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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An 
example would be:

8 DE Reg. 757-772 (12/01/04)

Refers to Volume 8, pages 757-772 of the 
Delaware Register issued on December 1, 2004.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00. Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage. For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency 
proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a 
regulation, it shall file notice and full text of such 
proposals, together with copies of the existing 
regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, 
with the Registrar for publication in the Register 
of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The 
notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings 
including a brief synopsis of the subject, 
substance, issues, possible terms of the agency 
action, a reference to the legal authority of the 
agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views; if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will 
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, 
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal 
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation. The notice shall 
also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
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materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include: (1) A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received; (4) The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 

unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Moved to Department of State, 75 Del. Laws, Ch. 88, June 30, 2005.
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Moved to Department of State, 75 Del. Laws, Ch. 88, June 30, 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

101 On-Farm Home Food Processing Operations.................................................................. 9 DE Reg.    12  (Prop.)
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

502 Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund.......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   111  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

275 Charter Schools................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.     19  (Prop.)
716 Maintenance of Local School District Personnel Records.............................................. 9 DE Reg.     27  (Prop.)
727 Credit for Experience for Educators and for Secretarial Staff......................................... 9 DE Reg.     28  (Prop.)
764 (Previously 364) Credentials for an Interpreter Tutor for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 9 DE Reg.   113  (Final)
765 (Previously 365) Credentials for a Resident Advisor in the Statewide Programs for 

Autism and for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   115  (Final)
920 Educational Programs for Students with Limited English Proficiency........................... 9 DE Reg.     30  (Prop.)
930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound).............................................................................. 9 DE Reg.     34  (Prop.)
1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA)................................................ 9 DE Reg.   117  (Final)
1008 DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic Athletics ........................................ 9 DE Reg.   124  (Final)
1009 DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics..................................................... 9 DE Reg.   126  (Final)
1105 School Transportation.................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.     35  (Prop.)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
324 Driver Education and Traffic Safety Education Teacher................................................. 9 DE Reg.     46  (Prop.)
332 Certification Technology Education Teacher................................................................... 9 DE Reg.     49  (Prop.)
370 Certification Teacher of Autistic/Severely Disabled Children........................................ 9 DE Reg.     51  (Prop.)
1513 Denial of Licenses......................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   138  (Final)
1528 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive.................................. 9 DE Reg.     54  (Prop.)
1529 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher Secondary, Repeal of......................... 9 DE Reg.     57  (Prop.)
1533 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher Elementary, Repeal of....................... 9 DE Reg.     58  (Prop.)
1565 Standard Certificate  School-To-Work Transition Teacher............................................ 9 DE Reg.   136  (Final)
1584 Permits Paraeducators.................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   139  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

4462 Public Drinking Water Systems..................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.    59  (Prop.)
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
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9 DE Reg.    73  (Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE

Shellfish:
3210 Horseshoe Crab Reporting Requirements.............................................................. 9 DE Reg.      9  (Emer.)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1100 Board of Dental Examiners............................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.     77 (Final)
2500 Board of Pharmacy........................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.     85 (Final)
5200 Board of Nursing Home Administrators........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   104 (Final)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Regulation Docket No. 55, Regarding the Minimum Standards for Service Provided by 

Public Wastewater Utilities Subject to the Jurisdiction of the Delaware Public Service 
Commission..................................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   105  (Final)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Appointments ................................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.    47
Executive Order No. 68, Establishing the Health Disparities Task Force..................................... 9 DE Reg.  144
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Overseen by the Delaware Department of Transportation ..................................................... 9 DE Reg.  145
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Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119 an agency may promulgate a regulatory change as an Emergency under the following
conditions:

§ 10119. Emergency regulations.
If an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the adoption, amendment or

repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by § 10115, the following rules shall apply:
(1) The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that it

finds practicable;
(2) The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state, in writing, the reasons for the agency's

determination that such emergency action is necessary;
(3) The order effecting such action may be effective for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed

once for a period not exceeding 60 days;
(4) When such an order is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or authorized by this

chapter, the agency shall state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person
for the reconsideration or revision thereof; and

(5) The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next issue of the
Register of Regulations. (60 Del. Laws, c. 585, § 1; 62 Del. Laws, c. 301, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 48, § 10.)

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code, Section 

512  (31 Del.C. §512)

EMERGENCY REGULATION

Client Cost Sharing for Pharmaceutical Services:
Cumulative Maximum

Nature of the Proceedings:

This Emergency Regulation is being promulgated to
amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and the Division of
Social Services Manual (DSSM) to establish a cumulative
maximum on pharmacy co-payments effective July 1, 2005.
Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) must
take this action on an emergency basis to ensure access to
quality healthcare. The Department has determined that a
threat to the public welfare exists if it is not implemented
without prior notice or hearing.

Nature of Proposed Amendment:

Statutory Basis:
• 42 CFR §447.54(d)

Amending the Following Title XIX Medicaid State Plan
Pages:

• Page 56a
• Attachment 4.18-A, Page 3

Amending the Following Sections of the Division of
Social Services Manual:

• 14960.1
• 14960.1.1

Summary of Amendment Provisions:
On June 1, 2005, DSS published a Notice of Intent to

amend its client cost-sharing regulations for pharmacy
services.  The purpose of this action is to give public notice
of the agency’s intent to submit an amendment to the Title
XIX Medicaid State Plan to the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) to establish a cumulative
maximum on pharmacy co-payments, effective July 1, 2005.

To encourage and facilitate client access to
pharmaceutical care services, an emergency regulation is
needed for the immediate implementation of a cumulative
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maximum. This action is necessary to minimize adverse
impacts to clients.

To ensure that the state delivers an accessible medical
assistance prescription drug program, the following
describes the proposed change for pharmacy co-payments,
effective July 1, 2005:

A cumulative maximum is established as described
below:

$15.00 cumulative monthly maximum co-
payment amount aggregated for pharmacy
services. 

Once a client has met the individual monthly maximum
co-payment for his or her prescriptions, the Point of Sale
(POS) System will NOT indicate a co-payment is due.
Medicaid will keep track of the cumulative number of
prescriptions for a client with co-payments. Any
prescriptions dispensed after the cumulative maximum
monthly co-payment amount is met are not subject to a co-
payment. Reversal of a previously filled prescription with a
co-payment will require a refund of the co-payment to the
individual, and will cause the next prescription filled for that
client to be adjudicated with a co-payment.

By implementing this process, the Department ensures
that a cumulative maximum is likely to benefit all eligible
Medicaid clients with continued access to prescription
medications.

The proposed cumulative maximum pharmacy
requirements are subject to approval by the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that this change should be made
in the best interest of the general public of the State of
Delaware. The Department will receive, consider, and
respond to petitions by any interested person for the
reconsideration or revision thereof.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
amendment to the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and the
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) to establish a
cumulative maximum on pharmacy co-payments be adopted
on an emergency basis without prior notice or hearing, and
shall become effective July 1, 2005.
 

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS 

DSS EMERGENCY ORDER #05-36a
Page 56a

Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) OMB No.: 0938-
AUGUST 1991

State/Territory: Delaware

Citation 4.18 (b) (3) (Continued)

42 CFR 447.51 (iii) For the categorically needy
through 447.58 and qualified Medicare

beneficiaries,
ATTACHMENT 4.18-A
specifies the:
A. Service(s) for which a

charge(s) is applied;
B. Nature of the charge

imposed on each service;
C. Amount(s) of and basis for

determining the charge(s);
D. Method used to collect the

charge(s);
E. Basis for determining

whether an individual is
unable to pay the charge and
the means by which such an
individual is identified to
providers;

F. Procedures for implementing
and enforcing the exclusions
from cost sharing contained
in 42 CFR 447.53 (b); and

G. Cumulative maximum that
applies to all deductible,
coinsurance or co-payment
charges imposed on a
specified time period.

X Not applicable.  There is no
maximum.
Not applicable.  There is no
maximum.
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DSS EMERGENCY ORDER #05-36b

ATTACHMENT 4.18-A
Page 3

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

E. Cumulative maximums on charges:
State policy does not provide maximums.

X Cumulative maximum has been established as
described below:

$15.00 cumulative monthly maximum co-payment
amount aggregated for pharmacy services.

Once a client has met the individual monthly maximum
co-payment for his or her prescriptions, the Point of Sale
(POS) System will NOT indicate a co-payment is due.
Medicaid will keep track of the cumulative number of
prescriptions for a client with co-payments. Any
prescriptions dispensed after the cumulative maximum
monthly co-payment amount is met are not subject to a co-
payment. Reversal of a previously filled prescription with a
co-payment will require a refund of the co-payment to the
individual, and will cause the next prescription filled for that
client to be adjudicated with a co-payment.

DSS EMERGENCY ORDER #05-36c

14960.1 Co-Payment Requirement

Effective January 10, 2005, clients have a nominal co-
payment will be imposed for generic and brand name
prescription drugs as well as over-the-counter drugs
prescribed by a practitioner.

The co-payment is based upon the cost of the drug as
follows:

The co-payment is imposed for each drug that is
prescribed and dispensed.

149601.1 Cumulative Maximum Monthly Co-payment
Effective July 1, 2005, there is a cumulative maximum

monthly co-payment amount equal to $15.00 for each
recipient. Any prescriptions dispensed after the cumulative

maximum monthly co-payment amount is met are not
subject to a co-payment.

Medicaid Payment for the 
Drug

Co-payment

$10.00 or less $  .50
$10.01 to $25.00 $1.00
$25.01 to $50.00 $2.00
$50.01 or more $3.00
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation.  The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Chapter 5, Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch. 5, §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Child Care Development Fund Services October 1, 2003 
through September 30, 2005

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding the Child Care Development Fund
Services for the period October 1, 2003 through September
30, 2005.

On June 1, 2005, DSS published a Notice of Intent to
amend its state plan for Child Care Development Fund
Services.  Because of the substantive nature of these
changes, DSS is now republishing this regulation as a
proposal for public comment pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10115
and 10118.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must

submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by August 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROVISIONS

Statutory Basis

• "Section 658E of the Child Care & Development
Block Grant of 1990, as amended; and,

• "45 CFR §§98.10 98.18

Summary of Amendment

1) Beginning June 2005 license exempt in-home
providers are required to complete 45 hours of training
consisting of Health, Safety & Nutrition (9 hours); CPR and
First Aid (6 hours); Child Development (15 hours);
Understanding Children's Behavior (12 hours); and
Understanding Early Literacy and Language Development
(3 hours).

2) Existing providers have six months upon notice
from The Family & Workplace Connection (FWC) to enroll
and complete required training.
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3) New providers must complete training within 90
days of beginning their contract with the Division of Social
Services.  Classes are provided by the FWC and are offered
during the day and evening.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-38

Section 6.4 - Health and Safety Requirements for In-
Home Providers (658E(c)(2)(F), §§98.41, 98.16(j))

6.4.3 For in-home care that is NOT licensed,
and therefore not reflected in NRCHSCC's compilation, the
following health and safety requirements apply to child care
services provided under the CCDF for:

• The prevention and control of infectious disease
(including age-appropriate immunizations)
In-home providers: provide or maintain clean

furnishings, free from rodents and insects; maintain
documentation of immunization status; separate
children with symptoms of illness from other children in
care; provide a clean and sanitary place for storing and
changing diapers; wash hands before and after diapering
and before serving meals.  In-home providers must self-
certify that they intend to operate a healthy and safe
facility.

• Building and physical premises safety
In-home providers:  Screens must be in good

repair; protective receptacle covers for electrical; outlets
have or have access to a working telephone; operable
flash lights; first aid kits; adequate space for play and
movement; storage of flammable materials away from
children; kitchens must be clean and food storage areas
clean; compliance with applicable community
regulations; play equipment must be safe; outdoor area
must be accessible by a safe route; play areas near
hazards must be fenced or otherwise protected, in-home
providers must self-certify.

• Health and safety training
In-home providers: must read and review information

provided about health and safety, and attend Office of Child
Licensing workshops as deemed necessary.

In addition, these providers must attend an initial DSS
sponsored workshop.  This workshop explains DSS rules for
care, its reimbursement policies, payment and attendance
reporting requirements, and provides tips for good child care
and safety practices.

Also, the providers are required to have both a child
abuse registry and criminal history check. A negative
outcome results in termination of service.

Providers are required to have both a child abuse
registry and criminal history check.  A negative outcome
results in termination of service.

In addition, these providers must attend an initial DSS
sponsored workshop.  This workshop explains DSS rules for
care, its reimbursement policies, payment and attendance
reporting requirements.

Beginning June 2005 license exempt in-home providers
are required to complete 45 hours of training consisting of
Health, Safety & Nutrition (9 hours); CPR and First Aid (6
hours); Child Development (15 hours); Understanding
Children’s Behavior (12 hours); and Understanding Early
Literacy and Language Development (3 hours).

Existing providers have six months upon notice from
The Family & Workplace Connection (FWC) to enroll and
complete required training.

New providers must complete training within 90 days of
beginning their contract with the Division of Social Services.
Classes are provided by the FWC and are offered during the
day and evening.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C.  §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Self-Employment Income

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend several policies in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) to implement a simplified way to
calculate self-employment income.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by August 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dss/index.html


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 169
Summary of Proposed Changes

Citations
• Section 812 of the Personal Responsibility and

Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act
(PRWORA) of 1996;

• 7 CFR 273.11(a)(2)(i); and,
• 7 CFR 273.2(b)(3)(v).

1. Instead of detailing each cost of doing business,
Delaware proposes to mandate a flat percentage deduction of
44 percent to gross self-employment income as the cost of
producing income.  The 44 percent flat rate applies to all
self-employment income cases for all assistance programs,
including Cash Assistance, Child Care, Food Stamps and
applicable Medicaid/Medical Assistance Programs.

2. The standard will be updated annually to reflect
changes in the economy and the cost-of-living adjustment
(COLA).

3. The standard deduction reflects an average of the
self-employment costs which is 44 percent.

4. The change shall also be applied to ongoing cases at
the time of the next review/redetermination or interim
change involving the affected policy unless otherwise
indicated.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATIONS #05-33
REVISIONS:

CASH ASSISTANCE

4004.1 Sources of Earned Income
1. Wages – Gross earnings paid to the employee

before deductions for taxes, FICA, insurance, etc. are
counted.  Sick pay or vacation pay is considered as a wage as
long as it is paid as a wage.  If sick pay is paid through an
insurance company as disability pay, it is considered
unearned income.  

NOTE: Earnings paid to employees under contract
are averaged over the number of months covered by the
contract.  EXAMPLE:  A teacher is under contract for a full
calendar year, but may choose to collect his pay during the
school year.  His wages for public assistance purposes are
budgeted over the full year.

2. Self-employment – Gross earned income from self-
employment is determined by subtracting business expenses
(supplies, equipment, etc.) from gross proceeds. The
individual’s personal expenses (lunch, transportation,
income tax, etc.) are not deducted as business expenses but
are deducted by using the standard allowance for work
connected expenses (See DSSM 4004.2 and 4004.3).

Self-Employment Standard Deduction for Producing
Income

The cost for producing income is a standard deduction
of the gross income. This standard deduction is a percentage
of the gross income determined annually and listed in the
Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA) notice each October.

The standard deduction is considered the cost to
produce income. The gross income test is applied after the
standard deduction. The earned income deductions are then
applied to the net self-employment income and any other
earned income in the household.

The standard deduction applies to all self-employed
households with costs to produce income. To receive the
standard deduction, the self-employed household must
provide and verify they have business costs to produce
income.  The verifications can include, but are not limited to,
tax records, ledgers, business records, receipts, check
receipts, and business statements. The self-employed
household does not have to verify all their business costs to
receive the standard deduction.

Self-employed households not claiming or verifying any
costs to produce income will not receive the standard
deduction.

The self-employment standard deduction will be
reviewed annually to determine if an adjustment in the
percentage amount is needed.

Self-employed persons must submit evidence of gross
proceeds and business expenses or income tax statements to
verify earnings.

3. Farming  - Farming is defined as raising crops,
livestock, or poultry for profit.  Gross earned income from
farming is determined by subtracting the farmer’s operating
expenses from sales.  Produce grown for home consumption
is not considered income.

4. Room and Board Income – [See 4006 for treatment
of cash payments for shared living expenses.]  Income from
the operation of a rooming and/or boarding home is
considered earned income.  The following disregards are
deducted from gross proceeds as operating expenses.  These
expenses are deducted before any earned income disregards
are subtracted from income.

Roomers only – subtract $10.00 per month per person.
(A roomer is a person who rents living space in the home.)

Boarders only – subtract $30.00 per month per person.
(A boarder is a person who purchases meals provided in the
home, but does not live there.)

Roomers and Boarders – subtract $46.00 per month per
person.  (A roomer and boarder does both.)

EXAMPLE:An individual operates a rooming and
boarding home.  She has three (3) roomers who each pay
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS170
$60.00 per month and two (2) roomers and boarders who
each pay $100.00 per month.

$180.00  -Payment from roomers $60 x 3
-30.00  -Disregards for roomers $10 x 3
$150.00
$200.00  -Payment from roomers and boarders ($100 x 

2)
-92.00  -Disregard for roomers and boarders ($46 x 2)

$108.00 

$150.00
+108.00
$258.00   Total gross income from roomers and boarders

(Earned income disregards appropriate to the category of
assistance are subtracted in the budgeting process.  See
DSSM 4004.2 and 4004.3).

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

FOOD STAMPS

9074.2 Allowable Costs of Producing Self-Employment
Income

(1) Allowable costs of producing self-employment
income include, but are not limited to:

· The identifiable costs of labor;
· stock;
· raw material;
· seed and fertilizer;
· payments on the principal of the purchase price

of income-producing real estate and capital
assets, equipment, machinery, and other
durable goods;

· interest paid to purchase income-producing
property;

· insurance premiums; and
· taxes paid on income-producing property.

(2) The following items are not allowable costs of
doing business:

· net losses from previous periods;
· Federal, State and local income taxes, money set

aside for retirement purposes, and other work-related
personal expenses like transportation to and from work.
(Work-related personal expenses are covered under the 20
percent earned income deduction.)

· depreciation; and
· any amount that exceeds the payment a household

receives from a boarder for lodging and meals.

(3) Calculate the costs of producing self-employment
income using the actual costs according to (b)(1) or
determine self-employment expenses as follows:

· For income from day care, use the current
reimbursement amounts used in the Child and Adult Care
Food Program.

· For income from boarders, other than those in
commercial boarding houses or from foster care boarders,
use the maximum food stamp allotment for a household size
that is equal to the number of boarders.

· For income from foster care boarders, refer to
DSSM 9013.1.

9074.2 Self-Employment Standard Deduction for
Producing Income

The cost for producing income is a standard deduction
of the gross income. This standard deduction is a percentage
of the gross income determined annually and is listed in the
Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA) notice each October.

The standard deduction is considered the cost to
produce income. The gross income test is applied after the
standard deduction. The 20% earned income deduction is
then applied to the net self-employment income and any
other earned income in the household.

The standard deduction applies to all self-employed
households with costs to produce income. To receive the
standard deduction, self-employed households must provide
and verify they have business costs to produce income.  The
verifications can include, but are not limited to, tax records,
ledgers, business records, receipts, check receipts, and
business statements. The self-employed household does not
have to verify all its business costs to receive the standard
deduction.

Self-employed households not claiming or verifying any
costs to produce income will not receive the standard
deduction.

The self-employment standard deduction will be
reviewed annually to determine if an adjustment in the
percentage amount is needed.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

9075 Procedure for Calculating Income Which Can Be
Annualized to Reflect Monthly Calculations

1) Add all gross self-employment (including capital
gains) for the period of time over which the self-employment
income is determined.

2) Subtract the total cost of producing the income self-
employment standard deduction.

3) Divide the income by the number of months over
which the income will be averaged.
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4) For those households whose self-employment
income is not averaged but is instead calculated on an
anticipated basis, add any capital gains the household
anticipates it will receive in the next 12 months, starting with
the date the application is filed, and divide this amount by
12. This amount shall be used in successive certification
periods during the next 12 months, except that a new average
monthly amount shall be calculated over this 12-month
period if the anticipated amount of capital gains changes.
Add the anticipated monthly amount of capital gains to the
anticipated monthly self-employment income, and subtract
the cost of producing the self-employment income. The cost
of producing the self-employment income will be calculated
by anticipating the monthly allowable costs of producing the
self-employment income. self-employment standard
deduction.

Calculation I - Gross Income
(a) Anticipated capital gains for 12-month period

beginning with date of application.
(b) + Anticipated gross self-employment income.
(c) = Gross self-employment income.

Calculation II - Costs of Operations  
(a) Gross allowable costs of operation.
(b) + Gross depreciation.
(c) = Total cost of operation.
Calculation III - Net Self-employment Income
(a) Gross self-employment income.
(b) - Total cost of operation  self-employment

standard deduction
(c) Divided by 12
(d) = Net monthly self-employment income.

(Break In Continuity of Sections)

CHILD CARE

11003.9.1 Countable Income
A. All sources of income, earned (such as wages) and

unearned (such as child support, social security pensions,
etc.) are countable income when determining a family's
monthly gross income.  Monthly gross income typically
includes the following:

1. Money from wages or salary, such as total
money earnings from work performed as an employee,
including wages, salary, Armed Forces pay, commissions,
tips, piece rate payments and cash bonuses earned before
deductions are made for taxes, bonds, pensions, union dues,
etc.

2. Gross income from farm or non-farm self-
employment is determined by subtracting business expenses
such as supplies, equipment, etc. from gross proceeds the
self-employment standard deduction for producing income
as described below. The individual's personal expenses
(lunch, transportation, income tax, etc.) are not deducted as
business expenses but are deducted by using the TANF
standard allowance for work connected expenses.  In the
case of unusual situations (such as parent/caretaker just
beginning business), refer to DSSM 9056 and 9074.

Self-Employment Standard Deduction for Producing
Income

The cost for producing income is a standard deduction
of the gross income.  This standard deduction is a percentage
of the gross income determined annually and listed in the
Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA) notice each October.

The standard deduction is considered the cost to
produce income. The gross income test is applied after the
standard deduction. The earned income deductions are then
applied to the net self-employment income and any other
earned income in the household.

The standard deduction applies to all self-employed
households with costs to produce income. To receive the
standard deduction, the self-employed household must
provide and verify they have business costs to produce
income.  The verifications can include, but are not limited to,
tax records, ledgers, business records, receipts, check
receipts, and business statements. The self-employed
household does not have to verify all their business costs to
receive the standard deduction.

Self-employed households not claiming or verifying any
costs to produce income will not receive the standard
deduction.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

MEDICAID/MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

15120.2 Financial Eligibility
TANF rules on income standards and methodologies

(disregards, exclusions, allocations) apply to Section 1931
Medicaid except as provided in this section.

For Section 1931 Medicaid, there are two income tests
to determine financial eligibility. The first test is a gross
income test and the second is a net income test.  For the
gross income test, compare the family's gross income to
185% of the applicable standard of need.  For the net income
test, compare the family's net income to the applicable
standard of need.

Financial eligibility for both applicant and recipient
families will be calculated using the 30 and 1/3 disregard if
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applicable.  This disregard allows the deduction of $30 plus
1/3 of the remaining earned income after the standard
allowance for work connected expenses is subtracted.

The $30 plus 1/3 disregard is applied to earned income
for four (4) consecutive months. If Medicaid under Section
1931 or employment ends before the fourth month, the
earner is eligible for the disregard for four (4) additional
months upon reapplication or re-employment.

When an earner's wages are so low ($90 or less in the
month) that the income is zero before any part of the $30
plus 1/3 disregard can be applied, that month does not count
as one of the four (4) consecutive months and the earner is
eligible for the disregard for four (4) additional months.

After the $30 plus 1/3 disregard has been applied for
four (4) consecutive months, the 1/3 disregard is removed
from the budget.  The $30 disregard continues to be
deducted from earned income for eight (8) consecutive
months.  The $30 disregard is not repeated if an individual
stops working or 1931 Medicaid ends before the completion
of the eight (8) consecutive months.  If 1931 Medicaid ends
and the family reapplies, the $30 disregard from earned
income is continued until the end of the original eight (8)
consecutive months.

Unlike the $30 plus 1/3 disregard which is dependent
upon the family having sufficient earned income and being
1931 Medicaid recipients, the $30 disregard is for a specific
time period.  This time period begins when the $30 plus 1/3
disregard ends and is not dependent upon the family having
earned income or 1931 Medicaid.  

When an earner has received the $30 and 1/3 disregard
in four (4) consecutive months and the $30 deduction has
been available for eight (8) consecutive additional months,
neither disregard can be applied to earned income until the
individual has not received Medicaid under Section 1931 for
twelve (12) consecutive months.

All earned income is disregarded for the second and
third months of eligibility.

All earned income is disregarded for 12 months after
employment causes ineligibility.

A self-employment standard deduction is used to
calculate self-employment income. The self-employment
standard deduction is considered the cost to produce income.
The self-employment standard deduction is a percentage that
is determined annually and announced in the Cost-of-Living
Adjustment (COLA) Administrative Notice each October.

To calculate self-employment income, use the gross
proceeds and subtract the self- employment standard
deduction.  The result is the amount included in the gross
income test (185% of the applicable standard of need).
Standard earned income deductions are then applied to the

self-employment income for the net income test (the
applicable standard of need).

To receive the self-employment standard deduction, the
individual must provide verification that costs are incurred to
produce the self-employment income.  Verification can
include, but is not limited to, tax records, ledgers, business
records, receipts, check receipts, and business statements.
The individual does not have to verify all business costs to
receive the standard deduction.

If the individual does not claim or verify any costs to
produce the self-employment income, the self-employment
standard deduction will not be applied.  

Any diversion assistance provided does not count as
income.

Resources are not counted for Medicaid under Section
1931. 

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

16230.1.2   Self Employment 
Determine gross earned income from self-employment

by subtracting allowable business expenses from gross
proceeds.  Business expenses are expenses directly related to
producing the goods or services and without which the goods
or services could not be produced.  Allowable business
expenses for the eligibility determination do not include all
expenses that are allowed by the Internal Revenue Service.

Allowable business expenses include but are not limited
to accounting fees, advertising, auto expense for business
only, business travel expenses, cost of goods sold, employee
wages, excess utilities (if business is in home), food costs for
daycare, interest on loans, legal fees, liability insurance,
licensing fees, repairs and maintenance.

Business expenses that are not allowable include
depreciation, personal and entertainment expenses, personal
transportation, purchase of capital equipment and payments
on the principal of loans for capital assets or durable goods,
rent or mortgage when business is in the home.

16230.1.2 Self-Employment Income
A self-employment standard deduction is used to

calculate self-employment income. The self-employment
standard deduction is considered the cost to produce income.
The self-employment standard deduction is a percentage that
is determined annually and announced in the Cost-of-Living
Adjustment (COLA) Administrative Notice each October.

To calculate self-employment income, use the gross
proceeds and subtract the self- employment standard
deduction.  The result is the amount included in the
individual’s gross income. Standard earned income
deductions are then applied to the individual’s gross income.
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To receive the self-employment standard deduction, the
individual must provide verification that costs are incurred to
produce the self-employment income. Verification can
include, but is not limited to, tax records, ledgers, business
records, receipts, check receipts, and business statements.
The individual does not have to verify all business costs to
receive the standard deduction.

If the individual does not claim or verify any costs to
produce the self-employment income, the self-employment
standard deduction will not be applied.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

17300.3.2.4.1 Self-Employment Income
A self-employment standard deduction is used to

calculate self-employment income.   The self-employment
standard deduction is considered the cost to produce income.
The self-employment standard deduction is a percentage that
is determined annually and announced in the Cost-of-Living
Adjustment (COLA) Administrative Notice each October.

To calculate self-employment income, use the gross
proceeds and subtract the self- employment standard
deduction. The result is the amount included in the
individual’s gross income. Standard earned income
deductions are then applied to the individual’s gross income.

To receive the self-employment standard deduction, the
individual must provide verification that costs are incurred to
produce the self-employment income. Verification can
include, but is not limited to, tax records, ledgers, business
records, receipts, check receipts, and business statements.
The individual does not have to verify all business costs to
receive the standard deduction.

If the individual does not claim or verify any costs to
produce the self-employment income, the self-employment
standard deduction will not be applied.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

LONG TERM CARE MEDICAID

20210.16 Self Employment
The cost for producing income is a standard deduction

of the gross income. This standard deduction is a percentage
of the gross income determined annually and listed in the
Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA) notice each October.

The standard deduction is considered the cost to
produce income.  The gross income test is applied after the
standard deduction.  The earned income deductions are then
applied to the net self-employment income and any other
earned income in the household. See DSSM 20240.3.

The standard deduction applies to all self-employed
households with costs to produce income.  To receive the
standard deduction, the self-employed household must
provide and verify they have business costs to produce
income.  The verifications can include, but are not limited to,
tax records, ledgers, business records, receipts, check
receipts, and business statements.  The self-employed
household does not have to verify all their business costs to
receive the standard deduction.

Self-employed households not claiming or verifying any
costs to produce income will not receive the standard
deduction.

The self-employment standard deduction will be
reviewed annually to determine if an adjustment in the
percentage amount is needed.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C.  §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Client Cost Sharing for Pharmaceutical Services: 
Cumulative Maximum

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding the Pharmaceutical Services Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by August 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of the Provisions

Citation
• 42 CFR §447.54(d)
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Amending the Following Title XIX Medicaid State Plan
Pages

• Page 56a
• Attachment 4.18-A, Page 3

Amending the Following Sections of the Division of
Social Services Manual

• 14960.1
• 14960.1.1

Summary of Amendment Provisions

To ensure that the state delivers an accessible medical
assistance prescription drug program, the following
describes the proposed change for pharmacy co-payments,
effective July 1, 2005:

• A cumulative maximum is established as described
below:

• $15.00 cumulative monthly maximum co-payment
amount aggregated for pharmacy services.

Once a client has met the individual monthly maximum
co-payment for his or her prescriptions, the Point of Sale
(POS) System will NOT indicate a co-payment is due.
Medicaid will keep track of the cumulative number of
prescriptions for a client with co-payments. Any
prescriptions dispensed after the cumulative maximum
monthly co-payment amount is met are not subject to a co-
payment. Reversal of a previously filled prescription with a
co-payment will require a refund of the co-payment to the
individual, and will cause the next prescription filled for that
client to be adjudicated with a co-payment.

By implementing this process, the Department ensures
that a cumulative maximum is likely to benefit all eligible
Medicaid clients with continued access to prescription
medications.

The proposed cumulative maximum pharmacy
requirements are subject to approval by the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-37a

Page 56a
Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) OMB No.: 0938-
AUGUST 1991

State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation 4.18 (b) (3) (Continued)
42 CFR 447.51  (iii) For the categorically needy
 and qualified through 447.58

Medicare beneficiaries,

ATTACHMENT 4.18-A
specifies the:

A. Service(s) for which a
charge(s) is applied;

B. Nature of the charge
imposed on each service;

C. Amount(s) of and basis for
determining the charge(s);

D. Method used to collect the
charge(s);

E. Basis for determining
whether an individual is
unable to pay the charge and
the means by which such an
individual is identified to
providers;

F. Procedures for implementing
and enforcing the exclusions
from cost sharing contained
in 42 CFR 447.53 (b); and

G.. Cumulative maximum that
applies to all deductible,
coinsurance or co-payment
charges imposed on a
specified time period.
X Not applicable.  There is

no maximum.
Not applicable.  There is
no maximum.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-37b
ATTACHMENT 4.18-A

Page 3

State Plan Under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
State: DELAWARE

E. Cumulative maximums on charges:
State policy does not provide maximums.

X Cumulative maximum has been established as
described below:

$15.00 cumulative monthly maximum co-payment
amount aggregated for pharmacy services.

Once a client has met the individual monthly maximum
co-payment for his or her prescriptions, the Point of Sale
(POS) System will NOT indicate a co-payment is due.
Medicaid will keep track of the cumulative number of
prescriptions for a client with co-payments. Any
prescriptions dispensed after the cumulative maximum
monthly co-payment amount is met are not subject to a co-
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payment. Reversal of a previously filled prescription with a
co-payment will require a refund of the co-payment to the
individual, and will cause the next prescription filled for that
client to be adjudicated with a co-payment.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-37c

14960.1 Co-Payment Requirement
Effective January 10, 2005, clients have a nominal co-

payment will be imposed for generic and brand name
prescription drugs as well as over-the-counter drugs
prescribed by a practitioner.

The co-payment is based upon the cost of the drug as
follows:

The co-payment is imposed for each drug that is
prescribed and dispensed.

149601.1 Cumulative Maximum Monthly Co-payment
Effective July 1, 2005, there is a cumulative maximum

monthly co-payment amount equal to $15.00 for each
recipient. Any prescriptions dispensed after the cumulative
maximum monthly co-payment amount is met are not
subject to a co-payment.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C.  §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Child Care Subsidy Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by August 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary Of Provisions

Statutory Basis

• TANF - Temporary Assistance for Needy Families,
a program established by Title IV-A of the Social
Security Act and authorized by Title 31 of the
Delaware Code;

• Title 7, Chapter II of the Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 273.7(d)(iv)(3)(i); 

• The Child Care and Development Block Grant (part
of Categories 31 and 41) as amended by the
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996; and, 

• Title XX of the Social Security Act and the
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of
1981 establishes child care under the Social
Services Block Grant (part of Categories 31 and
41).

DSS is proposing to amend several sections in the
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) to clarify and
update existing Child Care Subsidy policy.

This includes updating, revising, clarifying,
renumbering (and deleting where necessary) the following
policy sections due to the integration of the previous Child
Care Management system into the current DCIS II Child
Care eligibility system: 

• DSSM 11002.1, 11002.4, 11002.6.2, 11002.9,
11003, 11003.4, 11003.7, 11003.7.5, 11003.9.1,
11003.9.2, 11003.9.3, 11003.9.5, 11003.10, 11004,
11004.1, 11004.2, 11004.2.1, 11004.3, 11004.3.1,
11004.4, 11004.4.1, 11004.5, 11004.6, 11004.8,
11004.9, 11004.9.1, 11004.11, 11004.12, 11005.2
and 11005.3;

• Updating DSSM 11003.3 to reflect the same
language as the Food Stamp State Plan.

Medicaid Payment for the 
Drug

Co-payment

$10.00 or less $  .50
$10.01 to $25.00 $1.00
$25.01 to $50.00 $2.00
$50.01 or more $3.00
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Additionally, DSSM 11003.7.8 is a new section
establishing procedures for special needs cases.

11002.1 Purpose of Delaware's Child Care Subsidy 
Program

The purpose of Delaware's Child Care Subsidy Program
is to provide support to Delaware families who need care and
who  need otherwise cannot pay for all or part of the cost of
care.

11002.4 Persons Eligible
DSS provides child care services to eligible Delaware

families with children who need care and who are under the
age of 13, or children 13 to through 18 years of age who are
physically or mentally incapable of caring for themselves or
who are in need of protective services.

Under Title IV, Sections 401 and 402 of the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Act of 1996, the
Division is prohibited from using CCDBG and SSBG funds
to pay for child care services for most persons who are not
U.S. citizens.  At State option, the Division may choose to
use State only funds to pay for child care services for such
persons.  Certain aliens are exempt from this restriction for a
period of five (5) years from the date of obtaining status as
either a refugee, asylee, or one whose deportation is being
withheld.  In addition, aliens admitted for permanent
residence who have worked forty (40) qualifying quarters
and aliens and their spouses or unmarried dependent children
who are either honorably discharged veterans or on active
military duty are exempt from this restriction.  For more
detailed child care policy on citizenship, aliens and refugee’s
see DSSM 3024, these policies apply to the Child Care
Subsidy Program.

The Division can provide Child Care services for
eligible families where there is at least one U.S. citizen, legal
alien or qualified refugee in the family.  If one member of the
family is a U.S. citizen, legal alien or qualified refugee and
he/she meets both technical and financial eligibility criteria,
Child Care services can be provided.  The Division will
evaluate non-US citizen cases on an individual basis.

Non-US citizens referred to the Child Care Subsidy
Program through the Division of Family Services, due to a
protective need, are eligible to receive services regardless of
their citizenship status.

This policy must also be read in accordance with
Section 11003, Eligibility Requirements. DSS provides a
guarantee for certain forms of Child Care (Category
Categories 11, 12, 13, and 21).  This guarantee means that
eligible families will receive child care services under these
programs.  Eligibility for other child care services (Category
Categories 31, 41 and 51) does not come with this same

guarantee.  Funding for child care services in these programs
is capped.  Though families may have an eligible child for
whom they need care, and though families may meet other
requirements of need and income, this does not guarantee
that DSS will provide child care.  DSS reserves the right for
its capped programs to limit, where appropriate, its child
care services based on available resources and funding.

Eligible families generally include:
A. TANF recipients who work, or must attend

school or are be involved participating in TANF
Employment and Training activities. training which leads to
work as part of DSS' Food Stamp Employment & Training
(FS E&T) program or families who are participating in
TANF activities, 

B. fFamilies with low incomes, who work, .
C. fFamilies with low incomes who attend a job

training or education program as defined in section 11002.9,.
D. families who work and are transitioning off

TANF,
E D. fFamilies who receive Food Stamps and

who must participate in E&T, .
F E. Families who receive or need to receive

protective services through the Division of Family Services,
and .

G F.Eligible families with a special need (either a
child or parent).

11002.6.2 Federal Law/Regulation
In addition to the State Law noted above, Delaware's

Child Care Subsidy Program operates under the authority of
several rules, including:

A. Providing child care to families receiving
TANF benefits who must participate in Delaware’s TANF
Employment and Training activities or to persons who work
and receive TANF (Categories 11 and 12).  

B. Establishes child care for certain TANF
recipients who lose TANF  because of work.

CB. Title 7, Chapter II of the Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 273.7(A)(d)(iv)(3)(i) states: "A dependent
care reimbursement shall be provided to an Employment and
Training participant for all dependents requiring dependent
care unless otherwise prohibited by this section...if
dependent care is necessary for participation of a household
member in the Employment and Training program." “The
State agency will reimburse the cost of dependent care it
determines to be necessary for the participation of a
household member in the E&T program up to the actual cost
of dependent care, or the applicable payment rate for child
care, whichever is lowest. The payment rates for child care
are established in accordance with the Child Care and
Development Block Grant provisions of 45 CFR 98.43, and
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are based on local market rate surveys. The State agency will
provide a dependent care reimbursement to an E&T
participant for all dependents requiring care unless otherwise
prohibited by this section.” Such child care is provided as
part of the State's Food Stamp Employment and Training
Program previously known as First Step - Food Stamps
(Category 21).

D.C. The Child Care and Development Block
Grant (part of Category Categories 31 and 41) as amended
by the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996.

The purpose of the CCDBG as stated in Rule 98.1
of the CFR is, "to increase the availability, affordability, and
quality of child care services."  The goals of the grant are:

1. to provide low-income families with the
financial resources to find and afford quality child care,

2. to enhance the quality and increase the
supply of child care for all families,

3. to provide parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers with a broad range of options in addressing their
child care needs,

4. to strengthen the role of the family,
5. to improve the quality and coordination of

child care programs and early childhood development
programs, and

6. to increase the availability of early
childhood development and before and after school services.

E.D. Title XX of the Social Security Act and the
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981 establishes
child care under the Social Services Block Grant (part of
Category Categories 31 and 41).

The purpose of child care services provided under
SSBG is to provide support to families with young children
in order for parents to work, obtain training, or receive an
education.  The program also allows child care to meet the
special needs of the child or for the child's protection in
cases of abuse and/or neglect.

11002.9 Definitions and Explanation of Terms
The following words and terms, when used in the

context of these policies will, unless clearly indicated
otherwise, have the following meanings.

A. TANF - Temporary Assistance for Needy Families,
a program established by Title IV-A of the Social Security
Act and authorized by Title 31 of the Delaware Code to
provide benefits to needy children who are deprived of
parental support and care.  While on TANF, families are
eligible for child care only as long as they are working or
involved with Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS
E&T) - participating in a TANF Employment and Training
activity TANF (Category Categories 11 and 12).

B. At-Risk Families - Low-income, working families
who need child care in order to work, and are otherwise at
risk of becoming eligible for TANF.  Under the Division's
CCMIS, At-Risk Families are part of Category 31.

C B. Authorization - Form 618d is the parent/
caretaker's parents/caretakers authority to receive subsidized
child care services and is the provider's authority to provide
subsidized child care services to eligible parent/caretakers
parents/caretakers.  The authorization informs providers how
much care a parent is authorized to receive, what DSS will
pay the provider, and what parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers must pay as part of their fee.

D.C. Caregiver/Provider - The person(s) whom DSS
approves to provide child care services or the approved place
where care is provided.

E.D. Caretaker - The adult responsible for the
primary support and guardianship of the child.  As used here,
this adult is someone other than the child's parent who acts in
place of the parent.  If a caretaker is unrelated to the child
and has not been awarded custody by Family Court or
guardianship, the caretaker is referred to the Division of
Family Services to make a determination to either approve
the non-relative placement or remove the child.

F.E. CCDBG - Child Care and Development Block
Grant.  45 CFR Parts 98 and 99 created by the Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 to provide federal funds
without State match to:

1. provide child care to low income families,
2. enhance the quality and increase the supply of

child care,
3. provide parents the ability to choose their

provider, and
4. increase the availability of early childhood

programs and before and after school services.
Under the Division's CCMIS DCIS II Child Care

Sub system, CCDBG is part of Category Categories 31 and
41.

GF. CFR - Code of Federal Regulations.
These are the rules the Federal Government writes to
implement federal legislation.  Once written and approved,
they have the force of law.

HG. CCMIS - Child Care Management
Information System, the name used to describe the
Division's information payment system for child care.

I.H. Child - A person under the age of 13, or
children 13 to through 18 years of age if they are physically
or mentally incapable of caring for themselves or in need of
protective services.

J. I. Child Care Category - The CCMIS DCIS
II Child Care Sub system code for the child care funding
source.  Case Managers choose category codes based on the
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parent/caretaker's  parents/caretaker’s technical eligibility
for service.  The codes are:

11 – Participants receiving TANF and not
working, but participating in TANF E&T;

12 – Participants receiving TANF and working;
13 - Transitional Child Care;
21 – Participants receiving Food Stamps who

are mandatory or voluntary participants in E&T and not
receiving TANF; 

31 - SSBG, CCDBG, At-Risk and State funds:
Income eligible participants. Participants who receive FS
and are not E&T mandatory or voluntary;

41 – A participant who is a qualified alien or
U.S. citizen is coded as a category 41 when his or her
eligibility allows a non U.S. citizen or nonqualified alien to
receive child care services.  (Example: One child is a citizen
and one is not. The citizen child is a 41)

51 – A participant is coded category 51 when s/
he is not a U.S. citizen or legal alien but receives Child Care
services due to a family member in category 41.

K.J. Child Care Certificate - A form issued to a
parent/caretaker which allows a parent/caretaker to choose a
child care provider who does not have a contract with DSS.
A certificate is not an authorization for child care, but a
parent who wishes to select a non-contracted provider of
their choice cannot get care unless the provider completes
one.

L.K. Child Care Fee - The amount the parent/
caretaker must pay toward the cost of child care.  The fee is
based on the income of the parent(s) and children, or the
child if the child lives with a caretaker, family size and a
percentage of the cost of care based on type.

M.L. Child Care Services - Those activities that
assist eligible families in the arrangement of child care for
their children.

N.M. Child Care Centers - A place where
licensed or license-exempt child care is provided on a
regular basis for periods of less than 24 hours a day to 12 or
more children, who are unattended by a parent or guardian.

O.N. Child Care Type - Refers to the setting or
place where child care is provided.  The four types of care
are:

1. Center based (under  CCMIS DCIS II
Child Care Sub system Site #17 or 18),

2. Group Home (under CCMIS DCIS II
Child Care Sub system Site #16),

3. Family Home (under CCMIS DCIS II
Child Care Sub system Site #15), and

4. In-Home (under CCMIS DCIS II Child
Care Sub system Site #19).

P. O. DCIS II - Delaware Client Information
System, the automated client information system for the
Department of Health and Social Services.

Q. P. Educational Program - A program of
instruction to achieve:

1. a basic literacy level of 8.9;
2. instruction in English as a second

language;
3. a GED, Adult Basic Education

(ABE), or High School Diploma;
4. completion of approved special

training or certificate courses; or
5. a post-secondary degree where the

degree is part of an approved Employability Development
Plan. DSS Employment and Training program.

The above definition excludes the pursuit of a
graduate degree or second four-year college degree. A
second associates degree may be attained if it leads to a
bachelors degree.  The completion of a second associate’s
degree can be authorized only if it has a significant chance of
leading to employment.

R. Q. Employment - Either part-time or full time
work for which the parent/caretaker receives income. It also
includes periods of up to one month when parent/caretakers
parents/caretakers lose one job and need to search for
another, or when one job ends and another job has yet to
start.

S. R. Family Size - The total number of persons
whose needs and income are considered together. This will
always include the parent(s) and all their dependent children
under 18.

T. S. Family Child Care Home - A place where
licensed care is provided for one to six children who are not
related to the caregiver.

U. T. TANF Child Care - The name of the child
care program for TANF recipients who work or who are
participating in a TANF Employment and Training program.
in Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS E&T) - TANF.
Under the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub system, this is
Category 11 and 12.

V U. Food Stamp Employment and Training -
The program by which certain unemployed mandatory and/
or voluntary Food Stamp recipients participate in activities
to gain skills or receive training to obtain regular, paid
employment.  Persons can receive child care if they need
care to participate. This is referred to as Food Stamp
Employment & Training Food Stamps (FS E&T).  Under the
Division's CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub system, this is
Category 21.
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W.V. In-Home Care - Care provided for a child
in the child's own home by either a relative or non-relative,
where such care is exempt from licensing requirements.
It also refers to situations where care is provided by a
relative in the relative's own home.  This care is also exempt
from licensing requirements.

X.W. Income - Any type of money payment that
is of gain or benefit to a family.  Examples of income
include, wages, social security pensions, public assistance
payments, child support, etc.

Y.X. Income Eligible - A family is financially
eligible to receive child care services based on the family's
gross income.  It also refers to child care programs under
Category 31.

AA. Income Limit - The maximum amount of
gross income a family can receive to remain financially
eligible for child care services.  Current income limit is 200
percent of the federal poverty level.

AB. Job Training /Training - A program which
either establishes or enhances a person's job skills.  Such
training either leads to employment or allows a person to
maintain employment already obtained. Such training
includes, but is not limited to: Food Stamp Employment &
Training (FS E&T) contracted programs, JTPA WIA
sponsored training programs, recognized school vocational
programs, and on-the-job training programs.

AC. Large Family Child Care Home - A place
where licensed care is provided for more than six but less
than twelve children.

AD. Legal Care - Care which is either licensed
or exempt from licensing requirements.

AE. Parent - The child's natural mother, natural
legal father, adoptive mother or father, or step-parent.

AF. Parental Choice - The right of parent/
caretakers parents/caretakers to choose from a broad range
of child care providers, the type and location of child care.

AG. Protective Services - The supervision/
placement of a child by the Division of Family Services in
order to monitor and prevent situations of abuse or neglect.

AH. Physical or Mental Incapacity - A
dysfunctional condition which disrupts the child's normal
development patterns during which the child cannot function
without special care and supervision.  Such condition must
be verified by either a doctor or other professional with the
competence to do so.

AI. Reimbursement Rates - The maximum
dollar amount the State will pay for child care services.

AJ. Relative - Grandparents, aunts, uncles,
brothers, sisters, cousins, and any other relative as defined
by TANF policy, as they are related to the child.

AK. Residing With - Living in the home of the
parent or caretaker.

AL. SSBG - Social Services Block Grant.
Under the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub system, this is
Category 31 child care.

AM. Seamless Services - To the extent
permitted by applicable laws, a family is able to retain the
same provider regardless of the source of funding, and
providers are able to provide services to children regardless
of the basis for the family's eligibility for assistance or the
source of payment.

AN. Self-Arranged Care - Child care which
either parents or caretakers arrange on their own between
themselves and providers.  In this instance, the parent/
caretakers parents/caretakers choose to use a child care
certificate, but the provider does not accept the State
reimbursement rate for child care services. DSS limits
payment for self-arranged care to its regular provider rates.
Parent/Caretakers Parents/caretakers, in addition to any
parent fee they pay, must also pay the difference between
DSS’ reimbursement rates and the providers’ charge.

AO. Self-Initiated - Clients who enter an
education or training program on their own.  The education
or training program must be comparable to a Food Stamp
Employment & Training (FS E&T) - TANF education or
training component.  Self-initiated clients must receive child
care services if there is a child care need.

AP. Special Needs Child - A child under 18 19
years of age whose physical, emotional, or developmental
needs require special care.  Both the need and care must be
verified by a doctor or other professional with the
competence to do so.

AQ. Special Needs Parent/Caretaker - An adult,
who because of a special need, is unable on his/her own to
care for children.  The need must be verified by a doctor or
other professional with the competence to do so.

AR. Technical Eligibility - Parent/caretakers
Parents/caretakers meet requirements, other than financial,
to receive child care services based on need and category.

AS. Verification - Written or oral
documentation, demonstrating either need for service or
sources of income.

AT. Purchase of Care Plus (POC+) – Care
option that allows providers to charge for fee paying clients
the difference between the DSS reimbursement rate up to the
provider’s private fee for service.  The provider receives
DSS rate, the DSS determined parent fee, and any additional
provider-determined co-pay.

AU. Work Force Investment Act (WIA) -
Federal Legislation that consolidates Employment and
Training programs and funding streams.  This legislation
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embodies the One Stop Employment and Training Service
system under DOL. 

8 DE Reg. 1154 (2/1/05)

11003 Eligibility Requirements
DSS provides child care services to eligible Delaware

families with a child(ren) who resides in the home and who
is under the age of 13, or children 13 to 18, under 19 who are
physically or mentally incapable of caring for themselves or
are active with the Division of Family Services.

Under Title IV, Sections 401 and 402 of the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Act of 1996, the
Division is prohibited from using CCDBG and SSBG funds
to pay for child care services for most persons who are not
U.S. citizens.  At State option, the Division may choose to
use State only funds to pay for child care services for such
persons.  Certain aliens are exempt from this restriction for a
period of five (5) years from the date of obtaining status as
either a refugee, asylee, or one whose deportation is being
withheld. In addition, aliens admitted for permanent
residence who have worked forty (40) qualifying quarters
and aliens and their spouses or unmarried dependent children
who are either honorably discharged veterans or on active
military duty are exempt from this restriction.

The Division will provide Child Care services for
eligible families where there is at least one U.S. citizen or
legal alien in the family.  If one member of the family is a
U.S. citizen or legal alien and they meet both technical and
financial eligibility criteria Child Care  Services can be
provided. The Division will evaluate non-U.S. citizen cases
on an individual basis. 

Non-US citizens referred to the Child Care subsidy
program through the Division of Family Services, due to a
protective need, are eligible to receive services regardless of
their citizenship status.

A family needs service when parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers are required to be out of the home, or are
reasonably unavailable (may be in the home but cannot
provide supervision, such as a parent works a third shift, is in
the home, but needs to rest), and no one else is available to
provide supervision.

A. Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers need service
to:

1. accept employment,
2. keep employment,
3. participate in training leading to employment,
4. participate in education,
5. work and the other parent/caretaker or adult

household member is chronically ill or incapacitated,
6. have someone care for the children because of

a parent/caretaker special need.

 B. A child(ren) needs service to:
1. provide for a special need (physical or

emotional disabilities, behavior problems, or developmental
delays, etc.);

2. provide protective supervision in order to
prevent abuse or neglect.

In addition to having an eligible child and a child
care need, certain DSS child care programs require parent/
caretakers parents/caretakers to meet income limits.  Under
certain other child care programs, DSS guarantees child care.
These financial requirements along with other technical
requirements help determine the parent/caretaker's child care
category.  Categories relate to the funding sources used by
DSS to pay for child care services.  The following sections
discuss the technical requirements for child care services
based on category and need.

11003.3 Parent/Caretaker On Food Stamps
A. DSS provides child care for a dependent child when

a parent/caretaker receives Food Stamps and the parent/
caretaker needs to:

1. participate in Food Stamp Employment and
Training activities, or

2. volunteer to participate in Employment and
Training activities (both are Category 21).

B. Persons can volunteer to participate in E&T - Food
Stamps activities only as long as the activity for which they
volunteer is a component activity of E&T - Food Stamps.
Acceptable E&T - Food Stamps component activities are:

1. Independent Job Search,
2. Self-Directed Job Search Training, One Stop

Delivery System,
3. Basic Life Skills Enrichment, Adult Education,

and Training,
4. High School and/or Adult Education, Workfare

Program (ABAWD only),
5. Post-Secondary Education (first degree only),

and
6. Vocational Skills Training.  Refugee and

Asylee Services.
Mandatory participants who fail to participate

receive a sanction.  Persons who receive a sanction lose their
child care while the sanction remains in effect.

11003.4  Transitional Child Care  (RESERVED)
Parent/caretakers who received TANF and who are

working can continue to receive child care if they:
A. stopped receiving TANF because of income

from work or because their income disregards expired,
B. request Transitional Child Care (Category 13).
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Parent/caretakers who meet the above requirements
need to also meet financial eligibility requirements.  They
must have income equal to or under 200 percent of poverty.
Parent/caretakers also need to be working in order to qualify.  

Those TANF families not previously receiving any child
care will get a letter from DSS alerting them to the
possibility that they could be eligible for child care.  They
are told to contact the nearest child care office and to request
TCC.  Case Managers will need to make appointments for
these families and the family will need to complete an
application.

11003.7 Income Eligible Child Care
A. DSS provides child care to families who are

financially eligible to receive care because the family's gross
income is equal to or under 200 percent of the federal
poverty level and they have one or more of the following
needs for care:

1. a low-income (200 percent or less of the
federal poverty level) parent/caretaker needs child care in
order to accept employment or remain employed and would
be at risk of becoming eligible for TANF if child care were
not provided (At-Risk Child Care, Category 31); or

2. a low-income (200 percent or less of the
federal poverty level) parent/caretaker needs child care in
order to work, attend a job training program, or participate in
an educational program, or are is receiving or needs to
receive protective services (CCDBG Child Care, Category
31); or

or
3. a parent/caretaker needs child care to work or

participate in education or training; searches one month for
employment after losing a job; because the child or the
parent/caretaker or other adult household member has
special needs; because they care for a protective child who is
active with the Division of Family Services or the parent/
caretaker is homeless.  (SSBG Child Care, Category 31).

B. DSS programmed its CCMIS the DCIS II Child
Care Sub system to include all the above child care needs
into one category, Category 31.  Therefore, Child Care Case
Managers will only have to consider whether parent/
caretakers parents/caretakers meet just one of the above
needs to include them in a Category 31 funding stream.
However, DSS also programmed its CCMIS the DCIS II
Child Care Sub system so that it could make the policy
distinctions needed to make payments from the appropriate
funding source for each child in care.  Though Child Care
Case Managers will not have to make these distinctions, it is
helpful to know them.

They are:

1. At-Risk Child Care will only include parent/
caretakers parents/caretakers who need child care to accept a
job or to keep a job.

It will include parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers who have the need for child care because of a
special needs child or a protective child, but it will always
coincide with the parent/caretaker's need to accept or keep a
job.

2. CCDBG Child Care will include:
a. parent/caretakers parents/caretakers who

need child care to accept or keep a job, and/or
b. participate in education or training, or
c. children who receive or need to receive

protective services.
It will also include parent/caretakers parents/

caretakers who need care because of a special needs child.  It
will always coincide with the parent/caretaker's need to work
or participate in education or training.  It will not include
parent/caretakers parents/caretakers who have a special need
or other adult household member who has a special need.

3. SSBG Child Care will include:
a. parent/caretakers parents/caretakers who

need child care to accept or keep a job,
b. parent/caretakers parents/caretakers who

need child care to participate in education or training,
c. parent/caretakers parents/caretakers whose

only need is a special need child or special needs adult
household member,

d. children who need protective services, or
e. parent/caretakers parents/caretakers who

are homeless.

11003.7.5 Income Eligible/Education and Post-
Secondary Education

Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers who participate in
education and post-secondary education can receive income
eligible child care for the duration of their participation as
long as:

A. their participation will lead to completion of
high school, a high school equivalent or a GED; or

B. their participation in post-secondary education
was part of a TANF Employability Development Plan;
Employment and Training program; or

C. their participation in post-secondary education
began as a requirement for while participation participating
in the Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS E&T)
program; and

D. there is a reasonable expectation that the course
of instruction will lead to a job within a foreseeable time
frame, such as nursing students, medical technology
students, secretarial or business students.
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DSS will not authorize child care services for parent/
caretakers parents/caretakers who already have one four year
college degree or are in a graduate program.

11003.7.8 Special Needs Children
Policy is yet to be decided.
The designation of special needs impacts both eligibility

and parent fees. 
See section 11004.7 to determine eligibility for waiving

the parent fee.
Eligibility
A family can be eligible for Child Care for a child that is

between ages 13 and under 19 if the child has a special need
that requires child care.  This would mean the child is unable
to care for himself physically or emotionally, or Division of
Family Services (DFS) has referred the child for care due to
a protective need.

Families with special needs children or adults must meet
the need for services and income eligibility.

EXAMPLE:  A financially eligible family with two
working parents requests child care for their 14 year old
child with Down Syndrome.  The 14 year old is incapable of
caring for himself due to the Down Syndrome.  They would
be eligible for Child Care due to the special needs of the
child.

The special need of a child or an adult that directly
results in the need for child care can in itself be the need for
care when determining eligibility as long as they meet
financial eligibility.

EXAMPLE:  A financially eligible family of four
with a working Father and a stay at home Mother requests
child care for their 12 month old child with a developmental
delay.  In this case if it is verified that the child needs child
care services to assist in increasing the development of the
child, they would be eligible.

EXAMPLE:  A financially eligible family of four
with a working Father and a stay at home Mother requests
child care for their two children ages 2 and 4.  The mother
was involved in a car accident and is unable to get out of
bed.  The special need of this mother would be the need for
care.

All special needs for both the child and adult must be
verified by using the Special Needs form.

Parent fees can be waived only in accordance with
section 11004.7.

Special circumstances within a family may be
considered on a case by case basis when determining the
need for child care.  These cases must be approved by the
Child Care Administrator.

EXAMPLE:  Two older grandparents have custody
of their 4 yr old grandchild.  The grandmother is unable to

care for the child due to health reasons and the grandfather
would like to look for work.  There is no need for care since
the grandfather is in the home.  The circumstances of this
four year old could qualify the grandparents for special
needs child care.  In this case still try to get a special needs
form filled out that would address the 4 yr olds need to be in
a day care setting with other children to enhance the child’s
social and emotional development.

Division of Family Services
DFS cases meet the need for service due to the DFS

referral. DFS cases do not need to meet financial eligibility.
DFS cases that are non citizens and do not meet our
citizenship criteria are eligible for services due to the DFS
referral.  DCIS II Child Care Sub system would place these
cases in Category 51.

11003.9.1 Countable Income
A. Countable income.  All sources of income, earned

(such as wages) and unearned (such as child support, social
security pensions, etc.) are countable income when
determining a family's monthly gross income. Monthly gross
income typically includes the following:

1. Money from wages or salary, such as total
money earnings from work performed as an employee,
including wages, salary, Armed Forces pay, commissions,
tips, piece rate payments and cash bonuses earned before
deductions are made for taxes, bonds, pensions, union dues,
etc.

2. Gross income from farm or non-farm self-
employment is determined by subtracting business expenses
such as supplies, equipment, etc. from gross proceeds.  The
individual's personal expenses (lunch, transportation, income
tax, etc.) are not deducted as business expenses but are
deducted by using the TANF standard allowance for work
connected expenses.  In the case of unusual situations (such
as parent/caretaker just beginning business), refer to DSSM
9056 and 9074.

32. Social Security pensions, Supplemental
Security Income, Veteran’s benefits, public assistance
payments, net rental income, unemployment compensation,
workers compensation, pensions, annuities, alimony,
adoption assistance, disability benefits, military allotments,
Rail Road Retirement, and child support.

B. Disregarded Income 
Monies received from the following sources are not
counted:

1. per capita payments to, or funds held in trust
for, any individual in satisfaction of a judgement of Indian
Claims Commission or the Court of Claims;
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2. payments made pursuant to the Alaska Native
Claims Settlement Act to the extent such payments are
exempt from taxation under ESM 21(a) of the Act;

3. money received from the sale of property such
as stocks, bonds, a house or a car (unless the person was
engaged in the business of selling such property, in which
case the net proceeds are counted as income from self-
employment);

4. withdrawal of bank deposits;
5. money borrowed or given as gifts;
6. capital gains;
7. the value of USDA donated foods and Food

Stamp Act of 1964 as amended;
8. the value of supplemental food assistance

under the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 and the special food
service program for children under the National School
Lunch Act, as amended;

9. any payment received under the Uniform
Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition
Policies Act of 1970;

10. earnings of a child under the age of 14 years of
age

11.10. loans or grants such as scholarships
obtained and used under conditions that preclude their use
for current living costs;

12.11. any grant or loan to any undergraduate
student for educational purposes made or insured under any
program administered by the Commissioner of Education
under the Higher Education Act;

13.12. home produce utilized for household
consumption;

14.13. all of the earned income of a minor or
minor parent (under 18) who is a full-time student or a part-
time student who is working but is not a full-time employee
(such as high school students who are employed full-time
during summer);

15.14. all payments derived from participation in
projects under the Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS
E&T) (such as CWEP) program or other job training
programs; and

16.15. all Vista income.; and
17. 16. all income derived as a Census taker.

during the period between April 1, 2000 and December 31,
2000.

Resources (such as cars, homes, savings accounts, life
insurance, etc.) are not considered when determining
financial eligibility or the parent fee.

11003.9.2 Whose Income to Count
In all Category Categories 13 and 31 cases, count all

income attributable to the parent(s) as family income.

Family as used here means those persons whose needs and
income are considered together.  A person who acts as a
child's caretaker (as defined in Section 11002.9), is not
included in the definition of family.  In this instance, any
income attributable to the child or children is the income
which is counted.

Income of active DFS referrals/cases is excluded.
Active DFS referrals/cases do not need to meet financial
eligibility. 

11003.9.3 Family Size
The people whose needs and income are considered

together comprise the definition of family size. Family size
is the basis upon which DSS looks at income to determine a
family's financial eligibility. Therefore, knowing who to
include in the determination of family size is an important
part in deciding financial eligibility.  Rules to follow when
considering family size are relationship and whose income is
counted.

A. Parents (natural, legal, adoptive, or step) and their
children under 18 living in the home, will always be
included together in the make up of family size.

EXAMPLE 1:  Ms. Brown, a single mother, lives
together with her two year old daughter.  She is applying for
child care as a Category 31, income eligible case.  Mrs.
Brown and her daughter are a family size of two.

EXAMPLE 2:  Susan Jones and Mark Evans live
together as unmarried partners.  Susan has a one year old
child from a previous relationship.  She applies for Category
13 31 child care.  Susan and her child are a family size of
two.  Mark is not counted.  His income is not considered
since he is not the father of the child.  (NOTE:  If Mark
Evans admits to being the natural parent of the child, his
income is counted and this is a family of three.)

EXAMPLE 3:  Ms. Johnson, a single parent, has
three children ages 13, 10, and 5.  She works and needs child
care for her youngest child who attends preschool.  She is
applying for Category 31 child care.  Even though she needs
care for only one child, her family size is a family size of
four when looking at financial eligibility.

EXAMPLE 4:  Ms. Green cares for her three year
old niece.  Ms. Green works and needs child care.  Since Ms.
Green is not the parent of the child, she is considered a
caretaker. Therefore, Ms. Green's income is not counted and
she is not included in the family composition.  Ms. Green's
niece is considered a family size of one and any income
attributable to the niece is countable income.

EXAMPLE 5:  Mom and step-dad live with mom's
two children, ages two and five, from a previous marriage.
Mom and step-dad both work and need child care.  Mom,
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step-dad, and her two children are a family size of four.
Step-dad is included.

EXAMPLE 6:  Mom and step-dad live with mom's
three year old child from a previous marriage.  Step-dad also
has a five year old child from a previous marriage living in
the home.  Mom and step-dad both work and need child care.
This family is a family size of four.

EXAMPLE 7: Mom and her unmarried partner
have a child in common.  Mom and the unmarried partner
also have one child each from previous relationships.  Since
Mom and the unmarried partner have a child in common the
needs and income of each parent will be considered for all
three children.  This would be a family size of 5.  In this
example the Child Care Sub system will first build the
family together as one AG.  If the AG fails the system will
break this family down into 3 AG’s to determine as many
persons eligible as possible.  The three AG’s would be Mom,
unmarried partner and child in common, Mom and child
from a previous relationship, unmarried partner and his child
from a previous relationship.

B. Adults who are not the natural, legal, adoptive, or
step-parent of the child or children under 18 living in the
home are not included.

EXAMPLE: Mom lives with her grandmother.
Mom has two children ages 10 and 6 for whom she needs
after-school care.  Mom and her two children are considered
a family size of three.  Grandmother is not included because
she is not the parent of the children nor is her income
counted.

NOTE: In all instances, the people counted together
for family size when considering financial eligibility are the
same people counted for family size when considering the
family's child care fee.

11003.9.5 Making Income Determinations
DSS programmed the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub

system to automatically make financial eligibility decisions.
As long as the appropriate income for the appropriate
persons is entered into the system, and as long as the correct
family size is entered calculated, the CCMIS DCIS II Child
Care Sub system will calculate income and determine
eligibility.

In the event of system failure, use 4 1/3 weeks per
month to compute a person's monthly gross income.  If there
is a variance in wages, use the average of the last month's
wages or the average of the last three month's wages,
whichever is less.

The following are examples for converting various pay
schedules to monthly income:

A. Client A is paid $200.00 per week - $200 x
4.33 = $866/month.

B. Client A is paid $200 per week, but has a
varying work schedule.  Week one - $200; week two - $100;
week three - $176; week four - $200.  $200 + $100 + $176 +
$200 = $676 divided by 4 = $169/week average. $169 x 4.33
= $731.77/month.

C. Client B is paid $400 every other week.  $400 x
2.16 = $864.

D. Client C is paid $950 twice a month.  $950 x 2
= $1900/month.

E. Other sources of income, such as child support,
are added to wages either as the actual amount received or as
an average of the amount received in the past three months.

11003.10 Changes In Need Or Income
Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers are required to

report changes that affect either their need for child care or
their income.  Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers are to
report these changes to their Child Care Case Manager
within 10 days.  The types of changes that parent/caretakers
parents/caretakers are to report are:

A. loss of job;
B. new employment;
C. for Category 13, 21, or 31cases, any increase or

decrease in wages or income resulting in a change to income
of $75 or more per month;

D. for Category 13, 21, or 31 cases, any other
change to income which will result in an increase or decrease
to income of $75 or more (such as a change in child support);
or

E. D. any change in education/training or other
status which would impact the parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers need for care.

11004 Application Processing
Any parent/caretaker who expresses a desire for child

care services may apply by contacting a DSS office. The
process to actually obtain child care services starts when
parent/caretakers parents/caretakers contact a Case Manager.
Consider this an informal inquiry unless or until it results in
the completion of a written application. (Form 600,
Eligibility Screening Application).

An informal inquiry typically involves a parent/
caretaker's phone call or unannounced child care office visit
to seek information about eligibility for child care services.
Process all informal inquiries by doing a simple review of
the parent/caretaker's need in the creation of a child care case
in the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub system, but will
likely include a CCMIS search for any information which
might be on file.  Following this simple screening, parents/
caretakers parents/caretakers are told they either appear
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eligible or ineligible for service.  Case Managers will
schedule a formal interview for those parent/caretakers who
appear eligible, while For those applicants who appear to be
eligible, proceed with the formal application process,
schedule an appointment or send them the application and
outline the necessary information to be returned with the
signed application.  Case Managers will inform those parent/
caretakers parents/caretakers who do not appear eligible of
their right to file a formal application if they still so choose. 

During the informal process, no obligation exists to
provide parent/caretakers parents/caretakers with a written
decision of the eligibility finding nor are parent/caretakers
parents/caretakers able to appeal an informal decision.  In
either case, however, Case Managers will always conduct or
schedule a formal interview for parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers who appear eligible or those who assert their right
to make a formal request.

The formal application process is detailed below,
including the requirements for authorizing child care
services, the minimum requirements for verifying eligibility
information, the standards for determining child care fees,
and conditions for when and why a child care case should
either continue or close.  Review this information in close
conjunction with the Client Management Section of the
CCMIS User Manual.  The Client Management Section of
the User Manual details the automated process for creating
cases, authorizing service, and for reauthorizing or closing
service.  Where appropriate, the policy information
presented here will make specific reference to the User
Manual.

11004.1 Formal Application Process
The formal application process will always consist of

the following:
A. a Case Manager, parent/caretaker interview; (in

person or over the phone)
B. a review and verification of eligibility

requirements;
C. a review of the parent information about child

care certificates;
D. a determination of eligibility along with written

parent/caretaker notification of the eligibility decision;
E. completion of the Child Care Eligibility

Screening Form (Form 600); Application for Child Care
Assistance;

F. as necessary, a determination of the child care
fee;

G.. creation of a case in the CCMIS DCIS II Child
Care Sub system;

H. as appropriate, completion of the Service
Authorization Form (Form 618d);

I. completion of the Child Care Payment
Agreement (Form 626); and

J. a review of the parent/caretaker's rights and
responsibilities, such as keeping their Case Manager
informed of changes.

11004.2 Interviews
Case Managers normally conduct face-to-face formal

interviews.  This means that Case Managers normally
schedule office appointments for parent/caretakers.
However, there may be occasions where a face-to-face
interview is not necessary.

Complete an interview either over the phone or in
person.

EXAMPLE:  A parent is receiving Food Stamp
Employment & Training (FS E&T)AFDC Child Care
(Category 12).  The parent has an increase in income which
closes her AFDC  Her AFDC child care also closes.  She is
still working and needs child care..  The parent qualifies for
Transitional Child Care.  In this instance, sends the parent
CCMIS generated AFDC letter 4030 (AFDC closing with
text noting the possibility for getting another form of care).
If the parent calls and requests continuation of child care, the
Case Manager need not schedule the parent for a face-to-face
interview to allow this.

Other instances may exist when face-to-face interviews
may be waived before authorizing care (for example,
because of a job, a parent needs to start care immediately).
However, consult a supervisor before doing so.

Schedule appointments for formal interviews in the
following manner.

When scheduling an applicant for an interview do so in
the following manner.

A. As soon as reasonably possible after the parent/
caretaker makes an informal contact set a specific day and
time for an interview.  Consider the parent/caretaker's
schedule and attempt to schedule appointments at parent/
caretaker convenience.

B. Advise the parent/caretakers parents/caretakers of
the information they will need to bring to the formal
interview. At a minimum parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers should bring:

1. if employed, current pay stubs covering the 30
days immediately before from the most recent month of the
date of application or a letter or employer statement (on
company letterhead) noting the employer's name, the parent/
caretaker's work schedule, earnings, frequency of pay, and
start date;

2. if in training and/or school, a statement from
the school/training program with starting and completion
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dates and days and hours required to attend or a copy of a
registration form and class schedule;

3. any other income information;
4. any other information which may have a

bearing on establishing need, such as: 
a. in cases of a special need for either a child

or an adult, parent/caretakers parents/caretakers must
complete the Special Needs Form (Form #601);

b. for a protective need, a completed the
Division of Family Services Referral; or

c. provide some other written documentation
from a recognized professional (such as doctor, social
worker, nurse, school counselor, etc.) of the special needs.

C. Along with appointment information, send and/or
give parent/caretakers parents/caretakers a child care
certificate package and a list of approximately five available
contracted providers.  Instruct parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers to select a provider prior to the formal interview.
Even though parent/caretakers parents/caretakers may
ultimately select providers under contract with DSS, provide
them with enough information to make an informed choice.
Therefore, in all instances, send and/or give parent/
caretakers parents/caretakers a certificate package and Guide
to Quality Child Care booklet. Inform clients that if they fail
to provide the DSS Case Manager with a provider within 60
days of eligibility confirmation and noticing, their case will
close.

D. For parent/caretakers parents/caretakers who come
into the office without a scheduled appointment, conduct the
formal interview process that same day if possible.
However, the parent/caretakers parents/caretakers need to
select a child care provider before care can be authorized.

E. Though verification of the appropriate information
to establish need is important, the system will authorize
Presumptive Child Care service can be authorized for
approximately one month while certain information
verification is pending. in an emergency.  In this case, the
system will, give notice of needed information, authorize
child care for approximately one month (depending on the
date of application) and end date the authorization.,  allow
parent/caretakers If the system does not authorize
Presumptive Child Care, parents/caretakers will be given ten
days from the date of the initial application to secure and
provide the necessary documentation. If the parents/
caretakers receive Presumptive Child Care and the initial
application date  in this case occurs between the first and the
ninth of the month, the authorization for care will extend to
the end of the current month.  If the initial application in this
case occurs from the tenth of the month or after,
authorization for care will extend to the end of the following
month. (For more information on Presumptive Child Care

see section 11004.8.) If after the ten days, documentation is
not provided, send the parent/caretaker a Failure To Provide
Information Closing letter notice (CCMIS letter 4020)
informing the parent/caretaker that services will end.  If the
parent/caretaker provides documentation, extend the
authorization accordingly.

EXAMPLE 1: A parent comes into the office on
January 6 and needs to start work beginning January 7.  The
parent meets eligibility criteria. The system will  Authorize
authorize Presumptive Child Care until January 31 and give
the parent until January 22 16 to provide proof of
employment.  If  by January 22 16 the parent provides proof,
Create a new authorization to reflect a new authorization end
date of June 30., enter the information and verification into
the system and run SFU/EDBC.  The system will generate a
new authorization with the end date of June 30th.  If by
January 17 the parent fails to provide proof, CCMIS a DCIS
II Child Care Sub system letter 4020 notice is mailed
informing the parent that child care services will end as of
January 31.

EXAMPLE 2:  A parent comes into the office on
January 12 and needs to start work beginning January 13.
The parent meets eligibility requirements. The system will
Authorize authorize care until February 28 and give the
parent until January 22 to provide proof.  If By by January
22 the parent provides proof. , enter the information and
verification into the system and run SFU/ EDBC. The
system will generate a new authorization with an end date of
June 30th. Create a new authorization to reflect the new
authorization end date of June 30.  If by January 22 the
parent fails to provide proof, CCMIS a DCIS II Child Care
Sub system letter  notice4020 is mailed informing the parent
that child care will end as of February 28.

11004.2.1 Conducting the Interview
The formal interview will include:

A. an evaluation of parent/caretaker parents/
caretakers need for child care services (see Section 11003);

B. a determination of financial eligibility as
needed;

C. an assessment of the family's child care needs
as well as the needs of the child(ren) to be placed in care;

D. an explanation of the available types of child
care; the choices parent/caretakers parents/caretakers have
regarding these provider types; the various provider
requirements regarding licensure, possible co-pays, health,
and safety, including record of immunization; and required
child abuse and criminal history checks;

E. an explanation of DSS payment rates and
parent fee scale, including a discussion of how fees are
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assessed, where fees are to be paid, what happens if the fee is
not paid, and how parent/caretakers parents/caretakers are to
keep DSS informed of changes that affect fees;

F. an explanation of parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers rights and responsibilities;

G. completion of the Child Care Screening
Application Application for Child Care Assistance, and as
applicable completion of the Child Care Authorization and
the Child Care Payment Agreement form; and

H. verification of appropriate information
establishing need and income.

Upon concluding the interview, generate a
CCMIS Approval (2000) or Denial (3000 or 3010) letter.
This letter informs the parent/caretaker of the eligibility
decision, the reason for the decision if eligibility is denied,
and each child who is eligible or ineligible to receive
services.

The entire process, from the time when parent/
caretakers parents/caretakers make an informal request for
child care to the time when a decision is finally made, should
take no longer than one month.

Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers who fail to
keep their initial appointment for a formal an interview are
given the opportunity to reschedule.

11004.3 Review and Verification of Eligibility 
Requirements

As part of the formal application process, use the parent/
caretaker  parents /caretakers interview to review and verify
eligibility requirements. This interview will always include
an evaluation of the parent/caretaker  parents/caretakers need
for child care and, as appropriate, a determination of
financial eligibility. Section 11003, Eligibility Requirements,
provides guidance for this review.

When a parent/caretaker makes a contact to inquire
about child care, ask the following questions of the parent/
caretaker to determine and verify need (these questions
follow the eligibility requirements noted in Section 11003
and match CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub system need
codes in the CCMIS User Manual, Section 9.8).

A. Is the parent/caretaker employed or in do they need
of child care to accept employment?  (Category 12 for Non-
Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS E&T) TANF
employed or Category 31 if not on TANF)?  The caretaker
must be part of the TANF grant to be a Category 12.

B. Is the parent/caretaker a former AFDC recipient
who is now employed and no longer receiving AFDC
because of this employment (Category 13 TCC)? Is the
parent a TANF Employment and Training  participant and
needs care to participate in a TANF Employment and
Training activity? (Category 11)

C. Is the parent/caretaker a Food Stamp Employment
& Training (FS E&T) participant?  (Remember, for a
caretaker to be a Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS
E&T) - AFDC participant, she/he must be part of the AFDC
grant.  This is Category 11 or 21.)

D. Is the parent/caretaker a self-initiated participant
(Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS E&T), –
AFDC)TANF, or a volunteer (Food Stamp) for mandatory or
voluntary Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS E&T)?
(This includes is Categories 11 or 21.)

E. Is the parent/caretaker enrolled in and regularly
attending a training program or going to school? (Category
31)?

F. Is a special needs child or parent/caretaker in the
household?  (Category 31) ?

G. Is there a protective referral from Family Services?
(Category 31)?

H. If the parent/caretaker meets a Category 13 or 31
need, is their the family income equal to or below 200
percent of the federal poverty level needs?

Use the appropriate documents identified in Section
11004.2 to verify the need for service.  However, verification
will not delay authorization of service in the event
documentation is not immediately available.  See Section
11004.3.1 Service Priorities, to determine what may delay
service. Authorize service while allowing parent/caretakers
parents/caretakers ten days to provide the appropriate
verification.  If the client is applying for services the system
will automatically determine eligibility for Presumptive
Child Care.  The system will generate the appropriate
notices, request the information and end date the
authorization. If the client does not meet
Presumptivepresumptive requirements and fails to provide
requested information the system will close the case and give
appropriate notice. (For more detail on Presumptive Child
Care see section 11004.8) If after this time documentation is
not provided, send the parent/caretaker the Failure to
Provide Information Closing letter (CCMIS letter 4020)
informing the parent/caretaker that services will end (see
Section 11004.2 for details).

Place the appropriate category and service need in
the marked boxes of the Child Care Screening Application
(Form 600).

11004.3.1 Service Priorities
In addition to the eligibility questions in Section

11004.3, determine if the applicant meets a priority for
service.  If the applicant has a need, but is not a service
priority, services may be delayed.  Delay services by placing
non-service priority applicants on a waiting list while
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authorizing service for those who are a priority.  The
following families qualify for priority service:

A. Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS E&T) -
AFDC participants in approved Food Stamp Employment &
Training (FS E&T) components  TANF recipients who are
Workfare mandatory and not working (Category 11);

B. Non- Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS
E&T) families in Child Care TANF recipients who are
working; (Category 12);

C. families who qualify for Transitional Child Care in
Category 13;

D C. families qualifying for child care services
under the Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS E&T)
program in an approved Food Stamp Employment &
Training (FS E&T) - AFDC component Individuals
receiving FS who are mandatory E&T participants;
(Category 21);

E D. Families in Category 31 with the following
need for service:

1. teen parents who attend high school or ABE or
GED programs,

2. special needs parent/caretaker or child, and
3. homeless families as defined in Section

11003.7.2; 
4. families who meet the 75% of FPL criteria in

Section 11004.7
F. E. protective children as referred by Family

Services up to the number agreed upon between DSS and
Family Services.

Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers in the above
circumstances will continue to receive child care services as
long as they meet the service need and they continue to meet
program requirements, e.g., they continue in Food Stamp
Employment & Training (FS E&T).

11004.4 Child Care Certificates
As part of the formal application process, inform all

parent/caretakers parents/caretakers of their right to choose a
child care provider. Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers may
elect to use a provider under contract with DSS or elect to
receive a child care certificate. The child care certificate
allows parent/caretakers parents/caretakers to select any
licensed non-contract provider or license-exempt provider.
The child care certificate is part of a package of information
provided to parent/caretakers parents/caretakers as part of
the formal application process.  It is necessary to not only
provide parent/caretakers parents/caretakers with a copy of
this package, but explain the purpose of this package and
ensure that parent/caretakers parents/caretakers reasonably
understand its contents.

11004.4.1 Explanation of Certificates
Use the following as a guide to explain the child care

certificate package.
A. Parents/caretakers Parent/caretakers can use this

package to select a child care provider of their choice.
However, they must select care that is legal.  Legal care is
care that is licensed or that is exempt from licensing
requirements.

B. Licensed Care:  In Delaware, all family child care
homes, group homes, and child care centers must have a
license to operate. Do not allow a parent to select an
unlicensed family, group, or center child care provider.

C. License-exempt Care: The following provider types
are exempt from licensing requirements in Delaware:

1. persons who come into the child's own home to
care for the parent/caretaker's child,

2. relatives who provide care in their home for the
parent/caretaker's child;

3. public or private school care,
4. preschools and kindergarten care, and
5. before and after school care programs.
Though the above provider types are exempt from

licensing requirements, they are still required to meet certain
health and safety standards.  These standards are:

1. maintaining documentation of the child's
immunization record,

2. safe and clean building premises,
3. providers and those 18 and older who live

in the home where care is being provided must not have any
record of child abuse or neglect (do not allow persons to
provide care where there is a known record of abuse or
neglect), and

4. relatives who provide care cannot be part
of the welfare grant.

D. Once parents/caretakers parent/caretakers know the
appropriate provider to select, they also need to know how
DSS will pay for the care provided.  DSS has established
rates above which it will not pay (see Appendix II for current
reimbursement rates).

Parents/caretakers Parent/caretakers will need to
know these rates and whether or not the provider is willing to
accept them.  If the provider is willing, the certificate will act
just like a DSS contract and DSS will pay the provider
directly less any child care fee.  If the provider is not willing,
the parent/caretaker will self-arrange care with the individual
provider.

If the provider contracted purchase of care slots are
full, the provider may offer the parent/caretaker the option of
receiving service as a purchase of care plus client. The
provider then receives the regular DSS subsidy from the
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Division, the DSS determined parent fee and any additional
fee determined by the provider from the parent/caretaker.

If the provider is not willing to accept purchase of
care plus, the parent/caretaker will self-arrange care with the
individual provider. The parent/caretaker will pay the
provider and submit an original receipt to DSS for
reimbursement. The parent/caretaker, however, will only
receive reimbursement up to the DSS statewide limit.

E. The provider will need to complete and return the
original copy of the actual child care certificate before Case
Managers can authorize care. Relative and non-relative
providers will also complete and return the Child Abuse/
Neglect History Clearance Form or forms for all members 18
and older living in the home. If this form is not returned,
discontinue care.  Other exempt providers will need to keep
a completed child/abuse and criminal history declaration
statement on file for each child care staff member.

F. Service will not be delayed because of an
incomplete child abuse clearance check, but remind parents/
caretakers parent/caretakers that DSS will not pay for care if,
after authorization, the check should reveal a history of
abuse or neglect.

G. Allow parents/caretakers parent/caretakers one
month to use a certificate.  If the certificate is not used within
that time, it no longer remains valid and the parents/
caretakers parent/caretakers will need to obtain a new
certificate if they still wish to receive service.

H. The original copy of the child care certificate is
completed and returned by the provider.  The certificate
package provides instructions for completion.  The provider
should keep a copy.

I. The client has 60 days from confirmation of
eligibility to provide the DSS Case Manager with the name
of his/her provider. If the client fails to provide this
information his/her case will close.

8 DE Reg 1153 (2/1/05)

11004.5 Determination Of Eligibility
DSS programmed the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub

system to make eligibility decisions.  As Case Managers
enter the appropriate parent/caretaker information, the
CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub system will notify Case
Managers whether they can proceed to authorize service.  As
a case is determined either eligible or ineligible, use the
appropriate letter of the CCMIS letter function  the DCIS II
Child Care Sub system will send the appropriate notice to
inform the parent/caretaker of the DSS child care eligibility
decision.  Letters are not automatically generated by the
CCMIS; therefore, ensure they complete this step.  Parent/
caretakers Parents/caretakers, whether ineligible eligible or

not, will always receive a written decision regarding their
official request for child care services.

11004.6 Child Care Eligibility Screening Application
Complete a an Child Care Eligibility Screening

Application  Application for Child Care Assistance for all
parent/caretakers parents/caretakers before authorizing child
care services.  The information from this form becomes the
basis upon which child care services are authorized.
Therefore, the information should be as complete and
accurate as possible.  It is important for the parent/caretaker
requesting service to sign this application.  Their signature
represents their official request for service.  If a face-to-face
interview is not conducted to obtain the information to
complete the application, obtain the parent/caretaker
signature on the application at the earliest opportunity after
service is authorized.  Do not allow parent/caretakers
parents/caretakers to receive services beyond one month
without having a signed application on file.

When it is necessary to authorize new child care
services to parent/caretakers parents/caretakers because of a
category change (such as parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers going from a Category 11 to 13 31), it is not
necessary to have parent/caretakers parents/caretakers
complete a new child care screening application.  This
enables DSS to maintain the concept of seamless service.

11004.8   Creation Of A Case In The CCMIS  
Presumptive Child Care Services

It will not be possible to complete a child care
application until a case is created in the CCMIS.  Only by
creating a case is it possible to authorize and allow payment
for child care services.  If the CCMIS is not functioning
when the parent/caretaker is interviewed, manually complete
the information needed to create a case and authorize care,
and enter the information into the CCMIS at the earliest
opportunity.  The beginning date for service in this instance
will be the actual interview date or the date the parent/
caretaker needs service to begin.  Follow the Client
Management Section of the CCMIS User Manual.

In creating a case, observe the following rules.
A. The first person entered in the case is the casehead,

e.g parent/caretaker.
B. Complete a search of the Master Client Index

(MCI) for each participant before initiating new records (see
the User Manual for instructions).  If clients are not currently
receiving DSS benefits, ask if clients ever received benefits
in the past. This will assist the MCI search.

C. Register each participant (i.e. parent/caretaker or
child) who is not already registered in the Master Client
Index.
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D. CCMIS data screens have required data fields.
These fields are "starred" on the CCMIS data screens.  It is
necessary to complete the data for these fields before the
system will allow case processing to proceed.

E. When entering a "new" case, enter an "N" for
Action Type (see the User Manual for coding instructions).

F. Review dates for new cases on the CASE
INFORMATION screen should have a maximum time
period of six months from the date of application (use end of
month dates, e.g. January 31).  Time periods can be for less
time, but must never exceed six months.  This date does not
correspond to the authorization ending date, but is used for
Case Manager worklisting purposes.  The next review period
is the time during which redetermination of parent/caretaker
eligibility is done to ensure that child care services can either
continue or should close.

G. DSS programmed the CCMIS to allow for entry of
information related to category and need at the child level
instead of the case level.  DSS did this to enable Case
Managers to split children into different categories when all
the children from the same household cannot be placed into
one category.

EXAMPLE:  Two children are in the home, one
child is part of the AFDC grant and can receive care under
Category 12 and the other child in the home is not part of the
AFDC grant.  The parent/caretaker also needs child care for
this child.  By entering information at the child level, it is
possible to place this child into a Category 31 and spilt the
two children by category for funding purposes.

Case Managers, therefore, determine category and
need based on the parent/caretaker's circumstances, but enter
this information in the CCMIS at the level of the child.

 H. It is not possible to add income sources or
employers for active DCIS cases (i.e. open in AFDC or Food
Stamps).  However, it is possible to adjust wages or other
income sources.  Remember it is from these income sources
that the CCMIS will determine financial eligibility and fees.
Case Managers should make every effort, therefore, to
ensure this information is accurate.

I. Once all appropriate casehead information has been
entered, add the "child" participant(s) to the case.  Add child
participant(s) in the same way as the casehead.  However,
enter information related to category and need, and the fee
waived reason (if the fee is to be waived), at the child level
for this information to register in the CCMIS.  If this is a
Category 11 or 12 case, the CCMIS waives the fee
automatically.

Presumptive Child Care is a limited one to two month
eligibility period and authorization for child care.  This will
be automatically generated when a mandatory verification

field is in the “pending verification” status and the parent/
caretaker did not receive Child Care in the previous month.

When the case is entered into the DCIS II Child Care
Sub system and the status is pending due to verification
needed, the system automatically calculates the 10 day
period allowed for the return of necessary information. If the
case is entered and the 10 day calculation falls prior to
adverse action, the system will generate an authorization for
the current month only.  If the case is entered and the 10 day
calculation falls after adverse action the system will generate
an authorization for the current month and the next month
only.  Eligibility will be denied after the presumptive period
if the client does not return the necessary information.  It will
be necessary to change the appropriate fields and check
verified if the client returns the necessary information. The
system will generate the appropriate notices.

If a client was opened in Presumptive Child Care or
denied Presumptive Child Care in the previous
determination, Presumptive Child Care will not be issued.

11004.9 Authorizing Service
See Administrative Notice: A-7-99 Child Care Issues 
Once a case is created, service must be authorized

before parent/caretakers parents/caretakers can receive
subsidized child care.  Authorization is both the name for the
form (618d) and the process to grant parent/caretakers
parents/caretakers child care services (see Section 11002.9
for definition).

Complete a separate authorization for each child who is
eligible to receive child care services.  Therefore, if there is
more than one child in a family who needs service, complete
separate authorizations for each child.  Complete an
authorization by creating one in the CCMIS DCIS II Child
Care Sub system.  Again, as when entering a case, CCMIS
in DCIS II authorization data screens have required data
fields which are  "starred." highlighted.  Complete these data
fields before proceeding.  Follow the rules below in creating
authorizations.

A. Obtain provider information before completing an
authorization.  This means that if parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers wish to select a provider by using a child care
certificate, they must have the certificate returned before an
authorization can be issued.

B. Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers can only
choose providers who are either self-arranged, licensed
exempt or who can be matched to existing information in the
Site Referral function of the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub
system.,  If the provider selected has a contract with DSS,
this provider will be listed in the CCMIS  DCIS II under the
Site Referral section.  Access these providers through their
site ID# or site search.  Finally, if parent/caretakers parents/
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caretakers use a certificate and they select a contracted
provider, consider this as contracted care even though the
parent/caretaker used a certificate.

C. When parent/caretakers parents/caretakers wish to
self-arrange child care, ensure the parent submits the
information on the Self-Arranged Provider Agreement and
Registration Form. When parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers wish to arrange certificate child care, ensure the
parent submits the information on the Child Care Certificate
Provider Agreement and Registration Form. Send the
appropriate form to the Child Care Monitor for CCMIS
processing.  The monitor will notify the Case Manager when
the information is data entered.

D. When the monitor notifies the Case Manager that
data has been entered in CCMIS, enter effective and
expiration dates on the authorization. Effective dates will
always start when service is due to begin. In most cases,
service will begin either the same day the authorization is
completed or on a date in the near future. However, there
may be occasions when service will begin prior to the actual
date of the child care interview.

EXAMPLE 1:  The TANF parent who self-initiates
a Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS E&T) training or
education component.  In this case, make the authorization
effective as of the date the parent started the component
activity if the parent needed child care for the activity.  and
was financially eligible.

EXAMPLE 2:  When a Child Care Case Manager
receives a protective referral from Family Services after
child care services have already started.

EXAMPLE 3:  A parent/caretaker who has already
obtained child care, but who meets the eligibility criteria for
Transitional Child Care, e.g. the parent/caretaker's AFDC
case closed because of employment, they are now getting
child care on their own, but did not realize until now that
they could qualify for TCC.

The ending date for the authorization period means
the last day for which Case Managers can authorize care.
The authorization period will differ depending upon the
child care category can not exceed the recertification date.
This is for all categories of care.

1. For categories 11, 12, and 21 child care,
authorize care for periods of up to one year.

2. For Category 13, Transitional Child Care,
authorize care for the parent/caretaker's entire eligibility
period up to a maximum of 12 months.

NOTE:  Eligibility for TCC begins the first month
after the closing of the AFDC case and extends for 12
consecutive months.

3. For Category 31 child care, authorize care for
periods of up to six months or less depending upon the
parent/caretaker's circumstances.

Though care can be authorized for periods greater than
six months, it is still necessary to review each child care case
at least every six months to ensure that the parent/caretaker
remains eligible for services.

As noted above, the ending date will always be the
last day of the month of the authorization period.

EXAMPLE:  A Category 11, 12, or 21 case has an
effective date of January 17 and an ending date of December
31 of the same year, the last day of the one year authorization
period.

F. E. Ensure that service is authorized only for the
days and hours that parent/caretakers parents/caretakers
actually need care.  Therefore, only enter the following on
the DCIS II Child Care Authorization Detail screens.
authorization:

1. the appropriate number of days per week that
parent/caretakers parents/caretakers will need care, for
example 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 days;

2. the appropriate type of care needed, half-day
(P), full-day (X), day and a half (T), or two full days (D)
(supervisory approval is necessary for T and D care);

3. whether absent days are paid (absent days
correspond to the number of authorized days, however, when
care is self-arranged, DSS pays only for the days the child
attends care).  If a client is authorized for 7 days s/he does
not receive paid absent days;

4. whether extended care is authorized; and
5. whether school care is authorized.
Refer to the User Manual to enter the appropriate

codes.
G. When completing authorizations for Food Stamp

Employment & Training (FS E&T) participants (Categories
11 or 21), complete the Employment and Training type and
the Employment and Training component fields of the
authorization screen.  Employment and Training type refers
to whether the participant is mandatory or a volunteer.
Components refer to participant activities.  The User Manual
contains the appropriate codes.

H.F. The remaining fields (Category, Waive Fee
Reason, Family Size, and Family Income) of the
authorization screen are system completed, depending upon
the information previously entered. on the CHILD CARE
CASE INFORMATION screen.  The authorization is now
complete.  Press the appropriate key to post the authorization
in the system.  Click the ‘save’ button.  Complete separate
authorizations if there are more children who need care.
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11004.9.1 Changing Authorizations
Complete a change to an existing authorization

whenever a situation occurs within the authorization period
which requires a change to the parent/caretaker's situation.
The CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub system defines this as a
Change Authorization. Examples of when Change
Authorizations occur are:

A. a change in the authorized level of service, for
example number of days, type of service, absent days, etc.;

B. a change of provider;
C. a change in category;
D. a change in parent/caretaker need;
E. a change in family size;
F. a change in income; or
G. a change in the child care fee.

To make any changes necessary to the current
Authorization, navigate to the Child Care Authorization
Details II screen, make the change and re-run SFU/EDBC.

Change Authorizations always affect future events,
meaning the change will affect future transactions (i.e.,
future payments for child care).

If the change, however, needs to be made to old
transactions (authorizations for which DSS already made
payment), complete a "Correct Transaction". See the Correct
Transaction Section of the User Manual. The Correct
Transaction function will, however, only affect positive
changes, meaning the change caused an increase in service
or a change in the child care fee, thereby increasing the
provider payment.  If the change were negative, meaning a
decrease in service, process as an overpayment. 

When changes to an authorization cause a decrease in
parent/caretaker service (e.g., less care, increase in fee), DSS
considers this a negative change.  According to the CCMIS
DCIS II Child Care Sub system, negative changes will occur
the first day of the next month.  Provide the parent/caretaker
with adequate and timely notice whenever such a negative
change occurs.  DSS programmed the CCMIS DCIS II Child
Care Sub system to allow for timely notice.  Therefore, any
negative change will not cause a change to the authorization
unless sufficient time remains in the current month for Case
Managers to send the parent/caretaker notice of this change.
If there is not sufficient time, the change will not occur until
the first day of the month following the next month.

EXAMPLE:  On January 20, Case Manager X is
notified by parent Y of an increase in parent Y's income.
Case Manager X posts the adjusted income to the ACTIVE
CLIENT EMPLOYMENT SUMMARY DCIS II income
screen. (enter an "X" for Change on the CHILD CARE
CASE INFORMATION screen).

The adjusted income will increase the child care fee on
the authorization, which is a negative change (i.e., parent Y

will have to pay a higher fee).  Since this change occurs after
January 20 (change does not occur until the next work day),
the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub system will not make
parent Y's new fee effective until March 1. Case Manager X
The DCIS II Child Care Sub system sends parent Y a letter
notifying parent Y of the higher fee. (see the Letter function
in the User Manual).

NOTE:  The CCMIS does not automatically produce
letters.  Case Managers must complete this function.

DSS considers changes which increase the level of
parent/caretaker service (e.g., increase in the number of
days, reduction in fee) a positive change.  The CCMIS DCIS
II Child Care Sub system is programmed to allow positive
client changes to occur the first day of the current month.

A neutral change, like a change in category, will
generally take place the first day of the next month.
However, some category changes, going from a Category 11
or 12 (no fee) to a Category 13 31 will cause a negative
change.  The parent/caretaker will now have to pay a fee.

EXAMPLE:  Parent Y who was a Food Stamp
Employment & Training (FS E&T) TANF participant and a
Category 11 obtains a job.  The job causes parent Y's TANF
case to close.  Parent Y can no longer get Category 11 child
care, but qualifies for Category 11 31.31, TCC.  Complete a
Change Authorization to do a category change. Enter new
income in the DCIS II income screens. Parent Y's TANF
case is due to close on January 31, but the change is not
completed until after January 21.  Notify parent Y of the
TANF closing.  Verify parent Y's request for TCC and then
make the category change from 11 to 13.  Notify parent Y of
the new child care fee.  The category change takes place as
of March 1. The DCIS II Child Care Sub system will
automatically change the category code from 11 to 31, and
give notice once the client is no longer eligible for TANF but
continues to be eligible under category 31.

The expiration dates for Change Authorizations will
remain the same as on the original authorization.

Correct Transactions
If a change needs to be made to an old transaction

(authorizations for which DSS already made payment), go to
the Correct Transaction screen.  The Correct Transaction
function is located in DCIS II Child Care Sub system.
Correct transactions can only be completed for positive
changes, meaning the change caused an increase in service
or a change in the child care fee, thereby increasing the
provider payment.  The only areas that can be changed on a
transaction are:

A. family size increase
B. income decrease
C. waive fee code added
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D. absent days change from no to yes
E. extended care changes from no to yes
F. days per week
G. type of day 

Case Managers can only make corrections in the above
areas to transactions created within the last 3 months.
Supervisors may make changes in the above areas to any
past transaction. Changes to transactions that are not editable
(not listed above) will have to be referred to the Child Care
Monitors.

If the change was negative, meaning a decrease in
services, process an overpayment.

11004.11 Review/Determination
See Administrative Notice: A-7-99 Child Care Issues 
Authorizations remain effective for the entire

authorization period as long as parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers continue to meet the requirements for service
(such as the parent/caretaker remains a Food Stamp
Employment & Training (FS E&T) participant, keeps
employment, remains income eligible, etc.).  At least once
every six months and just prior to the end of each
authorization period, review/redetermine the circumstances
of each parent/caretaker to see if child care services can
continue.  The review/redetermination process will differ for
each child care category.

A. For Category 11, 12, and 21 child care cases,
perform the following every six months:

1. review each Category 11 and 21 case to ensure
the parent/caretaker is still active with Food Stamp
Employment & Training (FS E&T) by having the parent/
caretaker provide some proof they are a Food Stamp
Employment & Training (FS E&T) participant;

2. review each Category 12 case to ensure that the
parent/caretaker is still employed by having the parent/
caretaker provide some proof of employment.

For this review, It will not always be necessary to
schedule parent/caretakers parents/caretakers for a face-to-
face interview or to repeat the application process.  As long
as parent/caretakers parents/caretakers provide some proof
that they remain employed, a Food Stamp or TANF
Employment & Training (FS E&T) participant or, remain an
employed TANF recipient, and verify income or special
needs and remain income eligible, they remain eligible for
child care services.  However, at least once per year,
schedule parent/caretakersparents/caretakers for a face-to-
face interview.

Prior to the end of each authorization period, not only
complete the review described above, but also complete a
new authorization under Action Type "R" for

redetermination and set new dates for the next authorization
period.

Because parent/caretakers receiving Category 11, 12,
and 21 child care can receive child care as long as they meet
requirements, Do not allow an authorization to end or close a
case without first providing parent/caretakers with timely
and adequate notice.  Do not simply send Category 11, 12,
and 21 families a redetermination notice and then close a
case if there is no response to this notice (i.e. they either fail
to keep an appointment or fail to provide requested
information).  Send a separate ten day closing notice to
parent/caretakers who fail without good cause to keep an
appointment or provide proof of information about Food
Stamp Employment & Training (FS E&T) or employment.
If after ten days there is no response, close the case at the end
of the current month.  However, if the ten days extends into
the next month, the case will not close until the end of the
following month.

EXAMPLE:  A parent fails to keep a redetermination
interview scheduled for January 21.  Send a notice advising
the parent that child care will end February 28, the end of the
following month.

If parent/caretakers parents/caretakers fail to show for a
recertification interview or fail to provide necessary
documentation, close the Child Care case.  If the parents/
caretakers provide good cause for their failure to act, and the
case has not closed, continue service. If the case has closed
complete the redetermination and backdate to the first day of
the month the authorization would have begun.

Good cause can be anything believed to be reasonable,
but generally includes things such as:

1. illness;
2. court required appearance;
3. a household emergency (fire, heating problem,

family crisis, etc.);
4. lack of transportation; or
5. bad weather.
Do not allow an authorization to end or close a case

without first providing ensuring the parent/caretakers
parents/caretakers with were given timely and adequate
notice.  

If it is believed that good cause does not exist, but the
parent/caretaker requests a fair hearing, close the case after
proper notice.  Child care services for Category 11, 12, and
21 do not continue pending the outcome of a fair hearing.

If a Category 11, 12, or 21 case is closed without
providing timely and adequate notice, it is to be
administratively reopened to ensure uninterrupted service.

B. For Category 13 child care cases, at least every six
months:
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1. review each Category 13 case to ensure the
parent/caretakers are still employed by having them provide
some proof of employment;

2. review income and family size information to
determine income eligibility and to reset the child care fee (if
income changes the fee, do a Change Authorization to set a
new fee);

3. complete a new Child Care Payment
Agreement Form resulting from a change in fee;

NOTE:  If the fee increases, the new fee will not
take effect until proper notice is given.  When the Change
Authorization is completed, the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care
Subsystem will determine whether the change can occur the
first day of the next month or the first day of the month
following the next month.

4. close the parent/caretaker if income is over the
200 percent of poverty limit.

NOTE:  Give proper notice.  If unable to give ten
day notice of the closing before the end of the month, then
the case will not close until the last day of the next month.

For this initial review, it will not be necessary to
conduct a face-to-face interview or to repeat the application
process.  However, parent/caretakers will have to submit
documentation for Case Managers to verify employment and
income.

Prior to the end of the TCC authorization period,
send parent/caretakers an appointment letter for a
redetermination interview.  At this appointment, redetermine
the parent/caretaker's eligibility for service as a Category 31
child care case.  Service cannot continue if the parent/
caretakers fail to meet Category 31 eligibility requirements.

If parent/caretakers fail, without good cause, to either
provide proof of employment and income or to keep their
appointment, follow the notice requirements noted above
regarding Category 11, 12, and 21 cases.  Note the following
difference:  TCC services can continue pending a fair
hearing request, but only within the 12 month limitation.

Parent/caretakers whose TCC eligibility ends, but who
meet requirements for Category 31 child care, can continue
receiving child care.  Complete a new authorization under
Action Type "R" for redetermination.  Complete a category
change and set a new authorization period.  Since this is now
a Category 31 case, the authorization period should now be
six months.

C. For Category 31 child care cases, perform the
following at least every six months:

See Administrative Notice: A-7-99 Child Care Issues
1. complete a redetermination by scheduling

parent/caretakers for a redetermination interview and
requesting parent/caretakers to provide verification of need
and income;

2. at the redetermination interview, redetermine
eligibility using the criteria in Section 11003, Eligibility
Requirements;

3. update case information (it will not be
necessary for the parent/caretaker to complete a new
application);

4. update the child care fee by reviewing income
and family size;

5. complete a new Child Care Payment
Agreement Form;

NOTE: Complete a new form whether the fee
changes or not.  Also, if the fee increases, the fee will not
take effect until proper notice is given. Do not use the
approval letter in the CCMIS to notify parent/caretakers of
the fee change.  Use instead the Child Care Approval Letter
after Redetermination (Form 629).

6. complete a new authorization under Action
Type "R" for redetermination and set new dates for the
authorization or close the case if the parent/caretaker is no
longer eligible.

Parent/caretakers who fail without good cause to
keep their redetermination interview, or who do not provide
verification of need and income, will have their child care
case close.  Though there is no requirement in Category 31
cases to provide parent/caretakers with notice of this closing,
send a Generic Closing Letter (Form 630), to the parent/
caretaker.  State the reason for the closing on this form.

In situations where good cause is believed (such as
a parent/caretaker calls the Case Manager with this
information), or where the parent/caretaker is unable to keep
the interview appointment due to illness, it is possible to do a
redetermination for one month to allow the parent/caretaker
time for another interview.

Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers whose child care
case closes because of their failure to keep a redetermination
interview or provide verification of need and income may
request a fair hearing.  Child care services, however, will not
continue past the authorization end date.

In the event the agency errs in not completing a
redetermination before a parent/caretaker's current
authorization expires (such as change of Case Manager
causes no redetermination letter to go out), still do a
redetermination authorization, backdated to the first day of
the month the new authorization would have begun had the
agency not erred.

Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers whose child care
cases close because they failed to keep a redetermination or
provide verification, can reapply for service (see instructions
for reopening a case in the User Manual).  However, if DSS
is in a "wait list" situation, these parent/caretakers parents/
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 195
caretakers will be subject to DSS' priority service order (see
Section 11004.3.1).

11004.12 Closing Cases
A parent/caretaker's authorization for service should end

when any of the following occurs:
A. the parent/caretaker need no longer exists,
B. the parent/caretaker's income exceeds income

limits,
C. the parent/caretaker fails to pay the child care fee

fees or fails to make arrangements to pay past fees owed,
D. the parent/caretaker refuses to provide requested

information or verification of eligibility,
E. the parent/caretaker is a Food Stamp Employment

& Training (FS E&T) participant who is sanctioned,
F. a protective case fails to follow the Division of

Family Services case plan,
G. a TCC parent/caretaker quits a job without good

reason,
H.G. at the request of the parent/caretaker, and
I.H. if program funds should be reduced,  ,and,
I. if a parent/caretaker is a TANF child care

participant who is sanctioned.
When a case needs to be closed due to one of the above

reasons, complete the Close Case function in the CCMIS
(see instructions for closing cases in the User Manual).

When closing cases for Categories 11, 12, 13, and 21,
send the appropriate closing notice which provides a ten day
notice.  (see discussion above in Section 11004.11).  Even
though DSS programmed the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care
Sub system to allow for ten day notice before an
authorization closes. , and informs the participant of his/her
right to a Fair Hearing., separately send the notice through
the CCMIS letter function.  For Category 31 cases, send a
Generic Closing Letter (Form 630).  State the reason for the
closing on this form.

When parent/caretakers make a request to close their
case, allow a minimum of five care days to notify providers
of the case closing.  Again the CCMIS is programmed to
make allowance for this time.

When a case and the authorization is closed the system
will end date the case and authorization the last day of the
current month or the next month if 10 day notice can not be
given.

11005.2 Parent/Caretaker Responsibilities
A. Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers have the

responsibility to give accurate information to Case Managers
concerning their financial status and their need for service.

Failure to provide requested and accurate information could
lead to a denial and/or termination of service.

B. Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers have the
responsibility to report changes in their financial status and
need for service as these changes occur.  Failure to do so
could lead to termination of service.

C. Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers have the
responsibility to pay their assessed child care fee. Parent/
caretakers Parents/caretakers pay the fee directly to the
provider at a schedule determined by the provider.  Providers
have the right to deny service to parent/caretakers parents/
caretakers who fail to pay their fees.

D. Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers have the
responsibility to abide by the provider's rules and procedures
regarding the operation of their child care facility.  Failure to
do so could lead to termination from the provider's program.
(Such a termination will not cause termination from DSS'
subsidized child care services, but can make it difficult for
DSS to locate another placement.)

E. Parent/caretakers Parents/caretakers have the
responsibility to reimburse DSS for any payments made on
their behalf for which they were not eligible.  DSS has the
right to recoup such overpayments.  In cases where fraud is
suspected, recovery must be attempted.

11005.3 Child Care Case Records
Child care case records are maintained in accordance

with DSSM policies as noted in Section 1000 under the
heading Administration. However, ensure that child care
case records contain, at a minimum, the following
information:

A. a copy of the Child Care Screening Application
Application for Child Care Assistance (Form 600);

B. verification of child care need, such as pay stubs
and/or employer letter, school or training registration, special
needs form;

C. verification of income, such as pay stubs or
employer letter;

D. as applicable, documentation of a request for
Transitional Child Care services;

E.D. a copy of the Child Care Payment Agreement
(Form 601b); and

F.E. any information pertinent to the child care
case, such as protective referral, etc.

Authorizations, client notices, and other pertinent case
information is contained in the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care
Sub system.  The CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub system is
considered an electronic case file and, therefore, equally or
more valuable as the manual record.  Maintain both the
manual file as well as the electronic file in an up-to-date
manner.
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*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Division of Social
Services is available at:

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dss/index.html

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18 DE Admin. Code 703

Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,
Sections 311, 2304, 2307 and 2312 

(18 Del.C. §§311, 2034, 2307, 2312)

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN
hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING will be held
on Thursday September 1, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. in the
Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware. The hearing is to receive public comment in
Docket No. 2005-34, proposed Regulation 703 relating to
PROHIBITED PRACTICES RELATED TO THE
NONRENEWAL OF RESIDENTIAL HOMEOWNERS
POLICIES.

The purpose for proposing Regulation 703 is to prohibit
insurance companies from terminating or nonrenewing
residential homeowners real and personal property insurance
policies under circumstances where a policyholder merely
makes an inquiry about the policy or how claims are handled
by the insurer.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 18
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or
may be presented orally at the hearing. Written comments,
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed
change to the regulation must be received by the Department
of Insurance no later than 9:00 a.m., Thursday September 1,
2005, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, or sent by fax to
302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us.

703 Prohibited Practices Related to the Nonrenewal of 
Residential Homeowners Policies

1.0 Authority
This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner

pursuant to the authority granted by 18 Del.C. §§311, 2304,
2307 and 2312, and promulgated in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter
101.

2.0 Scope
This regulation applies to homeowners insurance, as

defined herein.

3.0 Definitions
“Homeowners policy” or “homeowners insurance”

means property insurance, as defined at 18 Del.C. §4103(4)d
and 4120, insuring any real or personal property used by a
person as a permanent or temporary place of residence.

“Inquiry” means any contact initiated by an insured
that is not the filing or reporting of a claim to an insurer.

“Insurer” shall have the meaning assigned to it at 18
Del.C. §102(3)

“Nonrenew” shall have the meaning assigned to it at 18
Del.C. §4121(c).

“Predicate unfair trade practice” shall mean an act
which shall constitute part of the pattern of acts necessary to
show activity occurring with sufficient frequency to
constitute an unfair trade practice under 18 Del.C.
§2304(16).

4.0 Inquiries
An insurer that considers an inquiry regarding (1) a

homeowners policy or (2) a loss under that policy to be a
claim for purposes of making underwriting decisions,
including but not limited to decisions to nonrenew a policy,
shall have engaged in a predicate unfair trade practice.

5.0 Nonrenewal
An insurer that nonrenews a homeowners policy solely

on the basis of claims asserted against that policy shall have
engaged in a predicate unfair trade practice, provided that it
shall not constitute a predicate unfair trade practice for an
insurer to nonrenew a policy:

5.1 on the basis of claims asserted against that policy if
the claim or claims demonstrate that there has been a
substantial change or increase in the hazard or in the risk
assumed by the carrier subsequent to the date the policy was
issued and such nonrewnal is applied to other homeowners
policies similarly situated; or
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5.2 on the basis of the consumer’s refusal or failure to
make necessary or material changes or repairs resulting from
a notice by the insurer that failure to make such changes or
repairs will constitute a breach of contractual duties,
conditions or warranties that will change or increase in the
hazard or in the risk assumed by the carrier subsequent to the
date the policy was issued.

6.0 Non-Exclusive Remedy
Nothing in this regulation shall limit the

Commissioner’s authority under 18 Del.C. §2307(a) to
determine that acts which are not specifically enumerated in
Title 18 of the Delaware Code constitute unfair trade
practices.

7.0 Severability
If any provision of this Regulation or the application of

any such provision to and person or circumstance shall be
held invalid the remainder of such provisions, and the
application of such provision to any person or circumstance
other than those as to which it is held invalid, shall not be
affected.

8.0 Prior Bulletins
This Regulation shall supersede Insurance Department

Form and Rates Bulletin No. 28, issued January 20, 2004.

9.0 Effective Date
This Regulation shall become effective October 11,

2005.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18 DE Admin. Code 907

Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,
Sections 310, 311, 2301 et seq. 2501 et. seq. 

(18 Del.C. §§310, 311, 2301et seq. 2501 et. seq.)

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

907 Records Relating To Consumer Complaints

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN
hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING will be held
on Thursday September 6, 2005 at 10:30 a.m. (or as soon
thereafter as possible) in the Consumer Services Conference
Room of the Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. The hearing is to receive
public comment in Docket No. 2005-35, proposed

Regulation 907 relating to RECORDS RELATING TO
CONSUMER COMPLAINTS.

The purpose for proposing Regulation 907 is to
establish a method by which founded consumer complaints
against an insurer can be recorded, tracked and such records
be made available to the public.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 18
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or
may be presented orally at the hearing. Written comments,
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed
change to the regulation must be received by the Department
of Insurance no later than 9:00 a.m., Thursday September 1,
2005, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, or sent by fax to
302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us.

907 Records Relating To Consumer Complaints

1.0 Authority
This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner

pursuant to the authority granted by 18 Del.C. §§ 310, 311,
2301 et. seq. and 2501 et. seq., and promulgated in
accordance with the Delaware Administrative Procedures
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101.

2.0 Scope
Except as indicated herein, this regulation applies to all

complaints relating to insurance, as defined below.

3.0 Definitions
“Complaint” shall mean any expression of a grievance

against an insurer made in any form to the Delaware
Department of Insurance.  An allegation of insurance fraud,
as defined at 18 Del.C. §2407, shall be treated pursuant to
procedures authorized under 18 Del.C. Chapter 24 of the
Delaware Code and shall not be considered a complaint for
purposes of this regulation. Statements that contain
allegations of insurance fraud as well as complaints that
would not, if true, constitute insurance fraud shall be treated
in relevant part according to 18 Del.C. Chapter 24 and this
regulation.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Insurance.

“Founded,” with respect to a complaint, means:
• that the insurer’s act, acts, omission, or

omissions did not comply with a provision of
Title 18 of the Delaware Code, regulations
promulgated by the Department, or other
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applicable Delaware statute or regulation; or
• that the insurer’s act, acts, omission, or

omissions contravened or were inconsistent
with a rate filing, form filing, or other filing
made with the Department; or

• that the insurer’s act, acts, omission, or
omissions contravened or were inconsistent
with a provision or provisions of the
agreement to which the individual making
the complaint was a party or third party
beneficiary; or

• that the insurer’s act, acts, omission, or
omissions contravened or were inconsistent
with formal standards or practices of the
insurer which were relied upon by the
insurer in satisfying the requirements any
examination conducted by the Department ,
alone or in conjunction with the Insurance
Departments of other states.

“Insurance” shall have the meaning assigned to it at
18 Del.C. §102(2).

“Insurer” shall have the meaning assigned to it at 18
Del.C. §102(3).

4.0 Tracking of Complaints
It is the policy of the Department that Delaware

consumers should be aware of the volume and type of
founded complaints that have been resolved against insurers
with whom they do business or are contemplating doing
business under the provisions of this regulation.

5.0 Intake of Complaints
Any communication with the Department that

constitutes a complaint shall be formally recorded as such by
the Department, assigned an identifying number, and tracked
until it is resolved through one of the methods described in
Section 6.0.

6.0 Resolution of Complaints
Complaints shall be resolved in one of the following

manners:
6.1 Complaints Lacking Merit.  The Department may

determine that the complaint did not have merit in which
case it shall not be deemed to be founded.

6.2 Resolved In Favor of Consumer.  The
Department, through negotiation or mediation, may resolve a
complaint, absent any formal proceeding, with some benefit
accruing to the consumer.  Any resolution in favor of the
consumer shall be considered a complaint resolved in favor
of the consumer.

6.3 Referral for Formal Process.  The Department
may initiate a proceeding to make a formal determination as
to whether the complaint is founded.  The Department shall
provide a 60 day written notice to the insurer that the
complaint has been received and that the complaint will be
referred for a formal determination under section 7.0 of this
regulation unless the complaint is otherwise resolved within
60 days.  Absent a notice from the insurer that the complaint
is not subject to informal resolution within 60 days from the
time the insurer receives notice of the complaint, the
Department will proceed to resolve the complaint formally
or informally, in its discretion after the 60 day period without
further notice to the insurer. If, within the 60 day notice
period, the insurer notifies the Department that the matter is
not subject to resolution, such notice shall be a waiver of the
balance of the notice period and the Department can proceed
to a formal determination. Any resolution in favor of the
consumer shall be considered founded complaint. At any
time after notice or before the conclusion of a formal
proceeding, the parties shall have the right to resolve the
complaint informally under sections 6.1 and 6.2 of this
regulation.

6.4 Other. The Department shall classify complaints
resolved in a manner other than those listed in subsections
6.1 through 6.3 as “other” in which case the complaint will
not be considered founded.

7.0 Formal Determinations
If the Department initiates a proceeding to determine

whether a complaint is founded, it shall follow the
procedures outlined in 18 Del.C. §§323 through 329, and,
where consistent with those sections, shall also treat that
proceeding as a case decision under 29 Del.C. Chapter 101.
A complaint may be resolved in favor of a consumer after a
formal proceeding is initiated.  This Regulation shall not
prohibit the Commissioner from taking any action otherwise
permitted by the Delaware Code on behalf of a consumer or
consumers related to a complaint prior to the completion of
formal proceedings.

8.0 Publication of Findings
The Department shall make available to the public the

following information:
8.1 The details of each founded complaint and action

taken by the Insurance Department in response thereto, with
information related to the identify of the complaining party
deleted;

8.2 Statistical information regarding the number of
founded complaints against each insurer licensed to do
business in the State of Delaware, including information
permitting consumers to assess such statistics in the context
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of the total amount of business done in the state by each
insurer.

9.0 Severability
If any provision of this Regulation or the application of

any such provision to and person or circumstance shall be
held invalid the remainder of such provisions, and the
application of such provision to any person or circumstance
other than those as to which it is held invalid, shall not be
affected.

10.0 Prior Bulletins and Regulations
This Regulation shall supersede any prior bulletin or

regulation of the Department to the extent that such bulletin
or regulation is inconsistent with the provisions of this
Regulation.

11.0 Inconsistent Statutes
This regulation shall not apply to any type of complaint

that the Department is expressly required by the Delaware
Code to treat in a manner inconsistent with this regulation.

12.0 Effective Date
This Regulation shall become effective October 11,

2005, and information shall be made public pursuant to
Section 8.0 commencing January 1, 2006.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING

Council on Apprenticeship and Training
      Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, 

Section  202(a)  (19 Del.C. §202(a))

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Secretary of Labor in accordance with 19 Del.C.
§202(a) has proposed changes to the rules and regulations
relating to apprenticeship and training. The proposal defines
conduct that can be grounds for refusal of program
registration and the conditions for reapplication. Other
proposed changes update administrative procedures and
renumber the provisions.

A public hearing will be held before the Council on
Apprenticeship and Training (Council) at 10:00 a.m. on
September 27, 2005, in the second floor conference room at
Buena Vista State Conference Center on Route 13,  New
Castle, DE where members of the public can offer

comments. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the
proposed rule may obtain a copy from Kevin Calio,
Manager, Apprenticeship and Training, Department of
Labor, P.O. Box 9828,  4425 N. Market St., Wilmington, DE
19809-0828.  Persons wishing to submit written comments
may forward these to the Council at the above address.  The
final date to receive written comments will be at the public
hearing.

The Council will consider making a recommendation to
the Secretary at the regularly scheduled meeting following
the public hearing.

Proposed Rules and Regulations
Division of Employment and Training Apprenticeship 

Programs

106 Apprenticeship and Training Regulations

1.0 Purpose and Scope
(Formerly 106.1)
1.1 Section 204, Chapter 2, Title 19, Delaware Code

authorizes and directs the Department of Labor to formulate
regulations to promote the furtherance of labor standards
necessary to safeguard the welfare of Apprentices and to
extend the applications of such standards by requiring their
inclusion in apprenticeship contracts.

1.2 The purpose of this chapter is to set forth labor
standards to safeguard the welfare of Apprentices and to
extend the application of such standards by prescribing
policies and procedures concerning the registration of
acceptable Apprenticeship Programs with the Delaware
Department of Labor.

1.3 These labor standards and procedures cover the
Registration and Cancellation of Apprenticeship Agreements
and of Apprenticeship Programs; and matters relating
thereto. Any questions [and/or] to request a copy of
Delaware's Prevailing Wage Regulations regarding the
employment of apprentices on state-funded construction
projects must be referred to:

Delaware Department of Labor
Office of Labor Law Enforcement
4425 North Market Street
Wilmington, DE   19802
(302) 761-8200

2.0 Declaration of Policy
(Formerly 106.1)
2.1 It is declared to be the policy of this State to:

2.1.1 encourage the development of an
apprenticeship and training system through the voluntary
cooperation of management and workers and interested State
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005

http://www.delawareworks.com/default.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS200
agencies and in cooperation with other states and the federal
government;

2.1.2 provide for the establishment and
furtherance of Standards of Apprenticeship and Training to
safeguard the welfare of Apprentices and trainees;

 2.1.3 aid in providing maximum opportunities
for unemployed and employed persons to improve and
modernize their work skills; and

2.14 contribute to a healthy economy by aiding
in the development and maintenance of a skilled labor force
sufficient in numbers and quality to meet the expanding
needs of industry and to attract new industry.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

3.0 Definitions
(Formerly 106.2)
3.1 As used in this part:

"Administrator" refers to the Administrator of the
Office of Apprenticeship and Training for the State
Department of Labor.

"Agreement" refers to a written agreement
between an Apprentice and either his/her employer or an
Apprenticeship Committee acting as agent for the Employer
which contains the terms and conditions of the employment
and training of the Apprentice.

"Apprentice" refers to a person at least sixteen
years of age who is engaged in learning a recognized skilled
trade through actual work experience under the supervision
of a Journeyperson. This person must enter into a written
Apprenticeship Indenture Agreement with a registered
apprenticeship sponsor. The training must be supplemented
with properly coordinated studies of related technical
instruction. All hours worked by a registered apprentice,
while in the employ of the apprentice's sponsor, shall be
considered apprenticeship hours to be counted toward wage
progression increments and completion of his/ her on-the-job
training hours as set forth in the Apprenticeship Indenture
Agreement.

“Apprenticeship Standards" refers to the
document which embodies the procedure for the selection
and the training of apprentices, setting forth the terms of the
training, including wages, hours, conditions of employment,
training on the job, and related instruction.  The duties and
responsibilities of the Sponsor, including administrative
procedures, are set forth in their company's policies.

"BAT" refers to the U.S. Department of Labor,
Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training.

"Cancellation" refers to the deregistration of a
Program or the Termination of an Agreement.

"Committee" refers to those persons designated by
the Sponsor to act on its behalf in the administration of the

Apprenticeship Program.  A Committee may be "joint" i.e.,
it is composed of an equal number of representatives of the
employer(s) and of the employee(s) represented by a bona
fide collective bargaining agent(s)  and has been established
to conduct, operate or administer a Program and enter into
Agreements with Apprentices. A Committee may be
"unilateral" or "non-joint" and shall mean a Program
Sponsor in which a bona fide collective bargaining agent is
not a participant.

"Council" refers to the  Governor's Advisory
Council On Apprenticeship and Training.

"Delaware Resident Contractor" includes any
general contractor, prime contractor, construction manager,
subcontractor or other type of construction contractor who
regularly maintains a place of business in Delaware.
Regularly maintaining a place of business in Delaware does
not include site trailers, temporary structures associated with
one contract or set of related contracts, nor the holding, nor
the maintaining of a post office box within this State.  The
specific intention of this definition is to maintain consistency
with Title 30, Delaware Code, section 2501(3) "Resident
Contractor".

"Director" refers to the Director of the Division of
Employment and Training.

"Division" refers to the Division of Employment
and Training, Department of Labor, state of Delaware.

“Employer" refers to any person or organization
employing an Apprentice, whether or not such person or
organization is a party to an Apprenticeship Agreement.

"Journeyperson" refers to a worker who is fully
qualified as a skilled worker in a given craft or trade.

"On-site Visit" refers to a visit from a
representative of the State of Delaware, Department of
Labor, Division of Employment and Training to the office
and/or the actual field job-site of the Sponsor, for the
purposes of inspecting and/or monitoring the progress and
training of the Registered Apprentice.  This monitoring may
include but is not limited to  interviewing the Apprentice and
the auditing of pertinent documents relative to the
maintenance and enforcement of the terms of the
Apprenticeship Agreement.

"Program" refers to an executed apprenticeship
plan which contains all terms and conditions for the
qualifications, recruitment, selection, employment and
training of Apprentices, including such matters as the
requirements for a written Apprenticeship Agreement.

"Registrant or Sponsor" refers to any person,
association, committee or organization in whose name or
title the Program is (or is to be) registered or approved
regardless of whether or not such entity is an Employer.  To
be eligible, the Registrant or Sponsor must be a "Delaware
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Resident Contractor" or hold and maintain a "Delaware
Resident Business License". The Registrant or Sponsor must
hold and maintain a permanent place of business, not to
include site trailers or other facilities serving only one
contract or related set of contracts.  To be eligible to be a
Registrant or Sponsor, Employer/Business, association,
committee or organization must have the training program
and an adequate number of Journey persons to meet the ratio
requirements as stated for that particular apprenticeable
occupation.

"Registration" refers to the acceptance and
recording of an Apprenticeship Program by the Delaware
Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship and Training,
as meeting the basic standards and requirements of the
Division for approval of such Program.  Approval is
evidenced by a Certificate or other written indicia
documentation. Registration also refers to the acceptance
and recording of Apprenticeship Agreements thereof, by the
Delaware Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship
and Training, as evidence of the participation of the
Apprentice in a particular Registered apprenticeship
Program.

"Related Instruction" refers to a formal and
systematic form of instruction designed to provide the
Apprentice with knowledge of the theoretical and technical
subjects related to his/her trade.

"Secretary" refers to the Secretary of Labor.
"State" refers to the State of Delaware.
"Supervisory Inspection" shall mean the same as

"ON SITE VISIT".
3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

4.0 Eligibility and Procedure for State Registration
(Formerly 106.3)

4.1 No Program or Agreement shall be eligible for
State Registration unless it is in conformity with the
requirements of this chapter, and the training is in an
apprenticeable occupation having the characteristics set forth
in section 5.0 herein.

4.2 Apprentices must be individually registered under a
Registered Program with the State of Delaware, Department
of Labor, Division of Employment and Training. Such
registration shall be effected by filing copies of each
Agreement with the State effective when the completed
agreement is submitted to and signed by the Administrator.
Sponsors registered with states other than the State of
Delaware shall not be construed as being registered for State
of Delaware Apprenticeship Program Registration purposes.

4.3 The State must be properly notified through the
Department of Labor, Division of Employment & Training,

Office of Apprenticeship & Training of cancellation,
suspension or termination of any Agreements, (with cause
for same) and of apprenticeship completions.  The State will
attempt, where applicable, to verify the cause of
apprenticeship termination.
 4.4 Approved Programs shall be accorded Registration,
evidenced by a Certificate of Registration.  The Certificate
of Registration for an approved Program will be made in the
name of the Program Sponsor and must be renewed every
four (4) years.

4.5 Any modification(s) or change(s) to registered
standards shall be promptly submitted to the State through
the appropriate office no later than thirty (30) days and, if
approved, shall be recorded and acknowledged as an
amendment to such standards.

4.6 The request for registration and all documents and
data required by this chapter shall be submitted in triplicate.
Individual Agreements shall be submitted to the State
Apprenticeship and Training Office for Registration no later
than thirty (30) calendar days after the trainee has started
work in the registered Program.  Agreements submitted after
said time shall be considered a violation of the rules and
regulations and will not be honored.

4.7 4.6 Under a Program proposed for Registration by
an Employer or Employer's Association, where the
standards, collective bargaining agreement or other
instrument provides for participation by a union in any way
in the operation of the Program, and such participation is
exercised, written acknowledgment of a union agreement or
"no objection" to the Registration is required.  Where no
such participation is evidenced and practiced, the Employer
shall simultaneously furnish to the union a copy of its
Program application.  In addition, upon receipt of the
application for the Program, the State shall promptly send by
certified mail to such local union another copy of the
Program application and together with a notice that union
comments will be accepted for thirty (30) days after the date
of the agency transmittal.

4.8 4.7 Where the employees to be trained have no
collective bargaining agent, a program plan may be proposed
for Registration by an Employer or groups of Employers.

4.9 4.8 A Sponsor may register Programs in one or
more occupations simultaneously or individually with the
provision that the Program Sponsor shall, within sixty (60)
days of Registration, be actively training Apprentices on-
the-job and related study must begin within twelve (12)
months for each occupation for which Registration is
granted.  At no time shall an individual Apprentice be
employed in more than one (1) occupation, nor signed to
more than one (1) Apprenticeship Agreement at any given
time.
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4.10 4.9 Each occupation for which a Program Sponsor
holds Registration shall be subject to Cancellation if no
active training of Apprentices on the job has occurred within
a consecutive one hundred eighty (180) day period or if no
Related Instruction has begun within a twelve (12) month
period from the date of Registration or in any twelve (12)
month period during the duration of that Agreement.

4.11 4.10 Each Sponsor of a Program shall submit to
an on-site inspection or supervisory visit and shall make all
documents pertaining to the Registered Program available to
appropriate representatives of the Apprenticeship and
Training Office or designated service personnel upon
request.

4.12 4.11 Each Sponsor shall be so routinely
examined, by the Office of Apprenticeship and Training,  at
least annually, but not more than every six (6) months, unless
a specific violation is suspected or a specific document is
being investigated.

4.13 4.12 The Sponsor shall notify the State
Registration Agency of termination or lay-off from
employment of a Registered Apprentice or of the completion
of the terms of the Apprenticeship Agreement within thirty
(30) calendar days of such occurrence.

4.14 4.13 The Sponsor shall notify the State of
failure to obtain and register the Apprentice in an approved
course of Related Instruction as stated and detailed on the
Apprenticeship Agreement within (30) calendar days of such
occurrence.

4.15 4.14 It shall be the responsibility of the Sponsor
to monitor the progress and attendance of the Apprentice in
all phases of training such as, but not limited to, on-the-job
and/ or Related Training.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

5.0 Criteria for Apprenticeable Occupations
(Formerly 106.4)
5.1 An Apprenticeable occupation is a skilled trade

which possesses all of the following characteristics:
5.1.1 It is customarily learned in a practical way

through training and work on the job.
5.1.2 It is clearly identified and commonly

recognized throughout the industry, or recognized with a
positive view towards changing technology or approved by
the Delaware Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship
& Training.

5.1.3 It involves manual, technical or
mechanical skills and knowledge which require a minimum
of two thousand (2,000) hours of on-the-job training, not
including the time spent in Related Instruction.

5.1.4 It customarily requires Related Instruction
to supplement the on-the-job training.

5.1.5 It involves the development of skills
sufficiently broad enough to be applicable in similar
occupations throughout the industry, rather than a restricted
application to the products or services of any one company.

6.0 Standards of Apprenticeship
(Formerly 106.5)
6.1 The following standards are prescribed for a

Program.
6.1.1 The Program must include an organized,

written plan delineating the terms and conditions of
employment. The training and supervision of one or more
Apprentices in an apprenticeable occupation must become
the responsibility of the Sponsor who has undertaken to
carry out the Apprentice's training program.

6.2 The standards must contain provisions concerning
the following:

6.2.1 The employment and training of the
Apprentice in a skilled occupation;

6.2.2 an equal opportunity pledge stating the
recruitment, selection, employment and training of
Apprentices during their apprenticeships shall be without
discrimination based on: race, color, religion, national origin
or sex.  When applicable, an affirmative action plan in
accordance with the State's requirements for federal
purposes must be instituted;

6.2.3 the existence of a term of apprenticeship,
not less than one year or two thousand (2,000) hours
consistent with training requirements as established by
industry practice;

6.2.4 an outline of the work processes in which
the Apprentice will receive supervised work experience and
on-the-job training, and the allocation of the approximate
time to be spent in each major process;

6.2.5 provision for organized related and
supplemental instruction in technical subjects related to the
trade.  A minimum of one hundred forty-four (144) hours for
each year of apprenticeship is required.  Such instruction
may be given in a classroom, through trade, industrial or
approved correspondence courses of equivalent value or in
other forms approved by the State Department of Labor,
Office of Apprenticeship & Training;

6.2.6 a progressively increasing schedule of
wage rates to be paid the Apprentice, consistent with the
skill acquired which shall be expressed in percentages of the
established Journeyperson's hourly wage;

6.2.7 Minimum Wage Progression for 1 through
7 year Apprentice Program as follows:

6.2.7.1 1 to 7 year programs
6.2.7.2 starting pay must be at least minimum

wage
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6.2.7.3 final period must be at least 85%
1 YEAR [OR] 2,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP

PROGRAM:
1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 85%

2 YEAR [OR] 4,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 51%
3rd 1,000 hours: 63%
4th 1,000 hours: 85%

3 YEAR [OR] 6,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 48%
3rd 1,000 hours: 57%
4th 1,000 hours: 65%
5th 1,000 hours: 74%
6th 1,000 hours: 85%

4 YEAR [OR] 8,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 46%
3rd 1,000 hours: 53%
4th 1,000 hours: 59%
5th 1,000 hours: 65%
6th 1,000 hours: 71%
7th 1,000 hours: 78%
8th 1,000 hours: 85%

5 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 45%
3rd 1,000 hours: 50%
4th 1,000 hours: 55%
5th 1,000 hours: 60%
6th 1,000 hours: 65%
7th 1,000 hours: 70%
8th 1,000 hours: 74%
9th 1,000 hours: 79%
10th 1,000 hours: 85%

6 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 44%
3rd 1,000 hours: 48%
4th 1,000 hours: 52%
5th 1,000 hours: 56%
6th 1,000 hours: 60%
7th 1,000 hours: 64%
8th 1,000 hours: 68%

9th 1,000 hours: 72%
10th 1,000 hours: 76%

    11th 1,000 hours: 81%
    12th 1,000 hours: 85%
7 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP

PROGRAM:
1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 43%
3rd 1,000 hours: 47%
4th 1,000 hours: 50%
5th 1,000 hours: 54%
6th 1,000 hours: 57%
7th 1,000 hours: 61%
8th 1,000 hours: 64%
9th 1,000 hours: 68%
10th 1,000 hours: 71%
11th 1,000 hours: 74%
12th 1,000 hours: 78%
13th 1,000 hours: 81%
14th 1,000 hours: 85%

6.2.8 that the entry Apprentice wage rate shall
not be less than the minimum prescribed by State statute or
by the Fair Labor Standards Act, where applicable;

6.2.9.1 In no case other than sickness or
injury on the part of the Apprentice, shall a Sponsor hold
back an Apprentice's progression more than one period or
wage increment without the written consent of the
Administrator;

6.2.9 That the established Journeyperson's
hourly rate applicable among all participating Employers be
stated in dollars and cents. No Apprentice shall receive an
hourly rate less than the percentage for the period in which
he/she is serving applied to the established Journeyperson's
rate unless the Sponsor has documented the reason for same
in the individual Apprentice's progress report and has
explained the reason for said action to the Apprentice and
Registration Agency.

6.2.10 That the established Journeyperson's rate
provided for by the Standards be reviewed and/or adjusted
annually.  Sponsors of Programs shall be required to give
proof that all employees used in determining ratios of
Apprentices to Journeypersons shall be receiving wages at
least in the amount set for Journeypersons in their individual
program standards, or are qualified to perform as Journey
persons and must be paid at least the minimum
journeyperson rate; 

6.2.11 That the minimum hourly Apprentice
wage rate paid during the last period of apprenticeship not be
less than eighty-five (85) percent of the established
Journeyperson wage rate. Wages covered by a collective
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bargaining agreement takes precedent over this section.
However, wages may not be below the State's required
minimum progression.

6.3 The Program must include a periodic review and
evaluation of the Apprentice's progress in job performance
and related instruction, and the maintenance of appropriate
progress records.

6.4 The ratio of Apprentices to Journeypersons should
be consistent with proper supervision, training and
continuity of employment or applicable provisions in
collective bargaining agreements.
  6.4.1 The ratio of Apprentices to
Journeypersons shall be one Apprentice up to each five (5)
Journeypersons employed by the prospective Sponsor unless
a different ratio based on an industry standard is contained in
the signed Standards of Apprenticeship Agreement. 

6.4.2 The following have been recognized to be
the industry standard for the listed trades:

Ratio of Apprentice Journeypersons*
1 up to 4Sheet Metal Worker
1 up to 4Insulation Worker
1 up to 4Asbestos Worker
1 up to 3Industrial Maintenance Mechanic
1 up to 3 Plumbers/Pipefitters
1 up to 3Electrician
1 up to 3Precision Instrument Repairers
1 up to 3Glaziers
1 up to 2Roofers
1 up to 1Sprinkler Fitters

* The ratio has no effect until the second apprentice
is registered.  Only one Journeyperson is necessary in any
trade for the first Apprentice.

6.4.3 Exceptions.
6.4.3.1 If a collective bargaining agreement

stipulates a ratio of Apprentices to Journeyperson, it shall
prevail provided the Bargaining Ration is not lower than the
State standard.

6.4.3.2 A deviation from the established
standard may be granted by the Administrator upon written
request after considering the needs of the plant and/or trade
with consideration for growth, the availability of relevant
training, and the opportunity for employment of skilled
workers following the completion of their training.  Such
exception shall last no more than one year but may be
renewed upon written request.

5 DE Reg. 204 (7/1/2001)
6.5 At least forty (40) percent of all Apprentices

registered must complete training.  Apprentices who
voluntarily terminate their apprenticeships or employment
shall not be counted in reference to this section.  Programs

with fewer than five (5) Apprentices shall not be required to
comply with this part.

6.6 6.5 A probationary period shall be in relation to the
full apprenticeship term with full credit toward completion
of apprenticeship.

6.7 6.6 Adequate and safe equipment facilities for
training and supervision and safety training for Apprentices
on the job and in Related Instruction are required.

6.8 6.7 The required minimum qualifications for
persons entering an Apprentice Program as defined in
Section 3.1 must be met.

6.9 6.8 Apprentices must sign an Agreement. The
Agreement shall directly, or by reference, incorporate the
standards of the Program as part of the Agreement.

6.10 6.9 Advance standing or credit up to 25% OJT
hours of the particular trade term in question for previously
acquired experience, training skills, or aptitude for all
applicants equally, with commensurate wages for any
accorded progression step may be granted.  The granting of a
greater amount of credit shall be set at the discretion of the
Administrator based on supportive documentation submitted
by the Sponsor.  In no case shall more than one half of the
particular trade term in question be granted unless the time in
question has been spent in any state or federally registered
program.

6.10 When a registered apprentice is no longer
employed by a Sponsor, the Sponsor shall determine the time
and training earned during his or her employment and send
notice of such progress to the Apprenticeship and Training
Section of the Delaware Department of Labor and to the
apprentice in writing.

6.11 Transfer of Employer's training obligation
through the sponsoring Committee if one exists and as
warranted, to another Employer with consent of the
Apprentice and the Committee or Program Sponsors, with
full credit to the Apprentice for satisfactory time and training
earned, may be afforded with written notice to, and approval
of, the Registration Agency.

6.12 These Standards shall contain a statement of
assurance of qualified training personnel.

6.13 There will be recognition for successful
completion of apprenticeship evidenced by an appropriate
certificate.

6.14 These Standards shall contain proper
identification of the Registration Agency, being the
Department of Labor, Division of Employment & Training,
Office of Apprenticeship & Training.

6.15 There will be a provision for the Registration,
Cancellation and Deregistration of the Program, and a
requirement for the prompt submission of any modification
or amendment thereto.
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6.16 There will be provisions for Registration of
Agreements, modifications and amendments, notice to the
Division of persons who have successfully completed
Programs, and notice of Cancellations, suspensions and
terminations of Agreements an causes therefore. 

6.17 There will be a provision giving authority for
the termination of an Agreement during the probationary
period by either party without stated cause.

6.18 There will be provisions for not less than five
(5) days notice to Apprentices of any proposed adverse
action and cause therefore with stated opportunity to
Apprentices during such period for corrective action.

6.19 There will be provisions for a grievance
procedure, and the name and address of the appropriate
authority under the program to receive, process and make
disposition of complaints.

6.20 There will be provisions for recording and
maintaining all records concerning apprenticeships as may
be required by the State or Federal law.

6.21 There will be provisions for a participating
Employer's Agreement.

6.22 There will be funding formula providing for
the equitable participation of each participating Employer in
funding of a group Program where applicable.

6.23 All Apprenticeship Standards must contain
articles necessary to comply with federal laws, regulations
and rules pertaining to apprenticeship.

6.24 Programs and Standards of Employers and
unions in other than the building and construction industry
which jointly form a sponsoring entity on a multi-state basis
and are registered pursuant to all requirements of this part by
any recognized State apprenticeship agency shall be
accorded Registration of approval reciprocity by the
Delaware Department of Labor if such reciprocity is
requested by the sponsoring entity.  However, reciprocity
will not be granted in the Building and Construction industry
based on Title 29 CFR 29 Section 12(b) unless a
"memorandum of understanding" has been signed by an
individual state and the state of Delaware.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

7.0 Apprenticeship Agreement
(Formerly 106.6)
7.1 The Apprenticeship Agreement shall contain:

7.1.1 the names and signatures of the
contracting parties (Apprentice and the program Sponsor or
Employer), and the signature of a parent or guardian if the
Apprentice is a minor;

7.1.2 the date of birth of the Apprentice;
7.1.3 the name and address of the program

Sponsor and the Registrant;

7.1.4 the Apprentice's social security number; 
7.1.5 a statement of the trade or craft which the

Apprentice is to be taught, and the beginning date and term
(duration) of apprenticeship;

7.1.6 the number of hours to be spent by the
Apprentice in work on the job;

7.1.7 the number of hours to be spent in Related
and Supplemental Instruction is recommended to be not less
than one hundred forty-four (144) hours per year;

7.1.8 provisions relating to a specific period of
probation during which the Apprenticeship Agreement may
be terminated by either party to the Agreement upon written
notice to the Registrant;

7.1.9 provisions that, after the probationary
period, the Agreement may be suspended, canceled or
terminated for cause, with due notice to the Apprentice and a
reasonable opportunity for corrective action, and with
written notice to the Apprentice and the Registrant of the
final action taken;

7.1.10 a reference incorporating, as part of the
Agreement, the standards of the Apprenticeship Program as
it exists on the date of the Agreement or as it may be
amended during the period of the Agreement;

7.1.11 a statement that the Apprentice will be
accorded equal opportunity in all phases of apprenticeship
employment and training without discrimination based on
race, color, religion, national origin, marital status, or sex, or
disability;

7.1.12 a statement that, if an Employer is unable
to fulfill his obligation under his Agreement, the Agreement
may, with consent of the Apprentice and Committee, if one
exists, be transferred to another Employer under a
Registered Program with written notice of the transfer to the
Registrant, and with full credit to the Apprentice for
satisfactory time and training earned;

7.1.13 the name and address of the appropriate
authority, if any, designated under the program to receive,
process and make disposition of controversies or differences
which cannot be adjusted locally or resolved in accordance
with the established trade procedure or applicable collective
bargaining provisions;

7.1.14 a statement setting forth a schedule of
work processes in the trade or industry in which the
Apprentice is to be trained and the approximate time to be
spent at each process;

7.1.15 a statement of the graduated scale of
wages to be paid the Apprentice and whether or not the
required school time shall be compensated;

7.1.16 a statement that in the event the
Registration of the Program has been Canceled or revoked,
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the Apprentice will be notified within fifteen (15) days of the
event.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

8.0 Complaints
(Formerly 106.7)
8.1 Any controversy or difference arising under an

Agreement which cannot be resolved locally, or which is not
covered by a collective bargaining agreement, may be
submitted by an Apprentice or his/her authorized
representative to the State Registration Agency for review.
Matters covered by a collective bargaining agreement,
however, shall be submitted and processed in accordance
with the procedures therein provided.

8.2 The complaint shall be in writing, signed by the
complainant, and submitted by the Apprentice or his/her
authorized representative within sixty (60) days of receipt of
local decision.  The complaint shall set forth the specific
problem, including all relevant facts and circumstances.
Copies of all pertinent documents and correspondence shall
accompany the complaint.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

9.0 Related Instruction Requirement 
(Formerly 106.8)
9.1 Regulations concerning Apprentices "attendance

and tardiness" policy for related instruction.
9.1.1 A registered Apprentice who misses seven

(7) classes while enrolled in a related studies program at any
of the vocational schools in the three (3) counties of the State
of Delaware will be dropped from school.  This will result in
their Apprenticeship Agreement being terminated by their
Sponsor and/or State Registration Agency.

9.1.2 An absence will result when an Apprentice
either arrives late or leaves early three (3) times. However,
School District Officials may bring to the Administrator's
attention, individual cases that may have experienced
extenuating circumstances.  With the Administrator's
approval, such individuals may be granted exemption from
this attendance policy.

9.1.3 Courses of fewer sessions will be prorated.
Instructors will inform Apprentices of allowable absences.

9.1.4 If you are a Registered Apprentice who is
enrolled through a trade union, trade society or any other
organization that stipulates attendance rules more stringent
than the above, then you are required to follow those
regulations.

9.1.5 Related Instruction that is delivered
through a state approved "in-house program",
correspondence courses or other systems of equivalent value

will require the Apprentice to produce a document detailing
satisfactory participation and completion.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

10.0 Deregistration by State Registered Program
(Formerly 106.9)
10.1 It is the policy of this State to discourage

violations of the law or these rules and regulations by
limiting or revoking the privilege to operate programs when
Sponsors demonstrate an indifference to these requirements.

10.2 Where it appears to the Administrator that a
program is not being operated in accordance with federal or
state law or these  rules and regulations, the Administrator
shall so notify the Sponsor in writing stating  the deficiency
and providing a period for corrective action not to exceed 10
days.  Such notice shall be sent by certified mail, return
receipt requested. The Sponsor shall respond in writing  to
the letter within 10 days of receipt.

10.3 If the Sponsor fails to correct a deficiency after
notice by the Administrator under 10.2, deregistration
proceedings will  be undertaken.

10.3.1 Voluntary deregistration is available to a
Sponsor upon written request to the Administrator.  Within
fifteen (15) working days of the effective date of
deregistration demonstrated by the acknowledgment of  the
Administrator, the Sponsor must notify all Apprentices of
such deregistration, the effective date, and that the
deregistration automatically deprives the apprentice of his/
her individual registration.

10.3.2 Involuntary deregistration is initiated by
the Administrator as follows:

10.3.2.1 If the Sponsor fails to respond to
the notice of deficiency, the Administrator shall advise the
Sponsor by certified mail, return receipt requested,  that the
program will be recommended for deregistration unless
within 10 days the Sponsor requests a hearing.

10.3.2.2 If the response by the Sponsor to
the notice is insufficient to correct the deficiency,  the
Administrator shall so advise the sponsor by certified mail,
return receipt requested.  Said letter shall advise the Sponsor
that the program will be recommended for deregistration
unless within 10 days the Sponsor requests a hearing.

10.3.2.3 If no hearing is timely requested,
the Administrator will recommend deregistration to the
Secretary. The decision of the Secretary is final and no
further appeal is provided.  The sponsor will be notified of
the effective date of deregistration.  In addition, a decision of
deregistration and its effective date will be mailed to all
Apprentices registered in the program.

10.3.2.4 All recommendations for
involuntary deregistration as a result of violations of the
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Rules and Regulations  will include a recommended period
of deregistration of up to three (3) years.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)
4 DE Reg. 1852 (5/1/01)

11.0 Hearings on Deregistration
(Formerly 106.10)
11.1 A deregistration hearing will be scheduled

before the Council on Apprenticeship and Training within 45
days of receipt of a timely request by the Sponsor.

11.2 Notice shall be in accord with the provisions of
the Administrative Procedures Act.

11.3 Each party shall have the right to present
evidence, to be represented by counsel, and to cross-examine
witnesses.

11.4 A record from which a verbatim transcript can
be prepared shall be made of the hearing.  A party may
request a transcript at his or her expense.

11.5 At the conclusion of the hearing, the Council
will determine, by a majority of the quorum, its
recommendation to the Secretary.

11.6 The Council shall submit its recommended
findings of fact, conclusions of law, and decision to the
Secretary.  Said recommendations may be authenticated by
the chairperson.

11.7 The decision of the Secretary is final and no
further appeal is provided.  The decision will by sent by
certified mail  to the Sponsor.  In addition, a decision of
deregistration and its effective date will be mailed to all
Apprentices registered in the program.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)
4 DE Reg. 1852 (5/1/01)

12.0 Reinstatement of Program Registration
(Formerly 106.11)
12.1 Program deregistered pursuant to this chapter

may be reinstated upon presentation of adequate evidence
that the Program is operating in accordance with this chapter.
Such evidence shall be presented to the Apprenticeship and
Training Council, which shall make a recommendation
based on said evidence, past records and any other data
deemed appropriate.  After such presentation, the Council
shall make a recommendation to the Secretary as to whether
the Program should be reinstated.  The Secretary's decision
shall be final and binding.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

13.0 Program Registration Denial
(Formerly 106.12)
13.1 Grounds for denial of program registration

include, but are not limited to, violations of apprenticeship

standards or of federal or state labor laws in any state by the
applicant.

13.1 13.2 Any proposed Sponsor may, within fifteen
(15) working days, request a hearing before the
Apprenticeship and Training Council.  If the proposed
Sponsor requests a hearing, the Administrator shall advise
the chairman of the Council, who shall convene the Council,
for a hearing for the purpose of making a determination on
the basis of the record and proposed findings of the Office of
Apprenticeship & Training.  This determination shall be
subject to review and approval by the Secretary, whose
decision shall be final and binding.

13.3 An applicant who has been denied registration
of a program may reapply by demonstrating to the Council at
a hearing that the deficiencies that led to the denial of
registration have been remedied and the program will
operate in accordance with all applicable laws and rules in a
manner that safeguards the welfare of the apprentices.  The
Council will make a recommendation to the Secretary,
whose decision shall be final and binding.

14.0 Amendment to the Regulations in this Part
(Formerly 106.13)
14.1 The Secretary may, at any time upon his/her

own motion or upon written request of any interested person
setting forth reasonable grounds therefore, and after
opportunity has been given to interested persons to present
their views, amend or revoke any of the terms of the
regulations contained in this part.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (70 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title of the Regulations:
1102 Permits
1144 Control of Stationary Generator Emissions
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2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Department is proposing to adopt a new regulation,

Regulation No. 1144, which will require the control of air
emissions from both new and existing stationary generators.
The Department is also proposing to amend Regulation No.
1102, in order to clarify permitting requirements applicable
to stationary generators.

Delaware is not in compliance with federal standards for
ground-level ozone and fine particulate matter (PM2.5).
Among other things, the purpose of Regulation No. 1144 is
to help ensure that the air emissions from new and existing
stationary electric generating units do not cause or contribute
to these existing air quality problems. Regulation No. 1144
is intended to establish emissions standards, operating
requirements, fuel sulfur content limits, and recordkeeping
requirements applicable to covered generators.

Regulation No. 1102 Permits details what sources need,
or do not need, a permit to begin construction and to operate.
Regulation No. 1102 is being amended to clarify the
permitting requirements applicable to stationary generators.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
None

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The
Proposal:

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
The public comment period for this proposed regulation

and proposed amendment will extend through at least
August 31, 2005. Interested parties may submit comments in
writing during this time frame to: Mark A. Prettyman, Air
Quality Management Section, 156 S. State St., Dover, DE
19901, and/or statements and testimony may be presented
either orally or in writing at the public hearing to be held on
Thursday, August 25, 2005, beginning at 6:00 PM in the
DNREC auditorium at the Richardson and Robbins
Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901.  

7. Prepared By:
Mark A. Prettyman (302) 739-9402  July 7, 2005

1102 Permits

06/01/97
Section 1 - General Provisions

1.1 This regulation establishes the procedures that
satisfy the requirement of 7 Del.C. Chapter 60 to report and
obtain approval of equipment which has the potential to
discharge air contaminants into the atmosphere, and, for
construction or modification activities not subject to
Regulation No. 25, the procedures that satisfy the
requirement of 40 CFR Part 51 Subpart I (July 7, 1994
edition) and Section 110(a)(2)(C) of the federal clean air act
(CAA) as amended November 15, 1990.

1.2 This regulation establishes procedures that enable a
person to, as an option, secure federally enforceable terms
and conditions in a permit issued pursuant to this regulation.

1.3 This regulation establishes procedures that enable a
person subject to both this regulation and to Regulation No.
30 to, as an option, transfer the terms and conditions of a
construction permit issued pursuant to this regulation into a
Regulation No. 30 operating permit via the administrative
permit amendment process specified in Regulation No. 30.

1.4 Within sixty (60) calendar days of receipt of a
written request by the Department, an owner or operator of
an existing facility, equipment, or air contaminant control
device which emits or causes to be emitted any air
contaminant shall submit to the Department any relevant
information that the Department may request. Relevant
information includes information that, in the Departments
opinion, is relevant to any permit application/registration or
that is necessary to determine the applicability of or
compliance with any State or Federal requirement, any
permit term or condition, or any condition of registration.
Such information also includes a permit application or a
registration form, or a corrected or supplemented
application/registration. This provision does not limit the
applicability of, nor does it sanction noncompliance with the
requirements of Section 2.1 of this regulation.

1.5 Any approval granted by the Department pursuant
to this Regulation, and any exemption from the requirements
of this Regulation provided for in Section 2.2 shall not
relieve an owner or operator of the responsibility of
complying with applicable local, State, and Federal laws and
regulations.

06/01/97
Section 2 - Applicability

2.1 Except as exempted in Section 2.2, no person shall
initiate construction, install, alter or initiate operation of any
equipment or facility or air contaminant control device
which will emit or prevent the emission of an air
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contaminant prior to receiving approval of his application
from the Department or, if eligible, prior to submitting to the
Department a completed registration form.

a. For equipment that meets all applicable
emission rate(s) and/or standard(s) specified in Section
11.8(a) and (b) without an air contaminant control device,
and that meets the following conditions, the person shall
submit to the Department a registration form pursuant to
Section 9 of this regulation.

  i. For equipment without an air contaminant
control device, the equipment has actual emissions to the
atmosphere of any air contaminant(s), in the aggregate,
during any day that are equal to or greater than 0.2 pound per
day and, during each and every day, that are less than ten
(10) pounds per day; and

 ii. For equipment with an air contaminant
control device, the equipment has actual emissions to the
inlet of the air contaminant control device of any air
contaminant(s), in the aggregate, during any day that are
equal to or greater than 0.2 pound per day and, during each
and every day, that are less than ten (10) pounds per day; and

iii. Regulation No. 25 does not apply.
b. For equipment, a facility or an air contaminant

control device that is not subject to Section 2.1(a) and that is
subject to a source category permit, the person shall submit
to the Department an application for a source category
permit pursuant to Section 10 of this regulation. A list of
established source category permits is available from the
Department.

c. For equipment, a facility or an air contaminant
control device that is not subject to Section 2.1(a) or 2.1(b),
the person shall submit to the Department an application for
a permit pursuant to Section 11 of this regulation.

d. Any person who operates equipment, a facility
or an air contaminant control device in accordance with a
valid permit issued pursuant to Section 2.1(c) of this
regulation, and who later becomes subject to a source
category permit:

  i. May, at any time, submit to the
Department an application for a source category permit
pursuant to Section 10 of this regulation; and

 ii. Shall, within sixty (60) calendar days of
receipt of written request from the Department, submit to the
Department an application for a source category permit
pursuant to Section 10 of this regulation.

2.2 Provided that Regulation No. 25 does not apply, a
permit for installation, alteration, or operation pursuant to
this regulation shall not be required for the following
equipment or air contaminant control device.  Note however
that other State and Federal requirements may apply.

a. Equipment without an air contaminant control
device that has actual emissions to the atmosphere of any air
contaminant(s), in the aggregate, during each and every day
that are less than 0.2 pound per day, provided that:

  i. The actual emissions are quantified and
documented; and

 ii. Records are maintained at the facility and
are made available to the Department upon request which
document that the equipment qualifies for this exemption.

b. Equipment with an air contaminant control
device that has actual emissions to the inlet of the air
contaminant control device of any air contaminant(s), in the
aggregate, during each and every day that are less than 0.2
pound per day, provided that:

i. The actual emissions are quantified and
documented; and

ii. Records are maintained at the facility and
are made available to the Department upon request which
document that the equipment qualifies for this exemption.

c. The equipment listed in Appendix “A” of this
regulation.

d. For operation, any equipment or air
contaminant control device that is specifically identified in
an operation permit issued pursuant to Regulation No. 30.

e. Equipment that is registered pursuant to
Section 9 of this regulation.

2.3 Any person who operates fuel burning equipment
which uses only natural gas, LP gas, or other desulfurized
fuel gas and has a rated heat input of less than 100 million
BTUs per hour, or any other equipment, that was exempted
from the requirement to have a permit by Regulation No. 2,
Section 3.1 (as in effect immediately preceding the effective
date of this regulation), or who operates a piece of
equipment, a facility, or an air contaminant control device in
accordance with a valid permit or letter of exemption that
was issued by the Department prior to May 1, 1997, and
who, with regard to that specific equipment, facility, or air
contaminant control device, is now subject to Section 2.1 of
this regulation:

a. May, at any time, submit to the Department a
registration form or a permit application pursuant to Section
2.1; and

b. Shall, within sixty (60) calendar days of receipt
of a written request from the Department, submit to the
Department a registration form or a permit application
pursuant to Section 2.1; and

c. Shall not initiate construction, installation, or
alteration of the equipment, facility or air contaminant
control device prior to complying with Section 2.1 of this
regulation (i.e., prior to receiving approval of his application
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS210
from the Department or, if eligible, prior to submitting to the
Department a completed registration form).

2.4 Any person may petition the Department to
establish a source category permit. The petition and, if
approved, the establishment of the source category permit
shall be pursuant to the procedures in Regulation No. 30 of
the State of Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of
Air Pollution.

06/01/97
Section 3 - Application/Registration Prepared by
Interested Party

3.1 Any application/registration form submitted to the
Department, or any request for the removal of any permit or
registration, shall be made by the owner or lessee of the
equipment, facility, or air contaminant control device or by
his agent.  If the applicant/registrant is a partnership or group
other than a corporation, the application/registration shall be
made by one individual who is a member of the group.  If the
applicant/registrant is a corporation, the application/
registration shall be made by an appropriate representative of
the corporation. The application/registration form shall be
filed with the Air Quality Management Section of the
Division of Air and Waste Management.

3.2 Each application form shall be signed by the
applicant and certified by a professional engineer as to the
accuracy of the technical information concerning the
equipment, apparatus or design features contained in the
application, plus plans and other papers submitted. Any
applicant who fails to submit any relevant facts or who
submitted incorrect information to the Department shall,
upon becoming aware of such failure or incorrect submittal,
promptly submit such supplementary facts or correct
information. The signature of the applicant shall constitute
an agreement that the applicant will assume responsibility
for the installation, alteration or use of the equipment or
apparatus concerned in accordance with the requirements of
this Regulation.

3.3 Each registration form shall be signed and certified
by the registrant as to the accuracy of the technical
information concerning the equipment, apparatus or design
features contained in the registration. Any registrant who
fails to submit any relevant facts or who submitted incorrect
information to the Department shall, upon becoming aware
of such failure or incorrect submittal, promptly submit such
supplementary facts or correct information.  The signature of
the registrant shall constitute an agreement that the registrant
will assume responsibility for the installation, alteration or
use of the equipment or apparatus concerned in accordance
with the requirements of this Regulation.

06/01/97
Section 4 - Cancellation of Construction Permits

4.1 The Department may cancel a construction permit
if the installation or alteration is not begun or if the work
involved in installation or alteration is not completed within
the time limits specified in the permit.

06/01/97
Section 5 - Action on Applications

5.1 If an application is disapproved, the Department
shall set forth its objections in the notice of disapproval.

5.2 Upon granting written approval for operation, the
Department shall give notice of such approval to any person
who has submitted a written request for such notice.

06/01/97
Section 6 - Denial, Suspension or Revocation of
Operating Permits

6.1 In the event the Department denies a request for
approval of a permit to operate any equipment, facility, or
device for which an application was made, the applicant
shall not commence operation until such time that approval
has been obtained from the Department or a permit to
operate has been issued by the Department.

6.2 The Department may suspend or revoke an
operating permit for violation of any permit condition or
violation of this or any other applicable rule or regulation of
the Department or any law administered by the Department
and may take such other actions as it deems necessary.
Permit term(s) and condition(s) which were not identified
under Section 11.2(i) and which were not subject to public
participation under Section 12.3, and/or which do not
otherwise conform to the requirements of this regulation,
may be deemed not federally enforceable by the
Administrator of the EPA.

6.3 Suspension or revocation of an operating permit
shall become final immediately upon service of notice on the
holder of the permit, unless otherwise stated in the notice of
suspension or revocation.

06/01/97
Section 7 - Transfer of Permit/Registration Prohibited

7.1 No person shall transfer a permit from one location
to another, or from one piece of equipment to another.  No
person shall transfer a permit from one person to another
person unless thirty (30) days written notice is given to the
Department, indicating the transfer is agreeable to both
persons, and approval of such transfer is obtained in writing
from the Department.

7.2 No person shall transfer a registration from one
location to another, or from one piece of equipment to
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another.  No person shall transfer a registration from one
person to another person unless prior written notice is given
to the Department, indicating the transfer is agreeable to
both persons.

06/01/97
Section 8 - Availability of Permit/Registration

8.1 Any permit and any registration form shall be
available on the premises where the construction, alteration,
installation, or operation activity takes place.

06/01/97
Section 9 - Registration Submittal

9.1 Any person identified in Section 2.1(a) shall
register the piece of equipment with the Department on
forms furnished by the Department.

9.2 A person shall register with the Department by
submitting to the Department a completed registration form
that is certified by the person identified in Section 3.1.
Registration forms are available from the Department upon
request. The registration shall consist of at least the
following:

a. A description of the equipment covered by the
registration; and

b. A description of the nature and quantification
of the amount of the emission from the equipment; and

c. A demonstration that the equipment meets the
emission rate(s) and/or standard(s) specified in Section
11.8(a) and (b) of this regulation without an air contaminant
control device.

9.3 Immediately after submitting to the Department the
information specified in Section 9.2 of this regulation the
registrant may initiate construction, install, alter or initiate
operation of the equipment.

a. The registrant shall maintain records at the
facility which document that the equipment meets the
requirements of Section 2.1(a), and shall make such records
available to the Department upon request.

b. If at any time the registered equipment does not
meet the requirements of Section 2.1(a), operation of said
equipment shall be immediately discontinued until all
necessary permits have been secured.

c. If at any time the Department determines that
the registered equipment does not meet the requirements of
Section 2.1(a), a violation of this regulation may have
occurred and enforcement action may ensue.

9.4 The submittal of a registration form does not relieve
the registrant from the requirement to comply with all State
and Federal requirements. Such requirements include, but
are not limited to, monitoring, record keeping and reporting
requirements, any requirement to consider actual emissions

and/or the potential to emit of all equipment when
determining the applicability of and/or compliance with
certain State and Federal requirements, and any requirement
to revise a Regulation No. 30 permit if required to do so by
that regulation.

9.5 A person may, in lieu of submitting to the
Department a registration form, elect to:

a. Apply for a permit pursuant to Section 2.1(b)
or 2.1(c) of this regulation, as applicable.

b. Submit to the Department all of the
information required by Section 9.2(a) and (b).  In such a
case the registrant shall not commence construction/
operation until written approval is obtained from the
Department.

06/01/97
Section 10 - Source Category Permit Application

10.1 Any person identified in Section 2.1(b) shall
submit to the Department an application requesting a source
category permit on forms furnished by the Department.

10.2 The application requesting a source category
permit shall include all of the following:

a. All of the information called for by the source
category application form.  Source category application
forms are available from the Department upon request.

b. Certification by the person identified in Section
3.1 that the source will comply with all of the terms and
conditions of the source category permit.

c. For facilities subject to Regulation No. 30, the
person identified in Section 3.1 of this regulation shall be a
responsible official as defined in Regulation No. 30, and the
application shall contain the following language from the
responsible official: “I certify, based on information and
belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the statements and
information in the document are true, accurate, and
complete.”

10.3 For facilities not subject to Regulation No. 30,
the Department shall grant approval by issuing to the
applicant a source category permit.

10.4 For facilities subject to Regulation No. 30, the
Department shall grant approval by incorporating the source
category permit into the Regulation No. 30 permit by
reference, and such incorporation shall be via the
administrative permit amendment process specified in
Regulation No. 30.

10.5 A source category permit may be valid for an
indefinite period, except as provided for in Regulation No.
30 for sources subject to that regulation.
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06/01/97
Section 11 - Permit Application

11.1 Any person identified in Section 2.1(c) shall
submit to the Department an application for a permit on
forms furnished by the Department. Permit application
forms are available from the Department upon request.

11.2 The application shall consist of a description of
at least the following: 

a. The equipment or apparatus covered by the
application; and

b. Any equipment connected or attached to, or
servicing or served by the unit of equipment or apparatus
covered by the application; and

c. The plot plan, including the distance and height
of building within a reasonable distance from the place
where the equipment is or will be installed, if necessarily
required by the Department; and

d. The proposed means for the prevention or
control of the emissions or contaminant;

e. The chemical composition and amount of any
trade waste to be produced as a result of the construction,
installation, or alteration of any equipment or apparatus
covered by this application;

f. Any additional information, evidence or
documentation required by the Department to show what the
proposed equipment or apparatus will do.

g. Methods and expected frequency of occurrence
of the start-up and shutdown of the equipment, including
projected effects of emissions to the atmosphere and on
ambient air quality.

h. The nature and amount of emission to be
emitted by equipment, the facility, or an air contaminant
control device or emitted by associated mobile sources.

i. If the applicant desires any of the term(s) or
condition(s) of the permit to be federally enforceable,  the
applicant shall state that fact in the application.  The ensuing
permit shall clearly indicate the specific term(s) and
condition(s) that are federally enforceable.

j. If the applicant desires any of the term(s) or
condition(s) of a construction permit to transfer to a
Regulation No. 30 permit via the administrative permit
amendment process specified in Regulation No. 30 the
following additional requirements apply:

  i. The person identified in Section 3.1 of this
regulation shall be a responsible official as defined in
Regulation No. 30, and the application shall contain the
following language from the responsible official: “I certify,
based on information and belief formed after reasonable
inquiry, the statements and information in the document are
true, accurate, and complete.”

 ii. The application shall include the following
additional information:

A. The citation and description of all
applicable requirements that will apply to the equipment,
facility, or air contaminant control device and that will
become applicable to any covered source as a result of the
construction, installation, alteration, or operation; and a
description of, or reference to, any applicable test method for
determining compliance with each applicable requirement.
The terms “applicable requirement” and “covered source”
retain the meanings accorded to them in Regulation No. 30.

B. Certification by the responsible
official that the source will meet all applicable requirements
on a timely basis, and, if a  more detailed schedule is
expressly required by any applicable requirement, that
applicable requirement in accordance with that more detailed
schedule.

C. If desired, information necessary to
define alternative operating scenarios under Regulation No.
30, Section 6(a)(10), or to define permit terms and
conditions to implement emission averaging or operational
flexibility under Regulation No. 30, Section 6(a)(11) and
6(h).

D. If desired, a request that the
Department, upon taking final action under Section 11.5(b)
or 11.5(c) of this regulation, allow coverage under the permit
shield as described in Regulation No. 30, Section 6(f).

iii. The applicant shall provide additional
information necessary to address any requirements that
become applicable to the equipment, facility, or air
contaminant control device after the date it filed an
application under this section but prior to the date
advertisement is made pursuant to Section 12.4(b) of this
regulation. This requirement is in addition to the requirement
of Section 2.1 of this regulation in situations where
construction, installation, or alteration is necessary to
comply with the new applicable requirement.

iv. The ensuing construction permit shall
clearly indicate the specific term(s) or condition(s) to
transfer to the Regulation No. 30 permit, and each such term
or condition shall specify the origin and the authority for that
term or condition, and shall identify any difference in form
as compared to the applicable requirement upon which the
term or condition is based.

11.3 In situations in which construction, installation,
or alteration is proposed, and operation of the equipment,
facility, or air contaminant control device is to follow, such
operation shall not commence until written approval is
obtained by the applicant from the Department in accordance
with Section 11.4 and 11.5, as applicable.  The Department
may condition approval to operate on a demonstration by the
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applicant of satisfactory performance of the equipment,
facility, or air contaminant control device.  In the event the
applicant fails to demonstrate satisfactory performance, the
Department may require the applicant to cease emissions
from the source.

11.4 Persons not requesting review under Section
11.2(j) shall, upon completion of the construction,
installation or alteration, request that the Department grant
approval to operate.

a. An application does not need to be submitted to
the Department.  Note however that an application may be
required under Regulation No. 30 for persons subject to that
regulation.

b. Upon satisfactory demonstration that the
equipment, facility or air contaminant control device
complies with all of the terms and conditions of the
construction permit, the Department shall grant approval to
operate by issuing an operation permit.

11.5 Persons requesting review under Section
11.2(j) shall, upon completion of the construction,
installation or alteration, request that the Department transfer
the terms and conditions of the construction permit into the
Regulation No. 30 operating permit.

a. The request shall contain the following
information, and shall contain the following language from
the responsible official: “I certify, based on information and
belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the statements and
information in the document are true, accurate, and
complete.”

i. A description of the compliance status, a
compliance schedule, and a certification of compliance for
the equipment, facility, or air contaminant control device
with respect to all applicable requirements, in accordance
with Regulation No. 30, Section 5(d)(8) and (9); and

ii. A statement of the methods used to
determine compliance, including a description of
monitoring, record keeping, and reporting requirements and
test methods.

b. Upon satisfactory demonstration that the
equipment, facility or air contaminant control device
complies with all applicable requirements and all of the
terms and conditions of the construction permit, and not
prior to the expiration of the EPA review period provided for
in Section 12.5, the Department shall transfer the specified
terms and conditions to the Regulation No. 30 permit via the
administrative permit amendment process specified in
Regulation No. 30.

c. If the Department determines that the
equipment, facility, or air contaminant control device does
not comply with any applicable requirement the Department

may take enforcement action, and shall do one of the
following:

i. Provide an opportunity for the applicant to
resolve the noncompliance; then, upon resolution, transfer
the specified terms and conditions of the construction permit
to the Regulation No. 30 permit via the administrative permit
amendment process specified in Regulation No. 30; or

ii. Transfer the specified terms and
conditions of the construction permit, and an enforceable
compliance schedule which satisfies the requirements of
Regulation No. 30, Section 5(d)(8)(iii), to the Regulation
No. 30 permit by reopening the permit for cause pursuant to
the procedures in Regulation No. 30; or

iii. Deny the request for approval to operate.
11.6 No permit shall be issued by the Department

unless the applicant shows to the satisfaction of the
Department that the equipment, facility, or air contaminant
control device is designed to operate or is operating without
causing a violation of the State Implementation Plan, or any
rule or regulation of the Department, and without interfering
with the attainment or maintenance of National and State
ambient air quality standards, and without endangering the
health, safety, and welfare of the people of the State of
Delaware.  The Department may, from time to time, issue or
accept criteria for the guidance of applicants indicating the
technical specifications which it deems will comply with the
performance standards referenced herein.

11.7 Before a permit is issued, the Department may
require the applicant to conduct such tests as are necessary in
the opinion of the Department to determine the kind and/or
amount of the contaminants emitted from the equipment or
whether the equipment or fuel or the operation of the
equipment will be in violation of any of the provisions of any
rule or regulation of the Department. Such tests shall be
made at the expense of the applicant and shall be conducted
in a manner approved by the Department.

11.8 The following emission rates and/or standards
for each air contaminant emitted from any equipment,
facility or air contaminant control device shall be specified
in each permit issued pursuant to this regulation:

a. The rate and/or standard established and/or
relied upon in the State Implementation Plan (SIP) to include
the State of Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of
Air Pollution and regulations promulgated pursuant to
Section 111 and Section 112 of the Clean Air Act (CAA);
and

b. The rate that was shown under Section 11.6 as
not interfering with the attainment and maintenance of any
National and State ambient air quality standard, and not
endangering the health, safety, and welfare of the people of
the State of Delaware; or
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c. The rate requested by the applicant.  In no case
shall this rate be greater than the potential to emit of the
equipment, facility, or air contaminant control device; and in
no case shall this rate be less stringent than the rate specified
in Section 11.8(a) and (b) of this regulation.

11.9 Each emission rate and standard shall be
enforceable as a practical matter.  Enforceable as a practical
matter means that each emission rate and standard:

a. Is stated in the permit as a technically specific
and accurate limitation.

b. Is specifically associated with a particular
piece(s) of equipment or air contaminant control device(s).

c. Has associated conditions which, in total,
establish a method to determine compliance. Such associated
conditions shall include appropriate testing, monitoring,
record keeping, and reporting requirements.

d. Has a recurring, predictable time period under
which compliance with the limitation will be demonstrated.
Such time period shall be that specified in the underlying
State regulation or federal rule or, in the absence of such
specification and upon approval by the Department, shall be
hourly, daily, monthly, or some other time period which
provides for the demonstration of compliance with the
limitation no less frequently than monthly.

11.10 A construction permit or any renewal thereof
shall be valid for a period not to exceed three years from the
date of issuance, unless sooner revoked by order of the
Department, and may be renewed upon application to and
approval by the Department.

11.11 An operating permit may be valid for an
indefinite period, unless the equipment or operation for
which a permit is written has controlled emissions of 100
tons or more per year of any air contaminant, in which case
the permit shall be valid for not more than a 5-year period
and shall be evaluated prior to re-issuance to determine if
permitted emission limits are appropriate.

11.12 The provisions of Section 2.1 and 11.3 shall
not apply to the operation of equipment or processes for the
purpose of initially demonstrating satisfactory performance
to the Department following construction, installation,
modification or alteration of the equipment or processes.
The applicant shall notify the Department sufficiently in
advance of the demonstration and shall obtain the
Department's prior concurrence of the operating factors, time
period and other pertinent details relating to the
demonstration.

11.13 Upon receipt of an application for the issuance
of an operating permit the Department, in its discretion, may
issue a temporary operating permit valid for a period not to
exceed ninety (90) days. A temporary operating permit

issued pursuant to this Section shall not be extended more
than once for an additional 90-day period.

06/01/97
Section 12 - Public Participation

12.1 Information obtained through the provisions of
this Regulation shall be made available for public inspection
at any Department office except where such information is
of confidential nature as defined in 7 Del.C. Chapter 60,
Section 6014. The Department shall provide for public
participation and comment in accordance with Section 12.2
through 12.6, as applicable.

12.2 Upon receipt of a source category permit
application or a permit application, in proper form, the
Department shall provide for public participation and
comment by:

a. Making available in at least one location in the
State of Delaware a public file containing a copy of all
materials that the applicant has submitted (other than those
granted confidential treatment).

b. Advertising in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed
and in a daily newspaper of general circulation throughout
the State: 1) the fact that the application has been received,
the identity of the affected facility, and the city or town in
which the facility is located, 2) a brief description of the
nature of the application, to include the activity or activities
involved in the permit action and the emissions or the change
in emission involved, and 3) the name, address and
telephone number of a Department representative with
responsibility for the permitting action, the place at which a
copy of the public file may be inspected, and a statement of
procedures to request a hearing.

c. Sending notice of the information detailed in
Section 12.2(b) by mail to any person who has requested
such notification from the Department by providing to the
Department their name and mailing address.

d. Holding, if the Department receives a
meritorious request for a hearing within fifteen (15) calendar
days of the date of the advertisement described in Section
12.2(b), or if the Department deems it to be in the best
interest of the State to do so, a public hearing on an
application for interested persons to appear and submit
written or oral comments on the air quality impact of the
proposed action.

  i. A public hearing request shall be deemed
meritorious if it exhibits a familiarity with the application
and a reasoned statement of the permit's probable impact.

 ii. Not less than twenty (20) calendar days
before the time of said hearing, notification that a public
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hearing will be held and the time and place of that hearing
shall be:

A. Served upon the applicant as
summonses are served or by registered or certified mail; and

B. Published in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed
and in a daily newspaper of general circulation throughout
the State.

e. Considering all comments submitted by the
applicant and the public in reaching its final determination.

12.3 For each permit application requesting to make
the terms and conditions of a permit federally enforceable,
the Department shall  provide for public participation and
comment by:

a. Making available in at least one location in the
State of Delaware a public file containing a copy of all
materials that the applicant has submitted (other than those
granted confidential treatment), a copy of the draft permit,
and a copy or summary of other materials, if any, considered
in making the preliminary determination.

b. Advertising in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed
and in a daily newspaper of general circulation throughout
the State: 1) the fact that the application has been received,
the identity of the affected facility, and the city or town in
which the facility is located, 2) a brief description of the
nature of the application, to include the activity or activities
involved in the permit action and the emissions or the change
in emission involved, and 3) the name, address and
telephone number of a Department representative with
responsibility for the permitting action, the place at which a
copy of the public file may be inspected, and a statement of
procedures to request a hearing.

c. On or before the date of the advertisement
described in Section 12.3(b):

  i. Sending notice of the information detailed
in Section 12.3(b) by mail to the Administrator of the EPA,
through the Region III office, and to any person who has
requested such notification from the Department by
providing to the Department their name and mailing address.

 ii. Providing the Administrator of the EPA,
through the Region III office, a copy of the draft permit.

d. Holding, if the Department receives a
meritorious request for a hearing within thirty (30) calendar
days of the date of the advertisement described in Section
12.3(b), or if the Department deems it to be in the best
interest of the State to do so, a public hearing on an
application or the draft permit for interested persons to
appear and submit written or oral comments on the air
quality impact of the proposed action or on the specific terms
and conditions of the draft permit.

i. A public hearing request shall be deemed
meritorious if it exhibits a familiarity with the application
and a reasoned statement of the permit's probable impact.

ii. Not less than thirty (30) calendar days
before the time of said hearing, notification that a public
hearing will be held and the time and place of that hearing
shall be:

A. Served upon the applicant as
summonses are served or by registered or certified mail; and

B. Published in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed
and in a daily newspaper of general circulation throughout
the State.

e. Affording the applicant an opportunity to
submit, within fifteen (15) days following the close of the
public comment period or the public hearing, whichever is
later, a response to any comments made.

f. Considering all comments submitted by the
applicant, the public, and the Administrator of the EPA in
reaching its final determination.

g. Providing to the Administrator of the EPA,
through the Region III office, a copy of the permit.

12.4 For each permit application requesting to allow
the terms and conditions of a construction permit to transfer
to a Regulation No. 30 permit via the administrative permit
amendment process specified in Regulation No. 30, the
Department shall  provide for public participation and
comment by:

a. Making available in at least one location in the
State of Delaware a public file containing a copy of all
materials that the applicant has submitted (other than those
granted confidential treatment), a copy of the draft permit,
and a copy or summary of other materials, if any, considered
in making the preliminary determination.

b. Advertising in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed
and in a daily newspaper of general circulation throughout
the State: 1) the fact that the application has been received,
the identity of the affected facility, and the city or town in
which the facility is located, 2) a brief description of the
nature of the application, to include the activity or activities
involved in the permit action and the emissions or the change
in emission involved, and 3) the name, address and
telephone number of a Department representative with
responsibility for the permitting action, the place at which a
copy of the public file may be inspected, and a statement of
procedures to request a hearing.

c. On or before the date of the advertisement
described in Section 12.4(b):

i. Sending notice of the information detailed
in Section 12.4(b) by mail to any person who has requested
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such notification from the Department by providing to the
Department their name and mailing address, and to the
representative of any affected states designated by those
states to receive such notices.  The term “affected states”
retains the meaning accorded to it in Regulation No. 30.

ii. Providing the Administrator of the EPA,
through the Region III office, affected states, any person
who requests it, and the applicant a statement that sets forth
the legal and factual basis for the draft permit conditions
(including references to the applicable statutory or
regulatory provisions).

iii. Providing the Administrator of the EPA,
through the Region III office, a copy of the permit
application unless the Administrator waives the requirement.

d. Holding, if the Department receives a
meritorious request for a hearing within thirty (30) calendar
days of the date of the advertisement described in Section
12.4(b), or if the Department deems it to be in the best
interest of the State to do so, a public hearing on an
application or the draft permit for interested persons to
appear and submit written or oral comments on the air
quality impact of the proposed action or on the specific terms
and conditions of the draft permit.

i. A public hearing request shall be deemed
meritorious if it exhibits a familiarity with the application
and a reasoned statement of the permit's probable impact.

ii. Not less than thirty (30) calendar days
before the time of said hearing, notification that a public
hearing will be held and the time and place of that hearing
shall be:

A. Served upon the applicant as
summonses are served or by registered or certified mail; and

B. Published in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed
and in a daily newspaper of general circulation throughout
the State.

e. Affording the applicant an opportunity to
submit, within fifteen (15) days following the close of the
public comment period or the public hearing, whichever is
later, a response to any comments made.

f. Considering all comments submitted by the
applicant, the public, and any affected state in reaching its
final determination. The Department shall maintain a list of
all commenters and a summary of the issues raised and shall
make that information available in the public file and supply
it to EPA upon request.

g. After meeting the requirements of 12.4(a)
through 12.4(f), providing the Administrator of the EPA,
through the Region III office, a copy of the proposed permit
[i.e., the version of the permit that represents the
Departments final determination under Section 12.4(f)], all

necessary supporting information, and providing a notice to
the Administrator and to any affected state of any refusal by
the Department to accept all recommendations for the
proposed permit that the affected state submitted during the
public review period. The notice shall include the
Department's reasons for not accepting any such
recommendation. The Department is not required to accept
recommendations that are not based on applicable
requirements. The term “applicable requirement” retains the
meaning accorded to it in Regulation No. 30.

h. On or before the date that the Department
provides the proposed permit to EPA for review under
Section 12.4(g), issuing a written response to all comments
submitted by affected states and all significant comments
submitted by the applicant and the public.

12.5 The Department shall not issue the permit if the
Administrator objects to its issuance in writing within forty-
five (45) days of receipt of all of the information provided to
the Administrator pursuant to Section 12.4(g).  Any EPA
objection under this paragraph shall include a statement of
the Administrator's reasons for objection and a description of
the terms and conditions that must be revised to respond to
the objection. The Administrator will provide the applicant a
copy of the objection. The Department may thereafter issue
only a revised permit that satisfies EPA's objection.

12.6 If the Administrator does not object in writing
under Section 12.5, any person may petition the
Administrator within sixty (60) days after the expiration of
the Administrator's 45-day review period to make such
objection. Any such petition shall be based only on
objections to the permit raised with reasonable specificity
during the public comment period provided for in Section
12.4, unless the petitioner demonstrates that it was
impracticable to raise such objections within such period, or
unless the grounds for such objection arose after such period.
If the Administrator objects to the permit as a result of a
petition filed under this paragraph, the Department shall not
amend the Regulation No. 30 permit until EPA's objection
has been resolved, except that a petition for review does not
stay the effectiveness of the construction permit and/or the
amended Regulation No. 30 permit or its requirements if the
construction permit or the amended Regulation No. 30
permit was issued after the end of the 45-day review period
and prior to an EPA objection.  If the Department has issued
an amended the Regulation No. 30 permit prior to receipt of
an EPA objection under this paragraph, the Administrator
will modify, terminate, or revoke such permit, and shall do
so consistent with the time limits established in 40 CFR
70.7(g)(4) or (5)(i) and (ii), except in emergencies, and the
Department may thereafter issue only a revised permit that
satisfies EPA’s objection.  In any case, the source will not be
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in violation of the requirement to have submitted a timely
and complete application under Regulation No. 30.

06/01/97
Section 13 - Department Records

13.1 The Department will keep for five (5) years
such records and submit to the Administrator of the EPA
such information as the Administrator may reasonably
require to ascertain whether the optional procedures to
establish and transfer the terms and conditions of a
construction permit issued pursuant to this regulation into a
Regulation No. 30 operating permit via the administrative
permit amendment process specified in Regulation No. 30
comply with the requirements of the Federal Clean Air Act
and 40 CFR Part 70.

Appendix A
(For the applicability of Appendix A see Section 2.2 of the
regulation)

a. Air contaminant detector, air contaminant recorder,
combustion controller or combustion shut-off.

b. Except as provided for in Regulation No. 22,
Restriction on Quality of Fuel in Fuel Burning Equipment,
external combustion fuel burning equipment which: 

i. Uses any fuel and has a rated heat input of less
than 10 million British-Thermal Units (BTUs) per hour.

ii. Uses only natural gas, LP gas, or other
desulfurized fuel gas and has a rated heat input of less than
15 million British-Thermal Units (BTUs) per hour.

c. Air conditioning or comfort ventilating systems.
d. Vacuum cleaning systems used exclusively for

office applications or residential housekeeping.
e. Ventilating or exhaust systems for print storage

room cabinets.
f. Exhaust systems for controlling steam and heat.
g. Any equipment at a facility used exclusively for

chemical or physical analysis or determination of product
quality and commercial acceptance, provided the operation
of the equipment is not an integral part of the production
process and the total actual emissions from all such
equipment at the facility do not exceed 450 pounds in any
calendar month.

h. Internal combustion engines in  vehicles used for
transport of passengers or freight.

i. Maintenance, repair, or replacement in kind of
equipment for which a permit to operate has been issued.

j. Equipment which emits only nitrogen, oxygen,
carbon dioxide, and/or water vapor.

k. Ventilating or exhaust systems used in eating
establishments where food is prepared for the purpose of
consumption.

l. Equipment used to liquefy or separate oxygen,
nitrogen or the rare gases from the air.

m. Fireworks display.
n. Smudge pots for orchards or small outdoor heating

devices to prevent freezing of plants.
o. Outdoor painting and sand blasting equipment.
p. Lawnmowers, tractors, farm equipment and

construction equipment.
q. Gasoline dispensing facilities that never exceed a

monthly throughput of 10,000 gallons.
s. Stationary gasoline storage tanks that:

1. Have a capacity less than 550 gallons and that
are used exclusively for the fueling of implements of
husbandry;  or

2. Have a capacity less than 2000 gallons and that
were constructed prior to January 1, 1979;  or

3. Have a capacity less than 250 gallons and that
were constructed after December 31, 1978.

t. Fire schools or fire fighting training.
u. Residential wood burning stoves and wood burning

fireplaces.
v. Any stationary storage tank not subject to control

by these regulations which contains any liquid having a true
vapor pressure less than 0.5 psia at 70oF or is less than 5000
gallons capacity.

w. Buildings, cabinets, and facilities used for storage
of chemicals in closed containers.

x. Sewage treatment facilities.
y. Water treatment units.
z. Quiescent wastewater treatment operations.
aa. Non-contact water cooling towers (water that has

not been in direct contact with process fluids).
bb. Laundry dryers, extractors, or tumblers used for

fabrics cleaned with a water solution of bleach or detergents.
cc. Equipment used for hydraulic or hydrostatic testing.
dd. Blueprint copiers and photographic processes.
ee. Kilns used for firing ceramic ware that are heated

exclusively by natural gas, electricity, and/or liquid
petroleum gas, and the BTU input is less than 15 million
BTUs per hour.

ff. Inorganic acid storage tanks equipped with an
emission control device.

gg. Any internal combustion engine associated with a
stationary electrical generator that: 1)has a standby power
rating of 450 kilowatts or less that is used only during times
of emergency; 2)is located at any residence; or 3)is located at
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any commercial poultry producing premise, as these terms
are defined in Regulation No. 1144.

hh. Any internal combustion fuel burning equipment,
which is not associated with a stationary electrical generator,
and has an engine power rating of 450 hp or less.

1144 Control of Stationary Generator Emissions

1.0 General
1.1 Purpose. The purpose of this regulation is to ensure

that emissions of nitrogen oxides (NOx), nonmethane
hydrocarbons (NMHC), particulate matter (PM), sulfur
dioxide (SO2), carbon monoxide (CO), and carbon dioxide
(CO2) from stationary generators in the State of Delaware do
not adversely impact public health, safety, and welfare.

1.2 Applicability.
1.2.1 This regulation applies to new and existing,

emergency and distributed, stationary generators, except for:
1.2.1.1 a generator covered by a permit which

imposes a NOx emission limitation established to meet Best
Available Control Technology (BACT) or Lowest
Achievable Emission Rate (LAER);

1.2.1.2 an emergency generator located on a
residential property where no commercial or industrial
activity is carried on, and operated solely to provide
emergency electric power to the domestic residence and
structures on that property housing no more than three (3)
families;

1.2.1.3 a generator which is mobile; or
1.2.1.4 a generator with a standby power

rating of 10 kW or less.
1.2.2 The requirements of this regulation are in

addition to all other applicable State and Federal
requirements.

1.3 Dates
1.3.1 The owner of a new stationary generator

shall submit the information required in Initial Notification.
of this regulation and comply with the requirements of this
regulation by the date of installation.

1.3.2 The owner of an existing stationary
generator shall submit the information required in Initial
Notification. of this regulation no later than [insert date 3
months after the effective date].

1.3.2.1 If the generator is to be classified as
an emergency generator, the owner shall comply with the
requirements of this regulation by [insert date 3 months after
the effective date].

1.3.2.2 If the generator is to be classified as a
distributed generator, and is subject to 3.2.1.1 of this

regulation, the owner shall comply with the requirements of
this regulation by April 1, 2007.

1.3.2.3 If the generator is to be classified as a
distributed generator, and is subject to 3.2.1.2 of this
regulation, the owner shall comply with the requirements of
this regulation by [insert date 3 months after the effective
date].

1.3.3 If a generator is to be reclassified from an
emergency generator to a distributed generator, or vice versa,
the owner of a stationary generator shall submit to the
Department a letter stating that the generator is to be
reclassified, and the owner shall comply with the
requirements of this regulation before this reclassification.

1.4 Initial Notification.
1.4.1 The owner of a stationary generator shall

submit to the Department the following information:
1.4.1.1 the generator owner’s name and

telephone number;
1.4.1.2 the physical address where the

generator is installed, or will be installed;
1.4.1.3 a description of the generator

including the make, model number, and serial number;
1.4.1.4 the year of manufacture for the

generator;
1.4.1.5 the standby power rating or the prime

power rating for the generator, or both power ratings if both
are known; and

1.4.1.6 the date of installation for existing
generators, or the expected date of installation for new
generators.

1.4.2 The owner of a stationary generator shall
submit to the Department a letter stating whether the
generator is to be classified as an emergency generator or a
distributed generator.

2.0 Definitions. The following words and terms, when
used in this regulation, shall have the following
meanings:

“Biodiesel” means a renewable fuel for diesel engines
derived from natural oils like soybean oil, and which meets
the specifications of ASTM D 6751-03a, “Standard
Specification for Biodiesel Fuel (B100) Blend Stock for
Distillate Fuels,” ASTM International, hereby incorporated
by reference.

“Biodiesel Blend” means a blend of biodiesel and diesel
fuel, designated BXX, where XX represents the volume
percentage of biodiesel fuel in the blend.  Pure biodiesel is
designated as B100.

“Combined heat and power” and “CHP” means a
generator that sequentially produces both electric power and
thermal energy from a single source, where the thermal
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energy is wholly or partly used for either industrial processes
or other heating or cooling purposes.

“Combustion turbine” means an internal combustion
engine in which expanding gases from the combustion
chamber drive the blades of a turbine to generate mechanical
energy in the form of a rotating shaft.

“Commercial poultry producing premises” means any
location in the State of Delaware where live, commercial
poultry (i.e., poultry wholly owned by a corporate enterprise
that controls the entire growing cycle of the birds, from the
breeder flock to the processing plant) is kept.

“Department” means Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control as defined in 29 Del.C., Chapter
80, as amended.

“Design system efficiency” means for CHP, the sum of
the full load design thermal output and electric output
divided by the heat input.

“Diesel fuel” means any fuel sold in any state or
Territory of the United States and suitable for use in diesel
motor vehicles, diesel motor vehicle engines, or diesel
nonroad engines, and which is commonly or commercially
known or sold as diesel fuel.

“Digester gas” means gas generated by the anaerobic
digestion of organic wastes, which include, but are not
limited to, livestock manure, industrial wastewater, or food
processing waste.

“Distributed generator” means a stationary generator
that may be used during an emergency, during testing, and
for maintenance purposes, as well as for any other purpose at
times other than during an emergency.

“Emergency” means:
• an electric power outage due to:  a failure of

the electrical grid; on-site disaster; local
equipment failure; or public service
emergencies such as flood, fire, natural
disaster, or severe weather conditions (e.g.,
hurricane, tornado, blizzard, etc.); or

• when there is a deviation of voltage or
frequency from the electrical provider to the
premises of three percent (3%) or greater
above, or five percent (5%) or greater below,
standard voltage or frequency.

“Emergency generator” means a stationary
generator used only during an emergency, during testing, and
for maintenance purposes. An emergency generator may not
be operated in conjunction with a voluntary demand-
reduction program or any other interruptible power supply
arrangement with a utility, other market participant, or
system operator (e.g., Delmarva Power, Delaware Electric
Cooperative, PJM, etc.).

“Existing” means a generator which is not new. An
existing generator shall not be considered new if it is
relocated and reinstalled on the same property, nor if it is
reclassified from an emergency generator to a distributed
generator or vice versa.

“Gaseous fuel” means a fuel which is neither solid
nor liquid, and includes but is not limited to natural gas,
propane, landfill gas, waste gas, and anaerobic digester gas.

“Generator” means an internal combustion engine,
except for a combustion turbine, and associated equipment
that converts primary fuel (including fossil fuels and
renewable fuels) into electricity, or electricity and thermal
energy. Use of the term “generator” in this regulation shall
refer to any and all generators subject to the requirements of
this regulation unless the type of generator being referred to
is otherwise specified.

“Installation” and “install” mean:
• for generators which are not required to obtain

a permit, the date upon which the emplacement
of a generator is commenced; or

• for generators which are required to obtain a
permit, the date upon which the owner has all
necessary preconstruction approvals or permits
and either has:
• begun, or caused to begin, a continuous

program of actual on-site emplacement of
the generator, to be completed within a
reasonable time; or

• entered into binding agreements or
contractual obligations, which cannot be
canceled or modified without substantial
loss to the owner, to undertake a program
of actual emplacement of the generator to
be completed within a reasonable time.

“Landfill gas” means gas generated by the
decomposition of organic waste deposited in a landfill
(including municipal solid waste landfills) or derived from
the evolution of organic compounds in the waste.

“Maintenance” means the recurrent, periodic, or
scheduled work necessary to repair, prevent damage, or
sustain existing components of a generator or any ancillary
equipment associated with its use.

“Mobile” means a generator powered by an internal
combustion engine that is self-propelled or serves a dual
purpose by both propelling itself and performing another
function (such as converting primary fuel into electricity, or
electricity and thermal energy); is intended to be propelled
while performing its function; or that, by itself or in or on a
piece of equipment, is portable or transportable, meaning
designed to be and capable of being carried or moved from
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one location to another (i.e., a generator which is not
stationary).

“New” means a generator which is installed or
repowered on or after [insert effective date].

“Owner” means the owner of, or person responsible for,
a generator.

“Power to heat ratio” means for a CHP unit, the design
electrical output divided by the design recovered thermal
output in consistent units.

“Prime power rating” means the maximum amount of
power a generator is capable of supplying during continuous
duty, as specified by the manufacturer.

“Repower” means the replacement of the internal
combustion engine of a generator with another internal
combustion engine.

“Standby power rating” means the amount of power a
generator is capable of supplying during a power outage for
the duration of the interruption, as specified by the
manufacturer.

“Stationary” means a generator powered by an internal
combustion engine which is not propelled or intended to be
propelled while performing its function, that is used either in
a fixed application, or in a portable (or transportable)
application in which the engine will stay at a single location
on a property (which includes the land, the buildings, and all
improvements thereon) for more than 12 consecutive months
(i.e., a generator which is not mobile).  Any stationary
generator which is moved from one location to another in a
deliberate attempt to circumvent the residence time
requirement of 12 consecutive months shall be deemed
stationary.

“Supplier” means a person or firm that manufactures,
assembles, or otherwise supplies generators.

“Testing” means determining the capability of a
generator to meet the specified requirements of this
regulation or determining if the generator and any ancillary
equipment associated with its use are functioning correctly.

“US EPA” means the United States Environmental
Protection Agency. 

“Waste gas” means manufacturing or mining byproduct
gases that are not used and are otherwise flared or
incinerated. A manufacturing or mining byproduct is a
material that is not one of the primary products of a
particular manufacturing or mining operation, is a secondary
and incidental product of the particular operation, and would
not be solely and separately manufactured or mined by the
particular manufacturing or mining operation. The term does
not include an intermediate manufacturing or mining product
which results from one of the steps in a manufacturing or
mining process and is typically processed through the next
step of the process within a short time.

3.0 Emissions.
A generator shall not exceed the following standards (in

pounds per megawatt-hour (lbs/MWh) of electricity output)
under full load design conditions or at the load conditions
specified by the applicable testing methods.

3.1. Emergency generator.
3.1.1 Existing emergency generator.  The owner

or operator of an existing emergency generator shall operate
the generator in conformance with the generator
manufacturer’s instructions, such as following maintenance
and operating requirements to help minimize emissions.

3.1.2 New emergency generator. A new
emergency generator shall meet the applicable emissions
standards set by the US EPA for non-road engines (40 CFR
89, 90, 91, 92, 94, 1039, or 1048 July 1, 2004 Edition).

3.2 Distributed generator.  The following standards do
not apply to distributed generators while operating to
provide emergency electric power during an emergency.

3.2.1 Existing distributed generator.
3.2.1.1 Except as provided for in 3.2.1.2 of this

regulation, an existing distributed generator shall meet the
following emission standards:

3.2.1.2 As an alternative to the owner of an
existing distributed generator installed on commercial
poultry producing premises, to generate electricity to those
premises, the generator shall be exempt from the emission
standards of 3.2.1.1 of this regulation if one of the following
requirements are met:

3.2.1.2.1 the owner of such a
generator is participating or is signed up to participate in a
Department approved, emission control strategy cost-share
program for generators offered by either the Kent
Conservation District or the Sussex Conservation District; or

3.2.1.2.2 the generator is gaseous
fueled.

3.2.2  New distributed generator.
3.2.2.1 Except as provided for in 3.2.2.2 of

this regulation, a new distributed generator shall meet the
following emission standards:

Emission Standard
Pollutant (lbs/MWh)

Nitrogen Oxides 4.0
Nonmethane Hydrocarbons 1.9

Particulate Matter
(liquid-fueled reciprocating engines 

only)
0.7

Carbon Monoxide 10.0
Carbon Dioxide 1,900
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3.2.2.2 A new distributed generator that uses
waste, landfill, or digester gases shall be exempt from the
emission standards of 3.2.2.1 of this regulation and shall
meet the following emission standards:

3.3 By [insert date 4 years after the effective date] the
Department shall complete a review of the state of, and
expected changes in, technology and emissions rates; as well
as a review of generators operating within the State of
Delaware, and their emissions. This review shall be used by
the Department in considering whether these standards in
this regulation should be amended, or new standards
adopted, to ensure the continued improvement of the
ambient air quality of the State of Delaware. Any
amendment to these standards shall be in accordance with
the requirements of 7 Del.C., Chapter 60 and 29 Del.C.,
Chapter 101.

4.0 Operating Requirements
4.1 An emergency generator may operate for an

unlimited number of hours during an emergency.
4.2 An emergency generator may operate for an

unlimited number of hours during testing or for maintenance
purposes, pursuant to the definition of an emergency
generator, except as restricted by 4.4 of this regulation.

4.3 A distributed generator may operate at any time,
except as restricted by 4.4 of this regulation.

4.4 No emergency or distributed generator shall be
used during testing or for maintenance purposes before 5
p.m. on a day which has a Ground Level Ozone Pollution
Forecast or Particle Pollution Forecast of “Code Red” or
“Code Orange” as announced by the Department.

4.5 Despite of this regulation, an emergency generator
may be tested on any day that such testing is required to meet
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) or Joint
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
(JCAHO) standards.

5.0 Fuel Requirements
5.1 Each shipment of diesel fuel or a biodiesel blend,

received for use in a generator on or after [3 months after the
effective date], shall have a sulfur content equal to or less
than 0.05% by weight.

5.2 Gaseous fuels, except for waste, landfill, or digester
gases, combusted in a generator on or after [3 months after
the effective date] shall contain no more than ten grains total
sulfur per 100 dry standard cubic feet (170 ppmv total sulfur)
on a daily average.

5.3 Waste, landfill, or digester gases combusted in a
generator on or after [3 months after the effective date] shall
contain no more than ten grains total sulfur per 100 dry
standard cubic feet (170 ppmv total sulfur) on a daily
average. An alternative total sulfur limit for waste, landfill,
or digester gases shall be allowed based upon a case-by-case
determination.

6.0 Record Keeping and Reporting
6.1 Record-Keeping Requirements. The owner of a

generator shall maintain the following records on the
property where the generator is installed, or at such other
readily accessible location that the Department approves in
writing:

6.1.1 An owner shall monitor the monthly and
yearly amounts of fuel, or fuels, consumed by their
generators.  Yearly fuel consumption shall be calculated and
recorded each calendar month by recording (for each fuel)
the current calendar month's fuel consumption and adding it
to those of the previous eleven consecutive months.

6.1.2 A non-resettable hour metering device
shall be used by an owner to continuously monitor the
monthly and yearly operating hours for each of their
generators.  Yearly operating hours shall be calculated and
recorded each calendar month by recording the current
calendar month's operating hours and adding them to those
of the previous eleven consecutive months.

Emission Standards (lbs/MWh)
Installed On 

or
Installed On 

or 
Installed On 

or
Pollutant After 

[Effective 
Date]

After January 
1, 2008

After 
January 1, 

2012
Nitrogen Oxides 2.2 1.0 0.6

Nonmethane 
Hydrocarbons

0.5 0.5 0.3

Particulate Matter
(liquid-fueled 
reciprocating 
engines only)

0.7 0.7 0.07

Carbon Monoxide 10.0 10.0 2.0
Carbon Dioxide 1,900 1,900 1,650

Emission Standards (lbs/
MWh)

Pollutant Installed on or After [Effective 
Date]

Nitrogen Oxides 2.2
Nonmethane Hydrocarbons 0.7

Carbon Monoxide 10.0
Carbon Dioxide 1,900
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS222
6.1.3 Monthly and yearly operating hours for an
emergency generator.  Yearly operating hours during which
testing or maintenance occurred shall be calculated and
recorded each calendar month by recording the current
calendar month's testing or maintenance hours and adding
them to those of the previous eleven consecutive months. A
brief description of each testing or maintenance performed
shall also be recorded.

6.1.4 Except as provided for in 6.1.5 of this
regulation, for each shipment of liquid fuel (other than
liquefied petroleum gas), received for use in a generator, a
shipping receipt and certification shall be obtained from the
fuel distributor which identifies:

6.1.4.1 the type of fuel delivered; and
6.1.4.2 the percentage of sulfur in the fuel (by

weight dry basis), and the method used to determine the
sulfur content.

6.1.5 As an alternative to 6.1.4 of this regulation,
the owner may have the fuel in the generator's fuel tank
certified by a third party laboratory, after each shipment of
liquid fuel.  This certification shall identify:

6.1.5.1 the type of fuel delivered; and
6.1.5.2 the percentage of sulfur in the fuel (by

wieght dry basis), and the method used to determine the
sulfur content.

6.2 Availability of Records. The owner shall maintain
each record required by 6.1 of this regulation for a minimum
of five years after the date the record is made. The owner
may retain hard copies (e.g., paper) or electronic copies (e.g.,
compact discs, computer disks, magnetic tape, etc.) of the
records. An owner shall promptly provide the original or a
copy of a record or records to the Department upon request.

7.0 Emissions Certification, Compliance, and 
Enforcement

7.1 Emissions Certification of New Distributed
Generators by a Supplier.  A supplier may seek to certify
that its generators, which are meant to be installed as new
distributed generators, meet the provisions of this regulation.

7.1.1 Certification Process. Emissions of
nitrogen oxides, nonmethane hydrocarbons, particulate
matter, carbon monoxide, and carbon dioxide from the
generator shall be certified in pounds of emissions per
megawatt hour (lb/MWh) at International Organization for
Standardization (ISO) conditions or at the load conditions
specified by the applicable testing methods in Emissions.
Compliance with this regulation shall be demonstrated
through testing using the applicable EPA Reference
Methods, California Air Resources Board methods, or
equivalent test methods approved by the Department if: of
this regulation.  If the design of a certified generator is

modified, the generator will need to be re-certified.
Certification means that a generator meets the required
emissions standards of this regulation and can be installed,
as supplied, for use as a distributed generator.  With respect
to nitrogen oxides, nonmethane hydrocarbons, carbon
monoxide, and carbon dioxide, test results from EPA
Reference Methods, California Air Resources Board
methods, or equivalent testing may be used to verify this
certification.  When testing the output of particulate matter
from liquid-fuel reciprocating engines, ISO Method 8178
shall be used. Test results shall be provided upon request to
the Department. A statement attesting to certification shall
be displayed on the nameplate of the unit or on a label
attached to the unit with the following text:

This generator has met the standards defined by the
State of Delaware’s Regulation No. 1144 and is
certified as meeting applicable emission levels
when it is maintained and operated in accordance
with the supplier’s instructions.

7.1.2 Responsibility of Supplier. Certification
will apply to a specific make and model of generator.  For a
make and model of a generator to be certified, the supplier
shall certify that the generator is capable of meeting the
requirements of this regulation for the lesser of 3,000 hours
of operation or five years.

7.2 Emissions Certification of New Emergency
Generators by a Supplier.  An engine that has been certified
to meet the currently applicable US EPA non-road emissions
standards shall be deemed to be certified for use in new
emergency generators.

7.3 Emissions Verification by an Owner.  An owner
shall verify, by each generator’s respective compliance date
as detailed inDates.  of this regulation, that a generator
complies with its respective emission requirements
ofEmissions. A generator shall not exceed the following
standards (in pounds per megawatt-hour (lbs/MWh) of
electricity output) under full load design conditions or at the
load conditions specified by the applicable testing methods. 
of this regulation by submitting any or all of the following
types of data to the Department for review:

7.3.1 any maintenance or operating
requirements/instructions provided by the generator
manufacturer;

7.3.2 the type, or a description, of any emission
control equipment used; or

7.3.3 emissions test data for the generator (such
as a manufacturer’s technical data sheet), any supporting
documentation for any emission control equipment used, any
supporting calculations, any quality control or assurance
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information, and any other information needed to
demonstrate compliance with the requirements.

7.4 Reverification. To ensure continuing compliance
with the emissions limitations, the owner or operator shall
verify a distributed generator’s compliance with the
emission standards every five years. This verification may
be accomplished by following a maintenance schedule that
the manufacturer certifies will ensure continued compliance
with the required standards, by third party testing of the
distributed generator using appropriate test methods to
demonstrate that the distributed generator still meets the
required emission standards, or by some other means as
proven to the Department.

7.5 Testing
7.5.1 Emissions. Compliance with this

regulation shall be demonstrated through testing using the
applicable EPA Reference Methods, California Air
Resources Board methods, or equivalent test methods
approved by the Department if:

7.5.1.1 a supplier is seeking to certify that one
of its generators meets the provisions of this regulation,
pursuant to 7.1 of this regulation;

7.5.1.2 an owner owns a generator that is not
certified or verified under the terms of  3.1.2, 7.1, 7.2, or 7.3
of this regulation; or 

7.5.1.3 an owner of a generator is seeking to
reverify the generator via third party testing pursuant to 7.4
of this regulation.

7.5.2 Sulfur Content.
7.5.2.1 Sulfur limits pursuant to 5.1 of this

regulation shall be determined using the applicable sampling
and testing methodologies set forth in 40 CFR 80.580 (July
1, 2004).

7.5.2.2 Sulfur limits pursuant to 5.2 of this
regulation shall be determined using the applicable sampling
and testing methodologies set forth in Appendix D of 40
CFR 75 (July 1, 2004) or in the South Coast Air Quality
Management District’s Rule 431.1 “Sulfur Content of
Gaseous Fuels” (June 12, 1998).

7.6 Duty to Comply.  An owner shall comply with the
requirements of this regulation. Neither certification nor
compliance with this regulation relieves owners from
compliance with any other applicable state and federal
regulations or permitting requirements.

7.7 This regulation is enforceable by the Department as
provided by law.

8.0 Credit for Concurrent Emissions Reductions
8.1 Flared Fuels. If a generator uses fuel that would

otherwise be flared (i.e., not used for generation or other
energy related purpose), the emissions that were or would

have been produced through the flaring can be deducted
from the actual emissions of the generator, for the purposes
of calculating compliance with the requirements of this
regulation. If the actual emissions from flaring can be
documented, they may be used as the basis for calculating
the credit, subject to the approval of the Department. If the
actual emissions from flaring cannot be documented, then
the following default values shall be used:

8.2 Combined Heat and Power.
8.2.1 CHP installations shall meet the following

requirements to be eligible for emissions credits related to
thermal output:

8.2.1.1 At least 20% of the fuel’s total
recovered energy shall be thermal and at least 13% shall be
electric. This corresponds to an allowed power-to-heat ratio
range of between 4.0 and 0.15.

8.2.1.2 The design system efficiency shall be at
least 55%.

8.2.2 A CHP system that meets the
requirements of CHP installations shall meet the following
requirements to be eligible for emissions credits related to
thermal output: of this regulation may receive a compliance
credit against its actual emissions based on the emissions
that would have been created by a conventional separate
system used to generate the same thermal output. The credit
shall be subtracted from the actual generator emissions for
purposes of calculating compliance with the limits in 3.1 or
3.2 of this regulation. The credit will be calculated according
to the following assumptions and procedures:

8.2.2.1 The emission rates for CHP facilities
that replace existing thermal systems (e.g., boiler) for which
historic emission rates can be documented shall be the
historic emission rates in lbs/MMBtu, but not more than the
emission rates for new facilities that displace a thermal
system, which are:

8.2.2.2 The emissions rate of the thermal
system in lbs/MMBtu will be converted to an output-based

Emissions Waste, Landfill,
Digester Gases

Nitrogen Oxides 0.1 lbs/MMBtu
Particulate Matter N/A
Carbon Monoxide 0.7 lb/MMBtu
Carbon Dioxide 117 lb/MMBtu

Emissions Maximum Rate
Nitrogen Oxides 0.2 lbs/MMBtu

Particulate Matter N/A
Carbon Monoxide 0.08 lbs/MMBtu
Carbon Dioxide 117 lbs/MMBtu
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rate by dividing by the thermal system efficiency. For new
systems the efficiency of the avoided thermal system will be
assumed to be 80% for boilers or the design efficiency of
other process heat systems. If the design efficiency of the
other process heat system cannot be documented, an
efficiency of 80% will be assumed.  For retrofit systems, the
historic efficiency of the displaced thermal system can be
used if that efficiency can be documented and if the
displaced thermal system is either enforceably shut down
and replaced by the CHP system, or if its operation is
measurably and enforceably reduced by the operation of the
CHP system.

8.2.2.3 The emissions per MMBtu of thermal
energy output will be converted to emissions per MWh of
thermal energy by multiplying by 3.413 MMBtu/
MWhthermal.

8.2.2.4 The emissions credits in lbs/
MWhthermal, as calculated inThe emissions per MMBtu of
thermal energy output will be converted to emissions per
MWh of thermal energy by multiplying by 3.413 MMBtu/
MWhthermal.  of this regulation, will be converted to
emissions in lbs/MWhemissions by dividing by the CHP
system power-to-heat ratio.

8.2.2.5 The credit, as calculated in 8.2.2.4 of
this regulation, will be subtracted from the actual emission
rate of the CHP unit to produce the emission rate used for
compliance purposes.

8.2.2.6 The mathematical calculations set out
in 8.2.2.1 through 8.2.2.4 of this regulation are expressed in
the following formula:

8.3 Non-Emitting Resources. When electricity
generation that does not produce any of the emissions
regulated herein is installed and operated simultaneously at
the facility where the generator is installed and operated,
then the electricity savings supplied by the non-emitting
electricity source shall be added to the electricity supplied by
the generator for the purposes of calculating compliance
with the requirements of this regulation, subject to the
approval of the Department and in accordance with the
following formula for determining such savings:

RateEF = (RateA) * [(SizeA)/(SizeA + SizeNER)]
RateEF   = effective emission rate of generator,

accounting for non-emitting resource(s) (lb/MWh)
RateA = actual emission rate of generator alone (lb/

MWh)
SizeA = actual prime power rating of generator (MW)

SizeNER = total generating capacity of non-emitting
resource(s) (MW)

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
7 DE Admin. Code 7410

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE

TMDLs for the Shellpot Creek and Naamans Creek 
Watersheds

1. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues
The Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control (DNREC) is proposing to adopt
Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulations for
nitrogen, phosphorous, and bacteria for the Shellpot Creek
and Naamans Creek Watersheds.  A TMDL sets a limit on
the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into a
waterbody and still protect water quality. TMDLs are
composed of three components including Waste Load
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of
Safety (MOS) to account for uncertainties and future growth.

2. Possible Terms of the Agency Action
Following adoption of the proposed Total Maximum

Daily Loads for the Shellpot Creek and Naamans Creek
Watersheds, DNREC will develop a Pollution Control
Strategy (PCS) to achieve the necessary load reductions.
The PCS will identify specific pollution reduction activities
and timeframes and will be developed in concert with
Shellpot Creek and Naamans Creek Tributary Action Teams,
other stakeholders, and the public.

3. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act
The authority to develop a TMDL is provided by Title 7

of the Delaware Code, Chapter 60, and Section 303(d) of the
Federal Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 et. seq., as
amended.

4. Other Legislation That May be Impacted
None

5. Notice of Public Hearing and Comment
A public hearing will be held at 6:00 p.m., Wednesday,

September 7, 2005, at the auditorium of Mt. Pleasant

ratio)heat   (power to

413.3

)efficiency(boiler 

lbs/MMBtu)limit (boiler 
 

emissions
lbs/MWhredit    C ×=
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Elementary School, 500 Duncan Road, Wilmington,
Delaware, 19809.  The hearing record will close at the
conclusion of the hearing.  Please send written comments to
Robert P. Haynes, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE, 19901; facsimile: (302) 739- 6242;
email: Robert.Haynes@state.de.us.

Additional information and supporting technical
documents may be obtained by contacting Hassan Mirsajadi,
Watershed Assessment Section, Division of Water
Resources, Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control, 820 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite
220, Dover, DE 19904-2464, (302) 739-4590, facsimile:
(302) 739-6140, email: (Hassan.Mirsajadi@state.de.us)

6. Prepared By:
John Schneider, Watershed Assessment Section, 739-

4590

7410 TMDLs for the Naamans Creek Watersheds

1.0  Introduction and Background
1.1 Water quality monitoring performed by the

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) has shown that Naamans Creek is
impaired by high levels of bacteria and elevated levels of the
nutrients nitrogen and phosphorous, and that the designated
uses are not fully supported by water quality in the stream.

1.2 Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act
(CWA) requires states to develop a list (303(d) List) of
waterbodies for which existing pollution control activities
are not sufficient to attain applicable water quality criteria
and to develop Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for
pollutants or stressors causing the impairment. A TMDL sets
a limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged
into a waterbody and still protect water quality. TMDLs are
composed of three components, including Waste Load
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of
Safety (MOS).

1.3 DNREC listed the Naamans Creek on several of the
State’s 303(d) Lists and proposes the following Total
Maximum Daily Load regulation for nitrogen, phosphorous,
and Enterococcus bacteria. 

2.0 Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation 
for Naamans Creek, Delaware

Article 1. The nonpoint source nitrogen load shall be
capped at the 2000-2004 baseline level. This shall result in a
yearly-average total nitrogen load of 228 pounds per day.

Article 2. The nonpoint source phosphorous load
shall be capped at the 2000-2004 baseline level. This shall
result in a yearly-average total phosphorous load of 13
pounds per day.

Article 3. The nonpoint source bacteria load shall be
reduced by 78%. This shall result in reducing a yearly-mean
bacteria load from 5.8E+10 CFU per day to 1.6E+10 CFU
per day.

Article 4. Based upon water quality model runs and
assuming implementation of reductions identified by
Articles 1 through 3, DNREC has determined that, with an
adequate margin of safety, water quality standards will be
met in Naamans Creek.

Article 5. Implementation of this TMDL Regulation
shall be achieved through development and implementation
of a Pollution Control Strategy. The Strategy will be
developed by DNREC in concert with a Naamans Creek
Tributary Action Team, other stakeholders, and the public.

7411 TMDLs for Shellpot Creek, Delaware

1.0 Introduction and Background
1.1 Water quality monitoring performed by the

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) has shown that the Shellpot Creek is
impaired by high levels of bacteria and elevated levels of the
nutrients nitrogen and phosphorous, and that the designated
uses are not fully supported by water quality in the stream.

1.2 Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act
(CWA) requires states to develop a list (303(d) List) of
waterbodies for which existing pollution control activities
are not sufficient to attain applicable water quality criteria
and to develop Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for
pollutants or stressors causing the impairment. A TMDL sets
a limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged
into a waterbody and still protect water quality. TMDLs are
composed of three components, including Waste Load
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of
Safety (MOS).

DNREC listed Shellpot Creek on several of the State’s
303(d) Lists and proposes the following Total Maximum
Daily Load regulation for nitrogen, phosphorous and
Enterococcus bacteria. 

2.0 Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation 
for the Shellpot Creek, Delaware

Article 1. The nonpoint source nitrogen load from
the area south of Business Route 13 shall be reduced by 35%
(from the 2000-2003 baseline). This shall result in reducing
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the yearly-average total nitrogen load from 19.2 pounds per
day to 12.5 pounds per day.

Article 2. The nonpoint source nitrogen load from
the area north of Business Route 13 shall be capped at the
2000-2003 baseline level. This shall result in a yearly-
average total nitrogen load of 89.4 pounds per day.

Article 3. The nonpoint source phosphorous load
from the area south of Business Route 13 shall be reduced by
35% (from the 2000-2003 baseline). This shall result in
reducing the yearly-average total phosphorous load from 2.0
pounds per day to 1.3 pound per day.

Article 4. The nonpoint source phosphorous load
from the area north of Business Route 13 shall be capped at
the 2000-2003 baseline level. This shall result in a yearly-
average total phosphorous load of 5.7 pounds per day.

Article 5. The nonpoint source bacteria load shall be
reduced by 74% from the 1998-2004 baseline level. This
shall result in reducing a yearly-mean bacteria load from
3.7E+10 CFU per day to 9.0E+9 CFU per day.

Article 6. The bacteria load from Wilmington CSO
31 shall be reduced by 28% from the 1998-2004 baseline
level. This shall result in reducing a yearly-mean bacteria
load from 5.4E+10 CFU per day to 3.9E+10 CFU per day.

Article 7. Based upon water quality model runs and
assuming implementation of reductions identified by
Articles 1 through 6, DNREC has determined that, with an
adequate margin of safety, water quality standards will be
met in Shellpot Creek.

Article 8. Implementation of this TMDLs
Regulation shall be achieved through development and
implementation of a Pollution Control Strategy. The Strategy
will be developed by DNREC in concert with a Shellpot
Creek Tributary Action Team, other stakeholders, and the
public.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1900 Board of Nursing
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 1906(1) (24 Del.C. §1906(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 1900

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Nursing in accordance with 24
Del.C. Subsection 1906(1) has proposed to promulgate a
change to the Rules and Regulations related to the reporting
of continuing education. 

The proposed change provides that nurses will be able
to attest to the completion of the required number of contact
hours by approved providers, rather than documenting date,
program name, provider and number of contact hours. 

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, September
14, 2005 at 9:00 a.m., in the second floor conference room ,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware..

Anyone desiring a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Nursing, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite
203, Dover, DE 19904, (302) 744-4515 or (302) 744-4516.
Persons desiring to submit written comments concerning this
proposed revision to the Board’s Rules and Regulations may
forward these comments to the above address. The final date
to receive written comments will be at the hearing on
September 14, 2005

9.0 Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Mandatory
Continuing Education

9.1 Definitions
9.1.1 The following words and terms, when

used in this regulation, should have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

"Approved Method" means a planned
educational experience, as described in 9.3.

"Approved Provider" means an entity that is
one of the following:

A nationally accredited provider of
nursing related continuing education; or

An organization or agency that is approved
as a provider or has programs that are approved by a
nationally accredited approver of nursing related continuing
education; or

A Board of Nursing approved school of
nursing; or

A staff development department within a
licensed health care agency; or an accredited educational
institution; or

An entity approved by the Delaware Board
of Nursing, pursuant to 9.4 and 9.5, if not meeting any other
criteria.

"Audit" means 
The verification of completion of

continuing education requirements for a minimum of 1% of
the total number of licenses issued during a specified time
period. (Refer to 9.6) or

The verification of adherence to
continuing education approved provider requirements during
a specified time period. Providers may be audited as the
Board determines. (Refer to 9.7) 
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"Biennium" means the two year period of
licensure beginning in an odd numbered year and ending in
the next odd numbered year for the Registered Nurse and the
two year period of licensure beginning in an even-numbered
year and ending in the next even numbered year for the
Licensed Practical Nurse.

"Contact Hour" means one contact hour
equals a minimum of 50 minutes. One half contact hour
equals a minimum of 25 minutes.

"Continuing Education" means those
professional experiences designed to enrich the nurse's
contribution to health care and for the purpose of protecting
the public health, safety, and welfare.

"Orientation" means the means by which
nurses are introduced to the philosophy, goals, policies,
procedures, role expectations, physical facilities and special
services in a specific work setting. Orientation programs do
not meet the continuing education requirements of these
rules.

9.2 Continuing Education Licensure Renewal
Requirements

9.2.1 Board Authority
9.2.1.1 The Board derives its authority under

24 Del.C. §1906(19), to create continuing education
requirements as a prerequisite to obtaining a current license
and to establish an audit system to assure compliance. This
requirement is in addition to the practice requirement as
stated in 6.5.

9.2.1.1.1 During each biennium, each
Registered Nurse must earn 30 contact hours and each
Licensed Practical Nurse must earn 24 hours, to be credited
to that biennium.

9.2.1.1.1.1 Units of measurement
for continuing education shall be: no less than .5 contact
hours and be as follows:

9.2.1.1.1.1.1 50 Minutes = 1
Contact Hour 

9.2.1.1.1.1.2 25 Minutes = .5
Contact Hour

9.2.1.1.1.1.3 1 Academic
Semester Hour (Credit) = 5 Contact Hours

9.2.1.1.1.1.4 1 C.M.E.  = 1.2
Contact Hours

9.2.1.1.1.1.5 Certification/
recertification (excluding preacquired skills and knowledge)
= 20 Contact Hours (Only During the Biennium Awarded)

9.2.2 Requirements
9.2.2.1 Renewal 

9.2.2.1.1 To obtain a Registered Nurse
or Licensed Practical Nurse license for the next biennium
period, the licensee shall submit, along with the renewal

application and fee, a completed report on a form furnished
by the Board office, documenting attesting to the completion
of all continuing education requirements for that biennium.

9.2.2.2 Reinstatement
9.2.2.2.2 To obtain a Registered Nurse

or Licensed Practical Nurse license through reinstatement,
the applicant shall submit, along with the reinstatement
application and fee, a completed report on a form provided
by the Board office, documenting attesting to the completion
of all continuing education requirements for the past two
years.

9.2.2.3 Reinstatement/Endorsement
9.2.2.3.1 A Registered Nurse who has

endorsed into Delaware during a biennium or whose license
was reactivated or reinstated during a biennium must earn 15
contact hours if more than a full calendar year remains in the
biennium to obtain a Registered Nurse license for the next
biennium period.   A Licensed Practical Nurse must earn 12
contact hours if more than a full calendar year remains in the
biennium to obtain a Licensed Practical Nurse license for the
next biennium period.

9.2.3 The required hours shall be completed in
the period for which the license was issued. Contact hours
from a previous licensure period will not count nor may
credits be accumulated for use in a future licensing period.

9.2.4 To be approved for continuing education
credit, offerings shall meet the qualifications of appropriate
subject matter as specified in these Rules and Regulations. 

9.2.5 The licensee shall retain all original
certificates or transcripts to verify completion of each
continuing education offering and award of contact hours.

9.2.6 Exceptions
9.2.6.1 Those persons licensed by

examination within a biennial renewal period are exempt
from continuing education requirements for that biennium.

9.2.6.2 A licensee who has had a physical or
mental illness during the license period can apply to the
Board of Nursing for a waiver. A waiver would provide for
an extension of time or exemption from some or all of the
continuing education requirements for one renewal period.
Should the illness extend beyond one renewal period, a new
request must be submitted.

9.2.6.3 A request for a waiver will be
reviewed and acted upon within 90 days of receipt.

9.3 Approved Methods to Earn Contact Hours
9.3.1 Academic Studies

9.3.1.1 A course offered by an accredited
school, university or college for which college credit has
been awarded and/or for which class attendance is necessary.
May include successful completion of challenge
examinations.
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9.3.2 Authoring an Article, Book Chapter, or
Independent Study

9.3.2.1 The article, book chapter, or
independent study (See 9.3.6) must be related to nursing.
Proof of acceptance from the editor or the published work
will document achievement of this type of continuing
education. A maximum of five contact hours of continuing
education may be earned per biennium by this method.
Letters to the editor or opinion statements will not be
recognized.

9.3.3 Certification/Recertification
9.3.3.1 A process by which a

nongovernmental agency or association certifies that an
individual licensed to practice as an Advanced Practice
Nurse, a Registered Nurse, or a Licensed Practical Nurse has
met certain predetermined standards specified for specialty
practice. National certification or recertification equals 20
contact hours awarded during the biennium. A certification/
recertification document indicating the date of recognition
must be available. When recertification requirements include
more than 20 contact hours, the additional contact hours can
be applied toward the total of 30 contact hours for R.N. or 24
contact hours for L.P.N. licensure.

9.3.4 Conference
9.3.4.1 A meeting that brings together

participants for one or more days to discuss the latest
developments and activities from individuals with special
expertise in the subject matter of the conference.

9.3.5 Extension Studies
9.3.5.1 A course given through an accredited

school, college or university for which academic credit may
or may not be awarded and for which class attendance is not
necessary.

9.3.6 Independent Study
9.3.6.1 An educational activity designed for

completion by learners, independently, at the learner's own
pace and at a time of the learner's choice.

9.3.6.1.1 Examples: Articles in
journals, videocassette programs, computer programs for
which there is a test of knowledge and a certificate awarded
upon completion.

9.3.7 Inservice Education
9.3.7.1 Activities intended to help nurses

acquire, maintain, and/or increase the level of competence in
fulfilling his or her assigned responsibilities, specific to the
expectations of the employer. Planned inservices must be a
minimum of 25 minutes. Mandatory education, such as CPR,
infection control, fire, safety, and facility specific policies
and practices, is not recognized as continuing education.

9.3.8 Presentation

9.3.8.1 Educational presentations, excluding
preparation time, made to other health professionals that are
not required by an individual’s job description. The presenter
must submit program brochures, course syllabi or letter from
the provider identifying the participation of the presenter.
Contact hours shall be equal to the actual presentation time.
A maximum of five contact hours of continuing education
may be earned per biennium by this method.

9.3.9 Research Project
9.3.9.1 The research project must have been

done during the biennium. The licensee must submit an
abstract as evidence of being one of the recognized
researchers. A maximum of five contact hours of continuing
education may be earned per biennium by this method.

9.3.10 Symposium or Seminar
9.3.10.1 A meeting of groups of

participants to explore, in depth, a pre-selected, thoroughly
researched topic. The emphasis is on discussion and a free
exchange of ideas and experiences.

9.3.11 Workshop
9.3.11.1 A meeting that offers

opportunities for persons with common interest or problems
to meet with specialists to consider new knowledge and
practices and to experience working on specific relevant
tasks.

9.3.12 Any method not on this approved list will
require that a written petition justifying the request be
submitted to the Board of Nursing.

9.3.12.1 The Board may consider the request at
its next regularly scheduled Board meeting if received at
least two weeks before the meeting. If less than two weeks,
the request will be processed at the following meeting.

9.4 Continuing Education - Provider
9.4.1 Board Authority

9.4.1.1 The Board derives its authority under
24 Del.C. Ch. 19, to create requirements for becoming an
approved provider and maintaining that status. The Board
also has the authority to develop an auditing mechanism to
verify compliance with criteria for approved providers.

9.4.2 Criteria for approved providers
9.4.2.1 The approved providers shall produce

evidence of their capability to adhere to criteria indicative of
quality continuing education for nurses. Each provider
approved under 9.1, will be assigned a provider number by
the Board and shall provide an annual statement of
compliance with these criteria.

9.4.3 Subject matter criteria. The provider will
ensure that:

9.4.3.1 The subject matter is specifically
designed to meet the objectives, the stated level and learning
needs of the participants.
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9.4.3.2 The content is planned, logically
sequenced and reflects input from experts in the subject
matter.

9.4.3.3 The subject matter reflects the
professional educational needs of the learner in order to meet
the health care needs of the consumer.

9.4.4 Criteria related to the operation of an
approved continuing education providership. The provider
shall:

9.4.4.1 Have a consistent, identifiable
authority who has overall responsibility for the operation of
the providership and execution of its offerings.

9.4.4.2 Have an organizational structure and
training objectives.

9.4.4.3 Develop course descriptions,
objectives, and learning outcomes.

9.4.4.4 Assign contact hours according to a
uniform measure of credit and not award contact hours for
less than 25 minutes.

9.4.4.5 Establish dates and times for
programs.

9.4.4.6 Plan and structure programs with
teaching and learning methodologies that include a statement
of   purpose and measurable educational objectives.

9.4.4.7 Use faculty who have academic
preparation and/or experience in the subject matter.

9.4.4.8 Use evaluation processes or tools that
provide participants an opportunity to evaluate in writing the
learning experience, the instructional methods, facilities, and
resources.

9.4.4.9 Award the contact hours and be
responsible for assurance that all criteria in this chapter are
met, when co-providing.

9.4.4.10 Notify the Board within 30 days
of changes in the administrative authority, the address of the
provider, and its ability to meet the criteria.

9.4.5 Criteria related to record maintenance and
continuing education programs. The provider shall:

9.4.5.1 Maintain records on persons awarded
contact hours for a minimum of six years from their date of
program completion. The records shall include the name of
licensee, contact hours awarded, social security number,
title, and dates of offerings.

9.4.5.2 Provide for secure storage and
retrieval of individual attendance and information regarding
each offering.

9.4.5.3 Furnish each participant with an
individual record of completion that displays the following
on the front of the certificate: participant's name, provider
name and number, contact hours awarded, starting and
ending dates of the offering, subject matter and a reminder to

the participant to retain the certificate for the period of
licensure.

9.5 Board Approval Process for Providers from 9.1.
9.5.1 An application will be sent to a potential

provider upon request. Upon submission of a non-refundable
fee, the required materials and a determination of the
Delaware Board of Nursing that the materials fulfill the
criteria for providers as specified in these Rules and
Regulations, initial approval will be granted for up to three
years.

9.5.2 The following materials and information
must accompany an application:

9.5.2.1 A description of the administrative
authority of the potential provider;

9.5.2.2 The job description of the person who
is administratively responsible for provider activities;

9.5.2.3 The continuing education philosophy
purpose and goals;

9.5.2.4 Organizational   charts defining lines
of authority and communication in relation to continuing
education;

9.5.2.5 Plan for faculty selection;
9.5.2.6 Evidence of nursing participation in

program planning and/or administration;
9.5.2.7 A record system and a procedure to

ensure confidentiality and safe storage;
9.5.2.8 The criteria used to plan and

implement continuing education activities;
9.5.2.9 The criteria used to verify attendance;
9.5.2.10 A procedure that ensures the

participant who successfully completes an educational
activity will receive a document displaying an attendance
record, number of contact hours awarded, provider name and
number, title of presentation, and the date and location for
each offering;

9.5.2.11 Registration procedure(s);
9.5.2.12 A plan for evaluation, including:

9.5.2.12.1 A procedure for participant
evaluation that includes assessment of the instruction,
resources and facilities, and

9.5.2.12.2 A system for the follow up of
suggestions for improvement;

9.5.2.13 Documents from two typical
sample course offerings including:

9.5.2.13.1 A narrative of the planning
of the offerings including evidence of nursing participation;

9.5.2.13.2 A sample brochure or other
form of advertising;

9.5.2.13.3 Course content, i.e., topical
course outline, objectives;
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9.5.2.13.4 Teaching-learning
methodologies and supportive materials;

9.5.2.13.5 Bibliography; and
9.5.2.13.6 A sample participant

evaluation form.
9.5.3 The Executive Director will review the

completed application upon receipt.
9.5.3.1 The review is based on the criteria as

specified in these Rules and Regulations.
9.5.3.2 If the Executive Director finds the

application incomplete, the applicant will be notified and
have two opportunities to submit revised applications.

9.5.3.3 If the application does not meet
established criteria within three reviews, the Executive
Director may recommend that the Board deny it.

9.5.3.4 When the application meets all
requirements as set forth for providers in these Rules and
Regulations, the Executive Director shall recommend
approval to the Board.

9.5.3.5 The Board may approve for up to
three years, or elect not to approve.

9.5.3.6 The provider will be notified of the
Board of Nursing's decision in writing within two weeks.

9.5.3.7 A provider number will be assigned at
the time of approval and issued within three weeks. This
number must be used in all correspondence with the Board.
This number will be published on a list of approved
providers.

9.5.3.8 An application that has been denied
provider status by the Board may be re-submitted one year
after the denial date.

9.5.4 Complaints against providers.
9.5.4.1 Provider approval may be rescinded at

any time during the approved period for noncompliance with
approved provider requirements or for complaints that the
Board determines indicate the program does not meet
criteria.

9.5.4.2 Providers may appeal a decision by
requesting a hearing before the Board.

9.6 Audit of Licensees
9.6.1 The Board will randomly and on an

individual basis select licensees for audit two months prior to
renewal in any biennium. The Board shall notify the
licensees that their records are to be audited for compliance
with the continuing education requirements.

9.6.1.1 Upon receipt of such notice, the
licensee must submit verification of compliance for the
period of licensure being audited. Verification materials
which may be requested include proof of attendance,
academic transcripts, certificates showing number of contact

hours awarded, and documentation of compliance with
exceptions.

9.6.1.2 The licensee must submit
documentation within three weeks of receipt of notice.

9.6.1.3 The Board shall notify the licensee of
the results of the audit immediately following the Board
meeting at which the audits are reviewed.

9.6.1.4 An unsatisfactory audit shall result in
Board action.

9.6.1.5 Failure to notify the Board of a
change in mailing address will not absolve the licensee from
audit requirements.

9.6.1.6 Fulfillment of the audit requirements
must be completed prior to license renewal.

9.7 Audit of Providers
9.7.1 The Board may select approved providers

for audit. Upon selection, the Board shall:
9.7.1.1 Notify the approved providers that

their records are to be audited for compliance with
continuing education requirements;

9.7.1.2 Be provided with records that
document compliance with the Rules and Regulations for
providers; and

9.7.1.3 Conduct a site visit as necessary.
9.8 Disciplinary Proceedings; Appeal

9.8.1 Failure to comply with continuing
education requirements will result in action under Section
1922 of the Nurse Practice Act and the license will be
considered lapsed.

9.8.2 Application for reinstatement of a lapsed
license must be filed with a completed continuing education
document form and the fee paid before practice can
continue.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Nursing is
available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/nursing/index.shtml
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3000 BOARD OF MENTAL HEALTH AND 

CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY PROFESSIONALS
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,

Section 3006(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §3006(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 3000

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Mental Health and Chemical
Dependency Professionals in accordance with 24 Del.C.
§3006(a)(1) has proposed changes to Regulation 5.0 in order
to make the regulation consistent with the mandate of Senate
229 enacted by the 142nd General Assembly. The proposal
strikes regulation 5.2.4 as currently written with references
to felony convictions and replaces it with language that
requires  an applicant to submit an affidavit stating that the
applicant has not been convicted of and has no pending
criminal charge(s) relating to any crime that is substantially
related to the provision of mental health counseling and
chemical dependency counseling. The  proposal also amends
the rule where applicable to include references to chemical
dependency professionals. The proposed regulation also
changes the name of the Board in applicable sections to
conform to the Board’s new title resulting from House Bill
215 as amended by House Amendment No. 1 and Senate
Amendment No.1  enacted by the 143rd General Assembly
adding licensed marriage and family therapists to those
professionals regulated by the Board.

A public hearing will be held on September 27, 2005 at
2:00 p.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals, 861
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE
19904.  Persons wishing to submit written comments may
forward these to the Board at the above address.  The final
date to receive written comments will be at the public
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulation at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

3000 Board Mental Health and Chemical Dependency 
Professionals

5.0 Application and Fee, Affidavit and Time Limit
When applying for licensure, the applicant shall

complete the following:
5.1 Application and Fee - The applicant shall submit a

completed "Application for Licensure," accompanied by a
non-refundable application fee.

5.2 Affidavit - The applicant shall submit a signed,
notarized "Affidavit," affirming the following:

5.2.1 that he/she has not violated any rule or
regulation set forth by the Delaware Board of Professional
Counselors of Mental Health; Mental Health and Chemical
Dependency Professionals;

5.2.2 that he/she has not been the recipient of
any administrative penalties from any jurisdiction in
connection with licensure, registration or certification as a
mental health or chemical dependency provider, 

5.2.3 that he/she does not have any impairment
related to drugs, alcohol or a finding of mental incompetence
by a physician that would limit the applicant’s ability to
safely act as a LPCMH or LACMH, mental health or
chemical dependency professional;

5.2.4 that he/she has not been convicted of any
felony and that he/she does not have any criminal conviction
or pending criminal charge, whether felony or misdemeanor,
which is substantially related to fitness to practice as a
mental health provider; and that he/she has not been
convicted of and has no pending criminal charge(s) relating
to any crime that is substantially related to the provision of
mental health counseling or chemical dependency
counseling; and

5.2.5 that the applicant has not been penalized
for any willful violation of any code of ethics or professional
mental health or chemical dependency counseling standard.

5.3 Time Limit for Completion of Application - Any
application not completed within one (1) year shall be
considered null and void.

Statutory authority: 24 Del.C. §§3008, 3009, 3010.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Mental Health
and Chemical Dependency Professionals is available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
profcounselors/index.shtml
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued. [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

14 DE Admin. Code 1584
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(D) (14 Del.C. §122(D))

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1584 Permits Paraeducators

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE
Admin. Code 1584 Permits Paraeducators. It is necessary to
amend this regulation to comply with action taken by the
United States Department of Education, as set forth in a
letter dated June 15, 2005 from Raymond Simon, Deputy
Secretary, to align the paraprofessional timeline in section
1119(d) with the teacher timeline. Section 10113 (5) of the
Administrative Procedures Act exempts amendments to
existing regulations to make them consistent with changes in
basic law but which do not otherwise alter the substance of
the regulations. The change in the date in sections 3.3.1 and
4.1 from January 8, 2006 to June 30, 2006 does not
otherwise alter the substance of the regulation.

II.  Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board
of Education find that it is appropriate to adopt this
regulation.

III.  Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is
appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to
14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit
“B” is hereby adopted. Pursuant to the provision of 14
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1584 of the Administrative
Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.
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V.  Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL
STANDARDS BOARD THE 2ND DAY OF JUNE, 2005

Harold Roberts, Chair Sharon Brittingham
Norman Brown Heath Chasanov
Edward Czerwinski Angela Dunmore
Karen Gordon Barbara Grogg
Bruce Harter Valerie Hoffmann
Leslie Holden Carla Lawson
Mary Mirabeau Gretchen Pikus
Karen Schilling Ross Carol Vukelich

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 21st DAY OF JULY, 2005

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Jean W. Allen, President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Barbara Rutt
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1584 Permits Paraeducators

1.0 Content:
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b) this regulation shall

apply to the qualifications required of Title I Paraeducators,
Instructional Paraeducators, and Service Paraeducators
employed, either full-time or part-time, in support positions
in public schools.

2.0 Definitions:
The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Associate’s or Higher Degree” means that the degree
is conferred by a regionally accredited institution of higher
education or by a distance education institution that is
regionally or nationally accredited through an agency
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education.

“Completed at Least 2 Years of Study at an
Institution of Higher Education” means the satisfactory

completion of a minimum of 60 semester hours of
instruction at a regionally accredited institution of higher
education or by a distance education institution that is
regionally or nationally accredited through an agency
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education, in general or
educational studies, including reading, writing, and
mathematics content and pedagogy, unless the institution of
higher education defines two years of full-time study as the
successful completion of a minimum of 48 semester hours,
and provides documentation of such definition.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Instructional Paraeducator” means a public school
employee who provides one-on-one or small group
instruction; assists with classroom management or individual
student behavior; provides assistance in a computer
laboratory; provides support in a library or media center;
assists in training and support with functional skill activities,
such as personal care or assistive technology; or provides
instructional services to students under the direct supervision
of a teacher.  Instructional paraeducators are those working
with regular education students and students with disabilities
in schools other than Title I schoolwide schools or with
students not receiving Title I services in Title I targeted
assistance schools.

“Paraeducator”, as used herein, means a
paraprofessional, as it is used in 14 Del.C. §1205.
Paraeducators are not “educators” within the meaning of 14
Del.C. §1202 (6).
 “Permit” means a document issued by the Department
that verifies an individual’s qualifications and training to
serve as a Title I, instructional or service paraeducator.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware
Department of Education.

“Service Paraeducator” means a public school
employee who provides support services other than
instructional assistance to students, but does not include bus
aides (See 14 DE Admin. Code 1105).

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards
Board of the State of Delaware as established in response to
14 Del.C. §1205. 

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of
the State of Delaware established in response to 14 Del.C.
§104.

“Title I Paraeducator” means a public school
employee who provides one-on-one or small group
instruction; assists with classroom management; provides
assistance in a computer laboratory; provides support in a
library or media center; or provides instructional services to
students under the direct supervision of a teacher.
Additionally, Title I paraeducators are all instructional
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paraeducators who work with regular students and children
with disabilities in Title I schoolwide schools and all Title I
paraeducators who work with children receiving Title I
services in Title I targeted assistance schools, except those
whose duties are limited to acting as a translator or as a
home-school liaison.

3.0 Title I Paraeducators.
A Title I paraeducator must hold a Title I paraeducator

permit.
3.1 The Department shall issue a permit to a Title I

paraeducator applicant who submits evidence to his/her
district, charter school, or other employing authority of:

3.1.1 completion of at least two years of study in
general or educational studies at an institution of higher
education; or

3.1.2 receipt of an associate’s or higher degree;
or

3.1.3 evidence of a high school diploma or its
recognized equivalent, and a passing
score on a rigorous assessment of knowledge of, and the
ability to assist in, the instruction in reading, 
writing, and mathematics.

3.1.3.1 Assessments which are accepted as
providing evidence of knowledge and ability to assist in the
instruction in reading, writing, and mathematics include:

3.1.3.1.1 Para Pro assessment with a
qualifying score of 459 or higher.

3.1.3.1.2 Accuplacer Test, if taken
before April 1, 2003, with the following qualifying scores:

3.1.3.1.2.1 Mathematics: greater
than or equal to a total right 
score of 94 on arithmetic.

3.1.3.1.2.2 English:  greater than or
equal to a total right score 
of 87.

3.1.3.1.2.3 Reading:  greater than or
equal to a total right score 
of 78.

3.1.3.1.3 Such alternative as may be
established by the Standards Board, with the approval of the
State Board.

3.2 Pursuant to the provisions of the No Child Left
Behind Act, Title I paraeducators hired after January 8, 2002
must meet the requirements set forth in 3.1 immediately.

3.3 Notwithstanding the above, and pursuant to the
provisions of the No Child Left Behind Act, Title I
paraeducators hired before January 8, 2002 must hold a high
school diploma or its recognized equivalent and shall have
until January 8, 2006 June 30, 2006 to meet the requirements
of 3.1.

3.3.1 Accordingly, Title I paraeducators hired
before January 8, 2002 who do not meet the requirements set
forth in 3.1 above, with the exception of the high school
diploma or its recognized equivalent, shall be issued a Title I
paraeducator permit which shall expire on January 8, 2006
June 30, 2006 unless evidence of meeting the requirements
set forth in 3.1 above is provided prior thereto. If such
evidence is provided to the Department prior to January 8,
2006 June 30, 2006 the permit shall expire five years from
the date of issuance and may be renewed pursuant to 5.0.

3.4 Application Procedures.
3.4.1 The district, charter school, or other

employing authority shall submit the approved application
form, official transcripts or official scores on an assessment
of knowledge of, and the ability to assist in, the instruction in
reading, writing, and mathematics, to the Department on
behalf of the applicant.  The district, charter school or other
employing authority shall certify as part of the application
form that the applicant, in their opinion, meets the
requirements of 3.0.

3.4.1.1 Official transcripts shall be forwarded
directly from the issuing institution 
or by the applicant in an unopened, unaltered envelope to the
district, charter school or other employing authority.

3.4.1.2 Test scores shall be official and sent
directly from Educational Testing Service or other test
vendor to the district, charter school or other employing
authority. Unopened, unaltered envelopes containing test
scores sent to an individual may be accepted as official.  The
Department shall determine whether the scores, as presented,
are acceptable.

4.0 All instructional paraeducators and service
paraeducators must hold the appropriate permit.

The Department shall issue a permit to an instructional
paraeducator applicant or a service paraeducator applicant
for whom the district, charter school, or other employing
authority has submitted a Department approved application
form and who provides evidence of a high school diploma or
its recognized equivalent.

4.1 Notwithstanding the above, instructional
paraeducators and service paraeducators hired before
February 11, 2004 and who do not have a high school
diploma may be issued the applicable permit which shall
expire January 8, 2006 June 30, 2006 unless evidence of a
high school diploma or its recognized equivalent is provided
prior thereto.  If such evidence is provided prior to January 8,
2006 June 30, 2006 the permit shall expire five years from
the date of issuance and may be renewed pursuant to section
5.0.
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5.0 Unless stated otherwise herein, a Title I,
instructional, or service paraeducator permit shall be
valid for five years from the date of issuance.

The Department shall renew a paraeducator permit,
valid for an additional five years, to a paraeducator whose
school district, charter school, or other employing authority
provides evidence to the Department of successful
completion of a minimum of 15 clock hours of professional
development.

5.1 Fifteen clock hours of professional development is
required to be completed during the term of validity of the
paraeducator permit.  

5.2 Options for Renewal: The following professional
development activities are approved options for the renewal
of a paraeducator permit. Unless otherwise stated, there is no
limit to the number of hours that may be taken in any of the
options listed below:

5.2.1 College credit completed at a regionally
accredited college or university with a grade of “C” or better
or a “P” in a pass/fail course (1 semester hour equals 15
clock hours).

5.2.2 Planned school professional development
day (maximum 6 clock hours per day).

5.2.3 Professional conference, workshop,
institute, or academy that contributes to the participant’s
knowledge, competence, performance, or effectiveness as a
paraeducator (verified clock hours actively involved in
workshop or conference sessions).

5.2.4 Participation on school, district, or state-
sponsored committee which has as its focus curriculum,
instruction, or school or district improvement (verified clock
hours of service or experience). 

6.0 An applicant shall disclose his or her criminal
conviction history upon application for any paraeducator
permit.

Failure to disclose a criminal conviction history is
grounds for denial or revocation of a paraeducator permit as
specified in 14 Del.C. §1219.

7.0 A Paraeducator Permit may be denied an applicant upon
a finding that an applicant has failed to meet the
requirements set forth herein or is unfit to be issued a permit
in the State. A Paraeducator Permit may be revoked upon the
dismissal of the permit holder for immorality, misconduct in
office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty or disloyalty,
and must be revoked upon a finding that the permit holder
made a materially false or misleading statement in his or her
permit application.  A Paraeducator whose Permit has been
denied or revoked may file a request for a hearing with the

Secretary within ten (10) days of receipt of the notice of
denial or revocation.  The Secretary’s decision shall be final.

5 DE Reg.   856 (10/1/01)
7 DE Reg. 1006 (2/1/04)
8 DE Reg. 1141 (2/1/05)
9 DE Reg. 139 (7/1/05)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Chapter 5, Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch. 5, §512)

ORDER

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM). The
proposed changes amends the policy of the Food Stamp
Program as it relates to Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT).
The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the June 2005 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by June
30, 2005 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary of Proposed Regulations

DSS is adding EBT policy/procedural language to the
manual which provides information on:

• common EBT terms,
• the EBT process,
• account adjustments,
• manual transactions,
• manual vouchers,
• timely processing,
• benefit/claim processing, and
• aging periods and expungement.
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The proposed language provides an overview of the
procedures.  This amendment to the regulation also provides
the policy for actions taken by DSS/ARMS (Audit &
Recovery Management Services) when it is necessary to
make account adjustments, claim processing, and
expungement of benefits.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response

No comments were received during the public comment
period.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the June 2005 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Food Stamp Program regarding
Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) is adopted and shall be
final effective August 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 7/13/05

DSS FINAL REGULATION #05-39
NEW:

9093 Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT)
Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) is the method by

which Delaware Division of Social Services (DSS) issues
food stamp benefits to participants.  The EBT card is a
plastic card called the Delaware Food First Card.  The card is
used with a Personal Identification Number (PIN) at grocery
retailers to purchase food.

eFunds Government Systems (eFunds) is Delaware’s
contractor for EBT.  Client/case file and benefit information
are transmitted through an interface between eFunds and the
Division’s data processing systems.

EBT did not change the way that eligibility
determinations are made for food stamps.  EBT affected the
way that food benefits are delivered to participants.  EBT
provides greater privacy and security for those receiving
food stamp benefits.

9093.1 Definitions/Acronyms
Administrative Terminal:  This is the eFunds system

through which DSS staff can obtain EBT card and account
information.

Authorized Representative: This is an individual
outside the household designated to have access to the

household’s benefit account.  This can also be a household
member, for example, a spouse, who is a secondary card
holder.

Benefit Status: This is a code which indicates the
current status of the benefit in the Administrative Terminal.

Card Number:  The card number is printed on the front
of the EBT card.  The first six digits are the same for all of
Delaware’s cards.  This is known as the Primary Account
Number (PAN).

Card Status:  An EBT card may be active or inactive.
The card status for a replacement card can indicate stolen,
lost, payee changed, name changed, damaged, undelivered,
deactivated/cancelled or bad address.

Date Available:  Benefits are available at 6:00 a.m. on
the date specified in the Administrative Terminal.  Regular
monthly food stamp benefits are available according to a
seven day staggered schedule based on the last name.
Benefits start staggering on the fifth calendar day of each
month.

eFunds Customer Support:  The Customer Support
Unit receives phone calls from participants to check
balances, report lost or stolen cards, report problems with a
retailer, and request new PINs.  The CSU number is 1-800-
526-9099.

Expunged Benefits:  Benefits in client accounts not
used for 270 days are expunged (removed) from the account
forever.

FNS Number:  A unique number is assigned to retailers
by FNS indicating that the retailer is eligible to accept food
stamp benefits.

Hold Amount:  When a food stamp manual voucher
transaction is used, an authorization number must be
obtained by phoning eFunds.  A hold is put on the
participant’s food stamp benefits balance equal to the
amount of the transaction until the voucher is cleared by the
retailer.  Once an accept reason is assigned to the voucher,
the hold amount is deducted from the participant’s benefit
balance and this field becomes blank.

Manual Entries:  If a card or POS machine is damaged,
the card number can be keyed manually to complete the
transaction.

Manual Voucher:  Retailers use paper vouchers when
the eFunds system is not available.  Retailers who are not
eligible to have POS terminals also use these vouchers.  A
voucher has a unique number which identifies the voucher.
This field is completed only if the transaction displayed in
the Administrative Terminal is an off-line voucher.

PAN:  The Primary Account Number is the 16 digit
number on the card.  This is also called the card number.

PIN (Personal Identification Number):  A PIN is a
four number secret code that must be used when the EBT
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card is used.  No one can use the card but the participant as
long as the participant does not give the PIN out to anyone.

PIN Info:  The Card Maintenance screen in the
Administrative Terminal displays whether or not a PIN has
been selected and the method.  Yes indicates that a PIN has
been selected.  Fails is the number of times the PIN entered
has failed that day.  Chg Count is the number of times the
PIN has been changed.  Method is how the PIN was selected.

Point-of-Sale (POS) Terminal:  A POS is a device on
which transactions are made by the food stamp participant.
The POS machine reads the card and allows the participant
to buy food with the food stamp benefits.

Stale Benefits:  Benefits not used by a household within
60, 90 or 230 days are called stale benefits.

9093.2 Using EBT for Food Stamp Benefits
The household may use its EBT card in any grocery

store, anywhere in the United States, authorized by FNS to
accept them. The benefits may be used the same as cash to
purchase any food or food product prepared for human
consumption. Households cannot use benefits to purchase
alcoholic beverages, tobacco, soap and paper products, and
hot foods or hot foods prepared for immediate consumption.
Households can use benefits to buy seeds and plants for use
in gardens to produce food for personal consumption by the
eligible household.

EBT benefits are available 24 hours a day, seven days
per week including weekends and holidays. DSS issues
benefits on a daily and monthly basis.  DSS issues monthly
benefits on the same day each month for each household
based on a staggered issuance schedule. eFunds posts
benefits in the household’s account by 6 a.m. the day after
benefits are approved in DCIS II.

There is no minimum dollar amount per transaction.
There is no maximum limit on the number of transactions a
household can make.  Stores cannot impose transaction fees
on food stamp households using their EBT card at grocery
stores.

Households can check their food stamp account
balances without making a purchase or standing in a
checkout line.

Households receive printed receipts at the time of
transactions.

When transacting food stamp benefits by EBT, the
household cannot receive change.  When a household returns
food to a grocery store, the store will credit the household’s
EBT account with the amount of the refund.  The household
cannot receive a cash refund for returned food.

9093.3 Food Stamp EBT Adjustments 

eFunds makes adjustments to EBT accounts to correct
system errors. A system error is an error resulting from a
malfunction at any point in the redemption process, for
example, errors made at the grocery store. Adjustments are
initiated by the client or store and may result in a debit or
credit to the household.

Emphasize to clients that they should review their
transaction slips before leaving the store. If there is a
mistake, the client should discuss the problem with the store
clerk or manager before leaving the store. Problems
discovered later must be resolved through the eFunds
Customer Service Unit.

Client-Initiated Adjustments
An EBT credit adjustment occurs when eFunds

returns benefits to a household’s account after the store
deducted the benefits in error.

For example, a household member uses an EBT
card to purchase groceries. Due to a system error, the store
debited the purchase amount from the household’s EBT
account twice.

The household has 90 days from the date of the
problem transaction to contact eFunds Customer Service at
1-800-526-9099 and inform the customer service
representative that a problem has occurred.  The household
will need to tell the customer service representative the date,
time and location of the transaction and the amount of food
stamp benefits that were debited in error.

If the request is a legitimate request, eFunds will
return the funds to the household’s EBT account within 10
business days from the date the household filed the report
with the eFunds Customer Service Unit.  A business day is
any calendar day other than a Saturday, a Sunday or a federal
holiday.

If the household’s request is not legitimate, eFunds
will deny the credit adjustment.  The household may request
a fair hearing.  eFunds will take no action to credit the
household’s EBT account unless the hearing decision is in
the household’s favor.

Retailer-Initiated Adjustments
A retailer-initiated adjustment occurs when the

retailer does not receive a credit for an EBT purchase
amount when the household made the purchase.  The store
needs the adjustment to get credit for the purchase made by
the household.

For example, a household uses the EBT card to
purchase $200 worth of groceries.  The credit to the store’s
account does not go through and the $200 remains in the
household’s account.

DSS must act upon all adjustments to debit a
household's account no later than 10 business days from the
date the error occurred, by placing a hold on the adjusted
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amount in the household's account. If there are insufficient
benefits to cover the entire adjustment, DSS shall place a
hold on any remaining balance that exists and the whole
amount will be debited from the household’s account when
the next month’s benefits become available.

DSS will send a notice to the household informing
them of the account adjustment. The household has 90 days
from the date of the notice to request a fair hearing.

If the household disputes the adjustment and
requests a hearing within 10 days of the notice, DSS will
make a provisional credit to the household's account by
releasing the hold on the adjustment balance within 48 hours
of the request by the household, pending resolution of the
fair hearing. If the household does not request for a hearing
within 10 days of the notice, DSS will release the hold on the
adjustment balance, and credit this amount to the retailer's
account. 

9093.4 Account Balances 
An EBT food stamp benefit account does not close

when a food stamp DCIS case closes. The former recipient
remains entitled to the account balance. As long as benefits
remain in the EBT food stamp account, the former recipient
may still have cards issued or reissued and be able to select
or change PINs.

9093.5 Manual Transactions
Sometimes circumstances cause the client or store clerk

to enter the transaction manually instead of swiping the EBT
card through the POS machine. This happens when the
card’s magnetic stripe becomes scratched, worn or
demagnetized.

Until the client can get a new card issued, the client can
still use the card at a retailer.  The clerk keys the card number
in manually to complete the transaction. Only the client
should enter his/her PIN.  The client should never reveal the
PIN to a store clerk when entering a manual transaction.

9093.6 Manual Vouchers
Retailers use a manual voucher process when the

eFunds system or the terminals are not working and cannot
accept the EBT card for a food stamp purchase.  Retailers do
not have to use the manual process, but most will not turn
away a sale.

Retailers that do not have POS terminals, for example,
farmers’ markets and street or route vendors also use manual
vouchers.

The manual voucher is a paper form on which the
retailer writes the card number, the cardholder’s name, the
store FNS number, and the dollar amount of the sale. The
client must sign the voucher. The retailer must call in manual

vouchers to eFunds to get an authorization for the amount of
the transaction. The retailer calls in to make sure that the
money is in the client’s account.  If the client has enough
funds in the account to cover the transaction, the retailer
subtracts the whole amount of the transaction from the
client’s account.

Retailers use manual vouchers when the eFunds system
is down.  Since the retailer cannot confirm whether the client
has an available balance, the client is limited to a $40.00
purchase.

9093.7 EBT & Timely Application Processing
Regulations say we must provide eligible households

that complete the initial application process an opportunity
to participate as soon as possible, but no later than 30
calendar days following the date the household filed the
application. With EBT, FNS has issued guidelines saying
that the opportunity to participate is the date the money is
posted to the account plus two days when mailing the EBT
card.  DSS mails EBT cards for hardship cases. To avoid
these timeliness errors, staff will need to take the action to
approve a case on or before the 26th day at the latest.

When it is not possible to process the case on or before
the 28th day because the client did not turn in the
verifications or worker time constraints, document the case
record. The error may still count but the explanation will be
there.

9093.8 EBT Benefits and Claim Issues
When eFunds posts the EBT benefits to the household’s

account, the household is considered in receipt of those
benefits.  If the household receives benefits they were not
entitled to, DSS/ARMS will establish a claim.  DSS/ARMS
establishes a claim even if the household has not used the
benefits in the EBT account.  As long as the benefits are in
the account, the household has access to those benefits and
owes the State the amount of the claim.

ARMS must allow a household to pay its claim using
benefits from its EBT benefit account according to DSSM
7004.3.

Benefits not used for 230 days are stale and ARMS can
use the stale benefits to credit a household’s claim with the
consent of the household.

eFunds will expunge benefits not used for 270 days
from the household’s account and credit the amount to a
household’s outstanding claim.

9093.9 Aging Periods and Expungement Process
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Benefits remain available to the household for 270 days

from the date of availability.  eFunds sends reports to DSS
that show accounts with no activity.

eFunds provides DSS with a report for the following
periods of time:

• Period 1:  60 days
• Period 2:  90 days
• Period 3:  230 days
• Period 4:  270 days

A household will get a notice at Periods 1, 2 and 3 if the
household has not used benefits for 60, 90 or 230 days.  Stale
benefits are benefits not used by these time periods.  The
notice will tell the household the following information:

• The account has not been used in the past 60,
90 or 230 days;

• To call the eFunds customer service unit to get
the balance on the account;

• Stale food stamp benefits not used for 230 days
can be applied to any existing claim with the
client’s permission;

• Food stamp benefits that are not used by day
270 will be removed from the account forever;
and 

• Food stamp benefits removed from the account
on day 270 will be applied to any remaining
food stamp claim.”

On day 230, DSS will generate notices to clients with
outstanding claims.  The notice tells the household that
ARMS will apply benefits not used for 230 days to the
outstanding claim unless the household contacts ARMS
within ten days. On day 250, households who do not contact
ARMS to stop the repayment will have their stale benefits
applied to the outstanding claim. On day 270, the eFunds
system will expunge (remove from the account) any
remaining stale benefits and send DSS a report of those
benefits expunged.

DCIS II and ARMS accounting systems will credit any
expunged benefits to household accounts with an
outstanding claim. ARMS and the Payments Unit will
receive a report of benefits posted to household’s claims so
ARMS can update the benefit recovery screens.  ARMS will
send the client a credit slip indicating the credit made on
their claim and the existing balance.

9093.10 Replacement of EBT Benefits
Please refer to DSSM 9079 for Replacing Food Benefits

Issued by Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT).

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Chapter 5, Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch. 5, §512)

ORDER

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
the Long Term Care Program.  This proposal gives direction
for the eligibility process on German Reparation payments
received by institutionalized individuals. The Department’s
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant
to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the May 2005 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by May
31, 2005 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary of Provisions

Citations
• The Medicaid Act 1902 (r) (1) (A): Reparation

Payments, Federal Republic of Germany
• Social Security Transmittal 91 ADM -23:

Treatment of German Reparation Payments
Received by Institutionalized Individuals

• POMS SI 01130.610: Payments to Victims of Nazi
Persecution

• POMS SI 00830.710: Payments to Victims of Nazi
Persecution

Rules are expanded in DSSM 20310.10 and DSSM
20200.2 that exclude German Reparation payments as
income and resources for eligibility and post eligibility
calculations.  

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD)
offered the following summarized comment:

SCPD endorses the proposed regulations.  In a nutshell,
the payments will not count as income or resources.  Interest
earned on the resources may be considered income.
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Agency Response: DSS thanks you for your
endorsement.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the May 2005 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the policies for the Long Term Care
Program related to German Reparation payments is adopted
and shall be final effective August 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 7/13/05

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-31
REVISIONS:

DSSM 20200.2Excluded income
Excluded income is an amount money which is income

by definition but does not count in determining eligibility.
Some income is excluded when determining eligibility, but
must  may be included when calculating patient pay amount.
The following items are excluded income:

(a) Victims compensation payments from a State
established fund.

(b) German reparations payments.  These payments are
not counted in the eligibility nor post eligibility process.

(c) Effective 9/1/91 Austrian social insurance
payments specifically based on wage credits granted under
Paragraphs 500-506 of the Austrian General Social
Insurance Act.

(d) Japanese-American, Japanese-Canadian and
Aleutian restitution payments.

(e) Agent orange settlement payments.
(f) Impairment-related work expenses.  
(g) Radiation Exposure Compensation Trust Fund

payments.
(h) Cash or other assistance received under a Federal

statute because the President has declared a major disaster.
(i) Payments made under the Netherlands' Act on

Benefits for Victims of Persecution 1940-1945 (acronym
WUV).

(j) Income of Native Americans income derived from
tribal trust lands; and effective 1/1/94, up to $2,000 per year
in payments derived from individual interests in Indian trust
or restricted land.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

DSSM 20310.10 Reparations
Unspent German or Austrian reparations payments may

be excluded only if including them in resources would affect
eligibility.

German Reparation payments must not be considered
available in the eligibility or post eligibility treatment of
income and resources. They can no longer be applied toward
the personal needs allowance, community spouse income
allowance, family member allowance nor cost of care. If
German reparations payments are retained beyond the month
of receipt, they must be considered exempt resources
whether received while the person was in the community or
after becoming institutionalized. These funds should be kept
separate from other income and resources.  Interest earned
on these resources must be considered available income.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18 DE Admin. Code 1310

Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code,
Sections 311, 2304(16) and 2312 

(18 Del.C. §§311, 2034(16) and 2312)

ORDER

1310 Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable 
Settlement of Claims for Health Care Services [Formerly 

Regulation 80]

Public hearings were held on March 3, 2005 and June
28, 2005 to receive comments on proposed amendments to
Regulation 1310 relating to the prompt payment of health
claims. Public notices of the hearings and publication of
proposed Regulation 1310 in the Register of Regulations and
two newspapers of general circulation for both hearings was
in conformity with Delaware law. At both public hearings,
the record was held open for more than the required thirty
days to receive additional written comments. Forty persons
attended the public hearing on March 3rd and nine persons
attended the public hearing on June 28th. Thirty-three written
comments were received by the Department in addition to
the oral comments presented at the public hearings.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

By and large, the written and oral comments were
favorable. The medical providers and consumer
representatives were supportive of the changes. The insurers
were primarily concerned about the limitations on their
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ability to obtain corrective information from providers, the
impact of the three strike rule in section 7.0 and the
definition of a clean claim in section 4.0. There were also a
number of comments that suggested technical changes to the
proposed regulation for purposes of clarity or internal
conformity. The written and oral comments were varied and,
in some instances, went beyond the scope of the published
changes or recommended changes that would not fall within
the jurisdictional authority of the Department of Insurance.
While all of the comments are a part of the record in this
proceeding, this summary will address the comments most
pertinent to the proposed changes.

Section 6.1.4 refers to “subsections (a) through (c) of
this Section” and it was correctly observed that the wording
should be changed to “sections 6.1.1 through 6.1.3.”

Peter Shanley, Esquire, recommended clarifications to
distinguish between individual providers and institutional
providers as well as a clarification to assure that both
network and non-network providers were treated equally.
He also recommended additional provisions to assure that
claims under an assignment of benefits would be treated the
same as any provider claim and that there be a presumption
of receipt within five business days for claims submitted by
mail and within one day if submitted electronically.
Professional Associates, a medical billing and management
company, recommended that all carriers be required to
accept electronic filings.

The Delaware Healthcare Association, the Delaware
Developmental Disabilities Council, the Delaware State
Council for Persons with Disabilities and the Delaware
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens
recommended that providers offering benefits or services
under Medicaid health plans not be exempt from the scope of
the regulation. They were all concerned that section 2.0
excludes such coverage. However, it must be noted that
Medicaid is, by definition, a government benefit program
and not insurance as defined by Title 18.

The Medical Society of Delaware expressed its support
for the proposed changes. Provider attendees included
private medical offices, physical therapists and mental health
professionals. The individual providers who testified
supported the changes and discussed the problems they have
had with delayed payments and the delays in payment
caused by multiple requests for additional information by the
insurers. Some providers were critical of insurers whose
employees don’t provide accurate information internally
when referring claims from one department of the insurer to
another.  A common request was to expand the regulation to
cover the prompt payment of tort injury and workers
compensation claims. The mental health providers were

especially concerned that third party administrators be
specifically covered.

The insurers expressed their support for the current
regulation and stated that there is, for most insurers, only a
small percentage or fractional percentage of claims that are
not paid within thirty days. Sixteen of the thirty-three written
comments were detailed submissions from various insurers
or insurance trade groups. While the insurers were
supportive of prompt payment, there were some concerns
expressed about key provisions of the proposed changes.
Those concerns are:

1. The limitation in section 6.1.4 of one request for
supplemental information that can be made by an insurer to a
provider.  BCBSD, Inc. suggested three limited exceptions to
this section: coordination of benefits, pre-existing conditions
limitations and fraud and abuse.

2. The change to the “three strike rule” and the
presumption that three violations of the regulation establish a
rebuttable presumption of bad faith claims practices.

3. The change to the definition of a clean claim in
section 5.2 is more restrictive than the Medicare definition
yet the proposed regulation proposes to use the Medicare
form for claims submissions.

4. The need to make allowances for situations that
require discounts, co-insurance or a deductible that would
affect the “total” claim.

5. Changing the date for the computation of interest in
section 8.0 to the date the insurer first became obligated to
pay the claim as opposed to the date the claim or bill for
services first came due. If a claim is not clean or additional
information were needed by the insurer, the obligation to pay
would not arise until that information was provided and
would affect the amount of interest to be applied to the
claim.

6. Specifying that the interest to be assessed be at a set
rate as defined by a statute or  merely a defined factor over
the prime rate of interest.

MetLife and AmeriHealth opposed the inclusion of
dental coverage in the regulation noting that there were no
complaints from dental providers that any problem exists
and the fact that dental coverage is written much differently
than general medical coverage. Dental plans are limited
coverage and benefit plans have small benefit maximums.
As a result virtually all dental policies are auto-adjudicated
and are paid within a week.

Findings of Fact

I find that there is ample support for the proposed
changes to this regulation. The following changes are
technical in nature, do not substantively change the purpose
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or application of the regulation and do not require re-
publication and re-hearing of the regulation:

1. The word “days” was not defined in the published
version of the regulation. A new definition stating that
“days” means calendar days is added to section 3 of the
regulation.

2. The term “provider” has been changed to clarify
that the term includes institutional as well as individual
providers and that it applies to any provider irrespective of
whether there is a written agreement between the provider
and the carrier.

3. Section 4.3 has been amended to more accurately
identify the forms that may be used by providers when
submitting claims to carriers.

4. In section 6, the term “claim” is modified by the
word “allowable” to assure that the carrier’s obligation is
limited to the amount that would be allowable under the
contract between the carrier and the provider as opposed to
the charge the provider submitted for the claim.

5. Section 8 is modified to clarify that interest shall
only run from the date the carrier was first obligated to make
payment on the claim, not the date upon which the claim was
submitted to the carrier by the provider.

6. The term “carrier” has been substituted for the term
“insurer” for internal consistency in the regulation.

7. The effective date has been changed to November
1, 2005 to allow carriers sufficient time to make any
necessary changes to their computer programs and internal
operating procedures in order to carry out the provisions of
the regulation.

The reasons given by the carriers to allow additional
opportunities to request additional information from
providers, to exclude dental coverage, to change the interest
rate computation, to modify the three strike provision and
the need to make allowances for discounts, co-insurance or
deductibles are not sufficient to outweigh the public benefit
and purpose of the regulation, namely to assure prompt
payment of medical claims to the providers. Most of the
carriers’ concerns relate to how they internally process
claims. The purpose of this regulation is to benefit patients
and providers, not to establish or to continue practices that
tend to delay claims or cause providers to make repetitive
requests for payment. While the carriers sought to include a
provision that required that all filings be accurately
completed as a condition of invoking the one request
provision, I find that such a requirement would impose an
unacceptable level of ambiguity in the regulation.  The form,
by its nature, requires certain information which is either
correct or isn’t correct. The burden is on the carrier to inform
the provider specifically of any corrections that are required

under section 6.1.4 and issues of accuracy can be addressed
at that stage.

While the carriers have expressed concerns that three
violations of the regulation in a three year period is a
rebuttable presumption that the carrier has engaged in a bad
faith practice, the fact is that three violations is a rebuttable
presumption. A rebuttable presumption does not constitute a
finding and the regulation provides for no private right of
action for a violation of the regulation. Given the carriers’
control over the claims payment process, public policy
militates in favor of a strong incentive for regulatory
compliance by the carriers on this issue.

Decision and Effective Date

A copy of the amended regulation and a clean copy of
the final regulation are appended hereto. I hereby adopt
Regulation 1310 as modified by the changes noted above to
be effective on November 1, 2005.

Text and Citation

The text of the proposed amendments to Regulation
1310 last appeared in the Register of Regulations Vol. 8,
Issue 8, pages 1077-80, February 1, 2003 and Vol. 8, Issue
12, pages 1657-60.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 7th day of July, 2005
Matthew Denn, Insurance Commissioner

1310 Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable 
Settlement of Claims for Health Care Services [Formerly 

Regulation 80]

1.0 Authority
This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner

pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§311, 2304(16), and 2312. It is
promulgated in accordance with 29 Del.C.  Ch. 101.

7 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 For the purpose of this regulation, the following

definitions shall apply:
“Carrier” or “Health Insurer” shall have the same

meaning applied to it by 18 Del. C. 3343(a)(1).
“Clean Claim” shall mean a claim that has no defect or

impropriety (including any lack of any required
substantiating documentation) or particular circumstance
requiring special treatment that substantially prevents timely
payments from being made on the claim.

“Health Care Provider” shall mean any entity or
individual licensed, certified or otherwise permitted by law
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pursuant to Titles 16 or 24 of the Delaware Code to provide
health care services.

“Policyholder,” “Insured” or “Subscriber” shall be a
person covered under a health insurance policy or a
representative designated by such person and entitled to
make claims on his or her behalf. 

3.0 Scope
This regulation shall apply to all health insurers as

defined in Section 2, and shall apply to all plans or policies
of health insurance or benefits delivered or issued for
delivery in this State and which cover residents of this State
or employees of employers located in this State and their
dependents. Exempted from the provisions of this regulation
are policies of automobile and workers compensation
insurance, hospital income and disability income insurance,
Medicare supplement and long-term care insurance.

7 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/03)

4.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to ensure that health

insurers pay claims to policyholders and health care
providers in a timely manner. This regulation will establish
standards for both determining promptness in settling claims
and determining the existence of a general business practice
for failing to promptly settle such claims under 18 Del. C.
2304(16).

7 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/03)

5.0 Prompt Payment of Claims
5.1 A health insurer shall pay the benefit due under a

clean claim to a policyholder or covered person, or make
payment to a health care provider no later than 30 calendar
days after receipt of clean claim for services.

5.2 A claim is not a clean claim as defined in section
2.2 if any of the following circumstances exist:

5.2.1 Where the obligation of a health insurer to
pay a claim or make a payment for health care services
rendered is not reasonably clear due to a good faith dispute
regarding the eligibility of a person for coverage, the liability
of another insurer or corporation for all or part of a claim, the
amount of the claim, the benefits covered under a contract or
agreement, or the manner in which services were accessed or
provided.

5.2.2 Where there exists a reasonable basis
supported by specific information, available for review by
the Department, that such claim was submitted fraudulently.

5.2.3 For claims properly disputed or litigated
and subsequently paid.

5.3 In those cases covered by section 5.2.1, a health
insurer shall pay all portions of a claim meeting the

definition of clean claim in accordance with section 5.1.
Additionally, a health insurer shall notify the policyholder in
writing within 30 days of the receipt of the claim:

5.3.1 that such carrier is not obligated to pay the
claim or make the medical payment, in whole or in part,
stating the specific reasons why it is not liable; or

5.3.2 that additional information is needed and
is being sought to determine liability to pay the claim or
make the health care payment.

5.4 Upon receipt of the information required by section
5.3.2, or upon the administrative resolution of a dispute
wherein the health insurer is deemed obligated to pay the
benefit due under the claim or make medical payment, a
health insurer shall make payment as required by section 5.1.

7 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/03)

6.0 General Business Practice
6.1 Within a 36 month period, three instances of a

health insurer’s failure to pay a Claim or bill for services
promptly, as defined in section 5 above, shall give rise to a
rebuttable presumption that the insurer is in violation of 18
Del.C. 2304 (16)(f). In determining whether the presumption
is rebutted the Commissioner may consider, among other
things, whether the health insurer meets nationally
recognized timeline standards for claims payments such as
those applicable to the Medicare, Medicaid or Federal
Employees Health Benefit Plan programs.

6.2 The 36 month time period established in section 6.1
shall be measured based upon the date the claims or bills
became due. Each claim or bill, or portion of a claim or bill,
pertaining to a single medical treatment or procedure
provided to an individual policyholder that is processed in
violation of this regulation shall constitute an “instance” as
described in section 6.1.

7 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/03)

7.0 Penalties
In addition to the imposition of penalties in accordance

with 18 Del.C. 2312(b), the Commissioner may order the
health insurer to pay to the health care provider or claimant,
in full settlement of the claim or bill for health care services,
the amount of the claim or bill plus interest at the maximum
rate allowable to lenders under 6 Del.C. 2301(a). Such
interest shall be computed from the date the claim or bill for
services first became due.

7 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/03)

8.0 Causes of Action
This regulation shall not create a cause of action for any

person or entity, other than the Delaware Insurance
Commissioner, against a health insurer or its representative
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based upon a violation of 18 Del. C. 2304 (16).
7 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/03)

9.0 Separability
If any provision of this regulation or the application of

any such provision to any person or circumstances, shall be
held invalid, the remainder of such provisions, and the
application of such provision to any person or circumstance
other than those as to which it is held invalid, shall not be
affected.

7 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/03)

10.0 Effective Date
This regulation, as amended, shall become effective on

August 1, 2003.
7 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/03)

2.0 Scope
This regulation shall apply to all carriers as defined

herein.  Exempted from the provisions of this regulation are
policies of insurance that provide coverage for accident-only,
credit, Medicaid plans, Medicare supplement plans, long-
term care or disability income insurance, coverage issued as
a supplement to liability insurance, worker's compensation
or similar insurance or automobile medical payment
insurance.
3.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this
regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Carrier” means any entity that provides health
insurance in this State. For the purposes of this regulation,
carrier includes a health insurance company, health service
corporation, health maintenance organization and any other
entity providing a plan of health insurance or health benefits
subject to state insurance regulation. "Carrier" also includes
any 3rd-party administrator or other entity that adjusts,
administers or settles claims in connection with health
benefit plans.

“Days” means calendar days.
“Institutional Provider” means a hospital, nursing

home, or any other medical or health-related service facility
caring for the sick or injured or providing care or other
coverage which may be provided in a health insurance
policy.  An entity must be a Provider under this Regulation
in order to be an Institutional Provider.

“Policyholder,” “Insured,” or “Subscriber” means a
person covered under a health insurance policy or a
representative (other than a provider) designated by such
person and entitled to make claims on his behalf.

“Provider” means any entity or individual licensed,

certified, or otherwise permitted by law pursuant to Titles 16
or 24 of the Delaware Code to provide health care services,
irrespective of whether the entity or the individual is a
participating provider pursuant to a written agreement with
the carrier. When used alone, the term “provider” shall
include individual providers and institutional providers.

4.0 Clean Claim Defined
4.1 A nonelectronic claim by a provider, other than an

institutional provider, is a clean claim if the claim is
submitted using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS) Form 1500 or, if approved by the
Commissioner or CMS, a successor to that form.  Data for all
relevant fields must be provided in the format called for by
the form in order for the claim to constitute a clean claim.

4.2 A nonelectronic claim submitted by an institutional
provider is a clean claim if the claim is submitted using the
CMS Form UB-92, or, if approved by the Commissioner or
CMS, a successor to that form. Data for all relevant fields
must be provided in the format called for by the form in
order for the claim to constitute a clean claim.

4.3 An electronic claim by a provider, including an
institutional provider, is a clean claim if the claim is
submitted using the appropriate ASC X12N 837 format in
compliance with the standards specified at 45 CFR
§162.1102.

4.4 If allowed by federal law, a carrier and provider
may agree by contract to use fewer data elements than are
required by the relevant form or format.

4.5 An otherwise clean claim submitted by a provider
that includes additional fields, data elements, or other
information not required by this Regulation is considered to
be a clean claim for the purposes of this Regulation.

4.6 A claim by a policyholder that is submitted in the
carrier’s standard form using information called for by said
forms, with all of the required fields completed, is a clean
claim.

4.7 Any claim submitted by a provider or policyholder
that includes an unspecified, unclassified or miscellaneous
code or data element to constitute a clean claim shall also
include appropriate supporting documentation or narrative
which explains the unspecified, unclassified or
miscellaneous code and describes the diagnosis and
treatment or service rendered.

4.8 A claim for the same health care service provided to
a particular individual on a particular date of service that was
included in a previously submitted claim is a duplicate claim
and does not constitute a clean claim.

5.0 Means of Submission of Clean Claim
5.1 A provider or policyholder may, as appropriate,
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make delivery of a claim to a carrier as follows:

5.1.1 mail a claim by United States mail, first
class;

5.1.2 submit a claim by delivery service;
5.1.3 submit a claim electronically;
5.1.4 fax a claim; or
5.1.5 hand delivery of a claim.

6.0 Processing of Clean Claim
6.1 No more than 30 days after receipt of a clean claim

from a provider or policyholder, a carrier shall take one of
the following four actions:

6.1.1 if the entire claim is deemed payable, pay
the total allowed amount of the claim;

6.1.2 if a portion of the claim is deemed
payable, pay the allowable portion of the claim that is
deemed payable and specifically notify the provider or
policyholder in writing why the remaining portion of the
claim will not be paid;

6.1.3 if the entire claim is deemed not payable,
specifically notify the provider or policyholder in writing
why the claim will not be paid;

6.1.4 if the carrier needs additional information
from a provider or policyholder who is submitting the claim
to determine the propriety of payment of a claim, the carrier
shall request in writing that the provider or policyholder
provide documentation that is relevant and necessary for
clarification of the claim.

6.2 The request pursuant to section 6.1.4 must describe
with specificity the clinical information requested and relate
only to information the carrier  can demonstrate is specific to
the claim or the claim’s related episode of care. A provider is
not required to provide information that is not contained in,
or is not in the process of being incorporated into, the
patient’s medical or billing record maintained by the
provider whose services are the subject of inquiry.  A carrier
may make only one request under this subsection in
connection with a claim.  A carrier who requests information
under this subsection shall take action under sections 6.1.[2
1] through 6.1.3 within 15 days of receiving properly
requested information.

6.3 A carrier shall be limited to one request on the same
claim beyond that provided for in section 6.2 as may be
necessary to:

6.3.1 administer a coordination of benefits
provision; or

6.3.2 determine whether a claim is a duplicate.

7.0 Unfair Practice
Within a 36 month period, three instances of a carrier’s

failure to comply with Section 6 of this Regulation shall give

rise to a rebuttable presumption that the carrier has engaged
in an unfair practice in violation of 18 Del.C. §2304.

8.0 Interest
The Commissioner may order a carrier found to have

violated Section 6 of this Regulation to pay to a provider or
policyholder the amount of the claim or bill plus interest at
the maximum rate allowable to lenders under Delaware law.
Such interest shall be computed from the date the claim or
bill for services was first required to be paid.  The remedy
permitted by this Section is in addition to, and does not
supplant, any other remedies available to the Commissioner
or the provider.

9.0 Waiver
The provisions of this regulation may not be waived,

voided, or nullified by contract.

10.0  Causes of Action
This regulation shall not create a private cause of action

for any person or entity, other than the Delaware Insurance
Commissioner, against a carrier or its representative based
upon a violation of 18 Del.C. §2304(16).

11.0 Separability
If any provision of this regulation, or the application of

any such provision to any person or circumstances, shall be
held invalid, the remainder of such provisions, and the
application of such provisions to any person or circumstance
other than those as to which it is held invalid, shall not be
affected.

12.0 Effective Date
This regulation, as amended shall become effective for

all claims submitted for payment on or after November 1,
2005.  All claims for payment submitted for payment prior to
November 1, 2005 shall be governed by this regulation
amended effective August 1, 2003.
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch.60)

ORDER No.:  2005-A-0035

I.  Background

On Thursday, May 26, 2005, a public hearing was held
in the DNREC Auditorium in Dover to receive comment on
proposed amendments to Regulation 25 of Delaware’s
Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution. This
proposed amendment would create a new rule requiring new
sources with emissions of certain pollutants which impact
non-attainment for ground-level ozone and PM2.5 and of
hazardous air pollutants (HAP’s) with uncontrolled
emissions below major new source review (NSR) thresholds
and equal to or above 5 tons per year be evaluated for the
addition of air pollution controls at least the equal of best
available technology (BAT). It should be noted that this new
rule would only apply to new constructed units. Once
revisions to the major NSR Regulation (No. 25) in response
to the EPA NSR reforms are complete in early 2006, this
regulation will be revised to regulate modifications to
existing sources.

Jim Newton from the Kent County Department of
Public Works attended the hearing (as did an employee of
the Department’s Air Quality Management Division).
Written comments were received by the Department from
both Conectiv and the Delaware State Chamber of
Commerce, AQM responded to these comments in a formal
response memorandum to the Hearing Officer, dated June
13, 2005

After the hearing, the Department performed an
evaluation of the evidence entered into the record in this
matter. Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared her report
and recommendation in the form of a Report to the Secretary
dated July 11, 2005, and that Report is expressly
incorporated herein by reference. Proper notice of the
hearing was provided, as required by law.

II.  Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the
Hearing Officer’s Report dated July 11, 2005 are expressly

incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the findings
and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.  Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed
regulatory revision be promulgated in final form, in
accordance with the customary and established rule-making
procedure required by law and as recommended in the
Hearing Officer’s Report.

IV.  Reasons

Adopting the proposed amendment to Regulation No.
25, Section 4: Requirements for Preconstruction Review
(MNSR) will be beneficial to the State of Delaware, in that
this amendment, once promulgated, will enable the
Department to improve and/or enhance the overall
performance of its Air Quality Management Section.
Furthermore, Regulation No. 25, Section 4, in its amended
form, will continue the ongoing efforts by the State of
Delaware to strive for compliance under the 8-hour ground-
level ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards
(NAAQS).

John A. Hughes, Secretary

 [Proposed Amendment to] Regulation No. 1125 
[Amendment] “Requirements for Preconstruction 

Review”

[5/11/99]
[4/12/05 8/11/05]

1.0 General Provisions
1.1 Requirements of this regulation are in addition to

any other requirements of the State of Delaware Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution.

1.2 Any stationary source which will impact an
attainment area or an unclassifiable area as designated by the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) pursuant to
Section 107 of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990
(CAA), is subject to the regulations of Section 3, Prevention
of Significant Deterioration (PSD).

1.3 Any stationary source which will impact a
non-attainment area as designated by the EPA pursuant to
Section 107 of the CAA is subject to the regulations of
Section 2, Emission Offset Provisions (EOP).

1.4 A source may be subject to PSD for one pollutant
and to EOP for another pollutant, or may affect both
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attainment or unclassifiable areas and a non-attainment area
for the same pollutant.

1.5 Any emission limitation represented by Lowest
Achievable Emission Rate (LAER) may be imposed by the
Department pursuant to regulations adopted under Section 2
herein notwithstanding any emission limit specified
elsewhere in the State of Delaware Regulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution.

1.6 Any emission limitation represented by Best
Available Control Technology (BACT) may be imposed by
the Department pursuant to regulations adopted under
Section 3 herein notwithstanding any emission limit
specified elsewhere in the State of Delaware Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution.

1.7 No stationary source shall be constructed unless the
applicant can substantiate to the Department that the source
will comply with any applicable emission limit or New
Source Performance Standard or Emission Standard for a
Hazardous Air Pollutant as set forth in the State of Delaware
Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution.

1.8 Any stationary source that implements, for the
purpose of gaining relief from Regulation 1125, Section 3,
by any physical or operational limitation on the capacity of
the source to emit a pollutant, including (but not limited to)
air pollution control equipment and restrictions on hours of
operation or on the type or amount of material combusted,
stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design and
the limitation or the effect it would have on emissions is
enforceable, not withstanding any emission limit specified
elsewhere in the State of Delaware Regulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution. If a source petitions the
Department for relief from any resulting limitation described
above, the source is subject to review under Regulation
1125, Sections 2 and 3 as though construction had not yet
commenced on the source or modification.

1.9 Definitions - For the purposes of this regulation
"Actual Emissions”

• Actual emissions means the actual rate of
emissions of a pollutant from an emission
unit, as determined in accordance with
subparagraphs (2) through (4) below.

• In general, actual emissions as of a
particular date shall equal the average rate,
in tons per year, at which the unit actually
emitted the pollutant during a two-year
period which precedes the particular date
and which is representative of normal
source operation.  The Department shall
allow the use of a different time period
upon a determination that it is more
representative of normal source operation.

Actual emissions shall be calculated using
the unit's actual operating hours,
production rates, and types of materials
processed, stored, or combusted during the
selected time period.

• The Department may presume that
source-specific allowable emissions for
the unit are equivalent to the actual
emissions of the unit.

• For any emissions unit which has not
begun normal operations on the particular
date, actual emissions shall equal the
potential to emit of the unit on that date.

"Allowable Emissions" means the emissions rate
of a stationary source calculated using the maximum rated
capacity of the source (unless the source is subject to
enforceable limits which restrict the operating rate, or hours
of operation, or both) and the most stringent of the
following:

• The applicable standards as set forth in
Regulations 20 and 21;

• Other applicable Delaware State
Implementation Plan emissions
limitations, including those with a future
compliance date; or

• The emissions rate specified as an
enforceable permit condition, including
those with a future compliance date.

"Baseline Area"
• Baseline area means any intrastate area

(and every part thereof) designated as
attainment or unclassifiable in which the
major source or major modification
establishing the baseline date would
construct or would have an air quality
impact equal to or greater than 1 µg/m3

(annual average) of the pollutant for which
the baseline date is established.

• Area redesignations cannot intersect or be
smaller than the area of impact of any
major stationary source or major
modification which:

• Establishes a baseline date, or
• Is subject to this section.

"Baseline Concentration"
• Baseline concentration means that ambient

concentration level which exists in the
baseline area at the time of the applicable
baseline date.  A baseline concentration is
determined for each pollutant for which a
baseline date is established and shall
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include:
• The actual emissions

representative of sources in
existence on the applicable
baseline date, except as provided
in paragraph 1.9M(2);

• The allowable emissions of major
stationary sources which
commenced construction before
January 6, 1975, but were not in
operation by the applicable
baseline date.

• The following will not be included in the
baseline concentration and will affect the
applicable maximum allowable
increase(s):

• Actual emissions from any major
stationary source on which
construction commenced after
January 6, 1975; and

• Actual emissions increases and
decreases at any stationary source
occurring after the baseline date.

“Baseline Date"
• Baseline date means the earliest date after

August 7, 1977, on which the first
complete application is submitted by a
major stationary source or major
modification subject to the requirements
of Regulation 1125, Section 3.

• Baseline date means the earliest date after
August 7, 1977, but before the effective
date of this regulation, on which the first
complete application by a major stationary
source or major modification which would
have been subject to the requirements of
Regulation 25, Section 3 if application
were submitted after the effective date of
this regulation.

• The baseline date is established for each
pollutant for which increments or other
equivalent measures have been established
if:

• The area in which the proposed
source or modification would
construct is designated as
attainment or unclassifiable for
the pollutant on the date of its
complete application under this
section; and

• In the case of a major stationary

source, the pollutant would be
emitted in significant amounts,
or, in the case of a major
modification, there would be a
significant net emissions increase
of the pollutant.

"Begin Actual Construction" means, in general,
initiation of physical on-site construction activities on an
emissions unit which are of a permanent nature. Such
activities include, but are not limited to, installation of
building supports and foundations, laying underground
pipework and construction or permanent storage structures.
With respect to a change in method of operations, this term
refers to those on-site activities other than preparatory
activities which mark the initiation of the change.

"Best Available Control Technology" means an
emissions limitation (including a visible emission standard)
based on the maximum degree of reduction for each
pollutant subject to regulation under CAA which would be
emitted from any proposed major stationary source or major
modification which the Department, on a case-by-case basis,
takes into account energy, environmental, and economic
impacts and other costs, determines is achievable for such
source or modification through application of production
processes or available methods, systems, and techniques,
including fuel cleaning or treatment or innovative fuel
combustion techniques for control of such pollutant. In no
event shall application of best available control technology
result in emissions of any pollutant which would exceed the
emissions allowed by any applicable standard under
Regulation 1120 and 1121. If the Department determines that
technological or economic limitations on the application of
measurement methodology to a particular emissions unit
would make the imposition of an emissions standard
infeasible, a design, equipment, work practice, operational
standard, or combination thereof, may be prescribed instead
to satisfy the requirement for the application of best
available control technology.  Such standard shall, to the
degree possible, set forth the emissions reduction achievable
by implementation of such design, equipment, work practice
or operation, and shall provide for compliance by means
which achieve equivalent results.

"Building, Structure, Facility, or Installation"
means all of the pollutant-emitting activities which belong to
the same industrial grouping, are located on one or more
contiguous or adjacent properties, and are under the control
of the same person (or persons under common control).
Pollutant-emitting activities shall be considered as part of the
same industrial grouping if they belong to the same "Major
Group" (i.e., which have the same first two digit code) as
described in the Standard Industrial Classification Manual,
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1972, as amended by the 1977 Supplement (U.S.
Government Printing Office stock numbers 4101-0066 and
003-005-00176-0, respectively). For purposes of Section 2,
this definition shall apply only to the "Building, Structure or
Facility".

"Commence" as applied to construction of a major
stationary source or major modification means that the
owner or operator has all necessary preconstruction
approvals or permits and either has:

• Begun, or caused to begin, a continuous
program of actual on-site construction of
the source, to be completed within a
reasonable time; or

• Entered into binding agreements or
contractual obligations, which cannot be
canceled or modified without substantial
loss to the owner or operator, to undertake
a program of actual construction of the
source to be completed within a
reasonable time.

"Complete" means, in reference to an application
for a permit, that the application contains all of the
information necessary for processing the application.

"Construction" means any physical change or
change in the method of operation (including fabrication,
erection, installation, demolition or modification of an
emissions unit) which would result in a change in actual
emissions.

"Emissions Unit" means any part of a stationary
source which emits or would have the potential to emit any
pollutant subject to regulation under the CAA.

“Enforceable” means any standard, requirement,
limitation or condition established by an applicable federal
or state regulation or specified in a permit issued or order
entered thereunder, or contained in a SIP approved by the
Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA), and which can be enforced by the Department and the
Administrator of the EPA.

"Fugitive Emissions" means those emissions
which could not reasonably pass through a stack, chimney,
vent, or other functionally equivalent opening.

"Fixed capital cost" means the capital needed to
provide all the depreciable components.

"Innovative Control Technology" means any
system of air pollution control that has not been adequately
demonstrated in practice, but would have a substantial
likelihood of achieving greater continuous emissions
reduction than any control system in current practice or of
achieving at least comparable reductions at lower cost in
terms of energy economics, or non-air quality environmental
impacts.

"Lowest Achievable Emission Rate” (LAER)
means the same as defined in Regulation No. 1, "Definitions
and Administrative Principles".

"Major Stationary Source" - See Sections 2.2 and
3.0

"Major Modification"
• Major modification means any physical

change or change in the method of
operation of a major stationary source that
would result in a significant net emissions
increase of any pollutant subject to
regulation under the CAA.

• Any net emissions increase that is
significant for either volatile organic
compounds or nitrogen oxides shall be
considered significant for ozone.

• A physical change or change in the
method of operation shall not include:

• Routine maintenance, repair and
replacement;

• Use of an alternative fuel or raw
material by reason of an order
under sections 2(a) and (b) of the
Energy Supply and
Environmental Coordination Act
of 1974 (or any superseding
legislation) or by reason of a
natural gas curtailment plan
pursuant to the Federal Power
Act;

• Use of an alternative fuel by
reason of an order or rule under
Section 125 of the CAA;

• Use of an alternative fuel at a
steam generating unit to the
extent that the fuel is generated
from municipal solid waste;

• Use of an alternative fuel or raw
material by a stationary source
which:
• The source was capable of

accommodating before
January 6, 1975, unless such
change would be prohibited
under any previously issued
permit condition which was
established after January 6,
1975.

• The source is approved to
use under any previously
issued PSD permit or under
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Regulation 1125, Section 3.
• An increase in the hours of

operation or in the
production rate, unless such
change would be prohibited
under any previously issued
permit condition which was
established after January 6,
1975;

• Any change in ownership at
a stationary source.

"Necessary Preconstruction Approvals or
Permits" means those permits or approvals required under
Delaware air quality control laws and regulations.

"Net Emissions Increase"
• Net emissions increase means the amount

by which the sum of the following exceeds
zero:

• Any increase in actual emissions
from a particular physical change
or change in method of operation
at a stationary source; and

• Any other increases and
decreases in actual emissions at
the source that are
contemporaneous with the
particular change and are
otherwise creditable.

• An increase or decrease in actual
emissions is contemporaneous with the
increase from the particular change only if
it occurs between:

• The date five years before
construction on the particular
change commences; and

• The date that the increase from
the particular change occurs.

• An increase or decrease in actual
emissions is creditable only if the
Department has not relied on it in issuing a
permit for the source under this section,
which permit is in effect when the increase
in actual emissions from the particular
change occurs.

• An increase or decrease in actual
emissions of sulfur dioxide or particulate
matter which occurs before the applicable
baseline date is creditable only if it is
required to be considered in calculating
the amount of maximum allowable
increases remaining available.

• An increase in actual emissions is
creditable only to the extent that the new
level of actual emissions exceeds the old
level.

• A decrease in actual emissions is
creditable only to the extent that:

• The old level of actual  emissions
or the old level of allowable
emissions, whichever is lower,
exceeds the new level of actual
emissions;

• It is enforceable at and after the
time that actual construction on
the particular change begins; and

• It has approximately the same
qualitative significance for public
health and welfare as that
attributed to the increase from the
particular change.

• It has not been adopted by the
Department as a required
reduction to be made part of the
SIP or it is not required by the
Department pursuant to an
existing requirement of the SIP.

• An increase that results from a physical
change at a source occurs when the
emissions unit on which construction
occurred becomes operational and begins
to emit a particular pollutant. Any
replacement unit that requires shakedown
becomes operational only after a
reasonable shakedown period, not to
exceed 180 days.

“Ozone Transport Region” means the region
designated by section 184 of the federal Clean Air Act and
comprised of the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine,
Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey,
New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and the
Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area that includes the
District of Columbia and northern Virginia.

“Permanent” (Reductions) means that the actual
emission reductions submitted to the Department for
certification have been incorporated in a permit or a permit
condition or, in the case of a shutdown, the permit to operate
for the emission unit(s) has been voided.

"Potential to Emit"  means the maximum capacity
of a stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical
and operational design.  Any physical or operational
limitation on the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant,
including air pollution control equipment and restrictions on
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hours of operation or on the type or amount of material
combusted, stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its
design if the limitation or the effect it would have on
emissions is enforceable. Secondary emissions do not count
in determining the potential to emit of a stationary source.

“Quantifiable” (Reductions) means that the
amount, rate and characteristics of emission reductions can
be determined by methods that are considered reliable by the
Department and the Administrator of the EPA.

“Real” (Reductions) means reductions in actual
emissions released into the atmosphere.

"Reconstruction" will be presumed to have taken
place where the fixed capital cost of the new components
exceed 50 percent of the fixed capital cost of a comparable
entirely new stationary source. Any final decision as to
whether reconstruction has occurred shall be made in
accordance with the provisions of 40 CFR 60.15(f)(1)-(3). A
reconstructed stationary source will be treated as a new
stationary source for purposes of this regulation. In
determining lowest achievable emission rate (LAER) for a
reconstructed stationary source, the provisions of 40 CFR
60.15(f)(4) shall be taken into account in assessing whether a
new source performance standard is applicable to such
stationary source.

"Secondary Emissions" means emissions which
would occur as a result of the construction or operation of a
major stationary source or major modification, but do not
come from the major stationary source or major modification
itself.  For the purpose of this section, secondary emissions
must be specific, well defined, quantifiable, and impact the
same general area as the stationary source or modification
which causes the secondary emissions.  Secondary emissions
may include, but are not limited to:

• Emissions from ships, trains, or other
vehicles coming to or from the new or
modified stationary source; and

• Emissions from any offsite support
facility(s) which would not otherwise be
constructed or increase its emissions as a
result of the construction or operation of
the major stationary source or major
modification.

"Significant"
• Significant  means, in reference to a net

emissions increase or the potential of a
source to emit any of the following
pollutants, a rate of emissions that would
equal or exceed any of the following rates:

• Pollutant and Emissions Rate
• Carbon monoxide:  100 tons per

year (TPY)

• Sulfur dioxide:  40 TPY
• Particulate matter:  25 TPY
• Ozone:

• New Castle and Kent
Counties - 25  TPY  of  either
volatile organic compounds
or nitrogen oxides *

• Sussex County - 40 TPY of
either volatile organic
compounds or nitrogen
oxides *

• Lead:  0.6 TPY
• Asbestos:  0.007 TPY
• Beryllium:  0.0004 TPY
• Mercury:  0.1 TPY
• Vinyl chloride:  1 TPY
• Fluorides:  3 TPY
• Sulfuric acid mist:  7 TPY
• Hydrogen sulfide (H2S):  10 TPY
• Total reduced sulfur (including

H2S):  10 TPY
• Reduced sulfur compounds

(including H2S):  10 TPY
• PM10 particulate:  15 TPY

*Note: Increases in net emissions shall not exceed 25
tons per year in New Castle and Kent Counties, or 40 tons
per year in Sussex, when aggregated with all other net
increases in emissions from the source over any period of
five consecutive calendar years which includes the calendar
year in which such increases occur. No part of the five
consecutive years shall extend before January 1, 1991.

"Significant" means, in reference to a net
emissions increase or the potential of a source to emit a
pollutant subject to regulation under the CAA that paragraph
1.9 V.(1) does not list, any emissions rate.

Notwithstanding paragraph 1.9 V.(1),
"significant" means any emissions rate or any net emissions
increase associated with a major stationary source or major
modification, which would construct within ten kilometers
of a Class I area, and have an impact on such area equal to or
greater than 1 µg/m3, (24-hour average).

"Stationary Source" means any building,
structure, facility or installation which emits or may emit any
air pollutant subject to regulation under the CAA.

“Surplus” (Reductions) means actual emission
reductions below the baseline (see Section 2.5(B)) not
required by regulations or proposed regulations, and not
used by the source to meet any state or federal regulatory
requirements.

2.0 Emission Offset Provisions (EOP)
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2.1 Applicability - The provisions of this Section shall
apply to any person responsible for any proposed new major
stationary source or any proposed major modification.

2.2 For purposes of Section 2, "major stationary
source" means

2.2.1 Any stationary source of air pollutants
which emits, or has the potential to emit, 100 tons per year or
more of any pollutant subject to regulation under the Clean
Air Act, except for either volatile organic compound or
nitrogen oxides, or

2.2.2 Any stationary source of air pollutants
which emits, or has the potential to emit either volatile
organic compounds or nitrogen oxides in the following
amounts:

2.2.2.1 For areas in ozone attainment, ozone
marginal, or ozone moderate nonattainment areas and
located in the ozone transport region - 50 tons per year
volatile organic compounds or 100 tons per year of oxides of
nitrogen, or

2.2.2.2 For serious ozone nonattainment areas
- 50 tons per year of either volatile organic compounds or
oxides of nitrogen, or

2.2.2.3 For severe ozone nonattainment areas
- 25 tons per year of either volatile organic compounds or
oxides of nitrogen, or

2.2.2.4 For extreme ozone nonattainment
areas - 10 tons per year of either volatile organic compounds
or oxides of nitrogen.

2.2.3 Any physical change that would occur at a
stationary source not qualifying under paragraph 2.2.1 or
2.2.2 as a major stationary source, if the change would
constitute a major stationary source by itself, or

2.2.4 A major stationary source that is major for
either volatile organic compounds or nitrogen oxides shall be
considered major for ozone, and "installation" means an
identifiable piece of process, combustion or incineration
equipment.

2.3 For the purposes of Sections 2.4 and 2.5 of this
regulation, emission units located in areas designated as
attainment or marginal nonattainment areas that are located
within the ozone transport region shall be considered located
in a moderate ozone nonattainment area.

2.4 Conditions for Approval - No person subject to the
provisions of subsection 2.1 shall install a major stationary
source of volatile organic compounds or of nitrogen oxides,
or make a major modification to a source which will cause or
contribute to any violation of the national ambient air quality
standards for ozone within an area of non-attainment for that
pollutant unless the following conditions are met:

2.4.1 The new major source or the major
modification is controlled by the application of lowest
achievable emission rate (LAER) control technology.

2.4.2 All existing sources in the State owned or
controlled by the owner of the proposed new or modified
source are in compliance with the applicable local, State and
federal regulations or are in compliance with a consent order
specifying a schedule and timetable for compliance.

2.4.3 For the purposes of satisfying offset
requirements, the ratio of total actual emissions reductions of
volatile organic compounds or nitrogen oxides to total
allowable increased emissions of volatile organic
compounds or nitrogen oxides shall be:

2.4.3.1 For New Castle & Kent Counties, 1.3
to 1, or

The new or modified source must satisfy the
following offset requirements:

2.4.3.1.1  The ratio of total actual
emissions reductions of volatile organic compounds or
nitrogen oxides to total allowable increased emissions of
volatile organic compounds or nitrogen oxides shall be:

2.4.3.1.1.1 For moderate ozone
nonattainment areas, 1.15 to 1, or

2.4.3.1.1.2 For serious ozone
nonattainment areas, 1.2 to 1, or

2.4.3.1.1.3 For severe ozone
nonattainment areas, 1.3 to 1, or

2.4.3.1.1.4 For extreme ozone
nonattainment areas, 1.5 to 1.

2.4.3.2 All offsets shall be federally
enforceable at the time of application to construct and shall
be in effect by the time the new or modified source
commences operation.

2.4.4
2.4.4.1 The application for construction

permit pursuant to Regulation No. 2 shall include an analysis
of alternative sites, sizes, production processes and
environmental control techniques for such proposed source
which demonstrates that benefits of the proposed source
significantly outweigh the environmental and social costs
imposed as a result of its location, construction, or
modification.

2.4.4.2 Public participation for the
construction permit shall be pursuant to Regulation No. 2,
Section 12.3 or 12.4 and 12.5.

2.5 Criteria for Emission Reductions Used as Offsets
2.5.1 All emission reductions claimed as offset

credits shall be real, surplus, quantifiable, and federally
enforceable;

2.5.2 The baseline for determining credit for
emissions reductions shall be the lower of actual or
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005



FINAL REGULATIONS 253

allowable emissions. The offset credit shall only be allowed
for emission reductions made below the baseline;

2.5.3 Emission reductions claimed as offsets
shall have occurred on or after January 1, 1991;

2.5.4 Credit for an emission reduction may be
claimed for use as an offset  to the extent that the Department
has not relied on it in issuing any permit under this
regulation and has not relied on it for demonstration of
attainment or reasonable further progress;

2.5.5 Emission reductions shall not be used as
offsets in an area with a higher nonattainment classification
than the one in which they were generated.

2.5.6 Emission reductions claimed as offsets by
a source must be generated from within the same
nonattainment area or from any other area that contributes to
a violation of the ozone National Ambient Air Quality
Standard in the nonattainment area which the source is
located.

2.6 Emission reductions generated in a state other than
Delaware and which are placed in the emissions bank
established pursuant to Regulation No. 34 of the State of
Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution” may be used as offsets provided they are federally
enforceable and meet, at a minimum, all the provisions of
Regulation No. 1134 and Sections 2.5.5, and 2.5.6 of this
regulation.
03/29/88

3.0 Prevention of Significant Deterioration of Air 
Quality

3.1 Definitions - For purposes of this Section 3
"Major Stationary Source"

• Major stationary source means:
• Any of the following stationary

sources of air pollutants which emits
or has the potential to emit, 100 tons
per year or more of any pollutant
subject to regulation under the CAA:
Fossil fuel-fired steam electric plants
of more than 250 million British
thermal units per hour heat input, coal
cleaning plants (with thermal dryers),
kraft pulp mills, portland cement
plants, primary zinc smelters, iron and
steel mill plants, primary aluminum
ore reduction plants, primary copper
smelters, municipal incinerators
capable of charging more than 250
tons of refuse per day, hydrofluoric,
sulfuric, and nitric acid plants,
petroleum refineries, lime plants,

phosphate rock processing plants,
coke oven batteries, sulfur recovery
plants, carbon black plants (furnace
process), primary lead smelters, fuel
conversion plants, sintering plants,
secondary metal production plants,
chemical process plants, fossil fuel
boilers (or combinations thereof)
totaling more than 250 million British
thermal units per hour heat input,
petroleum storage and transfer units
with a total storage capacity
exceeding 300,000 barrels, taconite
ore processing plants, glass fiber
processing plants, and charcoal
production plants;

• Notwithstanding the stationary source
size specified in paragraph 3.0
A.(1)(i) of this section, any stationary
source which emits, or has the
potential to emit, 250 tons per year or
more of any air pollutant subject to
regulation under the CAA; or

• Any physical change that would occur
at a stationary source not otherwise
qualifying under paragraph 3.0 as a
major stationary source, if the change
would constitute a major stationary
source by itself.

• A major stationary source that is
major for volatile organic compounds
shall be considered major for ozone.

3.2 Ambient Air Increments.  In areas designated as
Class I, II or III, increases in pollutant concentration over the
baseline concentration shall be limited to the following:

Maximum allowable increase
(Micrograms per cubic meter)

Class I

Pollutant
Total suspended particulates:
Annual geometric mean   5
24-hour maximum 10

Sulfur dioxide:
Annual arithmetic mean   2
24-hour maximum   5
3-hour maximum 25

Class II
Pollutant

Total suspended particulates:
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Annual geometric mean 19
24-hour maximum 37

Sulfur dioxide:
Annual arithmetic mean 20
24-hour maximum 91
3-hour maximum 512

Class III
Total suspended particulates:
Annual geometric mean 37
24-hour maximum 75

Sulfur dioxide:
Annual arithmetic mean 40
24-hour maximum 182
3-hour maximum 700

For any period other than an annual period, the
applicable maximum allowable increase may be exceeded
during one such period per year at any one location.

3.3 Ambient Air Ceilings.  No concentration of a
pollutant shall exceed:

3.3.1 The concentration permitted under the
national secondary ambient air quality standard, or

3.3.2 The concentration permitted under the
national primary ambient air quality standard, whichever
concentration is lowest for the pollutant for a period of
exposure.

3.4 Restrictions on Area Classification.
3.4.1 All Areas in the State of Delaware are

designated Class II, but may be redesignated as provided in
40 CFR 52.51(g).

3.4.2 The following areas may be redesignated
only as Class I:

3.4.2.1 Bombay Hook National Wildlife
Refuge; and

3.4.2.2 A national park or national wilderness
area established after August 7, 1977 which exceeds 10,000
acres in size.

3.5 Exclusions from Increment Consumption
3.5.1 Upon written request of the governor,

made after notice and opportunity for at least one public
hearing to be held in accordance with procedures established
by the State of Delaware, the Department shall exclude the
following concentrations in determining compliance with a
maximum allowable increase:

3.5.1.1 Concentrations attributable to the
increase in emissions from stationary sources which have
converted from the use of petroleum products, natural gas, or
both by reason of an order in effect under sections 2.1 and
2.2 of the Energy Supply and Environmental Coordination
Act of 1974 (or any superseding legislation) over the

emissions from such sources before the effective date of
such an order;

3.5.1.2 Concentrations attributable to the
increase in emissions from sources which have converted
from using natural gas by reason of a natural gas curtailment
plan in effect pursuant to the Federal Power Act over the
emissions from such sources before the effective date of
such plan;

3.5.1.3 Concentrations of particulate matter
attributable to the increase in emissions from construction or
other temporary emission-related activities of new or
modified sources;

3.5.2 No exclusion of such concentrations shall
apply more than five years after the effective date of the
order to which section 3.5.1.1 refers or the plan to which
section 3.5.1.2 refers, whichever is applicable.  If both such
order and plan are applicable, no such exclusion shall apply
more than five years after the later of such effective dates.

3.6 Stack Heights
The provisions of Regulation 27 - STACK HEIGHTS,

are applicable to this section.
3.7 Review of Major Stationary Sources and Major

Modifications - Source Applicability and Exemptions.
3.7.1 No stationary source or modification to

which the requirements of sections 3.8 through 3.15 apply
shall begin actual construction without a permit which states
that the stationary source or modification would meet those
requirements. The Department has authority to issue any
such permit.

3.7.2 The requirements of sections 3.8 through
3.15 shall apply to any major stationary source and any
major modification with respect to each pollutant subject to
regulation under the CAA that it would emit, except as this
section otherwise provides.

3.7.3 The requirements of sections 3.8 through
3.15 apply only to any major stationary source or major
modification that would be constructed in an area designated
as attainment or unclassifiable.

3.7.4 The requirements of sections 3.8 through
3.15 shall not apply to a particular major stationary source or
major modification, if:

3.7.4.1 The source or modification would be
a nonprofit health or nonprofit educational institution, or a
major modification would occur at such an institution, and
the governor requests that it be exempt from those
requirements; or

3.7.4.2 The source or modification would be
a major stationary source or major modification only if
fugitive emissions, to the extent quantifiable, are considered
in calculating the potential to emit of the stationary source or
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modification and the source does not belong to any of the
following categories:

3.7.4.2.1 Coal cleaning plants (with
thermal dryers);

3.7.4.2.2 Kraft pulp mills;
3.7.4.2.3 Portland cement plants;
3.7.4.2.4 Primary zinc smelters;
3.7.4.2.5 Iron and steel mills;
3.7.4.2.6 Primary aluminum ore

reduction plants;
3.7.4.2.7 Primary copper smelters;
3.7.4.2.8 Municipal incinerators

capable of charging more than 250 tons of refuse per day;
3.7.4.2.9 Hydrofluoric, sulfuric, or

nitric acid plants;
3.7.4.2.10 Petroleum refineries;
3.7.4.2.11 Lime plants;
3.7.4.2.12 Phosphate rock processing

plants;
3.7.4.2.13 Coke oven batteries;
3.7.4.2.14 Sulfur recovery plants;
3.7.4.2.15 Carbon black plants (furnace

process);
3.7.4.2.16 Primary lead smelters;
3.7.4.2.17 Fuel conversion plants;
3.7.4.2.18 Sintering plants;
3.7.4.2.19 Secondary metal production

plants;
3.7.4.2.20 Chemical process plants;
3.7.4.2.21 Fossil-fuel boilers (or

combination thereof) totalingmore than 250 million British
thermal units per hour heat input:

3.7.4.2.22 Petroleum storage and
transfer units with a total storage capacity exceeding
300,000 barrels;

3.7.4.2.23 Taconite ore processing
plants;

3.7.4.2.24 Glass fiber processing
plants;

3.7.4.2.25 Charcoal production plants;
3.7.4.2.26 Fossil fuel-fired steam

electric plants of more than 250 million British thermal units
per hour heat input;

3.7.4.2.27 Any other stationary source
category which, as of August 7, 1980, is being regulated
under section 111 or 112 of the CAA; or

3.7.4.3 The source is a portable stationary
source which has previously received a permit under this
section, and 

3.7.4.3.1 The owner or operator
proposal to relocate the source and emissions of the source at
the new location would be temporary; and

3.7.4.3.2 The emissions from the
source would not exceed its allowable emissions; and

3.7.4.3.3 The emissions from the
source would impact no Class I area and no area where an
applicable increment is known to be violated; and

3.7.4.3.4 Reasonable notice is given to
the Department prior to the relocation identifying the
proposed new location and the probable duration of
operation at the new location.  Such notice shall be given to
the Department not less than ten days in advance of the
proposed relocation unless a different time duration is
previously approved by the Department.

3.7.5 The requirements of sections 3.8 through
3.15 shall not apply to a major stationary source or major
modification with respect to a particular pollutant if the
owner or operator demonstrates that, as to that pollutant, the
source or modification is located in an area designated as
non-attainment.

3.7.6 The requirements of sections 3.9, 3.11, and
3.13 shall not apply to a major stationary source or major
modification with respect to a particular pollutant, if the
allowable emissions of that pollutant from the source, or the
net emissions increase of that pollutant from the
modification:

3.7.6.1 Would impact no Class I area and no
area where an applicable increment is known to be violated,
and

3.7.6.2 Would be temporary.
3.7.7 The Department may exempt a stationary

source or modification from the requirements of section 3.11
with respect to monitoring for a particular pollutant if:

3.7.7.1 The emissions increase of the
pollutant from the new source or the net emissions increase
of the pollutant from the modification would cause, in any
area, air quality impacts less than the following amounts:
               Carbon monoxide: 575 ug/m3, 8-hour
average;
               Nitrogen dioxide: 14 ug/m3, annual
average;
               Total suspended particulate:  10 ug/m3,
24-hour average;
               Sulfur dioxide: 13 ug/m3, 24-hour
average;
               Ozone (Note 1)
               Lead:  0.1 ug/m3, 24-hour average;
               Mercury:  0.25 ug/m3, 24-hour average;
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               Beryllium: 0.0005 ug/m3, 24-hour
average;
               Fluorides:  0.25 ug/m3, 24-hour average;
               Vinyl chloride:  15 ug/m3, 24-hour
average;
               Total reduced sulfur:  10 ug/m3, 1-hour
average;
               Hydrogen sulfide:  0.04 ug/m3, 1-hour
average;
               Reduced sulfur compounds:  10 ug/m3,
1-hour average;
               PM10 particulate:  10 ug/m3, 24-hour
average
          3.7.7.2 The concentrations of the pollutant in
the area that the source or modification would affect are less
than the concentrations listed in section 3.7.7.1, or the
pollutant is not listed in paragraph 3.7.7.1.

3.8 Control Technology Review 
3.8.1 A major stationary source or major

modification shall meet each applicable emissions limitation
of the State of Delaware's Air Pollution Control Regulations.

3.8.2 A new major stationary source shall apply
best available control technology for each pollutant subject
to regulation under the CAA that it would have the potential
to emit in significant amounts.

3.8.3 A major modification shall apply best
available control technology for each pollutant subject to
regulation under the CAA for which it would result in a
significant net emissions increase at the source. This
requirement applies to each proposed emissions unit at
which a net emissions increase in the pollutant would occur
as a result of a physical change or change in the method of
operation in the unit.

3.8.4 For phase construction projects, the
determination of best available control technology shall be
reviewed and modified as appropriate at the latest reasonable
time which occurs no later than 18 months prior to
commencement of construction of each independent phase
of the project. At such time, the owner or operator of the
applicable stationary source may be required to demonstrate
the adequacy of any previous determination of best available
control technology for the source.

Note 1:  No de minimus air quality level is provided
for ozone.  However, any net increase of 100 tons per year or
more of volatile organic compounds subject to PSD would
be required to perform an ambient impact analysis including
the gathering of ambient air quality data.

3.9 Source Impact Analysis.  The owner or operator of
the proposed source or modification shall demonstrate that

allowable emission increases from the proposed source or
modification, in conjunction with all other applicable
emissions increases or reductions (including secondary
emissions), would not cause or contribute to air pollution in
violation of:

3.9.1 Any national ambient air quality standard
in any air quality control region; or

3.9.2 Any applicable maximum allowable
increase over the baseline concentration in any area.

3.10 Air Quality Models.
3.10.1 All estimates of ambient concentrations

required under this section shall be based on the applicable
air quality models, data bases, and other requirements
specified in the "Guideline on Air Quality Models"
(OA-QPS 1.2-080, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency,
Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, Research
Triangle Park, N.C. 27711, April, 1978 or its subsequent
revisions).  This document is incorporated by reference.

3.10.2 When an air quality impact model
specified in the "Guideline on Air Quality Models" is
inappropriate, the model may be modified or another model
substituted.  Such a change must be subject to the notice and
opportunity for public comment under section 3.15. Written
approval of the Department must be obtained for any
modification or substitution. Methods like those outlined in
the "Workbook for the Comparison of Air Quality Models"
(U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Air
Quality Planning and Standards, Research Triangle Park,
N.C. 17711, May, 1978 or its subsequent revisions) should
be used to determine the comparability of air quality models.

3.11 Air Quality Analysis
3.11.1 Preapplication Analysis.

3.11.1.1 Any application for a permit under
this section shall contain an analysis of ambient air quality in
the area that the major stationary source or major
modification would affect for each of the following
pollutants:

3.11.1.1.1 For the source, each
pollutant that it would have the potential to emit in a
significant amount;

3.11.1.1.2 For the modification, each
pollutant for which it would result in a significant net
emissions increase.

3.11.1.2  With respect to any such pollutant for
which no National Ambient Air Quality Standard exists, the
analysis shall contain such air quality monitoring data as the
Department determines is necessary to assess ambient air
quality for that pollutant in any area that the emissions of
that pollutant would affect.

3.11.1.3  With respect to any such pollutant
(other than non-methane hydrocarbons) for which such a
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standard does exist, the analysis shall contain continuous air
quality monitoring data gathered for purposes of determining
whether emissions of that pollutant would cause or
contribute to a violation of the standard or any maximum
allowable increase.

3.11.1.4  In general, the continuous air quality
monitoring data that is required shall have been gathered
over a period of at least one year and shall represent at least
the year preceeding receipt of the application, except that, if
the Department determines that a complete and adequate
analysis can be accomplished with monitoring data gathered
over a period shorter than one year (but not to be less than
four months), the data that is required shall have been
gathered over at least that shorter period.

3.11.1.5  The owner or operator of a proposed
stationary source or modification of volatile organic
compounds who satisfies all of the following conditions may
provide post-approval monitoring data for ozone in lieu of
providing preconstruction data as required under paragraph
3.9.1.

Condition 1: The new source is required to
meet an emission limitation which specifies the lowest
achievable emission rate for such source.
     Condition 2: The applicant must certify that all
existing major sources owned or operated by the applicant
(or any entity controlling, controlled by, or under common
control with the applicant) in Delaware are in compliance
with all applicable emission limitations and standards under
the CAA (or are in compliance with an expeditious schedule
approved by the Department).
     Condition 3:  Emission reductions ("offsets")
from existing sources in the area of the proposed source
(whether or not under the same ownership) are required such
that there will be reasonable progress toward attainment of
the applicable NAAQS.  Only intrapollutant emission offsets
will be acceptable (e.g., hydrocarbon increases may not be
offset against SO(reductions)).
     Condition 4:  The emission offsets will provide
a positive net air quality benefit in the affected area (see 40
CFR Part 51 App. S). Atmospheric simulation modeling is
not necessary for volatile organic compounds and NOx.
Fulfillment of Condition 3 will be considered adequate to
meet this condition for volatile organic compounds and NOx.

3.11.2 Post-construction monitoring. The owner
or operator of a major stationary source or major
modification shall, after construction of the stationary source
or modification conduct such ambient monitoring as the
Department determines is necessary to determine the effect
emissions from the stationary source or modification may
have, or are having, on air quality in any area.

3.11.3 Operations of monitoring stations. The
owner or operator of a major stationary source or major
modification shall meet the Quality Assurance Requirements
for PSD Air Monitoring as preapproved by the Department
during the operation of monitoring stations for purposes of
satisfying section 3.11.

3.12 Source Information. The owner or operator of
proposed source or modification shall submit all information
necessary to perform any analysis or make any
determination required under this section.

3.12.1 With respect to a source or modification to
which sections 3.9, 3.11, and 3.13 apply, such information
shall include but not be limited to:

3.12.1.1 A description of the nature, location,
design capacity and typical operating schedule of the source
or modification, including specifications and drawings
showing its design and plant layout;

3.12.1.2 A detailed schedule for construction
of the source or modification;

3.12.1.3 A detailed description as to what
system of continuous emission reduction is planned for the
source or modification, emission estimates, and any other
information necessary to determine that best available
control technology would be applied

3.12.2 Upon request of the Department, the
owner or operator shall also provide information on:

3.12.2.1 The air quality impact of the source or
modification, including meteorological and topographical
data necessary to estimate such impact; and

3.12.2.2 The air quality impacts, and the nature
and extent of any or all general commercial, residential,
industrial, and other growth which has occurred since
August 7, 1977 or the applicable baseline date(s), in the area
the source or modification would affect.

3.13 Additional Impact Analyses.
3.13.1 The owner or operator shall provide an

analysis of the impairment to visibility, soils and vegetation
that would occur as a result of the source or modification and
general commercial, residential, industrial and other growth
associated with the source or modification. The owner or
operator need not provide an analysis of the impact on
vegetation having no significant commercial or recreational
value.

3.13.2 The owner or operator shall provide an
analysis of the air quality impact projected for the area as a
result of general commercial, residential, industrial and other
growth associated with the source or modification.

3.14 Public Participation
3.14.1 Within 30 days after receipt of an

application to construct, or any addition to such application,
the Department shall advise the applicant of any deficiency
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in the application or in the information submitted. In the
event of such a deficiency, the date of receipt of the
application shall be, for the purpose of this section, the date
on which the Department received all required information.

3.14.2 Within one year after receipt of a complete
application, the Department shall make a final determination
on the application. This involves performing the following
actions in a timely manner:  

3.14.2.1 Make a preliminary determination
whether construction should be approved, approved with
conditions, or disapproved.

3.14.2.2 Make available a copy of all materials
the applicant submitted, a copy of the preliminary
determination, and a copy or summary of other materials, if
any, considered in making the preliminary determination.

3.14.2.3 Notify the public, by advertisement in
a newspaper of general circulation in each region in which
the proposed source or modification would be constructed,
of the application, the preliminary determination, the degree
of increment consumption that is expected from the source
or modification, and the opportunity for comment at public
hearing as well as written public comment.

3.14.2.4 Send a copy of the notice of public
comment to the applicant and to officials and agencies
having cognizance over the location where the proposed
construction would occur as follows:  the chief executives of
the city and county where the source or modification would
be located and any comprehensive regional land use
planning agency whose lands may be affected by emissions
from the source or modification. Additionally, if the
proposed source would have significant interstate impact,
the Governor of that impacted state would be notified.

3.14.2.5 Provide opportunity for a public
hearing for interested persons to appear and submit written
or oral comments on the air quality impact of the source or
modification, alternatives to the source or modification, the
control technology required, and other appropriate
considerations.

3.14.2.6 Consider all written comments
submitted within a time specified in the notice of public
comment and all comments received at any public hearing(s)
in making a final decision on the approvability of the
application. No later than ten days after the close of the
public comment period, the applicant may  submit a written
response to any comments submitted by the public. The
Department shall consider the applicant's response in making
a final decision. The Department shall make all comments
available for public inspection in the same locations where
the Department made available preconstruction information
relating to the proposed source or modification.

3.14.2.7 Make a final determination whether
construction should be approved, approved with conditions,
or disapproved pursuant to this section.

3.14.2.8 Notify the applicant in writing of the
final determination and make such notification available for
public inspection at the same location where the Department
made available preconstruction information and public
comments relating to the source or modification.

3.15 Source Obligation.
3.15.1 Any owner or operator who constructs or

operates a source or modification not in accordance with the
application submitted pursuant to this section or with the
terms of any approval to construct, or any owner or operator
of a source or modification subject to this section who
commences construction after the effective date of these
regulations without applying for and receiving approval
hereunder, shall be subject to appropriate enforcement
action.

3.15.2 Approval to construct shall become
invalid if construction is not commenced within 18 months
after receipt of such approval, if construction is discontinued
for a period of 18 months or more, or if construction is not
completed within a reasonable time. The Department may
extend the 18-month period upon a satisfactory showing that
an extension is justified. This provision does not apply to the
time period between construction of the approved phases of
a phased construction project; each phase must commence
construction within 18 months of the projected and approved
commencement date.

3.15.3 Approval to construct shall not relieve any
owner or operator of the responsibility to comply fully with
applicable provisions of any other requirements under local
or Federal law.

3.15.4 At such time that a particular source or
modification becomes a major stationary source or major
modification solely by virtue of a relaxation in any
enforceable limitation which was established after August 7,
1980 on the capacity of the source or modification otherwise
to emit a pollutant, such as a restriction on hours of
operation, then the requirements or sections 3.7 through 3.14
shall apply to the source or modification as though
construction had not yet commenced on the source or
modification.

3.16 Innovative Control Technology.
3.16.1 An owner or operator of a proposed major

stationary source or major modification may request the
Department in writing no later than 30 days after the close of
the public comment hearing to approve a system of
innovative control technology.

3.16.2 The Department shall, with the consent of
the Governor of Delaware, determine that the source or
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modification may employ a system of innovative control
technology, if:

3.16.2.1  The proposed control system would
not cause or contribute to an unreasonable risk to public
health, welfare, or safety in its operation or function;

3.16.2.2  The owner or operator agrees to
achieve a level of continuous emissions reduction equivalent
to that which would have been required under paragraph
3.8.2 by a date specified by the Department.  Such date shall
not be later than four years from the time of startup or seven
years from permit issuance;

3.16.2.3  The source or modification would
meet the requirements of sections 3.8 and 3.9 based on the
emissions rate that the stationary source employing the
system of innovative control technology would be required
to meet on the date specified by the Department;

3.16.2.4 The source or modification would not
be before the date specified by the Department:

3.16.2.4.1 Cause or contribute to a
violation of an applicable national ambient air quality
standard; or

3.16.2.4.2   Impact any Class I area; or
3.16.2.4.3 Impact any area where an

applicable increment is known to be violated; and
          3.16.2.5 All other applicable requirements
including those for public participation have been met.

3.16.3 The Department shall withdraw any
approval to employ a system of innovative control
technology made under this section, if:

3.16.3.1 The proposed system fails before the
specified date to achieve the required continuous emissions
reduction rate; or

3.16.3.2 The proposed system fails before the
specified date so as to contribute to an unreasonable risk to
public health, welfare, or safety; or

3.16.3.3 The Department decides at any time
that the proposed system is unlikely to achieve the required
level of control or to protect the public health, welfare, or
safety.

3.16.4 If a source or modification fails to meet
the required level of continuous emission reduction within
the specified time period or the approval is withdrawn in
accordance with section 3.16.3, the Department may allow
the source or modification up to an additional three years to
meet the requirement for the application of best available
control technology through use of a demonstrated system of
control.
4.0 Minor New Source Review (MNSR)

4.1 Applicability. The requirements of Section 4.3 of
this Regulation shall apply to any person responsible for any
proposed new stationary source, the construction of which:

4.1.1 was applied for, pursuant to Regulation 2,
Section 11, after [insert effective date of this Section 4
August 11, 2005], and

4.1.2 is subject to the construction, installation,
or alteration requirements of Regulation No. 2, Section
2.1(c), and 

4.1.3 is not subject to the requirements of
Section 2 or Section 3 of this regulation, and

4.1.4 has a potential to emit of equal to or
greater than five (5) tons per year of volatile organic
compounds (VOC’s) or, nitrogen oxides (NOx), or sulfur
dioxide (SO2) and/or sulfur trioxide (SO3) [also termed
sulfur oxides (SOx)] or, fine particulate matter (PM2.5), or,
[the potential to emit of equal to or greater than five (5)
tons per year,] in the aggregate, [of] any of the hazardous
air pollutants (HAP’s) listed in Section 112(b) of the federal
Clean Air Act.

4.1.5 Reserved.
4.2 Record keeping. Any person exempted from the

requirements of Section 4.3 of this Regulation because the
proposed source has emissions below the thresholds
provided for in Section 4.1.4 shall include with the
application submitted pursuant to Regulation No. 2, Section
11.1, documentation that shows the proposed source is
exempted.

4.3 Conditions for Approval.  Any person subject to the
provisions of this Section 4.3 shall meet the appropriate
requirements of 4.3.1 and 4.3.2:

4.3.1 The new stationary source shall, relative to
each pollutant identified in Section 4.1.4, be controlled by
installing and operating emission control technology that
limits emissions to the atmosphere [as follows by utilizing
any one of the following options listed below.] The
Department will assist in the development of appropriate
emission control technology determinations if requested by
the applicant.

4.3.1.1 emission control technology that
meets the LAER requirements of Section 2 of this
Regulation, or

4.3.1.2 emission control technology that
meets the BACT requirements of Section 3 of this
Regulation, or

4.3.1.3 emission control technology approved
in advance by the Department for the source type being
constructed (a listing and description of the approved
technologies is available from the Department), or

4.3.1.4 emission control technology approved
by the Department, on a case-by-case basis, pursuant to the
following process:

4.3.1.4.1 Identify and evaluate air
pollution control technologies that may be applied to the
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source.  The control alternatives need not be limited to
existing controls for the source category.  Consider controls
applied to similar type of sources, innovative control
technologies, modification of the process or process
equipment, other pollution prevention measures, and
combinations of these measures.

4.3.1.4.2 List the control technologies
identified in 4.3.1.4.1 in descending order of air pollution
control effectiveness.

4.3.1.4.3 Either propose the most
effective technology on the list generated under 4.3.1.4.2 for
approval by the Department, or demonstrate, based on the
criteria in a. through d. below,  that the most effective
technology is infeasible or unreasonable.  This process for
evaluation shall be repeated relative to each emission control
technology on the list generated under 4.3.1.4.2 until an
emission control technology is reached that is not
eliminated.

4.3.1.4.3.1 Technological Feasibility
Assessment:  A demonstration that the control technology is
technically infeasible, based on physical, chemical, or
engineering principles, that it is unproven technology,  and/
or that technical difficulties would prevent its successful
application, or

4.3.1.4.3.2 Environmental Impacts
Assessment:  A demonstration that the control technology
should be eliminated from consideration based on its
environmental impacts. The demonstration must show that
the adverse environmental effects of the control technology
(for example, effects on water or land, HAP emissions, or
increased environmental hazards), when compared with its
air contaminant emission reduction benefits, would make
use of the technology unreasonable, or

4.3.1.4.3.3 Economic Impacts
Assessment:  A demonstration that the technology should be
eliminated from consideration based on its calculated
economic impacts using the techniques in the latest edition
of EPA’s Control Cost Manual. The justification must show
that the total and incremental costs of the control technology
are greater than the total and incremental costs of the next
less effective technology on the list generated under
4.2(A)(4)(ii); and that the extra costs, when compared with
the air contaminant emission reduction benefits resulting
from the control technology, would make that measure
unreasonable, or

4.3.1.4.3.4 Energy Impacts
Assessment:  A demonstration that the control technology
should be eliminated from consideration based on its energy
impacts.  The demonstration must show that this technology
uses fuels that are not reliably available; or that the energy
consumed by this technology is greater than the proposed

technology(s), and that the extra energy used, when
compared with the air contaminant emission reduction
benefits resulting from this technology, would make use of
this technology unreasonable;

4.3.2 All of the following information shall be
submitted to the Department as part of the application
submitted to the Department pursuant to Regulation No. 2,
Section 11.1:

4.3.2.1 control technology proposed to be
installed and operated to meet the requirements of  Section
4.3.1 of this Regulation, and

4.3.2.2 the list, if this method was chosen,
generated pursuant to Section 4.3.1.4.2 of this Regulation
and

4.3.2.3 any demonstration(s) performed pursuant
to Section 4.3.1.4.3 of this Regulation.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners
24 DE. Admin. Code 1400

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 1406(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §1406(a)(1)

ORDER

A public hearing was held to receive comments on July
6, 2004 at the regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of
Electrical Examiners. The Board considered changes to its
rules and regulations that were published in the Register of
Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 12 ,  June 1, 2005.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written were received. The verbal comment follows:
Rob Smith of the First State Inspection Agency had
comments related to proposed Rules 14.1 and 14.4. He
questioned who would be responsible for policing the work
performed by homeowners to insure that the homeowner
performed the work as required under proposed Rule 14.1.
He also thought that proposed Rule 14.4 was ambiguous and
he offered language that would clarify the work that a mobile
homeowner could perform under a homeowner’s permit.
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   Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and 

Information

The Board recognized that there was no policing
mechanism for homeowners who obtained permits to do
their own electrical work. The change makes it clear to the
homeowner that he or she is required to do the work with a
homeowner’s permit. There is a statement on the application
that the homeowner signs verifying that he or she is
performing the work.

The Board agrees that Rule 14.4 relating to electrical
work by owners of mobile homes that occupy leased lots
should be clarified as suggested. Proposed Rule 14.4 is
amended to read as follows:

“14.4 A homeowner’s permit issued for a mobile
home on a leased lot authorizes feeder installation
for the mobile home itself and it does not include
the installation or repair of service equipment.”

The Board finds that the proposed amendment is not
substantive but rather a clarification of the proposed rule.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board of Electrical Examiners hereby adopts the
Rules and Regulations as amended to be effective 10 days
following final publication in the Register of Regulations.

                           Text and Citation

The text of the Rules and Regulations appears in the
Register of Regulations at 8 DE Reg 1652 (06-01-05) with
the substitution of the amended Rule 14.4 noted above.

BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS
Jacob Good, President
Shirley Good C. Leroy James
Donald King James Anderson
Steven Dignan Donald Collins

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners

1.0 License Required
1.1 No person shall perform electrical services or

represent themselves as qualified to perform electrical
services  without first having been duly licensed unless
specifically excepted by statute.  24 Del.C. §§1407, 1419

1.2 To perform “electrical services” or “electrical
work” means to plan, estimate, layout, perform, or supervise
the installation, erection, or repair of any electrical

conductor, molding, duct, raceway, conduit, machinery,
apparatus, device, or fixture for the purpose of lighting,
heating, or power in or on any structure or for elevators,
swimming pools, hot tubs, electric signs, air conditioning,
heating, refrigeration, oil burners, and overhead and
underground primary distribution systems.

1.3 A license is not required for servicing equipment in
the fields of heating, air conditioning, refrigeration or
appliances.

1.4 A licensee  under this  chapter shall perform all
electrical services or electrical work in accordance with the
standards established in the National Electric Code (NEC) as
adopted by the Delaware Fire Commission and in any
applicable local building code. The version of the NEC
applicable to a particular project is determined by the
Delaware Fire Commission.

1.5 Every individual who receives a license shall
prominently display the words “Licensed Electrician” and
the license number on the exterior of all vehicles used for
work in not less than three inch letters and numbers.  This
section is satisfied by any abbreviation readily understood to
mean “Licensed Electrician” such as “Lic. Elec.” along with
the license number.

7 DE Reg. 1167 (3/1/04)

7.0 Expiration and Renewal
7.1 Beginning in 2002, all licenses expire June 30 and

biennially every two years thereafter. The biennial licenses
granted by the Board shall automatically terminate on June
30th of each even numbered year or on such other date as is
specified by the Division of Professional Regulation. It is the
responsibility of the licensee to file a renewal application
with the Board.  The failure of the Board to notify a licensee
of his/her expiration date does not in any way relieve the
licensee of the requirements of filing a renewal application
with the Board.

7.2 As a condition of renewal, each applicant must
show proof  of continuing education as required in the Rules
and Regulations. Extra continuing education hours do not
carry over to the next licensing period. Renewal applications
will be audited by the Board for compliance with the
continuing education requirements.

7.3 A license is expired when a licensee has failed to
either complete the requirements for renewal or obtain
permission for  inactive status. A licensee may activate an
expired license within one year of the date the renewal
application was due by meeting all requirements and paying
an additional fee set by the Division of Professional
Regulation.

7.4 A licensee with a valid license may request in
writing to be placed on inactive status. An inactive status can
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be effective for up to two years and renewed biennially by
application to the Division upon proof of 10 hours of
continuing education. Said license may be reactivated by the
Board  upon written request, proof of insurance, and
payment of a prorated fee to be computed by the Division of
Professional Regulation.

7.5 A  licensee is not authorized to work as a licensed
electrician in this State during the period of inactive status.

7.6 An individual whose license has expired for more
than one year must reapply as a new applicant.  Any prior
training and experience satisfies the requirements under 24
Del.C. §1408(a). However, the applicant must take the
examination required by §1408(5) again and achieve a
passing score.

4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)

14.0 Homeowners Permits
14.1 The Division of Professional Regulation is

authorized to issue homeowners’ permits pursuant to an
application process approved by the Board. Generally
homeowner’s permits are not required for replacement in
kind but are required for new construction, renovation, and
any work that requires a building permit. Only owner-
occupants who perform the work themselves qualify for
homeowners’ permits.

14.2 Homeowners’ permits are required for new
construction, renovation, and any work that requires a
building permit.   Generally, homeowners’ permits are not
required for replacement in kind.

14.2 14.3A homeowner shall not be permitted to install
his or her own internal wiring, electrical work or equipment
associated with a hot tub or a swimming pool.

14.4 A homeowner’s permit issued for a mobile
home on a leased lot authorizes [feeder installation for the
mobile home itself and it does not include the installation
or repair of service equipment. electrical services for  the
mobile home itself and does include hook-up to the pole.]

14.5 A homeowner’s permit is not authorized until a
dwelling is on the site or under construction.

14.6 For the purposes of this section, evidence of
homeownership can be a:

14.6.1 deed to the property;
14.6.2 a long term lease, e.g. 99 years, if the site

of the dwelling is part of a community where title to the land
is not conveyed by deed to the homeowner.

14.6.3 the title to a mobile home;
14.6.4 a written contract of sale, signed by the

parties, for a mobile home that includes the names of the
buyer, seller, contract price, date of sale, and identification
number of the mobile home.

14.7 If a homeowner’s permit is approved for a
dwelling on a lot, other structures on the same lot, such as a
non-commercial garage, are also covered unless otherwise
prohibited under this section.

4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Electrical
Examiners is available at: http://dpr.delaware.gov/
boards/electrician/index.shtml.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3100 Board of Funeral Services

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 3105(a)(10) (24 Del.C. §3105(a)(10))

24 DE Admin. Code 3100

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on May 25,
2005  at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board Funeral
Services to receive comments regarding proposed  rule.

The proposed change to Rule 9.4.2 provides for
automatic approval of continuing education offered by the
Academy of Funeral Service Practitioners or a state licensing
board for funeral directors. The proposed change was
published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 9,
March 1, 2005.  The notice for a rescheduling hearing was
published in the Vol. 8,  Issue 10,  April 1, 2005.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written or verbal comments were received.

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and 
Information Submitted

The approval process for continuing education would be
more efficient and predictable if automatic approval were
available under the rules where appropriate. However, the
wording should be clarified. The AFSP ‘approves’
continuing education proposals; it does not ‘offer’
continuing education courses itself.

Rule 9.4.7 should be changed to reflect the practice of
approving continuing education for the licensure period
rather than two years from the date of approval.
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Rule 9.6.6 can be eliminated as redundant.
The Board finds that the changes made are not

substantial and do not require further publication.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulation 9.0
to be effective 10 days following publication of this order in
the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the revised rule is as follows:

9.0 Continuing Education Regulations.
9.4.2 Eligible program providers or

sponsors include but are not limited to, educational
institutions, government agencies, professional or
trade associations and foundations and private
firms. Programs offered approved by the Academy
of Funeral Service Practitioners (AFSP) or state
boards that license funeral directors are
automatically approved.
9.4.7 Approval of CE credits and program
formats by the Committee shall be valid for a
period of two years from the date of approval.  The
CE credits shall be valid for the biennial renewal
cycle in which they are approved. Changes in any
aspect of the approved program shall render the
approval invalid and the presenter will be
responsible for making reapplication to the
Committee.

9.6.6    Programs approved for continuing
education credit by another state funeral board
other than Delaware shall be automatically
approved for all Delaware licensees upon written
application and verification of CE credits by the
applicable state board.

SO ORDERED this 24th day of May, 2005

 BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICES
William J. Doherty II, President 
Lyle Dabson
Bennie Smith
Robert C. Hutchison, Jr.

3100 Board of Funeral Services

9.0 Continuing Education Regulations
9.1 Board Authority

9.1.1 This rule is promulgated under the
authority of 24 Del.C. §3105 which grants the Board  of
Funeral Services (hereinafter “the Board”) authority to
provide for rules for continuing funeral services education as
a prerequisite for license renewal.

9.2 Requirements
9.2.1 Every licensed funeral director in active

practice shall complete at least 10 hours/credits of approved
continuing education (hereinafter "CE") during the two year
licensure period prior to the time of license renewal.  All CE
credit hours must further the licensee’s skills and
understanding in the field of funeral services. Licensees who
earn more than the required amount of CE credit hours
during a given licensure period may carry over no more than
50% of the total CE credit hours required for the next
licensure period.

9.2.2 When a Delaware licensee on inactive
status files a written application to return to active practice
with the Board, the licensee shall submit proof of having
completed the required CE credit hours for the period just
prior to the request to return to active practice.

9.2.3 Upon application for renewal of a license,
a funeral director licensee shall submit to the Board proof of
completing the required number of CE credit hours.

9.3 Waiver of the CE Requirement
9.3.1 The Board has the power to waive any part

of the entire CE requirement for good cause if the licensee
files a written request with the Board. For example,
exemptions to the CE requirement may be granted due to
health or military service. Application for exemption shall be
made in writing to the Board by the applicant for renewal.
The Board shall decide the merits of each individual case at a
regularly scheduled meeting.

9.3.2 Newly licensed funeral directors,
including those newly licensed by reciprocity, are exempt
during the time from initial licensure until the
commencement of the first full licensure period.

9.4 Continuing Education Program Approval
9.4.1 Each contact hour (at least fifty minutes) is

equivalent to 1.0 CE credit hour. One college credit hour is
equivalent to 5 CE credit hours.

9.4.2 Eligible program providers or sponsors
include but are not limited to, educational institutions,
government agencies, professional or trade associations and
foundations and private firms. Programs [approved offered]
by the Academy of Funeral Service Practitioners (AFSP) or
state boards that license funeral directors are automatically
approved. Eligible program providers or sponsors include
but are not limited to, educational institutions, government
agencies, professional or trade associations and foundations
and private firms.
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9.4.3 Sources of CE credits include but are not
limited to the following:

• Programs sponsored by national funeral
service organizations.

• Programs sponsored by state
associations.

• Program provided by local associations.
• Programs provided by suppliers.
• Independent study courses for which

there is an assessment of knowledge.
• College courses.

9.4.4 The recommended areas include but are
not limited to the following:

• Grief counseling
• Professional conduct, business ethics or

legal aspects relating to practice in the profession.
• Business management concepts relating

to delivery of goods and services.
• Technical aspects of the profession.
• Public relations.
• After care counseling.

9.4.5 Application for CE program approval shall
include the following:

9.4.5.1 Date and location.
9.4.5.2 Description of program subject,

material and content.
9.4.5.3 Program schedule to time segments in

subject content areas for which approval of, and
determination of credit is required.

9.4.5.4 Name of instructor(s), background,
expertise.

9.4.5.5 Name and position of person making
request for program approval.

9.4.6 Requests for CE program approval shall
be submitted to the Board on the application provided by the
Board.  Application for approval may be made after the
program; however, if the program is not approved, the
applicant will be notified and no credit given.

9.4.7 [The CE credits shall be valid for the
biennial renewal cycle in which they are approved.
Approval of CE credits and program formats by the
Committee shall be valid for a period of two years from
the date of approval.] Changes in any aspect of the
approved program shall render the approval invalid and the
presenter will be responsible for making reapplication to the
Committee.

9.4.8 Upon request, the Board shall mail a
current list of all previously approved programs.

9.5 Continuing Education Committee
9.5.1 The Board of Funeral Services shall

appoint a committee known as the Continuing Education

Committee. The Committee shall consist of the following
who shall elect a chairperson:

9.5.1.1 One (1) Board member (non-
licensed).

9.5.1.2 One (1) non-Board member who shall
be a licensed funeral director who is owner/operator of a
funeral establishment.

9.5.1.3 One (1) non-Board member who shall
be a licensed funeral director who does not own or operate a
funeral establishment.

9.5.2 Membership on this Committee shall be
on a rotating basis, with each member serving a three year
term and may be eligible for reappointment. The Committee
members shall continue to serve until a new member is
appointed.

9.5.3 The Continuing Education Committee
shall oversee matters pertaining to continuing education and
make recommendations to the Board with regard to approval
of submitted programs for CE by licensees and with regard
to the Board's review of audited licensees. The Board shall
have final approval on all matters.

9.6 Certification of Continuing Education - Verification
and Reporting

9.6.1 The program provider/sponsor has sole
responsibility for the accurate monitoring of program
attendance. Certificates of attendance shall be supplied by
the program provider/sponsor and be distributed only at the
completion of the program.

9.6.2 Verification of completion of an
independent study program will be made with a student
transcript.

9.6.3 The funeral director licensee shall
maintain all original certificates of attendance for CE
programs for the entire licensure period.  Proof shall consist
of completed CE form provided by the Board and shall be
filed with the Board on or before thirty (30) days prior to the
expiration date of the biennial renewal period.

9.6.4 Applications for renewal may be audited
by the Board to determine whether or not the recommended
requirements of continuing education have been met by the
licensee.

9.6.5 If a licensee is found to be non-compliant
in continuing education, the licensee's license shall lapse at
the expiration of the present licensing period. The Board
shall reinstate such license within twelve (12) months of
such lapse upon presentation of satisfactory evidence of
successful completion of continuing education requirements
and upon payment of all fees due.

[9.6.6 Programs approved for continuing
education credit by another state funeral board other
than Delaware shall be automatically approved for all
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Delaware licensees upon written application and
verification of CE credits by the applicable state board.]

5 DE Reg. 606 (9/1/01)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Funeral
Services is available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/funeralservices/
index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners

24 DE Admin. Code 3900
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 3906(1) (24 Del.C. §3906(1))

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on June 20,
2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of
Clinical Social Work Examiners (“the Board”) to receive
comments on its proposal to amend regulation 7.2.1.1
regarding the Definition and Scope of Continuing Education
to add that the Board will accept for continuing education
credit all courses designated for clinical social workers
which are offered by the Clinical Social Work Federation
(CSWF). The proposed regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 11, May 1, 2005.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written comments were received.  
The Board received public comment at the hearing from

Candita Weber. Specifically Ms. Weber questioned whether
the inclusion Clinical Social Work Federation (CSWF) as an
approved provider would exclude a licensee from submitting
for approval continuing education credit for courses offered
by other providers. 

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and 
Information Submitted

Based upon the evidence received, the Board finds the
following facts to be supported by the evidence:

1. There were no written comments submitted in
regard to hearing concerning the proposed amendments to
the Regulations.

2. The Board heard public comment from Candita
Weber.  The addition of the Clinical Social Work Federation
(CSWF) as an authorized provider does not make CSWF the
exclusive provider for continuing education.  Rule 7.2.1
provides that the Board will accept for continuing education
those courses designated for social workers offered by the
Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) and the
National Association of Social Work (NASW) and the
American Psychological Association (APA).  In addition, a
licensee may have any other course evaluated for
acceptability at the time the course is submitted for license
renewal. The Board finds that no change is required to the
proposed regulation as a result of the public comment.

3. The Board proposed to amend regulation 7.2.1.1 in
response to the written request of the CSWF to be designated
as an authorized provider in order to have its courses for
clinical social workers accepted by the Board for continuing
education credit. The CSWF submitted that it is the only
national organization that represents clinical social workers
exclusively and should be approved as an authorized
provider.

4. The Board reviewed the materials submitted by
Abigail P. Grant, MSW, President, CSWF, in support of its
request. The Board proposed to amend regulation 7.2.1.1 to
include CSWF as an approved provider based on its review
of the materials.

5. The Board is persuaded that CSWF is an acceptable
continuing education provider and therefore approves CSWF
as an authorized provider. Courses provided by CSWF will
be accepted for continuing education credit provided they
are designated for clinical social workers and comply with
the remainder of the requirements set forth in Rule 7.2 and
its applicable subparts.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the proposed amendments to
its rules and regulations to be effective 10 days following
publication of this Order in the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the rule remains as published in Register of
Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 11, May 1, 2005, without any
changes and as attached hereto as Exhibit A.

SO ORDERED this 20th day of June, 2005.

BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK
EXAMINERS

Dr. Maria Carroll, Professional Member, President
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Gloria Ho-Ruggiero, Professional Member, Vice
President

Robb H. Carter, Public Member
Ralph F. Robinson, Jr., Professional Member

7.0 Continuing Education
7.1 Required Continuing Education Hours:

7.1.1 Hours Required. All licensees must
complete forty-five (45) hours of continuing education
during each biennial license period. For license periods
beginning January 1, 2005 and thereafter, documentation, as
required by Rule 7.4, of all continuing education hours must
be submitted to the Board for approval by October 31 of
each biennial license period.

7.1.2 Proration.  At the time of the initial license
renewal, some individuals will have been licensed for less
than two (2) years.  Therefore, for these individuals only, the
continuing education hours will be prorated as follows:

License Granted During First Credit Hours
Year Of Licensing Period Required 

January 1 - June 30 35 hours
July 1 - December 31 25 hours

License Granted During Second Credit Hours
Year Of Licensing Period Required

January 1 - June 30 15 hours
July 1 - December 31 5 hours

7.1.3 Hardship.  A candidate for license renewal
may be granted an extension of time in which to complete
continuing education hours upon a showing of good cause.
“Good Cause” may include, but is not limited to, disability,
illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction and
exceptional family responsibilities. Requests for hardship
consideration must be submitted to the Board in writing prior
to the end of the licensing period, along with payment of the
appropriate renewal fee. No extension shall be granted for
more than 120 days after the end of the licensing period.  If
the Board does not have sufficient time to consider and
approve a request for hardship extension prior to the
expiration of the license, the license will lapse upon the
expiration date and be reinstated upon completion of
continuing education pursuant to the hardship exception.

2 DE Reg 775 (11/1/98)
7.2 Definition and Scope of Continuing Education:

7.2.1 Continuing Education is defined to mean
acceptable courses offered by colleges and universities,
televised and internet courses, independent study courses
which have a final exam or paper, workshops, seminars,
conferences and lectures oriented toward the enhancement of

clinical social work practice, values, skills and knowledge,
including self-directed activities as described herein. The
following types of courses are NOT acceptable for credit:
business, computer, financial, administrative or practice
development courses or portions of courses.

7.2.1.1 The Board will accept for continuing
education credit all courses designated for clinical social
workers which are offered by the Association of Social Work
Boards (ASWB), the National Association of Social Work
(NASW), the Clinical Social Work Federation (CSWF) and
the American Psychological Association (APA) approved
providers. Other courses will be evaluated for acceptability
at the time they are submitted for license renewal. The Board
will no longer “pre-approve” continuing education courses.

7.2.1.2 Acceptable Courses, other than those
approved pursuant to Rule 7.2.1.1, shall be courses which:
increase the licensed clinical social worker’s knowledge
about skill in diagnosing and assessing, skill in treating, and/
or skill in preventing mental and emotional disorders,
developmental disabilities and substance abuse; AND are
instructed or presented by persons who have received
specialized graduate-level training in the subject, or who
have no less than two (2) years of practical application or
research experience pertaining to the subject.

7.2.1.2.1 Mental and Emotional
Disorders, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse
are those disorders enumerated and described in the most
current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual including, but not
limited to, the V Codes and the Criteria Sets and Axes
provided for further study.

7.2.2 The Board may, upon request, review and
approve credit for self-directed activities, to a maximum of
10 hours per biennial licensing period.  A licensee must
obtain pre-approval of the Board prior to undertaking the
self-directed activity in order to assure continuing education
credit for the activity.  Any self-directed activity submitted
for approval must include a written proposal outlining the
scope of the activity, the number of continuing education
hours requested, the anticipated completion date(s), the role
of the licensee in the case of multiple participants (e.g.
research) and whether any part of the self-directed activity
has ever been previously approved or submitted for credit by
the same licensee.

7.2.2.1 Self-Directed Activity shall include
teaching, research, preparation and/or presentation of
professional papers and articles, and other activities
specifically approved by the Board, which may include one
or more of the following. The Board shall require
documentation of each activity as noted below:

7.2.2.1.1 Publication of a professional
clinical social work-related book, or initial preparation/
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presentation of a clinical social work-related college or
university course (maximum of 10 hours);

7.2.2.1.1.1 Required documentation
shall be proof of publication, or syllabus of course and
verification that the course was presented.

7.2.2.1.2 Publication of a professional
clinical social work-related article or chapter of a book
(maximum of 5 hours);

7.2.2.1.2.1 Required documentation
shall be reprint of publication(s).

7.2.2.1.3 Initial preparation/
presentation of a professional clinical social work-related
continuing education course/program (maximum of 2 hours,
in addition to number of hours actually attended at the
course/program) (Will only be accepted one time for any
specific program);

7.2.2.1.3.1 Required documentation
shall be outline, syllabus agenda and objectives for course
and verification that the course was presented.

7.2.2.1.4 One year of Field instruction
of graduate students in a Council on Social Work Education-
accredited school program, in a clinical setting (maximum of
2 hours);

7.2.2.1.4.1 Required documentation
shall be a letter of verification from school of social work.

7.2.2.1.5 Participation in formal
clinical staffings at federal, state or local social service
agencies, public school systems or licensed health facilities
and licensed hospitals (maximum of 5 hours);

7.2.2.1.5.1 Required documentation
shall be a signed statement from the agency, school system,
facility or hospital, from a supervisor other than the licensee,
including date and length of staffing.

7.2.3 Any program submitted for continuing
education hours must have been attended during the biennial
licensing period for which it is submitted. Excess credits
may not be carried over to the next licensing period.

7.2.4 An “hour” for purposes of continuing
education credit shall mean 50 (fifty) minutes of instruction
or participation in an appropriate course or program. Meals
and breaks shall be excluded from credit.

7.3 Continuing Education Hourly Requirements:
During each biennial licensing period, licensees

shall complete a minimum of forty-five (45) hours of
continuing education.  At least three (3) of the 45 hours shall
consist of courses acceptable to the Board in the area of
ethics for mental health professionals.

7.4 Continuing Education Reporting and
Documentation

7.4.1 Continuing Education Reporting Periods.

Licenses are valid for 2 year periods, renewing
on January 31 of odd numbered years (e.g. January 31, 2005,
2007).  Continuing education (CE) reporting periods run
from November 1 to October 31 of the preceding two even-
numbered years. Beginning with the January 2005 license
renewal, all required continuing education shall be
completed within the previous two year November to
October period (e.g. between November 1, 2002 and
October 31, 2004 for January 2005 renewal). The Board
shall continue to have the discretion, however, to grant
extensions of time in which to complete continuing
education in cases of hardship, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3912
and Rule 7.1.3.

7.4.2 In order to assure receipt of continuing
education credits, a licensee must complete and submit the
appropriate continuing education form provided by the
Division of Professional Regulation no later than October
31st preceding the start of the next biennial licensing period.

7.4.3 In addition to the form, each licensee must
submit the following documentation as to each course
attended: a certificate of attendance or completion signed by
the presenter and attesting to the number of hours the
licensee attended and identifying the date and location of the
course.

7.4.4 Prior to the end of each renewal period, the
Board shall conduct a random audit of licensees to verify
compliance with continuing education for that renewal
period.  Upon request from the Board, an audited licensee
will be required to submit, in addition to the documents
noted above, copies of agenda, outline and brochure, for
each course submitted for credit.  Originals or photocopies
will be accepted and retained by the Board.  The Board
reserves its right to request additional documentation to
verify CE compliance.

7.4.5 In addition to licensees selected for
random audit, the Board also may request additional
supporting documentation from any licensee whose renewal
materials, as required by Rules 7.4.2 and 7.4.3, raise
questions as to the completion or acceptable content of the
course(s). 

2 DE Reg 1680 (6/1/00)
4 DE Reg 1815 (5/1/01)
7 DE Reg 1667 (6/1/04)
8 DE Reg 880 (12/1/04)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Clinical Social
Work Examiners is available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/socialworkers/
index.shtml
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Board of Parole Mr. Joe F. Garcia 6/28/2009

City of Rehoboth Beach, Alderman The Honorable Michael J. DeFiore 6/24/2005

City of Rehoboth Beach, Assistant Alderman The Honorable Richard S. Contee 6/24/2005

Council on Shell Fisheries, Chair Mr. Leonard Voss, Jr. Pleasure of the
Governor

Council on Shell Fisheries, member Mr. Paul A. Satterfield 3/31/2008

Delaware Code Revisors Mr. Bruce A. Rogers 6/28/2009
Mr. Daniel F. Wolcott, Jr. 6/28/2009

Delaware Institute of Medical Education Vincent Lobo, Jr., D.O. 6/7/2008
& Research, Board of Directors

Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association Ms. Deborah B. Corrado 5/13/2007
Mr. John E. Oliver, Jr. 3/27/2006
R. Dianne Sole, Ed.D. 6/28/2008
Mr. Michael T. Wagner 6/28/2008
Ms. Kathleen H. Wilbur 6/28/2008

Delaware Natural Areas Advisory Council Mr. David J. Athey 6/28/2009
Mr. Terrance L. Higgins 6/30/2009

Delaware Nutrient Management Commission Mr. Andrew H. Manchester 3/15/2008
Mr. Francis J. O’Neill, III 3/15/2008

Delaware Solid Waste Authority Ms. Suzanne C. Moore 6/22/2008

Enhanced 911 Emergency Reporting System The Honorable Finley B. Jones, Jr. 6/28/2008
Service Board

Environmental Appeals Board Mr. Harry E. Hunsicker, III 6/29/2008
Mr. Sebastian A. LaRocca 6/30/2006

Greater Wilmington Convention and Visitors The Honorable Joseph G. DiPinto 6/30/2008
Bureau Mr. Ronald Kosh 6/30/2008
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Merit Employee Relations Board Mr. Paul R. Houck 6/28/2008
Mr. John F. Schmutz 6/28/2008

Merit Employee Relations Board, Chair Ms. Brenda C. Phillips 6/28/2008

New Castle County Board of Elections Mr. William A. Baker 6/28/2009
Mr. Orval L. Foraker, Jr. 6/28/2009
Mr. Noel H. Kuhrt, Jr. 6/28/2009
Ms. Marilynn A. Parks 6/28/2009

Newark Housing Authority Mr. W. David Weddington, Jr. 10/23/2008

Office of Management and Budget, Director The Honorable Jennifer W. Davis Pleasure of the
Governor

Public Integrity Commission Mr. William W. Dailey, Jr. 7/8/2005

State Board of Education, President Ms. Jean W. Allen Pleasure of the
Governor

Sussex County Board of Elections Mr. Paul L. Norton 6/28/2009
Mr. Charles E. Short 6/28/2009

Tax Appeals Board Mr. Steven R. Director 6/28/2008
Ms. Cynthia L. Hughes 6/28/2008

Tax Appeals Board, Chairperson Mr. Todd C. Schiltz 6/28/2008

Town of Bethany Beach, Alderman The Honorable Sally J. Byrne Term to
commence
6/24/2005, and
continue for
one year

Town of Bethany Beach, Deputy Alderman The Honorable Robert G. Dolan Term to
commence
6/24/2005, and
continue for
one year
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005



GOVERNOR’S APPOINTMENTS270

BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Town of Dewey Beach, Alderman The Honorable Marvin Guberman Term to
commence
6/24/2005, and
to expire
6/28/2007

Town of Dewey Beach, Assistant Alderman The Honorable Barry R. Hickman Term to
commence
6/24/2005, and
to expire
6/28/2007

Town of Laurel, Alderman The Honorable Paul H. Sheridan Term to
commence
6/24/2005, and
continuing
pursuant to the
Town of Laurel
charter

Town of Newport, Alderman The Honorable Timothy J. Kucharski Term to
commence
6/24/2005, and
continuing
pursuant to the
Town of
Newport charter

The Honorable Joe Patrick Yeager Term to
commence
6/24/2005, and
continuing
pursuant to the
Town of
Newport charter

Transportation Development and Funding Ms. Lindsay Davis Burnham Pleasure of the
Options Committee Governor

Mr. John J. McMahon, Jr. Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Gerard M. McNesby Pleasure of the
Governor
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Transportation Development and Funding Mr. Scott Rathfon Pleasure of the
Options Committee Governor

Violent Crimes Compensation Board Mr. Stephen L. Manista 6/28/2008

Wastewater Facilities Advisory Council Mr. Lee J. Beetschen 6/28/2008
Mr. Manubhai C. Karia 6/28/2008
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Site Investigation and Restoration Branch

Arsenic Risk Management Proposal Draft Background 
Document

June 22, 2005

Summary

This document reflects a proposal for public comment
by Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) staff, working with other state agency
staff, to establish a cleanup goal for arsenic in soil at
residential settings to background levels–using 11 parts per
million (ppm) as a default background concentration, and to
undertake a significant public participation process to solicit
and use public input before finalizing this cleanup goal. It
has been prepared in response to Governor Ruth Ann
Minner’s June 9, 2005 directive to DNREC Secretary John
A. Hughes to “review…and propose appropriate standards
and policies” for arsenic in soil, focusing on ensuring the
health and safety of Delawareans, and to solicit public input
on the draft arsenic standard prior to adoption. The DNREC
Division of Air and Waste Management staff has prepared
this background document, in collaboration with the
Division of Water Resources (DWR), the Division of Public
Health (DPH), the Department of Agriculture (DDA) and the
Department of Justice (DOJ) as part of DNREC’s response
to Governor Minner’s directive.

This document is intended to support the public
participation process by providing the supporting
information and rationale for DNREC’s proposal. To help
facilitate this public involvement process, it has been drafted
for a general, not a specialized technical audience. As such it
contains background information on scientific issues (e.g.,
chemistry, geology and toxicology of arsenic) and describes
the basis for setting cleanup standards and goals.  After this
background information, the document considers several
policy options for alternative standards, and summarizes the
implications for each option. The document is intended to be
used in combination with discussions between DNREC staff
and interested public to allow for a constructive interaction,
rather than presuming to be a stand-alone document.  Section
5 provides more discussion of the intended public
participation process.

The basis for DNREC’s proposal (See Option C, Section
3.3) to establish a cleanup goal of background concentration,
with a default background of 11 ppm, is the need to reduce
public exposure to Arsenic as low as possible. This proposal
will be effective in draft immediately upon release and in
final form upon adoption by the Secretary of DNREC. For
carcinogens like Arsenic, Delaware law mandates that
standards be set at levels associated with an incremental
lifetime cancer risk increase of one in one hundred thousand

(1/100,000 or 1 x 10
-5

) or at background. Using standard
assumptions about exposure and dose, a background cleanup
goal (11 ppm) could result in a slightly elevated lifetime
cancer risk. DNREC staff and other participating state
agencies do not believe this elevated risk is realistic because
of the number of conservative assumptions on which this
risk-to-dose relationship is based. These assumption include:
all individuals eat the same amount of soil during for their
entire life, that all of the Arsenic to which a person is
exposed is in the most toxic form, and that all the Arsenic is
bioavailable (See Section 1.4 and Section 1.5). Although
these assumptions, adopted from U.S. EPA guidance, may
appear extremely conservative, DNREC believes it is
prudent to consider these assumptions to ensure protection of
human health.

The background default concentration of 11 ppm should
be possible to achieve during cleanups in most situations
because it appears to reflect a midrange of the background
concentrations of Arsenic found in Delaware soils. A
cleanup goal lower than 11 ppm would not be technically
feasible because the background concentrations in Delaware
soils are higher in many situations. The cost implication of
an 11 ppm default background concentration is not yet clear.
It is possible it could result in fewer cleanups being
completed because of the cost to complete each cleanup to
this standard. DNREC staff will continue to collect
information on this issue, but will be implementing cleanups
at residential sites to the goals established, regardless of the
cost. 

This proposal also includes a schedule to review this
standard annually to determine whether there is new
information about the toxicity of Arsenic to ensure the
standard remains adequately protective and compliant with
the legal requirements in Delaware. This review will include
public participation.

1.0 Background Information
In recent months concerns have arisen from staff in the

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC), and the general public, about the recent
Arsenic standard adopted in June 2004. As a result,
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Governor Minner on June 9, 2005, (See Attachment A)
directed DNREC Secretary John Hughes as follows: 

Arsenic is among a number of toxic substances
known to cause cancer and to which our citizens
may be exposed to in their communities and
workplaces. Whether it is derived from industrial or
natural sources, we have a duty to protect our
citizens from harmful exposure to toxic substances,
such as arsenic…. Accordingly, I am directing you
to lead an immediate and expedited review of
standards and policies related to arsenic cleanup.
This review should include:

• Evaluation of the best scientific
information available;

• Public involvement;
• Involvement of other agencies, including

the Department of Public Health and
Social Services; and

• Consideration of standards and policies
used by EPA and other states.

Immediately after the Governor’s tasking, DNREC
Division of Air and Waste Management (DAWM) Director,
James D. Werner convened a meeting of technical and
management staff from DNREC DAWM and the Division of
Water Resources (DWR), the Division of Public Health
(DPH), the Delaware Department of Agriculture (DDA) and
the Department of Justice (DOJ) (see Attachment B for list
of attendees) to scope out the task and develop a cooperative
approach to respond. The group agreed to work together to
review the current standard and policies, per the Governor’s
request. The staff work group also committed to obtaining
and using the best technical and legal input in developing a
proposal, and to subject that proposal to public comment. 

In assessing the June 2004 Interim Standard, the
Delaware state agency staff who met agreed that the DNREC
was remiss in not including public involvement in the
development and adoption of the current standard.  From a
technical perspective, the group agreed that, because the
assumptions used by EPA and scientific bodies in the
development of the risk assessment calculations are
sufficiently conservative1 that the interim standard did not
pose an imminent risk or substantial lack of protectiveness.
Nonetheless, the staff work group agreed that rigorous
technical and legal analysis, with public input was
appropriate to ensure developing a cleanup standard that is
adequately protective of human health and has earned public
confidence. Finally, the staff work group agreed that
whatever standards and policies were developed, it should be

reviewed on a regular basis and include public input. The
June 2004 DNREC Air and Waste Management Division
memorandum articulating an interim policy on Arsenic
included among other things, a timetable for reviewing the
interim policy every six months. Until now, DNREC had not
conducted such a follow-up review.

In addition, the staff level working group quickly
reached consensus on three fundamental principles regarding
the establishment of a new cleanup goal for Arsenic in soil.
The principles must be:

1. Based on adequate public comment and
involvement because of the fundamental policy nature of the
risk choices to be made and, accordingly, the need for public
involvement in decisions that affect them; 

2. Informed by the best available scientific
information and the best available risk assessment advice
from DPH and other scientific sources; and

3. In addition to the Governor’s directive to base a
new standard on the evaluation of the best scientific
information available, public involvement, and consideration
of standards and policies used by EPA and other States, the
agency staff agreed that a new standard must also be
consistent with DNREC’s legal mandate for risk
management.

The staff working group developed a draft outline of the
topics to be covered in the proposed risk management
revision and divided up task assignments.  The group did not
address in detail or resolve the question of what is the scope
of the applicability of whatever standard is proposed and
established (i.e., conversions of industrial sites to residential,
agricultural site conversion, golf courses, etc.). The group

1. “Conservative” is used here to characterize erring, if
anything, on the side of protectiveness. This tendency is
indicated by the use of the so-called “precautionary
principle.” Examples of conservative assumption include the
exposure assumptions that all arsenic is the most toxic
inorganic form in the physical and chemical form that is
most bioavailable (i.e. absorbed by the body and
metabolized), and that all individuals consume through
ingestion (eating) the same amount of soil contaminated with
equal amounts of arsenic. Although some have argued these
assumptions are overly conservative, there are other
assumptions that may be used in the exposure and risk
assessment that are not conservative, such as additive
effective of unidentified contaminants that may be present
but not found, the lack of synergistic effect (greater than the
sum of effects from exposure to two or more contaminants,
like tobacco smoke and asbestos), and genetic variation in
sensitivity of different individuals.
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agreed to seek advice from legal counsel and public input on
the legal framework governing the question of scope and
applicability of the standards and policies.

The general scope of this draft background document is
focused on the issue of establishing a protective and legally
mandated goal for surface soil (approximately 0-6 inches
deep) concentration for Arsenic in residential or unrestricted
land use situations. The proposed action level can be found
in Section 3.6. Other land use situations (e.g., industrial or
commercial) are addressed using risk-based corrective action
guidance, which may include considerations and assumption
about current and future land use. To ensure a manageable
scope for this background document, it does not consider
other potential exposures to Arsenic in food, drinking water
or occupational settings such as deep mining, metal
smelting, etc. The Department sought to write this draft
background document in plain English to maximize its
accessibility to a wide and general audience and help
facilitate an informed public discussion of the topic.

1.1 Arsenic 
The study of toxicology is dominated by the ancient

adage, 

“All Substances are poisons; there is none which is
not a poison.  The right dose differentiates a poison
and a remedy.”2

Arsenic is perhaps the best example of this adage in
practice. A recent National Geographic article referred to
Arsenic as “…the poison of kings and king of
poisons.”3Arsenic is colorless, tasteless and odorless.

Only a small amount of Arsenic can be harmful.
Approximately 70-200 milligrams of Arsenic trioxide can be
fatal. Based on this assumption, an amount of Arsenic
weighing the same as one U.S. nickel (five grams) would
contain 16 to 71 fatal doses. In the United States, the average
daily dietary intake of Arsenic is approximately 30
micrograms, or 0.03 milligrams – approximately 0.04
percent of a fatal dose. Arsenic may enter the food chain

through a variety of natural or unnatural mechanisms, such
as eating shell fish, which have eaten algae in which
naturally-occurring arsenic has accumulated.  Hence, at least
2,000 times the average daily dietary dose in the U.S. would
be required to receive a fatal dose.4

In the 5
th
 Century B.C., Hippocrates used Arsenic to

treat ulcers.  In the 18
th

 Century, Arsenic was an ingredient in
Fowler’s solution, created in 1786, for treatment of psoriasis.

In the early 20
th

 Century, Paul Ehrlich considered the father
of modern chemotherapy, promoted a form of Arsenic
(“Salvarsan”) as the first treatment for syphilis. These
therapies continued in use until the 1940s when they were

replaced by modern antibiotics
5
. The FDA recently

approved Trisenox (Arsenic trioxide) for the treatment of

patients with acute promyelocytic leukemia.
6 

Traces of Arsenic found in the French Emperor
Napoleon’s hair have led to speculation that he died of
Arsenic poisoning, either intentionally or accidentally.
Arsenic was found in the wall paper at his Longwood estate,
which was painted with Scheele’s Green, which contains

copper arsenide.
7 

The recent history of Arsenic in Delaware is one of clear
public concern and need for effective public health
protection. Delawareans have expressed concerns about the
incidence of cancer and the potential link to environmental

causes.
8
 The potential link between Arsenic and cancer has

been raised in the news media and public meetings.9

2. Attributed to Paracelsus, 16
th

 Century German-Swiss
physician and alchemist. See generally, Klaassen, C.D.,
Casarett and Doull, Toxicology, The Basic Science of
Poisons, 5th ed., McGraw-Hill, NY, 1996.

3. Newman, Cathy, “The Poison Paradox: Too Much can
Kill, A Little Can Cure,” National Geographic, May 2005
page 8.

4. Physicians Desk Reference, see http://
www.pdrhealth.com/drug_info/nmdrugprofiles/nutsupdrugs/
ars_0026.shtml, Accessed on June 13, 2005. 

5. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry,
Case Studies in Environmental Medicine: Arsenic Toxicity,
http://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/HEC/CSEM/Arsenic/
exposure_pathways.html, Accessed June 13, 2005. 

6. See http://www.fda.gov/bbs/topics/ANSWERS/
ANS01040.html. Accessed June 13, 2005. 

7. Smith, Roger, Dartmouth Medical School. See http://
www.dartmouth.edu/~toxmetal/TXSHas.htm. Accessed June
13, 2005.
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Arsenic has not been produced in the United States since
1985, although the U.S. continues to be the world’s largest
consumer (21,000 tons in 2003) with most Arsenic being
imported from China.10 Arsenic has been used and
distributed in the environment in a variety of ways. Here are
some examples of Arsenic sources: 

• Chromium Copper Arsenate (CCA) was used to
treat wood to prevent decay and allow wood decks
and fences to last longer, thereby reducing the
number of trees harvested and the labor to replace
the wooden structures. Arsenic was used in CCA
wood treatment for nearly 50 years until a voluntary
phase-out began for residential applications at the

end of 2003.
11 

• Arsenic was used in tanneries to preserve skins
based on the observation that Arsenic killed
bacteria that cause flesh to rot. 

• Arsenic was used as embalming fluid during the
Civil War based on this same principle and has

recently been found in Civil War cemeteries.
12 

• Arsenic is used in chicken feed to prevent disease,
thereby increasing productivity of growing
chickens and reducing costs of food to consumers,
and resulting in the land application of chicken
litter to fertilize farm fields and distribution of
residual Arsenic on land. No widespread soil or
groundwater contamination has yet been identified
from this distribution, however, the University of
Delaware is currently engaged in research to better
understand the fate and transport of Arsenic in the

poultry industry.13 

• Arsenic continues to be an ingredient in many
pesticides and lawn fertilizers (see Table 1). 

• Until recently, Arsenic was used in “maintenance-
free” auto batteries.

• Arsenic is used as an antifriction agent in ball
bearings.

• Gallium Arsenic and indium Arsenic are used in
semiconductors.

Although the selection of a standard for Arsenic is
ultimately a policy issue decided with public involvement
(See Sections 2 and 3), there are a variety of scientific
disciplines that can help form this decision, including: 

• chemistry (what are the different forms of
Arsenic and how is it measured?); 

• geology (where does Arsenic come from in
rocks and soil?); and 

• toxicology (what are the health impacts of
Arsenic exposures and at what dose).

Table 1: Arsenic Content of Some Commercially 
Available Fertilizer Products and Potting Soils14

8. Delaware Division of Public Health/Delaware Health
and Social Services, Delaware Cancer Incidence and
Mortality Rates, April 2005.

9. Montgomery, Jeff, “State considers change in Arsenic
exposure rules,” News Journal, June 8, 2005. 

10. Brooks, William E., “Arsenic”, From USGS Minerals
Yearbook, 2002.

11. See http://www.epa.gov/oppad001/reregistration/cca/
and http://www.cpsc.gov/phth/ccafact.html, June 13, 2005.

12. Konefes, J.L., and McGee, M.K., 1999, Old Cemetaries
Arsenic, and Health”, Cultural Resources Management
Online,

13. Christen, Kris “Chickens, manure, and Arsenic”
Environmental Science and Technology, March 21, 2001.

14. Source: Washington State Dept. of Agriculture: http://
agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Fertilizers/ProductDatabase.htm
Washington State's Law and Rules Governing Metals in
Fertilizers, Minerals, and Lime: http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/
Fertilizers/LawsRules.htm Association of American Plant
Food Control Officials (AAPFCO) Policy Regarding Metals
in Fertilizers:http://www.aapfco.org/metals.htm 

Arsenic
Concentration

Product Name 
(parts per 
million) 

Schultz Professional Potting Soil 
Plus/African Violets & Blooming 
Plants 0.08-0.14-0.09 

128 

Scotts All-Purpose Plant Food 18-13-
13 

50.9 

Schultz Professional Potting Soil Plus 
0.08-0.12-0.08 

34.55 
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1.2 Arsenic Chemistry
Arsenic, a naturally occurring element, is found

throughout the environment.  Arsenic is found in two forms:
organic and inorganic.

Generally, Arsenic combined with elements such as
oxygen, chlorine and sulfur forms inorganic Arsenic
compounds. Examples of inorganic Arsenic compounds
include, but are not limited to, Arsenic pentoxide and
trioxide. The pentoxide form of inorganic Arsenic is referred
to as arsenate [As (V)] and is relatively immobile in soil.
The trioxide form of inorganic Arsenic is referred to as
arsenite [As (III)] and is relatively mobile in soil.  A United
States Geological Survey (USGS) and New Jersey
Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP) study
found arsenite concentrations of more than 100 ppm in soil
at depths of 100 cm (approximately 3 feet). Generally,
Arsenic combined with carbon and hydrogen forms organic
Arsenic compounds. Examples of organic Arsenic include,
but are not limited to, arsanilic acid, arsenobetaine and
dimethylarsinic acid.

Environmental Arsenic testing is conducted in the field
or in a fixed laboratory as a measurement of total Arsenic.
There are many test procedures used to calculate the
concentration of total Arsenic in the environment. The most
common test procedures utilized to test for Arsenic are:
Atomic Absorption (AA), Inductive Coupled Plasma (ICP)
and X-ray Fluorescence (XRF).  XRF and AA/ICP are US
EPA approved methods and the results received are equally
accurate and precise. Only a qualified professional can

interpret and compare the variations and similarities between
the two methods.  Arsenic risk values (see Table 2) are based
on receiving AA/ICP results. Therefore, the AA/ICP results
are generally used in performing risk assessments. The cost
for performing AA/ICP analysis is much higher than XRF.
Therefore, XRF data is used as a screening analysis for
conducting site evaluations because of cost considerations.

The Standard Operating Procedure for Chemical
Analytical Programs (SOPCAP) under the Hazardous
Substance Cleanup Act provides detailed policy for the
analysis of environmental samples and the use of XRF as a
screening tool.

Table 2: Variations in Arsenic Risk Management State
Reference Residential Use Non-Residential Use

1.3 Geology of Arsenic 

Schultz Multicote Time Release 
Outdoor Plant Food 17-17-17 

28.2 

Schultz Enriched Garden Soil for 
Flowers & Vegetables 0.5-.10-.05 

25.57 

Ace Premium Starter Fertilizer 18-
29-6 

14.6 

Lesco Polyvex Professional Turf 
Fertilizer 18-24-12 

11.68 

Ortho Rosepride Flower & Rose 
Enhanced 12 Week Fertilizer 15-5-10 

13.1 

Schultz Bulb Plus Potting & Planting 
Mix Time Release 0.08-0.16-0.08 11.5 

Ace Green Turf Starter Fertilizer 20-
27-5 

10.8 

Bayer Advanced Lawn Season-Long 
Grub Control w/ Fertilizer 12-18-6 

10.5 

Ace Acid Loving Plant Food 30-10-
30 10 

West Virginia Voluntary Cleanup
Program Based on
Default
Background (See
Table 3) 

13 mg/Kg (ppm) Not Applicable 

New Jersey Cleanup Standard
May 1999 

20 mg/Kg or Site
Specific
Background and
Risk Assessment 

20mg/Kg or Site
Specific
Background and
Risk Assessment 

Maryland Soil Cleanup
Standard August
2001 

2 mg/Kg or Site
Specific/Default
background and
Risk Assessment
(See Table 3) 

3.8 mg/Kg or Site
Specific/Default
Background and
Risk Assessment
(See Table 3) 

New York Soil Cleanup
Objective 

7.5 mg/Kg or Site
Specific or
Default
Background (See
Table 3) 

Not Applicable 

US EPA Soil Screening
Values April 2005 

0.43 mg/Kg or
Site Specific
Background and
Risk Assessment
(See Table 3) 

1.9 mg/Kg or Site
Specific
Background and
Risk Assessment
(See Table 3) 

Delaware Delaware Uniform
Risk Based
Standard (Soil
Screening Value) 

See USEPA
above 

See USEPA above 

Virginia Lowest Soil
Screening Value 

5.8 mg/Kg or Site
Specific/default
background and
Risk Assessment 

5.8 mg/Kg or Site
Specific/default
Background and
Risk Assessment 

Pennsylvania Direct Contact
Medium Specific
Concentration In
Soil 

12 mg/Kg or site
specific
background and
Risk Assessment 

53 mg/Kg or Site
specific
background and
Risk Assessment 
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Two regional geologic provinces are present in
Delaware. The northern part of the state, north of a line
extending between Newark and Wilmington, is underlain by
the igneous and metamorphic bedrock of the Appalachian
Piedmont Province. South of the Newark-Wilmington line,
the remainder of the surface deposits of the state lie within
the Atlantic Coastal Plain Province. The two provinces are
very different in age, in the way they formed, and in the

types of rocks they contain.
15 

The Piedmont Province consists of very old (480
million years of age) “hard rock” or crystalline metamorphic
bedrock which is generally of two distinct types; (1) the
Wilmington Complex and (2) the Glenarm Series. These
rocks formed from shallow coastal sediments behind a
volcanic island chain that was subjected to plate deformation
causing high-grade heat and pressure.16,17

The Coastal Plain Province consists of a seaward-
thickening wedge of sedimentary rocks and unconsolidated
sediments from 120 million years of age to recently formed
marsh deposits. This wedge of gravel, sand, silt, and clay
thickens from 0 feet thick to nearly 8,000 feet thick at the
southern border of Delaware. These sediments came from
two sources; (1) non-marine sediments eroded from the
Piedmont and the Appalachian Mountains and carried by
streams to the coast, and (2) marine sediments that were
deposited from the ocean at times when global sea level were

high.
18

There has been no comprehensive study of the
relationship between the rocks of the Delaware Piedmont
and the naturally-occurring Arsenic in the soil.  There are a
number of methods used to help determine “background”
(natural and other) concentrations of arsenic, which are
described in Attachment D and summarized here. One
method for determining natural background is to analyze
arsenic concentrations in soil deep below the ground surface,

which can be obtained from “borrow pits” where clean soil is
excavated for use as clean fill elsewhere.  The minerals that
predominate in the Piedmont rocks are not generally
considered Arsenic bearing but the composition of in-place
piedmont soils indicate that they do contain trace amounts of
Arsenic.  The borrow pit samples were obtained from an area
where there was no evidence of prior excavation or disposal.
The use of deep soil for determining natural background
concentrations of arsenic is a valid method if there is no
mechanism for arsenic to have migrated to the deep soil.
Also, the arsenic is not likely to have migrated down into
deep soils because the science indicates that arsenic does not
migrate through soil except for very short distances and
usually at only high source soil concentrations.

Soil samples collected from borrow pits in New Castle
County near Concord Pike (Rt. 202 and I-95) approximately
30-50 feet below ground surface have been found to have
Arsenic concentrations ranging from 3 to 18 parts per
million (ppm) and a median of approximately 10 ppm (See
Table 3). The source of Arsenic is probably from a
Glauconite green sand layer formed millions of years ago.
Arsenic was part of the combination of the original elements
contained on Earth when the planet was formed
approximately 4.5 billion years ago. Over the billions of
years, arsenic has subsequently been redistributed by a
variety of normal geologic events including volcanic
eruptions.

Table 3: Borrow Pit Soil New Castle County
19 

15. Delaware Geological Survey, 1966, Generalized
Geologic Map of Delaware.

16. Delaware Geological Survey, 1966, Generalized
Geologic Map of Delaware.

17. Delaware Geological Survey, 2000, Bedrock Geology of
the Piedmont of Delaware and Adjacent Pennsylvania,
Report Of Investigation No. 59 with accompanying
Geologic Map No. 10.

18. Delaware Geological Survey, 1966, Generalized
Geologic Map of Delaware.

19. Riverfront Headquarters Site (unused borrow source),
May 2004.

Sample ID Sample Date Arsenic Result 
mg/Kg (ppm) 

G1 5/6/04 14.0 
G2 5/6/04 11.0 
G3 5/6/04 9.5 
G4 5/6/04 6.7 
G5 5/6/04 18.0 
G6 5/6/04 10.0 
G7 5/6/04 5.8 
G8 5/6/04 7.6 
G9 5/6/04 3.3 
G10 5/6/04 4.9 
G11 5/6/04 5.6 
G12 5/6/04 13.0 
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There is evidence for a relationship between the type of
geologic unit and the Arsenic soil concentration in the soil
found in the Coastal Plain. The geologic creation of arsenic-
bearing glauconite is the result of depositions of algae that
take up, metabolize, and retain Arsenic in surface waters.
When the algae dies and settles to the bottom, the Arsenic in
the dead algae becomes part of the deposit. When this
process happens over thousands of years, the Arsenic will
accumulate in estuaries, which are now geologically mapped
as Glauconite or greensands.  Glauconite is dull green iron-
silicate mica mineral found in shallow marine sediments.
Bands of Glauconite are found in some of the Coastal Plain
of New Jersey and southern New Castle County, Delaware,
and in the deeper units in southern Delaware. The soils that
form over these glauconite-containing units, called
"greensands", are highly productive agriculturally and have

been determined to contain naturally-occurring Arsenic.
20 

A study by Dooley analyzed the composition of
naturally occurring New Jersey greensands at seven sites,
reporting a range of 7 to 31 mg/Kg (ppm) of Arsenic.
Therefore, it has been shown that greensand soils contain
Arsenic as "natural background". Greensands soils have
been used as a soil amendment to improve productivity in
other less productive areas (areas not mapped as having
Glauconite deposits). As a result, it is likely that Arsenic
containing Glauconite Greensands are now more widespread

than the geologic mapping would indicate.
21

The USGS reported Arsenic levels of 4.8 to 23 mg/Kg
(ppm) in samples of stream sediments from the Lower
Susquehanna River. Similar amounts of Arsenic were found
in another USGS study in which the average arsenic soil
concentrations were reported as 8.3 mg/Kg for New Castle
County, 4.6 mg/Kg for Kent County, and 4.9 mg/Kg (ppm)

for Sussex County.
22 

A 1993 DNREC study found a similar distribution with
average background concentrations of 10.6 mg/Kg in New
Castle County, 7.8 mg/Kg in Kent County, and 8.7 mg/Kg in
Sussex County. The maximum background reported was

48mg/Kg (ppm).
23 

1.4 Toxicology of Arsenic 
The toxicology of Arsenic mainly depends on its

chemical and physical form, exposure route and dose. The
most toxic form of Arsenic is the inorganic form not its
organic form.  Among the forms of inorganic Arsenic the
trioxide [As (III)] form, with a valence state (electronic
charge) of 3, is more toxic than the pentaoxide form [As
(V)], which has a valence state of 5.  Some research has
demonstrated circumstances in which the organic form of

Arsenic is converted to the inorganic form.
24

 The type
Arsenic, As (III) and/or As (V) in soil depends on the
exposed environmental conditions (whether in an oxygen
rich or depleted environment, the amount total organic
carbon, and the ph of soil) that effect the Arsenic form.
Generally, the Arsenate [As (V)] is the most common
oxidized form of Arsenic in soil. Arsenic strongly sorbs to
iron and hydroxides on soil particles. In addition, sandy
particles have a lower capacity to sorb Arsenic than clay and
silt and therefore usually have less Arsenic content.

The Food and Drug Administration established
standards for the concentrations of Arsenic in chickens,
turkeys and swine, which are often fed pharmaceutical feed
containing roxarsone, of 2 ppm in uncooked edible
byproducts and 0.5 ppm in uncooked muscle tissue and

eggs.
25 

The International Agency for Research on Cancer
(IARC) review has identified Arsenic as a carcinogen with

G13 5/6/04 14.0 
G14 5/6/04 13.0 
G15 5/6/04 13.0 

20. Department of Ecology, Evolution and Natural
Resources, Rutgers University, 2002, Greensand and
Greensand Soils of New Jersey, A Review

21. Dooley, J.H., 2001, Baseline Concentrations of Arsenic,
Beryllium, and Associated Elements in Glauconite and
Glauconite Soils in the New Jersey Coastal Plain, New
Jersey Geological Survey, Trenton. 238 pgs.

22.  U.S. Geological Survey, 1984, Element Concentrations
in Soils and Other Surficial Materials of the Conterminous
United States, Professional Paper No. 1270.
23. State of Delaware, Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control, Division of Air and Waste
Management, Underground Storage Tank Branch, 1993,
Meet Groot, Inorganic Background Concentrations for
Delaware Soils.

24.  B. P. Jackson, P. M. Bertsch, M. L. Cabrera, J. J.
Camberato, J. C. Seaman, and C. W. Wood, “Trace Element
Speciation in Poultry Litter”, J. Environ. Qual. 2003 32:
535-540.
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“Human Sufficient Evidence.”
26

 A common toxicology
reference refers to Arsenic as a “Confirmed human

carcinogen producing liver tumors.”
27 

Arsenic in drinking

water is associated with bladder cancer.
28 

Symptoms from Arsenic exposure include
hyperkeratosis, blackfoot disease, myocardial ischemia, liver
dysfunction, epithelioma, and several cancers. The major
risk from exposure to Arsenic is not from inhalation, but

rather by ingestion.
29 

1.5 Human Health Risk Assessment for Arsenic in Soil 
Human Health Risk Assessment is a process to estimate

the chance that a person will be harmed now or in the future
if that person comes in contact with chemicals (for example
Arsenic) present in a property (site). This process produces
numbers that show how great (or small) the risks may be.
For example, a conservative risk assessment would indicate
that an individual living on a residential property for 30
years with 4 ppm (mg/Kg) of Arsenic in soil and ingesting
(eating) 200 mg of soil as a child and 100 mg of soil as an
adult each day for 350 days per year for 30 years will have a
chance of developing cancer somewhere between zero and
one in 100,000. For non-cancer health risk the acceptable
standard is expressed as Hazard Index (HI) of one (1). The
hazard quotient of 1 is the ratio of a representative site
concentration in soil to that of a reference dose concentration
determined to have non-cancer health effects. The HI of 1 for
arsenic is 23 ppm, which is based on the assumption that a
child age 1-6 years in a residential setting will ingest 200
mg/day of soil.

There is significant conservatism built into the risk
assessment process. One of the assumptions is that 100% of

the Arsenic in the soil ingested by an individual will be
absorbed by the human body (bioavailability). The USEPA
Risk Assessment Guidance for Superfund (RAGS) Volume 1
Human Health Evaluation Manual (1989) includes a
discussion of determining the relative bioavailability of a

chemical in the media of interest such as soil.
30 

The
bioavailability of a chemical in a soil matrix is influenced by
many factors including the physical and chemical interaction
with the matrix, in addition to the solubility and biological
factors.  For arsenic the oral toxicity factor that predicts the
potential for causing cancer is based on humans ingesting
arsenic in drinking water over long periods of time in
Taiwan. These people experienced an increase in non-fatal
skin cancers as compared to a group of people that did not
ingest arsenic in drinking water. In this study, the arsenic is
assumed to be 100% bioavailable for uptake into the
gastrointestinal tract and the bloodstream. Arsenic in
drinking water is present in a soluble form and therefore the
bioavailability is high.

The arsenic present in soil is non water-soluble and
binds to the soil matrix so less arsenic is available to be

absorbed in human body.  A recent study by Roberts et. al.
31

showed that only about 10% to 25% of the Arsenic in soil
was absorbed by monkeys when they were fed arsenic
contaminated soil. The State of Florida Department of
Environmental Protection (FDEP) has also published a

study
32 with extensive research by the University of Florida

to determine the relative bioavailability for arsenic in soil as
compared to the high bioavailability of arsenic in drinking
water. FDEP used this information to recently make a
protective science-based policy decision to adopt the default

25.  21 CFR 556.60

26. http://www-cie.iarc.fr/monoeval/crthgr01.html 

27. Lewis, Richard J. (Ed.) “Carcinogenetically Active
chemicals”, VanNostrand Reinhold, New York, 1991.
(Arsenic, ARA750, CAS7440-38-2) 

28. 65 Fed. Reg. 24488 (April 26, 2000).

29. Bhama, Rupinder K., and Max Costa, “Trace Elements,
Al, As, Cd, Hg and Ni”, in Environmental Toxicants: Human
Exposure and Their Health Effects, (Morton Lippman, Ed.)
VanNostrand Reinhold, New York, 1992. at page 583. 

30. USEPA (United States Environmental Protection
Agency) (1989) Risk Assessment Guidance for Superfund.
Volume 1, Human Health Evaluation Manual (Part A),
Office of Emergency and Remedial Response, Washington,
DC 

31. Roberts, S.M., Weimer, W.R.,Vinson, J.R.T., Munson,
J.W., and Bergeron, R.J.  2002. Measurement of Arsenic
Bioavailability on Soil Using a Primate Model. Tox. Sci.,
67:303-310.

32.  Methodology Focus Group, Contaminated Soils Forum,
(2003) Arsenic Bioavailability from Florida Soils:
Uncertainty Evaluation of the University of Florida/Florida
Department of Environmental Protection Study, January 8,
2003.
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relative oral bioavailability factor of 33%, as a worst case
risk assessment where there is potential for individuals to
ingest arsenic in soil. This was implemented in February
2005.33

If DNREC were to utilize 33% as the factor to reflect
the worst case bioavailability for arsenic in Delaware soil,
the result would be a three-fold increase in the soil standard
for arsenic to 12 ppm for 1 in 100,000 cancer risk level (1 x

10
-5

).

Other conservative assumptions:
Exposure Assumptions used by DNREC for Arsenic in

soil is the worst case scenario which assumes that a child
resident will ingest 200 mg of soil and an adult resident will
ingest 100 mg of soil 350 days/year for a total of thirty years.
This does not include a pica child.

Toxicity Assessment looks at how much of a substance
causes what kind of harm to humans. Toxicity to humans is
not usually measured directly by intentionally exposing
people, for obvious ethical reasons. Rather it is determined
indirectly, usually by extrapolation of animal studies to
humans. Many conservative assumptions are made which
include:

• The effects of size and biological differences
between animals and humans.

• The effects of high doses fed the test animals
versus the low dose humans usually encounter
in their environment.

It is apparent from the discussion that uncertainties are
inherent in the toxicity assumptions. 

2.0 Basis for Setting Cleanup Goals and Standards 

2.1 Arsenic Standard Setting Process 
The process for selecting a soil concentration action

level is ultimately a policy choice – a decision to be made
with public involvement. The public has a fundamental right
to be involved in decisions that could affect them. The
decisions can and should be informed by good science and
engineering, and much of this background document seeks
to provide that information in a clearly accessible manner.
Nonetheless, despite this sea of scientific information,
however deep and carefully plumbed, the decision remains a

policy choice. Hence, the process used by DNREC’s Air and
Waste Management Division will be focused on a
constructive public involvement process, using the following
steps:

1. Develop a background document and proposed
revision for internal and interagency review.

2. Develop a public involvement plan, ensuring
adequate opportunities for meaningful input from a variety
of stakeholders, including various Department Advisory
Committees and representatives of all interested parties.

3. Conduct public workshops to present and accept
comments on the draft revision to the Arsenic action level
and the supporting documentation.

4. Based on the workshop comments and the advisory
committee inputs, develop a policy for signature by the
Division Director, after review by other cooperating DNREC
divisions and state agencies (DHHS/DPH, DDA, DELDOT).

5. Implement the policy with adequate opportunities
for public oversight and involvement to ensure it is being
implemented fairly.

6. Review and revise as necessary the action level to
ensure it is keeping pace with new scientific research
developments and to determine whether there are any
implementation issues arising.

2.2 What Dose of Arsenic Causes Health Impacts?
The dose of arsenic34 causing a health impact depends

on a variety of factors, including:

• The chemical form of the Arsenic (e.g., organic
versus inorganic);

• The person being exposed (children are more
sensitive than adults);

• The route of exposure; and
• The type of health impacts being examined.

33. University of Florida, Center for Environmental and
Human Toxicology, (2005) Technical Report: Development
of Cleanup Target Levels (CTLs) for Chapter 62-777,
F.A.C., February 2005. 

34. The “dose” is the technical term used to described the
amount of a substance ingested (i.e., a persons eats or drinks)
or inhales, measured by weight such as milligrams, in
contrast to the concentration, which is a ratio of weights,
such as ppm). A cleanup goal or standard is typically
expressed in term of a concentration, based on information
about the dose known to cause a heath impact, using simple
mathematical relationships and assumptions about the
amount of water a persons drinks with contaminant, the
amount of air a persons breathes or the amount of soil a
persons eats, which are based on scientific studies about
human physiology and behavior. 
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The prudent and most conservative (i.e., most
protective) basis for evaluating health impacts from
exposure to toxic substances are to focus on the health
impacts that occur at the lowest dose. In the case of Arsenic,
no lower threshold is recognized by EPA’s Science Advisory

Board
35 

– i.e., some risk of cancer exists for virtually any
Arsenic exposure.  Hence, exposure standards for
carcinogens like Arsenic are expressed in terms of the
lifetime probability of dying of cancer, such as one chance in
a million or one in ten thousand.

The underlying statute governing the Department
mandate to protect human health and the environment
regarding hazardous substances such as Arsenic is the
Hazardous Substance Cleanup Act (HSCA), 7 Del.C.

Chapter 91 law.
36

 The HSCA regulations require that the
Department perform cleanup activities to achieve standards
that are protective of cancer risks using a lifetime cancer risk
probability of 1/100,000 or, in loose scientific notation, 1 x

10
-5 

. In the case of Arsenic, however, the background
concentrations of Arsenic averages approximately 11 ppm
(with a range of up to 25-30 ppm), which is more than
double the soil concentration (4 ppm) associated with a risk

level of 10
-5

 for residential properties. The law and
regulations directs that, in cases where the background
concentration is higher than the concentrations associated

with a risk level of 10
-5

, then the background concentration
shall be the cleanup goal for residential properties.

In addition to cancer, Arsenic is known to cause a
variety of non-cancer effects, including neurological
dysfunction. For non-cancer health risk, the acceptable
standard is expressed as Hazard Index (HI) of 1. The hazard
index of 1 is the ratio of a representative site concentration in
soil to that of a reference dose concentration determined to

have non-cancer health effects.  The HI of 1 for arsenic is 23
ppm, which is based on the assumption that a child age 1-6
years in a residential setting will ingest 200 mg/day of soil.

2.3 Legal Mandate for Protecting Public Health
DNREC’s legal mandate and authority for establishing

action levels for soil cleanup (including Arsenic) to protect

public health is based on the HSCA,
37

 including the

authority to promulgate regulations.
38

 (See Attachment C).
The law directs DNREC to establish procedures “for

identifying cleanup levels based on site specific risks.”
39

The HSCA regulations provide a limited basis for
considering cost as well as “background” concentrations,
which allows for some consideration of technical
practicability (i.e., can it be achieved realistically using
available technology) in the law. 

The Secretary of DNREC has promulgated regulations
under this HSCA authority to establish procedures for
determining cleanup levels for releases of hazardous
substances, which includes: 

All remedies performed under these regulations
shall attain a degree of cleanup of hazardous
substances and control of further releases of
hazardous substances that ensures protection of
public health, welfare, and the environment. The
cleanup levels will be determined using a risk-
based approach on a site specific basis.  The risk-
based approach may include consideration of
existing and likely future uses of the facility and

related natural resources.
 40

Accordingly, control of future land use is essential to the
protectiveness of the remedy in cases where a cleanup

assumes a future land use other than “unrestricted.”
41 

The statute governing the Department mandate to
protect human health and the environment regarding

35.   This so-called “Linear No-threshold Dose-Response”
assumption is sometimes criticized as too conservative, and
unrealistic. An alternative argument is that the
conservativism in this assumption is not contradicted by any
clear evidence, and that Arsenic is but one of a variety of
carcinogens a person may be exposed to that may have an
additive effect and consequently result in a higher
probability of cancer, and in some cases these multiple
exposures may have a synergistic effect where the cancer
risk is higher than what would be expected by the simple
additive effect of being exposed to two carcinogens
simultaneously (e.g., asbestos exposure and tobacco smoke)

36. 7 Del.C. Chapter 91

37.  7 Del.C. Chapter 91

38.  Section 9104(a)(2)

39. Section 9104(b)(2)(g)

40. “Regulations Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup”
at Subsection 9.1(1). 
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hazardous substances such as Arsenic is the HSCA 7 Del.C.
Chapter 91.  Section 9.4 of the HSCA regulations sets out a
risk-based approach for establishing soil cleanup levels, and
it identifies two types of risk to human health which must be
protected: cancer risks and non cancer risks. The cancer risk

level established in Subsection 9.4(2) is “10
-05

” (also

expressed as 10
-5

) which is defined in Subsection 2.1 to
mean “the potential risk for one additional cancer death
caused by exposure to a carcinogen in a human population of
100,000 in a lifetime.” 

The HSCA regulations require that the Department
perform cleanup to achieve levels that are protective of
cancer risks using a lifetime cancer risk probability of 1/

100,000 or, in loose scientific notation, 10
-5 

. However, when
the background concentration of a hazardous substance is

higher than the 10
-5

 risk level, the regulations require that the
background concentrations be used as the cleanup level.  In
the case of Arsenic, the background concentrations of
Arsenic average approximately 11 ppm (with a range of up
to 25-30 ppm) as discussed in Section 1.3 and Attachment D.
Consequently, because the observed background
concentration is higher than the concentrations associated
(using standard dose and exposure assumptions) with a risk

level of 10
-5 

(or a 4 ppm concentration for residential
properties), the law directs DNREC to use background
concentrations as a cleanup goal.

The law appears clear on this issue, and this is the
direction DNREC staff will follow in conducting and
overseeing cleanups: remove contaminated soil until a
residual concentration is achieved that is equivalent to the
local natural background for the area where possible. A
“default background” concentration of 11 ppm should be
used in cases where the guidance or historic contamination
does not allow for a meaningful determination of
background that is adequately protective. 

2.4 Standards used by USEPA and other states 
Several methods are used to determine cleanup

standards.  Some states call these standards screening values,
other use default/site-specific background and/or site
specific risk assessments and/or some combination of the
above. Table 2 illustrates the various risk management

strategies (Arsenic standard application) by the USEPA and
states throughout the region.

Some examples of cleanup goals in certain western sites
where industrial contamination has occurred (e.g., ASARCO
smelter in Tacoma Washington) include residential land use
cleanup of 100 ppm. In Anaconda, Montana, EPA uses
residential cleanup concentrations of 250 pm Arsenic.

In the District of Columbia, a panel recommends the
adoption of the 20 ppm remediation level as proposed by the
USEPA. The Panel believes that the 20 ppm remediation

level should not pose a health hazard to the community.
42 

Many states, however, seek to reduce Arsenic
concentrations to default or site specific background levels.
Table 4 illustrates the default or site specific background
value used by various states throughout the region. It is
important to note that federal law and Delaware regulations
do not require site cleanup below the background level.

Determining an Arsenic cleanup standard or goal is a
difficult task, the flow chart below outlines Delaware’s
Arsenic risk management strategy for the selection of a
cleanup standard.

Table 4: State Specific Default Arsenic Background 

Level/Range
43 

Arsenic Management Strategy 

(Flowchart graphic not supported. Contact either 
DNREC or the Registrar’s office for a copy)

2.5 Environmental Justice Considerations 

41.  Delaware legislators are now considering a bill to
establish a “Uniform Environmental Covenants Act” to
provide a state statutory basis for controlling future land use
through enforceable restrictive covenants, which proscribe
certain activity and use limitations.  See S.B. 112. 

42. Report Of The District Of Columbia Mayor’s Spring
Valley Scientific Advisory Panel, June 2001. 

43. Soil Remediation for Natural Background, Historic Fill,
Barry Fraco, NJDEP, 08/12/04.

State Arsenic (mg/Kg or ppm) 
Delaware 11 average background 
West Virginia 13 default background 
New York 3-12 background range 
Maryland 3.6-11 background range 
Virginia 2.6-17 background range 
Pennsylvania Site Specific 
New Jersey 8 (75th Percentile) 
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The USEPA defines environmental justice (EJ) as the
fair treatment for people of all races, cultures, and incomes,
regarding the development of environmental laws,

regulations and policies.
44

DNREC has adopted this
definition and policy and strives to implement cleanup
strategies equitably in all communities throughout the State
with explicit attention to ensuring adequate protection and
public participation in situations where disadvantaged
populations may bear a disproportionate amount of adverse
environmental health effects from pollution. The Department
ensures that facilities and environmental sites are held to the
same standards throughout the State.

In determining safe cleanup standards for Arsenic, EJ
considerations are of paramount importance. Diverse
communities are often located in older neighborhood once
home to early Delaware industry, including tanneries. For
this reasons, it is extremely important that the process of
determining “background” concentrations do not result in a
less protective cleanup goal being used, simply because of a
generally higher level of Arsenic not of natural origin. In
other words, citizens should not be given any less protection
simply because they live in old industrial neighborhood.
This would not only be intolerably unjust, but would defeat
the very purpose for which the environmental cleanup
program is focused – to cleanup contaminated sites and
make communities safe and livable.

To assure that the legacy of higher concentrations of
arsenic that might occur in the soil of these communities
does not result in less protective cleanup standards, DNREC
staff will not use the “background” determination process
prescribed in guidance for a local area unless an area can be
found that is not impacted by historic contamination. If no
un-impacted area can be found, a cleanup goal of 11 ppm,
the average background concentration of Delaware soil, will
be utilized. It is a Department priority to make
environmental justice considerations paramount in these
communities.

3.0 Policy Choices 
There is no objectively “correct” soil concentration

standard based solely on scientific and engineering
information, although this information can certainly be
useful. The selection of a soil concentrations action level and
cleanup goal is ultimately a policy choice – a decision to be
made with public involvement with as much public
transparency as possible. The public has a fundamental right
to be involved in decisions that could affect them. The

decisions can and should be informed by good science and
engineering, and much of this background document seeks
to provide that information is a clearly accessible manner.
Nonetheless, despite this sea of scientific information,
however deep and carefully plumbed, the decision remains a
policy choice. Hence, this section presents a series of
possible concentrations and the implications to help inform a
policy dialogue and allow for meaningful public
involvement.

3.1 Option A - 0.4 ppm 
Using standard risk assessment exposure assumptions

(e.g., how much soil a child or adult eats,
45

) a soil

concentration of 0.4 ppm would result in an incremental
46

lifetime
47

 cancer risk increase of one in a million. This risk
probability (1/1,000,000) is on the conservative end of the
spectrum for “acceptable risks” that have been selected in
the United Sates during the past 35 years of environmental
policy making. Generally, environmental policy decisions in
the U.S. have selected risks ranging from a high end risk of
one in ten thousand (1/10,000) to one in a million (1/
1,000,000). This risk-to-dose relationship (i.e., 0.4 ppm
equals 1/1,000,000) also assumes that all of the Arsenic to
which a person is exposed is the Arsenic in the most toxic
form (i.e., it is inorganic Arsenic not organic Arsenic), and
that the inorganic Arsenic is all trioxide [As (III) with a
valence state (electronic charge) of 3], although some
Arsenic exists in organic form and some inorganic Arsenic
has a valence state of 5 [As(V)] or pentaoxide), rather than 3

44. http://www.epa.gov/compliance/environmentaljustice/
index.html, June 21, 2005 

45.  Referred to as “pica” behavior, EPA estimates toddlers
eat 20 grams of soil per day, or a 13.3 kg toddler ingesting
5,000 mg of soil in a single event. For evaluating the risk of
cancer, EPA assumed adults weighing 70 kg would be
exposed to the maximum concentration of each contaminant
for 350 days a year for a lifetime (70 years), and that adults
are assumed to ingest 50 mg of soil a day [9]. US
Environmental Protection Agency. Exposure factors
handbook. Washington, DC: US Environmental Protection
Agency. Office of Research and Development. EPA/600/C-
99/001; February 1999.

46.  The term “incremental” here means cancer risk in
addition to/above and beyond the “normal” background
probability of cancer expected as a result of other factors
such as other exposures, diet and genetic predisposition.

47.   Assuming a 70-year lifetime xxx of exposure. 
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(See Section 1.2 on Arsenic Chemistry). It also assumes that
100% of the Arsenic in soil will be absorbed by the
individual. A recent study with monkeys showed that only
up to 25% is absorbed (bioavailability).

Perhaps the most obvious consideration to evaluating
this 0.4 ppm option is technical feasibility. This 0.4 ppm
concentration standard cannot be achieved realistically in the
field during cleanups because the background concentrations
of Arsenic found in the soil in Delaware are significantly
higher than 0.4 ppm (See Table 4)  Also, 0.4 ppm falsely
implies a level of precision to the 1/10th of a ppm that is
unattainable using typical analytical instrumentation.

3.2 Option B - 4 ppm 
Using similar risk assessment exposure assumptions, a

soil concentration of 4.0 ppm would result in an incremental
lifetime cancer risk increase of one in a one hundred
thousand.  This risk probability (1/100,000) is in the middle
of the spectrum for “acceptable risks” that have been
selected in the United Sates during the past 35 years of

environmental policy making.
48 

This risk-to-dose relationship (i.e., 4.0 ppm equals 1/
100,000) is also based on the conservative assumption that
all of the Arsenic to which a person is exposed is the Arsenic
in the most toxic form (i.e. it is inorganic Arsenic not organic
Arsenic), and that the inorganic Arsenic is all trioxide (As
(III) with a valence state (electronic charge) of 3), although
some Arsenic exists in organic form and some inorganic
Arsenic has a valence state of 5 [As(V) or pentaoxide],
rather than 3 (See Section 1.2 and 1.3 on the Chemistry and
Geology of Arsenic). It also assumes that 100% of the
Arsenic in soil will be absorbed by the individual. A recent
study with monkeys showed that only up to 25% is absorbed
(bioavailability).

This 4.0 ppm concentration would be difficult to
achieve during cleanups in most situations because the
background concentrations of Arsenic found in the soil in
Delaware are, on average, higher than 4.0 ppm (See Table 4).

This option could create a very significant budget
shortfall to address many of the historic fill sites in the State
that may not pose a risk to human health or the environment.
Paradoxically, setting a more strict cleanup goal may result
in less health protection because fewer sites may be cleaned
up with the available funding, leaving some sites completely
untouched by remediation, while other sites are cleaned up
to more stringent cleanup goals.

3.3 Option C- 11 ppm 
Using similar risk assessment exposure assumptions, a

soil concentration of 11 ppm would result in an incremental
lifetime cancer risk increase of approximately three in a one
hundred thousand. This risk probability (3/100,000) is
roughly in the middle of the spectrum for “acceptable risks”
that have been selected in the United Sates during the past 35
years of environmental policy making. It is important to note
that risk probabilities are generally not intended to be
interpreted as anything more precise that order of magnitude

(i.e., 1/10
th

 or 1/100
th
 NOT 2/100 or 3/100) estimates, so a

risk extrapolation of 3/100,000 may imply greater precisions
than is technically possible.

This risk-to-dose relationship (i.e., 11 ppm equals 3/
100,000) is also based on the conservative assumption that
all of the Arsenic to which a person is exposed is the Arsenic
in the most toxic form (i.e., it is inorganic Arsenic not
organic Arsenic), and that the inorganic Arsenic is all
trioxide (As (III) with a valence state (electronic charge) of
3), although some Arsenic exists in organic form and some
inorganic Arsenic has a valence state of 5 [As(V) or
pentaoxide], rather than 3 (See Section 1.2 on the Chemistry
of Arsenic). It also assumes that 100% of the Arsenic in soil
will be absorbed by the individual. A recent study with
monkeys showed that only up to 25% is absorbed
(bioavailability).

This 11 ppm concentration would be possible to achieve
during cleanups in most situations because the background
concentrations of Arsenic found in the soil in Delaware are,
on average, higher than 4.0 ppm (See Table 4). In some
cases, the wide area background concentrations of Arsenic
are higher than 11 ppm, and significant resources could be
used in seeking to attain a cleanup goal of 11 ppm, which
would be a relatively small decrease in the Arsenic
concentration and accordingly a small incremental decrease
in risk.

This option could create a significant budget shortfall to
address many of the historic fill sites in the State that may
not pose a risk to human health or the environment.
Paradoxically, setting a more strict cleanup goal may result
in less health protection because fewer sites may be cleaned
up with the available funding, leaving some sites completely
untouched by remediation, while other sites are cleaned up
to more stringent cleanup goals.

3.4 Option D – 23 ppm 
Using similar risk assessment exposure assumptions, a

soil concentration of 23 ppm would result in an incremental

48.  Generally, environmental policy decisions in the U.S.
have selected risks ranging from a high end risk of one in ten
thousand (1/10,000) to one in a million (1/1,000,000).
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lifetime cancer risk increase of one in twenty thousand. This
risk probability (approximately 1/20,000) is toward the high
end of the spectrum for “acceptable risks” that have been
selected in the United Sates during the past 35 years of

environmental policy making.
49 

This risk-to-dose relationship (i.e., 23 ppm equals 1/
20,000) is also based on the conservative assumption that all
of the Arsenic to which a person is exposed is the Arsenic in
the most toxic form (i.e., it is inorganic Arsenic not organic
Arsenic), and that the inorganic Arsenic is all trioxide [As
(III)] with a valence state (electronic charge of 3), although
some Arsenic exists in organic form and some inorganic
Arsenic has a valence state of 5 [As(V) or pentaoxide] rather
than 3 (See Section 1.2 on the Chemistry of Arsenic).

The then DNREC-DAWM Director signed a
memorandum in June 2004 designating 23 ppm as the
interim action level and later referred to it as a standard.  The
basis for this number appears to be the use of a hazard index
of 1.0. Because the carcinogen risk is lower (i.e., 4 ppm
associated with a risk of 1/100,000) then the hazard index
number is not controlling. Moreover, because the
background level is lower than this hazard index number,
then it does not appear to have a role in carrying out
DNREC’s mandate to protect human health and the
environment to the extent feasible in HSCA.

3.5 Option E – 40 ppm 
Using similar risk assessment exposure assumptions, a

soil concentration of 40 ppm would result in an

incremental
50

 lifetime
51

 cancer risk increase of one in a ten
thousand. This risk probability (1/10,000) is on the high end
of the spectrum for “acceptable risks” that have been
selected in the United Sates during the past 35 years of

environmental policy making.
52 

This risk-to-dose relationship (i.e., 40 ppm equals 1/
10,000) is also based on the conservative assumption that all

of the Arsenic to which a person is exposed is the Arsenic in
the most toxic form (i.e., it is inorganic Arsenic not organic
Arsenic), and that the inorganic Arsenic is all trioxide [As
(III) with a valence state (electronic charge) of 3], although
some Arsenic exists in organic form and some inorganic
Arsenic has a valence state of 5 [As(V) or pentaoxide],
rather than 3 (See Section 1.2 on the Chemistry of Arsenic).

This arsenic concentration limit has historically been
used for industrial sites as an action level and cleanup goal.
This limit should not therefore be considered adequately
protective of individuals in residential settings, using
common exposure and dose assumptions.

3.6 DNREC Option Analysis 
Based on the above options, and the information

currently available, the Department proposes the
continuation of a risk-based approach to cleanup in
accordance with 7 Del.C. Chapter 91 and the HSCA
regulations.  The HSCA and regulations allow for the use of
background levels. In cases where a local background level
cannot be developed, the Department will utilize the default
background level of 11 ppm. 

4.0 Implementation 
The revised Arsenic action level will be for all cleanup

sites for which future land use is reasonably anticipated to be
residential or unrestricted and under the regulatory
authorities of the Division of Air and Waste Management.
The sites include old industrial properties being redeveloped,
active facilities conducting a cleanup and old industrial site
undergoing a cleanup. The revised action level will be
effective in draft immediately upon release and as a final
action level upon adoption by the Secretary of the
Department. 

4.1 Process for Determining Background Concentrations 
The “background concentration” approach relies on

empirical correlation between bulk soil concentrations and
presumed least impacted, NOT “natural”, locations in the
State. Establishing a natural (i.e., uncontaminated by any
anthropogenic, or human produced or moved, Arsenic) soil
location and concentrations is very difficult. Ultimately, it is
impossible to prove a negative – in the case, “Prove that this
site has never been contaminated by human beings.” It is
important to recognize that background standards merely
provide some context for risk-based standards. As a

49. Generally, environmental policy decisions in the U.S.
have selected risks ranging from a high end risk of one in ten
thousand (1/10,000) to one in a million (1/1,000,000).

50.  The term “incremental” here means cancer risk in
addition to/above and beyond the “normal” background
probability of cancer expected as a result of other factors
such as other exposures, diet and genetic predisposition.

51.   Assuming a 70-year lifetime xxx of exposure. 
52.  Generally, environmental policy decisions in the U.S.
have selected risks ranging from a high end risk of one in ten
thousand (1/10,000) to one in a million (1/1,000,000). 
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technical analysis, background standards cannot be
considered a substitute for consideration of fate, transport,
exposure and risk, but a full site-specific risk assessment is
not always feasible, and cleaning up to background is as
much as is technically feasible in most cases. The procedure
for determining site specific background levels is found in
the Delaware Hazardous Substance Cleanup Act
Remediation Standards Guidance, http://
www.dnrec.state.de.us/dnrec2000/Divisions/AWM/sirb/
DOCS/PDFS/Misc/RemStnd.pdf. This document will be
used by DNREC staff to establish site specific background
levels.

4.2 Annual Review Process 
The Department will compile all relevant Arsenic data

for sites regulated by the Department and sampled after the
effective date of the revised action level. The data will be
reviewed annually by the Department in consultation with
staff from DDA and DHHS/DPH. Each year by September 1
the Department will report on the results of its review and
invite public comment, providing public workshops and
following the public participation plan process to review and
revise the policy. Each year the public review process will
involve interested Department advisory committees and the
following questions: What should the Arsenic action level
be? Should it apply to golf courses, orchards or other sites
with properly applied pesticides and fertilizers? Is the public
involvement plan adequate? If not, how should it be
changed?

5.0 Public Participation Plan 
In order to ensure the public has ample opportunity to

participate in the development and adoption of an Arsenic
action level for the State, a public participation plan is being
developed, (See Table 5). DNREC encourages and
welcomes comments from the general public and all
interested parties. In an effort to do so, DNREC will involve
all interested advisory committees, host a minimum of one
public workshop in each county, offer to attend any civic or
other organization meeting, notice the proposed draft policy
in the Delaware Register of Regulations and develop press
announcements on the draft policy proposal. DNREC will
staff all meetings and take notes on the issues and concerns
raised. The notes will be made available to the attendees and
all interested parties both in hard copy and via the DNREC
web site. In addition, DNREC will take written comments
either in hard copy or email format. All comments will be
reviewed, when possible categorized and responded to as a
part of the action level development. Once all comments
have been reviewed and a draft response prepared, the
DNREC will hold additional public advisory committee

meetings to review and discuss the responses and any
proposed changes to the draft document. Once the issues
raised from the comments have been resolved to the
satisfaction of the majority of the advisory committees, by
vote, the final policy will be noticed in the Delaware
Register of Regulations, the News Journal and press releases
will be sent out. In addition, the DNREC will be prepared to
provide a presentation to any organization or governmental
entity that requests such. 

The DNREC will provide staff support to the advisory
committees for both the administrative and technical needs.
The DNREC will coordinate with other State and Federal
agencies and when necessary, seek outside contractual
support for technical issues. This will require significant
staff resources and may require the reassignment or delay of
other duties to complete the project on the anticipated
timeline. The resources will be required from both the Site
Investigation and Restoration Branch and the Public Affairs
Office. 

Table 5: Implementation Schedule 

Activity Timeframe 
Involve Advisory 
Committees 

2 weeks 

Hold Advisory Committee 
Meetings 

1 month 

Revise Draft Proposal 1 week 
Notice Public Workshops in 
Register 

20 days 

Press Release on Draft 
Proposal 

1 week 

Hold Public Workshops 2 weeks 
Attend Civic Organization 
Meetings 

2 weeks 

Draft Response to Issues 2 weeks 
Hold Advisory Committee 
Meetings 

1 month 

Notice Final Policy 20 days 
Implement Final Policy 6 months from start 
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ATTACHMENT A:  Governor’s Directive

State of Delaware
Office of the Governor

Ruth Ann Minner
Governor

To: Secretary John Hughes
From: Governor Ruth Ann Minner
Date: June 9, 2005
Cc: David Small

James Werner
Re: Protecting Delaware Citizens from Arsenic

Arsenic is among a number of toxic substances known
to cause cancer and to which our citizens may be exposed in
their communities and workplaces. Whether it is derived
from industrial or natural sources, we have a duty to protect
our citizens from harmful exposure to toxic substances, such
as arsenic.

It has become clear that there is a lack of understanding
regarding the Department's rationale and method for setting
an acceptable limit for arsenic in soil and whether the
current level is protective of public health. This situation has
been caused in part by numerous changes to the limit over
the years and in part by a lack of public input in the recent
change in the limit.

Accordingly, I am directing you to lead an immediate
and expedited review of standards and policies related to
arsenic cleanup. This review should include:

• Evaluation of the best scientific information
available;

• Public involvement;
• Involvement of other agencies, including the

Department of Health and Social Services; and 
• Consideration of standards and policies used by

EPA and other states.

My request is that you begin this review immediately
and take action to propose appropriate standards and policies
within two weeks.

ATTACHMENT B: Staff Work Group Meeting 

Attendance at June 7, 2005 Staff Work Group Meeting
To Discuss Changes in DNREC Risk Management for 

Arsenic
(Lukens Drive Building, New Castle, DE)

DNREC/DAWM:
• Kathy Stiller Banning 
• Betsy Rogers 
• Bob Schulte 
• Jim Werner 

DNREC/DWR: 
• �Rick Greene 

Division of Public Health: 
• George Yocher 
• Thomas May 
• Gerald Llewellyn (on phone), 

Department of Agriculture: 
• �Grier Stayton 

AG: 
• � Bob Kuehl 

ATTACHMENT C: Legal Basis For Arsenic Risk 
Management Standards

The Hazardous Substance Cleanup Act, 7 Del.C.
Chapter 91 (“HSCA”), gives the Secretary of the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (“DNREC”) certain powers and authorities to
investigate and remediate releases of hazardous substances.
See, generally, 7 Del.C. Section 9104.  Section 9104(a)(2)
grants the Secretary the authority to draft regulations:

“The Secretary shall, after notice and public
hearing, promulgate and revise such regulations as
deemed necessary for the implementation,
administration and enforcement of this Chapter.”

In drafting regulations, Section 9104(b)(2)(g) directs the
Secretary to establish procedures “for identifying cleanup
levels based on site specific risks.”

The Secretary has used this authority granted by HSCA
to promulgate the Regulations Governing Hazardous
Substance Cleanup (“Regulations”). Section 9 of the
Regulations establishes procedures for determining cleanup
levels for releases of hazardous substances. Subsection
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9.1(1), which establishes a risk based approach to cleanup
levels, states: 

All remedies performed under these regulations
shall attain a degree of cleanup of hazardous
substances and control of further releases of
hazardous substances that ensures protection of
public health, welfare, and the environment. The
cleanup levels will be determined using a risk-
based approach on a site specific basis.  The risk-
based approach may include consideration of
existing and likely future uses of the facility and
related natural resources.

Section 9.4 sets out a risk-based approach for
establishing soil cleanup levels, and it identifies two types of
risk to human health which must be protected: cancer risks
and non cancer risks. The cancer risk level established in

Subsection 9.4(2) is “10E
-05

” which is defined in Subsection 
2.1 to mean “the potential risk for one additional cancer
death caused by exposure to a carcinogen in a human
population of 100,000 in a lifetime.” The non-cancer risk
level established in Subsection 9.4(2) is a “hazard index
value of one.” A “hazard index” is defined in Subsection 2.1
to mean “the numerical value obtained by dividing a
person’s expected daily intake of a non-carcinogen by a level
which is not expected to produce toxic effects.” By
establishing a “hazard index of one” (expressed as “HI-1”)
the Regulations require a soil cleanup level where the daily
intake of a hazardous substance is not expected to produce
toxic (i.e. non-cancer) effects.

The Regulations also provide that the risk-based
cleanup level for a hazardous substance will vary depending
on the type of use (such as residential, commercial or
industrial) which will occur on the site or property.
Subsection 9.1(5) sets out two types of cleanup levels where
the risks from hazardous substances are quantifiable:
compliance cleanup levels (also referred to as “unrestricted”
or “residential” cleanup levels), and conditional cleanup
levels (also referred to as “restricted” or commercial or
industrial” cleanup levels). These are defined in Subsection
9.1(5) as follows: 

(a) Compliance cleanup levels: These will be
established at concentrations which are protective of public
health, welfare, and the environment and, which require no
restrictions on the use of the facility. Compliance cleanup
levels shall be established in accordance with Subsections
9.2 – 9.4 and as directed by the Department.

(b) Conditional cleanup levels: These represent
concentrations which are protective of public health,
welfare, and the environment under restricted facility use
conditions. Conditional cleanup levels may be established
where the person undertaking the remedy can demonstrate
that such levels are consistent with state and federal laws,
that all practicable methods of treatment are utilized, and
that institutional controls are implemented in accordance
with conditions as determined to be appropriate by the
Department.

Generally, compliance (i.e. unrestricted/residential)
cleanup levels are lower than conditional (i.e. restricted/
commercial or industrial) cleanup levels for a given
hazardous substance because a residential setting will result
in more prolonged exposure to the hazardous substance (in
terms of hours of exposure over a lifetime) than will a
commercial or industrial setting. Therefore, it will represent
a higher risk, and the risk-based cleanup level will be lower
in a residential setting than in a commercial or industrial one.

When the risks from a hazardous substance are not
quantifiable, Subsection 9.1(5)(c) states: 

When there are multiple contaminants at a facility, the
cleanup level of each contaminant shall be such that sum of

the risks posed by the contaminants shall not exceed 10E
-05

cancer risk or a hazard index value of one.
Many hazardous substances, like Arsenic, are naturally

occurring. Once a risk-based cleanup level is established for
a hazardous substance, it must be compared to the natural
background level for that hazardous substance. Section 2.1
of the Regulations defines “Background” or “Natural
Background” as “the level of contamination present in an
area from naturally occurring substances, excluding
contaminants and other contributions resulting from human
activity.” Essentially, this represents the level of a naturally
occurring hazardous substance that would have existed in the
environment before human activity.

The Regulations do not permit cleanup levels to be set
below the natural background level of a hazardous
substance. Subsection 9.4(2)(a) states:

When the natural background level exceeds the 10E
-05

cancer risk level or a hazard index value of one level, for
direct exposure or inadvertent ingestion, then the
background level will be the cleanup level.

Thus, where the natural background level is higher than
the risk-based cleanup level for a hazardous substance, the
background level becomes the cleanup level.

Alternatively, when the natural background level is
below the risk-based cleanup level for a hazardous
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substance, then the risk-based cleanup level is the
cleanup level.  Subsection 9.4(2)(b) states: When

the natural background level is less than the 10E
-05

cancer risk level or a level corresponding to a
hazard index value of one, for direct exposure or

inadvertent ingestion, then the 10E
-05

cancer risk
level or a level corresponding to a hazard index
value equal to one becomes the cleanup level. 

The Regulations require that the cleanup levels
established in Section 9 be used in determining an
appropriate remedial alternative (i.e. type of cleanup or
“remedial action”) for a particular site.

The procedure for developing remedial alternatives is
described in Subsection 8.5(4)(a), which states:

An initial screening of alternatives to narrow the list
of potential remedies for further detailed
evaluation. The initial screening shall be conducted
to eliminate from the evaluation those alternatives
which need no further consideration in the context
of the following broad criteria:

(i) The effectiveness in meeting the cleanup
level in Section 9 of these regulations to protect
public health, welfare, and the environment.

(ii) Acceptable engineering practices based on
the following criteria:

(A) applicability to the problem; 
(B) feasibility for the locations and

conditions of release; and
(C) reliability; and

(iii) Relative cost of the remedial action.
After a number of remedial alternatives are
developed, they are evaluated using a number of
factors. Subsection 8.5(4)(b) states:

After the initial screening is performed, an evaluation
shall be conducted of the remaining alternatives considering
the following factors:

(i) The protection of public health, welfare, and
the environment. The remedial action that
attains compliance cleanup levels, in
accordance with Section 9, shall be presumed
to demonstrate compliance with this paragraph
unless the person undertaking the remedy can
demonstrate that conditional cleanup levels, as
set forth in section 9.1, are fully protective in
accordance with Section 9. When the
compliance cleanup levels or conditional

cleanup levels cannot be established, a
remedial action which complies with Section
9.1(5)(c) shall be presumed to demonstrate
compliance with this paragraph.

(ii) Compliance with all applicable local, state and
federal laws and regulations;

(iii) Community acceptance of the alternatives; 
(iv) Monitoring the success of the remedial action.

In considering this factor the Department will
evaluate whether the alternative will provide
for monitoring in accordance with Subsection
8.8 of these regulations;

(v) Technical practicability of the alternative at the
facility. In considering this factor, the
Department will evaluate whether the
alternative will meet the following factors:
(A) (I) Technical feasibility;

(II) Ability to be implemented.
(B) A remedial action may not be considered

technically practicable if the incremental
cost of the cleanup action is substantial and
disproportionate to the incremental degree
of protection it would achieve.

(vi) A reasonable restoration time frame as
determined by the Department;

(vii)Reduction of toxicity, mobility, and volume
through treatment or containment of the
hazardous substances, either on-site or at an
approved off-site facility; 

(viii)Long-term effectiveness; and 
(ix) Short-term effectiveness.

Subsection 8.4(4)(c) describes how the remedial
alternatives are ranked in order of preference:

For remedial action alternatives which comply with
Subsection 8.5(4)(b)(i) and (ii), and satisfy the remaining
evaluation criteria of subsection 8.5 (4)(b), preference shall
be given to the remedial action which is most cost effective,
and cost shall include present and future direct and indirect
capital costs, operation and maintenance costs, compliance
monitoring costs, and other foreseeable costs.

The method of selection of a remedial action from the
remedial alternatives is set out in Subsection 8.6 which
states:

The Department shall select a remedial action from the
alternatives developed for the facility based on the
determination of which remedial action complies with
Subsection 8.5(4)(b)(i) and (ii) and best complies with the
remaining criteria in Subsection 8.5(4)(b), and complies with
Subsection 8.5(4)(c).
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Therefore, the selected remedial action must be one that:
1 complies with the cleanup levels established in

Section 9 Subsection 8.5(4)(b)(i);
2 complies with all applicable local, state and federal

laws and regulations (Subsection 8.5(4)(b)(ii);
3 best complies with the remaining criteria in

Subsection 8.5(4)(b)(iii)-(ix); and 
4 is the most cost effective (Subsection 8.5(4)(c)).

ATTACHMENT D: Natural Background Concentrations 
of Arsenic in Delaware Soils 

Determining background concentrations of Arsenic is
important to risk management and standard setting because
the background information typically provides a lower
boundary below which cleanup concentrations cannot
normally be achieved. Accordingly, it is equally important
that DNREC exercise great care in it evaluation of
background concentrations to seek to distinguish between
natural background concentrations and background
concentrations of Arsenic that may result from widespread
distribution as a result of human activity (i.e.,
“anthropogenic” Arsenic). For this reason, DNREC staff
analyzed multiple sources of data on arsenic concentrations
to better understand background concentrations and seek to
determine what a reasonable “natural” concentration of
arsenic would be.

There are a number of methods used to help determine
“background” (natural and other) concentrations of arsenic:
average, the 95% upper confidence level to name a few.  The
following is a brief summary in determining background:
One method for determining natural background is to
analyze Arsenic soil concentrations below the ground
surface, which can be obtained from “borrow pits” where
clean soil is excavated for use as clean soil elsewhere such at
new construction sites.  Soil samples collected from borrow
pits in New Castle County near Concord Pike (Rt. 202 and I-
95) approximately 30-50 ft below ground surface have been
found to have Arsenic concentrations ranging from 3 to 18
ppm and a median of approximately 10 ppm (See Table 3).
The source of Arsenic is probably from the formation of
Glauconite over many years. The minerals that predominate
in the Piedmont rocks are not generally considered Arsenic
bearing but they do contain trace amounts of Arsenic. The
borrow pit samples were obtained from an area where there
was no evidence of prior excavation or disposal. The use of
deep soil for determining natural background concentrations
of Arsenic is a valid method if there is no mechanism for
Arsenic to have migrated to the deep soil.  Also, the Arsenic
is not likely to have migrated down into deep soils because
the science indicates that Arsenic does not migrate through

soil except for very short distances and at high source soil
concentrations. Although analysis of deep borrow pit data
may not be representative of surface soils to which the public
may be exposed (i.e. surface soils may have more organic
matter), it is useful as a basis for comparison. For example, if
deep borrow pit soils have comparable levels of arsenic to
surface soils in undisturbed areas, it suggests that Arsenic
from air sources is an insignificant source of contamination.
In addition, scientific data suggests that arsenic is not very
mobile except in extremely high concentrations also
supports this hypothesis.

A second method for determining background
concentrations of arsenic is direct analysis of Delaware
surface soil from location not believed to have been
contaminated from industrial sources. DNREC staff
analyzed soil samples from various locations throughout the
state (See Figure 1) to better understand soil concentrations
of Arsenic and to contribute, along with other sources of
information, to a determination of background
concentrations, natural and otherwise in Delaware. This
analysis is described in more detail in a technical
background memorandum from Rick Greene, DNREC/
DWR to James D. Werner, Director, DNREC/DAWM http://
www.dnrec.state.de.us/dnrec2000/Divisions/AWM/sirb/
clnupnum.asp. 

The DNREC soil assessment considered two primary
datasets with a total of 55 samples analyzed: 20 soil samples
collected from various parks in the Wilmington area at
locations unaffected by any known direct industrial input;
and 35 soil samples collected through Delaware at
background locations as part of analysis to determine area
background concentrations during waste site assessments.
The samples from this second data set were collected at
locations similar in soil and other geological characteristics,
but where there was no evidence of being affected by the
waste disposal or contamination at the subject waste site.

The results of this analysis provide useful insight into
understanding background concentrations of Arsenic in
Delaware soils. First, the background concentration of
Arsenic in Delaware soils is not a single, constant value.
Rather 'background' is a range of values, which can be
described as data distributions. Based on the available data,
the range of background Arsenic concentrations in Delaware
soils falls between 0.58 and 31 ug/g dw (micrograms
Arsenic per gram of soil on a dry weight basis, which is
approximately the same as milligrams per kilograms or parts
per million or ppm).

A second observation regarding this soil concentration
data is that the soil concentrations are not distributed with a
central tendency of average concentration (i.e. clumped in
the middle of the range like a bell-shaped curve of the largest
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number of sample concentrations in the middle and fewer
data points at the low and high extremes, often referred to as
a “normal” distribution). Instead, the data appears to be
distributed in a “logarithmic” pattern. The implication of this
data distribution is that selecting an average concentration to
reflect the observed background concentrations would be
relatively arbitrary and would not reflect the actual
concentrations of Arsenic concentrations found in soil in
Delaware. Moreover, characterizing an average
concentration as reflecting “background” would result in
half of observed soil concentrations therefore being “above
background” when in fact they are actually legitimately
within the range of observed background concentrations, and
simply above average.

A third observation from the soil Arsenic concentration
assessment was the analysis of the upper end of the observed
soil concentrations. Using all available background Arsenic

data statewide, the 95
th
 percentile concentration (the

concentration below which 95 percent of all soil samples are

expected to be found) is 29.1 ppm. The 95
th
 percentile for all

New Castle County (including Wilmington data) is 21.6

ppm. The 95
th

 percentile concentrations for Kent and Sussex
Counties are 24.8 and 14.9 ppm, respectively. This latter
observation indicates that, despite the widespread
application of chicken litter containing arsenic residues, no
widespread elevated concentrations of arsenic in Sussex
County were observed in this data analysis.

Finally, a third method of evaluating background soil
arsenic concentrations is to compare Delaware data to
national data. The U.S. Geological Survey in 1984 published
a comprehensive analysis of thousands of soil sample form

around the country, including analysis of Arsenic.
53 

The
results of the analyses show that the range of Arsenic
concentrations is up to nearly 100 ppm, with an average
concentration of approximately 10 ppm. The higher
concentrations tend to be present in western alkaline soils.
Although this range does not necessarily reflect the pattern
DNREC believe to be present in Delaware, it indicates that
the other data sources are in the same order of magnitude
range of observed concentrations.

Because of the similarity of the findings for multiple
studies, using independent data sets and independent
analyses, the results appear to be reproducible. In scientific

studies, when an analyst observes such reproducibility of
results, it tends to provide additional support for the
robustness (i.e., reliability and confidence) of the results.

ATTACHMENT E: University of Delaware Study: 
Scope, Summary and Schedule

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/dnrec2000/Divisions/AWM/
sirb/clnupnum.asp

ARSENIC STUDY BY UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE

The University of Delaware (Dr. D.L. Sparks and Dr. J.
Thomas Sims) prepared a scope of work to address Arsenic
(As) in Delaware soils in conjunction with the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control under a
Collaborative Agreement.

Background: Arsenic commonly occurs in soil and water
due to natural geological processes and due to human
activities. Agricultural sources of Arsenic to Delaware soils
include Poultry Litter (PL), historic use of pesticides, and
municipal sewage sludge’s used as soil amendments.
Industrial sources of Arsenic include wastes from tanneries,
wood treating facilities and coal combustion for electric
power. Long-term inputs from human activities (e.g.,
inorganic and organic arsenical pesticides, defoliants, wood
preservatives, manures, and biosolids) to agricultural fields
have increased total Arsenic levels up to as high as 165 ppm
(mg/Kg) in soil. The Delmarva Peninsula is one of the most
concentrated poultry production areas in the US. Poultry
litter is generally applied on agricultural lands. Total Arsenic
concentrations in PL vary. Limited data have shown ground
water from agricultural fields of the Pocomoke River Basin
in Maryland and Delaware having total dissolved Arsenic
concentrations as high as 23 ppb (µg/ L). A majority of the
Delaware soils are highly susceptible to Arsenic leaching to
ground waters due to their sandy texture, low organic matter,
clay, and metal oxide contents.

Purpose: The purpose of the study is to characterize the
amount, chemical forms, speciation, and solubility of
Arsenic in agricultural and industrial soils and forested soils
in Delaware (as natural background).

Objectives: The four objectives of the study are as follows: 
1) To characterize the type of Arsenic (speciation) and

its distribution in Delaware soils, as impacted by long term
applications of all potential Arsenic sources, such as poultry
litter and biosolids.

53. Shacklette, Hansford T. and Boerngen, J.G., “Elemental
Concentrations I Soils and other Surficial Materials of the
Coterminous United States”, U.S. Geological Survey
Professional Paper 1270, GPO, 1984.
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2) To determine the controlling factors for the
retention, release and potential mobility to groundwater of
Arsenic in Delaware soils.

3) To quantify the potential for Arsenic leaching from
Delaware soils, the Arsenic type leaching to groundwater
and the potential for best management practices to mitigate
Arsenic leaching to groundwater.

4) To study Arsenic in soils and determine the
associations and distributions of Arsenic and other co-
contaminating metals in soil contaminated by tannery.

Study Methods: 
Objective 1:  The type and amounts of Arsenic will be

characterized in the profiles of (i) benchmark soils of
Delaware, as affected by past land use; and (ii) soils
contaminated from industrial activities, particularly tannery
wastes. Agricultural soils to be sampled will include those
that can be documented to have: (i) received regular
application of PL for 10-20 years; (ii) received no PL, or any
other organic by-product for 10-20 years (e.g., commercial
fertilizer use only); (iii) soils that have been regularly
amended with municipal biosolids (and no PL) for 10-20
years. At each site soil samples will also be collected from
nearby forested areas mapped as the same soil series; these
soils will represent background concentrations of soil
Arsenic. Soils will be characterized for properties relevant to
Arsenic retention and release.

Objective 2: is to determine the Arsenic retention
capacity of Delaware soils. Adsorption of arsenate [As (V)]
by selected surface and subsoil horizons will be monitored as
a function of time and at pH range of these soils. The As (V)
concentration (as Na2HASO4.7H20) reacted with the soils
will be based on typical application rates of As (V) in PL-
amended soils, and determined from isotherm studies where
equilibrium As (V) in solution will be assessed versus As
(V) adsorption. Arsenate will be studied since the recent
research has shown that the solid state speciation of Arsenic
in aged PL is largely As (V). Desorption studies (in
conjunction with other parameters) will be performed. This
information will provide an index to the mobility of Arsenic
in soils and thus its potential to leach to groundwater.

Objective 3: is to study the mobility of Arsenic in soils,
and thus the potential for Arsenic contamination of ground
waters by leaching. This will be completed in laboratory
studies using large, undisturbed soil columns collected from
selected soils. These analyses will provide a mass balance
for Arsenic in the soils.

Objective 4: is to characterize the soils for total and
water soluble Arsenic. This data will provide an index of the
mobility and bioavailability of Arsenic present in the tannery
contaminated soils and the impact of long-term residence

time effects on Arsenic fate in the environment. These
studies will provide information on the form in which
Arsenic is present in the soils.

Timeline: 
This study is scheduled for completion by January 2006.

Figure 1: ARSENIC CONCENTRATION MAP 1

(Contact either DNREC or the Registrar’s office for a copy
of the Map)
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly
meeting on Thursday, August 18, 2005 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Self-Employment Income

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend several policies in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) to implement a simplified way to
calculate self-employment income.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by August 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Client Cost Sharing for Pharmaceutical Services: 
Cumulative Maximum

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is

proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding the Pharmaceutical Services Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by August 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Child Care Subsidy Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by August 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN
hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING will be held
on Thursday September 1, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. in the
Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005
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Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware. The hearing is to receive public comment in
Docket No. 2005-34, proposed Regulation 703 relating to
PROHIBITED PRACTICES RELATED TO THE
NONREWNAL OF RESIDENTIAL HOMEOWNERS
POLICIES.

The purpose for proposing Regulation 703 is to prohibit
insurance companies from terminating or nonrenewing
residential homeowners real and personal property insurance
policies under circumstances where a policyholder merely
makes an inquiry about the policy or how claims are handled
by the insurer.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 18
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or
may be presented orally at the hearing. Written comments,
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed
change to the regulation must be received by the Department
of Insurance no later than 9:00 a.m., Thursday September 1,
2005, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, or sent by fax to
302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN
hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING will be held
on Thursday September 6, 2005 at 10:30 a.m. (or as soon
thereafter as possible) in the Consumer Services Conference
Room of the Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. The hearing is to receive
public comment in Docket No. 2005-35, proposed
Regulation 907 relating to RECORDS RELATING TO
CONSUMER COMPLAINTS.

The purpose for proposing Regulation 907 is to
establish a method by which founded consumer complaints
against an insurer can be recorded, tracked and such records
be made available to the public.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 18
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or
may be presented orally at the hearing. Written comments,
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed
change to the regulation must be received by the Department

of Insurance no later than 9:00 a.m., Thursday September 1,
2005, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, or sent by fax to
302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Title of the Regulations:
1102 Permits
1144 Control of Stationary Generator Emissions

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Department is proposing to adopt a new regulation,

Regulation No. 1144, which will require the control of air
emissions from both new and existing stationary generators.
The Department is also proposing to amend Regulation No.
1102, in order to clarify permitting requirements applicable
to stationary generators.

Delaware is not in compliance with federal standards for
ground-level ozone and fine particulate matter (PM2.5).
Among other things, the purpose of Regulation No. 1144 is
to help ensure that the air emissions from new and existing
stationary electric generating units do not cause or contribute
to these existing air quality problems. Regulation No. 1144
is intended to establish emissions standards, operating
requirements, fuel sulfur content limits, and recordkeeping
requirements applicable to covered generators.

Regulation No. 1102 Permits details what sources need,
or do not need, a permit to begin construction and to operate.
Regulation No. 1102 is being amended to clarify the
permitting requirements applicable to stationary generators.

Notice of Public Comment:
The public comment period for this proposed regulation

and proposed amendment will extend through at least
August 31, 2005. Interested parties may submit comments in
writing during this time frame to: Mark A. Prettyman, Air
Quality Management Section, 156 S. State St., Dover, DE
19901, and/or statements and testimony may be presented
either orally or in writing at the public hearing to be held on
Thursday, August 25, 2005, beginning at 6:00 PM in the
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DNREC auditorium at the Richardson and Robbins
Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901.

Prepared By:
Mark A. Prettyman (302) 739-9402  July 7, 2005

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

7410 TMDLs for the Naamans Creek and 7411 Shellpot 
Creek Watersheds

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues
The Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control (DNREC) is proposing to adopt
Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulations for
nitrogen, phosphorous, and bacteria for the Shellpot Creek
and Naamans Creek Watersheds.   A TMDL sets a limit on
the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into a
waterbody and still protect water quality. TMDLs are
composed of three components including Waste Load
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of
Safety (MOS) to account for uncertainties and future growth.

Possible Terms of the Agency Action
Following adoption of the proposed Total Maximum

Daily Loads for the Shellpot Creek and Naamans Creek
Watersheds, DNREC will develop a Pollution Control
Strategy (PCS) to achieve the necessary load reductions.
The PCS will identify specific pollution reduction activities
and timeframes and will be developed in concert with
Shellpot Creek and Naamans Creek Tributary Action Teams,
other stakeholders, and the public.

Notice of Public Hearing and Comment
A public hearing will be held at 6:00 p.m., Wednesday,

September 7, 2005, at the auditorium of Mt. Pleasant
Elementary School, 500 Duncan Road, Wilmington,
Delaware, 19809.  The hearing record will close at the
conclusion of the hearing.  Please send written comments to
Robert P. Haynes, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE, 19901; facsimile: (302) 739- 6242;
email: Robert.Haynes@state.de.us.  

Additional information and supporting technical
documents may be obtained by contacting Hassan Mirsajadi,
Watershed Assessment Section, Division of Water
Resources, Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control, 820 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite
220, Dover, DE 19904-2464, (302) 739-4590, facsimile:
(302) 739-6140, email: (Hassan.Mirsajadi@state.de.us)

Prepared By:
John Schneider, Watershed Assessment Section, 739-

4590

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1900 BOARD OF NURSING

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Board of Nursing in accordance with 24
Del.C. Subsection 1906(1) has proposed to promulgate a
change to the Rules and Regulations related to the reporting
of continuing education.

The proposed change provides that nurses will be able
to attest to the completion of the required number of contact
hours by approved providers, rather than documenting date,
program name, provider and number of contact hours. 

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, September
14, 2005 at 9:00 a.m., in the second floor conference room ,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware.

Anyone desiring a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Nursing, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite
203, Dover, DE 19904, (302) 744-4515 or (302) 744-4516.
Persons desiring to submit written comments concerning this
proposed revision to the Board’s Rules and Regulations may
forward these comments to the above address. The final date
to receive written comments will be at the hearing on
September 14, 2005

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3000 BOARD OF MENTAL HEALTH AND 

CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY PROFESSIONALS

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Board of Mental Health and Chemical
Dependency Professionals in accordance with 24 Del.C.
§3006(a)(1) has proposed changes to Regulation 5.0 in order
to make the regulation consistent with the mandate of Senate
229 enacted by the 142nd General Assembly. The proposal
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strikes regulation 5.2.4 as currently written with references
to felony convictions and replaces it with language that
requires  an applicant to submit an affidavit stating that the
applicant has not been convicted of and has no pending
criminal charge(s) relating to any crime that is substantially
related to the provision of mental health counseling and
chemical dependency counseling. The  proposal also amends
the rule where applicable to include references to chemical
dependency professionals. The proposed regulation also
changes the name of the Board in applicable sections to
conform to the Board’s new title resulting from House Bill
215 as amended by House Amendment No. 1 and Senate
Amendment No.1  enacted by the 143rd General Assembly
adding licensed marriage and family therapists to those
professionals regulated by the Board.

A public hearing will be held on September 27, 2005 at
2:00 p.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals, 861
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE
19904.  Persons wishing to submit written comments may
forward these to the Board at the above address.  The final
date to receive written comments will be at the public
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulation at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.
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Daily Legislative Agendas and weekly Standing Committee Notices:
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* Subscribers who choose to pick up their materials at Legislative Hall are requested to do so at least once a week, due to 
limited on-site file space.  Thank you.

If you have any questions about our subscription services, please contact the Division of Research by dialing, toll-free, (800) 
282-8545 (in  state) or via E-Mail at jeffrey.hague@state.de.us.  Please dial (302) 744-4114 if you are calling from outside 
Delaware.

Please return this order form to the Division of Research at P.O. Box 1401, Legislative Hall, Dover, Delaware, 19903, or fax it 
to (302) 739-3895 as soon as possible.  (Don’t forget to make a copy for your own files).  You will be billed upon our receipt 
of your order. Your service(s) will begin, promptly, when payment is received and the General Assembly convenes.  Thank 
you for using the Subscription Services of the Division of Research.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005



ACCESS THE DELAWARE CODE 
ON-LINE! 

• Up-to-date version of the Code reflecting recent legislative 
enactments
• Comprehensive full text search capabilities.

Visit the Delaware Code On-Line at:

http://www.delcode.state.de.us/

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 2, MONDAY, AUGUST 1, 2005


	Register of Regulations
	Information About the Register
	Table of Contents
	Cumulative Tables
	Emergency Regulations
	Dept. of Health and Social Services
	Div. of Social Services


	Proposed Regulations
	Dept. of Health and Social Services
	Div. of Social Services
	Child Care Development Fund Services October 1, 2003 through September 30, 2005
	Self Employment Income
	Client Cost Sharing for Pharmaceutical Services: Cumulative Maximum
	Child Care Subsidy Program


	Dept. of Insurance
	907 Records Relating To Consumer Complaints

	Dept. of Labor
	Division of Employment and Training
	106 Apprenticeship and Training Regulations

	Dept. of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
	Div. of Air and Waste Management
	1102 Permits
	1144 Control of Stationary Generator Emissions

	Div. of Water Resources
	TMDLs for the Shellpot Creek and Naamans Creek Watersheds
	7410 TMDLs for the Naamans Creek Watersheds
	7411 TMDLs for Shellpot Creek, Delaware



	Dept. of State
	Div. of Professional Regulation
	1900 Board of Nursing
	3000 Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals



	Final Regulations
	Dept. of Education
	Professional Standards Board
	1584 Permits Paraeducators


	Dept. of Health and Social Services
	Div. of Social Services
	9093 Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT)
	DSSM 20200.2 Excluded income


	Dept. of Insurance
	1310 Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable Settlement of Claims for Health Care Services [Formerly Regulation 80]

	Dept. of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
	Div. of Air and Waste Management
	Regulation No. 1125 [Amendment] “Requirements for Preconstruction Review”


	Dept. of State
	Div. of Professional Regulation
	1400 Board of Electrical Examiners
	3100 Board of Funeral Services
	3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners



	Governor's Office
	General Notices
	Div. of Air and Waste Management

	Calendar of Events/Hearing Notices
	Dept. of Education
	Dept. of Health and Social Services
	Division of Social Services
	Self Employment Income
	Client Cost Sharing for Pharmaceutical Services: Cumulative Maximum
	Child Care Subsidy Program


	Dept. of Insurance
	Prohibited Practices Related to the Nonrenewal of Residential Homeowners Polices

	Dept. of Insurance
	Records Relating to Consumer Complaints

	Dept. of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
	Div. of Air and Waste Management
	Division of Water Resources
	7410 TMDLs for the Naamans Creek and 7411 Shellpot Creek Watersheds


	Department of State
	Division of Professional Regulation
	1900 Board of Nursing
	Division of Professional Regulation

	3000 Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals



		2007-07-02T14:38:06-0400
	Jeffrey W. Hague




