.1.6.   Therapists that provide Hippotherapy must be certified by the American Hippotherapy Certification
Board as a Hippotherapy Professional Clinical Specialist (HCPS). [Given the low number of Delaware
therapists with HCPS certification, a therapist enrolled as an American Hippotherapy Association
"member therapist" may bill the DMAP for Hippotherapy provided through December 31, 2016.]
Agency Response: DMMA acknowledges your endorsement, thank you. The American Hippotherapy
Certification Board (AHCB) specifically recognizes AHCB Certified Therapist as an entry level certification. This
certification includes a minimum requirement of one year or 2,000 hours experience in the practice of physical,
occupational or speech and language pathology. AHCB also requires a minimum of 25 hours of one on one direct
patient treatment using Hippotherapy, prior to the application. The therapist must be experienced and comfortable
with horses, riding safely at the walk and trot.

Hippotherapy includes the use of Tandem therapy, Clinical Problem Solving including ongoing diagnostic
indicators, modifications to therapy horse and movement, equipment, horse handling methods, intervention
strategies, team, environment and ability to ride independently. These are not included in the AHCB Certified
Therapist certification.

The Hippotherapy Professional Clinical Specialist (HPCS) is required by the AHCB to have at least three years
of fulltime or 6,000 hours experience in the practice of physical, occupational or speech and language pathology.
The HPCS has completed a minimum of 100 hours of one on one direct treatment in Hippotherapy practice, ability
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to ride independently and certified to provide all components of Hippotherapy.
The AHCB Certified Therapist is an entry level certification and is not eligible to provide all components of

Hippotherapy. 
For these reasons, the State will retain the requirements for this therapy as described in the proposed

regulation.
No change to the regulation was made as a result of these comments.

Second, the Medicaid Plan excerpt included in the proposed regulation contains the following provision which
is not earmarked for revision:

3.3 Services Not Covered
3.3.1   Occupational therapy services that are not covered include but are not limited to OT services which

are not intended to improve functions.   is not covered by DMAP. At 169.
Apart from the obvious grammatical problems with this subsection, its substance is inconsistent with federal

regulation and the DMMA medical necessity regulation. It literally limits OT to "medical improvement". In contrast,
42 C.F.R. 440.110(b) (reproduced on p. 165) authorizes OT for both "medical improvement" AND restoration of
function. The DMMA "medical necessity" regulation does not require services to result in medical improvement, i.e.
services can "restore" or "prevent worsening" of function. See attached regulatory definition [2 DE Reg. 1249 (1/1/
99)]. See also attached correspondence from Delaware Medicaid Director disapproving an MCO denial notice
based on a "chronic" condition which would "not significantly improve... with occupational therapy". Section 3.3.1
literally bars coverage of OT which would restore or prevent the worsening of effects of a condition. The entire
subsection could be deleted since it is grammatically infirm, substantively incorrect, and superfluous (other
sections define the scope of covered OT). The Division is authorized to informally correct this section pursuant to
Title 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(4)(5).
Agency Response: DMMA agrees and will remove this policy statement. [Bracketed bold stricken through]
indicates language deleted in the final order regulation.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the September 2015 Register of Regulations
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and
the Delaware Medical Assistance Program Provider Specific Policy Manual to revise and update the Independent
Therapist Provider Specific Policy Manual regarding Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, and Services for
Individuals With Speech, Hearing and Language Disorders, specifically, to establish coverage criteria, provider
qualifications, service limitations and reimbursement methodology for Hippotherapy, is adopted and shall be final
effective December 10, 2015.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

Hippotherapy

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, §122(3)c (16 Del.C. §122(3)c)
16 DE Admin. Code 4462

ORDER

4462 Public Drinking Water Systems

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:
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Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”) initiated proceedings to adopt the State of Delaware
Regulations Public Drinking Water Systems (4462). The DHSS proceedings to adopt regulations were initiated
pursuant to 29 Del.C. Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed by 16 Del.C. §122(3)(c).

On September 1, 2015 (Volume 19, Issue 3), DHSS published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its
notice of proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10115. It requested that written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations be delivered to DHSS by October 8, 2015, or be presented at
a public hearing on September 30, 2015, after which time the DHSS would review information, factual evidence
and public comment to the said proposed regulations.

Written comments were received during the public comment period and evaluated. The results of that
evaluation are summarized in the accompanying “Summary of Evidence.”

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE
In accordance with Delaware Law, public notices regarding proposed Department of Health and Social

Services (DHSS) State of Delaware Regulations Governing Public Drinking Water Systems were published in the
Delaware State News, the News Journal and the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Comments from EPA Region III, Drinking Water Branch – see below
Program Response:

All comments listed were addressed through minor technical corrections to the regulations published as proposed
in the September 1, Delaware Register.

EPA Comments
General Comments
There are numerous locations where references to the Federal regulations at 40 CFR Part 141 do not contain the
‘40’. For consistency and correctness, a search of the document should be performed to catch these omissions.

Revised Total Coliform Rule (RTCR) portion of the regulations:
Corrections and Typos:

7.4.5.5.4 (Page 82)
The subsection referenced should be 7.4 (written as 7.1)

7.4.7.4 (Page 84)
The subsection referenced should be 7.4.4.5 through 7.4.4.7 (written as 7.4.4.5 through 7.4.4.8)

7.4.8.2.2 (Page 85)
The subsection referenced should be 7.2.1.1.3 (written as 7.2)

Public Notification (PN) and Consumer Confidence Report (CCR) Rules of the regulations:
4.2.2.1.10 contains a reference to subsection 4.2.2.4.3 for the standard language to encourage distribution of

the notice. This reference should be to subsection 4.2.2.3.3.
Subsections 6.3.4.1.4 and 6.3.4.3.2 refer to provisions of 40 CFR Part 141 which no longer exist. These

references to Sections 141.142 and 141.143 should be removed.
The Frequency, Tier Designation and Distribution of Public Notification table at 4.2.3 was found to have

incorrect references for Part G DBPs. It is therefore recommended at all citations be checked for accuracy. The
correct references for part G for DBP, precursors and disinfection residuals is shown below with other Stage 2
comments.

4.2.3.1 (Federal 141 Subpt Q Appendix A Section II Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring B. Nickel) lines are
missing in table for Public Notification for nickel monitoring violations.

Surface Water Treatment Rules
Interim Enhanced: no comments
Long Term 1: no comments
Long Term 2: no comments
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Disinfectant and Disinfection Byproducts Rule (Stage 1 and 2)
Due to concern for stringency issues, more detailed comments are still being developed. Discussions may

need to occur with DHSS in order to resolve differences for Primacy purposes. Below is a list of the typographical
errors, provisions with stringency concerns and other recommended revisions:

Less Stringent Provisions of Concern
In Del. 5.1.1 (Federal 141.33) the requirement for record retention does not require that the operator retain the

records on the premises or convenient location.
In Del. 9.3.1.1 (Federal 141.64(b)(2)(ii)) the definition of best available technology does not include

nanofiltration with molecular weight cutoff <10000 Daltons, or GAC20.
In Del. 12.5 (Federal 141.131(b)(2)(i)) performance evaluation samples should be required for chlorite and

bromate.
In Del. 12.5.1 (Federal 141.131(b)(2)(iii)) retains the Stage 1 incorrect performance evaluation acceptance

limits for TTHM/HAA5.
In Del 12.7.3.2.2 (Federal 141.132(b)(3)(ii)(B)) no timeline for return from reduced to routine monitoring

included. The Delaware cross reference points to Stage 1 DBP return to routine which does not include timing.

Incorrect and incomplete Reference Citations
Delaware Monitoring/Recordkeeping PN table is incorrect for all of entry G for DBP, precursors and disinfection

residuals. As an example, DBP M/R violation points to 9.2.3, which does not exist. The table should be revised as
shown in the following table:

G. Disinfection Byproducts (DBPs), Byproduct Precursors, Disinfection Residuals.13 

1. Total trihalomethanes (TTHMs) 2 9.2.1.2, 9.2.2.2.1.11, 3 12.6.1 to 12.6.5, 12.7.1 to 
9.3.1.1, subsection 12.7.3, 13.0 to 13.6, 14.0 to 
9.2.1.2 14.9 

2. Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) 2 9.2.1.2 & 9.2.2.2.1.11 3 12.6.1 to 12.6.5, 12.7.1 to 

& 9.3.1.1 & subsection 12.7.3, 13.0 to 13.6, 14.0 to 
9.2.1.2 14.9 

3. Bromate 2 9.2.1.2, subsection 3 12.6.1 to 12.6.5, 12.7.1 to 
9.2.1.2, 9.2.2.2.1.11 12.7.3 
Missing Fed Regs: 
141.62 (a)(2) 

4. Chlorite 2 9.2.1.2, subsection 3 12.6.1 to 12.6.5, 12.7.1 to 

9.2.1.2, 9.2.2.2.1.11 12.7.3 
Missing Fed Regs: 
141.62 (a)(2) 
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• In Del 14.4.1 (Federal 14.623(a)) requirement for >= 4.0 TOC and language is incorrect. This should
read as: You may reduce monitoring to the level specified in the table in this paragraph any time the
LRAA is ≤0.040 mg/L for TTHM and ≤0.030 mg/L for HAA5 at all monitoring locations. You may only use
data collected under the provisions of this section 14 or section 12 of this part to qualify for reduced
monitoring. In addition, the source water annual average TOC level, before any treatment, must be ≤4.0
mg/L at each treatment plant treating surface water or ground water under the direct influence of surface
water, based on monitoring conducted under either 12.7.1.3 or 12.9.

• In Del 12.2.1 Change Stage 1 MCL compliance determination date reference from 13.1.3 to 14.1.3
• In Del. 13.6.2 (Federal 141.605(b)(2)) Footnote 2 is not consistent with updated federal language.
• In Del. 14.2.1.2 (Federal 141.621(a)(2) Footnote 2 is not consistent with updated federal language.

Typographical Errors
• Section 2.0 Definitions: In the definition of SUVA, the units for UV should be changed from “cm? 1” to

“m?1” [p. 194].
• In Del. 13.6.3.7 (Federal 141.605(c)(7) need to change the reference from 13.4 to 12.7.1 and the

reference from Section 13.0 to Section 14.0
• In Del. 12.1.2, change chlorine dioxide MRDL reference from 8.3 to 1.19.3
• In Del. 9.2.2.2 appears to be the original DBP rule. Remove if obsolete and remove cross reference

located in 12.6.1 and 12.7.1.1.
• In Del. 12.8.1.1 cross reference to 17.3.3 does not exist and needs to change.
• In Del. 12.15.3, MRDLs not located at 12.5.3.1 and 12.5.3.2 and needs to change
• In Del 13.2.3.3 and 13.2.3.4, Cross reference to 15.0 should be changed to 14.0
• In Del. 13.6.3 reference to 13.0 should change to 14.0
• In Del 14.1.4.2, Cross reference to 13.6 is incorrect and needs to change.
• Section Del 4.4 does not exists. Update cross reference located in 14.10.2.
• There are numerous citations that reference subsection Del. 12.4. However, 12.4 does not exist; and

therefore, these references must be corrected. Delaware citations that refer to 12.4 can be found at (with
some suggested corrections noted below):

12.13.2 Update reference to 12.7.3

G. Disinfection Byproducts (DBPs), Byproduct Precursors, Disinfection Residuals.13 

5. Chlorine(MRDL) 2 1.19.3.1 3 12.6.1 to 12.6.5, 12.8.1 (also 
references 7.0 and subsection
17.3.3, both don't exist) 

6. Chloramine (MRDL) 2 1.19.3.1 3 12.6.1 to 12.6.5, 12.8.1 (also 
references 7.0 and subsection
17.3.3, both don't exist) 

7. Chlorine dioxide (MRDL), where 
any two consecutive daily samples at 
entrance to the distribution system 
only are above MRDL 

2 1.19.3.1, 12.14.2 2,3 12.6.1 to 12.6.5, 12.8.2, 
12.14.2 

8. Chlorine dioxide (MRDL), where 
sample(s) in distribution system the 
next day are also above MRDL 

1 1.19.3.1, 12.14.2 1 12.6.1 to 12.6.5, 12.8.2, 
12.14.2 

9. Control of DBP precursors – 
TOC (TT) 

2 12.16 3 12.6.1 to 12.6.5, 12.9 

10. Bench marking and disinfection 
profiling 

N/A N/A 3 17.5 

11. Development of monitoring plan N/A N/A 3 12.11 
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12.13.3 Update reference to 12.7.2
12.14.1.1  Update reference to 12.8.1.1 & 12.15
12.14.2.1  Update reference to 12.8.2
12.14.2.1  Update reference to 12.15

12.15.2 (each row in table)
12.15.3 (each row in table)
12.15.4 (each row in table)
12.16.1.2

12.16.1.2.3
12.16.1.3
12.16.1.3.2 Update reference to 12.2.2
13.1.1
13.1.4.1
13.1.5
13.2.1.1
13.2.3.1
13.3.1.1.1.1
13.3.1.1.1.2
13.3.1.1.2.1
13.3.1.2.2.4
13.3.1.2.2.6
13.3.2.1
13.4.1
13.4.1 table
13.4.1 footnote
13.4.2.1 Update reference to 12.7.1 13.5.1
13.5.2   Update reference to 12.7.1
13.6.2 table 13.6.3

13.6.3.3 Update reference to 12.7.1

Equivalency Questions
• In Del. 12.5 no minimum reporting level defined for DBP monitoring.
• (Not currently applicable) In Del 12.7.3.2.1 (Federal 141.132(b)(3)(ii)(A)) no timeline for return to routine

monitoring included.
• Del 4.2.3.1 (Federal 141 Subpt Q Appendix B Endnote language 19/20) MCL determination language not

listed, please confirm that this is listed in other Del. Regulation location.
• Del 4.2.3.1 (Federal 141 Subpt Q Appendix B Endnote language 21) MCL determination language not

listed, please confirm that this is listed in other Del. Regulation location.
• Del 4.2.3.1 (Federal 141 Subpt Q Appendix B Endnote language 22/23) MRDL & MRDLG definition

language not listed, please confirm that this is listed in other Del. Regulation location.
• Del 4.2.3.1 (Federal 141 Subpt Q Appendix B Endnote language 18) Federal schedule language not

listed, please confirm that citations at 2.2, 12.2.1, 12.2.2 are equivalent.

Ground Water Rule
8.3.1.1.3 (Page 262), Typo. “I” should read “is”.
"The system is notified that a sample collected under subsection 7.4.7 I is total coliform-positive and the sample is
not invalidated under subsection 7.4.3.3 beginning January 1, 2016."

8.3.1.2.4 (Page 263), Missing end of sentence.
"If the repeat sample collected from the ground water source is E. coli-positive…"

8.3.2 (Page 264), Should read “Division-determined” instead of “State-determined”.
"If directed by the Division, ground water systems must conduct assessment source water monitoring that meets
State-Division-determined requirements”
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8.3.2.4 (Page 264), Typo. “In the in subsection” should read “in subsection”.
"Analysis of all ground water source samples using one of the analytical methods listed in the in subsection
8.3.3.2 for the presence of E. coli, enterococci…”

8.4.2.2.1 (Page 267), Capitalize “division”.
"Notification to the Division must include engineering, operational, or other information that the dDivision requests
to evaluate the submission."

(Page 268), the subsection referenced 8.2.1 corresponds with 40 CFR 141.401(a). This should correspond with 40
CFR 141.74(a)(2).
"...continuously monitor the residual disinfectant concentration using analytical methods specified in subsection
8.2.1"

(Page 268), the subsection referenced 8.2.1 corresponds with 40 CFR 141.401(a). This should correspond with 40
CFR 141.74(a)(2).
"...continuously monitor the residual disinfectant concentration using analytical methods specified in subsection
8.2.1"

Lead and Copper Rule

Section 
Number 

Com m ent and Suggested Changes  

10.1.4.2 Change reference “under subsections 10.1.4 and 10.1.5” to “under 
subsections 10.2 and 10.3” [p. 291]. 

10.2.1.2 Change “(serving <3,300 persons)” to “(serving =3,300 persons)” and “(serving 
>3,300 persons and <50,000 persons)” to “(serving >3,300 persons and 
=50,000 persons)” [p. 292]. 

10.2.2.3 Change reference “subsection 10.1.1.3” to “subsection 10.1.3.3” [p. 292]. 

10.2.2.3.4 Change phrase “paragraph, shall” to “paragraph, and shall” [p. 293]. 

10.2.4.1 In Step 2, enclose “subsection 10.3.3” in parenthesis [p. 293]. In 
Step 3, enclose “subsection 10.3.4” in parenthesis [p. 293]. In Step 
4, enclose “subsection 10.3.5” in parenthesis [p. 293]. 
In Step 5, enclose “subsection 10.7.4.2 and subsection 10.8.3” in parenthesis [p. 
293]. 
In Step 6, enclose “subsection 10.3.6” in parenthesis [p. 293]. 
In Step 7, enclose “subsection 10.3.7” and “subsection 10.7.4 and subsection 10.8.4” 
in parentheses [p. 293]. 

10.2.5.1.1 Add an end‐of‐parenthesis sign following “subsections 10.3, 10.7 and 10.8 [p. 293]. 
In Step 1, enclose “subsection 10.7.4.1 and subsection 10.8.2” in parenthesis in the 
first sentence. Enclose “subsection 10.3.1” in parenthesis in the second sentence [p. 
293]. 
In Step 3, enclose “subsection 10.3.3” in parenthesis [p. 294]. In 
Step 4, enclose “subsection 10.3.4” in parenthesis [p. 294]. In Step 
5, enclose “subsection 10.3.5” in parenthesis [p. 294]. 
In Step 6, enclose “subsection 10.7.4.2 and subsection 10.8.3” in parenthesis [p. 
294]. 
In Step 7, enclose “subsection 10.3.6” in parenthesis [p. 294]. 
In Step 8, enclose “subsection 10.3.7” and “subsection 10.7.4.3 and subsection 10.8.4” 
in parentheses [p. 294]. 
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Section 
Number 

Comment and Suggested Changes 

10.2.5.1.2 In Step 3, enclose “subsection 10.3.3” in parenthesis [p. 294]. In 
Step 4, enclose “subsection 10.3.4” in parenthesis [p. 294]. In Step 
5, enclose “subsection 10.3.5” in parenthesis [p. 294]. 
In Step 6, enclose “subsection 10.7.4.2 and subsection 10.8.3” in parenthesis [p. 
294]. 
In Step 7, enclose “subsection 10.3.6” in parenthesis [p. 294]. 
In Step 8, enclose “subsection 10.3.7” and “subsection 10.7.4.3 and subsection 10.8.4” 
in parentheses [p. 294]. 

10.3.3.4 There are two subsections numbered as 10.3.3.4. The first subsection is correctly 
numbered. The second subsection 10.3.3.4 is incorrectly numbered; it should be 
numbered as 10.3.3.5 [p. 294]. 

10.3.3.5 This subsection is incorrectly numbered. It should be numbered as 10.3.3.6 [p. 294]. 

10.3.8 This section needs a statement that indicates that the division’s approval of a change 
in corrosion control treatment be in writing to correspond to the federal requirement 
in 40 CFR §141.82(h) [p. 296]. 

10.4.1 In Step 2, enclose “subsection 10.4.2.2” in parenthesis [p.   296].    In 
Step 3, enclose “subsection 10.4.2.3” in parenthesis [p.   296].    In Step 
4, enclose “subsection 10.7.4.2” and “subsection 10.9.3” in parentheses 
[p. 296]. 
In Step 5, enclose “subsection 10.4.2.4” in parenthesis [p.   296].    In 
Step 6, enclose “subsection 10.4.2.4” and “subsection 10.9.4” in 
parentheses [p. 296]. 

10.5.1.1 This section is incorrectly numbered. Because there is no 40 CFR §141.84(b), there is 
no need for a corresponding State section 10.5.2. However, there is a 40 CFR 
§141.84(b)(1) which requires the corresponding State section to be numbered as 
10.5.2.1 [p. 297]. 

10.5.1.2 This section is incorrectly numbered as described above. This section should be 
renumbered as 10.5.2.2 [p. 298]. 

10.6.2.2.6 Change the phrase “one of the categories’ to “one or more of the categories” [p. 301]. 

10.6.2.5 Change the reference “subsection 10.6.2.2.5” to “subsection 10.6.2.4” in the second 
sentence [p. 301]. 

10.6.4.3 Change the reference “section 4.3.3.3” to “section 6.3.3” [p. 302]. 

10.7.1.2 Change the references to “section 7.2.4” in the first and second sentences to 
“section 11.1.4” in both sentences [p. 302]. 

10.7.2.6 Change the reference to “section 10.1.1” to “subsection 10.1.3.3” [p. 304]. 

 

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 19, ISSUE 6, TUESDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2015



FINAL REGULATIONS524
FINDINGS OF FACT:
Minor technical changes were made to the proposed regulations based on the comments received. The

Department finds that the proposed regulations, as set forth in the attached copy should be adopted in the best
interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed State of Delaware State of Delaware Regulations
Governing Public Drinking Water Systems (4462) is adopted and shall become effective December 11, 2015, after
publication of the final regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations. 

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary
November 17, 2015

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

4462 Public Drinking Water Systems

Section 
Number 

Comment and Suggested Changes 

10.7.3 In the “Number of Samples” table, change “<100” to “=100” in the “System Size” 
column [p. 305]. 

10.7.4.1 In the “Initial Tap Sampling” table, change “<3,300” to “=3,300” in the “System Size” 
column [p. 305]. 

10.7.4.4.5 Change both references to “subsection 10.1.1.3” to “subsection 10.1.3.3” [p. 307]. 

10.7.4.4.6.1 Change the reference “subsection 10.7.4.4.3” to “subsection 10.7.4.3” in the first 
sentence. Change the reference “subsection 10.7.4.3” to “subsection 10.7.4.4.3” in 
the last sentence [p. 307]. 

10.8.1.2.1 In the “Number of Samples” table, change “<100” to “=100” in the “System Size” 
column [p. 310]. 

10.8.5.1 In the “Number of Samples” table, change “<100” to “=100” in the “System Size” 
column [p. 311]. 

10.8.6 In footnote 1, change “illustrated” to “illustrative”. In footnote 8, change the reference 
to “section 10.8” to “section 10.3.6” [p. 313]. 

10.9.5.3 This section is missing from the reformatted regulations. It should be completed to 
correspond with the federal regulation in 40 CFR §141.88(e)(3) [p. 315]. 

10.10.1.1.2 Change the reference “subsection 10.7.2.6” to “subsection 10.7.6.2” [p. 315]. 

10.10.1.3 In the fourth sentence, change the phrase “switching coagulants (e.g., 
orthophosphate to blended phosphate)” to “switching coagulants (e.g., alum to ferric 
chloride), switching corrosion inhibitor products (e.g., alum to ferric chloride)” [p. 
316]. 
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 311, 1718 (18 Del.C. §§311 and 1718)
18 DE Admin. Code 504

ORDER

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants

Proposed Amended Regulation 504 relating to Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus
Lines Brokers and Consultants was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations on October 1, 2015. The
comment period remained open until October 30, 2015. There was no public hearing on proposed amended
Regulation 504. Public notice of the proposed amended Regulation 504 was published in the Register of
Regulations in conformity with Delaware law.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Comments were received on the proposed amended Regulation 504 from:
• American Insurance Association - Eric Goldberg, Vice President; and
• Insurance Agents & Brokers serving Pa., Md. and Del. - Lauren E. Brinjac, Government Affairs Director.
The collective comments were reviewed and considered. No changes were made to the proposed amended

Regulation 504.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on Delaware law and the record in this docket, I make the following findings of fact:
1. 18 Del.C. §§311 and 1718 require a regulation to set forth rules and procedural requirements which the

Commissioner deems necessary to carry out the provisions of the Code.
2. The requirements of proposed amended Regulation 504 best serve the interests of the public and of

insurers and comply with Delaware law.

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§ 311 and 1718, and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, and the record in this docket, I
hereby adopt proposed amended Regulation 504 as may more fully and at large appear in the version attached
hereto to be effective 10 days after being published as final.

TEXT AND CITATION

The text of proposed Regulation 504 last appeared in the Register of Regulations Vol. 19, Issue 4, pages 262-
263.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of November, 2015.

Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2015 issue of the Register at page 262 (19 DE Reg. 262). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants
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OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 311 and 1113 (18 Del.C. §§311 & 1113)
18 DE Admin. Code 1208

ORDER

1208 New Annuity Mortality Table for Use in Determining Reserve Liabilities for Annuities

Proposed Amended Regulation 1208 relating to New Annuity Mortality Table for Use in Determining Reserve
Liabilities for Annuities was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations on October 1, 2015. The comment
period remained open until October 30, 2015. There was no public hearing on proposed amended Regulation
1208. Public notice of the proposed amended Regulation 1208 was published in the Register of Regulations in
conformity with Delaware law.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Comments were received on the proposed amended Regulation 1208 from:
• Delaware Life - Keith Dall, Chief Actuary;
• Guggenheim Life and Annuity Company - Curt Steger, VP Product Management; and
• AIG - Kerrie Kline, Esquire, Associate State Government Affairs Officer.
The collective comments were reviewed and considered. No changes were made to the proposed amended

Regulation 1208.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on Delaware law and the record in this docket, I make the following findings of fact:
1. 18 Del.C. §§311 and 1113 require a regulation to set forth rules and procedural requirements which the

Commissioner deems necessary to carry out the provisions of the Code.
2. The requirements of proposed amended Regulation 1208 best serve the interests of the public and of

insurers and comply with Delaware law.

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§311 and 1113, and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, and the record in this docket, I
hereby adopt proposed amended Regulation 1208 as may more fully and at large appear in the version attached
hereto to be effective 10 days after being published as final.

TEXT AND CITATION

The text of proposed amended Regulation 1208 last appeared in the Register of Regulations Vol. 19, Issue 4,
pages 263-269.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of November, 2015.
Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2015 issue of the Register at page 263 (19 DE Reg. 263). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1208 New Annuity Mortality Table for Use in Determining Reserve Liabilities for Annuities
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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, Section 2121; 29 Delaware Code, Section 8404
(21 Del.C. §2121 & 29 Del.C. §8404)

2 DE Admin. Code 2261

ORDER
2261 Changing of License Plate Numbers and Establishing a Fee for Such Change

2 DE Admin. Code 2261 allows DMV to establish a service fee for changing a license plate number on a
vehicle at the owner’s request. Under Subchapter 2 of Chapter 21 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code, the DMV is
authorized to issue license plates to vehicles. Since the switching of license plates is at the owner’s request it
creates additional work for DMV. 2 DE Admin. Code 2261 references other fees that in 21 Delaware Code. HB
140 recently updated these fees so this Administrative Code is being updated to reflect the new fees in HB 140.

Findings of Fact

Based on Delaware law and the record in this docket, I make the following findings of fact:
1. The proposed regulation is not in conflict with Delaware law.
2. The proposed regulation is an appropriate exercise of the Department’s responsibilities and authority.

Decision and Effective Date

Based on the provisions of 21 Del.C. §2121; 29 Del.C. §8404, I hereby adopt 2 DE Admin. Code 2261 as set
forth in the version attached hereto, to be effective on December 1, 2015.

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 5th day of November 2015.
Jennifer Cohan, Secretary of Transportation

2261 Changing of License Plate Numbers and Establishing a Fee for Such Change

1.0 License Plate Numbers

Whereas, the Division of Motor Vehicles has changed license plate numbers for many vehicle owners during
the past few years just to give such owner a different number; and

Whereas, this service is not required since the vehicle is properly registered with a license plate, but is an effort
by the Division of Motor Vehicles to satisfy the customer; and

Whereas, the number of requests are rapidly increasing and causing extra work on all employees;

2.0 Fees

2.1 Be it resolved that effective immediately the following fees are to be assessed for a change of license
plate on a vehicle already registered with a Delaware license plate which is valid or has expired within
the immediate past 12 months.

$6.00 $10.00 Duplicate Plate and Validation Sticker

$25.00 $35.00 Title Fee ($35.00 $55.00 for Title with Lien)

$15.00 Service Fee

$46.00 $60.00 TOTAL
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* Note: Title Fee was increased from $15.00 $25.00 and from $25.00 $35.00 for Title with Lien by HB 253
140 of the 1448th General Assembly.

2.2 This new fee does not alter existing fees for other types of title transactions, such as: tag retentions;
new titles for vehicles for which the tag has expired over 1 year; or new registration.

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 10409 (29 Del.C. §10409)

ORDER

Guidelines for Agency Regulatory Statements Required under the Regulatory Flexibility Act

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) initiated proceedings to adopt the Guidelines for Agency
Regulatory Statements Required under the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The OMB proceedings to adopt guidelines
were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C. Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed by 29 Del.C. Ch. 104, §10409.

On October 1, 2015 (Volume 19, Issue 4), OMB published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice of
proposed guidelines, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10115. It was requested that written materials and suggestions from
the public concerning the proposed guidelines be delivered to OMB by November 5, 2015 or be presented at a
public hearing on October 20, 2015, after which time OMB would review information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed guidelines.

Written comments were received during the public comment period and evaluated. The results of that
evaluation are summarized in the accompanying "Summary of Evidence." This is OMB's "conclusion" and "order"
as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b).

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE

Guidelines for Agency Regulatory Statements Required under the Regulatory Flexibility Act 
In accordance with Delaware Law, public notices regarding proposed Guidelines for Agency Regulatory

Statements Required under the Regulatory Flexibility Act. were published in the Delaware State News, the News
Journal and the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Written and verbal comments were received on the proposed guidelines during the public comment period
(October 1, 2015 through November 5, 2015). Individuals offering comments included:

• David Stevenson; Caesar Rodney Institute
• Bill Satterfield;  Delmarva Poultry Institute
• Howard Fortunato; Delaware Home Builders Association
• James T. (Jay) Fuess; White Pine Energy Consulting LLC
• Combined comments from the following state agencies:  DNREC, DelDOT and DHSS.

Public comments and the OMB (Agency) responses are as follows:

David Stevenson; Caesar Rodney Institute
Comment: The definition of "small business" should be changed from "fewer than 50 persons", to "100 persons

or less". This is consistent with definitions used elsewhere in business literature, and is consistent with the
$10,000,000 in annual revenue as the average revenue for small businesses is about $100,000/year according to
www.entrepreneur.com which equates to 100 employees.

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. The statute (29 Del.C. §10403 (4)) and authorizing
legislation provide the definition of "Small Business" used in the guidelines. As such it is not within the scope of the
proposed guidelines to expand the definition of "Small Business" beyond what is in the statute, and the guidelines
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will not be amended.

Comment: Under the section Regulatory Impact Statements the proposed guidelines discuss "Identify the
types of individuals and/or small businesses that would be subject to compliance under the regulation".  Since this
will be identified it should be easy to notify industry groups associated with the identification of regulations that will
be impacted. For example, a regulation impacting construction companies might be sent to the Association of
Building Contractors, and the Home Builders Association of Delaware.  Any new regulation impacting small
business should be published in newspapers and on social media, not just the Delaware Register as proposed.

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. The General Assembly has defined in statute procedures for
the proper notification of the public of a proposed regulation and it is beyond the scope of these proposed
guidelines to mandate additional requirements over and above those in statute. However the following language
has been added to encourage agencies to disseminate Regulatory Flexibility Analyses (RFA) and Regulatory
Impact Statements (RIS) to stakeholders:

"State agencies are encouraged to widely disseminate proposed regulations and any accompanying
RFAs and RIS's in an effort to reach impacted citizens and interest groups. Citizens and interest
groups are encouraged to subscribe to receive proposed regulations from agencies by selecting
"Subscription Services" on the Delaware Register of Regulations website and to visit the online
Delaware Public Meeting calendar for notices of agency meetings and regulatory hearings.   Proposed
regulations are held open for public comment for a minimum of 30 days after a proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations."

Comment: What is the appeals process to challenge a determination of cost or other aspect of a regulation?
Such an appeals process has to be a low cost process or paid by the state as small businesses do not have the
resources for an expensive appeal. We note legal challenges we have been involved in with state regulations have
cost $20,000 to $40,000 with no reimbursement if we win.

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. The General Assembly has defined the appeals process in
29 Del. C. §10141. Additional appeals provisions over and above current statutory provisions are beyond the
scope of the proposed guidelines.

Bill Satterfield; Delmarva Poultry Institute
Comment: Ensuring that small business owners and operators know what statements state agencies, boards,

and commissions have prepared, we believe there are several outreach methods that should be required.
• They should be posted on the so-called social media such as Facebook and Twitter in a fashion that

would be easy for people to see and make comments.
• They should be posted on the submitting agency's website since not all business owners use Facebook

or Twitter.
• They should be shared with persons on the agency's e-mail communication lists. Some agency

communication officers send periodic e-mails to persons on their lists. It would be helpful if the agency
Public Information Officer sent to its list the information on the costs of new regulations.

• We agree with the Caesar Rodney Institute's comments that comments should be shared directly with
industry trade groups or other organizations working for the affected individuals and small businesses.
For example, a regulation impacting the chicken industry or farming in general could be sent to
Delmarva Poultry Industry, Inc. and the Delaware Farm Bureau.

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. Please refer to the response to the second comment from
David Stevenson.

Comment: This may be beyond the scope of the new law and the guidelines, but it could be helpful to have the
agency list what groups it worked with to develop the regulations and cost estimates. This would put the agencies
on notice to reach out to interested groups/individuals early during regulation development rather than springing
surprises on persons and groups who have not been consulted beforehand. This could help guide the agencies in
the development of the RFA and RIS. 

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. It is beyond the scope of the proposed guidelines to
mandate an agency report each entity consulted in developing the regulation and RFA/RIA. However, the following
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guidance has been added as optional to the guidelines:

[(Optional) Agencies are encouraged to list trade or industry groups, small businesses or other
stakeholders such as currently regulated parties that were consulted by the agency, board, or
commission in preparing this RFA and RIS. The agency, board, or commission is further encouraged to
send them a copy of the RFA and RIS to them upon completion

Comment: We agree with the Caesar Rodney Institute that the definition of "small business" should be
changed from "fewer than 50 persons" to "100 persons or less". This is consistent with definitions used elsewhere
in business literature.

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. Please refer to the first response to David Stevenson,
Caesar Rodney Institute.

Comment: We also agree with the Caesar Rodney Institute's issues with seeking to know the appeals process
to challenge a determination of cost or other aspect of a regulation. Such an appeals process has to be a low cost
process or paid by the state as small businesses and individuals do not have the resources for an expensive
appeal.

Agency response: Agency response: Thank you for your comment. Please refer to the third response to
David Stevenson, Caesar Rodney Institute.

Howard Fortunato; Delaware Home Builders Association
Comment: The proposed definition of small business as those "enterprises engaged in manufacturing,

agricultural production and personal service" is quite narrow. We believe that the process of developing land,
constructing and selling new homes, remodeling activity and general construction should be explicitly recognized
within this definition or at least considered as manufacturing. The process of construction, and developing and
building homes is heavily regulated by State agencies and many homebuilders are small businesses.

Why not include "construction, construction services, engineering, professional (accounting, legal services,
etc.), retail," etc.?  What is meant by "personal service"?

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. While we have no reason to believe the General Assembly
meant to exclude the businesses you mention, the definition of "Small Business" is established in the authorizing
legislation and in Delaware statute. We have added guidance to the definition of "personal service", based on
language found in 8 Del.C. §603 as follows that we believe addresses your concern:

A "personal service" is generally construed to mean the rendering of a service to the public, whether
by an individual or a legal entity, that requires a license or other legal authorization.

Comment: The definition of small business limits the firm's gross receipts to less than $10 million dollars.
Where did this figure come from? As an example, a homebuilding firm constructing homes averaging sales price of
$300,000 would yield 33 homes. Many small firms will sell more than that especially as the housing market
improves. And not to mention the gross receipts by remodelers, construction services, engineering and
professional services. We think a higher threshold, say $40 million dollars, would be reasonable.

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. Please refer to the first response to David Stevenson,
Caesar Rodney Institute.

Comment: Generally, the draft guidelines for the Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and the Regulatory Impact
Statements are very good. However, since regulations can apparently be self-exempted by State Agencies from
preparing these statements, there is no process noted to allow or disallow the claim of exemption. Is there any
process that someone reviews and approves or disapproves of the exemption claim?

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. The assertion of an exemption claim as permitted under the
statute is made by the agency proposing the regulation. The proposed regulations -- including any exemption claim
specified on the standard form for an RFA/RIS -- would be open for public comment for a minimum of 30 days after
a proposal is published. Any public comments on the exemption claim would be reviewed by the agency. Ultimately
approval or disapproval rests with the agency head who issues any final findings and regulatory orders.

Comment: Following #4 above, we think there should be a public hearing process for agencies that claim their
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regulations are exempt. Such public hearings should be noted in a more user friendly format than the one used for
the October 20, 2015 public hearing (ie the October State Register of Regulations) which we understand had only
one member of the public in attendance. Small businesses do not regularly scour this register; and instead to
benefit small business as is the scope and intent of the legislation, the notice for hearing should be circulated to
organizations of small businesses likely to be impacted including Chambers of Commerce, business groups and
trade associations such as us, Realtors, Engineers, Architects, etc. It should also be published using social media
outlets.

Agency response: Thank you for your comments. Please refer to the above response regarding the 30 day
comment period and the response to the second comment from David Stevenson.

James T. (Jay) Fuess; White Pine Energy Consulting LLC
Comment: I support Gerald Hocker's Senate Bills 113 and 120. We need less regulation not more.
Agency response: Thank you for your comments. The proposed guidelines are intended only to guide the

preparation of RFAs and RIAs and do not address the volume of regulations.

Joint comments from Kara Coates (DNREC), Nicole Majeski (DelDOT), and Deborah Gottschalk (DHSS)
Comment: On p. 290 of the Register publication, under "Guidelines", under the section of "Introduction", we

suggest the addition of the following sentences at the end of the first paragraph:

For agencies proposing amendments to existing regulation, the promulgating agency shall complete
the RFA and RIS for the proposed amended portion of the existing regulation only and not for the
entire existing regulation. All proposed regulations submitted on or before December 31, 2015 to the
Registrar for initial publication do not need to comply with these regulations.

Agency response: Thank you for your comments. The Introductions on page 290 has been amended to read
as follows:

Beginning January 1, 2016, agencies submitting proposed new or amended regulations that affect
small businesses or individuals are required, under the new Regulatory Transparency and
Accountability Acts of 2015 (see 80 Del. Laws, c. 112 and 113), to submit a Regulatory Flexibility
Analysis (RFA) and a Regulatory Impact Statement (RIS) with the proposed regulation to the Registrar
of Regulations (see 29 Del.C. Ch. 104). For agencies proposing amendments to existing regulations,
the promulgating agency shall only be required to complete the RFA and RIS for the proposed
amended portion of the existing regulation, and not for the entire existing regulation.

Comment: On p 297 of the Register publication, under "Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement
Form for Proposed New and Amended Regulations Affecting Small Businesses or Individuals, under the section of
"Introduction", we suggest the addition of the following sentence at the end of the first paragraph of that section:

All proposed regulations submitted on or before December 31, 2015 to the Registrar for initial
publication do not need to comply with these regulations.

Agency response: Thank you for your comments. The Introductions on page 297 has been amended to read
as follows:

Beginning January 1, 2016, agencies submitting proposed new or amended regulations that affect
small businesses or individuals are required, under the new Regulatory Transparency and
Accountability Acts of 2015 (see 80 Del. Laws, c. 112 and 113), to submit a Regulatory Flexibility
Analysis (RFA) and a Regulatory Impact Statement (RIS) with the proposed regulation to the Registrar
of Regulations (see 29 Del.C. Ch. 104).

Comment: On p 297 of the Register publication, under "Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement
Form for Proposed New and Amended Regulations Affecting Small Businesses or Individuals, under the section of
"Introduction", we suggest the addition of the following sentence at the end of the last paragraph of that section:

For agencies proposing amendments to existing regulation, the promulgating agency shall complete
the RFA and RIS for the proposed amended portion of the existing regulation only, and not for the
entire existing regulation.

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. The recommended sentence has been added to the
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paragraph.

Comment: The entire body of the proposed regulations should be consistent with regards to the use of the
terms "amendment" and "revision" throughout the document - and it is not. This should be corrected prior to
finalization of this promulgation:

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. The final version will be corrected.

Comment: On p 292 of the Register publication, under the section of "Regulatory Flexibility Analysis (RFA)",
we believe this section of the proposed regulation should specifically state who determines that a proposed
regulation is "substantially likely to impose additional costs or burdens….". Thus we suggest the following
additional language be inserted into the first sentence of the first paragraph of that section as follows: (added
language in italics). 

The RFA is required when the promulgating agency's Cabinet Secretary or applicable agency head, in
consultation with the agency's Deputy Attorney General has determined that a proposed regulation is
substantially likely to impose additional costs or burdens on small businesses and individual regulated
parties.

Agency response: Thank you for your comment. Though we believe the recommendation may be best
practice for agencies to follow we do not agree that it should be mandatory. The paragraph has been amended to
include that point.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed guidelines as set forth in the October 2015 Register of Regulations

with the insubstantial changes noted above should be adopted. While the Office of Management and Budget
appreciates the other suggestions brought forth, it is felt the existing content of the guidelines as published in the
October 2015 Register of Regulations with the noted changes fulfills the requirements of the authorizing legislation.

NOW THEREFORE, under the statutory authority and for the reasons set forth above, the Director of the
Delaware Office of Management and Budget does hereby ORDER that the Guidelines be adopted. The guidelines
are applicable for all new and amended regulations submitted to the Registrar for initial publication on or after
January 1, 2016.

Ann Shepard Visalli, Director
Office of Management and Budget

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

Guidelines for Agency Regulatory Statements Required under the Regulatory Flexibility Act
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF WATERSHED STEWARDSHIP

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 40 (7 Del.C. Ch.40)
7 DE Admin. Code 5101

SECRETARY’S ORDER NO: 2015-WS-0043
WITHDRAWAL OF EMERGENCY REGULATIONS ADOPTED BY ORDER: 2015-WS-0040

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10111

5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10111 et seq., the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
withdraws the emergency regulations adopted via Secretary’s Order 2015-WS-0040 for the 2014 Delaware
Sediment & Stormwater Regulations, and October 2015 Technical Document (7 DE Admin. Code 5101). It should
be noted that the emergency regulations were intended as interim measures, necessary to avoid harm to the public
health, safety, and welfare, pending the formal adoption of regulations pursuant to the APA. However, a recent
ruling by the Delaware Superior Court on October 27, 2015 granted a stay of the application of the October 7, 2015
ruling by the Delaware Superior Court in Baker, et al. v. DNREC, et al. (C. A. No. S13C-08-026 THG) which
invalidated the 2013 and 2014 version of the Delaware Sediment & Stormwater Regulations on procedural
grounds. The Department appealed this October 7, 2015 ruling to the Delaware Supreme Court on Friday, October
9 and simultaneously submitted a Motion for Stay of the decision of the Superior Court pending appeal. Following
issuance of a Stay the need for the emergency regulations is eliminated.

The emergency regulations were to be published in the November 1, 2015 Register, but publication has also
been withdrawn.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

This Order shall take effect at 12:01 AM on October 31, 2015.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, the 30th day of October 2015, that the above referenced emergency regulations for 2014
Delaware Sediment & Stormwater Regulations with the October 2015 Technical Document, adopted pursuant to
Secretary’s Order 2015-WS-0040 are withdrawn.

David S. Small, Secretary

http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/swc/Pages/portal.aspx
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Thoroughbred Racing Commission proposes to amend its Regulations adopted in accordance with Title 3,
Chapter 101. The purpose of the amended regulations is to delete the whipping rule currently found at rule 10.9.4
and then to adopt a new whipping rule as rule 14.18.2 that adds the words “excessive, abusive” to the text of the
former whipping rule 10.9.4. Other regulations issued by the Thoroughbred Racing Commission are not affected by
this proposal. The Thoroughbred Racing Commission is issuing these proposed regulations in accordance with
Title 3 of the Delaware Code. This notice is issued pursuant to the requirements of Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the
Delaware Code.

A copy of the proposed regulations is being published in the December 1, 2015 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations. A copy is also on file in the office of the Thoroughbred Racing Commission, 777 Delaware
Park Boulevard, Wilmington, Delaware 19804 and is available for inspection during regular office hours. Copies are
also published online at the Register of Regulations website: http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/
current_issue.shtml.

Interested parties may offer written comments on the proposed regulations or submit written suggestions, data,
briefs or other materials to the Thoroughbred Racing Commission at the above address as to whether these
proposed regulations should be adopted, rejected or modified. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), public comments
must be received on or before January 1, 2016. Written materials submitted will be available for inspection at the
above address.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday, December 17, 2015 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

1409 Insurance Coverage for Telemedicine and Telehealth
PUBLIC NOTICE

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAREN WELDIN STEWART hereby gives notice of proposed Department of
Insurance Regulation 1409 relating to Insurance Coverage for Telemedicine and Telehealth. The docket
number for this proposed regulation is 2988.

House Bill 69 as amended by House Amendment No. 1 and Senate Amendment No. 1 of the 148th General
Assembly provides for the use of telemedicine and telehealth in Delaware as of January 1, 2016. The proposed
regulation sets standards for the coverage of health care services provided through the use of telemedicine and
telehealth. The Delaware Code authority for this proposed regulation is 18 Del.C. §§311, 3370 and 3571R; and 29
Del.C. Ch. 101.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation. The proposed
regulation appears below and can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s website at

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/.
Any person can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other materials

concerning the proposed regulation. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed
regulation must be received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m. EST, Thursday, December 31,
2015. Any such requests should be directed to:

Regulatory Specialist Rhonda West
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Delaware Department of Insurance

841 Silver Lake Boulevard

Dover, DE 19904

Phone: (302) 674-7379

Fax: (302) 739-5566

Email: rhonda.west@state.de.us

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF PARKS AND RECREATION
9201 Regulations Governing State Parks

PUBLIC NOTICE

As a result of the General Assembly passing and Governor Markell signing SB 114, changes to the Rules and
Regulations are needed. The penalties for twenty three of the twenty eight sections of the Park Rules and
Regulations have been changed to Environmental D violations. The remaining sections' penalty is unchanged.
Other changes have been made to reflect updated Division policies and concerns.

The hearing record on the proposed changes to 7 DE Admin. Code 9201 Regulations Governing State Parks
will be open December 1, 2015. Individuals may submit written comments regarding the proposed changes via e-
mail to Lisa.Vest@state.de.us or via the USPS to Lisa Vest, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89 Kings Highway, Dover,
DE 19901 (302) 739-9042. A public hearing on the proposed amendment will be held on December 22, 2015
beginning at 6:00 PM at the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE, 19901. Please note that all
comment submitted to the Department in this matter should be limited to the scope of this proposed regulatory
promulgation, to wit: only regarding the proposed amendments to the aforementioned regulations found at 7 DE
Admin. Code 9201.

DIVISION OF WATERSHED STEWARDSHIP
5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations

PUBLIC NOTICE

A Superior Court decision of October 7, 2015 invalidated the 2013 and 2014 version of the Delaware Sediment
and Stormwater Regulations on procedural grounds because the accompanying Technical Document referenced
by the regulations was not published in the State Register in accordance with Administrative Procedure Act
requirements. This action is being taken to publish the Technical Document in the State Register as a separate
document referenced in 5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations. Within the Technical Document, the
Residential Construction Standard Plan section (3.01.1.1) has been updated.

The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) Division of Watershed
Stewardship will conduct a public hearing on Regulation No. 5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations,
incorporating the Technical Document by reference.

The public hearing for Regulation No. 5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations will be held Tuesday,
January 5, 2016, at 6:00 p.m. in the DNREC Auditorium, Richardson and Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE 19901.

The proposed regulation and referenced Technical Document may be inspected on the DNREC Division of
Watershed Stewardship’s Sediment and Stormwater Program website: http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/swc/Pages/
SedimentStormwater.aspx

For additional information or any appointments to inspect the proposed regulation revisions at DNREC, please
contact Elaine Webb, DNREC Sediment and Stormwater Program, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, (302)
739-9921, Elaine.Webb@state.de.us.

Interested parties shall submit comments in writing on the proposed regulation revisions by the end of the
comment period, as designated by the hearing officer at this hearing, to Elaine Webb and/or statements and
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testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at the January 5, 2016 public hearing. It is requested that
those interested in presenting statements at the public hearing register in advance and that written statements and
comments be addressed to:

Elaine Webb

DNREC – Sediment and Stormwater Program

89 Kings Highway

Dover, DE 19901

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR 
FAMILIES

DIVISION OF PREVENTION AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES
Qualifications for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners

PUBLIC NOTICE

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code), and under the authority of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 90, §9005, (7), the Department of
Services for Children, Youth and Their Families (DSCYF) / Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services
(DPBHS) is proposing to create qualification for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Stephen Perales, Office of the Director,
Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services, 1825 Faulkland Road, Wilmington, DE 19805-1195 or by
fax to 302-622-4475 by December 31, 2015. Please identify in the subject line: Qualifications for Juvenile Mental
Health Screeners.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

5200 BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5206(1), proposes
to revise its regulations. The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on March 8, 2016 at
1:00 p.m., in the Second Floor Conference Room B, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904.
Written comments should be sent to Flora Peer, Administrator of the Delaware Board of Nursing Home
Administrators, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904.

Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above address in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a).

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Pedestrian Accessibility Standards
PUBLIC NOTICE

The DelDOT Pedestrian Accessibility Standards for Facilities in the Public Right of Way or "DelDOT Pedestrian
Standards" combines into one document the requirements, guidelines and best practices for accessible pedestrian
facilities in the public transportation right of way as identified by the:
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• Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 or ADA; (http://www.ada.gov/)
• ADA Standards for Transportation Facilities 2006 or 2006 Standards adopted by the US Department of

Transportation; (www.dot.gov/accessibility )
• Draft Public Right of Way Accessibility Guidelines or PROWAG 2011 developed by the US Access

Board; (http://www.access-board.gov/guidelines-and-standards/streets-sidewalks/public-rights-of-way/
proposed-rights-of-way-guidelines)

• Accessibility Guidelines for Pedestrian Facilities in the Public Right-of-Way or PROWAG Supplement
2013; Shared Use Paths; http://www.access-board.gov/guidelines-and-standards/streets-sidewalks/
shared-use-paths. The 2013 PROWAG Supplement includes unchanged PROWAG 2011 guidance as
well as revised PROWAG 2011 guidance and new guidance on a variety of pedestrian system
features.

• US Department of Justice or DOJ; (http://www.justice.gov/), and
• US Department of Transportation or USDOT; (http://www.dot.gov/).

The standards provided in this document, in concert with the Delaware Manual on Uniform Traffic Control
Devices or DE MUTCD, http://deldot.gov/information/pubs_forms/manuals/de_mutcd/) are intended to assist all
public and private sector transportation planners and engineers in the effort to achieve a more consistent approach
to planning, design, construction and maintenance of accessible pedestrian facilities in the public transportation
right of way. The Pedestrian Accessibility Standards for Facilities in the Public Right of Way have been developed
to meet the spirit and intent of the legislation as well as the regulatory requirements and guidance of ADA, DOJ and
USDOT as of the date of this publication. The primary reference documents used are the 2006 US DOT Standards
with citations noted as numbers (e.g., 101.1) and the US Access Board's 2011 and 2013 PROWAG with citations
noted as numbers preceded by R (e.g., R101.1).

Please send any comments no later than December 31, 2015 to the attention of:

Jim Pappas

Assistant Director

Office of Performance Management

Delaware Department of Transportation

800 Bay Road

Dover, DE 19903

james.pappas@state.de.us
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